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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
28:2 VA.R. 47-141 September 26, 2011, refers to Volume 28, Issue 2, 
pages 47 through 141 of the Virginia Register issued on  
September 26, 2011. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 
Chairman; Gregory D. Habeeb; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 
McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. 
Moncure, Jr.; Wesley G. Russell, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. 
Tavenner; Christopher R. Nolen; J. Jasen Eige or Jeffrey S. 
Palmore. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar; Rhonda Dyer, Publications 
Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations Staff Assistant;  
Karen Perrine, Staff Attorney. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

August 2012 through August 2013 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

28:26 August 8, 2012 August 27, 2012 

29:1 August 22, 2012 September 10, 2012 

29:2 September 5, 2012 September 24, 2012 

29:3 September 19, 2012 October 8, 2012 

29:4 October 3, 2012 October 22, 2012 

29:5 October 17, 2012 November 5, 2012 

29:6 October 31, 2012 November 19, 2012 

29:7 November 13, 2012 (Tuesday) December 3, 2012 

29:8 November 28, 2012 December 17, 2012 

29:9 December 11, 2012 (Tuesday) December 31, 2012 

29:10 December 26, 2012 January 14, 2013 

29:11 January 9, 2013 January 28, 2013 

29:12 January 23, 2013 February 11, 2013 

29:13 February 6, 2013 February 25, 2013 

29:14 February 20, 2013 March 11, 2013 

29:150 March 6, 2013 March 25, 2013 

29:16 March 20, 2013 April 8, 2013 

29:17 April 3, 2013 April 22, 2013 

29:18 April 17, 2013 May 6, 2013 

29:19 May 1, 2013 May 20, 2013 

29:20 May 15, 2013 June 3, 2013 

29:21 May 29, 2013 June 17, 2013 

29:22 June 12, 2013 July 1, 2013 

29:23 June 26, 2013 July 15, 2013 

29:24 July 10, 2013 July 29, 2013 

29:25 July 24, 2013 August 12, 2013 

29:26 August 7, 2013 August 26, 2013 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Gerard Lawson. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner is proposing 
that the language of 18VAC115-20-52 C 3, Residency, be 
changed to read: Shall hold an active, unrestricted license as a 
professional counselor, marriage and family therapist, or 
substance abuse treatment practitioner, school psychologist, 
clinical psychologist, clinical social worker, or psychiatrist in 
the jurisdiction where the supervision is being provided. At 
least 100 hours of the supervision shall be rendered by a 
licensed professional counselor. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 
Virginia law, the petition will be filed with the Register of 
Regulations and published on August 27, 2012, with 
comment requested until September 21, 2012. It will also be 
placed on the Virginia Regulatory Townhall and available for 
comments to be posted electronically. At its first meeting 
following the close of comment, which is scheduled for 
November 16, 2012, the board will consider the request to 
amend regulations and all comment received in support or 
opposition. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 21, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-33, Filed July 26, 2012, 10:30 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of General Services 
intends to consider amending 1VAC30-45, Certification of 
Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories. This 
regulation sets out the requirements to certify noncommercial 
laboratories that analyze environmental samples used to 
determine compliance with the State Water Control Law, 
Virginia Waste Management Act, and the Virginia Air 
Pollution Control Law. The proposed action will eliminate all 
the requirements related to the initial certification period. 
These changes mainly affect the application procedures. The 
process to renew certification will be streamlined, reducing 
the cost for both the agency and the accredited laboratories. 
The proposed action will revise the fees charged to 
laboratories under the program. The current fees are 
insufficient to support the program because fewer laboratories 
applied for certification than originally anticipated.  
The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 2.2-1105 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: September 26, 2012. 
Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of General Services, 1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 
371-8305, or email rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3334; Filed August 7, 2012, 11:38 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Mines, Minerals 
and Energy has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended 
Regulatory Action for 4VAC25-35, Certification 
Requirements for Mineral Miners, which was published in 
27:2 VA.R. 152 September 27, 2010. This action is being 
withdrawn because legislative action eliminating the Board of 
Mineral Mining Examiners that was taken at the 2012 
General Assembly Session made this regulatory action 
obsolete.  
Agency Contact: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 
1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, 

telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TTY (800) 
828-1120, or email mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2542; Filed July 31, 2012, 8:59 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Safety and Health Codes Board 
intends to consider amending 16VAC25-35, Regulation 
Concerning Certified Lead Contractors Notification, Lead 
Project Permits and Permit Fees. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to provide both increased protection to 
employees and employers performing lead-based paint 
abatement projects by requiring that licensed lead contractors 
submit written notification for all lead projects, as defined in 
16VAC25-35-10, regardless of the contract price for the lead 
project. 
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: September 26, 2012. 
Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Planning and Evaluation 
Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 
Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, TTY (804) 
786-2376, or email john.crisanti@doli.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3269; Filed August 1, 2012, 9:51 a.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

DEPARTMENT OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-270. Regulations Relating to 
Campus Security Officers (adding 6VAC20-270-10 
through 6VAC20-270-130).  
Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: December 6, 2012 - 11 a.m. - 
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Street, House Room 
D, Richmond, VA. 
Public Comment Deadline: October 26, 2012. 
Agency Contact: Lisa McGee, Regulatory Manager, 
Department of Criminal Justice Services, P.O. Box 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-2419, FAX (804) 
786-6377, or email lisa.mcgee@dcjs.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
department, under the direction of the Criminal Justice 
Services Board, to establish minimum standards for 
employment, job-entry and in-service training curricula, and 
certification requirements for campus security officers. 
Purpose: The regulations establish a certification process for 
campus security officers to include a background 
investigation to include a criminal history records inquiry, 
compulsory minimum training standards, administration of 
the regulatory system, administrative requirements, and 
standards of conduct. The regulations also authorize the 
department to approve instructors to deliver compulsory 
minimum training and establish administrative requirements 
and standards of conduct for the instructors. These regulations 
provide the department with the authority to approve training 
waivers and suspend or decertify an individual as a campus 
security officer and establish an appeal process for the 
individual.  
These regulations are essential to the health, safety, and 
welfare of citizens by ensuring that campus security officers 
are held to the same standards throughout the Commonwealth 
of Virginia. 
Substance: Section 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia directs the 
Department of Criminal Justice Services to establish 
minimum standards for campus security officers including 
standards for (i) employment, (ii) job-entry and in-service 
training curricula, and (iii) certification requirements. Such 
training standards shall include, but not be limited to, the role 
and responsibility of campus security officers, relevant state 

and federal laws, school and personal liability issues, security 
awareness in the campus environment, and disaster and 
emergency response. The campus security officer regulations 
address the necessary definitions, initial certification, and 
training requirements and exemption from such procedures, 
suspension of certification, training waivers for experienced 
officers, standards of conduct, and recertification and 
decertification procedures. Additionally, instructor approval, 
administrative requirements, and standards of conduct are 
addressed. 
Issues: The primary advantage to the public will be a standard 
level of training for security officers working on 
college/university campuses. This will increase the 
professionalism and enhance the safety of the campus 
environment for students, faculty, staff, and visitors. The only 
perceived disadvantage is the increased cost associated with 
paying for officers to attend mandatory training. This 
unfunded mandate adds additional costs to the 
college/university budget. 
The primary advantage to the Commonwealth is the enhanced 
safety of college/university campuses. The only disadvantage 
to the Commonwealth is the increased costs incurred in the 
administration and staffing of this training and certification 
program. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapters 203 and 233 of the 2006 Acts of the 
Assembly, The Board of Criminal Justice Services (Board) 
promulgated emergency regulations for certification of 
campus security officers. The Board now proposes these 
regulations as a permanent replacement for the emergency 
regulations that will expire January 31, 2012. These proposed 
regulations set initial training standards for campus security 
officers that are hired by colleges and that are contracted 
through private security firms as well as setting rules for 
biennial recertification. These proposed regulations also set 
rules of conduct for and rules for suspension of certification. 
In order to become certified, the Board proposes to require 
campus security officers to: 

•  Be US citizens or resident aliens legally able to work, 
•  Have a high school or general equivalency diploma and 
be at least 18 years of age, 
•  Undergo a criminal background check, 
•  Have a valid driver's license if driving will be part of 
their job, 
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•  Successfully complete some sort of first aid training as 
determined by their employing college, 
•  Complete a specific online course that is provided by 
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and 
•  Complete 16 hours of initial training in specific modules 
as determined by the Board and complete post-module 
tests with a score of at least 70%. 
•  After initial certification, security officers will be 
required to complete 16 hours of continuing education 
each biennium.  

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 
ascertain whether benefits outweigh costs for this regulatory 
change. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Of the requirements that the 
Board proposes for campus security officers, several will 
likely have no additional costs attached. Individuals must 
already be legally eligible to work in order to be legally 
employed. Individuals must also already be licensed to 
operate a motor vehicle before they can drive whether they 
are driving as part of their job or not. The Boards proposed 
language that mirrors these already existing laws is unlikely 
to cause any additional costs for regulated entities. 
Several other proposed requirements will likely have some 
costs attached for campus security officers or their employing 
colleges. Criminal background checks are run by the State 
Police who charge a $35 fee. To the extent that colleges dont 
already require such checks as a condition of employment, 
they will incur additional annual costs of $35 times the 
number of campus security officers hired each year. There are 
also costs attached to completing the Board approved initial 
training, Board approved continuing education and the 
required FEMA online course. The Department of Criminal 
Justice Services (DCJS) reports that they currently provide 
both initial training and continuing education for no fee to 
potential and current campus security officers so these 
individuals will likely only incur costs for time spent in 
training and in taking the required tests as well as potentially 
costs for travelling to where the training is offered. DCJS 
further reports that they intend to have training available 
online in 2012. This will likely lower costs for regulated 
entities as they will then not have to travel for training and 
will be able to complete training when it is most convenient 
for them. Regulated entities will also incur costs for time 
spent completing the FEMA online course. 
To the extent that state required training and certification for 
campus security officers makes college campuses safer, 
individuals who frequent college campuses will benefit. 
Currently, there is insufficient information about the 
magnitude of any potential benefits to ascertain whether they 
will outweigh costs incurred.  
Businesses and Entities Affected. DCJS reports that all 
campus security officers, approximately 70 colleges and 

universities and approximately 50 small business security 
firms will be affected by these proposed regulations. 
Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 
particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes. 
Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 
likely have little impact on employment in the 
Commonwealth. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 
regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 
of private property in the Commonwealth. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Affected small 
businesses may incur costs if they pay their staff wages for 
their time spent training for certification.  
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. There do not appear to be any alternate 
regulatory methods that would both meet the Boards goals 
and further reduce costs for affected small businesses. 
Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department of Criminal Justice Services concurs generally 
with the economic impact analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget on the proposed Regulations Relating to 
Campus Security Officers. 
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Summary: 
The proposed regulations establish standards for campus 
security officers who are hired by colleges or universities 
or contracted through private security firms. The 
standards include eligibility requirements for certification, 
standards for initial training and biennial recertification, 
continuing education requirements, rules of conduct, and 
provisions for suspending certification. 

CHAPTER 270 
REGULATIONS RELATING TO CAMPUS SECURITY 

OFFICERS 
6VAC20-270-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Approved instructor" means a person who has been 
approved by the department to instruct the Campus Security 
Officer Training Course. 

"Campus security officer" means any person employed by or 
contracted to a college or university for the sole purpose of 
maintaining peace and order and who is primarily responsible 
for ensuring the safety, security, and welfare of students, 
faculty, staff, and visitors. Certified law-enforcement officers 
as defined in § 9.1-101 of the Code of Virginia and campus 
police officers appointed pursuant to § 23-233 of the Code of 
Virginia are not included in this definition. 

"Campus security point of contact" is the person designated 
by the college, university, private security services business, 
or private security services training school to serve as the 
contact person between the department and the college, 
university, private security services business, or private 
security services training school on matters concerning the 
certification of campus security officers. 

"Certification" means that a qualified person has met the 
compulsory minimum entry-level training standards 
mandated for a campus security officer. 

"College or university" means an institution of higher 
education created to educate and grant certificates or degrees 
in a variety of subjects. 

"Compulsory minimum entry-level training and certification 
standards" means the compulsory training modules and other 
certification requirements, determined by the department, to 
comprise the necessary training and certification standards 
required as a basis for initial certification. 

"Contracted" means a person employed by a licensed private 
security services business under contract to perform the 
functions of a campus security officer. 

"Date of hire" means the date an employee is hired to 
provide campus security officer services for a college, 
university, or private security services business, and whom 
the department must regulate. 

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 
Services or any successor agency. 

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 
department. 

"Employee" means a person providing campus security 
services hired directly by the employing college or university 
or a person hired by a licensed private security services 
business supplying campus security services to the college or 
university on a contract basis. 

"Entry-level training requirement" means the compulsory 
modules determined by the department to comprise the 
necessary training required as a basis for certification. 

"In-service training requirement" means the compulsory in-
service training requirement adopted by the department for 
campus security officers. 

"Private security services business" or "PSS" means any 
person engaged in the business of providing, or who 
undertakes to provide, security officers to another person 
under contract, express, or implied as defined in § 9.1-138 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

"Private security services training school" means any person 
certified by the department to provide instruction in private 
security subjects for the training of private security service 
business personnel in accordance with this chapter. 

"Special events" means those events at which large numbers 
of people gather on campus or at college or university 
facilities creating a need for additional or specialized security 
actions. 

"This chapter" means the Regulations Relating to Campus 
Security Officers. 

"Training requirement" means any entry-level or in-service 
training or retraining standard established by this chapter. 
6VAC20-270-20. Exemption from certification. 

A. Contracted personnel who hold a valid private security 
services registration as an unarmed or armed security officer 
as defined under § 9.1-138 of the Code of Virginia are 
exempt from these compulsory minimum entry-level training 
and certification standards provided their duties are limited to 
security at special events. 

B. Part-time officers employed or contracted to any one 
college or university, or any combination of colleges or 
universities in Virginia, are exempt from the provisions of 
this chapter provided that the aggregate hours worked by the 
officer during the calendar year do not exceed 120 hours. 
6VAC20-270-30. Compulsory minimum entry-level 
training and certification standards. 

A. In addition to meeting all the hiring requirements of the 
employing college, university, or private security services 
business supplying campus security services to the college or 
university, all campus security officers are required to meet 
the following compulsory minimum entry-level training and 
certification standards. Such person shall: 
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1. Be a United States citizen or legal resident eligible under 
United States law for employment in the United States. 
2. Undergo a background investigation to include a 
criminal history inquiry. Results of such inquiries shall be 
examined by the employer. 
3. Possess a high school diploma, General Education 
Diploma (GED), or other accepted secondary school 
credential. 
4. Be a minimum of 18 years of age. 
5. Possess a valid driver's license issued by his state of 
residence if required by the duties of office to operate a 
motor vehicle. 
6. Successfully complete first aid training as determined by 
the employing college or university. The level and 
substance of such training shall be at the discretion of the 
employing college or university. 
7. Complete the online course Introduction to Incident 
Command System for Higher Education (IS-100.HE) as 
provided by the Emergency Management Institute at the 
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). 
8. Comply with compulsory minimum entry-level training 
standards approved by the department. 

a. Every campus security officer hired before January 31, 
2011, is required to comply with the compulsory 
minimum entry-level training standards within 365 days 
of the effective date of this regulation. Every campus 
security officer hired on or after January 31, 2011, is 
required to comply with the compulsory minimum entry-
level training standards within 180 days of the date of 
hire. 
b. The compulsory minimum entry-level training 
standard shall consist of modules of content developed 
and approved by the department. Such training shall 
include but not be limited to: 
(1) The role and responsibility of campus security 
officers; 
(2) Relevant state and federal laws; 
(3) School and personal liability issues; 
(4) Security awareness in the campus environment; 
(5) Mediation and conflict resolution; 
(6) Disaster and emergency response; and 
(7) Behavioral dynamics. 
c. The compulsory minimum entry-level training 
standard shall include a test for each module approved 
and provided by the department with a minimum passing 
grade of 70% on each module. Any officer not receiving 
a minimum grade of 70% on each module shall, at the 
discretion of the approved instructor, be given remedial 
training and thereafter the opportunity to be tested again 
on the questions incorrectly answered on the first 
attempt. If this option is utilized, the initial test score 

shall be recorded with an asterisk followed by the 
signature of the approved instructor who provided the 
remedial training. The approved instructor's signature 
shall be accepted as verification that the officer 
successfully answered enough of the questions missed on 
the initial test to achieve a passing score of 70%. A 
second unsuccessful test, subsequent to remedial training, 
shall result in a grade of "FAIL" after which the officer 
may, at the discretion of the employing college, 
university, or PSS business be enrolled in future training 
for the failed module. 

9. Submit to the department a properly completed and 
signed application for certification from the employing 
college, university, or PSS business in a format provided 
by the department. 

B. All costs associated with meeting the certification 
requirements are the responsibility of the employer. 

C. The department may grant an extension of the time limit 
for completion of the compulsory minimum entry-level 
training and certification standards under the following 
documented conditions: 

1. Illness or injury;  
2. Military service;  
3. Special duty required and performed in the public 
interest;  
4. Administrative leave, full-time educational leave, or 
suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a 
crime; or 
5. Any other reasonable situation documented by the 
employing college, university, or PSS business. 

6VAC20-270-40. Certification procedures. 
A. The department will notify the applicant for campus 

security officer certification and the designated campus 
security point of contact for the employing college, 
university, or PSS business that the campus security officer is 
certified in accordance with this chapter after the following 
conditions are met: 

1. Notification to the department by the designated campus 
security point of contact that the applicant for campus 
security officer certification has successfully met the 
following compulsory minimum entry-level training and 
certification standards: 

a. The total of modules that comprise the compulsory 
minimum entry-level training as required by this chapter; 
b. Complete background investigation as required by this 
chapter; 
c. First-aid training consistent with the standard set by 
the employing college or university; and 
d. Completion of the online course Introduction to 
Incident Command System for Higher Education (IS-
100.HE) as provided by the Emergency Management 
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Institute at the Federal Emergency Management Agency 
(FEMA) and as indicated by the department. 

2. Receipt by the department of application for certification 
signed by the designated point of contact for the employing 
college, university, or PSS business.  

B. If a campus security officer seeking certification is denied 
by the department, the department will notify the designated 
campus security point of contact for the employing college, 
university, or PSS business and the applicant in writing, 
outlining the basis for the denial and the process for appeal of 
the decision to deny.  

C. The department shall maintain a current database of 
certified campus security officers as well as relevant training 
records.  

D. Certification shall be for a period not to exceed 24 
months. 
6VAC20-270-50. Suspension of certification. 

A. Campus security officers will only be certified while 
employed by a college, university, or a PSS business while 
assigned to a college or university. 

B. Certification of the campus security officer will be 
suspended upon the termination of the officer's employment 
with the college, university, or PSS business. For the 
purposes of this chapter, a previously certified campus 
security officer's status shall be changed to suspended upon 
the department receiving notice that the officer is no longer 
employed by a college, university, or PSS business. 

C. Upon obtaining employment at another college, 
university, or PSS business, a previously certified campus 
security officer will not be required to repeat the compulsory 
minimum entry-level training provided the officer's 
employment starts within the two-year period of the previous 
certification. 
6VAC20-270-60. Training waiver for experienced officers. 

A. Subject to the approval of the department, a compulsory 
minimum entry-level training waiver may be obtained for 
experienced campus security officers with a minimum of five 
years of experience who successfully complete the module 
tests with a minimum score of 70% on each test. The 
application for a waiver shall be submitted on the form 
prescribed by the department and must contain the signature 
of the designated campus security point of contact. 

B. If any module test grade is less than 70%, the 
experienced officer shall be required to complete the 
prescribed compulsory minimum entry-level training 
standards as outlined in this chapter. 
6VAC20-270-70. Educational requirement waiver for 
experienced officers. 

Subject to the approval of the department, an educational 
requirement waiver may be obtained for campus security 
officers who have been continuously employed in that 
capacity at a college, university, or PSS business under 

contract to a college or university for a minimum of five years 
prior to January 31, 2011. 
6VAC20-270-80. Standards of conduct. 

A campus security officer shall:  
1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 
Virginia and this chapter; 
2. Maintain a valid mailing address with the employing 
college, university, or PSS business at all times. Written 
notification of any address change shall be submitted to the 
campus security point of contact for the employing college, 
university, or PSS business no later than 10 days after the 
effective date of the change; 
3. Inform the designated campus security point of contact 
for the employing college, university, or PSS business in 
writing within 72 hours or the beginning of the next work 
day, whichever comes first, after an arrest for any felony or 
misdemeanor; 
4. Inform the designated campus security point of contact 
for the employing college, university, or PSS business in 
writing within 72 hours or the beginning of the next work 
day, whichever comes first, after having been convicted of 
any felony or misdemeanor; and 
5. Inform the designated campus security point of contact 
for the employing college, university, or PSS business in 
writing within 10 days after having been found guilty by 
any court or administrative body of competent jurisdiction 
to have violated the statutes or regulations of that 
jurisdiction. 

6VAC20-270-90. Recertification requirements. 
A. Applications for recertification must be received by the 

department prior to certification expiration. It is the 
responsibility of the campus security officer employer to 
ensure recertification applications are filed with the 
department. A valid certification as a campus security officer 
is required in order to remain eligible for employment as a 
campus security officer. If the campus security officer has 
met the required in-service training requirements and the 
required in-service training documents and recertification 
application are on file with the department prior to expiration, 
the campus security officer is deemed recertified and may 
continue to operate in the campus security officer capacity. 

B. Applicants for recertification must have completed 16 
hours of in-service training during each two-year period after 
initial certification. The in-service training must be directly 
related to the duties of the campus security officer, to include 
a legal update and other relevant topics approved by the 
department.  

C. Individuals whose certification is expired shall comply 
with the compulsory minimum entry-level training and 
certification standards set forth in this chapter. 
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D. The department, subject to its discretion, retains the right 
to grant an extension of the recertification time limit and 
requirements under the following conditions: 

1. Illness or injury; 
2. Military service; 
3. Administrative leave, full-time educational leave, or 
suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a 
crime; or 
4. Any other reasonable situation documented by the 
employing college, university, or PSS business. 

E. Request for extensions shall: 
1. Be submitted in writing and signed by the designated 
campus security point of contact for the employing college, 
university, or PSS business prior to the expiration date of 
the time limit for completion of the requirement; and 
2. Indicate the projected date for the completion of the 
requirement. 

6VAC20-270-100. Decertification and appeal procedure. 
A. The department may decertify a campus security officer 

who has:  
1. Been convicted of or pled guilty or no contest to a 
felony or any offense that would be a felony if committed 
in Virginia;  
2. Failed to comply with or maintain compliance with 
compulsory minimum entry-level training and certification 
standards;  
3. Refused to submit to a drug screening or has produced a 
positive result on a drug screening reported to the 
employer where the positive result cannot be explained to 
the employer's satisfaction;  
4. Lied on or failed to provide required information on an 
employment application for the current position; or 
5. Been terminated for just cause by the employing college, 
university, or PSS business. 

B. Such campus security officer shall not have the right to 
serve as a campus security officer within this Commonwealth 
until the department has reinstated the certification.  

C. The findings and the decision of the department may be 
appealed to the board provided that written notification is 
given to the attention of the Director, Department of Criminal 
Justice Services, within 30 days following the date 
notification of the decision was served or the date it was 
mailed to the respondent, whichever occurs first. In the event 
the hearing decision is served by mail, three days shall be 
added to that period. (Rule 2A:2 of Rules of the Virginia 
Supreme Court.) 
6VAC20-270-110. Instructor approval. 

A. The department may approve instructors to deliver the 
compulsory minimum entry-level training for campus 
security officers and may revoke such approval for cause.  

B. Each person applying for instructor approval shall:  

1. Submit an instructor application, signed by the 
designated point of contact of the employing college, 
university, PSS business, or private security services 
training school on the form prescribed by the department; 
2. Have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED) or 
have passed the National External Diploma Program;  
3. Have a minimum of:  

a. Two years of management or supervisory experience 
as a campus security officer or supervisory experience 
with any federal, state, county, or municipal law-
enforcement agency in a related field; or  
b. Three years of general experience as a campus security 
officer or with a federal, state, or local law-enforcement 
agency in a related field; and 

4. One year experience and demonstrated success as an 
instructor or teacher in an accredited educational institution 
or law-enforcement or security agency.  

C. Each person applying for instructor approval shall file 
with the department a properly completed application 
provided by the department. The department maintains the 
right to require additional documentation of instructor 
qualifications. 

D. The department will evaluate qualifications based upon 
the justification provided.  

E. Upon completion of the instructor application 
requirements, the department may approve the instructor for 
an indefinite period.  

F. Each instructor shall conduct himself in a professional 
manner and the department may revoke instructor approval 
for cause. 

G. The department has the authority to accept a waiver 
application with supporting documentation demonstrating 
related training or experience that meets or exceeds standards 
established by the department within the three years 
immediately preceding the date of the instructor application.  
6VAC20-270-120. Instructor standards of conduct. 

