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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 

Chairman; Gregory D. Habeeb; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. 

Moncure, Jr.; Wesley G. Russell, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. 

Tavenner; Christopher R. Nolen; J. Jasen Eige or Jeffrey S. 

Palmore. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 
Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

May 2013 through June 2014 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

29:19 May 1, 2013 May 20, 2013 

29:20 May 15, 2013 June 3, 2013 

29:21 May 29, 2013 June 17, 2013 

29:22 June 12, 2013 July 1, 2013 

29:23 June 26, 2013 July 15, 2013 

29:24 July 10, 2013 July 29, 2013 

29:25 July 24, 2013 August 12, 2013 

29:26 August 7, 2013 August 26, 2013 

30:1 August 21, 2013 September 9, 2013 

30:2 September 4, 2013 September 23, 2013 

30:3 September 18, 2013 October 7, 2013 

30:4 October 2, 2013 October 21, 2013 

30:5 October 16, 2013 November 4, 2013 

30:6 October 30, 2013 November 18, 2013 

30:7 November 13, 2013 December 2, 2013 

30:8 November 26, 2013 (Tuesday) December 16, 2013 

30:9 December 11, 2013 December 30, 2013 

30:10 December 23, 2013 (Monday) January 13, 2014 

30:11 January 8, 2014 January 27, 2014 

30:12 January 22, 2014 February 10, 2014 

30:13 February 5, 2014 February 24, 2014 

30:14 February 19, 2014 March 10, 2014 

30:15 March 5, 2014 March 24, 2014 

30:16 March 19, 2014 April 7, 2014 

30:17 April 2, 2014 April 21, 2014 

30:18 April 16, 2014 May 5, 2014 

30:19 April 30, 2014 May 19, 2014 

30:20 May 14, 2014 June 2, 2014 

30:21 May 28, 2014 June 16, 2014 

30:22 June 11, 2014 June 30, 2014 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Chelsea L. Mason. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC150-20-70 

of the Board of Veterinary Medicine regulations to accept 

continuing education courses in business management and 

finance. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition has been filed with the Register of 

Regulations and will be published on May 20, 2013. 

Comment on the petition may be sent by email or regular 

mail or posted on the Virginia Regulatory Townhall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov. Following receipt of all 

comments on the petition to amend regulations, the board will 

decide whether to make any changes to the regulatory 

language. This matter will be on the board's agenda for its 

October 23, 2013 meeting, which is the next meeting 

scheduled after the close of the comment period. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-26; Filed April 23, 2013, 2:07 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 

consider amending 12VAC5-90, Regulations for Disease 

Reporting and Control. The purpose of the proposed action 

is to bring the regulations into compliance with recent 

changes in the fields of communicable disease control and 

emergency preparedness that are needed to protect the health 

of the residents of Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-35 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Diane Woolard, PhD, Director, Disease 

Surveillance, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8124, or email 

diane.woolard@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3366; Filed April 18, 2013, 9:33 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 

consider amending 12VAC5-550, Board of Health 

Regulations Governing Vital Records. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to (i) identify correct statutory authority; 

(ii) improve clarity of language; (iii) add necessary sections, 

such as regulations governing birth certificates created under 

the authority established in § 63.2-1200.1 B of the Code of 

Virginia for foreign born children; and (iv) add requirements 

for amending or correcting birth and death certificates. This 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as the report of 

the findings of the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-250 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Janet Rainey, State Registrar, Department of 

Health, 2001 Maywill Street, Richmond, VA 23230, 

telephone (804) 662-6200, FAX (804) 662-6256, or email 

janet.rainey@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3634; Filed April 19, 2013, 11:59 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING  

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board for Contractors intends to 

consider amending 18VAC50-22, Board for Contractors 

Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

promulgate requirements for the licensing of residential 

building energy analyst firms that meet specified criteria 

pursuant to Chapter 865 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1146 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 527-4401, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2849; Filed April 24, 2013, 8:49 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board for Contractors intends to 

consider amending 18VAC50-30, Individual License and 

Certification Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to create a new regulation for the licensing of 

residential building energy analysts for applicants who meet 

specified criteria pursuant to Chapter 865 of the 2011 Acts of 

Assembly. The proposed regulations include provisions that 

address residential building energy analyst licensing 

requirements, approval of accredited training programs, and 

standards for performing residential building energy analyses 

pursuant to Chapter 865. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1146 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 527-4401, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2739; Filed April 24, 2013, 8:49 a.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-20. Advertising (amending 

3VAC5-20-10, 3VAC5-20-60, 3VAC5-20-90, 3VAC5-20-

100).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-111 and 4.1-320 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 19, 2013. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 

2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone 

(804) 213-4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, 

or email curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia provides that 

the board has the power to control the possession, 

transportation, sale, and delivery of alcoholic beverages 

within the Commonwealth, while § 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the board to promulgate reasonable 

regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Act. Section 4.1-320 of the Code 

of Virginia provides that there shall be no alcoholic beverage 

advertising in Virginia except as allowed by board 

regulations. 

Purpose: The proposed regulatory action is necessary to 

clarify provisions and remove provisions that are vague and 

unenforceable. The streamlining and clarification of the 

provisions of this regulation should help promote the welfare 

of citizens by providing more definitive and reliable 

guidelines for advertising alcoholic beverages. 

Substance: The proposed amendments to 3VAC5-20 

eliminate antiquated, unenforceable language; prohibit the 

distribution of novelty and specialty items bearing alcoholic 

beverage advertising to persons younger than 21 years of age; 

and allow combination packaging for beer and distilled spirits 

products. 

Issues: The clarification of the use of coupons benefits the 

regulated community and the agency by establishing more 

definitive guidelines. It is a benefit to the public for persons 

younger than 21 years of age not to be provided items bearing 

alcoholic beverage advertising. 

The removal of vague and unenforceable provisions will ease 

the burden on the regulated community. The streamlining and 

clarification of the provisions of this regulation should help 

promote the welfare of all citizens by providing more 

definitive and reliable guidelines for advertising alcoholic 

beverages. There are no known disadvantages to the public, 

the agency, or the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (ABC) proposes to amend 

its advertising regulations to clarify existing provisions of 

regulation, prohibit licensees from giving novelty and 

specialty items emblazoned with alcoholic beverage 

advertising to anyone under 21 and to allow manufacturers, 

importers, bottlers and brokers to provide mail-in rebate 

coupon pads to retailers as wholesalers are allowed to now. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for 

implementing these proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. With this regulatory action, 

ABC proposes to change or move several sections of 

regulation so that regulatory requirements are clearer and 

easier to find. For example, ABC proposes to remove 

language that references specific federal agencies and replace 

it with more generic language so that interested parties are not 

directed to the wrong place to find out whether they are in 

compliance with federal alcoholic beverage advertising rules. 

No affected entity is likely to incur costs on account of these 

regulatory changes because no new requirements are being 

added. Affected entities will benefit from the additional 

clarity these changes bring to the regulation. 

Current regulations have a list of specific advertising 

prohibitions that licensees must follow. ABC proposes to add 

a prohibition to this list so that licensees will not be able to 

give novelty or specialty merchandise that advertises 

alcoholic beverages to anyone under the legal drinking age. 

ABC reports that the scope of alcoholic beverage advertising 

has expanded in recent years and that this prohibition already 

exists in private advertising policies which most if not all 

licensees follow. This prohibition is also implied in other 

advertising rules that prohibit licensees from marketing 

alcohol to individuals under the legal drinking age. Because 

of already existing prohibitions, adding this language to these 

regulations will likely just clarify rules for licensees rather 

than imposing a new restriction on them. No licensee is likely 

to incur costs on account of this change.  

Current regulations allow alcoholic beverage wholesalers to 

provide mail-in rebate coupons to retailers as part of their 

product marketing. ABC proposes to also allow 

manufacturers, importers, bottlers and brokers to provide 
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coupon pads to retailers. This change will benefit all of these 

groups by giving them greater flexibility to use the marketing 

tools that they deem most efficient and useful. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. ABC reports that 1,000 

businesses would be potentially affected by this proposed 

regulatory change; 60% of these entities would meet the 

Commonwealth's definition of small business.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of this regulatory action.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board concurs with the 

economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) clarify existing language, (ii) 

allow combination packaging for beer and distilled spirits, 

and (iii) prohibit the distribution of novelty and specialty 

items bearing alcoholic beverage advertising to persons 

younger than 21 years of age. 

3VAC5-20-10. Advertising; generally; cooperative 

advertising; federal laws; cider; restrictions. 

A. All alcoholic beverage advertising is permitted in this 

Commonwealth except that which is prohibited or otherwise 

limited or restricted by regulation of the board and such 

advertising shall not be blatant or obtrusive. Any editorial or 

other reading matter in any periodical, publication or 

newspaper for the publication of which no money or other 

valuable consideration is paid or promised, directly or 

indirectly, by or for the benefits of any permittee or licensee 

does not constitute advertising.  

B. Advertising of cider, as defined in § 4.1-213 of the Code 

of Virginia, shall conform to the requirements for advertising 

beer.  

C. The board may issue a permit authorizing a variance from 

any of its advertising regulations for good cause shown.  

D. No advertising shall contain any statement, symbol, 

depiction or reference that:  

1. Would tend to induce minors to drink, or would tend to 

induce persons to consume to excess;  

2. Is obscene or is suggestive of any illegal activity;  

3. Incorporates the use of any present or former athlete or 

athletic team or implies that the product enhances athletic 

prowess; except that, persons granted a license to sell wine 

or beer may display within their licensed premises point-

of-sale advertising materials that incorporate the use of any 

present or former professional athlete or athletic team, 

provided that such advertising materials: (i) otherwise 

comply with the applicable regulations of the Federal 

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms appropriate 

federal agency and (ii) do not depict any athlete consuming 

or about to consume alcohol prior to or while engaged in 

an athletic activity, do not depict an athlete consuming 

alcohol while the athlete is operating or about to operate a 

motor vehicle or other machinery, and do not imply that 

the alcoholic beverage so advertised enhances athletic 

prowess;  

4. Is false or misleading in any material respect;  

5. Implies or indicates, directly or indirectly, that the 

product is government endorsed by the use of flags, seals 

or other insignia or otherwise;  

6. Makes any reference to the intoxicating effect of any 

alcoholic beverages;  
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7. Constitutes or contains a contest or sweepstakes where a 

purchase is required for participation; or  

8. Constitutes or contains an offer to pay or provide 

anything of value conditioned on the purchase of alcoholic 

beverages, except for refund coupons and combination 

packaging for wine. Any such combination packaging shall 

be limited to packaging provided by the manufacturer that 

is designed to be delivered intact to the consumer.  

E. The board shall not regulate advertising of nonalcoholic 

beer or nonalcoholic wine so long as (i) a reasonable person 

by common observation would conclude that the advertising 

clearly does not represent any advertisement for alcoholic 

beverages and (ii) the advertising prominently states that the 

product is nonalcoholic.  

3VAC5-20-60. Advertising; novelties and specialties. 

Distribution of novelty and specialty items, including 

wearing apparel, bearing alcoholic beverage advertising, shall 

be subject to the following limitations and conditions:  

1. Items not in excess of $10 in wholesale value may be 

given away;  

2. Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, wholesalers 

or their representatives may give licensed retailers items 

not in excess of $10 in wholesale value in quantities equal 

to the number of employees of the retail establishment 

present at the time the items are delivered. Thereafter, such 

employees may wear or display the items on the licensed 

premises. Neither manufacturers, importers, bottlers, 

brokers, wholesalers or their representatives may give such 

items to patrons on the premises of retail licensees; 

however, manufacturers or their authorized representatives 

other than wholesalers conducting tastings pursuant to the 

provisions of § 4.1-201.1 of the Code of Virginia may give 

no more than one such item to each consumer provided a 

sample of alcoholic beverages during the tasting event; and 

such items bearing moderation and responsible drinking 

messages may be displayed by the licensee and his 

employees on the licensed premises and given to patrons 

on such premises as long as any references to any alcoholic 

beverage manufacturer or its brands are subordinate in type 

size and quantity of text to such moderation message;  

3. Items in excess of $10 in wholesale value may be 

donated by distilleries, wineries and breweries only to 

participants or entrants in connection with the sponsorship 

of conservation and environmental programs, professional, 

semi-professional or amateur athletic and sporting events 

subject to the limitations of 3VAC5-20-100, and for events 

of a charitable or cultural nature;  

4. Items may be sold by mail upon request or over-the-

counter at retail establishments customarily engaged in the 

sale of novelties and specialties, provided they are sold at 

the reasonable open market price in the localities where 

sold; 

5. Wearing apparel shall be in adult sizes; and 

6. Point-of-sale order blanks, relating to novelty and 

specialty items, may be provided by beer and wine 

wholesalers to retail licensees for use on their premises, if 

done for all retail licensees equally and after obtaining the 

consent, which may be a continuing consent, of each 

retailer or his representative. Wholesalers may not be 

involved in the redemption process.; and 

7. Novelty and specialty items bearing alcoholic beverage 

advertising may not be distributed to persons younger than 

the legal drinking age. 

3VAC5-20-90. Advertising; coupons. 

A. "Normal retail price" shall mean the average retail price 

of the brand and size of the product in a given market, and not 

a reduced or discounted price. 

B. Coupons may be advertised in accordance with the 

following conditions and restrictions: 

1. Manufacturers or importers of spirits, wine, and beer 

may use only consumer mail-in refund, not instantly 

redeemable discount, coupons. The coupons may not 

exceed 50% of the normal retail price and may not be 

honored at a retail outlet or state government store but shall 

be mailed directly to the manufacturer or importer or its 

designated agent. Such agent may not be a wholesaler or 

retailer of alcoholic beverages. Consumer proof of 

purchase (such as a dated, retail specific receipt) is 

required for redemption of all consumer coupons. Coupons 

are permitted in the print media, via the Internet, by direct 

mail or electronic mail to consumers, or as part of, or 

attached to, the package. Beer and wine Manufacturers, 

importers, bottlers, brokers, wholesalers, and their 

representatives may provide coupon pads to retailers for 

use by retailers on their premises, if done for all retail 

licensees equally and after obtaining the consent, which 

may be a continuing consent, of each retailer or his 

representative. Wholesale licensees may attach refund 

coupons to the package if done for all retail licensees 

equally and after obtaining the consent, which may be a 

continuing consent, for each retailer or his representative. 

2. Manufacturers or importers offering refund coupons on 

spirits and wine sold in state government stores shall notify 

the board at least 45 15 days in advance of the issuance of 

the coupons of its amount, its expiration date and the area 

of the Commonwealth in which it will be primarily used, if 

not used statewide. 

3. Wholesale licensees are not permitted to offer coupons. 

4. Retail licensees may offer coupons, including their own 

discount or refund coupons, on wine and beer sold for off-

premises consumption only. Retail licensees may offer 

their own coupons in the print media, at the point-of-sale 

or by direct mail to consumers. 

5. No retailer may be paid a fee by manufacturers or 

wholesalers of alcoholic beverages for display or use of 

coupons and the name of the retail establishment may not 
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appear on any refund coupons offered by manufacturers. 

No manufacturer or wholesaler may furnish any coupons 

or materials regarding coupons to retailers which are 

customized or designed for discount or refund by the 

retailer. 

6. Retail licensees or employees thereof may not receive 

refunds on coupons obtained from the packages before sale 

at retail.  

7. No coupons may be honored for any individual below 

the legal age for purchase. 

3VAC5-20-100. Advertising; sponsorship of public events; 

restrictions and conditions. 

A. Generally. Alcoholic beverage advertising in connection 

with the sponsorship of public events shall be limited to 

sponsorship of conservation and environmental programs, 

professional, semi-professional, or amateur athletic and 

sporting events and events of a charitable or cultural nature 

by distilleries, wineries, and breweries, importers, and 

bottlers.  

B. Restrictions and conditions.  

1. Any sponsorship on a college, high school or younger 

age level is prohibited;  

2. Cooperative advertising, as defined in 3VAC5-30-80, is 

prohibited;  

3. Awards or contributions Contributions of alcoholic 

beverages are prohibited;  

4. Advertising of alcoholic beverages shall conform in size 

and content to the other advertising concerning the event 

and advertising regarding charitable events shall place 

primary emphasis on the charitable fund raising nature of 

the event;  

5. A charitable event is one held for the specific purpose of 

raising funds for a charitable organization which is exempt 

from federal and state taxes;  

6. Advertising in connection with the sponsorship of an 

event may be only in the any media, including such as print 

media, the Internet or other electronic means, television, or 

radio; by direct mail or flyers to consumers; on programs, 

tickets, and schedules for the event,; on the inside of 

licensed or unlicensed retail establishments; and at the site 

of the event;  

7. Advertising materials as defined in 3VAC5-30-60 G, 

table tents as defined in 3VAC5-30-60 H and canisters are 

permitted;  

8. Prior written notice shall be submitted to the board 

describing the nature of the sponsorship and giving the 

date, time and place of it; and 

9. Manufacturers may sponsor public events and 

wholesalers may only cosponsor charitable events.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3235; Filed April 30, 2013, 7:16 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-30. Tied-House (amending 

3VAC5-30-10, 3VAC5-30-20, 3VAC5-30-30, 3VAC5-30-

60, 3VAC5-30-70, 3VAC5-30-80; adding 3VAC5-30-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 19, 2013. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 

2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone 

(804) 213-4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, 

or email curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board to promulgate reasonable 

regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of Title 4.1 

of the Code of Virginia or the general laws of the 

Commonwealth. Section 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia also 

provides that the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board must 

maintain the reasonable separation of retailer interests from 

those of the manufacturers, bottlers, brokers, importers, and 

wholesalers in accordance with § 4.1-216 of the Code of 

Virginia and in consideration of the established trade 

customs, quantity, and value of the articles or services 

provided; prevent undue competitive domination of any 

person by any other person engaged in the manufacture, 

distribution, and sale at retail or wholesale of alcoholic 

beverages in the Commonwealth; and promote reasonable 

accommodation of arm's-length business transactions. 

Purpose: The streamlining and clarification of the provisions 

of this regulation should help promote the welfare of citizens 

by providing more definitive and reliable guidance on the 

marketing of alcoholic beverages. The expansion of ordinary 

and commercial reasons for product return promotes product 

integrity for manufacturers and protects retailers when a 

product is discontinued.  

Substance: The proposed amendments to 3VAC5-30 (i) 

expand and clarify the merchandising of alcoholic beverages; 

(ii) establish a new section that more appropriately 

incorporates into regulation the current provisions prohibiting 

price discrimination between wholesalers and retailers of 

alcoholic beverages; and (iii) expand ordinary and 

commercial reasons for product return. 

Issues: The primary advantage associated with the proposed 

regulatory action is increased flexibility for alcoholic 

beverage manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, and 

wholesalers in the marketing and merchandising of products. 

There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (ABC) proposes to amend 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 20, 2013 

2255 

its tied house regulations to rearrange existing provisions of 

regulation to improve clarity, allow manufacturers, importers, 

bottlers, brokers and wholesalers to all offer sales 

inducements and rotate and exchange alcoholic beverage 

stock at and to allow employment of manufacturers, 

wholesalers or bottlers by retail licensees so long as the 

employed individuals do not sell directly or indirectly to the 

employing retailer. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for 

implementing these proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. With this regulatory action, 

ABC proposes to change or move several sections of 

regulation so that regulatory requirements are clearer and 

easier to find. For example, ABC proposes to move language 

that defines what dispensing accessories and tapping 

equipment are so that they are together and easier to locate. 

No affected entity is likely to incur costs on account of 

regulatory changes such as these because no new 

requirements are being added. Affected entities will benefit 

from the additional clarity these changes bring to the 

regulation. 

Current regulations allow manufacturers, bottlers and 

wholesalers to offer sales inducements to retailers. 

Wholesalers are currently allowed to rotate and exchange 

stock at retail establishments. ABC proposes to amend these 

regulations so that manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers 

and wholesalers can offer inducements to retailers and rotate 

and exchange stock at retail establishments. All these 

regulated entities will likely benefit from the added flexibility 

to take part in marketing and stocking activities that these 

regulatory changes will afford them. As all these activities are 

allowed, but not required, no entity will likely incur any costs 

on account of these proposed changes. 

Current regulations prohibit retailers from employing 

manufacturers, wholesalers or bottlers licensed by ABC. 

ABC now proposes to amend these regulations to allow such 

employment so long as the employed individuals do not sell 

directly or indirectly to the employing retailer. This 

regulatory change will benefit all affected entities by allowing 

them greater flexibility to make business and employment 

decisions. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. ABC reports that 15,000 

businesses would be potentially affected by this proposed 

regulatory change; 70% of these entities would meet the 

Commonwealth's definition of small business.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of this regulatory action.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board concurs with the 

economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) allow wine wholesalers to 

merchandise product on Sunday; (ii) transfer the 

prohibitions of price discrimination between wholesalers 

and retailers currently in 3VAC5-70 (Other Provisions) to 

3VAC5-30 (Tied-House); and (iii) expand ordinary and 

commercial reasons for product return. 

3VAC5-30-10. Rotation and exchange of stocks of 

retailers by wholesalers; permitted and prohibited acts.  

A. Permitted acts. For the purpose of maintaining the 

freshness of the stock and the integrity of the products sold by 

him, a wine wholesaler Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, 

brokers, or wholesalers may perform, except on Sundays in 

jurisdictions where local ordinances restrict Sunday sales of 
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alcoholic beverages, and a beer wholesaler may perform, 

except on Sundays in jurisdictions where local ordinances 

restrict Sunday sales of alcoholic beverages, the following 

services for a retailer upon consent, which may be a 

continuing consent, of the retailer:  

1. Rotate, repack, and rearrange wine or beer alcoholic 

beverages in a display (shelves, coolers, cold boxes, and 

the like, and floor displays in a sales area);  

2. Restock wine and beer alcoholic beverages;  

3. Rotate, repack, rearrange, and add to his own stocks of 

wine or beer alcoholic beverages in a storeroom space 

assigned to him by the retailer;  

4. Transfer wine and beer alcoholic beverages between 

storerooms, between displays, and between storerooms and 

displays; and  

5. Create or build original displays using wine or beer 

products alcoholic beverages only.  

B. Prohibited acts. A manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, 

or wholesaler, or its representative, may not:  

1. Alter or disturb in any way the merchandise sold by 

another manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler, whether in a display, sales area, or storeroom 

except in the following cases:  

a. When the products of one manufacturer, importer, 

bottler, broker, or wholesaler have been erroneously 

placed in the area previously assigned by the retailer to 

another manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler; or  

b. When a floor display area previously assigned by a 

retailer to one manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler has been reassigned by the retailer to another 

manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or wholesaler; 

2. Mark or affix retail prices to products other than those 

sold by the manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler to the retailer; or  

3. Sell or offer to sell alcoholic beverages to a retailer with 

the privilege of return, except for ordinary and usual 

commercial reasons as set forth below:  

a. Products defective at the time of delivery may be 

replaced;  

b. Products erroneously delivered may be replaced or 

money refunded;  

c. Products that of which a manufacturer or importer 

discontinues nationally production or importation may be 

returned and money refunded if no lawful exchange 

under subdivision 3 g of this subsection is available and 

if prior written approval is provided by the board;  

d. Resalable draft beer may be returned and money 

refunded;  

e. Products in the possession of a retail licensee whose 

license is terminated by operation of law, voluntary 

surrender or order of the board may be returned and 

money refunded upon permit issued by the board;  

f. Products which have been condemned and are not 

permitted to be sold in this Commonwealth may be 

replaced or money refunded upon permit issued by the 

board; or  

g. Wine or beer Alcoholic beverages may be exchanged 

on an identical quantity and brand basis for quality 

control purposes. Where production of the product has 

been discontinued, the distributor may exchange the 

product for a product from the same supplier on an 

identical quantity and comparable wholesale price basis. 

Any such exchange shall be documented by the word 

"exchange" on the proper invoice.  

3VAC5-30-20. Restrictions upon employment; exceptions.  

No retail licensee shall employ in any capacity in his 

licensed business any person engaged or employed in the 

manufacturing, bottling or wholesaling of alcoholic 

beverages; nor shall any licensed manufacturer, bottler or 

wholesaler employ in any capacity in his licensed business 

any person engaged or employed in the retailing of alcoholic 

beverages.  

This section shall not apply to banquet licensees, farm 

winery licensees, or to off-premises winery licensees, nor 

shall this section apply in any situation in which the 

manufacturer, bottler, or wholesaler does not sell or otherwise 

furnish, directly or indirectly, alcoholic beverages or other 

merchandise to the retailer.  

3VAC5-30-30. Certain transactions to be for cash; "cash" 

defined; checks and money orders; electronic fund 

transfers; records and reports by sellers; payments to the 

board.  

A. Sales of wine or beer between wholesale and retail 

licensees of the board shall be for cash paid and collected at 

the time of or prior to delivery, except where payment is to be 

made by electronic fund transfer as hereinafter provided. 

Each invoice covering such a sale or any other sale shall be 

signed by the purchaser at the time of delivery and shall 

specify the manner of payment.   

B. "Cash," as used in this section, shall include (i) legal 

tender of the United States, (ii) a money order issued by a 

duly licensed firm authorized to engage in such business in 

the Commonwealth (iii) a valid check drawn upon a bank 

account in the name of the licensee or permittee or in the 

trade name of the licensee or permittee making the purchase, 

or (iv) an electronic fund transfer, initiated by a wholesaler 

pursuant to subsection D of this section, from a bank account 

in the name, or trade name, of the retail licensee making a 

purchase from a wholesaler or the board.  

C. If a check, money order or electronic fund transfer is 

used, the following provisions apply:  

1. If only alcoholic beverage merchandise is being sold, the 

amount of the checks, money orders or electronic fund 
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transfers shall be no larger than the purchase price of the 

alcoholic beverages; and  

2. If nonalcoholic merchandise is also sold to the retailer, 

the check, money order or electronic fund transfer may be 

in an amount no larger than the total purchase price of the 

alcoholic beverages and nonalcoholic beverage 

merchandise. If a separate invoice is used for the 

nonalcoholic merchandise, a copy of it shall be attached to 

the copies of the alcoholic beverage invoices which are 

retained in the records of the wholesaler and the retailer. If 

a single invoice is used for both the alcoholic beverages 

and nonalcoholic beverage merchandise, the alcoholic 

beverage items shall be separately identified and totaled.  

D. If an electronic fund transfer is used for payment by a 

licensed retailer or a permittee for any purchase from a 

wholesaler or the board, the following provisions shall apply:  

1. Prior to an electronic fund transfer, the retail licensee 

shall enter into a written agreement with the wholesaler 

specifying the terms and conditions for an electronic fund 

transfer in payment for the delivery of wine or beer to that 

retail licensee. The electronic fund transfer shall be 

initiated by the wholesaler no later than one business day 

after delivery and the wholesaler's account shall be 

credited by the retailer's bank no later than the following 

business day. The electronic fund transfer agreement shall 

incorporate the requirements of this subdivision, but this 

subdivision shall not preclude an agreement with more 

restrictive provisions. For purposes of this subdivision, the 

term "business day" shall mean a business day of the 

respective bank;  

2. The wholesaler must generate an invoice covering the 

sale of wine or beer, and shall specify that payment is to be 

made by electronic fund transfer. Each invoice must be 

signed by the purchaser at the time of delivery; and  

3. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to require 

that any licensee must accept payment by electronic fund 

transfer.  

E. Wholesalers shall maintain on their licensed premises 

records of all invalid checks received from retail licensees for 

the payment of wine or beer, as well as any stop payment 

order, insufficient fund report or any other incomplete 

electronic fund transfer reported by the retailer's bank in 

response to a wholesaler initiated electronic fund transfer 

from the retailer's bank account. Further, wholesalers shall 

report to the board any invalid checks or incomplete 

electronic fund transfer reports received in payment of wine 

or beer when either (i) any such invalid check or incomplete 

electronic fund transfer is not satisfied by the retailer within 

seven days after notice of the invalid check or a report of the 

incomplete electronic fund transfer is received by the 

wholesaler, or (ii) the wholesaler has received, whether 

satisfied or not, either more than one such invalid check from 

any single retail licensee or received more than one 

incomplete electronic fund transfer report from the bank of 

any single retail licensee, or any combination of the two, 

within a period of 180 days. Such reports shall be upon a 

form provided by the board and in accordance with the 

instructions set forth in such form.  

F. Payments to the board for the following items shall be for 

cash, as defined in subsection B of this section:  

1. State license taxes and application fees;  

2. Purchases of alcoholic beverages from the board by 

mixed beverage licensees;  

3. 2. Wine taxes and excise taxes on beer and wine coolers;  

4. 3. Solicitors' permit fees and temporary permit fees;  

5. 4. Registration and certification fees, and the markup or 

profit on cider, collected pursuant to these regulations;  

6. 5. Civil penalties or charges and costs imposed on 

licensees and permittees by the board; and  

7. 6. Forms provided to licensees and permittees at cost by 

the board.  

3VAC5-30-60. Inducements to retailers; beer and wine 

tapping equipment; bottle or can openers; spirits back-

bar pedestals; banquet licensees; paper, cardboard or 

plastic advertising materials; clip-ons and table tents; 

sanctions and penalties. 

A. Any manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler, or its representative, may sell, rent, lend, buy for, 

or give to any retailer, without regard to the value thereof, the 

following:  

1. Draft beer knobs, containing advertising matter which 

shall include the brand name and may further include only 

trademarks, housemarks and slogans and shall not include 

any illuminating devices or be otherwise adorned with 

mechanical devices which are not essential in the 

dispensing of draft beer; and  

2. Tapping equipment, defined as all the parts of the 

mechanical system required for dispensing draft beer in a 

normal manner from the carbon dioxide tank through the 

beer faucet, excluding the following:  

a. The carbonic acid gas in containers, except that such 

gas may be sold only at the reasonable open market price 

in the locality where sold;  

b. Gas pressure gauges (may be sold at cost);  

c. Draft arms or standards;  

d. Draft boxes; and  

e. Refrigeration equipment or components thereof.  

Further, a manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler may sell, rent 

or lend to any retailer, for use only by a purchaser of draft 

beer in kegs or barrels from such retailer, whatever tapping 

equipment may be necessary for the purchaser to extract such 

draft beer from its container.  

B. Any manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler may sell to any retailer and install in the retailer's 

establishment tapping dispensing accessories such as 
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(including but not limited to standards, faucets, rods, vents, 

taps, tap standards, hoses, cold plates, washers, couplings, gas 

gauges, vent tongues, shanks, and check valves, if the tapping 

accessories are sold valves) and carbon dioxide (and other 

gases used in dispensing equipment) at a price not less than 

the cost of the industry member who initially purchased them, 

and if the price is collected within 30 days of the date of sale.  

Wine tapping equipment shall not include the following:  

1. Draft wine knobs, which may be given to a retailer;  

2. Carbonic acid gas, nitrogen gas, or compressed air in 

containers, except that such gases may be sold in 

accordance with the reasonable open market prices in the 

locality where sold and if the price is collected within 30 

days of the date of the sales; or  

3. Mechanical refrigeration equipment.  

C. Any beer tapping equipment may be converted for wine 

tapping by the beer wholesaler who originally placed the 

equipment on the premises of the retail licensee, provided that 

such beer wholesaler is also a wine wholesaler licensee. 

Moreover, at the time such equipment is converted for wine 

tapping, it shall be sold, or have previously been sold, to the 

retail licensee at a price not less than the initial purchase price 

paid by such wholesaler.  

D. Any manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler of wine or beer 

may sell or give to any retailer, bottle or can openers upon 

which advertising matter regarding alcoholic beverages may 

appear, provided the wholesale value of any such openers 

given to a retailer by any individual manufacturer, bottler or 

wholesaler does not exceed $20. Openers in excess of $20 in 

wholesale value may be sold, provided the reasonable open 

market price is charged therefor.  

E. Any manufacturer of spirits may sell, lend, buy for or 

give to any retail licensee, without regard to the value thereof, 

back-bar pedestals to be used on the retail premises and upon 

which advertising matter regarding spirits may appear.  

F. Manufacturers of alcoholic beverages and their authorized 

vendors or wholesalers of wine or beer may sell at the 

reasonable wholesale price to banquet licensees glasses or 

paper or plastic cups upon which advertising matter regarding 

alcoholic beverages may appear.  

G. Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, or 

wholesalers of alcoholic beverages, or their representatives, 

may not provide point-of-sale advertising for any alcoholic 

beverage or any nonalcoholic beer or nonalcoholic wine to 

retail licensees except in accordance with 3VAC5-30-80. 

Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, and wholesalers 

may provide advertising materials to any retail licensee that 

have been customized for that retail licensee (including the 

name, logo, address, and website of the retail licensee) 

provided that such advertising materials must:  

1. Comply with all other applicable regulations of the 

board;  

2. Be for interior use only;  

3. Contain references to the alcoholic beverage products or 

brands offered for sale by the manufacturer, bottler, or 

wholesaler providing such materials and to no other 

products; and  

4. Be made available to all retail licensees.  

H. Any manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler of wine, beer, or spirits, or its representatives, may 

sell, lend, buy for, or give to any retail licensee clip-ons and 

table tents.  

I. Any manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or wholesaler 

of alcoholic beverages may clean and service, either free or 

for compensation, coils and other like equipment used in 

dispensing wine and beer alcoholic beverages, and may sell 

solutions or compounds for cleaning wine and beer alcoholic 

beverage glasses, provided the reasonable open market price 

is charged.  

J. Any manufacturer, importer, bottler, or wholesaler of 

alcoholic beverages licensed in this Commonwealth may sell 

ice to retail licensees provided the reasonable open market 

price is charged.  

K. Any licensee of the board, including any manufacturer, 

bottler, importer, broker as defined in § 4.1-216 A of the 

Code of Virginia, wholesaler, or retailer who violates, 

attempts to violate, solicits any person to violate or consents 

to any violation of this section shall be subject to the 

sanctions and penalties as provided in § 4.1-328 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

3VAC5-30-70. Routine business entertainment; definition; 

permitted activities; conditions.  

A. Nothing in this regulation chapter shall prohibit a 

wholesaler or, manufacturer, importer, or broker of alcoholic 

beverages licensed in the Commonwealth from providing a 

retail licensee "routine business entertainment" which is 

defined as those activities enumerated in subsection B of this 

section.  

B. Permitted activities are:  

1. Meals and beverages;  

2. Concerts, theatre and arts entertainment;  

3. Sports participation and entertainment;  

4. Entertainment at charitable events; and  

5. Private parties; and 

6. Local transportation in order to attend one or more of the 

activities permitted by this subsection. 

C. The following conditions apply:  

1. Such routine business entertainment shall be provided 

without a corresponding obligation on the part of the retail 

licensee to purchase alcoholic beverages or to provide any 

other benefit to such wholesaler or manufacturer or to 

exclude from sale the products of any other wholesaler or 

manufacturer;  
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2. Wholesaler or manufacturer personnel shall accompany 

the personnel of the retail licensee during such business 

entertainment;  

3. Except as is inherent in the definition of routine business 

entertainment as contained herein, nothing in this 

regulation shall be construed to authorize the providing of 

property or any other thing of value to retail licensees;  

4. No more than $400 may be spent per 24-hour period on 

any employee of any retail licensee, including a self-

employed sole proprietor, or, if the licensee is a 

partnership, or any partner or employee thereof, or if the 

licensee is a corporation, on any corporate officer, director, 

shareholder of 10% or more of the stock or other 

employee, such as a buyer. Expenditures attributable to the 

spouse of any such employee, partnership or stockholder, 

and the like, shall not be included within the foregoing 

restrictions;  

5. No person enumerated in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection may be entertained more than six times by a 

wholesaler and six times by a manufacturer per calendar 

year;  

6. Wholesale licensees and manufacturers shall keep 

complete and accurate records for a period of three years of 

all expenses incurred in the entertainment of retail 

licensees. These records shall indicate the date and amount 

of each expenditure, the type of entertainment activity and 

retail licensee entertained; and  

7. This regulation section shall not apply to personal 

friends of manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, or 

wholesalers as provided for in 3VAC5-70-100.  

3VAC5-30-80. Advertising materials that may be 

provided to retailers by manufacturers, importers, 

bottlers, or wholesalers. 

A. There shall be no cooperative advertising as between a 

producer, manufacturer, bottler, importer, or wholesaler and a 

retailer of alcoholic beverages, except as may be authorized 

by regulation pursuant to § 4.1-216 of the Code of Virginia. 

The term "cooperative advertising" shall mean the payment or 

credit, directly or indirectly, by any manufacturer, bottler, 

importer, or wholesaler whether licensed in this 

Commonwealth or not to a retailer for all or any portion of 

advertising done by the retailer. 

B. Manufacturers or their authorized vendors as defined in 

§ 4.1-216.1 of the Code of Virginia and wholesalers of 

alcoholic beverages may sell, lend, buy for, or give to 

retailers any nonilluminated advertising materials made of 

paper, cardboard, canvas, rubber, foam, or plastic, provided 

the advertising materials have a wholesale value of $40 or 

less per item. Advertising material referring to any brand or 

manufacturer of spirits may only be provided to mixed 

beverage licensees and may not be provided by beer and wine 

wholesalers, or their employees, unless they hold a spirits 

solicitor's permit. 

C. Manufacturers, bottlers, or wholesalers may supply to 

retailers napkins, placemats, and coasters that contain (i) a 

reference to the name of a brand of nonalcoholic beer or 

nonalcoholic wine, or (ii) a message relating solely to and 

promoting moderation and responsible drinking, which 

message may contain the name, logo, and address of the 

sponsoring manufacturer, bottler, or wholesaler, provided 

such recognition is subordinate to the message. 

D. Any manufacturer, including any vendor authorized by 

any such manufacturer, whether or not licensed in the 

Commonwealth, may sell service items bearing alcoholic 

brand references to on-premises retail licensees. Such retail 

licensee may display the service items on the premises of his 

licensed establishment. Each such retail licensee purchasing 

such service items shall retain a copy of the evidence of his 

payment to the manufacturer or authorized vendor for a 

period of not less than two years from the date of each sale of 

the service items. As used in this subdivision, "service items" 

means articles of tangible personal property normally used by 

the employees of on-premises licensees to serve alcoholic 

beverages to customers including, but not limited to, glasses, 

napkins, buckets, and coasters. 

E. Beer and wine Alcoholic beverage "neckers," recipe 

booklets, brochures relating to the wine manufacturing 

process, vineyard, brewery, and distillery geography, and 

history of a wine an alcoholic beverage manufacturing area;, 

and point-of-sale entry blanks relating to contests and 

sweepstakes may be provided by beer and wine 

manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, or wholesalers to 

retail licensees for use on retail premises, if such items are 

offered to all retail licensees equally, and the manufacturer, 

importer, bottler, broker, or wholesaler has obtained the 

consent, which may be a continuing consent, of each retailer 

or his representative. Wholesale licensees in the 

Commonwealth may not put entry blanks on the package. 

Solicitors holding permits under the provisions of 3VAC5-

60-80 may provide point-of-sale entry blanks relating to 

contests and sweepstakes to mixed beverage licensees for use 

on the premises if such items are offered to all mixed 

beverage licensees equally, and the solicitor has obtained the 

consent, which may be a continuous consent, of each mixed 

beverage licensee or his representative. 

F. Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, or 

wholesalers may supply refund coupons, if they are supplied, 

displayed, and used in accordance with 3VAC5-20-90. 

G. No manufacturer, bottler, wholesaler, or importer of 

alcoholic beverages, whether licensed in this Commonwealth 

or not, may directly or indirectly sell, rent, lend, buy for, or 

give to any retailer any advertising materials, decorations, or 

furnishings under any circumstances otherwise prohibited by 

law, nor may any retailer induce, attempt to induce, or 

consent to any such supplier of alcoholic beverages 

furnishing such retailer any such advertising. 
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H. Any advertising materials provided for herein, which 

may have been obtained by any retail licensee from any 

manufacturer, bottler, broker, importer, or wholesaler of 

alcoholic beverages, may be installed in the interior of the 

licensed establishment by any such manufacturer, bottler, or 

wholesaler industry member using any normal and customary 

installation materials. With the consent of the retail licensee, 

which consent may be a continuing consent, manufacturers, 

importers, bottlers, brokers, or wholesalers, or their 

representatives, may mark or affix retail prices on these 

materials. 

I. Every retail licensee who obtains any point-of-sale 

advertising shall keep a complete, accurate, and separate 

record of all such material obtained. Such records shall show 

(i) the name and address of the person from whom obtained; 

(ii) the date furnished; (iii) the item furnished; and (iv) the 

price charged therefore. All such records, invoices and 

accounts shall be kept by each such licensee at the place 

designated in the license for a period of two years and shall 

be available for inspection and copying by any member of the 

board or its special agents during reasonable hours. 

3VAC5-30-90. Price discrimination; inducements. 

A. No wholesale wine or beer licensee shall discriminate in 

price of alcoholic beverages between different retail 

purchasers except where the difference in price charged by 

such wholesale licensee is due to: 

1. Acceptance or rejection by a retail purchaser of terms or 

conditions affecting a price offer, including a quantity 

discount, as long as such terms or conditions are offered on 

an equal basis to all retailers; 

2. A bona fide difference in the cost of sale or delivery; 

3. The status of the purchaser as an on-premises or off-

premises licensee; or 

4. The wholesale licensee charging a lower price in good 

faith to meet an equally low price charged by a competing 

wholesale licensee on a brand and package of like grade 

and quality. 

Where such difference in price charged to any such retail 

purchaser does occur, the board may ask for and the 

wholesale licensee shall furnish written substantiation for the 

price difference.  

B. No person holding a license authorizing the sale of 

alcoholic beverages at retail shall knowingly induce or 

receive a discrimination in price prohibited by this section.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3236; Filed April 30, 2013, 7:17 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-40. Requirements for Product 

Approval (amending 3VAC5-40-10, 3VAC5-40-20, 

3VAC5-40-30; repealing 3VAC5-40-40, 3VAC5-40-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 19, 2013. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 

2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone 

(804) 213-4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, 

or email curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board to promulgate reasonable 

regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of Title 4.1 

of the Code of Virginia or the general laws of the 

Commonwealth. Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia also 

compels the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board to determine 

the nature, form, and capacity of all containers used for 

holding alcoholic beverages to be kept or sold under Title 4.1 

and prescribe the form and content of all labels and seals to 

be placed thereon.  

Purpose: The proposed regulatory action is necessary to 

streamline and consolidate the label and container 

requirements for wine and beer and to remove vague and 

unenforceable language pertaining to lewd or indecent labels.  

Alcoholic beverage regulation is essential to protect the 

health, safety, and welfare of citizens by encouraging 

temperance and maintaining an orderly market. In 

promulgating regulations, the board must balance the need to 

protect the public safety with the legitimate interests of 

industry participants to be free of unnecessary restrictions. 

Each of the proposed amendments maintains essential public 

safety controls, while providing more flexibility for alcoholic 

beverage sellers. 

Substance: The proposed amendments consolidate existing 

provisions for approval of wine and beer labels and 

containers; eliminate antiquated, unenforceable language; and 

provide for previously approved individual items to be 

offered in a combination pack. 

Issues: The removal of vague and unenforceable provisions 

will ease the burden on the regulated community. The 

streamlining and clarification of the provisions of this 

regulation should help promote the welfare of citizens by 

providing more definitive and reliable guidance on the 

labeling and product approval of alcoholic beverages. There 

are no disadvantages to the public, the agency, or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (ABC) proposes to amend 

its regulations to 1) consolidate product approval regulations 

for wine and beer, 2) remove the requirement that applicants 

provide a certified copy of federal label approval, 3) allow 

wine tasting at farm wineries of wine drawn directly from the 

barrel, 4) allow sale of wine and hard cider growlers for off 
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premises consumption and 5) set the maximum allowable 

volume of beer pitchers at 64 fluid ounces. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for 

implementing these proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, ABC splits rules for 

product approval for wine and beer so that there are two, 

nearly duplicative parts to current regulations. ABC proposes 

to consolidate these two parts so that the length of these 

regulations is cut and to clarify for affected entities that wine 

and beer are subject to the same rules in these regulations. No 

affected entity is likely to incur any costs on account of this 

change but affected entities are likely to get some small 

benefit from the additional clarity that this change will likely 

bring.  

Current regulations require entities seeking approval to sell a 

new beer or wine in the Commonwealth to provide, as a part 

of the approval process, a certified copy of label approval 

from the appropriate federal agency. ABC proposes to only 

require a copy of such label approval since the federal agency 

no longer provides certified copies. Affected entities will 

benefit from this change as current regulation requires them 

to provide something that they cannot procure. No entity is 

likely to incur any costs on account of this change. 

Current regulations require wine to be bottled before it can be 

sold even at the originating winery. ABC proposes to allow 

wineries to sell samples of wine taken directly from barrels so 

long as they keep track of the volume of wine sold in such a 

manner and comply with Virginia's tax code. No entity is 

likely to incur any net cost increases on account of this 

change; wineries are likely to benefit from this change 

because they will not have to incur the costs of bottling the 

wine they intend to serve at wine tastings on premises.  

Current regulations allow the sale for off premises 

consumption of beer in reusable, resealable containers of not 

more than 64 fluid ounces that are known as growlers. Wine 

and hard cider for off premises consumption may currently 

only be sold in non-resealable bottles with the original seal 

unbroken. ABC proposes to change its regulations so that 

wine and hard cider may also be sold in growlers. This 

change will benefit sellers of wine and hard cider as it allows 

them greater flexibility to bottle their product in the most 

efficient, least costly manner possible. 

Current regulations allow the sale of beer in pitchers for 

onsite consumption but do not specify the size of such 

pitchers. ABC now proposes to amend these regulations so 

that beer for onsite consumption may be served in pitchers of 

up to 64 fluid ounces. ABC set this standard with input from 

licensees who serve beer onsite (bars, etc.) who reported to 

ABC that 64 ounces was the usual size for beer pitchers. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. ABC reports that 

approximately 1,000 businesses would be potentially affected 

by these proposed regulatory changes; 60% of these entities 

would meet the Commonwealth's definition of small business.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of this regulatory action.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board concurs with the 

economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) consolidate and standardize 

product approval requirements for wine and beer; (ii) 

remove vague and unenforceable language relating to 

lewd or indecent labels on wine or beer; (iii) allow for 

combining previously approved items into a gift package; 
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and (iv) provide standards and definition for certain beer 

containers. 

3VAC5-40-10. Spirits; labels, definitions and standards of 

identity.  

Spirits sold in the Commonwealth shall conform with 

regulations adopted by the appropriate federal agency, 

relating to labels, definitions and, standards of identity, and 

standards of fill. In addition, the prior approval of the board 

must be obtained as to the spirits, containers and labels. 

Applicants shall furnish the board a certified copy of the 

approval of the label by such federal agency.  

Subsequent sales under an approved label shall conform to 

the analysis of the spirits originally approved by the board, 

and be packaged in approved types and sizes of containers.  

3VAC5-40-20. Wines Wine and beer; qualifying 

procedures; disqualifying factors; samples; exceptions.  

A. Except as provided in subsection F of this section, all 

wines wine and beer sold in the Commonwealth shall be first 

approved by the board as to content, container, and label.  

1. An application acceptable to the board or on a form 

prescribed by the board describing the merchandise shall 

be submitted for each new brand and type of wine offered 

for sale in the Commonwealth. A registration fee in such 

amounts as may be established by the board shall be 

included with each application.  

2. 1. All wine and beer sold in this Commonwealth shall 

conform with regulations adopted by the appropriate 

federal agency, relating to labels, definitions and standards 

of identity. An application acceptable to the board or on a 

form prescribed by the board describing the merchandise 

shall be submitted for each new brand and type of wine or 

beer offered for sale in the Commonwealth. Applicants 

shall submit a certified copy of the approval of the label by 

such federal agency. A registration fee in such amount as 

may be established by the board shall be included with 

each application. 

2. A gift package containing wine or beer for which label 

approval has been granted may be sold without additional 

approval by the board. 

B. While not limited thereto, the board shall withhold 

approval of any wine if the alcoholic content exceeds 21% by 

volume.  

C. While not limited thereto, the board may withhold 

approval of any label:  

1. Which implies or indicates that the product contains 

spirits;  

2. Which contains the word "fortified" or implies that the 

contents contain spirits, except that the composition and 

alcoholic content may be shown if required by regulations 

of an appropriate federal agency;  

3. Which contains any obscene subject matter or 

illustration of a lewd, obscene or indecent nature;  

4. Which contains subject matter designed to induce 

minors to drink, or is suggestive of the intoxicating effect 

of wine or beer;  

5. Which contains any design or statement which is likely 

to mislead the consumer.; 

6. Which implies or indicates that the product is 

government (federal, state, or local) endorsed; or  

7. Which implies the product enhances athletic prowess or 

includes any reference to any athlete, former athlete, or 

athletic team except that references to athletes or athletic 

teams shall be allowed to the extent such references are 

permitted in point-of-sale advertising pursuant to 3VAC5-

20-10. 

D. A person holding a license as a winery, farm winery, 

brewery, or a wine or beer wholesaler shall upon request 

furnish the board without compensation a reasonable quantity 

of such brand sold by him for chemical analysis.  

E. Any wine whose content, label or container does not 

comply with all requirements of this section shall be exempt 

therefrom provided that such wine was sold at retail in this 

Commonwealth as of December 1, 1960, and remains the 

same in content, label and container. Any wine or beer sold 

only by direct shipment to consumers by holders of wine or 

beer shippers' licenses shall be approved upon compliance 

with subdivision A 2 1 of this section.  

F. If the board has not approved a wine or beer for sale 

within 30 days after receipt by the board of a complete 

application and registration fee, the wine or beer may be sold 

in the Commonwealth pending a decision from the board on 

the application. If the application for approval is rejected, the 

manufacturer or importer shall discontinue sales of the 

rejected product upon notice from the board. Any wholesale 

or retail licensee may continue sales until any inventory on 

hand at the time of notice from the board is depleted.  

3VAC5-40-30. Wine and beer containers; sizes and types; 

on-premises and off-premises limitations; cooler-

dispensers; novel containers; carafes and decanters.  

A. Wine may be sold at retail only in or from the original 

containers of the sizes of 1.7 ounces (50 ml. if in a metric-

sized package) or above which have been approved by the 

appropriate federal agency and beer may be sold at retail only 

in or from the original containers of the sizes that have been 

approved by the appropriate federal agency, except that farm 

winery licensees may conduct barrel tastings at the winery, at 

which samples of wine not yet bottled may be sold to visitors 

to the winery. Each farm winery conducting a barrel tasting 

shall measure the wine withdrawn for the tasting, maintain 

full and complete records, and remit the taxes imposed by 

§ 4.1-234 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. Wine sold for on-premises consumption shall not be 

removed from the licensed premises except in the original 

container with closure. Beer dispensed for on-premises 

consumption shall not be removed from authorized areas 
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upon the premises. No wine or beer shall be sold for off-

premises consumption in any container upon which the 

original closure has been broken, except for a growler. A 

"growler" is defined as a reusable glass, ceramic, or metal 

container having a capacity of not more than 64 fluid ounces 

that has a resealable closure and is labeled with (i) the 

manufacturer's name or trade name; (ii) the place of 

production; (iii) the net contents in fluid ounces; and (iv) if 

sold by a retailer other than the manufacturer, the name and 

address of the retailer. Growlers may only be used by persons 

licensed to sell beer or wine for both on-premises and off-

premises consumption, or by gourmet shop licensees.  

