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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency's response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor's 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor's objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

28:2 VA.R. 47-141 September 26, 2011, refers to Volume 28, Issue 2, 

pages 47 through 141 of the Virginia Register issued on  

September 26, 2011. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 

Chairman; Gregory D. Habeeb; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. 

Moncure, Jr.; Wesley G. Russell, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. 

Tavenner; Christopher R. Nolen; J. Jasen Eige or Jeffrey S. 

Palmore. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar; Rhonda Dyer, Publications 

Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations Staff Assistant;  
Karen Perrine, Staff Attorney. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

September 2012 through November 2013 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

29:2 September 5, 2012 September 24, 2012 

29:3 September 19, 2012 October 8, 2012 

29:4 October 3, 2012 October 22, 2012 

29:5 October 17, 2012 November 5, 2012 

29:6 October 31, 2012 November 19, 2012 

29:7 November 13, 2012 (Tuesday) December 3, 2012 

29:8 November 28, 2012 December 17, 2012 

29:9 December 11, 2012 (Tuesday) December 31, 2012 

29:10 December 26, 2012 January 14, 2013 

29:11 January 9, 2013 January 28, 2013 

29:12 January 23, 2013 February 11, 2013 

29:13 February 6, 2013 February 25, 2013 

29:14 February 20, 2013 March 11, 2013 

29:150 March 6, 2013 March 25, 2013 

29:16 March 20, 2013 April 8, 2013 

29:17 April 3, 2013 April 22, 2013 

29:18 April 17, 2013 May 6, 2013 

29:19 May 1, 2013 May 20, 2013 

29:20 May 15, 2013 June 3, 2013 

29:21 May 29, 2013 June 17, 2013 

29:22 June 12, 2013 July 1, 2013 

29:23 June 26, 2013 July 15, 2013 

29:24 July 10, 2013 July 29, 2013 

29:25 July 24, 2013 August 12, 2013 

29:26 August 7, 2013 August 26, 2013 

30:1 August 21, 2013 September 9, 2013 

30:2 September 4, 2013 September 23, 2013 

30:3 September 18, 2013 October 7, 2013 

30:4 October 2, 2013 October 21, 2013 

30:5 October 16, 2013 November 4, 2013 

30:6 October 30, 2013 November 18, 2013 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-20, 

Administration of Medical Assistance Services. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to implement Chapter 890, 

Item 300 H of the 2011 Acts of Assembly, which requires 

electronic Medicaid claims billing for providers newly 

enrolled on or after October 1, 2011, and for all other 

providers as of July 1, 2012. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 24, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Tom Edicola, Director, Program Operations 

Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

786-8098, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

tom.edicola@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2789; Filed September 4, 2012, 1:23 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-120, 

Waivered Services. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

create standards for the exception to the new hourly limit for 

waiver covered personal care services that individuals must 

satisfy in order to be approved for such services in excess of 

the new limit. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 24, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Melissa Fritzman, Project Manager, 

Division of Long Term Care Services, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-4206, FAX (804) 

612-0040, or email melissa.fritzman@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2812; Filed September 4, 2012, 12:35 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-110. Pertaining to Lobsters 

(amending 4VAC20-110-15 through 4VAC20-110-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 

Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish season and minimum size 

restrictions for lobsters harvested and landed in Virginia 

and require mandatory V-notching of berried (egg 

bearing) females. 

4VAC20-110-15. Definitions.  

"Berried female" means a female lobster bearing eggs 

attached to the abdominal appendages. 

"Carapace" means the unsegmented body shell of the 

American lobster.  

"Carapace length" means the straight line measurement from 

the rear of the eye socket parallel to the center line of the 

carapace to the posterior edge of the carapace.  

"Ghost panel" means a panel, or other mechanism, designed 

to allow for the escapement of lobster after a period of time if 

the trap has been abandoned or lost.  

"Land" or "landing" means to (i) enter port with finfish, 

shellfish, crustaceans, or other marine seafood on board any 

boat or vessel; (ii) begin offloading finfish, shellfish, 

crustaceans, or other marine seafood; or (iii) offload finfish, 

shellfish, crustaceans, or other marine seafood. 

"Lobster" means any crustacean of the species Homarus 

americanus.  

"V-notched female lobster" means any female lobster 

bearing a V-shaped notch (i.e., a straight-sided triangular cut 

without setal hairs, at least 1/4 inch in depth and not greater 

than 1/2 inch in depth and tapering to a sharp point) in the 

flipper next to the right of the center flipper as viewed from 

the rear of the female lobster. V-notched female lobster also 

means any female that is mutilated in a manner that could 

hide, obscure, or obliterate such a mark.  

4VAC20-110-20. Minimum and maximum size limit.  

It shall be unlawful for any person to possess for a period 

longer than is necessary for immediate measurement any 

lobster less than 3-3/8 3-17/32 inches in carapace length or 

any female lobster greater than 5-1/2 5-1/4 inches in carapace 

length, except for scientific purposes and with the express 

written consent of the Commissioner of Marine Resources.  

4VAC20-110-30. Possession prohibitions.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess for a period 

longer than is necessary for immediate determination of the 

presence of eggs, any berried female egg-bearing lobster, 

except for scientific purposes and with the express written 

consent of the Commissioner of Marine Resources.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess for a period 

longer than is necessary for immediate determination of 

unnatural removal of eggs, a lobster that has been scrubbed or 

has in any manner other than natural hatching had the eggs 

removed therefrom.  

C. It shall be unlawful to possess a V-notched female 

lobster. The prohibition on possession of a V-notched female 

lobster applies to all persons, including but not limited to 

fishermen, dealers, shippers, and restaurants.  

D. It shall be unlawful to possess a lobster that has an outer 

shell that has been speared.  

E. It shall be unlawful to land lobster from February 1 

through March 31. 

4VAC20-110-40. Marking of lobsters.  

It shall be unlawful for any person to notch, cut, scrape, 

pierce, or in any like manner provide for the marking of 

lobster, except for scientific purposes and with the express 

written consent of the Commissioner of Marine Resources. 

Any berried female harvested in or from Virginia waters shall 

be V-notched before being returned to the sea immediately. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3380; Filed August 31, 2012, 2:06 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-252. Pertaining to the Taking 

of Striped Bass (amending 4VAC20-252-20, 4VAC20-252-

30, 4VAC20-252-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
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Effective Date: September 1, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 

Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments authorize the recreational harvest of 

striped bass by spear fishing. 

4VAC20-252-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Chesapeake area" means the area that includes the 

Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries and the Potomac River 

tributaries.  

"Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries" means all tidal waters 

of the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries within Virginia, 

westward of the shoreward boundary of the Territorial Sea, 

excluding the coastal area and the Potomac River tributaries 

as defined by this section.  

"Coastal area" means the area that includes Virginia's 

portion of the Territorial Sea, plus all of the creeks, bays, 

inlets, and tributaries on the seaside of Accomack County, 

Northampton County (including areas east of the causeway 

from Fisherman Island to the mainland), and the City of 

Virginia Beach (including federal areas and state parks, 

fronting on the Atlantic Ocean and east and south of the point 

where the shoreward boundary of the Territorial Sea joins the 

mainland at Cape Henry).  

"Commission" means the Marine Resources Commission.  

"Commercial fishing" or "fishing commercially" or 

"commercial fishery" means fishing by any person where the 

catch is for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose, or 

is intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose.  

"Potomac River tributaries" means all the tributaries of the 

Potomac River that are within Virginia's jurisdiction 

beginning with, and including, Flag Pond thence upstream to 

the District of Columbia boundary.  

"Recreational fishing" or "fishing recreationally" or 

"recreational fishery" means fishing by any person, whether 

licensed or exempted from licensing, where the catch is not 

for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose, or is not 

intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose.  

"Share" means a percentage of the striped bass commercial 

harvest quota.  

"Spawning reaches" means sections within the spawning 

rivers as follows:  

1. James River from a line connecting Dancing Point and 

New Sunken Meadow Creek upstream to a line connecting 

City Point and Packs Point.  

2. Pamunkey River from the Route 33 Bridge at West 

Point upstream to a line connecting Liberty Hall and the 

opposite shore.  

3. Mattaponi River from the Route 33 Bridge at West Point 

upstream to the Route 360 bridge at Aylett.  

4. Rappahannock River from the Route 360 Bridge at 

Tappahannock upstream to the Route 1 Falmouth Bridge.  

"Spear" or "spearing" means to fish while the person is fully 

submerged under the water's surface with a mechanically 

aided device designed to accelerate a barbed spear. 

"Striped bass" means any fish of the species Morone 

saxatilis, including any hybrid of the species Morone 

saxatilis.  

4VAC20-252-30. General prohibitions and requirements.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any striped 

bass taken from the tidal waters of Virginia, including 

Virginia's portion of the Territorial Sea, except in accord with 

the provisions of Title 28.2 of the Code of Virginia and in 

accord with the provisions of this chapter.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any striped 

bass taken from the tidal waters of Virginia, including 

Virginia's portion of the Territorial Sea, during a time, from 

an area, and with a gear type when there is no open season set 

forth in this chapter for such time, area, and gear type.  

C. Except for those persons permitted in accordance with 

4VAC20-252-170, it shall be unlawful for any person to 

possess any striped bass less than 18 inches total length at any 

time.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any striped 

bass that measures less than the minimum size or more than 

the maximum size applicable to the open season when fishing 

occurs, except as described in 4VAC20-252-115.  

E. Total length measurement of striped bass shall be in a 

straight line from tip of nose to tip of tail.  

F. It shall be unlawful for any person while aboard any boat 

or vessel or while fishing from shore or pier to alter any 

striped bass or to possess any altered striped bass such that its 

total length cannot be determined.  

G. It shall be unlawful for any person to spear or gaff, or 

attempt to spear or gaff any striped bass at any time.  

H. It shall be unlawful for any person to use a commercial 

hook and line within 300 feet of any bridge, bridge-tunnel, 

jetty, or pier during Thanksgiving Day and the following day 

or during any open recreational striped bass season in the 

Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries, except during the period 

midnight Sunday through 6 a.m. Friday.  

I. Unless specified differently in other regulations, it shall be 

unlawful to place, set, or fish any gill net within 300 feet of 

any bridge, bridge-tunnel, jetty, or pier during any open 

recreational striped bass season in the Chesapeake Bay and its 

tributaries, except during the period midnight Sunday through 

midnight Wednesday.  
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J. During the period April 1 through May 31, inclusive, it 

shall be unlawful for any person to set or fish any anchored 

gill net or staked gill net, for any purpose, within the 

spawning reaches of the James, Pamunkey, Mattaponi, and 

Rappahannock Rivers. Drift or float gill nets may be set and 

fished within the spawning reaches of these rivers during this 

period, provided that the person setting and fishing the net 

remains with the net during the time it is fishing and all 

striped bass that are caught shall be returned to the water 

immediately.  

K. Holding any permit issued by the commission to fish for 

striped bass, recreationally or commercially, shall authorize 

any commission personnel or their designees to inspect, 

measure, weigh, or take biological samples from any striped 

bass in possession of the permit holder.  

L. Nothing in this chapter shall preclude any person, who is 

legally eligible to fish, from possessing any striped bass 

tagged with a Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS) 

fluorescent green tag. Possession of these VIMS-tagged 

striped bass shall not count towards the personal recreational 

possession limit, and permitted commercial striped bass 

individual transferable quota (ITQ) holders shall not be 

required to apply a tamper evident, numbered tag provided by 

the commission, in order to possess any striped bass tagged 

with a VIMS-inscribed green fluorescent tag. It shall be 

unlawful for any person to retain any of these VIMS-tagged 

striped bass for a period of time that is longer than necessary 

to provide the VIMS-tagged striped bass to a VIMS 

representative. Under no circumstance shall any VIMS-

tagged striped bass be stored for future use or sale or 

delivered to any person who is not a VIMS representative.  

4VAC20-252-50. Concerning recreational fishing: general.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to take or to, catch, or attempt to take or catch any striped 

bass with by any gear or method other than hook and line, rod 

and reel, or hand line, or spearing.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to possess any striped bass while fishing in an area where or 

at a time when there is no open recreational striped bass 

season, except as described in 4VAC20-252-115. Striped bass 

caught contrary to this provision shall be returned to the water 

immediately.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to possess land and retain any striped bass in excess of the 

possession limit applicable for the area and season being 

fished within the 24-hour period of 12 a.m. through 11:59 

p.m. Striped bass taken in excess of the possession limit shall 

be returned to the water immediately.  

When fishing from a boat or vessel where the entire catch is 

held in a common hold or container, the possession limit shall 

be for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the number of 

persons on board legally eligible to fish multiplied by the 

applicable personal possession limit. The captain or operator 

of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any boat or 

vessel possession limit.  

D. It shall be unlawful to combine possession limits when 

there is more than one area or season open at the same time.  

E. It shall be unlawful for any person while actively fishing 

pursuant to a recreational fishery to possess any striped bass 

that are smaller than the minimum size limit or larger than the 

maximum size limit for the area and season then open and 

being fished, except as described in 4VAC20-252-115. Any 

striped bass caught that does not meet the applicable size 

limit shall be returned to the water immediately.  

F. It shall be unlawful for any person to sell, offer for sale, 

trade or barter any striped bass taken by hook and line, rod 

and reel, or hand line, or spearing provided, however, this 

provision shall not apply to persons possessing a commercial 

hook-and-line license and a striped bass permit and meeting 

the other requirements of this chapter.  

G. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to transfer any striped bass to another person, while on the 

water or while fishing from a pier or shore.  

H. It shall be unlawful for the captain of any charter boat or 

charter vessel to take hook-and-line, rod-and-reel, or hand 

line, or spear fishermen for hire unless the captain has 

obtained a permit from the commission and is the holder of a 

Coast Guard charter license.  

I. Charter boat captains shall report to the commission, on 

forms provided by the commission, all daily quantities of 

striped bass caught and harvested, and daily fishing hours for 

themselves or their customers, respectively. The written 

report shall be forwarded to the commission no later than 15 

days following the last day of any open season. In addition, 

charter boat captains engaging in the Bay and Coastal Spring 

Trophy-size Striped Bass Recreational Fishery and the 

Potomac River Tributaries Spring Striped Bass Recreational 

Fishery shall provide the report required by 4VAC20-252-60 

and 4VAC20-252-70, respectively. Failure to provide these 

reports is a violation of this chapter.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3364; Filed August 31, 2012, 1:46 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-560. Pertaining to Shellfish 

Management Areas (amending 4VAC20-560-20 through 

4VAC20-560-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 

Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action removes the York River Shellfish Management 

Area as a location for the harvest of hard clams using 
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patent tongs and deletes expired provisions concerning the 

Newport News Shellfish Management Area. 

4VAC20-560-20. Shellfish management areas.  

A. The York River Shellfish Management Area shall consist 

of all public grounds located inshore of a line beginning at the 

entrance to the Virginia Institute of Marine Science boat basin 

at Gloucester Point, running northwesterly to Buoy No. 30, 

thence northwesterly to Buoy No. 32, thence northwesterly to 

Buoy No. 34, then northwesterly to Pages Rock Buoy, thence 

northwesterly and ending at Clay Bank Wharf.  

B. A. The Poquoson River Shellfish Management Area shall 

consist of all public grounds bounded by a line beginning at 

Hunts Point Survey Taylor and running northwesterly to 

Survey Station Spit,; thence northeasterly to Survey Station 

Cabin North,; thence east to Survey Station Cabin South,; 

thence southeasterly following the general shoreline (not to 

include any creeks or canals) to the flag pole near Survey 

Station 80 at York Point,; thence 175 degrees to Day Marker 

No. 14 and returning to Hunts Point Survey Taylor.  

C. B. The Back River Shellfish Management Area shall 

consist of all current public clamming grounds bounded by a 

line from corner 3 on Shell Plant 115 through corner 17, a 

daymarker, on Shell Plant 115, 237.42 feet to a point being 

the point of beginning; thence southeasterly to corner number 

1 Public Clamming Ground (PCG#12); thence southeasterly 

to corner number 3A Public Clamming Ground (PCG#12); 

thence northeasterly to corner number 3 Public Clamming 

Ground (PCG#12); thence northwesterly to corner number 2 

Public Clamming Ground (PCG#12); thence southwesterly to 

the POB. Also, for a period of one year, throughout 1994, 

Shell Plant 115 will also be included in the Back River 

Shellfish Management Area.  

D. C. The James River Broodstock Management Area is 

located inside Public Ground No. 1, Warwick County, south 

of the James River Bridge, further described as follows: 

Beginning at a corner number 611 (State Plane Coordinates 

North 249766.12 East 2596017.56); thence Grid Azimuth 

308-39-51, 1074.35' to a corner number 613 (State Plane 

Coordinates North 250437.32 East 2595178.68); thence Grid 

Azimuth 28-15-00, 366.30' to a corner number 614 (State 

Plane Coordinates North 250759.99 East 2595352.06); thence 

Grid Azimuth 132-36-45, 1114.51' to a corner number 612 

(State Plane Coordinates North 250005.43 East 2596172.28); 

thence Grid Azimuth 212-53-03, 284.97' to a corner number 

611, being the point of beginning, containing 8.04 acres.  

E. D. The York River Broodstock Management Area shall 

consist of the area under any portion of the George P. 

Coleman Memorial Bridge, in addition to the area within 300 

feet of the eastern, or downstream, side of the George P. 

Coleman Memorial Bridge and the area within 300 feet of the 

western, or upstream, side of the George P. Coleman 

Memorial Bridge.  

F. E. The Newport News Shellfish Management Area shall 

consist of all current public clamming grounds bounded by a 

line beginning at the intersection of the James River Bridge 

and Public Ground No. 1, Warwick County, downstream 

side; thence east southeasterly along the boundary to corner 

#5, Public Ground No. 1, Warwick County; thence southeast 

along the boundary to a corner (249,066.55/2,595,681.74); 

thence northeast along the boundary to the intersection of a 

line between the James River Bridge and the northwest corner 

of Newport News Shipbuilding and Drydock Company 

shipyard near station "HELO," said line being perpendicular 

to the James River Bridge; thence southeast along the defined 

line to the northwest corner of the shipyard; thence 

downstream to the offshore end of the floating drydock; 

thence to the offshore end of shipyard pier #6 just south of 

"Stack"; thence to the offshore end of pier #2 (F R Priv); 

thence to FI Y "A" off the end of the pier just south of 23rd 

Street; thence to the offshore end of pier #9 (2 F Y siren); 

thence to the offshore end of the old coal pier downstream of 

pier #9; thence to navigational aid FI G "13"; thence to the 

northeast corner of the Fan Building on the south island of the 

Monitor Merrimac Bridge Tunnel; thence southerly along the 

downstream side of the Monitor Merrimac Bridge Tunnel to 

the first overhead light structure on the bridge tunnel north of 

the small boat channel hump; thence northwesterly to corner 

#3, lease #10091 (Hazelwood); thence northwesterly along 

the boundary to corner #2, lease #10091 (Hazelwood); thence 

southwesterly to corner #1, Public Ground No. 2, Nansemond 

County; thence northwesterly along the boundary to corner 

#6, at the intersection of Public Ground No. 2, Nansemond 

County, and Public Ground No. 6, Isle of Wight County; 

thence north northwesterly along the boundary to corner 

#614, Public Ground No. 6, Isle of Wight County; thence 

north northwesterly along the boundary to corner #2, Public 

Ground No. 6, Isle of Wight County; thence northwesterly 

along the boundary to the intersection of the James River 

Bridge and Public Ground No. 6, Isle of Wight County; 

thence northeasterly along the downstream side of the James 

River Bridge to the intersection with Public Ground No. 1, 

Warwick County, at the point of beginning.  

G. F. The Back River Reef Broodstock Management Area 

shall consist of the area within a 2000' radius of the center 

buoy, with a position of 37° 08' 12" north, 76° 13' 54" west.  

H. G. The Middle Ground Light Broodstock Management 

Area shall consist of the area within a 1000' radius of the 

navigational light, with a position of 36° 56.7' north, 76° 23.5' 

west.  

I. H. The York Spit Reef Broodstock Management Area 

shall consist of the area contained within the defined latitudes 

and longitudes: northwest corner 37° 14' 75" N—076° 14' 20" 

W, northeast corner 37° 14' 75" N—076° 13' 30" W, 

southwest corner 37° 14' 05" N—076° 14' 20" W, southeast 

corner 37° 14' 05" N—076° 13' 30" W.  

4VAC20-560-30. Permits required.  

Each boat or vessel engaged in the harvesting of clams by 

patent tong from the York River Shellfish Management Area, 
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the Poquoson River Shellfish Management Area, or the Back 

River Shellfish Management Area shall first obtain a permit 

specific to the management area to be worked from any 

Marine Patrol Officer, and this permit shall be on board the 

vessel at all times and available for inspection. The permit 

shall state the name and port of the vessel, the registration or 

documentation number of the vessel, the name and address of 

the owner of the vessel and the name of the captain of the 

vessel. Any change to any of the above information shall 

require the vessel owner or captain to obtain a new permit. 

These permits shall be in addition to all other licenses or 

permits required by law.  

4VAC20-560-40. Patent tong season.  

A. The lawful season for the harvest of clams by patent tong 

from the York River Shellfish Management Area shall be 

August 15 through November 30.  

B. A. The lawful season for the harvest of clams by patent 

tong from the Poquoson River Shellfish Management Area 

shall be March 15 through May 1.  

C. B. The lawful season for the harvest of clams by patent 

tong from the Back River Shellfish Management Area shall 

be January 1 through March 31.  

D. C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest clams by 

patent tong from either the York River, Poquoson River, 

Shellfish Management Area or Back River Shellfish 

Management Area except as provided in subsections A, and 

B, and C of this section.  

E. Except as provided in subsection G of this section, the D. 

The lawful season for the harvest of clams by patent tong 

from the Newport News Shellfish Management Area shall be 

December 1 through April 30, except that if the catch of 

clams per tong-hour for the previous season is less than 174 

clams per tong-hour, the lawful season shall be December 1 

through March 31.  

F. Except as provided in subsection G of this section, it E. It 

shall be unlawful for any person to harvest clams by patent 

tong from the Newport News Shellfish Management Area 

from May 1 through November 30, except that if the catch of 

clams per tong-hour for the previous season is less than 174 

clams per tong-hour, it shall be unlawful for any person to 

harvest clams by patent tong from the Newport News 

Shellfish Management Area from April 1 through November 

30.  

G. The lawful season for the harvest of clams by patent tong 

from the Newport News Shellfish Management Area shall be 

January 1, 2010, through June 30, 2010, and December 1, 

2010, through December 31, 2010. It shall be unlawful for 

any person to harvest clams by patent tong from the Newport 

News Shellfish Management Area from July 1, 2010, through 

November 30, 2010. 

4VAC20-560-50. Time of day and harvest restrictions.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest clams by 

patent tong from either the York River or Poquoson River 

Shellfish Management Area before sunrise or after 2 p.m.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest clams by 

patent tong from the Back River Shellfish Management Area 

before sunrise or after 4 p.m.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest clams by 

patent tong from either the York River, Poquoson River 

Shellfish Management Area, Newport News Shellfish 

Management Area, or Back River Shellfish Management 

Area on Saturday or Sunday.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest any 

shellfish from the James River Broodstock Management 

Area, Back River Reef Broodstock Management Area, 

Middle Ground Light Broodstock Management Area, York 

Spit Reef Broodstock Management Area, or York River 

Broodstock Management Area at any time.  

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest clams by 

patent tong from the Newport News Shellfish Management 

Area before sunrise or after 2 p.m.  

F. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any amount 

of hard clams from the Newport News Shellfish Management 

Area that consists of more than 2.0% by number of clams, 

which can be passed through a 1-3/8 inch inside diameter 

culling ring. The 2.0% allowance shall be measured by the 

marine patrol officer from each container or pile of clams.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3363; Filed August 31, 2012, 1:35 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Forms 

Titles of Regulations: 4VAC25-35. Certification 

Requirements for Mineral Miners. 

4VAC25-130. Coal Surface Mining Reclamation 

Regulations. 

Agency Contact: Michael Skiffington, Program Support 

Manager, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 1100 

Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 692-3212, or email 

michael.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the following 

regulations have been filed by the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of the new or amended 

form to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (4VAC25-35) 

Application for Certification Examination, DMM-BMME-1 

(rev. 8/12). 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=af414003391~1&typ=40&actno=003391&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=af414003391~1&typ=40&actno=003391&mime=application/pdf
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Verification of Work Experience Form-Mineral Mining, 

DMM-BMME-2 (rev. 8/12). 

Application for Renewal-Mineral Mining, DMM-BMME-3 

(rev. 8/12). 

FORMS (4VAC25-130)  

Anniversary Report Form, DMLR-PT-028 (rev. 9/11). 

Ground Water Monitoring Report, DMLR-PT-101 (rev. 

11/99). 

Application for Exemption Determination (Extraction of 

Coal Incidental to the Extraction of Other Minerals), DMLR-

211 (rev. 3/09). 

Consent for Right of Entry-Exploratory, DMLR-AML-122 

(rev. 3/10). 

Consent for Right of Entry-Construction, DMLR-AML-123 

(rev. 3/10). 

Final Inspection – Abandoned Mine Lands – DMLR-AML-

171 (rev. 2/07). 

License for Performance-Acid Mine Drainage Investigations 

and Monitoring (Abandoned Mine Land Program), DMLR-

AML-175c (11/96). 

License for Performance-Acid Mine Drainage Reclamation 

and Construction (Abandoned Mine Land Program), DMLR-

AML-176c (rev. 12/96). 

Consent for Right of Entry-Ingress/Egress, DMLR-AML-

177 (rev. 3/98). 

Public Notice of Intent to Enter to Conduct Reclamation 

Activities, DMLR-AML-301 (rev. 3/10). 

Landowner Contact – Abandoned Mine Land Program, 

DMLR-AML-302 (rev. 3/10). 

Lien Waiver –Real Estate Appraisal – Abandoned Mine 

Land Program, DMLR-AML-305 (rev. 3/10). 

Estates to be Appraised – Abandoned Mine Land Program, 

DMLR-AML-309 (rev. 3/10). 

Lien Waiver – Realty Analysis – Abandoned Mine Land 

Program, DMLR-AML-311 (rev. 3/10). 

Application for Recertification: DMLR 

Endorsement/Blaster's Certification, DMLR-BCME-03 (rev. 

3/09). 

Application for DMLR Endorsement: Blaster's Certification 

(Coal Surface Mining Operation), DMLR-BCME-04 (rev. 

3/09). 

Geology and Hydrology Information Part A through E, 

DMLR-CP-186 (rev. 3/86). 

Notice of Temporary Cessation, DMLR-ENF-220 (rev. 

3/09). 

Lands Unsuitable Petition, DMLR-OA-131 (rev. 12/85). 

Chapter 19-Statement for Third Party-Certificate of Deposit, 

DMLR-PS-093 (rev. 12/85). 

Application for Performance Bond Release, DMLR-PT-212 

(rev. 3/09) 

Example-Waiver (300 Feet from Dwelling), DMLR-PT-223 

(rev. 2/96). 

Analysis, Premining vs Postmining Productivity 

Comparison (Hayland/Pasture Land Use), DMLR-PT-012 

(rev. 3/09). 

Surety Bond, DMLR-PT-013 (rev. 8/07). 

Surety Bond-Federal Lands, DMLR-PT-013A (rev. 3/09). 

Surety Bond Rider, DMLR-PT-013B (rev. 8/07). 

Map Legend, DMLR-PT-017 (rev. 3/09). 

Certificate of Deposit, DMLR-PT-026 (rev. 8/07). 

Form Letter From Banks Issuing a CD as Performance Bond 

for Mining on Federal Lands, DMLR-PT-026A (rev. 8/07). 

Operator's Seeding Report, DMLR-PT-011 (rev. 3/09).  

Request for Relinquishment, DMLR-PT-027 (rev. 6/09). 

Water Supply Inventory List, DMLR-PT-030 (rev. 3/09). 

Application for Permit for Coal Surface Mining and 

Reclamation Operations and National Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System (NPDES), DMLR-PT-034 (rev. 2/99). 

Request for DMLR Permit Data, DMLR-PT-034info (rev. 

3/10). 

Certification - Application for Permit: Coal Surface Mining 

and Reclamation Operations, DMLR-PT-034D (rev. 3/09). 

Coal Exploration Notice, DMLR-PT-051 (rev. 7/10). 

Well Construction Data Sheet, DMLR-WCD-034D (rev. 

5/04). 

Sediment Basin Design Data Sheet, DMLR-PT-086 (rev. 

3/09). 

Impoundment Construction and Annual Certification, 

DMLR-PT-092 (rev. 3/09). 

Road Construction Certification, DMLR-PT-098 (rev. 3/09). 

Ground Water Monitoring Report, DMLR-PT-101 (rev. 

3/09). 

Rainfall Monitoring Report, DMLR-PT-102 (rev. 8/98). 

Pre-Blast Survey, DMLR-PT-104 (rev. 3/09). 

Excess Spoil Fills and Refuse Embankments Construction 

Certification, DMLR-PT-105 (rev. 3/09). 

Stage-Area Storage Computations, DMLR-PT-111 (rev. 

3/09). 

Discharge Monitoring Report, DMLR-PT-119 (rev. 3/09). 

Water Monitoring Report-Electronic File/Printout 

Certification, DMLR-PT-119C (rev. 3/09). 

Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Fund Application, 

DMLR-PT-162 (rev. 3/09). 

Conditions-Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Fund, 

DMLR-PT-167 (rev. 3/09). 

Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Fund Tax Reporting 

Form, DMLR-PT-178 (rev. 3/09). 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=29b1d003391~2&typ=40&actno=003391&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=29b1d003391~2&typ=40&actno=003391&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f8fb1003391~3&typ=40&actno=003391&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f8fb1003391~3&typ=40&actno=003391&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2d240003087~5&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f4914003087~7&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f4914003087~7&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f8127003087~8&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f8127003087~8&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=879c9003087~9&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=879c9003087~9&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9e7a003087~10&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9e7a003087~10&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8345c003087~11&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8345c003087~11&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1fefc003087~12&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1fefc003087~12&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e1a7a003087~16&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e1a7a003087~16&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c5d7003087~13&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c5d7003087~13&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4e898003087~14&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4e898003087~14&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b1b69003087~15&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
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Surface Water Monitoring Report, DMLR-PT-210 (rev. 

3/09). 

Application For Performance Bond Release, DMLR-PT-212 

(rev. 3/09). 

Public Notice: Application for Transfer, Assignment, or Sale 

of Permit Rights under Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, DMLR-PT-219 (rev. 3/09). 

Public Notice: Application for Bond Reduction Under 

Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia, Phase I, 

DMLR-PT-225 (rev. 3/09). 

Public Notice: Application for Bond Reduction Under 

Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia, Phase II, 

DMLR-PT-226 (rev. 3/09). 

Public Notice: Application for Bond Reduction Under 

Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia, Phase III, 

DMLR-PT-227 (rev. 3/09). 

Public Notice: Application for Bond Reduction Under 

Chapter 19 of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia, Incremental 

Bond Reduction, DMLR-PT-228 (rev. 8/09). 

Verification of Public Display of Application, DMLR-PT-

236 (8/01). 

Affidavit (Permit Application Information: Ownership and 

Control Information and Violation History Information), 

DMLR-PT-240 (rev. 3/09). 

Stream Channel Diversion(s) Certification, DMLR-PT-233 

(rev. 3/09). 

Quarterly Acid-Base Monitoring Report, DMLR-PT-239 

(rev. 3/09). 

Affidavit (No Legal Change in a Company's Identity), 

DMLR-PT-250 (rev. 3/09). 

Affidavit (Reclamation Fee Payment), DMLR-PT-244 (rev. 

3/09). 

Application-National Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (NPDES) Permit-Short Form C, DMLR-PT-128 (rev. 

3/09). 

National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) 

Application Instructions, DMLR-PT-128A (rev. 3/09). 

Impoundment Inspection Report, DMLR-PT-251 (rev. 

3/09). 

Surface Water Baseline Data Summary, DMLR-TS-114 

(rev. 4/82). 

Diversion Design Computation Sheet, DMLR-TS-120 (rev. 

12/85). 

Sediment Channel Design Data Sheet, DMLR-TS-127 (rev. 

12/85). 

Virginia Stream Survey, DMLR-TS-217 (rev. 1/87). 

Line Transect-Forest Land Count, DMLR-PT-224 (rev. 

3/09). 

Applicant Violator System (AVS) Ownership & Control 

Information, DMLR-AML-003 (rev. 4/97). 

Application for Coal Exploration Permit and National 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit, DMLR-PT-

062 (formerly DMLR-PS-062) (rev. 3/09). 

Application-National Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System Application Instructions, DMLR-PT-128 (rev. 9/97). 

Written Findings, DMLR-PT-237 (rev. 1/98). 

Irrevocable Standby Letter of Credit, DMLR-PT-255 (rev. 

10/11). 

Confirmation of Irrevocable Standby Letter of Credit, 

DMLR-PT-255A (eff. 8/03). 

Affidavit DMLR-AML-312 (eff. 7/98). 

Indemnity Agreement - Self Bond, DMLR-PT-221 (eff. 

12/07). 

Permittee Consent to Service by Electronic Mail, DMLR-

PT-265 (rev. 3/09). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3391; Filed September 5, 2012, 10:15 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC25-170. Geothermal Energy 

Regulations (amending 4VAC25-170-10 through 4VAC25-

170-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 45.1-179.7 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 24, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, 

telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) make a technical amendment to the 

definition of "geothermal resource" to clarify that the 

regulation applies to nonresidential use only and (ii) bring 

consistency to data submission requirements for the 

Division of Gas and Oil by requiring applicants to use the 

Virginia Coordinate System of 1983. 

Since publication of the proposed regulation, minor 

changes to ensure consistency with other department 

regulations have been made. No substantive changes have 

been made since publication of the proposed regulation. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

4VAC25-170-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Bottom hole temperature" means the highest temperature 

measured in the well or bore hole. It is normally attained 

directly adjacent to the producing zone, and commonly at or 

near the bottom of the borehole.  

[ "Board" means the Virginia Gas and Oil Board. ]  

"Casing" means all pipe set in wells.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42ab2003087~6&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42ab2003087~6&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
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"Commissioner" means the Director of the Virginia 

Department of Mines mineral and Energy.  

"Conservation" means the preservation of geothermal 

resources from loss, waste, or harm.  

"Correlative rights" means the mutual right of each 

overlying owner in a geothermal area to produce without 

waste a just and equitable share of the geothermal resources. 

Just and equitable shares shall be apportioned according to a 

ratio of the overlying acreage in a tract to the total acreage 

included in the geothermal area.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy.  

[ "Departmental representative" means the Virginia Gas and 

Oil Inspector division director or a designated 

representative. ]   

"Designated agent" means that person appointed by the 

owner or operator of any geothermal resource well to 

represent him.  

[ "Director" means the Director of the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy or his authorized agent. 

 "Division director" means the Director of the Division of 

Gas and Oil, also known as the Gas and Oil Inspector as 

defined in the Virginia Gas and Oil Act of 1990, Chapter 22.1 

(§ 45.1-361.1 et seq.) of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia or 

his authorized agent. ]  

"Drilling log" means the written record progressively 

describing all strata, water, minerals, geothermal resources, 

pressures, rate of fill-up, fresh and salt water-bearing horizons 

and depths, caving strata, casing records and such other 

information as is usually recorded in the normal procedure of 

drilling. The term shall also include the downhole 

geophysical survey records or logs, if any are made.  

"Exploratory well" means an existing well or a well drilled 

solely for temperature observation purposes preliminary to 

filing an application for a production or injection well permit.  

"Geothermal area" means the general land area which that is 

underlaid or reasonably appears to be underlaid by 

geothermal resources in a single reservoir, pool, or other 

source or interrelated sources, as such area or areas may be 

from time to time designated by the department.  

"Geothermal energy" means the usable energy produced or 

which that can be produced from geothermal resources.  

"Geothermal reservoir" means the rock, strata, or fractures 

within the earth from which natural or injected geothermal 

fluids are obtained.  

"Geothermal resource" means the natural heat of the earth at 

temperatures 70°F or above with volumetric rates of 100 

gallons per minute or greater and the energy, in whatever 

form, present in, associated with, or created by, or which that 

may be extracted from, that natural heat. This definition does 

not include ground heat or groundwater resources at lower 

temperatures and rates that may be used in association with 

heat pump installations. 

"Geothermal waste" means any loss or escape of geothermal 

energy, including, but not limited to:  

1. Underground loss resulting from the inefficient, 

excessive, or improper use or dissipation of geothermal 

energy; or the locating, spacing, construction, equipping, 

operating, or producing of any well in a manner which that 

results, or tends to result, in reducing the quantity of 

geothermal energy to be recovered from any geothermal 

area in Virginia; provided, however, that unavoidable 

dissipation of geothermal energy resulting from oil and gas 

exploration and production shall not be construed to be 

geothermal waste.  

2. The inefficient above-ground transportation and storage 

of geothermal energy; and the locating, spacing, equipping, 

operating, or producing of any well or injection well in a 

manner causing or tending to cause, unnecessary or 

excessive surface loss or destruction of geothermal energy;  

3. The escape into the open air of steam or hot water in 

excess of what is reasonably necessary in the efficient 

development or production of a well.  

"Geothermal well" means any well drilled for the discovery 

or production of geothermal resources, any well reasonably 

presumed to contain geothermal resources, or any special 

well, converted producing well, or reactivated or converted 

abandoned well employed for reinjecting geothermal 

resources.  

"Injection well" means a well drilled or converted for the 

specific use of injecting waste geothermal fluids back into a 

geothermal production zone for disposal, reservoir pressure 

maintenance, or augmentation of reservoir fluids.  

"Inspector" means the Virginia Gas and Oil Inspector or 

such other public officer, employee, or other authority as may 

in emergencies be acting in the stead, or by law be assigned 

the duties of, the Virginia Gas and Oil Inspector under § 45.1-

361.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Monitoring well" means a well used to measure the effects 

of geothermal production on the quantity and quality of a 

potable groundwater aquifer.  

"Operator" means any person drilling, maintaining, 

operating, producing, or in control of any well, and shall 

include owner when any well is operated or has been operated 

or is about to be operated by or under the direction of the 

owner.  

"Owner" means the overlying property owner or lessee who 

has the right to drill into, produce, and appropriate from any 

geothermal area.  

"Permit" means a document issued by the department 

pursuant to this chapter for the construction and operation of 

any geothermal exploration, production, or injection well.  
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"Person" means any individual natural person, general or 

limited partnership, joint venture, association, cooperative 

organization, corporation whether domestic or foreign, 

agency or subdivision of this or any other state or the federal 

government, any municipal or quasi-municipal entity whether 

or not it is incorporated, receiver, trustee, guardian, executor, 

administrator, fiduciary, or representative of any kind.  

"Production casing" means the main casing string which 

protects the sidewalls of the well against collapse and 

conducts geothermal fluid to the surface.  

"Production record" means written accounts of a geothermal 

well's volumetric rate, pressure and temperature, and 

geothermal fluid quality.  

"Sequential utilization" means application of the geothermal 

resource to a use with the highest heat need and the 

subsequent channeling of the resource to other uses with 

lower temperature requirements before injection or disposal 

of the geothermal fluid.  

"Surface casing" (water protection string) means pipe 

designed to protect the freshwater sands.  

"Unitized drilling operation" means the management of 

separately owned tracts overlying a geothermal area as a 

single drilling unit.  

4VAC25-170-20. Resource conservation. 

A. In order to foster geothermal utilization, prevent waste, 

protect correlative rights, safeguard the natural environment, 

and promote geothermal resource conservation and 

management, the department may designate geothermal areas, 

require well spacing and unitization, and allow sequential 

utilization on a case-by-case basis.  

B. Wells shall be classified as to the geothermal area from 

which they produce, and geothermal areas shall be 

determined, designated, and named by the department in 

accordance with the definition provided in 4VAC25-170-10 

[ of this chapter ]. In designating geothermal areas, factors to 

be considered shall include but not be limited to common 

usage and geographic names; the surface topography and 

property lines of the land underlain by geothermal energy; the 

plan of well spacing being employed or proposed for the area; 

the depth at which resources have been found; and the nature 

and character of the producing formation or formations. In the 

event any person is dissatisfied with any such classification or 

determination, an application may be made to the department 

for reclassification or redetermination.  

C. Information provided the inspector [ division ] director in 

the notice of intent to proceed shall be used by the department 

to determine spacing between production wells and between 

production and injection wells. The department may also 

conduct independent investigations as deemed necessary to 

determine appropriate well spacing and utilization.  

When two or more separately owned tracts of land lie within 

a geothermal area, the department may require unitized 

operations under supervision of the inspector [ division ] 

director [ or his departmental representative ]. Unitized 

drilling operations shall be operated according to the principle 

of correlative rights.  

D. Persons desirous of engaging in sequential utilization 

shall file a formal request with the department which that 

shall contain the following items:  

1. A statement of the uses to be made of the geothermal 

resource.  

2. Evidence that sequential utilization will not cause heat 

drawdown in the geothermal aquifer, cause land 

subsidence, hinder observation of the geothermal resource, 

or contaminate potable water supplies.  

3. Requests for sequential utilization shall be reviewed and 

acted upon by the department within 45 days of receipt.  

4VAC25-170-30. Bonds, permits and fees.  

A. 1. Before any person shall engage in drilling for 

geothermal resources or construction of a geothermal well in 

Virginia, such person shall file with the inspector [ division ] 

director a completion bond with a surety company licensed to 

do business in the Commonwealth of Virginia in the amount 

of $10,000 for each exploratory and injection well, and 

$25,000 for each production well. Blanket bonds of $100,000 

may be granted at the discretion of the inspector [ division ] 

director.  

2. The return of such bonds shall be conditioned on the 

following requirements:  

a. Compliance with all statutes, rules, and regulations 

relating to geothermal regulations and the permit.  

b. Plugging and abandoning the well as approved by the 

inspector [ division ] director in accordance with 

4VAC25-170-80 of this chapter.  

3. A land stabilization bond of $1,000 per acre of land 

disturbed shall be required. Such bond will be released 

once drilling is completed and the land is reclaimed in 

accordance with 4VAC25-170-40 of this chapter.  

4. Liability under any bond may not be terminated without 

written approval of the inspector [ division ] director.  

B. Each exploration, production, and injection well permit 

application shall be accompanied by payment of a $75 

application fee.  

1. Applications will not be reviewed until the operator or 

designated agent submits proof of compliance with all 

pertinent local ordinances.  

Before commencement of exploratory drilling operations 

on any tract of land, the operator or designated agent shall 

file an exploration permit application with the department. 

An accurate map of the proposed wells on an appropriate 

scale showing adjoining property lines and the proposed 

locations, latitude and longitude using the Virginia 

Coordinate System of 1983 (Chapter 17 (§ 55-287 et seq.) 

of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia), and the depths and 

surface elevations shall be filed with the application. The 
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application also shall include an inventory of local water 

resources in the area of proposed development.  

2. Before commencement of production or injection well 

drilling, an application to produce and inject geothermal 

fluids shall be filed in the form of a notice of intent to 

proceed in accordance with the provisions of 4VAC25-

170-40 of this chapter.  

3. New permit applications must be submitted if, either 

prior to or during drilling, the operator desires to change 

the location of a proposed well. If the new location is 

within the boundaries established by the permit or within 

an unitized drilling operation, the application may be made 

orally and the inspector [ division ] director may orally 

authorize the commencement or continuance of drilling 

operations. Within 10 days after obtaining oral 

authorization, the operator shall file a new application to 

drill at the new location. A permit may be issued and the 

old permit cancelled without payment of additional fee. If 

the new location is located outside the unitized drilling unit 

covered by the first permit, no drilling shall be commenced 

or continued until the new permit is issued.  

4. All applications, requests, maps, reports, records, and 

other data (including report forms) required by or 

submitted to the department shall be signed by the owner, 

operator, or designated agent submitting such materials.  

5. The department will act on all permit applications within 

30 days of receipt of an application or as soon thereafter as 

practical.  

4VAC25-170-40. Notification of intent to proceed. 

The notification of intent to proceed with geothermal 

production as required by 4VAC25-170-30 of this chapter 

must be accompanied by (i) an operations plan, (ii) a 

geothermal fluid analysis, and (iii) a proposal for injection of 

spent fluids.  

1. The operations plan shall become part of the terms and 

conditions of any permit which that is issued, and the 

provisions of this plan shall be carried out where 

applicable in the drilling, production, and abandonment 

phase of the operation. The department may require any 

changes in the operations plan necessary to promote 

geothermal and water resource conservation and 

management, prevent waste, protect potable groundwater 

drinking supplies, or protect the environment, including a 

requirement for injection or unitization. The operations 

plan shall include the following information:  

a. An accurate plat or map, on a scale not smaller than 

400 feet to the inch, showing the proposed location, 

latitude, longitude using the Virginia Coordinate System 

of 1983 (Chapter 17 (§ 55-287 et seq.) of Title 55 of the 

Code of Virginia), and surface elevation of the 

production and injection wells as determined by survey, 

the courses and distances of such locations from two 

permanent points or landmarks on said tract, the well 

numbers, the name of the owner, the boundaries and 

acreage of the tract on which the wells are to be drilled, 

the location of water wells, surface bodies of water, 

actual or proposed access roads, other production and 

injection wells on adjoining tracts, the names of the 

owners of all adjoining tracts and of any other tract 

within 500 feet of the proposed location, and any 

building, highway, railroad, stream, oil or gas well, mine 

openings or workings, or quarry within 500 feet of the 

proposed location. The location must be surveyed and the 

plat certified by a registered surveyor and bear his 

certificate number.  

b. A summary geologic report of the area, including 

depth to proposed reservoir; type of reservoir; anticipated 

thickness of reservoir; anticipated temperature of the 

geothermal resource; anticipated porosity, permeability 

and pressure; geologic structures; and description of 

overlying formations and aquifers.  

c. The method of meeting the guidelines of the Erosion 

and Sediment Control Regulations as adopted by the 

Virginia [ Soil and Water Conservation Board 

Department of Conservation and Recreation ] pursuant to 

§§ 10.1-561 to 10.1-564 of the Code of Virginia.  

d. The method of disposing of all drilling muds and 

fluids, and all cement and other drilling materials from 

the well site; the proposed method of preventing such 

muds, fluids, drillings, or materials from seeping into 

springs, water wells, and surface waters during drilling 

operations.  

e. The method of construction and maintenance of access 

roads, materials to be used, method to maintain the 

natural drainage area, and method of directing surface 

water runoff from disturbed areas around undisturbed 

areas.  

f. The method of removing any rubbish or debris during 

the drilling, production, and abandonment phases of the 

project. All waste shall be handled in a manner which 

that prevents fire hazards or the pollution of surface 

streams and groundwater.  

g. The primary and alternative method of spent 

geothermal fluid disposal. All disposal methods shall be 

in accordance with state and federal laws for the 

protection of land and water resources.  

h. The methods of monitoring fluid quality, fluid 

temperature, and volumetric rate of production and 

injection wells.  

i. The method of monitoring potable drinking water 

aquifers close to production and injection zones.  

j. The method of monitoring for land subsidence.  

k. The method of plugging and abandoning wells and a 

plan for reclaiming production and injection well sites.  

l. The method of cleaning scale and corrosion in 

geothermal casing.  
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m. A description of measures which that will be used to 

minimize any adverse environmental impact of the 

proposed activities on the area's natural resources, 

aquatic life, or wildlife.  

2. Geothermal fluid analysis.  

a. A geothermal fluid analysis shall be submitted with the 

operations plan, and annually thereafter.  

b. Acceptable chemical parameters and sampling 

methods are set forth in 4VAC25-170-70 B of this 

chapter.  

3. Proposal for injection of geothermal fluids.  

a. Geothermal fluid shall be injected into the same 

geothermal area from which it was withdrawn in the 

Atlantic Coastal Plain. Plans for injection wells in this 

area shall include information on:  

(1) Existing reservoir conditions.  

(2) Method of injection.  

(3) Source of injection fluid.  

(4) Estimate of expected daily volume in gallons per 

minute per day.  

(5) Geologic zones or formations affected.  

(6) Chemical analyses of fluid to be injected.  

(7) Treatment of spent geothermal fluids prior to 

injection.  

b. Exemptions to the injection rule for geothermal fluid 

shall be approved by the department. Such requests shall 

be accompanied by a detailed statement of the proposed 

alternative method of geothermal fluid disposal; the 

effects of not injecting on such reservoir characteristics 

as pressure, temperature, and subsidence; and a copy of 

the operator's or designated agent's no-discharge permit.  

4VAC25-170-50. Well construction and maintenance. 

A. Every person drilling for geothermal resources in 

Virginia, or operating, owning, controlling or in possession of 

any well as defined herein, shall paint or stencil, and post and 

keep posted in a conspicuous place on or near the well a sign 

showing the name of the person, firm, company, corporation, 

or association drilling, owning, or controlling the well, the 

company or operator's well number, and the well 

identification number thereof. Well identification numbers 

will be assigned approved permits according to the USGS 

groundwater site inventory system. The lettering on such sign 

shall be kept in a legible condition at all times.  

B. The inspector [ division ] director shall receive notice 

prior to the commencement of well work concerning the 

identification number of the well and the date and time that 

well work is scheduled to begin. Telephone notice will fulfill 

this requirement.  

C. 1. Drilling-fluid materials sufficient to ensure well 

control shall be maintained in the field area and be readily 

accessible for use during drilling operations.  

2. All drilling muds shall be used in a fashion designed to 

protect freshwater-bearing sands, horizons, and aquifers 

from contamination during well construction.  

3. Drilling muds shall be removed from the drilling site 

after the well is completed and disposed of in the method 

approved in the operations plan.  

4. Operations shall be conducted with due care to 

minimizing the loss of reservoir permeability.  

D. All wells must be drilled with due diligence to maintain a 

reasonably vertical well bore. Deviation tests must be 

recorded in the drilling log for every 1000 feet drilled.  

E. 1. A well may deviate intentionally from the vertical with 

written permission by the inspector [ division ] director. Such 

permission shall not be granted without notice to adjoining 

landowners, except for side-tracking mechanical difficulties.  

2. When a well has been intentionally deviated from the 

vertical, a directional survey of the well bore must be filed 

with the department within 30 days after completion of the 

well.  

3. The department shall have the right to make, or to 

require the operator to make, a directional survey of any 

well, at the request of an adjoining operator or landowner 

prior to the completion of the well and at the expense of 

said adjoining operator or landowner. In addition, if the 

department has reason to believe that the well has deviated 

beyond the boundaries of the property on which the well is 

located, the department also shall have the right to make, 

or to require the operator to make, a directional survey of 

the well at the expense of the operator.  

F. 1. Valves approved by the inspector [ division ] director 

shall be installed and maintained on every completed well so 

that pressure measurements may be obtained at any time.  

2. Blow-out preventers during drilling shall be required 

when the working pressure on the wellhead connection is 

greater than 1000 psi.  

G. 1. Geothermal production wells shall be designed to 

ensure the efficient production and elimination of waste or 

escape of the resource.  

2. All freshwater-bearing sands, horizons, and aquifers 

shall be fully protected from contamination during the 

production of geothermal fluids.  

3. a. Surface casing shall extend from a point 12 inches 

above the surface to a point at least 50 feet below the 

deepest known groundwater aquifer or horizon.  

b. The operator, owner, or designated agent shall use new 

casing. Only casing which that meets American 

Petroleum Institute specifications, as found in API 5AC, 

Restricted Yield Strength Casing and Tubing, March, 

1982, API 5A, Casing Tubing, and Drill Pipe, March, 

1982, and API 5AX, High-Strength Casing, Tubing, and 

Drill Pipe, March, 1982, (and all subsequent revisions 

thereto), shall be used in geothermal production wells.  
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c. Cement introduced into a well for the purpose of 

cementing the casing or for the purpose of creating a 

permanent bridge during plugging operations shall be 

placed in the well by means of a method approved by the 

inspector [ division ] director. In addition:  

(1) Each surface string shall be cemented upward from 

the bottom of the casing.  

(2) Cement shall be allowed to stand for 24 hours or until 

comprehensive strength equals 500 psi before drilling.  

d. The department may modify casing requirements when 

special conditions demand it.  

4. a. The owner, operator, or designated agent shall use 

new casing. Only production casing which that meets 

American Petroleum Institute specifications, as found in 

API 5AC, Restricted Yield Strength Casing and Tubing, 

March, 1982, API 5A, Casing Tubing, and Drill Pipe, 

March, 1982, and API 5AX, High-Strength Casing, 

Tubing, and Drill Pipe, March, 1982, (and all subsequent 

revisions thereto), shall be used in geothermal production 

wells.  

b. Each well shall be cemented with a quantity of cement 

sufficient to fill the annular space from the production 

zone to the surface. The production casing shall be 

cemented to exclude, isolate, or segregate overlapping 

and to prevent the movement of fluids into freshwater 

zones.  

c. Cement shall be allowed to stand for 24 hours or until 

compressive strength equals 500 psi before drilling.  

d. Cement introduced into a well for the purpose of 

cementing the casing or for the purpose of creating a 

permanent bridge during plugging operations shall be 

placed in the well by means of a method approved by the 

inspector [ division ] director.  

e. The department may modify casing requirements when 

special conditions demand it.  

f. The inspector [ division ] director may require 

additional well tests if production or monitoring records 

indicate a leak in the production casing. When tests 

confirm the presence of a production casing leak, the 

inspector [ division ] director may require whatever 

actions are necessary to protect other strings and 

freshwater horizons.  

H. 1. The owner, operator, or designated agent shall use new 

casing. Only casing which that meets American Petroleum 

Institute specifications, as found in API 5AC, Restricted 

Yield Strength Casing and Tubing, March, 1982, API 5A, 

Casing Tubing, and Drill Pipe, March, 1982, and API 5AX, 

High-Strength Casing, Tubing, and Drill Pipe, March, 1982, 

(and all subsequent revisions thereto), shall be used in 

geothermal injection wells.  

2. The casing program shall be designed so that no 

contamination will be caused to freshwater strata. Injection 

shall be done through production casing adequately sealed 

and cemented to allow for monitoring of the annulus 

between the injection string and the last intermediate string 

or water protection string, as the case may be. Injection 

pressure shall be monitored and regulated to minimize the 

possibility of fracturing the confining strata.  

3. Production casing shall be cemented through the entire 

freshwater zone.  

4. The rate of injection of geothermal fluid shall not exceed 

the production rate.  

5. Adequate and proper wellhead equipment shall be 

installed and maintained in good working order on every 

injection well not abandoned and plugged, so that pressure 

measurements may be obtained at any time.  

I. 1. The inspector [ division ] director or a departmental 

representative shall have access to geothermal well sites 

during business hours.  

2. The state geologist or his designated representative shall 

have access to any drilling site for the purpose of 

examining whole cores or cuttings as may be appropriate.  

J. At least ten 10 days prior to any chemical cleaning of 

production casing, the operator shall notify the inspector 

[ division ] director in writing of the type and amount of 

chemical to be used and obtain approval for its use.  

K. The well operator, or his designated agent, shall file a 

completion report within 60 days after well work is 

completed. The completion report shall be accompanied by 

copies of any drilling logs required under 4VAC25-170-40 of 

this chapter.  

4VAC25-170-60. Records, logs and general requirements.  

A. 1. During the drilling and production phases of every 

well, the owner, operator, or designated agent responsible for 

the conduct of drilling operations shall keep at the well an 

accurate record of the well's operations as outlined in 

subsection C of this section. These records shall be accessible 

to the inspector [ division ] director at all reasonable hours.  

2. The refusal of the well operator or designated agent to 

furnish upon request such logs or records or to give 

information regarding the well to the department shall 

constitute sufficient cause to require the cessation or 

shutting down of all drilling or other operations at the well 

site until the request is honored.  

3. Drilling logs supplied to the department will be kept in 

confidence in accordance with § 40.1-11 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

4. Copies of all drilling logs and productions records 

required by this chapter shall be [ sent electronically or ] 

mailed to:  

  Virginia Gas and Oil Inspector [ Division ] Director 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy  

Division of Gas and Oil  

P.O. Box 1416 159 

Abingdon, VA 24212 Lebanon, VA 24266 
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5. Samples representative of all strata penetrated in each 

well shall be collected and furnished to the 

Commonwealth. Such samples shall be in the form of rock 

cuttings collected so as to represent the strata encountered 

in successive intervals no greater than 10 feet. If coring is 

done, however, the samples to be furnished shall consist, at 

a minimum, of one-quarter segments of core obtained. All 

samples shall be handled as follows:  

a. Rock cuttings shall be dried and properly packaged in 

a manner that will protect the individual samples, each of 

which shall be identified by the well name, identification 

number, and interval penetrated.  

b. Samples of core shall be boxed according to standard 

practice and identified as to well name and identification 

number and interval penetrated.  

c. All samples shall be shipped or mailed, charges 

prepaid, to:  

  Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy  

Division of Mineral Resources  

Fontaine Research Park  

900 Natural Resources Drive  

P.O. Box 3667  

Charlottesville, VA 22903  

B. Each well operator, owner, or designated agent, within 30 

days after the completion of any well, shall furnish to the 

inspector [ division ] director a copy of the drilling log. 

Drilling logs shall list activities in chronological order and 

include the following information:  

1. The well's location and identification number.  

2. A record of casings set in wells.  

3. Formations encountered.  

4. Deviation tests for every one thousand feet drilled.  

5. Cementing procedures.  

6. A copy of the downhole geophysical logs.  

C. The owner, operator, or designated agent of any 

production or injection well shall keep or cause to be kept a 

careful and accurate production record. The following 

information shall be reported to the inspector [ division ] 

director on a monthly basis for the first six months and 

quarterly thereafter, or as required by permit, unless 

otherwise stated:  

1. Pressure measurements as monitored by valves on 

production and injection wells.  

2. The volumetric rate of production or injection measured 

in terms of the average flow of geothermal fluids in gallons 

per minute per day of operation.  

3. Temperature measurements of the geothermal fluid 

being produced or injected, including the maximum 

temperature measured in the bore-hole and its 

corresponding depth, and the temperature of the fluid as 

measured at the discharge point at the beginning and 

conclusion of a timed production test.  

4. Hydraulic head as measured by the piezometric method.  

4VAC25-170-70. Groundwater monitoring.  

A. 1. Groundwater shall be monitored through special 

monitoring wells or existing water wells in the area of impact, 

as determined by the department.  

2. Monitoring shall be performed and reported to the 

inspector [ division ] director daily on both water quality 

and piezometric head for the first 30 days of geothermal 

production. Thereafter, quarterly tests for piezometric head 

and for water quality shall be reported to the inspector 

[ division ] director.  

3. The monitoring of groundwater shall meet the following 

conditions:  

a. A minimum of one monitoring well per production or 

injection well is required. Monitoring wells shall monitor 

those significant potable aquifers through which the well 

passes as required by the department.  

b. The monitoring wells shall be located within the first 

50% of the projected cone of depression for the 

geothermal production well.  

c. The well(s) shall be constructed to measure variations 

in piezometric head and water quality. Groundwater shall 

be chemically analyzed for the following parameters: 

mineral content (alkalinity, chloride, dissolved solids, 

fluoride, calcium, sodium, potassium, carbonate, 

bicarbonate, sulfate, nitrate, boron, and silica); metal 

content (cadmium, arsenic, mercury, copper, iron, nickel, 

magnesium, manganese, and zinc); and general 

parameters (pH, conductivity, dissolved solids, and 

hardness).  

d. The department may require additional analyses if 

levels of the above parameters indicate their necessity to 

protect groundwater supplies.  

B. 1. Chemical analyses of geothermal fluids shall be filed 

with the inspector [ division ] director on an annual basis.  

2. Samples for the chemical fluid analysis shall be taken 

from fluid as measured at the discharge point of the 

production well at the conclusion of a two-hour production 

test.  

3. The production fluid shall be chemically analyzed for 

the following parameters: mineral content (alkalinity, 

chloride, dissolved solids, fluoride, calcium, sodium, 

potassium, carbonate, bicarbonate, sulfate, nitrate, boron, 

and silica); metal content (cadmium, arsenic, mercury, 

copper, iron, nickel, magnesium, manganese, and zinc); 

gas analyses (hydrogen sulfide, ammonia, carbon dioxide, 

and gross alpha); and general parameters (pH, 

conductivity, and dissolved solids).  
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4. The department may require additional analyses if levels 

of the above parameters indicate follow-up tests are 

necessary.  

C. 1. Subsidence shall be monitored by the annual surveys 

of a certified surveyor from vertical benchmarks located 

above the projected cone of depression, as well as points 

outside its boundaries. The surveys shall be filled with the 

inspector [ division ] director by the operator or designated 

agent.  

2. The department may order micro-earthquake 

monitoring, if surveys indicate the occurrence of 

subsidence.  

D. 1. The operator, owner, or designated agent shall 

maintain records of any monitoring activity required in his 

permit or by this chapter. All records of monitoring samples 

shall include:  

a. The well identification number.  

b. The date the sample was collected.  

c. Time of sampling.  

d. Exact place of sampling.  

e. Person or firm performing analysis.  

f. Date analysis of the sample was performed.  

g. The analytical method or methods used.  

h. Flow-point at which sample was taken.  

i. The results of such analysis.  

2. The operator, owner, or designated agent shall retain for 

a period of five years any records of monitoring activities 

and results, including all original strip chart recordings of 

continuous monitoring installations. The period of 

retention will automatically be extended during the course 

of any litigation regarding the discharge of contaminants 

by the permittee until such time as the litigation has ceased 

or when requested by the inspector [ division ] director. 

This requirement shall apply during the five-year period 

following abandonment of a well.  

4VAC25-170-80. Abandonment and plugging of wells.  

A. Notification of intent to abandon any exploration, 

production, or injection well must be received by the 

inspector [ division ] director during working hours at least 

one day before the beginning of plugging operations. When 

notification of intent to abandon an exploratory, production, 

or injection well is received, the inspector [ division ] director 

may send a departmental representative to the location 

specified and at the time stated to witness the plugging of the 

well.  

B. 1. Any drilling well completed as a dry hole from which 

the rig is to be removed shall be cemented unless 

authorization to the contrary has been given by the inspector 

[ division ] director.  

2. The bottom of the hole shall be filled to, or a bridge 

shall be placed at the top of, each producing formation 

open to the well bore. Additionally, a cement plug not less 

than 50 feet in length shall be placed immediately above 

each producing formation.  

3. A continuous cement plug shall be placed through all 

freshwater-bearing aquifers and shall extend at least 50 feet 

above and 50 feet below said aquifers.  

4. A plug not less than 20 feet in length shall be placed at 

or near the surface of the ground in each hole.  

5. The interval between plugs shall be filled with a 

nonporous medium.  

6. The method of placing cement in the holes shall be by 

any method approved by the inspector [ division ] director 

in advance of placement.  

7. The exact location of each abandoned well shall be 

marked by a piece of pipe not less than four inches in 

diameter securely set in concrete and extending at least 

four feet above the general ground level. A permanent sign 

of durable construction shall be welded or otherwise 

permanently attached to the pipe, and shall contain the well 

identification information required by 4VAC25-170-50.  

8. When drilling operations have been suspended for 60 

days, the well shall be plugged and abandoned unless 

written permission for temporary abandonment has been 

obtained from the inspector [ division ] director.  

9. Within 20 days after the plugging of any well, the 

responsible operator, owner, or designated agent who 

plugged or caused the well to be plugged shall file a notice 

with the department indicating the manner in which the 

well was plugged.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1316; Filed September 4, 2012, 12:57 p.m.  
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Basis: The Virginia Dam Safety Act (§ 10.1-604 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia) ensures public safety through the proper 

and safe design, construction, operation, and maintenance of 

impounding structures in the Commonwealth. This is 

accomplished through the effective administration of the 

Virginia Dam Safety Program. Authority for the program 

rests with the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board 

and it is administered on behalf of the board by the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation's Division of 

Dam Safety and Floodplain Management. The program 

focuses on enhancing public safety through bringing all 

impounding structures of regulated size under Regular 

Operation and Maintenance Certificates. Pursuant to § 10.1-

605, the board is directed to promulgate regulations for 

impounding structures. Further, the board reserves the sole 

right to promulgate regulations. 

The three items that the board directed the department and the 

regulatory advisory panel to consider in the regulatory action 

were as follows: 

1. Develop regulations (considering existing guidance) 

that consider the impact of downstream limited-use or 

private roadways with low traffic volume and low public 

safety risk on the determination of the hazard potential 

classification of an impounding structure; 

2. Develop regulations that provide a method to conduct 

a simplified dam break inundation zone analysis; and 

3. Develop regulations that set out the necessary 

requirements to obtain a general permit for a low hazard 

impounding structure. 

These actions were predicated on the following legislation 

and information that was closely considered in the 

development of the regulations: 

Item 1: 

•  Chapter 270 of the 2010 Virginia Acts of Assembly 

(HB438 - Delegate David J. Toscano) amended § 10.1-

605 C of the Code of Virginia to direct that "[t]he Board 

shall consider the impact of limited-use or private 

roadways with low traffic volume and low public safety 

risk that are downstream from or across an impounding 

structure in the determination of the hazard potential 

classification of an impounding structure." 

•  Chapter 41 of the 2010 Virginia Acts of Assembly 

(SB244 - Senator John C. Watkins) resulted in the 

codification of § 10.1-605.2 of the Code of Virginia that 

stipulates "[t]hat the Virginia Soil and Water 

Conservation Board shall, in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.), adopt 

regulations that consider the impact of downstream 

limited-use or private roadways with low traffic volume 

and low public safety risk on the determination of the 

hazard potential classification of an impounding structure 

under the Dam Safety Act (§ 10.1-604 et seq.)." 

•  During 2010, in partial response to these legislative 

directives, the Director of the Department approved on 

November 30, 2010, a "Guidance Document on 

Roadways On or Below Impounding Structures." The 

guidance was strongly considered in the construct of the 

regulations.  

Item 2: 

•  Chapter 637 of the 2011 Virginia Acts of Assembly 

(SB1060 - Senator Ryan T. McDougle) created § 10.1-

604.1 titled "Determination of hazard potential class" 

with a subsection C that specifies that "[t]he Board may 

adopt regulations in accordance with § 10.1-605 to 

establish a simplified methodology for dam break 

inundation zone analysis." 

Item 3: 

•  Chapter 637 of the 2011 Virginia Acts of Assembly 

(SB1060 - Senator Ryan T. McDougle) created § 10.1-

605.3 titled "General permit for certain impounding 

structures" with a subsection A that specifies that "[t]he 

Board shall develop a general permit for the regulation of 

low hazard potential impounding structures in 

accordance with § 10.1-605." 

Purpose: The changes being advanced by this regulatory 

action are largely in response to requirements placed in the 

Code of Virginia during the last several General Assembly 

Sessions that directed the board to: 

1. Adopt regulations that consider the impact of 

downstream limited-use or private roadways with low 

traffic volume and low public safety risk on the 

determination of the hazard potential classification of an 

impounding structure under the Dam Safety Act (§ 10.1-

604 et seq.). 

2. Adopt regulations in accordance with § 10.1-605 to 

establish a simplified methodology for dam break 

inundation zone analysis. 

3. Develop a general permit for the regulation of low 

hazard potential impounding structures in accordance 

with § 10.1-605. 

Accordingly, the provisions of the regulations being advanced 

will result in reduced and streamlined compliance 

requirements that will provide less costly services for 

mapping, provide additional mechanisms through which a 

hazard potential classification and related spillway design 

flood may be reduced through new provisions including low 

volume roadway and expanded incremental damage analysis 

considerations, as well as provide for a streamlined general 

permit process for the regulation of low hazard potential 

impounding structures. The provisions of this regulatory 

action are intended to provide true economic and regulatory 

relief for all low hazard potential dam owners and additional 

opportunities for regulatory relief for high and significant 

hazard potential dam owners while remaining mindful of the 

Commonwealth's public safety obligations. 
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Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: This rulemaking is 

expected to be noncontroversial as the majority of the 

provisions included in these regulations largely incorporate 

requirements set out in the Code where limited discretion is 

offered and are being advanced to provide true economic and 

regulatory relief to those regulated. Where limited latitude 

was available in developing regulatory provisions, there was 

general consensus regarding the language included from a 

regulatory advisory panel composed of private, local, and 

state dam owners and engineers that was assembled to 

provide sound recommendations to the department and board 

regarding these regulatory improvements. 

Substance: The key substantive changes included in this 

regulatory action involve the following: 

1. Amending the hazard potential classification section 

(4VAC50-20-40) to:  

a. Exclude roadways with an annual average daily traffic 

volume of 400 vehicles or less from consideration as 

major roadways or secondary roadways that traditionally 

lead to hazard classifications of high or significant 

respectively.  

b. Establish that the department may be requested by a 

dam owner in specified situations to conduct a simplified 

dam break inundation zone analysis to determine whether 

the impounding structure has a low hazard potential 

classification.  

c. Specify that if the department finds that an impounding 

structure appears to have a low hazard potential 

classification that the owner may be eligible for general 

permit coverage.  

d. Specify that an incremental damage analysis may be 

utilized as part of hazard potential classification by the 

owners engineer.  

2. Establishing a new section (4VAC50-20-45) on low 

volume roadways that tracks the guidance previously 

approved by the director and specifically: 

a. Sets out the analysis methods by which a 

determination may be made whether a road is impacted 

by a dam failure. 

b. Specifies that an incremental damage analysis may be 

utilized to refine what roadways should be considered 

impacted. 

c. Establishes that an impounding structure may qualify 

for low hazard potential classification based on annual 

average daily traffic (AADT) volume if other 

downstream factors do not exist that would otherwise 

raise the hazard classification. 

d. Establishes accepted methodologies for determining a 

road's AADT. 

e. Sets an AADT volume of 400 vehicles or less as the 

number where a roadway may be considered "limited 

use" and how an impounding structure may qualify for 

low hazard potential classification. 

f. Requires that the Emergency Preparedness Plan 

consider these "limited use" roadways regarding proper 

notifications during emergency conditions. 

3. Amending the incremental damage analysis section 

(4VAC50-20-52) to establish processes by which the 

potential hazard potential classification of an impounding 

structure may be lowered based on the results of an 

incremental damage analysis.  

4. Amending the dam break inundation zone mapping 

section (4VAC50-20-54) to:  

a. Clarify that the department may complete for a dam 

owner a simplified dam break inundation zone map and 

analysis in accordance with this section.  

b. Specify that Emergency Action and Emergency 

Preparedness Plans shall include maps for the sunny day 

dam failure and a probable maximum flood with a dam 

failure.  

c. Specify the general deliverables and administrative 

processes associated with the department conducting a 

simplified dam break inundation zone analysis.  

5. Establishing a new section (4VAC50-20-101) on general 

permit requirements for low hazard potential impounding 

structures that specifies that the owner shall be subject to 

the following requirements:  

a. The dam has a spillway design able to safely pass a 

100-year flood.  

b. The owner shall develop and maintain an emergency 

preparedness plan.  

c. The owner shall perform an annual inspection and 

maintain such records and make them available to the 

department upon request.  

d. The owner shall ensure that the impounding structure 

is properly maintained and operated and shall have 

operation and maintenance plans and schedules available 

to the department for inspection upon request.  

e. The owner shall file a dam break inundation zone map 

with the department and the locality or localities.  

f. The owner shall notify the specified authorities in the 

event of a failure or imminent failure of the impounding 

structure.  

6. Establishing a new section (4VAC50-20-102) regarding 

registering for coverage under the general permit for low 

hazard potential impounding structures that specifies that 

the owner shall submit a complete and accurate registration 

statement and sets out the eight components of that 

submittal.  

Issues: The regulations being advanced provide advantages 

(reduced and streamlined compliance requirements) to those 

impounding structure owners regulated under the Virginia 

Dam Safety Act and its attendant regulations by providing 
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less costly services for mapping, providing additional 

mechanisms through which a hazard potential classification 

and related spillway design flood may be reduced through 

new provisions including low volume roadway and expanded 

incremental damage analysis considerations, as well as 

providing for a streamlined general permit process for the 

regulation of low hazard potential impounding structures. The 

provisions of this regulatory action are intended to provide 

true economic and regulatory relief for all low hazard 

potential dam owners and additional opportunities for 

regulatory relief for high and significant hazard potential dam 

owners while remaining mindful of the Commonwealth's 

public safety obligations. Downstream residents and property 

owners below regulated dams should not be disadvantaged or 

their safety affected by these actions as they largely provide 

for streamlined processes, provide for less costly services, 

and reduce dam standards only where risks are low and 

reasonable to do such. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board (Board) 

proposes changes to these regulations in response to 

requirements placed in the Code of Virginia during the last 

several General Assembly Sessions that directed the Board to: 

1) adopt regulations that consider the impact of downstream 

limited-use or private roadways with low traffic volume and 

low public safety risk on the determination of the hazard 

potential classification of an impounding structure under the 

Dam Safety Act ( § 10.1-604 et seq.), 2) adopt regulations in 

accordance with § 10.1-605 to establish a simplified 

methodology for dam break inundation zone analysis, and 3) 

develop a general permit for the regulation of low hazard 

potential impounding structures in accordance with § 10.1-

605. 

The proposed regulations contain provisions that address 

these Code requirements and offer a balance between public 

safety and the reduced risks associated with low hazard 

impounding structures. The key elements of the proposed 

amendments to these regulations include: 1) provisions to 

allow for the use of incremental damage analyses to modify 

hazard potential classifications, 2) the use of an annual 

average daily traffic (AADT) volume of 400 vehicles or less 

as the number where a roadway may be considered "limited 

use" and processes by which such an impounding structure 

may qualify for low hazard potential classification, 3) the 

implementation of a streamlined general permit process with 

reduced requirements, and 4) the ability for the Department to 

assist specified dam owners by conducting simplified dam 

break inundation zone analyses for them. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Overall, public and private dam 

owners will be positively affected as some will benefit from 

reduced dam safety compliance costs associated with 

proposed mechanisms through which hazard potential 

classification may be reduced. Proposed new provisions 

including low volume roadway and expanded incremental 

damage analysis considerations. The Department of 

Conservation and Recreation does not believe that the safety 

of downstream residents and property owners will be 

negatively affected by the proposed amendments as they 

largely provide for streamlined processes, provide for less 

costly services, and reduce required dam standards only 

where risks are low.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed changes 

affect regulated public and private dam owners that are 

subject to these regulations as well as downstream residents 

and property owners who would be potentially affected upon 

a dam failure. Approximately 1600 dams across the 

Commonwealth could be affected by this regulatory action. 

Of these dams, as of December 2011, slightly over 220 were 

classified as high hazard, almost 400 as significant hazard, 

and over 940 as low hazard. The low hazard dam owners will 

benefit the most from the proposed new provisions of these 

regulations. A number of these dam owners may be small 

businesses.  

Localities Particularly Affected. Dams exist throughout the 

Commonwealth. The proposal to classify some impounding 

structures as low hazard due partially to low traffic volume 

would likely affect less densely populated localities more 

than relatively congested portions of Virginia. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments will likely reduce dam safety 

compliance costs and consequently somewhat increase the net 

value of private property that includes impounding structures. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments will likely reduce dam safety compliance costs 

for some small businesses that own dams.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

impact small businesses.  

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

will potentially reduce development costs for qualifying 

properties that include impounding structures.  

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
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the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Conservation and Recreation concurs with the 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 

Planning and Budget regarding the Impounding Structure 

Regulations (4VAC50-20). 

Summary: 

The amendments address the Code of Virginia 

requirements of the board to (i) adopt regulations that 

consider the impact of downstream limited-use or private 

roadways with low traffic volume and low public safety 

risk on the determination of the hazard potential 

classification of an impounding structure under the Dam 

Safety Act (§ 10.1-604 et seq.); (ii) adopt regulations in 

accordance with § 10.1-605 to establish a simplified 

methodology for dam break inundation zone analysis; and 

(iii) develop a general permit for the regulation of low 

hazard potential impounding structures in accordance with 

§ 10.1-605. 

The key elements of the regulations include: 

1. Provisions to allow for the use of incremental damage 

analyses to modify hazard potential classifications; 

2. The use of an annual average daily traffic (AADT) 

volume of 400 vehicles or less as the number where a 

roadway may be considered limited use and processes by 

which such an impounding structure may qualify for low 

hazard potential classification; 

3. The implementation of a streamlined general permit 

process with reduced requirements for low hazard dams; 

and 

4. The ability for the department to assist specified dam 

owners by conducting simplified dam break inundation 

zone analyses for them. 

4VAC50-20-30. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Acre-foot" means a unit of volume equal to 43,560 cubic 

feet or 325,853 gallons (equivalent to one foot of depth over 

one acre of area).  

"Agricultural purpose" means the production of an 

agricultural commodity as defined in § 3.1-249.27 § 3.2-3900 

of the Code of Virginia that requires the use of impounded 

waters. 

"Agricultural purpose dams" means impounding structures 

which are less than 25 feet in height or which create a 

maximum impoundment smaller than 100 acre-feet, and 

operated primarily for agricultural purposes.  

"Alteration" means changes to an impounding structure that 

could alter or affect its structural integrity. Alterations 

include, but are not limited to, changing the height or 

otherwise enlarging the dam, increasing normal pool or 

principal spillway elevation or physical dimensions, changing 

the elevation or physical dimensions of the emergency 

spillway, conducting necessary structural repairs or structural 

maintenance, or removing the impounding structure. 

Structural maintenance does not include routine maintenance.  

"Alteration permit" means a permit required for any 

alteration to an impounding structure. 

"Annual average daily traffic" or "AADT" means the total 

volume of vehicle traffic of a highway or road for a year 

divided by 365 days and is a measure used in transportation 

planning and transportation engineering of how busy a road 

is. 

"Board" means the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation 

Board.  

"Conditional Operation and Maintenance Certificate" means 

a certificate required for impounding structures with 

deficiencies.  

"Construction" means the construction of a new impounding 

structure. 

"Construction permit" means a permit required for the 

construction of a new impounding structure.  

"Dam break inundation zone" means the area downstream of 

a dam that would be inundated or otherwise directly affected 

by the failure of a dam. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 

Conservation and Recreation. 

"Design flood" means the calculated volume of runoff and 

the resulting peak discharge utilized in the evaluation, design, 

construction, operation and maintenance of the impounding 

structure.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Conservation and Recreation or his designee.  

"Drill" means a type of emergency action plan exercise that 

tests, develops, or maintains skills in an emergency response 

procedure. During a drill, participants perform an in-house 

exercise to verify telephone numbers and other means of 
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communication along with the owner's response. A drill is 

considered a necessary part of ongoing training. 

"Emergency Action Plan or EAP" means a formal document 

that recognizes potential impounding structure emergency 

conditions and specifies preplanned actions to be followed to 

minimize loss of life and property damage. The EAP specifies 

actions the owner must take to minimize or alleviate 

emergency conditions at the impounding structure. It contains 

procedures and information to assist the owner in issuing 

early warning and notification messages to responsible 

emergency management authorities. It shall also contain dam 

break inundation zone maps as required to show emergency 

management authorities the critical areas for action in case of 

emergency. 

"Emergency Action Plan Exercise" means an activity 

designed to promote emergency preparedness; test or evaluate 

EAPs, procedures, or facilities; train personnel in emergency 

management duties; and demonstrate operational capability. 

In response to a simulated event, exercises should consist of 

the performance of duties, tasks, or operations very similar to 

the way they would be performed in a real emergency. An 

exercise may include but not be limited to drills and tabletop 

exercises. 

"Emergency Preparedness Plan" means a formal document 

prepared for Low Hazard impounding structures that provides 

maps and procedures for notifying owners of downstream 

property that may be impacted by an emergency situation at 

an impounding structure. 

"Existing impounding structure" means any impounding 

structure in existence or under a construction permit prior to 

July 1, 2010. 

"Freeboard" means the vertical distance between the 

maximum water surface elevation associated with the 

spillway design flood and the top of the impounding 

structure. 

"Height" means the hydraulic height of an impounding 

structure. If the impounding structure spans a stream or 

watercourse, height means the vertical distance from the 

natural bed of the stream or watercourse measured at the 

downstream toe of the impounding structure to the top of the 

impounding structure. If the impounding structure does not 

span a stream or watercourse, height means the vertical 

distance from the lowest elevation of the downstream limit of 

the barrier to the top of the impounding structure.  

"Impounding structure" or "dam" means a man-made 

structure, whether a dam across a watercourse or structure 

outside a watercourse, used or to be used to retain or store 

waters or other materials. The term includes: (i) all dams that 

are 25 feet or greater in height and that create an 

impoundment capacity of 15 acre-feet or greater, and (ii) all 

dams that are six feet or greater in height and that create an 

impoundment capacity of 50 acre-feet or greater. The term 

"impounding structure" shall not include: (a) dams licensed 

by the State Corporation Commission that are subject to a 

safety inspection program; (b) dams owned or licensed by the 

United States government; (c) dams operated primarily for 

agricultural purposes which are less than 25 feet in height or 

which create a maximum impoundment capacity smaller than 

100 acre-feet; (d) water or silt retaining dams approved 

pursuant to § 45.1-222 or § 45.1-225.1 of the Code of 

Virginia; or (e) obstructions in a canal used to raise or lower 

water.  

"Impoundment" means a body of water or other materials 

the storage of which is caused by any impounding structure.  

"Life of the impounding structure" and "life of the project" 

mean that period of time for which the impounding structure 

is designed and planned to perform effectively, including the 

time required to remove the structure when it is no longer 

capable of functioning as planned and designed.  

"Maximum impounding capacity" means the volume of 

water or other materials in acre-feet that is capable of being 

impounded at the top of the impounding structure.  

"New construction" means any impounding structure issued 

a construction permit or otherwise constructed on or after July 

1, 2010. 

"Normal or typical water surface elevation" means the water 

surface elevation at the crest of the lowest ungated outlet 

from the impoundment or the elevation of the normal pool of 

the impoundment if different than the water surface elevation 

at the crest of the lowest ungated outlet. For calculating sunny 

day failures for flood control impounding structures, 

stormwater detention impounding structures, and related 

facilities designed to hold back volumes of water for slow 

release, the normal or typical water surface elevation shall be 

measured at the crest of the auxiliary or emergency spillway.  

"Operation and Maintenance Certificate" means a certificate 

required for the operation and maintenance of all impounding 

structures.  

"Owner" means the owner of the land on which an 

impounding structure is situated, the holder of an easement 

permitting the construction of an impounding structure and 

any person or entity agreeing to maintain an impounding 

structure. The term "owner" may include the Commonwealth 

or any of its political subdivisions, including but not limited 

to sanitation district commissions and authorities, any public 

or private institutions, corporations, associations, firms or 

companies organized or existing under the laws of this 

Commonwealth or any other state or country, as well as any 

person or group of persons acting individually or as a group.  

"Planned land use" means land use that has been approved 

by a locality or included in a master land use plan by a 

locality, such as in a locality's comprehensive land use plan.  

"Spillway" means a structure to provide for the controlled 

release of flows from the impounding structure into a 

downstream area. 
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"Stage I Condition" means a flood watch or heavy 

continuous rain or excessive flow of water from ice or snow 

melt. 

"Stage II Condition" means a flood watch or emergency 

spillway activation or impounding structure overtopping 

where a failure may be possible. 

"Stage III Condition" means an emergency spillway 

activation or impounding structure overtopping where 

imminent failure is probable. 

"Sunny day dam failure" means the failure of an impounding 

structure with the initial water level at the normal reservoir 

level, usually at the lowest ungated principal spillway 

elevation or the typical operating water level. 

"Tabletop Exercise" means a type of emergency action plan 

exercise that involves a meeting of the impounding structure 

owner and the state and local emergency management 

officials in a conference room environment. The format is 

usually informal with minimum stress involved. The exercise 

begins with the description of a simulated event and proceeds 

with discussions by the participants to evaluate the EAP and 

response procedures and to resolve concerns regarding 

coordination and responsibilities. 

"Top of the impounding structure" means the lowest point of 

the nonoverflow section of the impounding structure.  

"Watercourse" means a natural channel having a well-

defined bed and banks and in which water normally flows.  

4VAC50-20-40. Hazard potential classifications of 

impounding structures.  

A. Impounding structures shall be classified in one of three 

hazard classifications as defined in subsection B of this 

section and Table 1.  

B. For the purpose of this chapter, hazards pertain to 

potential loss of human life or damage to the property of 

others downstream from the impounding structure in event of 

failure or faulty operation of the impounding structure or 

appurtenant facilities. Hazard potential classifications of 

impounding structures are as follows: 

1. High Hazard Potential is defined where an impounding 

structure failure will cause probable loss of life or serious 

economic damage. "Probable loss of life" means that 

impacts will occur that are likely to cause a loss of human 

life, including but not limited to impacts to residences, 

businesses, other occupied structures, or major roadways. 

Economic damage may occur to, but not be limited to, 

building(s), industrial or commercial facilities, public 

utilities, major roadways, railroads, personal property, and 

agricultural interests. "Major roadways" include, but are 

not limited to, interstates, primary highways, high-volume 

urban streets, or other high-volume roadways, except those 

having an AADT volume of 400 vehicles or less in 

accordance with 4VAC50-20-45.  

2. Significant Hazard Potential is defined where an 

impounding structure failure may cause the loss of life or 

appreciable economic damage. "May cause loss of life" 

means that impacts will occur that could cause a loss of 

human life, including but not limited to impacts to facilities 

that are frequently utilized by humans other than 

residences, businesses, or other occupied structures, or to 

secondary roadways. Economic damage may occur to, but 

not be limited to, building(s), industrial or commercial 

facilities, public utilities, secondary roadways, railroads, 

personal property, and agricultural interests. "Secondary 

roadways" include, but are not limited to, secondary 

highways, low-volume urban streets, service roads, or 

other low-volume roadways, except those having an 

AADT volume of 400 vehicles or less in accordance with 

4VAC50-20-45.  

3. Low Hazard Potential is defined where an impounding 

structure failure would result in no expected loss of life and 

would cause no more than minimal economic damage. "No 

expected loss of life" means no loss of human life is 

anticipated.  

C. The hazard potential classification shall be proposed by 

the owner and shall be subject to approval by the board. To 

support the appropriate hazard potential classification, dam 

break analysis shall be conducted by the owner's engineer or 

the department in accordance with one of the following 

alternatives and utilizing procedures set out in 4VAC50-20-

54. Present and planned land-use for which a development 

plan has been officially approved by the locality in the dam 

break inundation zones downstream from the impounding 

structure shall be considered in determining the classification.  

1. The owner of an impounding structure that does not 

currently hold a regular or conditional certificate from the 

board, or the owner of an impounding structure that is 

already under certificate but the owner believes that a 

condition has changed downstream of the impounding 

structure that may reduce its hazard potential classification, 

may request in writing that the department conduct a 

simplified dam break inundation zone analysis to 

determine whether the impounding structure has a low 

hazard potential classification. The owner shall pay a fee to 

the department in accordance with 4VAC50-20-395 for 

conducting each requested analysis. The department shall 

address requests in the order received and shall strive to 

complete analysis within 90 days; or 

2. The owner may propose a hazard potential classification 

that shall be subject to approval by the board. To support 

the proposed hazard potential classification, an analysis 

shall be conducted by the owner's engineer and submitted 

to the department. The hazard potential classification shall 

be certified by the owner. 

D. Findings of the analysis conducted pursuant to subsection 

C of this section shall result in one of the following actions: 

1. For findings by the department resulting from analyses 

conducted in accordance with subdivision C 1 of this 

section: 
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a. If the department finds that the impounding structure 

appears to have a low hazard potential classification, the 

owner may be eligible for general permit coverage in 

accordance with 4VAC50-20-103. 

b. If the department finds that the impounding structure 

appears to have a high or significant hazard potential 

classification, the owner's engineer shall provide further 

analysis in accordance with the procedures set out in 

4VAC50-20-54 and this chapter. The owner may be 

eligible for grant assistance from the Dam Safety, Flood 

Prevention and Protection Assistance Fund in accordance 

with Article 1.2 (§ 10.1-603.16 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of 

Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. For findings by the owner's engineer resulting from 

analyses conducted in accordance with subdivision C 2 of 

this section: 

a. If the engineer finds that the impounding structure has 

a low hazard potential classification, the owner may be 

eligible for general permit coverage in accordance with 

4VAC50-20-103; or 

b. If the engineer finds that the impounding structure 

appears to have a high or significant hazard potential 

classification, then the owner shall comply with the 

applicable certification requirements set out in this 

chapter. 

E. An incremental damage analysis in accordance with 

4VAC50-20-52 may be utilized as part of a hazard potential 

classification by the owner's engineer. 

F. Impounding structures shall be subject to reclassification 

by the board as necessary.  

4VAC50-20-45. Hazard potential classifications based on 

low volume roadways. 

