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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
28:2 VA.R. 47-141 September 26, 2011, refers to Volume 28, Issue 2, 
pages 47 through 141 of the Virginia Register issued on  
September 26, 2011. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 
Chairman; Gregory D. Habeeb; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 
McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. 
Moncure, Jr.; Wesley G. Russell, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. 
Tavenner; Patricia L. West; J. Jasen Eige or Jeffrey S. Palmore. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

May 2012 through April 2013 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

28:19 May 2, 2012 May 21, 2012 

28:20 May 16, 2012 June 4, 2012 

28:21 May 30, 2012 June 18, 2012 

28:22 June 13, 2012 July 2, 2012 

28:23 June 27, 2012 July 16, 2012 

28:24 July 11, 2012 July 30, 2012 

28:25 July 25, 2012 August 13, 2012 

28:26 August 8, 2012 August 27, 2012 

29:1 August 22, 2012 September 10, 2012 

29:2 September 5, 2012 September 24, 2012 

29:3 September 19, 2012 October 8, 2012 

29:4 October 3, 2012 October 22, 2012 

29:5 October 17, 2012 November 5, 2012 

29:6 October 31, 2012 November 19, 2012 

29:7 November 13, 2012 (Tuesday) December 3, 2012 

29:8 November 28, 2012 December 17, 2012 

29:9 December 11, 2012 (Tuesday) December 31, 2012 

29:10 December 26, 2012 January 14, 2013 

29:11 January 9, 2013 January 28, 2013 

29:12 January 23, 2013 February 11, 2013 

29:13 February 6, 2013 February 25, 2013 

29:14 February 20, 2013 March 11, 2013 

29:15 March 6, 2013 March 25, 2013 

29:16 March 20, 2013 April 8, 2013 

29:17 April 3, 2013 April 22, 2013 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 



PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Nursing. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-3000 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Timothy Jankiewicz. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations for 
nursing education programs to require coursework in organ 
donation. 

Agency's Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 
Virginia law, the petition to amend the curriculum 
requirements for nursing education programs has been posted 
on the Virginia Regulatory Townhall at 
www.townhall.virginia.gov. It has also been filed with the 
Register of Regulations for publication on May 21, 2012. 
Comment on the petition from interested parties is requested 
until June 15, 2012. Following receipt of all comments on the 
petition, the request will be considered by the Board of 
Nursing at its meeting scheduled for July 17, 2012, to decide 
whether to make any changes to the regulatory language. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 15, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-22; Filed April 19, 2012, 12:05 p.m. 

 

Volume 28, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 21, 2012 

1493 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov


NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 
 

Volume 28, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 21, 2012 

1494 

NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

VIRGINIA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION 
BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Virginia Soil and Water 
Conservation Board intends to consider amending 4VAC50-
60, Virginia Stormwater Management Program (VSMP) 
Permit Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
consider amendments to reauthorize and amend Part XIV, the 
General Virginia Stormwater Management Program (VSMP) 
Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from Construction 
Activities (4VAC50-60-1100 et seq.) and other necessary 
related sections. VSMP permits are effective for a fixed term 
not to exceed five years. The existing five-year general permit 
became effective on July 1, 2009, thus necessitating the 
promulgation of a new general permit before the June 30, 
2014, expiration date. 

Changes may include, but are not limited to, incorporating 
water quality requirements for impaired waters and total 
maximum daily loads including monitoring requirements, 
consistency requirements with other regulations such as 
Erosion and Sediment Control, chemical application and 
handling requirements, and minimum prescriptive measures 
regarding public notification and reporting. Additionally, the 
permit will implement the federal Effluent Limitation 
Guidelines as found at 40 CFR Part 450. This permit will also 
coordinate implementation of the new stormwater 
management technical criteria for post development 
(including compliance with water quality and quantity 
standards set out in Part II of these regulations) authorized 
under state statute and regulations, as well as compliance with 
Part III local program technical criteria of these regulations. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-107 and 10.1-603.4 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 20, 2012. 

Agency Contact: David C. Dowling, Policy and Planning 
Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 
Governor Street, Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3208; Filed May 1, 2012, 5:00 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 
Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-120, 
Waivered Services. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
implement a pilot program with the City of Richmond to 
integrate foster care children into managed care. Only foster 
children under the jurisdiction of the Richmond City 
Department of Social Services shall be available for this 
program. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 20, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Adrienne Fegans, Administration/Director's 
Office, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East 
Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
4112, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
adrienne.fegans@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2787; Filed May 2, 2012, 3:03 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING  

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Real Estate Appraiser Board 
intends to consider amending 18VAC130-20, Real Estate 
Appraiser Board Rules and Regulations. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to adjust licensing fees for regulants of 
the Real Estate Appraiser Board. The board must establish 
fees adequate to support the costs of the board's operations 
and a proportionate share of the Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation's operations. By the close of the 
next biennium, fees will not provide adequate revenue for 
those costs. The Real Estate Appraiser Board has no other 
source of revenue from which to fund its operations. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2013 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 20, 2012. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/000/noc/email%20david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov
http://leg1.state.va.us/000/noc/adrienne.fegans@dmas.virginia.gov


Notices of Intended Regulatory Action 

Volume 28, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 21, 2012 

1495 

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 
Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 
527-4298, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3187; Filed April 19, 2012, 9:16 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Real Estate Appraiser Board 
intends to consider amending 18VAC130-20, Real Estate 
Appraiser Board Rules and Regulations. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to make clarifying changes, ensure 
consistency with state law, and make any other changes that 
may be considered necessary, including, but not limited to, (i) 
amending the definitions of certified residential appraiser and 
licensed residential appraiser in 18VAC130-20-10 to amplify 
the definition of transaction value to include market value; (ii) 
amending 18VAC130-20-20 to ensure all business entities 
providing appraisal services in Virginia are registered with 
the board and require a board licensee to serve as the contact 
person for a registered business entity providing appraisal 
services; (iii) amending 18VAC130-20-30 to ensure certified 
general appraiser applicants demonstrate adequate experience 
in the use of the income approach and appraiser license 
applicants have recent experience in performing appraisal 
reports; (iv) amending 18VAC130-20-60 to include 
provisions that the applicant must be 18 years old and allow 
for a licensing hearing before the board; (iv) amending 
18VAC130-20-180 by changing the term evaluation to 
valuation; and (v) amending 18VAC130-20-190 to more 
efficiently take disciplinary action against a certified appraisal 
instructor who also holds an appraiser license which has been 
the subject of disciplinary action. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2013 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 20, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 
Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 
527-4298, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3192; Filed April 20, 2012, 9:12 a.m.  

mailto:reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov
mailto:reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-900. Pertaining to Horseshoe 
Crab (amending 4VAC20-900-25).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: April 28, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments establish that it is unlawful for any 
person to harvest or land any amount of horseshoe crabs 
from waters east of the COLREGS line by (i) gears other 
than trawl that exceed 27.512% of the horseshoe crab 
quota and (ii) trawl gears that exceed 12.488% of the 
horseshoe crab quota.  

4VAC20-900-25. Commercial fisheries management 
measures.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest horseshoe 
crabs from any shore or tidal waters of Virginia within 1,000 
feet in any direction of the mean low water line from May 1 
through June 7. The harvests of horseshoe crabs for 
biomedical use shall not be subject to this limitation. 

B. From January 1 through June 7 of each year, it shall be 
unlawful for any person to land, in Virginia, any horseshoe 
crab harvested from federal waters. 

C. Harvests for biomedical purposes shall require a special 
permit issued by the Commissioner of Marine Resources, and 
all crabs taken pursuant to such permit shall be returned to the 
same waters from which they were collected. 

D. The commercial quota of horseshoe crab for 2012 shall 
be 152,495 horseshoe crabs. Additional quantities of 

horseshoe crab may be transferred to Virginia by other 
jurisdictions in accordance with the provisions of Addendum 
I to the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission Fishery 
Management Plan for Horseshoe Crab, April 2000, provided 
that the combined total of the commercial quota and transfer 
from other jurisdictions shall not exceed 355,000 horseshoe 
crabs. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest from 
Virginia waters, or to land in Virginia, any horseshoe crab for 
commercial purposes after any calendar-year commercial 
quota of horseshoe crab has been attained and announced as 
such. 

E. During each calendar year no more than 40% of the 
commercial horseshoe crab quota and any and all transfers of 
quota from other jurisdictions shall be harvested from waters 
east of the COLREGS Line. It shall be unlawful for any 
person to harvest horseshoe crabs from waters east of the 
COLREGS Line, or to land horseshoe crabs, in Virginia, that 
are harvested east of the COLREGS Line, after 40% of 
Virginia's horseshoe crab quota and any and all transfers of 
quota have been attained for this designated area and 
announced as such. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or land 
horseshoe crabs during any calendar year from waters east of 
the COLREGS line by any gear after 40% of Virginia's 
commercial horseshoe crab quota and any and all transfers of 
quota have been attained for this designated area and 
announced as such, to also include the following provisions: 

1. It shall be lawful for any person to harvest or land any 
amount of horseshoe crabs from waters east of the 
COLREGS line by any gear other than trawl until it has 
been projected that 27.512% of Virginia's commercial 
horseshoe crab quota and any and all transfers of quota 
have been attained for this designated area and announced 
as such. 

2. It shall be lawful for any person to harvest or land any 
amount of horseshoe crabs from waters east of the 
COLREGS line by trawl as described in subsection B of 
4VAC20-900-36 until it has been projected that 12.488% 
of Virginia's commercial horseshoe crab quota and any and 
all transfers of quota have been attained for this designated 
area and announced as such. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any person whose harvest of 
horseshoe crabs is from waters east of the COLREGS Line to 
possess aboard a vessel or to land in Virginia any quantity of 
horseshoe crabs that, in aggregate, is not comprised of at least 
a minimum ratio of two male horseshoe crabs to one female 
horseshoe crab. For the purposes of this regulation, no 

mailto:betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov


Regulations 

horseshoe crab shall be considered a male horseshoe crab 
unless it possesses at least one modified, hook-like appendage 
as its first pair of walking legs. 

G. Limitations on the daily harvest and possession of 
horseshoe crabs for any vessel described below are as 
follows: 

1. It shall be unlawful for any person who holds a valid 
unrestricted horseshoe crab endorsement license, as 
described in 4VAC20-900-30 D, to possess aboard any 
vessel or to land any number of horseshoe crabs in excess 
of 2,500, except that when it is projected and announced 
that 80% of the commercial quota is taken, it shall be 
unlawful for any person who meets the requirements of 
4VAC20-900-30 D and holds a valid horseshoe crab 
endorsement license to possess aboard any vessel in 
Virginia any number of horseshoe crabs in excess of 1,250. 

2. It shall be unlawful for any person who holds a valid 
restricted horseshoe crab endorsement license, as described 
in 4VAC20-900-30 E, to possess aboard any vessel or to 
land any number of horseshoe crabs in excess of 1,000, 
except that when it is projected and announced that 80% of 
the commercial quota is taken, it shall be unlawful for any 
person who meets the requirements of 4VAC20-900-30 E 
and holds a valid horseshoe crab endorsement license to 
possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any number of 
horseshoe crabs in excess of 500. The harvest of horseshoe 
crabs, described in this subdivision, shall be restricted to 
using only crab dredge. 

3. It shall be unlawful for any registered commercial 
fisherman or seafood landing licensee who does not 
possess a valid horseshoe crab endorsement license to 
possess horseshoe crabs, without first obtaining a valid 
horseshoe crab bycatch permit from the Marine Resources 
Commission. It shall be unlawful for a horseshoe crab 
bycatch permittee to possess aboard any vessel more than 
500 horseshoe crabs or for any vessel to land any number 
of horseshoe crabs in excess of 500 per day except as 
described in subdivision 4 of this subsection. When it is 
projected and announced that 80% of the commercial quota 
is taken, it shall be unlawful for any person with a 
horseshoe crab bycatch permit to possess aboard any vessel 
more than 250 horseshoe crabs or for any vessel to land 
any number of horseshoe crabs in excess of 250 per day 
except as described in subdivision 4 of this subsection. 

4. It shall be unlawful for any two horseshoe crab bycatch 
permittees fishing from the same boat or vessel to possess 
or land more than 1,000 horseshoe crabs per day. When it 
is projected and announced that 80% of the commercial 
quota is taken, it shall be unlawful for any two horseshoe 
crab bycatch permittees fishing from the same boat or 
vessel to possess or land more than 500 horseshoe crabs 
per day. 

5. It shall be unlawful for any registered commercial 
fisherman or seafood landing licensee who does not 
possess a horseshoe crab endorsement license or a 
horseshoe crab bycatch permit to possess any horseshoe 
crabs. 

6. It shall be unlawful for any person who possesses a 
horseshoe crab endorsement license or a horseshoe crab 
bycatch permit to harvest horseshoe crabs by gill net, 
except as described in this subdivision. 

a. Horseshoe crabs shall only be harvested from a gill 
net, daily, between the hours of sunrise and sunset. 

b. It shall be unlawful for any person to land horseshoe 
crabs caught by a gill net in excess of 250 horseshoe 
crabs per day. 

H. It shall be unlawful for any fisherman issued a horseshoe 
crab endorsement license to offload any horseshoe crabs 
between the hours of 10 p.m. and 7 a.m. 

I. When it is projected and announced that 32% of the 
commercial quota, as described in subsection D of this 
section, has been taken from waters east of the COLREGS 
line, the limitations on the possession and landing of 
horseshoe crabs are as follows:  

1. It shall be unlawful for any person who possesses a valid 
unrestricted horseshoe crab endorsement license to possess 
aboard any vessel in waters east of the COLREGS Line or 
to land more than 1,250 horseshoe crabs per day. 

2. It shall be unlawful for any person who possesses a valid 
restricted horseshoe crab endorsement license to possess 
aboard any vessel in waters east of the COLREGS Line or 
to land more than 500 horseshoe crabs per day. 

3. It shall be unlawful for any person who possesses a valid 
horseshoe crab bycatch permit to possess aboard any vessel 
east of the COLREGS Line or to land more than 250 
horseshoe crabs per day. 

4. It shall be unlawful for any two horseshoe crab bycatch 
permittees fishing from the same boat or vessel, east of the 
COLREGS Line, to possess or land more than 500 
horseshoe crabs per day. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3176; Filed April 27, 2012, 2:28 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-950. Pertaining to Black Sea 
Bass (amending 4VAC20-950-48).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: April 28, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
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telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendment clarifies that the Virginia commercial 
fishery possession limit for black sea bass is the total of the 
allowable Virginia landing limit and the North Carolina 
landing limit or trip limit, all in pounds.  

4VAC20-950-48. Individual fishery quotas; bycatch limit; 
at sea harvesters; exceptions.  

A. Each person possessing a directed fishery permit shall be 
assigned an individual fishery quota, in pounds, for each 
calendar year. Except as provided in subsection F of this 
section, a A person's individual fishery quota shall be equal to 
that person's percentage of the total landings of black sea bass 
in Virginia from July 1, 1997, through December 31, 2001, 
multiplied by the directed commercial fishery black sea bass 
quota for the calendar year. Any directed fishery permittee 
shall be limited to landings in the amount of his individual 
fishery quota, in pounds, in any calendar year and it shall be 
unlawful for any permittee to exceed his individual fishery 
quota. In addition to the penalties prescribed by law, any 
overages of an individual's fishery quota shall be deducted 
from that permittee's individual fishery quota for the 
following year.  

B. In the determination of a person's percentage of total 
landings, the commission shall use the greater amount of 
landings from either the National Marine Fisheries Service 
Dealer Weigh-out Reports or National Marine Fisheries 
Service Vessel Trip Reports that have been reported and filed 
as of November 26, 2002. If a person's percentage of the total 
landings of black sea bass is determined by using the Vessel 
Trip Reports as the greater amount, then the person shall 
provide documentation to the Marine Resources Commission 
to verify the Vessel Trip Reports as accurate. This 
documentation may include dealer receipts of sales or other 
pertinent documentation, and such documentation shall be 
submitted to the commission by December 1, 2004. In the 
event the commission is not able to verify the full amount of 
the person's Vessel Trip Reports for the qualifying period, the 
commission shall use the greater amount of landings, from 
either the Dealer Weigh-Out Reports or the verified portion of 
the Vessel Trip Reports to establish that person's share of the 
quota.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting black sea 
bass to possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any 
amount of black sea bass that exceeds the combined total of 
any portion of the Virginia permitted landing limit, as 
described in subsection A of this section, and the North 
Carolina legal landing limit. 

C. D. It shall be unlawful for any person permitted for the 
bycatch fishery to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard a vessel or land in Virginia more than 
200 pounds of black sea bass in addition to the North 
Carolina legal landing limit or trip limit, in any one day, 
except as provided in subdivision 2 of this subsection; 

2. Possess aboard a vessel or land in Virginia more than 
1,000 pounds of black sea bass in addition to the North 
Carolina legal landing limit or trip limit, in any one day, 
provided that the total weight of black sea bass on board 
the vessel does not exceed 10%, by weight, of the total 
weight of summer flounder, scup, Loligo squid, and 
Atlantic mackerel on board the vessel; or 

3. Possess aboard a vessel or land in Virginia more than 
100 pounds of black sea bass in addition to the North 
Carolina legal landing limit or trip limit, when it is 
projected and announced that 75% of the bycatch fishery 
quota has been taken. 

D. E. It shall be unlawful for any person to transfer black sea 
bass from one vessel to another while at sea.  

E. F. Any hardship exception quota granted by the 
commission prior to October 27, 2009, shall be converted to a 
percentage of the directed fishery quota based on the year in 
which that hardship exception quota was originally granted. 
The hardship exception quota shall not be transferred for a 
period of five years from the date the commission granted 
that hardship exception quota. 

F. G. An individual fishery quota, as described in subsection 
A of this section, shall be equal to an individual's current 
percentage share of the directed fishery quota, as described in 
4VAC20-950-47 A.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3177; Filed April 27, 2012, 2:37 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1120. Pertaining to Tilefish 
and Grouper (amending 4VAC20-1120-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendment establishes commercial possession limits 
aboard any vessel in Virginia waters for tilefish species to 
be 500 pounds whole weight or 455 pounds gutted weight, 
and for blueline tilefish to be 300 pounds whole weight or 
273 pounds gutted weight.  
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4VAC20-1120-40. Commercial limitations. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting tilefish 
when commercial fishing, as described in 4VAC20-1120-20, 
to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 
of tilefish, in combination, species in excess of 500 pounds 
whole weight or 455 pounds gutted weight. 

2. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 
of blueline tilefish in excess of 200 300 pounds whole 
weight or 273 pounds gutted weight. 

3. Possess aboard any vessel any amount of golden tilefish 
during any in-season closure announced by the National 
Marine Fisheries Service. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to land in Virginia 
more than 175 pounds of grouper, as described in 4VAC20-
1120-20, per day when commercial fishing.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to transfer at sea to 
another person or vessel any harvest of tilefish or grouper. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3178; Filed April 27, 2012, 2:41 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 
following regulation have been filed by the State Water 
Control Board. The forms are not being published; however, 
online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 
Regulations may click on the name of the new or amended 
form to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-32. Virginia Pollution 
Abatement (VPA) Permit Regulation. 

Agency Contact: Debra A. Miller, Policy Planning Specialist, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-4209, FAX (804) 
698-4346, or email debra.miller@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC25-32) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, General 
Instructions (rev. 4/09). 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form A, 
All Applicants (rev. 4/09).  

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form B, 
Animal Waste (rev. 10/95). 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form C, 
Industrial Waste (rev. 10/95). 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form D, 
Municipal Effluent and Biosolids (rev. 4/09). 

Application for a Biosolids Use Permit, 2007. 

Application for Land Application Supervisor Certification 
(rev. 2/11). 

Application for Renewal of Land Application Supervisor 
Certification (rev. 2/11). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3196; Filed April 23, 2012, 2:07 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-590. Waterworks Regulations 
(amending 12VAC5-590-10; adding 12VAC5-590-125).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12, 32.1-170, and 32.1-174.4 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 21, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Robert A. K. Payne, Compliance Manager, 
Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 864-7498, or email 
rob.payne@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments provide a regulatory definition of a 
chronically noncompliant waterworks and establish an 
enforcement procedure that allows the commissioner to 
take action against recalcitrant waterworks owners to 
compel compliance and protect the public health and 
welfare.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part I 
General Framework for Waterworks Regulations  

Article 1 
Definitions 

12VAC5-590-10. Definitions. 

As used in this chapter, the following words and terms shall 
have meanings respectively set forth unless the context 
clearly requires a different meaning: 
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"Action level" means the concentration of lead or copper in 
water specified in 12VAC5-590-385, which determines, in 
some cases, the treatment requirements contained in 
12VAC5-590-405 that an owner is required to complete. 

"Air gap separation" means the unobstructed vertical 
distance through the free atmosphere between the lowest 
opening from any pipe or faucet supplying pure water to a 
tank, plumbing fixture, or other device and the rim of the 
receptacle. 

"Annual daily water demand" means the average rate of 
daily water usage over at least the most recent three-year 
period. 

"Applied water" means water that is ready for filtration. 

"Approved" means material, equipment, workmanship, 
process or method that has been accepted by the 
commissioner as suitable for the proposed use. 

"Auxiliary water system" means any water system on or 
available to the premises other than the waterworks. These 
auxiliary waters may include water from a source such as 
wells, lakes, or streams; or process fluids; or used water. 
They may be polluted or contaminated or objectionable, or 
constitute an unapproved water source or system over which 
the water purveyor does not have control. 

"Backflow" means the flow of water or other liquids, 
mixtures, or substances into the distribution piping of a 
waterworks from any source or sources other than its intended 
source. 

"Backflow prevention device" means any approved device, 
method, or type of construction intended to prevent backflow 
into a waterworks. 

"Bag filters" means pressure-driven separation devices that 
remove particulate matter larger than one micrometer using 
an engineered porous filtration media. They are typically 
constructed of a nonrigid, fabric filtration media housed in a 
pressure vessel in which the direction of flow is from the 
inside of the bag to outside. 

"Bank filtration" means a water treatment process that uses a 
well to recover surface water that has naturally infiltrated into 
groundwater through a river bed or bank(s). Infiltration is 
typically enhanced by the hydraulic gradient imposed by a 
nearby pumping water supply or other well(s). 

"Best available technology (BAT)" means the best 
technology, treatment techniques, or other means which that 
the commissioner finds, after examination for efficacy under 
field conditions and not solely under laboratory conditions 
and in conformance with applicable EPA regulations, are 
available (taking cost into consideration). 

"Board" means the State Board of Health. 

"Breakpoint chlorination" means the addition of chlorine to 
water until the chlorine demand has been satisfied and further 
additions result in a residual that is directly proportional to 
the amount added. 

"Cartridge filters" means pressure-driven separation devices 
that remove particulate matter larger than one micrometer 
using an engineered porous filtration media. They are 
typically constructed as rigid or semi-rigid, self-supporting 
filter elements housed in pressure vessels in which flow is 
from the outside of the cartridge to the inside. 

"Chlorine" means dry chlorine. 

"Chlorine gas" means dry chlorine in the gaseous state. 

"Chlorine solution (chlorine water)" means a solution of 
chlorine in water. 

"Chronically noncompliant waterworks" or "CNC" means a 
waterworks that is unable to provide pure water for any of the 
following reasons: (i) the waterworks' record of performance 
demonstrates that it can no longer be depended upon to 
furnish pure water to the persons served; (ii) the owner has 
inadequate technical, financial, or managerial capacity to 
furnish pure water to the people served; (iii) the owner has 
failed to comply with an order issued by the board or the 
commissioner; (iv) the owner has abandoned the waterworks 
and has discontinued supplying pure water to the persons 
served; or (v) the owner is subject to a forfeiture order 
pursuant to § 32.1-174.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Coagulation" means a process using coagulant chemicals 
and mixing by which colloidal and suspended materials are 
destabilized and agglomerated into floc. 

"Coliform bacteria group" means a group of bacteria 
predominantly inhabiting the intestines of man or animal but 
also occasionally found elsewhere. It includes all aerobic and 
facultative anaerobic, gram-negative, non-sporeforming 
bacilli that ferment lactose with production of gas. Also 
included are all bacteria that produce a dark, purplish-green 
colony with metallic sheen by the membrane filter technique 
used for coliform identification. 

"Combined distribution system" means the interconnected 
distribution system consisting of the distribution systems of 
wholesale waterworks and of the consecutive waterworks that 
receive finished water. 

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner. 

"Community waterworks" means a waterworks which that 
serves at least 15 service connections used by year-round 
residents or regularly serves at least 25 year-round residents. 

"Compliance cycle" means the nine-year calendar year cycle 
during which a waterworks shall monitor. Each compliance 
cycle consists of three three-year compliance periods. The 
first calendar year cycle begins January 1, 1993, and ends 
December 31, 2001; the second begins January 1, 2002, and 
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ends December 31, 2010; the third begins January 1, 2011, 
and ends December 31, 2019. 

"Compliance period" means a three-year calendar year 
period within a compliance cycle. Each compliance cycle has 
three three-year compliance periods. Within the first 
compliance cycle, the first compliance period runs from 
January 1, 1993, to December 31, 1995; the second from 
January 1, 1996, to December 31, 1998; the third from 
January 1, 1999, to December 31, 2001. 

"Comprehensive performance evaluation" or "(CPE)" means 
a thorough review and analysis of a treatment plant's 
performance-based capabilities and associated administrative, 
operational and maintenance practices. It is conducted to 
identify factors that may be adversely impacting a plant's 
capability to achieve compliance and emphasizes approaches 
that can be implemented without significant capital 
improvements. For purposes of compliance with 12VAC5-
590-530 C 1 b (2), the comprehensive performance evaluation 
shall consist of at least the following components: assessment 
of plant performance; evaluation of major unit processes; 
identification and prioritization of performance limiting 
factors; assessment of the applicability of comprehensive 
technical assistance; and preparation of a CPE report. 

"Confluent growth" means a continuous bacterial growth 
covering the entire filtration area of a membrane filter, or a 
portion thereof, in which bacterial colonies are not discrete. 

"Consecutive waterworks" means a waterworks which that 
has no water production or source facility of its own and 
which that obtains all of its water from another permitted 
waterworks or receives some or all of its finished water from 
one or more wholesale waterworks. Delivery may be through 
a direct connection or through the distribution system of one 
or more consecutive waterworks. 

"Consumer" means any person who drinks water from a 
waterworks. 

"Consumer's water system" means any water system located 
on the consumer's premises, supplied by or in any manner 
connected to a waterworks. 

"Contaminant" means any objectionable or hazardous 
physical, chemical, biological, or radiological substance or 
matter in water. 

"Conventional filtration treatment" means a series of 
processes including coagulation, flocculation, sedimentation, 
and filtration resulting in substantial particulate removal. 

"Corrosion inhibitor" means a substance capable of reducing 
the corrosivity of water toward metal plumbing materials, 
especially lead and copper, by forming a protective film on 
the interior surface of those materials. 

"Cross connection" means any connection or structural 
arrangement, direct or indirect, to the waterworks whereby 
backflow can occur. 

"CT" or "CTcalc" means the product of "residual disinfectant 
concentration" (C) in mg/L determined before or at the first 
customer, and the corresponding "disinfectant contact time" 
(T) in minutes, i.e., "C" x "T". 

"Daily fluid intake" means the daily intake of water for 
drinking and culinary use and is defined as two liters. 

"Dechlorination" means the partial or complete reduction of 
residual chlorine in water by any chemical or physical process 
at a waterworks with a treatment facility. 

"Degree of hazard" means the level of health hazard, as 
derived from an evaluation of the potential risk to health and 
the adverse effect upon the waterworks. 

"Diatomaceous earth filtration" means a process resulting in 
substantial particulate removal in which (i) a precoat cake of 
diatomaceous earth filter media is deposited on a support 
membrane (septum), and (ii) while the water is filtered by 
passing through the cake on the septum, additional filter 
media known as body feed is continuously added to the feed 
water to maintain the permeability of the filter cake. 

"Direct filtration" means a series of processes including 
coagulation and filtration but excluding sedimentation 
resulting in substantial particulate removal. 

"Disinfectant" means any oxidant (including chlorine) that is 
added to water in any part of the treatment or distribution 
process for the purpose of killing or deactivating pathogenic 
organisms. 

"Disinfectant contact time" ("T" in CT calculations) means 
the time in minutes that it takes for water to move from the 
point of disinfectant application to the point where residual 
disinfectant concentration ("C") is measured. 

"Disinfection" means a process that inactivates pathogenic 
organisms in water by chemical oxidants or equivalent agents. 

"Disinfection profile" means a summary of Giardia lamblia 
or virus inactivation through the treatment plant. 

"Distribution main" means a water main whose primary 
purpose is to provide treated water to service connections. 

"District Engineer" means the employee assigned by the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, Department of Health, Office of 
Drinking Water to manage its regulatory activities in a 
geographical area of the state consisting of a state planning 
district or subunit of a state planning district. 

"Domestic or other nondistribution system plumbing 
problem" means a coliform contamination problem in a 
waterworks with more than one service connection that is 
limited to the specific service connection from which the 
coliform positive sample was taken. 
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"Domestic use or usage" means normal family or household 
use, including drinking, laundering, bathing, cooking, 
heating, cleaning and flushing toilets (see Article 2 (§ 32.1-
167 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 32.1 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

"Double gate-double check valve assembly" means an 
approved assembly composed of two single independently 
acting check valves including tightly closing shutoff valves 
located at each end of the assembly and petcocks and test 
gauges for testing the watertightness of each check valve. 

"Dual sample set" means a set of two samples collected at 
the same time and same location, with one sample analyzed 
for TTHM and the other sample analyzed for HAA5. Dual 
sample sets are collected for the purposes of conducting an 
initial distribution system evaluation (IDSE) under 12VAC5-
590-370 B 3 e (2) and determining compliance with the 
TTHM and HAA5 MCLs under 12VAC5-590-370 B 3 e (3). 

"Effective corrosion inhibitor residual," means, for the 
purpose of 12VAC5-590-405 A 1 only, a concentration 
sufficient to form a passivating film on the interior walls of a 
pipe. 

"Enhanced coagulation" means the addition of sufficient 
coagulant for improved removal of disinfection byproduct 
precursors by conventional filtration treatment. 

"Enhanced softening" means the improved removal of 
disinfection byproduct precursors by precipitative softening. 

"Entry point" means the place where water from the source 
after application of any treatment is delivered to the 
distribution system. 

"Equivalent residential connection" means a volume of 
water used equal to a residential connection which that is 400 
gallons per day unless supportive data indicates otherwise. 

"Exception" means an approved deviation from a "shall" 
criteria contained in Part III (12VAC5-590-640 et seq.) of this 
chapter. 

"Exemption" means a conditional waiver of a specific 
PMCL or treatment technique requirement which that is 
granted to a specific waterworks for a limited period of time. 

"Filter profile" means a graphical representation of 
individual filter performance, based on continuous turbidity 
measurements or total particle counts versus time for an entire 
filter run, from startup to backwash inclusively, that includes 
an assessment of filter performance while another filter is 
being backwashed. 

"Filtration" means a process for removing particulate matter 
from water by passage through porous media. 

"Finished water" means water that is introduced into the 
distribution system of a waterworks and is intended for 
distribution and consumption without further treatment, 

except as treatment necessary to maintain water quality in the 
distribution system (e.g., booster disinfection, addition of 
corrosion control chemicals). 

"First draw sample" means a one-liter sample of tap water, 
collected in accordance with 12VAC5-590-375 B 2, that has 
been standing in plumbing pipes at least six hours and is 
collected without flushing the tap. 

"Flocculation" means a process to enhance agglomeration or 
collection of smaller floc particles into larger, more easily 
settleable particles through gentle stirring by hydraulic or 
mechanical means. 

"Flowing stream" means a course of running water flowing 
in a definite channel. 

"Free available chlorine" means that portion of the total 
residual chlorine remaining in water at the end of a specified 
contact period which that will react chemically and 
biologically as hypochlorous acid or hypochlorite ion. 

"GAC10" means granular activated carbon filter beds with 
an empty-bed contact time of 10 minutes based on average 
daily flow and a carbon reactivation frequency of every 180 
days, except that the reactivation frequency for GAC10 used 
as a best available technology for compliance with 12VAC5-
590-410 C 2 b (1) (b) shall be 120 days. 

"GAC20" means granular activated carbon filter beds with 
an empty-bed contact time of 20 minutes based on average 
daily flow and a carbon reactivation frequency of every 240 
days. 

"Governmental entity" means the Commonwealth, a town, 
city, county, service authority, sanitary district or any other 
governmental body established under the Code of Virginia, 
including departments, divisions, boards or commissions. 

