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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
28:2 VA.R. 47-141 September 26, 2011, refers to Volume 28, Issue 2, 
pages 47 through 141 of the Virginia Register issued on  
September 26, 2011. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 
Chairman; Bill Janis, Vice Chairman; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 
McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, Jr.; 
Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Wesley G. Russell, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; 
Robert L. Tavenner; Patricia L. West; J. Jasen Eige or Jeffrey S. 
Palmore. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

November 2011 through November 2012 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

28:5 October 19, 2011 November 7, 2011 

28:6 November 2, 2011 November 21, 2011 

28:7 November 15, 2011 (Tuesday) December 5, 2011 

28:8 November 30, 2011 December 19, 2011 

28:9 December 13, 2011 (Tuesday) January 2, 2012 

28:10 December 27, 2011 (Tuesday) January 16, 2012 

28:11 January 11, 2012 January 30, 2012 

28:12 January 25, 2012 February 13, 2012 

28:13 February 8, 2012 February 27, 2012 

28:14 February 22, 2012 March 12, 2012 

28:15 March 7, 2012 March 26, 2012 

28:16 March 21, 2012 April 9, 2012 

28:17 April 4, 2012 April 23, 2012 

28:18 April 18, 2012 May 7, 2012 

28:19 May 2, 2012 May 21, 2012 

28:20 May 16, 2012 June 4, 2012 

28:21 May 30, 2012 June 18, 2012 

28:22 June 13, 2012 July 2, 2012 

28:23 June 27, 2012 July 16, 2012 

28:24 July 11, 2012 July 30, 2012 

28:25 July 25, 2012 August 13, 2012 

28:26 August 8, 2012 August 27, 2012 

29:1 August 22, 2012 September 10, 2012 

29:2 September 5, 2012 September 24, 2012 

29:3 September 19, 2012 October 8, 2012 

29:4 October 3, 2012 October 22, 2012 

29:5 October 17, 2012 November 5, 2012 

29:6 October 31, 2012 November 19, 2012 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 



PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Nursing. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Loretta A. Wack. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations for 
clinical practice of students to change the ratio of students to 
faculty from 10:1 to 8:1 while students are providing direct 
patient care. Current ratio is unsafe given the higher acuity 
levels of hospitalized patients. 

Agency's Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 
Virginia law, the petition to amend the required ratio of 
students to faculty has been posted on the Virginia 
Regulatory Townhall at www.townhall.virginia.gov. It has 
also been filed with the Register of Regulations for 
publication on November 21, 2011. Comment on the petition 
from interested parties is requested until December 12, 2011. 
Following receipt of all comments on the petition, the request 
will be considered by the Board of Nursing at its meeting on 
January 24, 2012, to decide whether to make any changes to 
the regulatory language. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 12, 2011. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-12; Filed October 27, 2011, 11:38 a.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Jeffrey Blessing. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Based on new findings and 
national trend towards legalization for medical use, the 
request is to reschedule Tetrahydro-cannibol from Schedule I 
to Schedule II. 

Agency's Plan for Disposition of Request: The board will 
request comment on the petition from November 21, 2011, to 
December 12, 2011. It will consider the petition and comment 
at its next meeting scheduled for December 14, 2011. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 12, 2011. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-11; Filed October 25, 2011, 9:45 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services intends to consider promulgating 
2VAC5-317, Regulations for Enforcement of the Noxious 
Weed Law. The purpose of the proposed action is to (i) 
establish a list of plants deemed by the board to be noxious 
weeds, (ii) prohibit the movement of noxious weeds or 
articles capable of transporting noxious weeds into or within 
the Commonwealth, and (iii) provide guidelines for the 
eradication of noxious weeds.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-802 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 21, 2011. 

Agency Contact: Erin Williams, Policy and Planning 
Coordinator, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 786-1308, FAX (804) 371-7479, TTY (800) 828-1120, 
or email erin.williams@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2814; Filed October 24, 2011, 12:07 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services intends to consider promulgating 
2VAC5-321, Regulation of the Harvest of Ginseng. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to establish regulations for 
the harvest and sale of American ginseng plants and parts. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-1002 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 21, 2011. 

Agency Contact: Erin Williams, Policy and Planning 
Coordinator, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 786-1308, FAX (804) 371-7479, TTY (800) 828-1120, 
or email erin.williams@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2813; Filed October 24, 2011, 12:08 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to consider amending 9VAC25-91, Facility and 
Aboveground Storage Tank (AST) Regulation. These 
regulations are necessary to prevent pollution of state waters, 
lands, and storm drain systems from the discharge of oil from 
new and existing aboveground storage tanks. The regulations 
include (i) registration requirements for registration of 
facilities and individual petroleum aboveground storage tanks 
located within the Commonwealth; (ii) standards and 
procedures to prevent pollution from new and existing 
aboveground storage tanks; and (iii) requirements for the 
development of facility oil discharge contingency plans for 
facilities with an aggregate capacity of 25,000 gallons or 
greater of oil. The goals of this regulatory action are to 
improve the clarity of the regulation, make the requirements 
more easily understandable by the individuals and entities 
affected, and bring applicable portions of the regulation into 
conformity with related laws, federal regulations, and current 
industry standards. This regulatory action will include 
revisions that address performance standards for certain 
aboveground storage tanks that are required by Chapter 884 
of the 2011 Acts of Assembly.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15, 62.1-44.34:15, 62.1-
44.34:15.1, and 62.1-44.34:19.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 23, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX (804) 
698-4346, or email melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3011; Filed November 1, 2011, 9:21 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to consider amending 9VAC25-260, Water Quality 
Standards. The purpose of the proposed action is to amend 
the state's antidegradation policy (9VAC25-260-30), part of 
the Water Quality Standards, by designating as exceptional 
state waters (9VAC25-260-30 A 3 c) a segment of Bull Run 
from the confluence of Little Bull Run (locally known as 
Catharpin Run) downstream to the crossing of Interstate 66. 
The exceptional state waters category of the antidegradation 
policy allows the board to designate waters that display 
exceptional environmental settings and either exceptional 
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aquatic communities or exceptional recreational opportunities 
for added protection. Once designated, the antidegradation 
policy provides that no water quality degradation would be 
allowed in the exceptional state waters (i.e., no new, 
additional, or increased point source discharge of sewage, 
industrial wastes, or other pollution, including storm water, 
would be allowed into waters designated exceptional state 
waters). The only exception would be temporary, limited 
impact activities. By ensuring that no water quality 
degradation is allowed to occur in waters with exceptional 
environmental settings and either exceptional recreational 
opportunities and/or exceptional aquatic communities, the 
board is protecting these special waters at their present quality 
for use and enjoyment by future generations of Virginians. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
federal Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.); 40 CFR 
Part 131. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 3, 2012. 

Agency Contact: David C. Whitehurst, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4121, FAX (804) 
698-4116, or email david.whitehurst@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3003; Filed October 20, 2011, 2:25 p.m.  

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board has 
WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for 
9VAC25-720, Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation, which was published in 25:8 VA.R. 1483 
December 22, 2008. The need for regulatory action has been 
superseded by State Water Control Board action that revised 
the total nitrogen waste load allocation for Fauquier County 
Water and Sewer Authority - Vint Hill. 

Agency Contact: John M. Kennedy, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4312, FAX (804) 
698-4116, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 
jmkennedy@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1527; Filed October 28, 2008, 3:32 p.m.  

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board has 
WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for 
9VAC25-720, Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation, which was published in 25:23 VA.R. 4188 July 
20, 2009. The need for regulatory action has been superseded 
by State Water Control Board action amending the regulation 
to conform the wasteload allocation for Fauquier County 

WSA's Vint Hill plant to that established in the EPA-issued 
Chesapeake Bay TMDL. 

Agency Contact: Alan E. Pollock, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4002, FAX (804) 
698-4116, or email alan.pollock@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1981; Filed October 24, 2011, 10:40 a.m.  

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board has 
WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for 
9VAC25-720, Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation, which was published in 25:26 VA.R. 4466 
August 31, 2009. This rulemaking is being withdrawn due to 
the time that has elapsed since the rulemaking was initiated. If 
action is considered necessary in the future, a new rulemaking 
will be initiated. 

Agency Contact: Arthur Butt, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 
VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4314, FAX (804) 698-4116, 
or email arthur.butt@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2001; Filed October 24, 2011, 10:40 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy intends to 
amend 18VAC110-20, Regulations Governing the Practice 
of Pharmacy. The Board of Pharmacy received three 
petitions for rulemaking from hospital pharmacists requesting 
an amendment to subdivision 5 of 18VAC110-20-490, which 
provides requirements for automated devices for dispensing 
and administration of drugs. The petitioners requested less 
burdensome requirements for verification of storage, location, 
expiration dates, drug security, and validity of access codes. 
While the board agreed that the petition was reasonable and 
the specific requirements in subdivision 5 may need to be 
modified for consistency with current technology, it 
concluded that all of 18VAC110-20-490 should be examined 
for possible amendments that would ensure drug security and 
integrity but would make compliance less burdensome.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Volume 28, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 21, 2011 

563 



Notices of Intended Regulatory Action 

Volume 28, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 21, 2011 

564 

Public Comment Deadline: December 21, 2011. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 
(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-45; Filed October 25, 2011, 9:17 a.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Notice of Effective Date 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-20. General Administration 
(amending 1VAC20-20-10; adding 1VAC20-20-30, 
1VAC20-20-40, 1VAC20-20-50, 1VAC20-20-60, 1VAC20-
20-70, 1VAC20-20-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2011.  

On January 31, 2011, the State Board of Elections adopted 
this regulation relating to general administration. The final 
regulation was published in Volume 27, Issue 13 of the 
February 28, 2011, edition of the Virginia Register of 
Regulations (27:13 VA.R. 1482-1484 February 28, 2011) 
with an effective date upon filing a notice of the United States 
Attorney General's preclearance with the Registrar of 
Regulations. The State Board of Elections hereby notices the 
United States Attorney General's approval of this regulation 
via a letter dated October 24, 2011, from T. Christian Herren, 
Jr., Chief, Voting Section, to Joshua N. Lief, Esq., Senior 
Assistant Attorney General, Office of Attorney General of 
Virginia. The effective date of this regulation is November 1, 
2011. Copies are available online 
at http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewXML.cfm?textid=5167; 
by telephone toll-free 1-800-552-9745 or local (804) 864-
8910; by written request to FOIA Coordinator, 1100 Bank 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219; or by email request to 
foia@sbe.virginia.gov. 

Agency Contact: Martha Brissette, Policy Analyst, State 
Board of Elections, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-8925, or email 
martha.brissette@sbe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2691; Filed November 1, 2011, 4:30 p.m.  

Notice of Effective Date 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-40. Voter Registration 
(adding 1VAC20-40-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2011.  

On January 31, 2011, the State Board of Elections adopted 
this regulation relating to voter registration. The final 
regulation was published in Volume 27, Issue 13 of the 
February 28, 2011, edition of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations (27:13 VA.R. 1484-1485 February 28, 2011) 
with an effective date upon filing a notice of the United States 
Attorney General's preclearance with the Registrar of 
Regulations. The State Board of Elections hereby notices the 
United States Attorney General's approval of this regulation 
via a letter dated October 24, 2011, from T. Christian Herren, 
Jr., Chief, Voting Section, to Joshua N. Lief, Esq., Senior 
Assistant Attorney General, Office of Attorney General of 
Virginia. The effective date of this regulation is November 1, 
2011. Copies are available online 
at http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewXML.cfm?textid=5303; 
by telephone toll-free 1-800-552-9745 or local (804) 864-
8910; by written request to FOIA Coordinator, 1100 Bank 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219; or by email request to 
foia@sbe.virginia.gov. 

Agency Contact: Martha Brissette, Policy Analyst, State 
Board of Elections, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-8925, FAX (804) 786-0760, or email 
martha.brissette@sbe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2626; Filed November 1, 2011, 4:30 p.m.  

Notice of Effective Date 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-80. Recounts and Contested 
Elections (adding 1VAC20-80-10, 1VAC20-80-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2011.  

On January 31, 2011, the State Board of Elections adopted 
this regulation relating to election administration. The final 
regulation was published in Volume 27, Issue 14 of the 
March 14, 2011, edition of the Virginia Register of 
Regulations (27:14 VA.R. 1700-1701) with an effective date 
upon filing a notice of the United States Attorney General's 
preclearance with the Registrar of Regulations. The State 
Board of Elections hereby notices the United States Attorney 
General's approval of this regulation via a letter dated 
October 24, 2011, from T. Christian Herren, Jr., Chief, 
Voting Section, to Joshua N. Lief, Esq., Senior Assistant 
Attorney General, Office of Attorney General of Virginia. 
The effective date of this regulation is November 1, 2011. 
Copies are available online 
at http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewXML.cfm?textid=5337; 
by telephone toll-free 1-800-552-9745 or local (804) 864-
8910; by written request to FOIA Coordinator, 1100 Bank 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219; or by email request to 
foia@sbe.virginia.gov. 
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Agency Contact: Myron McClees, Policy Analyst, State 
Board of Elections, 1100 Bank Street, 1st Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8949, or email 
myron.mcclees@sbe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2444; Filed November 1, 2011, 4:30 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-340. Rules and Regulations for 
the Enforcement of the Virginia Weights and Measures 
Law (repealing 2VAC5-340-10 through 2VAC5-340-200).  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-5607 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 21, 2011. 

Effective Date: January 5, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Erin Williams, Policy and Planning 
Coordinator, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 786-1308, FAX (804) 371-7479, TTY (800) 828-1120, 
or email erin.williams@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-5607 authorizes the Board of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services to adopt regulations for the 
enforcement of the Virginia Weights and Measures Law. This 
authority is discretionary. 

Purpose: The 1993 Acts of Assembly amended the Virginia 
Weights and Measures Law (§ 3.2-5600 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) to adopt, by reference, sections of the National 
Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Handbook 130. 
The adoption of national standards eliminates the need for 
2VAC5-340, Rules and Regulations for the Enforcement of 
the Virginia Weights and Measures Law, and adequately 
protects the public health, safety, and welfare. As such, the 
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
proposes to repeal these regulations. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services expects 
the repeal of these regulations to be noncontroversial because 
the agency, as well as industry, has been using the 
specifications set forth in the NIST Handbook 130 since its 
incorporation by reference into the Virginia Weights and 
Measures Law in 1993. Additionally, the agency recently 
conducted a periodic review of these regulations and received 
no comment during the public comment period of January 17, 
2011, through February 7, 2011.  

Substance: The Virginia Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services proposes to repeal 2VAC5-340, Rules 
and Regulations for the Enforcement of the Virginia Weights 
and Measures Law. 

Issues: The proposed repeal of 2VAC5-340, Rules and 
Regulations for the Enforcement of the Virginia Weights and 
Measures Law, poses no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth. This action will benefit the Commonwealth 
by helping to reduce the number of unnecessary regulations. 
This regulation has been dormant for several years, and its 
repeal offers no measurable advantage to the public except to 
reduce the likelihood of confusion concerning the applicable 
legal standard. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. These 
regulations establish specifications for the method of sale of 
commodities, standards of net weight, measure or count, 
standards of fill for commodities in package form, and 
exemptions. In 1993 the General Assembly amended the 
Virginia Weights and Measures Law (§ 3.2-5600 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia) to adopt, by reference, sections of the 
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) 
Handbook 130. Thus the national standards now supersede 
standards set 2VAC5-340, Rules and Regulations for the 
Enforcement of the Virginia Weights and Measures Law. As 
such, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
proposes to repeal these regulations. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Since the national standards 
now supersede these regulations, any differences between 
these regulations and the national standards only serve to 
confuse the public concerning the applicable law. Thus the 
proposed repeal of these regulations will be beneficial in that 
it will reduce the likelihood of confusion for the public 
concerning the applicable legal standards.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. Since the national standards 
now supersede these regulations, repealing these regulations 
will have no impact on any business or entity beyond 
potentiality reducing confusion amongst the public. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not significantly affect employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed repeal of these regulations will not significantly 
affect the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
repeal of these regulations will not increase costs for small 
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businesses, and may reduce some costs associated with 
confusion over which standards apply.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed repeal of these regulations will 
not adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed repeal of these 
regulations is unlikely to significantly affect real estate 
development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services concurs 
with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

This action repeals 2VAC5-340, Rules and Regulations for 
the Enforcement of the Virginia Weights and Measures 
Law, which establishes specifications for the method of 
sale of commodities, standards of net weight, measure or 
count, standards of fill for commodities in package form, 
and exemptions. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2986; Filed October 31, 2011, 4:13 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-470. Rules and Regulations 
Pertaining to the Registration and Certification of Grape 
Nursery Stock (repealing 2VAC5-470-10 through 2VAC5-
470-120).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-3800 through 3.2-3811 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 21, 2011. 

Effective Date: January 5, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Erin Williams, Policy and Planning 
Coordinator, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 786-1308, FAX (804) 371-7479, TTY (800) 828-1120, 
or email erin.williams@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The legal authority for these regulations is found in 
§§ 3.2-3800 through 3.2-3811 of the Code of Virginia. The 
authority is discretionary. 

Purpose: The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
proposes to repeal 2VAC5-470 because the program 
established by these regulations has not had any participants 
for over 10 years. The regulations became effective in 1985. 
Subsequently, only one individual availed himself of the 
voluntary certification program established by these 
regulations. Furthermore, no Virginia Certified Grape 
Nursery Stock is currently being produced. All nursery stock 
that is transported within or into the Commonwealth must be 
apparently free from plant pests as required by the Virginia 
Plants and Plant Products Inspection Law. As such, an 
additional, voluntary virus-free certification is of minimal 
economic benefit when offering grape nursery stock for sale. 

Rationale for Using Fast Track Process: The Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services recently conducted a 
periodic review of the regulations and received no comments 
during the public comment period of January 17, 2011, 
through February 7, 2011. Additionally, the department 
expects the repeal of these regulations to be noncontroversial 
because no grower has indicated interest in participating in 
the voluntary program established by the regulations in over 
10 years. 

Substance: The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
proposes to repeal 2VAC5-470, Rules and Regulations 
Pertaining to the Registration and Certification of Grape 
Nursery Stock. 

Issues:  This action will benefit the Commonwealth by 
helping to reduce the number of unnecessary regulations. This 
regulation has been dormant for several years, and the 
proposed repeal of these regulations poses no disadvantages 
to the public or the Commonwealth. 
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. These 
regulations detail the rules for a voluntary grape nursery stock 
certification program. The Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services proposes to repeal these regulations 
because the program established by these regulations has not 
had any participants for over ten years. The provisions of the 
regulations became effective in 1985. Subsequently, only one 
individual availed himself of the voluntary certification 
program. Furthermore, no Virginia Certified Grape Nursery 
Stock is currently being produced. All nursery stock that is 
transported within or into the Commonwealth must be 
apparently free from plant pests as required by the Virginia 
Plants and Plant Products Inspection Law. As such, an 
additional, voluntary virus-free certification is of negligible 
economic benefit when offering grape nursery stock for sale. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. These regulations were 
originally promulgated at the request of a single individual 
who subsequently used the program for a few years, at which 
point he determined the certification offered no additional 
value to his operation. The virus-free certification offered 
through this program is effectively a redundant certification 
that provides no additional benefits to grape nursery stock 
producers because they are already required under the Plants 
and Plant Products Inspection Law to certify that all nursery 
stock transported within the Commonwealth is apparently 
free from plant pests. Additionally, states such as California 
that export a large amount of grape nursery stock have virus-
free certification requirements for exported grape nursery 
stock.  Therefore, an additional Virginia-issued virus-free 
certification is of no benefit to Virginia growers who import 
grape nursery stock. Consequently, repealing these 
regulations will have no impact beyond reducing clutter in the 
administrative code. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. As stated above, no 
businesses or entities avail themselves of the virus-free 
certification offered through this program since it is 
effectively a redundant certification that provides no 
additional benefits to grape nursery stock producers because 
they are already required under the Plants and Plant Products 
Inspection Law to certify that all nursery stock transported 
within the Commonwealth is apparently free from plant pests. 
Thus, no businesses or entities are affected by the proposed 
repeal of these regulations. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed repeal of these regulations will not affect the use 
and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
repeal of these regulations does not increase costs for small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed repeal of these regulations 
does not adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed repeal of these 
regulations does not affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services concurs 
with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action repeals regulations that (i) 
established a voluntary program requiring participants to 
meet certain criteria for the establishment and 
maintenance of grape nursery stock, and (ii) required the 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to issue 
certificates for grape nursery stock that meet those 
criteria. The Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services proposes to repeal these regulations because the 
program has not had any participants in 10 years. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2985; Filed October 21, 2011, 12:51 p.m.  
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Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-540. Rules and Regulations 
Pertaining to Carbonated and Still Water Bottling Plants 
and Beverages (repealing 2VAC5-540-10 through 2VAC5-
540-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-5101 and 3.2-5121 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 5, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office of 
Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 786-8910, FAX (804) 371-7792, TTY (800) 828-1120, 
or email ryan.davis@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulation provides basic requirements for 
carbonated and still water bottling plants. The regulation 
is being repealed because the essential elements of the 
regulation have been incorporated into the Virginia Food 
Laws, Chapter 51 (§ 3.2-5100 et seq.) of Title 3.2 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2088; Filed October 31, 2011, 4:10 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulation filed by 
the Department of Conservation and Recreation is exempt 
from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4006 A 1 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 
agency orders or regulations fixing rates or prices. The 
Department of Conservation and Recreation will receive, 
consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 
any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC5-36. Standard Fees for Use of 
Department of Conservation and Recreation Facilities, 
Programs, and Services (amending 4VAC5-36-30, 
4VAC5-36-50, 4VAC5-36-70, 4VAC5-36-90 through 
4VAC5-36-160, 4VAC5-36-200, 4VAC5-36-210).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-104 of the Code of Virginia.  

Effective Date: January 1, 2012.  

Agency Contact: David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and 
Budget Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
203 Governor Street, Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

These amendments alter fees in the following regulations: 
general conditions and criteria concerning waiving or 
deviating from established fees for facilities, programs, 
and services (4VAC5-36-30); parking and launch fees 
(4VAC5-36-50); swimming fees (4VAC5-36-70); camping 
fees (4VAC5-36-90); cabin fees (4VAC5-36-100); picnic 
shelters and event tents fees (4VAC5-36-110); horse arena 
fees (4VAC5-36-115); amphitheater and gazebo fees 
(4VAC5-36-120); boat storage fees (4VAC5-36-130); 
interpretive canoe, boat, and paddleboat fees (4VAC5-36-
140); interpretive and educational tours and program fees 
(4VAC5-36-150); outdoor skills programs (4VAC5-36-
160); miscellaneous rental fees (4VAC5-36-200); and 
conference center fees (4VAC5-36-210). 

Increases to rates and prices reflect private 
concessionaires' new seasonal prices, the addition of new 
offerings, changes to maintain fair market value, and 
updates to ensure consistency with the private sector. 
These fee amendments increase annual parking and swim 
pass fees and increase the 2006 cabin and camping rates 
across the board as such fees have not kept pace with 
market conditions and have lagged behind Virginia private 
campgrounds. Obsolete fees are deleted. 

4VAC5-36-30. General conditions and criteria concerning 
waiving or deviating from established fees for facilities, 
programs, and services.  

A. The director may waive fees for any person, group, or 
organization whenever such action is deemed to be in the 
public interest. Any or all state parks, or any state park 
service or facility, may be closed by the director without 
notice due to an emergency or natural disaster. Refunds or 
credits will be issued whenever the closure is made prior to 
the delivery of service or use of the facility.  

B. The director may allow deviations from established fees 
in the form of discounts or special promotion prices for the 
purpose of stimulating visitation and use of departmental 
facilities, programs, and services. The director may deviate 
from standard pricing of conference and group meeting 
facilities and services, and overnight facilities associated with 
conference and group activities, in order to be competitive 
with similar facilities and services. Full or partial refunds of 
fees may be made in the interest of providing good customer 
service.  

C. The director may accept "in-kind-service" in lieu of 
payment for fees under the following conditions:  
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1. The services provided are pertinent to the park mission 
and current programs/services.  

2. The value of services provided must be at least equal to 
the total fee(s) considered.  

3. The value of the product or service provided must be 
documented.  

D. All local, state, and federal government users with offices 
established in Virginia may receive a 20% discount on the 
standard fees set out in this chapter provided such use is for 
official government purposes except for services provided 
through private concessionaires or contractors. This discount 
cannot be combined with any other discount or special 
provision. 

 

4VAC5-36-50. Parking and launch fees.  

PARKING FEES (NONTAXABLE)  

  WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

Daily Parking for Passenger Vehicles: Applies to cars, trucks, vans (up to 15 
passenger), and motorcycles. 

  
  

  All parks unless listed below. $2.00 $3.00 

  Parks under construction and having only limited facilities and 
services. 

$2.00 $2.00 

  Fairy Stone, Raymond R. "Andy" Guest Jr. Shenandoah River, Smith 
Mountain Lake, Claytor Lake, Kiptopeke, Westmoreland, Mason 
Neck, Sky Meadows, Chippokes 

$3.00 $4.00 

  Leesylvania, First Landing, Lake Anna, Pocahontas $4.00 $5.00 

  York River Croaker Landing/Pier Area (also requires boat launch fee 
for all vehicles) 

$3.00 $3.00 

Horse Trailer Parking Fee covers up to two horses in the same trailer (also 
requires vehicle parking fee.) All parks unless listed below. 

$3.00 per trailer $3.00 per trailer 

  Lake Anna $4.00 per trailer $4.00 per trailer 

  Surcharge for additional horse in same trailer beyond the first two 
horses. 

$2.00 per horse $2.00 per horse 

Other Trailer Parking Fee: Applies to other trailers not covered by camping, 
horse trailer, and boat launch fee. (Add to daily parking fee.) 

$2.00 per trailer $2.00 per trailer 

Daily Bus Parking: All Seasons. Applies to vehicles with 16 or more 
passenger capacity. 

    

  All parks unless listed below. $10 $10 

  Claytor Lake, Hungry Mother, Leesylvania, Mason Neck, New River 
Trail 

$12 $12 

  First Landing, Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, Pocahontas, Westmoreland $15 $15 

Natural Area Preserve Parking Fees for any Vehicle: The department may 
charge these fees at any Natural Area Preserve. 

$2.00 $2.00 

Boat Launch Fees: Required to use park boat ramps on bodies of water where 
motorboats are permitted. Required for all vehicles using York River Croaker 
Landing/Pier Area. May not apply to small "car-top" launch facilities 
(facilities at which boats may only be launched by hand carrying them to the 
water). The fee is normally added to the parking fee to create a combined 
park/launch payment. 

    

Daily Launch Fees: All Seasons     

  All parks unless listed below. $3.00 $3.00 
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  Claytor Lake $2.00 $2.00 

  First Landing, Kiptopeke (with Marine Fishing License), Lake Anna $4.00 $4.00 

  Kiptopeke (without Marine Fishing License), Leesylvania $8.00 $8.00 

Surcharge for second boat on same trailer: jet ski $2.00 $2.00 

Overnight parking at boat launch: where available $10 $10 

Camper's Boat Launch Fee Kiptopeke: Does not apply if camper parks trailer 
at campsite. 

$3.00 $3.00 

Boat Tournament Fee for Fishing Tournaments: Registration fee is based on 
the number of boats registered and is nonrefundable regardless of number that 
actually participates. This fee is in addition to the applicable daily launch fee. 

No charge $2.00 per boat 

  

 Annual and Lifetime Parking Fees: FEE 

Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus: Lifetime admission and parking pass to all state parks, plus 
10% discount on camping, individual camp sites and horse stalls; all state park merchandise, except 
fuel sales; equipment rentals,; and shelter rentals except where these services are provided by private 
concessionaires. 

  

  Age up to 40 $303 $333 

  Age 41-45 $273 $300 

  Age 46-50 $242 $266 

  Age 51-55 $212 $233 

  Age 56-61 $182 $200 

Senior Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus (Age 62 or older): See Lifetime Naturally Yours 
Passport Plus above. 

$110 $121 

Naturally Yours Passport Plus: 12-month from date of purchase admission and parking pass to all state 
parks, plus 10% discount on camping, all state park merchandise, equipment rentals, and shelter 
rentals. 

$61 $66 

Naturally Yours Parking Passport: 12-month from date of purchase admission and parking pass to 
park of purchase. 

$36 $40 

Senior Naturally Yours Passport Plus: See Naturally Yours Passport Plus above. $33 $36 

Senior Naturally Yours Parking Passport: See Naturally Yours Parking Passport above. $22 $24 

Golden Disability Pass: Available to persons with disabilities as verified by U.S. Social Security 
Administration's (SSA) "Benefit Verification Letter." Pass remains in effect unless SSA withdraws 
eligibility. 

No Charge 

Disabled Veterans Passport 

Admission, parking, and launch pass to all state parks, plus 50% discount on camping fees, swimming 
fees, shelter rentals, and department equipment rentals when provided by the department. Where 
equipment rentals are provided by private concessionaires, this passport does not apply. 

The passport shall be issued upon request to a veteran of the armed forces of the United States with a 
letter from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, or from the military service that discharged the 
veteran, certifying that such veteran has a service-connected disability rating of 100%. This passport 
coverage shall be valid for as long as that determination by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs 
remains in effect. 

No Charge 
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Annual Horse Trailer-Vehicle Pass: 12-months from date of purchase admission and park pass, 
including horse trailer, good at all parks. 

$79 

Annual Horse Trailer-Vehicle Pass: Pocahontas and New River Trail Only. Valid only in combination 
with purchase of $30 horse arena annual pass. 

$70 

Annual Horse Trailer-Vehicle Pass: Occoneechee and Staunton River Only $50 

Annual and Lifetime Park/Launch/Equestrian Fees:   

Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters and Equestrians: Lifetime admission, parking, and 
launch pass to all state parks, plus 10% discount on camping, all state park merchandise, equipment 
rentals, and shelter rentals. 