A. All impacted public and private roadways downstream or 

across an impounding structure shall be considered in 

determining hazard potential classification. To determine 

whether a road is impacted by a dam failure, one of the 

following methodologies shall be utilized: 

1. Section IV, Part D of the United States Department of 

Interior, Bureau of Reclamation's ACER Technical 

Memorandum No. 11, 1988; 

2. An approach to determining impacts to roadways found 

in any document that is on the list of acceptable references 

set out in 4VAC50-20-320. The owner's engineer shall 

reference the methodology utilized in their submittal to the 

department; or 

3. An approach to determine any roadway that would be 

overtopped, at any depth, by a dam failure under any flood 

or nonflood condition, including but not limited to 

probable maximum flood, spillway design flood, or flood 

from sunny day dam failure, as determined using analysis 

procedures set out in 4VAC50-20-54. 

In all cases, an owner may use an incremental damage 

analysis conducted in accordance with 4VAC50-20-52 to 

further refine what roads should be considered impacted. 

B. In certain cases, an impounding structure may qualify for 

a low hazard potential classification in spite of a potential 

impact to a downstream public or private roadway. If a 

roadway is found to be impacted in accordance with 

subsection A of this section, and other factors such as 

downstream residences, businesses, or other concerns as set 

forth in this chapter that would raise the hazard potential 

classification do not exist, such classification may be adjusted 

in accordance with this section dependent on vehicle traffic 

volume, based on AADT. 

C. For the purposes of determining AADT volume, one of 

the following techniques may be utilized using data obtained 

within the last year except as otherwise set out in subdivision 

1 of this subsection: 

1. The AADT volumes available in the most recent 

published Daily Traffic Volume Estimates from the 

Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT) for the 

road segment nearest the impounding structure may be 

utilized. This information is available from VDOT at 

http://www.virginiadot.org/info/ct-TrafficCounts.asp; 

2. Data developed by a local government may be utilized 

where the locality conducts its own traffic counts; 

3. Where AADT volumes are not available from VDOT or 

a locality, an Average Daily Traffic trip rate that meets the 

standards set forth in the Institute for Traffic Engineers 

(ITE) Trip Generation information report, 8th Edition, 

2008 (available for ordering online at 

http://www.ite.org/emodules/scriptcontent/orders/ProductD

etail.cfm?pc=IR-016F) may be utilized if practicable; or 

4. In all cases, average daily traffic volumes may also be 

established by a traffic count that meets VDOT standards 

and is conducted or overseen by the owner's engineer or 

otherwise approved by the department's regional engineer. 

D. Where it can be demonstrated that a public or private 

roadway has limited usage and that the hazard potential 

classification is being determined based solely upon impacts 

to roadways, the roadway may be considered to be "limited 

use" and the impounding structure may be considered a low 

hazard potential impounding structure despite the presence of 

the roadway. Such roadways, located either across or below 

an impounding structure, are those that result in an AADT 

volume of 400 vehicles or less. 

Where a downstream analysis finds that multiple limited use 

roadways may be impacted by an impounding structure 

failure, the traffic volumes of those limited use roadways, 

determined in accordance with subsection B of this section, 

shall be combined for the purposes of determining the 

impounding structure's hazard potential classification unless it 

can be demonstrated that the traffic using each of the 

roadways is composed of substantially the same vehicle trips, 

http://www.virginiadot.org/info/ct-TrafficCounts.asp
http://www.ite.org/emodules/scriptcontent/orders/ProductDetail.cfm?pc=IR-016F
http://www.ite.org/emodules/scriptcontent/orders/ProductDetail.cfm?pc=IR-016F
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such that the combined number of individual vehicle trips 

utilizing all of the roadways would result in an AADT of 400 

or less. 

E. Although a roadway may be considered to have a "limited 

use" in accordance with subsection D of this section, the 

Emergency Preparedness Plan for the low hazard impounding 

structure shall clearly outline a reliable and timely approach 

for notification of the proper local emergency services by the 

dam owner regarding the hazards of continued use of the road 

during an emergency condition. 

4VAC50-20-52. Incremental damage analysis. 

A. When appropriate, the spillway design flood requirement 

may be reduced by the board in accordance with this section. 

The proposed potential hazard classification for an 

impounding structure may be lowered based on the results of 

an incremental damage analysis utilizing one of the following 

methodologies: 

1. Section III of the United States Department of Interior, 

Bureau of Reclamation's ACER Technical Memorandum 

No. 11, 1988. An impact shall be deemed to occur where 

there are one or more lives in jeopardy as a result of a dam 

failure; or 

2. An approach to determining hazard classification found 

in any document that is on the list of acceptable references 

set out in 4VAC50-20-320. The owner's engineer shall 

reference the methodology utilized in the submittal to the 

department. 

B. The owner's engineer may proceed with an incremental 

damage analysis. The proposed spillway design flood for the 

impounding structure may be lowered based on the results of 

an incremental damage analysis. Once the owner's engineer 

has determined the required spillway design flood through 

application of Table 1, further analysis may be performed to 

evaluate the limiting flood condition for incremental 

damages. Site-specific conditions should be recognized and 

considered. This analysis may be used to lower the spillway 

design flood. In no situation shall the allowable reduced level 

be less than the level at which the incremental increase in 

water surface elevation downstream due to failure of an 

impounding structure is no longer considered to present an 

additional downstream threat. This engineering analysis will 

need to present water surface elevations at each structure that 

may be impacted downstream of the dam. An additional 

downstream threat to persons or property is presumed to exist 

when water depths exceed two feet or when the product of 

water depth (in feet) and flow velocity (in feet per second) is 

greater than seven.  

C. The spillway design flood shall also not be reduced 

below the minimum threshold values as determined by Table 

1. 

D. C. The proposed potential hazard classification for the 

impounding structure and the required spillway design flood 

shall be subject to reclassification by the board as necessary 

to reflect the incremental damage assessment, changed 

conditions at the impounding structure, and changed 

conditions in the dam break inundation zone.  

4VAC50-20-54. Dam break inundation zone mapping. 

A. Dam break inundation zone maps and analyses shall be 

provided to the department, except as provided for in 

4VAC50-20-51, to meet the requirements set out in Hazard 

Potential Classifications of Impounding Structures (4VAC50-

20-40) 4VAC50-20-40, Emergency Action Plan for High and 

Significant Potential Hazard Impounding Structures 

(4VAC50-20-175) 4VAC50-20-175, and Emergency 

Preparedness for Low Hazard Potential Impounding 

Structures (4VAC50-20-177) 4VAC50-20-177, as applicable. 

In accordance with subsection G of this section, a simplified 

dam break inundation zone map and analysis may be 

completed by the department and shall be provided to the 

impounding structure's owner to assist such owner in 

complying with the requirements of this chapter. All analyses 

shall be completed in accordance with 4VAC50-20-20 D. 

B. The location of the end of the inundation mapping should 

be indicated where the water surface elevation of the dam 

break inundation zone and the water surface elevation of the 

spillway design flood during an impounding structure 

nonfailure event converge to within one foot of each other. 

The inundation maps shall be supplemented with water 

surface profiles showing the peak water surface elevation 

prior to failure and the peak water surface elevation after 

failure. 

C. All inundation zone map(s), except those utilized in 

meeting the requirements of Emergency Preparedness for 

Low Hazard Potential Impounding Structures (4VAC50-20-

177), shall be signed and sealed by a licensed professional 

engineer. 

D. Present and planned land-use for which a development 

plan has been officially approved by the locality in the dam 

break inundation zones downstream from the impounding 

structure shall be considered in determining the classification. 

E. For determining the hazard potential classification, an 

analysis including, but not limited to, those hazards created 

by flood and nonflood dam failures shall be considered. At a 

minimum, of the following shall be provided to the 

department: 

1. A sunny day dam break analysis utilizing the volume 

retained at the normal or typical water surface elevation of 

the impounding structure; 

2. A dam break analysis utilizing the spillway design flood 

with a dam failure;  

3. An analysis utilizing the spillway design flood without a 

dam failure; and 

4. For the purposes of future growth planning, a A dam 

break analysis utilizing the probable maximum flood with 

a dam failure.  
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E. To meet the requirements of Emergency Preparedness set 

out in 4VAC50-20-177, all Low Hazard Potential 

impounding structures shall provide a simple map, acceptable 

to the department, demonstrating the general inundation that 

would result from a dam failure. Such maps do not require 

preparation by a professional licensed engineer, however, it is 

preferred that the maps be prepared by a licensed professional 

engineer. 

F. To meet the Emergency Action Plan requirements set out 

in 4VAC50-20-175 and the Emergency Preparedness Plan 

requirements set out in 4VAC50-20-177, all owners of High 

and Significant Hazard Potential impounding structures shall 

provide dam break inundation zone map(s) representing the 

impacts that would occur with both a sunny day dam failure 

and a spillway design flood probable maximum flood with a 

dam failure. 

1. The map(s) shall be developed at a scale sufficient to 

graphically display downstream inhabited areas and 

structures, roads, public utilities that may be affected, and 

other pertinent structures within the identified inundation 

area. In coordination with the local organization for 

emergency management, a list of downstream inundation 

zone property owners and occupants, including telephone 

numbers may be plotted on the map or may be provided 

with the map for reference during an emergency. 

2. Each map shall include the following statement: "The 

information contained in this map is prepared for use in 

notification of downstream property owners by emergency 

management personnel."  

Should the department prepare a dam break inundation zone 

map and analysis in response to a request received pursuant to 

4VAC50-20-40 C, the owner shall utilize this map to prepare 

a plan in accordance with this subsection. 

G. Upon receipt of a written request in accordance with 

4VAC50-20-40 C and receipt of a payment in accordance 

with 4VAC50-20-395, the department shall conduct a 

simplified dam break inundation zone analysis. In conducting 

the analysis, a model acceptable to the department shall be 

utilized. The analysis shall result in maps produced as 

Geographic Information System shape files for viewing and 

analyzing and shall meet the other analysis criteria of this 

section. 

Upon completion of the analysis, the department shall issue 

a letter to the owner communicating the results of the analysis 

including the dam break inundation zone map, stipulating the 

department's finding regarding hazard potential classification 

based on the information available to the department, and 

explaining what the owner needs to do procedurally with this 

information to be compliant with the requirements of the 

Dam Safety Act (§ 10.1-604 et seq.) and this chapter. 

4VAC50-20-101. General permit requirements for low 

hazard potential impounding structures. 

Any impounding structure owner whose registration 

statement is approved by the board will receive the following 

permit and shall comply with the requirements in it. If the 

failure of a low hazard potential impounding structure is not 

expected to cause loss of human life or economic damage to 

any property except property owned by the owner, the owner 

may follow the special criteria established for certain low 

hazard impounding structures in accordance with 4VAC50-

20-51 in lieu of coverage under the general permit. 

General Permit No.: Dam Safety 1 

Effective Date: (Date of Issuance of Coverage) 

Expiration Date: (6 years following Date of Issuance of 

Coverage) 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR OPERATION OF A LOW 

HAZARD POTENTIAL IMPOUNDING STRUCTURE 

In compliance with the provisions of the Dam Safety Act 

and attendant regulations, owners of an impounding structure 

covered by this permit are authorized to operate and maintain 

a low hazard potential impounding structure. The owner shall 

be subject to the following requirements as set forth herein. 

1. The spillway design of the owner's impounding structure 

shall be able to safely pass a 100-year flood. When 

appropriate, the spillway design flood requirement may be 

further reduced to the 50-year flood in accordance with an 

incremental damage analysis conducted by the owner's 

engineer. 

2. The owner shall develop and maintain an emergency 

preparedness plan in accordance with 4VAC50-20-177. 

The owner shall update and resubmit the emergency 

preparedness plan immediately upon becoming aware of 

necessary changes to keep the plan workable. 

3. The owner shall perform an annual inspection of the 

impounding structure. The owner shall maintain such 

records and make them available to the department upon 

request. The department also shall conduct inspections as 

necessary in accordance with 4VAC50-20-180. 

4. The owner shall ensure that the impounding structure is 

properly and safely maintained and operated and shall have 

the following documents available for inspection upon 

request of the department: 

a. An operating plan and schedule including narrative on 

the operation of control gates and spillways and the 

impoundment drain; 

b. For earthen embankment impounding structures, a 

maintenance plan and schedule for the embankment, 

principal spillway, emergency spillway, low-level outlet, 

impoundment area, downstream channel, and staff gages; 

and 

c. For concrete impounding structures, a maintenance 

plan and schedule for the upstream face, downstream 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 24, 2012 

185 

face, crest of dam, galleries, tunnels, abutments, 

spillways, gates and outlets, and staff gages. 

Impounding structure owners shall not permit growth of 

trees and other woody vegetation and shall remove any 

such vegetation from the slopes and crest of embankments 

and the emergency spillway area, and within a distance of 

25 feet from the toe of the embankment and abutments of 

the dam. 

5. The owner shall file a dam break inundation zone map 

developed in accordance with 4VAC50-20-54 with the 

department and with the offices with plat and plan 

approval authority or zoning responsibilities as designated 

by the locality for each locality in which the dam break 

inundation zone resides. 

6. The owner shall notify the department immediately of 

any change in circumstances that would cause the 

impounding structure to no longer qualify for coverage 

under the general permit. In the event of a failure or an 

imminent failure of the impounding structure, the owner 

shall immediately notify the local emergency services 

coordinator, the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Management, and the department. The department shall 

take actions in accordance with § 10.1-608 or 10.1-609 of 

the Code of Virginia, depending on the degree of hazard 

and the imminence of failure caused by the unsafe 

condition. 

4VAC50-20-102. Registering for coverage under the 

general permit for low hazard potential impounding 

structures. 

A. Pursuant to § 10.1-605.3, an impounding structure owner 

may seek general permit coverage from the board for a low 

hazard potential impounding structure in lieu of obtaining a 

Low Hazard Potential Regular Operation and Maintenance 

Certificate in accordance with 4VAC50-20-105 or a 

Conditional Operation and Maintenance Certificate for Low 

Hazard Potential impounding structures in accordance with 

4VAC50-20-150. 

B. An owner shall submit a complete and accurate 

registration statement in accordance with the requirements of 

this section prior to the issuance of coverage under the 

general permit. A complete registration statement shall 

include the following: 

1. The name and address of the owner; 

2. The location of the impounding structure; 

3. The height of the impounding structure; 

4. The volume of water impounded; 

5. An Emergency Preparedness Plan prepared in 

accordance with 4VAC50-20-101; 

6. The applicable fee for the processing of registration 

statements as set out in 4VAC50-20-375; 

7. A dam break inundation zone map completed in 

accordance with 4VAC50-20-54 and evidence that such 

map has been filed with the offices with plat and plan 

approval authority or zoning responsibilities as designated 

by the locality for each locality in which the dam break 

inundation zone resides; and 

8. A certification from the owner that the impounding 

structure (i) is classified as low hazard pursuant to a 

determination by the department or the owner's 

professional engineer in accordance with § 10.1-604.1 and 

this chapter; (ii) is, to the best of his knowledge, properly 

and safely constructed and currently has no observable 

deficiencies; and (iii) shall be maintained and operated in 

accordance with the provisions of the general permit. 

4VAC50-20-103. Transitioning from regular or 

conditional certificates to general permit coverage for low 

hazard potential impounding structures. 

A. Holders of a regular certificate to operate a low hazard 

potential impounding structure shall be eligible for general 

permit coverage upon the expiration of their regular 

certificate. In lieu of a regular certificate renewal, registration 

coverage materials pursuant to 4VAC50-20-102 shall be 

submitted to the department 90 days prior to the expiration of 

the regular certificate. 

B. Holders of a conditional certificate to operate a low 

hazard potential impounding structure shall be eligible for 

general permit coverage upon satisfying the registration 

requirements for a general permit pursuant to 4VAC50-20-

102. 

4VAC50-20-104. Maintaining general permit coverage for 

low hazard potential impounding structures. 

Provided that an impounding structure's hazard potential 

classification does not change, an owner's coverage under the 

general permit shall be for a six-year term after which time 

the owner shall reapply for coverage by filing a new 

registration statement and paying the necessary fee. No 

inspection of the impounding structure by a licensed 

professional engineer shall be required if the owner certifies 

at the time of general permit coverage renewal that conditions 

at the impounding structure and downstream are unchanged. 

If such certification is made, the owner is not required to 

submit an updated dam break inundation zone map.  

4VAC50-20-177. Emergency Preparedness Plan for Low 

Hazard impounding structures. 

Low Hazard impounding structures shall provide 

information for emergency preparedness to the department, 

the local organization for emergency management and the 

Virginia Department of Emergency Management. A form for 

the submission is available from the department (Emergency 

Preparedness Plan for Low Hazard Virginia Regulated 

Impounding Structures). The information shall include, but 

not be limited, to the following: 

1. Name of and location information for the impounding 

structure, inventory number, including city or county, and 

latitude, and longitude; 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-608
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-609
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-605.3
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-604.1
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2. Owner's name, mailing address, Name of owner and 

operator and associated contact information including 

residential and business telephone numbers, and other 

means of communication. Contact information shall 

provide for 24-hour telephone contact capability; 

3. Impounding structure operator's name, mailing address, 

residential and business telephone numbers, and other 

means of communication. Contact information shall 

provide for 24-hour telephone contact capability Contact 

information for relevant emergency responders including 

the following: 

a. Local dispatch center or centers governing the 

impounding structure's dam break inundation zone; and 

b. City or county emergency services coordinator's name 

or names; 

4. Rainfall and staff gage observer's name, mailing address, 

residential and business telephone numbers, and other 

means of communication. Contact information shall 

provide for 24-hour telephone contact capability 

Procedures for notifying downstream property owners or 

occupants potentially impacted by the impounding 

structure's failure; 

5. Contact information for alternate operator and alternate 

rainfall and staff gage observer, if applicable; A dam break 

inundation zone map completed in accordance with 

4VAC50-20-54 and evidence that: 

a. Such map has been filed with the offices with plat and 

plan approval authority or zoning responsibilities as 

designated by the locality for each locality in which the 

dam break inundation zone resides; and 

b. Required copies of such plan have been submitted to 

the local organization for emergency management and 

the Virginia Department of Emergency Management; and 

6. Contact information for the local dispatch center nearest 

impounding structure including address and 24-hour 

telephone number; 

7. City or county emergency services coordinator's name, 

mailing address, residential and business telephone 

numbers, and other means of communication; 

8. A procedure and the responsible parties for notifying to 

the extent possible any known local occupants, owners, or 

lessees of downstream properties potentially impacted by 

the impounding structure's failure; 

9. A discussion of the procedures for timely and reliable 

detection, evaluation, and classification of emergency 

situations considered to be relevant to the project setting 

and impounding features. Each relevant emergency 

situation is to be documented to provide an appropriate 

course of action based on the urgency of the situation; 

10. A simple dam break inundation map acceptable to the 

director, demonstrating the general inundation that would 

result from an impounding structure failure. Such maps 

required pursuant to this section do not require preparation 

by a professional licensed engineer; however, maps 

prepared by a licensed professional engineer are preferred; 

11. Identification of public roads downstream noting the 

highway number and distance below the impounding 

structure. If roads exist, contact information for the 

resident Virginia Department of Transportation engineer or 

city or county engineer including address and 24-hour 

telephone numbers; 

12. Amount of rainfall that will initiate a Stage II 

Condition in inches per six hours, inches per 12 hours, and 

inches per 24 hours and a Stage III Condition in inches per 

six hours, inches per 12 hours, and inches per 24 hours; 

13. Amount of flow in the emergency spillway that will 

initiate a Stage II Condition in feet (depth of flow) and a 

Stage III Condition in feet (depth of flow); 

14. Staff gage location and description; the frequency of 

observations by the rainfall or staff gage observer under a 

Stage I Condition, and Stage II Condition, and a Stage III 

Condition; and a clear description of an access route and 

means of travel during flood conditions to the impounding 

structure; 

15. Evacuation procedures including notification, 

monitoring, evacuation, and reporting processes and 

responsibilities; 

16. Evidence that the required copies of such plan have 

been submitted to the local organization for emergency 

management and the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Management; and 

17. 6. Certification of the accuracy of the plan by the 

owner. 

4VAC50-20-195. Judicial review. 

Any owner aggrieved by a decision of the director, 

department, or board regarding the owner's impounding 

structure shall have the right to judicial review of the final 

decision pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative 

Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

4VAC50-20-200. Enforcement. 

The provisions of this chapter may be enforced by the board, 

the director, or both in any manner consistent with the 

provisions of the Dam Safety Act (§ 10.1-604 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia). Failure to comply with the provisions of 

the general permit issued in accordance with 4VAC50-20-103 

may result in enforcement actions, including penalties 

assessed in accordance with §§ 10.1-613.1 and 10.1-613.2. 

Part VI  

Fees  

4VAC50-20-340. Authority to establish fees. 

Under § 10.1-613.5 of the Code of Virginia, the board is 

authorized to establish and collect application fees to be used 

for the administration of the dam safety program, 

administrative review, certifications, and the repair and 
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maintenance of impounding structures including actions taken 

in accordance with §§ 10.1-608, 10.1-609, and 10.1-613 of 

the Code of Virginia. The fees will be deposited into the Dam 

Safety, Flood Prevention and Protection Assistance 

Administrative Fund. 

4VAC50-20-375. Fee for coverage under the general 

permit for low hazard impounding structures. 

The fee for processing registration statements from 

impounding structure owners seeking to obtain coverage 

under the general permit for low hazard impounding 

structures shall be $300. 

4VAC50-20-395. Simplified dam break inundation zone 

analysis fee. 

Pursuant to authority provided in § 10.1-604.1 A 1 and in 

accordance with 4VAC50-20-40 C, when the department 

receives a request from the owner of a dam to conduct a 

simplified dam break inundation zone analysis, the owner 

shall submit a fee of $2,000 prior to the department 

conducting such analysis. The fee shall be submitted in 

accordance with 4VAC50-20-350 B and C as applicable. The 

fee shall be deposited into the Dam Safety Administrative 

Fund to be used to cover the partial cost of such analysis. 

Once the analysis has commenced, no analysis fee remitted to 

the department shall be subject to refund. 

If the department attains additional efficiencies in its 

analysis process, the department is authorized to reduce this 

fee to a level commensurate with the costs. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(4VAC50-20) 

ACER Technical Memorandum No. 11, Downstream 

Hazard Classification Guidelines, December 1988, U.S. 

Department of the Interior, Bureau of Reclamation. 

Trip Generation, 8th Ed., 2008, Institute of Transportation 

Engineers, 1627 Eye Street, NW, Suite 600, Washington, DC 

20006. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3054; Filed September 4, 2012, 6:34 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Reproposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-171. Regulations Relating to 

Private Security Services (amending 6VAC20-171-10, 

6VAC20-171-20, 6VAC20-171-30, 6VAC20-171-50 

through 6VAC20-171-130, 6VAC20-171-160 through 

6VAC20-171-200, 6VAC20-171-215 through 6VAC20-

171-320, 6VAC20-171-350 through 6VAC20-171-400, 

6VAC20-171-420, 6VAC20-171-445, 6VAC20-171-500, 

6VAC20-171-550, 6VAC20-171-560; adding 6VAC20-171-

71, 6VAC20-171-72, 6VAC20-171-111, 6VAC20-171-115, 

6VAC20-171-116, 6VAC20-171-117, 6VAC20-171-135, 

6VAC20-171-305, 6VAC20-171-308, 6VAC20-171-375, 

6VAC20-171-376, 6VAC20-171-395; repealing 6VAC20-

171-245, 6VAC20-171-430, 6VAC20-171-440).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 6, 2012 - 9 a.m. - House Room D, General 

Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: October 24, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Lisa McGee, Regulatory Manager, 

Department of Criminal Justice Services, P.O. Box 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-2419, FAX (804) 

786-6344, or email lisa.mcgee@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The legal authority to review, amend, or revise 

regulations relating to private security services is found in 

§ 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia.  

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is a 

comprehensive review and amendment of existing 

regulations. This review and recommended amendments are 

based on legislative actions that require development of 

regulations for locksmiths as well as further development of 

regulations relating to detective canine handlers. In addition 

to recent legislative actions, a comprehensive review will 

amend and revise the rules mandating and prescribing 

standards, requirements, and procedures that serve to protect 

the citizens of the Commonwealth from unqualified, 

unscrupulous, and incompetent persons engaging in the 

activities of private security services.  

This regulatory action is essential to protect the health, safety, 

and welfare of citizens who utilize the various categories of 

private security services by establishing the regulatory 

requirements for locksmiths and detector canine handlers. 

These regulations ensure they have a criminal background 

check, meet minimum training standards, and are held to 

prescribed standards of conduct. Knowing that locksmiths 

and detector canine handlers have met these regulatory 

requirements increases the public trust and brings credibility 

to the industry. The revised firearms training requirements 

directly increases the level of competence for individuals who 

utilize firearms in a private security defined field. The 

additional training should have a direct impact in the 

reduction of accidental discharges of firearms. 

Substance: While all areas of the regulations will be subject 

to this comprehensive review, the substance of this review is 

to include a permanent regulatory scheme for locksmiths and 

detector canine handlers, examiners, and teams operating 

within the Commonwealth. This review will focus on 

reevaluating the existing licensure, registration, certification, 

and training requirements; procedures; fees; administrative 

requirements; and standards of conduct. 

6VAC20-171-10 – Definitions: Definitions have been 

inserted or amended in regard to the regulatory program 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e226003054~1&typ=40&actno=003054&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e226003054~1&typ=40&actno=003054&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e226003054~1&typ=40&actno=003054&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a1e9f003054~2&typ=40&actno=003054&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a1e9f003054~2&typ=40&actno=003054&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a1e9f003054~2&typ=40&actno=003054&mime=application/pdf
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established for locksmiths and detector canine handlers and 

examiners in accordance with § 9.1-138 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia. Other amendments to the definitions are based on 

terminology related to firearms training and variances in 

methods of conducting training. 

6VAC20-171-20 – Fees. Amendments to the fee structure 

include an option for businesses to obtain a one-year or two-

year initial license, an increase in the firearms endorsement 

fee, an additional category fee for training schools and 

instructors, and a separation of certification applications fees 

and required regulatory compliance training fees. The 

electronic roster submittal fee has been deleted and instructor 

training development fees have been removed from the 

regulation. There is also a new manual processing service fee 

for applications not submitted by available electronic 

methods. Other amendments involve a restructuring of the fee 

schedule for clarity. 

6VAC20-171-30 – Fingerprint processing. Amendments are 

included to reflect the current criminal history records search 

process utilized by the department. 

6VAC20-171-50 – Initial business license application. The 

amendments incorporate the new categories of locksmith and 

detector canine business as well as clarify what constitutes a 

legal entity change thus requiring a new license. 

6VAC20-171-70 – Compliance agent. This section has been 

amended to clarify the application process and requirements 

for a compliance agent. Two new sections have been inserted 

(6VAC20-171-71 – Compliance Agent Certification Renewal 

Requirements and 6VAC20-171-72 – Compliance Agent 

Regulatory Compliance Training Requirements). The 

amendments do not make any major changes to the 

requirements but provide clarity for the process and make the 

process inclusive in one article of the regulations compared to 

being spread throughout the document. 

6VAC20-171-80 to 6VAC20-171-90 – Training school 

certification. The proposed regulations establish the 

categories of training in which schools will be required to 

submit a category of training fee depending on the number of 

training categories provided by the training school. Language 

is included to clarify what constitutes a legal entity change. 

6VAC20-171-100 to 6VAC20-171-111 – Instructor 

Certification. Amendments include a new category of training 

fee, range qualification requirements for firearms instructors, 

and new training requirements to include regulatory 

compliance training and continuing education. Inserting a 

new section 6VAC20-171-111 provides clarity and makes the 

process inclusive in one article of the regulations. 

6VAC20-171-115 to 6VAC20-171-117 – Detector Canine 

Handler Examiner Certification. The new sections establish 

the initial, renewal, and training requirements for 

certification.  

6VAC20-171-120 to 6VAC20-171-130 – Private Security 

Services Registration. The amendments include the new 

categories of registration for locksmiths and detector canine 

handlers and include the requirement of a photo submission 

by the applicant. 

6VAC20-171-135 – Firearms endorsements. This new section 

clarifies the process of obtaining a firearms endorsement and 

makes the process inclusive within one article of the 

regulations. It also establishes a timeframe in which retraining 

must be taken. 

6VAC20-171-180 – Reinstatement. Amendments to the 

reinstatement procedures have been inserted that allow a 

company to continue to operate during the reinstatement 

period and establish continued authority by the department. 

6VAC20-171-190 – Renewal extension. Amendments include 

a broader description of emergency temporary assignments to 

include purposes of natural disaster, homeland security, or 

document threat. Language has been inserted that allows the 

department to waive the requirement of submittal prior to 

expiration with justification and establishes the timeframe for 

which an exemption may be issued. 

6VAC20-171-200 – Denial, probation, suspension and 

revocation. This section includes an amendment in which the 

last known employing business or training school will be 

notified if an employee of the company is subject to 

disciplinary action by the department. 

6VAC171-220 to 6VAC20-171-280 – Administrative 

requirements and standards of conduct. Amendments reflect 

new administrative requirements and standards of conduct for 

businesses, compliance agents, training schools, training 

school directors, and instructors. These amendments include 

the removal of a provision that a business license or training 

school certification is null and void due to a lapse of 

insurance and inserts a clause that each day of uninsured 

activity would be construed as an individual violation. New 

provisions have been inserted for reporting requirements upon 

termination of a compliance agent or training school director. 

Administrative requirements to maintain (i) a use of force 

policy, (ii) records for employees carrying intermediate 

weapons, and (iii) records in regard to detector canine handler 

teams have been added for businesses.  

Additional standards of conduct have been included to 

prohibit acting as an ostensible licensee for undisclosed 

persons; providing false or misleading information; refusing 

to cooperate with an investigation; or for providing materially 

incorrect, misleading, incomplete, or untrue information to 

the department. 

A provision has been added to establish standards of conduct 

pertaining to authorized access to the department's licensing 

database, and additional reporting requirements have been 

added for training schools and school personnel regarding 

range qualification failures. 

Other minor amendments ensure concise language for clarity 

and consistency. 
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6VAC20-171-305 – Online service training programs. This 

new section establishes the requirements for a school to offer 

online in-service training sessions. 

6VAC20-171-308 – Detector canine handler examiners. This 

new section establishes the administrative requirements and 

standards of conduct for detector canine handler examiners. 

6VAC20-171-310 through 6VAC20-171-320 – Registered 

personnel administrative requirements and standards of 

conduct. The proposed regulations add a requirement that 

personnel who carry or have access to a patrol rifle while on 

duty must have written authorization from their employer and 

include additional standards of conduct to prohibit providing 

false or misleading information or providing materially 

incorrect, misleading, incomplete, or untrue information to 

the department. 

6VAC20-171-350 – Entry-level training. The entry-level 

training has been restructured to include specific courses and 

hours for clarity. In addition, the minimum course and hour 

requirements for locksmiths and detector canine handlers 

have been added. The compulsory minimum training 

standards for armed security officers has increased from 40 

hours to 50 hours due to an increase in firearms training hours 

and the hours for shotgun entry-level training have increased 

from two to three hours. Entry-level training was amended to 

include The Seven Signs of Terrorism to the minimum 

training standards. This is a direct result of a recommendation 

from the Commonwealth Preparedness Panel in order to 

strengthen the support role of private security practitioners in 

the Commonwealth's Critical Infrastructure Protection and 

Resiliency Strategic Plan. 

The course content has been amended to reflect minor 

changes to the content for armed security officer classroom 

training, and the hour requirements for each individual 

section of a course has been removed. The proposed 

regulations reflect the course content for locksmiths and 

detector canine handler examiners and all training provisions 

for compliance agents has been deleted and added to 

6VAC20-171-70 through 6VAC20-171-72. 

6VAC20-171-360 – In-service training. The amendments 

include in-service training requirements for locksmiths and 

detector canine handlers and combines the course content and 

minimum hour requirements within one section. 

6VAC20-171-365 through 6VAC20-171-400 – Firearms 

training. The entry-level firearms training compulsory 

minimum training standards have been amended. An 

enhanced firearms training for armed security 

officers/couriers and personal protection specialists has been 

inserted (6VAC20-171-375) and reflects an increase of eight 

hours of training compared to the entry-level firearms training 

for all other armed registered categories. The entry-level 

handgun range qualification has been moved to a new section 

for clarity purposes (6VAC20-171-376) and a new course of 

fire has been inserted. 

The advanced firearms training compulsory minimum 

training standards for personal protection specialists have 

been amended. The topics have been amended to address 

concealed carry laws and use of force. The hours are reduced 

due to the removal of duplicate training objectives already 

addressed in the basic firearms training requirements, which 

is a prerequisite for the advanced handgun training. 

The shotgun minimum training standards and course of fire 

have been amended, which increases the classroom training 

by two hours. 

A new section has been created to address entry-level patrol 

rifle training (6VAC20-171-395) and includes the classroom 

training and course of fire. 

Amendments to firearms retraining increases the classroom 

hours to four hours for all armed registered personnel with the 

exception of personal protection specialists who must 

complete advanced firearms retraining. This is a new 

requirement for the armed security officers.  

6VAC20-171-430-440 – Entry-level security canine handler 

training. This section has been repealed and the provisions are 

now included in the entry-level and in-service training 

sections for registered personnel under 6VAC20-171-350 and 

6VAC20-171-360. 

6VAC20-171-500 – Disciplinary action; sanctions; 

publication of records. An additional sanction - the use of 

conditional agreements - has been added to the list of 

sanctions that the department may impose for a violation or 

noncompliance. 

Issues: The primary advantage of implementing the new 

provisions presented in the reproposed regulation is to 

provide necessary public protection tasked through existing 

statutes. Advantages to the public and the Commonwealth are 

to secure the public safety and welfare against incompetent, 

unqualified, unscrupulous, or unfit persons engaging in 

activities of private security services in the Commonwealth. 

The goal of these amended regulations is to ensure that (i) 

eligible individuals in the private security services industry 

receive compulsory minimum training and abide by 

established standards of conduct and (ii) individuals with 

certain criminal history records, or who are in violation of 

rules established for public safety, are prohibited from 

performing private security services. 

The establishment of these regulations does not pose any 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to requirements for periodic review, the Board of 

Criminal Justice Services (Board) proposes to amend its 

Regulations Relating to Private Security Services. Amongst 

the substantive changes in this regulatory action, the Board 

proposes to replace emergency regulations that govern 

locksmiths (pursuant to Chapter 638 of the 2008 Acts of the 
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Assembly) and add new regulations for detector canine 

handlers and detector canine handler examiners (pursuant to 

Chapter 470 of the 2004 Acts of the Assembly). The Board 

also proposes to: 

• Rewrite firearms endorsement requirements to include 

three levels of handgun training and increase training 

requirements for security officers/couriers to include 10 

more hours of firearms training, 

• Increase the hours of training needed for a shotgun 

endorsement from two to three, 

• Increase the hours needed for renewal of other types of 

firearms endorsement from two to four, 

• Add new requirements for patrol rifle training, 

• Allow businesses that are applying for initial licensure to 

choose to be licensed for one or two years before they must 

renew, 

• Add a $5 manual processing fee for applications not 

submitted through available electronic means, 

• Increase the firearms endorsement fee from $10 to $15 

per year, 

• Charge training schools a $50 fee for each training 

category rather than the flat $500 fee they currently pay for 

approval of training materials and charge instructors $10 

per category for each addition certification category,  

• Decrease fees for initial compliance agent certification 

and compliance agent certification renewal and 

• Require instructors and examiners to complete regulatory 

compliance entry level and in-service training (fees added 

for these categories). 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 

some of these proposed changes. The costs likely exceed the 

benefits for at least one of these proposed changes. For 

several other regulatory changes, there is insufficient 

information to ascertain whether benefits outweigh costs. All 

benefits and costs are discussed below. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to Chapter 638 of the 

2008 Acts of the Assembly, the Board promulgated 

emergency regulations for registration of locksmiths in July 

2008. The Board now proposes permanent regulation to 

replace the emergency regulations that expired on December 

30, 2009. 

Under these proposed regulations, locksmiths will have to 

complete 20 hours of initial training (2 hours of training on 

applicable Virginia law and 18 hours on subject matter 

training), pass an exam, and pay a $25 initial registration fee 

for a registration that is valid for two years. Fees for initial 

training range between $200 and $325, depending on which 

private training school is offering it. Every biennium, 

registered locksmiths will have to complete four hours of 

continuing education and pay a $20 fee to renew their 

registration. Fees for continuing education range between $89 

and $125. As provided by Chapter 638, locksmiths who have 

actively and continuously provided locksmith services for 

two or more years prior to July 1, 2008 are exempt from the 

initial training requirements. 

In order to get an initial business license, locksmith 

businesses will have to 1) provide fingerprints for each 

principal owner and supervisor of the applying business ($50 

per fingerprint card), 2) show evidence of a surety bond of at 

least $100,000 or a liability insurance policy with minimum 

coverages of $100,000 and $300,000, 3) complete an 

irrevocable consent form for the Department of Criminal 

Justice Services (DCJS) to serve as service agent for all 

actions filed in any court in the Commonwealth, 4) designate 

an employee as a compliance agent who will make sure the 

business complies with applicable laws and regulations and 5) 

pay a fee of either $550 for an initial license valid for one 

year or $800 for an initial license valid for two years. This fee 

covers business licensure for one category; each additional 

category adds $50 to the cost of the business license. 

Businesses will have to pay $500 for renewal of licensure at 

the time their initial license expires.  

DCJS reports that the legislature recently required registration 

of locksmiths in order to protect the public from incompetent 

or unqualified persons who were in the locksmith trade. To 

the extent that regulation achieves this goal, the public will 

benefit from locksmiths being required to register. 

Locksmiths who choose to become registered will benefit 

from a likely decrease in the number of individuals who 

practice this trade in direct competition with them. It is not 

entirely clear that these benefits outweigh the costs, both 

direct and indirect, that will be accrued by licensed locksmith 

businesses and registered locksmiths. Direct costs include 

fees for licensure and/or registration and fees for classes. 

Indirect costs include the value of time spent attending classes 

and studying for and taking exams. In particular, the costs of 

business licensure may prove too onerous for some single 

proprietor locksmiths. The number of individuals who work 

as locksmiths is very likely to fall on account of licensure 

requirements. 

Currently, these regulations do not include provisions for 

registration of detector canine handlers and certification of 

detector canine handler examiners. Pursuant to Chapter 470 

of the 2004 Acts of the Assembly, the Board now proposes to 

add provisions that will govern registration, certification, and 

licensure for these groups. 

The Board proposes to require detector canine handlers to 

complete 160 hours of initial training (2 hours of training on 

applicable Virginia law and 158 hours on subject matter 

training), pass an exam, and pay a $25 for initial registration. 

DCJS reports that this training will cost approximately $1,000 

per 40 hour week of training. Detector canine handlers who 

have already completed training that would be equivalent to 

that required by the Board will be able to pay an entry level 

partial-training exemption fee of $25 and the initial 

registration fee in order to gain their registration. DCJS staff 
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believes that most individuals who would seek registration 

already have national certification that is at least equivalent to 

the initial training required in these proposed regulations. 

These training requirements seem to be approximately 

equivalent to what is required for police detector canine 

handlers. Given the nature of the relationship that must be 

fostered between a canine and its handler, and the repetition 

of exercises that is necessary to teach an animal to reliably 

perform a task, the benefits of requiring training before 

registration likely outweigh the costs of that training (and 

registration). 

If detector canine handlers are business proprietors rather 

than employees of a business, they will need to meet the 

Board's requirements for business licensure (see explanation 

of locksmith business licensure above) and must complete 

regulatory compliance agent certification training ($50 initial 

certification fee). These individuals will have to renew their 

licenses at the end of the initial licensure term ($500 fee) and 

will have to complete compliance agent in-service 

(continuing education) every two years ($25 fee). 

Under the Board's proposal, detector canine handler 

examiners must 1) be at least 18 years old, 2) have a high 

school diploma or GED, 3) have a minimum of five years of 

experience as a detector canine handler and a minimum of 

two years experience as a detector canine trainer, 4) be 

certified as a detector canine handler examiner by a Board 

recognized national certification organization, a division of 

the United States military or other formal entity or by a 

certified DCJS private security services detector canine 

handler examiner, 5) pass an exam, 6) provide fingerprints to 

DCJS ($50 fee) and 7) pay the initial certification fee of $50 

in order to get a certification that is valid for two years. 

Within 12 months of initial certification, examiners will have 

to satisfactorily complete regulatory compliance training ($75 

fee). In order to renew certification, these examiners must 

either have maintained certification under these regulations or 

complete 16 hours of continuing education before they 

recertify every two years (application fee $25) and complete 

regulatory compliance in-service training ($50 fee). No costs 

for continuing education are available but, given the number 

of hours required for those who have not maintained their 

certification, these costs will likely be more than several 

hundred dollars. 

To the extent that requiring detector canine handler examiners 

to be certified improves the quality of the services they offer, 

the public will benefit from these regulatory changes. There is 

insufficient information to gauge whether these benefits 

outweigh the costs listed above. 

Nothing in these proposed regulations would explicitly 

prohibit examiners from forming a business rather than 

working for another business or training school. There does 

appears to be an oblique assumption, in the regulations' 

Administrative Requirements and Behavior Standards, that 

examiners will be working for a business or training school 

licensed by the Board. These regulations as currently 

proposed would appear not to require examiner businesses to 

be licensed by the Board. 

Current regulations include provision for two levels of 

firearms training in order to gain a firearms endorsement. All 

registrants, except for personal protection specialists, must 

currently complete entry-level handgun training (14 hours 

training). Personal protection specialists must currently 

complete both entry-level handgun training and advanced 

handgun training (24 hours training) in order to gain a 

firearms endorsement. An endorsement that allows the 

registrant to use a shotgun requires two extra hours of 

training. There currently is no specifically required training 

for patrol rifles. 

The Board proposes to modify these firearms training 

requirements so that handgun training is separated into three 

classes. All registrants but armed security officers, armed 

couriers, and personal protection specialists who are seeking a 

firearms endorsement must complete fundamental handgun 

training (14 hours training). Armed security officers and 

armed couriers who are seeking a firearms endorsement have 

to complete basic handgun training (24 hours training). 

Personal protection specialists must complete both basic and 

advanced handgun training (14 hours training). The Board 

proposes to increase the training required to carry a shotgun 

from two to three hours and increase the hours needed 

annually to renew other firearms endorsements from two to 

four. The Board also proposes to add a 16 hour training 

requirement for patrol rifles. 

These changes will increase the hours of handgun training 

needed by armed security officers and armed couriers for 

firearms endorsement by ten but will leave the hours of 

handgun training needed for other registrants unchanged. Any 

individuals who will seek an initial shotgun endorsement in 

the future will have to complete three hours of training rather 

than the currently required two hours. Individuals seeking to 

renew any other category of firearms endorsement will see 

the hours of training needed double from two to four hours. 

Any individuals who have been able to carry patrol rifles 

under current endorsement requirements will now have to pay 

for, and complete, 16 extra hours of training. 

Estimates found online for firearms training indicate that 

training for each category of firearm will likely cost between 

$100 and $200 (but will likely be less for the additional two 

hours of retraining per category that will be required). 

Registrants will incur direct costs for additional training as 

well as indirect costs for the time spent on training. DCJS 

staff reports that the Board believes additional training for 

armed security officers and armed couriers is needed to 

ensure the safety of the public that these individuals work 

around. There is insufficient information to ascertain whether 

the benefits of additional public safety outweighs the costs of 

the 10 extra training hours required. 
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The Board proposes to require 16 hours of training for the 

additional patrol rifle endorsement (as compared to the three 

hours of training required for the additional shotgun 

endorsement). It also proposes to require a higher accuracy 

for range qualification than is required for either handguns or 

shotguns (85% versus 75%-79% and 70% respectively). The 

differential 13 hours of classroom training would likely only 

be justified if there was little or no carryover value from 

entry-level handgun training to patrol rifle training that could 

be assumed to exist for the required shotgun training (or if 

patrol rifles are much harder weapons to learn and operate). 

Although Board staff reports that experts on the Board 

believe the additional hours of training are necessary, there 

does not appear to be any quantifiable evidence that would 

support requiring more than five times as much training for 

patrol rifles. Although the Board has relaxed the range 

standard for patrol rifles from the initially proposed 100% 

accuracy, this standard still exceeds the standard imposed by 

surveyed local police departments (which ranged between 

70% and 80%). Because the Board is imposing much more 

stringent standards for patrol rifles than other weapons, costs 

likely outweigh benefits for these proposed changes. 

Currently, private security firms pay $800 for a business 

license that is valid for two years and $500 for renewal of that 

license every two years, thereafter. The Board proposes to 

allow firms the option of getting an initial license for $550 

that will be valid for a year or paying $800 for a two year 

license. The biennial license renewal fee would remain $500. 

While the average annual cost over time would be the same 

no matter which initial license is chosen, firms will benefit 

from the ability to defer costs. The proposed change will give 

firms greater flexibility to plan expenses. 

The Board proposes to add a $5 fee for applications that are 

not submitted through available electronic means and to 

increase the firearms endorsement fee from $10 to $15. The 

manual processing service fee is being proposed to encourage 

applicants to use Board resources that are less costly and 

more efficient. Since the fee will only apply if there are 

available electronic submission means, regulated entities are 

unlikely to incur this cost unless they feel that they benefit 

from doing so. 

Currently, training schools pay a fee of $800 fee for initial 

licensure and a fee of $500 for electronic roster submittal 

authorization. The Board proposes to eliminate the electronic 

roster submittal authorization and instead charge training 

schools a $50 fee for each category of training offered past 

the first one (which is included in the licensure fee). There are 

nine categories of training so training schools would incur 

costs of only $400 if they taught all categories. Training 

schools will save between $100 and $500 on account of this 

proposed regulatory change. 

Similarly, the Board proposes to cut the fees for instructor 

certification and compliance agent certification in half and 

implement an instructor certification category fee of $10. 

Initial instructor certification will decrease from $100 to $50 

and instructor certification renewal will decrease from $50 to 

$25. Instructors will pay a $10 fee for each training category 

past the first for which certification is sought. Initial 

compliance agent certification will also decrease from $100 

to $50 and compliance agent renewal will decrease from $50 

to $25 but training will no longer be included in these fees. 

Compliance agent certification and training are being 

separated because private firms can now offer DCJS training 

online. Compliance agents will get a net benefit from this 

change only if training costs do not exceed what they will be 

saving in certification fees. This proposed change will likely 

save most instructors money. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed changes 

will affect all entities that are subject to the Regulations 

Relating to Private Security Services. DCJS reports that these 

entities include 2,000 private security services businesses, 

41,000 individual registrants (9,750 of which have firearms 

endorsements), 2,416 compliance officers, 488 instructors and 

128 private security services training schools. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The number of locksmiths 

practicing in the Commonwealth will likely be smaller on 

account of the costs imposed by these proposed regulations. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The value 

of locksmith businesses will likely decrease on account of 

these proposed regulations. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small business 

locksmiths, detector canine handlers, and detector canine 

handler examiners will incur costs for initial registration, 

registration renewal, Board business licensure and business 

licensure renewal as listed above. Armed security officers and 

armed couriers will incur costs for completing 10 extra hours 

of firearms training, and two extra hours of firearms 

retraining (for each category of firearm). Instructors and 

detector canine handler examiners will incur costs for 

regulatory compliance training. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. Instead of requiring instructors and 

examiners to complete a regulatory compliance course and 

then pass a test, the Board might allow these entities to just 

take the test. The Board might also allow these entities to 

attest on their applications that they have read and understand 

relevant regulations and laws, as is allowed by several other 

regulatory boards in the Commonwealth. The Board also 

might consider alternate, less expensive, requirements for 

private security businesses where the registrant is the only 

employee. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 
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Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Criminal Justice Services concurs generally 

with the economic impact analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The reproposed regulation establishes a licensure, 

registration, and certification process for locksmiths 

pursuant to Chapter 638 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly and 

for detector canine handlers and detector canine handler 

examiners pursuant to Chapter 470 of the 2004 Acts of 

Assembly. The regulation establishes a regulatory fee 

structure; compulsory minimum entry-level training 

standards, including firearms training and qualifications; 

standards of conduct; and administration of the regulatory 

system.  

Additionally, amendments (i) rewrite firearms endorsement 

requirements to include three levels of handgun training 

and increase training requirements for security 

officers/couriers to include 10 more hours of firearms 

training, (ii) increase the hours of training needed for a 

shotgun endorsement from two to three, (iii) increase the 

hours needed for renewal of other types of firearms 

endorsement from two to four, (iv) add new requirements 

for patrol rifle training, (v) allow businesses that are 

applying for initial licensure to choose to be licensed for 

one or two years before they must renew, (vi) add a $5.00 

manual processing fee for applications not submitted 

through available electronic means, (vii) increase the 

firearms endorsement fee from $10 to $15 per year, (viii) 

charge training schools a $50 fee for each training 

category rather than the flat $500 fee they currently pay 

for approval of training materials and charge instructors 

$10 per category for each addition certification category, 

(ix) decrease fees for initial compliance agent certification 

and compliance agent certification renewal, and (x) 

require instructors and examiners to complete regulatory 

compliance entry level and in-service training (fees added 

for these categories). 

Part I  

Definitions  

6VAC20-171-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Alarm respondent" means a natural person who responds to 

the signal of an alarm for the purpose of detecting an 

intrusion of the home, business or property of the end user.  

"Armed" means a private security registrant who carries or 

has immediate access to a firearm in the performance of his 

duties.  

"Armed security officer" means a natural person employed 

to (i) safeguard and protect persons and property or (ii) deter 

theft, loss, or concealment of any tangible or intangible 

personal property on the premises he is contracted to protect, 

and who carries or has access to a firearm in the performance 

of his duties.  

"Armored car personnel" means persons who transport or 

offer to transport under armed security from one place to 

another money, negotiable instruments or other valuables in a 

specially equipped motor vehicle with a high degree of 

security and certainty of delivery.  

"Assistant [ training ] school director" means a certified 

instructor designated by a private security training school 

director to submit training school session notifications and 

training rosters and perform administrative duties in lieu of 

the director.  

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board or any 

successor board or agency.  

"Business advertising material" means display 

advertisements in telephone directories, letterhead, business 

cards, local newspaper advertising and contracts.  

"Central station dispatcher" means a natural person who 

monitors burglar alarm signal devices, burglar alarms or any 

other electrical, mechanical or electronic device used to 

prevent or detect burglary, theft, shoplifting, pilferage or 

similar losses; used to prevent or detect intrusion; or used 

primarily to summon aid for other emergencies.  
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"Certification" means a the method of regulation indicating 

that qualified persons have met the minimum requirements as 

private security services training schools, private security 

services instructors, or compliance agents, or certified 

detector canine handler examiners.  

"Certified training school" means a training school that is 

certified by the department for the specific purpose of training 

private security services business personnel in at least one 

category of the compulsory minimum training standards.  

"Class" means a block of instruction no less than 50 minutes 

in length on a particular subject.  

"Classroom training" means instruction conducted by an 

instructor in person to students in an organized manner 

utilizing a lesson plan. 

"Combat loading" means tactical loading of shotgun while 

maintaining coverage of threat area.  

"Compliance agent" means a natural person who is an owner 

of, or employed by, a licensed private security services 

business. The compliance agent shall assure the compliance 

of the private security services business with all applicable 

requirements as provided in § 9.1-139 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Courier" means any armed person who transports or offers 

to transport from one place to another documents or other 

papers, negotiable or nonnegotiable instruments, or other 

small items of value that require expeditious service.  

[ "Cruiser safe" means the chamber is empty, the action of 

the shotgun is closed and locked, and magazine tube is 

loaded. ]  

"Date of hire" means the date any employee of a private 

security services business or training school performs 

services regulated or required to be regulated by the 

department.  

"Department" or "DCJS" means the Department of Criminal 

Justice Services or any successor agency.  

"Detector canine" means any dog that detects drugs or 

explosives. 

"Detector canine handler" means any individual who uses a 

detector canine in the performance of private security 

services. 

"Detector canine handler examiner" means any individual 

who examines the proficiency and reliability of detector 

canines and detector canine handlers in the detection of drugs 

or explosives. 

"Detector canine team" means the detector canine handler 

and his detector canine performing private security duties. 

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 

department.  

"Electronic roster submittal" means the authority given to 

the training director or assistant training director of a private 

security training school, after they have submitted an 

application and the required nonrefundable fee, to submit a 

training school roster to the department electronically through 

the department's online system.  

"Electronic images" [ mean means ] an acceptable method of 

maintaining required documentation [ for private security 

services licensed businesses and certified training schools ] 

through the scanning, storage, and maintenance of verifiable 

electronic copies of original documentation. 

"Electronic security business" means any person who 

engages in the business of or undertakes to (i) install, service, 

maintain, design or consult in the design of any electronic 

security equipment to an end user; (ii) respond to or cause a 

response to electronic security equipment for an end user; or 

(iii) have access to confidential information concerning the 

design, extent, status, password, contact list, or location of an 

end user's electronic security equipment.  

"Electronic security employee" means a natural person who 

is employed by an electronic security business in any capacity 

which may give him access to information concerning the 

design, extent, status, password, contact list, or location of an 

end user's electronic security equipment.  

"Electronic security equipment" means electronic or 

mechanical alarm signaling devices, including burglar alarms 

or holdup alarms or cameras used to detect intrusion, 

concealment or theft to safeguard and protect persons and 

property. This shall not include tags, labels, and other devices 

that are attached or affixed to items offered for sale, library 

books, and other protected articles as part of an electronic 

article surveillance and theft detection and deterrence system.  

"Electronic security sales representative" means a natural 

person who sells electronic security equipment on behalf of 

an electronic security business to the end user.  

"Electronic security technician" means a natural person who 

installs, services, maintains or repairs electronic security 

equipment.  

"Electronic security technician's assistant" means a natural 

person who works as a laborer under the supervision of the 

electronic security technician in the course of his normal 

duties, but who may not make connections to any electronic 

security equipment.  

"Employed" means an employer/employee relationship 

where the employee is providing work in exchange for 

compensation and the employer directly controls the 

employee's conduct and pays taxes on behalf of the employee. 

The term "employed" shall not be construed to include 

independent contractors.  

"Employee" means a natural person employed by a licensee 

to perform private security services that are regulated by the 

department.  

"End user" means any person who purchases or leases 

electronic security equipment for use in that person's home or 

business.  

"Engaging in the business of providing or undertaking to 

provide private security services" means any person who 
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solicits business within the Commonwealth of Virginia 

through advertising, business cards, submission of bids, 

contracting, public notice for private security services, 

directly or indirectly, or by any other means.  

[ "Entry-level training" means the compulsory initial 

training for registered categories and basic or intermediate 

firearms training standards adopted by the board for private 

security services business personnel who are either new 

registrants or failed to timely complete in-service within the 

prescribed time period. ]  

"Firearms endorsement" means a method of regulation that 

identifies an individual registered as a private security 

registrant and has successfully completed the annual firearms 

training and has met the requirements as set forth in this 

chapter.  

"Firearms training verification" means verification of 

successful completion of either initial or retraining 

requirements for handgun, or shotgun, or patrol rifle training, 

or both.  

"Firm" means a business entity, regardless of method of 

organization, applying for a an initial or renewal private 

security services business license or for the renewal or 

reinstatement of same private security services training school 

certification.  

"Incident" means an event that exceeds the normal extent of 

one's duties.  

"In-service training requirement" means the compulsory in-

service training standards adopted by the Criminal Justice 

Services Board for private security services business 

personnel.  

"Intermediate weapon" means a tool not fundamentally 

designed to cause deadly force with conventional use. This 

would exclude all metal ammunition firearms or edged 

weapons. These weapons include but are not limited to 

baton/collapsible baton, chemical irritants, electronic 

restraining devices, projectiles, and other less-lethal weapons 

as defined by the department. 

"Job-related training" means training specifically related to 

the daily job functions of a given category of registration or 

certification as defined in this chapter. [ Certifiable job-

related training may include a maximum of one hour of 

instruction dedicated to the review of regulations. ]  

"Key cutting" means making duplicate keys from an existing 

key and includes no other locksmith services. 

"License number" means the official number issued to a 

private security services business licensed by the department.  

"Licensed firm" means a business entity, regardless of 

method of organization, which holds a valid private security 

services business license issued by the department.  

"Licensee" means a licensed private security services 

business.  

"Locksmith security equipment" means mechanical, 

electrical or electro-mechanical locking devices for the 

control of ingress or egress that do not primarily detect 

intrusion, concealment and theft.  

"Locksmith" means any individual that performs locksmith 

services, or advertises or represents to the general public that 

the individual is a locksmith even if the specific term 

locksmith is substituted with any other term by which a 

reasonable person could construe that the individual 

possesses special skills relating to locks or locking devices, 

including use of the words lock technician, lockman, safe 

technician, safeman, boxman, unlocking technician, lock 

installer, lock opener, physical security technician, or similar 

descriptions. 

"Locksmith services" mean selling; servicing; rebuilding; 

repairing; rekeying; repining; changing the combination to an 

electronic or mechanical locking device; programming either 

keys to a device or the device to accept electronic controlled 

keys; originating keys for locks or copying keys; adjusting or 

installing locks or deadbolts, mechanical or electronic locking 

devices, egress control devices, safes, and vaults; or opening, 

defeating or bypassing locks or latching mechanisms in a 

manner other than intended by the manufacturer with or 

without compensation for the general public or on property 

not his own nor under his own control or authority. 

[ "Network administrator" means an individual designated 

by a certified training school that provides online training 

who serves as the technical contact between the department 

and the certified training school. ]  

"Official documentation" means personnel records; DD214; 

copies of business licenses indicating ownership; law-

enforcement transcripts; certificates of training completion; a 

signed letter provided directly by a current or previous 

employer detailing dates of employment and job duties; 

college transcripts; letters of commendation; private security 

services registrations, certifications or licenses from other 

states; and other employment, training, or experience 

verification documents. A resume is not considered official 

documentation.  

"On duty" means the time during which private security 

services business personnel receive or are entitled to receive 

compensation for employment for which a registration or 

certification is required.  

"On-line training" means training approved by the 

department and offered via the Internet or an Intranet for the 

purpose of remote access on-demand or long distance training 

that meets all requirements for compulsory minimum training 

standards. 

[ "Open breach loading" means a method of loading or 

reloading an empty shotgun with the bolt open. ]  

"Performance of his duties" means on duty in the context of 

this chapter.  
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"Person" means any individual, group of individuals, firm, 

company, corporation, partnership, business, trust, 

association, or other legal entity.  

"Personal protection specialist" means any natural person 

who engages in the duties of providing close protection from 

bodily harm to any person.  

"Physical address" means the location of the building that 

houses a private security services business or training school, 

or the location where the individual principals of a business 

reside. A post office box is not a physical address.  

"Principal" means any sole proprietor, individual listed as an 

officer or director with the Virginia State Corporation 

Commission, board member of the association, or partner of a 

licensed firm or applicant for licensure.  

"Private investigator" means any natural person who 

engages in the business of, or accepts employment to make, 

investigations to obtain information on (i) crimes or civil 

wrongs; (ii) the location, disposition, or recovery of stolen 

property; (iii) the cause of accidents, fires, damages, or 

injuries to persons or to property; or (iv) evidence to be used 

before any court, board, officer, or investigative committee.  

"Private security services business" means any person 

engaged in the business of providing, or who undertakes to 

provide, armored car personnel, security officers, personal 

protection specialists, private investigators, couriers, security 

canine handlers, security canine teams, detector canine 

handlers, detector canine teams, alarm respondents, 

locksmiths, central station dispatchers, electronic security 

employees, electronic security sales representatives or 

electronic security technicians and their assistants to another 

person under contract, express or implied.  

"Private security services business personnel" means each 

employee of a private security services business who is 

employed as an unarmed security officer, armed security 

officer/courier, armored car personnel, security canine 

handler, detector canine handler, private investigator, 

personal protection specialist, alarm respondent, locksmith, 

central station dispatcher, electronic security employee, 

electronic security sales representative, electronic security 

technician or electronic security technician's assistant.  

"Private security services instructor" means any natural 

person certified by the department to provide mandated 

instruction in private security subjects for a certified private 

security services training school.  

"Private security services registrant" means any qualified 

individual who has met the requirements under Article 6 

(6VAC20-171-120 et seq.) of Part III of this chapter to 

perform the duties of alarm respondent, locksmith, armored 

car personnel, central station dispatcher, courier, electronic 

security sales representative, electronic security technician, 

electronic security technician's assistant, personal protection 

specialist, private investigator, security canine handler, 

detector canine handler, unarmed security officer or armed 

security officer.  

"Private security services training school" means any person 

certified by the department to provide instruction in private 

security subjects for the training of private security services 

business personnel in accordance with this chapter.  

"Reciprocity" means the relation existing between Virginia 

and any other state, commonwealth or providence as 

established by agreements approved by the board.  

"Recognition" means the relation of accepting various 

application requirements between Virginia and any other 

state, commonwealth or providence as established by 

agreements approved by the board.  

"Registration" means a method of regulation which 

identifies individuals as having met the minimum 

requirements for a particular registration category as set forth 

in this chapter.  

"Registration category" means any one of the following 

categories: (i) unarmed security officer and armed security 

officer/courier, (ii) security canine handler, (iii) armored car 

personnel, (iv) private investigator, (v) personal protection 

specialist, (vi) alarm respondent, (vii) central station 

dispatcher, (viii) electronic security sales representative, or 

(ix) electronic security technician, or (x) electronic security 

technician's assistant, (xi) detector canine handler or (xii) 

locksmith.  

[ "Related field" means any field with training requirements, 

job duties, and experience similar to those of the private 

security services field in which the applicant wishes to be 

licensed, certified, or registered. This includes, but is not 

limited to, law enforcement and certain categories of the 

military. ]  

"Security canine" means a dog that has attended, completed, 

and been certified as a security canine by a certified security 

canine handler instructor in accordance with approved 

department procedures and certification guidelines. "Security 

canine" shall not include detector dogs.  

"Security canine handler" means any natural person who 

utilizes his security canine in the performance of private 

security duties.  

"Security canine team" means the security canine handler 

and his security canine performing private security duties.  

"Session" means a group of classes comprising the total 

hours of mandated compulsory minimum training standards 

in any of the following categories: unarmed security officer, 

armed security officer/courier, personal protection specialist, 

armored car personnel, security canine handler, private 

investigator, alarm respondent, locksmith, central station 

dispatcher, electronic security sales representative, electronic 

security technician, electronic security technician's assistant 

or compliance agent of licensure, registration, or certification 

in accordance with this article and in accordance with §§ 9.1-

150.2, 9.1-185.2 and 9.1-186.2 of the Code of Virginia. 
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"Supervisor" means any natural person who directly or 

indirectly supervises registered or certified private security 

services business personnel.  

"This chapter" means the Regulations Relating to Private 

Security Services (6VAC20-171) as part of the Virginia 

Administrative Code.  

"Training certification" means verification of the successful 

completion of any training requirement established in this 

chapter.  

"Training requirement" means any entry level, in-service, or 

firearms retraining standard established in this chapter.  

"Training school director" means a natural person 

designated by a principal of a certified private security 

services training school to assure the compliance of the 

private security services training school with all applicable 

requirements as provided in the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter.  

"Unarmed security officer" means a natural person who 

performs the function of observation, detection, reporting, or 

notification of appropriate authorities or designated agents 

regarding persons or property on the premises he is contracted 

to protect, and who does not carry or have access to a firearm 

in the performance of his duties.  

"Uniform" means any clothing with a badge, patch or 

lettering which clearly identifies persons to any observer as 

private security services business personnel, not law-

enforcement officers.  

Part II  

Application Fees  

6VAC20-171-20. Fees.  

A. Schedule of fees. The fees listed below reflect the costs 

of handling, issuance, and production associated with 

administering and processing applications for licensing, 

registration, certification and other administrative requests for 

services relating to private security services.  

  CATEGORIES FEES 

  CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORDS 

CHECK 

 

  Fingerprint Processing Application $50 

  Initial business license $800 

    1 Year License $550 

    2 Year License $800 

  Business license renewal (2 Year 

License) 

$500 

  Business license category fee $50 

  CERTIFICATIONS   

  Initial compliance agent certification $100 $50 

(includes training) 

  Compliance agent certification 

renewal (includes training) 

$50 $25 

  Initial registration $25 

  Registration renewal $20 

  Firearms endorsement (annual) $10 

  Initial training school $800 

  Training school renewal $500 

  Training school category fee $50 

  Training school electronic roster 

submittal authorization 

$500 

  Initial instructor certification $100 $50 

  Instructor certification renewal $50 $25 

  Instructor certification category fee $10 

  Initial Detector Canine Handler 

Examiner certification 

$50 

  Detector Canine Handler Examiner 

Certification renewal 

$25 

  Initial certification $25 

  Certification renewal $20 

  REGISTRATION   

  Initial registration $25 

  Registration renewal $20 

  Additional registration category form $20 

  Replacement photo identification  $20 

  TRAINING RELATED   

  Firearm Endorsement [ $30 $15 ]  

  Application for Entry-level partial-

training exemption 

$25 

  In Service Training Alternative Credit 

Evaluation 

$25 

  Regulatory Compliance entry-level 

training 

$75 

  Regulatory Compliance In-service 

training 

$50 

  Fingerprint card processing $50 

  Additional registration category form $20 

  Replacement photo identification 

letter 

$15 
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  [ Training completion roster form $30 ] 

  General instructor development 

course 

$300 

  General instructor in service training $50 

  Firearms instructor development 

course 

$300 

  Firearms instructor in service training $50 

  Technical assistant training $50 

B. Reinstatement fee.  

1. The department shall collect a reinstatement fee for 

registration, license, or certification renewal applications 

not received on or before the expiration date of the 

expiring registration, license, or certification pursuant to 

6VAC 20-171-180. 

2. The reinstatement fee shall be 50% above and beyond 

the renewal fee of the registration, license, certification, or 

any other credential issued by the department wherein a fee 

is established and renewal is required. 

C. Dishonor of fee payment due to nonsufficient insufficient 

funds. 

1. The department may suspend the registration, license, 

certification, or authority it has granted any person, 

licensee or registrant who submits a check or similar 

instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation which is not honored by the financial institution 

upon which the check or similar instrument is drawn. 

2. The suspension shall become effective upon receipt of 

written notice of the dishonored payment. Upon 

notification of the suspension, the person, registrant or 

licensee may request that the suspended registration, 

license, certification, or authority be reinstated, provided 

payment of the dishonored amount plus any penalties or 

fees required under the statute or regulation [ accompany 

accompanies ] the request. Suspension under this provision 

shall be exempt from the Administrative Process Act. 

D. Manual processing service fee. The department shall 

collect a [ $20 $5.00 ] service fee for any applications under 

this chapter that are submitted to the department by other 

means than the available electronic methods established by 

the department. 

Part III  

Applications Procedures and Requirements  

Article 1  

Criminal History Records Search  

6VAC20-171-30. Fingerprint processing. 

A. On or before the first date of hire, each person applying 

for licensure as a private security services business, including 

principals, supervisors, and electronic security employees; 

certification as a private security services training school; 

certification as a compliance agent, detector canine handler 

examiner or instructor; or a private security registration or 

private security certification shall submit to the department:  

1. Two One completed fingerprint cards card provided by 

the department or another electronic method approved by 

the department;  

2. A fingerprint processing application;  

3. The applicable, nonrefundable fee; and  

4. All criminal history conviction information on a form 

provided by the department.  

B. The department shall submit those fingerprints to the 

Virginia State Police for the purpose of conducting a Virginia 

Criminal History Records search and a National Criminal 

Records search to determine whether the individual or 

individuals have a record of conviction.  

C. Fingerprints cards found to be unclassifiable will be 

returned to the applicant. Action on the application will be 

suspended suspend all action on the application pending the 

resubmittal resubmission of a classifiable fingerprint cards 

card. The applicant shall be so notified in writing and shall 

must submit a new fingerprint cards and the applicable, 

nonrefundable fee to the department card within 30 days of 

notification before the processing of his application shall 

resume. However, no such fee may be required if the rejected 

fingerprint cards are included and attached to the new 

fingerprint cards when resubmitted and the department is not 

assessed additional processing fees. If a fingerprint card is not 

submitted within the 30 days, the initial fingerprint 

application process will be required to include applicable 

application fees. 

D. If the applicant is denied by DCJS, the department will 

notify the applicant by letter regarding the reasons for the 

denial. The compliance agent will also be notified in writing 

by DCJS that the applicant has been denied.  

E. Fingerprint applications will be [ only ] active for 120 

days from [ the date of ] submittal. Application for licenses, 

registrations, and certifications must be submitted within that 

120-day period or initial fingerprint submittal will be 

required. 

Article 2  

Private Security Services Business License  

6VAC20-171-50. Initial business license application. 

A. Prior to the issuance of a business license, the applicant 

shall meet or exceed the requirements of licensing and 

application submittal to the department as set forth in this 

section.  

B. Each person seeking a license as a private security 

services business shall file a completed application provided 

by the department including:  

1. For each principal and supervisor of the applying 

business, their fingerprints pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30; 

for each electronic security employee of an electronic 
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security services business, their fingerprints pursuant to 

6VAC20-171-30; 

2. Documentation verifying that the applicant has secured a 

surety bond in the amount of $100,000 executed by a 

surety company authorized to do business in Virginia, or a 

certificate of insurance reflecting the department as a 

certificate holder, showing a policy of comprehensive 

general liability insurance with a minimum coverage of 

$100,000 [ per individual occurrence ] and $300,000 

[ general aggregate ] issued by an insurance company 

authorized to do business in Virginia; 

3. For each nonresident applicant for a license, on a form 

provided by the department, a completed irrevocable 

consent for the department to serve as service agent for all 

actions filed in any court in this Commonwealth;  

4. For each applicant for a license as a private security 

services business except sole proprietor or partnership, on 

a form provided by the department  [ shall submit on the 

license application, ] the identification number issued by 

the Virginia State Corporation Commission for verification 

that the entity is authorized to conduct business in the 

Commonwealth;  

5. A physical address in Virginia where records required to 

be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this chapter are 

kept and available for inspection by the department. A post 

office box is not a physical address;  

6. 5. On the license application, designation of at least one 

individual as compliance agent who is not designated as 

compliance agent for any other licensee, and who is 

certified or eligible for certification pursuant to 6VAC20-

171-70;  

7. 6. The applicable, nonrefundable license application fee; 

and  

8. 7. Designation on the license application of the type of 

private security business license the applicant is seeking. 

The initial business license fee includes one category. A 

separate fee will be charged for each additional category. 

The separate categories are identified as follows: security 

officers/couriers (armed and unarmed), private 

investigators, electronic security personnel, armored car 

personnel, personal protection specialists, locksmiths, 

detector canine handlers and security canine handlers. 

Alarm respondents crossover into both the security officer 

and electronic security category; therefore, if an applicant 

is licensed in either of these categories, he can provide 

these services without purchasing an additional category 

fee.  

C. Upon completion of the initial license application 

requirements, the department may issue an initial license for a 

period not to exceed 24 months.  

D. The department may issue a letter of temporary licensure 

to businesses seeking licensure under § 9.1-139 of the Code 

of Virginia for not more than 120 days while awaiting the 

results of the state and national fingerprint search conducted 

on the principals and compliance agent of the business, 

provided the applicant has met the necessary conditions and 

requirements.  

E. A new license is required whenever there is any change in 

the ownership or type of organization of the licensed entity 

that results in the creation of a new legal entity. Such changes 

include but are not limited to: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited 

partnership; and 

3. Formation or dissolution of a corporation, a limited 

liability company, or an association or any other business 

entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. 

F. Each license shall be issued to the legal business entity 

named on the application, whether it  [ be is ]  a sole 

proprietorship, partnership, corporation, or other legal entity, 

and shall be valid only for the legal entity named on the 

license. No license shall be assigned or otherwise transferred 

to another legal entity, with the exception of a sole 

proprietorship or partnership that incorporates to form a new 

corporate entity where the initial licensee remains as a 

principal in the newly formed corporation. This exception 

shall not apply to any existing corporation that purchases the 

business or assets of an existing sole proprietorship.  

G. Each licensee shall comply with all applicable 

administrative requirements and standards of conduct and 

shall not engage in any acts prohibited by applicable sections 

of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

H. Each licensee shall be a United States citizen or legal 

resident alien of the United States.  

6VAC20-171-60. Renewal license application.  

A. Applications for license renewal should be received by 

the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 

department will provide a renewal notification to the last 

known mailing address of the licensee. However, if a renewal 

notification is not received by the licensee, it is the 

responsibility of the licensee to ensure renewal requirements 

are filed with the department. License renewal applications 

must be received by the department and all license 

requirements must be completed prior to the expiration date 

or shall be subject to all applicable, nonrefundable renewal 

fees plus reinstatement fees. Outstanding fees or monetary 

penalties owed to DCJS must be paid prior to issuance of said 

renewal.  

B. Licenses will be renewed for a period not to exceed 24 

months.  

C. The department may renew a license when the following 

are received by the department:  

1. A properly completed renewal application;  
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2. Documentation verifying that the applicant has secured 

and maintained a surety bond in the amount of $100,000 

executed by a surety company authorized to do business in 

Virginia, or a certificate of insurance reflecting the 

department as a certificate holder, showing a policy of 

comprehensive general liability insurance with a minimum 

coverage of $100,000 [ per individual occurrence ] and 

$300,000 [ general aggregate ] issued by an insurance 

company authorized to do business in Virginia;  

3. Fingerprint records for any new or additional principals 

submitted to the department within 30 days of their hire 

date pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30 provided, however, that 

any change in the ownership or type of organization of the 

licensed entity has not resulted in the creation of a new 

legal entity pursuant to 6VAC-20-171-50;  

4. On the application, designation of at least one 

compliance agent who has satisfactorily completed all 

applicable training requirements;  

5. The applicable, nonrefundable license renewal fee and 

applicable category of service fees; [ and ]  

6. On the first day of employment, each new and additional 

supervisor's fingerprints submitted to the department 

pursuant to § 9.1-139 H of the Code of Virginia. [ ; and ]  

[ 7. A completed business license self audit form issued by 

the department. ]  

D. Each principal and compliance agent listed on the 

business applying for a license renewal application shall be in 

good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, registered 

or certified in a private security services or related field. This 

subsection shall not apply to any probationary periods during 

which the individual is eligible to operate under the license, 

registration or certification.  

E. Any renewal application received after the expiration date 

of a license shall be subject to the requirements set forth by 

the reinstatement provisions of this chapter.  

F. On the renewal application the licensee must designate 

the type of private security business license he wishes to 

renew. The fee will be based upon the category or categories 

selected on the renewal application pursuant to 6VAC20-171-

20.  

Article 3  

Compliance Agent Certification  

6VAC20-171-70. Compliance agent training and 

certification requirements. 

A. Each person applying for certification as compliance 

agent shall meet the minimum requirements for eligibility:  

1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age;  

2. Have (i) three years of managerial or supervisory 

experience in a private security services business, a federal, 

state, or local law-enforcement agency, or in a related field 

or (ii) five years experience in a private security services 

business, with a federal, state or local law-enforcement 

agency, or in a related field; and  

3. Be a United States citizen or legal resident alien of the 

United States.  

B. Each person applying for certification as compliance 

agent shall file with the department:  

1. A properly completed application provided by the 

department;  

2. Fingerprint cards card pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30;  

3. Official documentation verifying that the individual has 

(i) three years of managerial or supervisory experience in a 

private security services business, a federal, state, or local 

law-enforcement agency, or in a related field or (ii) five 

years experience in a private security services business, 

with a federal, state or local law-enforcement agency, or in 

a related field; and  

4. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee.  

C. Following review of all application requirements, the 

department shall assign the applicant to an entry level 

compliance agent training session provided by the 

department, at which the applicant must successfully 

complete the applicable entry level compliance agent training 

requirements pursuant to this chapter and achieve a passing 

score of 80% on the compliance agent examination. The 

department may issue a certification for a period not to 

exceed 24 months when the following are received by the 

department: 

1. A properly completed application provided by the 

department;  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable certification fee; 

3. Verification of eligibility pursuant to § 9.1-139 A of the 

Code of Virginia; and 

4. Verification of satisfactory completion of department 

regulatory compliance entry-level training requirements 

pursuant to 6VAC20-171-72 of this chapter. 

D. Following completion of the entry level training 

requirements, the compliance agent must complete in-service 

training pursuant to the compulsory minimum training 

standards set forth by this chapter.  

E. D. Each compliance agent shall comply with all 

applicable administrative requirements and standards of 

conduct and shall not engage in any acts prohibited by 

applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

6VAC20-171-71. Compliance agent certification renewal 

requirements. 

A. Applications for certification renewal should be received 

by the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 

department will provide a renewal notification to the last 

known mailing address or email address provided by the 

certified compliance agent. However, if a renewal notification 

is not received by the compliance agent, it is the 

responsibility of the compliance agent to ensure renewal 
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requirements are filed with the department. Certification 

renewal applications received by the department after the 

expiration date shall be subject to all applicable, 

nonrefundable renewal fees plus reinstatement fees. 

B. Each person applying for compliance agent certification 

renewal shall meet the minimum requirements for eligibility 

as follows:  

1. Successfully apply on an application provided by the 

department, and complete the in-service regulatory 

compliance agent classroom training session provided by 

the department, or successfully complete an approved 

online in-service training session pursuant to 6VAC20-

171-72. Training must be completed within the 12 months 

immediately preceding the expiration date of the current 

certification pursuant to the certification training standards 

in 6VAC20-171-72; and 

2. Be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, 

registered, or certified in private security services or 

related field. This subdivision shall not apply to any 

probationary periods during which the individual is eligible 

to operate under the license, registration, or certification. 

C. The department may renew a certification for a period not 

to exceed 24 months. 

D. The department may renew a certification when the 

following are received by the department: 

1. A properly completed renewal application provided by 

the department;  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable certification renewal fee; 

and 

3. Verification of satisfactory completion of department 

regulatory compliance agent in-service training pursuant to 

6VAC20-171-72. 

E. Any renewal application received after the expiration date 

of a certification shall be subject to the requirements set forth 

by the reinstatement provisions of this chapter. 

6VAC20-171-72. Compliance agent regulatory compliance 

training requirements. 

A. Each eligible person applying to attend a regulatory 

compliance entry-level or in-service training session provided 

by the department shall file with the department: 

1. A properly completed application provided by the 

department; and 

2. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee. 

Upon receipt of the training enrollment application the 

department will assign the applicant to a training session 

provided by the department. Applicants for initial 

certification as a compliance agent must achieve a minimum 

passing score of 80% on the entry-level regulatory 

compliance training examination. 

B. Department entry-level regulatory compliance training 

must be completed within 12 months of approval of 

application for an initial compliance agent certification. 

C. Each person certified by the department to act as a 

compliance agent shall complete the department in-service 

regulatory compliance training within the last 12-month 

period of certification.  

Article 4  

Private Security Services Training School Certification  

6VAC20-171-80. Initial training school application. 

A. Prior to the issuance of a training school certification, the 

applicant shall meet or exceed the requirements of 

certification and application submittal to the department as set 

forth in this section.  

B. Each person seeking certification as a private security 

services training school shall file a completed application 

provided by the department to include:  

1. For each principal of the applying training school, their 

fingerprints pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30;  

2. Documentation verifying that the applicant has secured a 

surety bond in the amount of $100,000 executed by a 

surety company authorized to do business in Virginia, or a 

certificate of insurance reflecting the department as a 

certificate holder, showing a policy of comprehensive 

general liability insurance with a minimum coverage of 

$100,000 [ per individual occurrence ] and $300,000 

[ general aggregate ] issued by an insurance company 

authorized to do business in Virginia;  

3. For each nonresident applicant for a training school, on a 

form provided by the department, a completed irrevocable 

consent for the department to serve as service agent for all 

actions filed in any court in this Commonwealth;  

4. For each applicant for certification as a private security 

services training school except sole proprietor and 

partnership, on a form certification application provided by 

the department, the identification number issued by the 

Virginia State Corporation Commission for verification 

that the entity is authorized to conduct business in the 

Commonwealth;  

5. A physical location in Virginia where records required 

to be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this chapter 

are kept and available for inspection by the department. A 

post office box is not a physical location;  

6. 5. On the training school certification application, 

designation of at least one individual as training director 

who is not designated as training director for any other 

training school, and who is certified as an instructor 

pursuant to Article 5 (6VAC20-171-100 et seq.) of this 

part. A maximum of four individuals may be designated as 

an assistant [ training ] school director;  

7. 6. A copy of the curriculum in course outline format for 

each category of training to be offered, including the hours 

of instruction with initial and in-service courses on 

separate documents;  

8. 7. A copy of the training school regulations;  
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9. [ 8. A copy of the training completion certificate to be 

used by the training school; ]  

10. [ 9. 8. ] A copy of the range regulations to include the 

assigned DCJS range identification number if firearms 

training will be offered; [ and ]  

11. [ 10. The applicable, nonrefundable training school 

certification application fee. 

11. 9. ] On the certification application, selection of the 

category of training the applicant is seeking to provide. 

The initial training school certification [ application ] fee 

includes one category. A separate fee will be charged for 

each additional category of training. The separate 

categories are identified as follows: (i) security 

officers/couriers/alarm respondent (armed and unarmed) to 

include arrest authority [ and firearms training ], (ii) private 

investigators, (iii) locksmiths, electronic security personnel 

to include central station dispatchers, (iv) armored car 

personnel, (v) personal protection specialists, (vi) detector 

canine handlers, security canine handlers, (vii) special 

conservators of the peace pursuant to § 9.1-150 of the 

Code of Virginia, [ and ] (viii) bail bondsmen pursuant to 

§ 9.1-185 of the Code of Virginia, bail enforcement agents 

pursuant to § 9.1-186 of the Code of Virginia [ ., and (ix) 

firearms; 

10. The applicable, nonrefundable category fee; and  

11. The applicable, nonrefundable training school 

certification application fee. ] 

C. When the department has received and processed a 

completed application and accompanying material, the 

department shall may inspect the training facilities to ensure 

conformity with department policy, including an inspection of 

the firearms range, if applicable, to ensure conformity with 

the minimum requirements set forth by this chapter.  

D. Upon completion of the initial training school application 

requirements, the department may issue an initial certification 

for a period not to exceed 24 months.  

E. The department may issue a letter of temporary 

certification to training schools for not more than 120 days 

while awaiting the results of the state and national fingerprint 

search conducted on the principals and training director of the 

business, provided the applicant has met the necessary 

conditions and requirements.  

F. A new certification is required whenever there is any 

change in the ownership or type of organization of the 

certified entity that results in the creation of a new legal 

entity. Such changes include but are not limited to: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited 

partnership; and 

3. Formation or dissolution of a corporation, a limited 

liability company, or an association or any other business 

entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. 

G. Each certification shall be issued to the legal entity 

named on the application, whether it [ be is ] a sole 

proprietorship, partnership, corporation, or other legal entity, 

and shall be valid only for the legal entity named on the 

certification. No certification shall be assigned or otherwise 

transferred to another legal entity, with the exception of a sole 

proprietorship or partnership that incorporates to form a new 

corporate entity where the initial licensee remains as a 

principal in the newly formed corporation. This exception 

shall not apply to any existing corporation that purchases the 

training school or assets of an existing sole proprietorship.  

H. Each certified training school shall comply with all 

applicable administrative requirements and standards of 

conduct and shall not engage in any acts prohibited by 

applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

6VAC20-171-90. Renewal training school application. 

A. Applications for certification renewal should be received 

by the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 

department will provide a renewal notification to the last 

known mailing address of or email address provided by the 

certified training school. However, if a renewal notification is 

not received by the training school, it is the responsibility of 

the training school to ensure renewal requirements are filed 

with the department. Certification renewal applications 

received by the department after the expiration date shall be 

subject to all applicable, nonrefundable renewal fees plus 

reinstatement fees. Outstanding fees or monetary penalties 

owed to DCJS must be paid prior to issuance of said renewal.  

B. Upon completion of the renewal training school 

application requirements, the department may issue a renewal 

certification for a period not to exceed 24 months.  

C. The department may renew a certification when the 

following are received by the department:  

1. A properly completed renewal application;  

2. Documentation verifying that the applicant has secured 

and maintained a surety bond in the amount of $100,000 

executed by a surety company authorized to do business in 

Virginia, or a certificate of insurance reflecting the 

department as a certificate holder, showing a policy of 

comprehensive general liability insurance with a minimum 

coverage of $100,000 [ per individual occurrence ] and 

$300,000 [ general aggregate ] issued by an insurance 

company authorized to do business in Virginia;  

3. On the application, designation of at least one certified 

instructor as training director who has satisfactorily 

completed all applicable training requirements; [ and ]  

4. Fingerprints for each new and additional principal 

pursuant to § 9.1-139 H of the Code of Virginia [ .; ]  

5. The applicable, nonrefundable certification renewal fee 

[ .and category fees; ]  
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6. Any documentation required pursuant to 6VAC20-171-

80 for any new categories of training [ ; and 

7. A completed training school certification self audit form 

issued by the department ]. 

D. Each principal and instructor listed on the license training 

school applying for a certification renewal application shall 

be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, 

registered or certified in private security services or related 

field. This subsection shall not apply to any probationary 

periods during which the individual is eligible to operate 

under the license, registration or certification.  

E. Any renewal application received after the expiration date 

of a certification shall be subject to the requirements set forth 

by the reinstatement provisions of this chapter pursuant to 

6VAC20-171-180. 

Article 5  

Private Security Services Instructor Certification  

6VAC20-171-100. Initial instructor application.  

A. Each person applying for certification as an instructor 

shall meet the following minimum requirements for 

eligibility:  

1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age;  

2. Have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED);  

3. Have either (i) successfully completed a DCJS instructor 

development course within the three years immediately 

preceding the date of the application or submitted a waiver 

application for an instructor development course that meets 

or exceeds standards established by the department; or (ii) 

successfully completed an approved DCJS instructor 

development program longer than three years prior to the 

date of application, and provided documented instruction 

during the three years immediately preceding or provided 

documented instruction in a related field at an institution of 

higher learning;  

4. Have a minimum of (i) three years management or 

supervisory experience with a private security services 

business or with any federal, military police, state, county 

or municipal law-enforcement agency, or in a related field; 

or (ii) five years general experience in a private security 

services business, with a federal, state or local law-

enforcement agency, or in a related field; or (iii) one year 

experience as an instructor or teacher at an accredited 

educational institution or agency in the subject matter for 

which certification is requested, or in a related field; and  

5. Have previous training and a minimum of two years 

work experience for those subjects in which certification is 

requested; and 

5. 6. Be a United State States citizen or legal resident alien 

of the United States.  

B. Each person applying for certification as an instructor 

shall file with the department:  

1. A properly completed application provided by the 

department;  

2. Fingerprint cards card pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30;  

3. Official documentation verifying that the applicant 

meets the minimum eligibility requirements pursuant to 

this section;  

4. Official documentation verifying previous instructor 

experience, training, work experience and education for 

those subjects in which certification is requested. The 

department will evaluate qualifications based upon the 

justification provided;  

[ 4. On the certification application, selection of the 

category of training the applicant is seeking to provide. 

The initial instructor certification fee includes one 

category. A separate fee will be charged for each additional 

category of training. The separate categories are identified 

as follows: (i) security officers/couriers/alarm respondent 

(armed and unarmed) to include arrest authority, (ii) 

private investigators, (iii) locksmiths, electronic security 

personnel to include central station dispatchers, (iv) 

armored car personnel, (v) personal protection specialists, 

(vi) detector canine handlers, security canine handlers, (vii) 

special conservators of the peace pursuant to § 9.1-150 of 

the Code of Virginia, (viii) bail bondsmen pursuant to 

§ 9.1-185 of the Code of Virginia, bail enforcement agents 

pursuant to § 9.1-186 of the Code of Virginia, and (ix) 

firearms; ]  

[ 5. 4. ] The [ applicable, ] nonrefundable [ instructor 

certification ] application fee [ and category fee or fees if 

applicable ]; and  

[ 6. 5. ] Evidence of status as a United States citizen or 

legal resident alien of the United States.  

C. Following review of all application requirements, the 

department shall verify eligibility and authorize the applicant 

to submit a regulatory compliance training enrollment 

application for an entry-level instructor regulatory 

compliance classroom training session provided by the 

department, or approve the applicant for taking the approved 

online training session pursuant to 6VAC20-171-111, at 

which the applicant must successfully complete the applicable 

entry-level regulatory compliance training requirements 

pursuant to this chapter and achieve a passing score of 80% 

on the regulatory compliance examination. 