"Gross alpha particle activity" means the total radioactivity 
due to alpha particle emission as inferred from measurements 
on a dry sample. 

"Gross beta particle activity" means the total radioactivity 
due to beta particle emission as inferred from measurements 
on a dry sample. 

"Groundwater" means all water obtained from sources not 
classified as surface water (or surface water sources). 

"Groundwater system" means any waterworks that uses 
groundwater as its source of supply; however, a waterworks 
that combines all its groundwater with surface water or with 
groundwater under the direct influence of surface water prior 
to treatment is not a groundwater system. Groundwater 
systems include consecutive waterworks that receive finished 
groundwater from a wholesale waterworks. 

"Groundwater under the direct influence of surface water" or 
"GUDI" means any water beneath the surface of the ground 
with significant occurrence of insects or other 
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macroorganisms, algae, or large-diameter pathogens such as 
Giardia lamblia, or Cryptosporidium. It also means 
significant and relatively rapid shifts in water characteristics 
such as turbidity, temperature, conductivity, or pH that 
closely correlate to climatological or surface water 
conditions. The commissioner in accordance with 12VAC5-
590-430 will determine direct influence of surface water. 

"Haloacetic acids (five)" or "(HAA5)" means the sum of the 
concentrations in milligrams per liter of the haloacetic acid 
compounds (monochloroacetic acid, dichloroacetic acid, 
trichloroacetic acid, monobromoacetic acid, and 
dibromoacetic acid), rounded to two significant figures after 
addition. 

"Halogen" means one of the chemical elements chlorine, 
bromine, fluorine, astatine or iodine. 

"Health hazard" means any condition, device, or practice in 
a waterworks or its operation that creates, or may create, a 
danger to the health and well-being of the water consumer. 

"Health regulations" means regulations which that include 
all primary maximum contaminant levels, treatment technique 
requirements, and all operational regulations, the violation of 
which would jeopardize the public health. 

"Hypochlorite" means a solution of water and some form of 
chlorine, usually sodium hypochlorite. 

"Initial compliance period" means for all regulated 
contaminants, the initial compliance period is the first full 
three-year compliance period beginning at least 18 months 
after promulgation with the exception of waterworks with 150 
or more service connections for contaminants listed at Table 
2.3, VOC 19-21; Table 2.3, SOC 19-33; and antimony, 
beryllium, cyanide (as free cyanide), nickel, and thallium 
which that shall begin January 1993. 

"Interchangeable connection" means an arrangement or 
device that will allow alternate but not simultaneous use of 
two sources of water. 

"Karst geology" means an area predominantly underlain by 
limestone, dolomite, or gypsum and characterized by rapid 
underground drainage. Such areas often feature sinkholes, 
caverns, and sinking or disappearing creeks. In Virginia, this 
generally includes all that area west of the Blue Ridge and, in 
Southwest Virginia, east of the Cumberland Plateau. 

"Lake/reservoir" means a natural or man-made basin or 
hollow on the Earth's surface in which water collects or is 
stored that may or may not have a current or single direction 
of flow. 

"Large waterworks" means, for the purposes of 12VAC5-
590-375, 12VAC5-590-405, 12VAC5-590-530 D, and 
12VAC5-590-550 D only, a waterworks that serves more 
than 50,000 persons. 

"Lead free" means the following: 

1. When used with respect to solders and flux, refers to 
solders and flux containing not more than 0.2% lead; 

2. When used with respect to pipes and pipe fittings, refers 
to pipes and pipe fittings containing not more than 8.0% 
lead; 

3. When used with respect to plumbing fittings and fixtures 
intended by the plumbing manufacturer to dispense water 
for human ingestion, refers to fittings and fixtures that are 
in compliance with standards established in accordance 
with 42 USC § 300g-6(e). 

"Lead service line" means a service line made of lead which 
that connects the water main to the building inlet and any lead 
pigtail, gooseneck or other fitting that is connected to such 
lead line. 

"Legionella" means a genus of bacteria, some species of 
which have caused a type of pneumonia called Legionnaires 
Disease. 

"Liquid chlorine" means a liquefied, compressed chlorine 
gas as shipped in commerce. 

"Locational running annual average" or "LRAA" means the 
average of sample analytical results for samples taken at a 
particular monitoring location during the previous four 
calendar quarters. 

"Log inactivation (log removal)" means that a 99% 
reduction is a 2-log inactivation; a 99.9% reduction is a 3-log 
inactivation; a 99.99% reduction is a 4-log inactivation. 

"Man-made beta particle and photon emitters" means all 
radionuclides emitting beta particles and/or photons listed in 
the most current edition of "Maximum Permissible Body 
Burdens and Maximum Permissible Concentration of 
Radionuclides in Air or Water for Occupational Exposure," 
National Bureau of Standards Handbook 69, except the 
daughter products of thorium-232, uranium-235 and uranium-
238. 

"Maximum daily water demand" means the rate of water 
usage during the day of maximum water use. 

"Maximum contaminant level (MCL)" means the maximum 
permissible level of a contaminant in pure water which that is 
delivered to any user of a waterworks. MCLs are set as close 
to the MCLGs as feasible using the best available treatment 
technology. MCLs may be either "primary" (PMCL), 
meaning based on health considerations or "secondary" 
(SMCL) meaning based on aesthetic considerations. 

"Maximum residual disinfectant level (MRDL)" means a 
level of a disinfectant added for water treatment that may not 
be exceeded at the consumer's tap without an unacceptable 
possibility of adverse health effects. For chlorine and 
chloramines, a waterworks is in compliance with the MRDL 
when the running annual average of monthly averages of 
samples taken in the distribution system, computed quarterly, 
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is less than or equal to the MRDL. For chlorine dioxide, a 
waterworks is in compliance with the MRDL when daily 
samples are taken at the entrance to the distribution system 
and no two consecutive daily samples exceed the MRDL. 
MRDLs are enforceable in the same manner as maximum 
contaminant levels. There is convincing evidence that 
addition of a disinfectant is necessary for control of 
waterborne microbial contaminants. Notwithstanding the 
MRDLs listed in Table 2.12, operators may increase residual 
disinfectant levels of chlorine or chloramines (but not 
chlorine dioxide) in the distribution system to a level and for 
a time necessary to protect public health to address specific 
microbiological contamination problems caused by 
circumstances such as distribution line breaks, storm runoff 
events, source water contamination, or cross-connections. 

"Maximum residual disinfectant level goal (MRDLG)" 
means the maximum level of a disinfectant added for water 
treatment at which no known or anticipated adverse effect on 
the health of persons would occur, and which that allows an 
adequate margin of safety. MRDLGs are nonenforceable 
health goals and do not reflect the benefit of the addition of 
the chemical for control of waterborne microbial 
contaminants. 

"Maximum total trihalomethane potential (MTP)" means the 
maximum concentration of total trihalomethanes produced in 
a given water containing a disinfectant residual after seven 
days at a temperature of 25°C or above. 

"Medium-size waterworks," means, for the purpose of 
12VAC5-590-375, 12VAC5-590-405, 12VAC5-590-530, and 
12VAC5-590-550 D only, a waterworks that serves greater 
than 3,300 and less than or equal to 50,000 persons. 

"Membrane filtration" means a pressure or vacuum-driven 
separation process in which particulate matter larger than one 
micrometer is rejected by an engineered barrier, primarily 
through a size exclusion mechanism, and that has a 
measurable removal efficiency of a target organism that can 
be verified through the application of a direct integrity test. 
This definition includes the common membrane technologies 
of microfiltration, ultrafiltration, nanofiltration, and reverse 
osmosis. 

"Method detection limit" means the minimum concentration 
of a substance that can be measured and reported with 99% 
confidence that the analyte concentration is greater than zero 
and is determined from analysis of a sample in a given matrix 
containing the analyte. 

"Most probable number (MPN)" means that number of 
organisms per unit volume that, in accordance with statistical 
theory, would be more likely than any other number to yield 
the observed test result or that would yield the observed test 
result with the greatest frequency, expressed as density of 
organisms per 100 milliliters. Results are computed from the 

number of positive findings of coliform-group organisms 
resulting from multiple-portion decimal-dilution plantings. 

"Noncommunity waterworks" means a waterworks that is 
not a community waterworks, but operates at least 60 days 
out of the year. 

"Nonpotable water" means water not classified as pure 
water. 

"Nontransient noncommunity waterworks (NTNC)" means a 
waterworks that is not a community waterworks and that 
regularly serves at least 25 of the same persons over six 
months out of the year. 

"Office" or "ODW" means the Commonwealth of Virginia, 
Department of Health, Office of Drinking Water. 

"One hundred year flood level" means the flood elevation 
which that will, over a long period of time, be equaled or 
exceeded on the average once every 100 years. 

"Operator" means any individual employed or appointed by 
any owner, and who is designated by such owner to be the 
person in responsible charge, such as a supervisor, a shift 
operator, or a substitute in charge, and whose duties include 
testing or evaluation to control waterworks operations. Not 
included in this definition are superintendents or directors of 
public works, city engineers, or other municipal or industrial 
officials whose duties do not include the actual operation or 
direct supervision of waterworks. 

"Optimal corrosion control treatment" means the corrosion 
control treatment that minimizes the lead and copper 
concentrations at users' taps while ensuring that the treatment 
does not cause the waterworks to violate any other section of 
this chapter. 

"Owner" or "water purveyor" means an individual, group of 
individuals, partnership, firm, association, institution, 
corporation, governmental entity, or the federal government 
which that supplies or proposes to supply water to any person 
within this state from or by means of any waterworks (see 
Article 2 (§ 32.1-167 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 32.1 of the 
Code of Virginia). 

"Picocurie (pCi)" means that quantity of radioactive material 
producing 2.22 nuclear transformations per minute. 

"Plant intake" means the works or structures at the head of a 
conduit through which water is diverted from a source (e.g., 
river or lake) into the treatment plant. 

"Point of disinfectant application" means the point where the 
disinfectant is applied and water downstream of that point is 
not subject to recontamination by surface water runoff. 

"Point-of-entry treatment device (POE)" means a treatment 
device applied to the water entering a house or building for 
the purpose of reducing contaminants in the water distributed 
throughout the house or building. 
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"Point-of-use treatment device (POU)" means a treatment 
device applied to a single tap for the purpose of reducing 
contaminants in the water at that one tap. 

"Pollution" means the presence of any foreign substance 
(chemical, physical, radiological, or biological) in water that 
tends to degrade its quality so as to constitute an unnecessary 
risk or impair the usefulness of the water. 

"Pollution hazard" means a condition through which an 
aesthetically objectionable or degrading material may enter 
the waterworks or a consumer's water system. 

"Post-chlorination" means the application of chlorine to 
water subsequent to treatment. 

"Potable water" – see "Pure water." 

"Practical quantitation level (PQL)" means the lowest level 
achievable by good laboratories within specified limits during 
routine laboratory operating conditions. 

"Prechlorination" means the application of chlorine to water 
prior to filtration. 

"Presedimentation" means a preliminary treatment process 
used to remove gravel, sand and other particulate material 
from the source water through settling before the water enters 
the primary clarification and filtration processes in a 
treatment plant. 

"Process fluids" means any fluid or solution which that may 
be chemically, biologically, or otherwise contaminated or 
polluted which that would constitute a health, pollutional, or 
system hazard if introduced into the waterworks. This 
includes, but is not limited to: 

1. Polluted or contaminated water; 

2. Process waters; 

3. Used waters, originating from the waterworks which that 
may have deteriorated in sanitary quality; 

4. Cooling waters; 

5. Contaminated natural waters taken from wells, lakes, 
streams, or irrigation systems; 

6. Chemicals in solution or suspension; and 

7. Oils, gases, acids, alkalis, and other liquid and gaseous 
fluid used in industrial or other processes, or for fire 
fighting purposes. 

"Pure water" means water fit for human consumption and 
domestic use which that is sanitary and normally free of 
minerals, organic substances, and toxic agents in excess of 
reasonable amounts for domestic usage in the area served and 
normally adequate in quantity and quality for the minimum 
health requirements of the persons served (see Article 2 
(§ 32.1-167 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 32.1 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

"Raw water main" means a water main which that conveys 
untreated water from a source to a treatment facility. 

"Reduced pressure principle backflow prevention device 
(RPZ device)" means a device containing a minimum of two 
independently acting check valves together with an 
automatically operated pressure differential relief valve 
located between the two check valves. During normal flow 
and at the cessation of normal flow, the pressure between 
these two checks shall be less than the supply pressure. In 
case of leakage of either check valve, the differential relief 
valve, by discharging to the atmosphere, shall operate to 
maintain the pressure between the check valves at less than 
the supply pressure. The unit shall include tightly closing 
shut-off valves located at each end of the device, and each 
device shall be fitted with properly located test cocks. These 
devices shall be of the approved type. 

"REM" means the unit of dose equivalent from ionizing 
radiation to the total body or any internal organ or organ 
system. A "millirem" (MREM) is 1/1000 of a REM. 

"Repeat compliance period" means any subsequent 
compliance period after the initial compliance period. 

"Residual disinfectant concentration ("C" in CT 
Calculations)" means the concentration of disinfectant 
measured in mg/L in a representative sample of water. 

"Responsible charge" means designation by the owner of 
any individual to have duty and authority to operate or 
modify the operation of waterworks processes. 

"Sanitary facilities" means piping and fixtures, such as 
sinks, lavatories, showers, and toilets, supplied with potable 
water and drained by wastewater piping. 

"Sanitary survey" means an evaluation conducted by ODW 
of a waterworks' water supply, facilities, equipment, 
operation, maintenance, monitoring records. and overall 
management of a waterworks to ensure the provision of pure 
water. 

"Secondary water source" means any approved water 
source, other than a waterworks' primary source, connected to 
or available to that waterworks for emergency or other 
nonregular use. 

"Sedimentation" means a process for removal of solids 
before filtration by gravity or separation. 

"Service connection" means the point of delivery of water to 
a customer's building service line as follows: 

1. If a meter is installed, the service connection is the 
downstream side of the meter; 

2. If a meter is not installed, the service connection is the 
point of connection to the waterworks; 

3. When the water purveyor is also the building owner, the 
service connection is the entry point to the building. 
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"Service line sample" means a one-liter sample of water, 
collected in accordance with 12VAC5-590-375 B 2 c, that has 
been standing for at least six hours in a service line. 

"Sewer" means any pipe or conduit used to convey sewage 
or industrial waste streams. 

"Significant deficiency" means any defect in a waterworks' 
design, operation, maintenance, or administration, as well as 
the failure or malfunction of any waterworks component, that 
may cause, or has the potential to cause, an unacceptable risk 
to health or could affect the reliable delivery of pure water to 
consumers. 

"Single family structure," means, for the purpose of 
12VAC5-590-375 B only, a building constructed as a single-
family residence that is currently used as either a residence or 
a place of business. 

"Slow sand filtration" means a process involving passage of 
raw water through a bed of sand at low velocity (generally 
less than 0.4 m/h) resulting in substantial particulate removal 
by physical and biological mechanisms. 

"Small waterworks" means, for the purpose of 12VAC5-
590-375, 12VAC5-590-405, 12VAC5-590-530 D and 
12VAC5-590-550 D only, a waterworks that serves 3,300 
persons or fewer. 

"Standard sample" means that portion of finished drinking 
water that is examined for the presence of coliform bacteria. 

"Surface water" means all water open to the atmosphere and 
subject to surface runoff. 

"SUVA" means specific ultraviolet absorption at 254 
nanometers (nm), an indicator of the humic content of water. 
It is a calculated parameter obtained by dividing a sample's 
ultraviolet absorption at a wavelength of 254 nm (UV254) (in 
m-1) by its concentration of dissolved organic carbon (DOC) 
(in mg/L). 

"Synthetic organic chemicals (SOC)" means one of the 
family of organic man-made compounds generally utilized for 
agriculture or industrial purposes. 

"System hazard" means a condition posing an actual, or 
threat of, damage to the physical properties of the waterworks 
or a consumer's water system. 

"Terminal reservoir" means an impoundment providing end 
storage of water prior to treatment. 

"Too numerous to count" means that the total number of 
bacterial colonies exceeds 200 on a 47-mm diameter 
membrane filter used for coliform detection. 

"Total effective storage volume" means the volume 
available to store water in distribution reservoirs measured as 
the difference between the reservoir's overflow elevation and 
the minimum storage elevation. The minimum storage 
elevation is that elevation of water in the reservoir that can 

provide a minimum pressure of 20 psi at a flow as determined 
in 12VAC5-590-690 C to the highest elevation served within 
that reservoir's service area under systemwide maximum 
daily water demand. 

"Total organic carbon" (TOC) means total organic carbon in 
mg/L measured using heat, oxygen, ultraviolet irradiation, 
chemical oxidants, or combinations of these oxidants that 
convert organic carbon to carbon dioxide, rounded to two 
significant figures. 

"Total trihalomethanes (TTHM)" means the sum of the 
concentrations of the trihalomethanes expressed in milligrams 
per liter (mg/L) and rounded to two significant figures. For 
the purpose of these regulations, the TTHM's shall mean 
trichloromethane (chloroform), dibromochloromethane, 
bromodichloromethane, and tribromomethane (bromoform). 

"Transmission main" means a water main whose primary 
purpose is to move significant quantities of treated water 
among service areas. 

"Treatment technique requirement" means a requirement 
which that specifies for a contaminant a specific treatment 
technique(s) demonstrated to the satisfaction of the division 
to lead to a reduction in the level of such contaminant 
sufficient to comply with these regulations. 

"Triggered source water monitoring" means monitoring 
required of any groundwater system as a result of a total 
coliform-positive sample in the distribution system. 

"Trihalomethane (THM)" means one of the family of 
organic compounds, named as derivatives of methane, 
wherein three of the four hydrogen atoms in methane are each 
substituted by a halogen atom in the molecular structure. 

"Two-stage lime softening" means a process in which 
chemical addition and hardness precipitation occur in each of 
two distinct unit clarification processes in series prior to 
filtration. 

"Uncovered finished water storage facility" means a tank, 
reservoir, or other facility used to store water that will 
undergo no further treatment to reduce microbial pathogens 
(except residual disinfection) and is directly open to the 
atmosphere. 

"Unregulated contaminant (UC)" means a contaminant for 
which a monitoring requirement has been established, but for 
which no MCL or treatment technique requirement has been 
established. 

"Used water" means any water supplied by a water purveyor 
from the waterworks to a consumer's water system after it has 
passed through the service connection. 

"Variance" means a conditional waiver of a specific 
regulation which that is granted to a specific waterworks. A 
PMCL Variance is a variance to a Primary Maximum 
Contaminant Level, or a treatment technique requirement. An 
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Operational Variance is a variance to an operational 
regulation or a Secondary Maximum Contaminant Level. 
Variances for monitoring, reporting and public notification 
requirements will not be granted. 

"Virus" means a microbe that is infectious to humans by 
waterborne transmission. 

"Volatile synthetic organic chemical (VOC)" means one of 
the family of manmade organic compounds generally 
characterized by low molecular weight and rapid vaporization 
at relatively low temperatures or pressures. 

"Waterborne disease outbreak" means the significant 
occurrence of acute infectious illness, epidemiologically 
associated with the ingestion of water from a waterworks 
which that is deficient in treatment, as determined by the 
commissioner or the State Epidemiologist. 

"Water purveyor" (same as owner). 

"Water supply" means water that shall have been taken into 
a waterworks from all wells, streams, springs, lakes, and 
other bodies of surface waters (natural or impounded), and 
the tributaries thereto, and all impounded groundwater, but 
the term "water supply" shall not include any waters above 
the point of intake of such waterworks (see Article 2 (§ 32.1-
167 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 32.1 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

"Water supply main" or "main" means any water supply 
pipeline that is part of a waterworks distribution system. 

"Water Well Completion Report" means a report form 
published by the State Water Control Board entitled "Water 
Well Completion Report," which requests specific 
information pertaining to the ownership, driller, location, 
geological formations penetrated, water quantity and quality 
encountered as well as construction of water wells. The form 
is to be completed by the well driller. 

"Waterworks" means a system that serves piped water for 
drinking or domestic use to (i) the public, (ii) at least 15 
connections, or (iii) an average of 25 individuals for at least 
60 days out of the year. The term "waterworks" shall include 
all structures, equipment and appurtenances used in the 
storage, collection, purification, treatment and distribution of 
pure water except the piping and fixtures inside the building 
where such water is delivered (see Article 2 (§ 32.1-167 et 
seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

"Waterworks with a single service connection" means a 
waterworks which that supplies drinking water to consumers 
via a single service line. 

"Wholesale waterworks" means a waterworks that treats 
source water as necessary to produce finished water and then 
delivers some or all of that finished water to another 
waterworks. Delivery may be through a direct connection or 

through the distribution system of one or more consecutive 
waterworks. 

12VAC5-590-125. Chronically noncompliant waterworks. 

A. The commissioner may identify a waterworks as 
chronically noncompliant (CNC) whenever he determines 
that: 

1. The waterworks has a documented performance record 
that demonstrates the waterworks is not a dependable 
supplier of potable water; 

2. The owner has shown inadequate technical, financial, or 
managerial capabilities to provide potable water; 

3. The owner has failed to comply with an order issued by 
the commissioner; 

4. The owner has abandoned the waterworks and has 
discontinued providing potable water to the consumers; or 

5. The owner is subject to a forfeiture order pursuant to 
§ 32.1-174.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Once the commissioner determines that a waterworks is 
CNC, he shall issue an order to the owner containing a 
schedule to bring the waterworks into compliance with this 
chapter and require the submission of a comprehensive 
business plan pursuant to § 32.1-172 B of the Code of 
Virginia. If capital improvements are necessary to bring the 
waterworks into compliance, and the owner does not possess 
sufficient assets to make the necessary improvements, the 
order shall require the owner to make annual, good faith 
applications for loans, grants, or both, to appropriate financial 
institutions to secure funding for such improvements, until 
such improvements are complete and operational. The owner 
shall provide a copy of the order to each consumer with a 
copy of the compliance schedule within 10 calendar days of 
issuance of the order. 

C. The owner shall provide the commissioner a copy of the 
notice distributed and a signed certification of the distribution 
completion date within five calendar days of completing the 
notification required in subsection B of this section. 

D. The commissioner shall send a copy of the order to the 
chief administrative officer of the locality in which the 
waterworks is located for appropriate action under § 15.2-
2146 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. In addition to the provisions of § 32.1-27 of the Code of 
Virginia, any owner who violates this chapter, an order of the 
board, or a statute governing public water supplies shall be 
subject to those civil penalties provided in §§ 32.1-167 
through 32.1-176 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1136; Filed April 27, 2012, 2:31 p.m.  
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DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 
and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 
(amending 12VAC30-50-165). 

12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to 
Assure High Quality Care (amending 12VAC30-60-75). 

12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (amending 
12VAC30-80-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 
Virginia; 42 USC § 1396. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments modify the reimbursement rates for 
durable medical equipment and reduce the service 
authorization limit for incontinence supplies. The 
amendments discontinue the use of the Nutritional Status 
Evaluation form (DMAS-116), clarify that specific fields on 
the Certificate of Medical Necessity form (DMAS-352) 
must be completed for coverage and that providers may 
not bill for dates of service prior to delivery of the durable 
medical equipment, add coverage of enteral nutrition 
products in 12VAC30-50 for clarity, clarify that recovery 
of delivered durable medical equipment by providers is 
prohibited, and clarify that routine use of diapers for 
children is not covered.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

12VAC30-50-165. Durable medical equipment (DME) and 
supplies suitable for use in the home. 

A. Definitions. The following word and term words and 
terms when used in these regulations shall have the following 
meaning meanings unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise: 

"Affirmative contact" means speaking, either face-to-face or 
by phone, with either the individual or caregiver in order to 
ascertain that the DME and supplies are still needed and 
appropriate. Such contacts shall be documented in the 
individual's medical record. 

"Certificate of Medical Necessity" or "CMN" means the 
DMAS-352 form required to be completed and submitted in 
order for DMAS to provide reimbursement.  

"Designated agent" means an entity with whom DMAS has 
contracted to perform contracted functions such as provider 
audits and prior authorizations of services. 

"DME provider" means those entities enrolled with DMAS 
to render DME services. 

"Durable medical equipment" or "DME" means medical 
equipment, supplies, and appliances suitable for use in the 
home consistent with 42 CFR 440.70(b)(3) that treat a 
diagnosed condition or assist the individual with functional 
limitations. 

"Expendable supply" means an item that is used and then 
disposed of. 

"Frequency of use" means the rate of use by the individual 
as documented by the number of times per day/week/month, 
as appropriate, a supply is used by the individual. Frequency 
of use must be recorded on the face of the CMN in such a 
way that reflects whether a supply is used by the individual 
on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis. Frequency of use may 
be documented on the CMN as a range of the rate of use. By 
way of example and not limitation, the frequency of use of a 
supply may be expressed as a range, such as four to six adult 
diapers per day. However, large ranges shall not be 
acceptable documentation of frequency of use (for example, 
the range of one to six adult diapers per day shall not be 
acceptable.) The frequency of use provides the justification 
for the total quantity of supplies ordered on the CMN. 

"Functional limitation" means the inability to perform a 
normal activity. 

"Practitioner" means a licensed provider of physician 
services as defined in 42 CFR 440.50 or a provider of nurse 
practitioner services as defined in 42 CFR 440.166. 

"Prior authorization" or "PA" (also "service authorization") 
means the process of approving either by DMAS or its prior 
authorization (or service authorization) contractor for the 
purposes of DMAS reimbursement for the service for the 
individual before it is rendered or reimbursed. 

"Quantity" means the total number of supplies ordered on a 
monthly basis as reflected on the CMN. The monthly quantity 
of supplies ordered for the individual shall be dependent upon 
the individual's frequency of use.  

"Sole source of nutrition" means that the individual is unable 
to tolerate (swallow or absorb) any other form of oral 
nutrition in instances when more than 75% of the individual's 
daily caloric intake is received from nutritional supplements.  

B. General requirements and conditions.  
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1. a. All medically necessary supplies and equipment shall 
be covered. Unusual amounts, types, and duration of usage 
must be authorized by DMAS in accordance with 
published policies and procedures. When determined to be 
cost effective by DMAS, payment may be made for rental 
of the equipment in lieu of purchase.  

b. No provider shall have a claim of ownership on DME 
reimbursed by Virginia Medicaid once it has been 
delivered to the Medicaid individual. Providers shall only 
be permitted to recover DME, for example, when DMAS 
determines that it does not fulfill the required medically 
necessary purpose as set out in the Certificate of Medical 
Necessity, when there is an error in the ordering 
practitioner's CMN, or when the equipment was rented. 

2. DME providers shall adhere to all applicable federal and 
state laws and regulations and DMAS policies, laws, and 
regulations for durable medical equipment DME and 
supplies. DME providers shall also comply with all other 
applicable Virginia laws and regulations requiring 
licensing, registration, or permitting. Failure to comply 
with such laws and regulations that are required by such 
licensing agency or agencies shall result in denial of 
coverage for durable medical equipment DME or supplies 
that are regulated by such licensing agency or agencies.  

3. DME and products or supplies must be furnished 
pursuant to a properly completed Certificate of Medical 
Necessity (CMN) (DMAS-352). In order to obtain 
Medicaid reimbursement, specific fields of the DMAS-352 
form shall be completed as specified in 12VAC30-60-75.  

4. A CMN shall contain a practitioner's diagnosis of a 
recipient's medical condition and an order for the durable 
medical equipment and supplies that are medically 
necessary to treat the diagnosed condition and the 
recipient's functional limitation. The order for DME or 
supplies must be justified in the written documentation 
either on the CMN or attached thereto DME and supplies 
shall be ordered by the licensed practitioner and shall be 
related to medical treatment of the Medicaid individual. 
The complete DME order shall be recorded on the CMN 
for Medicaid individuals to receive such services. In the 
absence of a different effective period determined by 
DMAS or its designated agent, The the CMN shall be valid 
for a maximum period of six months for Medicaid 
recipients 21 years of age and younger individuals younger 
than 21 years of age. The In the absence of a different 
effective period determined by DMAS or its designated 
agent, the maximum valid time period for CMNs for 
Medicaid recipients older than individuals 21 years of age 
is and older shall be 12 months. The validity of the CMN 
shall terminate when the recipient's individual's medical 
need for the prescribed DME or supplies ends no longer 
exists as determined by the licensed practitioner. 

5. DME must shall be furnished exactly as ordered by the 
attending licensed practitioner on who signed the CMN. 
The CMN and any supporting verifiable documentation 
must be complete (signed and dated by the practitioner) 
shall be fully completed, signed, and dated by the licensed 
practitioner, and in the DME provider's possession within 
60 days from the time the ordered DME and supplies are 
initially furnished by the DME provider. Each component 
of the DME must items shall be specifically ordered on the 
CMN by the licensed practitioner. 

6. The CMN shall not be changed, altered, or amended 
after the attending licensed practitioner has signed it. If 
changes are necessary, as indicated by the recipient's 
condition, in the ordered DME or supplies, the DME 
provider must obtain a new CMN. If the individual's 
condition indicates that changes in the ordered DME or 
supplies are necessary, the DME provider shall obtain a 
new CMN.  New All new CMNs must shall be signed and 
dated by the attending licensed practitioner within 60 days 
from the time the ordered supplies are furnished by the 
DME provider. 

7. DMAS or its designated agent shall have the authority to 
determine a different (from those specified above) length 
of time a CMN may be valid based on medical 
documentation submitted on the CMN. The CMN may be 
completed by the DME provider or other appropriate 
health care professionals, but it must shall be signed and 
dated by the attending licensed practitioner, as specified in 
subdivision 5 of this subsection. Supporting documentation 
may be attached to the CMN but the attending licensed 
practitioner's entire order must for DME and supplies shall 
be on the CMN. 

8. The DME provider shall retain a copy of the CMN and 
all supporting verifiable documentation on file for DMAS' 
post payment audit review purposes. DME providers shall 
not create or revise CMNs or supporting documentation for 
this service after the initiation of the post payment review 
audit process. Attending Licensed practitioners shall not 
complete, or sign and, or date, CMNs once the post 
payment audit review has begun.  

9. The DME provider shall be responsible for knowledge 
of items requiring prior authorization and the limitation on 
the provision of certain items as described in the Virginia 
Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies 
Manual, Appendix B. The Appendix B shall be the official 
listing of all items covered through the Virginia Medicaid 
DME program and lists the service limits, items that 
require prior authorization, billing units, and 
reimbursement rates. 

10. The DME provider shall be required to make 
affirmative contact with the individual or caregiver and 
document the interaction prior to the next month's delivery 
and prior to the recertification CMN to assure that the 

Volume 28, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 21, 2012 

1509 



Regulations 

appropriate quantity, frequency, and product are provided 
to the individual.  

11. Supporting documentation, added to a completed 
CMN, shall be allowed to further justify the medical need 
for DME. Supporting documentation shall not replace the 
requirement for a properly completed CMN. The dates of 
the supporting documentation shall coincide with the dates 
of service on the CMN, and the supporting documentation 
shall be fully signed and dated by the licensed practitioner. 

C. Preauthorization is required for incontinence supplies 
provided in quantities greater than two cases per month. 
Effective July 1, 2010, the billing unit for incontinence 
supplies (such as diapers, pull-ups, and panty liners) shall be 
by each product. For example, if the incontinence supply 
being provided is diapers, the billing unit would be by 
individual diaper, rather than a case of diapers.  Prior 
authorization shall be required for incontinence supplies 
provided in quantities greater than the allowable service limit 
per month. 