  

  Age up to 40 $606 $667 

  Age 41-45 $545 $600 

  Age 46-50 $485 $534 

  Age 51-55 $424 $466 

  Age 56-61 $364 $400 

Senior Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters and Equestrians (Age 62 or older): See 
Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters above. 

$314 $345 

Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters and Equestrians: 12-month from date of purchase 
admission, parking, and launch pass to all state parks, plus 10% discount on camping, all state park 
merchandise, equipment rentals, and shelter rentals. 

$152 $167 

Park/Launch/Equestrian Passport:   

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to all state parks including 
Leesylvania. 

$128 $141 

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to First Landing, 
Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. Good only at park of purchase. 

$97 $107 

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to park of purchase other 
than Leesylvania, First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. 

$79 $87 

Senior Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters and Equestrians: Annual permit for all parks 
including Leesylvania. 

$121 $133 

Senior Park/Launch/Equestrian Passport:   

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to all state parks including 
Leesylvania. 

$109 $120 

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to First Landing, 
Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. Good only at park of purchase. 

$79 $87 

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to park of purchase other 
than Leesylvania, First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. 

$66 $73 

Buggs Island Lake Special Annual Park/Launch/Equestrian Pass: Good only at Occoneechee and 
Staunton River State Parks. 

$50 $55 

Leesylvania Annual Overnight Boating/Parking Pass. $67 $74 

Disabled Visitor Annual Boat Launch Pass (in addition to disabled tags). $44 $48 

    

Special Event Fees: EVENT FEE 

Standard Special Event Parking Fee: Applies to all parks and events that utilize parking fees unless 
noted below. 

$10 per vehicle 
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Community Event Fee: May be used by any park as a condition of a Special Use Permit for a 
community event provided by a nonprofit group or organization or government agency or entity. 

$1.00 per vehicle 

Sky Meadows: Strawberry Festival   

  Advance payment $15 per vehicle 

  Day of Event $20 per vehicle 

Grayson Highlands Fall Festival. Hungry Mother Arts and Crafts Festival $6.00 per vehicle 

Claytor Lake Arts and Crafts Festival $5.00 per vehicle with 
canned food donation on 
designated day  
$10 per vehicle 

Kiptopeke: Eastern Shore Birding Festival Parking Fee waived to 
registered festival guests; 
otherwise standard fees 
apply 

Smith Mountain Lake: special park/launch rate for boaters participating in fishing tournaments if the 
tournament sponsor has also rented the Tournament Headquarters Building. 

$5.00 per vehicle/ boat 
combination 

Standard Special Event Per Person Entrance Fee: Applies to all parks and events that utilize per person 
admission fees unless noted below. 

$4.00 per adult 
$3.00 per child, 6 through 12 
years 
Children under 6 free 

Sailor's Creek Battlefield: Battle of Sailor's Creek Reenactment $5.00 per person  
Children under 6 free 
$10 maximum per vehicle 
$50 per bus (16 passenger +) 

Chippokes Plantation Steam and Gas Engine Show $5.00 per person  
Children under 12 free 

Chippokes Plantation Christmas $5.00 per person 

Chippokes Pork, Peanut & Pine Festival $5 per person 
Children under 13 free 

Grayson Highlands Wayne C. Henderson Music Festival $10 per person 
Children under 12 free 

Natural Tunnel Special Event Parking Fee $2.00 per person 
$6.00 per vehicle 

Occoneechee Pow Wow $5.00 per person (13 years 
and older) 
$3.00 per child, 3 through 12 
years 
$3.00 Seniors (62 and over)  
Children under 3 free 

  Occoneechee Pow Wow School Groups $4.00 per student Teachers 
and Chaperones free 

Notes on parking fees:  

1. Weekend rates apply on Memorial Day, Fourth of July, 
and Labor Day holidays.  

2. Except as otherwise noted, boat launching shall be free 
for up to one boat per vehicle per campsite , cabin, lodge, 
camping cabin, travel trailer, or camping lodge.  

3. Parking fees are waived for any vehicle displaying 
disabled license plates or temporary disabled parking 
identification issued by any state or the federal 
government. However, the fee for any additional types of 
trailers, the boat launch fee or the portion of any combined 
parking-launching fee that applies to boat launching shall 
be collected from such vehicles. Additionally, the price for 
annual passes and lifetime passes that include boat 
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launching for qualified disabled individuals shall be 
calculated by subtracting the applicable parking pass fee 
from the park/launch pass fee. 

4. Parking fees are waived for any vehicle occupied solely 
by students and/or teachers and/or assisting personnel 
participating in an official activity of a bona fide school, 
home school, or institution of higher learning. Parks may 
require that individuals in vehicles other than those marked 
as a school bus verify their official activity by letter from 
the school or approved field trip form, or in the case of 
home school groups, proof of home school status such as 
current ID card from a state or national home school 
organization (HEAV, HSLDA, etc.) or a copy of the letter 
from the school district that acknowledges "Notice of 
Intent" to home school for that school year.  

5. Parking fees are waived for official vehicles of federal, 
state, and local governments while on official business; 
vehicles making deliveries to the park; contractor and 
business vehicles performing work in the park; and 
emergency vehicles while conducting official business, 
including training.  

6. Parking fees are waived for park employees during time 
of employment, including family and household members 
of staff occupying staff residences, visitors to staff 
residences, and park volunteers entering the park to 
perform volunteer duties.  

7. Parking fees may be waived for vehicles conducting 
research or collecting activities provided such waiver is 
included in the language of the Research and Collection 
Permit as required in 4VAC5-30-50. 

8. The period covered by a daily parking fee shall be 
midnight to midnight. Park guests utilizing overnight 
parking when and where available (e.g., backpackers, 
overnight fishermen, etc.) will be required to pay the 
applicable daily parking fee for each calendar day that their 
vehicle is in the parking lot (partial days included).  

9. Annual permits shall be valid for 12 months from the 
date of purchase, unless otherwise noted.  

10. Parking fees are waived for visitors entering the park 
for the sole purpose of dining at the park restaurant at 
Douthat and Hungry Mother State Parks.  

11. Parking fees are waived at state parks for participants 
in Walk for Parks, Fall River Renaissance, Envirothons, 
March for Parks, Operation Spruce-Up Day, Stewardship 
Virginia, National Trails Day, and other park-sanctioned 
public service events as approved by the director.  

12. Daily parking fees are reduced to $1.00 for vehicles 
occupied by participants in fund-raising events sponsored 
by nonprofit organizations (Walk-A-Thons, etc.) provided 
the sponsor has obtained a special use permit from the park 

that contains provisions for the identification of 
participants in the event.  

13. Parking fees shall be waived for persons using park 
roads to gain legal access to their private residence and 
guests to such residences; and for vehicles passing through, 
but not stopping in, a park on a public roadway.  

14. Revenue collected from special event parking and/or 
admission fees may be divided between the park and the 
event sponsor if so designated and approved in the special 
event permit following a determination made by the 
director that the revenue split is in the benefit of the 
Commonwealth.  

15. Annual Park/Launch/Equestrian pass also covers 
passes cover the park entrance or parking fee for up to two 
horses in the same horse trailers trailer or other allowable 
trailers. Annual and Lifetime parking-only passes do not 
include trailers.  

16. Parking fees are waived for service vehicles such as 
tow trucks when entering the park to service a visitor 
vehicle.  

17. Parking fees are waived for visitors entering the park to 
attend a performance by a U.S. military band if this is a 
required condition for the band's performance.  

18. Parking fees are included in the rental fees for meeting 
facilities, up to the capacity of the facility and provided 
that this waiver of fee is included in the rental agreement 
for the facility.  

19. Parking fees are waived for a period of up to 15 
minutes for persons entering the park to deposit materials 
in community recycling collection containers.  

20. Parking fees are waived for vehicles occupied entirely 
by persons attending fee interpretive programs.  

21. Annual parking passes that do not include boat launch 
require payment of daily launch fee if launching a boat at 
any park or for all vehicles using Croaker Landing/Pier 
Area at York River State Park.  

22. Annual parking pass holders are not guaranteed the 
parking privileges of the pass should parking places be 
unavailable.  

23. Parking fees are waived at Mason Neck during the 
park's annual Elizabeth Hartwell Eagle Festival. 

24. The payment of a parking fee at one park shall be 
applied to parking at any state park on the same day 
provided that the visitor supplies evidence of the paid 
parking fee. 

25. Annual passes are issued to the purchaser and members 
of the same household and may not be transferred. 
Improper transfer or use may result in revocation of the 
pass without refund. 
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26. Parking fees are waived at all state parks on Veterans 
Day, November 11, of each year. 

 

4VAC5-36-70. Swimming fees.  

SWIMMING (NONTAXABLE)  

Daily Swimming Fees WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

All parks with fee swimming areas unless noted. Under age 3 Free 
$2.00 (Age 3 through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Under age 3 Free 
$3.00 (Age 3 through 12) 
$4.00 (Age 13 and over) 

  Staunton River, Natural Tunnel, and 
Westmoreland 

Under age 3 Free 
$3.00 (Age 3 through 12) 
$4.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Under age 3 Free 
$4.00 (Age 3 through 12) 
$5.00 (Age 13 and over) 

  Pocahontas Under age 3 Free 
$5.00 (Age 3 through 12) 
$6.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Under age 3 Free 
$7.00 (Age 3 through 12) 
$8.00 (Age 13 and over) 

  Group campers utilizing primitive 
group camps. All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

$1.00 (all ages) $1.00 (all ages) 

  Pocahontas (Group Cabin Guests) $3.00 (all ages) $3.00 (all ages) 

Deposit on all locker keys: Refunded when key is 
returned. 

$2.00 each 

Swimming Coupon Book: (Age 3 and over). All 
parks where available unless otherwise noted. 

$21 $23 per 10 coupons 
$40 $44 per 20 coupons 

  Staunton River, Natural Tunnel, and 
Westmoreland 

$28 $31 per 10 coupons 
$53 $58 per 20 coupons 

  Pocahontas $45 $50 per 10 coupons 
$86 $95 per 20 coupons 

  WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

Group Swimming: per person (10 persons or 
more). All parks where available unless otherwise 
noted. 

$1.50 (Age 3 through 12) 
$2.50 (Age 13 and over) 

$2.00 (Age 3 through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

  Staunton River, Natural Tunnel, and 
Westmoreland Group Swimming (20 
persons or more). Five-day advanced 
registration required. 

$2.50 (all ages) $3.50 (all ages) 

  Pocahontas Group Swimming (20 
persons or more). Five-day advanced 
registration required. 

$4.00 (all ages) $5.00 (all ages) 

Season Swimming Permit: All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

$40 $44 (Age 3 through 12) 
$50 $55 (Age 13 and over) 

  Staunton River, Natural Tunnel, and 
Westmoreland 

$50 $55 (Age 3 through 12) 
$60 $66 (Age 13 and over) 

  Pocahontas $60 $66 (Age 3 through 12) 
$70 $77 (Age 13 and over) 
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After-Hours Exclusive Use of Pool or Swimming 
Area: All parks where available. Requires prior 
reservation. Rental period of approximately 1-2 
hours, depending upon operating schedule and 
amount of available daylight. Cancellation fee 
charged if reservation is cancelled less than 3 days 
before the date of event unless cancellation is for 
inclement weather or cancelled by the park. 

$100 (up to 25 persons) 
$125 (26 to 50 persons) 
$175 (51 to 75 persons) 
$200 (76 to 100 persons) 
$35 to open food concessions with rental 
$50 cancellation fee 

Swimming lessons. All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 
Package of eight 45-minute lessons (includes 
parking) 

$30 per person 
$25 per person if two or more from same family 

Notes on swimming fees:  

1. Nonswimming adults in street clothes admitted to swimming areas free when supervising children age 12 and under.  

2. Rain check Policy for Swimming: All state parks will issue a rain check, good for a period of 12 months from the date of 
issue, to any paying customer (does not apply to free swimming vouchers) if the swimming area is forced to close for 40 
minutes or more due to inclement weather. Rain checks may be issued only to patrons present at the swimming area at the 
time of closure.  

3. A full refund is available for a group reservation only if the park or swimming area contractor is notified three days in 
advance of the time of the reservation. In the event that the group is unable to complete their reservation due to inclement 
weather, rain checks will be issued to the individual members of the group in the same manner as other park patrons.  

4. All Season Swimming Permits include parking during the swimming season only.  

5. Weekend rates apply on Memorial Day, Fourth of July, and Labor Day holidays. 

4VAC5-36-90. Camping fees.  

CAMPING FEES (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  

Camping fees include free use of dump station and free swimming and boat launching for 
members of the camping party during their stay at the property, when and where available, 
except that at Kiptopeke State Park guest is subject to applicable launch fee unless the 
trailer is returned to the campsite immediately after launching. The number of campers per 
campsite is limited to six individuals except when all campers are members of the same 
household. 

ALL SEASONS 
(Per site fees) 

Standard Sites: No hookup; access to bathhouse and restrooms.   

  All parks with standard sites unless noted below. $16 $20 per night 

  Hungry Mother, Grayson Highlands, Staunton River, Westmoreland, Occoneechee 
(nonwaterfront), Claytor Lake, Raymond R. "Andy" Guest, Jr. Shenandoah River, 
Smith Mountain Lake. 

$20 per night 

  Occoneechee Waterfront Sites. $23 per night 

  Douthat, Kiptopeke, First Landing, Lake Anna. $24 per night 

  Douthat. $26 per night 

Water and Electric Sites: Access to water and electric hookups; access to bathhouse and 
restrooms. 

  

  All parks where available unless noted below, including Chippokes Campground A. $22 $27 per night 

  Chippokes Plantation, Claytor Lake, Douthat, Fairy Stone, Grayson Highlands, 
Hungry Mother, Occoneechee (nonwaterfront), Staunton River, Westmoreland, 
Pocahontas, Smith Mountain Lake, Belle Isle, James River. 

$25 per night 

  Occoneechee Waterfront Sites and Chippokes Campground B. $28 $30 per night 
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  Kiptopeke, First Landing, Lake Anna, Shenandoah. $30 $32 per night 

Water, Electric, and Sewage Sites: Access to water, electric, and sewage hookups; access to 
bathhouse and restrooms. 

  

  Kiptopeke. $35 $37 per night 

  Hungry Mother. $28 $30 per night 

Primitive Camping Sites: primitive restrooms; no showers.   

  All parks where available unless noted below. $11 per night 

  James River. $13 per night 

  Grayson Highlands: Sites with electricity (November, March and April when 
bathhouses are closed). 

$15 per night 

  Occoneechee (persons renting the entire equestrian campground will receive a 10% 
discount on the combined price for sites and stalls, including transaction fees). 

$15 per night 

  New River Trail Primitive camping sites at Foster Falls and Cliffview, Primitive Sites 
at Sky Meadows. 

$15 per night 

  New River Trail Water Trail Camping (no potable water). $12 per night 

Horse Camping   

  Horse Stall Fee. $7.00 per night (Outside Stalls) 
$9.00 per night (Inside Stall) 

Standard Rates   

Primitive Group Camp Rental (camping in special primitive group areas). All parks where 
available. 

  

  Up to 20 campers. $61 for entire area per night 

  Up to 30 campers. $91 for entire area per night 

  31 or more campers, up to maximum capacity of group camp area. $122 for entire area per night 

  Grayson Highlands: Primitive camping is available in the stable area November, 
March, and April. 

$15 per site per night 

Special Group Camping Areas:   

  Fairy Stone Group Campsites. $20 per site per night 

  Chippokes Plantation: All 4 Sites; Group Rate; 24 persons maximum. 
Natural Tunnel Group Area. 
Grayson Highlands Group Area. 
James River Group Area. 
Shenandoah Group Area. 
Sky Meadows Group Area. 

$67 per night (only available as entire 
group area) 

  Sky Meadows 6 Site Group Area. $100 per night 

  Westmoreland Group Area. $122 per night 

  Standard Buddy Sites: All parks where available unless noted below. $78 per night 

  Douthat Buddy Sites. 
Holliday Lake Group Camp. 

$97 per night 

  James River Equestrian Group Area (persons renting the entire equestrian 
campground will receive a 10% discount on the combined price for sites and stalls, 
including transaction fees). 

$216 per night 
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Camping – Other Fees   

  Camping Site Transaction Fee: Applies to each purchase transaction of a camping 
visit to a campsite (i.e., one transaction fee per camping visit per site no matter how 
many nights). Applies to Internet, reservation center, and walk up visits.  

$5.00 

  Dog Fees (this fee does not apply to service or hearing dogs identifiable in 
accordance with § 51.5-44 of the Code of Virginia). 

$5.00 per dog per night, $15 maximum 
per dog per trip 

  Dump Station Fee: Free to state park campers during stay. $5.00 per use 

  Camping Reservation Cancellation Fee Individual Site. $10 per reservation 

  Camping Reservation Cancellation Fee Group Sites. $30 per reservation 

  Hiker or noncamper Shower Fee at Virginia State Parks. $5.00 per person 

Notes on camping:  

1. Check-out time is 3 p.m. and check-in time is 4 p.m.  

2. Camping Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy.  

a. Any fees to be refunded are calculated less the applicable cancellation fee(s).  

b. Fees paid to the reservation center by credit card will be refunded to the original credit card charged.  

c. Fees paid by check or money order to the reservation center, or by any method at the park, will be refunded by state 
check.  

d. A customer may move a camping reservation to another date or park, referred to as a transfer, through the reservation 
center only, and prior to 4 p.m. on the scheduled date of arrival. If the reservation center will not be open again prior to the 
start date of the reservation, transferring is not an option. There is no fee to transfer.  

e. A camping reservation may be canceled until 4 p.m. on the scheduled date of arrival but campers will be charged the 
cancellation fee. This cancellation fee applies to each separate reservation made.  

f. Once the 4 p.m. check-in time is reached on the scheduled day of arrival, any adjustment to a reservation is considered 
an early departure.  

g. After the check-in time is reached, the first night is considered used whether the site is occupied or not.  

h. There is a one-night penalty, deducted from any amount available for refund, for early departure.  

3. Campers are allowed two vehicles per campsite per day without charge of a parking fee. Additional vehicles, beyond two, 
must pay the prevailing parking fee in effect at the park for each day that the vehicle(s) is parked in the park. The number of 
vehicles allowed to park on the campsite varies according to site design and size of other camping equipment. No vehicles 
shall park on a campsite in other than the designated area for this purpose. Camper vehicles that do not fit on the site, 
whether or not they require the special camper vehicle fee, must park in the designated overflow parking area.  

4. Each member of the camping party, except in primitive group areas, up to the maximum allowable per site, may receive an 
entrance pass to the park's swimming facility on the basis of one pass per night of camping. Passes only issued during days 
and seasons of operation of the swimming facility and only good during the member's registered stay.  

5. Damage to campsites, not considered normal wear and tear, will be billed to the person registered for the campsite on an 
itemized cost basis.  

6. At honor collection sites, the stated camping fees on this list shall be considered as having tax included. Honor collection 
is defined as the payment of the camping fee on-site at the park at a nonelectronic collection point at which the payment is 
placed in a box or safe provided for that purpose.  

7. Horse stalls may only be rented in conjunction with the rental of a campsite in the equestrian campground and a person 
must occupy the campsite. All horses brought to the park by overnight guests must be kept in rental stalls except in primitive 
equestrian areas at New River Trail and James River State Parks. 
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4VAC5-36-100. Cabin fees.  

CABIN RENTALS (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  

  BASE RATE VIRGINIA RESIDENTS 

PRIME SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 
Per-Night 
Rental Fee 

Per-Week 
Rental Fee 

Per-Night 
Rental Fee 

Per-Week 
Rental Fee 

  Efficiency $84 $88 $502 $527 $75 $79 $450 $474 

  One Bedroom, Standard $98 $103 $589 $618 $88 $93 $529 $557 

  One Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View $108 $114 $652 $685 $97 $103 $582 $616 

  One Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation $113 $120 $686 $720 $104 $108 $617 $648 

  Two Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless noted below $112 $119 $680 $714 $102 $107 $613 $643 

  Two Bedroom, Bear Creek Lake, James River, Occoneechee, Lake 
Anna, Shenandoah, Natural Tunnel 

$118 $125 $713 $749 $106 $113 $643 $674 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, all parks where available 
unless noted below 

$125 $131 $749 $786 $112 $118 $674 $708 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, Bear Creek Lake, 
Occoneechee, Lake Anna 

$130 $137 $784 $823 $118 $124 $706 $741 

  Two Bedroom, First Landing, Chippokes Plantation $132 $139 $791 $831 $119 $125 $712 $747 

  Three Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless noted below $129 $135 $771 $810 $116 $122 $692 $729 

  Three Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation, Bel Air Guest House $149 $157 $898 $943 $134 $142 $809 $849 

  Three Bedroom, Claytor Lake, Bear Creek Lake, James River, 
Occoneechee, Lake Anna, Southwest Virginia Museum Poplar Hill 
Cottage, Shenandoah, Natural Tunnel, Douthat 

$149 $156 $888 $932 $130 $140 $798 $839 

  
Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) 

$167 $176 $1,002 
$1,052 

$150 $158 $902 $947 

  Fairy Stone Lodge (Fairy Stone), Creasy Lodge (Douthat), Bel Air 
Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$301 $316 $1,802 
$1,892 

$270 $284 $1,622 
$1,703 

  Douthat Lodge (Douthat), Hungry Mother Lodge (Hungry Mother), 
Potomac River Retreat (Westmoreland) 

$354 $372 $2,124 
$2,230 

$318 $335 $1,913 
$2,007 

  6-Bedroom Lodge, Kiptopeke, James River, Claytor Lake, 
Occoneechee, Bear Creek Lake, Shenandoah, Natural Tunnel, Douthat 

$371 $390 $2,226 
$2,337 

$334 $351 $2,004 
$2,104 

MID-SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 
Per-Night 
Rental Fee 

Per-Week 
Rental Fee 

Per-Night 
Rental Fee 

Per-Week 
Rental Fee 

  Efficiency $74 $79 $446 $474 $67 $71 $401 $427 

  One Bedroom, Standard $87 $93 $523 $557 $80 $84 $470 $501 

  One Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View $96 $103 $574 $616 $86 $93 $519 $555 

  One Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation $101 $108 $611 $648 $93 $97 $549 $583 

  Two Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless noted below $101 $107 $605 $643 $91 $97 $545 $578 

  Two Bedroom, Bear Creek Lake, James River, Occoneechee, Lake 
Anna, Shenandoah, Natural Tunnel 

$105 $113 $634 $674 $96 $101 $570 $606 
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  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, all parks where available 
unless noted below 

$111 $118 $666 $708 $100 $106 $599 $637 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, Bear Creek Lake, 
Occoneechee, Lake Anna  

$117 $124 $697 $741 $104 $111 $627 $667 

  Two Bedroom, First Landing, Chippokes Plantation $117 $125 $704 $747 $106 $112 $634 $673 

  Three Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless noted below $113 $122 $686 $729 $104 $110 $617 $656 

  Three Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation, Bel Air Guest House $133 $122 $799 $849 $119 $128 $720 $764 

  Three Bedroom, Claytor Lake, Bear Creek Lake, James River, 
Occoneechee, Lake Anna, Southwest Virginia Museum Poplar Hill 
Cottage, Shenandoah, Natural Tunnel, Douthat 

$133 $140 $790 $839 $116 $126 $710 $755 

  Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) $149 $158 $891 $947 $133 $142 $802 $852 

  Fairy Stone Lodge (Fairy Stone), Creasy Lodge (Douthat), Bel Air 
Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$267 $284 $1,603 
$1,703 

$240 $256 $1,442 
$1,533 

  Douthat Lodge (Douthat), Hungry Mother Lodge (Hungry Mother), 
Potomac River Retreat (Westmoreland) 

$315 $335 $1,892 
$2,007 

$284 $302 $1,702 
$1,806 

  6-Bedroom Lodge, Kiptopeke, James River, Claytor Lake, 
Occoneechee, Bear Creek Lake, Shenandoah, Natural Tunnel, Douthat 

$331 $351 $1,982 
$2,104 

$297 $316 $1,783 
$1,893 

OFF-SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 
Per-Night 
Rental Fee 

Per-Week 
Rental Fee 

Per-Night 
Rental Fee 

Per-Week 
Rental Fee 

  Efficiency $62 $66 $372 $395 $57 $59 $335 $356 

  One Bedroom, Standard $72 $77 $436 $464 $65 $70 $392 $417 

  One Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View $81 $86 $478 $513 $71 $77 $432 $462 

  One Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation $84 $90 $508 $540 $77 $81 $457 $486 

  Two Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless noted below $84 $89 $504 $536 $75 $80 $454 $482 

  Two Bedroom, Bear Creek Lake, James River, Occoneechee, Lake 
Anna, Shenandoah, Natural Tunnel 

$88 $94 $528 $561 $79 $84 $475 $505 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, all parks where available 
unless noted below 

$92 $99 $554 $590 $83 $89 $499 $531 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, Bear Creek Lake, 
Occoneechee, Lake Anna 

$97 $103 $581 $617 $87 $93 $522 $556 

  Two Bedroom, First Landing, Chippokes Plantation $98 $104 $585 $623 $88 $91 $527 $561 

  Three Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless noted below $95 $101 $570 $607 $85 $91 $512 $546 

  Three Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation, Bel Air Guest House $110 $118 $664 $707 $99 $106 $597 $636 

  Three Bedroom, Claytor Lake, Bear Creek Lake, James River, 
Occoneechee, Lake Anna, Southwest Virginia Museum Poplar Hill 
Cottage, Shenandoah, Natural Tunnel, Douthat 

$110 $117 $657 $699 $96 $105 $591 $629 

  Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) $124 $132 $741 $789 $111 $119 $667 $710 

  Fairy Stone Lodge (Fairy Stone), Creasy Lodge (Douthat), Bel Air 
Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$222 $237 $1,332 
$1,419 

$201 $213 $1,199 
$1,277 

  Douthat Lodge (Douthat), Hungry Mother Lodge (Hungry Mother), 
Potomac River Retreat (Westmoreland) 

$263 $279 $1,573 
$1,673 

$237 $251 $1,415 
$1,505 
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  6-Bedroom Lodge, Kiptopeke, James River, Claytor Lake, 
Occoneechee, Bear Creek Lake, Shenandoah, Natural Tunnel, Douthat 

$275 $293 $1,649 
$1,753 

$249 $263 $1,483 
$1,578 

CAMPING CABINS, CAMPING LODGES, YURTS, AND TRAVEL 
TRAILERS (camping cabins, camping lodges, yurts, and travel trailers 
located in campgrounds and operated in conjunction with the campground) 

Per-Night 
Rental Fee 

Per-Week 
Rental Fee 

Per-Night 
Rental Fee 

Per-Week 
Rental Fee 

Camping Cabin rental rate: (2-night minimum rental required) $49 $51 NA $45 $47 NA 

  Yurt rental: Standard fee $98 $103 $589 $618 $88 $92 $529 $555 

  Travel Trailers: 25-30' Standard fee $98 $103 $589 $618 $88 $92 $529 $555 

  Camping Lodges: Standard fee $98 $103 $589 $618 $88 $92 $529 $555 

Additional Cabin Fees: 

  Cabin Transaction Fee: Applies to each purchase transaction of a visit to 
a cabin (i.e., one transaction fee per cabin visit per site no matter how 
many nights). Applies to Internet, reservation center, and walk up visits. 

$5.00 

  Additional Bed Rentals $3.00 per rental night 

  Additional linens at all parks unless otherwise noted. One set of linens 
is 1 sheet set (1 fitted sheet, 1 flat sheet, and 1 pillowcase) or 1 towel set 
(1 bath towel, 1 hand towel, and 1 washcloth or 2 bath towels and 1 
washcloth) 

$2.00 per sheet set 
$2.00 per towel set 

  Cabin Cancellation Fee: Applies to all lodging in this section except as 
described below in "Lodge Cancellation Fee" 

$20 per cancellation period: See notes on Cabin 
Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy. 

  Lodge Cancellation Fee: Applies to Fairy Stone Lodge, Douthat Lodge, 
Hungry Mother Lodge, Potomac River Retreat, and all 6-bedroom park 
lodges 

$50 per cancellation period: See notes on Cabin 
Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy 

  Pet Fee (this fee does not apply to service or hearing dogs identifiable in 
accordance with § 51.5-44 of the Code of Virginia). 

$10 per pet per night 

Pocahontas Group Cabins DAY WEEK 

  Algonquian Ecology Camp Dining Hall: 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. for day use, 
24-hour use when rented with cabins 

$236 $1,181 

  Swift Creek Dining Hall: 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. for day use, 24-hour use 
when rented with cabins 

$275 $1,375 

  Dining Hall: fee for partial day rental when associated with full day 
rental as noted above 

$140 NA 

Cabin Units: per unit, per night  $112 $560 

  Complete Algonquian Ecology Camp (4 units: 112 capacity) with 
Dining Hall 

$460 $2,300 

  Complete Swift Creek Camp (2 units: 56 capacity) with Dining Hall $375 $1,875 

Refundable security deposit charged for all reservations $100 per reservation 

Notes on Pocahontas Group Cabins:  

Pocahontas Group Cabins: Reservations of $200 or more require a 25% prepayment, due within 14 days of making the 
reservation. Balance of fees is due 60 days prior to the reservation start date. Reservations of less than $200 require payment 
in full to confirm the reservation, due within 14 days of making the reservation. Cancellations made 30 days or more prior to 
the first day of the reservation shall receive a refund less a $30 per unit cancellation fee. Cancellations made less than 30 
days prior to the first date of the reservation receive no refund unless the units are subsequently rented, in which case the 
refund shall be full price minus $30 per unit.  
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Notes on cabins and lodges:  

1. Seasonal cabin and lodge rates shall be in effect according to the following schedule, except for camping cabins, camping 
lodges, yurts, and travel trailers, which operate on the same schedule and season as the campground at that particular park. In 
the event that a weekly rental period includes two seasonal rates, the higher rate will apply for the entire weekly rental 
period.  