C. Wine shall not be sold for off-premises consumption in 

any container upon which the original closure has been 

broken.  

D. The sale of wine from cooler-dispensers is prohibited 

unless the device is designed so that the original container 

becomes a part of the equipment, except that frozen drink 

dispensers or containers used in automatic dispensing may be 

used if approved by the board.  

E. C. Novel or unusual containers are prohibited except 

upon special permit issued by the board. In determining 

whether a container is novel or unusual, the board may 

consider, but is not limited to, the following factors: (i) nature 

and composition of the container; (ii) length of time it has 

been employed for the purpose; (iii) the extent to which it is 

designed or suitable for those uses; (iv) the extent to which 

the container is a humorous representation; and (v) whether 

the container is dutiable for any other purpose under customs 

laws and regulations.  

F. D. Wine may be served for on-premises consumption in 

carafes or decanters not exceeding 52 fluid ounces (1.5 liters) 

in capacity. Beer may be served for on-premises consumption 

in pitchers not exceeding 64 fluid ounces in capacity. 

3VAC5-40-40. Beer containers; sizes; off- and on-

premises limitations; novel containers; opening devices. 

(Repealed.)  

A. Beer may be sold at retail only in or from the original 

containers of the sizes which have been approved by the 

appropriate federal agency.  

B. No beer shall be sold by licensees for off-premises 

consumption in any container upon which the original closure 

has been broken, except for a growler or reusable container 

that is federally approved to hold a malt beverage, has a 

resealable closure and is properly labeled. Growlers may only 

be used by persons licensed to sell beer for both on- and off-

premises consumption. Further, licensees shall not allow beer 

dispensed for on-premises consumption to be removed from 

authorized areas upon the premises.  

C. Novel or unusual containers are prohibited except upon 

special permit issued by the board. In determining whether a 

container is novel or unusual the board may consider, but is 

not limited to, the factors set forth in 3VAC5-40-30.  

D. No retail beer licensee shall sell at retail any beer 

packaged in a metal container designed and constructed with 

an opening device that detaches from the container when the 

container is opened in a manner normally used to empty the 

contents of the container.  

3VAC5-40-50. Beer; qualifying procedures; samples; 

exceptions; disqualifying label factors. (Repealed.) 

A. Except as provided in subsection E of this section, beer 

sold in the Commonwealth shall be first approved by the 

board as to content, container and label.  

1. An application acceptable to the board or on a form 

prescribed by the board describing the merchandise shall 

be submitted for each new brand and type of beer offered 

for sale in the Commonwealth. A registration fee in such 

amounts as may be established by the board shall be 

included with each application.  

2. All beer sold in the Commonwealth shall conform with 

regulations adopted by the appropriate federal agency, 

relating to labels, definitions and standards of identity. 

Applicants shall submit a certified copy of the approval of 

the label by such federal agency.  

B. A brewery licensee or a wholesale beer licensee shall 

upon request furnish the board without compensation a 

reasonable quantity of each brand of beer sold by him for 

chemical analysis.  

C. Any beer whose contents, label or container does not 

comply with all requirements of this section shall be exempt 

therefrom provided that such beer was sold at retail in this 

Commonwealth as of December 1, 1960, and remains the 

same in content, label and container. Any beer sold only by 

direct shipment to consumers by holders of beer shippers' 

licenses shall be approved upon compliance with subdivision 

A 2 of this section.  

D. While not limited thereto, the board may withhold 

approval of any label which contains any statement, depiction 

or reference that:  

1. Implies or indicates that the product contains wine or 

spirits;  

2. Implies the product contains above average alcohol for 

beer;  

3. Is suggestive of intoxicating effects;  

4. Would tend to induce minors to drink;  

5. Would tend to induce persons to consume to excess;  

6. Is obscene, lewd or indecent;  

7. Implies or indicates that the product is government 

(federal, state or local) endorsed;  

8. Implies the product enhances athletic prowess or implies 

such by any reference to any athlete, former athlete or 

athletic team except that references to athletes or athletic 

teams shall be allowed to the extent such references are 

permitted in point-of-sale advertising pursuant to 3VAC5-

20-10.  
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E. If the board has not approved a beer for sale within 30 

days after receipt by the board of a complete application and 

registration fee, the beer may be sold in the Commonwealth 

pending a decision from the board on the application. If the 

application for approval is rejected, the manufacturer or 

importer shall discontinue sales of the rejected product upon 

notice from the board. Any wholesale or retail licensee may 

continue sales until any inventory on hand at the time of 

notice from the board is depleted.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3237; Filed April 30, 2013, 2:12 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations 

(amending 3VAC5-50-60).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 19, 2013. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 

2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone 

(804) 213-4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, 

or email curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia was amended 

by Chapter 481 of the 2010 Acts of Assembly by adding 

subdivision B 11, which requires the board to promulgate 

regulations that prescribe the terms and conditions under 

which mixed beverage licensees may infuse, store, and sell 

flavored distilled spirits. 

Purpose: The proposed regulatory action is essential to 

protect the health, safety, or welfare of citizens by ensuring 

that licensees that infuse distilled spirits with flavoring agents 

comply with food safety regulations and encouraging 

temperance by maintaining the food-to-beverage sale ratio 

required of mixed beverage licensees. 

Substance: A new subdivision F will be added to 3VAC5-50-

60 allowing mixed beverage restaurants to infuse spirits either 

in the original container or in another container of up to two 

liters. The mixed beverage stamp must remain affixed to 

spirits infused in the original container, and those placed in 

another container must be appropriately labeled. Accurate 

records must be maintained of all spirits used in infusions. 

Restaurants creating infusions must comply with food safety 

regulations. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this action is to allow mixed 

beverage restaurants the flexibility to produce their own 

flavor-infused distilled spirits for the production of cocktails. 

It poses no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (ABC) proposes to amend 

its regulations so mixed beverage restaurants that are licensed 

by ABC may infuse, store and sell flavored distilled spirits. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for 

implementing these proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, ABC does not allow 

restaurants that serve mixed alcoholic beverages to infuse 

flavor into spirits on premises. ABC now proposes to allow 

restaurants to infuse, store and sell flavored distilled spirits so 

long as the flavored spirits are either infused in the original 

spirits container (the mixed beverage stamp must remain 

affixed to the bottle in this case) or infused in a container not 

larger than two liters in volume. If the spirits are infused in a 

container other than the original spirits container, the 

container must be labeled with the date of the infusion and the 

brand and amount of spirits used. Restaurants that infuse 

spirits will have to comply with all applicable state and 

federal food safety regulations. 

Because this regulation does not require restaurants to do 

anything new, no affected entity is likely to incur any costs on 

account of this proposed regulatory action. Affected 

businesses will benefit from being able to infuse their own 

spirits should they choose to do so. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. ABC reports that 4,789 

businesses would be potentially affected by this proposed 

regulatory change; 90% of these entities would meet the 

Commonwealth's definition of small business.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of this regulatory action.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
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the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board concurs with the 

economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary:  

This proposed regulatory action amends the general 

procedures for mixed beverage restaurants by (i) 

prescribing the labeling, container size, and recordkeeping 

requirements for infusing, storing, and selling flavored 

distilled spirits and (ii) requiring compliance with all 

applicable state and federal food safety requirements. 

3VAC5-50-60. Procedures for mixed beverage licensees 

generally; mixed beverage restaurant licensees; sales of 

spirits in closed containers.  

A. No mixed beverage restaurant or carrier licensee shall:  

1. Prepare, other than in frozen drink dispensers of types 

approved by the board, or sell any mixed beverage except 

pursuant to a patron's order and immediately preceding 

delivery to him.  

2. Serve as one drink the entire contents of a container of 

spirits in its original container for on-premises 

consumption except as provided by subsections C, D, and 

E.  

3. Sell any mixed beverage to which alcohol has been 

added.  

B. No mixed beverage restaurant licensee shall:  

1. Allow to be kept upon the licensed premises any 

container of alcoholic beverages of a type authorized to be 

purchased under his license that does not bear the required 

mixed beverage stamp imprinted with his license number 

and purchase report number.  

2. Use in the preparation of a mixed beverage any 

alcoholic beverage not purchased from the board or a 

wholesale wine licensee.  

3. Fail to obliterate the mixed beverage stamp immediately 

when any container of spirits is emptied.  

4. Allow any patron to possess more than two drinks of 

mixed beverages at any one time.  

C. If a restaurant for which a mixed beverage restaurant 

license has been issued under § 4.1-210 of the Code of 

Virginia is located on the premises of a hotel or motel, 

whether the hotel or motel be under the same or different 

ownership, sales of mixed beverages, including sales of 

spirits packaged in original closed containers purchased from 

the board, as well as other alcoholic beverages, for 

consumption in bedrooms and private rooms of such hotel or 

motel, may be made by the licensee subject to the following 

conditions in addition to other applicable laws:  

1. Spirits sold by the drink as mixed beverages or in 

original closed containers must have been purchased under 

the mixed beverage restaurant license upon purchase forms 

provided by the board;  

2. Delivery of sales of mixed beverages and spirits in 

original closed containers shall be made only in the 

bedroom of the registered guest or to the sponsoring group 

in the private room of a scheduled function. This section 

shall not be construed to prohibit a licensee catering a 

scheduled private function from delivering mixed beverage 

drinks to guests in attendance at such function;  

3. Receipts from the sale of mixed beverages and spirits 

sold in original closed containers, as well as other alcoholic 

beverages, shall be included in the gross receipts from 

sales of all such merchandise made by the licensee; and  

4. Complete and accurate records of sales of mixed 

beverages and sales of spirits in original closed containers 

to registered guests in bedrooms and to sponsors of 

scheduled private functions in private rooms shall be kept 

separate and apart from records of all mixed beverage 

sales.  

D. Carrier licensees may serve miniatures not in excess of 

two fluid ounces or 50 milliliters, in their original containers, 

for on-premises consumption.  

E. A mixed beverage restaurant may serve as one drink the 

entire contents of a container of soju in its original container 

for on-premises consumption under the following conditions:  

1. The container may be no larger than 375 milliliters.  

2. Each container of soju served must be served for 

consumption by at least two patrons legally eligible to 

consume alcoholic beverages.  

F. A mixed beverage restaurant licensee may infuse, store, 

and sell flavored distilled spirits under the following 

circumstances:  

1. If infused in the original spirits container, the mixed 

beverage stamp must remain affixed to the bottle. 

2. If infused in a container other than the original spirits 

container, the substitute container, which shall not exceed 

two liters in volume, will be labeled with the following 

information:  
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a. Date of infusion; 

b. Brand of spirits; and 

c. Amount of spirits used. 

3. Accurate records must be kept by the mixed beverage 

licensee as to the spirits used in any spirits infusion 

process. 

4. Licensees infusing distilled spirits shall comply with all 

applicable state and federal food safety regulations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2426; Filed April 30, 2013, 2:14 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations 

(amending 3VAC5-50-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 19, 2013. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 

2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone 

(804) 213-4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, 

or email curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4.1-209 A 12 of the Code of Virginia, enacted 

by Chapter 626 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly, requires that 

the board establish a minimum monthly food sale requirement 

for gourmet oyster house licenses, but leaves the details of 

such a requirement to the board's discretion.  

Purpose: The proposed regulatory action is essential to 

protect the health, safety, or welfare of citizens by 

encouraging temperance through ensuring that alcoholic 

beverages sold and served for on-premises consumption are 

sold by businesses that serve a substantial amount of food in 

addition to beverage offerings. 

Substance: The proposed action will add a subdivision to 

3VAC5-50-110 B, which sets forth the minimum food sales 

requirements for wine and beer on-premises or on-premises 

and off-premises licensees, to require gourmet oyster houses 

to sell a minimum of $1,000 per month of oysters and other 

seafood. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public associated with 

the proposed regulatory action will be to ensure that wine and 

beer are sold for on-premises consumption in establishments 

also selling a substantial quantity of food, which encourages 

temperance. There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (ABC) proposes to amend 

its regulations to institute a new category of licensure for 

Gourmet Oyster Houses. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for 

implementing these proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. ABC proposes to add a new 

category of business licensure for establishments that are 

located on the premises of a commercial marina and 

permitted by the Department of Health to serve oysters and 

other fresh seafood for consumption on premises. These 

businesses will be able to get a liquor license so long as they 

sell at least $1,000 of oysters or other seafood per month. 

These establishments will not have to meet ABC's 

requirements that meals with entrees and other food be 

served. The licensure fee for Gourmet Oyster Houses will be 

$230 per license year. 

Because this regulation does not require restaurants to do 

anything new, no affected entity is likely to incur any costs on 

account of this proposed regulatory action. Affected 

businesses will benefit from being able to serve beer and 

other alcoholic beverages to accompany their seafood dishes. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. ABC reports that there is 

currently only one seafood establishment in the 

Commonwealth that would be eligible for this license. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of this regulatory action.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
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(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board concurs with the 

economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment establishes a $1,000 minimum 

monthly food sale requirement of oysters and other 

seafood for gourmet oyster house licensees. This action is 

required by Chapter 626 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly.  

3VAC5-50-110. Definitions and qualifications for retail 

on-premises and on-premises and off-premises licenses 

generally; mixed beverage licensee requirements; 

exceptions; temporary licenses.  

A. The following definitions shall apply to retail licensees 

and mixed beverage licensees where appropriate:  

1. "Designated area." A room or area in which a licensee 

may exercise the privilege of his license, the location, 

equipment and facilities of which room or area have been 

approved by the board. The facilities shall be such that 

patrons may purchase food prepared on the premises for 

consumption on the premises at substantially all times that 

alcoholic beverages are offered for sale therein. The 

seating capacity of such room or area shall be included in 

determining eligibility qualifications for a mixed beverage 

restaurant.  

2. "Dining car, buffet car or club car." A vehicle operated 

by a common carrier of passengers by rail, in interstate or 

intrastate commerce and in which food and refreshments 

are sold.  

3. "Meals." In determining what constitutes a "meal" as the 

term is used in this section, the board may consider the 

following factors, among others:  

a. The assortment of foods commonly offered for sale;  

b. The method and extent of preparation and service 

required; and  

c. The extent to which the food served would be 

considered a principal meal of the day as distinguished 

from a snack.  

4. "Habitual sales." In determining what constitutes 

"habitual sales" of specific foods, the board may consider 

the following factors, among others:  

a. The business hours observed as compared with similar 

type businesses;  

b. The extent to which such food or other merchandise is 

regularly sold; and  

c. Present and anticipated sales volume in such food or 

other merchandise.  

5. "Sale" and "sell." The definition of "sale" and "sell" as 

defined in 3VAC5-70-90 shall apply to this section.  

B. Wine and beer. Retail on-premises or on-premises and 

off-premises licenses may be granted to persons operating the 

following types of establishments provided that meals or 

other foods are regularly sold at substantially all hours that 

wine and beer are offered for sale and the total monthly food 

sales for consumption in dining areas and other designated 

areas on the premises are not less than those shown:  

1. "Boat" (on premises only). A common carrier of 

passengers for which a certificate as a sight-seeing carrier 

by boat, or a special or charter party by boat has been 

issued by the State Corporation Commission, habitually 

serving food on the boat:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

2. "Restaurant." A bona fide dining establishment 

habitually selling meals with entrees and other foods 

prepared on the premises:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

3. "Hotel." Any duly licensed establishment, provided with 

special space and accommodation, where, in consideration 

of payment,meals with entrees and other food prepared on 

the premises and lodging are habitually furnished to 

persons and which has four or more bedrooms:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

In regard to both restaurants and hotels, at least $1,000 of 

the required monthly sales must be in the form of meals 

with entrees.  

4. "Gourmet Oyster House." Any duly licensed 

establishment, located on the premises of a commercial 

marina and permitted by the Department of Health to serve 

oysters and other fresh seafood for consumption on the 

premises, where the licensee also offers to the public 

events for the purpose of featuring oysters and other 

seafood products: 

Monthly sales of oysters and other seafood…...$1,000 

C. Beer. Retail on-premises or on-premises and off-premises 

licenses may be granted to persons operating the following 

types of establishments provided that food is regularly sold at 

substantially all hours that beer is offered for sale and the 

total monthly food sales for consumption in dining areas and 

other designated areas on the premises are not less than those 

shown:  

1. "Boat" (on-premises only). See subdivision B 1:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 
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2. "Restaurant." An establishment habitually selling food 

prepared on the premises:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

3. "Hotel." See subdivision B 3;:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

D. Mixed beverage licenses. The following shall apply to 

mixed beverage licenses where appropriate:  

1. "Bona fide, full-service restaurant." An established place 

of business where meals with substantial entrees are 

habitually sold to persons and which has adequate facilities 

and sufficient employees for cooking, preparing and 

serving such meals for consumption at tables in dining 

areas on the premises. In determining the qualifications of 

such restaurant, the board may consider the assortment of 

entrees and other food sold. Such restaurants shall include 

establishments specializing in full course meals with a 

single substantial entree.  

2. "Monetary sales requirements." The monthly sale of 

food prepared on the premises shall not be less than $4,000 

of which at least $2,000 shall be in the form of meals with 

entrees.  

3. "Dining area." A public room or area in which meals are 

regularly sold at substantially all hours that mixed 

beverages are offered for sale therein.  

4. "Outside terraces or patios." An outside terrace or patio, 

the location, equipment and facilities of which have been 

approved by the board may be approved as a "dining area" 

or as a "designated area" in the discretion of the board. A 

location adjacent to a public sidewalk, street or alley will 

not be approved where direct access is permitted from such 

sidewalk, street or alley by more than one well-defined 

entrance therefrom. The seating capacity of an outside 

terrace or patio if used regularly by those operations which 

are seasonal in nature, shall be included in determining 

eligibility qualifications. For purposes of this subdivision, 

the term "seasonal operations" is defined as an 

establishment that voluntarily surrenders its license to the 

board for part of its license year.  

5. "Tables and counters."  

a. A "table" shall include any article of furniture, fixture 

or counter generally having a flat top surface supported 

by legs, a pedestal or a solid base, designed to 

accommodate the serving of food and refreshments 

(though such food and refreshments need not necessarily 

be served together), and to provide seating for customers. 

If any table is located between two-backed benches, 

commonly known as a booth, at least one end of the 

structure shall be open permitting an unobstructed view 

therein. In no event, shall the number of individual seats 

at free standing tables and in booths be less than the 

number of individual seats at counters.  

b. This subdivision shall not be applicable to a room 

otherwise lawfully in use for private meetings and private 

parties limited in attendance to members and guests of a 

particular group.  

E. The board may grant a license to an establishment not 

meeting the qualifying figures in this section, provided the 

establishment otherwise is qualified under the applicable 

provisions of the Code of Virginia and this section, if it 

affirmatively appears that there is a substantial public demand 

for such an establishment and that the public convenience will 

be promoted by the issuance of the license.  

F. Notwithstanding the above, the board may issue a 

temporary license for any of the above retail operations. Such 

licenses may be issued only after application has been filed in 

accordance with § 4.1-230 of the Code of Virginia, and in 

cases where the sole objection to issuance of a license is that 

the establishment will not be qualified in terms of the sale of 

food or edible items. If a temporary license is issued, the 

board shall conduct an audit of the business after a reasonable 

period of operation not to exceed 180 days. Should the 

business be qualified, the license applied for may be issued. If 

the business is not qualified, the application will become the 

subject of a hearing if the applicant so desires. No further 

temporary license shall be issued to the applicant or to any 

other person with respect to the establishment for a period of 

one year from expiration and, once the application becomes 

the subject of a hearing, no temporary license may be issued.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3012; Filed April 30, 2013, 2:13 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations 

(amending 3VAC5-50-10, 3VAC5-50-20, 3VAC5-50-40, 

3VAC5-50-60, 3VAC5-50-100, 3VAC5-50-110, 3VAC5-50-

160).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 19, 2013. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 

2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone 

(804) 213-4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, 

or email curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board to promulgate reasonable 

regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of Title 4.1 

of the Code of Virginia or the general laws of the 

Commonwealth. Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia 

compels the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board to establish 

minimum food sale requirements for all retail licensees. 

Purpose: The board wishes to clarify the types of restaurants 

that are eligible for a wine and beer license, as well as those 

restaurants that qualify for a mixed beverage license. This 

proposal expands current statutory provisions for licensees 

(ability to read, write, speak, and understand the English 
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language) to managers. It further simplifies the regulation by 

describing the criminal offenses that disqualify an employee 

of the business rather than citing specific sections of the Code 

of Virginia. Finally, the proposal will expand a restaurant's 

ability to advertise the fact that drink specials are offered 

during specific times. 

Alcoholic beverage regulation is essential to protect the 

health, safety, and welfare of citizens by encouraging 

temperance and maintaining an orderly market. In 

promulgating regulations, the board must balance the need to 

protect the public safety with the legitimate interests of 

industry participants to be free of unnecessary restrictions. 

Each of the proposed amendments maintains essential public 

safety controls, while providing more flexibility for alcoholic 

beverage sellers. 

Substance: The proposed amendments are intended to provide 

the regulated industry a better understanding of the types of 

restaurants eligible for licensure and give further guidance 

concerning the responsibility of licensees in conducting and 

advertising happy hours. The amendments simplify the 

regulation by identifying the specific criminal conduct that 

disqualifies an individual as opposed to the section of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Issues: This proposed action will benefit the regulated 

community by clarifying the types of restaurants that are 

eligible for a wine and beer license, as well as those 

restaurants that qualify for a mixed beverage license. The 

proposed amendments expand current statutory provisions for 

licensees (ability to read, write, speak, and understand the 

English language) to managers. The industry will benefit 

from expanding a restaurant's ability to advertise drink 

specials offered during specific times. The public will be 

protected by continuing the limitation of any practice 

associated with happy hour, such as extending the time frame 

beyond 9 p.m. There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (ABC) proposes to amend 

its regulations to clarify existing provisions of regulation, 

change the dollar amount of food that must be sold at 

gourmet shops in order for them to be licensed by ABC and 

to prohibit licensees (in most cases) from allowing 

individuals under the age of 21 to possess alcohol on licensed 

premises. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for 

implementing these proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. With this regulatory action, 

ABC proposes to change or move several sections of 

regulation so that regulatory requirements are clearer and 

easier to find. For example, ABC proposes to remove Code of 

Virginia citations for crimes that would preclude employment 

in a position that involves the selling or serving of alcoholic 

beverages and instead list the actual crimes. No affected 

entity is likely to incur costs on account of these regulatory 

changes because no new requirements are being added. 

Affected entities will benefit from the additional clarity these 

changes bring to the regulation. 

Current regulations require gourmet shops that are licensed to 

sell alcohol to have at least $2,000 in monthly food sales. 

Several years ago, the General Assembly lowered the 

required amount for minimum monthly food sales for 

gourmet shops who are licensed by ABC to $1,000 per 

month. ABC has not enforced the $2,000 sales requirement 

since the General Assembly action and now seeks to amend 

regulations so they conform to the Code of Virginia (COV). 

No affected entity is likely to incur costs on account of this 

regulatory change because no new requirement is being 

added. Affected entities will benefit from the additional 

clarity of having the same rule in both the COV and 

regulations.  

Current regulations prohibit licensees from selling alcohol to 

anyone under the age of 21 and from allowing the 

consumption of alcohol on their licenses premises by anyone 

under the age of 21. ABC proposes to also prohibit the 

possession of alcohol on licensed premises by individuals 

under the legal drinking age except when such possession is 

by individuals in the process of fulfilling employment duties 

or is at the order of a parent or a law enforcement officer. 

This regulatory change will likely make it easier for law 

enforcement officers and ABC inspectors to cite licensees 

who are serving underage drinkers since these entities would 

no longer have to catch underage drinkers in the process of 

actually drinking alcohol in order to issue citations. To the 

extent that current regulations are ambiguous about what 

behavior is prohibited, licensees will benefit from the 

additional clarity that this proposed change brings. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. ABC reports that 12,000 

businesses would be potentially affected by this proposed 

regulatory change; 70% of these entities would meet the 

Commonwealth's definition of small business.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of this regulatory action.  
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Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board concurs with the 

economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) clarify the types of 

restaurants that are eligible for a wine and beer license 

and further distinguishes restaurants that are eligible for a 

mixed beverage license; (ii) expand the current statutory 

provisions for licensees (e.g., ability to read, write, speak, 

and understand the English language) to managers; (iii) 

add language prohibiting possession of alcoholic 

beverages except in certain specified situations by persons 

to whom such alcoholic beverage may not lawfully be sold; 

(iv) lower the dollar amount of food that must be sold at 

gourmet shops in order for them to be licensed from 

$2,000 to $1,000; (v) describe the specific criminal 

conduct that disqualifies an employee of a business rather 

than cite specific sections of the Code of Virginia; and (vi) 

expand a restaurant's ability to advertise that drink 

specials are offered during specific times, without allowing 

advertising of specific special prices. 

3VAC5-50-10. Restrictions upon sale, possession, and 

consumption of alcoholic beverages.  

A. Except as may be otherwise permitted under subdivisions 

1 through 5 subdivision 7 of § 4.1-200 of the Code of 

Virginia, no licensee shall sell any alcoholic beverage to a 

person whom he shall know, or have reason at the time to 

believe, is:  

1. Under the age of 21 years;  

2. Intoxicated; or  

3. An interdicted person.  

B. No licensee shall allow the possession or consumption of 

any alcoholic beverage upon his licensed premises by any 

person to whom such alcoholic beverage may not lawfully be 

sold under this section, except where possession of the 

alcoholic beverage by a person younger than 21 years of age 

is due to such person's making a delivery of alcoholic 

beverages in pursuance of his employment or an order of his 

parent, or by any state, federal, or local law-enforcement 

officer when possession of an alcoholic beverage is necessary 

in the performance of his duties.  

3VAC5-50-20. Determination of legal age of purchaser.  

A. In determining whether a licensee, or his employee or 

agent, has reason to believe that a purchaser is not of legal 

age, the board will consider, but is not limited to, the 

following factors:  

1. Whether an ordinary and prudent person would have 

reason to doubt that the purchaser is of legal age based on 

the general appearance, facial characteristics, behavior and 

manner of the purchaser; and  

2. Whether the seller demanded, was shown and acted in 

good faith in reliance upon bona fide evidence of legal age, 

as defined herein, and that evidence contained a 

photograph and physical description consistent with the 

appearance of the purchaser.  

B. Such bona fide evidence of legal age shall include a valid 

motor vehicle driver's license issued by any state of the 

United States or the District of Columbia, armed forces 

identification card, United States passport or foreign 

government visa, valid special identification card issued by 

the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, or any valid 

identification issued by any other federal or state government 

agency, excluding student university and college 

identification cards, provided such identification shall contain 

a photograph and signature of the subject, with the subject's 

height, weight and date of birth.  

C. It shall be incumbent upon the licensee, or his employee 

or agent, to scrutinize carefully the identification, if 

presented, and determine it to be authentic and in proper 

order. Identification which has been altered so as to be 

apparent to observation or has expired shall be deemed not in 

proper order.  
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3VAC5-50-40. Designated managers of licensees; 

appointment generally; disapproval by board; restrictions 

upon employment. 

A. Each retail licensee, except a licensed individual who is 

on the premises, shall have a designated manager able to 

understand and communicate in the English language in a 

reasonably satisfactory manner present and in actual charge 

of the business being conducted under the license at any time 

the licensed establishment is kept open for business, whether 

or not the privileges of the license are being exercised. The 

name of the designated manager of every retail licensee shall 

be kept posted in a conspicuous place in the establishment, in 

letters not less than one inch in size, during the time he is in 

charge. 

The posting of the name of a designated manager shall 

qualify such person to act in that capacity until disapproved 

by the board. 

B. The board reserves the right to disapprove any person as 

a designated manager if it shall have reasonable cause to 

believe that any cause exists which would justify the board in 

refusing to issue such person a license, or that such person 

has committed any act that would justify the board in 

suspending or revoking a license. 

Before disapproving a designated manager, the board shall 

accord him the same notice, opportunity to be heard, and 

follow the same administrative procedures accorded a 

licensee cited for a violation of Title 4.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

C. No licensee of the board shall knowingly permit a person 

under 21 years of age, nor one who has been disapproved by 

the board within the preceding 12 months, to act as 

designated manager of his business. 

D. Notwithstanding the provisions of § 4.1-225 (1) (i) of the 

Code of Virginia, the board will not take action to suspend or 

revoke a retail license if a licensee knowingly employs a 

person who has been convicted in any court of a felony or of 

any crime or offense involving moral turpitude, except in the 

following two categories: 

1. The board may suspend or revoke a license if a licensee 

knowingly employs in the business conducted under such 

license, as agent, servant, or employee, in a position that is 

involved in the selling or serving of alcoholic beverages to 

customers, any person who has been convicted of a felony 

violation of Articles 1 (§ 18.2-248 et seq.), 1.1 (§ 18.2-

265.1 et seq.), or 2 (§ 18.2-266 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of 

Title 18.2 the laws of the Commonwealth prohibiting the 

manufacture, sale, distribution, use, or possession of 

controlled substances, imitation controlled substances, 

counterfeit controlled substances, marijuana, or synthetic 

cannabinoids; driving under the influence of alcohol or 

other self-administered intoxicants; or a similar offense 

under the laws of any state, or the United States; or 

2. The board may suspend or revoke a license if a licensee 

knowingly employs in the business conducted under such 

license, as agent, servant, or employee, in a position that is 

involved in the creation or maintenance of records required 

to be kept by the licensee under the provisions of Title 4.1 

of the Code of Virginia or board regulations, or in the 

preparation or filing of any tax return or report required 

under Title 4.1 or Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia or 

board regulations, any person who has been convicted of a 

felony violation of Articles 2 (§ 18.2-89 et seq.), 3 (§ 18.2-

97.1 et seq.), 4 (§ 18.2-112.1 et seq.), or 7.1 (§ 18.2-152.2 

et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 18.2 or Articles 1 (§ 18.2-

172.2 et seq.), 3 (§ 18.2-178 et seq.), 4 (§ 18.2-182 et seq.), 

5 (§ 18.2-186 et seq.), 6 (§ 18.2-194 et seq.), or 9 (§ 18.2-

246.1 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 18.2 the laws of the 

Commonwealth prohibiting robbery, burglary, larceny, 

embezzlement, computer crimes, forgery, false pretenses, 

issuing bad checks, false representations to obtain property 

or credit, credit card forgery or fraud, or money laundering, 

or a similar offense under the laws of any state, or the 

United States. 

E. If a retail licensee wishes to employ a person whose 

employment would be covered by subdivisions D 1 or 2 of 

this section, or who has violated the laws of the 

Commonwealth, of any other state, or of the United States, 

applicable to the manufacture, transportation, possession, use 

or sale of alcoholic beverages, the licensee may apply to the 

board for approval of such employment. The board will cause 

the Bureau of Law Enforcement Operations to conduct an 

investigation into the suitability of the person for employment 

and recommend approval or disapproval. Before disapproving 

the employment of a person, the board shall accord him the 

same notice, opportunity to be heard, and follow the same 

administrative procedures accorded a licensee cited for a 

violation of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

3VAC5-50-60. Procedures for mixed beverage licensees 

generally; mixed beverage restaurant licensees; sales of 

spirits in closed containers.  

A. No mixed beverage restaurant or carrier licensee shall:  

1. Prepare, other than in frozen drink dispensers of types 

approved by the board drinks, or sell any mixed beverage 

except pursuant to a patron's order and immediately 

preceding delivery to him.  

2. Serve as one drink the entire contents of a container of 

spirits in its original container for on-premises 

consumption except as provided by subsections C, D, and 

E.  

3. Sell any mixed beverage to which alcohol has been 

added.  

B. No mixed beverage restaurant licensee shall:  

1. Allow to be kept upon the licensed premises any 

container of alcoholic beverages of a type authorized to be 

purchased under his license that does not bear the required 
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mixed beverage stamp imprinted with his license number 

and purchase report number.  

2. Use in the preparation of a mixed beverage any 

alcoholic beverage not purchased from the board or a 

wholesale wine licensee.  

3. Fail to obliterate the mixed beverage stamp immediately 

when any container of spirits is emptied.  

4. Allow any patron to possess more than two drinks of 

mixed beverages at any one time.  

C. If a restaurant for which a mixed beverage restaurant 

license has been issued under § 4.1-210 of the Code of 

Virginia is located on the premises of a hotel or motel, 

whether the hotel or motel be under the same or different 

ownership, sales of mixed beverages, including sales of 

spirits packaged in original closed containers purchased from 

the board, as well as other alcoholic beverages, for 

consumption in bedrooms and private rooms of such hotel or 

motel, may be made by the licensee subject to the following 

conditions in addition to other applicable laws:  

1. Spirits sold by the drink as mixed beverages or in 

original closed containers must have been purchased under 

the mixed beverage restaurant license upon purchase forms 

provided by the board;  

2. Delivery of sales of mixed beverages and spirits in 

original closed containers shall be made only in the 

bedroom of the registered guest or to the sponsoring group 

in the private room of a scheduled function. This section 

shall not be construed to prohibit a licensee catering a 

scheduled private function from delivering mixed beverage 

drinks to guests in attendance at such function;  

3. Receipts from the sale of mixed beverages and spirits 

sold in original closed containers, as well as other alcoholic 

beverages, shall be included in the gross receipts from 

sales of all such merchandise made by the licensee; and  

4. Complete and accurate records of sales of mixed 

beverages and sales of spirits in original closed containers 

to registered guests in bedrooms and to sponsors of 

scheduled private functions in private rooms shall be kept 

separate and apart from records of all mixed beverage 

sales.  

D. Carrier licensees may serve miniatures not in excess of 

two fluid ounces or 50 milliliters, in their original containers, 

for on-premises consumption.  

E. A mixed beverage restaurant may serve as one drink the 

entire contents of a container of soju in its original container 

for on-premises consumption under the following conditions:  

1. The container may be no larger than 375 milliliters.  

2. Each container of soju served must be served for 

consumption by at least two patrons legally eligible to 

consume alcoholic beverages.  

 

3VAC5-50-100. Definitions and qualifications for retail 

off-premises wine and beer licenses and off-premises beer 

licenses; exceptions; further conditions; temporary 

licenses. 

A. Retail off-premises wine and beer licenses may be issued 

to persons operating the following types of establishments 

provided the total monthly sales and inventory (cost) of the 

required commodities listed in the definitions are not less 

than those shown: 

1. "Delicatessen." An establishment which sells a variety 

of prepared foods or foods requiring little preparation such 

as cheeses, salads, cooked meats and related condiments: 

Monthly sales ......................................................... $2,000 

Inventory (cost) ....................................................... $2,000 

2. "Drugstore." An establishment selling medicines 

prepared by a registered pharmacist according to 

prescription and other medicines and articles of home and 

general use;  

Monthly sales .......................................................... $2,000 

Inventory (cost) ....................................................... $2,000 

3. "Grocery store." An establishment which sells edible 

items intended for human consumption, including a variety 

of staple foodstuffs used in the preparation of meals:  

Monthly sales .......................................................... $2,000 

Inventory (cost) ....................................................... $2,000 

4. "Convenience grocery store." An establishment which 

has an enclosed room in a permanent structure where stock 

is displayed and offered for sale, and which sells edible 

items intended for human consumption, consisting of a 

variety of such items of the type normally sold in grocery 

stores:  

Monthly sales .......................................................... $2,000 

Inventory (cost) ....................................................... $2,000 

In regard to both grocery stores and convenience grocery 

stores, "edible items" shall mean such items normally used 

in the preparation of meals, including liquids.  

5. "Gourmet shop." An establishment provided with 

adequate shelving and storage facilities which sell products 

such as cheeses and gourmet foods:  

Monthly sales ................................................. $2,000 $1,000 

Inventory (cost) .............................................. $2,000 $1,000 

B. Retail off-premises beer licenses may be issued to 

persons operating the following types of establishments 

provided the total monthly sales and inventory (cost) of the 

required commodities listed in the definitions are not less 

than those shown:  

1. "Delicatessen." An establishment as defined in 

subsection A:  

Monthly sales .......................................................... $1,000 

Inventory (cost) ....................................................... $1,000 
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2. "Drugstore." An establishment as defined in subsection 

A:  

Monthly sales.......................................................... $1,000 

Inventory (cost) ....................................................... $1,000 

3. "Grocery store." An establishment as defined in 

subsection A:  

Monthly sales.......................................................... $1,000 

Inventory (cost) ....................................................... $1,000 

4. "Marina store." An establishment operated by the owner 

of a marina which sells food and nautical and fishing 

supplies:  

Monthly sales.......................................................... $1,000 

Inventory (cost) ....................................................... $1,000 

C. The board may grant a license to an establishment not 

meeting the qualifying figures in subsections A and B 

provided it affirmatively appears that there is a substantial 

public demand for such an establishment and that public 

convenience will be promoted by the issuance of the license.  

D. The board in determining the eligibility of an 

establishment for a license shall give consideration to, but 

shall not be limited to, the following: 

1. The extent to which sales of required commodities are 

secondary or merely incidental to sales of all products sold 

in such establishment; 

2. The extent to which a variety of edible items of the types 

normally found in grocery stores are sold; and 

3. The extent to which such establishment is constructed, 

arranged or illuminated to allow reasonable observation of 

the age and sobriety of purchasers of alcoholic beverages. 

E. Notwithstanding the above, the board may issue a 

temporary license for any of the above retail operations. Such 

licenses may be issued only after application has been filed in 

accordance with § 4.1-230 of the Code of Virginia and in 

cases where the sole objection to issuance of a license is that 

the establishment will not be qualified in terms of the sale of 

food or edible items. If a temporary license is issued, the 

board shall conduct an audit of the business after a reasonable 

period of operation not to exceed 180 days. Should the 

business be qualified, the license applied for may be issued. If 

the business is not qualified, the application will become the 

subject of a hearing if the applicant so desires. No further 

temporary license shall be issued to the applicant or to any 

other person with respect to that establishment for a period of 

one year from the expiration and, once the application 

becomes the subject of a hearing, no temporary license may 

be issued. 

3VAC5-50-110. Definitions and qualifications for retail 

on-premises and on-premises and off-premises licenses 

generally; mixed beverage licensee requirements; 

exceptions; temporary licenses.  

A. The following definitions shall apply to retail licensees 

with on-premises consumption privileges and mixed beverage 

licensees where appropriate:  

1. "Bona fide, full-service restaurant" means an established 

place of business where meals are regularly sold to persons 

and that has adequate facilities and sufficient employees 

for cooking, preparing, and serving such meals for 

consumption at tables in dining areas on the premises. 

2. "Counter" means a long, narrow surface with stools or 

chairs along one side for the patrons, behind which 

refreshments or meals are prepared and served. 

1. "Designated area." A 3. "Designated area" means a room 

or an area in which a licensee may exercise the privilege of 

his license, the location, equipment and facilities of which 

room or area have been approved by the board. The 

facilities shall be such that patrons may purchase food 

prepared on the premises for consumption on the premises 

at substantially all times that alcoholic beverages are 

offered for sale therein. The seating capacity of such room 

or area shall be included in determining eligibility 

qualifications for a mixed beverage restaurant.  

2. "Dining car, buffet car or club car." A vehicle operated 

by a common carrier of passengers by rail, in interstate or 

intrastate commerce and in which food and refreshments 

are sold.  

3. "Meals." In determining what constitutes a "meal" as the 

term is used in this section, the board may consider the 

following factors, among others:  

a. The assortment of foods commonly offered for sale;  

b. The method and extent of preparation and service 

required; and  

c. The extent to which the food served would be 

considered a principal meal of the day as distinguished 

from a snack.   

4. "Habitual sales." In determining what constitutes 

"habitual sales" of specific foods, the board may consider 

the following factors, among others:  

a. The business hours observed as compared with similar 

type businesses;  

b. The extent to which such food or other merchandise is 

regularly sold; and  

c. Present and anticipated sales volume in such food or 

other merchandise.  

5. "Sale" and "sell." The definition of "sale" and "sell" as 

defined in 3VAC5-70-90 shall apply to this section.  

4. "Dining area" means a public room or area in which 

meals are regularly sold at substantially all hours that 

alcoholic beverages are offered for sale therein. 
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5. "Meal" means a selection of foods for one individual, 

served and eaten especially at one of the customary, 

regular occasions for taking food during the day, such as 

breakfast, lunch, or dinner, that consists of at least one 

main dish of meat, fish, poultry, legumes, nuts, seeds, 

eggs, or other protein sources, accompanied by vegetable, 

fruit, grain, or starch products. 

6. "Table" means an article of furniture supported by one 

or more vertical legs and having a flat horizontal surface 

suitable for the service of meals. 

B. Wine and beer. Retail on-premises or on-premises and 

off-premises licenses may be granted to persons operating the 

following types of establishments provided that meals or 

other foods are regularly sold at substantially all hours that 

wine and beer are offered for sale and the total monthly food 

sales for consumption in dining areas and other designated 

areas on the premises are not less than those shown:  

1. "Boat" (on premises only). A common carrier of 

passengers for which a certificate as a sight-seeing carrier 

by boat, or a special or charter party by boat has been 

issued by the State Corporation Commission, habitually 

serving food on the boat:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

2. "Restaurant." A bona fide dining establishment 

habitually regularly selling meals with entrees and other 

foods prepared on the premises:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

3. "Hotel." Any duly licensed establishment, provided with 

special space and accommodation, where, in consideration 

of payment, meals with entrees and other food prepared on 

the premises and lodging are habitually furnished to 

persons and which has four or more bedrooms:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

In regard to both restaurants and hotels, at least $1,000 of 

the required monthly sales must be in the form of meals 

with entrees.  

C. Beer. Retail on-premises or on-premises and off-premises 

licenses may be granted to persons operating the following 

types of establishments provided that food is regularly sold at 

substantially all hours that beer is offered for sale and the 

total monthly food sales for consumption in dining areas and 

other designated areas on the premises are not less than those 

shown:  

1. "Boat" (on-premises only). See subdivision B 1:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

2. "Restaurant." An establishment habitually regularly 

selling food prepared on the premises:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

3. "Hotel." See subdivision B 3;  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

D. Mixed beverage licenses. The following shall apply to 

mixed beverage licenses where appropriate: Mixed beverage 

restaurant licenses may be granted to persons operating bona 

fide, full-service restaurants. 

1. "Bona fide, full-service restaurant." An established place 

of business where meals with substantial entrees are 

habitually sold to persons and which has adequate facilities 

and sufficient employees for cooking, preparing and 

serving such meals for consumption at tables in dining 

areas on the premises. In determining the qualifications of 

such restaurant, the board may consider the assortment of 

entrees and other food sold. Such restaurants shall include 

establishments specializing in full course meals with a 

single substantial entree.  

2. "Monetary sales requirements." The monthly sale of 

food prepared on the premises shall not be less than $4,000 

of which at least $2,000 shall be in the form of meals with 

entrees.  

3. "Dining area." A public room or area in which meals are 

regularly sold at substantially all hours that mixed 

beverages are offered for sale therein.  

4. "Outside terraces or patios." An outside terrace or patio, 

the location, equipment and facilities of which have been 

approved by the board may be approved as a "dining area" 

or as a "designated area" in the discretion of the board. A 

location adjacent to a public sidewalk, street or alley will 

not be approved where direct access is permitted from such 

sidewalk, street or alley by more than one well-defined 

entrance therefrom. The seating capacity of an outside 

terrace or patio if used regularly by those operations which 

are seasonal in nature, shall be included in determining 

eligibility qualifications. For purposes of this subdivision, 

the term "seasonal operations" is defined as an 

establishment that voluntarily surrenders its license to the 

board for part of its license year.  

5. "Tables and counters."  

a. A "table" shall include any article of furniture, fixture 

or counter generally having a flat top surface supported 

by legs, a pedestal or a solid base, designed to 

accommodate the serving of food and refreshments 

(though such food and refreshments need not necessarily 

be served together), and to provide seating for customers. 

If any table is located between two-backed benches, 

commonly known as a booth, at least one end of the 

structure shall be open permitting an unobstructed view 

therein. In no event, shall the number of individual seats 

at free standing tables and in booths be less than the 

number of individual seats at counters.  

b. This subdivision shall not be applicable to a room 

otherwise lawfully in use for private meetings and private 

parties limited in attendance to members and guests of a 

particular group.  
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1. Service of food in a bona fide, full-service restaurant 

shall consist of taking a food order at the table, and serving 

the food to the table on plates or appropriate dinnerware, 

accompanied by appropriate tableware. The board may 

approve the issuance of a mixed beverage restaurant 

license to a buffet restaurant if (i) both alcoholic and 

nonalcoholic beverage service is provided at the table and 

(ii) actual sales show that the requirements of subdivision 

D 2 of this section are met. 

2. Monthly sales of food prepared on the premises of a 

mixed beverage restaurant licensee shall not be less than 

$4,000, of which at least $2,000 shall be in the form of 

meals. 

3. A mixed beverage restaurant licensee must have at least 

as many seats at tables as at counters. 

E. The board may grant a license to an establishment not 

meeting the qualifying figures in this section, provided the 

establishment otherwise is qualified under the applicable 

provisions of the Code of Virginia and this section, if it 

affirmatively appears that there is a substantial public demand 

for such an establishment and that the public convenience will 

be promoted by the issuance of the license.  

F. Notwithstanding the above, the board may issue a 

temporary license for any of the above retail operations. Such 

licenses may be issued only after application has been filed in 

accordance with § 4.1-230 of the Code of Virginia, and in 

cases where the sole objection to issuance of a license is that 

the establishment will not be qualified in terms of the sale of 

food or edible items. If a temporary license is issued, the 

board shall conduct an audit of the business after a reasonable 

period of operation not to exceed 180 days. Should the 

business be qualified, the license applied for may be issued. If 

the business is not qualified, the application will become the 

subject of a hearing if the applicant so desires. No further 

temporary license shall be issued to the applicant or to any 

other person with respect to the establishment for a period of 

one year from expiration and, once the application becomes 

the subject of a hearing, no temporary license may be issued. 

G. An outside terrace or patio, the location, equipment, and 

facilities of which have been approved by the board, may be 

approved as a "dining area" or as a "designated area" in the 

discretion of the board. 

H. Limited mixed beverage licenses may be granted to 

persons operating restaurants as defined in § 4.1-100 of the 

Code of Virginia, provided that food is regularly sold at 

substantially all hours that alcoholic beverages are offered for 

sale, and the total monthly food sales of food cooked or 

prepared on the premises for consumption in dining areas and 

other designated areas on the premises are not less than 

$2,000. 

 

3VAC5-50-160. Happy hour and related promotions; 

definitions; exceptions.  

A. Definitions:  

1. "Happy Hour." A specified period of time during which 

alcoholic beverages are sold at prices reduced from the 

customary price established by a retail licensee.  

2. "Drink." Any beverage containing the amount of 

alcoholic beverages customarily served to a patron as a 

single serving by a retail licensee.  

B. No retail licensee shall engage in any of the following 

practices:  

1. Conducting a happy hour between 9 p.m. of each day 

and 2 a.m. of the following day;  

2. Allowing a person to possess more than two drinks at 

any one time during a happy hour;  

3. Increasing the volume of alcoholic beverages contained 

in a drink without increasing proportionately the customary 

or established retail price charged for such drink;  

4. Selling two or more drinks for one price, such as "two 

for one" or "three for one";  

5. Selling pitchers of mixed beverages;  

6. Giving away drinks;  

7. Selling an unlimited number of drinks for one price, 

such as "all you can drink for $5.00"; or 

8. Advertising happy hour in the media or on the exterior 

anywhere other than within the interior of the licensed 

premises., except that a licensee may use the term "Happy 

Hour" or "Drink Specials" and the time period within 

which alcoholic beverages are being sold at reduced prices 

in any otherwise lawful advertisement; or 

9. Establishing a customary retail price for any drink at a 

markup over cost significantly less than that applied to 

other beverages of similar type, quality, or volume.  

C. This regulation shall not apply to prearranged private 

parties, functions, or events, not open to the public, where the 

guests thereof are served in a room or rooms designated and 

used exclusively for private parties, functions or events.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3239; Filed April 30, 2013, 2:15 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-60. Manufacturers and 

Wholesalers Operations (amending 3VAC5-60-20, 

3VAC5-60-50, 3VAC5-60-80; adding 3VAC5-60-25, 

3VAC5-60-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 19, 2013. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 
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2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone 

(804) 213-4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, 

or email curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board to promulgate regulations 

in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq.) and § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. Section 

4.1-111 authorizes the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board to 

promulgate reasonable regulations necessary to carry out the 

provisions of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia or the general 

laws of the Commonwealth. 

Purpose: The proposed regulatory action is necessary to allow 

for the filing of electronic reports, as well as creating a legal 

basis for wineries and farm wineries to file required reports 

and remit appropriate taxes. The proposal also allows more 

time for wholesalers to file copies of purchase orders and tax-

exempt sales, as well as permits the peddling of wine, which 

is currently allowed for beer. Finally, it provides greater 

latitude for distilled spirits representatives to market their 

products at retail trade shows. These proposals were made by 

various segments of the regulated community. 

Alcoholic beverage regulation is essential to protect the 

health, safety, and welfare of citizens by encouraging 

temperance and maintaining an orderly market. In 

promulgating regulations, the board must balance the need to 

protect the public safety with the legitimate interests of 

industry participants to be free of unnecessary restrictions. 

Each of the proposed amendments maintains essential public 

safety controls, while providing more flexibility for alcoholic 

beverage sellers. 

Substance: This regulation is amended to allow for the filing 

of electronic reports by wholesalers, wineries, and farm 

wineries. This proposal will also extend the time that 

wholesalers have to file purchase orders and tax-exempt 

invoices with the board and allow wine wholesalers to engage 

in the limited peddling of their product. Lastly, distilled 

spirits manufacturers will be allowed additional leeway in 

marketing their products at retail trade shows. 

Issues: Extending the time for providing monthly purchase 

orders and tax-exempt sales will benefit wholesalers. 

Removing the prohibition to the peddling (sell without a 

preorder) of wine benefits the regulated community by 

providing greater flexibility in marketing of products. Farm 

wineries, wineries, breweries, and wholesalers will benefit 

from the allowance of electronic filing of required reports. 

The amendments clarify that wineries, farm wineries, and 

breweries report sales and remit taxes. The regulated 

community will benefit from greater flexibility in marketing 

products at retail trade shows.  

There are no known disadvantages to the public, the agency, 

or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (ABC) proposes to amend 

its regulations to 1) allow required reports of sales to be filed 

monthly rather than weekly, 2) allow up to two cases of wine 

to be peddled to retailers during a scheduled delivery of other 

wine products that were preordered by the retailers, 3) allow 

electronic filing of required reports, 4) increase the size of 

spirits samples that may be given to mixed beverage licensees 

from 50 milliliters to 375 milliliters and 5) allow spirits 

manufacturers to rent booths, provide hospitality events and 

pay for advertising in brochures made for conventions, trade 

association meetings and similar gatherings. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for 

implementing these proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, ABC requires 

manufacturers and wholesalers to file sales reports weekly. 

ABC proposes to only require these reports to be filed 

monthly and to allow them to be filed electronically. These 

changes will likely benefit affected entities whose time spent 

filing reports will likely be cut considerably and who will also 

likely experience savings of money spent on copying and 

mailing reports as they will be allowed to send those reports 

electronically. 