C. D. In addition to the instructor qualification requirements 

described in subsections A and B through C of this section, 

each applicant for certification as a firearms instructor shall 

submit to the department:  

1. Official documentation that the applicant has 

successfully completed a DCJS firearms instructor school 

or a waiver application with supporting documentation 

demonstrating completion of a firearms instructor school 

specifically designed for law-enforcement or private 

security personnel that meets or exceeds standards 
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established by the department within the three years 

immediately preceding the date of the instructor 

application.  

2. Official documentation in the form of a signed, dated 

range sheet [ identifying the type, caliber, and action, 

along ] with the qualification score and course of fire that 

the applicant has successfully qualified, with a minimum 

range qualification of 85%, with each of the following:  

a. A revolver;  

b. A semi-automatic handgun; and  

c. A shotgun. 

3. Firearms instructors applying to provide patrol rifle 

training in accordance with 6VAC20-171-395 must submit 

official documentation in the form of a signed, dated range 

sheet that the applicant has successfully qualified, with a 

minimum range qualification of 85%, with a patrol rifle. 

4. Range qualifications must have been completed within 

the 12 months immediately preceding the instructor 

application date and have been completed at a Virginia 

criminal justice agency, training academy, correctional 

facility, or [ a department approved range utilized by a ] 

certified private security training school. The qualifications 

must be documented by another instructor certified as a 

law-enforcement firearms instructor or private security 

services firearms instructor. 

3. 5. The firearms instructor training must have been 

completed within the three years immediately preceding 

the date of the instructor application; or in the event that 

the school completion occurred prior to three years, the 

applicant shall have provided firearms instruction during 

the three years immediately preceding the date of the 

instructor application.  

D. E. Upon completion of the initial instructor application 

requirements, the department may issue an initial certification 

for a period not to exceed 24 months.  

E. F. The department may issue a letter of temporary 

certification to instructors for not more than 120 days while 

awaiting the results of the state and national fingerprint search 

provided the applicant has met the necessary conditions and 

requirements.  

F. G. Each certification shall be issued to the individual 

named on the application and shall be valid only for use by 

that individual. No certification shall be assigned or otherwise 

transferred to another individual.  

G. H. Each instructor shall comply with all applicable 

administrative requirements and standards of conduct and 

shall not engage in any acts prohibited by applicable sections 

of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

6VAC20-171-110. Renewal instructor application. 

A. Applications for certification renewal should be received 

by the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 

department will provide a renewal notification to the last 

known mailing address of or email address provided by the 

certified instructor. However, if a renewal notification is not 

received by the instructor, it is the responsibility of the 

instructor to ensure renewal requirements are filed with the 

department. Certification renewal applications received by the 

department after the expiration date shall be subject to all 

applicable, nonrefundable renewal fees plus reinstatement 

fees.  

B. Each person applying for instructor certification renewal 

shall meet the minimum requirements for eligibility as 

follows:  

1. Successfully complete the in-service training regulatory 

compliance classroom [ or online ] training session 

provided by the department [ , or successfully complete an 

approved online in-service training session pursuant to 

6VAC20-171-11 ] within the 12 months immediately 

preceding the expiration date of the current certification 

pursuant to the compulsory minimum training standards in 

6VAC20-171-360; and;  

2. Successfully complete a minimum of 4 hours of 

continuing education in instructor development. Training 

must be completed within the 12 months immediately 

preceding the expiration date of the current certification; 

[ and ]  

[ 3. Successfully complete a minimum of 2 hours of 

professional development for topics related to each 

category of instructor certification during the certification 

period; and ]  

2. [ 4. 3. ] Be in good standing in every jurisdiction where 

licensed, registered or certified in a private security 

services or related field. This subdivision shall not apply to 

any probationary periods during which the individual is 

eligible to operate under the license, registration or 

certification.  

C. The department may renew a certification for a period not 

to exceed 24 months.  

D. The department may renew a certification when the 

following are received by the department:  

1. A properly completed renewal application provided by 

the department; and  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable certification renewal fee. 

[ and applicable category fees ]; 

[ 3. Any documentation required pursuant to 6VAC20-171-

100 for any new categories of training; ]  

[ 3. 4. ] Verification of satisfactory completion of 

regulatory compliance in-service training provided by the 

department; 

[ 4. 5. ] Verification of satisfactory completion of 

instructor development continuing education requirements;  

[ 5. Verification of 2 hours of professional development 

training in each category of certification taken during the 

certification period; and ]  
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6. For firearms instructors, official documentation in the 

form of a signed, dated range sheet [ identifying the type, 

caliber, and action, ] along with the qualification score and 

course of fire, with a minimum range qualification of 85%, 

with each of the following: 

a. A revolver; 

b. A semi-automatic handgun; and 

c. A shotgun. 

7. Firearms instructors applying to provide patrol rifle 

training in accordance with 6VAC20-171-395 must submit 

official documentation in the form of a signed, dated range 

sheet that the applicant has successfully qualified, with a 

minimum range qualification of 85%, with a patrol rifle. 

8. Range qualifications must have been completed within 

the 12 months immediately preceding the instructor 

application date and have been completed at a Virginia 

criminal justice agency, training academy, correctional 

facility, [ or a department approved range utilized by a ] 

certified private security training school. The qualifications 

must be documented by another instructor certified as a 

law-enforcement firearms instructor or private security 

services firearms instructor. 

E. Any instructor renewal application received by the 

department shall meet all renewal requirements prior to the 

expiration date of a certification or shall be subject to the 

requirements set forth by the reinstatement provisions [ of 

this chapter pursuant to 6VAC20-171-180 ].  

6VAC20-171-111. Instructor regulatory compliance 

training requirements. 

A. Each eligible person applying to attend a regulatory 

compliance entry-level or in-service training session provided 

by the department shall file with the department: 

1. A properly completed application provided by the 

department; and 

2. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee. 

Upon receipt of the training enrollment application the 

department will assign the applicant to a regulatory 

compliance training session provided by the department. 

Applicants for initial certification as an instructor must 

achieve a minimum passing score of 80% on the entry-level 

regulatory compliance examination. 

B. Department entry-level regulatory compliance training 

must be completed within 12 months of approval of 

application for an initial instructor certification. 

6VAC20-171-115. Initial detector canine handler 

examiner certification. 

A. Each person applying for certification as a detector 

canine handler examiner shall meet the following minimum 

requirements for eligibility:  

1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age;  

2. Have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED);  

3. Have a minimum of five years experience as a detector 

canine handler and a minimum of two years experience as 

a detector canine trainer; 

4. Have an active certification as a detector canine handler 

examiner or equivalent credential from a department 

approved national organization, unit of the United States 

military, or other formal entity; or be sponsored by a 

certified DCJS private security services detector canine 

handler examiner; 

5. Successfully pass a written examination and 

performance evaluations according to department 

guidelines; and 

6. Be a United States citizen or legal resident alien of the 

United States.  

B. Each person applying for certification as a detector 

canine handler examiner shall file with the department:  

1. A properly completed application provided by the 

department;  

2. Fingerprint card pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30;  

3. Official documentation according to subdivisions A 3 

and 4 of this section; and 

4. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee.  

C. Following review of all application requirements, the 

department shall verify eligibility and authorize the applicant 

to submit a regulatory compliance training enrollment 

application pursuant to 6VAC20-171-117 for an entry-level 

classroom training session provided by the department, or 

approve the applicant for taking the approved online training 

session pursuant to 6VAC20-171-117, at which the applicant 

must successfully complete the applicable entry-level 

regulatory compliance training requirements pursuant to this 

chapter and achieve a passing score of 80% on the 

examination. 

D. Upon completion of the initial detector canine handler 

examiner application requirements, the department may issue 

an initial certification for a period not to exceed 24 months.  

E. The department may issue a letter of temporary 

certification to detector canine handler examiners for not 

more than 120 days while awaiting the results of the state and 

national fingerprint search provided the applicant has met the 

necessary conditions and requirements.  

F. Each certification shall be issued to the individual named 

on the application and shall be valid only for use by that 

individual. No certification shall be assigned or otherwise 

transferred to another individual.  

G. Each detector canine handler examiner shall comply with 

all applicable administrative requirements and standards of 

conduct and shall not engage in any acts prohibited by 

applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  
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6VAC20-171-116. Renewal detector canine handler 

examiner certification. 

A. Applications for certification renewal should be received 

by the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 

department will provide a renewal notification to the last 

known mailing address of the certified examiner. However, if 

a renewal notification is not received by the examiner, it is 

the responsibility of the examiner to ensure renewal 

requirements are filed with the department. Certification 

renewal applications received by the department after the 

expiration date shall be subject to all applicable, 

nonrefundable renewal fees plus reinstatement fees.  

B. Each person applying for examiner certification renewal 

shall meet the minimum requirements for eligibility as 

follows:  

1. Have maintained certification as a detector canine 

handler examiner or equivalent credential according to 

6VAC20-171-115 A 4 [ or and ] demonstrate the 

completion of a minimum of 16 hours of continuing 

education during the previous certification period; 

[ 2. Successfully complete the in-service regulatory 

compliance classroom or online training session provided 

by the department within the 12 months immediately 

preceding the expiration date of the current certification; ] 

and 

[ 3. ] Be in good standing in every jurisdiction where 

licensed, registered, or certified. This subdivision shall not 

apply to any probationary periods during which the 

individual is eligible to operate under the license, 

registration, or certification.  

C. The department may renew a certification for a period not 

to exceed 24 months.  

D. The department may renew a certification when the 

following are received by the department:  

1. A properly completed renewal application provided by 

the department;  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable certification renewal fee; 

and 

3. Official documentation according to subsection B [ 1 ] 

of this section. 

E. Any examiner renewal application received by the 

department shall meet all renewal requirements prior to the 

expiration date of a certification or shall be subject to the 

requirements set forth by the reinstatement provisions of this 

chapter. 

6VAC20-171-117. Detector canine handler examiner 

regulatory compliance training enrollment. 

A. Each eligible person applying to attend a regulatory 

compliance entry-level [ or in-service ] training session 

provided by the department shall file with the department: 

1. A properly completed application provided by the 

department; and 

2. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee. 

Upon receipt of the training enrollment application the 

department will assign the applicant to a regulatory 

compliance examiner training session provided by the 

department, at which the applicant must successfully 

complete the applicable training requirements. Applicants for 

initial certification as an examiner must achieve a minimum 

passing score of 80% on the entry-level examination. 

B. Department entry-level regulatory compliance training 

must be completed within 12 months of approval of 

application for an initial examiner certification. 

Article 6  

Private Security Services Registration  

6VAC20-171-120. Initial registration application. 

A. Individuals required to be registered, pursuant to § 9.1-

139 C of the Code of Virginia, in the categories of armored 

car personnel, courier, unarmed security officer, armed 

security officer, security canine handler, explosives detector 

canine handler, narcotics detector canine handler, private 

investigator, personal protection specialist, alarm respondent, 

locksmith, central station dispatcher, electronic security sales 

representative, electronic security technician, or electronic 

security technician's assistant shall meet all registration 

requirements in this section. Prior to the issuance of a 

registration, the applicant shall meet or exceed the 

requirements of registration and application submittal to the 

department as set forth in this section. Individuals who carry 

or have access to a firearm while on duty must have a valid 

registration with a firearm endorsement pursuant to 6VAC20-

171-140. If carrying a handgun concealed, the individual 

must also have a valid concealed handgun permit and the 

written permission of his employer pursuant to § 18.2-308 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

B. Each person applying for registration shall meet the 

minimum requirements for eligibility as follows:  

1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age;  

2. Successfully complete all initial training requirements 

for each registration category requested, including firearms 

endorsement if applicable, requested pursuant to the 

compulsory minimum training standards in 6VAC20-171-

360 6VAC20-171-350; [ and ]  

3. Be a United States citizen or legal resident alien of the 

United States [ .; and 

4. Have a digital photo taken by a certified private security 

services training school or other site approved by the 

department. ]  

C. Each person applying for registration shall file with the 

department:  

1. A properly completed application provided by the 

department;  

2. On the application, his mailing address;  

3. Fingerprint cards card pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30; and  
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[ 4. A photo taken by a certified private security services 

training school or other site approved by the department; 

and ]  

[ 5. 4. ] The applicable, nonrefundable application fee.  

D. Each person seeking or required to seek registration as 

unarmed security officer, alarm respondent, locksmith, central 

station dispatcher, electronic security sales representative, 

electronic security technician, or electronic security 

technician's assistant may be employed for a period not to 

exceed 90 consecutive days in any categories listed above 

while completing the compulsory minimum training 

standards, provided:  

1. Fingerprint cards Fingerprints have been submitted 

pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30;  

2. The individual is not employed in excess of 120 days 

without having been issued a registration from the 

department; and  

3. The individual did not fail to timely complete the 

required training with previous employer(s).  

E. Upon completion of the initial registration application 

requirements, the department may issue an initial registration 

letter for a period not to exceed 24 months. This registration 

letter shall be submitted by the applicant to the Virginia 

Department of Motor Vehicles or other specified entity for a 

state-issued photo identification card.  

F. The department may issue a letter of temporary 

registration [ valid ] for not more than 120 days while 

awaiting the results of the state and national fingerprint 

search, provided the applicant has met the necessary 

conditions and requirements.  

G. Each registration shall be issued to the individual named 

on the application and shall be valid only for use by that 

individual. No registration shall be assigned or otherwise 

transferred to another individual.  

H. Each registered individual shall comply with all 

applicable administrative requirements and standards of 

conduct and shall not engage in any acts prohibited by 

applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

6VAC20-171-130. Renewal registration application. 

A. Applications for registration renewal shall meet all 

renewal requirements and should be received by the 

department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The 

department will provide a renewal notification to the last 

known mailing address of or email address provided by the 

registered individual. However, if a renewal notification is 

not received by the individual, it is the responsibility of the 

individual to ensure renewal requirements are filed with the 

department. Registration renewal applications received by the 

department after the expiration date shall be subject to all 

applicable, nonrefundable renewal fees plus reinstatement 

fees.  

B. Each person applying for registration renewal shall meet 

the minimum requirements for eligibility as follows:  

1. Successfully complete the in-service training, and 

firearms retraining if applicable, pursuant to the 

compulsory minimum training standards set forth by this 

chapter; [ and ]  

2. Be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, 

registered or certified. This subdivision shall not apply to 

any probationary periods during which the individual is 

eligible to operate under the license, registration or 

certification [ .; and ]  

[ 3. Upon the request of the department, have a new digital 

photo taken by a certified private security services training 

school or other site approved by the department. ]  

C. The department may renew a registration when the 

following are received by the department:  

1. A properly completed renewal application provided by 

the department;  

2. For individuals applying for renewal with the category 

of armored car personnel, fingerprint cards card submitted 

pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30;  

3. The applicable, nonrefundable registration renewal fee; 

and  

4. For individuals with firearms endorsements, evidence of 

completion of annual firearms retraining in accordance 

with 6VAC20-171-400. Part V, Article 2 (6VAC20-171-

365 et seq.) of this chapter [ ; and. ]  

[ 5. Upon the request of the department, a new photo taken 

by a certified private security services training school or 

other site approved by the department. ]  

D. Upon completion of the renewal registration application 

requirements, the department may issue a registration letter 

for a period not to exceed 24 months. This registration letter 

shall be submitted by the applicant to the Virginia 

Department of Motor Vehicles or other specified entity for a 

state-issued photo identification card.  

E. Any renewal application received by the department shall 

meet all renewal requirements prior to the expiration date of a 

registration or shall be subject to the requirements set forth by 

the reinstatement provisions of this chapter pursuant to 

6VAC20-171-180.  

6VAC20-171-135. Firearms endorsement. 

A. [ Firearms training A firearms ] endorsement is required 

for all private security services business personnel who carry 

or have [ immediate ] access to a firearm while on duty. Each 

person who carries or has [ immediate ] access to firearms 

while on duty shall qualify with each type of action and 

caliber of firearm to which he has access.  

B. Each person applying for a firearms endorsement shall 

meet the minimum requirements for eligibility as follows:  

1. Must be registered in a regulated category. 
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2. Must complete [ entry-level ] handgun, and if applicable, 

shotgun and patrol rifle training as described in Part V, 

Article 2 [ 6VAC20-171-365 ] et seq.) of this chapter. 

C. All armed private security services business personnel 

with the exception of personal protection specialist must 

satisfactorily complete firearms retraining prescribed in 

6VAC20-171-400. 

D. All armed personal protection specialist must 

satisfactorily complete firearms retraining prescribed in 

6VAC20-171-420.  

E. Firearms endorsements are issued for a period not to 

exceed 12 months. Individuals must complete firearms 

retraining within the [ 120 90 ] days prior to the expiration of 

their current firearm endorsement or will be required to 

complete entry-level training requirements prior to applying 

for an active endorsement. 

[ Article 7  

Additional Categories/Replacement Identification  

6VAC20-171-160. Additional category application.  

A. Individuals may apply for multiple registration or 

certification categories during the initial application process 

by completing the applicable training requirements for each 

category.  

B. Registered or certified individuals seeking to add 

categories to a current registration or certification must:  

1. Successfully complete all initial training requirements 

for each additional registration or certification category 

requested pursuant to the compulsory minimum training 

standards in Part V (6VAC20-171-350 et seq.) of this 

chapter;  

2. Submit a properly completed application provided by 

the department; and  

3. Submit the applicable, nonrefundable application fee.  

C. Individuals may avoid paying a separate fee for 

additional registration or certification categories when the 

categories are requested on the application for renewal. ]  

6VAC20-171-170. Replacement state issued photo 

identification [ letter card ].  

Registered [ or certified ] individuals seeking a replacement 

state issued photo identification letter card shall submit to the 

department:  

1. A properly completed application provided by the 

department; and  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee.  

Article 8  

Reinstatement and Renewal Extension  

6VAC20-171-180. Reinstatement.  

A. Any business license, training school, instructor, 

compliance agent, detector canine handler examiner 

certification, instructor certification or registration not 

renewed on or before the expiration date shall become null 

and void. Pursuant to the Code of Virginia, all such persons 

must currently be licensed, registered or certified with the 

department to provide private security services.  

B. A renewal application must be received by the 

department within 60 days following the expiration date of 

the license, certification or registration in order to be 

reinstated by the department providing all renewal 

requirements have been met. Prior to reinstatement the 

following shall be submitted to the department:  

1. The appropriate renewal application and completion of 

renewal requirements including required training pursuant 

to this chapter; and  

2. The applicable, nonrefundable reinstatement fee 

pursuant to this chapter and in accordance with 6VAC20-

171-20 B.  

The department shall not reinstate renewal applications 

received after the 60-day reinstatement period has expired. 

It is unlawful to operate without a valid registration, 

certification, or license including during reinstatement 

period.  

The department shall not reinstate business licenses or 

training school certifications that have become null and void 

due to not maintaining required insurance or surety bond 

coverage.  

C. No license, registration or certification shall be renewed 

or reinstated when all renewal application requirements are 

received by the department more than 60 days following the 

expiration date of the license. After that date, the applicant 

shall meet all initial application requirements, including 

applicable training requirements.  

D. Following submittal of all reinstatement requirements, 

the department will process and may approve any application 

for reinstatement pursuant to the renewal process for the 

application.  

E. When a license, certification, or registration is reinstated, 

the applicant shall continue to have the same DCJS number 

and shall be assigned an expiration date two years from the 

previous expiration date of the license, certification, or 

registration. 

F. An applicant who reinstates shall be regarded as having 

been continuously licensed, certified, or registered without 

interruption. Therefore, the applicant shall remain under the 

disciplinary authority of the department during this entire 

period and may be held accountable for his activities during 

this period. 

G. A person who fails to reinstate his license, certification, 

or registration shall be regarded as unlicensed, uncertified, or 

unregistered from the expiration date of the license, 

certification, or registration forward. 

H. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the department of its 

authority to discipline a person for a violation of the law or 

regulations during the period of time for which the person 

was licensed, certified, or registered. 
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[ I. Firearms endorsements are not eligible for reinstatement. 

If renewal requirements are not met pursuant to 6VAC20-

171-135, the applicant shall meet all initial application 

requirements, including applicable initial firearms training 

requirements. ] 

6VAC20-171-190. Renewal extension.  

A. An extension of the time period to meet renewal 

requirements may be approved only under specific 

circumstances which do not allow private security personnel, 

businesses, or training schools to complete the required 

procedures within the prescribed time period. The following 

are the only circumstances for which extensions may be 

granted:  

1. Extended illness;  

2. Extended injury;  

3. Military or foreign service; or  

4. Any emergency temporary assignment of private 

security personnel for purposes of (i) natural disaster, (ii) 

homeland security or (iii) documented threat, by the 

private security services business or training school for 

which he is employed.  

B. A request for extension shall:  

1. Be submitted in writing, dated and signed by the 

individual or principal of a licensed entity prior to the 

expiration date of the time limit required for completion of 

the requirements. This requirement may be waived by the 

department based on an evaluation of the justification for 

waiver. 

2. Indicate the projected date the person, business, or 

training school will be able to comply with the 

requirements; and  

3. Include a copy of the physician's record of the injury or 

illness, or a copy of the government orders or 

documentation of emergency temporary assignment.  

C. No extension will be approved for registrations, 

certifications, or business licenses that have expired.  

D. C. Applications for additional extensions may be 

approved upon written request of the person, business, or 

training school.  

D. The total time for renewal extension, including additional 

extensions, shall not exceed 12 months beyond the original 

expiration date. If renewal requirements are not met during 

the period of extension, the individual must complete all 

initial training requirements to include applicable entry-level 

training. 

E. The private security services person, business, or training 

school shall be nonoperational during the period of extension 

[ unless otherwise issued a temporary exemption and has been 

authorized by the department pursuant to § 9.1-139 of the 

Code of Virginia ]. 

Article 9  

Application Sanctions; Exemptions, Recognition/Reciprocity  

6VAC20-171-200. Denial, probation, suspension and 

revocation. 

A. The department may deny a license, registration or 

certification in which any person or principal of an applying 

business has been convicted in any jurisdiction of any felony 

or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and 

battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled 

substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 

Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as described in 

Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, or firearms. Any plea of nolo contendere 

shall be considered a conviction for the purposes of this 

chapter. The record of a conviction, authenticated in such 

form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws of the 

jurisdiction where convicted, shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such conviction.  

B. The department may deny a license, registration or 

certification in which any person or principal of an applying 

business or training school has not maintained good standing 

in every jurisdiction where licensed, registered or certified in 

a private security services or related field; or has had his 

license, registration or certification denied upon initial 

application, suspended, revoked, surrendered, or not renewed; 

or has otherwise been disciplined in connection with a 

disciplinary action prior to applying for licensing, registration 

or certification in Virginia.  

C. Any false or misleading statement on any state 

application or supporting documentation is grounds for denial 

or revocation and may be subject to criminal prosecution.  

D. The department may deny licensure to a firm, 

certification, or registration for other just cause.  

E. A licensee, training school, compliance agent, instructor, 

detector canine handler examiner, or registered individual 

shall be subject to disciplinary action for violations or 

noncompliance with the Code of Virginia or this chapter. 

Disciplinary action shall be in accordance with procedures 

prescribed by the Administrative Process Act. The 

disciplinary action may include but is not limited to a letter of 

censure, fine, probation, suspension or revocation.  

F. If a registrant or certified person is subject to disciplinary 

action for violations or noncompliance with the Code of 

Virginia or this chapter, the department will notify the last 

known licensed or certified private security services business 

or training school [ by which they were employed or 

affiliated ]. 
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Part IV  

Administrative Requirements/Standards of Conduct 

Article 1 

[ Private Security Services Businesses General 

Requirements ]  

6VAC20-171-215. General requirements. 

All private security services registered and certified 

personnel, licensed businesses and certified training schools 

are required to maintain administrative requirements and 

standards of conduct as determined by the Code of Virginia, 

department guidelines and this chapter.  

[ Article 2  

Private Security Services Businesses ]  

6VAC20-171-220. Business administrative requirements. 

A licensee shall:  

1. Maintain at all times with the department its [ email 

address and ] physical location in Virginia where records 

required to be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter are kept and available for inspection by the 

department address [ and email address if applicable ]. A 

post office box is not a physical location address. [ Such 

notification Notification of any change ] shall be in writing 

and received by the department no later than 10 days after 

the effective date of the change.  

2. Maintain at all times with the department its current 

operating name and all fictitious names. Any name change 

reports shall be submitted in writing within 10 days after 

the occurrence of such change and accompanied by 

certified true copies of the documents that establish the 

name change.  

3. Report in writing to the department any change in its 

ownership or principals that does not result in the creation 

of a new legal entity. Such written report shall be received 

by the department within 30 days after the occurrence of 

such change to include fingerprint cards pursuant to this 

chapter.  

4. Report in writing to the department any change in the 

entity of the licensee that results in continued operation 

requiring a license. Such written report shall be received by 

the department within 10 days after the occurrence of such 

change.  

5. Maintain at all times current liability coverage at least in 

the minimum amounts prescribed by the application 

requirements of this chapter. Failure of the business to do 

so shall result in the license becoming null and void. Each 

day of uninsured activity would be construed as an 

individual violation of this requirement. 

6. Maintain at all times with the department a completed 

irrevocable consent for service if the licensee is not a 

resident of the Commonwealth of Virginia. Licensees that 

move their business from the Commonwealth shall file a 

completed irrevocable consent for services within 15 days 

of the change in location.  

7. Employ at all times at least one individual designated as 

compliance agent who is in good standing and is certified 

pursuant to 6VAC20-171-70 and who is not currently 

designated as compliance agent for another licensee. In the 

event there is more than one compliance agent designated 

for the business, designate one as the primary compliance 

agent and point of contact.  

8. Maintain at all times and for a period of not less than 

three years from the date of termination of employment the 

following documentation concerning all regulants: 

documentation or electronic images of the date of hire in 

the regulated category, documentation that the fingerprint 

processing application was submitted on the date of hire, 

verification that the employee is a U.S. citizen or legal 

resident alien and is properly registered/certified and 

trained, current physical and mailing addresses for all 

regulated employees and telephone numbers if applicable.  

9. Upon termination of employment of a certified 

compliance agent, notify the department in writing within 

10 calendar days. This notification shall include the name 

of the individual responsible for the licensee's adherence to 

applicable administrative requirements and standards of 

conduct during the period of replacement. 

10. Within 90 days of termination of employment of the 

sole remaining compliance agent, submit the name of a 

new compliance agent who is eligible for certification 

pursuant to this chapter and who is not currently 

designated for another licensee. Individuals not currently 

eligible may pursue certification pursuant to Part III 

(6VAC20-171-30 et seq.) of this chapter. [ Such This ] 

notification shall be in writing and signed by a principal of 

the business and the designated compliance agent.  

11. Prominently display at all times for public inspection, 

in a conspicuous place where the public has access, the 

business license issued by the department.  

12. Ensure that all individuals submit fingerprint cards 

pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30 as required by the Code of 

Virginia.  

13. Inform the department in writing within 10 days of 

receiving knowledge of any principal, partner, officer, 

compliance agent or employee regulated or required to be 

regulated by this chapter [ being arrested for a crime in any 

jurisdiction, ] pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being 

convicted or found guilty of any felony or of a 

misdemeanor as outlined in § 9.1-139 K of the Code of 

Virginia.  

14. Inform the department in writing within 10 days of 

receiving knowledge of any principal, licensee, subsidiary, 

partner, officer, compliance agent or employee regulated or 

required to be regulated by this chapter, having been found 

guilty by any court or administrative body of competent 
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jurisdiction to have violated the private security services 

business statutes or regulations of that jurisdiction, there 

being no appeal therefrom or the time for appeal having 

elapsed.  

15. On a form provided by the department and within 10 

calendar days of receiving knowledge of the an incident, 

submit a report of any incident in which any registrant has 

discharged a firearm while on duty, excluding any training 

exercise.  

16. In the event a complaint against the licensee is received 

by the department, be required to furnish documentary 

evidence (written agreement) of the terms agreed to 

between licensee and client, which shall include at a 

minimum the specific scope of services and fees assessed 

for such services. The licensee shall retain a copy for a 

period of not less than three years from completion of said 

agreement.  

17. Not fail to honor the terms and conditions of a warranty 

or written agreement.  

18. In the event a licensee sells or otherwise transfers the 

ownership of a monitoring agreement of an electronic 

security customer [ in Virginia ], notify the end user, in 

writing, within 30 days of the transfer of monitoring 

services. No licensee shall sell or otherwise transfer to an 

entity not licensed in Virginia.  

19. Ensure that all regulated employees carry a state [ the 

department issued the ] photo identification [ registration ] 

card along with their registration or certification card, 

unless the card is one in the same [ issued by the 

department while on duty or temporary registration letter 

along with a photo ID while on duty ].  

20. [ Ensure that all regulated employees authorized to 

provide private security services while completing 

compulsory minimum training standards pursuant to § 9.1-

139 H of the Code of Virginia carry a photo ID along with 

an authorization form provided by the department while on 

duty. 

21. ] Maintain a written use of force policy dictating the 

business' policy for using deadly force and for use of less 

lethal force. A statement certifying that the employee has 

read and understands the business' use of force policy must 

be signed by each employee who is permitted to carry 

firearms or intermediate weapons and maintained in the 

employee's file. 

[ 21. 22. ] Maintain records for individual employees 

permitted to carry intermediate weapons while on duty to 

verify training in the use of the permitted intermediate 

weapons.  

[ 22. 23. ] Maintain at all times and for a period of not less 

than three years from the date of termination, 

decertification or other separation, records of detector 

canine handler team certifications to include a photo of 

detector canine teams utilized to provide regulated private 

security services as defined in this chapter.  

6VAC20-171-230. Business standards of conduct.  

A licensee shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Ensure that all employees regulated, or required to be 

regulated, by this chapter conform to all application 

requirements, administrative requirements and standards of 

conduct pursuant to the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

3. Not direct any employee regulated, or required to be 

regulated, by this chapter to engage in any acts prohibited 

by the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

4. Employ individuals regulated, or required to be 

regulated, as follows:  

a. A licensee shall employ or otherwise utilize 

individuals possessing a valid registration issued by the 

department showing the registration categories required 

to perform duties requiring registration pursuant to the 

Code of Virginia;  

b. A licensee shall not allow individuals requiring 

registration as armored car personnel, armed security 

officers/couriers, armed alarm respondents with firearm 

endorsement, private investigators, personal protection 

specialists, detector canine handlers or security canine 

handlers to perform private security services until such 

time as the individual has been issued a registration by 

the department;  

c. A licensee may employ individuals requiring 

registration as unarmed alarm respondent without firearm 

endorsement, locksmith, central station dispatcher, 

electronic security sales representative, electronic 

security technician, [ unarmed ] armored car driver, 

unarmed security officer or electronic security 

technician's assistant for a period not to exceed 90 

consecutive days in any registered category listed above 

while completing the compulsory minimum training 

standards provided:  

(1) The individual's fingerprint [ cards have card has ] 

been submitted pursuant to Article 1 (6VAC20-171-30 et 

seq.) of Part III of this chapter;  

(2) The individual is not employed in excess of 120 days 

without having been issued a registration from the 

department; and  

(3) The individual did not fail to timely complete the 

required training with previous employer(s).  

d. A licensee shall not employ any individual carrying or 

having access to a firearm in the performance of his 

duties who has not obtained a valid registration and 

firearms endorsement from the department; and  

e. A licensee shall maintain appropriate documentation to 

verify compliance with these requirements. A licensee 
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shall maintain these documents after employment is 

terminated for a period of not less than three years.  

5. Not contract or subcontract any private security services 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia to a person not 

[ required to be ] licensed by the department. Verification 

of a contractor's or subcontractor's license issued by the 

department shall be maintained for a period of not less than 

three years.  

6. Ensure that the compliance agent conforms to all 

applicable application requirements, administrative 

requirements and standards of conduct pursuant to the 

Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

7. Permit the department during regular business hours to 

inspect, review, or copy those documents, electronic 

images, business records or training records that are 

required to be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter.  

8. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 

provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 

Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.  

9. Not commit any act or omission that results in a private 

security license or registration being suspended, revoked, 

not renewed or being otherwise disciplined in any 

jurisdiction.  

10. [ Not have Ensure that regulated employees of the 

business have not ] been convicted or found guilty in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a 

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and 

battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled 

substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 

Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as 

described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of 

Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms, from which 

no appeal is pending, the time for appeal having elapsed. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purpose of this chapter. The record of 

conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 

admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted shall be prima facie evidence of such 

guilt.  

11. Not obtain or aid and abet others to obtain a license, 

license renewal, registration, registration renewal, 

certification, certification renewal, or firearms 

endorsement through any fraud or misrepresentation.  

12. Include the business license number issued by the 

department on all business advertising materials pursuant 

to the Code of Virginia. Business advertising materials 

containing information regarding more than one licensee 

must contain the business license numbers of each licensee 

identified. 

13. Not conduct a private security services business in such 

a manner as to endanger the public health, safety and 

welfare.  

14. Not falsify, or aid and abet others in falsifying, training 

records for the purpose of obtaining a license, registration 

or certification.  

15. Not represent as one's own a license issued to another 

private security services business.  

16. When providing central station monitoring services, 

attempt to verify the legitimacy of a burglar alarm 

activation by calling the site of the alarm. If unable to 

make contact, call one additional number provided by the 

alarm user who has the authority to cancel the dispatch. 

(This shall not apply if the alarm user has provided written 

authorization requesting immediate or one call dispatch to 

both their local police department and their dealer of 

record). This shall not apply to duress or hold-up alarms.  

17. Not perform any unlawful or negligent act resulting in 

loss, injury or death to any person.  

18. Utilize vehicles for private security services using or 

displaying a an amber flashing light only as specifically 

authorized by § 46.2-1025.9 of the Code of Virginia.  

19. Not use or display the state seal of Virginia or the seal 

of the Department of Criminal Justice Services, or any 

portion thereof, or the seal of any political subdivision of 

the Commonwealth, or any portion thereof, as a part of any 

logo, stationery, letter, training document, business card, 

badge, patch, insignia or other form of identification or 

advertisement.  

20. Not provide information obtained by the firm or its 

employees to any person other than the client who secured 

the services of the licensee without the client's prior written 

consent. Provision of information in response to official 

requests from law-enforcement agencies, the courts, or the 

department shall not constitute a violation of this chapter. 

Provision of information to law-enforcement agencies 

pertinent to criminal activity or to planned criminal activity 

shall not constitute a violation of this chapter.  

21. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 

practice of private security services.  

22. Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent private 

security services.  

23. Not make any misrepresentation or false promise to a 

private security services business client or potential private 

security services business client.  

24. Not violate any state or local ordinances.  

25. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations 

related to private security services not provided.  

26. Not publish or cause to be published any written 

business material relating to private security services that 

contains an assertion, representation, or statement of fact 

that is false, deceptive or misleading.  
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27. Not conduct private security business under a fictitious 

or assumed name unless the name is on file with the 

Department of Criminal Justice Services. This does not 

apply to a private investigator conducting a "pretext," 

provided that the private investigator does not state that he 

is representing a private security business that does not 

exist or otherwise prohibited under federal law.  

28. Not act as or be an ostensible licensee for undisclosed 

persons who do or will control directly or indirectly the 

operations of the licensee's business. 

29. Not provide false or misleading information to 

representatives of the department. 

[ 30. Not refuse to cooperate with an investigation being 

conducted by the department. 

31. 30. ] Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 

incomplete, or untrue information on [ a license 

application, renewal any email, ] application, or any other 

document filed with the department. 

6VAC20-171-240. Compliance agent administrative 

requirements and standards of conduct. 

A compliance agent shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Maintain at all times with the department his mailing 

address and email address [ if applicable ]. Written 

notification of any change of address shall be in writing 

and received by the department no later than 10 days after 

the effective date of the change.  

3. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 

provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 

Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.  

4. Not commit any act or omission which results in a 

private security license or registration being suspended, 

revoked, not renewed or being otherwise disciplined in any 

jurisdiction.  

5. Not have been convicted or found guilty in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a 

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and 

battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled 

substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 

Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as 

described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of 

Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms, from which 

no appeal is pending, the time for appeal having elapsed. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purpose of this chapter. The record of 

conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 

admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted shall be prima facie evidence of such 

guilt.  

6. Inform the department, and the licensee for which the 

individual is designated as compliance agent if applicable, 

in writing within 10 days after [ being arrested for a crime 

in any jurisdiction, ] pleading guilty or nolo contendere 

[  or and after ] being convicted or found guilty of any 

felony or of a misdemeanor as outlined in § 9.1-139 K of 

the Code of Virginia.  

7. Inform the department, and the licensee for which the 

individual is designated as compliance agent if applicable, 

in writing within 10 days after having been found guilty by 

any court or administrative body of competent jurisdiction 

to have violated the private security services business 

statutes or regulations of that jurisdiction, there being no 

appeal therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed.  

8. Not obtain a license, license renewal, registration, 

registration renewal, certification or certification renewal 

through any fraud or misrepresentation.  

9. Only be designated with the department and acting as a 

compliance agent for one licensed entity.  

10. Be designated with the department as compliance agent 

for a licensee and shall:  

a. Ensure that the licensee and all employees regulated, 

or required to be regulated, by this chapter conform to all 

application requirements, administrative requirements 

and standards of conduct pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter;  

b. Maintain documentation for all employees or persons 

otherwise utilized that verifies compliance with 

requirements pursuant to the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter;  

c. Notify the department in writing within 10 calendar 

days following termination of his employment as 

compliance agent for the licensee; [ and ]  

d. Ensure that all regulated employees carry [ a state the 

department ] issued photo identification card [ . unless 

the card is one in the same along with their registration ] 

or certification [ card or temporary registration letter 

along with a photo ID while on duty; and 

e. Ensure that all regulated employees authorized to 

provide private security services while completing 

compulsory minimum training standards pursuant to 

§ 9.1-139 H of the Code of Virginia carry a photo ID 

along with an authorization form provided by the 

department while on duty. ]  

11. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 

practice of private security services.  

12. Not engage in acts of negligent and/or incompetent 

private security services.  

13. Not make any misrepresentation or false promise to a 

private security services business client or potential private 

security services business client.  
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14. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations 

related to private security services not provided.  

15. Not publish or cause to be published any written 

business material relating to private security services that 

contain an assertion, representation, or statement of fact 

that is false, deceptive or misleading.  

16. Not conduct private security business under a fictitious 

or assumed name unless the name is on file with the 

Department of Criminal Justice Services. This does not 

apply to a private investigator conducting a "pretext," 

provided that the private investigator does not state that he 

is representing a private security business that does not 

exist [ or otherwise prohibited under federal laws ].  

17. Not violate any state or local ordinances related to 

private security services. 

18. Not provide false or misleading information to 

representatives of the department. 

[ 19. Not refuse to cooperate with an investigation being 

conducted by the Department. 

20. 19. ] Not use access to the department's database 

information for any other purpose than verifying 

employee's application status. 

[ 21. 20. ] Not allow another to use access granted to the 

department's database for any purpose. 

[ 22. 21. ] Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 

incomplete, or untrue information on [ a certification 

application, certification renewal any email, ] application, 

or any other document filed with the department. 

[ 23. Not have an arrest that the prima facie evidence 

would indicate the propensity for harming the public. ]  

Article 2  

Private Security Services Training Schools  

6VAC20-171-245. General requirements. (Repealed.)  

All training schools are required to maintain administrative 

requirements and standards of conduct as determined by the 

Code of Virginia, department guidelines and this chapter.  

Article 3  

Private Security Services Training Schools  

6VAC20-171-250. Administrative Training school 

administrative requirements. 

A training school shall:  

1. Maintain at all times with the department its [ email 

address and ] physical location in Virginia where records 

required to be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter are kept and available for inspection by the 

department address [ and email address if applicable ]. A 

post office box is not a physical location address. [ Such 

notification Notification of any change ] shall be in writing 

and received by the department no later than 10 days after 

the effective date of the change.  

2. Employ at all times one individual designated as training 

director who is currently certified as an instructor pursuant 

to this chapter and who is not currently designated as 

training director for another training school. A training 

school may designate a maximum of four individuals as 

assistant [ training ] school directors.  

3. Upon termination of the services of a certified instructor, 

notify the department in writing within 10 calendar days. 

Should the instructor also be designated as the training 

director for the training school, this notification shall 

include the name of the instructor responsible for the 

training school's adherence to applicable administrative 

requirements and standards of conduct during the period of 

training director replacement.  

4. Within 90 days of termination of employment of the sole 

remaining training director, submit the name of a new 

instructor eligible for designation pursuant to this chapter 

and who is not currently designated for another training 

school. Individuals not currently eligible may pursue 

certification pursuant to Part III (6VAC20-171-30 et seq.) 

of this chapter. Such notification shall be in writing and 

signed by a principal of the training school and the 

designated training director.  

5. Notify the department in writing of any certified 

instructors or subject matter specialists eligible to provide 

instruction at the training school. The notification shall be 

received by the department prior to the individual 

conducting any training for the training school and signed 

by the training school director and the designated instructor 

or subject matter specialist.  

6. Prominently display at all times, in a conspicuous place 

where the public has access, the training school 

certification issued by the department.  

7. Maintain at all times current liability coverage at least in 

the minimum amounts prescribed by the application 

requirements of this chapter. Failure of the training school 

to do so shall result in the certification becoming null and 

void. Each day of uninsured activity would be construed as 

an individual violation of this requirement. 

8. Inform the department in writing within 10 days, for any 

principal, partner, officer, instructor or employee regulated 

or required to be regulated by this chapter [ being arrested 

for a crime in any jurisdiction, ] pleading guilty or nolo 

contendere or being convicted or found guilty of any 

felony or of a misdemeanor as outlined in § 9.1-139 K of 

the Code of Virginia. 

9. Inform the department in writing within 10 days, for any 

principal, partner, officer, instructor or employee regulated 

or required to be regulated by this chapter having been 

found guilty by any court or administrative body of 

competent jurisdiction to have violated the private security 

services business statutes or regulations of that jurisdiction, 

there being no appeal therefrom or the time for appeal 

having elapsed.  
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10. Report in writing to the department any change in its 

ownership or principals that does not result in the creation 

of a new legal entity. Such written report shall be received 

by the department within 10 days after the occurrence of 

such change to include fingerprint cards submitted 

pursuant to 6VAC20-171-30.  

11. Maintain at all times with the department its current 

operating name and fictitious names. Any name change 

reports shall be submitted in writing within 10 days after 

the occurrence of such change and accompanied by 

certified true copies of the documents that establish the 

name change.  

12. Report in writing to the department any change in the 

entity of the training school that results in continued 

operation requiring a certification. Such written report shall 

be received by the department within 10 days after the 

occurrence of such change.  

13. Maintain written authorization from the department for 

any subject matter specialists being used to provide 

instruction.  

14. Develop lesson plans for each training curriculum and 

subject being offered in accordance with the topical 

outlines submitted to the department to include hours of 

instruction.  

15. Maintain comprehensive and current lesson plans for 

each entry level training curriculum and subject being 

offered.  

16. Maintain comprehensive and current lesson plans for 

each in-service training curriculum and subject being 

offered.  

17. Maintain comprehensive and current lesson plans for 

each firearms training curriculum and subject being 

offered.  

18. Date all lesson plans and handout material, including 

the initial date of development and subsequent revisions.  

19. Ensure that current copies of the following 

requirements are provided to and maintained with the 

department, including:  

a. A list of all training locations used by the training 

school, excluding hotel/motel facilities;  

b. A list of all firing range names and locations;  

c. A list of all subject matter specialists currently 

employed, or otherwise utilized; and  

d. Copies of current topical outlines for all lesson plans 

and curriculums. The lesson plans and subsequent course 

outlines shall include (i) specific reference to the course 

content involving the Code of Virginia and this chapter 

and (ii) the hours of instruction.  

20. Ensure that range qualification for all firearms training 

is completed pursuant to this chapter except with written 

authorization from the department.  

21. On a form provided by the department and within 10 

calendar days of the an incident, submit a report of any 

incident in which any instructor, student or employee has 

discharged a firearm while on duty, excluding any training 

exercise.  

22. Not act as or be a certified training school for 

undisclosed persons who directly or indirectly control the 

operation of the training school.  

23. Inform the department and compliance agent of the 

employing business if applicable, in a format prescribed by 

the department within seven days of any person regulated 

under this chapter who fails to requalify with a minimum 

passing score on the range. 

6VAC20-171-260. Training school standards of conduct.  

A training school shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Ensure that the owners, principals, training director and 

all instructors employed by the training school conform to 

all applicable application requirements, administrative 

requirements and standards of conduct pursuant to the 

Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

3. Utilize only certified instructors, or other individuals 

eligible to provide instruction pursuant to this chapter in 

the conduct of private security training sessions.  

4. Maintain current files that include copies or electronic 

images of attendance records, a master final examination, 

pass/fail recording of examination and firearms 

qualification scores, training completion rosters, and 

training completion forms for each student for three years 

from the date of the training session in which the 

individual student was enrolled.  

5. Permit the department during regular business hours to 

inspect, review, or copy those documents, electronic 

images, business records or training records that are 

required to be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter.  

6. Permit the department to inspect and observe any 

training session. Certified training schools that conduct 

training sessions not located within Virginia may be 

required to pay the expenses of inspection and review.  

7. Include the training school certification number issued 

by the department on all business advertising materials 

pursuant to the Code of Virginia.  

8. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 

provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 

Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.  

9. Not commit any act or omission that results in a private 

security license or registration being suspended, revoked, 

not renewed or being otherwise disciplined in any 

jurisdiction.  
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10. Ensure that the owner, principals, training director and 

all instructors employed by the training school have not 

been convicted or found guilty in any jurisdiction of the 

United States of any felony or a misdemeanor involving 

moral turpitude, assault and battery, damage to real or 

personal property, controlled substances or imitation 

controlled substances as defined in Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et 

seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, 

prohibited sexual behavior as described in Article 7 

(§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, or firearms, from which no appeal is pending, the 

time for appeal having elapsed. Any plea of nolo 

contendere shall be considered a conviction for the purpose 

of this chapter. The record of conviction certified or 

authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence 

under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 

prima facie evidence of such guilt.  

11. Not obtain or aid and abet others to obtain a license, 

license renewal, registration, registration renewal, 

certification or certification renewal through any fraud or 

misrepresentation.  

12. Conduct [ entry level entry-level ] and in-service 

training sessions separately. In-service subjects and 

curriculums may not be incorporated or included as a part 

of the entry-level subjects and curriculums [ unless 

otherwise authorized by the department ].  

13. Not conduct a private security services training school 

in such a manner as to endanger the public health, safety 

and welfare.  

14. Not falsify, or aid and abet others in falsifying, training 

records for the purpose of obtaining a license, registration, 

certification, or certification as a compliance agent, 

training school, school director or instructor.  

15. Not represent as one's own a certification issued to 

another private security services training school.  

16. Not perform any unlawful or negligent act resulting in 

loss, injury or death to any person.  

17. Not use or display the state seal of Virginia, or any 

portion thereof, as a part of any logo, stationery, business 

card, badge, patch, insignia or other form of identification 

or advertisement.  

18. Not use or display the state seal of the Department of 

Criminal Justice Services, or any portion thereof, or the 

seal of any political subdivision [ of the Commonwealth ], 

or any portion thereof, as a part of the training school's 

logo, stationery, letter, training document, business card, 

badge, patch, insignia or other form of identification or 

advertisement.  

19. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 

practice of private security services.  

20. Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent private 

security services.  

21. Not make any misrepresentation or false promise to a 

private security services business client or potential private 

security services business client.  

22. Not violate any state or local ordinances related to 

private security services.  

23. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations 

related to private security services not provided.  

24. Not publish or cause to be published any written 

business material relating to private security services that 

contains an assertion, representation, or statement of fact 

that is false, deceptive or misleading.  

25. Not provide false or misleading information to 

representatives of the department. 

[ 26. Not refuse to cooperate with an investigation being 

conducted by the department. 

27. 26. ] Not act as or be an ostensible certified training 

school for undisclosed persons who do or will control 

directly or indirectly the operations of the training school. 

[ 28. 27. ] Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 

incomplete, or untrue information on [ a certification 

application, renewal any email, ] application, or any other 

document filed with the department. 

6VAC20-171-270. Private security services training 

Training school director administrative requirements and 

standards of conduct. 

A training school director shall:  

1. Ensure that the certified training school and all 

employees regulated, or required to be regulated, by this 

chapter conform to all application requirements, 

administrative requirements and standards of conduct 

pursuant to the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Conform to all application requirements, administrative 

requirements and standards of conduct as a certified 

instructor pursuant to the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter.  

3. Maintain documentation for all employees or persons 

otherwise utilized that verifies compliance with 

requirements pursuant to the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter.  

4. Notify the department in writing within 10 calendar days 

following termination of his employment as training 

director for the certified training school.  

5. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 

practice of private security services.  

6. Not engage in act of negligent or incompetent private 

security services.  

7. Not make any misrepresentation or false promise to a 

private security services business client or potential private 

security services business client.  

8. Not violate any state or local ordinances relating to 

private security services.  
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9. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations 

relating to private security services not provided.  

10. Not publish or cause to be published any written 

business material relating to private security services that 

contains an assertion, representation, or statement of fact 

that is false, deceptive or misleading.  

11. Use access to the department's database information 

only for the purpose of verifying employed instructors' or 

students' application status. 

12. Not allow another to use access granted to the 

department's database for any purpose. 

13. Inform the department and compliance agent of the 

employing business if applicable, in a format prescribed by 

the department within seven days of any person regulated 

under this chapter who fails to requalify with a minimum 

passing score on the range. 

6VAC20-171-280. Private security services instructor 

administrative requirements and standards of conduct. 

An instructor shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Maintain at all times with the department his [ email 

address and ] mailing address [ and email address if 

applicable ]. Written notification of any address change 

shall be in writing and received by the department no later 

than 10 days after the effective date of the change.  

3. Not have been convicted or found guilty in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a 

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and 

battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled 

substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 

Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as 

described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of 

Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms, from which 

no appeal is pending, the time for appeal having elapsed. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purpose of this chapter. The record of 

conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 

admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted shall be prima facie evidence of such 

guilt.  

4. Inform the department, and the training school for which 

the individual is designated as an instructor if applicable, in 

writing within 10 days after [ being arrested for a crime in 

any jurisdiction ] pleading guilty or nolo contendere [ or 

and after ] being convicted or found guilty of any felony or 

of a misdemeanor as outlined in § 9.1-139 K of the Code 

of Virginia.  

5. Inform the department, and the training school for which 

the individual is designated as instructor, if applicable, in 

writing within 10 days after having been found guilty by 

any court or administrative body of competent jurisdiction 

to have violated the private security services business 

statutes or regulations of that jurisdiction, there being no 

appeal therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed.  

6. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 

provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 

Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.  

7. Not commit any act or omission that results in a private 

security license or registration being suspended, revoked, 

not renewed or being otherwise disciplined in any 

jurisdiction.  

8. Not obtain a license, license renewal, registration, 

registration renewal, certification or certification renewal 

through any fraud or misrepresentation.  

9. Conduct training sessions pursuant to requirements 

established in this chapter.  

10. Notify the department within 10 calendar days 

following termination of his employment as instructor for 

the training school.  

11. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 

practice of private security services.  

12. Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent private 

security services.  

13. Not make any misrepresentation or false promise to a 

private security services business client or potential private 

security services business client.  

14. Not violate any state or local ordinances relating to 

private security services.  

15. [ Maintain documentation of successful completion of 

a minimum of two hours of professional development for 

topics related to each category of instructor certification as 

established in 6VAC20-171-100 B 6 during each 

certification period or successful completion of 

compulsory in-service training by another private security 

services certified instructor if also registered in the same 

categories. 

16. ] Not publish or cause to be published any material 

relating to private security services that contain an 

assertion, representation, or statement of fact that is false, 

deceptive, or misleading. 

[ 16. 17. ] Not provide false or misleading information to 

representatives of the department. 

[ 17. Not refuse to cooperate with an investigation being 

conducted by the department. ]  

18. Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 

incomplete, or untrue information [ in a certification 

application, renewal on any email, ] application, or any 

other document filed with the department. 

[ 19. Not have an arrest that the prima facie evidence 

would indicate the propensity for harming the public. 
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20. 19. ] Transport, carry, and utilize firearms while on 

duty only in a manner that does not endanger the public 

health, safety, and welfare. 

[ 21. 20. ] Report in writing to the training school director 

within 24 hours of any person regulated under this chapter 

who fails to requalify with a minimum passing score on the 

range. 

[ 22. 21. ] Provide any person who fails to requalify with a 

minimum passing score on the range with a failure to 

requalify notice provided by the department. 

6VAC20-171-290. Instruction exceptions Instructor 

alternatives. 

A. Subject matter specialist.  

1. Training schools may employ or otherwise utilize 

individuals as subject matter specialists to provide 

instruction in specific areas of a training curriculum. 

During the approved portions of training, a certified 

instructor is not required to be present.  

2. The training school shall obtain written authorization 

from the department prior to any subject matter specialist 

providing instruction. Written authorization may be 

requested by submitting on a form provided by the 

department:  

a. A written request for authorization specifically 

outlining the requested subject matter; and  

b. Documentation that supports the individual's 

credentials for instructing in the proposed subject matter.  

3. The department may issue a written authorization for a 

period not to exceed 24 months. 

B. Guest lecturer. Training schools may employ or 

otherwise utilize individuals as guest lecturer in specific areas 

of a training curriculum. A certified instructor is required to 

be present during all portions of training conducted by a guest 

lecturer.  

6VAC20-171-300. Private security services training 

session. 

A. Training sessions will be conducted in accordance with 

requirements established in this chapter. Adherence to the 

administrative requirements, attendance and standards of 

conduct are the responsibility of the training school, training 

school director and instructor of the training session.  

B. Administrative requirements.  

1. In a manner approved by the department, a notification 

to conduct a training session shall be submitted to the 

department. [ All notifications shall be received by the 

department, or postmarked if mailed, no less than seven 

calendar days prior to the beginning of each training 

session to include the date, time, instructors and location of 

the training session. The department may allow a session to 

be conducted with less than seven calendar days of 

notification with prior approval. Session notifications 

require no fee from the training school. A notification to 

conduct a training session shall be deemed to be in 

compliance unless the training school director is notified 

by the department to the contrary. 

2. Notification of any changes to the dates, times, location 

or cancellation of a future training session must be 

submitted to the department in writing and received by the 

department at least 24 hours in advance of the scheduled 

starting time of the class. In the event that a session must 

be cancelled on the scheduled date, the department must be 

notified immediately followed by a cancellation in writing 

as soon as practical. ]  

[ 2. All current training material to include course 3. 

Course ] outline and training objectives must be approved 

by the department prior to offering a course of instruction 

for enrollment.  

[ 3. 4. ] On a form provided by the department, the The 

training school director shall issue an original training 

completion form and training certificate [ provided by the 

department ] to each student who satisfactorily completes a 

training session no later than five business days following 

the training completion date. [ The training completion 

form shall include the following: 

a. A unique training completion number; 

b. The name, a unique identification number, and address 

of the individual; 

c. The name of the particular course that the individual 

completed; 

d. The dates of course completion/test passage; 

e. An expiration date. Training completion forms shall 

expire 12 months from the date of course completion; 

f. The name, address, telephone number, and training 

school certification number; and 

g. The name, signature, and DCJS identification number 

of the school director and primary instructor. ]  

[ 4. 5. ] In a manner approved by the department, the 

training school director shall submit an original training 

completion roster to the department affirming each 

student's successful completion of the session. [ The 

training completion roster shall be received by the 

department within seven calendar days, or postmarked if 

mailed, no later than five business days following the 

training completion date ]. The training completion roster 

for each session [ and must be accompanied by the 

applicable, nonrefundable processing fee. ] 

[ 5. 6. ] A written examination shall be administered at the 

conclusion of each entry level training session. The 

examination shall be based on the applicable learning 

objectives. The student must attain a minimum grade of 

80% for compliance agent entry-level training or 70% for 

all other entry-level training examinations and [ pass ] any 

applicable practical exercises, to satisfactorily complete the 

training session.  



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 24, 2012 

219 

[ 6. 7. ] Firearms classroom training shall be separately 

tested and graded. Individuals must achieve a minimum 

score of 70% on the firearms classroom training 

examination.  

[ 7. 8. ] Failure to achieve a minimum score of 70% on the 

firearms classroom written examination will exclude the 

individual from the firearms range training.  

8. 9. ] To successfully complete the handgun or shotgun 

firearms range training, the individual must achieve a 

minimum qualification score of 75% of the scoring value 

of the target.  

9. To successfully complete the private investigator entry 

level training session, the individual must:  

a. Successfully complete each of the four graded 

practical exercises required; and  

b. Pass the written examination with a minimum score of 

70%.  

10. To successfully complete the personal protection 

specialist entry level training session, the individual must:  

a. Complete each of the five graded practical exercises 

required under protective detail operations pursuant to 

6VAC20-171-350 E 6 (the practical exercises must be 

successfully completed prior to the written examination); 

and  

b. Pass the written examination with a minimum score of 

70%.  

11. The unarmed security officer must:  

a. Complete the required training; and  

b. Successfully pass the written examination with a 

minimum score of 70%.  

[ 9. 10. ] To successfully complete the advanced firearms 

range training, the individual must achieve a minimum 

qualification score of 92% of the scoring value of the 

target. 

[ 10. 11. ] To successfully complete the patrol rifle 

firearms range training, the individual must achieve a 

minimum qualification score of 85% of the scoring value 

of the target. 

C. Attendance.  

1. Private security services business personnel enrolled in 

an approved training session are required to be present for 

the hours required for each training session unless they 

have been granted a partial exemption to training from the 

department.  

2. Tardiness and absenteeism will not be permitted. 

Individuals violating these provisions will be required to 

make up any training missed. Such All training must be 

completed within 60 days after the completion of the 

training session or at the next available session offered by 

the training school the 12 months prior to application of a 

registration or certification. Individuals not completing the 

required training within this period are required to 

complete the entire training session.  

3. Individuals that who do not successfully complete the 

compulsory minimum training standards of the training 

session shall not be reported to the department except 

where required pursuant to this chapter issued a training 

completion form or training certificate.  

4. Each individual attending an approved training session 

shall comply with the regulations promulgated by the 

board and any other rules within the authority of the 

training school. If the training school director or instructor 

considers a violation of the rules detrimental to the training 

of other students or to involve cheating on examinations, 

the training school director or instructor may expel the 

individual from the school. Notification of such action 

shall immediately be reported to the employing firms and 

the department.  

D. Standards of conduct.  

1. The training school, training school director and 

instructor shall at all times conform to the application 

requirements, administrative requirements and standards of 

conduct established for certification as a training school 

and instructor.  

2. Training sessions will be conducted by certified 

instructors or other individuals authorized to provide 

instruction pursuant to this chapter and [ they ] must be 

present for all periods of instruction [ unless otherwise 

authorized by the department ].  

3. Training sessions will be conducted utilizing lesson 

plans developed including at a minimum the compulsory 

minimum training standards established pursuant to this 

chapter.  

4. Instruction shall be provided in no less than 50-minute 

classes.  

5. Training sessions may shall not exceed nine hours of 

classroom instruction per day. Range qualification and 

practical exercises shall not be considered classroom 

instruction; however, total training, including the 

maximum allotment of nine hours classroom instruction 

and applicable range qualification and practical exercises, 

shall not exceed 12 hours per day. This does not include 

time allotted for breaks, meals and testing.  

6. All audio-visual training aids must be accompanied by a 

period of instruction where the instructor reviews the 

content of the presentation and the students are provided 

the opportunity to ask questions regarding the content.  

7. A training session must adhere to the minimum 

compulsory training standards and must be presented in its 

entirety. Training school directors may require additional 

hours of instruction, testing or evaluation procedures.  

8. A training session must provide accurate and current 

information to the students.  
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9. Mandated training conducted not in accordance with the 

Code of Virginia and this chapter is null and void.  

10. A duplicate set of instructor course materials, including 

all student materials, shall be made available to any 

department inspector during the training session, if 

requested.  

11. [ Certifiable in-service training may include a 

maximum of one hour of instruction dedicated to the 

review of regulations unless otherwise authorized by the 

department. 

12. ] There will be no live ammunition permitted in the 

classroom.  

Article 3  

Private Security Services Registered Personnel  

6VAC20-171-305. General requirements On-line in-

service training programs. 

All registered personnel are required to maintain 

administrative requirements and standards of conduct as 

determined by the Code of Virginia, department guidelines 

and this chapter.  

On-line training programs may only be offered for 

compulsory minimum in-service training requirements. On-

line training programs shall meet the following requirements: 

1. All on-line schools shall maintain a private security 

services training school certification in good standing and 

meet all of the administrative requirements and standards 

of conduct specified in this chapter. 

2. All current on-line training material to include complete 

course content and performance objectives of mandated 

compulsory training requirements must be approved by the 

department prior to offering a course of instruction for 

enrollment. 

3. Students enrolled in an on-line training program shall 

successfully complete all course material within 30 days of 

the first log-on to the training school website or prior to the 

registration or certification expiration date or final 

reinstatement date, whichever comes first. 

4. Training schools offering on-line courses that accept 

credit card payments shall subscribe to an e-commerce 

solution service to protect the security and integrity of the 

monetary transaction. 

5. The training software programs used by a certified 

training school shall allow the department auditing access 

to the training system. Such auditing access shall be 

available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. 

6. The training software program shall be capable of 

generating a unique electronic notification of training 

completion for each student completing the course 

requirements and each course of instruction on a 24-hour a 

day basis. 

7. The training of completion shall include the following: 

a. A unique training completion number; 

b. The name, a unique identification number, and address 

of the individual; 

c. The name of the particular course that the individual 

completed; 

d. Dates of course completion/test passage; 

e. Name, address, telephone number, and license number 

of the training school; and 

f. Name, signature, and DCJS identification number of 

the school director and primary instructor. 

8. The training software program shall be capable of 

generating a training certificate for each student and each 

course of instruction that can be printed by the student's 

computer and printer. This training certificate shall only be 

made available to the student upon successful completion 

of all course material. 

9. The training software program shall be capable of 

capturing and archiving student information for a period of 

not less than three years. 

10. Training schools offering on-line training courses will 

designate one individual as the network administrator for 

that school's network server. The network administrator 

will be the technical contact between the department and 

the training school. Upon termination of the services of the 

designated network administrator, a new administrator 

shall be designated and notification made to the department 

within 10 days after effective date of the change.  

6VAC20-171-308. Detector canine handler examiners 

administrative requirements and standards of conduct. 

A. Administrative requirements. An examiner shall:  

1. Maintain at all times with the department his [ email 

address and ] mailing address [ and email address if 

applicable ]. Written notification of any address change 

shall be in writing and received by the department no later 

than 10 days after the effective date of the change.  

2. Inform the department, and the business or training 

school for which the individual is employed, if applicable, 

in writing within 10 days after  [ being arrested for a crime 

by any court, ] pleading guilty or nolo contendere, and 

after being convicted or found guilty of any felony or of a 

misdemeanor as outlined in § 9.1-139 K of the Code of 

Virginia.  

3. Inform the department, and the licensed business or 

training school for which the individual is employed [ , if 

applicable or utilized ], in writing within 10 days after 

having been found guilty by any court or administrative 

body of competent jurisdiction to have violated the private 

security services business statutes or regulations of that 

jurisdiction, there being no appeal therefrom or the time for 

appeal having elapsed.  

4. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations 

related to private security services not provided. 
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5. Notify the department within 10 calendar days following 

termination of his employment as an examiner for a 

business or training school.  

6. Conduct examinations pursuant to the requirements 

established by the department. 

7. Notify the department within 10 calendar days following 

termination of any certification as a detector canine handler 

examiner or equivalent with any national organization, unit 

of the United States military, or other formal entity 

involved with certifying, training or setting standards for 

detection canines.  

8. Notify the department in writing within 10 calendar days 

of determining that a detector canine handler or detector 

canine fails to successfully complete the certification 

examination. 

9. Maintain documentation and a photograph of the 

examined detector canine team for three years for all 

examinations conducted that verifies compliance with 

requirements pursuant to the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter. 

10. Utilize only department-approved certification 

examinations for the testing and certification of detector 

canine teams.  

B. Standards of conduct. An examiner shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Not have been convicted or found guilty in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a 

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and 

battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled 

substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 

Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as 

described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of 

Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms, from which 

no appeal is pending, the time for appeal having elapsed. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purpose of this chapter. The record of 

conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 

admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted shall be prima facie evidence of such 

guilt.  

3. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 

provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 

Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.  

4. Not commit any act or omission that results in a private 

security license, registration, or certification being 

suspended, revoked, not renewed or being otherwise 

disciplined in any jurisdiction.  

5. Not obtain a license, license renewal, registration, 

registration renewal, certification, or certification renewal 

through any fraud or misrepresentation.  

6. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 

practice of private security services.  

7. Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent private 

security services.  

8. Not make any misrepresentation or false promise to a 

private security services business client or potential private 

security services business client.  

9. Not violate any state or local ordinances relating to 

private security services.  

10. Not publish or cause to be published any material 

relating to private security services that contain an 

assertion, representation, or statement of fact that is false, 

deceptive, or misleading. 

11. Not provide false or misleading information to 

representatives of the department. 

[ 12. Not refuse to cooperate with an investigation being 

conducted by the department. 

13. Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 

incomplete, or untrue information in a certification 

application, renewal application, or any other document 

filed with the department. 

14. Not have an arrest that the prima facie evidence would 

indicate the propensity for harming the public. 

12. Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 

incomplete, or untrue information on any email, 

application, or any other document filed with the 

department. ]  

6VAC20-171-310. Registered personnel administrative 

requirements. 

A registered individual shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Maintain at all times with the department his mailing 

address, e-mail address and phone number, if applicable. 

Written notification of any change in mailing address, e-

mail address or phone number shall be in writing and 

received by the department no later than 10 days after the 

effective date of the change.  

3. Inform the department, and the business for which the 

individual is employed if applicable, in writing within 10 

days after [ being arrested for a crime in any jurisdiction ] 

pleading guilty or nolo contendere [ or and after ] being 

convicted or found guilty of any felony or of a 

misdemeanor as outlined in § 9.1-139 K of the Code of 

Virginia.  

4. Inform the department, and the business for which the 

individual is employed if applicable, in writing within 10 

days after having been found guilty by any court or 

administrative body of competent jurisdiction to have 

violated the private security services business statutes or 

regulations of that jurisdiction, there being no appeal 

therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed.  
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5. Inform the department, and the compliance agent of the 

licensee if employed by a private security services 

business, of any incident in which any registrant has 

discharged a firearm while on duty, excluding any training 

exercise. This report shall be made within 24 hours of the 

incident.  

6VAC20-171-320. Registered personnel standards of 

conduct. 

A registered individual shall:  

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

2. Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the 

provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 

Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.  

3. Not commit any act or omission that results in a private 

security license, registration or certification being 

suspended, revoked, not renewed or being otherwise 

disciplined in any jurisdiction.  

4. Not have been convicted or found guilty in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a 

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and 

battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled 

substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in 

Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as 

described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of 

Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms, from which 

no appeal is pending, the time for appeal having elapsed. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purpose of this chapter. The record of 

conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 

admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted shall be prima facie evidence of such 

guilt.  

5. Not obtain a license, license renewal, registration, 

registration renewal, certification or certification renewal 

through any fraud or misrepresentation.  

6. Not solicit or contract to provide any private security 

services without first having obtained a private security 

services business license with the department.  

7. [ Carry Be in possession of ] a valid registration card or 

valid temporary authorization registration letter at all times 

while on duty. Individuals requiring registration as an 

unarmed security officer, an alarm respondent, a locksmith, 

a central station dispatcher, an electronic security sales 

representative or an electronic security technician may be 

employed for not more than 90 consecutive days in any 

category listed above while completing the compulsory 

minimum training standards and may not be employed in 

excess of 120 days without having been issued a 

registration or an exception from the department [ and 

must carry a photo ID and authorization from their 

employer on a form provided by the department at all times 

while on duty ].  

8. [ Carry Be in the possession of ] the private security 

state issued photo registration identification card at all 

times while on duty once the authorization has been 

approved from the department, except those individuals 

operating outside the Commonwealth of Virginia who shall 

obtain the state issued photo identification card prior to 

providing services when physically located in the 

Commonwealth.  

9. Perform those duties authorized by his registration only 

while employed by a licensed private security services 

business and only for the clients of the licensee. This shall 

not be construed to prohibit an individual who is registered 

as an armed security officer from being employed by a 

nonlicensee as provided for in § 9.1-140 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

10. Possess a valid firearms training endorsement if he 

carries or has access to firearms while on duty and then 

only those firearms by type of action and caliber to which 

he has been trained on and is qualified to carry. Carry or 

have access to a patrol rifle while on duty only with the 

expressed written authorization of the licensed private 

security services business employing the registrant. 

11. Carry a firearm concealed while on duty only with the 

expressed written authorization of the licensed private 

security services business employing the registrant and 

only in compliance with § 18.2-308 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

12. Transport, carry and utilize firearms while on duty only 

in a manner that does not endanger the public health, safety 

and welfare.  

13. If authorized to make arrests, make arrests in full 

compliance with the law and using only the minimum 

force necessary to effect an arrest.  

14. Engage in no conduct which shall mislead or 

misrepresent through word, deed or appearance suggests 

that a registrant is a law-enforcement officer, or other 

government official. 

15. Display one's [ photo identification ] registration [ or 

temporary registration along with a photo ID ] while on 

duty in response to the request of a law-enforcement 

officer, department personnel [ , ] or client. [ Individuals 

providing private security services as authorized pursuant 

to subdivision 7 of this section who have not received their 

registration must display a state issued photo identification 

and authorization while on duty in response to the request 

of a law-enforcement officer, department personnel, or 

client. ]  

16. Not perform any unlawful or negligent act resulting in 

a loss, injury or death to any person. 

17. If a uniform is required, wear the uniform required by 

his employer. If wearing a uniform while employed as an 
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armed security officer, unarmed security officer, alarm 

respondent or armored car personnel, that uniform must:  

a. Include at least one insignia clearly identifying the 

name of the licensed firm employing the individual and, 

except armored car personnel, a name plate or tape 

bearing, as a minimum, the individual's last name 

attached on the outermost garment, except rainwear worn 

only to protect from inclement weather; and  

b. Include no patch or other writing (i) containing the 

word "police" or any other word suggesting a law-

enforcement officer; (ii) containing the word "officer" 

unless used in conjunction with the word "security"; or 

(iii) resembling any uniform patch or insignia of any duly 

constituted law-enforcement agency of this 

Commonwealth, its political subdivisions or of the 

federal government. This restriction shall not apply to 

individuals who are also duly sworn special police 

officers, to the extent that they may display words that 

accurately represent that distinction.  

18. When providing [ central station monitoring ] services 

[ as a central station dispatcher ], attempt to verify the 

legitimacy of a burglar alarm activation by [ contacting an 

authorized individual at the site where an alarm signal 

originated before dispatching authorities calling the site of 

the alarm. If unable to make contact, call one additional 

number provided by the alarm user who has the authority 

to cancel the dispatch ]. This shall not apply if the alarm 

user has provided written authorization requesting 

immediate dispatch [ or one call dispatch to both their local 

police department and their dealer of record. ] This shall 

not apply to duress or hold-up alarms.  

19. Act only in such a manner that does not endanger the 

public health, safety and welfare.  

20. Not represent as one's own a registration issued to 

another individual.  

21. Not falsify, or aid and abet others in falsifying, training 

records for the purpose of obtaining a license, registration, 

certification, or certification as a compliance agent, 

training school, school director or instructor.  

22. Not provide information obtained by the registrant or 

his employing firm to any person other than the client who 

secured the services of the licensee without the client's 

prior written consent. Provision of information in response 

to official requests from law-enforcement agencies, the 

courts, or from the department shall not constitute a 

violation of this chapter. Provision of information to law-

enforcement agencies pertinent to criminal activity or to 

planned criminal activity shall not constitute a violation of 

this chapter.  

23. Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the 

practice of private security services.  

24. Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent private 

security services.  

25. Not make any misrepresentation or make a false 

promise to a private security services business client or 

potential private security services business client.  

26. Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations 

related to private security services not provided.  

27. Not provide false or misleading information to 

representatives of the department. 

[ 28. Not refuse to cooperate with an investigation being 

conducted by the department. 

29. 28. ] Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, 

incomplete, or untrue information on a registration 

application, renewal application, or any other document 

filed with the department. 

[ 30. Not have an arrest that the prima facie evidence 

would indicate the propensity for harming the public. ]  

Part V  

Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Private 

Security Services Business Personnel Registrations 

Article 1  

Registration/Certification Registration Category 

Requirements  

6VAC20-171-350. Entry level training. 

A. Each person employed by a private security services 

business or applying to the department for registration as an 

unarmed security officer, armed security officer/courier, 

personal protection specialist, armored car personnel, security 

canine handler, explosives detector canine handler, narcotics 

detector canine handler, private investigator, alarm 

respondent, locksmith, central station dispatcher, electronic 

security sales representative, electronic security technician, or 

electronic security technician's assistant as defined by § 9.1-

138 of the Code of Virginia, or for certification as a 

compliance agent as required by § 9.1-139 of the Code of 

Virginia, who has not met the compulsory minimum training 

standards prior to July 13, 1994, must meet the compulsory 

minimum training standards herein established, unless 

provided for otherwise in accordance with this chapter.  

B. Training will be credited only if application for 

registration or certification is submitted to received by the 

department within 12 months of completion of training.  

C. Hour Course and minimum hour requirement. The 

compulsory minimum entry level training courses and 

specific minimum hour requirement by category, excluding 

examinations, practical exercises and range qualification, 

shall be:  

1. Unarmed security officer - 18 hours 

[ a. 10E: Private Security Orientation - 2 hours 

b. ] 01E: Security Officer Core Subjects - [ 16 hours 18 

hours ]  

2. Armed security officer/courier - 40 hours - 50 hours 

[ (54 hours (53 hours ] including shotgun training)  
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*There are 8 hours of Arrest Powers, Policies, 

Procedures that are included in the Armed Security 

Officer Training. These 8 hours are mandatory for armed 

security officers only.  

[ a. 10E: Private Security Orientation - 2 hours 

b. a. ] 01E: Security Officer Core Subjects - [ 16 hours 18 

hours ]  

[ c. b. ] 05E: Armed Security Officer Arrest Authority - 8 

hours 

[ d. c. ] 075E: [ Basic Security Officer ] Handgun - 24 

hours 

[ e. d. ] 08E: Entry-level Shotgun - [ 4 hours 3 hours ] (if 

applicable*)* To also have access to a shotgun while on 

duty, the additional shotgun course is required.  

3. Armored car personnel - [ 26 hours (30 hours 28 hours 

(31 hours ] with shotgun) 

[ a.10E: Private Security Orientation - 2 hours 

b. a. ] 03E: Armored Car Procedures - [ 10 hours 12 

hours ]  

[ c. b. ] 07E: [ Fundamental Entry-level ] Handgun - [ 14 

hours 16 hours ]  

[ d. c. ] 08E: Entry-level Shotgun - [ 4 hours 3 hours ] (if 

applicable*) * To also have access to a shotgun while on 

duty, the additional shotgun course is required.  

4. Security canine handler - 30 hours (excluding basic 

obedience training) 

[ a. 10E: Private Security Orientation - 2 hours 

b. a. ] 01E: Security Officer Core Subjects - [ 16 hours 18 

hours ] (prerequisite for 04ES) 

[ c. b. ] Prerequisite for 04ES - Basic Obedience Training 

[ d. c. ] 04ES: Security Canine Handler - 12 hours 

5. Private investigator - 60 hours  

[ a.  10E: Private Security Orientation - 2 hours 

b. ] 02E: Private Investigator Subjects - [ 58 hours 60 

hours ]  

6. Personal protection specialist - 60 hours  

[ a. 10E: Private Security Orientation - 2 hours 

b. a. 02E 32E ] : Personal Protection Specialist - [ 58 

hours 60 hours ]  

[ c. b. 075E 07E: Basic Entry-level ] Handgun - [ 24 

hours 16 hours ] (prerequisite for 09E Advanced 

Handgun)  

[ d. c. ] 09E: Advanced Handgun - 14 hours (for armed 

personal protection specialists) 

7. Alarm respondent - 18 hours  

[ a. 10E: Private Security Orientation - 2 hours 

b. ] 01E: Security Officer Core Subjects - [ 16 hours 18 

hours ]  

8. Central station dispatcher - 8 hours  

[ a. 10E: Private Security Orientation - 2 hours 

b. a. ] 30E: Electronic Security Core Subjects - [ 2 hours 

4 hours ]  

[ c. b. ] 38E: Central Station Dispatcher - 4 hours 

9. Electronic security sales representative - 8 hours  

[ a. 10E: Private Security Orientation - 2 hours 

b. a. ] 30E: Electronic Security Core Subjects - [ 2 hours 

4 hours ]  

[ c. b. ] 39E: Electronic Security Sales - 4 hours 

10. Electronic security technician - 14 hours  

[ a. 10E: Private Security Orientation - 2 hours 

b. a. ] 30E: Electronic Security Core Subjects - [ 2 hours 

4 hours ]  

[ c. b. ] 35E: Electronic Security Technician - 10 hours 

11. Electronic security technician's assistant - 4 hours  

[ a. 10E: Private Security Orientation - 2 hours 

b. ] 30E: Electronic Security Core Subjects - [ 2 hours 4 

hours ]  

12. Detector Canine Handler - 160 hours (excluding 

certification examination) 

[ a. 10E: Private Security Orientation - 2 hours 

b. a. ] 04ED: Detector Canine Handler - [ 158 hours 160 

hours ]  

[ c. b. ] Certification exam by a Certified Detector Canine 

Handler Examiner 

13. Locksmith - 18 hours 

[ a. 10E: Private Security Orientation - 2 hours 

b. ] 25E: Locksmith - [ 16 hours 18 hours ]  

12. Compliance agent - 6 hours  

D. Course content. The compulsory minimum entry level 

training course content by category specific course, excluding 

examinations, mandated practical exercises and range 

qualification, shall be as provided in this subsection.  

[ 1. Private Security Orientation (10E) - 2 Hours 

(excluding examination) 

a. Introduction to private security 

b. Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and 

Regulations Relating to Private Security Services 

c. Written comprehensive examination 

This session is a requirement for all registration categories. 

However, an individual applying for more than one 

category of registration or adding an additional category 

shall only be required to take this training one time within 

12 months of submitting application. ]  

[ 1. 2. ] Security officer core subjects. (01E) - [ 16 hours 18 

hours ] (excluding examination)  
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The entry level curriculum for unarmed security officer, 

armed security officer/courier, security canine handler, and 

alarm respondent sets forth the following areas identified 

as:  

[ a. Orientation ] - 2 hours 

(1) Virginia law and regulations [ Applicable sections of 

the Code of Virginia and Regulations Relating to Private 

Security Services ] 

[ (2) Code of ethics ] 

(3) General duties and responsibilities  

[ (4) The Seven Signs of Terrorism ]  

[ b. a. ] Law - 4 hours  

[ c. b. ] Security patrol, access control and 

communications - 2 hours  

[ d. c. ] Documentation - 4 hours  

[ e. d. ] Emergency procedures - 4 hours  

[ f. e. ] Confrontation management - 2 hours  

[ f. g. ] Use of force 

[ g. h. ] Written comprehensive examination 

Total hours (excluding exam) - 18 16 hours  

2. Armed security officer/courier. [ 3. 2. ] Armed Security 

Officer Arrest Authority (05E) - 8 hours (excluding 

examination) 

a. Arrest powers, policies and procedures 

b. Written comprehensive examination 

a. Security officer core subjects - 18 16 hours  

b. Entry level handgun training (refer to Article 2 

(6VAC20-171-365 et seq.) of this part) - 14 hours 

(includes dry fire, and judgmental shooting and low level 

light shooting familiarization)  

c. Arrest powers, policies, procedures - 8 hours  

d. Entry level shotgun training, if applicable (refer to 

Article 2 (6VAC20-171-365 et seq.) of this part) - 2 

hours  

Total hours (excluding examinations, shotgun classroom 

instruction and range qualification) - 40 hours  

[ 3. 4. ] Armored car personnel. (03E) - 10 hours 

(excluding examination) 

[ a. Administration and armored car orientation ] - 1 hour  

[ The Seven Signs of Terrorism ]  

[ b. Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and 

Regulations Relating to Private Security Services ] DCJS 

regulations - 1 hour  

[ c. a. ] Armored car procedures - 10 hours  

[ d. b. ] Written comprehensive examination  

e. Entry level handgun training (refer to Article 2 

(6VAC20-171-365 et seq.) of this part) - 14 hours 

(includes 4 hours of range dry fire and low level lighting)  

f. Entry level shotgun training, if applicable (refer to 

Article 2 (6VAC20-171-365 et seq.) of this part) - 2 

hours  

Total hours (excluding examinations, shotgun classroom 

instruction and range qualification) - 26 hours  

[ 4. 5. ] Security canine handler. (04ES) [ 20 hours 12 

hours ] (excluding examination and basic obedience 

training) 

a. Prerequisites for security canine handler entry level 

(official documentation required): Successful completion 

of basic obedience training. 

b. Demonstration of proficiency. The student must 

demonstrate his proficiency in the handling of a security 

canine to satisfy the minimum standards  

c. Evaluation by a certified private security canine 

handler instructor and basic obedience retraining  

d. Security canine handler orientation/legal authority  

e. Canine patrol techniques  

f. Written comprehensive examination  

Complete entry level training requirements pursuant to 

Article 3 (6VAC20-171-430 et seq.) of this part.  

[ 5. 6. ] Private investigator. (02E) - [ 58 hours 60 hours ] 

(excluding examination and practical exercises) 

a. [ Orientation ] : applicable sections of the Code of 

Virginia; Administrative Code 6VAC20-171; standards 

[ Standards of professional conduct; and ethics - ] 6 hours  

[ (1) Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia 

(2) 6VAC20-171, Regulations Relating to Private 

Security Services 

(3) Standards of professional conduct 

(4) Ethics 

(5) The Seven Signs of Terrorism ]  

b. Law [ : basic law; legal procedures and due process; 

civil law; criminal law; evidence; and legal privacy 

requirements ] - 16 hours plus one practical exercise - 

one practical exercise 

[ (1) Basic law 

(2) Legal procedures and due process 

(3) Criminal and Civil law 

(4) Evidence 

(5) Legal privacy requirements ]  

c. General investigative skills [ , tools and techniques: 

surveillance; research; and interviewing ] - 16 hours plus 

one practical exercise - one practical exercise 

[ (1) Tools and techniques 

(2) Surveillance 

(3) Research 

(4) Interviewing ]  
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d. Documentation: [ Report preparations; photography; 

audio recording; general communication; and courtroom 

testimony ] - 8 hours plus one practical exercise - one 

practical exercise 

[ (1) Report preparations 

(2) Photography 

(3) Audio recording 

(4) General communication 

(5) Courtroom testimony ]  

e. Types of investigations [ : accident; insurance; 

background; domestic; undercover; fraud and financial; 

missing persons and property; and criminal  ] - 14 hours 

plus one practical exercise - one practical exercise 

[ (1) Accident 

(2) Insurance 

(3) Background 

(4) Domestic 

(5) Undercover 

(6) Fraud and financial 

(7) Missing persons and property 

(8) Criminal ]  

f. Written comprehensive examination  

Total hours in classroom (excluding written examination 

and practical exercises) - 60 hours  

[ 6. 7. ] Personal protection specialist. (32E) - [ 58 hours 60 

hours ] (excluding written examination and practical 

exercises) 

a. Administration and personal protection orientation - 3 

hours  

[ (1) The Seven Signs of Terrorism ]  

[ b. Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and 

DCJS regulations ] - 1 hour  

[ c. b. ] Assessment of threat and protectee vulnerability - 

8 hours  

[ d. c. ] Legal authority and civil law - 8 hours  

[ e. d. ] Protective detail operations - 28 hours  

[ f. e. ] Emergency procedures - 12 hours  

(1) [ CPR Medical procedures ]  

(2) [ Emergency first aid Defensive preparedness ]  

[ (3) Defensive preparedness ]  

[ g. f. ] Performance evaluation - Five practical exercises  

[ h. g. ] Written comprehensive examination  

Total hours (excluding written examination and 

performance evaluation) - 60 hours  

7. Alarm respondent.  

Security officer core subjects - 18 hours  

[ 8. 7. ] Electronic security core subjects. (30E) - [ 2 hours 

4 hours ] (excluding examination) The entry level 

electronic security subjects curriculum for central station 

dispatcher, electronic security sales representative, 

electronic security technician and electronic security 

technician's assistant sets forth the following areas 

identified as:  

[ a. Administration and orientation ] to private security - 

1 hour  

[ (1) Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia 

(2) 6VAC20-171, Regulations Relating to Private 

Security Services 

(3) The Seven Signs of Terrorism ]  

b. Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and DCJS 

regulations - 1 hour  

[ c. a. b. ] Overview of electronic security - 1 hour  

[ d. b. c. ] False alarm prevention - 1 hour  

[ e. c. d. ] Written comprehensive examination  

Total hours (excluding examination) - 4 hours  

[ 9. 8. ] Central station dispatcher. (38E) - 4 hours 

(excluding examination) 

a. Electronic security subjects - 4 hours  

b. a. Central station dispatcher subjects - 4 hours  

(1) Duties and responsibilities  

(2) Communications skills  

(3) Emergency procedures  

c. b. Written comprehensive examination  

Total hours (excluding examination) - 8 hours  

[ 10. 9. ] Electronic security sales representative. (39E) 4 

hours (excluding examination) 

a. Electronic security subjects - 4 hours  

b. a. Electronic security sales representative subjects - 4 

hours  

(1) Duties and responsibilities  

(2) System design/components  

(3) False alarm prevention  

c. b. Written comprehensive examination  

Total hours (excluding examination) - 8 hours  

[ 11. 10. ] Electronic security technician. (39E) - 4 hours 

(excluding examination) 

a. Electronic security subjects - 4 hours  

b. a. Electronic security technician subjects - 10 hours  

(1) Duties and responsibilities  

(2) Electronics  

(3) Control panels  

(4) Protection devices and application  

(5) Test equipment  
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(6) Power and grounding  

(7) National electrical code  

(8) Job safety  

c. b. Written comprehensive examination  

Total hours (excluding examination) - 14 hours  

12. Compliance agent.  

a. Industry overview and responsibilities  

b. Regulations review  

c. Business practices and ethical standards  

d. Records requirements and other related issues  

e. Written examination  

Total hours (excluding written examination) - 6 hours  

[ 12. 11. ] Detector Canine Handler (04ED) - [ 158 hours 

160 hours ] to include practical exercises (excluding 

certification exam) 

a. Introduction/orientation/administration 

(1) Code of Ethics 

(2) General Duties and Responsibilities 

(3) Legal 

[ (4) Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and 

Regulations Relating to Private Security Services 

(5) The Seven Signs of Terrorism ]  

b. Working Canines 

(1) Historical Perspective 

(2) Terms and Definitions 

(3) Methodology and Application 

(4) Training Documentation 

(5) Search Patterns 

c. Basic Canine Handling (including practical exercises) 

(1) Training 

(2) Care and Health 

(3) Emergency Medical Care 

d. Detector Canine Deployment 

Canine Behavior: Reading and Understanding 

e. Explosive or Narcotics Familiarization (including 

practical exercises) 

(1) Illegal Narcotics Familiarization 

(2) Explosives Substance and I.E.D. Familiarization 

(3) Safety 

f. Written comprehensive exam 

[ 13. 12. ] Locksmith (25E) - [ 16 hours 18 hours ] 

(excluding examination) 

[ a. Code of Virginia and 6VAC20-171, Regulations 

Relating to Private Security Services 

The Seven Signs of Terrorism ]  

[ a. b. ] Orientation to Locksmithing 

(1) History of locksmithing 

(2) Ethics 

(3) Trade resources  

(4) Terminology 

(5) Professional conduct 

(6) Job safety 

[ b. c. ] Public Safety Codes  

(1) NFPA (80, 101) 

(2) Overview of Authorities Having Jurisdiction (AHJs) 

(3) ADA 

(4) Terminology 

(5) Safety code resources 

[ c. d. ] Technical Applications [ - 10 hours ] 

[ (1) ] Terminology (to include 

definition/purpose/function) 

[ (a) (2) ] Locks/types  

[ (b) (3) ] Handing 

[ (c) (4) ] Master keying 

[ (d) (5) ] Key records and codes 

[ (e) (6) ] Key blanks and keyways 

[ (f) (7) ] Physical security 

[ (g) (8) ] Types of client sites 

[ (h) (9) ] Safes/vaults 

[ (i) (10) ] Access control 

[ (j) (11) ] Handling restricted keys 

[ (k) (12) ] Door system components 

[ (l) (13) ] Automotive 

[ (m) e. ] Written comprehensive examination 

6VAC20-171-360. In-service training. 