An instructor shall:  
1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 
Virginia and this chapter; 
2. Maintain a current mailing address, phone number, and 
email address with the department. Written notification of 
any address, phone number, or email change shall be 
received by the department no later than 30 days after the 
effective date of the change; 
3. Inform the department in writing within 72 hours or the 
beginning of the next work day, whichever comes first, 
after an arrest for any felony or misdemeanor; 
4. Inform the department in writing within 72 hours or the 
beginning of the next work day, whichever comes first, 
after having been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor; 
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5. Inform the department in writing within 10 days after 
having been found guilty by any court or administrative 
body of competent jurisdiction to have violated the statutes 
or regulations of that jurisdiction; 
6. Conduct compulsory minimum entry-level trainings 
pursuant to requirements established in this chapter; 
7. Notify the department within 10 calendar days following 
termination of employment; and 
8. Be professional in conduct. 

6VAC20-270-130. Instructor administrative 
requirements. 

A. Campus security officer instructors shall ensure that 
compulsory minimum entry-level trainings are conducted in 
accordance with requirements established in this chapter. 
Adherence to the administrative requirements, attendance, 
and standards of conduct are the responsibility of the 
instructor. 

B. Administrative requirements. 
1. An approved instructor must submit a notification to 
conduct a compulsory minimum entry-level training in a 
manner approved by the department. All notifications shall 
be received by the department no less than 30 calendar 
days before the beginning of each compulsory minimum 
entry-level. The department may waive the 30-day 
notification at its discretion. 
2. The instructor must submit notification of any changes 
to the date, time, location, or cancellation of a future 
training to the department. This notice must be received by 
the department at least 24 hours in advance of the 
scheduled starting time of the training. In the event that a 
session must be cancelled on the scheduled date, the 
department must be notified as soon as practical. 
3. A test approved by the department shall be administered 
at the conclusion of each module of the compulsory 
minimum entry-level training. The student must attain a 
grade of 70% on each module. All test documents must be 
returned to the department with an accompanying training 
roster in a manner approved by the department. 
4. The instructor shall submit tests and training rosters to 
the department. These shall be received by the department 
within seven calendar days, or if mailed, postmarked no 
later than five business days following the training 
completion date. 
5. Instructors will conduct trainings utilizing the 
curriculum developed or approved by the department, 
including, at a minimum, any compulsory minimum entry-
level trainings modules established pursuant to this 
chapter. Instructors must maintain accurate and current 
information on relevant laws and make necessary changes 
to the curriculum. It is the instructor's responsibility to 
assure they have the most recent curriculum supplied or 
approved by the department. 

6. The instructor shall permit the department to inspect and 
observe any training. 
7. Compulsory minimum entry-level trainings conducted 
not in accordance with the Code of Virginia and this 
chapter is invalid. 

C. Attendance.  
1. Campus security officers enrolled in an approved 
training are required to be present for the modules required 
for each training.  
2. Tardiness and absenteeism will not be permitted. 
Individuals violating these provisions will be required to 
make up any training missed. Such training must be 
completed by the certification process deadline and cannot 
be used to extend that deadline. Individuals not completing 
the compulsory minimum entry-level training within this 
period may not be certified or recertified and may be 
required to complete the entire training.  
3. Each individual attending an approved training shall 
comply with the regulations promulgated by the 
department and any other rules applicable to the training. If 
the instructor considers a violation of the rules detrimental 
to the training of other students or to involve cheating on 
tests, the instructor may expel the individual from the 
training. The instructor shall immediately report such 
action to the designated campus security point of contact 
for the employing college, university, PSS business, or 
private security services training school and the 
department.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 
form. The forms are also available through the agency contact 
or at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General 
Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (6VAC20-270) 

Campus Security Officer Certification Application (1/11). 
Campus Security Officer Training Class Request (1/11). 
Campus Security Officer Recertification Application (1/11). 
Campus Security Officer Permission for Extension (1/11). 
Campus Security Officer Instructor Application (1/11). 
Campus Security Officer Instructor Approval Waiver 

Application (1/11). 
VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2165; Filed August 8, 2012, 10:47 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cc4c4002165~1&typ=40&actno=002165&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f5e3b002165~2&typ=40&actno=002165&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=27d2c002165~3&typ=40&actno=002165&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8ce78002165~4&typ=40&actno=002165&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d4c98002165~5&typ=40&actno=002165&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60bb5002165~6&typ=40&actno=002165&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60bb5002165~6&typ=40&actno=002165&mime=application/pdf
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TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-70. Regulations Governing 
Pupil Transportation (amending 8VAC20-70-10, 
8VAC20-70-40, 8VAC20-70-100, 8VAC20-70-110, 
8VAC20-70-130 through 8VAC20-70-200, 8VAC20-70-
220, 8VAC20-70-230, 8VAC20-70-280, 8VAC20-70-300, 
8VAC20-70-330, 8VAC20-70-350 through 8VAC20-70-
380, 8VAC20-70-420, 8VAC20-70-430, 8VAC20-70-450, 
8VAC20-70-460, 8VAC20-70-480, 8VAC20-70-490, 
8VAC20-70-510, 8VAC20-70-525; adding 8VAC20-70-31, 
8VAC20-70-271, 8VAC20-70-411, 8VAC20-70-435; 
repealing 8VAC20-70-310).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16, 22.1-176, and 22.1-177 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: September 28, 2012.  
Agency Contact: Melissa L. Luchau, Office of Policy and 
Communications, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 
melissa.luchau@doe.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) update definitions to conform to the 
2005 and 2010 National School Transportation 
Specifications and Procedures; (ii) permit students to 
stand during school bus rides only under temporary 
emergency conditions and for short distances as identified 
in local school board policy; (iii) amend the required 
minimum frequency of school bus maintenance inspections 
by extending the timeframe between inspections and 
describing the operational assessments that will be 
conducted by the Department of Education; (iv) eliminate 
the requirement that bus collisions be reported when no 
one is injured and damage is less than $1,500; (v) require 
review of school bus routes, school sites, and safety of 
pupils at designated school bus stops at least once a year 
and as changes occur; (vi) add language stating that 
special needs children are entitled to transportation to 
school; (vii) require new transportation 
directors/supervisors employed by school divisions to 
complete the "Train the Trainer" class conducted by the 
Department of Education; and (viii) require school bus 
driver instructors to meet the requirements of a school bus 
driver and have at least two years of experience. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  
Definitions  

8VAC20-70-10. Definitions. 
The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Classroom instruction" means training provided by a 
qualified driver instructor through lectures, demonstrations, 
audio-visual presentations, computer-based instruction, 
driving simulation devices, or similar means. Instruction 
occurring outside a classroom is included if it does not 
involve actual operation of a school bus and its components 
by the student. 

"Color-black" means federal standard No. 595, black. 
"Color-yellow" means national school bus yellow SBMTC 

School Bus Manufacturers Technical Council (SBMTC) color 
standard 008.  

"Multifunction School Activity Bus (MFSAB)" [ or "school 
activity bus" ] means a school bus whose purposes do not 
include transporting students to and from home or school bus 
stops as defined in 49 CFR 571.3. This subcategory of school 
bus meets all Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards 
(FMVSS) for school buses and meets all regulations for 
school buses, except the traffic control devices, 
[ identification, ] color, use of cruise control, and seating 
requirements. 

"Nonconforming bus" means any vehicle designed to carry 
more than 10 passengers that is used to transport children to 
or from school or school-related activities that does not meet 
the federal standards, 49 CFR Part 571, specific to school 
buses or multifunction school activity buses. These vehicles 
are not approved for transporting students to and from school 
or school-related activities.  

"School bus" means any motor vehicle described in this 
chapter as "Type A1 and A2," "Type B1 and B2," "Type C," 
or "Type D," which is designed and used for the 
transportation of pupils, which is other than a station wagon, 
automobile, truck, or commercial bus that is (i) designed and 
used primarily for the transportation of pupils to and from 
public, private, or religious schools, or for the transportation 
of pupils who are physically handicapped to and from a 
sheltered workshop; (ii) painted yellow with the words 
"School Bus" in black letters of a specified size on the front 
and rear,; and which is (iii) equipped with the required 
warning devices as stated prescribed in § 46.2-100 § 46.2-
1090 of the Code of Virginia. A yellow school bus may have 
a white roof provided such vehicle is painted in accordance 
with regulations and specifications of the Department of 
Education. 

Note: This definition includes school buses owned and 
operated by school boards, private contractors, local 
governments, and transit systems that are used for the 
transportation of public school pupils.  
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"Specially equipped bus" means a school bus designed, 
equipped, or modified to accommodate students with special 
needs.  

"Type A school bus" means a van conversion or bus 
constructed utilizing a cutaway front-section vehicle with a 
left side driver's door. The entrance door is behind the front 
wheels. This definition includes two classifications. Type A1, 
with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) less than or 
equal to 10,000 of 14,500 pounds or less; and Type A2, with 
a GVWR greater than 10,000 14,500 pounds, but less than or 
equal to 21,500 pounds. 

"Type B school bus" means a bus with a body constructed 
utilizing a stripped chassis. The entrance door is behind the 
front wheels. This definition includes two classifications: 
Type B1, with a GVWR less than or equal to of 10,000 
pounds or less; and Type B2, with a GVWR greater than 
10,000 pounds.  

"Type C (Conventional) school bus" means a bus with a 
body constructed utilizing a installed upon a flat-back cowl 
chassis with a hood and front fender assembly fenders. The 
entrance door is behind the front wheels. This definition shall 
include two classifications: Type C1, with a GVWR range of 
17,500 pounds with a design seating capacity range from 16 
to 30 persons; and Type C2 with a GVWR of more than 
21,500 pounds [ with a design seating capacity for designed 
for carrying ] more than 30 persons. The engine is in front of 
the windshield and the entrance door is behind the front 
wheels. Both Type C1 and Type C2 must be equipped with 
dual rear tires. 

"Type D school bus" means a bus with a body constructed 
utilizing a stripped chassis. The entrance door is ahead of the 
front wheels. This bus is also known as a rear engine or front 
engine transit style school bus. 

"Vehicle" means any vehicle owned or operated by, or 
owned or operated by any person under contract by, a county, 
city, town, or school board in which any school pupils or 
personnel are transported at public expense from any public 
school [ or public school activity ]. 
8VAC20-70-31. Driving [ more than 13 hours in a 24-hour 
period prohibited time ]. 

[ Pursuant to § 46.2-812 of the Code of Virginia, no person 
shall operate any school bus, school activity bus, or school 
activity vehicle for more than 13 hours in any period of 24 
hours or for a period that when added to the time such person 
may have driven any vehicle in any other state would make 
an aggregate of more than 13 hours in any 24-hour period. 
Drivers of other commercial vehicles shall report all hours 
driven prior to operating a school bus, school activity bus, or 
school activity vehicle. 

No owner of any vehicle shall cause or permit a vehicle to 
be driven in violation of this section. 

Driving time for operators of any school bus, school activity 
bus, or school activity vehicle shall be pursuant to § 46.2-812 
of the Code of Virginia. ]  
8VAC20-70-40. Seating. 

The number of pupils who may ride a school bus shall be 
determined by the total number who can be seated on the seat 
cushion facing forward, safely seated within the seating 
compartment, and shall not exceed the manufacturer's 
capacity. During the first 30 instructional days of the school 
year standees may be permitted for short distances in the aisle 
back of the driver's seat. Pupils may not be permitted to stand 
after the first 30 instructional days, except under unforeseen 
temporary emergency conditions and for short distances as 
identified [ in policy ] by the local school board. 
8VAC20-70-100. Passenger restraint belts.  

Pupils riding in school buses required by federal law to be 
equipped with passenger restraint belts shall wear them as 
required by state or federal law while the bus is in motion. 
See Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards No. 209 and 
210.  
8VAC20-70-110. Pupil rider transportation safety 
instruction. 

Pupil rider safety transportation instruction shall be included 
in the school curriculum, including demonstration and 
practices of safety procedures. 

1. At the Pre-K-1 grade levels, initial safety training shall 
occur during the first week of school with additional 
training on a periodic basis during the year. [ Students in 
grades 9 through 12 shall receive additional training on the 
rules for motorists approaching a stopped school bus and 
on safe following distances when operating a personal 
vehicle. ]  
2. Emergency exit drills shall be practiced by all pupil 
riders at least twice a year, the first occurring during the 
first 30 instructional days and the second in the second 
semester and shall include the school bus driver. Summer 
session evacuation drills should be performed as needed. 
3. A copy of bus rider safety rules shall be sent to parents 
at the beginning of the school year. The information shall 
include a request that parents or their designee accompany 
their young children to and from the bus stop. 

8VAC20-70-130. Maintenance inspection. 
[ All school buses and, school activity vehicles, and school 

vehicles used to transport public school pupils to and from 
school and school activity events shall be inspected and 
maintained undergo a Level 2 maintenance inspection as 
prescribed in the Preventive Maintenance Manual for Virginia 
School Buses by competent mechanics immediately before 
being used in the fall for each new school year and a Level 1 
inspection at least once every 30 operating days or every 
2,500 miles traveled 45 calendar days after the start of the 
new school year. The inspections and maintenance shall be 
conducted in accordance with provisions of the "Preventive 
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Maintenance Manual for Virginia School Buses, March 2003" 
(November 2008) and recorded on the prescribed inspection 
forms or in a format approved by the Department of 
Education. If the inspection and maintenance are not made in 
a shop operated by the school board or the local governing 
body, the school board shall designate one or more inspection 
centers to make the inspections and require a copy of the 
results of the inspections to be furnished to the division 
superintendent. School division compliance with the 
foregoing maintenance inspection requirement shall be 
subject to verification by the Department of Education. 

Subject to funds being available, the Department of 
Education shall conduct random operational assessments 
during the school year of school divisions' pupil 
transportation operations to ensure statutes, regulations, and 
specifications are being met. The Department of Education 
shall establish procedures for conducting the random 
operational assessments. 

Maintenance and service personnel shall be encouraged to 
attend approved workshops or training institutes and shall 
receive all necessary service and maintenance publications for 
equipment serviced. 

All school buses and school activity buses used to transport 
public school pupils to and from school and school activity 
events shall be inspected and maintained by competent 
mechanics at least once every 45 school days, with "school 
days" as determined by the school division's approved yearly 
calendar or modifications in the calendar as approved by the 
division superintendent or designee, or every 5,000 miles. 
Any bus that is removed from service or deadlined so as to 
disrupt the scheduled maintenance shall be inspected prior to 
being returned to service. At no point shall any bus go 
without an inspection during the school semester and such 
inspections shall be no more than 90 school days apart 
excluding summer sessions. The inspections and maintenance 
shall be conducted in accordance with provisions of the 
Preventive Maintenance Manual for Virginia School Buses 
(September 2012) and recorded on the prescribed inspection 
forms or in a format approved by the Department of 
Education. Additional Original Equipment Manufacturer 
(OEM) inspection and maintenance recommendations should 
be maintained during the service life of each bus to ensure 
safety and warranty requirements are met. Maintenance 
consideration should be given to buses operated during the 
summer session. If the inspection and maintenance are not 
made in a shop operated by the school board or the local 
governing body, the school board shall designate one or more 
inspection centers to make the inspections and require a copy 
of the results of the inspections to be furnished to the division 
superintendent. School division compliance with the 
foregoing maintenance inspection requirements shall be 
subject to verification by the Department of Education. 

Subject to funds being available, the Department of 
Education shall conduct operational assessments of school 

divisions' pupil transportation operations on an ongoing basis 
to ensure applicable statutes, regulations, and specifications 
are being met. The Department of Education shall establish 
procedures for conducting the operational assessments and 
shall conduct the assessments in school divisions on a 
periodic cycle as resources permit. As part of the operational 
assessments, the Department of Education shall provide 
technical assistance to school divisions in a manner that will 
assist them with achieving and maintaining compliance with 
applicable statutes, regulations, and specifications. 

Maintenance and service personnel shall be encouraged to 
attend approved workshops or training institutes and shall 
receive all necessary service and maintenance publications for 
equipment serviced. ]  
8VAC20-70-140. Crash/incident Crash reporting. 

A report, on forms or in a format furnished by the 
Department of Education, of any crashes or incidents 
involving school buses, pupils, and personnel who ride school 
or activity buses (including injury or death while crossing the 
road, waiting at bus stops, etc.) shall be sent to the Pupil 
Transportation Service, Department of Education by the 
division superintendent or designee at least once a month. 
The report shall give the apparent cause of the crash or 
incident and the extent of injuries to pupils or others. The 
division superintendent or designee shall notify the Pupil 
Transportation Service of any school bus crash or incident 
involving serious injuries, requiring professional medical 
treatment, or death within the next working day from the date 
of the crash or incident. 

A vehicle crash occurs when property damage is [ $1,000 
$1,500 ] or more or when persons are injured. An incident 
occurs when property damage is $999 or less and there are no 
injured individuals.  

The Department of Education shall publish on its website an 
annual report of the number of crashes involving school 
buses, pupils, and personnel who ride school or activity buses 
(including incidents of injury or death while crossing the 
road, waiting at bus stops, etc.) in each division. 
8VAC20-70-150. Route schedule. 

All school buses in operation shall be scheduled to 
maximize safety and efficiency. The schedule shall show the 
time the bus starts in the morning, the time it leaves each 
point at which pupils are picked up, and the time of arrival at 
school, and the time of drop off at home in the afternoon. One 
copy of such schedule shall be kept in the bus [ and secured 
when the bus is unattended ], and one copy shall be kept in 
the office of the division superintendent or designee [ and 
shall meet student records and information security 
requirements as stated in federal, state, and local policy ]. 
8VAC20-70-160. Review of routes. 

School bus routes, school sites, and safety of pupils at 
designated school bus stops shall be reviewed at least [ once 
twice each year, once each semester a year and as changes 
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occur ]. [ Bus routes shall be reviewed for safety hazards ], 
[ and fuel conservation, and to assure ] maximum [ the most 
efficient Routes shall be reviewed for safety hazards, fuel 
conservation, and to assure ] the most efficient use of buses. 
Local school administrators shall evaluate the safety of pupils 
at bus stops periodically and shall at the request of the local 
school board report the results annually to the school board. 
Hazardous or unusual situations, to include railway crossings, 
shall be marked on the route sheet and made available to 
drivers and substitutes.  

A written vehicular and pedestrian traffic control plan for 
each existing school site shall be reviewed annually for safety 
hazards. All new school site plans shall include provisions 
that promote vehicular and pedestrian safety.  
8VAC20-70-170. Railway crossings. 

School buses shall stop, as required by law, at railway grade 
crossings. The School buses equipped with a nonsequential 
lighting system must have these lighting systems deactivated 
when approaching a railroad grade crossing and the 4-way 
hazard lights shall be activated [ when approaching the 
railway grade crossing ] and shall be deactivated before 
crossing the track. The bus driver shall turn off all noisy 
equipment, open the entrance door of the bus and determine 
when it is safe for the vehicle to cross the railroad tracks. The 
entrance door shall be closed when the bus is in motion. No 
stop need be made at any grade crossing where traffic is 
directed by a police law-enforcement officer or a green 
traffic-control signal as stated in § 46.2-886 of the Code of 
Virginia.  
8VAC20-70-180. Driver reports Ridership and miles 
report.  

School boards shall require that a report on the number of 
pupils transported and miles traveled be made by all school 
bus drivers to principals or other designated school officials 
submitted to designated school officials.  
 [ 8VAC20-70-190. Policies.  

Local school boards shall adopt policies, consistent with 
provisions of the Code of Virginia, before establishing a 
practice of collecting transportation fees from pupils or 
receiving contributions from other sources for activities 
sponsored by schools under their authority. No pupil whose 
parent or guardian is financially unable to pay the pro rata 
cost of the trip may be denied the opportunity to participate. 
See § 22.1-176 of the Code of Virginia. Each disabled child 
enrolled in and attending a special education program 
provided by the school division shall be entitled to 
transportation at no cost if such transportation is necessary to 
enable such child to obtain the benefit of educational 
programs and opportunities. See § 22.1-221 A of the Code of 
Virginia. ]  
8VAC20-70-200. Identification and lights covering.  

The lettered identification and traffic warning lights on the 
front and rear of school buses shall be covered with opaque 

detachable material when they school buses are used for 
purposes other than to transport pupils on regular routes to 
and from school, or on special trips to participate in contests 
of various kinds, and or for supplementary education 
purposes as required by § 22.1-183 of the Code of Virginia. 
This does not apply when the bus is being used to transport 
elderly or mentally or physically handicapped persons.  
8VAC20-70-220. Passage restriction.  

No object shall be placed on any bus carrying passengers 
that will restrict the access to any exit [ , or ] restrict the 
freedom of motion of the driver for proper operation of the 
vehicle [ or where displacement of such objects may result in 
personal injury to passengers ]. [ Drivers shall be observant of 
any objects that may cause injury. ]  
8VAC20-70-230. Required materials.  

All vehicles used primarily to transport students to and from 
school or school-related activities shall carry reflective 
triangles, first aid kit, body fluid clean-up kit and fire 
extinguisher.  
8VAC20-70-271. Records retention. 

School division documents related to pupil transportation 
shall be retained in accordance with local policy and 
guidelines from the Virginia State Library. 

Part III  
Requirements for School Bus Drivers 

8VAC20-70-280. Requirements for school bus drivers 
both for employment and continued employment. 

Sections Section 22.1-178, 46.2-339, and 46.2-340 of the 
Code of Virginia require requires drivers of school and 
activity buses to:  

1. Have a physical examination of a scope prescribed by 
the Board of Education with the advice of the Medical 
Society of Virginia and furnished on a form prescribed by 
the Board of Education showing the results of such 
examination. 

a. No person shall drive a school bus unless that person is 
physically qualified to do so and has submitted a School 
Bus Driver's Application For Physician's Certificate 
signed by the applicant and the doctor or a licensed nurse 
practitioner for the applicable employment period. 
b. The physical form describes the basic physical 
qualifications for school bus drivers; however, the 
examining physician or licensed nurse practitioner shall 
make the final determination of the individual's physical 
capacity to operate a school bus based upon their 
assessment of the individual's overall physical condition. 

2. Furnish a statement or copy of records from the 
Department of Motor Vehicles showing that the person, 
within the preceding five years, has not been convicted of a 
charge of driving under the influence of intoxicating 
liquors or drugs, convicted of a charge of refusing to take a 
blood or breath test, convicted of a felony, or assigned to 
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any alcohol safety action program or driver alcohol 
rehabilitation program pursuant to § 18.2-271.1 of the 
Code of Virginia or, within the preceding 12 months, has 
not been convicted of two or more moving traffic 
violations or has not been required to attend a driver 
improvement clinic by the Commissioner of the 
Department of Motor Vehicles pursuant to § 46.2-497 
§ 46.2-498 of the Code of Virginia. 
3. Furnish a statement signed by two reputable persons 
who reside in the school division or in the applicant's 
community that the person is of good moral character. 
4. Exhibit a license showing the person has successfully 
undertaken the examination prescribed by § 46.2-339 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
5. Be at least 18 years old. 
6. Submit to testing for alcohol and controlled substances 
that is in compliance with the Omnibus Transportation 
Employee Testing Act of 1991 (Public Law 102-143, Title 
V) as amended and that is in compliance with 49 CFR 
Parts 40 and 382.  

8VAC20-70-300. Required documents. 
The documents required pursuant to subdivisions 1 and 2 of 

8VAC20-70-280 shall be furnished annually prior to the 
anniversary date of the employment to operate a school bus.  
8VAC20-70-310. Filing. (Repealed.) 

The documents required pursuant to this section shall be 
filed with, and made a part of, the records of the school board 
employing such person as a school bus operator.  
[ 8VAC20-70-330. Health certificate.  

As a condition to employment, every school and activity bus 
driver shall submit a certificate signed by a licensed physician 
or nurse practitioner stating that the employee appears free of 
communicable tuberculosis. The school board may require 
the submission of such certificates annually, or at such 
intervals as it deems appropriate, as a condition to continued 
employment. ]  
8VAC20-70-350. Training. 

No person shall operate a school or activity bus transporting 
pupils unless the person has:  

1. Received classroom, demonstration, and behind-the-
wheel instruction in accordance with a program developed 
by the Department of Education pursuant to § 22.1-181 of 
the Code of Virginia.  
2. Completed a minimum of 24 classroom hours and 24 
hours of behind-the-wheel training. A minimum of 10 of 
the 24 hours of behind-the-wheel time shall involve the 
operation of a bus with pupils on board while under the 
direct on-board supervision of a designated bus driver 
trainer. Drivers of Type D buses must complete eight 
additional hours of training behind-the-wheel. All drivers 
shall receive training in the operation of a Type D bus and 
transportation of students with special needs. buses 

representative of the type used in the school division in 
which they will be employed and in the transportation of 
students with special needs. Classroom instruction means 
training provided by a qualified driver instructor through 
lectures, demonstrations, audio-visual presentations, 
computer-based instruction, driving simulation devices, or 
similar means. Instruction occurring outside a classroom 
[ is included qualifies as classroom instruction ] if it does 
not involve actual operation of a school bus and its 
components by the [ student trainee ]. Behind-the-wheel 
training does not include time spent riding in a school bus 
or observing [ the ] operation of a school bus when 
the [ student trainee ] is not in control of the vehicle. 
The superintendent or his designee shall maintain a record 
showing that the applicant has completed the training and 
has been approved to operate a school or activity bus. 
3. New transportation directors/supervisors employed by 
school divisions shall complete the "Train the Trainer" 
class conducted by the Department of Education within a 
year after being employed in this position. 