Current regulations allow beer wholesalers to sell up to two 

extra cases of beer to a retailer at the time that they deliver 

product that retailer has already ordered. Wine wholesalers 

currently cannot make such spot sales of wine. ABC now 

proposes to allow wine wholesalers to follow the same rules 

that beer wholesalers do. This change will likely benefit wine 

wholesalers, who will no longer have to take extra last minute 

orders, and then have to make extra trips to fill those orders. 

This change will also likely benefit retailers who will be able 

to make last minute purchases on the spot to meet unexpected 

need in their establishments. 

Current regulations allow spirits manufacturers to give 

samples of up to 50 milliliters to mixed beverage licensees. 

ABC proposes to increase the allowable size of samples to 

375 milliliters so that mixed beverage licensees have a large 

enough sample to hold tastings for their employees 

(bartenders, servers, etc.). This change will likely benefit 

manufacturers as it will allow them greater flexibility in 

marketing their wares. Mixed beverage licensees will also 

benefit as they will be allowed to get larger samples so more 

of their staff will have a basis for recommending, or not 

recommending, purchase of the sampled product. 

Current regulations do not allow spirits manufacturers to rent 

space to have their spirits brands represented at conventions, 

trade association meetings and similar gatherings. ABC 

proposes to change these regulations so that affected 

manufacturers may rent display booths so long as they pay 

the same fee as any other exhibiter. Manufacturers may also 

provide their own separate hospitality events, purchase tickets 
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to functions and pay registration fees at the market rate and 

advertise in event brochures or programs so long as they do 

not pay advertising fees of more than $300 per year to any 

particular association or organization. This change will 

benefit spirits manufacturers by allowing them greater 

flexibility to market their wares in the manner that they think 

will be most profitable to them. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. ABC reports that 

approximately 15,000 businesses would be potentially 

affected by these proposed regulatory changes; 70% of these 

entities would meet the Commonwealth's definition of small 

business.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of this regulatory action.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board concurs with the 

economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) allow required reports of 

sales to be filed monthly rather than weekly; (ii) allow up 

to two cases of wine to be peddled to retailers during a 

scheduled delivery of other wine products that were 

preordered by the retailers; (iii) add provisions governing 

situations in which a brewery may manufacture beer 

bearing the brand name of another pursuant to a contract 

brewing arrangement; (iv) allow electronic filing of 

required reports; (v) increase the size of spirits samples 

that may be given to mixed beverage licensees from 50 

milliliters to 375 milliliters; and (vi) allow spirits 

manufacturers to rent booths, provide hospitality events, 

and pay for advertising in brochures made for conventions, 

trade association meetings, and similar gatherings. 

3VAC5-60-20. Wines; purchase orders generally; 

wholesale wine licensees.  

A. Purchases of wine between the board, licensees or 

persons outside the Commonwealth shall be executed only on 

order forms prescribed by the board and provided at cost if 

supplied by the department.  

B. Wholesale wine licensees shall comply with the 

following procedures:  

1. Purchase orders. A copy of each purchase order for wine 

and a copy of any change in such order shall be forwarded 

to the board by the wholesale wine licensee at the time the 

order is placed or changed. Upon receipt of shipment, one 

copy of such purchase order shall be forwarded to the 

board by the licensee reflecting accurately the date 

received and any changes. In lieu of forwarding copies of 

purchase orders to the board, a wholesale licensee may 

submit a report to the board weekly monthly, in a format 

approved by the board, of all purchase orders for the 

previous week month. The report covering the last week of 

any calendar month must be submitted to the board on or 

before the 5th 15th day of the succeeding month.  

2. Sales in the Commonwealth. Separate invoices shall be 

used for all nontaxed wine sales in the Commonwealth and 

a copy of each such invoice shall be furnished to the board 

upon completion of the sale. In lieu of forwarding copies 

of invoices to the board, a wholesale licensee may submit a 

report to the board weekly monthly, in a format approved 

by the board, of all invoices for the previous week month. 

The report covering the last week of any calendar month 

must be submitted to the board on or before the 5th 15th 

day of the succeeding month.  
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3. Out-of-state sales. Separate sales invoices shall be used 

for wine sold outside the Commonwealth and a copy of 

each such invoice shall be furnished to the board upon 

completion of the sale. In lieu of forwarding copies of 

invoices to the board, a wholesale licensee may submit a 

report to the board weekly monthly, in a format approved 

by the board, of all invoices for the previous week month. 

The report covering the last week of any calendar month 

must be submitted to the board on or before the 5th 15th 

day of the succeeding month.  

4. Peddling. Wine shall not A maximum of two cases or 24 

bottles of wine may be peddled to retail licensees during an 

invoiced delivery, provided that the wholesale wine 

licensee provides a revised purchase order indicating the 

additional wine peddled during the transaction. 

5. Repossession. Repossession of wine sold to a retailer 

shall be accomplished on forms prescribed by the board 

and provided at cost if supplied by the board, and in 

compliance with the instructions on the forms.  

6. Reports to the board. Each month wholesale wine 

licensees shall, on forms or an electronic system prescribed 

by the board and in accordance with the instructions set 

forth therein, report to the board the purchases and sales 

made during the preceding month, and the amount of state 

wine tax collected from retailers pursuant to §§ 4.1-234 

and 4.1-235 of the Code of Virginia. Each wholesale wine 

licensee shall on forms or an electronic system prescribed 

by the board on a quarterly basis indicate the quantity of 

wine on hand at the close of business on the last day of the 

last month of the preceding quarter based on actual 

physical inventory by brands. Reports shall be 

accompanied by remittance for the amount of taxes 

collected, less any refunds, replacements or adjustments 

and shall be postmarked or submitted electronically no 

later than the fifteenth 15th of the month, or if the fifteenth 

15th is not a business day, the next business day thereafter.  

3VAC5-60-25. Winery, farm winery, and brewery 

licenses; reports. 

On or before the 15th day of each month, each winery, farm 

winery, and brewery licensee shall, on forms or an electronic 

system prescribed by the board and in accordance with the 

instructions set forth therein, file a report with the board of 

sales made in the previous calendar month. Tax payment in 

accordance with § 4.1-234 or 4.1-236 of the Code of Virginia 

shall be made with the submission of this report. 

3VAC5-60-50. Records required of distillers, fruit 

distillers, winery licensees and farm winery licensees; 

procedures for distilling for another; farm wineries.  

A person holding a distiller's, fruit distiller's, winery or a 

farm winery license shall comply with the following 

procedures:  

1. Records. Complete and accurate records shall be kept at 

the licensee's place of business for a period of two years, 

which records shall be available during reasonable hours 

for inspection by any member of the board or its special 

agents. Such records shall include the following 

information:  

a. The amount in liters and alcoholic content of each type 

of alcoholic beverage manufactured during each calendar 

month;  

b. The amount of alcoholic beverages on hand at the end 

of each calendar month;  

c. Withdrawals of alcoholic beverages for sale to the 

board or licensees;  

d. Withdrawals of alcoholic beverages for shipment 

outside of the Commonwealth showing:  

(1) Name and address of consignee;  

(2) Date of shipment; and  

(3) Alcoholic content, brand name, type of beverage, size 

of container and quantity of shipment.  

e. Purchases of cider or wine including:  

(1) Date of purchase;  

(2) Name and address of vendor;  

(3) Amount of purchase in liters; and  

(4) Amount of consideration paid.  

f. A distiller or fruit distiller employed to distill any 

alcoholic beverage shall include in his records the name 

and address of his employer for such purpose, the amount 

of grain, fruit products or other substances delivered by 

such employer, the type, amount in liters and alcoholic 

content of alcoholic beverage distilled therefrom, the 

place where stored, and the date of the transaction.  

2. Distillation for another. A distiller or fruit distiller 

manufacturing spirits for another person shall:  

a. At all times during distillation keep segregated and 

identifiable the grain, fruit, fruit products or other 

substances furnished by the owner thereof;  

b. Keep the alcoholic beverages distilled for such person 

segregated in containers bearing the date of distillation, 

the name of the owner, the amount in liters, and the type 

and alcoholic content of each container; and  

c. Release the alcoholic beverages so distilled to the 

custody of the owner, or otherwise, only upon a written 

permit issued by the board.  

3. Farm wineries. A farm winery shall keep complete, 

accurate and separate records of fresh fruits or other 

agricultural products grown or produced elsewhere and 

obtained for the purpose of manufacturing wine. At least 

51% of the fresh fruits or agricultural products used by the 

farm winery to manufacture the wine shall be grown or 

produced on such farm. Each farm winery must comply 

with the provisions of § 4.1-219 of the Code of Virginia for 

its applicable class of winery license relating to production 

of fresh fruits or other agricultural products. As provided in 
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§ 4.1-219, the board, upon petition by the Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, may grant a waiver 

from the production requirements. 

3VAC5-60-80. Solicitation of mixed beverage licensees by 

representatives of manufacturers, etc., of spirits.  

A. Generally. This section applies to the solicitation, directly 

or indirectly, of a mixed beverage licensee to sell or offer for 

sale spirits. Solicitation of a mixed beverage licensee for such 

purpose other than by a permittee of the board and in the 

manner authorized by this section shall be prohibited.  

B. Permits.  

1. No person shall solicit a mixed beverage licensee unless 

he has been issued a permit. To obtain a permit, a person 

shall:  

a. Register with the board by filing an application on 

such forms as prescribed by the board;  

b. Pay in advance a fee of $300, which is subject to 

proration on a quarterly basis, pursuant to § 4.1-230 E of 

the Code of Virginia;  

c. Submit with the application a letter of authorization 

from the manufacturer, brand owner or its duly 

designated United States agent, of each specific brand or 

brands of spirits which the permittee is authorized to 

represent on behalf of the manufacturer or brand owner 

in the Commonwealth; and  

d. Be an individual at least 21 years of age.  

2. Each permit shall expire yearly on June 30, unless 

sooner suspended or revoked by the board.  

3. A permit hereunder shall authorize the permittee to 

solicit or promote only the brand or brands of spirits for 

which the permittee has been issued written authorization 

to represent on behalf of the manufacturer, brand owner, or 

its duly designated United States agent and provided that a 

letter of authorization from the manufacturer or brand 

owner to the permittee specifying the brand or brands he is 

authorized to represent shall be on file with the board. 

Until written authorization or a letter of authorization, in a 

form authorized by the board, is received and filed with the 

board for a particular brand or brands of spirits, there shall 

be no solicitation or promotion of such product by the 

permittee. Further, no amendment, withdrawal or 

revocation, in whole or in part, of a letter of authorization 

on file with the board shall be effective as against the 

board until written notice thereof is received and filed with 

the board; and, until the board receives notice thereof, the 

permittee shall be deemed to be the authorized 

representative of the manufacturer or brand owner for the 

brand or brands specified on the most current authorization 

on file with the board.  

C. Records. A permittee shall keep complete and accurate 

records of his solicitation of any mixed beverage licensee for 

a period of two years, reflecting all expenses incurred by him 

in connection with the solicitation of the sale of his 

employer's products and shall, upon request, furnish the board 

with a copy of such records.  

D. Permitted activities. Solicitation by a permittee shall be 

limited to his authorized brand or brands, may include 

contact, meetings with, or programs for the benefit of mixed 

beverage licensees and employees thereof on the licensed 

premises, and in conjunction with solicitation, a permittee 

may:  

1. Distribute directly or indirectly written educational 

material (one item per retailer and one item per employee, 

per visit) which may not be displayed on the licensed 

premises; distribute novelty and specialty items bearing 

spirits advertising not in excess of $10 in wholesale value 

(in quantities equal to the number of employees of the 

retail establishment present at the time the items are 

delivered); and provide film or video presentations of 

spirits which are essentially educational to licensees and 

their employees only, and not for display or viewing by 

customers;  

2. Provide to a mixed beverage licensee sample servings 

from containers of spirits and furnish one, unopened, 50 

milliliter sample container no larger than 375 milliliters of 

each brand being promoted by the permittee and not sold 

by the licensee; such containers and sample containers 

shall be purchased at a government store and bear the 

permittee's permit number and the word "sample" in 

reasonable sized lettering on the container or sample 

container label; further, the spirits container shall remain 

the property of the permittee and may not be left with the 

licensee and any 50 milliliter sample containers left with 

the licensee shall not be sold by the licensee;  

3. Promote their authorized brands of spirits at 

conventions, trade association meetings, or similar 

gatherings of organizations, a majority of whose 

membership consists of mixed beverage licensees or spirits 

representatives for the benefit of their members and guests, 

and shall be limited as follows:  

a. To sample servings from containers of spirits 

purchased from government stores when the spirits 

donated are intended for consumption during the 

gathering;  

b. To displays of spirits in closed containers bearing the 

word "sample" in lettering of reasonable size and 

informational signs provided such merchandise is not 

sold or given away except as permitted in this section;  

c. To distribution of informational brochures, pamphlets 

and the like, relating to spirits;  

d. To distribution of novelty and specialty items bearing 

spirits advertising not in excess of $10 in wholesale 

value; and  

e. To film or video presentations of spirits which are 

essentially educational;  
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f. To display at the event the brands being promoted by 

the permittee; 

g. To rent display booth space if the rental fee is the same 

as paid by all exhibitors at the event; 

h. To provide its own hospitality, which is independent 

from activities sponsored by the association or 

organization holding the event; 

i. To purchase tickets to functions and pay registration 

fees if the payments or fees are the same as paid by all 

attendees, participants, or exhibitors at the event; and 

j. To make payments for advertisements in programs or 

brochures issued by the association or organization 

holding the event if the total payments made for all such 

advertisements do not exceed $300 per year for any 

association or organization holding the event; or 

4. Provide or offer to provide point-of-sale advertising 

material to licensees as provided in 3VAC5-20-20 or 

3VAC5-30-80.  

E. Prohibited activities. A permittee shall not:  

1. Sell spirits to any licensee, solicit or receive orders for 

spirits from any licensee, provide or offer to provide cash 

discounts or cash rebates to any licensee, or to negotiate 

any contract or contract terms for the sale of spirits with a 

licensee;  

2. Discount or offer to discount any merchandise or other 

alcoholic beverages as an inducement to sell or offer to sell 

spirits to licensees;  

3. Provide or offer to provide gifts, entertainment or other 

forms of gratuity to licensees except that a permittee may 

provide a licensee "routine business entertainment," as 

defined in 3VAC5-30-70, subject to the same conditions 

and limitations that apply to wholesalers and 

manufacturers under that section;  

4. Provide or offer to provide any equipment, furniture, 

fixtures, property or other thing of value to licensees 

except as permitted by this regulation;  

5. Purchase or deliver spirits or other alcoholic beverages 

for or to licensees or provide any services as inducements 

to licensees, except that this provision shall not preclude 

the sale or delivery of wine or beer by a licensed 

wholesaler;  

6. Be employed directly or indirectly in the manufacturing, 

bottling, importing or wholesaling of spirits and 

simultaneously be employed by a retail licensee;  

7. Solicit licensees on any premises other than on their 

licensed premises or at conventions, trade association 

meetings or similar gatherings as permitted in subdivision 

D 3 of this section;  

8. Solicit or promote any brand or brands of spirits without 

having on file with the board a letter from the manufacturer 

or brand owner authorizing the permittee to represent such 

brand or brands in the Commonwealth; or  

9. Engage in solicitation of spirits other than as authorized 

by law.  

F. Refusal, suspension or revocation of permits.  

1. The board may refuse, suspend or revoke a permit if it 

shall have reasonable cause to believe that any cause exists 

which would justify the board in refusing to issue such 

person a license, or that such person has violated any 

provision of this section or committed any other act that 

would justify the board in suspending or revoking a 

license.  

2. Before refusing, suspending or revoking such permit, the 

board shall follow the same administrative procedures 

accorded an applicant or licensee under Title 4.1 of the 

Code of Virginia and regulations of the board.  

3VAC5-60-110. Contract brewing arrangements. 

A licensed brewery may manufacture beer bearing the brand 

of another not under common control with the manufacturing 

brewery, and sell and deliver the beer so manufactured to the 

brand owner, provided that (i) the brand owner is 

appropriately licensed as a brewery or beer wholesaler; (ii) 

the manufacturing is pursuant to a written agreement between 

the parties; and (iii) complete records of all beer 

manufactured, sold, and delivered pursuant to the agreement 

are maintained by both parties. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3240; Filed April 30, 2013, 2:16 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-70. Other Provisions 

(amending 3VAC5-70-90, 3VAC5-70-100, 3VAC5-70-150, 

3VAC5-70-210, 3VAC5-70-220).  

Statutory Authority: § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia 

(3VAC5-70-90, 3VAC5-70-100, 3VAC5-70-150, 3VAC5-

70-220). 

§§ 4.1-111 and 4.1-227 of the Code of Virginia (3VAC5-70-

210). 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 19, 2013. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 

2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone 

(804) 213-4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, 

or email curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia provides that 

the board has the power to control the possession, 

transportation, sale, and delivery of alcoholic beverages. 

Section 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board 

to promulgate reasonable regulations necessary to carry out 

the provisions of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia or the 

general laws of the Commonwealth. 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed regulatory action is to 

(i) extend the amount of time that a banquet and special event 

licensee has to report its income and expenses to the board 
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from 30 days to 90 days after the event, (ii) clarify which 

alcoholic beverage producers may give samples at a 

hospitality room and at conventions/trade shows, (iii) clarify 

price discrimination by moving the pertinent parts of the 

regulation regarding sales of alcoholic beverages by 

wholesalers to retailers to 3VAC5-90 (Tied House), (iv) 

codify board interpretation that each licensed location is 

considered a separate location with regard to reduced 

penalties for first time offenses, (v) allow for electronic filing 

of reports by wine and beer shippers, and (vi) allow licensees 

to store records off site.  

Alcoholic beverage regulation is essential to protect the 

health, safety, and welfare of citizens by encouraging 

temperance and maintaining an orderly market. In 

promulgating regulations, the board must balance the need to 

protect the public safety with the legitimate interests of 

industry participants to be free of unnecessary restrictions. 

Each of the proposed amendments maintains essential public 

safety controls, while providing more flexibility for alcoholic 

beverage sellers. 

Substance: The proposed amendments establish clearer 

guidelines on which alcoholic beverage producers may 

engage in certain activities and incorporate current board 

interpretation that each licensed location is a separate entity 

for the purpose of taking advantage of reduced penalties for a 

first offense. Other proposed amendments clarify price 

discrimination issues and provide some members of the 

regulated community extended time to file legislatively 

mandated reports or an ability to file such reports 

electronically. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public associated with 

the proposed regulatory action include relaxed deadlines for 

monthly tax filing by wholesalers and manufacturers and 

clarity in the application of regulations to provide leniency to 

first time offenders. There are no disadvantages to the public 

or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (ABC) proposes to amend 

its regulations to 1) allow licensees to store records off-site, 

2) allow banquet and special event licensees 90 days to file 

required reports, 3) add importers, bottlers, brokers and 

wholesalers to the list of licensees who are permitted to host 

events at, and donate their products to, conventions or 

educational events, 4) clarify that each establishment is 

considered a separate licensee even in cases where one entity 

owns multiple establishments and 5) allow licensees to file 

required monthly activity reports electronically. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for 

implementing all proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, ABC requires 

licensees to have records available for its agents to examine at 

any time between the hours of 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. and to provide 

records for examination within 24 hours if ABC requests 

them during any other times. ABC now proposes to amend 

this requirement so that licensees may store records off 

premises so long as they are electronically viewable during 

the hours set forth in current regulation. Licensees will likely 

benefit from this change as it allows them greater flexibility 

as to how and where they store records. 

Current regulations require banquet and special event 

licensees to file reports with ABC no later than 30 days after 

their licensed event. ABC proposes to extend that time frame 

to 90 days. Licensees will benefit from having the extra time 

to file their reports. ABC does not believe that allowing more 

time to file reports will harm any affected entity so benefits 

likely outweigh costs for this proposed change. 

Current regulations allow beer and wine manufacturers to 

take certain actions during conventions, trade association 

gatherings and alcohol educational programs such as tastings 

or research activities. They may, for instance, host an event 

at, and/or donate alcoholic beverages to, such gatherings. 

ABC now proposes to allow alcoholic beverage importers, 

bottlers, brokers and wholesalers to also host events or donate 

alcoholic beverages as manufacturers do. Affected licensees 

will benefit from increased freedom to take part in activities 

that may result in greater name recognition and, presumably, 

greater future income for their businesses. 

Current regulations allow lesser penalties for first time 

offences that are committed by any licensee but are silent as 

how this applies to individuals or business entities who own 

more than one business where alcohol beverages are sold. 

ABC proposes to add language that specifies that each 

business location counts as a separate licensee for the 

purposes of determining penalties. ABC representatives 

report that this language change reflects how current 

regulations are already enforced but adding this language to 

regulation will bring the benefit of added clarity for affected 

entities.  

Current regulations require shipper and retailer licensees to 

file monthly activity reports. ABC proposes to specify that 

reports may be filed electronically or in paper form. This 

change will allow licensee greater flexibility in how they 

meet their regulatory requirements and may slightly lower 

their reporting costs (copying costs and postage) if they have 

the capacity to file reports electronically. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. ABC reports that 

approximately 15,000 businesses would be potentially 

affected by these proposed regulatory changes; 70% of these 

entities would meet the Commonwealth's definition of small 

business.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of this regulatory action.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board concurs with the 

economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The Alcoholic Beverage Control Board proposes to amend 

its regulations to (i) allow licensees to store records off 

site; (ii) allow banquet and special event licensees 90 days 

to file required reports; (iii) add importers, bottlers, 

brokers, and wholesalers to the list of licensees who are 

permitted to host events at and donate their products to 

conventions or educational events; (iv) clarify that each 

establishment is considered a separate licensee even in 

cases where one entity owns multiple establishments; and 

(v) allow licensees to file required monthly activity reports 

electronically. 

3VAC5-70-90. Records to be kept by licensees generally; 

additional requirements for certain retailers; "sale" and 

"sell" defined; gross receipts; reports.  

A. All licensees shall keep complete, accurate and separate 

records at the licensee's place of business for a period of two 

years. The records shall be available for inspection and 

copying by any member of the board or its special agents 

during reasonable hours. Licensees may use microfilm, 

microfiche, disks, or other available technologies for the 

storage of their records, and may store them off site, provided 

the records so stored are readily subject to retrieval and made 

available for viewing on a screen or in hard copy by the board 

or its special agents at the licensed premises between the 

hours of 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. At any other time of day, if the 

licensee's records are not available for inspection, the licensee 

shall provide the records to a special agent of the board within 

24 hours after a request is made to inspect the records.  

The board and its special agents shall be allowed free access 

during reasonable hours to every place in the Commonwealth 

where alcoholic beverages are manufactured, bottled, stored, 

offered for sale or sold, for the purpose of examining and 

inspecting all records, invoices and accounts therein.  

"Reasonable hours" shall be deemed to include all business 

hours of operation and any other time at which there exists 

any indication of activity upon the licensed premises.  

B. All licensed manufacturers, bottlers or wholesalers of 

alcoholic beverages shall keep a complete, accurate and 

separate record of all alcoholic beverages manufactured, 

bottled, purchased, sold or shipped by him. Such records shall 

show the quantities of all such alcoholic beverages 

manufactured, bottled, purchased, sold or shipped by him; the 

dates of all sales, purchases, deliveries or shipments; the 

names and addresses of all persons to or from whom such 

sales, purchases, deliveries or shipments are made; the 

quantities and kinds of alcoholic beverages sold and delivered 

or shipped and the prices charged therefor and the taxes 

applicable thereto, if any. Every manufacturer and 

wholesaler, at the time of delivering alcoholic beverages to 

any person, shall also prepare a duplicate invoice showing the 

date of delivery, the quantity and value of each delivery and 

the name of the purchaser to whom the delivery is made.  

C. Every retail licensee shall keep complete, accurate and 

separate records, including invoices, of the purchases and 

sales of alcoholic beverages, food and other merchandise. The 

records of alcoholic beverages shall be kept separate and 

apart from other records and shall include all purchases 

thereof, the dates of such purchases, the kinds and quantities 

of alcoholic beverages purchased, the prices charged therefor 

and the names and addresses of the persons from whom 

purchased.  

Additionally, each retail licensee shall keep accurate 

accounts of daily sales, showing quantities of alcoholic 

beverages, food, and other merchandising sold and the prices 

charged therefor.  
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D. In addition to the requirements of subsections A and C of 

this section, mixed beverage restaurant licensees shall keep 

records of all alcoholic beverages purchased for sale as mixed 

beverages and records of all mixed beverage sales. The 

following actions shall also be taken:  

1. On delivery of a mixed beverage restaurant license by 

the board, the licensee shall furnish to the board or its 

special agents a complete and accurate inventory of all 

alcoholic beverages currently held in inventory on the 

premises by the licensee; and  

2. Once a year, each licensee shall submit on prescribed 

forms to the board an annual review report. The report is 

due within 30 days after the end of the mixed beverage 

license year and shall include:  

a. A complete and accurate inventory of all alcoholic 

beverages purchased for sale as mixed beverages and 

held in inventory at the close of business at the end of the 

annual review period;  

b. An accounting of the annual purchases of food, 

nonalcoholic beverages and alcoholic beverages, 

including alcoholic beverages purchased for sale as 

mixed beverages, and miscellaneous items; and  

c. An accounting of the monthly and annual sales of all 

merchandise specified in subdivision 2 b of this 

subsection.  

E. The terms "sale" and "sell" shall include exchange, barter 

or traffic, or delivery made otherwise than gratuitously, by 

any means whatsoever, of mixed beverages and other 

alcoholic beverages, and of meals or food.  

F. In determining "gross receipts from the sale of food" for 

the purposes of § 4.1-210 of the Code of Virginia, a licensee 

shall not include any receipts for food for which there was no 

sale, as defined in this section. Food which is available at an 

unwritten, non-separate charge to patrons or employees 

during Happy Hours, private social gatherings, promotional 

events, or at any other time, shall not be included in the gross 

receipts. Food shall include hors d'oeuvres.  

If in conducting its review pursuant to § 4.1-114 of the Code 

of Virginia, the board determines that the licensee has failed 

or refused to keep complete and accurate records of the 

amounts of mixed beverages or other alcoholic beverages 

sold at regular prices, as well as at all various reduced and 

increased prices offered by the licensee, the board may 

calculate the number of mixed drinks and other alcoholic 

beverage drinks sold, as determined from purchase records, 

and presume that such sales were made at the highest posted 

menu prices for such merchandise.  

G. Any changes in the officers, directors or shareholders 

owning 10% or more of the outstanding capital stock of a 

corporation shall be reported to the board within 30 days; 

provided, however, that corporations or their wholly owned 

subsidiaries whose corporate common stock is publicly traded 

and owned shall not be required to report changes in 

shareholders owning 10% or more of the outstanding capital 

stock.  

H. All banquet and special event licensees in charge of 

public events shall report to the board the income and 

expenses associated with the public event on a form 

prescribed by the board when the licensee engages another 

person to organize, conduct or operate the event on behalf of 

the licensee. Reports shall be made within 30 90 days after 

the date of each event. "Public events" shall be deemed to 

include any event at which alcoholic beverages are sold to the 

general public and not only to personally invited guests.  

All applicants for banquet or special event licenses shall 

indicate at the time of application whether the event is open to 

the public and whether another person has been or will be 

engaged to organize, conduct or operate the event on behalf 

of the licensee. If the applicant indicates that the event is open 

to the public and another person has been or will be engaged 

to organize, conduct or operate the event on behalf of the 

licensee, the applicant shall attach a copy of any contract 

between the applicant and such other person to the license 

application.  

3VAC5-70-100. Gifts of alcoholic beverages generally; 

exceptions; wine and beer tastings; taxes and records.  

A. Gifts of alcoholic beverages by a licensee to any other 

person are prohibited except as otherwise provided in this 

section or as provided in §§ 4.1-119 G, 4.1-201, 4.1-201.1, 

4.1-205, 4.1-209, 4.1-325, and 4.1-325.2 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

B. Gifts of alcoholic beverages may be made by licensees as 

follows:  

1. Personal friends. Gifts may be made to personal friends 

as a matter of normal social intercourse when in no wise a 

shift or device to evade the provisions of this section.  

2. Samples. A wholesaler may give a retail licensee a 

sample serving or a container not then sold by such 

licensee of wine or beer, which such wholesaler otherwise 

may sell to such retail licensee, provided that in a the case 

of containers, the container does not exceed 52 fluid 

ounces in size (1.5 liters if in a metric-sized container) and 

the label bears the word "Sample" in lettering of 

reasonable size. Such samples may not be sold. For good 

cause shown the board may authorize a larger sample 

container.  

3. Hospitality rooms; conventions. A person licensed to 

manufacture wine or beer may The following activities are 

permitted:  

a. Give A brewer or vintner may give samples of his 

products to visitors to his winery or brewery for 

consumption on premises only in a hospitality room 

approved by the board, provided the donees are persons 

to whom such products may be lawfully sold; and  

b. Host A manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler may host an event at conventions of national, 
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regional or interstate associations or foundations 

organized and operated exclusively for religious, 

charitable, scientific, literary, civil affairs, educational or 

national purposes upon the premises occupied by such 

licensee, or upon property of the licensee contiguous to 

such premises, or in a development contiguous to such 

premises, owned and operated by the licensee or a wholly 

owned subsidiary.  

4. Conventions; educational programs, including wine and 

beer alcoholic beverage tastings; research; licensee 

associations. Licensed manufacturers Manufacturers, 

importers, bottlers, brokers, and wholesalers may donate 

beer or wines alcoholic beverages to:  

a. A convention, trade association or similar gathering, 

composed of licensees and their guests, when the 

alcoholic beverages donated are intended for 

consumption during the convention;  

b. Retail licensees attending a bona fide educational 

program relating to the alcoholic beverages being given 

away;  

c. Research departments of educational institutions, or 

alcoholic research centers, for the purpose of scientific 

research on alcoholism;  

d. Licensed manufacturers and wholesalers may donate 

wine to official Official associations of wholesale wine 

licensees alcoholic beverage industry members when 

conducting a bona fide educational program concerning 

wine alcoholic beverages, with no promotion of a 

particular brand, for members and guests of particular 

groups, associations, or organizations.  

5. Conditions. Exceptions authorized by subdivisions 3 b 

and 4 of this subsection are conditioned upon the 

following:  

a. That prior written notice of the activity be submitted to 

the board describing it and giving the date, time and 

place of such; and  

b. That the activity be conducted in a room or rooms set 

aside for that purpose and be adequately supervised.  

C. Wine and beer wholesalers may participate in a wine or 

beer tasting sponsored by a gourmet shop licensee for its 

customers and may provide educational material, oral or 

written, pertaining thereto, as well as participate in the 

pouring of such wine or beer.  

D. Any gift authorized by this section shall be subject to the 

taxes imposed on sales by Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

and complete and accurate records shall be maintained.  

3VAC5-70-150. Wholesale alcoholic beverage sales; 

winery and brewery discounts, price-fixing; price 

increases; price discrimination; inducements.  

A. No winery as defined in § 4.1-401 or brewery as defined 

in § 4.1-500 of the Code of Virginia shall require a wholesale 

licensee to discount the price at which the wholesaler shall 

sell any alcoholic beverage to persons holding licenses 

authorizing sale of such merchandise at retail. No winery, 

brewery, bottler or wine or beer importer shall in any other 

way fix or maintain the price at which a wholesaler shall sell 

any alcoholic beverage.  

B. No winery as defined in § 4.1-401 or brewery as defined 

in § 4.1-500 of the Code of Virginia shall increase the price 

charged any person holding a wholesale license for alcoholic 

beverages except by written notice to the wholesaler signed 

by an authorized officer or agent of the winery, brewery, 

bottler or importer which shall contain the amount and 

effective date of the increase.  

No increase shall take effect prior to 30 calendar days 

following the date on which the notice is postmarked; 

provided that the board may authorize such price increases to 

take effect with less than the aforesaid 30 calendar days' 

notice if a winery, brewery, bottler or importer so requests 

and demonstrates good cause therefor.  

The provisions of this subsection shall not apply in any case 

where the importer required to provide notice of a price 

increase and the wholesaler to whom notice is to be provided 

are the same person.  

C. No winery as defined in § 4.1-401 or brewery as defined 

in § 4.1-500 of the Code of Virginia shall discriminate in 

price of alcoholic beverages between different wholesale 

purchasers and no wholesale wine or beer licensee shall 

discriminate in price of alcoholic beverages between different 

retail purchasers except where the difference in price charged 

by such winery, or brewery or wholesale licensee is due to a 

bona fide difference in the cost of sale or delivery, or where a 

lower price was charged in good faith to meet an equally low 

price charged by a competing winery, or brewery or 

wholesaler on a brand and package of like grade and quality. 

Where such difference in price charged to any such 

wholesaler or retail purchaser does occur, the board may ask 

and the winery, or brewery or wholesaler shall furnish written 

substantiation for the price difference.  

D. No person holding a license authorizing the sale of 

alcoholic beverages at wholesale or retail shall knowingly 

induce or receive a discrimination in price prohibited by 

subsection C of this section.  

3VAC5-70-210. Schedule of penalties for first-offense 

violations. 

A. Any licensee charged with any violation of board 

regulations or statutes listed below, if the licensee has no 

other pending charges and has not had any substantiated 

violations of regulation or statute within the three years 

immediately preceding the date of the violation, may enter a 

written waiver of hearing and (i) accept the period of license 

suspension set forth below for the violation, or (ii) pay the 

civil charge set forth below for the violation in lieu of 

suspension. In the case of a violation involving the sale of 

beer, wine, or mixed beverages to a person at least 18 but 

under 21 years of age, or to an intoxicated person, or allowing 
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consumption of such beverages by such person, any retail 

licensee that can demonstrate that it provided alcohol 

seller/server training certified in advance by the board to the 

employee responsible for such violation within the 12 months 

immediately preceding the alleged violation may accept the 

lesser period of license suspension or pay the lesser civil 

charge listed below for the violation in lieu of suspension. 

Any notice of hearing served on a licensee for a violation 

covered by this section shall contain a notice of the licensee's 

options under this section. Any licensee who fails to notify 

the board of its intent to exercise one of the options provided 

for under this section within 20 days after the date of mailing 

of the notice of hearing shall be deemed to have waived the 

right to exercise such options and the case shall proceed to 

hearing. For good cause shown, the board may, in its 

discretion, allow a licensee to exercise the options provided 

for under this section beyond the 20-day period. 

 

VIOLATION SUSPENSION 
CIVIL 

CHARGE 

SUSPENSION 

WITH 

CERTIFIED 

TRAINING 

CIVIL 

CHARGE 

WITH 

CERTIFIED 

TRAINING 

Sale of beer, wine or mixed beverages to a 

person at least 18 but under 21 years of age. 

25 days $2,000 5 days $1,000 

Allowing consumption of beer, wine, or 

mixed beverages by a person at least 18 but 

under 21 years of age. 

25 days $2,000 5 days $1,000 

Aiding and abetting the purchase of alcoholic 

beverages by a person at least 18 but under 21 

years of age. 

10 days $1,000     

Keeping unauthorized alcoholic beverages on 

the premises, upon which appropriate taxes 

have been paid. 

7 days $500     

Allow an intoxicated person to loiter on the 

premises. 

7 days $500     

Sale to an intoxicated person. 25 days $2,000 5 days $1,000 

Allow consumption by an intoxicated person. 25 days $2,000 5 days $1,000 

After hours sales or consumption of alcoholic 

beverages. 

10 days $1,000     

No designated manager on premises. 7 days $500     

Invalid check to wholesaler or board. 7 days $250     

Inadequate illumination. 7 days $500     

ABC license not posted. 7 days $500     

Not timely submitting report required by 

statute or regulation. 

7 days $500     

Designated manager not posted. 7 days $500     

Person less than 18 serving alcoholic 

beverages; less than 21 acting as bartender. 

7 days $500     

Sale of alcoholic beverages in unauthorized 

place or manner. 

10 days $1,000     

Consumption of alcoholic beverages in 

unauthorized area. 

7 days $500     
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Removal of alcoholic beverages from 

authorized area. 

7 days $500     

Failure to obliterate mixed beverage stamps. 7 days $500     

Employee on duty consuming alcoholic 

beverages. 

7 days $500     

Conducting illegal happy hour. 7 days $500     

Illegally advertising happy hour. 7 days $500     

Unauthorized advertising. 7 days $500     

Failure to remit state beer/wine tax (if 

deficiency has been corrected). 

10 days $1,000     

Wholesaler sale of wine/beer in unauthorized 

manner. 

10 days $1,000     

Wholesaler sale of wine/beer to unauthorized 

person. 

10 days $1,000     

B. For purposes of this section, the Virginia Department of 

Alcoholic Beverage Control will certify alcohol seller/server 

training courses that provide instruction on all the topics 

listed on the Seller/Server Training Evaluation form. The 

following steps should be completed to submit a training 

program for approval: 

1. Complete the Alcohol Seller/Server Training Data Sheet 

and review the Seller/Server Training Evaluation form to 

make sure the program will meet the listed criteria; and 

2. Submit the Alcohol Seller/Server Training Data Sheet 

and a copy of the proposed training program materials for 

review. Materials submitted should include copies of any 

lesson plans and instructional materials used in the training 

program. 

Requests for certification of training courses should be sent 

to: 

Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Education Section 

P. O. Box 27491 

Richmond, VA 23261 

Email correspondences: education@abc.virginia.gov 

Persons in charge of any certified alcohol server training 

course shall maintain complete records of all training classes 

conducted, including the date and location of each class, and 

the identity of all those successfully completing the course. 

C. For a licensee that operates more than one retail 

establishment, each such establishment shall be considered a 

separate licensee for the purpose of this section. 

3VAC5-70-220. Wine or beer shipper's licenses and 

Internet wine retailer licenses; application process; 

common carriers; records and reports. 

A. Any person or entity qualified for a wine shipper's license 

or beer shipper's license pursuant to § 4.1-209.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, or an Internet wine retailer license pursuant to 

subdivision 6 of § 4.1-207 of the Code of Virginia, must 

apply for such license by submitting form 805-52, 

Application for License. In addition to the application, each 

applicant shall submit as attachments a list of all brands of 

wine or beer sought to be shipped by the applicant, along with 

the board-assigned code numbers for each brand or a copy of 

the label approval by the appropriate federal agency for any 

brand not previously approved for sale in Virginia pursuant to 

3VAC5-40-20 or 3VAC5-40-50 that will be sold only 

through direct shipment to consumers. 

If the applicant is not also the brand owner of the brands 

listed in the application, the applicant shall obtain and submit 

with the application a dated letter identifying each brand, 

from the brand owner or any wholesale distributor authorized 

to distribute the brand, addressed to the Supervisor, Tax 

Management Section, Virginia Department of Alcoholic 

Beverage Control, indicating the brand owner's or wholesale 

distributor's consent to the applicant's shipping the brand to 

Virginia consumers. 

The applicant shall attach (i) a photocopy of its current 

license as a winery, farm winery, brewery, or alcoholic 

beverage retailer issued by the appropriate authority for the 

location from which shipments will be made and (ii) evidence 

of the applicant's registration with the Virginia Department of 

Taxation for the collection of Virginia retail sales tax. 

B. Any brewery, winery or farm winery that applies for a 

shipper's license or consents to the application by any other 

person, other than a retail off-premises licensee, for a license 

to ship such brewery's, winery's or farm winery's brands of 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 20, 2013 

2287 

wine or beer shall notify all wholesale licensees that have 

been authorized to distribute such brands in Virginia that an 

application for a shipper's license has been filed. Such 

notification shall be by a dated letter to each such wholesale 

licensee, setting forth the brands that wholesaler has been 

authorized to distribute in Virginia for which a shipper's 

license has been applied. A copy of each such letter shall be 

forwarded to the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, by 

the brewery, winery, or farm winery. 

C. Any holder of a wine or beer shipper's license or Internet 

wine retailer's license may add or delete brands to be shipped 

by letter to the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, 

designating the brands to be added or deleted. Any letter 

adding brands shall be accompanied by any appropriate 

brand-owner consents or notices to wholesalers as required 

with an original application. 

D. Any brand owner that consents to a holder of a wine 

shipper's license, beer shipper's license, or Internet wine 

retailer's license shipping its brands to Virginia consumers 

may withdraw such consent by a dated letter to the affected 

wine or beer shipper's licensee or Internet wine retailer's 

licensee. Copies of all such withdrawals shall be forwarded 

by the brand owner, by certified mail, return receipt 

requested, to the Supervisor, Tax Management Section. 

Withdrawals shall become effective upon receipt of the copy 

by the Tax Management Section, as evidenced by the 

postmark on the return receipt. 

E. Wine shipper's licensees, beer shipper's licensees, and 

Internet wine retailer's licensees shall maintain for two years 

complete and accurate records of all shipments made under 

the privileges of such licenses, including for each shipment: 

1. Number of containers shipped; 

2. Volume of each container shipped; 

3. Brand of each container shipped; 

4. Names and addresses of recipients; and 

5. Price charged. 

The records required by this subsection shall be made 

available for inspection and copying by any member of the 

board or its special agents upon request. 

F. On or before the 15th day of each month, each wine 

shipper's licensee, beer shipper's licensee, or Internet wine 

retailer's licensee shall file with the Supervisor, Tax 

Management Section, either in paper form or electronically as 

directed by the department, a report of activity for the 

previous calendar month. Such report shall include: 

1. Whether any shipments were made during the month; 

and 

2. If shipments were made, the following information for 

each shipment: 

a. Number of containers shipped; 

b. Volume of each container shipped; 

c. Brand of each container shipped; 

d. Names and addresses of recipients; and 

e. Price charged. 

Unless otherwise paid, payment of the appropriate beer or 

wine tax shall accompany each report. 

G. All shipments by holders of wine shipper's licenses, beer 

shipper's licenses, or Internet wine retailer's licenses shall be 

by approved common carrier only. Common carriers 

possessing all necessary licenses or permits to operate as 

common carriers in Virginia may apply for approval to 

provide common carriage of wine or beer, or both, shipped by 

holders of wine shipper's licenses, beer shipper's licenses, or 

Internet wine retailer's licenses by dated letter to the 

Supervisor, Tax Management Section, requesting such 

approval and agreeing to perform deliveries of beer or wine 

shipped, maintain records, and submit reports in accordance 

with the requirements of this section. The board may refuse, 

suspend or revoke approval if it shall have reasonable cause 

to believe that a carrier does not possess all necessary licenses 

or permits, that a carrier has failed to comply with the 

regulations of the board, or that a cause exists with respect to 

the carrier that would authorize the board to refuse, suspend 

or revoke a license pursuant to Title 4.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Before refusing, suspending, or revoking such 

approval, the board shall follow the same administrative 

procedures accorded an applicant or licensee under Title 4.1 

of the Code of Virginia and regulations of the board. 

H. When attempting to deliver wine or beer shipped by a 

wine shipper's licensee, beer shipper's licensee, or Internet 

wine retailer's licensee, an approved common carrier shall 

require: 

1. The recipient to demonstrate, upon delivery, that he is at 

least 21 years of age; and 

2. The recipient to sign an electronic or paper form or other 

acknowledgement of receipt that allows the maintenance of 

the records required by this section. 

The approved common carrier shall refuse delivery when the 

proposed recipient appears to be under the age of 21 years 

and refuses to present valid identification. All licensees 

shipping wine or beer pursuant to this section shall affix a 

conspicuous notice in 16-point type or larger to the outside of 

each package of wine or beer shipped within or into the 

Commonwealth, in a conspicuous location stating: 

"CONTAINS ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES; SIGNATURE 

OF PERSON AGED 21 YEARS OR OLDER REQUIRED 

FOR DELIVERY." Such notice shall also contain the wine 

shipper's, beer shipper's, or Internet wine retailer's license 

number of the shipping licensee. No approved common 

carrier shall accept for shipment any wine or beer to be 

shipped to anyone other than a licensee of the board unless 

the package bears the information required by this subsection. 

I. Approved common carriers shall maintain for two years 

complete and accurate records of all shipments of wine or 

beer received from and delivered for wine or beer shipper's 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 20, 2013 

2288 

licensees, or Internet wine retailer's licensees, including for 

each shipment: 

1. Date of shipment and delivery; 

2. Number of items shipped and delivered; 

3. Weight of items shipped and delivered; 

4. Acknowledgement signed by recipient; and 

5. Names and addresses of shippers and recipients. 

The records required by this subsection shall be made 

available for inspection and copying by any member of the 

board or its special agents upon request. 

J. On or before the 15th day of each January, April, July, 

and October, each approved common carrier shall file with 

the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, a report of activity 

for the previous calendar quarter. Such report shall include: 

1. Whether any shipments were delivered during the 

quarter; and 

2. If shipments were made, the following information for 

each shipment: 

a. Dates of each delivery; and 

b. Names and address of shippers and recipients for each 

delivery. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3241; Filed April 30, 2013, 2:18 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-70. Other Provisions (adding 

3VAC5-70-95).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 19, 2013. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 

2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone 

(804) 213-4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, 

or email curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board to promulgate regulations 

in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq.) and § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. Section 

4.1-111 authorizes the board to promulgate reasonable 

regulations, not inconsistent with Title 4.1 of the Code of 

Virginia or the general laws of the Commonwealth, which it 

deems necessary to carry out the provisions of Title 4.1. 

Section 4.1-232 C of the Code of Virginia provides that the 

board shall make refunds, prorated according to a schedule of 

its prescription, to licensees of state license taxes paid 

pursuant to § 4.1-231 A of the Code of Virginia if the place of 

business designated in the license is destroyed by an act of 

God, including but not limited to fire, earthquake, hurricane, 

storm, or similar natural disaster or phenomenon. 

Purpose: The proposed regulatory action is essential to 

protect the welfare of citizens by providing a means to protect 

them from the total loss of unused license fees when natural 

disaster prevents them from exercising the privileges of a 

license. 

Substance: The board adopted a proposed new section 

(3VAC5-70-95), which provides a schedule of the percentage 

of the license fee that will be refunded to a licensee whose 

place of business is destroyed by natural disaster. The 

percentage will vary depending on when in the course of the 

license year the destruction occurs. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is providing 

some relief to businesses whose facilities are destroyed by 

natural disaster. The expense to the Commonwealth is 

expected to be minimal. There are no disadvantages to the 

public. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 728 of the 2011 Acts of the Assembly, 

the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (ABC) proposes to 

amend its regulations so businesses that are licensed by ABC 

may get a prorated refund of their licensure fee if the business 

is destroyed by an act of God. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for 

implementing these proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Until legislation was passed in 

2011, ABC was not authorized to provide a refund of 

licensure fees for any reason. Chapter 728 changed this by 

authorizing ABC to set a schedule for proration of license 

fees "if the place of business designated in the license is 

destroyed by an act of God, including but not limited to fire, 

earthquake, hurricane, storm, or similar natural disaster or 

phenomenon." ABC now proposes this regulatory change to 

do just that. Under the proposed regulation, license fees will 

be refunded at a rate of 75% if a business is destroyed within 

the first three months of the license year; business owners 

will get 50% of their fee back if the business is destroyed in 

the second three months of the license year and will get 25% 

if their business is destroyed in the third three months of the 

license year. No license fees will be refunded if an affected 

business is destroyed in the final three months of the license 

year. 

Because this regulation does not impose any additional 

burdens on licensees, no affected entity is likely to incur any 

costs on account of this proposed regulatory action. Affected 

business owners will benefit from being able to get a portion 

of their licensure fee back when their businesses are 

destroyed (rendering the license unusable and useless). 

Businesses and Entities Affected. ABC reports that 

approximately 16,000 businesses would be potentially 

affected by this proposed regulatory change; 90% of these 
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entities would meet the Commonwealth's definition of small 

business.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of this regulatory action.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board concurs with the 

economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary:  

Pursuant to Chapter 728 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly, the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board proposes to amend its 

regulations so businesses that are licensed by the board 

may get a prorated refund of their licensure fee if the 

business is destroyed by an act of God. 

3VAC5-70-95. Proration of license tax for businesses 

destroyed by natural disaster. 

The board shall make refunds of the state license tax paid 

pursuant to subsection A of § 4.1-231 of the Code of Virginia 

to licensees whose place of business designated in the license 

is destroyed by an act of God, including but not limited to 

fire, earthquake, hurricane, storm, or similar natural disaster 

or phenomenon, upon the following schedule: 

If the destruction takes place within the first three months 

of the license year, 75% of the license tax shall be 

refunded. If the destruction takes place within the second 

three months of the license year, 50% of the license tax 

shall be refunded. If the destruction takes place within the 

third three months of the license year, 25% of the license 

tax shall be refunded. No refund shall be issued if the 

destruction takes place within the last three months of the 

license year. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3013; Filed April 30, 2013, 2:17 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife. The department is required by § 2.2-

4031 of the Code of Virginia to publish all proposed and final 

wildlife management regulations, including length of seasons 

and bag limits allowed on the wildlife resources within the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-40. Game: in General 

(amending 4VAC15-40-21, 4VAC15-40-50, 4VAC15-40-

70, 4VAC15-40-130, 4VAC15-40-240, 4VAC15-40-260, 

4VAC15-40-285; adding 4VAC15-40-221).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 13, 2013 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: May 31, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) add the United States 

Department of Agriculture to the list of agencies permitted 

to carry out wild bird and wild animal control programs; 

(ii) allow dog training on squirrels during daylight hours 

on private lands and allow dog training on rabbits from 

sunrise to midnight on private lands; (iii) establish a 

1,000-yard boundary adjacent to Lands End Waterfowl 

Management Area within which waterfowl hunting is 

prohibited; (iv) prohibit intentionally set traps within 50 

feet of exposed animal carcasses or parts; (v) allow the 

taking of designated game species and fur-bearing species 

on special permits during closed seasons with any type of 

lawful weapon; (vi) make a reference by proxy to Augusta 

County overt; (vii) prohibit the feeding of cervids year 

round in eight localities; (vii) prohibit the feeding of deer 

or elk during deer or elk hunting season; (ix) require that 

all feed be removed from any feeding site prior to 

September 1; and (x) consider any area where feed has 

been distributed a "baited" area for 10 days following the 

complete removal of the food. 

4VAC15-40-21. Special crossbow license; hunting with 

crossbows.  

There shall be a license to hunt with a crossbow during the 

special archery seasons that shall be in addition to the license 

required to hunt small game. The fee for the special crossbow 

license shall be $12 for a resident and $25 for a nonresident 

plus a $.50 issuance fee. The special crossbow license may be 

obtained from the clerk or agent of any county or city whose 

duty it is to sell licenses as specified in 4VAC15-20-65.  

4VAC15-40-50. Poisoning of wild birds and wild animals 

prohibited; certain control programs excepted.  

It shall be unlawful to put out poison at any time for the 

purpose of killing any wild birds and wild animals, provided 

that rats and mice may be poisoned on one's own property. 

The provisions of this section shall not apply to the 

Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services, the 

United States Department of Agriculture, or his their 

representatives or cooperators, and those being assisted in a 

control program following procedures developed under the 

"Virginia Nuisance Bird Law." authorized by those agencies.  

4VAC15-40-70. Open dog training season.  

A. Private lands and certain military areas. It shall be lawful 

to train dogs during daylight hours on rabbits squirrels and 

nonmigratory game birds on private lands, and on rabbits and 

nonmigratory game birds on Fort A. P. Hill, Fort Pickett, and 

Quantico Marine Reservation. Participants in this dog training 

season shall not have any weapons other than starter pistols in 

their possession, must comply with all regulations and laws 

pertaining to hunting and no game shall be taken; provided, 

however, that weapons may be in possession when training 

dogs on captive raised and properly marked mallards and 

pigeons so that they may be immediately shot or recovered, 

except on Sunday.  