D. Supplies, equipment, or appliances that are not covered 
include, but are shall not be limited to, the following:  

1. Space conditioning equipment, such as room 
humidifiers, air cleaners, and air conditioners;  

2. Durable medical equipment DME and supplies for any 
hospital or nursing facility resident, except ventilators and 
associated supplies or specialty beds for the treatment of 
wounds consistent with DME criteria for nursing facility 
residents that have been prior approved by the DMAS 
central office or designated agent;  

3. Furniture or appliances not defined as medical 
equipment (such as blenders, bedside tables, mattresses 
other than for a hospital bed, pillows, blankets or other 
bedding, special reading lamps, chairs with special lift 
seats, hand-held shower devices, exercise bicycles, and 
bathroom scales);  

4. Items that are only for the recipient's individual's 
comfort and convenience or for the convenience of those 
caring for the recipient individual (e.g., a hospital bed or 
mattress because the recipient individual does not have a 
decent bed; wheelchair trays used as a desk surface); 
mobility items used in addition to primary assistive 
mobility aide for caregiver's or recipient's individual's 
convenience (e.g., electric wheelchair plus a manual chair); 
cleansing wipes;  

5. Prosthesis, except for artificial arms, legs, and their 
supportive devices, which must shall be preauthorized 
prior authorized by the DMAS central office (effective July 
1, 1989) or designated agent;  

6. Items and services that are not reasonable and necessary 
for the diagnosis or treatment of illness or injury or to 
improve the functioning of a malformed body member 

(e.g., dentifrices; toilet articles; shampoos that do not 
require a licensed practitioner's prescription; dental 
adhesives; electric toothbrushes; cosmetic items, soaps, 
and lotions that do not require a licensed practitioner's 
prescription; sugar and salt substitutes; and support 
stockings);  

7. Orthotics, including braces, diabetic shoe inserts, splints, 
and supports;  

8. Home or vehicle modifications;  

9. Items not suitable for or not used primarily in the home 
setting (e.g., car seats, equipment to be used while at 
school, etc.); and  

10. Equipment for which the primary function is 
vocationally or educationally related (e.g., computers, 
environmental control devices, speech devices, etc.).; 

11. Diapers for routine use by children younger than three 
years of age who have not yet been toilet trained; 

12. Equipment or items that are not suitable for use in the 
home; and 

13. Equipment or items that the Medicaid individual or 
caregiver is unwilling or unable to use in the home.  

E. For coverage of blood glucose meters for pregnant 
women, refer to 12VAC30-50-510.  

F. Coverage of home infusion therapy.  

1. Home infusion therapy shall be defined as the 
intravenous (I.V.) administration of fluids, drugs, chemical 
agents, or nutritional substances to recipients in the home 
setting. DMAS shall reimburse for these services, supplies, 
and drugs on a service day rate methodology established in 
12VAC30-80-30. The therapies to be covered under this 
policy shall be: hydration therapy, chemotherapy, pain 
management therapy, drug therapy, and total parenteral 
nutrition (TPN). All the therapies that meet criteria will 
shall be covered for three months and do not require prior 
authorization. If any therapy service is required for longer 
than the original three months, prior authorization shall be 
required for the DME component for its continuation. The 
established service day rate shall reimburse for all services 
delivered in a single day. There shall be no additional 
reimbursement for special or extraordinary services. In the 
event of incompatible drug administration, a separate 
HCPCS code shall be used to allow for rental of a second 
infusion pump and purchase of an extra administration 
tubing. When applicable, this code may be billed in 
addition to the other service day rate codes. There must 
shall be documentation to support the use of this code on 
the I.V. Implementation Form. Proper documentation shall 
include the need for pump administration of the 
medications ordered, frequency of administration to 
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support that they are ordered simultaneously, and 
indication of incompatibility. 

2. The service day rate payment methodology shall be 
mandatory for reimbursement of all I.V. therapy services 
except for the recipient individual who is enrolled in the 
Technology Assisted waiver program Waiver. 

3. The following limitations shall apply to this service:  

1. a. This service must be medically necessary to treat a 
recipient's an individual's medical condition. The service 
must be ordered and provided in accordance with 
accepted medical practice. The service must not be 
desired solely for the convenience of the recipient 
individual or the recipient's individual's caregiver.  

2. b. In order for Medicaid to reimburse for this service, 
the recipient must individual shall:  

a. (1) Reside in either a private home or a domiciliary 
care facility, such as an adult care residence assisted 
living facility. Because the reimbursement for DME is 
already provided under institutional reimbursement, 
recipients individuals in hospitals, nursing facilities, 
rehabilitation centers, and other institutional settings 
shall not be covered for this service;  

b. (2) Be under the care of a licensed practitioner who 
prescribes the home infusion therapy and monitors the 
progress of the therapy;  

c. (3) Have body sites available for peripheral 
intravenous catheter or needle placement or have a 
central venous access; and  

d. (4) Be capable of either self-administering such 
therapy or have a caregiver who can be adequately 
trained, is capable of administering the therapy, and is 
willing to safely and efficiently administer and monitor 
the home infusion therapy. The caregiver must be willing 
to and be capable of following appropriate teaching and 
adequate monitoring. In those cases where the recipient 
individual is incapable of administering or monitoring 
the prescribed therapy and there is no adequate or trained 
caregiver, it may be appropriate for a home health agency 
to administer the therapy.  

G. The medical equipment DME and supply vendor must 
shall provide the equipment and supplies as prescribed by the 
licensed practitioner on the certificate of medical necessity 
CMN. Orders shall not be changed unless the vendor obtains 
a new certificate of medical necessity CMN, which includes 
the licensed practitioner's signature, prior to ordering the 
equipment or supplies or providing the equipment or supplies 
to the patient individual.  

H. Medicaid shall not provide reimbursement to the medical 
equipment DME and supply vendor for services that are 
provided either: (i) prior to the date prescribed by the licensed 

practitioner; or (ii) prior to the date of the delivery; or (iii) 
when services are not provided in accordance with DMAS' 
published policies and procedures regulations and guidance 
documents. If reimbursement is denied for one or all of these 
reasons, the medical equipment DME and supply vendor may 
shall not bill the Medicaid recipient individual for the service 
that was provided.  

I. The following criteria must shall be satisfied through the 
submission of adequate and verifiable documentation on the 
CMN satisfactory to the department DMAS. Medically 
necessary DME and supplies shall be:  

1. Ordered by the licensed practitioner on the CMN;  

2. A reasonable and necessary part of the recipient's 
individual's treatment plan;  

3. Consistent with the recipient's individual's diagnosis and 
medical condition, particularly the functional limitations 
and symptoms exhibited by the recipient individual;  

4. Not furnished solely for the convenience, safety, or 
restraint of the recipient individual, the family or caregiver, 
attending the licensed practitioner, or other licensed 
practitioner or supplier;  

5. Consistent with generally accepted professional medical 
standards (i.e., not experimental or investigational); and  

6. Furnished at a safe, effective, and cost-effective level 
suitable for use in the recipient's individual's home 
environment.  

J. Coverage of enteral nutrition (EN) which does not include 
a legend drug shall be limited to when the nutritional 
supplement is the sole source form of nutrition, is 
administered orally or through a nasogastric or gastrostomy 
tube, and is necessary to treat a medical condition. Coverage 
of EN shall not include the provision of routine infant 
formula. A nutritional assessment shall be required for all 
recipients receiving nutritional supplements. Medical 
documentation shall provide DMAS or the designated agent 
with evidence of the individual's DME needs. Medical 
documentation may be recorded on the CMN or evidenced in 
the supporting documentation attached to the CMN. The 
following applies to the medical justification necessary for all 
DME services regardless of whether prior authorization is 
required. The documentation is necessary to identify: 

1. The medical need for the requested DME; 

2. The diagnosis related to the reason for the DME request; 

3. The individual's functional limitation and its relationship 
to the requested DME; 

4. How the DME service will treat the individual's medical 
condition; 

5. For expendable supplies, the quantity needed and the 
medical reason the requested amount is needed; 

Volume 28, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 21, 2012 

1511 



Regulations 

6. The frequency of use to describe how often the DME is 
used by the individual; 

7. The estimated duration of use of the equipment (rental 
and purchased); 

8. Any other treatment being rendered to the individual 
relative to the use of DME or supplies; 

9. How the needs were previously met identifying changes 
that have occurred that necessitate the DME; 

10. Other alternatives tried or explored and a description of 
the success or failure of these alternatives; 

11. How the DME service is required in the individual's 
home environment; and 

12. The individual's or caregiver's ability, willingness, and 
motivation to use the DME. 

K. DME provider responsibilities. To receive 
reimbursement, the DME provider shall, at a minimum, 
perform the following: 

1. Verify the individual's current Medicaid eligibility; 

2. Determine whether the ordered item or items are a 
covered service and require prior authorization; 

3. Deliver all of the item or items ordered by the licensed 
practitioner; 

4. Deliver only the quantities ordered by the licensed 
practitioner on the CMN and prior authorized by DMAS if 
required; 

5. Deliver only the item or items for the periods of service 
covered by the licensed practitioner's order and prior 
authorized, if required, by DMAS; 

6. Maintain a copy of the licensed practitioner's signed 
CMN and all verifiable supporting documentation for all 
DME and supplies ordered; 

7. Document and justify the description of services (i.e., 
labor, repairs, maintenance of equipment); 

8. Document and justify the medical necessity, frequency 
and duration for all items and supplies as set out in the 
Medicaid DME guidance documents; 

9. Document all DME and supplies provided to an 
individual in accordance with the licensed practitioner's 
orders. The delivery ticket/proof of delivery shall 
document the requirements as stated in subsection L of this 
section. 

10. Documentation requirements for the use of DME 
billing codes that have Individual Consideration (IC) 
indicated as the reimbursement fee shall include a 
complete description of the item or items, a copy of the 
supply invoice or supplies invoices or the manufacturer's 
cost information, and all discounts that were received by 

the DME provider. Additional information regarding 
requirements for the IC reimbursement process can be 
found in the relevant agency guidance document.  

L. Proof of delivery. 

1. The delivery ticket shall contain the following 
information: 

a. The Medicaid individual's name and Medicaid number 
or date of birth; 

b. A detailed description of the item or items being 
delivered, including the product name or names and 
brand or brands; 

c. The serial number or numbers or the product numbers 
of the DME or supplies; 

d. The quantity delivered; and 

e. The dated signature of either the individual or 
caregiver. 

2. If a commercial shipping service is used, the DME 
provider's records shall reference, in addition to the 
information required in subdivision 1 of this subsection, 
the delivery service's package identification number or 
numbers with a copy of the delivery service's delivery 
ticket, which may be printed from the online record on the 
delivery service's website.  

a. The delivery service's ticket identification number or 
numbers shall be recorded on the DME provider's 
delivery documentation. 

b. The service delivery documentation may be substituted 
for the individual's signature as proof of delivery. 

c. In the absence of a delivery service's ticket, the DME 
provider shall obtain the individual's or caregiver's dated 
signature on the DME provider's delivery ticket as proof 
of delivery.  

3. Providers may use a postage-paid delivery invoice from 
the individual or caregiver as a form of proof of delivery. 
The descriptive information concerning the item or items 
delivered, as described in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this 
subsection, as well as the required signature and date from 
either the individual or caregiver shall be included on this 
invoice. 

4. DME providers shall make affirmative contact with the 
individual or caregiver and document the interaction prior 
to dispensing repeat orders or refills to ensure that: 

a. The item is still needed; 

b. The quantity, frequency, and product are still 
appropriate; and 

c. The individual still resides at the address in the 
provider's records. 

Volume 28, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 21, 2012 

1512 



Regulations 

5. The DME provider shall contact the individual prior to 
each delivery. This contact shall not occur any sooner than 
seven days prior to the delivery or shipping date and shall 
be documented in the individual's record. 

6. DME providers shall not deliver refill orders sooner than 
five days prior to the end of the usage period. 

7. Providers shall not bill for dates of service prior to 
delivery. The provider shall confirm receipt of the DME or 
supplies via the shipping service record showing the item 
was delivered prior to billing. Claims for refill orders shall 
be the start of the new usage period and shall not overlap 
with the previous usage period. 

8. The purchase prices listed in the Virginia Medicaid 
Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies Manual, 
Appendix B, represent the amount DMAS shall pay for 
newly purchased equipment. Unless otherwise approved by 
DMAS or its designated agent, documentation on the 
delivery ticket shall reflect that the purchased equipment is 
new upon the date of the service billed. Any warranties 
associated with new equipment shall be effective from the 
date of the service billed. Since Medicaid is the payer of 
last resort, the DME provider shall explore coverage 
available under the warranty prior to requesting coverage 
of repairs from DMAS. 

9. DME and supplies for home use for an individual being 
discharged from a hospital or nursing facility may be 
delivered to the hospital or nursing facility one day prior to 
the discharge. However, the DME provider's claim date of 
service shall not begin prior to the date of the individual's 
discharge from the hospital or nursing facility. 

M. Enteral nutrition products. Coverage of enteral nutrition 
(EN) that does not include a legend drug shall be limited to 
when the nutritional supplement is the sole source form of 
nutrition, is administered orally or through a nasogastric or 
gastrostomy tube, and is necessary to treat a medical 
condition. Coverage of EN shall not include the provision of 
routine infant formula. A nutritional assessment shall be 
required for all recipients for whom nutritional supplements 
are ordered.  

1. General requirements and conditions.  

a. Enteral nutrition products shall only be provided by 
enrolled DME providers. 

b. DME providers shall adhere to all applicable DMAS 
policies, laws, and regulations. DME providers shall also 
comply with all other applicable Virginia laws and 
regulations requiring licensing, registration, or 
permitting. Failure to comply with such laws and 
regulations shall result in denial of coverage for enteral 
nutrition that is regulated by such licensing agency or 
agencies. 

2. Service units and service limitations.  

a. DME and supplies shall be furnished pursuant to the 
Certificate of Medical Necessity (CMN) (DMAS-352). 

b. The DME provider shall include documentation 
related to the nutritional evaluation findings on the CMN 
and may include supplemental information on any 
supportive documentation submitted with the CMN.  

c. DMAS shall reimburse for medically necessary 
formulae and medical foods when used under a licensed 
practitioner's direction to augment dietary limitations or 
provide primary nutrition to individuals via enteral or 
oral feeding methods. 

d. The CMN shall contain a licensed practitioner's order 
for the enteral nutrition products that are medically 
necessary to treat the diagnosed condition and the 
individual's functional limitation. The justification for 
enteral nutrition products shall be demonstrated in the 
written documentation either on the CMN or on the 
attached supporting documentation. The CMN shall be 
valid for a maximum period of six months.  

e. Regardless of the amount of time that may be left on a 
six-month approval period, the validity of the CMN shall 
terminate when the individual's medical need for the 
prescribed enteral nutrition products either ends, as 
determined by the licensed practitioner, or when the 
enteral nutrition products are no longer the primary 
source of nutrition.  

f. A face-to-face nutritional assessment completed by 
trained clinicians (e.g., physician, physician assistant, 
nurse practitioner, registered nurse, or a registered 
dietitian) shall be completed as required documentation 
of the need for enteral nutrition products.  

g. The CMN shall not be changed, altered, or amended 
after the licensed practitioner has signed it. As indicated 
by the individual's condition, if changes are necessary in 
the ordered enteral nutrition products, the DME provider 
shall obtain a new CMN.  

(1) New CMNs shall be signed and dated by the licensed 
practitioner within 60 days from the time the ordered 
enteral nutrition products are furnished by the DME 
provider.  

(2) The order shall not be backdated to cover prior 
dispensing of enteral nutrition products. If the order is 
not signed within 60 days of the service initiation, then 
the date the order is signed becomes the effective date.  

h. Prior authorization of enteral nutrition products shall 
not be required. The DME provider shall assure that there 
is a valid CMN (i) completed every six months in 
accordance with subsection B of this section and (ii) on 
file for all Medicaid individuals for whom enteral 
nutrition products are provided. 
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(1) The DME provider is further responsible for assuring 
that enteral nutrition products are provided in accordance 
with DMAS reimbursement criteria in 12VAC30-80-30 
A 6. 

(2) Upon post payment review, DMAS or its designated 
contractor may deny reimbursement for any enteral 
nutrition products that have not been provided and billed 
in accordance with these regulations and DMAS policies.  

i. DMAS shall have the authority to determine that the 
CMN is valid for less than six months based on medical 
documentation submitted.  

3. Provider responsibilities.  

a. The DME provider shall provide the enteral nutrition 
products as prescribed by the licensed practitioner on the 
CMN. Physician orders shall not be changed unless the 
DME provider obtains a new CMN prior to ordering or 
providing the enteral nutrition products to the individual.  

b. The licensed practitioner's order (CMN) shall state that 
the enteral nutrition products are the sole source of 
nutrition for the individual and specify either a brand 
name of the enteral nutrition product being ordered or the 
category of enteral nutrition products that must be 
provided. If a licensed practitioner orders a specific 
brand of enteral nutrition product, the DME provider 
shall supply the brand prescribed. The licensed 
practitioner order shall include the daily caloric intake 
and the route of administration for the enteral nutrition 
product. Additional supporting documentation may be 
attached to the CMN, but the entire licensed practitioner's 
order shall be on the CMN.  

c. The CMN shall be signed and dated by the licensed 
practitioner within 60 days of the CMN begin service 
date. If the CMN is not signed and dated by the licensed 
practitioner within 60 days of the CMN begin service 
date, the CMN shall not become valid until the date of 
the licensed practitioner's signature.  

d. The CMN shall include all of the following elements:  

(1) Height of individual (or length for pediatric patients);  

(2) Weight of individual. For initial assessments, indicate 
the individual's weight loss over time;  

(3) Tolerance of enteral nutrition product (e.g., is the 
individual experiencing diarrhea, vomiting, constipation). 
This element is only required if the individual is already 
receiving enteral nutrition products;  

(4) Indication of whether or not the enteral nutrition 
product is the primary or sole source of nutrition;  

(5) Route of administration;  

(6) The daily caloric order and the number of calories per 
package or can; and  

(7) Extent to which the quantity of the enteral nutrition 
product is available through WIC, the Special 
Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and 
Children.  

e. The DME provider shall retain a copy of the CMN and 
all supporting verifiable documentation on file for 
DMAS' post payment review purposes. DME providers 
shall not create or revise CMNs or supporting 
documentation for this service after the initiation of the 
post payment review process. Licensed practitioners shall 
not complete or sign and date CMNs once the post 
payment review has begun.  

f. Medicaid reimbursement shall be recovered when the 
enteral nutrition products have not been ordered on the 
CMN. Supporting documentation is allowed to justify the 
medical need for enteral nutrition products. Supporting 
documentation shall not replace the requirement for a 
properly completed CMN. The dates of the supporting 
documentation shall coincide with the dates of service on 
the CMN, and the supporting documentation shall be 
fully signed and dated by the licensed practitioner.  

g. To receive reimbursement, the DME provider shall:  

(1) Deliver only the item or items and quantity or 
quantities ordered by the licensed practitioner and 
approved by DMAS or the designated prior or service 
authorization contractor;  

(2) Deliver only the item or items for the periods of 
service covered by the licensed practitioner's order and 
approved by DMAS or the designated prior or service 
authorization contractor;  

(3) Maintain a copy of the licensed practitioner's order 
and all verifiable supporting documentation for all DME 
ordered; and 

(4) Document all supplies provided to an individual in 
accordance with the licensed practitioner's orders. The 
delivery ticket must document the individual's name and 
Medicaid number, the date of delivery, the item or items 
that were delivered, and the quantity delivered.  

h. DMAS shall deny payment to the DME provider if any 
of the following occur:  

(1) Absence of a current, fully completed CMN 
appropriately signed and dated by the licensed 
practitioner;  

(2) Documentation does not verify that the item was 
provided to the individual;  

(3) Lack of medical documentation, signed by the 
licensed practitioner to justify the enteral nutrition 
products; or  
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(4) Item is noncovered or does not meet DMAS criteria 
for reimbursement.  

i. If reimbursement is denied by Medicaid, the DME 
provider shall not bill the Medicaid individual for the 
service that was provided.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 
form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 
may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 
23219. 

FORMS (12VAC30-50)  

Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument, UAI, Virginia 
Long-Term Care Council (1994).  

I.V. Therapy Implementation Form, DMAS-354 (eff. 6/98).  

Health Insurance Claim Form, Form HCFA-1500 (12/90).  

Certificate of Medical Necessity-Durable Medical 
Equipment and Supplies, DMAS-352 (rev. 8/95).  

Certificate of Medical Necessity-Durable Medical 
Equipment and Supplies, DMAS-352 (rev. 7/10). 

Questionnaire to Assess an Applicant's Ability to 
Independently Manage Personal Attendant Services in the 
CD-PAS Waiver or DD Waiver, DMAS-95 Addendum (eff. 
8/00).  

DD Waiver Enrollment Request, DMAS-453 (eff. 1/01).  

DD Waiver Consumer Service Plan, DMAS-456 (eff. 1/01).  

DD Medicaid Waiver -- Level of Functioning Survey -- 
Summary Sheet, DMAS-458 (eff. 1/01).  

Documentation of Recipient Choice between Institutional 
Care or Home and Community-Based Services (eff. 8/00).  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(12VAC30-50)  

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 
Fourth Edition DSM-IV-TR, copyright 2000, American 
Psychiatric Association.  

Length of Stay by Diagnosis and Operation, Southern 
Region, 1996, HCIA, Inc. 

Guidelines for Perinatal Care, 4th Edition, August 1997, 
American Academy of Pediatrics and the American College 
of Obstetricians and Gynecologists.  

Virginia Supplemental Drug Rebate Agreement Contract 
and Addenda.  

Office Reference Manual (Smiles for Children), prepared by 
DMAS' Dental Benefits Administrator, copyright 2005 
(www.dmas.virginia.gov/downloads/pdfs/dental-
office_reference_manual_0 6-09-05.pdf).  

Patient Placement Criteria for the Treatment of Substance-
Related Disorders ASAM PPC-2R, Second Edition, copyright 
2001, American Society of Addiction Medicine. 

Virginia Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies 
Provider Manual, Appendix B (rev. 1/11), Department of 
Medical Assistance Services. 

12VAC30-60-75. Durable medical equipment (DME) and 
supplies.  

A. No provider shall have a claim of ownership on DME 
reimbursed by Virginia Medicaid once it has been delivered 
to the Medicaid individual. Providers shall only be permitted 
to recover DME, for example, when DMAS determines that it 
does not fulfill the required medically necessary purpose as 
set out in the Certificate of Medical Necessity (CMN), when 
there is an error in the ordering practitioner's CMN, or when 
the equipment was rented. DMAS shall not reimburse the 
DME and supply provider for services that are provided 
either: (i) prior to the date prescribed by the licensed 
practitioner; (ii) prior to the date of the delivery; or (iii) when 
services are not provided in accordance with DMAS' 
published regulations and guidance documents. In instances 
when the DME or supply is shipped directly to the Medicaid 
individual, the DME provider shall confirm that the DME or 
supplies have been received by the individual before 
submitting his claim for payment to DMAS.  

A. B. DME providers, as defined in 12VAC30-50-165, shall 
retain copies on file of the CMN fully completed CMN and 
all applicable supporting documentation on file for post 
payment audit reviews. Durable medical equipment and 
supplies that are not ordered on the CMN for which 
reimbursement has been made by Medicaid will be retracted. 
Reimbursement that has been made by Medicaid shall be 
retracted if the DME and supplies have not been ordered on 
the CMN. Supporting Additional supporting documentation is 
allowed to justify the medical need for durable medical 
equipment and supplies. Supporting documentation does shall 
not replace the requirement for a properly completed CMN. 
The dates of the supporting documentation must shall 
coincide with the dates of service on the CMN. and the The 
medical licensed practitioner providing the supporting 
documentation must shall be identified by name and title. 
DME providers shall not create or revise CMNs or supporting 
documentation for durable medical equipment and supplies 
that have been provided after once the post payment audit 
review has been initiated.  

B. Persons needing C. Individuals requiring only 
DME/supplies DME or supplies may obtain such services 
directly from the DME provider without having to consult or 
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obtain services from a home health service or home health 
provider. DME/supplies must be ordered by the practitioner 
(physician or nurse practitioner) be related to the medical 
treatment of the patient, and the complete order must be on 
the CMN for persons receiving DME/supplies. Supplies used 
for treatment during the a home health visit are shall be 
included in the visit rate of the home health provider. 
Treatment supplies left in the home to maintain treatment 
after the visits shall be charged separately.  

D. CMN requirements. The CMN shall have two required 
components: (i) the licensed practitioner's order and (ii) the 
clinical diagnosis. Failure to have a complete CMN may 
result in nonpayment of services rendered or retraction of 
payments made subsequent to post payment audits. 

1. Licensed practitioner's order. 

a. The licensed practitioners' complete order shall appear 
on the face of the CMN. A complete order on the CMN 
shall consist of the item's complete description, the 
quantity ordered, the frequency of use, and the licensed 
practitioner's signature and complete date of signing as 
defined in 12VAC30-50-165. If the DME provider 
determines that the prescribing licensed practitioner's 
signature and complete date of signing are missing, he 
shall consider the CMN to be invalid and he shall request 
a new CMN.  

b. The following CMN fields (as indicated by an asterisk 
on the CMN) shall be required for reimbursement: 

(1) The ordered item's description. If the item is an 
E1399 (miscellaneous), the description of the item shall 
not be "miscellaneous DME," but the provider shall 
specify the DME item or supply.  

(2) The quantity ordered as found in the licensed 
practitioner's order. For expendable supplies the provider 
shall designate supplies needed for one month. If an item 
is not needed every month, the provider may designate an 
alternate time frame. 

(3) The frequency of use of the DME item or supply. 

(4) The licensed practitioner's signature and full date. If 
either the licensed practitioner's signature or full date, or 
both, are missing, then the entire CMN shall be deemed 
to be invalid and a new CMN shall be obtained. The 
licensed practitioner's signature certifies that the ordered 
DME and supplies are a part of the treatment plan and 
are medically necessary for the Medicaid individual. 

c. The begin service date on the CMN is optional. 

(1) If the provider enters a begin service date, the CMN 
must be signed and dated by the licensed practitioner 
within 60 days of the begin service date in order for the 
CMN to start from the begin date. 

(2) If no begin service date is documented on the CMN, 
the date of the practitioner's signature shall be the start 
date of the CMN. 

2. The clinical diagnosis. 

a. The narrative description of the clinical diagnosis shall 
be recorded on the face of the CMN. 

b. The recording on the face of the CMN of the relevant 
ICD-9 diagnosis code shall be optional. 

3. Supporting documentation.  

a. Supporting documentation may be included in the 
additional information attached to the CMN.  

b. The attachment of supporting documentation shall not 
replace the requirement for a properly completed CMN. 

12VAC30-80-30. Fee-for-service providers. 

A. Payment for the following services, except for physician 
services, shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule 
(12VAC30-80-190 has information about the state agency fee 
schedule) or actual charge (charge to the general public): 

1. Physicians' services. Payment for physician services 
shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule or actual 
charge (charge to the general public). The following 
limitations shall apply to emergency physician services. 

a. Definitions. The following words and terms, when 
used in this subdivision 1 shall have the following 
meanings when applied to emergency services unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"All-inclusive" means all emergency service and 
ancillary service charges claimed in association with the 
emergency department visit, with the exception of 
laboratory services. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) 
of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Emergency physician services" means services that are 
necessary to prevent the death or serious impairment of 
the health of the recipient. The threat to the life or health 
of the recipient necessitates the use of the most 
accessible hospital available that is equipped to furnish 
the services. 

"Recent injury" means an injury that has occurred less 
than 72 hours prior to the emergency department visit. 

b. Scope. DMAS shall differentiate, as determined by the 
attending physician's diagnosis, the kinds of care 
routinely rendered in emergency departments and 
reimburse physicians for nonemergency care rendered in 
emergency departments at a reduced rate. 
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(1) DMAS shall reimburse at a reduced and all-inclusive 
reimbursement rate for all physician services, including 
those obstetric and pediatric procedures contained in 
12VAC30-80-160, rendered in emergency departments 
that DMAS determines are nonemergency care. 

(2) Services determined by the attending physician to be 
emergencies shall be reimbursed under the existing 
methodologies and at the existing rates. 

(3) Services determined by the attending physician that 
may be emergencies shall be manually reviewed. If such 
services meet certain criteria, they shall be paid under the 
methodology in subdivision 1 b (2) of this subsection. 
Services not meeting certain criteria shall be paid under 
the methodology in subdivision 1 b (1) of this subsection. 
Such criteria shall include, but not be limited to: 

(a) The initial treatment following a recent obvious 
injury. 

(b) Treatment related to an injury sustained more than 72 
hours prior to the visit with the deterioration of the 
symptoms to the point of requiring medical treatment for 
stabilization. 

(c) The initial treatment for medical emergencies 
including indications of severe chest pain, dyspnea, 
gastrointestinal hemorrhage, spontaneous abortion, loss 
of consciousness, status epilepticus, or other conditions 
considered life threatening. 

(d) A visit in which the recipient's condition requires 
immediate hospital admission or the transfer to another 
facility for further treatment or a visit in which the 
recipient dies. 

(e) Services provided for acute vital sign changes as 
specified in the provider manual. 

(f) Services provided for severe pain when combined 
with one or more of the other guidelines. 

(4) Payment shall be determined based on ICD-9-CM 
diagnosis codes and necessary supporting documentation. 

(5) DMAS shall review on an ongoing basis the 
effectiveness of this program in achieving its objectives 
and for its effect on recipients, physicians, and hospitals. 
Program components may be revised subject to achieving 
program intent objectives, the accuracy and effectiveness 
of the ICD-9-CM code designations, and the impact on 
recipients and providers. 

2. Dentists' services. 

3. Mental health services including: (i) community mental 
health services; (ii) services of a licensed clinical 
psychologist; or (iii) mental health services provided by a 
physician. 

a. Services provided by licensed clinical psychologists 
shall be reimbursed at 90% of the reimbursement rate for 
psychiatrists. 

b. Services provided by independently enrolled licensed 
clinical social workers, licensed professional counselors 
or licensed clinical nurse specialists-psychiatric shall be 
reimbursed at 75% of the reimbursement rate for licensed 
clinical psychologists. 

4. Podiatry. 

5. Nurse-midwife services. 

6. Durable medical equipment (DME) and supplies. 

a. For those items that have a national Healthcare 
Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) code, the 
rate for durable medical equipment shall be set at the 
Durable Medical Equipment Regional Carrier (DMERC) 
reimbursement level. 

b. The rate paid for all items of durable medical 
equipment except nutritional supplements shall be the 
lower of the state agency fee schedule that existed prior 
to July 1, 1996, less 4.5%, or the actual charge. 

c. The rate paid for nutritional supplements shall be the 
lower of the state agency fee schedule or the actual 
charge. 

Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 
this part shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"DMERC" means the Durable Medical Equipment 
Regional Carrier rate as published by the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services at 
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-
Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-
Schedule.html. 

"HCPCS" means the Healthcare Common Procedure 
Coding System, Medicare's National Level II Codes, 
HCPCS 2006 (Eighteenth edition), as published by 
Ingenix, as may be periodically updated. 

a. Obtaining prior authorization shall not guarantee 
Medicaid reimbursement for DME.  

b. The following shall be the reimbursement method used 
for DME services: 

(1) If the DME item has a DMERC rate, the 
reimbursement rate shall be the DMERC rate minus 
10%. 

(2) For DME items with no DMERC rate, the agency 
shall use the agency fee schedule amount.The 
reimbursement rates for DME and supplies shall be listed 
in the DMAS Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment 
(DME) and Supplies Listing and updated periodically. 
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The agency fee schedule shall be available on the agency 
website at www.dmas.virginia.gov. 

(3) If a DME item has no DMERC rate or agency fee 
schedule rate, the reimbursement rate shall be the 
manufacturer's net charge to the provider, less shipping 
and handling, plus 30%. The manufacturer's net charge to 
the provider shall be the cost to the provider minus all 
available discounts to the provider. Additional 
information specific to how DME providers, including 
manufacturers who are enrolled as providers, establish 
and document their cost or costs for DME codes that do 
not have established rates can be found in the relevant 
agency guidance document.  

c. DMAS shall have the authority to amend the agency 
fee schedule as it deems appropriate and with notice to 
providers. DMAS shall have the authority to determine 
alternate pricing, based on agency research, for any code 
that does not have a rate. 

d. The reimbursement for incontinence supplies shall be 
by selective contract. Pursuant to § 1915(a)(1)(B) of the 
Social Security Act and 42 CFR 431.54(d), the 
Commonwealth assures that adequate services/devices 
shall be available under such arrangements. 

e. Certain durable medical equipment used for 
intravenous therapy and oxygen therapy shall be bundled 
under specified procedure codes and reimbursed as 
determined by the agency. Certain services/durable 
medical equipment such as service maintenance 
agreements shall be bundled under specified procedure 
codes and reimbursed as determined by the agency. 

(1) Intravenous therapies. The DME for a single therapy, 
administered in one day, shall be reimbursed at the 
established service day rate for the bundled durable 
medical equipment and the standard pharmacy payment, 
consistent with the ingredient cost as described in 
12VAC30-80-40, plus the pharmacy service day and 
dispensing fee. Multiple applications of the same therapy 
shall be included in one service day rate of 
reimbursement. Multiple applications of different 
therapies administered in one day shall be reimbursed for 
the bundled durable medical equipment service day rate 
as follows: the most expensive therapy shall be 
reimbursed at 100% of cost; the second and all 
subsequent most expensive therapies shall be reimbursed 
at 50% of cost. Multiple therapies administered in one 
day shall be reimbursed at the pharmacy service day rate 
plus 100% of every active therapeutic ingredient in the 
compound (at the lowest ingredient cost methodology) 
plus the appropriate pharmacy dispensing fee. 

