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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

28:2 VA.R. 47-141 September 26, 2011, refers to Volume 28, Issue 2, 

pages 47 through 141 of the Virginia Register issued on  

September 26, 2011. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 

Chairman; Gregory D. Habeeb; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. 

Moncure, Jr.; Wesley G. Russell, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. 

Tavenner; Christopher R. Nolen; J. Jasen Eige or Jeffrey S. 

Palmore. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar; Rhonda Dyer, Senior Operations 

Staff Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations Staff Assistant;  
Lilli Hausenfluck, Chief Editor; Karen Perrine, Staff Attorney.

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

July 2012 through July 2013 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

28:24 July 11, 2012 July 30, 2012 

28:25 July 25, 2012 August 13, 2012 

28:26 August 8, 2012 August 27, 2012 

29:1 August 22, 2012 September 10, 2012 

29:2 September 5, 2012 September 24, 2012 

29:3 September 19, 2012 October 8, 2012 

29:4 October 3, 2012 October 22, 2012 

29:5 October 17, 2012 November 5, 2012 

29:6 October 31, 2012 November 19, 2012 

29:7 November 13, 2012 (Tuesday) December 3, 2012 

29:8 November 28, 2012 December 17, 2012 

29:9 December 11, 2012 (Tuesday) December 31, 2012 

29:10 December 26, 2012 January 14, 2013 

29:11 January 9, 2013 January 28, 2013 

29:12 January 23, 2013 February 11, 2013 

29:13 February 6, 2013 February 25, 2013 

29:14 February 20, 2013 March 11, 2013 

29:150 March 6, 2013 March 25, 2013 

29:16 March 20, 2013 April 8, 2013 

29:17 April 3, 2013 April 22, 2013 

29:18 April 17, 2013 May 6, 2013 

29:19 May 1, 2013 May 20, 2013 

29:20 May 15, 2013 June 3, 2013 

29:21 May 29, 2013 June 17, 2013 

29:22 June 12, 2013 July 1, 2013 

29:23 June 26, 2013 July 15, 2013 

29:24 July 10, 2013 July 29, 2013 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Sandra Gedney Anderson. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: That the board provide the 

names of persons who have earned their supervisory 

qualifications in order for residents to find a supervisor. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition will be 

published in the Register of Regulations and sent to persons 

on the public participation guidelines listing for the board 

with a request for comment. Following the close of comment 

on August 30, 2012, the board will consider whether it has 

statutory authority to have a registry of qualified supervisors. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 30, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-30, July 9, 2012, 11:11 a.m. 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Julia Sayre for the Virginia Association 

for Marriage and Family Therapy. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To clarify that board approval 

of registraion will be provided in writing with the date of 

registration of supervision to be effective 30 days from the 

initial receipt of the applicant's request. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition will be 

published on July 30, 2012, with comment requested until 

August 29, 2012. It will also be placed on the Virginia 

Regulatory Townhall and available for comments to be 

posted electronically. At its first meeting following the close 

of comment, which is scheduled for November 16, 2012, the 

board will consider the request to amend the regulations and 

all comment received in support or opposition. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 29, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-27, June 29, 2012, 9:20 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services intends to consider amending 2VAC5-

440, Rules and Regulations for Enforcement of the 

Virginia Pest Law - Cotton Boll Weevil Quarantine. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to more accurately reflect 

the agency's current practices and procedures related to the 

cotton boll weevil quarantine. This Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-703 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 29, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Erin Williams, Policy and Planning 

Coordinator, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-1308, FAX (804) 371-7479, TTY (800) 828-1120, 

or email erin.williams@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3186; Filed June 28, 2012, 10:59 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Board intends to consider amending 3VAC5-20, 

Advertising. The purpose of the proposed action is to remove 

vague or obsolete language and lessen restrictions on 

advertising using novelty and specialty items, coupons, and 

sponsorship of public events, based on the result of a periodic 

review. This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as 

the report of the findings of the regulatory review pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 29, 2012. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email 

curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3235; Filed July 2, 2012, 12:48 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Board intends to consider amending 3VAC5-30, Tied-House. 

The purpose of the proposed action is to modernize the 

board's regulations maintaining a reasonable separation 

between retailers and other alcoholic beverage industry 

members as a result of suggestions received during the recent 

periodic review. This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

serves as the report of the findings of the regulatory review 

pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 29, 2012. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email 

curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3236; Filed July 3, 2012, 10:00 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Board intends to consider amending 3VAC5-40, 

Requirements for Product Approval. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to simplify the approval process for new 

wine and beer products to be sold in Virginia, as suggested 

during the recent periodic review. This Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 29, 2012. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email 

curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3237; Filed July 2, 2012, 12:56 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Board intends to consider amending 3VAC5-50, Retail 

Operations. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
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simplify and modernize the board's regulations regarding the 

operation of licensed retail establishments, including food 

sale requirements and restrictions on drink specials, as a 

result of the recent periodic review. This Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 29, 2012. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email 

curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3239; Filed July 4, 2012, 9:47 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Board intends to consider amending 3VAC5-60, 

Manufacturers and Wholesalers Operations. The purpose 

of the proposed action is to simplify and modernize reporting 

requirements and other limitations on alcoholic beverage 

manufacturers and wholesalers, as suggested by the recent 

periodic review. This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

serves as the report of the findings of the regulatory review 

pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 29, 2012. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email 

curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3240; Filed July 4, 2012, 9:47 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Board intends to consider amending 3VAC5-70, Other 

Provisions. The purpose of the proposed action is to amend 

regulations related to recordkeeping by licensees, gifts of 

alcoholic beverages, price discrimination, and penalties for 

first-time violators of board regulations, as suggested in the 

recent periodic review. This Notice of Intended Regulatory 

Action serves as the report of the findings of the regulatory 

review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 4.1-111 Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 29, 2012. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email 

curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3241; Filed July 4, 2012, 9:48 a.m.  



REGULATIONS 
For information concerning the different types of regulations, see the Information Page. 

Symbol Key 
Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Underscored language indicates proposed new text. 

Language that has been stricken indicates proposed text for deletion.  Brackets are used in final regulations to indicate changes from the 
proposed regulation. 

Volume 28, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 30, 2012 

1808 

REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife. The department is required by § 2.2-

4031 of the Code of Virginia to publish all proposed and final 

wildlife management regulations, including length of seasons 

and bag limits allowed on the wildlife resources within the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: in General (amending 4VAC15-20-50, 

4VAC15-20-100, 4VAC15-20-130, 4VAC15-20-210).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 14, 2012 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) update the department's 

"List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia," 

consistent with current scientific and common names and 

knowledge of the wildlife of the Commonwealth; (ii) revise 

the definition of "wheelchair," define "other power-driven 

mobility devices," and comply with the provisions of the 

Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 as pertains to the 

use of such devices on department-owned lands; (iii) add 

the black rail to the Virginia List of Endangered and 

Threatened Species, thereby prohibiting the taking, 

transportation, possession, or sale of these rare native 

species without a permit, remove the bald eagle from that 

list, and adopt the updated and modified federal list of 

endangered and threatened wildlife species; and (iv) add 

the marbled crayfish to the list of Nonindigenous Aquatic 

Nuisance Species whose introduction into Virginia would 

be detrimental to the native fish and wildlife or the 

economy of the Commonwealth, thereby prohibiting the 

importation, possession, transportation, sale, and release 

of this species within Virginia without a permit. 

4VAC15-20-50. Definitions; "wild animal," "native 

animal," "naturalized animal," "nonnative (exotic) 

animal" and "domestic animal."  

In accordance with § 29.1-100 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following terms shall have the meanings ascribed to them by 

this section when used in regulations of the board:  

"Native animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals naturally occurring in Virginia, as included in the 

department's 2010 2012 "List of Native and Naturalized 

Fauna of Virginia," with copies available in the Richmond 

and regional offices of the department.  

"Naturalized animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals not originally native to Virginia which have 

established wild, self-sustaining populations, as included in 

the department's 2010 2012 "List of Native and Naturalized 

Fauna of Virginia," with copies available in the Richmond 

and regional offices of the department.  

"Nonnative (exotic) animal" means those species and 

subspecies of animals not naturally occurring in Virginia, 

excluding domestic and naturalized species.  

The following animals are defined as domestic animals:  

Domestic dog (Canis familiaris), including wolf hybrids.  

Domestic cat (Felis catus), including hybrids with wild 

felines.  

Domestic horse (Equus caballus), including hybrids with 

Equus asinus.  

Domestic ass, burro, and donkey (Equus asinus).  

Domestic cattle (Bos taurus and Bos indicus).  

Domestic sheep (Ovis aries) including hybrids with wild 

sheep.  

Domestic goat (Capra hircus).  

Domestic swine (Sus scrofa domestica), including pot-

bellied pig.  

Llama (Lama glama).  

Alpaca (Lama pacos).  

Camels (Camelus bactrianus and Camelus dromedarius).  

Domesticated races of hamsters (Mesocricetus spp.).  

Domesticated races of mink (Mustela vison) where adults 

are heavier than 1.15 kilograms or their coat color can be 

distinguished from wild mink.  

Domesticated races of red fox (Vulpes) where their coat 

color can be distinguished from wild red fox.  
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Domesticated races of guinea pigs (Cavia porcellus).  

Domesticated races of gerbils (Meriones unguiculatus).  

Domesticated races of chinchillas (Chinchilla laniger).  

Domesticated races of rats (Rattus norvegicus and Rattus 

rattus).  

Domesticated races of mice (Mus musculus).  

Domesticated races of European rabbit (Oryctolagus 

cuniculus).  

Domesticated races of chickens (Gallus).  

Domesticated races of turkeys (Meleagris gallopavo).  

Domesticated races of ducks and geese distinguishable 

morphologically from wild birds.  

Feral pigeons (Columba domestica and Columba livia) and 

domesticated races of pigeons.  

Domesticated races of guinea fowl (Numida meleagris).  

Domesticated races of peafowl (Pavo cristatus). 

"Wild animal" means any member of the animal kingdom, 

except domestic animals, including without limitation any 

native, naturalized, or nonnative (exotic) mammal, fish, bird, 

amphibian, reptile, mollusk, crustacean, arthropod or other 

invertebrate, and includes any hybrid of them, except as 

otherwise specified in regulations of the board, or part, 

product, egg, or offspring of them, or the dead body or parts 

of them.  

4VAC15-20-100. Prohibited use of vehicles on 

department-owned lands.  

It shall be unlawful on department-owned lands to drive 

through or around gates designed to prevent entry with any 

type of motorized vehicle or to use such vehicles to travel 

anywhere on such lands except on roads open to vehicular 

traffic. Any motor-driven conveyance shall conform with all 

state laws for highway travel; provided, that this requirement 

shall not apply to the operation of motor vehicles for 

administrative purposes by department-authorized personnel 

on department-owned lands. A motorized wheelchair suitable 

for use in an indoor pedestrian area is not considered a 

motorized vehicle and, therefore, is not covered by any 

restrictions on the use of motorized vehicles on department-

owned lands. For purposes of this section, the term 

"wheelchair" means a device designed solely for use by a 

mobility-impaired person for locomotion that is suitable for 

use in an indoor pedestrian area. Nothing in this section shall 

be construed to prohibit the department from allowing the use 

of wheelchairs or other power-driven mobility devices by 

individuals with mobility disabilities in accordance with the 

federal Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (P.L. 101-

336, 104 Stat. 327). 

For the purposes of this section, the term "wheelchair" 

means a manually operated or power-driven device designed 

primarily for use by an individual with a mobility disability 

for the main purpose of indoor, or of both indoor and outdoor, 

locomotion. "Other power-driven mobility device" means any 

mobility device powered by batteries, fuel, or other engines, 

whether or not designed primarily for use by individuals with 

mobility disabilities, that is used by individuals with mobility 

disabilities for the purpose of locomotion, including golf cars, 

electronic personal assistive mobility devices, or any mobility 

device designed to operate in areas without defined pedestrian 

routes, but that is not a wheelchair within the meaning of this 

section. 

4VAC15-20-130. Endangered and threatened species; 

adoption of federal list; additional species enumerated.  

A. The board hereby adopts the Federal Endangered and 

Threatened Species List, Endangered Species Act of 

December 28, 1973 (16 USC §§ 1531-1543), as amended as 

of April 6, 2012, and declares all species listed thereon to be 

endangered or threatened species in the Commonwealth. 

Pursuant to § 29.1-103.12 of the Code of Virginia, the 

director of the department is hereby delegated authority to 

propose adoption of modifications and amendments to the 

Federal Endangered and Threatened Species List in 

accordance with the procedures of §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 

of the Code of Virginia.  

B. In addition to the provisions of subsection A, the 

following species are declared endangered or threatened in 

this Commonwealth, and are afforded the protection provided 

by Article 6 (§ 29.1-563 et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of 

the Code of Virginia:  

1. Fish:   

  Endangered:     

  Dace, Tennessee Phoxinus tennesseensis   

  Darter, sharphead Etheostoma acuticeps   

  Darter,variegate Etheostoma variatum   

  Sunfish, 

blackbanded  

Enneacanthus 

chaetodon 
  

  Threatened:   

  Darter, Carolina Etheostoma collis   

  Darter, golden Etheostoma 

denoncourti 
  

  Darter, greenfin  Etheostoma 

chlorobranchium 
  

  Darter, longhead  Percina macrocephala   

  Darter, western sand Ammocrypta clara   

  Madtom, orangefin Noturus gilberti   

  Paddlefish Polyodon spathula   

  Shiner, emerald Notropis atherinoides   

  Shiner, steelcolor Cyprinella whipplei   
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  Shiner, whitemouth Notropis alborus   

2. Amphibians:   

  Endangered:   

  Salamander, eastern 

tiger 

Ambystoma tigrinum 

tigrinum 
  

  Threatened:   

  Salamander, 

Mabee's 

Ambystoma mabeei 
  

  Treefrog, barking Hyla gratiosa   

3. Reptiles:   

  Endangered:   

  Rattlesnake, 

canebrake (Coastal 

Plain population of 

timber rattlesnake) 

Crotalus horridus 

  

  Turtle, bog Glyptemys 

muhlenbergii 
  

  Turtle, eastern 

chicken 

Deirochelys reticularia 

reticularia 
  

  Threatened:   

  Lizard, eastern glass Ophisaurus ventralis   

  Turtle, wood Glyptemys insculpta   

4. Birds:   

  Endangered:     

  Plover, Wilson's Charadrius wilsonia   

 Rail, black Laterallus jamaicensis 
 

  Wren, Bewick's Thryomanes bewicki 

bewickii 
  

  Threatened:   

  Eagle, bald Haliaeetus 

leucocephalus  
  

  Falcon, peregrine Falco peregrinus   

  Sandpiper, upland Bartramia longicauda   

  Shrike, loggerhead Lanius ludovicianus   

  Sparrow, Bachman's Aimophila aestivalis   

  Sparrow, Henslow's  Ammodramus 

henslowii 
  

  Tern, gull-billed  Sterna nilotica   

5. Mammals:   

  Endangered:   

  Bat, Rafinesque's 

eastern big-eared  

Corynorhinus 

rafinesquii macrotis 
  

  Hare, snowshoe Lepus americanus   

  Shrew, American 

water 

Sorex palustris 
  

  Squirrel, Virginia 

northern flying 

Glaucomys sabrinus 

fuscus 
  

  Vole, rock Microtus chrotorrhinus   

  Threatened:   

  Shrew, Dismal 

Swamp southeastern 

Sorex longirostris 

fisheri 
  

6. Molluscs:   

  Endangered:   

  Ghostsnail, 

thankless 

Holsingeria 

unthanksensis 
  

  Coil, rubble  Helicodiscus lirellus   

  Coil, shaggy Helicodiscus diadema   

  Deertoe Truncilla truncata   

  Elephantear Elliptio crassidens   

  Elimia, spider Elimia arachnoidea   

  Floater, brook  Alasmidonta varicosa   

  Heelsplitter, 

Tennessee 

Lasmigona holstonia 
  

  Lilliput, purple Toxolasma lividus   

  Mussel, slippershell  Alasmidonta viridis   

  Pigtoe, Ohio 

cordatum 

Pleurobema  
  

  Pigtoe, pyramid Pleurobema rubrum   

  Snuffbox  Epioblasma triquetra   

  Springsnail, 

Appalachian 

Fontigens bottimeri 
  

  Springsnail (no 

common name) 

Fonitgens morrisoni 
  

  Spectaclecase Cumberlandia 

monodonta 
  

  Supercoil, spirit  Paravitrea hera   



Regulations 

Volume 28, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 30, 2012 

1811 

  Threatened:   

  Floater, green Lasmigona subviridis   

  Papershell, fragile Leptodea fragilis   

  Pearlymussel, 

slabside 

Lexingtonia 

dolabelloides 
  

  Pigtoe, Atlantic  Fusconaiamasoni   

  Pimpleback  Quadrula pustulosa 

pustulosa 
  

  Pistolgrip Tritogonia verrucosa   

  Riversnail, spiny  Iofluvialis   

  Sandshell, black Ligumia recta   

  Sheepnose Plethobasus cyphyus   

  Supercoil, brown Paravitrea septadens   

7. Arthropods:   

  Threatened:   

  Amphipod, Madison 

Cave 

Stygobromus 

stegerorum 
  

  Pseudotremia, Ellett 

Valley 

Pseudotremia 

cavernarum 
  

  Xystodesmid, Laurel 

Creek 

Sigmoria whiteheadi 
  

8. Crustaceans:   

  Endangered: 

  Crayfish, Big 

Sandy 

Cambarus veteranus 
  

C. It shall be unlawful to take, transport, process, sell, or 

offer for sale within the Commonwealth any threatened or 

endangered species of fish or wildlife except as authorized by 

law. 

4VAC15-20-210. Definitions; nonindigenous aquatic 

nuisance species. 

A. In addition to the species already listed in § 29.1-571 of 

the Code of Virginia, the board hereby designates the 

following species as nonindigenous aquatic nuisance species 

pursuant to § 29.1-100 of the Code of Virginia.  

1. Fish.  

a. Black carp (Mylopharyngodon piceus) .  

2. Invertebrates.  

a. New Zealand mudsnail (Potamopyrgus antipodarum) . 

b. Rusty crayfish (Orconectes rusticus) .  

c. Chinese mitten crab (Eriocheir sinensis) 

d. Marbled crayfish (Marmorkrebs – genus Procambarus) 

B. It shall be unlawful to take, possess, transport, import, 

sell, or offer for sale within the Commonwealth any 

nonindigenous aquatic nuisance species except as authorized 

by law or regulation.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(4VAC15-20) 

2010 List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, 

Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries. 

List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, March 

2012, Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3325; Filed July 11, 2012, 0:57 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-30. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., of 

Animals (amending 4VAC15-30-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 14, 2012 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) add the marbled crayfish to 

the list of predatory and undesirable specie, whose 

introduction into Virginia would be detrimental to the 

native fish and wildlife of the Commonwealth, thereby 

prohibiting the importation, possession, or sale of these 

species without a permit; and (ii) update the list to reflect 

current common and scientific names. 

4VAC15-30-40. Importation requirements, possession and 

sale of nonnative (exotic) animals.  

A. Permit required. A special permit is required and may 

be issued by the department, if consistent with the 

department's fish and wildlife management program, to 

import, possess, or sell those nonnative (exotic) animals 

listed below and in 4VAC15-20-210 that the board finds 

and declares to be predatory or undesirable within the 

meaning and intent of § 29.1-542 of the Code of Virginia, 

in that their introduction into the Commonwealth will be 

detrimental to the native fish and wildlife resources of 

Virginia: 

 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a1354002589~2&typ=40&actno=002589&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a1354002589~2&typ=40&actno=002589&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3a153003325~1&typ=40&actno=003325&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3a153003325~1&typ=40&actno=003325&mime=application/pdf


Regulations 

Volume 28, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 30, 2012 

1812 

AMPHIBIANS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Anura Buforidae Bufonidae Bufo marinus Rhinella marina Giant or marine 

toad* Cane toad* 

Pipidae Hymenochirus spp. 

Pseudohymenochiris merlini 

African dwarf frog 

Xenopus spp. Tongueless or 

African clawed frog 

Caudata Ambystomatidae Ambystoma tigrium mavortium Barred tiger 

salamander 

A. t. diaboli Gray tiger 

salamander 

A. t. melanostictum Blotched tiger 

salamander 

BIRDS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Psittaciformes Psittacidae  Myiopsitta monachus Monk parakeet* 

Anseriformes Anatidae  Cygnus olor Mute swan 

FISH: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Cypriniformes  Catostomidae Ictiobus bubalus  Smallmouth* buffalo 

I. cyprinellus Bigmouth* buffalo 

I. niger  Black buffalo* 

Characidae Pygopristis spp. 

Pygocentrus spp. 

Rooseveltiella spp. 

Serrasalmo spp. 

Serrasalmus spp. 

Taddyella spp. 

Piranhas 

Cyprinidae Aristichyhys nobilis Bighead carp* 

Ctenopharyngodon idella Grass carp or white 

amur 

Cyprinella lutrensis  Red shiner 

Hypophthalmichthys molitrix Silver carp* 

Mylopharyngodom piceus Black carp* 

Scardinius erythrophthalmus Rudd 

Tinca tinca Tench* 

Gobiesociformes Gobiidae Proterorhinus marmoratus Tubenose goby 

Neogobius melanostomus Round goby 
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Perciformes Channidae Channa spp. 

Parachanna spp. 

Snakeheads 

Cichlidae Tilapia spp. Tilapia 

Gymnocephalus cernuum Ruffe* 

Siluriformes Clariidae All species Air-breathing catfish 

Synbranchiformes Synbranchidae Monopterus albus Swamp eel 

MAMMALS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Artiodactyla Suidae  All Species Pigs or Hogs* 

Cervidae All Species Deer* 

Carnivora Canidae All Species Wild Dogs*, Wolves, 

Coyotes or Coyote 

hybrids, Jackals and 

Foxes 

Ursidae All Species Bears* 

Procyonidae All Species Raccoons and* 

Relatives 

Mustelidae All Species 

(except Mustela putorius furo) 

Weasels, Badgers,* 

Skunks and Otters 

Ferret 

Viverridae All Species Civets, Genets,* 

Lingsangs, 

Mongooses, and 

Fossas 

Herpestidae All Species Mongooses* 

Hyaenidae All Species Hyenas and 

Aardwolves* 

Protelidae Proteles cristatus Aardwolf* 

Felidae All Species Cats* 

Chiroptera   All Species Bats* 

Lagomorpha Lepridae Lepus europeaeous European hare 

Oryctolagus cuniculus European rabbit 

Rodentia   All species native to Africa All species native to 

Africa 

Sciuridae Cynomys spp. Prairie dogs 

MOLLUSKS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 
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Neotaenioglossa Hydrobiidae Potamopyrgus antipodarum New Zealand 

mudsnail 

Veneroida Dreissenidae Dreissena bugensis  Quagga mussel 

Dreissena polymorpha  Zebra mussel 

REPTILES: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Squamata Alligatoridae All species Alligators, caimans* 

Colubridae Boiga irregularis Brown tree snake* 

Crocodylidae All species Crocodiles* 

Gavialidae All species Gavials* 

CRUSTACEANS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Decapoda Cambaridae Orconectes rusticus Rusty crayfish 

Procambarus sp. Marbled crayfish 

Parastacidae Cherax spp. Australian crayfish 

Varunidea Eriocheir sinensis Chinese mitten crab 

B. Temporary possession permit for certain animals. 

Notwithstanding the permitting requirements of subsection A, 

a person, company or corporation possessing any nonnative 

(exotic) animal, designated with an asterisk (*) in subsection 

A, prior to July 1, 1992, must declare such possession in 

writing to the department by January 1, 1993. This written 

declaration shall serve as a permit for possession only, is not 

transferable, and must be renewed every five years. This 

written declaration must include species name, common 

name, number of individuals, date or dates acquired, sex (if 

possible), estimated age, height or length, and other 

characteristics such as bands and band numbers, tattoos, 

registration numbers, coloration, and specific markings. 

Possession transfer will require a new permit according to the 

requirements of this subsection.  

C. Exception for certain monk parakeets. A permit is not 

required for monk parakeets (quakers) that have been captive 

bred and are closed-banded with a seamless band.  

D. Exception for parts or products. A permit is not required 

for parts or products of those nonnative (exotic) animals 

listed in subsection A that may be used for personal use, in 

the manufacture of products, or used in scientific research, 

provided that such parts or products be packaged outside the 

Commonwealth by any person, company, or corporation duly 

licensed by the state in which the parts originate. Such 

packages may be transported into the Commonwealth, 

consistent with other state laws and regulations, so long as the 

original package remains unbroken, unopened and intact until 

its point of destination is reached. Documentation concerning 

the type and cost of the animal parts ordered, the purpose and 

date of the order, point and date of shipping, and date of 

receiving shall be kept by the person, business or institution 

ordering such nonnative (exotic) animal parts. Such 

documentation shall be open to inspection by a representative 

of the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries.  

E. Exception for certain mammals. Nonnative (exotic) 

mammals listed in subsection A, except members of the 

Cervidae family, African rodents, and prairie dogs, that are 

imported or possessed by dealers, exhibitors, transporters, and 

researchers who are licensed or registered by the United 

States Department of Agriculture under the Animal Welfare 

Act (7 USC §§ 2131 et seq.) will be deemed to be permitted 

pursuant to this section, provided that those individuals 

wanting to import such animals notify the department 24 

hours prior to importation with a list of animals to be 

imported, a schedule of dates and locations where those 

animals will be housed while in the Commonwealth, and a 

copy of the current license or licenses or registration or 

registrations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, and 

further provided that such animals shall not be liberated 

within the Commonwealth.  

F. Exception for prairie dogs. The effective date of listing of 

prairie dogs under subsection A of this section shall be 

January 1, 1998. Prairie dogs possessed in captivity in 

Virginia on December 31, 1997, may be maintained in 

captivity until the animals' deaths, but they may not be sold 

on or after January 1, 1998, without a permit.  

G. Exception for snakehead fish. Anglers may legally 

harvest snakehead fish of the family Channidea, provided that 
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they immediately kill such fish and that they notify the 

department, as soon as practicable, of such actions.  

H. All other nonnative (exotic) animals. All other nonnative 

(exotic) animals not listed in subsection A of this section may 

be possessed, purchased, and sold; provided, that such 

animals shall be subject to all applicable local, state, and 

federal laws and regulations, including those that apply to 

threatened/endangered species, and further provided, that 

such animals shall not be liberated within the 

Commonwealth.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3326; Filed July 11, 2012, 1:46 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-320. Fish: Fishing Generally 

(amending 4VAC15-320-25).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 14, 2012 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) establish creel and length 

limits on yellow perch in Lake Moomaw; (ii) establish 

creel and length limits on red drum, spotted sea trout 

(speckled trout), grey trout (weakfish), and southern 

flounder in Back Bay and tributaries including Lake 

Tecumseh and the North Landing River and its tributaries; 

and (iii) adjust length limits on largemouth, smallmouth, 

spotted, or striped bass in certain locations. 

 

4VAC15-320-25. Creel and length limits.  

The creel limits (including live possession) and the length limits for the various species of fish shall be as follows, unless 

otherwise excepted by posted rules at department-owned or department-controlled waters (see 4VAC15-320-100 D).  

Type of fish Subtype or location 
Creel and length 

limits 

Geographic 

exceptions 

Creel or length 

limits for 

exceptions 

largemouth bass, 

smallmouth bass, spotted 

bass 

  5 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No statewide 

length limits 

Lakes 

Briery Creek Lake No bass 14 16 to 24 

inches, only 1 per 

day longer than 24 

inches 

Buggs Island (Kerr) Only 2 of 5 bass 

less than 14 inches 

Claytor Lake No bass less than 

12 inches 

Flannagan Reservoir No bass less than 

12 inches 

Lake Gaston Only 2 of 5 bass 

less than 14 inches 

Leesville Reservoir Only 2 of 5 bass 

less than 14 inches 

Lake Moomaw No bass less than 

12 inches 

Philpott Reservoir No bass less than 

12 inches 

Quantico Marine Base 

waters 

No bass 12 to 15 

inches 
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Smith Mt. Lake and 

its tributaries below 

Niagara Dam 

Only 2 of 5 bass 

less than 14 inches 

Rivers 

Clinch River – within 

the boundaries of 

Scott, Wise, Russell, 

or Tazewell counties 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

Dan River and 

tributaries down 

stream from the 

Brantley Steam Plant 

Union Street Dam, 

Danville 

Only 2 of 5 bass 

less than 14 inches 

James River – 

Confluence of the 

Jackson and 

Cowpasture rivers 

(Botetourt County) 

downstream to the 

14th Street Bridge in 

Richmond 

No bass 14 to 22 

inches, only 1 per 

day longer than 22 

inches 

New River – Fields 

Dam (Grayson 

County) downstream 

to the VA – WV state 

line and its tributary 

Little River 

downstream from 

Little River Dam in 

Montgomery County 

(This does not include 

Claytor Lake which is 

delineated as: The 

upper end of the 

island at Allisonia 

downstream to the 

dam) 

No bass 14 to 20 

inches, only 1 per 

day longer than 20 

inches 

North Fork Holston 

River - Rt. 91 bridge 

upstream of Saltville, 

VA downstream to the 

VA-TN state line 

No bass less than 

20 inches, only 1 

per day longer than 

20 inches 

North Fork 

Shenandoah River – 

Rt. 42 bridge, 

Rockingham Co. 

downstream to the 

confluence with S. 

Fork Shenandoah at 

Front Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 
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Potomac River - 

Virginia tidal 

tributaries above Rt. 

301 bridge 

No bass less than 

15 inches from 

March 1 through 

June 15 

Roanoke (Staunton) 

River - and its 

tributaries below 

Difficult Creek, 

Charlotte Co. 

Only 2 of 5 bass 

less than 14 inches 

Shenandoah River –    

Confluence of South 

Fork and North Fork 

rivers, Front Royal, 

downstream, to the 

Warren Dam, near 

Front Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

Base of Warren Dam, 

near Front Royal 

downstream to Rt. 

17/50 bridge 

No bass 14 to 20 

inches, only 1 per 

day longer than 20 

inches 

Rt. 17/50 bridge 

downstream to VA - 

WV state line 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

South Fork 

Shenandoah River - 

  

Confluence of North 

and South rivers, 

below Port Republic, 

downstream to 

Shenandoah Dam, 

near Town of 

Shenandoah 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

Base of Shenandoah 

Dam, near Town of 

Shenandoah, 

downstream to Luray 

Dam, near Luray  

No bass 14 to 20 

inches, only 1 per 

day longer than 20 

inches 

Base of Luray Dam, 

near Luray, 

downstream to the 

confluence with North 

Fork of Shenandoah, 

Front Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 
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Staunton River - 

Leesville Dam 

(Campbell County) 

downstream to the 

U.S. Route 360 

Bridge 

(Halifax/Charlotte 

County Line) near 

Clover, VA mouth of 

Difficult Creek, 

Charlotte County 

No smallmouth bass 

less than 20 inches, 

only 1 per day longer 

than 20 inches 

striped bass landlocked striped 

bass and landlocked 

striped bass x white 

bass hybrids 

4 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No fish less than 20 

inches 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 

reservoir including the 

Staunton River to 

Leesville Dam and the 

Dan River to Brantly 

Steam Plant Union 

Street Dam (Danville) 

October 1 - May 

31: 2 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No striped bass or 

hybrid striped bass 

less than 26 24 

inches; 

June 1 - September 

30: 4 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No length limit 

Smith Mountain Lake 

and its tributaries, 

including the Roanoke 

River upstream to 

Niagara Dam 

2 per day in the 

aggregate;  

November 1 - May 

31: No striped bass 

26 to 36 inches; 

June 1 - October 

31: No length limit 

Lake Gaston 4 per day in the 

aggregate 

October 1 - May 

31: No striped bass 

or hybrid striped 

bass less than 20 

inches 

June 1 - September 

30: No length limit 

anadromous 

(coastal) striped bass 

above the fall line in 

all coastal rivers of 

the Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length 

limits shall be set 

by the Virginia 

Marine Resources 

Commission for 

recreational fishing 

in tidal waters 
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anadromous 

(coastal) in the 

Meherrin, 

Nottoway, 

Blackwater 

(Chowan Drainage), 

North Landing and 

Northwest Rivers 

and their tributaries 

plus Back Bay 

2 per day;  

No striped bass less 

than 18 inches 

    

white bass   5 per day;  

No statewide 

length limits 

    

walleye   5 per day;  

No walleye less 

than 18 inches 

New River upstream 

of Buck Dam in 

Carroll County 

No walleye less than 

20 inches 

    

Claytor Lake and the 

New River upstream 

of Claytor Lake Dam 

to Buck Dam in 

Carroll County 

February 1 - May 31:  

2 walleye per day; no 

walleye 19 to 28 

inches; 

June 1 - January 31:  

5 walleye per day; no 

walleye less than 20 

inches 

sauger   2 per day;  

No statewide 

length limits 

    

yellow perch  No statewide daily 

limit; 

No statewide 

length limits 

Lake Moomaw 10 per day 

chain pickerel   5 per day;  

No statewide 

length limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

reservoirs 

No daily limit 

northern pike   2 per day;  

No pike less than 

20 inches 

    

muskellunge   2 per day;  

No muskellunge 

less than 30 inches 

New River - Fields 

Dam (Grayson 

County) downstream 

to the VA - WV state 

line, including Claytor 

Lake 

1 per day  

No muskellunge 

less than 42 inches 
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bluegill (bream) and other 

sunfish excluding crappie, 

rock bass (redeye) and 

Roanoke bass 

  50 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No statewide 

length limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

reservoirs and that 

portion of the New 

River from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the New 

and Little Rivers in 

Grayson County 

No daily limit 

crappie (black or white)   25 per day in the 

aggregate;  

No statewide 

length limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

reservoirs and that 

portion of the New 

River from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the New 

and Little Rivers in 

Grayson County 

No daily limit 

Flannagan and South 

Holston reservoirs 

No crappie less 

than 10 inches 

rock bass (redeye)   25 per day;  

No statewide 

length limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

reservoirs and that 

portion of the New 

River from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the New 

and Little Rivers in 

Grayson County. 

No daily limit 

Nottoway and 

Meherrin rivers and 

their tributaries 

5 per day in the 

aggregate with 

Roanoke bass;  

No rock bass less 

than 8 inches  

Roanoke bass   No statewide daily 

limit;  

No statewide 

length limits 

Nottoway and 

Meherrin rivers and 

their tributaries 

5 per day in the 

aggregate with rock 

bass;  

No Roanoke bass 

less than 8 inches 

trout See 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing. 

catfish channel, white, and 

flathead catfish 

20 per day;  

No length limits 

All rivers below the 

fall line 

No daily limit 
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blue catfish 20 per day, only 1 

blue catfish per day 

longer than 32 

inches 

All rivers below the 

fall line 

No daily limit, 

except only 1 blue 

catfish per day 

longer than 32 

inches  

yellow, brown, and 

black bullheads 

No daily limit;  

No length limits 

    

American shad and hickory 

shad 

James River above 

the fall line (14th 

Street Bridge), the 

Meherrin River 

above Emporia 

Dam, the 

Chickahominy River 

above Walkers 

Dam, the 

Appomattox River 

above Harvell Dam, 

the Pamunkey River 

and the Mattaponi 

River above the Rt. 

360 bridge, and the 

Rappahannock 

River above the Rt. 

1 bridge, and 

Virginia waters of 

Lake Gaston and 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 

Reservoir and 

tributaries to include 

the Dan and 

Staunton rivers 

No possession 

(catch and release 

only) 

    

(below the fall line) 

in tidal rivers of the 

Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length 

limits shall be 

those set by the 

Virginia Marine 

Resources 

Commission 

    

Meherrin River 

below Emporia Dam 

Nottoway River, 

Blackwater River 

(Chowan Drainage), 

North Landing and 

Northwest rivers, 

and their tributaries 

plus Back Bay 

10 per day in the 

aggregate 

No length limits 
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anadromous (coastal) 

alewife and blueback 

herring 

Above and below 

the fall line in all 

coastal rivers of the 

Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length 

limits shall be 

those set by the 

Virginia Marine 

Resources 

Commission 

    

Meherrin River, 

Nottoway River, 

Blackwater River 

(Chowan Drainage), 

North Landing and 

Northwest rivers, 

and their tributaries 

plus Back Bay 

No possession  

  

    

red drum Back Bay and 

tributaries including 

Lake Tecumseh and 

the North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

1 per day;  

 

No drum less than 

18 inches or greater 

than 27 inches 

  

spotted sea trout (speckled 

trout) 

Back Bay and 

tributaries including 

Lake Tecumseh and 

the North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

4 per day;  

 

No sea trout less 

than 14 inches 

  

grey trout (weakfish) Back Bay and 

tributaries including 

Lake Tecumseh and 

North Landing River 

and its tributaries 

1 per day;  

 

No grey trout less 

than 12 inches 

  

southern flounder Back Bay and 

tributaries including 

Lake Tecumseh and 

the North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

6 per day;  

 

No flounder less 

than 15 inches 

  

other native or naturalized 

nongame fish 

See 4VAC15-360-10. Fish: Aquatic Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame Fish. 

Taking aquatic invertebrates, amphibians, reptiles and nongame fish for private use. 

endangered or threatened 

fish 

See 4VAC15-20-130. Definitions and Miscellaneous: In General. Endangered and threatened 

species; adoption of federal list; additional species enumerated. 

nonnative (exotic) fish See 4VAC15-30-40. Definitions and Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., of 

Animals. Importation requirements, possession and sale of nonnative (exotic) animals. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3327; Filed July 11, 2012, 3:08 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-350. Fish: Gigs, Grab Hooks, 

Trotlines, Snares, Etc (amending 4VAC15-350-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 14, 2012 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2012. 
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Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) add crossbows as a legal 

method of bow and arrow angling for nongame fish to help 

eliminate confusion with this fishing method and (ii) allow 

the harvest of bowfin and catfish with bow and arrow 

below the fall line in tidal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay. 

4VAC15-350-70. Taking common carp, northern 

snakehead, bowfin, catfish, and gar with bow and arrow 

or crossbow. 

A. Season. Except as otherwise provided by local legislation 

or as posted, it shall be lawful to take common carp, northern 

snakehead, and gar from the public inland waters of the 

Commonwealth and bowfin and catfish from below the fall 

line in tidal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay, except waters 

stocked with trout, by means of bow and arrow or crossbow.  

B. Poison arrows or explosive-head arrows prohibited. It 

shall be unlawful to use poison arrows or arrows with 

explosive heads at any time for the purpose of taking 

common carp, northern snakehead, bowfin, catfish, or gar in 

the public inland waters of the Commonwealth.  

C. Fishing license required. All persons taking fish in the 

manner mentioned in this section shall be required to have a 

regular fishing license.  

D. Creel limits. Common carp, northern snakehead, bowfin, 

catfish, and gar – unlimited, provided that any angler taking 

northern snakehead immediately kill such fish and notify the 

department, as soon as practicable, of such actions.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3328; Filed July 11, 2012, 5:50 a.m.  

*  *  * 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: For the following watercraft 

regulations, the Board of Game and Inland Fisheries is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to 

supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 

(Boating Laws) of the Code of Virginia as prescribed in 

Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-370. Watercraft: in General 

(amending 4VAC15-370-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, 29.1-502, and 

29.1-701 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 14, 2012 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment prohibits operation or 

anchoring of a vessel within 600 feet of the Leesville Dam. 

4VAC15-370-40. Vessels prohibited within certain areas 

below John H. Kerr Dam and Leesville Dam.  

It shall be unlawful to operate or anchor any vessel within 

600 feet below the John H. Kerr Dam or within 840 600 feet 

below the Leesville Dam.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3329; Filed July 11, 2012, 6:02 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-390. Watercraft: Safe and 

Reasonable Operation of Vessels (amending 4VAC15-390-

50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, 29.1-502, and 

29.1-701 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 14, 2012 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment replaces the term "right of way" 

with the term "responsibility between vessels," consistent 

with changes to the U.S. Coast Guard's Navigation Rules 

of the Road. 

4VAC15-390-50. Right of way Responsibility between 

vessels.  

A. The operator of a motorboat underway shall keep his 

vessel out of the way of:  

1. A vessel not under command;  

2. A vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver;  

3. A vessel engaged in fishing with nets or other 

commercial fishing apparatus that restricts 

maneuverability; and  

4. A sailing vessel.  

B. The operator of a sailing vessel underway shall keep his 

vessel out of the way of:  

1. A vessel not under command;  

2. A vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver; and  

3. A vessel engaged in fishing with nets or other 

commercial fishing apparatus that restricts 

maneuverability.  
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C. The operator of a vessel engaged in fishing with nets or 

other commercial fishing apparatus that restricts 

maneuverability when underway shall, so far as possible, 

keep his vessel out of the way of:  

1. A vessel not under command; and  

2. A vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver.  

D. The pilot of a seaplane on the water shall, in general, 

keep his seaplane well clear of all vessels and avoid impeding 

their navigation. In circumstances, however, where risk of 

collision exists, he shall comply with the right of way 

responsibility between vessels provisions above.  

E. When two sailing vessels are approaching one another, so 

as to involve risk of collision, the operator of one of them 

shall keep out of the way of the other as follows:  

1. When each has the wind on a different side, the vessel 

that has the wind on the left side shall keep out of the way 

of the other;  

2. When both have the wind on the same side, the vessel 

that is to windward (upwind) shall keep out of the way of 

the vessel that is to leeward (downwind); and  

3. If a vessel with the wind on the left side sees a vessel to 

windward (upwind) and cannot determine with certainty 

whether the other vessel has the wind on the left or on the 

right side, it shall keep out of the way of the other.  

For the purpose of this section, the windward (upwind) side 

shall be deemed to be the side opposite to that on which the 

mainsail is carried or, in the case of a square-rigged vessel, 

the side opposite to that on which the largest fore-and-aft sail 

is carried.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3330; Filed July 11, 2012, 6:17 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-400. Watercraft: Accident 

and Casualty Reporting (amending 4VAC15-400-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, 29.1-502, and 

29.1-701 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 14, 2012 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments allow for boating operators 

involved in an accident that requires a written report to 

make the required immediate notification to any member of 

the department, instead of to a sworn officer within the law 

enforcement division only. 

4VAC15-400-20. Immediate notification of reportable 

accident.  

When an accident occurs that requires a written report in 

accordance with 4VAC15-400-30, the operator shall, without 

delay, by the quickest means available, notify the department 

in Richmond, Virginia, or the most immediately available 

member of the department's law-enforcement (game warden) 

force department, of:  

1. The date, time, and exact location of the occurrence;  

2. The major details of the accident including the name of 

each person who died or disappeared;  

3. The number and name of the vessel; and  

4. The names and addresses of the owner and operator.  

When the operator of a vessel cannot give the notice 

required by the foregoing, each person, on board the vessel 

shall notify the department or a member of its law-

enforcement force, or determine that the notice has been 

given.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3331; Filed July 11, 2012, 6:31 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-410. Watercraft: Boating 

Safety Education (amending 4VAC15-410-20, 4VAC15-

410-40, 4VAC15-410-110, 4VAC15-410-120, 4VAC15-410-

140, 4VAC15-410-150).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, 29.1-502, 29.1-

701, and 29.1-735.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 14, 2012 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) provide for the issuance of a 

Lifetime Boater's Card as certification of compliance with 

boating safety education requirements to an individual 

who is or was previously registered as a commercial 

fisherman, and provide that for the purpose of operating a 

recreational vessel a registered commercial fishing license 

is considered valid regardless of whether the license is 

current; (ii) raise the passing score for the boating safety 

education Proctored Virginia Challenge Exam from 70% 

to 80% and require anyone failing an initial challenge 

exam, in order to receive a completion card, to complete 

an approved boating safety course online or in the 

classroom rather than by taking multiple exams; (iii) 

establish that a person who has not completed a National 

Association of State Boating Law Administrators 

(NASBLA) approved course that is accepted by the 
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department may not supervise an operator of a vessel who 

also has not completed such course; (iv) establish that for 

specified described purposes certain licenses, certificates, 

or registrations to operate a vessel or a pleasure craft are 

considered valid regardless of whether such authorization 

is current; (v) increase the fee charged for a replacement 

Virginia Boater Education Card from $8 to $10, making it 

uniform with the fee for an original card; and (vi) amend 

definitions and standards as necessary to support the 

above. 

4VAC15-410-20. Definitions. 

As used in this chapter, unless the context clearly requires a 

different meaning, the following words and terms shall have 

the following meanings: 

"Approved course provider" is any individual, business, or 

organization that makes available to the boating public a 

boating safety education course approved by the National 

Association of State Boating Law Administrators and 

accepted by the department. An approved course provider 

shall have executed and have on file a valid cooperative 

agreement with the department. Persons who simply provide 

classroom instruction for an approved course provider shall 

not be considered an approved course provider.  The 

department will make information regarding such approved 

courses and providers readily available for public access.  

"Board" means the Board of Game and Inland Fisheries. 

"Boating safety education course" means a course offered in 

the classroom, through the Internet, or through an electronic 

format such as CD-ROM that provides a course content and 

test questions that have been reviewed and approved by the 

National Association of State Boating Law Administrators in 

accordance with the National Boating Education Standards, 

updated January 1, 2008, and accepted by the department. A 

boating safety education course shall include no less than 50 

test questions, which shall include at least 10 test questions 

specific about Virginia boating laws. 

"Department" means the Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries. 

"Dockside safety checklist" means a document provided by 

the department that consists of selected facts about Virginia 

boating laws and safe boat operation that a rental or livery 

agent or motorboat leasing business is required to present to 

those who rent or lease a motorboat or personal watercraft. 

The dockside safety checklist must be reviewed and initialed 

by the person operating the motorboat before the boat can be 

rented/leased and operated. 

"Equivalency exam" means a written examination that is 

developed by the department to test the knowledge of 

information included in the curriculum of a boating safety 

education course (may also be referred to as a challenge 

exam). The equivalency exam is intended to provide 

experienced and knowledgeable boaters with the opportunity 

to meet the boating safety education compliance requirement 

set forth in § 29.1-735.2 of the Code of Virginia without 

having to take and successfully complete a boating safety 

education course. The equivalency exam shall be comprised 

of no less than 75 or more than 100 test questions, shall 

include no less than 25 questions specific about Virginia 

boating laws, shall be proctored by an individual(s) 

specifically designated by the department , and shall be 

completed without the use of any reference material. A 

minimum score of at least 70% 80% shall be considered 

passing. 

"Motorboat" means any vessel propelled by machinery 

whether or not the machinery is the principal source of 

propulsion and for this chapter shall mean with a motor of 10 

horsepower or greater. 

"NASBLA" means the National Association of State 

Boating Law Administrators. 

"NASBLA-approved course" means a boating safety 

education course that has been reviewed and approved by 

NASBLA. 

"Onboard direct supervision" as referenced in § 29.1-735.2 

B 6 and 9 of the Code of Virginia occurs when a person 

maintains close visual and verbal contact with, provides 

adequate direction to, and can immediately assume control of 

a motorboat from the operator of a motorboat. A person who 

is water skiing, or is in the cabin of a motorboat and not at the 

helm/wheel is not considered to be in a position capable of 

providing direct supervision. 

"Operate" means to navigate or otherwise control the 

movement of a motorboat or vessel. 

"Optional Virginia Boater Education Card" means a card 

authorized for issuance by the department to persons who (i) 

can show they have met the minimum standard of boating 

safety education course competency, (ii) possess a valid 

license to operate a vessel issued to maritime personnel by the 

United States Coast Guard or a marine certificate issued by 

the Canadian government, (iii) possess a Canadian Pleasure 

Craft Operator's Card, or (iv) possess a valid commercial 

fisherman registration pursuant to § 28.2-241 of the Code of 

Virginia. For the purpose of this subsection a license is 

considered valid regardless of whether the license is current. 

This card may be issued as a replacement boating safety 

course card. 

"Personal watercraft" means a motorboat less than 16 feet in 

length that uses an inboard motor powering a jet pump as its 

primary motive power and that is designed to be operated by 

a person sitting, standing, or kneeling on, rather than in the 

conventional manner of sitting or standing inside the vessel. 

"Proctored" means that the written equivalency exam has 

been administered under the direct supervision of (i) a 

designated member of the United States Coast Guard 

Auxiliary or the United States Power Squadrons®, (ii) a 

designated department employee or a department volunteer 
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boating safety instructor, or (iii) an individual who has been 

approved for such purpose by the department. 

"Temporary operator's certificate" means a nonrenewable 

document issued with the certificate of number for the 

motorboat or personal watercraft, if the boat is new or was 

sold with a transfer of ownership. A temporary operator's 

certificate shall be issued only by the department, by any 

person authorized by the director to act as an agent to issue a 

certificate of number pursuant to § 29.1-706 of the Code of 

Virginia, or by a license agent of the department authorized to 

issue a temporary registration certificate for a motorboat or 

personal watercraft. A temporary operator's certificate shall 

allow the owner(s) to operate a motorboat with a motor of 10 

horsepower or greater or personal watercraft in Virginia for 

90 days. 

"Vessel" means every description of watercraft, other than a 

seaplane on the water, used or capable of being used as a 

means of transportation on water. 

"Waters of the Commonwealth" means any public waters 

within the territorial limits of the Commonwealth. 

4VAC15-410-40. Provisions for compliance and minimum 

standards for boating safety education course 

competency. 

A. A person shall be considered in compliance with the 

requirements for boating safety education if he meets one or 

more of the following provisions pursuant to § 29.1-735.2 B 1 

through 9 of the Code of Virginia: 

1. Completes and passes a boating safety education course; 

2. Passes an equivalency exam; 

3. Possesses a valid license to operate a vessel issued to 

maritime personnel by the United States Coast Guard or a 

marine certificate issued by the Canadian government or 

possesses a Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator's Card. For 

the purposes of this subsection a license is considered valid 

regardless of whether the license is current; 

4. Possesses a temporary operator's certificate; 

5. Possesses a rental or lease agreement from a motorboat 

or personal watercraft rental or leasing business that lists 

the person as the authorized operator of the motorboat; 

6. Operates the motorboat under onboard direct supervision 

of a person who meets the requirements of this section; 

7. Is a nonresident temporarily using the waters of Virginia 

for a period not to exceed 90 days (which means operating 

a boat not registered in Virginia), and meets any applicable 

boating safety education requirements of the state of 

residency, or possesses a Canadian Pleasure Craft 

Operator's Card; 

8. Has assumed operation of the motorboat or personal 

watercraft due to the illness or physical impairment of the 

initial operator, and is returning the motorboat or personal 

watercraft to shore in order to provide assistance or care 

for the operator; or 

9. Is or was previously registered as a commercial 

fisherman pursuant to § 28.2-241 of the Code of Virginia 

or is under the onboard direct supervision of the 

commercial fisherman while operating the commercial 

fisherman's boat. For the purpose of operating a 

recreational vessel, a registered commercial fishing license 

is considered valid regardless of whether the license is 

current. 

B. The minimum standards for boating safety education 

course competency required by the department are: 

1. Successful completion of a classroom boating safety 

education course in person and a passing score of at least 

70% on a written test administered closed-book at the 

conclusion of the course by the designated course 

instructor(s) or other designated course assistant; 

2. Successful completion of a classroom boating safety 

education course in person and a passing score of at least 

90% on a written test administered open-book at the 

conclusion of the course by the designated course 

instructor(s) or other designated course assistant; 

3. Successful completion of a boating safety education 

course offered through the Internet or through an electronic 

format such as CD-ROM and a passing score of at least 

90% on a self-test administered in conjunction with the 

course material; or 

4. A score of at least 70% 80% on a proctored equivalency 

exam. 

4VAC15-410-110. Equivalency exam criteria. 

A. The department shall develop and make available a 

written equivalency exam to test the knowledge of 

information included in the curriculum of a boating safety 

education course. Such exam shall provide experienced and 

knowledgeable boaters with the opportunity to meet the 

boating safety education compliance requirement set forth in 

§ 29.1-735.2 of the Code of Virginia without having to take 

and successfully complete a boating safety education course. 

B. The equivalency exam shall be proctored by an 

individual(s) specifically designated by the department. The 

use of reference materials shall not be allowed while the 

exam is being administered and the exam shall be completed 

in a single session with a time limit not to exceed three hours. 

A person who fails an equivalency exam is required to 

complete a NASBLA approved boating safety education 

course that is accepted by the department. 

C. The equivalency exam shall be comprised of no less than 

75 nor more than 100 exam questions and a minimum score 

of at least 70% 80% shall be considered passing. Upon 

successful completion, an exam certificate and/or card shall 

be issued to the person completing the exam. 
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4VAC15-410-120. Requirements for motorboat rental and 

leasing businesses and the dockside safety checklist 

program. 

A. Any person, business, or organization that provides a 

motorboat with a motor of 10 horsepower or greater or 

personal watercraft for rent or lease shall provide the 

rental/lease boat operator with a dockside safety checklist 

provided by the department. Other persons authorized to 

operate such boat shall also be provided with the dockside 

safety checklist. 

B. A dockside safety checklist shall consist of selected facts 

about Virginia boating laws and safe boat operation. 

C. The authorized operator(s) of the rental/leased boat shall 

review and initial each item in the dockside safety checklist 

before they may operate the boat being rented or leased. 

D. The dockside safety checklist for the authorized 

operator(s) shall be retained on board the boat being rented or 

leased, along with the rental or lease agreement from the 

motorboat rental or leasing business, when the boat is being 

operated. 

E. Any person who presents documentation that he has met 

the minimum standards for boating safety education course 

competency in accordance with 4VAC15-410-40 B or 

possesses a valid license to operate a vessel issued to 

maritime personnel by the United States Coast Guard or a 

marine certificate issued by the Canadian government or 

possesses a Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator's Card or 

possesses a valid commercial fisherman registration pursuant 

to § 28.2-241 of the Code of Virginia shall be exempt from 

the dockside safety checklist requirements. For the purpose of 

this subsection a license is considered valid regardless of 

whether the license is current. 

F. Pursuant to § 29.1-735.2 B 6 and 8 of the Code of 

Virginia, a person may be allowed to operate the 

rented/leased boat without completing the dockside safety 

checklist as long as he is operating under the onboard direct 

supervision of a person (i) who has completed the dockside 

safety checklist a NASBLA approved boating safety course 

that is accepted by the department or (ii) who is otherwise 

exempt from the dockside safety checklist requirement or has 

assumed operation of the boat due to the illness or physical 

impairment of the initial operator, and is returning the boat to 

shore in order to provide assistance or care for the operator. 

4VAC15-410-140. Optional Virginia Boater Education 

Card Cards. 

A. The department may establish an optional long-lasting 

and durable  Virginia Boater Education Card for issuance to 

persons who can show that they have met the minimum 

standard of boating safety education course competency or 

who possesses a valid license to operate a vessel issued to 

maritime personnel by the United States Coast Guard or a 

marine certificate issued by the Canadian government or 

possesses a Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator's Card or 

possesses a commercial fisherman registration pursuant to 

§ 28.2-241 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. To obtain an optional Virginia Boater Education Card, a 

person must provide to the department: 

1. A completed application on a form provided by the 

department. The application shall require the applicant's 

name, current mailing address, and date of birth. The 

applicant must also sign a statement declaring that 

statements made on the form are true and correct and that 

all documents submitted with the form are true and correct 

copies of documents issued to the applicant. Incomplete 

applications will be returned to the applicant; 

2. A copy of the documentation (such as the boating safety 

education course completion certificate/wallet card or 

equivalency exam completion certificate/card) that 

indicates that the minimum standards for boating safety 

education course competency have been met. Such 

documents must contain the name of the individual 

applying for the Virginia Boater Education Card. The 

department may require the applicant to provide the 

original document in the event that the copy submitted 

with the application is illegible or if the authenticity of the 

copy is not certain. 

C. Upon receipt by the applicant, the optional Virginia 

Boater Education Card will serve in lieu of any other 

certificates or cards that have been issued to the bearer as a 

result of meeting the minimum standards for boating safety 

education course competency. As such, the Virginia Boater 

Education Card will not be transferable or revocable and will 

have no expiration date. 

D. A person may apply, on a form provided by the 

department, for a replacement Virginia Boater Education 

Card. A replacement card may be issued if the original card is 

lost, stolen or destroyed, if misinformation is printed on the 

card, or if the bearer has legally changed their name. The 

application shall include an affidavit stating the circumstances 

that led to the need for replacement of the original card. 

4VAC15-410-150. Fees. 

A. Pursuant to § 29.1-735.2 E of the Code of Virginia, the 

board may establish fees for boating safety courses and 

certificates provided by the department. Such fees shall not 

exceed the cost of giving such instruction for each person 

participating in and receiving the instruction. 

B. The department shall not charge a fee for the provision of 

its state course for basic boating education delivered in a 

conventional classroom setting. 

C. Fees charged by an approved course provider for boating 

safety education courses are set by the course provider, but 

must be clearly communicated to the student prior to taking 

the course. 

D. The fee for issuance of an optional Virginia Boater 

Education Card, which will serve in lieu of a previously-

obtained boating safety education course certificate/card, 
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shall be $10. The fee for issuance of or a replacement 

Virginia Boater Education Card shall be $8.00 $10. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3332; Filed July 11, 2012, 10:24 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-430. Watercraft: Safety 

Equipment Requirements (amending 4VAC15-430-30, 

4VAC15-430-40, 4VAC15-430-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, 29.1-502, 29.1-

701, and 29.1-735 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 14, 2012 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The proposed amendments (i) rescind the requirement that 

vessels less than 16 feet in length carry a U.S. Coast 

Guard (USGC) Approved Type IV throwable personal 

floatation device; (ii) amend the exemptions for vessels 

required to carry or exempted from carrying a USCG 

Approved Type IV throwable device, consistent with the 

Code of Federal Regulations; and (iii) clarify that carrying 

visual distress signals on board recreational vessels 

beyond the required minimum number of serviceable and 

unexpired distress signals is not a violation. 

4VAC15-430-30. Personal flotation devices required.  

A. Except as provided in 4VAC15-430-40, it shall be 

unlawful to use a recreational vessel unless at least one PFD 

of the following types is on board for each person:  

1. Type I PFD;  

2. Type II PFD; or  

3. Type III PFD.  

B. Except as provided in 4VAC15-430-40, it shall be 

unlawful to use a recreational vessel of 16 feet or greater 

unless one Type IV PFD is on board in addition to the total 

number of PFDs required in subsection A of this section.  

C. Notwithstanding the provisions of § 29.1-742 of the Code 

of Virginia, it shall be unlawful to operate a personal 

watercraft unless each person riding on the personal 

watercraft or being towed by it is wearing a Type I, Type II, 

Type III or Type V PFD.  

4VAC15-430-40. Personal flotation device exemptions.  

A. A Type V PFD may be used in lieu of any PFD required 

under 4VAC15-430-30, provided:  

1. The approval label on the Type V PFD indicates that the 

device is approved:  

a. For the activity in which the vessel is being used; or  

b. As a substitute for a PFD of the type required on the 

vessel in use;  

2. The PFD is used in accordance with any requirements 

on the approval label;  

3. The PFD is used in accordance with requirements in its 

owner's manual, if the approval label makes reference to 

such a manual; and  

4. The PFD is being worn.  

B. Personal watercraft, kayaks, canoes, inflatable rafts and 

vessels less than 16 feet in length that are registered in 

another state The following vessels are exempted from the 

requirements for carriage of the additional Type IV PFD 

required by 4VAC15-430-30.  

1. Personal watercraft. 

2. Nonmotorized canoes and kayaks 16 feet in length and 

over. 

C. 3. Racing shells, rowing sculls, racing canoes, and 

racing kayaks are exempted from the requirements for 

carriage of any Type PFD required by 4VAC15-430-30.  

D. 4. Sailboards are exempted from the requirements for 

carriage of any Type PFD required by 4VAC15-430-30.  

E. 5. Vessels of the United States used by foreign 

competitors while practicing for or racing in competition 

are exempted from the carriage of any PFD required under 

4VAC15-430-30, provided the vessel carries one of the 

sponsoring foreign country's acceptable flotation devices 

for each foreign competitor on board.  

4VAC15-430-110. Visual distress signal stowage, 

serviceability, marking.  

A. It shall be unlawful to use a vessel unless the visual 

distress signals required by 4VAC15-430-80 are readily 

accessible.  

B. It shall be unlawful to use a vessel unless each signal 

required by 4VAC15-430-80 is in serviceable condition and 

the service life of the signal, if indicated by a date marked on 

the signal, has not expired. Signals in addition to the 

minimum required are not considered to be in violation of this 

subsection if the minimum requirement has been met. 

C. It shall be unlawful to use a vessel unless each signal 

required by 4VAC15-430-80 is legibly marked with a U.S. 

Coast Guard approval number or certification statement.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3333; Filed July 11, 2012, 7:04 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-50. Rules Relating to 

Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Jailors or 

Custodial Officers, Courthouse and Courtroom Security 

Officers and Process Service Officers (amending 6VAC20-

50-10, 6VAC20-50-20; repealing 6VAC20-50-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 29, 2012. 

Effective Date: September 13, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Lisa McGee, Regulatory Manager, 

Department of Criminal Justice Services, 1100 Bank Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2419, FAX (804) 

225-3853, or email lisa.mcgee@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Criminal Justice Services Board to set compulsory minimum 

training standards for jailors, court security officers, and civil 

process service officers. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amendments is to reorganize the 

training standards into three distinctive areas: Jail, Court 

Security, and Civil Process Service. When the current 

regulation was adopted, there had been a request to combine 

those three areas and this was done. However, changes in the 

economy and a need to hire personnel to perform only court 

security functions or only civil process functions brought 

another request to separate the areas so that new hires could 

be trained for only those functions. This reorganization has 

been done and the rules need to reflect this. This regulation is 

essential to protect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens 

of the Commonwealth to ensure that entry level jail officers, 

court security officers, and civil process service officers 

receive the most up-to-date training. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The process for 

reorganizing the training standards has been going on for 

about a year and all parties are in accord that the rules should 

reflect these changes. 

Substance: The proposed changes (i) add a definition for the 

Committee on Training and revise a definition of the 

standards for greater accuracy and consistency, (ii) provide 

information on how to find the standards on the DCJS 

website, (iii) remove references to Performance Outcome 

Numbers as these are subject to change annually, and (iv) 

remove the list of Performance Outcomes as these are subject 

to change annually. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public, the agency, and 

the Commonwealth are greater clarity in reading the rules; 

greater ease in complying with the process for revising 

standards that must be reviewed annually and revised as 

necessary; and lower cost in this process. 

There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Criminal Justice Services (Board) proposes to 

amend its training regulations for jailers, courthouse and 

courtroom security officers and process serving officers. 

Specifically, the Board proposes to: 

• Define Committee on Training and amend the definition 

for Compulsory Minimum Training Standards to make it 

clear that these standards are approved by the Committee 

on Training, 

• Add information to these regulations that will direct 

interested parties to the complete training standards 

guidelines on the Department of Criminal Justice Services 

(DCJS) website and  

• Eliminate references to performance outcomes in these 

regulations because they are now in DCJS guidelines and 

are subject to annual change. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 

proposed regulatory changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations do not 

include a definition for Committee on Training and list the 

Board as the entity that sets compulsory minimum training 

standards. Since the committee on training actually sets these 

standards, the Board proposes to define Committee on 

Training and revise the definition of compulsory minimum 

training standards to specify that the committee on training 

sets these standards. No individual is likely to incur increased 

costs on account of these changes. To the extent that current 

regulatory language contains outdated information about who 

sets training standards, these proposed changes will provide 

the benefit of clarity. 

Current regulations explicitly enumerate performance 

outcomes on such topics as professionalism, basic law and 

jail operations. This means that policy guidelines such as a 

requirement to maintain a professional appearance with 

respect to clothing, grooming and equipment are in current 

regulations. Because these performance outcomes are policy 

statements and are subject to annual change, the Board 

proposes to strike them from these regulations and, instead 

promulgate regulatory language that directs interested parties 

to a complete list of performance outcomes on the DCJS 

website. Because performance outcomes can change every 

year, but it would take two years on average to change them 

in regulation, this regulatory change is likely to provide the 

benefit of clarity to interested parties. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DCJS reports that 

individuals who are interested in pursuing careers as jailers, 
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court security officers or civil process officers are subject to 

the training requirements in these proposed regulations. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 

likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 

of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. These proposed 

regulatory changes are unlikely to have any effect on small 

businesses in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. These proposed regulatory changes are 

unlikely to have any effect on small businesses in the 

Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 36 

(06). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPBs 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Criminal Justice Services concurs generally 

with the economic impact analysis (EIA) of the Department 

of Planning and Budget on the proposed Regulations Relating 

to Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Jailors, 

Courthouse and Courtroom Security Officers, and Process 

Serving Officers. 

Summary: 

The amendments add two definitions, revise the layout of 

the rules due to the reorganization and renumbering of the 

standards, and repeal 6VAC20-50-110 that listed 

performance outcomes. The Jail/Court Security/Civil 

Process Service Curriculum Review Committee determined 

that a separation of the three areas covered by the training 

standards is needed and that the only items needed in the 

regulation were training categories. All changes that are 

approved are posted with the standards on the Department 

of Criminal Justice Services' website. 

6VAC20-50-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff or 

agency head of a state or local law-enforcement agency or 

agency head of a local correctional facility.  

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer 

of a certified training academy.  

"Approved training" means training approved by the 

department to meet minimum training standards.  

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board.  

"Certified training academy" means a training facility in 

compliance with academy certification standards operated by 

the state or local unit(s) of government for the purpose of 

providing instruction of compulsory minimum training 

standards.  

"Committee on Training" means the standing committee of 

the board that is charged with reviewing proposed changes to 

the standards, holding public hearings, and approving 

changes to the standards as needed. 

"Compulsory minimum training standards" means the 

categories and performance outcomes approved by the 

Criminal Justice Services Board performance outcomes, 

training objectives, criteria for testing, and lesson plan guides 

approved by the Committee on Training.  

"Curriculum Review Committee" means a committee 

consisting of nine individuals representing the conduct of 

entry-level jailor or custodial officer, courthouse and 

courtroom security officer, and process service officer 

training. The composition of the committee shall be three 

representatives of sheriffs' offices, three representatives of 

regional jails, two representatives from academies, and one 

representative of the Department of Criminal Justice Services 

Jails Training Unit. The Committee on Training shall appoint 

the members of the Curriculum Review Committee.  

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 

Services.  

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 

department.  
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"Full-time attendance" means that officers in training shall 

attend all classes and shall not be placed on duty or call 

except in cases of emergency for the duration of the school.  

"School director" means the chief administrative officer of 

an approved training school.  

6VAC20-50-20. Compulsory minimum training 

standards.  

A. Pursuant to the provisions of subdivisions 7, 8, and 9 of 

§ 9.1-102 and § 53.1-120 of the Code of Virginia, the board 

establishes the following standards for Compulsory Minimum 

Training Standards for full and part-time Jailors or Custodial 

Officers, Courthouse and Courtroom Security Officers, and 

Process Service Officers. The complete document may be 

found on the Department of Criminal Justice Services' 

website at www.dcjs.virginia.gov. 

B. Performance outcomes are detailed in 6VAC20-50-110.  

C. B. Academy training categories - Jailor  

  1. Professionalism, Performance 

Outcomes 

1.1 – 1.3 

  2. Legal Issues, Performance 

Outcomes 

2.1 – 2.18 

  3. Communications, Performance 

Outcomes 

3.1 – 3.13 

  4. Operations, Performance Outcomes 4.1 – 4. 9 

  5. Investigations, Performance 

Outcomes 

5.1 – 5. 5 

  6. Defensive Tactics/Use of Force, 

Performance Outcomes 

6.1 – 6.17 

  7. Weapons Use, Performance 

Outcomes 

7.1 – 7.7 

  8. Driver Training, Performance 

Outcomes 

8.1 – 8.3 

D. C. Jailor or Custodial Officer Field Training Performance 

Outcomes. 9.1 – 9.58 Category 9  

E. D. Academy training categories – Courthouse and 

Courtroom Security Officer.  

  1. Court Security Operations and 

Professionalism (separate 

requirement)  

1.1 – 1.2 

  2. Legal Issues (same as Jail 

Performance Outcomes) 

2.1 – 2.18 

  3. Communications (same as Jail 

Performance Outcomes) 

4. Court Security Operations 

5. Court Security Investigations 

3.1 – 3.13 

  4. 6. Defensive Tactics/Use of Force 6.1 – 6.17 

(same as Jail Performance Outcome) 

  5. 7. Weapons Use (same as Jail 

Performance Outcomes) 

7.1 – 7.7 

  6. 8. Transportation (same as Jail 

Performance Outcomes) 

8.1 – 8.3 

F. E. Courthouse and Courtroom Security Officer Field 

Training Performance Outcomes. 9.1 – 97 Category 9 

G. F. Academy training categories – Process Service 

Officer.  

  1. Process Service Officer Operations 

(separate requirement) 

1.1 – 1.8 

  2. Legal Issues (same as Jail 

Performance Outcomes) 

2.1 – 2.18 

  3. Communications (same as Jail 

Performance Outcomes) 

4. Civil Process Operations 

5. Civil Process Investigations 

3.1 – 3.13 

  4. 6. Defensive Tactics/Use of Force 

(same as Jail Performance Outcomes) 

6.1 – 6.17 

  5. 7. Weapons Use (same as Jail 

Performance Outcomes) 

7.1 – 7.7 

  6. 8. Transportation (same as Jail 

Performance Outcomes) 

8.1 – 8.3 

H. G. Process Service Officer Field Training Performance 

Outcomes. 9.1 – 9.6 Category 9 

6VAC20-50-110. Performance outcomes. (Repealed.) 

Text of section effective July 1, 2007  

Jail, Court Security, Civil Process Service Performance 

Outcomes —Category 1  

Professionalism  

In conjunction with responding to calls for jail, court 

security or civil process service, the officer must demonstrate 

professionalism in every aspect of performance of these 

services. The officer faces challenges every day that require 

knowledge, judgment, skill, and ability from multiple and 

varied sources. To meet those successfully, the officer must 

attain and maintain professionalism in the performance of all 

duties. Expected performance outcomes include the 

following:  

1.1.—1.3. Jail and 1.6.—1.8. Court Security/Civil Process 

Professionalism  

1.1. and 1.6 (CS/CP) Maintain a professional appearance 

with respect to clothing, grooming, and equipment.  

1.2. and 1.7 (CS/CP) Behave in a fair, positive and 

courteous manner with inmates and the public to develop a 

trust relationship and positive community relationship.  
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1.3. and 1.8 (CS/CP) Apply knowledge of the law relating 

to gambling and identify its impact on professionalism.  

Jail, Court Security, Civil Process Service Performance 

Outcomes —Category 2  

Legal Issues  

In conjunction with responding to calls for jail, court 

security, or civil process service, the officer must identify 

legal requirements related to the Constitution of the United 

States, the Code of Virginia, and/or local ordinances where 

applicable. Expected performance outcomes include this basic 

knowledge and cover the following:  

2.1—2.16 Basic Law  

2.1. Perform the duties of a deputy/jail officer in 

compliance with constitutional requirements and the Bill of 

Rights.  

2.2. Perform the duties of a deputy/jail officer/court 

security or civil process service officer with awareness of 

personal and agency liability.  

2.3. Perform duties of a deputy/jail officer according to 

laws governing the office of sheriff and regional jails.  

2.4. Respond to request by determining whether the facts 

are civil or criminal.  

2.5. Obtain an arrest warrant from proper authority.  

2.6. Arrest persons with a warrant.  

2.7. Arrest persons without a warrant.  

2.8. Answer questions regarding the progress of a case 

according to rules of privacy and security controlling 

access to records.  

2.9. Serve mental health commitment papers.  

2.10. Apply knowledge of the law to related to family 

abuse and protective orders.  

2.11. Apply knowledge of law to obtain information from a 

subject conforming to constitutional requirements.  

2.12. Conduct searches and seizures under the following 

conditions:  

- with and without a warrant  

- incident to hot pursuit  

- with or without consent  

- incident to arrest  

- confer with the local Commonwealth's Attorney under 

unusual search and seizure circumstances  

2.13. Frisk or search a subject.  

2.14. Identify, establish custody of, and record a chain of 

custody for evidence, seized or detained property, or 

recovered property.  

2.15. Identify legal basis for use of force by an officer.  

2.16. Identify the circumstances under which a person is 

fingerprinted.  