[ 8VAC20-70-359. Requirements for school bus driver 
instructors.  

Instructors must meet the requirements of a school bus 
driver and have at least two years experience operating a 
Class B type vehicle. ]  
8VAC20-70-360. In-service training. 

In-service training (at least two hours before opening 
[ before the opening of ] schools [ the school year and ] at 
least two hours [ during the second half of the school ] year) 
[ (at least two hours before the opening of the school year and 
at least two hours during the second half of the school year ] ) 
devoted to improving the skills, attitudes, and knowledge, 
including orientation to maximize benefits of using safety 
programs and safety components shall be provided to all 
school or activity bus drivers. In-service training [ shall 
should ] include, but is not limited to, the following topics: 
basic motor vehicle laws, related administrative codes, pre-
trip inspection procedures, student discipline and conduct, 
drug and alcohol testing procedures and policies, fuel 
conservation, safety, emergency procedures, student 
information and confidentiality, and local policies and 
procedures as required by the division's transportation 
department. A copy of the agenda for each in-service training 
event shall be on file [ in the school division ]. 
8VAC20-70-370. Supervision.  

The drivers of school and activity buses shall be under the 
general direction and control of the division superintendent or 
designee, and shall also be accountable to the principal of the 
school to which pupil transportation is provided.  
8VAC20-70-380. Pre-trip safety inspection.  

The Prior to the initial transporting of children each day, the 
drivers of school and activity buses shall perform a daily pre-
trip safety inspection of the vehicle prior to transporting 
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children. The items checked and recorded shall be at least 
equal to the pre-trip inspection procedure as prescribed in the 
Preventive Maintenance Manual for Virginia School 
Buses [ (November 2008) (September 2012) ] issued by the 
Department of Education.  
8VAC20-70-411. Driver trainers. 

[ Driver Behind-the-wheel driver ] trainers must meet the 
requirements of 8VAC20-70-280 and 8VAC20-70-350 
and [ have at least two years experience operating a Class B 
vehicle must have maintained a Class B license for two years 
prior to functioning as a behind-the-wheel driver trainer ].  
8VAC20-70-420. Instructor course certificate. 

Local school bus driver training instructors shall hold a 
certificate for completion of an instructor course conducted or 
approved by the Department of Education and shall attend a 
recertification course every five years. Certification expires at 
the end of calendar year five. 
8VAC20-70-430. Driver data. 

The names and driver license numbers of persons operating 
school and activity buses and other vehicles used to transport 
pupils shall be submitted to the Department of Motor 
Vehicles annually as required by § 46.2-340 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
8VAC20-70-435. Filing. 

The documents required pursuant to 8VAC20-70-280, 
8VAC20-70-350, 8VAC20-70-360, 8VAC20-70-400, and 
8VAC20-70-420 shall be filed with, and made a part of, the 
records of the school board employing such person as a 
school bus operator. 
8VAC20-70-450. Minimum standards specifications.  

Minimum standards specifications are applicable to all 
school buses and school activity vehicles buses, new or used, 
procured by purchase, lease or operational contract from 
another person or entity.  

Part IV  
General Requirements for School Buses in Virginia  

8VAC20-70-460. Specifications.  
It is the intent of the Board of Education to accommodate 

new equipment and technology that will better facilitate the 
safe and efficient transportation of students. When a new 
technology, piece of equipment, or component is desired to be 
applied to the a school bus, it must have the approval of the 
[ Virginia ]  Department of Education and must meet the 
following criteria:  

1. The technology, equipment, or component shall not 
compromise the effectiveness or integrity of any major 
safety system.  
2. The technology, equipment, or component shall not 
diminish the safety of the interior of the bus.  
3. The technology, equipment, or component shall not 
create additional risk to students who are boarding or 

exiting the bus or are in or near the school bus loading 
zone.  
4. The technology, equipment, or component shall not 
require undue additional activity or responsibility for the 
driver.  
5. The technology, equipment, or component shall 
generally increase efficiency or safety, or both, of the bus, 
generally provide for a safer or more pleasant experience 
for the occupants and pedestrians in the vicinity of the bus, 
or shall generally assist the driver and make his many tasks 
easier to perform.  

Buses School buses and school activity vehicles buses must 
conform to the specifications relative to construction and 
design effective on the date of procurement. Any variation 
from the specifications, in the form of additional equipment 
or changes in style of equipment, without prior approval of 
the Department of Education, is prohibited. The Department 
of Education shall issue specifications and standards for 
public school buses to reflect desired technology or safety 
improvements for the then current model year.  
8VAC20-70-480. Bus identification.  

All publicly owned, part publicly owned, or contract school 
buses, transporting pupils to and from public school, shall be 
painted a uniform color, national school bus yellow, and shall 
be identified and equipped as outlined in the standards and 
specifications.  
8VAC20-70-490. Purchase.  

The responsibility for purchasing school buses and school 
activity vehicles buses which meet state and federal 
requirements rests with division superintendents and local 
school boards.  

A schedule for the replacement of buses on a continuing 
basis shall be developed and implemented by each school 
division.  
8VAC20-70-510. Vehicles powered by alternative fuels.  

A. The Board of Education will continue to promote the use 
of alternative fuels for school buses. Any vehicle powered by 
alternative fuels will be subject to inspection and approval by 
the Virginia Department of Education.  

B. Local school divisions, in consultation with the 
Department of Education, may purchase and use school buses 
using alternative fuels as covered in § 22.1-177 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

C. Installation of alternative fuel tanks and fuel systems 
shall comply with all applicable Federal Motor Vehicles 
Safety Standards (FMVSS) 301, 49 CFR Part 571, and all 
applicable fire codes.  

D. A sign with black letters on clear or school bus yellow 
background, indicating the type of alternative fuel being used, 
may be placed on the side of the bus near the entrance door. 
No sign shall be more than 4-3/4 inches long or more than 3-
1/4 inches high.  
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Part V  
School Activity Vehicles Buses 

8VAC20-70-525. Regulations and standards. 
Activity vehicles A. School activity buses owned or 

operated under contract by or for the school board, which are 
used solely to transport pupils to and from school activity 
events, shall comply with all applicable regulations and 
standards prescribed for school buses except as noted in this 
part. [ Pursuant to § 46.2-871 of the Code of Virginia, an 
activity bus transporting school pupils shall be operated at a 
safe, legal speed. ]  

1. B. Exceptions, general regulations.  
[ a. An activity vehicle 1. Pursuant to § 46.2-871 of the 
Code of Virginia, an activity bus transporting school 
pupils shall be operated at a safe, legal speed not in 
excess of 55 miles per hour. ]  
b. [ 2. 1. ] No standees shall be permitted.  
c. The eight-inch school bus lettered identification and 
traffic warning devices shall be removed by the local 
school division as required by §§ 46.2-100 and 46.2-1090 
of the Code of Virginia. The name of the school division 
or individual school shall be placed on both sides of the 
vehicle.  
d. [ 3. 2. ] Stops for the purpose of loading or discharging 
pupils on the travel portion of the highway shall not be 
permitted.  

2. Exceptions, minimum standards for school buses in 
Virginia.  

a. School activity vehicles shall not be painted national 
school bus yellow.  
b. Other types of seats and increased spacing may be 
used provided all provisions of FMVSS 222, 49 CFR § 
571.222, are met.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 
regulation are not being published; however, the name of 
each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 
inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 
regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 
FORMS (8VAC20-70) 

School Bus Driver's Application for Physician's Certificate 
(rev. 4/08) 
DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(8VAC20-70)  

[ Preventive Maintenance Manual for Virginia School 
Buses, ] March 2003 [ November 2008, Virginia Department 
of Education. 

Preventive Maintenance Manual for Virginia School Buses, 
Rev. September 2012, Virginia Department of Education. ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1020; Filed July 27, 2012, 4:03 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-170. Regulations Governing 
Instructional Materials -- Selection and Utilization by 
Local School Boards (repealing 8VAC20-170-10). 
8VAC20-220. Regulations Governing Textbook Adoption 
State Level (repealing 8VAC20-220-10 through 8VAC20-
220-70). 
8VAC20-230. Regulations Governing Textbook Adoption 
Local Level (repealing 8VAC20-230-10 through 8VAC20-
230-40). 
8VAC20-270. Regulations Governing Textbook Fund 
Management and Handling on Local Level (repealing 
8VAC20-270-10 through 8VAC20-270-130). 
8VAC20-720. Regulations Governing Local School Boards 
and School Divisions (adding 8VAC20-720-10 through 
8VAC20-720-170). 
Statutory Authority: § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: September 26, 2012.  
Agency Contact: Melissa L. Luchau, Office of Policy and 
Communications, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 
melissa.luchau@doe.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

This regulatory action repeals four existing sets of 
regulations relating to textbooks and instructional 
materials that have not been updated since 1980 and 
consolidates provisions concerning textbooks and 
instructional materials into the new Regulations 
Governing Local School Boards and School Divisions 
(8VAC20-720). The regulations (i) include provisions 
relating to the approval of textbooks, basal textbooks, 
contracts with textbook publishers, the distribution of 
textbooks and consumable materials, and the selection of 
instructional materials by local school divisions; and (ii) 
eliminate provisions that are unnecessary, outdated, or no 
longer required by the Code of Virginia.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

CHAPTER 720  
REGULATIONS GOVERNING LOCAL SCHOOL 

BOARDS AND SCHOOL DIVISIONS  
8VAC20-720-10. Definitions. 

[ The following words or terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: ] 

"Textbooks" means print or electronic media for students 
use that serve as the primary curriculum basis for grade-level 
subject or course. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=77254001020~1&typ=40&actno=001020&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=77254001020~1&typ=40&actno=001020&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8853e001020~2&typ=40&actno=001020&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8853e001020~2&typ=40&actno=001020&mime=application/pdf
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8VAC20-720-20 through 8VAC20-720-150. (Reserved.) 
8VAC20-720-160. Instructional materials. 

A. Local school boards shall be responsible for the selection 
[ , approval, ] and utilization of instructional materials. 

B. Local school boards shall adopt policies and criteria for 
the selection of instructional materials that shall include, at a 
minimum: 

1. [ Instituting a policy regarding the The ] rights of parents 
to inspect, upon request, any instructional materials used as 
part of the educational curriculum for students, and the 
procedure for granting a request by a parent for such 
access, in accordance with the Protection of Pupil Rights 
Amendment, 20 USC § [ 123h 1232H ], and its 
implementing regulation, 34 CFR Part 9; 
[ 2. Establishing procedures for the reconsideration of 
challenged materials; 
3. Placing special emphasis on the thorough evaluation of 
materials related to controversial or sensitive topics such as 
sex education, moral education, and religion; and  
4. Including in the curriculum and scheduling options for 
students whose parents choose to withdraw them from 
class for the duration of the treatment of a sensitive or 
controversial topic. Parents should be required to justify 
their requests. 
2. The basis upon which a person may seek reconsideration 
of the local school board's selection of instructional 
materials, including but not limited to materials that might 
be considered sensitive or controversial, and the 
procedures for doing so; and 
3. Pursuant to § 22.1-253.13:7 of the Code of Virginia, 
clear procedures for handling challenged controversial 
materials. ]  

8VAC20-720-170. Textbooks. 
A. Textbook approval. 

1. The Board of Education shall have the authority to 
approve textbooks for use in the public schools of Virginia. 
2. In approving basal textbooks for reading in kindergarten 
and first grade, the board shall report to local school boards 
those textbooks with a minimum decodability standard 
based on words that students can correctly read by properly 
attaching speech sounds to each letter to formulate the 
word at 70% or above for such textbooks [ , ] in 
accordance with § 22.1-239 of the Code of Virginia. 
3. Any local school board may use textbooks not approved 
by the board provided the school board selects such books 
in accordance with this chapter. 
[ 4. Contracts and purchase orders with publishers of 
textbooks approved by the board for use in grades 6-12 
shall allow for the purchase of printed textbooks, printed 
textbooks with electronic files, or electronic textbooks 
separate and apart from printed versions of the same 
textbook. Each school board shall have the authority to 

purchase an assortment of textbooks in any of the three 
forms listed in this subdivision. ]  

B. Selection of textbooks by local school boards. Local 
school boards shall adopt procedures for the selection of 
textbooks. These procedures shall include, at a minimum, the 
following: 

1. Appointment of [ an ] evaluation [ committee 
committees ] by the local school board to review and 
evaluate textbooks in [ one or more each ] of the subject 
areas. 
2. Notice to parents that textbooks under consideration for 
approval will be listed on the school division's website and 
made available at designated locations for review by any 
interested citizens. 
[ Provisions shall be made 3. Opportunities ] for those 
reviewing such textbooks to present their comments and 
observations, if any, to the school board through locally 
approved procedures.  
[ Actions that are necessary to assure 4. Procedures to 
ensure ] appropriate consideration of citizen comments and 
observations [ shall be taken and adequate time for such 
consideration shall be allowed ]. 
[ 3. Use of selection 5. Selection ] criteria [ that has been 
approved by the local school board ]. 

C. Purchasing Board of Education approved textbooks. 
1. Local school divisions shall purchase textbooks 
approved by the Board of Education directly from the 
publishers of the textbooks by either entering into written 
term contracts or issuing purchase orders on an as-needed 
basis in accordance with § 22.1-241 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
2. Such written comments or purchase orders shall be 
exempt from the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-
4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) [ and from any local 
adopted regulations or procedures ]. 

D. Purchasing non-Board of Education approved textbooks. 
[ Local school divisions shall purchase non-Board of 
Education approved textbooks by either entering into written 
contracts or issuing purchase orders on an as-needed basis in 
accordance with locally adopted procurement procedures or 
regulations that contain requirements for competitive 
purchasing or the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-
4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). The purchase of 
textbooks other than those approved by the board is not 
exempt from the Virginia Public Procurement Act. ]  

E. [ Distribution of textbooks. Each school board shall 
provide, free of charge, such textbooks required for courses of 
instruction for each child attending public schools.  

F. ] Certifications. 
1. The division superintendent and chairperson of the local 
school board shall annually certify to the Virginia 
Department of Education that: 
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a. All textbooks were selected and purchased in 
accordance with this chapter; and 
b. The price paid for each textbook [ was not in excess of 
that charged elsewhere in the United States, ] in 
accordance with § 22.1-241 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. The certification shall include a list of all textbooks 
adopted by the local school board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1353; Filed August 3, 2012, 9:50 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 
2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 
of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 
Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 
of record. 
Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-161. Mortgage Loan 
Originators (amending 10VAC5-161-10 through 10VAC5-
161-40, 10VAC5-161-60; adding 10VAC5-161-45, 
10VAC5-161-70, 10VAC5-161-80).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 6.2-1720 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: August 15, 2012.  
Agency Contact: Nicholas C. Kyrus, Deputy Commissioner, 
Bureau of Financial Institutions, State Corporation 
Commission, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 371-9191, FAX (804) 371-9416, or email 
nick.kyrus@scc.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The final regulations set forth the criteria used for 
determining whether an applicant for a mortgage loan 
originator license has the financial responsibility, 
character, and general fitness required for licensure under 
§ 6.2-1706 of the Code of Virginia. The final regulations 
also include various conforming and clarifying 
amendments based on federal regulations adopted in 2011 
by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban 
Development and the Consumer Financial Protection 
Bureau pursuant to the federal Secure and Fair 
Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008. In 
addition, the final regulations reflect certain amendments 
to Chapter 17 made by Chapters 52 and 187 of the 2012 
Virginia Acts of Assembly, which became effective on July 
1, 2012. The final regulations also (i) require records 
containing consumers' personal financial information to be 

disposed of in a secure manner, (ii) clarify the 
commission's enforcement authority under Chapter 17, and 
(iii) require mortgage loan originators to provide the 
Bureau of Financial Institutions with a written response, 
books, records, documentation, or information requested 
by the bureau within the time period specified in the 
bureau's request. Various other technical and clarifying 
amendments, including changes resulting from the 
recodification of Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia, are also 
included in the final regulations.  
The final regulations made one change to the proposed 
regulations. In 10VAC5-161-60 C, the time period for 
mortgage loan originators to provide certain notices to the 
bureau was changed to five calendar days.  

AT RICHMOND, AUGUST 1, 2012 
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 
STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2012-00022 
Ex Parte:  In re: Mortgage Loan Originators 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 
On May 15, 2012, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") entered an Order to Take Notice ("May 15 
Order") of a proposal by the Bureau of Financial Institutions 
("Bureau") to amend the Commission's regulations governing 
licensed mortgage loan originators, which are set forth in 
Chapter 161 of Title 10 of the Virginia Administrative Code, 
10 VAC 5-161-10 et seq. The May 15 Order and proposed 
regulations were published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations on June 4, 2012, posted on the Commission's 
website, and mailed to all licensed mortgage loan originators, 
licensed mortgage lenders, licensed mortgage brokers, and 
other interested parties. Licensees and other interested parties 
were afforded the opportunity to file written comments or 
request a hearing on or before June 20, 2012. 

Comments on the proposed regulations were filed by Tyler 
Craddock, Executive Director of the Virginia Manufactured 
and Modular Housing Association; Rita E. Povich of Today's 
Mortgage LLC; and Nathan J. Burch, Claudia P. Hauyon, Joe 
G. Lucas, Jerry Quick, Stephen B. Shapbell, and Charles Lee 
Tighe, all of whom identified themselves as being with 
McLean Mortgage Corporation. Comments were also filed by 
Glen Bralley, Pamela Caldwell, Darius Jenkins, James 
Perkins, Brad R. Roche, and Leslie Wish. No requests for a 
hearing were filed. 

Mr. Craddock asserted that the proposed language in  
10 VAC 5-161-20 A is not consistent with Chapters 52 and 
187 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly, which amended § 6.2-
1701 of the Code of Virginia to require licensure for 
individuals who "engage in the business of a mortgage loan 
originator."  Ms. Povich recommended that the time period 
specified in 10 VAC 5-161-60 C for providing certain notices 
to the Bureau remain at 15 days instead of being changed to 
one (1) business day. The other 12 commenters expressed 
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concern about 10 VAC 5-161-45 A, which would govern 
whether an individual shall be found to have the financial 
responsibility required by § 6.2-1706 of the Code of Virginia. 
These commenters generally contended that the proposal 
would cause numerous licensed mortgage loan originators to 
lose their licenses, and several commenters requested that the 
Commission grandfather such individuals so that they would 
not have to comply with this regulation. Some of these 
commenters also asserted that the dollar thresholds in 
subdivision A 1 for outstanding judgments, collection 
accounts, governmental liens, and delinquent accounts are too 
small or restrictive. 

The Bureau considered the comments filed and responded to 
them in its Statements of Position, which the Bureau filed 
with the Clerk of the Commission on July 16, 2012. Based on 
its responses, the Bureau stated that it is amenable to 
adjusting the time period in 10 VAC 5-161-60 C to five (5) 
calendar days but otherwise recommends that the 
Commission adopt the proposed regulations. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the 
proposed regulations, the comments filed, the Bureau's 
Statements of Position, the record herein, and applicable law, 
concludes that the time period set forth in 10 VAC 5-161-60 
C of the proposed regulations should be modified so that 
licensed mortgage loan originators have five (5) calendar 
days to provide the required notices to the Bureau. The 
Commission further concludes that the proposed regulations, 
as modified, should be adopted with an effective date of 
August 15, 2012.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 
(1) The proposed regulations, as modified herein and 

attached hereto, are adopted effective August 15, 2012. 
(2) This Order and the attached regulations shall be posted 

on the Commission's website at: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall send a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 
attached regulations, to the Virginia Registrar of Regulations 
for publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(4) This case is dismissed, and the papers filed herein shall 
be placed in the Commission's file for ended causes. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of the 
attached regulations, shall be sent by the Clerk of the 
Commission to the Commission's Office of General Counsel 
and the Commissioner of Financial Institutions, who shall 
forthwith send by e-mail or U.S. mail a copy of this Order, 
together with a copy of the attached regulations, to all 
licensed mortgage loan originators, licensed mortgage 
lenders, licensed mortgage brokers, and such other interested 
parties as he may designate. 

10VAC5-161-10. Definitions. 
The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Bureau," means the State Corporation Commission's 
Bureau of Financial Institutions "commission," 
"commissioner," and "person" shall have the meanings 
ascribed to them in § 6.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Chapter 16" means Chapter 16 (§ 6.2-1600 et seq.) of Title 
6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Chapter 17" means Chapter 17 (§ 6.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 
6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"License application" means a written request for a 
mortgage loan originator license pursuant to Chapter 17 and 
this chapter. 

"Licensee," "mortgage loan originator," "person," 
"registered mortgage loan originator," "registry," "residential 
mortgage loan," and "unique identifier" shall have the 
meanings ascribed to them in § 6.1-431.1 6.2-1700 of the 
Code of Virginia. 
10VAC5-161-20. Individuals subject to licensure. 

A. On or after July 1, 2010, the following individuals must 
obtain a license Unless exempt from licensure pursuant to 
subsection B of § 6.2-1701 of the Code of Virginia, the 
following individuals who engage in the business of taking 
applications for residential mortgage loans, or offering or 
negotiating the terms of residential mortgage loans, shall 
obtain and maintain annually a license pursuant to Chapter 17 
and this chapter: 

1. Individuals acting as mortgage loan originators who are 
employees or exclusive agents of persons a person licensed 
under Chapter 16 (§ 6.1-408 et seq.) of Title 6.1 of the 
Code of Virginia;. This includes individuals who are 
employees of professional employment organizations or 
staffing services, who shall become and remain exclusive 
agents of a person licensed under Chapter 16.  
2. Individuals, other than registered mortgage loan 
originators, acting as mortgage loan originators who are 
employees or exclusive agents of persons a person exempt 
from licensure under Chapter 16 (§ 6.1-408 et seq.) of Title 
6.1 of the Code of Virginia; and.  
3. Individuals acting as mortgage loan originators who are 
not employees or exclusive agents of either persons a 
person licensed under Chapter 16 (§ 6.1-408 et seq.) of 
Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia or a person exempt from 
such licensure.  

B. Individuals who are coemployees of professional 
employer organizations or staffing services shall be deemed 
to be employees of the client company. For purposes of 
Chapter 17 and this chapter: 

1. An individual takes an application for a residential 
mortgage loan if the individual receives a residential 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
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mortgage loan application for the purpose of facilitating a 
decision whether to extend an offer of residential mortgage 
loan terms to a borrower or prospective borrower, or to 
accept the terms offered by a borrower or prospective 
borrower in response to a solicitation. 
2. An individual offers or negotiates the terms of a 
residential mortgage loan if the individual: 

a. Presents for consideration by a borrower or 
prospective borrower particular residential mortgage loan 
terms; 
b. Communicates directly or indirectly with a borrower 
or prospective borrower for the purpose of reaching a 
mutual understanding about prospective residential 
mortgage loan terms; or 
c. Recommends, refers, or steers a borrower or 
prospective borrower to a particular lender or set of 
residential mortgage loan terms, in accordance with a 
duty to or incentive from any person other than the 
borrower or prospective borrower. 

10VAC5-161-30. License application procedure. 
A. Applications for a mortgage loan originator license 

License applications shall be made submitted through the 
registry in accordance with instructions from the registry and 
the bureau. In connection with such license applications, the 
individual seeking a license applicant shall furnish the 
registry with all required information concerning his identity, 
personal history and experience, and fingerprints, and shall 
pay or cause to be paid through the registry required registry 
fees and an a license application fee of $150. 

B. Within five days after submitting an a license application 
for a mortgage loan originator license with through the 
registry, a bond with corporate surety on a commission-
approved form and in an amount conforming to 10VAC5-
161-50 shall be filed with the bureau, together with such 
further information as the bureau may require concerning the 
applicant's qualifications for licensure. In the case of 
individuals described in 10VAC5-161-20 A 1 and 2, the bond 
shall be filed (or documentation shall be filed indicating that 
the applicant is covered by a bond previously filed) by the 
person for whom the applicant will perform mortgage loan 
origination services engage in the business of a mortgage loan 
originator. Filing of a bond under this subsection by a person 
licensed under Chapter 16 (§ 6.1-408 et seq.) of Title 6.1 of 
the Code of Virginia shall constitute compliance with § 6.1-
413 6.2-1604 of the Code of Virginia if the bond is in the 
amount required under § 6.1-413 6.2-1604 of the Code of 
Virginia. In the case of individuals described in 10VAC5-
161-20 A 3, the bond shall be filed by the individual 
applicant. In either case the person filing the bond shall, 
unless such information is contained in a prior filing under 
Chapter 16 of Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia, 
simultaneously provide information to the bureau concerning 
his or its the dollar volume of residential mortgage loans 

originated by such person during the immediately preceding 
calendar year. 