(2) Respiratory therapies. The DME for oxygen therapy 
shall have supplies or components bundled under a 
service day rate based on oxygen liter flow rate or blood 

gas levels. Equipment associated with respiratory therapy 
may have ancillary components bundled with the main 
component for reimbursement. The reimbursement shall 
be a service day per diem rate for rental of equipment or 
a total amount of purchase for the purchase of equipment. 
Such respiratory equipment shall include, but not be 
limited to, oxygen tanks and tubing, ventilators, 
noncontinuous ventilators, and suction machines. 
Ventilators, noncontinuous ventilators, and suction 
machines may be purchased based on the individual 
patient's medical necessity and length of need. 

(3) Service maintenance agreements. Provision shall be 
made for a combination of services, routine maintenance, 
and supplies, to be known as agreements, under a single 
reimbursement code only for equipment that is recipient 
owned. Such bundled agreements shall be reimbursed 
either monthly or in units per year based on the 
individual agreement between the DME provider and 
DMAS. Such bundled agreements may apply to, but not 
necessarily be limited to, either respiratory equipment or 
apnea monitors. 

7. Local health services. 

8. Laboratory services (other than inpatient hospital). 

9. Payments to physicians who handle laboratory 
specimens, but do not perform laboratory analysis (limited 
to payment for handling). 

10. X-Ray services. 

11. Optometry services. 

12. Medical supplies and equipment. 

13. Home health services. Effective June 30, 1991, cost 
reimbursement for home health services is eliminated. A 
rate per visit by discipline shall be established as set forth 
by 12VAC30-80-180. 

14. Physical therapy; occupational therapy; and speech, 
hearing, language disorders services when rendered to 
noninstitutionalized recipients. 

15. Clinic services, as defined under 42 CFR 440.90. 

16. Supplemental payments for services provided by Type 
I physicians. 

a. In addition to payments for physician services 
specified elsewhere in this State Plan, DMAS provides 
supplemental payments to Type I physicians for 
furnished services provided on or after July 2, 2002. A 
Type I physician is a member of a practice group 
organized by or under the control of a state academic 
health system or an academic health system that operates 
under a state authority and includes a hospital, who has 
entered into contractual agreements for the assignment of 
payments in accordance with 42 CFR 447.10. 
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b. Effective July 2, 2002, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for Type I physician services and Medicare rates. 
Effective August 13, 2002, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for physician services and 143% of Medicare rates. 
This percentage was determined by dividing the total 
commercial allowed amounts for Type I physicians for at 
least the top five commercial insurers in CY 2004 by 
what Medicare would have allowed. The average 
commercial allowed amount was determined by 
multiplying the relative value units times the conversion 
factor for RBRVS procedures and by multiplying the unit 
cost times anesthesia units for anesthesia procedures for 
each insurer and practice group with Type I physicians 
and summing for all insurers and practice groups. The 
Medicare equivalent amount was determined by 
multiplying the total commercial relative value units for 
Type I physicians times the Medicare conversion factor 
for RBRVS procedures and by multiplying the Medicare 
unit cost times total commercial anesthesia units for 
anesthesia procedures for all Type I physicians and 
summing.  

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly. 

d. Payment will not be made to the extent that this would 
duplicate payments based on physician costs covered by 
the supplemental payments. 

17. Supplemental payments for services provided by 
physicians at Virginia freestanding children's hospitals. 

a. In addition to payments for physician services 
specified elsewhere in this State Plan, DMAS provides 
supplemental payments to Virginia freestanding 
children's hospital physicians providing services at 
freestanding children's hospitals with greater than 50% 
Medicaid inpatient utilization in state fiscal year 2009 for 
furnished services provided on or after July 1, 2011. A 
freestanding children's hospital physician is a member of 
a practice group (i) organized by or under control of a 
qualifying Virginia freestanding children's hospital, or 
(ii) who has entered into contractual agreements for 
provision of physician services at the qualifying Virginia 
freestanding children's hospital and that is designated in 
writing by the Virginia freestanding children's hospital as 
a practice plan for the quarter for which the supplemental 
payment is made subject to DMAS approval. The 
freestanding children's hospital physicians also must 
have entered into contractual agreements with the 
practice plan for the assignment of payments in 
accordance with 42 CFR 447.10. 

b. Effective July 1, 2011, the supplemental payment 
amount for freestanding children's hospital physician 

services shall be the difference between the Medicaid 
payments otherwise made for freestanding children's 
hospital physician services and 143% of Medicare rates 
as defined in the supplemental payment calculation for 
Type I physician services subject to the following 
reduction. Final payments shall be reduced on a pro-rated 
basis so that total payments for freestanding children's 
hospital physician services are $400,000 less annually 
than would be calculated based on the formula in the 
previous sentence. Payments shall be made on the same 
schedule as Type I physicians.  

18. Supplemental payments to nonstate government-owned 
or operated clinics.  

a. In addition to payments for clinic services specified 
elsewhere in the regulations, DMAS provides 
supplemental payments to qualifying nonstate 
government-owned or operated clinics for outpatient 
services provided to Medicaid patients on or after July 2, 
2002. Clinic means a facility that is not part of a hospital 
but is organized and operated to provide medical care to 
outpatients. Outpatient services include those furnished 
by or under the direction of a physician, dentist or other 
medical professional acting within the scope of his 
license to an eligible individual. Effective July 1, 2005, a 
qualifying clinic is a clinic operated by a community 
services board. The state share for supplemental clinic 
payments will be funded by general fund appropriations.  

b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to 
each qualifying nonstate government-owned or operated 
clinic is determined by:  

(1) Calculating for each clinic the annual difference 
between the upper payment limit attributed to each clinic 
according to subdivision 18 d and the amount otherwise 
actually paid for the services by the Medicaid program;  

(2) Dividing the difference determined in subdivision 18 
b (1) for each qualifying clinic by the aggregate 
difference for all such qualifying clinics; and  

(3) Multiplying the proportion determined in subdivision 
18 b (2) by the aggregate upper payment limit amount for 
all such clinics as determined in accordance with 42 CFR 
447.321 less all payments made to such clinics other than 
under this section.  

c. Payments for furnished services made under this 
section may be made in one or more installments at such 
times, within the fiscal year or thereafter, as is 
determined by DMAS.  

d. To determine the aggregate upper payment limit 
referred to in subdivision 18 b (3), Medicaid payments to 
nonstate government-owned or operated clinics will be 
divided by the "additional factor" whose calculation is 
described in Attachment 4.19-B, Supplement 4 
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(12VAC30-80-190 B 2) in regard to the state agency fee 
schedule for RBRVS. Medicaid payments will be 
estimated using payments for dates of service from the 
prior fiscal year adjusted for expected claim payments. 
Additional adjustments will be made for any program 
changes in Medicare or Medicaid payments. 

19. Personal Assistance Services (PAS) for individuals 
enrolled in the Medicaid Buy-In program described in 
12VAC30-60-200. These services are reimbursed in 
accordance with the state agency fee schedule described in 
12VAC30-80-190. The state agency fee schedule is 
published on the Single State Agency Website.  

B. Hospice services payments must be no lower than the 
amounts using the same methodology used under Part A of 
Title XVIII, and take into account the room and board 
furnished by the facility, equal to at least 95% of the rate that 
would have been paid by the state under the plan for facility 
services in that facility for that individual. Hospice services 
shall be paid according to the location of the service delivery 
and not the location of the agency's home office. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(12VAC30-80)  

Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence 
Evaluations, 25th Edition, 2005, U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services.  

Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS), 
National Level II Codes, 2001, Medicode. 

International Classification of Diseases, ICD-9-CM 2007, 
Physician, Volumes 1 and 2, 9th Revision-Clinical 
Modification, American Medical Association.  

Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics/Orthotics & 
Supplies Fee Schedules, 
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-
Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-Schedule.html, 
Jan. 2012, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services. 

Virginia Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies 
Provider Manual, Appendix B (rev. 1/11), Department of 
Medical Assistance Services. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2333; Filed April 27, 2012, 2:08 p.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 
(amending 12VAC30-120-370).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: May 2, 2012, through May 1, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Adrienne Fegans, Administration/Director's 
Office, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East 
Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
4112, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
adrienne.fegans@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

This emergency regulatory action conforms the regulations 
to Item 297 MMMM 1 of the 2011 Virginia Appropriation 
Act. Item 297 MMMM 1 requires the department to seek 
federal authority through the necessary waiver(s) and/or 
State Plan authorization under Titles XIX and XXI of the 
Social Security Act to expand principles of care 
coordination to all geographic areas, populations, and 
services under programs administered by the department. 
The department may seek federal authority through 
amendments to the State Plan under Title XIX and XXI of 
the Social Security Act and appropriate waivers to such to 
allow, on a pilot basis, foster care children under the 
custody of the City of Richmond Department of Social 
Services to be enrolled in Medicaid managed care 
(Medallion II) effective July 1, 2011. Item 297 MMMM 1 b 
authorizes the department to promulgate emergency 
regulations to implement this amendment within 280 days 
or less from the enactment date of the act. 

Virginia includes most Medicaid recipients in risk-based 
managed care; however, children in foster care are 
specifically excluded from participating in managed care 
within the Medallion II program. This exclusion is found in 
12VAC30-120-370 B 5 (Medallion II enrollees), which 
excludes "Individuals who are participating in foster care 
or subsidized adoption programs."  The amendment 
establishes a pilot program with the City of Richmond to 
move the approximately 300 foster care children in that 
locality into managed care. The Department of Medical 
Assistance Services has realized numerous health care and 
budgetary benefits from covering traditional acute care 
services through a risk-based capitated managed care 
program. Expanding the managed care population to 
include foster care children is consistent with the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services' effort to 
improve access and treatment, reduce inappropriate 
utilization, and provide budget stability with tangible 
quality goals. This locality pilot program is supported by 
the City of Richmond Department of Social Services. 

12VAC30-120-370. Medallion II enrollees. 

A. DMAS shall determine enrollment in Medallion II. 
Enrollment in Medallion II is not a guarantee of continuing 
eligibility for services and benefits under the Virginia 
Medical Assistance Services Program. DMAS reserves the 
right to exclude from participation in the Medallion II 
managed care program any recipient who has been 
consistently noncompliant with the policies and procedures of 
managed care or who is threatening to providers, MCOs, or 
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DMAS. There must be sufficient documentation from various 
providers, the MCO, and DMAS of these noncompliance 
issues and any attempts at resolution. Recipients excluded 
from Medallion II through this provision may appeal the 
decision to DMAS. 

B. The following individuals shall be excluded (as defined 
in 12VAC30-120-360) from participating in Medallion II or 
will be disenrolled from Medallion II if any of the following 
apply. Individuals not meeting the exclusion criteria must 
participate in the Medallion II program. 

1. Individuals who are inpatients in state mental hospitals; 

2. Individuals who are approved by DMAS as inpatients in 
long-stay hospitals, nursing facilities, or intermediate care 
facilities for the mentally retarded; 

3. Individuals who are placed on spend-down; 

4. Individuals who are participating in the family planning 
waiver, or in federal waiver programs for home-based and 
community-based Medicaid coverage prior to managed 
care enrollment; 

5. Individuals who are participating in foster care, except 
those foster care children under the custody of the City of 
Richmond Department of Social Services on or after July 
1, 2011, or those in subsidized adoption programs; 

6. Individuals under age 21 who are either enrolled in 
DMAS authorized treatment foster care programs as 
defined in 12VAC30-60-170 A, or who are approved for 
DMAS residential facility Level C programs as defined in 
12VAC30-130-860; 

7. Newly eligible individuals who are in the third trimester 
of pregnancy and who request exclusion within a 
department-specified timeframe of the effective date of 
their MCO enrollment. Exclusion may be granted only if 
the member's obstetrical provider (e.g., physician, hospital, 
midwife) does not participate with the enrollee's assigned 
MCO. Exclusion requests made during the third trimester 
may be made by the recipient, MCO, or provider. DMAS 
shall determine if the request meets the criteria for 
exclusion. Following the end of the pregnancy, these 
individuals shall be required to enroll to the extent they 
remain eligible for Medicaid; 

8. Individuals, other than students, who permanently live 
outside their area of residence for greater than 60 
consecutive days except those individuals placed there for 
medically necessary services funded by the MCO; 

9. Individuals who receive hospice services in accordance 
with DMAS criteria; 

10. Individuals with other comprehensive group or 
individual health insurance coverage, including Medicare, 
insurance provided to military dependents, and any other 

insurance purchased through the Health Insurance 
Premium Payment Program (HIPP); 

11. Individuals requesting exclusion who are inpatients in 
hospitals, other than those listed in subdivisions 1 and 2 of 
this subsection, at the scheduled time of MCO enrollment 
or who are scheduled for inpatient hospital stay or surgery 
within 30 calendar days of the MCO enrollment effective 
date. The exclusion shall remain effective until the first day 
of the month following discharge. This exclusion reason 
shall not apply to recipients admitted to the hospital while 
already enrolled in a department-contracted MCO;  

12. Individuals who request exclusion during 
preassignment to an MCO or within a time set by DMAS 
from the effective date of their MCO enrollment, who have 
been diagnosed with a terminal condition and who have a 
life expectancy of six months or less. The client's physician 
must certify the life expectancy; 

13. Certain individuals between birth and age three 
certified by the Department of Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services as eligible for 
services pursuant to Part C of the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1471 et seq.) who 
are granted an exception by DMAS to the mandatory 
Medallion II enrollment; 

14. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is less 
than three months; 

15. Individuals who are enrolled in the Commonwealth's 
Title XXI SCHIP program; 

16. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is only 
retroactive; and 

17. Children enrolled in the Virginia Birth-Related 
Neurological Injury Compensation Program established 
pursuant to Chapter 50 (§ 38.2-5000 et seq.) of Title 38.2 
of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Individuals enrolled with a MCO who subsequently meet 
one or more of the aforementioned criteria during MCO 
enrollment shall be excluded from MCO participation as 
determined by DMAS, with the exception of those who 
subsequently become recipients in the federal long-term care 
waiver programs, as otherwise defined elsewhere in this 
chapter, for home-based and community-based Medicaid 
coverage (AIDS, IFDDS, MR, EDCD, Day Support, or 
Alzheimers, or as may be amended from time to time). These 
individuals shall receive acute and primary medical services 
via the MCO and shall receive waiver services and related 
transportation to waiver services via the fee-for-service 
program. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 
enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the current 
fee-for-service system. When enrollees no longer meet the 
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criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to enroll in the 
appropriate managed care program. 

D. Medallion II managed care plans shall be offered to 
recipients, and recipients shall be enrolled in those plans, 
exclusively through an independent enrollment broker under 
contract to DMAS. 

E. Clients shall be enrolled as follows: 

1. All eligible persons, except those meeting one of the 
exclusions of subsection B of this section, shall be enrolled 
in Medallion II. 

2. Clients shall receive a Medicaid card from DMAS, and 
shall be provided authorized medical care in accordance 
with DMAS' procedures after Medicaid eligibility has been 
determined to exist. 

3. Once individuals are enrolled in Medicaid, they will 
receive a letter indicating that they may select one of the 
contracted MCOs. These letters shall indicate a 
preassigned MCO, determined as provided in subsection F 
of this section, in which the client will be enrolled if he 
does not make a selection within a period specified by 
DMAS of not less than 30 days. Recipients who are 
enrolled in one mandatory MCO program who 
immediately become eligible for another mandatory MCO 
program are able to maintain consistent enrollment with 
their currently assigned MCO, if available. These 
recipients will receive a notification letter including 
information regarding their ability to change health plans 
under the new program. 

4. Any newborn whose mother is enrolled with an MCO at 
the time of birth shall be considered an enrollee of that 
same MCO for the newborn enrollment period. The 
newborn enrollment period is defined as the birth month 
plus two months following the birth month. This 
requirement does not preclude the enrollee, once he is 
assigned a Medicaid identification number, from 
disenrolling from one MCO to another in accordance with 
subdivision G 1 of this section. 

The newborn's continued enrollment with the MCO is not 
contingent upon the mother's enrollment. Additionally, if 
the MCO's contract is terminated in whole or in part, the 
MCO shall continue newborn coverage if the child is born 
while the contract is active, until the newborn receives a 
Medicaid number or for the newborn enrollment period, 
whichever timeframe is earlier. Infants who do not receive 
a Medicaid identification number prior to the end of the 
newborn enrollment period will be disenrolled. Newborns 
who remain eligible for participation in Medallion II will 
be reenrolled in an MCO through the preassignment 
process upon receiving a Medicaid identification number. 

5. Individuals who lose then regain eligibility for 
Medallion II within 60 days will be reenrolled into their 

previous MCO without going through preassignment and 
selection. 

F. Clients who do not select an MCO as described in 
subdivision E 3 of this section shall be assigned to an MCO 
as follows: 

1. Clients are assigned through a system algorithm based 
upon the client's history with a contracted MCO. 

2. Clients not assigned pursuant to subdivision 1 of this 
subsection shall be assigned to the MCO of another family 
member, if applicable. 

3. All other clients shall be assigned to an MCO on a basis 
of approximately equal number by MCO in each locality. 

4. In areas where there is only one contracted MCO, 
recipients have a choice of enrolling with the contracted 
MCO or the PCCM program. All eligible recipients in 
areas where one contracted MCO exists, however, are 
automatically assigned to the contracted MCO. Individuals 
are allowed 90 days after the effective date of new or 
initial enrollment to change from either the contracted 
MCO to the PCCM program or vice versa. 

5. DMAS shall have the discretion to utilize an alternate 
strategy for enrollment or transition of enrollment from the 
method described in this section for expansions to new 
client populations, new geographical areas, expansion 
through procurement, or any or all of these; such alternate 
strategy shall comply with federal waiver requirements. 

G. Following their initial enrollment into an MCO or PCCM 
program, recipients shall be restricted to the MCO or PCCM 
program until the next open enrollment period, unless 
appropriately disenrolled or excluded by the department (as 
defined in 12VAC30-120-360). 

1. During the first 90 calendar days of enrollment in a new 
or initial MCO, a client may disenroll from that MCO to 
enroll into another MCO or into PCCM, if applicable, for 
any reason. Such disenrollment shall be effective no later 
than the first day of the second month after the month in 
which the client requests disenrollment. 

2. During the remainder of the enrollment period, the client 
may only disenroll from one MCO into another MCO or 
PCCM, if applicable, upon determination by DMAS that 
good cause exists as determined under subsection I of this 
section. 

H. The department shall conduct an annual open enrollment 
for all Medallion II participants. The open enrollment period 
shall be the 60 calendar days before the end of the enrollment 
period. Prior to the open enrollment period, DMAS will 
inform the recipient of the opportunity to remain with the 
current MCO or change to another MCO, without cause, for 
the following year. In areas with only one contracted MCO, 
recipients will be given the opportunity to select either the 
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MCO or the PCCM program. Enrollment selections will be 
effective on the first day of the next month following the open 
enrollment period. Recipients who do not make a choice 
during the open enrollment period will remain with their 
current MCO selection. 

I. Disenrollment for cause may be requested at any time. 

1. After the first 90 days of enrollment in an MCO, clients 
must request disenrollment from DMAS based on cause. 
The request may be made orally or in writing to DMAS 
and must cite the reasons why the client wishes to 
disenroll. Cause for disenrollment shall include the 
following: 

a. A recipient's desire to seek services from a federally 
qualified health center which is not under contract with 
the recipient's current MCO, and the recipient (i) requests 
a change to another MCO that subcontracts with the 
desired federally qualified health center or (ii) requests a 
change to the PCCM, if the federally qualified health 
center is contracting directly with DMAS as a PCCM; 

b. Performance or nonperformance of service to the 
recipient by an MCO or one or more of its providers 
which is deemed by the department's external quality 
review organizations to be below the generally accepted 
community practice of health care. This may include 
poor quality care; 

c. Lack of access to a PCP or necessary specialty services 
covered under the State Plan or lack of access to 
providers experienced in dealing with the enrollee's 
health care needs; 

d. A client has a combination of complex medical factors 
that, in the sole discretion of DMAS, would be better 
served under another contracted MCO or PCCM 
program, if applicable, or provider; 

e. The enrollee moves out of the MCO's service area; 

f. The MCO does not, because of moral or religious 
objections, cover the service the enrollee seeks; 

g. The enrollee needs related services to be performed at 
the same time; not all related services are available 
within the network, and the enrollee's primary care 
provider or another provider determines that receiving 
the services separately would subject the enrollee to 
unnecessary risk; or 

h. Other reasons as determined by DMAS through 
written policy directives. 

2. DMAS shall determine whether cause exists for 
disenrollment. Written responses shall be provided within a 
timeframe set by department policy; however, the effective 
date of an approved disenrollment shall be no later than the 
first day of the second month following the month in which 

the enrollee files the request, in compliance with 42 CFR 
438.56. 

3. Cause for disenrollment shall be deemed to exist and the 
disenrollment shall be granted if DMAS fails to take final 
action on a valid request prior to the first day of the second 
month after the request. 

4. The DMAS determination concerning cause for 
disenrollment may be appealed by the client in accordance 
with the department's client appeals process at 12VAC30-
110-10 through 12VAC30-110-380. 

5. The current MCO shall provide, within two working 
days of a request from DMAS, information necessary to 
determine cause. 

6. Individuals enrolled with a MCO who subsequently 
meet one or more of the exclusions in subsection B of this 
section during MCO enrollment shall be disenrolled as 
appropriate by DMAS, with the exception of those who 
subsequently become recipients into the AIDS, IFDDS, 
MR, EDCD, Day Support, or Alzheimer's federal waiver 
programs for home-based and community-based Medicaid 
coverage. These individuals shall receive acute and 
primary medical services via the MCO and shall receive 
waiver services and related transportation to waiver 
services via the fee-for-service program. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 
enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the 
current fee-for-service system. When enrollees no longer 
meet the criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to 
enroll in the appropriate managed care program. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2787; Filed May 2, 2012, 3:03 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC48-70. Common Interest 
Community Ombudsman Regulations (adding 18VAC48-
70-10 through 18VAC48-70-130).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2349 and 55-530 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Common Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8510, 
FAX (866) 490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

The regulation requires that common interest community 
(CIC) associations set rules for receiving and considering 
complaints from members and other citizens. Specifically, 
the  regulation (i) requires CIC associations to distribute 
their complaint policies and procedures to members, (ii) 
requires the maintenance of association complaint records, 
(iii) sets time frames in which CIC associations must 
complete certain actions, (iv) indicates the consequences 
for failure of an association to establish and utilize a 
complaint procedure, and (v) establishes procedures and 
forms for filing a notice of final adverse decision. 

Amendments made since publication of the proposed 
regulation (i) allow the appeal process to be set out in an 
association's complaint procedures rather than the 
association's governing documents, (ii) clarify that 
complaint procedures must be readily available upon 
request, (iii) remove redundant language, and (iv) add a 
new section to clarify the board's authority regarding 
violations of laws or regulations applicable to the board. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 70 
COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY OMBUDSMAN 

REGULATIONS 

Part I 
General 

18VAC48-70-10. Definitions. 

Section 55-528 of the Code of Virginia provides definitions 
of the following terms and phrases as used in this chapter: 

Association 

Board 

Common interest community 

Declaration 

Director 

Governing board 

Lot 

Section 55-79.41 of the Code of Virginia provides definition 
of the following term as used in this chapter: 

Condominium instruments 

The following words, terms, and phrases, when used in this 
chapter, shall have the following meanings unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise. 

"Adverse decision" or "final adverse decision" means the 
final determination issued by an association pursuant to an 
association complaint procedure that is opposite of, or does 
not provide for, either wholly or in part, the cure or corrective 
action sought by the complainant. Such decision means all 
avenues for internal appeal under the association complaint 
procedure have been exhausted. The date of the final adverse 
decision shall be the date of the notice issued pursuant to 
subdivisions 8 and 9 of 18VAC48-70-50. 

"Association complaint" means a written complaint filed by 
a member of the association or citizen pursuant to an 
association complaint procedure. An association complaint 
shall concern a matter regarding the action, inaction, or 
decision by the governing board, managing agent, or 
association inconsistent with applicable laws and regulations. 

"Association complaint procedure" means the written 
process adopted by an association to receive and consider 
association complaints from members and citizens. The 
complaint procedure shall include contact information for the 
Office of the Common Interest Community Ombudsman in 
accordance with § 55-530 of the Code of Virginia. An appeal 
process, if applicable, shall be set out in [ the association 
governing documents or in a an association ] complaint 
procedure adopted by the association, including relevant 
timeframes for filing the request for appeal. If no appeal 
process is available, the association complaint procedure shall 
indicate that no appeal process is available and that the 
rendered decision is final. 

"Association governing documents" means collectively the 
applicable organizational documents, including but not 
limited to the current and effective (i) articles of 
incorporation, declaration, and bylaws of a property owners' 
association, (ii) condominium instruments of a condominium, 
and (iii) declaration and bylaws of a real estate cooperative, 
all as may be amended from time to time. Association 
governing documents also include, to the extent in existence, 
resolutions, rules and regulations, or other guidelines 
governing association member conduct and association 
governance. 

"Complainant" means an association member or citizen who 
makes a written complaint pursuant to an association 
complaint procedure. 

"Record of complaint" means all documents, 
correspondence, and other materials related to a decision 
made pursuant to an association complaint procedure. 

18VAC48-70-20. Submission of documentation. 

Any documentation required to be filed with or provided to 
the board, director, or Office of the Common Interest 
Community Ombudsman pursuant to this chapter and Chapter 
29 (§ 55-528 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia shall 
be filed with or provided to the Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation. 
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Part II 
Association Complaint Procedure 

18VAC48-70-30. Requirement for association to develop 
an association complaint procedure. 

In accordance with § 55-530 E of the Code of Virginia, each 
association shall have a written process for resolving 
association complaints from members and citizens. The 
association complaint procedure or form shall conform with 
the requirements set forth in § 55-530 of the Code of Virginia 
and this chapter, as well as the association governing 
documents, which shall not be in conflict with § 55-530 of the 
Code of Virginia or this chapter. 

18VAC48-70-40. Establishment and adoption of written 
association complaint procedure. 

A. Associations registered with the board before [ [ the 
effective date of this chapter ] July 1, 2012, ] shall establish 
and adopt an association complaint procedure within 90 days 
of [ [ the effective date of this chapter ] July 1, 2012 ]. 

B. Associations filing an initial application for registration 
must certify that an association complaint procedure has been 
or will be established and adopted by the governing board 
within 90 days of such filing.  

C. The association shall certify with each annual report 
filing that the association complaint procedure has been 
adopted and is in effect. 

18VAC48-70-50. Association complaint procedure 
requirements. 

The association complaint procedure shall be in writing and 
shall include the following provisions in addition to any 
specific requirements contained in the association's governing 
documents that do not conflict with § 55-530 of the Code of 
Virginia or the requirements of this chapter. 

1. The association complaint must be in writing. 

2. A sample of the form, if any, on which the association 
complaint must be filed shall be provided upon request. 

3. The association complaint procedure shall include the 
process by which complaints shall be delivered to the 
association. 

4. The association shall provide written acknowledgment 
of receipt of the association complaint to the complainant 
within seven days of receipt. Such acknowledgment shall 
be hand delivered or mailed by registered or certified mail, 
return receipt requested, to the complainant at the address 
provided, or if consistent with established association 
procedure, by electronic means provided the sender retains 
sufficient proof of the electronic delivery. 

[ 5. The association shall have a reasonable, efficient, and 
timely method for identifying and requesting additional 
information that is necessary for the complainant to 

provide in order to continue processing the association 
complaint. The association shall establish a reasonable 
timeframe for responding to and for the disposition of the 
association complaint if the request for information is not 
received within the required timeframe. 

6. 5. ] Any specific documentation that must be provided 
with the association complaint shall be clearly described in 
the association complaint procedure. In addition, to the 
extent the complainant has knowledge of the law or 
regulation applicable to the complaint, the complainant 
shall provide that reference, as well as the requested action 
or resolution. 

[ 6. The association shall have a reasonable, efficient, and 
timely method for identifying and requesting additional 
information that is necessary for the complainant to 
provide in order to continue processing the association 
complaint. The association shall establish a reasonable 
timeframe for responding to and for the disposition of the 
association complaint if the request for information is not 
received within the required timeframe. ]  

7. Notice of the date, time, and location that the matter will 
be considered shall be hand delivered or mailed by 
registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, to the 
complainant at the address provided or, if consistent with 
established association procedure, delivered by electronic 
means, provided the sender retains sufficient proof of the 
electronic delivery, within a reasonable time prior to 
consideration as established by the association complaint 
procedure. 

8. After the final determination is made, the written notice 
of final determination shall be hand delivered or mailed by 
registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, to the 
complainant at the address provided or, if consistent with 
established association procedure, delivered by electronic 
means, provided the sender retains sufficient proof of the 
electronic delivery, within seven days. 

9. The notice of final determination shall be dated as of the 
date of issuance and include specific citations to applicable 
association governing documents, laws, or regulations that 
led to the final determination, as well as the registration 
number of the association. If applicable, the name and 
license number of the common interest community 
manager shall also be provided. 

10. The notice of final determination shall include the 
complainant's right to file a Notice of Final Adverse 
Decision with the Common Interest Community Board via 
the Common Interest Community Ombudsman and the 
applicable contact information. 
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18VAC48-70-60. Distribution of association complaint 
procedure. 

A. The association complaint procedure must be readily 
available [ upon request ] to all members of the association 
and citizens. 

[ B. The association complaint procedure shall be distributed 
using the association's established reasonable, effective, and 
free method, appropriate to the size and nature of the 
association, for communication with the governing board 
pursuant to §§ 55-79.75:1 and 55-510.2 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

C. B. ] The association complaint procedure shall be 
included as an attachment to the resale certificate or the 
association disclosure packet. 

[ D. Members of the association shall be reminded by the 
association annually of the availability of the association 
complaint procedure by using the method of communication 
established pursuant to §§ 55-79.75:1 and 55-510.2 of the 
Code of Virginia. ]  

18VAC48-70-70. Maintenance of association record of 
complaint. 

A. A record of each association complaint filed with the 
association shall be maintained in accordance with § 55-530 
E 1 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Unless otherwise specified by the director or his 
designee, the association shall provide to the director or his 
designee, within 14 days of receipt of the request, any 
document, book, or record concerning the association 
complaint. The director or his designee may extend such 
timeframe upon a showing of extenuating circumstances 
prohibiting delivery within 14 days of receiving the request. 

18VAC48-70-80. Failure of association to establish and 
utilize association complaint procedure. 

Failure of an association to establish and utilize an 
association complaint procedure in accordance with this 
chapter may result in the board seeking any of the remedies 
available pursuant to Chapter 23.3 (§ 54.1-2345 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Part III 
Final Adverse Decision 

18VAC48-70-90. Filing of notice of final adverse decision. 

A complainant may file a notice of final adverse decision in 
accordance with § 55-530 F of the Code of Virginia 
concerning any final adverse decision that has been issued by 
an association in accordance with this chapter [ , and for 
which all avenues for appeal, if applicable, within the 
association have been exhausted ]. 

1. The notice shall be filed within 30 days of the date of the 
final adverse decision. 

2. The notice shall be in writing on forms provided by the 
Office of the Common Interest Community Ombudsman. 
Such forms shall request the following information: 

a. Name and contact information of complainant; 

b. Name, address, and contact information of association; 

c. Applicable association governing documents; and 

d. Date of final adverse decision. 

3. The notice shall include a copy of the association 
complaint, the final adverse decision, reference to the laws 
and regulations the final adverse decision may have 
violated, any supporting documentation related to the final 
adverse decision, and a copy of the association complaint 
procedure. 

4. The notice shall be accompanied by a $25 filing fee or a 
request for waiver pursuant to 18VAC48-70-100. 

18VAC48-70-100. Waiver of filing fee. 

In accordance with § 55-530 F of the Code of Virginia, the 
board may, for good cause shown, waive or refund the filing 
fee upon a finding that payment of the filing fee will cause 
undue financial hardship for the complainant. 

18VAC48-70-110. Review of final adverse decision. 

Upon receipt of the notice of final adverse decision from the 
complainant, along with the filing fee or a board-approved 
waiver of filing fee, the Office of the Common Interest 
Community Ombudsman shall provide written 
acknowledgment of receipt of the notice to the complainant 
and shall provide a copy of the written notice to the 
association that made the final adverse decision. The notice of 
adverse decision will not be reviewed until the filing fee has 
been received or a waiver of filing fee has been granted by 
the board. 

In accordance with § 55-530 G of the Code of Virginia, 
additional information may be requested from the association 
that made the final adverse decision. Upon request, the 
association shall provide such information to the Office of the 
Common Interest Community Ombudsman within a 
reasonable time. 