Jail, Court Security, Civil Process Service Performance 

Outcomes —Category 3  

Communications  

In conjunction with responding to calls for jail, court 

security, civil process service, the officer must demonstrate 

knowledge of and ability to utilize a variety of 

communication skills designed to support the various duties 

required of the officer. Expected performance outcomes 

include this basic knowledge and cover the following:  

3.1—3.13.  

3.1. Communicate with law-enforcement and detention 

facility personnel to exchange information in order to 

obtain or provide assistance in an investigation.  

3.2. Interview a complainant, witness, victim, or inmate.  

3.3. Summarize in writing the statements of inmates, 

witnesses and complainants.  

3.4. Answer inquiries from prisoners or about prisoners 

according to agency policy (including talking with family, 

other people authorized by adult prisoners, or other 

agencies).  

3.5. Calm emotionally upset individuals, and communicate 

an emergency message.  

3.6. Use crisis communication techniques as appropriate 

(hostile/confrontational persons). Maintain calm and 

prevent a situation from becoming worse.  

3.7. Stop or intervene with persons attempting to commit 

suicide.  

3.8. Write reports.  

3.9. Prepare written reports to record injuries to inmates, an 

officer, and an employee or a civilian.  

3.10. Prepare for court testimony and testify in court; in a 

legal and an administrative proceeding; before grand 

juries; in criminal trials; in evidence suppression hearings; 

in implied consent hearings; at probable cause hearings.  

3.11. Verbally communicate with people with different 

levels of understanding.  

3.12. Manage stress professionally.  

Jail Performance Outcomes —Category 4  

Operations  

In conjunction with responding to calls for jail services, the 

officer must demonstrate knowledge and ability to perform 

duties related to jail operations. Expected performance 

outcomes include this basic knowledge and cover the 

following:  

4.1—4.9.  

4.1. Commit a prisoner to a jail.  

4.2. Supervise an inmate within a jail according to 

classification criteria.  

4.3. Identify the records, documents and reports used 

within a jail.  
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4.4. Monitor visitors and inmates.  

4.5. Observe and supervise inmates within and outside of a 

jail.  

4.6. Transfer and/or release an inmate from a jail.  

4.7. Protect inmates as needed and control violent or 

unruly inmates.  

4.8. Administer cardio-pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and 

basic first aid.  

4.9. Conduct jail operations with awareness of terrorism 

possibilities.  

Jail Performance Outcomes —Category 5  

Investigations  

In conjunction with responding to calls for jail services, the 

officer must demonstrate knowledge and ability relating to 

investigational skills designed to support the various duties of 

an officer. Expected performance outcomes include this basic 

knowledge and cover the following:  

5.1.—5.5.  

5.1. Investigate complaints from inmates.  

5.2. Use structured problem solving method to identify and 

alleviate the causes of problems within the jail.  

5.3. Observe individual to recognize signs of abnormal 

behavior/mental illness.  

5.4. Investigate unusual odors and sounds.  

5.5. Investigate injuries to inmates.  

Jail, Court Security, Civil Process Service Performance 

Outcomes —Category 6  

Defensive Tactics/Use of Force  

In conjunction with responding to calls for jail, court 

security, civil process service, the officer must demonstrate 

knowledge of and ability to utilize a variety of defensive 

tactics along with judgment necessary to evaluate a situation 

relating to appropriate use of force. The safety of the officer 

and the public being served is vitally influenced by this 

knowledge and ability. Expected performance outcomes 

include this basic knowledge and cover the following:  

6.1.—6.5. Officer Safety  

6.1. Search juvenile(s), visitor(s), subject(s), arrested 

person(s), or inmates(s)  

6.2. Restrain publicly intoxicated, disruptive, or violent 

individuals.  

6.3. Participate in cell and area searches when assigned.  

6.4. Extract a subject out of a vehicle and a cell.  

6.5. Approach people on foot and from department vehicle.  

6.6—6.7. Judgment and Use of Force Criteria  

6.6. Identify necessary and appropriate use of force.  

6.7. Break up fights between two or more persons.  

6.8.—6.13. Weaponless Defense Techniques  

6.8. Use weaponless techniques to subdue a subject 

resisting arrest or to control a subject.  

6.9. Subdue a physically attacking person.  

6.10. Subdue a noncompliant subject/inmate and place in a 

prone position.  

6.11. Pursue a fleeing subject/inmate on foot and subdue 

the subject/inmate when apprehended.  

6.12. Use touch pressure or striking pressure to control a 

subject/inmate.  

6.13. Disarm an armed subject.  

6.14. Impact Weapon Techniques  

6.14. Use an impact weapon to control a subject.  

6.15. Physical Restraints  

6.15. Handcuff subject(s) and apply restraints.  

6.17.—6.18. Chemical Agents  

6.17. Use chemical agents and other crowd management 

equipment.  

6.18. Control nonviolent groups, hostile groups, and/or 

disorderly assemblies and when necessary, physically 

restrain a crowd or confront in tactical formation.  

Jail, Court Security, Civil Process Service Performance 

Outcomes —Category 7  

Weapons Use  

In conjunction with responding to calls for jail, court 

security, civil process service, the officer must demonstrate 

knowledge of and ability to utilize a variety of weapons along 

with judgment necessary to evaluate a situation relating to 

appropriate use of force. The safety of the officer and the 

public being served is vitally influenced by this knowledge 

and ability. Expected performance outcomes include this 

basic knowledge and cover the following:  

7.1.—7.6. Firearms—Using, Cleaning, Transporting, 

Security  

7.1. Clean and inspect weapon system.  

7.2. Using proper hand grip and observation, draw issued 

weapon from holster.  

7.3. Clear stoppage in semi-automatic weapons, revolvers, 

and shotguns. Demonstrate safe handling of weapons on 

the range and on and off duty.  

7.4. Fire a handgun and shotgun in various combat 

situations using issued equipment.  

7.5. Secure weapons while off duty.  

7.6. Carry a firearm when off duty.  

Jail, Court Security, Civil Process Service Performance 

Outcomes —Category 8  

Transportation  

In conjunction with responding to calls for jail, court 

security, civil process service, the officer must demonstrate 

knowledge of and ability to drive a vehicle. The safety of the 
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officer and the public being served is vitally influenced by 

this knowledge and ability. Expected performance outcomes 

include this basic knowledge and cover the following:  

8.1.—8.3. Judgment and Application  

8.1. Operate agency vehicle on various road surfaces and 

conditions.  

8.2. Transport person(s) to various locations outside of the 

institution.  

8.3. Transport ill or injured subject to receive medical care.  

Jail Performance Outcomes —Category 9  

Field Training  

In conjunction with completing basic academy training, the 

deputy/jail officer must identify requirements related to the 

employing agency, and community resources and agencies 

that may assist a person in need. Expected performance 

outcomes include this basic knowledge and cover the 

following:  

9.1—9.31. Policies, Procedures, and Operations  

9.1. Identify agency policy regarding professional 

appearance related to clothing and grooming.  

9.2. Identify agency policy and procedures for handling 

violations of professional, ethical, or legal standards of 

conduct by fellow deputies/jail officers.  

9.3. Identify agency policies related to commitment and 

treatment of prisoners.  

9.4. Identify agency policy and procedure related to 

treatment of juvenile offenders.  

9.5. Identify agency policy and procedure related to 

communicating information about a prisoner to internal 

and external authorities.  

9.6. Identify agency policy and procedure for obtaining 

assistance for communicating with various cultural 

backgrounds or with various disabilities.  

9.7. Identify agency policy and procedure related to 

receiving, securing, and disbursing funds from an inmate's 

personal account.  

9.8. Identify agency policy related to filing and retrieving 

records in agency system.  

9.9. Identify agency policy related to removing a report 

from agency records system as appropriate and required by 

law and when assigned to make this removal.  

9.10. Identify agency policy for reporting maintenance 

problems.  

9.11. Identify agency policy for performing a safety 

inspection.  

9.12. Identify agency policy and procedures for 

participating in searches with multiple agencies.  

9.13. Identify agency policy and procedure for conducting 

interrogations.  

9.14. Identify agency policy regarding the communication 

of emergency messages.  

9.15. Identify agency policy and procedure for 

documenting proceedings related to dealing with 

emotionally upset individuals.  

9.16. Identify agency policy and procedure for 

documenting proceedings related to a inmate who commits 

suicide.  

9.17. Identify agency policy and procedures for obtaining 

an emergency custody order or temporary detention order.  

9.18. Identify department policy related to explaining a 

violation of county or municipal ordinance(s) that is the 

basis for issuing a summons to a violator.  

9.19. Identify department policy relating to use of 

discretion regarding a violation of law or ordinance.  

9.20. Identify agency policy and procedure for establishing 

and tracking chain of custody of evidence.  

9.21. Identify agency policy, procedure, and 

documentation required for return of property held as 

evidence when lawfully released.  

9.22. Identify agency policy and procedure for making a 

warrantless arrest.  

9.23. Identify agency policy regarding information that 

may be given to families of adult defendants.  

9.24. Identify agency policy and procedure to initiate 

inmate disciplinary actions.  

9.25. Identify agency policy and procedure to issue and 

document provision of nonprescription and prescription 

medicine in the absence of medical staff.  

9.26. Identify agency policy related to sexual harassment in 

the workplace.  

9.27. Identify agency policy and procedure related to 

operation of emergency vehicles.  

9.28. Identify agency policy and procedures to follow upon 

the death of an inmate.  

9.29. Identify agency policy and procedure for 

interrogations.  

9.30. Identify department policy related to use of records, 

documents, and reports within the department.  

9.31. Identify department policy and procedure for 

transporting and escorting a person for the purpose of 

obtaining personal property from a person under a 

restraining order.  

9.32—9.37. Use of Force, Weapons Use  

9.32. Identify agency policy related to use of force.  

9.33. Identify agency policy related to use of restraints, 

weapons (including impact weapons), electronic 

immobilization devices, and chemical sprays.  

9.34. Identify agency policy and procedure for 

documenting injuries to a prisoner.  
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9.35. Identify agency policy and procedure for 

documenting injuries to staff.  

9.36. Identify agency policy and procedure for 

documenting incidents that required a use of force.  

9.37. Identify agency policy related to carrying a firearm 

while off duty.  

9.38—9.40. Transporting Prisoners  

9.38. Identify agency policy related to medical transports 

involving rescue squads or other nonagency vehicle.  

9.39. Identify agency policy related to nontraditional 

medical transports, i.e., pregnant inmate, disabled inmate 

(various disabilities), etc.  

9.40. Identify agency policy and procedure for searching, 

securing, and transporting a prisoner to mental health 

facility.  

9.41—9.44. Safety Training  

9.41. Complete the Virginia Occupational Safety and 

Health training related to exposure to blood-borne 

pathogens.  

9.42. Demonstrate use of protective gear for air borne 

pathogens.  

9.43. Notify persons exposed to blood or body fluids while 

assisting a deputy or jail officer that they have a right to the 

test results for HIV or hepatitis.  

9.44. Identify procedure for a deputy or jail officer to 

follow to obtain a blood sample from an individual related 

to a blood exposure.  

9.45—9.61. General Tasks  

9.45. Stand, walk or sit for more than half of work shift.  

9.46. Perform duties while wearing heavy equipment other 

than a gun belt (SCBA, Scott Air Pack, Ballistic Vest, Riot 

Gear).  

9.47. Participate in drills (fire, disaster, hostage situations, 

and/or evacuations).  

9.48. Facilitate group meetings within facility, if assigned.  

9.49. Review incoming and outgoing mail and distribute 

mail.  

9.50. Operate controls and radios for facility.  

9.51. Inspect security devices and report deficiencies.  

9.52. Maintain security of keys and tools and report 

discrepancies.  

9.53. Report and document need for repairs to any 

equipment or tools used in the facility.  

9.54. Inspect/wear emergency response equipment and 

protective gear/apparatus of agency and report any 

deficiencies.  

9.55. Operate agency fire extinguisher to extinguish fires.  

9.56. Check audio/video communications equipment for 

proper operation and report any deficiencies.  

9.57. Discuss any personal or on-the-job problems with 

your supervisor.  

9.58. Inspect electrical wiring, plugs, and receptacles for 

operation and safety.  

9.59. Inventory forms and other supplies.  

9.60. Test emergency power supply when directed.  

9.61. Fingerprint subject for commitment to jail if 

assigned.  

Separate Court Security Performance Outcomes  

1.1—1.5. Operations  

1.1. Search courtrooms and court related areas for hidden 

weapons and contraband.  

1.2. Search courtrooms and court related areas for hidden 

weapons and contraband.  

1.3. Conduct periodic security checks to identify, correct 

and document any security breaches.  

1.4. Evacuate courtrooms and court buildings in an 

emergency.  

1.5. Conduct court security procedures with awareness of 

terrorism possibilities.  

9.1-1—9.1-8. Court Security Field Training  

9.1. Identify agency policy regarding professional 

appearance related to clothing and grooming.  

9.2. Identify agency policy and procedures for handling 

violations of professional, ethical, or legal standards of 

conduct by fellow deputies/court security officers.  

9.3. Identify agency policies related to security of prisoners 

in court and determining any special security needs.  

9.4. Identify agency policy and procedure related to 

treatment of juvenile prisoners.  

9.5. Identify agency policy and procedure related to 

communicating information about a prisoner to internal 

and external authorities.  

9.6. Identify agency policy and procedure for obtaining 

assistance for communicating with various cultural 

backgrounds or with various disabilities.  

9.7. Identify department policy relating to emergency 

evacuation plans for courtrooms and courthouses.  

9.8. Identify department policy and procedures related to 

jury protection and jury sequestering.  

Separate Civil Process Service Performance Outcomes  

1.1—1.8. Operations  

1.1. Serve civil process and/or make proper return.  

1.2. Handle problems encountered with animals during 

evictions and levies.  

1.3. Halt civil process proceedings due to bankruptcy.  

1.4. Notify jurors for potential jury service when assigned.  

1.5. Execute levies.  
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1.6. Serve eviction notices.  

1.7. Execute eviction orders using deputy safety 

precautions.  

1.8. Oversee removal of physical property of evictee from 

premises.  

9.1.—9.6. Civil Process Service Field Training  

9.1. Identify agency policy regarding professional 

appearance related to clothing and grooming.  

9.2. Identify agency policy and procedures for handling 

violations of professional, ethical, or legal standards of 

conduct by fellow process service officers.  

9.3. Identify agency policy and procedure related to 

communicating information about service of process to 

internal and external authorities.  

9.4. Identify agency policy and procedure for obtaining 

assistance for communicating with various cultural 

backgrounds or with various disabilities.  

9.5. Identify agency policy and procedures for eviction 

when an outstanding warrant exists.  

9.6. Identify department policy related to explaining a 

violation of county or municipal ordinance(s) that is the 

basis for service of process.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2612; Filed June 18, 2012, 10:01 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education has 

claimed an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 

changes in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 

where no agency discretion is involved. The State Board of 

Education will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 

any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-40. Regulations Governing 

Educational Services for Gifted Students (amending 

8VAC20-40-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 29, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Dr. Linda M. Wallinger, Assistant 

Superintendent for Instruction, Department of Education, 

P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 225-

2034, FAX (804) 371-2350, or email 

linda.wallinger@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment allows each school division to decide 

whether to establish a local advisory committee on gifted 

education. 

8VAC20-40-60. Local plan, local advisory committee, and 

annual report. 

A. Each school board shall submit a comprehensive plan for 

the education of gifted students to the Department of 

Education (DOE) for technical review on a schedule 

determined by the department. Each school board shall 

approve a comprehensive plan for the education of gifted 

students that includes the components identified in these 

regulations. The development process for the school 

division's local plan for the education of the gifted shall 

include opportunities for public review of the school 

division's plan. The approved local plan shall be accessible 

through the school division's website and the school division 

shall ensure that printed copies of the comprehensive plan are 

available to citizens who do not have online access. The plan 

shall include the following components:  

1. A statement of philosophy for the gifted education 

program and the local operational definition of giftedness 

for the school division;  

2. A statement of the school division's gifted education 

program goals and objectives for identification, delivery of 

services, curriculum and instruction, professional 

development, equitable representation of students, and 

parent and community involvement;  

3. Procedures for the early and on-going screening, 

referral, identification and placement of gifted students, 

beginning with kindergarten through twelfth-grade in at 

least a general intellectual or a specific academic aptitude 

program; and, if provided in the school division, 

procedures for the screening, referral, identification, and 

placement of gifted students in visual or performing arts or 

career and technical aptitude programs; 

4. A procedure for written notification of parents or legal 

guardians when additional testing or additional information 

is required during the identification process and for 

obtaining permission of parents or legal guardians prior to 

placement of a gifted student in the appropriate service 

options;  

5. A policy for written notification to parents or legal 

guardians of identification and placement decisions, 

including initial changes in placement or exit from the 

program. Such notice shall include an opportunity for 

parents or guardians to meet and discuss their concerns 

with an appropriate administrator and to file an appeal; 

6. Assurances that student records are maintained in 

compliance with applicable state and federal privacy laws 

and regulations;  

7. Assurances that (i) the selected and administered testing 

and assessment materials have been evaluated by the 

developers for cultural, racial, and linguistic biases; (ii) 
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identification procedures are constructed so that those 

procedures may identify high potential or aptitude in any 

student whose accurate identification may be affected by 

economic disadvantages, by limited English proficiency, or 

by disability; (iii) standardized tests and other measures 

have been validated for the purpose of identifying gifted 

students; and (iv) instruments are administered and 

interpreted by a trained personnel in conformity with the 

developer's instructions;  

8. Assurances that accommodations or modifications 

determined by the school division's special education 

Individualized Education Program (IEP) team, as required 

for the student to receive a free appropriate public 

education, shall be incorporated into the student's gifted 

education services; 

9. Assurances that a written copy of the school division's 

approved local plan for the education of the gifted is 

available to parents or legal guardians of each referred 

student, and to others upon request; 

10. Evidence that gifted education service options from 

kindergarten through twelfth grade are offered 

continuously and sequentially, with instructional time 

during the school day and week to (i) work with their age-

level peers, (ii) work with their intellectual and academic 

peers, (iii) work independently, and (iv) foster intellectual 

and academic growth of gifted students. Parents and legal 

guardians shall receive assessment of each gifted student's 

academic growth; 

11. A description of the school division's program of 

differentiated curriculum and instruction demonstrating 

accelerated and advanced content;  

12. Policies and procedures that allow access to programs 

of study and advanced courses at a pace and sequence 

commensurate with their learning needs;  

13. Evidence that school divisions provide professional 

development based on the teacher competencies outlined in 

8VAC20-542-310 related to gifted education; and  

14. Procedures for the annual review of the effectiveness of 

the school division's gifted education program, including 

the review of screening, referral, identification, and 

program procedures toward the achievement of equitable 

representation of students, the review of student outcomes 

and the academic growth of gifted students. Such review 

shall be based on multiple criteria and shall include 

multiple sources of information.  

B. Each school division shall may establish a local advisory 

committee composed of parents, school personnel, and other 

community members who are appointed by the school board. 

This committee shall reflect the ethnic and geographical 

composition of the school division. This committee shall have 

two responsibilities: (i) to review annually the local plan for 

the education of gifted students, including revisions, and (ii) 

to determine the extent to which the plan for the previous year 

was implemented. The findings of the annual program 

effectiveness and the recommendations of the advisory 

committee shall be submitted annually in writing to the 

division superintendent and the school board.  

C. Each school division shall submit an annual report to the 

Department of Education in a format prescribed by the 

department. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3300; Filed July 2, 2012, 4:22 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 

changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion 

is involved. The State Board of Education will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions from any interested person 

at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-131. Regulations Establishing 

Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia 

(amending 8VAC20-131-140, 8VAC20-131-360).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-19 and 22.1-253.13:3 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 29, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Anne Wescott, Assistant Superintendent, 

Policy and Communications, Department of Education, P.O. 

Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120, telephone (804) 225-

2403, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 

anne.wescott@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapter 744 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly (HB 96) extends 

the delay of the implementation of the Academic Career 

Plan. The amendments conform the regulations to the law. 

8VAC20-131-140. College and career preparation 

programs and opportunities for postsecondary credit.  

Each middle and secondary school shall provide for the 

early identification and enrollment of students in a college 

preparation program with a range of educational and 

academic experiences in and outside the classroom, including 

an emphasis on experiences that will motivate disadvantaged 

and minority students to attend college.  

Beginning in the middle school years, students shall be 

counseled on opportunities for beginning postsecondary 

education and opportunities for obtaining industry 

certifications, occupational competency credentials, or 

professional licenses in a career and technical education field 

prior to high school graduation. Such opportunities shall 

include access to at least three Advanced Placement courses 

or three college-level courses for degree credit pursuant to 

8VAC20-131-100. Students taking advantage of such 

opportunities shall not be denied participation in school 

activities for which they are otherwise eligible. Wherever 

possible, students shall be encouraged and afforded 
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opportunities to take college courses simultaneously for high 

school graduation and college degree credit (dual enrollment), 

under the following conditions:  

1. Written approval of the high school principal prior to 

participation in dual enrollment must be obtained;  

2. The college must accept the student for admission to the 

course or courses; and  

3. The course or courses must be given by the college for 

degree credits (no remedial courses will be accepted).  

Schools that comply with this standard shall not be 

penalized in receiving state appropriations.  

Beginning with the 2012-2013 2013-2014 academic year, all 

schools shall begin development of a personal Academic and 

Career Plan for each seventh-grade student with completion 

by the fall of the student's eighth-grade year. Students who 

transfer from other than a Virginia public school into the 

eighth grade shall have the Plan developed as soon as 

practicable following enrollment. Beginning with the 2013-

2014 2014-2015 academic year, students who transfer into a 

Virginia public school after their eighth-grade year shall have 

an Academic and Career Plan developed upon enrollment. 

The components of the Plan shall include, but not be limited 

to, the student's program of study for high school graduation 

and a postsecondary career pathway based on the student's 

academic and career interests. The Academic and Career Plan 

shall be developed in accordance with guidelines established 

by the Board of Education and signed by the student, 

student's parent or guardian, and school official(s) designated 

by the principal. The Plan shall be included in the student's 

record and shall be reviewed and updated, if necessary, before 

the student enters the ninth and eleventh grades. The school 

shall have met its obligation for parental involvement if it 

makes a good faith effort to notify the parent or guardian of 

the responsibility for the development and approval of the 

Plan. Any personal academic and career plans prescribed by 

local school boards for students in grades 7 through 12 and in 

effect as of June 30, 2009, are approved to continue without 

further action by the board.  

8VAC20-131-360. Effective date. 

A. The provisions in 8VAC20-131-30 B relating to double 

testing and the provisions in 8VAC20-131-60 C relating to 

Virtual Virginia shall become effective July 31, 2009. 

B. Graduation requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-131-50 

B and D shall become effective with the ninth-grade class of 

2011-2012. 

C. Graduation requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-131-50 

C and E shall become effective with the ninth grade class of 

2012-2013. 

D. Schools with a graduating class shall meet prescribed 

thresholds on a graduation and completion rate index as 

prescribed in 8VAC20-131-280 and 8VAC20-131-300 for 

accreditation ratings earned in 2010-2011 and awarded in 

2011-2012. 

E. Accreditation ratings prescribed in 8VAC20-131-300 C 1 

a shall become effective with tests administered in 2010-2011 

and 2011-2012 for ratings awarded in 2011-2012 and 2012-

2013. 

F. Accreditation ratings prescribed in 8VAC20-121-300 C 1 

c shall become effective with tests administered in 2012-2013 

for ratings awarded in 2013-2014 and beyond. 

G. The Academic and Career Plan prescribed in 8VAC20-

131-140 shall become effective in 2012-2013 2013-2014. 

H. Unless otherwise specified, the remainder of these 

regulations shall be effective beginning with the 2011-2012 

academic year. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3298; Filed July 2, 2012, 4:06 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Reproposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any 

of the powers of a court of record.  

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-300. Rules Governing Credit 

for Reinsurance (amending 14VAC5-300-10, 14VAC5-

300-30, 14VAC5-300-40, 14VAC5-300-60 through 

14VAC5-300-160; adding 14VAC5-300-95, 14VAC5-300-

170; repealing 14VAC5-300-20, 14VAC5-300-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: Public hearing will be held upon 

request. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 13, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Raquel C. Pino-Moreno, Principal Insurance 

Analyst, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, 

P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

9499, FAX (804) 371-9511, or email raquel.pino-

moreno@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments incorporate revisions made by 

the National Association of Insurance Commissioners 

(NAIC) to its Credit for Reinsurance Model Regulation. 

The revisions provide the State Corporation Commission 

with the authority to (i) certify reinsurers or to recognize 

the certification issued by another NAIC-accredited state; 

(ii) evaluate a reinsurer that applies for certification and 

to assign a rating based on that evaluation; (iii) require 

that certified reinsurers post collateral in an amount that 
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corresponds with its assigned rating, so that a United 

States ceding insurer is allowed full credit for the 

reinsurance ceded; (iv) evaluate a non-United States 

jurisdiction to determine if it is a "qualified jurisdiction" or 

choose to defer to an NAIC list of recommended qualified 

jurisdictions; and (v) require ceding insurers to take steps 

to manage their concentration risk and to diversify their 

reinsurance program. 

Additional revisions are proposed in response to comments 

received regarding the Order to Take Notice entered on 

April 3, 2012. These revisions are to 14VAC5-300-95 A 4 

to clarify "catastrophic occurrence" and to 14VAC5-300-

95 A 5 to clarify that both parties to a reinsurance contract 

must agree to an amendment before an existing 

reinsurance contract would fall under the new certified 

reinsurer requirements. Revisions are also proposed to 

14VAC5-300-90 E to correct a citation reference and to 

14VAC5-300-150 to add language regarding (i) an 

assuming insurer submitting to a court of competent 

jurisdiction and (ii) trust agreement requirements when the 

trust contains insufficient funds or is insolvent.  

AT RICHMOND, JULY 5, 2012 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2012-00058 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 

Adopting Revisions to the Rules 

Governing Credit for Reinsurance 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE OF REVISED PROPOSED 

RULES 

By Order to Take Notice ("Order") entered April 3, 2012, all 

interested persons were ordered to take notice that subsequent 

to June 22, 2012, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") would consider the entry of an order 

adopting amendments to rules set forth in Chapter 300 of 

Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code entitled Rules 

Governing Credit for Reinsurance, 14 VAC 5-300-10 et seq. 

("Rules"), which specifically amend the Rules at 14 VAC 5-

300-10, Purpose; 14 VAC 5-300-30, Applicability and scope; 

14 VAC 5-300-40, Definitions; 14 VAC 5-300-60, Credit for 

reinsurance; reinsurer licensed in this Commonwealth; 

14 VAC 5-300-70, Credit for reinsurance; accredited 

reinsurers; 14 VAC 5-300-80, Credit for reinsurance; 

reinsurer domiciled and licensed in another state, and neither 

licensed nor accredited in Virginia; 14 VAC 5-300-90, Credit 

for reinsurance; reinsurers maintaining trust funds; 14 VAC 

5-300-100, Credit for reinsurance required by law; 14 VAC 

5-300-110, Reduction from liability for reinsurance ceded to 

an assuming insurer not meeting the requirements of § 38.2-

1316.2 or 38.2-1316.3; 14 VAC 5-300-120, Trust agreements 

qualified under 14 VAC 5-300-110 and subdivision 2 of 

§ 38.2-1316.4 of the Act; 14 VAC 5-300-130, Letters of 

credit qualifying for § 38.2-1316.4 credit under 14 VAC 5-

300-110; 14 VAC 5-300-140, Other security; 14 VAC 5-300-

150, Reinsurance contract; and 14 VAC 5-300-160, Contracts 

affected; as well as propose new Rules at 14 VAC 5-300-95, 

Credit for reinsurance; certified reinsurers;  and 14 VAC 5-

300-170, Severability; and repeal the Rules at 14 VAC 5-300-

20, Severability; and 14 VAC 5-300-50, Credit for 

reinsurance generally; unless on or before June 22, 2012, any 

person objecting to the adoption of the amendments to the 

Rules filed a request for a hearing with the Clerk of the 

Commission ("Clerk"). 

The Order also required all interested persons to file their 

comments in support of or in opposition to the proposed 

amendments to the Rules with the Clerk on or before June 22, 

2012. 

Allstate Insurance Company and Underwriters at Lloyd's, 

London timely filed comments with the Clerk to which the 

Commission's Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") provided a 

response in the form of a Statement of Position filed with the 

Clerk on June 29, 2012. The Bureau also received comments 

from the Reinsurance Association of America which the 

Bureau responded to in its Statement of Position. 

As a result of these comments, the Bureau recommends that 

the proposed amendments to the Rules be further revised as 

follows: 

(1) Amend the new rule at 14 VAC 5-300-95 at subsection 

A 4 to clarify that the deferral for posting collateral after a 

catastrophic event should be granted only in those 

instances where the catastrophic event is likely to result in 

significant insured losses. 

(2) Amend the new rule at 14 VAC 5-300-95 at subsection 

A 5 to provide that the Rules do not apply retroactively 

unless the retroactive application is agreed to by both 

parties to the reinsurance contract. 

(3) Amend the rule at 14 VAC 5-300-90 at subsection E to 

correct a citation reference. 

(4) Amend the rule at 14 VAC 5-300-150 to include (1) 

language providing that an assuming insurer will submit to 

a court of competent jurisdiction, and (2) requirements for 

trust agreements in instances when a trust becomes 

insolvent. 

The Bureau recommends that the proposed amendments to 

the Rules and the revisions outlined above be exposed for 

additional comment until August 13, 2012. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the 

comments, the Bureau's response to the comments and 

recommendation, and the proposed amendments to the Rules, 

is of the opinion that the revised proposed Rules should be 

exposed for further comment until August 13, 2012. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The revised proposed Rules Governing Credit For 

Reinsurance, 14 VAC 5-300-10 et seq., which specifically 

amend the Rules at 14 VAC 5-300-10, 14 VAC 5-300-30, 

14 VAC 5-300-40, 14 VAC 5-300-60, 14 VAC 5-300-70, 
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14 VAC 5-300-80, 14 VAC 5-300-90, 14 VAC 5-300-100, 

14 VAC 5-300-110, 14 VAC 5-300-120, 14 VAC 5-300-

130, 14 VAC 5-300-140, 14 VAC 5-300-150, and 14 VAC 

5-300-160; propose new Rules at 14 VAC 5-300-95 and 

14 VAC 5-300-170; and repeal the Rules at 14 VAC 5-

300-20 and 14 VAC 5-300-50, be attached hereto and be 

made a part hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in 

support of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to 

oppose the adoption of the revised proposed Rules shall 

file such comments or hearing request on or before August 

13, 2012, in writing, with Joel H. Peck, Clerk, State 

Corporation Commission, Document Control Center, P.O. 

Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218, and shall refer to 

Case No. INS-2012-00058. Interested persons desiring to 

submit comments electronically may do so by following 

the instructions available at the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the revised 

proposed Rules is filed on or before August 13, 2012, the 

Commission, upon consideration of any comments 

submitted in support of or in opposition to the revised 

proposed Rules, may adopt the revised Rules as proposed 

by the Bureau. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with 

the revised proposed Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia 

Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations and shall make available 

this Order and the attached revised proposed Rules on the 

Commission's website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(5) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of 

the revised proposed Rules, shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to the Bureau in care of Deputy 

Commissioner Douglas C. Stolte, who forthwith shall give 

further notice of the proposed adoption of the revised 

Rules by mailing a copy of this Order, together with the 

revised proposed Rules, to all licensed insurers, burial 

societies, fraternal benefit societies, health services plans, 

risk retention groups, home protection companies, joint 

underwriting associations, group self-insurance pools, and 

group self-insurance associations licensed by the 

Commission, qualified reinsurers and certain interested 

parties designated by the Bureau. 

(6) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 

an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 

Ordering Paragraph (5) above. 

14VAC5-300-10. Purpose.  

The purpose of this chapter (14VAC5-300-10 et seq.) is to 

set forth rules and procedural requirements which the 

Commission commission has determined are necessary to 

carry out the provisions of Article 3.1 (§ 38.2-1316.1 et seq.) 

of Chapter 13 of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

14VAC5-300-20. Severability. (Repealed.)  

If any provision of this chapter or its application to any 

person or circumstance, is held invalid, such determination 

shall not affect other provisions or applications of this chapter 

which can be given effect without the invalid provision or 

application, and to that end the provisions of this chapter are 

severable.  

14VAC5-300-30. Applicability and scope.  

This chapter (14VAC5-300-10 et seq.) shall apply to all 

insurers taking credit for reinsurance under the provisions of 

Article 3.1 (§ 38.2-1316.1 et seq.) of Chapter 13 of Title 38.2 

of the Code of Virginia.  

14VAC5-300-40. Definitions.  

For purposes of The following words and terms when used 

in this chapter (14VAC5-300-10 et seq.) shall have the 

following meanings unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise:  

"The Act" means the provisions concerning reinsurance set 

forth in Article 3.1 (§ 38.2-1316.1 et seq.) of Chapter 13 of 

Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Accredited reinsurer" has the meaning set forth in § 38.2-

1316.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Accredited state" means a state in which the supervising 

insurance official, state insurance department or regulatory 

agency is accredited by the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners (NAIC) with respect to compliance with the 

NAIC Policy Statement on Financial Regulation Standards.  

"Audited financial report" means and includes those items 

specified in 14VAC5-270-60 of this title, "Rules Governing 

Annual Audited Financial Reports."  

"Beneficiary" means the entity for whose sole benefit the 

trust described in 14VAC5-300-120 of this chapter, or the 

letter of credit described in 14VAC5-300-130 of this chapter, 

has been established and any successor of the beneficiary by 

operation of law, including, without limitation, any receiver, 

conservator, rehabilitator or liquidator.  

"Certified reinsurer" has the meaning set forth in § 38.2-

1316.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Credit" has the meaning defined in § 38.2-1316.1 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

"Grantor" means the entity that has established a trust for the 

sole benefit of the beneficiary. However, when such a trust is 

established in conjunction with a reinsurance agreement that 

qualifies for credit under 14VAC5-300-120 of this chapter, 

the grantor shall not be an assuming insurer for which credit 

can be taken under § 38.2-1316.2 or § 38.2-1316.3 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

"Mortgage-related security" means an obligation that is rated 

AA or higher (or the equivalent) by a securities rating agency 

recognized by the Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC 

and that either:  
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1. Represents ownership of one or more promissory notes 

or certificates of interest or participation in the notes 

(including any rights designed to assure servicing of, or the 

receipt or timeliness of receipt by the holders of the notes, 

certificates, or participation of amounts payable under, the 

notes, certificates or participation), that:  

a. Are directly secured by a first lien on a single parcel of 

real estate, including stock allocated to a dwelling unit in 

a residential cooperative housing corporation, upon 

which is located a dwelling or mixed residential and 

commercial structure, or on a residential manufactured 

home as defined in 42 USCA § 5402(6), whether the 

manufactured home is considered real or personal 

property under the laws of the state in which it is located; 

and  

b. Were originated by a savings and loan association, 

savings bank, commercial bank, credit union, insurance 

company, or similar institution that is supervised and 

examined by a federal or state housing authority, or by a 

mortgagee approved by the Secretary of Housing and 

Urban Development pursuant to 12 USCA §§ 1709 and 

1715-b, or, where the notes involve a lien on the 

manufactured home, by an institution or by a financial 

institution approved for insurance by the Secretary of 

Housing and Urban Development pursuant to 12 USCA 

§ 1703; or  

2. Is secured by one or more promissory notes or 

certificates of deposit or participations in the notes (with or 

without recourse to the insurer of the notes) and, by its 

terms, provides for payments of principal in relation to 

payments, or reasonable projections of payments, or notes 

meeting the requirements of items 1 a and b of this 

definition.  

"NAIC" means the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners. 

"Obligations", as used in 14VAC5-300-120 B 6 of this 

chapter 14VAC5-300-120 A 11, means:  

1. Reinsured losses and allocated loss expense expenses 

paid by the ceding company, but not recovered from the 

assuming insurer;  

2. Reserves for reinsured losses reported and outstanding;  

3. Reserves for reinsured losses incurred but not reported; 

and  

4. Reserves for allocated reinsured loss expenses and 

unearned premiums.  

"Promissory note" means, when used in connection with a 

manufactured home, a loan, advance or credit sale as 

evidenced by a retail installment sales contract or other 

instrument.  

"Qualified United States financial institutions" has the 

meanings set forth in § 38.2-1316.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Statutory financial statement" means financial statements 

filed on either a quarterly or annual basis with the supervising 

insurance official, insurance department or insurance 

regulatory agency of the assuming insurer's state of domicile 

or, in the case of an alien assuming insurer, with the state 

through which it is entered and in which it is licensed to 

transact insurance or reinsurance. Any statutory financial 

statement required under this chapter shall be filed in 

accordance with the filing dates prescribed for the financial 

statements filed by licensed insurers pursuant to §§ 38.2-1300 

and 38.2-1301 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Substantially similar" standards means credit for 

reinsurance standards which the Commission determines 

equal or exceed the standards of the Act and this chapter 

(14VAC5-300-10 et seq.). An insurer licensed and domiciled, 

or entered through and licensed, in an accredited state is 

deemed to be subject to substantially similar standards for 

purposes of the Act and this chapter.  

"Surplus to policyholders" (i) when applied to a domestic or 

foreign assuming insurer, has the meaning set forth in § 38.2-

100 of the Code of Virginia, and (ii), when applied to an alien 

assuming insurer, means "trusteed surplus" as defined in § 

38.2-1031 of the Code of Virginia. In both instances as used 

in this chapter, the calculation and verification of such surplus 

shall be subject to the provisions of Title 38.2 of the Code of 

Virginia pertaining to admitted assets, investments, reserve 

requirements and other liabilities.  

14VAC5-300-50. Credit for reinsurance generally. 

(Repealed.)  

A. Except for those credits or reductions in liability allowed 

pursuant to § 38.2-1316.4 of the Act, a ceding insurer shall 

not receive reserve credits for reinsurance unless the 

assuming insurer meets certain financial and licensing 

requirements established by §§ 38.2-1316.2 and 38.2-1316.3 

of the Act. The following subdivisions of this section and 

14VAC5-300-60 through 14VAC5-300-90 of this chapter set 

forth requirements for such assuming insurers.  

B. The Act also contains examination and jurisdiction 

submission requirements by which most assuming insurers 

are required to submit to the examination authority of the 

Commission and the limited jurisdiction of this 

Commonwealth. The assuming insurer may also be required 

to appoint the Clerk of the Commission as statutory agent for 

service of process in any action, suit or proceeding arising out 

of a reinsurance agreement for which credit is taken under the 

Act, and instituted by or on behalf of the ceding insurer. The 

following provisions shall apply whenever such submissions 

or appointments are required by the Act or this chapter:  

1. The submissions shall be executed and filed in duplicate 

on forms approved by the Commission.  

2. When the assuming insurer is an incorporated company, 

each appointment or submission shall be executed by a 

duly authorized officer of the corporation. When the 

assuming insurer is an unincorporated group of persons, 
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such forms may be executed by a trustee or other duly 

appointed and authorized representative of the group. In no 

case shall the executing officer, trustee, or representative 

be affiliated with or employed by a corresponding ceding 

insurer.  

3. A submission to limited jurisdiction and any 

appointment of the Clerk of the Commission as agent for 

service of process shall be accompanied by a current listing 

of ceding insurers for whom jurisdiction through courts in 

Virginia is acknowledged. The listing shall identify all 

ceding insurers domiciled in Virginia with whom 

reinsurance agreements are in effect. For each ceding 

insurer identified, the listing shall report the complete 

name, address, domicile, and, for those companies 

registered with the NAIC, the identifying NAIC number of 

the ceding insurer. Such listing shall be updated at least 

annually unless more frequent filings are requested by the 

Commission.  

C. It is possible for a ceding insurer to take credit for a 

reinsurance transaction in one of two ways even if the 

assuming company cannot satisfy the threshold financial and 

licensing requirements or is unwilling to make the 

examination and jurisdiction submissions provided for in the 

Act. In such instances, the controlling statute is § 38.2-1316.4 

of the Act.  

1. Under subdivision 1 of § 38.2-1316.4, credit may be 

taken if the transaction is required by law, however, the 

amount of credit may be restricted as provided in 

14VAC5-300-100 of this chapter.  

2. Under subdivision 2 of § 38.2-1316.4, credit may be 

taken in the form of a reduction from liability for 

collateralized transactions. 14VAC5-300-110 through 

14VAC5-300-140 of this chapter relate to collateralized 

transactions, including those secured by letters of credit.  

D. Regardless of whether a ceding insurer seeks credit 

pursuant to § 38.2-1316.2, § 38.2-1316.3 or § 38.2-1316.4 of 

the Act, no balance sheet adjustments can be made unless the 

reinsurance agreement satisfies the conditions of § 38.2-

1316.5 of the Act and 14VAC5-300-150 of this chapter. 

Additional conditions set forth throughout this chapter can 

affect transactions involving trusteed funds or groups of 

assuming insurers.  

E. The ceding insurer is responsible for determining, in 

advance of taking any credit for reinsurance, whether the 

assuming insurer is willing and able to satisfy the licensing 

and financial conditions, and make the examination and 

jurisdictional submissions provided for in § 38.2-1316.2 or § 

38.2-1316.3 of the Act. If such conditions are not satisfied, or 

such submissions are not made in a proper and timely manner 

as required by this chapter, credit for reinsurance may be 

disallowed in the ceding insurer even though the required 

materials or filings may originate, by necessity or definition, 

with the assuming insurer.  

For purposes of the Act, and except as otherwise approved 

by the Commission, an insurer shall not be considered 

"licensed" unless it is fully authorized to actively solicit and 

conduct its business in the appropriate jurisdiction.  

F. Except as provided elsewhere in this chapter, all filings 

required by the Act or this chapter shall be filed (i) prior to 

the date of the statutory financial statement under which the 

ceding insurer in a given reinsurance agreement initially 

seeks credit according to the provisions of the Act, and (ii) on 

or before March 1 of each successive year in which the 

ceding insurer seeks credit or the assuming insurer seeks 

standing in this Commonwealth as an accredited reinsurer.  

G. Unless an extension for the time of filing is first granted 

in writing, the failure to submit timely filings or to respond 

within 10 days to any request by the Commission for 

additional documents shall be considered grounds for 

disallowing credit and/or revoking the standing of an 

accredited reinsurer. Extensions may be granted for any 

period determined by the Commission, provided, the request 

for extension is in writing and is supported by a showing of 

good and valid cause.  

14VAC5-300-60. Credit for reinsurance; reinsurer 

licensed in this Commonwealth.  

Pursuant to §§ § 38.2-1316.2 A 1 and 38.2-1316.3 A1 B of 

the Act, the Commission commission shall allow credit when 

reinsurance is ceded to an assuming insurer which is licensed 

to transact insurance in this Commonwealth. For purposes of 

this section, an insurer shall not be considered so "licensed" 

unless it is fully authorized to actively solicit and conduct its 

business in this Commonwealth and in its domiciliary state.  

14VAC5-300-70. Credit for reinsurance; accredited 

reinsurers.  

A. Pursuant to § 38.2-1316.2 A 2 and § 38.2-1316.3 A1 of 

the Act, the Commission commission shall allow credit when 

reinsurance is ceded to an assuming insurer which is an 

accredited reinsurer as of the date of the ceding insurer's 

statutory financial statement.  

B. An assuming insurer which satisfies the filing 

requirements of this section, and which maintains a surplus to 

policyholders in an amount not less than $20 million shall be 

recognized in this Commonwealth as an accredited reinsurer.  

1. Such insurer's initial request for standing as an 

accredited reinsurer shall be deemed granted 90 days 

following the Commission's receipt of documents required 

by subdivisions D 1 and D 2, unless the Commission 

specifically requests, in writing, information pursuant to 

subdivision D 3 of this section.  

2. Any request by the Commission for additional 

information pursuant to subdivision D 3 of this section, 

shall toll the statutory provisions for automatic recognition 

as an accredited reinsurer.  

C. An assuming insurer which fails to maintain surplus to 

policyholders of at least $20 million may request recognition 
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as an accredited reinsurer by filing, in addition to the other 

requirements set forth in this section, a letter of explanation as 

to why its surplus is less than $20 million and justification as 

to why the Commission should recognize the accreditation of 

such assuming insurer.  

1. Such insurers shall be recognized as accredited 

reinsurers only upon a showing of good and valid cause.  

2. Such insurers' standing as accredited reinsurers may be 

limited to certain types of reinsurance transactions, or 

otherwise applicable only with regard to specified types of 

reinsurance contracts, such as pooling arrangements among 

affiliates within the same holding company system.  

D. Filing requirements.  

1. As a condition of accreditation, an accredited reinsurer 

shall file with the Commission:  

a. Evidence of its submission to the Commission's 

authority to examine its books and records; and  

b. Evidence of its submission to this Commonwealth's 

jurisdiction and appointment of the Clerk of the 

Commission as agent for service of process in any action, 

suit or proceeding instituted by or on behalf of the ceding 

company.  

2. The following documents shall be filed prior to 

accreditation and annually thereafter for as long as the 

assuming insurer seeks standing in this Commonwealth as 

an accredited reinsurer.  

a. A certified copy of a certificate of authority or of 

compliance or other evidence that it is licensed to 

transact insurance or reinsurance in at least one state, or 

in the case of a United States branch of an alien assuming 

insurer, is entered through and licensed to transact 

insurance or reinsurance in at least one state.  

b. A copy of its statutory financial statement, and  

c. A copy of its most recent audited financial report.  

3. In addition to the foregoing, the insurer shall file, upon 

the request of the Commission, any additional information, 

certifications or reports of the assuming insurer as the 

Commission determines are necessary to verify the 

licensing status or financial condition of the assuming 

insurer.  

for reinsurance ceded by a domestic insurer to an assuming 

insurer that is accredited as a reinsurer in this Commonwealth 

as of the date on which statutory financial statement credit for 

reinsurance is claimed. An accredited reinsurer shall: 

1. File a properly executed Certificate of Assuming Insurer 

as evidence of its submission to this Commonwealth's 

jurisdiction and to this Commonwealth's authority to 

examine its books and records; 

2. File with the commission a certified copy of a certificate 

of authority or other acceptable evidence that it is licensed 

to transact insurance or reinsurance in at least one state, or, 

in the case of a United States branch of an alien assuming 

insurer, is entered through and licensed to transact 

insurance or reinsurance in at least one state; 

3. File annually with the commission a copy of its annual 

statement filed with the insurance department of its state of 

domicile or, in the case of an alien assuming insurer, with 

the state through which it is entered and in which it is 

licensed to transact insurance or reinsurance, and a copy of 

its most recent audited financial statement; and 

4. Maintain a surplus as regards policyholders in an 

amount not less than $20 million, or obtain the affirmative 

approval of the commission upon a finding that it has 

adequate financial capacity to meet its reinsurance 

obligations and is otherwise qualified to assume 

reinsurance from domestic insurers. 

B. If the commission determines that the assuming insurer 

has failed to meet or maintain any of these qualifications, the 

commission may upon written notice and opportunity for 

hearing, suspend or revoke the accreditation. Credit shall not 

be allowed a domestic ceding insurer under this section if the 

assuming insurer's accreditation has been revoked by the 

commission, or if the reinsurance was ceded while the 

assuming insurer's accreditation was under suspension by the 

commission. 

14VAC5-300-80. Credit for reinsurance; reinsurer 

domiciled and licensed in another state, and neither 

licensed nor accredited in Virginia.  

A. Pursuant to the provisions of § 38.2-1316.2 A 3 of the 

Act, the Commission commission shall allow credit when a 

domestic insurer cedes reinsurance to an assuming insurer 

which as of the date of the ceding insurer's statutory financial 

statement:  

1. Maintains a surplus to policyholders in an amount not 

less than $20 million;  

2. Is domiciled and licensed, or entered through and 

licensed, in a state which employs standards regarding 

credit for reinsurance substantially similar to those 

applicable under the Act and this chapter;  

3. Submits to the Commission's authority to examine its 

books and records;  

4. Submits to this Commonwealth's jurisdiction and 

designates the Clerk of the Commission as agent for 

service of process in any action, suit or proceeding 

instituted by or on behalf of the ceding company; and  

5. Satisfies the applicable filing requirements set forth in 

subsection C of this section.  

B. A foreign or alien ceding insurer taking credit pursuant to 

§ 38.2-1316.3 A2 of the Act must cede reinsurance to an 

assuming insurer which:  

1. Maintains a surplus to policyholders in an amount not 

less than $20 million;  

2. Is licensed and authorized to actively solicit and conduct 

its business in at least one state; and  
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3. Satisfies the applicable filing requirements set forth in 

subsection C of this section.  

C. Filing requirements.  

1. When credit is requested for a domestic ceding insurer, 

the Commission may require that the ceding insurer file or 

cause to be filed;  

a. Evidence to support a finding by the Commission that 

the assuming insurer's state of domicile, or entry, 

employs standards regarding credit for reinsurance 

substantially similar to those set forth in the Act. Such 

evidence must be in a form acceptable to the 

Commission, and at the request of the Commission shall 

consist of statutes, regulations, and interpretations of the 

standards utilized by the state of domicile, or entry.  

b. Such additional information, certifications, or reports 

of the assuming insurer as the Commission determines 

are necessary to verify the licensing status or financial 

condition of the assuming insurer.  

2. When credit is requested for a foreign or alien ceding 

insurer, the Commission may require the ceding insurer to 

file or cause to be filed such information, certifications or 

reports of the assuming insurer as the Commission 

determines are necessary to verify the licensing status or 

financial condition of the assuming insurer.  

3. When reinsurance is ceded by a domestic insurer and 

assumed pursuant to pooling arrangements among insurers 

in the same holding company, unless specifically required 

by the Commission, the $20 million surplus to 

policyholder requirement shall be deemed waived. 

Notwithstanding this provision, the Commission may 

require the ceding insurer to file or cause to be filed:  

a. A copy of the underlying pooling agreement.  

b. Such additional information, certifications or reports 

of the members of the pooling arrangement as the 

Commission determines are necessary to verify the 

financial condition of the collective or individual 

members of the pooling arrangement. 

for reinsurance ceded by a domestic insurer to an assuming 

insurer that as of any date on which statutory financial 

statement credit for reinsurance is claimed: 

1. Is domiciled in (or, in the case of a United States branch 

of an alien assuming insurer, is entered through) a state 

that employs standards regarding credit for reinsurance 

substantially similar to those applicable under the Act and 

this chapter; 

2. Maintains a surplus as regards policyholders in an 

amount not less than $20 million; and 

3. Files a properly executed Certificate of Assuming 

Insurer with the commission as evidence of its submission 

to this Commonwealth's authority to examine its books and 

records. 

B. The provisions of this section relating to surplus as 

regards policyholders shall not apply to reinsurance ceded 

and assumed pursuant to pooling arrangements among 

insurers in the same holding company system. As used in this 

section, "substantially similar" standards means credit for 

reinsurance standards that the commission determines equal 

or exceed the standards of the Act and this chapter. 

14VAC5-300-90. Credit for reinsurance; reinsurers 

maintaining trust funds.  

A. Pursuant to § 38.2-1316.2 A 4 or § 38.2-1316.3 A 3 of 

the Act, the commission shall allow credit for reinsurance 

ceded to a trusteed assuming insurer which, as of the date of 

the ceding insurer's statutory financial statement:  

1. Maintains a trust fund and trusteed surplus that complies 

with the provisions of § 38.2-1316.2 A 4 of the Act;  

2. Complies with the requirements set forth in subsections 

B, C and D of this section; and  

3. Reports annually to the commission on or before June 1 

of each year in which a ceding insurer seeks reserve credit 

under the Act substantially the same information as that 

required to be reported on the NAIC annual statement form 

by licensed insurers, to enable the commission to 

determine the sufficiency of the trust fund. The accounting 

shall, among other things, set forth the balance to the trust 

and list the trust's investments as of the preceding year end 

and shall certify the date of termination of the trust, if so 

planned, or certify that the trust shall not expire prior to the 

next following December 31.  

B. When credit is taken for reinsurance ceded to any 

trusteed assuming insurer, the commission may require that 

the ceding insurer file or cause to be filed:  

1. A copy of the trust agreement pertaining to the requisite 

trust funds along with a statement identifying and locating 

the specific provisions in the agreement which satisfy the 

form of trust requirements set forth in subsection E of this 

section;  

2. Satisfactory evidence that the requisite trust funds are 

held in a qualified United States financial institution;  

3. A certified statement and accounting of trusteed surplus 

executed by a duly authorized officer or representative of 

the trusteed assuming insurer;  

4. A certified statement from the trustee of the trust listing 

the assets of the trust; and  

5. A certified English translation for any foreign language 

documents filed pursuant to the Act or this chapter.  

C. When credit is requested for reinsurance ceded to trusteed 

assuming insurer which is a group including incorporated and 

individual unincorporated underwriters, the group shall make 

available to the commission annual certifications of solvency 

of each underwriter member of the group, prepared by the 

group's domiciliary regulator and its independent accountant, 

or if a certification is unavailable a financial statement, 
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prepared by independent public accountants, of each 

underwriter member of the group.  

D. When credit is requested for reinsurance ceded to a 

trusteed assuming insurer which is a group of incorporated 

insurers under common administration, the group shall:  

1. File evidence of its submission to the commission's 

authority to examine the books and records of any member 

of the group.  

2. Certify that any member examined will bear the expense 

of any such examination.  

3. Make available to the commission an annual 

certification of each underwriter member's solvency by the 

member's domiciliary regulator and financial statements 

prepared by independent public accountants of each 

underwriter member of the group.  

4. If requested by the commission, file copies of annual 

statements for the three-year period preceding the initial 

request for credit, or other documents satisfactory to the 

commission, which show that the group has continuously 

transacted an insurance business outside the United States 

for at least three years.  

E. Form of Trust. The trust required under § 38.2-1316.2 A 

4 of the Act and subdivisions A 2, A 3, B 1, and B 2 of this 

section shall provide that: B. The following requirements 

apply to the following categories of assuming insurer:  

1. The trust fund for a single assuming insurer shall consist 

of funds in trust in an amount not less than the assuming 

insurer's liabilities attributable to reinsurance ceded by 

United States domiciled insurers, and in addition, the 

assuming insurer shall maintain a trusteed surplus of not 

less than $20 million, except as provided in subdivision 2 

of this subsection.  

2. At any time after the assuming insurer has permanently 

discontinued underwriting new business secured by the 

trust for at least three full years, the commissioner with 

principal regulatory oversight of the trust may authorize a 

reduction in the required trusteed surplus, but only after a 

finding, based on an assessment of the risk, that the new 

required surplus level is adequate for the protection of 

United States ceding insurers, policyholders, and claimants 

in light of reasonably foreseeable adverse loss 

development. The risk assessment may involve an actuarial 

review, including an independent analysis of reserves and 

cash flows, and shall consider all material risk factors, 

including when applicable the lines of business involved, 

the stability of the incurred loss estimates and the effect of 

the surplus requirements on the assuming insurer's liquidity 

or solvency. The minimum required trusteed surplus may 

not be reduced to an amount less than 30% of the assuming 

insurer's liabilities attributable to reinsurance ceded by 

United States ceding insurers covered by the trust.  

3. a. The trust fund for a group including incorporated and 

individual unincorporated underwriters shall consist of:  

(1) For reinsurance ceded under reinsurance agreements 

with an inception, amendment or renewal date on or after 

January 1, 1993, funds in trust in an amount not less than 

the respective underwriters' several liabilities attributable 

to business ceded by United States domiciled ceding 

insurers to any underwriter of the group;  

(2) For reinsurance ceded under reinsurance agreements 

with an inception date on or before December 31, 1992, 

and not amended or renewed after that date, 

notwithstanding the other provisions of this chapter, 

funds in trust in an amount not less than the respective 

underwriters' several insurance and reinsurance liabilities 

attributable to business written in the United States; and  

(3) In addition to these trusts, the group shall maintain a 

trusteed surplus of which $100 million shall be held 

jointly for the benefit of the United States domiciled 

ceding insurers of any member of the group for all the 

years of account.  

b. The incorporated members of the group shall not be 

engaged in any business other than underwriting as a 

member of the group and shall be subject to the same 

level of regulation and solvency control by the group's 

domiciliary regulator as are the unincorporated members. 

The group shall, within 90 days after its financial 

statements are due to be filed with the group's 

domiciliary regulator, provide to the commission:  

(1) An annual certification by the group's domiciliary 

regulator of the solvency of each underwriter member of 

the group; or  

(2) If a certification is unavailable, a financial statement, 

prepared by independent public accountants, of each 

underwriter member of the group.  

4. a. The trust fund for a group of incorporated insurers 

under common administration, whose members possess 

aggregate policyholders surplus of $10 billion (calculated 

and reported in substantially the same manner as 

prescribed by the NAIC Annual Statement Instructions and 

the NAIC Accounting Practices and Procedures Manual) 

and which has continuously transacted an insurance 

business outside the United States for at least three years 

immediately prior to making application for accreditation, 

shall:  

(1) Consist of funds in trust in an amount not less than 

the assuming insurers' several liabilities attributable to 

business ceded by United States domiciled ceding 

insurers to any members of the group pursuant to 

reinsurance contracts issued in the name of such group; 

(2) Maintain a joint trusteed surplus of which $100 

million shall be held jointly for the benefit of United 

States domiciled ceding insurers of any member of the 

group; and  

(3) File a properly executed Certificate of Assuming 

Insurer as evidence of the submission to this 
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Commonwealth's authority to examine the books and 

records of any of its members and shall certify that any 

member examined will bear the expense of any such 

examination.  

b. Within 90 days after the statements are due to be filed 

with the group's domiciliary regulator, the group shall 

file with the commission an annual certification of each 

underwriter member's solvency by the member's 

domiciliary regulators, and financial statements, prepared 

by independent public accountants, of each underwriter 

member of the group.  

C. 1. Credit for reinsurance shall not be granted unless the 

form of the trust and any amendments to the trust have been 

approved by either the commissioner of the state where the 

trust is domiciled or the commissioner of another state who, 

pursuant to the terms of the trust instrument, has accepted 

responsibility for regulatory oversight of the trust. The form 

of the trust and any trust amendments also shall be filed with 

the commissioner of every state in which the ceding insurer 

beneficiaries of the trust are domiciled. The trust instrument 

shall provide that: 

1. a. Contested claims shall be valid and enforceable out 

of funds in trust to the extent remaining unsatisfied 30 

days after entry of the final order of any court of 

competent jurisdiction in the United States.;  

2. b. Legal title to the assets of the trust shall be vested in 

the trustee for the benefit of the grantor's United States 

policyholders and ceding insurers, their assigns and 

successors in interest.;  

3. c. The trust and the assuming insurer shall be subject 

to examination as determined by the commission.; 

4. d. The trust shall remain in effect for as long as the 

assuming insurer, or any member or former member of a 

group of insurers, shall have outstanding obligations 

under reinsurance agreements subject to the trust.; and  

5. e. No later than February 28 of each year the trustees 

of the trust (i) shall report to the commission in writing 

setting forth the balance in the trust and listing the trust's 

investments at the preceding year end and (ii) shall 

certify the date of termination of the trust, if so planned, 

or certify that the trust shall not expire prior to the next 

December 31.  

F. Any amendment to the trust, required under § 38.2-

1316.2 A 4 of the Act and subdivisions A 1, A 3, B 1, and B 2 

of this section, shall be filed with the commission within 30 

days after the effective date of the amendment.  

2. a. Notwithstanding any other provisions in the trust 

instrument, if the trust fund is inadequate because it 

contains an amount less than the amount required by this 

subsection or if the grantor of the trust has been declared 

insolvent or placed into receivership, rehabilitation, 

liquidation or similar proceedings under the laws of its 

state or country of domicile, the trustee shall comply with 

an order of the commissioner with regulatory oversight 

over the trust or with an order of a court of competent 

jurisdiction directing the trustee to transfer to the 

commissioner with regulatory oversight over the trust or 

other designated receiver all of the assets of the trust fund.  

b. The assets shall be distributed by and claims shall be 

filed with and valued by the commissioner with 

regulatory oversight over the trust in accordance with the 

laws of the state in which the trust is domiciled 

applicable to the liquidation of domestic insurance 

companies.  

c. If the commissioner with regulatory oversight over the 

trust determines that the assets of the trust fund or any 

part thereof are not necessary to satisfy the claims of the 

United States beneficiaries of the trust, the commissioner 

with regulatory oversight over the trust shall return the 

assets, or any part thereof, to the trustee for distribution 

in accordance with the trust agreement.  

d. The grantor shall waive any right otherwise available 

to it under United States law that is inconsistent with this 

provision.  

D. For purposes of this section, the term "liabilities" shall 

mean the assuming insurer's gross liabilities attributable to 

reinsurance ceded by United States domiciled insurers 

excluding liabilities that are otherwise secured by acceptable 

means, and, shall include:  

1. For business ceded by domestic insurers authorized to 

write accident and health, and property and casualty 

insurance:  

a. Losses and allocated loss expenses paid by the ceding 

insurer, recoverable from the assuming insurer;  

b. Reserves for losses reported and outstanding;  

c. Reserves for losses incurred but not reported;  

d. Reserves for allocated loss expenses; and  

e. Unearned premiums.  

2. For business ceded by domestic insurers authorized to 

write life, health, and annuity insurance:  

a. Aggregate reserves for life policies and contracts net of 

policy loans and net due and deferred premiums;  

b. Aggregate reserves for accident and health policies;  

c. Deposit funds and other liabilities without life or 

disability contingencies; and  

d. Liabilities for policy and contract claims.  

E. Assets deposited in trusts established pursuant to § 38.2-

1316.2 [ A ] of the Act and this section shall be valued 

according to their current fair market value and shall consist 

only of cash in United States dollars, certificates of deposit 

issued by a United States financial institution as defined in 

§ 38.2-1316.1 of the Act, clean, irrevocable, unconditional, 

and "evergreen" letters of credit issued or confirmed by a 

qualified United States financial institution, as defined in 
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§ 38.2-1316.1, and investments of the type specified in this 

subsection, but investments in or issued by an entity 

controlling, controlled by or under common control with 

either the grantor or beneficiary of the trust shall not exceed 

5.0% of total investments. No more than 20% of the total of 

the investments in the trust may be foreign investments 

authorized under subdivisions 1 e, 3, 5 b, or 6 of this 

subsection, and no more than 10% of the total of the 

investments in the trust may be securities denominated in 

foreign currencies. For purposes of applying the preceding 

sentence, a depository receipt denominated in United States 

dollars and representing rights conferred by a foreign security 

shall be classified as a foreign investment denominated in a 

foreign currency. The assets of a trust established to satisfy 

the requirements of § 38.2-1316.2 [ A 4 ] shall be invested 

only as follows:  

1. Government obligations that are not in default as to 

principal or interest, that are valid and legally authorized 

and that are issued, assumed, or guaranteed by:  

a. The United States or by any agency or instrumentality 

of the United States;  

b. A state of the United States;  

c. A territory, possession, or other governmental unit of 

the United States;  

d. An agency or instrumentality of a governmental unit 

referred to in subdivisions 1 b and c of this subsection if 

the obligations shall be by law (statutory of otherwise) 

payable, as to both principal and interest, from taxes 

levied or by law required to be levied or from adequate 

special revenues pledged or otherwise appropriated or by 

law required to be provided for making these payments, 

but shall not be obligations eligible for investment under 

this subsection if payable solely out of special 

assessments on properties benefited by local 

improvements; or  

e. The government of any other country that is a member 

of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and 

Development and whose government obligations are 

rated A or higher, or the equivalent, by a rating agency 

recognized by the Securities Valuation Office of the 

NAIC;  

2. Obligations that are issued in the United States, or that 

are dollar denominated and issued in a non-United States 

market, by a solvent United States institution (other than an 

insurance company) or that are assumed or guaranteed by a 

solvent United States institution (other than an insurance 

company) and that are not in default as to principal or 

interest if the obligations:  

a. Are rated A or higher (or the equivalent) by a 

securities rating agency recognized by the Securities 

Valuation Office of the NAIC, or if not so rated, are 

similar in structure and other material respects to other 

obligations of the same institution that are so rated;  

b. Are insured by at least one authorized insurer (other 

than the investing insurer or a parent, subsidiary or 

affiliate of the investing insurer) licensed to insure 

obligations in this Commonwealth and, after considering 

the insurance, are rated AAA (or the equivalent) by a 

securities rating agency recognized by the Securities 

Valuation Office of the NAIC; or  

c. Have been designated as Class One or Class Two by 

the Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC;  

3. Obligations issued, assumed or guaranteed by a solvent 

non-United States institution chartered in a country that is 

a member of the Organization for Economic Cooperation 

and Development or obligations of United States 

corporations issued in a non-United States currency, 

provided that in either case the obligations are rated A or 

higher, or the equivalent, by a rating agency recognized by 

the Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC;  

4. An investment made pursuant to the provisions of 

subdivision 1, 2, or 3 of this subsection shall be subject to 

the following additional limitations:  

a. An investment in or loan upon the obligations of an 

institution other than an institution that issues mortgage-

related securities shall not exceed 5.0% of the assets of 

the trust;  

b. An investment in any one mortgage-related security 

shall not exceed 5.0% of the assets of the trust;  

c. The aggregate total investment in mortgage-related 

securities shall not exceed 25% of the assets of the trust; 

and  

d. Preferred or guaranteed shares issued or guaranteed by 

a solvent United States institution are permissible 

investments if all of the institution's obligations are 

eligible as investments under subdivisions 2 a and c of 

this subsection, but shall not exceed 2.0% of the assets of 

the trust.  

5. Equity interests. 

a. Investments in common shares or partnership interests 

of a solvent United States institution are permissible if:  

(1) Its obligations and preferred shares, if any, are 

eligible as investments under this subsection; and  

(2) The equity interests of the institution (except an 

insurance company) are registered on a national 

securities exchange as provided in the Securities 

Exchange Act of 1934, 15 USC §§ 78 a to 78 kk or 

otherwise registered pursuant to that Act, and if 

otherwise registered, price quotations for them are 

furnished through a nationwide automated quotations 

system approved by the Financial Industry Regulatory 

Authority, or successor organization. A trust shall not 

invest in equity interests under this subdivision an 

amount exceeding 1.0% of the assets of the trust even 

though the equity interests are not so registered and are 

not issued by an insurance company;  
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b. Investments in common shares of a solvent institution 

organized under the laws of a country that is a member of 

the Organization for Economic Cooperation and 

Development, if:  

(1) All its obligations are rated A or higher, or the 

equivalent, by a rating agency recognized by the 

Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC; and  

(2) The equity interests of the institution are registered on 

a securities exchange regulated by the government of a 

country that is a member of the Organization for 

Economic Cooperation and Development;  

c. An investment in or loan upon any one institution's 

outstanding equity interests shall not exceed 1.0% of the 

assets of the trust. The cost of an investment in equity 

interests made pursuant to this subdivision, when added 

to the aggregate cost of other investments in equity 

interests then held pursuant to this subdivision, shall not 

exceed 10% of the assets in the trust;  

6. Obligations issued, assumed, or guaranteed by a 

multinational development bank, provided the obligations 

are rated A or higher, or the equivalent, by a rating agency 

recognized by the Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC.  

7. Investment companies.  

a. Securities of an investment company registered 

pursuant to the Investment Company Act of 1940, 15 

USC § 80 a, are permissible investments if the 

investment company:  

(1) Invests at least 90% of its assets in the types of 

securities that qualify as an investment under subdivision 

1, 2, or 3 of this subsection or invests in securities that 

are determined by the commission to be substantively 

similar to the types of securities set forth in subdivision 

1, 2, or 3 of this subsection; or  

(2) Invests at least 90% of its assets in the types of equity 

interests that qualify as an investment under subdivision 

5 a of this subsection;  

b. Investments made by a trust in investment companies 

under this subdivision shall not exceed the following 

limitations:  

(1) An investment in an investment company qualifying 

under subdivision 7 a (1) of this subsection shall not 

exceed 10% of the assets in the trust and the aggregate 

amount of investment in qualifying investment 

companies shall not exceed 25% of the assets in the trust; 

and  

(2) Investments in an investment company qualifying 

under subdivision 7 a (2) of this subsection shall not 

exceed 5.0% of the assets in the trust and the aggregate 

amount of investment in qualifying investment 

companies shall be included when calculating the 

permissible aggregate value of equity interests pursuant 

to subdivision 5 a of this subsection.  

8. Letters of credit.  

a. In order for a letter of credit to qualify as an asset of 

the trust, the trustee shall have the right and the 

obligation pursuant to the deed of trust or some other 

binding agreement (as duly approved by the 

commission), to immediately draw down the full amount 

of the letter of credit and hold the proceeds in trust for 

the beneficiaries of the trust if the letter of credit will 

otherwise expire without being renewed or replaced.  

b. The trust agreement shall provide that the trustee shall 

be liable for its negligence, willful misconduct or lack of 

good faith. The failure of the trustee to draw against the 

letter of credit in circumstances where such draw would 

be required shall be deemed to be negligence and/or 

willful misconduct.  

F. A specific security provided to a ceding insurer by an 

assuming insurer pursuant to 14VAC5-300-100 shall be 

applied, until exhausted, to the payment of liabilities of the 

assuming insurer to the ceding insurer holding the specific 

security prior to, and as a condition precedent for, 

presentation of a claim by the ceding insurer for payment by a 

trustee of a trust established by the assuming insurer pursuant 

to this section.  

14VAC5-300-95. Credit for reinsurance; certified 

reinsurers. 

A. Pursuant to § 38.2-1316.2 B of the Act, the commission 

shall allow credit for reinsurance ceded by a domestic insurer 

to an assuming insurer that has been certified as a reinsurer in 

this Commonwealth at all times for which statutory financial 

statement credit for reinsurance is claimed under this section. 

The credit allowed shall be based upon the security held by or 

on behalf of the ceding insurer in accordance with a rating 

assigned to the certified reinsurer by the commission. The 

security shall be in a form consistent with the provisions of 

§ 38.2-1316.2 B and 14VAC5-300-110, 14VAC5-300-120, 

14VAC5-300-130 or 14VAC5-300-140. The amount of 

security required in order for full credit to be allowed shall 

correspond with the following requirements:  

1. Ratings Security Required 

  Secure – 1 0.0%  

  Secure – 2  10%  

  Secure – 3  20%  

  Secure – 4  50%  

  Secure – 5  75%  

  Vulnerable – 6  100%  

2. Affiliated reinsurance transactions shall receive the same 

opportunity for reduced security requirements as all other 

reinsurance transactions.  
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3. The commission shall require the certified reinsurer to 

post 100%, for the benefit of the ceding insurer or its 

estate, security upon the entry of an order of rehabilitation, 

liquidation, or conservation against the ceding insurer. 

4. In order to facilitate the prompt payment of claims, a 

certified reinsurer shall not be required to post security for 

catastrophe recoverables for a period of one year from the 

date of the first instance of a liability reserve entry by the 

ceding company as a result of a loss from a catastrophic 

occurrence  [ that is likely to result in significant insured 

losses, ]  as recognized by the commission. The one year 

deferral period is contingent upon the certified reinsurer 

continuing to pay claims in a timely manner. Reinsurance 

recoverables for only the following lines of business as 

reported on the NAIC annual financial statement related 

specifically to the catastrophic occurrence will be included 

in the deferral:  

a. Line 1: Fire  

b. Line 2: Allied Lines  

c. Line 3: Farmowners multiple peril  

d. Line 4: Homeowners multiple peril  

e. Line 5: Commercial multiple peril  

f. Line 9: Inland marine  

g. Line 12: Earthquake  

h. Line 21: Auto physical damage  

5. Credit for reinsurance under this section shall apply only 

to reinsurance contracts entered into or renewed on or after 

the effective date of the certification of the assuming 

insurer. Any reinsurance contract entered into prior to the 

effective date of the certification of the assuming insurer 

that is subsequently amended [ by mutual agreement of the 

parties to the reinsurance contract ] after the effective date 

of the certification of the assuming insurer, or a new 

reinsurance contract, covering any risk for which collateral 

was provided previously, shall only be subject to this 

section with respect to losses incurred and reserves 

reported from and after the effective date of the 

amendment or new contract.  

6. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the parties to a 

reinsurance agreement from agreeing to provisions 

establishing security requirements that exceed the 

minimum security requirements established for certified 

reinsurers under this section.  

B. Certification procedure. 

1. The commission shall post notice on the Bureau of 

Insurance's website promptly upon receipt of any 

application for certification, including instructions on how 

members of the public may respond to the application. The 

commission may not take final action on the application 

until at least 30 days after posting the notice required by 

this subdivision.  