C. If the bureau requests information to complete a deficient 
license application and the information is not received within 
60 days of the bureau's request, the license application shall 
be deemed abandoned unless a request for an extension of 
time is received and approved by the bureau prior to the 
expiration of the 60-day period. However, this provision shall 
not be construed to prohibit the commission from denying a 
license application that does not meet the requirements of 
Chapter 17 or this chapter. 
10VAC5-161-40. Conditions of licensure and renewals. 

A. A mortgage loan originator license will be granted only if 
the an individual meets the following conditions: 

1. Application is made The individual has submitted a 
license application in accordance with 10VAC5-161-30; 
2. The individual has obtained a unique identifier from the 
registry; 
3. The individual has never had a mortgage loan originator 
license revoked by any governmental authority;  
4. The individual's criminal history record contains no 
disqualifying convictions under § 6.1-431.8 6.2-1707 of 
the Code of Virginia; 
5. The individual has completed the prelicensing education 
prescribed by § 6.1-431.9 6.2-1708 of the Code of 
Virginia; 
6. The individual has achieved an acceptable score on the 
qualified written test prescribed by § 6.1-431.10 6.2-1709 
of the Code of Virginia; and 
7. The commission finds that the individual possesses the 
financial responsibility, character, and general fitness 
required for licensure by § 6.1-431.7 6.2-1706 of the Code 
of Virginia and 10VAC5-161-45. 

B. Licenses shall be subject to renewal expire at the end of 
each calendar year unless granted within 90 days before the 
end renewed by the commission on or after November 1 of 
the preceding same calendar year. In order to renew a To 
request license renewal, a licensee must renew shall (i) 
submit a license renewal application through the registry on 
or before the end of the current license year in accordance 
with instructions from the registry and the bureau. The 
licensee shall; (ii) furnish the registry and the bureau with all 
required information and documentation and shall; (iii) pay or 
cause to be paid through the registry all required registry fees 
and a license renewal fee of $100; (iv) obtain the continuing 
education prescribed in § 6.2-1710 of the Code of Virginia; 
and (v) comply with any other renewal requirements imposed 
by the registry. 

C. A mortgage loan originator license will be renewed only 
if the licensee meets commission finds that the following 
conditions have been met: 
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1. License renewal application is made in accordance with 
The licensee has satisfied the requirements of subsection B 
of this section; and 
2. The licensee has complied with Chapter 17 and this 
chapter, and continues to meet the conditions for initial 
licensure; and. 
3. The licensee has obtained the continuing education 
prescribed in § 6.1-431.11 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. If (i) a licensee fails to timely meet the conditions 
requirements specified in subsection C B of this section, but 
meets such conditions requirements and pays a reinstatement 
fee of $30 before March 1 of a renewal year and pays a 
reinstatement fee of $30 the following calendar year, and (ii) 
the commission makes the findings specified in subsection C 
of this section, his license will shall be reinstated and 
renewed. 
10VAC5-161-45. Financial responsibility, character, and 
general fitness. 

A. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, an 
applicant shall be found to have the financial responsibility 
required by § 6.2-1706 of the Code of Virginia. 

1. An applicant shall not be found to have the financial 
responsibility required by § 6.2-1706 if the commission 
finds that the applicant has one or more of the following: 

a. One or more outstanding judgments or collection 
accounts that in the aggregate exceed $2,000; 
b. One or more outstanding tax liens or other 
governmental liens that in the aggregate exceed $1,000; 
c. One or more delinquent accounts, including any 
charged-off accounts but excluding any items in 
subdivision 1 a or b of this subsection, that in the 
aggregate exceed $3,000; 
d. One or more foreclosures within the past seven years; 
or 
e. Such other debts as the commission deems relevant. 

2. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 of this subsection, an 
applicant shall be found to have the financial responsibility 
required by § 6.2-1706 if the commission determines that 
(i) the applicant has demonstrated good faith efforts to 
satisfy all of the outstanding debts enumerated in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection and (ii) one or more of the 
following substantially impeded the applicant's ability to 
satisfy his outstanding debts: 

a. Loss of income; 
b. Divorce; 
c. Medical expenses;  
d. Natural disaster; or 
e. Such other unanticipated events or circumstances that 
the commission deems relevant. 

B. An applicant shall be found to have the character and 
general fitness required by § 6.2-1706 of the Code of Virginia 
unless one or more of the following are applicable: 

1. The applicant has been convicted of, or pled guilty or 
nolo contendere to, a crime involving: (i) financial services 
or a financial services-related business, (ii) fraud, (iii) a 
false statement or omission, (iv) felony theft or wrongful 
taking of property, (v) bribery, (vi) perjury, (vii) forgery, 
(viii) counterfeiting, (ix) extortion, (x) breach of trust, (xi) 
money laundering, or (xii) dishonesty. However, in 
evaluating any of these crimes, the commission may take 
into account, among other things, the length of time 
elapsed since the offense was committed, the age of the 
applicant at the time of the offense, and the nature of the 
offense.  
2. The commission finds that (i) the applicant made a 
material misrepresentation or omission in either his license 
application or any other information furnished by the 
applicant in conjunction with such license application or 
(ii) a third party made a material misrepresentation or 
omission in support of the applicant's request for a 
mortgage loan originator license and the applicant failed to 
promptly notify the bureau after becoming aware of the 
misrepresentation or omission. However, in evaluating a 
misrepresentation or omission, the commission may take 
into account, among other things, any explanation given 
for the misrepresentation or omission. For purposes of this 
subdivision, a misrepresentation or omission shall be 
considered material if the commission would consider the 
stated or omitted information to be important in the 
investigation of an applicant's request for a mortgage loan 
originator license. 
3. The commission possesses other information that 
demonstrates that the applicant lacks the character or 
general fitness required by § 6.2-1706 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

C. Pursuant to § 6.2-1716 of the Code of Virginia, the 
commission may suspend or revoke any license issued under 
Chapter 17 at any time following the issuance of such license 
if the commission finds, based on the criteria set forth in this 
section, that a licensee no longer possesses the financial 
responsibility, character, or general fitness to warrant belief 
that such person will act as a mortgage loan originator 
efficiently and fairly, in the public interest, and in accordance 
with law. 
10VAC5-161-60. Required reports and notices. 

A. On or before March 1 of each year, each Each person for 
whom an individual described in 10VAC5-161-20 A 1 or 2 
performs services engages in the business of a mortgage loan 
originator shall file, on or before March 1 of each year, an 
annual report with the bureau stating the amount of residential 
mortgage loans made or brokered during the preceding 
calendar year, identifying all licensees performing services 
for that person, and providing such additional information as 
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the bureau may require. Timely filing of the annual report 
required by Chapter 16 (§ 6.1-408 et seq.) of Title 6.1 of the 
Code of Virginia by a person licensed under that chapter shall 
constitute compliance with this subsection by that person if 
the annual report contains the information specified in this 
subsection. 

B. On or before March 1 of each year, each Each licensee 
who is an individual described in 10VAC5-161-20 A 3 shall 
file, on or before March 1 of each year, an annual report with 
the bureau stating the amount of residential mortgage loans 
originated during the preceding calendar year and providing 
such additional information as the bureau may require. 

C. Each licensee shall give notice to the bureau, either 
directly for a notice under subdivision 1 of this subsection or 
through the registry for other notices required by this section, 
within 15 days [ one business day five days ] after the 
occurrence of any either of the following events: 

1. Cessation of activities for which a license is required, 
upon receipt of which notice the individual's license will be 
placed in inactive status and the individual shall not engage 
in activities requiring licensure under this chapter until 
such time as the individual meets the description in 
10VAC5-161-20 A 1, 2, or 3 and other provisions of this 
chapter; 
2. 1. Termination of, or separation from, employment or 
exclusive agency as a mortgage loan originator for a 
person licensed or exempt from licensing under Chapter 16 
of Title 6.1 of the Code of Virginia, upon receipt of which 
notice the individual's license will be placed in inactive 
status and the individual. A licensee who is no longer an 
employee or exclusive agent of a person licensed or 
exempt from licensing under Chapter 16 shall not engage 
in activities requiring licensure under this chapter Chapter 
16 until such time as the individual meets the description in 
10VAC5-161-20 A 1, 2, or 3 and other provisions of this 
chapter; (i) the individual obtains a mortgage broker 
license under Chapter 16 or (ii) the individual becomes a 
bona fide employee or exclusive agent of a person who is 
licensed or exempt from licensing under Chapter 16 and 
the requirements set forth in (i) and (ii) of subdivision 2 of 
this subsection have been satisfied. 
3. 2. Commencement of employment or exclusive agency 
as a mortgage loan originator for a new person licensed or 
exempt from licensing under Chapter 16 of Title 6.1 of the 
Code of Virginia, in which event the new person shall 
comply. A licensee who becomes an employee or 
exclusive agent of a person licensed or exempt from 
licensing under Chapter 16 shall not engage in activities 
requiring licensure under Chapter 16 until (i) the person 
licensed or exempt from licensing under Chapter 16 has 
complied with the surety bond filing requirements of § 6.2-
1703 of the Code of Virginia, 10VAC5-161-30 B, and 
10VAC5-161-50; or and (ii) the bureau has received a 
sponsorship request through the registry. 

4. Surrender of a license, in which case the licensee shall 
mail his license to the bureau immediately upon giving 
notice of surrender of the license. 

D. Pursuant to subsection B of § 6.2-1711 of the Code of 
Virginia, each licensee shall notify the commissioner through 
the registry within 10 days of any change of residential or 
business address. A licensee described in 10VAC5-161-20 A 
1 or 2 shall be deemed to have complied with this 
requirement if a person licensed or exempt from licensing 
under Chapter 16 timely submits such notice on behalf of its 
employee or exclusive agent. 
10VAC5-161-70. Responding to requests from the Bureau 
of Financial Institutions; disposal of records. 

A. When the bureau requests a written response, books, 
records, documentation, or other information from a licensee, 
the licensee shall deliver a written response as well as any 
requested books, records, documentation, or information 
within the time period specified in the bureau's request. If no 
time period is specified, a written response as well as any 
requested books, records, documentation, or information shall 
be delivered by the licensee to the bureau not later than 30 
days from the date of such request. In determining the 
specified time period for responding to the bureau and when 
considering a request for an extension of time to respond, the 
bureau shall take into consideration the volume and 
complexity of the requested written response, books, records, 
documentation, or information and such other factors as the 
bureau determines to be relevant under the circumstances. 
Requests made by the bureau pursuant to this subsection are 
deemed to be in furtherance of the investigation and 
examination authority provided for in § 6.2-1713 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

B. If a licensee disposes of records containing a consumer's 
personal financial information following the expiration of any 
applicable record retention periods, such records shall be 
shredded, incinerated, or otherwise disposed of in a secure 
manner. 
10VAC5-161-80. Enforcement; civil penalties. 

A. Failure to comply with any provision of Chapter 17 or 
this chapter may result in civil penalties, license suspension, 
license revocation, the entry of a cease and desist order, or 
other appropriate enforcement action. 

B. Pursuant to § 6.2-1719 of the Code of Virginia, an 
individual required to be licensed under Chapter 17 shall be 
subject to a separate civil penalty of up to $2,500 for every 
violation of Chapter 17, this chapter, or other law or 
regulation applicable to the conduct of the individual's 
business. Furthermore, if an individual violates any provision 
of Chapter 17, this chapter, or other law or regulation 
applicable to the conduct of the individual's business in 
connection with multiple borrowers, loans, or prospective 
loans, the individual shall be subject to a separate civil 
penalty for each borrower, loan, or prospective loan. For 
example, if an individual originates five loans and the 
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individual violates two applicable laws in connection with 
each of the five loans, the individual shall be subject to a 
maximum civil penalty of $25,000. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2883; Filed August 1, 2012, 1:49 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 11. GAMING 

STATE LOTTERY BOARD 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 11VAC5-20. Administration 
Regulations (amending 11VAC5-20-10, 11VAC5-20-60, 
11VAC5-20-150 through 11VAC5-20-180, 11VAC5-20-
200; repealing 11VAC5-20-70).  
Statutory Authority: § 58.1-4007 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: September 26, 2012.  
Agency Contact: Mitch Belton, Contract and Project 
Coordinator, State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
9th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-7136, 
FAX (804) 692-7325, or email mbelton@valottery.com. 
Summary:  

The amendments clarify existing requirements and update 
existing references relating to (i) advertising through the 
Internet, social media, and other electronic means; (ii) 
procedures for licensing conferences and decisions, and 
(iii) procurement. The amendments also remove references 
to the State Lottery Fund; repeal the apportionment of the 
total revenues received from the sale of tickets or shares; 
and authorize the board, following the close of evidence 
presented in public, to consider in closed session its 
decision with regard to an appeal of the denial, revocation, 
or suspension of a retailer's license. Since publication of 
the proposed regulation, one change was made in the 
definitions section that modifies the term retailer. 

Part I  
General Parameters  

11VAC5-20-10. Definitions.  
The following words and terms when used in any of the 

department's regulations shall have the following meaning 
meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Administrative Process Act" or "APA" means Chapter 40 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Appeal" means a proceeding initiated by a retailer, bidder, 
or offeror (for a contract negotiated on a sole source basis), 
contractor or individual for an informal conference or formal 
hearing contesting the director's decision (i) to refuse to issue 
or renew, to suspend or to revoke a lottery license; or (ii) 
regarding a procurement action.  

"Award" means a decision to contract with a specific vendor 
for a specific contract.  

"Bank" means any commercial bank, savings bank, savings 
and loan association, credit union, trust company, and any 
other type or form of banking institution organized under the 
authority of the Commonwealth of Virginia or of the United 
States of America which is designated by the State Treasurer 
to perform functions, activities or services in connection with 
the operations of the lottery for the deposit, handling and 
safekeeping of lottery funds, accounting for those funds and 
the safekeeping of records.  

"Bid" means a competitively priced offer made by an 
intended seller, usually in reply to an invitation for bids.  

"Bid bond" means an insurance agreement in which a third 
party agrees to be liable to pay a certain amount of money in 
the event a specific bidder fails to accept the contract as bid.  

"Board" means the State Lottery Board established by the 
State Lottery Law.  

"Competitive bidding" means the offer of firm bids by 
individuals or firms competing for a contract, privilege, or 
right to supply specified services or goods.  

"Competitive negotiation" means a method for purchasing 
goods and services, usually of a highly complex and technical 
nature where qualified individuals or firms are solicited by 
using a Request For Proposals. Discussions are held with 
selected vendors and the best offer, as judged against criteria 
contained in the Request For Proposals, is accepted.  

"Conference" or "consultation" means a type of appeal in the 
nature of an informational or factual proceeding of an 
informal nature provided for in § 2.2-4019 of the 
Administrative Process Act.  

"Conference officer" means the director, or a person 
appointed by the director, who is empowered to preside at 
informal conferences or consultations and to provide a 
recommendation, conclusion or decision in such matter.  

"Consideration" means something of value given for a 
promise to make the promise binding. It is one of the 
essentials of a legal contract.  

"Contract" means a binding agreement, enforceable by law, 
between two or more parties for the supply of goods or 
services.  

"Contract administration" means the management of all 
facets of a contract to assure that the contractor's total 
performance is in accordance with the contractual 
commitments and that the obligations of the purchase are 
fulfilled.  

"Contracting officer" means the person(s) authorized to sign 
contractual documents which obligate the State Lottery 
Department and to make a commitment against State Lottery 
Department funds.  

"Contractor" means an individual or firm which has entered 
into an agreement to provide goods or services to the State 
Lottery Department.  
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"Department" means the State Lottery Department created 
by the State Lottery Law.  

"Depository" means any person, including a bonded courier 
service, armored car service, bank, central or regional offices 
of the department, or any state agency that performs any or all 
of the following activities or services for the lottery:  

1. The safekeeping and distribution of tickets to retailers;  
2. The handling of lottery funds;  
3. The deposit of lottery funds; or  
4. The accounting for lottery funds.  

"Director" means the Director of the State Lottery 
Department or his designee.  

"Electronic funds transfer (EFT)" means a computerized 
transaction that withdraws or deposits money from or to a 
bank account.  

"Goods" means all material, equipment, supplies, printing, 
and automated data processing hardware and software.  

"Hearing" means agency processes other than those 
informational or factual inquiries of an informal nature 
provided in §§ 2.2-4007 and 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia 
and includes only (i) opportunity for private parties to submit 
factual proofs in formal proceedings as provided in § 2.2-
4009 of the Code of Virginia in connection with the making 
of regulations or (ii) a similar right of private parties or 
requirement of public agencies as provided in § 2.2-4020 of 
the Code of Virginia in connection with case decisions.  

"Household" means members of a group who reside at the 
same address.  

"Informalities" means defects or variations of a bid from the 
exact requirements of the Invitation for Bids which do not 
affect the price, quality, quantity, or delivery schedule for the 
goods or services being purchased.  

"Immediate family" means (i) a spouse and (ii) any other 
person residing in the same household as the officer or 
employee, who is a dependent of the officer or employee or 
of whom the officer or employee is a dependent.  

"Inspection" means the close and critical examination of 
goods and services delivered to determine compliance with 
applicable contract requirements or specifications. It is the 
basis for acceptance or rejection.  

"Invitation for Bids (IFB)" means a document used to solicit 
bids for buying goods or services. It contains or references the 
specifications or scope of work and all contractual terms and 
conditions.  

"Kickbacks" means gifts, favors or payments to improperly 
influence procurement decisions.  

"Legal entity" means an entity, other than a natural person, 
which has sufficient existence in legal contemplation that it 
can function legally, sue or be sued and make decisions 
through agents, as in the case of a corporation.  

"Letter contract" means a written preliminary contractual 
instrument that authorizes a contractor to begin immediately 
to produce goods or perform services.  

"Lottery" or "state lottery" means the lottery or lotteries 
established and operated pursuant to Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 
et seq.) of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Negotiation" means a bargaining process between two or 
more parties, each with its own viewpoints and objectives, 
seeking to reach a mutually satisfactory agreement on, or 
settlement of, a matter of common concern.  

"Noncompetitive negotiations" means the process of 
arriving at an agreement through discussion and compromise 
when only one procurement source is practicably available or 
competitive procurement procedures are otherwise not 
applicable.  

"Nonprofessional services" means personal services not 
defined as "professional services."  

"Notice of Award" means a written notification to a vendor 
stating that the vendor has received a contract with the 
department.  

"Notice of Intent to Award" means a written notice which is 
publicly displayed, prior to signing of a contract, that shows 
the selection of a vendor for a contract.  

"Performance bond" means a contract of guarantee executed 
in the full sum of the contract amount subsequent to award by 
a successful bidder to protect the department from loss due to 
his inability to complete the contract in accordance with its 
terms and conditions.  

"Person" means a natural person and may extend and be 
applied to groups of persons, as well as a corporation, 
company, partnership, association, club, trust, estate, society, 
joint stock company, receiver, trustee, assignee, referee, or 
any other person acting in a fiduciary or representative 
capacity, whether appointed by a court or otherwise, and any 
combination of individuals, unless the context indicates 
otherwise. In the context of the licensing of lottery sales 
agents, "person" also means all departments as well as all 
departments, commissions, agencies, and instrumentalities of 
the Commonwealth, including counties, cities, municipalities, 
political subdivisions, agencies and instrumentalities thereof.  

"Personal services contract" means a contract in which the 
department has the right to direct and supervise the 
employee(s) of outside business concerns as if the person(s) 
performing the work were employees of the department or a 
contract for personal services from an independent contractor.  

"Procurement" means the process for obtaining goods or 
services, including all activities from planning and 
preparation to processing of a request through the processing 
of a final invoice for payment.  

"Professional services" means services within the practice of 
accounting, architecture, behavioral science, dentistry, 
insurance consulting, land surveying, landscape architecture, 
law, medicine, optometry, pharmacy, professional 
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engineering, veterinary medicine and lottery on-line and 
instant ticket services.  

"Protest" means a written complaint about a procurement 
action or decision brought by a bidder or offeror to the 
department with the intention of receiving a remedial result.  

"Purchase order" (signed by the procuring activity only) 
means the form which is used to procure goods or services 
when a bilateral contract document, signed by both parties, is 
unnecessary, particularly for small purchases. The form may 
be used for the following:  

1. To award a contract resulting from an Invitation For 
Bids (IFB).  
2. To establish a blanket purchase agreement.  
3. As a delivery order to place orders under state contracts 
or other requirements-type contracts which were 
established for such purpose.  

"Request for Information (RFI)" means a document used to 
get information from the general public or potential vendors 
on a good or service. The department may act upon the 
information received to enter into a contract without issuing 
an IFB or an RFP.  

"Request for Proposals (RFP)" means a document used to 
solicit offers from vendors for buying goods or services. It 
permits negotiation with vendors (to include prices) as 
compared to competitive bidding used in the invitation for 
bids.  

"Responsible vendor" means a person or firm who has the 
capability in all respects to fully satisfy the requirements of a 
contract as well as the business integrity and reliability to 
assure good faith performance. In determining a responsible 
vendor, a number of factors including but not limited to the 
following are considered. The vendor should:  

1. Be a regular dealer or supplier of the goods or services 
offered;  
2. Have the ability to comply with the required delivery or 
performance schedule, taking into consideration other 
business commitments;  
3. Have a satisfactory record of performance; and  
4. Have the necessary facilities, organization, experience, 
technical skills, and financial resources to fulfill the terms 
of the contract.  

"Responsive vendor" means a person or firm who has 
submitted a bid, proposal, offer or information which 
conforms in all material respects to the solicitation.  

"Retailer [ and sales agent ]" means a person or business 
licensed by the department as an agent to sell lottery tickets or 
shares.  

"Sales," "gross sales," "annual sales" and similar terms mean 
total ticket sales including any discount allowed to a retailer 
for his compensation.  

"Services" means any work performed by an independent 
contractor where the service rendered does not consist 
primarily of acquisition of equipment or materials, or the 
rental of equipment, materials and supplies.  

"Sole source" means that only one source is practicably 
available to furnish a product or service.  

"Solicitation" means an Invitation for Bids (IFB), a Request 
for Proposals (RFP), a Request for Information (RFI) or any 
other document issued by the department or telephone calls 
by the department to obtain bids or proposals or information 
for the purpose of entering into a contract.  

"State Lottery Law" means Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) 
of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Surety bond" means an insurance agreement in which a 
third party agrees to be liable to pay a specified amount of 
money to the department in the event the retailer fails to meet 
his obligations to the department.  

"Transaction" means any matter considered by any 
governmental or advisory agency, whether in a committee, 
subcommittee, or other entity of that agency or before the 
agency itself, on which official action is taken or 
contemplated.  

"Vendor" means one who provides goods or services to the 
department.  
11VAC5-20-60. Advertising.  

A. Advertising may include, but is not limited to, print 
advertisements,; radio and television advertisements,; digital, 
electronic, and video advertisements; billboards,; point of 
purchase materials and; point-of-sale display materials; and 
Internet and social media.  

B. Any lottery retailer may use his own advertising materials 
unless the department objects thereto. The department shall 
develop written guidelines for such materials.  

C. The department may provide information displays or 
other material to the retailer, who shall position the material 
so it can be seen easily by the general public.  

D. The department may produce special posters, brochures 
or flyers describing various aspects of the lottery and provide 
these to lottery retailers to post or distribute.  
11VAC5-20-70. Operations of the department. (Repealed.) 

A. The department will conduct business with the public, 
lottery retailers, vendors and others with integrity and 
honesty.  

B. Apportionment of moneys received from the sale of 
tickets or shares shall be divided approximately as follows:  

  55% Prizes, as provided for in the rules of 
specific games 

  5.0% Lottery retailer compensation 

  7.0% Operating expenses (Administrative costs 
of the lottery shall not exceed 10% of 
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total annual estimated gross revenues to 
be generated from lottery sales.) 

  33% Net income 

The percentages may vary from year to year based upon the 
amount of prize payouts.  

C. The State Lottery Fund will be established as an account 
in the Commonwealth's accounting system. The account will 
be established following usual procedures and will be under 
regulations and controls as other state accounts. Funding will 
be from gross sales.  

1. Within the State Lottery Fund, there shall be a "Lottery 
Prize Special Reserve Fund" subaccount created in the 
State Lottery Fund account which will be used when 
lottery prize payouts exceed department cash on hand. 
Unless otherwise provided in the Appropriation Act, 5.0% 
of monthly gross sales shall be transferred to the Lottery 
Prize Special Reserve Fund until the amount of the Lottery 
Prize Special Reserve Fund reaches 5.0% of the gross 
lottery revenue from the previous year's annual sales or $5 
million, whichever is less.  

a. The calculation of the 5.0% will be made for each 
instant or on-line game.  
b. The funding of this subaccount may be adjusted at any 
time by the board.  

2. Other subaccounts may be established in the State 
Lottery Fund account as needed at the direction of the 
board upon the request of the director with concurrence of 
the State Comptroller and the Auditor of Public Accounts.  
3. In accordance with the Appropriation Act, the State 
Comptroller provides an interest-free line of credit not to 
exceed $25,000,000 to the department. This line of credit is 
in lieu of the Operations Special Reserve Fund required to 
be established by the Comptroller in accordance with § 
58.1-4022 B of the Code of Virginia. Draw-downs against 
this line of credit are available immediately upon request 
of the department.  