B. It shall be lawful to train dogs on rabbits on private lands 

from sunrise to midnight. 

C. Designated portions of certain department-owned lands. 

It shall be lawful to train dogs on quail on designated portions 

of the Amelia Wildlife Management Area, Chester F. Phelps 

Wildlife Management Area, Chickahominy Wildlife 

Management Area, and Dick Cross Wildlife Management 

Area from September 1 to the day prior to the opening date of 

the quail hunting season, both dates inclusive. Participants in 

this dog training season shall not have any weapons other 

than starter pistols in their possession, shall not release pen-

raised birds, must comply with all regulations and laws 

pertaining to hunting and no game shall be taken.  

C. D. Designated department-owned lands. It shall be lawful 

to train dogs during daylight hours on rabbits and 

nonmigratory game birds on the Weston Wildlife 

Management Area from September 1 to March 31, both dates 

inclusive. Participants in this dog training season shall not 

have any weapons other than starter pistols in their 

possession, shall not release pen-raised birds, must comply 

with all regulations and laws pertaining to hunting and no 

game shall be taken.  

4VAC15-40-130. Disturbing waterfowl adjacent to Lands 

End Waterfowl Management Area.  

It shall be unlawful to take, attempt to take hunt, pursue, or 

disturb waterfowl within in the public waters within 1,000 

yards adjacent to the Lands End Waterfowl Management 

Area located adjacent to the Rappahannock River in King 

George County for such distance offshore as may be 

established by the board and properly posted so as to give 

adequate notice to the public, provided that this section shall 

not abridge the privileges prescribed for landowners, and their 

lessees and permittees, in §§ 29.1-344 and 29.1-347 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

4VAC15-40-221. Restricted use of traps near exposed 

carcasses and animal parts. 

It shall be unlawful to intentionally set foothold traps, body-

gripping traps, or snares within 50 feet of an animal carcass, 

or parts thereof, unless the carcass, or parts thereof, are 

completely covered at the time the trap is set or visited. For 

the purposes of this section, "completely covered" shall be 

defined as not being visible from above. Provided further, a 

"carcass" shall be defined as the body, portions of the body, 

meat, organs, or viscera of any animal, including fish. 

Feathers (including those with attached skin or entire bird 

wings), hair (with or without skin or hide), and bones that 

include no attached meat, organs, or viscera are excluded 

from this definition. 

4VAC15-40-240. Animal population control.  

Whenever biological evidence suggests that populations of 

game animals or fur-bearing animals may exceed or threaten 

to exceed the carrying capacity of a specified range, or 

whenever population reduction of a species is necessary to 
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manage for another wildlife species, or whenever the health 

or general condition of a species indicates the need for 

population reduction, or whenever the threat of human public 

health and safety or significant economic loss indicates the 

need for population reduction, the director is authorized to 

issue special permits to obtain the desired reduction by 

licensed hunters or licensed trappers on areas prescribed by 

department wildlife biologists. Designated game species or 

fur-bearing species may be taken in excess of the general bag 

limits, during closed seasons, and with any type of lawful 

weapon on special permits issued under this section under 

such conditions as may be prescribed by the director.  

4VAC15-40-260. Sunday hunting on controlled shooting 

areas.  

A. Except as otherwise provided in the sections appearing in 

this chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt pen-raised game birds 

seven days a week as provided by § 29.1-514 of the Code of 

Virginia. The length of the hunting season on such preserves 

and the size of the bag limit shall be in accordance with rules 

of the board. For the purpose of this chapter, controlled 

shooting areas shall be defined as licensed shooting preserves.  

B. It shall be unlawful to hunt pen-raised game birds on 

Sunday on controlled shooting areas in those counties having 

a population of not less than 54,000, nor more than 55,000, 

Augusta County or in any county or city which prohibits 

Sunday operation by ordinance.  

4VAC15-40-285. Unauthorized feeding of deer cervids.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to place or distribute 

food, salt, minerals, or similar substances, to feed or attract 

deer cervids (i) at any time in the counties (including the 

cities and towns within) of Buchanan, Clarke, Dickenson, 

Frederick, Shenandoah, Warren, and Wise; (ii) during any 

deer or elk season within any county, city, or town that allows 

deer or elk hunting; and (iii) from September 1 through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, elsewhere in 

the Commonwealth.  

B. Any food, salt, minerals, or similar substances placed or 

distributed to feed or attract cervids prior to September 1 

must be completely removed by September 1, and any area 

where food, salt, minerals, or similar substances were placed 

or distributed to feed or attract cervids shall be considered to 

be baited for 10 days following the complete removal of the 

items listed in this subsection. 

C. Nor, upon Upon written notification by department 

personnel, shall any no person shall continue to place or 

distribute any food, salt, mineral, or similar substances for 

any purpose if the placement of these materials results in the 

attraction of and/or feeding of deer cervids. After such 

notification, such person shall be in violation of this section if 

the placing, distribution, or presence of such food, salt, 

minerals, or similar substances continues.  

D. No part of this regulation shall be construed to restrict 

bona fide agronomic plantings (including wildlife food plots), 

bona fide distribution of food to livestock, or wildlife 

management activities conducted or authorized by the 

department.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3718; Filed May 1, 2013, 7:59 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-50. Game: Bear (amending 

4VAC15-50-11, 4VAC15-50-70, 4VAC15-50-110, 

4VAC15-50-120; adding 4VAC15-50-12).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 13, 2013 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: May 31, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) adjust the bear hunting 

season in a number of counties or portions of counties; (ii) 

establish a youth and apprentice hunter statewide bear 

hunting day; (iii) eliminate an outdated provision 

pertaining to physical disability and use of crossbows; (iv) 

update the description of a border for allowable bear 

hound hunting in one county; and (v) add one to two weeks 

of bear hound training season in multiple counties or 

locations. 

4VAC15-50-11. Open season; generally. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt bears within:  

Location Season 

Accomack County  Closed 

Albemarle County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Alleghany County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Amelia County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Amherst County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 
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Appomattox County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Arlington County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Augusta County  

(North of US-250)  

Saturday prior to the fourth 

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Augusta County 

(South of US-250)  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Bath County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Bedford County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Bland County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Botetourt County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Brunswick County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Buchanan County  

First Monday in December 

and for 17 consecutive hunting 

days following through the 

first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Buckingham 

County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Campbell County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Caroline County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Carroll County  

First Monday in December 

and for 17 consecutive hunting 

days following. 

Charles City County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Charlotte County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Chesapeake (City 

of)  

October 1 through the first 

Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Chesterfield County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Clarke County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Craig County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Culpeper County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Cumberland County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Dickenson County  

First Monday in December 

and for 17 consecutive hunting 

days following through the 

first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Dinwiddie County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Essex County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Fairfax County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 
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Fauquier County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Floyd County  

First Monday in December 

and for 17 consecutive hunting 

days following. 

Fluvanna County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Franklin County  

First Monday in December 

and for 17 consecutive hunting 

days following. 

Frederick County  

Saturday prior to the fourth 

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Giles County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Gloucester County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Goochland County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Grayson County  

First Monday in December 

and for 17 consecutive hunting 

days following. 

Greene County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Greensville County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Halifax County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Hanover County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Henrico County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Henry County  

First Monday in December 

and for 17 consecutive hunting 

days following. 

Highland County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Isle of Wight 

County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

James City County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

King and Queen 

County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

King George 

County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

King William 

County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Lancaster County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Lee County  

First Monday in December 

and for 17 consecutive hunting 

days following through the 

first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Loudoun County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Louisa County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Lunenburg County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Madison County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 
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Mathews County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Mecklenburg 

County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Middlesex County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Montgomery 

County 

 (southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December 

and for 17 consecutive hunting 

days following. 

Montgomery 

County (northwest 

of I-81)  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Nelson County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

New Kent County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Northampton 

County  
Closed 

Northumberland 

County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Nottoway County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Orange County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Page County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Patrick County  

First Monday in December 

and for 17 consecutive hunting 

days following. 

Pittsylvania County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Powhatan County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Prince Edward 

County 

First Monday in December 

and for 5 consecutive hunting 

days following. 

Prince George 

County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Prince William 

County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Pulaski County  

(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December 

and for 17 consecutive hunting 

days following. 

Pulaski County  

(northwest of I-81)  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Rappahannock 

County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Richmond County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Roanoke County  

Saturday prior to the fourth 

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Rockbridge County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Rockingham 

County  

Saturday prior to the fourth 

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Russell County 

(except on the 

Channels State 

Forest and Clinch 

Mountain WMA) 

First Monday in December 

and for 17 consecutive hunting 

days following through the 

first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Russell County (on 

the Channels State 

Forest and Clinch 

Mountain WMA) 

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 
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Scott County  

First Monday in December 

and for 17 consecutive hunting 

days following through the 

first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Shenandoah County  

Saturday prior to the fourth 

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Smyth County 

(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December 

and for 17 consecutive hunting 

days following. 

Smyth County  

(northwest of I-81)  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Southampton 

County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Spotsylvania 

County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Stafford County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Suffolk (City of)  

October 1 through the first 

Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Surry County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Sussex County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Tazewell County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Virginia Beach 

(City of)  

October 1 through the first 

Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Warren County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Washington County  

(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December 

and for 17 consecutive hunting 

days following. 

Washington County 

(northwest of I-81 

and east of Route 

19)  

Fourth Monday in November 

First Monday in December 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Washington County 

(northwest of I-81 

and west of Route 

19)  

First Monday in December 

and for 17 consecutive hunting 

days following. 

Westmoreland 

County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Wise County  

First Monday in December 

and for 17 consecutive hunting 

days following through the 

first Saturday in January, both 

dates inclusive. 

Wythe County  

(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December 

and for 17 consecutive hunting 

days following. 

Wythe County  

(northwest of I-81)  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

York County  

Second First Monday in 

December and for 5 

consecutive hunting days 

following. 

B. Except as provided in the subsection A of this section, 

bears may be hunted from the Saturday prior to the fourth 

Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, 

both dates inclusive, within the incorporated limits of any city 

that allows bear hunting.  

4VAC15-50-12. Youth and apprentice hunter bear 

hunting day. 

It shall be lawful for hunters 15 years of age and under and 

holders of a valid apprentice hunting license, when in 

compliance with all applicable laws and license requirements, 

to hunt bears on the last Saturday in September when 

accompanied and directly supervised by an adult who has a 

valid Virginia hunting license on his person or is exempt from 

purchasing a hunting license. Adult hunters accompanying 

youth or apprentice bear hunters on this day may not carry or 

discharge weapons. Bear bag limit, weight limits, and all 

other take restrictions specifically provided in the sections 

appearing in this chapter apply to this youth day. Bear 

hunting with dogs is prohibited except any place where there 

is a bear hound training season currently in progress as 

defined in 4VAC15-50-120 (Bear hound training season) and 

tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 
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4VAC15-50-70. Bow and arrow hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt bear during the special archery 

season with bow and arrow from the first Saturday in October 

through the Friday prior to the third Monday in November, 

both dates inclusive. 

B. It shall be unlawful to carry firearms while hunting with 

bow and arrow during the special archery seasons, except that 

a muzzleloading gun, as defined in 4VAC15-50-71, may be 

in the possession of a properly licensed muzzleloading gun 

hunter when and where the early special archery bear season 

overlaps the early special muzzleloading bear season. 

C. Arrows used for hunting big game must have a minimum 

width head of 7/8 of an inch and the bow used for such 

hunting must be capable of casting a broadhead arrow a 

minimum of 125 yards. 

D. It shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with bow 

and arrow from the second Saturday in October through the 

Saturday prior to the second Monday in November, both 

dates inclusive, except that tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-

516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be used. 

E. It shall be lawful for persons with permanent physical 

disabilities, who are in full compliance with the requirements 

of 4VAC15-40-20 B, to hunt bear subject to the provisions of 

subsections A through D of this section. For the purpose of 

the application of subsections A through D to this subsection 

the phrase "bow and arrow" includes crossbow. 

4VAC15-50-110. Use of dogs in hunting bear. 

A. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 

during the open season for hunting deer in the counties west 

of the Blue Ridge Mountains and in the counties of Amherst 

(west of U.S. Route 29) Business U.S. 29 from the James 

River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the town of 

Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), 

Bedford, and Nelson (west of Route 151); and within the 

boundaries of the national forests, except that tracking dogs 

as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be 

used. 

B. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 

during the first 12 hunting days of the open season for 

hunting deer in the counties of Greene and Madison, except 

that tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

C. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear in 

the counties of Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern 

Railroad), Carroll (east of the New River), Fairfax, Floyd, 

Franklin, Grayson (east of the New River), Henry, Loudoun, 

Montgomery (south of Interstate 81), Patrick, Pittsylvania 

(west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Pulaski (south of 

Interstate 81), Roanoke (south of Interstate 81), Wythe 

(southeast of the New River or that part bounded by Route 21 

on the west, Interstate 81 on the north, the county line on the 

east, the New River on the southeast and Cripple Creek on the 

south); in the city of Lynchburg; and on Amelia, Chester F. 

Phelps, G. Richard Thompson, and Pettigrew wildlife 

management areas, except that tracking dogs as defined in 

§ 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be used. 

4VAC15-50-120. Bear hound training season.  

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided in the sections 

appearing in this chapter, it It shall be lawful to chase black 

bear with dogs, without capturing or taking, from the second 

Saturday in August through the last Saturday in September, 

both dates inclusive, in all counties and cities or in the 

portions in which bear hunting is permitted except in the 

counties of Accomack, Amelia, Appomattox, Brunswick, 

Buckingham, Campbell, Caroline, Carroll, Charles City, 

Charlotte, Chesterfield, Clarke, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, 

Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, Floyd, Fluvanna, Franklin, 

Frederick, Gloucester, Goochland, Grayson, Greensville, 

Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, Henry, Isle of Wight, James City, 

King & Queen, King George, King William, Lancaster, 

Loudoun, Louisa, Lunenburg, Mathews, Mecklenburg, 

Middlesex, Montgomery (south of Interstate 81), New Kent, 

Northampton, Northumberland, Nottoway, Orange, Patrick, 

Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George, Prince 

William, Pulaski (south of Interstate 81), Richmond, Roanoke 

(south of Interstate 81), Smyth (south of Interstate 81), 

Southampton, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Surry, Sussex, 

Washington (south of Interstate 81), Westmoreland, Wythe 

(south of Interstate 81), and York, and in the cities of 

Hampton, Newport News and Norfolk, from the second 

Saturday in August through the last Saturday in September.  

B. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, from the Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through the Saturday prior to the first 

Monday in December, both dates inclusive, in the counties of 

Amelia, Appomattox, Buckingham, Brunswick, Campbell 

(east of the Norfolk Southern Railroad), Charles City, 

Charlotte, Cumberland, Essex, Gloucester, Greensville, 

Halifax, Isle of Wight, James City, King and Queen, King 

George, King William, Lancaster, Lunenburg, and Mathews, 

Mecklenburg, from the first Monday in December for five 

consecutive hunting days following, both dates inclusive 

Middlesex, New Kent, Northumberland, Nottoway, 

Pittsylvania (east of the Norfolk Southern Railroad), Prince 

Edward, Prince George, Richmond, Southampton, Surry, 

Sussex, Westmoreland, and York. 

C. It shall be lawful to chase black bears with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, in the counties of Brunswick, 

Greensville, Lunenburg, and Mecklenburg from the first 

Saturday in September through the third Saturday in 

September, both dates inclusive. 

C. D. It shall be unlawful to have in possession a firearm, 

bow, crossbow or any weapon capable of taking a black bear 

while participating in the bear hound training season. The 

meaning of "possession" for the purpose of this section shall 

include, but not be limited to, having a firearm, bow, 
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crossbow or any weapon capable of taking a black bear in or 

on one's person, vehicle, or conveyance.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3719; Filed May 1, 2013, 9:43 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-70. Game: Bobcat (amending 

4VAC15-70-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 13, 2013 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: May 31, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment updates the delineation of the 

border in one county between where the use of dogs is and 

is not allowed to hunt bobcat during deer season. 

4VAC15-70-40. Use of dogs in hunting bobcats during 

deer season in certain counties and national forests.  

It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bobcats 

during the open season for hunting deer in the counties of 

Alleghany, Amherst (west of U.S. Route 29) Business U.S. 

29 from the James River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just 

south of  the town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to 

the Tye River), Augusta, Bath, Bedford, Botetourt, Campbell 

(west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Clarke, Frederick, 

Highland, Nelson (west of Route 151), Page, Pittsylvania 

(west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Rockbridge, 

Rockingham, Shenandoah and Warren, and within the 

boundaries of the national forests.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3720; Filed May 1, 2013, 11:20 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending 

4VAC15-90-10, 4VAC15-90-23, 4VAC15-90-70 through 

4VAC15-90-91, 4VAC15-90-231, 4VAC15-90-241, 

4VAC15-90-260, 4VAC15-90-293; adding 4VAC15-90-89, 

4VAC15-90-294; repealing 4VAC15-90-20, 4VAC15-90-

21, 4VAC15-90-22, 4VAC15-90-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 13, 2013 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: May 31, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) adjust, by locality or other 

geographic or property divisions, the season schedules, 

bag limits, limits for deer of either sex, or antler point 

restrictions for general firearms, muzzleloading firearms, 

or archery deer hunting seasons; (ii) adjust areas where 

deer hunting with dogs is allowed; (iii) allow apprentice 

hunting license holders to hunt on the youth deer hunting 

day; (iv) adjust deer disease management requirements; 

(v) restrict the importation or movement of cervid 

carcasses or parts and the movement of such parts from 

areas designated for disease management; (vi) restrict the 

transport and possession of juvenile and adult cervids for 

the purpose of rehabilitation; (vii) adjust requirements for 

checking elk that are killed; and (viii) establish a 

continuous closed season for elk hunting in four counties.  

4VAC15-90-10. Open season; generally.  

Except as otherwise provided by local legislation and with 

the specific exceptions provided in the sections appearing in 

this chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt deer from the Saturday 

prior to the third Monday in November through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates inclusive.  

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer in the following localities, 

including the cities and towns therein, during the following 

seasons, all dates inclusive.  

Locality Season 

Accomack County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Albemarle County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Alleghany County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Amelia County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Amherst County (west 

of Business U.S. 29 

from the James River 

to its intersection with 

U.S. 29 just south of 

the Town of Amherst 

continuing north on 

U.S. 29 to the Tye 

River) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 
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Amherst County (east 

of Business U.S. 29, as 

defined above) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Appomattox County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Arlington County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Arlington County 

(antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September 

through the Friday prior to the 

first Saturday in October and 

the Monday following the first 

Saturday in January through the 

last Saturday in March 

Augusta County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Bath County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Bedford County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Bland County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Botetourt County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Brunswick County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Buchanan County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Buckingham County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Campbell County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Caroline County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Carroll County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Charles City County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Charlotte County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Chesapeake (City of)  
October 1 through November 

30 

Chesterfield County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Clarke County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Craig County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Culpeper County 

(except Chester F. 

Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Culpeper County 

(Chester F. Phelps 

Wildlife Management 

Area) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Cumberland County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Dickenson County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Dinwiddie County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Essex County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 
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Fairfax County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Fairfax County 

(antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September 

through the Friday prior to the 

first Saturday in October and 

the Monday following the first 

Saturday in January through the 

last Saturday in March 

Fauquier County 

(except Chester F. 

Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Fauquier County 

(Chester F. Phelps 

Wildlife Management 

Area) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Floyd County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

24 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Fluvanna County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Franklin County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

24 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Frederick County 

(non-national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Frederick County 

(national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Giles County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Gloucester County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Goochland County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Grayson County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Greene County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Greensville County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Halifax County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Hanover County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Henrico County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Henry County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

24 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Highland County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Isle of Wight County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

James City County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

King and Queen 

County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

King George County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

King William County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Lancaster County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 
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Lee County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Loudoun County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Loudoun County 

(antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September 

through the Friday prior to the 

first Saturday in October and 

the Monday following the first 

Saturday in January through the 

last Saturday in March 

Louisa County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Lunenburg County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Madison County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Mathews County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Mecklenburg County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Middlesex County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Montgomery County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Nelson County  

(west of Route 151) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Nelson County  

(east of Route 151) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

New Kent County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Northampton County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Northumberland 

County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Nottoway County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Orange County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Page County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Patrick County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

24 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Pittsylvania County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Powhatan County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Prince Edward County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Prince George County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Prince William County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Prince William County 

(antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September 

through the Friday prior to the 

first Saturday in October and 

the Monday following the first 

Saturday in January through the 

last Saturday in March 

Pulaski County (except 

on New River Unit of 

the Radford Army 

Ammunition Plant 

adjacent to the Town 

of Dublin) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 
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Pulaski County (New 

River Unit of the 

Radford Army 

Ammunition Plant 

adjacent to the Town 

of Dublin) 

Saturday prior to the second 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Rappahannock County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Richmond County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Roanoke County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Rockbridge County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Rockingham County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Russell County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Scott County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Shenandoah County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Smyth County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Southampton County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Spotsylvania County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Stafford County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Suffolk (City of)  

(east of Dismal Swamp 

Line) 

October 1 through November 

30 

Suffolk (City of)  

(west of Dismal 

Swamp Line) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Surry County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Sussex County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Tazewell County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Virginia Beach (City 

of)  

October 1 through November 

30 

Warren County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Washington County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Westmoreland County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Wise County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Wythe County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 consecutive hunting days 

following 

York County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

B. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, east of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains deer may be hunted from the 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, within the 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 20, 2013 

2302 

incorporated limits of any city or town that allows deer 

hunting. 

C. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, west 

of the Blue Ridge Mountains deer may be hunted from the 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 12 

consecutive hunting days following within the incorporated 

limits of any city or town that allows deer hunting. 

4VAC15-90-20. Two-week open season; cities, towns, and 

counties west of Blue Ridge Mountains and certain cities, 

towns, and counties or parts thereof east of Blue Ridge 

Mountains. (Repealed.) 

It shall be lawful to hunt deer on the Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in November and for 12 consecutive hunting 

days following in the cities, towns and counties west of the 

Blue Ridge Mountains (except Clarke and Floyd counties and 

on non-national forest lands in Frederick County, and on the 

Radford Army Ammunition Plant in Pulaski County), and in 

the counties (including cities and towns within) of Amherst 

(west of U.S. Route 29), Bedford, Campbell (west of Norfolk 

Southern Railroad except in the City of Lynchburg), Nelson 

(west of Route 151), and on the Chester F. Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area.  

4VAC15-90-21. Four-week open season; certain cities, 

towns, and counties or parts thereof. (Repealed.) 

It shall be lawful to hunt deer on the Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in November and for 24 consecutive hunting 

days following in the counties (including the cities and towns 

within) of Floyd, Franklin, Henry, and Patrick.  

4VAC15-90-22. Special late antlerless only open season; 

Fairfax, Fauquier, Loudoun, and Prince William counties. 

(Repealed.) 

It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer from the Monday 

following the first Saturday in January through the last 

Saturday in March, both dates inclusive, in Fairfax, Fauquier, 

Loudoun and Prince William counties, except on department-

owned lands. 

4VAC15-90-23. Youth and apprentice hunter deer 

hunting day. 

It shall be lawful for deer hunters 15 years of age and under 

and holders of an apprentice hunting license, when in 

compliance with all applicable laws and license requirements, 

to hunt deer on the last Saturday in September when 

accompanied and directly supervised by an adult who has a 

valid Virginia hunting license on his person or is exempt from 

purchasing a hunting license. Deer of either-sex may be taken 

on this special youth deer hunting day. Adult hunters 

accompanying youth or apprentice deer hunters on this day 

may not carry or discharge weapons. Blaze orange is required 

for all persons hunting any species or any person 

accompanying a hunter on this day unless otherwise 

exempted by state law. Deer hunting with dogs is prohibited, 

except that tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the 

Code of Virginia may be used. 

4VAC15-90-30. Open season; cities of Virginia Beach, 

Chesapeake and Suffolk east of Dismal Swamp Line. 

(Repealed.) 

It shall be lawful to hunt deer from October 1 through 

November 30, both dates inclusive, in the cities of Virginia 

Beach, Chesapeake, and Suffolk east of the Dismal Swamp 

Line.  

4VAC15-90-70. Bow and arrow hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 

archery season with bow and arrow from the first Saturday in 

October through the Friday prior to the third Monday in 

November, both dates inclusive. 

B. In addition to the season provided in subsection A of this 

section, it shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 

archery season with bow and arrow from the Monday 

following the close of the general firearms season on deer 

through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, in 

all cities, towns, and counties west of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains (except Clarke County and on non-national forest 

lands in Frederick County) and in the counties (including the 

cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of U.S. Route 29) 

Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection with 

U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing north 

on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), Bedford, Campbell (west of 

Norfolk Southern Railroad), Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of 

Route 151), Patrick and on the Chester F. Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area and on national forest lands in Frederick 

County and from December 1 through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive, in the cities of Chesapeake, 

Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp line) Line), and Virginia 

Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

special archery seasons as provided in subsections A and B of 

this section (except on PALS (Public Access Lands) in 

Dickenson County where it shall be unlawful to take 

antlerless deer during the special archery seasons provided for 

in subsections A and B of this section). 

D. It shall be unlawful to carry firearms while hunting with 

bow and arrow during the special archery seasons, except that 

a muzzleloading gun, as defined in 4VAC15-90-80, may be 

in the possession of a properly licensed muzzleloading gun 

hunter when and where a special archery deer season overlaps 

a special muzzleloading deer season. 

E. Arrows used for hunting big game must have a minimum 

width head of 7/8 of an inch and the bow used for such 

hunting must be capable of casting a broadhead arrow a 

minimum of 125 yards. 

F. It shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with bow 

and arrow during any special archery season, except that 

tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 
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G. For the purpose of the application of subsections A 

through I to this section, the phrase "bow and arrow" includes 

crossbows. 

H. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special 

urban archery season with bow and arrow from the first 

Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October, both dates inclusive, and from the 

Monday following the first Saturday in January through the 

last Saturday in March, both dates inclusive, within the 

incorporated limits of any city or town in the Commonwealth 

(except on national forest and department-owned lands) and 

counties with a human population density of 300 persons per 

square mile or more (except on national forest and 

department-owned lands), provided that its governing body 

submits by certified letter to the department prior to April 1, 

its intent to participate in the special urban archery season. 

Any city, town, or county no longer participating in this 

season shall submit by certified letter to the department prior 

to April 1 notice of its intent not to participate in the special 

urban archery season. 

I. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special 

antlerless archery season with a bow and arrow from the first 

Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October, both dates inclusive, in Loudoun and 

Prince William counties, except on department-owned lands 

Monday following the last Saturday in March through the last 

Saturday in April, both dates inclusive, in Arlington, Fairfax, 

Loudoun, and Prince William counties (including the cities 

and towns within). 

4VAC15-90-80. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 

Saturday prior to the first Monday in November through the 

Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 

inclusive, in all cities, towns, and counties where deer hunting 

with a rifle or muzzleloading gun is permitted, except in the 

cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp 

Line), and Virginia Beach.  

B. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns starting 18 

consecutive hunting days immediately prior to and inclusive 

of the first Saturday in January, in all cities, towns, and 

counties west of the Blue Ridge Mountains (except Clarke 

County and on non-national forest lands in Frederick 

County), and east of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the 

counties (including the cities and towns within) of Amherst 

(west of U.S. Route 29) Business U.S. 29 from the James 

River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the Town 

of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), 

Bedford, Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), 

Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151), Patrick and on 

national forest lands in Frederick County and in the cities of 

Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp line) Line), 

and Virginia Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 

special muzzleloading season east of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains unless otherwise noted below:  

- Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 

only of the early special muzzleloading season on state 

forest lands, state park lands (except Occoneechee State 

Park), department-owned lands and Philpott Reservoir. 

- Antlered bucks only—no either sex deer hunting days 

during the early special muzzleloading season on national 

forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson counties. 

D. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 

only during the early special muzzleloading season west of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains unless otherwise noted below: 

- Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 

special muzzleloading season in Clarke and Floyd counties 

and on private lands in Carroll, Frederick, Grayson, 

Montgomery, Roanoke, and Warren counties. 

- Antlered bucks only—no either sex deer hunting days 

during the early special muzzleloading season in 

Buchanan, Dickenson, Lee, Russell, Smyth, Tazewell, 

Washington, and Wise counties and on national forest 

lands in Alleghany, Botetourt, Frederick, Grayson, Page, 

Rockingham, Scott, Shenandoah, Warren, and on national 

forest and department-owned lands in Augusta, Bath, 

Highland, and Rockbridge counties and on Grayson 

Highlands State Park and on private lands west of Routes 

613 and 731 in Rockingham County. 

E. Deer of either sex may be taken during the last six days of 

the late special muzzleloading season unless otherwise listed 

below: 

- Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

entire late special muzzleloading season in the counties 

(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of 

U.S. Route 29 Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its 

intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of 

Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River, 

except on national forest lands), Bedford (except on 

national forest lands), Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern 

Railroad), Floyd, Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 

151, except on national forest lands), and Patrick and on 

private lands in Carroll, Grayson, Montgomery, Roanoke 

and Warren counties and in the cities of Chesapeake, 

Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp line) Line), and 

Virginia Beach. 

- Deer of either sex may be taken the last day only during 

the late special muzzleloading season in Alleghany, Bath, 

Dickenson (north of Route 83), Highland, Lee, Russell, 

Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, and Wise counties 

and on national forest lands in Alleghany, Amherst, 

Bedford, Botetourt, Frederick, Grayson, Nelson, Page, 

Rockingham, Shenandoah, and Warren counties, and on 

national forest and department-owned lands in Augusta, 

Bath, Highland, and Rockbridge counties and on private 
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lands west of Routes 613 and 731 in Rockingham County 

and Grayson Highlands State Park. 

- Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the late special muzzleloading season in Buchanan 

and Dickenson (south of Route 83). 

F. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

special muzzleloading seasons within the incorporated limits 

of any city or town in the Commonwealth that allows deer 

hunting except in the counties of Buchanan, Dickenson, and 

Wise. 

G. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during any 

special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns, except 

that tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

H. A muzzleloading gun, for the purpose of this section, 

means a single shot weapon, excluding muzzleloading pistols, 

.45 caliber or larger, firing a single projectile or sabot (with 

a .38 caliber or larger projectile) of the same caliber loaded 

from the muzzle of the weapon and propelled by at least 50 

grains of black powder (or black powder equivalent or 

smokeless powder). 

I. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession any 

firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting with a 

muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season.  

4VAC15-90-85. Elk hunting.  

A. Closed season. There shall be a continuous closed season 

for elk (Cervus elaphus) hunting in Buchanan, Dickenson, 

Lee, Russell, Scott, Tazewell, and Wise counties.  

B. Open season. Except as otherwise provided by this 

chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt elk of either sex during (i) 

the general firearms deer seasons (as prescribed by 4VAC15-

90-10, 4VAC15-90-20, 4VAC15-90-21, 4VAC15-90-22, and 

4VAC15-90-23, and 4VAC15-90-30), (ii) the special archery 

seasons (as prescribed by 4VAC15-90-70), and (iii) the 

special muzzleloading seasons (as prescribed by 4VAC15-90-

80) with bag limits as prescribed in 4VAC15-90-90. 

C. Validating tags and checking elk by licensee or permittee. 

Upon killing an elk, any licensed or permitted hunter shall 

validate a tag, bonus deer permit, or special permit and check 

the elk in accordance with 4VAC15-90-231. At the time of 

checking, the hunter must call 1-804-367-1258 the 

department upon receiving a check card or confirmation 

number to schedule an inspection of the carcass and the site 

of kill for the collection of biological samples for disease 

testing.  

D. Checking elk by persons exempt from license 

requirements or holding a license authorization number. Upon 

killing an elk, any person (i) exempt from license requirement 

as prescribed in § 29.1-301 of the Code of Virginia, (ii) 

issued a complimentary license as prescribed in § 29.1-339 of 

the Code of Virginia, (iii) holding a permanent license issued 

pursuant to § 29.1-301 E, or (iv) holding a Virginia license 

authorization number issued by a telephone or electronic 

media agent pursuant to § 29.1-327 B of the Code of Virginia 

shall check the elk in accordance with 4VAC15-90-241. At 

the time of checking, the hunter must call 1-804-367-1258 the 

department upon receiving a check card or confirmation 

number to schedule an inspection of the carcass and the site 

of kill for the collection of biological samples for disease 

testing. 

4VAC15-90-89. Earn a buck (EAB). 

For the purposes of this section, the term "license year" 

defines the period between July 1 and June 30 of the 

following year. 

Arlington County (including the cities and towns within). 

During a license year, it shall be unlawful to take a second 

antlered deer in Arlington County prior to taking at least two 

antlerless deer in Arlington County, and it shall be unlawful 

to take a third antlered deer in Arlington County prior to 

taking at least three antlerless deer in Arlington County.  

Bedford County on private lands (including the cities and 

towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 

take a second antlered deer on private lands in Bedford 

County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private 

lands in Bedford County, and it shall be unlawful to take a 

third antlered deer on private lands in Bedford County prior 

to taking at least two antlerless deer on private lands in 

Bedford County. 

Clarke County on private lands (including the cities and 

towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 

take a second antlered deer on private lands in Clarke County 

prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private lands in 

Clarke County.  

Fairfax County (including the cities and towns within). 

During a license year, it shall be unlawful to take a second 

antlered deer in Fairfax County prior to taking at least two 

antlerless deer in Fairfax County, and it shall be unlawful to 

take a third antlered deer in Fairfax County prior to taking at 

least three antlerless deer in Fairfax County.  

Frederick County on private lands (including the cities and 

towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 

take a second antlered deer on private lands in Frederick 

County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private 

lands in Frederick County. 

Loudoun County (including the cities and towns within). 

During a license year, it shall be unlawful to take a second 

antlered deer in Loudoun County prior to taking at least two 

antlerless deer in Loudoun County, and it shall be unlawful to 

take a third antlered deer in Loudoun County prior to taking 

at least three antlerless deer in Loudoun County.  

Prince William County except on Department of Defense 

lands (including the cities and towns within). During a license 

year, it shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer in 

Prince William County (except on Department of Defense 

lands) prior to taking at least two antlerless deer in Prince 

William County (except on Department of Defense lands), 
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and it shall be unlawful to take a third antlered deer in Prince 

William County (except on Department of Defense lands) 

prior to taking at least three antlerless deer in Prince William 

County (except on Department of Defense lands).  

Roanoke County on private lands (including the cities and 

towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 

take a second antlered deer on private lands in Roanoke 

County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private 

lands in Roanoke County. 

Warren County on private lands (including the cities and 

towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 

take a second antlered deer on private lands in Warren 

County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private 

lands in Warren County.  

4VAC15-90-90. Bag limit, bonus deer permits and special 

antlerless provision for youth hunters and earn a buck.  

A. The bag limit for deer east of the Blue Ridge Mountains 

(except on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and 

Nelson counties) is two per day (except for the counties of, 

including the cities and towns within, Arlington, Fairfax, 

Loudoun, and Prince William where the daily bag limit is 

unlimited), six per license year, three of which must be 

antlerless. 

B. The bag limit for deer west of the Blue Ridge Mountains 

and on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson 

counties is one per day (except for private lands in the 

counties including the cities and towns within Clarke, 

Frederick, Roanoke, Shenandoah, and Warren where the daily 

bag limit is two per day), five per license year, three of which 

must be antlerless.  Only one antlered buck taken in the 

county of Alleghany, Augusta, Bath, Highland, Shenandoah, 

Rockbridge, or Rockingham per license year may have less 

than four antler points one inch or longer on one side of the 

antlers. 

C. Except as noted in subsection E below, antlerless deer 

may be taken only during designated either-sex deer hunting 

days during the special archery seasons, special 

muzzleloading seasons, and the general firearms season.  

D. Bonus deer permits shall be valid on private land in 

counties and cities where deer hunting is permitted (except 

Buchanan, Dickenson, and Wise counties) during the special 

archery seasons, special muzzleloading seasons, and the 

general firearms season. Bonus deer permits shall be valid on 

public lands, including state parks, state forests, national 

wildlife refuges, military areas, etc., as authorized by the 

managing agency. Unless otherwise posted or authorized in 

writing for wildlife management areas by the department, or 

for national forest lands by the U.S. Forest Service, the use of 

bonus permits is prohibited on department-owned and 

national forest lands. Bonus deer permits shall be valid for 

antlerless deer only. Deer taken on bonus permits shall count 

against the daily bag limit but are in addition to the seasonal 

bag limit. 

E. Deer hunters 15 years of age and under, including those 

exempt from purchasing a hunting license, when in 

compliance with all applicable laws and license requirements, 

may take one antlerless deer per license year on days other 

than designated either-sex deer hunting days during the 

special muzzleloading seasons or the general firearms season 

in all counties that have at least one either-sex deer hunting 

day during the general firearms deer season. 

F. Earn a buck (EAB) areas include all private lands in the 

counties (including private lands in the cities and towns 

within) of Bedford, Fairfax, Fauquier, Franklin, Loudoun, 

Patrick, Prince William, and Roanoke. In EAB areas at least 

one antlerless deer must be taken on private lands in an EAB 

area before the second antlered deer of the license year may 

be taken on private lands in an EAB area. Furthermore, at 

least two antlerless deer must have been taken on private 

lands in an EAB area before the third antlered deer of the 

license year may be taken on private lands in an EAB area. 

4VAC15-90-91. General firearms season either-sex deer 

hunting days. 

A. During the general firearms deer season, deer of either 

sex may be taken within:  

Accomack County: full season the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days. 

Albemarle County: full season. 

Alleghany County: the second Saturday and the last 

hunting day.   

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Amelia County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and 

the last 24 hunting days the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 12 hunting days. 

-Amelia WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six hunting days.  

Amherst County (east of U.S. Route 29) Business U.S. 29 

from the James River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just 

south of the Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 

to the Tye River): the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 24 hunting days.  

Amherst County (west of U.S. Route 29) Business U.S. 29 

from the James River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just 

south of the Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 

to the Tye River): full season.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Appomattox County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 12 hunting days.  

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and 

third Saturdays.  

-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days. 

Arlington County: full season.  
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Augusta County: the second Saturday and the last six 

hunting days.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

hunting day.  

Bath County: the second Saturday and the last hunting day.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

hunting day.  

Bedford County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Bland County: the second Saturday and the last six hunting 

days the second Saturday and the last two hunting days. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

hunting day.  

Botetourt County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Brunswick County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 12 hunting days.  

Buchanan County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken.  

Buckingham County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 12 hunting days.  

-Horsepen Lake WMA: the second and third Saturdays 

and the last six hunting days. 

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and 

third Saturdays.  

-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days. 

Campbell County (east of Norfolk Southern Railroad): the 

second, third, and fourth Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 

days.  

Campbell County (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad): full 

season.  

Caroline County: full season the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days. 

-Mattaponi WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six hunting days. 

Carroll County: full season.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 

Saturday and the last hunting day.  

Charles City County: full season.  

-Chickahominy WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 

be taken the second Saturday after Thanksgiving. 

Charlotte County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 12 hunting days.  

Chesapeake (City of): full season. 

Chesterfield County: full season the second and third 

Saturdays and the last 12 hunting days. 

Clarke County: full season.  

Craig County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

hunting day.  

Culpeper County: full season. 

-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday and the 

last hunting day.  

Cumberland County: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days the second and third 

Saturdays and the last 12 hunting days. 

-Cumberland State Forest: the second and third 

Saturdays. 

Dickenson County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken.  

Dinwiddie County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 12 hunting days.  

Essex County: full season the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days. 

Fairfax County: full season (restricted to certain parcels of 

land by special permit).  

Fauquier County: full season.  

-G. Richard Thompson WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last hunting day.  

-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday and the 

last hunting day.  

Floyd County: full season.  

Fluvanna County: second and third Saturdays and the last 

12 hunting days.  

Franklin County: full season.  

-Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

hunting days.  

-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last six hunting days.  

Frederick County: full season  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Giles County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

hunting day.  

Gloucester County: full season the second, third, and 

fourth Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days. 

Goochland County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 24 hunting days.  

Grayson County: full season.  

-National forest lands and Grayson Highlands State Park: 

the last hunting day antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken. 
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Greene County: full season. 

Greensville County: full season.  

Halifax County: full season.  

Hanover County: full season. 

Henrico County: full season. 

Henry County: full season the second and third Saturdays 

and the last 12 hunting days. 

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 

Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

hunting days.  

-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last six hunting days.  

Highland County: the second Saturday and the last hunting 

day.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

hunting day.  

Isle of Wight County: full season.  

-Ragged Island WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 

be taken.  

James City County: full season. 

King and Queen County: full season the second, third, and 

fourth Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days. 

King George County: full season the second, third, and 

fourth Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days. 

King William County: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days. 

Lancaster County: full season.  

Lee County: the second Saturday and the last two hunting 

days.  

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 

be taken.  

Loudoun County: full season.  

Louisa County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and 

the last 24 hunting days.  

Lunenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 12 hunting days.  

Madison County: full season. 

-Rapidan WMA: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 24 hunting days. 

Mathews County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and last 24 hunting days. 

Mecklenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 12 hunting days.  

-Dick Cross WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six hunting days. 

Middlesex County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and last 24 hunting days.  

Montgomery County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

hunting day.  

Nelson County (east of Route 151): the second, third, and 

fourth Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days.  

-James River WMA: the second Saturday and the last six 

hunting days.  

Nelson County (west of Route 151): full season.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

New Kent County: full season. 

Northampton County: full season the second, third, and 

fourth Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days. 

Northumberland County: full season. 

Nottoway County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 24 hunting days the second and third Saturdays 

and the last 12 hunting days. 

Orange County: full season. 

Page County: the second Saturday and the last two hunting 

days.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Patrick County: full season the second and third Saturdays 

and the last 12 hunting days. 

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 

Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

hunting days.  

Pittsylvania County: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days.  

-White Oak Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last hunting day.  

Powhatan County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 24 hunting days the second and third Saturdays 

and the last 12 hunting days. 

-Powhatan WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six hunting days. 

Prince Edward County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 12 hunting days.  

-Briery Creek WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six hunting days. 

-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days. 

-Prince Edward State Forest: the second and third 

Saturdays.  

Prince George County: full season. 

Prince William County: full season.  

Pulaski County: full season. 
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-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

hunting day.  

Rappahannock County: full season. 

Richmond County: full season. 

Roanoke County: full season.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 

Saturday and the last hunting day.  

Rockbridge County: the second Saturday and the last two 

hunting days.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

hunting day.  

Rockingham County: the second Saturday and the last six 

hunting days.  

-National forest lands and private lands west of Routes 

613 and 731: the last hunting day.  

Russell County: the second Saturday and the last two 

hunting days.  

-Clinch Mountain WMA, Hidden Valley WMA, and the 

Channels State Forest: the last hunting day antlered 

bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers 

above the hairline may be taken. 

Scott County: the second Saturday and the last six hunting 

days.  

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 

be taken.  

Shenandoah County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Smyth County: the second Saturday and the last six 

hunting days.  

-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, and 

Hungry Mother State Park: the last hunting day antlered 

bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers 

above the hairline may be taken. 

Southampton County: full season.  

Spotsylvania County: full season the second, third, and 

fourth Saturdays and the last 24 hunting days. 

Stafford County: full season.  

Suffolk (City of): full season. 

Surry County: full season.  

-Carlisle Tract of the Hog Island WMA: antlered bucks 

only—no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above 

the hairline may be taken.  

Sussex County: full season.  

Tazewell County: the second Saturday and the last two 

hunting days.  

-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, and 

Hidden Valley WMA: the last hunting day antlered bucks 

only—no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above 

the hairline may be taken. 

Virginia Beach (City of): full season.  

Warren County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Washington County: the second Saturday and the last six 

hunting days.  

-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, Hidden 

Valley WMA, and the Channels State Forest: the last 

hunting day antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. 

Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Westmoreland County: full season. 

Wise County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. 

Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken.  

Wythe County: full season. 

-National forest lands and Big Survey WMA: the second 

Saturday and the last hunting day.  

York County: full season.  

B. Except as provided in the subsection A of this section, 

deer of either sex may be taken full season during the general 

firearms deer season within the incorporated limits of any city 

or town, state park, national wildlife refuge, or military 

installation that allows deer hunting.  

4VAC15-90-231. Validating tags and checking deer by 

licensee or permittee.  

A. Any person killing a deer shall, before removing the 

carcass from the place of kill, validate an appropriate tag on 

his special license for hunting bear, deer, and turkey, bonus 

deer permit, or special permit by completely removing the 

designated notch area from the tag. Place of kill shall be 

defined as the location where the animal is first reduced to 

possession. It shall be unlawful for any person to validate 

(notch) a deer tag from any special license for hunting bear, 

deer, and turkey, bonus deer permit, or special permit prior to 

the killing of a deer. A deer tag that is mistakenly validated 

(notched) prior to the killing of a deer must be immediately 

voided by the licensee or permittee by writing, in ink, the 

word "VOID" on the line provided on the license tag.  

B. Upon killing a deer and validating (notching) a license 

tag, bonus deer permit or special permit, as provided above, 

the licensee or permittee shall, upon vehicle transport of the 

carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting hours, whichever 

occurs first, and without unnecessary delay, present the 

carcass and validated (notched) license tag, bonus deer permit 

or special permit to an authorized checking station or to an 

appropriate representative of the department in the county or 

adjoining county in which the deer was killed or report the 

kill through the department's automated harvest reporting 

system. All deer killed after the first Saturday in January (as 

prescribed in 4VAC15-90-22 and 4VAC15-90-70) must be 

checked by telephone or Internet. At such time, the person 

checking or reporting the carcass will be given a game check 
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card furnished by the department or a confirmation number 

from the automated reporting system. The successful hunter 

shall then immediately record the game check card number or 

confirmation number, in ink, on the line provided on the tag 

that was validated (notched) in the field. If checked at a big 

game check station, the game check card must be kept in 

possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If 

the carcass is left unattended, the game check card must be 

securely attached to the carcass. If the kill is reported using 

the automated harvest reporting system, no check card is 

required as long as the hunter who killed the animal is in 

possession of the carcass. If the automated harvest reported 

carcass is left unattended or transferred to the possession of 

another individual, written documentation including the 

successful hunter's full name, the date the animal was killed, 

and the confirmation number must be created and kept in 

possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If 

the carcass is left unattended, this written documentation 

must be securely attached to the carcass. Processed carcass 

parts of a deer killed legally in Virginia may be transported; 

however, upon request of any authorized law enforcement 

officer, sufficient verbal or written information necessary to 

properly establish legal possession must be furnished 

immediately. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

of the sex of any deer killed unless and until the license tag, 

bonus deer permit or special permit is validated (notched) and 

checked as required by this section. Successful deer hunters 

are allowed to dismember the carcass to pack it out from the 

place of kill, after an appropriate license tag has been 

validated (notched) as required above, as long as they do not 

destroy the identity of the sex and all the parts of the carcass 

are present when the deer is checked at a big game check 

station or reported through the automated harvest reporting 

system. Any deer found in the possession of any person 

without a validated (notched) license tag or documentation 

that the deer has been checked (via a big game check station 

or the automated harvest reporting system) as required by this 

section shall be forfeited to the Commonwealth to be 

disposed of as provided by law. 

D. Upon killing a deer within an area designated by the 

department for deer disease management and on days 

designated by the department, the licensee or permittee shall 

present the carcass, on the day of kill, at a location designated 

by the department for the purposes of disease surveillance or 

biological monitoring. 

4VAC15-90-241. Checking deer by persons exempt from 

license requirement or holding a license authorization 

number.  

A. Upon killing a deer, any person (i) exempt from license 

requirement as prescribed in § 29.1-301 of the Code of 

Virginia, (ii) issued a complimentary license as prescribed in 

§ 29.1-339 of the Code of Virginia, (iii) holding a permanent 

license issued pursuant to § 29.1-301 E of the Code of 

Virginia, or (iv) holding a Virginia license authorization 

number issued by a telephone or electronic media agent 

pursuant to § 29.1-327 B of the Code of Virginia shall, upon 

vehicle transport of the carcass or at the conclusion of legal 

hunting hours, whichever occurs first, and without 

unnecessary delay, present the carcass to an authorized 

checking station or to any appropriate representative of the 

department in the county or adjoining county in which the 

deer was killed or report the kill through the department's 

automated harvest reporting system. All deer killed after the 

first Saturday in January (as prescribed in 4VAC15-90-22 and 

4VAC15-90-70) must be checked by telephone or Internet. At 

such time, the person checking or reporting the carcass shall 

be given a game check card furnished by the department or a 

confirmation number from the automated reporting system. If 

checked at a big game check station, the game check card 

must be kept in possession with the carcass until the carcass 

is processed. If the carcass is left unattended, the game check 

card must be securely attached to the carcass. If the kill is 

reported using the automated harvest reporting system, the 

successful hunter shall immediately create written 

documentation including the successful hunter's full name, 

the date the animal was killed, and the confirmation number. 

This written documentation must be kept in possession with 

the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the automated 

harvest reported carcass is transferred to the possession of 

another individual, the written documentation must be 

transferred with the carcass to the individual and kept in 

possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If 

the carcass is left unattended, this written documentation 

must be securely attached to the carcass. Processed carcass 

parts of a deer killed legally in Virginia may be transported; 

however, upon request of any authorized law enforcement 

officer, sufficient verbal or written information necessary to 

properly establish legal possession must be furnished 

immediately.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

(sex) of any deer killed until the deer is checked as required 

by this section. Successful deer hunters are allowed to 

dismember the carcass to pack it out from the place of kill as 

long at they do not destroy the identity of the sex and all the 

parts of the carcass are present when the deer is checked at a 

big game check station or reported through the automated 

harvest reporting system. Any deer that has not been checked 

(via a big game check station or the automated harvest 

reporting system) as required by this section found in the 

possession of any person exempt from license requirements 

or holding a license authorization number shall be forfeited to 

the Commonwealth to be disposed of as provided by law.  

C. Upon killing a deer within an area designated by the 

department for deer disease management and on days 

designated by the department, the hunter shall present the 

carcass, on the same day the deer was killed, at a location 

designated by the department for the purposes of deer disease 

surveillance or biological monitoring. 
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4VAC15-90-260. Hunting with dogs prohibited in certain 

counties and areas.  

A. Generally. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs in 

the counties of Amherst (west of U.S. Route 29) Business 

U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection with U.S. 29 

just south of the Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 

29 to the Tye River), Bedford, Campbell (west of Norfolk 

Southern Railroad, and in the City of Lynchburg), Fairfax, 

Franklin, Henry, Loudoun, Nelson (west of Route 151), 

Northampton, Patrick and Pittsylvania (west of Norfolk 

Southern Railroad); and on the Amelia, Chester F. Phelps, G. 

Richard Thompson and Pettigrew Wildlife Management 

Areas, except that tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of 

the Code of Virginia may be used.  

B. Special provision for Greene and Madison counties. It 

shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during the first 12 

hunting days in the counties of Greene and Madison, except 

that tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used.  

4VAC15-90-293. Chronic Wasting Disease deer carcass 

importation movement restrictions.  