A. Each person registered with the department as an armed 

security officer/courier, personal protection specialist, 

armored car personnel, security canine handler, narcotics 

detector canine handler, explosives detector canine handler, 

private investigator, alarm respondent, locksmith, central 

station dispatcher, electronic security sales representative, 

electronic security technician, unarmed security officer or 

electronic security technician's assistant, or certified by the 

department to act as a compliance agent shall complete the 

compulsory in-service training standard once during each 24-

month period of registration or certification.  

1. Compliance agent.  

a. In-service training must be completed within 12 

months immediately preceding the expiration date.  

b. Individuals who fail to complete in-service training 

prior to the established expiration date may complete in-

service training within 30 days after the expiration date if 
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a completed in-service training enrollment application 

and a $25 delinquent training fee is received by the 

department.  

2. Instructor. All private security instructors must complete 

instructor in-service training within 12 months 

immediately preceding the individual's expiration date.  

B. Hour Course content and minimum hour requirement. 

The compulsory minimum in-service training content and 

minimum hour requirement by category, excluding 

examinations, practical exercises and range qualification, 

shall be as follows:  

1. Unarmed security officer: (01I) Security Officer Core 

Subjects In-Service - 4 hours  

[ a. Legal authority b. ] Job-related training 

2. Armed security officer/courier (01I) Security Officer 

Core Subjects In-Service - 4 hours [ (not including range 

retraining) ]  

[ a. Legal authority b. ] Job-related training 

3. Armored car personnel (03I) Armored Car Personnel In-

Service - 4 hours (not including range retraining) 

[ a. Legal authority b. ] Job-related training 

4. Security canine handler (04IS) Security Canine Handler 

In-Service - 8 hours  

a. Basic obedience evaluation and retraining 

b. Canine grooming, feeding, and health care 

c. Apprehension techniques 

d. Obedience 

5. Private investigator (02I) Private Investigator In-Service 

- 8 hours  

Job-related training 

6. Personal protection specialist (32I) Personal Protection 

Specialist In-Service - 8 hours (not including range 

retraining for armed) 

Job-related training 

7. Alarm respondent (01I) Security Officer Core Subjects 

In-Service - 4 hours 

[ a. Legal authority b. ] Job-related training 

8. Central station dispatcher (38I) Central Station 

Dispatcher In-Service - 4 hours 

Job-related training 

9. Electronic security sales representative (39I) Electronic 

Sales Representative In-Service - 4 hours 

Job-related training 

10. Electronic security technician (35I) Electronic 

Technician In-Service - 4 hours 

Job-related training 

11. Electronic security technician's assistant (30I) 

Electronic Security Subjects In-Service - 2 hours  

Job-related training 

12. Compliance agent - 4 hours Detector canine handler 

(04ID) Detector Canine Handler In-Service - 8 hours 

(excluding certification exam) 

a. Detector canine team retraining and problem solving 

b. Search techniques 

c. Terrorist/criminal intelligence [ update updates ] and 

team safety 

d. Certification exam (conducted by a certified detector 

canine handler examiner) 

13. Firearms instructor - 4 hours Locksmith (25I) 

Locksmith In-Service - 4 hours 

Job-related training 

14. General instructor - 4 hours  

C. Course content. The compulsory minimum in-service 

training course content by category, excluding examinations, 

practical exercises and range qualification, shall be as 

follows:  

1. Security officer core subjects: Unarmed security 

officer/armed security officer/courier/alarm respondent  

a. Legal authority - 2 hours  

b. Job-related training - 2 hours 

Total hours - 4 hours  

2. Armored car personnel  

Job-related training - 4 hours  

Total hours - 4 hours  

3. Security canine handler (annual requirement per 

6VAC20-171-440)  

a. Basic obedience evaluation and retraining - 4 hours  

b. Job-related training - 4 hours  

Total hours - 8 hours  

4. Private investigator  

Job-related training - 8 hours  

Total hours - 8 hours  

5. Personal protection specialist  

Job-related training - 8 hours  

Total hours - 8 hours  

6. Central station dispatcher  

Job-related training - 4 hours  

Total hours - 4 hours  

7. Electronic security sales representative  

Job-related training - 4 hours  

Total hours - 4 hours  

8. Electronic security technician  

Job-related training - 4 hours  

Total hours - 4 hours  
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9. Electronic security technician's assistant  

Job-related training - 2 hours  

Total hours - 2 hours  

10. Compliance agent  

a. Industry overview and responsibilities  

b. Regulations review  

c. Business practices and ethical standards  

d. Records requirements and other related topics  

Total hours - 4 hours  

11. General instructor  

a. Regulations review and legal issues  

b. Ethical standards  

c. Records requirements and other related topics  

d. Techniques of instruction delivery, including practical 

exercises  

Total hours - 4 hours  

12. Firearms instructor  

a. Legal issues  

b. Techniques of delivery of instruction and other related 

topics  

Total hours - 4 hours  

Article 2  

Firearms Training Requirements  

6VAC20-171-365. General firearms training 

requirements. 

A. Firearms training endorsement is required for all private 

security services business personnel who carry or have 

immediate access to a firearm while on duty. Each person 

who carries or has immediate access to firearms while on 

duty shall qualify with each type of action and caliber of 

firearm to which he has access.  

B. Each person registered as armored car personnel, security 

canine handler, detector canine handler, private investigator, 

alarm respondent, locksmith, central station dispatcher, 

electronic security sales representative, electronic security 

technician, or electronic security technician's assistant must 

complete [ fundamental entry-level ] handgun training in 

order to apply for a firearms endorsement. 

C. Each person applying for a registration as an armed 

security officer/courier must complete [ basic security 

officer ] handgun training in order to apply for a firearms 

endorsement. 

D. Each person registered as a personal protection specialist 

must complete entry-level handgun training and advanced 

handgun training in order to apply for a firearms 

endorsement. 

6VAC20-171-370. [ Entry level Fundamental ] handgun 

training. 

A. Handgun classroom training.  

1. The [ entry-level fundamental ] handgun classroom 

training will include but not be limited to the following:  

a. The proper care and maintenance of the firearm;  

b. Civil liability of the use of firearms;  

c. Criminal liability of the use of firearms;  

d. Firearms retention and storage;  

e. Deadly force;  

f. Justifiable deadly force;  

g. Range safety;  

h. Principles of marksmanship;  

i. Practical firearms handling and safety;  

j. Judgmental shooting; and  

k. Low level light shooting familiarization.  

a. Practical handgun handling 

(1) Identification of handgun parts 

(2) Draw 

(3) Reholstering 

(4) Ready position 

(5) Loading  

(6) Administrative loading 

[ (7) Tactical reloading 

(8) Rapid reloading 

(7) (9) ] Unloading 

[ (8) Administrative ]  

[ (9) (10) ] Malfunctions 

[ (10) (11) ] Immediate actions procedures 

[ (11) Feedway clearance procedures 

(12) Remedial action ]  

[ (12) (13) ] Proper care and maintenance 

[ (13) (14) ] Firearms retention  

[ (14) (15) ] Ammunition identification and management  

[ (15) (16) ] Range safety 

b. Fundamentals of marksmanship 

(1) Grip 

(2) Stance (position) 

(3) Sight alignment 

(4) Sight picture 

(5) Trigger control 

(6) Breathing 

(7) Follow through 

c. Dim light/low light/reduced light practice and 

familiarization 

[ (1) Hours of darkness ]  

[ (2) (1) ] Identification of target/threat/background 

[ (3) (2) ] Unaided training 
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[ (4) (3) ] Aided training 

[ (5) (4) ] Flashlight use 

[ (6) (5) ] Reloading during low light conditions 

[ (7) (6) ] Malfunctions 

[ (8) (7) ] Range safety 

d. Use of force 

[ (1) Deadly force ]  

[ (2) Justifiable deadly force ] 

e. [ Criminal and civil liability Liability ] 

[ (1) Criminal liability ]  

[ (2) Civil liability ]  

f. Judgmental shooting: judgmental shooting scenarios will 

be conducted in the classroom/range 

g. Lead exposure 

Total Hours (excluding written examination) - [ 14 hours 

16 hours ]  

2. Written examination required.  

B. Range qualification (no minimum hours). The purpose of 

the range qualification course is to provide practical firearms 

training to individuals desiring to become armed private 

security services business personnel.  

1. Prior to the date of range training, it will be the 

responsibility of the school director to ensure that all 

students are informed of the proper attire and equipment to 

be worn for the firing range portion of the training. 

Equipment needed: handgun, belt with directional draw 

holster, ammunition (60 rounds)  

2. Factory loaded practice or duty ammunition (60 rounds) 

may be used for practice or range qualification.  

3. Course shall be fired double action, or double single 

action except for single action semi-automatic handguns.  

4. All qualifications shall be conducted using a B-27 

silhouette target or the FBI "Q" target. Alternate targets 

may be utilized with prior approval by the department.  

5. With prior approval of the department, a reasonable 

modification of the firearms course may be approved to 

accommodate qualification on indoor ranges.  

6. A certified firearms instructor must be present on the 

range directly controlling the fire line during all phases of 

firearms training. There shall be a minimum of one 

certified firearms instructor per five shooters on the line.  

7. All individuals shall qualify with directional draw 

holsters only.  

8. The range qualification of individuals shall be scored as 

follows:  

B27 target: (use indicated K-value) 7, 8, 9, 10 X rings —

value 5 points, other hits on silhouette —value 0 points: 

divide points scored by maximum possible score to 

obtain decimal and convert to percentage, e.g., 225 / 300 

=.75 = 75%.  

FBI Q target: all hits inside the bottle —value 5 points; 

hits outside the bottle —value 0 points.  

9. The low light range/familiarization of individuals shall 

be scored as indicated above. This is strictly a 

familiarization course with no pass or fail grade provided.  

C. Course: Virginia Private Security Course of Fire for 

Handguns. The course of fire shall be conducted using, at a 

minimum, the requirements set forth in subsection B of this 

section. Strong/weak hand refers to the primary hand used in 

firing the firearm. The opposite hand may be used for 

support. The course of fire shall be conducted in the 

following phases:  

1. Phase 1; 3 yards, utilizing weaver, modified weaver, or 

isosceles stance, 18 rounds:  

a. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm.  

b. On command, draw and fire 2 rounds (3 seconds), 

repeat.  

c. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm.  

d. On command, draw and fire 6 rounds with strong 

hand.  

e. Unload, reload 6 rounds and fire 6 rounds with weak 

hand (25 seconds).  

2. Phase 2; 7 yards, utilizing weaver, modified weaver, or 

isosceles stance, 24 rounds:  

a. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm.  

b. On command, draw and fire 1 round (2 seconds), 

repeat.  

c. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm.  

d. On command, draw and fire 2 rounds (3 seconds), 

repeat.  

e. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm.  

f. On command, draw and fire 6 rounds, reload 6 rounds, 

fire 6 rounds (30 seconds).  

3. Phase 3; 15 yards, 70 seconds, 18 rounds:  

a. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm.  

b. On command, assume kneeling position, draw and fire 

6 rounds with strong hand.  

c. Assume standing position, unload, reload and fire 6 

rounds from weak-hand barricade position.  

d. Unload, reload and fire 6 rounds from strong-hand 

barricade position (Kneeling position may be fired using 

barricade position.) (70 seconds). 

D. Low Light Course: Virginia Private Security Low Light 

Familiarization Course of Fire for Handguns. The course of 

fire shall be conducted using, at a minimum, the requirements 

set forth in this subsection. Equipment needed: belt with 

directional draw holster, handgun, two speed loaders or three 

magazines, range ammunition (30 rounds). Equipment 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 24, 2012 

231 

provided by instructor: A range that can simulate low light or 

a pair of welders goggles for each student that simulates low 

light. Strong/weak hand refers to the primary hand used in 

firing the firearm. The opposite hand may be used for 

support. The course of fire shall be conducted in the 

following phases:  

1. Phase 1; 3 yards, utilizing weaver or isosceles stance, 18 

rounds:  

a. Load 6 rounds and come to ready.  

b. On command, fire 2 rounds (3 seconds) repeat.  

c. Load 6 rounds and come to ready.  

d. On command, fire 6 rounds with strong hand.  

e. Unload, reload 6 rounds and fire 6 rounds (30 

seconds).  

2. Phase 2; 7 yards, utilizing weaver or isosceles stance, 12 

rounds:  

a. Load 6 rounds and come to ready.  

b. On command, fire 2 rounds (5 seconds), and repeat.  

c. Load 6 rounds and come to ready.  

d. On command, draw and fire 3 rounds (6 seconds), and 

repeat.  

6VAC20-171-375. [ Basic Security officer ] handgun 

training. 

Handgun classroom training.  

1. The [ basic security officer ] handgun classroom training 

will include but not be limited to the following:  

a. Practical handgun handling 

(1) Identification of handgun parts 

(2) Draw 

(3) Reholstering 

(4) Ready position 

(5) Loading  

(6) Administrative loading 

(7) Tactical reloading 

(8) Rapid reloading 

(9) Unloading 

[ (10) Administrative 

(11) (10) ] Malfunctions 

[ (12) (11) ] Immediate actions procedures 

[ (13) Feedway clearance procedures 

(12) Remedial action ]  

[ (14) (13) ] Proper care and maintenance 

[ (15) (14) ] Firearms retention  

[ (16) (15) ] Ammunition identification and management  

[ (17) (16) ] Range safety 

b. Fundamentals of marksmanship 

(1) Grip 

(2) Stance (position) 

(3) Sight alignment 

(4) Sight picture 

(5) Trigger control 

(6) Breathing 

(7) Follow through 

c. Dim light/low light/reduced light practice and 

familiarization 

[ (1) Hours of darkness 

(2) (1) ] Identification of target/threat/background 

[ (3) (2) ] Unaided training 

[ (4) (3) ] Aided training 

[ (5) (4) ] Flashlight use 

[ (6) (5) ] Reloading during low light conditions 

[ (7) (6) ] Malfunctions 

[ (8) (7) ] Range safety 

d. Use of force 

(1) Deadly force 

(2) Justifiable deadly force 

e. Liability  

(1) Criminal liability 

(2) Civil liability 

(3) Negligent discharge prevention 

f. Judgmental shooting: judgmental shooting scenarios will 

be conducted in the classroom/range 

(1) Shoot/don't shoot judgment 

(2) Turn and fire drills 

(3) Failure to stop drills 

(4) Multiple target drills 

g. Lead exposure 

Total Hours (excluding written examination) —24 hours  

2. Written examination required.  

6VAC20-171-376. [ Handgun Entry-level and security 

officer handgun ] range qualification. 

A. Range qualification (no minimum hours). The purpose of 

the range qualification course is to provide practical firearms 

training and qualification to individuals desiring to become 

armed private security services business personnel.  

1. Prior to the date of range training, it will be the 

responsibility of the school director to ensure that all 

students are informed of the proper attire and equipment to 

be worn for the firing range portion of the training. 

Equipment needed: handgun, belt with directional draw 

holster, i.e., one that is worn on the same side of the body 

as the shooting hand, two speed loaders or three 

magazines, ammunition ( [ 48 100 ] rounds)  
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2. Each student will fire a minimum of [ 24 22 ] rounds of 

factory loaded ammunition [ for familiarization ] prior to 

qualification. (There is no course of fire [ and it is not 

scored ]; it is at the firearms instructor's discretion on how 

the round will be utilized.) 

3. Course shall be fired double action or [ double-single 

double/single ] action, except for single action semi-

automatic handguns.  

4. All qualifications shall be conducted using a B-27 

silhouette target or the FBI "Q" target. Alternate targets 

may be utilized with prior approval by the department.  

5. With prior approval of the department, a reasonable 

modification of the firearms course may be approved to 

accommodate qualification on indoor ranges.  

6. [ For those utilizing semi-automatic firearms, it is not 

necessary to reload after every stage so long as there are at 

least three tactical reloads during the course of fire. 

7. ] A certified firearms instructor must be present on the 

range directly controlling the firing line during all phases 

of firearms training. There shall be a minimum of one 

certified firearms instructor per five shooters on the line.  

[ 7. 8. ] The range qualification of individuals shall be 

scored as follows:  

a. B27 target: (use indicated K-value) 7, 8, 9, 10 X rings 

—value 5 points, other hits on silhouette —value 0 

points: divide points scored by maximum possible score 

to obtain decimal and convert to percentage, e.g., 225 ÷ 

300 =.75 = 75%.  

b. FBI Q target: all hits inside the bottle —value 5 points; 

hits outside the bottle —value 0 points.  

[ 8. The 9. Although not scored, each student is required to 

complete the ] low light range/night time practice as 

outlined in [ Section subsection ] C [ of this section ] and 

the familiarization course of fire.  

[ B. Course: Virginia private security course of fire for 

handguns. The course of fire shall be conducted using, at a 

minimum, the requirements set forth in this subsection. 

Strong support hand refers to the primary hand used in firing 

the firearm. All magazines will be loaded to maximum 

capacity; it will be the responsibility of the student to change 

magazines as required. Magazine change refers to tactical 

reloading/reloading refers to when the magazine is depleted. 

The course of fire shall be conducted in the following phases 

and scored as follows:  

1. Rounds: 48 rounds duty ammunition or equivalent 

Initial magazine loading: magazine and speed reloaders 

loaded to capacity. 

Ammunition management: shooter is responsible for 

maintaining a loaded handgun, performing speed 

reloads/tactical reloads as necessary. Running out of 

ammunition during a stage is not a valid alibi. 

Target: B-27 or FBI Q target 

Scoring: B27 target: 7, 8, 9, 10 X rings-value 5 points, 

other hits on silhouette-value 0 points: divide points scored 

by maximum possible score to obtain decimal and convert 

to percentage, e.g., 190 ÷ 250 = .76 = 76%.  

FBI Q target: all hits inside the bottle – value 5 points; hits 

outside the bottle – value 0 points. 

Total possible: 250 points 

Minimum score: 190 (76%) 38 hits 

Firing position: all rounds will be fired from a two-handed 

standing position unless noted otherwise. 

Reholster: all reholstering will be done on command. 

Start position: handgun secured in approved holster, 

interview position and all spare magazines secured in duty 

pouches. 

2. Magazines loaded to capacity. Shooter is responsible for 

maintaining a loaded handgun, performing speed reloads 

and topping off magazines as necessary. Running out of 

ammunition during a stage is not a valid alibi. 

3. Phase 1: 3 yards, utilizing a proper stance, 18 rounds 

On command, draw and fire: 

a. 2 rounds (3 seconds), drop/scan and re-holster, repeat 3 

times 

b. 1 round (2 seconds), drop/scan and re-holster, repeat 6 

times 

c. 6 rounds (15 seconds), 3 rounds with the strong hand 

ONLY, transfer firearm the support hand and fire 3 

rounds with the support hand ONLY, transfer to strong 

hand, drop/scan, re-holster. 

4. Phase 2: 7 yards, utilizing a proper stance, 18 rounds 

On command, draw and fire: 

a. 1 round (2 seconds), drop/scan and reholster, repeat 6 

times 

b. 2 rounds (3 seconds), drop/scan and reholster, repeat 3 

times 

c. 6 rounds (10 seconds), drop/scan and reholster 

5. Phase 3: 15 yards, kneeling position, 12 rounds 

On command, draw and fire: 

6 rounds kneeling strong side barricade position, reload 

and fire 6 rounds from the support barricade position (25 

seconds) ]  

C. Low light course: Virginia private security low light 

practice/familiarization course of fire for handguns. The 

course of fire shall be conducted using, at a minimum, the 

requirements set forth in this subsection. Equipment needed: 

belt with directional draw holster, flashlight, handgun, two 

speed loaders or three magazines, range ammunition (24 

rounds). Equipment provided by instructor: A range that can 

simulate low light or a pair of welders goggles for each 

student that simulates low light. Strong/weak hand refers to 

the primary hand used in firing the firearm. The opposite 
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hand may be used for support. The course of fire shall be 

conducted in the following phases for practice and 

familiarization:  

1. Target: B-27 or FBI Q target 

2. Scoring: B27 target: 7, 8, 9, 10 X rings--value 5 points, 

other hits on silhouette--value 0 points: divide points 

scored by maximum possible score to obtain decimal and 

convert to percentage, e.g., 95 ÷ 120 = .79 = 79%.  

3. FBI Q target: all hits inside the bottle – value 5 points; 

hits outside the bottle – value 0 points. 

4. Phase I; 3 yards, utilizing a proper stance, 12 rounds: 

a. Load magazines to full capacity and come to ready  

b. On command, fire 2 rounds (3 seconds) repeat 

c. On command, fire 6 rounds  

(15 Seconds) 

5. Phase 2; 7 yards, utilizing proper stance, 12 rounds  

a. On command, fire 2 rounds (5 seconds), and repeat 

b. On command, fire 3 rounds (6 seconds), and repeat ]  

D. Alternate course of fire semi-automatic handguns 

1. Firearms instructors are authorized to implement a 

substitute handgun qualification course for semi-automatic 

handguns that incorporate the following elements at a 

minimum: 

a. All classroom instruction contained in subsection A of 

this section; 

b. The targets used are either a B-27 silhouette target or 

FBI Q target; 

c. All firing is initiated with the firearm in a directional 

draw holster; 

d. The alternative course of fire will incorporate a 

minimum of 4 magazine changes; 

e. Scoring will be the same as that contained in 

subdivision B 1 of this section; 

f. There shall not be more than 5 students on the firing 

line for each certified firearms instructor present; 

g. Firing distances shall be 3 yards, 7 yards, and 15 

yards; 

h. A total of 60 rounds of ammunition will be fired by 

each shooter; and 

i. Course will incorporate strong hand and weak hand 

firing position. 

2. Timing of firing in each stage will be similar to that 

imposed in the standard course of fire; i.e., 1 shot in 2 

seconds, 2 shots in 3 seconds. Firearms instructors are 

allowed to decrease the time limits imposed in the standard 

course of fire, but may not exceed them. 

3. Firearms instructors desiring to develop an alternate 

course of fire for semi-automatic handguns must submit 

the proposed course in writing to the department for 

approval prior to that alternate course being used for 

qualification firing. 

4. An alternative course of fire for semi-automatics 

approved by the department will not be used to qualify or 

requalify shooters armed with a revolver. 

B. Course: Virginia private security course of fire for 

handguns. The course of fire shall be conducted using, at a 

minimum, the requirements set forth in this subsection. 

Strong/weak hand refers to the primary hand used in firing 

the firearm. The opposite hand may be used for support. The 

course of fire shall be conducted in the following phases: 

1. Phase 1: 3 yards, utilizing weaver, modified weaver, or 

isosceles stance, 18 rounds: 

a. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm.  

b. On command, draw and fire 2 rounds (3 seconds), 

repeat 2 times. 

c. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm. 

d. On command, draw and fire 6 rounds with strong 

hand. 

e. Unload, reload 6 rounds and fire 6 rounds with weak 

hand (25 seconds.) 

2. Phase 2: 7 yards, utilizing weaver, modified weaver or 

isosceles stance, 24 rounds: 

a. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm. 

b. On command, draw and fire 1 round (2 seconds), 

repeat 5 times. 

c. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm. 

d. On command, draw and fire 2 rounds (3 seconds), 

repeat 2 times. 

e. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm. 

f. On command, draw and fire 6 rounds, reload 6 rounds, 

fire 6 rounds (30 seconds). 

3. Phase 3: 15 yards, 70 seconds, 18 rounds 

a. Load 6 rounds and holster loaded firearm. 

b. On command, assume kneeling position, draw and fire 

6 rounds with strong hand. 

c. Assume standing position, unload, reload and fire 6 

rounds from weak-hand barricade position. 

d. Unload, reload and fire 6 rounds from strong-hand 

barricade position (kneeling position may be fired using 

barricade position) (70 seconds). 

C. Low light course: Virginia private security low light 

familiarization course of fire for handguns. The course of fire 

shall be conducted using, at a minimum, the requirements set 

forth in this subsection. Equipment needed: belt with 

directional draw holster, handgun, two speed loaders or three 

magazines, range ammunition (18 rounds). Equipment 

provided by instructor: A range that can simulate low light or 

a pair of welders goggles for each student that simulates low 

light. Strong/weak hand refers to the primary hand used in 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 24, 2012 

234 

firing the firearm. The opposite hand may be used for 

support. The course of fire shall be conducted in the 

following phases: 

1. Phase I; 3 yards, utilizing weaver or isosceles stance, 6 

rounds: 

a. Load 6 rounds and come to ready  

b. On command, fire 2 rounds (3 seconds) repeat 2 

times(30 seconds) 

2. Phase 2; 7 yards, utilizing weaver or isosceles stance, 12 

rounds  

a. Load 6 rounds and come to ready 

b. On command, fire 2 rounds (5 seconds), repeat 2 times 

c. Load 6 rounds and come to ready 

d. On command, draw and fire 3 rounds (6 seconds), and 

repeat. ]  

6VAC20-171-380. Entry-level shotgun training. 

A. Shotgun classroom training. Individual must first 

successfully complete entry-level [ or security officer ] 

handgun training. The [ entry level entry-level ] shotgun 

classroom instruction will emphasize but not be limited to:  

1. Safe and proper use and handling of shotgun;  

2. Nomenclature;  

3. Positions and combat loading techniques;  

4. Decision-making for the officer with the shotgun;  

5. Transition from sidearm to shotgun; and  

6. Shotgun retention and proper use of a sling.  

Total hours —2 hours  

1. Shotgun handling techniques 

a. Identification of shotgun parts 

b. Slings – traditional sling, single point sling, 3 point 

sling 

c. Cruiser carry conditions  

d. Cruiser safe 

e. Chambering 

f. Reloading 

g. Transition from handgun to shotgun/shotgun to 

handgun (if applicable) 

h. Malfunctions 

(1) Immediate actions procedures 

(2) [ Feedway clearance procedures Remedial action ]  

i. Proper care and maintenance 

j. Shotgun retention 

k. Ammunition management and identification 

l. Range safety 

m. Dim light/low light 

2. Fundamentals of shotgun marksmanship 

a. Grip 

b. Stance (position) 

c. Sight alignment 

d. Sight picture 

e. Trigger control 

f. Breathing 

g. Follow through 

3. Written examination 

Total hours excluding examination [ (4 hours) (3 hours) ]  

B. Range qualification (no minimum hours). The purpose of 

the range firing course is to provide practical shotgun training 

and qualification to those individuals who carry or have 

immediate access to a shotgun in the performance of their 

duties.  

1. For certification, 12 gauge, double aught "00" buckshot 

ammunition shall be used. Five rounds.  

2. Scoring —70% of available pellets must be within 

silhouette.  

1. [ Fire a minimum of 10 prequalification Familiarization: 

Prior to the qualification course, all shooters are required to 

fire a familiarization exercise consisting of 5 ] rounds 

using 12 gauge, double aught "00" buckshot or rifle slug 

ammunition and [ 12 6 rounds minimum of ] handgun 

rounds. [ Prequalification will The exercise shall ] include 

transition [ drills ] from handgun to shotgun and shotgun to 

handgun. [ This exercise is not scored and the distance is at 

the discretion of the instructor. ]  

2. Fire [ 10 5 ] rounds of shotgun rounds (buckshot and/or 

rifled slugs if issued) on a daylight course using B27 

single/multiple targets with 70% accuracy. 

[ 3. Fire 10 rounds of (buck-shot and/or rifled slugs if 

issued) using B27 single/multiple targets on a nighttime 

course with 70% accuracy. 

4. Complete daylight and dim light shotgun practice and 

qualification courses with distance, positions, rounds, 

targets, and time limitations as described in subsection C of 

this section. ]  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 24, 2012 

235 

C. Course: Virginia Private Security Course of Fire for Shotguns.  

[ Distance ]  [ Position ]  [ No. Rounds ]  [ Target ]  [ Time ]  

[ Combat load & fire 15 

Yds. ]  

[ Standing/Shoulder ]  
 [ 3 ]  

[ B-27 Silhouette ]  
[ 20 sec. ]  

[ Combat load & fire 25 

Yds. ]  

[ Kneeling/Shoulder ]  
 [ 2 ]  

[ B-27 Silhouette ]  
[ 15 sec. ]  

  

[ Prequalification 

Condition Distance Position Rounds Target Time 

Cruiser Safe  15 Standing/shoulder/transition* 3 SG/3 HG B27 25 sec 

Open breach  15 Kneeling/shoulder 2 B27 15 sec 

Cruiser Safe  25 Kneeling/shoulder/transition 3 SG/3 HG B27 30 sec 

Open breach  25 Standing/shoulder 2 B27 20 sec 

Day Light Qualification 

Condition Distance Position Rounds Target Time 

Cruiser Safe 15 Standing/shoulder 3 B27 15 sec 

Open breach 

reloading 

15 Kneeling/shoulder 2 B27 10 sec 

Cruiser Safe 25 Kneeling/shoulder 3 B27 20 sec 

Open breach 

reloading 

25 Standing/shoulder 2 B27 25 sec 

Dim Light/Low Light Qualification 

Condition Distance Position Rounds Target Time 

Cruiser Safe 7 Standing/shoulder 3 B27 20 sec 

Open breach 

reloading] 

7 Kneeling/shoulder 2 B27 15 sec 

Cruiser Safe 15 Standing/shoulder 3 B27 25 sec 

Open breach 

reloading 

15 Kneeling/shoulder 2 B27 30 sec ] 

D. A certified firearms instructor must be present on the range directly controlling the firing line during all phases of firearms 

range training. There shall be a minimum of one certified firearms instructor per five shooters on the line.  
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6VAC20-171-390. Advanced handgun training - required 

for the [ entry level entry-level ] personal protection 

specialist who wishes to have firearms endorsement and 

optional for other armed registrants.  

A. The entry level [ basic ] handgun training is a prerequisite 

for taking the advanced handgun training.  

B. Advanced handgun classroom training.  

1. The advanced handgun training will include but not be 

limited to:  

a. Proper care of the weapon Firearms safety;  

b. Civil and criminal liability of the use of firearms;  

c. Criminal liability of the use of firearms Concealed 

carry law and authority;  

d. Weapons retention Function of firearms in close 

protection operations;  

e. Deadly force Deployment of firearms in close 

protection operations;  

f. Justifiable deadly Use of force;  

g. Range safety;  

h. Practical firearms handling;  

i. g. Principles of advanced marksmanship; and  

j. h. Decision-making for the personal protection 

specialist.  

Total hours (excluding written examination) —24 hours – 

14 hours 

2. Written examination required.  

C. Range qualification (no minimum hours). The purpose of 

this course of fire is to assess and improve the tactical, 

protection-related shooting skills for personal protection 

specialist candidates seeking certification to be armed. This 

course entails five increasingly challenging stages of 

advanced firearms exercises with a 92% score required for 

qualification.  

1. The advanced handgun course of fire is comprised of the 

following exercises:  

a. Shoot/don't shoot judgment;  

b. Turn and fire drills;  

c. Failure to stop drills;  

d. Multiple target drills; and  

e. Judgmental shooting.  

2. For all range practicals (stage two through stage four):  

a. The student will fire at a man-size silhouette target 

with the following requirements:  

(1) 4-inch diameter circle in head;  

(2) 8-inch diameter circle in chest/body area; and  

(3) Center points of circles - 13-1/2 inches apart.  

b. All rounds fired must hit within these circles.  

c. Minimum 92% qualification score = 25 rounds total 

requiring 23 hits. With regard to scoring:  

(1) 25 points (1 round is good for 1 point).  

(2) 92% of shots must be "in circle" hits for a passing 

grade (2 misses allowed on total course).  

(3) Shots not taken during stage five when a "no-shoot" 

situation is presented scores a point, just as an accurate 

shot in a hostile situation.  

(4) 92% is 23 of 25 possible [ points ].  

3. A certified advanced handgun firearms instructor must 

be on the range during all phases of advanced handgun 

training. There shall be no less than one certified advanced 

handgun firearms instructor per four students.  

D. Course: Virginia Private Security Advanced Handgun 

Course of Fire.  

1. Stage One: Shoot/don't shoot drill. Stage one of the 

advanced handgun course of fire is conducted in a 

classroom using a 16 mm film or video cassette tape of 

firearms combat scenarios or in practical exercises on the 

range to assess the student's decision-making capability 

given job-related shoot/don't shoot incidents.  

After the interaction of the scenario, the students must 

explain all their commands and actions.  

Dry-fire response from a weapon rendered safe should be 

incorporated into the scenario interaction.  

2. Stage Two: Turn-and-fire drill. Stage two of the 

advanced handgun course of fire is held at a firing range 

and consists of turn-and-fire drills from varying distances 

(straight draw hip holsters only).  

All handguns are loaded with six 6 rounds of ammunition 

and safely holstered. Shooters are positioned with their 

backs to the targets, facing the instructor up-range. The 

instructor will command all shooters to walk at a normal 

pace, directly away from the target. Upon the command 

"fire," the students must quickly turn while acquiring a 

firm grip on the weapon. Once facing the target and in a 

stable position, they must safely draw and fire two 2 

rounds at the designated target circle. After shooting, while 

facing the target, the student must reholster safely, then 

turn around to face up range, ready to continue the 

exercise. The "fire" commands will be called at 3-5 yards, 

5-7 yards, and then 8-10 yards.  

3. Stage Three: Failure to stop drill. Stage three of the 

advanced handgun course of fire is held at a firing range 

and consists of failure to stop drills fired from the seven-

yard 7-yard line (straight draw hip holsters only).  

All handguns are loaded with six 6 rounds of ammunition 

and are safely holstered. Shooters are positioned with their 

backs to the targets, facing the instructor up-range. The 

instructor will command all shooters to walk at a normal 

pace, directly away from the target. Upon the command 

"fire," given at approximately the seven-yard 7-yard line, 
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each shooter must safely turn around while acquiring a 

firm grip on their weapon as performed in the previous 

drill. Once facing the target, the students will draw and fire 

two 2 rounds at the 8-inch body circle, and then one 

immediate round to the 4-inch head circle. The student will 

then safely reholster. The drill will be repeated three times.  

4. Stage Four: Multiple target identification drill. Stage 

four of the advanced handgun course of fire is held at a 

firing range and consists of multiple target identification 

drills fired from varying distances (straight draw hip 

holsters only).  

Each shooter will line up on a set of three targets. Only two 

shooters at one time can complete this exercise on a 

standard 10-12 station range. However, smaller ranges may 

allow for only one shooter at a time.  

Each handgun is loaded with six rounds of ammunition and 

safely holstered. The shooters are positioned with their 

backs to the targets, facing the instructor up-range. The 

instructor will command all shooters to walk at a normal 

pace, directly away from the targets. Upon the command 

"left," "right," or "center," the student must again turn 

around safely while establishing a firm grip on the weapon. 

Then, once stable, the student must quickly draw and fire 2 

rounds at the designated circle on the "called" target ("L," 

"R," "C"). Then, the shooter, while still facing the targets, 

must safely reholster, turn around to face up range, and 

continue the exercise. Each two-round pair must be fired 

within four 4 seconds of the called command. Direction 

commands will be called at 3-5 yards, 5-7 yards, and then 

8-10 yards.  

5. Stage Five: Judgmental shooting. This drill combines 

the skills developed in the prior four stages. The shooter 

will be required to safely turn and fire at a "photograph" 

type target which may be either friendly or hostile. It 

requires hostile targets to be stopped using deadly force. 

Necessity (immediate jeopardy) is presumed for this 

exercise. This stage allows the instructor to evaluate the 

decision-making capability of the student as well as his 

shooting accuracy and safety.  

Shooter is placed on the 10-yard line facing the instructor 

with the target to his rear. The target will be placed at any 

location along the range target line and should not be seen 

by the student until he is given the "turn" command during 

the drill. Each shooter has the opportunity to complete this 

drill four times. Each decision is worth one point. If he 

shoots at a hostile target, a hit anywhere on that target will 

score the point. If a friendly target is presented, it is clearly 

a no-shoot situation and the student should merely holster 

safely to score the point. There is a four-second 4-second 

time limit at this stage for any "shoot" situation.  

The instructor will allow each shooter two opportunities to 

complete this drill and place two targets downrange for 

each. Four points or hits are still necessary at this stage for 

the total score. If two targets are used, then the time limit is 

raised to six 6 seconds, regardless of whether two hostile 

targets are used or one hostile with one friendly.  

6VAC20-171-395. Entry-level patrol rifle training. 

A. Patrol rifle classroom training. [ Individual must first 

successfully complete security officer handgun training. ] The 

entry-level patrol rifle classroom instruction will emphasize 

but not be limited to:  

1. Rifle handling techniques 

a. Nomenclature/identification of rifle parts 

b. Field [ stripping striping ] and reassembling 

c. Loading and unloading 

[ d. Cruiser carry conditions 

e. Cruiser safe 

f. d. ] Chambering 

[ g. e. ] Reloading 

[ h. f. ] Slings 

(1) Traditional sling 

(2) Single point sling 

(3) 3 Point sling 

[ i. g. ] Transition from handgun to rifle/rifle to handgun  

[ j. h. ] Malfunctions 

[ k. i. ] Immediate actions procedures 

[ l. Feedway clearance procedures j. Remedial action ]  

[ m. k. ] Proper care and maintenance 

[ n. l. ] Rifle retention  

[ o. m. ] Ammunition management and identification 

[ p. n. ] Range safety 

[ q. o. ] Dim light/low light  

2. Fundamentals of rifle marksmanship 

a. Grip 

b. Stance (position) 

c. Sight alignment 

d. Sight picture 

e. Trigger control 

f. Breathing 

g. Follow through 

3. Zeroing iron sights 

a. Establishing mechanical zero 

b. Zeroing process 

4. Dim light shooting 

a. Hours of darkness/dim light 

b. Identification requirements 

c. Unaided reduced light shooting techniques 

d. Aided reduced light shooting techniques 
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5. Shooting positions 

a. Fundamentals of shooting positions 

b. Basic patrol positions 

6. Use of force 

7. Criminal and civil liability 

[ 8. Judgmental shooting 

9. 8. ] Written comprehensive examination 

Total hours (excluding examination) [ 24 hours 16 hours ]  

B. Range qualification (no minimum hours). The purpose of 

the range firing course is to provide practical patrol rifle 

training and qualification to those individuals who carry or 

have immediate access to a patrol rifle in the performance of 

their duties with the sighting system that will be carried on 

duty.  

C. Patrol rifle qualification course. 

1. All rifle qualification will be done with a law-

enforcement type and caliber rifle. A total of 60 rounds of 

ammunition will be fired for rifle qualification. 

2. All rifle qualification firing will be done with [ a tactical 

(not parade) style sling mounted ] iron sights. [ In addition, 

if an officer is using an optic while ] on [ the rifle and 

utilized by the shooter duty, they must qualify with that 

optic ]. 

3. All indoor rifle qualification firing will be done at a 

range that accommodates a distance of 25 yards between 

the shooter and the target. No variances of this distance are 

allowed. The indoor target system will contain two targets 

per shooter mounted side by side. The targets will be FBI 

Q-R, half-sized silhouette targets. Use of this target type 

will simulate shooting at 50 yards. 

4. All outdoor rifle qualification firing will be done at 50 

yards using the FBI Q silhouette full-sized targets. Two of 

these targets will be mounted side by side for each shooter. 

5. FBI Q silhouette targets are used for rifle qualification, 

scoring will be all hits inside the bottle – value 5 points; 

outside the bottle – value 0 points. With these targets a 

maximum score of 300 points is possible. Minimum 

qualification is 85% or 255 points. 

D. Patrol rifle course of fire. 

1. [ All shooter Prior to qualification, all shooters ] are 

required to fire [ at ] a minimum of 30 familiarization 

rounds which will include transition drills from handgun to 

rifle and rifle to handgun. [ Shooters will fire a minimum 

of 10 rounds with a handgun. This exercise is not scored 

and the distance is at the discretion of the instructor. ]  

2. Stage 1; 50 yards/25 yards (indoors) – Shooters will load 

their rifle with a magazine of 20 rounds and place the 

selector on safe. From the standing position with the rifle 

in the sling carry position, on command the shooters will 

fire 5 rounds from the standing position, place the selector 

on safe, assume a kneeling position and fire 5 rounds, place 

the selector on safe shooter will assume the prone position, 

the shooter will fire 10 rounds. All 20 rounds of this stage 

will be fired at the left hand target. (1 minute) When firing 

is complete shooters will place the selector on safe and 

await further command. 

3. Stage 2; 25 yards – Shooters will load their rifle with a 

magazine of 15 rounds and place the selector on safe. From 

the standing position with the rifle in the sling carry 

position, on command the shooters will fire 5 rounds from 

the standing position, place the selector on safe, assume a 

kneeling position and fire 5 rounds, place the selector on 

safe shooter will assume the prone position, the shooter 

will fire 5 rounds. All 15 rounds of this stage will be fired 

at the right hand target.  (45 seconds) When firing is 

complete shooters will place the selector on safe and await 

further command. 

4. Stage 3; 15 yards - On command shooters will assume 

the standing position and load rifle with a magazine of 10 

rounds. On command shooters will fire 5 rounds at the 

right-hand target, place the selector on safe, assume the 

kneeling position and fire 5 rounds at the left-hand target in 

15 seconds. 

5. Stage 4; 7 yards - On command shooters will load rifle 

with a magazine of 20 rounds, selector in the safe position, 

and then place the rifle in the sling carry position. On 

command shooters will fire 2 rounds into the right target 

with a 2 second time limit. Upon completion of firing 

shooters will place the selector on safe and the rifle in the 

sling carry position. This exercise will be fired 5 times 

with a total of 10 rounds expended. 

6. Stage 5; 5 yards - On command shooters will load rifle 

with a magazine of 5 rounds, selector in the safe position, 

and then place the rifle in the sling carry position. On 

command shooters will fire 1 round into the left target head 

with a 2 second time limit. Upon completion of firing 

shooters will place the selector on safe and the rifle in the 

sling carry position. This exercise will be fired 5 times 

with a total of 5 rounds expended. 

E. Low light/dim light qualification course of fire. 

7 yards - Under low-light conditions, on command 

shooters will fire 5 rounds at the left target, place the 

selector in the safe position, assume the kneeling position 

and fire 5 rounds at the right target. A time limit of 1 

minute is allowed for this stage. 

6VAC20-171-400. Firearms (handgun/shotgun) 

retraining. 

A. All armed private security services business personnel 

with the exception of personal protection specialists must 

satisfactorily complete two 4 hours of firearms classroom 

training or practical exercises and range training, and 

requalify as prescribed in 6VAC20-171-370 6VAC20-171-

376 B and C for handgun. Firearms instructors who have 

received prior approval from the department may substitute 
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the alternative course specified in 6VAC20-171-370 D and 

the low-light course specified in 6VAC20-171-370 C for 

requalification firing with a semi-automatic handgun. and 

6VAC20-171-380 for shotgun, if applicable, on an annual 

basis prior to the issuance of the Firearms Endorsement, as 

follows:  

1. Classroom retraining or practical exercises —2 hours  

2. Range qualification with handgun and/or shotgun, if 

applicable (no minimum hours)  

Total hours (excluding range qualification) —2 hours  

B. Requalification training with the shotgun shall be 

comprised of [ 4 hours 3 hours ] of classroom training or 

practical exercises and range training and requalification 

firing as specified in 6VAC20-171-380 B. 

C. Requalification training with the patrol rifle shall be 

comprised of 4 hours of firearms classroom training or 

practical exercises and range training and requalification 

firing as specified in 6VAC20-171-395 for patrol rifle. 

D. All applicable firearms retraining must be completed and 

documented with the department on an annual basis prior to 

the issuance of a firearms endorsement. 

6VAC20-171-420. Advanced handgun retraining.  

All armed private security services business personnel 

registered in the category of personal protection specialist or 

other armed category seeking advanced handgun designation 

must satisfactorily complete advanced handgun retraining, 

which includes eight hours of firearms classroom training and 

range training, and requalify as prescribed in 6VAC20-171-

390 C for handgun [ within the 12-month period immediately 

preceding the expiration date of his registration ] as follows:  

1. Legal authority and decision making – 4 hours  

2. Handgun safety, marksmanship and skill development – 

4 hours  

3. Completion of advanced handgun course of fire  

Total Hours (excluding range qualification) – 8 hours  

Article 3  

Security Canine Handler Training Requirements  

6VAC20-171-430. Entry level security canine handler 

training. (Repealed.) 

A. Prerequisites for security canine handler entry level 

(official documentation required):  

1. Successful completion of the security officer core 

subjects curriculum—18 hours; and  

2. Successful completion of basic obedience training.  

B. Following successful completion of the above 

prerequisites, each security canine handler must also comply 

with the following requirements:  

1. Demonstration of proficiency. The student must 

demonstrate his proficiency in the handling of a security 

canine to satisfy the minimum standards —2 hours  

2. Evaluation by a certified private security canine handler 

instructor and basic obedience retraining  

3. Security canine handler orientation/legal authority —4 

hours  

4. Canine patrol techniques —6 hours  

5. Written examination  

Total hours (excluding examinations) —30 hours  

6VAC20-171-440. Security canine handler retraining. 

(Repealed.) 

Each security canine handler registrant shall comply 

annually with the requirement for basic obedience evaluation 

and retraining (Refer to 6VAC20-171-430).  

1. Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and DCJS 

regulations —1 hour  

2. Security canine handler basic obedience evaluation and 

retraining —4 hours  

3. Canine grooming, feeding, and health care —1 hour  

4. Apprehension techniques —1 hour  

5. Obedience —1 hour  

Total hours—8 hours  

Article 4 3 

Training Exemptions  

6VAC20-171-445. Training exemptions.  

Persons who meet the statutory requirements as set forth in § 

9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia may apply for a partial 

exemption from the compulsory training standards. 

Individuals requesting such partial exemption shall file an 

application furnished by the department and include the 

applicable, nonrefundable application fee. The department 

may issue such partial exemption on the basis of individual 

qualifications as supported by required documentation. Those 

applying for and receiving exemptions must comply with all 

regulations promulgated by the board. Each person receiving 

a partial exemption must apply to the department for 

registration within 12 months from the date of issuance, 

otherwise the partial exemption shall become null and void.  

Article 2  

Department Action/Sanctions  

6VAC20-171-500. Disciplinary action; sanctions; 

publication of records. 

A. Each person subject to jurisdiction of this chapter who 

violates any statute or regulation pertaining to private security 

services shall be subject to sanctions imposed by the 

department regardless of criminal prosecution.  

B. The department may impose any of the following 

sanctions, singly or in combination, when it finds the 

respondent in violation or in noncompliance of the Code of 

Virginia or of this chapter:  

1. Letter of reprimand or censure;  

2. Probation for any period of time;  
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3. Suspension of license, registration, certification, or 

approval granted, for any period of time;  

4. Revocation;  

5. Refusal to issue, renew or reinstate a license, 

registration, certification or approval;  

6. Fine not to exceed $2,500 per violation as long as the 

respondent was not criminally prosecuted;  

7. Remedial training.; or 

8. Conditional agreements. 

C. The department may conduct hearings and issue cease 

and desist orders to persons who engage in activities 

prohibited by this chapter but do not hold a valid license, 

certification or registration. Any person in violation of a cease 

and desist order entered by the department shall be subject to 

all of the remedies provided by law and, in addition, shall be 

subject to a civil penalty payable to the party injured by the 

violation.  

D. The director may summarily suspend a license, 

certification or registration under this chapter without a 

hearing, simultaneously with the filing of a formal complaint 

and notice for a hearing, if the director finds that the 

continued operations of the licensee or registrant would 

constitute a life-threatening situation, or has resulted in 

personal injury or loss to the public or to a consumer, or 

which may result in imminent harm, personal injury or loss.  

E. All proceedings pursuant to this section are matters of 

public record and shall be preserved. The department may 

publish a list of the names and addresses of all persons, 

licensees, firms, registrants, training schools, school directors, 

compliance agents and licensed firms whose conduct and 

activities are subject to this chapter and have been sanctioned 

or denied licensure, registration, certification or approval.  

6VAC20-171-550. Appeals.  

The findings and the decision of the director may be 

appealed to the board provided that written notification is 

given to the attention of the Director, Department of Criminal 

Justice Services, 805 East Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia 

23219, within 30 days following the date notification of the 

hearing decision was served, or the date it was mailed to the 

respondent, whichever occurred first. In the event the hearing 

decision is served by mail, three days shall be added to that 

period. (Rule 2A:2 of Rules of the Virginia Supreme Court.)  

6VAC20-171-560. Court review; appeal of final agency 

order.  

A. The agency's final administrative decision (final agency 

orders) may be appealed. Any person affected by, and 

claiming the unlawfulness of the agency's final case decision, 

shall have the right to direct review thereof by an appropriate 

and timely court action. Such appeal actions shall be initiated 

in the circuit court of jurisdiction in which the party applying 

for review resides; save, if such party is not a resident of 

Virginia, the venue shall be in the city of Richmond, Virginia.  

B. Notification shall be given to the attention of the 

Director, Department of Criminal Justice Services, 805 East 

Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, in writing within 30 

days of the date notification of the board decision was served, 

or the date it was mailed to the respondent, whichever 

occurred first. In the event the board decision was served by 

mail, three days shall be added to that period. (Rule 2A:2 of 

Rules of the Virginia Supreme Court.)  

C. During all judicial proceedings incidental to such 

disciplinary action, the sanctions imposed by the board shall 

remain in effect, unless the court issues a stay of the order.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the above 

regulation are not being published; however, the name of 

each form is listed below. The forms are available for public 

inspection by contacting the agency contact for this 

regulation, or at the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 

General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS (6VAC20-171)  

Irrevocable Consent for Service Form, PSS-IC (eff. 2/00). 

PSS-IRC (eff. 5/07). 

Fingerprint Processing Application, PSS-FP (eff. 2/00). (eff. 

3/08). 

Initial Compliance Agent Training and Certification, PSS-

CA (eff. 2/00). (eff. 3/08). 

Initial Business License Application, PSS-LA (eff. 2/00). 

(eff. 3/08). 

Renewal Business License Application, PSS-LR (eff. 2/00). 

(eff. 3/08). 

Initial Private Security Registration Application, PSS-RA 

(eff. 2/00). (eff. 3/08). 

Renewal Private Security Registration Application, PSS-RR 

(eff. 2/00). (eff. 3/08). 

Partial Training Exemption Application for Entry-Level 

Training, PSS-WA Entry (eff. 2/00). (eff. 3/08). 

In-Service Alternative Credit Application Instructions, PSS-

WA In-Service (eff. 5/07). 

Training Completion Roster Application, PSS-SA1 (eff. 

2/00). PSS-TCR (eff. 5/07). 

Initial Private Security Instructor Certification Application - 

Instructions, PSS-IA (eff. 2/00). (eff. 1/07). 

Renewal Private Security Instructor Application, PSS-IR 

(eff. 2/00). (eff. 5/07). 

Private Security Services Complaint Form, PSS-C (eff. 

2/00). (eff. 5/07). 

Duplicate/Replacement Photo ID Application, PSS-MP2 

(eff. 2/00). 

General Instructor Entry Level Training Enrollment, PSS-

GE (eff. 2/00). (eff. 5/07). 

Compliance Agent In-Service Training Enrollment, PSS-CT 

(eff. 2/00). (eff. 5/07). 
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Training Completion Form, PSS-TCF (eff. 2/00). (eff. 8/05). 

Initial Private Security Certification Application, PSS-UA 

(eff. 2/00).  

Renewal Private Security Certification Application, PSS-UR 

(eff. 2/00).  

Additional Registration Category Application, PSS-MP1 

(eff. 2/00). PSS-ARC (eff. 3/08). 

Training Session Notification Form, PSS-TN (eff. 2/00). 

PSS-TSN (eff. 5/07). 

Initial Training School Application, PSS-TA (eff. 2/00). 

(eff. 5/07). 

Renewal Training School Application, PSS-TR (eff. 2/00). 

(eff. 5/07). 

General Instructor In-Service Training Enrollment, PSS-GI 

(eff. 2/00). (eff. 5/07). 

Personal Protection Specialist Advanced Firearms Instructor 

Entry Level Training Enrollment, PSS-PPSFI (eff. 2/00).  

Private Security Firearms Instructor Entry Level Training 

Enrollment, PSS-FE (eff. 2/00).  

Firearm Discharge Report, PSS-FR (eff. 2/00). (eff. 5/07). 

Firearms Instructor In-Service Training Enrollment, PSS-FI 

(eff. 2/00). (eff. 5/07). 

Business or Training School Address Change Form, PSS-

AC2 (eff. 3/08). 

Private Security Services Bond, PSS-BD (eff. 5/07). 

Compliance Agent Designation/Removal Form, PSS-CD 

(eff. 3/08). 

Additional Private Security License Category Application, 

PSS-LC (eff. 3/08). 

Compliance Agent Certification Application and Online 

Training Exemption Form, PSS-WC (eff. 5/07). 

Criminal History Supplemental Form, PSS-CHS (eff. 3/08). 

Criminal History Waiver Application, PSS-CHW (eff. 3/08). 

Locksmith Experience Verification for Entry-Level Training 

Waiver - No Fee, PSS-LTW (eff. 3/08). 

Request for Extension Form, PSS-ER (eff. 5/07). 

Individual Address Change Form, PSS-IAC (eff. 5/07). 

Firearms Endorsement Application, PSS-RF (eff. 3/08). 

Training School Staff Change Form, PSS-SC (eff. 4/07). 

School Director Designation and Acceptance Form, PSS-SD 

(eff. 5/07). 

Electronic Roster Submittal Authorization Application, PSS-

SR (eff. 5/07). 

Training School Add Category Form - No Fee, PSS-TSAC 

(eff.3/08). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1546; Filed August 22, 2012, 1:28 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-160. Voluntary Remediation 

Regulations (amending 9VAC20-160-10 through 9VAC20-

160-40, 9VAC20-160-60 through 9VAC20-160-120).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1232 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

November 6, 2012 - 1 p.m. - Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 2nd Floor 

Conference Room C, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: November 23, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Gary E. Graham, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4103, FAX (804) 

698-4510, or email gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The legal basis for the Voluntary Remediation 

Regulations, 9VAC20-160, is the Brownfield Restoration and 

Land Renewal Act. Specifically, § 10.1-1232 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the Waste Management Board to 

promulgate regulations that facilitate voluntary cleanup of 

contaminated sites where remediation is not clearly mandated 

by the Comprehensive Environmental Response, 

Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA), the Resource 

Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), the Virginia Waste 

Management Act, or other applicable authority. There is no 

corresponding federal mandate, since the regulations apply 

only where remediation is not otherwise required under state 

or federal law, or where such jurisdiction has been waived. 

Purpose: The agency performed an internal review of the 

Voluntary Remediation Regulations and determined that there 

was a continued need for this regulation. Since 1996 more 

than 325 applications have been submitted to the Voluntary 

Remediation Program (VRP). Certificates of completion have 

been issued to over 200 participants and the current active 

case load exceeds 125 sites. Without this program there is a 

likelihood that many of these cleanups may not have 

occurred. Further, the regulation is not considered complex. 

Section 10.1-1232 of the Code of Virginia requires the Waste 

Management Board to promulgate regulations that facilitate 

voluntary cleanup of contaminated sites where remediation is 

not clearly mandated by the Comprehensive Environmental 

Response, Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA), the 

Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), the 

Virginia Waste Management Act, or other applicable 

authority. This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

The Voluntary Remediation Regulation was last amended in 

2002 and became effective as a final regulation on July 1, 

2002. Based on a four-year periodic review, it was 

determined that the regulations needed to be updated to 
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include current remediation levels and sampling and analysis 

methods; to improve reporting requirements; and to clarify 

eligibility, termination, and application requirements.  

The amendments are intended to revise the program 

procedures so that sites can be processed more efficiently and 

reflect changes in technology. 

Substance: The proposed amendments to the Voluntary 

Remediation Regulations include the following: 

1. 9VAC20-160-10: Definitions - Definitions have been 

clarified and some additional ones added to clarify 

requirements;  

2. 9VAC20-160-20: Purpose, applicability, and compliance 

with other regulations - Has been revised to include 

characterization as part of the purpose of this chapter;  

3. 9VAC20-160-30: Eligibility criteria - Requirements 

have been added that address both the applicant and 

candidate sites eligibility; that allow applicants to have 

access to the property until the remediation is complete; 

that the department is notified of any change in ownership 

or in agent for the owner; that documentation of completed 

remediation is provided; that clarify when remediation has 

been clearly mandated; and that require written permission 

from off-site property owners; 

4. 9VAC20-160-40: Application for participation - A 

requirement for a map and acreage of the property has been 

added to the application materials. Completeness review 

and notification provisions have been added;  

5. 9VAC20-160-60: Registration Fee - A requirement that 

the initial registration fee shall be the statutory maximum 

has been added. Conditions for a participant seeking a 

partial refund have been added;  

6. 9VAC20-160-70: Work to be performed - Clarifies the 

required components of the Voluntary Remediation 

Report. Requires the submittal of an assessment of any 

risks to off-site properties and clarifies the use of land use 

controls. Clarifies the reporting requirements in the case 

where the participant determines that no remedial action is 

necessary. A requirement for analysis to be performed by 

laboratories certified by the Virginia Environmental 

Laboratory Accreditation Program has been added. A 

requirement for the submission of an annual report 

containing a brief summary of any actions ongoing or 

completed as well as any planned future actions is also 

included;  

8. 9VAC20-160-90: Remediation levels - Clarifies 

carcinogenic risks, ecological risks, surface water quality 

standards, soil screening levels, groundwater concerns, and 

human health considerations; 

9. 9VAC20-160-100: Termination - Clarifies the 

conditions under which participation in the program may 

be terminated. Adds a requirement that the participant must 

make reasonable progress towards completion of the 

program to remain eligible; 

10. 9VAC20-160-110: Certification of satisfactory 

completion of remediation - Regulatory requirements have 

been clarified. Provides for notification when there is a 

change in ownership; and 

11. 9VAC20-160-120: Public notice - Provides for written 

notice to adjacent property owners and other owners whose 

property has been impacted by the release being addressed 

under the VRP project as soon as the department accepts 

the site characterization report and the proposed or 

completed remediation and prior to the department's 

issuing a certificate. Also provides for the 

acknowledgement of the receipt of written comments and 

an evaluation of the comment's impact on the planned or 

completed action or actions. 

Issues: This regulation has no negative economic impact on 

small businesses. The VRP provides the opportunity for 

reasonable cleanup goals and protects human health and the 

environment. These cleanups facilitate the sale and reuse of 

industrial and commercial properties, provide economic 

benefits for the buyer and seller, and reduce green space 

development. Communities benefit when these projects are 

completed. The cleanup of a site may impact surrounding 

properties by increasing property values, tax revenues, 

employment opportunities and community pride. The 

citizens, businesses, and local governments of the 

Commonwealth all derive benefits from the VRP. This 

regulation poses no disadvantages to the public, to the 

regulated community, or to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 

result of a periodic review of regulations, the Waste 

Management Board (Board) proposes to amend its Voluntary 

Remediation Regulations. The Board proposes to make many 

clarifying changes to the requirements of these regulations 

and also proposes to change the language for fees so that 

affected entities will pay $5,000 at the start of their 

remediation project and may apply for a refund of any 

unowed monies at the end.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. DEQ's voluntary remediation 

program allows land owners (mostly business land owners) to 

voluntarily clean up polluted land that is not so polluted that 

clean up would be mandated under state or federal 

regulations. Most entities that participate in this program are 

in the process of trying to sell their land and would take part 

in the program in hopes of increasing the value and, therefore, 

the sale price of the affected holding. The Board last updated 

its Voluntary Remediation Regulations in 2002. As a result of 

a periodic review of these regulations, the Board now 

proposes to make many clarifying changes as well as one 

change that may have a significant economic impact of the 

entities that choose to participate. The clarifying changes that 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 24, 2012 

243 

are being proposed for these regulations will not change the 

practices employed by the program and, so, should not 

increase costs for any affected entities. To the extent that 

these changes streamline processes and/or make these 

regulations easier to understand, affected entities will likely 

benefit. 

Current regulations allow participating entities to pay, at the 

time of initial registration, a fee of one percent of the 

anticipated costs of their remediation projects, up to a 

statutory maximum of $5,000. At the end of the project, DEQ 

will currently bill a participant for the actual costs of 

administering the project, minus the amount they have 

already paid, up to the statutory maximum. DEQ can 

withhold the certificate of completion for a project until that 

bill is paid but has no recourse for recouping its costs if a 

participant drops out of the program before his project is 

completed or just has no interest in obtaining the certificate. 

As a consequence, DEQ has had some projects where 

participants have only paid several hundred dollars when the 

actual program administration costs are many thousands of 

dollars. DEQ reports that the average costs for administering 

a remediation project is approximately $40,000. 

The Board proposes to amend the fees structure in these 

regulations so that program participants will pay the statutory 

maximum ($5,000) at the time of initial registration. 

Participants will be able to request a refund upon project 

completion if the actual costs of administering their projects 

are less than the collected fee. Some project participants, 

particularly participants who drop out before project 

completion, will likely pay a larger fee on account of this 

regulatory change. Because participation in this program is 

voluntary, these costs are likely to be outweighed by the 

benefits that will accrue to any entities that choose to 

participate. DEQ, and taxpayers, will benefit from this change 

as it will allow DEQ to recoup more of the costs of 

administering this program from the program participants (its 

most immediate beneficiaries). 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) reports that approximately 20 

entities (individuals or businesses) per year initiate a 

voluntary remediation project. DEQ estimates that 

approximately 90% of these entities would be classified as 

small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 

likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

regulatory action will likely have minimal effects on the use 

or value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Since 

participation is voluntary, small businesses in the 

Commonwealth are unlikely to take part in DEQs voluntary 

remediation program unless they expect the benefits that they 

will accrue to outweigh the costs. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There are likely no other methods that DEQ 

could have employed that would both have allowed DEQ to 

guarantee it would recoup more of its costs (up to the 

statutory maximum) and further minimized costs for affected 

small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and has 

no comment. 

Summary:  

The proposed action updates current remediation levels 

and sampling and analysis methods; improves reporting 

requirements; clarifies eligibility, termination, and 

application requirements; and updates program 

procedures to process contaminated sites more efficiently 

and reflect changes in technology. The action also changes 

the language for fees so that affected entities will pay 

$5,000 at the start of their remediation project and may 

apply for a refund of any unowed moneys at the end. 
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9VAC20-160-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Authorized agent" means any person who is authorized in 

writing to fulfill the requirements of this program.  

"Carcinogen" means a chemical classification for the 

purpose of risk assessment as an agent that is known or 

suspected to cause cancer in humans, including but not 

limited to a known or likely human carcinogen or a probable 

or possible human carcinogen under an EPA weight-of-

evidence classification system.  

"Certificate" means a written certification of satisfactory 

completion of remediation issued by the director department 

pursuant to § 10.1-1232 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Completion" means fulfillment of the commitment agreed 

to by the participant as part of this program.  

"Contaminant" means any man-made or man-induced 

alteration of the chemical, physical or biological integrity of 

soils, sediments, air and surface water or groundwater 

including, but not limited to, such alterations caused by any 

hazardous substance (as defined in the Comprehensive 

Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act, 

42 USC § 9601(14)), hazardous waste (as defined in 

9VAC20-60), solid waste (as defined in 9VAC20-81), 

petroleum (as defined in Articles 9 (§ 62.1-44.34:8 et seq.) 

and 11 (§ 62.1-44.34:14 et seq.)) of the Virginia State Water 

Control Law, or natural gas.  

"Cost of remediation" means all costs incurred by the 

participant pursuant to activities necessary for completion of 

voluntary remediation at the site, based on an estimate of the 

net present value (NPV) of the combined costs of the site 

investigation, report development, remedial system 

installation, operation and maintenance, and all other costs 

associated with participating in the program and addressing 

the contaminants of concern at the site.  

"Department" means the Department of Environmental 

Quality of the Commonwealth of Virginia or its successor 

agency.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality.  

"Engineering controls" means physical modification to a site 

or facility to reduce or eliminate potential for exposure to 

contaminants. These include, but are not limited to, 

stormwater conveyance systems, pump and treat systems, 

slurry walls, vapor mitigation systems, liner systems, caps, 

monitoring systems, and leachate collection systems.  

"Hazard index (HI)" means the sum of more than one hazard 

quotient for multiple contaminants or multiple exposure 

pathways or both. The HI is calculated separately for chronic, 

subchronic, and shorter duration exposures.  

"Hazard quotient" means the ratio of a single contaminant 

exposure level over a specified time period to a reference 

dose for that contaminant derived from a similar period.  

"Incremental upper-bound lifetime cancer risk level" means 

a conservative estimate of the incremental probability of an 

individual developing cancer over a lifetime. Upper-bound 

lifetime cancer risk level is likely to overestimate "true risk."  

"Institutional controls" means legal or contractual 

restrictions on property use that remain effective after 

remediation is completed, and are used to reduce or eliminate 

the potential for exposure to contaminants. The term may 

include, but is not limited to, deed and water use restrictions.  

"Land use controls" means legal or physical restrictions on 

the use of, or access to, a site to reduce or eliminate potential 

for exposure to contaminants, or prevent activities that could 

interfere with the effectiveness of remediation. Land use 

controls include but are not limited to engineering and 

institutional controls.  

"Monitored natural attenuation" means a remediation 

process that closely monitors the natural or enhanced 

attenuation process. 

"Natural attenuation" means a process through which 

contaminants breakdown naturally in the environment. 

Natural attenuation may be enhanced by the addition of 

nutrients, bacteria, oxygen, or other substances.  

"Noncarcinogen" means a chemical classification for the 

purposes of risk assessment as an agent for which there is 

either inadequate toxicological data or is not likely to be a 

carcinogen based on an EPA weight-of-evidence 

classification system. 

"Operator" means the person currently responsible for the 

overall operations at a site, or any person responsible for 

operations at a site at the time of, or following, the release.  

"Owner" means any person currently owning or holding 

legal or equitable title or possessory interest in a property, 

including the Commonwealth of Virginia, or a political 

subdivision thereof, including title or control of a property 

conveyed due to bankruptcy, foreclosure, tax delinquency, 

abandonment, or similar means.  

"Participant" means a person who has received confirmation 

of eligibility and has remitted payment of the registration fee.  

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, a governmental body, a municipal corporation or 

any other legal entity.  

"Post certificate monitoring" means monitoring of 

environmental or site conditions stipulated as a condition of 

issuance of the Certificate of Satisfactory Completion of 

Remediation. 

"Program" means the Virginia Voluntary Remediation 

Program.  

"Property" means a parcel of land defined by the boundaries 

in the deed.  



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 24, 2012 

245 

"Reference dose" means an estimate of a daily exposure 

level for the human population, including sensitive 

subpopulations, that is likely to be without an appreciable risk 

of deleterious effects during a lifetime.  

"Registration fee" means the fee paid to enroll in the 

Voluntary Remediation Program, based on 1.0% of the total 

cost of remediation at a site, not to exceed the statutory 

maximum.  

"Release" means any spilling, leaking, pumping, pouring, 

emitting, emptying, discharging, injecting, escaping, 

leaching, dumping or disposing of any contaminant into the 

environment.  

"Remediation" means actions taken to cleanup, mitigate, 

correct, abate, minimize, eliminate, control and contain or 

prevent a release of a contaminant into the environment in 

order to protect human health and the environment, including 

actions to investigate, study or assess any actual or suspected 

release. Remediation may include, when appropriate and 

approved by the department, land use controls; natural 

attenuation; as well as, monitored natural attenuation.  

"Remediation level" means the concentration of a 

contaminant with applicable land use controls, that is 

protective of human health and the environment.  

"Report" means the Voluntary Remediation Report required 

by 9VAC20-160-70.  

"Restricted use" means any use other than residential.  

"Risk" means the probability that a contaminant will cause 

an adverse effect in exposed humans or to the environment.  

"Risk assessment" means the process used to determine the 

risk posed by contaminants released into the environment. 

Elements include identification of the contaminants present in 

the environmental media, assessment of exposure and 

exposure pathways, assessment of the toxicity of the 

contaminants present at the site, characterization of human 

health risks, and characterization of the impacts or risks to the 

environment.  

"Site" means any property or portion thereof, as agreed to 

and defined by the participant and the department, which 

contains or may contain contaminants being addressed under 

this program.  

"Termination" means the formal discontinuation of 

participation in the Voluntary Remediation Program without 

obtaining a certification of satisfactory completion.  

"Unrestricted use" means the designation of acceptable 

future use for a site at which the remediation levels, based on 

either background or standard residential exposure factors, 

have been attained throughout the site in all media.  

9VAC20-160-20. Purpose, applicability, and compliance 

with other regulations.  

A. The purpose of this chapter is to establish standards and 

procedures pertaining to the eligibility, enrollment, reporting, 

characterization, remediation, and termination criteria for the 

Virginia Voluntary Remediation Program in order to protect 

human health and the environment.  

B. This chapter shall apply to all persons who elect to and 

are eligible to participate in the Virginia Voluntary 

Remediation Program.  

C. Participation in the program does not relieve a participant 

from the obligation to comply with all applicable federal, 

state and local laws, ordinances and regulations related to the 

investigation and remediation (e.g., waste management and 

disposal, erosion and sedimentation controls, air emission 

controls, and activities that impact wetlands and other 

sensitive ecological habitats) undertaken by the participant 

pursuant to this chapter.  

9VAC20-160-30. Eligibility criteria.  

A. Candidate Applicants and proposed sites shall meet 

eligibility criteria as defined in this section.  

B. Any Eligible applicants are any persons who own, 

operate, have a security interest in or enter into a contract for 

the purchase or use of an eligible site. Those who wish to 

voluntarily remediate that a site may apply to participate in 

the program. Any person who is an authorized agent of any of 

the parties identified in this subsection may apply to 

participate in the program.  

1. Access: Applicants who are not the site owner must 

demonstrate that they have access to the property at the 

time of application, during the investigation, and 

throughout the remedial activities until the remediation is 

completed. 

2. Change in ownership: The department shall be notified 

if there is a change in property ownership. 

3. Change in agent: The department shall be notified if 

there is a change in agent for the property owner or the 

participant. 

C. Sites are eligible for participation in the program if (i) 

remediation has not been clearly mandated by the United 

States Environmental Protection Agency, the department or a 

court pursuant to the Comprehensive Environmental 

Response, Compensation and Liability Act (42 USC § 9601 

et seq.), the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act 

(42 USC § 6901 et seq.), the Virginia Waste Management Act 

(§ 10.1-1400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the Virginia 

State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), or other applicable statutory or common law; or (ii) 

jurisdiction of the statutes listed in clause (i) has been waived.  

1. A site on which an eligible party has completed 

performed remediation of a release is potentially eligible 

for the program if the actions can be documented in a way 

which are equivalent to the requirements for prospective 

remediation this chapter, and provided the site meets 

applicable remediation levels.  

2. Petroleum or oil releases not mandated for remediation 

under Articles 9 (§ 62.1-44.34:8 et seq.) and 11 (§ 62.1-
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44.34:14 et seq.) of the Virginia State Water Control Law 

may be eligible for participation in the program.  

3. Where an applicant raises a genuine issue based on 

documented evidence as to the applicability of regulatory 

programs in subsection D of this section, the site may be 

eligible for the program. Such evidence may include a 

demonstration that:  

1. a. It is not clear whether the release involved a waste 

material or a virgin material;  

2. b. It is not clear that the release occurred after the 

relevant regulations became effective; or  

3. c. It is not clear that the release occurred at a regulated 

unit.  

D. For the purposes of this chapter, remediation has been 

clearly mandated if any of the following conditions exist, 

unless jurisdiction for such mandate has been waived:  

1. Remediation of the release is the subject of a permit 

issued by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or the 

department, a pending or existing closure plan, a pending 

or existing an administrative order, a pending or existing 

court order, a pending or existing consent order, or the site 

is on the National Priorities List;  

2. The site at which the release occurred is subject to the 

Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-60) (VHWMR), is a permitted facility, is 

applying for or should have applied for a permit, is under 

interim status or should have applied for interim status, or 

was previously under interim status, and is thereby subject 

to requirements of the VHWMR;  

3. The site at which the release occurred constitutes has 

been determined to be an open dump or unpermitted solid 

waste management facility under 9VAC20-81-45 of the 

Solid Waste Management Regulations; 

4. The director department determines that the release 

poses an imminent and substantial threat to human health 

or the environment; or  

5. Remediation of the release is otherwise the subject of a 

response action or investigation required by local, state, or 

federal law or regulation.  

E. The director may determine that a site under subdivision 

D 3 of this section may participate in the program provided 

that such participation complies with the substantive 

requirements of the applicable regulations.  

9VAC20-160-40. Application for participation.  

A. The application for participation in the Voluntary 

Remediation Program shall, at a minimum, provide the 

elements listed below:  

1. A written notice of intent to participate in the program 

and an overview of the project;  

2. A statement of the applicant's eligibility to participate in 

the program (e.g., proof of ownership, security interest, 

etc.).; 

3. For authorized agents, a letter of authorization from an 

eligible party;  

4. A legal description of the site map and acreage of the 

property and the boundaries of the site, if not the entire 

property;  

5. The A general operational history of the site;  

6. A general description of information known to or 

ascertainable by the applicant pertaining to (i) the nature 

and extent of any contamination; and (ii) past or present 

releases, both at the site and immediately contiguous to the 

site; 

7. A discussion of the potential jurisdiction of other 

existing environmental regulatory programs, or 

documentation of a waiver thereof; and 

8. A notarized certification by the applicant that to the best 

of his knowledge all the information as set forth in this 

subsection is true and accurate. An application signed by 

the applicant and the owner of the property attesting that to 

the best of their knowledge that all of the information as 

set forth in this subsection is true and accurate. 

B. Within 60 days of the department's receipt of an 

application, the director shall review the application to verify 

that (i) the application is complete and (ii) the applicant and 

the site meet the eligibility criteria set forth in 9VAC20-160-

30. The department shall review the application for 

completeness and notify the applicant within 15 days of the 

application's receipt whether the application is 

administratively incomplete. Within 60 days of the 

department's receipt of a complete application, the department 

shall verify whether the applicant and the site meet the 

eligibility criteria set forth in 9VAC20-160-30. The 

department reserves the right to conduct eligibility 

verification inspections of the candidate site during the 

eligibility verification review. 

C. If the director department makes a tentative decision to 

reject the application, he it shall notify the applicant in 

writing that the application has been tentatively rejected and 

provide an explanation of the reasons for the proposed 

rejection. Within 30 days of the applicant's receipt of notice 

of rejection the applicant may (i) submit additional 

information to correct the inadequacies of the rejected 

application or (ii) accept the rejection. The director's 

department's tentative decision to reject an application will 

become a final agency action under the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) upon receipt of an applicant's written acceptance of 

the director's department's decision to reject an application, or 

in the event an applicant fails to respond within the 30 days 

specified in this subsection, upon expiration of the 30 days 

specified day period. If within 30 days an applicant submits 

additional information to correct the inadequacies of an 

application, the review process begins shall begin again in 

accordance with this section. 
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9VAC20-160-60. Registration fee.  

A. In accordance with § 10.1-1232 A 5 of the Code of 

Virginia, the applicant shall submit a registration fee to defray 

the cost of the program.  

B. The initial registration fee shall be at least 1.0% of the 

estimated cost of the remediation at the site, not to exceed the 

statutory maximum. Payment shall be required after 

eligibility has been verified by the department and prior to 

technical review of submittals pursuant to 9VAC20-160-80. 

Payment shall be made payable to the Commonwealth of 

Virginia and remitted to Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1104, Receipts Control, 

Richmond, VA 23218.  

C. To determine the appropriate registration fee, the 

applicant may provide an estimate of the anticipated total cost 

of remediation.  

Remediation costs shall be based on site investigation 

activities; report development; remedial system 

installation, operation and maintenance; and all other costs 

associated with participating in the program and addressing 

the contaminants of concern at the subject site.  

Departmental concurrence with an estimate of the cost of 

remediation does not constitute approval of the remedial 

approach assumed in the cost estimate.  

The participant may elect to remit the statutory maximum 

registration fee to the department as an alternative to 

providing an estimate of the total cost of remediation at the 

time of eligibility verification.  

D. If the participant does not elect to submit the statutory 

maximum registration fee, the participant shall provide the 

department with the actual total cost of the remediation prior 

to issuance of a certificate. The department shall calculate any 

balance adjustments to be made to the initial registration fee. 

Any negative balance owed to the department shall be paid by 

the participant prior to the issuance of a certificate. Any costs 

to be refunded shall be remitted by the department with 

issuance of the certificate.  

E. If the participant elected to remit the statutory maximum 

registration fee, the department shall refund any balance owed 

to the participant after receiving the actual total cost of 

remediation. If no remedial cost summary is provided to the 

department within 60 days of the participant's receipt of the 

certificate, the participant will have waived the right to a 

refund.  

C. Failure to remit the required registration fee within 90 

days of the date of eligibility verification shall result in the 

loss of eligibility status of the applicant. The applicant must 

reestablish his eligibility for participation in the program, 

unless alternate provisions are proposed and deemed 

acceptable to the department. 

D. Upon completion of remediation and issuance of the 

Certificate of Satisfactory Completion of Remediation, the 

participant is entitled to seek a partial refund of the 

registration fee. The refund will be reconciled as 1.0% of the 

final cost of remediation as compared to the initial 

registration fee. 

1. The participant shall provide the department with a 

summary of the final cost of remediation within 60 days of 

issuance of a certificate. The department shall calculate the 

balance adjustment to be made to the initial registration fee 

and refund the difference. 

2. If no summary of the final cost of remediation is 

provided to the department within 60 days of issuance of 

the certificate, the participant will have waived the right to 

a refund. 

3. Concurrence with the summary of the final cost of 

remediation does not constitute department verification of 

the actual cost incurred. 

E. Except for termination pursuant to 9VAC20-160-100 A 4, 

no portion of the registration fee will be refunded if 

participation in the program is terminated. 

9VAC20-160-70. Work to be performed.  

A. The Voluntary Remediation Report serves as the archive 

for all documentation pertaining to remedial activities at the 

site. Each component of the report shall be submitted by the 

participant to the department. As various components are 

received, they shall be inserted into the report. The report 

shall consist of the following components: a site 

characterization Site Characterization, a risk assessment 

including an assessment of risk to surrounding properties (as 

appropriate) Risk Assessment, a remedial action work plan 

Remedial Action Plan, a demonstration of completion 

Demonstration of Completion, and documentation of public 

notice. A separate report shall be submitted for each 

component of the Voluntary Remediation Report listed 

below: 

1. The site characterization shall contain a delineation of 

Site Characterization Report shall provide an 

understanding of the site conditions including the 

identification and description of each area of concern (or 

source); the nature and extent of releases to all media, 

including the vertical and horizontal extent of the 

contaminants on the site, including off-site areas as 

applicable; and a preliminary screening of the risk or risks 

posed by the release.  

2. The risk assessment Risk Assessment Report shall 

contain an evaluation of the risks to human health and the 

environment posed by the release, including an assessment 

of risk to off-site properties, a proposed set of remediation 

levels consistent with 9VAC20-160-90 that are protective 

of human health and the environment, and a recommended 

remediation to achieve the proposed objectives; or a 

demonstration that no action is necessary.  

3. The remedial action work plan Remedial Action Plan 

Report shall propose the activities, schedule, any permits 

required to initiate and complete the remediation and 
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specific design plans for implementing remediation that 

will achieve the remediation levels specified in the risk 

assessment. Control or elimination of continuing onsite 

source or sources of releases to the environment shall be 

discussed. Land use controls should be discussed as 

appropriate. If no remedial action is necessary, the 

Remedial Action Plan shall discuss the reasoning for no 

action. When remedial activities have occurred prior to 

enrolling in the Voluntary Remediation Program, this 

information shall be included in the Site Characterization 

Report. The Remedial Action Plan Report shall describe 

the remedial activities that occurred, to include as 

applicable: how releases (or sources) have been eliminated 

or controlled; the remediation system or systems installed; 

site restrictions imposed; permits required; and how 

remediation levels have been achieved. 

4. Demonstration of completion. A Demonstration of 

Completion Report is required whenever remedial action 

has occurred as part of participation in the Voluntary 

Remediation Program. The Demonstration of Completion 

Report shall include: a detailed summary of the 

performance of the remediation implemented at the site, 

the total cost of the remediation, and confirmational 

sampling results demonstrating that the established site-

specific remedial objectives have been achieved, or that 

other criteria for completion of remediation have been 

satisfied. As part of the demonstration of completion, the 

participant shall certify compliance with applicable 

regulations pertaining to activities performed at the site 

pursuant to this chapter. 

a. The demonstration of completion should, when 

applicable, include a detailed summary of the 

performance of the remediation implemented at the site, 

the total cost of the remediation, and confirmational 

sampling results demonstrating that the established site-

specific remedial objectives have been achieved, or that 

other criteria for completion of remediation have been 

satisfied. If the participant elected to remit the statutory 

maximum registration fee and is not seeking a refund of 

any portion of the registration fee, the total cost of 

remediation need not be provided.  

b. As part of the demonstration of completion, the 

participant shall certify compliance with applicable 

regulations pertaining to activities performed at the site 

pursuant to this chapter.  

5. The participant shall provide documentation 

Documentation of public notice is required to demonstrate 

that public notice has been provided in accordance with 

9VAC20-160-120. Such documentation shall include 

copies of comments received during the public comment 

period, all acknowledgements of receipt of comments, as 

well as the participant's responses to comments, if any are 

made.  

B. It is the participant's responsibility to ensure that the 

investigation and remediation activities (e.g., waste 

management and disposal, erosion and sedimentation 

controls, air emission controls, and activities that impact 

wetlands and other sensitive ecological habitats) comply with 

all applicable federal, state, and local laws and regulations 

and any appropriate regulations that are not required by state 

or federal law but are necessary to ensure that the activities do 

not result in a further release of contaminants to the 

environment and are protective of human health and the 

environment.  

C. All work, to include sampling and analysis, shall be 

performed in accordance with Test Methods for Evaluating 

Solid Waste, USEPA SW-846, revised April 1998 March 

2009, or other media specific methods approved by the 

department and completed using appropriate quality 

assurance/quality control protocols. All analyses shall be 

performed by laboratories certified by the Virginia 

Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program (VELAP). 

Laboratory certificates of analysis shall be included with 

applicable reports. 

D. Until certificate issuance, all participants shall submit an 

annual report to the department containing a brief summary of 

any actions ongoing or completed as well as any planned 

future actions for the next reporting period. This report shall 

be submitted by July 1 using the "VRP Site Status Reporting 

Form." Failure to submit within 60 days may result in the 

site's Voluntary Remediation Program eligibility status being 

terminated. 

9VAC20-160-80. Review of submittals.  

A. Upon receipt of submittals, the The department shall 

review and evaluate the submittals components of the 

Voluntary Remediation Report submitted by the participant. 

The department may request additional information, including 

sampling data of from the site or areas adjacent to the site to 

verify the extent of the release, in order to render a decision 

and move the participant towards expeditious issuance of the 

certificate.  

B. The director department may expedite, as appropriate, 

issuance of any permits required to initiate and complete a 

voluntary remediation. The director department shall, within 

120 days of a complete submittal, expedite issuance of such 

permit in accordance with applicable regulations.  

C. After receiving a complete and adequate report, the 

director department shall make a determination regarding the 

issuance of the certificate to the participant. The 

determination shall be a final agency action pursuant to the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia).  

9VAC20-160-90. Remediation levels.  

A. The participant, with the concurrence of the department, 

shall consider impacts to human health and the environment 

in establishing remediation levels.  
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B. Remediation levels shall be based upon a risk assessment 

of the site and surrounding areas that may be impacted, 

reflecting the current and future use scenarios.  

1. A site shall be deemed to have met the requirements for 

unrestricted use if the remediation levels, based on either 

background or standard residential exposure factors, have 

been attained throughout the site and in all media. 

Attainment of these levels will allow the site to be given an 

unrestricted use classification. No remediation techniques 

or land use controls that require ongoing management may 

be employed to achieve this classification.  

2. For sites that do not achieve the unrestricted use 

classification, land use controls shall be applied. The 

restrictions imposed upon a site may be media-specific, 

may vary according to site-specific conditions, and may be 

applied to limit present and future use. All controls 

necessary to attain the restricted use classification shall be 

described in the certificate as provided in 9VAC20-160-

110. Land use controls approved by the department for use 

at the site are considered remediation.  

C. B. Remediation levels based on human health shall be 

developed after appropriate site characterization data have 

been gathered as provided in 9VAC20-160-70. Remediation 

levels may be derived from the three-tiered approach 

provided in this subsection. Any tier or combination of tiers 

may be applied to establish remediation levels for 

contaminants present at a given site, with consideration of site 

use restrictions specified in subsection B of this section.  

1. Under Tier I the participant shall collect appropriate 

samples from background and from the area of 

contamination for all media of concern remediation levels 

are based on media backgrounds levels. These background 

levels shall be determined from a portion of the property or 

a nearby property or other areas as approved by the 

department that have not been impacted  by the 

contaminants of concern. 

a. Background levels shall be determined from a portion 

of the property or a nearby property that has not been 

impacted by the contaminants of concern.  

b. The participant shall compare concentrations from the 

area of contamination against background concentrations. 

If the concentrations from the area of contamination 

exceed established background levels, the participant 

may consider Tier II or Tier III methodologies, as 

applicable. If concentrations are at or below background 

levels, no further assessment is necessary.  

2. Tier II generic remediation levels are media-specific 

values, derived using unrestricted use default assumptions 

assuming that there will be no restrictions on the use of 

groundwater, surface water, and soil on the site. Use of 

Tier II shall be limited to the following:  

a. Tier II generic groundwater remediation levels shall be 

based on the most beneficial use of groundwater. The 

most beneficial use of groundwater is for a potable water 

source, unless demonstrated otherwise by the participant 

and accepted by the department. Therefore, they shall be 

based on (i) federal Maximum Contaminant Levels 

(MCLs) or action levels for lead and copper as 

established by the Safe Drinking Water Act (42 USC 

§ 300 (f)) and the National Primary Drinking Water 

Regulations (40 CFR Part 141) or, in the absence of a 

MCL, (ii) tap water values derived using the 

methodology provided in the EPA Region III Risk-Based 

Concentration Table current at the time of the assessment 

Regional Screening Level Table, Region III, VI, and IX, 

United States Environmental Protection Agency, 

December 2009, using an acceptable individual 

carcinogenic risk of 1 X 10
-5

 and an individual 

noncarcinogen hazard quotient of 0.1. For contaminants 

that do not have values available under clauses (i) or (ii) 

above, a remediation level shall be calculated using 

criteria set forth under Tier III remediation levels.  

b. Soil Tier II soil remediation levels shall insure that 

migration of contaminants shall not cause the cleanup 

levels established for groundwater and surface water to 

be exceeded. Soil remediation levels shall be determined 

as the lower of either the ingestion or cross-media 

transfer values, according to the following:  

(1) For ingestion, values derived using the methodology 

provided in the EPA Region III Risk-Based 

Concentration Table current at the time of assessment. 

Regional Screening Level Table, Region III, VI, and IX, 

United States Environmental Protection Agency, 

December 2009.  

(a) For carcinogens, the soil ingestion concentration for 

each contaminant, reflecting an individual upper-bound 

lifetime cancer risk of 1 X 10
-6

 10
-5

.  

(b) For noncarcinogens, 1/10 (i.e., Hazard Quotient = 

0.1) 0.1 of the soil ingestion concentration, to account for 

multiple systemic toxicants at the site. For sites where 

there are fewer than 10 contaminants exceeding 1/10 0.1 

of the soil ingestion concentration, the soil ingestion 

concentration may be divided by the number of 

contaminants such that the resulting hazard index does 

not exceed one 1.0.  

(2) For cross-media transfer, values derived from the 

USEPA Soil Screening Guidance (OSWER, July 1996, 

Document 9355.4-23, EPA/540/R-96/018) and USEPA 

Supplemental Guidance for Developing Soil Screening 

Levels for Superfund Sites (OSWER, December 2002, 

Document 9355.4-24) shall be used as follows:  

(a) The soil screening level for transfer to groundwater, 

with adjustment to a hazard quotient of 0.1 for 

noncarcinogens, if the value is not based on a MCL; or  

(b) The soil screening level for transfer to air, with 

adjustment to a hazard quotient of 0.1 for noncarcinogens 
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and a risk level of 1 X 10
-5

 for carcinogens, using default 

residential exposure assumptions.  

(3) (c) For noncarcinogens, for sites where there are 

fewer than 10 contaminants exceeding 1/10 0.1 of the 

soil screening level, the soil screening level may be 

divided by the number of contaminants such that the 

resulting hazard index does not exceed one 1.0.  