D. The board and director may address matters not 
mentioned in Chapters 20 (11VAC5-20), 31 (11VAC5-31), 
and 41 (11VAC5-41) that are needed or desired for the 
efficient and economical operation and administration of the 
lottery.  
11VAC5-20-150. Conferences on denial, suspension, or 
revocation of a retailer's license.  

The conduct of license appeal conferences will conform to 
the provisions of § 2.2-4018 Article 3 (§ 2.2-4018 et seq.) of 
Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia relating to 
case decisions.  

1. An initial conference consisting of an informal fact 
finding process will be conducted by the conference officer 
to attempt to resolve the issue to the satisfaction of the 
parties involved.  

2. If an appeal is not resolved through the informal fact 
finding process, at the request of the appellant, a formal 
hearing will be conducted by the board in public. 
Following the close of the evidence, the board may 
consider its decision in closed session. The board will then 
issue its decision on the case.  
3. Upon receipt of the board's decision on the case, the 
appellant may elect to pursue court action in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Process Act 
(APA) relating to court review.  

11VAC5-20-160. Procedure for appealing a licensing 
decision.  

A. Upon receiving a notice that (i) an application for a 
license or the renewal of a license has been denied by the 
director, or (ii) the director intends to or has already taken 
action to suspend or revoke a current license, the applicant or 
licensed retailer may appeal by filing a written notice of 
appeal requesting a conference on the licensing action. The 
notice of appeal shall be submitted within 30 days of receipt 
of the notice of the licensing action.  

1. Receipt of a notice of the licensing action that is mailed 
in an envelope bearing a United States Postal Service 
postmark is presumed to have taken place not later than the 
third day following the day of mailing to the last known 
address of the applicant or licensed retailer. If the third day 
falls upon a day on which mail is not delivered by the 
United States Postal Service, the notice is presumed to 
have been received on the next business day. The "last 
known address" means the address shown on the 
application of an applicant or licensed retailer unless a 
more current address has been provided to the department 
by the applicant or licensed retailer.  
2. The notice of appeal will be timely if it bears a United 
States Postal Service postmark showing mailing on or 
before the 30th day prescribed in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection A of this section.  

B. A notice of appeal may be mailed or hand delivered to 
the director at the State Lottery Department headquarters 
office.  

1. A notice of appeal delivered by hand will be timely only 
if received at the headquarters of the State Lottery 
Department within the time allowed by subsection A of 
this section.  
2. Delivery to a State Lottery Department regional office 
any other State Lottery Department office or to lottery 
sales personnel by hand or by mail is not sufficient.  
3. The appellant assumes full responsibility for the method 
chosen to file the notice of appeal.  

C. The notice of appeal shall state:  
1. The decision of the director which that is being 
appealed;  
2. The legal and factual basis for the appeal;  
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3. The retailer's license number or the Retailer License 
Application Control Number; and  
4. Any additional information the appellant may wish to 
include concerning the appeal.  

11VAC5-20-170. Procedures for conducting informal fact-
finding licensing conferences.  

A. The conference officer will conduct an informal fact-
finding conference with the appellant for the purpose of 
resolving the licensing action at issue.  

B. The conference officer will hold the conference as soon 
as possible but not later than 30 days after the notice of 
appeal is filed, unless an alternate date is designated by the 
conference officer or his designee and accepted by the 
appellant. A notice setting out the conference date, time, and 
location will be sent to the appellant, by certified mail, return 
receipt requested, at least 10 days before the day set for the 
conference, unless a shorter time is agreed to by the appellant.  

C. A conference may be conducted by telephone, at the 
option of the appellant.  

D. The conferences shall be informal.  
1. The conferences will be electronically recorded. The 
recordings will be kept until the time limit for any 
subsequent appeal has expired.  
2. A court reporter may be used. The court reporter shall be 
paid by the person who requested him. If the appellant 
elects to have a court reporter, a transcript shall be 
provided to the department. The transcript shall become 
part of the department's records.  
3. The appellant may appear in person or may be 
represented by counsel to present his facts, argument, or 
proof in the matter to be heard and may request other 
parties to appear to present testimony.  
4. The department will present its facts in the case and may 
request other parties to appear to present testimony.  
5. Questions may be asked by any of the parties at any time 
during the presentation of information subject to the 
conference officer's prerogative to regulate the order of 
presentation in a manner which, in his sole discretion, best 
serves the interest of fairly developing the facts.  
6. The conference officer may exclude information at any 
time which that he believes, in his sole discretion, is not 
germane or which that repeats information already 
received.  
7. The conference officer shall declare the conference 
completed when the time established by the conference 
officer has expired.  

E. Normally, the conference officer shall issue his decision 
within 15 days after the conclusion of an informal conference. 
However, for a conference with a court reporter, the 
conference officer shall issue his decision within 15 days after 
receipt of the transcript of the conference. In all cases the 
agency shall comply with the APA. The decision will be in 

the form of a letter to the appellant summarizing the case and 
setting out his decision on the matter. The decision will be 
sent to the appellant by certified mail, return receipt 
requested.  

F. After receiving the conference officer's decision on the 
informal conference, the appellant may elect to appeal to the 
board for a formal hearing on the licensing action. The 
request for appeal shall:  

1. Be submitted in writing within 15 days of receipt of the 
conference officer's decision on the informal conference;. 
2. Be mailed or hand delivered to the chairman of the 
board at the headquarters of the State Lottery Department.  
3. Be governed by the same procedures in 11VAC5-20-160 
B for filing the original notice of appeal.  
4. State:  

a. The decision of the conference officer which that is 
being appealed;  
b. The legal and factual basis for the appeal;  
c. The retailer's license number or the Retailer License 
Application Control Number; and  
d. Any additional information the appellant may wish to 
include concerning the appeal.  

11VAC5-20-180. Procedures for conducting formal 
licensing hearings.  

A. The board will conduct a formal hearing at its next 
regularly scheduled meeting following the receipt of a notice 
of appeal on a licensing action, if the date of the scheduled 
meeting permits the required 10 days notice to the appellant, 
or at a date to be determined by the chairman of the board and 
accepted by the appellant.  

B. A majority of members of the board is required to hear an 
appeal. If the chairman and vice chairman of the board are not 
present, the members present shall choose one from among 
them to preside over the hearing.  

C. The board chairman, at his discretion, may designate a 
committee of the board to hear licensing appeals and act on 
its behalf. Such committee shall have at least three members 
who will hear the appeal on behalf of the board. If the 
chairman of the board is not present, the members of the 
committee shall choose one from among them to preside over 
the hearing.  

D. A notice setting the hearing date, time, and location will 
be sent to the appellant by certified mail, return receipt 
requested, at least 10 days before the day set for the hearing, 
unless a shorter time is agreed to by the appellant.  

E. The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the 
provisions of Article 3 (§ 2.2-4018 et seq.) of the APA (§ 2.2-
4018 et seq.) and shall be open to the public.  

1. The hearing will be electronically recorded and the 
recording will be kept until any time limits for any 
subsequent court appeals have expired.  
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2. A court reporter may be used. The court reporter shall be 
paid by the person who requested him. If the appellant 
elects to have a court reporter, a transcript shall be 
provided to the department. The transcript shall become 
part of the department's records.  
3. The provisions of §§ 2.2-4020 through 2.2-4023 of the 
APA shall apply with respect to the rights and 
responsibilities of the appellant and of the department.  

F. Normally, the board will issue its written decision within 
21 days of the conclusion of the hearing. However, for a 
hearing with a court reporter, the board will issue its written 
decision within 21 days of receipt of the transcript of the 
hearing. In all cases the agency shall comply with the APA.  

1. A copy of the board's written decision will be sent to the 
appellant by certified mail, return receipt requested. The 
original written decision shall be retained by the 
department and become a part of the case file.  
2. The written decision will contain:  

a. A statement of the facts to be called "Findings of 
Facts";  
b. A statement of conclusions to be called "Conclusions" 
and to include as much detail as the board feels is 
necessary to set out the reasons and basis for its decision; 
and  
c. A statement, to be called "Decision and Order," which 
sets out the board's decision and order in the case.  

G. After receiving the board's decision on the case, the 
appellant may elect to pursue court review as provided for in 
the APA.  

Part IV  
Procurement  

11VAC5-20-200. Procurement in general.  
The State Lottery Department will purchase goods or 

services in accordance with procedures contained in The 
Virginia Lottery Purchasing Manual established by the board, 
after consultation with the director, pursuant to Chapter 40 
(§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
FORMS (11VAC5-20) (Repealed.) 

Informal Conference Request,1996.  
Formal Administrative Hearing Request, 1996.  

DOCUMENT INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(11VAC5-20) (Repealed.) 

The Virginia Lottery Purchasing Manual, Release 1, 
October 2005, Virginia Lottery Department.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3001; Filed August 9, 2012, 9:59 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 11VAC5-31. Licensing Regulations 
(amending 11VAC5-31-10 through 11VAC5-31-50, 
11VAC5-31-70 through 11VAC5-31-100, 11VAC5-31-130, 
11VAC5-31-150, 11VAC5-31-160, 11VAC5-31-180, 

11VAC5-31-190; repealing 11VAC5-31-110, 11VAC5-31-
120).  
Statutory Authority: § 58.1-4007 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: September 26, 2012.  
Agency Contact: Mitch Belton, Contract and Project 
Coordinator, State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
9th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-7136, 
FAX (804) 692-7325, or email mbelton@valottery.com. 
Summary:  

The amendments (i) establish a new "special retailer" 
license, (ii) allow the department to increase or decrease 
initial and annual renewal license fees within certain 
limits, (iii) authorize the department to set retailer 
compensation at lower rates, (iv) remove the limits of what 
the department may require in terms of retailer bonding 
amounts, and (v) allow retailers to offer cash in lieu of 
traditional bonding instruments. 

11VAC5-31-10. Definitions.  
The following words and terms when used in any of the 

department's regulations shall have the same meanings as 
defined in this chapter unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise:  

"Board" means the State Lottery Board established by the 
State Lottery Law (Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) of Title 
58.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

"Department" means the State Lottery Department created 
by the State Lottery Law (Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) of 
Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

"Director" means the Director of the State Lottery 
Department or his designee. 

"License" means the certificate issued by the department to a 
retailer who has met the requirements established by the 
department to sell lottery products.  

"Lottery retailer," "lottery sales agent" or "retailer" means a 
person licensed by the director to sell and dispense lottery 
tickets or shares products and act as the department's 
representative to collect, preserve, and account for 
Commonwealth of Virginia trust funds. 

"Person," for purposes of licensing, means an individual, 
association, partnership, corporation, club, trust, estate, 
society, company, joint stock company, receiver, trustee, 
assignee, referee, or any other person acting in a fiduciary or 
representative capacity, whether appointed by a court or 
otherwise, and any combination of individuals, as well as all 
departments, commissions, agencies and instrumentalities of 
the Commonwealth, including its counties, cities, 
municipalities, political subdivisions, agencies and 
instrumentalities thereof.  

"Vacuum fluorescent display" means a player display unit 
that, when connected to the lottery terminal, presents 
messages to the customer, such as customer transaction totals, 
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validation and cancellation amounts, and jackpot drawing 
messages.  
11VAC5-31-20. Eligibility.  

A. Any person who is 18 years of age or older and who is 
bondable may submit an application for licensure as a lottery 
retailer in accordance with the provisions and requirements of 
the department's licensing procedures, except no person may 
submit an application for licensure:  

1. Who will be engaged primarily in the business of selling 
lottery tickets; 
2. Who is a board member, officer, or employee of the 
State Lottery Department or who resides in the same 
household as a board member, officer, or employee of the 
department; or  
3. Who is a board member, officer, or employee of any 
vendor to the department of lottery ticket goods or 
services, working directly on a contract with the 
department, or whose business owns, is owned by or 
controlled by, or affiliated with that vendor.  

B. The submission of an application, forms or data for 
licensure does not in any way entitle any person to receive a 
license to act as a lottery retailer.  
11VAC5-31-30. Application procedure.  

A. Any eligible person shall first file an application with the 
department by completing all information requested on forms 
supplied for that purpose, along with submitting the any 
required fees.  

B. The submission of application forms or data for licensure 
does not in any way entitle any person to receive a license to 
act as a lottery retailer. 

C. The [ retailer person ] shall submit all required forms and 
information to the department to be considered for licensing. 
Failure to submit required forms within the department's 
licensing procedures may result in the loss of opportunity to 
become or remain a licensed retailer.  
11VAC5-31-40. General standards for licensing.  

A. The director or his designee may license those persons 
who, in his opinion, will best serve the public interest and 
convenience and public trust in the lottery and promote the 
sale of lottery tickets. Before issuing or renewing a license, 
the director may consider factors including, but not limited to, 
the following:  

1. The financial responsibility and security of the applicant 
and his business or activity;  
2. The accessibility of his place of business or activity to 
the public;  
3. The sufficiency of existing lottery retailers to serve the 
public convenience;  
4. The volume of expected lottery ticket sales;  
5. The ability to offer a high level of customer service to 
lottery players;  

6. Whether the place of business caters to or is frequented 
predominantly by persons under 18 years of age;  
7. Whether the nature of the business constitutes a threat to 
the health or safety of prospective lottery patrons;  
8. Whether the nature of the business is consonant with the 
probity of the Commonwealth; and  
9. Whether the applicant or retailer has committed any act 
of fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, or conduct prejudicial 
to public confidence in the state lottery.  
1. Those factors set out in § 58.1-4009 of the Code of 
Virginia, these regulations, and the department's licensing 
procedures; 
2. The ability to offer a high level of customer service to 
lottery players; 
3. The person's prior history, record, and performance with 
the department; 
4. Whether the place of business caters to or is frequented 
predominately by persons under 18 years of age; 
5. Whether the nature of the business constitutes a threat to 
the health or safety of prospective patrons; 
6. Whether the nature of the business is consonant with the 
probity of the Commonwealth; and 
7. Whether the person or retailer has (i) committed any act 
of fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, moral turpitude, or 
illegal gambling or (ii) engaged in conduct prejudicial to 
public confidence in the state lottery. 

B. The director may develop and, by director's order, publish 
additional criteria which, in his judgment, are necessary to 
serve the public interest and public trust in the lottery.  

C. After notification of selection as a lottery retailer, the 
retailer shall submit all required forms and information to the 
department to be considered for licensing. Failure to submit 
required forms and information within the times specified by 
the department's licensing procedures may result in the loss of 
the opportunity to become or remain a licensed retailer.  

B. Special retailer licensing. 
1. The director may license special lottery retailers subject 
to such conditions or limitations as the director may deem 
prudent and if the director finds there is a need to develop 
alternative business models to engage in partnerships with 
certain retailers that are consistent with the laws of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia and these regulations. These 
limitations or conditions may include, but are not limited 
to: 

a. Length of license period; 
b. Hours or day of sale; 
c. Selling of only limited products; 
d. Specific persons who are allowed to sell lottery tickets; 
e. Specific sporting, charitable, social, or other special 
events where lottery tickets may be sold if in conformity 
with law; or 
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f. Different commission and payment structures and 
bonding requirements. 

2. Special licensed agents will be subject to these 
regulations. 

11VAC5-31-50. Bonding of lottery retailers.  
A. A lottery retailer shall have and maintain a surety bond 

from a surety company entitled to do business in Virginia this 
Commonwealth. The surety bond shall be in the amount and 
penalty of up to $50,000 for instant game retailers and 
$100,000 per clerk-activated terminal for on-line game 
retailers and shall be payable to the State Lottery Department 
and conditioned upon the faithful performance of the lottery 
retailer's duties an amount as deemed necessary to secure the 
interests of the Commonwealth and the department, in the 
sole discretion of the director, and shall be payable to the 
department and conditioned upon the faithful performance of 
the lottery retailer's duties. 

B. The department may establish a sliding scale for surety 
bonding requirements based on the average volume of lottery 
ticket sales by a retailer to ensure that the Commonwealth's 
interest in tickets to be sold by a licensed lottery retailer is 
adequately safeguarded.  

C. Prior to issuance of a license, every lottery sales agent 
shall either (i) be bonded by a surety company entitled to do 
business in this Commonwealth in such amount and penalty 
as may be prescribed by the regulations of the department or 
(ii) provide such other surety as may be satisfactory to the 
director, payable to the department, and conditioned upon the 
faithful performance of his duties. Such alternate surety 
instruments or arrangements may include, but not be limited 
to, a combination of surety instruments, including cash. 
11VAC5-31-70. License term and periodic review.  

A. A general license for an approved lottery retailer sales 
agent shall be issued for a specific term and is thereafter 
subject to a periodic determination of continued retailer 
eligibility and the payment of any fees fixed by the board.  

B. The director may issue special licenses to persons for 
specific events and activities in accordance with the 
requirements of the department's licensing procedures.  
11VAC5-31-80. License fees.  

The initial general license fee shall be $50 and the periodic 
review fee shall be $35, or as otherwise determined from time 
to time by the board, and shall be paid in accordance with the 
department's licensing procedures. The license fees, where 
applicable, shall be paid for each location An initial licensing 
fee up to [ $100.00 $100 ] and an annual license fee up to  
[ $70.00 $70 ] shall be collected from each lottery sales agent 
and shall be paid in accordance with the department's 
licensing procedures. These fees are nonrefundable, unless 
otherwise determined by the director in his sole discretion or 
specified in the department's procedures. The license fees 
shall be paid for each location.  

11VAC5-31-90. Transfer of license prohibited.  
A license issued by the director authorizes a specified 

person to act as a lottery retailer sales agent at a specified 
location as set out in the license or locations. The license is 
not transferrable or assignable to any other person or persons 
or location or locations.  
11VAC5-31-100. Display of license.  

Each licensed lottery retailer shall conspicuously display his 
lottery license in an area visible to the general public where 
lottery tickets are sold upon request by any member of the 
general public.  
11VAC5-31-110. Reporting requirements and settlement 
procedures. (Repealed.) 

Before a retailer may begin lottery sales, the director will 
issue to him instructions and report forms that specify the 
procedures for (i) ordering tickets; (ii) paying for tickets 
purchased; (iii) reporting receipts, transactions and 
disbursements pertaining to lottery ticket sales; and (iv) 
settling the retailer's account with the department.  
11VAC5-31-120. Training of retailers and their 
employees. (Repealed.) 

Each retailer or his designated representative or 
representatives and anyone that operates an on-line terminal 
at the retailer's location is required to participate in training. 
The director may consider nonparticipation as grounds for 
suspending or revoking the retailer's license.  
11VAC5-31-130. Retailers' conduct.  

A. Each retailer shall comply with all applicable state and 
federal laws and regulations, as well as all rules, policies and 
procedures of the department, license terms and conditions, 
specific rules for all applicable lottery games, directives and 
instructions that may be issued by the director, and licensing 
and equipment agreements and contracts signed by the 
retailer.  

B. Retailers shall sell lottery tickets at the price fixed by the 
board. No retailer or his employee or agent shall attempt 
through any means whatsoever to identify or otherwise 
determine whether any unsold ticket creates a winning play. 
This includes, but is not limited to, trying to determine the 
numbers or symbols appearing under the removable latex or 
electronically produced coverings or otherwise attempting to 
identify unsold winning tickets. However, this shall not 
prevent the removal of the covering over the validation code 
or validation number after the ticket is sold.  

C. Tickets shall be sold during all normal business hours of 
the lottery retailer and when the equipment is available, 
unless the director approves otherwise. No retailer or his 
employee or agent shall impose a fee or additional charge for 
selling a lottery game ticket or for cashing a winning lottery 
game ticket. 

D. Tickets shall be sold only at the location listed on each 
retailer's license from the department. No retailer or his 
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employee or agent shall purchase a winning lottery game 
ticket from a player at a discounted price.  

E. Retailers shall not exchange instant ticket packs or tickets 
or on-line ticket stock with one another, but may transfer 
instant ticket packs or tickets between or among locations 
under the same ownership.  

F. No retailer or his employee or agent shall try to determine 
the numbers or symbols appearing under the removable latex 
or electronically-produced coverings or otherwise attempt to 
identify unsold winning tickets. However, this shall not 
prevent the removal of the covering over the validation code 
or validation number after the ticket is sold.  

G. Unsupervised retailer employees who sell or otherwise 
vend lottery tickets must be at least 18 years of age. An 
employee not yet 18 years of age, but who is at least 16 years 
of age, may sell or otherwise vend lottery tickets at the 
retailer's place of business so long as the employee is 
supervised by the manager or supervisor in charge at the 
location where the tickets are being sold.  
11VAC5-31-150. Licensed retailers' compensation.  

A. A licensed retailer shall receive up to 5.0% compensation 
based on his net ticket sales and up to 1.0% of the cash value 
of all prizes which the retailer paid.  

B. The Except as provided pursuant to the State Lottery Law 
(§ 58.1-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the board shall 
approve any bonus or incentive system for payment to 
retailers. The director may then award such cash bonuses or 
other incentives to retailers.  

C. Retailers may not accept any compensation for the sale of 
lottery tickets other than compensation approved under this 
section, regardless of the source.  

D. Nothing in this regulation shall be inconsistent with 
§§ 58.1-4006 D and 58.1-4007 A 11 of the Code of Virginia. 
11VAC5-31-160. Denial, suspension, revocation or 
noncontinuation of license.  

A. The director may refuse to issue a license to a person if 
the person does not meet the eligibility criteria and standards 
for licensing as set out in § 58.1-4009 of the Code of 
Virginia, these regulations, and in the department's licensing 
procedures, or if:  

1. The person's place of business caters to or is frequented 
predominantly by persons under 18 years of age, but 
excluding family-oriented businesses;  
2. The nature of the person's business constitutes a threat to 
the health or safety of prospective lottery patrons;  
3. The nature of the person's business is not consonant with 
the probity of the Commonwealth;  
4. The person has committed any act of fraud, deceit, 
misrepresentation, moral turpitude, or illegal gambling or 
engaged in conduct prejudicial to public confidence in the 
state lottery; or  

5. The person has been suspended permanently from a 
federal or state licensing or authorization program and that 
person has exhausted all administrative remedies pursuant 
to the respective agency's regulations or procedures. The 
person falsifies or misrepresents a material fact on any 
application, form, document, or data submitted during the 
licensure process;  
6. The person has an unsatisfactory prior history, record, or 
performance with the lottery; 
7. The person's place of business represents a substantial 
risk for the collection, deposit, preservation, accounting, or 
safeguarding of Commonwealth of Virginia Trust Funds, 
irrespective of the bond or surety provided by the person;  
8. The person has been suspended permanently from a 
federal or state licensing or authorization program and that 
person has exhausted all administrative remedies pursuant 
to the respective agency's regulations or procedures; or 
9. The proposed retailer's licensed location or locations 
does not comply with the requirements of the department's 
Retailer Accessibility Guidelines effective January 1, 2011, 
as applicable. 

B. The director may suspend, revoke, or refuse to continue a 
license for any of the reasons enumerated in § 58.1-4012 of 
the Code of Virginia, in subsection A of this section, in the 
department's procedures, or for any of the following reasons:  

1. Failure to maintain the required lottery trust account;  
2. Failure to comply with lottery game rules;  
3. Failure to properly care for, or prevent the abuse of, the 
department's equipment, or failure to properly position and 
display the vacuum fluorescent display or LED device;  
4. Failure to meet minimum point-of-sale standards; or  
5. Failure to continue to meet the eligibility criteria and 
standards for licensing.; or 
6. Failure to comply with (i) any applicable law or statute, 
rule, policy, or procedure of the department; (ii) license 
terms and conditions; (iii) specific rules for all applicable 
department games; (iv) directives and instructions that may 
be issued by the director; and (v) licensing and equipment 
agreements and contracts signed by the retailer. 

C. Any person refused a license under subsections A or B of 
this section may appeal the director's decision in the manner 
provided by 11VAC5-20-150.  

D. Before taking action under subsection C A or B of this 
section, the director will notify the retailer in writing of his 
intent to suspend, revoke or deny continuation of the license. 
The notification will include the reason or reasons for the 
proposed action and will provide the retailer with the 
procedures for requesting a conference. Such notice shall be 
given to the retailer in accordance with the provisions of the 
department's regulations.  

E. If the director deems it necessary in order to serve the 
public interest and maintain public trust in the lottery, he may 
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temporarily suspend a license without first notifying the 
retailer. Such suspension will be in effect until any 
prosecution, hearing, or investigation into alleged violations 
is concluded.  

F. A retailer shall surrender his license to the director by the 
date specified in the notice of revocation or suspension. The 
retailer shall also surrender the lottery property in his 
possession and give a final lottery accounting of his lottery 
activities by the date specified by the director.  
11VAC5-31-180. Inspection of premises.  