A. For the purposes of this section and in 4VAC15-40-285 

and 4VAC15-90-294: 

"Cervid" means any member of the deer family Cervidae, 

including but not limited to white-tailed deer, fallow deer, 

sika deer, elk, and reindeer. 

A. B. No person shall import or possess any carcass or part 

of a carcass of any member of the family Cervidae (deer) 

originating from any area designated by the department as a 

carcass-restriction zone in or adjacent to a state or Canadian 

province in which Chronic Wasting Disease has been found 

in free-ranging or captive deer, except that the following 

carcass parts may be imported and possessed:  

1. Boned-out meat that is cut and wrapped;  

2. Quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the 

spinal column or skull attached;  

3. Hides or capes with no skull attached;  

4. Clean (no meat or tissue attached) skull plates with 

antlers attached;  

5. Antlers (with no meat or tissue attached);  

6. Upper canine teeth (buglers, whistlers, or ivories); and  

7. Finished taxidermy products.  

A legible label shall be affixed to packages or containers 

containing the allowed carcass parts bearing the following 

information: the species of animal, the state or province from 

where the animal originated, and the name and address of the 

person who killed or owned the animal.  

B. C. Any person who imports into Virginia any deer 

carcass or parts described in subsection A of this section and 

is notified that the animal has tested positive for Chronic 

Wasting Disease must report the test results to the department 

within 72 hours of receiving the notification. In order to 

facilitate the proper disposal of any infected material, the 

department may take into possession any imported carcass or 

carcass part of an animal if the animal has tested positive for 

Chronic Wasting Disease.  

D. No person shall transport any carcass or part of a carcass 

of any cervid out of any area designated by the department as 

a disease containment area, except that the carcass parts 

enumerated in subsection B of this section may be 

transported, and carcasses or parts may be transported directly 

to locations designated by the department, provided that such 

carcasses or parts are transported without unnecessary delay 

and secured within a vehicle or vehicles during transit. 

Provisions of this section shall not apply to employees of the 

department or another government agency working in an 

official disease investigation capacity. 

4VAC15-90-294. Rehabilitation of cervids.  

A. For the purposes of this section: 

"Juvenile" means any cervid less than one year of age on 

December 31 of the current calendar year. 

"Adult" means any cervid greater than one year of age on 

December 31 of the current calendar year. 

B. No person permitted by the department to rehabilitate 

cervids may transport, possess, rehabilitate, or release adult 

cervids.  

C. Juvenile cervids requiring continued rehabilitation 

beyond December 31 of the current calendar year shall not be 

transported, possessed, released, or rehabilitated without 

written authorization from the department.  

D. Cervids that originate within an area designated by the 

department for disease management shall not be transported 

or possessed for the purposes of rehabilitation. If such a 

cervid is brought to a rehabilitator permitted by the 

department, the permittee shall hold the cervid in isolation 

and immediately notify the department.  

E. Cervids from any county (including the cities and towns 

therein) containing an area designated by the department for 

cervid disease management may be rehabilitated and released 

in the county of origin only if the cervid originated from a 

portion of the county outside the disease management area. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3721; Filed May 1, 2013, 6:33 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-110. Game: Fox (repealing 

4VAC15-110-75).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 13, 2013 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: May 31, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 
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Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment repeals the existing section 

governing live trapping of fox for foxhound training 

preserves. The conditions for a permit to operate a 

foxhound training preserve are proposed in 4VAC15-290-

160.  

4VAC15-110-75. Foxhound training preserves; live-

trapping for release. (Repealed.) 

It shall be lawful for any foxhound training preserve 

permittee or those licensed trappers designated in writing by 

the permittee to live-trap and transport red (Vulpes vulpes) 

and gray (Urocyon cinereoargenteus) foxes from September 1 

through the last day of February, both dates inclusive, only 

for the purpose of stocking foxhound training preserves 

covered by permits authorized by the board and issued by the 

department For the purpose of this section, foxes may be live-

trapped on private land with landowner permission or on 

public lands designated by the department. For the purpose of 

this section, foxes may be live-trapped and transported within 

the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3722; Filed May 1, 2013, 1:51 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-170. Game: Otter (amending 

4VAC15-170-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 13, 2013 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: May 31, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment increases the season bag limit in 

all counties west of the Blue Ridge Mountains from two to 

four otters per trapper. 

4VAC15-170-20. Open season for trapping; season bag 

limit west of the Blue Ridge Mountains.  

A. It shall be lawful to trap otter from December 1 through 

the last day of February, both dates inclusive.  

B. The season bag limit for trapping otter shall be two four 

per trapper in counties west of the Blue Ridge Mountains. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3723; Filed May 1, 2013, 11:00 a.m.  

 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-230. Game: Squirrel 

(amending 4VAC15-230-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 13, 2013 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: May 31, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment extends the squirrel hunting 

season through the end of February. 

4VAC15-230-20. Gray and red squirrel. Season; 

generally.  

Except as otherwise provided by local legislation and with 

the specific exceptions provided in the sections appearing in 

this chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt squirrel from the first 

Saturday in September through January 31 the last day in 

February, both dates inclusive.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3724; Filed May 1, 2013, 10:52 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-240. Game: Turkey 

(amending 4VAC15-240-40, 4VAC15-240-51, 4VAC15-

240-60).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 13, 2013 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: May 31, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) allow apprentice hunting 

license holders to hunt on youth spring and fall turkey 

hunting days and (ii) eliminate a provision pertaining to 

physical disabilities that was rendered obsolete by the 

establishment of hunting with crossbows. 

4VAC15-240-40. Open season; spring season for bearded 

turkeys. 

A. Except as otherwise provided in this section, it shall be 

lawful to hunt bearded turkeys from the second Saturday in 

April and for 30 consecutive hunting days following, both 

dates inclusive, from 1/2 hour before sunrise to 12:00 noon 
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prevailing time during the first 19 hunting days and from 

1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset during the last 12 hunting 

days of the spring season. 

B. Turkey hunters 15 years of age and under and holders of 

an apprentice hunting license may hunt on the first Saturday 

in April from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset, when in 

compliance with applicable license requirements and when 

accompanied and directly supervised by an adult who has a 

valid Virginia hunting license on his person or an adult that is 

exempt from purchasing a hunting license. Adult hunters 

accompanying youth hunters or apprentice license holders on 

this day may assist with calling but they shall not carry or 

discharge weapons.  

C. Bearded turkeys may be hunted by calling. 

D. It shall be unlawful to use dogs or organized drives for 

the purpose of hunting. 

E. It shall be unlawful to use or have in possession any shot 

larger than number 2 fine shot when hunting turkeys with a 

shotgun. 

4VAC15-240-51. Youth and apprentice hunter fall turkey 

hunt hunting day. 

In counties, cities, and areas with a fall turkey season, 

hunters 15 years of age and under and holders of an 

apprentice hunting license may hunt turkey on the third 

Saturday in October when in compliance with applicable 

license requirements and when accompanied and directly 

supervised by an adult who has a valid Virginia hunting 

license on his person or is exempt from purchasing a hunting 

license. Adult hunters accompanying youth hunters or 

apprentice license holders on this day may assist with calling 

turkey but they shall not carry or discharge weapons. 

4VAC15-240-60. Bow and arrow hunting.  

A. Season. It shall be lawful to hunt turkey with bow and 

arrow in those counties and areas open to fall turkey hunting 

from the first Saturday in October through the Saturday prior 

to the second Monday in November, both dates inclusive.  

B. Bag limit. The daily and seasonal bag limit for hunting 

turkey with bow and arrow shall be the same as permitted 

during the general turkey season in those counties and areas 

open to fall turkey hunting, and any turkey taken shall apply 

toward the total season bag limit.  

C. Carrying firearms prohibited. It shall be unlawful to carry 

firearms while hunting with bow and arrow during special 

archery season.  

D. Requirements for bow and arrow. Arrows used for 

hunting turkey must have a minimum width head of 7/8 of an 

inch, and the bow used for such hunting must be capable of 

casting a broadhead arrow a minimum of 125 yards.  

E. Use of dogs prohibited during bow season. It shall be 

unlawful to use dogs when hunting with bow and arrow from 

the first Saturday in October through the Saturday prior to the 

second Monday in November, both dates inclusive.  

F. It shall be lawful for persons with permanent physical 

disabilities, who are in full compliance with the requirements 

of 4VAC15-40-20 B, to hunt turkey subject to the provisions 

of subsections A through E of this section. For the purpose of 

the application of subsections A through E to this subsection 

the phrase "bow and arrow" includes crossbow.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3725; Filed May 1, 2013, 10:33 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-270. Game: Firearms 

(amending 4VAC15-270-10, 4VAC15-270-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501, 29.1-502, and 29.1-528 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 13, 2013 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: May 31, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) prohibit the use of air rifles 

for bear and deer hunting and (ii) provide a model 

ordinance provision that counties and cities may use to 

allow hunting of coyotes with rifles larger than .22 caliber 

rim fire between March 1 and August 31. 

4VAC15-270-10. Size rifles for hunting bear and deer.  

It shall be unlawful to use a rifle of a calibre caliber less 

than 23 for the hunting or killing of bear and deer. Rifles 

must use an explosive propellant; pneumatic (air or gas) rifles 

are prohibited.  

4VAC15-270-90. Model ordinances related to hunting 

with firearms for counties and cities. 

Per the provisions of § 29.1-528 A of the Code of Virginia, 

the following model ordinances related to hunting with 

firearms may be adopted by counties and cities. In accordance 

with § 29.1-528 B of the Code of Virginia, no such ordinance 

shall be enforceable unless the governing body of the locality 

notifies the director by registered mail prior to May 1 of the 

year in which the ordinance is to take effect. 

Model Ordinance 1:  

It shall be unlawful to hunt with a rifle larger than .22 

caliber rim fire. 

Any person who violates the provisions of this ordinance 

shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

Model Ordinance 2: 

It shall be unlawful to hunt with a rifle larger than .22 

caliber rim fire, except rifles of a larger caliber may be 

used for hunting groundhogs and coyotes between March 

1 - August 31. Any person who violates the provisions of 

this ordinance shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 
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Model Ordinance 3: 

It shall be unlawful to hunt with a rifle larger than .22 

caliber rim fire, except rifles of a larger caliber may be 

used to hunt from a stand elevated at least 10 feet from 

the ground. Any person who violates the provisions of 

this ordinance shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

Model Ordinance 4: 

Muzzleloading rifles may only be used to hunt from a 

stand elevated at least 10 feet from the ground. Any 

person who violates the provisions of this ordinance shall 

be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

Model Ordinance 5:  

Muzzleloading rifles firing a single projectile may not be 

used to hunt between April 1 - May 31. Any person who 

violates the provisions of this ordinance shall be guilty of 

a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

Model Ordinance 6: 

It shall be unlawful to hunt with shotguns loaded with 

slugs. Any person who violates the provisions of this 

ordinance shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

Model Ordinance 7: 

It shall be unlawful to engage in hunting with a firearm 

within the right-of-way of any primary or secondary 

highway. Any person who violates the provisions of this 

ordinance shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

Model Ordinance 8: 

It shall be unlawful to engage in hunting with a firearm 

within 100 yards of any primary or secondary highway. 

Any person who violates the provisions of this ordinance 

shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3726; Filed May 1, 2013, 11:39 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-290. Game: Permits 

(amending 4VAC15-290-60; adding 4VAC15-290-150, 

4VAC15-290-160).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 

Virginia (4VAC15-290-60, 4VAC15-290-150).  

§§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia 

(4VAC15-290-160). 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 13, 2013 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: May 31, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments establish (i) standards for 

elementary and secondary school teachers to possess and 

display wildlife without a permit to exhibit wildlife and (ii) 

requirements for a permit to operate a foxhound training 

preserve. 

4VAC15-290-60. Holding wild animals for exhibition 

purposes.  

A. Where an exhibit is educational and purposeful in nature, 

wild animals may be exhibited with a permit provided for in 

§ 29.1-417 of the Code of Virginia, under such restrictions 

and conditions as the board may prescribe.  

B. Elementary or secondary school teachers may possess 

and display wildlife for educational purposes without a permit 

to exhibit wildlife, provided that: 

1. Notification of the display is made to the department by 

mail to Permits Section, VDGIF, P.O. Box 11104, 

Richmond, VA 23230-1104. This notification shall be 

made within 48 hours of the beginning of the display, shall 

be updated any time that additional wildlife is added to the 

display, and shall include: 

a. Number and species of wildlife held for display; 

b. Physical address of the location of the display; and 

c. Duration for which the display is intended to be 

maintained.  

2. Species allowed to be possessed and displayed pursuant 

to this subsection shall be limited to those species included 

in the List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, 

which is incorporated by reference in 4VAC15-20. In 

addition, in no case shall the following species be 

possessed and displayed without a permit to exhibit 

wildlife: 

a. Those species for which a permit is required by 

4VAC15-30-40. 

b. Fur-bearing animals as defined in § 29.1-100 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

c. Those species defined as nonnative or exotic animals 

pursuant to 4VAC15-20-50. 

d. Federal and state threatened and endangered species 

pursuant to 4VAC15-20-130. 

e. Nuisance species designated by § 29.1-100 of the Code 

of Virginia or 4VAC15-20-160, or nonindigenous 

aquatic nuisance species designated by § 29.1-571 of the 

Code of Virginia or 4VAC15-20-210. 

f. Predatory or undesirable animals or birds for which a 

permit is required by 4VAC15-30-20.  

3. Any person bitten by mammalian wildlife must report 

the injury to the local health department. The offending 

animal must be segregated and housed separately from 

other animals and humans until the health department is 

notified.  

4. Wildlife must be confined under sanitary and humane 

conditions that are appropriate for the species in captivity. 

All cages and enclosures shall be locked at all times when 
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wildlife is not under the immediate control or direct 

supervision of the handler to prevent wildlife escape and 

unauthorized contact with individuals.  

5. No wildlife held, possessed, or displayed may be 

released for any purpose without the written authorization 

of the department. 

6. The department shall be notified within 24 hours of an 

instance of wildlife sickness or disease or in the event of an 

escape.  

7. Teachers possessing and displaying wildlife for 

educational purposes in accordance with this section shall 

comply with all other local, state, and federal laws and 

regulations pertaining to species possessed and displayed.  

4VAC15-290-150. (Reserved.) 

4VAC15-290-160. Foxhound training preserves. 

A. A permit shall be required for the operation of a 

foxhound training preserve in the Commonwealth. The 

director or his designee may issue, deny, renew, modify, 

suspend, and revoke permits for the operation of foxhound 

training preserves. Permit requirements shall include, but not 

be limited to: 

1. Application requirements, including: 

a. Operator information, including name, date of birth, 

address, phone number, and email address, as well as an 

indication as to whether the operator has previously been 

convicted of any federal or state wildlife law or 

regulation violation and, if so, a description of such 

conviction. 

b. Preserve information, including whether the preserve 

is public or private, the name and location of the 

preserve, the names and addresses of adjacent 

landowners, and the mailing address and phone number 

of the preserve, if different from the operator. 

c. Evidence of the size of the preserve. A 7-1/2 minute 

1:24,000 topographic map or aerial image indicating the 

fenced area shall be provided. For preserves under 150 

acres, or where determined necessary by the department 

to determine compliance with minimum acreage 

requirements, the department shall further require a plat 

of legible scale by a certified land surveyor that shows 

ties to property lines (submeter) and is produced using a 

differential global positioning system capable of 

producing submeter accuracy positioning, which shall be 

reviewed by the department and must indicate that the 

fenced area is 100 acres to an accuracy level of plus or 

minus one acre.  

d. An application fee of $50. 

e. A certification statement by the operator attesting to 

the accuracy of the application and agreeing to 

notification of the department of any change within 30 

days.  

2. Provisions establishing a permit term of one year, after 

which permits may be renewed in accordance with the 

department's permit renewal procedures.  

3. Acreage requirements specifying that each preserve 

must be at least 100 contiguous acres completely fenced. 

Facilities that consist of less than 100 contiguous acres 

permitted prior to (insert effective date of this regulation) 

may remain permitted so long as permit coverage is 

continuously maintained. The map or aerial image of the 

preserve boundaries must be on file with the department, 

and must be updated if any landowner changes, or if 

boundaries are altered.  

4. Fencing requirements sufficient to prevent foxes and 

hounds from entering or escaping the enclosure. These 

requirements may include requirements for double strands 

of barbed wire at the top and electric wire at the bottom of 

the perimeter fencing and at all gates around the preserve, 

or other such fencing as deemed necessary. Such 

requirements shall also require rounded fence corners 

within the enclosure or the use of interior fencing to 

provide dog-proof escape areas at nonrounded fence 

corners.  

5. Habitat and escape cover requirements, including 

adequate natural cover within the enclosure and at least 

one man-made dog-proof escape structure per 20 acres, 

unless greater escape cover is deemed necessary based on 

an inspection of the enclosure. Each escape structure or 

device must offer foxes effective refuge from dogs at all 

times and shall be appropriately distributed throughout the 

enclosure.  

6. Requirements that all persons participating in the 

training of foxhounds in a preserve, unless specifically 

exempted by law, shall have a valid resident or nonresident 

Virginia hunting license, or a nonresident license to hunt 

exclusively in foxhound training preserves. Participants are 

not required to have a hunting license when participating in 

a dog field trial authorized by the department.  

a. Hunting of any species other than foxes is prohibited 

within the preserve unless otherwise provided for by the 

department. 

b. A dog field trial permit shall be required for all field 

trials.  

7. Requirements for training and field trials held within the 

preserve, including:  

a. Hound density restrictions specifying the maximum 

number of dogs that may be trained or participate in field 

trials in the enclosure at any one time. This maximum 

hound density shall not exceed one dog per two acres of 

preserve. When deemed necessary, more restrictive 

hound densities may be required, based on available 

escape cover and past history of hound-related mortality 

events. 
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b. Limits on the number of days per week during which 

training or field trials may occur. Training or field trials 

with foxhound densities exceeding one dog per 10 acres 

shall not be permitted for two days prior to and two days 

after any field trial event and shall be limited to a 

maximum of five days per week.  

c. All dogs training or participating in field trial events 

within the preserve shall be up to date on their rabies 

vaccinations. Proof of rabies vaccination status shall 

consist of a current rabies certificate signed by a licensed 

veterinarian.  

d. No field trial event shall provide for a cash or 

monetary prize to the participants.  

8. Provisions regarding the stocking of the enclosure, 

including: 

a. The purchase of foxes for the purposes of stocking a 

preserve shall be prohibited. However, the time and 

expenses of trappers supplying foxes may be reimbursed, 

so long as a written receipt detailing the amount paid and 

the specific expenses being reimbursed is prepared and 

given to the trapper, with a copy retained by the preserve 

operator. Receipts shall be retained by both parties for 

two years and are subject to inspection by the department 

at any time.  

b. Only wild, live-trapped red (Vulpes vulpes) and gray 

(Urocyon cinereoargenteus) foxes may be released into 

preserves. Foxes may only be trapped for stocking 

purposes within the Commonwealth. No importation of 

foxes from out of state is permitted nor may foxes be 

relocated from one preserve to another, except that foxes 

may be transported from acclimation training enclosures 

to another enclosure of the same operator. Release of 

coyotes into foxhound training preserves is prohibited. 

c. Live-trapped wild foxes may be released only in 

preserves that are operating under a valid permit and are 

open to the public for foxhound training purposes. 

d. Acclimation requirements providing a minimum of 

seven days for foxes to become familiar with available 

food and habitat resources within the enclosure prior to 

any dog training or field trial event and 14 days prior to 

any dog training at hound densities exceeding one dog 

per 10 acres.  

e. All preserves shall provide the necessary habitat to 

meet the food, water, and cover requirements of wild 

foxes.  

f. The department shall be notified of any fox mortality 

or observation of diseased foxes within the preserve. The 

department may require specific health management 

procedures as deemed necessary and may suspend the 

operation of the preserve or halt stocking at any time 

warranted. Inspection and treatment of foxes by a 

licensed veterinarian may be required at the operator's 

expense. In the event of disease outbreaks, costs 

associated with testing, depopulating, cleaning, and 

disinfecting shall be the sole expense of the operator.  

9. Provisions to prevent the ingress of black bears and, as 

deemed appropriate, other wildlife into the enclosure, and 

procedures for reporting the ingress of bears into the 

enclosure and the removal of bears or other wildlife. 

10. Recordkeeping and reporting requirements, including: 

a. Maintenance of a registry of the names, addresses, and 

phone numbers of all hunters training hounds or 

participating in field trials, the dates hunted, and the 

number of dogs per hunt. A separate contact list with the 

complete address and telephone number for each hunter 

may be maintained in lieu of the contact information in 

the registry.  

b. The development and submission of a report to the 

department that includes the number, species (red or 

gray), and source of all foxes trapped and stocked in the 

preserve, including the name and address of each trapper, 

the county of origin of each fox, and the capture and 

release dates of each fox. This report shall be submitted 

by March 15 of each year, and no permit shall be 

renewed if the report is not submitted.  

c. All records shall be kept current and retained for a 

period of two years and are subject to inspection by the 

department at any time.  

11. Provisions allowing for inspections of the enclosure 

and of the permittee's records by the department at the time 

of application, during annual inspections, or at any other 

time. The department may also conduct disease testing of 

transported foxes and wildlife within the enclosure at any 

time.  

12. Such other conditions as may be determined 

appropriate by the department.  

B. The director or his designee may grant variances to the 

requirements of subsection A of this section where it is 

determined by the department that the imposition of a 

requirement would impose an unreasonable burden on the 

operator and that the purposes of the requirement can be 

substantially fulfilled by alternative conditions. Any relief 

granted shall be the minimum necessary, documented in the 

operator's permit, and subject to review by the department at 

each permit renewal.  

C. It shall be lawful for any foxhound training preserve 

permittee, and licensed trappers designated in writing by the 

permittee and approved by the department, to live-trap and 

transport red and gray foxes from September 1 through the 

last day of February, both dates inclusive, only for the 

purpose of stocking foxhound training preserves covered by 

permits issued pursuant to this section. For the purpose of this 

section, foxes may be live-trapped on private lands with 

landowner permission or on public lands designated by the 

department and transported within the Commonwealth, unless 

otherwise specifically prohibited. Trapping expenses may be 
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reimbursed by the preserve owner as provided in this section; 

however, in no case shall the direct sale of foxes or payment 

on a per fox basis be permitted. Except as provided in this 

section, all trapping shall otherwise comply with laws and 

regulations governing trapping. 

1. The preserve operator may designate in writing no more 

than 10 licensed trappers from whom foxes may be 

obtained. Any person convicted of violating any provision 

of state or federal hunting and trapping laws and 

regulations shall not be eligible to supply foxes to 

preserves for at least two years and up to five years 

following the most recent violation. In determining the 

appropriate length of restriction, the department shall take 

into account the nature and severity of the most recent 

violation and any past violation.  

2. All live-trapped foxes must be taken by legal means and 

foxes transported or held for release shall be kept in safe, 

sanitary, and humane conditions with water and food 

available and with protection from the elements.  

3. Foxes may be retained for no more than seven days 

following their capture, and all foxes must be transported 

to the preserve by the final day of the trapping season. 

Records shall be maintained by trappers as to the length of 

time that each fox is retained in their possession and shall 

be subject to inspection by the department at any time.  

D. Failure to comply with the provisions of a permit or the 

requirements of this section or other applicable wildlife laws 

or regulations may result in modification, suspension, or 

revocation of the permit, or denial of a permit application. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3727; Filed May 1, 2013, 2:23 a.m. 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-490. Pertaining to Sharks 

(amending 4VAC20-490-20, 4VAC20-490-42, 4VAC20-

490-44).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 

Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) cross reference the definition of 

"COLREGS Line" with the Code of Regulations; (ii) 

establish the landings quota for May 1, 2013, through 

April 30, 2014, as 4,408,894 pounds; (iii) increase the 

daily trip limit from 3,000 pounds to 3,300 pounds; and 

(iv) modify the limited entry system for the commercial 

spiny dogfish fishery.  

4VAC20-490-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Agent" means any person who possesses the Commercial 

Fisherman Registration License, fishing gear license, or 

fishing permit of a registered commercial fisherman in order 

to fish that commercial fisherman's gear or sell that 

commercial fisherman's harvest. 

"Carcass length" means that length measured in a straight 

line from the anterior edge of the first dorsal fin to the 

posterior end of the shark carcass. 

"COLREGS Line" means the COLREGS Demarcation lines 

Line, as specified defined in Coastal Pilot, 35th and 36th 

editions by Lighthouse Press the Code of Federal Regulations 

(33 CFR 80.510 Chesapeake Bay Entrance, VA). 

"Commercial shark fisherman" means any commercial 

fisherman permitted to land or possess sharks (excluding 

spiny dogfish) that has landed and sold one pound of shark or 

more (excludes spiny dogfish) in that calendar year (January 

1 through December 31). 

"Commercially permitted nonsandbar large coastal shark" 

means any of the following species: 

Blacktip, Carcharhinus limbatus 

Bull, Carcharhinus leucas 

Great hammerhead, Sphyrna mokarran 

Lemon, Negaprion brevirostris 

Nurse, Ginglymostoma cirratum 

Scalloped hammerhead, Sphyrna lewini 

Silky, Carcharhinus falciformis 

Smooth hammerhead, Sphyrna zygaena 

Spinner, Carcharhinus brevipinna  

Tiger, Galeocerdo cuvier 

"Commercially permitted pelagic shark" means any of the 

following species: 

Blue, Prionace glauca 

Oceanic whitetip, Carcharhinus longimanus 

Porbeagle, Lamna nasus 

Shortfin mako, Isurus oxyrinchus 

Thresher, Alopias vulpinus 

"Commercially permitted small coastal shark" means any of 

the following species: 

Atlantic sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon terraenovae 

Blacknose, Carcharhinus acronotus 
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Bonnethead, Sphyrna tiburo 

Finetooth, Carcharhinus isodon 

"Commercially prohibited shark" means any of the 

following species: 

Atlantic angel, Squatina dumeril 

Basking, Cetorhinus maximus 

Bigeye sand tiger, Odontaspis noronhai 

Bigeye sixgill, Hexanchus nakamurai 

Bigeye thresher, Alopias superciliosus 

Bignose, Carcharhinus altimus 

Caribbean reef, Carcharhinus perezii 

Caribbean sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon porosus 

Dusky, Carcharhinus obscurus 

Galapagos, Carcharhinus galapagensis 

Longfin mako, Isurus paucus 

Narrowtooth, Carcharhinus brachyurus 

Night, Carcharhinus signatus 

Sand tiger, Carcharias taurus 

Sevengill, Heptranchias perlo 

Sixgill, Hexanchus griseus 

Smalltail, Carcharhinus porosus 

Whale, Rhincodon typus 

White, Carcharodon carcharias 

"Control rule" means a time-certain date, past, present or 

future, used to establish participation in a limited entry 

fishery and may or may not include specific past harvest 

amounts. 

"Dressed weight" means the result from processing a fish by 

removal of head, viscera, and fins, but does not include 

removal of the backbone, halving, quartering, or otherwise 

further reducing the carcass. 

"Finning" means removing the fins and returning the 

remainder of the shark to the sea. 

"Fork length" means the straight-line measurement of a fish 

from the tip of the snout to the fork of the tail. The 

measurement is not made along the curve of the body. 

"Movable gill net" means any gill net other than a staked gill 

net. 

"Large mesh gill net" means any gill net having a stretched 

mesh equal to or greater than five inches. 

"Longline" means any fishing gear that is set horizontally, 

either anchored, floating or attached to a vessel, and that 

consists of a mainline or groundline, greater than 1,000 feet in 

length, with multiple leaders (gangions) and hooks, whether 

retrieved by hand or mechanical means. 

"Permitted commercial gear" means rod and reel, handlines, 

shark shortlines, small mesh gill nets, large mesh gill nets, 

pound nets, and weirs. 

"Recreational shore angler" means a person not fishing from 

a vessel nor transported to or from a fishing location by a 

vessel. 

"Recreational vessel angler" means a person fishing from a 

vessel or transported to or from a fishing location by a vessel. 

"Recreationally permitted shark" means any of the following 

species:  

Atlantic sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon terraenovae 

Blacknose, Carcharhinus acronotus 

Blacktip, Carcharhinus limbatus 

Blue, Prionace glauca 

Bonnethead, Sphyrna tiburo 

Bull, Carcharhinus leucas 

Finetooth, Carcharhinus isodon 

Great hammerhead, Sphyrna mokarran 

Lemon, Negaprion brevirostris 

Nurse, Ginglymostoma cirratum 

Oceanic whitetip, Carcharhinus longimanus 

Porbeagle, Lamna nasus 

Scalloped hammerhead, Sphyrna lewini 

Shortfin mako, Isurus oxyrinchus 

Smooth dogfish, Mustelus canis 

Smooth hammerhead, Sphyrna zygaena 

Spinner, Carcharhinus brevipinna  

Thresher, Alopias vulpinus 

Tiger, Galeocerdo cuvier  

"Recreationally prohibited shark" means any of the 

following species: 

Atlantic angel, Squatina dumeril 

Basking, Cetorhinus maximus 

Bigeye sand tiger, Odontaspis noronhai 

Bigeye sixgill, Hexanchus nakamurai 

Bigeye thresher, Alopias superciliosus 

Bignose, Carcharhinus altimus 

Caribbean reef, Carcharhinus perezii 

Caribbean sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon porosus 

Dusky, Carcharhinus obscurus 

Galapagos, Carcharhinus galapagensis 

Longfin mako, Isurus paucus 

Narrowtooth, Carcharhinus brachyurus 

Night, Carcharhinus signatus 

Sand tiger, Carcharias taurus 

Sandbar, Carcharhinus plumbeus 

Sevengill, Heptranchias perlo 

Silky, Carcharhinus falciformis 
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Sixgill, Hexanchus griseus 

Smalltail, Carcharhinus porosus 

Whale, Rhincodon typus 

White, Carcharodon carcharias 

"Research only shark" means any of the following species: 

Sandbar, Carcharhinus plumbeus 

"Shark shortline" means a fish trotline that is set 

horizontally, either anchored, floating or attached to a vessel, 

and that consists of a mainline or groundline, 1,000 feet in 

length or less, with multiple leaders (gangions) and no more 

than 50 corrodible circle hooks, whether retrieved by hand or 

mechanical means. 

"Small mesh gill net" means any gill net having a stretched 

mesh less than five inches. 

"Smooth dogfish" means any shark of the species Mustelus 

canis. 

"Spiny dogfish" means any shark of the species Squalus 

acanthias. 

4VAC20-490-42. Spiny dogfish commercial quota and 

catch limitations.  

A. For the 12-month period of May 1, 2012 May 1, 2013, 

through April 30, 2013 April 30, 2014, the spiny dogfish 

commercial landings quota shall be limited to 3,764,732 

4,408,894 pounds. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, possess aboard 

any vessel or land in Virginia any spiny dogfish harvested 

from federal waters for commercial purposes after it has been 

announced that the federal quota for spiny dogfish has been 

taken. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, possess aboard 

any vessel or land in Virginia more than 3,000 3,300 pounds 

of spiny dogfish per day for commercial purposes. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or to land in 

Virginia any spiny dogfish for commercial purposes after the 

quota specified in subsection A of this section has been 

landed and announced as such. 

E. Any spiny dogfish harvested from state waters or federal 

waters, for commercial purposes, shall only be sold to a 

federally permitted dealer. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive 

any spiny dogfish after any commercial harvest or landing 

quota described in this section has been attained and 

announced as such. 

4VAC20-490-44. Spiny dogfish limited entry fishery 

permit and permit transfers. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, possess, 

or land any spiny dogfish without first having obtained a 

spiny dogfish limited entry fishery permit from the Marine 

Resources Commission. Such permit shall be completed in 

full by the permittee who shall keep a copy of that permit in 

his possession while fishing for or selling spiny dogfish. 

Permits shall only be issued to Virginia registered 

commercial fishermen meeting either of the following criteria 

described in subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection: 

1. Shall have documented on Virginia mandatory harvest 

reporting forms (i) harvest from a legally licensed, 

movable gill net for an average of at least 60 days from 

2006 through 2008, and (ii) a minimum harvest of one 

pound of spiny dogfish at any time from 2006 through 

2008, and (iii) harvest of at least one pound of spiny 

dogfish from May 1, 2010, through April 30, 2012, on 

Virginia mandatory harvest reporting forms. 

2. Shall have documented on Virginia mandatory reporting 

forms (i) harvests that total greater than 10,000 pounds of 

spiny dogfish in any one year from 2006 through 2008, and 

(ii) harvest of at least one pound of spiny dogfish from 

May 1, 2010, through April 30, 2012, on Virginia 

mandatory harvest reporting forms. 

3. B. Any smooth dogfish or unidentified dogfish 

documented on Virginia mandatory reporting forms as 

harvested during the months of November through February, 

2006 through 2008, shall be classified as spiny dogfish when 

determining eligibility for a Spiny Dogfish Limited Entry 

Fishery Permit as described in subdivisions A 1 and A 2 of 

this subsection section. 

B. C. It is unlawful to transfer any spiny dogfish limited 

entry fishery permit after November 23, 2009. 

C. D. The use of agents in the spiny dogfish fishery is 

prohibited. 

D. E. The commissioner or his designee may grant 

exceptions to the prohibition against transfers of the spiny 

dogfish limited entry fishery permit as described in 

subsection B C of this section to any individual who meets 

any of the following criteria: 

1. Demonstrates a significant hardship on the basis of 

health and provides the commissioner documentation, by 

an attending physician, of the medical condition.  

2. Demonstrates a significant hardship on the basis of a call 

to active military duty and provides the commissioner an 

explanation, in writing, and copy of the military orders for 

active duty. 

3. Documents the retirement or death of the immediate 

family member permitted for the spiny dogfish limited 

entry fishery and possessing a legal Commercial 

Fisherman Registration License. 

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name to access the 

form. The form is also available from the agency contact or 

may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 

General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 
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FORMS (4VAC20-490) 

Mandatory Harvest Reporting Form, MR 560001 (rev. 

1/13). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3677; Filed April 29, 2013, 1:44 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-900. Pertaining to Horseshoe 

Crab (amending 4VAC20-900-21, 4VAC20-900-25).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 

Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

These amendments establish mesh size and twine size 

specifications for gill nets harvesting horseshoe crabs.  

4VAC20-900-21. License requirements and exemption. 

A. The taking by hand of as many as five horseshoe crabs in 

any one day for personal use only shall be exempt from the 

licensing requirements. 

B. Except as provided for in 4VAC20-900-25 G 3, it shall 

be unlawful for any boat or vessel to land horseshoe crabs in 

Virginia for commercial purposes without first obtaining a 

either type of horseshoe crab endorsement license as 

described in this section. The horseshoe crab endorsement 

license shall be required of each boat or vessel used to land 

horseshoe crabs for commercial purposes. Possession of any 

quantity of horseshoe crabs that exceeds the limit described in 

subsection A of this section shall be presumed for 

commercial purposes. There shall be no fee for the license. 

C. To be eligible for an unrestricted horseshoe crab 

endorsement license, the boat or vessel shall have landed and 

sold at least 500 horseshoe crabs in Virginia in at least one 

year during the period 1998 through 2000, except as 

described in subsection D of this section. 

1. The owner shall complete an application for each boat or 

vessel by providing to the Marine Resources Commission 

a notarized and signed statement of the applicant's name, 

address, and telephone number, and boat or vessel name, 

and its registration or documentation number. 

2. The owner shall complete a notarized authorization to 

allow the Marine Resources Commission to obtain copies 

of landings data from the National Marine Fisheries 

Service. 

D. To be eligible for a restricted horseshoe crab 

endorsement license that is limited to using a crab dredge to 

harvest horseshoe crabs, a Virginia registered commercial 

fisherman's boat or vessel shall have landed at least 10,000 

pounds of whelk in any one year from 2002 through 2005. 

1. The Virginia registered commercial fisherman shall 

complete an application for each boat or vessel by 

providing to the Marine Resources Commission a 

notarized and signed statement of the applicant's name, 

address, and telephone number, and boat or vessel name, 

and its registration or documentation number. 

2. The Virginia registered commercial fisherman shall 

complete a notarized authorization to allow the Marine 

Resources Commission to obtain copies of whelk landings 

data from the National Marine Fisheries Service. 

E. To be eligible for a horseshoe crab hand harvester permit, 

the individual shall have been issued a horseshoe crab hand 

harvester permit, prior to the license moratorium of May 1, 

2011, and shall have documented on Virginia mandatory 

harvest reporting forms a minimum harvest of one horseshoe 

crab by hand harvest methods, at any time from 1993 through 

2010. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any registered commercial 

fisherman or seafood landing licensee who does not possess 

any type of a valid horseshoe crab endorsement license or 

horseshoe crab hand harvester permit to possess horseshoe 

crabs, without first obtaining a valid horseshoe crab bycatch 

permit from the Marine Resources Commission. 

4VAC20-900-25. Commercial fisheries management 

measures.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest horseshoe 

crabs from any shore or tidal waters of Virginia within 1,000 

feet in any direction of the mean low water line from May 1 

through June 7. The harvests of horseshoe crabs for 

biomedical use shall not be subject to this limitation. 

B. From January 1 through June 7 of each year, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to land, in Virginia, any horseshoe 

crab harvested from federal waters. 

C. Harvests for biomedical purposes shall require a special 

permit issued by the Commissioner of Marine Resources, and 

all crabs taken pursuant to such permit shall be returned to the 

same waters from which they were collected. 

D. The commercial quota of horseshoe crab for 2013 shall 

be 172,828 horseshoe crabs. Additional quantities of 

horseshoe crab may be transferred to Virginia by other 

jurisdictions, in accordance with the provisions of Addendum 

I to the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission Fishery 

Management Plan for Horseshoe Crab, April 2000, provided 

that the combined total of the commercial quota and transfer 

from other jurisdictions shall not exceed 355,000 horseshoe 

crabs. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest from 

Virginia waters, or to land in Virginia, any horseshoe crab for 

commercial purposes after any calendar-year commercial 

quota of horseshoe crab has been attained and announced as 

such. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or land 

horseshoe crabs during any calendar year, from waters east of 

the COLREGS line by any gear after 81,331 male horseshoe 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86237003677~1&typ=40&actno=003677&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86237003677~1&typ=40&actno=003677&mime=application/pdf
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crabs have been landed and announced as such, to also 

include and the following provisions shall also apply: 

1. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or land any 

female horseshoe crabs from waters east of the COLREGS 

line. 

2. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or land any 

amount of horseshoe crabs from waters east of the 

COLREGS line by any gear, except for trawl or dredge 

gear. 

F. For the purposes of this regulation, no horseshoe crab 

shall be considered a male horseshoe crab unless it possesses 

at least one modified, hook-like appendage as its first pair of 

walking legs. 

G. Limitations on the daily harvest and possession of 

horseshoe crabs for any vessel described below are as 

follows: 

1. It shall be unlawful for any person who holds a valid 

unrestricted horseshoe crab endorsement license, as 

described in 4VAC20-900-21 C, to possess aboard any 

vessel or to land any number of horseshoe crabs in excess 

of 2,500, except that when it is projected and announced 

that 80% of the commercial quota is taken, it shall be 

unlawful for any person who meets the requirements of 

4VAC20-900-21 C and holds a valid horseshoe crab 

endorsement license to possess aboard any vessel in 

Virginia any number of horseshoe crabs in excess of 1,250. 

2. It shall be unlawful for any person who holds a valid 

restricted horseshoe crab endorsement license, as described 

in 4VAC20-900-21 D, to possess aboard any vessel or to 

land any number of horseshoe crabs in excess of 1,000, 

except that when it is projected and announced that 80% of 

the commercial quota is taken, it shall be unlawful for any 

person who meets the requirements of 4VAC20-900-21 D, 

and holds a valid horseshoe crab endorsement license to 

possess aboard any vessel in Virginia any number of 

horseshoe crabs in excess of 500. The harvest of horseshoe 

crabs, described in this subdivision, shall be restricted to 

using only crab dredge. 

3. It shall be unlawful for a horseshoe crab bycatch 

permittee to possess aboard any vessel more than 500 

horseshoe crabs or for any vessel to land any number of 

horseshoe crabs in excess of 500 per day except as 

described in subdivision 4 of this subsection. When it is 

projected and announced that 80% of the commercial quota 

is taken, it shall be unlawful for any person with a 

horseshoe crab bycatch permit to possess aboard any vessel 

more than 250 horseshoe crabs or for any vessel to land 

any number of horseshoe crabs in excess of 250 per day 

except as described in subdivision 4 of this subsection. 

4. It shall be unlawful for any two horseshoe crab bycatch 

permittees fishing from the same boat or vessel to possess 

or land more than 1,000 horseshoe crabs per day. When it 

is projected and announced that 80% of the commercial 

quota is taken, it shall be unlawful for any two horseshoe 

crab bycatch permittees fishing from the same boat or 

vessel to possess or land more than 500 horseshoe crabs 

per day. 

5. It shall be unlawful for any registered commercial 

fisherman or seafood landing licensee who does not 

possess a horseshoe crab endorsement license or a 

horseshoe crab bycatch permit to possess any horseshoe 

crabs. 

6. It shall be unlawful for any person who possesses a 

horseshoe crab endorsement license or a horseshoe crab 

bycatch permit to harvest horseshoe crabs by gill net, 

except as described in this subdivision. 

a. Horseshoe crabs shall only be harvested from a gill 

net, daily, between the hours of sunrise and sunset. 

b. It shall be unlawful for any person to land horseshoe 

crabs caught by a gill net in excess of 250 horseshoe 

crabs per day. 

c. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or 

possess horseshoe crabs taken by any gill net that has a 

stretched mesh measure equal to or greater than six 

inches, unless the twine size of that gill net is equal to or 

greater than 0.81 millimeters in diameter (0.031 inches) 

and that person possesses his own valid commercial 

striped bass permit or his own black drum harvesting and 

selling permit, as well as either a horseshoe crab 

endorsement license or horseshoe crab bycatch permit. 

H. It shall be unlawful for any fisherman issued a horseshoe 

crab endorsement license to offload any horseshoe crabs 

between the hours of 10 p.m. and 7 a.m. 

I. When it is projected and announced that 65,065 of the 

commercial quota, as described in subsection E of this 

section, has been taken from waters east of the COLREGS 

line Line, the limitations on the possession and landing of 

male horseshoe crabs are as follows:  

1. It shall be unlawful for any person who possesses a valid 

unrestricted horseshoe crab endorsement license to possess 

aboard any vessel in waters east of the COLREGS Line or 

to land more than 1,250 male horseshoe crabs per day. 

2. It shall be unlawful for any person who possesses a valid 

restricted horseshoe crab endorsement license to possess 

aboard any vessel in waters east of the COLREGS Line or 

to land more than 500 male horseshoe crabs per day. 

3. It shall be unlawful for any person who possesses a valid 

horseshoe crab bycatch permit to possess aboard any vessel 

east of the COLREGS Line or to land more than 250 male 

horseshoe crabs per day. 

4. It shall be unlawful for any two horseshoe crab bycatch 

permittees fishing from the same boat or vessel, east of the 

COLREGS Line, to possess or land more than 500 male 

horseshoe crabs per day. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3676; Filed April 29, 2013, 12:47 p.m.  
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Final Regulation  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-950. Pertaining to Black Sea 

Bass (amending 4VAC20-950-45, 4VAC20-950-47).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 

Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments lower the recreational possession limit 

for black sea bass from 25 fish to 20 fish and increase the 

commercial black sea bass directed fishery quota from 

316,000 pounds to 394,000 pounds.  

4VAC20-950-45. Recreational possession limits and 

seasons.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with hook and 

line, rod and reel, spear, gig, or other recreational gear to 

possess more than 25 20 black sea bass. When fishing is from 

a boat or vessel where the entire catch is held in a common 

hold or container, the possession limit shall be for that boat or 

vessel and shall be equal to the number of persons on board 

legally eligible to fish, multiplied by 25 20, during any open 

season described in subsection D of this section, except 

January 1 through the last day of February 2013 open season. 

The captain or operator of the boat or vessel shall be 

responsible for that boat or vessel possession limit. Any black 

sea bass taken after the possession limit has been reached 

shall be returned to the water immediately.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with hook and 

line, rod and reel, spear, gig, or other recreational gear to 

possess more than 15 black sea bass from January 1 through 

the last day of February 2013. When fishing is from a boat or 

vessel where the entire catch is held in a common hold or 

container, the possession limit shall be for that boat or vessel 

and shall be equal to the number of persons on board legally 

eligible to fish, multiplied by 15, from January 1 through the 

last day of February 2013.  The captain or operator of the boat 

or vessel shall be responsible for that boat or vessel 

possession limit. Any black sea bass taken after the 

possession limit has been reached shall be returned to the 

water immediately. 

C. Possession of any quantity of black sea bass that exceeds 

the possession limit described in subsections A and B of this 

section shall be presumed to be for commercial purposes.  

D. The open recreational fishing seasons, in 2013, shall be 

from January 1 through the last day of February, May 19 

through October 14, and from November 1 through December 

31. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to take, catch, or possess any black sea bass, except during an 

open recreational season. 

4VAC20-950-47. Commercial harvest quotas.  

A. The 2013 commercial black sea bass directed fishery 

quota is 316,000 394,000 pounds. When it has been 

announced that the directed fishery quota has been projected 

as reached and the directed fishery has been closed, it shall be 

unlawful for any directed commercial black sea bass fishery 

permittee to possess aboard any vessel or land in Virginia any 

black sea bass.  

B. The 2013 commercial black sea bass bycatch fishery 

quota is 40,000 pounds. When it has been announced that the 

bycatch fishery quota has been projected as reached and the 

bycatch fishery has been closed, it shall be unlawful for any 

bycatch commercial black sea bass fishery permittee to 

possess aboard any vessel or land in Virginia any black sea 

bass. In the event the bycatch fishery quota is exceeded, the 

amount of the quota overage shall be deducted from the 

following year's bycatch fishing quota.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3678; Filed April 29, 2013, 9:55 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC25-31. Reclamation Regulations 

for Mineral Mining (repealing 4VAC25-31-50, 4VAC25-

31-550).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 45.1-161.3 and 45.1-180.3 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2013. 

Effective Date: July 4, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, 

telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The department is authorized to promulgate 

regulations necessary to the performance of its duties under 

§ 45.1-161.3 of the Code of Virginia. Section 45.1-180.3 of 

the Code of Virginia gives the director of the department 

specific authority over the reclamation of mineral mines. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to repeal unnecessary 

or duplicative regulations. There are no substantive changes 

to the regulation. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: This rulemaking is 

expected to be noncontroversial because unnecessary or 

duplicative regulations are being repealed. 

Substance: Two sections of 4VAC25-31 are being repealed 

because they are duplicative or unnecessary. No substantive 

changes are being made. 
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Issues: The primary advantage is simplifying the Virginia 

Administrative Code by eliminating unnecessary or 

duplicative regulations. There are no disadvantages. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy (DMME) 

proposes to repeal two redundant sections of these 

regulations. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed repeal of 

redundant language will have no impact on requirements and 

essentially no economic impact beyond saving a small 

amount of time spent reading regulations. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are 433 mineral 

operations currently in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Approximately 90% of these (roughly 390) would qualify as 

small businesses.
1
 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 

will affect all localities in the Commonwealth that have 

mineral mines. According to DMME, 91% of Virginia’s 

counties have mineral mines governed by these regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed repeal does 

not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed repeal does not significantly affect the use and value 

of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

repeal does not significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed repeal does not adversely 

affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed repeal does 

not affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

________________________________________ 
1 Data source: Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy concurs with the 

economic impact analysis conducted by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action repeals sections that are 

unnecessary and duplicative. 

4VAC25-31-50. Mineral Mine Operator's Manual. 

(Repealed.)  

The Mineral Mine Operator's Manual is a nonregulatory 

guidance document to assist operators in complying with 

Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia. The manual may be 

obtained from the division.  

4VAC25-31-550. Intensive agricultural use. (Repealed.)  

If the post-mining use is to be intensive agriculture, the 

planting and harvesting of a normal crop yield is required. A 

normal yield for a particular crop is equal to the five-year 

average for the county. The use of grass, water bars, or 

diversion strips and natural vegetative drainage control may 

be required in the initial planting year as specified by the 

director.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3520; Filed April 26, 2013, 8:30 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

FORENSIC SCIENCE BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Forensic Science Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 3, which excludes 

regulations that consist only of changes in style or form or 

corrections of technical errors. The Department of Forensic 

Science will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 

any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 
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Title of Regulation: 6VAC40-40. Regulations for the 

Implementation of the Law Permitting DNA Analysis 

upon Arrest for All Violent Felonies and Certain 

Burglaries (amending 6VAC40-40-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-1110 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 20, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Stephanie Merritt, Department Counsel, 

Department of Forensic Science, 700 North Fifth Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2281, or email 

stephanie.merritt@dfs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment updates the website address of the State 

Compensation Board. 

Part III  

DNA Sample Tracking Application  

6VAC40-40-40. Use of LIDS.  

An Internet accessible DNA sample tracking application 

developed by the State Compensation Board through LIDS 

shall be accessible through the State Compensation Board's 

website at www.scb.state.va.us www.scb.virginia.gov. Access 

to the DNA sample tracking application shall be located 

under the website's "Restricted Access" section. User 

identifications and passwords shall be assigned to all law-

enforcement agencies responsible for taking saliva or tissue 

samples from arrestees.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3708; Filed April 24, 2013, 1:13 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE AND STATE 
UNIVERSITY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Virginia Polytechnic Institute and 

State University is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with  

§ 2.2-4002 A 6 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts 

educational institutions operated by the Commonwealth. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC105-10. Traffic and Parking 

Regulations (repealing 8VAC105-10-10 through 

8VAC105-10-550). 

8VAC105-11. Parking and Traffic (adding 8VAC105-11-

10 through 8VAC105-11-80).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 23-9.2:3 and 23-122 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Effective Date: April 30, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Natalie Hart, Deputy Chief of Staff, 210 

Burruss Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, telephone (540) 231-

6231 or email nhart@vt.edu. 

Summary: 

The action adopts new parking and traffic regulations in 

8VAC105-11 to replace existing parking and traffic 

regulations in 8VAC105-10. 

CHAPTER 11 

PARKING AND TRAFFIC 

8VAC105-11-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Parking and Traffic Procedures" means the 2012-2013 

Parking and Traffic Procedures, Virginia Tech Parking 

Services. 

"Virginia Tech" means Virginia Polytechnic Institute and 

State University. 

"University owned or leased property" means any property 

owned, leased, or controlled by Virginia Tech. 

8VAC105-11-20. Procedures. 

A. Parking and Traffic Procedures, as published by Virginia 

Tech, will be administered by the Virginia Tech Parking 

Services and the Virginia Tech Police Department.  

B. This chapter applies to all Virginia Tech faculty, staff, 

students, contractors, vendors, businesses, visitors, and all 

other persons who use university owned and leased parking 

facilities and spaces.  

C. Parking and Traffic Procedures pursuant to this chapter 

are available on the website of Virginia Tech Parking 

Services. Limited numbers of hardcopies are available upon 

request at Virginia Tech Parking Services.  

8VAC105-11-30. Permits required. 

A. All motor vehicles parked on university owned or leased 

property are required to properly display a valid Virginia 

Tech parking permit as defined by Parking and Traffic 

Procedures or other notice pursuant to this chapter.  