18VAC48-70-120. Decision from the notice of final 
adverse decision. 

Upon review of the notice of final adverse decision in 
accordance with § 55-530 G of the Code of Virginia, if the 
director determines that the final adverse decision may be in 
conflict with laws or regulations governing common interest 
communities or interpretations thereof by the board, the 
director may, in his sole discretion, provide the complainant 
and the association with information concerning such laws or 
regulations governing common interest communities or 
interpretations thereof by the board. 
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The determination of whether the final adverse decision may 
be in conflict with laws or regulations governing common 
interest communities or interpretations thereof by the board 
shall be a matter within the sole discretion of the director. 
Such decision is final and not subject to further review. The 
determination of the director shall not be binding upon the 
complainant or the association that made the final adverse 
decision. 

[ 18VAC48-70-125. Referral for further action. 

In addition to the provisions of this chapter, any matter 
involving a violation of applicable laws or regulations of the 
board may be referred for further action by the board in 
accordance with the provisions of Chapter 23.3 (§ 54.1-2345 
et seq.) of Title 54.1; Chapters 4.2 (§ 55-79.39 et seq.), 26 
(§ 55-508 et et seq.), and 29 (§ 55-528 et seq.) of Title 55 of 
the Code of Virginia; and the board's regulations. ]  

Part IV 
Office of the Common Interest Community Ombudsman 

18VAC48-70-130. Purpose, responsibilities, and 
limitations. 

The Office of the Common Interest Community 
Ombudsman shall carry out those activities as enumerated in 
subsection C of § 55-530 of the Code of Virginia. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation have been filed by the Common Interest 
Community Board. The forms are not being published; 
however, the names of the forms are listed below. Online 
users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may 
access the forms by clicking on the names of the forms. The 
forms are also available for public inspection at the Common 
Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, Virginia 23233, or at the Office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC48-70) 

Association Complaint Form (10/09). 

Request for Waiver of Filing Fee, (10/09). 

Notice of Final Adverse Decision, (10/09). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1873; Filed May 1, 2012, 9:59 a.m.  

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Psychology (amending 18VAC125-20-10, 
18VAC125-20-30, 18VAC125-20-41, 18VAC125-20-42, 
18VAC125-20-43, 18VAC125-20-54, 18VAC125-20-65, 
18VAC125-20-80, 18VAC125-20-120, 18VAC125-20-150).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 20, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Catherine Chappell, Acting Executive 
Director, Board of Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX 
(804) 327-4435, or email 
catherine.chappell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) reduce the required experience in 
another state to 10 years for licensure by endorsement, (ii) 
permit acceptance of pre-internship supervised 
professional experience in lieu of all or part of the post-
doctoral residency currently required for licensure by 
examination, (iii) provide for consistency in requirements 
for a jurisprudence examination, (iv) extend the 
prohibition on sexual intimacies with clients from two 
years to five years following termination of professional 
services and expand such prohibition to include romantic 
relationships, (v) require malpractice and disciplinary 
history reports for licensure by endorsement, and (vi) 
clarify existing regulations.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC125-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, in addition to the words and 
terms defined in § 54.1-3600 of the Code of Virginia, when 
used in this chapter shall have the following meanings, unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"APA" means the American Psychological Association.  

"APPIC" means the Association of Psychology Postdoctoral 
and Internship Centers.  

"Applicant" means a person who submits a complete 
application for licensure with the appropriate fees.  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Psychology.  

"Candidate for licensure" means a person who has 
satisfactorily completed the appropriate educational and 
experience requirements for licensure and has been deemed 
eligible by the board to sit for the required examinations.  

"Demonstrable areas of competence" means those 
therapeutic and assessment methods and techniques, and 
populations served, for which one can document adequate 
graduate training, workshops, or appropriate supervised 
experience.  

"Internship" means an ongoing, supervised and organized 
practical experience obtained in an integrated training 
program identified as a psychology internship. Other 
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supervised experience or on-the-job training does not 
constitute an internship.  

"NASP" means the National Association of School 
Psychologists.  

"NCATE" means the National Council for the Accreditation 
of Teacher Education.  

"Practicum" means the pre-internship clinical experience 
that is part of a graduate educational program. 

"Professional psychology program" means an integrated 
program of doctoral study designed to train professional 
psychologists to deliver services in psychology.  

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the six regional 
accrediting agencies recognized by the United States 
Secretary of Education established to accredit senior 
institutions of higher education.  

"Residency" means a post-internship, post-terminal degree, 
supervised experience approved by the board.  

"School psychologist-limited" means a person licensed 
pursuant to § 54.1-3606 of the Code of Virginia to provide 
school psychology services solely in public school divisions.  

"Supervision" means the ongoing process performed by a 
supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 
supervised and provides regular, documented individual 
consultation, guidance and instruction with respect to the 
skills and competencies of the person supervised.  

"Supervisor" means an individual who assumes full 
responsibility for the education and training activities of a 
person and provides the supervision required by such a 
person.  

18VAC125-20-30. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established fees for the following:  

  Applied 
psychologists, 

Clinical 
psychologists, 

School 
psychologists 

School 
psychologists-

limited 

1. Registration of residency 
(per residency request) 

$50   

2. Add or change 
supervisor 

$25   

3. Application processing 
and initial licensure 

$200 $85 

4. Annual renewal of active 
license 

$140 $70 

5. Annual renewal of 
inactive license 

$70 $35 

6. Late renewal $50 $25 

7. Verification of license to 
another jurisdiction 

$25 $25 

8. Duplicate license $5 $5 

9. Additional or 
replacement wall 
certificate 

$15 $15 

10. Returned check $35 $35 

11. Reinstatement of a 
lapsed license 

$270 $125 

12. Reinstatement 
following revocation or 
suspension 

$500 $500 

13. One-time reduction in 
fee for annual renewal due 
on June 30, 2010, for 
holders of an active license 

$70 $35 

14. One-time reduction in 
fee for annual renewal due 
on June 30, 2010, for 
holders of an inactive 
license 

$35 $17 

B. The fee for review of a continuing education provider 
seeking board approval shall be $200.  

C. B. Fees shall be paid by check or money order made 
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia and forwarded to the 
board. All fees are nonrefundable.  

D. Examination fees shall be established and made payable 
as determined by the board.  

18VAC125-20-41. Requirements for licensure by 
examination. 

A. Every applicant for examination for licensure by the 
board shall:  

1. Meet the education requirements prescribed in 
18VAC125-20-54, 18VAC125-20-55, or 18VAC125-20-
56 and the experience requirement prescribed in 
18VAC125-20-65 as applicable for the particular license 
sought; and  

2. Submit the following:  

a. A completed application on forms provided by the 
board;  

b. A completed residency agreement or documentation of 
having fulfilled the experience requirements of 
18VAC125-20-65;  

c. The application processing fee prescribed by the 
board;  

d. Official transcripts documenting the graduate work 
completed and the degree awarded. Applicants who are 
graduates of institutions that are not regionally accredited 
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shall submit documentation from an accrediting agency 
acceptable to the board that their education meets the 
requirements set forth in 18VAC125-20-54, 18VAC125-
20-55 or 18VAC125-20-56; and  

e. Verification of any other professional license or 
certificate ever held in another jurisdiction.  

B. In addition to fulfillment of the education and experience 
requirements, each applicant for licensure by examination 
must achieve a passing score on the required examinations for 
each category of licensure sought: Examination for 
Professional Practice of Psychology. 

1. Clinical psychologist: State Practice Examination for 
Clinical Psychology, Jurisprudence and Examination for 
Professional Practice in Psychology;  

2. School psychologist: State Practice Examination for 
School Psychology, Jurisprudence and Examination for 
Professional Practice in Psychology; or  

3. Applied psychologist: State Practice Examination in 
Applied Psychology, Jurisprudence and Examination for 
Professional Practice in Psychology.  

C. Every applicant shall submit an affidavit of having read 
and agreed to comply with the current standards of practice 
and laws governing the practice of psychology in Virginia. 

18VAC125-20-42. Prerequisites for licensure by 
endorsement.  

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall 
submit:  

1. A completed application;  

2. The application processing fee prescribed by the board;  

3. An affidavit of having read and agreed to comply with 
the current Standards of Practice and laws governing the 
practice of psychology in Virginia;  

4. Verification of all other professional licenses or 
certificates ever held in any jurisdiction. In order to qualify 
for endorsement, the applicant shall have no history of 
disciplinary action, shall not have surrendered a license or 
certificate while under investigation and shall have no 
unresolved action against a license or certificate; and  

5. A current report from the Healthcare Integrity and 
Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) and a current report from 
the National Practitioner Data Bank; and 

5. 6. Further documentation of one of the following:  

a. A current listing in the National Register of Health 
Services Providers in Psychology;  

b. Current diplomate status in good standing with the 
American Board of Professional Psychology in a 

category comparable to the one in which licensure is 
sought;  

c. Twenty Ten years of active licensure in a category 
comparable to the one in which licensure is sought, with 
an appropriate degree as required in this chapter 
documented by an official transcript; or  

d. If less than 20 10 years of active licensure, 
documentation of current psychologist licensure in good 
standing obtained by standards substantially equivalent to 
the education, experience and examination requirements 
set forth in this chapter for the category in which 
licensure is sought as verified by a certified copy of the 
original application submitted directly from the out-of-
state licensing agency or a copy of the regulations in 
effect at the time of initial licensure and the following:  

(1) Documentation of post-licensure active practice for at 
least five of the last six years immediately preceding 
licensure application;  

(2) Verification of a passing score on the Examination 
for Professional Practice of Psychology as established in 
Virginia for the year of that administration; and 

(3) Verification of a passing score on other written and 
oral examinations or both as required by the jurisdiction 
which granted the license; and  

(4) (3) Official transcripts documenting the graduate 
work completed and the degree awarded in the category 
in which licensure is sought.  

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, the board 
may issue a license to any individual who qualifies for such a 
license pursuant to an agreement of reciprocity entered into 
by this board with a board of another jurisdiction or multiple 
jurisdictions.  

18VAC125-20-43. Requirements for licensure as a school 
psychologist-limited.  

A. Every applicant for licensure as a school psychologist-
limited shall submit to the board:  

1. A copy of a current license issued by the Board of 
Education showing an endorsement in psychology.  

2. An official transcript showing completion of a master's 
degree in psychology.  

3. A completed Employment Verification Form of current 
employment by a school system under the Virginia 
Department of Education.  

4. The application fee.  

B. At the time of licensure renewal, school psychologists-
limited shall be required to submit an updated Employment 
Verification Form if there has been a change in school district 
in which the licensee is currently employed.  
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18VAC125-20-54. Education requirements for clinical 
psychologists.  

A. The applicant shall hold a doctorate from a professional 
psychology program in a regionally accredited university, 
which was accredited by the APA within four years after the 
applicant graduated from the program, or shall meet the 
requirements of subsection B of this section.  

B. If the applicant does not hold a doctorate from an APA 
accredited program, the applicant shall hold a doctorate from 
a professional psychology program which documents that it 
offers education and training which prepares individuals for 
the practice of clinical psychology as defined in § 54.1-3600 
of the Code of Virginia and which meets the following 
criteria:  

1. The program is within an institution of higher education 
accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the 
United States Department of Education or publicly 
recognized by the Association of Universities and Colleges 
of Canada as a member in good standing. Graduates of 
programs that are not within the United States or Canada 
must provide documentation from an acceptable credential 
evaluation service which provides information that allows 
the board to determine if the program meets the 
requirements set forth in this chapter.  

2. The program shall be recognizable as an organized 
entity within the institution.  

3. The program shall be an integrated, organized sequence 
of study with an identifiable psychology faculty and a 
psychologist directly responsible for the program, and shall 
have an identifiable body of students who are matriculated 
in that program for a degree. The faculty shall be 
accessible to students and provide them with guidance and 
supervision. The faculty shall provide appropriate 
professional role models and engage in actions that 
promote the student's acquisition of knowledge, skills and 
competencies consistent with the program's training goals.  

4. The program shall encompass a minimum of three 
academic years of full-time graduate study or the 
equivalent thereof.  

5. The program shall include a general core curriculum 
containing a minimum of three or more graduate semester 
hours or five or more graduate quarter hours in each of the 
following substantive content areas.  

a. Biological bases of behavior (e.g., physiological 
psychology, comparative psychology, neuropsychology, 
sensation and perception, health psychology, 
pharmacology, neuroanatomy).  

b. Cognitive-affective bases of behavior (e.g., learning 
theory, cognition, motivation, emotion).  

c. Social bases of behavior (e.g., social psychology, 
group processes, organizational and systems theory, 
community and preventive psychology, multicultural 
issues).  

d. Psychological measurement.  

e. Research methodology.  

f. Techniques of data analysis.  

g. Professional standards and ethics.  

6. The program shall include a minimum of at least three or 
more graduate semester credit hours or five or more 
graduate quarter hours in each of the following clinical 
psychology content areas:  

a. Individual differences in behavior (e.g., personality 
theory, cultural difference and diversity).  

b. Human development (e.g., child, adolescent, geriatric 
psychology).  

c. Dysfunctional behavior, abnormal behavior or 
psychopathology.  

d. Theories and methods of intellectual assessment and 
diagnosis.  

e. Theories and methods of personality assessment and 
diagnosis including its practical application.  

f. Effective interventions and evaluating the efficacy of 
interventions.  

g. Consultation and supervision (e.g., community mental 
health, organizational behavior, consultation liaison).  

C. Applicants who graduated from programs which meet the 
criteria set forth under subsection A or B of this section shall 
submit documentation of having successfully completed 
practicum experiences in assessment and diagnosis, 
psychotherapy, consultation and supervision. The practicum 
shall include a minimum of nine graduate semester hours or 
15 or more graduate quarter hours or equivalent in 
appropriate settings to ensure a wide range of supervised 
training and educational experiences.  

D. An applicant for a clinical license may fulfill the 
residency requirement of 1,500 hours, or some part thereof, as 
required for licensure in 18VAC125-20-65 B, in the pre-
doctoral practicum supervised experience that meets the 
following standards: 

1. The supervised professional experience shall be part of 
an organized sequence of training within the applicant's 
doctoral program, which meets the criteria specified in 
subsections A or B of this section.  

2. The supervised experience shall include face-to-face 
direct client services, service-related activities, and 
supporting activities. 
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a. "Face-to-face direct client services" means 
treatment/intervention, assessment, and interviewing of 
clients. 

b. "Service-related activities" means scoring, reporting or 
treatment note writing, and consultation related to face-
to-face direct services.  

c. "Supporting activities" means time spent under 
supervision of face-to-face direct services and service-
related activities provided on-site or in the trainee's 
academic department, as well as didactic experiences, 
such as laboratories or seminars, directly related to such 
services or activities. 

3. In order for pre-doctoral practicum hours to fulfill the all 
or part of the residency requirement, the following shall 
apply: 

a. Not less than one-quarter of the hours shall be spent in 
providing face-to-face direct client services; 

b. Not less than one-half of the hours shall be in a 
combination of face-to-face direct service hours and 
hours spent in service-related activities; and  

c. The remainder of the hours may be spent in a 
combination of face-to-face direct services, service-
related activities, and supporting activities. 

4. A minimum of one hour of individual face-to-face 
supervision shall be provided for every eight hours of 
supervised professional experience spent in direct client 
contact and service-related activities. 

5. The hours of pre-doctoral supervised experience 
reported by an applicant shall be certified by the program's 
director of clinical training on a form provided by the 
board. 

18VAC125-20-65. Supervised experience.  

A. Internship requirement.  

1. Candidates for clinical psychologist licensure shall have 
successfully completed an internship that is either 
accredited by APA, APPIC or the National Register of 
Health Service Providers in Psychology, or one that meets 
equivalent standards.  

2. Candidates for school psychologist licensure shall have 
successfully completed an internship accredited by the 
APA, APPIC or NASP or one that meets equivalent 
standards.  

B. Residency requirement.  

1. Candidates for clinical or school psychologist licensure 
shall have successfully completed a one-year, full-time 
residency, or its equivalent in part-time experience for a 
period not to exceed three years, consisting of a minimum 
of 1,500 hours in a period of not less than 12 months and 

not to exceed three years of supervised experience in the 
delivery of clinical or school psychology services 
acceptable to the board, or the applicant may request 
approval to begin a residency.  

2. Supervised experience obtained in Virginia without prior 
written board approval will not be accepted toward 
licensure. Candidates shall not begin the residency until 
after completion of the required degree as set forth in 
18VAC125-20-54 or 18VAC125-20-56. An individual 
who proposes to obtain supervised post-degree experience 
in Virginia shall, prior to the onset of such supervision, 
submit a supervisory contract along with the application 
package and pay the registration of supervision fee set 
forth in 18VAC125-20-30.  

3. There shall be a minimum of two hours of individual 
supervision per week. Group supervision of up to five 
residents may be substituted for one of the two hours per 
week on the basis that two hours of group supervision 
equals one hour of individual supervision, but in no case 
shall the resident receive less than one hour of individual 
supervision per week.  

4. Residents may not refer to or identify themselves as 
applied psychologists, clinical psychologists, or school 
psychologists; independently solicit clients; bill for 
services; or in any way represent themselves as licensed 
psychologists. Notwithstanding the above, this does not 
preclude supervisors or employing institutions for billing 
for the services of an appropriately identified resident. 
During the residency period they shall use their names, the 
initials of their degree, and the title, "Resident in 
Psychology," in the licensure category in which licensure 
is sought.  

5. Supervision shall be provided by a psychologist licensed 
to practice in the licensure category in which the resident is 
seeking licensure.  

6. The supervisor shall not provide supervision for 
activities beyond the supervisor's demonstrable areas of 
competence, nor for activities for which the applicant has 
not had appropriate education and training.  

7. At the end of the residency training period, the 
supervisor or supervisors shall submit to the board a 
written evaluation of the applicant's performance.  

8. The board may consider special requests in the event 
that the regulations create an undue burden in regard to 
geography or disability that limits the resident's access to 
qualified supervisors. 

C. For a clinical psychologist license, a candidate may 
submit evidence of having met the supervised experience 
requirements in a pre-doctoral practicum as specified in 
18VAC125-20-54 D in substitution for all or part of the 1,500 
residency hours specified in this section. If the supervised 
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experience hours completed in a practicum do not total 1,500 
hours, a person may fulfill the remainder of the hours by 
meeting requirements specified in subsection B of this 
section. 

D. Candidates for clinical psychologist licensure shall 
provide documentation that the internship and residency 
included appropriate emphasis and experience in the 
diagnosis and treatment of persons with moderate to severe 
mental disorders.  

Part III  
Examinations  

18VAC125-20-80. General examination requirements.  

A. An applicant for clinical or school psychologist licensure 
enrolled in an approved residency training program required 
in 18VAC125-20-65 who has met all requirements for 
licensure except completion of that program shall be eligible 
to take both the national and state written examinations 
examination.  

B. A candidate approved by the board to sit for an 
examination shall take that examination within two years of 
the date of the initial board approval. If the candidate has not 
taken the examination by the end of the two-year period here 
prescribed, the applicant shall reapply according to the 
requirements of the regulations in effect at that time.  

C. The board shall establish passing scores on the 
examinations examination.  

D. Candidates who fail an examination may be reexamined 
once within a 12-month period without reapplying.  

E. Candidates who fail any examination twice shall wait at 
least one year between the second failure and the next 
reexamination.  

Part V  
Licensure Renewal; Reinstatement  

18VAC125-20-120. Annual renewal of licensure.  

Effective January 1, 2004, every Every license issued by the 
board shall expire each year on June 30.  

1. Every licensee who intends to continue to practice shall, 
on or before the expiration date of the license, submit to 
the board a license renewal form supplied by the board and 
the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC125-20-30.  

2. Beginning with the 2004 renewal, licensees Licensees 
who wish to maintain an active license shall pay the 
appropriate fee and verify on the renewal form compliance 
with the continuing education requirements prescribed in 
18VAC125-20-121. First-time licensees by examination 
are not required to verify continuing education on the first 
renewal date following initial licensure.  

3. A licensee who wishes to place his license in inactive 
status may do so upon payment of the fee prescribed in 
18VAC125-20-30. No person shall practice psychology in 
Virginia unless he holds a current active license. An 
inactive licensee may activate his license by fulfilling the 
reactivation requirements set forth in 18VAC125-20-130.  

4. Licensees shall notify the board office in writing of any 
change of address of record or of the public address, if 
different from the address of record. Failure of a licensee 
to receive a renewal notice and application forms from the 
board shall not excuse the licensee from the renewal 
requirement.  

Part VI  
Standards of Practice; Unprofessional Conduct; Disciplinary 

Actions; Reinstatement  

18VAC125-20-150. Standards of practice.  

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare 
and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 
in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 
persons whose activities are regulated by the board. 
Psychologists respect the rights, dignity and worth of all 
people, and are mindful of individual differences.  

B. Persons licensed by the board shall:  

1. Provide and supervise only those services and use only 
those techniques for which they are qualified by training 
and appropriate experience. Delegate to their employees, 
supervisees, residents and research assistants only those 
responsibilities such persons can be expected to perform 
competently by education, training and experience. Take 
ongoing steps to maintain competence in the skills they 
use;  

2. When making public statements regarding credentials, 
published findings, directory listings, curriculum vitae, 
etc., ensure that such statements are neither fraudulent nor 
misleading;  

3. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates or other 
forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 
professional services. Make appropriate consultations and 
referrals consistent with the law and based on the interest 
of patients or clients;  

4. Refrain from undertaking any activity in which their 
personal problems are likely to lead to inadequate or 
harmful services;  

5. Avoid harming patients or clients, research participants, 
students and others for whom they provide professional 
services and minimize harm when it is foreseeable and 
unavoidable. Not exploit or mislead people for whom they 
provide professional services. Be alert to and guard against 
misuse of influence;  
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6. Avoid dual relationships with patients, clients, residents 
or supervisees that could impair professional judgment or 
compromise their well-being (to include but not limited to 
treatment of close friends, relatives, employees);  

7. Withdraw from, adjust or clarify conflicting roles with 
due regard for the best interest of the affected party or 
parties and maximal compliance with these standards;  

8. Not engage in sexual intimacies or a romantic 
relationship with a student, supervisee, resident, therapy 
patient, client, or those included in collateral therapeutic 
services (such as a parent, spouse, or significant other) 
while providing professional services. For at least two five 
years after cessation or termination of professional 
services, not engage in sexual intimacies or a romantic 
relationship with a therapy patient, client, or those included 
in collateral therapeutic services. Consent to, initiation of, 
or participation in sexual behavior or romantic 
involvement with a psychologist does not change the 
exploitative nature of the conduct nor lift the prohibition. 
Since sexual or romantic relationships are potentially 
exploitative, psychologists shall bear the burden of 
demonstrating that there has been no exploitation;  

9. Keep confidential their professional relationships with 
patients or clients and disclose client records to others only 
with written consent except: (i) when a patient or client is a 
danger to self or others, (ii) as required under § 32.1-
127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia, or (iii) as permitted by 
law for a valid purpose;  

10. Make reasonable efforts to provide for continuity of 
care when services must be interrupted or terminated;  

11. Inform clients of professional services, fees, billing 
arrangements and limits of confidentiality before rendering 
services. Inform the consumer prior to the use of collection 
agencies or legal measures to collect fees and provide 
opportunity for prompt payment. Avoid bartering goods 
and services. Participate in bartering only if it is not 
clinically contraindicated and is not exploitative;  

12. Construct, maintain, administer, interpret and report 
testing and diagnostic services in a manner and for 
purposes which are appropriate;  

13. Keep pertinent, confidential records for at least five 
years after termination of services to any consumer;  

14. Design, conduct and report research in accordance with 
recognized standards of scientific competence and research 
ethics; and  

15. Report to the board known or suspected violations of 
the laws and regulations governing the practice of 
psychology.  

 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 
form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 
may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 
23219. 

FORMS (18VAC125-20)  

Instructions - Virginia Board of Psychology Application for 
Licensure by Examination (rev. 2/10). 

Virginia Board of Psychology Application Instructions - 
Licensure by Examination (rev. 5/12).  

Instructions - Virginia Board of Psychology Application of 
Licensure by Endorsement (rev. 2/10). 

Psychologist Application for Licensure by Examination, 
Form 1 (rev. 8/07). 

Application for Licensure as a School Psychologist-Limited 
(rev. 8/07). 

Employment Verification Form (rev. 8/07). 

Registration of Residency -- Post-Graduate Degree 
Supervised Experience, Form 2 (rev. 8/07). 

Psychologist Application for Licensure by Endorsement, 
Form 1 (rev. 8/07). 

Virginia Board of Psychology Application for Licensure by 
Endorsement (rev. 5/12). 

Psychologist Application for Reinstatement of a Lapsed 
License, PSYREIN (rev. 8/07). 

School Psychologist-Limited Application for Reinstatement 
of a Lapsed License, PSYREIN (rev. 8/07). 

Psychologist Application for Reinstatement Following 
Disciplinary Action, PSYREDISC (rev. 8/07). 

Verification of Post-Degree Supervision, Form 3 (rev. 8/07). 

Internship Verification, Form 4 (rev. 8/07). 

Licensure/Certification Verification, Form 5 (rev. 8/07). 

Areas of Graduate Study, Form 6 (rev. 2/10). 

Continuing Education Audit Summary Form (rev. 4/09).  

Continuing Education Summary Form (rev. 12/11). 

Verification of Pre-Doctoral Supervised Practicum Hours 
(eff. 5/12). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2226; Filed May 1, 2012, 8:28 a.m.  
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BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Waterworks and 
Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 
Professionals is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 
are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 
where no agency discretion is involved. The Board for 
Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 
Sewage System Professionals will receive, consider, and 
respond to petitions from any interested person at any time 
with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC160-20. Board for Waterworks 
and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage 
System Professionals Regulations (amending 18VAC160-
20-97).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-113 and 54.1-201 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2012.  

Agency Contact: David E. Dick, Executive Director, Board 
for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 
Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX 
(866) 350-5354, or email waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapters 677 and 704 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly 
require the board to amend the regulation by suspending 
the examination requirement for applicants seeking initial 
licensure as conventional onsite sewage system installers 
provided that the applicants satisfactorily demonstrate to 
the board that they have been actively engaged in 
performing the duties of a conventional onsite sewage 
system installer for at least eight years within the 12-year 
period immediately preceding the date of application for 
licensure. Suspension of the examination requirement 
applies to applications received July 1, 2012, through June 
30, 2016.  

18VAC160-20-97. Qualifications for licensure - onsite 
sewage system installers. 

A. Each applicant shall make application in accordance with 
18VAC160-20-76 and shall meet the specific entry 
requirements provided for in this section for the license 
desired. 

B. Each applicant holding a valid interim onsite sewage 
system installer license shall submit documentation of 
compliance with the continuing professional education 
requirements of this chapter at the time of application. 

C. Specific entry requirements. 

1. Conventional onsite sewage system installer. Each 
individual applying for an initial conventional onsite 
sewage system installer license shall pass a board-
approved examination and shall meet one of the following 
requirements: 

a. Have two years of full-time experience installing 
alternative or conventional onsite sewage systems during 
the last four years under the direct supervision of a 
properly licensed contractor holding a sewage disposal 
system (SDS) specialty issued by the Virginia Board for 
Contractors; or 

b. Have two years of full-time experience installing 
alternative or conventional onsite sewage systems during 
the last four years as a properly licensed contractor 
holding a sewage disposal system (SDS) specialty issued 
by the Virginia Board for Contractors; or 

c. Have documentation certifying that the applicant is 
competent to install conventional onsite sewage systems. 
Certification must be provided by any combination of 
three of the following individuals:  

(1) VDH Authorized Onsite Soil Evaluators (AOSE) for 
work performed prior to July 1, 2009;  

(2) Licensed interim onsite soil evaluators; 

(3) Licensed conventional or alternative onsite soil 
evaluators;  

(4) Licensed conventional or alternative onsite sewage 
system installers; or 

(5) Virginia licensed professional engineers. 

2. Conventional onsite sewage system installer. The 
examination requirement provided for in subdivision 1 of 
this subsection shall not apply to applicants seeking initial 
licensure as a conventional onsite sewage system installer 
provided that:  

a. The applicant is able to satisfactorily demonstrate that 
he has been actively engaged in performing the duties of 
a conventional onsite sewage system installer, as defined 
in this chapter, for at least eight years within the 12-year 
period immediately preceding the date of application. 
Documentation of being actively engaged in performing 
the duties of a conventional onsite sewage system 
installer, as defined in this chapter, for at least eight years 
within the 12-year period immediately preceding the date 
of application shall be provided by one or more of the 
following: 

(1) VDH Authorized Onsite Soil Evaluator (AOSE) for 
work performed prior to July 1, 2009;  

(2) Licensed interim onsite soil evaluator; 
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(3) Licensed conventional or alternative onsite soil 
evaluator;  

(4) Licensed conventional or alternative onsite sewage 
system installer; or 

(5) Virginia licensed professional engineer; and  

b. The department receives a completed application no 
later than June 30, 2016. An individual who fails to have 
his application in the department's possession by June 30, 
2016, shall be required to pass the board-approved 
examination provided for in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection. 

2. 3. Alternative onsite sewage system installer. Each 
individual applying for an initial alternative onsite sewage 
system installer license shall pass a board-approved 
examination and shall meet one of the following 
requirements: 

a. Provide contractor completion statements and 
associated operation permits issued by the VDH for work 
performed after June 30, 2009. The statements and 
permits must verify that the applicant had successfully 
installed 36 onsite sewage systems during the preceding 
three years, six of which must be alternative systems. All 
contractor completion statements and associated VDH 
operation permits shall be certified by either a licensed 
alternative onsite soil evaluator, a licensed conventional 
or alternative onsite sewage system installer, or a 
Virginia licensed professional engineer; 

b. Provide contractor completion statements and 
associated operation permits issued by the VDH for work 
performed on or before June 30, 2009. The statements 
and permits must verify that the applicant successfully 
installed 12 alternative onsite sewage systems during the 
past three years. All contractor completion statements 
and associated VDH operation permits shall be certified 
by either an authorized onsite soil evaluator or a Virginia 
licensed professional engineer; 

c. Have two years of full-time experience installing 
sewage systems as a properly licensed contractor holding 
a sewage disposal system (SDS) specialty issued by the 
Virginia Board for Contractors and provide certification 
by at least three interim or alternative onsite soil 
evaluator licensees, Virginia-licensed professional 
engineers, or any combination thereof, that the applicant 
is competent to install alternative onsite sewage systems;  

d. Have two years of full-time experience installing 
sewage systems under the direct supervision a properly 
licensed contractor holding a sewage disposal system 
(SDS) specialty issued by the Virginia Board for 
Contractors and provide certification by at least three 
interim or alternative onsite soil evaluator licensees, 
Virginia-licensed professional engineers, or any 

combination thereof, that the applicant is competent to 
install alternative onsite sewage systems; or  

e. Have two years of full-time experience as a licensed or 
interim licensed conventional onsite sewage system 
installer and provide certification by at least three interim 
or alternative onsite soil evaluator licensees, Virginia-
licensed professional engineers, or any combination 
thereof, that the applicant is competent to install 
alternative onsite sewage systems. 

If the applicant is not listed on the completion statement but 
did perform the installation, then the individual named on the 
contractor's completion statement and associated operation 
permit issued by the VDH may certify the applicant's work 
performed on an alternative onsite sewage system that was 
installed prior to June 30, 2009, provided that the application 
is received by the department no later than June 30, 2010. 

D. Education and training substitution. Each individual 
applying for a conventional or an alternative onsite sewage 
system installer license may receive credit for up to half of 
the experience required by this section for: 

1. Satisfactory completion of postsecondary courses in 
wastewater, biology, chemistry, geology, hydraulics, 
hydrogeology, or soil science at the rate of one month per 
semester hour or two-thirds of a month per quarter hour; or 

2. Satisfactory completion of board-approved onsite 
sewage system installer training courses at the rate of one 
month for each training credit earned. Up to one training 
credit is awarded for each 10 hours of classroom contact 
time or for each 20 hours of laboratory exercise and field 
trip contact time. No credit towards training credits is 
granted for breaks, meals, receptions, and time other than 
classroom, laboratory and field trip contact time. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 
form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 
may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 
23219. 

FORMS (18VAC160-20) 

Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Certificate of 
Completion, 19CPE (rev. 05/09). 

Application for Training Course Approval, 19CRS (rev. 
05/09). 

Experience Verification Form, 19EXP (eff. 07/09). 

Education & Training Substitution Form, 19ET_SUB (eff. 
07/09). 