PARK PRIME SEASON MID-SEASON OFF-SEASON 

Bear Creek Lake  
Belle Isle 
Chippokes Plantation 
First Landing 
Kiptopeke  
Lake Anna  
Occoneechee  
Southwest Virginia Museum 
Staunton River 
Twin Lakes 
Westmoreland 

Friday night prior to 
Memorial Day through 
the Sunday night prior 
to Labor Day 

April 1 through the 
Thursday night prior to 
Memorial Day, and 
Labor Day through 
November 30 

December 1 through March 31 

Claytor Lake 
Douthat 
Fairy Stone 
Hungry Mother 
James River  
Smith Mountain Lake 
Shenandoah 
Natural Tunnel 

Friday night prior to 
Memorial Day through 
the Sunday night prior 
to Labor Day, and 
October 1 through 
October 31 

April 1 through the 
Thursday night prior to 
Memorial Day, and 
Labor Day through 
September 30, and 
November 1 through 
November 30 

December 1 through March 31 

2. All dates refer to the night of the stay; checkout time is 10 a.m. and check-in time is 3 p.m.  

3. The following holiday periods are charged prime season weekend rates: the Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday 
period that includes Thanksgiving Day; and Christmas Eve and Christmas Day; and New Year's Eve and New Year's Day.  

4. Cabins and lodges require a two-night minimum stay. 

5. Cabin guests are allowed two vehicles for a one or two bedroom cabin, and three vehicles for a three bedroom cabin per 
day without charge of parking fee. Additional vehicles must pay the prevailing parking fee for each day that the vehicle is 
parked in the park. The number of vehicles allowed to park at the cabin varies according to site design and other factors. All 
vehicles must park in designated parking areas, either at the cabin or in the designated overflow parking area.  

5. 6. Six-bedroom lodge guests are allowed six vehicles per lodge per day without charge of parking fee. Additional vehicles 
must pay the prevailing vehicle parking fee for each day the vehicle is parked in the park. The number of vehicles allowed to 
park at the lodge varies according to site design and other factors. All vehicles must park in designated parking areas, either 
at the lodge or in the designated overflow parking area.  

6. 7. Damage to cabins and other rental units under this section, not considered normal wear and tear, may be billed to the 
person registered for the cabin or rental unit on an itemized cost basis.  

7. 8. Each member of the rental party, up to the maximum allowable for the rented unit, may receive an entrance pass to the 
park's swimming facility on the basis of one pass per night of rental. Passes are only issued during days and seasons of 
operation of the swimming facility and are only good during the member's registered stay.  

8. 9. Employees of DCR and the members of committees and boards of DCR shall receive a discount of 50% on applicable 
cabin or lodge rates for any season, when the rental of such cabins or lodge is in connection with the official business of 
DCR or its committees or boards.  

Notes on cabin or lodge transfer/cancellation/early departure policy:  

1. Any fees to be refunded are calculated less the applicable cancellation fees listed below.  

2. Fees paid to the reservation center by credit card will be refunded to the original credit card charged.  

3. Fees paid by check or money order to the reservation center, or by any method at the park, will be refunded by state check.  
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4. A customer may move a cabin or lodge reservation to another date or park, referred to as a transfer, through the 
reservation center only, and prior to 5 p.m. on the Monday before the scheduled date of arrival. After 5 p.m. on the Monday 
before the scheduled date of arrival, cancellation is the only option (see note 5 below) except that transfers to a different 
cabin or lodge for the same rental nights shall be allowed, subject to availability, up to the check in time for the original 
reservation. 

5. Once the reservation is paid for, a customer may cancel in full with payment of the required cancellation fee if there are 
more than 30 days before the scheduled arrival date. As long as the reservation is not during the one-week minimum stay 
requirement period, the length of stay may be reduced without a fee as long as there are more than 30 days before the 
scheduled arrival. However, the length of stay cannot be less than two nights. During the 30 days prior to the scheduled 
arrival date, the cancellation fee is charged for each night cancelled or reduced from the stay. Once the official check-in time 
on the scheduled arrival date is reached, the cancellation policy is no longer in effect and the early departure policy applies.  

6. Once the 3 p.m. check-in time is reached on the scheduled day of arrival, any adjustment to a reservation is considered an 
early departure. There is a two night minimum charge associated with all cabin, lodge, camping cabin, travel trailer, and 
camping lodge stays. Reducing the total nights stayed will incur a $20 per night fee. If the original reservation was for a 
week, the weekly discount will no longer be valid and the fee will be adjusted to the nightly rate before any refunds are 
calculated.  

4VAC5-36-110. Picnic shelters and event tents fees.  

PICNIC SHELTERS AND EVENT TENTS (TAXABLE) 

The shelter rental periods shall be from park opening until park closing, unless otherwise specified. DAY 

Standard Small Picnic Shelter Rental Fee: Bear Creek Lake, Belle Isle, Caledon, Chippokes Plantation, 
Claytor Lake (including gazebo), Douthat, Holliday Lake, Hungry Mother (half shelter), Lake Anna, Natural 
Tunnel, New River Trail, Occoneechee, Pocahontas, Smith Mountain Lake, Twin Lakes, Westmoreland, 
York River, and all other small park picnic shelters. 

$53 $60 

Standard Large Picnic Shelter Rental Fee: Belle Isle, Chippokes Plantation, Claytor Lake, Douthat Fairy 
Stone, First Landing, Grayson Highlands, Hungry Mother (full shelter), James River, Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, 
Natural Tunnel, Occoneechee, Pocahontas, Shenandoah, Smith Mountain Lake (Pavilion), Staunton River, 
Staunton River Battlefield, Twin Lakes, Westmoreland, York River, and all other large park picnic shelters. 

$84 $90 

Shenandoah Large Group Shelter $95 

Leesylvania Shelter, Shenandoah Large Group Shelter Rental $126 $130 

Leesylvania: Lee's Landing Picnic Area Rental $58 $64 

Leesylvania: Lee's Landing Picnic Shelter $315 $400 

  With 15 tables and 100 chairs $735 $820 

Mason Neck Picnic Area Rental 

  Without tent shelter $58 $64 

  With tent shelter (seasonably available) $126 $130 

Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter (with kitchen) $105 $315 per function 

Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter (without kitchen) $63 per function 

Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter kitchen cleaning fee (only applicable is kitchen is used and not 
cleaned in accordance with rental agreement) 

$150 per function 

Mini-Shelter: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $21 

Event Tent Rental: Full day in-park rental only. Price includes set up and take down. 

  Standard fee: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $0.45 per square foot 

  Chippokes Plantation, Douthat, Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, Pocahontas, Shenandoah River, Smith Mountain 
Lake, York River. 

$0.55 per square foot 
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  False Cape, First Landing, Leesylvania, Mason Neck. $0.60 per square foot 

  Standard 10' x 10' event tent $25 per day 

  Westmoreland, Caledon Natural Area: 20' x 40' tent with tables and chairs $400 per day 

  Wilderness Road: 20' x 40' $350 per day 

  White String Lights for Tent $0.80 per foot 

  Side Panels for Tent $1.50 per foot 

Standard Shelter Cancellation Fee: Cancellation fee deducted from refund if refund is made more than 14 
days prior to the reservation date. No refunds if cancellation made within 14 days prior to date. Shelter 
reservation may be transferred without penalty if the change is made through the reservations center prior to 
scheduled use. 

$10 

4VAC5-36-115. Horse arena fees. 

HORSE ARENAS (TAXABLE) 

  HALF-DAY DAY 

Group Rental of Entire Horse Arena Facility   

  New River Trail (includes lights) $250 $450 

  Pocahontas (8 a.m. until dark, no lights available) $180 NA $300 $140 

  WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

Individual Horse Arena Facility Use Daily Pass (does not include parking fee)   

  New River Trail and Pocahontas $5.00 per person $6.00 per person 

Individual Horse Arena Facility Use Annual Pass (does not include parking fee) 
New River Trail and Pocahontas 

$30 per person 

4VAC5-36-120. Amphitheater and gazebo fees.  

AMPHITHEATERS AND GAZEBOS (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  

Amphitheater or Gazebo Rental Fee: The amphitheater or gazebo rental periods shall be from park opening 
until park closing unless otherwise specified. 

DAY 

  Leesylvania, Fairy Stone, Staunton River, Kiptopeke and all other amphitheaters and gazebos unless 
noted below. 

$32 

  Hungry Mother, Occoneechee, Westmoreland, New River Trail $53 

  Smith Mountain Lake, Natural Tunnel (gazebo at Cove Ridge), James River $74 

  Claytor Lake (gazebo), First Landing (gazebo at Chesapeake Bay Center). $84 

  First Landing (gazebo at Chesapeake Bay Center): rental period is three hours $84 per 3 hours 

  York River and Douthat Amphitheater. $105 

  Shenandoah Overlook Rental $16 per half-day 
$32 per full day 

  Natural Tunnel and First Landing Amphitheaters: Private group or company rate $315 

  Natural Tunnel and First Landing Amphitheaters: Educational group. $158 

  Natural Tunnel Amphitheater Wedding Package: Three consecutive half-day rental periods. $420 per package 

  First Landing: Courtyard at Chesapeake Bay Center; includes amphitheater and gazebo. $788 

  First Landing: Additional hourly charge for hours beyond 10 p.m. for gazebo. $11 per hour 
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  First Landing: Additional hourly charge for hours beyond 10 p.m. for Courtyard. $53 per hour 

  Fishing Tournament Staging. All parks where available. $26 

  Pocahontas Amphitheater Area: Without Heritage Center. Includes Amphitheater, Exhibit Area, 
Restrooms and use of sound system. 

$630 

  Pocahontas Amphitheater Area Plus Heritage Center $840  

  Parking Attendant (per attendant). $11 per hour 

  Law Enforcement Officer (per officer). $26 per hour 

  Natural Tunnel: Rental of Observation Deck at mouth of tunnel for dinner parties. Includes use of 
chairlift for transportation of guests and supplies and set-up/take-down of tables and chairs. 

$300 per 4 hours  

  Natural Tunnel Amphitheater Concession Building $42 

  Natural Tunnel: Sound System Rental $32 

Standard Amphitheater/Gazebo Cancellation Fee: Cancellation fee deducted from refund if refund is made 
more than 14 days prior to the reservation date. No refunds if cancellation made within fourteen days prior to 
date. 

$11 

  All parks unless listed below. $11 

  Pocahontas Amphitheater or First Landing Courtyard $105 

4VAC5-36-130. Boat storage fees.  

BOAT STORAGE (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  

Boat Storage Fees FEE 

Standard Annual Boat Storage Fee: Bear Creek Lake, Douthat, Hungry Mother, and all other parks where 
available unless noted below. 

$35 

Leesylvania Boat Storage Fees: Annual Fee (Dec. 1 – Nov. 30). Fee prorated for partial year on a months-
remaining basis. Fee includes one park/launch pass per storage rental space to coincide with the rental 
period. 

  

  Boat Length Up To 16' $755 

  Boat Length Up To 17' $800 

  Boat Length Up To 18' $850 

  Boat Length Up To 19' $895 

  Boat Length Up To 20' $945 

  Boat Length Up To 21' $990 

  Boat Length Up To 22' $1,035 

  Boat Length Up To 23' $1,085 

  Boat Length Up To 24' $1,155 

  Boat Length Up To 25' $1,210 

Leesylvania Canoe/Kayak Storage: Renter must possess an annual parking pass $10 per month 

Staunton River Boat Shed Fees: Does not include parking or launching fee, if applicable   

  Nightly Storage $4.00 

  Monthly Storage $15 

  Six-Month Storage $70 
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  One-year boat storage $120 without annual 
park/launch pass 

$150 with Buggs Island 
Special pass 

Claytor Lake: Boat Dock Slips: 
FEE PER RENTAL 

SEASON 
FEE PER RENTAL 

NIGHT 

  7' wide and under $425 $468 $10 $11 

  9' wide and under $650 $715 $20 $22 

  14' wide and under $825 $908 $20 $22 

  Extended length slips $700 $770  NA 

4VAC5-36-140. Interpretive canoe, boat, and paddleboat fees.  

INTERPRETIVE CANOE, BOAT, AND PADDLEBOAT PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE)  

Interpretive Canoe, Boat, and Paddleboat Tours: FEE 

Environmental Education Group Canoe Tour: Available only to bona fide educational groups. 
Requires previous reservation and arrangements. Minimum 10 persons. Mason Neck and all other 
parks where available unless otherwise noted. 

$3.00 per person 

Standard Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: Applies to canoe, rowboat, or paddleboat tours. 
Child riding as third passenger, where allowed, is free. 

  

  Individuals at all parks unless noted below. $5.00 per person 

  Individuals at Leesylvania, York River, Pocahontas, Kiptopeke, Chippokes. $9.00 per person 

  Individuals at Mason Neck. $15 per person 

  Individuals at Natural Tunnel. $12 $15 per person 

  Individuals at False Cape: Back Bay Interpretive Tour. $16 per person 

  Family Groups at all parks unless noted below. Minimum 4 paying customers. $4.00 per person 

  Family Groups at Leesylvania, Pocahontas, York River, Kiptopeke. Minimum 4 paying 
customers. 

$6.00 per person 

  Family Groups at Mason Neck. $9.00 per person 

  Group rate at Natural Tunnel (minimum 10 paying customers). $12 per person 

Sunset, Moonlight, Dawn, or Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: Applies to canoe, 
rowboat, or paddleboat tours. 

  

  All parks where offered unless noted below. $6.00 per person 

  Sunset, Dawn, Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: Leesylvania, York River, 
Chippokes, Kiptopeke. 

$11 per person 

  Sunset, Dawn, Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: 
New River Trail, Mason Neck. 

$15 per person 

  Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: 
Grayson Highlands, Hungry Mother, New River Trail, Natural Tunnel. 

$25 per person 

  Moonlight/Night Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: 
Leesylvania, York River, Chippokes. 

$13 per person 

  Moonlight/Night Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Individuals: 
Mason Neck. 

$20 per person 

Sunset, Moonlight, Dawn, or Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: Applies to 
canoe, rowboat, or paddleboat tours. Minimum four paying customers. 
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  All parks where offered unless otherwise noted. $5.00 per person 

  Sunset, Dawn, or Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: Leesylvania, York 
River, Chippokes. Requires 4 or more paying customers. 

$7.00 per person 

  Sunset, Dawn, or Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: New River Trail, 
Mason Neck. 

$11 per person 

  Moonlight/Night Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: 
Leesylvania, York River. Requires 4 or more paying customers. 

$8.00 per person 

  Extended Canoe Interpretive Tour Fee for Family Groups: 
Grayson Highlands. 

$25 per person 

Bear Creek Lake: Willis River Interpretive Canoe Tour   

  Short Trip. $8.00 per person 

  Long Trip. $10 per person 

Natural Tunnel Clinch River:   

  Half-Day Trip Group Rate. Requires 10 or more paying customers. $12 per person 

  Full-Day Trip. Group Rate. Requires 10 or more paying customers. $20 per person 

  Half-Day Trip. Individuals. $15 per person 

  Full-Day Trip. Individuals. $25 per person 

  Overnight Trip. Individuals. $45 per person 

  Short Trip. Clinchport to Copper Creek $7.00 per person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Solo Kayak: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $16 per person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Solo Kayak: Westmoreland, Caledon  $19 per person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Solo Kayak: False Cape $20 per person 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Tandem Kayak: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $22 per kayak 

Interpretive Kayak Tour, Tandem Kayak: Westmoreland, Caledon  $25 per kayak 

Tag-along Fee: Participant provides their own canoe or kayak. Not available at all sites. $10 per person 

Interpretive Pontoon Boat Tour: All parks where available. $2.00 (Age 3 through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Interpretive Tube Tour: all parks where available unless otherwise noted. $6.00 per person 

Lake Excursion and Ecology Tour   

  Claytor Lake $10 (Age 13 and over) 
$7.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

  Rental of Entire Boat (Exclusive Use): All parks where available $60 per tour 

Notes on Interpretive Canoe, Boat, and Paddleboat Programs:  

1. Cancellation Policy for group reservations: Guest must cancel four days prior to the tour date in order to receive a refund. 
Any guest canceling less than four days before the start of the reservation will not be eligible for a refund. A one-time $10 
cancellation fee will apply per reservation regardless of number of boats reserved. In the event of inclement weather where 
the park must cancel, the guest will be offered either a complete refund or reservation transfer to another date.  

2. Additional costs for supplies and materials may apply. 
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4VAC5-36-150. Interpretive and educational tours and program fees.  

INTERPRETIVE AND EDUCATIONAL TOURS AND PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE)  

Interpretive and Educational Tours and Programs 

PARK PROGRAM FEE 

Standard Interpretive Program or Tour: such as 
typical staff led nature hikes or campfire programs. 

Free 

Fee-based Interpretive Program or Tour: (Fee only 
applies to programs or tours that have unusual costs 
or require special equipment, personnel, marketing, 
or other special arrangements). 

$2.00 per person 
$6.00 per family 

Fee-based Night Hike or Evening Program or 
Evening Tour: (Fee only applies to programs or 
tours that have unusual costs or require special 
equipment, personnel, marketing, or other special 
arrangements). 

$3.00 per person 
$8.00 per family 

Standard Workshop Fee $5.00 per child (Age 12 and under) 
$15 per adult (Age 13 and over) 

Standard Wagon Ride Program $3.00 per person 
$8.00 per family 
$25 exclusive group 

Extended or Special Event Wagon Ride Program $4.00 per person 
$10 per family 
$75 exclusive group booking 

Park Outreach Program: Price per park staff 
member conducting program 

$10 for under 2 hours 
$25 for 2 to 3 hours 
$50 for 4 hours plus 

Standard Junior Ranger Program: 4-day program. 
All parks unless noted below. 

$10 full program 
$3.00 per day 

Haunted Hike $1.00 (Age 3 through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Geo Caching or Orienteering Interpretive Program. $3.00 per person 
$8.00 per family 
$25 per group 

Nature-Themed Birthday Party: Includes a nature 
talk, hike, games, songs, and time in the Nature 
Center for gifts and cakes. At least one staff 
member is present to conduct activities. 

$96 per hour plus materials cost for 12 children 
$8.00 per additional child 

All parks unless 
otherwise noted: 

Standard Women's Wellness Weekend Program $149 per person 

Junior Ranger Program $5.00 per person per day 

Hayrides $2.00 per child 
$3.00 per adult 

Adventure Rangers Interpretive Program $10 per person per day 

Make a Birdhouse Program $5.00 per person 

Make Your Own Hiking Stick Program $3.00 per person 

Grayson Highlands 

2-Day Photography Class $35 per person 
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Twin Lakes Haunted Hike $3.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$5.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Individual interpretive program pass: (Allows 
admission for one person to 4 interpretive 
programs valued at $3.00 or less) 

$6.00 per pass Occoneechee, Caledon, 
Sky Meadows 

Family interpretive program pass: (Allows 
admission for members of the same family to 4 
interpretive programs valued at $8.00 or less) 

$18 per pass 

Nature Camps $100 per child per program plus materials cost 
$30 per child plus materials cost for Jr. Assistant. 
The Jr. Assistant helps the park staff in conducting 
camp programs. 

Curious Kids $3.00 per program 

Pocahontas 

Nature and Discovery Programs (School/Groups 
Outreach) 

$4.00 per child 
$80 minimum 
$15 additional if program is outside of Chesterfield 
County 

Interpretive Program Series: 6-program series $15 per person per program 
$45 per person per 4 programs 
$60 per person per 6 programs 

Nature and Discovery Programs (School/Groups 
Outreach) 

$2.00 per child 
$50 minimum 
$15 additional if program is outside of the following 
counties: Fauquier, Frederick, Clark, and Loudoun 

Sky Meadows 

House and Grounds Tour $3.00 per person age 13 and older 
$2.00 per child age 6 through 12 
$8.00 per family 

Smith Mountain Lake Nature and Discovery Programs (School/Groups 
Outreach) 

$10 per school visit 

How Our Ancestors Lived  $5.00 per person  

Special Themed Interpretive Program $10 per person 

Music or Literary Event $5.00 per person 

Workshop (Adult) $10 per person 

Workshop (Children) $5.00 per person 

Nature and Discovery Programs (School/Groups 
Outreach) 

$25 for under 2 hours 
$50 from 2 hours to under 4 hours 
$75 for 4 or more hours 

Guided Tour or Activity School Groups: $1.50 per person 
Public Groups: $2.50 per person 

Southwest Virginia 
Museum 

Step-On Tour Guide Service $7.00 per person 
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Caledon Eagle Tours $6.00 per person 
$50 Flat Rate (minimum: 10; maximum: 20) 

All Group Programs up to 2 hours long $5.00 per person 

Haunted Hay Ride $5.00 per person (age 7 and over) 
Children under 7 free 

Special Program Bus Fee: Programs involving 
transportation within the natural area. 

$3.00 per person 

Workshop (Adult) $15 per person 

Caledon 

Workshop (Children) $5.00 per person 

Guided Programs $25 per program (Maximum 30 participants) 
$25 facility fee (If applicable) 

Environmental Education (Children's Activities) $25 per program (Maximum 30 participants) 
$25 facility fee (If applicable) 

Natural Tunnel: Cove 
Ridge 

Environmental Education (Adult Facilitation) $15 per person 

Hungry Mother/ 
Hemlock Haven 

Junior Naturalist Program $4.00 per person per week 
$12 unlimited participation in interpretive season 

Kiptopeke Birding Program (Group Rates) $35 (Corporate) 
$25 (Nonprofit) 

York River Guided Adventure Programs $4.00 per person 
$40 per group (Minimum 12 persons) 

Westmoreland Guided Program Fee $25 per person 

Junior Ranger Program (Includes T-Shirt) $35 per person 

Wagon Ride Program $50 Exclusive Education Group Booking 

Hay Wagon and Hot Dog Roast $10 per person 

Bike Tours - 2 hours $10 per person 

Extended Bike Tours - 4 hours $15 per person 

Canoe and Bike Tour - 4 hours $20 per person 

Natural Tunnel 

Halloween Haunted House/Hay Wagon Ride $3.00 (Age 3 through 12) 
$5.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Mason Neck Junior Ranger Program $50 per person 

Field Archaeology Workshop $25 per person Holliday Lake 

Junior Ranger Program (3 half-day workshop) 
(Ages 6 to 13) 

$25 per child 

Wildlife Watch Tour – Per Person $8.00 per person 

Wilderness Survival Weekend $200 per person 

Wilderness Survival Program $16 

False Cape 

Astronomy Program $10 $16 per person 

Staunton River Interpretive Craft $2.00 per person 
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First Landing Junior Ranger Program 
3 Hour Program 
6 Hour Program 

 
$25 per person 
$50 per person 

Bear Creek Lake Junior Ranger Program $20 per person 

Junior Ranger Program $50 per person 

Halloween Haunted Hike $2.00 per person 
$6.00 per group (4 person maximum) 

Interpretive Programs $2.00 per person 

Leesylvania 

Kids Fishing Tournament $2.00 per child 

Pannel Cave Tour $10 per person 
$7.00 per person (Family-Group; 8-person minimum) 

Bolling Cave Tours $15 per person 
$12 per person (Family-Group; 8-person 10-person 
minimum) 

Natural Tunnel 

Stock Creek Tunnel Tour/Snorkeling on the Clinch $5.00 per person 

New River Trail Seniors Van Tour Full Day $25 per person 

New River Trail Seniors Van Tour Half Day $15 per person 

New River Trail 

Bertha Cave Tour $10 per person 

James River Haunted Wagon Ride $5.00 per person (Age 7 and over) 
Children 6 and under free 

Triple Treat Program: Hayride/Canoe/Campfire $10 per person 

Junior Ranger 3-day program $5.00 per class 

Belle Isle 

Bike Tour: visitors can supply their own bike or 
rent separately 

$2.00 per person 
$6.00 per family 

Notes on interpretive and educational tours and programs:  

Additional costs for supplies and materials may apply.  

4VAC5-36-160. Outdoor skill program fees.  

OUTDOOR SKILL PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE)  

Outdoor Skill Programs FEE 

Outdoor Survival Skills and Backpacking $95 per person 

Basic Map and Compass $25 per person 

Beginning Rock Climbing and Backpacking $95 per person 

Grayson Highlands 

Advanced Map and Compass Skills $25 per person 

Photography Workshop, with meals and lodging $325 per person 

Photography Workshop, with meals, no lodging $295 per person 

Photography Workshop, no meals, no lodging $225 per person 

Nonparticipant Lodging and Food $235 per person 

Westmoreland, Douthat, Hungry 
Mother, False Cape 

Nonparticipant Meals only $125 per person 

Lake Anna Prospecting for Gold Workshop $50 per person 

Kipotopeke Kayak Fishing Program $35 per person 
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Hungry Mother Mountain Empire Fly Fishing School $225 per person 

Grayson Highlands Guided Fly Fishing Trip: Half-day 
Guided Fly Fishing Trip: Full-day 

$50 per person 
$75 per person 

Outdoor Skills Workshop $5.00 per class per person 
$10 per class per family 

Primitive Camping Series  
(3 classes = 1 series) 

$15 per series per person 
$30 per series per family 

Sky Meadows 

Backpacking Series 
(4 classes = 1 series) 

$20 per series per person 
$40 per series per family 

4VAC5-36-200. Miscellaneous rental fees.  

RENTALS (TAXABLE; Price here does not include tax)  

Bike Rentals (includes helmet) FEE 

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted  $3.00 per hour 
$8.00 per half-day 
$15 per full-day 

  Claytor Lake $4.00 per hour 
$25 per day 

  New River Trail, James River, Mason Neck $5.00 per hour 
$12 per half-day 
$18 per day 

  First Landing $5.00 per hour 
$16 per day 

Bike Helmet without bike rental $1.00 

Child Cart for bike $5.00 

Boat Rentals   

Standard Paddle Boat Rental:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted  $4.00 per half-hour 
$6.00 per hour 

  Fairy Stone, Westmoreland, Hungry Mother  $5.00 per half-hour 
$8.00 per hour 

  Smith Mountain Lake $10 $25 per half-hour 
$15 $35 per one hour 
$80 for 24 hours 
$30 additional for each day after first day 

Standard Canoe Rental:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $8.00 per hour 
$15 per half-day 
$25 per full-day 
$40 for 24 hours 
$100 per week 

  Smith Mountain Lake $8.00 per half-hour 
$12 per one hour 
$60 for 24 hours 
$30 additional for each day after first day 
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  Claytor Lake $12 per hour 
$35 per half-day 
$50 per day 

  Leesylvania, Mason Neck $7.00 per half-hour 
$12 per hour 
$35 per half-day 
$50 per day 

  James River $10 per hour (does not include shuttle) 
$40 per day (does not include shuttle) 
$120 per week (does not include shuttle) 

Standard Float Trips:   

  James River   

    Bent Creek to Canoe Landing:   

    Canoe $45 Max 3 people 

    Single Kayak $35 per kayak 

    Canoe Landing to Dixon Landing:   

    Tubes $12 per tube 

    Group of four or more $10 per tube 

    Canoe $15 per canoe 

    Single Kayak $15 per kayak 

    Bent Creek to Dixon Landing:   

    Canoe $50 per canoe 

    Single Kayak $40 per kayak 

    Shuttle Service Only:   

    Canoe Landing to Dixon Landing, canoe or single kayak, 
scheduled or unscheduled 

$2.00 per person 
$5.00 per canoe/kayak 

    Bent Creek Shuttle (Scheduled) $5.00 per boat (canoe/kayak) 
$5.00 per person 

    Bent Creek Shuttle (Unscheduled) $15 per boat (canoe/kayak) 
$15 per person 

    Tubes $5.00 per person/Bent Creek Shuttle 
$2.00 between landings in park 

    Late Rental Fee $15 per half hour past return time 

  New River Trail $7.00 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per day 
$35 per half-day, includes canoe rental and shuttle 
$50 per full day, includes canoe rental and shuttle 

  Canoe Rental (includes shuttle)   

    Trip A: Austinville to Foster Falls $35 per canoe 

    Trip B: Ivanhoe to Austinville $45 per canoe 

    Trip C: Ivanhoe to Foster Falls $50 per canoe 

    Trip D: Foster Falls to Route 100 $45 per canoe 
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    Trip E: Route 100 to Allisonia $50 per canoe 

    Trip F: Foster Falls to Allisonia $55 per canoe 

  Kayak Rental (includes shuttle)   

    Trip A: Austinville to Foster Falls $25 per kayak 

    Trip B: Ivanhoe to Austinville $35 per kayak 

    Trip C: Ivanhoe to Foster Falls $40 per kayak 

    Trip D: Foster Falls to Route 100 $35 per kayak 

    Trip E: Route 100 to Allisonia $40 per kayak 

    Trip F: Foster Falls to Allisonia $45 per kayak 

Standard Rowboat Rental, without motor:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted $6.00 per hour 
$12 per half-day 
$22 per full-day 
$36 per 24 hours 
$80 per week 

  Hungry Mother: Rowboats $4.00 per hour 
$15 per day 
$40 per week 

  New River Trail: Rafts and flat-bottom boats $7.00 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per day 

Standard Rowboat Rental with electric motor and battery: All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted 

$10 per hour 
$20 per 4 hours 
$36 per day 
$100 per 4 days 
$150 per week 

  Hungry Mother: Standard Rowboat Rental with electric motor and 
battery 

$12 per hour 
$24 per 4 hours 
$45 per day 
$75 per 24 hours (limited to overnight guests) 

Standard Motorboat Rental, 16-foot console steering, 25-45 horsepower 
outboard. All parks where available. 

$18 per hour 
$90 per day 

Standard Fishing Boat Rental with gasoline motor and one tank of fuel: All 
parks where available. 