B. Visitors are required to park in (i) designated areas with 

the appropriate permit obtained from Virginia Tech Parking 

Services or Virginia Tech Visitor Information Center or (ii) 

pay areas. If parked in a pay area, visitors are required to pay 

the prevailing rate.  

8VAC105-11-40. Damage and loss. 

Virginia Tech is not responsible for loss or damage to any 

vehicle or the loss of contents while parked or operated on 

university owned or leased property.  

8VAC105-11-50. Parking. 

A. Parking is permitted in authorized, clearly identified 

spaces only with a valid permit or other authorization. 

Parking is not allowed on (i) turf; (ii) at loading docks or 

loading zones; or (iii) in or on pedestrian crosswalks, 

handicap access ramps, services areas, sidewalks, and 

unmarked areas without specific authorization.  



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 20, 2013 

2324 

B. Virginia Tech Parking Services may designate specific 

parking areas, issue special permits, or issue notices related to 

special events. Parking related to these special events shall be 

in accord with said specific parking areas, special permits, or 

notices.  

8VAC105-11-60. Enforcement. 

A. All laws and regulations enacted by the Commonwealth 

of Virginia and regulations and policies enacted by Virginia 

Tech are duly enforced. Motor vehicles in violation may be 

subject to penalties in accord with university parking 

procedures including but not limited to citations, fines, 

immobilization, towing, or impoundment, at the owner's risk 

and expense.  

B. If a vehicle is displaying a valid Virginia Tech parking 

permit and incurs a citation for violation of this chapter or 

Parking and Traffic Procedures, the registered owner of the 

permit will be held responsible for all citations and fines.  

C. If a vehicle is not displaying a valid Virginia Tech 

parking permit and incurs a citation for violation of this 

chapter or Parking and Traffic Procedures, the registered 

owner of the vehicle will be held responsible for all citations 

and fines. However, the registered owner of a vehicle is 

ultimately responsible for all violations issued to that vehicle, 

regardless of who is operating the vehicle.  

Regardless of Parking and Traffic Procedures, any person 

shall abide by instructions of Virginia Tech Police Officers or 

Parking Services Enforcement Personnel. When in conflict 

with this chapter or Parking and Traffic Procedures, the 

instructions of the enforcement personnel shall supersede.  

8VAC105-11-70. Appeals. 

All individuals who receive a violation under this chapter 

have a right to appeal the violation as set forth in the Parking 

and Traffic Procedures.  

8VAC105-11-80. Procedural changes, amendments, and 

notices. 

Changes, amendments, and notices related to Parking and 

Traffic Procedures shall be effective when posted on the 

Virginia Tech Parking Services website and shall become part 

of this chapter upon adoption and filing pursuant to § 2.2-

4103 of the Code of Virginia. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(8VAC105-11) 

2012-2013 Parking and Traffic Procedures, Virginia Tech 

Parking Services. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3519; Filed April 30, 2013, 4:16 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-60. Virginia Hazardous 

Waste Management Regulations (amending 9VAC20-60-

430).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 and Article 4 (§ 10.1-1426 

et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2013. 

Effective Date: July 4, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Debra A. Harris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4206, FAX (804) 698-4346, TTY 

(804) 698-4021, or email debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 10.1-1402 of the Virginia Waste Management 

Act, Chapter 14 (§ 10.1-1400 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, authorizes the Virginia Waste Management 

Board to promulgate and enforce regulations necessary to 

carry out its powers and duties and the intent of the chapter 

and federal law. 

Purpose: The rationale for the removal of the annual report 

for hazardous waste transporters is that the report provides 

minimal information and the information reported is not used 

to determine compliance. The report is not necessary for 

overall program performance.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The proposed 

amendment is expected to be noncontroversial because the 

report provides minimal information and the information 

reported is not used to determine compliance. 

Substance: Subsection F of 9VAC20-60-430 is deleted to 

remove the requirement for submittal of an annual report for 

hazardous waste transporting activities. 

Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public, the agency, 

or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Waste Management Board (board) proposes to 

eliminate the annual report requirement for transporters of 

hazardous waste.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. According to the Department of 

Environmental Quality, the report provides minimal 

information and the information reported is not used to 

determine compliance with these regulations. Thus there is no 

disadvantage to eliminating the report. Currently the 250 

hazardous waste transporter firms in the Commonwealth 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=72e58003519~1&typ=40&actno=003519&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=72e58003519~1&typ=40&actno=003519&mime=application/pdf
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spend cumulatively approximately 200 hours annually on 

preparing and sending the report.
1
 The proposed amendment 

would eliminate these staff time costs (just under an hour per 

firm). The proposed amendment clearly produces a net 

benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The amendment affects the 

estimated 250 hazardous waste transporter firms in the 

Commonwealth.
2
 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect any particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

will not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment is estimated to reduce required staff 

time by just under an hour for each hazardous waste 

transporter firm in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendment is estimated to reduce required staff time by just 

under an hour for each small hazardous waste transporter firm 

in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

will not significantly affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPBs best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

________________________________________ 

1 Source: Department of Environmental Quality 
2 Data source: Department of Environmental Quality 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and has 

no comment. 

Summary: 

The amendment removes the annual report requirement for 

transporters of hazardous waste. 

9VAC20-60-430. Recordkeeping and reporting 

requirements.  

A. Except as provided in 9VAC20-60-430 B and 9VAC20-

60-430 C, all transporters shall retain one signed copy of all 

manifests in their records for not less than three years from 

the date of acceptance for shipment by the initial transporter. 

The retained copy shall show his signature as well as those of 

the generator and the designated facility owner or operator, or 

next designated transporter.  

B. For shipments delivered to the designated facility by 

water (bulk shipment), each water (bulk shipment) transporter 

shall retain a copy of the shipping paper containing all the 

information required in 40 CFR 263.20(e)(2) for a period of 

three years from the date of acceptance by the initial 

transporter.  

C. For shipments of hazardous waste by rail within the 

United States:  

1. The initial rail transporter shall keep a copy of the 

manifest and shipping paper with all the information 

required in 40 CFR 263.20(f)(2) for a period of three years 

from the date the hazardous waste was accepted by the 

initial transporter.  

2. The final rail transporter shall keep a copy of the signed 

and dated manifest (or the shipping paper if signed by the 

designated facility in lieu of the manifest) for a period of 

three years from the date the hazardous waste was accepted 

by the initial transporter.  

3. Intermediate rail transporters are not required to keep 

records pursuant to this chapter.  

D. A transporter who transports hazardous waste out of the 

United States shall keep a copy of the manifest, indicating 

that the hazardous waste left the United States, for a period of 

three years from the date the waste was accepted by the initial 

transporter.  

E. The periods of retention referred to in this part are 

extended automatically during the course of any unresolved 

enforcement action regarding the regulated activity or as 

requested by the director.  

F. All transporters permitted by the director under 9VAC20-

60-450 are required to submit an annual report of hazardous 

waste transporting activities. The annual report shall be a 

summary of activities and shall be submitted on and include 

the information required by the Transporter Annual Report 

form (Form 7.2-1). The annual report shall be submitted 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 20, 2013 

2326 

within 90 days of the close of the reporting year. The 

reporting year ends December 31 of each calendar year.  

FORMS (9VAC20-60)  

Application for a Transporter Permit, Form 7.1 (rev. 12/01).  

Transporter Annual Report, Form 7.2-1 (rev. 12/01).  

Intra-Commonwealth Shipments, Form 7.2-2 (rev. 12/01).  

Shipments to Other States, Form 7.2-3 (rev. 12/01).  

Shipments into the Commonwealth, Form 7.2-4 (rev. 12/01).  

Shipments to Foreign Facilities, Form 7.2-5 (rev. 12/01).  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3448; Filed April 29, 2013, 8:41 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-120. Regulated Medical 

Waste Management Regulations (amending 9VAC20-120-

280, 9VAC20-120-490; repealing 9VAC20-120-480).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2013. 

Effective Date: July 4, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Debra A. Harris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4206, FAX (804) 698-4346, TTY 

(804) 698-4021, or email debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 10.1-1402 of the Virginia Waste Management 

Act, Chapter 14 (§ 10.1-1400 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, authorizes the Virginia Waste Management 

Board to promulgate and enforce regulations necessary to 

carry out its powers and duties and the intent of the chapter 

and federal law. 

Purpose: The rationale for this regulatory action is to remove 

duplicative requirements for registration of transporters under 

9VAC20-120. The information received by the registration is 

minimal and the same information can be obtained from the 

federal registration. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The proposed 

amendment is expected to be noncontroversial because the 

information received by the registration is minimal and the 

same information can be obtained from the federal 

registration. 

Substance: The requirements for registration of regulated 

medical waste transporters have been removed from the 

regulation. The special criteria for transport under Part VI of 

9VAC20-120 are still required, except for the registration. 

Part VI still contains requirements for sanitation, access, 

storage, packaging and labeling, and other requirements for 

transportation of regulated medical waste. 

Issues: No disadvantage to the public or the Commonwealth 

will result from the adoption of these amendments. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Waste Management Board (Board) proposes to 

repeal the requirement that transporters of regulated medical 

waste are required to register with the Department of 

Environmental Quality (Department). 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, transporters of 

regulated medical waste are required to register with the 

Department; this duplicates United States Department of 

Transportation registration requirements. Further, according 

to the Department state registration is unnecessary as the 

information can be obtained from the federal registration. 

Consequently, the proposed repeal of the state registration 

requirement will produce a net benefit since it will save 

transporters of regulated medical waste approximately 30 

minutes of staff time without any impact on public health and 

safety. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department reports 

that there are approximately 207 registered regulated medical 

waste transporters. This proposed amendment will affect 

these firms. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect any particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

will not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment will save transporters of regulated 

medical waste approximately 30 minutes of staff time. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendment will save small transporters of regulated medical 

waste approximately 30 minutes of staff time. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendment does not 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

will not significantly affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 
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estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and has 

no comment. 

Summary: 

The state registration requirements for transporters of 

medical waste are duplicative of the federal registration 

requirements and unnecessary as the information received 

from the registration under 9VAC20-120 can be obtained 

from the federal registration. Therefore, this action repeals 

the registration requirements under 9VAC20-120-480 and 

amends 9VAC20-120-280 and 9VAC20-120-490 to 

conform. 

9VAC20-120-280. Containment and cleanup procedures.  

Following a spill of regulated medical waste or its 

discovery, the following procedures shall be implemented:  

1. Take appropriate precautions to ensure personnel do not 

come into contact with any contaminants by wearing 

appropriate personal protective equipment.  

2. Repackage spilled waste in accordance with the 

packaging requirements in 9VAC20-120-210.  

3. Transport any regulated medical waste by a transporter 

registered in accordance with the provisions of 9VAC20-

120-480, Registration of transporters that meets the 

requirements of Part VI (9VAC20-120-400 et seq.) of this 

chapter.  

4. Clean and disinfect any areas having been contacted by 

regulated medical wastes. Materials used to decontaminate 

the area will be disinfectants effective against 

mycobacteria.  

5. Take necessary steps to replenish containment and 

cleanup kit.  

9VAC20-120-480. Registration of transporters. 

(Repealed.)  

A. Prior to transporting any regulated medical waste within 

the Commonwealth, all transporters must register with the 

Department of Environmental Quality. Registration shall 

consist of filing the data specified in subsection B of this 

section, in written form, and the department will issue a 

registration number to the transporter. No regulated medical 

waste shall be transported until the registration number is 

issued. Transporter shall notify the generator of the waste of 

his registration number when he collects the waste.  

B. Data to be submitted by persons wishing to register as a 

transporter of regulated medical waste shall be as follows:  

1. Name of the person or firm.  

2. Business address and telephone number of person or 

firm. Include headquarters and local office.  

3. Make, model and license number of each vehicle to be 

used to transport regulated medical waste within the 

Commonwealth.  

4. Name, business address and telephone number of each 

driver who will operate in the Commonwealth.  

5. Areas (counties and cities) of the Commonwealth in 

which the transporter will operate.  

6. a. Any person or firm other than reported in subdivision 

1 of this subsection that is associated with the registering 

firm or any other name under which that person or firm 

does business.  

b. Any other person or firm using any of the same 

vehicles and operators.  

7. The name and phone number of a person who may be 

contacted in the event of an accident or release.  

8. A copy of the signed certification statement as follows:  

I, (Full Name of Chief Executive), am chief executive 

officer of (Legal Name Of Firm) and do hereby affirm 

that all the information provided in this application is 

correct to the best of my knowledge; and I further affirm 

that neither this firm, any antecedent firm to this firm, or 

any of the officers of this or antecedent firms has been 

convicted of a felony in any state.  

C. Within 30 calendar days following the change of any data 

in subsection B of this section, the transporter shall notify the 

department of that change. Failure to notify the department 

nullifies the registration and invalidates the registration 

number. When the transporter changes legal name, corporate 

ownership, or the chief executive officer, he shall notify the 

department within 30 days of such a change. Upon receiving 

such a notification, the department will revoke the old 

registration and reissue a new registration based on the new 

information.  

D. Use of a false or invalid registration number is 

prohibited.  

Note: All filings of data and requests for registration number 

and issuance of a registration number shall be in writing.  

9VAC20-120-490. Transport by mail.  

Transport of regulated medical waste by the United States 

Postal Services that fully complies with 39 CFR 111 shall be 

considered to be transportation by a registered transporter and 

in compliance with this chapter if:  

1. The generator maintains a complete and legible copy of 

the manifest or mail disposal service shipping record for a 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 20, 2013 

2328 

period of three years (Note: disposer's certification and 

other tracking items must be completed and shown on the 

copy);  

2. The addressee is a facility permitted by all the 

appropriate agencies of the Commonwealth of Virginia or 

the host state; and  

3. No package may be more than 35 pounds by weight.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3447; Filed April 25, 2013, 9:54 a.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-240. Procedural Rule No. 3 - 

Certification Pursuant to 33 USC § 1341 ("401" 

Certification): Procedures for Applications, for Issuance, 

and for Requests for Modification or Revocation 

(repealing 9VAC25-240-10 through 9VAC25-240-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 401 of the federal Clean Water Act. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2013. 

Effective Date: July 4, 2013.  

Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4022, FAX (804) 

698-4347, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the State Water Control Board to adopt such regulations as it 

deems necessary to enforce the general water quality 

management program. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to repeal an existing 

regulation that has been superseded. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track 

process is being used for this regulatory action since the 

regulation has been superseded and the certification 

requirements are governed by 9VAC25-210. 

Substance: The substantive change is to repeal an existing 

regulation that has been superseded by certification 

requirements governed by 9VAC25-210. 

Issues: There are no anticipated disadvantages to the public or 

the Commonwealth. The advantages to the public and the 

Commonwealth are the elimination of confusion on the 

appropriate procedures to acquire the certification and the 

removal of an unnecessary regulation from the Virginia 

Administrative Code. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Water Control Board (Board) proposes to repeal this 

regulation which provides for the issuance of a certification 

by the Board that a proposed activity that may result in a 

discharge to state waters meets the requirements of the federal 

Clean Water Act. This regulation has been superseded by the 

Virginia Water Protection Permit Regulation (9VAC25-210).  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Since this regulation has been 

superseded by the Virginia Water Protection Permit 

Regulation, repealing it will have no impact beyond 

eliminating potential confusion. Thus, the repeal of this 

regulation will produce a small net benefit.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed repeal of this 

regulation has no impact beyond potentially reducing 

confusion among interested individuals looking for the state 

rules concerning the issuance of a certification by the Board 

that a proposed activity that may result in a discharge to state 

waters meets the requirements of the federal Clean Water 

Act.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed repeal of this 

regulation does not disproportionately affect any particular 

localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed repeal of this 

regulation will not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed repeal of this regulation will not affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

repeal of this regulation will not affect small businesses 

beyond eliminating some potential confusion. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed repeal of this regulation does 

not adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed repeal of this 

regulation does not affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 
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comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPBs best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and has 

no comment. 

Summary: 

The State Water Control Board is repealing this 

regulation, which provides for the issuance of a 

certification by the board that a proposed activity that may 

result in a discharge to state waters meets the 

requirements of the federal Clean Water Act. This 

regulation has been superseded by the Virginia Water 

Protection Permit Regulation (9VAC25-210) and is no 

longer necessary. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3437; Filed April 25, 2013, 9:31 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC5-410. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Hospitals in Virginia (amending 12VAC5-

410-10, 12VAC5-410-60). 

12VAC5-412. Regulations for Licensure of Abortion 

Facilities (adding 12VAC5-412-10 through 12VAC5-412-

370).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 20, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Erik Bodin, Director, Office of Licensure 

and Certification, Department of Health, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 401, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

2102, FAX (804) 527-4502, or email 

erik.bodin@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulations are necessary to support the 

implementation of the amendments to § 32.1-127 of the 

Code of Virginia enacted by Chapter 670 of the 2011 Acts 

of Assembly. The regulations establish licensure 

requirements for facilities performing five or more first 

trimester abortions per month. For purposes of licensure, 

these facilities are classified as a category of hospital. The 

regulations contain provisions pertaining to definitions, 

procedures for licensure or license renewal, organization 

and management, infection prevention, patient care, 

quality assurance, medical records and reports, disaster 

preparedness, facility security, functional safety and 

maintenance, and design and construction. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

Definitions and General Information and Procedures  

Article 1  

Definitions  

12VAC5-410-10. Definitions.  

As used in this chapter, the following words and terms shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Board" means the State Board of Health.  

"Chief executive officer" means a job descriptive term used 

to identify the individual appointed by the governing body to 

act in its behalf in the overall management of the hospital. Job 

titles may include administrator, superintendent, director, 

executive director, president, vice-president, and executive 

vice-president.  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner.  

"Consultant" means one who provides services or advice 

upon request.  

"Department" means an organized section of the hospital.  

"Direction" means authoritative policy or procedural 

guidance for the accomplishment of a function or activity.  

"Facilities" means building(s), equipment, and supplies 

necessary for implementation of services by personnel.  

"Full-time" means a 37-1/2 to 40 hour work week.  

"General hospital" means institutions as defined by § 32.1-

123 of the Code of Virginia with an organized medical staff; 

with permanent facilities that include inpatient beds; and with 

medical services, including physician services, dentist 

services and continuous nursing services, to provide diagnosis 

and treatment for patients who have a variety of medical and 

dental conditions that may require various types of care, such 

as medical, surgical, and maternity.  

"Home health care department/service/program" means a 

formally structured organizational unit of the hospital that is 

designed to provide health services to patients in their place 

of residence and meets Part II (12VAC5-381-150 et seq.) of 

the regulations adopted by the board for the licensure of home 

care organizations in Virginia.  

"Medical" means pertaining to or dealing with the healing 

art and the science of medicine.  
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"Nursing care unit" means an organized jurisdiction of 

nursing service in which nursing services are provided on a 

continuous basis.  

"Nursing home" means an institution or any identifiable 

component of any institution as defined by § 32.1-123 of the 

Code of Virginia with permanent facilities that include 

inpatient beds and whose primary function is the provision, 

on a continuing basis, of nursing and health related services 

for the treatment of patients who may require various types of 

long term care, such as skilled care and intermediate care.  

"Nursing services" means patient care services pertaining to 

the curative, palliative, restorative, or preventive aspects of 

nursing that are prepared or supervised by a registered nurse.  

"Office of Licensure and Certification" or "OLC" means the 

Office of Licensure and Certification of the Virginia 

Department of Health.  

"Organized" means administratively and functionally 

structured.  

"Organized medical staff" means a formal organization of 

physicians and dentists with the delegated responsibility and 

authority to maintain proper standards of medical care and to 

plan for continued betterment of that care.  

"Outpatient hospital" means institutions as defined by 

§ 32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia that primarily provide 

facilities for the performance of surgical procedures on 

outpatients. Such patients may require treatment in a medical 

environment exceeding the normal capability found in a 

physician's office, but do not require inpatient hospitalization. 

Outpatient abortion clinics are deemed a category of 

outpatient hospitals.  

"Ownership/person" means any individual, partnership, 

association, trust, corporation, municipality, county, 

governmental agency, or any other legal or commercial entity 

that owns or controls the physical facilities and/or manages or 

operates a hospital.  

"Rural hospital" means any general hospital in a county 

classified by the federal Office of Management and Budget 

(OMB) as rural, any hospital designated as a critical access 

hospital, any general hospital that is eligible to receive funds 

under the federal Small Rural Hospital Improvement Grant 

Program, or any general hospital that notifies the 

commissioner of its desire to retain its rural status when that 

hospital is in a county reclassified by the OMB as a 

metropolitan statistical area as of June 6, 2003.  

"Service" means a functional division of the hospital. Also 

used to indicate the delivery of care.  

"Special hospital" means institutions as defined by § 32.1-

123 of the Code of Virginia that provide care for a specialized 

group of patients or limit admissions to provide diagnosis and 

treatment for patients who have specific conditions (e.g., 

tuberculosis, orthopedic, pediatric, maternity).  

"Special care unit" means an appropriately equipped area of 

the hospital where there is a concentration of physicians, 

nurses, and others who have special skills and experience to 

provide optimal medical care for patients assigned to the unit.  

"Staff privileges" means authority to render medical care in 

the granting institution within well-defined limits, based on 

the individual's professional license and the individual's 

experience, competence, ability, and judgment.  

"Unit" means a functional division or facility of the hospital.  

12VAC5-410-60. Separate license.  

A. A separate license shall be required by hospitals 

maintained on separate premises even though they are 

operated under the same management. Separate license is not 

required for separate buildings on the same grounds or within 

the same complex of buildings.  

B. Hospitals which have separate organized sections, units, 

or buildings to provide services of a classification covered by 

provisions of other state statutes or regulations may be 

required to have an additional applicable license for that type 

or classification of service (e.g., psychiatric, nursing home, 

home health services, and outpatient surgery, outpatient 

abortions) surgery).  

CHAPTER 412 

REGULATIONS FOR LICENSURE OF ABORTION 

FACILITIES 

Part I 

Definitions and Requirements for Licensure 

12VAC5-412-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Abortion" means the use of an instrument, medicine, drug, 

or other substance or device with the intent to terminate the 

pregnancy of a woman, known to be pregnant, for reasons 

other than a live birth or to remove a dead fetus. Spontaneous 

miscarriage is excluded from this definition. 

"Abortion facility" means a facility in which five or more 

first trimester abortions per month are performed. 

"Administrator" means the person appointed by the 

governing body as having responsibility for the overall 

management of the abortion facility. Job titles may include 

director, executive director, office manager, or business 

manager.  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Health.  

"First trimester" means the first 12 weeks from conception 

based on an appropriate clinical estimate by a licensed 

physician.  

"Informed written consent" means the knowing and 

voluntary written consent to abortion by a pregnant woman of 

any age in accordance with § 18.2-76 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Licensee" means the person, partnership, corporation, 

association, organization, or professional entity who owns or 
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on whom rests the ultimate responsibility and authority for 

the conduct of the abortion facility. 

"Minor" means a patient under the age of 18.  

"Patient" means any person seeking or obtaining services at 

an abortion facility. 

"Physician" means a person licensed to practice medicine in 

Virginia. 

"Spontaneous miscarriage" means the expulsion or 

extraction of a product of human conception resulting in other 

than a live birth and which is not an abortion.  

"Trimester" means a 12-week period of pregnancy.  

12VAC5-412-20. General. 

A license to establish or operate an abortion facility shall be 

issued only (i) when the abortion facility is in compliance 

with all applicable federal, state, and local statutes and 

regulations and the provisions of this chapter and (ii) when 

the application fee has been received by the department. 

No person or entity shall establish, conduct, maintain, or 

operate in this state, any abortion facility without having 

obtained a license. Any person establishing, conducting, 

maintaining, or operating an abortion facility without a 

license shall be subject to penalties and other actions pursuant 

to § 32.1-27 of the Code of Virginia. 

12VAC5-412-30. Classification. 

Abortion facilities shall be classified as a category of 

hospital. 

12VAC5-412-40. Separate license. 

An abortion facility operating at more than one location 

shall be required to obtain separate licenses for each location 

in which abortion services are provided.  

Abortion facilities which have separate organized sections, 

units, or buildings to provide services of a classification 

covered by provisions of other state statutes or regulations 

shall be required to have any additional applicable license 

required for that type or classification of service. 

Facilities licensed as either a general hospital or an 

outpatient surgical hospital by the department are not subject 

to the provisions of this chapter. 

12VAC5-412-50. Request for issuance. 

A. Abortion facility licenses shall be issued by the 

commissioner. All applications for licensure shall be 

submitted initially to the department's Office of Licensure and 

Certification (OLC).  

B. Each abortion facility shall be designated by a distinct 

identifying name which shall appear on the application for 

licensure. Any change of name shall be reported to the OLC 

within 30 days. 

C. Application for initial licensure of an abortion facility 

shall be accompanied by a copy of the abortion facility's 

certificate of use and occupancy or a statement from the 

facility’s certified architect or engineer that the facility is 

substantially complete and eligible for a certificate of 

occupancy.  

D. The OLC shall consider an application complete when all 

requested information and the appropriate nonrefundable 

application fee are submitted. 

E. Written notification from the applicant to OLC that it is 

ready for the on-site survey must be received 30 days prior to 

OLC scheduling of the initial licensure survey. Applicants for 

initial licensure shall be notified of the time and date of the 

initial licensure survey, after the notice of readiness is 

received by the OLC.  

F. A license shall not be assigned or transferred. A new 

application for licensure shall be made at least 30 days in 

advance of a change of ownership or location.  

12VAC5-412-60. License expiration and renewal. 

A. Licenses shall expire at midnight April 30 following the 

date of issue and shall be renewable annually, upon filing of a 

renewal application and payment of the appropriate 

nonrefundable renewal application fee. Renewal applications 

shall only be granted after a determination by the OLC that 

the applicant is in substantial compliance with this chapter. 

B. The annual license renewal application shall be submitted 

to the OLC at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the 

current license. A renewal application submitted more than 60 

days past the expiration of the current license shall not be 

accepted.  

C. Any abortion facility failing to submit an acceptable plan 

of correction as required in 12VAC5-412-110 shall not be 

eligible for license renewal. 

12VAC5-412-70. Return and/or reissuance of license. 

A. It is the responsibility of the abortion facility's governing 

body to maintain a current and accurate license at all times.  

B. An abortion facility shall give written notification 30 

calendar days in advance of implementing any of the 

following planned changes:  

1. Change of location. 

2. Change of ownership. 

3. Change of name. 

4. Voluntary closure. 

5. Change of administrator. 

6. Change of operator.  

Notices shall be sent to the attention of the director of the 

OLC.  

C. The license issued by the commissioner shall be returned 

to the OLC when any of the changes listed in subsection B of 

this section occur. In addition, if the abortion facility is no 

longer operational, or the license has been suspended or 

revoked, the license shall be returned to the OLC within five 

calendar days of the abortion facility closing. The abortion 

facility's patients and the OLC shall be notified where all 

patient records will be located.  
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D. The OLC shall determine if any changes affect the terms 

of the license or the continuing eligibility for a license. A 

licensing representative may inspect the abortion facility 

during the process of evaluating a change. 

E. The abortion facility will be notified in writing by the 

OLC whether a license can be reissued or a new application is 

needed.  

12VAC5-412-80. Allowable variances. 

A. The commissioner may authorize a temporary variance 

only to a specific provision of this chapter. In no event shall a 

temporary variance exceed the term of the license. An 

abortion facility may request a temporary variance to a 

particular standard or requirement contained in a particular 

provision of this chapter when the standard or requirement 

poses an impractical hardship unique to the abortion facility 

and when a temporary variance to it would not endanger the 

safety or well-being of patients. The request for a temporary 

variance shall describe how compliance with the current 

standard or requirement constitutes an impractical hardship 

unique to the abortion facility. The request should include 

proposed alternatives, if any, to meet the purpose of the 

standard or requirement that will ensure the protection and 

well-being of patients. At no time shall a temporary variance 

be extended to general applicability. The abortion facility 

may withdraw a request for a temporary variance at any time.  

B. The commissioner may rescind or modify a temporary 

variance if: (i) conditions change; (ii) additional information 

becomes known that alters the basis for the original decision; 

(iii) the abortion facility fails to meet any conditions attached 

to the temporary variance; or (iv) results of the temporary 

variance jeopardize the safety or well-being of patients.  

C. Consideration of a temporary variance is initiated when a 

written request is submitted to the commissioner. The 

commissioner shall notify the abortion facility in writing of 

the receipt of the request for a temporary variance. The 

licensee shall be notified in writing of the commissioner's 

decision on the temporary variance request. If granted, the 

commissioner may attach conditions to a temporary variance 

to protect the safety and well-being of patients.  

D. If a temporary variance is denied, expires, or is rescinded, 

routine enforcement of the standard or requirement to which 

the temporary variance was granted shall be resumed. 

12VAC5-412-90. Right of entry. 

Pursuant to § 32.1-25 of the Code of Virginia, any duly 

designated employee of the Virginia Department of Health 

shall have the right to enter upon and into the premises of any 

licensed abortion facility, or any entity the department has 

reason to believe is operated or maintained as an abortion 

facility without a license, in order to determine the state of 

compliance with the provisions of this chapter and applicable 

laws. Any such employee shall properly identify himself as 

an inspector designated by OLC; the abortion facility may 

verify the identity of the inspector prior to his admission. 

Such entries and inspections shall be made with the 

permission of the owner or person in charge, unless an 

inspection warrant is obtained after denial of entry from an 

appropriate circuit court. If the owner, or person in charge, 

refuses entry, this shall be sufficient cause for immediate 

revocation or suspension of the license. If the entity is 

unlicensed, the owner or person in charge shall be subject to 

penalties and other actions pursuant to § 32.1-27 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

12VAC5-412-100. On-site inspection. 

A. An OLC representative shall make periodic unannounced 

on-site inspections of each abortion facility as necessary, but 

not less often than biennially. If the department finds, after 

inspection, noncompliance with any provision of this chapter, 

the abortion facility shall receive a written licensing report of 

such findings. The abortion facility shall submit a written 

plan of correction in accordance with provisions of 12VAC5-

412-110. 

B. The abortion facility shall make available to the OLC's 

representative any requested records and shall allow access to 

interview the agents, employees, contractors, and any person 

under the abortion facility's control, direction, or supervision. 

If copies of records are removed from the premises, patient 

names and addresses contained in such records shall be 

redacted by the abortion facility before removal. 

C. If the OLC's representative arrives on the premises to 

conduct a survey and the administrator, the nursing director, 

or a person authorized to give access to patient records is not 

available on the premises, such person or the designated 

alternate shall be available on the premises within one hour of 

the surveyor's arrival. A list of patients receiving services on 

the day of the survey as well as a list of all of the abortion 

facility's patients for the previous 12 months shall be 

provided to the surveyor within two hours of arrival if 

requested. Failure to be available or to respond shall be 

grounds for penalties in accordance with § 32.1-27 of the 

Code of Virginia and denial, suspension, or revocation of the 

facility's license in accordance with 12VAC5-412-130. 

12VAC5-412-110. Plan of correction. 

A. Upon receipt of a written licensing report, each abortion 

facility shall prepare a written plan of correction addressing 

each licensing violation cited at the time of inspection.  

B. The administrator shall submit, within 15 working days 

of receipt of the inspection report, an acceptable plan of 

correction as determined by the OLC. The plan of correction 

shall contain for each violation cited: 

1. A description of the corrective action or actions to be 

taken and the personnel to implement the corrective action; 

2. The expected correction date, not to exceed 30 working 

days from the exit date of the survey; 

3. A description of the measures implemented to prevent a 

recurrence of the violation; and 
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4. The signature of the person responsible for the validity 

of the report. 

C. The administrator shall be notified whenever any item in 

the plan of correction is determined to be unacceptable. 

Failure to submit an acceptable plan of correction may result 

in a penalty in accordance with § 32.1-27 of the Code of 

Virginia or in denial, revocation, or suspension of a license in 

accordance with 12VAC5-412-130. 

D. The administrator shall be responsible for assuring the 

plan of correction is implemented and monitored so that 

compliance is maintained. 

12VAC5-412-120. OLC complaint investigations. 

A. The OLC shall investigate any complaints regarding 

alleged violations of this chapter and applicable law. When 

the investigation is complete, the abortion facility and the 

complainant, if known, will be notified of the findings of the 

investigation.  

B. As required by the OLC, the administrator shall submit a 

plan of correction for any deficiencies found during a 

complaint investigation in accordance with 12VAC5-412-110 

and shall be responsible for assuring the plan of correction is 

implemented and monitored so that compliance is maintained. 

12VAC5-412-130. Violation of this chapter or applicable 

law; denial, revocation, or suspension of license. 

A. When the department determines that an abortion facility 

is (i) in violation of any provision of Article 1 (§ 32.1-123 et 

seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia or of 

any applicable regulation, or (ii) is permitting, aiding, or 

abetting the commission of any illegal act in the abortion 

facility, the department may deny, suspend, or revoke the 

license to operate an abortion facility in accordance with 

§ 32.1-135 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. If a license or certification is revoked as herein provided, 

a new license or certification may be issued by the 

commissioner after satisfactory evidence is submitted to him 

that the conditions upon which revocation was based have 

been corrected and after proper inspection has been made and 

compliance with all provisions of Article 1 of Chapter 5 of 

Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia and applicable state and 

federal law and regulations hereunder has been obtained.  

C. Suspension of a license shall in all cases be for an 

indefinite time. The commissioner may restore a suspended 

license when he determines that the conditions upon which 

suspension was based have been corrected and that the 

interests of the public will not be jeopardized by resumption 

of operation. No additional fee shall be required for restoring 

such license.  

D. The abortion facility has the right to contest the denial, 

revocation, or suspension of a license in accordance with the 

provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

Part II 

Organization and Management 

12VAC5-412-140. Management and administration. 

A. The abortion facility shall comply with: 

1. This chapter (12VAC5-412); 

2. Other applicable federal, state, or local laws and 

regulations; and  

3. The abortion facility's policies and procedures.  

B. The abortion facility shall submit or make available 

reports and information necessary to establish compliance 

with this chapter and applicable law.  

C. The abortion facility shall permit OLC inspectors to 

conduct inspections to: 

1. Verify application information; 

2. Determine compliance with this chapter and applicable 

law; 

3. Review necessary records and documents; and  

4. Investigate complaints.  

D. An abortion facility shall give written notification 30 

calendar days in advance of implementing any of the 

following planned changes:  

1. Change of location. 

2. Change of ownership. 

3. Change of name. 

4. Voluntary closure. 

5. Change of administrator. 

6. Change of operator.  

Notices shall be sent to the attention of the director of the 

OLC. 

E. The current license from the department shall be posted at 

all times in a place readily visible and accessible to the 

public.  

12VAC5-412-150. Governing body. 

A. Each abortion facility shall have a governing body 

responsible for the management and control of the operation 

of the abortion facility. 

B. There shall be disclosure of abortion facility ownership. 

Ownership interest shall be reported to the OLC and in the 

case of corporations, all individuals or entities holding 5.0% 

or more of total ownership shall be identified by name and 

address. The OLC shall be notified of any changes in 

ownership. 

C. The governing body shall provide facilities, personnel, 

and other resources necessary to meet patient and program 

needs. 

D. The governing body shall have a formal organizational 

plan with written bylaws. These shall clearly set forth 

organization, duties and responsibilities, accountability, and 

relationships of professional staff and other personnel. The 
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bylaws shall identify the person or organizational body 

responsible for formulating policies. 

E. The bylaws shall include at a minimum the following:  

1. A statement of purpose;  

2. Description of the functions and duties of the governing 

body or other legal authority; 

3. A statement of authority and responsibility delegated to 

the administrator and to the clinical staff;  

4. Provision for selection and appointment of clinical staff 

and granting of clinical privileges; and 

5. Provision of guidelines for relationships among the 

governing body, the administrator, and the clinical staff. 

12VAC5-412-160. Policies and procedures. 

A. Each abortion facility shall develop, implement, and 

maintain documented policies and procedures, which shall be 

readily available on the premises and shall be reviewed 

annually and updated as necessary by the governing body. 

The policies and procedures shall include but shall not be 

limited to the following topics: 

1. Personnel; 

2. Types of elective services performed in the abortion 

facility; 

3. Types of anesthesia that may be used; 

4. Admissions and discharges, including criteria for 

evaluating the patient before admission and before 

discharge; 

5. Obtaining informed written consent of the patient 

pursuant to § 18.2-76 of the Code of Virginia prior to the 

initiation of any procedures; 

6. When to use sonography to assess patient risk; 

7. Infection prevention; 

8. Quality and risk management; 

9. Management and effective response to medical and/or 

surgical emergency; 

10. Management and effective response to fire; 

11. Ensuring compliance with all applicable federal, state, 

and local laws; 

12. Abortion facility security; 

13. Disaster preparedness; 

14. Patient rights; 

15. Functional safety and abortion facility maintenance; 

and 

16. Identification of the administrator and methods 

established by the governing body for holding the 

administrator responsible and accountable.  

B. These policies and procedures shall be based on 

recognized standards and guidelines. A copy of the policies 

and procedures approved by the governing body and revisions 

thereto shall be made available to the OLC upon request. 

12VAC5-412-170. Administrator. 

A. The governing body shall select an administrator who 

shall be responsible for the managerial, operational, financial, 

and reporting components of the abortion facility, including 

but not limited to: 

1. Ensuring the development, implementation, and 

enforcement of all policies and procedures, including 

patient rights; 

2. Employing qualified personnel and ensuring appropriate 

personnel orientation, training, education, and evaluation;  

3. Ensuring the accuracy of public information materials 

and activities; 

4. Ensuring an effective budgeting and accounting system 

is implemented; and 

5. Maintaining compliance with applicable laws and 

regulations and implementing corrective action.  

B. Any change in the position of the administrator shall be 

reported immediately by the governing body to the 

department in writing. 

C. A qualified individual shall be appointed in writing to act 

in the absence of the administrator.  

12VAC5-412-180. Personnel. 

A. Each abortion facility shall have a staff that is adequately 

trained and capable of providing appropriate service and 

supervision to patients. The abortion facility shall develop, 

implement, and maintain policies and procedures to ensure 

and document appropriate staffing by licensed clinicians 

based on the level, intensity, and scope of services provided.  

B. The abortion facility shall obtain written applications for 

employment from all staff. The abortion facility shall obtain 

and verify information on the application as to education, 

training, experience, and appropriate professional licensure, if 

applicable.  

C. Each abortion facility shall obtain a criminal history 

record check pursuant to § 32.1-126.02 of the Code of 

Virginia on any compensated employee not licensed by the 

Board of Pharmacy, whose job duties provide access to 

controlled substances within the abortion facility. 

D. The abortion facility shall develop, implement, and 

maintain policies and procedures to document that its staff 

participate in initial and ongoing training and education that 

is directly related to staff duties and appropriate to the level, 

intensity, and scope of services provided. This shall include 

documentation of annual participation in fire safety and 

infection prevention in-service training. 

E. Job descriptions.  

1. Written job descriptions that adequately describe the 

duties of every position shall be maintained.  

2. Each job description shall include position title, 

authority, specific responsibilities, and minimum 

qualifications.  
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3. Job descriptions shall be reviewed at least annually, kept 

current, and given to each employee and volunteer when 

assigned to the position and when revised.  

F. A personnel file shall be maintained for each staff 

member. The records shall be completely and accurately 

documented, readily available, including by electronic means 

and systematically organized to facilitate the compilation and 

retrieval of information. The file shall contain a current job 

description that reflects the individual's responsibilities and 

work assignments, and documentation of the person's in-

service education, and professional licensure, if applicable.  

G. Personnel policies and procedures shall include, but not 

be limited to: 

1. Written job descriptions that specify authority, 

responsibility, and qualifications for each job 

classification; 

2. Process for verifying current professional licensing or 

certification and training of employees or independent 

contractors; 

3. Process for annually evaluating employee performance 

and competency; 

4. Process for verifying that contractors and their 

employees meet the personnel qualifications of the 

abortion facility; and 

5. Process for reporting licensed and certified health care 

practitioners for violations of their licensing or certification 

standards to the appropriate board within the Department 

of Health Professions. 

H. A personnel file shall be maintained for each staff 

member. Personnel record information shall be safeguarded 

against loss and unauthorized use. Employee health related 

information shall be maintained separately within the 

employee's personnel file.  

12VAC5-412-190. Clinical staff. 

A. Physicians and nonphysician health care practitioners 

shall constitute the clinical staff. Clinical privileges of 

physician and nonphysician health care practitioners shall be 

clearly defined. 

B. Abortions shall be performed by physicians who are 

licensed to practice medicine in Virginia and who are 

qualified by training and experience to perform abortions. 

The abortion facility shall develop, implement, and maintain 

policies and procedures to ensure and document that 

abortions that occur in the abortion facility are only 

performed by physicians who are qualified by training and 

experience. 

C. A physician shall remain on the premises until all patients 

are medically stable, sign the discharge order, and be readily 

available and accessible until the last patient is discharged. 

Licensed health care practitioners trained in post-procedure 

assessment shall remain on the premises until the last patient 

has been discharged. The physician shall give a discharge 

order after assessing a patient or receiving a report from such 

trained health care practitioner indicating that a patient is safe 

for discharge. The abortion facility shall develop, implement, 

and maintain policies and procedures that ensure there is an 

appropriate evaluation of medical stability prior to discharge 

of the patient and that adequate trained health care 

practitioners remain with the patient until she is discharged 

from the abortion facility.  

D. Licensed practical nurses, working under direct 

supervision and direction of a physician or a registered nurse, 

may be employed as components of the clinical staff.  

12VAC5-412-200. Patients' rights. 

A. Each abortion facility shall establish a protocol relating to 

the rights and responsibilities of patients consistent with the 

current edition of the Joint Commission Standards of 

Ambulatory Care. The protocol shall include a process 

reasonably designed to inform patients of their rights and 

responsibilities, in a language or manner they understand. 

Patients shall be given a copy of their rights and 

responsibilities upon admission. 

B. The abortion facility shall establish and maintain 

complaint handling procedures which specify the: 

1. System for logging receipt, investigation, and resolution 

of complaints; and 

2. Format of the written record of the findings of each 

complaint investigated. 

C. The abortion facility shall designate staff responsible for 

complaint resolution, including:  

1. Complaint intake, including acknowledgment of 

complaints; 

2. Investigation of the complaint;  

3. Review of the investigation findings and resolution for 

the complaint; and 

4. Notification to the complainant of the proposed 

resolution within 30 days from the date of receipt of the 

complaint. 

D. Any patient seeking an abortion shall be given a copy of 

the complaint procedures, in a language or manner she 

understands, at the time of admission to service.  

E. The abortion facility shall provide each patient or her 

designee with the name, mailing address, and telephone 

number of the:  

1. Abortion facility contact person; and 

2. OLC Complaint Unit, including the toll-free complaint 

hotline number. Patients may submit complaints 

anonymously to the OLC. The abortion facility shall 

display a copy of this information in a conspicuous place. 

F. The abortion facility shall maintain documentation of all 

complaints received and the status of each complaint from 

date of receipt through its final resolution. Records shall be 

maintained for no less than three years.  
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Part III 

Quality Management and Infection Prevention 

12VAC5-412-210. Quality management. 

A. The abortion facility shall implement an ongoing, 

comprehensive, integrated, self-assessment program of the 

quality and appropriateness of care or services provided, 

including services provided under contract or agreement. The 

program shall include process design, data 

collection/analysis, assessment and improvement, and 

evaluation. The findings shall be used to correct identified 

problems and revise policies and practices, as necessary.  

B. The following shall be evaluated to assure adequacy and 

appropriateness of services, and to identify unacceptable or 

unexpected trends or occurrences: 

1. Staffing patterns and performance; 

2. Supervision appropriate to the level of service; 

3. Patient records; 

4. Patient satisfaction; 

5. Complaint resolution; 

6. Infections, complications, and other adverse events; and 

7. Staff concerns regarding patient care. 

C. A quality improvement committee responsible for the 

oversight and supervision of the program shall be established 

and at a minimum shall consist of: 

1. A physician; 

2. A nonphysician health care practitioner; 

3. A member of the administrative staff; and 

4. An individual with demonstrated ability to represent the 

rights and concerns of patients. The individual may be a 

member of the facility's staff.  

In selecting members of this committee, consideration shall 

be given to the candidate's abilities and sensitivity to issues 

relating to quality of care and services provided to patients. 

D. Measures shall be implemented to resolve problems or 

concerns that have been identified.  

E. Results of the quality improvement program shall be 

reported to the licensee at least annually and shall include the 

deficiencies identified and recommendations for corrections 

and improvements. The report shall be acted upon by the 

governing body and the facility. All corrective actions shall 

be documented. Identified deficiencies that jeopardize patient 

safety shall be reported immediately in writing to the licensee 

by the quality improvement committee. 

12VAC5-412-220. Infection prevention. 

A. The abortion facility shall have an infection prevention 

plan that encompasses the entire abortion facility and all 

services provided, and which is consistent with the provisions 

of the current edition of "Guide to Infection Prevention in 

Outpatient Settings: Minimum Expectations for Safe Care," 

published by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention. An individual with training and expertise in 

infection prevention shall participate in the development of 

infection prevention policies and procedures and shall review 

them to assure they comply with applicable regulations and 

standards.  

1. The process for development, implementation, and 

maintenance of infection prevention policies and 

procedures and the regulations or guidance documents on 

which they are based shall be documented. 

2. All infection prevention policies and procedures shall be 

reviewed at least annually by the administrator and 

appropriate members of the clinical staff. The annual 

review process and recommendations for changes/updates 

shall be documented in writing. 

3. A designated person in the abortion facility shall have 

received training in basic infection prevention, and shall 

also be involved in the annual review.  

B. Written infection prevention policies and procedures shall 

include, but not be limited to: 

1. Procedures for screening incoming patients and visitors 

for acute infectious illnesses and applying appropriate 

measures to prevent transmission of community-acquired 

infection within the abortion facility; 

2. Training of all personnel in proper infection prevention 

techniques; 

3. Correct hand-washing technique, including indications 

for use of soap and water and use of alcohol-based hand 

rubs; 

4. Use of standard precautions; 

5. Compliance with [ blood-borne bloodborne ] pathogen 

requirements of the U.S. Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration; 

6. Use of personal protective equipment; 

7. Use of safe injection practices; 

8. Plans for annual retraining of all personnel in infection 

prevention methods; 

9. Procedures for monitoring staff adherence to 

recommended infection prevention practices; and 

10. Procedures for documenting annual retraining of all 

staff in recommended infection prevention practices. 

C. Written policies and procedures for the management of 

the abortion facility, equipment, and supplies shall address 

the following:  

1. Access to hand-washing equipment and adequate 

supplies (e.g., soap, alcohol-based hand rubs, disposable 

towels or hot air driers); 

2. Availability of utility sinks, cleaning supplies, and other 

materials for cleaning, disposal, storage, and transport of 

equipment and supplies; 

3. Appropriate storage for cleaning agents (e.g., locked 

cabinets or rooms for chemicals used for cleaning) and 
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product-specific instructions for use of cleaning agents 

(e.g., dilution, contact time, management of accidental 

exposures); 

4. Procedures for handling, storing, and transporting clean 

linens, clean/sterile supplies, and equipment;  

5. Procedures for handling/temporary storage/transport of 

soiled linens;  

6. Procedures for handling, storing, processing, and 

transporting regulated medical waste in accordance with 

applicable regulations; 

7. Procedures for the processing of each type of reusable 

medical equipment between uses on different patients. The 

procedure shall address: (i) the level of 

cleaning/disinfection/sterilization to be used for each type 

of equipment; (ii) the process (e.g., cleaning, chemical 

disinfection, heat sterilization); and (iii) the method for 

verifying that the recommended level of 

disinfection/sterilization has been achieved. The procedure 

shall reference the manufacturer's recommendations and 

any applicable state or national infection control 

guidelines;  

8. Procedures for appropriate disposal of nonreusable 

equipment; 

9. Policies and procedures for maintenance/repair of 

equipment in accordance with manufacturer 

recommendations;  

10. Procedures for cleaning of environmental surfaces with 

appropriate cleaning products; 

11. An effective pest control program, managed in 

accordance with local health and environmental 

regulations; and 

12. Other infection prevention procedures necessary to 

prevent/control transmission of an infectious agent in the 

abortion facility as recommended or required by the 

department. 

D. The abortion facility shall have an employee health 

program that includes: 

1. Access to recommended vaccines;  

2. Procedures for assuring that employees with 

communicable diseases are identified and prevented from 

work activities that could result in transmission to other 

personnel or patients; 

3. An exposure control plan for [ blood-borne bloodborne ] 

pathogens; 

4. Documentation of screening and immunizations 

offered/received by employees in accordance with statute, 

regulation, or recommendations of public health 

authorities, including documentation of screening for 

tuberculosis and access to hepatitis B vaccine; and 

5. Compliance with requirements of the U.S. Occupational 

Safety and Health Administration for reporting of 

workplace-associated injuries or exposure to infection. 

E. The abortion facility shall develop, implement, and 

maintain policies and procedures for the following patient 

education, follow up, and reporting activities:  

1. A procedure for surveillance, documentation, and 

tracking of reported infections; and 

2. Policies and procedures for reporting conditions to the 

local health department in accordance with the Regulations 

for Disease Reporting and Control (12VAC5-90), 

including outbreaks of disease.  

Part IV 

Patient Care Management 

12VAC5-412-230. Patient services; patient counseling. 

A. Abortions performed in abortion facilities shall be 

performed only on patients who are within the first trimester 

of pregnancy based on an appropriate clinical estimate by a 

licensed physician. 

B. No person may perform an abortion upon an 

unemancipated minor unless informed written consent is 

obtained from the minor and the minor's parent, guardian, or 

other authorized person. If the unemancipated minor elects 

not to seek the informed written consent of an authorized 

person, a copy of the court order authorizing the abortion 

entered pursuant to § 16.1-241 of the Code of Virginia shall 

be obtained prior to the performance of the abortion. 

C. A physician shall not perform an abortion without first 

obtaining the informed written consent of the patient pursuant 

to the provisions of § 18.2-76 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. When abortions are being performed, a staff member 

currently certified to perform [ cardio-pulmonary 

cardiopulmonary ] resuscitation shall be available on site for 

emergency care.  

E. The abortion facility shall offer each patient seeking an 

abortion, in a language or manner she understands, 

appropriate counseling and instruction in the abortion 

procedure and shall develop, implement, and maintain 

policies and procedures for the provision of family planning 

and post-abortion counseling to its patients.  

F. There shall be an organized discharge planning process 

that includes an evaluation of the patient's capacity for self-

care and discharge instructions for patients to include 

instructions to call or return if signs of infection develop.  

12VAC5-412-240. Medical testing and laboratory services. 

A. Prior to the initiation of any abortion, a medical history 

and physical examination, including a confirmation of 

pregnancy, and completion of all the requirements of 

informed written consent pursuant to § 18.2-76 of the Code of 

Virginia, shall be completed for each patient. 

1. Use of any additional medical testing shall be based on 

an assessment of patient risk. The clinical criteria for such 

additional testing and the actions to be taken if abnormal 

results are found shall be documented.  
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2. Medical testing shall include a recognized method to 

confirm pregnancy and determination or documentation of 

Rh factor. 

3. The abortion facility shall develop, implement, and 

maintain policies and procedures for screening of sexually 

transmitted diseases consistent with current guidelines 

issued by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention. The policies and procedures shall address 

appropriate responses to a positive screening test. 