2. The commission shall issue written notice to an 

assuming insurer that has made application and been 

approved as a certified reinsurer. Included in such notice 

shall be the rating assigned the certified reinsurer in 

accordance with subsection A of this section. The 

commission shall publish a list of all certified reinsurers 

and their ratings. 

3. In order to be eligible for certification, the assuming 

insurer shall meet the following requirements: 

a. The assuming insurer shall be domiciled and licensed 

to transact insurance or reinsurance in a qualified 

jurisdiction, as determined by the commission pursuant 

to subsection C of this section.  

b. The assuming insurer shall maintain capital and 

surplus, or its equivalent, of no less than $250 million 

calculated in accordance with subdivision 4 h of this 

subsection. This requirement may also be satisfied by an 

association including incorporated and individual 

unincorporated underwriters having minimum capital and 

surplus equivalents (net of liabilities) of at least $250 

million and a central fund containing a balance of at least 

$250 million.  

c. The assuming insurer shall maintain financial strength 

ratings from two or more rating agencies deemed 

acceptable by the commission. These ratings shall be 

based on interactive communication between the rating 

agency and the assuming insurer and shall not be based 

solely on publicly available information. These financial 

strength ratings will be one factor used by the 

commission in determining the rating that is assigned to 

the assuming insurer. Acceptable rating agencies include 

the following:  

(1) Standard & Poor's;  

(2) Moody's Investors Service;  

(3) Fitch Ratings;  

(4) A.M. Best Company; or  

(5) Any other nationally recognized statistical rating 

organization.  

d. The certified reinsurer shall comply with any other 

requirements reasonably imposed by the commission.  

4. Each certified reinsurer shall be rated on a legal entity 

basis, with due consideration being given to the group 

rating where appropriate, except that an association 

including incorporated and individual unincorporated 

underwriters that has been approved to do business as a 

single certified reinsurer may be evaluated on the basis of 

its group rating. Factors that may be considered as part of 

the evaluation process include, but are not limited to, the 

following:  

a. The certified reinsurer's financial strength rating from 

an acceptable rating agency. The maximum rating that a 

certified reinsurer may be assigned will correspond to its 
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financial strength rating as outlined in the table below. 

The commission shall use the lowest financial strength 

rating received from an approved rating agency in 

establishing the maximum rating of a certified reinsurer. 

A failure to obtain or maintain at least two financial 

strength ratings from acceptable rating agencies will 

result in loss of eligibility for certification:  

Ratings Best S&P Moody's Fitch 

Secure – 1 A++ AAA Aaa AAA 

Secure – 2 A+ 
AA+, AA, 

AA- 

Aa1, 

Aa2, 

Aa3 

AA+, 

AA, AA- 

Secure – 3 A A+, A A1, A2 A+, A 

Secure – 4 A- A- A3 A- 

Secure – 5 
B++, 

B+ 

BBB+, 

BBB, 

BBB- 

Baa1, 

Baa2, 

Baa3 

BBB+, 

BBB, 

BBB- 

Vulnerable 

– 6 

B, B-

C++, 

C+, C, 

C-, D, 

E, F 

BB+, BB, 

BB-, B+, 

B, B-, 

CCC, CC, 

C, D, R 

Ba1, 

Ba2, 

Ba3, B1, 

B2, B3, 

Caa, Ca, 

C 

BB+, 

BB, BB-, 

B+, B, 

B-, 

CCC+, 

CC, 

CCC-, 

DD 

b. The business practices of the certified reinsurer in 

dealing with its ceding insurers, including its record of 

compliance with reinsurance contractual terms and 

obligations;  

c. For certified reinsurers domiciled in the United States, 

a review of the most recent applicable NAIC annual 

statement blank, either Schedule F (for property/casualty 

reinsurers) or Schedule S (for life and health reinsurers);  

d. For certified reinsurers not domiciled in the United 

States, a review annually of the Assumed Reinsurance 

Form CR-F (for property/casualty reinsurers) or the 

Reinsurance Assumed Life Insurance, Annuities, Deposit 

Funds and Other Liabilities Form CR-S (for life and 

health reinsurers) of this chapter; 

e. The reputation of the certified reinsurer for prompt 

payment of claims under reinsurance agreements, based 

on an analysis of ceding insurers' Schedule F reporting of 

overdue reinsurance recoverables, including the 

proportion of obligations that are more than 90 days past 

due or are in dispute, with specific attention given to 

obligations payable to companies that are in 

administrative supervision or receivership;  

f. Regulatory actions against the certified reinsurer;  

g. The report of the independent auditor on the financial 

statements of the insurance enterprise, on the basis 

described in subdivision 4 h of this subsection;  

h. For certified reinsurers not domiciled in the United 

States, audited financial statements (audited United 

States GAAP basis if available, audited IFRS basis 

statements are allowed but shall include an audited 

footnote reconciling equity and net income to a United 

States GAAP basis), regulatory filings, and actuarial 

opinion (as filed with the non-United States jurisdiction 

supervisor). Upon the initial application for certification, 

the commission will consider audited financial 

statements for the last three years filed with its non-

United States jurisdiction supervisor; 

i. The liquidation priority of obligations to a ceding 

insurer in the certified reinsurer's domiciliary jurisdiction 

in the context of an insolvency proceeding;  

j. A certified reinsurer's participation in any solvent 

scheme of arrangement, or similar procedure, which 

involves United States ceding insurers. The commission 

shall receive prior notice from a certified reinsurer that 

proposes participation by the certified reinsurer in a 

solvent scheme of arrangement; and 

k. Any other information deemed relevant by the 

commission.  

5. Based on the analysis conducted under subdivision 4 e 

of this subsection of a certified reinsurer's reputation for 

prompt payment of claims, the commission may make 

appropriate adjustments in the security the certified 

reinsurer is required to post to protect its liabilities to 

United States ceding insurers, provided that the 

commission shall, at a minimum, increase the security the 

certified reinsurer is required to post by one rating level 

under subdivision 4 a of this subsection if the commission 

finds that:  

a. More than 15% of the certified reinsurer's ceding 

insurance clients have overdue reinsurance recoverables 

on paid losses of 90 days or more that are not in dispute 

and that exceed $100,000 for each cedent; or  

b. The aggregate amount of reinsurance recoverables on 

paid losses that are not in dispute that are overdue by 90 

days or more exceeds $50 million.  

6. The assuming insurer shall submit a properly executed 

Certificate of Certified Reinsurer as evidence of its 

submission to the jurisdiction of this Commonwealth, 

appointment of the commission as an agent for service of 

process in this Commonwealth, and agreement to provide 

security for 100% of the assuming insurer's liabilities 

attributable to reinsurance ceded by United States ceding 

insurers if it resists enforcement of a final United States 

judgment. The commission shall not certify any assuming 

insurer that is domiciled in a jurisdiction that the 

commission has determined does not adequately and 

promptly enforce final United States judgments or 

arbitration awards.  
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7. The certified reinsurer shall agree to meet applicable 

information filing requirements as determined by the 

commission, both with respect to an initial application for 

certification and on an ongoing basis. All information 

submitted by certified reinsurers that are not otherwise 

public information subject to disclosure shall be exempted 

from disclosure under §§ 38.2-221.3 and 38.2-1306.1 of 

the Act and shall be withheld from public disclosure. The 

applicable information filing requirements are, as follows:  

a. Notification within 10 days of any regulatory actions 

taken against the certified reinsurer, any change in the 

provisions of its domiciliary license or any change in 

rating by an approved rating agency, including a 

statement describing such changes and the reasons 

therefore;  

b. Annually, Form CR-F or CR-S, as applicable;  

c. Annually, the report of the independent auditor on the 

financial statements of the insurance enterprise, on the 

basis described in subdivision 7 d of this subsection; 

d. Annually, audited financial statements (audited United 

States GAAP basis if available, audited IFRS basis 

statements are allowed but shall include an audited 

footnote reconciling equity and net income to a United 

States GAAP basis), regulatory filings, and actuarial 

opinion (as filed with the certified reinsurer's supervisor). 

Upon the initial certification, audited financial statements 

for the last three years filed with the certified reinsurer's 

supervisor;  

e. At least annually, an updated list of all disputed and 

overdue reinsurance claims regarding reinsurance 

assumed from United States domestic ceding insurers;  

f. A certification from the certified reinsurer's domestic 

regulator that the certified reinsurer is in good standing 

and maintains capital in excess of the jurisdiction's 

highest regulatory action level; and  

g. Any other information that the commission may 

reasonably require.  

8. Change in rating or revocation of certification. 

a. In the case of a downgrade by a rating agency or other 

disqualifying circumstance, the commission shall upon 

written notice assign a new rating to the certified 

reinsurer in accordance with the requirements of 

subdivision 4 a of this subsection.  

b. The commission shall have the authority to suspend, 

revoke, or otherwise modify a certified reinsurer's 

certification at any time if the certified reinsurer fails to 

meet its obligations or security requirements under this 

section, or if other financial or operating results of the 

certified reinsurer, or documented significant delays in 

payment by the certified reinsurer, lead the commission 

to reconsider the certified reinsurer's ability or 

willingness to meet its contractual obligations.  

c. If the rating of a certified reinsurer is upgraded by the 

commission, the certified reinsurer may meet the security 

requirements applicable to its new rating on a prospective 

basis, but the commission shall require the certified 

reinsurer to post security under the previously applicable 

security requirements as to all contracts in force on or 

before the effective date of the upgraded rating. If the 

rating of a certified reinsurer is downgraded by the 

commission, the commission shall require the certified 

reinsurer to meet the security requirements applicable to 

its new rating for all business it has assumed as a 

certified reinsurer.  

d. Upon revocation of the certification of a certified 

reinsurer by the commission, the assuming insurer shall 

be required to post security in accordance with 14VAC5-

300-110 in order for the ceding insurer to continue to 

take credit for reinsurance ceded to the assuming insurer. 

If funds continue to be held in trust in accordance with 

14VAC5-300-90, the commission may allow additional 

credit equal to the ceding insurer's pro rata share of such 

funds, discounted to reflect the risk of uncollectibility 

and anticipated expenses of trust administration. 

Notwithstanding the change of a certified reinsurer's 

rating or revocation of its certification, a domestic insurer 

that has ceded reinsurance to that certified reinsurer may 

not be denied credit for reinsurance for a period of three 

months for all reinsurance ceded to that certified 

reinsurer, unless the reinsurance is found by the 

commission to be at high risk of uncollectibility.  

C. Qualified jurisdictions. 

1. If, upon conducting an evaluation under this section with 

respect to the reinsurance supervisory system of any non-

United States assuming insurer, the commission 

determines that the jurisdiction qualifies to be recognized 

as a qualified jurisdiction, the commission shall publish 

notice and evidence of such recognition in an appropriate 

manner. The commission may establish a procedure to 

withdraw recognition of those jurisdictions that are no 

longer qualified.  

2. In order to determine whether the domiciliary 

jurisdiction of a non-United States assuming insurer is 

eligible to be recognized as a qualified jurisdiction, the 

commission shall evaluate the reinsurance supervisory 

system of the non-United States jurisdiction, both initially 

and on an ongoing basis, and consider the rights, benefits, 

and the extent of reciprocal recognition afforded by the 

non-United States jurisdiction to reinsurers licensed and 

domiciled in the United States. The commission shall 

determine the appropriate approach for evaluating the 

qualifications of such jurisdictions, and create and publish 

a list of jurisdictions whose reinsurers may be approved by 

the commission as eligible for certification. A qualified 

jurisdiction shall agree to share information and cooperate 

with the commission with respect to all certified reinsurers 



Regulations 

Volume 28, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 30, 2012 

1852 

domiciled within that jurisdiction. Additional factors to be 

considered in determining whether to recognize a qualified 

jurisdiction, in the discretion of the commission, include 

but are not limited to the following: 

a. The framework under which the assuming insurer is 

regulated.  

b. The structure and authority of the domiciliary 

regulator with regard to solvency regulation requirements 

and financial surveillance.  

c. The substance of financial and operating standards for 

assuming insurers in the domiciliary jurisdiction.  

d. The form and substance of financial reports required to 

be filed or made publicly available by reinsurers in the 

domiciliary jurisdiction and the accounting principles 

used.  

e. The domiciliary regulator's willingness to cooperate 

with United States regulators in general and the 

commission in particular.  

f. The history of performance by assuming insurers in the 

domiciliary jurisdiction.  

g. Any documented evidence of substantial problems 

with the enforcement of final United States judgments in 

the domiciliary jurisdiction. A jurisdiction will not be 

considered to be a qualified jurisdiction if the 

commission has determined that it does not adequately 

and promptly enforce final United States judgments or 

arbitration awards.  

h. Any relevant international standards or guidance with 

respect to mutual recognition of reinsurance supervision 

adopted by the International Association of Insurance 

Supervisors or successor organization.  

i. Any other matters deemed relevant by the commission. 

3. A list of qualified jurisdictions shall be published 

through the NAIC committee process. The commission 

shall consider this list in determining qualified 

jurisdictions. If the commission approves a jurisdiction as 

qualified that does not appear on the list of qualified 

jurisdictions, the commission shall provide thoroughly 

documented justification with respect to the criteria 

provided under subdivisions 2 a through i of this 

subsection.  

4. United States jurisdictions that meet the requirements 

for accreditation under the NAIC financial standards and 

accreditation program shall be recognized as qualified 

jurisdictions.  

D. Recognition of certification issued by an NAIC 

accredited jurisdiction.  

1. If an applicant for certification has been certified as a 

reinsurer in an NAIC accredited jurisdiction, the 

commission has the discretion to defer to that jurisdiction's 

certification, and to defer to the rating assigned by that 

jurisdiction, if the assuming insurer submits a properly 

executed Certificate of Certified Reinsurer and such 

additional information as the commission requires. The 

assuming insurer shall be considered to be a certified 

reinsurer in this Commonwealth.  

2. Any change in the certified reinsurer's status or rating in 

the other jurisdiction shall apply automatically in this 

Commonwealth as of the date it takes effect in the other 

jurisdiction. The certified reinsurer shall notify the 

commission of any change in its status or rating within 10 

days after receiving notice of the change.  

3. The commission may withdraw recognition of the other 

jurisdiction's rating at any time and assign a new rating in 

accordance with subdivision B 7 a of this section.  

4. The commission may withdraw recognition of the other 

jurisdiction's certification at any time, with written notice 

to the certified reinsurer. Unless the commission suspends 

or revokes the certified reinsurer's certification in 

accordance with subdivision B 7 b of this section, the 

certified reinsurer's certification shall remain in good 

standing in this Commonwealth for a period of three 

months, which shall be extended if additional time is 

necessary to consider the assuming insurer's application for 

certification in this Commonwealth.  

E. Mandatory funding clause. In addition to the clauses 

required under 14VAC5-300-150, reinsurance contracts 

entered into or renewed under this section shall include a 

proper funding clause, which requires the certified reinsurer 

to provide and maintain security in an amount sufficient to 

avoid the imposition of any financial statement penalty on the 

ceding insurer under this section for reinsurance ceded to the 

certified reinsurer.  

F. The commission shall comply with all reporting and 

notification requirements that may be established by the 

NAIC with respect to certified reinsurers and qualified 

jurisdictions. 

14VAC5-300-100. Credit for reinsurance required by law.  

When an assuming insurer fails to meet the requirements of 

§ 38.2-1316.2 or § 38.2-1316.3 of the Act, the ceding insurer 

may take credit pursuant to subdivision 1 of § 38.2-1316.4 of 

the Act but only with respect to the insurance of risks located 

in jurisdictions where such reinsurance is required by the 

applicable law or regulation of that jurisdiction. As used in 

this section, "jurisdiction" means any state, district or territory 

of the United States and any lawful national government.  

14VAC5-300-110. Reduction Asset or reduction from 

liability for reinsurance ceded to an assuming insurer not 

meeting the requirements of § 38.2-1316.2 or 38.2-1316.3 

14VAC5-300-60 through 14VAC5-300-100.  

A. A ceding insurer taking credit pursuant to subdivision 2 

of § 38.2-1316.4 of the Act for reinsurance ceded shall be 

allowed such reduction from liability only when the 

requirements of subdivision 2 of § 38.2-1316.4 of the Act and 
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14VAC5-300-120, 14VAC5-300-130 or 14VAC5-300-140 of 

this chapter are met.  

B. In determining the appropriateness of the proposed 

security arrangement or accounting treatment, the 

Commission may consider the guidelines and other criteria as 

set forth in the NAIC Examiners' Handbook, NAIC practice 

and procedure manuals, or annual statement instructions in 

effect when the Commission exercises discretion under the 

Act or this chapter (14VAC5-300-10 et seq.). A. Pursuant to 

§ 38.2-1316.4 of the Act, the commission shall allow a 

reduction from liability for reinsurance ceded by a domestic 

insurer to an assuming insurer not meeting the requirements 

of § 38.2-1316.2 of the Act in an amount not exceeding the 

liabilities carried by the ceding insurer. The reduction shall be 

in the amount of funds held by or on behalf of the ceding 

insurer, including funds held in trust for the exclusive benefit 

of the ceding insurer, under a reinsurance contract with such 

assuming insurer as security for the payment of obligations 

under the reinsurance contract. The security shall be held in 

the United States subject to withdrawal solely by, and under 

the exclusive control of, the ceding insurer or, in the case of a 

trust, held in a qualified United States financial institution as 

defined in § 38.2-1316.1 of the Act. This security may be in 

the form of any of the following:  

(1) Cash;  

(2) Securities listed by the Securities Valuation Office of 

the NAIC, including those deemed exempt from filing as 

defined by the Purposes and Procedures Manual of the 

NAIC Securities Valuation Office, and qualifying as 

admitted assets;  

(3) Clean, irrevocable, unconditional and "evergreen" 

letters of credit issued or confirmed by a qualified United 

States institution, as defined in § 38.2-1316.1 of the Act, 

effective no later than December 31 of the year for which 

filing is being made, and in the possession of, or in trust 

for, the ceding insurer on or before the filing date of its 

annual statement. Letters of credit meeting applicable 

standards of issuer acceptability as of the dates of their 

issuance (or confirmation) shall, notwithstanding the 

issuing (or confirming) institution's subsequent failure to 

meet applicable standards of issuer acceptability, continue 

to be acceptable as security until their expiration, 

extension, renewal, modification or amendment, whichever 

first occurs; or  

(4) Any other form of security acceptable to the 

commission.  

B. An admitted asset or a reduction from liability for 

reinsurance ceded to an unauthorized assuming insurer 

pursuant to this section shall be allowed only when the 

requirements of 14VAC5-300-150 and the applicable portions 

of 14VAC5-300-120, 14VAC5-300-130, or 14VAC5-300-

140 of this chapter have been satisfied. 

14VAC5-300-120. Trust agreements qualified under 

14VAC5-300-110 and subdivision 2 of § 38.2-1316.4 of the 

Act.  

A. When a ceding insurer takes credit pursuant to 

subdivision 2 of § 38.2-1316.4 of the Act for reinsurance 

transactions secured by funds held in trust, the underlying 

trust agreement shall meet the following conditions:  

1. The trust agreement shall be entered into between the 

beneficiary, the grantor and a trustee which shall be a 

qualified United States financial institution, as those terms 

are defined in this chapter (14VAC5-300-10 et seq.).  

2. The trust agreement shall create a trust account into 

which assets shall be deposited.  

3. All assets in the trust account shall be held by the trustee 

at the trustee's office in the United States, except that a 

bank may apply for the Commission's permission to use a 

foreign branch office of such bank as trustee for trust 

agreements established pursuant to this section. If the 

Commission approves the use of such foreign branch office 

as trustee, then its use must be approved by the beneficiary 

in writing and the trust agreement must provide that the 

written notice described in subdivision A 4 of this section 

must also be presentable, as a matter of legal right, at the 

trustee's principal office in the United States.  

4. The trust agreement shall provide that:  

a. The beneficiary shall have the right to withdraw assets 

from the trust account at any time, without notice to the 

grantor, subject only to written notice from the 

beneficiary to the trustee;  

b. No other statement or document is required to be 

presented in order to withdraw assets, except that the 

beneficiary may be required to acknowledge receipt of 

withdrawn assets.;  

c. It is not subject to any conditions or qualifications 

outside of the trust agreement; and 

d. It shall not contain references to any other agreements 

or documents except as provided for under subdivision 9 

subdivisions 11 and 12 of this subsection;. 

e. At least 30 days, but not more than 45 days, prior to 

termination of the trust account, written notification of 

termination shall be delivered by the trustee to the 

beneficiary; and  

f. The trustee shall be liable for its own negligence, 

willful misconduct or lack of good faith.  

5. The trust agreement shall be established for the sole 

benefit of the beneficiary.  

6. The trust agreement shall require the trustee to:  

a. Receive assets and hold all assets in a safe place;  

b. Determine that all assets are in such form that the 

beneficiary, or the trustee upon direction by the 

beneficiary, may whenever necessary negotiate any such 
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assets, without consent or signature from the grantor or 

any other person or entity;  

c. Furnish to the grantor and the beneficiary a statement 

of all assets in the trust account upon its inception and at 

intervals no less frequent than the end of each calendar 

quarter;  

d. Notify the grantor and the beneficiary, within 10 days, 

of any deposits to or withdrawals from the trust account;  

e. Upon written demand of the beneficiary, immediately 

take any and all steps necessary to transfer absolutely and 

unequivocally all right, title and interest in the assets held 

in the trust account to the beneficiary and deliver 

physical custody of such assets to such beneficiary; and  

f. Allow no substitutions or withdrawals of assets from 

the trust account, except on written instructions from the 

beneficiary, except that the trustee may, without the 

consent of but with notice to the beneficiary, upon call or 

maturity of any trust asset, withdraw such asset upon 

condition that the proceeds are paid into the trust 

account.  

7. The trust agreement shall provide that at least 30 days, 

but not more than 45 days, prior to termination of the trust 

account, written notification of termination shall be 

delivered by the trustee to the beneficiary. 

8. The trust agreement shall be made subject to and 

governed by the laws of the state in which the trust is 

established.  

8. 9. The trust agreement shall prohibit invasion of the trust 

corpus for the purpose of paying compensation to, or 

reimbursing the expenses of, the trustee. In order for a 

letter of credit to qualify as an asset of the trust, the trustee 

shall have the right and the obligation pursuant to the deed 

of trust or some other binding agreement (as duly approved 

by the commission), to immediately draw down the full 

amount of the letter of credit and hold the proceeds in trust 

for the beneficiaries of the trust if the letter of credit will 

otherwise expire without being renewed or replaced.  

9. The reinsurance agreement entered into in conjunction 

with such a trust agreement may, but need not, contain 

provisions required by subdivision C 1 b of this section, so 

long as these required conditions are included in the trust 

agreement.  

10. The trust agreement shall provide that the trustee shall 

be liable for its negligence, willful misconduct, or lack of 

good faith. The failure of the trustee to draw against the 

letter of credit in circumstances where such draw would be 

required shall be deemed to be negligence or willful 

misconduct, or both.  

11. Notwithstanding other provisions of this chapter, when 

a trust agreement is established in conjunction with a 

reinsurance agreement covering risks other than life, 

annuities, and accident and health, where it is customary 

practice to provide a trust agreement for a specific purpose, 

the trust agreement may provide that the ceding insurer 

shall undertake to use and apply amounts drawn upon the 

trust account, without diminution because of the 

insolvency of the ceding insurer or the assuming insurer, 

only for the following purposes:  

a. To pay or reimburse the ceding insurer for the 

assuming insurer's share under the specific reinsurance 

agreement regarding any losses and allocated loss 

expenses paid by the ceding insurer, but not recovered 

from the assuming insurer, or for unearned premiums due 

to the ceding insurer if not otherwise paid by the 

assuming insurer;  

b. To make payment to the assuming insurer of any 

amounts held in the trust account that exceed 102% of 

the actual amount required to fund the assuming insurer's 

obligations under the specific reinsurance agreement; or  

c. Where the ceding insurer has received notification of 

termination of the trust account and where the assuming 

insurer's entire obligations under the specific reinsurance 

agreement remain unliquidated and undischarged 10 days 

prior to the termination date, to withdraw amounts equal 

to the obligations and deposit those amounts in a separate 

account, in the name of the ceding insurer in any 

qualified United States financial institution as defined in 

§ 38.2-1316.1 of the Act apart from its general assets, in 

trust for such uses and purposes specified in subdivisions 

11 a and b of this subsection as may remain executory 

after such withdrawal and for any period after the 

termination date.  

12. Notwithstanding other provisions of this chapter, when 

a trust agreement is established to meet the requirements of 

14VAC5-300-110 in conjunction with a reinsurance 

agreement covering life, annuities or accident and health 

risks, where it is customary to provide a trust agreement 

for a specific purpose, the trust agreement may provide that 

the ceding insurer shall undertake to use and apply 

amounts drawn upon the trust account, without diminution 

because of the insolvency of the ceding insurer or the 

assuming insurer, only for the following purposes:  

a. To pay or reimburse the ceding insurer for:  

(1) The assuming insurer's share under the specific 

reinsurance agreement of premiums returned, but not yet 

recovered from the assuming insurer, to the owners of 

policies reinsured under the reinsurance agreement on 

account of cancellations of the policies; and  

(2) The assuming insurer's share under the specific 

reinsurance agreement of surrenders and benefits or 

losses paid by the ceding insurer, but not yet recovered 

from the assuming insurer, under the terms and 

provisions of the policies reinsured under the reinsurance 

agreement;  

b. To pay to the assuming insurer amounts held in the 

trust account in excess of the amount necessary to secure 
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the credit or reduction from liability for reinsurance taken 

by the ceding insurer; or  

c. Where the ceding insurer has received notification of 

termination of the trust and where the assuming insurer's 

entire obligations under the specific reinsurance 

agreement remain unliquidated and undischarged 10 days 

prior to the termination date, to withdraw amounts equal 

to the assuming insurer's share of liabilities, to the extent 

that the liabilities have not yet been funded by the 

assuming insurer, and deposit those amounts in a 

separate account, in the name of the ceding insurer in any 

qualified United States financial institution apart from its 

general assets, in trust for the uses and purposes specified 

in subdivisions 12 a and b of this subsection as may 

remain executory after withdrawal and for any period 

after the termination date.  

13. Either the reinsurance agreement or the trust agreement 

shall stipulate that assets deposited in the trust account 

shall be valued according to their current fair market value 

and shall consist only of cash in United States dollars, 

certificates of deposit issued by a United States bank and 

payable in United States dollars, and investments permitted 

by the Code of Virginia or any combination of the above, 

provided investments in or issued by an entity controlling, 

controlled by or under common control with either the 

grantor or the beneficiary of the trust shall not exceed 5.0% 

of total investments. The agreement may further specify 

the types of investments to be deposited. If the reinsurance 

agreement covers life, annuities or accident and health 

risks, then the provisions required by this subdivision shall 

be included in the reinsurance agreement. 

B. When a ceding insurer seeks credit pursuant to 

subdivision 2 of § 38.2-1316.4 of the Act for reinsurance 

transactions secured by funds held in trust, the underlying 

trust agreement may contain the following provisions subject 

to all conditions set forth:  

1. The trust agreement may provide that the trustee may 

resign upon delivery of a written notice of resignation, 

effective not less than 90 days after receipt by the 

beneficiary and grantor of the notice and that the trustee 

may be removed by the grantor by delivery to the trustee 

and the beneficiary of a written notice of removal, effective 

not less than 90 days after receipt by the trustee and the 

beneficiary of the notice, provided that no such resignation 

or removal shall be effective until a successor trustee has 

been duly appointed and approved by the beneficiary and 

the grantor and all assets in the trust have been duly 

transferred to the new trustee.  

2. The grantor may have the full and unqualified right to 

vote any shares of stock in the trust account and to receive 

from time to time payments of any dividends or interest 

upon any shares of stock or obligations included in the 

trust account. Any such interest or dividends shall be either 

forwarded promptly upon receipt to the grantor or 

deposited in a separate account established in the grantor's 

name.  

3. The trustee may be given authority to invest, and accept 

substitutes of, any funds in the account, provided that no 

investment or substitution shall be made without prior 

approval of the beneficiary, unless the trust agreement 

specifies categories of investments acceptable to the 

beneficiary and authorizes the trustee to invest such funds 

and to accept such substitutions which the trustee 

determines are at least equal in current fair market value to 

the assets withdrawn and that are consistent with the 

restrictions in subdivision C 1 b of this section.  

4. The trust agreement may provide that the beneficiary 

may at any time designate a party to which all or part of 

the trust assets are to be transferred. Such transfer may be 

conditioned upon the trustee receiving, prior to or 

simultaneously, other specified assets.  

5. The trust agreement may provide that, upon termination 

of the trust account, all assets not previously withdrawn by 

the beneficiary shall, with written approval by the 

beneficiary, be delivered over to the grantor.  

6. Notwithstanding other provisions of this chapter, when a 

trust agreement is established in conjunction with a 

reinsurance agreement covering risks other than life, 

annuities and accident and health, where it is customary 

practice to provide a trust agreement for a specific purpose, 

such a trust agreement may, notwithstanding any other 

conditions in this chapter, provide that the ceding insurer 

shall undertake to use and apply amounts drawn upon the 

trust account, without diminution because of the 

insolvency of the ceding insurer or the assuming insurer, 

for the following purposes:  

a. To pay or reimburse the ceding insurer for the 

assuming insurer's share under the specific reinsurance 

agreement regarding any losses and allocated loss 

expenses paid by the ceding insurer, but not recovered 

from the assuming insurer, or for unearned premiums due 

to the ceding insurer if not otherwise paid by the 

assuming insurer;  

b. To make payment to the assuming insurer of any 

amounts held in the trust account that exceed 102% of 

the actual amount required to fund the assuming insurer's 

obligations under the specific reinsurance agreement; or  

c. Where the ceding insurer has received notification of 

termination of the trust account and where the assuming 

insurer's entire obligations under the specific reinsurance 

agreement remain unliquidated and undischarged 10 days 

prior to such termination date, to withdraw amounts 

equal to such obligations and deposit such amounts in a 

separate account, in the name of the ceding insurer in any 

qualified United States financial institution as defined in 

this chapter apart from its general assets, in trust for such 

uses and purposes specified in subdivisions a and b 
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above as may remain executory after such withdrawal 

and for any period after such termination date.  

C. Conditions applicable to reinsurance agreements entered 

into by a ceding insurer which takes credit pursuant to 

subdivision 2 of § 38.2-1316.4 of the Act for reinsurance 

transactions secured by funds held in trust.  

1. The reinsurance agreement may contain provisions that:  

a. Require the assuming insurer to enter into a trust 

agreement and to establish a trust account for the benefit 

of the ceding insurer, and specifying what such 

agreement is to cover.;  

b. Stipulate that assets deposited in the trust account shall 

be valued according to their current fair market value and 

shall consist only of cash (United States legal tender), 

certificates of deposit (issued by a United States bank 

and payable in United States legal tender), and 

investments of the types permitted by § 38.2-1316.4 of 

the Code of Virginia or any combination of the above, 

provided that such investments are issued by an 

institution that is not the parent, subsidiary, or affiliate of 

either the grantor or the beneficiary and, provided, 

further, that the amount of credit taken or reduction from 

liability allowed shall not, as a result of this subdivision, 

exceed the amount of credit or reduction from liability 

allowed a domestic insurer pursuant to Title 38.2. The 

reinsurance agreement may further specify the types of 

investments to be deposited. Where a trust agreement is 

entered into in conjunction with a reinsurance agreement 

covering risks other than life, annuities and accident and 

health, then such trust agreement may contain the 

provisions required by this subdivision in lieu of 

including such provisions in the reinsurance agreement.  

c. b. Require the assuming insurer, prior to depositing 

assets with the trustee, to execute assignments, or 

endorsements in blank, or to transfer legal title to the 

trustee of all shares, obligations or any other assets 

requiring assignments, in order that the ceding insurer, or 

the trustee upon the direction of the ceding insurer, may 

whenever necessary negotiate any such assets without 

consent or signature from the assuming insurer or any 

other entity.; 

d. c. Require that all settlements of account between the 

ceding insurer and the assuming insurer be made in cash 

or its equivalent.; and 

e. d. Stipulate that the assuming insurer and the ceding 

insurer agree that the assets in the trust account, 

established pursuant to the provisions of the reinsurance 

agreement, may be withdrawn by the ceding insurer at 

any time, notwithstanding any other provisions in the 

reinsurance agreement, and shall be utilized and applied 

by the ceding insurer or its successors in interest by 

operation of law, including without limitations any 

liquidator, rehabilitator, receiver or conservator of such 

company, without diminution because of insolvency on 

the part of the ceding insurer or the assuming insurer, 

only for the following purposes:  

(1) To pay or reimburse the ceding insurer for the: 

(a) The assuming insurer's share under the specific 

reinsurance agreement of premiums returned, but not yet 

recovered from the assuming insurer, to the owners of 

policies reinsured under the reinsurance agreement 

because of cancellations of such policies;  

(2) To reimburse the ceding insurer for the (b) The 

assuming insurer's share of surrenders and benefits or 

losses paid by the ceding insurer pursuant to the 

provisions of the policies reinsured under the reinsurance 

agreement; and 

(3) To fund an account with the ceding insurer in an 

amount at least equal to the deduction for reinsurance 

ceded, from the ceding insurer liabilities for policies 

ceded under the agreement, which account shall include, 

but not be limited to, amounts for policy reserves, claims 

and losses incurred (including losses incurred but not 

reported), loss adjustment expenses, and unearned 

premium reserves; and  

(4) To any (c) Any other amounts necessary to secure the 

credit or reduction from liability for reinsurance taken by 

the ceding insurer claims are due under the reinsurance 

agreement.; or 

(2) To make payment to the assuming insurer of amounts 

held in the trust account in excess of the amount 

necessary to secure the credit or reduction from liability 

for reinsurance taken by the ceding insurer. 

2. The reinsurance agreement also may contain provisions 

that: 

f. a. Give the assuming insurer the right to seek approval 

(which shall not be unreasonably or arbitrarily withheld) 

from the ceding insurer to withdraw from the trust 

account all or any part of the trust assets and transfer 

such assets to the assuming insurer, provided:  

(1) The assuming insurer shall, at the time of such 

withdrawal, replace the withdrawn assets with other 

qualified assets having a current fair market value equal 

to the market value of the assets withdrawn so as to 

maintain at all times the deposit in the required amount, 

or  

(2) After such withdrawal and transfer, the current fair 

market value of the trust account is no less than 102% of 

the required amount.  

g. b. Provide for: (1) The the return of any amount 

withdrawn in excess of the actual amounts required for 

subdivisions C 1 e (1), (2), and (3), or in the case of 

subdivision C 1 e (4), any amounts that are subsequently 

determined not to be due and; (2) Interest subdivision C 1 

d of this section, and for interest payments, at a rate not 

in excess of the prime rate of interest, on the such 

amounts held pursuant to subdivision C 1 e (3);. 
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h. c. Permit the award by any arbitration panel or court of 

competent jurisdiction of:  

(1) Interest at a rate different from that provided in 

subdivision g (2) above, 2 b of this subsection;  

(2) Court or arbitration costs,; 

(3) Attorney's fees,; and  

(4) Any other reasonable expenses.  

2. D. With regard to financial reporting, a trust agreement 

may be used to reduce any liability for reinsurance ceded to 

an unauthorized assuming insurer in financial statements 

required to be filed with the Commission commission in 

compliance with the provisions of this chapter when 

established on or before the date of filing of the financial 

statement of the ceding insurer. Further, the reduction for the 

existence of an acceptable trust account may be up to the 

current fair market value of acceptable assets available to be 

withdrawn from the trust account at that time, but such 

reduction shall be no greater than the specific obligations, as 

defined in this chapter (14VAC5-300-10 et seq.), under the 

reinsurance agreement that the trust account was established 

to secure;. 

3. E. With regard to existing agreements and 

notwithstanding the effective date of this chapter [effective 

March 1, 1992], any trust agreement or underlying 

reinsurance agreement in existence prior to January 1, 1992 

July 1, 2012, will continue to be acceptable until the first 

occurring anniversary or renewal date after December 31, 

1991 January 1, 2013, at which time the agreements will have 

to be in full compliance with this chapter for the trust 

agreement to be acceptable; and. 

4. F. The failure of any trust agreement to specifically 

identify the beneficiary as defined in 14VAC5-300-40 of this 

chapter shall not be construed to affect any actions or rights 

which the Commission commission may take or possess 

pursuant to the provisions of the laws of this Commonwealth.  

14VAC5-300-130. Letters of credit qualifying for § 38.2-

1316.4 credit under 14VAC5-300-110.  

A. The letter of credit must shall be clean, irrevocable, 

unconditional and issued or confirmed by a qualified United 

States financial institution as defined in § 38.2-1316.1 of the 

Act. The letter of credit shall contain an issue date and 

expiration date and shall stipulate that the beneficiary need 

only draw a sight draft under the letter of credit and present it 

to obtain funds and that no other document need be presented. 

The letter of credit also shall indicate that it is not subject to 

any condition or qualifications outside of the letter of credit. 

In addition, the letter of credit itself shall not contain 

reference to any other agreements, documents or entities, 

except as provided in subdivision H 1 of this section. As used 

in this section, "beneficiary" means the domestic insurer for 

whose benefit the letter of credit has been established and any 

successor of the beneficiary by operation of law. If a court of 

law appoints a successor in interest to the named beneficiary, 

then the named beneficiary includes and is limited to the 

court appointed domiciliary receiver (including conservator, 

rehabilitator or liquidator). It cannot be conditioned on the 

delivery of any other documents or materials. It shall contain 

an issue date and date of expiration and shall stipulate that the 

beneficiary need only draw a sight draft under the letter of 

credit and present it to obtain funds and that no other 

document need be presented.  

B. The letter of credit must be irrevocable. It must provide 

that it cannot be modified, except for an increase in face 

amount, or revoked without the consent of the beneficiary, 

once the beneficiary is established.  

C. The letter of credit must be unconditional. It shall 

indicate specifically that it is not subject to any condition or 

qualifications outside of the letter of credit. In addition, the 

letter of credit itself shall not contain preference to any other 

agreements, documents or entities, except as provided in 

subdivision K 1 of this section. 

D. B. The heading of the letter of credit may include a boxed 

section which contains the name of the applicant and other 

appropriate notations to provide a reference for such letter of 

credit. The boxed section shall be clearly marked to indicate 

that such information is for internal identification purposes 

only.  

E. C. The letter of credit shall contain a statement to the 

effect that the obligation of the qualified United States 

financial institution under the letter of credit is in no way 

contingent upon reimbursement with respect thereto.  

F. D. The term of the letter of credit shall be for at least one 

year and shall contain an "evergreen clause" which 

automatically renews the letter of credit for a time certain 

should the issuer of the same fail to affirmatively signify its 

intention to non-renew upon expiry and which that prevents 

the expiration of the letter of credit without due notice from 

the issuer. The "evergreen clause" shall provide for a period 

of no less than 30 days notice prior to expiry expiration date 

for nonrenewal.  

G. E. The letter of credit shall state whether it is subject to 

and governed by the laws of this Commonwealth, the ceding 

insurer's state of domicile or the Uniform Customs and 

Practice for Documentary Credits of the International 

Chamber of Commerce (Publication 500) Publication 600 

(UCP 600) or International Standby Practices ISP98 of the 

International Chamber of Commerce, Publication 590, or any 

successor publication, and all drafts drawn thereunder shall be 

presentable at an office in the United States of a qualified 

United States financial institution.  

H. F. If the letter of credit is made subject to the Uniform 

Customs and Practice for Documentary Credits of the 

International Chamber of Commerce (Publication 500), or 

any successor publication, then the letter of credit shall 

specifically address and make provision provide for an 

extension of time to draw against the letter of credit in the 
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event that one or more of the occurrences specified in Article 

17 of Publication 500, or any successor publication, occur.  

I. The letter of credit shall be issued or confirmed by a 

qualified United States financial institution authorized to 

issue letters of credit, pursuant to the applicable definitions 

contained within § 38.2-1316.1 of the Act.  

J. When a G. If the letter of credit, is issued by a financial 

institution not recognized by the Act and this chapter as a 

qualified United States financial institution authorized to 

issue letters of credit, is subsequently confirmed by other than 

a qualified United States financial institution, as described in 

subsection I A of this section, then the following additional 

requirements shall be met:  

1. The issuing financial institution shall formally designate 

the confirming qualified United States financial institution 

as its agent for the receipt and payment of the drafts; and  

2. The "evergreen clause" shall provide for a period of no 

less than 30 days' days notice prior to expiry the expiration 

date for nonrenewal.  

K. H. Reinsurance agreement provisions.  

1. The reinsurance agreement in conjunction with which 

the letter of credit is obtained may contain provisions 

which:  

a. Require the assuming insurer to provide letters of 

credit to the ceding insurer and specify what they are to 

cover.; 

b. Stipulate that the assuming insurer and ceding insurer 

agree that the letter of credit provided by the assuming 

insurer pursuant to the provisions of the reinsurance 

agreement may be drawn upon at any time, 

notwithstanding any other provision provisions in such 

the agreement, and shall be utilized by the ceding insurer 

or its successors in interest only for one or more of the 

following reasons:  

(1) To pay or reimburse the ceding insurer for the:  

(a) The assuming insurer's share under the specific 

reinsurance agreement of premiums returned, but not yet 

recovered from the assuming insurers, to the owners of 

policies reinsured under the reinsurance agreement on 

account of cancellations of such policies;  

(2) To reimburse the ceding insurer for the (b) The 

assuming insurer's share under the specific reinsurance 

agreement, of surrenders and benefits or losses paid by 

the ceding insurer, but not yet recovered from the 

assuming insurers, under the terms and provisions of the 

policies reinsured under the reinsurance agreement; and 

(3) To fund an account with the ceding insurer in an 

amount at least equal to the deduction, for reinsurance 

ceded, from the ceding insurer's liabilities for policies 

ceded under the agreement (such amount shall include, 

but not be limited to, amounts for policy reserves, claims 

and losses incurred and unearned premium reserves); and  

(4) To pay any (c) Any other amounts necessary to 

secure the credit or reduction from liability for 

reinsurance taken by the ceding insurer claims are due 

under the reinsurance agreement.; 

(2) Where the letter of credit will expire without renewal 

or be reduced or replaced by a letter of credit for a 

reduced amount and where the assuming insurer's entire 

obligations under the reinsurance agreement remain 

unliquidated and undischarged 10 days prior to the 

termination date, to withdraw amounts equal to the 

assuming insurer's share of the liabilities, to the extent 

that the liabilities have not yet been funded by the 

assuming insurer and exceed the amount of any reduced 

or replacement letter of credit, and deposit those amounts 

in a separate account in the name of the ceding insurer in 

a qualified United States financial institution apart from 

its general assets, in trust for such uses and purposes 

specified in subdivision 1 b (1) of this subsection as may 

remain after withdrawal and for any period after the 

termination date. 

c. All of the foregoing provisions of subdivision 1 of this 

subsection should be applied without diminution because 

of insolvency on the part of the ceding insurer or 

assuming insurer.  

2. Nothing contained in subdivision 1 of this subsection 

shall preclude the ceding insurer and assuming insurer 

from providing for:  

a. An interest payment, at a rate not in excess of the 

prime rate of interest, on the amounts held pursuant to 

subdivision 1 b (3) of this subsection; and/or or 

b. The return of any amounts drawn down on the letters 

of credit in excess of the actual amounts required for the 

above or, in the case of subdivision 1 b (4) of this 

subsection, any amounts that are subsequently 

determined not to be due.  

3. When a letter of credit is obtained in conjunction with a 

reinsurance agreement covering risks other than life, 

annuities and health, where it is customary practice to 

provide a letter of credit for a specific purpose, then such 

reinsurance agreement may in lieu of subdivision 1 b of 

this subsection, require that the parties enter into a "Trust 

Agreement" which may be incorporated into the 

reinsurance agreement or be a separate document.  

L. A letter of credit may not be used to reduce any liability 

for reinsurance ceded to an unauthorized assuming insurer in 

financial statements required to be filed with the Commission 

unless an acceptable letter of credit with the filing ceding 

insurer as beneficiary has been issued on or before the date of 

filing of the financial statement.  

14VAC5-300-140. Other security.  

The Commission commission may allow credit pursuant to 

subdivision 2 d of § 38.2-1316.4 of the Act for unencumbered 

funds withheld by the ceding insurer in the United States 
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subject to withdrawal solely by the ceding insurer and under 

its exclusive control.  

14VAC5-300-150. Reinsurance contract.  

[ A. ] Credit will not be granted, nor an asset or reduction 

from liability allowed, to a ceding insurer for reinsurance 

effected with assuming insurers meeting the requirements of 

14VAC5-300-60, 14VAC5-300-70, 14VAC5-300-80, 

14VAC5-300-90, and 14VAC5-300-110 of this chapter 

14VAC5-300-95, or 14VAC5-300-100 or otherwise in 

compliance with § 38.2-1316.2 of the Act after the adoption 

of this chapter (14VAC5-300-10 et seq.) unless the 

reinsurance agreement:  

1. Includes a proper insolvency clauses pursuant to 

subdivisions A 1 through A 3 of § 38.2-1316.5 of the Act; 

and clause that stipulates that reinsurance is payable 

directly to the liquidator or successor without diminution 

regardless of the status of the ceding company; 

2. Includes a provision [ pursuant to ] subdivision A 4 of 

§ 38.2-1316.5 of the Act [ § 38.2-1316.2 ] whereby the 

assuming insurer, if an unauthorized assuming insurer 

entering into a transaction with a domestic insurer, has 

submitted to the jurisdiction of an alternative dispute 

resolution panel or court of competent jurisdiction within 

the United States, has agreed to comply with all 

requirements necessary to give such court or panel 

jurisdiction, has designated an agent upon whom service of 

process may be effected, and has agreed to abide by the 

final decisions of such court or panel.; and  

3. Includes a proper reinsurance intermediary clause, if 

applicable, that stipulates that the credit risk for the 

intermediary is carried by the assuming insurer. 

[ B. If the assuming insurer is not licensed, accredited, or 

certified to transact insurance or reinsurance in this 

Commonwealth, the credit permitted pursuant to § 38.2-

1316.2 A 3, A 4, and E shall not be allowed unless the 

assuming insurer agrees in the reinsurance agreements: 

1. a. That in the event of the failure of the assuming insurer 

to perform its obligations under the terms of the 

reinsurance agreement, the assuming insurer, at the request 

of the ceding insurer, shall submit to the jurisdiction of any 

court of competent jurisdiction in any state of the United 

States, will comply with all requirements necessary to give 

the court jurisdiction, and will abide by the final decision 

of the court or of any appellate court in the event of an 

appeal; and 

b. To designate the commission or a designated attorney 

as its true and lawful attorney upon whom may be served 

any lawful process in any action, suit, or proceeding 

instituted by or on behalf of the ceding insurer. 

2. This subsection is not intended to conflict with or 

override the obligation of the parties to a reinsurance 

agreement to arbitrate their disputes, if this obligation is 

created in the agreement. 

C. If the assuming insurer does not meet the requirements of 

§ 38.2-1316.2 A 1, 2, or 3, the credit permitted by § 38.2-

1316.2 A 4 or B shall not be allowed unless the assuming 

insurer agrees in the trust agreements to the following 

conditions: 

1. Notwithstanding any other provisions in the trust 

instrument, if the trust fund is inadequate because it 

contains an amount less than the amount required by 

§ 38.2-1316.2 A 4, or if the grantor of the trust has been 

declared insolvent or placed into receivership, 

rehabilitation, liquidation, or similar proceedings under the 

laws of its state or country of domicile, the trustee shall 

comply with an order of the commissioner with regulatory 

oversight over the trust or with an order of a court of 

competent jurisdiction directing the trustee to transfer to 

the commissioner with regulatory oversight all of the assets 

of the trust fund. 

2. The assets shall be distributed by and claims shall be 

filed with and valued by the commissioner with regulatory 

oversight in accordance with the laws of the state in which 

the trust is domiciled that are applicable to the liquidation 

of domestic insurance companies. 

3. If the commissioner with regulatory oversight 

determines that the assets of the trust fund or any part 

thereof are not necessary to satisfy the claims of the United 

States ceding insurers of the grantor of the trust, the assets 

or part thereof shall be returned by the commissioner with 

regulatory oversight to the trustee for distribution in 

accordance with the trust agreement. 

4. The grantor shall waive any right otherwise available to 

it under United States law that is inconsistent with this 

provision. ]  

14VAC5-300-160. Contracts affected.  

All new and renewal reinsurance transactions entered into 

after December 31, 1991 2012, shall conform to the 

requirements of the Act and this chapter if credit is to be 

given to the ceding insurer for such reinsurance. Unless 

otherwise provided in this chapter, credits for cessions under 

reinsurance agreements in force on July 1, 2012, or 

commenced within six months thereafter, shall be governed 

by the requirements for such credits in effect on June 30, 

2012. 

14VAC5-300-170. Severability. 

If any provision in this chapter or the application thereof to 

any person or circumstance is for any reason held to be 

invalid, the remainder of the chapter and the application of 

the provision to other persons or circumstances shall not be 

affected thereby.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 

form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 
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may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 

General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

FORMS (14VAC5-300) 

Certificate of Assuming Insurer - Year Ended December 31, 

2012, R05(3/12) (eff. 01/13).  

Certificate of Certified Reinsurer - Year Ended December 

31, 2012, R15(03/12) (eff. 01/13). 

Schedule S, Part 1 - Part 6, 1994-2011 National Association 

of Insurance Commissioners (eff. 01/13). 

Schedule F, Part 1 - Part 8, 1994-2011 National Association 

of Insurance Commissioners (eff. 01/13). 

Form CR-F - Part 1 - Part 2, 2011 National Association of 

Insurance Commissioners (eff. 01/13).  

Form CR-S - Part 1 - Part 3, 2011 National Association of 

Insurance Commissioners (eff. 01/13). 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(14VAC5-300-9999) 

NAIC Policy Statement on Financial Regulation Standards, 

2012, National Association of Insurance Commissioners. 

NAIC Annual Statement Instructions, 2011 Life Annual 

Statement Instructions, September 15, 2011, National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners and the Center for 

Insurance Policy and Research. 

NAIC Annual Statement Instructions, 2011 

Property/Casualty Annual Statement Instructions, September 

15, 2011, National Association of Insurance Commissioners 

and the Center for Insurance Policy and Research. 

NAIC Accounting Practices & Procedures Manual, Volumes 

I, II, III, March 2011, National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners. 

ICC Uniform Customs and Practice for Documentary 

Credits (UCP 500), 1993, International Chamber of 

Commerce. 

ICC Uniform Customs and Practice for Documentary 

Credits (UCP 600), 2007, International Chamber of 

Commerce. 

International Standby Practices ISP98, 1999, The Institute of 

International Banking Law and Practice, Inc. 

Purposes and Procedures Manual of the NAIC Securities 

Valuation Office - Effective for Statements Ending December 

31, 2011, Volume/Issue 11/01, 2011, National Association of 

Insurance Commissioners. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3115; Filed July 9, 2012, 2:37 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Long-Term Care 

Administrators is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 

where no agency discretion is involved. The Board of Long-

Term Care Administrators will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions from any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC95-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing Home Administrators (amending 

18VAC95-20-330).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 29, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Lisa Russell Hahn, Executive Director, 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 

(804) 367-4595, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

ltc@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment corrects the name of the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

18VAC95-20-330. Training facilities.  

Training in an A.I.T. program shall be conducted only in:  

1. A nursing home licensed by the Virginia Board of 

Health or by a similar licensing body in another 

jurisdiction;  

2. An institution operated by the Virginia State Mental 

Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services 

Board Department of Behavioral Health and Development 

Services in which long-term care is provided;  

3. A certified nursing home owned or operated by an 

agency of any city, county, or the Commonwealth or of the 

United States government; or  

4. A certified nursing home unit that is located in and 

operated by a licensed hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 of 

the Code of Virginia, a state-operated hospital, or a 

hospital licensed in another jurisdiction.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3290; Filed July 2, 2012, 11:04 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5103d003115~9&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5103d003115~9&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=82906003115~14&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=82906003115~14&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec555003115~15&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec555003115~15&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ae31a003115~11&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ae31a003115~11&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1f81a003115~12&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1f81a003115~12&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=569cb003115~13&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=569cb003115~13&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49326003115~8&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49326003115~8&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
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TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of State Police is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 6 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to customary military, naval 

or police functions. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-70. Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Rules and Regulations (amending 19VAC30-

70-1, 19VAC30-70-3 through 19VAC30-70-10, 19VAC30-

70-30, 19VAC30-70-40 through 19VAC30-70-230, 

19VAC30-70-260, 19VAC30-70-290, 19VAC30-70-310, 

19VAC30-70-330, 19VAC30-70-340, 19VAC30-70-350, 

19VAC30-70-360, 19VAC30-70-390, 19VAC30-70-430, 

19VAC30-70-450, 19VAC30-70-460, 19VAC30-70-490, 

19VAC30-70-500, 19VAC30-70-510, 19VAC30-70-530, 

19VAC30-70-550, 19VAC30-70-570, 19VAC30-70-580, 

19VAC30-70-660; adding 19VAC30-70-9.1, 19VAC30-70-

11, 19VAC30-70-25, 19VAC30-70-31, 19VAC30-70-32, 

19VAC30-70-690).  

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-1165 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Lt. Colonel Robert Kemmler, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of State Police, Bureau of 

Administrative and Support Services, P.O. Box 27472, 

Richmond, VA 23261-7472, telephone (804) 674-4606, FAX 

(804) 674-2234, or email robert.kemmler@vsp.virginia.gov.  

Summary: 

This action updates the Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection 

Rules and Regulations by making technical corrections 

and other revisions to comply with changes in Virginia law 

since 2008. 

Part I  

Guidelines for the Administration of Virginia's Annual 

Official Motor Vehicle Inspection Program  

19VAC30-70-1. Purpose and authority.  

The Virginia Annual Official Motor Vehicle Inspection 

Program was developed and adopted to promote highway 

safety. Its aim is to assure that all Virginia registered vehicles 

are mechanically safe to operate over the highways of the 

Commonwealth.  

The rules and regulations governing the Annual Official 

Motor Vehicle Inspection Program are contained in the 

Official Annual Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual. 

These rules and regulations are promulgated under the 

authority of Chapter 10 (§ 46.2-1000 et seq.) of Title 46.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. All official inspection stations shall 

comply with these rules and regulations, issuing approval 

certificates only to those vehicles which the inspections shall 

determine to be in compliance with those rules and 

regulations.  

These guidelines rules and regulations are intended to ensure 

a uniform system of corrective action for those who violate 

the rules and regulations of the Annual Official Motor 

Vehicle Inspection Program.  

The Official Annual Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection 

Manual covers administrative procedure as well as numerous 

vehicular safety items of varying importance. It is, therefore, 

necessary that the various sections of the manual be divided 

into categories of seriousness. This will provide a uniform 

system of corrective action for the certified inspector 

mechanics and the inspection stations.  

19VAC30-70-3. Class I offenses.  

Class I offenses are unacceptable work performances less 

serious in nature, but which require correction in order to 

maintain an efficient and effective annual motor vehicle 

inspection program Official Motor Vehicle Inspection 

Program. A violation of any paragraph of the following 

sections of the Official Annual Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Manual and rules and agreements not covered in 

the Annual Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual 

or those disseminated by other means shall constitute a Class 

I offense, unless designated otherwise:  

19VAC30-70-10 A through D  

19VAC30-70-10 F through I  

19VAC30-70-10 K through O 

19VAC30-70-10 U  

19VAC30-70-20 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-30 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-40 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-50 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-60 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-70 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-80 B 3  

19VAC30-70-160 in its entirety (except subdivisions I 10 

and 11 g (2))  

19VAC30-70-170 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-200 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-290 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-310 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-330 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-360 D 4 e and f  

19VAC30-70-410 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-440 B  

19VAC30-70-530 in its entirety (except subdivisions H 10 

i and 11 g (2))  

19VAC30-70-540 in its entirety  
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19VAC30-70-570 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-660 in its entirety  

Disciplinary action for Class I offenses shall be:  

1st offense - Oral reprimand - Recorded on S.P. 164 Form 

SP-164.  

2nd offense - Oral reprimand by a supervisor - Recorded 

on S.P. 164 Form SP-164.  

3rd offense - Written reprimand from the Safety Officer 

safety officer or his designee.  

4th offense - Suspension of not less than 15 nor more than 

30 days.  

Offenses shall be cumulative in nature and shall remain 

active for 24 months from date of offense.  

19VAC30-70-4. Class II offenses.  

Class II offenses shall be violations of any section of the 

Annual Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual 

considered very serious but the consequence of such violation 

or omission is not likely to be an imminent cause or 

contributing factor to a traffic crash or other vehicle related 

injury. A violation of the following sections of the Annual 

Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual shall 

constitute a Class II offense unless designated otherwise:  

19VAC30-70-150 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-180 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-210 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-230 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-240 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-250 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-260 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-270 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-280 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-300 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-320 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-360 A 7 and C 1 through C 13  

19VAC30-70-380 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-390 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-420 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-520 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-550 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-580 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-600 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-610 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-620 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-630 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-640 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-650 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-670 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-680 in its entirety  

Disciplinary action for a Class II offense shall be:  

1st Offense - Oral reprimand - Recorded on S.P. 164 Form 

SP-164 and confirmed by a supervisor.  

2nd Offense - Written reprimand from the Safety Officer 

safety officer or his designee.  

3rd Offense - Suspension of not less than 30 nor more than 

60 days.  

Offenses are cumulative in nature and shall remain active 

for a period of 24 months from date of offense.  

A Class II offense in combination with three Class I offenses 

shall be grounds for no less than a 30-day nor more than a 60-

day suspension.  

19VAC30-70-5. Class III offenses.  

Class III offenses shall be violations of those sections of the 

Annual Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual 

considered most critical from a safety viewpoint. They would 

consist of the omission of checking or improper approval of 

an item so critical to the safe operation of a motor vehicle as 

to have the potential of being the imminent cause or factor of 

a motor vehicle crash. A violation of the following sections of 

the Annual Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual 

shall constitute a Class III offense unless designated 

otherwise:  

19VAC30-70-10 J  

19VAC30-70-10 J, P, P1, P2  

19VAC30-70-11 in its entirety 

19VAC30-70-80 in its entirety (except subdivision B 3)  

19VAC30-70-90 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-100 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-110 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-120 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-130 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-140 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-160 I 10 h and 11 f  

19VAC30-70-160 I 10 g and 11 g (2)  

19VAC30-70-190 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-220 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-340 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-350 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-360 A and B  

19VAC30-70-360 D 15 through D 22  

19VAC30-70-370 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-400 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-440 in its entirety (except subdivision B 2)  

19VAC30-70-450 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-460 in its entirety  
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19VAC30-70-470 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-480 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-490 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-500 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-510 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-530 H 10 i and 11 g (2)  

19VAC30-70-560 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-590 in its entirety  

19VAC30-70-690 in its entirety 

Disciplinary action for a Class III offense shall be:  

1st offense - Written reprimand from the Safety Officer 

safety officer or his designee.  

2nd offense - Suspension for not less than 45 nor more 

than 90 days.  

Offenses are cumulative in nature and will remain active for 

a period of 24 months from date of offense.  

A Class III offense in combination with two Class II 

offenses or three Class I offenses shall be grounds for no less 

than a 60-day nor more than a 90-day suspension.  

19VAC30-70-6. Class IV offenses. 

Class IV offenses are those violations considered so 

critically important to the integrity and credibility of the 

Official Annual Motor Vehicle Inspection Program as to 

require immediate and severe disciplinary action. The 

following violations and actions shall be considered a Class 

IV offense: 

1. Loss of driver's license, with the exception of an 

administrative court-ordered suspension that does not 

exceed seven days. 

2. Obvious usage of either alcohol and/or drugs by an 

employee associated with the Annual Motor Vehicle 

Inspection Program. 

3. Loss of inspection stickers through neglect. 

4. Improper use of inspection supplies such as placement 

on a vehicle that has not been inspected or failure to affix 

the inspection sticker to the vehicle in its proper location, 

after inspection. 

5. Falsifying inspection receipts or inspection records. 

6. Giving false information during an inspection complaint 

investigation. 

7. Performing either an inspection or inspections at a 

station without authority from the safety officer. 

8. The arrest of any person associated with the inspection 

program for a criminal offense or the institution of civil 

action of a nature that would tend to immediately reflect 

upon the integrity and reputation of the Department of 

State Police shall be grounds for an immediate suspension 

upon final court disposition. The conviction for such a 

criminal offense or a civil judgment or bankruptcy may 

result in a revocation of the station appointment. 

9. The use of profanity or verbal abuse directed at 

customers presenting their vehicles for inspection by 

inspectors, managers or business owners. 

10. Illegal use of inspection supplies such as stealing, 

selling, mailing or giving away, shall be grounds for 

revocation. 

11. Nonpayment of inspection fees. 

12. Conduct displayed by station owners and/or state safety 

inspectors that may be rude or discourteous, or the use of 

profanity and/or verbal abuse directed at or towards Safety 

Division Personnel, may be grounds for revocation. 

13. Failure of any person connected with the inspection 

program to notify their supervising trooper or Safety 

Division Area Office of an arrest for a criminal offense or 

the institution of civil action. 

14. Any misuse or falsification of the automated Motor 

Vehicle Inspection Program (MVIP) system through 

neglect or intentionally allowing an assigned password or 

Personal Identification Number (PIN) to be used by other 

persons. 

15. Willfully obtaining computer services without proper 

authority from the safety officer.  

Disciplinary action for a Class IV offense shall be 

immediate suspension or revocation. A suspension shall not 

be less than 90 days nor more than six months. A revocation 

shall not be less than one year nor more than three years. 

Offenses are cumulative in nature and will remain active for a 

period of 24 months from the date of the offense. For a 

subsequent violation within 24 months, the suspension shall 

not be less than six months nor more than one year. 

In the case of the loss of the driver's license, the suspension 

shall remain in effect until the driver's license is reinstated 

and consideration for reinstatement of inspection privileges 

will be made at that time. 

In cases concerning nonpayment of fees when the inspection 

station has been given 15 days to reply to their final notice, 

the suspension of the affected inspection station shall remain 

in effect until all inspection fees are paid. Consideration for 

reinstatement of inspection privileges will be made when all 

fees are paid. Furthermore, stations that have not paid their 

processing fee after the 15-day period will not be issued any 

additional inspection supplies. Supply orders may resume 

when the inspection fee is paid and the station has been 

reinstated to an active status. 

A Class IV offense in combination with three Class I 

offenses, two Class II offenses, or one Class III offense shall 

be grounds for no less than a 90-day nor more than a six-

month suspension. 

19VAC30-70-7. General information. 

Any violation under any class of offenses requiring a third 

suspension within a 24-month period shall be grounds for a 

revocation. The suspension or revocation period for a 
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subsequent violation requiring suspension or revocation under 

any class of offenses within a 24-month period shall be twice 

that of a previous suspension or revocation. 

For suspension periods of less than six months, inspection 

stations and safety inspectors will not be required to file an 

application for reinstatement. 

For suspension periods of six months or more, or revocation 

periods of one to three years, inspection stations must 

complete the process as set forth for original appointment. 

Reapplications may be made 60 days prior to the suspension 

expiration. Suspended safety inspectors shall contact the 

nearest safety office Safety Division Area Office or 

supervising trooper to request reinstatement. 

Inspection stations who have their privilege to perform 

inspections revoked must complete the application process as 

set forth for original appointments after the expiration of the 

period of revocation. Safety inspectors who have their 

privilege to perform inspections revoked must complete the 

application process for initial certification, after the expiration 

of the period of revocation. 

If during the course of an official investigation, station 

management voluntarily surrenders the station's inspection 

supplies, particularly after being cautioned not to do so, the 

station shall not be eligible for reinstatement for a period of 

90 days. This voluntary action shall not be the subject of an 

appeal. 

19VAC30-70-8. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"MVIP" means the Motor Vehicle Inspection Program. 

"Official Annual Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual" 

means Chapter 70 (19VAC30-70-1 et seq.) of 19VAC30 this 

chapter (19VAC30-70).  

"Official Safety Inspection Station or Official Inspection 

Station" means a bonafide garage or other facility that 

performs motor vehicle, motorcycle, or trailer repairs as a 

routine business, has met all criteria for appointment to 

perform safety inspections pursuant to Virginia's Annual 

Motor Vehicle Inspection Program, and has been issued a 

Certificate of Appointment by the Department of State Police.  

"Suspension" means that the privilege or appointment has 

been temporarily withdrawn, but may be reinstated following 

the period of suspension unless it has expired prior to the end 

of the period of suspension.  

"Revocation" means that the privilege or appointment is not 

subject to renewal or restoration except through reapplication 

after the expiration of the period of revocation. A period of 

revocation if is from one to three years depending on the 

severity of the case.  

"Safety inspector" or "inspector" means an individual who 

has successfully completed all the requirements for 

appointment and is certified by the Department of State 

Police to perform motor vehicle safety inspections pursuant to 

Virginia's Annual Motor Vehicle Inspection Program.  

"Suspension" means that the privilege or appointment has 

been temporarily withdrawn, but may be reinstated following 

the period of suspension unless it has expired prior to the end 

of the period of suspension.  

"Test site" means any location designated for Class A, B, 

and C certifications and all recertifications designated by the 

Department of State Police. A list of test sites is maintained in 

the MVIP system and at each Safety Division Area Office.  

19VAC30-70-9. Examinations for inspector's license. 

A. Effective March 31, 2003, the The Department of State 

Police went back to administering administers the written 

examination for original certification for all inspectors. With 

few exceptions, recertifications are done at the normal testing 

sites along with original certification tests. 

B. In order for an individual to become a certified safety 

inspector, the following actions shall be followed: 

1. The person shall contact his assigned Safety Division 

trooper or the local safety office Safety Division Area 

Office to obtain the following: 

a. Mechanics Certification Application (SP-170B), Form 

SP-170B; 

b. Criminal History Record Request (SP-167), Form SP-

167; and 

c. Mechanics Application Worksheet. 

2. The supervising trooper or Safety Division office 

personnel should ask some preliminary questions to ensure 

the applicant is qualified to apply. 

3. The person applicant shall complete the SP-170B (i) 

Form SP-170B in its entirety and have it notarized on the 

back; complete Section 1A of SP-167 (ii) Form SP-167, to 

only include sections "Name Information To Be Searched" 

and "Affidavit For Release of Information," and have it 

notarized; and complete (iii) the worksheet with two 

character and references, two mechanical references and, 

places of employment, and qualified automotive training or 

schools completed.  

4. The applicant shall then take the completed application 

forms to the State Police testing site and present it to the 

trooper for conducting the written examination. Applicants 

arriving after the designated testing time will not be 

eligible to participate in the written examination. 

5. The trooper will verify the notarizations and check the 

driver's license for validity and identification of the 

applicant. The trooper will administer the test. If the 

applicant's driver's license is found to be expired, 

suspended or revoked, the applicant will be advised and the 

application will be destroyed. The applicant may reapply 

once the driver's license has been reissued or reinstated. 
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6. If the applicant successfully completes the test, the 

trooper will note at the end of Section 1 I on the SP-170B 

form Form SP-170B the word "Passed" and the date. The 

trooper will initial sign the test and send it to Safety 

Division Headquarters, Mechanics File Section, for further 

processing and investigation. 

7. The Class A examination will consist of five sections 

(brakes, suspensions, glass, lights and general) containing: 

general information, brakes, suspension, lights, and glass. 

Each section will contain 20 questions each. A minimum 

score of 75% must be attained for each section and for the 

practical examination. The Class B and C examinations 

will consist of 50 questions each. A minimum score of 74 

must be attained on the written and practical examination. 

8. If the applicant fails the test, it will be noted at the end 

of Section 1 I on the SP-170B form Form SP-170B with 

the words "Disqualified - Failed Test." word "Failed" and 

the date. 

9. If the applicant desires to test again for the written or 

practical test, he may do so after 30 days. If the applicant is 

again unsuccessful in passing the examination or 

examinations, the trooper shall take the application forms 

and, destroy them forward them to Safety Division 

Headquarters, Mechanics File Section. The applicant may 

contact his assigned Safety Division trooper or the local 

safety office Safety Division Area Office after six months 

to reapply. 

C. Recertification. 

1. Safety inspectors desiring to renew their inspector's 

license must participate in the recertification process 

written examination. Inspectors arriving after the 

designated testing time will not be eligible to participate in 

the written examination. 

2. All safety inspectors will be required to satisfactorily 

pass the appropriate examination for the license the 

inspector holds. 

3. A safety inspector will not be permitted to perform 

inspections after the expiration date of his inspector's 

license. 

4. A safety inspector's license shall be valid for a period of 

three years. 

5. All safety inspectors' licenses will display an inspector's 

VSP number and will no longer display the social security 

number. The inspector's VSP number will be written on the 

inspection sticker receipt or displayed on the automated 

MVIP receipt. 

6. Safety inspector's inspector testing sites will no longer 

be included on an inspection bulletin. Testing site 

information will be updated in the computer system, so that 

the usual letters going to inspectors to remind them of this 

their upcoming recertification will contain the updated 

information. All State Police safety area offices Safety 

Division Area Offices will also have the updated 

information. 

7. If the safety inspector has any questions about the 

testing sites, the safety inspector should contact the area 

safety office Safety Division Area Office closest to him. 

The office numbers are: 

Richmond 804-743-2217 

Culpeper 540-829-7414 

Lynchburg 434-582-5141 Amherst 434-946-7676 

Wytheville 276-228-6220 

Suffolk 757-925-2432 

Salem 540-387-5437 

Fairfax 703-323-4549 703-803-2622  

D. Reinstatement of safety inspector's inspector licenses 

following a period of suspension or revocation. 

1. Once a safety inspector's license has been suspended, 

regardless of the cause for suspension, no application form 

(SP-170B) Form SP-170B is required for reinstatement. 

2. If the inspector is suspended for less than six months, 

the safety inspector's license will be held at the local area 

office Safety Division Area Office and returned upon the 

expiration of the suspension period. A check will be made 

with DMV prior to reinstatement. 

3. If the inspector's license has been suspended for six 

months or more, he may request reinstatement 60 days 

prior to the suspension expiration by contacting the 

supervising trooper, whereas a. A check will be made by 

the supervising trooper with DMV and the Central 

Criminal Records Exchange. A credit report shall also be 

reviewed by the supervising trooper prior to reinstatement 

of the inspector. The inspector's license will be returned 

after the suspension expiration if still valid. 

4. If the suspended inspector's license expires during the 

suspension period, the inspector may complete the process 

for inspector recertification as outlined set forth in this 

section. The trooper administering the test will retain all 

documentation. The inspector's license will be returned at 

the end of the suspension period and the appropriate 

documents forwarded to the Safety Division. 

5. Inspectors whose safety inspector's licenses have been 

revoked must complete the application process for initial 

certification as set forth in this section. 

E. Vo-Tech students who successfully complete the 

Vocational Automotive Mechanics Course and who are 

expected to graduate from the program with the required 

1,080 hours, and meet the requirements of the Department of 

State Police, will be certified as safety inspectors. 

1. The Vo-Tech instructor will contact their his assigned 

Safety Division trooper or the local safety office in their 

area Safety Division Area Office by March 15 of each 

year. The written examination will be scheduled for 
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students who are at least 18 years of age or who will be at 

least 18 years of age by May 31 of that year. 

2. The Safety Division troopers responsible for 

administering the written examinations at the Vo-Tech 

Center Centers will forward sufficient SP-170B forms 

application Form SP-170B for each student to complete 

prior to the testing date. A Criminal History Record 

Request, Form SP-167, (Form SP-167) if the student is at 

least 18 years of age, must also be completed. The Safety 

Division trooper will indicate at the top of the SP-170B 

form Form SP-170B the name of the Vo-Tech school, area 

where the examination was given, and the trooper's name 

who administered the examination where the examination 

was given. 

3. The trooper will verify the notarizations and check the 

driver's license for validity and identification of the 

applicant. The trooper will administer the written 

examination. If the applicant's driver's license is found to 

be expired, suspended or revoked, the applicant will be 

advised and the application will be destroyed. The 

applicant may re-apply once the driver's license has been 

reissued or reinstated. 

4. If the applicant successfully completes the written 

examination, the trooper will note at the send end of 

Section 1 I on the SP-170B form Form SP-170B the word 

"Passed" and the date. The trooper will initial sign the test 

and forward it to the Safety Division Headquarters, 

Mechanics File Section, for further processing and 

investigation. Due to the age of these students, this should 

be done in a minimal amount of time. 