Licensure Fee Notice, 19FEE (eff. 07/09). 
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Interim Onsite Soil Evaluator - VDH Employees Only 
License Application, 1930LIC (eff. 07/09). 

Interim Onsite Sewage System Installer License 
Application, 1931_32LIC (eff. 07/09). 

Interim Onsite Sewage System Operator License 
Application, 1933_34LIC (eff. 07/09). 

Onsite Soil Evaluator Exam & License Application, 
1940_41EXLIC (eff. 07/09). 

Onsite Sewage System Installer Exam & License 
Application, 1944_45EXLIC (eff. 07/09). 

Onsite Sewage System Operator Exam & License 
Application, 1942_43EXLIC (eff. 07/09). 

Suspension of Examination – Conventional Onsite Sewage 
System Installer License Application, 1944WAIV (eff. 07/12) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3199; Filed May 2, 2012, 10:57 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 21. SECURITIES AND RETAIL 
FRANCHISING 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 
of the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 21VAC5-80. Investment Advisors 
(amending 21VAC5-80-215).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13, 13.1-523 and 13.1-523.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 7, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Timothy O'Brien, Chief Examiner, 
Securities Division, State Corporation Commission, Tyler 
Building, 9th Floor, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 371-9415, FAX (804) 371-9911, or email 
timothy.o'brien@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The State Corporation Commission has adopted 
substantial changes to 21VAC5-80-215, which formerly 
exempted investment advisors to certain private funds from 
registration as an investment advisor under the Virginia 
Securities Act, § 13.1-501 et seq. of the Code of Virginia. 
The final regulation effectively repeals the stopgap 
provisions of the regulation and adopts in substantial part 

the model regulation developed by the members of the 
North American Securities Administrators Association, 
Inc. (the trade association of state securities regulators) to 
comply with the statutory requirements of the Dodd-Frank 
Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protections Act. 
21VAC5-80-215 generally exempts an investment advisor 
from state registration requirements if the advisor is (i) not 
subject to disqualification for registration based upon the 
advisor's prior disciplinary history, and (ii) solely advises 
certain types of funds that meet the definition of a 
qualifying private fund under the provisions of 17 CFR 
275.203(m)-1. The exemption covers advisors to venture 
capital funds and, in specific circumstances, advisors to 
funds that are eligible for exclusion from the definition of 
an investment company under § 3(c)(1) of the Investment 
Company Act of 1940. The regulation also contains a 
grandfather clause that allows currently exempt private 
fund advisors to remain exempt provided the advisor meets 
certain specified conditions. Private fund advisors 
registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission 
are not eligible. In addition, to qualify for the exemption, 
advisors must make certain notice filings and pay a notice 
filing fee. The only change from the proposed version of 
the regulation is a change in date from May 1, 2012, to 
May 7, 2012, in three places in 21VAC5-80-215 H. 

AT RICHMOND, MAY 4, 2012 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. SEC-2012-00009 

Ex Parte: In the matter of  
Adopting a Revision to the Rules 
Governing the Virginia Securities Act 

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDED RULES 

By Order entered on February 14, 2012, all interested 
persons were ordered to take notice that the State Corporation 
Commission ("Commission") would consider the adoption of 
a revision to Chapter 80 of Title 21 of the Virginia 
Administrative Code ("Regulations") entitled "Rules and 
Forms Governing Virginia Securities Act" ("Order to Take 
Notice"). On February 16, 2012, the Division of Securities 
and Retail Franchising ("Division") mailed the Order to Take 
Notice of the proposed Regulations to all interested parties 
pursuant to the Virginia Securities Act, § 13.1-501 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia. The Order to Take Notice described the 
proposed regulation and afforded interested parties an 
opportunity to file comments. 

The proposed amendment to Commission Rule ("Rule") 
21 VAC 5-80-215 replaces the temporary registration 
exemption for investment advisors created by the 
Commission in 2011. The temporary registration exemption 
was necessitated by the adoption of federal law known as the 
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Dodd Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection 
Act ("Dodd-Frank"). When the bill became law, a portion of 
Dodd-Frank increased regulation over private fund advisors 
that were previously unregulated under state and federal law 
by eliminating the private advisor exemption under Section 
203 (b) (3) of the Investment Advisors Act of 1940. Dodd-
Frank instructed the Securities and Exchange Commission 
("SEC") to promulgate rules to implement the new 
legislation, and while the SEC was crafting a new exemption 
for federal covered advisors, it granted an extension to private 
fund advisors formerly exempt prior to the adoption of Dodd-
Frank. 

The adoption of the SEC extension necessitated that 
Virginia address that portion of its regulations. The 
Commission addressed the gap in 2011 by amending Rule 
21 VAC 5-80-210 A 7, to remove the old exclusion for 
investment advisors that were exempt from registration under 
prior federal law and adopting an interim exemption, Rule 
21 VAC 5-80-215, to comport with the interim SEC 
exemption. This interim exemption expired on March 30, 
2012. 

The North American Securities Administrators Association, 
Inc. ("NASAA"), the trade association for the state securities 
regulators, assisted the states with the drafting of a model 
uniform exemption for state covered advisors. The proposed 
exemption allows certain specifically defined private fund 
advisors to be exempt from registration if the advisors 
provide specific disclosures and financial information to their 
customers. The proposed exemption was substantially vetted 
nationwide before being adopted by state regulators as the 
model rule. The model rule is a uniform approach to the 
exemption of certain private fund advisors who meet the 
express criteria in the proposed amended Rule 21 VAC 5-80-
215. Adoption of this exemption provides the investment 
advisory industry the ability to be uniformly regulated from 
state to state. 

The Division received timely filed comments from three law 
firms and one investment advisory trade association. None of 
those commenting requested a hearing. 

The California law firm of Gunderson Dettmer 
("Gunderson") requested that: (1) the Commission clarify that 
the definition of "3 (c) (1) fund"1 in Paragraph A. 4 of the 
proposed Rule does not include a § 3 (c) (7) fund; the 
Commission replace the definition of "qualified client" in 
Paragraph C. 1 of the proposed Rule with the definition of 
accredited investor found in 17 C.F.R. § 230.501 of the 
Securities Act of 1933 that is used for defining investors 
qualified for private offerings under the federal law; the 
Commission revise the proposed disclosure requirements of 
Paragraph C. 2 of the proposed Rule to only apply to non-
accredited investors;2 and the Commission should revise the 
proposed Rule, Paragraph H, a grandfathering provision to be 
effective on May 1, 2013. 

The Virginia law firm of Hirschler Fleischer ("Hirschler") 
filed comments. Hirschler also requested that the "qualified 
client" definition be replaced with "accredited investor."  The 
firm further requested that separate entities and accounts that 
follow a "private fund strategy" but do not qualify for the 
exemption be allowed to claim the exemption. In addition, 
Hirschler requested that "fund of funds" or feeder funds3 not 
be required to provide audited financial statements unless the 
funds that the feeder fund invests in also produced audited 
financial statements. 

The third comment was from the Virginia law firm of 
Hunton and Williams ("Hunton"). The firm's comments also 
included a request that the "qualified client" definition be 
replaced with the "accredited investor" definition. In addition, 
Hunton commented that the proposed exemption was 
different from that proposed by the SEC and that venture 
capital funds appear to have distinguishing treatment. Further, 
Hunton stated that the mandated disclosures in Paragraph C. 2 
are vague. Finally, Hunton requested that the grandfathering 
provision in Paragraph H. 4 be extended. 

On April 26, 2012, the Division filed a response to the 
comments filed with the Commission in which it addressed 
each of the commenter’s suggested revisions. The Division 
recommended that the Commission adopt the Rule as 
proposed, primarily because the changes requested would be 
detrimental to private fund advisors claiming the exemptions. 
The Division states that non-uniformity among states could 
cause confusion and difficulty with compliance for private 
fund advisors. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 
proposed amendment to the Rule, the filed comments, the 
Division’s response, and the record in this case, is of the 
opinion and finds that the proposed amendment to the Rule 
should be adopted. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed Rule is attached hereto, made a part 
hereof, and is hereby ADOPTED effective May 7, 2012. 

(2) This matter is dismissed from the Commission's docket, 
and the papers herein shall be placed in the file for ended 
causes. 

AN ATTESTED COPY of this Order shall be sent to each 
of the following by regular mail by the Division to: S. Brian 
Farmer, Esquire, Hirschler Fleischer, P.O. Box 500, 
Richmond, Virginia 23218-0500; David T. Bellaire, General 
Counsel, Financial Services Institute, 607 14th Street, N.W., 
Washington, D.C. 20005; Cyane B. Crump, Esquire, Hunton 
& Williams, LLP, Riverfront Plaza, East Tower, 951 East 
Byrd Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219; and Sean Caplice, 
Esquire, Gunderson Dettmer, 1200 Seaport Boulevard, 
Redwood City, California 94063; the North American 
Securities Administrators Association, Inc., 750 First Street, 
N.E., Suite 1140, Washington, D.C. 20002; the Commission's 
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Division of Information Resources; the Commission's Office 
of General Counsel; and such other persons as the Division 
deems appropriate. 

______________________________ 
1 A 3 (c) (1) fund is a fund that is eligible for the exclusion from the 
definition of an investment company under § 3 (c) (a) of the Investment 
Company Act of 1940. 
2 This request assumes that the Commission would replace the definition of 
"qualified client" with "accredited investor." 
3 Fund of funds or feeder funds are companies that invest in other fund 
companies and make no direct investments. 

21VAC5-80-215. Exemption for certain private advisors. 

Registration under the Act shall not be required of any 
investment advisor or its investment advisor representative 
whose only client is or clients are a corporation, general 
partnership, limited partnership, limited liability company, 
trust, or other legal organization that: 

1. Has assets of not less than $5,000,000 and 

2. Receives investment advice based on its investment 
objectives rather than the individual investment objectives 
of its shareholders, partners, limited partners, members, or 
beneficiaries, provided the investment advisor was exempt 
from registration pursuant to § 203(b)(3) of the Investment 
Advisors Act of 1940 immediately prior to July 21, 2011, 
and the investment advisor is subject to SEC Rule 203-1(e) 
granting an extension to investment advisors formerly 
exempt from registration under § 203(b)(3) of the 
Investment Advisers Act of 1940 until March 30, 2012, 
who would otherwise have been required to register with 
the SEC by July 21, 2011. 

A. For purposes of this section, the following definitions 
shall apply: 

1. "Value of primary residence" means the fair market 
value of a person's primary residence, subtracted by the 
amount of debt secured by the property up to its fair 
market value. 

2. "Private fund advisor" means an investment advisor who 
provides advice solely to one or more qualifying private 
funds. 

3. "Qualifying private fund" means a private fund that 
meets the definition of a qualifying private fund in SEC 
Rule 203(m)-1, 17 CFR 275.203(m)-1. 

4. "3(c)(1) fund" means a qualifying private fund that is 
eligible for the exclusion from the definition of an 
investment company under § 3(c)(1) of the Investment 
Company Act of 1940, 15 USC § 80a-3(c)(1). 

5. "Venture capital fund" means a private fund that meets 
the definition of a venture capital fund in SEC Rule 203(l)-
1, 17 CFR 275.203(l)-1. 

B. Subject to the additional requirements of subsection C of 
this section, a private fund advisor shall be exempt from the 

registration requirements of § 13.1-504 of the Act if the 
private fund advisor satisfies each of the following 
conditions: 

1. Neither the private fund advisor nor any of its advisory 
affiliates are subject to a disqualification as described in 
Rule 262 of SEC Regulation A, 17 CFR 230.262; 

2. The private fund advisor files with the commission each 
report and amendment thereto that an exempt reporting 
advisor is required to file with the Securities and Exchange 
Commission pursuant to SEC Rule 204-4, 
17 CFR 275.204-4; and 

3. The private fund advisor pays a notice fee in the amount 
of $250. 

C. In order to qualify for the exemption described in 
subsection B of this section, a private fund advisor who 
advises at least one (3)(c)(1) fund that is not a venture capital 
fund shall, in addition to satisfying each of the conditions 
specified in subsection B of this section, comply with the 
following requirements: 

1. The private fund advisor shall advise only those 3(c)(1) 
funds (other than venture capital funds) whose outstanding 
securities (other than short-term paper) are beneficially 
owned entirely by persons who, after deducting the value 
of the primary residence from the person's net worth, 
would each meet the definition of a qualified client in SEC 
Rule 205-3, 17 CFR 275.205-3, at the time the securities 
are purchased from the issuer; 

2. At the time of purchase, the private fund advisor shall 
disclose the following in writing to each beneficial owner 
of a 3(c)(1) fund that is not a venture capital fund: 

a. All services, if any, to be provided to individual 
beneficial owners; 

b. All duties, if any, the investment advisor owes to the 
beneficial owners; and 

c. Any other material information affecting the rights or 
responsibilities of the beneficial owners; and 

3. The private fund advisor shall obtain on an annual basis 
audited financial statements of each 3(c)(1) fund that is not 
a venture capital fund, and shall deliver a copy of such 
audited financial statements to each beneficial owner of the 
fund. 

D. If a private fund advisor is registered with the Securities 
and Exchange Commission, the advisor shall not be eligible 
for this exemption and shall comply with the notice filing 
requirements applicable to federal covered investment 
advisors in § 13.1-504 of the Act. 

E. A person is exempt from the registration requirements of 
§ 13.1-504 of the Act if he is employed by or associated with 
an investment advisor that is exempt from registration in this 
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Commonwealth pursuant to this section and does not 
otherwise act as an investment advisor representative. 

F. The report filings described in subdivision B 2 of this 
section shall be made electronically through the IARD 
system. A report shall be deemed filed when the report and 
the notice fee required by subdivision B 3 of this section are 
filed and accepted by the IARD system on the commission's 
behalf. 

G. An investment advisor who becomes ineligible for the 
exemption provided by this section must comply with all 
applicable laws and regulations requiring registration or 
notice filing within 90 days from the date the investment 
advisor's eligibility for this exemption ceases. 

H. An investment advisor to a 3(c)(1) fund (other than a 
venture capital fund) that has one or more beneficial owners 
who are not qualified clients as described in subdivision C 1 
of this section is eligible for the exemption contained in 
subsection B of this section if the following conditions are 
satisfied: 

1. The subject fund existed prior to May [ 1 7 ], 2012; 

2. As of May [ 1 7 ], 2012, the subject fund ceases to 
accept beneficial owners who are not qualified clients, as 
described in subdivision C 1 of this section; 

3. The investment advisor discloses in writing the 
information described in subdivision C 2 of this section to 
all beneficial owners of the fund; and 

4. As of May [ 1 7 ], 2012, the investment advisor delivers 
audited financial statements as required by subdivision C 3 
of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3113; Filed May 4, 2012, 3:45 p.m.  



GOVERNOR 

GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 44 (2011) 

Continuing the Domestic Violence Prevention and 
Response Advisory Board 

Importance of the Issue 

The preservation of peace in our communities and the 
protection of all citizens of the Commonwealth from violence 
are fundamental priorities of government. Unfortunately, 
every year, thousands of Virginians suffer the indignity of 
domestic violence and experience emotional, physical, 
psychological and financial harm as a result of these crimes. 
Victimization strikes people of all ages and abilities, as well 
as all economic, racial, and social backgrounds. Furthermore, 
the physical and emotional trauma suffered by victims of 
domestic and sexual violence, often compounded by silence 
and stigma surrounding the crime, calls for special attention 
in our prevention and response efforts.  

According to the Virginia Department of State Police, 4,758 
violent sex offenses, including rape, sodomy, and sexual 
assault with an object, were reported in 2011 in jurisdictions 
throughout the Commonwealth. These acts of violence 
resulted in 3,133 victims aged seventeen and under. 
Unfortunately, these numbers do not reflect the complete 
picture relating to acts of sexual and domestic violence in 
Virginia because many victims do not report the incident to 
law enforcement. 

Domestic and sexual violence impacts all segments of our 
society, and as long as instances of these acts of violence 
exist, Virginia must continue the fight against these heinous 
crimes.  

In April 2010, the U.S. Department of Education, the Federal 
Bureau of Investigation, and the U.S. Secret Service released 
a report indicating that the incidents of college campus 
violence have drastically increased in the past 20 years. One 
in five women who attend college will be the victim of a 
sexual assault during her four years on campus. The 
Commonwealth's institutions of higher education, as 
demonstrated by events over the last several years, are not 
immune from these acts of campus violence. 

To make Virginia's citizens, families, and communities safer, 
it is appropriate that the Commonwealth dedicate resources to 
prevent, combat and reduce domestic violence in Virginia.  

Establishment of the Domestic Violence Prevention and 
Response Advisory Board 

While many localities have taken necessary steps to address 
domestic violence in their communities, public policymakers 
must continuously strive to improve the services and support 
for Virginia's domestic violence victims and survivors. 
Statewide collaboration is essential in order to provide 
services to victims; to create programs aimed at preventing 

and responding to such tragedies; and to hold offenders 
accountable.  

The Domestic Violence Prevention and Response Advisory 
Board, established on October 1, 2010, considered and 
endorsed nineteen recommendations. The recommendations 
are intended to provide an initial conceptual framework for 
improving services to children exposed to domestic violence, 
clarifying protective order processes, enhancing services and 
community response to traditionally underserved victims, and 
making Virginia's college campuses safer. The full report can 
be found at 
http://www.publicsafety.virginia.gov/Initiatives/DV/DVPreve
ntion-Response-2011-Report.pdf. 

Accordingly, by virtue of the authority vested in me as 
Governor, under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and 
under the laws of the Commonwealth, including but not 
limited to Section 2.2-134 of the Code of Virginia, and 
subject always to my continuing and ultimate authority and 
responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby continue the 
Governor's Domestic Violence Prevention and Response 
Advisory Board. This Board will continue to work with state 
agencies, local agencies, and stakeholders to consider ways to 
implement the 2011 recommendations and where appropriate, 
make any other findings and recommendations for 
Improvement to our laws, policies and procedures to enhance 
Virginia's response to domestic violence at all levels.  

This Advisory Board will continue to promote ongoing 
collaboration among relevant state and local agencies, as well 
as private sector and community partners involved in 
domestic violence prevention, enforcement, response and 
recovery efforts.  

Composition of the Advisory Board 

The Governor's Domestic Violence Prevention and Response 
Advisory Board shall operate under the direction of the 
Secretary of Public Safety. Recognizing that these efforts will 
require the work of individuals across a broad spectrum of 
professions and with varying expertise, the Advisory Board 
shall consist of designees from the following agencies and 
organizations: 

Office of the Attorney General; 
Supreme Court of Virginia; 
Commonwealth's Attorneys' Services Council; 
Virginia Association of Commonwealth's Attorneys; 
Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police; 
Virginia Sheriffs' Association; 
Virginia Department for the Aging; 
Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services; 
Virginia Department of Corrections; 
Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services; 
Virginia Department of Education; 
Virginia Department of Health; 
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Virginia Department of Housing and Community 
Development; 
Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice; 
Virginia Department of Social Services; 
Virginia Department of State Police; 
Virginia State Crime Commission; 
Family and Children's Trust Fund of Virginia; 
Virginia Center on Aging; 
Virginia Poverty Law Center; 
Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund; 
Virginia Sexual and Domestic Violence Action Alliance; 
Virginia Association of Campus Law Enforcement 
Administrators, Inc.; 
Virginia Chapter of the International Association of 
Forensic Nurses; 
Virginia Network for Victims and Witnesses of Crime, 
Inc.; and 
Representatives from the Virginia Senate and House of 
Delegates. 

Other members may be added at the discretion of the 
Secretary of Public Safety. 

Staff support to the Advisory Board shall be provided by the 
Office of the Governor, the Office of the Secretary of Public 
Safety, the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services, 
the Virginia Department of Social Services, and such other 
agencies as the Governor may designate. All Cabinet 
Secretariats and executive branch agencies shall cooperate 
fully with the Advisory Board and render such assistance as 
may be requested. 

Duties of the Advisory Board 

The Advisory Board's responsibilities shall include:  

• Assisting with the implementation of adopted 
recommendations in the Board's 2011 Report; 

• Recommending strategies for improving services to 
children who have experienced, witnessed, or been 
exposed to the effects of domestic violence;  

• Continuing to make recommendations as necessary to 
improve Virginia's protective order process and 
providing input regarding how to further enhance the 
enforcement of protective orders;  

• Working with community partners and state agencies to 
enhance services and community response to victims of 
domestic violence who are traditionally underserved; and  

• Continuing to investigate ways to make Virginia's college 
campuses safer and reduce incidents of violence of all 
kinds, to include sexual assault on campuses.  

The Advisory Board shall submit to the Governor its report 
regarding implementation activities relating to the 2011 
recommendations and any additional findings and 
recommendations on matters potentially impacting the 

development of the Executive Budget no later than September 
15, 2012. The Board shall submit a final report of its 
activities, no later than December 1, 2012. Should the 
Advisory Board be extended beyond a year, this pattern of 
reporting shall continue for the duration of the Board. 

An estimated 200 hours of staff time will be required to 
support the work of the Commission. 

Necessary funding to support the Commission and its staff 
shall be provided from federal funds, private contributions, 
and state funds appropriated for the same purposes as the 
Advisory Board, as authorized by Section 2.2-135 of the 
Code of Virginia, as well as any other private sources of 
funding that may be identified. Estimated direct costs for this 
Commission are $5,000.00 per year.  

This Executive Order shall be effective April 25, 2012, and 
shall remain in full force and effect until one year from its 
signing, unless amended or rescinded by further executive 
order. 

Given under my hand and under Seal of the Commonwealth 
of Virginia this 25th day of April 2012. 

/s/ Robert F. McDonnell 
Governor 
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STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 
Air Pollution Control Board has conducted a small business 
impact review of 9VAC5-220, Variance for Rocket Motor 
Test Operations at Atlantic Research Corporation Orange 
County Facility, and determined that this regulation should 
be retained in its current form. The State Air Pollution 
Control Board is publishing its report of findings dated April 
13, 2012, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-
4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides the source 
with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling ongoing state 
and federal requirements that protect air quality. The 
regulation's level of complexity is appropriate to ensure that 
the regulated entity is able to meet its legal mandates as 
efficiently and cost effectively as possible. This regulation 
does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any state law or 
other state regulation. This regulation was last reviewed in 
2002. In that time, it has gotten generally less expensive to 
characterize, measure, and mitigate the regulated pollutants 
that contribute to poor air quality. This regulation continues 
to provide the most efficient and cost-effective means to 
determine the level and impact of excess emissions and to 
control those excess emissions. The department, through 
examination of the regulation, has determined that the 
regulatory requirements currently minimize the economic 
impact of emission control regulations on small businesses 
and thereby minimize the impact on existing and potential 
Virginia employers and their ability to maintain and increase 
the number of jobs in the Commonwealth.  

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 
698-4346, or email cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 
Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects 
conducted a small business impact review of 18VAC10-11, 
Public Participation Guidelines, and determined that this 
regulation should be retained in its current form. The Board 
for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors and 
Landscape Architects is publishing its report of findings dated 
December 30, 2011, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

1. The current regulations are necessary for the board to 
comply with § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia and 
Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly.  

2. No public comments were received.  

3. The regulations are not complex in nature.  

4. The regulations do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state laws or regulations.  

5. The regulations were last effective on August 8, 2008, 
with the adoption of the Model Public Participation 
Guidelines pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly.  

No small business impact has been identified. 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 
Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects 
conducted a small business impact review of 18VAC10-20, 
Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land 
Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers and Landscape 
Architects Regulations, and determined that this regulation 
should be retained in its current form. The Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects is publishing its 
report of findings dated December 30, 2011, to support this 
decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of 
Virginia. 

1. The current regulations establish minimum licensing 
requirements for architects, professional engineers, land 
surveyors, and landscape architects. Minimum standards 
are necessary for these professions because these 
individuals design the very infrastructure of the country 
including buildings, bridges, and other important structures. 
Ensuring that these professionals meet minimum education, 
training, experience, and examination standards is crucial 
for the protection of the public health, safety, and welfare. 

2. Only one public comment was received. The comment 
recommends allowing professionals, who originally 
authored plans, to be allowed to come back at any time and 
amend those plans. This is not consistent with the board's 
responsibility to ensure that only minimally qualified 
professionals edit plans. Minimal qualifications are, in part, 
established through a 16-hour continuing education 
requirement, along with requiring that an individual is 
currently licensed. 
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3. The regulations are not complex in nature. 

4. The regulations do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state laws or regulations but instead work in 
concert with them. 

5. Apart from this periodic review, the regulations are 
currently under general review to amend the language to 
ensure that it is written clearly and is easily understandable. 
In the current general regulatory review, each profession-
specific requirement was evaluated and the regulations 
were studied on a macro level to ensure consistent language 
in similarly themed areas of the regulations by 
implementing the simplest form of text to achieve the most 
clarity for all affected members of the public. The current 
proposed regulations were approved by the Secretary of 
Commerce and Trade on August 15, 2011, and are now 
being reviewed by the Governor. 

No small business impact has been identified. 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, MOLD, 
AND HOME INSPECTORS 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Board for Asbestos, Lead, Mold, and Home Inspectors 
conducted a small business impact review of 18VAC15-11, 
Public Participation Guidelines, and determined that this 
regulation should be retained in its current form. The Virginia 
Board for Asbestos, Lead, Mold, and Home Inspectors is 
publishing its report of findings dated November 21, 2011, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
board to solicit the input of interested parties in the formation 
and development of its regulations. Therefore, the continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing Public Participation Guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the board is better equipped to ensure that 
individuals licensed as asbestos, lead, mold, and home 
inspectors in Virginia have met minimum competencies. 
Since no complaints or comments were received during the 
public comment period, there does not appear to be a reason 
to amend or repeal the regulation. The regulation is clearly 
written and easily understandable. The regulation does not 
overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 

regulation. The most recent periodic review of the regulation 
occurred in 2008 that resulted in the repeal of 18VAC15-10, 
the existing Public Participation Guidelines at that time, and 
adoption of 18VAC15-11, model Public Participation 
Guidelines. The board discussed and, for the reasons stated in 
this section, determined that the regulation should not be 
amended or repealed, but should be retained in its current 
form. Family impact 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Board for Asbestos, Lead, Mold, and Home Inspectors 
conducted a small business impact review of 18VAC15-20, 
Virginia Asbestos Licensing Regulations, and determined 
that this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 
Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, Mold, and Home 
Inspectors is publishing its report of findings dated November 
21, 2011, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-
4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia mandates the board 
to promulgate regulations and standards for the training and 
licensing of asbestos workers, supervisors, inspectors, 
management planners, project designers, and project 
monitors. Therefore, the continued need for the regulation is 
established in statute. The regulation is necessary to protect 
public health, safety, and welfare and ensure that individuals 
licensed as asbestos workers, supervisors, inspectors, 
management planners, project designers, and project monitors 
have met minimum competencies. No complaints and only 
two comments were received during the public comment 
period. One comment was in support of the regulation and a 
mechanism is already in place to address the concern in the 
second comment received. Therefore, there does not appear to 
be a reason to amend or repeal the regulation. The regulation 
is clearly written and easily understandable. The regulation 
does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state 
law or regulation. The most recent periodic review of the 
regulation occurred in 2008, which amended the asbestos 
contractor responsibilities section and established project 
monitor responsibilities. The board discussed and, for the 
reasons stated in this section, determined that the regulation 
should not be amended or repealed, but should be retained in 
their current form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 
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Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Board for Asbestos, Lead, Mold, and Home Inspectors 
conducted a small business impact review of 18VAC15-30, 
Virginia Lead-Based Paint Activities Regulations, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, Mold, 
and Home Inspectors is publishing its report of findings dated 
November 21, 2011, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-501 mandates the board to promulgate 
regulations and standards for the training and licensing of 
lead-abatement workers, supervisors, inspectors, project 
designers, and risk assessors. Therefore, the continued need 
for the regulation is established in statute. The regulation is 
necessary to protect public health, safety, and welfare and 
ensure that individuals licensed as lead-abatement workers, 
supervisors, inspectors, project designers, and risk assessors 
in Virginia have met minimum competencies. Since no 
complaints or comments were received during the public 
comment period, there does not appear to be a reason to 
amend or repeal the regulation. The regulation is clearly 
written and easily understandable. The regulation does not 
overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 
regulation. The most recent periodic review of the regulation 
occurred in 2010 that resulted in proposed amendments to the 
regulation, including the sections regarding qualifications for 
individual licensure; renewal required; qualifications for 
renewal; professional responsibility; and grounds for denial 
of application, denial of renewal, or discipline. This is being 
done to clarify training requirements upon entry and renewal 
and to reiterate that training must be kept current as well as 
the license. Currently the proposed amendments are 
undergoing Executive Branch Review. The board discussed 
and, for the reasons stated in this section, determined that the 
regulation should not be amended or repealed, but should be 
retained in their current form. 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Board for Asbestos, Lead, Mold, and Home Inspectors 
conducted a small business impact review of 18VAC15-40, 
Virginia Certified Home  Inspectors Regulations, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, Mold, 
and Home Inspectors is publishing its report of findings dated 
November 21, 2011, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia mandates the board 
to promulgate regulations and standards for the training and 
licensing of certified home inspectors. Therefore, the 
continued need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety and 
welfare and ensure that individuals licensed as certified home 
inspectors in Virginia have met minimum competencies. 
Since no complaints or comments were received during the 
public comment period, there does not appear to be a reason 
to amend or repeal the regulation. The regulation is clearly 
written and easily understandable. The regulation does not 
overlap, duplicate or conflict with federal or state law or 
regulation. The most recent periodic review of the regulation 
occurred in 2007 which resulted in amendments to the 
regulation. Those amendments were to the definitions, the 
qualifications for certification, the certified home inspection 
contract provisions, the certified home inspection report 
provisions, the conflict of interest provisions, and the 
unworthiness and incompetence provisions. A continuing 
professional education requirement was added. Several 
sections were amended to conform to DPOR's Model 
Regulations and had no substantive impact. In addition, a 
fast-track amendment is currently undergoing executive 
branch review that removes the requirement that training 
courses have to be taken in a classroom setting to be accepted 
as meeting the Certified Home Inspector entry requirements. 
The current regulations allow Continuing Professional 
Education to be taken outside of a classroom setting, such as 
online courses, and this amendment will make the regulations 
regarding pre-certification training and continuing 
professional education requirements to be more consistent 
with each other. The Board discussed and, for the reasons 
stated in this section, determined that the regulation should 
not be amended or repealed, but should be retained in its 
current form.   

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Board for Asbestos, Lead, Mold, and Home Inspectors 
conducted a small business impact review of 18VAC15-60, 
Mold Inspector and Mold Remediator Licensing 
Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Virginia Board for Asbestos, 
Lead, Mold, and Home Inspectors is publishing its report of 
findings dated November 21, 2011, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-501 mandates the board to promulgate 
regulations and standards for the training and licensing of 
mold remediator workers, remediator supervisors, and 
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inspectors. Therefore, the continued need for the regulation is 
established in statute. The regulation is necessary to protect 
public health, safety, and welfare and ensure that individuals 
licensed as mold remediator workers, remediator supervisors, 
and inspectors in Virginia have met minimum competencies. 
Ten comments were received during the public comment 
period. Comments included support of the regulation as well 
as support for the repeal of the regulation. Given that 
licensure of mold inspectors and mold remediators is required 
by the Code of Virginia, rescission of the regulation would 
cause the board to be out of compliance with the enabling 
statute. Other comments received are addressed by the current 
regulations or are outside of the board's authority. A number 
of the comments were general and did not provide a specific 
way to address the expressed concern through regulation. 
Therefore, the board did not find a reason to amend or repeal 
the regulation. The regulation is clearly written and easily 
understandable. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 
conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The regulation 
was first effective July 1, 2011, and this periodic and small 
business review is the only periodic review of the regulation. 
The board discussed and, for the reasons stated in this section, 
determined that the regulation should not be amended or 
repealed, but should be retained in their current form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

AUCTIONEERS BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Auctioneers Board conducted a small business impact review 
of 18VAC25-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Auctioneers Board is publishing its report 
of findings dated January 19, 2012, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

1. The current regulations are necessary for the board to 
comply with § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia and 
Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly.  

2. No public comments were received.  

3 The regulations are not complex in nature.  

4. The regulations do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state laws or regulations.  

5. The regulations were last effective on December 24, 
2008, with the adoption of the Model Public Participation 
Guidelines pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly. No small business impact has been identified. 
Family impact 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director 
for Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, 
FAX (804) 527-4403, or email 
mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Auctioneers Board conducted a small business impact review 
of 18VAC25-21, Regulations of the Virginia Auctioneers 
Board, and determined that this regulation should be retained 
in its current form. The Auctioneers Board is publishing its 
report of findings dated January 19, 2012, to support this 
decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of 
Virginia. 