Each lottery retailer shall provide access during normal 
business hours or at such other times as may be required by 
the director or state lottery department representatives to enter 
the premises of the licensed retailer. The premises include the 
licensed location where lottery tickets are sold or any other 
location under the control of the licensed retailer where the 
director may have good cause to believe lottery materials, 
equipment, or tickets are stored or kept in order to inspect the 
licensed premises and inspect, or if necessary remove lottery 
materials, equipment, or tickets and the licensed premises.  
11VAC5-31-190. Examination of records and equipment; 
seizure of records and equipment.  

A. Each lottery retailer shall make all books and records 
pertaining to his lottery activities available for inspection, 
auditing and copying, and make all equipment related to his 
lottery activities available for inspection, as required by the 
director or department representatives, between the hours of 8 
a.m. and 5 p.m. Mondays through Fridays during the normal 
business hours of the licensed retailer during normal business 
hours of the licensed retailer. 

B. All books, records and equipment pertaining to the 
licensed retailer's lottery activities may be seized with good 
cause by the director or department representatives without 
prior notice.  
NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 
form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 
may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 
23219. 
FORMS (11VAC5-31)  

Retailer License Application, SLD-0062 (rev. 8/97).  
Retailer Location Form, SLD-0055 (rev. 3/99). 
Personal Data Form, SLD-0061 (rev. 4/99). 
On-Line Game Survey, SLD-0120.  
Licensed Retailer Certificate (rev. 9/94). 
Instant Ticket Game/Contest Product Licensing Application 

(rev. 7/96).  
Retailer Contract (rev.12/99).  

Retailer Contract Addendum (rev. 12/00).  
Authorization Agreement for Preauthorized Payments, SLD-

0035A.  
A/R Online Accounting Transaction Form, X-0105 (eff. 

11/00).  
Retailer Activity Form, SLD-0081 (rev.2/95).  
On-Line Weekly Settlement Envelope, SLD-0127.  
Cash Tickets Envelope, SLD-0125.  
Cancelled Tickets Envelope, SLD-0124.  
Ticket Problem Report, SLD-0017 (eff. 9/92).  
Weekly Settlement Form, SLD-0128 (eff. 2/89).  
Retailer License Application, SLD-0062 (rev. 10/07). 
Retailer Contract (rev. 5/10). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3032; Filed August 9, 2012, 10:02 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 11VAC5-41. Lottery Game 
Regulations (amending 11VAC5-41-10, 11VAC5-41-30 
through 11VAC5-41-80, 11VAC5-41-100, 11VAC5-41-
110, 11VAC5-41-130 through 11VAC5-41-210, 11VAC5-
41-230, 11VAC5-41-250, 11VAC5-41-280, 11VAC5-41-
310, 11VAC5-41-320; repealing 11VAC5-41-260).  
Statutory Authority: § 58.1-4007 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: September 26, 2012.  
Agency Contact: Mitch Belton, Contract and Project 
Coordinator, State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
9th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-7136, 
FAX (804) 692-7325, or email mbelton@valottery.com. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) repeal the ability of merchants to 
provide free game tickets with the purchase of other goods 
or services customarily sold by the merchant; (ii) extend 
the time a winning ticket for which the prize is a free ticket 
must be claimed from 60 days to 180 days after the 
drawing; (iii) specify that the use of electro-mechanical, 
electronic printing, or other automated devices to play 
choices is allowed if developed by the department; (iv) 
allow use of the department's website and social media to 
publicize the lottery; (v) delete language pertaining to 
grand prize events; and (vi) include numerous other 
clarifications, reference updates, format changes, and 
removal of obsolete forms from the regulations. 

11VAC5-41-10. Definitions for lottery games.  
The following words and terms when used in any of the 

department's regulations shall have the same meanings as 
defined in this chapter unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise:  

"Altered ticket" means a lottery ticket that has been forged, 
counterfeited, or tampered with in any manner.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c7b9c003032~2&typ=40&actno=003032&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ccdb8003032~1&typ=40&actno=003032&mime=application/pdf
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"Barcode" means the individual coded number assigned to a 
lottery ticket for the purpose of electronic scanning, 
validation, redemption or other tracking purpose.  

"Board" means the State Lottery Board established by the 
State Lottery Law (Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) of Title 
58.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

"Breakage" means the money accumulated from the 
rounding down of the parimutuel pari-mutuel prize levels to 
the next lowest whole dollar amount.  

"Certified drawing" means a drawing in which lottery 
officials and an independent certified public accountant attest 
that the drawing equipment functioned properly and that a 
random selection of a winning combination occurred.  

"Cashing retailer" means a department licensed retailer that 
sells lottery products and is authorized to pay prizes. 

"Computer gaming system" means any computer system 
owned, operated, or contracted by the department that 
supports the sale, redemption, or validation of lottery tickets 
or wagers. 

"Coupon" is a device (electronic or paper or otherwise) that 
is approved by the department for redemption. 

"Department" means the State Lottery Department created 
by State Lottery Law (Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) of 
Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

"Director" means the Director of the State Lottery 
Department or his designee. 

"Drawing" means a formal process of randomly selecting 
numbers, names, or items in accordance with the specific 
game or promotion rules for those games or promotions 
requiring the random selection of numbers, names, or items.  

"Game" means any individual or particular type of lottery 
authorized by the board.  

"Instant game" means a game that, when played, reveals or 
informs the player immediately whether the player has won a 
prize or entry into a prize drawing, or both whether he has 
won a prize, entry into a prize drawing, prize points, or any or 
all of the aforementioned as specified in game rules. 

"Misprinted ticket" means a lottery ticket that contains a 
manufacturing or printing defect or play that contains a 
manufacturing, programming, or printing defect that causes 
the game to no longer play as defined in game rules or does 
not properly validate against the game's validation files. 

"Natural person" means a human being, and not a 
corporation, company, partnership, association, trust or other 
entity.  

"On-line system" means the department's on-line computer 
system consisting of on-line terminals, central processing 
equipment, and a communication network.  

"On-line terminal" or "terminal" means a device that is 
authorized by the department to function in an on-line, 
interactive mode with the department's computer system for 
the purpose of issuing tickets or an electronic facsimile 

thereof, and entering, receiving and processing game-related 
transactions.  

"On-line ticket" means a computer-generated or 
electronically-produced ticket on lottery stock issued by an 
on-line lottery retailer to a player as a receipt for the number, 
numbers, or items or combination of numbers or items the 
player has selected.  

"Pack" means a set quantity of consecutively numbered 
scratch tickets that all bear an identical pack number unique 
to that pack among all the tickets manufactured for that 
particular game.  

"Prize" means any cash or noncash award to a holder of a 
winning lottery game ticket entry or play.  

"Prize structure" means the percentage of sales that is 
dedicated to prizes the number, value, and odds of winning 
prizes for a game and the prize tiers within a game and the 
chances of winning a prize in each tier in an individual game 
as determined by the department and as specified in the game 
rules.  

"Probability game" means a game in which all of the tickets 
sold are potentially winning tickets, and the outcome of the 
game depends entirely upon the player's scratch choice of a 
limited number of play spots choice or choices during game 
play.  

"Promotion" is defined as an "added value" offer to 
consumers or licensed retailers sanctioned by the director or 
approved by the board when required. 

"Roll stock" or "ticket stock" means the paper roll issued or 
approved for use by the department placed into the lottery 
retailer terminal from which a unique lottery ticket is 
generated by the computer, displaying displaying the selected 
items or numbers.  

"Scratch ticket" means an instant game ticket with a latex or 
electronically produced covering over the game symbols 
located in the play area. Each ticket has a unique barcode, 
validation number and ticket number a printed instant win 
ticket with a covering over the play area that when scratched 
reveals a specific result. 

"Share" means a percentage of ownership in a winning 
ticket, play, or subscription plan. 

"Terminal" means a device that is authorized by the 
department to function in an interactive mode with the 
department's computer gaming system or systems for the 
purpose of issuing tickets, plays, or an electronic facsimile 
thereof, and entering, receiving, and processing game-related 
transactions. 

"Terminal ticket" means a computer-generated or 
electronically-produced ticket issued through the computer 
gaming system by a retailer to a player as a receipt for the 
number, numbers, or items or combination of numbers or 
items the player has selected.  
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"Ticket number" means the preassigned unique number or 
combination of letters and numbers which or barcode that 
identifies that particular ticket as one within a particular game 
or drawing. 

"Validation" means the process of reviewing and certifying 
a lottery ticket to determine whether it is a winning ticket.  

"Validation number" means the unique number or number-
and-letter code used to determine whether a lottery ticket is a 
winning ticket.  

"Validation barcode" means the unique number or number-
and-letter code or barcode used to determine whether a lottery 
ticket is a winning ticket. 

"Winning ticket, winning wager, or winning play" means 
that the ticket, wager, or play that meets the criteria and 
specific rules for winning prizes as published for each game 
by the director. 
11VAC5-41-30. Prize structure.  

A. The prize structure for each lottery game shall be 
approved in advance by the board and may be adjusted in 
accordance with policy adopted by the board.  

B. Prizes may be cash or noncash awards, including game 
tickets.  
11VAC5-41-40. Chances of winning.  

The director shall publicize the overall chances of winning a 
prize in each lottery game. The chances may be printed on the 
ticket or contained in informational materials, or both or may 
be in electronic form.  
11VAC5-41-50. Ticket price.  

A. The sale price of a lottery ticket for each game will be 
determined by the board. The ticket price shall not operate to 
prevent the sale of more than one lottery play on a single 
ticket. Unless authorized by the board, lottery retailers may 
not discount the sale price of tickets or provide free lottery 
tickets as a promotion with the sale of tickets. This section 
shall not prevent a licensed retailer from providing free game 
tickets with the purchase of other goods or services 
customarily offered for sale at the retailer's place of business; 
provided, however, that such promotion shall not violate any 
law.  

B. This section shall not apply to the redemption of a 
winning ticket, the prize for which is one or more free tickets 
Retailers shall sell tickets at the prices fixed by the board.  

C. This section shall not apply to the redemption of a 
winning ticket, the prize for which is one or more free tickets. 
11VAC5-41-60. Drawing and selling times.  

A. Drawings shall be conducted at times and places 
designated by the director and publicly announced by the 
department.  

B. Retailers may sell tickets from new instant games upon 
receipt of the tickets from the department, but shall not sell 

tickets for an instant game after the announced end of that 
game.  

C. Retailers may sell on-line terminal tickets up to a 
designated time prior to the drawing as specified in the on-
line terminal game rules. That time will be designated by the 
director.  
11VAC5-41-70. Ticket Terminal ticket cancellation.  

A ticket may be canceled in accordance with the procedures 
contained in the rules for each game.  
11VAC5-41-80. Ticket Scratch ticket returns.  

A. Ticket sales to retailers are final. The department will not 
accept returned, unsold tickets for credit except as specifically 
authorized by and provided for in the department's policy for 
scratch ticket returns procedures.  

B. Once tickets are accepted by a retailer, the department 
will not replace mutilated or damaged tickets, or be 
responsible for lost, stolen or destroyed tickets, unless 
specifically authorized by the director.: 

1. May hold the retailer financially responsible for the 
replacement of mutilated, damaged, or otherwise 
unaccounted for tickets. 
2. Will not be responsible for lost, stolen, destroyed, or 
otherwise unaccounted for tickets, unless specifically 
authorized and provided for in the department's 
procedures. 

11VAC5-41-100. Validation requirements.  
A. To receive payment for a prize, a Virginia lottery game 

ticket or play shall be validated by the retailer or the 
department as set out in this chapter and in any other manner 
that the director may prescribe in the specific rules for the 
lottery game, which shall include but not be limited to the 
following:  

1. The original ticket must be presented for validation;  
2. The ticket validation number shall be present in its 
entirety;  
3. The ticket shall not be mutilated, altered, or tampered 
with in any manner. If a ticket is partially mutilated or if 
the ticket is not intact and cannot be validated through 
normal procedures but can still be validated by other 
validation tests, the director may pay the prize for that 
ticket;  
4. The ticket shall not be counterfeited, forged, 
fraudulently made or a duplicate of another winning ticket;  
5. The ticket shall have been issued by the department or 
by a licensed lottery retailer in an authorized manner;  
6. The ticket shall not have been cancelled or previously 
paid;  
7. The ticket shall be validated in accordance with 
procedures for claiming and paying prizes as set out in the 
game rules;  
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8. The ticket data shall have been recorded in the central 
computer system before the on-line game drawing or the 
instant game ticket sale, and the ticket data shall match this 
computer record in every respect;  
9. The ticket may not be misregistered or defectively 
printed to an extent that it cannot be processed by the 
department; and  
10. The ticket shall pass all other confidential security 
checks of the department.  
1. If the game's rules specify that the physical ticket must 
be presented for validation then: 

a. The original ticket must be presented for validation;  
b. The ticket shall not be mutilated, altered, or tampered 
with in any manner. If a ticket is partially mutilated or if 
the ticket is not intact and cannot be validated through 
normal procedures but can still be validated by other 
validation tests, the director may pay the prize for that 
ticket;  
c. The ticket may not be misregistered or defectively 
printed to an extent that it cannot be processed by the 
department;  
d. The ticket shall pass all other confidential security 
checks of the department; 
e. The ticket validation number shall be present in its 
entirety; and 
f. The ticket shall not be counterfeited, forged, 
fraudulently made, or a duplicate of another winning 
ticket.  

2. Where a winning ticket or play has been issued by a 
terminal: 

a. The ticket or play shall have been issued by the 
department or by a licensed lottery retailer in an 
authorized manner;  
b. The terminal ticket or play shall not have been 
cancelled or previously paid;  
c. The terminal ticket or play shall be validated in 
accordance with procedures for claiming and paying 
prizes as set out in the game rules; and 
d. The terminal ticket or play data shall have been 
recorded in the computer gaming system before the 
drawing or the instant game ticket sale, and the ticket 
data shall match this computer record in every respect. 

3. If the games rules specify that a physical ticket, play, or 
record of play is not required for validation there may be 
other lottery requirements, as defined by the director, for 
winners to collect prizes. 

B. Any lottery cash prize or free ticket (at its equivalent 
value) resulting from a ticket that is purchased or claimed by 
a person ineligible to play the lottery game is invalid and 
reverts to the State Lottery Fund.  

11VAC5-41-110. Use of playslips.  
A. A playslip issued by the department may be used to select 

a player's number or numbers to be played in an on-line 
game. If a playslip is used to select the player's number or 
numbers for an on-line game, the playslip number selections 
shall be manually marked and not marked by any electro-
mechanical, electronic printing or other automated device. 
choice or choices to be played in a department-authorized 
computer gaming system. If a playslip is used to select the 
player's choice or choices for use in a computer gaming 
system, the playslip selections shall be manually or 
electronically marked as authorized by the department's game 
rules and not marked by any electro-mechanical, electronic 
printing, or other automated device, except for play utilizing 
materials or systems developed by the department.  

B. Any playslip marked by methods other than those 
authorized by this chapter is invalid and subject to seizure by 
the department if presented for play at any lottery terminal. 
Any tickets produced from the use of invalid playslips are 
also invalid and subject to seizure by the department.  

C. Nothing in this chapter shall be deemed to prevent a 
person with a physical handicap who is unable to mark a 
playslip manually from using any device intended to permit 
such person to make such a mark for his sole personal use or 
benefit.  
11VAC5-41-130. Winning Terminal-generated winning 
tickets.  

A. When more than one ticket containing the winning 
numbers is issued for the same drawing of the same game, the 
holder of each ticket is entitled only to his share of the prize, 
regardless of whether the other holders of tickets with the 
winning numbers actually claim their share of the prize.  

B. The department shall not redeem prizes for tickets that 
would have been winning tickets but for the fact that they 
have been cancelled by the retailer unless specifically 
authorized by the director. 

C. When the department's internal controls indicate that a 
winning ticket was issued but no claim is made for the prize, 
there shall be a rebuttable presumption that such ticket was in 
fact issued and the prize shall be paid in accordance with the 
provisions of § 58.1-4020 of the Code of Virginia and 
regulations of the department.  
11VAC5-41-140. Where prizes claimed.  

Winners may claim game prizes from any licensed lottery 
retailer or from the department in the manner as specified in 
this chapter or in the game rules., including: 

1. At department headquarters; 
2. At a department customer service center; 
3. From a cashing retailer;  
4. By mail; or  
5. At any other location specifically authorized by the 
department. 
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11VAC5-41-150. Retailers' prize payment procedures.  
Procedures for prize payments by retailers are as follows:  

1. Retailers may pay cash prizes in cash, by certified 
check, cashier's check, business check, money order, other 
cash equivalent or by any combination of these methods.  
2. If a check for payment of a prize by a retailer to a 
claimant is denied for any reason, the retailer is subject to 
the same service charge, interest and penalty payments for 
referring a debt to the department for collection that would 
apply if the check were made payable to the department. A 
claimant whose prize check is denied shall notify the 
department to obtain the prize.  
3. During normal business hours of the lottery retailer 
when the validations equipment is operational and with 
operational validation equipment by which the ticket claim 
can be validated, a lottery retailer shall pay any lottery 
prize of $601 $600 or less, unless otherwise determined by 
the director, regardless of the location from which the 
winning ticket was purchased.  
4. A prize claim shall be paid only at the location specified 
on the retailer's license or at a lottery office.  
5. The department will reimburse a retailer for all valid 
prizes paid by the retailer within the specified prize 
redemption period for the game from which the prize 
resulted.  
6. In no case shall a retailer impose a fee, additional charge 
or discount for cashing a winning lottery game ticket.  
7. Retailers who pay claims without validating the tickets 
do so at their own financial risk.  
8. Federal Internal Revenue Code, 26 USC § 6050I 
requires lottery retailers who receive more than $10,000 in 
cash in one transaction or two or more related transactions 
in the aggregate, from a single player or his agent, to file a 
return or such information with the Internal Revenue 
Service (IRS). The IRS encourages retailers to report all 
suspicious transactions, even if they do not meet the 
$10,000 threshold. For purposes of this requirement only, 
"cash" includes coin and currency only and does not 
include bank checks or drafts, traveler's checks, wire 
transfers, or other negotiable or monetary instruments.  

11VAC5-41-160. No reimbursement for retailer errors.  
Unless otherwise determined by the director, the department 

shall not reimburse retailers for prize claims a retailer has 
paid in error or for which a retailer failed to properly and 
completely validate the lottery game tickets in accordance 
with department procedures. 
11VAC5-41-170. When prize shall be claimed from the 
department.  

A. The department will pay prizes in any of the following 
circumstances:  

1. If a retailer cannot validate a claim which the retailer 
otherwise would pay, the ticket holder shall present the 

original signed ticket to any department office including 
the department's headquarters or mail the signed ticket to 
the department's headquarters;  
2. If a ticket holder is unable to return to any retailer to 
claim a prize that the retailer otherwise would pay, the 
ticket holder may present the original signed ticket at any 
department office or mail the signed ticket to the 
department's headquarters; or  
3. If the prize amount is more than $601 $600, the ticket 
holder may present the original signed ticket at any 
department office or mail the signed ticket to the 
department headquarters.; or 
4. Where an electronic entry or an electronic record of a 
ticket is permitted, a presentation of a physical ticket may 
not be required to claim a prize. 

B. The department may require a claim form.  
C. A player shall bear all risk of loss or damage by sending 

the ticket through the mail.  
11VAC5-41-180. Department action on claims for prizes 
submitted to department.  

A. The department shall validate the winning ticket claim 
according to procedures contained in this chapter.  

B. If the claim cannot be validated, the department will 
promptly notify the ticket holder.  

C. If the claim is mailed to the department and the 
department validates the claim, a check for the prize amount, 
merchandise, or experiential prizes will be presented or 
mailed to the winner.  

D. If an individual presents a claim to the department in 
person and the department validates the claim, a check for the 
prize amount, merchandise, or experiential prizes will be 
presented to the winner.  
11VAC5-41-190. Withholding, notification of prize 
payments.  

A. When paying any prize in excess of $601 or more $600, 
the department shall:  

1. File the appropriate income reporting forms with the 
Virginia Department of Taxation and the federal Internal 
Revenue Service; and  
2. Withhold federal and state taxes from any winning ticket 
in excess of $5,001 accordance with the tax regulation in 
effect at the time.  

B. Additionally, when paying any cash prize of $100 or 
more, the department shall withhold any moneys due for 
delinquent debts as provided by the Commonwealth's Setoff 
Debt Collection Act, Article 21 (§ 58.1-520 et seq.) of 
Chapter 3 of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia.  
11VAC5-41-200. Ticket is bearer instrument.  

A ticket that has been legally issued by a licensed lottery 
retailer is a bearer instrument until the ticket has been signed. 
The person who signs the ticket or enters through an 
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electronic validation process is considered the owner of the 
ticket.  
11VAC5-41-210. Payment made to bearer.  

Payment of any prize will be made to the bearer of a 
validated winning ticket for that prize upon submission of the 
ticket and a prize claim form, if one is required, unless 
otherwise delayed in accordance with this chapter. If a 
validated winning ticket has been signed, the bearer may be 
required to present proper identification. one or more of the 
following, as required by the game rules: 

1. The ticket. 
2. Validation information. 
3. Prize claim form, unless otherwise delayed in 
accordance with this chapter. 
4. The bearer may be required to present proper 
identification. 

11VAC5-41-230. Delay of payment allowed.  
A. The Subject to the provisions in § 58.1-4013 D of the 

Code of Virginia, the director may refrain from making 
payment of a prize pending a final determination by the 
director under any of the following circumstances:  

1. If a dispute arises, or it appears that a dispute may arise, 
relative to any ownership of a winning ticket or any prize;  
2. If there is any question regarding the identity of the 
claimant;  
3. If there is any question regarding the validity of any 
ticket presented for payment;  
4. If there is any question whether a claimant has made a 
valid cash option election; or  
5. If the claim is subject to any set off for delinquent debts 
owed to any agency eligible to participate in the Setoff 
Debt Collection Act (Article 21 (§ 58.1-520 et seq.) of 
Chapter 3 of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia) if the 
agency has registered such debt with the Virginia 
Department of Taxation and timely notice of the debt has 
been furnished by the Virginia Department of Taxation to 
the department.  

B. The director may, at any time, delay any periodic or 
installment payment in order to review a change in 
circumstance relative to the prize awarded, the payee, the 
claim, or any other matter that has been brought to the 
department's attention. All delayed installments shall be 
brought up to date immediately upon the director's 
confirmation. Delayed installments shall continue to be paid 
according to the original payment schedule after the director's 
decision is given.  

C. No liability for interest for any delay of any prize 
payment in accordance with subsections A and B, or any 
delay beyond the department's control, shall accrue to the 
benefit of the claimant pending payment of the claim. The 
department is neither liable for nor has it any responsibility to 
resolve disputes between or among competing claimants.  

11VAC5-41-250. Using winners' names and information.  
The department may require prize winners to participate in 

press conferences and to use the names and photographs of 
such prize winners and the city, town or county in which they 
live, as well as the prize amounts won for public information 
purposes and to foster the integrity of the games. No 
consideration shall be paid by the department for this 
purpose, unless authorized by the director. The department 
can use a winner's name and the city, town, or county in 
which a winner lives, as well as the prizes won, for public 
information purposes and to foster the integrity of the games. 
The department may require prize winners to participate in 
news conferences. The department can use the winner's 
information described in this section and winner's 
photographs for public information or promotional purposes 
in mediums such as, but not limited to, the department's 
website (www.valottery.com), social media, in-store, 
television, Internet, and radio. No consideration shall be paid 
by the department for [ this purpose these purposes ]. 
11VAC5-41-260. Grand prize event. (Repealed.) 

If a lottery game includes a grand prize event, the following 
general criteria shall be used:  

1. Entrants in the event shall be selected from tickets that 
meet the criteria stated in specific game rules set by the 
director;  
2. Participation in the drawings shall be limited to those 
tickets that are actually purchased by the entrants on or 
before the date announced by the director;  
3. If, after the event is held, the director determines that a 
ticket should have been entered in the event, the director 
may place that ticket into a grand prize drawing for the 
next equivalent event, which action shall be the extent of 
the department's liability; and  
4. The director shall determine the dates, times and 
procedures for selecting grand prize winners for each on-
line game, and the proceedings for selection of the winners 
shall be open to the public.  

11VAC5-41-280. When prize payable for "life."  
If a prize is advertised as payable for the life of the winner, 

unless there is a cash option available selected by the winner 
or winners at the time a claim is made, the prize will be 
payable in installments, as provided by specific game rules in 
accordance with the rules for the specific game, for the 
lifetime of the winner and will cease upon the death of the 
winner. When the prize is won by two or more persons on a 
single ticket, each winner's share of the prize shall expire 
upon his death, unless otherwise specified in the game rules.  
11VAC5-41-310. Lost, stolen, or destroyed tickets.  

The department is not liable for lost, stolen, or destroyed 
tickets. The director may honor a prize claim of an apparent 
winner who does not possess the original ticket if the 
claimant is in possession of information that demonstrates 
that the original ticket meets the following criteria and can be 

http://www.valottery.com/
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validated through other means. Such information may 
include, but is not limited to, the following:  

1. The claim form, if required, and a photocopy of the 
ticket, or photocopy of the original claim form, if required, 
and ticket, are timely filed with the department;  
2. The prize for which the claim is filed is a winning prize 
that has not been claimed within the required redemption 
period, as verified in the department's records. In no case 
will the claim be paid within the redemption period; and  
3. The claim is filed within the redemption period, as 
established by the game rules.; and 
4. Except in extenuating circumstances or for just cause as 
the director may deem appropriate, the redemption period 
for claims has expired. 