5. If the applicant fails the test, it will be noted at the end 

of Section 1 I on the SP-170B form Form SP-170B with 

the words "Disqualified - Failed Test." word "Failed" and 

the date. 

a. The Safety Division trooper will only administer one 

written examination at the Vo-Tech Center. Those 

students who fail the first written examination may retest, 

but not sooner than 30 days from the date of the last 

written examination. Those students who fail the first 

written examination will keep the SP-170B form Form 

SP-170B in their possession and present it to the Safety 

Division trooper at the test site prior to taking the second 

written examination. 

b. The second written examination will not be 

administered to the students prior to June 15 of that year. 

Prior to taking the second written examination, the 

student shall have completed the Vocational Automotive 

Mechanics Course and must be employed at an Official 

Inspection Station. These students will not be required to 

have completed the one year of practical experience as an 

automotive mechanic. 

c. Students who do not pass the initial examination 

should visit a testing site in their area to take a second 

written examination. 

d. For those students who pass the second written 

examination, the Safety Division trooper will forward the 

student's form Form SP-170B to the Safety Division for 

further processing and investigation. Those students who 

successfully pass all phases for original certification will 

then be issued a temporary inspector's inspector license 

by the Safety Division trooper. 

e. Students failing the second written examination will 

not be allowed to test again for six months and must 

complete the application process as set forth for original 

certification. 

6. The written examination will consist of five sections 

(general, brakes, suspensions, glass and lights) containing: 

general information, brakes, suspension, lights, and glass. 

Each section will contain 20 questions each. A minimum 

score of 75% must be attained for each section. 

7. Those students who successfully complete all phases of 

the written examination and background checks will then 

be administered a practical examination. The Vo-Tech 

instructor who holds a valid Class-A Safety Inspector's 

License will administer the practical "Class A" 

examination to each student who is expected to graduate 

from the program. The Safety Division trooper should be 

on hand to observe at least some of the practical 

examinations administered by the Vo-Tech instructor to 

ensure that testing is administered according to Safety 

Division regulations. 

8. Those students who successfully complete all phases for 

original certification by May 31 will be issued a temporary 

inspectors inspector license by the Safety Division trooper. 

The Safety Division trooper will then forward the 

completed SP-170B form temporary inspector license to 

the Safety Division and a permanent license will then be 

mailed to the student, provided he is at least 18 years of 

age Headquarters, Mechanics File Section.  

a. The Safety Division will mail a permanent inspector's 

license to the student, provided he is at least 18 years of 

age after June 15 of that year. 

b. The Vo-Tech instructor will be required to contact the 

Safety Division trooper prior to June 15 of that year if 

any student fails to complete the Vocational Automotive 

Mechanics Course. 

c. Any student who fails to complete the Vocational 

Automotive Mechanics Course will not be licensed as a 

certified safety inspector and will be required to complete 

the application process as set forth for original 

certification. 

9. Those students who will be at least 18 years of age after 

May 31 of that year and have successfully completed the 

Vocational Automotive Mechanics Course must contact 

the Safety Division trooper assigned to the inspection 

station where they are employed and complete the 

application process as set forth for original certification. 
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These students will not be required to have completed the 

one year of practical experience as an automotive 

mechanic. 

19VAC30-70-9.1. Official inspection station appointment. 

A. These procedures are applicable to the application 

process for initial appointment, reclassification of 

appointment, change in ownership, change in name, and 

reinstatement of the appointment for an official inspection 

station following a period of suspension or revocation. 

For investigations involving changes to the original report, 

only those areas of inquiry which have changed need to be 

reported.  

For changes in station name, location, and classification 

only, a narrative report is not required. These requests may be 

reported on the Form SP-164. This report should include 

information pertinent to the change. A statement should be 

included to report verification of information contained in the 

station's new application for appointment. 

1. Any garage or other facility that routinely performs 

motor vehicle, motorcycle, or trailer repairs may apply to 

the Department of State Police in writing for appointment 

as an Official Safety Inspection Station. 

a. The Department of State Police will forward an 

application package to the applicant. 

b. The application form or forms are to be completed and 

returned to the Department of State Police for processing. 

c. The application shall include the names, addresses, 

email addresses, telephone numbers, dates of birth, and 

social security numbers for the applicant and each person 

who will supervise or otherwise participate in the 

program. Each person will also be required to execute an 

Authorization for Release of Information Form and a 

Criminal History Record Request (Form SP-167). When 

a corporation with other established inspection stations is 

applying for an additional location, it shall not be 

necessary for the corporate officers to complete the Form 

SP-167 or undergo the usual background investigation. In 

these situations, the Department of State Police is only 

concerned with the personnel who will be responsible for 

handling and securing the safety inspection supplies.  

2. Each inspection station application will be reviewed and 

the applicant must meet the following criteria: 

a. The facility must have been in business at its present 

location for a minimum of six months. 

(1) This requirement will not apply to a change in 

location for a previously appointed station or a change in 

ownership which does not affect the station's ability to 

perform safety inspections. 

(2) This requirement will not apply to a repair garage that 

is an established business and is expanding its 

mechanical convenience to the general public by the 

addition of other repair locations. 

(3) This requirement will not apply to a business license 

as a franchised dealer of new vehicles. 

b. The facility must perform motor vehicle, motorcycle, 

or trailer repairs routinely. 

c. The station must have on hand or be willing to 

purchase the necessary equipment as identified by the 

Department of State Police for performing safety 

inspections.  

d. The station must employ or be willing to employ at 

least one full time safety inspector with the appropriate 

license for the desired station's classification. 

e. The facility's physical plant must meet the specific 

standards for the station classification for which the 

appointment is required. 

3. Each applicant station must undergo a background 

investigation to determine if the business and associated 

personnel meet the following minimum criteria: 

a. A review of the history of management and all persons 

employed who will participate in the inspection program 

must reflect general compliance with all federal, state, 

and local laws. 

b. The character, attitude, knowledge of safety inspection 

requirements, mechanical ability, and experience of each 

individual who will perform or supervise safety 

inspections must be satisfactory. 

c. The applicant and all participants must be familiar with 

and agree to comply with the Official Motor Vehicle 

Inspection Manual. Each vehicle presented for safety 

inspection must be inspected in strict compliance with 

the Code of Virginia and the Official Motor Vehicle 

Inspection Manual.  

d. The business establishment must be financially stable. 

Its future existence should not be dependent upon 

appointment as an inspection station. The applicant and 

all persons to be associated with the inspection program 

must be in compliance with any judgment order or 

meeting all financial obligations, or both. 

4. Each business must agree to provide the necessary 

space, equipment, and personnel to conduct inspections as 

required by the Department of State Police. Facilities and 

equipment will be maintained in a manner satisfactory to 

the superintendent. All safety inspectors will read and be 

thoroughly familiar with the instructions furnished for 

Official Inspection Stations and agree to abide by these 

instructions and to carefully inspect every motor vehicle, 

trailer, and semi-trailer presented for inspection as required 

by the Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual. 

Businesses must operate inspection stations in strict 

accordance with the Code of Virginia and the Official 

Motor Vehicle Inspection Manual. The appointment of an 

inspection station may be canceled at any time by the 

superintendent and will be automatically canceled if any 
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change in address, name, or ownership is made without 

proper notification. 

5. Any applicant whose application is rejected or 

withdrawn may not reapply sooner than six months from 

the date he is notified of the rejection of their application 

or from the date the application is withdrawn. 

6. Each business to be appointed will be assigned one of 11 

classifications based upon the physical plant specifications 

or other criteria as follows: 

a. Unlimited: The inspection lane shall be level or on the 

same plane and in good condition for 60 feet. The front 

portion of the lane shall be level or on the same plane for 

a minimum of 40 feet. The entrance shall be at least 13-

1/2 feet in height and no less than nine feet in width. 

(Space should be adequate to allow a tractor truck towing 

a 53-foot trailer access to the inspection lane.) 

b. Small exemption: The inspection lane shall be level or 

on the same plane for 40 feet. The entrance opening shall 

be at least 10 feet in height, eight feet in width, and 

adequate to accommodate vehicles 40 feet in length. Any 

vehicle exceeding 10 feet in height may be inspected if 

the building entrance will allow such vehicle to 

completely enter the designated inspection lane. 

c. Large exemption: The inspection lane shall be level or 

on the same plane and in good condition for 60 feet. The 

front portion of the lane shall be level or on the same 

plane for a minimum of 40 feet. The entrance shall be at 

least 13-1/2 feet in height and no less than nine feet in 

width. (Space should be adequate to allow a tractor truck 

towing a 53-foot trailer access to the inspection lane.) 

This classification is required to inspect only vehicles 

with a GVWR exceeding 10,000 pounds. 

d. Motorcycle: The inspection lane shall be level or on 

the same plane. The entrance shall be adequate to 

accommodate the motorcycle and the operator. 

e. Unlimited trailer: The inspection lane shall be 

reasonably level and in good condition for 60 feet. The 

entrance shall be at least 13-1/2 feet in height and no less 

than nine feet in width. This classification is required to 

inspect all trailers. 

f. Small trailer exemption: The inspection lane shall be 

reasonably level and in good condition for 40 feet. The 

entrance shall be at least 10 feet in height and adequate to 

accommodate trailers 40 feet in length. This 

classification is required to inspect only those trailers not 

exceeding 40 feet in length or 10 feet in height measured 

to the highest part of the trailer but not including racks, 

air conditioners, antennas, etc. 

g. Large trailer exemption: The inspection lane shall be 

reasonably level and in good condition for 60 feet. The 

entrance shall be at least 13-1/2 feet in height and 

adequate to accommodate all legal size trailers. This 

classification is required to inspect only property-

carrying trailers exceeding 10 feet in height or 40 feet in 

length. 

h. Safety and emissions: The inspection lane shall be 

level or on the same plane. The lane must accommodate 

most passenger cars and light trucks. The emissions 

equipment must be placed in the lane at a location to 

allow the inspected vehicle to be positioned with all four 

wheels on the floor or on an above-ground ramp on a 

plane to the floor to accommodate headlight aiming and 

other required inspection procedures. Any above-ground 

structure must be constructed so as to permit proper 

steering, suspension, brake, and undercarriage inspection 

as outlined in the Official Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Manual. A list of local inspection stations that 

can accommodate vehicles that cannot be safety 

inspected due to the pretenses of emissions equipment 

must be maintained and available for customers. A 

"bottle" jack or other appropriate lifting equipment may 

be used for safety inspection on above-ground structures.  

i. Private station: The inspection lane shall be level or on 

the same plane. The entrance and size must be adequate 

to accommodate any vehicle in the fleet. An applicant 

who owns and operates less than 20 vehicles will not be 

considered. 

j. Private station (fleet service contractor): The inspection 

lane shall be level or on the same plane. The entrance and 

size must be adequate to accommodate any vehicle in the 

fleet to be inspected. This classification will permit the 

inspection of all vehicles that the applicant has a written 

agreement to service and repair. An applicant who does 

not have at least six written agreements to service private 

fleets with at least five vehicles in each fleet or at least 

one written agreement to service a private fleet with at 

least 30 vehicles in the fleet will not be considered for 

this type of appointment. Vehicles not covered by a 

written agreement for service, and repair other than the 

vehicles owned by the applicant's company or 

corporation, shall not be inspected by a garage having 

this type of classification. 

k. Private station (government): The inspection lane shall 

be level or on the same plane. The entrance and size must 

be adequate to accommodate any vehicle in the fleet to 

be inspected. This classification will permit the 

inspection of all vehicles in the government entity's fleet, 

the fleet of any volunteer or paid fire department, or any 

other unit or agency of the government structure having a 

written agreement with such governmental entity for 

repair and/or inspection service. An applicant for this 

classification must own or have a written agreement to 

inspect 30 or more vehicles. Vehicles not owned by or 

covered by a written agreement shall not be inspected by 

a garage having this type of classification.  

7. Classifications listed in subdivisions a through h of this 

subsection must be open to the public and have at least one 
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safety inspector available to perform inspections during 

normal business hours as set forth in 19VAC30-70-10. 

8. Private inspection station classifications may be 

assigned to businesses or governmental entities with fixed 

garage or repair facilities operating or contracting with 

vehicle fleets.  

B. A representative of any official inspection station may 

apply to the Department of State Police in writing to request a 

change of the station's status.  

1. An application form or forms will be forwarded to the 

applicant. 

2. The applicant will complete the application form or 

forms and contact the Department of State Police in 

keeping with the application instructions. Applications will 

include all data as set forth in this section. 

3. A Safety Division trooper will be assigned to complete 

the appropriate investigation to affect the change. A 

change in status investigation will include: 

(1) A review of the existing station file. 

(2) An update of the file to include personnel, facility, or 

other significant changes. Criteria for appointment and 

background investigation procedures for a change in 

status will be in keeping with this section. 

(3) Official inspection stations will be permitted to 

continue to perform safety inspections during a change of 

ownership investigation provided at least one safety 

inspector is retained from the prior owner. 

(4) If disqualifying criteria is revealed, the station's 

appointment shall be canceled until final disposition of 

the application is made or until issues of disqualifying 

criteria are resolved.  

C. Once an official inspection station has been suspended, 

regardless of the cause for the suspension, management may 

request reinstatement up to 60 days prior to the expiration of 

the suspension period. Stations whose appointments are 

revoked may complete the application process as set forth for 

original appointments after the expiration of the period of 

revocation. 

1. The applicant station must submit a letter to Safety 

Division Headquarters (Attention: Station Files) requesting 

reinstatement. 

2. An application package will be forwarded to the 

applicant. 

3. The completed application forms are to be returned to 

Safety Division Headquarters (Attention: Station Files). 

4. After review, the application package is forwarded to the 

appropriate Safety Division Area Office for investigation. 

a. The trooper assigned to the investigation will compare 

the information in the new application package to the 

information in the existing files. 

b. The investigation will focus on any changes or 

inconsistencies. 

c. The applicant station must meet all criteria for 

appointment as set forth in this section. 

d. Any applicant whose application for reinstatement is 

rejected or withdrawn may not reapply sooner than six 

months from the date he is notified of the rejection or 

withdrawal of the application. 

D. Failure to comply with the provisions of this section shall 

be grounds for termination of the application process or 

cancellation of the official inspection station's appointment. 

An applicant having an application terminated or an official 

inspection station having an appointment canceled for 

noncompliance may not reapply for a period of one year.  

Part II  

Inspection Requirements  

19VAC30-70-10. Official inspection station requirements. 

A. Official inspection stations, except private appointments, 

shall be open at least eight hours of each normal business day, 

and shall be able to perform inspections 12 months 

throughout the year, except during illness of limited duration 

or normal vacation. 

1. Normal business hours, Monday through Friday, are 

defined as an eight-hour period of time between 8 a.m. and 

6 p.m. 

2. Stations are not prohibited from performing inspections 

at times other than during normal business hours. 

3. A station that advertises inspections beyond normal 

business hours shall be able to perform such inspections. 

4. If a station desires to maintain business hours that are 

different from those defined in this section, written 

permission must be obtained from the safety officer and a 

sign setting forth the inspection hours must be posted 

conspicuously at the station where it can be observed by a 

person desiring to have a vehicle inspected. 

B. At least one full time safety inspector to perform 

inspections and one inspection lane meeting the minimum 

requirements shall be available for inspection at all times 

during the normal business day. All inspections must be made 

only at the locations and in the inspection lane approved by 

the Department of State Police. 

The designated inspection areas, including any location 

where customers are permitted to enter when submitting 

vehicles for inspection, must be kept clean, and free from 

excessive dirt, grease, and loose materials. If requested, 

customers presenting vehicles for inspection shall be allowed 

to observe the inspection process from a safe location 

designated by the station. 

C. Inspection station facilities must be properly maintained 

and must present a businesslike appearance to the general 

public. Property adjacent to the inspection station that is 

owned or controlled by the station must be free of debris, 
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litter, used parts and junk vehicles. Vehicles properly 

contained within fenced storage areas shall be deemed to 

comply with this requirement. 

D. Inspections shall be performed on a first-come, first-

served basis. Motorists shall not be required to make an 

appointment to obtain an inspection, except that appointments 

required by paragraph 12 of the Governor's Proclamation 

which appears at the end of this chapter, § 46.2-1158.01 of 

the Code of Virginia shall be made. Businesses that take in 

motorists' vehicles for inspection at the beginning of the work 

day shall not be required to stop the work already taken in to 

provide an inspection for a drive-in motorist, provided 

inspections are actually being performed at the time and will 

continue through the day. 

Effective October 15, 2001, the safety officer initiated a 

pilot program whereas if the station's existing physical plant 

meets certain requirements, then the A station may apply to 

accept inquire about accepting safety inspections by 

appointment. If the requirements are met, then the official 

inspection station may, in addition to having one lane for the 

first-come, first-served customers, also have a second 

inspection lane designated for customers who have made 

appointments for a designated time slot. An additional 

certified safety inspector shall be available to perform those 

inspections that are made by an appointment. If interested, 

businesses stations should first contact their supervising 

trooper for specific requirements and guidelines. 

E. Safety inspectors, managers who supervise inspection 

activities, and business owners, through participation in the 

inspection program Official Motor Vehicle Inspection 

Program, are representatives of the Department of State 

Police and should conduct themselves in a manner to avoid 

controversy in dealing with customers presenting vehicles for 

inspection. The use of profanity or verbal abuse directed at 

customers presenting their vehicles for inspection will be 

grounds for suspension from participation in the inspection 

program and will be considered a Class IV offense as set forth 

in 19VAC30-70-6 of the Guidelines for Administration of 

Virginia's Annual Motor Vehicle Inspection Program. 

Controversy that cannot be calmly resolved by the safety 

inspector, managers, and owners should be referred to the 

supervising trooper for handling. 

F. The "Certificate of Appointment" must be framed under 

glass or clear plastic and posted in the service 

counter/lounge/waiting customer waiting area where it can be 

observed and read by a person submitting a vehicle for 

inspection. 

Inspection stations must have garage liability insurance in 

the amount of at least $500,000 with an approved surplus 

lines carrier or insurance company licensed to write such 

insurance in this Commonwealth. This requirement shall not 

apply to inspection stations that only inspect only their 

company-owned, or leased or government-owned, or leased 

vehicles. 

G. The required "Official Inspection Procedure" sheet and 

the "Direct Inquiries" sheet furnished to each station must 

both be framed under glass or clear plastic and posted 

conspicuously in the service counter/lounge/waiting customer 

waiting area where they can be observed and read by a person 

submitting a vehicle for inspection. 

H. The poster designating the station as an official 

inspection station shall be posted in a prominent location, 

outside or visible outside the station, to alert passersby that 

inspection services are available. Private inspection stations 

need not comply with this section shall not display an outside 

poster. 

I. Each official inspection station shall display a list with the 

name(s) and license expiration date of all employees licensed 

to inspect at that station, adjacent to the appointment 

certificate, where it can be observed by a person submitting a 

vehicle for inspection certificate of appointment. The official 

inspection manual Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection 

Manual will be kept at or near the point of inspection for 

ready reference. 

J. Important -- Any change in name, ownership or location 

of any official inspection station cancels the appointment of 

that station and the Department of State Police must be 

notified immediately. The department shall be notified when 

an official inspection station discontinues operation. 

K. All inspection supplies, inspection binders and manual, 

unused stickers, duplicates of certificates issued, bulletins and 

other forms are the property of the Department of State Police 

and must be safeguarded against loss. 

L. Inspection supplies issued to an inspection station can be 

used only by that station and are not to be loaned or reissued 

to any other station with the exception of inserts. 

1. Stations must maintain a sufficient supply of approval 

stickers, T/M trailer/motorcycle decals, rejection stickers 

and inserts. When reordering supplies, station 

owners/managers shall request sufficient supplies to 

sustain their business for at least six months. However, we 

do realize it is realized that a few stations will not be able 

to comply with the six-month requirement since there is a 

maximum of 100 books per order limit. Also, when 

ordering supplies, the following information should be 

considered so that the station does not over order. Each 

order an excessive amount of supplies: each book of 

Approvals approval stickers and Trailer/Motorcycle 

trailer/motorcycle decals contains 25 stickers/decals, and 

the Rejections contain rejection book contains 50 stickers. 

Monthly, the monthly inserts are packaged in strips of 50 

each, and T/M's trailer/motorcycle decals are five per strip. 

In December of each year, a supply of yearly inserts will 

be shipped to each station based on their previous year's 

usage. In November, each station shall check its stock of 

monthly inserts and order what is needed for the months of 

January through June. In May, the same should be done for 

the months of July through December. 
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2. Inspection stations that exhaust their supply of approval 

stickers, rejection stickers, or T/M trailer/motorcycle 

decals, shall immediately stop performing new inspections 

and contact their supervising trooper or the nearest Safety 

Division office Area Office. 

M. All losses of stickers must be reported orally at once 

immediately to the nearest State Police area safety office 

Safety Division Area Office or supervising inspection 

trooper. 

N. Every precaution against the loss of stickers must be 

taken. If the loss occurs through carelessness or neglect, a 

suspension of the station may result. 

O. Manuals, bulletins, other regulations and lists of 

approved equipment must be available at all times for 

reference. Revisions to the inspection manual must be 

inserted in the manual at the proper location promptly after 

being received by the inspection station. Bulletins of 

temporary interest and pages of bulletins containing the 

synopsis of manual revisions will be retained in the front of 

each station's inspection manual for 24 months. Each safety 

inspector shall review the material contained in each 

inspection bulletin and manual revision within 15 days of its 

receipt. The safety inspector shall certify that the revisions 

have been reviewed by signing his name and placing the date 

reviewed by the signature on the bottom or reverse side of the 

bulletin or manual revision cover sheet. Station management 

shall be responsible to see that each safety inspector is 

familiar with all bulletins and manual revisions and shall be 

required to furnish evidence to the department that all 

bulletins and manual revisions have been reviewed by each 

licensed inspector. 

A copy of the diagram drawn by the investigating trooper, 

showing the approved inspection lane or lanes will be 

inserted in a plastic page protector and inserted as the last 

page of the official inspection manual at each official 

inspection station. The name of the station and the date will 

be inserted in the top right corner. 

P. Private appointment may be made of company stations or 

government stations that own and operate a minimum of 20 

vehicles and they may inspect only company-owned or 

government-owned vehicles respectively. When authorized 

by the department, they may inspect vehicles of a wholly-

owned subsidiary or leased vehicles. 

1. A private station may perform inspections during each 

month of the year or may elect to inspect only during 

certain designated months. 

2. A private station not electing to inspect vehicles every 

month of the year that finds it necessary to inspect a 

vehicle during a month other than those selected for 

inspection may issue a sticker to the vehicle from the 

nearest past inspection month. 

Q. All official inspection station owners, operators 

managers, and certified safety inspectors shall comply with 

the Virginia inspection laws and the inspection rules and 

regulations. Reports of violations will be investigated and, if 

found to be valid, may result in the suspension of the station, 

suspension of the mechanic inspector, possible court action, 

or other appropriate action, or any combination of these 

actions. Repeated violations or serious violations may result 

in a revocation of the station appointment by the 

Superintendent superintendent. 

R. The arrest of any person associated with the inspection 

program for a criminal offense of a nature that would tend to 

immediately reflect upon the integrity and reputation of the 

Department of State Police shall be grounds for an immediate 

suspension and the conviction for such an offense may result 

in a revocation of the station station's appointment. 

S. When a station has been suspended or revoked, it must 

release to an employee of the Department of State Police all 

inspection supplies, posters, and papers including the 

certificate of appointment. Failure to do so is a violation of 

§ 46.2-1172 of the Code of Virginia. 

T. The authority of the Superintendent superintendent to 

suspend the designation or appointment of an official 

inspection station as provided in § 46.2-1163 of the Code of 

Virginia, or to suspend the certification of a mechanic an 

inspector designated to perform inspections at an official 

inspection station, and, in keeping with the provisions of 

§ 46.2-1166 of the Code of Virginia, is hereby delegated to 

any of the following supervisory ranks of the Department of 

State Police: Lieutenant Colonel, Major, Captain, Lieutenant, 

First Sergeant and Sergeant. 

U. Each station must purchase and keep in proper operating 

condition the following equipment: computer, printer, internet 

connection, paper hole punch, black ball point pen(s) pen or 

pens or black marker or markers, sticker scraper with 

replacement razor blades, tire tread depth gauge, amp meter, 

headlight and auxiliary lamp adjustment tools, 12" ruler, 25' 

measuring tape, torque wrench or torque sticks, brake 

pads/shoes/disc/drum measuring device, dial indicator, 

micrometer, pry bars, roller jack (at least 4-ton), and an 

approved type optical headlight aiming device. Each station 

that requests an additional inspection lane that is not in close 

proximity to the originally approved inspection lane must 

purchase an additional approved headlight machine for each 

lane that meets the minimum requirements. Stations that have 

not done so are encouraged to upgrade to one of the following 

headlight aiming devices when their budget allows are 

required to have one of the following headlight aiming 

devices effective January 1, 2013: the Hopkins Vision1, 

Hopkins Vision 100, American Aimers Vision 100, American 

Aimers Vision 2 Pro, or the Symtech (former L.E.T.) HBA-5, 

PLA-11, and PLA-12.  

V. The following checklist has been designed to help with 

the monthly submission of inspection receipts. While its use 

is not required, its use is encouraged for a more orderly and 

accurate submission of inspection receipts. 



Regulations 

Volume 28, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 30, 2012 

1872 

MONTHLY INSPECTION RECEIPT 

SUBMISSION FOR 

_____________ 

(Month/Year) 

Processing Checklist: 

______ White copies have been removed from books 

(yellow copies remain in the books and are on 

file at the station). 

______ Receipts are in numerical order. 

______ Either rubber bands or paper clips are used to 

secure receipts during mailing. 

______ Voided receipts have matching sticker and pink 

receipt attached. 

______ Receipts are postmarked no later than the fifth 

of the month. 

Accountability Checklist: 

______ All receipts are completely filled out, including 

date, station number, tag number, complete ID#, 

odometer reading, etc. 

______ All receipts are legible. 

______ All receipts are signed by the inspector. 

______ Repair costs are included in inspection-related 

charges. If no charge, no charge is indicated by 

"NA." 

______ Inspection charges for motorcycles are no more 

than $12. 

______ All approval and rejection receipts indicate 

which tires were pulled on vehicles to check 

brakes. 

______ Receipts are written in ink; no pencil or white-

out on receipts. 

______ A block is checked for every segment of the 

vehicle that has actually been inspected. 

Receipts processed 

by___________________________________ 

  (Name) (Date) 

19VAC30-70-11. Automated Motor Vehicle Inspection 

Program (MVIP). 

A. Effective March 1, 2011, the automated Motor Vehicle 

Inspection Program (MVIP) was implemented. The MVIP 

system will enable the Safety Division and inspection stations 

to more efficiently record and retain data, thereby enhancing 

the overall operation of the program.  

B. Passwords or personal identification numbers (PINs) 

shall only be used by the person to whom they were assigned. 

C. Automated stations shall order all supplies via the MVIP 

system. 

D. Once a certified safety inspector completes an inspection, 

he will be required to enter the inspection information via the 

MVIP system.  

E. All stations and inspectors are required to verify the 

accuracy of the information entered through the MVIP system 

to include: 

1. One copy of the official safety inspection 

approval/rejection receipt shall be printed on 8-1/2 by 11 

inch white paper and given to the customer or placed in the 

vehicle. The size of the print on the receipt shall not be 

reduced.  

2. The printed official inspection receipt number shall 

correspond with the issued decal.  

3. The complete vehicle identification number (VIN) shall 

be verified before submitting the inspection through the 

MVIP system and printing the official inspection receipt.  

F. When a station has a voided decal and entered it as a 

void, the receipt shall be printed, attached to the decal, and 

retained until the supervising trooper's next visit. The 

supervising trooper will be responsible for destroying the 

voided sticker and a Form SP-164 will not be required. 

G. Before a completed book of receipts is destroyed, station 

management shall ensure that all decals are accounted for and 

all information has been entered correctly into the MVIP 

system. 

19VAC30-70-20. General inspection requirements.  

A. Each Official Inspection Station must inspect every 

vehicle presented for inspection as prescribed by Department 

regulations, either rejecting or approving approving or 

rejecting it. Inspections will not be performed unless 

requested.  

1. Dealers' vehicles shall be inspected according to these 

standards. The dealer's name rather than the license 

number shall be shown on the inspection receipt.  

2. Out-of-state vehicles may be inspected, but shall not be 

approved unless they meet the requirements of this the 

Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual.  

3. When a vehicle is presented for inspection the entire 

approval sticker, if any, on the vehicle must be removed 

before any inspection is begun (except a rejection sticker). 

After removing the inspection sticker, the safety inspector 

who is to perform the inspection must drive the vehicle 

into the an approved inspection lane unless the safety 

inspector is not qualified to operate the vehicle. During the 

operation of the vehicle, the safety inspector must make 

application of the service and parking brakes and check for 

conditions as set forth in Brake Sections the Service Brake 

Section of the inspection manual Official Motor Vehicle 

Safety Inspection Manual applicable to the vehicle being 

inspected.  

WARNING: No razor blades or similar devices should 

be used to remove stickers from "Securiflex", "Anti-
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Lacerative" or "Inner Shield" type windshield. These 

windshields are identified as AS-14. Any questions 

concerning removal should be directed to the nearest 

Safety Division Area Office.  

B. Each inspection shall be a complete inspection and shall 

include a check of all applicable items in this the Official 

Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual. All repair tools and 

testing equipment required prior to a station's appointment 

shall be properly maintained and available for use during each 

inspection.  

C. The term "inspection" as herein used shall not include 

repairs or adjustments. Repairs or adjustments necessary to 

bring the vehicle in conformity with these regulations may be 

made by agreement between the owner and such station or 

whatever repair shop the owner may select. When requested 

to do so by the person submitting a vehicle for inspection, any 

repairs or adjustments necessary to bring the vehicle into 

compliance with the inspection program rules and regulations 

shall be made by the inspection station performing the 

inspection. The inspection station management may utilize 

the option of subcontracting the repairs or adjustments 

provided the application filed for the station appointment 

reflected that such repairs or adjustments will be 

subcontracted.  

D. Each vehicle that meets the requirements as set forth in 

these regulations shall be issued an approval sticker. Those 

vehicles that do not meet the inspection requirements shall be 

issued a rejection sticker. Any trailer required to be inspected 

under the provisions of the Code of Virginia may, only if the 

size or configuration of the trailer and the size and 

configuration of the facilities of the inspection station prevent 

the trailer from being inspected inside the inspection station, 

be inspected outside the inspection station. The location on 

the outside of an inspection station where trailers may be 

inspected shall be approved by the Department of State Police 

and shown on the station diagram.  

E. Inspections may be made when it is raining or snowing. 

Care must be exercised when making inspections in 

inclement weather. Vehicles covered with ice, snow, mud or 

other debris to the extent that required parts cannot be 

inspected, may be refused inspection until the operator 

removes such debris.  

19VAC30-70-25. Exceptions to motor vehicle inspection 

requirements. 

A. The following shall be exempt from inspection as 

required by § 46.2-1157 of the Code of Virginia:  

1. Four-wheel vehicles weighing less than 500 pounds and 

having less than six horsepower;  

2. Boat, utility, or travel trailers that are not equipped with 

brakes;  

3. Antique motor vehicles or antique trailers as defined in 

§ 46.2-100 of the Code of Virginia and licensed pursuant 

to § 46.2-730 of the Code of Virginia;  

4. Any motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer that is outside 

the Commonwealth at the time its inspection expires when 

operated by the most direct route to the owner's or 

operator's place of residence or the owner's legal place of 

business in the Commonwealth;  

5. A truck, tractor truck, trailer, or semitrailer for which the 

period fixed for inspection has expired while the vehicle 

was outside the Commonwealth (i) from a point outside the 

Commonwealth to the place where such vehicle is kept or 

garaged within the Commonwealth or (ii) to a destination 

within the Commonwealth where such vehicle will be (a) 

unloaded within 24 hours of entering the Commonwealth, 

(b) inspected within such 24-hour period, and (c) operated, 

after being unloaded, only to an inspection station or to the 

place where it is kept or garaged within the 

Commonwealth;  

6. New motor vehicles, new trailers, or new semitrailers 

may be operated upon the highways of Virginia for the 

purpose of delivery from the place of manufacture to the 

dealer's or distributor's designated place of business or 

between places of business if such manufacturer, dealer, or 

distributor has more than one place of business, without 

being inspected; dealers or distributors may take delivery 

and operate upon the highways of Virginia new motor 

vehicles, new trailers, or new semitrailers from another 

dealer or distributor provided a motor vehicle, trailer, or 

semitrailer shall not be considered new if driven upon the 

highways for any purpose other than the delivery of the 

vehicle;  

7. New motor vehicles, new trailers, or new semitrailers 

bearing a manufacturer's license may be operated for test 

purposes by the manufacturer without an inspection;  

8. Motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers may be operated 

for test purposes by a certified inspector without an 

inspection sticker during the performance of an official 

inspection;  

9. New motor vehicles, new trailers, or new semitrailers 

may be operated upon the highways of Virginia over the 

most direct route to a location for installation of a 

permanent body without being inspected;  

10. Motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers purchased 

outside the Commonwealth may be driven to the 

purchaser's place of residence or the dealer's or distributor's 

designated place of business without being inspected;  

11. Prior to purchase from auto auctions within the 

Commonwealth, motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers 

may be operated upon the highways not to exceed a five-

mile radius of such auction by prospective purchasers only 

for the purpose of road testing without being inspected; 

motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers purchased from 

auto auctions within the Commonwealth also may be 

operated upon the highways from such auction to the 

purchaser's place of residence or business without being 

inspected;  
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12. Motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers, after the 

expiration of a period fixed for the inspection thereof, may 

be operated over the most direct route between the place 

where such vehicle is kept or garaged and an official 

inspection station for the purpose of having the same 

inspected pursuant to a prior appointment with such 

station;  

13. Any vehicle for transporting well-drilling machinery 

and mobile equipment as defined in § 46.2-700 of the Code 

of Virginia;  

14. Motor vehicles being towed in a legal manner as 

exempted under § 46.2-1150 of the Code of Virginia;  

15. Logtrailers as exempted under § 46.2-1159 of the Code 

of Virginia;  

16. Motor vehicles designed or altered and used 

exclusively for racing or other exhibition purposes as 

exempted under § 46.2-1160 of the Code of Virginia;  

17. Any tow dolly or converter gear as defined in § 46.2-

1119 of the Code of Virginia;  

18. A new motor vehicle, as defined in § 46.2-1500 of the 

Code of Virginia, that has been inspected in accordance 

with an inspection requirement of the manufacturer or 

distributor of the new motor vehicle by an employee who 

customarily performs such inspection on behalf of a motor 

vehicle dealer licensed pursuant to § 46.2-1508 of the Code 

of Virginia shall be deemed to have met the safety 

inspection requirements of the section without a separate 

safety inspection by an official inspection station. Such 

inspection shall be deemed to be the first inspection for the 

purpose of § 46.2-1158 of the Code of Virginia, and an 

inspection approval sticker furnished by the Department of 

State Police at the uniform price paid by all official 

inspection stations to the Department of State Police for an 

inspection approval sticker may be affixed to the vehicle as 

required by § 46.2-1163 of the Code of Virginia;  

19. Mopeds;  

20. Low-speed vehicles; and  

21. Vehicles exempt from registration pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 46.2-662 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 46.2 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

B. The following shall be exempt from inspection as 

required by § 46.2-1157 of the Code of Virginia provided (i) 

the commercial motor vehicle operates in interstate 

commerce; (ii) the commercial motor vehicle is found to meet 

the federal requirements for annual inspection through a self-

inspection, a third-party inspection, a Commercial Vehicle 

Safety Alliance inspection, or a periodic inspection performed 

by any state with a program; (iii) the inspection has been 

determined by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 

Administration to be comparable to or as effective as the 

requirements of 49 CFR 396.3(a); and (iv) documentation of 

such determination as provided for in 49 CFR 396.3(b) is 

available for review by law-enforcement officials to verify 

that the inspection is current:  

1. Any commercial motor vehicle operating in interstate 

commerce that is subject to the Federal Motor Carrier 

Safety Regulations. 

2. Any trailer or semitrailer being operated in interstate 

commerce that is subject to the Federal Motor Carrier 

Safety Regulations.  

19VAC30-70-30. Inspector requirements. 

A. The inspection of motor vehicles required by these rules 

and regulations shall be made only by those individuals who 

are certified and licensed as safety inspectors by the 

Department of State Police. The procedures outlined in this 

section are applicable to the processing of applications for 

initial certification, reclassification of safety inspector's 

licenses, and reinstatement of suspended or revoked safety 

inspector's licenses. 

B. All certified inspectors shall:  

1. Be at least 18 years of age; and  

2. Have a minimum of one year's practical experience as an 

automotive mechanic, or have satisfactorily completed a 

training program in the field of automotive mechanics 

approved by the Superintendent of State Police.  

A person who has a minimum of one year's practical 

experience in repairing motorcycles may be certified to 

inspect motorcycles only and a person who has one year's 

practical experience in repairing trailers may be certified to 

inspect trailers only.  

C. All mechanics entering the inspection program will be 

required to satisfactorily pass a written and practical 

examination exhibiting his knowledge of the inspection 

procedures.  

D. Each certified inspector shall possess a valid Virginia 

driver's license with the following exceptions:  

1. An inspector who is a resident of an adjoining state 

holding a valid driver's license in that state and who 

commutes regularly to work in Virginia; or  

2. A member of the armed forces of the United States on 

active duty who holds a driver's license from his home 

state.  

E. An inspector whose driver's license is suspended or 

revoked, including the seven-day administrative suspension 

for a DUI arrest, must immediately notify the station's 

supervising trooper or the local Safety Division office Area 

Office of the suspension or revocation. The suspension or 

revocation of an inspector's driver's license shall 

automatically act as a suspension of his privilege to inspect 

motor vehicles until such suspension or revocation is 

terminated and the reinstatement has been made by the 

Superintendent of State Police.  
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F. Each licensed safety inspector must have a valid safety 

inspector's license in his possession at all times while 

conducting inspections.  

G. Each safety inspector with a valid safety inspector's 

license need only present such valid license to his new 

employer to commence participation in the program at his 

new place of employment. Management of the inspection 

station is required to notify the Safety Division when a safety 

inspector begins or ends employment. This may be handled 

by postal letter, e-mail or telephone to contacting the Safety 

Division Headquarters in Richmond by telephone.  

H. An inspector must promptly notify the Safety Division in 

writing of any change in his home address as shown on the 

safety inspector's license. In the event the license becomes 

mutilated, lost or stolen, the inspector must notify the 

Department of State Police immediately in writing, requesting 

a duplicate. The Safety Inspector Notification Form shall be 

used and all requested information should be printed plainly 

and completely. For those inspectors who are not employed, 

write "Inactive" in the station name block. In those cases 

where notification is being made due to an address change, it 

will be necessary to: (i) fill out the form completely and (ii) 

attach the old Inspector license to the bottom of the 

notification form, (iii) make a copy of the license and form, 

and (iv) (ii) retain a copy of the form and license until a 

permanent (new) license is received. In those cases where the 

license has been lost, stolen or mutilated, complete steps (i) 

and (ii) and (iv) as outlined above set forth in this section. 

The notification form may be duplicated as necessary.  

I. An inspector must immediately notify the station's 

supervising trooper or local Safety Division Area Office of an 

arrest for a criminal offense or the institution of a civil action.  

J. Requirements for safety inspector applicants with a 

specific learning disability: 

1. Applicants will be required to furnish documentation 

from the particular school division where the applicant was 

classified as having a learning disability. The specific 

learning disability will be clearly identified. 

2. Once the learning disability has been documented, and if 

applicable, the applicant will be allowed to test with the 

written exam being orally presented.  

3. The station management where the applicant is 

employed or to be employed must agree to have someone 

present during the hours the employee is conducting 

inspections to assist with the reading of the Official Motor 

Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual when necessary during 

the initial three-year certification period. If the inspector 

changes stations within the first three-year period, it is the 

inspector's responsibility to notify station management of 

his disability and this requirement.  

19VAC30-70-31. Inspector certification. 

A. Upon request, a Mechanics Certification Application 

(Form SP-170B) and a Criminal History Record Request 

(Form SP-167) will be provided to individuals desiring 

appointment as certified safety inspectors. 

1. The application package will include instructions to help 

guide the applicant through the process. 

2. Applicants may be certified in any of the following 

classes after completing the necessary requirements and 

the appropriate examinations: 

a. Class A – May inspect any motor vehicle, motorcycle, 

or trailer. 

b. Class B – May inspect trailers only. 

c. Class C – May inspect motorcycles only. 

B. Applicants should immediately prepare for the written 

examination by studying the Official Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Manual in its entirety. 

1. When sufficiently prepared for the examination, the 

applicant should visit a testing site in his area to complete 

the appropriate examination. 

2. The applicant will present his completed application 

Form SP-170B, a Criminal History Records Request (Form 

SP -167), and a valid driver's license at the testing site. The 

applicant's identity will be verified by comparing the 

driver's license to the application form. The application 

will be reviewed for proper notarization. The application 

shall include the applicant's name, address, date of birth, 

social security number, driver's license number, physical, 

personal, and employment data. 

3. If the applicant's driver's license is expired, suspended, 

or revoked, the applicant will be advised and the 

application will be destroyed. The applicant may reapply 

after his driver's license is reinstated.  

C. The Class A inspector examination will consist of five 

sections containing 20 questions each. A minimum score of 

75% must be attained for each section. The Class B and C 

inspector examinations will consist of 50 questions each. A 

minimum score of 74% must be attained. If the applicant fails 

the test, it will be noted at the end of Section I on the Form 

SP-170B with the word "Failed" and the date. The application 

will be returned to the applicant. Applicants failing to attain 

the minimum score will not be allowed to test again for 30 

days. Applicants failing a second or subsequent examination 

will not be allowed to test again for six months. 

D. The Mechanics Certification Application (Form SP-

170B) and Criminal History Record Request (Form SP-167) 

for applicants who achieve a minimum score or greater will 

be forwarded to Safety Division Headquarters.  

1. The applicant's record will be checked against safety 

inspector and Central Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE) 

files. 

2. Inspection and criminal record information along with 

the applicant's driver transcript will be forwarded with the 

application to the appropriate Safety Division Area Office 

for investigation.  
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3. A credit check will be performed to determine that the 

applicant associated with the inspection program is in 

compliance with any judgment order or is meeting all 

financial obligations, or both. 

E. A background investigation will be conducted consisting 

of the following: 

1. Verification that the applicant is at least 18 years of age. 

2. Verification that the applicant has not less than one 

year's practical experience employed as an automotive 

technician repairing vehicles for the public or has 

satisfactorily completed a training program in the field of 

automotive mechanics approved by the Department of 

State Police. The following training programs in the field 

of automotive mechanics have been approved as a 

substitute for the one year's practical experience 

requirement: 

a. The two-year Associate Degree or diploma programs 

in automotive technology offered by the Virginia 

Community College System consisting of the following 

minimum curriculum: 

(1) Automotive Electrical Systems - 3 semester hours  

(2) Braking Systems - 3 semester hours 

(3) Emissions Control Systems - 3 semester hours 

(4) Suspension and Steering Systems - 3 semester hours 

(5) Vehicle Safety Inspection - 2 semester hours 

b. The 1,080-hour Career Technical Automotive Services 

Technology Program, offered by the Office of Career 

Technical Education, State Department of Education, in 

the various technical schools located throughout Virginia 

or be certified by the National Institute for Automotive 

Service Excellence (ASE), or both. 

(1) Upon the successful completion of this course, 

including a practical test as defined in this section, the 

student must complete a Mechanics Certification 

Application (Form SP-170B) and a Criminal History 

Record Request (Form SP-167), pass a written test as 

defined in subsection C of this section, and submit to a 

background investigation as defined in this subsection. 

Upon successful completion of these requirements, the 

student, if 18 years of age, will be certified as a safety 

inspector and issued a safety inspector license. In the 

event the student is under the age of 18 years, he will be 

issued a condition letter of appointment as a certified 

safety inspector. Upon his 18th birthday, providing he 

still meets all of the requirements, he will be issued a 

safety inspector license.  

(2) If the student scores less than 75% on any part of the 

examination, the application will be returned to the 

certifying trooper. Students scoring less than 75% on any 

part of the examination may retest at the certifying 

trooper's next recertification testing date, but not sooner 

than 30 days from the date of the last examination. If the 

student passes the test at this time and is at least 18 years 

of age, he will be issued a safety inspector license. Upon 

the student's 18th birthday, providing he still meets all of 

the requirements, the student will be issued a safety 

inspector license.  

(3) Students failing the second written examination will 

not be allowed to test again for six months. In order to 

retest the student must be at least 18 years of age and 

must complete the application process set forth for 

original certification. 

c. The 1,500-hour Course #1 entitled "Auto-Diesel 

Technician Course" offered by the Nashville Auto Diesel 

College, Inc., 1524 Gallatin Road, Nashville, Tennessee 

37206. 

3. A determination of the applicant's mechanical ability 

through interviews with employers and customers. 

4. A review of the applicant's current driving record on file 

with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will be 

utilized in determining applicant's suitability for 

certification. 

5. Determination of the character and reputation of the 

applicant through previous associates, employers, and 

records. 

6. Determination of the applicant's attitude towards the 

inspection program and receptiveness to State Police 

supervision through personal interview.  

7. The investigating trooper shall administer a practical 

examination to determine the applicant's ability to conduct 

a safety inspection. The applicant will conduct a complete 

inspection including the use of the optical headlight aimer. 

F. Any applicant whose application is rejected or withdrawn 

may not reapply sooner than six months from the date he is 

notified of the rejection of their application or their 

application is withdrawn.  

G. When a safety inspector is certified, the bottom of the 

Form SP-170B will be completed by the certifying Trooper. 

The classification for which the safety inspector is being 

certified, and the date of certification must be entered by the 

Trooper on the bottom of the Form SP-170B. The Form SP-

170B shall then be forwarded to the Safety Division Area 

Office. 

H. Upon certification, the supervising Trooper will fill out 

the temporary inspector's license in triplicate, forwarding the 

original (white copy) to Safety Division Headquarters, issuing 

the canary copy to the inspector, and retaining the pink copy 

at the Safety Division Area Office for six months. Once the 

safety inspector has been issued his/her temporary license, he 

will be eligible to begin inspecting.  

I. All safety inspector licenses shall be valid for a period of 

three years.  
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19VAC30-70-32. Reinstatement of safety inspector license 

following suspension or revocation. 

A. Reinstatement of safety inspector licenses following a 

period of suspension or revocation.  

1. Once a safety inspector's license has been suspended, 

regardless of the cause for suspension, he may request 

reinstatement up to 60 days prior to the expiration of the 

suspension period. 

a. No application Form SP-170B is required for 

reinstatement. The safety inspector's license will be held 

at the local Safety Division Area Office and returned 

upon the expiration of the suspension period. In all cases, 

Safety Division Headquarters must be notified forthwith 

by electronic means of the reinstatement of the license. 

The Form SP-164 will be filed to indicate the date the 

inspector was reinstated.  

b. The inspector shall contact his supervising trooper or 

nearest Safety Division Area Office to initiate the 

reinstatement process. 

c. The inspector's records on file at the Department of 

Motor Vehicles and Central Criminal Records Exchange 

will be reviewed to determine his suitability for 

reinstatement. If the suspended inspector's records 

indicate he is suitable for reinstatement, at the end of the 

suspension period or other appropriate time, the original 

inspector's license will be returned. A temporary license 

may be issued if the original is not available.  

If the suspended inspector's license should expire during 

the suspension period, the inspector may complete the 

process for inspector recertification as outlined in 

19VAC30-70-9. The trooper administering the test will 

retain all documentation. The inspector's license will be 

returned at the end of the suspension period and the 

appropriate documents forwarded to the Safety Division. 

2. Inspectors whose safety inspector's licenses have been 

revoked must complete the application process as set forth 

for initial certification after the expiration of the period of 

revocation. 

B. Safety inspectors who desire to change their license 

classification must complete the written and practical 

examinations as outlined in 19VAC30-70-9. 

C. Safety inspectors desiring to renew their inspector's 

license must participate in the recertification process. The 

process will require: 

1. Review of training materials as may be presented at the 

certification testing site by State Police personnel. 

2. Completion of the appropriate examination for the class 

license the inspector holds. A minimum score must be 

attained as previously outlined in 19VAC30-70-9. 

3. An inspector holding an expired license may be tested as 

long as his license has not been expired more than one 

month. During the period of expiration he will not be 

permitted to perform inspections. 

An inspector holding an expired inspector license which 

has not been expired more than one month and who fails 

the recertification examination the first time during this 

one-month grace period may be retested one additional 

time not sooner than 30 days from the date of the last 

recertification examination. Inspectors failing this 

subsequent examination will not be retested for six months 

and must complete the application process as set forth for 

initial certification. 

D. Failure to comply with the provisions of this section shall 

be grounds for the termination of the application process or 

cancellation of the safety inspector's license, or both. 

Applicants having applications terminated and/or safety 

inspector's license canceled may not reapply for a period of 

one year.  

19VAC30-70-40. Fees. 

A. Before the inspection of a vehicle begins, the vehicle 

owner or operator must be informed that a charge is to be 

made. 

B. A charge of $51 may be made for inspection of tractor 

trucks, trucks that have a gross vehicle weight rating of 

26,000 pounds or more, and buses that seat more than 15 

passengers, including the driver. A charge of $16 may be 

made for each inspection performed on any other vehicle 

except for the inspection of a motorcycle to include 

recreational motor homes. A charge of $12 may be charged 

for each motorcycle inspection. The maximum inspection 

fees effective July 1, 2006, are as follows: 

$51 for each inspection of any (i) tractor truck, (ii) truck 

that has a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,000 pounds 

or more, or (iii) motor vehicle that is used to transport 

passengers and has a seating capacity of more than 15 

passengers, including the driver. 

$12 for each inspection of any motorcycle. 

$16 for each inspection of any other vehicle, including 

trailers and motor homes. 

1. Inspection fees will result in inspection stations retaining 

and forwarding $.50 to the Department of State Police to 

support the department's costs in administering the Motor 

Vehicle Inspection Program (MVIP). Collection of these 

fees will begin on May 15 of every year. 

2. $10 of the $12 inspection fee for motorcycles shall be 

retained by the inspection station and the other $2.00 shall 

be transmitted to the Department of State Police. 

Collection of these fees will begin May 15 of every year. 

3. After the appropriate fee has been determined for each 

station, a letter from the Safety Division will be mailed to 

the station requiring that a check for that amount be mailed 

in the enclosed envelope to: Department of State Police, 

Safety Division, 7700 Midlothian Turnpike, North 

Chesterfield, VA 23235. The check must be made out to 
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the Department of State Police. The letter will include the 

following notice: "Do Not Send The Processing Fee To 

The P.O. Box Or Include With The Monthly Inspection 

Receipts. All Fees Are To Be Sent To The Safety Division 

Street Address." 

4. The station will have 30 days in which to mail in the 

processing fee. In the event a check does not clear the bank 

for any reason, a $15 fee will be assessed the station. Also, 

under 19VAC30-70-5, a returned check will be a Class III 

offense and administrative actions may be held against the 

station's record. Once the station has been contacted by the 

Department of State Police regarding a returned check, it 

will have 15 days to respond. If the returned check dispute 

is not settled in this period of time, administrative or legal 

sanctions, or both, may be taken against the station and, in 

addition, any requests for supplies will not be honored until 

the dispute has been settled. 

C. If a rejected vehicle is not submitted to the same station 

within the validity period of the rejection sticker or is 

submitted to another official inspection station, a complete 

inspection must be performed and a charge of $51 may be 

made for inspection of tractor trucks, trucks that have a gross 

vehicle weight rating of 26,000 pounds or more, and buses 

that seat more than 15 passengers, including the driver. A 

charge of $16 may be made for each inspection performed on 

any other vehicle except for the inspection of a motorcycle to 

include recreational motor homes and trailers. A charge of 

$12 may be charged made for each motorcycle inspection. 

NOTE: The truck inspection fee does not pertain to any 

trailer nor does it affect the $1.00 reinspection fee. 

D. A charge of $1.00 may be made for reinspection of a 

vehicle rejected by the same station during the 15-day validity 

of the rejection sticker. 

E. Inspection stations shall not charge an additional fee to 

those customers who drop off their vehicles for a state 

inspection. This is a violation of § 46.2-1167 of the Code of 

Virginia unless the station charges a "storage fee" for all 

services and repairs and not just for inspections. 

F. The maximum inspection fees effective July 1, 2006, are 

as follows: 

$51 for each inspection of any (i) tractor truck, (ii) truck 

that has a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,000 pounds 

or more, or (iii) motor vehicle that is used to transport 

passengers and has a seating capacity of more than 15 

passengers, including the driver. 

$12 for each inspection of any motorcycle. 

$16 for each inspection of any other vehicle, including 

trailers and recreation vehicles. 

1. Beginning July 1, 2006, inspection fees will result in 

inspection stations retaining an additional $.50 and 

forwarding $.50 to the Department of State Police to 

support the department's costs in administering the motor 

vehicle inspection program. Collection of these fees will 

begin on May 15 of every year. 

2. Effective January 1, 2006, $10 of the $12 inspection fee 

for motorcycles shall be retained by the inspection station, 

and the other $2.00 shall be transmitted to the Department 

of State Police. Collection of these fees will begin May 15 

of every year. 

3. After the appropriate fee has been determined for each 

station, a letter from the Safety Division will be mailed to 

the station requiring that a check for that amount be mailed 

in the enclosed envelope to: Department of State Police, 

Safety Division, 7700 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, 

VA 23235. The check must be made out to the Department 

of State Police. 

The letter will include the following notice: 

"Do Not Send The Processing Fee To The P.O. Box Or 

Include With The Monthly Inspection Receipts. All Fees 

Are To Be Sent To The Safety Division Street Address." 

4. The station will have 30 days in which to mail in the 

processing fee. In the event a check does not clear the bank 

for any reason, a $15 fee will be assessed the station. Also, 

under the Administrative Rules and Regulations, 

19VAC30-70-5, a returned check will be a Class III 

offense and administrative actions may be held against the 

record of the station. Once the station has been contacted 

by the Virginia State Police regarding a returned check, it 

will have 15 days to respond. If the returned check dispute 

is not settled in this period of time, administrative and/or 

legal sanctions may be taken against the station and, in 

addition, any requests for supplies will not be honored until 

the dispute has been settled. 

19VAC30-70-50. Approval stickers and decals. 

A. If the vehicle meets all inspection requirements, the 

inspection sticker receipt shall be legibly filled out in its 

entirety with a black ball point pen in its entirety and signed 

by the authorized mechanic certified safety inspector making 

the inspection. Automated MVIP stations are required to have 

the certified safety inspector performing the inspection enter 

the receipt information via the MVIP system. The inspection 

fee (if no charge then indicate N/A), the cost of the repairs 

relating to the inspection and the complete vehicle 

identification number (VIN), tag number or car dealer name if 

a dealer tag is attached, mileage, year, make, and model must 

be filled out on the receipt. A circle to indicate which wheels 

were pulled to check for the brakes, and an individual mark 

shall be made in each equipment block of the approval receipt 

that was pertinent to it being issued shall be made the 

inspection (straight or zig-zag lines are not acceptable), are 

also to be written on the receipt. 

The inspection sticker is not valid unless the rear portion is 

completed with the vehicle make, year built, license plate 

number (dealer name if a dealer tag is displayed), body type, 
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and the complete vehicle identification number (VIN). The 

VIN should be entered using indelible ink. 

B. Approval stickers and decals shall be issued according to 

the following schedule:  

ANNUAL PROGRAM 

Vehicles inspected in January are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "1" 

Vehicles inspected in February are issued stickers bearing 

the Number "2" 

Vehicles inspected in March are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "3" 

Vehicles inspected in April are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "4" 

Vehicles inspected in May are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "5" 

Vehicles inspected in June are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "6" 

Vehicles inspected in July are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "7" 

Vehicles inspected in August are issued stickers bearing the 

Number "8" 

Vehicles inspected in September are issued stickers bearing 

the Number "9" 

Vehicles inspected in October are issued stickers bearing 

the Number "10" 

Vehicles inspected in November are issued stickers bearing 

the Number "11" 

Vehicles inspected in December are issued stickers bearing 

the Number "12" 

All February annual inspection stickers for trailer and 

motorcycle decals (#2) due to expire at midnight, February 28 

automatically will be valid through midnight February 29 

each leap year. 

C. The numeral decal indicating the month of expiration 

shall be inserted in the box identified as month and the 

numeral decal indicating the year of expiration shall be 

inserted in the box identified as year of the approval sticker 

and the trailer/cycle trailer or motorcycle decal. Extreme care 

should be used by inspectors in applying these inserts. On all 

windshields, except school buses, the sticker is to be placed at 

the bottom of the windshield so that the inside or left edge of 

the sticker is one inch to the right of the vertical center of the 

windshield when looking through the windshield from inside 

the vehicle. (If the vehicle is normally operated from the right 

side, the sticker must be placed one inch to the left of the 

vertical center of the windshield.) 

On passenger vehicles not equipped with a windshield, the 

sticker shall be placed on or under the dash and protected in 

some manner from the weather. 

The approval sticker on official yellow school buses is to be 

placed at the bottom and in the right corner of the windshield 

when looking through the windshield from inside the vehicle. 

EXCEPTIONS: The approval sticker shall be placed one 

inch to the right of the vertical center of the windshield when 

looking through the windshield from the inside on all new 

flat-face cowl yellow school buses. On vehicles equipped 

with heating and grid elements on the inside of the 

windshield, the sticker shall be placed one inch above the top 

of the grid element and the inside left edge of the sticker shall 

be one inch to the right of the vertical center when looking 

through the windshield from the inside. 

Stickers or decals used by counties, cities and towns in lieu 

of license plates affixed adjacent to the old approval sticker 

and which are affixed in the location where the new approval 

sticker is required to be placed will not be removed. In these 

cases, the approval sticker will be placed as close to one inch 

to the right of the vertical center of the windshield as it can be 

placed without removing or overlapping the county, city or 

town decal. 

D. The Code of Virginia statutes require requires that the 

inspection sticker be displayed on the windshield or at other 

designated places at all times. The inspection sticker cannot 

be transferred from one vehicle to another. 

EXCEPTION: If the windshield in a vehicle is replaced, a 

valid sticker may be removed from the old windshield and 

placed on the new windshield. 

E. The decal issued to a motorcycle shall be affixed to the 

left front side of the cycle where it will be most visible after 

mounting. The decal may be placed on a plate on the left side 

where it will be most visible and securely fastened to the 

motorcycle for the purpose of displaying the decal. 

F. Trailer decals will be issued to all trailers and semitrailers 

required to be inspected. (No boat, utility, or travel trailer that 

is not equipped with brakes shall be required to be inspected.) 

G. All trailers must display a trailer decal on that particular 

vehicle. These decals are to be placed on the left side of the 

trailer near the front corner. The decal must be affixed to the 

trailer body or frame. In those instances where a metal back 

container with a removable transparent cover has been 

permanently affixed to the trailer body, the decal may be 

glued to it. The container must be permanently mounted in 

such a manner that the decal must be destroyed to remove it. 

H. In all other cases involving unusually designed trailers 

such as pole trailers, the inspecting mechanic safety inspector 

is to exercise his own good judgment in placing the decal at a 

point where it will be as prominent as possible and visible for 

examination from the left side. 

I. Effective January 1, 2006, motorcycles will Motorcycles 

have a separate decal that will be is orange and issued with 

the prefix M. The current trailer/motorcycle decal will 

continue to be utilized for trailers only until depletion. Decals 

for trailers will eventually have the prefix T and will remain 

blue. The trailer/motorcycle receipts are completed in the 

same manner as other inspection receipts. 
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J. Appointed stations will keep sufficient inspection supplies 

on hand to meet their needs. Requests for additional supplies 

may be made to the Safety Division by telephone, in writing 

or via e-mail. Automated stations shall order all supplies via 

the MVIP system. Requests for supplies that are to be picked 

up at the Safety Division headquarters Headquarters must be 

made at least 24 hours prior to pick up. If email is used, then 

the subject line should be include the station number and 

station name. If written request is preferred or if there is a 

need to return inspection receipts to the Safety Division via 

United Parcel States Postal Service, then it shall be addressed 

to: Safety Division, Department of State Police, P.O. Box 

85607, Richmond, VA 23285-5607. 

1. Do not make requests for stickers on inventory forms or 

slips of paper enclosed with returned supplies. 

2. Packing slips mailed with inspection supplies will be 

kept on file at the station for at least 24 months. 

K. All unused center inserts used to indicate the month that a 

sticker or decal expires, in possession of the inspection station 

at the end of each month, shall be retained by the inspection 

station, properly safeguarded, and used in the inspection of 

vehicles for the that particular month in the following year or 

be disposed of as directed by the Department of State Police. 

All inspection supplies that are voided, damaged, disfigured 

or become unserviceable in any manner, will be returned to 

the Safety Division, Department of State Police and. New 

replacement supplies will be furnished issued to the station. 

Expired stickers will be picked up by the station's supervising 

trooper. 

L. The white receipts for all approval stickers including 

trailer/motorcycle stickers and pink copies for rejection 

stickers will be removed from the sticker books and placed in 

numerical order for submission to the Safety Division by the 

fifth of the month following the month of inspection. (Staples 

or tape are not to be used to secure these receipts.) All voided 

approval/rejection stickers and decals, along with the white 

and pink receipts, shall be marked void and returned to the 

Safety Division. The yellow receipt shall also be marked void 

and retained in the book. 

M. The pink receipt copies of for the approval stickers and 

decals sticker, to include MVIP system approval and rejection 

printed copies, shall be given to the owner or operator of the 

vehicle. 

N. All yellow receipt copies of approval stickers and decals 

will be retained in the books and shall be kept on file at the 

station for at least 24 months. They may be inspected by any 

law-enforcement officer during normal business hours. 

O. Safety Division troopers may replace inspection stickers 

that have separated from the windshield of motor vehicles and 

become lost or damaged without conducting an inspection of 

the safety components of the vehicle. Such replacement of 

inspection stickers shall be made only in accordance with the 

following provisions: 

1. A vehicle owner or operator complaining of the loss or 

damage to the inspection sticker on the windshield of their 

vehicle due to separation of the sticker from the windshield 

shall be directed to the nearest Safety Division office Area 

Office or Safety Division trooper. 

2. Safety Division troopers, upon receipt of a complaint 

from a vehicle owner or operator that their inspection 

sticker has been stolen, lost or become damaged due to 

separation from the windshield, will make arrangements to 

meet the person to effect the replacement of the sticker. A 

vehicle owner or operator alleging theft of the inspection 

sticker will furnish proof to the Safety Division trooper 

that such theft has been reported to the proper law-

enforcement authority. 

3. The vehicle owner or operator must produce the original 

pink safety inspection approval sticker receipt indicating a 

valid approval inspection sticker was issued to the vehicle 

within the past 11 months. (The vehicle must be 

reinspected if the expiration of the original inspection 

sticker is in the month the request is being made.) 

4. The Safety Division trooper will verify by the inspection 

receipt that the vehicle was issued an approval inspection 

sticker within the past 11 months and will then issue a 

replacement inspection sticker to the vehicle. If any 

obvious equipment defects are detected during the 

replacement process, the vehicle will not be issued a 

replacement approval sticker.  

5. The Safety Division trooper will complete the inspection 

sticker receipt for the approval sticker from information 

contained on the original receipt. The date the replacement 

sticker is issued will be used in the date space. In the space 

for Inspection Related Charges, the trooper will insert the 

word "REPLACEMENT" and the sticker number from the 

original pink inspection receipt. 

6. The Safety Division trooper will sign the receipt 

vertically in the O.K. column in the "Equipment Inspected" 

blocks. These blocks will not otherwise be completed. 

7. The Safety Division trooper shall place month and year 

inserts on the inspection sticker to reflect the expiration as 

shown on the original approval inspection sticker and place 

the inspection sticker on the windshield in accordance with 

the requirements of subsection C of this section. 

8. The Safety Division trooper will staple the original pink 

inspection receipt to the new white receipt. At the end of 

each week, the Safety Division trooper will forward all 

inspection receipts for replacement stickers issued by him 

to the Safety Division. The yellow receipts will be 

submitted to the area office and maintained on file for 24 

months enter the replacement information into the MVIP 

system. 

P. New vehicle safety inspections. 

1. Section 46.2-1157 46.2-1158.01 of the Code of Virginia 

allows an employee who customarily performs the 
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inspection requirement of a manufacturer or distributor of 

new motor vehicles to place an inspection sticker furnished 

by the Department of State Police on the vehicle once it 

has met the requirements of that manufacturer or 

distributor. This employee does not have to be a certified 

state safety inspector. 

2. With the addition of other personnel using Department 

of State Police inspection supplies, a system should shall 

be developed at each inspection station to afford 

accountability of all supplies. The system should shall 

include proper safeguards to prevent the loss of supplies 

through carelessness, neglect, theft, or unauthorized use. 

3. Inspection stations should shall not mix annual state 

inspections with predelivery inspections (PDI) in the same 

book of inspection stickers. 

4. All employees should shall be reminded that anyone 

who performs inspections, whether it be for the annual 

inspection or the PDI inspection, are is subject to criminal 

prosecution if inspection supplies are used illegally or used 

in some other unauthorized way. 

5. Station management and licensed safety inspectors are 

subject to administrative sanctions for any misuse of 

inspection supplies. 

6. The inspection receipts should shall be completed as 

usual with the following exceptions.: On the "inspector" 

line, the initials "PDI" (for predelivery inspection) before 

the inspector's name should and the printed employee's 

name performing the inspection shall be entered. On the 

"inspector's license number" line, the letters "N/A" should 

shall be entered. In the equipment inspected section, the 

words "New Vehicle" should shall be entered in the 

"adjust" column. The PDI inspector should employee 

performing the inspection shall sign his name in the "O.K." 

column. 

19VAC30-70-60. Rejection stickers. 

A. Only one rejection sticker shall be issued to any one 

vehicle. A rejection sticker shall not be issued to any vehicle 

already bearing such a sticker or to one which bears evidence 

of previously being issued a rejection sticker. When a vehicle 

is bearing a valid or expired rejection sticker, it is not to be 

removed unless the vehicle meets all of the inspection 

requirements. 

B. A vehicle rejected by one station may be reinspected by 

another station if the owner desires to have this done; 

however, that station shall perform a complete inspection of 

the vehicle. 

C. Reinspection of a rejected vehicle by the same station 

during the 15-day validity of the rejection sticker need 

include only a check of the items previously found defective, 

unless there is an obvious equipment defect that would 

warrant further rejection of the vehicle. Such reinspection will 

not constitute a complete inspection and a $1.00 fee may be 

charged. Furthermore, if a vehicle returns for reinspection 

within the 15-day period, the rejecting station will reinspect 

the vehicle without delay or at conclusion of the current 

inspection being performed. 

1. If additional defects are detected during reinspection of a 

vehicle previously rejected, the vehicle will not be issued 

an approval sticker. 

2. No vehicle bearing a valid rejection sticker shall be 

entitled to receive more than two reinspections by the 

rejecting station during the validity period of the rejection 

sticker. 

3. The validity period of the rejection sticker shall be 15 

days in addition to the day of inspection. 

4. Any vehicle that is presented for inspection at another 

inspection station after the 15-day validity period, if the 

vehicle was rejected for brakes, and the inspector cannot 

determine which wheels were removed checked, then all 

four wheels will be removed to ensure that all repairs or 

defects have been corrected. 

D. If repairs are to be made to a rejected vehicle that would 

necessitate removing the vehicle from the inspection lane, no 

rejection sticker need be issued; however, the vehicle must be 

returned to an approved lane for a recheck of the rejected 

items and the installation application of the approval sticker. 

E. If the vehicle does not meet all the requirements and the 

owner does not authorize immediate repairs, and if a rejection 

sticker has not already been issued, a rejection sticker will 

shall be legibly filled out in its entirety with a black ball point 

pen. Automated MVIP stations are required to have the 

certified safety inspector performing the inspection enter the 

receipt information via the MVIP system. The complete 

vehicle identification number (VIN), tag number or car dealer 

name if a dealer tag is attached, mileage, year, make, and 

model shall be included. Circle A circle to indicate which 

wheels were pulled to check for the brakes and place an 

individual mark shall be placed in each equipment block of 

the rejection sticker that was pertinent to it being issued the 

rejection. In addition, information may be written on any 

blank area as to the exact nature of the rejection (i.e., front 

brakes vs. rear brakes). The date of issue shall be punched, 

and the sticker affixed to the same location as indicated in 

19VAC30-70-50 C, E, and G. (When affixed to a trailer or 

motorcycle, the face of the rejection sticker shall be glued 

attached to the trailer or motorcycle in order to allow the 

rejection data on the back side to be read.) 

F. The operator of the rejected vehicle shall be informed of 

the following: 

1. The rejection sticker is valid for 15 days in addition to 

the date of inspection. 

2. The rejection sticker places no travel restriction on the 

operation of the vehicle and is issued in lieu of an approval 

sticker. 
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3. The vehicle operator is legally responsible for any defect 

if operated on the highway and may be subject to a traffic 

summons for any existing equipment violation. 

G. Duplicate copies (pink) of rejection stickers shall be 

forwarded, in numerical order, to the Safety Division by the 

fifth of the month following the month of inspection. The 

yellow copy shall be retained, in numerical order, by the 

station for at least 24 months. 

19VAC30-70-70. Inventory.  

A. Each inspection station at the end of each quarter shall 

fill in the applicable portion of an inspection sticker inventory 

report Inspection Sticker Inventory Report (Form SP-221) in 

duplicate on approval stickers, trailer/motorcycle decals and 

rejection stickers used or unused. This report shall be 

completed by the fifth of April, July, October and January for 

the preceding quarter and shall be kept on file at the station.  

NOTE: The submission of the quarterly inventory report 

does not apply to automated MVIP system users. 

1. At the end of the quarter, the monthly totals will be 

combined into a quarterly total reflecting the total number 

of approval stickers, trailer/motorcycle decals, rejection 

stickers and voided stickers used during the quarter. All 

approval stickers, trailer/motorcycle decals and rejection 

stickers unused and on hand at the end of the quarter shall 

be listed in the space provided on the inventory report 

Inspection Sticker Inventory Report (Form SP-221).  

2. The inventory report, after its completion, shall be 

retained at the inspection station until it is reviewed and 

picked up by the station's supervising trooper during his 

supervisory visit. The other duplicate copy of the inventory 

report shall be retained by the station for at least 24 

months.  

B. The quarterly inventory reports shall be completed 

according to the following schedule:  

  Quarter of Year Months of 

  1st January, February, March 

  2nd April, May, June 

  3rd July, August, September 

  4th October, November, 

December 

Part III  

Inspection Requirements for Passenger Vehicles and Vehicles 

Up to 10,000 Pounds (GVWR) 

19VAC30-70-80. Service brakes. 

A. The inspector, as a minimum, must drive all vehicles into 

the inspection lane and test both service and parking brakes. 

B. A minimum of two wheels or two wheels and drums, one 

front and one rear, must be removed from each passenger and 

multipurpose vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of 

10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) or less at 

the time of inspection, except those listed in subdivisions 1, 2, 

and 3 of this subsection. Two front wheels or two front 

wheels and drums must be removed from vehicles listed in 

subdivision 3 of this subsection. 

1. Motorcycles. 

2. A new model vehicle is defined as a vehicle that has not 

been titled or leased and is less than one year old, 

measured from October 1 as of each year; if such motor 

vehicle does not have a model year, such measurement 

shall be made from the date of manufacture. 

3. Trucks with floating axles that require seal replacement 

upon removal of rear wheels. The inspection receipt 

(approval and rejection) shall be marked to reflect which 

wheels were pulled. 

Warning: Lug nuts must be torqued to the manufacturer's 

specifications to prevent damage to disc rotors. The use of 

an impact wrench may exceed the manufacturer's 

specifications and damage disc rotors. 

C. If any braking problem is detected, the inspector may test 

drive or require a test drive of the vehicle. 

D. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle is not equipped with brakes or any brake has 

been disconnected, rendered inoperative, or improperly 

installed. Trailers having an actual gross weight of less 

than 3,000 pounds are not required to be equipped with 

brakes; however, if brakes are installed, these vehicles 

must be inspected. 