$10 per hour (2-hour minimum) 
$50 per day 

Pedal Craft Rental: (Hydro-Bike, Surf-Bike, etc.) All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 

  

  One person. $8.00 per hour 

  Two person. $10 per hour 

  Hungry Mother: Hydro Bike $5.25 per half hour 
$8.00 per hour 

  Smith Mountain Lake: Hydro Bike  $8.00 per half hour 
$12 per hour 
$4.00 additional per hour after first hour 
$60 per 24 hours 
$30 additional per day after first day 

  Barracuda Boat. All parks where available $10 per hour 
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Solo Kayak Rental:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted  $8.00 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per day 
$40 for 24 hours 
$100 per week 

  Westmoreland $9.00 per hour 
$17 per half-day 
$30 per day 

  Smith Mountain Lake $8.00 per half hour 
$12 per hour 
$60 per 24 hours 
$30 additional per day after first day 

  Mason Neck $6.00 per half-hour 
$10 per hour 
$35 per half-day 
$50 per day 

  James River $7.00 per hour (does not include shuttle) 
$20 per day (does not include shuttle) 
$80 per week (does not include shuttle) 
$12 per half hour past return time 

  Claytor Lake $10 per hour 
$25 per half-day 
$40 per day 

Tandem Kayak Rental:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $10 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per full-day 
$45 for 24 hours 
$120 per week 

  Westmoreland $12 per hour 
$22 per half-day 
$36 per day 

  Smith Mountain Lake $10 per half-hour 
$15 per hour 
$80 for 24 hours 
$30 additional for each day after first day 

  Mason Neck $8.00 per half-hour 
$15 per hour 
$45 per 4 hours 
$60 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake: 14-foot fishing boat with 5 hp (3 person capacity). 
Rental does not include fuel and oil. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$50 for 3 hours 
$10 additional per hour after first 3 hours 
$150 for 24 hours 
$30 additional per day after first day 

Claytor Lake: 16-foot Bass Tracker with 60 hp motor. Damage deposit of 50% 
required 

$30 per hour 
$75 per half-day 
$115 per day 

Claytor Lake: 17-foot bowrider with 135 hp motor. Damage deposit of 50% 
required 

$45 per hour 
$120 per half day 
$185 per day 
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Claytor Lake: 20-foot pontoon boat with 90 hp motor. Damage deposit of 50% 
required 

$45 per hour 
$120 per half-day 
$185 per day 

Claytor Lake: 24-foot pontoon boat with 75 hp motor. Damage deposit of 50% 
required 

$50 per hour 
$140 per half-day 
$210 per day 

Claytor Lake: 30-foot pontoon boat with 115 hp motor. Damage deposit of 50% 
required 

$60 per hour 
$165 per half-day 
$250 per day 

Claytor Lake: 18-foot bowrider with 190 hp motor. Damage deposit of 50% 
required 

$50 per hour 
$135 per half-day 
$205 per day 

Claytor Lake: 19-foot bowrider with 220 hp motor, Damage deposit of 50% 
required. 

$55 per hour 
$150 per half-day 
$225 per day 

Occoneechee: 17-1/2-foot fishing boat. Rental includes 30 gallons of fuel. 
Damage deposit of $200 required 

$85 per hour 
$20 additional per hour after first hour 
$175 per 8 hours 
$875 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 20-foot pontoon boat with motor (8 person capacity) Rental 
includes 30 gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$85 per hour 
$20 additional per hour after first hour 
$175 per 8 hours 
$875 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 22-foot pontoon boat with motor (10 person capacity) Rental 
includes 30 gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$95 per hour 
$20 additional per hour after first hour 
$185 per 8 hours 
$925 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 25-foot pontoon boat with motor (14 person capacity) Rental 
includes 30 gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$110 per hour 
$25 additional per hour after first hour 
$230 per 8 hours 
$1,150 per 7 day week 

Smith Mountain Lake: 18-20-foot Runabout with 190 hp (8 person capacity). 
Rental does not include fuel and oil. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$165 for 3 hours 
$20 additional per hour after first 3 hours 
$255 per 8 hours 
$320 for 24 hours 
$100 additional per day after first day 

Claytor Lake: 18-foot pontoon boat (7 person capacity) or 21-foot pontoon boat 
(9 person capacity). Damage deposit of 50% required  

$40 per hour 
$110 per half-day  
$170 per day 

Claytor Lake: Jet Ski/Personal Watercraft (for use with rental of pontoon boat 
only). 

$110 per half-day 
$170 per day 
$60 per hour 
$150 per 4 hours 
$225 per 8 hours 

Smith Mountain Lake: 24-foot pontoon boat with 40 hp (10-12 person 
capacity). Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$90 for 3 hours 
$20 additional per hour after first 3 hours 
$165 per 8 hours 
$215 for 24 hours 
$80 additional each day after first day 

Volume 28, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 21, 2011 

596 



Regulations 

Smith Mountain Lake: Personal Watercraft (Waverunner 700). Rental does not 
include fuel and oil. Damage deposit of $500 required. 

$180 for 3 hours 
$20 additional per hour after first 3 hours 
$270 per 8 hours 
$335 for 24 hours 
$130 additional per day after first day 

Belle Isle: Motorboat less than 25 horsepower (3 gallons of fuel included, 2 
hour minimum) 

$15 per hour 
$60 per half-day 
$100 per day 

Belle Isle: Motorboat 25-49 horsepower (11 gallons of fuel included, 2 hour 
minimum) 

$22 per hour 
$70 per half-day 
$110 per day 

Standard Damage/Replacement Fees: All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. Not required for damage due to normal wear and tear. 

  

  Paddle $20 

  Anchor/Rope $40 

  Fuel Tank/Hose $60 

  Fire Extinguisher $25 

  Throw Cushion $10 

  Propeller (small) $100 

  Propeller (large) $135 

  Personal Flotation Device (PFD): replacement fee for lost/damaged 
PFD 

$25 each 

Other Rentals:   

Personal Flotation Device (PFD): When separate from boat rental. $1.00 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake, James River: Personal Floatation Device, type II. $5.00 for first day 
$1.00 additional days 

Smith Mountain Lake: Personal Floatation Device, type III $7.00 for first day 
$2.00 additional days 

Canoe/Kayak Paddles: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $5.00 per day 

New River Trail: Float Tubes $5.00 per hour 
$12 per half-day 
$18 per day 

James River:   

  Cooler Tubes $3.00 per day 

  Tubes $8.00 per hour (does not include shuttle) 
$20 per day (does not include shuttle) 
$12 per half hour past return time 

Claytor Lake: 2-person tow tube and towrope (with rental of boat only) $20 per 2 hours 
$25 per half-day 
$30 per day 

Claytor Lake: Water skis and towrope (with rental of boat only) $20 per 2 hours 
$25 per half-day 
$30 per day 
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Claytor Lake: Kneeboard and towrope (with rental of boat only) $15 per 2 hours 
$20 per half-day 
$25 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake: Tow tube; Water Skis; Knee Board $15 per day with boat rental 
$5.00 per additional day 
$25 per day without boat rental 

Smith Mountain Lake: Wake Board $25 per day with boat rental 
$10 per additional day 
$30 per day without boat rental 

Mobile Pig Cooker: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $40 per day 

GPS Units $6.00 per unit per half-day 
$10 per unit per day 

Volleyball Net and Ball Rental: All parks where available. $10 

Binocular Rentals (2 hours): All parks where available. $2.00 

Beach Floats: All parks where available. $1.00 per hour 
$3.00 for 4-hours 
$5.00 for full-day 

Surf Lounge Floating Chair Rental. All parks where available. $2.00 per hour, single chair 
$5.00 per half-day, single chair 
$7.00 per full day, single chair 
$3.00 per hour, double chair 
$7.00 per half-day, double chair 
$10 per full day, double chair 

Body Board: First Landing $6.00 per day 

Beach Umbrella: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $3.00 per hour 
$8.00 for 4 hours 
$15 for full-day 

  First Landing $6.00 per day 

Beach Chair: All parks where available $5.00 per day 

  First Landing $6.00 per day 

Fishing Rods: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $5.00 per half-day 

  First Landing $6.00 per day 
$3.00 per rod per fishing program 

Tents with a group camp reservation. All parks where available.   

  2-person tent  $12 per day 

  3-person tent $20 per day 

  4-person tent $25 per day 

  5-person tent $30 per day 

Coleman Camp Stove Rental, includes fuel $10 per day 

Tabletop Propane Grill, includes fuel $15 per day 

Coin-Operated Washing Machine: All parks where available unless otherwise 
noted. 

$1.25 per load, tax included 

  First Landing $1.50 per load, tax included 

Coin Operated Dryer: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $1.25 per load, tax included 
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  First Landing $1.50 per load, tax included 

Pump Out: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $5.00 

Horse Rentals:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $20 per one-hour ride 
$40 per two-hour ride 
$100 per full day ride 

Pony Rides: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $5.00 per 15 minutes 

Horseback Riding Lessons: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $25 per lesson on group basis 
$30 per lesson for individual 

Horseback Summer Day Camp: All parks where available unless otherwise 
noted. 

$180 per person per week 

Horseshoe or Croquet Rental for Campers. All parks where available. $1.00 per hour 
$5.00 per day 
$20 deposit 

4VAC5-36-210. Conference center and meeting facility fees.  

CONFERENCE CENTERS (TAXABLE)  

Prices may be discounted and/or waived by the director when necessary to create 
competitive bids for group sales. FEE 

Hemlock Haven Conference Center at Hungry Mother   

  Main Hall (Capacity: 375) (Capacity: 240) $275 $350 per day 

  Upper Level Dogwood Room (Capacity: 50) $175 $200 per day 

  Redbud Lower Level Board Room: (Capacity 35) (Capacity: 16) $75 $100 per day 

  Laurel Room (Capacity: 20) $40 per day 

  Entire Meeting Room Complex Ferrell Hall (Entire complex from 8 a.m. 
through 10 p.m.) 

$420 $575 per day 

  Day Use Recreational Package (Includes all outside recreational facilities)   

    0 – 250 Persons $300 per half-day 
$600 per full-day 

    250 – 500 Persons $425 per half-day 
$850 per full-day 

    500 + persons $575 per half-day 
$1,200 per full-day 

Cedar Crest Conference Center at Twin Lakes   

  Complex: Doswell Hall with deck, grounds, volleyball, horseshoes; Kitchen, 
Latham and Hurt Rooms NOT included. 

$229 per 4 hours 
$459 per day 
$53 each extra hour 

  Doswell Meeting Room: Meeting Room Only only; no kitchen or dining 
room. 

$164 per room per 4 hours 
$328 per room per day 
$37 each extra hour 

  Small breakout rooms with main room: Latham and Hurt. $65 per room per 4 hours 
$131 per room per day 
$21 each extra hour 
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  Small breakout rooms without main room. $98 per room per 4 hours 
$196 per room per day 
$37 each extra hour 

  Picnic Shelter or Gazebo at Cedar Crest. $68 per 4 hours 
$131 per day 
$11 each extra hour 

  Kitchen rental Only only available with complex rental. $105 per event 

  Kitchen Cleaning Fee: Deposit. $150 per event 

Chippokes Plantation Meeting, Conference, and Special Use Facilities   

  Mansion Conference Room. $26 per hour 

  Mansion or Historic Area Grounds (Includes parking for party rental). $525 per 4 hours 

  Mansion Board Room $105 per 4 hours 

  Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter (Available on reservation basis 
only). 

$105 per 4 hours 

  Wedding Package (includes historic area grounds, gardens, tent set up and 
take down, 10 60-inch round tables, 10 standard size rectangle tables, 100 
folding chairs, Wedding Coordinator, changing room for bride and groom, 
Mansion kitchen area, boardroom, no fee for wedding rehearsal). 

$1,412 per 4 hours 
$2,073 per 8 hours 
$50 nonrefundable reservation fee 

Southwest Virginia Museum  DAY EVENING 

  Victorian Parlor    

    Up to 30 People (8 tables – 30 chairs) OR Up to 50 people (50 chairs and 
head table) 

$42 $68 

  Additional meeting rooms: Victorian Parlor must be rented in order to rent 
additional rooms.  

  

    Hallway (downstairs) (Includes three existing tables with linens) $11 $11 

  Additional Hours $10 per hour $10 per hour 

  Exceeding approved hours $20 per hour $20 per hour 

  Wedding Portraits $52 per 2 hours $78 per 2 hours 

  Wedding Packages EVENT 

    Wedding Package A: Accommodates 100 people. Use of arbor in 
Victorian Garden. Setup of 100 chairs. One parking attendant. Use of 
wedding space for previous night's rehearsal. Bride and groom 
dressing rooms. Free use of facilities for wedding portrait (must be 
scheduled). 

$500 

  

    Wedding Package B: Accommodates 100 people. Use of a 40x40 
Tent. Small platform stage (4"H x 8'W x 8'L). Accent rope lighting. 
Setup of 100 chairs. One parking attendant. Use of wedding space for 
previous night's rehearsal. Bride and groom dressing rooms. Free use 
of facilities for wedding portrait (must be scheduled). 

$1,500 

  

    Wedding Package C: Accommodates 200 people (this requires an off-
site reception area). Use of a 40x60 tent. Small platform stage (4"H x 
8'W x 8'L). Accent rope lighting. Setup of 200 chairs. Two parking 
attendants. Use of wedding space for previous night's rehearsal. Bride 
and groom dressing rooms. Free use of facilities for wedding portrait 
(must be scheduled). 

 $2,500 
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  Reception Packages 

    Casual Reception Package A: May be reserved with Wedding Package 
A or B. Use of Victorian Parlor or foyer; parlor set with serving tables 
and linens. Use of serving kitchen. 

$200 

  

    Casual Reception Package B: May be reserved with Wedding Package 
A or B. Use of 20x30 tent; set with tables and linens. Use of serving 
kitchen. 

$300 

  

    Formal Reception Package C: May be reserved with Wedding 
Package A or B. Use of 40x60 tent; sit-down reception for 100 to 
include tables, linens and chairs. Use of serving kitchen. 

$2,250 

  

  Wedding and Reception Combination Package 

    Wedding and Reception Combination Package: Accommodates 100 
people. Both wedding and reception are held under the same tent. Use 
of a 40x60 tent. Small platform stage (4"H x 8'W x 8'L). Accent rope 
lighting. Setup of 100 chairs. One parking attendant. Use of wedding 
space for previous night's rehearsal. Bride and groom dressing rooms. 
Free use of facilities for wedding portrait (must be scheduled). Back 
of tent set with serving tables and linens. Use of serving kitchen. 

$2,500 

  

  Damage Fee: a minimal damage fee will be accessed the person(s) renting the 
property for damage to the site. 

$200 

  

Wilderness Road (Mansion and Ground Rental)   

  Karlan Mansion and Grounds Rental $350 for first day 
$150 for each additional day 

Cove Ridge Center at Natural Tunnel:  PRIVATE FEE EDUCATIONAL FEE 

  Cove Ridge Center Annual Membership: Membership entitles organization to a 
25% discount on facility rental fees and group rates on all programming offered 
through the center. 

$1,050 per year $525 per year 

  Day Use: Exclusive use of the auditorium, meeting room, resource library, 
catering kitchen, great room with stone fireplace and deck for two consecutive 
half-day rental periods, and parking passes. 

$315 $210 

  Overnight Use of one dorm: Includes Day Use Package plus one dorm rooms 
for one night and swimming (in season). 

$683 $498 

  Overnight Use of both dorms: Includes Day Use Package plus two dorm rooms 
for one night and swimming (in season). 

$892 $656 

  Wedding Package Day Use: Exclusive use of the auditorium, meeting room, 
resource library, catering kitchen, great room with stone fireplace and deck for 
three consecutive half-day rental periods, and parking passes. 

$525 NA 

  Wedding Package Overnight: Includes Day Use Package plus one dorm for one 
night and swimming (in season). 

$919 NA 

  Wedding Package Overnight: Includes Day Use Package plus both dorms for 
one night and swimming (in season). 

$1,102 NA 

  Wedding Package with Amphitheater: Rental of the park amphitheater in 
conjunction with any of the above wedding packages. 

$236 for the rental 
period 

NA 

  Removal of furniture from great room (only available with exclusive use of the 
center). 

$42 $42 

  Additional seating on deck (only available with exclusive use of the center). $42 $0 
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  Auditorium $126 per half day 
$231 per full day 

$99 per half day 
$183 per full day 

  Classroom – Library (half-day) $63 $47 

  One dorm: Overnight lodging for up to 30, includes swimming (in season) and 
parking passes. 

$420 per night 
April 1-October 31 
$378 per night 
November 1-March 
31 

$315 per night April 
1-October 31 
$283 per night 
November 1-March 31 

  Both Dorms: Overnight lodging for up to 60, includes swimming (in season) 
and parking passes. 

$630 per night April 
1-October 31 
$567 per night 
November 1-March 
31 

$472 per night April 
1-October 31 
$425 per night 
November 1-March 31 

  Per Person Student Rate for Overnight Dorm Use $13 per person $13 per person 

  Kitchen Use (when not included in package) $50 per event $50 per event 

Heritage Center at Pocahontas: All reservations require 50% down at time of 
reservation (Nonrefundable within 14 days of event) PRIVATE FEE EDUCATIONAL FEE 

  Large Room (Capacity: seated at tables 50; reception style 125, auditorium 80: 
includes tables, chairs, and warming kitchen) 

$131 per 4 hours 
$236 per full-day 
$26 each extra hour 

$78 per 4 hours 
$141 per full-day 
$15 each extra hour 

Westmoreland FEE 

  Tayloe and Helen Murphy Hall Meeting Facility: Includes Main Meeting 
Room, Kitchen, and Grounds 

$500 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 
$350 additional rental days after first day 
$75 per hour for usage beyond reservation period 

  Potomac Overlook Rental $55 per day 

  Breakout Meeting Room (May be rented separately from main meeting room 
only within 45 days of event. 

$75 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

  Kitchen Clean Up Fee: (Waived if renter cleans facility) $250 per event 

      

  Potomac River Retreat: Table and Chair Set-up $40 

Fairy Stone   

  Fayerdale Hall Meeting Facility Weekend Rental. Includes Friday, Saturday, 
and Sunday 

  

    One Day Rental $236 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

    Two Consecutive Days Rental $315 

    Three Consecutive Days Rental $366 

  Fayerdale Hall Meeting Facility Weekday Rental. Includes Monday through 
Thursday only. 

  

    One Day Rental $75 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

    Two Consecutive Days Rental $125 

    Three Consecutive Days Rental $174 

    Four Consecutive Days Rental $225 
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Douthat   

  Restaurant (includes table set-up) $236 

  Allegheny Room: Up to 30 persons. $158 per day 

  Wedding Package: Conference room and amphitheater (see "amphitheater 
section") on day of wedding, plus an extra half-day amphitheater for 
rehearsal. 

$289 

First Landing   

  Trail Center Conference Room and Meeting Facility (Capacity: 45) $42 per half-day $280 per day 
$63 per full-day 

Lake Anna   

  Visitor Center $32 per half-day 
$53 per full day 

  Concessions Building Rental $100 per day 

Bear Creek Lake   

  Meeting facility $236 per day 
$25 each extra hour 

  Wedding Package $315 per day 

Claytor Lake   

  Marina Meeting Facility: Includes facility, chairs, and tables. $550 per day, Friday – Sunday 
$275 per day, Monday – Thursday 
$825 per two days 

  Wedding Package: Includes rental of facility, chairs, tables, gazebo, and 
special use permit ($10 permit fee is waived with package).  

$625 per day package 
$995 per two-day package 

Leesylvania Wedding/Function Package: Includes Rental of: Lee's Landing Picnic 
Shelter, 100 Chairs, 15 Tables, and Parking for up to 50 vehicles 

$840 per half-day 
$945 per full-day 

Mason Neck   

  Wedding Package: 20 foot by 40 foot tent, 100 chairs, parking for up to 50 
cars  

$788 per event 

  Parking Attendant $53 per 4 hours 

Smith Mountain Lake   

  Meeting room at Visitor Center $158 per day 

  Exceeding approved hours. All parks unless otherwise noted below. $25 per hour 

Sky Meadows   

  Timberlake House Meeting Room 

Capacity 15 people 

$50 per day 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 
$75 per evening beyond 5 p.m. 

  Timberlake House Kitchen (in conjunction with rental of meeting room) $25 per day or part of day 

Equipment and Services Associated with Meetings and Rentals:   

  Microphone/Podium Rental $15 per day 

  Stage Section Rental: 4' x 4' $24 per event 

  First Landing 
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    Trail Center Pergola $95 per 3 hours 

  Chair Rentals 

  White, padded $3.00 

  White, plastic event chair $1.50 

  Standard folding chair $1.00 

  Table Rentals 

  Rectangular, 6' $7.50 

  Rectangular, 8' $8.00 

  Round, 4' $7.50 

  Round, 5' $8.75 

  Round, 6' $15 

  Linen Rentals: All parks unless otherwise noted 

    Table cloth only 
Place settings 

$3.00 per table 
$2.00 each 

  Wilderness Road 

    Table cloth    $7.00  

  Twin Lakes 

    Overlay $1.25 per table 

    Napkins $0.40 per napkin 

  Fax First 2 pages free 
$2.00 each extra page 

  Copies Single copy free 
$0.15 each extra copy 

  Lost Key Fee $10 

  Easels $5.00 per day 

  Overhead Projector $10 per day 

  TV with VCR $10 

  Second TV $10 

  Overhead Projector with Screen $10 

  Slide Projector with Screen $10 

  Flip Chart $10 

Event Set-up and Clean Up Fees   

  First Landing 

    Table and Chair Set-up Fee $40 per event 

  Park labor to clean up after special events and facility rentals if not done in 
accordance with rental agreement or use permit  

$50 per hour 

Notes on conference and meeting facilities fees:  

1. Conference and meeting facilities require a 30% prepayment due 10 days after making reservation, and payment of the full 
balance prior to or on the first day of the reservation. Cancellations made 14 or more days prior to the first day of the 
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reservation shall be charged the lesser of 10% of the total fee or $100. Cancellations made less that 14 days prior to the first 
date of the reservation shall be charged 30% of the total fee.  

2. Alcohol use during weddings at the Southwest Virginia Museum: Weddings held during public operating hours of the 
museum will not be allowed to serve alcohol. Weddings held after regular operating hours of the museum must comply with 
ABC permit laws and have alcohol in the designated reception areas. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3037; Filed November 1, 2011, 9:47 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF CORRECTIONS 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Corrections is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
for the following regulations in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 
are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 
where no agency discretion is involved. The Board of 
Corrections will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 
from any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC15-20. Regulations Governing 
Certification and Inspection (amending 6VAC15-20-10, 
6VAC15-20-30, 6VAC15-20-40, 6VAC15-20-50, 6VAC15-
20-70, 6VAC15-20-80, 6VAC15-20-90, 6VAC15-20-100, 
6VAC15-20-120).  

Statutory Authority: § 53.1-5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 21, 2011.  

Agency Contact: Jim Bruce, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Corrections, P.O. Box 26963, Richmond, VA 
23261-6963, telephone (804) 674-3303 ext. 1130, FAX (804) 
674-3017, or email james.bruce@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove references to audits of state 
correctional facilities and probation and parole districts to 
reflect the changes in the authority of the Board of 
Corrections pursuant to Chapter 375 of the 2011 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Part I  
Definitions  

6VAC15-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Appeal" means the action taken by a facility or program 
administrator when there is disagreement with a compliance 
audit finding.  

"Audit report" means the official report of compliance audit 
findings prepared by the Compliance and Accreditation Unit 
supervisor for the department and submitted to the board.  

"Board" means the State Board of Corrections.  

"Certification analyst" means a person assigned to the 
Compliance and Accreditation Unit who serves as 
chairperson or team leader of the certification team.  

"Certification/accreditation team" means persons appointed 
by the Compliance and Accreditation Unit manager or the 
American Correctional Association to conduct compliance 
audits.  

"Community residential program" means any group home, 
halfway house, or other physically unrestricting facility used 
for the housing, treatment, or care of adult offenders 
established or operated with funds appropriated to the 
Department of Corrections from the state treasury and 
maintained or operated by any political subdivision, 
combination of political subdivisions, or privately operated 
agency within the Commonwealth.  

"Compliance and Accreditation Unit" means the 
organizational unit of the department responsible for 
scheduling and conducting compliance audits to board 
standards.  

"Compliance" means that no deficiency was cited by the 
certification team or that cited deficiencies have been 
corrected through completion of the tasks identified in the 
plan of action.  

"Compliance audit" means an on-site official review of a 
facility or program by the certification team to evaluate 
compliance with standards promulgated by the board.  

"Compliance and Accreditation Unit local facilities 
supervisor" means an individual responsible to the 
Compliance and Accreditation Unit manager for supervising 
the Board of Corrections' local facilities inspections. 

"Compliance and Accreditation Unit manager" means an 
individual responsible to the Deputy Director of 
Administration for managing the Board of Corrections' 
certification process. 

"Compliance and Accreditation Unit supervisor" means an 
individual responsible to the Compliance and Accreditation 
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Unit manager for supervising the Board of Corrections' 
certification process. 

"Compliance documentation" means specific documents or 
information including records, reports, observations and 
verbal responses required to verify compliance with standards 
by a facility or program.  

"Decertified" means a status imposed by the board when it is 
determined that a facility or program has not met a minimum 
acceptable level of compliance with standards.  

"Deficiency" means noncompliance with a specific standard.  

"Department" means the Department of Corrections.  

"Deputy director" means the administrative head or designee 
of a division of the Department of Corrections.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 
Corrections.  

"Facility" means the physical plant of a state, local or private 
correctional facility or community correctional facility.  

"Facility or program administrator" means the individual 
responsible for the operation of a facility or program subject 
to standards, rules or regulations of the board.  

"Inspection" means an on-site official review of a local 
correctional facility by local facilities managers to assess 
compliance with life, health and safety standards promulgated 
by the board.  

"Interim compliance audit" means an on-site official review 
of a facility or program by the Compliance and Accreditation 
Unit to evaluate compliance with standards promulgated by 
the board which occurs at an interval other than the regular 
schedule as provided in 6VAC15-20-20. The interim 
compliance audit may consist of a determination of 
compliance with all standards applicable to the facility or 
program or may be limited to specific standards as directed 
by the board.  

"Life, health and safety alert" means a process by which the 
board is provided immediate notice by department staff of 
life, health and safety deficiencies identified in local 
facilities/programs.  

"Life, health, safety standards" means those standards 
directly related to life, health or safety issues as identified by 
the board.  

"Local correctional facility" means a jail, regional jail, or 
lockup.  

"Plan of action" means a document stating what has been or 
will be done to bring all deficiencies into compliance with 
standards, including a description of the activities undertaken, 
staff responsibilities, and a time table for completion.  

"Preparatory audit" means an unofficial review of a facility 
or program by regional staff or the Compliance and 

Accreditation Unit to evaluate compliance with standards 
promulgated by the board.  

"Private correctional facility" means a facility that is 
operated by an entity which has entered into a legal 
agreement to provide any correctional services to the 
Department of Corrections with respect to inmates under the 
custody of the Commonwealth.  

"Probation and parole district" means under the authority of 
the Director of the Department of Corrections, the 
Commonwealth is divided into as many separate districts as 
deemed necessary to provide professional investigation and 
supervision of the offender in the community under 
conditions of probation, parole or postrelease supervision and 
special conditions as set by the court or the Parole Board. 

"Probationary certification" means a status granted by the 
board for a specific period of time to correct deficiencies 
within the control of the facility or program.  

"Program" means a system of services provided to offenders 
by probation and parole offices and other community-based 
services.  

"Region" means the geographic area in which a facility or 
program is located as established by the department.  

"Regional director" means the administrative head of a 
specific geographic region within the department.  

"Regional office" means the administrative offices of a 
specific region within the department.  

"Unconditional certification" means that a facility or 
program is in 100% compliance with all applicable standards 
based upon the receipt of the plan of action.  

"Variance" means a decision by the board to suspend the 
requirements of a specific standard for a specific period of 
time.  

Part II  
Certification Process  

6VAC15-20-30. Frequency of audits.  

A. All state, local, and private and community correctional 
facilities and community residential programs operated by or 
affiliated with the department shall be audited every three 
years.  

1. The regional office or local facilities' office facility staff 
shall notify the Compliance and Accreditation Unit 
supervisor in writing within 30 days after a new facility or 
program accepts the first offender.  

2. The regional office staff shall conduct a preparatory 
audit of a new facility or community residential program 
during the first six months of operation.  

3. The Compliance and Accreditation Unit shall conduct a 
compliance audit during the second six months of 
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operation and on a regular schedule thereafter as provided 
by this section.  

B. The scheduled compliance audit may be postponed for up 
to six months due to bona fide security or emergency 
situations.  

1. The facility or program administrator shall notify the 
Compliance and Accreditation Unit manager and provide 
details of the circumstances requiring the postponement.  

2. The Compliance and Accreditation Unit supervisor shall 
complete a written notice of change and send copies of the 
approved written notice of change to the board, facility or 
program administrator, the appropriate regional director 
and the team members.  

C. Any state, local, or private or community correctional 
facility or community residential program may be scheduled 
for an interim compliance audit at the direction of the board. 
An interim audit may be scheduled for a facility or program 
that has:  

1. Undergone renovations or additions that have resulted in 
additional inmate capacity or significant changes to the 
numbers and duties of security staff;  

2. Exhibited difficulty in maintaining compliance with the 
board's standards;  

3. Been cited for noncompliance with the board's standards 
as a result of Department of Corrections inspections, 
Department of Health inspections or informal visits made 
by Department of Corrections' staff; or  

4. Been placed in probationary or decertified status.  

6VAC15-20-40. Preparation for audit.  

A. The Compliance and Accreditation Unit supervisor shall 
develop an annual audit schedule.  

1. The schedule shall be submitted to the Compliance and 
Accreditation Unit manager for review, comment and 
approval.  

2. Upon approval, the Compliance and Accreditation Unit 
supervisor shall:  

a. Disseminate the final schedule as appropriate, and  

b. Review the schedule as necessary and make 
adjustments for additional audits.  

3. Changes to the final audit schedule shall be agreed upon 
by the Compliance and Accreditation Unit manager.  

4. The Compliance and Accreditation Unit supervisor shall 
notify the facility or program administrator of the change. 
Changes shall not extend the audit date beyond the 
established frequency limits without board approval.  

B. The Compliance and Accreditation Unit manager shall 
appoint certification team members.  

1. Team members shall have prior audit experience or have 
completed certification training.  

2. At least one person shall be a staff member of the same 
type of facility or program being audited.  

3. All team members shall be from outside of the region in 
which the facility or program is located. The certification 
team auditing local correctional facilities shall consist at 
minimum of a certification analyst and a local facilities 
manager.  