1. The current regulations establish minimum licensing 
requirements for auctioneers and auction firms. Ensuring 
that these individuals meet minimum education, training, 
and examination standards is crucial for the protection of 
the public health, safety, and welfare.  

2. No public comments were received. Minimal 
qualifications are, in part, established through a 6-hour 
continuing education requirement, along with requiring that 
an individual is currently licensed.  

3. The regulations are not complex in nature.  

4. The regulations do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state laws or regulations but instead work in 
concert with them.  

5. Apart from this periodic review, the regulations are 
currently under general review to amend the language to 
ensure that it is written clearly and is easily understandable. 
The current proposed regulations were approved by the 
Secretary of Commerce and Trade on November 11, 2010, 
and are now being reviewed by the Governor.  

No small business impact has been identified. 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a small business 
impact review of 18VAC41-11, Public Participation 
Guidelines, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology is publishing its report of findings dated 
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December 27, 2011, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
board to solicit the input of interested parties in the formation 
and development of its regulations. Therefore, the continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing Public Participation Guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the board is better equipped to ensure 
individuals and businesses licensed or certified by the board 
have met minimum competencies. Since no complaints or 
comments were received during the public comment period, 
there does not appear to be a reason to amend or repeal the 
regulation. The regulation is clearly written and easily 
understandable. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 
conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The most 
recent periodic review of the regulation occurred in 2008 
which resulted in the repeal of 18VAC41-10, the existing 
Public Participation Guidelines at that time, and adoption of 
18VAC41-11, model Public Participation Guidelines. The 
board discussed the regulation and, for the reasons stated in 
this section, determined that the regulation should not be 
amended or repealed, but should be retained in its current 
form. 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a small business 
impact review of 18VAC41-30, Hair Braiding Regulations, 
and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Board for Barbers and Cosmetology is 
publishing its report of findings dated December 27, 2011, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology to promulgate 
regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 
established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 
the current public protections provided by the regulation. The 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology provides protection for 
the safety and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth 
by ensuring that only those individuals that meet specific 
criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations are eligible to 
receive a hair braiding, hair braider salon, or hair braider 
school license or temporary license. The board is also tasked 
with ensuring that its regulants meet standards of practice that 

are set forth in the regulations. No comments or complaints 
were received during the public comment period. The 
regulation is clearly written, easily understandable, and does 
not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 
regulation. The most recent evaluation occurred in 2006. The 
board discussed the regulation and, for the reasons stated in 
this section, determined that the regulation should not be 
amended or repealed, but should be retained in its current 
form. 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a small business 
impact review of 18VAC41-40, Wax Technician 
Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology is publishing its report of findings dated 
December 27, 2011, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology to promulgate 
regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 
established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 
the current public protections provided by the regulation. The 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology provides protection for 
the safety and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth 
by ensuring that only those individuals that meet specific 
criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations are eligible to 
receive a wax technician, wax technician instructor, waxing 
salon, or waxing school license or temporary license. The 
board is also tasked with ensuring that its regulants meet 
standards of practice that are set forth in the regulations. No 
comments or complaints were received during the public 
comment period. The regulation is clearly written, easily 
understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state law or regulation. The most recent 
evaluation occurred in 2004. The board discussed the 
regulation and, for the reasons stated in this section, 
determined that the regulation should not be amended or 
repealed, but should be retained in its current form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 
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Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a small business 
impact review of 18VAC41-50, Tattooing Regulations, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Board for Barbers and Cosmetology is 
publishing its report of findings dated December 27, 2011, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology to promulgate 
regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 
established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 
the current public protections provided by the regulation. The 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology provides protection for 
the safety and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth 
by ensuring that only those individuals that meet specific 
criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations are eligible to 
receive a tattooer, tattooer apprentice, limited term tattooer, 
permanent cosmetic tattooer, master permanent cosmetic 
tattooer, tattooing instructor, permanent cosmetic tattooing 
instructor, tattoo parlor, limited term tattoo parlor, permanent 
cosmetic tattoo salon, tattooing school, or permanent 
cosmetic tattooing school license. The board is also tasked 
with ensuring that its regulants meet standards of practice that 
are set forth in the regulations. Comments received during the 
public comment period revolved around a select few points, 
mainly (i) the perceived lack of enforcement of the unlicensed 
practice of tattooing and (ii) the differentiation of permanent 
cosmetic tattooing from tattooing. The regulation is clearly 
written, easily understandable, and does not overlap, 
duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 
The most recent evaluation occurred in 2006. The board 
discussed the regulation and, for the reasons stated in this 
section, determined that the regulation should not be amended 
or repealed, but should be retained in its current form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a small business 
impact review of 18VAC41-60, Body-Piercing Regulations, 
and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Board for Barbers and Cosmetology is 
publishing its report of findings dated December 27, 2011, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology to promulgate 

regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 
established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 
the current public protections provided by the regulation. The 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology provides protection for 
the safety and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth 
by ensuring that only those individuals that meet specific 
criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations are eligible to 
receive a body piercer, body piercer salon, body piercer 
apprentice, body piercer ear only, or body piercer ear only 
salon license. The board is also tasked with ensuring that its 
regulants meet standards of practice that are set forth in the 
regulations. Comments received during the public comment 
period revolved around a select few points, mainly (i) the 
perceived lack of enforcement of safety and sanitation 
procedures and (ii) the differentiation of ear only body 
piercing from body piercing. The regulation is clearly written, 
easily understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or 
conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The most 
recent evaluation occurred in 2007. The board discussed the 
regulation and, for the reasons stated in this section, 
determined that the regulation should not be amended or 
repealed, but should be retained in its current form. Family 
impact 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology has conducted a small business 
impact review of 18VAC41-70, Esthetics Regulations, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Board for Barbers and Cosmetology is 
publishing its report of findings dated December 27, 2011, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology to promulgate 
regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 
established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 
the current public protections provided by the regulation. The 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology provides protection for 
the safety and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth 
by ensuring that only those individuals that meet specific 
criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations are eligible to 
receive an esthetician, master esthetician, esthetics instructor, 
master esthetics instructor, esthetics spa, or esthetics school 
license or temporary license. The board is also tasked with 
ensuring that its regulants meet standards of practice that are 
set forth in the regulations. Comments received during the 
public comment period revolved around a select few points, 
mainly (i) the master esthetics practical exam and (ii) the 
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desire for the board to require continuing education. The 
regulation is clearly written, easily understandable, and does 
not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 
regulation. The most recent evaluation occurred in 2007. The 
board discussed the regulation and, for the reasons stated in 
this section, determined that the regulation should not be 
amended or repealed, but should be retained in its current 
form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR BRANCH PILOTS 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Branch Pilots conducted a small business impact review 
of 18VAC45-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Board for Branch Pilots is publishing its 
report of findings dated December 30, 2011, to support this 
decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of 
Virginia. 

1. The current regulations are necessary for the board to 
comply with § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia and 
Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly.  

2. No public comments were received.  

3. The regulations are not complex in nature.  

4. The regulations do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state laws or regulations.  

5. The regulations were last effective on August 8, 2008, 
with the adoption of the model Public Participation 
Guidelines pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly.  

No small business impact has been identified.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Branch Pilots conducted a small business impact review 
of 18VAC45-20, Board for Branch Pilots Regulations, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Board for Branch Pilots is publishing its 
report of findings dated December 30, 2011, to support this 

decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of 
Virginia. 

1. The current regulations are necessary to ensure that only 
minimally qualified individuals operate large vessels in 
Virginia's waterways, which is crucial for the protection to 
the public health, safety, and welfare.  

2. No public comments were received.  

3. The regulations are not complex in nature. 

4. The regulations do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state laws or regulations.  

5. Apart from this periodic review, the regulations are 
currently in the final stage of general review. The final 
regulations were approved by the Secretary of Commerce 
and Trade on October 3, 2011, and are currently being 
reviewed by the Governor.  

No small business impact has been identified.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

CEMETERY BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Cemetery Board conducted a small business impact review of 
18VAC47-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Cemetery Board is publishing its report of 
findings dated March 1, 2012, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
board to solicit the input of interested parties in the formation 
and development of its regulations. Therefore, the continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing Public Participation Guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the board is better equipped to ensure 
licensed cemetery companies and registered sales personnel 
have met minimum competencies. Since no complaints or 
comments were received during the public comment period, 
there does not appear to be a reason to amend or repeal the 
regulation. The regulation is clearly written and easily 
understandable. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 
conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The most 
recent periodic review of the regulation occurred in 2008 that 
resulted in the repeal of 18VAC47-10, the existing Public 
Participation Guidelines at that time, and adoption of 
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18VAC47-11, model Public Participation Guidelines. The 
board discussed the regulation and, for the reasons stated in 
this section, determined that the regulation should not be 
amended or repealed, but should be retained in its current 
form.   

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Cemetery Board conducted a small business impact review of 
18VAC47-20, Cemetery Board Rules and Regulations, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Cemetery Board is publishing its report of 
findings dated March 7, 2012, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Cemetery Board to promulgate regulations. The continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the 
regulation would remove the current public protections 
provided by the regulation. The Cemetery Board provides 
protection to the safety and welfare of the citizens of the 
Commonwealth by ensuring that only those individuals who 
meet specific criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations 
are eligible to receive a cemetery company license and sales 
personnel registration. The board is also tasked with ensuring 
that its regulants meet standards of practice that are set forth 
in the regulations. No comments or complaints were received 
during the public comment period. The regulation is clearly 
written, easily understandable, and does not overlap, 
duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 
The most recent evaluation occurred in 2007. The board 
discussed the regulation and, for the reasons stated in this 
section, determined that the regulation should not be amended 
or repealed, but should be retained in its current form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Common Interest Community Board conducted a small 
business impact review of 18VAC48-10, Public 
Participation Guidelines, and determined that this regulation 
should be retained in its current form. The Common Interest 
Community Board is publishing its report of findings dated 

December 8, 2011, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
board to solicit the input of interested parties in the formation 
and development of its regulations. Therefore, the continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing Public Participation Guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the board is better equipped to effectively 
regulate common interest communities. Since no complaints 
or comments were received during the public comment 
period, there does not appear to be a reason to amend or 
repeal the regulation. The regulation is clearly written and 
easily understandable. The regulation does not overlap, 
duplicate, or contravene federal or state law or regulation. 
This is the first periodic review of the regulation since 
becoming effective in 2008. At its December 1, 2011, 
meeting, the board discussed the regulation and, for the 
reasons stated in this section, determined that the regulation 
should not be amended or repealed, but should be retained in 
its current form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Common Interest Community Board conducted a small 
business impact review of 18VAC48-20, Condominium 
Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Common Interest 
Community Board is publishing its report of findings dated 
December 8, 2011, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 55-79.98 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Common Interest Community Board to promulgate 
regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 
established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 
the current public protections provided by the regulation.  

No comments or complaints were received during the public 
comment period. The regulation is clearly written, easily 
understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or 
contravene federal or state law or regulation.  

Through emergency and final regulations, which became 
effective on July 9, 2009, the regulations were transferred 
from the Real Estate Board to the Common Interest 
Community Board. The most recent action taken was through 
the fast-track process to promulgate regulations governing the 
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return of bonds and letters of credit as authorized by § 55-
79.84:1 of the Code of Virginia. This action became effective 
April 1, 2011. The regulation is currently undergoing a 
general review. At its December 1, 2011, meeting, the board 
discussed the regulation and, for the reasons stated in this 
section, determined that the regulation should not be amended 
or repealed, but should be retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Common Interest Community Board conducted a small 
business impact review of 18VAC48-40, Time-share 
Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Common Interest 
Community Board is publishing its report of findings dated 
December 8, 2011, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 55-396 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Common Interest Community Board to promulgate 
regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 
established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 
the current public protections provided by the regulation.  

No comments or complaints were received during the public 
comment period. The regulation is clearly written, easily 
understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or 
contravene federal or state law or regulation.  

Through final regulations, which became effective on 
November 27, 2008, the regulations were transferred from the 
Real Estate Board to the Common Interest Community 
Board.  

At its December 1, 2011, meeting, the board discussed the 
regulation and, for the reasons stated in this section, 
determined that the regulation should not be amended or 
repealed, but should be retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Common Interest Community Board conducted a small 
business impact review of 18VAC48-50, Common Interest 
Community Manager Regulations, and determined that this 
regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

Common Interest Community Board is publishing its report 
of findings dated December 8, 2011, to support this decision 
in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-2349 A of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Common Interest Community Board to promulgate 
regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 
established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 
the current public protections provided by the regulation.  

No comments or complaints were received during the public 
comment period. The regulation is clearly written, easily 
understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or 
contravene federal or state law or regulation.  

The initial regulations became effective on April 1, 2010. The 
regulation is currently undergoing executive branch review 
and is in the final stage of that process.  

At its December 1, 2011, meeting, the board discussed the 
regulation and, for the reasons stated in this section, 
determined that the regulation should not be amended or 
repealed, but should be retained in its current form.  Contact 
Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Common Interest Community Board conducted a small 
business impact review of 18VAC48-60, Common Interest 
Community Board Management Information Fund 
Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Common Interest 
Community Board is publishing its report of findings dated 
December 8, 2011, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 55-530.1 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Common Interest Community Board to promulgate 
regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 
established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 
the current public protections provided by the regulation.  

No comments or complaints were received during the public 
comment period. The regulation is clearly written, easily 
understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or 
contravene federal or state law or regulation.  

Through final regulations, which became effective on 
November 27, 2008, the regulations were transferred from the 
Real Estate Board to the Common Interest Community 
Board. A subsequent fast-track regulation amendment, 
effective May 15, 2009, standardized the renewal dates for 
association registrations.  
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At its December 1, 2011, meeting, the board discussed the 
regulation and, for the reasons stated in this section, 
determined that the regulation should not be amended or 
repealed, but should be retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Contractors conducted a small business impact review of 
18VAC50-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Board for Contractors is publishing its 
report of findings dated December 21, 2011, to support this 
decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of 
Virginia.  

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
board to solicit the input of interested parties in the formation 
and development of its regulations. Therefore, the continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing Public Participation Guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the board is better equipped to ensure 
contracting businesses and individuals certified or licensed as 
a tradesman, gas fitter, certified elevator mechanic, backflow 
prevention device worker, or water well systems provider 
have met minimum competencies. Since no complaints or 
comments were received during the public comment period, 
there does not appear to be a reason to amend or repeal the 
regulation. The regulation is clearly written and easily 
understandable. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 
conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The most 
recent periodic review of the regulation occurred in 2008 that 
resulted in the repeal of 18VAC50-10, the existing Public 
Participation Guidelines at that time, and adoption of 
18VAC50-11, model Public Participation Guidelines. The 
board discussed the regulation and, for the reasons stated in 
this section, determined that the regulation should not be 
amended or repealed, but should be retained in its current 
form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Contractors conducted a small business impact review of 
18VAC50-22, Board for Contractors Regulations, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Board for Contractors is publishing its 
report of findings dated December 21, 2011, to support this 
decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of 
Virginia.  

1. Sections 54.1-201.5 and 54.1-1102 of the Code of 
Virginia mandate that the Board for Contractors 
promulgate regulations. The continued need for the 
regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the regulation 
would remove the current public protections provided by 
the regulation. The regulation does not have an adverse 
economic impact on small businesses. Rather, the 
regulation allows businesses that meet specific minimum 
competencies to become Virginia licensed contractors.  

2. One comment was received during the public comment 
period that suggested changing the license term for 
tradesman.  

3. The regulation is clearly written and easily 
understandable.  

4. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state law or regulation.  

5. The most recent evaluation occurred in 2010 that 
resulted in amendments to increase fees in order to ensure 
that the Board for Contractors remains in compliance with 
§ 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia. The fee amendment 
went into effect April 1, 2010. A subsequent emergency 
regulation amendment, effective 2010, changed the existing 
regulation to include a provision to address temporary 
license requirements pursuant to an act of the 2010 General 
Assembly. Currently, an emergency amendment is pending 
executive branch review. The emergency amendment 
creates residential building energy analyst firm licensure 
for firms pursuant to the 2011 Acts of Assembly. No 
changes, including changes in technology and economic 
conditions, have been identified that would affect licensed 
contractors or firms seeking licensure as a contractor. The 
board discussed the regulation and, for the reasons stated in 
this section, determined that the regulation should not be 
amended or repealed, but should be retained in its current 
form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 
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Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Contractors conducted a small business impact review of 
18VAC50-30, Individual License and Certification 
Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Board for Contractors is 
publishing its report of findings dated December 21, 2011, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 
the Code of Virginia.  

1. Sections 54.1-201.5 and 54.1-1102 of the Code of 
Virginia mandate that the Board for Contractors 
promulgate regulations. The continued need for the 
regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the regulation 
would remove the current public protections provided by 
the regulation. The regulation does not have an adverse 
economic impact on small businesses nor individual 
licensure or certification. Rather, the regulation allows 
individuals who meet specific minimum competencies to 
become licensed or certified in Virginia.  

2. One comment was received during the public comment 
period that suggested changing the license term for 
tradesman.  

3. The regulation is clearly written and easily 
understandable.  

4. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state law or regulation.  

5. The most recent evaluation occurred in 2010 that 
resulted in amendments to increase fees in order to ensure 
that the Board for Contractors remains in compliance with 
§ 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia. The fee amendment 
went into effect April 1, 2010. Currently, a proposed 
amendment to the regulation is pending executive branch 
review to include "Certified Accessibility Mechanics" 
among its regulant population pursuant to the 2010 Acts of 
Assembly. The proposed amendment also includes an 
endorsement for "limited use/limited application" elevators. 
There is also a fast-track amendment that is pending 
executive branch review. The emergency amendment 
creates residential building energy analysts licensure for 
individuals pursuant to the 2010 Acts of Assembly. No 
changes, including changes in technology and economic 
conditions, have been identified that would affect licensed 
individuals seeking licensure as a building energy analyst 
or certified accessibility mechanic. 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Environmental Quality conducted a small 
business impact review of 9VAC15-30, Regulations for the 
Certification of Recycling Machinery and Equipment for 
Local Tax Exemption Purposes, and determined that this 
regulation should be retained in its current form. The 
Department of Environmental Quality is publishing its report 
of findings dated April 2, 2012, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides recycling 
facilities with criteria concerning equipment that is eligible 
for reduced tax rates. No complaints or comments were 
received concerning the regulation from the public during the 
comment period.  The regulation's level of complexity is 
appropriate to ensure that the regulated entities are able to 
meet their legal mandates as efficiently and cost effectively as 
possible.  

This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 
any state law or other state regulation. This regulation 
provides a means for persons (businesses) to claim a unique 
tax exemption for costs incurred for recycling equipment.  
This regulation was last reviewed in 2005. Technology, 
economic conditions, and other factors have not changed in 
ways that would make this regulation less efficient and cost-
effective in terms of protecting human health and the 
environment or meeting legal mandates.   

The department, through examination of the regulation and 
relevant public comments, has determined that the regulatory 
requirements currently minimize the economic impact of 
these regulations on small businesses and thereby minimize 
the impact on existing and potential Virginia employers and 
their ability to maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 
Commonwealth. If small businesses purchase eligible 
recycling equipment, their tax rates may be reduced. 

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 
698-4346, or email cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Water Quality Restoration Study (TMDL) for the 
Chickahominy River - Headwaters to Rt. 33 Impaired 

for Aquatic Life Use in Hanover and Henrico 
Counties 

Public meeting: Twin Hickory Branch Library, 5001 Twin 
Hickory Road, Glen Allen, Virginia 23059. Thursday, June 7, 
2012, at 2 p.m. and 6 p.m. Both meetings are open to the 
public. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality and consultant, MapTech Inc, are presenting 
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preliminary data for the initiation of a total maximum daily 
load (TMDL) study to restore water quality at two public 
meetings (same content), an opportunity for the public to 
share their knowledge of the watershed, and a public 
comment period following the meetings (June 8, 2012, 
through July 9, 2012). 

Meeting description: Public meetings on a study to restore 
water quality along the Chickahominy River's headwaters to 
Rt. 33 in Hanover and Henrico counties. The watershed 
includes the communities of Wyndham, a portion of Short 
Pump (North of Broad Street), Meredith Woods, Twin 
Hickory, and Broad Meadows. Meeting will feature 
information gathered for the watershed including land use, 
water quality monitoring, and suspected cause(s) of 
impairment. Those attending are invited to ask questions and 
to contribute their knowledge of the watershed. Presentations 
will be posted following the meetings at: 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn
formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/Documentatio
nforSelectTMDLs.aspx.  

Description of study: Virginia agencies have been working to 
identify the potential cause(s) of the aquatic life use 
impairment in the waters of the Chickahominy River and in 
the following waterway:  

Stream County/City Length 
(mi.) 

Impairment 

Chickahominy 
River 

Hanover & 
Henrico 

7.06 Aquatic Life 
Use 

Biologists assess the presence, absence, and prevalence of 
aquatic species, and evaluate stream habitat and water quality 
to determine a score of overall stream health. The headwaters 
of the Chickahominy River are impaired for the aquatic life 
use based on assessments of the aquatic community that 
scored poorly. The study will report on the most probable 
stressor(s) of the aquatic community and will recommend 
TMDLs for the impaired waters based on the determination of 
most probable stressor(s). A TMDL is the total amount of a 
pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 
quality standards (AKA "pollution diet"). In order to meet 
standards, pollutants should be reduced to the TMDL amount. 
DEQ must develop TMDLs for all impaired waterways per 
the Clean Water Act. 

How a decision is made: The development of a TMDL 
includes two sets of public meetings and comment periods; 
one to initiate the study and another to present the final draft 
TMDL report. This meeting is the first for the Chickahominy 
River headwaters project for aquatic life use. After the final 
public meeting and all public comments have been considered 
and addressed, DEQ will submit the TMDL report to the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency and the State Water 
Control Board for approval. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax or postal mail. Written comments should include the 

name, address and telephone number and be received by DEQ 
during the comment period, which will begin on Friday, June 
8, 2012, and end on Monday, July 9, 2012. 

Contact for additional information: Margaret Smigo, TMDL 
Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949 A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 
VA 23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, FAX (804) 527-5106, 
or email margaret.smigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY AND  
DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 

RECREATION  

Water Quality Restoration in the Clinch River 

Announcement of an effort to restore water quality in the 
Clinch River from the Big Cedar Creek confluence 
downstream to the Dumps Creek confluence and the 
following tributaries: Maiden Spring Creek and Little River 
in Tazewell County, Virginia, and Indian Creek, Weaver 
Creek, Swords Creek, Lewis Creek, and Big Cedar Creek in 
Russell County, Virginia. 

Public meeting location: Lebanon Town Hall, 405 West Main 
Street, Lebanon, Virginia, on May 24, 2012, from 6 p.m. to 
8 p.m.  

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality and the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
are announcing the final study report to restore water quality, 
a public comment opportunity, and public meeting. 

Meeting description: Final public meeting on a study to 
restore water quality and first public meeting to develop an 
implementation plan. 

Description of study: DEQ has been working to identify 
sources of bacterial contamination in the Clinch River and 
tributaries including Maiden Spring Creek and Little River in 
Tazewell County, Virginia, and Indian Creek, Weaver Creek, 
Swords Creek, Lewis Creek, and Big Cedar Creek in Russell 
County, Virginia. The streams are impaired for failure to meet 
the recreational use because of fecal coliform bacteria 
violations and violation of the E. coli standard. 

During the study, the sources of bacterial contamination have 
been identified and total maximum daily load (TMDL) 
developed for the impaired waters. A TMDL is the total 
amount of a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet 
water quality standards.  

How a decision is made: The development of a TMDL 
includes public meetings and a public comment period once 
the study report is drafted. After public comments have been 
considered and addressed, DEQ will submit the TMDL report 
to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for approval. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
FAX, or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
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name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, May 24, 2012, to June 25, 2012. DEQ also accepts 
written and oral comments at the public meeting announced 
in this notice. 

To review fact sheets: Fact sheets are available on the 
impaired waters from the contacts below or on the DEQ 
website at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl.  

Contact for additional information: Martha Chapman, TMDL 
Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Southwest Regional Office, 355 A Deadmore Street, 
Abingdon, VA 24210, telephone (276) 676-4800, FAX (276) 
676-4899, or email martha.chapman@deq.virginia.gov.  

Total Maximum Daily Load Studies to Restore Water 
Quality in Portions of Holmes Run and Tripps Run 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) and the Virginia Department of Conservation and 
Recreation (DCR) announce a public meeting to introduce the 
Holmes Run and Tripps Run benthic total maximum daily 
load (TMDL) studies to members of the community. 

Public meeting: Thursday, May 31, 2012, 6:30 p.m. to 
8:30 p.m., Woodrow Wilson Library, Meeting Room 1, 6101 
Knollwood Drive, Falls Church, VA 22041. 

Meeting description: This is the first public meeting for these 
TMDL projects. The purpose of the meeting is to introduce 
the projects and discuss the studies with community 
members. 

Description of study: Portions of Holmes Run and Tripps Run 
have been identified as impaired on the Clean Water Act 
§ 303(d) list for not supporting Virginia's water quality 
aquatic life use standard due to poor health of the benthic 
macroinvertebrate communities. Virginia agencies are 
working to identify the benthic stressors causing the aquatic 
life use impairments in Holmes Run and Tripps Run. Below 
is a description of the impaired portions of Holmes Run and 
Tripps Run that will be addressed in this study: 

Stream 
Name 

Location Impairment Area 
(miles) 

Upstream 
Limit 

Downstream 
Limit 

Holmes 
Run 

Fairfax 
County 

Aquatic 
Life Use 
Benthic 

Macroin-
vertebrates 

5.78 Headwaters 
of Holmes 

Run 

Start of 
Lake 

Barcroft 

Tripps 
Run 

Falls 
Church 
Fairfax 
County 

Aquatic 
Life Use 
Benthic 

Macroin-
vertebrates 

2.24 Headwaters 
of Tripps 

Run 

Start of 
Lake 

Barcroft 

During this study DEQ will develop a total maximum daily 
load (TMDL) for each of the impaired stream segments. A 
TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a water body can 
receive and still meet water quality standards. To restore 

water quality, pollutant levels have to be reduced to the 
TMDL allocated amount. 

How to comment: The public comment period on the 
materials presented at the public meeting will extend from 
May 31, 2012, to June 30, 2012. DEQ accepts written 
comments by email, FAX, or postal mail. Written comments 
should include the name, address, and telephone number of 
the person commenting, and be received by DEQ during the 
comment period. Please send all comments to the contact 
listed below. 

Contact for additional information: Jennifer Carlson, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 13901 Crown Court, 
Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone (703) 583-3859, or email 
jennifer.carlson@deq.virginia.gov. 

FAIR HOUSING BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Fair 
Housing Board conducted a small business impact review of 
18VAC62-10, Public Participation Guidelines, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Fair Housing Board is publishing its report 
of findings dated March 1, 2012, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
board to solicit the input of interested parties in the formation 
and development of its regulations. Therefore, the continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing Public Participation Guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the board is better equipped to ensure that 
individuals certified by the board have met minimum 
competencies. Since no complaints or comments were 
received during the public comment period, there does not 
appear to be a reason to amend or repeal the regulation. The 
regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. The 
regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal 
or state law or regulation. The most recent periodic review of 
the regulation occurred in 2008 that resulted in the adoption 
of 18VAC62-10, model Public Participation Guidelines. The 
board discussed the regulation and, for the reasons stated in 
this section, determined that the regulation should not be 
amended or repealed, but should be retained in its current 
form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 
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Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Fair 
Housing Board conducted a small business impact review of 
18VAC62-20, Fair Board Certification Regulations, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Fair Housing Board is publishing its report 
of findings dated March 8, 2012, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the Fair 
Housing Board to promulgate regulations. The continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the 
regulation would remove the current public protections 
provided by the regulation. Moreover, fair housing 
certification is voluntary, not mandatory. The regulation does 
not preclude uncertified individuals from being in the 
business of selling or renting dwellings as defined in the 
chapter nor does it have an adverse economic impact on small 
businesses. Rather, the regulation allows individuals who 
meet specific minimum competencies to receive fair housing 
certification. No complaints were received during the public 
comment period. The regulation is clearly written, easily 
understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state law or regulation. The most recent 
evaluation occurred in 2005. The board discussed the 
regulation and, for the reasons stated in this section, 
determined that the regulation should not be amended or 
repealed, but should be retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR GEOLOGY 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Geology conducted a small business impact review of 
18VAC70-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Board for Geology is publishing its report 
of findings dated November 9, 2011, to support this decision 
in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
board to solicit the input of interested parties in the formation 
and development of its regulations. Therefore, the continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing Public Participation Guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the board is better equipped to ensure 
individuals certified as professional geologists have met 

minimum competencies. Since no complaints or comments 
were received during the public comment period, there does 
not appear to be a reason to amend or repeal the regulation. 
The regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. 
The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 
federal or state law or regulation. The most recent periodic 
review of the regulation occurred in 2008 that resulted in the 
repeal of 18VAC70-10, the existing Public Participation 
Guidelines at that time, and adoption of 18VAC70-11, model 
Public Participation Guidelines. The board discussed the 
regulation and, for the reasons stated in this section, 
determined that the regulation should not be amended or 
repealed, but should be retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Geology conducted a small business impact review of 
18VAC70-20, Rules and Regulations for the Virginia 
Board for Geology, and determined that this regulation 
should be retained in its current form. The Board for Geology 
is publishing its report of findings dated November 18, 2011, 
to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Board for Geology to promulgate regulations. The continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the 
regulation would remove the current public protections 
provided by the regulation. Moreover, certification as a 
Virginia professional geologist is voluntary, not mandatory. 
The regulation does not preclude uncertified individuals from 
the practice of geology in Virginia nor does it have an adverse 
economic impact on small businesses. Rather, the regulation 
allows individuals who meet specific minimum competencies 
to become Virginia certified professional geologists. No 
comments or complaints were received during the public 
comment period. The regulation is clearly written, easily 
understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state law or regulation.  

The most recent evaluation occurred in 2006 that resulted in 
amendments that went into effect August 1, 2006. A 
subsequent fast-track regulation amendment, effective 
November 1, 2006, reduced fees for initial and renewal 
certifications. Currently, a fast-track amendment is pending 
executive branch review. The fast-track amendment extends 
the eligibility to take the Fundamentals of Geology exam to 
qualifying individuals and creates a Geologist-in-Training 
designation.  
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No changes, including changes in technology and economic 
conditions, have been identified that would affect certified 
professional geologists or individuals seeking certification as 
professional geologists. The board discussed the regulation 
and, for the reasons stated in this section, determined that the 
regulation should not be amended or repealed, but should be 
retained in its current form. Family impact 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
of Health Professions conducted a small business impact 
review of 18VAC75-20, Regulations Governing 
Practitioner Self-Referral, and determined that this 
regulation should be retained in its current form. The Board 
of Health Professions is publishing its report of findings dated 
February 28, 2012, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

The prohibitions on practitioner self-referral are set forth in 
Chapter 24.1 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
Regulations in Chapter 20 provide a process by which an 
entity can receive an advisory opinion on whether a business 
arrangement would constitute a violation of the law. 
Regulations also provide a process by which a violation can 
be found and a disciplinary action imposed. No such actions 
have been taken since passage of the law in 1993. Therefore, 
there is no economic impact of regulations on small 
businesses. 

Contact Information: Elaine J. Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Health Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
of Health Professions conducted a small business impact 
review of 18VAC75-30, Regulations Governing Standards 
for Dietitians and Nutritionists, and determined that this 
regulation should be retained in its current form. The Board 
of Health Professions is publishing its report of findings dated 
February 22, 2012, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

There is no impact on small businesses, since the regulation is 
permissive and only applies to persons who are working for a 
federal agency or under contract with a federal agency and 

who need to be able to use the protected titles of dietitian or 
nutritionist. Family impact 

Contact Information: Elaine J. Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Health Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Health Professions conducted a small business 
impact review of 18VAC75-40, Regulations Governing the 
Criteria for Certification of Dialysis Technicians, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Board of Health Professions is publishing 
its report of findings dated February 22, 2012, to support this 
decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Since certification is a requirement of law in order for dialysis 
care technicians to practice and since the regulation is 
inclusive of all credentialing organizations available for 
certification, there is no impact on small businesses. Renal 
dialysis facilities would not be able to function without 
dialysis technicians, and technicians are not able to practice 
unless they are certified in accordance with board regulations. 