Brake System Failure Indicator Lamp 

2. Passenger vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1968, 

are not equipped with a red brake failure warning lamp or 

warning lamp does not light with parking brake applied 

when ignition key is turned to the start position, except for 

anti-lock system. The red brake failure warning lamp 

should light when the ignition key is turned to the start 

position; on some imports it may be checked when the 

emergency brake is applied or other factory installed test 

button. (DO NOT reject if only the amber ABS/anti-lock 

brake lamp is on.) With the engine running and parking 

brake released, the red brake failure warning lamp should 

go off, except for vehicles equipped with anti-lock system. 

If so, apply service brake for 10 seconds and if the red 

brake failure warning lamp lights again the system is 

defective. Also, if the warning lamp light does not come on 

when there is a leak or the warning lamp light is not 

functioning properly, the system is defective and shall be 

rejected. NOTE: This paragraph does not apply to vehicles 

registered as street rods nor does it imply that the red brake 

failure warning lamp needs to light when the emergency 

brake is set. There are many vehicles that are not factory 

equipped with an emergency brake indicator light. 
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Brake Linings and Disc Pads  

3. Riveted linings or disc pads are worn to less than 2/32 of 

an inch over the rivet head(s). 

4. Bonded or molded linings or disc pads are worn to less 

than 2/32 of an inch in thickness . 

5. Wire in wire-backed lining is visible in friction surface. 

6. Snap-on brake linings are loose. 

7. Any lining is broken or cracked so that the lining or 

parts of the lining are not firmly attached to the shoe or has 

cracks on the friction surface extending to the open edge. 

8. Grease or other contamination cannot be satisfactorily 

removed from the lining is present on the linings, drums, or 

rotors. 

9. Rivets in riveted linings are loose or missing. 

10. Any lining or pad is misaligned or does not make full 

contact with the drum or rotor. 

Brake Drums and Discs 

11. Brake drums or brake discs (rotors) are worn or scored 

to the extent that their remachining would result in a failure 

to meet manufacturer's specifications. Use the specification 

stamped on the rotor or drum if available. 

NOTE: A number of vehicles on the market are equipped 

with a lock nut to hold the rear brake drum in place. 

Manufacturers recommend replacement of these lock nuts 

after each removal to prevent failure of the component. If 

the customer is advised up front, then the wholesale cost of 

the replacement nut may be charged to the customer. 

NOTE: The proper method to remove the rear brake 

assembly on the 2000 Ford Focus is to remove the four 

bolts from the opposite side of the assembly. Removal 

otherwise may damage the outside grease cap and incur a 

cost to replace. 

12. Brake drums or discs have any external crack or cracks 

more than one half the width of the friction surface of the 

drum or disc. NOTE: Do not confuse short hairline heat 

cracks with flexural cracks. 

Mechanical Linkage 

13. Cables are frayed or frozen. 

14. Mechanical parts missing, broken, badly worn, or 

misaligned. 

E. Hydraulic. 

NOTE: Some motor vehicles, beginning with 1976 models, 

have a hydraulic power system that serves both the power 

assisted power-assisted brakes and power assisted power-

assisted steering system. Some vehicles, beginning with 1985 

models, have an integrated hydraulic actuation and anti-lock 

brake unit using only brake fluid. 

1. Brake hydraulic system. Inspector should check the 

brake hydraulic system in the following manner: test 

vehicle in a standing position; apply moderate pressure to 

the brake pedal for 10 seconds. Brake pedal height must be 

maintained. On vehicles equipped with power assisted 

power-assisted systems, the engine should be running. 

2. Hydraulic system operation. Stop engine, then depress 

brake pedal several times to eliminate all pressure. Depress 

pedal with a light foot-force (30 pounds). While 

maintaining this force on the pedal, start engine and 

observe if pedal moves slightly when engine starts. 

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move slightly as engine 

is started while force is on brake pedal. 

  

 

3. Condition of hydraulic booster power brake system. 

Inspect system for fluid level and leaks. 

Reject vehicle if there is insufficient fluid in the 

reservoir; if there are broken, kinked or restricted fluid 

lines or hoses; if there is any leakage of fluid at the 

pump, steering gear or brake booster, or any of the lines 

or hoses in the system; or if belts are frayed, cracked or 

excessively worn. 

4. Integrated hydraulic booster/anti-lock system operation. 

With the ignition key in the off position, depress brake 

pedal a minimum of 25 times to deplete all residual stored 

pressure in the accumulator. Depress pedal with a light 

foot-force (25 pounds). Place ignition key in the on 

position and allow 60 seconds for the brake warning light 

to go out and the electric pump to shut off. 

Reject vehicle if the brake pedal does not move down 

slightly as the pump builds pressure or if the brake and 

anti-lock warning lights remain on longer than 60 

seconds. 

NOTE: The inspection of the ABS light is only for an 

integrated system that is the older an earlier system. The 

new newer system that has the nonintegrated systems 

does not need to be checked. If the ABS system 

malfunctions on the new newer system, the brake 

systems are still functional. 
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5. Condition of integrated hydraulic booster/anti-lock 

system with electronic pump. With the system fully 

charged, inspect system for fluid level and leaks. 

Reject vehicle if there is insufficient fluid in the 

reservoir; if there are broken, kinked or restricted fluid 

lines or hoses; or if there is any leakage of fluid at the 

pump or brake booster, or any of the lines or hoses in the 

system. 

6. Vacuum system operation. Stop engine then depress 

brake pedal several times to eliminate all vacuum in the 

system. Depress pedal with a light foot-force (25 pounds). 

While maintaining this force on the pedal, start engine and 

observe if pedal moves down slightly when engine starts. 

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move down slightly as 

engine is started while force is on the brake pedal. In full 

vacuum-equipped vehicles, there is insufficient vacuum 

reserve for one full service brake application after engine 

is stopped. 

  

 

7. Condition of vacuum booster power brake system. 

Reject vehicle if there are collapsed, cracked, broken, 

badly chafed or improperly supported hoses and tubes, 

loose or broken hose clamps. 

F. Inspect for and reject if: 

General Specifications - Hydraulic Brakes 

1. There is any leakage in the master cylinder, wheel 

cylinders, or brake calipers. When checking for leakage in 

rear wheel cylinders, do not disturb the dust boot. 

NOTE: Do not reject for the common dust ball formed on 

wheel cylinders or for wetness that may have spread to the 

backing plate unless it has contaminated the lining linings 

or drums as specified in subdivision D 8 of this section. 

Consumers should be advised of this wear so that they will 

be aware that repair may be needed before their next 

inspection. This may not warrant an immediate repair 

considering the dual valve master cylinder. 

2. Fluid level in master cylinder is below the proper level 

for the particular vehicle. 

3. There is any evidence of a caliper sticking or binding. 

Electric Brake System 

4. Trailers show an amperage value more than 20% above 

or 30% below the brake manufacturer's maximum current 

rating for each brake. 

5. Ammeter Amp meter shows no reading or indicator is 

not steady on application and release of brake controller. 

6. Any terminal connections are loose or dirty; wires are 

broken, frayed, or unsupported; any single conductor 

nonstranded wire or wires below the size recommended by 

the brake manufacturers are installed. 

7. Electrical trailer brakes do not apply automatically when 

the breakaway safety switch is operated. 

General Specifications 

8. There is any leakage in any hydraulic, air, or vacuum 

lines; hoses have any cracks, crimps, restrictions, or are 

abraded exposing fabric; tubing or connections leak, are 

crimped, restricted, cracked or broken; any valves leak or 

are inoperative. 

Reject the vehicle if the brake hoses or tubing are 

stretched or extended and do not allow for suspension 

movement. 

Brake tubing and hose hoses must: 

a. Be long and flexible enough to accommodate without 

damage all normal motions of the parts to which it is 

attached; 

b. Be secured against chaffing, kinking, or other 

mechanical damage; and 

c. Be installed in a manner that prevents it from 

contacting the vehicle's exhaust system or any other 

source of high temperatures. 

9. Brakes are not equalized so as to stop the vehicle on a 

straight line. 

10. There is less than 1/5 reserve in actuator travel of the 

service brake when fully applied on all hydraulic, 

mechanical, or power-assisted hydraulic braking systems. 

11. When tested on dry, hard, approximately level road 

free from loose material, at a speed of 20 miles per hour 

without leaving a 12-foot wide lane, results in excess of the 

following distances are obtained: (When in doubt about a 
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vehicle's stopping ability, the inspector shall conduct a 

road test.) 

a. Any motor vehicle (except motorcycles, trucks, and 

tractor-trucks with semitrailers attached) four wheel 

brakes - 25 feet. 

b. Any motor vehicle (except motorcycles, trucks, and 

tractor-trucks with semitrailers attached) two wheel 

brakes - 45 feet. 

c. All combinations of vehicles - 40 feet. 

19VAC30-70-90. Brakes: emergency, parking, or holding; 

batteries. 

A. Some vehicles are equipped with an actual emergency 

brake, while others have only a parking or holding brake. 

Some types may be actuated by a foot or hand lever, while 

others may incorporate a switch or valve to actuate the brake. 

Air and vacuum brake systems may employ spring activating 

parking brakes. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle or combination of vehicles is not equipped with 

a parking, holding, or emergency brake in good working 

order of the type installed as original standard factory 

equipment for the vehicle on which it is installed. 

2. The parking brake actuating mechanism does not fully 

release when the control is operated to the off position or if 

the parking brake lamp light remains on. 

NOTE: The light does not apply to vehicles that are not 

equipped with a parking (emergency) brake indicator light. 

3. Any mechanical parts are missing, broken, badly worn, 

or are inoperative. 

4. Cables are stretched, worn, or frayed or not operating 

freely. 

5. Grease or other contamination is present on the linings, 

drums, or rotors.  

5. 6. Parking brake will not hold the vehicle stationary with 

the engine running at slightly accelerated speed with shift 

lever in drive position for automatic transmission or shift 

lever in low gear with clutch engaged for standard shift 

transmission. 

6. 7. Holding brake will not disengage when engine is 

started and vehicle is placed in drive. Holding brake will 

not hold vehicle stationary with foot on holding brake and 

vehicle in drive. 

7. 8. On vehicles equipped with automatic transmissions, 

the vehicle will start in any gear other than (P) park and 

(N) neutral. If the gearshift indicator does not identify the 

park (P) and neutral (N) positions, then the vehicle shall be 

rejected. 

8. 9. On vehicles equipped with manual transmissions, the 

vehicle will start in any gear if the clutch is not depressed 

or disengaged. 

NOTE: This will not apply to older model vehicles, which 

were not originally equipped with a neutral-safety switch, 

clutch disengagement system or clutch pedal position 

sensor by the manufacturer. 

9. 10. The accelerator does not disengage after being 

depressed, allowing the engine to return to a normal idle 

speed. 

10. The storage 11. Any battery is not attached to a fixed 

part of the motor vehicle or and protected by a removable 

cover or enclosure if the battery is installed in a location 

other than the engine compartment. This includes all 

brackets, hardware, bolts, and bushings used for securely 

mounting the storage battery to the vehicle. 

a. Removable covers or enclosures shall be substantial 

and shall be securely latched or fastened. 

b. The storage battery compartment shall have openings 

to provide ample battery ventilation and drainage. 

c. Whenever the cable to the starting motor passes 

through a metal compartment, the cable shall be 

protected against grounding by an acid and waterproof 

insulating bushing. 

d. Whenever a battery and a fuel tank are both placed 

under the driver's seat, they shall be partitioned from 

each other, and each compartment shall be provided with 

an independent cover, ventilation, and drainage. 

19VAC30-70-100. Brakes: trailer (GVWR less than 10,000 

pounds).  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Trailer brakes do not comply with 19VAC30-70-80 and 

19VAC30-70-90.  

2. Operator does not have full control over brakes. For the 

purpose of this subdivision, surge brakes are considered to 

be in control of the operator.  

3. All trailers, manufactured or assembled after January 1, 

1964, registered for having an actual gross weight of 3,000 

pounds or more are not equipped with emergency 

breakaway brakes designed to:  

a. Apply automatically upon breakaway from towing 

vehicle.  

b. Remain fully applied for at least 15 minutes.  

c. Apply and release by operation of the manual 

emergency control.  

4. A minimum of one wheel must be removed from each 

axle equipped with brakes to inspect the brake 

components.  

NOTE: Trailers registered for or having an actual gross 

weight of 3,000 pounds or more, but with a manufacturer's 

gross weight rating of less than 10,000 pounds, need not be 

equipped with brakes on all wheels.  

a. Exception: Wheels on trailers equipped with open 

brake mechanisms are not required to be removed.  
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b. The inspection receipt approval and rejection shall be 

marked to reflect on which side the wheel or wheels were 

pulled.  

19VAC30-70-110. Steering and suspension. 

A. The steering and suspension systems installed and 

utilized on motor vehicles have evolved to where many 

different suspension systems are being designed, developed, 

and employed on vehicles. To properly inspect the steering 

and suspension on vehicles, it may be necessary for the 

inspection to be made in accordance with manufacturer's 

recommended procedures in addition to meeting any 

requirements outlined in this regulation. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any modification has been made that affects normal 

functioning of the shock absorbers. The inspector should 

operate the vehicle when in doubt. (If there is no evidence 

of the convolutions (coils) of the spring hitting one 

another, one pair (2) (two) of nonmetallic coil spring 

stabilizers may be present in each of a vehicle's front coil 

springs, provided the installation of the stabilizers does not 

cause the springs to be higher than their original height.) 

Shock absorbers in fully extended or compressed positions 

when the vehicle is stationary will not function normally. 

2. The front end suspension has been modified by the use 

of lift blocks. (A lift block is defined as any solid piece of 

wood, metal, or other material placed between and 

separating the vehicle's front axle and the springs.) This 

does not prohibit the use of shims that may be necessary to 

correct front end alignment. 

3. Any modification has been made to the front end 

suspension which reduces turning radius, bypasses safety 

components of original steering mechanism or if there is 

any lateral movement between the axle and frame. 

4. Any modification has been made to the suspension to 

cause the vehicle body or chassis to come in contact with 

the ground or expose the fuel tank to damage from 

collision. 

Reject the vehicle if it has been modified by any means so 

as to raise its body more than three inches above the 

manufacturer's attachment points or the frame rail (exclude 

original manufacturer's spacers, washers or bushings when 

measuring).  

5. Any modification has been made to cause the wheels to 

come in contact with the body or frame under normal 

operating conditions. 

6. A motor vehicle has a repair kit or preventive 

maintenance kit installed on a tie rod end, idler arm, ball 

joint, or any other part of the vehicle's steering gear. 

NOTE: The repair kit or preventive maintenance kit 

usually consists of a small coil spring and a plastic cap that 

is placed over the bolt stud of the component and held in 

place by a retaining nut. There is nothing in this paragraph 

that prohibits the replacement of parts or components of a 

motor vehicle's steering gear in order to correct 

deficiencies in the steering gear. 

7. When checked visually, the wheels appear to be out of 

line or an axle is bent. 

8. Any vehicle that shimmies or wanders at normal 

operating speeds. 

9. Rack and pinion steering bellows (boot) is or CV boots 

are defective or missing. Do not inspect CV boots, CV 

joints, or universal joints on rear wheel drive vehicles. 

10. Power steering is defective and affects adequate 

steering of the vehicle or power steering fluid in reservoir 

is below operating level, or if there is an obvious leak of 

power steering fluid. Do not reject for dampness. 

NOTE: If the vehicle is equipped with power steering, the 

engine must be operating running during testing. 

11. Power steering belts do belt does not have sufficient 

tension or are, is frayed, or missing. The serpentine v-

ribbed belt is more common versus the old v-drive belt and 

should only be rejected if a chunk of the ribbing is missing 

or a deep cut or crack exposes the inner fabric of the belt. 

(Do not reject for the many little surface cracks that appear 

in the ribs or back.) 

12. Any modification has been made to any part of the 

steering or suspension system that affects proper steering 

or suspension or any part of the original suspension system 

has been disconnected. 

NOTE: "All thread rod material" shall not be used as U-

bolts in the suspension system. 

Vehicles registered as street rods may substitute any part of 

the original suspension system provided the components 

are installed in accordance with the component 

manufacturers' specifications. 

13. Any modification or replacement has been made to the 

steering wheel that affects proper steering. The steering 

wheel shall be rejected if the outside diameter is less than 

13 inches unless original factory equipment. 

14. Steering column has any absence or looseness of bolts 

or positioning parts, resulting in motion of the steering 

column from its normal position. 

15. A spring is broken, sagging or misaligned, shackles are 

worn or loose, or if air springs bags are collapsed or the air 

suspension system leaks or is deflated. 

CAUTION: Underneath inspection of a vehicle equipped 

with air suspension with excessive leak down could result 

in serious personal injury. 

16. Vehicles designed for shock absorbers or cross 

stabilizer links if any are disconnected or broken, bent, 

loose or do not function properly. 

17. Any front or rear axle or suspension positioning parts 

are cracked, broken, loose, worn, bent or missing, resulting 

in shifting of an axle from the normal position. Any control 
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arm or suspension positioning part using bushings for 

control, support and normal functioning is deteriorated, 

damaged or missing. 

NOTE: All rear suspension parts including but not limited 

to control arms (upper and lower ball joints, radius or 

torque arms, stabilizer bars, and trailing arms) shall not 

have any damage or noticeable play when checked with 

hand pressure.  

18. A MacPherson strut installed on a motor vehicle is 

broken, bent, loose or does not function properly. 

NOTE: Do not reject a shock absorber or MacPherson strut 

unless there is evidence of leakage that causes the device 

not to function properly. 

19. If vehicles measured movement at top or bottom of tire 

is greater than: 

  Wheel Size: less than 17 

inches - 

1/4 inch 

    17 to 18 inches -  3/8 inch 

    over 18 inches - 1/2 inch 

  

 

  Proper lifting for wheel bearing, steering linkage looseness, 

and king pin play action 

FIGURE A FIGURE B FIGURE C 
 

NOTE: King pin play. If vehicle is equipped with king 

pins, first eliminate all wheel bearing movement by 

applying service brake. With front end lifted as illustrated 

for inspecting wheel bearings (Figure C), grasp the tire at 

the top and bottom and attempt to move it in and out to 

detect looseness. Measure the movement at the top or 

bottom of the tire at the outer circumference. 

C. Wheel bearing/steering linkage.  

Reject vehicle if any wheel bearing is excessively worn or 

not properly adjusted; any cotter key or other locking device 

is missing or inoperative. 

NOTE: Lifting techniques vary for measuring wheel 

bearing movement. On vehicles with coil spring or torsion 

bar on lower support arm - hoist at frame (Figure A). On 

vehicles with coil spring on upper support arm - hoist at 

lower support arm (Figure B). On front wheel drive 

vehicles, the inspector must consult manufacturer's lifting 

information. 

NOTE: Front wheel bearings on rear wheel drive vehicles 

or rear wheel bearings on front wheel drive vehicles. With 

vehicle lifted properly, grasp tire at top and bottom, rock in 

and out and record movement. Wheel bearing looseness is 

detected by the relative movement between the brake drum 

or disc and the braking plate or splash shield. CAUTION: 

If air suspension vehicles are hoisted via body support 

area, air spring damage may occur if the air suspension 

switch is not turned off. Reject vehicle if relative 

movement between drum and backing plate (disc and 

splash shield) is more than 1/8 inch measured at the outer 

circumference of the tire.  

CAUTION: If air suspension vehicles are hoisted via body 

support area, air spring damage may occur if the air 

suspension switch is not turned off. Reject vehicle if 

relative movement between drum and backing plate (disc 

and splash shield) is more than 1/8 inch measured at the 

outer circumference of the tire.  

D. Steering linkage play.  

1. Reject vehicle if measured movement at front or rear of 

tire is greater than: 

  Wheel Size: 16 inches or less - 1/4 inch (6.5mm) 

    17 to 18 inches-  3/8 inch (9.5mm) 

    over 18 inches - 1/2 inch (13mm) 

  

 

NOTE: First eliminate all wheel-bearing movement by 

applying service brake. With vehicle lifted as shown in the 

diagram and wheels in straight-ahead position, grasp front 

and rear of tire and attempt to move assembly right and left 

without moving the steering gear. 

2. Reject vehicle if there is noticeable play at any point in 

the steering mechanism except General Motors products. 

On General Motors products, reject vehicle if play exceeds 

factory specifications. 

3. 2.  Reject vehicle if the steering mechanism is unusually 

tight or binding when turning the steering wheel 

completely to the left or right or the steering mechanism 

will not turn in both directions stop to stop. 

4. 3. Reject vehicle if the steering stops have been removed 

or adjusted in so that steering radius is reduced. 
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E. Steering lash/travel. Reject vehicle if inspection reveals 

excessive wear and/or looseness in any ball stud, end 

assembly, pivot point, mechanical linkage and/or if steering 

gear box has any loose or missing bolts, or excessive wear, 

and/or looseness is found at any other location in the steering 

that adversely affects the steering of the vehicle. 

NOTE: For vehicles equipped with power steering, the 

engine must be running and the fluid level, belt tension and 

belt condition must be adequate before testing.  

With road wheels in straight ahead position, turn steering 

wheel until motion can be detected at the front road 

wheels. Align a reference mark on the steering wheel 

with a mark on a ruler and slowly turn steering wheel in 

the opposite direction until motion can again be detected 

at the front road wheel (see diagram). Measure lash at 

steering wheel. Special lash-checking instruments may 

be used to measure free play in inches or degrees. Such 

instruments should always be mounted and used 

according to the manufacturer's instructions. Reject 

vehicle if steering wheel movement exceeds:  

Power - 2 inches 

Manual - 3 inches 

Rack & Pinion - (Power or Manual) - 0.4 inch - see note 

NOTE: No play is permissible for Volkswagen and Audi 

vehicles - consult respective manufacturer's 

specifications. 

 

 

F. Steering lash/travel; trucks.  

NOTE: Before inspection, the vehicle must be placed on a 

smooth, dry, level surface. For vehicles equipped with 

power steering, the engine must be running and the fluid 

level, belt tension and belt condition must be adequate 

before testing. With road wheels in straight ahead position, 

turn steering wheel until motion can be detected at the 

front road wheels. Align a reference mark on steering 

wheel with a mark on a ruler and slowly turn steering 

wheel in the opposite direction until motion can be 

detected at the front road wheel. Measure lash at steering 

wheel. Special lash-checking instruments are also 

available, measuring free play in inches or degrees. Such 

instruments should always be mounted and used according 

to the manufacturer's instructions. With vehicle raised, 

visually inspect steering linkage, ball studs, tie rod end 

socket assemblies and all pivot points. 

NOTE: On vehicles with power steering, engine must be 

running. 

Reject vehicle if steering wheel movement exceeds: 

Steering Wheel Size and Lash 

 Steering wheel 

diameter 

Manual Power 

steering 

system 

Power Manual 

steering 

system 

16 inches or less 2 inches (51 

mm) 

4-1/4 inches 

(108 mm) 

18 inches 2-1/4 inches 

(57 mm) 

4-3/4 inches 

(121 mm) 

19 inches 2-3/8 inches 

(60 mm) 

5 inches (127 

mm) 

20 inches 2-1/2 inches 

(64 mm) 

5-1/4 inches 

(133 mm) 

21 inches 2-5/8 inches 

(67 mm)  

5-1/2 inches 

(140 mm) 

22 inches 2-3/4 inches 

(70 mm) 

5-3/4 inches 

(146 mm) 

G. Ball joint wear (front and rear). There is a trend among 

U.S. automobile manufacturers toward the use of "wear-

indicating" ball joints. Many vehicles on the road, however, 

do not have wear-indicating ball joints. The inspection of 

both types will be discussed. With the broadening use of rear 

suspension ball joints, their inspection shall be made in 

accordance with manufacturer's recommended procedures. 

Figures 1, 2, 3 and 4 illustrate the proper hoisting for 

checking most ball joints. On late model vehicles, it may be 

necessary to check for both horizontal and vertical movement. 

Figures 1, 2, 3 and 4 illustrate the proper hoisting for 

checking ball joints. 
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NOTE: To check ball joint wear on vehicles when the 

spring is supported on the upper control arm or when the 

spring is a part of a MacPherson strut or wear in any other 

type suspension not using ball joints when the front wheels 

are suspended on a solid axle, the vehicle must be hoisted 

as shown in Figure 1 or 2. 

NOTE: Upper control arm must be stabilized in normal 

load carrying position by means of an upper control or 

other support tool to insure ball joint is in unloaded 

position. 

NOTE: To check ball joint wear on vehicles not listed in 

above referred to section and diagram or tables when the 

spring is supported on the lower control arm; and to check 

the king pin wear in any other type suspension not 

previously described when the wheels are independently 

suspended, the vehicle must be hoisted as shown in Figure 

3 or 4. 

H. Ball joints without wear indicators (front and rear). 

1. If play is detected in any ball joint without "wear-

indicating" ball joints, it will be necessary for the 

inspection to be made in accordance with the 

manufacturer's recommended procedures and 

specifications prior to rejecting the vehicle. 

2. If there are no manufacturer's recommended procedures 

and specifications, the lower ball joints will be checked 

when hoisted as in Figures 1 or 2 of subsection G of this 

section, or in the upper ball joints when hoisted as in 

Figures 3 or 4 of subsection G of this section. There should 

be no noticeable play detected in the ball joints when 

checked in this manner. 

3. Reject vehicle if play exceeds the manufacturer's 

specifications. It is recommended that Inspectors shall use 

a dial indicator or ball joint checking gauge when checking 

for play of a ball joint, when procedures and specifications 

are provided by the manufacturer. 

I. Ball joints with wear indicators. Support vehicle with ball 

joints loaded (in normal driving attitude). Wipe grease fitting 

and checking surface free of dirt and grease. Determine if 

checking surface extends beyond the surface of the ball joint 

cover. 

Reject vehicle if checking surface is flush with or inside 

the cover surface. 

 

 

J. American Motors Pacer (only). Position vehicle on level 

surface. Remove lubrication plug from lower ball joint. 

Check lower ball joint clearance by inserting stiff wire or thin 

rod into lubrication plug hole until it contacts ball stud. 

Accurately mark rod with knife or scriber where it aligned 

with outer edge of plug hole. Distance from ball stud to outer 

edge of plug hole is ball joint clearance. Measure distance 

from mark to end of rod. (Anything less than 7/16 inch is 

acceptable.) 

Reject vehicle if distance measured is 7/16 inch or more. 

 

 

K. Chrysler front-wheel drive vehicles (lower only). With 

the weight of the vehicle resting on the road wheels, grasp the 
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grease fitting as shown below and attempt to move fitting. No 

mechanical assistance or added force is necessary. 

Reject vehicle if grease fitting shows any movement. 

 

 

19VAC30-70-120. Frame, engine mounts, coupling devices 

and emergency chains. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Frame or unitized body of any motor vehicle, trailer or 

semitrailer is broken , cracked, bent or damaged at any 

location, including any welded joint and/or is rusted or 

corroded to the point the frame is weakened as to constitute 

a hazard during the operation of the vehicle. 

2. Engine or transmission mounts and hardware is broken 

or missing. This includes all hardware bolts and bushings 

used for mounting to the vehicle's frame, engine, or 

transmission. The more common fluid-filled mounts or 

those with rubber bushings Any engine or transmission 

mount should be rejected if they allow the power train to 

come in contact with the firewall or other body parts. 

3. Trailer hitch or pintle hook is not securely attached. 

Reject if the pintle eye or trailer drawbar has any cracks or 

if any welding repairs have been made to the pintle eye. 

4. Chains, cables, etc., used to attach a towed vehicle are 

not securely attached or are broken, worn or abraded. 

5. Fifth wheel does not lock in position or have a locking 

mechanism in proper working order. 

6. Fifth wheel assembly system has any leak of fluid or air. 

7. Fifth wheel has any broken, missing, or damaged parts; 

or is not securely attached to the frame. 

8. Trailer king pin is not secure, or is broken or worn so as 

to prevent secure fit in fifth wheel. 

9. Any movement is detected at any location where any 

device has been placed between the body and the chassis. 

10. Trailer is not equipped with an emergency chain or 

steel cable. 

NOTE: Fifth wheel assembly system does not require an 

emergency chain or cable. A fifth wheel is defined as a 

device which interfaces with and couples to the upper 

coupler assembly of a semitrailer. The upper coupler 

assembly is a structure consisting of an upper coupler 

plate, king pin and supporting framework which interfaces 

with and couples to a fifth wheel. Ball and socket 

connections also referred to as hitch and coupling 

connections are not fifth wheel assemblies and do require 

an emergency chain or steel cable. 

19VAC30-70-130. Tires; wheels; rims. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any tire is marked specifically for use other than on the 

highway, such as "For Farm Use Only," or "For Off-

Highway Use Only," or "Mobile Home Use Only." 

2. A radial tire is mismatched on the same axle with a bias 

ply tire or a bias belted tire. 

3. Bias ply or bias belted tires are used on the rear axle 

when radial ply tires are used on the front axle.  

EXCEPTION: On a two-axle vehicle equipped with truck 

tires with 20-inch rim diameter and larger, bias or radial 

tires may be used on either axle if the vehicle has dual rear 

wheels or is equipped with wide-base single tires. 

4. A vehicle has installed on one of its axles any axle a 

space saver emergency spare tire that is intended for 

temporary use. 

5. Any motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer, except the dual 

wheels installed on motor vehicles having seats for more 

than seven passengers (i) operated wholly within a 

municipality or (ii) operated by urban and suburban bus 

lines, which are defined as bus lines operating over 

regularly scheduled routes and the majority of whose 

passengers use the buses for traveling a distance not 

exceeding 40 miles, measured one way, on the same day 

between their place of abode and their place of work, 

shopping areas, or schools, is equipped with a tire that has 

a tread depth measuring less than 2/32 of an inch when 

measured as follows: 

NOTE: The exemptions provided in (i) and (ii) of this 

paragraph do not apply to buses owned or operated by any 

public school district, private school or contract operator of 

buses. 

NOTE: Measure in two adjacent tread grooves where tread 

is thinnest. Refer to Figure 1. If either of the grooves 

measure 2/32 of an inch or more, no further measurements 

are necessary and tread depth is satisfactory. Do not take 

measurements from the tread wear indicators. 

6. If both adjacent grooves measure less than 2/32 of an 

inch, the tire tread depth must be measured again at two 

additional equally spaced intervals around the 

circumference of the tire in a like manner as the first 

measurement. Refer to Figure 1. If the tread depth is less 

than 2/32 of an inch in two adjacent tread grooves at each 

of the equally spaced intervals, the tire must be rejected. 
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MEASURE WHERE THE TREAD IS 

THINNEST IN TWO ADJACENT TREAD 

GROOVES 

  

 

FIGURE 1 

IF THE DEPTH IS LESS THAN 2/32-INCH 

IN BOTH GROOVES, MEASURE AT TWO 

ADDITIONAL EQUALLY SPACED 

INTERVALS 

7. A tire equipped with tread wear indicators if found to 

have such indicators in contact with the pavement in any 

two adjacent grooves at three equally spaced intervals 

around the circumference of the tire. Refer to Figure 2. 

  

 
FIGURE 2 

REJECT IF THE TREAD WEAR 

INDICATORS ARE IN CONTACT WITH THE 

PAVEMENT IN ANY TWO ADJACENT 

GROOVES AT THREE EQUALLY SPACED 

LOCATIONS 

8. Any tire has a cut or puncture into the fabric. This does 

not include a plug or patch that may be used as a manner of 

repair. 

NOTE: Plugs/patches shall be in the tread area only. 

Plugs/patches are not permitted in the sidewall of the tire. 

9. Any tire is worn so that the fabric or steel cord is visible. 

10. Any tire has knots or bulges in its sidewalls or if there 

is evidence of a broken belt under the tread, or if the tread 

is separating from the fabric. Any cracks in the sidewall 

where separation in the rubber is detected or the fabric is 

exposed, not to include fine hairline cracks.  

11. Any tire that has been recut or regrooved except 

commercial tires so designed and constructed to provide 

for acceptable and safe recutting and regrooving. 

(Regrooved tires must be identified on each sidewall as a 

regrooved tire.) 

12. Any bolts, nuts or lugs are loose, missing or damaged. 

13. Wheels are installed on the vehicle in a reversed 

position, except the wheels on vehicles that are reversed to 

perform part of a dual wheel combination. 

14. Directional tires and/or wheels designed and 

manufactured to travel in one direction of rotation are not 

properly installed. 

15. Rims or wheels are bent, cracked or damaged so as to 

affect safe operation of the vehicle. 

NOTE: Refer to subdivision 1 of 19VAC30-70-180 

(Clearance lamps and reflectors) for tires that exceed more 

than four inches from the body. 

19VAC30-70-140. Headlamps; except motorcycles. 

A. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle is not equipped with headlamps of an 

approved type. The approval designation letter that must 

appear is DOT or SAE-H, HG, HH or HR. The headlamps 

must be marked with the headlamp manufacturer's name or 

trademark, and DOT. If the headlamp bulbs are 

replaceable, the headlamp lens must be marked with the 

headlamp light source type (bulb) for which it was 

designed and the bulb must match the lens code. 

2. Headlights are not of the same approved type (Halogen, 

HID, etc.) except sealed beam headlamps. At least two 

headlamps are required. 

3. In any headlamp the lens is cracked, broken, discolored, 

or rotated away from the proper position, or the reflector is 

not clean and bright. 

NOTE: A clear plastic headlight assembly lens with a 

crack may be repaired by procedures similar to that 

required of a windshield repair. The inside reflector surface 

must be in satisfactory condition and the repair cannot 

affect the headlight aiming pattern. This repair does not 

apply to headlamps and the headlamp assembly lenses that 

are designed where the aiming pattern is part of the lens. 
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4. Moisture or water buildup in headlamp is such that it 

affects the aiming pattern. 

5. Lens is other than clear. Headlamps omit light other than 

white. Light tints of color may be acceptable if the 

headlamp and headlamp bulbs are marked as required.  

6. Bulbs are not of an approved type (must have DOT 

stamp and the manufacturer's name) or are over 32 

candlepower. (Sealed beam lamps including the ones 

which permit the use of a replacement halogen bulb are the 

only lamps approved with over 32 candlepower.) Ordinary 

lenses and reflectors were not designed for over 32 

candlepower bulbs and marked with all of the following: 

light source type, the manufacturer's name or trade mark, 

and DOT.  

NOTE: The Sylvania 9003 (HB2), 9004 (HB1), 9005 

(HB3) and 9006 (HB4) Cool Blue xenon bulbs were found 

to comply with FMVSS 108. There is a noticeable blue tint 

around the outside of the lamp pattern but the concentrated 

light is white. Only the Sylvania has approval and is 

marked with DOT.   

- Approved headlamp bulbs: HB1, HB2, HB3, HB3A, 

HB4, HB4A, HB5, H1, H3, H7, H8, H8B, H9, H9B, H11, 

H11B, H11C, H13, H13C, H15, HIR1, HIR2. 

- Approved headlamp bulbs that require ballast: 9500, 

D1R, D1S, D2R, D2S, D3R, D3S, D4R, D4S, D5S, D7S, 

D8S.  

- Approved headlamp ballasts must be marked with the 

light source type (bulb) and DOT. The bulb type marked 

on the ballast must match the marking on the headlamp 

lens. 

7. Any filament or bulb in headlamps fails to burn properly 

or headlamps are not at the same location or configuration 

as designed by manufacturer. (Location and type of 

headlamps can be found in subsection F of this section.) 

8. Wiring is dangling or connections are loose; or if proper 

filaments do not burn at different switch positions; or if 

switches, including foot or hand dimmer, do not function 

properly and are not convenient to the driver. 

9. Foreign material is placed on or in front of the headlamp 

lens or interferes with the beam from the lamp. No glazing 

may be placed over or in front of the headlamps unless it is 

a part of an approved headlamp assembly. 

a. Reject if vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic 

covers, any other materials that are not original 

equipment or any colored material placed on or in front 

of the headlamps. 

b. Vehicles registered as street rods may have clear, rigid 

plastic or glass headlamp lens covers in front of sealed 

beam units to replace original manufacturer's equipment. 

c. EXCEPTION: A clean impact film known as 

Headlight Savers produced by Grand Prix Motoring 

Accessories may be applied to the headlight lens to 

absorb impact of rocks, etc. 

10. Lamps can be moved easily by hand due to a broken 

fender or loose support, or if a good ground is not made by 

the mounting. 

11. Headlamps, auxiliary driving lamps and front fog 

lamps are not mounted so that the beams are aimable and 

the mounting does not prevent the aim of the lighting 

device from being disturbed while the vehicle is operating 

on public roads. All lamps shall be securely mounted on a 

rigid part of the vehicle. 

12. A headlamp visor is over two inches long unless part of 

the original body design. 

13. The high beam indicator in the driver's compartment 

does not burn when the high or "country" beam is on or 

does not go off when the low beam is on. (Vehicles not 

originally equipped with an indicator are not required to 

comply unless sealed beam headlamps have been 

installed.) 

B. Aiming the headlamps. 

1. Headlamps shall be checked for proper aim by using 

either an optical or a mechanical headlamp aimer on every 

motor vehicle inspected, except vehicles with on-board 

aimers. 

Headlamp aim on vehicles with on-board aimers shall be 

checked by visually examining the leveling device 

mounted either on or adjacent to the headlamp. Reject the 

vehicle if the leveling device shows the headlamp 

adjustment to exceed indicated specifications. 

NOTE: Driving lamp and fog lamps must be aimed using 

the optical aimer, according to instructions in 19VAC30-

70-160 I 10 i and 11 g (2). 

2. Headlamps are not aimed within the following 

tolerances using the optical aimer. 

a. The center of the hot spot of all single element high 

beam lamps is set more than four inches up or down from 

the horizontal centerline or more than four inches to the 

left or right from the vertical centerline. 

b. The left edge of the lamp pattern of any low beam 

lamp or any combination or multi-element lamp is more 

than four inches to the left or right of the vertical 

centerline or the top edge of the lamp pattern is more 

than four inches above or below the horizontal centerline 

when checked on low beam.  

C. Optical aimer. 

1. Approved optical headlamp machines may shall be used 

to properly aim any of the all headlamps, except vehicles 

with on-board aimers. Optical aimers must be properly 

calibrated and used in the manner recommended by the 

manufacturer. 
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The optical headlamp machine must be aligned to the 

vehicle in accordance with the manufacturer's 

specifications. 

2. When aiming headlamps, first look for the type of lamp, 

which will be found embossed on the lens. The type 

determines which aiming requirements must be followed 

for the optical aimer. 

3. All low beam or combination/multi-element headlamps 

must be set by aiming the lamp pattern with the lamps set 

on low beam. 

NOTE: If attempting to align a composite or sealed beam 

lamp with a high and low beam within the same housing, 

align only the low beam. If aligning a four-lamp system 

with high and low beams in separate housings, it may be 

necessary to cover the low beam while aligning the high 

beam, if all four lamps are on at the same time. 

4. Pattern should be aimed so that the left edge does not 

extend to the left or right of straight ahead, and the top of 

the pattern should be even with the horizontal. 

Pattern "A" represents the light pattern as it should appear 

on the view screen of the approved aimer when checking 

the low-beam pattern on a single element headlamp or a 

combination multielement multi-element headlamp. 

 

5. All VOL and VOR headlamps will be aimed as follows: 

To properly aim a combination multi-element or low-

beam VOL or VOR headlamp assembly, the headlamp 

pattern should be aimed on low beam only. 

Letters marked on the headlamp cover should properly 

identify VOL and VOR headlamps. 

NOTE: VOL and VOR headlamps will normally have 

only one adjustment, which will be for the vertical aim 

only. The horizontal aim should be disregarded, as the 

horizontal aim is preset at the factory. 

6. All single element high beam headlamps shall be set by 

aiming the center of the hot spot with the lamps set on high 

beam. 

7. Aim straight ahead-center of the hot spot should be 

centered with the vertical and horizontal centerlines. 

Pattern "B" represents the light pattern as it should appear 

on the view screen of the approved aimers. 

 

8. When lamp pairs are mounted horizontally, the low 

beam lamp must be on the outer side and when mounted 

vertically, the low beam lamp must be at the higher 

position in the pair. 

9. The four headlamp system must be wired so that only 

the lower beam lamp will burn when the light beams are 

depressed. When switched to high beams, both high beam 

and low beam may burn. 

The "F" type halogen headlamp 1986 (LF-UF) of the four 

headlamp system will function in the following manner: 

system must be used so the low beam does not burn with 

the high beam. 

D. Mechanical aimers. 

1. Mechanical aimers can be used to aim only those 

headlamps that have "aiming" pads molded into the lens. 

2. Mechanical aimers must be properly calibrated and used 

with the proper adapter recommended by the manufacturer. 

(The adapter setting will be embossed on the face of some 

lamps.) 

3. Turn on headlamps and check all filaments-both high 

and low beam. Turn off headlamps before checking for 

adjustments. Do not turn on headlamps while mechanical 

aimers are attached to the headlamp. 

4. All headlamps that are found not to be within the four-

inch tolerance shall be adjusted to zero inches up or down 

and zero inches to the right or left. 

E. D. Headlamps on vehicles used for snow removal. 

Approved auxiliary headlamps may be mounted above the 

conventional headlamps. (These lamps must be in compliance 

with this section in its entirety, subdivision 7 of 19VAC30-

70-150, and subdivision 1 of 19VAC30-70-170.) 

F. E. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Lamps are not an approved type headlamps (DOT or 

SAE-H or HH) as previously indicated in section A 6. 
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2. Lamps are not mounted in a manner that will permit 

proper aiming. 

3. Lamps are mounted so as to obstruct the driver's vision. 

4. The auxiliary headlamp circuit does not contain a switch 

that will deactivate the primary headlamp system when the 

auxiliary headlamps are in use. 

5. Auxiliary headlamps are not aimed in accordance with 

the provisions of subdivision B 2 of this section. 

6. Headlamps are not wired in accordance with the 

provisions of subdivision C 8 of this section. 

NOTE: Light patterns shown in the following diagram will 

be displayed on the most recently approved light machines 

produced by Hopkins and Symtech Corporations. 

HEADLAMP PATTERNS 

 

 

 

  

NOTE: Always inspect the following sealed beam and 

replaceable bulb and integral beam headlamps on LOW 

BEAM only: 

- 5-3/4 inch, marked 2, 2C, or 2C1 

- 7 inch, marked 2, 2D, or 2D1 

- 100 X 165mm rectangular, marked 2A, 2A1, or 2E1, 

2G1 or 2H1  

- 200 X 142mm rectangular, marked 2B or 2B1  

- Replaceable bulb headlamp, marked LF with 9004 

(HB1)  

- 92 X 160mm rectangular, marked LF  

- Replaceable bulb headlamps with 9006 (HB4) alone or 

in combination with 9005 (HB3)  

- 55 X 135mm rectangular, marked L  

- Integral beam headlamp when high and low beam 

reflectors move together.  

19VAC30-70-150. Rear lamps: tail lamp; license plate 

lamps; and rear lamp combinations. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle is not equipped with a rear (tail lamp) or rear 

lamp combination of an approved type or light assembly 

does not work as designed by the manufacturer. The 
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approval designation letters that must appear are DOT or 

SAE-A-I-S-T-P for single lamps, DOT or SAE-A-I-S-T-P-

R with a backup light, DOT or SAE-A-I-S-T-P-P2-R with 

a wrap around side-marker lamp and backup light.  

2. The vehicle is equipped with more than one rear lamp, if 

all are not in operating condition. 

3. The vehicle is not equipped with a license plate lamp of 

an approved type (DOT or SAE-L) that emits a white light. 

The license plate lamp may be a separate lamp or part of a 

combination rear lamp. 

4. License plate lamp is not illuminated by an approved 

license plate lamp that admits a white light. 

5. Lens on rear lamps, or lens area in combination rear 

lamps (tail lamps) are not red or contain a dot of another 

color. LED (light emitting light-emitting diode) lights with 

a clear lens are acceptable if of an approved type. For those 

vehicles that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not 

filament burning filament-burning bulbs), they will pass 

inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 

burning. 

NOTE: Replacement tail lamps, commonly sold as "clear" 

tail lamps or "Euro-Tail" lamps will not pass inspection if 

the red lamps and reflectors are replaced with clear ones or 

the tail lamps are missing the side red marker lamps or 

reflectors. 

6. Lens has piece broken from it or does not fit properly. 

The lens may have one or more cracks provided an off-

color light does not project through the crack or cracks. 

NOTE: Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not allowed 

permitted. 

7. Filament in all rear (tail) lamps does not burn when 

headlamp switch is turned on to any position, or if lamps 

do not provide a red light visible to the rear through an 

approved red lens as annotated in subdivision 1 of this 

section. If it is a rear lamp combination incorporated with a 

wrap around side-marker light, then the side-marker lens 

must be red and not a clear lens with a red bulb. If the bulb, 

socket and wiring are removed from the side-marker 

lamps, then they will not be considered during the 

inspection. 

8. Rear (tail) lamp is not mounted near extreme rear of 

vehicle. Dump trucks and other specially constructed 

vehicles may mount the rear lamp at a point other than on 

the extreme rear, provided such rear lamp is clearly visible 

from the rear, and further provided that a red reflector of an 

approved type is mounted on the extreme rear. In unusual 

cases, the rear lamp may be mounted on the cab. Reject if 

the lamp is hidden by a bolster or other part of the body or 

frame, is not mounted securely, or if the lamp does not 

make a good electrical contact. 

9. The vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic covers, 

any other materials that are not original equipment or any 

colored material placed on or in front of rear lamps, license 

plate lamps and rear lamp combinations. 

10. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

NOTE: Every trailer shall carry at the rear two red tail 

lights of a type approved by the Superintendent 

superintendent. 

19VAC30-70-160. Auxiliary lamps: backup; cornering; 

driving; fog; spot and warning. 

A. Auxiliary lamps on a vehicle consist of seven general 

types: backup lamps (SAE-R), cornering lamps (SAE-K), 

driving lamps (SAE-Y), front fog lamps with an amber or 

clear lens (SAE-F and rear fog lamps with red lens (SAE-F2), 

spot lamps (SAE-O), warning lamps (SAE-W, W2, W3), and 

daytime running lamps (DRLs) (SAE-Y2). 

B. School buses may be equipped with an eight-lamp 

warning system of two red and two amber warning lamps of 

an approved type (SAE-W2) on the front and rear of such 

vehicle. 

1. School buses may also be equipped with roof mounted 

roof-mounted flashing white or amber warning lamps of an 

approved type (SAE-W2). 

2. In addition to required warning lamps, school buses may 

be equipped with a stop signal arm consisting of an 

octagonal sign which meets FMVSS specifications 

(Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, 49 CFR Part 

571). The stop signal arm shall be reflectorized or be 

equipped with two red warning lamps of an approved type. 

C. There is no limit on the number of backup lamps that a 

vehicle may have so long as they are of an approved type 

(SAE-R). 

D. No more than four lamps, including two headlamps, may 

be lighted at any time to provide general illumination ahead 

of the vehicle. 

E. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) blue or blue and red 

lights are permitted on Department of Corrections vehicles 

designated by the Director of the Department of Corrections 

and any law-enforcement vehicle. 

1. Approved type secondary warning lights installed only 

on the four corners, on law-enforcement vehicles, 

Department of Corrections, fire apparatus, government-

owned vehicle operated on official business by a local fire 

chief or other local fire official, rescue squad vehicle, 

ambulance, or any other emergency medical vehicles. 

These lights shall also have primary warning lights 

installed. 

2. The hide-away or undercover strobe lights shall be 

installed in the side marker lights, tail lights or parking 

lights. The strobe itself must be clear and the lens color 

must continue to be the same type and color as originally 

approved. It will not be permissible to install the hide-away 

lights in the headlights or in the backup lights. 
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3. Approved type (SAE-W) red warning lights or red and 

white lights showing to the front are permitted on fire 

department vehicles, including publicly owned publicly-

owned state forest warden vehicles, ambulances, any 

rescue vehicle used for emergency calls, local departments 

department of emergency management, animal warden 

vehicles, school buses and vehicles used by security 

personnel at the Newport News Shipbuilding and Drydock 

Company, Bassett-Walker, Incorporated, the Tultex 

Corporation, the Winchester Medical Center, or the 

National Aeronautics and Space Administration's Wallops 

Flight Facility. 

4. No more than two flashing or steady-burning red lights 

or red and white combination lights of an approved type 

(SAE-W) may be installed on one vehicle owned by any 

member of a fire company department, volunteer fire 

company or volunteer rescue squad, any ambulance driver 

employed by a privately owned privately-owned 

ambulance service, and any police chaplain. 

F. Vehicles mentioned in subsection E of this section 

permitted to be equipped with flashing, blinking or 

alternating red, red and white, blue, or blue and red 

emergency lights (except vehicles owned by any member of a 

fire company department, volunteer fire company, volunteer 

rescue squad or any ambulance driver employed by a 

privately owned privately-owned ambulance service) may be 

equipped with the means to flash their headlamps when their 

emergency warning lamps are activated provided: 

1. The headlamps are wired to allow either the upper beam 

or lower beam to flash but not both. 

2. The headlamp system includes a switch or device which 

prevents flashing of headlamps when headlamps are 

required to be lighted pursuant to current statute. 

3. Emergency vehicles in Chesapeake, Poquoson, and York 

County may be equipped with flashing headlights that will 

function whenever their warning lights are activated. 

G. Any fire-fighting vehicle used exclusively for fire 

fighting, any ambulance or rescue or lifesaving vehicle used 

for the principal purpose of emergency relief or any wrecker 

used for the principal purpose of towing disabled vehicles, 

ambulance, rescue or life-saving vehicle, Virginia 

Department of Transportation vehicle, or tow truck may be 

equipped with clear auxiliary lamps which shall be used 

exclusively for lighting emergency scenes. Such lamps shall 

be of a type permitted by the superintendent. Any 

government-owned police vehicle may be equipped with clear 

auxiliary lamps of a type approved by the superintendent. 

H. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used for the 

principal purpose of towing or servicing disabled vehicles or 

in constructing, maintaining and repairing highways or 

utilities on or along public highways and vehicles used for the 

principal purpose of removing hazardous or polluting 

substances from the state waters or drainage areas on or along 

public highways. Such lamps are permitted on vehicles used 

for servicing automatic teller machines, refuse collection 

vehicles, hi-rail vehicles and on vehicles used for towing or 

escorting over-dimensional materials, equipment, boats, or 

manufactured housing units by authority of highway hauling 

permit. 

1. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on fire apparatus, 

government-owned vehicles operated on official business 

by a local fire chief or other local fire official, rescue squad 

vehicles, ambulances, and any other emergency medical 

vehicles to be equipped with alternating blinking or 

flashing red, or red and white secondary lights mounted 

inside the vehicle's tail lights or marker lights. 

2. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on vehicles owned and used 

by municipal safety officers in the performance of their 

official duties, businesses providing security services and 

vehicles used to collect and deliver the United States mail, 

vehicles used by law-enforcement personnel in the 

enforcement of laws governing motor vehicle parking, 

government owned government-owned law-enforcement 

vehicles provided the lights are used for giving directional 

warning and vehicles used to provide escort for funeral 

processions. 

3. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used as pace 

cars, security vehicles, or fire-fighting vehicles by any 

speedway or motor vehicle race track. 

4. An approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating light may be mounted on the rear of any vehicle 

used to transport petroleum products. The light must be 

wired through the reverse gear circuit and activate in 

conjunction with the back-up lights and audible alarm. 

5. An approved type (SAE-W) green warning light is 

permitted on vehicles used by police, fire-fighting, or 

rescue personnel as command centers at the scene of 

incidents. Such lights shall not be activated while the 

vehicle is operating upon the highway. 

I. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Vehicle has an auxiliary lamp being used for a purpose 

other than for which it was approved. 

EXCEPTION: Any lighting device that is both covered and 

not illuminated, other than lamps required, shall not be 

considered for inspection. Fog and driving lamps mounted 

below the level of the regular headlamps must be checked 

for aim as outlined in subdivisions I 10 i and 11 g of this 

section if not covered. 

NOTE: The covers shall be a type that would be installed 

as original equipment and not tape, paper bags, aluminum 

foil or similar materials per subdivision I 11g (2). 
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2. A vehicle has installed on it a warning lamp (DOT or 

SAE-W) that is not of an approved type or has been 

altered. 

Reject if the vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic 

covers, any other materials that are not original equipment 

or any colored material placed on or in front of any 

auxiliary lamps: backup, cornering, driving, fog, spot, or 

warning lamps. 

3. Vehicle is equipped with a combination of auxiliary 

lamps that include more than two fog lamps, or more than 

two spot lamps, or more than two driving lamps. Motor 

vehicles may be equipped with more than two fog or 

auxiliary lights; however, only two of these types of lights 

can be illuminated at any time. Reject a vehicle equipped 

with a headlamp mounted or used as an auxiliary lamp. 

NOTE: Vehicles equipped, from the factory, with two 

driving lamps should not be rejected. 

4. Vehicle is equipped with an auxiliary lamp that does not 

function properly. (If an auxiliary lamp has been modified 

by removing the wiring, bulb and socket, the unit will be 

considered an ornament and not a lamp and will not be 

considered in inspection.) 

5. Vehicle is equipped with a lighted advertising sign, 

except commercial motor vehicles, buses operated as 

public carriers, taxicabs, and privately owned privately-

owned passenger cars used for home delivery of 

commercially prepared food. Commercial motor vehicles, 

buses operated as public carriers, and taxicabs may be 

equipped with vacant and destination signs and one steady 

burning white light for the nighttime illumination of 

external advertising. Privately owned Privately-owned 

passenger cars used for home delivery of commercially 

prepared food may be equipped with one steady burning 

white light for the nighttime illumination of a sign 

identifying the business delivering the food. Do not reject 

approved identification lights. 

6. Any lamp is not of an approved type or if lamps to be 

burned together as a pair do not emit the same color light. 

7. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 

one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack or cracks. 

8. Backup lamps are not required. However, if installed 

they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-R) 

or a lamp has been altered; 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn; 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 

one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack or cracks; 

d. Lens is other than clear. LED (light emitting light-

emitting diode) lights with a clear lens are acceptable, if 

of an approved type. For those vehicles that are equipped 

with a multiple LED light (not filament burning filament-

burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 

50% of the diode lights are burning; 

e. Lamps are not wired into the reverse gear or an 

independent circuit. 

9. Cornering lamps are not required. However, if installed 

they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-K) 

or a lamp has been altered; 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn; 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 

one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack or cracks; 

d. The color of the light is other than clear or amber; 

e. The lamps do not burn in conjunction with the turn 

signals. 

10. Driving lamps are not required. However, if installed 

they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Driving lamps are installed on vehicles equipped with 

the four-headlamp system, except the "F" type headlamp 

system; 

b. A vehicle is equipped with more than two driving 

lamps; 

c. Driving lamps are not of an approved type or have 

been altered; 

d. The color of the lamp is other than white; 

e. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 

from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 

cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack or cracks; 

f. Wiring or electrical connections are defective; 

g. Any driving lamp is mounted above the level of the 

regular headlamps, or is not mounted firmly to prevent 

excessive vibration; 

h. Driving lamps are not wired so that they will burn only 

when the high beams of the regular headlamps are 

activated; 

i. Driving lamps are not aimed so that the center of the 

hot spot drops three inches in 25 feet so that the hot spot 

is directly ahead of the lamp; 

NOTE: Driving lamps must be aimed using the optical 

headlight aimer. A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is 

allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical 

adjustment. 
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11. Fog lamps are not required. However, if installed they 

must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. A vehicle is equipped with more than two fog lamps A 

vehicle may be equipped with more than two fog lamps; 

however, not more than two fog lamps can be illuminated 

at any time; 

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-F on 

front or F2 on rear plus two-digit year and manufacturer) 

or a lamp has been altered;  

c. The lens is other than clear or amber. Fog lamps may 

have black-end bulbs or small metal caps over the end of 

the bulb; 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 

from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 

cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack or cracks; 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn; 

f. Any fog lamp is mounted above the level of the regular 

headlamps, or is not mounted firmly; 

g. Lamps are not wired and aimed according to the 

following instructions: 

(1) Fog lamps are general illumination lamps as covered 

in subsection A of this section. They must burn through 

the tail light circuit even if on a separate switch. If 

installed on a vehicle with a four-headlamp system, or a 

vehicle equipped with driving lamps, they must be wired 

into the low beam circuit. 

(2) Fog lamps must be aimed so that the top edge of the 

high intensity zone is set at the horizontal centerline and 

the left edge of the high intensity zone is set at the 

vertical centerline. (Same as low beam headlights.) 

NOTE: Fog lamps must be aimed using the optical 

headlight aimer. A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is 

allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical 

adjustment. 

12. Spot lamps are not required; however, if installed they 

must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Vehicle is equipped with more than two spot lamps; 

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-O) 

or a lamp has been altered; 

c. The lens in any spot lamp is other than clear; 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 

from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 

cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack or cracks; 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

13. Daytime Running Lamps (DRLs) are not required. 

However, if installed they must operate and be inspected. 

DRLs must be installed in pairs. 

NOTE: DRLs may or may not be wired into the tail light 

circuit. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Any lamp, except headlamps, used as DRLs if not an 

approved type (SAE-Y2) and is not marked "DRL"; 

b. Fog lamps or parking lamps are used as DRLs; 

c. More than one pair of lamps is used and/or designated 

as DRLs; 

d. A DRL is mounted higher than 34 inches measured to 

the center of the lamp; 

e. The color is other than white to amber; 

f. DRLs do not deactivate when the headlamps are in any 

"on" position. 

Any DRL optically combined with a turn signal or hazard 

lamp must deactivate when the turn signal or hazard lamp 

is activated and then reactivate when the turn signal or 

hazard lamp deactivates. 

19VAC30-70-170. Parking lamps. 

A. Parking lamps are not required; however, if installed they 

must operate and be inspected. Parking lamps may burn in 

conjunction with the headlamps. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-P) or a 

lamp has been altered; 

NOTE: The clear lens lights between the headlamps and 

the red lens lights between tail lamps on various vehicles 

are approved parking lamps and must work if not rendered 

inoperative by removing the bulb, socket and wiring from 

each individual lamp. 

2. Parking lamps have other than white or amber lenses 

showing to the front. If the lens is clear, then the bulb shall 

be amber; 

3. Parking lamps do not burn with the rear lamps; 

4. If lens has a piece broken from it. Lens may have one or 

more cracks provided no off-color light projects through 

the crack or cracks; 

5. Reject if the vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic 

covers, any other materials which are not original 

equipment or any colored material placed on or in front of 

the parking lamps; 

6. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

7. LED (light emitting light-emitting diode) lights with a 

clear lens are acceptable if of an approved type. For those 

vehicles that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not 

filament burning filament-burning bulbs), they will pass 
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inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 

burning. 

19VAC30-70-180. Clearance lamps, side marker lamps, 

and reflectors. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer or other vehicle is 

not equipped with clearance lamps if the vehicle is over 

seven feet wide or if any portion extends four inches or 

more outside the front fender line. 

NOTE: See 19VAC30-70-550 for vehicles exceeding 

10,000 GVWR. 

When a motor vehicle with a trailer attached is presented, 

the combination may be considered as one unit in meeting 

this requirement. If presented separately, the individual 

unit must meet these requirements. 

2. Lamps (DOT or SAE-P2, P3 or PC), PC, or PC2) or 

reflectors (DOT or SAE-A or B) are not of an approved 

type or a lamp has been altered. 

If the lamps or reflectors have Reject if the vehicle has 

wire, unapproved lens or plastic covers, any other materials 

that are not original equipment or any colored material 

placed on or in front of lamps or reflectors. 

3. Lenses on lamps on the front are not amber and lenses 

on lamps on the rear are not red or if a lens has a piece 

broken from it. A lens may have one or more cracks 

provided an off-color light does not project through the 

crack or cracks. 

NOTE: LED (light emitting light-emitting diode) lights 

with a clear lens are acceptable if of an approved type. For 

those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple LED light 

(not filament burning filament-burning bulbs), they will 

pass inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 

burning. 

4. Wiring or electrical connections are defective, all 

filaments do not burn. 

5. Two amber lamps are not mounted on the front and two 

red lamps on the rear, so as to indicate the extreme width 

of the body, and as high on the permanent body as 

practical, except that approved 180 degree lamps with 

yellow or amber lens may be mounted on the side of the 

vehicle at or as near the front as possible, or if the front is 

not the widest portion, the lamps may be installed on the 

side and as near that point as possible. And with the further 

exception that 180 degree lamps with red lens may be 

mounted on the side of the vehicle at or as near the rear as 

possible or if the rear is not the widest portion of the 

vehicle, the lamps may be installed on the side as near that 

point as possible. 

6. Any vehicle equipped with three red identification lamps 

with the lamp centers spaced not less than six inches or 

more than 12 inches apart and installed as close as 

practicable to the top of the vehicle and as close as 

practicable to the vertical centerline of the vehicle may 

have the rear dimension or marker clearance lamps 

required by subdivision 5 of this section, mounted at any 

height but indicate as nearly as practicable the extreme 

width of the vehicle. 

NOTE: Other specially constructed vehicles may be 

equipped with the required clearance lamps not mounted 

on the extreme rear, provided such red lamps are clearly 

visible from the rear and provided further that two red 

reflectors of an approved type are mounted on the extreme 

rear. In unusual cases the rear lamp may be mounted on the 

cab and another red reflex reflector placed on the extreme 

rear. 

NOTE: In addition to the required clearance lamps 

showing to the front and to the rear, a vehicle may be 

equipped with clearance side marker lamps on the side of 

the vehicle. When such an installation is used, all of the 

clearance lamps on the side except the one at or near the 

rear must have an amber lens. The clearance side marker 

lamps on the side at or near the rear must have a red lens. 

7. Any vehicle covered by subdivision 1 of this section, 

except school buses, is not equipped with amber reflectors 

on the sides as near the front as practical, and red reflectors 

on the rear. The reflectors must be at least 15 inches and 

not more than 60 inches from the ground. No reflector can 

have a piece broken from its reflective surface, but may 

have one or more cracks. 

8. Any combination of vehicles whose actual length 

exceeds 35 feet if the vehicles are not wide enough to have 

require clearance lights, if the vehicle is not equipped with 

reflex reflectors of a type approved by the superintendent 

and mounted on the widest part of the towed vehicle so as 

to be visible from the front and sides of the vehicle. No 

reflector can have a piece broken from its reflective 

surface, but may have one or more cracks. 

9. Any passenger vehicle is equipped with clearance lamps, 

unless such lamps are used to mark the extreme width of 

the vehicle or used as taxicab identification, or used as 

supplemental turn signals. (See 19VAC30-70-190 B.) 

10. Vehicles so constructed as to make compliance with 

the requirements of subdivisions 1, 5, 7, 9, and 10 of this 

section impractical will be equipped with clearance lamps 

and reflectors at the most practical location to provide 

maximum visibility. 

11. Any vehicle is not equipped with two front side marker 

lights (amber) and two rear side marker lights (red). 

12. Any vehicle is not equipped with two front side 

reflectors (amber), two rear side reflectors (red), and two 

reflectors mounted on the rear (red). 



Regulations 

Volume 28, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 30, 2012 

1900 

 

  

If equipped 

with three red 

identification 

lamps, the 

required 

clearance lamps 

may be 

mounted at any 

height so long 

as they 

indicate, as 

nearly as 

practicable, the 

extreme width 

of the vehicle. 

 

 

 

 
NOTE: Must 

be equipped 

with three 

red 

identification 

lamps 

  

ILLUSTRATIONS FOR PROPER INSTALLATION OF 

REFLECTORS 

 

 

 

 

At least 15 inches 

and not more than 60 

inches from the 

ground. 

  

  

  Amber Reflector   

 

 

 

 
Red Reflectors: At 

least 15 inches and not 

more than 60 inches 

from the ground. 

  

  

19VAC30-70-190. Signal device (intention to stop or turn), 

hazard lights, stop lamp. 

A. Any motor vehicle may be equipped with a switch that 

will permit all turn signal lamps to flash simultaneously. 

B. Supplemental turn signals, properly wired into the turn 

signal circuit, may be installed. These may be either approved 

type turn signals or clearance lamps. 

C. Single face lamps are permissible on the front, except 

tractor units shall be equipped with two-faced lamps mounted 

on the front fenders or on or near the front of the vehicle. 

D. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Motor vehicle, or trailer, except an antique vehicle not 

originally equipped with a stop lamp, is not equipped with 

at least one stop lamp of an approved type (DOT or SAE-

S) that automatically exhibits a red or amber lens light to 

the rear when the brake pedal is actuated; 

2. Every passenger car manufactured for the 1986 or 

subsequent model year and multipurpose passenger 

vehicle, truck, or bus whose overall width is less than 80 

inches, manufactured September 1, 1993, and subsequent 

model year is not equipped with a supplemental center 

high mount stop lamp of an approved type (DOT or SAE-

U, U1 or U2) mounted at the vertical centerline of the 

vehicle which functions only in cooperation with the 

vehicle's stop lamps, brake lights and hazard lights. Any 

other vehicle on which a supplemental center high mount 

stop lamp is mounted shall have the lamp mounted at the 

vertical center line of the vehicle. The lamps shall be of an 

approved type and shall function only in conjunction with 

the stop lamps. The high mount stop lamp must be steady 

burning and not wired to flash with turn signals or other 

wig-wag device. 

"Multipurpose passenger vehicle" means any motor vehicle 

that is (i) designed to carry no more than 10 persons and 

(ii) constructed either on a truck chassis or with special 

features for occasional off-road use. 

NOTE: Camper shells and/or other items that may be 

temporarily carried on or attached to multipurpose vehicles 

will not be considered during inspection of the equipped 

with a center high mount stop lamp, provided the lamp 

continues to function as designed must be in good working 

order. 

NOTE: Multipurpose passenger vehicles with an overall 

width of 80 or more inches or GVWR of 10,000 pounds or 

more are not required to be equipped with a center high 

mount stop light; 

No sticker or other foreign material shall be affixed to the 

vehicle in such a manner so as to obscure the center high 

mount stop lamp; 

3. Proper signals do not go on with each throw of the 

switch or if stop signals do not go on with slightest 

pressure on the brake pedal. Turn signals may flash-stop 

flash, however stop signals may not flash except when the 

vehicle is equipped with a brake warning system or device 

which will cause the brake lights to flash when the vehicle 

is in motion but committed to an emergency or panic stop; 
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4. Motor vehicle was manufactured after January 1, 1955, 

and is not equipped with approved signaling devices (SAE-

I); 

5. Vehicle is not equipped with a turn signal if such signal 

is not working properly or does not continue to function in 

the same manner as when it was originally manufactured. 

(The turn signal switch shall lock in place when positioned 

for a left turn or a right turn, and the turn signal indicators 

must function. Do not reject a vehicle if the self-cancelling 

mechanism in the switch does not function when the 

steering wheel is rotated.); 

6. Switch is not convenient to the driver and not of an 

approved type; 

7. Any vehicle so constructed so as to prevent the operator 

from making a hand and arm signal, if such vehicle is not 

equipped with an approved type signaling device; 

8. Turn signal lens is not clear or amber to the front, or red 

or amber to the rear. Lens or bulb color has been altered or 

modified. If the turn signal lens is clear, then the bulb shall 

be amber. 

NOTE: The pink color lens found on 1998 and 1999 

Honda Accords emit the proper color light (amber) when 

the lamp is activated. There may be other manufacturers 

using the same configuration and are not in violation of the 

Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards; 

9. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

NOTE: LED (light emitting light-emitting diode) lights 

with a clear lens are acceptable if of an approved type. For 

those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple LED light 

(not filament burning filament-burning bulbs), they will 

pass inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 

burning; 

10. Lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have one 

or more cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack(s). 

NOTE: No repairs shall be effected like taping Tapping or 

gluing cracks or pieces is not permitted. 

11. The hazard warning signal operating unit does not 

operate independently of the ignition or equivalent switch 

and when activated cause all turn signals to flash 

simultaneously. 

NOTE: They are deemed not to be installed if none of the 

lights burn or flash when the switch is activated and the 

hazard warning signal flasher unit has been removed; 

12. Device is not mounted near the rear for rear signals or 

near the front for front signals (except supplemental turn 

signals) or if the signal is hidden by a bolster or other part 

of body chassis; 

13. All "Class A" signals are not mounted at least three feet 

apart. (This does not apply to the combination rear signal 

device.) However, signal lamps that are mounted as far 

apart as practical inside and at the rear of the frame so as to 

be properly visible will meet inspection requirements; 

14. Any vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic 

covers, any other materials that are not original equipment 

or any colored material placed on or in front of the signal 

device (intention to stop or turn), hazard lights or stop 

lamp. 

19VAC30-70-200. Permissible lighting equipment. 

A. Any vehicle may be equipped with: 

1. Running board or courtesy lamps, of not over six 

candlepower. 

2. Vacant or destination signs, if a taxicab or bus. 

3. Identification lamps of approved type (SAE -P2 or P-3). 

4. Interior lights, of not more than 15 candlepower. 

Exception: This does not apply to alternating, blinking or 

flashing colored emergency lights mounted inside law 

enforcement law-enforcement vehicles or flashing shielded 

red or red and white lights, mounted inside vehicles owned 

by members of volunteer fire companies, volunteer rescue 

squads or owned or used by professional firefighters, or 

police chaplains. Also, this does not apply to fire-fighting 

vehicles equipped with map lights. 

5. Hood ornament light if of an approved type or permitted 

by the Superintendent superintendent. 

6. Any approved lamp in good working order when used 

for the purpose for which it was approved. 

B. Side marker lamps are not required. If installed they must 

operate and be inspected. If the bulb, socket and wiring are 

removed from an individual lamp unit, the unit will not be 

considered during inspection. This does not include 

wraparound tail/marker lamp assembly/lens, which is 

intended to perform multiple functions. 

C. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-P2 or 

P3), or do not comply with subdivision 1 of this section; 

2. Lamps are not installed on the permanent structure of 

the vehicle with one as far to the rear and one as far 

forward as practicable and at a location which is not less 

than 15 inches above the road surface when measured from 

the center of the lamp; 

3. Lamps installed on the side to the rear do not have a red 

approved lens (SAE-P2). Lamps installed on the side of the 

front do not have a clear or amber approved lens (SAE-P2) 

so as to project an amber light. If the approved lens on the 

front side is clear, then the bulb shall be a DOT-approved 

amber bulb; 

4. Lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have one 

or more cracks provided no off-color light projects through 

the crack(s); 

5. Any vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic covers, 

any other materials which are not original equipment or 
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any colored material placed on or in front of permissible 

lighting equipment; 

6. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

7. LED (light emitting light-emitting diode) lights with a 

clear lens are acceptable if of an approved type. For those 

vehicles that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not 

filament burning filament-burning bulbs), they will pass 

inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 

burning. 

19VAC30-70-210. Glass and glazing. 

A. Motor vehicles may be inspected without windshields, 

side glasses, or any kind of glazing, except that any motor 

vehicle other than a motorcycle that was manufactured, 

assembled, or reconstructed after July 1, 1970, must be 

equipped with a windshield. If glass or other glazing is 

installed, it must be inspected. If no windshield is installed, 

see 19VAC30-70-50 C for location of the sticker. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle manufactured or assembled after 

January 1, 1936, or any bus, taxicab or school bus 

manufactured or assembled after January 1, 1935, is not 

equipped throughout with safety glass, or other safety 

glazing material. (This requirement includes slide-in 

campers used on pickups or trucks, caps, or covers used on 

pickup trucks, motor homes, and vans.) 

2. Any safety glass or glazing used in a motor vehicle is 

not of an approved type and properly identified (DOT and 

AS-1, AS-2, or AS-3) (refer to approved equipment 

section). (Replacement safety glass installed in any part of 

a vehicle other than the windshield need not bear a 

trademark or name, provided the glass consists of two or 

more sheets of glass separated by a glazing material, and 

provided the glass is cut from a piece of approved safety 

glass, and provided the edge of the glass can be observed.) 

NOTE: A number of 1998 and 1999 model year Ford 

Contour/Mystique, Econoline and Ranger vehicles were 

produced without the AS-1 windshield marking as required 

by FMVSS #205. Ford has certified that these vehicles' 

windshields meet all performance standards and will not be 

rejected. 

3. Any glass at any location where glass is used is cracked 

or broken so that it is likely to cut or injure a person in the 

vehicle. 

4. Windshield has any cloudiness more than three inches 

above the bottom, one inch inward from the outer borders, 

one inch down from the top, or one inch inward from the 

center strip. The bottom of the windshield shall be defined 

as the point where the top of the dash contacts the 

windshield. 