4. The certification analyst shall act as team leader and 
shall coordinate and facilitate the audit.  

C. The Compliance and Accreditation Unit shall notify the 
facility or program administrator in writing at least 30 days 
prior to a compliance audit.  

D. A certification analyst should visit the facility or program 
administrator prior to an audit to discuss the audit process as 
needed. The visit shall be documented and approved by the 
Compliance and Accreditation Unit supervisor.  

6VAC15-20-50. On-site audit procedures.  

A. The certification analyst shall, on the first day of the 
audit, orient the team to the audit process and afford the 
facility or program administrator an opportunity to brief the 
team on aspects of the facility or program that may have a 
bearing on the audit.  

B. The facility or program administrator shall grant the team 
access to all documents, staff and areas of the facility or 
program that are relevant to establishing compliance.  

C. A facility or community residential program with an 
approved variance shall provide such documentation to the 
certification team. 

D. Data shall be collected through documentation, interview 
and observation.  

E. The certification analyst shall brief the facility or program 
administrator daily on audit progress and preliminary 
findings. At this time, the facility or program administrator 
may introduce additional data having a bearing on the team's 
findings. 

F. The entire certification team shall be included in 
compliance decisions.  

1. When a team member finds an indication of 
noncompliance, the team member shall notify the entire 
team and provide all available information regarding the 
standard in question.  

2. The team leader shall obtain consensus of the members 
to the compliance.  

3. If a consensus cannot be obtained, the matter shall be 
referred to the Compliance and Accreditation Unit 
supervisor.  
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G. The team shall hold a final debriefing with the facility or 
program administrator to discuss the team's compliance audit 
findings.  

H. At the request of the facility or program administrator, 
the certification team shall report compliance audit findings 
to facility or program staff.  

6VAC15-20-70. Development of a plan of action.  

A. A plan of action shall be developed for all deficiencies 
noted in the compliance audit findings. The plan of action 
must identify the following:  

1. The tasks required to correct a noted deficiency;  

2. The personnel responsible for completing the tasks; and  

3. The actual or proposed date of task completion.  

B. The facility or program administrator shall submit the 
plan of action to the regional office or Compliance and 
Accreditation Unit (for local facilities) as appropriate within 
10 working days of receipt of the notification of deficiencies.  

C. The regional director or designee, or Compliance and 
Accreditation Unit manager shall review the plan of action. If 
approved, it shall be submitted within 10 working days of 
receipt as follows: 

1. Regional director to the Deputy Director of Community 
Corrections; 

2. Regional director to the Deputy Director of Operations; 

3. Compliance and Accreditation Unit manager. 

D. The Deputy Director of Community Corrections/Deputy 
Director of Operations/Compliance and Accreditation Unit 
manager shall approve, amend, or return the plan of action to 
the regional director or local facility or program administrator 
for revision within 10 working days of receipt.  

E. D. The regional director or local facilities facility or 
program administrator shall complete any revision requested 
and return the plan to the Deputy Director of Community 
Corrections/Deputy Director of Operations/Compliance 
Compliance and Accreditation Unit manager within 10 
working days of receipt.  

F. E. The Compliance and Accreditation Unit manager may 
grant one 30-day extension to a facility or program 
administrator for the development of a plan of action. The 
Compliance and Accreditation Unit manager shall notify the 
board of the extension and its justification. The board may 
grant additional extensions.  

G. F. If a facility or program administrator fails to submit a 
plan of action within the time specified, the Compliance and 
Accreditation Unit supervisor shall submit the audit report 
with recommendations to the board.  

6VAC15-20-80. Variance requests.  

A variance may be requested by a facility or program 
administrator when unable to comply with a standard.  

1. Variance requests shall be submitted along with the plan 
of action for any deficiencies cited during the audit. Local 
correctional facilities shall submit the variance request 
directly to the board with the plan of action. Variance 
requests from other facilities/programs shall follow the 
procedures listed below. Variance requests shall include: 

a. The standard that cannot be met; 

b. Justification for variance; and 

c. The time frame for the variance. 

2. Local correctional facilities and community adult 
residential programs shall submit the variance request 
directly to the board. 

3. The regional director shall make a recommendation on 
the variance request and submit it and the plan of action to 
either the Deputy Director of Operations or Deputy 
Director of Community Corrections.  

4. The Deputy Director of Operations or Deputy Director 
of Community Corrections shall review the variance 
request or requests and either submit them to the board 
with a recommendation for approval or return the 
disapproved request to the regional director.  

5. The Compliance and Accreditation Unit manager, for 
the deputy director, shall forward the variance request to 
the board with a recommendation for approval.  

6VAC15-20-90. Appeal process for audits/inspections and 
schedule.  

A. The appeal review levels are: Board of Corrections will 
review appeals for locally or privately operated community 
facilities or community residential programs.  

1. Deputy Director of Operations for state correctional 
facilities;  

2. Deputy Director of Community Corrections for state 
community correctional units and probation and parole 
districts;  

3. Board of Corrections for locally or privately operated 
community facilities or programs.  

B. Appeals shall be submitted to either the regional office or 
the Compliance and Accreditation Unit (as noted above) 
along with the plan of action within 10 working days of 
receipt of the notification of deficiencies. The regional 
director or the Compliance and Accreditation Unit supervisor 
shall submit the appeal and the plan of action to the Deputy 
Director of Operations/Deputy Director of Community 
Corrections within five working days of receipt to the board. 
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C. If the appeal is denied at any level, the facility or program 
administrator may request that the appeal be forwarded to the 
next level. 

D. Each appeal level shall complete its review of the appeal 
and notify the Compliance and Accreditation Unit supervisor 
of its decision within five working days upon receipt of the 
appeal.  

E. C. Upon completion of the board's review of the appeal, 
notification of the decision shall be forwarded no later than 
five days after the board meeting to the facility or program 
administrator.  

F. D. If the appeal is ultimately denied by the board, the 
Compliance and Accreditation Unit will review and confirm 
the submitted plan of action and present a final 
recommendation for consideration by the board at the 
following board meeting.  

6VAC15-20-100. Board action on audit results.  

A. The Compliance and Accreditation Unit supervisor shall 
submit audit reports to the board no later than 60 days after 
completion of the audit. Audit reports shall include:  

1. A list of deficiencies;  

2. Plans of corrective action and completion status;  

3. Similar deficiencies from the previous audit; and  

4. Recommended action for consideration by the board.  

B. Based upon the audit report the board shall take one of 
the following actions:  

1. A letter requesting corrective action on deficiencies 
within a specific time frame shall be issued to the facility 
or program.  

2. A certificate of unconditional certification shall be 
issued to a facility or community residential program that 
has complied with all applicable standards.  

3. A letter of probationary certification may be issued to a 
facility or community residential program that has not met 
all applicable standards if the board grants a specific period 
of time to correct deficiencies. The department shall 
provide periodic status reports to the board.  

4. A letter of decertification will be issued by the board 
when a facility or community residential program does not 
meet the requirements for certification within the time 
limits approved by the board. The Compliance and 
Accreditation Unit supervisor shall provide status reports 
to the board during this period and notify the board when 
all deficiencies have been corrected.  

C. A facility or community residential program's 
certification status shall remain in effect until subsequent 
board action.  

6VAC15-20-120. Actions that can be taken when 
decertified.  

When a facility or community residential program is 
decertified the board may consider taking the following 
actions in compliance with statutes, policies, and procedures 
established by the board, the department, or other state or 
federal agencies:  

1. Board action for facilities or community residential 
programs that are state or privately operated may include, 
but not be limited to, the following:  

a. The facility or program administrator authorized to 
take action may bring about a reorganization of the 
facility or community residential program structure or 
other personnel actions deemed necessary to bring it into 
compliance with standards; or  

b. The facility or community residential program may be 
closed in accordance with established procedures.  

2. Board action for facilities and community residential 
programs that are locally operated may include, but not be 
limited to, the following:  

a. Recommend that the facility or program administrator 
authorized to take action bring about a reorganization of 
the facility or community residential program structure or 
other personnel actions deemed necessary to bring it into 
compliance with standards;  

b. Recommend that the facility or community residential 
program be closed or contractual agreements terminated 
in accordance with established procedures; or  

c. Initiate proceedings for the withholding of funds under 
the appropriate sections of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2951; Filed October 21, 2011, 12:53 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC15-31. Standards for State 
Correctional Facilities (repealing 6VAC15-31-10 through 
6VAC15-31-410).  

Statutory Authority: § 53.1-5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 21, 2011.  

Agency Contact: Jim Bruce, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Corrections, P.O. Box 26963, Richmond, VA 
23261-6963, telephone (804) 674-3303 ext. 1130, FAX (804) 
674-3017, or email james.bruce@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulation was established under the authority of 
§ 53.1-5 of the Code of Virginia, which was amended by 
Chapter 375 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. The Board of 
Corrections no longer has the authority to set standards 
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for state correctional facilities and is, therefore, repealing 
the regulation. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2899; Filed October 21, 2011, 10:46 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC15-62. Standards for State 
Community Corrections Units (repealing 6VAC15-62-10 
through 6VAC15-62-120).  

Statutory Authority: § 53.1-5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 21, 2011.  

Agency Contact: Jim Bruce, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Corrections, P.O. Box 26963, Richmond, VA 
23261-6963, telephone (804) 674-3303 ext. 1130, FAX (804) 
674-3017, or email james.bruce@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulation was established under the authority of 
§ 53.1-5 of the Code of Virginia, which was amended by 
Chapter 375 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. The Board of 
Corrections no longer has the authority to set standards 
for state correctional facilities and is, therefore, repealing 
the regulation. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2947; Filed October 21, 2011, 10:55 a.m. 

FORENSIC SCIENCE BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC40-60. DNA Data Bank 
Regulations (adding 6VAC40-60-10 through 6VAC40-60-
60).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 9.1-1110 and 19.2-310.5 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 20, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Stephanie Merritt, Department Counsel, 
Department of Forensic Science, 700 North Fifth Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6848, FAX (804) 
786-6857, or email stephanie.merritt@dfs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 9.1-1110 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the Board of Forensic Science to adopt regulations pursuant 
to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) for the 
administration of § 19.2-310.5 of the Code of Virginia. 
Section 19.2-310.5 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Department of Forensic Science to adopt regulations 
governing (i) the methods of obtaining information from the 
data bank in accordance with § 19.2-310.5 and (ii) procedures 
for verification of the identity and authority of the requestor.  

Purpose: The proposed regulation will establish the methods 
for obtaining information from the Virginia DNA data bank 

and procedures for verifying the identity and authority of 
persons requesting information from the Virginia DNA data 
bank pursuant to the requirements of § 19.2-310.5 of the 
Code of Virginia. In fulfilling this statutory mandate, the 
proposal also achieves the important goal of fully informing 
stakeholders, meaning law-enforcement agencies tasked with, 
among other things, protecting the health, safety, or welfare 
of the public, of processes related to the Virginia DNA data 
bank. The proposed regulation does not have any known 
environmental benefit.  

Substance: The proposed regulation details the process by 
which a law-enforcement officer may:  

1. Inquire whether or not an individuals DNA profile is in 
the DNA data bank; 

2. Obtain information relating to specific Virginia forensic 
laboratory examinations involving the analysis and 
comparison of two or more DNA samples; and 

3. Request DNA data bank information relating to out-of-
state forensic laboratory examination. 

Additionally, the proposal directs that the provision of data 
bank information to the Department of Corrections and the 
Department of Juvenile Justice shall be by a secure electronic 
exchange of data and directs the Department of Forensic 
Science to maintain a list of employee positions requiring 
regular data bank access on its website.  

Issues: The proposed regulation poses no known 
disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. In 
fulfilling the statutory mandate, the proposal also provides the 
advantage of fully informing stakeholders, meaning law-
enforcement agencies tasked with, among other things, 
protecting the health, safety, or welfare of the public, of 
processes related to the Virginia DNA data bank. By 
informing law-enforcement agencies of these processes, the 
regulation benefits the public and the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to a legislative mandate in § 19.2-310.5, the 
Forensic Science Board (Board) proposes to promulgate new 
regulations that will govern access to DNA databases. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for 
implementing these proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, the Department of 
Forensic Science (DFS) does not have regulations that govern 
access to DNA databases but does have policies that are 
equivalent in their requirements. Pursuant to a legislative 
mandate, the Board now proposes to promulgate new 
regulations that allow police departments, the Department of 
Corrections (DOC), the Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ), 
attorneys for the United States Department of Justice and the 
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Office of the Chief Medical Examiner to gain access to 
information in the State or federal DNA databases in 
connection with the submission of physical evidence for 
forensic laboratory examination. The proposed regulations 
specify how law enforcement officers may submit a request 
for information (by mail, fax or in person) as well as 
mandating that information provided to DOC and DJJ be 
transmitted through a secure electronic exchange. The 
proposed regulations also specify that information requested 
about out-of-state forensic examinations will be governed by 
the Combined DNA Index System (CODIS) manual and 
clarifies that the rules by which criminal defendants and their 
lawyers may access information in DNA databanks are in 
§ 9.1-1104 of the Code of Virginia. 

Because these regulations do not vary in any substantive way 
from policies already in place, no affected entity is likely to 
incur any costs on account of this proposed regulatory action. 
Interested individuals will, however, benefit from these rules 
being promulgated into regulations that are readily available 
and that will not change except through an act of the General 
Assembly or through a Board action that is open to the public 
and governed by the Administrative Process Act. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DFS reports that there are 
currently approximately 600 law enforcement and state 
agencies that may submit evidence for DNA analysis.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 
action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 
Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 
proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 
value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 
is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 
on account of this regulatory action.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the Board he economic impact of this 
proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department of Forensic Science concurs with the economic 
impact analysis. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to § 19.2-310.5 of the Code of Virginia, the 
proposed regulation establishes the methods for obtaining 
information from the Virginia DNA data bank and 
procedures for verifying the identity and authority of 
persons requesting information from the Virginia DNA 
data bank. 

The proposed regulations (i) allow police departments, the 
Department of Corrections (DOC), the Department of 
Juvenile Justice (DJJ), attorneys for the Commonwealth or 
the United States Department of Justice, and the Office of 
the Chief Medical Examiner to gain access to information 
in the Virginia or federal DNA databases in connection 
with the submission of physical evidence for forensic 
laboratory examination; (ii) specify how law-enforcement 
officers may submit a request for information; (iii) 
mandate that information provided to DOC and DJJ be 
transmitted through a secure electronic exchange; (iv) 
specify that information requested about out-of-state 
forensic examinations will be governed by the Combined 
DNA Index System (CODIS) manual; and (v) clarify that 
the rules by which criminal defendants and their lawyers 
may access information in DNA databanks are found in 
§ 9.1-1104 of the Code of Virginia. 

CHAPTER 60 
DNA DATA BANK REGULATIONS 

6VAC40-60-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"CODIS" means the Combined DNA Index System. 

Volume 28, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 21, 2011 

611 



Regulations 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Forensic 
Science. 

"DNA" means deoxyribonucleic acid. 

"DNA data bank" means the Virginia State DNA Index 
System (SDIS) maintained by the department, which is a 
database of DNA profiles associated with the corresponding 
personally identifying information.  

"DNA profile" means the results of DNA analysis of a 
sample of human biological evidence. 

"Law-enforcement agency" means any federal, state, or local 
government law-enforcement organization.  

"RFLE" means Request for Laboratory Examination, an 
official form provided by the department.  

"Subject" means the individual from whom a sample of 
human biological evidence has been obtained. 

6VAC40-60-20. Request for information from a law-
enforcement officer regarding whether an individual's 
DNA profile is in the DNA data bank. 

A. A request for information regarding whether an 
individual's DNA profile is in the DNA data bank shall be in 
writing, addressed to the department's DNA data bank 
administrator, and signed by the requesting law-enforcement 
officer.  

1. The request shall contain as much of the following 
information as is available to the requestor at the time of 
the request: the individual's full name, known aliases, 
assigned or claimed social security number, date of birth, 
race, gender, and state identification number. 

2. The request shall state that the information is being 
obtained in furtherance of an official investigation of a 
specified criminal offense that occurred within the 
jurisdiction of the requesting law-enforcement agency.  

B. The written request shall be on the official letterhead of 
the requesting officer's law-enforcement agency and sent to 
the department's central laboratory at 700 North Fifth Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219, via United States mail or 
commercial mail delivery service, or by facsimile.  

C. In the alternative, the request may be made in person at 
the department's central laboratory at 700 North Fifth Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. If not presented on the official 
letterhead of the requesting officer's law-enforcement agency, 
the requesting officer shall reduce the request to writing 
consistent with subsection A of this section and certify his 
authority to request such information. Thereupon, the identity 
of the requestor shall be verified by department personnel by 
inspection of the requestor's identification card and badge 
number. Department personnel shall (i) affirm in writing, 
below the signature of the requesting officer, that the officer's 

identification was verified; (ii) record the officer's badge 
number; and (iii) sign and date such verification. 

6VAC40-60-30. Request for DNA data bank information 
relating to specific Virginia forensic laboratory 
examinations involving the analysis and comparison of 
two or more samples. 

A. A duly authorized member of a law-enforcement agency 
or private police department designated as a criminal justice 
agency by the Department of Criminal Justice Services as 
defined in § 9.1-101 of the Code of Virginia, attorneys for the 
Commonwealth, attorneys for the United States Department 
of Justice, or a duly authorized member of the Office of the 
Chief Medical Examiner may obtain information from the 
DNA data bank in connection with the submission of physical 
evidence for forensic laboratory examination. A request for 
such laboratory examination shall be submitted in writing on 
the department's Request for Laboratory Examination (RFLE) 
form. The RFLE and any related physical evidence shall be 
submitted pursuant to the procedures established in the 
department's Evidence Handling & Laboratory Capabilities 
Guide, which is available online at the department's website. 

B. A request from an accused or his attorney shall be 
governed by the provisions of § 9.1-1104 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

C. A request for information from the DNA data bank 
concerning the results of an analysis and comparison of the 
identification characteristics of human biological evidence 
shall be in writing, addressed to the department's DNA data 
bank administrator, and signed by the requestor.  

1. The request shall contain as much of the following 
information as is available to the requestor at the time of 
the request: the subject's full name, known aliases, 
assigned or claimed social security number, date of birth, 
race, gender, and state identification number. 

2. The request shall state that the information is being 
obtained in furtherance of an official investigation of a 
specified criminal offense that occurred within the 
jurisdiction of the requesting law-enforcement agency.  

3. The written request shall be on the official letterhead of 
the requestor's agency and sent to the department's central 
laboratory at 700 North Fifth Street, Richmond, Virginia 
23219, via United States mail or commercial mail delivery 
service, or by facsimile.  

4. In the alternative, the request may be made in person at 
the department's central laboratory at 700 North Fifth 
Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. If not presented on the 
official letterhead of the requestor's agency, the requestor 
shall reduce the request to writing consistent with 
subsection A of this section and certify his authority to 
request such information. Thereupon, the identity of the 
requestor shall be verified by department personnel by 
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inspection of the requestor's agency identification card. 
Department personnel shall (i) affirm in writing, below the 
signature of the requestor, that the requestor's identification 
was verified; (ii) record the requestor's agency 
identification number if applicable; and (iii) sign and date 
such verification. 

6VAC40-60-40. Requests for DNA data bank information 
relating to out-of-state forensic laboratory examination. 

Requests for DNA data bank information relating to out-of-
state forensic laboratory examinations shall be submitted 
pursuant to the procedures established in the CODIS 
Operating Policies and Procedures Manual, which is available 
online at the department's website. 

6VAC40-60-50. Provision of DNA data bank information 
to the Virginia Department of Corrections and the 
Department of Juvenile Justice. 

Any information from the DNA data bank provided to a 
duly authorized representative of the Department of 
Corrections pursuant to § 19.2-310.2 of the Code of Virginia 
or to the Department of Juvenile Justice pursuant to § 16.1-
299.1 of the Code of Virginia shall be by a secure electronic 
exchange of data. 

6VAC40-60-60. Department employee access to the DNA 
data bank. 

The department shall maintain a list of employee positions 
that require regular access to the DNA data bank and samples 
submitted as a necessary function of the job. This list shall be 
available online at the department's website. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 
form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 
may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 
23219. 

FORMS (6VAC40-60) 

Virginia Department of Forensic Science Request for 
Laboratory Examination, 100-F100 (eff. 8/08). 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(6VAC40-60) 

CODIS Operating Policies and Procedures Manual, 210-
D100, Revision 2, July 27, 2009, Biology Program Manager, 
Virginia Department of Forensic Science. 

Evidence Handling & Laboratory Capabilities Guide, 
February 2010 edition, Forensic Training Section, Virginia 
Department of Forensic Science. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2425; Filed October 26, 2011, 10:41 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Medical 
Assistance Services is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 
are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 
where no agency discretion is involved. The Department of 
Medical Assistance Services will receive, consider, and 
respond to petitions from any interested person at any time 
with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 
(adding 12VAC30-120-925).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendment permits individuals with special needs who 
are enrolled in the Elderly and Disabled with Consumer 
Direction Waiver and who have a diagnosis of intellectual 
disability to be eligible to receive respite services in 
children’s residential facilities that are licensed for respite 
services for children with intellectual disability. The 
amendment is mandated by Item 297 WWWW of Chapter 
890 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. 

12VAC30-120-925. Respite coverage in children's 
residential facilities. 

A. Individuals with special needs who are enrolled in the 
EDCD waiver and who have a diagnosis of intellectual 
disability (ID) shall be eligible to receive respite services in 
children's residential facilities that are licensed for respite 
services for children with ID. 

B. These respite services shall be covered consistent with 
the requirements of 12VAC30-120-925 or 12VAC30-120-
960, whichever is in effect at the time of service delivery. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2948; Filed October 25, 2011, 10:55 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory actions 
are exempt from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The Safety and Health Codes Board 
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 16VAC25-90. Federal Identical 
General Industry Standards (amending 16VAC25-90-
1910.145, 16VAC25-90-1910.147, 16VAC25-90-1910.177).  

16VAC25-100. Federal Identical Shipyard Employment 
Standards (amending 16VAC25-100-1915.92, 16VAC25-
100-1915.163, 16VAC25-100-1915.181; adding 16VAC25-
100-1915.80, 16VAC25-100-1915.81, 16VAC25-100-
1915.82, 16VAC25-100-1915.83, 16VAC25-100-1915.84, 
16VAC25-100-1915.85, 16VAC25-100-1915.86, 16VAC25-
100-1915.87, Appendix A to 16VAC25-100-1915.87, 
16VAC25-100-1915.88, 16VAC25-100-1915.89, Appendix 
A to 16VAC25-100-1915.89, 16VAC25-100-1915.90, 
16VAC25-100-1915.91, 16VAC25-100-1915.93, 16VAC25-
100-1915.94, 16VAC25-100-1915.162, 16VAC25-100-
1915.164).  

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22(5) of the Code of Virginia; 
Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (P.L. 91-596). 

Effective Date: January 15, 2012, for all sections except 
16VAC25-100-1915.89. The effective date of 16VAC25-100-
1915.89 is April 15, 2012. 

Effective Date: January 15, 2012.  

Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Planning and Evaluation 
Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor 
Building, 13 South Thirteenth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, TTY (804) 
786-2376, or email john.crisanti@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Federal OSHA has revised Subparts J and N of 29 CFR 
Part 1910 and Subparts F and J of 29 CFR Part 1915 
regarding hazards in general working conditions in 
shipyard employment. The amendments reflect advances in 
industry practices and technology, consolidate certain 
safety and health requirements into a single subpart, and 
provide protection from hazards not previously addressed, 
including the control of hazardous energy. The final rule 
covers diverse working conditions in shipyard employment, 

including sanitation, medical services and first aid, motor 
vehicle and pedestrian safety, lighting, housekeeping, and 
hazardous energy. It applies to all shipyard employment at 
landside facilities, on vessels, and in vessel sections. The 
revised final rule does not apply to landside fish-
processing facilities, which will continue to be covered by 
Part 1910, general industry requirements. 16VAC25-90 
and 16VAC25-100 are revised accordingly. 

The amendments also implement a correction to §§ 
1910.145 and 1910.147 of this revised standard, published 
on July 25, 2011, by federal OSHA. 

Note on Incorporation by Reference: Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 
of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 1910, Occupational 
Safety and Health Standards, and 29 CFR Part 1915, 
Occupational Safety and Health Standards for Shipyard 
Employment, are declared documents generally available to 
the public and appropriate for incorporation by reference. For 
this reason the document will not be printed in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. A copy of each of these documents 
is available for inspection at the Department of Labor and 
Industry, 13 South 13th Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, 
and in the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General 
Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action: On October 13, 2011, the 
Safety and Health Codes Board adopted federal OSHA's 
revised final rule for (i) Occupational Safety and Health 
Standards, §§ 1910.145, 1910.147, and 1910.177, and (ii) 
Occupational Safety and Health Standards for Shipyard 
Employment, §§ 1915.80 through 1915.94, 1915.162 through 
1915.164, and 1915.181 as published in 76 FR 24698 through 
24711 on May 2, 2011, with an effective date of April 15, 
2012, for § 1915.89 and an effective date of January 15, 2012, 
for all other sections. The board also adopted the subsequent 
corrections to §§ 1910.145 and 1910.147 published in 76 FR 
44265. 

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: When the regulations, 
as set forth in the revised final rule for Occupational Safety 
and Health Standards and Occupational Safety and Health 
Standards for Shipyard Employment are applied to the 
Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry or to 
Virginia employers, the following federal terms shall be 
considered to read as follows: 

Federal Terms   VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR   VOSH Standard 

Assistant Secretary   Commissioner of Labor and 
Industry 

Agency   Department 

August 1, 2011   January 15, 2012 

October 31, 2011   April 15, 2012 
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VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3034; Filed November 1, 2011, 2:48 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 16VAC25-90. Federal Identical 
General Industry Standards (amending 16VAC25-90-
1910.33, 16VAC25-90-1910.34, 16VAC25-90-1910.35, 
16VAC25-90-1910.36, 16VAC25-90-1910.132, 16VAC25-
90-1910.134, 16VAC25-90-1910.141, 16VAC25-90-
1910.184, 16VAC25-90-1910.440, 16VAC25-90-1910.1001, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1003, 16VAC25-90-1910.1017, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1018, 16VAC25-90-1910.1020, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1025, 16VAC25-90-1910.1027, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1028, 16VAC25-90-1910.1029, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1030, 16VAC25-90-1910.1043, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1044, 16VAC25-90-1910.1045, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1047, 16VAC25-90-1910.1050, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1051, 16VAC25-90-1910.1450; adding 
Appendix C to § 1910.134, Appendix A to § 1910.1450).  

16VAC25-100. Federal Identical Shipyard Employment 
Standards (amending Appendix A to Subpart B of Part 
1915, 16VAC25-100-1915.112, 16VAC25-100-1915.118, 
16VAC25-100-1915.152, 16VAC25-100-1915.1001, 
Appendix C to § 1915.1001; adding 16VAC25-100-
1915.113). 

16VAC25-120. Federal Identical Marine Terminals 
Standards (amending 16VAC25-120-1917.2, 16VAC25-
120-1917.127). 

16VAC25-130. Federal Identical Longshoring Standards 
for Hazard Communications (amending 16VAC25-130-
1918.2, 16VAC25-130-1918.95). 

16VAC25-137. Federal Identical Gear Certification 
(adding 16VAC25-137-1919.6, 16VAC25-137-1919.11, 
16VAC25-137-1919.12, 16VAC25-137-1919.15, 16VAC25-
137-1919.18).  

16VAC25-175. Federal Identical Construction Industry 
Standards (amending 16VAC25-175-1926.60, 16VAC25-
175-1926.62, 16VAC25-175-1926.1101, 16VAC25-175-
1926.1127; adding 16VAC25-175-1926.251).  

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22(5) of the Code of Virginia; 
Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (P.L. 91-596). 

Effective Date: January 15, 2012.  

Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Planning and Evaluation 
Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor 
Building, 13 South Thirteenth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, TTY (804) 
786-2376, or email john.crisanti@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

In Phase III of its Standards Improvement Project (SIP-
III), federal OSHA revised the general industry, maritime, 
construction, and agricultural standards by removing or 
revising individual requirements within rules that were 

confusing, outdated, duplicative, or inconsistent. This 
regulatory action adopts most of SIP-III, including: 

1. Revising the title of the Means of Egress standard to 
"Exit Routes and Emergency Planning;" 

2. Adding another compliance alternative to the exit 
routes standards so employers can comply with the exit-
route provisions of either the National Fire Protection 
Association 2009 Life Safety Code or the International 
Code Council 2009 International Fire Code; 

3. Removing requirements from several general industry 
substance-specific standards for employers to prepare 
and maintain training-certification records; 

4. Clarifying and updating numerous provisions related 
to respiratory protection in 16VAC25-90-1910.134, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1003, 16VAC25-90-1910.1051, 
16VAC25-100-1915.1001, and 16VAC25-175-
1926.1101; 

5. Revising and updating two definitions of the general 
environmental controls in 16VAC25-90-1910.141 and 
16VAC25-120-1917.127; 

6. Updating the standards regulating slings for general 
industry (16VAC25-90-1910.184), shipyard employment 
(16VAC25-100-1915.112, 16VAC25-100-1915.113, and 
16VAC25-100-1915.118), and construction (16VAC25-
175-1926.251) by removing outdated tables for 
consistency with current ANSI standards; 

7. Removing two obsolete recordkeeping requirements in 
commercial diving operations standards in 16VAC25-90-
1910.440; 

8. Removing several standards in toxic and hazardous 
substances standards that required employers to transfer 
medical records to the National Institute for 
Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH); 

9. Revising the monitoring requirements under the lead 
standards for general industry (16VAC25-90-1910.25) 
and construction (16VAC25-175-1926.62) to require 
employers to provide follow-up blood sampling tests 
when an employee's blood lead level is at or above the 
numerical criterion for medical removal; 

10. Removing an outdated medical recommendation in 
the standard on occupational exposure to hazardous 
chemicals in laboratories (16VAC25-90-1910.1450); 

11. Clarifying that the original purpose of the shipyard 
confine-space standard (i.e., that OSHA does not 
consider abrasive blasting of the external surface of the 
vessel (the hull) to be hot work);  

12. Adding a definition to the longshoring standards of 
the term "ship's stores" (16VAC25-120-1917.2) to 
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eliminate confusion regarding the meaning of this term; 
and  

13. Adding updated OSHA requirements for inspecting a 
vessel's cargo-handling gear consistent with ILO 
Convention 152 (16VAC25-137-1919.6, 16VAC25-137-
1919.11, 16VAC25-137-1919.12, and 16VAC25-137-
1919.15) to mandate that gear be thoroughly examined 
before initial use, as well as every 12 months, and 
retested every five years, instead of every four years. 