4. A written report of each laboratory test and examination 

shall be a part of the patient's record.  

B. Laboratory services shall be provided on site or through 

arrangement with a laboratory certified to provide the 

required procedures under the Clinical Laboratory 

Improvement Amendments of 1988 (CLIA-88) (42 CFR Part 

493).  

1. Facilities for collecting specimens shall be available on 

site.  

2. If laboratory services are provided on site they shall be 

directed by a person who qualifies as a director under 

CLIA-88 and shall be performed in compliance with 

CLIA-88 standards. 

3. All laboratory supplies shall be monitored for expiration 

dates, if applicable, and disposed of properly. 

C. All tissues removed resulting from the abortion procedure 

shall be examined to verify that villi or fetal parts are present; 

if villi or fetal parts cannot be identified with certainty, the 

tissue specimen shall be sent for further pathologic 

examination and the patient alerted to the possibility of an 

ectopic pregnancy, and referred appropriately.  

D. All tissues removed resulting from the abortion 

procedure shall be managed in accordance with requirements 

for medical waste pursuant to the Regulated Medical Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-120).  

12VAC5-412-250. Anesthesia service. 

A. The anesthesia service shall comply with the office-based 

anesthesia provisions of the Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, and 

Chiropractic (18VAC85-20-310 et seq.).  

B. The anesthesia service shall be directed by and under the 

supervision of a physician licensed in Virginia. 

C. When moderate sedation or conscious sedation is 

administered, the licensed health care practitioner who 

administers the anesthesia shall routinely monitor the patient 

according to procedures consistent with such administration. 

D. An abortion facility administering moderate 

sedation/conscious sedation shall maintain the following 

equipment, supplies, and pharmacological agents as required 

by 18VAC85-20-360 B: 

1. Appropriate equipment to manage airways;  

2. Drugs and equipment to treat shock and anaphylactic 

reactions;  

3. Precordial stethoscope;  

4. Pulse oximeter with appropriate alarms or an equivalent 

method of measuring oxygen saturation;  

5. Continuous electrocardiograph;  

6. Devices for measuring blood pressure, heart rate, and 

respiratory rate;  

7. Defibrillator; and  

8. Accepted method of identifying and preventing the 

interchangeability of gases. 

E. Elective general anesthesia shall not be used.  

F. If deep sedation or a major conductive block is 

administered or if general anesthesia is administered in an 

emergent situation, the licensed health care practitioner who 

administers the anesthesia service shall remain present and 

available in the facility to monitor the patient until the patient 

meets the discharge criteria. 

G. In addition to the requirements of subsection D of this 

section, an abortion facility administering deep sedation or a 

major conductive block, or administering general anesthesia 

in an emergent situation, shall maintain the following 

equipment, supplies, and pharmacological agents as required 

by 18VAC85-20-360 C: 

1. Drugs to treat malignant hyperthermia, when triggering 

agents are used;  

2. Peripheral nerve stimulator, if a muscle relaxant is used; 

and  

3. If using an anesthesia machine, the following shall be 

included:  

a. End-tidal carbon dioxide monitor (capnograph);  

b. In-circuit oxygen analyzer designed to monitor oxygen 

concentration within breathing circuit by displaying 

oxygen percent of the total respiratory mixture;  

c. Oxygen failure-protection devices (fail-safe system) 

that have the capacity to announce a reduction in oxygen 

pressure and, at lower levels of oxygen pressure, to 

discontinue other gases when the pressure of the supply 

of oxygen is reduced;  

d. Vaporizer exclusion (interlock) system, which ensures 

that only one vaporizer, and therefore only a single 

anesthetic agent can be actualized on any anesthesia 

machine at one time;  

e. Pressure-compensated anesthesia vaporizers, designed 

to administer a constant nonpulsatile output, which shall 

not be placed in the circuit downstream of the oxygen 

flush valve;  

f. Flow meters and controllers, which can accurately 

gauge concentration of oxygen relative to the anesthetic 

agent being administered and prevent oxygen mixtures of 

less than 21% from being administered;  

g. Alarm systems for high (disconnect), low 

(subatmospheric), and minimum ventilatory pressures in 
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the breathing circuit for each patient under general 

anesthesia; and  

h. A gas evacuation system.  

H. The abortion facility shall develop, implement, and 

maintain policies and procedures outlining criteria for 

discharge from anesthesia care. Such criteria shall include 

stable vital signs, responsiveness and orientation, ability to 

move voluntarily, controlled pain, and minimal nausea and 

vomiting. Discharge from anesthesia care is the responsibility 

of the health care practitioner providing the anesthesia care 

and shall occur only when the patient has met specific 

physician-defined criteria. 

12VAC5-412-260. Administration, storage and dispensing 

of drugs. 

A. Controlled substances, as defined in § 54.1-3401 of the 

Code of Virginia, shall be stored, administered, and dispensed 

in accordance with federal and state laws. The dispensing of 

drugs, excluding manufacturers' samples, shall be in 

accordance with Chapter 33 [ (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) (§ 54.1-

3300 et seq.) ] of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Pharmacy 

(18VAC110-20), and Regulations for Practitioners of the 

Healing Arts to Sell Controlled Substances (18VAC110-30). 

B. Drugs, as defined in § 54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia, 

whose intended use is to induce a termination of pregnancy 

shall only be prescribed, dispensed, or administered by a 

physician. 

C. Drugs maintained in the abortion facility for daily 

administration shall not be expired and shall be properly 

stored in enclosures of sufficient size with restricted access to 

authorized personnel only. Drugs shall be maintained at 

appropriate temperatures in accordance with definitions in 

18VAC110-20-10.  

D. The mixing, diluting, or reconstituting of drugs for 

administration shall be in accordance with regulations of the 

Board of Medicine (18VAC85-20-400 et seq.). 

E. Records of all drugs in Schedules I-V received, sold, 

administered, dispensed, or otherwise disposed of shall be 

maintained in accordance with federal and state laws, to 

include the inventory and reporting requirements of a theft or 

loss of drugs found in § 54.1-3404 of the Code of Virginia.  

12VAC5-412-270. Equipment and supplies. 

An abortion facility shall maintain medical equipment and 

supplies appropriate and adequate to care for patients based 

on the level, scope, and intensity of services provided, to 

include: 

1. A bed or recliner suitable for recovery; 

2. Oxygen with flow meters and masks or equivalent;  

3. Mechanical suction;  

4. Resuscitation equipment to include, as a minimum, 

resuscitation bags and oral airways;  

5. Emergency medications, intravenous fluids, and related 

supplies and equipment;  

6. Sterile suturing equipment and supplies; 

7. Adjustable examination light; 

8. Containers for soiled linen and waste materials with 

covers; and 

9. Refrigerator. 

12VAC5-412-280. Emergency equipment and supplies. 

An abortion facility shall maintain medical equipment, 

supplies, and drugs appropriate and adequate to manage 

potential emergencies based on the level, scope, and intensity 

of services provided. Such medical equipment, supplies, and 

drugs shall be determined by the physician and shall be 

consistent with the current edition of the American Heart 

Association's Guidelines for [ Advanced Cardiovascular Life 

Support Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Emergency 

Cardiovascular Care ]. Drugs shall include, at a minimum, 

those to treat the following conditions: 

1. Cardiopulmonary arrest;  

2. Seizure;  

3. Respiratory distress;  

4. Allergic reaction;  

5. Narcotic toxicity;  

6. Hypovolemic shock; and 

7. Vasovagal shock. 

12VAC5-412-290. Emergency services. 

A. An abortion facility shall provide ongoing urgent or 

emergent care and maintain on the premises adequate 

monitoring equipment, suction apparatus, oxygen, and related 

items for resuscitation and control of hemorrhage and other 

complications.  

B. An abortion facility that performs abortions using 

intravenous sedation shall provide equipment and services to 

render emergency resuscitative and life-support procedures 

pending transfer of the patient to a hospital. Such medical 

equipment and services shall be consistent with the current 

edition of the American Heart Association's Guidelines for 

Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support.  

C. A written agreement shall be executed with a licensed 

general hospital to ensure that any patient of the abortion 

facility shall receive needed emergency treatment. The 

agreement shall be with a licensed general hospital capable of 

providing full surgical, anesthesia, clinical laboratory, and 

diagnostic radiology service on 30 minutes notice and which 

has a physician in the hospital and available for emergency 

service at all times. When emergency transfer is necessary, 

the responsible physician at the abortion facility must provide 

direct communication to the emergency department staff 

regarding the status of the patient, the procedure details, and 

the suspected complication. All patients must be provided 

with contact information for a representative of the abortion 
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facility, so that an emergency department physician or 

treating provider may make contact with a provider of the 

facility if late complications arise. 

Part V 

Support Services - Health Information Records and Reports 

12VAC5-412-300. Health information records. 

An accurate and complete clinical record or chart shall be 

maintained on each patient. The record or chart shall contain 

sufficient information to satisfy the diagnosis or need for the 

medical or surgical service. It shall include, but not be limited 

to the following:  

1. Patient identification;  

2. Admitting information, including patient history and 

physical examination; 

3. Signed consent;  

4. Confirmation of pregnancy; and 

5. Procedure report to include: 

a. Physician orders;  

b. Laboratory tests, pathologist's report of tissue, and 

radiologist's report of x-rays;  

c. Anesthesia record;  

d. Operative record;  

e. Surgical medication and medical treatments;  

f. Recovery room notes;  

g. Physicians' and nurses' progress notes;  

h. Condition at time of discharge;  

i. Patient instructions (preoperative and postoperative); 

and 

j. Names of referral physicians or agencies; and 

6. Any other information required by law to be maintained 

in the health information record. 

12VAC5-412-310. Records storage. 

Provisions shall be made for the safe storage of medical 

records or accurate and eligible reproductions thereof 

according to applicable federal and state law, including the 

Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (42 USC 

§ 1320d et seq.).  

12VAC5-412-320. Required reporting. 

A. Abortion facilities shall comply with the fetal death and 

induced termination of pregnancy reporting provisions in the 

Board of Health Regulations Governing Vital Records 

(12VAC5-550-120).  

B. The abortion facility shall report the following events to 

OLC: 

1. Any patient, staff, or visitor death; 

2. Any serious injury to a patient;  

3. Medication errors that necessitate a clinical intervention 

other than monitoring; 

4. A death or significant injury of a patient or staff member 

resulting from a physical assault that occurs within or on 

the abortion facility grounds; and 

5. Any other incident reported to the malpractice insurance 

carrier or in compliance with the federal Safe Medical 

Devices Act of 1990 (21 USC § 301 et seq. - Pub. L. No. 

101-629). 

C. Notification of the events listed in subsection B of this 

section shall be required within 24 hours of occurrence. Each 

notice shall contain the: 

1. Abortion facility name; 

2. Type and circumstance of the event being reported; 

3. Date of the event; and 

4. Actions taken by the abortion facility to protect patient 

and staff safety and to prevent recurrence. 

D. Compliance with this section does not relieve the 

abortion facility from complying with any other applicable 

reporting or notification requirements, such as those relating 

to law-enforcement or professional regulatory agencies.  

E. Records that are confidential under federal or state law 

shall be maintained as confidential by the OLC and shall not 

be further disclosed by the OLC, except as required or 

permitted by law.  

F. Abortion facilities shall ensure that employees mandated 

to report suspected child abuse or neglect under § 63.2-1509 

of the Code of Virginia comply with the reporting 

requirements of § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia.  

Part VI  

Functional Safety and Maintenance  

12VAC5-412-330. Abortion facility security and safety.  

The abortion facility shall develop, implement, and maintain 

policies and procedures to ensure safety within the abortion 

facility and on its grounds and to minimize hazards to all 

occupants. The policies and procedures shall include, but not 

be limited to:  

1. Abortion facility security; 

2. Safety rules and practices pertaining to personnel, 

equipment, gases, liquids, drugs, supplies, and services; 

and 

3. Provisions for disseminating safety-related information 

to employees and users of the abortion facility. 

12VAC5-412-340. Disaster preparedness. 

A. Each abortion facility shall develop, implement, and 

maintain policies and procedures to ensure reasonable 

precautions are taken to protect all occupants from hazards of 

fire and other disasters. The policies and procedures shall 

include provisions for evacuation of all occupants in the event 

of a fire or other disaster.  

B. An abortion facility that participates in community 

disaster planning shall establish plans, based on its 
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capabilities, to meet its responsibilities for providing 

emergency care.  

12VAC5-412-350. Maintenance. 

A. The abortion facility's structure, its component parts, and 

all equipment such as elevators, heating, cooling, ventilation, 

and emergency lighting, shall be kept in good repair and 

operating condition. Areas used by patients shall be 

maintained in good repair and kept free of hazards. All 

wooden surfaces shall be sealed with nonlead-based paint, 

lacquer, varnish, or shellac that will allow sanitization.  

B. When patient monitoring equipment is utilized, a written 

preventive maintenance program shall be developed and 

implemented. This equipment shall be checked and/or tested 

in accordance with manufacturer's specifications at periodic 

intervals, not less than annually, to ensure proper operation 

and a state of good repair. After repairs and/or alterations are 

made to any equipment, the equipment shall be thoroughly 

tested for proper operation before it is returned to service. 

Records shall be maintained on each piece of equipment to 

indicate its history of testing and maintenance.  

12VAC5-412-360. [ Fire-fighting Firefighting ] equipment 

and systems. 

A. Each abortion facility shall establish a monitoring 

program for the internal enforcement of all applicable fire and 

safety laws and regulations and shall designate a responsible 

employee for the monitoring program. 

B. All fire protection and alarm systems and other 

firefighting equipment shall be inspected and tested in 

accordance with the current edition of the Virginia Statewide 

Fire Prevention Code (§ 27-94 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) to maintain them in serviceable condition.  

C. All corridors and other means of egress or exit from the 

building shall be maintained clear and free of obstructions in 

accordance with the current edition of the Virginia Statewide 

Fire Prevention Code (§ 27-94 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

Part VII  

Design and Construction  

12VAC5-412-370. Local and state codes and standards. 

Abortion facilities shall comply with state and local codes, 

zoning, and building ordinances and the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). In addition, abortion 

facilities shall comply with Part 1 and sections 3.1-1 through 

3.1-8 and section 3.7 of Part 3 of the 2010 Guidelines for 

Design and Construction of Health Care Facilities of the 

Facilities Guidelines Institute, which shall take precedence 

over the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code pursuant 

to § 32.1-127.001 of the Code of Virginia.  

Entities operating as of the effective date of this chapter as 

identified by the department through submission of Reports 

of Induced Termination of Pregnancy pursuant to 12VAC5-

550-120 or other means and that are now subject to licensure 

may be licensed in their current buildings if such entities 

submit a plan with the application for licensure that will bring 

them into full compliance with this provision within two 

years from the date of licensure. 

In order to determine whether the abortion facility is in 

compliance with this provision, the commissioner may obtain 

additional information from the facility or its architect 

concerning the design and construction of the facility. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 

form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 

may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 

General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

[ FORMS (12VAC5-412) 

Application for Abortion Facility Licensure (eff. 5/03). 

OSHA Forms for Recording Work-Related Injuries and 

Illnesses, 2004. ]  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC5-412) 

Guidelines for Design and Construction of Health Care 

Facilities, [ 2010 Edition, Part 1 and Sections 3.1-1 through 

3.1-8 and 3.7 of Part 3, ] Facilities Guidelines Institute 

(formerly of the American Institute of Architects), 

Washington, D.C. [ , 2010 Edition.  

Guidelines for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and 

Emergency Cardiovascular Care. Circulation. November 2, 

2010, Volume 122, Issue 18 Suppl 3, American Heart 

Association, 7272 Greenville Avenue, Dallas, TX 75231-

4596 (http://circ.ahajournals.org/content/vol122/18_suppl_3/).  

Sexually Transmitted Diseases Treatment Guidelines, 2010, 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department 

of Health and Human Services. 

Guide to Infection Prevention for Outpatient Settings: 

Minimum Expectations for Safe Care, Centers for Disease 

Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services (http://www.cdc.gov/HAI/prevent/prevent 

_pubs.html). 

Standards for Ambulatory Care, Rights and Responsibilities 

of the Individual, 2011, The Joint Commission, 1515 W. 

22nd Street, Suite 1300W, Oak Brook, IL 60523, telephone 

1-877-223-2866, email jcrcustomerservice@pbd.com. 

Bloodborne Pathogens - OSHA's Bloodborne Pathogens 

Standard, OSHA Fact Sheet and Quick Reference Guide, 

2011 U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration. ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2970; Filed April 25, 2013, 5:06 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=210f0002970~7&typ=40&actno=002970&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec613002970~6&typ=40&actno=002970&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec613002970~6&typ=40&actno=002970&mime=application/pdf
http://circ.ahajournals.org/content/vol122/18_suppl_3/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=79d05002970~2&typ=40&actno=002970&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=79d05002970~2&typ=40&actno=002970&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=79d05002970~2&typ=40&actno=002970&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=52199002970~3&typ=40&actno=002970&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=52199002970~3&typ=40&actno=002970&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=52199002970~3&typ=40&actno=002970&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=52199002970~3&typ=40&actno=002970&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=52199002970~3&typ=40&actno=002970&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6556c002970~5&typ=40&actno=002970&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6556c002970~5&typ=40&actno=002970&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6556c002970~5&typ=40&actno=002970&mime=application/pdf
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-10, 18VAC50-22-

100, 18VAC50-22-130, 18VAC50-22-140, 18VAC50-22-

160, 18VAC50-22-170, 18VAC50-22-180, 18VAC50-22-

260; adding 18VAC50-22-65).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1146 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: July 1, 2013, and until replaced by final 

regulations as provided in the third enactment of Chapter 865 

of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 527-4401, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Chapter 865 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly provides for the 

licensure of residential building energy analysts by the 

Board for Contractors and requires the board to 

promulgate regulations to implement the provisions of the 

act, to be effective within 280 days of its enactment.  

The amendments add licensing requirements for 

residential building energy analyst firms. 

Part I  

Definitions 

18VAC50-22-10. General definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter, 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 

by the context, shall have the following meanings:  

"Address of record" means the mailing address designated 

by the licensee to receive notices and correspondence from 

the board. 

"Affidavit" means a written statement of facts, made 

voluntarily, and confirmed by the oath or affirmation of the 

party making it, taken before a notary or other person having 

the authority to administer such oath or affirmation.  

"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by 

law.  

"Change order" means any modification to the original 

contract including, but not limited to, the time to complete the 

work, change in materials, change in cost, and change in the 

scope of work. 

"Controlling financial interest" means the direct or indirect 

ownership or control of more than 50% ownership of a firm.  

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Formal vocational training" means courses in the trade 

administered at an accredited educational facility; or formal 

training, approved by the department, conducted by trade 

associations, businesses, military, correspondence schools or 

other similar training organizations.  

"Full-time employee" means an employee who spends a 

minimum of 30 hours a week carrying out the work of the 

licensed contracting business.  

"Helper" or "laborer" means a person who assists a licensed 

tradesman and who is not an apprentice as defined in 

18VAC50-30-10.  

"Licensee" means a firm holding a license issued by the 

Board for Contractors to act as a contractor, as defined in 

§ 54.1-1100 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Net worth" means assets minus liabilities. For purposes of 

this chapter, assets shall not include any property owned as 

tenants by the entirety.  

"Prime contractor" means a licensed contractor that 

performs, supervises, or manages the construction, removal, 

repair, or improvement of real property pursuant to the terms 

of a primary contract with the property owner/lessee. The 

prime contractor may use its own employees to perform the 

work or use the services of other properly licensed 

contractors. 

"Principal place of business" means the location where the 

licensee principally conducts business with the public. 

"Reciprocity" means an arrangement by which the licensees 

of two states are allowed to practice within each other's 

boundaries by mutual agreement.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to 

effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 

for another period of time.  

"Residential building analyst firm" means any business 

entity wherein a residential building energy analysis, as 

defined in § 54.1-1144 of the Code of Virginia, is offered or 

practiced. 

"Responsible management" means the following 

individuals:  

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship;  

2. The partners of a general partnership;  

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership;  

4. The officers of a corporation;  

5. The managers of a limited liability company;  

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and  

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under 

the laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 

responsibility to the firm.  
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"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, 

who is trading under his own name, or under an assumed or 

fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 

through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Supervision" means providing guidance or direction of a 

delegated task or procedure by a tradesman licensed in 

accordance with Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia, being accessible to the helper or 

laborer, and periodically observing and evaluating the 

performance of the task or procedure.  

"Supervisor" means the licensed master or journeyman 

tradesman who has the responsibility to ensure that the 

installation is in accordance with the applicable provisions of 

the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code and provides 

supervision to helpers and laborers as defined in this chapter.  

"Tenants by the entirety" means a tenancy which is created 

between a husband and wife and by which together they hold 

title to the whole with right of survivorship so that, upon 

death of either, the other takes whole to exclusion of the 

deceased's remaining heirs.  

"Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code" or "USBC" 

means building regulations comprised of those promulgated 

by the Virginia Board of Housing and Community 

Development in accordance with § 36-98 of the Code of 

Virginia, including any model codes and standards that are 

incorporated by reference and that regulate construction, 

reconstruction, alteration, conversion, repair, maintenance or 

use of structures, and building and installation of equipment 

therein. 

18VAC50-22-65. Requirements for a residential building 

energy analyst firm. 

A. An applicant for a residential building energy analyst 

firm license must meet the requirements of this section. 

B. The firm shall name a qualified individual who meets all 

of the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Holds a current residential building energy analyst 

license issued by the board; and 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 

the firm. 

C. The applicant shall provide documentation, acceptable to 

the board, that the firm currently carries a minimum of 

$500,000 of liability insurance from a company authorized to 

provide such insurance in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. The firm, the qualified individual, and all members of the 

responsible management of the firm shall disclose, at the time 

of application, any current or previous energy analyst or 

home inspection licenses held in Virginia, or in other 

jurisdictions, and any disciplinary actions taken on these 

licenses. This includes, but is not limited to, any monetary 

penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a 

license in connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 

termination of a license in Virginia or in any other 

jurisdiction. 

E. The firm shall provide information for the past five years 

prior to application on any outstanding, past-due debts, 

judgments, outstanding tax obligations, defaults on bonds, or 

pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its qualified 

individual, and all members of the responsible management 

of the firm shall submit information on any past-due debts 

and judgments or defaults on bonds directly related to the 

practice of residential building energy analysis, as defined in 

§ 54.1-1144 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information about 

the firm, all members of the responsible management, and the 

qualified individual for the firm: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of application; and 

2. All felony convictions during their lifetime. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 

in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC50-22-100. Fees. 

Each check or money order shall be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft or 

similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 

fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 

processing charge set by the department: 

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C Initial 

License 

with license 

application 
$210  

Class B Initial 

License 

with license 

application 
$345  

Class A Initial 

License 

with license 

application 
$360  

Residential 

Building Energy 

Analyst Firm 

License 

with license 

application 
$210 

Qualified 

Individual Exam 

Fee 

with exam 

application 
$20 

Class B Exam 
with exam 

application ($20 
$40 
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Fee per section) 

Class A Exam 

Fee 

with exam 

application ($20 

per section) 

$60 

Note: A $25 Recovery Fund assessment is also required 

with each initial license application. If the applicant does not 

meet all requirements and does not become licensed, this 

assessment will be refunded. The examination fees approved 

by the board but administered by another governmental 

agency or organization shall be determined by that agency or 

organization. 

18VAC50-22-130. Qualifications for renewal.  

A. The license holder's completed renewal form and 

appropriate fees must be received within 30 days of the 

license expiration date in order to renew the license. 

Applications and fees received after the 30-day period will be 

processed in accordance with Part IV (18VAC50-22-160 et 

seq.) of this chapter.  

B. Applicants for renewal of a Class C license shall continue 

to meet all of the qualifications for licensure set forth in 

18VAC50-22-40. Applicants for renewal of a Class B license 

shall continue to meet all of the qualifications for licensure 

set forth in 18VAC50-22-50. Applicants for renewal of a 

Class A license shall continue to meet all of the qualifications 

for licensure set forth in 18VAC50-22-60.  

C. Applicants for renewal of a residential building energy 

analyst firm license shall continue to meet all of the 

qualifications for licensure set forth in 18VAC50-22-65 and 

shall submit proof of insurance as required in 18VAC50-22-

65 C. 

18VAC50-22-140. Renewal fees. 

Each check or money order should be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable. 

In the event that a check, money draft, or similar instrument 

for payment of a fee required by statute or regulation is not 

honored by the bank or financial institution named, the 

applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees sufficient 

to cover the original fee, plus an additional processing charge 

set by the department:  

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C Renewal 
with renewal 

application 
$195  

Class B Renewal 
with renewal 

application 
$225  

Class A Renewal 
with renewal 

application 
$240 

Residential 

Building Energy 

with renewal 

application 
$195  

Analyst Firm 

The date on which the renewal fee is received by the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or 

its agent shall determine whether the licensee is eligible for 

renewal or must apply for reinstatement.  

Part IV  

Reinstatement  

18VAC50-22-160. Reinstatement required.  

Should the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation fail to receive a license holder's renewal form and 

appropriate fees within 30 days of the license expiration date, 

the licensee shall be required to reinstate the license. 

Applicants for reinstatement of a Class C license shall meet 

the requirements of 18VAC50-22-130. Applicants for 

reinstatement of a Class B license shall continue to meet the 

qualifications for licensure set forth in 18VAC50-22-50. 

Applicants for reinstatement of a Class A license shall 

continue to meet all the qualifications for licensure set forth 

in 18VAC50-22-60. Applicants for reinstatement of a 

residential building energy analyst firm license shall continue 

to meet all of the qualifications for licensure set forth in 

18VAC50-22-65. 

18VAC50-22-170. Reinstatement fees.  

Each check or money order should be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft, or 

similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 

fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 

processing charge set by the department:  

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C 

Reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$405*  

Class B 

Reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$460*  

Class A 

Reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$490*  

Residential 

Building Energy 

Analyst Firm 

Reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$405* 

*Includes renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-22-140. 

The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or 

its agent shall determine whether the licensee is eligible for 

reinstatement or must apply for a new license and meet the 
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entry requirements in place at the time of that application. In 

order to ensure that licensees are qualified to practice as 

contractors, no reinstatement will be permitted once one year 

from the expiration date of the license has passed.  

18VAC50-22-180. Status of licensee during the period 

prior to reinstatement.  

A. When a license is reinstated, the licensee shall continue 

to have the same license number and shall be assigned an 

expiration date two years from the previous expiration date of 

the license.  

B. A contractor who reinstates his license shall be regarded 

as having been continuously licensed without interruption. 

Therefore:  

1. The contractor shall remain under the disciplinary 

authority of the board during this entire period and may be 

held accountable for his activities during this period.  

2. A consumer who contracts with a contractor during the 

period between the expiration of the license and the 

reinstatement of the license shall not be prohibited from 

making a claim on the Virginia Contractor Transaction 

Recovery Fund. 

A contractor who fails to reinstate his license shall be 

regarded as unlicensed from the expiration date of the license 

forward.  

Nothing in this chapter shall divest the board of its authority 

to discipline a contractor for a violation of the law or 

regulations during the period of time for which the contractor 

was licensed. 

C. A residential building energy analyst firm who reinstates 

its license shall be regarded as having been continuously 

licensed without interruption and shall remain under the 

disciplinary authority of the board during this entire period 

and may be held accountable for its activities during this 

period. 

18VAC50-22-260. Filing of charges; prohibited acts.  

A. All complaints against contractors and residential 

building energy analyst firms may be filed with the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation at 

any time during business hours, pursuant to § 54.1-1114 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

B. The following are prohibited acts:  

1. Failure in any material way to comply with provisions of 

Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or the 

regulations of the board.  

2. Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete 

information to the board in obtaining, renewing, 

reinstating, or maintaining a license.  

3. Failure of the responsible management, designated 

employee, or qualified individual to report to the board, in 

writing, the suspension or revocation of a contractor 

license by another state or conviction in a court of 

competent jurisdiction of a building code violation.  

4. Publishing or causing to be published any advertisement 

relating to contracting which contains an assertion, 

representation, or statement of fact that is false, deceptive, 

or misleading.  

5. Negligence and/or incompetence in the practice of 

contracting or residential building energy analyses.  

6. Misconduct in the practice of contracting or residential 

building energy analyses.  

7. A finding of improper or dishonest conduct in the 

practice of contracting by a court of competent jurisdiction 

or by the board.  

8. Failure of all those who engage in residential 

contracting, excluding subcontractors to the contracting 

parties and those who engage in routine maintenance or 

service contracts, to make use of a legible written contract 

clearly specifying the terms and conditions of the work to 

be performed. For the purposes of this chapter, residential 

contracting means construction, removal, repair, or 

improvements to single-family or multiple-family 

residential buildings, including accessory-use structures as 

defined in § 54.1-1100 of the Code of Virginia. Prior to 

commencement of work or acceptance of payments, the 

contract shall be signed by both the consumer and the 

licensee or his agent.  

9. Failure of those engaged in residential contracting as 

defined in this chapter to comply with the terms of a 

written contract which contains the following minimum 

requirements:  

a. When work is to begin and the estimated completion 

date;  

b. A statement of the total cost of the contract and the 

amounts and schedule for progress payments including a 

specific statement on the amount of the down payment;  

c. A listing of specified materials and work to be 

performed, which is specifically requested by the 

consumer;  

d. A "plain-language" exculpatory clause concerning 

events beyond the control of the contractor and a 

statement explaining that delays caused by such events 

do not constitute abandonment and are not included in 

calculating time frames for payment or performance;  

e. A statement of assurance that the contractor will 

comply with all local requirements for building permits, 

inspections, and zoning;  

f. Disclosure of the cancellation rights of the parties;  

g. For contracts resulting from a door-to-door 

solicitation, a signed acknowledgment by the consumer 

that he has been provided with and read the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation statement of 
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protection available to him through the Board for 

Contractors;  

h. Contractor's name, address, license number, class of 

license, and classifications or specialty services; and  

i. Statement providing that any modification to the 

contract, which changes the cost, materials, work to be 

performed, or estimated completion date, must be in 

writing and signed by all parties.  

10. Failure to make prompt delivery to the consumer 

before commencement of work of a fully executed copy of 

the contract as described in subdivisions 8 and 9 of this 

subsection for construction or contracting work.  

11. Failure of the contractor to maintain for a period of five 

years from the date of contract a complete and legible copy 

of all documents relating to that contract, including, but not 

limited to, the contract and any addenda or change orders.  

12. Refusing or failing, upon request, to produce to the 

board, or any of its agents, any document, book, record, or 

copy of it in the licensee's possession concerning a 

transaction covered by this chapter or for which the 

licensee is required to maintain records.  

13. Failing to respond to an agent of the board or providing 

false, misleading or incomplete information to an 

investigator seeking information in the investigation of a 

complaint filed with the board against the contractor. 

Failing or refusing to claim certified mail sent to the 

licensee's address of record shall constitute a violation of 

this regulation. 

14. Abandonment defined as the unjustified cessation of 

work under the contract for a period of 30 days or more.  

15. The intentional and unjustified failure to complete 

work contracted for and/or to comply with the terms in the 

contract.  

16. The retention or misapplication of funds paid, for 

which work is either not performed or performed only in 

part.  

17. Making any misrepresentation or making a false 

promise that might influence, persuade, or induce.  

18. Assisting another to violate any provision of Chapter 1 

(§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or this chapter; or 

combining or conspiring with or acting as agent, partner, or 

associate for another.  

19. Allowing a firm's license to be used by another.  

20. Acting as or being an ostensible licensee for 

undisclosed persons who do or will control or direct, 

directly or indirectly, the operations of the licensee's 

business.  

21. Action by the firm, responsible management as defined 

in this chapter, designated employee or qualified individual 

to offer, give, or promise anything of value or benefit to 

any federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of 

influencing that employee to circumvent, in the 

performance of his duties, any federal, state, or local law, 

regulation, or ordinance governing the construction 

industry.  

22. Where the firm, responsible management as defined in 

this chapter, designated employee or qualified individual 

has been convicted or found guilty, after initial licensure, 

regardless of adjudication, in any jurisdiction, of any 

felony or of any misdemeanor, there being no appeal 

pending therefrom or the time of appeal having elapsed. 

Any plea of guilty or nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. The record 

of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as 

prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt.  

23. Failure to inform the board in writing, within 30 days, 

that the firm, a member of responsible management as 

defined in this chapter, its designated employee, or its 

qualified individual has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere 

or was convicted and found guilty of any felony or of a 

Class 1 misdemeanor or any misdemeanor conviction for 

activities carried out while engaged in the practice of 

contracting.  

24. Having been disciplined by any county, city, town, or 

any state or federal governing body including action by the 

Virginia Department of Health, which action shall be 

reviewed by the board before it takes any disciplinary 

action of its own.  

25. Failure to abate a violation of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code, as amended.  

26. Failure of a contractor to comply with the notification 

requirements of the Virginia Underground Utility 

Prevention Act, Chapter 10.3 (§ 56-265.14 et seq.) of Title 

56 of the Code of Virginia (Miss Utility).  

27. Practicing in a classification, specialty service, or class 

of license for which the contractor is not licensed.  

28. Failure to satisfy any judgments.  

29. Contracting with an unlicensed or improperly licensed 

contractor or subcontractor in the delivery of contracting 

services.  

30. Failure to honor the terms and conditions of a warranty.  

31. Failure to obtain written change orders, which are 

signed by both the consumer and the licensee or his agent, 

to an already existing contract.  

32. Failure to ensure that supervision, as defined in this 

chapter, is provided to all helpers and laborers assisting 

licensed tradesman.  

33. Failure of a residential building energy analyst firm to 

ensure that residential building energy analyses conducted 

by the firm are consistent with the requirements set forth 

by the board, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

the U.S. Department of Energy, or the "Energy Star" 

Program. 
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34. Failure of a residential building energy analyst firm to 

maintain the liability insurance required in 18VAC50-22-

65 C at any time while licensed by the board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2849; Filed April 24, 2013, 8:49 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-30. Individual License and 

Certification Regulations (amending 18VAC50-30-40, 

18VAC50-30-90, 18VAC50-30-120, 18VAC50-30-130, 

18VAC50-30-185, 18VAC50-30-190, 18VAC50-30-200).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1146 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: July 1, 2013, and until replaced by final 

regulations as provided in the third enactment of Chapter 865 

of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 527-4401, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Chapter 865 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly provides for the 

licensure of residential building energy analysts by the 

Board for Contractors and requires the board to 

promulgate changes to its regulations to implement the 

provisions of the act, to be effective within 280 days of its 

enactment.  

The amendments add licensing requirements for 

residential building energy analysts, including standards 

for performing residential building energy analyses. 

18VAC50-30-40. Evidence of ability and proficiency.  

A. Applicants for examination to be licensed as a 

journeyman shall furnish evidence that one of the following 

experience and education standards has been attained:  

1. Four years of practical experience in the trade and 240 

hours of formal vocational training in the trade. Experience 

in excess of four years may be substituted for formal 

vocational training at a ratio of one year of experience for 

80 hours of formal training, but not to exceed 200 hours;  

2. Four years of practical experience and 80 hours of 

vocational training for liquefied petroleum gas fitters and 

natural gas fitter providers except that no substitute 

experience will be allowed for liquefied petroleum gas and 

natural gas workers;  

3. An associate degree or a certificate of completion from 

at least a two-year program in a tradesman-related field 

from an accredited community college or technical school 

as evidenced by a transcript from the educational 

institution and two years of practical experience in the 

trade for which licensure is desired;  

4. A bachelor's degree received from an accredited college 

or university in an engineering curriculum related to the 

trade and one year of practical experience in the trade for 

which licensure is desired; or  

5. On or after July 1, 1995, an applicant with 10 years of 

practical experience in the trade as verified by reference 

letters of experience from any of the following: building 

officials, building inspectors, current or former employers, 

contractors, engineers, architects or current or past clients 

attesting to the applicant's work in the trade, may be 

granted permission to sit for the journeyman's level 

examination without having to meet the educational 

requirements.  

B. Applicants for examination to be licensed as a master 

shall furnish evidence that one of the following experience 

standards has been attained:  

1. Evidence that they have one year of experience as a 

licensed journeyman; or  

2. On or after July 1, 1995, an applicant with 10 years of 

practical experience in the trade, as verified by reference 

letters of experience from any of the following: building 

officials, building inspectors, current or former employers, 

contractors, engineers, architects or current or past clients, 

attesting to the applicant's work in the trade, may be 

granted permission to sit for the master's level examination 

without having to meet the educational requirements.  

C. Individuals who have successfully passed the Class A 

contractors trade examination prior to January 1, 1991, 

administered by the Virginia Board for Contractors in a 

certified trade shall be deemed qualified as a master in that 

trade in accordance with this chapter. 

D. Applicants for examination to be certified as a backflow 

prevention device worker shall furnish evidence that one of 

the following experience and education standards has been 

attained:  

1. Four years of practical experience in water distribution 

systems and 40 hours of formal vocational training in a 

school approved by the board; or  

2. Applicants with seven or more years of experience may 

qualify with 16 hours of formal vocational training in a 

school approved by the board.  

The board accepts the American Society of Sanitary 

Engineers' (ASSE) standards for testing procedures. Other 

programs could be approved after board review. The board 

requires all backflow training to include instruction in a wet 

lab.  

E. An applicant for certification as an elevator mechanic 

shall:  

1. Have three years of practical experience in the 

construction, maintenance and service/repair of elevators, 

escalators, or related conveyances; 144 hours of formal 

vocational training; and satisfactorily complete a written 

examination administered by the board. Experience in 

excess of four years may be substituted for formal 

vocational training at a ratio of one year of experience for 

40 hours of formal training, but not to exceed 120 hours;  
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2. Have three years of practical experience in the 

construction, maintenance, and service/repair of elevators, 

escalators, or related conveyances and a certificate of 

completion of the elevator mechanic examination of a 

training program determined to be equivalent to the 

requirements established by the board; or  

3. Successfully complete an elevator mechanic 

apprenticeship program that is approved by the Virginia 

Apprenticeship Council or registered with the Bureau of 

Apprenticeship and Training, U.S. Department of Labor, as 

evidenced by providing a certificate of completion or other 

official document, and satisfactorily complete a written 

examination administered by the board.  

F. Pursuant to § 54.1-1129.1 A of the Code of Virginia, an 

applicant for examination as a certified water well systems 

provider shall provide satisfactory proof to the board of at 

least: 

1. One year of full-time practical experience in the drilling, 

installation, maintenance, or repair of water wells or water 

well systems under the supervision of a certified master 

water well systems provider or other equivalent experience 

as approved by the board to qualify for examination as a 

trainee water well systems provider; 

2. Three years of practical experience in the drilling, 

installation, maintenance, or repair of water wells or water 

well systems under the supervision of a certified master 

water well systems provider or other equivalent experience 

as approved by the board and 24 hours of formal 

vocational training in the trade to qualify for examination 

as a journeyman water well systems provider; or 

3. Six years of practical experience in the drilling, 

installation, maintenance, or repair of water wells or water 

well systems under the supervision of a certified master 

water well systems provider or other equivalent experience 

as approved by the board and 48 hours of formal 

vocational training in the trade to qualify for examination 

as a master water well systems provider.  

G. Pursuant to § 54.1-1145 B of the Code of Virginia, an 

applicant for licensure as a residential building energy analyst 

shall provide satisfactory proof to the board of: 

1. The completion of a residential building energy analyst 

training program approved by the board, 

2. The completion of a minimum of five residential 

building energy analyses under the supervision of a 

licensed residential building energy analyst, 

3. Current membership in good standing with a certifying 

organization approved by the board, and 

4. Maintaining a minimum of $100,000 of liability 

insurance from a company authorized to provide such 

insurance in the Commonwealth of Virginia unless the 

individual is employed by a company that holds a valid 

residential building energy analyst firm license issued by 

the board. 

The applicant shall provide information for the past five 

years prior to application on any outstanding, past-due debts, 

judgments, outstanding tax obligations, defaults on bonds, or 

pending or past bankruptcies. 

H. Individuals applying for initial licensure as a residential 

building energy analyst who meet the criteria of § 54.1-1145 

C of the Code of Virginia are not required to meet the 

eligibility standards for licensure found in 18VAC50-30-40 

G.  

18VAC50-30-90. Fees for licensure and certification. 

A. Each check or money order shall be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The date of receipt 

by the department or its agent is the date that will be used to 

determine whether or not it is on time. Fees remain active for 

a period of one year from the date of receipt and all 

applications must be completed within that time frame.  

B. Fees are as follows:  

Original tradesman license by examination $130 

Original tradesman license without 

examination 

$130 

Card exchange (exchange of locality-issued 

card for state-issued Virginia tradesman 

license) 

$95  

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter $130 

Natural gas fitter provider $130 

Backflow prevention device worker 

certification 

$130 

Elevator mechanic certification $130 

Water well systems provider certification 

Residential building energy analyst license 

$130 

$130 

18VAC50-30-120. Renewal. 

A. Licenses and certification cards issued under this chapter 

shall expire two years from the last day of the month in which 

they were issued as indicated on the license or certification 

card. 

B. Effective with all licenses issued or renewed after 

December 31, 2007, as a condition of renewal or 

reinstatement and pursuant to § 54.1-1133 of the Code of 

Virginia, all individuals holding tradesman licenses with the 

trade designations of plumbing, electrical and heating 

ventilation and cooling shall be required to satisfactorily 

complete three hours of continuing education for each 

designation and individuals holding licenses as liquefied 

petroleum gas fitters and natural gas fitter providers, one hour 

of continuing education, relating to the applicable building 

code, from a provider approved by the board in accordance 

with the provisions of this chapter. An inactive tradesman 

is not required to meet the continuing education requirements 

as a condition of renewal. 
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C. Certified elevator mechanics, as a condition of renewal or 

reinstatement and pursuant to § 54.1-1143 of the Code of 

Virginia, shall be required to satisfactorily complete eight 

hours of continuing education relating to the provisions of the 

Virginia Statewide Building Code pertaining to elevators, 

escalators and related conveyances. This continuing education 

will be from a provider approved by the board in accordance 

with the provisions of this chapter.  

D. Certified water well systems providers, as a condition of 

renewal or reinstatement and pursuant to § 54.1-1129. 1 B of 

the Code of Virginia, shall be required to satisfactorily 

complete eight hours of continuing education in the specialty 

of technical aspects of water well construction, applicable 

statutory and regulatory provisions, and business practices 

related to water well construction from a provider approved 

by the board in accordance with the provisions of this chapter. 

E. Renewal fees are as follows:  

Tradesman license $90  

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter license $90  

Natural gas fitter provider license $90  

Backflow prevention device worker 

certification 

$90  

Elevator mechanic certification $90  

Water well systems provider certification 

Residential building energy analyst license 

$90 

$90  

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. 

F. The board will mail a renewal notice to the regulant 

outlining procedures for renewal. Failure to receive this 

notice, however, shall not relieve the regulant of the 

obligation to renew. If the regulant fails to receive the 

renewal notice, a photocopy of the tradesman license or 

backflow prevention device worker certification card may be 

submitted with the required fee as an application for renewal 

within 30 days of the expiration date. 

G. The date on which the renewal fee is received by the 

department or its agent will determine whether the regulant is 

eligible for renewal or required to apply for reinstatement. 

H. The board may deny renewal of a tradesman license or a 

backflow prevention device worker certification card for the 

same reasons as it may refuse initial issuance or to discipline 

a regulant. The regulant has a right to appeal any such action 

by the board under the Virginia Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

I. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 

provided by the department such as, but not limited to, 

renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 

exam administration. 

J. Residential building energy analysts, as a condition of 

renewal or reinstatement, shall provide documentation of 

continued membership, in good standing, of a certifying 

organization approved by the board, and proof of insurance as 

required in 18VAC50-30-40 G 4.  

18VAC50-30-130. Reinstatement. 

A. Should the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation fail to receive the renewal application or fees 

within 30 days of the expiration date, the regulant will be 

required to apply for reinstatement of the license or 

certification card. 

B. Reinstatement fees are as follows: 

Tradesman license $140* 

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter license $140* 

Natural gas fitter provider license $140* 

Backflow prevention device worker 

certification 

$140* 

Elevator mechanic certification $140* 

Water well systems provider certification 

Residential building energy analyst 

license 

$140* 

$140* 

*Includes renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-30-120. 

All fees required by the board are nonrefundable and shall 

not be prorated. 

C. Applicants for reinstatement shall meet the requirements 

of 18VAC50-30-30. 

D. The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by 

the department or its agent will determine whether the license 

or certification card is reinstated or a new application is 

required.  

E. In order to ensure that license or certification card holders 

are qualified to practice as tradesmen, liquefied petroleum gas 

fitters, natural gas fitter providers, backflow prevention 

device workers, elevator mechanics, or water well systems 

providers, or residential building energy analysts, no 

reinstatement will be permitted once one year from the 

expiration date has passed. After that date the applicant must 

apply for a new license or certification card and meet the then 

current entry requirements.  

F. Any tradesman, liquefied petroleum gas fitter, or natural 

gas fitter provider activity conducted subsequent to the 

expiration of the license may constitute unlicensed activity 

and may be subject to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. Further, any person who holds himself out 

as a certified backflow prevention device worker, as defined 

in § 54.1-1128 of the Code of Virginia, or as a certified 

elevator mechanic, as defined in § 54.1-1140 of the Code of 

Virginia, or as a water well systems provider as defined in 

§ 54.1-1129.1 of the Code of Virginia, without the 
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appropriate certification, may be subject to prosecution under 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. Any activity related to the 

operating integrity of an elevator, escalator, or related 

conveyance, conducted subsequent to the expiration of an 

elevator mechanic certification may constitute illegal activity 

and may be subject to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. Any individual who completes a residential 

building energy analysis, as defined in § 54.1-1144 of the 

Code of Virginia, subsequent to the expiration of a residential 

building energy analyst license, may constitute illegal activity 

and may be subject to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

G. The board may deny reinstatement of a license or 

certification card for the same reasons as it may refuse initial 

issuance or to discipline a regulant. The regulant has a right to 

appeal any such action by the board under the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

H. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 

provided by the department, such as, but not limited to, 

renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 

exam administration. 

Part V  

Standards of Conduct  

18VAC50-30-185. Revocation of licensure or certification.  

A. Licensure or certification may be revoked for 

misrepresentation or a fraudulent application or for 

incompetence as demonstrated by an egregious or repeated 

violation of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code.  

B. The board shall have the power to require remedial 

education and to fine, suspend, revoke or deny renewal of a 

license or certification card of any individual who is found to 

be in violation of the statutes or regulations governing the 

practice of licensed tradesmen, liquefied petroleum gas fitters, 

natural gas fitter providers, backflow prevention device 

workers or, elevator mechanics, or residential building energy 

analysts in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

18VAC50-30-190. Prohibited acts.  

Any of the following are cause for disciplinary action:  

1. Failure in any material way to comply with provisions of 

Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or the 

regulations of the board;  

2. Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete 

information to the board in obtaining, renewing, 

reinstating, or maintaining a license or certification card;  

3. Where the regulant has failed to report to the board, in 

writing, the suspension or revocation of a tradesman, 

liquefied petroleum gas fitter or natural gas fitter provider 

license, certificate or card, or backflow prevention device 

worker or water well systems provider certification card, 

by another state or a conviction in a court of competent 

jurisdiction of a building code violation;  

4. Negligence or incompetence in the practice of a 

tradesman, liquefied petroleum gas fitter, natural gas fitter 

provider, backflow prevention device worker, elevator 

mechanic, or water well systems provider;  

5. Misconduct in the practice of a tradesman, liquefied 

petroleum gas fitter, natural gas fitter provider, backflow 

prevention device worker, elevator mechanic, or water well 

systems provider;  

6. A finding of improper or dishonest conduct in the 

practice of a tradesman, liquefied petroleum gas fitter, 

natural gas fitter provider, backflow prevention device 

worker, elevator mechanic, or water well systems provider 

by a court of competent jurisdiction;  

7. For licensed tradesmen, liquefied petroleum gas fitters 

or natural gas fitter providers performing jobs under 

$1,000, or backflow prevention device workers, elevator 

mechanics, or water well systems providers performing 

jobs of any amount, abandonment, the intentional and 

unjustified failure to complete work contracted for, or the 

retention or misapplication of funds paid, for which work 

is either not performed or performed only in part 

(unjustified cessation of work under the contract for a 

period of 30 days or more shall be considered evidence of 

abandonment);  

8. Making any misrepresentation or making a false promise 

of a character likely to influence, persuade, or induce;  

9. Aiding or abetting an unlicensed contractor to violate 

any provision of Chapter 1 or Chapter 11 of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia, or these regulations; or combining or 

conspiring with or acting as agent, partner, or associate for 

an unlicensed contractor; or allowing one's license or 

certification to be used by an unlicensed or uncertified 

individual;  

10. Where the regulant has offered, given or promised 

anything of value or benefit to any federal, state, or local 

government employee for the purpose of influencing that 

employee to circumvent, in the performance of his duties, 

any federal, state, or local law, regulation, or ordinance 

governing the construction industry;  

11. Where the regulant has been convicted or found guilty, 

after initial licensure or certification, regardless of 

adjudication, in any jurisdiction of any felony or of a 

misdemeanor involving lying, cheating or stealing, sexual 

offense, drug distribution, physical injury, or relating to the 

practice of the profession, there being no appeal pending 

therefrom or the time of appeal having elapsed. Any pleas 

of guilty or nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. The record 

of a conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to 

be admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 
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where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such guilt;  

12. Having failed to inform the board in writing, within 30 

days, that the regulant has pleaded guilty or nolo 

contendere or was convicted and found guilty of any 

felony or a misdemeanor involving lying, cheating, 

stealing, sexual offense, drug distribution, physical injury, 

or relating to the practice of the profession;  

13. Having been disciplined by any county, city, town, or 

any state or federal governing body for actions relating to 

the practice of any trade, backflow prevention device work, 

or water well systems provider work, which action shall be 

reviewed by the board before it takes any disciplinary 

action of its own;  

14. Failure to comply with the Virginia Statewide Building 

Code;  

15. Practicing in a classification or specialty service for 

which the regulant is not licensed or certified; 

16. Failure to obtain any document required by the 

Virginia Department of Health for the drilling, installation, 

maintenance, repair, construction, or removal of water 

wells, water well systems, water well pumps, or other 

water well equipment; and 

17. Failure to obtain a building permit or applicable 

inspection, where required; 

18. Failure to perform a residential building energy 

analysis consistent with the requirements set forth by the 

board, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. 

Department of Energy, or the "Energy Star" Program; and 

19. Failure of a residential building energy analyst to 

maintain the liability insurance required in 18VAC50-30-

40 G 4. 

Part VI  

Vocational Training and Continuing Education Providers  

18VAC50-30-200. Vocational training.  

A. Vocational training courses must be completed through 

accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 

colleges; adult distributive, marketing and formal vocational 

training as defined in this chapter; Virginia Apprenticeship 

Council programs; or proprietary schools approved by the 

Virginia Department of Education.  

B. Backflow prevention device worker courses must be 

completed through schools approved by the board. The board 

accepts the American Society of Sanitary Engineers' (ASSE) 

standards for testing procedures. Other programs could be 

approved after board review. The board requires all backflow 

training to include instruction in a wet lab.  