Contact Information: Elaine J. Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Health Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Hearing Aid Specialists conducted a small business 
impact review of 18VAC80-11, Public Participation 
Guidelines, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Board for Hearing Aid 
Specialists is publishing its report of findings dated December 
27, 2011, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-
4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
board to solicit the input of interested parties in the formation 
and development of its regulations. Therefore, the continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing Public Participation Guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the board is better equipped to ensure 
individuals licensed as hearing aid specialists have met 
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minimum competencies. Since no complaints or comments 
were received during the public comment period, there does 
not appear to be a reason to amend or repeal the regulation. 
The regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. 
The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 
federal or state law or regulation. The most recent periodic 
review of the regulation occurred in 2008 that resulted in the 
repeal of 18VAC80-10, the existing Public Participation 
Guidelines at that time, and adoption of 18VAC80-11, model 
Public Participation Guidelines. The board discussed the 

regulation and, for the reasons stated in this section, 
determined that the regulation should not be amended or 
repealed, but should be retained in its current form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

Schedule for the Assessment of State and Federal Mandates on Local Governments 

Pursuant to the provisions of §§ 2.2-613 and 15.2-2903(6) of the Code of Virginia, the following schedule, established by the 
Commission on Local Government and approved by the Secretary of Commerce and Trade and Governor McDonnell, 
represents the timetable that the listed executive agencies will follow in conducting their assessments of certain state and 
federal mandates that they administer that are imposed on local governments. Such mandates are either new (in effect for at 
least 24 months) or newly identified. In conducting these assessments, agencies will follow the process established by 
Executive Order 58 which became effective October 11, 2007. These mandates are abstracted in the Catalog of State and 
Federal Mandates on Local Governments published by the Commission on Local Government. 

For further information contact Zachary Robbins, Senior Policy Analyst, Commission on Local Government (email 
zachary.robbins@dhcd.virginia.gov or telephone (804) 371-8010) or visit the Commission's website at www.dhcd.virginia.gov. 

STATE AND FEDERAL MANDATES ON LOCAL GOVERNMENTS 

Approved Schedule of Assessment Periods 
July 2012 through June 2013 for Executive Agency Assessment of Cataloged Mandates 

AGENCY 
Mandate Short Title 

CATALOG 
NUMBER 

ASSESSMENT 
PERIOD 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF   
Residential Substance Abuse Treatment Program SPS.DCJS031 7/1/12 to 9/30/12 

EDUCATION, DEPARTMENT OF   
Classroom Placement of Twins and Other Multiples SOE.DOE128 7/1/12 to 8/31/12 

Single-Sex Education SOE.DOE130  7/1/12 to 8/31/12 

School Year to begin after Labor Day SOE.DOE132 8/1/12 to 9/30/12 

Pesticide Application Reporting SOE.DOE136 10/1/12 to 11/30/12 

Absences to Observe a Religious Holiday SOE.DOE137 10/1/12 to 11/30/12 

ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF   
Vacancies to be Filled by Special Election SOA.SBE004 4/1/13 to 6/30/13 
EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT, DEPARTMENT OF   
State Homeland Security Grant Program SPS.VDEM014 10/1/12 to 11/30/12 
HEALTH, DEPARTMENT OF   
Virginia Indoor Clean Air Act SHHR.VDH029 9/1/12 to 10/31/12 
Disposition of Dead Bodies SHHR.VDH030 7/1/12 to 9/30/12 
SOCIAL SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF   
Child Abuse Records Retention SHHR.DSS073 8/1/12 to 10/31/12 
TRANSPORTATION PUBLIC-PRIVATE PARTNERSHIPS 
Public-Private Transportation Act (PPTA) STO.VDOT039 7/1/12 to 9/30/12 
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STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on April 26, 2012, and April 30, 2012. The 
orders may be viewed at the State Lottery Department, 900 
East Main Street, Richmond, VA, or at the office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, VA. 

Director's Order Number Thirty-Two (12) 

Virginia Lottery's "$50,000 Summer Escape Promotion" 
Final Rules for Game Operation (effective April 18, 2012, 
and shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 
rescinded by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Three (12) 

Virginia Lottery's "Grilling Season Text To Win Promotion" 
Official Rules (effective April 25, 2012, and shall remain in 
full force and effect unless amended or rescinded by further 
Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Four (12) 

Virginia Lottery's "Grilling Season Text Sign Up Promotion" 
Official Rules (effective April 25, 2012, and shall remain in 
full force and effect unless amended or rescinded by further 
Director's Order) 

BOARD FOR OPTICIANS 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Opticians conducted a small business impact review of 
18VAC100-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Board for Opticians is publishing its report 
of findings dated December 27, 2011, to support this decision 
in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
board to solicit the input of interested parties in the formation 
and development of its regulations. Therefore, the continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing Public Participation Guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the board is better equipped to ensure 
individuals licensed as opticians have met minimum 
competencies. Since no complaints or comments were 
received during the public comment period, there does not 
appear to be a reason to amend or repeal the regulation. The 
regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. The 

regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal 
or state law or regulation. The most recent periodic review of 
the regulation occurred in 2008 that resulted in the repeal of 
18VAC100-10, the existing Public Participation Guidelines at 
that time, and adoption of 18VAC100-11, model Public 
Participation Guidelines. The board discussed the regulation 
and, for the reasons stated in this section, determined that the 
regulation should not be amended or repealed, but should be 
retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Opticians conducted a small business impact review of 
18VAC100-20, Board for Opticians Regulations, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Board for Opticians is publishing its report 
of findings dated December 27, 2011, to support this decision 
in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Board for Opticians to promulgate regulations. The continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the 
regulation would remove the current public protections 
provided by the regulation. The Board for Opticians provides 
protection for the safety and welfare of the citizens of the 
Commonwealth by ensuring that only those individuals that 
meet specific criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations 
are eligible to receive an optician license. The board is also 
tasked with ensuring that its regulants meet standards of 
practice that are set forth in the regulations. No comments or 
complaints were received during the public comment period. 
The regulation is clearly written, easily understandable, and 
does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state 
law or regulation. The most recent evaluation occurred in 
2005. The board discussed the regulation and, for the reasons 
stated in this section, determined that the regulation should 
not be amended or repealed, but should be retained in its 
current form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 
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DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
conducted a small business impact review of 18VAC120-11, 
Public Participation Guidelines, and determined that this 
regulation should be retained in its current form. The 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation is 
publishing its report of findings dated December 9, 2011, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
department to solicit the input of interested parties in the 
formation and development of its regulations. Therefore, the 
continued need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing Public Participation Guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the department is better equipped to ensure 
individuals regulated by the department have met minimum 
competencies. Since no complaints or comments were 
received during the public comment period, there does not 
appear to be a reason to amend or repeal the regulation. The 
regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. The 
regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal 
or state law or regulation. The most recent periodic review of 
the regulation occurred in 2008 that resulted in the repeal of 
18VAC120-10, the existing Public Participation Guidelines at 
that time, and adoption of 18VAC120-11, model Public 
Participation Guidelines. The director of the department 
reviewed the regulation and, for the reasons stated in this 
section, determined that the regulation should not be amended 
or repealed, but should be retained in its current form. Family 
impact 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
conducted a small business impact review of 18VAC120-30, 
Regulations Governing Polygraph Examiners, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation is publishing its report of findings 
dated March 19, 2012, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

1. Sections 54.1-201.5 and 54.1-1802 of the Code of 
Virginia mandate the Director of the Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation to promulgate 
regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 
established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would 
remove the current public protections provided by the 
regulation. The regulation does not have an adverse 
economic impact on small businesses nor individual 
licensure or registration. Rather, the regulation allows 
individuals who meet specific minimum competencies to 
become licensed or obtain intern registration in Virginia.  

2. The regulation is clearly written and is easily 
understandable.  

3. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state law or regulation.  

4. The most recent evaluation occurred in 2005 that 
resulted in amendments to increase fees to comply with 
§ 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia. The fee amendment 
went into effect August 1, 2007. Currently, a proposed 
amendment to the regulation is pending executive branch 
review. The proposed amendments (i) change the size of 
the Polygraph Examiners Advisory Board, (ii) allow an 
applicant to take portions of the examination at different 
dates within a one year period, (iii) clarify renewal and 
reinstatement requirements, and (iv) provide for a 
procedure to be used in the event that an examiner 
supervising an intern is unable to provide verification of 
experience. No changes, including changes in technology 
and economic conditions, have been identified that would 
affect licensed individuals seeking registration as a 
polygraph examiner intern or licensure as a polygraph 
examiner. The director, for the reasons stated in this 
section, determined that the regulation should not be 
amended or repealed, but should be retained in its current 
form. Family impact  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
conducted a small business impact review of 18VAC120-40, 
Virginia Professional Boxing and Wrestling Event 
Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation is publishing its report of 
findings dated December 9, 2011, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 
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Sections 54.1-201.5 and 54.1-831 of the Code of Virginia 
mandate the department to promulgate regulations that 
implement the federal Professional Boxing Safety Act of 
1996 (15 USC § 6301 et seq.) and protect the public against 
incompetent, unqualified, unscrupulous, or unfit persons 
engaging in the activities regulated by this chapter. The 
regulations must include requirements for (i) initial and 
renewal licensure; (ii) licensure and conduct of events; (iii) 
standards of practice for persons arranging, promoting, 
conducting, supervising, and participating in events; (iv) 
grounds for disciplinary actions against licensees; (v) records 
to be kept and maintained by licensees; (vi) manner in which 
fees are to be accounted for and submitted to the department; 
and (vii) minimum health coverage for injuries sustained in a 
boxing match. The department has direct oversight of events 
to assure the safety and well-being of boxers and wrestlers.  

The continued need for the regulation is established in statute. 
Repeal of the regulation would remove the current public 
protections provided by the regulation. Moreover, this 
licensure program is mandatory per the Code of Virginia. Nor 
does it have an adverse economic impact on small businesses. 
Rather, the regulation allows individuals who meet specific 
minimum competencies to become a promoter or participant 
in the professional boxing or wrestling industry.  

No comments or complaints were received during the public 
comment period. The regulation is clearly written, easily 
understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state law or regulation.  

The most recent evaluation occurred in 2007 that resulted in 
amendments that went into effect September 5, 2007. A 
subsequent fast-track regulation amendment was 
promulgated, effective May 14, 2009, which added a blood 
testing requirement, with negative results, for hepatitis and 
HIV for boxers. No changes, including changes in technology 
and economic conditions, have been identified that would 
affect this regulatory program.  

The director reviewed the regulation and, for the reasons 
stated in this section, determined that the regulation should 
not be amended or repealed, but should be retained in its 
current form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR PROFESSIONAL SOIL SCIENTISTS 
AND WETLAND PROFESSIONALS 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Professional Soil Scientists and Wetland Professionals 

conducted a small business impact review of 18VAC145-11, 
Public Participation Guidelines, and determined that this 
regulation should be retained in its current form. The Board 
for Professional Soil Scientists and Wetland Professionals is 
publishing its report of findings dated January 19, 2012, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 
the Code of Virginia. 

1. The current regulations are necessary for the board to 
comply with § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia and 
Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly.  

2. No public comments were received.  

3. The regulations are not complex in nature.  

4. The regulations do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state laws or regulations.  

5. The regulations were last effective on December 24, 
2008, with the adoption of the model Public Participation 
Guidelines pursuant to Chapter 321 of the 2008 Acts of 
Assembly.  

No small business impact has been identified.   

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Professional Soil Scientists and Wetland Professionals 
conducted a small business impact review of 18VAC145-20, 
Professional Soil Scientists Regulations, and determined 
that this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 
Board for Professional Soil Scientists and Wetland 
Professionals is publishing its report of findings dated 
January 19, 2012, to support this decision in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

1. The current regulations establish minimum requirements 
for the certification of soil scientists. However, because the 
regulations establish requirements for a certificate program 
(not a licensure program), the regulations do not affect the 
practice of soil science by noncertified individuals. 

2. Only one public comment was received. The comment 
did not offer any specific recommendations aside from 
supporting the transition of the soil scientists program from 
certification to licensure, a change resulting from the 2011 
session of the Virginia General Assembly. The program 
will transition from certification to licensure on July 1, 
2013. 

3. The regulations are not complex in nature. 
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4. The regulations do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state laws or regulation. 

5. The regulations were last reviewed in 2009 to conform 
them to HB 2759 of the 2003 Session of the Virginia 
General Assembly.  

No small business impact has been identified.   

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Professional Soil Scientists and Wetland Professionals 
conducted a small business impact review of 18VAC145-30, 
Regulations Governing Certified Professional Wetland 
Delineators, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Board for Professional Soil 
Scientists and Wetland Professionals is publishing its report 
of findings dated January 19, 2012, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

1. The regulations establish minimum requirements for the 
practice of wetland delineation by certified individuals. 
However, because the regulations establish requirements 
for a certificate program (not a licensure program), the 
regulations do not affect the practice of wetland delineation 
by noncertified individuals. 

2. No public comments were received. 

3. The regulations are not complex in nature. 

4. The regulations do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state laws or regulation. 

5. The regulations were last reviewed in 2007 to conform to 
HB 2839 of the 2007 Session of the Virginia General 
Assembly. 

No small business impact has been identified. 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Real 
Estate Appraiser Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 18VAC130-11, Public Participation Guidelines, 
and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Real Estate Appraiser Board is publishing 
its report of findings dated March 1, 2012, to support this 
decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
board to solicit the input of interested parties in the formation 
and development of its regulations. Therefore, the continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing Public Participation Guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the board is better equipped to ensure that 
individuals licensed as appraisers have met minimum 
competencies. Since no complaints or comments were 
received during the public comment period, there does not 
appear to be a reason to amend or repeal the regulation. The 
regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. The 
regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal 
or state law or regulation. The most recent periodic review of 
the regulation occurred in 2008 that resulted in the repeal of 
18VAC135-10, the existing Public Participation Guidelines at 
that time, and adoption of 18VAC135-11, model Public 
Participation Guidelines. The board discussed the regulation 
and, for the reasons stated in this section, determined that the 
regulation should not be amended or repealed, but should be 
retained in its current form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Real 
Estate Appraiser Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 18VAC130-20, Real Estate Appraiser Board 
Rules and Regulations, and determined that this regulation 
should be retained in its current form. The Real Estate 
Appraiser Board is publishing its report of findings dated 
March 1, 2012, to support this decision in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the Real 
Estate Appraiser Board to promulgate regulations. The 
continued need for the regulation is established in statute. 
Repeal of the regulation would remove the current public 
protections provided by the regulation. The Real Estate 
Appraiser Board provides protection to the safety and welfare 
of the citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that only 
those individuals that meet specific criteria set forth in the 
statutes and regulations are eligible to receive a real estate 
appraiser trainee license, licensed residential real estate 
appraiser license, certified residential real estate appraiser 
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license, and certified general real estate appraiser license. The 
board is also tasked with ensuring that its regulants meet 
standards of practice that are set forth in the regulations. No 
comments or complaints were received during the public 
comment period. The regulation is clearly written, easily 
understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state law or regulation. The most recent 
evaluation occurred in 2011. The board discussed the 
regulation and, for the reasons stated in this section, 
determined that the regulation should not be amended or 
repealed, but should be retained in its current form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

REAL ESTATE BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Real 
Estate Board conducted a small business impact review of 
18VAC135-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Real Estate Board is publishing its report of 
findings dated March 1, 2012, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
board to solicit the input of interested parties in the formation 
and development of its regulations. Therefore, the continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing Public Participation Guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the board is better equipped to ensure that 
individuals licensed as real estate salespersons and brokers 
have met minimum competencies. Since no complaints or 
comments were received during the public comment period, 
there does not appear to be a reason to amend or repeal the 
regulation. The regulation is clearly written and easily 
understandable. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 
conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The most 
recent periodic review of the regulation occurred in 2008 that 
resulted in the repeal of 18VAC135-10, the existing Public 
Participation Guidelines at that time, and adoption of 
18VAC135-11, model Public Participation Guidelines. The 
board discussed the regulation and, for the reasons stated in 
this section, determined that the regulation should not be 
amended or repealed, but should be retained in its current 
form. 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Real 
Estate Board conducted a small business impact review of 
18VAC135-20, Virginia Real Estate Board Licensing 
Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Real Estate Board is 
publishing its report of findings dated March 7, 2012, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the Real 
Estate Board to promulgate regulations. The continued need 
for the regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the 
regulation would remove the current public protections 
provided by the regulation. The Real Estate Board provides 
protection to the safety and welfare of the citizens of the 
Commonwealth by ensuring that only those individuals who 
meet specific criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations 
are eligible to receive a real estate license. The board is also 
tasked with ensuring that its regulants meet standards of 
practice that are set forth in the regulations. No complaints 
were received during the public comment period. The 
regulation is clearly written, easily understandable, and does 
not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 
regulation. The most recent evaluation occurred in 2008. The 
board discussed the regulation and, for the reasons stated in 
this section, determined that the regulation should not be 
amended or repealed, but should be retained in its current 
form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Real 
Estate Board conducted a small business impact review of 
18VAC135-50, Fair Housing Regulations, and determined 
that this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 
Real Estate Board is publishing its report of findings dated 
March 6, 2012, to support this decision in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the Real 
Estate Board to promulgate regulations. The continued need 
for the regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the 
regulation would remove the current public protections 
provided by the regulation. The Real Estate Board and the 
Fair Housing Board provide protection to the safety and 
welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring 
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enforcement of the Fair Housing Law. The boards are also 
tasked with ensuring that their regulants meet standards of 
practice that are set forth in the regulations. No comments or 
complaints were received during the public comment period. 
The regulation is clearly written, easily understandable, and 
does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state 
law or regulation. The most recent evaluation occurred in 
2009. As a result of this evaluation, the board filed a Notice 
of Intended Regulatory Action and the proposed regulations 
are under review in the Governor's office. The board 
discussed the regulation and, for the reasons stated in this 
section, determined that the regulation should not be amended 
or repealed, but should be retained in its current form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 
Board of Social Services conducted a small business impact 
review of 22VAC40-470, Exemptions Applicable to Public 
Assistance Programs, and determined that this regulation 
should be retained in its current form. The State Board of 
Social Services is publishing its report of findings dated 
December 14, 2011, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

There is no impact on small businesses. Small businesses may 
benefit from this regulation as the disposable income of the 
individual receiving these payments will be increased, giving 
the individual more money to spend in the local economy. 
There were no comments received during the comment 
period. The regulation does not duplicate or overlap other 
regulations promulgated by the department. The regulation 
was last reviewed in 2007. It provides instructions for local 
eligibility staff relative to income to disregard in the 
determination of eligibility for federally funded, need-based 
public assistance programs. There is no emerging technology 
that could alone determine if income should be counted or 
disregarded; the eligibility worker must enter the correct 
coding so the system will know if the income will be 
disregarded. Because the federal statute has not been 
repealed, this regulation should not be amended or repealed.  

Contact Information: Karin Clark, Agency Policy Advisor, 
Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Room 
1507, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7017, or 
email karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 
Board of Social Services conducted a small business impact 
review of 22VAC40-685, Virginia Energy Assistance 
Program - Home Energy Assistance Program, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The State Board of Social Services is publishing 
its report of findings dated December 14, 2011, to support 
this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code 
of Virginia. 

The regulation grants authority to the department to receive 
and disburse Home Energy Assistance Program (HEAP) 
funds. Since the inception of the fund, total contributions 
including interest is just over $350,000. These funds are used 
to supplement the Low-Income Home Energy Assistance 
Program (LIHEAP) federal funding used to administer the 
Energy Assistance Program (EAP). In addition, HEAP funds 
are used to leverage additional federal funds. The regulation 
makes additional revenue available to over 700 vendors; as 
such, the impact of this regulation on small businesses is 
positive. The regulation is not complex and does not overlap, 
duplicate, or conflict with other federal or state laws or 
regulations. The regulation was last evaluated in 2007. In 
2009, the regulation was amended in response to action taken 
by the General Assembly to change the time frame for 
reporting to the General Assembly on the overall 
effectiveness of energy assistance programs in the 
Commonwealth from an annual to biennial reporting cycle. 
Business entities that provide EAP goods and services are 
eligible to participate in the EAP. Payments to vendors are 
determined by their respective products, self designated 
service areas, and customer selection. Since the last review of 
this regulation, enhancements in technology have provided a 
more streamlined automated payment process for 
participating vendors. There is no need to amend or repeal the 
regulation to minimize the impact on small businesses.   

Contact Information: Karin Clark, Agency Policy Advisor, 
Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Room 
1507, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7017, or 
email karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Waste Management Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 9VAC20-20, Schedule of Fees for Hazardous 
Waste Facility Site Certification, and determined that this 
regulation should be retained in its current form. The Virginia 
Waste Management Board is publishing its report of findings 
dated February 6, 2012, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 
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This regulation continues to be needed. It provides regulated 
entities with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling 
ongoing state and federal requirements that protect human 
health and the environment. The regulation's level of 
complexity is appropriate to ensure that the regulated entities 
are able to meet their legal mandates as efficiently and cost 
effectively as possible.  

This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 
any state law or other state regulation. This regulation is part 
of a set of four related regulations mandated by Virginia 
statutes that establish a procedure for siting of hazardous 
waste management facilities including certification of the site, 
investigation of the site, resolution of issues between the 
applicant and the host community, and funding the process. 
This regulation was last reviewed in 2005. This regulation 
continues to provide the most efficient and cost-effective 
means to protect human health and the environment.  

The department, through examination of the regulation and 
relevant public comments, has determined that the regulatory 
requirements currently minimize the economic impact of 
these regulations on small businesses and thereby minimize 
the impact on existing and potential Virginia employers and 
their ability to maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 
Commonwealth.  

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 
698-4346, or email cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Waste Management Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 9VAC20-30, Technical Assistance Fund 
Administrative Procedures, and determined that this 
regulation should be retained in its current form. The Virginia 
Waste Management Board is publishing its report of findings 
dated February 6, 2012, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides regulated 
entities with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling 
ongoing state and federal requirements that protect human 
health and the environment. The regulation's level of 
complexity is appropriate to ensure that the regulated entities 
are able to meet their legal mandates as efficiently and cost 
effectively as possible.  

This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 
any state law or other state regulation. This regulation is part 
of a set of four related regulations mandated by Virginia 
statutes that establish a procedure for siting of hazardous 
waste management facilities including certification of the site, 
investigation of the site, resolution of issues between the 
applicant and the host community, and funding the process. 

This regulation was last reviewed in 2005. This regulation 
continues to provide the most efficient and cost-effective 
means to protect human health and the environment.  

The department, through examination of the regulation and 
relevant public comments, has determined that the regulatory 
requirements currently minimize the economic impact of 
these regulations on small businesses and thereby minimize 
the impact on existing and potential Virginia employers and 
their ability to maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 
Commonwealth.  

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 
698-4346, or email cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Waste Management Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 9VAC20-40, Administrative Procedures for 
Hazardous Waste Facility Site Certification, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Virginia Waste Management Board is 
publishing its report of findings dated February 6, 2012, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 
the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides regulated 
entities with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling 
ongoing state and federal requirements that protect human 
health and the environment. The regulation's level of 
complexity is appropriate to ensure that the regulated entities 
are able to meet their legal mandates as efficiently and cost 
effectively as possible. This regulation does not overlap, 
duplicate, or conflict with any state law or other state 
regulation. It amplifies and supplements Article 6 (§ 10.1-
1433 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 10.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. This regulation is part of a set of four related 
regulations mandated by Virginia statutes that establish a 
procedure for siting of hazardous waste management facilities 
including certification of the site, investigation of the site, 
resolution of issues between the applicant and the host 
community, and funding the process This regulation was last 
reviewed in 2005. This regulation continues to provide the 
most efficient and cost-effective means to protect human 
health and the environment.  

The board, through examination of the regulation and relevant 
public comments, has determined that the regulatory 
requirements currently minimize the economic impact of 
these regulations on small businesses and thereby minimize 
the impact on existing and potential Virginia employers and 
their ability to maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 
Commonwealth.  
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Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 
698-4346, or email cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Waste Management Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 9VAC20-50, Hazardous Waste Facility Siting 
Criteria, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Virginia Waste Management 
Board is publishing its report of findings dated February 6, 
2012, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-
4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides regulated 
entities with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling 
ongoing state and federal requirements that protect human 
health and the environment. The regulation's level of 
complexity is appropriate to ensure that the regulated entities 
are able to meet their legal mandates as efficiently and cost 
effectively as possible. This regulation does not overlap, 
duplicate, or conflict with any state law or other state 
regulation. This regulation is part of a set of four related 
regulations mandated by Virginia statutes that establish a 
procedure for siting of hazardous waste management facilities 
including certification of the site, investigation of the site, 
resolution of issues between the applicant and the host 
community, and funding the process. This regulation was last 
reviewed in 2005. This regulation continues to provide the 
most efficient and cost-effective means to protect human 
health and the environment.  

The board, through examination of the regulation and relevant 
public comments, has determined that the regulatory 
requirements currently minimize the economic impact of 
these regulations on small businesses and thereby minimize 
the impact on existing and potential Virginia employers and 
their ability to maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 
Commonwealth. Re 

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 
698-4346, or email cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Waste Management Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 9VAC20-190, Litter Receptacle Regulations, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Virginia Waste Management Board is 
publishing its report of findings dated April 2, 2012, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 
the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides sources 
with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling ongoing state 
requirements that protect human health and the environment. 
No complaints or comments were received from the public 
during the comment period. The regulation's level of 
complexity is appropriate to ensure that the regulated entities 
are able to meet their legal mandates as efficiently and cost 
effectively as possible. This regulation does not overlap, 
duplicate, or conflict with any state law or other state 
regulation. This regulation was last reviewed in 2006. 
Technology, economic conditions, and other factors have not 
changed in ways that would make this regulation less efficient 
and cost effective in terms of protecting human health and the 
environment or meeting legal mandates.  

The board, through examination of the regulation and relevant 
public comments, has determined that the regulatory 
requirements currently minimize the economic impact of 
these regulations on small businesses and thereby minimize 
the impact on existing and potential Virginia employers and 
their ability to maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 
698-4346, or email cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Waste Management Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 9VAC20-200, Mercury Switch Regulations, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Virginia Waste Management Board is 
publishing its report of findings dated April 2, 2012, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 
the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides sources 
with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling ongoing state 
requirements that protect human health and the environment. 
No complaints or comments were received from the public 
during the comment period. The regulation's level of 
complexity is appropriate to ensure that the regulated entities 
are able to meet their legal mandates as efficiently and cost 
effectively as possible. This regulation does not overlap, 
duplicate, or conflict with any state law or other state 
regulation. This regulation became effective in 2007 after the 
final regulation was adopted by the board on January 8, 2007. 
This regulation continues to provide the most efficient and 
cost-effective means to protect human health and the 
environment.  

The board, through examination of the regulation and relevant 
public comments, has determined that the regulatory 
requirements currently minimize the economic impact of 
these regulations on small businesses and thereby minimize 
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the impact on existing and potential Virginia employers and 
their ability to maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 
Commonwealth.  

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 
698-4346, or email cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR WASTE MANAGEMENT FACILITY 
OPERATORS 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Waste Management Facility Operators conducted a small 
business impact review of 18VAC155-11, Public 
Participation Guidelines, and determined that this regulation 
should be retained in its current form. The Board for Waste 
Management Facility Operators is publishing its report of 
findings dated January 11, 2012, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
board to solicit the input of interested parties in the formation 
and development of its regulations. Therefore, the continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing Public Participation Guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the board is better equipped to ensure 
individuals licensed as waterworks operators, waste 
waterworks operators, onsite soil evaluators, onsite sewage 
system installers, or onsite sewage system installers in 
Virginia have met minimum competencies. Since no 
complaints or comments were received during the public 
comment period, there does not appear to be a reason to 
amend or repeal the regulation. The regulation is clearly 
written and easily understandable. The regulation does not 
overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 
regulation. The most recent periodic review of the regulation 
occurred in 2008 that resulted in the repeal of 18VAC155-10, 
the existing Public Participation Guidelines at that time, and 
adoption of 18VAC155-11, model Public Participation 
Guidelines. The board discussed and, for the reasons stated in 
this section, determined that the regulation should not be 
amended or repealed, but should be retained in its current 
form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Waste Management Facility Operators conducted a small 
business impact review of 18VAC155-20, Waste 
Management Facility Operators Regulations, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Board for Waste Management Facility 
Operators is publishing its report of findings dated November 
21, 2011, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-
4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-2211 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
board to promulgate regulations and standards for the training 
and licensing of waste management facility operators. 
Therefore, the continued need for the regulation is established 
in statute. The regulation is necessary to protect public health, 
safety, and welfare and ensure that individuals licensed as 
waste management facility operators in Virginia have met 
minimum competencies. Since no complaints or comments 
were received during the public comment period, there does 
not appear to be a reason to amend or repeal the regulation. 
The regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. 
The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 
federal or state law or regulation. The most recent periodic 
review of the regulation occurred in 2010 that resulted in no 
change to the regulation. In addition, fast-track amendments 
became effective April 1, 2011, which included the removal 
of language referencing the bad check and examination fees 
as well as correcting two citations. The fees are still required, 
but established by § 2.2-614.1 C of the Code of Virginia and 
in compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act, 
§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia. The board 
discussed and, for the reasons stated in this section, 
determined that the regulation should not be amended or 
repealed, but should be retained in their current form.  

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for Mr. David LeSeur 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Mr. David 
LeSeur for violations in Buckingham County. A proposed 
consent order describes a settlement to resolve unpermitted 
discharge of fill material to a wetland. A description of the 
proposed action is available at the Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ) office named below or online 
at www.deq.virginia.gov. Robert Steele will accept comments 
by email at robert.steele@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 
562-6725, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 
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Quality, 3019 Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, VA 24019, from 
May 22, 2012, to June 21, 2012. 

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 
Sewage System Professionals conducted a small business 
impact review of 18VAC160-11, Public Participation 
Guidelines, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Virginia Board for 
Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 
Sewage System Professionals is publishing its report of 
findings dated January 11, 2012, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
board to solicit the input of interested parties in the formation 
and development of its regulations. Therefore, the continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing Public Participation Guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the board is better equipped to ensure 
individuals licensed as waterworks operators, wastewater 
works operators, onsite soil evaluators, onsite sewage system 
installers, and onsite sewage system operators in Virginia 
have met minimum competencies. Since no complaints or 
comments were received during the public comment period, 
there does not appear to be a reason to amend or repeal the 
regulation. The regulation is clearly written and easily 
understandable. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 
conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The most 
recent periodic review of the regulation occurred in 2008 that 
resulted in the repeal of 18VAC160-10, the existing Public 
Participation Guidelines at that time, and adoption of 
18VAC160-11, model Public Participation Guidelines. The 
board discussed the regulation and, for the reasons stated in 
this section, determined that the regulation should not be 
amended or repealed, but should be retained in its current 
form. 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 

Sewage System Professionals conducted a small business 
impact review of 18VAC160-20, Board for Waterworks 
and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage 
System Professionals Regulations, and determined that this 
regulation should be retained in its current form. The Virginia 
Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and 
Onsite Sewage System Professionals is publishing its report 
of findings dated January 11, 2012, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

The continued need for the regulation is established in 
§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2301 of the Code of Virginia. The 
regulation is necessary to protect the health, safety, and 
welfare of the public and to ensure that individuals licensed 
as waterworks operators, wastewater works operators, onsite 
soil evaluators, onsite sewage system installers, and onsite 
sewage system operators have met minimum competencies. 
No comments or complaints were received during the public 
comment period. Consequently, there does not appear to be a 
reason to amend or repeal the regulation. The regulation is 
clearly written, easily understandable, and does not overlap, 
duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 
The most recent evaluation of the regulation resulted in 
amendments, effective January 1, 2010, that (i) reduced 
redundancy in the regulation, (ii) clarified language regarding 
license entry and renewal requirements, (iii) initiated 
continuing professional education requirements for 
wastewater works operators, and (iv) repealed the restricted 
Class 6 waterworks operator license. Currently, fast-track 
amendments are pending executive branch review. The 
proposed amendments modify the definitions of "direct 
supervisor" and "direct supervision;" the experience 
requirements for licensure as an onsite sewage system 
installer; and documentary evidence required to satisfy onsite 
sewage system installer entry experience requirements. The 
board discussed the regulation and, for the reasons stated in 
this section, determined that the regulation should not be 
amended or repealed, but should be retained in its current 
form. 

Contact Information: Mark N. Courtney, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, FAX (804) 
527-4403, or email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice (804) 
786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 
varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 
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Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
http://www.virginia.gov/cmsportal3/cgi-bin/calendar.cgi . 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/cumultab.htm. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 
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