Note on Incorporation by Reference: Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 
of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 1910, Occupational 
Safety and Health Standards; 29 CFR Part 1915, 
Occupational Safety and Health Standards for Shipyard 
Employment; 29 CFR Part 1917, Marine Terminals 
Standards; 29 CFR Part 1918, Safety and Health Regulations 
for Longshoring; 29 CFR Part 1919, Gear Certification; and 
29 CFR Part 1926, Safety and Health Regulations for 
Construction are declared documents generally available to 
the public and appropriate for incorporation by reference. For 
this reason the documents will not be printed in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. A copy of each of these documents 
is available for inspection at the Department of Labor and 
Industry, 13 South 13th Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, 
and in the office of the Registrar of Regulations, General 
Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action: On October 13, 2011, the 
Safety and Health Codes Board adopted Phase III of federal 
OSHA's final rule for the Standards Improvement Project, 
with an effective date of January 15, 2012. The only 
standards of Phase III not adopted by the board were 29 CFR 
1910.6, 29 CFR 1926.51, and 29 CFR 1928.110.  

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: When the regulations as 
set forth in the revised final rule for Standards Improvement 
Project - Phase III are applied to the Commissioner of the 
Department of Labor and Industry or to Virginia employers, 
the following federal terms shall be considered to read as 
follows: 

Federal Terms   VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR   VOSH Standard 

Assistant Secretary   Commissioner of Labor and 
Industry 

Agency   Department 

July 8, 2011   January 15, 2012 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3035; Filed November 2, 2011, 9:55 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, which 
excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The Board of Funeral Directors and 
Embalmers will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-30. Regulations for Preneed 
Funeral Planning (amending 18VAC65-30-230).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 21, 2011.  

Agency Contact: Lisa Russell Hahn, Executive Director, 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 
(804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 527-4637, or email 
lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment makes providing an authorized written 
statement to each person who arranges a funeral or other 
disposition of human remains a requirement rather than an 
option as required by federal regulation. 

18VAC65-30-230. Content of disclosure statements.  

The following disclosure statements shall be provided as a 
part of any contract used for preneed funeral planning:  

We are required by law and/or the Virginia Board of Funeral 
Directors and Embalmers to provide access to and the 
opportunity for you to read the following information to assist 
you in preplanning. A question and answer format is used for 
clarity and includes the most commonly asked questions.  

PRENEED CONTRACTS  

-- Is there more than one type of preneed agreement?  

Yes. Guaranteed contracts mean that the costs of certain 
individual items or the cost of the total package will never 
be more to your family or estate. Nonguaranteed means 
just the opposite. (See the section entitled "General 
Funding Information" for more information on guaranteed 
and nonguaranteed costs.)  
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Contracts may be funded by insurance/annuity policies, 
trusts, or transfer of real estate/personal property.  

-- What are my protections?  

You should take your completed preneed contract home 
before you sign it and review it with your family or your 
legal advisor. You have a right to this review before you 
sign the contract or pay any money.  

You should also read carefully the information in this 
disclosure statement. If you have any questions, contact the 
seller for more information or contact your legal advisor.  

CANCELLATION  

-- Can I cancel my preneed agreement if I change my mind? 
Will I get my money back?  

You may cancel payment for supplies or services within 30 
days after signing the agreement. If you funded your 
preneed arrangement through a trust, the contract seller 
will refund all the money you have paid plus any interest 
or income you have earned.  

If you funded your preneed arrangement through a 
revocable trust and you cancel the preneed contract 
AFTER the 30-day deadline, you will be refunded all of 
your money on the items that are not guaranteed and 90% 
of all your money on the items that are guaranteed. You 
will also receive any interest or income on that amount. A 
revocable trust is a trust that you can cancel.  

There may be a penalty to withdraw money from a 
revocable trust account which has already been established 
in your name. If there is, your contract will give you this 
information. (See the first question under the section 
entitled "Payment" below.)  

If you have funded your preneed arrangement through an 
irrevocable trust you will not be able to cancel the trust 
agreement or receive a refund. An irrevocable trust is one 
that cannot be cancelled.  

If you funded your preneed arrangement through an 
insurance policy/annuity contract which will be used at the 
time of your death to purchase the supplies and services 
you have selected, you will need to pay careful attention to 
the cancellation terms and conditions of the policy. You 
may not be eligible for a refund.  

PAYMENT  

-- What happens to my money after the contract is signed?  

Your money will be handled in one of several ways. It may 
be deposited in a separate trust account in your name. The 
trust account will list a trustee who will be responsible for 
handling your account. The funeral home you have 
selected as your beneficiary will also be listed. You have 
the right to change the funeral home and the trustee of your 

account prior to receiving the supplies and services under 
the preneed contract.  

Your money may be used to purchase a preneed life 
insurance policy which may be used to pay for your 
arrangements upon your death. The proceeds of the policy 
will be assigned to the funeral home of your choice. You 
may change the funeral home assignment at any time prior 
to receiving the supplies and services under the preneed 
contract.  

You may decide to choose a life insurance policy or a trust 
account that requires regular premium payments and not 
have to make an up-front, lump sum payment.  

-- May I pay for goods and services with real estate or 
personal property?  

Yes. When you pay for these supplies and services in 
whole or in part with any real estate you may own, the 
preneed contract that you sign will be attached to the deed 
on the real estate and the deed will be recorded in the 
clerk's office of the circuit court in the city or county where 
the real estate is located.  

If you pay for goods and services with personal property 
other than cash or real estate, the contract seller, will 
declare in writing that the property will be placed in a trust 
until the time of your death and will give you written 
information on all the terms, conditions, and considerations 
surrounding the trust. The contract seller will confirm in 
writing that he has received property.  

You may decide not to transfer the title of the personal 
property to the contract seller of your preneed contract. In 
this situation, you will have to submit information to the 
contract seller in writing that you are giving him the 
property without a title, and describe the property and 
where it will be kept until the time of your death.  

In either case, the written statements will be recorded in 
the clerk's office of the circuit court of the city or county in 
which you live. The written statement does not have to be a 
separate document.  

GENERAL FUNDING INFORMATION  

-- If the prices of the goods and services are affected by 
inflation between now and my death, will the funding I 
choose be adjusted accordingly?  

There is a possibility that the funding may fail to keep up 
with inflation. This could mean that the funding you 
choose could have insufficient value to cover all expenses.  

-- What happens if my funding is not enough to cover the 
full cost of these arrangements?  

If the entire funeral or specific items in the agreement are 
guaranteed by the contract seller, your family or estate will 
not have to pay any more for those items provided that you 
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have paid the grand total in full and all interest earned is 
allowed to accumulate in your account. However, if you 
have not paid the account in full and have not allowed the 
interest to accumulate in the account and any items 
increase in price, your family or estate would be 
responsible for the extra amount if the funds are not 
sufficient. In some situations where you pay toward your 
funding with regular premiums rather than in one lump 
sum, your account may not be enough at the time of your 
death to cover everything.  

-- What happens to the extra money if my funding is more 
than what is needed to pay for these arrangements?  

Sometimes, as explained in the answer above, your funding 
account may not have had the time to grow sufficiently 
before your death to cover items which are guaranteed in 
price to you, yet have increased in price for the funeral 
home.  

After funeral expenses are paid, there may be money left 
over. Because of the ongoing risk that a funeral home takes 
in guaranteeing prices for you, the funeral home may not 
be required to return this excess money.  

Some funding agreements and funeral homes, however, 
require that extra money be returned to the estate or family. 
Others do not. You should obtain information concerning 
this in writing before signing the preneed contract.  

The answers to the following questions will depend upon 
the terms and conditions of the individual's funding and 
preneed agreements.  

Please review your preneed contract and/or funding 
agreement for answers to these questions.  

-- What happens to my preneed contract if I change my 
assignment from one funeral home to another?  

(Funeral home shall place answer here)  

-- What happens to my preneed contract if I change the 
beneficiary of my funding or the use of my proceeds from the 
funding.  

If you make such changes, it could void your contract. You 
should request specific information from the contract seller 
and the funding arrangement.  

-- What will happen to my preneed contract if I fail to make 
agreed to premium payments to my funding source?  

(Funeral home shall place answer here)  

-- Do I get any money back if I surrender or cancel my 
funding arrangements?  

(Funeral home shall place answer here)  

TRUST ACCOUNT  

-- If my money goes into a trust account, what information 
will I receive about that account?  

If you want your money to go into a trust fund, the trust 
agreement must furnish you with information about the 
amount to be deposited into the account, the name of the 
trustee, information about what happens to the interest 
your trust account will earn, and information about your 
responsibility to file and pay taxes on that interest.  

If there are filing expenses connected with your trust 
account, you will be notified what the expenses are and 
whether you or the contract seller is the responsible party 
for paying those.  

-- What happens to the interest earned by the trust?  

The interest earned by the trust may be handled in different 
ways by different trust arrangements. The interest may 
have to go back into your account if items on your contract 
are guaranteed. You may be responsible for reporting that 
interest to the Internal Revenue Service and paying taxes 
on it. You will be responsible to pay any taxes on the 
interest earned even if you cancel your trust account.  

Some trust accounts cannot be cancelled.  

There may be special fees deducted from your interest. 
However, you may still be responsible for paying taxes on 
the entire amount of interest earned before the fees were 
deducted. Please ask your contract seller for a written list 
of any fees so you will have a clear understanding about 
them before you sign the contract.  

-- If I pay my trust in premium payments, what happens if I 
die before the grand total of the funeral has been placed in 
trust?  

(Funeral home shall place answer here)  

CLAIMS AGAINST THIS CONTRACT  

-- Can someone to whom I owe money make a claim against 
the money, personal property, or real estate that I have used to 
pay for this contract?  

No. This money or property cannot be used to settle a debt, 
a bankruptcy, or resolve a claim. These funds cannot be 
garnished.  

-- Can the money or property be taxed?  

No. Currently, interest earned on the money you deposit in 
a trust, savings account, or the value of the property you 
used for payment can be taxed but not the original amount 
which you invested. Interest earned on annuities is 
generally deferred until withdrawal.  

GENERAL GOODS AND SERVICES  

-- If I choose goods and services that might not be available 
at the time of my death, what is the provider required to do?  
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The funeral home which you select is required to furnish 
supplies and services that are similar in style and equal in 
value and quality if what you choose is no longer made or 
is not available at the time of your death.  

Your representative or next-of-kin will have the right to 
choose the supplies or services to be substituted. However, 
if the substitute is more expensive than the item originally 
selected by you, your designee or next-of-kin would be 
responsible for paying the difference. Under no 
circumstances will the funeral establishment be allowed to 
substitute lesser goods and services than the ones you 
chose.  

If, before your death, the funeral home goes out of business 
or is otherwise unable to fulfill its obligation to you under 
the preneed contract, you have the right to use the proceeds 
at the funeral home of your choice.  

If the inability to provide services does not become 
apparent until the time of your death, the individual that 
you named as your designee could use the funds for 
services at another funeral home.  

-- May I choose the exact item I want now and have the 
funeral home store it until my death?  

If the funeral home or supplier has a storage policy you 
may ask for this service. If the funeral home or contract 
seller agrees to store these items, the risk of loss or damage 
shall be upon the funeral home during the storage period.  

For example, what would happen if you select a casket 
which is in-stock at the time you make these arrangements 
and the funeral home or supplier agrees to store it for you 
in their warehouse and: (i) damage occurs, (ii) the funeral 
home or supplier goes out of business, (iii) the funeral 
home or supplier is sold, etc.? You need to be assured in 
writing of protection in these types of situations.  

-- What happens if I choose to have a unique service that is 
not customary or routine in my community? Must the funeral 
home comply with my wishes?  

The funeral home which you have chosen to conduct your 
service may be able to only provide certain types of 
services. They may not be able to fulfill your request. If 
there is a restriction on what they can provide, you will be 
notified in writing before you sign the preneed contract.  

If the funeral home agrees in writing before you sign the 
contract to perform such services, the funeral home shall 
provide you a written, itemized statement of fees which 
you will be charged.  

-- Will the funeral home agree to transport my body to 
another area for burial?  

Again, the funeral home may have restrictions on the 
distance they are willing to travel to conduct a burial. If 
restrictions apply, you will be notified in writing.  

If the funeral home agrees in writing before you sign the 
contract to honor your wishes, the funeral home shall 
provide you a written, itemized statement of any penalties 
(fees) which you will be charged.  

-- I may die and be buried in a city other than one where the 
funeral home that I select for my goods and services is 
located. Will the funeral home that I select under this contract 
deliver my merchandise to the city where I die and am to be 
buried?  

This is entirely up to the funeral home to decide. If the 
funeral home has restrictions on this, they will notify you 
in writing. If they agree to ship merchandise to another 
area for your funeral, you will be notified before signing 
this contract of the fees involved if they can be determined 
and guaranteed at this time.  

However, the preneed contract arrangements and funding 
is considered portable. This means that they are available 
for transfer from one locality to another. It is unusual for 
actual goods and merchandise to be transferred.  

PRICING  

-- How will I know that the prices of items which I select are 
the same for everyone?  

The funeral home maintains a general price list and a 
casket and outer burial container price list. Your contract 
seller will give this to you before you begin talking about 
arrangements. After your discussion is finished, you will 
be given a copy of your preneed contract on which charges 
will be listed. Charges will only be made for the items you 
select. If there are any legal or other requirements that 
mandate that you must buy any items you did not 
specifically ask for, the contract seller will explain the 
reason for the charges to you in writing.  

You may ask a funeral home to purchase certain items or 
make special arrangements for you. If the funeral home 
charges you for these services, you will receive an 
explanation in writing. The charges to you for these 
services may be higher than if you or your family 
purchased them directly.  

At the time of your death, your family or estate will be 
given an itemized statement which will list all of the 
specific charges. This is a requirement of the Federal Trade 
Commission. Although not required to do so, some funeral 
homes may also choose to give you an itemized statement 
when you make these arrangements.  

-- What is meant by guaranteed and nonguaranteed prices?  

Some contract sellers may agree that certain prices are 
guaranteed. Some may guarantee the price of the total 
package. Other funeral homes may not guarantee any 
prices.  
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Guaranteed prices are those that will not increase for your 
family or estate at the time of your death. Basically, this 
means that your funeral arrangement for those items will 
be covered by and will not exceed your funding and the 
interest it earns. Nonguaranteed prices are those which 
might increase or decrease. The nonguaranteed prices may 
be written in at the time of this contract with you 
understanding that the price is an estimate only and may 
increase or decrease. A settlement to that effect may have 
to be made with your family or representative after your 
death.  

-- Can the contract seller and I negotiate a projected charge 
for the nonguaranteed items based on the rate of inflation?  

It is entirely up to the contract seller to inform you of the 
funeral home policy in that regard.  

CASKETS AND CONTAINERS  

-- Do I have to buy a vault or a container to surround the 
casket in the grave?  

In most areas of the country, state and local laws do not 
require that you buy a container to surround the casket in 
the grave. However, many cemeteries ask that you have 
such a container to support the earth above the grave. 
Either a burial vault or a grave liner will satisfy if such 
requirements exist.  

-- Is a casket required?  

A casket is not required for direct cremation. If you want to 
arrange a direct cremation, you may use an unfinished 
wood box or an alternative container made of heavy 
cardboard or composition materials. You may choose a 
canvas pouch.  

-- Do certain cemeteries and crematoriums have special 
requirements?  

Particular cemeteries and crematoriums may have policies 
requiring that certain goods and services be purchased. If 
you decide not to purchase goods and services required by 
a particular cemetery or crematorium, you have the right to 
select another location that has no such policy.  

EMBALMING  

-- Is embalming always required?  

Except in certain special cases, embalming is not required 
by law. Embalming may be necessary, however, if you 
select certain funeral arrangements such as viewing or 
visitation with an open casket. You do not have to pay for 
embalming you did not approve if you select arrangements 
such as a direct cremation or immediate burial. If the 
funeral home must charge to conduct an embalming, your 
designee will be notified of the reasons in writing.  

ASSISTANCE  

-- This is all very confusing to me. May I pick someone 
close to me to help with all of this? May this person also 
work with the funeral home to ensure that my wishes as 
written in the preneed contract are carried out?  

You may designate in writing a person of your choice to 
work with the funeral home and contract seller either 
before or after your death to ensure that your wishes are 
fulfilled. You must sign the statement and have it 
notarized. The person that you designate must agree to this 
in writing. Under the laws governing preneed contracts, the 
individual whom you designate has final authority at the 
time of your death.  

-- Where can I complain if I have a problem concerning my 
preneed contract, the contract seller, or the funeral home?  

You may direct your complaints or concerns to:  

The Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers  
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 
Richmond, Virginia 23233 
Telephone Number (804) 367-4479 
Toll Free Number 1-800-533-1560  
Fax: (804) 527-4413 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2958; Filed October 31, 2011, 2:39 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-20, 
18VAC110-20-275, 18VAC110-20-690, 18VAC110-20-700; 
adding 18VAC110-20-685, 18VAC110-20-725, 18VAC110-
20-726, 18VAC110-20-727, 18VAC110-20-728).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 14, 2011 - 9 a.m. - Perimeter Center, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 201, Board Room 2, Richmond, 
VA 

Public Comment Deadline: January 20, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 
(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
Board of Pharmacy with the general authority to promulgate 
regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

Chapter 28 of the 2010 Acts of Assembly mandates that the 
board promulgate regulations to establish criteria for 
possession and repackaging of drugs by community services 
boards and behavioral health authorities. 
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Purpose: The purpose of the proposed regulatory action is to 
comply with a legislative mandate to promulgate a regulation 
for community services boards (CSBs), behavioral health 
authorities (BHAs), and clinics established by the Virginia 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services to receive, store, retain, and repackage prescription 
drug orders dispensed to a patient for the purpose of assisting 
a client with self-administration of the drug. The regulation 
will provide for registration of crisis stabilization units to 
maintain stocks of Schedule VI drugs necessary for 
immediate treatment of patients admitted to the unit.  

Chapter 28 of the 2010 Acts of Assembly was enacted to 
address a problem CSBs and BHAs in handling the unique 
prescription needs of its patient population following closure 
by the state of the Community Resource Pharmacy, which 
had provided most pharmacy services to the CSBs. The 
legislation does three things:  

1. Authorizes the CSBs and BHAs to retain prescription 
medications for certain patients including but not limited to 
those who may be homeless or live in a residence where 
prescriptions are likely to be stolen, who may need 
assistance or monitoring of self administration, who may 
not be capable of self administering, or who may not be a 
good candidate for keeping the entire dispensed 
prescription due to suicide risks.  

2. Authorizes CSB and BHA personnel who hold 
appropriate licensure or who have passed a training course 
approved by the Board of Pharmacy to repackage a portion 
of a patient's medication to assist that patient with self-
administration and compliance with dosage instructions. 

3. Authorizes residential crisis stabilization units to 
maintain a floor-stock of Schedule VI controlled 
substances that may be needed for immediate 
administration for patients admitted to the units in order to 
treat a crisis situation and prevent inpatient hospitalization.  

Because of the urgent need for the change in law and for 
regulations to implement those changes, Chapter 28 contained 
an emergency enactment clause as well as a provision for 
emergency regulations by the Board of Pharmacy. 
Regulations addressing storage, repackaging, recordkeeping, 
and training of persons who handle drugs will ensure that 
client or patient needs are being met while protecting the 
security and integrity of the drugs and the health and safety of 
the client and general population. 

Substance: The proposed regulations set forth requirements 
for registration of a CSB or BHA to possess, repackage, and 
deliver or administer drugs and for a program to train 
nonpharmacists in repackaging for CSBs or BHAs. The 
proposed regulations include labeling, storage, recordkeeping, 
destruction, and other requirements for repackaging in these 
facilities (which do not have a pharmacy); persons authorized 
to repackage; and information to clients about repackaged 

drugs. There are also curricula and instructional criteria for 
approval of repackaging training programs and for expiration 
and renewal of program approval. Finally, there are 
provisions for stocking, recordkeeping, and administration of 
Schedule VI at a crisis stabilization unit for immediate 
treatment of patients as necessary. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is assurance that a board-
registered community service board or behavioral health 
authority facility has followed appropriate procedures in the 
storing, retaining, and repackaging of dispensed prescription 
drug orders for the purpose of assisting clients with self-
administration. Without proper training, there are concerns 
about drug safety and security and about improper dispensing 
of prescriptions. There are no disadvantages. 

The advantage to the Commonwealth is facilitation of 
community treatment for persons who might otherwise 
require inpatient care. 

The proposed regulation replaces the emergency regulation in 
effect from December 10, 2010, to December 9, 2011. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapter 28 of the 2010 Acts of the Assembly, the 
Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to amend its regulations 
to set rules for community service boards (CSBs) and 
behavioral health authorities (BHAs) that will be able to 
possess, repackage, deliver, and administer prescription 
medications. These proposed regulations, and the mandating 
legislation, will also allow crisis stabilization units to store 
and administer drugs need for emergency treatment.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for 
implementing these proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In 2009, budget cuts forced the 
closing of the Community Resource Pharmacy, which 
dispensed drugs that were distributed through community 
service boards (CSBs). With the closing of this pharmacy 
CSBs lost the ability to distribute drugs to their clients, some 
of whom are homeless or otherwise lacking for a safe place to 
store drugs, and monitor how they were used. To address the 
issues caused by the closing of the Community Resource 
Pharmacy, the General Assembly passed legislation in 2010 
and directed the Board to promulgate regulations to 
implement the legislative changes. 

In response to this legislative mandate, the Board now 
proposes regulatory changes that will allow CSBs, behavioral 
health authorities (BHAs) and crisis stabilization units to 
obtain controlled substances registration and will also allow 
properly trained staff for these entities to have access to 
prescription drugs so that they can repackage them for clients. 
The Board also proposes fees for approval (and renewal and 
late renewal) of repackaging training programs ($50, $30 and 
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$10, respectively) and criteria for these training programs as 
well as rules that trained individuals must follow in 
repackaging drugs. The proposed rules for repackaging 
include information that must be on packaging labels, 
information that must be dispensed to clients with the drugs, 
rules for storage and destruction of drugs and recordkeeping 
requirements.  

Board staff reports that the only explicit costs CSBs and 
BHAs are likely to incur would be the $50 fee for approval of 
a repackaging training program to train their staff (as well as 
biennial fees of $30 for renewal of these programs). These 
entities will also incur implicit costs for staff time spent in 
training. CSBs and BHAs will likely only incur these costs if 
they believe that they are outweighed by the benefits that will 
accrue to themselves and their clients. The benefits of these 
proposed regulations have the potential to be quite large, 
especially for mental health clients who lack the capacity to 
independently follow a prescribed drug regimen or who are at 
risk for suicide if they are in possession of a whole months 
prescription of their drugs.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Health 
Professions (DHP) reports that there are 40 locally run CSBs 
and that the number of BHAs is unknown. All of these 
entities and their clients will be affected by these regulations.  

Localities Particularly Affected. Localities with CSBs will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 
action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 
Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 
proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 
value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 
is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 
action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 
on account of this regulatory action.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Pharmacy concurs with the economic impact analysis of 
the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Chapter 28 of the 2010 Acts of the Assembly requires the 
Board of Pharmacy to promulgate regulations to authorize 
(i) community services boards (CSBs) and behavioral 
health authorities (BHSs) to possess, repackage, and 
deliver or administer medications and (ii) crisis 
stabilization units to store and administer a stock of drugs 
needed for emergency treatment. The proposed 
amendments set forth requirements for registration of a 
CSB or BHA to possess, repackage, and deliver or 
administer drugs and for a program to train 
nonpharmacists in repackaging for CSBs or BHAs. The 
proposed regulations include labeling, storage, 
recordkeeping, destruction, and other requirements for 
repackaging in these facilities (which do not have a 
pharmacy); persons authorized to repackage; and 
information to clients about repackaged drugs. In addition, 
the proposed regulations include curricula and 
instructional criteria for approval of repackaging training 
programs and for expiration and renewal of program 
approval and include provisions for stocking, 
recordkeeping, and administration of Schedule VI 
controlled substances at a crisis stabilization unit for 
immediate treatment of patients as necessary. 

18VAC110-20-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 
not be refundable. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, any fees for taking required 
examinations shall be paid directly to the examination service 
as specified by the board. 
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C. Initial application fees.  

1. Pharmacist license $180 

2. Pharmacy intern registration $15 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $25 

4. Pharmacy permit $270 

5. Permitted physician licensed to 
dispense drugs 

$270 

6. Medical equipment supplier 
permit 

$180 

7. Humane society permit $20 

8. Nonresident pharmacy $270 

9. Controlled substances 
registrations  

$90 

10. Innovative program approval. 

If the board determines that a 
technical consultant is required in 
order to make a decision on 
approval, any consultant fee, not to 
exceed the actual cost, shall also be 
paid by the applicant in addition to 
the application fee. 

$250 

11. Approval of a pharmacy 
technician training program 

$150 

12. Approval of a continuing 
education program 

$100 

13. Approval of a repackaging 
training program 

$50 

D. Annual renewal fees.  

1. Pharmacist active license – due 
December 31 

$90 

2. Pharmacist inactive license – due 
December 31 

$45 

3. Pharmacy technician registration 
– due December 31 

$25 

4. Pharmacy permit – due April 30 $270 

5. Physician permit to practice 
pharmacy – due February 28 

$270 

6. Medical equipment supplier 
permit – due February 28 

$180 

7. Humane society permit – due 
February 28 

$20 

8. Nonresident pharmacy – due 
April 30 

$270 

9. Controlled substances 
registrations – due February 28 

$90 

10. Innovative program continued 
approval based on board order not 
to exceed $200 per approval period. 

  

11. Approval of a pharmacy 
technician training program 

$75 every 
two years 

12. Approval of a repackaging 
training program 

$30 every 
two years 

E. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition 
to the current renewal fee to renew an expired license within 
one year of the expiration date or within two years in the case 
of a pharmacy technician training program. In addition, 
engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 
registration after the expiration date of such license, permit, 
or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 
board.  

1. Pharmacist license $30 

2. Pharmacist inactive license $15 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $10 

4. Pharmacy permit $90 

5. Physician permit to practice 
pharmacy 

$90 

6. Medical equipment supplier 
permit 

$60 

7. Humane society permit $5 

8. Nonresident pharmacy $90 

9. Controlled substances registrations $30 

10. Approval of a pharmacy 
technician training program 

$15 

11. Approval of a repackaging 
training program 

$10 

F. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 
renew a license, permit, or registration more than one year 
after the expiration date, or more than two years after the 
expiration date in the case of a pharmacy technician training 
program, shall submit an application for reinstatement with 
any required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the 
board and, except for reinstatement following license 
revocation or suspension, may be granted by the executive 
director of the board upon completion of an application and 
payment of any required fees.  

1. Pharmacist license $210 

2. Pharmacist license after revocation 
or suspension 

$500 
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3. Pharmacy technician registration $35 

4. Pharmacy technician registration 
after revocation or suspension 

$125 

5. Facilities or entities that cease 
operation and wish to resume shall not 
be eligible for reinstatement but shall 
apply for a new permit or registration. 
Facilities or entities that failed to 
renew and continued to operate for 
more than one renewal cycle shall pay 
the current and all back renewal fees 
for the years in which they were 
operating plus the following 
reinstatement fees: 

  

  a. Pharmacy permit $240 

  b. Physician permit to practice 
pharmacy 

$240 

  c. Medical equipment supplier 
permit 

$210 

  d. Humane society permit $30 

  e. Nonresident pharmacy $115 

  f. Controlled substances registration $180 

  g. Approval of a pharmacy 
technician training program 

$75 

  h. Approval of a repackaging 
training program 

$50 

G. Application for change or inspection fees for facilities or 
other entities.  

1. Change of pharmacist-in-charge $50 

2. Change of ownership for any 
facility 

$50 

3. Inspection for remodeling or 
change of location for any facility 

150 

4. Reinspection of any facility $150 

5. Board-required inspection for a 
robotic pharmacy system 

$150 

6. Board-required inspection of an 
innovative program location 

$150 

7. Change of pharmacist responsible 
for an approved innovative program 

$25 

H. Miscellaneous fees.  

1. Duplicate wall certificate $25 

2. Returned check $35 

I. For the annual renewal due on the stated dates, the 
following fees shall be imposed for a license, permit or 
registration:  

1. Pharmacist active license – 
December 31, 2009 

$50 

2. Pharmacist inactive license – 
December 31, 2009 

$25 

3. Pharmacy technician registration 
– December 31, 2009 

$15 

4. Pharmacy permit – April 30, 
2010 

$210 

5. Physician permit to practice 
pharmacy – February 28, 2010 

$210 

6. Medical equipment supplier 
permit – February 28, 2010 

$140 

7. Humane society permit – 
February 28, 2010 

$20 

8. Nonresident pharmacy – April 
30, 2010 

$210 

9. Controlled substances 
registrations – February 28, 2010 

$50 

18VAC110-20-275. Delivery of dispensed prescriptions. 

A. Pursuant to § 54.1-3420.2 B of the Code of Virginia, in 
addition to direct hand delivery to a patient or patient's agent 
or delivery to a patient's residence, a pharmacy may deliver 
prescriptions a dispensed prescription drug order for Schedule 
VI controlled substances to another pharmacy, to a 
practitioner of the healing arts licensed to practice pharmacy 
or to sell controlled substances, or to an authorized person or 
entity holding a controlled substances registration issued for 
this purpose in compliance with this section and any other 
applicable state or federal law. Prescription drug orders for 
Schedule II through Schedule V controlled substances may 
not be delivered to an alternate delivery location unless such 
delivery is authorized by federal law and regulations of the 
board.  