(4) (3) Values derived under 9VAC20-160-90 C 2 b (1) 

and (2) may be adjusted to allow for updates in approved 

toxicity factors as necessary.  

c. At sites where ecological receptors are of concern and 

there are complete exposure pathways, the participant 

shall perform a screening level ecological evaluation to 

show that remediation levels developed under Tier II are 

also protective of ecological receptors of concern. 

d. For unrestricted future use, where a contaminant of 

concern exists for which c. Tier II remediation levels for 

surface water quality standards shall be based on the 

Virginia Water Quality Standards (WQS) have been 

adopted as established by the State Water Control Board 

for a specific use, the participant shall demonstrate that 

concentrations in other media will not result in 

concentrations that exceed the WQS in adjacent surface 

water bodies. (9VAC25-260), according to the following: 

(1) The chronic aquatic life criteria shall be compared to 

the appropriate human health criteria and the lower of the 

two values selected as the Tier II remediation level. 

(2) For contaminants that do not have a Virginia WQS, 

the federal Water Quality Criteria (WQC) may be used if 

available. The chronic federal criterion continuous 

concentration (CCC) for aquatic life shall be compared to 

the appropriate human health based criteria and the lower 

of the two values selected as the Tier II remediation 

level. 

(3) If neither a Virginia WQS nor a federal WQC is 

available for a particular contaminant detected in surface 

water, the participant should perform a literature search 

to determine if alternative values are available. If 

alternative values are not available, the detected 

contaminants shall be evaluated through a site-specific 

risk assessment. 

3. Tier III remediation levels are based upon a site-specific 

risk assessment considering site-specific assumptions 

about current and potential exposure scenarios for the 

population or populations of concern, including ecological 

receptors, and characteristics of the affected media and can 

be based upon a site-specific risk assessment. Land-use 

controls can be considered.  

a. In developing Tier III remediation levels, and unless 

the participant proposes other guidance that is acceptable 

to the department, the participant shall use, for all media 

and exposure routes, the methodology specified in Risk 

Assessment Guidance for Superfund, Volume 1, Human 

Health Evaluation Manual (Part A), Interim Final, 

USEPA, December 1989 (EPA/540/1-89/002) and (Part 

B, Development of Preliminary Remediation Goals) 

Interim, USEPA, December 1991 (Publication 9285.7-

01B) with modifications as appropriate to allow for site-

specific conditions. The participant may use other 

methodologies approved by the department.  

b. For a site with carcinogenic contaminants, the 

remediation goal for individual carcinogenic 

contaminants shall be an incremental upper-bound 

lifetime cancer risk of 1 X 10
-6

 10
-5

. The remediation 

levels for the site shall not result in an incremental upper-

bound lifetime cancer risk exceeding 1 X 10
-4

considering 

multiple contaminants and multiple exposure pathways, 

unless the use of a MCL for groundwater that has been 

promulgated under 42 USC § 300g-1 of the Safe 

Drinking Water Act and the National Primary Drinking 

Water Regulations (40 CFR Part 141) results in a 

cumulative risk greater than 1 X 10
-4

.  

c. For noncarcinogens, the hazard index shall not exceed 

a combined value of 1.0.  

d. In setting remediation levels, the department may 

consider risk assessment methodologies approved by 

another regulatory agency and current at the time of the 

Voluntary Remediation Program site characterization.  

e. Groundwater cleanup levels shall be based on the most 

beneficial use of the groundwater. The most beneficial 

use of the groundwater is for a potable water source, 

unless demonstrated otherwise by the participant and 

approved by the department.  

f. For sites where a screening level ecological evaluation 

has shown that there is a potential for ecological risks, 

the participant shall perform an ecological risk 

assessment to show that remediation levels developed 

under Tier III are also protective of ecological receptors 

of concern. If the Tier III remediation levels developed 

for human health are not protective of ecological 

receptors of concern, the remediation levels shall be 

adjusted accordingly.  

C. The participant shall determine if ecological receptors are 

present at the site or in the vicinity of the site and if they are 

impacted by releases from the site. 

1. At sites where ecological receptors are of concern and 

there are complete exposure pathways, the participant shall 

perform a screening level ecological evaluation to show 

that remediation levels developed under the three-tiered 

approach described in this section are also protective of 

such ecological receptors. 

2. For sites where a screening level ecological evaluation 

has shown that there is a potential for ecological risks, the 

participant shall perform an ecological risk assessment to 

show that remediation levels developed under the three-

tiered approach described in this section are also protective 
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of ecological receptors. If the remediation levels developed 

for human health are not protective of ecological receptors, 

the remediation levels shall be adjusted accordingly.  

9VAC20-160-100. Termination.  

A. Participation in the program shall be terminated:  

1. When evaluation of new information obtained during 

participation in the program results in a determination by 

the director department that the site is ineligible or that a 

participant has taken an action to render the site ineligible 

for participation in the program. If such a determination is 

made, the director department shall notify the participant 

that participation has been terminated and provide an 

explanation of the reasons for the determination. Within 30 

days, the participant may submit additional information, or 

accept the director's department's determination.  

2. Upon 30 days written notice of termination withdrawal 

by either party the participant.  

3. Upon participant's failure to make reasonable progress 

towards completion of the program, as determined by the 

department. 

4. Upon fulfillment of all program requirements and 

issuance of the Certification of Satisfactory Completion of 

Remediation as described in 9VAC20-160-110, 

notwithstanding any conditions of issuance specified in the 

Certificate. 

B. The department shall be entitled to receive and use, upon 

request, copies of any and all information developed by or on 

behalf of the participant as a result of work performed 

pursuant to participation in the program, after application has 

been made to the program whether the program is 

satisfactorily completed or terminated.  

C. No Except for termination pursuant to subsection A 4, no 

portion of the registration fee will be refunded if participation 

is terminated by any method as described in 9VAC20-160-

100.  

9VAC20-160-110. Certification of satisfactory completion 

of remediation.  

A. The director department shall issue a certification of 

satisfactory completion of remediation when:  

1. The participant has demonstrated that migration of 

contamination has been stabilized;  

2. The participant has demonstrated that the site has met 

the applicable remediation levels and will continue to meet 

the applicable remediation levels in the future for both on 

site and off site receptors; and  

3. All provisions of the approved remedial action plan as 

applicable have been completed; 

4. All applicable requirements of the regulations have been 

completed; and 

3. 5. The department concurs with accepts all work 

submitted, as set forth in 9VAC20-160-80 9VAC20-160-

70.  

B. The issuance of the certificate shall constitute immunity 

to an enforcement action under the Virginia Waste 

Management Act (§ 10.1-1400 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), the Virginia State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the Virginia Air Pollution 

Control Law (§ 10.1-1300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), or 

other applicable Virginia law for the release or releases 

addressed.  

C. A site shall be deemed to have met the requirements for 

unrestricted use if the remediation levels, based on either 

background or standard residential exposure factors, have 

been attained throughout the site and in all media. Attainment 

of these levels will allow the site to be given an unrestricted 

use classification. No remediation techniques or land use 

controls that require ongoing management may be employed 

to achieve this classification. 

D. For sites that do not achieve the unrestricted use 

classification, land use controls may be proffered in order to 

develop remediation levels based on restricted use. The 

restrictions imposed upon a site may be media-specific, may 

vary according to site-specific conditions, and may be applied 

to limit present and future use. All controls necessary to attain 

the restricted use classification shall be described in the 

certificate as provided in this section. Land use controls 

accepted by the department for use at the site are considered 

remediation for the purpose of this chapter. 

C. E. If a use restriction is specified in the certificate, such 

restriction must be attached to the deed to the property with 

an explanation for the restriction, subject to concurrence by 

the director, and shall the participant shall cause the 

certificate to be recorded by the participant with among the 

land records for the site in the office of the clerk of the circuit 

court for the jurisdiction in which the site is located within 90 

days of execution of the certificate by the department, unless 

specified in the certificate. The participant may also record 

the certificate itself. If the certificate does not include any use 

restriction, recordation of the certificate is at the option of the 

participant. The immunity accorded by the certification shall 

apply to the participant and shall run with the land identified 

as the site.  

D. F. The immunity granted by issuance of the certificate 

shall be limited to site conditions at the time of issuance as 

those conditions are described in the Voluntary Remediation 

Report. The immunity is further conditioned upon satisfactory 

performance by the participant of all obligations required by 

the director department under the program and upon the 

veracity, accuracy, and completeness of the information 

submitted to the director department by the participant 

relating to the site. Specific limitations of the certificate shall 

be enumerated in the certificate. The immunity granted by the 

certificate shall be dependent upon the identification of the 

nature and extent of contamination as presented in the report.  

E. G. The certificate shall specify the conditions for which 

immunity is being accorded, including, but not limited to:  
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1. A summary of the information that was considered;  

2. Any restrictions on future use;  

3. Any local land use controls on surrounding properties 

that were taken into account; and  

4. Any required proffered land use controls including:; and 

a. Engineering controls and their maintenance; and  

b. Institutional controls.  

5. Any post-certificate monitoring. 

F. H. The certificate may be revoked by the director 

department at any time in the event that conditions at the site, 

unknown at the time of issuance of the certificate, pose a risk 

to human health or the environment or in the event that the 

certificate was based on information that was false, 

inaccurate, or misleading. The certificate may also be revoked 

for the failure to meet or maintain the conditions of the 

certificate. Any and all claims may be pursued by the 

Commonwealth for liability for failure to meet a requirement 

of the program, criminal liability, or liability arising from 

future activities at the site that may cause contamination by 

pollutants. By issuance of the certificate the director 

department does not waive sovereign immunity. Failure to 

implement and maintain land use controls may result in 

revocation of the certificate. 

G. I. The certificate is not and shall not be interpreted to be a 

permit or a modification of an existing permit or 

administrative order issued pursuant to state law, nor shall it 

in any way relieve the participant of its obligation to comply 

with any other federal or state law, regulation or 

administrative order. Any new permit or administrative order, 

or modification of an existing permit or administrative order, 

must be accomplished in accordance with applicable federal 

and state laws and regulations.  

J. Change in ownership: For properties that received a 

Certificate of Satisfactory Completion and are subject to use 

restrictions, the new property owner shall register with the 

department within 60 days of the acquisition. 

9VAC20-160-120. Public notice.  

A. The participant shall give public notice of either the 

proposed voluntary remediation or the completed voluntary 

remediation. The notice shall be made after the department 

concurs with accepts the site characterization report and the 

proposed or completed remediation, and shall occur prior to 

the department's issuing a certificate. Such notice shall be 

paid for by the participant.  

B. The participant shall:  

1. Provide written notice to the local government in which 

the facility is located;  

2. Provide written notice to all adjacent property owners 

and other owners whose property has been impacted by the 

release being addressed under the VRP project; and  

3. Publish a notice once in a newspaper of general 

circulation in the area affected by the voluntary action. 

B. C. A comment period of at least 30 days must follow 

issuance of the notices pursuant to this section. The 

department, at its discretion, may increase the duration of the 

comment period. The contents of each public notice required 

pursuant to 9VAC20-160-120 A shall include:  

1. The name and address of the participant and the location 

of the proposed voluntary remediation;  

2. A brief description of the remediation, the general nature 

of the release, any remediation, and any proposed land use 

controls;  

3. The address and telephone number of a specific person 

familiar with the remediation from whom information 

regarding the voluntary remediation may be obtained; and  

4. A brief description of how to submit comments.  

D. The participant shall send all commenters a letter 

acknowledging receipt of written comments and providing 

responses to the same. 

C. E. The participant shall provide to the department a: 

1. A signed statement that he has sent a written notice to all 

adjacent property owners and the local government, a copy 

of the notice, and a list of all names and addresses to whom 

the notice was sent.; and 

2. Copies of all written comments received during the 

public comment period, copies of acknowledgement 

letters, and copies of any response to comments, as well as 

an evaluation of the comment's impact on the planned or 

completed action or actions. 

D. The participant shall send all commenters a letter 

acknowledging receipt of comments.  

E. The participant shall provide to the department copies of 

all written comments received during the public comment 

period, copies of acknowledgement letters, a discussion of 

how those comments were considered, a copy of any response 

to comments, and a discussion of their impact on the 

proposed or completed remediation.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(9VAC20-160)  

Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste: Physical/ 

Chemical Methods; EPA Publication SW-846, Third Edition 

(1986) as amended by Final Update I, Final Update II, Final 

Update IIA, Final Update IIB, Final Update III, and Final 

Update IIIA, PB 99-115 891, revised April 1998 March 2009.  

U.S. EPA Soil Screening Guidance, EPA/540/R-96/018, 

Publication 9355.4-23, July 1996.  

U.S. EPA Supplemental Guidance for Developing Soil 

Screening Levels for Superfund Sites (OSWER, December 

2002, Document 9355.4-24) 

Risk Assessment Guidance for Superfund, Volume I, 

Human Health Evaluation Manual (Part A) Interim Final, 

EPA/540/1-89/002, Office of Emergency and Remedial 

Response, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, December 

1989.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b6e38001271~1&typ=40&actno=001271&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b6e38001271~1&typ=40&actno=001271&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b6e38001271~1&typ=40&actno=001271&mime=application/pdf
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Risk Assessment Guidance for Superfund: Volume I , 

Human Health Evaluation Manual (Part B, Development of 

Risk-based Preliminary Remediation Goals) Interim, 

Publication 9285.7-01B, Office of Emergency and Remedial 

Response, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, December 

1991.  

Risk-Based Concentration Table, Region III, United States 

Environmental Protection Agency, April 2, 2002.  

Regional Screening Level Table, Region III, VI, and IX, 

United States Environmental Protection Agency, December 

2009. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1271; Filed September 4, 2012, 3:58 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

BOARD OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 

with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, which 

excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-10. State Plan Under Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance 

Program; General Provisions (adding 12VAC30-10-445).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 25, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action complies with the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services' (CMS) published letter from the State 

Medicaid Director informing states that, pursuant to 

§ 6411 of the Affordable Care Act (Pub. L. 111-148), CMS 

requires states to establish a program under which the 

state contracts with one or more recovery audit 

contractors for the purpose of identifying underpayments 

and overpayments and recouping overpayments under the 

State Plan and under any waiver of the State Plan with 

respect to all services for which payment is made to any 

entity under the plan or waiver. 

12VAC30-10-445. Recovery audit contractors. 

A. The state has established a program under which it will 

contract with one or more recovery audit contractors (RACs) 

for the purpose of identifying underpayments and 

overpayments of Medicaid claims under the State Plan and 

under any waiver of the State Plan.  

B. The state/Medicaid agency has contracts of the type listed 

in § 1902(a)(42)(B)(ii)(I) of the Act. All contracts meet the 

requirements of the statute. RACs are consistent with the 

statute. 

C. The state will make payments to the RACs only from 

amounts recovered. 

D. The state will make payments to the RACs on a 

contingent basis for collecting overpayments.  

E. The state attests that the contingency fee rate paid to the 

Medicaid RAC will not exceed the highest rate paid to 

Medicare RACs as published in the Federal Register. 

F. The payment methodology used to determine state 

payments to Medicaid RACs for the identification of 

underpayments will be based upon the percentage of the 

contingency fee. 

G. The state has an adequate appeal process in place for 

entities to appeal any adverse determination made by the 

Medicaid RACs. 

H. The state assures that the amounts expended by the state 

to carry out the program will be amounts expended as 

necessary for the proper and efficient administration of the 

State Plan or a waiver of the plan. 

I. The state assures that the recovered amounts will be 

subject to a state's quarterly expenditure estimates and 

funding of the state's share.  

J. Efforts of the Medicaid RACs will be coordinated with 

other contractors or entities performing audits of entities 

receiving payments under the State Plan or waiver in the 

state, and/or state and federal law-enforcement entities and 

the CMS Medicaid Integrity Program.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3145; Filed August 28, 2012, 10:37 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-10. State Plan Under Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance 

Program; General Provisions (amending 12VAC30-10-

325). 

12VAC30-20. Administration of Medical Assistance 

Services (adding 12VAC30-20-205).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 24, 2012. 

Effective Date: November 8, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Cindy Olson, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services Eligibility Supervisor, Department of 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e7189001271~2&typ=40&actno=001271&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e7189001271~2&typ=40&actno=001271&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e7189001271~2&typ=40&actno=001271&mime=application/pdf
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Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 

1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-4282, FAX 

(804) 786-1680, or email cindy.olson@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Sections 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia 

authorize the Director of the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the 

Plan for Medical Assistance according to the board's 

requirements. The Medicaid authority as established by 

§ 1902(a) of the Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) 

provides governing authority for payments for services. 

Purpose: This change is to put in place the language added to 

Item 296 L of Chapter 874 of the 2010 Acts of Assembly 

directing DMAS to develop enrollment and retention 

provisions, consistent with those outlined in § 104 of the 

Children's Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 

2009 (CHIPRA), and implement provisions determined to be 

budget neutral, cost effective, or that would lead to an award 

of a CHIPRA performance bonus.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The agency is using 

the fast-track rulemaking process since this action is designed 

to save tax dollars and brings substantial additional federal 

money into the state. Using the fast-track process will get this 

regulation implemented as quickly as possible, as there was 

no emergency regulatory authority included in the General 

Assembly's mandate. 

Substance: The Children's Health Insurance Program 

Reauthorization Act of 2009 authorizes the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to award annual 

financial bonuses to states that: (i) implement certain 

enrollment and retention provisions in their children's 

Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) 

programs and (ii) exceed enrollment goals in their children's 

Medicaid program. Funding for the annual CHIPRA 

performance bonus payments is available through federal 

fiscal year (FFY) 2013.  

In order for the department to ensure that Virginia is eligible 

for a CHIPRA performance bonus in FFY2011, two new 

enrollment and retention strategies must be implemented. One 

enrollment and retention strategy, Administrative Renewals, 

is being implemented to streamline the renewal process for 

current FAMIS enrollees. While this is a positive step 

forward for the Children's Health program, this provision 

alone will not secure a performance bonus for the 

Commonwealth. A second enrollment and retention strategy 

is needed to obtain this funding. Without significant expense 

and administrative changes, the department can implement a 

§ 1906A premium assistance program, and thereby qualify for 

federal performance bonuses for the next three years. 

Premium assistance programs use federal and state Medicaid 

funds to help subsidize the purchase of group health coverage 

for children who have access to employer-sponsored 

coverage, but who may need assistance in paying for their 

premiums.  

Virginia currently operates a premium assistance program, 

known as the Health Insurance Premium Payment Program 

(HIPP) under the authority of § 1906 of the Social Security 

Act. HIPP provides reimbursement for the Medicaid 

individual's share of the cost of the health insurance premium 

when it is cost-effective for the state to do so. The current 

HIPP program does not restrict enrollment to children under 

age 19 and opens enrollment up to most Medicaid eligible 

individuals covered under employer-sponsored health 

insurance.  

CHIPRA added § 1906A to the Social Security Act and 

provides states with an additional premium assistance option 

for children under age 19 enrolled in Medicaid. This new 

provision is intended to give states the opportunity to build on 

existing § 1906 programs to augment coverage options for 

children.  

The premium assistance option offered through CHIPRA 

allows states to provide health insurance premium assistance 

to children under age 19, who are eligible for Medicaid and 

who have access to qualified employer-sponsored coverage. 

The CHIPRA premium assistance provision would also 

require the department to pay cost sharing for the ineligible 

parent who holds the insurance as well as for enrolled 

children under age 19. It is estimated that this will cost the 

department approximately $947,614 in total funds ($446,326 

in general funds) each year. Individual enrollment in the 

CHIPRA premium assistance program is voluntary and is not 

a condition of enrollment for those applying for Medicaid. 

This program will not require an administratively 

burdensome cost effectiveness calculation for each participant 

as is currently required in the HIPP program. Program 

guidelines require that cost effectiveness will be met as long 

as the employer covers at least 40% of the health insurance 

premium. Implementation of this provision will provide an 

alternative method for subsidizing employer-sponsored 

coverage and will encourage parents of Medicaid children to 

enroll in private health insurance.  

Issues: The primary advantage of this action is that it will 

permit DMAS to extend the Health Insurance Premium 

Payment program to children, saving the state money and 

providing for private health insurance coverage for children. 

In addition, implementing this program qualifies Virginia for 

substantial extended federal match money. There are no 

disadvantages to the Commonwealth or to the public. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 874 of the 2010 Acts of Assembly Item 

296 L, the proposed regulations will establish an additional 

premium assistance option for children enrolled in Medicaid. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 
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Estimated Economic Impact. The federal Children's Health 

Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2009 authorized 

the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to award 

annual performance bonuses through federal fiscal year 

(FFY) 2013 to states that implement certain enrollment and 

retention provisions in their children's Medicaid and 

Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) programs and 

exceed enrollment goals in their children's Medicaid program. 

Consequently, the 2010 General Assembly directed the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to 

develop enrollment and retention provisions that would lead 

to an award of a performance bonus. 

In order to get the bonus, a state must implement at least five 

of the eight program features that simplify the application and 

enrollment process. The goal is to encourage and assist states 

in reaching and enrolling more uninsured children who are 

eligible for Medicaid. The eight program features are: 1) 

liberalization of asset or resource requirements, 2) elimination 

of in-person interviews, 3) the same application and renewal 

process for Medicaid and CHIP, 4) automatic/administrative 

renewals, 5) premium assistance, 6) continuous eligibility, 7) 

presumptive eligibility for children, and 8) express lane 

eligibility. 

During the last year, Virginia met the first three of the eight 

criteria above. Also, the fourth criterion was implemented 

administratively October 1, 2010. DMAS proposes to add the 

fifth criteria, premium assistance, through these regulations to 

qualify for the bonus.  

Virginia Medicaid currently operates an optional premium 

assistance program known as the Health Insurance Premium 

Payment Program (HIPP). Under HIPP, Medicaid pays for 

the employees share of the health insurance premium and any 

other cost sharing fees if participation is found to be cost 

effective for Medicaid. Participation is considered cost 

effective if the premium assistance subsidy is likely to be less 

than the expected total expenditures that will be spent on that 

persons Medicaid coverage. The current HIPP program does 

not restrict enrollment to children under age 19 and opens 

enrollment up to most Medicaid eligible individuals covered 

under employer-sponsored health insurance. 

The proposed new premium assistance program is different 

than the current HIPP program in three main ways. First, the 

new program provides health insurance premium assistance to 

children under age 19 while the current program does not 

restrict enrollment to children under age 19. Second, the new 

program requires Medicaid to pay cost sharing for the 

ineligible parent who holds the insurance as well as for 

enrolled children. Third, the proposed program does not 

require a cost effectiveness calculation for each participant as 

is currently required in the HIPP program as long as the 

employer covers at least 40% of the health insurance 

premium. 

DMAS estimates that 1,186 families will enroll in the 

proposed premium assistance program. The new program 

enrollees are expected to come from the current HIPP 

program and from the Medicaid program. Some of the 

families in the current HIPP program who have a child under 

age 19 are expected to apply for the new program because of 

the available cost sharing for the ineligible parents or because 

Medicaid will no longer require the cost effectiveness 

determination which may be administratively burdensome. 

Also, some of the families in the Medicaid program whose 

employer pays at least 40% of the health insurance premium 

and who did not pass the cost effectiveness test for the current 

program are expected to apply for the new program as there is 

no cost effectiveness test required. 

It is estimated that DMAS will pay $585,107 in FFY 2011, 

$600,057 in FFY 2012, and $600,057 in FFY 2013 for cost 

sharing
1
, one time system changes in the first year, and two 

full time staff positions. Approximately one half of these 

amounts will be paid by the federal government and the 

remaining half will be paid by the Commonwealth. 

The main benefit of the proposed program is the expected 

bonus. The projected performance bonus for FFY 2011 is 

$32.4 million, for FFY 2012 it is $43.6 million, and FFY 

2013 it is $59.2 million. Based on the 1,186 anticipated 

enrollment level, the expected bonus per enrollee varies from 

$27,393 to $49,959 which is significantly greater than $799 

expected cost sharing per enrollee. Also, the influx of the 

federal funds coming into the Commonwealth is expected to 

have expansionary economic effects on Virginia's economy. 

In addition, a reduction in cost sharing expenditures in the 

current HIPP program would be expected as some individuals 

leave the current program to join the new program. Also, a 

reduction in administrative expenses may be expected as the 

new program does not require the time consuming 

administrative cost effectiveness determination. Furthermore, 

a reduction in Medicaid expenditures would be expected as 

some individuals who were ineligible for HIPP become 

eligible for premium assistance under the new program.
2
 All 

of these anticipated fiscal effects would offset the additional 

cost sharing, system changes, and staff costs discussed above. 

Finally, the proposed premium assistance program is 

expected to benefit the enrollees by paying for their and their 

ineligible parents' health insurance premiums. Since this is a 

completely optional program, applicants reveal that the 

benefits to them are greater than the costs by choosing to 

participate in the program. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The number of individuals 

anticipated to enroll in the proposed premium assistance 

program is 1,186.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations do 

not affect any locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Implementation of the new 

program is estimated to require two full time staff positions 

and expected to increase in the demand for labor. Also, the 

expansionary effects of the influx of federal funds are 

expected to increase demand for labor. On the other hand, 
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expected reduction in the administratively burdensome cost 

effectiveness determinations would reduce the need for some 

staff time and reduce the demand for labor, offsetting some of 

the expected increase in labor demand. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed regulations are not expected to have an effect on the 

use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

regulations do not have a direct effect on small businesses.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There is no anticipated adverse effect on 

small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No effect on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

____________________________________ 
1 According to DMAS, $799 per year is the national average for cost sharing. 
2 Even though no actual cost effectiveness determination is required, 

employer paying at least 40% of the health insurance premium is expected to 

result in cost effectiveness in majority of the cases. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget regarding the 

regulations concerning Health Insurance Premium Payment 

(HIPP) for Kids Program (12VAC30-20). The agency 

concurs with this analysis. 

Summary: 

This action implements Item 296 L of Chapter 874 of the 

2010 Appropriations Act, which directed the Department 

of Medical Assistance Services to develop enrollment and 

retention provisions, consistent with those outlined in 

§ 104 of the Children's Health Insurance Program 

Reauthorization Act of 2009 (CHIPRA), P.L. 111-3, and 

implements provisions determined to be budget neutral, 

cost effective, or that would lead to an award of a CHIPRA 

performance bonus.  

12VAC30-10-325. Premiums, deductibles, coinsurance 

and other cost sharing obligations. 

A. The Pursuant to § 1906 of the Act, the Medicaid agency 

pays all premiums, deductibles, coinsurance, and other cost 

sharing obligations for items and services covered under the 

State plan (subject to any nominal Medicaid copayment) for 

eligible individuals in employer-based cost-effective group 

health plans.  

B. When coverage for eligible family members is not 

possible unless ineligible family members enroll, the 

Medicaid agency pays premiums for enrollment of other 

family members when cost-effective. In addition, the eligible 

individual is entitled to services covered by the State plan 

which are not included in the group health plan. Guidelines 

for determining cost effectiveness are described in 12VAC30-

10-610 H.  

C. Pursuant to § 1906A of the Act, the Medicaid agency 

pays all premiums, deductibles, coinsurance, and other cost 

sharing obligations for items and services covered under the 

State Plan, as specified in the qualified employer-sponsored 

coverage, without regard to limitations specified in § 1916 or 

§ 1916A of the Act, for eligible individuals under age 19 who 

have access to and elect to enroll in such coverage. The 

eligible individual is entitled to services covered by the State 

Plan that are not included in the employer-sponsored 

coverage. For qualified employer-sponsored coverage, the 

employer must contribute at least 40% of the premium cost. 

When coverage for eligible family members under age 19 is 

not possible unless an ineligible family member enrolls, the 

Medicaid agency pays premiums for enrollment of the 

ineligible family member and, at the option of the parent or 

legal guardian, other family members that are eligible for 

coverage under the employer-sponsored plan. The agency 

also pays deductibles, coinsurance, and other cost-sharing 

obligations for items and services covered under the State 

Plan for the ineligible family member. 12VAC30-20-205 

provides a detailed description of this program. 

C. D. The Medicaid agency pays premiums for individuals 

described in subsection 19 of 12VAC30-30-10.  
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12VAC30-20-205. Health Insurance Premium Payment 

(HIPP) for Kids.  

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Case" means all family members who are eligible for 

coverage under the group health plan and who are eligible for 

Medicaid. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of 

Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services consistent 

with Chapter 1 (§ 63.2-100 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

"Family member" means individuals who are related by 

blood, marriage, or adoption. 

"High deductible health plan" means a plan as defined in 

§ 223(c)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, without 

regard to whether the plan is purchased in conjunction with a 

health savings account (as defined under § 223(d) of the 

Internal Revenue Code of 1986). 

"HIPP" means the Health Insurance Premium Payment 

Program administered by DMAS consistent with § 1906 of 

the Act.  

"HIPP for Kids" means the Health Insurance Premium 

Payment Program administered by DMAS consistent with 

§ 1906A of the Act.  

"Member" means a person who is eligible for Medicaid as 

determined by DMAS, a DMAS designated agent, or the 

Department of Social Services.  

"Parent" means the biological or adoptive parent or parents, 

or the biological or adoptive parent and the stepparent, living 

in the home with the Medicaid-eligible child. The health 

insurance policyholder shall be a parent as defined herein. 

"Premium" means the fixed cost of participation in the group 

health plan, which cost may be shared by the employer and 

employee or paid in full by either party.  

"Premium assistance subsidy" means the amount that 

DMAS will pay of the employee's cost of participating in the 

qualified employer-sponsored coverage to cover the Medicaid 

eligible member or members under age 19.  

"Qualified employer-sponsored coverage" means a group 

health plan or health insurance coverage offered through an 

employer: 

1. That qualifies as creditable coverage as a group health 

plan under § 2701(c)(1) of the Public Health Service Act; 

2. For which the employer contribution toward any 

premium for such coverage is at least 40%; and 

3. That is offered to all individuals in a manner that would 

be considered a nondiscriminatory eligibility classification 

for purposes of paragraph (3)(A)(ii) of § 105(h) of the 

Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (but determined without 

regard to clause (i) of subparagraph (B) of such paragraph).  

"State Plan" means the State Plan for Medical Assistance for 

the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

B. Program purpose. The purpose of the HIPP for Kids 

program shall be to:  

1. Enroll members who are eligible for coverage under a 

qualified employer-sponsored coverage plan. 

2. Provide premium assistance subsidy for payment of the 

employee share of the premiums and other cost-sharing 

obligations for the Medicaid eligible child under age 19. In 

addition, to provide cost sharing for the child's noneligible 

parent for items and services covered under the qualified 

employer-sponsored coverage that are also covered 

services under the State Plan. There is no cost sharing for 

parents for services not covered by the qualified employer-

sponsored coverage.  

3. Treat coverage under such employer group health plan 

as a third party liability consistent with § 1902(a)(25) of 

the Social Security Act.  

C. Member eligibility. DMAS shall obtain specific 

information on qualified employer-sponsored coverage 

available to the members in the case including, but not 

limited to, the effective date of coverage, the services covered 

by the plan, the deductibles and copayments required by the 

plan, and the amount of the premium paid by the employer 

and employee. Coverage that is not comprehensive shall be 

denied premium assistance. All Medicaid eligible family 

members under the age of 19 who are eligible for coverage 

under the qualified employer-sponsored coverage shall be 

eligible for consideration for HIPP for Kids except the 

following:  

1. The member is Medicaid eligible due to "spenddown"; 

or 

2. The member is currently enrolled in the qualified 

employer-sponsored coverage and is only retroactively 

eligible for Medicaid. 

D. Application required. A completed HIPP for Kids 

application must be submitted to DMAS to be evaluated for 

program eligibility. The HIPP for Kids application consists of 

the forms prescribed by DMAS and any necessary 

information as required by the program to evaluate eligibility 

and determine if the plan meets the criteria for qualified 

employer-sponsored coverage. 

E. Exceptions. The term "qualified employer-sponsored 

coverage" does not include coverage consisting of: 

1. Benefits provided under a health flexible spending 

arrangement (as defined in § 106(c)(2) of the Internal 

Revenue Code of 1986) or 

2. A high deductible health plan (as defined in § 223(c)(2) 

of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986), without regard to 
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whether the plan is purchased in conjunction with a health 

savings account (as defined under § 223(d) of the Internal 

Revenue Code of 1986). 

3. For self-employed individuals, qualified employer-

sponsored coverage obtained through self-employment 

activities shall not meet the program requirements unless 

the self-employment activities are the family's primary 

source of income and the insurance meets the requirements 

of the definition of qualified employer-sponsored coverage 

in subsection A of this section. Family for this purpose 

includes family by blood, marriage, or adoption. 

F. Payments. When DMAS determines that a qualified 

employer-sponsored coverage plan is eligible and other 

eligibility requirements have been met, DMAS shall provide 

for the payment of premium assistance subsidy and other 

cost-sharing obligations for items and services otherwise 

covered under the State Plan, except for the nominal cost-

sharing amounts permitted under § 1916 of the Social 

Security Act.  

1. Effective date of premium assistance subsidy. Payment 

of premium assistance subsidies and other cost-sharing 

obligations shall become effective on the first day of the 

month in which DMAS receives a complete HIPP 

application or the first day of the month in which qualified 

employer-sponsored coverage becomes effective, 

whichever is later. Payments shall be made to either the 

employer, the insurance company, or the individual who is 

carrying the group health plan coverage. 

2. Payments for deductibles, coinsurances, and other cost-

sharing obligations. 

a. Medicaid eligible children under age 19 pursuant to 

§ 1906A of the Act. The Medicaid agency pays all 

premiums, deductibles, coinsurance, and other cost-

sharing obligations for items and services covered under 

the State Plan, as specified in the qualified employer-

sponsored coverage, without regard to limitations 

specified in § 1916 or § 1916A of the Act, for eligible 

individuals under age 19 who have access to and elect to 

enroll in such coverage. The eligible individual is entitled 

to services covered by the State Plan that are not included 

in the qualified employer-sponsored coverage. 

b. Ineligible family members. When coverage for 

Medicaid-eligible family members under age 19 is not 

possible unless an ineligible parent enrolls, the Medicaid 

agency pays premiums only for enrollment of the 

ineligible parent and, at the parent's option, other family 

members who are eligible for coverage under the 

qualified employer-sponsored coverage. In addition, the 

agency provides cost sharing for the child's ineligible 

parent for items and services covered under the qualified 

employer-sponsored coverage that are also covered 

services under the State Plan. There is no cost-sharing for 

ineligible parents for items and services not covered by 

the qualified employer-sponsored coverage.  

3. Documentation required for premium assistance subsidy 

reimbursement. A person to whom DMAS is paying a 

qualified employer-sponsored coverage premium 

assistance subsidy shall, as a condition of receiving such 

payment, provide documentation as prescribed by DMAS 

of the payment of the employer group health plan 

premium, as well as payment of coinsurances, copayments, 

and deductibles for services received. 

G. Program participation requirements. Participants must 

comply with program requirements as prescribed by DMAS 

for continued enrollment in HIPP for Kids. Failure to comply 

with the following may result in termination from the 

program:  

1. Submission of documentation of premium expense 

within specified time frame in accordance with DMAS 

established policy. 

2. Report changes in the qualified employer-sponsored 

coverage within 10 days of the family's receipt of notice of 

the change. 

3. Completion of annual redetermination. 

4. Completion of consent forms. Participants may be 

required to complete a consent form to release information 

necessary for HIPP for Kids participation and program 

requirements as required by DMAS. 

H. HIPP for Kids redetermination. DMAS shall redetermine 

the eligibility of the qualified employer-sponsored coverage 

periodically, at least every 12 months. DMAS shall also 

redetermine eligibility when changes occur with the group 

health plan information that was used in determining HIPP 

for Kids eligibility. 

I. Program termination. Participation in the HIPP for Kids 

program may be terminated for failure to comply or meet 

program requirements. Termination will be effective the last 

day of the month in which advance notice has been given 

(consistent with federal regulations). 

1. Participation may be terminated for failure to meet 

program requirements including, but not limited to, the 

following: 

a. Failure to submit documentation of payment of 

premiums;  

b. Failure to provide information required for 

reevaluation of the qualified employer-sponsored 

coverage (noncompliance); 

c. Loss of Medicaid eligibility for all household 

members; 

d. Medicaid household member no longer covered by the 

qualified employer-sponsored coverage; 

e. Medicaid-eligible child turns age 19; or 

f. Employer-sponsored health plan no longer meets 

qualified employer-sponsored coverage requirements. 
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2. Termination date of premiums. Payment of premium 

assistance subsidy shall end on whichever of the following 

occurs the earliest:  

a. On the last day of the month in which eligibility for 

Medicaid ends; 

b. The last day of the month in which the member loses 

eligibility for coverage in the group health plan; 

c. The last day of the month in which the child turns age 

19; 

d The last day of the month in which adequate notice has 

been given (consistent with federal requirements) that 

DMAS has determined that the group health plan no 

longer meets program eligibility criteria; or 

d. The last day of the month in which adequate notice has 

been given (consistent with federal requirements) that 

HIPP for Kids participation requirements have not been 

met. 

J. Third-party liability. When members are enrolled in 

qualified employer-sponsored coverage health plans, these 

plans shall become the first sources of health care benefits, up 

to the limits of such plans, prior to the availability of payment 

under Title XIX.  

K. Appeal rights. Members shall be given the opportunity to 

appeal adverse agency decisions consistent with agency 

regulations for client appeals (12VAC30-110). 

L. Provider requirements. Providers shall be required to 

accept the greater of the group health plan's reimbursement 

rate or the Medicaid rate as payment in full and shall be 

prohibited from charging the member or the Medicaid 

program amounts that would result in aggregate payments 

greater than the Medicaid rate as required by 42 CFR 447.20.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 

form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 

may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 

General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

FORMS (12VAC30-20) 

Health Insurance Premium Payment HIPP for Kids (HFK) 

Program - Cost Sharing of Co-Pays, Deductibles and Co-

insurance (undated). 

Health Insurance Premium Payment Programs 

Application/Renewal/Employer Insurance Verification Form, 

DMAS-502 (rev. 2/2012). 

Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) and HIPP for 

Kids Program - Consent for Authorization for Release of 

Information - Family Member Eligibility Release (undated). 

Health Insurance Premium Payment Program - Change 

Form (undated). 

Health Insurance Premium Payment Program (HIPP) for 

Kids - Change Form (eff. 9/2010). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2610; Filed September 4, 2012, 12:19 p.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-20. Administration of 

Medical Assistance Services (amending 12VAC30-20-180).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: September 4, 2012, through September 3, 

2013. 

Agency Contact: Tom Edicola, Director, Program Operations 

Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-8098, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

tom.edicola@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble:  

The department is promulgating this emergency regulation 

to comply with Chapter 890, Item 300 H of the 2011 Acts 

of Assembly, which requires the department to implement a 

mandatory electronic claims submission process, including 

the development of an exclusion process for providers who 

cannot submit claims electronically.  

Approximately 84% of all Medicaid claims are currently 

filed electronically with the department. A survey of 

participating Medicaid providers who submit claims on 

paper was performed to better understand why claims are 

filed on paper when electronic filing is available and to 

understand any barriers that may exist to filing 

electronically. The survey found that the main barriers to 

electronic filing were cost and inadequate technology. 

However, a majority of providers indicated that they 

transact business electronically with commercial carriers 

and would welcome the change if these barriers could be 

addressed for Medicaid. 

The department has implemented a Web-based Direct Data 

Entry solution that allows for electronic claim submission 

at no cost to the provider and at a lower cost for Virginia 

to process these claims. Language mandating the 

participation of providers via electronic funds transfer and 

electronic claims submissions is part of an overall strategy 

to simplify the claims submission process, increase 

processing efficiency, lower costs for both the 

Commonwealth and the Virginia Medicaid provider 

community, and support collaboration and consistency in 

business practices with other commercial carriers and 

Medicare. In this regulation, the department has identified 

the common reasons for which providers may be unable to 

submit claims electronically and anticipates that 

additional reasons will be identified during the standard 

regulatory process. 

 

 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f5a6002021~1&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f5a6002021~1&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f5a6002021~1&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=424a7002021~2&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=424a7002021~2&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=424a7002021~2&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c261e002021~3&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c261e002021~3&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c261e002021~3&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e1c79002021~5&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e1c79002021~5&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fa4e8002021~4&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fa4e8002021~4&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
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12VAC30-20-180. Definition of a claim by service.  

A. Claims: 

  SERVICE CLAIM 

  A) Inpatient 

Hospital 

A Bill for Service 

  B) Outpatient 

Hospital 

A Bill for Service 

  C) Rural Health 

Clinic 

A Line Item for Service 

  D) Laboratory and 

X-Ray 

A Line Item of Service 

  E) Skilled Nursing A Bill for Service 

  F) EPSDT A Bill for Service 

  G) Family Planning A Bill for Service or Line 

Item depending on provider 

type 

  H) Physician A Line Item of Service 

  I) Other Medical A Bill for Service or Line 

Item depending on provider 

type 

  J) Home Health A Bill for Service 

  K) Clinic A Line for Service Item 

  L) Dental A Line Item of Service 

  M) Pharmacy A Line Item of Service 

  N) Intermediate 

Care 

A Bill for Service 

  O) Transportation A Line Item of Service 

  P) Physical Therapy A Bill for Service or Line 

Item depending on provider 

type 

  Q) Nurse Midwife A Line Item of Service 

  R) Eyeglasses A Line Item of Service 

B. All providers that enroll with Medicaid on or after 

October 1, 2011, shall submit electronically all claims for 

covered services they render in the fee-for-service program 

under the State Plans for Title XIX and XXI of the Social 

Security Act, and any waivers thereof and enroll to receive 

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) for payment of those 

services. All other providers shall comply with this electronic 

submission requirement by July 1, 2012. 

1. Any provider who cannot comply with this electronic 

claims submission or EFT requirement may request an 

exception from DMAS for good cause shown. Good cause 

may include, but is not limited to, the unavailability of the 

infrastructure necessary to support electronic claims 

submission in the provider's geographic region; there is no 

mechanism for electronic submission for the particular 

claim type, such as in the case of a Temporary Detention 

Order (TDO); the provider is unable to transact business 

through a banking institution capable of EFT; or for 

financial hardship.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2789; Filed September 4, 2012, 1:23 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-20. Administration of 

Medical Assistance Services (amending 12VAC30-20-210).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: October 25, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Patricia Taylor, Program Operations 

Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 371-6333, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

patricia.taylor@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Item 306 AAA of Chapter 781 of the 2009 Acts of 

Assembly directed the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services to amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance 

to clarify that existing family healthcare coverage is a 

factor in the determination of eligibility under the Health 

Insurance Premium Payment program. More 

specifically, cases resulting in a determination that 

participation is denied based upon the existence of family 

health care coverage will be denied premium assistance.  

The amendments make Medicaid recipients with a family 

health care coverage for three or more non-Medicaid 

family members ineligible for participation in the Health 

Insurance Premium Payment program, update the 

regulations to conform to the practice of handling high 

deductible health plans, and clarify some of the current 

requirements. 

Changes since the proposed stage (i) add two exceptions 

to the family health care coverage exclusion; (ii) clarify 

that certain otherwise qualifying individuals may elect to 

receive an amount equal to their average monthly 

Medicaid costs; and (iii) clarify program participation 

requirements and termination. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

12VAC30-20-210. State method on cost effectiveness of 

employer-based group health plans.  

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

these regulations shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Average monthly Medicaid cost" means average monthly 

medical expenditures based upon age, gender, Medicaid 

enrollment covered group, and geographic region of the state. 
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"Average monthly wraparound cost" means the average 

monthly aggregate costs for services not covered by private 

health insurance but covered under the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance, also includes copayments, coinsurance, and 

deductibles. 

"Case" means all family members who are eligible for 

coverage under the group health plan and who are eligible for 

Medicaid. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"Cost effective" and "cost effectiveness" mean the reduction 

in Title XIX expenditures, which are likely to be greater than 

the additional expenditures for premiums and cost-sharing 

items required under § 1906 of the Social Security Act (the 

Act), with respect to such enrollment. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of 

Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services consistent 

with Chapter 1 (§ 63.2-100 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

"Family member" means individuals who are related by 

blood, marriage, or adoption, or legal custody. 

"Family health plan" and "family care coverage" means a 

group health plan that covers three or more individuals. 

Family health plans that cover three or more non-Medicaid 

eligible individuals are not eligible for the HIPP premium 

assistance subsidy. 

"Group health plan" means a plan which meets § 5000(b)(1) 

of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, and includes 

continuation coverage pursuant to Title XXII of the Public 

Health Service Act, § 4980B of the Internal Revenue Code of 

1986, or Title VI of the Employee Retirement Income 

Security Act of 1974. Section 5000(b)(1) of the Internal 

Revenue Code provides that a group health plan is a plan, 

including a self-insured plan, of, or contributed to by, an 

employer (including a self-insured person) or employee 

association to provide health care (directly or otherwise) to 

the employees, former employees, or the families of such 

employees or former employees, or the employer. 

"High deductible health plan" means a plan as defined in 

§ 223(c)(2) of Internal Revenue Code of 1986, without regard 

to whether the plan is purchased in conjunction with a health 

savings account (as defined under § 223(d) of such Code). 

"HIPP" means the Health Insurance Premium Payment 

Program administered by DMAS consistent with § 1906 of 

the Act.  

"Premium" means that portion of the cost for the group 

health plan which is the responsibility of the person carrying 

the group health plan policy the fixed cost of participation in 

the group health plan; such cost may be shared by the 

employer and employee or paid in full by either party.  

"Premium assistance subsidy" means the portion that DMAS 

will pay of the family's employee's cost of participating in an 

employer's health plan to cover the Medicaid eligible 

members under the employer-sponsored plan if DMAS 

determines it is cost effective to do so. 

"Recipient" means a person who is eligible for Medicaid as 

determined by the Department of Social Services.  

B. Program purpose. The purpose of the HIPP Program shall 

be [ to ]:  

1. [ Enroll To enroll ] recipients who have an available 

group health plan that is likely to be cost effective;  

2. [ Provide To provide ] premium assistance subsidy for 

payment of the employee share of the premiums and other 

cost-sharing obligations for items and services otherwise 

covered under the State Plan for Medical Assistance (the 

Plan); and  

3. [ Treat To treat ] coverage under such employer group 

health plan as a third party liability consistent with § 1906 

of the Social Security Act.  

C. Application required. A completed HIPP application 

must be submitted to DMAS to be evaluated for HIPP 

program eligibility; if HIPP program eligibility is established, 

DMAS shall then evaluate the group health plan for cost 

effectiveness. The HIPP application consists of the forms 

prescribed by DMAS and any necessary information as 

required by the program to evaluate eligibility and perform a 

cost-effectiveness evaluation. 

D. Recipient eligibility. DMAS shall obtain specific 

information on all group health plans available to the 

recipients in the case including, but not limited to, the 

effective date of coverage, the services covered by the plan, 

the deductibles and copayments required by the plan, the 

exclusions to the plan, and the amount of the premium. 

Coverage that is not comprehensive shall be denied premium 

assistance. Cases that result in a determination that the 

applicant is not eligible for the HIPP program shall be denied 

premium assistance and shall not undergo further review as 

described in subsection E of this section. All family members 

who are eligible for coverage under the group health plan and 

who are eligible for Medicaid shall be eligible for 

consideration for HIPP, except [ those who meet ] any one or 

more of the factors identified in subdivisions 1 through 7 of 

this subsection. below. The agency will consider recipients in 

this subsection for consideration for HIPP when extraordinary 

circumstances indicate the group health plan might be cost 

effective.  

1. The recipient is Medicaid eligible due to "spend-down";. 

2. The recipient is currently enrolled in the employer 

sponsored health plan and is only retroactively eligible for 

Medicaid;. 

3. The recipient is in a nursing home or has a deduction 

from patient pay responsibility to cover the insurance 

premium; or. 
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4. The recipient is eligible for Medicare Part B, but is not 

enrolled in Part B. 

5. The recipient's family has, or would have, family 

healthcare coverage for three or more members who are 

not Medicaid eligible. [ Exceptions to the family health 

care coverage exclusion are as follows: 

a. The family meets Family Access to Medical Insurance 

Security (FAMIS) eligibility criteria but due to existing 

group health insurance cannot enroll in FAMIS for the 

non-Medicaid family members enrolled in the health care 

plan; or 

b. Medicaid eligibility is based upon family income 

(Medicaid family unit) and the family members enrolled 

in the health care plan are not Medicaid eligible due to 

Medicaid age restrictions (aged 19 or older). ]  

6. Medicare eligibility. Medicaid recipients eligible for, or 

enrolled in, Medicare Part A and/or Part B who are also 

covered by an employer group health plan are not eligible 

for HIPP. 

7. High Deductible Health Plans (HDHPs) are defined in 

§ 223(c)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986. HDHPs 

are not cost effective for the HIPP program and shall be 

denied premium assistance and shall not undergo further 

review as described in subsection E of this section. The 

annual deductible amount for a HDHP is defined by the 

Department of Treasury and is updated annually. 

D. Application required. A completed HIPP application 

must be submitted to DMAS to be evaluated for eligibility 

and cost effectiveness. The HIPP application consists of the 

forms prescribed by DMAS and any necessary information as 

required by the program to evaluate eligibility and perform a 

cost-effectiveness evaluation. 

E. Cost-effectiveness evaluation. If the Medicaid eligible(s) 

is enrolled in the health plan and is not excluded from HIPP 

program participation under the criteria described in 

subsection D of this section, DMAS shall conduct the 

premium cost-effectiveness evaluation based upon the 

following methodology: 

1. Recipient information. DMAS shall obtain demographic 

information on each recipient in each case including, but 

not limited to, Medicaid enrollment covered group, age, 

gender, and geographic region of residence in the state. 

2. DMAS shall compute the average monthly Medicaid 

cost for each Medicaid enrollee on the group health 

insurance plan and compare the total cost to the employee's 

responsibility for the health insurance cost. 

3. Wraparound cost. DMAS shall total the average monthly 

wraparound cost for each Medicaid enrollee on the HIPP 

case and subtract the amount from the average monthly 

Medicaid cost for the cost-effectiveness evaluation. 

4. Administrative cost. DMAS shall total the 

administrative costs of the HIPP program and estimate an 

average administrative cost. DMAS shall subtract the 

administrative cost from the average monthly Medicaid 

cost for the cost-effectiveness evaluation. 

5. Determination of premium cost effectiveness. DMAS 

shall determine that a group health plan is likely to be cost 

effective if subdivision a is less than subdivision b below:  

a. The employee's responsibility for the group health plan 

premium.  

b. The total of the average monthly Medicaid costs less 

the wraparound costs for each Medicaid enrollee covered 

by the group health plan and the administrative cost.  

6. [ For individuals who otherwise meet all HIPP eligibility 

criteria in subdivision 5 of this subsection, such individuals 

may elect to have ] DMAS [ may ] reimburse [ them ] up to 

the amount determined in subdivision 5 b of this 

subsection, if subdivision 5 a of this subsection is not less 

than subdivision 5 b of this subsection. 

F. Payments. When DMAS determines that a group health 

plan is likely to be cost effective based on the DMAS 

established methodology, DMAS shall provide for the 

payment of premiums premium assistance subsidy and other 

cost-sharing obligations for items and services otherwise 

covered under the Plan, except for the nominal cost sharing 

amounts permitted under § 1916.  

1. Effective date of premiums premium assistance subsidy. 

Payment of premiums premium assistance subsidy shall 

become effective on the first day of the month following 

the month in which DMAS makes the cost effectiveness 

determination receives a complete HIPP application or the 

first day of the month in which the group health plan 

coverage becomes effective, whichever is later. Payments 

shall be made to either the employer, the insurance 

company or to the individual who is carrying the group 

health plan coverage.  

2. Termination date of premiums. Payment of premiums 

shall end:  

a. On the last day of the month in which eligibility for 

Medicaid ends;  

b. The last day of the month in which the recipient loses 

eligibility for coverage in the group health plan; or  

c. The last day of the month in which adequate notice has 

been given (consistent with federal requirements) that 

DMAS has redetermined that the group health plan is no 

longer cost effective, whichever comes later.  

3. Non-Medicaid eligible family members. Payment of 

premiums for non-Medicaid eligible family members may 

be made when their enrollment in the group health plan is 

required in order for the recipient to obtain the group 

health plan coverage. Such payments shall be treated as 

payments for Medicaid benefits for the recipient. 2. No 

payments for deductibles, coinsurances, and other cost-

sharing obligations for non-Medicaid eligible family 

members shall be made by DMAS.  
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4. Evidence of enrollment required. A person to whom 

DMAS is paying the group health plan premium shall, as a 

condition of receiving such payment, provide to DSS or 

DMAS, upon request, written evidence of the payment of 

the group health plan premium for the group health plan 

which DMAS determined to be cost effective 3. 

Documentation required for premium assistance subsidy 

reimbursement. A person to whom DMAS is paying an 

employer group health plan premium assistance subsidy 

shall, as a condition of receiving such payment, provide 

documentation as prescribed by DMAS of the payment of 

the employer group health plan premium for the group 

health plan that DMAS determined to be cost effective.  

F. Guidelines for determining cost effectiveness.  

1. Enrollment limitations. DMAS shall take into account 

that a recipient may only be eligible to enroll in the group 

health plan at limited times and only if other non-Medicaid 

eligible family members are also enrolled in the plan 

simultaneously.  

2. Plans provided at no cost. Group health plans for which 

there is no premium to the person carrying the policy shall 

be considered to be cost effective.  

3. Non-Medicaid eligible family members. When non-

Medicaid eligible family members must enroll in a group 

health plan in order for the recipient to be enrolled, DMAS 

shall consider only the premiums of non-Medicaid eligible 

family members in determining the cost effectiveness of 

the group health plan.  

4. DMAS shall make the cost effectiveness determination 

based on the following methodology:  

a. Recipient and group health plan information. DMAS 

shall obtain demographic information on each recipient 

in the case, including, but not limited to: federal program 

designation, age, sex, geographic location. DMAS [or 

DSS] shall obtain specific information on all group 

health plans available to the recipients in the case, 

including, but not limited to, the effective date of 

coverage, the services covered by the plan, the exclusions 

to the plan, and the amount of the premium.  

b. Average estimated Medicaid expenditures. DMAS 

shall estimate the average Medicaid expenditures for a 

12-month period for each recipient in the case based on 

the expenditures for persons similar to the recipient in 

demographic and eligibility characteristics. Expenditures 

shall be adjusted accordingly for inflation and scheduled 

provider reimbursement rate increases. Average 

estimated Medicaid expenditures shall be updated 

periodically.  

c. Medicaid expenditures covered by the group health 

plan. DMAS shall compute the percentage of 

expenditures for group health plan services against the 

expenditures for the same Medicaid services and then 

adjust the average estimated Medicaid expenditures by 

this percentage for each recipient in the case. These 

adjusted expenditures shall be added to obtain a total for 

the case.  

d. Group health plan allowance. DMAS shall multiply an 

allowance factor by the Medicaid expenditures covered 

by the group health plan to produce the estimated group 

health plan allowance. The allowance factor shall be 

based on a state specific factor, a national factor or a 

group health plan specific factor.  

e. Covered expense amount. DMAS shall multiply an 

average group health plan payment rate by the group 

health plan allowance to produce an estimated covered 

expense amount. The average group health plan payment 

rate shall be based on a state specific rate, national rate or 

group health plan specific rate.  

f. Administrative cost. DMAS shall total the 

administrative costs of the HIPP program and estimate an 

average administrative cost per recipient. DMAS shall 

add to the administrative cost any pre-enrollment costs 

required in order for the recipient to enroll in the group 

health plan.  

G. Determination of cost effectiveness. DMAS shall 

determine that a group health plan is likely to be cost 

effective if subdivision 1 of this subsection is less than 

subdivision 2 of this subsection:  

1. The difference between the group health plan allowance 

and the covered expense amount, added to the premium 

and the administrative cost; and  

2. The Medicaid expenditures covered by the group health 

plan.  

If subdivision 1 of this subsection is not less than 

subdivision 2 of this subsection, DMAS shall adjust the 

amount in subdivision 2 of this subsection using past 

medical utilization data on the recipient, provided by the 

Medicaid claims system or by the recipient, to account for 

any higher than average expected Medicaid expenditures. 

DMAS shall determine that a group health plan is likely to 

be cost effective if subdivision 1 of this subsection is less 

than subdivision 2 of this subsection once this adjustment 

has been made.  

3. Redetermination. DMAS shall redetermine the cost 

effectiveness of the group health plan periodically, not to 

exceed every 12 months. DMAS shall also redetermine the 

cost effectiveness of the group health plan whenever there 

is a change to the recipient and group health plan 

information that was used in determining the cost 

effectiveness of the group health plan. When only part of 

the household loses Medicaid eligibility, DMAS shall 

redetermine the cost effectiveness to ascertain whether 

payment of the group health plan premiums continue to be 

cost effective. 

4. Multiple group health plans. When a recipient is eligible 

for more than one group health plan, DMAS shall perform 
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the cost effectiveness determination on the group health 

plan in which the recipient is enrolled. If the recipient is 

not enrolled in a group health plan, DMAS shall perform 

the cost effectiveness determination on each group health 

plan available to the recipient. 

G. Program participation requirements. Participants must 

comply with [ the following ] program requirements as 

prescribed by DMAS for continued enrollment in HIPP. 

Failure to comply shall result in termination from the 

program.  

1. Submission of documentation of premium expense 

within specified time frame in accordance with DMAS 

established policy. 

2. Changes that impact the cost-effectiveness evaluation 

must be reported within 10 days. 

3. Completion of annual redetermination. 

4. Completion of consent forms. Participants may be 

required to complete a consent form to release information 

necessary for HIPP participation and program requirements 

as required by DMAS. 

[ 5. Participants terminated for noncompliance under 

subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection shall be barred from 

reapplying to the HIPP program for three months from the 

date of cancellation. ]  

H. HIPP redetermination. DMAS shall redetermine the cost 

effectiveness of the group health plan periodically, [ and ] at 

least every 12 months. DMAS shall also redetermine cost 

effectiveness when changes occur with the [ recipient 

recipient's ] average Medicaid cost and/or with the group 

health plan information that was used in determining the cost 

effectiveness. When only part of the household loses 

Medicaid eligibility, DMAS shall redetermine the cost 

effectiveness to ascertain whether payment of the premium 

assistance subsidy of the group health plan continues to be 

cost effective.  

I. Program termination. Participation in the HIPP program 

shall be terminated for failure to comply with or meet 

program requirements. Termination will be effective the last 

day of the month in which advance notice has been given 

(consistent with [ federal regulations) 42 CFR 431.211)]. 

1. [ Participation In addition to the reasons listed in 

subsection G of this section, participation ] shall be 

terminated for: 

[ a. Failure to submit documentation of payment of 

premiums (noncompliance);  

b. Failure to provide information required for 

reevaluation of cost effectiveness (noncompliance); 

c. a. ] Loss of Medicaid eligibility for all household 

members; 

[ d. b. ] Medicaid household member no longer covered 

by employer health plan; or 

[ e. c. ] Employer group health plan is determined to be 

not cost effective. 

[ 2. Participants terminated for noncompliance under 

subdivisions 1 a and 1 b of this subsection, shall be barred 

from reapplying to the HIPP program for three months 

from the date of cancellation. 

3. 2. ] Termination date of premiums. Payment of premium 

assistance subsidy shall end on whichever of the following 

occurs the earliest:  

a. On the last day of the month in which eligibility for 

Medicaid ends; 

b. The last day of the month in which the recipient loses 

eligibility for coverage in the group health plan; 

c. The last day of the month in which adequate notice has 

been given (consistent with federal requirements) that 

DMAS has determined that the group health plan is no 

longer cost effective; or 

d. The last day of the month in which adequate notice has 

been given (consistent with federal requirements) that 

HIPP participation requirements have not been met. 

H. J. Third party liability. When recipients are enrolled in 

group health plans, these plans shall become the first sources 

of health care benefits, up to the limits of such plans, prior to 

the availability of Title XIX benefits.  

I. K. Appeal rights. Recipients shall be given the opportunity 

to appeal adverse agency decisions consistent with agency 

regulations for client appeals (12VAC30-110). 

J. L. Provider requirements. Providers shall be required to 

accept the greater of the group health plan's reimbursement 

rate or the Medicaid rate as payment in full and shall be 

prohibited from charging the recipient or Medicaid amounts 

that would result in aggregate payments greater than the 

Medicaid rate as required by 42 CFR 447.20.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services. The forms are not being published; 

however, the names of the forms are listed below. Online 

users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may 

access the forms by clicking on the names of the forms. The 

forms are also available for public inspection at the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street Richmond, Virginia 23219, or at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (12VAC30-20) 

[ Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP)/HIPP For Kids 

Program Application and Instructions (rev. 9/10). 

Employer Insurance Verification (rev. 10/10). 

Re-evaluation Employer Insurance Verification (rev. 10/10).  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e295b002021~1&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e295b002021~1&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7d64f002021~2&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b0a8d002021~3&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/msword
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Health Insurance Premium Payment HIPP for Kids (HFK) 

Program - Cost Sharing of Co-Pays, Deductibles and Co-

insurance (undated). 

Health Insurance Premium Payment Programs 

Application/Renewal, DMAS 500 and Employer Insurance 

Verification Form, DMAS-502 (rev. 2/2012). 

Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) and HIPP for 

Kids Program - Consent for Authorization for Release of 

Information - Family Member Eligibility Release (undated). 

Health Insurance Premium Payment Program - Change 

Form (undated). 

Health Insurance Premium Payment Program (HIPP) for 

Kids - Change Form (eff. 9/2010). ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2021; Filed September 4, 2012, 12:13 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 

and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 

(adding 12VAC30-50-131). 

12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (amending 

12VAC30-80-20, 12VAC30-80-200; adding 12VAC30-80-

96). 

12VAC30-120. Waivered Services (amending 12VAC30-

120-360, 12VAC30-120-380).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: October 25, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Molly Carpenter, Child and Maternal Health 

Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

786-1493, FAX (804) 225-3961, or email 

molly.carpenter@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The regulations define a new approach to payment for 

Early Intervention services under Medicaid that supports 

the Infant and Toddler Connection (IT&C) model. Early 

Intervention services are provided in the child's natural 

environment, engage the family in the intervention, and 

engage the expertise of a multidisciplinary team to support 

the direct service provider. The new approach supports 

Medicaid payment for a broad base of qualified providers 

with demonstrated knowledge and skills in Early 

Intervention principles and practices. The regulations 

require Part C practitioners to be certified by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services as a condition of participation with the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services as designated 

Early Intervention service providers in the Medicaid 

program.  

The final regulation differs from the proposed regulation 

by adding Early Intervention to the list of services that are 

provided outside of Medicaid managed care organization 

networks. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

12VAC30-50-131. [ Early Intervention services Services 

provided by certified Early Intervention practitioners 

under EPSDT ]. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

these regulations shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, the lead state agency for Early 

Intervention services appointed by the Governor in 

accordance with Chapter 53 (§ 2.2-5300 et seq.) of Title 2.2 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Early Intervention services" or "EI" means services 

provided through Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities 

Education Act (20 USC § 1431 et seq.), as amended [ , and. 

Early Intervention services are specialized rehabilitative 

services covered ] in accordance with 42 CFR 440.130(d), 

which are designed to meet the developmental needs of each 

child and the needs of the family related to enhancing the 

child's development, and are provided to children from birth 

to age three who have (i) a 25% developmental delay in one 

or more areas of development, (ii) atypical development, or 

(iii) a diagnosed physical or mental condition that has a high 

probability of resulting in a developmental delay. [ EI 

services are available to qualified individuals through Early 

and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT). 

EI services are distinguished from similar rehabilitative 

services available through EPSDT to individuals aged three 

and older in that EI services are specifically directed towards 

children from birth to age three. EI services are not medically 

indicated for individuals aged three and above. ]  

"Individualized family service plan" or "IFSP" means a 

comprehensive and regularly updated statement specific to 

the child being treated containing, but not necessarily limited 

to, treatment or training needs, measurable outcomes 

expected to be achieved, services to be provided with the 

recommended frequency to achieve the outcomes, and 

estimated timetable for achieving the outcomes. The IFSP is 

developed by a multidisciplinary team that includes the 

family, under the auspices of the local lead agency. 

"Local lead agency" means an agency under contract with 

the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services to facilitate implementation of a local Early 

Intervention system as described in Chapter 53 (§ 2.2-5300 et 

seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Primary care provider" means a practitioner who provides 

preventive and primary health care and is responsible for 

providing routine Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, 

and Treatment (EPSDT) screening and referral and 

coordination of other medical services needed by the child. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f5a6002021~1&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f5a6002021~1&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f5a6002021~1&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=424a7002021~2&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=424a7002021~2&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=424a7002021~2&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c261e002021~3&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c261e002021~3&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c261e002021~3&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e1c79002021~5&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e1c79002021~5&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fa4e8002021~4&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fa4e8002021~4&typ=40&actno=002021&mime=application/pdf
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B. Coverage for Early Intervention services. 

1. Early Intervention services shall be reimbursed for 

individuals [ younger than 21 years of age ] who meet 

criteria for Early Intervention services established by 

DBHDS in accordance with Chapter 53 (§ 2.2-5300 et 

seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Early Intervention services shall be recommended by the 

child's primary care provider or other qualified EPSDT 

screening provider as necessary to correct or ameliorate a 

physical or mental condition. 

3. Early Intervention services shall be provided in settings 

that are natural or normal for an infant or toddler without a 

disability, such as the home, unless there is justification for 

an atypical location. 

4. Except for the initial and periodic assessments, Early 

Intervention services shall be described in an IFSP 

developed by the local lead agency and designed to prevent 

or ameliorate developmental delay within the context of 

the Early Intervention services system defined by Chapter 

53 (§ 2.2-5300 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. Medical necessity for Early Intervention services shall 

be defined by the IFSP. The IFSP shall describe service 

needs in terms of amount, duration, and scope. The IFSP 

shall be approved by the child's primary care provider. 

6. Covered Early Intervention services include the 

following functions provided with the infant or toddler and 

the child's parent or other authorized caregiver by a 

certified Early Intervention professional: 

a. Assessment, including consultation with the child's 

family and other service providers, to evaluate: 

(1) The child's level of functioning in the following 

developmental areas: cognitive development; physical 

development, including vision and hearing; 

communication development; social or emotional 

development; and adaptive development; 

(2) The family's capacity to meet the developmental 

needs of the child; and 

(3) Services needed to correct or ameliorate 

developmental conditions during the infant and toddler 

years. [ EI services include, but are not limited to, PT, 

OT, and speech therapy as described in 42 CFR 440.110, 

and developmental/rehabilitative services as described in 

42 CFR 440.130(d). All licensed PT, OT, and speech 

therapy providers shall comply with requirements of 42 

CFR 440.110. All EI providers are certified to provide EI 

services by the Virginia Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. ]  

b. Participation in a multidisciplinary team review of 

assessments to develop integrated, measurable outcomes 

for the IFSP. 

c. The planning and design of activities, environments, 

and experiences to promote the normal development of 

an infant or toddler with a disability, consistent with the 

outcomes in the IFSP. 

7. Covered Early Intervention services include the 

following functions when included in the IFSP and 

provided [ with to ] an infant or toddler with a disability 

and the child's parent or other authorized caregiver by a 

certified Early Intervention professional or by a certified 

Early Intervention specialist under the supervision of a 

certified Early Intervention professional: 

a. Providing families with information and training to 

enhance the development of the child. 

b. Working with the child with a disability to promote 

normal development in one or more developmental 

domains. 

c. Consulting with the child's family and other service 

providers to assess service needs; and plan, coordinate, 

and evaluate services to ensure that services reflect the 

unique needs of the child in all developmental domains. 

C. The following functions shall not be covered under this 

section: 

1. Screening to determine if the child is suspected of 

having a disability. Screening is covered as an EPSDT 

service provided by the primary care provider and is not 

covered as an Early Intervention service under this section.  

2. Administration and coordination activities related to the 

development, review, and evaluation of the IFSP and 

procedural safeguards required by Part C of the Individuals 

with Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1431 et seq.). 

3. Services other than the initial and periodic assessments 

that are provided but are not documented in the child's 

IFSP or linked to a service in the IFSP. 

4. Sessions that are conducted for family support, 

education, recreational, or custodial purposes, including 

respite or child care. 

5. Services provided by a relative who is legally 

responsible for the child's care. 

6. Services rendered in a clinic or provider's office without 

justification for the location. 

7. Services provided in the absence of the child and a 

parent or other authorized caregiver identified in the IFSP 

with the exception of multidisciplinary team meetings, 

[ that which ] need not include the child. 

D. Qualifications of providers: 

1. Individual practitioners of Early Intervention services 

must be certified by DBHDS as a qualified Early 

Intervention professional or Early Intervention specialist 

[ and hold a valid Medicaid Early Intervention provider 

agreement ].  

2. Certified individuals and service agencies or groups who 

employ or contract with certified individuals may enroll 

with DMAS as Early Intervention providers. In accordance 

with 42 CFR 431.51, recipients may obtain Early 
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Intervention services from any willing and qualified 

Medicaid provider who participates in this service [ , or for 

individuals enrolled with a Managed Care Organization 

(MCO), from such providers available in their MCO 

network ]. 

[ 3. Certified EI practitioners are qualified to provide a 

specialized rehabilitative service for young children with 

developmental delays. Certified individuals and agencies 

will enroll with DMAS and bill for this specialized 

rehabilitative service as an EPSDT Early Intervention 

provider rather than as a speech therapist, rehabilitation 

facility, or other designation. EI providers are certified or 

licensed to provide services within the scope of their 

practice as defined under state law. All licensed physical 

therapy and occupational therapy providers and those 

providing services for individuals with speech, hearing, 

and language disorders shall comply with the requirements 

of 42 CFR 440.110. ]  

12VAC30-80-20. Services that are reimbursed on a cost 

basis.  

A. Payments for services listed below shall be on the basis 

of reasonable cost following the standards and principles 

applicable to the Title XVIII Program with the exception 

provided for in subdivision D 1 d. The upper limit for 

reimbursement shall be no higher than payments for Medicare 

patients on a facility by facility basis in accordance with 42 

CFR 447.321 and 42 CFR 447.325. In no instance, however, 

shall charges for beneficiaries of the program be in excess of 

charges for private patients receiving services from the 

provider. The professional component for emergency room 

physicians shall continue to be uncovered as a component of 

the payment to the facility.  

B. Reasonable costs will be determined from the filing of a 

uniform cost report by participating providers. The cost 

reports are due not later than 150 days after the provider's 

fiscal year end. If a complete cost report is not received 

within 150 days after the end of the provider's fiscal year, the 

Program shall take action in accordance with its policies to 

assure that an overpayment is not being made. The cost report 

will be judged complete when DMAS has all of the 

following:  

1. Completed cost reporting form(s) provided by DMAS, 

with signed certification(s);  

2. The provider's trial balance showing adjusting journal 

entries;  

3. The provider's financial statements including, but not 

limited to, a balance sheet, a statement of income and 

expenses, a statement of retained earnings (or fund 

balance), and a statement of changes in financial position;  

4. Schedules that reconcile financial statements and trial 

balance to expenses claimed in the cost report;  

5. Depreciation schedule or summary;  

6. Home office cost report, if applicable; and  

7. Such other analytical information or supporting 

documents requested by DMAS when the cost reporting 

forms are sent to the provider.  

C. Item 398 D of the 1987 Appropriation Act (as amended), 

effective April 8, 1987, eliminated reimbursement of return 

on equity capital to proprietary providers.  

D. The services that are cost reimbursed are:  

1. Outpatient hospital services including rehabilitation 

hospital outpatient services and excluding laboratory.  

a. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 

in this regulation shall have the following meanings 

when applied to emergency services unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise:  

"All-inclusive" means all emergency department and 

ancillary service charges claimed in association with the 

emergency room visit, with the exception of laboratory 

services.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) 

of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Emergency hospital services" means services that are 

necessary to prevent the death or serious impairment of 

the health of the recipient. The threat to the life or health 

of the recipient necessitates the use of the most 

accessible hospital available that is equipped to furnish 

the services.  

"Recent injury" means an injury that has occurred less 

than 72 hours prior to the emergency department visit.  

b. Scope. DMAS shall differentiate, as determined by the 

attending physician's diagnosis, the kinds of care 

routinely rendered in emergency departments and 

reimburse for nonemergency care rendered in emergency 

departments at a reduced rate.  

(1) With the exception of laboratory services, DMAS 

shall reimburse at a reduced and all-inclusive 

reimbursement rate for all services, including those 

obstetric and pediatric procedures contained in 

12VAC30-80-160, rendered in emergency departments 

that DMAS determines were nonemergency care.  

(2) Services determined by the attending physician to be 

emergencies shall be reimbursed under the existing 

methodologies and at the existing rates.  

(3) Services performed by the attending physician that 

may be emergencies shall be manually reviewed. If such 

services meet certain criteria, they shall be paid under the 

methodology for subdivision 1 b (2) of this subsection. 

Services not meeting certain criteria shall be paid under 

the methodology of subdivision 1 b (1) of this subsection. 

Such criteria shall include, but not be limited to:  

(a) The initial treatment following a recent obvious 

injury.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-323
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(b) Treatment related to an injury sustained more than 72 

hours prior to the visit with the deterioration of the 

symptoms to the point of requiring medical treatment for 

stabilization.  

(c) The initial treatment for medical emergencies 

including indications of severe chest pain, dyspnea, 

gastrointestinal hemorrhage, spontaneous abortion, loss 

of consciousness, status epilepticus, or other conditions 

considered life threatening.  

(d) A visit in which the recipient's condition requires 

immediate hospital admission or the transfer to another 

facility for further treatment or a visit in which the 

recipient dies.  

(e) Services provided for acute vital sign changes as 

specified in the provider manual.  

(f) Services provided for severe pain when combined 

with one or more of the other guidelines.  

(4) Payment shall be determined based on ICD-9-CM 

diagnosis codes and necessary supporting documentation.  

(5) DMAS shall review on an ongoing basis the 

effectiveness of this program in achieving its objectives 

and for its effect on recipients, physicians, and hospitals. 

Program components may be revised subject to achieving 

program intent, the accuracy and effectiveness of the 

ICD-9-CM code designations, and the impact on 

recipients and providers.  

c. Limitation of allowable cost. Effective for services on 

and after July 1, 2003, reimbursement of Type Two 

hospitals for outpatient services shall be at various 

percentages as noted in subdivisions 1 c (1) and (2) of 

this subsection of allowable cost, with cost to be 

determined as provided in subsections A, B, and C of this 

section. For hospitals with fiscal years that do not begin 

on July 1, outpatient costs, both operating and capital, for 

the fiscal year in progress on that date shall be 

apportioned between the time period before and the time 

period after that date, based on the number of calendar 

months in the cost reporting period, falling before and 

after that date.  

(1) Type One hospitals. 

(a) Effective July 1, 2003, through June 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating reimbursement shall be at 

94.2% of allowable cost and capital reimbursement shall 

be at 90% of allowable cost. 

(b) Effective July 1, 2010, through September 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating reimbursement shall be at 

91.2% of allowable cost and capital reimbursement shall 

be at 87% of allowable cost. 

(c) Effective October 1, 2010, through June 30, 2011, 

hospital outpatient operating reimbursement shall be at 

94.2% of allowable cost and capital reimbursement shall 

be at 90% of allowable cost. 

(d) Effective July 1, 2011, hospital outpatient operating 

reimbursement shall be at 90.2% of allowable cost and 

capital reimbursement shall be at 86% of allowable cost. 

(2) Type Two hospitals. 

(a) Effective July 1, 2003, through June 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating and capital reimbursement 

shall be 80% of allowable cost. 

(b) Effective July 1, 2010, through September 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating and capital reimbursement 

shall be 77% of allowable cost. 

(c) Effective October 1, 2010, through June 30, 2011, 

hospital outpatient operating and capital reimbursement 

shall be 80% of allowable cost. 

(d) Effective July 1, 2011, hospital outpatient operating 

and capital reimbursement shall be 76% of allowable 

cost. 

d. Payment for direct medical education costs of nursing 

schools, paramedical programs and graduate medical 

education for interns and residents.  

(1) Direct medical education costs of nursing schools and 

paramedical programs shall continue to be paid on an 

allowable cost basis.  

(2) Effective with cost reporting periods beginning on or 

after July 1, 2002, direct graduate medical education 

(GME) costs for interns and residents shall be reimbursed 

on a per-resident prospective basis. See 12VAC30-70-

281 for prospective payment methodology for graduate 

medical education for interns and residents.  

2. Rehabilitation agencies or comprehensive outpatient 

rehabilitation. 

a. Effective July 1, 2009, rehabilitation agencies or 

comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities that are 

operated by community services boards or state agencies 

shall be reimbursed their costs. For reimbursement 

methodology applicable to all other rehabilitation 

agencies, see 12VAC30-80-200.  

b. Effective October 1, 2009, rehabilitation agencies or 

comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities 

operated by state agencies shall be reimbursed their 

costs. For reimbursement methodology applicable to all 

other rehabilitation agencies, see 12VAC30-80-200. 

12VAC30-80-96. Fee-for-service: Early Intervention 

(under EPSDT). 

A. Payment for Early Intervention services pursuant to Part 

C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) 

of 2004, as set forth in 12VAC30-50-131 [ , for individuals 

younger than 21 years of age, ] shall be the lower of the state 

agency fee schedule or actual charge (charge to the general 

public). All private and governmental fee-for-service 

providers are reimbursed according to the same methodology. 

The agency's rates were set as of October 1, 2009, and are 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+12VAC30-70-281
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+12VAC30-70-281
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effective for services on or after that date. Rates are published 

on the agency's website at www.dmas.virginia.gov. 

B. There shall be separate fees for: 

1. Certified Early Intervention professionals who are also 

licensed as either a physical therapist, occupational 

therapist, speech pathologist, or registered nurse and 

certified Early Intervention specialists who are also 

licensed as either a physical therapy assistant or 

occupational therapy assistant; and  

2. All other certified Early Intervention professionals and 

certified Early Intervention specialists. 

C. Provider travel time shall not be included in billable time 

for reimbursement. 

 [ D. Local Education Agency (LEA) providers provide 

Medicaid-covered school health services for which they are 

reimbursed on a cost basis pursuant to 12VAC30-80-75. 

LEAs may also be certified as, and enrolled to provide, Early 

Intervention services. LEAs providing such services shall be 

reimbursed for EI services on a fee-for-service basis in the 

same manner as other EI providers. The fee-for-service rate is 

the same regardless of the setting in which LEAs provide EI 

services. ]  

12VAC30-80-200. Prospective reimbursement for 

rehabilitation agencies or comprehensive outpatient 

rehabilitation facilities.  

A. Rehabilitation agencies or comprehensive outpatient 

rehabilitation facilities. 

1. Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2009, 

rehabilitation agencies or comprehensive outpatient 

rehabilitation facilities, excluding those operated by 

community services boards or state agencies, shall be 

reimbursed a prospective rate equal to the lesser of the 

agency's fee schedule amount or billed charges per 

procedure. The agency shall develop a statewide fee 

schedule based on CPT codes to reimburse providers what 

the agency estimates they would have been paid in FY 

2010 minus $371,800. 

2. (Reserved.) Effective for dates of service on [ or and ] 

after October 1, 2009, rehabilitation agencies or 

comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities excluding 

those operated by state agencies [ , ] shall be reimbursed a 

prospective rate equal to the lesser of the agency's fee 

schedule amount or billed charges per procedure. The 

agency shall develop a statewide fee schedule based on 

CPT codes to reimburse providers what the agency 

estimates they would have [ been ] paid in FY 2010 minus 

$371,800. 

B. Reimbursement for rehabilitation agencies subject to the 

new fee schedule methodology. 

1. Payments for the fiscal year ending or in progress on 

June 30, 2009, shall be settled for private rehabilitation 

agencies based on the previous prospective rate 

methodology and the ceilings in effect for that fiscal year 

as of June 30, 2009. 

2. (Reserved.) Payments for the fiscal year ending or in 

progress on September 30, 2009, shall be settled for 

community services boards based on the previous 

prospective rate methodology and the ceilings in effect for 

that fiscal year as of September 30, 2009. 

C. Beginning with state fiscal years beginning on or after 

July 1, 2010, rates shall be adjusted annually for inflation 

using the Virginia-specific nursing home input price index 

contracted for by the agency. The agency shall use the percent 

moving average for the quarter ending at the midpoint of the 

rate year from the most recently available index prior to the 

beginning of the rate year. 

D. Reimbursement for physical therapy, occupational 

therapy, and speech-language therapy services shall not be 

provided for any sums that the rehabilitation provider 

collects, or is entitled to collect, from the nursing facility or 

any other available source, and provided further, that this 

subsection shall in no way diminish any obligation of the 

nursing facility to DMAS to provide its residents such 

services, as set forth in any applicable provider agreement. 

E. Effective July 1, 2010, there will be no inflation 

adjustment for outpatient rehabilitation facilities through June 

30, 2012. 

Part VI  

Medallion II  

12VAC30-120-360. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Action" means the denial or limited authorization of a 

requested service, including the type or level of service; the 

reduction, suspension, or termination of a previously 

authorized service; the denial, in whole or in part, of payment 

for a service; the failure to provide services in a timely 

manner, as defined by the state; or the failure of an MCO to 

act within the timeframes provided in 42 CFR 438.408(b).  

"Appeal" means a request for review of an action, as 

"action" is defined in this section.  

"Area of residence" means the recipient's address in the 

Medicaid eligibility file.  

"Capitation payment" means a payment the department 

makes periodically to a contractor on behalf of each recipient 

enrolled under a contract for the provision of medical services 

under the State Plan, regardless of whether the particular 

recipient receives services during the period covered by the 

payment.  

"Client," "clients," "recipient," "enrollee," or "participant" 

means an individual or individuals having current Medicaid 

eligibility who shall be authorized by DMAS to be a member 

or members of Medallion II.  
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"Covered services" means Medicaid services as defined in 

the State Plan for Medical Assistance.  

"Disenrollment" means the process of changing enrollment 

from one Medallion II Managed Care Organization (MCO) 

plan to another MCO or to the Primary Care Case 

Management (PCCM) program, if applicable.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services.  

"Early Intervention" means EPSDT Early Intervention 

services provided pursuant to Part C of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 2004 as set forth in 

12VAC30-50-131. 

"Eligible person" means any person eligible for Virginia 

Medicaid in accordance with the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

"Emergency medical condition" means a medical condition 

manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity 

(including severe pain) that a prudent layperson, who 

possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine, 

could reasonably expect the absence of immediate medical 

attention to result in the following:  

1. Placing the health of the individual (or, with respect to a 

pregnant woman, the health of the woman or her unborn 

child) in serious jeopardy,  

2. Serious impairment to bodily functions, or  

3. Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.  

"Emergency services" means covered inpatient and 

outpatient services that are furnished by a provider that is 

qualified to furnish these services and that are needed to 

evaluate or stabilize an emergency medical condition.  

"Enrollment broker" means an independent contractor that 

enrolls recipients in the contractor's plan and is responsible 

for the operation and documentation of a toll-free recipient 

service helpline. The responsibilities of the enrollment broker 

include, but shall not be limited to, recipient education and 

MCO enrollment, assistance with and tracking of recipients' 

complaints resolutions, and may include recipient marketing 

and outreach.  

"Exclusion from Medallion II" means the removal of an 

enrollee from the Medallion II program on a temporary or 

permanent basis.  

"External Quality Review Organization" (EQRO) is an 

organization that meets the competence and independence 

requirements set forth in 42 CFR 438.354 and performs 

external quality reviews, other EQR related activities as set 

forth in 42 CFR 438.358, or both.  

"Foster care" is a program in which a child receives either 

foster care assistance under Title IV-E of the Social Security 

Act or state and local foster care assistance.  

"Grievance" means an expression of dissatisfaction about 

any matter other than an action, as "action" is defined in this 

section.  

"Health care plan" means any arrangement in which any 

managed care organization undertakes to provide, arrange for, 

pay for, or reimburse any part of the cost of any health care 

services.  

"Health care professional" means a provider as defined in 42 

CFR 438.2.  

"Managed care organization" or "MCO" means an entity that 

meets the participation and solvency criteria defined in 42 

CFR Part 438 and has an executed contractual agreement with 

DMAS to provide services covered under the Medallion II 

program. Covered services for Medallion II individuals must 

be as accessible (in terms of timeliness, amount, duration, and 

scope) as compared to other Medicaid recipients served 

within the area.  

"Network" means doctors, hospitals or other health care 

providers who participate or contract with an MCO and, as a 

result, agree to accept a mutually-agreed upon sum or fee 

schedule as payment in full for covered services that are 

rendered to eligible participants.  

"Newborn enrollment period" means the period from the 

child's date of birth plus the next two calendar months.  

"Nonparticipating provider" means a health care entity or 

health care professional not in the contractor's participating 

provider network.  

"Post-stabilization care services" means covered services 

related to an emergency medical condition that are provided 

after an enrollee is stabilized in order to maintain the 

stabilized condition or to improve or resolve the enrollee's 

condition.  

"Potential enrollee" means a Medicaid recipient who is 

subject to mandatory enrollment or may voluntarily elect to 

enroll in a given managed care program, but is not yet an 

enrollee of a specific MCO or PCCM.  

"Primary care case management" or "PCCM" means a 

system under which a primary care case manager contracts 

with the Commonwealth to furnish case management services 

(which include the location, coordination, and monitoring of 

primary health care services) to Medicaid recipients.  

"School health services" means those physical therapy, 

occupational therapy, speech therapy, nursing, psychiatric and 

psychological services rendered to children who qualify for 

these services under the federal Individuals with Disabilities 

Education Act (20 USC § 1471 et seq.) by (i) employees of 

the school divisions or (ii) providers that subcontract with 

school divisions, as described in 12VAC30-50-229.1.  

"Spend-down" means the process of reducing countable 

income by deducting incurred medical expenses for medically 

needy individuals, as determined in the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance.  

12VAC30-120-380. Medallion II MCO responsibilities. 

A. The MCO shall provide, at a minimum, all medically 

necessary covered services provided under the State Plan for 
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Medical Assistance and further defined by written DMAS 

regulations, policies and instructions, except as otherwise 

modified or excluded in this part. 

1. Nonemergency services provided by hospital emergency 

departments shall be covered by MCOs in accordance with 

rates negotiated between the MCOs and the emergency 

departments. 

2. Services that shall be provided outside the MCO 

network shall include, but are not limited to, those services 

identified and defined by the contract between DMAS and 

the MCO. Services reimbursed by DMAS include dental 

and orthodontic services for children up to age 21; for all 

others, dental services (as described in 12VAC30-50-190), 

school health services (as defined in 12VAC30-120-360), 

community mental health services (rehabilitative, targeted 

case management and the following substance abuse 

treatment services; emergency services (crisis); intensive 

outpatient services; day treatment services; substance 

abuse case management services; and opioid treatment 

services), as defined in 12VAC30-50-228 and 12VAC30-

50-491, [ EPSDT Early Intervention services provided 

pursuant to Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities 

Education Act (IDEA) of 2004 (as defined in 12VAC30-

50-131), ] and long-term care services provided under the 

§ 1915(c) home-based and community-based waivers 

including related transportation to such authorized waiver 

services. 

3. The MCOs shall pay for emergency services and family 

planning services and supplies whether they are provided 

inside or outside the MCO network. 

B. Except for those services specifically carved out in 

subsection A of this section, EPSDT services shall be covered 

by the MCO [ . These services shall include EPSDT Early 

Intervention services provided pursuant to Part C of the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 2004, 

as set forth in 12VAC30-50-131, as identified ] and defined 

by the [ contracts contract ] between DMAS and the [ MCOs 

MCO ]. The MCO shall have the authority to determine the 

provider of service for EPSDT screenings. 

C. The MCOs shall report data to DMAS under the contract 

requirements, which may include data reports, report cards 

for clients, and ad hoc quality studies performed by the MCO 

or third parties. 

D. Documentation requirements. 

1. The MCO shall maintain records as required by federal 

and state law and regulation and by DMAS policy. The 

MCO shall furnish such required information to DMAS, 

the Attorney General of Virginia or his authorized 

representatives, or the State Medicaid Fraud Control Unit 

on request and in the form requested. 

2. Each MCO shall have written policies regarding enrollee 

rights and shall comply with any applicable federal and 

state laws that pertain to enrollee rights and shall ensure 

that its staff and affiliated providers take those rights into 

account when furnishing services to enrollees in 

accordance with 42 CFR 438.100. 

E. The MCO shall ensure that the health care provided to its 

clients meets all applicable federal and state mandates, 

community standards for quality, and standards developed 

pursuant to the DMAS managed care quality program. 

F. The MCOs shall promptly provide or arrange for the 

provision of all required services as specified in the contract 

between the state and the contractor. Medical evaluations 

shall be available within 48 hours for urgent care and within 

30 calendar days for routine care. On-call clinicians shall be 

available 24 hours per day, seven days per week. 