5. Any distortion or obstruction that interferes with a 

driver's vision; any alteration that has been made to a 

vehicle that obstructs the driver's clear view through the 

windshield. This may include but is not limited to large 

objects hanging from the inside mirror, CB radios or 

tachometers on the dash, hood scoops and other 

ornamentation on or in front of the hood that is not 

transparent. 

a. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 

manufactured for the year 1990 or earlier model year 

cannot exceed 2-1/4 inches high at its highest point 

measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 

windshield. 

b. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 

manufactured for the 1991 or subsequent model year 

cannot exceed 1-1/8 inches high at its highest point 

measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 

windshield. 

6. Windshield glass, on the driver's side, has any scratch 

more than 1/4 inch in width and six inches long within the 

area covered by the windshield wiper blade, excluding the 

three inches above the bottom of the windshield. A 

windshield wiper that remains parked within the driver's 

side windshield wiper area shall be rejected. 

EXCEPTION: Do not reject safety grooves designed to 

clean wiper blades if the grooves do not extend upward 

from the bottom of the windshield more than six inches at 

the highest point. 

7. There is a pit, chip, or star crack larger than 1-1/2 inches 

in diameter at any location in the windshield above the 

three-inch line at the bottom. 

8. At any location in the windshield above the three-inch 

line at the bottom (as measured from the junction of the 

dash board and the windshield) there is more than one 

crack from the same point if at least one of the cracks is 

more than 1-1/2 inches in length. There is any crack that 

weakens the windshield so that one piece may be moved in 

relation to the other. (If there is more than one crack 

running from a star crack that extends above the three-inch 

line, the windshield shall be rejected.) 

EXCEPTION: Windshield repair is a viable option to 

windshield replacement. A windshield that has been 

repaired will pass inspection unless: 

a. It is likely to cut or injure a person. 

b. There is any distortion that interferes with a driver's 

vision. 

c. The windshield remains weakened so that one piece 

may be moved in relation to the other. 

d. The integrity of the windshield has obviously been 

compromised by the damage or the repair.  

9. Any sticker is on the windshield other than an official 

one required by law or permitted by the Superintendent 

superintendent. Authorization is hereby granted for stickers 

measuring not more than 2-1/2 inches in width and four 

inches in length to be placed in the blind spot behind the 
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rear view mirror. Department of Defense decals measuring 

no more than three inches in width and eight inches in 

length may be affixed to the upper edge of the center of the 

windshield. At the option of the motor vehicle's owner, the 

decal may be affixed at the lower left corner of the 

windshield so that the inside or left edge of the sticker or 

decal is within one inch of the extreme left edge of the 

windshield when looking through the windshield from 

inside the vehicle. When placed at this location, the bottom 

edge of the sticker or decal must be affixed within three 

inches of the bottom of the windshield. This location can 

only be used if the owner of the vehicle has chosen not to 

place any required county, town or city decal there. The 

normal location for any required county, town, or city 

decal is adjacent to the official inspection sticker and must 

not extend upward more than three inches from the bottom 

of the windshield. Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance 

(CVSA) inspection decals may be placed at the bottom or 

sides of the windshield provided such decals do not extend 

more than 4-1/2 inches from the bottom of the windshield 

and are located outside the area swept by the windshield 

wipers and outside the driver's sight line.  

Any sticker required by the laws of any other state or the 

District of Columbia and displayed upon the windshield of 

a vehicle submitted for inspection in this state is permitted 

by the Superintendent superintendent, provided the vehicle 

is currently registered in that jurisdiction and the sticker is 

displayed in a manner designated by the issuing authority 

and has not expired. This includes vehicles with dual 

registration; i.e., Virginia and the District of Columbia.  

NOTE: Fastoll Transponder devices may be affixed to the 

inside center of the windshield at the roof line just above 

the rear view mirror. If space does not allow, then it may 

be affixed to the immediate right of the mirror at the roof 

line. 

NOTE: Volvo placed a warning sticker on the windshield 

of their cars equipped with side impact air bags. In 

accordance with this paragraph the sticker shall be 

removed. If the sticker can be removed intact then it may 

be placed on the left rear window in the lower front corner. 

Customers should be referred to the nearest Safety 

Division area office for replacement if it could not be 

removed intact.  

EXCEPTION: Stickers or decals used by counties, cities 

and towns in lieu of license plates may be placed on the 

windshield without further authority. Except on privately 

owned yellow school buses, the sticker or decal shall be 

placed on the windshield adjacent to the right side of the 

official inspection sticker or the optional placement to the 

extreme lower left side of the windshield. The top edge of 

the sticker or decal shall not extend upward more than 

three inches from the bottom of the windshield. The left 

side edge adjacent to the official inspection sticker shall 

not be more than 1/4 inch from the right edge of the 

official inspection sticker when looking through the 

windshield from inside the vehicle. At the option of the 

motor vehicle owner, the sticker or decal may be affixed at 

the lower left corner of the windshield so that the inside or 

left edge of the sticker or decal is within one inch of the 

extreme left edge of the windshield when looking through 

the windshield from inside the vehicle. When placed at this 

location, the bottom edge of the sticker or decal must be 

affixed within three inches of the bottom of the windshield. 

Any expired sticker or decal, excluding a rejection sticker 

that is present on the windshield at the time of inspection, 

shall not be issued an approval sticker unless the 

owner/operator "authorizes" its removal. A rejection 

sticker will be issued versus an involuntary removal. On 

privately owned yellow school buses, the sticker or decal 

shall be placed on the windshield adjacent to the left side 

of the official inspection sticker, and not more than 1/4 

inch from the left edge of the official inspection sticker 

when looking through the windshield from inside the 

vehicle. The top edge of the sticker shall not extend 

upward more than three inches from the bottom of the 

windshield.  

10. Sunshading material attached to the windshield extends 

more than three inches downward from the top of the 

windshield, unless authorized by the Virginia Department 

of Motor Vehicles and indicated on the vehicle 

registration. NOTE: Sunshading material on windshield 

displaying words, lettering, numbers or pictures that does 

not extend below the AS-1 line is permitted. In the absence 

of an AS-1 line sunshading material on the windshield 

displaying words, lettering, numbers or pictures cannot 

extend more than three inches downward from the top of 

the windshield, unless authorized by the Virginia 

Department of Motor Vehicles and indicated on the vehicle 

registration. 

NOTE: Vehicles with logos made into the glass at the 

factory that meet federal standards and will pass state 

inspection. 

11. Any sunscreening material is scratched, distorted, 

wrinkled or obscures or distorts clear vision through the 

glazing.  

12. Front side windows have cloudiness above three inches 

from the bottom of the glass or other defects that affect the 

driver's vision or one or more cracks which permit one part 

of the glass to be moved in relation to another part. Wind 

silencers, breezes or other ventilator adaptors are not made 

of clear transparent material.  

EXCEPTION: Colored or tinted ventvisors that do not 

exceed more than two inches from the forward door post 

into the driver's viewing area are permitted.  

13. Glass in the left front door cannot be raised or lowered 

easily so a hand signal can be given. (This does not apply 

to vehicles that were not designed and/or manufactured for 

the left front glass to be lowered, provided the vehicle is 
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equipped with approved turn signals.) If either front door 

has the glass removed and material inserted in place of the 

glass that could obstruct the driver's vision.  

EXCEPTION: Sunscreening material is permissible if the 

vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side.  

14. Any sticker or other obstruction is on either front side 

window, rear side windows, or rear windows. (The price 

label, fuel economy label and the buyer's guide required by 

federal statute and regulations to be affixed to new/used 

vehicles by the manufacturer shall normally be affixed to 

one of the rear side windows.) If a vehicle only has two 

door windows, the labels may be affixed to one of these 

windows. If a vehicle does not have any door or side 

windows the labels may be temporarily affixed to the right 

side of the windshield until the vehicle is sold to the first 

purchaser.  

NOTE: A single sticker no larger than 20 square inches in 

area, if such sticker is totally contained within the lower 

five inches of the glass in the rear window or if a vehicle 

has only one outside mirror, a single sticker or decal no 

larger than 10 square inches located in an area not more 

than three inches above the bottom and not more than eight 

inches from the rearmost edge of either front side window, 

is permissible and should not be rejected.  

A single sticker issued by the Department of 

Transportation to identify a physically challenged driver, 

no larger than two inches X by two inches, located not 

more than one inch to the rear of the front door post, or one 

inch to the rear of the front ventilator glass, if equipped 

with a ventilator glass, and no higher than one inch from 

the bottom of the window opening, is permitted on the 

front driver's side window on a vehicle specially equipped 

for the physically challenged.  

15. Rear window is clouded or distorted so that the driver 

does not have a view 200 feet to the rear. 

EXCEPTIONS: The following are permissible if the 

vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side: 

a. There is attached to one rear window of such motor 

vehicle one optically grooved clear plastic right angle 

rear view lens, not exceeding 18 inches in diameter in the 

case of a circular lens or not exceeding 11 inches by 14 

inches in the case of a rectangular lens, which enables the 

operator of the motor vehicle to view below the line of 

sight as viewed through the rear window. 

b. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window 

or windows of such motor vehicle any sticker or stickers, 

regardless of size. 

c. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window 

or windows of such motor vehicle a single layer of 

sunshading material.  

d. Rear side windows, rear window or windows is 

clouded or distorted.  

19VAC30-70-220. Mirrors.  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Any motor vehicle is not equipped with at least one 

mirror.  

2. Any 1969 and subsequent model motor vehicle, 

designed and licensed primarily for passenger vehicular 

transportation, is not equipped with at least one outside and 

one inside rear view mirror.  

NOTE: The inside mirror cannot be removed on these 

vehicles even if it has an outside on each side.  

Vehicles equipped with only one outside mirror must have 

the mirror on the driver's side.  

EXCEPTION: No motor multipurpose vehicle shall be 

required to be equipped with an inside rear view mirror if it 

does not have a rear window or if the rear window is so 

obstructed as to prevent rearward vision by means of an 

inside rear view mirror, if the motor vehicle has 

horizontally and vertically adjustable outside rear view 

mirrors installed on both sides of such motor vehicle in 

such a manner as to provide the driver of such motor 

vehicle a clear view along both sides of such motor vehicle 

for a distance of not less than 200 feet.  

3. Reflecting surface of mirror is cracked, broken, peeled, 

pitted, clouded, tarnished, has sharp edges, reflects more 

than one image or a distorted image, or is not mounted 

securely.  

4. Mirror does not give the driver a clear view of the road 

200 feet to the rear.  

5. Interior rear view mirror.  

a. Mirror is loose enough that rear view is impaired.  

b. Mirror cannot be adjusted or will not maintain a set 

adjustment.  

6. Exterior rear view mirror.  

a. Mirror is loose enough that rear view is impaired.  

b. Left mirror is obscured by an unwiped portion of 

windshield or mirror is mounted so it cannot be adjusted 

from driver's seat. (Applies to 1969 and subsequent 

model vehicles.)  

c. A right side mirror is not required if the reflecting 

surface of the mirror has been completely removed from 

the mirror housing; however, a vehicle will be required to 

have two outside mirrors if there is a sticker or stickers, 

regardless of size, sunshading or tinting film on the rear 

side windows or rear window. 

NOTE: A single sticker no larger than 20 square inches, if 

such sticker is totally contained within the lower five 

inches of the glass of the rear window and does not 

obstruct the center high mount brake light, is allowed and 

will pass inspection. 

19VAC30-70-230. Windshield wiper; defroster.  

A. Windshield wiper.  
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INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF:  

1. Vehicle is equipped with a windshield and is not 

equipped with a windshield wiper;  

2. Vehicle was manufactured before January 1, 1943, and 

is not equipped with at least one wiper on the driver's side. 

This wiper may be hand operated;  

3. Vehicle was manufactured after January 1, 1943, and is 

not equipped with a windshield wiper or wipers that clear 

both sides of the windshield. Vehicles converted from dual 

wipers to a single wiper are acceptable provided it 

continues to clear both sides of the windshield. These 

wipers must be mechanically operated by electric, vacuum, 

or air, but not by hand. A switch in good working order 

and convenient to the driver must be present to turn the 

wipers on and off. Any wiper that parks within the area 

covered by the driver's windshield wiper blade, excluding 

the three inches above the bottom of the windshield shall 

be rejected. (See 19VAC30-70-210 B 6);  

4. Blade has brittle worn, torn or ripped rubber or if metal 

comes in contact with the windshield;  

5. Wiper does not operate freely; or if it is an electrically or 

mechanically operated wiper which must be operated by 

hand.  

NOTE: Inspect only wipers found on the front windshield.  

B. Windshield defroster. Vehicles manufactured after 

January 1, 1969, must be equipped with windshield defroster 

systems.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF:  

1. Any 1969 or subsequent model is not equipped with a 

windshield defroster system;  

2. Defroster fan fails to function;  

3. Fan functions, but a warm stream of air cannot be felt 

blowing against the windshield. Engine must be warm and 

all elements of the defroster system must be in the on 

position. Switch is not convenient to the driver and 

working properly. 

19VAC30-70-260. Hood latch system.  

A. "Hood" means any exterior movable body panel forward 

of the windshield that is used to cover an engine, luggage, 

storage or battery compartment.  

B. INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF:  

1. Each hood is not provided with a hood latch system that 

will securely hold the hood in its proper fully-closed 

position.  

2. The A latch release mechanism or its parts are broken, 

missing or badly adjusted so that the hood cannot be 

opened and closed properly.  

NOTE: The hood latch release inside the passenger 

compartment is only for security and shall not be rejected 

under this section. If the hood latch cable can be accessed 

from either the inside or outside of the vehicle and opened 

by pliers or similar method, then it will pass.  

3. Latching system on a vehicle equipped with a tilt cab is 

defective, broken, missing, or not properly adjusted so that 

the tilt cab is held securely when it is in its latched 

position.  

19VAC30-70-290. Seat belts; definitions.  

"Bus" means a motor vehicle with motive power designed to 

carry more than 10 persons.  

"Designated seating position" means any plan plain view 

(looking down from the top) location intended by the 

manufacturer to provide seating accommodations while the 

vehicle is in motion, except auxiliary seating 

accommodations as temporary or folding jump seats.  

"Front outboard designated seating positions" means those 

designated seating positions for the driver and outside front 

seat passenger (except for trucks which have the passenger 

seat nearest the passenger side door separated from the door 

by a passageway used to access the cargo area).  

"GVWR" means Gross Vehicle Weight Rating as specified 

by the manufacturer (loaded weight of a single vehicle).  

"Multi-purpose passenger vehicle" means any motor vehicle 

that is (i) designed to carry no more than 10 persons and (ii) 

constructed either on a truck chassis or with special features 

for occasional off-road use. This shall include a mini-van.  

"Open-body type vehicle" means a vehicle having no 

occupant compartment top or an occupant compartment top 

that can be installed or removed by the user at his 

convenience.  

"Passenger car" means a motor vehicle with motive power 

except a multipurpose passenger vehicle or motorcycle 

designed for carrying 10 persons or less.  

"Rear outboard front facing designated seating positions" 

means those designated seating positions for passengers in 

outside front facing seats behind the driver and front 

passenger seat, except any designated seating position 

adjacent to a walk-way, that is located between the seat and 

the near side of the vehicle and is designated to allow access 

to more rearward seating positions.  

"Truck" means a motor vehicle with motive power designed 

primarily for the transportation of property or special purpose 

equipment.  

Passive Restraint System  

A. Inflatable occupant restraint (commonly known as air 

bags).  

B. Passive belt system (automatic deployment around the 

occupant after the occupant enters the vehicle and closes the 

door).  

C. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Not of an approved type; (see approved equipment 

section for seat belts) 
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2. Installation not in compliance as follows:  

a. All motor vehicle seat belt anchorages and attachment 

hardware must meet the standards and specifications set 

forth by the Society of Automotive Engineers, Inc., and 

Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 209 (49 CFR 

571.209), for such anchorages and attachment hardware;  

b. Any questions concerning the proper installation of 

seat belt assemblies should be directed to the nearest 

Safety Division office.  

3. Any 1963 and subsequent model vehicle, designed and 

licensed primarily for private passenger use, is not 

equipped with adult safety lap belts for at least two front 

seats or a combination of lap belts and shoulder straps or 

harnesses.  

4. Any passenger car manufactured on or after January 1, 

1968, is not equipped with lap/shoulder or harness seat belt 

assemblies located at the front outboard designated seating 

positions (except in convertibles) and lap seat belt 

assemblies located at all other designated seating positions.  

5. Any convertible passenger car manufactured on or after 

January 1, 1968, does not have a lap seat belt assembly for 

each designated seating position.  

6. Any passenger car manufactured on or after December 

11, 1989, (except convertibles) not equipped with 

lap/shoulder seat belt assemblies located at all forward 

facing rear outboard designated seating positions.  

a. Any passenger car manufactured on or after September 

1, 1991, (including convertibles) is not equipped with a 

lap/shoulder seatbelt assembly located at all forward 

facing rear outboard designated seating positions.  

b. Any truck, multipurpose vehicle, or bus (except school 

buses and motor homes) with a gross vehicle weight 

rating (GVWR) of 10,000 pounds or less, manufactured 

on or after September 1, 1991, is not equipped with a 

lap/shoulder seatbelt assembly at all forward facing rear 

outboard designated seating positions.  

c. Any of the heretofore described vehicles manufactured 

on or after September 1, 1992, are not equipped with 

lap/shoulder seatbelt assembly located at all forward 

facing rear outboard designated seating positions on a 

readily removable seat.  

7. Any of the following motor vehicles manufactured on or 

after July 1, 1971, do not have a lap seat belt assembly for 

each designated seating position:  

a. Open-body type vehicles;  

b. Walk-in van type trucks;  

c. Trucks (GVWR in excess of 10,000 pounds);  

d. Multipurpose passenger vehicles (GVWR in excess of 

10,000 pounds).  

8. Any buses manufactured on or after July 1, 1971, do not 

have a lap seat belt assembly for the driver's seating 

position.  

9. All other motor vehicles manufactured on or after 

January 1, 1976, except those for which requirements are 

specified in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this subsection, do not 

have lap/shoulder or harness seat belt assemblies installed 

for each front outboard designated seating position. Those 

vehicles originally equipped and sold by the manufacturer 

with only a lap belt installed for each designated seating 

position in compliance with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety 

Standards (49 CFR Part 571) will be deemed to be in 

compliance with this section.  

10. Any seat belt buckle, webbing, or mounting is cut, torn, 

frayed or no longer operates properly.  

11. Any seat belt anchorage is loose, badly corroded, 

missing or not fastened to belt.  

D. Safety belts (motorized). Enter the vehicle and close the 

door. Insert the key into the ignition and turn to the on 

position. A motor causes the shoulder belt to slide along a 

track (Figure 1) starting at the front body "A" pillar and 

moving rearward to its locked position at the "B" pillar. The 

seat belt warning indicator lamp should illuminate with the 

lap belt unbuckled. When the ignition is turned to the off 

position and the door is opened, the shoulder belt moves 

forward to the "A" pillar.  

NOTE: Do not reject if the motor is inoperative and the 

shoulder belt is permanently "locked" at pillar "B."  

 

E. Air bag and air bag readiness light.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any defects in the air bag system are noted by the air 

bag readiness light or otherwise indicated; 

2. The air bag has been deployed and has not been replaced 

(and is not deactivated because of a medical or other 

exemption and a notice is posted to indicate that it has been 

deactivated); 
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3. Any part of the air bag system has been removed from 

the vehicle; or 

4. If the air bag indicator fails to light or stays on 

continuously.  

NOTE: Checking the air bag readiness light. Turn the 

ignition key to the on position; the air bag readiness light 

will indicate normal operation by lighting for six to eight 

seconds, then turning off. A system malfunction is 

indicated by the flashing or continuous illumination of the 

readiness light or failure of the light to turn on.  

NOTE: Any vehicle not originally manufactured with an 

air bag readiness light shall not be rejected for not having 

this item. 

19VAC30-70-310. Air pollution control system or device.  

A. No motor vehicle registered in this Commonwealth and 

manufactured for the model year 1973 or for subsequent 

model years shall be operated on the highways of this 

Commonwealth unless it is equipped with an air pollution 

control system or device, or combination of such systems or 

devices installed in accordance with federal laws and 

regulations.  

B. The provisions of this section shall not prohibit or 

prevent shop adjustments or replacements of equipment for 

maintenance or repair or the conversion of engines to low 

polluting fuels, such as, but not limited to, natural gas or 

propane, so long as such action does not degrade in any 

manner or to any degree the anti- pollution capabilities of the 

vehicle power system.  

C. INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF:  

1. The air pollution control system or device on motor 

vehicles registered in this Commonwealth and 

manufactured for the model year 1973 or for subsequent 

model years has been removed or otherwise rendered 

inoperable. The conversion of an engine to utilize low 

polluting fuels such as natural gas or propane may result in 

the removal of some part of the pollution control system; 

however, if the engine is converted to utilize both low 

polluting fuels and/or gasoline no part of the pollution 

control system or device can be removed or otherwise 

rendered inoperable. 

2. Any of the essential parts of the pollution control system 

or devices on vehicles registered in this Commonwealth 

and manufactured for the model year 1973 or for 

subsequent model years have been removed, rendered 

inoperative or disconnected. This includes any belt, valve, 

pump, hose line, cap, cannister, catalytic converter and the 

restrictor in the gasoline tank filler neck on vehicles 

required to use unleaded fuel.  

NOTE: In order to determine if a motor vehicle was 

originally equipped with emissions control equipment, 

refer to the vehicle's emissions control information label 

which is usually located in the engine compartment.  

3. The emission control system or device on motor vehicles 

registered in this Commonwealth and manufactured for the 

model year 1973 or for subsequent model years is not 

comparable to that designed for use upon the particular 

vehicle as standard factory equipment.  

Any new or used after market catalytic converter installed 

on a vehicle after December 31, 1987, shall meet and be 

installed in accordance with specifications established by 

the Environmental Protection Agency. A catalytic 

converter so installed shall be identified with a visible, 

permanent, non-destructible label or stamp which will 

identify the manufacturer, vehicle application and month 

and year of manufacture. The label shall be in accordance 

with the following format:  

a. New converters - N/XX/YYYY/ZZZZ  

b. Used converters - U/XX/YYYY/ZZZZ  

N - New converter designation  

U - Used converter designation  

XX - Manufacturer code issued by EPA  

YYYY - Numerical designation of vehicle application  

ZZZZ - Month and year of manufacture (i.e. - 0188 for 

January, 1988)  

Part IV  

Inspection Requirements for Motorcycles  

19VAC30-70-330. Motorcycle inspection.  

All motorcycles shall be inspected according to the 

following sections. In cities, towns, and counties having a 

motorcycle repair shop or shops appointed as an official 

inspection station, motorcycle inspections may be performed 

at these places. In localities where no motorcycle inspection 

station is located, such inspections shall be made by any 

official inspection station provided a certified inspector 

observes a satisfactory brake test and completes the 

remainder of the inspection according to regulations.  

19VAC30-70-340. Motorcycle brakes.  

A. The inspector, if qualified to operate a motorcycle, must 

drive it into the inspection lane and test the service brakes. If 

not qualified to operate motorcycles, the inspector must 

observe the operator operate the brakes. The inspector is 

required to observe and inspect the braking system on both 

wheels if so equipped or required to be equipped.  

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motorcycle is not equipped with a brake, or which 

has a disconnected brake.  

2. Any motorcycle which was originally equipped with a 

service brake system on both the front or rear wheel(s) if 

the service brake system has been altered by removing or 

disconnecting any of the brake system components from 

any of the wheels.  

3. Any motorcycle manufactured after July 1, 1974, is not 

equipped with either a split service brake system or two 
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independently actuated service brake systems which shall 

act on the front as well as the rear wheel or wheels.  

4. Bonded linings or disc pads are worn to less than 2/32 of 

an inch in thickness or riveted linings or disc pads are worn 

to less than 2/32 of an inch over the rivet head(s).  

5. Any lining is broken or cracked so that the lining or 

parts of the lining are not firmly attached to the shoe or 

disc pad.  

6. Grease or any other contamination cannot be 

satisfactorily removed from is present on the lining or disc 

pad.  

7. Rivets in riveted linings or disc pads are loose or 

missing.  

8. A brake drum or brake disc (rotor) is scored to the extent 

that it impairs the braking system.  

9. A brake drum or brake disc is worn beyond the 

manufacturer's recommended limit. (A brake drum or 

brake disc shall under no circumstances be re-machined 

beyond the manufacturer's specifications.)  

10. Rods are bent, cotter keys or lock nuts are missing, 

cables frayed or broken or parts misaligned.  

11. When operated at 20 miles per hour on a dry, level, 

hard surface free from loose material, the brakes will not 

stop the motorcycle within 30 feet.  

12. Levers (foot and hand) do not have at least 1/3 of their 

travel as reserve after brakes are fully applied.  

13. Any leaks in master cylinder, wheel cylinders, or any 

brake hoses or lines.  

14. A motorcycle that is equipped with a front and rear 

master cylinder, if one or both are not displaying the 

recommended manufacturer fluid level. 

15. Any line or hose not installed so as to prevent damage 

or abrasion by contact with the frame or other components. 

There is any leakage in any hydraulic, air, or vacuum lines; 

hoses have any cracks, crimps, restrictions, or are abraded 

exposing fabric; tubing or connections leak, are crimped, 

restricted, cracked or broken; any valves leak or are 

inoperative. Reject the vehicle if the brake hoses or tubing 

are stretched or extended and do not allow for suspension 

movement. Brake tubing and hoses must: 

a. Be long and flexible enough to accommodate without 

damage all normal motions of the parts to which it is 

attached; 

b. Be secured against chaffing, kinking, or other 

mechanical damage; and 

c. Be installed in a manner that prevents it from 

contacting the vehicle's exhaust system or any other 

source of high temperatures. 

19VAC30-70-350. Motorcycle airbag, seat, steering, and 

suspension.  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Frame is bent or damaged so as to constitute a hazard in 

proper operation.  

2. Wheels are out of line to a degree steering and control is 

affected.  

3. Steering-head bearing is loose, broken, defective or out 

of adjustment.  

4. Handlebars are loose, bent, broken or damaged in such a 

manner as to affect proper steering.  

5. Shock absorbers are broken, worn, missing, defective, 

disconnected or do not function properly.  

6. Any spring in the suspension system is broken or 

sagging.  

7. If motorcycle seat or seats are not securely fastened.  

8. Any motorcycle designed to carry more than one person 

is not equipped with a footrest for each passenger.  

9. The storage battery is not attached to a fixed part of the 

motorcycle or and protected by a removable cover or 

enclosure if the battery is installed in a location other than 

the engine compartment. This includes all brackets, 

hardware, bolts, and bushings used for securely mounting 

the storage battery to the motorcycle. 

a. Removable covers or enclosures shall be substantial 

and shall be securely latched or fastened. 

b. The storage battery compartment shall have openings 

to provide ample battery ventilation and drainage. 

c. Whenever the cable to the starting motor passes 

through a metal compartment, the cable shall be 

protected against grounding by an acid and waterproof 

insulating bushing. 

d. Whenever a battery and a fuel tank are both placed 

under the driver's seat, they shall be partitioned from 

each other and each compartment shall be provided with 

an independent cover, ventilation, and drainage. 

10. Air bag and air bag readiness light. Inspect for and 

reject if: 

a. Any defects in the air bag system are noted by the air 

bag readiness light or otherwise indicated; 

b. The air bag has been deployed and has not been 

replaced (and is not deactivated because of a medical or 

other exemption and a notice is posted to indicate that it 

has been deactivated);  

c. Any part of the air bag system has been removed from 

the motorcycle; or 

d. If the air bag indicator fails to light or stays on 

continuously.  

NOTE: Checking the air bag readiness light. Turn the 

ignition key to the on position; the air bag readiness light 

will indicate normal operation by lighting for six to eight 

seconds, then turning off.  



Regulations 

Volume 28, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 30, 2012 

1909 

A system malfunction is indicated by the flashing or 

continuous illumination of the readiness light or failure of 

the light to turn on.  

NOTE: Any motorcycle not originally manufactured with 

an air bag readiness light shall not be rejected for not 

having this item.  

Part IV  

Inspection Requirements for Motorcycles  

19VAC30-70-360. Motorcycle lights: headlamp, rear, 

signal, warning.  

A. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Motorcycle is not equipped with at least one motorcycle 

headlamp.  

2. Any motorcycle headlamp is not of an approved type 

(SAE-M). A motorcycle may have one or more headlamps. 

In addition to the headlamp(s), a motorcycle may be 

equipped with not more than two auxiliary headlamps of a 

type approved (SAE-C) by the superintendent and 

identified as "auxiliary front lamps."  

3. Lens and reflector do not match except in sealed units, 

or if the lens is cracked, broken or rotated, or if the lens 

and reflector are not clean or bright.  

4. Any motorcycle lights-headlamp, rear lamp, signal or 

warning lamp has any wire, unapproved lens or plastic 

covers, any other materials that are not original equipment 

or any colored material placed on or in front of lamp or 

lens.  

5. Lamp is not focused or any filament or bulb fails to 

burn.  

6. Lamp is not mounted securely or if switch does not 

operate properly.  

7. The center of the hot spot is set more than four inches up 

or down from the horizontal centerline or more than four 

inches to the left or right from the vertical centerline. 

NOTE: Motorcycles may be equipped with means of 

modulating the high beam of their headlights between high 

and low beam at a rate of 200 to 280 flashes per minute, 

provided they are equipped with a switch or device that 

prevents flashing of headlights when headlights are 

required to be lighted.  

NOTE: The center of the hot spot is set more than four 

inches up or down from the horizontal centerline or more 

than four inches to the left or right from the vertical 

centerline.  

NOTE: Inspection is to be performed with lamp on high 

beam.  

NOTE: The use of strobe lights being placed inside the 

headlamps of police motorcycles is permitted. The strobe 

light system developed by Harley-Davidson for use in 

police motorcycle headlamps has been tested and does 

meet the current standard; therefore, strobe light systems of 

this type and similar types may be used in police 

motorcycle headlamp systems. 

B. Aiming the headlamp. All headlamps that do not comply 

with subdivision A 7 of this section shall be aimed straight 

ahead. (Zero inches up or down and zero inches to the right or 

left.)  

C. Rear lamp.  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. The high beam indicator does not burn when the high or 

"country" beam is on or does not go off when the low 

beam is on.  

2. Motorcycle is not equipped with a rear lamp of approved 

type SAE-T-S-P-A).  

3. Lamp is not mounted near rear of vehicle, or is not 

mounted securely, or if lamp does not make a good 

electrical connection.  

4. Lenses are not red to the rear and clear or amber to the 

front or any lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may 

have one or more cracks provided an off-color light does 

not project through the crack(s).  

NOTE: LED (light emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 

are acceptable if of an approved type. For those vehicles 

that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not filament 

burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 50% 

of the diode lights are burning. 

5. Filaments in all lamps do not burn when headlamp 

switch is turned on to any position.  

6. The rear license plate is not illuminated by an approved 

license plate lamp bulb.  

D. Signal device (intention to stop or turn).  

1. Signal devices are not required on motorcycles; 

however, if installed, they must operate and be inspected.  

2. Signal lamp lenses installed on the front of the 

motorcycle shall be amber and be located on each side of 

the vertical centerline of the motorcycle and as far apart as 

practicable and not closer than nine inches, measured from 

the optical centerline of the lamps, and to be located on the 

same level and not less than 20 inches above the ground 

plate level. The optical centerline of the lamp shall not be 

less than four inches from the retaining ring of the 

headlamp unit.  

3. Signal lamps installed on the rear of the motorcycle shall 

be red or amber and shall be located on each side of the 

vertical centerline of the motorcycle as far apart as 

practicable but not closer than nine inches, measured from 

the optical centerline of the lens, and shall be located on 

the same level and not less than 20 inches above the 

ground level.  

4. Inspect for and reject if:  

a. Motorcycle, except an antique vehicle not originally 

equipped with a stop lamp, is not equipped with at least 
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one stop lamp of an approved type that automatically 

exhibits a red or amber light to the rear when the brake 

control foot pedal or hand grip brake control device is 

activated. (On motorcycles manufactured prior to 

January 1, 1972, the activation of the front wheel brake 

control device is not required to activate the stop lamp.)  

NOTE: Motorcycles may be equipped with a means of 

varying the brightness of the vehicle's brake light for a 

duration of not more than five seconds upon application 

of the vehicle's brakes.  

b. The signal lamp is not of an approved type (SAE-D) or 

does not flash.  

c. Lens in brake lamp or signal lamp has a piece broken 

from it. (Lens in brake lamp or signal lamp may have one 

or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack or cracks.)  

d. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or any 

filaments do not burn.  

e. Switch is not convenient to the driver and not of an 

approved type.  

f. Signal devices are not installed as provided in 

subdivisions D 1 and 2 of this section.  

E. Warning lights.  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Warning lamps are not of an approved type or have been 

altered.  

2. Any lighted advertising sign is present.  

19VAC30-70-390. Motorcycle muffler and exhaust 

system.  

INSPECT FOR AND REJECT IF: Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Vehicle has no exhaust line or tailpipe if the system is 

designed for same.  

2. A muffler has been repaired with a jacket, a patch or in 

any other manner.  

3. Vehicle has installed a muffler cutout or bypass.  

4. Any components of the exhaust system are not properly 

secured.  

5. Leakage of gases is noted at manifold gaskets, muffler 

and muffler connections, or at any point in the exhaust line.  

6. Tailpipe opening is pinched or mashed.  

NOTE: If a vehicle is inspected that does not have a 

muffler, the inspector should explain to the customer that 

although the vehicle will pass inspection without a muffler, 

it is a violation of state law for the vehicle to be operated 

on the highway without it.  

 

Part V  

Inspection Requirements for Trucks and Other Vehicles Over 10,000 Pounds (GVWR) 

19VAC30-70-430. Inspection procedure -- heavy vehicles.  

A. Inspection procedure -- heavy vehicles: 

1. Remove existing inspection sticker 

(all vehicles). 

2. While in right front, inspect right 

side glass and right side lug nuts, 

windshield, seat belts, and door latches. 

3. Drive vehicle into inspection lane. 

4. While in driver's seat, check left side 

glass and window crank, windshield, 

driver's seat, seat belts, door latches 

and parking or holding brake. Check 

service brake, high beam indicator, 

turn signal switch, air brake low air 

warning, air pressure loss, 

(single/combination) horn, windshield 

wiper, defroster, mirrors, steering lash 

and floor pan. 

5. Check exhaust system and fuel tank. 

6. Check right side marker and 

clearance reflectors. 

7. Check all rear lights (including 

brake and turn signal). Check all rear 

reflectors. 

 

8. Check left side marker, clearance 

lights and reflectors. 

9. Check all wheels for brakes, push 

rod travel, tires, rims and 

suspension. 

10. Check headlights, fog, driving, 

turn signals, other lights and 

reflectors. 

11. Check steering system, ball 

joints/king pin, shocks, springs. 

12. Open hood and check latching 

mechanism, master cylinder, engine 

mounts, and compressor belts. 

13. Check frame (all vehicles) and 

coupling device. 

14. Check air lines and couplings. 

Disconnect emergency air line (red) 

(left) and check for automatic 

operation of trailer breakaway 

brakes. Check tractor air protection 

valve. (Combination vehicle only). 

15. Issue approval or rejection 

sticker. 
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B. Inspection guidelines. Required lamps and reflectors on commercial vehicles. 

Lamps and reflex reflectors. Table 1 specifies the requirements for lamps, reflective devices and associated equipment by the 

type of commercial motor vehicle. The diagrams in this section illustrate the position of the lamps, reflective devices and 

associated equipment specified in Table 1. All commercial motor vehicles manufactured on or after December 25, 1968, must, 

at a minimum, meet the applicable requirements. 

Table 1 

Required Lamps and Reflectors on Commercial Motor Vehicles Greater Than 26,000 Pounds GVWR 

Item on the 

vehicle 
Quantity Color Location Position 

Height above the 

road surface in 

millimeters (mm) 

(with English 

units in 

parenthesis) 

measured from 

the center of the 

lamp at curb 

weight 

Vehicles for 

which the 

devices are 

required 

Headlamps 2 White Front On the front at the 

same height, with an 

equal number at each 

side of the vertical 

center line as far apart 

as practicable.  

Not less than 559 

mm (22 inches) nor 

more than 1,372 mm 

(54 inches) 

A, B, C 

Turn signal 

(front)
2, 12

 

2 Amber At or near 

the front 

One on each side of the 

vertical centerline at 

the same height and as 

far apart as practicable. 

Not less than 381 

mm (15 inches) nor 

more than 2,108 mm 

(83 inches.) 

A, B, C 

Identification 

lamps (front)
1
 

3 Amber Front As close as practicable 

to the top of the 

vehicle, at the same 

height, and as close as 

practicable to the 

vertical centerline of 

the vehicle (or the 

vertical centerline of 

the cab where different 

from the centerline of 

the vehicle) with lamp 

centers spaced not less 

than 152 mm (6 inches) 

or more than 305 mm 

(12 inches) apart. 

Alternatively, the front 

lamps may be located 

as close as practicable 

to the top of the cab. 

All three on the 

same level as close 

as practicable to the 

top of the motor 

vehicle. 

B, C 
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Tail lamps
5, 11

 2 Red Rear One lamp on each side 

of the vertical 

centerline at the same 

height and as far apart 

as practicable. 

Both on the same 

level between 381 

mm (15 inches) and 

1,829 mm (72 

inches). 

A, B, C, D, E, 

F, G, H 

Stop lamps
5, 13

 2 Red Rear One lamp on each side 

of the vertical 

centerline at the same 

height and as far apart 

as practicable. 

Both on the same 

level between 381 

mm (15 inches) and 

1,829 mm (72 

inches). 

A, B, C, D, E, 

F, G 

Clearance 

lamps
8, 9, 10, 15, 17

 

2 Amber One on each 

side of the 

front of the 

vehicle 

One on each side of the 

vertical centerline to 

indicate overall width. 

Both on the same 

level as high as 

practicable. 

B, C, D, G, H 

2 Red One on each 

side of the 

rear of the 

vehicle 

One on each side of the 

vertical centerline to 

indicate overall width. 

Both on the same 

level as high as 

practicable. 

B, D, G, H 

Reflex reflector, 

intermediate 

(side) 

2 Amber One on each 

side 

At or near the midpoint 

between the front and 

rear side marker lamps, 

if the length of the 

vehicle is more than 

9,144 mm (30 feet). 

Between 381 mm 

(15 inches) and 

1,524 (60 inches). 

A, B, D, F, G 

Reflex reflector 

(rear)
5, 6, 8

 

2 Red Rear One on each side of the 

vertical centerline, as 

far apart as practicable 

and at the same height. 

Both on the same 

level, between 381 

mm (15 inches) and 

1,524 mm (60 

inches). 

A, B, C, D, E, 

F, G 

Reflex reflector 

(rear side) 

2 Red One on each 

side (rear) 

As far to the rear as 

practicable. 

Both on the same 

level, between 381 

mm (15 inches) and 

1,524 mm (60 

inches). 

A, B, D, F, G 

Reflex relector 

(front side)
16

 

2 Amber One on each 

side (front) 

As far to the front as 

practicable. 

Between 381 mm 

(15 inches) and 

1,524 mm (60 

inches). 

A, B, C, D, F, 

G 

License plate 

lamp (rear)
11

 

1 White At rear 

license plate 

to illuminate 

the plate 

from the top 

or sides 

As far to the front as 

practicable. 

No requirements A, B, C, D, F, 

G 
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Side marker 

lamp (front)
16

 

2 Amber One on each 

side 

  Not less than 381 

mm (15 inches). 

A, B, C, D, F 

Side marker 

lamp 

intermediate 

2 Amber One on each 

side 

At or near the midpoint 

between the front and 

rear side marker lamps, 

if the length of the 

vehicle is more than 

9,144 mm (30 feet). 

Not less than 381 

mm (15 inches). 

A, B, D, F, G 

Side marker 

lamp (rear)
4, 8

 

2 Red One on each 

side 

As far to the rear as 

practicable. 

Not less than 381 

mm (15 inches), and 

on the rear of 

trailers not more 

than 1,524 mm (60 

inches). 

A, B, D, F, G 

Turn signal 

(rear)
5, 12

 

2 Amber 

or red 

Rear One lamp on each side 

of the vertical 

centerline as far apart 

as practicable. 

Both on the same 

level, between 381 

mm (15 inches) and 

2,108 mm (83 

inches). 

A, B, C, D, E, 

F, G 

Identification 

lamp (rear)
3, 7, 15

 

3 Red  Rear One as close as 

practicable to the 

vertical centerline. One 

on each side with lamp 

centers spaced not less 

than 152 mm (6 inches) 

or more than 305 mm 

(12 inches) apart. 

All three on the 

same level as close 

as practicable to the 

top of the vehicle. 

B, D, G 

Vehicular 

hazard warning 

signal flasher 

lamps
5, 12

 

2 Amber Front One lamp on each side 

of the vertical 

centerline, as far apart 

as practicable. 

Both on the same 

level, between 381 

mm (15 inches) and 

2,108 mm (83 

inches). 

A, B, C 

1 or 2 Amber 

or red 

Rear One lamp on each side 

of the vertical 

centerline, as far apart 

as practicable. 

Both on the same 

level, between 381 

mm (15 inches) and 

2,108 mm (83 

inches). 

A, B, C, D, E, 

F, G 

Backup lamp
14

 1 or 2 White  Rear Rear No requirement  A, B, C 

Parking lamp 2 Amber 

or white 

Front One lamp on each side 

of the vertical 

centerline, as far apart 

as practicable. 

Both on the same 

level, between 381 

mm (15 inches) and 

2,108 mm (83 

inches). 

A 

Legend: Types of commercial motor vehicles shown in the last column of Table 1: 

A. Buses and trucks less than 2,032 mm (80 inches) in overall width. 
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B. Buses and trucks 2,032 mm (80 inches) or more in overall width. 

C. Truck tractors. 

D. Semi-trailers and full trailers 2,032 mm (80 inches) or more in overall width except converter dollies. 

E. Converter dolly. 

F. Semi-trailers and full trailers less than 2,032 mm (80 inches) in overall width. 

G. Pole trailers. 

H. Projecting loads. 

Note: Lamps and reflectors may be combined as permitted by equipment combinations. 

NOTES: 
1
Identification lamps and reflectors may be mounted on the vertical centerline of the cab where different from the centerline 

of the vehicle, except where the cab is not more than 42 inches wide at the front roofline, then a single lamp at the center of 

the cab shall be deemed to comply with the requirements for identification lamps. No part of the identification lamps or their 

mountings may extend below the top of the vehicle windshield. 
2
Unless the turn signals on the front are so constructed (doubled-faced) and located as to be visible to passing drivers, two 

turn signals are required on the rear of the truck tractor, one at each side as far apart as practicable. 
3
The identification lamps need not be visible or lighted if obscured by a vehicle in the same combination. 

4
Any semitrailer or full trailer manufactured on or after March 1, 1979, shall be equipped with rear side-marker lamps at a 

height of not less than 381 mm (15 inches), and on the rear of the trailers not more than 1,524 mm (60 inches) above the road 

surface, as measured from the center of the lamp on the vehicle at curb weight. 
5
Each converter dolly, when towed singly by another vehicle and not as part of a full trailer, shall be equipped with one stop 

lamp, one tail lamp, and two reflectors (one on each side of the vertical centerline, as far apart as practicable) on the rear. 

Each converter dolly shall be equipped with rear turn signals and vehicular hazard warning signal flasher lamps when towed 

singly by another vehicle and not as part of a full trailer, if the converter dolly obscures the turn signals at the rear of the 

towing vehicle. 
6
Pole trailers shall be equipped with two reflex reflectors on the rear, one on each side of the vertical centerline as far as 

practicable, to indicate the extreme width of the trailer. 
7
Pole trailers, when towed by motor vehicles with rear identification lamps and mounted at a height gre 

ater than the load being transported on the pole trailer, are not required to have rear identification lamps. 
8
Pole trailers shall have on the rearmost support for the load: (1) two front clearance lamps, one on each side of the vehicle, 

both on the same level and as high as practicable to indicate the overall width of the pole trailer; (2) two rear clearance lamps, 

one on each side of the vehicle, both at the same level and as high as practicable to indicate the overall width of the pole 

trailer; (3) two rear side marker lamps, one on each side of the vehicle, both on the same level, not less than 375 mm (15 

inches) above the road surface; (4) two rear reflex reflectors, one on each side, both on the same level, not less than 375 mm 

(15 inches) above the road surface to indicate maximum width of the pole trailer; and (5) one red reflector on each side of the 

rearmost support for the load. Lamps and reflectors may be combined. 
9
Any motor vehicle transporting a load that extends more than 102 mm (4 inches) beyond the overall width of the motor 

vehicle shall be equipped with the following lamps in addition to other required lamps when operated during the hours when 

headlamps are required to be used. 

(1) The foremost edge of that portion of the load that projects beyond the side of the 

vehicle shall be marked (at its outermost extremity) with an amber lamp visible from the front and side.  

(2) The rearmost edge of that portion of the load that projects beyond the side of the vehicle shall be marked (at its outermost 

extremity) with a red lamp visible from the rear and side. 

(3) If the projecting load does not measure more than 914 mm (3 feet) from front to rear, it shall be marked with an amber 

lamp visible from the front, both sides, and rear, except that if the projection is located at or near the rear it shall be marked by 

a red lamp visible from front, side, and rear. 
10

Projections beyond rear of motor vehicles. Motor vehicles transporting loads that extend more than 1,219 mm (4 feet) 

beyond the rear of the motor vehicle, or that have tailboards or tailgates extending more than 1,219 mm (4 feet) beyond the 

body, shall have these projections marked as follows when the vehicle is operated during the hours when headlamps are 

required to be used: 

(1) On each side of the projecting load, one red side marker lamp, visible from the side, located so as to indicate maximum 
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overhang. 

(2) On the rear of the projecting load, two red lamps, visible from the rear, one at each side; and two red reflectors visible 

from the rear, one at each side, located so as to indicate maximum width. 
11

To be illuminated when tractor headlamps are illuminated. 
12

Every bus, truck, and truck tractor shall be equipped with a signaling system that, in addition to signaling turning 

movements, shall have a switch or combination of switches that will cause the two front turn signals and the two rear signals 

to flash simultaneously as a vehicular traffic signal warning. The system shall be capable of flashing simultaneously with the 

ignition of the vehicle on or off. 
13

To be actuated upon application of service brakes. 
14

Backup lamp required to operate when bus, truck, or truck tractor is in reverse. 
15

(1) For the purposes, the term "overall width" refers to the nominal design dimension of the widest part of the vehicle, 

exclusive of the signal lamps, marker lamps, outside rearview mirrors, flexible fender extensions, and mud flaps. 

(2) Clearance lamps may be mounted at a location other than on the front and rear if necessary to indicate the overall width of 

a vehicle, or for protection from damage during normal operation of the vehicle. 

(3) On a trailer, the front clearance lamps may be mounted at a height below the extreme height if mounting at the extreme 

height results in the lamps failing to mark the overall width of the trailer. 

(4) On a truck tractor, clearance lamps mounted on the cab may be located to indicate the width of the cab, rather than the 

width of the vehicle. 

(5) When the rear identification lamps are mounted at the extreme height of a vehicle, rear clearance lamps are not required to 

be located as close as practicable to the top of the vehicle. 
16

A trailer subject to this part that is less than 1,829 mm (6 feet) in overall length, including the trailer tongue, need not be 

equipped with front side marker lamps and front side reflex reflectors. 
17

A boat trailer subject to this part whose overall width is 2,032 mm (80 inches) or more need not be equipped with both front 

and rear clearance lamps provided an amber (front) and red (rear) clearance lamp is located at or near the midpoint on each 

side so as to indicate its extreme width. 

19VAC30-70-450. Brakes: emergency parking or holding.  

A. Some vehicles are equipped with an actual emergency 

brake, while others have only a parking or holding brake. 

Some types may be actuated by a foot or hand lever, while 

others may incorporate a switch or valve to actuate the brake. 

Air and vacuum brake systems may employ spring activating 

parking brakes.  

B. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Vehicle or combination of vehicles is not equipped with 

a parking, holding, or emergency brake in good working 

order of the type installed as original standard factory 

equipment for the vehicle on which it is installed.  

2. The brake actuating mechanism does not fully release 

when the control is operated to the off position.  

3. Any mechanical parts are missing, broken, badly worn, 

or are inoperative.  

4. Cables are stretched, worn, or frayed or not operating 

freely.  

5. Parking brake will not hold the vehicle stationary with 

the engine running at slightly accelerated speed with shift 

lever in drive position for automatic transmission or shift 

lever in low gear with clutch engaged for standard shift 

transmission.  

6. On vehicles equipped with automatic transmissions, the 

vehicle will start in any gear other than (P) park or (N) 

neutral. If the gearshift indicator does not identify the park 

(P) and neutral (N) positions, then the vehicle shall be 

rejected.  

7. On vehicles equipped with manual transmissions, the 

vehicle will start in any gear if the clutch is not depressed 

or disengaged. 

NOTE: This will not apply to older vehicles, which were 

not originally equipped with a neutral-safety switch, clutch 

disengagement system or clutch pedal position sensor by 

the manufacturer. 

8. Any nonmanufactured hole(s) in the spring brake 

housing section of a parking brake. 

NOTE: All commercial motor vehicles manufactured after 

March 7, 1990, shall be equipped with a parking brake 

system adequate to hold the vehicle or combination under 

any condition of loading except agricultural commodity 

trailers, converter dollies, heavy haulers and pulpwood 

trailers.  

C. Battery mounting and storage. 

NOTE: The storage battery shall be attached to a fixed part 

of the motor vehicle or and protected by a removable cover 

or enclosure if the battery is installed in a location other 

than the engine compartment. This includes all brackets, 

hardware, bolts, and bushings used for securely mounting 

the storage battery to the vehicle. 
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1. Removable covers or enclosures shall be substantial and 

shall be securely latched or fastened. 

2. The storage battery compartment shall have openings to 

provide ample battery ventilation and drainage. 

3. Whenever the cable to the starting motor passes through 

a metal compartment, the cable shall be protected against 

grounding by an acid and waterproof insulating bushing. 

4. Whenever a battery and a fuel tank are both placed 

under the driver's seat, they shall be partitioned from each 

other, and each compartment shall be provided with an 

independent cover, ventilation, and drainage. 

19VAC30-70-460. Brakes: trailer (GVWR 10,000 pounds 

or more).  

A. All trailers and semitrailers registered for or having an 

actual gross weight of 10,000 pounds or more shall be 

equipped with operational brakes acting on all wheels.  

B. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Trailer brakes do not comply with provisions of 

19VAC30-70-430, 19VAC30-70-440 and 19VAC30-70-

450.  

2. Operator does not have full control over brakes. For the 

purpose of this subdivision, surge brakes are considered to 

be in control of the operator.  

3. Combination will not stop as required in 19VAC30-70-

440 D 5.  

4. Trailers are not equipped with emergency breakaway 

brakes designed to:  

a. Apply automatically upon breakaway from towing 

vehicle.  

b. Remain fully applied for at least 15 minutes.  

c. Apply and release by operation of the manual 

emergency control.  

d. Apply automatically when the pressure in the towing 

vehicle reservoir is reduced to a point between 45 and 20 

PSI by a series of foot applications, when equipped with 

air brakes.  

NOTE: A minimum of one wheel must be removed from 

each axle equipped with brakes to inspect the brake 

components.  

Exceptions:  

a. Wheels on trailers equipped with open brake 

mechanisms are not required to be removed.  

b. The inspection receipt (approval and rejection) shall be 

marked to reflect which wheel, drum or dust cover was 

removed or inspected.  

Part V VI  

Inspection Requirements for Vehicles Over 10,000 Pounds  

19VAC30-70-490. Frame, engine mounts, coupling devices 

and emergency chains. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Frame of any bus, truck, tractor truck is cracked, loose, 

broken or sagging. Frame of any trailer or semi-trailer has 

any broken cracked, loose, or sagging top or bottom frame 

rails or frame is cracked or broken.  

2. Engine, transmission or cab mounts , to include all 

hardware, bolts, and bushings used to connect the mount to 

the vehicle, frame, engine, or transmission are broken or 

missing. Any engine or transmission mount should be 

rejected if it allows the power train to come in contact with 

the firewall or other body parts. Cab mounts should be 

rejected if they do not properly secure the body to the 

frame.  

3. Trailer hitch or pintle hook is not securely attached. 

Reject if the pintle eye or trailer drawbar has any cracks or 

if any welding repairs have been made to the pintle eye.  

4. Chains, cables, etc., used to attach a towed vehicle are 

not securely attached, or are broken, worn or abraded.  

5. Fifth wheel does not lock in position or have a locking 

mechanism that is in proper working order.  

NOTE: Reject if horizontal movement exceeds 1/2 inch 

between upper and lower fifth wheel halves.  

6. Fifth wheel assembly system has any leak of fluid or air.  

7. Fifth wheel has any broken, missing, or damaged parts; 

or is not securely attached to the frame. This includes fore 

and aft stops.  

8. Trailer king pin is not secure, or is broken, or worn so as 

to prevent secure fit in fifth wheel. The upper coupler 

device is not securely attached.  

9. Any cracks, breaks or damaged parts in the stress or load 

bearing areas of a coupling device.  

10. Trailer is not equipped with emergency chain(s) or 

steel cable(s).  

NOTE: Fifth wheel assembly does not require emergency 

chain or steel cable. A fifth wheel is defined as a device 

that interfaces with and couples to the upper coupler 

assembly of a semitrailer. The upper coupler assembly is a 

structure consisting of an upper coupler plate, king pin and 

supporting framework which interfaces with and couples to 

a fifth wheel. Ball and socket connections also referred to 

as hitch and coupling connections are not fifth wheel 

assemblies and do require an emergency chain or steel 

cable.  

11. Sliding trailer tandem or multi-axle assemblies do not 

lock in place or have worn, broken or missing parts.  

19VAC30-70-500. Tires, wheels, rims.  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Any tire is marked specifically for use other than on the 

highway, such as "For Farm Use Only," or "For Off-

Highway Use Only," or any tire marked "Not for Steering 

Axle" or "For Mobile Home use only." 
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2. A radial tire is mismatched on the same axle with a bias 

ply tire or a bias belted tire.  

3. Bias ply or bias belted tires are used on the rear axle 

when radial ply tires are used on the front axle. Except:  

a. On a two-axle vehicle equipped with truck tires with 

20-inch rim diameter and larger. Bias or radial tires may 

be used on either axle if the vehicle has dual rear wheels 

or is equipped with wide-base single tires.  

b. Either bias or radial tires may be used on the steering 

axle of vehicles with three or more axles.  

4. Bias tires and radial tires are mixed in a tandem-drive 

axle combination on a vehicle equipped with truck tires 

with 20-inch rim diameter and larger.  

5. Any tire on the front wheel of a bus, truck or any tractor 

truck has a tread groove pattern of less than 4/32 inch or 

less when measured at any point on a major tread groove.  

6. Any bus has regrooved, recapped, or retreaded tires on 

the front wheels.  

7. Any motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer, except the dual 

wheels installed on motor vehicles having seats for more 

than seven passengers: (i) operated wholly within a 

municipality, or (ii) operated by urban and suburban bus 

lines, which are defined as bus lines operating over 

regularly scheduled routes and the majority of whose 

passengers use the buses for traveling a distance of not 

exceeding 40 miles, measured one way, on the same day 

between their place of abode and their place of work, 

shopping areas, or schools, is equipped with a tire that has 

a tread depth measuring less than 2/32 of an inch when 

measured as follows: NOTE: The exemptions provided in 

clauses (i) and (ii) of this paragraph do not apply to buses 

owned or operated by any public school district, private 

school, or contract operator of buses.  

NOTE: Measure in two adjacent tread grooves where tread 

is thinnest. If either of the grooves measure 2/32 of an inch 

or more, no further measurements are necessary and tread 

depth is satisfactory. Do not measure on tread wear 

indicators.  

If both adjacent grooves measure less than 2/32 of an inch, 

the tire tread depth must be measured again at two 

additional equally spaced intervals around the 

circumference of the tire in a like manner as the first 

measurement. If the tread depth is less than 2/32 of an inch 

in two adjacent tread grooves at each of the equally spaced 

intervals, the tire must be rejected.  

NOTE: Refer to Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4 in this section for 

illustrations of how to measure tire tread.  

   

 

 

 

MEASURE WHERE THE TREAD IS 

THINNEST IN TWO ADJACENT TREAD 

GROOVES 

 
FIGURE 1 

IF THE DEPTH IS LESS THAN 2/32-INCH IN 

BOTH GROOVES MEASURE AT TWO 

ADDITIONAL EQUALLY SPACED 

INTERVALS 

8. A tire equipped with tread wear indicators if found to 

have such indicators in contact with the pavement in any 

two adjacent grooves at three equally spaced intervals 

around the circumference of the tire. Refer to Figure 2.  

  REJECT IF THE TREAD WEAR 

INDICATORS ARE IN CONTACT WITH THE 

PAVEMENT IN ANY TWO ADJACENT 

GROOVES AT THREE EQUALLY SPACED 

LOCATIONS 

 
FIGURE 2 

9. Any tire has a cut to the extent a ply or belt material is 

exposed or puncture, not to include a plug or patch that 

may be used as a manner of repair. 

NOTE: Plugs/patches shall be in the tread area only. 

Plugs/patches are not permitted in the sidewall of the tire.  
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10. Any tire is worn so that the fabric or steel cord is 

visible.  

11. Any tire has knots or bulges in its sidewalls or if there 

is evidence of a broken belt under the tread, or if the tread 

is separating from the fabric.  

12. Any tire that has been recut or regrooved except 

commercial tires so designed and constructed to provide 

for acceptable and safe recutting and regrooving. Each tire 

that has been regrooved must be labeled with the word 

"Regroovable" molded on or into the tire on both sidewalls 

in raised or recessed letters.  

13. Any tire is flat or has an audible air leak.  

14. Any tire so mounted or inflated that it comes into 

contact with its mate or any parts of the vehicle.  

15. Rims, or lock rings or wheels are bent, cracked or 

damaged so as to affect safe operation of the vehicle. 

Reject if lug nut holes are elongated (out of round).  

16. Any bolts, nuts, lugs or other fasteners (both spoke and 

disc wheels) are loose, broken, cracked, stripped, missing 

or damaged or otherwise ineffective.  

17. Any welded repair on aluminum wheel(s) on a steering 

axle or any welded repair (other than disc to rim 

attachment) on steel drive wheel(s) mounted on the 

steering axle.  

18. Directional tires and/or wheels, designed and 

manufactured to go in a certain direction of rotation not 

installed in the proper direction of rotation. 
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19VAC30-70-510. Headlamps.  

A. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle is not equipped with headlamps of an 

approved type. The approval designation letter that must 

appear is DOT or SAE-H, HG, HH or HR. The headlamps 

must be marked with the headlamp manufacturer's name or 

trademark, and DOT. If the headlamp bulbs are 

replaceable, the headlamp lens must be marked with the 

headlamp light source type (bulb) for which it was 

designed and the bulb must match the lens code.  

2. Headlights are not of the same approved type (Halogen, 

HID, etc.) except sealed beam headlamps. At least two 

headlamps are required. 

3. In any headlamp the lens is cracked, broken, discolored, 

or rotated away from the proper position, or the reflector is 

not clean and bright. A clear plastic headlight assembly 

lens with a crack may be repaired by procedures similar to 

that required of a windshield repair. The inside reflector 

surface must be in satisfactory condition and the repair 

cannot effect the headlight aim pattern when checked with 

an approved headlight aiming machine. This repair does 

not apply to headlamps and headlamp assembly lenses that 

are designed where the aiming pattern is part of the lens. 

4. Moisture or water buildup in headlamp is such that it 

affects the aiming pattern. 

5. Lens is other than clear. Headlamps omit light other than 

white. Light tints of color may be acceptable if the 

headlamp and headlamp bulbs are marked as required.  

6. Bulbs are not of an approved type (must have DOT 

stamp and the manufacturer's name) or are over 32 
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candlepower. (Sealed beam lamps including the ones that 

permit the use of a replacement halogen bulb are the only 

lamps approved with over 32 candlepower.) Ordinary 

lenses and reflectors were not designed for over 32 

candlepower bulbs. NOTE: The Sylvania 9003 (HB2), 

9004 (HB1), 9005 (HB3) and 9006 (HB4) Cool Blue 

xenon bulbs were found to comply with FMVSS 108. 

There is a noticeable blue tint around the outside of the 

lamp pattern but the concentrated light is white. Only the 

Sylvania has approval and is marked with DOT and 

marked with all of the following: light source type, the 

manufacturer's name or trade mark, and DOT. 

- Approved headlamp bulbs:  HB1, HB2, HB3, HB3A, 

HB4, HB4A, HB5, H1, H3, H7, H8, H8B, H9, H9B, H11, 

H11B, H11C, H13, H13C, H15, HIR1, HIR2. 

- Approved headlamp bulbs that require ballast:  9500, 

D1R, D1S, D2R, D2S, D3R, D3S, D4R, D4S, D5S, D7S, 

D8S.  

- Approved headlamp ballasts must be marked with the 

light source type (bulb) and DOT. The bulb type marked 

on the ballast must match the marking on the headlamp 

lens. 

7. Any filament or bulb in headlamps fails to burn properly 

or headlamps are not at the same location or configuration 

as designed by the manufacturer. (Location and type of 

headlamps can be found in subsection B of this section.) 

8. Wiring is dangling or connections are loose, or if proper 

filaments do not burn at different switch positions, or if 

switches -- including foot or hand dimmer -- do not 

function properly, and are not convenient to the driver. 

9. Foreign material is placed on or in front of the headlamp 

lens or interferes with the beam from the lamp. No glazing 

may be placed over or in front of the headlamps unless it is 

a part of an approved headlamp assembly. 

a. Reject if the vehicle has wire, unapproved plastic 

covers, any other materials that are not original 

equipment or any colored material placed on or in front 

of the headlamps. 

b. EXCEPTION: A clear impact film known as 

Headlight Savers produced by Grand Prix Motoring 

Accessories may be applied to the headlight lens to 

absorb impact of rocks, etc. 

NOTE: Headlamps, auxiliary driving lamps and front fog 

lamps shall be mounted so that the beams are aimable and 

the mounting shall prevent the aim of the lighting device 

from being disturbed while the vehicle is operating on 

public roads. All lamps shall be securely mounted on a 

rigid part of the vehicle. 

10. Lamps can be moved easily by hand due to a broken 

fender or loose support, or if a good ground is not made by 

the mounting.  

Headlamps, auxiliary driving lamps and front fog lamps 

shall be mounted so that the beams are aimable and the 

mounting shall prevent the aim of the lighting device from 

being disturbed while the vehicle is operating on public 

roads. All lamps shall be securely mounted on a rigid part 

of the vehicle.  

11. A headlamp visor is over two inches long unless part of 

the original body design. 

12. The beam indicator in the driver's compartment does 

not burn when the high or "country" beam is on. (Vehicles 

not originally equipped with an indicator are not required 

to comply unless sealed beam headlamps have been 

installed.) 

13. Headlamps are not aimed within the following 

tolerances using optical aimer: 

a. The center of the hot spot of all Type 1 lamps, all 

single element high beam lamps, and all lamps that do 

not have Type 2 embossed in the lens, is set more than 

four inches up or down from the horizontal centerline or 

more than four inches to the left or right from the vertical 

centerline. 

b. The left edge of the lamp pattern of any low beam 

lamp or any combination or multielement multi-element 

lamp or Type 2 lamp is more than four inches to the left 

or right of the vertical centerline or the top edge of the 

lamp pattern is more than four inches above or below the 

horizontal centerline. 

Aiming the Headlamps: 

NOTE: Headlamps shall be checked for proper aim by 

using either an optical or a mechanical headlamp aimer on 

every motor vehicle inspected. 

Optical Aimer: 

NOTE: Approved optical headlamp machines may be used 

to properly aim any of the headlamps. Optical aimers must 

be properly calibrated and used in the manner 

recommended by the manufacturer. 

NOTE: When aiming headlamps, first look for the type of 

lamp, which will be found embossed on the lens. The type 

determines which aiming requirements must be followed 

for the optical aimer. 

NOTE: All Type 2 headlamps and all low beam or 

multielement multi-element headlamps must be set by 

aiming the lamp pattern with the lamps set on low beam. 

NOTE: If attempting to align a composite or sealed beam 

lamp with a high and low beam within the same housing, 

align only the low beam. If aligning a four-lamp system 

with high and low beams in separate housings, it may be 

necessary to cover the low beam while aligning the high 

beam, if all four lamps are on at the same time. 

NOTE: Pattern should be aimed so that the left edge does 

not extend to the left or right of straight ahead, and the top 

of the pattern should be even with the horizontal. 

NOTE: All VOL and VOR headlamps will be aimed as 

follows: 
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To properly aim a combination multielement multi-element 

or low beam VOL or VOR headlamp assembly, the 

headlamp pattern should be aimed on low beam only. 

Letters marked on the headlamp cover should properly 

identify VOL and VOR headlamps. 

NOTE: VOL and VOR headlamps will normally have only 

one adjustment, which will be for the vertical aim only. 

The horizontal aim should be disregarded, as the horizontal 

aim is preset at the factory. 

Pattern "A" represents the light pattern, as it should appear 

on the view screen of the approved aimer when checking 

the low beam pattern on a single element headlamp or a 

combination multi-element headlamp. 

 

NOTE: All Type 1 headlamps and all headlamps that do 

not have Type 2 embossed in the lens shall be set by 

aiming the center of the hot spot with the lamps set on high 

beam. 

NOTE: Aim straight ahead-center of the hot spot should be 

centered with the vertical and horizontal centerlines. 

Pattern "B" represents the light pattern as it should appear 

on the view screen of the approved aimer. 

 

NOTE: The four headlamp system combines four 5-3/4-

inch lamps in pairs.  

NOTE: One lamp embossed at the top as Type "1" and one 

embossed on the top as a Type "2" are arranged as a pair 

on each side.  

NOTE: When lamp pairs are mounted horizontally, the 

Type "2" lamp must be on the outer side.  

NOTE: The four headlamp system must be wired so that 

only the lower beam in the Type "2" lamps will burn when 

the light beams are depressed. When switched to high 

beams, both the Type "1" and Type "2" will burn.  

NOTE: Light patterns shown on the following page will be 

displayed on the most recently approved light machines 

produced by Hopkins and Symtech Corporations. 

Mechanical Aimers:  

NOTE: Mechanical aimers can be used to aim only those 

headlamps that have "aiming" pads molded into the lens.  

NOTE: Mechanical aimers must be properly calibrated and 

used in the manner recommended by the manufacturer.  

NOTE: Turn on headlamps and check all filaments—both 

high and low beam. Turn off headlamps before checking 

for adjustments. Do not turn on headlamps while 

mechanical aimers are attached to the headlamp.  

Aiming the Headlamps (Mechanical Aimer):  

NOTE: All headlamps that are found not to be within the 4 

inch tolerance shall be adjusted to zero inches up or down 

and zero inches to the right or left.  

Headlamps on Vehicles used for Snow Removal:  

NOTE: Approved auxiliary headlamps (SAE-Z) may be 

mounted above the conventional headlamps. (These lamps 

must be in compliance with 19VAC30-70-140, in its 

entirety, 19VAC30-70-150, subdivision 7, and 19VAC30-

70-170, subsection A, of this manual.)  

B. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Lamps are not an approved type headlamps as indicated 

in subdivision A 6 of this section.  

2. Lamps are not mounted in a manner that will permit 

proper aiming.  

3. Lamps are mounted so as to obstruct the driver's vision.  

4. The auxiliary headlamp circuit does not contain a switch 

that will deactivate the primary headlamp system when the 

auxiliary headlamps are in use.  

5. Auxiliary headlamps are not aimed in accordance with 

the provisions of this section.  
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HEADLAMP PATTERNS 

 

  

 

NOTE: ALWAYS inspect the following sealed beam and 

replacement bulb headlamps on LOW BEAM only:  

- 5-3/4 inch, marked Type 2 or 2CI  

- 7 inch, marked Type 2 or 2DI  

- 6-1/2 X 4-1/4 inch rectangular, marked Type 2QA or 

2A1  

- 2000 X 142mm rectangular, marked Type 2B or 2B1  

19VAC30-70-530. Auxiliary lamps: backup; cornering; 

driving; fog; spot and warning.  

A. Auxiliary lamps on a vehicle consist of seven general 

types: backup lamps (SAE-R), cornering lamps (SAE-K), 

driving lamps (SAE-Y), front fog lamps with an amber or 

clear lens (SAE-F) and rear fog lamps with red lens (SAE-

F2), spot lamps (SAE-O), warning lamps (SAE-W), and 

daytime running lamps (DRLs) (SAE-Y2). 

1. School buses may be equipped with an eight-lamp 

warning system of two red and two amber warning lamps 
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of an approved type (SAE-W2) on the front and rear of 

such vehicle. 

a. In addition to required warning lamps, school buses 

may be equipped with a stop signal arm consisting of an 

octagonal sign that meets FMVSS specifications (Federal 

Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, 49 CFR Part 571). The 

stop signal arm shall be reflectorized or be equipped with 

two red warning lamps of an approved type. 

b. School buses may also be equipped with roof mounted 

flashing white or amber warning lamps of an approved 

type (SAE-W2). 

2. Reject if the vehicle has wire, unapproved plastic covers, 

any other materials that are not original equipment or any 

colored material placed on or in front of any auxiliary 

lamps-backup, cornering, driving, fog, spot or warning 

lamps. 

EXCEPTION: Any lighting device that is both covered and 

not illuminated, other than lamps required or permitted by 

this manual, shall not be considered for inspection. Fog 

and driving lamps mounted below the level of the regular 

headlights must be checked for aim as outlined in 

subdivisions K 10 i and K 11 g of this section, if not 

covered. 

NOTE: The covers shall be a type that would be installed 

as original equipment and not tape, paper bags, aluminum 

foil or similar materials. 

B. There is no limit on the number of backup lamps that a 

vehicle may have so long as they are of an approved type 

(SAE-R). 

C. No more than four lamps, including two headlamps may 

be lighted at any time to provide general illumination ahead 

of the vehicle. 

D. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) blue or blue and red 

lights are permitted on Department of Corrections vehicles 

designated by the Director of the Department of Corrections 

and any law-enforcement vehicle. 

E. Approved type blue or blue and red lights as well as 

approved type hide-away or undercover strobe warning lights 

are permissible for use on Department of Corrections and any 

law-enforcement vehicles. 

1. Approved type secondary warning lights installed only 

on the four corners, on Department of Corrections and any 

law-enforcement vehicles, fire apparatus, government-

owned vehicle operated on official business by a local fire 

chief or other local fire official, rescue squad vehicle, 

ambulance, or any other emergency medical vehicles. 

These lights shall also have primary warning lights 

installed. 

2. The hide-away or undercover strobe lights shall be 

installed in the side marker lights, tail lights or parking 

lights. The strobe itself must be clear and the lens color 

must continue to be the same type and color as originally 

approved. It will not be permissible to install the hide-away 

lights in the headlights or in the backup lights. 

F. Approved type (SAE-W) red warning lights or red and 

white lights showing to the front are permitted on fire 

department vehicles, including publicly owned state forest 

warden vehicles, ambulances, any rescue vehicle used for 

emergency calls, local Departments of Emergency 

Management, animal warden vehicles, school buses and 

vehicles used by security personnel at the Newport News 

Shipbuilding and Drydock Company, Bassett-Walker, 

Incorporated, the Tultex Corporation, the Winchester Medical 

Center, or the National Aeronautics and Space 

Administration's Wallops Flight Facility. 

G. No more than two flashing or steady-burning red or 

combination red and white lights of an approved type may be 

installed on one vehicle owned by any member of a fire 

company, volunteer fire company, volunteer rescue squad or 

any ambulance driver employed by a privately owned 

ambulance service.  

H. Vehicles mentioned in subsections D, E and F permitted 

to be equipped with flashing, blinking or alternating red, red 

and white, blue, or blue and red emergency lights (except 

vehicles owned by any member of a fire company, volunteer 

fire company, volunteer rescue squad or an ambulance driver 

employed by a privately owned ambulance service) may be 

equipped with the means to flash their headlamps when their 

emergency warning lamps are activated provided: 

1. The headlamps are wired to allow either the upper beam 

or lower beam to flash but not both and; 

2. The headlamp system includes a sensor that prevents 

flashing of headlamps when headlamps are required to be 

lighted pursuant to current statute. 