C. Elevator mechanic courses must be completed through 

schools approved by the board. The board accepts training 

programs approved by the National Elevator Industry 

Education Program (NEIEP). Other programs could be 

approved after board review.  

D. Water well systems provider courses must be completed 

through schools or programs approved by the board. 

E. Residential building energy analyst courses must be 

completed through programs that meet or exceed the 

standards set forth by the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency, the U.S. Department of Energy, or the Home 

Performance with Energy Program.  Other programs could be 

approved after board review. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2739; Filed April 24, 2013, 8:49 a.m.  

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 

with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, which 

excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Real Estate Appraiser Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-20. Real Estate Appraiser 

Board Rules and Regulations (amending 18VAC130-20-

10, 18VAC130-20-60, 18VAC130-20-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2013 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 

527-4298, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments provide that (i) only certified real estate 

appraisers may supervise licensed real estate appraiser 

trainees; (ii) supervising appraisers must be in good 

standing and not subject to any disciplinary action within 

the last two years that affects the supervising appraiser's 

legal eligibility to engage in appraisal practice; and (iii) 

licensed real estate appraiser trainees must complete 28 

hours of continuing education to renew the trainee license 

at the expiration of the first two-year license term. This 

action amends the board's regulations to comply with Title 

XI of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery and 

Enforcement Act of 1989 (FIRREA), which was amended 

by the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer 

Protection Act (Pub. L. No. 111-203) on July 21, 2010. 

Pursuant to this amendment, § 1116 of FIRREA (12 USC 

§ 3345) requires trainee appraisers and supervisory 

appraisers to meet or exceed the minimum qualification 

requirements of the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The 

Appraisal Foundation. 
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Part I  

General  

18VAC130-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter, 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 

by the context, shall have the following meanings:  

"Accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 

colleges" means those accredited institutions of higher 

learning approved by the Virginia Council of Higher 

Education or listed in the Transfer Credit Practices of 

Designated Educational Institutions, published by the 

American Association of Collegiate Registrars and 

Admissions Officers or a recognized international equivalent.  

"Adult distributive or marketing education programs" means 

those programs offered at schools approved by the Virginia 

Department of Education or any other local, state, or federal 

government agency, board or commission to teach adult 

education or marketing courses.  

"Analysis" means a study of real estate or real property other 

than the estimation of value.  

"Appraisal Foundation" means the foundation incorporated 

as an Illinois Not for Profit Corporation on November 30, 

1987, to establish and improve uniform appraisal standards 

by defining, issuing and promoting such standards.  

"Appraisal subcommittee" means the designees of the heads 

of the federal financial institutions regulatory agencies 

established by the Federal Financial Institutions Examination 

Council Act of 1978 (12 USC § 3301 et seq.), as amended.  

"Appraiser" means one who is expected to perform 

valuation services competently and in a manner that is 

independent, impartial and objective.  

"Appraiser classification" means any category of appraiser 

which the board creates by designating criteria for 

qualification for such category and by designating the scope 

of practice permitted for such category.  

"Appraiser Qualifications Board" means the board created 

by the Appraisal Foundation to establish appropriate criteria 

for the certification and recertification of qualified appraisers 

by defining, issuing and promoting such qualification criteria; 

to disseminate such qualification criteria to states, 

governmental entities and others; and to develop or assist in 

the development of appropriate examinations for qualified 

appraisers.  

"Appraiser trainee" means an individual who is licensed as 

an appraiser trainee to appraise those properties which the 

supervising appraiser is permitted to appraise.  

"Business entity" means any corporation, partnership, 

association or other business entity under which appraisal 

services are performed.  

"Certified general real estate appraiser" means an individual 

who meets the requirements for licensure that relate to the 

appraisal of all types of real estate and real property and is 

licensed as a certified general real estate appraiser.  

"Certified instructor" means an individual holding an 

instructor certificate issued by the Real Estate Appraiser 

Board to act as an instructor.  

"Certified residential real estate appraiser" means an 

individual who meets the requirements for licensure for the 

appraisal of or the review appraisal of any residential real 

estate or real property of one to four residential units 

regardless of transaction value or complexity. Certified 

residential real estate appraisers may also appraise or provide 

a review appraisal of nonresidential properties with a 

transaction value up to $250,000.  

"Classroom hour" means 50 minutes out of each 60-minute 

segment. The prescribed number of classroom hours includes 

time devoted to tests which are considered to be part of the 

course.  

"Distance education" means an educational process based on 

the geographical separation of provider and student (i.e., CD-

ROM, on-line learning, correspondence courses, etc.).  

"Experience" as used in this chapter includes but is not 

limited to experience gained in the performance of traditional 

appraisal assignments, or in the performance of the following: 

fee and staff appraisals, ad valorem tax appraisal, review 

appraisal, appraisal analysis, real estate consulting, highest 

and best use analysis, and feasibility analysis/study.  

For the purpose of this chapter, experience has been divided 

into four major categories: (i) fee and staff appraisal, (ii) ad 

valorem tax appraisal, (iii) review appraisal, and (iv) real 

estate consulting.  

1. "Fee/staff appraiser experience" means experience 

acquired as either a sole appraiser, as a cosigner, or 

through disclosure of assistance in the certification in 

accordance with the Uniform Standards of Professional 

Appraisal Practice.  

Sole appraiser experience is experience obtained by an 

individual who makes personal inspections of real estate, 

assembles and analyzes the relevant facts, and by the use 

of reason and the exercise of judgment, forms objective 

opinions and prepares reports as to the market value or 

other properly defined value of identified interests in said 

real estate.  

Cosigner appraiser experience is experience obtained by an 

individual who signs an appraisal report prepared by 

another, thereby accepting full responsibility for the 

content and conclusions of the appraisal.  

To qualify for fee/staff appraiser experience, an individual 

must have prepared written appraisal reports after January 

30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at 

the time of the reports' preparation, including Standards 1 

and 2.  
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2. "Ad valorem tax appraisal experience" means 

experience obtained by an individual who assembles and 

analyzes the relevant facts, and who correctly employs 

those recognized methods and techniques that are 

necessary to produce and communicate credible appraisals 

within the context of the real property tax laws. Ad 

valorem tax appraisal experience may be obtained either 

through individual property appraisals or through mass 

appraisals as long as applicants under this category of 

experience can demonstrate that they are using techniques 

to value real property similar to those being used by 

fee/staff appraisers and that they are effectively utilizing 

the appraisal process.  

To qualify for ad valorem tax appraisal experience for 

individual property appraisals, an individual must have 

prepared written appraisal reports after January 30, 1989, 

that comply with the Uniform Standards of Professional 

Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at the time of the 

reports' preparation.  

To qualify for ad valorem tax appraisal experience for 

mass appraisals, an individual must have prepared mass 

appraisals or have documented mass appraisal reports after 

January 30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards 

of Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at 

the time of the reports' preparation, including Standard 6.  

In addition to the preceding, to qualify for ad valorem tax 

appraisal experience, the applicant's experience log must 

be attested to by the applicant's supervisor.  

3. "Reviewer experience" means experience obtained by an 

individual who examines the reports of appraisers to 

determine whether their conclusions are consistent with the 

data reported and other generally known information. An 

individual acting in the capacity of a reviewer does not 

necessarily make personal inspection of real estate, but 

does review and analyze relevant facts assembled by 

fee/staff appraisers, and by the use of reason and exercise 

of judgment, forms objective conclusions as to the validity 

of fee/staff appraisers' opinions. Reviewer experience shall 

not constitute more than 1,000 hours of total experience 

claimed and at least 50% of the review experience claimed 

must be in field review wherein the individual has 

personally inspected the real property which is the subject 

of the review.  

To qualify for reviewer experience, an individual must 

have prepared written reports after January 30, 1989, 

recommending the acceptance, revision, or rejection of the 

fee/staff appraiser's opinions that comply with the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition 

in effect at the time of the reports' preparation, including 

Standard 3.  

Signing as "Review Appraiser" on an appraisal report 

prepared by another will not qualify an individual for 

experience in the reviewer category. Experience gained in 

this capacity will be considered under the cosigner 

subcategory of fee/staff appraiser experience.  

4. "Real estate consulting experience" means experience 

obtained by an individual who assembles and analyzes the 

relevant facts and by the use of reason and the exercise of 

judgment, forms objective opinions concerning matters 

other than value estimates relating to real property. Real 

estate consulting experience includes, but is not necessarily 

limited to, the following:  

  Absorption Study  

Ad Valorem Tax Study  

Annexation Study  

Assemblage Study  

Assessment Study  

Condominium Conversion Study  

Cost-Benefit Study  

Cross Impact Study  

Depreciation/Cost Study  

Distressed Property Study  

Economic Base Analysis  

Economic Impact Study  

Economic Structure Analysis  

Eminent Domain Study  

Feasibility Study  

Highest and Best Use Study  

Impact Zone Study  

Investment Analysis Study  

Investment Strategy Study  

Land Development Study  

Land Suitability Study  

Land Use Study  

Location Analysis Study  

Market Analysis Study  

Market Strategy Study  

Market Turning Point Analysis  

Marketability Study  

Portfolio Study  

Rehabilitation Study  

Remodeling Study  

Rental Market Study  

Right of Way Study  

Site Analysis Study  

Utilization Study  

Urban Renewal Study  

Zoning Study  

To qualify for real estate consulting experience, an 

individual must have prepared written reports after January 

30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at 

the time of the reports' preparation, including Standards 4 

and 5. Real estate consulting shall not constitute more than 

500 hours of experience for any type of appraisal license.  

"Inactive license" means a license that has been renewed 

without meeting the continuing education requirements 
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specified in this chapter. Inactive licenses do not meet the 

requirements set forth in § 54.1-2011 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Licensed residential real estate appraiser" means an 

individual who meets the requirements for licensure for the 

appraisal of or the review appraisal of any noncomplex, 

residential real estate or real property of one to four 

residential units, including federally related transactions, 

where the transaction value is less than $1 million. Licensed 

residential real estate appraisers may also appraise or provide 

a review appraisal of noncomplex, nonresidential properties 

with a transaction value up to $250,000.  

"Licensee" means any individual holding an active license 

issued by the Real Estate Appraiser Board to act as a certified 

general real estate appraiser, certified residential real estate 

appraiser, licensed residential real estate appraiser, or 

appraiser trainee as defined, respectively, in § 54.1-2009 of 

the Code of Virginia and in this chapter.  

"Local, state or federal government agency, board or 

commission" means an entity established by any local, federal 

or state government to protect or promote the health, safety 

and welfare of its citizens.  

"Proprietary school" means a privately owned school 

offering appraisal or appraisal related courses approved by 

the board.  

"Provider" means accredited colleges, universities, junior 

and community colleges; adult distributive or marketing 

education programs; local, state or federal government 

agencies, boards or commissions; proprietary schools; or real 

estate appraisal or real estate related organizations.  

"Real estate appraisal activity" means the act or process of 

valuation of real property or preparing an appraisal report.  

"Real estate appraisal" or "real estate related organization" 

means any appraisal or real estate related organization 

formulated on a national level, where its membership extends 

to more than one state or territory of the United States.  

"Reciprocity agreement" means a conditional agreement 

between two or more states that will recognize one another's 

regulations and laws for equal privileges for mutual benefit.  

"Registrant" means any corporation, partnership, association 

or other business entity which provides appraisal services and 

which is registered with the Real Estate Appraiser Board in 

accordance with § 54.1-2011 E of the Code of Virginia.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license or registration 

restored to effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 

or registration for another period of time.  

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, but not a 

corporation, partnership or association, who is trading under 

his own name, or under an assumed or fictitious name 

pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

"Substantially equivalent" is any educational course or 

seminar, experience, or examination taken in this or another 

jurisdiction which is equivalent in classroom hours, course 

content and subject, and degree of difficulty, respectively, to 

those requirements outlined in this chapter and Chapter 20.1 

(§ 54.1-2009 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia for 

licensure and renewal.  

"Supervising appraiser" means any individual holding a 

license issued by the Real Estate Appraiser Board to act as a 

certified general real estate appraiser, or certified residential 

real estate appraiser, or licensed residential real estate 

appraiser who supervises any unlicensed person acting as a 

real estate appraiser or an appraiser trainee as specified in this 

chapter.  

"Transaction value" means the monetary amount of a 

transaction which may require the services of a certified or 

licensed appraiser for completion. The transaction value is not 

always equal to the market value of the real property interest 

involved. For loans or other extensions of credit, the 

transaction value equals the amount of the loan or other 

extensions of credit. For sales, leases, purchases and 

investments in or exchanges of real property, the transaction 

value is the market value of the real property interest 

involved. For the pooling of loans or interests in real property 

for resale or purchase, the transaction value is the amount of 

the loan or the market value of real property calculated with 

respect to each such loan or interest in real property.  

"Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice" 

means those standards promulgated by the Appraisal 

Standards Board of the Appraisal Foundation for use by all 

appraisers in the preparation of appraisal reports.  

"Valuation" means an estimate or opinion of the value of 

real property.  

"Valuation assignment" means an engagement for which an 

appraiser is employed or retained to give an analysis, opinion 

or conclusion that results in an estimate or opinion of the 

value of an identified parcel of real property as of a specified 

date.  

"Waiver" means the voluntary, intentional relinquishment of 

a known right.  

18VAC130-20-60. Qualifications for licensure as an 

appraiser trainee.  

An applicant for licensure as an appraiser trainee shall meet 

the following educational, experience, and examination 

requirements in addition to those set forth in subdivisions 1 

through 5 and 9 of 18VAC130-20-30.  

1. Within 12 months after being approved by the board to 

take the examination, the applicant shall have registered 

for and passed a written examination provided by the board 

or by a testing service acting on behalf of the board. 

Successful completion of the examination is valid for a 

period of 24 months. 
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2. Within the five-year period immediately preceding 

application for licensure, the applicant shall have 

successfully completed 75 hours of approved real estate 

appraisal courses from accredited colleges, universities, 

junior and community colleges; adult distributive or 

marketing education programs; local, state or federal 

government agencies, boards or commissions; proprietary 

schools; or real estate appraisal or real estate related 

organizations. The classroom hours shall include the 15-

hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 

Practice course.  

3. There is no experience requirement for the appraiser 

trainee classification.  

4. Responsibilities of supervising appraisers are described 

in this subdivision.  

a. The appraiser trainee shall be subject to direct 

supervision by a supervising appraiser who shall be state 

certified in good standing and not subject to any 

disciplinary action within the last two years that affects 

the supervising appraiser's legal eligibility to engage in 

appraisal practice.  

b. The supervising appraiser shall be responsible for the 

training and direct supervision of the appraiser trainee 

by:  

(1) Accepting responsibility for the appraisal report by 

signing and certifying the report is in compliance with 

the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 

Practice;  

(2) Reviewing the appraiser trainee appraisal report(s); 

and  

(3) Personally inspecting each appraised property with 

the appraiser trainee until the supervising appraiser 

determines the appraiser trainee is competent in 

accordance with the Competency Provision of the 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice for 

the property type.  

c. The appraiser trainee is permitted to have more than 

one supervising appraiser, but a supervising appraiser 

may not supervise more than three trainees, at one time, 

unless a state program in the licensing jurisdiction 

provides for progress monitoring, supervising certified 

appraiser qualifications, and supervision and oversight 

requirements for supervising appraisers.  

18VAC130-20-110. Qualifications for renewal.  

A. As a condition of renewal, and under § 54.1-2014 of the 

Code of Virginia, all active certified general real estate 

appraisers, certified residential real estate appraisers, and 

licensed residential real estate appraisers, resident or 

nonresident, shall be required to complete continuing 

education courses satisfactorily within each licensing term as 

follows:  

1. All real estate appraisers must satisfactorily complete 

continuing education courses or seminars offered by 

accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 

colleges; adult distributive or marketing education 

programs; local, state or federal government agencies, 

boards or commissions; proprietary schools; or real estate 

appraisal or real estate related organizations of not less 

than 28 classroom hours during each licensing term.  

2. All real estate appraisers may also satisfy up to one half 

of an individual's continuing education requirements by 

participation other than as a student in educational 

processes and programs approved by the board to be 

substantially equivalent for continuing education purposes, 

including but not limited to teaching, program 

development, or authorship of textbooks.  

3. Seven of the classroom hours completed to satisfy the 

continuing education requirements shall be the National 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 

update course or its equivalent.  

B. As a condition of renewal, all licensed real estate 

appraiser trainees shall meet the continuing education 

requirements set forth in subsection A of this section 

beginning with the second licensing term. Continuing 

education is not required to renew a real estate appraiser 

trainee license at the expiration of the first licensing term.  

C. All applicants for renewal of a license shall meet the 

standards for entry as set forth in subdivisions 1, 3, and 4 of 

18VAC130-20-30.  

D. Applicants for the renewal of a registration shall meet the 

requirement for registration as set forth in 18VAC130-20-20.  

E. Applicants for the renewal of a certificate as an instructor 

shall meet the standards for entry as set forth in 18VAC130-

20-80.  

F. Licensees applying to activate an inactive license must 

complete all required continuing education hours that would 

have been required if the licensee was active prior to 

application to activate the license.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3713; Filed April 29, 2013, 3:51 p.m.  

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Waterworks and 

Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 

where no agency discretion is involved. The Board for 

Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 

Sewage System Professionals will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions from any interested person at any time 

with respect to reconsideration or revision. 
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Title of Regulation: 18VAC160-20. Board for Waterworks 

and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage 

System Professionals Regulations (amending 18VAC160-

20-98).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2301 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, Board 

for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 

Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX 

(866) 350-5354, or email waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment permits an individual who possesses a 

valid wastewater works operator license to sit for the 

conventional onsite sewage system operator exam. 

18VAC160-20-98. Qualifications for licensure - onsite 

sewage system operators. 

A. Each applicant shall make application in accordance with 

18VAC160-20-76 and shall meet the specific entry 

requirements provided for in this section. 

B. Each applicant holding a valid interim onsite sewage 

system operator license shall submit documentation of 

compliance with the continuing professional education 

requirements of this chapter at the time of application. 

C. Specific entry requirements. 

1. Conventional onsite sewage system operator. Each 

individual applying for an initial conventional onsite 

sewage system operator license shall pass a board-

approved examination and shall have at least one year of 

full-time experience as a sewage handler or one year of 

full-time experience working under the direct supervision 

of either an interim conventional, interim alternative, 

conventional, or alternative onsite sewage system operator 

licensee. meet one of the following requirements: 

a. Have at least one year of full-time experience as a 

sewage handler; 

b. Have one year of full-time experience working under 

the direct supervision of either an interim conventional, 

interim alternative, conventional, or alternative onsite 

sewage system operator licensee; or 

c. Possess a valid wastewater works operator license. 

2. Alternative onsite sewage system operator. Each 

individual applying for an initial alternative onsite sewage 

system operator license shall possess a valid interim onsite 

sewage system operator license or a valid conventional 

onsite sewage system operator license, shall pass a board-

approved examination, and shall meet one of the following 

requirements: 

a. Have no high school diploma and 24 months of full-

time experience working under the direct supervision of 

an alternative onsite sewage system operator licensee or 

an interim alternative onsite sewage system operator 

licensee; 

b. Have a high school diploma or GED and 12 months of 

full-time experience working under the direct supervision 

of an alternative onsite sewage system operator licensee 

or an interim alternative onsite sewage system operator 

licensee; or 

c. Possess a valid Class IV or higher wastewater works 

operator license and have satisfactorily completed an 

onsite sewage system operator course approved by the 

board or have six months of full-time experience working 

under the direct supervision of an alternative onsite 

sewage system operator licensee or an interim alternative 

onsite sewage system operator licensee. 

D. Education and training substitution. Each individual 

applying for a conventional or an alternative onsite sewage 

system operator license may receive credit for up to half of 

the experience required by this section for: 

1. Satisfactory completion of postsecondary courses in 

wastewater, biology, chemistry, geology, hydraulics, 

hydrogeology, or soil science at the rate of one month per 

semester hour or two-thirds of a month per quarter hour; 

or 

2. Satisfactory completion of board-approved onsite 

sewage system operator training courses at the rate of 

one month for each training credit earned. Up to one 

training credit is awarded for each 10 hours of classroom 

contact time or for each 20 hours of laboratory exercise 

and field trip contact time. No credit towards training 

credits is granted for breaks, meals, receptions, and time 

other than classroom, laboratory and field trip contact 

time.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 

form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 

may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 

General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

FORMS (18VAC160-20) 

Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Certificate of 

Completion, 19CPE (rev. 05/09). 

Application for Training Course Approval, 19CRS (rev. 

05/09). 

Experience Verification Form, 19EXP (eff. 07/09). 

Experience Verification Application – Onsite Sewage 

System Applicants Only, A436-19EXP (rev. 10/12). 

Education & Training Substitution Form, 19ET_SUB (eff. 

07/09). 

Licensure Fee Notice, 19FEE (eff. 07/09). 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3de3a003424~1&typ=40&actno=003424&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3de3a003424~1&typ=40&actno=003424&mime=application/pdf
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Interim Onsite Soil Evaluator - VDH Employees Only 

License Application, 1930LIC (eff. 07/09). 

Interim Onsite Sewage System Installer License 

Application, 1931_32LIC (eff. 07/09). 

Interim Onsite Sewage System Operator License 

Application, 1933_34LIC (eff. 07/09). 

Onsite Soil Evaluator Exam & License Application, 

1940_41EXLIC (eff. 07/09). 

Onsite Sewage System Installer Exam & License 

Application, A465-1944EXLIC (rev. 12/12). 

Onsite Sewage System Operator Exam & License 

Application, 1942_43EXLIC (eff. 07/09). 

Suspension of Examination – Conventional Onsite Sewage 

System Installer License Application, 1944WAIV (eff. 

07/12). 

Onsite Sewage System Operator - Exam & License 

Application, A465-1942EXLIC-v3, (eff 07/13). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3656; Filed April 19, 2013, 8:36 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC15-11. Public Participation 

Guidelines (repealing 22VAC15-11-10 through  

22VAC15-11-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 63.2-217 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2013. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Karin Clark, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Room 

1507, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7017, FAX 

(804) 726-7015, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 

karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: In accordance with changes to the Code of Virginia 

effective July 1, 2012, the Child Day Care Council was 

abolished. Per Chapters 803 and 835 of the 2012 Acts of 

Assembly, regulations promulgated by the council pursuant to 

§§ 63.2-1734 and 63.2-1735 of the Code of Virginia shall be 

administered by the State Board of Social Services and 

remain in effect until the board promulgates new regulations. 

Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia provides that the 

board shall adopt regulations necessary to carry out the 

purposes of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The State Board of Social Services has a public 

participation guidelines regulation (22VAC40-12) that 

mirrors 22VAC15-11, the Child Day Care Council's public 

participation guidelines regulation. This action repeals 

22VAC15-11 because it is no longer needed.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The action is not 

expected to be controversial because the State Board of Social 

Services already has in effect a public participation guidelines 

regulation, which mirrors the Child Day Care Council 

regulation. The board's regulation will cover regulations 

previously promulgated by the council. Public participation 

will not be compromised by the repeal of 22VAC15-11. This 

action simply repeals an unnecessary regulation. 

Substance: There are no substantive provisions or changes 

with this action. 

Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public, agency, or 

Commonwealth. In keeping with the goal of streamlining 

government and creating efficiency, the action is 

advantageous to the public, agency, and the Commonwealth 

because it removes an unnecessary regulation from the 

Virginia Administrative Code and eliminates the 

administrative tasks associated with maintaining it. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Social Services proposes to repeal public 

participation guidelines of a now defunct entity, the Child 

Day Care Council. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In accordance with changes to 

the Code of Virginia, effective July 1, 2012, the Child Day 

Care Council (Council) was abolished. Chapters 803 and 835 

of the 2012 Acts of Assembly mandated that regulations 

promulgated by the Council pursuant to §§ 63.2-1734 and 

63.2-1735 shall be administered by the State Board of Social 

Services (Board) and remain in effect until the Board 

promulgates new regulations. 

The Board already has public participation guidelines that are 

identical to those of the abolished Council. This action 

repeals the Council's duplicative public participation 

guidelines, as they are no longer needed. The proposed repeal 

is not expected to create any significant economic effects 

other than reducing the amount of regulatory text in the 

Virginia Administrative Code. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 

primarily apply to child day care centers and their customers. 

Currently, there are 2,523 licensed day care centers. The 

number of child day care center customers is not known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. Proposed regulations apply 

throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 

is expected. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=58076003424~2&typ=40&actno=003424&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=58076003424~2&typ=40&actno=003424&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2ab0c003199~1&typ=40&actno=003199&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2ab0c003199~1&typ=40&actno=003199&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2ab0c003199~1&typ=40&actno=003199&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=378ad003656~1&typ=40&actno=003656&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=378ad003656~1&typ=40&actno=003656&mime=application/pdf
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No effects 

of the use and value of private property expected. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No costs or other 

effects are expected on small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed changes are not anticipated to 

have any adverse impact on small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

Chapters 803 and 835 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly 

abolished the Child Day Care Council and transferred its 

responsibilities to the State Board of Social Services 

effective July 1, 2012. The State Board of Social Services 

has public participation guidelines in 22VAC40-12; 

therefore, the public participation guidelines for the Child 

Day Care Council are repealed. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3284; Filed April 19, 2013, 10:59 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-411. General Relief 

Program (amending 22VAC40-411-10; repealing 

22VAC40-411-30 through 22VAC40-411-60, 22VAC40-

411-80 through 22VAC40-411-110, 22VAC40-411-130 

through 22VAC40-411-160).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 2, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Bernadette Anderson, Department of Social 

Services, Division of Benefit Programs, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7388, FAX (804) 

726-7357, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 

bernadette.anderson@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove all General Relief (GR) 

components, with the exception of the unattached children 

component, in response to Item 332 of the 2011 

Appropriation Act, which eliminated the associated 

program funding. The components eliminated are (i) 

assistance for unemployed employable individuals, (ii) 

assistance for employable individuals, (iii) institutional 

care, (iv) ongoing and emergency medical assistance, (v) 

interim assistance, (vi) food credit authorization 

assistance, (vii) shelter assistance, and (x) clothing 

assistance. 

22VAC40-411-10. Definitions. 

The following words or terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Advocacy services" means legal services to help establish 

eligibility for federal disability benefits. 

"Affidavit of support" or "Form I-134" means a statement of 

a sponsor's income, resources, and willingness to support. 

Form I-134 or similar form is filed with the Citizenship and 

Immigrant Services (USCIS) by a United States resident who 

sponsors an alien seeking admission to the United States as a 

permanent resident. The affidavit is made for the purpose of 

assuring the United States government that the sponsored 

alien will not become a public charge in the United States. 

"Agency" means the local department of social services. 

"Agency action" or "action" means action taken by the 

superintendents or directors or local board certifying the 

individual or family is eligible for maintenance or emergency 

assistance. 

"Agency contract" means the local department of social 

services has an agreement with a pharmacy to provide 

prescription drugs for recipients of General Relief. 

"Appeal process" means a review of the decision on the 

disability claim that can involve four steps: reconsideration, 

hearing before an administrative law judge, review by 

Appeals Council, and hearing in a federal court. 
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"Assistance for unattached children" means a component of 

the General Relief Program that can provide assistance to 

children who would be eligible for Temporary Assistance for 

Needy Families (TANF) if the relationship requirement were 

met.  

"Assistance for unemployable individuals" means a 

component of the General Relief Program that can provide 

assistance to individuals who are unable to work because of 

physical or mental disability, age or lack of training, illness in 

the family, or home responsibilities.  

"Assistance for unemployed employable individuals" means 

a component of the General Relief Program that can provide 

assistance to individuals who are not working but are able to 

work.  

"Assistance unit" means the individual or group of 

individuals whose needs, income, and resources are 

considered in determining eligibility for a component. 

"Bar association" means a professional association for 

attorneys.  

"Clothing assistance" means a component of the General 

Relief Program that can be used to purchase clothing for 

individuals who have an emergency need.  

"Component" means a specific type of assistance provided 

under the General Relief Program.  

"Disability" means a physical or mental condition rendering 

a person unable to perform any meaningful work and this 

condition is expected to last at least 12 months or result in 

death. 

"Disability Determination Services" means a program 

administered by the Virginia Department of Rehabilitative 

Services that makes decisions on disability claims for the 

Social Security Administration.  

"Disability insurance benefits" means Title II of the Social 

Security Act that provides benefits to disabled persons who 

have worked for a substantial period in employment covered 

by Social Security.  

"Entitlement date or entitlement" means the date eligibility 

begins. 

"Emergency medical assistance" means a component of the 

General Relief Program that can be used to purchase medical 

assistance for individuals who have an emergency need.  

"Equal Access to Justice Act" means an act that allows a 

federal court to grant an attorney a fee for proceedings before 

an administrative agency.  

"Food credit authorization assistance" means a component 

of the General Relief Program that can be used to purchase 

food for individuals who have an emergency need.  

"Federal disability benefits" means disability insurance 

benefits or Supplemental Security Income.  

"Foster child" means a child who is entrusted or committed 

to a state mandated service and the child is identified as "at 

risk" or "in crisis." 

"General Relief Plan" means the document completed by a 

local department of social services to identify the components 

included in the General Relief Program for the locality.  

"General Relief Program (GR)" means an optional program 

funded by state (62.5%) and local funds (37.5%) with the 

primary purpose of assisting individuals unattached children 

who do not qualify for aid in a federal category. The program 

is supervised by the State Department of Social Services and 

administered by local agencies. Each agency chooses the 

components and subcomponents to be included in its General 

Relief Program.  

"Hearing before an administrative law judge" means the first 

level formal fair hearing of decisions of the Social Security 

Administration to deny federal disability benefits. The 

hearing is conducted by an attorney who is an official of the 

Social Security Administration. 

"Interim assistance" means a component of the General 

Relief Program that can provide assistance to individuals who 

have applied for Supplemental Security Income (SSI), who 

must apply for SSI, or are appealing an SSI decision. 

Individuals receiving interim assistance must sign an 

authorization allowing the Social Security Administration to 

send their initial retroactive Supplemental Security Income 

benefits to the local agency, which then reimburses its general 

relief budget for the amount of financial assistance given the 

individuals while their Supplemental Security Income 

benefits were pending approval.  

"Legal aid attorney" means an attorney who provides legal 

services at no cost to people within certain income guidelines.  

"Maintenance payments" or "maintenance" means ongoing 

financial assistance from the general relief program.  

"Maximum for the locality" means the amount of 

reimbursable assistance applicable to some components based 

on the agency group. Agencies are placed in one of three 

groups based on shelter expenses in the area.  

"Monthly maximum" means the dollar amount of assistance 

specified in the General Relief Plan for some components the 

unattached child component.  

"Ongoing medical assistance" means a component of the 

General Relief Program that can be used to provide 

individuals continuing medical assistance. The component is 

composed of 10 subcomponents including prescription drugs.  

"Permanent resident status" means having been lawfully 

accorded the privilege of residing permanently in the United 

States as an immigrant. 

"Private attorney" means an attorney engaged in the private 

practice of law for which a fee is charged.  

"Provider" means an attorney, or an individual working 

under the supervision of an attorney legally allowed to do so, 

who provides assistance in establishing an individual's 

eligibility for federal disability benefits. 
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"Recipient" means an individual who is receiving interim 

assistance. 

"Reconsideration" means a review of the disability claim by 

the Disability Determination Services.  

"Recoupment" means the amount reimbursed to the general 

relief or state and local foster care funds from an individual's 

retroactive Supplemental Security Income benefits for 

assistance to that individual while approval for federal 

disability benefits was pending approval.  

"Reimbursable" means the amount an assistance unit can 

receive per month for which the state/local match is available.  

"Rent/house payments" means a subcomponent of the 

shelter assistance component that can be used to pay housing 

expenses. 

"Review by the Appeals Council" means a review of the 

decisions of the administrative law judge by a review unit of 

the Social Security Administration. The Appeals Council 

either decides the case or issues an order returning it to an 

administrative law judge for further review.  

"Shelter assistance" means a component of the General 

Relief Program that can be used to provide for the shelter 

needs of individuals. The component's two subcomponents 

are rent/house payments and utility payments.  

"Sponsor" means a person, or any public or private agency 

or organization, that executed an affidavit of support or 

similar agreement on behalf of an alien as a condition of the 

alien's entry into the United States as a permanent resident.  

"Sponsored alien" means an immigrant who due to the 

likelihood of his becoming a public charge would have been 

excluded from lawful admission into the United States. As a 

condition of this immigrant's admission, a person or public or 

private agency or organization executed an affidavit of 

support or similar agreement guaranteeing the federal, state, 

and local governments that the immigrant would not become 

a public charge.  

"Standard of assistance" means the amount of reimbursable 

assistance based on the size of the assistance unit and the 

local department of social services group. Local agencies are 

placed in one of three groups based on shelter expenses in the 

area.  

"Standard of assistance at 90% of need" means the amount 

of reimbursable assistance applicable to some components 

based on the size of the assistance unit and the agency group. 

Agencies are placed in one of three groups based on shelter 

expenses in the area.  

"Subcomponent" means a part of a component.  

"Supplemental Security Income" means Title XVI of the 

Social Security Act that provides benefits to a disabled person 

based on financial need.  

"Temporary Assistance for Needy Families" (TANF) means 

the federal program administered by the Virginia Department 

of Social Services that provides assistance for families with 

children.  

"United States Citizenship and Immigration Services 

(USCIS)" is a branch of the United States Department of 

Homeland Security delegated authority to enforce the 

Immigration and Nationality Act and all other laws relating to 

the immigration and naturalization of aliens.  

"Utility payments" means a subcomponent of the shelter 

assistance component that can be used to pay for items, such 

as electricity, oil, water, and natural gas.  

22VAC40-411-30. Assistance for unemployed employable 

individuals. (Repealed.) 

An agency electing to provide this component will specify 

in its General Relief Plan the types of assistance units served. 

The choices are:  

1. Parents and their minor children;  

2. A parent and minor children;  

3. A married couple with no children;  

4. One individual; or  

5. An unmarried pregnant woman.  

22VAC40-411-40. Assistance for unemployable 

individuals. (Repealed.) 

An agency electing to provide this component will specify 

in its General Relief Plan the amount of assistance that can be 

received by an assistance unit in 12 consecutive months. The 

choices are:  

1. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times three;  

2. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times six;  

3. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times nine; or  

4. The standard of assistance at 90% of need times 12 or 

the maximum for the locality times 12.  

22VAC40-411-50. Ongoing medical assistance. 

(Repealed.) 

A. An agency electing to provide this component will 

specify in its General Relief Plan the amount of assistance 

that can be received by an assistance unit in 12 consecutive 

months. The choices are:  

1. Three times the monthly maximum;  

2. Six times the monthly maximum;  

3. Nine times the monthly maximum; or  

4. Twelve times the monthly maximum.  

B. An agency electing to provide for the purchase of 

prescription drugs will specify in its General Relief Plan 

whether recipients are required to obtain drugs at a pharmacy 

with an agency contract. The choices are:  

1. Recipients are not required to buy prescription drugs 

from a contracted pharmacy; or  

2. Recipients are required to buy prescription drugs from a 

contracted pharmacy. 
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22VAC40-411-60. Interim assistance. (Repealed.) 

An agency that elects to provide this component but does 

not elect to provide assistance for unemployable individuals 

will specify in its General Relief Plan whether interim 

assistance will be restricted to assistance units with an 

individual with a disability that will last 12 months, has lasted 

12 months, or will result in death. The choices are:  

1. Assistance will not be restricted; or  

2. Assistance will be restricted.  

22VAC40-411-80. Food credit authorization assistance. 

(Repealed.) 

An agency electing to provide this component will specify 

in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of months 

that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. The 

choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 

months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 

months out of 12 consecutive months.  

22VAC40-411-90. Shelter assistance. (Repealed.) 

A. An agency electing to provide this component will 

specify in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of 

months that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. 

The choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 

months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 

months out of 12 consecutive months.  

B. An agency electing to provide rent/house payments will 

specify in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of 

months that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. 

The choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 

months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 

months out of 12 consecutive months.  

C. An agency electing to provide utility payments will 

specify in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of 

months that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. 

The choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 

months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 

months out of 12 consecutive months.  

22VAC40-411-100. Emergency medical assistance. 

(Repealed.) 

A. An agency electing to provide this component will 

specify in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of 

months that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. 

The choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 

months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 

months out of 12 consecutive months.  

B. An agency electing to provide prescription drugs will 

specify in its General Relief Plan whether recipients are 

required to obtain drugs at a pharmacy with an agency 

contract. The choices are:  

1. Recipients are not required to buy prescription drugs 

from a contracted pharmacy; or  

2. Recipients are required to buy prescription drugs from a 

contracted pharmacy.  

22VAC40-411-110. Clothing assistance. (Repealed.) 

An agency electing to provide this component will specify 

in its General Relief Plan the maximum number of months 

that assistance can be received by an assistance unit. The 

choices are:  

1. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to six 

months out of six consecutive months; or  

2. Assistance will be provided for a maximum of one to 12 

months.  

22VAC40-411-130. Disability advocacy referral. 

(Repealed.) 

The agency electing to provide disability advocacy services 

will identify recipients of the interim assistance component of 

general relief who have received written notification from the 

Social Security Administration that their disability claims at 

the application or reconsideration level have been denied. 

Within five working days after the identification, the agency 

will send letters to the interim assistance recipients explaining 

advocacy services, offering to refer them to advocacy 

providers for legal representation during the appeal process, 

providing information on how the appeal would affect their 

general relief benefits, and advising them that they have five 

days from the receipt of this letter to contact the agency 

requesting advocacy services.  

If the interim assistance recipient chooses to participate in 

the Disability Advocacy Project, he will be allowed to select a 

provider from a list of qualified advocacy providers with 

whom the agency has contracts or be allowed to select 

another provider if that provider meets the qualifications and 

agrees to enter into a contract with the agency.  

The agency will have the interim assistance recipient sign a 

Confidentiality Form (VDSS Form 032-01-0040-03-eng) 

giving the agency permission to refer the recipient to the 

selected provider.  

Within five working days after the selection, a referral letter 

will be sent by the agency to the selected advocacy provider.  

22VAC40-411-140. Duties of the disability advocacy 

provider. (Repealed.) 

Advocacy providers will perform the following services:  
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1. Within five working days of receipt of a referral letter 

from the agency, send a letter to the interim assistance 

recipient or the child's representative, acknowledging the 

referral and instructing the recipient or child's 

representative to protect the filing date by filing a Request 

for Reconsideration or Request for a Hearing with the 

Social Security Administration within 60 days of the date 

of his denial notice.  

2. Contact the interim assistance recipient or child's 

representative by mail and telephone, if necessary, to 

schedule an appointment for an interview. If the provider 

cannot contact the recipient or the recipient does not keep 

the appointment, the provider will promptly notify the 

agency.  

3. During the interview with the interim assistance 

recipient or child's representative, provide legal advice and 

counsel regarding federal disability benefits and the appeal 

process. The provider will assess the potential eligibility of 

the recipient or child for federal disability benefits. The 

decision whether to proceed or not proceed in the appeal 

process must be made by the recipient or the child's 

representative after receiving legal advice from the 

provider. The recipient or the child's representative must 

request the services of the advocacy provider by signing 

the Social Security Form SSA-1696-U4 under the 

Appointment of Representative section.  

4. Within 15 working days of the initial interview with the 

recipient or child's representative, send a notification letter 

to the recipient or child's representative with a copy to the 

agency stating whether or not the provider will accept this 

case for legal representation.  

5. If the provider agrees to provide advocacy services, sign 

Social Security Form SSA-1696-U4 under the Acceptance 

of Appointment and Waiver of Fee sections. Copies of the 

form will be sent within five working days to the Social 

Security Administration and to the agency.  

6. Assist in the completion and timely filing of any 

necessary Social Security forms requesting a 

reconsideration, hearing, or review of the hearing decision.  

7. Assist in obtaining and using medical, social, vocational 

evidence, or expert testimony that may substantiate the 

presence and severity of the disability.  

8. Assist the recipient in making and keeping appointments 

for examinations.  

9. Prepare for and adequately represent the recipient or 

child at interviews, hearings, or appeals related to 

application for Supplemental Security Income.  

10. Notify the recipient or the child's representative of any 

denial and the right to appeal to the next level in the appeal 

process.  

11. Notify the agency of any denial and the recipient's or 

child's representative's decision to proceed or not proceed 

to the next level in the appeal process.  

12. Notify the recipient, the child's representative, and the 

agency when advocacy services have ended.  

22VAC40-411-150. Disability advocacy contracts. 

(Repealed.) 

Agencies shall contract with licensed legal aid or private 

attorneys or advocates working under the supervision of an 

attorney who may lawfully do so to provide legal 

representation in the appeal process. The providers must have 

previously provided successful representation to disability 

claimants during the reconsideration, administrative law 

judge hearing, Appeals Council, or federal district court 

levels of the federal disability adjudication process.  

Qualified attorneys will be recruited by agencies giving 

written notice to their local legal aid and bar associations that 

contracts for legal representation of interim assistance 

recipients and foster children in the federal disability benefits 

appeal process will be available.  

22VAC40-411-160. Disability advocacy disbursement. 

(Repealed.) 

To receive payment, the advocacy provider must submit a 

petition and copy of the favorable Social Security 

Administration decision to the agency within 60 days of such 

a decision. Disbursement for legal representation will be 

made by the agency within 20 working days after the agency 

receives the initial Supplemental Security Income payment 

due the recipient or child.  

No disbursement will be made unless the following have 

occurred:  

1. The agency referred the recipient or child's 

representative for legal representation;  

2. The recipient or child's representative requested the legal 

representation by signing the Appointment of 

Representative section of Social Security Form SSA-1696-

U4;  

3. The advocacy provider signed the Acceptance of 

Appointment and Waiver of Fee sections of Social Security 

Form SSA-1696-U4; and  

4. The agency received the initial Supplemental Security 

Income payment for the recipient or child.  

No disbursement will be made for legal services given 

before the date of the agency's referral letter. Providers shall 

not require from the recipient or child's representative 

prepayment of any fees, costs, or disbursement.  

The disbursement made by the agency will represent 

payment in full for all legal services to the recipient or child 

in this process with no further obligation on the part of the 

state or local department of social services, the recipient, nor 

the child's representative.  

Neither the recipient, the child's representative, the State 

Department of Social Services, nor local agency shall be 

obligated to pay any additional fees, costs, or disbursement 

related to the provision of legal services in the appeal process 
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including, but not limited to, payment for medical, 

psychological, or vocational consultations obtained to 

substantiate the disability claim. Under most circumstances, if 

preapproved by Disability Determination Services, the Social 

Security Administration will cover the cost of these 

consultations.  

Contracting attorneys will agree to waive their right to legal 

fees paid by the Social Security Administration from the 

initial check for retroactive disability insurance benefits due 

the recipient or child should he be found eligible for both 

disability insurance benefits and Supplemental Security 

Income. An award for attorney's fees under the Equal Access 

to Justice Act will not be required to be waived.  

The provider's fee will be paid entirely from the recoupment 

from the initial Supplemental Security Income payment for 

state and local financial assistance given the recipient or child 

while the Supplemental Security Income application was 

pending approval. The fee per favorable decision at the 

reconsideration level will be $300; at the hearing before an 

administrative law judge, $600; and at the Appeals Council or 

federal district court, $750. The fee may in no event exceed 

the recoupment for the state and local assistance paid.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3462; Filed April 25, 2013, 10:33 a.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 63 (2013) 

Establishing the Governor's Teacher Cabinet 

Importance of the Issue 

Virginia's teachers are entrusted with the education of our 

children and strive to instill a love of learning in and out of 

the classroom. Our teachers, through academics, athletics, 

extra-curricular activities and social interaction, lead students 

to develop independence, self-discipline and character. We 

must do everything we can to recruit, retain and reward 

excellent teachers in Virginia. Teachers are valuable 

resources to ensure a prosperous future in the 

Commonwealth. 

While the Commonwealth is fortunate to benefit from a top-

ranked K-12 education system and world class teachers, we 

must continue to look for ways to elevate our educator 

workforce and to place the most effective and prepared 

teachers in the classroom. We must ensure that we craft 

policies, procedures and regulations that allow for flexibility 

and innovation, yet continue to hold our educators 

accountable.  

The following measures are a critical step to continue 

promoting the importance of effective teachers.  

Establishment of the Governor's Teacher Cabinet 

We must harness the unlimited educational potential to create 

greater opportunities for our young people and the 

Commonwealth. Accordingly, by virtue of the authority 

vested in me as Governor under Article V of the Constitution 

of Virginia and under the laws of the Commonwealth, 

including but not limited to §§ 2.2-134 and 2.2-135 of the 

Code of Virginia, and subject to my continuing and ultimate 

authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby 

establish the Governor's Teacher Cabinet ("Cabinet"). 

Composition of the Governor's Teacher Cabinet 

The Governor's Teacher Cabinet shall receive the full staff 

support of the Office of the Secretary of Education and the 

Virginia Department of Education. The Cabinet shall include 

up to twenty non-legislative citizen members comprised of 

educators with diverse experiences and perspectives. The 

Cabinet shall include up to two legislators with a background 

in education. The Secretary of Education and Teacher of the 

Year shall serve as ex-officio members. All agencies, as 

deemed necessary by the Secretary of Education, shall 

participate and provide assistance as requested. In addition, 

each executive branch agency that has a significant impact on 

K-12 education shall designate one person to serve as a 

liaison to the Cabinet. Further, I reserve the authority to 

designate any other such citizens as I deem appropriate to 

serve on the Cabinet. The Governor shall appoint the chair 

and vice chair(s) of the Cabinet.  

Members of the Cabinet shall serve without compensation.  

Charge for the Governor's Teacher Cabinet 

The Governor's Teacher Cabinet shall have the following 

responsibilities: 

1. Identify additional resources, learning tools and 

professional development opportunities that the 

Department of Education could make available to local 

school divisions; 

2. Recommend strategies for greater parent and community 

engagement;  

3. Recommend strategies to improve the K-12 education, 

higher education and workforce collaboration; 

4. Identify any needed improvements to administrative 

responsibilities; and 

5. Recommend strategies to close the achievement gap and 

assist disadvantaged students.  

An estimated 400 hours of staff time will be required to 

support the Cabinet. An estimated $2,000 in office materials 

is expected to fund the Cabinet. Such funding as is necessary 

for the term of the Cabinet's existence shall be provided from 

sources, including both private and appropriated funds, 

contributed or appropriated for purposes related to the work 

of the cabinet, as authorized by § 2.2-135(B) of the Code of 

Virginia.  

The Cabinet shall provide its first report of recommendations 

and action items to the Governor no later than July 1, 2013. 

The Cabinet shall thereafter provide regular supplemental 

reports setting forth additional recommendations and actions 

items and reporting on agency progress implementing the 

Cabinet's recommendations adopted by the Governor. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

Pursuant to § 2.2-135 of the Code of Virginia, the Cabinet 

shall remain in effect for a period of one year and the 

Executive Order shall remain in effect for one year.  

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 29th day of April, 2013. 

/s/ Robert F. McDonnell 

Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 

May 1, 2013 

Administrative Letter 2013-04 

To: All Entities with Authority to Appoint Insurance 

Producers in Virginia and Other Interested Parties 

Re: Producer Licensing Appointment Fee Reduction 

Effective July 1, 2013 

The purpose of this Administrative Letter is to advise insurers 

that effective July 1, 2013, the producer licensing 

appointment fee will be reduced from $12.00 to $10.00. This 

reduction stems from the fact that the anticipated increase in 

processing costs, which led to an increase in the statutory 

maximum for the appointment fee to $25.00 in 2002, did not 

occur. 

Please note that the July 2013 appointment renewal invoices 

for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2013 and the appointment 

billing for the quarter ending June 30, 2013, will be billed on 

or about July 1, 2013, at the current $12.00 amount. 

However, the appointment fees billed to insurers for the 

quarter ending September 30, 2013, and payable on 

November 10, 2013, (and for each quarter thereafter) will be 

billed at the reduced $10.00 amount. 

Questions concerning this administrative letter may be 

addressed to Preston Winn, Manager, Producer Licensing 

Section, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, 

email preston.winn@scc.virginia.gov, telephone (804) 371-

9631. 

/s/ Jacqueline K. Cunningham 

Commissioner of Insurance 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Virginia Child Support Guidelines Review Panel to 
Hold Public Hearing 

The Virginia Child Support Guidelines Review Panel (Panel) 

is undertaking its statutory responsibility to examine and 

review the child support guidelines found at §§ 20-108.1 and 

20-108.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

The Panel has scheduled a public hearing on Monday, 

June 17, 2013, at 10 a.m. to hear the suggestions and 

concerns of interested citizens in addressing the guidelines. 

The location of the meeting is Virginia State Capitol, House 

Room 1, Capitol Square, Richmond, VA 23219. 

The hearing seeks comment from the public about the 

guidelines, which define financial obligations of parents for 

their children. 

Documents for the public hearing will be posted under the 

public hearing documents tab at 

http://dls.state.va.us/GROUPS/childsupport/meetings/061713

/materials.htm. 

The hearing will begin at 10 a.m. Registration of speakers 

will begin at 9:30 a.m. In order to give everyone a chance to 

speak, each speaker is asked to limit comments to three 

minutes.  Speakers are encouraged to provide a written copy 

of their comments.  The written copy may contain more detail 

than the three-minute public presentation. 

The Panel also encourages written comment by mail, fax, or 

email. Comments may be mailed by June 10, 2013, to Alice 

G. Burlinson, Senior Assistant Attorney General, Division of 

Child Support Enforcement, 4504 Starkey Road, SW, Suite 

103, Roanoke, VA 24018-8518, telephone (540) 776-2779, 

FAX (540) 776-2797, or email 

vaguidelinespanel@dss.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Fifth Annual Review Report and Five-Year Summary 
for the SPGP 07-SPGP-01 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) seeks public comment on the state's fifth 

annual review report and five-year summary for the State 

Program General Permit 07-SPGP-01, granted by the United 

States Army Corps of Engineers for the discharge of dredged 

or fill material in nontidal waters of the United States 

associated with certain residential, commercial, and 

institutional developments and linear transportation projects 

within the geographical limits of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. 

Public comment period: April 29, 2013, to May 29, 2013. 

DEQ has prepared the fifth annual review report and five-year 

summary, which is available on DEQ's website at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/WetlandsS

treams/07-SPGP-01%20Report%20-%20%2001Sept2011-

30May2012%20&%202007-2012%20Summary.pdf or by 

contacting the person named below. The public may also 

review the report documents at DEQ's central office in 

Richmond. DEQ is interested in receiving public comment 

regarding the report and/or the overall effectiveness of the 

State Program General Permit (07-SPGP-01) process. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 

email, fax, or postal mail. All comments must include the 

name, address, and telephone number of the person 

commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 

period. 

Contact Information: Steve Hardwick, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4168, FAX (804) 

698-4347, TDD (804) 698-4021, or email 

steven.hardwick@deq.virginia.gov. 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/WetlandsStreams/07-SPGP-01%20Report%20-%20%2001Sept2011-30May2012%20&%202007-2012%20Summary.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/WetlandsStreams/07-SPGP-01%20Report%20-%20%2001Sept2011-30May2012%20&%202007-2012%20Summary.pdf
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/WetlandsStreams/07-SPGP-01%20Report%20-%20%2001Sept2011-30May2012%20&%202007-2012%20Summary.pdf
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VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/cumultab.htm. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 
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