G. The MCOs must meet standards specified by DMAS for 

sufficiency of provider networks as specified in the contract 

between the state and the contractor. 

H. Each MCO and its subcontractors shall have in place, and 

follow, written policies and procedures for processing 

requests for initial and continuing authorizations of service. 

Each MCO and its subcontractors shall ensure that any 

decision to deny a service authorization request or to 

authorize a service in an amount, duration, or scope that is 

less than requested, be made by a health care professional 

who has appropriate clinical expertise in treating the 

enrollee's condition or disease. Each MCO and its 

subcontractors shall have in effect mechanisms to ensure 

consistent application of review criteria for authorization 

decisions and shall consult with the requesting provider when 

appropriate. 

I. In accordance with 42 CFR 447.50 through 42 CFR 

447.60, MCOs shall not impose any cost sharing obligations 

on enrollees except as set forth in 12VAC30-20-150 and 

12VAC30-20-160. 

J. An MCO may not prohibit, or otherwise restrict, a health 

care professional acting within the lawful scope of practice, 

from advising or advocating on behalf of an enrollee who is 

his patient in accordance with 42 CFR 438.102. 

K. An MCO that would otherwise be required to reimburse 

for or provide coverage of a counseling or referral service is 

not required to do so if the MCO objects to the service on 

moral or religious grounds and furnishes information about 

the service it does not cover in accordance with 42 CFR 

438.102. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2080; Filed September 4, 2012, 2:51 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 

(amending 12VAC30-120-360, 12VAC30-120-370, 

12VAC30-120-380).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  
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Public Comment Deadline: November 23, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Sections 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 authorize the Director of the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance 

according to the board's requirements. The Medicaid 

authority as established by § 1902 (a) of the Social Security 

Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority for 

payments for services. 

Purpose: This regulatory action is not essential to protect the 

health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of the 

Commonwealth. However, it does protect Medicaid recipients 

in rural areas of the Commonwealth where only one managed 

care program operates. In such situations, all Medicaid 

recipients, who otherwise do not meet any of the managed 

care exemption reasons, are required to participate with the 

operating managed care program for their locality. 

Implementation of the rural exception option allows Virginia 

to adhere to the mandatory managed care requirements as set 

forth in the § 1915(b) Managed Care Waiver. 

Substance: Currently, the Medallion II regulations do not 

provide for a rural exception. Until recently, managed care 

programs operated throughout the state with the 

MEDALLION Primary Care Case Management (PCCM) 

program as the sole program in the far southwest, the 

Medallion II program with one MCO option and 

MEDALLION PCCM program in Roanoke and the 

surrounding areas, and the Medallion II program with two or 

more contracted MCOs in all other localities. Newly assigned 

recipients residing in Medallion II areas are afforded a 90-day 

period of time in which to reconsider the MCO/plan to which 

they have been assigned. If they elect to switch to the 

alternative MCO/plan during this 90-day period, they are 

permitted to do so with no penalty. After the end of the 90-

day period, however, they are locked in to receiving care 

from that MCO until the next open enrollment period. 

Revisions to 12VAC30-120-360, 12VAC30-120-370, and 

12VAC30-120-380 are being proposed to bring the Virginia 

Administrative Code in accordance with the CMS-approved 

§ 1915(b) managed care waiver. It is under this waiver that 

both the Medallion II (MCO) program and MEDALLION 

(PCCM) program operate. The waiver is renewed every two 

years with amendments requested, as needed. The proposed 

regulation changes in this document are specific to the 

Medallion II (MCO) program. 

The amendment to include the "rural" exception option (also 

referred to as the "rural option") to DMAS' § 1915(b) waiver 

application was submitted to CMS on August 13, 2009, and 

subsequently approved for an effective date of October 1, 

2009. The need for this amendment to the waiver, pursuant to 

42 CFR 438.52 (b), resulted from Virginia Premier Health 

Plan exiting from Culpeper County and leaving only one 

remaining contracted health plan (AMERIGROUP 

Community Care) in the locality. The rural exception as 

provided for in these regulations is defined as a federally 

designated area where qualifying Medallion II recipients are 

mandated to enroll in the one contracted managed care 

organization. 

12VAC30-120-360 adds a definition for the rural exception 

option, as well as for retractions as referenced in 12VAC30-

120-370 G. Other noted changes provide clarification to 

policies surrounding the rural exception area (e.g., 

preassignment and open enrollment) and point to the 

§ 1915(b) managed care waiver and Medallion II contract for 

terminology corrections or clarification in other areas of these 

regulations. The name of a sister state agency has been 

updated from the previous title of Department of Mental 

Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services to 

the new title of Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. 

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to the public 

in this regulatory action. No disadvantages to the public have 

been identified in connection with this regulation. The agency 

projects no negative issues involved in implementing this 

regulatory change. The recommended regulatory changes to 

12VAC30-120 maintains Virginia's adherence to the 

mandatory managed care requirements set forth in the 

1915(b) Managed Care Waiver; allows for Medicaid 

recipients of the Commonwealth to continue to receive 

comprehensive, cost effective, quality health care services; 

and recognizes the need for the managed care programs to 

keep pace with the changing needs of the state. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

proposed regulations will add the "rural exception" provision 

to the Medallion II program. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed regulations will 

add the "rural exception" provision to the Medallion II 

program. This proposed change is already in effect under the 

emergency regulations since December 30, 2009, and under 

Centers for Medicaid and Medicare approval of the 

amendment to the Managed Care Waiver effective October 1, 

2009. 

In the absence of the "rural exception" provision, Virginia 

Medicaid is required to offer the enrollees at least two 

contracted managed care organizations or two managed care 

programs to choose from in Medallion II areas. If, in areas 

such as Culpeper, there are not two organizations to be 
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offered to choose from, rules without the "rural exception" 

provision dictate that the enrollees in these areas receive their 

services under the fee-for-service delivery system. In order to 

avoid having to provide the services under the fee-for-service 

delivery system where there is only one contracted managed 

care organization, the proposed changes allow the Virginia 

Medicaid to enroll recipients in the one contracted managed 

care organization in the federally designated rural area.  

According to the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS), the need for this change resulted from one of the 

two contracted managed care organizations exiting Culpeper 

County and leaving only one remaining contracted health 

plan. However, the language has been drafted broadly enough 

so that any future localities needing to fall under this program 

would be included. Currently a number of other localities 

have only two contracted managed care organizations. If one 

of the managed care organizations were to leave one of these 

areas that would meet the federal designation of rural, they 

would be subject to the proposed "rural exception" provision. 

These areas include King George, Lancaster, Loudoun, 

Pittsylvania, Rockingham, Danville, Fredericksburg, 

Harrisonburg, Poquoson, Williamsburg, Charlotte, Fauquier, 

Spottsylvania, Gloucester, Isle of Wight, James City County, 

Stafford, and York. 

The main benefit of the proposed regulations is the avoided 

cost difference between feefor-service and the managed care 

delivery systems in areas where "rural exception" provision is 

applied. According to DMAS, currently Culpeper County is 

the only locality affected by the rural exception option at this 

time. In July 2010, there were 3,860 managed care enrollees 

in Culpeper. According to DMAS, average per capita 

managed care premium in rural areas is about $301.34 per 

month or $3,616.08 per year. Also, the healthcare costs under 

the managed care delivery system are estimated to be up to 

5% lower than the costs under the fee-for-service delivery 

system. Thus, the proposed regulations are estimated to save 

the Virginia Medicaid up to $697,903.40. There could be 

additional savings if more localities become subject to the 

proposed "rural exception" provision in the future. One half 

of the savings would accrue to the Commonwealth and the 

remaining half would accrue to the federal government since 

Virginia Medicaid is funded 50% by state and 50% by federal 

government. 

In addition to the fiscal savings, the managed care delivery 

system offers value added services that the fee-for-service 

system does not. These value added services may include no 

copayments for any covered service, medically necessary 

eyeglasses for certain members, medical case management, 

disease management programs, special programs to help 

control conditions like asthma and diabetes, well-adult 

checkups, 24-hour nurse line, and toll-free member services 

helpline. Another benefit for the managed care enrollees in 

the Culpeper area is being able to continue to receive their 

services from the providers of managed care network and 

avoid potential interruptions in the services they receive.  

Since the proposed regulations make it possible to provide 

services through the managed care system, these changes 

have an impact on both the networks of the managed care 

system and the fee-for-service system. The providers in the 

network of managed care organization are able to continue 

offering their services to Medicaid recipients. The fee-for-

service providers, on the other hand, are not allowed to be the 

only providers offering services to the Medicaid recipients. 

However, it is possible that some providers belong to both 

networks. The remaining proposed changes are organizational 

improvements, updating of citations, and clarification 

improvements which are not expected to create any 

significant economic effect. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 

primarily affect the Medicaid enrollees and the managed care 

provider network in the Culpeper County. There were 3,860 

enrollees and 208 healthcare providers in the managed care 

provider network in the Culpeper area in July 2010. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 

particularly affect Medicaid enrollees in Culpeper County at 

this time. There are a number of other localities that have 

only two contracted managed care organizations. If one of the 

managed care organizations were to leave one of these areas 

that would meet the federal designation of rural, they would 

be subject to the proposed "rural exception" provision. These 

areas include King George, Lancaster, Loudoun, Pittsylvania, 

Rockingham, Danville, Fredericksburg, Harrisonburg, 

Poquoson, Williamsburg, Charlotte, Fauquier, Spottsylvania, 

Gloucester, Isle of Wight, James City County, Stafford, and 

York. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulations 

make it possible for the managed care provider network in 

Culpeper County to continue to provide their services to 

Medicaid recipients and has a positive impact on their 

demand for labor. On the other hand, the proposed regulations 

prevent the fee-for-service provider network in the Culpeper 

County to start serving the same recipients and has a negative 

impact on their demand for labor. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed regulations make it possible for the managed care 

provider network in Culpeper County to continue to provide 

their services to Medicaid recipients. Maintaining the same 

level of business may help them maintain their profitability 

and help maintain their asset values. On the other hand, the 

proposed regulations prevent the fee-for-service provider 

network in the Culpeper County to start serving the same 

recipients. Since the recipients will not be forced to shift to 

the fee-for-service provider network, a potential increase in 

their revenues and therefore a potential increase in their asset 

values may be prevented. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. With the 

exception of one hospital and a large national laboratory 

corporation servicing the Culpeper area, most of the 208 

healthcare providers in the managed care provider network 
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are believed to be small businesses. The costs and other 

effects on the small businesses would be the same as 

discussed above. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There is no known alternative method that 

minimizes adverse impact that achieves the same goals. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed regulations are 

not expected to have any effect of real estate development 

costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget regarding the 

regulations concerning MCO Rural Exception Changes 

(12VAC30-120-360, 12VAC30-120-370, and 12VAC30-120-

380). 

Summary: 

This action incorporates changes that have been approved 

by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to the 

Virginia Medicaid managed care waiver program entitled 

Medallion II (MCO). The approved changes concern the 

addition of the rural exception to the Medallion II program 

in areas federally designated as "rural" where there is only 

one contracted MCO. The changes also provide for several 

organizational improvements and update internal 

citations. 

Part VI  

Medallion II  

12VAC30-120-360. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Action" means the denial or limited authorization of a 

requested service, including the type or level of service; the 

reduction, suspension, or termination of a previously 

authorized service; the denial, in whole or in part, of payment 

for a service; the failure to provide services in a timely 

manner, as defined by the state; or the failure of an MCO to 

act within the timeframes provided in 42 CFR 438.408(b).  

"Appeal" means a request for review of an action, as 

"action" is defined in this section.  

"Area of residence" means the recipient's address in the 

Medicaid eligibility file.  

"Capitation payment" means a payment the department 

makes periodically to a contractor on behalf of each recipient 

enrolled under a contract for the provision of medical services 

under the State Plan, regardless of whether the particular 

recipient receives services during the period covered by the 

payment.  

"Client," "clients," "recipient," "enrollee," or "participant" 

means an individual or individuals having current Medicaid 

eligibility who shall be authorized by DMAS to be a member 

or members of Medallion II.  

"Covered services" means Medicaid services as defined in 

the State Plan for Medical Assistance.  

"Disenrollment" means the process of changing enrollment 

from one Medallion II Managed Care Organization (MCO) 

plan to another MCO or to the Primary Care Case 

Management (PCCM) program, if applicable.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services.  

"Eligible person" means any person eligible for Virginia 

Medicaid in accordance with the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

"Emergency medical condition" means a medical condition 

manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity 

(including severe pain) that a prudent layperson, who 

possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine, 

could reasonably expect the absence of immediate medical 

attention to result in the following:  

1. Placing the health of the individual (or, with respect to a 

pregnant woman, the health of the woman or her unborn 

child) in serious jeopardy,  

2. Serious impairment to bodily functions, or  

3. Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.  

"Emergency services" means covered inpatient and 

outpatient services that are furnished by a provider that is 
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qualified to furnish these services and that are needed to 

evaluate or stabilize an emergency medical condition.  

"Enrollment broker" means an independent contractor that 

enrolls recipients in the contractor's plan and is responsible 

for the operation and documentation of a toll-free recipient 

service helpline. The responsibilities of the enrollment broker 

include, but shall not be limited to, recipient education and 

MCO enrollment, assistance with and tracking of recipients' 

complaints resolutions, and may include recipient marketing 

and outreach.  

"Exclusion from Medallion II" means the removal of an 

enrollee from the Medallion II program on a temporary or 

permanent basis.  

"External Quality Review Organization" (EQRO) is an 

organization that meets the competence and independence 

requirements set forth in 42 CFR 438.354 and performs 

external quality reviews, other EQR related activities as set 

forth in 42 CFR 438.358, or both.  

"Foster care" is a program in which a child receives either 

foster care assistance under Title IV-E of the Social Security 

Act or state and local foster care assistance.  

"Grievance" means an expression of dissatisfaction about 

any matter other than an action, as "action" is defined in this 

section.  

"Health care plan" means any arrangement in which any 

managed care organization undertakes to provide, arrange for, 

pay for, or reimburse any part of the cost of any health care 

services.  

"Health care professional" means a provider as defined in 

42 CFR 438.2.  

"Managed care organization" or "MCO" means an entity that 

meets the participation and solvency criteria defined in 

42 CFR Part 438 and has an executed contractual agreement 

with DMAS to provide services covered under the Medallion 

II program. Covered services for Medallion II individuals 

must be as accessible (in terms of timeliness, amount, 

duration, and scope) as compared to other Medicaid recipients 

served within the area.  

"Network" means doctors, hospitals or other health care 

providers who participate or contract with an MCO and, as a 

result, agree to accept a mutually-agreed upon sum or fee 

schedule as payment in full for covered services that are 

rendered to eligible participants.  

"Newborn enrollment period" means the period from the 

child's date of birth plus the next two calendar months.  

"Nonparticipating provider" means a health care entity or 

health care professional not in the contractor's participating 

provider network.  

"PCP of record" means a primary care physician of record 

with whom the recipient has an established history and such 

history is documented in the individual's records. 

"Post-stabilization care services" means covered services 

related to an emergency medical condition that are provided 

after an enrollee is stabilized in order to maintain the 

stabilized condition or to improve or resolve the enrollee's 

condition.  

"Potential enrollee" means a Medicaid recipient who is 

subject to mandatory enrollment or may voluntarily elect to 

enroll in a given managed care program, but is not yet an 

enrollee of a specific MCO or PCCM.  

"Primary care case management" or "PCCM" means a 

system under which a primary care case manager contracts 

with the Commonwealth to furnish case management services 

(which include the location, coordination, and monitoring of 

primary health care services) to Medicaid recipients. 

"Retractions" means the departure of an enrolled managed 

care organization from any one or more localities as provided 

for in 12VAC30-120-370. 

"Rural exception" means a rural area designated in the 

§ 1915(b) managed care waiver, pursuant to § 1932(a)(3)(B) 

of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR § 438.52(b) and 

recognized by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services, wherein qualifying Medallion II members are 

mandated to enroll in the one available contracted MCO. 

"School health services" means those physical therapy, 

occupational therapy, speech therapy, nursing, psychiatric and 

psychological services rendered to children who qualify for 

these services under the federal Individuals with Disabilities 

Education Act (20 USC § 1471 et seq.) by (i) employees of 

the school divisions or (ii) providers that subcontract with 

school divisions, as described in 12VAC30-50-229.1.  

"Spend-down" means the process of reducing countable 

income by deducting incurred medical expenses for medically 

needy individuals, as determined in the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance.  

12VAC30-120-370. Medallion II enrollees. 

A. DMAS shall determine enrollment in Medallion II. 

Medicaid eligible persons not meeting the exclusion criteria 

set out in this section must participate in the Medallion II 

program. Enrollment in Medallion II is not a guarantee of 

continuing eligibility for services and benefits under the 

Virginia Medical Assistance Services Program. DMAS 

reserves the right to exclude from participation in the 

Medallion II managed care program any recipient who has 

been consistently noncompliant with the policies and 

procedures of managed care or who is threatening to 

providers, MCOs, or DMAS. There must be sufficient 

documentation from various providers, the MCO, and DMAS 

of these noncompliance issues and any attempts at resolution. 

Recipients excluded from Medallion II through this provision 

may appeal the decision to DMAS. 

B. The following individuals shall be excluded (as defined 

in 12VAC30-120-360) from participating in Medallion II or 

will be disenrolled from Medallion II if any of the following 
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apply. Individuals not meeting the exclusion criteria must 

participate in the Medallion II program. as defined in the 

§ 1915(b) managed care waiver. Individuals excluded from 

Medallion II include the following:  

1. Individuals who are inpatients in state mental hospitals; 

2. Individuals who are approved by DMAS as inpatients in 

long-stay hospitals, nursing facilities, or intermediate care 

facilities for the mentally retarded; 

3. Individuals who are placed on spend-down; 

4. Individuals who are participating in the family planning 

waiver, or in federal waiver programs for home-based and 

community-based Medicaid coverage prior to managed 

care enrollment; 

5. Individuals who are participating in foster care or 

subsidized adoption programs; 

6. Individuals under age 21 who are either enrolled in 

DMAS authorized treatment foster care programs as 

defined in 12VAC30-60-170 A, or who are approved for 

DMAS residential facility Level C programs as defined in 

12VAC30-130-860; 

7. Newly eligible individuals who are in the third trimester 

of pregnancy and who request exclusion within a 

department-specified timeframe of the effective date of 

their MCO enrollment. Exclusion may be granted only if 

the member's obstetrical provider (e.g., physician, hospital, 

midwife) does not participate with the enrollee's assigned 

MCO. Exclusion requests made during the third trimester 

may be made by the recipient, MCO, or provider. DMAS 

shall determine if the request meets the criteria for 

exclusion. Following the end of the pregnancy, these 

individuals shall be required to enroll to the extent they 

remain eligible for Medicaid; 

8. Individuals, other than students, who permanently live 

outside their area of residence for greater than 60 

consecutive days except those individuals placed there for 

medically necessary services funded by the MCO; 

9. Individuals who receive hospice services in accordance 

with DMAS criteria; 

10. Individuals with other comprehensive group or 

individual health insurance coverage, including Medicare, 

insurance provided to military dependents, and any other 

insurance purchased through the Health Insurance 

Premium Payment Program (HIPP); 

11. Individuals requesting exclusion who are inpatients in 

hospitals, other than those listed in subdivisions 1 and 2 of 

this subsection, at the scheduled time of MCO enrollment 

or who are scheduled for inpatient hospital stay or surgery 

within 30 calendar days of the MCO enrollment effective 

date. The exclusion shall remain effective until the first day 

of the month following discharge. This exclusion reason 

shall not apply to recipients admitted to the hospital while 

already enrolled in a department-contracted MCO;  

12. Individuals who request exclusion during 

preassignment to an MCO or within a time set by DMAS 

from the effective date of their MCO enrollment, who have 

been diagnosed with a terminal condition and who have a 

life expectancy of six months or less. The client's physician 

must certify the life expectancy; 

13. Certain individuals between birth and age three 

certified by the Department of Mental Health, Mental 

Retardation and Substance Abuse Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services as eligible for services pursuant to 

Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act 

(20 USC § 1471 et seq.) who are granted an exception by 

DMAS to the mandatory Medallion II enrollment; 

14. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is less 

than three months; 

15. Individuals who are enrolled in the Commonwealth's 

Title XXI SCHIP program; 

16. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is only 

retroactive; and 

17. Children enrolled in the Virginia Birth-Related 

Neurological Injury Compensation Program established 

pursuant to Chapter 50 (§ 38.2-5000 et seq.) of Title 38.2 

of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Individuals enrolled with a MCO who subsequently meet 

one or more of the aforementioned criteria during MCO 

enrollment shall be excluded from MCO participation as 

determined by DMAS, with the exception of those who 

subsequently become recipients in the federal long-term care 

waiver programs, as otherwise defined elsewhere in this 

chapter, for home-based and community-based Medicaid 

coverage (AIDS, IFDDS, MR, EDCD, Day Support, or 

Alzheimers Alzheimer's, or as may be amended from time to 

time). These individuals shall receive acute and primary 

medical services via the MCO and shall receive waiver 

services and related transportation to waiver services via the 

fee-for-service program. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 

enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the current 

fee-for-service system. When enrollees no longer meet the 

criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to enroll in the 

appropriate managed care program. 

D. Individuals who are enrolled in localities that qualify for 

the rural exception may meet exclusion criteria if their PCP of 

record, as defined in 12VAC30-120-360, cannot or will not 

participate with the one MCO in the locality. Individual 

requests to be excluded from MCO participation in localities 

meeting the qualification for the rural exception must be 

made to DMAS for consideration on a case-by-case basis. 

Recipients enrolled in MCO rural exception areas shall not 

have open enrollment periods and shall not be afforded the 

90-day window after initial enrollment during which they 

may make a health plan or program change. 
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Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 

enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the current 

fee-for-service system. When enrollees no longer meet the 

criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to enroll in the 

appropriate managed care program. 

D. E. Medallion II managed care plans shall be offered to 

recipients, and recipients shall be enrolled in those plans, 

exclusively through an independent enrollment broker under 

contract to DMAS. 

E. F. Clients shall be enrolled as follows: 

1. All eligible persons, except those meeting one of the 

exclusions of subsection B of this section, shall be enrolled 

in Medallion II. 

2. Clients shall receive a Medicaid card from DMAS, and 

shall be provided authorized medical care in accordance 

with DMAS' procedures after Medicaid eligibility has been 

determined to exist. 

3. Once individuals are enrolled in Medicaid, they will 

receive a letter indicating that they may select one of the 

contracted MCOs. These letters shall indicate a 

preassigned MCO, determined as provided in subsection F 

of this section, in which the client will be enrolled if he 

does not make a selection within a period specified by 

DMAS of not less than 30 days. Recipients who are 

enrolled in one mandatory MCO program who 

immediately become eligible for another mandatory MCO 

program are able to maintain consistent enrollment with 

their currently assigned MCO, if available. These 

recipients will receive a notification letter including 

information regarding their ability to change health plans 

under the new program. 

4. Any newborn whose mother is enrolled with an MCO at 

the time of birth shall be considered an enrollee of that 

same MCO for the newborn enrollment period. The 

newborn enrollment period is defined as the birth month 

plus two months following the birth month. This 

requirement does not preclude the enrollee, once he is 

assigned a Medicaid identification number, from 

disenrolling from one MCO to another in accordance with 

subdivision G H 1 of this section. 

The newborn's continued enrollment with the MCO is not 

contingent upon the mother's enrollment. Additionally, if 

the MCO's contract is terminated in whole or in part, the 

MCO shall continue newborn coverage if the child is born 

while the contract is active, until the newborn receives a 

Medicaid number or for the newborn enrollment period, 

whichever timeframe is earlier. Infants who do not receive 

a Medicaid identification number prior to the end of the 

newborn enrollment period will be disenrolled. Newborns 

who remain eligible for participation in Medallion II will 

be reenrolled in an MCO through the preassignment 

process upon receiving a Medicaid identification number. 

5. Individuals who lose then regain eligibility for 

Medallion II within 60 days will be reenrolled into their 

previous MCO without going through preassignment and 

selection. 

F. G. Clients who do not select an MCO as described in 

subdivision E 3 F 3 of this section shall be assigned to an 

MCO as follows: 

1. Clients are assigned through a system algorithm based 

upon the client's history with a contracted MCO. 

2. Clients not assigned pursuant to subdivision 1 of this 

subsection shall be assigned to the MCO of another family 

member, if applicable. 

3. Clients who live in rural exception areas as defined in 

12VAC30-120-360 must enroll with the one available 

MCO. These persons shall receive a preassignment 

notification for enrollment into the MCO. Individuals in 

rural exception areas who are assigned to the one MCO 

may request exclusion from MCO participation if their 

PCP of record, as defined in 12VAC30-120-360, cannot or 

will not participate with the one MCO in the locality. 

Individual requests to be excluded from MCO participation 

in rural exception localities must be made to DMAS for 

consideration on a case-by-case basis. 

3. 4. All other clients shall be assigned to an MCO on a 

basis of approximately equal number by MCO in each 

locality. 

4. In areas where there is only one contracted MCO, 

recipients have a choice of enrolling with the contracted 

MCO or the PCCM program.  All eligible recipients in 

areas where one contracted MCO exists, however, are 

automatically assigned to the contracted MCO. Individuals 

are allowed 90 days after the effective date of new or 

initial enrollment to change from either the contracted 

MCO to the PCCM program or vice versa. 

5. Recipients in areas where there is only one contracted 

MCO and the PCCM program are automatically assigned 

to the contracted MCO, but are allowed 90 days after the 

effective date of new or initial enrollment to change from 

either the contracted MCO to the PCCM program, or vice 

versa. Recipients residing in localities qualifying for rural 

exception shall not be afforded the 90-day window after 

initial enrollment during which they may make a health 

plan or program change, 

5. 6. DMAS shall have the discretion to utilize an alternate 

strategy for enrollment or transition of enrollment from the 

method described in this section for expansions, 

retractions, or changes to new client populations, new 

geographical areas, expansion through procurement 

procurements, or any or all of these; such alternate strategy 

shall comply with federal waiver requirements. 

G. H. Following their initial enrollment into an MCO or 

PCCM program, recipients shall be restricted to the MCO or 

PCCM program until the next open enrollment period, unless 
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appropriately disenrolled or excluded by the department (as 

defined in 12VAC30-120-360). 

1. During the first 90 calendar days of enrollment in a new 

or initial MCO, a client may disenroll from that MCO to 

enroll into another MCO or into PCCM, if applicable, for 

any reason. Such disenrollment shall be effective no later 

than the first day of the second month after the month in 

which the client requests disenrollment. 

2. During the remainder of the enrollment period, the client 

may only disenroll from one MCO into another MCO or 

PCCM, if applicable, upon determination by DMAS that 

good cause exists as determined under subsection I of this 

section. 

H. I. The department shall conduct an annual open 

enrollment for all Medallion II participants with the exception 

of those clients who live in a designated rural exception area. 

The open enrollment period shall be the 60 calendar days 

before the end of the enrollment period. Prior to the open 

enrollment period, DMAS will inform the recipient of the 

opportunity to remain with the current MCO or change to 

another MCO, without cause, for the following year. In areas 

with only one contracted MCO and where the PCCM 

program is available, recipients will be given the opportunity 

to select either the MCO or the PCCM program. Enrollment 

selections will be effective on the first day of the next month 

following the open enrollment period. Recipients who do not 

make a choice during the open enrollment period will remain 

with their current MCO selection. 

I. J. Disenrollment for cause may be requested at any time. 

1. After the first 90 days of enrollment in an MCO, clients 

must request disenrollment from DMAS based on cause. 

The request may be made orally or in writing to DMAS 

and must cite the reasons why the client wishes to 

disenroll. Cause for disenrollment shall include the 

following: 

a. A recipient's desire to seek services from a federally 

qualified health center which is not under contract with 

the recipient's current MCO, and the recipient (i) requests 

a change to another MCO that subcontracts with the 

desired federally qualified health center or (ii) requests a 

change to the PCCM, if the federally qualified health 

center is contracting directly with DMAS as a PCCM; 

b. Performance or nonperformance of service to the 

recipient by an MCO or one or more of its providers 

which is deemed by the department's external quality 

review organizations to be below the generally accepted 

community practice of health care. This may include 

poor quality care; 

c. Lack of access to a PCP or necessary specialty services 

covered under the State Plan or lack of access to 

providers experienced in dealing with the enrollee's 

health care needs; 

d. A client has a combination of complex medical factors 

that, in the sole discretion of DMAS, would be better 

served under another contracted MCO or PCCM 

program, if applicable, or provider; 

e. The enrollee moves out of the MCO's service area; 

f. The MCO does not, because of moral or religious 

objections, cover the service the enrollee seeks; 

g. The enrollee needs related services to be performed at 

the same time; not all related services are available 

within the network, and the enrollee's primary care 

provider or another provider determines that receiving 

the services separately would subject the enrollee to 

unnecessary risk; or 

h. Other reasons as determined by DMAS through 

written policy directives. 

2. DMAS shall determine whether cause exists for 

disenrollment. Written responses shall be provided within a 

timeframe set by department policy; however, the effective 

date of an approved disenrollment shall be no later than the 

first day of the second month following the month in which 

the enrollee files the request, in compliance with 42 CFR 

438.56. 

3. Cause for disenrollment shall be deemed to exist and the 

disenrollment shall be granted if DMAS fails to take final 

action on a valid request prior to the first day of the second 

month after the request. 

4. The DMAS determination concerning cause for 

disenrollment may be appealed by the client in accordance 

with the department's client appeals process at 12VAC30-

110-10 through 12VAC30-110-380. 

5. The current MCO shall provide, within two working 

days of a request from DMAS, information necessary to 

determine cause. 

6. Individuals enrolled with a MCO who subsequently 

meet one or more of the exclusions in subsection B of this 

section during MCO enrollment shall be disenrolled 

excluded as appropriate by DMAS, with the exception of 

those who subsequently become recipients into the AIDS, 

IFDDS, MR MR/ID, EDCD, Day Support, or Alzheimer's 

federal waiver programs for home-based and community-

based Medicaid coverage. These individuals shall receive 

acute and primary medical services via the MCO and shall 

receive waiver services and related transportation to waiver 

services via the fee-for-service program. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 

enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the 

current fee-for-service system. When enrollees no longer 

meet the criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to 

enroll in the appropriate managed care program. 

12VAC30-120-380. Medallion II MCO responsibilities. 

A. The MCO shall provide, at a minimum, all medically 

necessary covered services provided under the State Plan for 
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Medical Assistance and further defined by written DMAS 

regulations, policies and instructions, except as otherwise 

modified or excluded in this part. 

1. Nonemergency services provided by hospital emergency 

departments shall be covered by MCOs in accordance with 

rates negotiated between the MCOs and the emergency 

departments. 

2. Services that shall be provided outside the MCO 

network shall include those services identified and defined 

by the contract between DMAS and the MCO. Services 

reimbursed by DMAS include, but shall not be limited to, 

dental and orthodontic services for children up to age 21; 

for all others, dental services (as described in 12VAC30-

50-190), school health services (as defined in 12VAC30-

120-360), community mental health services 

(rehabilitative, targeted case management and the 

following substance abuse treatment services: emergency 

services (crisis); intensive outpatient services; day 

treatment services; substance abuse case management 

services; and opioid treatment services), as defined in 

12VAC30-50-228 and 12VAC30-50-491,and long-term 

care services provided under the § 1915(c) home-based and 

community-based waivers including related transportation 

to such authorized waiver services.  

3. The MCOs shall pay for emergency services and family 

planning services and supplies whether they are provided 

inside or outside the MCO network. 

B. Except for those services specifically carved out in 

subsection A of this section, EPSDT services shall be covered 

by the MCO and defined by the contract between DMAS and 

the MCO. The MCO shall have the authority to determine the 

provider of service for EPSDT screenings. 

C. The MCOs shall report data to DMAS under the contract 

requirements, which may include data reports, report cards 

for clients, and ad hoc quality studies performed by the MCO 

or third parties. 

D. Documentation requirements. 

1. The MCO shall maintain records as required by federal 

and state law and regulation and by DMAS policy. The 

MCO shall furnish such required information to DMAS, 

the Attorney General of Virginia or his authorized 

representatives, or the State Medicaid Fraud Control Unit 

on request and in the form requested. 

2. Each MCO shall have written policies regarding enrollee 

rights and shall comply with any applicable federal and 

state laws that pertain to enrollee rights and shall ensure 

that its staff and affiliated providers take those rights into 

account when furnishing services to enrollees in 

accordance with 42 CFR 438.100. 

E. The MCO shall ensure that the health care provided to its 

clients meets all applicable federal and state mandates, 

community standards for quality, and standards developed 

pursuant to the DMAS managed care quality program. 

F. The MCOs shall promptly provide or arrange for the 

provision of all required services as specified in the contract 

between the state and the contractor. Medical evaluations 

shall be available within 48 hours for urgent care and within 

30 calendar days for routine care. On-call clinicians shall be 

available 24 hours per day, seven days per week. 

G. The MCOs must meet standards specified by DMAS for 

sufficiency of provider networks as specified in the contract 

between the state and the contractor. 

H. Each MCO and its subcontractors shall have in place, and 

follow, written policies and procedures for processing 

requests for initial and continuing authorizations of service. 

Each MCO and its subcontractors shall ensure that any 

decision to deny a service authorization request or to 

authorize a service in an amount, duration, or scope that is 

less than requested, be made by a health care professional 

who has appropriate clinical expertise in treating the 

enrollee's condition or disease. Each MCO and its 

subcontractors shall have in effect mechanisms to ensure 

consistent application of review criteria for authorization 

decisions and shall consult with the requesting provider when 

appropriate. 

I. In accordance with 42 CFR 447.50 through 42 CFR 

447.60, MCOs shall not impose any cost sharing obligations 

on enrollees except as set forth in 12VAC30-20-150 and 

12VAC30-20-160. 

J. An MCO may not prohibit, or otherwise restrict, a health 

care professional acting within the lawful scope of practice, 

from advising or advocating on behalf of an enrollee who is 

his patient in accordance with 42 CFR 438.102. 

K. An MCO that would otherwise be required to reimburse 

for or provide coverage of a counseling or referral service is 

not required to do so if the MCO objects to the service on 

moral or religious grounds and furnishes information about 

the service it does not cover in accordance with 42 CFR 

438.102. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2004; Filed September 4, 2012, 11:56 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 

(adding 12VAC30-120-199, 12VAC30-120-990).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: September 4, 2012, through September 3, 

2013. 

Agency Contact: Melissa Fritzman, Project Manager, 

Division of Long Term Care Services, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-4206, FAX (804) 

612-0040, or email melissa.fritzman@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The department is promulgating these emergency 

regulations to comply with Chapter 890, Item 297 CCCCC 

of the 2011 Acts of Assembly, The department's waiver 
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programs, prior to this mandate, did not limit personal 

care services. The legislative mandate requires the 

department to limit personal care services to 56 hours per 

week and develop criteria by which a waiver individual 

could qualify for more than 56 hours of personal care 

services in a week. The department has initiated the new 

limit of 56 hours of personal care services in a separate 

final exempt regulatory action. 

The Children's Mental Health Waiver and Alzheimer's 

Assisted Living Waiver are not included in this regulatory 

action because those waivers do not cover personal care 

services. The only Medicaid waivers that are covered by 

this mandate that do cover personal care services are the 

HIV/AIDS and Elderly or Disabled with Consumer 

Direction waivers. 

12VAC30-120-199. Exception criteria for personal care 

services. 

DMAS shall apply the following criteria to individuals who 

request approval of more personal care hours than the 

maximum allowed 56 hours per week. The waiver individual 

shall: 

1. Presently have a minimum level of care of B (the waiver 

individual's composite Activities of Daily Living (ADL) 

score is between seven and 12 and have a medical nursing 

need) or C (the waiver individual's composite ADL score is 

nine or higher and have a skilled medical nursing need). 

2. In addition to meeting the requirements set out in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection, the individual shall have 

one or more of the following:  

a. Documentation of dependencies in all of the following 

activities of daily living: bathing, dressing, transferring, 

toileting, and eating/feeding, as defined by the current 

pre-admission screening criteria (submitted to the service 

authorization contractor via DMAS-99);  

b. Documentation of dependencies in both Behavior and 

Orientation as defined by the current pre-admission 

screening criteria (submitted to the service authorization 

contractor via DMAS-99); or 

c. Documentation from the local Department of Social 

Services that the individual has an open case with either 

Adult Protective Services (APS) or Child Protective 

Services (CPS) (as described in subdivisions (1) and (2) 

of this subdivision) and is in need of additional services 

above the 56 hour per week cap. Documentation can be 

in the form of a phone log contact or any other 

documentation supplied (submitted to the service 

authorization contractor via attestation). 

(1) For APS: Is defined as a substantiated APS case with 

a disposition of needs protective services and the adult 

accepts the needed services. 

(2) For CPS: Is defined as being open to CPS 

investigation if it is both founded by the investigation 

and the completed family assessment documents the case 

with moderate or high risk.  

12VAC30-120-990. Exception criteria for personal care 

services. 

DMAS shall apply the following criteria to individuals who 

request approval of more personal care hours than the 

maximum allowed 56 hours per week. The waiver individual 

shall: 

1. Presently have a minimum level of care of B (the waiver 

individual's composite Activities of Daily Living (ADL) 

score is between seven and 12 and have a medical nursing 

need) or C (the waiver individual's composite ADL score is 

nine or higher and have a skilled medical nursing need). 

2. In addition to meeting the requirements set out in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection, the individual shall have 

one or more of the following:  

a. Documentation of dependencies in all of the following 

activities of daily living: bathing, dressing, transferring, 

toileting, and eating/feeding, as defined by the current 

pre-admission screening criteria (submitted to the service 

authorization contractor via DMAS-99);  

b. Documentation of dependencies in both Behavior and 

Orientation as defined by the current pre-admission 

screening criteria (submitted to the service authorization 

contractor via DMAS-99); or 

c. Documentation from the local Department of Social 

Services that the individual has an open case with either 

Adult Protective Services (APS) or Child Protective 

Services (CPS) (as described in subdivisions (1) and (2) 

of this subdivsion) and is in need of additional services 

above the 56 hour per week cap. Documentation can be 

in the form of a phone log contact or any other 

documentation supplied (submitted to the service 

authorization contractor via attestation). 

(1) For APS: Is defined as a substantiated APS case with 

a disposition of needs protective services and the adult 

accepts the needed services. 

(2) For CPS: Is defined as being open to CPS 

investigation if it is both founded by the investigation 

and the completed family assessment documents the case 

with moderate or high risk. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2812; Filed September 4, 2012, 12:35 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Enactments 59 through 71 of 

Chapters 803 and 835 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 24, 2012 

281 

abolished the Department for the Aging and transferred its 

regulations to the newly created Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services effective July 1, 2012. The following 

action transfers the Department for the Aging regulation 

numbered 22VAC5-20 to the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services and renumbers the regulation as 

22VAC30-60. 

This regulatory action is excluded from the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2- 4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Department of Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-60. Grants to Area Agencies 

on Aging (adding 22VAC30-60-10 through 22VAC30-60-

590).  

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 3001 et seq. 

Effective Date: October 24, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Ph.D., CRC, Policy 

Analyst, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 662-7612, FAX (804) 662-7663, TTY (800) 464-9950, 

or email vanessa.rakestraw@dars.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

All references to the Department for the Aging have been 

changed to the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services to reflect the name of the new agency that has 

been created to assume the powers of the former 

Department of Rehabilitative Services and the Department 

for the Aging. This new agency was created as a result of 

the Governor's reorganization of the Executive Branch of 

state government. In addition to the agency name change, 

the agency and chapter numbers to each section of the 

regulation have been changed as a result of the regulation 

being promulgated by the newly created agency. Also, the 

citation to the Code of Virginia, which authorizes each 

section of this regulation to be promulgated, has been 

changed to the code number of the new agency. 

CHAPTER 20 60 

GRANTS TO AREA AGENCIES ON AGING  

Part I 

Introduction 

22VAC5-20-10. 22VAC30-60-10. Purpose. 

This chapter prescribes requirements which Area Agencies 

on Aging shall meet to receive federal and state funds to 

develop comprehensive and coordinated systems for the 

delivery of supportive and nutrition services under Title III of 

the Older Americans Act, as amended (42 USC § 3001 et 

seq.). These requirements include:  

1. Designation and responsibilities of an Area Agency on 

Aging;  

2. Development and implementation of an Area Plan for 

Aging Services;  

3. Administration of grants and contracts from the Virginia 

Department for the Aging Virginia Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services; and  

4. Operation of substate long-term care ombudsman 

programs.  

22VAC5-20-20. 22VAC30-60-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Access services" means services associated with access to 

other services, such as care coordination, information and 

assistance and transportation services.  

"Area" means the planning and service area served by an 

Area Agency on Aging.  

"Area Agency on Aging" means the public or private 

nonprofit agency created pursuant to the federal Older 

Americans Act of 1965, as amended (42 USC § 3001 et seq.) 

and incorporated by reference in this chapter, which has 

submitted an approved Area Plan and is designated by 

contract with the Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services to develop 

and administer its area plan as approved for a comprehensive 

and coordinated system of services for older persons.  

"Area Plan for Aging Services" means the document 

submitted by an area agency to and approved by the Virginia 

Department for the Aging Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services, as the scope of services in the 

executed contract, in order to receive funding under the Older 

Americans Act, as amended.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 

Department for the Aging. Virginia Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services. 

"Complaint" means any written or oral allegation regarding 

(i) an action, inaction, or decision of a provider which 

adversely affects the rights, health, welfare, or safety of the 

person complaining or the recipient of services, or (ii) a 

violation of the regulations, policies or procedures which 

govern long-term care services, brought by or on behalf of a 

resident of a long-term care facility, regardless of age, or a 

recipient of long-term care services provided in the 

community who is at least 60 years of age.  

"Complaint counseling" means information, guidance, and 

support to enable the complainant or the recipient of services 

to attempt to resolve the complaint or concern himself, if he 

so chooses or is able, by utilizing the complaint handling 

procedures of the long-term care facility or long-term care 

service provider.  
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"Contract" means the document of agreement wherein the 

Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services designates the contractor 

as the duly funded Area Agency on Aging, consistent with 

the federally approved State Plan for Aging Services, in 

consideration for which the area agency assures its specific 

performance of functions and services pursuant to the 

approved area plan.  

"Frail" means having a physical or mental disability, 

including having Alzheimer's disease or a related disorder 

with neurological or organic brain dysfunction, which 

restricts the ability of an individual to perform normal daily 

tasks or which threatens the capacity of an individual to live 

independently.  

"Government-sponsored area agencies or area agencies 

sponsored by governmental entities" means area agencies 

created as units of general purpose local governments, area 

agencies created through the joint exercise of powers, and 

area agencies created as units of community services boards. 

Included under this category of Area Agencies on Aging are: 

District Three Governmental Cooperative trading as District 

Three Senior Services, New River Valley Agency on Aging, 

Alexandria Agency on Aging, Arlington Agency on Aging, 

Fairfax Area Agency on Aging, Loudoun County Area 

Agency on Aging, Prince William Area Agency on Aging, 

Rappahannock-Rapidan Community Services Board, 

Jefferson Area Board for Aging, Lake Country Area Agency 

on Aging, and Crater District Area Agency on Aging. In 

instances where governmental-sponsored agencies need to be 

differentiated by their status as free-standing joint-exercise-

of-powers agencies or units of a governmental entity, it has 

been so denoted.  

"Grant" means an award of financial assistance in the form 

of money, or property instead of money, by the Virginia 

Department for the Aging Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services to an Area Agency on Aging. The 

term includes such financial assistance when provided by 

contract.  

"Grantee" or "contractor" means the government, nonprofit 

corporation, or other legal entity to which a grant is awarded 

and which is accountable to the Virginia Department for the 

Aging Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services for the use of the funds provided.  

"Greatest economic need" means the need resulting from an 

income level at or below the poverty level established by the 

federal Office of Management and Budget.  

"Greatest social need" means the need caused by 

noneconomic factors which include physical and mental 

disabilities, language barriers, and cultural, social, or 

geographical isolation, including that caused by racial or 

ethnic status, which restricts an individual's ability to perform 

normal daily tasks or which threatens such individual's 

capacity to live independently.  

"In-home services" means (i) homemaker/personal care 

services, (ii) chore services, (iii) home health services, (iv) 

checking services, (v) residential repair and renovation 

services, and (vi) in-home respite care for families and adult 

day care as a respite service for families.  

"Long-term care facility" means any facility outside of the 

service recipient's home in which two or more unrelated 

persons receive long-term care services, including, but not 

limited to, nursing homes licensed by the Department of 

Health, assisted living facilities licensed by the Department of 

Social Services, and geriatric treatment centers licensed by 

the Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 

Substance Abuse Services Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services. 

"Long-term care services" means diagnostic, preventive, 

therapeutic, rehabilitative, supportive, and maintenance 

services provided on a recurring or continuous basis for the 

purpose of (i) minimizing the effects of illness or disability, 

or both, (ii) assisting a person to maintain his highest level of 

functioning, or (iii) maintaining or restoring independence. 

Such services may be provided in the recipient's home or in a 

community setting such as a long-term care facility.  

"Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman" means 

the program administered and funded by the Virginia 

Department for the Aging Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services, which serves as a point of entry, 

whereby a complaint is received, investigated or referred for 

investigation, and resolved.  

"Older person" or "elderly" or "older individual" means any 

individual who is 60 years of age or older.  

"Planning and service area (PSA)" means a geographic area 

of the Commonwealth which is designated for purposes of 

planning, development, delivery, and overall administration 

of services under an area plan. Unless otherwise exempted, 

such planning and service areas shall be coterminous with the 

planning districts established by the Virginia Department of 

Planning and Budget, pursuant to §§ 2.2-1501 and 15.2-4202 

of the Code of Virginia.  

"Private nonprofit Area Agency on Aging" means those area 

agencies created independently of a local governing body or 

bodies. They include Mountain Empire Older Citizens, 

Appalachian Agency for Senior Citizens, League of Older 

Americans trading as LOA-Area Agency on Aging, Valley 

Program for Aging Services, Shenandoah Area Agency on 

Aging, Central Virginia Area Agency on Aging, Southern 

Area Agency on Aging, Piedmont Senior Resources Area 

Agency on Aging, Senior Connections, The Capital Area 

Agency on Aging, Rappahannock Area Agency on Aging, 

Bay Aging, Southeastern Virginia Areawide Model Program 

trading as Senior Services of Southeastern Virginia, Peninsula 

Agency on Aging, and Eastern Shore Area Agency on 

Aging/Community Action Agency.  

"Subgrant" means an award of financial assistance in the 

form of money, or property instead of money, made under a 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 24, 2012 

283 

grant by an Area Agency on Aging to an eligible subgrantee. 

The term includes such financial assistance when provided by 

contract.  

"Subgrantee" or "subcontractor" means the government, 

nonprofit corporation, or other legal entity to which a grant is 

awarded and which is accountable to an Area Agency on 

Aging for the use of the funds provided.  

"Substate Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program" means an 

organizational unit within an Area Agency on Aging which 

the Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia Department 

for Aging and Rehabilitative Services designates, through 

contract with the Area Agency on Aging, to fulfill the duties 

of the Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman in a 

specific geographic area.  

"Unit of general purpose local government" means a 

political subdivision of the state whose authority is general 

and not limited to only one function or combination of related 

functions.  

22VAC5-20-30. 22VAC30-60-30. Applicability of other 

regulations. 

Several other regulations apply to all activities conducted 

with Title III funds. These include, but are not limited to:  

1. 45 CFR Part 1321: Grants to State and Community 

Programs on Aging;  

2. 45 CFR Part 74: Uniform Administrative Requirements 

for Awards and Subawards to Institutions of Higher 

Education, Hospitals, Other Nonprofit Organizations, and 

Commercial Organizations; and Certain Grants and 

Agreements with States, Local Government and Indian 

Tribal Governments; and  

3. 45 CFR Part 84: Nondiscrimination on the Basis of 

Handicap in Programs and Activities Receiving Federal 

Financial Assistance.  

Part II 

Area Agencies on Aging 

22VAC5-20-40. 22VAC30-60-40. Planning and service 

areas.  

A. The following are currently accepted as Virginia's 

Planning and Service Areas for purposes of execution of the 

provisions of 42 USC § 3001 et seq. (the "Older Americans 

Act") and the federal regulations promulgated thereunder 

(45 CFR Part 1321). The respective Area Agencies on Aging, 

under contract with the Virginia Department for the Aging 

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services as 

of the date of these regulations, are named herein for 

identification but may be subject to change, pursuant to 

22VAC5-20-50 22VAC30-60-50.  

Planning and Service Area 1  

Mountain Empire Older Citizens, Inc  

Wise, Virginia  

Serves Lee, Scott, and Wise counties; the City of Norton.  

Planning and Service Area 2  

Appalachian Agency for Senior Citizens, Inc.  

Richlands, Virginia  

Serves Buchanan, Dickenson, Russell, and Tazewell 

counties.  

Planning and Service Area 3  

District III Governmental Cooperative  

Marion, Virginia  

Serves Bland, Carroll, Grayson, Smyth, Washington, and 

Wythe counties the cities of Bristol and Galax.  

Planning and Service Area 4  

New River Valley Agency on Aging  

Pulaski, Virginia  

Serves Floyd, Giles, Montgomery, and Pulaski counties; the 

City of Radford.  

Planning and Service Area 5  

League of Older Americans, Inc. trading as LOA-Area 

Agency on Aging,  

Roanoke, Virginia  

Serves Alleghany, Botetourt, Craig, and Roanoke counties; 

the cities of Covington, Roanoke, and Salem.  

Planning and Service Area 6  

Valley Program for Aging Services, Inc.  

Waynesboro, Virginia  

Serves Augusta, Bath, Highland, Rockbridge, and 

Rockingham counties; the cities of Buena Vista, 

Harrisonburg, Lexington, Staunton, and Waynesboro.  

Planning and Service Area 7  

Shenandoah Area Agency on Aging, Inc.  

Front Royal, Virginia  

Serves Clarke, Frederick, Page, Shenandoah, and Warren 

counties; the City of Winchester.  

Planning and Service Area 8A  

City of Alexandria (Alexandria Agency on Aging)  

Alexandria, Virginia  

Serves the City of Alexandria.  

Planning and Service Area 8B  

Arlington County (Arlington Agency on Aging)  

Arlington, Virginia  

Serves Arlington County.  

Planning and Service Area 8C  

Fairfax County (Fairfax Area Agency on Aging)  

Fairfax, Virginia  

Serves Fairfax County; the cities of Fairfax and Falls 

Church.  

Planning and Service Area 8D  

Loudoun County (Loudoun County Area Agency on Aging)  

Leesburg, Virginia  

Serves Loudoun County.  
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Planning and Service Area 8E  

Prince William County (Prince William Area Agency on 

Aging)  

Manassas, Virginia  

Serves Prince William County; the cities of Manassas and 

Manassas Park.  

Planning and Service Area 9  

Rappahannock-Rapidan Community Services Board  

Culpeper, Virginia  

Serves Culpeper, Fauquier, Madison, Orange, and 

Rappahannock counties.  

Planning and Service Area 10  

Jefferson Area Board for Aging  

Charlottesville, Virginia  

Serves Albemarle, Fluvanna, Greene, Louisa, and Nelson 

counties; the City of Charlottesville.  

Planning and Service Area 11  

Central Virginia Area Agency on Aging, Inc.  

Lynchburg, Virginia  

Serves Amherst, Appomattox, Bedford, and Campbell 

counties; the cities of Bedford and Lynchburg.  

Planning and Service Area 12  

Southern Area Agency on Aging, Inc.  

Martinsville, Virginia  

Serves Franklin, Henry, Patrick, and Pittsylvania counties; 

the cities of Danville and Martinsville.  

Planning and Service Area 13  

Lake Country Area Agency on Aging  

South Hill, Virginia  

Serves Brunswick, Halifax, and Mecklenburg counties.  

Planning and Service Area 14  

Piedmont Senior Resources Area Agency on Aging, Inc.  

Burkeville, Virginia  

Serves Amelia, Buckingham, Charlotte, Cumberland, 

Lunenburg, Nottoway, and Prince Edward counties.  

Planning and Service Area 15  

Senior Connections, The Capital Area Agency on Aging, 

Inc.  

Richmond, Virginia  

Serves Charles City, Chesterfield, Goochland, Hanover, 

Henrico, New Kent, and Powhatan counties; the City of 

Richmond.  

Planning and Service Area 16  

Rappahannock Area Agency on Aging, Inc.  

Fredericksburg, Virginia  

Serves Caroline, King George, Spotsylvania, and Stafford 

counties; the City of Fredericksburg.  

Planning and Service Area 17/18  

Bay Aging  

Urbanna, Virginia  

Serves Essex, Gloucester, King and Queen, King William, 

Lancaster, Mathews, Middlesex, Northumberland, 

Richmond, and Westmoreland counties.  

Planning and Service Area 19  

Crater District Area Agency on Aging  

Petersburg, Virginia  

Serves Dinwiddie, Greensville, Prince George, Surry, and 

Sussex counties; the cities of Colonial Heights, Emporia, 

Hopewell, and Petersburg.  

Planning and Service Area 20  

Southeastern Virginia Areawide Model Program, Inc. 

trading as Senior Services of Southeastern Virginia  

Norfolk, Virginia  

Serves Isle of Wight and Southampton counties; the cities 

of Chesapeake, Franklin, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Suffolk, and 

Virginia Beach.  

Planning and Service Area 21  

Peninsula Agency on Aging, Inc.  

Newport News, Virginia  

Serves James City and York counties; the cities of 

Hampton, Newport News, Poquoson, and Williamsburg.  

Planning and Service Area 22  

Eastern Shore Area Agency on Aging/Community Action 

Agency, Inc.  

Onancock, Virginia  

Serves Accomack and Northampton counties.  

B. Pursuant to 42 USC § 3025(a)(1)(E) and (b)(1) of the 

Older Americans Act, as amended, the Department for the 

Aging Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, in 

its discretion, has established that the boundaries for planning 

and service areas (PSAs) will be coterminous with the 

boundaries of the planning districts established by the 

Department of Planning and Budget, except that:  

1. Within the boundaries of Planning District 8, the 

Department for the Aging Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services has established five planning and 

service areas with the concurrence of the local governing 

bodies; and  

2. The Department for the Aging Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services has combined Planning 

Districts 17 and 18 into one planning and service area with 

the concurrence of the local governing bodies.  

3. Within the boundaries of Planning District 23, the 

Department for the Aging Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services has established two planning and 

service areas that existed from the former Planning 

Districts 20 and 21.  
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C. These boundaries shall be maintained until such time as 

there is good cause, shown by clear and convincing evidence, 

to create a new planning and service area.  

22VAC5-20-50. 22VAC30-60-50. Application procedures 

to obtain designation as a new planning and service area 

or as a new Area Agency on Aging.  

A. Applications of units of general purpose local 

government to serve as designated Area Agencies on Aging 

within established planning and service areas or to create a 

new planning and service area shall be made only by formal 

resolution of city councils or county boards of supervisors 

and must be submitted in writing to the Commissioner of the 

Department for the Aging Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services. Such new entities, if approved, shall 

become effective with the beginning of the terms of their 

approved Area Plan for Aging Services and the contract 

incorporating such plan, upon execution of the contract. Any 

application for new Area Agency on Aging status or new 

planning and service area status shall be submitted prior to 

July 1 of the year preceding the year in which the new status 

would become effective.  

B. The application for new Area Agency on Aging status or 

for new planning and service area status shall contain the 

proposed Area Plan for Aging Services and shall show the 

following:  

1. All the city councils and county boards of supervisors in 

the planning and service area which would be affected 

have consented to the proposed change.  

2. The proposed change will not result in creation of an 

Area Agency on Aging or new planning and service area 

which would receive less than 1.0% of the formula fund 

allocation for Virginia, according to the allocation method 

used by the Department for the Aging Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services for the year in which the 

application is submitted.  

3. Provision of services in a proposed new planning and 

service area or by a proposed new Area Agency on Aging 

shall be shown, by clear and convincing evidence, to 

assure more efficient and effective preparation and 

implementation of the Area Plan for Aging Services for the 

older Virginians within the planning and service area.  

C. Upon receipt of an application which meets the foregoing 

requirements, the Commissioner of the Department for the 

Aging Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services 

shall provide a public hearing in the planning and service 

area. At least a 30-day notice shall be provided through 

publication in a newspaper or newspapers of general 

circulation in the cities and counties to be affected by the 

proposed new entity and its submitted Area Plan for Aging 

Services. Notification shall be mailed to the local 

governments and all other interested Area Agencies on 

Aging. The public hearing shall be held at a time and location 

as convenient as possible to the citizens of the cities and 

counties affected by the proposed change. The commissioner 

or a hearing officer designated by the commissioner will 

preside at the hearing. At the public hearing, interested 

persons may speak for themselves or be represented by 

counsel, and written presentations may be submitted. 

Following the public hearing and for at least 30 days 

thereafter, the commissioner will receive any additional 

written information which citizens or organizations wish to 

submit.  

D. In addition to the public hearing and reception of 

comments by the Virginia Department for the Aging 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services and the 

commissioner, as provided above, the commissioner shall 

consult with the Department of Planning and Budget, 

pursuant to § 2.2-1501(2) of the Code of Virginia, whenever a 

new planning and service area is proposed, and the approval 

of that department shall be persuasive.  

E. Within 120 days of the public hearing, the commissioner 

shall issue written findings of fact, the consideration of the 

Department of Planning and Budget, and a particularized 

conclusion and decision. In the case of a new planning and 

service area, its effective date shall be determined and stated. 

The designation of Area Agencies on Aging becomes 

effective upon approval of their Area Plans for Aging 

Services and execution of the contract.  

F. Any applicant for designation as a new entity whose 

application is denied may request an administrative hearing, 

pursuant to the Virginia Administrative Process Act, § 2.2-

4019 of the Code of Virginia, within 15 days of receipt of the 

written denial. If, after hearing, the applicant's request is still 

denied, the applicant may appeal the decision in writing 

within 30 days after receipt of the decision to the 

Commissioner of the U.S. Administration on Aging, pursuant 

to 45 CFR 1321.31.  

22VAC5-20-60. 22VAC30-60-60. Termination of the 

designation of an Area Agency on Aging.  

A. The contractual designation of an incumbent Area 

Agency on Aging will be renewed annually contingent upon 

approval of and performance on the Area Plan for Aging 

Services.  

B. The contractual designation of an Area Agency on Aging 

will be withdrawn by the Commissioner of the Virginia 

Department for the Aging Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services for any of the following:  

1. Upon a written request by the Area Agency on Aging 

that the commissioner terminate its contractual 

designation.  

2. Upon a request by formal resolution of all the city 

councils and county boards of supervisors within the 

planning and service area of the Area Agency on Aging 

that the commissioner designate and contract with another 

Area Agency on Aging, whose area plan is approved.  

3. Upon a finding by the Virginia Department for the 

Aging Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 
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Services, after reasonable notice and opportunity for a 

hearing, pursuant to 45 CFR 1321.35, that:  

a. An area plan or plan amendment is not approved.  

b. An area agency does not meet the requirements of the 

Older Americans Act, as amended; the federal 

regulations to implement the Older Americans Act, as 

amended; the Code of Virginia; or the policies and 

regulations of the Department for the Aging Department 

for Aging and Rehabilitative Services. 

c. There is substantial failure in the provisions or 

administration of an approved area plan to comply with 

one or more of the provisions of the Older Americans 

Act, as amended; the federal regulations to implement 

the Older Americans Act as amended; the Code of 

Virginia; regulations of the Department for the Aging 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services; 

licensing requirements of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia; and local ordinances.  

d. The activities of the Area Agency on Aging are 

inconsistent with the statutory mission in the Older 

Americans Act, as amended, and its implementing 

regulations.  

4. Upon reasonable application of the terms and conditions 

stated in the contract. Contractual obligations, failure of 

fulfillment of which shall lead to termination of the 

contract, include, but are not limited to, the following:  

a. Failure to correct deficiencies disclosed in an audit 

report from an audit conducted as required by the 

Virginia Department for the Aging, Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services pursuant to, 22VAC5-

20-460 22VAC30-60-450;  

b. Failure to report promptly to the Virginia Department 

for the Aging Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services and to the appropriate law-

enforcement officials any theft, embezzlement, or 

unlawful use of funds received from the Department for 

the Aging Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services;  

c. Failure to submit reports which meet the requirements 

(including due dates) established by the Virginia 

Department for the Aging Virginia Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services; 

d. Deliberate falsification of information in such reports.  

5. Upon a decision pursuant to 22VAC5-20-50 22VAC30-

60-50 creating a new Area Agency on Aging or new 

planning and service area, to the extent that such a decision 

makes performance on the existing contract impossible.  

C. Upon notice by the Virginia Department for the Aging 

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services of 

its intent to terminate, the Area Agency on Aging, within 15 

days from receipt of the notice, may request and shall be 

provided an informal fact-finding conference pursuant to the 

Virginia Administrative Process Act, § 2.2-4019 of the Code 

of Virginia. If, from such a conference, a finding is made that 

one of the conditions set forth in subdivision B 4 of this 

section obtains applies or that a term or condition in the 

contract so permits, the contractual designation shall be 

withdrawn. In the alternative, if no request for such hearing 

has been made by 15 days from receipt of the notice, the 

contractual designation shall terminate 30 days after receipt 

of the notice.  

D. If the Commissioner of the Department for the Aging 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services has reason 

to believe that one or more of the reasons for termination 

constitutes an emergency endangering the health, safety, or 

welfare of citizens or seriously threatens the financial or 

programmatic continuation of services required by the Area 

Plan for Aging Services, the commissioner may order the 

immediate suspension of the designation of the Area Agency 

on Aging, in advance of a hearing, and shall state in writing 

the reasons therefor.  

E. When the contractual designation of an Area Agency on 

Aging is withdrawn, the commissioner, to assure continued 

conduct of functions and provision of services to the extent 

feasible, shall contractually designate a new Area Agency on 

Aging in a timely manner, or, for a period of up to 180 days 

from the withdrawal, the Virginia Department for the Aging 

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

itself, may perform the responsibilities of the Area Agency on 

Aging or may assign the responsibilities of the area agency to 

another agency in the planning and service area. With the 

consent of the Commissioner of the U.S. Administration on 

Aging, the Commissioner of the Virginia Department for the 

Aging Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services may extend the 180-day period.  

22VAC5-20-70. 22VAC30-60-70. Designation of a new 

Area Agency on Aging. 

A. When there is no designated Area Agency on Aging for a 

planning and service area, or when there has been a decision 

to create a new planning and service area, the commissioner 

shall solicit applications for a new Area Agency on Aging as 

soon as possible. Such applications shall be solicited by 

advertisement in the newspapers of general circulation 

serving the planning and service area and by notification 

mailed to the local governing bodies of cities and counties 

within the planning and service area. At least 30 days from 

the date of advertisement shall be provided for applicants to 

submit their applications to the commissioner. The 

application shall include the applicant's proposed Area Plan 

for Aging Services. The commissioner shall give the right of 

first refusal to a unit of general purpose local government, if 

such unit can meet the requirements of the Older Americans 

Act, as amended, and if the boundaries of such a unit and the 

boundaries of the planning and service area are reasonably 

contiguous. Applicants may be:  

1. A city or county within the affected planning and service 

area;  
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2. All the cities and counties within the affected planning 

and service area, applying as a joint exercise of powers, 

pursuant to § 15.2-3000 of the Code of Virginia;  

3. A public agency or a private nonprofit corporation of 

Virginia, or any separate organizational unit within such 

agency which can and shall engage only in the planning or 

provision of a broad range of supportive services for older 

persons within the planning and service area.  

B. Within 30 days after the deadline set by the 

commissioner for submission of applications for designation 

as an Area Agency on Aging, the commissioner shall 

advertise a public hearing to receive comments on such 

designation. At least 30 days notice of the hearing shall be 

provided through advertisement in newspapers of general 

circulation serving the affected planning and service area and 

by notification mailed to the local governing bodies and all 

applicants. The hearing shall be held at a time and location as 

convenient as possible to the citizens of the cities and 

counties affected by the proposed change. The commissioner 

or a hearing officer designated by the commissioner will 

preside at the public hearing. At the public hearing, interested 

parties may speak for themselves or be represented by 

counsel, and written presentations may be submitted. Upon 

conclusion of the hearing, the commissioner will continue to 

receive any additional written information which citizens or 

organizations may wish to provide.  

C. Within 45 days after the public hearing, unless the 

applicants have agreed otherwise, the commissioner shall 

issue a written decision. The commissioner may designate a 

new Area Agency on Aging, subject to final approval of its 

Area Plan for Aging Services and execution of the contract. 

Such designation shall become effective upon execution of 

the contract or such other date as agreed upon therein. Or, if 

the commissioner finds that the applicant or applicants 

applying do not offer functions, services, and an Area Plan 

for Aging Services which will be in the best interests of the 

Commonwealth or of the persons to be served, the 

commissioner may reject all applications and recommence the 

designation process. Reasons for denial shall be set forth with 

reasonable particularity.  

Part III  

Area Plans for Aging Services  

22VAC5-20-80. 22VAC30-60-80. Preparation and 

submission of the area plan. 

A. Any existing Area Agency on Aging or any applicant for 

area agency designation will prepare an Area Plan for Aging 

Services and submit it to the Virginia Department for the 

Aging Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services for approval. The area plan will clearly detail the 

means of providing supportive and nutrition services and 

substantiation for the means selected. An approved area plan 

will be in effect for two, three, or four years, as determined by 

the Department for the Aging Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services. Such plan, if approved, will become 

the scope of services in the contract executed between the 

Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services and the Area Agency on 

Aging as contractor.  

B. The Area Agency on Aging shall submit to the Virginia 

Department for the Aging Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services for approval all requests for, and 

reasonable documentation of and substantiation for, necessary 

changes, additions, or deletions in its area plan. The area 

agency shall submit a written amendment to the area plan if it 

intends to change the scope of a service or if it intends to 

change the arrangements by which a service is delivered (e.g., 

direct service or contracted service, the number or location of 

congregate meal sites). Any amendment shall be approved by 

the Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia Department 

for Aging and Rehabilitative Services and, when signed by 

both the Department for the Aging Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services and the Area Agency on Aging as 

contractor, will be incorporated into the contract as part of the 

scope of services.  

C. The area plan shall provide, through a comprehensive and 

coordinated system, for supportive and nutrition services and, 

where appropriate, for the establishment, maintenance, and 

construction of multipurpose senior centers within the 

planning and service area covered by the plan. Subject to the 

requirements in 22VAC5-20-100 22VAC30-60-100, such 

services may include:  

1. Checking services. Calling or visiting older persons at 

their residence to check on them to make sure they are well 

and safe. This activity may also serve to provide 

psychological reassurance to an older person who is alone 

and in need of personal contact from other individuals.  

2. Congregate meals. Procurement, preparation, 

conveyance, and provision of nutritionally balanced meals 

that meet one-third of the current recommended dietary 

allowance for older persons. The provision of meals must 

occur at designated nutrition sites which also provide a 

climate or atmosphere for socialization and opportunities 

to alleviate isolation and loneliness.  

3. Information and Assistance. Assess older persons' needs 

for services; collecting and providing information to link 

older persons with the opportunities, services, and 

resources needed to meet their particular problems and 

needs.  

4. Dental services. Provision of needed dental services to 

limited-income persons 60 years of age and older not 

otherwise able to obtain the services.  

5. Emergency services. Provision of money and other 

resources, including referral to other public and private 

agencies, for assistance to persons 60 and older who have 

an emergency need for help. Area agencies must have 

approved policies established by their governing board for 

administration of this service.  
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6. Employment services. Assistance to older persons 

seeking part-time or full-time employment within the 

public or private sector and advocacy on behalf of the older 

worker.  

7. Finance, tax, and consumer counseling. Provision of 

direct guidance and assistance to older persons and their 

caregivers in the areas of consumer protection, personal 

financial matters, and tax preparation.  

8. Adult day care services. Regular daytime supervision 

and care of frail, disabled, and institutionally at-risk older 

adults. Participants require a level of care which ensures 

their safety, and, with the provision of services ranging 

from socialization to rehabilitation, may experience an 

enhancement in their quality of life and level of 

functioning.  

9. Health education. Provision of information or materials, 

or both, specifically designed to address a particular 

health-related issue. The activity may be preventive in 

nature and may promote self-care and independence.  

10. Health screening. Provision of screening to determine 

current health status, including counseling, follow-up, and 

referral, as needed.  

11. Chore services. Provision of light housekeeping and 

other services to eligible older adults, who, because of their 

functional level, are unable to perform these tasks 

themselves.  

12. Home delivered meals. Procurement, preparation, 

conveyance, and provision of nutritionally balanced meals 

that meet one-third of the current recommended dietary 

allowance for older persons. The meals must be delivered 

and received at the homes of the individuals.  

13. Home health services. Provision of intermittent skilled 

nursing care under appropriate medical supervision to 

acutely or chronically ill homebound older adults. Various 

rehabilitative therapies and home health aides providing 

personal care services are included.  

14. Homemaker/personal care services. Provision of 

nonmedically oriented services by trained personnel under 

professional supervision. Services may include personal 

care activities, nutrition-related tasks, light housekeeping, 

and respite for family caregivers.  

15. Identification/discount program. Provision to older 

persons of a card which can be used as identification to 

cash checks and to obtain discounts for goods and services 

from participating merchants.  

16. Legal assistance. Legal advice and representation by an 

attorney (including, to the extent feasible, counseling or 

other appropriate assistance by a paralegal or law student 

under the supervision of an attorney). Includes counseling 

or representation by a nonlawyer, where permitted by law, 

to older individuals with economic or social needs. May 

also include preventive measures such as community 

education.  

17. Long-term care coordinating activity. Provides for the 

participation of area agency staff on the local long-term 

care coordinating committee or committees and in the 

planning and implementation of a coordinated service 

delivery system.  

18. Public information and education. Provision of 

information to older persons and the general public about 

the programs and services available to the elderly and their 

caregivers and about the talents, skills, problems, and 

needs of older persons.  

19. Residential repair and renovation. Provision of home 

repairs or home maintenance to persons 60 years of age 

and older (includes weatherization provided with Older 

American Act funds).  

20. Services to persons in institutions. Provision of 

consultation and assistance to institutionalized older 

persons, their families, and facility staff in such areas as 

aging issues, resident rights, and activities for facility 

residents.  

21. Socialization/recreation services. Activities to provide 

persons 60 years of age and older with opportunities to 

participate in constructive social experiences and leisure 

time activities. This may also include senior center 

activities as well as activities suitable for and within the 

time constraints of the nutrition sites.  

22. Substate long-term care ombudsman program. Serves 

as a point of entry for long-term care recipients, their 

families and friends, and the concerned public, whereby 

complaints made by, or on behalf of, older persons in long-

term care facilities or receiving long-term care services in 

the community can be received, investigated, and resolved. 

The program also provides counseling and support to long-

term care recipients and others to assist them in resolving 

problems and concerns through the use of the complaint 

handling procedure of the long-term care facility or 

community based long-term care service provider. In 

addition, the program is a resource for information 

regarding institutional and community based long-term 

care services. Through its contacts with long-term care 

recipients and others concerned with long-term care, the 

Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program identifies problems 

and concerns of older persons receiving long-term care and 

their families and friends and recommends changes in the 

long-term care system which will benefit these individuals 

as a group.  

23. Transportation services. Group transportation of older 

persons to congregate meals, socialization and recreation 

activities, shopping, and other services available in the 

community; individual transportation to needed services 

that promote continued independent living.  

24. Volunteer programs. Development of opportunities for 

the community to do volunteer work in aging programs 

and services; recruiting and supervising volunteers; and 
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developing opportunities for older persons to do volunteer 

work in the community.  

D. An Area Agency on Aging may provide a service, other 

than those listed above, under the following conditions:  

1. The service is consistent with the goals and objectives of 

the Older Americans Act, as amended.  

2. The area agency makes a written request to, and receives 

written approval from, the Virginia Department for the 

Aging Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services. 

3. Such written request includes at least the following:  

a. A description of the service to be provided;  

b. A budget for the service for the duration of the current 

Area Plan for Aging Services, including sources and 

amounts of all funding for the service; and  

c. A summary of the process which the area agency used 

to obtain public comment on the service to be provided.  

4. If the area agency plans to provide the service directly, 

the area agency must comply with 22VAC5-20-120 

22VAC30-60-110. 

E. If a citizen, organization, or local government should 

believe an Area Agency on Aging or its Area Plan for Aging 

Services substantially fails to comply with the provisions of 

the Older Americans Act, as amended, the complaint shall be 

addressed in writing to the Commissioner of the Virginia 

Department for the Aging Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services, detailing the reasons and bases for 

the complaint.  

F. In the alternative, a complaint can be initiated at the local 

level with the substate ombudsman program, under 

circumstances described in 22VAC5-20-590 D 2 22VAC30-

60-580 D 2 and 22VAC5-20-590 D 3 22VAC30-60-580 D 3 

for reporting complaints to the Virginia Department for the 

Aging Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services. 

G. If, after an investigation is conducted, the commissioner 

has cause to believe that there are substantial grounds for 

termination of the designation of the area agency which is the 

subject of the complaint, pursuant to 22VAC5-20-60 B 3 c 

22VAC30-60-60 B 3 c, the commissioner shall provide notice 

to the area agency of intent to withdraw its area agency 

designation within 30 days, stating the bases, and shall 

provide an opportunity for a hearing if requested within 15 

days of receipt of the notice by the area agency involved. 

Failure to request a hearing shall result in withdrawal of the 

area agency designation at the end of the 30th day after 

receipt of the notice by the area agency.  

H. The hearing, if timely requested, shall be provided 

consistent with the provisions of the Virginia Administrative 

Process Act, § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia. Within 30 

days of the close of the hearing, unless the case is disposed of 

by consent during the hearing process, the commissioner shall 

render a written decision. If the commissioner finds that the 

Area Plan for Aging Services of the Area Agency on Aging 

or the administration of the area plan by the area agency does 

not comply with the requirements and provisions of the Older 

Americans Act, as amended, the commissioner shall 

withdraw the designation, pursuant to 45 CFR 1321.35. If 

there are significant, correctable problems in the Area Plan 

for Aging Services or the administration thereof, the 

commissioner may allow the area agency to continue as such, 

contingent upon appropriate changes and attainment of 

compliance within a stated time period.  

I. When the cause for termination endangers the health, 

safety and welfare of the population to be served or 

jeopardizes the financial or programmatic provision of 

functions and services, suspension of the area agency shall be 

immediate, and termination shall become final within 30 

days, unless good cause is shown by clear and convincing 

evidence.  

22VAC5-20-90. 22VAC30-60-90. Population to be served. 

A. All Virginians age 60 years or older are eligible to 

receive services provided under an Area Plan for Aging 

Services. An Area Agency on Aging shall give preference to 

providing services to older individuals with the greatest 

economic or social needs, with particular attention to low-

income minority individuals and older individuals residing in 

rural areas. Older Americans Act, as amended, funds and 

state funds shall be targeted to services which can assist older 

persons to function independently for as long as possible.  

B. Any Virginian 60 years of age or older and his or her 

spouse, regardless of age, are eligible to receive congregate 

nutrition services.  

1. The following individuals are also eligible to receive 

congregate nutrition services:  

a. A handicapped or disabled individual who is under the 

age of 60 years and who resides in a housing facility 

occupied primarily by older individuals at which 

congregate nutrition services are provided.  

b. An individual, regardless of age, who provides 

volunteer services during the meal hours.  

c. A disabled individual under age 60 who resides at 

home with and accompanies an older individual who is 

otherwise eligible.  

C. Any Virginian 60 years of age or older, who is 

homebound by reason of illness or incapacitating disability or 

otherwise isolated, is unable to prepare his own meal, and has 

no one to prepare food for him is eligible to receive home-

delivered nutrition services. The following individuals are 

also eligible to receive home-delivered nutrition services:  

a. The spouse of the older person, regardless of age or 

condition, may receive a home-delivered meal if receipt 

of the meal is in the best interest of the homebound older 

person. Each Area Agency on Aging shall establish 
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criteria for determining when receipt of the meal is in the 

best interest of the older person.  

b. A nonelderly disabled individual who resides at home 

with an older individual who is otherwise eligible.  

22VAC5-20-100. 22VAC30-60-100. Priority services. 

A. An Area Agency on Aging shall spend at least 15% of its 

Title III-B allotment for services associated with access to 

other services, as defined in 22VAC5-20-20 22VAC-30-60-

20. 

B. An Area Agency on Aging shall spend at least 5.0% of its 

Title III-B allotment for in-home services, as defined in 

22VAC5-20-20 22VAC-30-60-20. 

C. An Area Agency on Aging shall spend at least 1.0% of its 

Title III-B allotment for legal assistance for the elderly.  

D. An Area Agency on Aging, whose spending in a priority 

service category exceeds the minimum proportional 

expenditure level specified above, shall spend in each such 

category of services at least the same amount of actual funds 

as it spent in such category for the previous fiscal year.  

E. To the extent that the priority services and the 

proportional expenditure level to be allotted to them are 

prescribed by law and regulation of the federal government, 

this section is exempt from the procedural requirements of the 

Virginia Administrative Process Act, pursuant to § 2.2-4002 

B 4 of the Code of Virginia.  

F. The Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services may waive 

the requirement described in subsections A through C of this 

section for any category of services described in that section 

if the Area Agency on Aging demonstrates to the department 

that services being provided in such category in the area are 

sufficient to meet the need for such services in such area.  

G. Before an Area Agency on Aging requests a waiver 

pursuant to subsection F of this section, the Area Agency on 

Aging shall conduct a public hearing as follows:  

1. The Area Agency on Aging requesting a waiver shall 

notify all interested persons of the public hearing.  

2. The area agency shall provide interested persons with an 

opportunity to be heard.  

3. The Area Agency on Aging requesting the waiver shall 

receive, for a period of 30 days, any written comments 

submitted by interested persons.  

H. The Area Agency on Aging shall furnish a complete 

record of the public comments with the request for the waiver 

to the Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services. 

22VAC5-20-120 22VAC30-60-110. Direct services. 

A. An Area Agency on Aging shall not provide directly any 

supportive services or nutrition services except where, in the 

judgment of the Virginia Department for the Aging, Virginia 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, pursuant 

to a request for waiver as set forth in subsection B of this 

section, provision of such services by the area agency is 

necessary to assure an adequate supply of such services, or 

where such services are directly related to the area agency's 

administrative functions, or where such services of 

comparable quality can be provided more economically by 

the area agency.  

B. An Area Agency on Aging shall request explicitly, in 

writing, a waiver to provide supportive services or nutrition 

services. The request for a waiver must include, at a 

minimum, the area agency's rationale for providing the 

service directly, including sufficient documentation that 

provision of such service by the area agency is necessary to 

assure an adequate supply of such service, or that such service 

is directly related to the area agency's administrative 

functions, or that such service of comparable quality can be 

provided more economically by the area agency.  

C. Unless and until a waiver has been granted in writing by 

the Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia Department 

for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, an Area Agency on 

Aging shall not provide or begin to provide any supportive or 

nutrition service using Older Americans Act, as amended, or 

state funds.  

Part IV 

Administration of Grants and Contracts 

Article 1  

Principles and Standards for Financial Management and 

Accounting 

22VAC5-20-130. 22VAC30-60-120. Basis of accounting. 

A. Each area agency and all entities with which such area 

agency itself contracts shall report program outlays and 

program income on the modified accrual basis. Accordingly, 

expenditures are recorded when a liability is incurred (i.e., 

when goods and services have been received or the amount 

can be readily estimated), but revenue is not recorded until 

actually realized or recognized and collectible by the 

grantee/contractor or entity under subcontract in a current 

reporting period.  

B. If the Area Agency or entity under subcontract presently 

maintains its accounting system on the cash basis, it must 

develop the necessary accrual information through analysis of 

pertinent documentation on hand.  

C. Area Agencies on Aging shall observe the cash basis of 

accounting for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) 

funding and the commodities-received basis for USDA 

commodities. An unbilled receivable shall not be reflected for 

USDA receivables.  

22VAC5-20-140. 22VAC30-60-130. Authority to expend 

federal and state funds. 

A. By virtue of the Virginia Department for the Aging's 

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services' 

approval of an Area Plan for Aging Services, issuance of a 

notice of approval, and execution of the contract, an Area 

Agency on Aging is granted authority to incur costs under its 
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approved area plan for eligible activities, for the period 

covered by the area plan. This authorization to incur costs 

under its approved area plan is extended only for allowable 

and allocable costs which are also reasonable and net of all 

applicable credits.  

B. An Area Agency on Aging receiving a contractual award 

pursuant to an approved area plan understands and agrees that 

the period of the contractual award is for one year. Prior to 

the renewal of the contractual award of any additional 

financial support for any subsequent period, the Virginia 

Department for the Aging Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services may conduct an on-site evaluation of 

the Area Agency on Aging to determine if the objectives of 

the area plan are being met and whether continued financial 

support is indicated.  

C. An Area Agency on Aging is to refer to the federal cost 

principles applicable to its type of organization to ascertain 

when prior approval is required from the Virginia Department 

for the Aging Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services. In addition, prior approval may be 

required by the contractual award of funded support from the 

Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services or required by specific 

program legislation or regulation, including but not limited to 

the following:  

1. Changes in the scope or objectives of the activities 

assured by the area plan, as approved and incorporated into 

the contractual award;  

2. Undertaking any activities which are disapproved or 

restricted as a condition of the contractual award;  

3. Any pending change of institutional affiliation of the 

Area Agency on Aging, any reassignment to a legal 

successor of interest, or any nominal or legal change in 

agency name. The Virginia Department for the Aging 

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services 

may in its discretion determine whether to approve such 

contractual modification and continue funding the existing 

project or projects under the new entity. Factors to be 

considered include assurances to continue the project or 

projects as approved and the acceptance of the new entity 

by the carrier of any surety bonds required for the project 

or projects;  

4. Transferring to a third party, by contract or any other 

means, the actual performance of substantive responsibility 

for the management of the grant/contract. Generally, such 

changes may require the designation of a new Area 

Agency on Aging and the execution of a new contract;  

5. Carrying over funds from one budget period to another;  

6. Extending the budget/project period with or without 

additional funds;  

7. Expending funds for the purchase of land or buildings;  

8. Conveying, transferring, assigning, mortgaging, leasing, 

or otherwise encumbering property acquired under a 

grant/contract with the Virginia Department for the Aging 

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services; 

9. Acquiring automatic data processing equipment (see 

22VAC5-20-280) 22VAC30-60-270); 

10. Incurring costs or liabilities prior to the effective date 

of any grant/contract award;  

11. Paying fees to a consultant whenever the consulting 

agreement (i) constitutes a transfer of substantive 

management or administrative work to a third party, or (ii) 

results in a contract for management services that requires 

the Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services or the 

federal grantor agency's prior approval, as required by 

program regulations or other award terms;  

12. Additional funding when clearly demonstrated to be 

essential;  

13. Reallocating costs between closely related projects 

supported by two or more grant sources. Approval may be 

granted to charge costs to the Title III grant for which the 

costs are originally approved, or to another Department for 

the Aging Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services project, when all of the following 

conditions are met:  

a. The projects are programmatically related;  

b. There is no change in the scope of the individual 

grants involved;  

c. The reallocation of costs is not detrimental to the 

conduct of work approved under each individual award; 

and  

d. The reallocation is not used to circumvent the terms 

and conditions of either individual award;  

14. Indemnifying third parties;  

15. Transferring funds between construction and 

nonconstruction;  

16. Traveling outside of the continental United States;  

17. Contributing to a reserve fund for a self-insurance 

program;  

18. Insuring any U.S. government-owned equipment; and  

19. Meeting the costs of nonemergency patient care where 

other forms of medical cost reimbursement, such as but not 

limited to Medicaid, are available.  

22VAC5-20-150. 22VAC30-60-140. Chart of accounts. 

Provided that an Area Agency on Aging is able to comply 

with the nine standards for financial management systems in 

U.S. Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Circulars A-

102 and A-110, as applicable, and the financial management 

standards contained in 45 CFR 74.21, an Area Agency on 

Aging shall adopt its own account structure based on its own 

external and internal reporting requirements.  
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22VAC5-20-160. 22VAC30-60-150. Elements of an 

acceptable financial management system. 

A. An Area Agency on Aging shall maintain records and 

make reports in such form and containing such information as 

may be required by the Virginia Department for the Aging. 

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services. 

An Area Agency on Aging shall maintain such accounts and 

documents as will serve to permit expeditious determination 

of the status of funds and the levels of services provided 

under the approved area plan, including the disposition of all 

moneys received from the Virginia Department for the Aging, 

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

and the nature and amount of all charges claimed against such 

funds.  

B. An Area Agency on Aging shall keep records that 

identify adequately the source and application of funds for 

grant/contract-supported activities and for activities under 

subcontract. At a minimum, these records shall contain 

information pertaining to the grant/contract, subcontracts, 

authorizations, obligations, unobligated balances, assets, 

outlays, income, and, if the recipient is a governmental entity, 

liabilities.  

C. Special grant/contract conditions more restrictive than 

those prescribed in 45 CFR Part 74 may be imposed by the 

Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services on an Area Agency on 

Aging, as needed, when the Virginia Department for the 

Aging Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services has determined that the Area Agency on Aging:  

1. Is financially unstable;  

2. Has a history of poor performance; or  

3. Has a management system which does not meet the 

standards of 45 CFR Part 74.  

D. For the purpose of determining the adequacy of an area 

agency's financial management system, the Virginia 

Department for the Aging Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services shall consider the following records 

maintained on a current basis to be minimum:  

1. General journal;  

2. General ledger;  

3. Separate or combined cash receipts and disbursements 

journal or voucher register;  

4. Payroll register (if the agency has more than 10 

employees);  

5. Fixed assets register for all owned and leased property 

and equipment;  

6. In-kind journal/worksheets;  

7. Project cost control subsidiary ledger/worksheets; and  

8. Bank statements reconciled within 30 calendar days of 

receipt.  

E. Grantees/contractors of the Virginia Department for the 

Aging Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services may substitute the equivalent kind of records for 

those specified above, provided the substitute records meet 

the function for which those records have been required.  

F. An Area Agency on Aging shall have procedures for 

determining the reasonableness, allowability, and allocability 

of all contract costs.  

22VAC5-20-170. 22VAC30-60-160. USDA funds. 

Providers of nutrition services to older persons shall treat 

USDA funds as income upon receipt.  

22VAC5-20-180. 22VAC30-60-170. Reimbursement from 

other sources. 

All reimbursement under Titles XIX and XX of the Social 

Security Act for services funded jointly by the Older 

Americans Act, as amended shall be considered "other federal 

funds" for budgeting and reporting purposes.  

22VAC5-20-190. 22VAC30-60-180. Liquidation of 

obligations. 

A. Grantees/contractors of the Virginia Department for the 

Aging Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services and subcontractors of the Area Agencies on Aging 

shall liquidate all obligations incurred under the Older 

Americans Act, as amended within 90 days of the end of the 

grant period. The Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services shall 

consider written requests for waivers of this rule in the case of 

any multiyear subcontracts involving construction or 

renovation.  

B. All Virginia general fund moneys shall be spent by June 

30 of the year covered by the award. No unliquidated 

obligations shall exist beyond June 30.  

22VAC5-20-200. 22VAC30-60-190. Area Agency on Aging 

fiscal manual. 

An Area Agency on Aging shall prepare a complete, 

accurate, and current set of written fiscal policies to be 

maintained in the form of an officially adopted manual. This 

manual shall cover the area agency's own fiscal policies and 

those applicable to its subcontractors. At a minimum, the 

manual shall provide for a description of each of the 

following accounting applications and the internal controls in 

place to safeguard the agency's assets: billings, receivables, 

cash receipts, purchasing, accounts payable, cash 

disbursements, payroll, inventory control, property and 

equipment, and general ledger. Each of the agency's fiscal 

activities for revenue/receipts, disbursements and financial 

reporting shall also be described.  
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Article 2  

Transfer of Funds 

22VAC5-20-210. 22VAC30-60-200. Authority to transfer 

funds between the titles of the Older Americans Act. 

A. With the prior written approval of the Virginia 

Department for the Aging Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services, an Area Agency on Aging may 

transfer funds between the titles of the Older Americans Act, 

as amended. Area agencies may request transfers of up to 

25% between Title III-C(1) funds and Title III-C(2) projects.  

B. With the prior written approval of the department, area 

agencies may transfer up to 10% between Title III-C funds 

and Title III-B projects.  

Article 3  

Personnel Policies 

22VAC5-20-220. 22VAC30-60-210. Employment of key 

Area Agency on Aging personnel. 

