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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 

Chairman; Gregory D. Habeeb; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. 

Moncure, Jr.; Wesley G. Russell, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. 

Tavenner; Christopher R. Nolen; J. Jasen Eige or Jeffrey S. 

Palmore. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 
Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

June 2013 through June 2014 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

29:21 May 29, 2013 June 17, 2013 

29:22 June 12, 2013 July 1, 2013 

29:23 June 26, 2013 July 15, 2013 

29:24 July 10, 2013 July 29, 2013 

29:25 July 24, 2013 August 12, 2013 

29:26 August 7, 2013 August 26, 2013 

30:1 August 21, 2013 September 9, 2013 

30:2 September 4, 2013 September 23, 2013 

30:3 September 18, 2013 October 7, 2013 

30:4 October 2, 2013 October 21, 2013 

30:5 October 16, 2013 November 4, 2013 

30:6 October 30, 2013 November 18, 2013 

30:7 November 13, 2013 December 2, 2013 

30:8 November 26, 2013 (Tuesday) December 16, 2013 

30:9 December 11, 2013 December 30, 2013 

30:10 December 23, 2013 (Monday) January 13, 2014 

30:11 January 8, 2014 January 27, 2014 

30:12 January 22, 2014 February 10, 2014 

30:13 February 5, 2014 February 24, 2014 

30:14 February 19, 2014 March 10, 2014 

30:15 March 5, 2014 March 24, 2014 

30:16 March 19, 2014 April 7, 2014 

30:17 April 2, 2014 April 21, 2014 

30:18 April 16, 2014 May 5, 2014 

30:19 April 30, 2014 May 19, 2014 

30:20 May 14, 2014 June 2, 2014 

30:21 May 28, 2014 June 16, 2014 

30:22 June 11, 2014 June 30, 2014 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Tonnyann T. Hurley. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To allow a minimum of 2,000 

documented hours of practice experience after graduation 

from an approved program to be substituted for passage of a 

specialty examination if there is no national examination in an 

area of practice. 

Agency's Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The board considered all 

comments on the petition and decided to deny the request for 

amendments to regulation. The petitioner's proposal is 

inconsistent with the Consensus Model for Advanced Practice 

Nursing, which requires specialty certification by 

examination. The board chose not to depart from nationally 

recognized standards and adopt a different model for clinical 

nurse specialists in Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-15; Filed May 21, 2013, 2:12 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services intends to consider amending 2VAC5-60, 

Rules and Regulations Governing the Operation of 

Livestock Markets. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

update and enhance requirements concerning animal disease 

traceability and to ensure that state regulations comply with 

related federal regulations recently issued by the U.S. 

Department of Agriculture. The existing regulation will be 

amended to remove the specific language requiring the 

brucellosis testing of all cows offered for sale at the livestock 

markets. The requirements for permanent identification that 

was associated with that testing will need to remain in the 

regulation. 

This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as the 

report of findings of the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-

4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-6001, 3.2-6002, and 3.2-6004 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 17, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Charles Broaddus, DVM, Program 

Manager, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 

P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-

4560, FAX (804) 371-2380, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 

charles.broaddus@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3709; Filed May 23, 2013, 12:25 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services intends to consider amending 2VAC5-

120, Rules and Regulations Governing the Recordkeeping 

by Virginia Cattle Dealers for the Control or Eradication 

of Brucellosis of Cattle. The purpose of the proposed action 

is to update and enhance requirements concerning animal 

disease traceability and to ensure that state regulations 

comply with related federal requirements recently issued by 

the U.S. Department of Agriculture, which require that 

breeding cattle and certain other livestock moving interstate 

be officially identified and accompanied by an interstate 

certificate of veterinary inspection or other documentation. 

The proposed amendments remove the specific language 

associated with brucellosis and set forth guidelines for cattle 

that need to be identified and recorded. The proposed changes 

to this regulation will be in concert with those for 2VAC5-60, 

Rules and Regulations Governing the Operation of Livestock 

Markets. 

This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as the 

report of findings of the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-

4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-6001, 3.2-6002, and 3.2-6004 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 17, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Charles Broaddus, DVM, Program 

Manager, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 

P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-

4560, FAX (804) 371-2380, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 

charles.broaddus@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3710; Filed May 23, 2013, 12:26 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF CORRECTIONS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Corrections intends to 

consider amending 6VAC15-40, Minimum Standards for 

Jails and Lockups. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

amend the regulation so that a jail will not be required to 

perform a tuberculosis (TB) skin test on an inmate entering 

the facility if it can be documented that the inmate has 

received a TB skin test within the past 12 months or has 

tested positive to the TB skin test at any time in the past. In 

addition, the board will add provisions to certify compliance 

with Part 115 of Title 28 of the Code of Federal Regulations 

(National Standards to Prevent, Detect, and Respond to 

Prison Rape), which requires jails and lockups to comply with 

these standards as documented through audits conducted by 

U.S. Department of Justice accredited auditors.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 53.1-5 and 53.1-68 of the Code of 

Virgnia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 17, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Jim Bruce, Agency Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, P.O. Box 

26963, Richmond, VA 23261-6963, telephone (804) 887-

8215, FAX (804) 674-3017, or email 

james.bruce@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3712; Filed May 17, 2013, 9:04 a.m.  
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  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION  

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education 

intends to consider amending 8VAC20-30, Regulations 

Governing Adult High School Programs and repealing 

8VAC20-680, Regulations Governing the General 

Achievement Diploma. The purpose of the proposed action 

is to promulgate regulations to implement the provisions of 

Chapters 454 and 642 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly. The 

legislation amended § 22.1-253.13:4 of the Code of Virginia 

to strengthen postsecondary education and workplace 

readiness opportunities for all students and to consolidate the 

number of Board of Education-approved diplomas. The 

legislation eliminated the general achievement diploma by 

folding it into the adult high school diploma, which would be 

renamed the general achievement adult high school diploma. 