B. Delivery to another pharmacy.  

1. One pharmacy may fill prescriptions and deliver the 
prescriptions to a second pharmacy for patient pickup or 
direct delivery to the patient provided the two pharmacies 
have the same owner, or have a written contract or 
agreement specifying the services to be provided by each 
pharmacy, the responsibilities of each pharmacy, and the 
manner in which each pharmacy will comply with all 
applicable federal and state law.  

2. Each pharmacy using such a drug delivery system shall 
maintain and comply with all procedures in a current 
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policy and procedure manual that includes the following 
information:  

a. A description of how each pharmacy will comply with 
all applicable federal and state law;  

b. The procedure for maintaining required, retrievable 
dispensing records to include which pharmacy maintains 
the hard-copy prescription, which pharmacy maintains 
the active prescription record for refilling purposes, how 
each pharmacy will access prescription information 
necessary to carry out its assigned responsibilities, 
method of recordkeeping for identifying the pharmacist 
or pharmacists responsible for dispensing the prescription 
and counseling the patient, and how and where this 
information can be accessed upon request by the board;  

c. The procedure for tracking the prescription during 
each stage of the filling, dispensing, and delivery 
process;  

d. The procedure for identifying on the prescription label 
all pharmacies involved in filling and dispensing the 
prescription;  

e. The policy and procedure for providing adequate 
security to protect the confidentiality and integrity of 
patient information;  

f. The policy and procedure for ensuring accuracy and 
accountability in the delivery process;  

g. The procedure and recordkeeping for returning to the 
initiating pharmacy any prescriptions that are not 
delivered to the patient; and  

h. The procedure for informing the patient and obtaining 
consent for using such a dispensing and delivery process.  

3. Drugs waiting to be picked up at or delivered from the 
second pharmacy shall be stored in accordance with 
subsection A of 18VAC110-20-200.  

C. Delivery to a practitioner of the healing arts licensed by 
the board to practice pharmacy or to sell controlled 
substances or other authorized person or entity holding a 
controlled substances registration authorized for this purpose.  

1. A prescription may be delivered by a pharmacy to the 
office of such a practitioner or other authorized person 
provided there is a written contract or agreement between 
the two parties describing the procedures for such a 
delivery system and the responsibilities of each party.  

2. Each pharmacy using this delivery system shall maintain 
a policy and procedure manual that includes the following 
information:  

a. Procedure for tracking and assuring security, 
accountability, integrity, and accuracy of delivery for the 
dispensed prescription from the time it leaves the 

pharmacy until it is handed to the patient or agent of the 
patient;  

b. Procedure for providing counseling;  

c. Procedure and recordkeeping for return of any 
prescription medications not delivered to the patient;  

d. The procedure for assuring confidentiality of patient 
information; and  

e. The procedure for informing the patient and obtaining 
consent for using such a delivery process.  

3. Prescriptions waiting to be picked up by a patient at the 
alternate site shall be stored in a lockable room or lockable 
cabinet, cart, or other device that cannot be easily moved 
and that shall be locked at all times when not in use. 
Access shall be restricted to the licensed practitioner of the 
healing arts or the responsible party listed on the 
application for the controlled substances registration, or 
either person's designee.  

D. The contracts or agreements and the policy and procedure 
manuals required by this section for alternate delivery shall be 
maintained both at the originating pharmacy as well as the 
alternate delivery site. 

E. A controlled substances registration as an alternate 
delivery site shall only be issued to an entity without a 
prescriber or pharmacist present at all times the site is open if 
there is a valid patient health or safety reason not to deliver 
dispensed prescriptions directly to the patient and if 
compliance with all requirements for security, policies, and 
procedures can be reasonably assured. 

Part XVI 
Controlled Substances Registration for Other Persons or 

Entities  

18VAC110-20-685. Definitions for controlled substances 
registration. 

For purposes of this part, the following definitions shall 
apply: 

"BHA" means a behavioral health authority facility licensed 
by the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services that holds a controlled substances registration issued 
by the board. 

"CSB" means a community services board facility licensed 
by the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services that holds a controlled substances registration issued 
by the board. 

18VAC110-20-690. Persons or entities authorized or 
required to obtain a controlled substances registration.  

A. A person or entity which maintains or intends to maintain 
a supply of Schedule II through Schedule VI controlled 
substances, other than manufacturers' samples, in accordance 
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with provisions of the Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. 
of the Code of Virginia) may apply for a controlled 
substances registration on forms approved by the board.  

B. Persons or entities which may be registered by the board 
shall include, but not be limited to, hospitals without in-house 
pharmacies, nursing homes without in-house pharmacies that 
use automated drug dispensing systems, ambulatory surgery 
centers, outpatient clinics, alternate delivery sites, crisis 
stabilization units, and emergency medical services agencies 
provided such persons or entities are otherwise authorized by 
law and hold required licenses or appropriate credentials to 
administer the drugs for which the registration is being 
sought.  

C. In determining whether to register an applicant, the board 
shall consider factors listed in subsections A and D of § 54.1-
3423 of the Code of Virginia and compliance with applicable 
requirements of this chapter.  

1. The proposed location shall be inspected by an 
authorized agent of the board prior to issuance of a 
controlled substances registration. 

2. Controlled substances registration applications that 
indicate a requested inspection date, or requests that are 
received after the application is filed, shall be honored 
provided a 14-day notice is allowed prior to the requested 
inspection date.  

3. Requested inspection dates that do not allow a 14-day 
notice to the board may be adjusted by the board to provide 
14 days for the scheduling of the inspection. 

4. Any person wishing to change an approved location of 
the drug stock, make structural changes to an existing 
approved drug storage location, or make changes to a 
previously approved security system shall file an 
application with the board and be inspected consistent with 
subsection B of this section.  

5. Drugs shall not be stocked within the proposed drug 
storage location or moved to a new location until approval 
is granted by the board. 

D. The application shall be signed by a person who will act 
as a responsible party for the controlled substances. The 
responsible party may be a prescriber, nurse, pharmacist, or 
pharmacy technician for alternate delivery sites or other 
person approved by the board who is authorized to administer 
or otherwise possess the controlled substances for that type 
entity. 

E. The board may require a person or entity to obtain a 
controlled substances registration upon a determination that 
Schedule II through VI controlled substances have been 
obtained and are being used as common stock by multiple 
practitioners and that one or more of the following factors 
exist:  

1. A federal, state, or local government agency has 
reported that the person or entity has made large purchases 
of controlled substances in comparison with other persons 
or entities in the same classification or category.  

2. The person or entity has experienced a diversion, theft, 
or other unusual loss of controlled substances which 
requires reporting pursuant to § 54.1-3404 of the Drug 
Control Act.  

3. The person or entity has failed to comply with 
recordkeeping requirements for controlled substances.  

4. The person or entity or any other person with access to 
the common stock has violated any provision of federal, 
state, or local law or regulation relating to controlled 
substances. 

18VAC110-20-700. Requirements for supervision for 
controlled substances registrants. 

A. A practitioner licensed in Virginia shall provide 
supervision for all aspects of practice related to the 
maintenance and use of controlled substances as follows:  

1. In a hospital or nursing home without an in-house 
pharmacy, a pharmacist shall supervise.  

2. In an emergency medical services agency, the 
operational medical director shall supervise.  

3. For any other type of applicant or registrant, a 
pharmacist or a prescriber whose scope of practice is 
consistent with the practice of the applicant or registrant 
and who is approved by the board may provide the 
required supervision.  

B. The supervising practitioner shall approve the list of 
drugs which may be ordered by the holder of the controlled 
substances registration; possession of controlled substances 
by the entity shall be limited to such approved drugs. The list 
of drugs approved by the supervising practitioner shall be 
maintained at the address listed on the controlled substances 
registration.  

C. Access to the controlled substances shall be limited to (i) 
the supervising practitioner or to those persons who are 
authorized by the supervising practitioner and who are 
authorized by law to administer drugs in Virginia, (ii) such 
other persons who have successfully completed a training 
program for repackaging of prescription drug orders in a CSB 
or BHA as authorized in § 54.1-3420.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, or to (iii) other such persons as designated by the 
supervising practitioner or the responsible party to have 
access in an emergency situation. If approved by the 
supervising practitioner, pharmacy technicians may have 
access for the purpose of delivering controlled substances to 
the registrant, stocking controlled substances in automated 
dispensing devices, conducting inventories, audits and other 
recordkeeping requirements, and overseeing delivery of 
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dispensed prescriptions at an alternate delivery site, and 
repackaging of prescription drug orders retained by a CSB or 
BHA as authorized in § 54.1-3420.2 of the Code of Virginia. 
Access to stock drugs in a crisis stabilization unit shall be 
limited to prescribers, nurses, or pharmacists. 

D. The supervising practitioner shall establish procedures 
for and provide training as necessary to ensure compliance 
with all requirements of law and regulation, including, but not 
limited to, storage, security, and recordkeeping.  

E. Within 14 days of a change in the responsible party or 
supervising practitioner assigned to the registration, either the 
responsible party or outgoing responsible party shall inform 
the board and a new application shall be submitted indicating 
the name and license number, if applicable, of the new 
responsible party or supervising practitioner. 

18VAC110-20-725. Repackaging by a CSB or BHA. 

A. Definition. For purposes of this section, "repackaging" 
shall mean removing a drug from a container already 
dispensed and labeled by a pharmacy or medical practitioner 
authorized to dispense, for a particular client of a CSB or 
BHA, and placing it in a container designed for a person to be 
able to repackage his own dispensed prescription medications 
to assist with self-administration and compliance with dosage 
instructions. Such repackaging shall not include the 
preparation of a patient-specific label that includes drug 
name, strength, or directions for use or any other process 
restricted to a pharmacist or pharmacy technician under the 
direct supervision of a pharmacist. 

B. Persons authorized to repackage. Repackaging shall be 
performed by a pharmacist, pharmacy technician, nurse, or 
such other person who has successfully completed a board-
approved training program for repackaging of prescription 
drug orders as authorized in § 54.1-3420.2 of the Code of 
Virginia. A CSB or BHA using such other person shall 
maintain documentation of completion of an approved 
training program for at least one year from date of 
termination of employment or cessation of repackaging 
activities. 

C. Requirements for repackaging. 

1. The repackaging of a dispensed prescription drug order 
pursuant to § 54.1-3420.2 of the Code of Virginia shall 
only be done at a CSB or BHA.  

2. The repackaging of dispensed prescription drugs shall be 
restricted to solid oral dosage forms and a maximum of a 
14-day supply of drugs. 

3. The drug container used for repackaging pursuant to this 
section shall bear a label containing the client's first and 
last name, and name and 24-hour contact information for 
the CSB or BHA.  

4. A clean, well-closed container that assists the client with 
self-administration shall be used when multiple doses of a 
repackaged drug are provided to the client at one time. 

5. A prescription drug order shall not be repackaged 
beyond the assigned expiration date noted on the 
prescription label of the dispensed drug, if applicable, or 
beyond one year from the date the drug was originally 
dispensed by a pharmacy, whichever date is earlier. 

D. Written information for client. At the time a repackaged 
drug is initially given to a client, and upon any subsequent 
change in the medication order, the client shall be provided 
written information about the name and strength of the drug 
and the directions for use. Such written information shall 
have been prepared by a pharmacy or by a nurse at the CSB 
or BHA. 

E. Retention, storage, and destruction of repackaged drugs. 

1. Any portion of a client's prescription drug order not 
placed into a container intended to assist with self-
administration may be either given to the client or retained 
by the CSB or BHA for subsequent repackaging. If 
retained by the CSB or BHA, the remaining portion shall 
be stored within the board-approved drug storage location 
in the original labeled container, and shall only be used for 
the client for whom the drug was originally dispensed. 

2. Any portion of a prescription drug order remaining at 
the CSB or BHA that has exceeded any labeled expiration 
date or one year from the original pharmacy dispensing 
date on the label shall be separated from unexpired drugs, 
stored within a designated area of the board-approved drug 
storage location, and destroyed within 30 days of 
expiration with the written agreement of the client. 
Remaining portions of discontinued prescription drug 
orders retained by the CSB or BHA shall also be separated 
from active stock and either returned to the client or 
destroyed within 30 days of discontinuance with the 
written agreement of the client.  

F. Recordkeeping. 

1. A record of repackaging shall be made and maintained 
for one year from the date of repackaging and shall include 
the following: 

a. Date of repackaging; 

b. Name of client; 

c. Prescription number of the originally dispensed 
prescription drug order;  

d. Pharmacy name; 

e. Drug name and strength;  

f. Quantity of drug repackaged; and 
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g. Initials of the person performing the repackaging and 
verifying the accuracy of the repackaged drug container. 

2. A record of destruction shall be made and maintained 
for one year for any prescription drug orders destroyed by 
the CSB or BHA and shall include the following: 

a. Date of destruction: 

b. Name of client; 

c. Prescription number of the originally dispensed 
prescription drug order;  

d. Drug name and strength; 

e. Quantity of drug destroyed; and 

f. Initials of the person performing the destruction. 

18VAC110-20-726. Criteria for approval of repackaging 
training programs. 

A. Application. Any person wishing to apply for approval of 
a repackaging training program shall submit the application 
fee prescribed in 18VAC110-20-20 and an application on a 
form approved by the board and shall meet the criteria 
established in this section. The application shall name a 
program director who is responsible for compliance with this 
section. 

B. Curriculum. The curriculum for a repackaging training 
program shall include instruction in current laws and 
regulations applicable to a CSB or BHA for the purpose of 
assisting a client with self-administration pursuant to § 54.1-
3420.2 of the Code of Virginia and in the following 
repackaging tasks:  

1. Selection of an appropriate container; 

2. Proper preparation of a container in accordance with 
instructions for administration;  

3. Selection of the drug;  

4. Counting of the drug;  

5. Repackaging of the drug within the selected container;  

6. Maintenance of records; 

7. Proper storage of drugs; 

8. Translation of medical abbreviations;  

9. Review of administration records and prescriber's orders 
for the purpose of identifying any changes in dosage 
administration; 

10. Reporting and recording the client's failure to take 
medication;  

11. Identification, separation, and removal of expired or 
discontinued drugs; and 

12. Prevention and reporting of repackaging errors. 

C. Instructors and program director. Instructors for the 
program shall be either (i) a pharmacist with a current license 
in any jurisdiction and who is not currently suspended or 
revoked in any jurisdiction in the United States or (ii) a 
pharmacy technician with at least one year of experience 
performing technician tasks who holds a current registration 
in Virginia or current PTCB certification and who is not 
currently suspended or revoked in any jurisdiction in the 
United States. The program director shall maintain a list of 
instructors for the program. 

D. Program requirements.  

1. The length of the program shall be sufficient to prepare a 
program participant to competently perform repackaging 
consistent with § 54.1-3420.2 of the Code of Virginia and 
18VAC110-20-725. 

2. The program shall include a post-training assessment to 
demonstrate the knowledge and skills necessary for 
repackaging with safety and accuracy. 

3. A program shall provide a certificate of completion to 
participants who successfully complete the program and 
provide verification of completion of the program for a 
participant upon request by a CSB, BHA, or the board. 

4. The program shall maintain records of training 
completion by persons authorized to repackage in 
accordance with § 54.1-3420.2 of the Code of Virginia. 
Records shall be retained for two years from date of 
completion of training or termination of the program. 

5. The program shall report within 14 days any substantive 
change in the program to include a change in program 
name, program director, name of institution or business if 
applicable, address, program content, length of program, or 
location of records.  

E. Expiration and renewal of program approval. A 
repackaging training program approval expires after two 
years, after which the program may apply for renewal. For 
continued approval, the program shall submit the renewal 
application, renewal fee, and a self-evaluation report on a 
form provided by the board at the time of renewal 
notification. Renewal of a program's approval is at the 
discretion of the board, and the decision to renew shall be 
based on documentation of continued compliance with the 
criteria set forth in this section. 

18VAC110-20-727. Pharmacists repackaging for clients of 
a CSB or BHA. 

As an alternative to repackaging as defined in 18VAC110-
20-725, a pharmacist at a CSB or BHA may repackage a 
client's prescription drugs that have been dispensed by 
another pharmacy into compliance packaging that complies 
with the requirements of 18VAC110-20-340 B and 
subsections G, H, and J of 18VAC110-20-725. A primary 
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provider pharmacy may also provide this service in 
compliance with the provisions of 18VAC110-20-535. 

18VAC110-20-728. Drugs for immediate treatment in 
crisis stabilization units. 

A. In accordance with § 54.1-3423 of the Code of Virginia, 
a crisis stabilization unit shall apply for and obtain a 
controlled substances registration in order to maintain a stock 
of Schedule VI controlled substances for immediate treatment 
of patients in crisis. Schedule II through V controlled 
substances shall not be stocked. The responsible party listed 
on the application shall be a nurse who regularly administers 
controlled substances at the crisis stabilization unit and the 
supervising practitioner shall be either the medical director 
for the unit or a pharmacist from a provider pharmacy. 

B. In consultation with a provider pharmacist, the medical 
director for the unit shall determine the list of controlled 
substances to be stocked at the crisis stabilization unit. The 
list shall be limited to Schedule VI controlled substances and 
only those drugs routinely used for treatment of patients 
admitted for crisis stabilization. Only drugs on this drug list 
may be stocked. 

C. A nurse administering a drug from this stock pursuant to 
an oral order of a prescriber in accordance with § 54.1-3423 
of the Code of Virginia shall record such order in the patient's 
medical record. 

D. Records. 

1. A record shall be maintained of all drugs received as 
stock by the crisis stabilization unit. 

2. A record shall be made documenting administration or 
other authorized disposition of stocked drugs that includes 
the following: 

a. Name of patient; 

b. Date and time of administration; 

c. Drug name, strength, and quantity administered;  

d. Name or initials of person administering; and 

e. Prescriber name. 

3. Records shall be maintained at the same location listed 
on the controlled substances registration or, if maintained 
in an off-site database, retrieved and made available for 
inspection or audit within 48 hours of a request by the 
board or an authorized agent. Any computerized system 
used to maintain records shall also provide retrieval via 
computer monitor display or printout of the history for 
drugs administered during the past two years. It shall also 
have the capacity of producing a printout of any data which 
the registrant is responsible for maintaining. 

4. Manual records may be maintained as an electronic 
image that provides an exact image of the document and is 
clearly legible. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 
form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 
may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 
23219. 

FORMS (18VAC110-20)  

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Intern (rev. 
8/07).  

Affidavit of Practical Experience, Pharmacy Intern (rev. 
8/07).  

Application for Licensure as a Pharmacist by Examination 
(rev. 11/09).  

Instructions for Reinstating or Reactivating a Pharmacist 
License (rev. 3/11). 

Application for Approval of a Continuing Education 
Program (rev. 8/07).  

Application for Approval of ACPE Pharmacy School 
Course(s) for Continuing Education Credit (rev. 6/09). 

Application for License to Dispense Drugs (rev. 8/07). 

Application for a Pharmacy Permit (rev. 6/10). 

Application for a Nonresident Pharmacy Registration (rev. 
7/08). 

Application for a Permit as a Medical Equipment Supplier 
(rev. 3/09). 

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration 
Certificate (rev. 4/09). 

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Intern for 
Graduates of a Foreign College of Pharmacy (rev. 8/07). 

Closing of a Pharmacy (rev. 8/07). 

Application for Approval of an Innovative (Pilot) Program 
(rev. 8/07). 

Pharmacy Technician Registration Instructions and 
Application (rev. 3/09). 

Instructions for Reinstating a Pharmacy Technician 
Registration (rev. 3/11). 

Application for Approval of a Pharmacy Technician 
Training Program (rev. 8/07). 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 
8/07). 
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Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 8/08). 

Application for Reinstatement of Registration as a Pharmacy 
Intern (eff. 9/07). 

Affidavit for Limited-Use Pharmacy Technician (rev. 8/07). 

Limited-Use Pharmacy Technician Registration Instructions 
and Application (rev. 7/08). 

Registration for a Pharmacy to be a Collection Site for 
Donated Drugs (eff. 4/09). 

Application for Approval of Repackaging Training Program 
(eff. 12/10). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2366; Filed October 31, 2011, 3:05 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-315. Regulations Governing 
Net Energy Metering (amending 20VAC5-315-20, 
20VAC5-315-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-594 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 16, 2011.  

Agency Contact: Kelli Gravely, Senior Utility Analyst, 
Energy Division, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 
1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9765, FAX 
(804) 371-9350, or email kelli.gravely@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) increase the maximum capacity of an 
electrical generation facility of a residential customer that 
qualifies for participation in a net energy metering 
program from 10 to 20 kilowatts and (ii) require that a 
residential customer-generator whose generating facility 
has a capacity that exceeds 10 kilowatts shall pay a 
monthly standby charge that allows the supplier to recover 
that portion of its infrastructure costs that are properly 
associated with serving the eligible customer-generator. 
The amendments conform to Chapter 239 of the 2011 Acts 
of Assembly.  

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 1, 2011 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUE-2011-00079 

Ex Parte: In the matter of amending regulations 
governing net energy metering 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 

The Regulations Governing Net Energy Metering, 
20 VAC 5-315-10 et seq. ("Net Energy Metering Rules"), 
adopted by the State Corporation Commission 
("Commission") pursuant to § 56-594 of the Code of 
Virginia, establish the requirements for participation by an 
eligible customer-generator in net energy metering in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia.  The Net Energy Metering Rules 
include conditions for interconnection and metering, billing, 
and contract requirements between net metering customers, 
electric distribution companies, and energy service providers. 

On July 12, 2011, the Commission entered an Order 
Establishing Proceeding ("Order") to consider revisions to the 
Net Energy Metering Rules to reflect statutory changes 
enacted by Chapter 239 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly 
("Chapter 239"), which amended § 56-594 of the Code of 
Virginia to: (1) increase, from 10 to 20 kilowatts, the 
maximum capacity of an electrical generation facility of a 
residential customer that qualifies for participation in a net 
energy metering program; and (2) require that a residential 
customer-generator whose generating facility has a capacity 
that exceeds 10 kilowatts shall pay a monthly standby charge 
that allows the supplier to recover that portion of its 
infrastructure costs that are properly associated with serving 
the eligible customer-generator.  Chapter 239 requires the 
Commission to approve of any such standby charges 
proposed by an electric utility upon finding that the standby 
charges are properly associated with serving the eligible 
customer-generator.   

The Commission appended to its Order proposed 
amendments ("Proposed Rules") revising the Net Energy 
Metering Rules, which were prepared by the Staff of the 
Commission to reflect the permitted increase in residential 
capacity and to require residential customer-generators with 
an installed capacity of more than 10 kilowatts to pay a 
tariffed monthly standby charge to their respective suppliers. 

Notice of the proceeding and the Proposed Rules were 
published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on August 
1, 2011. Additionally, each Virginia electric distribution 
company was directed to serve a copy of the Order upon each 
of their respective net metering customers.  Interested persons 
were directed to file any comments and requests for hearing 
on the Proposed Rules on or before September 26, 2011.1 
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The Virginia Electric Cooperatives ("Cooperatives")2 and 
Virginia Power as well as several other persons and entities 
filed comments. No one requested a hearing on the Proposed 
Rules. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 
matter, is of the opinion and finds that the regulations 
attached hereto as Appendix A should be adopted as final 
rules. To the extent parties have requested changes to the 
Proposed Rules that go beyond the scope of such rules, we 
will not expand the scope of this proceeding to consider 
issues beyond those required to implement the amendments to 
§ 56-594 of the Code of Virginia. 

Virginia Power and the Cooperatives both generally stated 
that they support the Proposed Rules and that the Proposed 
Rules accurately and closely reflect the statutory 
requirements. The Cooperatives also expressed a concern that 
net metering customers are subsidized by non-net metering 
customers, an issue that the Cooperatives believe will be 
partially remedied by implementing the proposed standby 
charge. 

The other comments filed relevant to the Proposed Rules 
generally stated that, while the increase in the capacity limit 
to 20 kilowatts is welcome, the statutory standby charge is 
not desirable since it will discourage residential net metering 
development, particularly for installations exceeding 10 
kilowatts. Some commenters also believe that the standby 
charge would cause reductions in small-scale generation 
deployment, job growth, and use of renewable energy.   

The Commission believes that the Proposed Rules are 
consistent with Chapter 239 and the Commission's statutory 
authority; therefore, the Proposed Rules should be adopted as 
final rules. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Regulations Governing Net Energy Metering, as 
shown in Appendix A to this Order, are hereby adopted and 
are effective as of November 16, 2011. 

(2) A copy of this Order with Appendix A including the 
Regulations Governing Net Energy Metering shall be 
forwarded to the Registrar of Regulations for publication in 
the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(3) On or before January 11, 2012, each electric utility in the 
Commonwealth subject to Chapter 10 (§ 56-232 et seq.) of 
Title 56 of the Code of Virginia shall file with the Clerk of 
the Commission, in this docket, one (1) original document 
containing any revised tariff provisions necessary to 
implement the regulations adopted herein, excluding any 
tariff provisions implementing standby charges, and shall also 
file a copy of the document containing the revised tariff 
provisions with the Commission's Division of Energy 
Regulation. The Clerk of the Commission need not distribute 
copies but shall make such filings available for public 

inspection in the Clerk's Office and post them on the 
Commission's website at:  http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(4) All electric utilities in the Commonwealth subject to 
Chapter 10 (§ 56-232 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of 
Virginia desiring to implement standby charges as 
contemplated by the regulations adopted herein shall file with 
the Commission, for consideration in separate dockets, 
applications for approval of the proposed methodologies for 
such charges. 

(5) This docket shall remain open to receive the filings from 
electric utilities pursuant to Ordering Paragraph (3). 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to all electric distribution companies 
licensed in Virginia as shown on Appendix B, hereto; and a 
copy shall be sent to the Commission's Office of General 
Counsel and Divisions of Energy Regulation, Public Utility 
Accounting, and Economics and Finance. 

_______________________ 
1 The Commission's Order originally specified that comments were to be 
filed on or before August 22, 2011. On August 11, 2011, Virginia Electric 
and Power Company ("Virginia Power") filed a motion for additional time to 
complete service on its net metering customers and to extend the public 
comment period, citing an administrative problem in mailing the Order to its 
net metering customers. On August 19, 2011, the Commission entered an 
Order Extending Procedural Schedule granting Virginia Power's motion and 
providing interested persons until September 26, 2011, to file comments and 
requests for hearing. 

2 The filing entitled "Comments of the Virginia Electric Cooperatives" was 
submitted jointly on behalf of: A&N Electric Cooperative, BARC Electric 
Cooperative, Central Virginia Electric Cooperative, Community Electric 
Cooperative, Craig-Botetourt Electric Cooperative, Mecklenburg Electric 
Cooperative, Northern Neck Electric Cooperative, Northern Virginia Electric 
Cooperative, Powell Valley Electric Cooperative, Prince George Electric 
Cooperative, Rappahannock Electric Cooperative, Shenandoah Valley 
Electric Cooperative, and Southside Electric Cooperative, as well as the 
Virginia, Maryland & Delaware Association of Electric Cooperatives. 

20VAC5-315-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Billing period" means, as to a particular customer, the time 
period between the two meter readings upon which the 
electric distribution company and the energy service provider 
calculate the customer's bills. 

"Billing period credit" means, for a nontime-of-use net 
metering customer, the quantity of electricity generated and 
fed back into the electric grid by the customer's renewable 
fuel generator in excess of the electricity supplied to the 
customer over the billing period. For time-of-use net metering 
customers, billing period credits are determined separately for 
each time-of-use tier. 

"Demand charge-based time-of-use tariff" means a retail 
tariff for electric supply service that has two or more time-of-

Volume 28, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 21, 2011 

631 



Regulations 

use tiers for energy-based charges and an electricity supply 
demand (kilowatt) charge. 

"Electric distribution company" means the entity that owns 
and/or operates the distribution facilities delivering electricity 
to the net metering customer's premises. 

"Energy service provider (supplier)" means the entity 
providing electricity supply service to a net metering 
customer either as tariffed or competitive service. 

"Excess generation" means the amount of electricity 
generated by the renewable fuel generator in excess of the 
electricity consumed by the customer over the course of the 
net metering period. For time-of-use net metering customers, 
excess generation is determined separately for each time-of-
use tier. 

"Net metering customer (customer)" means a customer 
owning and operating, or contracting with other persons to 
own or operate, or both, a renewable fuel generator under a 
net metering service arrangement. 

"Net metering period" means each successive 12-month 
period beginning with the first meter reading date following 
the date of final interconnection of the renewable fuel 
generator with the electric distribution company's facilities. 

"Net metering service" means providing retail electric 
service to a customer operating a renewable fuel generator 
and measuring the difference, over the net metering period, 
between electricity supplied to the customer from the electric 
grid and the electricity generated and fed back to the electric 
grid by the customer. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, company, business, trust, joint venture, or other 
private legal entity and the Commonwealth or any 
municipality. 

"Renewable Energy Certificate (REC)" represents the 
renewable energy attributes associated with the production of 
one megawatt-hour (MWh) of electrical energy generated by 
a renewable fuel generator. 

"Renewable fuel generator" means an electrical generating 
facility that: 

1. Has an alternating current capacity of not more than 10 
20 kilowatts for residential customers and not more than 
500 kilowatts for nonresidential customers unless the 
electric distribution company has chosen a higher capacity 
limit for nonresidential customers in its net metering tariff; 

2. Uses renewable energy, as defined by § 56-576 of the 
Code of Virginia, as its total fuel source; 

3. The net metering customer owns and operates, or has 
contracted with other persons to own or operate, or both; 

4. Is located on the customer's premises and is connected to 
the customer's wiring on the customer's side of its 
interconnection with the distributor; 

5. Is interconnected pursuant to a net metering arrangement 
and operated in parallel with the electric distribution 
company's facilities; and 

6. Is intended primarily to offset all or part of the net 
metering customer's own electricity requirements. 

"Time-of-use net metering customer (time-of-use customer)" 
means a net metering customer receiving retail electricity 
supply service under a demand charge-based time-of-use 
tariff. 