11VAC5-41-320. Unclaimed prizes.  
A. Except for a free ticket prize, a claim for a lottery game 

winning ticket must be mailed in an envelope bearing a 
postmark of the United States Postal Service or another 
sovereign nation or received for payment as prescribed in this 
chapter within either 180 days after the date of the drawing 
for which the ticket was purchased, or of the event which 
caused the ticket to be a winning entry, or, in the case of an 
instant game ticket, within 180 days after the announced end 
of the game. In the event that the 180th day falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the winning ticket will be 
accepted for validation on the next business day only at a 
lottery office.  

B. Any lottery cash prize that remains unclaimed after either 
180 days following the drawing that determined the prize or 
180 days after the announced end of the instant game shall 
revert to the State Literary Fund. Cash prizes do not include 
free ticket prizes or other noncash prizes such as 
merchandise, vacations, admission to events and the like.  

C. All claims for on-line terminal game winning tickets for 
which the prize is a free ticket must be mailed in an envelope 
bearing a postmark of the United States Postal Service or 
another sovereign nation or received for redemption as 
prescribed in this chapter within 60 180 days after the date of 
the drawing for which the ticket was purchased. In the event 
the sixtieth 180th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal 
holiday, a claimant may only redeem his winning ticket for a 
free ticket at an on-line lottery a cashing retailer on or before 
the sixtieth 180th day.  

Except for claims for free ticket prizes mailed to lottery 
headquarters and postmarked on or before the sixtieth 180th 
day, claims for such prizes will not be accepted at any lottery 
office after the sixtieth day. This section does not apply to the 
redemption of free tickets awarded through the subscription 
program.  

D. Any instant game winning ticket of $25 or less that has 
been purchased, but that is not claimed within 180 days after 
the announced end of the instant game, shall revert to the 
State Lottery Fund.  

E. In case of a prize payable over time, if such prize is 
shared by two or more winning tickets, one or more of which 
is not presented to the department for payment within the 
prize redemption period as established by the game rules, the 
department will transfer that portion of the prize to the 
Literary Fund in accordance with procedures approved by the 
State Treasurer.  

F. In accordance with the provisions of the Soldiers' and 
Sailors' Civil Relief Act Servicemembers Civil Relief Act of 
1940 (50 USCA Appx USC App § 525) 526), any person 
while in active military service may claim exemption from 
the 180-day ticket redemption requirement. Such person, 
however, must claim his winning ticket or share as soon as 
practicable, and in no event later than 180 days after 
discharge from active military service.  
NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 
form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 
may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 
23219. 
FORMS (11VAC5-41)  

Pick 3 Playslip (3/01).  
Pick 4 Playslip (3/01).  
Cash 5 Playslip (2/99).  
Lotto South Playslip (7/01).  
Mega Millions Playslip (2/02).  
Winner Claim Form, SLD-0007 (rev. 7/97).  
Agreement to Share Ownership and Proceeds of Lottery 

Ticket. 
Lotto South and Mega Millions Payout Election Form 

(5/02).  
Prizewinner Designation of Beneficiary(ies).  
Split Ownership/Proceeds Verification Form (rev. 2/10). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3033; Filed August 9, 2012, 10:03 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Funeral Directors 
and Embalmers is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=52b26003033~1&typ=40&actno=003033&mime=application/msword
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are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 
where no agency discretion is involved. The Board of Funeral 
Directors and Embalmers will receive, consider, and respond 
to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 
to reconsideration or revision. 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-20. Regulations of the Board 
of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (amending 
18VAC65-20-151).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2816.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: September 26, 2012.  
Agency Contact: Lisa Russell Hahn, Executive Director, 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 
(804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 527-4637, or email 
lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments change the continuing education 
requirements for funeral services licensees, funeral 
directors, and embalmers from 10 hours every two years to 
five hours per year and allow the subject matter to include 
federal laws and regulations as well as Virginia law and 
regulations.  

18VAC65-20-151. Continued competency requirements 
for renewal of an active license.  

A. Funeral service licensees, funeral directors or funeral 
embalmers shall be required to have completed a minimum of 
10 five hours per year of continuing education offered by a 
board-approved sponsor for licensure renewal in even years 
in courses that emphasize the ethics, standards of practice, 
preneed contracts and funding, or federal or state laws and 
regulations governing the profession of funeral service in 
Virginia. One hour per year shall cover compliance with laws 
and regulations governing the profession, and at least one 
hour per year shall cover preneed funeral arrangements. 

B. Courses must be directly related to the scope of practice 
of funeral service. Courses for which the principal purpose is 
to promote, sell or offer goods, products or services to funeral 
homes are not acceptable for the purpose of credit toward 
renewal.  

C. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 
one year for the completion of continuing education 
requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 
the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 
of the continuing education requirement.  

D. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 
continuing education requirements for one renewal cycle due 
to circumstances determined by the board to be beyond the 
control of the licensee.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3343; Filed August 6, 2012, 11:30 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 
2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 
of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 
Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 
of record. 
Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-305. Rules for Electricity and 
Natural Gas Submetering and for Energy Allocation 
Equipment (amending 20VAC5-305-10, 20VAC5-305-20, 
20VAC5-305-50, 20VAC5-305-60, 20VAC5-305-70, 
20VAC5-305-90, 20VAC5-305-110; adding 20VAC5-305-
95).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-245.3 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 
upon request. 
Public Comment Deadline: October 1, 2012. 
Agency Contact: Brian Beckman, Assistant Utility Analyst, 
Division of Energy Regulation, State Corporation 
Commission, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 225-3267, FAX (804) 371-9350, or email 
brian.beckman@scc.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Chapter 338 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly directs the State 
Corporation Commission to promulgate regulations and 
standards for the installation of submetering equipment or 
energy allocation equipment at campgrounds for the 
purpose of fairly allocating the cost of electrical or natural 
gas consumption for each guest to use such equipment. The 
proposed amendments include the use of submetering and 
energy allocation equipment for electricity and natural gas 
at campgrounds and, among other things, provide general 
requirements for the use of such equipment at 
campgrounds and for the billing of campsite tenants for 
actual measured usage of electricity and natural gas. 

AT RICHMOND, AUGUST 6, 2012 
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 
STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUE-2012-00084 
Ex Parte: In the matter concerning 
rules for electricity and natural gas 
submetering and for energy allocation 
equipment at campgrounds 
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ORDER FOR NOTICE AND COMMENT 
This Order initiates a rulemaking required by Chapter 338 of 

the 2012 Acts of Assembly ("Acts").  Through these Acts, the 
Virginia General Assembly has directed the State Corporation 
Commission ("Commission") to promulgate regulations and 
standards for the installation of submetering equipment or 
energy allocation equipment at campgrounds for the purpose 
of fairly allocating the cost of electrical or natural gas 
consumption for each guest using such equipment. 

The Staff of the Commission ("Staff") has conferred 
informally with representatives of electric and natural gas 
utilities in the Commonwealth and the Virginia Campground 
Association. The Staff has prepared proposed rules 
implementing the regulations required by the Acts ("Proposed 
Rules"), which are attached hereto. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 
matter, is of the opinion and finds that the public should be 
afforded an opportunity to file written comments concerning 
the Proposed Rules and to request a hearing before the 
Commission on any substantive objection that cannot be 
presented effectively in writing. We further find that a copy 
of the Proposed Rules should be sent to the Registrar of 
Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 
(1) This matter is docketed and assigned Case No. PUE-
2012-00084. 
(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall forward a copy of this Order for Notice and 
Comment, including a copy of the Proposed Rules, to the 
Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Virginia 
Register. 
(3) A downloadable version of this Order for Notice and 
Comment and the Proposed Rules shall be available for 
access by the public on the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. A copy of this Order for 
Notice and Comment and the Proposed Rules shall be 
available for public inspection at the Commission's 
Document Control Center, Tyler Building, First Floor, 
1300 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, 
Monday through Friday from 8:15 a.m. to 5 p.m., 
excluding holidays. 
(4) On or before September 10, 2012, the Commission's 
Division of Information Resources shall publish the 
following notice as classified advertising in newspapers of 
general circulation throughout the Commonwealth of 
Virginia: 

NOTICE TO THE PUBLIC OF PROPOSED RULES THAT 
THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION IS 

CONSIDERING FOR ELECTRICITY AND NATURAL 
GAS SUBMETERING AND FOR ENERGY 

ALLOCATION EQUIPMENT AT CAMPGROUNDS 
CASE NO. PUE-2012-00084 

The Virginia General Assembly, through Chapter 338 of 
the 2012 Acts of Assembly ("Acts"), has directed the 
State Corporation Commission ("Commission") to 
promulgate regulations and standards for the installation 
of submetering equipment or energy allocation 
equipment at campgrounds for the purpose of fairly 
allocating the costs of electrical or natural gas 
consumption for each guest using such equipment at the 
campgrounds. The Commission Staff has prepared 
proposed rules implementing the regulations required by 
the Acts ("Proposed Rules").  
The Commission has issued an Order for Notice and 
Comment providing, among other things, that notice be 
given to the public and that interested persons be given 
an opportunity to file written comments on, propose 
modifications or supplements to, or request a hearing on 
the Proposed Rules. 
Copies of the Commission's Order for Notice and 
Comment and the Proposed Rules are available for public 
inspection at the Commission's Document Control 
Center, Tyler Building, First Floor, 1300 East Main 
Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, Monday through 
Friday from 8:15 a.m. to 5 p.m., excluding holidays. 
Interested persons also may download unofficial copies 
from the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 
On or before October 1, 2012, any interested person may 
file written comments on, propose modifications or 
supplements to, or request a hearing on the Proposed 
Rules by filing such comments, proposals, or hearing 
requests with Joel H. Peck, Clerk, State Corporation 
Commission, c/o Document Control Center, 
P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218-2118. Any 
interested person desiring to submit comments 
electronically may do so by following the instructions on 
the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. All correspondence 
shall refer to Case No. PUE-2012-00084. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
(5) On or before October 1, 2012, any interested person or 
entity may comment on, propose modifications or 
supplements to, or request a hearing on, the Proposed 
Rules by filing such comments, proposals, or hearing 
requests with Joel H. Peck, Clerk, State Corporation 
Commission, c/o Document Control Center, 
P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218-2118. 
Interested persons desiring to submit comments 
electronically may do so by following the instructions on 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
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the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. Requests for hearing 
must include: (i) a precise statement of the filing party's 
interest in the proceeding; (ii) a statement of the specific 
action sought to the extent then known; (iii) a statement of 
the legal basis for such action; and (iv) a precise statement 
why a hearing should be conducted in the matter. All 
correspondence shall refer to Case No. PUE-2012-00084. 
(6) The Staff may file a Report with the Clerk of the 
Commission on or before October 15, 2012, concerning 
comments submitted to the Commission addressing the 
Proposed Rules. 
(7) This matter is continued pending further order of the 
Commission. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be delivered by the 
Clerk of the Commission to the Commission's Office of 
General Counsel and Divisions of Energy Regulation and 
Information Resources. 
20VAC5-305-10. Definitions.  

Certain words as used in this chapter shall be understood to 
have the following meaning:  

"Apartment house" means a building or buildings with the 
primary purpose of residential occupancy containing more 
than two dwelling units all of which are rented primarily for 
nontransient use, with rental paid at intervals of one week or 
longer. Apartment house includes residential condominiums 
and cooperatives whether rented or owner-occupied.  

"Building" means all of the individual units served through 
the same utility-owned meter within an apartment house, 
office building, or shopping center as defined in this section.  

"Campground" means and includes but is not limited to a 
travel trailer camp, recreation camp, family campground, 
camping resort, camping community, or any other area, place, 
parcel, or tract of land, by whatever name called, on which 
three or more campsites are occupied or intended for 
occupancy, or facilities are established or maintained, wholly 
or in part, for the accommodation of camping units for 
periods of overnight or longer, whether the use of the 
campsites and facilities is granted gratuitously, or by rental 
fee, lease, or conditional sale, or by covenants, restrictions, 
and easements. "Campground" does not include a summer 
camp, migrant labor camp, or park for mobile homes as 
defined in §§ 32.1-203 and 35.1-1 of the Code of Virginia, or 
a construction camp, storage area for unoccupied camping 
units, or property upon which the individual owner may 
choose to camp and not be prohibited or encumbered by 
covenants, restrictions, and conditions from providing 
sanitary facilities within the individual owner's property lines. 

"Campsite" means and includes any plot of ground within a 
campground used or intended for occupation by the camping 
unit. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission of 
Virginia.  

"Dwelling" means a room or rooms suitable for occupancy 
as a residence containing kitchen and bathroom facilities.  

"Energy allocation equipment" means any device, other than 
submetering equipment, used to determine approximate 
electric or natural gas usage for any dwelling unit or, 
nonresidential rental unit, or campsite within an apartment 
house, office building, or shopping center, or campground.  

"Energy unit" means the billing units for energy delivered to 
the master-metered customer. For electricity, the units are 
generally kilowatt hours (Kwh). For natural gas, the units are 
generally therms, but may be dekatherms (Dth), cubic feet 
(cf), hundreds of cubic feet (Ccf), or thousands of cubic feet 
(Mcf).  

"Master meter" means a meter used to measure for billing 
purposes, all electric or natural gas usage of an apartment 
house, office building, or shopping center, or campground, 
including common areas, common facilities, and dwelling or 
rental units therein.  

"Month" or "monthly" means the period between two 
consecutive meter readings, either actual or estimated, at 
approximately thirty (30) days of 30 day intervals.  

"Nonresidential rental unit" means a room or rooms in 
which retail or commercial services, clerical work, or 
professional duties are carried out.  

"Office building" means a building or buildings containing 
more than two rental units which are rented primarily for 
retail, commercial, or professional use, with rental paid at 
intervals of one month or longer.  

"Owner" means any owner, operator, or manager of an 
apartment house, office building, or shopping center, or 
campground engaged in electrical or natural gas submetering 
or the use of energy allocation equipment.  

"Owner-paid areas" means those areas for which the owner 
bears financial responsibility for energy costs which include 
but are not limited to areas outside individual residential or 
nonresidential units or in owner-occupied or - shared areas 
such as maintenance shops, vacant units, meeting units, 
meeting rooms, offices, swimming pools, laundry rooms, or 
model apartments.  

"Shopping center" means a building or buildings containing 
more than two stores which are rented primarily for 
commercial, retail, or professional use.  

"Submeter" means electric energy or natural gas 
measurement device used in submetering.  

"Submetering" means dwelling or rental unit electrical or 
natural gas direct remetering performed by the owner to 
measure the tenant's electrical or natural gas usage and to 
render a bill for such usage.  

"Submetering equipment" means equipment used to measure 
actual electricity or natural gas usage in any dwelling unit or, 
nonresidential rental unit, or campsite when such equipment 
is not owned or controlled by the electric or natural gas utility 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-203
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+35.1-1
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serving the apartment house, office building, or shopping 
center, or campground in which the dwelling unit or, 
nonresidential rental unit, or campsite is located.  

"Tenant" means the occupant or occupants of a submetered 
dwelling or, rental unit, or campsite.  

"Utility" means the supplier of electric service or natural gas 
service to a master meter.  
20VAC5-305-20. General requirements.  

Submetering or energy allocation equipment may not be 
used in any dwelling unit unless all dwelling units in the 
apartment house utilize such equipment to the extent 
permitted by the physical facilities.  

Any individual nonresidential rental unit or, store, or 
campground may utilize submetering or energy allocation 
equipment, provided the rental agreement or lease between 
the owner and the tenant clearly states that the nonresidential 
rental unit or, store, or campsite is or will be using 
submetering or energy allocation equipment.  

All rental agreements and leases between the owner and the 
tenants shall clearly state that the dwelling unit or non-
residential, nonresidential rental unit, or campsite utilizes 
submetering or energy allocation equipment, that the basis of 
bills for electric or natural gas consumption will be rendered 
based on readings of such equipment, and that any disputes 
relating to the amount of the tenant's bill and the accuracy of 
the equipment will be between the tenant and the owner. The 
Where applicable, the provisions of the Virginia Residential 
Landlord and Tenant Act (§ 55-248.2 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) will govern the landlord-tenant relationship 
concerning the use of submetering or energy allocation 
equipment on all related issues other than those covered by 
these rules.  

Each owner shall be responsible for providing, installing, 
sealing (if necessary), and maintaining all submetering or 
energy allocation equipment necessary for the measurement 
or allocation of the costs for electrical energy or natural gas 
consumed by tenants.  

Any electric submeter installed will be of a type and class to 
register properly the electrical consumption of the dwelling 
unit or, nonresidential rental unit, or campsite, and such meter 
will meet the standards of the latest edition of the American 
National Standards Institute, Inc., Standard C12 C12.1-2008 
Code for Electricity Metering (ANSI C12) C12.1).  

Any natural gas submeter installed will be of a type and 
class to register properly the natural gas consumption of the 
dwelling or, nonresidential rental unit, or campsite, and such 
meter will meet the standards of the latest edition of the 
American National Standard Institute Standards ANSI/ASC 
B109.1 (2000) and B109.2 (2000) for Diaphragm Type Gas 
Displacement Meters and ANSI/ASC B109.3 (2000) for 
Rotary Type Gas Displacement Meters (hereafter, ANSI B 
109 B109).  

Any energy allocation equipment installed will be of a type 
and class appropriate to the heating, ventilation, and air 
conditioning (HVAC) system of the apartment house, office 
building, or shopping center, or campground and used in 
accordance with the manufacturer's installation specifications 
and procedures for such energy allocation equipment.  

Any owner installing submetering or energy allocation 
equipment shall notify the Commission commission and the 
utility providing electric or natural gas service to the 
apartment house, office building, or shopping center, or 
campground in writing within 90 days of completion of such 
installation that the equipment has been installed and shall 
give the name of the apartment house, office building, or 
shopping center, or campground; number of dwelling units or, 
nonresidential rental units, or campsites in the project,; 
location,; mailing address of the owner,; the approximate date 
of installation of the equipment,; and the type(s) type, 
manufacturer(s) manufacturer, and model number(s) number 
of such equipment.  

No building or buildings which qualify as an apartment 
house, office building, or shopping center shall be excluded 
from these rules this chapter because the apartment house, 
office building, or shopping center contains a mixture of 
dwelling units and nonresidential rental units.  
20VAC5-305-50. Energy allocation.  

Energy allocation equipment may be used solely to allocate 
the cost of electric or natural gas service among tenants using 
the apartment house, office building, or shopping center, or 
campground.  

Energy allocation systems should provide a reasonable 
determination of energy use and resulting costs for each 
dwelling unit or, nonresidential rental unit, or campsite. The 
energy allocation system should be appropriate for the HVAC 
system application. Components should be properly installed 
to assure correct measurements of allocation parameters. 
There should be proper calculation procedures in converting 
from measurement to allocation.  

Energy allocation equipment in service may be tested by the 
owner, the Commission commission, or any other lawfully 
constituted authority having jurisdiction. Testable 
components of the energy allocation system should be 
accurate, consistent with manufacturer's specifications. The 
Commission commission may, by order, require that energy 
allocation equipment meet other independent, authoritative 
technical standards or operational guidelines, such as 
standards developed under the auspices of the American 
Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning 
Engineers (ASHRAE).  
20VAC5-305-60. Testing capability and metering 
equipment.  

Each owner shall engage a qualified expert or factory 
representative to perform the equipment tests required by 
these terms and conditions; such tests being performed with 
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instruments, portable standards, reference manuals, and other 
equipment and facilities all of which shall comply with 
standards of ANSI C12 C12.1 or ANSI B109 for submetering 
equipment, and with manufacturer's recommended practices 
for energy allocation equipment. All such practices shall be 
available at all reasonable times for inspection by the 
Commission's commission's representatives.  
20VAC5-305-70. Periodic tests and checks.  

Each owner shall have a testing program the primary 
purpose of which is to maintain an acceptable degree of 
accuracy during the service life of the equipment. All 
submetering equipment shall be tested in accordance with the 
provisions of the latest edition of ANSI C12 C12.1 or ANSI 
B109. All energy allocation equipment shall be tested in 
accordance with manufacturer's suggested testing procedures 
and practices for such equipment.  

No submeter shall be placed in service until its percentage 
registration has been established. This may be accomplished 
either through the engagement of a qualified expert or by a 
certificate provided by the manufacturer. All submeters shall 
be adjusted as close as possible to the condition of 100% 
registration. No electric submeter that exceeds the test 
calibration limits for watt-hour meters as set forth by the 
latest edition of ANSI C12 C12.1 shall be placed in service or 
left in service. No natural gas submeter that exceeds the test 
calibration limits for meters as set forth by the latest edition 
of ANSI B109 shall be placed in service or left in service.  

Whenever a submeter is found to exceed these limits, it shall 
be adjusted.  

Energy allocation equipment shall be adjusted to the 
manufacturer's specifications before being placed in service.  

If any submetering or energy allocation equipment is 
removed from service or replaced by other equipment for any 
purpose whatsoever, it shall be properly tested and adjusted 
before being placed in service again.  

The owner shall keep and maintain the following records:  
1. A record of all submetering or energy allocation 
equipment, showing the equipment number and location 
(the tenant's address where installed or if in reserve) in the 
apartment house, office building, or shopping center, or 
campground.  
2. The record of each test made shall show the identifying 
number of the equipment, the standard number and other 
necessary devices used, the date and kind of test made, by 
whom, the percentage registration at each load tested for 
submetering equipment, the accuracy level of the 
parameter measured by the energy allocation equipment, 
and sufficient data to permit verification of the 
calculations.  
3. A record of all the portable standards and reference 
standards used to test equipment. Test equipment shall at 
all times be accompanied by a certified calibration card 
signed by the proper authority, giving the date when it was 

last certified and adjusted. Records of certifications and 
calibrations of all standards shall be kept on file in the 
office of the owner.  

The aforementioned records for each dwelling or, 
nonresidential rental unit, or campsite shall be made 
available, upon request, to the tenant of that unit during 
reasonable business hours at the resident manager's office or, 
if there is no resident manager, at the dwelling or, 
nonresidential rental unit, or campsite of the tenant at the 
convenience of the owner and tenant. The owner of the 
building or campground may impose and collect a reasonable 
charge for copying documents, reflecting the actual costs of 
materials and labor for copying, prior to providing copies of 
the records to the tenant.  

All records shall be made available to the Commission 
commission upon request.  
20VAC5-305-90. Billing for apartment houses, office 
buildings, and shopping centers.  

Bills shall be rendered for the same billing period as that of 
the utility, generally monthly, unless service is rendered for 
more or less than that period. Bills shall be calculated and 
rendered as promptly as possible following receipt by the 
owner of the bill from the utility, but no later than 15 days 
after receipt of the utility's bill. The submetering or energy 
allocation equipment shall be read within three business days 
of the scheduled reading date of the utility's master meter.  

For submetering, the unit of measurement shall be the 
energy unit as defined in 20VAC5-305-10. For energy 
allocation equipment, the units of measurement shall be those 
characteristics monitored by the allocation equipment.  

The energy billed to any tenant shall be only the energy 
consumed within that dwelling or nonresidential rental unit 
and so measured or monitored by the equipment. The cost of 
energy used in owner-paid areas may only be recovered by 
the owner as provided in the last paragraph of this section, 
and may not be billed to any tenant as part of the billings 
rendered pursuant to this chapter and may not be measured 
through the dwelling or nonresidential rental unit submetering 
or energy allocation equipment. Where tenant lease 
agreements have made such provision, energy costs for usage 
consumed within the dwelling unit or nonresidential rental 
unit, that are not allocated by energy allocation equipment, 
may be allocated by the owner among the various tenants in 
the same proportions as the leased space square footage. 
These costs shall be listed separately from energy billings 
based on energy allocation equipment, and appropriately 
marked on the monthly tenant bills.  

The owner shall render bills to the tenant in the same energy 
unit(s) unit or units as billed the owner by the utility.  

The tenant's bills shall be calculated in the following 
manner:  

After receipt of the electric or natural gas bill from the 
utility, by the owner, said owner shall divide the "total current 
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charges" by the total number of energy units billed by the 
utility to determine the average cost in cents per energy unit. 
The average energy unit cost shall be multiplied by each 
tenant's energy unit consumption to obtain the tenant's 
monthly charges.  

For the purposes of computing the average cost per energy 
unit, the "total current charges" shall include/exclude the 
following, as applicable:  

Include:  
1. Customer, demand, commodity, and energy charges.  
2. Fuel adjustment charge.  
3. Purchased gas adjustment.  
4. Local taxes.  
5. Surcharges, i.e. interim rate relief, unrecovered 
deferred fuel, temporary energy surcharge.  
6. Facilities charge.  

Exclude:  
a. Miscellaneous charges, e.g. charges by the utility for 
late payments.  
b. Outdoor and security lighting charges.  
c. Merchandise charges.  