Emergency vehicles in Chesapeake, Poquoson, and York 

County may be equipped with flashing headlights that will 

function whenever their warning lights are activated. 

I. Any fire vehicle used exclusively for fire fighting, any 

ambulance or rescue or lifesaving vehicle used for the 

principal purpose of emergency relief or any wrecker used for 

the principal purpose of towing disabled vehicles may be 

equipped with clear auxiliary lamps that shall be used 

exclusively for lighting emergency scenes. Such lamps shall 

be of a type permitted by the Superintendent superintendent. 

Any government-owned police vehicle may be equipped with 

clear auxiliary lamps of a type approved by the 

Superintendent superintendent. 

J. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used for the 

principal purpose of towing or servicing disabled vehicles or 

in constructing, maintaining and repairing highways or 

utilities on or along public highways and vehicles used for the 

principal purpose of removing hazardous or polluting 

substances from the state waters or drainage areas on or along 

public highways. Such lamps are permitted on vehicles used 
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for servicing automatic teller machines, refuse collection 

vehicles, hi-rail vehicles and on vehicles used for towing or 

escorting over-dimensional materials, equipment, boats, or 

manufactured housing units by authority of highway hauling 

permit. 

1. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) amber, red, and red 

and white flashing, blinking or alternating warning lights 

are permitted on fire apparatus, ambulances, and rescue 

and life-saving vehicles, provided the lights are mounted or 

installed as to be visible from behind the vehicle.  

2. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) amber flashing, 

blinking or alternating lights are permitted on vehicles 

owned and used by municipal safety officers in the 

performance of their official duties, by businesses 

providing security services and vehicles used to collect and 

deliver the United States mail, vehicles used by law-

enforcement personnel in the enforcement of laws 

governing motor vehicle parking, and government-owned 

law-enforcement vehicles provided the lights are used for 

giving directional warning and vehicles used to provide 

escort for funeral processions. 

3. An approved type amber flashing, blinking or alternating 

lights are permitted on vehicles used as pace cars, security 

vehicles, or fire-fighting vehicles by any speedway or 

motor vehicle race track. 

4. An approved type (DOT or SAE-W) amber flashing, 

blinking or alternating light may be mounted on the rear of 

any vehicle used to transport petroleum products. The light 

must be wired through the reverse gear circuit and activate 

in conjunction with the backup lights and audible alarm. 

5. An approved type (SAE-W) green warning light is 

permitted on vehicles used by police, fire-fighting, or 

rescue personnel as command centers at the scene of 

incidents. Such lights shall not be activated while the 

vehicle is operating upon the highway. 

K. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle has an auxiliary lamp being used for a purpose 

other than that for which it was approved. 

Do not reject tractor trucks equipped with cargo lights of 

an approved type (SAE-G) that are mounted on the rear of 

the tractor cab and wired through an independent switch 

used to illuminate brake connectors and fifth-wheels for 

nighttime hookups. 

2. A vehicle has installed on it a warning lamp that is not 

of an approved type or has been altered.  

3. Vehicle is equipped with a combination of auxiliary 

lamps which include more than two fog lamps, or more 

than two spot lamps, or more than two driving lamps. 

Motor vehicles may be equipped with more than two fog or 

auxiliary lights; however, only two of these types of lights 

can be illuminated at any time. Reject a vehicle equipped 

with a headlamp mounted or used as an auxiliary lamp. 

NOTE: Vehicles equipped from the factory, with two 

driving lamps should not be rejected. 

4. Vehicle is equipped with an auxiliary lamp that does not 

function properly. (If an auxiliary lamp has been modified 

by removing the wiring, bulb and socket, the unit will be 

considered an ornament and not a lamp and will not be 

considered for inspection.) 

5. Vehicle is equipped with a lighted advertising sign, 

except commercial motor vehicles and buses operated as 

public carriers. These vehicles may be equipped with 

vacant and destination signs and one steadily burning white 

light for illumination of external advertising. Do not reject 

approved identification lights. 

6. Any lamp is not of an approved type or if lamps to be 

burned together as a pair do not emit the same color light. 

7. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 

one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack or cracks. 

8. Backup lamps are not required on motor vehicles less 

than 26,001 pounds GVWR. However, if installed they 

must operate and be inspected.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-R) 

or a lamp has been altered. 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 

one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack or cracks. 

d. Lens is other than clear. LED (light emitting diode) 

lights with a clear lens are acceptable, if of an approved 

type. For those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple 

LED light (not filament burning bulbs), they will pass 

inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 

burning. 

e. Lamps are not wired into the reverse gear or an 

independent circuit. 

9. Cornering lamps are not required. However, if installed 

they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-K) 

or a lamp has been altered. 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 

one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack or cracks. 

d. The color of the light is other than clear or amber.  

e. The lamps do not burn in conjunction with the turn 

signals. 



Regulations 

Volume 28, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 30, 2012 

1925 

10. Driving lamps are not required. However, if installed 

they must operate and be inspected.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Driving lamps are installed on vehicles equipped with 

the four-headlamp system, except the "F" type headlamp 

system. 

b. A vehicle is equipped with more than two driving 

lamps. 

c. Driving lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or 

SAE-Y) or have been altered. 

d. The color of the lamp is other than white. 

e. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 

from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 

cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack or cracks. 

f. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

g. Any driving lamp is mounted above the level of the 

regular headlamps, or is not mounted firmly to prevent 

excessive vibration. 

h. Driving lamps are not wired so that they will burn only 

when the high beams of the regular headlamps are 

activated. 

i. Driving lamps are not aimed so that the center of the 

hot spot drops three inches in 25 feet so that the hot spot 

is directly ahead of the lamp. 

NOTE: Driving lamps must be aimed using the optical 

headlight aimer. A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is 

allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical 

adjustment. 

11. Fog lamps are not required. However, if installed they 

must operate and be inspected.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. A vehicle may be equipped with more than two fog 

lamps; however, not more than two lamps can be 

illuminated at any time.  

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (SAE or DOT-F or 

F2) or a lamp has been altered. 

c. The lens is other than clear or amber. (Fog lamps may 

have black end bulbs or small metal caps over the end of 

the bulb.) 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 

from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 

cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack or cracks. 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

f. Any fog lamp is mounted above the level of the regular 

headlamps, or is not mounted firmly. 

g. Lamps are not wired and aimed according to the 

following instructions: 

(1) Fog lamps are general illumination lamps as covered 

in 19VAC30-70-160 D. They must burn through the tail 

light circuit even if on a separate switch. If installed on a 

vehicle with a four-headlamp system or a vehicle 

equipped with driving lamps, they must be wired into the 

low beam circuit. 

(2) Fog lamps must be aimed so that the top edge of the 

high intensity zone is set at the horizontal centerline and 

the left edge of the high intensity zone is set at the 

vertical centerline. (Same as low beam headlights.) 

NOTE: Fog lamps must be aimed using the optical 

headlight aimer. 

(3) A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is allowed in 

both the horizontal and the vertical adjustment. 

12. Spot lamps are not required. However, if installed they 

must operate and be inspected.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Vehicle is equipped with more than two spot lamps. 

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-O) 

or a lamp has been altered. 

c. The lens in any spot lamp is other than clear. 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 

from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 

cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack or cracks. 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

13. Daytime running lamps (DRLs) are not required. 

However, if installed they must operate and be inspected. 

DRLs must be installed in pairs. 

NOTE: DRLs may or may not be wired into the tail light 

circuit. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Any lamp, except headlamps, used as DRLs is not an 

approved type (SAE-Y2) and is not marked "DRL." 

b. Fog lamps or parking lamps are used as DRLs. 

c. More than one pair of lamps are used and or 

designated as DRLs. 

d. A DRL is mounted higher than 34 inches measured to 

the center of the lamp. 

e. The color is other than white or amber.  

f. DRLs do not deactivate when the headlamps are in any 

"on" position. 

Any DRL optically combined with a turn signal or 

hazard lamp must deactivate when the turn signal or 

hazard lamp is activated and then reactivate when the 

turn signal or hazard lamp deactivates. 
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19VAC30-70-550. Clearance lamps, side marker lamps, 

and reflectors (under 26,000 pounds GVWR). 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer or other vehicle is 

not equipped with clearance lamps if the vehicle is over 

seven feet wide or if any portion extends four inches or 

more outside the front fender line.  

Trailers of 80 inches or more overall width, and with a 

GVWR over 10,000 pounds, manufactured on or after 

December 1, 1993, except pole trailers and trailers 

designed exclusively for living or office use, shall be 

equipped with either retroreflective sheeting, reflex 

reflectors, or a combination of retroreflective sheeting and 

reflex reflectors. 

When a motor vehicle with a trailer attached is presented, 

the combination may be considered as one unit in meeting 

this requirement. If presented separately, the individual 

unit must meet these requirements except that any tractor-

truck need not be equipped with rear red dimension or 

marker lamps. 

2. Lamps (DOT or SAE-P2, P3, PC or PC2) or reflectors 

(DOT or SAE-A or B) are not of an approved type or a 

lamp has been altered. 

Reject if the lamps or reflectors have unapproved plastic 

covers, any other materials that are not original equipment 

or any colored material placed on or in front of lamps or 

reflectors. 

Retro-reflective surfaces. Retro-reflective surfaces other 

than required reflectors may be used, provided (see 

diagram): 

a. Designs do not resemble traffic control signs, lights, or 

devices, except that straight edge striping resembling a 

barricade pattern may be used. 

b. Designs do not tend to distort the length and/or width 

of the motor vehicle. 

c. Such surfaces shall be at least three inches from any 

required lamp or reflector unless of the same color as 

such lamp or reflector.  

d. No red color shall be used on the front of any motor 

vehicle, except for display of markings or placards 

required by law. 

3. Lenses on lamps on the front are not amber and lenses 

on lamps on the rear are not red or if a lens has a piece 

broken from it. A lens may have one or more cracks 

provided an off-color light does not project through the 

crack or cracks. 

4. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or all 

filaments do not burn. 

NOTE: LED (light emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 

are acceptable, if of an approved type. For those vehicles 

that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not filament 

burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 50% 

of the diode lights are burning. 

5. Two amber lamps are not mounted on the front and two 

red lamps on the rear, so as to indicate the extreme width 

of the body, and as high on the permanent body as 

practical, except that approved 180 degree lamps with 

yellow or amber lens may be mounted on the side of the 

vehicle at or as near the front as possible, or if the front is 

not the widest portion, the lamps may be installed on the 

side and as near that point as possible. 

And with the further exception that 180 degree lamps with 

red lens may be mounted on the side of the vehicle at or as 

near the rear as possible or if the rear is not the widest 

portion of the vehicle, the lamps may be installed on the 

side as near that point as possible. 

NOTE: Any vehicle equipped with three red identification 

lamps with the lamp centers spaced not less than six inches 

or more than 12 inches apart and installed as close as 

practicable to the top of the vehicle and as close as 

practicable to the vertical centerline of the vehicle may 

have the rear dimension or marker lamps required by 

subdivision 5 of this section mounted at any height but 

indicate as nearly as practicable the extreme width of the 

vehicle. 

NOTE: Dump trucks with a high lift body, concrete mixer 

trucks and other specially constructed vehicles may be 

equipped with the required clearance lamps not mounted 

on the extreme rear, provided such red lamps are clearly 

visible from the rear and provided further that two red 

reflectors of an approved type are mounted on the extreme 

rear. In unusual cases the rear lamp may be mounted on the 

cab and another red reflex reflector placed on the extreme 

rear. 

NOTE: In addition to the required clearance lamps 

showing to the front and to the rear, a vehicle may be 

equipped with clearance side marker lamps on the side of 

the vehicle. When such an installation is used, all of the 

clearance side marker lamps on the side except the one at 

or near the rear must have an amber lens. The clearance 

side marker lamps on the side at or near the rear must have 

a red lens. 

6. Any vehicle covered by subdivision 1 of this section, 

except school buses, is not equipped with amber reflectors 

on the sides as near the front as practical, and red reflectors 

on the rear. The reflectors must be at least 15 inches and 

not more than 60 inches from the ground. No reflector can 

have a piece broken from its reflective surface, but may 

have one or more cracks. 

7. Any combination of vehicles whose actual length 

exceeds 35 feet if the vehicles are not wide enough to have 

clearance lights, if the vehicle is not equipped with reflex 

reflectors of a type approved by the Superintendent 

superintendent and mounted on the widest part of the 

towed vehicle so as to be visible from the front and sides of 
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the vehicle. No reflector can have a piece broken from its 

reflective surface, but may have one or more cracks. 

8. Any passenger vehicle is equipped with clearance lamps, 

unless such lamps are used to mark the extreme width of 

the vehicle or used as taxicab identification, or used as 

supplemental turn signals. (See 19VAC30-70-190 B.) 

NOTE: Vehicles so constructed as to make compliance 

with the requirements of subdivisions 1, 5, 7, 9 and 10 of 

this section impractical, will be equipped with clearance 

lamps and reflectors at the most practical location to 

provide maximum visibility. 

9. Any vehicle is not equipped with: two front side marker 

lights (amber), two rear side marker lights (red), and two 

rear reflectors (red). 
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19VAC30-70-570. Permissible lighting equipment.  

A. Any vehicle may be equipped with: 

1. Running board or courtesy lamps, of not over six 

candlepower. 

2. Vacant or destination signs, if a taxicab or bus. 

3. Identification lamps of approved type (SAE-P2 or P3). 

4. Interior lights. (Not more than 15 candlepower.) 

Exception: This does not apply to alternating, blinking or 

flashing colored emergency lights mounted inside law-

enforcement vehicles or flashing shielded red or red and 

white lights, mounted inside vehicles owned or used by 

members of volunteer fire companies, volunteer rescue 

squads or owned or used by professional firefighters, or 

police chaplains. Also, this does not apply to firefighting 

vehicles equipped with map lights. 

5. A motor vehicle having a GVWR of 10,001 pounds or 

more may be equipped with an illuminated bumper guide 

attached to each end of the front bumper, provided: 

a. The light thereon is amber in color and less than 6 

candlepower. 

b. The light is wired to burn only in conjunction with the 

marker or clearance lamps on the vehicle. 

6. Any approved lamp in good working order when used 

for the purpose for which it was approved . 

B. Side marker lamps are not required if the vehicle(s) is 

over 30 feet in length. If installed they must operate and be 

inspected. If the bulb, socket and wiring are removed from an 

individual lamp unit, the unit will not be considered during 

inspection. This does not include a wraparound tail/marker 

lamp assembly/lens that are intended to perform multiple 

functions. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-P2, 

P3, PC), or do not comply with subsection A of this 

section. 

2. Lamps are not installed on the permanent structure of 

the vehicle with one as far to the rear and one as far 

forward as practicable and at a location which is not less 

than 15 inches above the road surface when measured from 

the center of the lamp. 

3. Lamps installed on the side to the rear do not project a 

red light and lamps installed on the front do not project an 

amber light. 

4. Lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have one 

or more cracks provided no off-color light projects through 

the crack(s). 

5. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

6. Any vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic covers, any 

other materials that are not original equipment or any 

colored material placed on or in front of permissible 

lighting equipment. 

NOTE: LED (light emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 

are acceptable, if of an approved type. For those vehicles 

that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not filament 

burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 50% 

of the diode lights are burning. 

19VAC30-70-580. Glass and glazing.  

A. Motor vehicles may be inspected without windshields, 

side glasses, or any kind of glazing except that any motor 

vehicle other than a motorcycle which was manufactured, 

assembled, or reconstructed after July 1, 1970, must be 

equipped with a windshield. If glass or other glazing is 

installed, it must be inspected. If no windshield is installed, 

see 19VAC30-70-50, C, for location of the sticker. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle manufactured or assembled after 

January 1, 1936, or any bus or school bus manufactured or 

assembled after January 1, 1935, is not equipped 

throughout with safety glass, or other safety glazing 

material. (This requirement includes slide-in campers used 

on pickups or trucks, caps, or covers used on pickup 

trucks, motor homes, and vans.) 

2. Any safety glass or glazing used in a motor vehicle is 

not of an approved type and properly identified (DOT and 

AS-1, AS-2, or AS-3). (Replacement safety glass installed 
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in any part of a vehicle other than the windshield need not 

bear a trademark or name, provided the glass consists of 

two or more sheets of glass separated by a glazing 

material, and provided the glass is cut from a piece of 

approved safety glass, and provided the edge of the glass 

can be observed.) 

3. Any glass at any location where glass is used is cracked 

or broken so that it is likely to cut or injure a person in the 

vehicle. 

4. Windshield has any cloudiness more than three inches 

above the bottom, one inch inward from the outer borders, 

one inch down from the top, or one inch inward from the 

center strip. The bottom of the windshield shall be defined 

as the point where the top of the dash contacts the 

windshield. 

5. Any distortion or obstruction that interferes with a 

driver's vision.  

Any alteration has been made to a vehicle that obstructs the 

driver's clear view through the windshield. This may 

include but is not limited to large objects hanging from the 

inside mirror, CB radios or tachometers on the dash, hood 

scoops and other ornamentation on or in front of the hood 

that is not transparent. 

a. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 

manufactured for 1990 or earlier model year cannot 

exceed 2-1/4 inches high at its highest point measured 

from the junction of the dashboard and the windshield. 

b. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 

manufactured for the year 1991 or subsequent model year 

cannot exceed 1-1/8 inches high at its highest point 

measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 

windshield. 

NOTE: Antennas, transponders, and similar devices must 

not be mounted more than 152 mm (six inches) below the 

upper edge of the windshield. These devices must be 

located outside the area swept by the windshield wipers, 

and outside the driver's sight lines to the road and 

highway signs and signals.  

6. Windshield glass, on the driver's side, has any scratch 

more than 1/4 inch in width and six inches long within the 

area covered by the windshield wiper blade, excluding the 

three inches above the bottom of the windshield. A 

windshield wiper that remains parked within the driver's 

side windshield wiper area shall be rejected.  

EXCEPTION: Do not reject safety grooves designed to 

clean wiper blades if the grooves do not extend upward 

from the bottom of the windshield more than six inches at 

the highest point. 

7. There is a pit, chip, or star crack larger than 3/4 inch in 

diameter at any location in the windshield above the 

topmost portion of the steering wheel except the two-inch 

border at each side. 

8. At any location above the topmost portion of the 

steering wheel excluding a two-inch border at the top and 

one-inch border at the sides there is: 

a. Any crack over 1/4 inch in width. 

b. Any crack 1/4 inch or less in width intersected by 

another crack. 

c. Any damage area 3/4 inch or less in diameter if within 

three inches of any other damage area.  

9. Any sticker is on the windshield other than an official 

one required by law, or permitted by the Superintendent 

superintendent. Authorization is hereby granted for stickers 

measuring not more than 2-1/2 inches in width and four 

inches in length to be placed in the blind spot behind the 

rearview mirror. Department of Defense decals measuring 

no more than three inches in width and eight inches in 

length may be affixed to the upper edge of the center of the 

windshield. At the option of the motor vehicle's owner, the 

decal may be affixed at the lower left corner of the 

windshield so that the inside or left edge of the sticker or 

decal is within one inch of the extreme left edge of the 

windshield when looking through the windshield from 

inside the vehicle. When placed at this location, the bottom 

edge of the sticker or decal must be affixed within three 

inches of the bottom of the windshield. This location can 

only be used if the owner of the vehicle has chosen not to 

place any required county, town or city decal there. The 

normal location for any required county, town, or city 

decal is adjacent to the official inspection sticker and must 

not extend upward more than three inches from the bottom 

of the windshield. Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance 

(CVSA) inspection decals may be placed at the bottom or 

sides of the windshield provided such decals do not extend 

more that 4-1/2 inches from the bottom of the windshield 

and are located outside the area swept by the windshield 

wipers and outside of the driver's sight line.  

Fastoll transponder devices may be affixed to the inside 

center of the windshield at the roof line just above the rear 

view mirror. If space does not allow, then it may be affixed 

to the immediate right of the mirror at the roof line. 

Any sticker required by the laws of any other state or 

District of Columbia and displayed upon the windshield of 

a vehicle submitted for inspection in this state is permitted 

by the superintendent, provided the vehicle is currently 

registered in that jurisdiction, the sticker is displayed in a 

manner designated by the issuing authority and has not 

expired. This includes vehicles with dual registration, i.e., 

Virginia and the District of Columbia. 

NOTE: Stickers or decals used by counties, cities and 

towns in lieu of license plates may be placed on the 

windshield without further authority. Except on privately 

owned yellow school buses, the sticker or decal shall be 

placed on the windshield adjacent to the right side of the 

official inspection sticker or the optional placement to the 

extreme lower left side of the windshield. The top edge of 
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the sticker or decal shall not extend upwards more than 

three inches from the bottom of the windshield. The left 

side edge adjacent to the official inspection sticker shall 

not be more than 1/4 inch from the right edge of the 

official inspection sticker when looking through the 

windshield from inside the vehicle. However, at the option 

of the motor vehicle owner, the sticker or decal may be 

affixed to the upper edge of the center of the windshield. 

(Any expired sticker or decal, excluding a rejection sticker, 

that is present on the windshield at the time of inspection 

shall not be issued an approval sticker unless the 

owner/operator "authorizes" its removal. A rejection 

sticker will be issued versus an involuntary removal.) On 

privately owned yellow school buses, the sticker or decal 

shall be placed on the windshield adjacent to the left side 

of the official inspection sticker, and not more than 1/4 

inch from the official inspection sticker when looking 

through the windshield from inside the vehicle. The top 

edge of the sticker shall not extend upward more than three 

inches from the bottom of the windshield. 

10. Sunshading material attached to the windshield extends 

more than three inches downward from the top of the 

windshield, unless authorized by the Virginia Department 

of Motor Vehicles and indicated on the vehicle 

registration. 

NOTE: Sunshading material on the windshield displaying 

words, lettering, numbers or pictures that do not extend 

below the AS-1 line are permitted. 

NOTE: Vehicles with logos made into the glass at the 

factory that meet federal standards will pass state 

inspection. 

11. Any sunscreening material is scratched, distorted, 

wrinkled or obscures or distorts clear vision through the 

glazing. 

12. Front side windows have cloudiness above three inches 

from the bottom of the glass, or other defects that affect the 

driver's vision or one or more cracks which permit one part 

of the glass to be moved in relation to another part. Wind 

silencers, breezes or other ventilator adaptors are not made 

of clear transparent material. 

13. Glass in the left front door cannot be raised or lowered 

easily so a hand signal can be given. (This does not apply 

to vehicle equipped with approved turn signals which were 

not designed and/or manufactured for left front glass to be 

lowered.) If either front door has the glass removed and 

material inserted in place of the glass which could obstruct 

the driver's vision. 

Exception: Sunscreening material is permissible if the 

vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side. 

14. Any sticker or other obstruction is on either front side 

window, rear side windows, or rear windows. (The price 

label, fuel economy label and the buyer's guide required by 

federal statute and regulations to be affixed to new/used 

vehicles by the manufacturer shall normally be affixed to 

one of the rear side windows.) If a vehicle only has two 

door windows, the labels may be affixed to one of these 

windows. If a vehicle does not have any door or side 

windows the labels may be temporarily affixed to the right 

side of the windshield until the vehicle is sold to the first 

purchaser. 

NOTE: A single sticker no larger than 20 square inches in 

area, if such sticker is totally contained within the lower 

five inches of the glass in the rear window or a single 

sticker or decal no larger than 10 square inches located in 

an area not more than three inches above the bottom and 

not more than eight inches from the rearmost edge of either 

front side window, is permissible and should not be 

rejected. 

Do not reject a tractor truck having a gross vehicle weight 

rating of 26,001 pounds or more equipped with one 

optically grooved clear plastic wide angle lens affixed to 

the right front side window. Such wide angle lens shall not 

extend upward from the bottom of the window opening 

more than six inches or backward from the front of the 

window opening more than eight inches. 

15. Rear window is clouded or distorted so that the driver 

does not have a view 200 feet to the rear. 

EXCEPTIONS: The following are permissible if the 

vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side: 

a. There is attached to one rear window of such motor 

vehicle one optically grooved clear plastic right angle 

rear view lens, not exceeding 18 inches in diameter in the 

case of a circular lens or not exceeding 11 inches by 14 

inches in the case of a rectangular lens, which enables the 

operator of the motor vehicle to view below the line of 

sight as viewed through the rear window. 

b. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window 

or windows of such motor vehicle any sticker or stickers, 

regardless of size. 

c. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window 

or windows of such motor vehicle a single layer of 

sunshading material. 

d. Rear side windows, rear window or windows is 

clouded or distorted. 

19VAC30-70-660. Seat belts.  

A. Definitions: 

"Bus" means a motor vehicle with motive power designed to 

carry more than 10 persons. 

"Designated seating position" means any plan plain view 

(looking down from the top) location intended by the 

manufacturer to provide seating accommodations while the 

vehicle is in motion, except auxiliary seating 

accommodations as temporary or folding jump seats. 

"Front outboard designated seating positions" means those 

designated seating positions for the driver and outside front 
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seat passenger (except for trucks which have the passenger 

seat nearest the passenger side door separated from the door 

by a passageway used to access the cargo area.) 

"GVWR" means gross vehicle weight rating as specified by 

the manufacturer (loaded weight of a single vehicle.)  

" Multipurpose passenger vehicle" means any motor vehicle 

that is (i) designed to carry no more than 10 persons and (ii) 

constructed either on a truck chassis or with special features 

for occasional off-road use. This shall include a minivan. 

"Open-body type vehicle" means a vehicle having no 

occupant compartment top or an occupant compartment top 

that can be installed or removed by the user at his 

convenience. 

"Rear outboard front facing designated seating positions" 

means those designated seating positions for passengers in 

outside front facing seats behind the driver and front 

passenger seat, except any designated seating position 

adjacent to a walkway, that is located between the seat and 

the nearside of the vehicle and is designated to allow access 

to more rearward seating positions. 

"Truck" means a motor vehicle with motive power designed 

primarily for the transportation of property or special purpose 

equipment. 

B. Passive Restraint System: 

Inflatable occupant restraint (commonly known as air 

bags). 

Passive belt system (automatic deployment around the 

occupant after the occupant enters the vehicle and closes 

the door). 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Not of an approved type. 

2. Installation not in compliance as follows: 

a. All motor vehicle seat belt anchorages and attachment 

hardware must meet the standards and specifications set 

forth by the Society of Automotive Engineers, Inc., and 

Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard Number 209, for 

such anchorages and attachment hardware. 

b. Any questions concerning the proper installation of 

seat belt assemblies should be directed to the nearest 

Safety Division office. 

3. Any of the following motor vehicles manufactured on or 

after July 1, 1971, not having a lap seat belt assembly for 

each designated seating position: 

a. Open-body type vehicles; 

b. Walk-in van type trucks; 

c. Trucks (GVWR in excess of 10,000 pounds); 

d. Multipurpose passenger vehicles (GVWR in excess of 

10,000 pounds). 

4. Any buses manufactured on or after July 1, 1971, not 

having a lap seat belt assembly for the driver's seating 

position. 

5. All other motor vehicles manufactured on or after 

January 1, 1976, except those for which requirements are 

specified in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this subsection, not 

having lap/shoulder or harness seat belt assemblies 

installed for each front outboard designated seating 

position.  

Those vehicles originally equipped and sold by the 

manufacturer with only a lap belt installed for each 

designated seating position, in compliance with Federal 

Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, will be deemed to be in 

compliance with this section.  

6. Any seat belt buckle, webbing, or mounting is cut, torn, 

frayed, or no longer operates properly.  

7. Any seat belt anchorage is loose, badly corroded, 

missing or not fastened to belt.  

8. Any truck, multi-purpose vehicle, or bus (except school 

buses and motor homes) with a GVWR of 10,000 pounds 

or less, manufactured on or after September 1, 1991, is not 

equipped with a lap/shoulder seatbelt assembly at all 

forward facing rear outboard designated seating positions.  

9. Any of the heretofore described vehicles manufactured 

on or after September 1, 1992, are not equipped with 

lap/shoulder seatbelt assembly located at all forward facing 

rear outboard designated seating positions on a readily 

removable seat.  

C. Air bag and air bag readiness light. Inspect for and reject 

if: 

1. Air bag. Any defects in the air bag system are noted by 

the air bag readiness light or otherwise indicated;  

2. The air bag has been deployed and has not been replaced 

(and is not deactivated because of a medical or other 

exemption and a notice is posted to indicate that it has been 

deactivated);  

3. Any part of the air bag system has been removed from 

the vehicle; or 

4. If the air bag indicator fails to light or stays on 

continuously. 

NOTE: Air bag readiness light. Turn the ignition key to the 

on position; the air bag readiness light will indicate normal 

operation by lighting for six to eight seconds, then turning 

off. A system malfunction is indicated by the flashing or 

continuous illumination of the readiness light or failure of 

the light to turn on. 

NOTE: Any vehicle not originally manufactured with an 

air bag readiness light shall not be rejected for not having 

this item.  

APPENDIX A. GOVERNOR'S PROCLAMATION 

(Repealed.) 

The successful administration of the Virginia traffic safety 

program is dependent to a large extent upon the proper 

mechanical maintenance of motor vehicles, trailers or semi-



Regulations 

Volume 28, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 30, 2012 

1932 

trailers which operate over the streets and highways of 

Virginia.  

Motor vehicles, trailers or semi-trailers inspected under this 

Proclamation which continue to be registered in and operated 

upon the highways of this Commonwealth shall be 

reinspected within twelve months from each month of 

inspection thereafter. Any motor vehicle, trailer or semi-

trailer presently being operated in Virginia which bears a 

current inspection sticker as of the date of this proclamation 

shall not be required to be reinspected pursuant to this 

Proclamation until the current twelve-month period has 

expired.  

The owner or operator of a motor vehicle, trailer, or semi-

trailer subject to this Proclamation shall submit the same to an 

official inspection station for inspection before operating such 

motor vehicle, trailer or semi-trailer upon the highways of 

Virginia, except as follows:  

1. Four-wheel vehicles weighing less than 500 pounds and 

having less than six horsepower;  

2. Trailers not equipped with brakes;  

3. Motor vehicles defined under § 46.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia as an antique motor vehicle and licensed as an 

antique motor vehicle pursuant to the provisions of § 46.2-

730 of the Code;  

4. Any motor vehicle, trailer or semi-trailer which is 

outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia at the time its 

inspection expires may be returned to the owner's or 

operator's place of residence or the owner's legal place of 

business in the State before it will be required to be 

submitted for a reinspection;  

In addition, any truck, tractor truck, trailer or semi-trailer 

which is outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia at the 

time its inspection expires may be operated (i) from a point 

outside the Commonwealth to the place where such vehicle 

is kept or garaged within the Commonwealth or (ii) to a 

destination within the Commonwealth where such vehicle 

will be (a) unloaded within twenty-four hours of entering 

the Commonwealth, (b) inspected within such twenty-four-

hour period, and (c) after being unloaded, will be operated 

only to an inspection station or to the place where it is kept 

or garaged within the Commonwealth;  

5. Motor vehicles owned and operated by persons on active 

duty with the United States Armed Forces, who are 

Virginia residents stationed outside of Virginia at the time 

its inspection expires, may operate such vehicle on the 

highways of the Commonwealth while on leave, provided 

such vehicle displays a valid inspection sticker issued by 

another state and not be in violation of § 46.2-1157 of the 

Code of Virginia;  

6. New motor vehicles, new trailers or new semi-trailers 

may be operated upon the highways of Virginia for the 

purpose of delivery from the place of manufacture to the 

dealer's or distributor's designated place of business, or 

between places of business if such manufacturer, dealer or 

distributor has more than one place of business, without 

being inspected; dealers or distributors may take delivery 

and operate upon the highways of Virginia new motor 

vehicles, new trailers or new semi-trailers from another 

dealer or distributor provided a motor vehicle, trailer or 

semi-trailer shall not be considered new if driven upon the 

highways for any purpose other than the delivery of the 

vehicle;  

7. New motor vehicles, new trailers or new semi-trailers 

bearing a manufacturer's license may be operated for test 

purposes by the manufacturer without an inspection;  

8. Motor vehicles, trailers or semi-trailers may be operated 

for test purposes by a certified inspector without an 

inspection during the performance of an official inspection;  

9. New motor vehicles, new trailers or new semi-trailers 

may be operated upon the highways of Virginia over the 

most direct route to a location for installation of permanent 

body without being inspected;  

10. Motor vehicles, trailers or semi-trailers purchased 

outside the Commonwealth of Virginia may be driven to 

the purchaser's place of residence or the dealer's or 

distributor's designated place of business without being 

inspected;  

11. Prior to purchase from auto auctions within the 

Commonwealth, motor vehicles, trailers or semi-trailers 

may be operated upon the highways not to exceed a five-

mile radius of such auction by prospective purchasers for 

the purpose of road testing only without being inspected;  

Motor vehicles, trailers or semi-trailers purchased from 

auto auctions within the Commonwealth also may be 

operated upon the highways from such auction to the 

purchaser's place of residence or business without being 

inspected;  

12. Motor vehicles, trailers or semi-trailers, after the 

expiration of a period fixed for the inspection thereof, may 

be operated over the most direct route between the place 

where such vehicle is kept or garaged and an official 

inspection station for the purpose of having the same 

inspected pursuant to a prior appointment with such station 

for such inspection as provided in § 46.2-1157 of the Code 

of Virginia;  

13. Vehicles transporting well drilling machinery and 

mobile equipment as defined in § 46.2-700 of the Code of 

Virginia;  

14. Motor vehicles being towed in a legal manner as 

exempted by § 46.2-1150 of the Code of Virginia;  

15. Log trailers as exempted by § 46.1-1159 of the Code of 

Virginia;  

16. Motor vehicles designed or altered and used 

exclusively for racing or other exhibition purposes, as 

exempted by § 46.2-1160 of the Code of Virginia;  
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17. Any tow dolly or converter gear as defined in § 46.2-

1119 of the Code of Virginia;  

18. Any Commercial Motor Vehicle subject to the Federal 

Motor Carrier Safety Regulations which is registered in the 

Commonwealth, but domiciled or garaged outside of the 

State, found to meet the federal requirements for annual 

inspection through a self-inspection, a third-party 

inspection, a Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance 

inspection or a periodic inspection performed in any state 

with a program determined by the Federal Motor Carrier 

Safety Administration to be comparable to, or as effective 

as, the requirements of Title 49, Code of Federal 

Regulations, Part 396, provided documentation is available 

for inspection by law-enforcement officials which verifies 

the inspection is current. Upon return to the 

Commonwealth, such vehicle shall be subject to re-

inspection in accordance with the provisions of § 46.2-

1157 of the Code of Virginia and this Proclamation.  

Motor vehicles, trailers or semi-trailers not registered in 

Virginia are not subject to this Proclamation. Accordingly, 

mopeds as defined in § 46.2-100 and vehicles exempted from 

licensing under §§ 46.2-662 through 46.2-683 are not 

required to be inspected.  

NOW, THEREFORE, I, James S. Gilmore, III, Governor of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia, do hereby proclaim that, with 

the exception of those vehicles specifically exempted 

heretofore in this document, all motor vehicles, trailers or 

semi-trailers bearing a Virginia registration plate or plates, or 

registered as a motor vehicle, trailer or semi-trailer under any 

provision of Virginia law and operated upon the highways of 

this Commonwealth shall be submitted to inspection at an 

official inspection station and shall have corrected all defects 

thus found to exist.  

Given under my hand and under the lesser seal of the 

Commonwealth, at Richmond, this 7th day of December, in 

the year of Our Lord, two thousand, and in the two hundred 

twenty-fifth year of the Commonwealth.  

/s/ James S. Gilmore, III  

Governor  

Part VII 

Inspection Requirements for Specialty Vehicles 

19VAC30-70-690. Inspection requirements for specialty 

vehicles. 

Inspection procedure - converted electric vehicles. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any high voltage cables or conduit containing high 

voltage cables are not completely covered with orange. 

NOTE: No high voltage cables may be grounded to the 

chassis or frame of the vehicle. 

2. A breaker or fuse in the high voltage circuit that contains 

the traction battery pack and the motor controller is not 

present. 

3. An externally mounted switch to open the high voltage 

circuit in case of an emergency is not present. Such switch 

must be located where the fuel tank filler cap was located 

prior to conversion. Any cover protecting the switch must 

be able to be opened from the outside of the vehicle. 

4. Traction batteries are not mounted in secure 

nonconductive enclosures that provide for limited access. 

Multiple enclosures may be used but must be connected by 

high voltage cables encased in conduit made of metal, 

composite, or other materials of comparable strength, 

crush, and abrasion resistant to metal or composite.  

5. Conduit made of metal, composite, or other materials of 

comparable strength, crush, and abrasion resistant to metal 

or composite, encasing any high voltage cable running 

under or outside of the vehicle is not secured to the vehicle 

chassis and does not have proper ground clearance. 

6. Labeling on three sides of the vehicle identifying such 

vehicle as "CONVERTED ELECTRIC" is not present on 

the vehicle. Each label shall be at least six inches long and 

consist of lettering at least three inches tall.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 

available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly 

Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (19VAC30-70)  

Inspection Sticker Inventory Report, Form SP-221 (8/1/94).  

Safety Inspector Notification Form (rev. 11/98.)  

Mechanics Certification Application, Form SP-170-B, 

(9/04).  

Authorization for Release of Information, SP-170-D (eff. 

09/78). 

Criminal History Record Name Search Request, Form SP-

167 (9/04).  

Inspection Station Complaint/Report, SP-164 (rev. 10/01). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2928; Filed June 27, 2012, 4:48 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=05027002928~1&typ=40&actno=002928&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=05027002928~1&typ=40&actno=002928&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=749a2002928~2&typ=40&actno=002928&mime=application/pdf
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where no agency discretion is involved. The Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-11. Public Participation 

Guidelines (amending 22VAC30-11-10, 22VAC30-11-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 51.5-131 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 30, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Ph.D., CRC, Policy 

Analyst, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 662-7612, FAX (804) 662-7663, TTY (800) 464-9950, 

or email vanessa.rakestraw@dars.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reflect the name of the new agency 

created by Chapters 803 and 835 of the 2012 Acts of 

Assembly to assume the powers of the former Department 

of Rehabilitative Services and the Department for the 

Aging. The new agency name is the Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services. 

Part I  

Purpose and Definitions  

22VAC30-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 

involvement in the development, amendment or repeal of the 

regulations of the Department of Rehabilitative Services 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services. This 

chapter does not apply to regulations, guidelines, or other 

documents exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

22VAC30-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Department of Rehabilitative Services 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, which is 

the unit of state government empowered by the agency's basic 

law to make regulations or decide cases. Actions specified in 

this chapter may be fulfilled by state employees as delegated 

by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 

delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 

for official government meetings open to the public as 

required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 

advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 

to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 

a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 

consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 

action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 

pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 

list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 

other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 

state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 

make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 

promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 

venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 

or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 

agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 

or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 

public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 

having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 

person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 

authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 

repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 

ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 

agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 

website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 

Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 

public comment forums and displays information about 

regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 

consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 

registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 

Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 

of new, amended and repealed regulations of state agencies, 

which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3301; Filed July 6, 2012, 10:01 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-20. Provision of Vocational 

Rehabilitation Services (amending 22VAC30-20-10, 

22VAC30-20-181).  

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 30, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Ph.D., CRC, Policy 

Analyst, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 
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8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 662-7612, FAX (804) 662-7663, TTY (800) 464-9950, 

or email vanessa.rakestraw@dars.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reflect the name of the new agency 

created by Chapters 803 and 835 of the 2012 Acts of 

Assembly to assume the powers of the former Department 

of Rehabilitative Services and the Department for the 

Aging. The new agency name is the Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services. 

22VAC30-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Act" means the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC § 701 

et seq.), as amended.  

"Applicant" means an individual who submits an application 

for vocational rehabilitation services.  

"Appropriate modes of communication" means specialized 

aids and supports that enable an individual with a disability to 

comprehend and respond to information that is being 

communicated. Appropriate modes of communication 

include, but are not limited to, the use of interpreters, open 

and closed captioned videos, specialized telecommunications 

services and audio recordings, Brailled and large-print 

materials, materials in electronic formats, augmentative 

communication devices, graphic presentations, and simple 

language materials.  

"Assistive technology" means any item, piece of equipment, 

or product system, whether acquired commercially off the 

shelf, modified, or customized, that is used to increase, 

maintain, or improve the functional capabilities of an 

individual with a disability.  

"Assistive technology service" means any service that 

directly assists an individual with a disability in the selection, 

acquisition, or use of an assistive technology device, 

including:  

1. The evaluation of the needs of an individual with a 

disability, including a functional evaluation of the 

individual in his customary environment;  

2. Purchasing, leasing, or otherwise providing for the 

acquisition by an individual with a disability of an assistive 

technology device;  

3. Selecting, designing, fitting, customizing, adapting, 

applying, maintaining, repairing, or replacing assistive 

technology devices;  

4. Coordinating and using other therapies, interventions, or 

services with assistive technology devices, such as those 

associated with existing education and rehabilitation plans 

and programs;  

5. Training or technical assistance for an individual with a 

disability or, if appropriate, the family members, 

guardians, advocates, or authorized representatives of the 

individual; and  

6. Training or technical assistance for professionals 

(including individuals providing education and 

rehabilitation services), employers, or others who provide 

services to, employ, or are otherwise substantially involved 

in the major life functions of individuals with disabilities, 

to the extent that training or technical assistance is 

necessary to the achievement of an employment outcome 

by an individual with a disability.  

"Audiological examination" means the testing of the sense 

of hearing.  

"Board" means the Board of Rehabilitative Services.  

"Clear and convincing evidence" means that the designated 

state unit shall have a high degree of certainty before it can 

conclude that an individual is incapable of benefiting from 

services in terms of an employment outcome. The clear and 

convincing standard constitutes the highest standard used in 

our civil system of law and is to be individually applied on a 

case-by-case basis. The term "clear" means unequivocal. 

Given these requirements, a review of existing information 

generally would not provide clear and convincing evidence. 

For example, the use of an intelligence test result alone would 

not constitute clear and convincing evidence. Clear and 

convincing evidence might include a description of 

assessments, including situational assessments and supported 

employment assessments, from service providers who have 

concluded that they would be unable to meet the individual's 

needs due to the severity of the individual's disability. The 

demonstration of clear and convincing evidence must include, 

if appropriate, a functional assessment of skill development 

activities, with any necessary supports (including assistive 

technology), in real life settings. (S. Rep. No. 357, 102d 

Cong., 2d. Sess. 37-38 (1992))  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department of Rehabilitative Services Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services.  

"Community rehabilitation program" means a program that 

directly provides or facilitates the provision of one or more of 

the following vocational rehabilitation services to individuals 

with disabilities to enable those individuals to maximize their 

opportunities for employment, including career advancement:  

1. Medical, psychiatric, psychological, social, and 

vocational services that are provided under one 

management;  

2. Testing, fitting, or training in the use of prosthetic and 

orthotic devices;  

3. Recreational therapy;  

4. Physical and occupational therapy;  

5. Speech, language, and hearing therapy;  

6. Psychiatric, psychological, and social services, including 

positive behavior management;  
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7. Assessment for determining eligibility and vocational 

rehabilitation needs;  

8. Rehabilitation technology;  

9. Job development, placement, and retention services;  

10. Evaluation or control of specific disabilities;  

11. Orientation and mobility services for individuals who 

are blind;  

12. Extended employment;  

13. Psychosocial rehabilitation services;  

14. Supported employment services and extended services;  

15. Services to family members, if necessary, to enable the 

applicant or eligible individual to achieve an employment 

outcome;  

16. Personal assistance services; or  

17. Services similar to the services described in 

subdivisions 1 through 16 of this definition.  

For the purposes of this definition, the word "program" 

means an agency, organization, or institution, or unit of an 

agency, organization, or institution, that directly provides or 

facilitates the provision of vocational rehabilitation services 

as one of its major functions.  

"Comparable services and benefits" means services and 

benefits that are provided or paid for, in whole or in part, by 

other federal, state, or local public agencies, by health 

insurance or by employee benefits; available to the individual 

at the time needed to ensure the individual's progress toward 

achieving the employment outcome in the individual's 

individualized plan for employment; and commensurate to the 

services that the individual would otherwise receive from the 

vocational rehabilitation agency. For the purposes of this 

definition, comparable benefits do not include awards and 

scholarships based on merit.  

"Competitive employment" means work in the competitive 

labor market that is performed on a full-time or part-time 

basis in an integrated setting, and for which an individual is 

compensated at or above the minimum wage, but not less 

than the customary wage and level of benefits paid by the 

employer for the same or similar work performed by 

individuals who are not disabled.  

"Department" means the Department of Rehabilitative 

Services Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services.  

"Designated state agency" or "state agency" means the sole 

state agency designated in accordance with 34 CFR 361.13(a) 

to administer or supervise local administration of the state 

plan for vocational rehabilitation services.  

"Designated state unit" or "state unit" means either the state 

agency, vocational rehabilitation bureau, division, or other 

organizational unit that is primarily concerned with 

vocational rehabilitation or vocational and other rehabilitation 

of individuals with disabilities and that is responsible for the 

administration of the vocational rehabilitation program of the 

state agency as required under 34 CFR 361.13(b), or the state 

agency that is primarily concerned with vocational 

rehabilitation or vocational and other rehabilitation of 

individuals with disabilities.  

"Eligible individual" means an applicant for vocational 

rehabilitation services who meets the eligibility requirements 

of 22VAC30-20-30 and 22VAC30-20-40.  

"Employment outcome" means, with respect to an 

individual, entering or retaining full-time or, if appropriate, 

part-time competitive employment in the integrated labor 

market; supported employment; or any other type of 

employment in an integrated setting including self-

employment, telecommuting, or business ownership that is 

consistent with an individual's strengths, resources, priorities, 

concerns, abilities, capabilities, interests, and informed 

choice. (34 CFR 361.5(b) (16))  

"Evaluation of vocational rehabilitation potential" means, as 

appropriate, in each case (i) a preliminary diagnostic study to 

determine that an individual is eligible for vocational 

rehabilitation services; (ii) a thorough diagnostic study 

consisting of a comprehensive evaluation of pertinent factors 

bearing on the individual's impediment to employment and 

vocational rehabilitation potential, in order to determine 

which vocational rehabilitation services may be of benefit to 

the individual in terms of employability; (iii) any other goods 

or services necessary to determine the nature of the disability 

and whether it may reasonably be expected that the individual 

can benefit from vocational rehabilitation services in terms of 

an employment outcome; (iv) referral to other agencies or 

organizations, when appropriate; and (v) the provision of 

vocational rehabilitation services to an individual during an 

extended evaluation of rehabilitation potential for the purpose 

of determining whether the individual with a disability is 

capable of achieving an employment outcome.  

"Extended employment" means work in a nonintegrated or 

sheltered setting for a public or private nonprofit agency or 

organization that provides compensation in accordance with 

the Fair Labor Standards Act (29 USC § 201 et seq.). 

(34 CFR 361.5(b) (20))  

"Extended evaluation" means the provision of vocational 

rehabilitation services necessary for determination of 

rehabilitation potential.  

"Extended services" as used in the definition of "supported 

employment" means ongoing support services and other 

appropriate services that are needed to support and maintain 

an individual with a most significant disability in supported 

employment and that are provided by a state agency, a private 

nonprofit organization, employer, or any other appropriate 

resource, from funds other than funds received under this 

section, 34 CFR Part 363 after an individual with a most 

significant disability has made the transition from support 

provided by the designated state unit.  

"Extreme medical risk" means a probability of substantially 

increasing functional impairment or death if medical services, 



Regulations 

Volume 28, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 30, 2012 

1937 

including mental health services, are not provided 

expeditiously.  

"Family member" or "member of the family" means an 

individual who is either a relative or guardian of an applicant 

or eligible individual, or lives in the same household as an 

applicant or eligible individual who has a substantial interest 

in the well-being of that individual and whose receipt of 

vocational rehabilitation services is necessary to enable the 

applicant or eligible individual to achieve an employment 

outcome.  

"Higher education/institutions of higher education" means 

training or training services provided by universities, 

colleges, community or junior colleges, vocational schools, 

technical institutes, or hospital schools of nursing.  

"Impartial hearing officer" means an individual who is not 

an employee of a public agency (other than an administrative 

law judge, hearing examiner, or employee of an institution of 

higher education); is not a member of the State Rehabilitation 

Council for the designated state unit; has not been involved 

previously in the vocational rehabilitation of the applicant or 

eligible individual; has knowledge of the delivery of 

vocational rehabilitation services, the state plan, and the 

federal and state regulations governing the provision of 

services; has received training with respect to the 

performance of official duties; and has no personal, 

professional, or financial interest that would be in conflict 

with the objectivity of the individual. An individual may not 

be considered to be an employee of a public agency for the 

purposes of this definition solely because the individual is 

paid by the agency to serve as a hearing officer. (34 CFR 

361.5(b)(25))  

"Individual who is blind" means a person who is blind 

within the meaning of the applicable state law.  

"Individual with a disability," except as provided in 34 CFR 

361.5(b)(29), means an individual (i) who has a physical or 

mental impairment; (ii) whose impairment constitutes or 

results in a substantial impediment to employment; and (iii) 

who can benefit in terms of an employment outcome from the 

provision of vocational rehabilitation services. (34 CFR 

361.5(b)(28))  

"Individual with a disability," for purposes of 34 CFR 361.5 

(b)(14), 34 CFR 361.13(a), 34 CFR 361.13(b)(1), 34 CFR 

361.17(a), (b), (c), and (j), 34 CFR 361.18(b), 34 CFR 

361.19, 34 CFR 361.20, 34 CFR 361.23(b)(2), 34 CFR 

361.29(a) and (d)(5) and 34 CFR 361.51(b), means an 

individual (i) who has a physical or mental impairment that 

substantially limits one or more major life activities; (ii) who 

has a record of such an impairment; or (iii) who is regarded as 

having such an impairment. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(29))  

"Individual with a most significant disability" means an 

individual who meets the designated state unit's criteria for an 

individual with a most significant disability. (34 CFR 

361.5(b)(30))  

"Individual with a significant disability" means an individual 

with a disability (i) who has a severe physical or mental 

impairment that seriously limits one or more functional 

capacities (such as mobility, communication, self-care, self-

direction, interpersonal skills, work tolerance, or work skills) 

in terms of an employment outcome; (ii) whose vocational 

rehabilitation can be expected to require multiple vocational 

rehabilitation services over an extended period of time; and 

(iii) who has one or more physical or mental disabilities 

resulting from amputation, arthritis, autism, blindness, burn 

injury, cancer, cerebral palsy, cystic fibrosis, deafness, head 

injury, heart disease, hemiplegia, hemophilia, respiratory or 

pulmonary dysfunction, mental retardation, mental illness, 

multiple sclerosis, muscular dystrophy, musculoskeletal 

disorders, neurological disorders (including stroke and 

epilepsy), spinal cord conditions (including paraplegia and 

quadriplegia), sickle cell anemia, specific learning disability, 

end-stage renal disease, or another disability or combination 

of disabilities determined on the basis of an assessment for 

determining eligibility and vocational rehabilitation needs to 

cause comparable substantial functional limitation. (34 CFR 

361.5(b)(31))  

"Individual's representative" means any representative 

chosen by an applicant or eligible individual, as appropriate, 

including a parent, guardian, other family member, or 

advocate, unless a representative has been appointed by a 

court to represent the individual, in which case the court-

appointed representative is the individual's representative. 

(34 CFR 361.5(b)(32))  

"Integrated setting," with respect to the provision of 

services, means a setting typically found in the community in 

which applicants or eligible individuals interact with 

nondisabled individuals other than nondisabled individuals 

who are providing services to those applicants or eligible 

individuals. "Integrated setting," with respect to an 

employment outcome, means a setting typically found in the 

community in which applicants or eligible individuals interact 

with nondisabled individuals, other than nondisabled 

individuals who are providing services to those applicants or 

eligible individuals, to the same extent that nondisabled 

individuals in comparable positions interact with other 

persons.  

"Local workforce investment board" means a local 

workforce investment board established under section 117 of 

the Workforce Investment Act of 1998. (34 CFR 361.5(b) 

(34))  

"Maintenance" means monetary support provided to an 

individual for expenses, such as food, shelter, and clothing, 

that are in excess of the normal expenses of the individual and 

that are necessitated by the individual's participation in an 

assessment for determining eligibility and vocational 

rehabilitation needs or the individual's receipt of vocational 

rehabilitation services under an individualized plan for 

employment. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(35))  
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"Mediation" means the act or process of using an 

independent third party to act as a mediator, intermediary, or 

conciliator to assist persons or parties in settling differences 

or disputes prior to pursuing formal administrative or other 

legal remedies. Mediation under the program must be 

conducted in accordance with the requirements in 34 CFR 

361.57(d) by a qualified impartial mediator. (34 CFR 

361.5(b)(36))  

"Mental disability" means (i) having a disability attributable 

to mental retardation, autism, or any other neurologically 

disabling condition closely related to mental retardation and 

requiring treatment similar to that required by mentally 

retarded individuals; or (ii) an organic or mental impairment 

that has substantial adverse effects on an individual's 

cognitive or volitional functions, including central nervous 

system disorders or significant discrepancies among mental 

functions of an individual.  

"Nonprofit," with respect to a community rehabilitation 

program, means a community rehabilitation program carried 

out by a corporation or association, no part of the net earnings 

of which inures, or may lawfully inure, to the benefit of any 

private shareholder or individual and the income of which is 

exempt from taxation under § 501(c)(3) of the Internal 

Revenue Code of 1986. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(37))  

"Ongoing support services," as used in the definition of 

"supported employment," means services that are needed to 

support and maintain an individual with a most significant 

disability in supported employment; identified based on a 

determination by the designated state unit of the individual's 

needs as specified in an individualized plan for employment; 

and furnished by the designated state unit from the time of 

job placement until transition to extended services, unless 

post-employment services are provided following transition, 

and thereafter by one or more extended services providers 

throughout the individual's term of employment in a 

particular job placement or multiple placements if those 

placements are being provided under a program of 

transitional employment. These services must include an 

assessment of employment stability and provision of specific 

services or the coordination of services at or away from the 

worksite that are needed to maintain stability based on, at a 

minimum, twice-monthly monitoring at the worksite of each 

individual in supported employment; or if under specific 

circumstances, especially at the request of the individual, the 

individualized plan for employment provides for off-site 

monitoring, twice-monthly meetings with the individual. 

These services must consist of any particularized assessment 

supplementary to the comprehensive assessment of 

rehabilitation needs described in this section; the provision of 

skilled job trainers who accompany the individual for 

intensive job skill training at the work site; job development 

and placement; social skills training; regular observation or 

supervision of the individual; follow-up services including 

regular contact with the employers, the individuals, the 

parents, family members, guardians, advocates or authorized 

representatives of the individuals, and other suitable 

professional and informed advisors in order to reinforce and 

stabilize the job placement; facilitation of natural supports at 

the worksite; any other service identified in the scope of 

vocational rehabilitation services for individuals described in 

22VAC30-20-120; or any service similar to the foregoing 

services. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(38))  

"Otological examination" means any examination conducted 

by a physician skilled in otology.  

"Personal assistance services" means a range of services 

provided by one or more persons designed to assist an 

individual with a disability to perform daily living activities 

on or off the job that the individual would typically perform 

without assistance if the individual did not have a disability. 

The services must be designed to increase the individual's 

control in life and ability to perform everyday activities on or 

off the job. The services must be necessary to the 

achievement of an employment outcome and may be 

provided only while the individual is receiving other 

vocational rehabilitation services. The services may include 

training in managing, supervising, and directing personal 

assistance services.  

"Physical and mental restoration services" means corrective 

surgery or therapeutic treatment that is likely, within a 

reasonable period of time, to correct or modify substantially a 

stable or slowly progressive physical or mental impairment 

that constitutes a substantial impediment to employment; 

diagnosis of and treatment for mental or emotional disorders 

by qualified personnel in accordance with state licensure 

laws; dentistry; nursing services; necessary hospitalization 

(either inpatient or outpatient care) in connection with surgery 

or treatment and clinic services; drugs and supplies; 

prosthetic, orthotic, or other assistive devices, including 

hearing aids; eyeglasses and visual services, including visual 

training, and the examination and services necessary for the 

prescription and provision of eyeglasses, contact lenses, 

microscopic lenses, telescopic lenses, and other special visual 

aids prescribed by personnel that are qualified in accordance 

with state licensure laws; podiatry; physical therapy; 

occupational therapy; speech or hearing therapy; mental 

health services; treatment of either acute or chronic medical 

complications and emergencies that are associated with or 

arise out of the provision of physical and mental restoration 

services or that are inherent in the condition under treatment; 

special services for the treatment of individuals with end-

stage renal disease, including transplantation, dialysis, 

artificial kidneys, and supplies; and other medical or 

medically related rehabilitation services.  

"Physical or mental impairment" means any physiological 

disorder or condition, cosmetic disfigurement, or anatomical 

loss affecting one or more of the following body systems: 

neurological, musculo-skeletal, special sense organs, 

respiratory (including speech organs), cardiovascular, 

reproductive, digestive, genitourinary, hemic, and lymphatic, 
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skin and endocrine; or any mental or psychological disorders 

such as mental retardation, organic brain syndrome, 

emotional or mental illness, and specific learning disabilities. 

(34 CFR 361.5(b)(41))  

"Post-employment services" means one or more of the 

services identified in 22VAC30-20-120 that are provided 

subsequent to the achievement of an employment outcome 

and that are necessary for an individual to maintain, regain, or 

advance in employment consistent with the individual's 

strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, 

capabilities, and interests and informed choice. (34 CFR 

361.5(b)(42))  

"Prevocational training" means individual and group 

instruction or counseling, the controlled use of varied 

activities, and the application of special behavior 

modification techniques; individuals or patients are helped to: 

(i) develop physical and emotional tolerance for work 

demands and pressures, (ii) acquire personal-social behaviors 

which would make them acceptable employees and 

coworkers on the job, and (iii) develop the basic manual, 

academic, and communication skills needed to acquire basic 

job skills.  

"Prosthetic and orthotic appliances" means any mechanical 

equipment that improves or substitutes for one or more of 

man's senses or for impaired mobility or motor coordination.  

"Public safety officer" means an individual who performs 

duties directly related to the enforcement, execution, and 

administration of law or fire prevention, firefighting, or 

related public safety activities, and whose substantially 

limiting condition arose from a disability sustained in the line 

of duty while performing as a public safety officer and the 

immediate cause of such disability was a criminal act, 

apparent criminal act, or a hazardous condition.  

"Qualified and impartial mediator" means an individual who 

is not an employee of a public agency (other than an 

administrative law judge, hearing examiner, employee of a 

state office of mediators, or employee of an institution of 

higher education); is not a member of the State Rehabilitation 

Council for the designated state unit; has not been involved 

previously in the vocational rehabilitation of the applicant or 

eligible individual; is knowledgeable of the vocational 

rehabilitation program and the applicable federal and state 

laws, regulations, and policies governing the provision of 

vocational rehabilitation services; has been trained in 

effective mediation techniques consistent with any state 

approved or recognized certification, licensing, registration, 

or other requirements; and has no personal, professional, or 

financial interest that would be in conflict with the objectivity 

of the individual during the mediation proceedings. An 

individual serving as a mediator is not considered to be an 

employee of the designated state agency or designated state 

unit for the purposes of this definition solely because the 

individual is paid by the designated state agency or 

designated state unit to serve as a mediator. (34 CFR 

361.5(b)(43))  

"Rehabilitation facility" means a facility which is operated 

for the primary purpose of providing vocational rehabilitation 

services to individuals with disabilities, and which provides 

singly or in combination one or more of the following 

services for individuals with disabilities: (i) vocational 

rehabilitation services, including under one management, 

medical, psychiatric, psychological, social, and vocational 

services; (ii) testing, fitting, or training in the use of prosthetic 

and orthotic devices; (iii) prevocational conditioning or 

recreational therapy; (iv) physical and occupational therapy; 

(v) speech and hearing therapy; (vi) psychological and social 

services; (vii) evaluation of rehabilitation potential; (viii) 

personal and work adjustment; (ix) vocational training with a 

view toward career advancement (in combination with other 

rehabilitation services); (x) evaluation or control of specific 

disabilities; (xi) orientation and mobility services and other 

adjustment services to individuals who are blind; and (xii) 

transitional or extended employment for those individuals 

with disabilities who cannot be readily absorbed in the 

competitive labor market.  

"Rehabilitation technology" means the systematic 

application of technologies, engineering methodologies, or 

scientific principles to meet the needs of, and address the 

barriers confronted by, individuals with disabilities in areas 

that include education, rehabilitation, employment, 

transportation, independent living, and recreation. The term 

includes rehabilitation engineering, assistive technology 

devices, and assistive technology services.  

"Services to groups" means the provision of facilities and 

services which may be expected to contribute substantially to 

the vocational rehabilitation of a group of individuals, but 

which are not related directly to the individualized 

rehabilitation program of any one individual with a disability.  

"State" means the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"State plan" means the state plan for vocational 

rehabilitation services or the vocational rehabilitation services 

part of a consolidated rehabilitation plan under 34 CFR 

361.10(c). (34 CFR 361.5(b)(51))  

"State workforce investment board" means a state workforce 

investment board established under § 111 of the Workforce 

Investment Act of 1998. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(49))  

"Substantial impediment to employment" means that a 

physical or mental impairment (in light of attendant medical, 

psychological, vocational, educational, and other related 

factors) hinders an individual from preparing for, entering 

into, engaging in, or retaining employment consistent with the 

individual's abilities and capabilities.  

"Supported employment" means (i) competitive employment 

in an integrated setting, or employment in integrated work 

settings in which individuals are working toward competitive 

employment, consistent with the strengths, resources, 
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priorities, concerns, abilities, capabilities, interests, and 

informed choice of the individuals with ongoing support 

services for individuals with the most significant disabilities 

for whom competitive employment has not traditionally 

occurred or for whom competitive employment has been 

interrupted or intermittent as a result of a significant 

disability; and who, because of the nature of their disabilities, 

need intensive supported employment services from the 

designated state unit and extended services after transition to 

perform this work or (ii) transitional employment for 

individuals with the most significant disabilities due to mental 

illness. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(53))  

"Supported employment services" means ongoing support 

services and other appropriate services needed to support and 

maintain an individual with a most significant disability in 

supported employment that are provided by the designated 

state unit for a period of time not to exceed 18 months, unless 

under special circumstances the eligible individual and the 

rehabilitation counselor or coordinator jointly agree to extend 

the time in order to achieve the employment outcome 

identified in the individualized plan for employment; and 

following transition, as post-employment services that are 

unavailable from an extended services provider and that are 

necessary to maintain or regain the job placement or advance 

in employment. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(54))  

"Transition services" means a coordinated set of activities 

for a student designed within an outcome-oriented process 

that promotes movement from school to post-school 

activities, including post-secondary education, vocational 

training, integrated employment (including supported 

employment), continuing and adult education, adult services, 

independent living, or community participation. The 

coordinated set of activities must be based upon the 

individual student's needs, taking into account the student's 

preferences and interests, and must include instruction, 

community experiences, the development of employment and 

other post-school adult living objectives, and, if appropriate, 

acquisition of daily living skills and functional vocational 

evaluation. Transition services must promote or facilitate the 

achievement of the employment outcome identified in the 

student's individualized plan for employment. (34 CFR 

361.5(b)(55))  

"Transitional employment," as used in the definition of 

"supported employment," means a series of temporary job 

placements in competitive work in integrated settings with 

ongoing support services for individuals with the most severe 

disabilities due to mental illness. In transitional employment, 

the provision of ongoing support services must include 

continuing sequential job placements until job permanency is 

achieved.  

"Transportation" means travel and related expenses that are 

necessary to enable an applicant or eligible individual to 

participate in a vocational rehabilitation service, including 

expenses for training in the use of public transportation 

vehicles and systems. (34 CFR 361.5(b)(57))  

"Vocational rehabilitation services" means those services 

listed in 22VAC30-20-120.  

"Work adjustment training" means a treatment and training 

process utilizing individual and group work, or work related 

activities, to assist individuals in understanding the meaning, 

value and demands of work; to modify or develop attitudes, 

personal characteristics, work behavior, and to develop 

functional capacities, as required in order to assist individuals 

toward their optimum level of vocational development.  

22VAC30-20-181. Review of rehabilitation counselor or 

coordinator determinations.  

A. The designated state unit must establish and implement 

procedures, including standards of review under subsection D 

of this section, established by the Commissioner of the 

Department of Rehabilitative Services Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services to ensure that any applicant or 

eligible individual who is dissatisfied with any determinations 

made by a rehabilitation counselor or coordinator concerning 

the furnishing or denial of services may request, or, if 

appropriate, may request through the individual's 

representative, a timely review of those determinations. The 

procedures established by the Commissioner of the 

Department of Rehabilitative Services Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services must be in accordance with this 

section.  

B. Informal resolution. The Department of Rehabilitative 

Services Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services 

may establish an informal process to resolve a request for 

review without conducting mediation or a formal hearing. 

However, the informal process must not be used to deny the 

right of an applicant or eligible individual to a hearing under 

subsection D of this section or mediation under subsection C 

of this section. The informal resolution or the mediation 

process or both must be conducted and concluded within the 

time period established under subdivision D 1 of this section 

for holding a formal hearing. If neither the informal 

resolution nor mediation is successful, a formal hearing must 

be conducted by the end of this same period, unless the 

parties agree to a specific extension of time.  

C. The department shall establish mediation procedures that 

allow an applicant or eligible individual and the state unit to 

resolve disputes. The procedures shall provide that:  

1. The mediation process is conducted by a qualified and 

impartial mediator as defined in 22VAC30-20-10 who 

must be selected from a list of qualified and impartial 

mediators maintained by the state;  

2. Mediation be available, at a minimum, whenever an 

applicant, eligible individual or, as appropriate, the 

individual's representative requests an impartial due 

process hearing under this section;  
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3. Participation in the mediation process is voluntary on the 

part of the applicant or eligible individual, as appropriate, 

and on the part of the state unit;  

4. The mediation process not be used to deny or delay the 

applicant or eligible individual's right to pursue resolution 

of the dispute through a formal hearing process in the time 

specified in subsection D of this section or any other rights 

provided under this part;  

5. Either party or the mediator may elect to terminate 

mediation at any time and pursue resolution through a 

formal hearing if desired;  

6. Mediation sessions are scheduled and conducted in a 

timely manner and held in a location and manner 

convenient to the parties in dispute;  

7. Discussions that occur during mediation remain 

confidential and may not be used as evidence in any 

subsequent due process hearing or civil proceeding and 

parties may be required to sign a confidentiality pledge 

prior to mediation;  

8. Any agreement reached by the parties to the dispute will 

be described in a written mediation agreement that is 

develop by the parties with the assistance of the mediator, 

signed by both parties, with a copy given to both parties; 

and  

9. The cost of the mediation process will be paid by the 

state, but the state is not required to pay for any costs 

related to the representation of an applicant or eligible 

individual.  

D. The department shall establish formal review procedures 

that provide that:  

1. A hearing by an impartial hearing officer, selected in 

accordance with subsection E of this section, must be held 

within 60 days of an individual's request for review, unless 

informal resolution is achieved prior to the 60th day or the 

parties agree to a specific extension of time;  

2. The department may not institute a suspension, 

reduction, or termination of services being provided under 

an individualized plan for employment pending a final 

determination of the formal hearing under this subdivision, 

informal resolution under subsection B of this section, or 

mediation under subsection C of this section unless the 

individual or, in an appropriate case, the individual's 

representative so requests or the agency has evidence that 

the services have been obtained through misrepresentation, 

fraud, collusion, or criminal conduct on the part of the 

individual or the individual's representative;  

3. The individual or, if appropriate, the individual's 

representative must be afforded an opportunity to present 

additional evidence, information, and witnesses to the 

impartial hearing officer, to be represented by counsel or 

other appropriate advocate, and to examine all witnesses 

and other relevant sources of information and evidence;  

4. The impartial hearing officer shall make a decision 

based on the provisions of the approved state plan, the 

federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973 as amended (the Act), 

federal vocational rehabilitation regulations, and state 

regulations and policies that are consistent with federal 

requirements and shall provide to the individual or, if 

appropriate, the individual's representative and to the 

commissioner a full written report of the findings and 

grounds for the decision within 30 days of the completion 

of the hearing;  

5. The hearing officer's decision is final, except that a party 

may request an impartial review under subdivision 6 of this 

subsection if the state has established procedures for 

review, and a party involved in a hearing may bring a civil 

action under subsection H of this section;  

6. The state may establish procedures to enable a party 

who is dissatisfied with the decision of the impartial 

hearing officer to seek an impartial administrative review 

of the decision consistent with 34 CFR 361.57;  

7. Except for the time limitations established in subdivision 

1 of this subsection, each state's review procedures may 

provide for reasonable time extensions for good cause 

shown at the request of a party or at the request of both 

parties.  

E. Selection of impartial hearing officers. The impartial 

hearing officer for a particular case must be selected (i) from 

among the pool of persons qualified to be an impartial 

hearing officer, as defined in 34 CFR 361.5(b)(22) and 29 

USC § 722(b) and (d), who are identified jointly by the 

Department of Rehabilitative Services Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services and those members of the State 

Rehabilitation Council designated in § 102(d)(2)(C) of the 

Act (29 USC § 722(b) and (d)) and (ii) on a random basis.  

F. Informing affected individuals. The department shall 

inform, through appropriate modes of communication, all 

applicants and eligible individuals of:  

1. Their right to review under this section, including the 

names and addresses of individuals with whom appeals 

may be filed; and  

2. The manner in which an impartial hearing officer will be 

selected consistent with the requirements of subsection E 

of this section.  

G. Implementation of final decisions. If a party brings a civil 

action under subsection H of this section to challenge the 

final decision of a hearing officer under subsection D of this 

section or to challenge the final decision of a state reviewing 

official under subsection D of this section, the final decision 

of the hearing officer or state reviewing official must be 

implemented pending review by the court.  

H. Civil action. Any party who disagrees with the findings 

or decisions of an impartial hearing officer under subdivision 

D 4 of this section if the state that has not established 

administrative review procedures under subdivision D 6 of 
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this section, and any party who disagrees with the findings 

and decision under subdivision D 6 of this section, if the state 

has established an administrative review procedure, has a 

right to bring civil action with respect to the matter in dispute. 

The action may be brought in any state court of competent 

jurisdiction or in a district court of the United States of 

competent jurisdiction without regard to the amount in 

controversy. In any action brought under this section, the 

court receives the records related to the impartial due process 

hearing and the records related to the administrative review, if 

applicable; hears additional evidence at the request of a party; 

and basing its decision on the preponderance of the evidence, 

grants the relief that the court determines to be appropriate.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3306; Filed July 6, 2012, 10:06 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-30. Provision of 

Independent Living Rehabilitation Services (amending 

22VAC30-30-160, 22VAC30-30-250).  

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 30, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Ph.D., CRC, Policy 

Analyst, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 662-7612, FAX (804) 662-7663, TTY (800) 464-9950, 

or email vanessa.rakestraw@dars.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reflect the name of the new agency 

created by Chapters 803 and 835 of the 2012 Acts of 

Assembly to assume the powers of the former Department 

of Rehabilitative Services and the Department for the 

Aging. The new agency name is the Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services. 

22VAC30-30-160. Staff.  

A. The majority of the center for independent living (CIL) 

staff and individuals with decision-making positions shall be 

individuals with disabilities.  

B. The staff of the service provider shall include personnel 

who are specialists in the development and provision of IL 

services and in the development and support of centers.  

C. CILs shall meet all relevant licensure, certification, 

bonding, and insurance requirements of the Department of 

Rehabilitative Services Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services. 

D. To the maximum extent feasible, the service provider 

must make available personnel able to communicate (i) with 

individuals with significant disabilities who rely on 

alternative modes of communication, such as manual 

communication, nonverbal communication devices, Braille, 

or audio tapes, and who apply for or receive IL services under 

Title VII of the Act, and (ii) in the native languages of 

individuals with significant disabilities whose English 

proficiency is limited and who apply for or receive IL 

services under Title VII of the Act.  

E. Staff at centers will receive training on how to serve 

unserved and underserved populations, including minority 

groups and urban and rural populations.  

F. The service provider shall establish and maintain a 

program of staff development for all classes of positions 

involved in providing IL services and, if appropriate, in 

administering the CIL program. The staff development 

program must emphasize improving the skills of staff directly 

responsible for the provision of IL services, including 

knowledge of and practice in the IL philosophy.  