"Time-of-use period" means an interval of time over which 
the energy (kilowatt-hour) rate charged to a time-of-use 
customer does not change. 

"Time-of-use tier (tier)" means all time-of-use periods given 
the same name (e.g., on-peak, off-peak, critical peak, etc.) for 
the purpose of time-differentiating energy (kilowatt-hour)-
based charges. The rates associated with a particular tier may 
vary by day and by season. 

20VAC5-315-50. Metering, billing, payment and contract 
or tariff considerations. 

Net metered energy shall be measured in accordance with 
standard metering practices by metering equipment capable of 
measuring (but not necessarily displaying) power flow in both 
directions. Each contract or tariff governing the relationship 
between a net metering customer, electric distribution 
company or energy service provider shall be identical, with 
respect to the rate structure, all retail rate components, and 
monthly charges, to the contract or tariff under which the 
same customer would be served if such customer was not a 
net metering customer with the exception exceptions that a 
residential customer-generator whose generating facility has a 
capacity that exceeds 10 kilowatts shall pay any applicable 
tariffed monthly standby charges to his supplier, and that 
time-of-use metering under an electricity supply service tariff 
having no demand charges is not permitted. Said contract or 
tariff shall be applicable to both the electric energy supplied 
to, and consumed from, the grid by that customer. 

In instances where a net metering customer's metering 
equipment is of a type for which meter readings are made off 
site and where this equipment has, or will be, installed for the 
convenience of the electric distribution company, the electric 
distribution company shall provide the necessary additional 
metering equipment to enable net metering service at no 
charge to the net metering customer. In instances where a net 
metering customer has requested, and where the electric 
distribution company would not have otherwise installed, 
metering equipment that is intended to be read off site, the 
electric distribution company may charge the net metering 
customer its actual cost of installing any additional equipment 
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necessary to implement net metering service. A time-of-use 
net metering customer shall bear the incremental metering 
costs associated with net metering. Any incremental metering 
costs associated with measuring the total output of the 
renewable fuel generator for the purposes of receiving 
renewable energy certificates shall be installed at the 
customer's expense unless otherwise negotiated between the 
customer and the REC purchaser. 

A net metering customer shall receive no compensation for 
excess generation unless the net metering customer has 
entered into a power purchase agreement with its supplier. 

Upon the written request of the net metering customer, the 
customer's supplier shall enter into a power purchase 
agreement for the excess generation for one or more net 
metering periods, as requested by the net metering customer. 
The written request of the net metering customer shall be 
submitted prior to the beginning of the first net metering 
period covered by the power purchase agreement. The power 
purchase agreement shall be consistent with this chapter. If 
the customer's supplier is an investor-owned electric 
distribution company, the supplier shall be obligated by the 
power purchase agreement to purchase the excess generation 
for the requested net metering periods at a price equal to the 
PJM Interconnection, L.L.C. (PJM) zonal day-ahead annual, 
simple average LMP (locational marginal price) for the PJM 
load zone in which the electric distribution company's 
Virginia retail service territory resides (simple average of 
hourly LMPs, by tiers, for time-of-use customers), as 
published by the PJM Market Monitoring Unit, for the most 
recent calendar year ending on or before the end of each net 
metering period, unless the electric distribution company and 
the net metering customer mutually agree to a higher price or 
unless, after notice and opportunity for hearing, the 
commission establishes a different price or pricing 
methodology. If the Virginia retail service territory of the 
investor-owned electric distribution company does not reside 
within a PJM load zone, the power purchase agreement shall 
obligate the electric distribution company to purchase excess 
generation for the requested net metering periods at a price 
equal to the systemwide PJM day-ahead annual, simple 
average LMP (simple average of hourly LMPs, by tiers, for 
time-of-use customers), as published by the PJM Market 
Monitoring Unit, for the most recent calendar year ending on 
or before the end of each net metering period, unless the 
electric distribution company and the net metering customer 
mutually agree to a higher price or unless, after notice and 
opportunity for hearing, the commission establishes a 
different price or pricing methodology. 

If the customer's supplier is a member-owned electric 
cooperative, the supplier shall be obligated by the power 
purchase agreement to purchase excess generation for the 
requested net metering periods at a price equal to the simple 
average (by tiers for time-of-use customers) of the electric 
cooperative's hourly avoidable cost of energy, including fuel, 

based on the energy and energy-related charges of its primary 
wholesale power supplier for the net metering period, unless 
the electric distribution company and the net metering 
customer mutually agree to a higher price or unless, after 
notice and opportunity for hearing, the commission 
establishes a different price or pricing methodology. 

If the customer's supplier is a competitive supplier, the 
supplier shall be obligated by the power purchase agreement 
to purchase the excess generation for the requested net 
metering periods at a price equal to the systemwide PJM day-
ahead annual, simple average LMP (simple average of hourly 
LMPs, by tiers, for time-of-use customers), as published by 
the PJM Market Monitoring Unit, for the most recent 
calendar year ending on or before the end of each net 
metering period, unless the supplier and the net metering 
customer mutually agree to a higher price or unless, after 
notice and opportunity for hearing, the commission 
establishes a different price or pricing methodology. 

The customer's supplier shall make full payment annually to 
the net metering customer within 30 days following the latter 
of the end of the net metering period or, if applicable, the date 
of the PJM Market Monitoring Unit's publication of the 
previous calendar-year's applicable zonal or systemwide PJM 
day-ahead annual, simple average LMP, or hourly LMP, as 
appropriate. The supplier may offer the net metering customer 
the choice of an account credit in lieu of a direct payment. 
The option of a net metering customer to request payment 
from its supplier for excess generation and the price or 
pricing formula shall be clearly delineated in the net metering 
tariff of the electric distribution company or timely provided 
by the customer's competitive supplier, as applicable. A copy 
of such tariff, or an Internet link to such tariff, at the option of 
the customer, shall be provided to each customer requesting 
interconnection of a renewable fuel generator. A competitive 
supplier shall provide in its contract with the net metering 
customer the price or pricing formula for excess generation. 

For a nontime-of-use net metering customer, in any billing 
period in which there is a billing period credit, the customer 
shall be required to pay only the nonusage sensitive charges, 
including any applicable standby charges, for that billing 
period. For a time-of-use net metering customer, in any 
billing period for which there are billing period credits in all 
tiers, the customer shall be required to pay only the demand 
charge or charges and, nonusage sensitive charges, and any 
applicable standby charges, for that billing period. Any 
billing period credits shall be accumulated, carried forward, 
and applied at the first opportunity to any billing periods 
having positive net consumptions (by tiers, in the case of 
time-of-use customers). However, any accumulated billing 
period credits remaining unused at the end of a net metering 
period shall be carried forward into the next net metering 
period only to the extent that such accumulated billing period 
credits carried forward do not exceed the net metering 
customer's billed consumption for the current net metering 
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period, adjusted to exclude accumulated billing period credits 
carried forward and applied from the previous net metering 
period (recognizing tiers for time-of-use customers). 

A net metering customer owns any renewable energy 
certificates associated with the total output of its renewable 
fuel generator. A supplier is only obligated to purchase a net 
metering customer's RECs if the net metering customer has 
exercised its one-time option at the time of signing a power 
purchase agreement with its supplier to include a provision 
requiring the purchase by the supplier of all generated RECs 
over the duration of the power purchase agreement.  

Payment for all whole RECs purchased by the supplier 
during a net metering period in accordance with the purchase 
power agreement shall be made at the same time as the 
payment for any excess generation. The supplier will post a 
credit to the customer's account, or the customer may elect a 
direct payment. Any fractional REC remaining shall not 
receive immediate payment, but may be carried forward to 
subsequent net metering periods for the duration of the power 
purchase agreement.  

The rate of the payment by the supplier for a customer's 
RECs shall be the daily unweighted average of the "CR" 
component of Virginia Electric and Power Company's 
Virginia jurisdiction Rider G tariff in effect over the period 
for which the rate of payment for the excess generation is 
determined, unless the customer's supplier is not Virginia 
Electric and Power Company, and that supplier has an 
applicable Virginia retail renewable energy tariff containing a 
comparable REC commodity price component, in which case 
that price component shall be the basis of the rate of payment. 
The commission may, with notice and opportunity for 
hearing, set another rate of payment or methodology for 
setting the rate of payment for RECs. 

To the extent that RECs are not sold to the net metering 
customer's supplier, they may be sold to any willing buyer at 
any time at a mutually agreeable price.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2900; Filed November 1, 2011, 12:50 p.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Notice of Periodic Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2010) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the State Board of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services is conducting 
a periodic review of 12VAC35-115, Rules and Regulations to 
Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services from 
Providers of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services. The review of this regulation will 
be guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (2010) and 
§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. The purpose of this 
review is to determine whether this regulation should be 
terminated, amended, or retained in its current form.  

Public comment is sought on the review of any issue relating 
to this regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is 
necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and 
welfare or for the economical performance of important 
governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact 
on small businesses in a manner consistent with the stated 
objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and 
easily understandable. 

The comment period begins November 21, 2011, and ends on 
December 19, 2011. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Margaret Walsh, State Human Rights 
Director, State Board of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services, 1220 Bank Street, P.O. Box 1797, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-2008, FAX (804) 
371-6638, or email margaret.walsh@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of the periodic review will be 
posted on the Town Hall and published in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. 

Notice of Periodic Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2010) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the State Board of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services is conducting 
a periodic review of 12VAC35-210, Regulations to Govern 
Temporary Leave from State Mental Health and Mental 
Retardation Facilities. The review of this regulation will be 
guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (2010) and 
§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. The purpose of this 
review is to determine whether this regulation should be 
terminated, amended, or retained in its current form.  

Public comment is sought on the review of any issue relating 
to this regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is 
necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and 
welfare or for the economical performance of important 
governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact 
on small businesses in a manner consistent with the stated 
objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and 
easily understandable. 

The comment period begins November 21, 2011, and ends on 
December 19, 2011. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Linda Grasewicz, Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services, 1220 Bank Street, P.O. Box 1797, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-0040, FAX (804) 
371-0092, or email linda.grasewicz@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of the periodic review will be 
posted on the Town Hall and published in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 

October 25, 2011 

Administrative Letter 2011-07 

To: All Property and Casualty Insurers and Rate Service 
Organizations Licensed in Virginia 

Re: Rate Service Organizations - Advisory Filings 

The Bureau of Insurance (Bureau) is announcing that, 
effective immediately, Rate Service Organizations (RSOs) 
will be permitted to submit Advisory Filings in addition to 
filing forms and supplementary rate information on behalf of 
insurers that are members or subscribers of the RSO 
("participating insurers"). 

In order to administer the filing and adoption of Advisory 
Filings, the Bureau has established a process for RSOs and 
insurers to follow, which is outlined below: 

•  An RSO may identify certain products or programs that it 
elects not to "file on behalf of" its participating insurers. 
Instead, the RSO will be permitted to submit an Advisory 
Filing for any product or program that will allow the filing to 
be available for use by the RSO's participating insurers. 

•  Advisory Filings will not include an effective date or 
implementation date. The Bureau will acknowledge an 
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Advisory Filing with a disposition date, which is the earliest 
date that the filing may be adopted by the RSO's participating 
insurer.  Adoption instructions will be provided by the RSO. 

•  Participating insurers must independently determine 
whether to adopt an Advisory Filing. 

•  If a participating insurer decides to adopt the Advisory 
Filing, the insurer must notify the Bureau on or before the 
insurer's implementation/effective date of the materials in the 
Advisory Filing. 

•  The participating insurer's notification of adoption of the 
Advisory Filing must include the following information: 

1. The RSO's Advisory Filing Number(s); 

2. The insurer's proposed implementation/effective date; 
and 

3. Any other information necessary for implementation of 
the product or program. 

•  The Bureau has established an Advisory Filing Adoption 
Form (AFAF-1 10/2011) outlining the information that will 
be required when an RSO's participating insurer decides to 
adopt an Advisory Filing. Insurers are required to use this 
form. 

The following list of questions and answers provides 
guidance regarding adoption of an RSO's Advisory Filing(s): 

1. Will an insurer that is not a participating insurer of an 
RSO be allowed to adopt an RSO's Advisory Filing? 

No. 

2. Will RSOs still be allowed to "file on behalf of" their 
participating insurers? 

Yes. It is important to note that no changes are being 
made to the "file on behalf of" process that RSOs 
currently utilize. 

3. Can a participating insurer use the adoption process 
outlined in this administrative letter to adopt materials that 
were submitted by an RSO on a "file on behalf of" basis? 

No. This adoption process is only available for a filing 
that an RSO has submitted on an advisory basis. 

4. What information is important for an RSO's participating 
insurer to know regarding the difference(s) between an 
RSO's "file on behalf of" filing and an RSO's Advisory 
Filing? 

With regard to "file on behalf of" filings: 

If a participating insurer has authorized an RSO to file 
forms and/or supplementary rate information on its 
behalf for a line or program, the insurer is not required 
to notify the Bureau of its intentions to use the 
submission unless the insurer intends to take exception 

to the implementation date or the content of the 
submission. 

With regard to the adoption of an Advisory Filing: 

The only way that a participating insurer can adopt an 
Advisory Filing is for the insurer to take specific and 
necessary actions, which include (i) notifying the 
Bureau of the insurer's intention to adopt the Advisory 
Filing, (ii) providing the RSO's Advisory Filing 
Number, and (iii) providing an 
implementation/effective date for implementation of 
the Advisory Filing.  The insurer's submission of 
properly completed Advisory Filing Adoption Form 
(AFAF-1 10/2011) will be sufficient to satisfy the 
insurer's obligation to comply with the filing 
requirements set forth in § 38.2-317 for forms and 
§ 38.2-1906 for supplementary rate information. 

It is important to note that an insurer's failure to comply with 
the applicable filing requirements as stated above may result 
in penalties as set forth in § 38.2-218 of the Code of Virginia. 

1. How will a participating insurer know whether a filing 
has been submitted as "file on behalf of" versus filed as an 
Advisory Filing? 

In the information that is distributed to their 
participating insurers, RSOs must clearly distinguish 
between submissions that are "file on behalf of" and 
those that are submitted as an Advisory Filing. 

2. Will this process affect the filing of advisory loss costs 
by an RSO? 

No. Administrative Letter 2005-3 (workers' 
compensation loss costs) and Administrative Letter 
2006-16 (other than workers' compensation loss costs) 
apply to advisory loss costs. 

3. Are participating insurers required to notify the Bureau if 
they intend to adopt subsequent revisions to an Advisory 
Filing? 

Yes. Participating insurers must notify the Bureau and 
provide an implementation/effective date every time 
they decide to adopt an RSO's Advisory Filing or any 
subsequent revisions to an Advisory Filing. 

Questions regarding this letter may be directed to the Property 
and Casualty Division's Rates and Forms Sections at: 

Personal Lines: Rebecca Nichols, CPCU, CIC, CIE, AIC, 
CCP, ALMI, Principal Insurance Market Examiner, telephone 
(804) 371-9331, or email rebecca.nichols@scc.virginia.gov. 

Commercial Multi-Lines: Betty Branum, CPCU, CIC, 
Principal Insurance Market Examiner, telephone (804) 371-
9242, or email betty.branum@scc.virginia.gov. 
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Commercial Casualty: Melinda Willis, CPCU, CIE, AIC, 
ALMI, Principal Insurance Market Examiner, telephone (804) 
371-9667, or email melinda.willis@scc.virginia.gov. 

 

 

 
Jacqueline K. Cunningham 
Commissioner of Insurance 
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DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Total Maximum Daily Load for Lower Banister River 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR) seek 
written and oral comments from interested persons on the 
development of an implementation plan (IP) for bacteria total 
maximum daily loads (TMDLs) on a 13.18 miles segment of 
the Lower Banister River from Elkhorn Creek to Banister 
Lake, the entire 9.66 miles of Polecat Creek, and 11.78 miles 
of Sandy Creek from Johns Run to its mouth. These portions 
of the Banister River watershed are located in Halifax 
County, including the Town of Halifax. The TMDL study for 
these stream impairments was completed in November, 2007, 
and can be found in the Bacteria TMDLs for Banister River, 
Bearskin Creek, Cherrystone Creek, Polecat Creek, Stinking 
River, Sandy Creek, and Whitethorn Creek Watersheds study 
report on DEQ's website at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl/apptmdls/roankrvr/banister.
pdf. 

Section 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires the 
development of an IP for approved TMDLs. The IP should 
provide measurable goals and the date of expected 
achievement of water quality objectives. The IP should also 
include the corrective actions needed and their associated 
costs, benefits, and environmental impacts.  

The first public meetings to discuss the development of the IP 
for the bacteria TMDLs will be held on Tuesday, November 
29, 2011, at 7 p.m. at the Virginia Extension Office, USDA 
Farm Services Building, 171 South Main Street, Halifax, VA 
24558. At this meeting, development of the implementation 
plan will be discussed and citizens will learn how they can be 
part of the public participation process.  

The 30-day public comment period on the information 
presented at the meeting will end on December 29, 2011. A 
fact sheet on the development of the IP is available upon 
request. Questions or information requests should be 
addressed to Eileen Rowan with the Virginia Department of 
Conservation and Recreation. Written comments and 
inquiries should include the name, address, and telephone 
number of the person submitting the comments and should be 
sent to Eileen Rowan, Virginia Department of Conservation 
and Recreation, 8 Radford Street, Suite 102A, Christiansburg, 
VA 24073, email eileen.rowan@dcr.virginia.gov, telephone 
(540) 394-2586. 

Water Quality in the North Fork Holston River - 
Hiltons, Virginia 

Announcement of an effort to restore water quality in the 
North Fork Holston River and the following tributaries: Lick 
Creek, Beaver Creek, Laurel Creek, Locust Cove Creek, 
Robertson Branch, Turkey Run Creek, Logan Creek, Toole 
Creek, Tumbling Creek, Wolf Creek, Burmley Creek, Cove 

Creek, Abrams Creek, Little Moccasin Creek, Nordyke 
Creek, Smith Creek, Blue Springs Branch, Dowell Branch, 
Hilton Creek, Possum Creek, and Big Moccasin Creek in 
Bland, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, and Scott Counties, 
Virginia. 

Public meeting location: Hiltons Elementary School, 303 
Academy Road, in Hiltons, Virginia on December 6, 2011, 
from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) and the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation are announcing an effort to restore water quality, a 
public comment opportunity, and public meeting. 

Meeting description: First public meeting on a study to 
restore water quality. 

Description of study: DEQ has been working to identify 
sources of bacterial contamination and sources of pollutants 
affecting aquatic organisms. The mainstem of the North Fork 
Holston River in Bland, Smyth, Washington, and Scott 
Counties is impaired for failure to meet the recreational use 
because of fecal coliform bacteria violations and violations of 
the E. coli standard. Lick Creek, Beaver Creek, Locust Cove 
Creek, Robertson Branch, Turkey Run Creek, and Tumbling 
Creek in Smyth County, as well as Laurel Creek in Smyth, 
Bland, and Tazewell Counties are impaired for failure to meet 
the recreational use because of fecal coliform bacteria 
violations and violations of the E. coli standard. Logan Creek, 
Toole Creek, Wolf Creek, Brumley Creek, Abrams Creek, 
Little Moccasin Creek, Nordyke Creek, and Smith Creek in 
Washington County, as well as Cove Creek and Big 
Moccasin Creek in Scott and Washington Counties are 
impaired for failure to meet the recreational use because of 
fecal coliform bacteria violations and violations of the E. coli 
standard. Blue Springs Branch, Dowell Branch, Hilton Creek, 
and Possum Creek in Scott County are impaired for failure to 
meet the recreational use because of fecal coliform bacteria 
violations and violations of the E. coli standard. Lick Creek, 
Laurel Creek, and the North Fork Holston River from the 
Cove Creek confluence downstream to the Tennessee state 
line are impaired for failing to meet the aquatic life use 
(benthic impairment) based on violations of the general 
standard for aquatic organisms. Laurel Creek is also impaired 
for failure to meet the aquatic life use based on violations of 
the temperature water quality standard. 

During the study, DEQ will determine the sources of bacterial 
contamination and pollutants impairing the aquatic 
community will be identified and total maximum daily loads 
(TMDL) developed for the impaired waters. To restore water 
quality, contamination levels must be reduced to the TMDL 
amount. A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a water 
body can contain and still meet water quality standards.  

How a decision is made: The development of a TMDL 
includes public meetings and a public comment period once 
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the study report is drafted. After public comments have been 
considered and addressed, DEQ will submit the TMDL report 
to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for approval. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, December 6, 2011, to January 6, 2012. DEQ also 
accepts written and oral comments at the public meeting 
announced in this notice. 

To review fact sheets: Fact sheets are available on the 
impaired waters from the contacts below or on the DEQ 
website at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl.  

Contact for additional information: Martha Chapman, TMDL 
Coordinator, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, 
Southwest Regional Office, 355 Deadmore Street, P.O. Box 
1688, Abingdon, VA 24212-1688, telephone (276) 676-4800, 
FAX (276) 676-4899, or email 
martha.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Water Quality in the North Fork Holston River - 
Saltville, Virginia 

Announcement of an effort to restore water quality in the 
North Fork Holston River and the following tributaries: Lick 
Creek, Beaver Creek, Laurel Creek, Locust Cove Creek, 
Robertson Branch, Turkey Run Creek, Logan Creek, Toole 
Creek, Tumbling Creek, Wolf Creek, Burmley Creek, Cove 
Creek, Abrams Creek, Little Moccasin Creek, Nordyke 
Creek, Smith Creek, Blue Springs Branch, Dowell Branch, 
Hilton Creek, Possum Creek, and Big Moccasin Creek in 
Bland, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, and Scott Counties, 
Virginia. 

Public meeting location: Friends Community Church, 145 
Palmer Avenue, in Saltville, Virginia on December 1, 2011, 
from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) and the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation are announcing an effort to restore water quality, a 
public comment opportunity, and public meeting. 

Meeting description: First public meeting on a study to 
restore water quality. 

Description of study: DEQ has been working to identify 
sources of bacterial contamination and sources of pollutants 
affecting aquatic organisms. The mainstem of the North Fork 
Holston River in Bland, Smyth, Washington, and Scott 
Counties is impaired for failure to meet the recreational use 
because of fecal coliform bacteria violations and violations of 
the E. coli standard. Lick Creek, Beaver Creek, Locust Cove 
Creek, Robertson Branch, Turkey Run Creek, and Tumbling 
Creek in Smyth County, as well as Laurel Creek in Smyth, 
Bland, and Tazewell Counties are impaired for failure to meet 

the recreational use because of fecal coliform bacteria 
violations and violations of the E. coli standard. Logan Creek, 
Toole Creek, Wolf Creek, Brumley Creek Abrams Creek, 
Little Moccasin Creek, Nordyke Creek, and Smith Creek in 
Washington County, as well as Cove Creek and Big 
Moccasin Creek in Scott and Washington Counties are 
impaired for failure to meet the recreational use because of 
fecal coliform bacteria violations and violations of the E. coli 
standard.  Blue Springs Branch, Dowell Branch, Hilton 
Creek, and Possum Creek in Scott County are impaired for 
failure to meet the recreational use because of fecal coliform 
bacteria violations and violations of the E. coli standard. Lick 
Creek, Laurel Creek, and the North Fork Holston River from 
the Cove Creek confluence downstream to the Tennessee 
state line are impaired for failing to meet the aquatic life use 
(benthic impairment) based on violations of the general 
standard for aquatic organisms. Laurel Creek is also impaired 
for failure to meet the aquatic life use based on violations of 
the temperature water quality standard. 

During the study, DEQ will determine the sources of bacterial 
contamination and pollutants impairing the aquatic 
community will be identified and total maximum daily loads 
(TMDL) developed for the impaired waters. To restore water 
quality, contamination levels must be reduced to the TMDL 
amount. A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a water 
body can contain and still meet water quality standards.  

How a decision is made: The development of a TMDL 
includes public meetings and a public comment period once 
the study report is drafted. After public comments have been 
considered and addressed, DEQ will submit the TMDL report 
to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for approval. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, December 1, 2011, to January 3, 2012. DEQ also 
accepts written and oral comments at the public meeting 
announced in this notice. 

To review fact sheets: Fact sheets are available on the 
impaired waters from the contacts below or on the DEQ 
website at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl.  

Contact for additional information: Martha Chapman, TMDL 
Coordinator, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, 
Southwest Regional Office, 355 Deadmore Street, P.O. Box 
1688, Abingdon, VA 24212-1688, telephone (276) 676-4800, 
FAX (276) 676-4899, or email 
martha.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Volume 28, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 21, 2011 

639 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl


General Notices/Errata 

BOARD OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Notice of Periodic Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2010) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Health 
Professions is currently reviewing each of the regulations 
listed below to determine whether the regulations should be 
terminated, amended, or retained in their current form. The 
review of the regulations will be guided by the principles in 
Executive Order 14 (2010) and § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. Each regulation will be reviewed to determine 
whether the regulations (i) are necessary for the protection of 
public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 
performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 
minimize the economic impact on small businesses in a 
manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable 
law; and (iii) are clearly written and easily understandable. 

18VAC75-20, Regulations Governing Practitioner Self-
Referral 

18VAC75-30, Regulations Governing Standards for 
Dietitians and Nutritionists 

18VAC75-40, Regulations Governing Certification of 
Dialysis Technicians 

The comment period begins on November 21, 2011, and ends 
on January 20, 2012. Comments may be submitted online to 
the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 527-4434, or 
email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. Comments must 
include the commenter's name and address information 
(physical or email) in order to receive a response to the 
comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 
the periodic review will be posted on the Town Hall and 
published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on October 31, 2011. The orders may be viewed 
at the State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA. 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Seven (11) 

Virginia Lottery's "Holiday Subscriptions Sweepstakes" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective on October 27, 2011) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Eight (11) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1285; "Straight 9'S Tripler" 
Final Rules for Game Operation (effective on October 28, 
2011) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred (11) 

Virginia's On-Line Game "Virginia's New Year Millionaire 
Raffle" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective on October 
28, 2011) 

DEPARTMENT OF REHABILITATIVE SERVICES 

Small Business Impact Analysis for 22VAC30-30, 
Provision of Independent Living Rehabilitation 

Services 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 E and 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of 
Virginia, the Department of Rehabilitative Services has 
conducted a review of 22VAC30-30, Provision of 
Independent Living Rehabilitation Services, to determine 
whether the regulation should be continued without change, 
amended, or repealed, consistent with the stated objectives of 
applicable law, to minimize the economic impact of 
regulations on small businesses. A public notice of this was 
review was issued, but no public comment was received by 
the department. This regulation is needed to govern the 
provision of independent living services. The regulation has 
been written to be consistent with the Rehabilitation Act of 
1973, as amended, and with 34 CFR Part 364, 34 CFR Part 
365, and 34 CFR Part 366. This regulation was last reviewed 
in September 2008. At that time, the State Independent 
Living Council and directors of Centers for Independent 
Living reviewed the proposed amendments and indicated the 
regulation was clearly written and easily understandable. The 
regulation has no economic impact on small businesses. Thus, 
the regulation will be retained as is. 

Contact Information: Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Policy Analyst, 
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7612, 
FAX (804) 662-7663, TDD (800) 464-9950, or email 
vanessa.rakestraw@drs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Analysis for 22VAC30-50, 
Policies and Procedures for Administering 

Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 E and 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of 
Virginia, the Department of Rehabilitative Services has 
conducted a review of 22VAC30-50, Policies and Procedures 
for Administering Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative 
Trust Fund. This regulation is needed in order to provide 
policies and procedures for the administration of the 
Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund and for 
the awarding of trust fund monies to the specific entities for 
the research and treatment of neurotrauma. The specific 
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entities are Virginia based organizations, institutions and 
researchers that must apply and be qualified to receive these 
funds. The department has collaborated with the Board of the 
Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund in an 
effort to develop regulations that are simple and easy to 
understand. Some board members are trained and employed 
in the field of neurotrauma; therefore, they are familiar with 
the language utilized in this professional field. Board 
members continue to advise the department during periodic 
reviews of this regulation. 

This regulation governs the awarding of trust fund monies to 
specific entities for basic science and clinical research on the 
mechanisms and treatment of neurotrauma, and for 
community-based rehabilitative services for individuals with 
traumatic spinal cord or brain injuries. It does not appear that 
this regulation overlaps, duplicates, or conflicts with any 
existing state or federal regulation. 

This regulation was reviewed in May of 2007 and was revised 
in August of 2009. There have been no significant changes in 
technology, economic conditions, or other factors that would 
affect this regulation. 

The regulation does not impact small businesses in Virginia 
unless the business provides research on the mechanisms and 
treatment of neurotrauma or community based rehabilitative 
services for individuals with traumatic spinal cord or brain 
injuries. If a small business does conduct research in this field 
or provide community based rehabilitative services, the 
regulation would have a positive impact by providing a 
means by which a small business could apply for short-term 
funding to conduct research or develop rehabilitative services. 

Contact Information: Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Policy Analyst, 
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7612, 
FAX (804) 662-7663, TDD (800) 464-9950, or email 
vanessa.rakestraw@drs.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice (804) 
786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 
varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
http://www.virginia.gov/cmsportal3/cgi-bin/calendar.cgi. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/cumultab.htm. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies are required to use the Regulation 
Information System (RIS) when filing regulations for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Office of the Virginia Register of Regulations implemented a 
web-based application called RIS for filing regulations and 
related items for publication in the Virginia Register. The 
Registrar's office has worked closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-613. Regulations for 
Alternative Onsite Sewage Systems (adding 12VAC5-613-
10 through 12VAC5-613-210). 

Publication: 28:5 VA.R. 458-472 November 7, 2011. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 467, 12VAC5-613-100 B, line 4, change "12VAC5-
610-90 or 12VAC5-610-210" to "12VAC5-613-90 or 
12VAC5-613-210"  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2164; Filed November 2, 2011, 2:21 p.m. 
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