The owner may impose a service charge in accordance with 
§ 56-245.3 of the Code of Virginia per dwelling or non-
residential nonresidential rental unit per month to offset the 
administrative cost of billing.  

The tenant's bill shall show all of the following information:  
1. The dates and readings of the submetering or energy 
allocation equipment at the beginning and at the end of the 
period for which the bill is rendered and the billing date.  
2. The number of energy units consumed during the current 
billing period.  
3. The average cost in cents per energy unit used in 
computing the bill.  
4. The amount due for electricity or natural gas consumed, 
within the dwelling unit or nonresidential rental unit, the 
administrative service charge, if any, the balance forward, 
and the total amount due.  
5. The name or address, or both, of the tenant to whom the 
bill is applicable.  
6. The name of the firm rendering the tenant's bill and the 
name or title, address, and telephone number of the 
person(s) person or persons where payment can be made 
and, also, who to contact in the case of any questions or 
disputes concerning the bill.  
7. A precise statement that the bill is not from the utility 
providing service to the apartment house, office building, 
or shopping center.  

Bills will be mailed or delivered to the tenant's premises 
within three business days after the billing date.  

Estimated bills shall not be rendered unless the meter or 
energy allocation equipment has been tampered with, is out of 
order, or access cannot be attained, and in such case, the bill 
shall be distinctly marked "estimated". "estimated." Such 
estimates shall be based upon one of the following:  

A. 1. On consumption or a similar billing period where the 
information of previous consumption is available; or  
B. 2. In the event that a tenant has not lived on the 
premises for one year and, therefore, consumption for a 
similar billing period is not available, the preceding billing 
period shall be used; or  
C. 3. If available, the average of the preceding two billing 
periods shall be used as a basis for estimates.  

Adjustment to the tenant's bills shall be made under any of 
the following conditions:  

(1) a. Any billing errors due to incorrect readings or 
improper billing calculations discovered by the owner on 
his own initiative or discovered as a result of an 
investigation because of a question or a dispute by a 
tenant.;  
(2) b. It is determined that a cross-metering situation exists. 
The tenants involved will be rendered corrected bills to 
cover such period of time as the statute of limitations 
allows. If a tenant has been underbilled, he shall be 
allowed to make payment of the amount underbilled in 
equal monthly installments for as many months as the 
corrected bill covers, but for not more than 10 months, the 
entire amount underbilled being due upon termination of 
tenancy. If a tenant has been overbilled and is due a credit, 
if he wishes a cash refund, it shall be made, otherwise such 
credit shall be posted to the tenant's account.;  
(3) c. The utility adjusts the owner's bill.; or  
(4) Or as d. As detailed in 20VAC5-305-40 (Submetering).  

Nothing contained in these rules this chapter shall prohibit 
the owner from recovery in periodic lease payments the 
tenant's fair share of electricity or natural gas cost attributable 
to owner-paid areas and costs incurred in establishing and 
maintaining the submetering system or energy allocation 
equipment.  
20VAC5-305-95. Billing for campgrounds. 

Bills charged to a tenant shall be based upon the tenant's 
actual measured usage. For submetering, the unit of 
measurement shall be the energy unit as defined in 20VAC5-
305-10. For energy allocation equipment, the units of 
measurement shall be those characteristics monitored by the 
allocation equipment. 

The owner shall render bills to the tenant in the same energy 
unit or units as billed the owner by the utility.  

The tenant's bills shall be calculated in the following 
manner: utilizing the most recent electric or natural gas bill 
from the utility to the owner, said owner shall divide the 
"total current charges" by the total number of energy units 
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billed by the utility to determine the average cost in cents per 
energy unit. The average energy unit cost shall be multiplied 
by each tenant's energy unit consumption to obtain the 
tenant's charges.  

For the purposes of computing the average cost per energy 
unit, the "total current charges" shall include or exclude the 
following, as applicable:  

Include:  
1. Customer, demand, commodity, and energy charges.  
2. Fuel adjustment charge.  
3. Purchased gas adjustment.  
4. Local taxes.  
5. Surcharges (i.e., interim rate relief, unrecovered 
deferred fuel, temporary energy surcharge).  
6. Facilities charge.  

Exclude:  
a. Miscellaneous charges (e.g., charges by the utility for 
late payments).  
b. Outdoor and security lighting charges.  
c. Merchandise charges.  

The owner may impose a service charge in accordance with 
§ 56-245.3 of the Code of Virginia.  

The owner shall recalculate the average cost per energy unit 
each month based upon the most recent master meter bill 
received from the utility for the campground. The owner shall 
implement the new average cost per energy unit within five 
calendar days of the date the master meter bill is issued to the 
owner by the utility.  

For service at campgrounds where an owner and a tenant 
have an agreement that clearly states that the campground is 
or will be using submetering or energy allocation equipment, 
meter readings for the assigned campsite shall be taken at the 
time a tenant registers to stay at the campground, and the 
owner shall provide each tenant a written statement when the 
tenant registers, stating: 

1. That the energy used at the tenant's assigned campsite 
will be billed to the tenant; 
2. A description of how the energy unit cost will be 
calculated; and 
3. The initial meter reading for the assigned campsite. 

Meter readings for the assigned campsite shall also be taken 
at the time of the tenant's checkout.  The tenant may be billed 
at checkout for the tenant's actual electric or natural gas usage 
at the assigned campsite based upon the tenant's report of the 
meter reading or upon the owner's reading of the meter for the 
assigned campsite. 

The tenant's bill shall be provided to the tenant at checkout. 
A tenant's bill shall contain the following: 

1. The initial energy reading and date for the current billing 
period; 

2. The final energy reading and date for the current billing 
period; 
3. The applicable rate; 
4. The amount due; and 
5. A statement that payment is due immediately or the date 
on which payment is due. 

On request of a tenant who has been or will be billed for 
energy usage, the owner shall show the tenant the master 
meter bill received from the utility for the campground that 
corresponds to the rates that the tenant has been or will be 
charged for the assigned campsite. 

Estimated bills shall not be rendered unless the meter or 
energy allocation equipment has been tampered with, and in 
such case, the bill shall be distinctly marked "estimated." 
Such estimates shall be based upon previous consumption at 
the campsite during a similar billing period. 
20VAC5-305-110. Initial and final bills.  

1. Initial and final bills shall be rendered for the number of 
energy units actually consumed in the initial and final billing 
periods.  

2. On the date possession is taken by a tenant of a dwelling 
or nonresidential rental unit, an initial reading will be taken 
from the submetering or energy allocation equipment serving 
such dwelling or nonresidential rental unit to commence 
service to that tenant. The initial reading will be subtracted 
from the next reading of the equipment taken on the regularly 
scheduled monthly reading dates on which other submetering 
or energy allocation equipment in the building is read, to 
determine the consumption during the initial billing period. 
The energy units consumed as determined in the above 
manner will be multiplied times the average energy unit cost 
which is determined for the computation of bills for all other 
tenants for the period ending with the regularly scheduled 
reading date of that month.  

3. On the date a tenant gives up possession of a dwelling or 
nonresidential rental unit, a final reading will be taken from 
the submeter equipment serving such unit to terminate service 
to the tenant. The reading of the equipment taken on the last 
previous regularly scheduled monthly reading dates on which 
other submetering or energy allocation equipment in the 
building was last read will be subtracted from the final 
reading to determine the consumption during the final billing 
period. The energy units consumed or determined in the 
above manner will be multiplied times the average energy 
unit cost which is determined for the computation of bills for 
all other tenants for the regularly scheduled monthly reading 
date after the final reading. If the owner and tenant so agree in 
writing, the owner may use the average energy unit cost from 
the previous month when determining the amount due for the 
last month of tenancy.  

The provisions in this section shall only be applicable to 
apartment houses, office buildings, and shopping centers. 
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Bills for campgrounds shall be rendered as set forth in 
20VAC5-305-95. 
DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(20VAC5-305) 

ANSI C12.1-2008, American National Standard for Electric 
Meters Code for Electricity Metering, National Electrical 
Manufacturers Association, 1300 N. 17th Street, Suite 1752, 
Rosslyn, VA 22209 (http://www.nema.org).  

ANSI B109.1, Diaphragm-Type Gas Displacement Meters 
(Under 500 Cubic Feet per Hour Capacity), June 2000, 
American Gas Association, 1400 N. Capitol Street, NW, 
Washington, DC 20001, telephone 1-800-699-9277 
(http://www.aga.org). 

ANSI B109.2, Diaphragm-Type Gas Displacement Meters 
(500 Cubic Feet per Hour Capacity and Over), June 2000, 
American Gas Association, 1400 N. Capitol Street, NW, 
Washington, DC 20001, telephone 1-800-699-9277 
(http://www.aga.org). 

ANSI B109.3, Rotary Type Gas Displacement Meters, June 
2000, American Gas Association, 1400 N. Capitol Street, 
NW, Washington, DC 20001, telephone 1-800-699-9277 
(http://www.aga.org). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3224; Filed August 7, 2012, 12:37 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department for Aging and 
Rehabilitative Services is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 
are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 
where no agency discretion is involved. The Department for 
Aging and Rehabilitative Services will receive, consider, and 
respond to petitions from any interested person at any time 
with respect to reconsideration or revision. 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC5-11. Public Participation 
Guidelines (repealing 22VAC5-11-10 through 22VAC5-
11-110).  
Statutory Authority: § 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: September 26, 2012.  
Agency Contact: Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Ph.D, CRC, Policy 
Analyst, Department of Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 
8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA, 23229, 
telephone 804-662-7612, FAX 804-662-7663, toll-free 800-
552-5019, or email vanessa.rakestraw@drs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 
Chapters 803 and 835 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly 
abolished the Department for the Aging and transferred its 
regulations to the newly created Department for Aging and 
Rehabilitative Services (DARS). DARS assumed the powers 
of the former Department of Rehabilitative Services and 
the Department for the Aging on July 1, 2012. These 
Public Participation Guidelines (PPGs) are identical to 
the PPGs (22VAC30-11) of the former Department of 
Rehabilitative Services, which were adopted and are 
currently in effect for DARS. The former Department for 
the Aging PPGs are duplicative and unnecessary and, 
therefore, are repealed.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3360; Filed August 1, 2012, 4:05 p.m.  

http://www.nema.org/
http://www.aga.org/
http://www.aga.org/
http://www.aga.org/
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed State Implementation Plan Revision - 
Transportation Conformity 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 
proposed revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia State 
Implementation Plan (SIP). The SIP is a plan developed by 
the Commonwealth in order to fulfill its responsibilities under 
the federal Clean Air Act to attain and maintain the ambient 
air quality standards promulgated by the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) under the Act. The Commonwealth 
intends to submit the regulation to EPA as a revision to the 
SIP in accordance with the requirements of § 110(a) of the 
federal Clean Air Act. 

Regulations affected: The regulation of the board affected by 
this action is Transportation Conformity (9VAC5-151, Rev. 
C12). 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 
whether the regulation amendments should be submitted as a 
revision to the SIP. 

Public comment period: August 27, 2012, to September 27, 
2012. 

Public hearing: A public hearing may be conducted if a 
request is made in writing to the contact listed below. In order 
to be considered, the request must include the full name, 
address, and telephone number of the person requesting the 
hearing and be received by DEQ by the last day of the 
comment period. Notice of the date, time, and location of any 
requested public hearing will be announced in a separate 
notice, and another 30-day comment period will be 
conducted. 

Public comment stage: The regulation amendments are 
exempt from the state administrative procedures for adoption 
of regulations contained in Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act by the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the 
Administrative Process Act because they are necessary to 
conform to Virginia statutory law. Since the amendments are 
exempt from administrative procedures for the adoption of 
regulations, DEQ is accepting comment only on the issue 
cited above under "purpose of notice" and not on the content 
of the regulation amendments. 

Description of proposal: EPA promulgated various 
administrative amendments to the federal transportation 
regulation on March 14, 2012 (77 FR 14979). Under 40 CFR 
51.390, Virginia is required to submit a SIP revision to EPA 
that establishes conformity criteria and procedures consistent 
with the transportation conformity regulation promulgated by 
EPA at 40 CFR Part 93. In order to implement the federal 
transportation conformity requirements, the Virginia 
regulation must reflect the recent revisions made to the 

federal regulations. To this end, 9VAC5-151 was amended to 
include the most recent federal revisions. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 
public participation requirements of federal regulations (40 
CFR 51.102) and not any provision of state law. Except as 
noted below, the proposal will be submitted as a revision to 
the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the 
federal Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. It is 
planned to submit all provisions of the proposal as a revision 
to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 
must include the full name, address and telephone number of 
the person commenting and be received by DEQ by the last 
day of the comment period. All materials received are part of 
the public record. 

To review regulation documents: The proposal and any 
supporting documents are available on the DEQ Air Public 
Notices for Plans website at 
http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airpla
nsandprograms.aspx. The documents may also be obtained by 
contacting the DEQ representative named below. The public 
may review the documents between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. 
of each business day until the close of the public comment 
period at the following DEQ locations: 

1) Main Street Office, 629 East Main Street, 8th Floor, 
Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4070;  

2) Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen 
Allen, VA, telephone (804) 527-5020;  

3) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 
Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800; and  

4) Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Blvd., 
Virginia Beach, VA, telephone (757) 518-2000. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 
698-4510, TDD (804) 698-4021, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 
AT RICHMOND, JULY 26, 2012 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2012-00014 

Ex Parte: In the matter of adoption of 
adjusted prima facie rates for credit life 
and credit accident and sickness insurance 

http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
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pursuant to §§ 38.2-3725, 38.2-3726, 
38.2-3727 and 38.2-3730 of the Code of Virginia 

ORDER ADOPTING ADJUSTED PRIMA FACIE RATES 
FOR THE TRIENNIUM COMMENCING JANUARY 1, 

2013 

Pursuant to an Order Scheduling Hearing entered May 30, 
2012, after notice to all insurers licensed by the Bureau of 
Insurance ("Bureau") to transact the business of credit life 
insurance and credit accident and sickness insurance in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, the State Corporation 
Commission ("Commission") conducted a hearing on July 12, 
2012, for the purpose of determining the actual loss ratio for 
credit life insurance and credit accident and sickness 
insurance and adjusting the prima facie rates in accordance 
with §§ 38.2-3726 and 38.2-3727 of the Code of Virginia by 
applying the ratio of the actual loss ratio to the loss ratio 
standard set forth in § 38.2-3725 of the Code of Virginia to 
the prima facie rates. These rates are to be effective for the 
triennium commencing January 1, 2013. 

Represented by its counsel, the Bureau, by its witness, 
appeared before the Commission in support of the proposed 
adjusted prima facie rates.  No notices of participation were 
filed, no written comments were received, and no public 
witnesses appeared before the Commission. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the record, 
the recommendation of the Bureau and the law applicable to 
these issues, is of the opinion and finds and ORDERS: 

(1) The adjusted prima facie rates for credit life insurance 
and credit accident and sickness insurance, as proposed by 
the Bureau, which are attached hereto and made a part 
hereof, should be, and they are hereby, ADOPTED 
pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 37.1 of Title 38.2 of 
the Code of Virginia and shall be effective for the 
triennium commencing January 1, 2013. 
(2) This case is dismissed, and the papers filed herein shall 
be passed to the file for ended causes. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to Althelia P. Battle, Deputy Commissioner, 
Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission who: (i) 
shall cause a copy hereof together with attachments, as and 
for the notice to insurers required by § 38.2-3725 of the Code 
of Virginia, to be sent forthwith to every insurance company 
licensed by the Bureau of Insurance to transact the business 
of credit life and credit accident and sickness insurance in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia; and (ii) shall file in the record of 
this proceeding an affidavit evidencing notice compliance 
with this Order. 

The Commission's Division of Information Resources shall 
make available this Order and the attached adjusted rates on 
the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/caseinfo.htm. 

ATTACHMENT 

Case No. INS-2012-00014 

ADJUSTED PRIMA FACIE  
CREDIT LIFE 

AND 
CREDIT ACCIDENT AND SICKNESS 

INSURANCE RATES 
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2013 

THROUGH DECEMBER 31, 2015 

2013 – 2015 TRIENNIAL CREDIT LIFE INSURANCE 
RATES 

$0.5965 per month per $1,000.00 of outstanding insured 
indebtedness if premiums are payable on a monthly 
outstanding balance basis. 

$0.3808 per $100.00 of initial indebtedness repayable in 
twelve equal monthly installments. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY AND 
THE DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 

RECREATION 

Total Maximum Daily Load for South Fork Reed 
Creek, Mill Creek, Stony Fork, Tate Run, Reed 

Creek, Miller Creek, and Cove Creek 

Announcement of a public meeting to present a draft total 
maximum daily load (TMDL) implementation plan for the 
following tributaries of the New River: South Fork Reed 
Creek, Mill Creek, Stony Fork, Tate Run, Reed Creek, Miller 
Creek, and Cove Creek in Wythe County, Virginia. 

Public meeting location: Wythe County Community Hospital, 
600 West Ridge Road, Wythe Bland Conference Room, 
Wytheville, VA, on September 4, 2012, from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m.  

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) and the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation are announcing the final implementation plan to 
restore water quality, a public comment opportunity, and 
public meeting. 

Meeting description: Final public meeting on an 
implementation plan to restore water quality. 

Description of plan: This plan follows a total maximum daily 
load (TMDL) study developed for the South Fork Reed 
Creek, Mill Creek, Stony Fork, Tate Run, Reed Creek, Miller 
Creek, and Cove Creek that identified bacteria contamination 
as the cause for the streams failure to meet the Recreational 
Use water quality standard. 

The plan outlines the corrective actions needed to reduce the 
sources of bacteria and their associated costs and benefits, 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/caseinfo.htm
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along with measurable goals, and an implementation timeline. 
The plan focuses on addressing the agricultural, residential, 
and urban sources of bacteria identified in the TMDL study.  

How a decision is made: The development of a TMDL and a 
TMDL implementation plan includes public meetings and a 
public comment period once the study report is drafted. After 
public comments have been considered and addressed, DEQ 
will submit the implementation plan to the State Water 
Control Board for approval. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, September 4, 2012, to October 4, 2012. DEQ also 
accepts written and oral comments at the public meeting 
announced in this notice. 

To review fact sheets: Fact sheets are available for the 
impaired waters from the contacts below or on the DEQ 
website at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn
formationTMDLs.aspx. 

Contact for additional information: Martha Chapman, TMDL 
Coordinator, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, 
Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, 
Abingdon, VA 24210, telephone (276) 676-4800, FAX (276) 
676-4899, or email martha.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH AND THE 
DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

SERVICES 

Proposed Notice of No Need for Certificate of Public 
Need Applications for Development of Additional 

Nursing home Beds 

Legal Notice of Request for Certificate of Public Need 
Applications.  

Pursuant to the requirements of § 32.1-102.3:2 of the Code of 
Virginia of 1950, as amended, notice is hereby given of 
consideration of the need to issue a Request for Applications 

("RFA") for the development of additional nursing home beds 
in Virginia. This notice reviews the qualification of Virginia's 
twenty-two health planning districts for the authorization of 
additional nursing home beds pursuant to applicable law and 
regulation (12VAC5-230). 

Evaluation of Need for Additional Nursing Home Beds.  

The "Nursing Home Services" component of the Virginia 
State Medical Facilities Plan ("SMFP") (12VAC5-230) 
contains a nursing home bed-need forecasting method 
(12VAC5-230-610). This method has been employed by the 
Virginia Department of Health to compute a forecast of 
needed nursing home beds in 2015 in each of Virginia's 
twenty-two health planning districts.1 

Consistent with the SMFP (12VAC5-230-610 A), no 
planning district is considered to have a need for additional 
nursing home beds unless the average annual occupancy of all 
existing non-federal, Medicaid-certified nursing home beds in 
the planning district was at least 93% for the most recent year 
for which bed utilization has been reported to the Virginia 
Department of Health (through nursing home filings with 
Virginia Health Information, Inc.).2 For purposes of this 
document, 2010 is the most recent year of nursing home 
utilization data reported to Virginia Health Information.  

Also, no planning district will be considered to have a need 
for additional nursing home beds if there are uncompleted 
nursing home beds that were authorized for the planning 
district within the last three years and that will be Medicaid-
certified beds. The following table displays, by planning 
district, the nursing home gross bed need forecast for 2015, 
the current licensed bed inventory and authorized additions of 
nursing home beds, and the net bed need forecast for 2015. 

The table also shows the average annual percent occupancy of 
Medicaid-certified nursing home beds for each planning 
district for the 2010 reporting year and identifies the status of 
each planning district with respect to authorized but 
uncompleted nursing home beds.  The final column of the 
table states whether the planning district qualifies for 
additional nursing home beds for the 2015 planning year. 

Nursing Home Bed Need Forecast and Whether a Planning District Qualifies for Additional Nursing Home 
Beds for the 2015 Planning Year 

 
Planning 
District 

 
Bed Need 
Forecast 
For 2015 

Existing 
and 

Authorized 
Beds 

Projected 
Net Bed 

Need 
In 2015 

Average 
Occupancy of 
Medicaid Beds 

2010 

Authorized 
but 

Uncompleted 
Medicaid Beds 

Plan. District 
Qualifies for 
Additional 
NH Beds 

1 521 641 (120) 84.6% no no--no need 

2 442 547 (105) 74.6% no no--no need 

3 1,400 1,525 (125) 84.3% no no--no need 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs.aspx
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4 853 788 65 88.4% no no--low occu. 

5 2,073 2,301 (228) 90.3% no no--no need 

6 1,816 1,528 288 90.4% no no--low occu. 

7 1,008 972 36 89.8% no no--low occu. 

8 5,417 4,358 1,059 89.2% no no--low occu. 

9 863 826 37 88.3% yes no--low occu. 

10 1,125 1,067 58 92.3% yes no--low occu. 

11 1,548 1,550 (48) 90.8% no no--no need 

12 2,085 1,929 156 89.0% no no--low occu. 

13 958 881 77 90.8% no no--low occu. 

14 652 670 (18) 93.1% no no--no need 

15 4,109 4,059 50 91.6% no no--low occu. 

16 900 785 115 88.1% no no--low occu. 

17 337 308 29 91.3% no no--low occu. 

18 613 540 73 91.4% no no--low occu. 

19 1,140 1,055 85 88.4% no no--low occu. 

20 4,741 4,393 348 89.0% no no--low occu. 

21 2,171 1,867 304 89.2% no no--low occu. 

22 384 376 8 92.1% no no--low occu. 
Sources: Virginia State Medical Facilities Plan (12 VAC 5-230)  

Virginia Employment Commission (population projections, 2007 edition) 
2006 Virginia Nursing Home Patient Survey, Health Systems Agency of Northern Virginia (for age-specific nursing 
home use rates) 
Office of Licensure and Certification, VDH (for bed inventory). 

Conclusion. 

The Request for Applications for nursing home beds issued in 2012 is hereby issued as a notice that no need exists for new 
nursing home beds.  As shown in the preceding table, no planning district is identified by the standards of the SMFP as having 
forecasted need for nursing home beds by 2015. No planning district in the Commonwealth currently meets the three-part test 
for qualification by:  

1) Having a positive formula-generated need projection;  

2) Having an average annual occupancy percentage of Medicaid-certified beds for the most recent reporting year of 93% or 
higher; and 

3) Having no uncompleted nursing home beds authorized within the last three years that will be Medicaid-certified. 

Any person objecting to this notice may notify the State Health Commissioner and the State Board of Health within 14 days of 
publication of this notice in the Virginia Register. Any objections received will be considered and replied to before a final 
notice is published. 
___________________________________ 
1 For conduct of the certificate of public need program, the Virginia Department of Health continues to recognize the former Planning District 20, Southeastern 
Virginia, and the former Planning District 21, Peninsula, rather than the new combined Planning District 23, Hampton Roads. 
2 The Veterans Care Centers are excluded by regulation from consideration in the determination of nursing home bed need. 
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STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Order 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on July 30, 2012. The orders may be viewed at 
the State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA. 

Director's Order Number Seventy-Three (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1342; "Ca$h in Hand" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective on the date of its signing 
and shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 
rescinded by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number Seventy-Four (12) 

"Seibert's Gas Card Give Away Promotion" Virginia Lottery 
Retailer Incentive Program Rules (effective on the date of its 
signing and shall remain in full force and effect until 90 days 
after the conclusion of the Incentive Program, unless 
otherwise extended by the Director) 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for New Kent 
County 

An enforcement action has been proposed for New Kent 
County for alleged violations at the Parham Landing 
Wastewater Treatment Plant at 7800 Parham Landing Road, 
New Kent County, VA. The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent special order to New Kent County 
to address noncompliance with State Water Control Board 
law. A description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 
online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Frank Lupini will accept 
comments by email at frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 
(804) 527-5106, or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 
Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, from August 27, 2012, to 
September 26, 2012. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice (804) 
786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 
varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
http://www.virginia.gov/cmsportal3/cgi-bin/calendar.cgi. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/cumultab.htm. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 

 

mailto:varegs@dls.virginia.gov
http://www.virginia.gov/cmsportal3/cgi-bin/calendar.cgi
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/cumultab.htm
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