The governing board of the Area Agency on Aging shall 

have the authority to hire and otherwise supervise the 

activities of the Director of the Area Agency on Aging. All 

recruitment efforts shall be guided by a description of duties 

and a list of recruitment criteria developed in advance by the 

Area Agency on Aging.  

22VAC5-20-230. 22VAC30-60-220. Taking security 

deposits and making payments on behalf of clients. 

Unless an Area Agency on Aging has an approved program 

for such purposes and any such security deposits and 

payments are explicitly covered under the agency's fidelity 

bond coverage, all officers, employees, volunteers and agents 

shall be prohibited from taking security deposits for clients or 

from making payments on behalf of participants of programs 

funded under the Older Americans Act, as amended. Where 

such programs are provided for and explicitly covered under 

the agency's fidelity bond coverage, adequate safeguards shall 

be formally in place and the operation of the program 

periodically monitored by the Area Agency on Aging.  

22VAC5-20-240. 22VAC30-60-230. Support for labor 

distribution. 

A. Charges to awards for salaries and wages shall be based 

on documented payrolls approved by a responsible 

supervisory official of the Area Agency on Aging. The 

distribution of time worked must be supported by personnel 

activity reports.  

B. Labor distribution reports should be prepared and 

controlled according to the following minimum standards:  

1. Employees, including employees under subcontract, are 

responsible for preparing their own timecards/timesheets.  

2. Employees shall be provided clear instructions as to the 

work to be performed and the grant/contract category or 

program to be charged.  

3. Periodic internal reviews of the timekeeping system 

shall be performed to assure compliance with system 

controls.  

4. Overtime hours shall be approved in advance and 

justification provided.  

5. A list of supervisors authorized to approve 

timecards/timesheets shall be maintained along with 

signature cards kept on file by the timekeeping office.  

C. In situations where the use of labor distribution reports 

may be impractical or essentially the same results could be 

obtained through sampling techniques, an Area Agency on 

Aging may request in writing from the Virginia Department 

for the Aging Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services approval of a substitute system which 

involves staff-maintained labor distribution reports for a 

prototypical period.  

22VAC5-20-250. 22VAC30-60-240. Up-to-date job 

descriptions for all Title III funded positions. 

For each paid and volunteer position funded by Title III of 

the Older Americans Act, as amended, an Area Agency on 

Aging shall maintain:  

1. A current and complete job description which shall 

cover the scope of each position-holder's duties and 

responsibilities and which shall be updated as often as 

required, and  

2. A current description of the minimum entry-level 

standards of performance for each job.  

Article 4  

Property Control 

22VAC5-20-260. 22VAC30-60-250. Inventorying acquired 

equipment. 

An Area Agency on Aging shall conduct or have conducted 

on an annual basis an inventory of all equipment acquired 

with funds granted by the Virginia Department for the Aging 

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

including equipment acquired by their subcontractors and 

subgrantees.  

22VAC5-20-270. 22VAC30-60-260. Control of USDA 

commodities. 

To prevent unauthorized diversion, all elderly nutrition 

projects obtaining commodities from USDA shall conduct an 

inventory at least once a year of all USDA commodities and 

shall maintain a perpetual inventory system over such 

commodities.  

22VAC5-20-280. 22VAC30-60-270. Purchase of automatic 

data processing (ADP) equipment. 

A. An Area Agency on Aging shall take special precautions 

in the purchase of ADP equipment and software. The 

purchase, lease, or retention of ADP equipment shall require 

prior approval from the Virginia Department for the Aging 

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services on 

an individual or blanket purchase basis.  
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B. In the acquisition of computer equipment, an Area 

Agency on Aging shall ensure the following:  

1. A full requirements analysis has been conducted;  

2. Its computer utilization needs are projected over at least 

a three-year period;  

3. The intended software system meets federal and state 

reporting requirements;  

4. There is adequate post-sale vendor support; and  

5. Competitive purchasing procedures are adhered to.  

C. The cost of ADP services does not require federal or state 

prior approval.  

22VAC5-20-290. 22VAC30-60-280. Area Agency on Aging 

property control policies. 

An Area Agency on Aging shall have written policies and 

procedures, approved by the governing board, for managing 

equipment purchased in whole or part with federal, state, or 

matching funds, to include: (i) accurate and complete 

property records, (ii) regular physical inventory of equipment, 

(iii) adequate maintenance procedures, and (iv) disposal of 

property and equipment.  

Article 5  

Procurement Practices and Contracting 

22VAC5-20-300. 22VAC30-60-290. Summary of 

procurement procedures. 

A. Each Area Agency on Aging not subject by statute to the 

Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia) shall have written policies and procedures 

which are consistent with the provisions of the Virginia 

Public Procurement Act.  

B. The Area Agency on Aging shall incorporate in any 

contract, grant, or purchase agreement of over $50,000 the 

conditions specified in the Virginia Public Procurement Act 

or those conditions provided in the written policies and 

procedures required in subsection A of this section.  

22VAC5-20-310. 22VAC30-60-300. Contract awards to 

Area Agencies on Aging. 

The Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia Department 

for Aging and Rehabilitative Services is authorized under 

§ 2.2-703 § 51.5-135 of the Code of Virginia to award grants 

or contracts, or a combination of both, to a designated Area 

Agency on Aging to administer programs under an approved 

area plan. The Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services has 

determined that the contracts mechanism is the appropriate 

vehicle for making awards to Area Agencies on Aging in 

furtherance of its purpose under its approved area plan. Even 

though the procuring mechanism is called a contract, for 

purposes of interpreting federal regulations, the provisions for 

grants and grantees shall apply to an Area Agency on Aging 

rather than the provisions for contracts.  

22VAC5-20-320. 22VAC30-60-310. Unauthorized awards 

to debarred, suspended, or high-risk subcontractors. 

A. An Area Agency on Aging shall make awards only to 

responsible subcontractors possessing the ability to perform 

successfully under the terms and conditions of the proposed 

contract. Consideration shall be given to such matters as the 

integrity of the subcontractor, compliance with public policy, 

record of past performance, and financial and technical 

resources.  

B. An Area Agency on Aging shall not execute any 

subcontract at any tier to any party that is debarred or 

suspended or is otherwise excluded from or ineligible for 

participation in federal assistance programs.  

C. An Area Agency on Aging shall require its proposed 

subcontractors at any tier to certify whether they have been 

excluded from participation in federal assistance programs.  

D. If an Area Agency on Aging believes that there are 

compelling reasons for executing a subcontract with a 

debarred, suspended, or voluntarily excluded provider in a 

particular area, the area agency may apply to the Virginia 

Department for the Aging or Virginia Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services for a waiver from this 

requirement. Such waivers shall be granted only in unusual 

circumstances upon the written determination, by an 

authorized Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services official, 

that there are compelling reasons justifying the participation.  

22VAC5-20-330. 22VAC30-60-320. Authority for 

multiyear awards. 

A. An Area Agency on Aging may enter into a multiyear 

subcontract provided such contract has a completion date, a 

binding schedule of costs for each year of the entire contract 

period, a satisfactory performance clause, and a funds-

availability clause. An optional-year contract is the preferred 

contracting mechanism for multiyear awards.  

B. The maximum period of time for a multiyear subcontract 

from the effective date of the contract to close-out shall be 

five years. Any subcontracts for periods longer than five 

years shall be reprocured and renegotiated at the end of the 

five-year period through normal competitive processes.  

22VAC5-20-340. 22VAC30-60-330. Preference for small 

business and minority firm awards of grants and 

contracts.  

It is the Virginia Department for the Aging's Virginia 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services' policy that 

a fair share of subcontracts be awarded to small and minority 

business firms and nonprofit organizations. Accordingly, 

affirmative steps shall be taken to assure that small and 

minority businesses are utilized, when possible, as sources of 

supplies, equipment, construction, and services.  
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22VAC5-20-350. 22VAC30-60-340. Contract and 

competitive grants appeals process. 

An Area Agency on Aging shall establish an appeals and 

hearing process to resolve disputes and claims involving 

contracts and competitively awarded grants, if such are 

authorized. At a minimum, this process shall describe:  

1. Applicable procurement rules to be used in the appeals 

process;  

2. Designation of an impartial officer to hear and pass on 

the dispute or claim;  

3. Form and timing of the claim to be filed;  

4. Right of the claimant to counsel;  

5. Hearing procedures;  

6. Manner and timing of the hearing officer's opinion;  

7. Right to appeal to the Virginia Department for the Aging 

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services; and  

8. Retention and disposal of the hearing's record.  

Article 6  

General Program Income 

22VAC5-20-360. 22VAC30-60-350. Acceptable methods 

for general program income. 

An Area Agency on Aging is authorized to observe the 

additional-costs alternative. Under this alternative, all general 

program income earned by the Area Agency on Aging shall 

be retained by the area agency and added to funds committed 

to the project by the Virginia Department for the Aging 

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services 

and shall be used to further eligible program objectives.  

22VAC5-20-370. 22VAC30-60-360. Treatment of interest 

earned on advances. 

Interest earned on federal funds passed through the Virginia 

Department for the Aging Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services is to be considered general program 

income. Such funds may be used as cash match in the 

supportive services and nutrition programs, to expand any 

approved program, or to further any activity or benefit to the 

elderly as approved by the governing board of the Area 

Agency on Aging. Such funds may not be used to meet the 

costs associated with the preparation and administration of 

the area plan.  

22VAC5-20-380. 22VAC30-60-370. Allowable investment 

and custody policies. 

The investment of available federal or state funds shall be 

directed by two principles: (i) all funds received must be 

protected from unreasonable loss or diminished value, and (ii) 

investments must be selected to earn a reasonable return on 

funds not expected to be disbursed immediately. In 

furtherance of such principles, the following investment 

mechanisms are authorized:  

1. Any interest bearing checking account that is fully 

insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation or 

the Federal Savings and Loan Insurance Corporation;  

2. NOW accounts.  

22VAC5-20-390. 22VAC30-60-380. Timing of spending 

general program income. 

In general, there is no time restriction as to when general 

program income under the additional-costs alternative must 

be spent. To avoid any excessive accumulation of funds and 

the abuse of this alternative, the Virginia Department for the 

Aging Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services has determined that general program income earned 

under the additional-costs alternative shall be spent in the 

year in which it is earned. If it is earned near the end of the 

agency's fiscal year and the agency is unable to spend this 

income by then, it shall at least be spent before the 

expenditure of any federal or state funds in the beginning of 

the next fiscal year.  

22VAC5-20-400. 22VAC30-60-390. Special internal 

control safeguards over participant contributions. 

Because of the cash nature of participant contributions, 

agencies shall exert special safeguards over such funds. At a 

minimum, agencies receiving participant contributions shall 

employ one or more of the following precautions: (i) have 

two persons count all cash contributions; (ii) deposit the 

amount intact; (iii) make deposits on a daily basis; (iv) 

maintain all cash contributions in a secure place until deposit; 

(v) regularly justify cash counts against deposit receipts 

received from the bank; (vi) for home-delivered meals, 

maintain lock boxes in the vans and encourage mailed 

contributions; (vii) provide a clearly stated policy concerning 

provision of client receipts, in duplicate, for each cash 

transaction; and (viii) rotate staff periodically, if staffing 

permits.  

22VAC5-20-410. 22VAC30-60-400. Area Agency on Aging 

written policies on program income. 

An Area Agency on Aging shall formally adopt written 

policies and procedures, approved by the governing board, 

regarding collection, disposition, and accounting for (i) 

program income, including participant contributions, and (ii) 

interest and other investment income earned on advances of 

federal and state funds.  

Article 7 

Bank Balance and Check Handling Procedures 

22VAC5-20-420. 22VAC30-60-410. Rules on cash 

management by Area Agencies on Aging. 

A. An Area Agency on Aging shall institute procedures to 

minimize their cash balances of funding provided by the 

Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services. Accordingly, Area 

Agencies on Aging shall tailor projections of cash 

requirements from the Virginia Department for the Aging 
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Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services to 

coincide closely with the actual disbursement of such funds.  

B. An Area Agency on Aging shall adopt procedures for 

minimizing the time elapsed between the receipt of federal 

and state funds and their disbursement.  

22VAC5-20-430. 22VAC30-60-420. Fidelity bond 

requirements. 

For all personnel handling cash or preparing or signing 

checks, the Area Agency on Aging shall obtain minimum 

insurance coverage of three-months' cashflow cash flow, 

including checks received, in blanket fidelity bond coverage.  

Article 8  

Monitoring of Subcontractors of Area Agencies on Aging 

22VAC5-20-440. 22VAC30-60-430. Area Agency on Aging 

written policies on subcontractor monitoring. 

Each Area Agency on Aging shall adopt formal written 

policies and procedures, approved by the governing board, for 

monitoring their subcontractors and subgrantees under the 

approved area plan and for follow-up on any findings.  

Article 9  

Carry-Over Balance Policies 

22VAC5-20-450. 22VAC30-60-440. Carry-over funds. 

Carry-over funds may represent obligated but unspent funds. 

For such funds to be available for expenditure in a subsequent 

fiscal year, the Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services must 

reauthorize in the subsequent area plan such funds for an area 

agency to obligate and expend. An Area Agency on Aging 

shall request authority for such reauthorization of funds. In 

general, carry-over balances from Titles III-B, III-C(1), III-

C(2), and III-D should not exceed 10% of the federal 

obligation for the new fiscal year, computed separately. This 

10% carry-over policy does not apply to Virginia general 

fund moneys; all of general fund moneys must be spent by 

June 30 of the fiscal year in which they have been awarded. 

Approval for the use of such federal carry-over funds shall be 

granted by the Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services only for 

specific uses and for a specified period of time.  

Article 10  

Audits 

22VAC5-20-460. 22VAC30-60-450. Area Agencies on 

Aging retain own independent public accountants. 

A. Each Area Agency on Aging shall retain its own public 

accountant, who is sufficiently independent of those who 

authorize the expenditure of federal funds, to produce 

unbiased opinions, conclusions, or judgments. The auditor 

shall meet the independence criteria established in 

Amendment No. 3 of the Government Auditing Standards, as 

amended, (the Yellow Book) published by the U.S. General 

Accounting Office.  

B. In arranging for audit services, an Area Agency on Aging 

shall follow procurement standards for retaining professional 

services. Small audit firms and audit firms owned and 

controlled by minority individuals shall have the maximum 

practical opportunity to participate in audit contracts awarded.  

C. In soliciting and retaining auditors to conduct the annual 

audit, an Area Agency on Aging must make specific 

reference in their request for proposals and any resulting 

subcontract that the auditor shall be required to conform the 

audit to the requirements in Audits of States, Local 

Governments, and Nonprofit Organizations, OMB Circular 

A-133; and the Uniform Administrative Requirements for 

Grants and Agreements with Institutions of Higher Education, 

Hospitals, and Other Nonprofit Organizations, OMB Circular 

A-110, as applicable. This would relate to the scope of the 

audit, standardized audit report, reportable events, monitoring 

by the Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services and quality 

assurance review, access to audit work papers, plan for 

corrective action, and resolution of audit findings.  

D. The audit solicitation and any resulting contract for audit 

services shall make specific reference that "if it is determined 

that the contractor's audit work was unacceptable as 

determined by the Virginia Department for the Aging 

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services or 

a federal supervisory agency, either before or after a 

reasonable time after a draft or final report was issued, 

because it did not meet the Virginia Department for the 

Aging's Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services' standards, the AICPA Standards, or those 

promulgated by the Comptroller General of the United States, 

the contractor may, at the area agency's written request, be 

required to reaudit at its own expense and resubmit a revised 

audit report which is acceptable."  

22VAC5-20-470. 22VAC30-60-460. Frequency of audits 

and due date for submission of audit reports. 

A. An audit of Area Agencies on Aging and their grantees 

and cost-reimbursement contractors shall be conducted at 

least annually.  

B. The audit report shall be submitted to the Virginia 

Department for the Aging Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services by December 15. If, for reasons 

within the control of the Area Agency on Aging, this report 

cannot be submitted by this time, funding of the agency may 

be suspended by the Virginia Department for the Aging 

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services. 

An Area Agency on Aging shall make a written request for an 

extension of time for justifiable reasons to the Virginia 

Department for the Aging Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services before December 15. Such request 

shall be submitted with sufficient time for Virginia 

Department for the Aging Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services' review and approval.  
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22VAC5-20-480. 22VAC30-60-470. Scope of audit report. 

A. The audit shall be made by an independent auditor in 

accordance with generally accepted government auditing 

standards covering financial and compliance audits.  

B. The audit shall cover the entire operations of the agency 

or, at the option of that agency, it may cover departments, 

agencies or establishments that received, expended or 

otherwise administered federal financial assistance during the 

year. A series of audits of individual departments, agencies, 

and establishments for the same fiscal year may be considered 

a single audit.  

C. The auditor shall determine whether:  

1. The financial statements and the accompanying 

schedules of the agency, department, or establishment 

present fairly its financial position and the results of its 

financial operations in accordance with generally accepted 

accounting principles.  

2. The organization has internal accounting and other 

control systems to provide reasonable assurance that it is 

managing federal financial assistance programs in 

compliance with applicable laws and regulations.  

3. The organization has complied with laws and 

regulations that may have a material effect on its financial 

statements and on each major federal assistance program.  

D. The independent public accountant shall render an 

opinion on three accompanying schedules: Status of Funds, 

Costs by Program Activity, and Status of Inventories.  

22VAC5-20-490. 22VAC30-60-480. Area Agency on Aging 

audit resolution. 

Each Area Agency on Aging shall have a systematic method 

to assure the timely and appropriate resolution of audit 

findings and recommendations.  

Article 11  

Close-Out Procedures 

22VAC5-20-500. 22VAC30-60-490. Close-out. 

A. In the event of termination, all property, documents, data, 

studies, and reports purchased or prepared by the Area 

Agency on Aging or its subgrantees or subcontractors under 

its approved area plan shall be disposed of as directed by the 

Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services. The terminated Area 

Agency on Aging shall be entitled to compensation for any 

unreimbursed expenses reasonably and necessarily incurred 

up to the point of receipt of the termination notice in 

satisfactory performance under its approved area plan. In 

spite of the above, the Area Agency on Aging shall not be 

relieved of liability to the Virginia Department for the Aging 

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services 

for damages sustained by the Virginia Department for the 

Aging Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services by virtue of any breach of the approved contract and 

area plan. The Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services may 

withhold for purpose of a set-off any reimbursement of funds 

to the Area Agency on Aging until such time as the exact 

amount of damages due the Virginia Department for the 

Aging Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services from the Area Agency on Aging is agreed upon or 

otherwise determined.  

B. In the event of recession rescission, revocation, or 

termination, all documents and other materials related to the 

performance under the Area Plan for Aging Services shall 

become the property of the Virginia Department for the 

Aging Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services. 

22VAC5-20-510. 22VAC30-60-500. Bankruptcy. 

Approval of the area plan shall be withdrawn and any 

contractual relations terminated for cause if, upon 60 days 

notice, either party is adjudicated bankrupt, is subject to the 

appointment of a receiver and fails to have such receiver 

removed within 60 days, has any of its property attached and 

fails to remove such attachment within 60 days, or becomes 

insolvent or for a period of 60 days is unable to pay its debts 

as the same become due.  

22VAC5-20-520. 22VAC30-60-510. Follow-up actions to 

grant or subgrantee close-out or termination. 

As a consequence of close-out or termination, the following 

steps shall be taken:  

1. Upon request, the Virginia Department for the Aging 

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services 

shall promptly pay the contractor for all allowable 

reimbursable costs not covered by previous payments.  

2. The contractor shall immediately refund or otherwise 

dispose of any unobligated balance of cash advanced to the 

contractor, in accordance with instructions from the 

Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia Department 

for Aging and Rehabilitative Services. 

3. The contractor shall submit, within 90 days of the date 

of close-out or termination, all financial, performance, and 

other reports required by the terms of the agreement. The 

Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia Department 

for Aging and Rehabilitative Services may extend the due 

date in response to a written or oral request from the 

contractor. The department shall respond in writing to the 

request.  

4. The Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services shall 

make a settlement for any upward or downward adjustment 

of the federal share of costs, to the extent called for by the 

terms of the agreement.  
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Article 12  

Record Management 

22VAC5-20-530. 22VAC30-60-520. Area agency record 

retention requirements. 

Fiscal records shall be maintained for five years from the 

date the Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services submits to 

the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services its final 

expenditures report for the funding period. This period may 

be extended, if an audit, litigation, or other action involving 

the records is started before the end of the five-year period 

and the records must be retained until all issues arising from 

the action are resolved or until the end of the five-year period, 

whichever is later.  

22VAC5-20-540. 22VAC30-60-530. Contractors and 

subcontractors. 

In the case of grantees/contractors and subcontractors, there 

shall be a five-year record retention requirement from the date 

when final payment is made and all other pending matters are 

closed. Grantees/contractors and subcontractors of the 

Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services shall include a provision in 

contracts for the five-year record retention period and for 

access to the contractor's records by authorized 

representatives of the Commonwealth of Virginia and the 

United States Government.  

22VAC5-20-550. 22VAC30-60-540. Other record 

retention requirements. 

An Area Agency on Aging and its 

subcontractors/subgrantees shall also comply with the record 

retention requirements of the State Corporation Commission 

and the Internal Revenue Service for corporations and 

individuals.  

22VAC5-20-560. 22VAC30-60-550. Area agency policy 

and procedures. 

An Area Agency on Aging shall have written policies and 

procedures approved by the governing board regarding the 

retention and access to all financial and programmatic 

records, supporting documents, statistical records, and other 

records.  

22VAC5-20-570. 22VAC30-60-560. Access to records. 

In addition to the head of the federal sponsoring agency and 

the Comptroller General of the United States, or any of their 

duly authorized representatives, the Commissioner of the 

Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services and the Comptroller of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, or their duly authorized 

representatives, shall have the right of access to any pertinent 

books, documents, papers, and records of the Area Agency on 

Aging and its subcontractors to make audits, examinations, 

excerpts, and transcripts.  

Part V 

Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 

22VAC5-20-580. 22VAC30-60-570. Office of the State 

Long-Term Care Ombudsman. 

A. When handling complaints, the Office of the State Long-

Term Care Ombudsman shall take the following steps:  

1. Staff of the Office of the State Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman shall provide complaint counseling to an 

appropriate person alleging a reasonably specified 

complaint to assist such person in resolving the complaint 

himself.  

2. If the person alleging a reasonably specified complaint is 

unable or unwilling to resolve the complaint himself, staff 

of the Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman 

will attempt to obtain reasonably specific information from 

the complainant, in accordance with which staff of the 

Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman shall 

assess the complaint to determine the most appropriate 

means of investigating and resolving the complaint.  

a. Staff of the Office of the State Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman shall investigate reasonably specified 

complaints reported to the office which allege action, 

inaction, or decisions of providers of long-term care 

services (or their representatives) which may adversely 

affect the rights, health, welfare, or safety of the person 

complaining or the recipient of services.  

b. Staff of the Office of the State Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman shall initiate the investigation of a 

complaint within two working days of the date on which 

the complaint is received.  

c. Staff of the Office of the State Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman shall refer complaints concerning long-term 

care regulatory issues and allegations of abuse, neglect, 

and exploitation to the appropriate agency for 

investigation, pursuant to §§ 2.2-704 through 2.2-707 

§§ 51.5-139 through 51.5-142 of the Code of Virginia.  

d. When the complaint alleges abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation, staff of the Office of the State Long-Term 

Care Ombudsman shall make a referral by telephone 

immediately to the appropriate Adult Protective Services 

staff in the appropriate local Department of Social 

Services. "Appropriate local Department of Social 

Services" means the Department of Social Services (i) in 

the locality where the alleging person resides, or (ii) in 

the locality where the abuse, neglect, or exploitation is 

alleged to have occurred, or (iii) in the locality where the 

complaint is discovered.  

e. Staff of the Office of the State Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman shall forward a reasonably specified 

complaint to the appropriate regulatory agency or to the 

Adult Protective Services unit within three working days 

of the date on which the complaint is received.  
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f. Staff of the Office of the State Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman shall complete their investigation of a 

complaint handled by the office within 45 working days 

of the date on which the complaint is received.  

g. No action shall be taken or threatened by any long-

term care provider or facility for the purpose of 

punishing or retaliating against any resident, 

ombudsman, employee, or other interested person for 

presenting a complaint under this regulation or for 

providing assistance to the complaining party.  

B. Staff of the Office of the State Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman shall comply with the provisions of 

confidentiality required by § 2.2-706 § 51.5-141 of the Code 

of Virginia and the Government Data Collection and 

Dissemination Practices Act (§ 2.2-3800 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia) concerning confidentiality with respect to the 

identity of the alleging person or the service recipient and the 

records maintained by the office.  

C. Staff of the Office of the State Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman shall provide identifying information to the 

Adult Protective Services unit of the Department of Social 

Services concerning the affected person or service recipient 

alleged to be a victim of abuse, neglect, or exploitation.  

D. Staff of the Office of the State Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman may provide identifying information to 

appropriate agencies involved in the investigation of 

complaints, at the discretion of the State Ombudsman.  

E. All substate ombudsman representatives, when acting for 

or on behalf of the Office of the State Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman pursuant to a duly executed contract between the 

substate ombudsman program in the Area Agency on Aging 

and the Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman in 

the Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia Department 

for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, shall be bound by the 

provisions of subsections A through C of this section.  

F. Section 2.2-705 51.5-140 of the Code of Virginia 

provides to the staff of the Office of the State Long-Term 

Care Ombudsman the right of access to long-term care 

facilities and to the residents and records of such facilities.  

G. All substate ombudsman representatives, when acting for 

or on behalf of the Office of the State Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman pursuant to a duly executed contract between the 

substate ombudsman program in the Area Agency on Aging 

and the Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman in 

the Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia Department 

for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, shall be provided the 

same rights of access as those set forth in subsection F of this 

section.  

22VAC5-20-590. 22VAC30-60-580. Substate long-term 

care ombudsman programs. 

A. An Area Agency on Aging shall obtain approval of its 

Area Plan for Aging Services from, and shall execute a 

contract with, the Virginia Department for the Aging Virginia 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services before it 

operates a substate ombudsman program. Such contract shall 

be in the form of an agreement incorporating as the scope of 

services the approved Area Plan for Aging Services or 

approved amendments thereto, signed by both parties. The 

contract shall provide assurances by the Area Agency that 

adequate legal representation, should any be necessary, shall 

be supplied on behalf of representatives of the substate 

ombudsman program acting in the scope of their services.  

B. The actions of the representatives of the substate 

ombudsman program when acting on behalf of the Office of 

the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman pursuant to the duly 

executed contract, shall be governed, with regard to 

confidentiality requirements and rights of access, by the 

provisions of 22VAC5-20-580 B through 22VAC5-20-580 D 

22VAC30-60-570 B through 22VAC30-60-570 D. 

C. The authority of the substate ombudsman program shall 

be limited to the geographic area specified in the approved 

Area Plan for Aging Services or in an approved area plan 

amendment, recognized as the scope of services of the 

contract.  

D. The following steps will be observed under the 

circumstances described:  

1. Staff of the substate ombudsman program shall comply 

with the complaint handling and reporting procedures 

established by the Office of the State Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman, in accordance with 22VAC5-20-580 A 

22VAC30-60-570 A and instructions provided by the 

Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman.  

2. Staff of the substate ombudsman program shall forward 

all complaints to the Office of the State Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman within three working days of the date on 

which the complaint is received by the substate 

ombudsman program.  

3. Staff of the substate ombudsman program shall forward 

all complaints regarding long-term care services provided 

directly by or under contract by the Area Agency on Aging 

to the Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman 

within one working day of the date on which the complaint 

is received by the substate ombudsman program.  

4. Staff of the substate ombudsman program shall forward 

all complaints regarding the Office of the State Long-Term 

Care Ombudsman to the Virginia Department for the 

Aging Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services within one working day of the date on which the 

complaint is received by the substate ombudsman program.  

E. If the substate ombudsman program utilizes volunteers to 

visit long-term care facilities, such utilization must be 

indicated in the Area Plan for Aging Services and specified in 

the contract. Such volunteers shall be screened and trained by 

the substate ombudsman program prior to their assuming their 

responsibilities.  
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F. Each volunteer in a substate ombudsman program shall 

sign an agreement with the program which specifies the 

responsibilities of the volunteer, in accordance with the Area 

Plan for Aging Services, as approved, and the executed 

contract.  

G. The substate ombudsman program shall assure that each 

volunteer has fulfilled the minimum training requirements 

established by the Office of the State Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman Program and has signed the agreement required 

by 22VAC5-20-590 F 22VAC30-60-580 F.  

H. The substate ombudsman program shall submit accurate 

and timely reports in accordance with instructions provided 

by the Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman.  

22VAC5-20-600. 22VAC30-60-590. Conflict of interest. 

Staff and representatives of the Office of the State Long-

Term Care Ombudsman and staff and representatives of the 

substate ombudsman program shall have no conflicts of 

interest with regard to long-term care facilities, long-term 

care providers, and long-term care issues, pursuant to the 

State and Local Government Conflict of Interests Act (§ 2.2-

3100 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(22VAC5-20) (22VAC30-60)  

OMB Circular A-110, Attachment F (Revised), Uniform 

Administrative Requirements for Grants and Agreements 

with Institutions of Higher Education, Hospitals, and Other 

Non-Profit Organizations, November 19, 1993.  

Government Auditing Standards, Amendment No. 3, 

January 2002.  

OMB Circular No. A-133, Audits of States, Local 

Governments, and Non-Profit Organizations, Revised 

6/24/97.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3315; Filed September 5, 2012, 9:49 a.m.  

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 22VAC40-200. Foster Care - Guiding 

Principles (repealing 22VAC40-200-10, 22VAC40-200-20). 

22VAC40-201. Permanency Services - Prevention, Foster 

Care, Adoption and Independent Living (adding 

22VAC40-201-10 through 22VAC40-201-200). 

22VAC40-210. Foster Care - Assessing the Client's 

Service Needs (repealing 22VAC40-210-10 through 

22VAC40-210-40). 

22VAC40-240. Nonagency Placement for Adoption - 

Consent (repealing 22VAC40-240-10, 22VAC40-240-20, 

22VAC40-240-30). 

22VAC40-250. Agency Placement Adoptions - AREVA 

(repealing 22VAC40-250-10, 22VAC40-250-20). 

22VAC40-260. Agency Placement Adoptions - Subsidy 

(repealing 22VAC40-260-10, 22VAC40-260-20). 

22VAC40-280. Nonagency Placements for Adoption - 

Adoptive Home Study (repealing 22VAC40-280-10, 

22VAC40-280-20). 

22VAC40-800. Family Based Social Services (repealing 

22VAC40-800-10 through 22VAC40-800-170). 

22VAC40-810. Fees for Court Services Provided by Local 

Departments of Social Services (repealing 22VAC40-810-

10 through 22VAC40-810-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-900 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Phyl Parrish, Policy Team Leader, Division 

of Family Services, Department of Social Services, 801 East 

Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-

7926, FAX (804) 726-7895, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 

phyl.parrish@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action repeals eight regulations and 

replaces them with one comprehensive new Permanency 

Services regulation that will encompass the full range of 

services for providing a child with a safe home with his 

family or in the most family-like setting possible while 

maintaining family connections. The regulation 

incorporates provisions including: (i) how local 

departments of social services (LDSS) address the 

provision of services to prevent children from coming into 

foster care; (ii) the process for assessing children entering 

foster care, establishing goals for those children, engaging 

in concurrent planning, and ensuring children are in the 

most appropriate and least restrictive placement; (iii) 

development of service plans, service delivery, court 

hearings and case reviews; (iv) provision of independent 

living services and closing of foster care cases; and (v) 

adoption processes, adoption assistance and the putative 

father registry. In addition, the regulation requires LDSS 

workers and supervisors to attend training in accordance 

with Department of Social Services (DSS) guidance. 

Changes to the proposed regulation clarify language and 

include (i) addition of a definition of "administrative panel 

review" and "Putative Father Registry"; (ii) deletion of 

three unused definitions; (iii) modification of the definition 

of "child with special needs" and 22VAC40-201-160 to 

comply with changes to the Code of Virginia; (iv) removal 

of language from 22VAC40-201-70 concerning a priority 

in goal selection for children in foster care; and (v) if one 

of the three goals for children in foster care recognized by 

the federal Administration for Children and Families is not 

selected, the addition of a documentation requirement 

explaining why one of those three goals is not appropriate. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+22VAC5-20
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CHAPTER 201  

PERMANENCY SERVICES - PREVENTION, FOSTER 

CARE, ADOPTION [ , ] AND INDEPENDENT LIVING  

22VAC40-201-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

[ "Administrative panel review" means a review of a child in 

foster care that the local board conducts on a planned basis, 

and that is open to the participation of the birth parents or 

prior custodians and other individuals significant to the child 

and family, to evaluate the current status and effectiveness of 

the objectives in the service plan and the services being 

provided for the immediate care of the child and the plan to 

achieve a permanent home for the child. ]  

"Adoption" means a legal process that entitles the person 

being adopted to all of the rights and privileges, and subjects 

the person to all of the obligations of a birth child. 

"Adoption assistance" means a money payment or services 

provided to adoptive parents on behalf of a child with special 

needs.  

"Adoption assistance agreement" means a written agreement 

between the child-placing agency and the adoptive parents of 

a child with special needs to provide for the unmet financial 

and service needs of the child. [ An adoption assistance 

agreement may be for a federal, state, or conditional subsidy. 

"Adoption Manual" means Volume VII, Section III, Chapter 

C - Adoption/Agency Placement of the Service Program 

Manual of the Virginia Department of Social Services dated 

October 2009/March 2010. ]  

"Adoption Progress Report" means a report filed with the 

juvenile court on the progress being made to place the child in 

an adoptive home. Section 16.1-283 of the Code of Virginia 

requires that an Adoption Progress Report be submitted to the 

juvenile court every six months following termination of 

parental rights until the adoption is final. 

"Adoption search" means interviews and written or 

telephone inquiries made by a local department to locate and 

advise the biological parents or siblings of an adult adoptee's 

request, by Application for Disclosure or petition to the court, 

for identifying information from a closed adoption record. 

"Adoptive home" means any family home selected and 

approved by a parent, local board or a licensed child-placing 

agency for the placement of a child with the intent of 

adoption.  

"Adoptive home study" means an assessment of a family 

completed by a child-placing agency to determine the family's 

suitability for adoption. The adoptive home study is included 

in the dual approval process. 

"Adoptive parent" means any provider selected and 

approved by a parent or a child-placing agency for the 

placement of a child with the intent of adoption. 

"Adoptive placement" means arranging for the care of a 

child who is in the custody of a child-placing agency in an 

approved home for the purpose of adoption.  

"Adult adoption" means the adoption of any person 18 years 

of age or older, carried out in accordance with § 63.2-1243 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency placement adoption" means an adoption in which a 

child is placed in an adoptive home by a child-placing agency 

that has custody of the child.  

"AREVA" means the Adoption Resource Exchange of 

Virginia that maintains a registry and photo-listing of children 

waiting for adoption and families seeking to adopt.  

"Assessment" means an evaluation of the situation of the 

child and family to identify strengths and services needed. 

"Birth family" means the child's biological family.  

"Birth parent" means the child's biological parent and for 

purposes of adoptive placement means a parent by previous 

adoption.  

"Birth sibling" means the child's biological sibling. 

"Board" means the State Board of Social Services.  

"Child" means any natural person under 18 years of age.  

"Child-placing agency" means any person who places 

children in foster homes, adoptive homes, or independent 

living arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-1819 of the Code of 

Virginia or a local board that places children in foster homes 

or adoptive homes pursuant to §§ 63.2-900, 63.2-903, and 

63.2-1221 of the Code of Virginia. Officers, employees, or 

agents of the Commonwealth, or any locality acting within 

the scope of their authority as such, who serve as or maintain 

a child-placing agency, shall not be required to be licensed. 

"Child with special needs" as it relates to [ the ] adoption 

[ process assistance ] means [ any a ] child [ in the care and 

responsibility of a child-placing agency who:  

1. Is legally free for adoption as evidenced by termination 

of parental rights. 

2. Has one or more of the following individual 

characteristics that make the child hard to place:  

a. A physical, mental, or emotional condition existing 

prior to adoption in accordance with guidance developed 

by the department;  

b. A hereditary tendency, congenital problem, or birth 

injury leading to risk of future disability; 

c. A physician's or his designee's documentation of 

prenatal exposure to drugs or alcohol;  

d. Is five years of age or older; 

e. Has a minority racial or ethnic background; 

f. Is a member of a sibling group who is being placed 

with the same family at the same time;  

g. Has significant emotional ties with the foster parents 

with whom the child has resided for at least 12 months, 
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when the adoption by the foster parent is in the best 

interest of the child; or 

h. Has experienced a previous adoption disruption or 

dissolution or multiple disruptions of placements while in 

the custody of a child-placing agency. 

3. Has had reasonable but unsuccessful efforts made to be 

placed without adoption assistance.  

4. Had one or more of the conditions stated in subdivision 

2 a, b, or c of this definition at the time of adoption, but the 

condition was not diagnosed until after the entry of the 

final order of adoption and no more than a year has elapsed 

from the date of diagnoses who meets the definition of a 

child with special needs set forth in §§ 63.2-1300 and 63.2-

1301 B of the Code of Virginia ]. 

"Close relative" means a grandparent, great-grandparent, 

adult nephew or niece, adult brother or sister, adult uncle or 

aunt, or adult great uncle or great aunt.  

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 

his designee, or his authorized representative. 

"Community Policy and Management Team (CPMT)" 

means a team appointed by the local governing body to 

receive funds pursuant to Chapter 52 (§ 2.2-5200 et seq.) of 

Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. The powers and duties of 

the CPMT are set out in § 2.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Comprehensive Services Act for At-Risk Youth and 

Families (CSA)" means a collaborative system of services 

and funding that is child centered, family focused, and 

community based when addressing the strengths and needs of 

troubled and at-risk youth and their families in the 

Commonwealth. 

"Concurrent permanency planning" means a sequential, 

structured approach to case management which requires 

working towards a permanency goal (usually reunification) 

while at the same time establishing and working towards an 

alternative permanency plan. 

"Custody investigation" means a method to gather 

information related to the parents and a child whose custody, 

visitation, or support is in controversy or requires 

determination. 

"Department" means the State Department of Social 

Services.  

"Dual approval process" means a process that includes a 

home study, mutual selection, interviews, training, and 

background checks to be completed on all applicants being 

considered for approval as a resource, foster or adoptive 

family home provider.  

"Family Assessment and Planning Team (FAPT)" means the 

local team created by the CPMT (i) to assess the strengths 

and needs of troubled youths and families who are approved 

for referral to the team and (ii) to identify and determine the 

complement of services required to meet their unique needs. 

The powers and duties of the FAPT are set out in § 2.2-5208 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Foster care" means 24-hour substitute care for children 

placed away from their parents or guardians and for whom 

the local board has placement and care responsibility. 

[ Placements may be made in foster family homes, foster 

homes of relatives, group homes, emergency shelters, 

residential facilities, child care institutions, and pre-adoptive 

homes. ] Foster care also includes children under the 

placement and care of the local board who have not been 

removed from their home.  

"Foster care maintenance payments" means payments to 

cover federally allowable expenses made on behalf of a child 

in foster care including the cost of food, clothing, shelter, 

daily supervision, [ reasonable travel for the child to visit 

relatives and to remain in his previous school placement, ] 

and other allowable expenses in accordance with guidance 

developed by the department.  

[ "Foster Care Manual" means Chapter E - Foster Care of 

the Child and Family Services Manual of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services dated July 2011. ]  

"Foster care placement" means placement of a child through 

(i) an agreement between the parents or guardians and the 

local board or the public agency designated by the CPMT 

where legal custody remains with the parents or guardians, or 

(ii) an entrustment or commitment of the child to the local 

board or licensed child-placing agency. 

"Foster care prevention" means the provision of services to a 

child and family to prevent the need for foster care placement. 

"Foster care services" means the provision of a full range of 

prevention, placement, treatment, and community services, 

including but not limited to independent living services, [ for 

a planned period of time ] as set forth in § 63.2-905 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Foster child" means a child for whom the local board has 

assumed placement and care responsibilities through a [ non-

custodial noncustodial ] foster care agreement, entrustment, 

or court commitment before 18 years of age.  

[ "Foster family placement" means placement of a child with 

a family who has been approved by a child-placing agency to 

provide substitute care for children until a permanent 

placement can be achieved. ] 

"Foster home" means the place of residence of any natural 

person in which any child, other than a child by birth or 

adoption of such person, resides as a member of the 

household.  

"Foster parent" means an approved provider who gives 24-

hour substitute family care, room and board, and services for 

children or youth committed or entrusted to a child-placing 

agency. 

"Independent living arrangement" means placement of a 

child at least 16 years of age who is in the custody of a local 

board or licensed child-placing agency and has been placed 
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by the local board or licensed child-placing agency in a living 

arrangement in which he does not have daily substitute 

parental supervision.  

"Independent living services" means services and activities 

provided to a child in foster care 14 years of age or older who 

was committed or entrusted to a local board of social services, 

child welfare agency, or private child-placing agency. 

Independent living services may also mean services and 

activities provided to a person who was in foster care on his 

18th birthday and has not yet reached the age of 21 years. 

Such services shall include counseling, education, housing, 

employment, and money management skills development, 

access to essential documents, and other appropriate services 

to help children or persons prepare for self-sufficiency.  

"Individual Family Service Plan (IFSP)" means the plan for 

services developed by the FAPT in accordance with § 2.2-

5208 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Intercountry placement" means the arrangement for the 

care of a child in an adoptive home or foster care placement 

into or out of the Commonwealth by a licensed child-placing 

agency, court, or other entity authorized to make such 

placements in accordance with the laws of the foreign country 

under which it operates.  

"Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC)" 

means a uniform law that has been enacted by all 50 states, 

the District of Columbia, [ Puerto Rico, ] and the U.S. Virgin 

Islands which establishes orderly procedures for the interstate 

placement of children and sets responsibility for those 

involved in placing those children.  

"Interstate placement" means the arrangement for the care of 

a child in an adoptive home, foster care placement, or in the 

home of the child's parent or with a relative or nonagency 

guardian, into or out of the Commonwealth, by a child-

placing agency or court when the full legal right of the child's 

parent or nonagency guardian to plan for the child has been 

voluntarily terminated or limited or severed by the action of 

any court.  

"Investigation" means the process by which the local 

department obtains information required by § 63.2-1208 of 

the Code of Virginia about the placement and the suitability 

of the adoption. The findings of the investigation are 

compiled into a written report for the circuit court containing 

a recommendation on the action to be taken by the court. 

"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in the Commonwealth. 

"Nonagency placement adoption" means an adoption in 

which the child is not in the custody of a child-placing agency 

and is placed in the adoptive home directly by the birth parent 

or legal guardian.  

"Noncustodial foster care agreement" means an agreement 

that the local department enters into with the parent or 

guardian of a child to place the child in foster care when the 

parent or guardian retains custody of the child. The agreement 

specifies the conditions for placement and care of the child. 

"Nonrecurring expenses" means expenses of adoptive 

parents directly related to the adoption of a child with special 

needs including, but not limited to, attorney [ or other ] fees 

directly related to the finalization of the adoption; 

transportation; court costs; and reasonable and necessary fees 

of [ licensed ] child-placing agencies.  

"Parental placement" means locating or effecting the 

placement of a child or the placing of a child in a family 

home by the child's parent or legal guardian for the purpose 

of foster care or adoption.  

"Permanency" means establishing family connections and 

placement options for a child to provide a lifetime of 

commitment, continuity of care, a sense of belonging, and a 

legal and social status that go beyond a child's temporary 

foster care placements. 

"Permanency planning" means a social work practice 

philosophy that promotes establishing a permanent living 

situation for every child with an adult with whom the child 

has a continuous, reciprocal relationship within a minimum 

amount of time after the child enters the foster care system. 

"Permanency planning indicator (PPI)" means a tool used in 

concurrent permanency planning to assess the likelihood of 

reunification. This tool assists the worker in determining if a 

child should be placed with a resource family and if a 

concurrent goal should be established. 

"Prior custodian" means the person who had custody of the 

child and with whom the child resided, other than the birth 

parent, before custody was transferred to or placement made 

with the child-placing agency when that person had custody 

of the child. 

[ "Reassessment" means a subsequent review of the child's, 

birth parent's or prior custodian's, and resource parent's 

circumstances for the purpose of identifying needed services. 

"Putative Father Registry" means a confidential database 

designed to protect the rights of a putative father who wants 

to be notified in the event of a proceeding related to 

termination of parental rights or adoption for a child he may 

have fathered. ]  

"Residential placement" means a placement in a licensed 

publicly or privately owned facility, other than a private 

family home, where 24-hour care is provided to children 

separated from their families. A residential placement 

includes children's residential facilities as defined in § 63.2-

100 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Resource parent" means a provider who has completed the 

dual approval process and has been approved as both a foster 

and adoptive family home provider. 

"Reunification" means the return of the child to his home 

after removal for reasons of child abuse and neglect, 

abandonment, child in need of services, parental request for 
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relief of custody, noncustodial agreement, entrustment, or any 

other court-ordered removal. 

"Service plan" means a written document that describes the 

programs, care, services, and other support which will be 

offered to the child and his parents and other prior custodians 

pursuant to § 16.1-281 of the Code of Virginia, 

"Service worker" means a worker responsible for case 

management or service coordination for prevention, foster 

care, or adoption cases. 

[ "Special service payments" means payments for services 

provided to help meet the adoptive or foster child's physical, 

mental, emotional, or dental needs. ]  

"SSI" means Supplemental Security Income.  

"State pool fund" means the pooled state and local funds 

administered by CSA and used to pay for services authorized 

by the CPMT. 

"Step-parent adoption" means the adoption of a child by a 

spouse; or the adoption of a child by a former spouse of the 

birth or adoptive parent in accordance with § 63.2-1201.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Title IV-E" means the title of the Social Security Act that 

authorizes federal funds for foster care and adoption 

assistance. 

"Visitation and report" means the visitation conducted 

pursuant to § 63.2-1212 of the Code of Virginia subsequent to 

the entry of an interlocutory order of adoption and the written 

report compiling the findings of the visitation which is filed 

in the circuit court. 

"Wrap around services" means an individually designed set 

of services and supports provided to a child and his family 

that includes treatment services, personal support services or 

any other supports necessary to achieve the desired outcome. 

Wrap around services are developed through a team 

approach. 

"Youth" means any child in foster care between 16 and 18 

years of age or any person 18 to 21 years of age transitioning 

out of foster care and receiving independent living services 

pursuant to § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

22VAC40-201-20. Foster care prevention services. 

A. The local department shall first make reasonable efforts 

to keep the child in his home. 

B. The local department shall [ work with the birth parents 

or custodians to locate and make diligent efforts to locate 

and ] assess relatives or other alternative caregivers to support 

the child remaining in his home or as placement options if the 

child cannot safely remain in his home.  

C. [ Services Foster care services ], pursuant to § 63.2-905 

of the Code of Virginia, shall be available to birth parents or 

custodians to prevent the need for foster care placement [ to 

the extent that a child and birth parents or custodians meet all 

eligibility requirements ].  

D. Any services available to a child in foster care shall also 

be available to a child and his birth parents or custodians to 

prevent foster care placement and shall be based on an 

assessment of the child's and birth parents' or custodians' 

needs.  

E. Any service shall be provided to prevent foster care 

placement or to stabilize the family situation provided the 

need for the service is documented in the local department's 

service plan or in the IFSP used in conjunction with CSA. 

F. Children at imminent risk of entry into foster care shall be 

evaluated by the local department as reasonable candidates 

for foster care based on federal and state guidelines.  

G. The local department shall consider a wrap around plan 

of care prior to removing a child from his home and 

document support and services considered and the reasons 

such support and services were not sufficient to maintain the 

child in his home. 

[ H. Within 30 days after removing the child from the 

custody of his parents, the local department shall make 

diligent efforts, in accordance with the Foster Care Manual, to 

notify in writing all adult relatives that the child is being 

removed or has been removed. ]  

22VAC40-201-30. Entering foster care. 

A. A child enters foster care through a court commitment, 

entrustment agreement, or [ non-custodial noncustodial ] 

foster care agreement. [ Foster care children who have been 

committed to the Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) shall 

re-enter foster care at the completion of the DJJ commitment 

if under the age of 18. ]  

B. The entrustment agreement shall specify the rights and 

obligations of the child, the birth parent or custodian, and the 

child-placing agency. Entrustments shall not be used for 

educational purposes, to make the child eligible for Medicaid, 

or to obtain mental health treatment.  

1. Temporary entrustment agreements may be revoked by 

the birth parent or custodian or child-placing agency prior 

to the court's approval of the agreement. 

2. Permanent entrustment agreements shall only be entered 

into when the birth parent and the child-placing agency, 

after counseling about alternatives to permanent 

relinquishment, agree that voluntary relinquishment of 

parental rights and placement of the child for adoption are 

in the child's best interests. When a child-placing agency 

enters into a permanent entrustment agreement, the child-

placing agency shall make diligent efforts to ensure the 

timely finalization of the adoption. 

[ 3. Local departments shall submit a petition for approval 

of the entrustment agreement to the juvenile and domestic 

relations court pursuant to § 63.2-903 of the Code of 

Virginia. ]  

C. A child may be placed in foster care by a birth parent or 

custodian entering into a noncustodial foster care agreement 

with the local department where the birth parent or custodian 
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retains legal custody and the local department assumes 

placement and care of the child. 

1. A noncustodial foster care agreement shall be signed by 

the local department and the birth parent or custodian and 

shall address the conditions for care and control of the 

child; and the rights and obligations of the child, birth 

parent or custodian, and the local department. Local 

departments shall enter into a noncustodial foster care 

agreement at the request of the birth parent or custodian 

when such an agreement is in the best interest of the child. 

When a noncustodial foster care agreement is executed, the 

permanency goal shall be reunification and continuation of 

the agreement is subject to the cooperation of the birth 

parent or custodian and child.  

2. The plan for foster care placement through a 

noncustodial foster care agreement shall be submitted to 

the court for approval within 60 days of the child's entry 

into foster care. 

3. When a child is placed in foster care through a 

noncustodial foster care agreement, all foster care 

requirements shall be met.  

22VAC40-201-40. Foster care placements. 

A. The local department shall ensure a child in foster care is 

placed in a licensed or approved home or facility that 

complies with all federal and state requirements for safety. 

Placements shall be made subject to the requirements of 

§ 63.2-901.1 of the Code of Virginia. The following 

requirements shall be met when placing a child in a licensed 

or approved home or facility: 

1. The local department shall make diligent efforts to 

locate and assess relatives as a foster home placement for 

the child, including in emergency situations.  

2. The local department shall place the child in the least 

restrictive, most family like setting consistent with the best 

interests and needs of the child. 

3. The local department shall attempt to place the child in 

as close proximity as possible to the birth parent's or prior 

custodian's home to facilitate visitation [ and, ] provide 

continuity of connections [ , and provide educational 

stability ] for the child. 

4. The local department shall make diligent efforts to place 

the child with siblings. 

5. The local department shall, when appropriate, consider 

placement with a resource parent so that if reunification 

fails, the placement is the best available placement to 

provide permanency for the child. 

6. The local department shall not delay or deny placement 

of a child into a foster family placement on the basis of 

race, color, or national origin of the foster or resource 

parent or child.  

7. When a child being placed in foster care is of native 

American heritage and is a member of a nationally 

recognized tribe, the local department shall follow all 

federal laws, regulations, and [ polices policies ] regarding 

the referral of a child of native American heritage. The 

local department [ shall may ] contact the Virginia Council 

on Indians [ for information on contacting Virginia tribes ] 

and [ shall ] consider tribal culture and connections in the 

placement and care of a child of Virginia Indian heritage. 

B. A service worker shall make a preplacement visit to any 

out-of-home placement to observe the environment where the 

child will be living and ensure that the placement is safe and 

capable of meeting the needs of the child. The preplacement 

visit shall precede the placement date except in cases of 

emergency. In cases of emergency, the visit shall occur on the 

same day as the placement.  

C. Foster, adoptive, or resource family homes shall meet 

standards established by the [ Board board ] and shall be 

approved by child-placing agencies. Group homes and 

residential facilities shall be licensed by the appropriate 

licensing agency. Local departments shall verify the licensure 

status of the facility prior to placement of the child.  

D. Local departments shall receive approval from the 

department's office of the ICPC prior to placing a child out of 

state. 

E. When a child is to be placed in a home in another local 

department's jurisdiction within Virginia, the local 

department intending to place the child shall notify the local 

department that approved the home that the home is being 

considered for the child's placement. The local department 

shall also verify that the home is still approved and shall 

consult with the approving local department about placement 

of the child.  

F. When a foster, adoptive, or resource family is moving 

from one jurisdiction to another, the local department holding 

custody shall notify the local department in the jurisdiction to 

which the foster, adoptive, or resource family is moving. 

G. When a child moves with a foster, adoptive, or resource 

family from one jurisdiction to another in Virginia, the local 

department holding custody shall continue supervision of the 

child unless supervision is transferred to the other local 

department. 

H. A local department may petition the court to transfer 

custody of a child to another local department when the birth 

parent or prior custodian has moved to that locality.  

I. In planned placement changes or relocation of foster 

parents, birth parents with residual parental rights or prior 

custodians and all other relevant parties shall be notified that 

a placement change or move is being considered if such 

notification is in the best interest of the child. The birth parent 

or prior custodian shall be involved in the decision-making 

process regarding the placement change prior to a final 

decision being made.  

1. The service worker shall consider the child's best 

interest and safety needs when involving the birth parent or 
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prior custodian and all other relevant parties in the 

decision-making process regarding placement change or 

notification of the new placement.  

2. In the case of an emergency placement change, the birth 

parent with residual parental rights or prior custodian and 

all other relevant parties shall be notified immediately of 

the placement change. The child-placing agency shall 

inform the birth parent or prior custodian why the 

placement change occurred and why the birth parent or 

prior custodian and all other relevant parties could not be 

involved in the decision-making process.  

22VAC40-201-50. Initial foster care placement activities. 

A. Information on every child in foster care shall be entered 

into the department's automated child welfare system in 

accordance with guidance in the initial placement activities 

section of the Foster Care Manual [ , August 2009 ].  

B. The local department shall refer the child for all financial 

benefits to which the child may be eligible, including but not 

limited to Child Support, Title IV-E, SSI, other governmental 

benefits, and private resources. 

C. The service worker shall ensure that the child receives a 

medical examination no later than 30 days after initial 

placement. The child shall be provided a medical evaluation 

within 72 hours of initial placement if conditions indicate 

such an evaluation is necessary. 

D. The [ local department shall collaborate with local 

educational agencies to ensure that the child remains in his 

previous school placement when it is in the best interests of 

the child. If remaining in the same school is not in the best 

interests of the child, the ] service worker shall enroll the 

child in [ an appropriate new ] school as soon as possible but 

no more than 72 hours after placement.  

1. The child's desire to remain in his previous school 

setting shall be considered in making the decision about 

which school the child shall attend. [ Local departments 

shall allow a child to remain in his previous school 

placement when it is in the best interest of the child. ]  

2. The service worker, in cooperation with the birth parents 

or prior custodians, foster care providers, and other 

involved adults, shall coordinate the school placement.  

22VAC40-201-60. Assessment. 

A. Assessments shall be conducted in a manner that 

respectfully involves children and birth parents or prior 

custodians to give them a say in what happens to them. 

Decision making shall include input from children, youth, 

birth parents or prior custodians, and other interested 

individuals. 

B. The initial foster care assessment shall result in the 

selection of a specific permanency goal. In accordance with 

guidance in the assessment section of the Foster Care Manual, 

[ August 2009, ] the local department shall complete the PPI 

during the initial foster care assessment to assist in 

determining if a concurrent goal should be selected. 

C. The initial foster care assessment shall be completed 

within time frames developed by the department but shall not 

exceed 30 calendar days after acceptance of the child in a 

foster care placement. 

1. When a child has been removed from his home as a 

result of abuse or neglect, the initial foster care assessment 

shall include a summary of the Child Protective Services' 

safety and risk assessments.  

2. The history and circumstances of the child, the birth 

parents or prior custodians, or other interested individuals 

shall be assessed at the time of the initial foster care 

assessment to determine their service needs. The initial 

foster care assessment shall: 

a. Include a comprehensive social history; 

b Utilize assessment tools designated by the department;  

c. Be entered into the department's automated child 

welfare system; and 

d. Include a description of how the child, youth, birth 

parents or prior custodians, and other interested 

individuals were involved in the decision making 

process. 

D. The service worker shall refer the child; birth parents or 

prior custodians; and foster, adoptive or resource parents for 

appropriate services identified through the assessment. The 

assessment shall include an assessment of financial resources.  

E. [ Reassessments of response of Assessments of the 

effectiveness of services to ] the child; birth parents or prior 

custodians; and foster, adoptive, or resource [ parents' to the 

provided services parents ] and the need for additional 

services shall occur at least every three months as long as the 

goal is to return home. [ Reassessments For all other goals, 

assessments of the effectiveness and need for additional 

services ] shall occur at least every six months after 

placement for as long as the child remains in foster care. 

The  [ reassessments assessments ] shall be completed in 

accordance with guidance in the assessment section of the 

Foster Care Manual [ , August 2009 ]. 

22VAC40-201-70. Foster care goals. 

A. Foster care goals are established [ in order ] to assure 

permanency planning for the child. [ Priority shall be given to 

the goals listed in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this subsection, 

which are recognized in federal legislation as providing 

children with permanency. ] The [ establishment selection ] of 

[ lower ranking ] goals [ other than those in subdivisions 1, 2, 

and 3 of this subsection ] must include documentation as to 

why [ all higher ranking each of these first three ] goals were 

not selected. Foster care goals [  , in order of priority, ] are: 

1. Return custody to parent or prior custodian. 

2. Transfer of custody of the child to a relative other than 

his prior family. 

3. Adoption. 

4. Permanent foster care. 
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5. Independent living. 

6. Another planned permanent living arrangement. 

B. When the permanency goal is changed to adoption, the 

local department shall file petitions with the court 30 days 

prior to the hearing to:  

1. Approve the foster care service plan seeking to change 

the permanency goal to adoption; and  

2. Terminate parental rights. 

[ Upon termination of parental rights, the local department 

shall provide an array of adoption services to support 

obtaining a finalized adoption. ]  

C. The goal of permanent foster care shall only be 

considered for children age 14 and older in accordance with 

guidance in the section on choosing a goal in the Foster Care 

Manual [ , August 2009 ].  

D. When the goal for the youth is to transition to 

independent living, the local department shall provide 

services pursuant to guidance in the section on choosing a 

goal in the Foster Care Manual [ , August 2009 ].  

E. The goal of another planned permanent living 

arrangement may be chosen when the court has found that 

none of the alternative permanency goals are appropriate and 

the court has found the child to: 

1. Have a severe and chronic emotional, physical, or 

neurological disabling condition; and 

2. Require long-term residential care for the condition. 

F. These permanency goals shall be considered and 

addressed from the beginning of placement and continuously 

evaluated. Although one goal may appear to be the primary 

goal, other goals shall be continuously explored and planned 

for as appropriate. 

22VAC40-201-80. Service plans. 

A. Every child in foster care shall have a current service 

plan. The service plan shall specify the assessed permanency 

goal and when appropriate the concurrent permanency goal, 

and shall meet all requirements set forth in federal or state 

law. The development of the service plan shall occur through 

shared decision-making between the local department; the 

child; the birth parents or prior custodians; the foster, 

adoptive, or resource parents; and any other interested 

individuals. All of these partners shall be involved in sharing 

information for the purposes of well-informed decisions and 

planning for the child with a focus on safety and permanence.  

B. A service plan shall be written after the completion of a 

thorough assessment. Service plans shall directly reference 

how the strengths identified in the foster care assessment will 

support the plan and the needs to be met to achieve the 

permanency goal, including the identified concurrent 

permanency goal, in a timely manner. 

C. A plan for visitation with the birth parents or prior 

custodians, siblings, grandparents, or other interested 

individuals for all children in foster care shall be developed 

and presented to the court as part of the service plan. A plan 

shall not be required if such visitation is not in the best 

interest of the child.  

22VAC40-201-90. Service delivery. 

A. Permanency planning services to children and birth 

parents or prior custodians shall be delivered as part of a total 

system with cooperation, coordination, and collaboration 

occurring among children and youth, birth parents or prior 

custodians, service providers, the legal community and other 

interested individuals.  

B. Permanency planning for children and birth parents or 

prior custodians shall be an inclusive process providing 

timely notifications and full disclosure to the birth parents or 

prior custodians of the establishment of a concurrent 

permanency goal when indicated and the implications of 

concurrent permanency planning for the child and birth 

parents or prior custodians. Child-placing agencies shall also 

make timely notifications concerning placement changes, 

hearings and meetings regarding the child, assessments of 

needs and case progress, and responsiveness to the requests of 

the child and birth parents or prior custodians. 

C. Services to children and birth parents or prior custodians 

shall continue until an assessment indicates the services are 

no longer necessary. Services to achieve concurrent 

permanency goals shall be provided to support achievement 

of both permanency goals. 

D. In order to meet the child's permanency goals, services 

may be provided to extended family or other interested 

individuals and may continue until an assessment indicates 

the services are no longer necessary. 

E. All children in foster care shall have a face-to-face 

contact with an approved case worker at least once per 

calendar month regardless of the child's permanency goal or 

placement and in accordance with guidance in the service 

delivery section of the Foster Care Manual [ , August 2009, ] 

and [ Chapter C of ] the Adoption Manual [ , October 2009 ]. 

The majority of each child's visits shall be in his place of 

residency. 

1. The purpose of the visits shall be to assess the child's 

progress, needs, adjustment to placement, and other 

significant information related to the health, safety, and 

well-being of the child.  

2. The visits shall be made by individuals who meet the 

department's requirements consistent with 42 USC 

§ 622(b).  

F. Supportive services to foster, adoptive, and resource 

parents shall be provided. 

1. The local department shall enter into a placement 

agreement developed by the department with the foster, 

adoptive, or resource parents. The placement agreement 

shall include, at a minimum, a code of ethics and mutual 

responsibilities for all parties to the agreement as required 

by § 63.2-900 of the Code of Virginia. 
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2. Foster, adoptive, and resource parents who have children 

placed with them shall be contacted by a service worker as 

often as needed in accordance with 22VAC211-100 to 

assess service needs and progress.  

3. Foster, adoptive, and resource parents shall be given full 

factual information about the child, including but not 

limited to, circumstances that led to the child's removal, 

and complete educational, medical and behavioral 

information. All information shall be kept confidential.  

4. Foster, adoptive, and resource parents shall be given 

appropriate sections of the foster care service plan.  

5. If needed, services to stabilize the placement shall be 

provided.  

6. Respite care for foster, adoptive, and resource parents 

may be provided on an emergency or planned basis in 

accordance with criteria developed by the department.  

7. The department shall make a contingency fund available 

to provide reimbursement to local departments' foster and 

resource parents for damages pursuant to § 63.2-911 of the 

Code of Virginia and according to [ department ] guidance 

[ in the Foster Care Manual (section 12.16 of the 

Contingency Fund Policy) ]. Provision of reimbursement is 

contingent upon the availability of funds.  

22VAC40-201-100. Providing independent living services. 

A. Independent living services shall be identified by the 

youth; foster, adoptive or resource family; local department; 

service providers; legal community; and other interested 

individuals and shall be included in the service plan. Input 

from the youth in assembling [ the team these individuals ] 

and developing the services is required.  

B. Independent living services may be provided to all youth 

ages 14 to 18 and may be provided until the youth reaches 

age 21. 

C. The child-placing agency may offer a program of 

independent living services that meets the youth's needs such 

as education, vocational training, employment, mental and 

physical health services, transportation, housing, financial 

support, daily living skills, counseling, and development of 

permanent connections with adults.  

D. Child-placing agencies shall assess the youth's 

independent living skills and needs in accordance with 

guidance in the service delivery section of the Foster Care 

Manual [ , August 2009, ] and incorporate the assessment 

results into the youth's service plan.  

E. A youth placed in foster care before the age of 18 may 

continue to receive independent living services from the 

child-placing agency between the ages of 18 and 21 if: 

1. The youth is making progress in an educational or 

vocational program, has employment, or is in a treatment 

or training program; and 

2. The youth agrees to participate with the local department 

in (i) developing a service agreement and (ii) signing the 

service agreement. The service agreement shall require, at 

a minimum, that the youth's living arrangement shall be 

approved by the local department and that the youth shall 

cooperate with all services; or 

3. The youth is in permanent foster care and is making 

progress in an educational or vocational program, has 

employment, or is in a treatment or training program.  

F. A youth age 16 and older is eligible to live in an 

independent living arrangement provided the child-placing 

agency utilizes the independent living arrangement placement 

criteria developed by the department to determine that such 

an arrangement is in the youth's best interest. An eligible 

youth may receive an independent living stipend to assist him 

with the costs of maintenance. The eligibility criteria for 

receiving an independent living stipend will be developed by 

the department. 

G. Any person who was committed or entrusted to a child-

placing agency and chooses to discontinue receiving 

independent living services after age 18 but prior to his 21st 

birthday may request a resumption of independent living 

services [ within 60 days of discontinuing these services. The 

child-placing agency shall restore independent living services 

in accordance with § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of Virginia. in 

accordance with § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of Virginia. ]  

H. Child-placing agencies shall assist eligible youth in 

applying for educational and vocational financial assistance. 

Educational and vocational specific funding sources shall be 

used prior to using other sources. 

I. Every six months a supervisory review of service plans for 

youth receiving independent living services after age 18 shall 

be conducted to assure the effectiveness of service provision.  

22VAC40-201-110. Court hearings and case reviews. 

A. For all court hearings, local departments shall:  

1. File petitions in accordance with the requirements for 

the type of hearing.  

2. Obtain and consider the child's input as to who should 

be included in the court hearing. If persons identified by 

the child will not be included in the court hearing, the 

child-placing agency shall explain the reasons to the child 

for such a decision consistent with the child's 

developmental and psychological status. 

3. Inform the court of reasonable efforts made to achieve 

concurrent permanency goals in those cases where a 

concurrent goal has been identified. 

B. An administrative panel review shall be held six months 

after a permanency planning hearing when the goals of 

adoption, permanent foster care, or independent living have 

been approved by the court unless the court requires more 

frequent hearings. The child will continue to have 

Administrative Panel Reviews or review hearings every six 

months until a final order of adoption is issued or the child 

reaches age 18. 
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C. The local department shall invite the child; the birth 

parents or prior custodians when appropriate; the child's 

foster, adoptive, or resource parents; placement providers; 

guardian ad litem; court appointed special advocate (CASA); 

and other interested individuals to participate in the 

administrative panel reviews. 

D. The local department shall consider all recommendations 

made during the administrative panel review in planning 

services for the child and birth parents or prior custodians and 

document the recommendations on the department approved 

form. All interested individuals, including those not in 

attendance, shall be given a copy of the results of the 

administrative panel review as documented on the department 

approved form. 

E. A supervisory review is required every six months for 

youth ages 18 to 21.  

F. When a case is on appeal for termination of parental 

rights, the juvenile and domestic relations district court 

retains jurisdiction on all matters not on appeal. The circuit 

court appeal hearing may substitute for a review hearing if the 

circuit court addresses the future status of the child.  

22VAC40-201-120. Funding. 

A. The local department is responsible for establishing a 

foster child's eligibility for federal, state, or other funding 

sources and making required payments from such sources. 

State pool funds shall be used for a child's maintenance and 

service needs when other funding sources are not available. 

B. The assessment and provision of services to the child and 

birth parents or prior custodians shall be made without regard 

to the funding source.  

C. Local departments shall reimburse foster or resource 

parents for expenses paid by them on behalf of the foster 

child when the expenses are preauthorized or for expenses 

paid without preauthorization when the local department 

deems the expenses are appropriate. 

D. The child's eligibility for Title IV-E funding shall be 

redetermined [ annually or ] upon a change in situation and in 

accordance with federal Title IV-E eligibility requirements, 

the Title IV-E Eligibility Manual, October 2005, and 

[ Chapter C of ] the Adoption Manual [ , October 2009 ]. 

E. The service worker is responsible for providing the 

eligibility worker information required for the annual 

redetermination of Medicaid eligibility and information 

related to changes in the child's situation.  

22VAC40-201-130. Closing the foster care case. 

A. Foster care cases are closed or transferred to another 

service category under the following circumstances: 

1. When the foster care child turns 18 years of age;  

2. When the court releases the child from the local 

department's custody prior to the age of 18; [ or ]  

3. When a voluntary placement agreement has expired, 

been revoked, or been terminated by the court [ .; 

4. When the foster care child is committed to DJJ; or 

5. When the final order of adoption is issued. ]  

B. When the foster care case is closed for services, the case 

record shall be maintained according to the record retention 

schedules of the Library of Virginia.  

C. Any foster care youth who has reached age 18 has the 

right to request information from his records in accordance 

with state law. 

22VAC40-201-140. Other foster care requirements. 

A. The director of a local department may grant approval for 

a child to travel out-of-state and out-of-country. The approval 

must be in writing and maintained in the child's file. 

B. Pursuant to § 63.2-908 of the Code of Virginia, a foster 

or resource parent may consent to a marriage or entry into the 

military if the child has been placed with him through a 

permanent foster care agreement which has been approved by 

the court. 

C. An employee of a local department, including a relative, 

cannot serve as a foster, adoptive, or resource parent for a 

child in the custody of that local department. The employee 

can be a foster, adoptive, or resource parent for another local 

department or licensed child-placing agency or the child's 

custody may be transferred to another local department. 

D. The child of a foster child remains the responsibility of 

his parent, unless custody has been removed by the court.  

1. The child is not subject to requirements for service 

plans, reviews, or hearings. However, the needs and safety 

of the child shall be considered and documented in the 

service plan for the foster child (parent).  

2. The child is eligible for maintenance payments, services, 

Medicaid, and child support services based on federal law 

and in accordance with guidance in the Foster Care Manual 

[ , August 2009, ]and the Adoption Manual [ , October 

2009 ].  

E. When a child in foster care is committed to the 

Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ), the local department no 

longer has custody or placement and care responsibility for 

the child. As long as the discharge or release plan for the 

child is to return to the local department prior to reaching age 

18, the local department shall maintain a connection with the 

child in accordance with guidance developed by the 

department.  

22VAC40-201-150. Adoption Resource Exchange of 

Virginia. 

A. The purpose of AREVA is to increase opportunities for 

children to be adopted by providing services to child-placing 

agencies having custody of these children. The services 

provided by AREVA include, but are not limited to: 

1. Maintaining a registry of children awaiting adoption and 

a registry of approved parents waiting to adopt; 

2. Preparing and [ distributing a posting an electronic ] 

photo-listing of children with special needs awaiting 
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adoption and a photo-listing of parents awaiting placement 

of a child with special needs;  

3. Providing information and referral services for children 

who have special needs to link child-placing agencies with 

other adoption resources;  

4. Providing [ on-going adoptive parent ongoing targeted 

and child-specific ] recruitment efforts for waiting 

children;  

5. Providing consultation and technical assistance [ on 

child-specific recruitment ] to child-placing agencies [ in 

finding adoptive parents ] for waiting children; and  

6. Monitoring local [ department's departments' ] 

compliance with legal requirements, guidance, and policy 

on registering children and parents.  

B. Child-placing agencies shall comply with all of the 

AREVA requirements according to guidance in [ Chapter C 

of ] the Adoption Manual [ , October 2009 ].  

22VAC40-201-160. Adoption assistance. 

A. An adoption assistance agreement shall be executed by 

the child-placing agency for a child who has been determined 

eligible for adoption assistance. Local departments shall use 

the adoption assistance agreement form developed by the 

department.  

B. For a child to be eligible for adoption assistance he must 

have been determined to be a child with special needs as 

defined in 22VAC40-201-10 and meet the following criteria: 

1. Be under 18 years of age [ ; and meet the requirements 

set forth in § 473 of Title IV-E of the Social Security Act 

(42 USC § 673); or ]  

2. Be [ under 18 years of age and ] in the placement and 

care of a child-placing agency at the time the petition for 

adoption is filed [ ; ] and [ 3. Be be ] placed by [ a the ] 

child-placing agency with the prospective adoptive parents 

for the purpose of adoption, except for those situations in 

which the child has resided for 18 months with the foster 

or resource parents who file a petition for adoption under 

§ 63.2-1229 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. The types of adoption assistance for which a child may be 

eligible are:  

1. Title IV-E adoption assistance if the child meets federal 

eligibility requirements.  

2. State adoption assistance when the child's foster care 

expenses were paid from state pool funds [ . or when the 

child has a conditional agreement and payments 3. 

Conditional adoption assistance when payments and 

services ] are not needed at the time of placement into an 

adoptive home but may be needed later and the child's 

foster care expenses were paid from state pool funds. 

[ Conditional A conditional ] adoption assistance 

[ agreement ] allows the adoptive parents to apply for state 

adoption assistance after the final order of adoption. 

[ Conditional A conditional ] adoption assistance 

[ agreement ] shall not require annual certification.  

D. Adoption assistance payments shall be negotiated with 

the adoptive parents taking into consideration the needs of the 

child and the circumstances of the family. In considering the 

family's circumstances, income shall not be the sole factor. 

Family and community resources shall be explored to help 

defray the costs of adoption assistance.  

E. Three types of payments [ shall may ] be made on behalf 

of a child who is eligible for adoption assistance.  

1. [ Adoptive The adoptive ] parent shall be reimbursed, 

upon request, for the nonrecurring expenses of adopting a 

child with special needs. 

a. The total amount of reimbursement is based on actual 

costs and shall not exceed $2,000 per child per 

placement. 

b. Payment of nonrecurring expenses may begin as soon 

as the child is placed in the adoptive home and the 

adoption assistance agreement has been signed.  

c. Nonrecurring expenses include:  

(1) Attorney fees directly related to the finalization of the 

adoption; 

(2) Transportation and other expenses incurred by 

adoptive parents related to the placement of the child. 

Expenses may be paid for more than one visit;  

(3) Court costs related to filing an adoption petition; 

[ and ]  

(4) Reasonable and necessary fees [ of related to ] 

adoption [ charged by licensed ] child-placing agencies 

[ .; and 

(5) Other expenses directly related to the finalization of 

the adoption. ]   

2. A maintenance payment shall be approved for a child 

who is eligible for adoption assistance [ , except those for 

whom a conditional adoption assistance will be provided, ] 

unless the adoptive parent indicates or it is determined 

through negotiation that the payment is not needed. [ In 

these cases a conditional adoption assistance agreement 

may be entered into. ] The amount of maintenance 

payments made shall not exceed the [ maximum ] foster 

care [ board rate as established by the appropriation act 

maintenance payment that would have been paid during the 

period if the child had been in a foster family home ].  

a. The amount of the payment shall be negotiated with 

the adoptive parents taking into consideration the needs 

of the child and circumstances of the adoptive parents.  

b. The [ basic board rate included as a component of the ] 

maintenance payments shall not be reduced below the 

amount specified in the [ initial ] adoption assistance 

agreement without the concurrence of the adoptive 

parents or a reduction mandated by the appropriation act.  
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c. Increases in the amount of the maintenance payment 

shall be made when the child is receiving the maximum 

allowable foster care [ board maintenance ] rate and:  

(1) The child reaches a higher age grouping, as specified 

in guidance for foster care [ board maintenance ] rates; or 

(2) Statewide increases are approved for foster care 

[ board maintenance ] rates.  

3. A special service payment is used to help meet the 

child's physical, mental, emotional, or nonroutine dental 

needs. The special service payment shall be directly related 

to the child's special needs [ or day care ]. Special service 

payments shall be time limited based on the needs of the 

child. 

a. Types of expenses that are appropriate to be paid are 

included in [ Chapter C of ] the Adoption Manual [ , 

October 2009 ]. 

b. A special service payment may be used for a child 

eligible for Medicaid to supplement expenses not 

covered by Medicaid.  

c. Payments for special services are negotiated with the 

adoptive parents taking into consideration:  

(1) The special needs of the child;  

(2) Alternative resources available to fully or partially 

defray the cost of meeting the child's special needs; and  

(3) The circumstances of the adoptive family. In 

considering the family's circumstances, income shall not 

be the sole factor.  

d. The rate of payment shall not exceed the prevailing 

community rate.  

e. The special services adoption assistance agreement 

shall be separate and distinct from the adoption 

assistance agreement for maintenance payments and 

nonrecurring expenses. 

F. When a child is determined eligible for adoption 

assistance prior to the adoption being finalized, the adoption 

assistance agreement:  

1. Shall be executed within 90 days of receipt of the 

application for adoption assistance;  

2. Shall be signed before entry of the final order of 

adoption;  

3. Shall specify the amount of payment and the services to 

be provided, including Medicaid; and 

4. Shall remain in effect regardless of the state to which the 

adoptive parents may relocate.  

G. Procedures for the child whose eligibility for adoption 

assistance is established after finalization shall be the same as 

for the child whose eligibility is established before 

finalization except the application shall be submitted within 

one year of diagnosis of the condition that establishes the 

child as a child with special needs [ and the child otherwise 

meets the eligibility requirements of subsection B of this 

section for adoption assistance payments ]. Application for 

adoption assistance after finalization shall be for state 

adoption assistance. 

H. The adoptive parents shall annually submit an adoption 

assistance affidavit to the local department in accordance with 

guidance in [ Chapter C of ] the Adoption Manual [ , October 

2009 ].  

I. The local department is responsible for: 

1. Payments and services identified in the adoption 

assistance agreement, regardless of where the family 

resides; and 

2. Notifying adoptive parents who are receiving adoption 

assistance that the annual affidavit is due.  

J. Adoption assistance shall be terminated when the child 

reaches the age of 18 unless the child has a physical or mental 

disability or an educational delay resulting from the child's 

disability which warrants continuation of the adoption 

assistance. If a child has one of these conditions, the adoption 

assistance may continue until the child reaches the age of 21.  

K. Adoption assistance shall not be terminated before the 

child's 18th birthday without the consent of the adoptive 

parents unless:  

1. The child is no longer receiving financial support from 

the adoptive parents; or  

2. The adoptive parents are no longer legally responsible 

for the child.  

L. Child-placing agencies are responsible for informing 

adoptive parents in writing that they have the right to appeal 

decisions relating to the child's eligibility for adoption 

assistance and decisions relating to payments and services to 

be provided within 30 days of receiving written notice of such 

decisions. Applicants for adoption assistance shall have the 

right to appeal adoption assistance decisions related to: 

1. Failure of the child-placing agency to provide full 

factual information known by the child-placing agency 

regarding the child prior to adoption finalization;  

2. Failure of the child-placing agency to inform the 

adoptive parents of the child's eligibility for adoption 

assistance; and 

3. Decisions made by the child-placing agency related to 

the child's eligibility for adoption assistance, adoption 

assistance payments, services, and changing or terminating 

adoption assistance.  

22VAC40-201-170. Child placing agency's responsibilities 

for consent in non-agency adoptive placements. 

A. At the request of the juvenile court, the child-placing 

agency shall: 

1. Conduct a home study of the [ perspective prospective ] 

adoptive home that shall include the elements in [ § §§ ] 

63.2-1231 and [ 63.2-1205.1 ] of the Code of Virginia and 

[ department ] guidance in [ Volume VII, Section III, ] 

Chapter D [ - Adoption/Non-Agency Placement and Other 
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Court Services ] of the [ Adoption Manual Service 

Program Manual of the Virginia Department of Social 

Services ], October 2009; and  

2. Provide the court with a written report of the home 

study.  

B. The child-placing agency shall make a recommendation 

to the court regarding the suitability of the individual to 

adopt.  

C. If the child-placing agency suspects an exchange of 

property, money, services, or any other thing of value has 

occurred in violation of law in the placement or adoption of 

the child, it shall report such findings to the commissioner for 

investigation. The following exceptions apply:  

1. Reasonable and customary services provided by a 

licensed or duly authorized child-placing agency, and fees 

paid for such services;  

2. Payment or reimbursement for medical expenses directly 

related to the birth mother's pregnancy and hospitalization 

for the birth of the child who is the subject of the adoption 

proceedings and for expenses incurred for medical care for 

the child;  

3. Payment or reimbursement to birth parents for 

transportation necessary to execute consent to the 

adoption;  

4. Usual and customary fees for legal services in adoption 

proceedings; and  

5. Payment or reimbursement of reasonable expenses 

incurred by the adoptive parents for transportation in inter-

country placements and as necessary for compliance with 

state and federal law in such placements.  

22VAC40-201-180. Fees for court services. 

The local department shall charge fees for the following 

court ordered services: (i) custody investigations; (ii) 

adoption searches; (iii) nonagency placement adoptions, 

investigation and reports; and (iv) visitation and reports. The 

process for determining and collecting such fees shall be in 

accordance with guidance developed by the department. 

22VAC40-201-190. Virginia Putative Father Registry. 

A. The department shall establish and maintain a putative 

father registry which is a confidential database. 

B. A search of the Virginia Putative Father Registry shall be 

conducted for all adoptions except when the child has been 

adopted according to the laws of a foreign country or when 

the child was placed in Virginia from a foreign country for 

the purpose of adoption in accordance with § 63.2-1104 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

C. Any petitioner who files a petition for termination of 

parental rights or for an adoption proceeding shall request a 

search of the Virginia Putative Father Registry. The 

certificate of search and finding must be filed with the court 

before an adoption or termination of parental rights 

proceeding can be concluded.  

 [ D. The department may require additional information to 

determine that the individual requesting information from the 

Putative Father Registry is eligible to receive information in 

accordance with § 63.2-1251 of the Code of Virginia. ]  

22VAC40-201-200. Training. 

A. Local department foster care and adoption workers and 

supervisory staff shall attend and complete initial in-service 

training in accordance with guidance in the Foster Care 

Manual [ , August 2009, ] and [ Chapter C of ] the Adoption 

Manual [ , October 2009 ]. 

B. Local department foster care and adoption workers and 

supervisory staff shall complete an individual training needs 

assessment using a method developed by the department. 

C. Local department foster care and adoption workers and 

supervisory staff shall attend and complete annual in-service 

training in accordance with guidance developed by the 

department. 
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Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-740. Adult Protective 

Services (amending 22VAC40-740-10, 22VAC40-740-21, 

22VAC40-740-31, 22VAC40-740-40 through 22VAC40-

740-80; adding 22VAC40-740-45).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1606 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: November 23, 2012. 
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Agency Contact: Paige McCleary, Program Consultant, 

Division of Family Services, Department of Social Services, 

801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

726-7536, FAX (804) 726-7895, TTY (800) 828-1120, or 

email paige.mccleary@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Sections 63.2-217 and 63.2-1603 through 63.2-1610 of 

the Code of Virginia provide the legal basis for this 

regulation. These sections provide general authority for the 

development of regulations for program operation and 

authority for the Adult Protective Services Program. Section 

63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia requires that the board 

establish by regulation a process for imposing and collecting 

civil penalties against mandated reporters who fail to report 

and a process for appeal of the imposition of a penalty 

pursuant to § 2.2-4026 of the Administrative Process Act. 

Purpose: This proposed regulatory action amends and 

provides a general review of 22VAC40-740, Adult Protective 

Services. 22VAC40-740 establishes standards for adult 

protective services (APS) investigations and the provision of 

services after an investigation has been completed. It also 

provides guidance for mandated reporting of adult abuse, 

neglect, and exploitation and the process for imposing a civil 

penalty on mandated reporters for failure to report. The 

regulation also addresses when and to whom APS 

information may be disclosed. The regulation ensures 

consistent definitions and actions are used for reporting adult 

abuse, neglect, and exploitation; for receiving and 

investigating those reports; and during the provision of 

services to adults.  

The proposed regulatory action is necessary to ensure that 

regulation content appropriately defines terms used 

throughout the regulation, clearly addresses APS 

investigations and service provision, and outlines the process 

for the imposition of a civil penalty. Clarity in the regulation 

content helps APS workers meet the adults' safety and 

welfare needs throughout investigations and during the 

provision of services.  

Proposed changes to the regulation also provide the 

opportunity for an alleged perpetrator to request a review of 

the local department of social services' investigation findings 

when the disposition is needs protective services and accepts, 

needs protective services and refuses, or need for protective 

services no longer exists. These changes ensure that alleged 

perpetrators are guaranteed due process.  

Substance: Many of the proposed changes are technical, such 

as removing outdated or inaccurate definitions or guidance. 

Regulation content was clarified to comport with 

requirements regarding data entry requirements of the state 

web-based case management and reporting system (ASAPS). 

The section addressing the imposition of a civil penalty was 

clarified to provide improved guidance for a director of a 

local department of social services and more thoroughly 

explain how a mandated reporter may appeal a decision to 

impose a civil penalty. In addition, a review by the 

commissioner's designee of the request to impose a civil 

penalty was added. A right of review of the local department 

of social services' investigative findings, which may be 

requested by the alleged perpetrator, was added. Regulation 

content describing the right to review was added to ensure the 

alleged perpetrator has a right to due process.  

Issue: Amendments to the regulation content ensure that the 

needs of elderly individuals and adults with disabilities are 

met during investigations and service provision. Amendments 

to the section addressing civil penalties clarify the process 

and more thoroughly explain the responsibilities of 

individuals involved in the imposition of a civil penalty. 

Most of the amendments to the regulation clarify but do not 

increase local department of social services staffs' 

responsibilities as amendments comport with current 

Department of Social Services guidance on entering 

information into ASAPS. However the addition of a review 

hearing for the perpetrator will require additional time on 

behalf of the local department of social services staff and 

director to prepare for and to conduct the right to review 

hearing.  

The regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to amend its 

regulations that govern adult protective services to clarify 

regulatory content, add a review of requests to impose civil 

penalties and add a new section to lay out the due process 

rights of alleged perpetrators.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Most of the changes that the 

Board proposes for these regulations only move around 

current requirements or reword current requirements. 

Regulated entities are unlikely to incur any costs on account 

of these changes but will get the benefit of added clarity. 

Current regulations allow civil fines to be leveled against 

mandated abuse reporters who fail to report suspected abuse 

of vulnerable adults. These proposed regulations add a 

requirement that all letters to affected mandated reporters go 

by certified mail with a return receipt requested and also add 

a process by which the commissioner's designee will review 

any requests to impose civil penalties. Board staff reports that 

these requirements will cost Local Departments of Social 

Services (LDSS) approximately $5.00 per letter sent to 

mandated reporters who are subject to possible civil penalties. 

Mandated reporters will benefit from these regulatory 

changes that ensure every effort is made to make sure they 

stay informed and have a review process before civil penalties 

are imposed.  

The Board also proposes to add new regulatory language that 

lays out the process by which individuals who have founded 
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allegations of abuse, neglect or exploitation of a vulnerable 

adult may appeal that LDSS ruling. Board staff reports that 

adding this review process will cost the state approximately 

$121,000. These costs are likely outweighed by the benefits 

of having due process protections that accrue to both the 

public at large and to alleged perpetrators. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 

changes will affect all 120 local Departments of Social 

Services.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of this regulatory action.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the Board he economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed action (i) clarifies regulation content that 

may be confusing or unclear; (ii) comports regulation text 

with guidance on the data entry requirements in the adult 

services/adult protective services web-based case 

management and reporting system; (iii) adds a review by 

the commissioner's designee of the request to impose a 

civil penalty; and (iv) adds a new section to address 

notifications to alleged perpetrators and the right of the 

perpetrator to request a review of the local department of 

social services' investigation findings that result in one of 

the following dispositions: needs protective services and 

accepts, needs protective services and refuses, or need for 

protective services no longer exists.  

22VAC40-740-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Abuse" means the willful infliction of physical pain, injury 

or mental anguish or unreasonable confinement.  

"Adult" means any person in the Commonwealth who is 

abused, neglected, or exploited, or is at risk of being abused, 

neglected, or exploited; and is 18 years of age or older and 

incapacitated, or is 60 years of age and older.  

"Adult protective services" means the receipt, investigation 

and disposition of complaints and reports of adult abuse, 

neglect, and exploitation of adults 18 years of age and over 

who are incapacitated and adults 60 years of age and over by 

the local department of social services. Adult protective 

services also include the provision of casework and care 

management by the local department in order to stabilize the 

situation or to prevent further abuse, neglect, and exploitation 

of an adult at risk of abuse, neglect and exploitation. If 

appropriate and available, adult protective services may 

include the direct provision of services by the local 

department or arranging for home-based care, transportation, 

adult day services, meal service, legal proceedings, 

alternative placements and other activities to protect the adult 

and restore self-sufficiency to the extent possible.  

"ASAPS" means the state computer system used by local 

departments to document reports, provide case management 

for individuals who are receiving adult protective services, 

and produce data management and statistical information. 

ASAPS is the designated state automated system of record for 

adult protective services. 