22VAC30-30-250. Referrals.  

A. Department of Rehabilitative Services Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services clients referred to a center 

for independent living by department counselors for specific 

services related to the vocational objective under the 

Individualized Employment Plan (IEP) may have those 

services funded by the department based upon approved 

vendor arrangements between the department and the 

respective center.  

B. The DSU shall develop, establish, and maintain written 

standards and procedures to be applied by service providers to 

assure expeditious and equitable handling of referrals and 

applications for IL services from individuals with significant 

disabilities.  

C. The service provider shall apply the standards and 

procedures established by the DSU to assure expeditious and 

equitable handling of referrals and applications for IL 

services from individuals with significant disabilities.  

D. A DSU may handle referrals and applications for IL 

services or, except as otherwise provided, may delegate these 

functions and responsibilities to the appropriate service 

provider with which the DSU subgrants or contracts to 

provide IL services.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3308; Filed July 6, 2012, 10:37 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-40. Protection of 

Participants in Human Research (amending 22VAC30-40-

10, 22VAC30-40-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 30, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Ph.D., CRC, Policy 

Analyst, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 662-7612, FAX (804) 662-7663, TTY (800) 464-9950, 

or email vanessa.rakestraw@dars.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reflect the name of the new agency 

created by Chapters 803 and 835 of the 2012 Acts of 

Assembly to assume the powers of the former Department 

of Rehabilitative Services and the Department for the 
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Aging. The new agency name is the Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services. 

22VAC30-40-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Affiliated with the covered entity" means employed by the 

covered entity or a member of a household containing an 

employee of the covered entity. 

"Agent" means any individual performing department-

designated activities or exercising department-delegated 

authority or responsibility. 

"Assent" means a child's affirmative agreement to 

participate in research. Mere failure to object should not, 

absent affirmative agreement, be construed as assent. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department of Rehabilitative Services Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services. 

"Covered entity" means the Department of Rehabilitative 

Services Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

Woodrow Wilson Rehabilitation Center, sheltered 

workshops, or independent living centers. 

"Department" means the Department of Rehabilitative 

Services Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services. 

"Guardian" means an individual who is authorized under 

applicable state or local law to consent on behalf of a minor 

to general medical care. 

"Human Research Review Committee" or "HRRC" means 

the committee established in accordance with and for the 

purposes expressed in this chapter. 

"HRRC approval" means the determination of the HRRC 

that the research has been reviewed and may be conducted 

within the constraints set forth by the HRRC and by other 

department, state and federal requirements. 

"Human participant or human subject" means a living 

individual about whom an investigator (whether professional 

or student) conducting research obtains: 

1. Data through intervention or interaction with the 

individual; or  

2. Identifiable private information.  

"Human subject research" means a systematic investigation, 

experiment, study, evaluation, demonstration or survey 

designed to develop or contribute to general knowledge (basic 

research) or specific knowledge (applied research) in which a 

living individual about whom an investigator (whether 

professional or student) conducting research obtains data 

through intervention or interaction with the individual or 

obtains identifiable private information. 

"Identifiable private information" means information about 

behavior that occurs in a context in which an individual can 

reasonably expect that no observation or recording is taking 

place, and information that has been provided for specific 

purposes by an individual and that the individual can 

reasonably expect will not be made public (for example, a 

medical record, social security number). Private information 

must be individually identifiable (i.e., the identity of the 

subject is or may readily be ascertained by the investigator or 

associated with the information) to constitute research 

involving human subjects. 

"Independent living center" means a consumer-controlled, 

community-based, cross disability, nonresidential private 

nonprofit agency that:  

1. Is designed and operated within a local community by 

individuals with disabilities; and  

2. Provides an array of independent living services.  

"Informed consent" means a process by which the 

investigator fully explains the research activities, ensures that 

the prospective subject has sufficient opportunity to ask 

questions, and has sufficient time to make a decision whether 

or not to participate in the research prior to signing the 

HRRC-approved written consent document. Informed consent 

must be prospectively obtained without coercion, include all 

of the basic elements of informed consent as specified in 

22VAC30-40-100 B, be legally effective, contain no 

exculpatory language, and as required, include the additional 

elements of informed consent specified in 22VAC30-40-100 

C. 

"Institution" means any public or private entity or agency 

(including federal, state, and other agencies). 

"Interaction" means communication or interpersonal contact 

between investigator and subject.  

"Intervention" means both physical procedures by which 

data are gathered (for example, venipuncture) and 

manipulations of the subject or subject's environment that are 

performed for research purposes. 

"Investigator" means the person, whether professional or 

student, who conducts the research. 

"Legally authorized representative," as defined in § 32.1-

162.16 of the Code of Virginia, means, in the following 

specified order of priority: 

1. The parent or parents having custody of a prospective 

subject who is a minor;  

2. The agent appointed under an advance directive, as 

defined in § 54.1-2982 of the Code of Virginia, executed 

by the prospective subject, provided the advance directive 

authorizes the agent to make decisions regarding the 

prospective subject's participation in human research; 

3. The legal guardian of a prospective subject; 

4. The spouse of the prospective subject, except where a 

suit for divorce has been filed and the divorce decree is not 

yet final;  

5. An adult child of the prospective subject;  



Regulations 

Volume 28, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 30, 2012 

1944 

6. A parent of the prospective subject when the subject is 

an adult;  

7. An adult brother or sister of the prospective subject; or  

8. Any person or judicial or other body authorized by law 

or regulation to consent on behalf of a prospective subject 

to such subject's participation in the particular human 

research.  

For the purposes of this definition, any person authorized by 

law or regulation to consent on behalf of a prospective subject 

to such subject's participation in the particular human 

research shall include an attorney-in-fact appointed under a 

durable power of attorney, to the extent the power grants the 

authority to make such a decision. The attorney-in-fact shall 

not be employed by the person, institution or agency 

conducting the human research. No official or employee of 

the institution or agency conducting or authorizing the 

research shall be qualified to act as a legally authorized 

representative. 

"Minimal risk" means that the probability and magnitude of 

harm or discomfort anticipated in the research are not greater 

in and of themselves than those ordinarily encountered in 

daily life or during the performance of routine physical or 

psychological examinations or tests.  

"Minor," as defined in § 1-207 of the Code of Virginia, 

means an individual who is less than 18 years of age.  

"Nontherapeutic research" means human subject research in 

which there is no reasonable expectation of direct benefit to 

the physical or mental condition of the subject.  

"Parent" means a minor's biological or adoptive parent. 

"Permission" means the agreement of parent(s) or a legally 

authorized representative to the participation of their minor or 

ward in research. 

"Private information" means information about behavior that 

occurs in a context in which an individual can reasonably 

expect that no observation or recording is taking place, or 

information that has been provided for specific purposes by 

an individual and that the individual can reasonably expect 

will not be made public (for example, a medical record). 

Private information must be individually identifiable (i.e., the 

identity of the human participant is or may readily be 

ascertained by the investigator or associated with the 

information) in order for obtaining the information to 

constitute research involving human participants. 

"Research" means a systematic investigation designed to 

develop or contribute to generalizable knowledge (basic 

research) or specific knowledge (applied research). Activities 

that meet this definition constitute research for purposes of 

this chapter, whether or not they are supported or funded 

under a program that is considered research for other 

purposes. For example, some "demonstration" and "service" 

programs may include research activities. 

"Sheltered workshop" means a program that (i) provides 

directly or facilitates the provision of one or more vocational 

rehabilitation services enumerated in 34 CFR 361.5(b)(9)(i) 

to individuals with disabilities to enable them to maximize 

their opportunities for employment, including career 

advancement; (ii) has a vendor relationship with the 

department; and (iii) is not operated by a community services 

board.  

22VAC30-40-30. Applicability. 

This chapter shall apply to the Department of Rehabilitative 

Services Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

Woodrow Wilson Rehabilitation Center, sheltered workshops 

and independent living centers, known as covered entities. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3309; Filed July 6, 2012, 11:22 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-50. Policies and Procedures 

for Administering the Commonwealth Neurotrauma 

Initiative Trust Fund (amending 22VAC30-50-30, 

22VAC30-50-120).  

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 30, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Ph.D., CRC, Policy 

Analyst, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 662-7612, FAX (804) 662-7663, TTY (800) 464-9950, 

or email vanessa.rakestraw@dars.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reflect the name of the new agency 

created by Chapters 803 and 835 of the 2012 Acts of 

Assembly to assume the powers of the former Department 

of Rehabilitative Services and the Department for the 

Aging. The new agency name is the Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services. 

22VAC30-50-30. Disbursement of funds. 

A. This chapter serves to (i) establish policies and 

procedures for soliciting and receiving applications for grants 

from the fund, (ii) establish criteria for reviewing and ranking 

such applications, and (iii) establish procedures for 

distributing moneys in the fund, which shall be used solely to 

provide grants to Virginia-based organizations, institutions, 

and researchers. 

B. Forty-seven and one-half percent of the moneys shall be 

allocated for research on the mechanisms and treatment of 

neurotrauma; 47-1/2% of the moneys shall be allocated for 

rehabilitative services, i.e., the development of innovative, 

model community-based rehabilitative programs and services 

for individuals with neurotrauma; and 5.0% of the moneys 

shall be allocated for the Department of Rehabilitative 

Services' Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services' 

costs for administering and staffing the Commonwealth 

Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund and advisory board.  

22VAC30-50-120. Unexpended funds. 

Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, the 

Commissioner of the Department of Rehabilitative Services 
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Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services may 

reallocate up to $500,000 from unexpended balances in the 

Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund to fund 

new grant awards for research on traumatic brain and spinal 

cord injuries. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3312; Filed July 6, 2012, 3:59 p.m.  

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-411. General Relief 

Program (amending 22VAC40-411-10; repealing 

22VAC40-411-30 through 22VAC40-411-60, 22VAC40-

411-80 through 22VAC40-411-110, 22VAC40-411-130 

through 22VAC40-411-160).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-802 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: July 2, 2012, through July 1, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Mark Golden, Department of Social 

Services, Division of Benefit Programs, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7385, FAX (804) 

726-7356, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 

mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

This emergency regulatory action amends the regulations 

to conform to Item 332 of the 2011 Virginia Appropriation 

Act. Item 332 eliminates funding for all General Relief 

(GR) components with the exception of the unattached 

children component. Effective with local budget 

allocations for Fiscal Year 2012, the adult components of 

the GR program are eliminated and only the GR 

unattached children component will continue. The adult 

components that have been eliminated include unemployed 

employable individuals, unemployable individuals, 

institutional care, ongoing medical, interim assistance, 

food credit authorization, shelter, emergency medical, 

transient, burial, and clothing assistance. Item 332 

authorizes the department to promulgate emergency 

regulations to implement this amendment within 280 days 

or less from the enactment date of the act.  

22VAC40-411-10. Definitions. 

The following words or terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Advocacy services" means legal services to help establish 

eligibility for federal disability benefits. 

"Affidavit of support" or "Form I-134" means a statement of 

a sponsor's income, resources, and willingness to support. 

Form I-134 or similar form is filed with the Citizenship and 

Immigrant Services (USCIS) by a United States resident who 

sponsors an alien seeking admission to the United States as a 

permanent resident. The affidavit is made for the purpose of 

assuring the United States government that the sponsored 

alien will not become a public charge in the United States. 

"Agency" means the local department of social services. 

"Agency action" or "action" means action taken by the 

superintendents or directors or local board certifying the 

individual or family is eligible for maintenance or emergency 

assistance. 

"Agency contract" means the local department of social 

services has an agreement with a pharmacy to provide 

prescription drugs for recipients of General Relief. 

"Appeal process" means a review of the decision on the 

disability claim that can involve four steps: reconsideration, 

hearing before an administrative law judge, review by 

Appeals Council, and hearing in a federal court. 

"Assistance for unattached children" means a component of 

the General Relief Program that can provide assistance to 

children who would be eligible for Temporary Assistance for 

Needy Families (TANF) if the relationship requirement were 

met.  

"Assistance for unemployable individuals" means a 

component of the General Relief Program that can provide 

assistance to individuals who are unable to work because of 

physical or mental disability, age or lack of training, illness in 

the family, or home responsibilities.  

"Assistance for unemployed employable individuals" means 

a component of the General Relief Program that can provide 

assistance to individuals who are not working but are able to 

work.  

"Assistance unit" means the individual or group of 

individuals whose needs, income, and resources are 

considered in determining eligibility for a component. 

"Bar association" means a professional association for 

attorneys.  

"Clothing assistance" means a component of the General 

Relief Program that can be used to purchase clothing for 

individuals who have an emergency need.  

"Component" means a specific type of assistance provided 

under the General Relief Program.  

"Disability" means a physical or mental condition rendering 

a person unable to perform any meaningful work and this 

condition is expected to last at least 12 months or result in 

death. 

"Disability Determination Services" means a program 

administered by the Virginia Department of Rehabilitative 

Services that makes decisions on disability claims for the 

Social Security Administration.  

"Disability insurance benefits" means Title II of the Social 

Security Act that provides benefits to disabled persons who 

have worked for a substantial period in employment covered 

by Social Security.  

"Entitlement date or entitlement" means the date eligibility 

begins. 

mailto:mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov
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"Emergency medical assistance" means a component of the 

General Relief Program that can be used to purchase medical 

assistance for individuals who have an emergency need.  

"Equal Access to Justice Act" means an act that allows a 

federal court to grant an attorney a fee for proceedings before 

an administrative agency.  

"Food credit authorization assistance" means a component 

of the General Relief Program that can be used to purchase 

food for individuals who have an emergency need.  

"Federal disability benefits" means disability insurance 

benefits or Supplemental Security Income.  

"Foster child" means a child who is entrusted or committed 

to a state mandated service and the child is identified as "at 

risk" or "in crisis." 

"General Relief Plan" means the document completed by a 

local department of social services to identify the components 

included in the General Relief Program for the locality.  

"General Relief Program (GR)" means an optional program 

funded by state (62.5%) and local funds (37.5%) with the 

primary purpose of assisting individuals who do not qualify 

for aid in a federal category. The program is supervised by 

the State Department of Social Services and administered by 

local agencies. Each agency chooses the components and 

subcomponents to be included in its General Relief Program.  

"Hearing before an administrative law judge" means the first 

level formal fair hearing of decisions of the Social Security 

Administration to deny federal disability benefits. The 

hearing is conducted by an attorney who is an official of the 

Social Security Administration. 

"Interim assistance" means a component of the General 

Relief Program that can provide assistance to individuals who 

have applied for Supplemental Security Income (SSI), who 

must apply for SSI, or are appealing an SSI decision. 

Individuals receiving interim assistance must sign an 

authorization allowing the Social Security Administration to 

send their initial retroactive Supplemental Security Income 

benefits to the local agency, which then reimburses its general 

relief budget for the amount of financial assistance given the 

individuals while their Supplemental Security Income 

benefits were pending approval.  

"Legal aid attorney" means an attorney who provides legal 

services at no cost to people within certain income guidelines.  

"Maintenance payments" or "maintenance" means ongoing 

financial assistance from the general relief program.  

"Maximum for the locality" means the amount of 

reimbursable assistance applicable to some components based 

on the agency group. Agencies are placed in one of three 

groups based on shelter expenses in the area.  

"Monthly maximum" means the dollar amount of assistance 

specified in the General Relief Plan for some components.  

"Ongoing medical assistance" means a component of the 

General Relief Program that can be used to provide 

individuals continuing medical assistance. The component is 

composed of 10 subcomponents including prescription drugs.  

"Permanent resident status" means having been lawfully 

accorded the privilege of residing permanently in the United 

States as an immigrant. 

"Private attorney" means an attorney engaged in the private 

practice of law for which a fee is charged.  

"Provider" means an attorney, or an individual working 

under the supervision of an attorney legally allowed to do so, 

who provides assistance in establishing an individual's 

eligibility for federal disability benefits. 

"Recipient" means an individual who is receiving interim 

assistance. 

"Reconsideration" means a review of the disability claim by 

the Disability Determination Services.  

"Recoupment" means the amount reimbursed to the general 

relief or state and local foster care funds from an individual's 

retroactive Supplemental Security Income benefits for 

assistance to that individual while approval for federal 

disability benefits was pending approval.  

"Reimbursable" means the amount an assistance unit can 

receive per month for which the state/local match is available.  

"Rent/house payments" means a subcomponent of the 

shelter assistance component that can be used to pay housing 

expenses. 

"Review by the Appeals Council" means a review of the 

decisions of the administrative law judge by a review unit of 

the Social Security Administration. The Appeals Council 

either decides the case or issues an order returning it to an 

administrative law judge for further review.  

"Shelter assistance" means a component of the General 

Relief Program that can be used to provide for the shelter 

needs of individuals. The component's two subcomponents 

are rent/house payments and utility payments.  

"Sponsor" means a person, or any public or private agency 

or organization, that executed an affidavit of support or 

similar agreement on behalf of an alien as a condition of the 

alien's entry into the United States as a permanent resident.  

"Sponsored alien" means an immigrant who due to the 

likelihood of his becoming a public charge would have been 

excluded from lawful admission into the United States. As a 

condition of this immigrant's admission, a person or public or 

private agency or organization executed an affidavit of 

support or similar agreement guaranteeing the federal, state, 

and local governments that the immigrant would not become 

a public charge.  

"Standard of assistance" means the amount of reimbursable 

assistance based on the size of the assistance unit and the 

local department of social services group. Local agencies are 

placed in one of three groups based on shelter expenses in the 

area.  
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"Standard of assistance at 90% of need" means the amount 

of reimbursable assistance applicable to some components 

based on the size of the assistance unit and the agency group. 

Agencies are placed in one of three groups based on shelter 

expenses in the area.  

"Subcomponent" means a part of a component.  

"Supplemental Security Income" means Title XVI of the 

Social Security Act that provides benefits to a disabled person 

based on financial need.  

"Temporary Assistance for Needy Families" (TANF) means 

the federal program administered by the Virginia Department 

of Social Services that provides assistance for families with 

children.  

"United States Citizenship and Immigration Services 

(USCIS)" is a branch of the United States Department of 

Homeland Security delegated authority to enforce the 

Immigration and Nationality Act and all other laws relating to 

the immigration and naturalization of aliens.  

"Utility payments" means a subcomponent of the shelter 

assistance component that can be used to pay for items, such 

as electricity, oil, water, and natural gas.  

22VAC40-411-30. Assistance for unemployed employable 

individuals. (Repealed.) 

An agency electing to provide this component will specify 

in its General Relief Plan the types of assistance units served. 

The choices are:  

1. Parents and their minor children;  

2. A parent and minor children;  

3. A married couple with no children;  

4. One individual; or  

5. An unmarried pregnant woman.  

22VAC40-411-40. Assistance for unemployable 

individuals. (Repealed.) 

An agency electing to provide this component will specify 

in its General Relief Plan the amount of assistance that can be 

received by an assistance unit in 12 consecutive months. The 

choices are:  

1. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times three;  

2. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times six;  

3. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times nine; or  

4. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times 12 or 

the maximum for the locality times 12.  

22VAC40-411-50. Ongoing medical assistance. 

(Repealed.) 

A. An agency electing to provide this component will 

specify in its General Relief Plan the amount of assistance 

that can be received by an assistance unit in 12 consecutive 

months. The choices are:  

1. Three times the monthly maximum;  

2. Six times the monthly maximum;  

3. Nine times the monthly maximum; or  

4. Twelve times the monthly maximum.  

B. An agency electing to provide for the purchase of 

prescription drugs will specify in its General Relief Plan 

whether recipients are required to obtain drugs at a pharmacy 

with an agency contract. The choices are:  

1. Recipients are not required to buy prescription drugs 

from a contracted pharmacy; or  

2. Recipients are required to buy prescription drugs from a 

contracted pharmacy. 

22VAC40-411-60. Interim assistance. (Repealed.) 

An agency that elects to provide this component but does 

not elect to provide assistance for unemployable individuals 

will specify in its General Relief Plan whether interim 

assistance will be restricted to assistance units with an 

individual with a disability that will last 12 months, has lasted 

12 months, or will result in death. The choices are:  

1. Assistance will not be restricted; or  

2. Assistance will be restricted.  

22VAC40-411-80. Food credit authorization assistance. 

(Repealed.) 

An agency electing to provide this component will specify 

in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of months 

that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. The 

choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 

months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 

months out of 12 consecutive months.  

22VAC40-411-90. Shelter assistance. (Repealed.) 

A. An agency electing to provide this component will 

specify in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of 

months that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. 

The choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 

months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 

months out of 12 consecutive months.  

B. An agency electing to provide rent/house payments will 

specify in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of 

months that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. 

The choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 

months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 

months out of 12 consecutive months.  

C. An agency electing to provide utility payments will 

specify in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of 

months that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. 

The choices are:  
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1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 

months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 

months out of 12 consecutive months.  

22VAC40-411-100. Emergency medical assistance. 

(Repealed.) 

A. An agency electing to provide this component will 

specify in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of 

months that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. 

The choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 

months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 

months out of 12 consecutive months.  

B. An agency electing to provide prescription drugs will 

specify in its General Relief Plan whether recipients are 

required to obtain drugs at a pharmacy with an agency 

contract. The choices are:  

1. Recipients are not required to buy prescription drugs 

from a contracted pharmacy; or  

2. Recipients are required to buy prescription drugs from a 

contracted pharmacy.  

22VAC40-411-110. Clothing assistance. (Repealed.) 

An agency electing to provide this component will specify 

in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of months 

that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. The 

choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 

months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 

months.  

22VAC40-411-130. Disability advocacy referral. 

(Repealed.) 

The agency electing to provide disability advocacy services 

will identify recipients of the interim assistance component of 

general relief who have received written notification from the 

Social Security Administration that their disability claims at 

the application or reconsideration level have been denied. 

Within five working days after the identification, the agency 

will send letters to the interim assistance recipients explaining 

advocacy services, offering to refer them to advocacy 

providers for legal representation during the appeal process, 

providing information on how the appeal would affect their 

general relief benefits, and advising them that they have five 

days from the receipt of this letter to contact the agency 

requesting advocacy services.  

If the interim assistance recipient chooses to participate in 

the Disability Advocacy Project, he will be allowed to select a 

provider from a list of qualified advocacy providers with 

whom the agency has contracts or be allowed to select 

another provider if that provider meets the qualifications and 

agrees to enter into a contract with the agency.  

The agency will have the interim assistance recipient sign a 

Confidentiality Form (VDSS Form 032-01-0040-03-eng) 

giving the agency permission to refer the recipient to the 

selected provider.  

Within five working days after the selection, a referral letter 

will be sent by the agency to the selected advocacy provider.  

22VAC40-411-140. Duties of the disability advocacy 

provider. (Repealed.) 

Advocacy providers will perform the following services:  

1. Within five working days of receipt of a referral letter 

from the agency, send a letter to the interim assistance 

recipient or the child's representative, acknowledging the 

referral and instructing the recipient or child's 

representative to protect the filing date by filing a Request 

for Reconsideration or Request for a Hearing with the 

Social Security Administration within 60 days of the date 

of his denial notice.  

2. Contact the interim assistance recipient or child's 

representative by mail and telephone, if necessary, to 

schedule an appointment for an interview. If the provider 

cannot contact the recipient or the recipient does not keep 

the appointment, the provider will promptly notify the 

agency.  

3. During the interview with the interim assistance 

recipient or child's representative, provide legal advice and 

counsel regarding federal disability benefits and the appeal 

process. The provider will assess the potential eligibility of 

the recipient or child for federal disability benefits. The 

decision whether to proceed or not proceed in the appeal 

process must be made by the recipient or the child's 

representative after receiving legal advice from the 

provider. The recipient or the child's representative must 

request the services of the advocacy provider by signing 

the Social Security Form SSA-1696-U4 under the 

Appointment of Representative section.  

4. Within 15 working days of the initial interview with the 

recipient or child's representative, send a notification letter 

to the recipient or child's representative with a copy to the 

agency stating whether or not the provider will accept this 

case for legal representation.  

5. If the provider agrees to provide advocacy services, sign 

Social Security Form SSA-1696-U4 under the Acceptance 

of Appointment and Waiver of Fee sections. Copies of the 

form will be sent within five working days to the Social 

Security Administration and to the agency.  

6. Assist in the completion and timely filing of any 

necessary Social Security forms requesting a 

reconsideration, hearing, or review of the hearing decision.  

7. Assist in obtaining and using medical, social, vocational 

evidence, or expert testimony that may substantiate the 

presence and severity of the disability.  

8. Assist the recipient in making and keeping appointments 

for examinations.  
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9. Prepare for and adequately represent the recipient or 

child at interviews, hearings, or appeals related to 

application for Supplemental Security Income.  

10. Notify the recipient or the child's representative of any 

denial and the right to appeal to the next level in the appeal 

process.  

11. Notify the agency of any denial and the recipient's or 

child's representative's decision to proceed or not proceed 

to the next level in the appeal process.  

12. Notify the recipient, the child's representative, and the 

agency when advocacy services have ended.  

22VAC40-411-150. Disability advocacy contracts. 

(Repealed.) 

Agencies shall contract with licensed legal aid or private 

attorneys or advocates working under the supervision of an 

attorney who may lawfully do so to provide legal 

representation in the appeal process. The providers must have 

previously provided successful representation to disability 

claimants during the reconsideration, administrative law 

judge hearing, Appeals Council, or federal district court 

levels of the federal disability adjudication process.  

Qualified attorneys will be recruited by agencies giving 

written notice to their local legal aid and bar associations that 

contracts for legal representation of interim assistance 

recipients and foster children in the federal disability benefits 

appeal process will be available.  

22VAC40-411-160. Disability advocacy disbursement. 

(Repealed.) 

To receive payment, the advocacy provider must submit a 

petition and copy of the favorable Social Security 

Administration decision to the agency within 60 days of such 

a decision. Disbursement for legal representation will be 

made by the agency within 20 working days after the agency 

receives the initial Supplemental Security Income payment 

due the recipient or child.  

No disbursement will be made unless the following have 

occurred:  

1. The agency referred the recipient or child's 

representative for legal representation;  

2. The recipient or child's representative requested the legal 

representation by signing the Appointment of 

Representative section of Social Security Form SSA-1696-

U4;  

3. The advocacy provider signed the Acceptance of 

Appointment and Waiver of Fee sections of Social Security 

Form SSA-1696-U4; and  

4. The agency received the initial Supplemental Security 

Income payment for the recipient or child.  

No disbursement will be made for legal services given 

before the date of the agency's referral letter. Providers shall 

not require from the recipient or child's representative 

prepayment of any fees, costs, or disbursement.  

The disbursement made by the agency will represent 

payment in full for all legal services to the recipient or child 

in this process with no further obligation on the part of the 

state or local department of social services, the recipient, nor 

the child's representative.  

Neither the recipient, the child's representative, the State 

Department of Social Services, nor local agency shall be 

obligated to pay any additional fees, costs, or disbursement 

related to the provision of legal services in the appeal process 

including, but not limited to, payment for medical, 

psychological, or vocational consultations obtained to 

substantiate the disability claim. Under most circumstances, if 

preapproved by Disability Determination Services, the Social 

Security Administration will cover the cost of these 

consultations.  

Contracting attorneys will agree to waive their right to legal 

fees paid by the Social Security Administration from the 

initial check for retroactive disability insurance benefits due 

the recipient or child should he be found eligible for both 

disability insurance benefits and Supplemental Security 

Income. An award for attorney's fees under the Equal Access 

to Justice Act will not be required to be waived.  

The provider's fee will be paid entirely from the recoupment 

from the initial Supplemental Security Income payment for 

state and local financial assistance given the recipient or child 

while the Supplemental Security Income application was 

pending approval. The fee per favorable decision at the 

reconsideration level will be $300; at the hearing before an 

administrative law judge, $600; and at the Appeals Council or 

federal district court, $750. The fee may in no event exceed 

the recoupment for the state and local assistance paid.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2541; Filed July 2, 2012, 1:02 p.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 47 (2012) 

The Governor's Advisory Board on Volunteering 
and National and Community Service 

Importance of the Issue  

Community and national service are vital to the fabric of 

American democracy. Volunteerism and service are critical 

aspects of our civic life. It is appropriate that the state and 

federal governments work together to develop a focal point 

for these efforts.  

Mindful of the importance of community and national 

service, and by virtue of the authority vested in me as 

Governor under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and 

under the laws of the Commonwealth, including but not 

limited to Section 2.2-134 of the Code of Virginia, and 

subject always to my continuing and ultimate authority and 

responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby establish the 

Governor's Advisory Board on Volunteering and National 

and Community Service.  

The Board is classified as a gubernatorial advisory board in 

accordance with Section 2.2-2100 of the Code of Virginia.  

The Board shall be established to comply with the provisions 

of the National and Community Services Trust Act of 1993 

and to advise the Governor and Cabinet Secretaries on 

matters related to promotion and development of national 

service in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The Board shall 

have the following specific duties:  

1. To advise the Governor, the Secretaries of Health and 

Human Resources, Education, Natural Resources, the 

Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, and 

other appropriate officials, on national and community 

service programs in Virginia and on fulfilling the 

responsibilities and duties prescribed by the federal 

Corporation for National Service. 

2. To advise the Governor, the Secretaries of Health and 

Human Resources, Education, Natural Resources, the 

Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, and 

other appropriate officials, on the development, 

implementation, and evaluation of Virginia's Unified State 

Plan that outlines strategies for supporting and expanding 

national and community service throughout the 

Commonwealth.  

3. To promote the importance of AmeriCorps programs in 

meeting Virginia's most pressing human, educational, 

environmental, and public safety needs.  

4. To collaborate with the Department of Social Services 

and other public and private entities to recognize and call 

attention to the significant community service contributions 

of Virginia citizens and organizations.  

5. To promote volunteer and community service within the 

Commonwealth.  

6. To work with the Department of Social Services on 

promoting the involvement of faith based organizations in 

community and national service efforts.  

The Board shall be comprised of no more than twenty voting 

members appointed by the Governor and serving at his 

pleasure. No more than 25 percent of voting members may be 

state employees.  

The Governor may appoint additional persons at his 

discretion as ex-officio non-voting members. The voting 

members of the Board shall elect the Chairman. Board voting 

membership shall include representatives for the categories as 

outlined in federal regulations issued by the Corporation for 

National Service.  

Such staff support as is necessary to support the Board's work 

during the term of its existence shall be furnished by the 

Department of Social Services and any other executive 

branch agencies having definitely and closely related 

purposes, as the Governor may designate. An estimated 300 

hours of staff time will be required to support the work of the 

Board.  

Funding necessary to support the Board shall be provided 

from federal funds, private contributions, and state funds 

appropriated for the same purposes of the Board, authorized 

by Section 2.2-135 of the Code of Virginia. Direct costs for 

this Board are estimated at no more than $15,000. Members 

of the Board shall serve without compensation and shall 

receive reimbursement for expenses incurred in the discharge 

of their official duties.  

The Board shall meet at least quarterly upon the call of the 

Chairperson. The Board shall make an annual report to the 

Governor and shall issue such other reports and 

recommendations as it deems necessary or as requested by the 

Governor.  

This Executive Order shall be effective June 30, 3012 and 

shall remain in force and effect until June 30, 2013, unless 

amended or rescinded by further executive order.  

Given under my hand and under the seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 29th day of June, 2012. 

/s/ Robert F. McDonnell 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 48 (2012) 

Continuing the Virginia Prisoner and Juvenile 
Offender Re-Entry Council  

Importance of the Issue  

Section 2.2-221.1 of the Code of Virginia directs the 

Secretary of Public Safety to "establish an integrated system 
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for coordinating the planning and provision of offender 

transitional and reentry services among state, local, and non-

profit agencies in order to prepare offenders for successful 

transition into their communities upon release from 

incarceration." This code section also requires the Secretary 

to ensure that a system is in place for "improving 

opportunities for treatment, employment, and housing while 

individuals are on subsequent probation, parole, or post-

release supervision."  

Each year, approximately over 13,000 adult and 500 juvenile 

offenders are projected to be released from incarceration. The 

Commonwealth of Virginia seeks to improve public safety by 

fostering a successful transition of these offenders into their 

communities; and by reducing the rates at which they return 

to prison. In order to reduce recidivism, improve public 

safety, and reduce the number of crime victims, consistent 

with Virginia Code § 53.1-32.2, we must ensure that 

offenders released from incarceration have been adequately 

prepared to return to their communities. This preparation 

includes equipping offenders to find employment; providing 

educational opportunities; ensuring treatment for mental 

health and substance abuse issues; and assisting offenders re-

integrate into a stable home environment. Successful 

integration of offenders requires collaboration, coordination, 

and partnership among state and local agencies, community 

supervision agencies, service providers, faith-based 

organizations, law enforcement agencies, courts, 

communities, and family members.  

In 2010, I issued Executive Order 11, thereby establishing the 

Virginia Prisoner and Juvenile Offender Re-Entry Council. 

The Council's primary role was to develop collaborative re-

entry strategies and to tie together re-entry initiative across 

state agencies, local agencies and community organizations. 

Through its work, the Council helped establish four year re-

entry strategies for the Virginia Department of Corrections 

and the Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice. It issued 

over 60 recommendations to strengthen public safety, reduce 

recidivism, and improve collaboration among local and state 

agencies working on this important initiative. As a result of 

this important work of the Council, localities, state agencies, 

faith-based and community organizations, and other 

important stakeholders continue to aggressively move 

forward in their efforts to assist adult and juvenile offenders 

return to their communities better prepared to handle many of 

the challenges and barriers they face upon return from 

incarceration. Virginia has set forth an aggressive agenda on 

this initiative and continues to strive to be model for other 

states.  

Accordingly, by virtue of the authority vested in me as 

Governor, under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and 

under the laws of the Commonwealth, including but not 

limited to Section 2.2-134 of the Code of Virginia, and 

subject always to my continuing and ultimate authority and 

responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby reconstitute the 

Virginia Prisoner and Juvenile Offender Re-entry Council. 

The Virginia Prisoner and Juvenile Offender Re-entry 

Council (the Council) shall be chaired by the Secretary of 

Public Safety or her designee and comprised of the following 

Executive Branch representatives or their designees:  

•  Secretary of Commerce and Trade  

•  Secretary of Education  

•  Secretary of Health and Human Resources  

•  Secretary of Transportation  

•  Senior Economic Advisor to the Governor  

•  Commonwealth's Attorneys' Services Council  

• Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services  

•  Department of Corrections  

•  Department of Criminal Justice Services  

•  Department of Education  

•  Department of Health  

•  Department of Housing and Community Development  

•  Department of Juvenile Justice  

•  Department of Medical Assistance Services  

•  Department of Planning and Budget  

•  Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation  

•  Department of Rehabilitative Services  

•  Department of Social Services  

•  Department of Veterans Services  

•  Virginia Employment Commission  

•  Virginia Indigent Defense Commission  

•  Virginia Parole Board  

The Governor may appoint additional members as he deems 

appropriate. The Secretary of Public Safety shall invite 

additional participation by the Attorney General of Virginia, 

General Assembly, Supreme Court, Virginia Sheriffs 

Association, Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police, faith-

based organizations, and Community Advocacy Groups. All 

Executive Branch agencies of the Commonwealth shall 

participate in activities of the Council upon request. Support 

staff will be provided by the Office of the Secretary of Public 

Safety, Office of the Secretary of Health and Human 

Resources, Office of the Secretary of Education, and other 

agencies as the Secretary of Public Safety may designate.  
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The Council shall have the following functions:  

•  Receive and review reports from appropriate agencies 

and partners relevant to ongoing Council recommendations.  

•  Upon identification, develop, implement and enhance 

procedures to overcome barriers to implementations of 

recommendations.  

• Encourage ongoing collaboration and partnership among 

local agencies, community-based social services providers, 

community organizations, faith-based organizations, as 

well as other stakeholders, in promoting and enhancing 

successful re-entry policies and programs to successfully 

promote and support the Council's recommendations. 

Submit a status report of actions taken to improve offender 

transitional and re-entry services to the Governor and the 

Chairmen of the House Appropriations and Senate Finance 

Committees no later than November 15 of each year.  

•  Meet at the call of the Secretary of Public Safety or her 

designee and as provided in procedures adopted by the 

Council.  

Necessary funding to support the Commission and its staff 

shall be provided from federal funds, private contributions, 

and state funds appropriated for the same purposes as the 

Advisory Board, as authorized by Section 2.2-135 of the 

Code of Virginia , as well as any other private sources of 

funding that may be identified. Estimated direct costs for this 

Commission are $1,000.00 per year and estimated staff time 

is 100 hours.  

Effective Date of the Executive Order  

This Executive Order rescinds and supersedes Executive 

Order 11 (2010) issued on May 11, 2010. This Executive 

Order shall be effective upon its signing and shall remain in 

full force and effect until one year from its singing, unless 

amended or rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 29th day of June, 2012. 

/s/ Robert F. McDonnell 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 49 (2012) 

Declaration of a State of Emergency for the 
Commonwealth of Virginia Due to a Severe Storm 

Event throughout the Commonwealth 

Importance of the Issue  

On June 30, 2012 I verbally declared a state of emergency to 

exist for the Commonwealth of Virginia based on a line of 

severe thunderstorms with winds surpassing 80 mph 

impacting the Commonwealth during the evening of June 29 

and continuing into June 30, 2012. These series of storms 

caused loss of life, damage to personal property and 

significant power outages.  

The health and general welfare of the citizens of the 

Commonwealth require that state action be taken to help 

alleviate the conditions caused by this situation. The effects 

of this storm constitute a disaster wherein human life and 

public and private property are imperiled, as described in 

§ 44-146.16 of the Code of Virginia.  

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by § 44-

146.17 of the Code of Virginia , as Governor and as Director 

of Emergency Management, and by virtue of the authority 

vested in me by Article V, Section 7 of the Constitution of 

Virginia and by § 44-75.1 of the Code of Virginia , as 

Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces of 

the Commonwealth, and subject always to my continuing and 

ultimate authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I 

hereby confirm, ratify, and memorialize in writing my verbal 

orders issued this date, whereby I proclaim that a state of 

emergency exists and I direct that appropriate assistance be 

rendered by agencies of both state and local governments to 

prepare for potential impacts of the storm, to alleviate any 

conditions resulting from significant storm events and to 

implement recovery and mitigation operations and activities 

so as to return impacted areas to pre - event conditions in so 

far as possible. Pursuant to § 44-75.1 A 3 and A 4 of the Code 

of Virginia , I also directed that a maximum of 300 members 

of the Virginia National Guard and the Virginia Defense 

Force be called forth to state duty to be prepared to respond to 

assist in providing such aid. This shall include Virginia 

National Guard assistance to the Virginia State Police to 

direct traffic, prevent looting, and perform such other law 

enforcement functions as the Superintendent of State Police, 

in consultation with the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management, the Adjutant General, and the Secretary of 

Public Safety, may find necessary.  

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 

preparedness, response and recovery measures to meet this 

potential threat and recover from its effects, and in 

accordance with my authority contained in § 44-146.17 of the 

Emergency Services and Disaster Laws, I hereby order the 

following protective and restoration measures:  

A. The implementation by agencies of the state and local 

governments of the Commonwealth of Virginia Emergency 

Operations Plan, as amended, along with other appropriate 

state agency plans.  

B. The activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations 

Center (VEOC) and the Virginia Emergency Response Team 

(VERT) to coordinate the provision of assistance to local 

governments. I am directing that the VEOC and VERT 

coordinate state actions in support of potential affected 

localities, other mission assignments to agencies designated 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia Emergency Operations 

Plan (COVEOP) and others that may be identified by the 
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State Coordinator of Emergency Management, in consultation 

with the Secretary of Public Safety, which are needed to 

provide for the preservation of life, protection of property, 

and implementation of recovery activities.  

C. The authorization to assume control over the 

Commonwealth's state-operated telecommunications systems, 

as required by the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management, in coordination with the Virginia Information 

Technology Agency, and with the consultation of the 

Secretary of Public Safety, making all systems assets 

available for use in providing adequate communications, 

intelligence and warning capabilities for the event, pursuant 

to § 44-146.18 of the Code of Virginia.  

D. The evacuation of areas threatened or stricken by effects of 

the storm. Following a declaration of a local emergency 

pursuant to § 44-146.21 of the Code of Virginia , if a local 

governing body determines that evacuation is deemed 

necessary for the preservation of life or other emergency 

mitigation, response or recovery, pursuant to § 44-146.17 (1) 

of the Code of Virginia , I direct the evacuation of all or part 

of the populace therein from such areas and upon such 

timetable as the local governing body, in coordination with 

the Virginia Emergency Operations Center (VEOC), acting 

on behalf of the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management, shall determine. Notwithstanding the foregoing, 

I reserve the right to direct and compel evacuation from the 

same and different areas and determine a different timetable 

both where local governing bodies have made such a 

determination and where local governing bodies have not 

made such a determination. Also, in those localities that have 

declared a local emergency pursuant to § 44-146.21 of the 

Code of Virginia, if the local governing body determines that 

controlling movement of persons is deemed necessary for the 

preservation of life, public safety, or other emergency 

mitigation, response, or recovery, pursuant to § 44-146.17(1) 

of the Code of Virginia, I authorize the control of ingress and 

egress at an emergency area, including the movement of 

persons within the area and the occupancy of premises therein 

upon such timetable as the local governing body, in 

coordination with the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management and the VEOC shall determine. Violations of 

these orders to citizens shall constitute a violation of this 

Executive Order and are punishable as a Class 1 

misdemeanor. 

E. The activation, implementation and coordination of 

appropriate mutual aid agreements and compacts, including 

the Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC), 

and the authorization of the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management to enter into any other supplemental 

agreements, pursuant to § 44-146.17(5) and § 44-146.28:1 of 

the Code of Virginia, to provide for the evacuation and 

reception of injured and other persons and the exchange of 

medical, fire, police, National Guard personnel and 

equipment, public utility, reconnaissance, welfare, 

transportation and communications personnel, and equipment 

and supplies. The State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management is hereby designated as Virginia's authorized 

representative within the meaning of the Emergency 

Management Assistance Compact, § 44-146.28:1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

F. The authorization of the Departments of State Police, 

Transportation and Motor Vehicles to grant temporary 

overweight, over width, registration, or license exemptions to 

all carriers transporting essential emergency relief supplies, 

conducting essential emergency response operations, or 

providing restoration of utilities (electricity, gas, phone, 

water, wastewater, and cable) in and through any area of the 

Commonwealth in order to support the disaster response and 

recovery, regardless of their point of origin or destination. 

Such exemptions shall not be valid on posted structures for 

restricted weight.  

The axle and gross weights shown below are the maximum 

allowed, unless otherwise posted.  

Single Unit (3 Axles) 60,000 Pounds  

Tractor - Semitrailer (4 Axles) 70,000 Pounds 

Tractor - Semitrailer (5 Axles)  90,000 Pounds 

Tractor - Twin Trailers (5 Axles) 90,000 Pounds 

Tractor-Semitrailer (6 or more Axles) 100,000 Pounds 

G. All over width loads, up to a maximum of 12 feet, and 

over height loads up to a maximum of 14 feet must follow 

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) hauling 

permit and safety guidelines.  

In addition to the described over weight/over width 

transportation privileges, carriers are also exempt from 

registration with the Department of Motor Vehicles. This 

includes the vehicles in route and returning to their home 

base. The above - cited agencies shall communicate this 

information to all staff responsible for permit issuance and 

truck legalization enforcement.  

Authorization of the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management to grant limited exemption of hours worked by 

any carrier when transporting passengers, property, 

equipment, food, fuel, construction materials and other 

critical supplies to or from any portion of the Commonwealth 

for purpose of providing direct relief or assistance as a result 

of this disaster, pursuant to § 52-8.4 of the Code of Virginia 

and Title 49 of Federal Regulations, Section 390.23 and 

Section 395.3.  

The foregoing over weight/over width transportation 

privileges as well as the regulatory exemption provided by 

§ 52-8.4.A of the Code of Virginia, and implemented in 

19VAC30-20-40 B of the "Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations," shall remain in effect for 30 days from the 

onset of the disaster, or until emergency relief is no longer 

necessary, as determined by the Secretary of Public Safety in 
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consultation with the Secretary of Transportation, whichever 

is earlier.  

H. The discontinuance of provisions authorized in paragraph 

F above may be implemented and disseminated by 

publication of administrative notice to all affected and 

interested parties by the authority I hereby delegate to the 

Secretary of Public Safety, after consultation with other 

affected Cabinet - level Secretaries.  

I. The authorization of a maximum of $100,000 for matching 

funds for the Individuals and Household Program, authorized 

by The Stafford Act (when presidentially authorized), to be 

paid from state funds.  

J. The implementation by public agencies under my 

supervision and control of their emergency assignments as 

directed in the COVEOP without regard to normal procedures 

pertaining to performance of public work, entering into 

contracts, incurring of obligations, or other logistical and 

support measures of the Emergency Services and Disaster 

Laws, as provided in § 44-146.28 (b) of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 44-146.24 of the Code of Virginia also applies to the 

disaster activities of state agencies.  

K. The authorization of a maximum of $350,000 in state sum 

sufficient funds for State and local governments mission 

assignments authorized and coordinated through the Virginia 

Department of Emergency Management that are allowable as 

defined by The Stafford Act for gubernatorial and 

presidentially authorized events.  

L. Designation of members and personnel of volunteer, 

auxiliary and reserve groups including search and rescue 

(SAR), Virginia Associations of Volunteer Rescue Squads 

(VAVRS), Civil Air Patrol (CAP), member organizations of 

the Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster (VOAD), 

Radio Amateur Civil Emergency Services (RACES), 

volunteer fire fighters, Citizen Corps Programs such as 

Medical Reserve Corps (MRCs) and Citizen Emergency 

Response Teams (CERTS), and others identified and tasked 

by the State Coordinator of Emergency Management for 

specific disaster related mission assignments as 

representatives of the Commonwealth engaged in emergency 

services activities within the meaning of the immunity 

provisions of § 44-146.23 (a) and (f) of the Code of Virginia, 

in the performance of their specific disaster-related mission 

assignments.  

M. The authorization of appropriate oversight boards, 

commissions and agencies to ease building code restrictions, 

and to permit emergency demolition, hazardous waste 

disposal, debris removal, emergency landfill sitting and 

operations and other activities necessary to address immediate 

health and safety needs without regard to time - consuming 

procedures or formalities and without regard to application or 

permit fees or royalties.  

N. The activation of the statutory provisions in Section 59.1-

525 et seq. of the Code of Virginia related to price gouging. 

Price gouging at any time is unacceptable. Price gouging is 

even more reprehensible after a natural disaster. I have 

directed all applicable executive branch agencies to take 

immediate action to address any verified reports of price 

gouging of necessary goods or services. I make the same 

request of the Office of the Attorney General and appropriate 

local officials.  

O. The following conditions apply to the deployment of the 

Virginia National Guard and the Virginia Defense Force: 

1. The Adjutant General of Virginia, after consultation with 

the State Coordinator of Emergency Management, shall 

make available on state active duty such units and members 

of the Virginia National Guard and Virginia Defense Force 

and such equipment as may be necessary or desirable to 

assist in preparations and in alleviating the human suffering 

and damage to property.  

2. Pursuant to § 52-6 of the Code of Virginia, I authorize 

the Superintendent of State Police to appoint any and all 

such Virginia Army and Air National Guard personnel 

called to state active duty as additional police officers as 

deemed necessary. These police officers shall have the 

same powers and perform the same duties as the State 

Police officers appointed by the Superintendent. However, 

they shall nevertheless remain members of the Virginia 

National Guard, subject to military command as members 

of the State Militia. Any bonds and/or insurance required 

by § 52-7 of the Code of Virginia shall be provided for 

them at the expense of the Commonwealth.  

3. In all instances, members of the Virginia National Guard 

and Virginia Defense Force shall remain subject to military 

command as prescribed by § 44-78.1 of the Code of 

Virginia and not subject to the civilian authorities of county 

or municipal governments. This shall not be deemed to 

prohibit working in close cooperation with members of the 

Virginia Departments of State Police or Emergency 

Management or local law enforcement or emergency 

management authorities or receiving guidance from them in 

the performance of their duties.  

4. Should service under this Executive Order result in the 

injury or death of any member of the Virginia National 

Guard, the following will be provided to the member and 

the member's dependents or survivors:  

a. Workers Compensation benefits provided to members 

of the National Guard by the Virginia Workers 

Compensation Act, subject to the requirements and 

limitations thereof; and, in addition,  

b. The same benefits, or their equivalent, for injury, 

disability and/or death, as would be provided by the 

federal government if the member were serving on 

federal active duty at the time of the injury or death. Any 



Governor 

Volume 28, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 30, 2012 

1955 

such federal-type benefits due to a member and his or her 

dependents or survivors during any calendar month shall 

be reduced by any payments due under the Virginia 

Workers Compensation Act during the same month. If 

and when the time period for payment of Workers 

Compensation benefits has elapsed, the member and his 

or her dependents or survivors shall thereafter receive 

full federal-type benefits for as long as they would have 

received such benefits if the member had been serving on 

federal active duty at the time of injury or death. Any 

federal-type benefits due shall be computed on the basis 

of military pay grade E-5 or the member's military grade 

at the time of injury or death, whichever produces the 

greater benefit amount. Pursuant to § 44-14 of the Code 

of Virginia, and subject to the availability of future 

appropriations which may be lawfully applied to this 

purpose, I now approve of future expenditures out of 

appropriations to the Department of Military Affairs for 

such federal-type benefits as being manifestly for the 

benefit of the military service. 

5. The following conditions apply to service by the 

Virginia Defense Force: 

a. Compensation shall be at a daily rate that is equivalent 

of base pay only for a National Guard Unit Training 

Assembly, commensurate with the grade and years of 

service of the member, not to exceed 20 years of service;  

b. Lodging and meals shall be provided by the Adjutant 

General or reimbursed at standard state per diem rates;  

c. All privately owned equipment, including, but not 

limited to, vehicles, boats, and aircraft, will be 

reimbursed for expense of fuel. Damage or loss of said 

equipment will be reimbursed, minus reimbursement 

from personal insurance, if said equipment was 

authorized for use by the Adjutant General in accordance 

with § 44-54.12 of the Code of Virginia; and 

d. In the event of death or injury, benefits shall be 

provided in accordance with the Virginia Workers 

Compensation Act, subject to the requirements and 

limitations thereof.  

Upon my approval, the costs incurred by state agencies and 

other agents in performing mission assignments through the 

VEOC of the Commonwealth as defined herein and in § 44-

146.28 of the Code of Virginia, other than costs defined in the 

paragraphs above pertaining to the Virginia National Guard 

and the Virginia Defense Force, in performing these missions 

shall be paid from state funds.  

Effective Date of this Executive Order  

This Executive Order shall be effective retroactively to June 

30, 2012 and shall remain in full force and effect until June 

30, 2013 unless sooner amended or rescinded by further 

executive order. Termination of the Executive Order is not 

intended to terminate any federal-type benefits granted or to 

be granted due to injury or death as a result of service under 

this Executive Order.  

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this Third day of July, 2012. 

/s/ Robert F. McDonnell 

Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board conducted a small 

business impact review of 3VAC5-10, Procedural Rules for 

the Conduct of Hearing Before the Board and Its Hearing 

Officers, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Board is publishing its report of findings dated May 30, 2012, 

to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 

the Code of Virginia. 

The regulation continues to be needed.  Hundreds of cases are 

considered by the board and its hearing officers each year, 

and procedural rules to bring order to the process are 

necessary. No complaints or comments were received 

concerning the regulation from the public. The regulation, 

while technical, is not particularly complex and it does not 

overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 

regulation. It was last reviewed and amended in 2007 and 

there have not been significant changes in technology, 

economic conditions, or other factors in the area affected by 

the regulation.  

Contact Information: W. Curtis Coleburn, III, Department of 

Alcoholic Beverage Control, Chief Operating Officer, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, or email 

curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board conducted a small 

business impact review of 3VAC5-11, Public Participation 

Guidelines, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Board is publishing its report of findings dated May 30, 2012, 

to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 

the Code of Virginia. 

The regulation continues to be needed.  The board constantly 

reviews its regulations and promulgates amendments as 

necessary. No complaints or comments were received 

concerning the regulation from the public. The regulation, 

while technical, is not particularly complex and it does not 

overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 

regulation. It was adopted in 2008 and there have not been 

significant changes in technology, economic conditions, or 

other factors in the area affected by the regulation.  

Contact Information: W. Curtis Coleburn, III, Department of 

Alcoholic Beverage Control, Chief Operating Officer, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, or email 

curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 

July 1, 2012 

Administrative Letter 2012-07 

To: All Insurers Licensed to Write Property and Casualty 

Insurance in Virginia and All Interested Parties 

Re: Certificates of Insurance 

Note: All insurers receiving this administrative letter are 

expected to instruct their currently appointed agents to review 

it and familiarize themselves with its contents. The letter may 

be accessed through the Bureau of Insurance website at: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/adminlets/index.aspx 

In accordance with legislation enacted by the Virginia 

General Assembly during its 2012 legislative session, (House 

Bill 867 and Senate Bill 47), the Bureau of Insurance 

(Bureau) will, effective July 1, 2012, enforce the provisions 

of a new statute within Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia 

relating to certificates of insurance. Virginia Code § 38.2-518 

prohibits unfair trade practices relating to the issuance of false 

or misleading certificates of insurance. The language in 

§ 38.2-518 extends the Bureau's authority to any person 

involved with the issuance of a false or misleading certificate 

of insurance, including certificateholders, policyholders, 

insurers, and insurance producers.  

Insurance producers play a pivotal role in preventing 

violations of this statute, and educating clients is a key factor 

in resolving issues without intervention from the Bureau. The 

Bureau suggests that a copy of this administrative letter be 

given to any client seeking certificates of insurance at the 

time of renewal, when a new certificate is requested, or any 

time the insurance producer believes it is appropriate.  

While the law makes it clear that a certificate of insurance 

must accurately reflect the policy of insurance, there is 

nothing in the law that prohibits consumers from asking 

insurance producers for broader insurance coverage, terms, or 

conditions. There also is no prohibition against consumers 

seeking out other producers or insurers that may be willing to 

provide the needed insurance coverage, terms, or conditions. 

These acts do not constitute a violation of this statute. 

The Bureau will not become involved in contractual disputes 

involving quality of work, deadlines, or any other matter with 

the exception of a documented request for, or issuance of, a 

certificate of insurance that contains false or misleading 

information. Consequently, a fully agreed upon legal contract 

between persons prior to the provision of goods or services 

requiring specific insurance coverage, terms, or conditions is 

not a matter for the Bureau. 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/adminlets/index.aspx
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When a consumer demands that a certificate of insurance with 

false or misleading information be produced, the insurance 

producer should take the followings steps: 

• Talk to the person about why the demand is a violation of 

Virginia law and offer to give the person a copy of this 

administrative letter as confirmation of the law's 

requirements. Encourage the person to contact the Bureau 

if he has questions. 

• Whenever possible, follow-up any verbal communication 

with written communication documenting the conversation. 

• Save all relevant communications from the person 

demanding a false or misleading certificate of insurance 

including letters or emails. 

The Bureau cannot investigate complaints without specific 

information regarding the person who is making the demand 

for a false or misleading certificate of insurance. Anyone who 

contacts the Bureau to make a formal complaint should be 

prepared to provide the information in writing.  

The actual text of House Bill 867 and Senate Bill 47, 

including § 38.2-518, may be accessed via the link below: 

http://lis.virginia.gov/lis.htm. Questions regarding this 

administrative letter may be directed to: George Lyle, P&C 

Consumer Services, Bureau of Insurance, P.O. Box 1157, 

Richmond, Virginia 23218, (804) 371-9185 (telephone), 

(804) 371-9349 (FAX). 

/s/ Jacqueline K. Cunningham 

Commissioner of Insurance 

* * * * * *  

July 9, 2012 

Administrative Letter 2012-08 

To: All Insurers Licensed to Write Accident and Sickness 

Insurance, all Health Services Plans and all Health 

Maintenance Organizations Licensed in Virginia and all 

Interested Parties  

Re: Summary of Benefits and Coverage and Uniform 

Glossary  

Effective September 23, 2012, subject to certain exceptions 

identified in the federal law and regulations, all carriers 

issuing comprehensive major medical coverage are required 

under the federal Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act 

(PPACA), to provide to consumers Summary of Benefits and 

Coverage and Uniform Glossary forms. Links to the 

prescribed content, format and overall presentation of both 

forms, along with links to related information concerning the 

forms' use, may be found on the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services' Center for Consumer Information and 

Insurance Oversight (CCIIO) website at 

http://cciio.cms.gov/resources/other/index.html#sbcug. All 

carriers are responsible for reviewing this information and 

ensuring their ongoing compliance with all applicable 

requirements associated with the use of these forms.  

The purpose of this administrative letter is to provide carriers 

with guidance and clarification concerning form filing 

requirements and general regulatory enforcement in Virginia 

in connection with these forms. 

These forms presented in their exact prescribed format and 

content are exempt from form filing and approval 

requirements. Therefore, carriers who use these forms with no 

modifications to their prescribed content and format will not 

be required to submit them to the Commission for prior 

approval or filing. 

In accordance with Virginia Code § 38.2-3446, the Bureau 

will, through its market conduct examinations and its 

investigations of consumer complaints, review carriers' use of 

these forms to ensure they are being provided to consumers in 

both manner and format consistent with applicable 

requirements. Carriers found to have either failed to provide 

the forms or to have provided forms that are inconsistent in 

any way with their prescribed format and/or content, will be 

subject to regulatory action in accordance with Virginia Code 

§§ 38.2-218 and 38.2-219.  

Questions or requests for clarification regarding this letter 

should be directed to: Mary Ann Mason, Supervisor, Forms 

and Rates Section, Life and Health Division, telephone (804) 

371-9348, or email maryann.mason@scc.virginia.gov. 

/s/ Jacqueline K. Cunningham 

Commissioner of Insurance 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Criminal Justice Services Board conducted a small business 

impact review of 6VAC20-80, Rules Relating to 

Certification of Criminal Justice Instructors, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The  Criminal Justice Services Board is 

publishing its report of findings dated May 23, 2012, to 

support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 

the Code of Virginia. 

The continued need for this regulation is to ensure 

compliance of the certification of criminal justice instructors, 

as required in § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. No 

comments or complaints were received from the public 

regarding this regulation. Written as simply as possible, this 

regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal 

or state law. This regulation was last reviewed in 2008 and 

there have been no changes in technology, economic 

conditions, or other factors that would necessitate an 

amendment or repeal of this regulation. The agency has 

determined that this regulation does not need to be amended 

http://lis.virginia.gov/lis.htm
http://cciio.cms.gov/resources/other/index.html#sbcug
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or repealed, consistent with the stated objectives of applicable 

law, to minimize the economic impact of regulations on small 

businesses. 

Contact Information: Lisa McGee, Department of Criminal 

Justice Services, 1100 Bank Street, 12th Floor, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2419, FAX (804) 786-6040, 

or email lisa.mcgee@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Criminal Justice Services Board conducted a small business 

impact review of 6VAC20-90, Rules Relating to Regional 

Criminal Justice Training Academies, and determined that 

this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

Criminal Justice Services Board is publishing its report of 

findings dated May 23, 2012, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

The continued need for this regulation is to ensure 

compliance of regional criminal justice training academies, as 

required in § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. No comments 

or complaints were received from the public regarding this 

regulation. Written as simply as possible, this regulation does 

not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law. 

This regulation was last reviewed in 1998 and there have 

been no changes in technology, economic conditions, or other 

factors that would necessitate an amendment or repeal of this 

regulation.  The agency has determined that this regulation 

does not need to be amended or repealed, consistent with the 

stated objectives of applicable law, to minimize the economic 

impact of regulations on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Lisa McGee, Department of Criminal 

Justice Services, 1100 Bank Street, 12th Floor, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2419, FAX (804) 786-6040, 

or email lisa.mcgee@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Restore Water Quality in the Little Otter River 
Watershed and the Buffalo Creek Watershed 

Public meeting: Forest Library, 15583 Forest Road, Forest, 

VA 24551 - Tuesday, August 14, 2012, from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. 

Directions: From Lynchburg: Take 221 South. The Library is 

located on the left, approximately 2 miles past the Graves 

Mill shopping center, between Thomas Jefferson Road and 

Two Church Lane. From Bedford: Take 221 North for 

approximately 15 miles. The Library will be located on the 

right, between Thomas Jefferson Road and Two Church 

Lane.  

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) announces a public meeting to discuss a study 

to restore water quality in the Little Otter River watershed 

and the Buffalo Creek watershed. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies are working to 

identify sources of biological impairment (general standard) 

in the Little Otter watershed and the Buffalo Creek 

watershed. DEQ's monitoring data indicates that water quality 

does not support a natural aquatic invertebrate community.  

The following is the "impaired" stream, the length of the 

impaired segment, location, and the reason for the 

impairment: Johns Creek, 2.13 miles, Bedford City and 

Bedford County, general standard (aquatic invertebrate 

community); Little Otter River, 21.62 miles, Bedford City 

and Bedford County, general standard (aquatic invertebrate 

community); Wells Creek, 3.78 miles, Bedford County, 

general standard (aquatic invertebrate community); Buffalo 

Creek, 8.09 miles, Bedford and Campbell Counties, general 

standard (aquatic invertebrate community).  

DEQ, in cooperation with the Virginia Department of 

Conservation and Recreation and other state and local 

agencies, is developing a total maximum daily load (TMDL) 

study for the impaired waters. A TMDL is the total amount of 

a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 

quality standards. To restore water quality, pollutant levels 

have to be reduced to the amount determined during the 

TMDL study.  

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include the 

name, address, and telephone number of the person 

commenting and be received by September 13, 2012. DEQ 

also accepts written and oral comments at the public meeting 

announced in this notice. 

Contact: For additional information or to submit comments, 

contact Mary Dail, Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality, Blue Ridge Regional Office, 3019 Peters Creek 

Road, Roanoke, VA 24019, telephone (540) 562-6715, or 

email: mary.dail@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY AND 
DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 

RECREATION 

Total Maximum Daily Load for the Moores Creek 
Watershed  

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 

and the Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation 

(DCR) seek written and oral comments from interested 

persons on the revision of a total maximum daily load 

(TMDL) implementation plan (IP) for the Moores Creek 

watershed in the City of Charlottesville and Albemarle 

County. Moores Creek was originally listed as impaired in the 

1998 § 303(d) Report for violations of the water quality 

standard for fecal coliform bacteria. A TMDL for bacteria 

was developed for Moores Creek and approved by EPA May 

2002. A copy of the TMDL is available on DEQ's website at: 

http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInfo

http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTMDLReports.aspx
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rmationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTMD 

LReports.aspx). 

Section 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires the 

development of an IP for approved TMDLs. The IP should 

provide measurable goals and the date of expected 

achievement of water quality objectives. The IP should also 

include the corrective actions needed and their associated 

costs, benefits, and environmental impacts. A TMDL IP was 

completed for Moores Creek in February 2005. In 2012, the 

Rivanna River Basin Commission (RRBC) was approved to 

receive EPA Section 319 grant funds to implement the plan 

subject to approval of the plan by EPA. Following a review 

by EPA Region III staff, the TMDL IP was found to be 

ineligible to receive § 319 funding due to failures to: 

demonstrate expected load reductions from implementation 

actions, document public participation in IP development, and 

provide detailed implementation timeline with associated 

goals and milestones. In order to meet funding eligibility 

criteria, this implementation plan is undergoing a revision by 

the RRBC in cooperation with DEQ and DCR. 

The draft revised IP will be available for review on the web 

no later than July 30, 2012, at: 

http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInfo

rmationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImple

mentationPlans.aspx. 

The public comment period for this IP revision will end on 

Friday, August 31, 2012. Questions or information requests 

should be addressed to Nesha McRae, DCR. Written 

comments should include the name, address, and telephone 

number of the person submitting the comments and should be 

sent to Nesha McRae, Department of Conservation and 

Recreation, 44 Sangers Lane, Suite 102, Staunton, VA 24401, 

telephone (540) 332-9238, or email 

nesha.mcrae@dcr.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Board of Health conducted a small business impact review of 

12VAC5-530, Regulations Governing the Virginia 

Medical Scholarship Program, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The State 

Board of Health is publishing its report of findings dated 

April 12, 2012, to support this decision in accordance with 

§ 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation is necessary to increase access to quality 

primary care by Virginia residents in medically underserved 

areas. Public comments were not received regarding this 

regulation. The regulation is very straightforward and does 

not overlap or duplicate other regulations.  This regulation 

was last evaluated in 2009. This regulation is not burdensome 

to small businesses and, in fact, may be of benefit to the 

establishment of physician practices (which are small 

businesses) in Virginia. 

Contact Information: Joe Hilbert, Director of Governmental 

and Regulatory Affairs, Department of Health, 109 Governor 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 804-864-7006 or 

email joe.hilbert@vdh.virginia.gov. 

LIBRARY OF VIRGINIA (LIBRARY BOARD) 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Library 

Board conducted a small business impact review of 

17VAC15-120, Regulations Governing the Destruction of 

Public Records Containing Social Security Numbers, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Library Board is publishing its report of 

findings dated June 20, 2012, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

1. A continued need exists for this regulation. It establishes 

procedures for the disposal, physical destruction, or other 

disposition of public records containing social security 

numbers. It applies only to those records whose retention 

periods have expired.  

2. No complaints were received concerning the regulation 

from the public during the comment period.  In fact, the two 

commentators clearly argued for the need to prevent the use 

of and/or eliminate social security numbers from public 

documents. 

3. Virginia is one of 45 states in the country with laws or 

regulations detailing the proper handling and destruction of 

public documents containing social security numbers. The 

regulation is clear and simple to follow.  Specifically, 

17VAC15-120-10 directs that any record containing social 

security numbers must be destroyed within six months of the 

expiration of the records retention period. Documents can be 

shredded if the records are pulped or incinerated, or baled to 

be pulped or incinerated, which renders the identifying 

information "…unreadable or undecipherable by any means." 

Hard drives may be either overwritten or degaussed. An 

overwritten hard drive can be used again to store data but a 

degaussed hard drive is exposed to a strong magnetic field, 

leaving the hard drive permanently unusable. 

4.  While there are federal laws like the Health Insurance 

Portability Accountability Act (HIPAA) and the Family 

Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), as well as state 

regulations like the Government Data Collection and 

Dissemination Practices Act (§ 2.2-3800 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia), that govern the collection, maintenance, use, and 

sharing of personal information, 17VAC15-120 is the only 

one that details the destruction of documents with social 

security numbers once the retention period for the record has 

expired. 

http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationPlans.aspx
http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationPlans.aspx
http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationPlans.aspx
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5. Only three years have passed since the regulation 

governing the elimination of social security numbers from 

public documents has been in effect (December 23, 2008), 

and it remains relevant to the paper and electronic documents 

it was written to address. 

6. The Library Board, through examination of the regulation 

and relevant public comments, has determined that the 

regulatory requirements minimize the economic impact of 

these regulations on small businesses since the regulations 

affect only public records and thereby have only a minimal 

impact on existing and potential Virginia employers and their 

ability to maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Contact Information: Janice Hathcock, Public Relations 

Coordinator, The Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-3592, FAX (804) 

692-3594, or email jan.hathcock@lva.virginia.gov. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 

Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations on June 29, 2012. The orders may be viewed at 

the State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA, or at the office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 201 N. 9th Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA. 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Five (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1354; "Monopoly" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective June 29, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Seven (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1349; "Find The 9'S" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective June 29, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Eight (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1352; "Double Match" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective June 29, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Nine (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1345; "Black Gold" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective June 29, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Sixty (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1340; "Hit $20,000" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective June 29, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-One (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1357; "Black Jack" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective June 29, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Two (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1331; "Hang 10" Final Rules 

for Game Operation (effective June 29, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Three (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1351; "Flying Aces" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective June 29, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Four (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1348; "Some Like It Hot" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective June 29, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Five (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1355; "10X The Money" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective June 29, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Nine (12) 

"On The Spot Awards" Virginia Lottery Retailer Incentive 

Program Rules (effective June 29, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Seventy (12) 

"Retailer Recruitment Incentive Plan" Virginia Lottery 

Retailer Incentive Program Rules (effective June 29, 2012, 

and remain in full force and effect until 90 days after the 

conclusion of the Incentive Program) 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Carter Oaks, 
LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Carter Oaks, 

LLC for alleged violations at Carter Oaks Subdivision, 

Section C, Henrico County, VA. The State Water Control 

Board proposes to issue a consent special order to Carter 

Oaks, LLC to address noncompliance with State Water 

Control Board law. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Gina Pisoni 

will accept comments by email at 

gina.pisoni@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (804) 527-5106, or postal 

mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont 

Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, 

from July 30, 2012, to August 31, 2012. 

Proposed Consent Order for King George County 
Service Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for King George 

County Service Authority for violations of the State Water 

Control Law and Regulations in King George County. The 

State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent order 

resolving violations at the Dahlgren District Waste Water 

Treatment Plant. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the DEQ office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Daniel Burstein will accept comments 

www.deq.virginia.gov
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by email at daniel.burstein@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (703) 

583-3821, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 

Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA 22193, from July 31, 2012, through August 

31, 2012. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, 201 N. 9th Street, General Assembly Building, 

2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice (804) 

786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/cmsportal3/cgi-bin/calendar.cgi. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code Sections 

Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing regulation 

sections that have been amended, added, or repealed in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations were 

originally published or last supplemented in the print version 

of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/cumultab.htm. 

ERRATA 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC5-80. Permits for Stationary 

Sources (amending 9VAC5-80-310 through 9VAC5-80-

350, 9VAC5-80-2250 through 9VAC5-80-2290; adding 

9VAC5-80-2310 through 9VAC5-80-2350; repealing 

9VAC5-80-2300).  

Publication: 28:22 VA.R. 1674-1684 July 2, 2012. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1681, subdivision 2 a of 9VAC5-80-2280, line 4, 

change "http://www.bls.gov/cpi/home.htm" to 

"http://data.bls.gov/cgi-bin/surveymost?cu"  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3210; Filed July 11, 2012, 9:12 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC15-60. Small Renewable Energy 

Projects (Solar) Permit by Rule (adding 9VAC15-60-10 

through 9VAC15-60-140).  

Publication: 28:21 VA.R 1640-1649 June 18, 2012. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1648, section titled "DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED 

BY REFERENCE (9VAC15-60)" should be as follows: 

[ DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(9VAC15-60) 

The Natural Communities of Virginia, Classification of 

Ecological Community Groups, Second Approximation 

(Version 2.4) 2011, Virginia Department of Conservation and 

Recreation, Division of Natural Heritage, Richmond, 

Virginia. 

Virginia's Comprehensive Wildlife Conservation Strategy, 

2005, Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 

Richmond, Virginia. 

 Chapter 1: Introduction.  

 Chapter 2: Methods.  

 Chapter 3: Statewide Overview.  

 Chapter 4: Virginia's Mid-Atlantic Coastal Plain.  

 Chapter 5: Virginia's Southern Appalachian Piedmont.  

 Chapter 6: Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains.  

 Chapter 7: Virginia's Northern Ridge and Valley.  

 Chapter 8: Virginia's Northern Cumberland Mountains.  

 Chapter 9: Virginia's Southern Cumberland Mountains.  

 Chapter 10: Conclusions.  

 Glossary.  

 Appendix A: The Species of Greatest Conservation 

Need.  

 Appendix B: Species of Greatest Conservation Need with 

No Known Ecoregional Associations.  

 Appendix C: Terrestrial Species with No Landcover 

Associations.  

 Appendix D: Potential Habitat Mapping for Terrestrial & 

Aquatic Tier I Species. 

 Appendix E: List of Tier I Species and Reviewers.  

 Appendix F: Complete list of Stress/Source 

Combinations Identified by the Taxonomic Advisory 

Committees.  

 Appendix G: Habitat Grouping Used by TACs in 

Assessment of Threats, Conservation Actions, and 

Research/Monitoring Needs.  

 Appendix H: Threats to Virginia's Species of Greatest 

Conservation Need.  

 Appendix I: Conservation Actions Identified by the 

Taxonomic Advisory Committees.  

 Appendix J: Research and Monitoring Needs Identified 

by the Taxonomic Advisory Committees.  

 Appendix K: Landcover Classes.  
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 Appendix L: Summaries of Community Meetings 

Facilitated by VCU's Center for Public Policy.  

 Appendix M: Recommendations for Education and 

Outreach Actions.  

 Appendix N: DEQ Impaired Waters Map.  

 Appendix O: Reference Maps.  

 Appendix P: Public Comments. ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2506; Filed July 19, 2012, 9:05 a.m. 
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