"Collateral" means a person whose personal or professional 

knowledge may help confirm or rebut the allegations of adult 

abuse, neglect or exploitation or whose involvement may help 

ensure the safety of the adult.  
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"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department.  

"Conservator" means a person appointed by the court who is 

responsible for managing the estate and financial affairs of an 

incapacitated person, and where the context plainly indicates, 

includes a "limited conservator" or a "temporary 

conservator."  

"Department" or "DSS" means the Virginia Department of 

Social Services.  

"Director" means the director, or his delegated 

representative designee, of the department of social services 

of the city or county in which the adult resides or is found 

located.  

"Disposition" means the determination of whether or not 

adult abuse, neglect or exploitation has occurred.  

"Documentation" means information and materials, written 

or otherwise, concerning allegations, facts and evidence.  

"Exploitation" means the illegal use of an incapacitated 

adult or his resources for another's profit or advantage. This 

includes acquiring an adult's resources through the use of the 

adult's mental or physical incapacity, the disposition of the 

incapacitated adult's property by a second party to the 

advantage of the second party and to the detriment of the 

incapacitated adult, misuse of funds, acquiring an advantage 

through threats to withhold needed support or care unless 

certain conditions are met, or persuading an incapacitated 

adult to perform services including sexual acts to which the 

adult lacks the capacity to consent. Exploitation also includes 

making the adult the subject of sexual or degrading imagery 

including but not limited to photographs or audio or visual 

recordings. 

"Guardian" means a person who has been legally invested 

with the authority and charged with the duty of taking care of 

the person and managing his property and protecting the 

rights of the person who has been declared by the circuit court 

to be incapacitated and incapable of administering his own 

affairs. The powers and duties of the guardian are defined by 

the court and are limited to matters within the areas where the 

person in need of a guardian has been determined to be 

incapacitated.  

"Guardian ad litem" means an attorney appointed by the 

court to represent the interest of the adult for whom a 

guardian or conservator is requested. On the hearing of the 

petition for appointment of a guardian or conservator, the 

guardian ad litem advocates for the adult who is the subject of 

the hearing, and his duties are usually concluded when the 

case is decided.  

"Incapacitated person" means any adult who is impaired by 

reason of mental illness, intellectual disability, physical 

illness or disability, advanced age or other causes to the 

extent that the adult lacks sufficient understanding or capacity 

to make, communicate or carry out reasonable decisions 

concerning his or her well-being. This definition is for the 

purpose of establishing an adult's eligibility for adult 

protective services and such adult may or may not have been 

found incapacitated through court procedures.  

"Involuntary protective services" means those services 

authorized by the court for an adult who has been determined 

to need protective services and who has been adjudicated 

incapacitated and lacking the capacity to consent to receive 

the needed protective services.  

"Lacks capacity to consent" means a preliminary judgment 

of a local department of social services social an adult 

protective services worker that an adult is unable to consent 

to receive needed services for reasons that relate to emotional 

or psychiatric problems conditions, intellectual disability, 

developmental delay, or other reasons which impair the 

adult's ability to recognize a substantial risk of death or 

immediate and serious harm to himself. The lack of capacity 

to consent may be either permanent or temporary. The worker 

must make a preliminary judgment that the adult lacks 

capacity to consent before petitioning the court for 

authorization to provide protective services on an emergency 

basis pursuant to § 63.2-1609 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Legally incapacitated" means that the person has been 

adjudicated incapacitated by a circuit court because of a 

mental or physical condition which renders him, either 

wholly or partially, incapable of taking care of himself or his 

estate.  

"Legally incompetent" means a person who has been 

adjudicated incompetent by a circuit court because of a 

mental condition which renders him incapable of taking care 

of his person or managing his estate.  

"Legitimate interest" means a lawful, demonstrated privilege 

to access the information as defined in § 63.2-104 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

"Local department" means any local department of social 

services in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Mandated reporters" means those persons who are required 

to report pursuant to § 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia 

when such persons have reason to suspect that an adult is 

abused, neglected, or exploited or is at risk of adult abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation.  

"Mental anguish" means a state of emotional pain or distress 

resulting from activity (verbal or behavioral) of a perpetrator. 

The intent of the activity is to threaten or intimidate, cause 

sorrow or fear, humiliate, change behavior or ridicule. There 

must be evidence that it is the perpetrator's activity action that 

has caused the adult's feelings of pain or distress.  

"Neglect" means that an adult is living under such 

circumstances that he is not able to provide for himself or is 

not being provided such services as are necessary to maintain 

his physical and mental health and that the failure to receive 

such necessary services impairs or threatens to impair his 

well-being. However, no adult shall be considered neglected 

solely on the basis that such adult is receiving religious 
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nonmedical treatment or religious nonmedical nursing care in 

lieu of medical care, provided that such treatment or care is 

performed in good faith and in accordance with the religious 

practices of the adult and there is written or oral expression of 

consent by that adult. Neglect includes the failure of a 

caregiver or another responsible person to provide for basic 

needs to maintain the adult's physical and mental health and 

well-being, and it includes the adult's neglect of self. Neglect 

includes, but is not limited to:  

1. The lack of clothing considered necessary to protect a 

person's an individual's health;  

2. The lack of food necessary to prevent physical injury or 

to maintain life, including failure to receive appropriate 

food for adults with conditions requiring special diets;  

3. Shelter that is not structurally safe; has rodents or other 

infestations which may result in serious health problems; 

or does not have a safe and accessible water supply, safe 

heat source or sewage disposal. Adequate shelter for an 

adult will depend on the impairments of an adult; however, 

the adult must be protected from the elements that would 

seriously endanger his health (e.g., rain, cold or heat) and 

could result in serious illness or debilitating conditions;  

4. Inadequate supervision by a caregiver (paid or unpaid) 

who has been designated to provide the supervision 

necessary to protect the safety and well-being of an adult in 

his care;  

5. The failure of persons who are responsible for 

caregiving to seek needed medical care or to follow 

medically prescribed treatment for an adult, or the adult 

has failed to obtain such care for himself. The needed 

medical care is believed to be of such a nature as to result 

in physical and/or mental injury or illness if it is not 

provided;  

6. Medical neglect includes, but is not limited to, the 

withholding of medication or aids needed by the adult such 

as dentures, eye glasses, hearing aids, walker, etc. It also 

includes the unauthorized administration of prescription 

drugs, over- or under-medicating, and the administration of 

drugs for other than bona fide medical reasons, as 

determined by a licensed health care professional; and  

7. Self-neglect by an adult who is not meeting his own 

basic needs due to mental and/or physical impairments. 

Basic needs refer to such things as food, clothing, shelter, 

health or medical care.  

"Notification" means informing designated and appropriate 

individuals or agencies of the action of the local department's 

action and the individual's rights department or DSS.  

"Preponderance of evidence" means the evidence as a whole 

shows that the facts are more probable and credible than not. 

It is evidence that is of greater weight or more convincing 

than the evidence offered in opposition.  

"Report" means an allegation by any person that an adult is 

in need of protective services. The term "report" shall refer to 

both reports and complaints of abuse, neglect, and 

exploitation of adults. The report may be made orally or in 

writing to the local department or by calling the Adult 

Protective Services Hotline.  

"Service plan" means a written plan of action to address the 

service needs of an adult in order to protect the adult, to 

prevent future abuse, neglect or exploitation, and to preserve 

the autonomy of the adult whenever possible.  

"Unreasonable confinement" means the use of restraints 

(physical or chemical), isolation, or any other means of 

confinement without appropriate medical orders, when there 

is no emergency and for reasons other than the adult's safety 

or well-being or the safety of others.  

"Valid report" means the local department of social services 

has evaluated the information and allegations of the report 

and determined that the local department shall conduct an 

investigation because all of the following elements are 

present:  

1. The alleged victim adult is 60 years of age or older or is 

18 years of age or older and is incapacitated;  

2. There is a specific adult with enough identifying 

information to locate the adult;  

3. Circumstances allege abuse, neglect or exploitation or 

risk of abuse, neglect or exploitation; and  

4. The local department receiving the report is a local 

department of jurisdiction as described in 22VAC40-740-

21.  

"Voluntary protective services" means those services 

provided to an adult who, after investigation by a local 

department, is determined to be in need of protective services 

and consents to receiving the services so as to prevent further 

abuse, neglect, and exploitation of an adult at risk of abuse, 

neglect and exploitation.  

22VAC40-740-21. The adult protective services 

investigation.  

A. This section establishes the process for the adult 

protective services investigation and provides priority to 

situations that are most critical.  

B. The validity of the report shall be determined. 

Investigations shall be initiated by the local department not 

later than 24 hours from the time a valid report was received 

in the local department.  

1. To initiate the investigation, the social adult protective 

services worker must shall gather enough information 

concerning the report to determine (i) if the report is valid 

and (ii) if an immediate response is needed to ensure the 

safety of the alleged victim. Pertinent information may be 

obtained from the report, case record reviews, contact with 

the alleged victim, the reporter, friends, and neighbors, and 

service providers, and other sources of information.  
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2. When determining the need for an immediate response, 

the social adult protective services worker shall consider 

the following factors:  

a. The imminent danger to the adult or to others;  

b. The severity of the alleged abuse, neglect or 

exploitation;  

c. The circumstances surrounding the alleged abuse, 

neglect or exploitation; and  

d. The physical and mental condition of the adult.  

3. A face-to-face contact with the alleged victim shall be 

made as soon as possible but not later than five calendar 

days after the initiation of the investigation unless there are 

valid reasons that the contact could not be made. Those 

reasons shall be documented in ASAPS in the Adult 

Protective Services Assessment Narrative as described in 

22VAC40-740-40. The timing of the interview with the 

alleged victim should shall occur in a reasonable amount of 

time pursuant to circumstances in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection.  

C. The report shall be reduced to writing within 72 hours of 

receiving the report on a form prescribed by the department. 

Within 72 hours of receiving the report, the local department 

shall enter the report into ASAPS.  

D. The purpose of the investigation is to determine whether 

the adult alleged to be abused, neglected or exploited or at 

risk of abuse, neglect or exploitation is in need of protective 

services and, if so, to identify services needed to provide the 

protection.  

E. The local department shall conduct a thorough 

investigation of the report.  

F. The investigation shall include a visit and private 

interview with the adult alleged to be abused, neglected or 

exploited.  

G. The investigation shall include consultation with others 

having knowledge of the facts of the particular case.  

H. Primary responsibility for the investigation when more 

than one local department may have jurisdiction under § 63.2-

1605 of the Code of Virginia shall be assumed by the local 

department:  

1. Where the subject of the investigation resides when the 

place of residence is known and when the alleged abuse, 

neglect or exploitation occurred in the city or county of 

residence;  

2. Where the abuse, neglect or exploitation is believed to 

have occurred when the report alleges that the incident 

occurred outside the city or county of residence;  

3. Where the abuse, neglect or exploitation was discovered 

if the incident did not occur in the city or county of 

residence or if the city or county of residence is unknown 

and the place where the abuse, neglect or exploitation 

occurred is unknown; or  

4. Where the abuse, neglect or exploitation was discovered 

if the subject of the report is a nonresident who is 

temporarily in the Commonwealth.  

I. When an investigation extends across city or county lines, 

local departments in those cities or counties shall assist with 

the investigation at the request of the local department with 

primary responsibility.  

J. When the local department receives information on 

suspicious deaths of adults, local department staff shall 

immediately notify the appropriate medical examiner and law 

enforcement.  

22VAC40-740-31. Application for the provision of 

services.  

A. Local departments are authorized to receive and 

investigate reports of suspected adult abuse, neglect and 

exploitation pursuant to Article 2 (§ 63.2-1603 et seq.) of 

Chapter 16 of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. Upon completion of the investigation and the 

determination that the adult is in need of protective services, 

the adult protective services worker must shall obtain an 

application signed by the adult in need of services or his 

representative prior to service provision.  

C. The application process is designed to assure the prompt 

provision of needed adult protective services including 

services to adults who are not able to complete and sign a 

service application.  

D. Persons C. A representative who may complete and sign 

an application for adult protective services on behalf of an 

adult who needs the service include includes:  

1. The adult who will receive the services or the adult's 

legally appointed guardian or conservator;  

2. Someone authorized by the adult; or  

3. The local department.  

D. The application process is designed to assure the prompt 

provision of needed adult protective services including 

services to adults who are not able to complete and sign a 

service application. 

22VAC40-740-40. Assessment narrative and disposition.  

A. An assessment narrative shall be required for all adult 

protective services investigations and shall be titled "Adult 

Protective Services Assessment Narrative." The narrative 

must assessment shall address, but is not limited to, the 

following:  

1. Allegations in the report or circumstances discovered 

during the investigation that meet the definitions of abuse, 

neglect or exploitation.  

2. The extent to which the adult is physically, emotionally 

and mentally capable of making and carrying out decisions 

concerning his health and well-being. 

3. The extent that the adult's environment, functional 

ability, physical health, mental or psychosocial health, 
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support system, income, and resources contribute to the 

alleged abuse, neglect, or exploitation of the adult or places 

the adult at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation.  

3. 4. The risk of serious harm to the adult.  

4. 5. The need for an immediate response by the adult 

protective services worker upon receipt of a valid report.  

5. 6. The ability to conduct a private interview with the 

alleged victim, the alleged perpetrator (if known) and any 

collateral contacts having knowledge of the case.  

B. After investigating the report, the adult protective 

services worker must shall review and evaluate the facts 

collected and make a disposition as to whether the adult is in 

need of protective services and, if so, what services are 

needed.  

C. The disposition that the adult needs protective services 

shall be based on the preponderance of evidence that abuse, 

neglect or exploitation has occurred or that the adult is at risk 

of abuse, neglect or exploitation. The disposition shall be 

documented in ASAPS. 

D. Possible dispositions.  

1. Needs protective services and accepts. This disposition 

shall be used when:  

a. A review of the facts shows a preponderance of 

evidence that adult abuse, neglect or exploitation has 

occurred or is occurring; or 

b. A review of the facts shows a preponderance of 

evidence that the adult is at risk of abuse, neglect or 

exploitation and needs protective services in order to 

reduce that risk; and 

c. The adult consents to receive services pursuant to 

§ 63.2-1610 of the Code of Virginia; or  

d. Involuntary services are ordered by the court pursuant 

to § 63.2-1609 or Article 1 (§ 37.2-1000 et seq.) of 

Chapter 10 of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. Needs protective services and refuses. This disposition 

shall be used when:  

a. A review of the facts shows a preponderance of 

evidence that adult abuse, neglect or exploitation has 

occurred or is occurring or the adult is at risk of abuse, 

neglect and exploitation; and  

b. The adult refuses or withdraws consent to accept 

protective services pursuant to § 63.2-1610 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

3. Need for protective services no longer exists. This 

disposition shall be used when the subject of the report no 

longer needs protective services. A review of the facts 

shows a preponderance of evidence that adult abuse, 

neglect or exploitation has occurred. However, at the time 

the investigation is initiated or during the course of the 

investigation, the adult who is the subject of the report 

ceases to be at risk of further abuse, neglect or exploitation.  

4. Unfounded. This disposition shall be used when review 

of the facts does not show a preponderance of evidence 

that abuse, neglect or exploitation occurred or that the adult 

is at risk of abuse, neglect or exploitation.  

5. Invalid. This disposition shall be used when, after the 

investigation has been initiated, the report is found not to 

have met the criteria of a valid report. 

E. The investigation shall be completed and a disposition 

assigned by the local department within 45 days of the date 

the report was received. If the investigation is not completed 

within 45 days, the record shall document reasons.  

F. A notice Notification of the completion of the 

investigation must shall be made in writing and shall be 

mailed to the reporter within 10 working days of the 

completion of the investigation.  

G. Notification upon the completion of a facility 

investigation shall be made in writing and shall be mailed to 

appropriate individuals in accordance with DSS guidance. 

H. The local department shall notify the alleged perpetrator 

in writing within 10 working days of the completion of the 

investigation, if the disposition is needs protective services 

and accepts, needs protective services and refuses, or need for 

protective services no longer exists. If licensing or regulatory 

agencies were also notified of the disposition, the notification 

shall state the name of these agencies and the date they were 

notified. The notification shall also state that if the alleged 

perpetrator disagrees with the findings of the investigation 

that he has the right to request a review by the director and to 

amend the record if there are any factual errors. The 

notification shall include information used by the local 

department to support the findings of the investigation.  

G. I. The Adult Protective Services Program local 

department shall respect the rights of adults with capacity to 

consider options offered by the program local department and 

refuse services, even if those decisions do not appear to 

reasonably to be in the best interests of the adult.  

22VAC40-740-45. Right to review. 

A. Right to review is the process by which the alleged 

perpetrator may request amendment of the record when the 

investigation has resulted in a disposition of needs protective 

services and accepts, needs protective services and refuses, or 

need no longer exists. 

B. If the alleged perpetrator is found to have committed 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation, that alleged perpetrator may, 

within 30 calendar days of being notified of that 

determination, submit a written request for an amendment of 

the determination and the local department's related records. 

C. The local department shall conduct an informal review 

hearing within 30 calendar days of receiving a timely notice 

of a request to review.  

D. The director, or the director's designee, shall preside over 

the hearing. With the exception of the director, no person 

whose regular duties include substantial involvement with 
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adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation cases shall preside over 

the hearing. 

E. The alleged perpetrator may be represented by counsel. 

F. The alleged perpetrator shall be entitled to present (i) the 

testimony of witnesses, documents, factual data, or other 

submissions of proof or (ii) arguments. 

G. The director or his designee shall have the authority to 

sustain, amend, or reverse the local department's findings. 

H. The director or his designee shall notify the alleged 

perpetrator, in writing, of the results of the hearing within 30 

calendar days of the date of the hearing. The decision of the 

director or his designee shall be final. Notification of the 

results of the hearing shall be mailed, certified with return 

receipt, to the alleged perpetrator. 

22VAC40-740-50. Disclosure of adult protective services 

information.  

A. This chapter section describes the protection of 

confidential information including a description of when such 

information must be disclosed, when such disclosure of the 

information is at the discretion of the local department, what 

information may be disclosed, and the procedure for 

disclosing the information.  

B. Department DSS staff having legitimate interest shall 

have regular access to adult protective services records 

maintained by the local department.  

C. The following agencies have licensing, regulatory, and 

legal authority for administrative action or criminal 

investigations, and they have a legitimate interest in 

confidential information when such information is relevant 

and reasonably necessary for the fulfillment of their licensing, 

regulatory, and legal responsibilities:  

1. Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services;  

2. Virginia Office for Protection and Advocacy;  

3. Office of the Attorney General, including the Medicaid 

Fraud Control Program Unit;  

4. Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services;  

5. Department of Health, including the Center for Quality 

Health Care Services and Consumer Protection Office of 

Licensure and Certification and the Office of the Chief 

Medical Examiner;  

6. Department of Medical Assistance Services;  

7. Department of Health Professions;  

8. Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired;  

9. Department for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing; 

9. 10. Department of Social Services, including the 

Division of Licensing Programs;  

10. 11. The Office of the State Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman and local ombudsman;  

11. 12. Law-enforcement agencies;  

12. 13. Medical examiners;  

13. 14. Adult fatality review teams;  

14. 15. Prosecutors; and  

15. 16. Any other entity deemed appropriate by the 

commissioner or local department director that 

demonstrates a legitimate interest.  

D. The local department shall disclose all relevant 

information to representatives of the agencies identified in 

subsection C of this section except the identity of the person 

who reported the abuse, neglect or exploitation unless the 

reporter authorizes the disclosure of his identity or the 

disclosure is ordered by the court.  

E. The local department shall refer any appropriate matter 

and all relevant documentation to the appropriate licensing, 

regulatory or legal authority for administrative action or 

criminal investigation.  

F. Local departments may release information to the 

following persons when the local department has determined 

the person making the request has legitimate interest in 

accordance with § 63.2-104 of the Code of Virginia and the 

release of information is in the best interest of the adult:  

1. Representatives of public and private agencies including 

community services boards, area agencies on aging and 

local health departments requesting disclosure when the 

agency has legitimate interest;  

2. A physician who is treating an adult whom he 

reasonably suspects is abused, neglected or exploited;  

3. The adult's legally appointed guardian or conservator;  

4. A guardian ad litem who has been appointed for an adult 

who is the subject of an adult protective services report;  

5. A family member who is responsible for the welfare of 

an adult who is the subject of an adult protective services 

report;  

6. An attorney representing a local department in an adult 

protective services case;  

7. The Social Security Administration; or  

8. Any other entity that demonstrates to the commissioner 

or local department director that legitimate interest is 

evident.  

G. Local departments are required to disclose information 

under the following circumstances:  

1. When disclosure is ordered by a court;  

2. When a person has made an adult protective services 

report and an investigation has been completed; or  

3. When a request for access to information is made 

pursuant to the Government Data Collection and 

Dissemination Practices Act (§ 2.2-3800 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia).  

H. Any or all of the following specific information may be 

disclosed at the discretion of the local department to agencies 

or persons specified in subsection F of this section:  
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1. Name, address, age, race, and gender of the adult who is 

the subject of the request for information;  

2. Name, address, age, race, and gender of the person who 

is alleged to have perpetrated the abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation;  

3. Description of the incident or incidents of abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation;  

4. Description of medical problems conditions to the extent 

known;  

5. Disposition of the adult protective services report; and  

6. The protective service needs of the adult.  

I. The identity of the person who reported the suspected 

abuse, neglect or exploitation shall be held confidential unless 

the reporter authorizes the disclosure of his identity or 

disclosure is ordered by the court.  

J. Agencies or persons who receive confidential information 

pursuant to subsection G of this section shall provide the 

following assurances to the local department:  

1. The purpose for which information is requested is 

related to the protective services goal in the service plan 

for the adult;  

2. The information will be used only for the purpose for 

which it is made available; and  

3. The information will be held confidential by the 

department or individual receiving the information except 

to the extent that disclosure is required by law.  

K. Methods of obtaining assurances. Any one of the 

following methods may be used to obtain assurances required 

in subsection J of this section:  

1. Agreements between local departments and other 

community service agencies that provide blanket 

assurances required in subsection J of this section for all 

adult protective services cases; or  

2. State-level agreements that provide blanket assurances 

required in subsection C of this section for all adult 

protective services cases.  

L. Notification that information has been disclosed. When 

information has been disclosed pursuant to this chapter 

section, notice of the disclosure shall be given to the adult 

who is the subject of the information or to his legally 

appointed guardian. If the adult has given permission to 

release the information, further notification shall not be 

required.  

22VAC40-740-60. Opening a case for service provision.  

A. A range of services must shall be made available to any 

abused, neglected and exploited adult or to adults at risk of 

abuse, neglect or exploitation to protect the adult and to 

prevent any future abuse, neglect or exploitation.  

1. Opening a case to adult protective services. Once a 

disposition of the report and an assessment of the adult's 

needs and strengths have been made, the department shall 

assess the adult's service needs. A case shall be opened for 

adult protective services when:  

a. The service needs are identified The disposition is that 

the adult needs protective services; 

b. The disposition is that the adult needs protective 

services The services needs are identified; and  

c. The adult or the adult's legal guardian or conservator 

agrees to accept protective services or protective services 

are ordered by the court.  

2. Service planning. A service plan which that is based on 

the investigative findings and the assessment of the adult's 

need for protective services shall be developed. The 

service plan is the basis for the activities that the worker, 

the adult, and other persons individuals will undertake to 

provide the services necessary to protect the adult. The 

service plan shall be documented in ASAPS. 

3. Implementation of the service plan. Implementation of 

the service plan is the delivery of the services necessary to 

provide adequate protection to the adult. The services may 

be delivered directly, through purchase of service, through 

informal support, or through referral. The continuous 

monitoring of the adult's progress and the system's 

response is a towards reaching the service plan goals and 

revising the objectives and tasks in response to that 

progress are part of the implementation.  

4. Local departments are required to provide If a local 

department is providing services beyond the investigation, 

these services are required to be provided to the extent that 

federal or state matching funds are made available.  

22VAC40-740-70. Civil penalty for nonreporting.  

A. The department may commissioner shall impose civil 

penalties when it is determined that a mandated reporter 

failed to report suspected adult abuse, neglect or exploitation 

pursuant to § 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. Civil penalties shall be imposed as follows: 

1. For first offenses of nonreporting pursuant to § 63.2-

1606 H of the Code of Virginia, the penalty shall be not 

more than $500. 

2. For second and subsequent offenses of nonreporting 

pursuant to § 63.2-1606 H of the Code of Virginia, the 

penalty shall be not less than $100 and not more than 

$1,000. 

B. C. Civil penalties for all mandated reporters except law-

enforcement officers shall be imposed as described in 

22VAC40-740-80 determined by a court of competent 

jurisdiction, in its discretion.  

22VAC40-740-80. Imposition of civil penalty.  

A. Local department review and recommendation.  

1. Based on a decision by the local department When a 

director or his designee determines that a mandated 

reporter failed to report as required by § 63.2-1606 of the 

Code of Virginia, the local director shall prepare a written 
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statement of fact in a format prescribed by the 

commissioner concerning the mandated reporter's failure to 

report and submit the statement of fact to the 

commissioner. The director or his designee also shall 

prepare a letter notifying the mandated reporter of the 

intent to request that a civil penalty be imposed. The letter 

shall state the mandated reporter's right to submit a written 

statement to the commissioner concerning the mandated 

reporter's failure to report. The date of the director's 

notification shall be the date of the letter to the mandated 

reporter. Any supporting documentation that the director 

considered in requesting the imposition of a civil penalty 

shall be provided to the mandated reporter. The letter, 

statement of fact, and any supporting documentation shall 

be sent to the mandated reporter by registered or certified 

mail, return receipt requested. 

2. The local director or his designee shall notify the 

mandated reporter in writing within 15 calendar days from 

the date of the determination of the intent to recommend 

that a civil penalty be imposed. The notification will 

include a copy of the local director's statement of fact 

concerning the mandated reporter's failure to report. The 

notification shall state the mandated reporter's right to 

submit a written statement to the commissioner concerning 

the mandated reporter's failure to report. The date of the 

notification is the postage date. The director or his 

designee shall send a letter to the commissioner requesting 

that a civil penalty be imposed on the mandated reporter 

for failure to report. The statement of fact and the letter to 

the mandated reporter shall accompany the letter to the 

commissioner. Any supporting documentation that the 

director considered in requesting the imposition of a civil 

penalty shall be provided to the commissioner. 

3. The mandated reporter's statement concerning his failure 

to report must be received by the commissioner within 45 

days from the date of the local director's notification of 

intent to recommend the imposition of a civil penalty. A 

mandated reporter's statement received after the 45 days 

shall not be considered by the commissioner.  

B. Review by the commissioner or his designee Statement 

from mandated reporter.  

1. The commissioner or his designee shall review the local 

director's written statement of fact concerning the 

mandated reporter's failure to report and the mandated 

reporter's written statement in determining whether to 

impose a civil penalty.  

2. In the case of law-enforcement officers who are alleged 

to have not reported as required, the commissioner or his 

designee shall forward the recommendation to a court of 

competent jurisdiction. 

3. The commissioner or his designee shall impose a civil 

penalty upon a mandated reporter who is determined to 

have not reported as required pursuant to § 63.2-1606 of 

the Code of Virginia. Penalties shall be imposed as 

follows:  

a. For first offenses of nonreporting pursuant to § 63.2-

1606 H of the Code of Virginia, the penalty shall be not 

more than $500.  

b. For second and subsequent offenses pursuant to 

§ 63.2-1606 H of the Code of Virginia, the penalty shall 

be not less than $100 and not more than $1,000.  

4. The commissioner or his designee shall notify the 

mandated reporter whether a civil penalty will be imposed 

and, if so, the amount of the penalty. This written notice 

shall describe the reasons for the imposition of the civil 

penalty. The date of notification shall be deemed to be the 

date the mandated reporter received written notice of the 

alleged violation. This notice shall include specifics of the 

violation charged and shall be sent by overnight express 

mail or by registered or certified mail, return receipt 

requested.  

The mandated reporter may prepare a written statement 

concerning his failure to report and provide the statement to 

the commissioner. The commissioner must receive the 

mandated reporter's written statement within 45 calendar days 

from the date of the director's letter to the mandated reporter. 

C. Review by the commissioner's designee. 

1. The commissioner's designee shall review the director's 

statement of fact, the mandated reporter's written 

statement, and any supporting documentation provided by 

the director in determining whether to impose a civil 

penalty. A statement received after the time required by 

22VAC40-740-80 B shall not be considered by the 

commissioner.  

2. In the case of law-enforcement officers who are alleged 

not to have reported as required, the commissioner or his 

designee shall forward a recommendation to the court of 

competent jurisdiction. 

3. The commissioner's designee shall notify the mandated 

reporter in writing whether a civil penalty will be 

recommended. The written notification shall include 

specifics of the violation charged, the reasons for the 

imposition of the civil penalty and the amount of the 

penalty. The letter shall be sent to the mandated reporter by 

registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, no 

later than 30 calendar days after the commissioner receives 

the mandated reporter's written statement. The date of the 

notification shall be the date of the commissioner's 

designee's letter to the mandated reporter. The designee 

also shall send a copy of the letter to the director who 

recommended the imposition of the civil penalty. If the 

commissioner's designee recommends imposition of a civil 

penalty, the mandated reporter shall have 30 calendar days 

from the date of the letter to submit a written statement 

requesting that the commissioner reconsider the designee's 

decision. A statement received after the time required by 
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this subsection shall not be considered by the 

commissioner. 

D. Review by the commissioner. If the mandated reporter 

submits a written request for review, the commissioner shall 

review his designee's recommendation and the mandated 

reporter's request for review and decide whether a civil 

penalty shall be imposed. The commissioner shall notify the 

mandated reporter in writing whether a civil penalty will be 

imposed and the amount of the penalty. The letter shall 

include specifics of the violation charged and describe the 

reason for the imposition of the civil penalty. The letter shall 

be sent to the mandated reporter by registered or certified 

mail, return receipt requested, no later than 30 calendar days 

after the commissioner receives the mandated reporter's 

written request to reconsider the designee's decision. The date 

of the notification shall be the date of the commissioner's 

letter. 

E. If the mandated reporter does not request a review by the 

commissioner within the time required by subdivision C 3 of 

this section, the commissioner shall notify the mandated 

reporter in writing that a civil penalty will be imposed. The 

written notification shall include specifics of the violation 

charged, the reasons for the imposition of the civil penalty, 

and the amount of the penalty. The letter shall be sent to the 

mandated reporter by registered or certified mail, return 

receipt requested.  

5. F. If a civil penalty is imposed, a copy of the notice 

commissioner's letter to the mandated reporter shall be sent to 

the appropriate licensing, regulatory, or administrative agency 

agencies and to the local director who recommended the 

imposition of the penalty.  

6. G. Any mandated reporter has the right to appeal the 

commissioner's decision to impose a civil penalty in 

accordance with § 2.2-4026 of the Code of Virginia and 

pursuant to Part 2 A of the Rules of the Supreme Court of 

Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2684; Filed September 4, 2012, 2:59 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

VIRGINIA AVIATION BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC5-20. Regulations Governing 

the Licensing and Operation of Airports and Aircraft and 

Obstructions to Airspace in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia (amending 24VAC5-20-10, 24VAC5-20-120 

through 24VAC5-20-280, 24VAC5-20-300, 24VAC5-20-

330).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 5.1-2.2, 5.1-2.15, and 5.1-7 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

November 16, 2012 - 10 a.m. - Metropolitan Washington 

Airports Authority, 1 Saarinen Circle, Dulles, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: November 23, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Susan H. Simmers, Senior Airport Planner, 

Department of Aviation, 5702 Gulfstream Road, Richmond, 

VA 23250, telephone (804) 236-3632 ext: 105, FAX (804) 

236-3635, or email susan.simmers@doav.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Under § 5.1-2.2 (5) of the Code of Virginia, the 

Virginia Aviation Board has the authority to promulgate such 

rules and regulations relating to airports, landing fields, and 

other aviation facilities as may be necessary to promote and 

develop safe aviation practices and operations.  

In addition, under § 5.1-7 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Virginia Aviation Board may, by regulation, adopt any other 

requirements for the licensure of airports or landing areas that 

are related to the safety of aircraft using airports or landing 

areas, which must be licensed in accordance with the section.  

The general powers and duties of the Virginia Aviation Board 

are provided in § 5.1-2.2 and § 5.1-2.2:1. Other actions for 

which the Virginia Aviation Board has been authorized to 

participate are found in § 5.1- 2.5 through § 5.1-2.23.  

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed action is to consider 

changes to the regulations regarding airport licensure, with a 

focus on 24VAC5-20-140, Minimum requirements for 

licensing, and 24VAC5-20-275, Conditional licenses. The 

proposed change for 24VAC5-20-140 would align state 

minimum requirements more closely with Federal Aviation 

Administration (FAA) standards. The proposed change for 

24VAC5-20-275 would modify the process for licensing 

airports not in compliance with state minimum licensing 

standards. The modification would offer better defined 

solutions to address noncompliant conditions and would lead 

to finite resolutions not currently realized, thereby improving 

the efficiency of the licensing process. The changes for 

minimum licensing requirements and conditional licenses will 

benefit the operation and safety of the statewide air 

transportation system. Without this proposed regulatory 

action, some public-use airports would remain in a 

noncompliant and less safe condition. Noncompliant 

conditions at airports may jeopardize the continuance of a 

public-use license, which could lead to the closure of an 

airport. The proposal also reflects a recent change to the Code 

of Virginia, updates procedural information and citations, 

reduces redundancy, and provides consistency throughout the 

chapter.  

Substance:  

24VAC5-20-140, Minimum requirements for licensing: The 

section is amended so that the state minimum standards more 

closely align with FAA standards. 

24VAC5-20-145, Waiver of minimum requirements: The 

section is amended by updating procedural information and 

revised considerations for waivers.  
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24VAC-5-20-275, Conditional license: The section is 

amended to provide procedural changes and solutions to 

address noncompliant conditions at airports. The 

modifications include the introduction of a "Day/Visual 

Flight Rule (VFR) Use Only License," a new conditional 

license that allows restricted operations at noncompliant 

airports.  

24VAC5-20-330, Aviation facilities constructed in whole or 

in part with state funds: The section is amended for 

consistency with Virginia Aviation Board policies.  

24VAC5-20-160, Public waters landing rights: The section is 

amended to incorporate information on seaplane bases. 

24VAC5-20-10, Definitions: The section is amended to 

incorporate by reference terms defined in the Code of 

Virginia, which would reduce the number of terms in the 

section. In addition, terms to support proposed changes would 

be added, previously missing terms would be added, terms 

not used in the chapter would be removed, and terms used 

and defined in 24VAC5-20-400 Appendix A: Airport Safety 

Zoning Ordinance, would be removed. The following 

sections are amended by updating procedural information:  

24VAC5-20-120, Licenses  

24VAC5-20-150, Transfer of licenses 

24VAC5-20-170, Private or personal airports 

24VAC5-20-190, Determination of hazard  

24VAC5-20-200, Obstruction criteria  

24VAC5-20-210, Obstruction permit process criteria  

24VAC5-20-280, Sanctions, notice and appeals  

The following sections are amended to provide consistency 

within the chapter:  

24VAC5-20-180, Fees  

24VAC5-20-300, Hazards  

The following sections are amended by updating citation 

references:  

24VAC5-20-220, Model airport safety zoning ordinance  

24VAC5-20-280, Sanctions, notice and appeals  

Issues: Section 5.1-7 of the Code of Virginia requires that any 

airport operated as a public-use facility must be licensed by 

the Virginia Department of Aviation (DOAV); presently there 

are 64 public-use airports in the Commonwealth that meet the 

statutory requirement. Of those airports, 26 airports do not 

meet current state minimum licensing requirements set forth 

in 24VAC5-20-140 and have been issued conditional licenses 

in accordance with § 5.1-7 of the Code of Virginia and 

24VAC5-20-275. Most of the existing noncompliant 

conditions are caused by natural growth. Many of the 26 

airports have received multiple conditional licenses as the 

noncompliant conditions are not being addressed. As the 

conditional licenses expire, DOAV staff must continually 

repeat the agency's licensing process, which includes on-site 

inspections, resulting in an inefficient use of agency 

resources.  

The majority of noncompliant conditions are caused by 

natural growth obstructions in safety areas. DOAV provides 

technical and funding assistance to airport sponsors for 

obstruction removal, whether the obstruction was identified 

through the licensing process or other inspection processes. 

The funding ratio for obstruction removal projects is 80% 

state participation and 20% local participation. This funding 

assistance would continue after the proposed regulations are 

in place.  

In spite of this assistance and the temporary status of 

conditional licenses, noncompliant conditions continue to 

exist on or at airports. The Virginia Aviation Board and 

DOAV want to implement a more structured, efficient 

process of consistently addressing noncompliant conditions 

and their inherent safety concerns, so that airports can retain 

their public-use licenses instead of having their licenses 

revoked in accordance with § 5.1-7 of the Code of Virginia 

and 24VAC5-20-280. Major elements of the proposed 

process would be the requirement for a written mitigation 

plan prepared by an airport and Virginia Aviation Board 

recommendations that would result in the definite resolution 

of the noncompliant condition. State funding for mitigation 

plans, obstruction removal, and other compliance related 

safety projects is available to public-use airport sponsors, 

whether public and private entities. Modification of the state 

minimum licensing requirements to align more closely with 

current FAA standards would be a preparatory action for the 

proposed process.  

If a public-use airport license is revoked, the airport would be 

removed from the statewide air transportation system, and the 

airport sponsor would face the option of operating the facility 

as a private use airport or closing the airport. The sponsor 

would no longer be eligible to receive any funding from 

DOAV. In addition, a sponsor of an airport facility no longer 

operating as a public-use airport would be required to 

reimburse the Commonwealth, on a pro-rata basis, for all 

outstanding financial obligations awarded through DOAV.  

Many of the airports with existing noncompliant conditions 

would meet the proposed minimum requirements for airport 

licensing and would not be placed under conditional airport 

licenses. Over time, the number of airports no longer meeting 

the requirements would lessen. Of those airports that would 

still have noncompliant conditions under the proposed 

regulations, the scope of the work and associated costs to 

address the noncompliant conditions would be reduced as the 

requirements are less restrictive. In addition, the proposal 

offers a "Day/Visual Flight Rules (VFR) Use Only" license, a 

conditional license that allows restricted operations at an 

airport, thereby keeping the airport in the system and open to 

the public, but on a limited basis during daylight hours only. 

Currently, license inspections are conducted every seven 

years, and the identification of noncompliant conditions 
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during those inspections initiates the conditional license 

process. The proposed regulation for conditional licenses 

would allow the conditional license process to be initiated 

any time noncompliant conditions are identified. Earlier 

intervention will reduce the extent of the noncompliant 

conditions that must be addressed, especially those caused by 

natural growth, which in turn will reduce the costs to meet 

and maintain compliance with the minimum regulations.  

Implementation of these regulatory proposals would increase 

safety, increase standardization, reduce costs for the state and 

airport sponsors, increase administrative efficiency, and 

increase Virginia Aviation Board participation in the 

conditional license process.  

In addition, other sections in 24VAC5-20 contain procedural 

information that needs to be updated or text that needs to be 

changed for clarity and consistency within the chapter.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Aviation (Board) proposes to amend these 

regulations in order to implement a more structured, efficient 

process of consistently addressing noncompliant airport 

licensure conditions and their inherent safety concerns, so that 

airports can retain their public-use licenses instead of having 

their licenses revoked. More specifically, the Board proposes 

to: 1) amend obstruction requirements so that they can be 

feasibly met by public-use airports, 2) create a "Day/Visual 

Flight Rules (VFR) Use Only" license for those airports that 

would still have noncompliant conditions under the proposed 

regulations, 3) allow the conditional license process to be 

initiated any time noncompliant conditions are identified, and 

4) make other amendments for clarification and improved 

communication. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Section 5.1-7 of the Code of 

Virginia requires that any airport operated as a public-use 

facility must be licensed by the Virginia Department of 

Aviation (DOAV); presently there are 64 public-use airports 

in the Commonwealth that meet the statutory requirement. Of 

those airports, 26 airports do not meet current state minimum 

licensing requirements set forth in 24VAC5-20-140 and have 

been issued conditional licenses in accordance with § 5.1-7 of 

the Code of Virginia and 24VAC5-20-275. Many of the 26 

airports have received multiple conditional licenses as the 

noncompliant conditions are not being addressed. As the 

conditional licenses expire, DOAV staff must continually 

repeat the agency's licensing process, which includes on-site 

inspections, resulting in an inefficient use of agency 

resources. 

The majority of noncompliant conditions are caused by 

natural growth obstructions in safety areas. DOAV provides 

technical and funding assistance to airport sponsors for 

obstruction removal, whether the obstruction was identified 

through the licensing process or other inspection processes. 

The funding ratio for obstruction removal projects is 80% 

state participation and 20% local participation.  

In spite of this assistance and the temporary status of 

conditional licenses, noncompliant conditions continue to 

exist on or at public-use airports. The Virginia Aviation 

Board and DOAV want to implement a more structured, 

efficient process of consistently addressing noncompliant 

conditions and their inherent safety concerns, so that airports 

can retain their public-use licenses instead of having their 

licenses revoked in accordance with § 5.1-7 of the Code of 

Virginia and 24VAC5-20-280. State funding for mitigation 

plans, obstruction removal, and other compliance related 

safety projects is available to public-use airport sponsors, 

whether public or private. 

If a public-use airport license is revoked, the airport would be 

removed from the statewide air transportation system, and the 

airport sponsor would face the option of operating the facility 

as a private-use airport or closing the airport. The sponsor 

would no longer be eligible to receive any funding from 

DOAV. In addition, a sponsor of an airport facility no longer 

operating as a public-use airport would be required to 

reimburse the Commonwealth, on a prorata basis, for all 

outstanding financial obligations awarded through DOAV.  

Many of the airports with existing noncompliant conditions 

would meet the proposed minimum requirements for airport 

licensing and would not be placed under conditional airport 

licenses. Over time, the number of airports no longer meeting 

the requirements would lessen. Of those airports that would 

still have noncompliant conditions under the proposed 

regulations, the scope of the work and associated costs 

required for these airports to work toward full compliance 

would be reduced as the requirements are less restrictive. The 

Board proposes to create a "Day/Visual Flight Rules (VFR) 

Use Only" license, a conditional license that allows restricted 

operations at an airport, for those airports that have yet to 

become fully compliant, thereby keeping the airport in the 

system and open to the public, but on a limited basis during 

daylight hours only. 

Currently, license inspections are conducted every seven 

years, and the identification of noncompliant conditions 

during those inspections initiates the conditional license 

process. The Board proposes to allow the conditional license 

process to be initiated any time noncompliant conditions are 

identified. Earlier intervention will reduce the extent of the 

noncompliant conditions that must be addressed, especially 

those caused by natural growth, which in turn will reduce the 

costs to meet and maintain compliance with the regulations. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

affect the 64 public-use airports in the Commonwealth, 9 of 

which are owned by small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The localities particularly 

affected by this action are those that own public-use airports, 
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either independently or through participation in an authority 

or commission. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are likely to make it easier for the 10 

privately owned public-use airports to comply with 

requirements for full licensure. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments will likely reduce obstruction removal costs for 

the 9 public-use airports that are owned by small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

will likely reduce obstruction removal costs in developing 

airport property. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis. The 

Virginia Department of Aviation concurs with the analysis 

performed by the Department of Planning and Budget on the 

proposed regulatory action regarding of the minimum airport 

licensing requirements and related licensing issues found in 

24VAC5-20, Regulations Governing the Licensing and 

Operation of Airports and Aircraft and Obstructions to 

Airspace in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulatory action (i) aligns the state airport 

licensing requirements more closely with Federal Aviation 

Administration standards; (ii) provides a new process to 

address noncompliant conditions, including issuance of a 

new "Day/Visual Flight Rule Use Only" conditional 

airport license; (iii) updates procedural information and 

citations; (iv) reduces redundancy; and (v) provides 

consistency throughout the chapter.  

Part I  

Definitions  

24VAC5-20-10. Definitions.  

Whenever used in this chapter, unless the context or subject 

matter requires otherwise, the following words or terms have 

the meaning herein ascribed to them, respectively: Words or 

terms defined in § 5.1-1 of the Code of Virginia are 

incorporated by reference. The following words and terms 

when used in this regulation shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Aircraft" means any contrivance now known or hereafter 

invented, which that is controlled, used, and usually occupied 

by a person for the purpose of navigation and transportation 

through the air, excepting "hang glider" as defined in § 5.1-1 

of the Code of Virginia. Commonly recognized names for 

aircraft include, but are not limited to, planes, helicopters, 

seaplanes, ultralights, and hot air balloons.  

"Airline" means an air carrier operation under Federal 

Aviation Regulations found in 14 CFR Part 119, 14 CFR Part 

121, 14 CFR Part 129, or 14 CFR Part 135 providing 

scheduled passenger service.  

"Airman" means any individual, including the person in 

command, and any pilot, mechanic, or member of the crew, 

who engages in the navigation of aircraft while under way 

within Virginia airspace; any individual who is directly in 

charge of the inspection, maintenance, overhauling or repair 

of aircraft, aircraft engines, propellers or accessories; and any 

individual who serves in the capacity of aircraft dispatcher.  

"Airport" means any area of land or water which is used or 

intended for use for the landing and takeoff of aircraft, and 

any appurtenant areas which are used, or intended for use, for 

airport buildings or other airport facilities including rights-of-

way, easements and all airport buildings and facilities located 

thereon.  

"Airspace" means all that space above the land and waters 

within the boundary of this state.  

"Airport sponsor" means an entity that is legally, financially, 

and otherwise able to assume and carry out the certifications, 

representations, warranties, assurances, covenants, and other 

obligations required for an airport.  

"Antique aircraft" means any aircraft constructed by the 

original manufacturer, or his licensee, on or before December 

31, 1945.  

"Approach surface" means a surface longitudinally centered 

on the extended runway centerline and extending outward and 
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upward. For non-Federal Aid Airports, the surface extends at 

a slope of 15:1 from each end of the primary surface. An 

approach surface is applied to each end of each runway based 

upon the type of approach available or planned for that 

runway end. The inner edge of the approach surface is the 

same width as the primary surface and it expands uniformly 

to a width of:  

1. 1,200 feet at a distance of 5,000 feet for that end of a 

runway with only visual approaches.  

2. 2,000 feet at a distance of 5,000 feet for that end of a 

runway having or proposing to have a nonprecision 

instrument approach procedure.  

See also 14 CFR 77.25, 77.28, and 77.29 for design 

standards as they apply to federal aid airports.  

"Aviation" means activities and infrastructure related to 

transportation by air;, including but not limited to (i) the 

operation, construction, repair, or maintenance of aircraft, 

aircraft power plants, and accessories,; (ii) the design, 

establishment, design, construction, extension, operation, 

improvement, repair, or maintenance of airports or landing 

areas, including but not limited to; and (iii) navigable 

airspace, or other air navigation facilities, and air instruction.  

"Board" means the Virginia Aviation Board.  

"Civil aircraft" means any aircraft other than a public 

aircraft.  

"Commercial operator" means a person, except an airline, 

who operates any aircraft for the purpose of rental or charter 

or for any other purpose purposes from which revenue is 

derived.  

"Conical surface" for a nonfederal aid airport means a 

surface extending outward and upward from the periphery of 

the horizontal surface at a slope of 15:1 for a horizontal 

distance of 4,000 feet. See also 14 CFR 77.25, 77.28 and 

77.29 for standards as they apply to federal aid airports.  

"Contract carrier permit" means a permit issued by the 

department to contract carriers operating under Federal 

Aviation Regulations 14 CFR Part 61, 14 CFR Part 135, or 

14 CFR Part 141 for transport of passengers or freight on 

demand by air. Owners of aircraft who contract to provide 

flight instruction in their aircraft for profit are required to 

have a contract carrier permit.  

"Day/VFR Use Only License" means a conditional airport 

license issued with the restriction that operations at the airport 

can only occur between sunrise and sunset and only under 

Visual Flight Rules (VFR) for the purpose of allowing 

continuing operations at an airport that is not in compliance 

with the minimum requirement for approach surfaces. 

"Department" means the Department of Aviation.  

"Effective runway length" means the distance from the point 

at which the obstruction clearance plane associated with the 

approach end of the runway intersects the centerline of the 

runway and the far end thereof.  

"Hazards" for airports "Hazard" means any a fixed or mobile 

structure, or object, or natural growth, or use of land which 

that obstructs the airspace required for the flight of aircraft in 

landing or taking off at an airport or is otherwise hazardous to 

such the landing or taking off of aircraft.  

"Helipad" means a rectangular or square specially prepared 

surface that may be turf or paved, which is designated 

specifically for the purpose of landing and takeoff of 

helicopter aircraft small designated area, usually with a 

prepared surface, on an airport, heliport, landing/takeoff area, 

apron/ramp, or movement area used for the takeoff, landing, 

or parking of helicopters.  

"Heliport" means any (i) an identifiable area on land, water, 

or structure, including any a building or facilities thereon, 

used or intended to be used for the landing and takeoff of 

helicopters, or other rotorcraft, or (ii) appurtenant areas which 

that are used, or intended for use, for heliport buildings or 

other heliport facilities including rights-of-way, easements, 

and all heliport buildings and facilities located thereon.  

"Heliport approach surface" means a surface beginning at 

each end of the heliport primary surface with the same width 

as the primary surface, and extending outward and upward. 

Reference 14 CFR 77.25, 77.28, and 77.29 for design 

standards.  

"Heliport primary surface" means the area of the primary 

surface coinciding in size and shape with the designated 

takeoff and landing area of a heliport. This surface is a 

horizontal plane at the elevation of the established heliport 

elevation.  

"Heliport transitional surface" means a surface extending 

outward and upward from the lateral boundaries of the 

heliport primary surface and from the approach surfaces. 

Reference 14 CFR 77.25, 77.28, and 77.29 for design 

standards.  

"Horizontal surface" means a horizontal plane 150 feet 

above the established airport elevation. Reference 14 CFR 

77.25, 77.28, and 77.29 for design standards.  

"Imaginary surfaces" are those surfaces as defined herein for 

nonfederal aid airports and in 14 CFR 77.25. Reference 

14 CFR 77.25, 77.28, and 77.29 for the definitions and design 

standards.  

"Intrastate air transportation" means air transportation 

between two or more airports within Virginia, or air 

transportation to and from the same airport in Virginia 

without an intermediate stop outside Virginia.  

"Landing area" means any local specific site, whether over 

land or water, including airports and intermediate landing 

fields, which is used or intended to be used for the landing 

and takeoff of aircraft, whether or not facilities are provided 

for the sheltering, servicing or repair of aircraft, or for 

receiving or discharging passengers or cargo.  

"Noncommercial dealer" means a person who owns and 

offers for sale a minimum of three aircraft during any 
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consecutive 12-month period, which aircraft are not used for 

personal use, rental, charter, or for any a purpose from which 

revenue is derived.  

"Obstacle" means any a fixed or mobile object that is 

located on an area intended for the surface movement of 

aircraft, or that extends above a defined imaginary surface 

intended to protect aircraft in flight, that interferes with the 

situating or operation of navigational aids, or that may control 

the establishment of instrument procedures. An obstacle 

could be located on an area intended for the ground 

movement of aircraft or would extend above the approach 

surfaces intended to protect aircraft in flight or the runway 

object free area. 

"Obstruction" means any an object, obstacle, or structure, 

man-made or otherwise, which that penetrates any of the 

imaginary surfaces approach surfaces or runway object free 

area at an aircraft landing area. The obstruction may be man-

made or of natural growth, including trees. 

"Obstruction clearance plane" means a plane sloping upward 

from the runway at a slope of 15:1 to the horizontal and 

tangent to or clearing meeting the appropriate requirements to 

clear all obstructions within a specified area surrounding the 

runway as shown in a profile view of that area. For federal aid 

airports the slope of the plane is 20:1.  

"Person" means any individual, corporation, government, 

political subdivision of the Commonwealth, or governmental 

subdivision or agency, business trust, estate, trust, 

partnership, two or more of any of the foregoing having a 

joint or common interest, or any other legal or commercial 

entity.  

"Primary surface" means a surface longitudinally centered 

on a runway. When the runway has a specially prepared hard 

surface, the primary surface extends 100 feet beyond each 

end of that runway; but when the runway has no specially 

prepared hard surface, or planned hard surface, the primary 

surface ends at each end of that runway. The elevation of any 

point on the primary surface is the same as the elevation of 

the nearest point on the runway centerline. The minimum 

width of a primary surface is 200 feet. See also 14 CFR 

77.25, 77.28, and 77.29 for standards as they apply to federal 

aid airports.  

"Public aircraft" means an aircraft used exclusively for the 

service of any state or political subdivision thereof, or the 

federal government.  

"Private-use Landing Area License" means a license issued 

for a facility not open for public use, including airports, 

heliports, helipads, and seaplane bases, that is within five 

nautical miles of a licensed public-use airport, in accordance 

with § 5.1-7 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Runway" means a rectangular surface area that may be turf, 

paved, or water course, which that is designed specifically for 

the purpose of approaching and landing and taking-off and 

departing of aircraft.  

"Runway object free area" means an imaginary area 

centered on the runway centerline that is clear of 

aboveground objects protruding above the runway centerline, 

except for allowable objects necessary for air navigation or 

aircraft ground maneuvering purposes. 

"Runway safety area" means a rectangular area, symmetrical 

about the runway centerline, which includes the runway, 

runway shoulders, and stopways safety overruns, if present. 

The portion abutting the edge of the runway shoulders, 

runway ends, and stopways safety overruns is cleared, 

drained, graded, and usually turfed. Under normal conditions, 

the runway safety area is capable of supporting snow 

removal, firefighting, and rescue equipment and of 

accommodating the occasional passage of aircraft without 

causing major damage to the aircraft.  

"Stopway" or "overrun" "Safety overrun'' or "stopway" 

means any an area beyond the takeoff runway, no less wide 

than the runway and centered upon the extended centerline of 

the runway, able to support the airplane an aircraft during an 

aborted takeoff without causing structural damage to the 

airplane aircraft, and designated by the airport authorities for 

use in decelerating the airplane aircraft during an aborted 

takeoff.  

"Seaplane base" means an area of water used or intended to 

be used for the landing and takeoff of aircraft, together with 

appurtenant shoreside buildings and facilities. 

"Structure" means any (i) a man-made object, including a 

mobile object, constructed or erected by man, including but 

not limited to buildings, towers, cranes, smokestacks, earth 

formations, overhead transmission lines, flag poles, and ship 

masts or (ii) natural objects, including but not limited to trees.  

"Threshold" means the beginning of that portion of the 

runway identified for the landing of aircraft. A threshold may 

be displaced, or moved down the runway, to provide for 

adequate safety provisions.  

"Transitional surface" for nonfederal aid airports means a 

surface extending outward and upward at right angles to the 

runway centerline and the runway centerline extended at a 

slope of 5 to 1 from the sides of the primary surface and from 

the sides of the approach surfaces until they intersect the 

horizontal surface. See also 14 CFR 77.25, 77.28, and 77.29 

for standards as they apply to federal aid airports.  

"Ultralight" means any an aircraft that (i) is used or intended 

to be used for manned operation in the air by a single 

occupant, (ii) is used or intended to be used for recreation and 

sport purposes only, and (iii) does not have any U.S. a United 

States or foreign air worthiness certificate, and (iv) weighs 

less than 254 pounds empty weight, excluding floats and 

safety devices which that are intended for deployment in a 

potentially catastrophic situation; and (v) that has a fuel 

capacity not exceeding 5 U.S. five United States gallons; and 

(vi) is not capable of more than 55 knots calibrated airspeed 

at full power in level flight and has a power-off stall speed 

which that does not exceed 24 knots calibrated airspeed.  
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Part III  

Airports and Landing Areas 

24VAC5-20-120. Licenses.  

A. Airports and landing areas, except private landing areas 

as defined set forth in § 5.1-7.2 of the Code of Virginia, shall 

be licensed by the department pursuant to § 5.1-7 of the Code 

of Virginia and 24VAC5-20-140. Such airports and landing 

areas or persons operating any airport or landing area 

proposing to add or extend the runways of such airport or 

landing area shall apply for an amended license pursuant to 

§ 5.1-7 of the Code of Virginia. An initial license or renewal 

thereof will be issued following review and determination of 

the department for compliance with § 5.1-7 of the Code of 

Virginia and 24VAC5-20-140. Private landing areas as 

defined in § 5.1-7.2 of the Code of Virginia shall only be 

registered as provided for in 24VAC5-20-170. An application 

for a license shall be executed by the applicant or a duly 

authorized agent, under oath, on forms prescribed by the 

department, and shall be filed with the department.  

B. Airports and landing areas which that are issued licenses 

pursuant to § 5.1-7 of the Code of Virginia shall be open to 

the general public on a nondiscriminatory basis. An 

application for such a license shall be signed by the airport 

sponsor, under oath, on a form prescribed by the department 

and submitted to the department by the applicant or his duly 

authorized agent under oath on forms prescribed by the 

department accompanied by the required supporting 

documents as specified on the form. Such An initial license, 

or renewal thereof, will be issued following department 

review and determination of compliance with § 5.1-7 of the 

Code of Virginia and 24VAC5-20-140. A license shall 

remain in effect for the period specified until modified, 

suspended, amended or revoked by the department.  

C. Airport sponsors proposing to add or extend runways of 

an airport or landing area shall apply for a modified license 

pursuant to § 5.1-7 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. If an airport or landing area should continually cease to 

be open to the public for one year and the airport sponsor 

wants to reopen the facility to the public, the airport sponsor 

must reapply for a license in accordance with § 5.1-7 of the 

Code of Virginia and 24VAC5-20-120 and must be in 

compliance with 24VAC5-20-140. 

E. Licenses must be renewed every seven years or at the 

discretion of the department based on demonstrated need. 

Starting October 1995, the department will stagger license 

renewals by regions of the Commonwealth according to 

Virginia Aviation Board areas of responsibility as follows: 

Southwest region - September 30, 1996; West Central region 

- September 30, 1997; Blue Ridge region - September 30, 

1998; Northern Virginia region - September 30, 1999; Central 

region - September 30, 2000; Richmond/Northern Neck 

region - September 30, 2001; and Hampton Road/Eastern 

Shore region - September 30, 2002. License expirations shall 

be staggered in accordance with criteria set by the 

department, which include, but are not limited to, changes in 

legislation, standards, policy, processes, and procedures. 

24VAC5-20-140. Minimum requirements for licensing.  

A. The minimum standards which requirements that are 

required for initial and continued licensing under § 5.1-7 of 

the Code of Virginia will shall provide for:  

1. An effective runway length of 2,000 feet, with 100 feet 

of overrun on each end, and unobstructed approach 

surfaces of 15:1 horizontal to vertical slope at each end of 

the runway.  

2. An unobstructed primary surface(s) which is 2,200 feet 

in length and 200 feet in width.  

3. An unobstructed transition surface(s) of 5:1 slope on 

either side of the primary and approach surfaces.  

4. A minimum runway width of 50 feet, and minimum 

runway safety area width of 120 feet.  

5. Aerial ingress and egress shall be available from both 

ends of the rectangular dimension of a runway.  

1. An effective runway length of at least 2,000 feet for 

each direction of operation; 

2. A minimum runway width of 50 feet;  

3. A minimum runway safety area length equal to the 

length of the runway plus 100 feet at each end of the 

runway;  

4. A minimum runway safety area width of 120 feet 

centered on the runway centerline; 

5. A minimum unobstructed approach surface of 15:1 

horizontal to vertical slope at each end of the runway;  

6. An approach surface that is centered along the runway 

centerline and that begins at the threshold at a width of 250 

feet, expands uniformly for a distance of 2,250 feet to a 

width of 700 feet, and continues at the width of 700 feet 

for a distance of 2,750 feet; 

7. A minimum unobstructed runway object free area length 

equal to the length of the runway; 

8. A minimum unobstructed runway object free area width 

of 250 feet centered on the runway centerline; and 

6. 9. A displaced threshold, if an approach surface to either 

physical end of the runway is obstructed and the obstacle 

cannot be removed, that shall be located down the runway 

at the point where the obstruction clearance plane 

intersects the runway centerline.  

7. An airport runway licensed specifically and solely for 

the purpose of accommodating short-takeoff-and-landing 

aircraft may, at the discretion of the department, be less 

than 2,000 feet in length; however, all other dimensional 

standards will apply.  

8. A heliport used for commercial public use purposes will 

provide for minimum dimensions of 75 feet by 75 feet. The 

heliport will have unobstructed primary, approach, and 
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transition surfaces in accordance with their definitions in 

this chapter.  

B. The minimum requirements for the initial and continued 

licensing of an airport under the conditional Day/VFR Use 

Only License in accordance with 24VAC5-20-275 shall 

provide for: 

1. An effective runway length of 2,000 feet in each 

direction of operation; 

2. A minimum runway width of 50 feet; 

3. A minimum runway safety area length equal to the 

length of the runway plus 100 feet at each end of the 

runway; 

4. A minimum runway safety area width of 120 feet 

centered on the runway centerline; 

5. A minimum unobstructed approach surface of 15:1 

horizontal to vertical slope at each end of the runway; and 

6. An approach surface that is centered along the runway 

centerline and that begins at the threshold at a width of 120 

feet, expands uniformly for a distance of 500 feet to a 

width of 300 feet, and continues at the width of 300 feet 

for a distance of 2,500 feet. 

C. The minimum requirements for the initial and continued 

licensing of a heliport open for public use under § 5.1-7 of the 

Code of Virginia shall provide for minimum standard 

dimensions as provided in the Federal Aviation 

Administration Advisory Circular 150/5390-2B Heliport 

Design, effective September 30, 2004.  

D. The minimum requirements for the initial and continued 

licensing of a seaplane base open for public use under § 5.1-7 

of the Code of Virginia shall provide for minimum standard 

dimensions as provided in the Federal Aviation 

Administration Advisory Circular 150/5395 Seaplane Bases, 

effective June 29, 1994. 

9. E. In addition to the investigation required for safety 

provisions as outlined in § 5.1-7 of the Code of Virginia, a 

detailed consideration of the economic, social, and 

environmental effects of the airport location shall be 

conducted for applications for new and modified licenses. 

These considerations shall include one or more public 

hearings as required to assure consistency with the goals and 

objectives of such planning as has been carried out by the 

community.  

10. F. Proof of financial responsibility prescribed in Chapter 

8.2 (§ 5.1-88.7 et seq.) of Title 5.1 of the Code of Virginia 

must be furnished at the time of application of license, and 

such this financial responsibility thereafter must be 

maintained.  

24VAC5-20-145. Waiver of minimum requirements.  

Subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 of 24VAC5-20-140 may be 

waived upon application to the board setting forth the reasons 

that these standard(s) sought to be waived cannot be met. A. 

Upon application by an airport sponsor, setting forth the 

reason or reasons that one or more requirements sought to be 

waived cannot be met, the board may waive compliance of 

requirements of 24VAC5-20-140. In the waiver, the board 

shall specify the minimum requirement or requirements 

covered by the waiver and set terms for the waiver, including 

the time period for the waiver. 

B. Considerations for granting the waiver shall be limited to 

topographical impossibility, possible financial expense to the 

Virginia Aviation Fund, volume and type of traffic and safety 

experience at the airport (i) a determination of no hazard 

based on a Federal Aviation Administration airspace 

evaluation and implementation of mitigation 

recommendations if applicable, (ii) a determination of 

impracticality due to topography, or (iii) a benefit cost 

analysis proving improvements as financially unfeasible.  

Any C. An airport having a license issued prior to October 

1, 1995, and not meeting one or more minimum standards 

requirements for licensure in effect for that period on October 

1, 1995, shall be exempt from having to comply with those 

noncomplying standards requirements for as long as the 

airport remains an active public-use facility unless those 

noncomplying requirements are caused by natural growth. 

Should such airport cease to be open to the public for one 

year, and subsequently reopen, it shall be required to comply 

with all applicable minimum standards for licensure.  

All airports or landing areas that hold licenses as of 

September 30, 1995, that do not meet the minimum standards 

in effect on September 30, 1995, do not need to apply for a 

waiver in order to be relicensed. In compliance with § 5.1-7 

of the Code of Virginia, the department shall issue a 

conditional license to all airports which were licensed as 

public-use airports on October 1, 1995, which did not meet 

the minimum standards for licensure in effect on that date.  

24VAC5-20-150. Transfer of licenses.  

A. No license issued by the department for the operation of 

an airport or landing area may be transferred by the licensee 

without first obtaining the approval of the department.  

B. Application for approval of a transfer of a license shall be 

made on forms the form prescribed by the department and 

accompanied by the required supporting documents as 

specified on the form. Approval may be granted only after 

satisfactory evidence has been submitted which that shows 

that the proposed transferee (i) is capable of operating the 

airport or landing area in accordance with the laws of this 

Commonwealth and these regulations; and (ii) is financially 

responsible per Chapter 8.2 (§ 5.1-88.7 et seq.) of Title 5.1 of 

the Code of Virginia, and has paid or guaranteed payment of 

all financial commitments due the Commonwealth under 

Chapter 1 (§ 5.1-1 et seq.) of Title 5.1  of the Code of 

Virginia or this chapter.  

C. Before such a transfer shall be made, the transferee by 

written agreement shall assume the unfulfilled obligation to 

the Commonwealth to operate the airport or landing area 

under any and all agreements executed by any prior licensee 
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or licensees of such airport or landing area to procure state 

funds for such the airport or landing area.  

D. Upon conveyance, death, dissolution, or bankruptcy of a 

licensee, the airport license may be transferred department 

should be notified of the occurrence within 60 days, and the 

airport license may be transferred upon approval of the 

department. Transfer shall be effected within 180 days after 

death or dissolution of the licensee or the airport license shall 

become null and void.  

24VAC5-20-160. Public waters landing rights Seaplane 

bases.  

Counties, cities, and towns shall have the power to establish, 

maintain, and operate airports and landing areas and other 

navigation facilities in, over, and upon any public waters of 

this Commonwealth, or any submerged land under such 

public waters, within the limits or jurisdiction of or bordering 

on such counties, cities or towns. Any such areas established 

shall follow all the applicable permitting and licensing 

requirements of Part III of this chapter (24VAC5-20-120 et 

seq.). Seaplane bases may be established in, over, and upon 

any waters of this Commonwealth or any submerged land 

under such waters. Seaplane bases used or intended for public 

use need to be licensed in accordance with 24VAC5-20-120 

and 24VAC5-20-140. Seaplane bases not used or intended for 

public use need to be registered or licensed in accordance 

with 24VAC5-20-170. 

24VAC5-20-170. Private or personal airports or landing 

areas.  

Any A. A person establishing or owning property utilized 

for landing aircraft that is solely for private or personal use, 

and which is not open to the general public, a private landing 

area, including airports, heliports, helipads, and seaplane 

bases, shall be required only to register the landing area 

facility if it is not within more than five nautical miles of 

from a licensed public-use airport. Registration shall be 

accomplished on forms provided by the department.  

Any B. A person establishing private or personal airports or 

owning a private landing area, including airports, heliports, 

helipads, and seaplane bases, within five nautical miles of a 

licensed public-use airport shall be licensed required to secure 

a Private-use Landing Area License for the facility if the 

applicant airport does not pose a hazard to the airspace and 

utilization by aircraft of the licensed public-use airport in 

question. Licenses for private-use airports that are within five 

nautical miles of a licensed public-use airport These licenses 

shall be issued once, and do not have to be renewed.  

Prior to final registration or licensing of a private or personal 

airport, the applicant airport shall provide to the department 

written information from the local government having 

jurisdiction over such airport that such airport has received 

approval from the locality C. Application for the registration 

or licensing of a private landing area, including airports, 

heliports, helipads, and seaplane bases, shall be made on the 

form prescribed by the department and accompanied by the 

required supporting documents as specified on the form, 

including written documentation with respect to zoning, 

special use permit, or any other land use requirements.  

D. Aircraft landing at these landing areas and nonpublic-use 

airports private landing areas, including airports, heliports, 

helipads, and seaplane bases, shall have prior approval of the 

landowners or controlling agency when reasonably practical. 

Aircraft landing at other than licensed public-use airports 

without such prior approval shall not be removed therefrom 

without the consent of the owner or lessee of such the 

property.  

E. Privately-owned or publicly-owned hospitals may 

establish and maintain airports, heliports, helipads, or landing 

areas and may restrict the public use of these facilities to the 

takeoff and landing of aircraft for hospital related uses only. 

24VAC5-20-180. Fees.  

A. The fee for issuing a license of a public-use airport or 

landing area for an airport, heliport, seaplane base, or landing 

area open for public use in accordance with 24VAC5-20-120 

shall be $25. The fee for each a license renewal or 

amendment, modification, or transfer shall be $25.  

B. No fee is charged for licensing a private use airport 

private-use landing area under 24VAC5-20-120 or registering 

a private use airport private-use landing area under 24VAC5-

20-170.  

Part IV  

Obstructions to Airspace 

24VAC5-20-190. Determination of hazard.  

The Department of Aviation airport sponsor shall conduct be 

responsible for insuring that an aeronautical study is 

conducted, when needed to satisfy the requisites requirements 

of this regulation, and to determine the effect of any a 

structure, either man-made or natural, that penetrates any 

imaginary surface the approach surfaces or runway object 

free area upon the safe and efficient operation of any a 

licensed, military, or government air navigation facility or 

airport. This determination shall be made based on criteria as 

defined by 24VAC5-20-200. If a structure constitutes an 

"obstruction" in accordance with these standards criteria, it 

shall be presumed to be a "hazard" until determined otherwise 

the by Virginia Aviation Board the board.  

24VAC5-20-200. Obstruction criteria.  

In conducting any A study required by this chapter the 

department may shall consider, but not be limited to, at least 

the following factors: (i) Federal Aviation Regulations 

14 CFR 77.25, 14 CFR 77.28, and 14 CFR 77.29; Airport 

Traffic Patterns (ii) airport traffic patterns; IFR Airways and 

Routes (iii) Instrument Flight Rules (IFR) airways and routes; 

VFR (iv) Visual Flight Rules (VFR) routes and designated 

practice areas; and (v) terminal airspace; and (vi) instrument 

approach procedures.  
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24VAC5-20-210. Obstruction permit procedure.  

A. This process shall not be applicable in those counties, 

cities, and towns which that have satisfied the local ordinance 

provisions of § 15.1-491.02 15.2-2294 of the Code of 

Virginia. See 24VAC5-20-220.  

Any B. A person seeking an obstruction permit from the 

board, as required by § 5.1-25.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

pertaining to structures hazardous to air navigation shall 

submit to the department a permit request on such forms as 

prescribed by the department, including any ancillary data 

required by the department provide to the department a copy 

of Federal Aviation Administration Form 7460-1 Notice of 

Proposed Construction or Alternation submitted to the 

Federal Aviation Administration and a copy of the response 

from the Federal Aviation Administration when available.  

C. Upon receipt of such a request, the department shall (i) 

notify the applicant of said receipt and supply available 

information pertaining to the obstruction analysis, with the 

date and location of the applicable board meeting; (ii) conduct 

an analysis of the request using the criteria in 24VAC5-20-

190 and 24VAC5-20-200 within 90 120 days from the date of 

receipt, unless it advises the applicant that such the analysis 

will take longer require additional time; (ii) supply the 

applicant with available information pertaining to the 

obstruction analysis and the date and location of the board 

meeting at which the request will be presented to the board; 

and (iii) shall forward to the board its analysis in the form of 

a staff report with the concurrent recommendations regarding 

the permit request.  

D. The board shall consider each a permit request at the next 

regularly scheduled meeting, following the completion of the 

department staff report. Its consideration may include, but is 

not limited to, the department's staff report, any verbal and 

written testimony of the applicant, any analysis of by the 

Federal Aviation Administration, and any comments from the 

local jurisdiction or jurisdictions where the structure is to be 

located. All decisions issued by the board shall be issued in 

writing stating the reasons for same. Any An affirmative 

decision may be accompanied by conditions deemed 

appropriate by the board including, but not limited to, 

obstruction marking, lighting, and similar safety features.  

E. The applicant, if given an affirmative decision by the 

board, shall not be relieved by that decision of any local, 

state, or federal requirements as to zoning, building, variance, 

or other permits as may be required.  

24VAC5-20-220. Model airport safety zoning ordinance.  

Any A county, city, or town in the Commonwealth seeking 

to comply with the mandate of § 15.1-491.02 15.2-2294 of 

the Code of Virginia to enact local obstruction ordinances 

shall abide by the following:  

1. The Model Airport Safety Zoning Ordinance developed 

by the Department of Aviation department shall be used as 

a guide by localities. A copy of such the model ordinance 

is found in Appendix A (24VAC5-20-400) of this chapter.  

2. The provisions of any a locally adopted ordinance shall 

be in substantial conformity with the Model Airport Safety 

Zoning Ordinance. Substantial conformity shall include, 

but not be limited to, protection of airspace from intrusions 

as described in Articles 3, 4, and 7 of the Model model.  

3. The department may, at the request of a local governing 

body, review any an ordinance submitted prior to adoption 

by such a locality. In conducting its review, the department 

shall make an evaluation regarding the integrity of such an 

ordinance with respect to the requisites of the Model 

Airport Safety Zoning Ordinance. The review of the 

department may include, but not be limited to, the 

evaluation with respect to the Model Ordinance model 

ordinance, any comments of the locality, and its opinion 

concerning the expected effectiveness of the ordinance as it 

relates to the general intent of § 15.1-491.02 15.2-2294 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

Part VI  

Modification, Suspension, Amendment or Revocation of 

Licenses 

24VAC5-20-275. Conditional licenses.  

A. If at any time an airport or landing area cannot does not 

meet all of the minimum requirements for licensure that have 

been adopted by the department, or having met those 

requirements cannot maintain compliance, the department 

may issue conditional licenses to allow time for the airport or 

landing areas to take steps to meet those requirements 

licensing as set forth in 24VAC5-20-140, a conditional use 

license shall be issued for a period of 180 days. Such 

conditional Conditional licenses shall specify the nonstandard 

requirements and dictate the time allowable for the standards 

to be brought into compliance, that time being the same as the 

duration of the conditional license with which the airport is 

not in compliance. Upon receipt of notification of 

nonconformance, the airport sponsor shall issue the 

appropriate Notice to Airmen for the noncompliant conditions 

in accordance with 24VAC5-20-140. The Notice to Airmen 

shall remain in place until the noncompliant condition is 

resolved. 

B. Within 60 days of notification of nonconformance, the 

airport sponsor must submit a written mitigation plan to the 

department that includes, but is not limited to, means of 

resolving noncompliant conditions, a schedule for the 

performance of the mitigation, and, if applicable, the cost to 

the Commonwealth. The airport sponsor or designee must 

present the mitigation plan to the board at the meeting 

specified in the notification of nonconformance. In response 

to the presentation, the board will recommend at least one of 

the following to the department: 

1. Extend the conditional use license for a specified time 

period; 
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2. Issue a "Day/VFR Use Only License"; 

3. Issue a waiver in accordance with 24VAC5-20-145; 

4. Revoke the public-use license in accordance with 

24VAC5-20-280. 

Failure by the airport sponsor or designee to submit a 

written mitigation plan or failure to present the plan to the 

board will result in at least one of the actions above being 

implemented. 

C. At any time an airport sponsor may request the 

department to reclassify its license. Upon reclassification of a 

license, the airport sponsor shall issue an appropriate Notice 

to Airmen for a minimum period of 180 days. 

24VAC5-20-280. Sanctions, notice notices, and appeals.  

A. The department may immediately temporarily suspend or 

modify any or suspend a license or permit issued pursuant to 

Chapter 1 (§ 5.1-1 et seq.) of Title 5.1 of the Code of Virginia 

and this chapter for violation of any of the provisions of the 

aviation laws of Virginia or of this chapter, at the instance of 

any person, upon duly sworn affidavit of such the person, or 

upon its own motion. Such A sanction shall be effective upon 

receipt of written notice of the sanction by the licensee at his 

last known address as disclosed by the records of the 

department. Such A temporary sanction shall be effective for 

a period not to exceed 90 days.  

B. The department may permanently suspend or revoke any 

a license or permit issued pursuant to Chapter 1 (§ 5.1-1 et 

seq.) of Title 5.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter for 

violation of any of the provisions of the aviation laws of 

Virginia or of this chapter, at the instance of any a person, by 

duly sworn affidavit of such the person, or on upon its own 

motion. Such An action shall be effective 10 days after 

receipt of written notice of the action by the licensee at his 

last known address as disclosed by the records of the 

department, unless the licensee shall, before that time, show 

cause why such the sanction should not be imposed.  

Temporary or permanent suspensions C. Suspensions or 

revocations by the department may be appealed by filing a 

written notice of appeal with the director of the department 

within 10 days of receipt of the notice of sanction, requesting 

an opportunity to be heard and to present evidence in an 

informal fact finding as defined in the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 9-6.14:1 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

Such an An opportunity will be afforded by the director not 

later than within 21 days after of receipt by him of the written 

notice of appeal. The director will give written notice to the 

licensee of his decision to affirm, modify, or rescind the 

sanction within 10 days after this hearing.  

D. The sanctions enumerated in this regulation shall be 

cumulative with other enforcement powers conferred upon 

the department by these regulations or by statute, and no 

action taken hereunder shall limit the jurisdiction of the 

department to impose other penalties authorized by these 

regulations or by statute. From the case decision of the 

director of the department, an appeal lies as set out in the 

Administrative Process Act, (§ 9-6.14:1 2.2-4000 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia).  

24VAC5-20-300. Airport hazards Hazard notification.  

Commercial, public-use Public-use airport and landing area 

owners, operators, and managers shall maintain vigilance as 

to airport conditions and shall notify the nearest Federal 

Aviation Administration Flight Service Station and the 

Department of Aviation department whenever any known 

hazards to aircraft exist at such an airport or landing area. 

Known hazards are any conditions which that create an 

unsafe situation and include uncut grass on any runway in 

excess of eight inches in height.  

24VAC5-20-330. Aviation facilities constructed in whole 

or in part with state funds.  

Before any funds appropriated by the General Assembly of 

Virginia for the promotion of aviation, or the construction or 

improvement of aviation facilities at any county, municipal or 

privately-owned, commercial, a public-use airport, or 

heliport, or seaplane base owned by a county, city, town, 

individual, corporation, authority, or commission may be 

allocated, the owner thereof shall enter into a written 

agreement with the department, acting through the director, 

which that shall provide for operation of such the airport, or 

heliport, or seaplane base as a public-use facility for a 

minimum period of 20 years or as specified within a written 

agreement. The owner airport sponsor of any such an aviation 

facility and his or its transferees, successors, and assignees 

who fails to fulfill the period of operation specified in any 

such agreement shall be liable for the return of any such these 

state funds on a pro rata basis.  

Privately owned or publicly owned hospitals may establish 

and maintain airports and may restrict the public use of such 

airports to takeoff and landing of any aircraft for medical 

emergencies only; such airports may be funded in accordance 

with this chapter.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 

form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 

may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 

General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

FORMS (24VAC5-20) 

Application for Public-use Airport License or License 

Modification, 200 DOAVAS 20101201 Airport License 

Application (12/10). 

Application for Public-use Airport License Renewal, 200 

DOAVAS 20101201 Airport License Renewal Application 

(12/10). 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=405a5002811~2&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=405a5002811~2&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=405a5002811~2&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbba0002811~3&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbba0002811~3&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbba0002811~3&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf


Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 24, 2012 

333 

Application for Private-use Airport Registration or License, 

200 DOAVAS 20101201 Private Airport Registration 

Application (12/10). 

Notice of Proposed Construction or Alteration, FAA Form 

7460-1 (5/07). 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(24VAC5-20) 

Advisory Circular, AC No. 150/5390-2B, Subject: 

Helicopter Design, September 30, 2004, Federal Aviation 

Administration, U.S. Department of Transportation, 800 

Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20591 

(www.faa.gov/regulations_policies/advisory_circulars). 

Advisory Circular, AC No.: 150/5395-1, Subject: Seaplane 

Bases, June 29, 1994, Federal Aviation Administration, U.S> 

Department of Transportation, 800 Independence Avenue, 

SW, Washington, DC 20591 

(www.faa.gov/regulations_policies/advisory_circulars).150/5

395-1 (6/29/94) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2811; Filed September 4, 2012, 3:00 p.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1fb95002811~4&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1fb95002811~4&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1fb95002811~4&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=33937002811~6&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=33937002811~6&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fad37002811~4&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fad37002811~4&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fad37002811~4&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fad37002811~4&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fad37002811~4&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0a1a6002811~5&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0a1a6002811~5&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0a1a6002811~5&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0a1a6002811~5&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0a1a6002811~5&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0a1a6002811~5&typ=40&actno=002811&mime=application/pdf
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Notice of Periodic Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2010) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Criminal 

Justice Services is conducting a periodic review of 6VAC20-

40, Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum Training 

Standards for Undercover Investigative Officers. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 14 (2010) and § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be terminated, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins September 24, 2012, and ends 

October 15, 2012. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Stephanie L. Morton, Law Enforcement 

Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-8003, FAX (804) 786-0410, email 

stephanie.morton@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of the periodic review will be 

posted on the Town Hall and published in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF FORENSIC SCIENCE 

Approved Breath Alcohol Testing Devices 

This list of approved breath alcohol testing devices replaces 

the list published in the Virginia Register (26:7) December 7, 

2009. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 9.1-1101, 18.2-267, and 18.2-268.9 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

In accordance with 6VAC40-20-90 of the Regulations for 

Breath Alcohol Testing and under the authority of the Code 

of Virginia, the following breath test device is approved for 

use in conducting breath tests: 

The Intox EC/IR II with the Virginia test protocol, 

manufactured by Intoximeters, Inc., St. Louis, Missouri, 

utilizing an external printer. 

In accordance with 6VAC40-20-100 of the Regulations for 

Breath Alcohol Testing and under the authority of the Code 

of Virginia, for evidential breath test devices, mouthpieces 

that are compatible with the specific testing device are 

approved as supplies for use in conducting breath tests on 

approved breath test devices. 

In accordance with 6VAC40-20-180 of the Regulations for 

Breath Alcohol Testing and under the authority of the Code 

of Virginia, the following devices are approved for use as 

preliminary breath test devices: 

1. The ALCO-SENSOR, ALCO-SENSOR II, 

ALCOSENSOR III, ALCO-SENSOR IV, and 

ALCOSENSOR FST manufactured by Intoximeters, Inc., 

St Louis, Missouri. 

2. The CMI SD 2 and INTOXILYZER 400PA, 

manufactured by Lion Laboratories, Barry, United 

Kingdom. 

3. The CMI SD 5 manufactured by CMI, Inc., Owensboro, 

Kentucky. 

4. The LIFELOC PBA 3000*, LIFELOC FC10, LIFELOC 

FC10Plus and LIFELOC FC20, manufactured by Lifeloc 

Inc., Wheat Ridge, Colorado. *When used in the direct 

sensing mode only. 

5. The ALCOTEST 6510 and ALCOTEST 6810 

manufactured by Draeger Safety Diagnostics, Inc., 

Durango, Colorado. 

6. The ALCOVISOR JUPITER, ALCOVISOR 

MERCURY and MARK V, manufactured by PAS Systems 

International, Inc., Fredericksburg, Virginia. 

Contact: Stephanie Merritt, Department of Forensic Science, 

700 North 5th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

786-4107. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 

Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations on August 28, 2012. The orders may be viewed 

at the State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA, or at the office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA. 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Six (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1366; "Hasbro Arcade" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective August 24, 2012) 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
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Director's Order Number Eighty-Seven (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1373; "$1,000,000 Mega 

Fortune" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective August 

24, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Eight (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1358; "Ice Chest" Final Rules 

for Game Operation (effective August 24, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Nine (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1313; "Double Hot Dice" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective August 24, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-One (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1359; "Lucky Roulette!" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective August 24, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Two (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1380; "$2,000 Spin" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective August 24, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Three (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1381; "Hit $500!" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective August 24, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Four (12) 

Virginia Lottery's "Redskins VIP Bus Trip Sweepstakes" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective August 28, 2012) 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly Building, 

2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice (804) 

786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/cmsportal3/cgi-bin/calendar.cgi. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/cumultab.htm. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

 

ERRATA 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-31. Virginia Emergency 

Medical Services Regulations (amending 12VAC5-31-10, 

12VAC5-31-20, 12VAC5-31-50, 12VAC5-31-60, 12VAC5-

31-80, 12VAC5-31-90, 12VAC5-31-100, 12VAC5-31-120, 

12VAC5-31-160, 12VAC5-31-170, 12VAC5-31-180, 

12VAC5-31-200 through 12VAC5-31-240, 12VAC5-31-

290, 12VAC5-31-330, 12VAC5-31-370 through 12VAC5-

31-400, 12VAC5-31-420, 12VAC5-31-430, 12VAC5-31-

460, 12VAC5-31-480, 12VAC5-31-500 through 12VAC5-

31-540, 12VAC5-31-560, 12VAC5-31-570, 12VAC5-31-

590, 12VAC5-31-650, 12VAC5-31-700, 12VAC5-31-710, 

12VAC5-31-750, 12VAC5-31-760, 12VAC5-31-770, 

12VAC5-31-790, 12VAC5-31-800 through 12VAC5-31-

830, 12VAC5-31-860 through 12VAC5-31-910, 12VAC5-

31-950, 12VAC5-31-960, 12VAC5-31-1010, 12VAC5-31-

1030, 12VAC5-31-1040, 12VAC5-31-1140, 12VAC5-31-

1210, 12VAC5-31-1250, 12VAC5-31-1260, 12VAC5-31-

1270, 12VAC5-31-1810 through 12VAC5-31-1860, 

12VAC5-31-1880, 12VAC5-31-1890, 12VAC5-31-1950, 

12VAC5-31-2330, 12VAC5-31-2570, 12VAC5-31-2740; 

adding 12VAC5-31-610, 12VAC5-31-875, 12VAC5-31-

885, 12VAC5-31-940, 12VAC5-31-970, 12VAC5-31-1050, 

12VAC5-31-1165, 12VAC5-31-1305 through 12VAC5-31-

1615; repealing 12VAC5-31-840, 12VAC5-31-1060, 

12VAC5-31-1280, 12VAC5-31-1290, 12VAC5-31-1300, 

12VAC5-31-1310 through 12VAC5-31-1710). 

Publication: 29:1 VA.R. 32-103 September 10, 2012.  

Correction to Final Regulation:  

Page 73, 12VAC5-31-1305, first sentence, change 

"September" to "October"  

Page 74, 12VAC5-31-1325, first sentence, change 

"September 10, 2015" to "April 10, 2016" 

Page 74, 12VAC5-31-1337 B, line 1, after "valid" delete 

"EMT" and insert "[ EMT AEMT ]" and line 3, after "his" 

delete "EMT Advanced" and insert "[ EMT Advanced 

Advanced EMT ] " 

Page 76, 12VAC5-31-1355, first sentence, change 

"September 10, 2014" to "October 10, 2016" 

Page 89, 12VAC5-31-1535 B 1, line 2, delete "24" and insert 

"[ 24 60 ]" 

Page 89, 12VAC5-31-1543, first sentence, change 

"September 20, 1014" to "October 10, 2014" 

mailto:varegs@dls.virginia.gov
http://www.virginia.gov/cmsportal3/cgi-bin/calendar.cgi
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/cumultab.htm
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Page 90, 12VAC5-31-1544, first sentence, change 

"September" to "October" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-877; Filed September 6, 2012, 3:04 p.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-70. Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Rules and Regulations (amending 19VAC30-

70-1, 19VAC30-70-3 through 19VAC30-70-10, 19VAC30-

70-30, 19VAC30-70-40 through 19VAC30-70-230, 

19VAC30-70-260, 19VAC30-70-290, 19VAC30-70-310, 

19VAC30-70-330, 19VAC30-70-340, 19VAC30-70-350, 

19VAC30-70-360, 19VAC30-70-390, 19VAC30-70-430, 

19VAC30-70-450, 19VAC30-70-460, 19VAC30-70-490, 

19VAC30-70-500, 19VAC30-70-510, 19VAC30-70-530, 

19VAC30-70-550, 19VAC30-70-570, 19VAC30-70-580, 

19VAC30-70-660; adding 19VAC30-70-9.1, 19VAC30-70-

11, 19VAC30-70-25, 19VAC30-70-31, 19VAC30-70-32, 

19VAC30-70-690). 

Publication: 28:24 VA.R. 1861-1933 July 30, 2012.  

Correction to Final Regulation:  

Page 1886, 19VAC30-70-110 B 9, delete "or CV boots are" 

and unstrike "is", "CV boots," and the comma after "joints" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2928; Filed September 7, 2012, 1:16 p.m. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