The legislation added a requirement that adult students would 

need to earn a Board of Education-approved career and 

technical education credential, such as the successful 

completion of an industry certification, a state licensure 

examination, a national occupational competency assessment, 

or the Virginia workplace readiness skills assessment in order 

to be awarded the diploma. The legislation further provided 

that the general achievement adult high school diploma would 

include the following requirements:  

1. Achievement of a passing score on the GED 

examination;  

2. Successful completion of an education and training 

program designated by the Board of Education;  

3. Achievement of a Board of Education-approved career 

and technical education credential such as the successful 

completion of an industry certification, a state licensure 

examination, a national occupational competency 

assessment, or the Virginia workplace readiness skills 

assessment; and  

4. Completion of other requirements as may be established 

by the board.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-224 and 22.1-253.13:4 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 17, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Anne Wescott, Assistant Superintendent for 

Policy and Communication, Department of Education, P.O. 

Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 225-2403, 

or email anne.wescott@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3303; Filed May 22, 2013, 2:19 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

BOARD OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services intends to consider repealing 12VAC30-120, 

Waivered Services. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

repeal the agency's MEDALLION regulations, which provide 

for primary care case management (PCCM) as an alternative 

to managed care. The managed care service delivery 

mechanism, via managed care organizations, has now 

expanded throughout the entire Commonwealth and these 

PCCM regulations are no longer needed. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 18, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3371; Filed May 22, 2013, 11:12 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 17. LIBRARIES AND CULTURAL 
RESOURCES 

LIBRARY BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Library Board intends to 

consider promulgating 17VAC15-61, Standards for 

Recorded Permanent Instruments and repealing 

17VAC15-60, Standards for Plats; 17VAC15-70, 

Standards for Recorded Instruments; and 17VAC15-80, 

Standards for Paper for Permanent Circuit Court 

Records. The purpose of the proposed action is to simplify 

the regulations regarding standards to which all circuit court 

clerks' offices will compare the medium, inscription, and 

format of paper instruments presented for recording and filing 

when such instruments will become records with a disposition 

of permanent retention. Without a standard, instruments 

submitted to record may be of such quality that reformatting 

them to the copy of record, via electronic image or microfilm, 

for the purpose of producing copies indefinitely, can be 
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significantly hindered. Currently, the standards are spread out 

over three regulations; these will be repealed. The language in 

the planned regulation will be simpler and better organized, 

and obsolete sections will be removed. 

This action is initiated in response to the Governor's 

Regulatory Reform Initiative.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 42.1-82 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 17, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Glenn Smith, Records and Information 

Management Analyst, Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-3604, or 

email glenn.smith@lva.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3761; Filed May 23, 2013, 11:04 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR WASTE MANAGEMENT FACILITY 
OPERATORS 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given that the Board for Waste Management 

Facility Operators has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action for 18VAC155-20, Waste Management 

Facility Operators Regulations, which was published in 

29:13 VA.R. 1688 February 25, 2013. After consideration by 

the board, it was determined that this regulatory action does 

not fit with the Governor's Regulatory Reform Initiative. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Waste Management Facility Operators, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8511, 

FAX (866) 430-1033, or email wastemgt@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3557; Filed May 23, 2013, 2:55 p.m.  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/toc.aspx?voliss=29:13
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 1VAC30-40. Regulations for the 

Certification of Laboratories Analyzing Drinking Water 

(repealing 1VAC30-40-10 through 1VAC30-40-370). 

1VAC30-41. Regulation for the Certification of 

Laboratories Analyzing Drinking Water (adding 

1VAC30-41-10 through 1VAC30-41-500). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-1102 and 2.2-1105 of the Code of 

Virginia; 42 USC § 300f et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 16, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of General Services, 1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 

371-8305, or email rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Under the federal Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA) 

(42 USC § 300f et seq.), the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA) sets national limits on contaminant levels in 

drinking water to ensure that the water is safe for human 

consumption. The federal regulations at 40 CFR 

142.10(b)(3)(i) require the establishment and maintenance of 

a state program for the certification of laboratories conducting 

analytical measurements of drinking water contaminants 

pursuant to the requirements of the state primary drinking 

water regulations. To determine compliance under 40 CFR 

141.28, EPA requires that the analysis of samples must be 

made by certified laboratories. 

Section 2.2-1102 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Department of General Services to prescribe regulations 

necessary or incidental to the performance of the department's 

duties or execution of powers and establish fee schedules that 

may be collectible from users when general fund 

appropriations are not applicable to the services rendered. 

Section 2.2-1104 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services (DCLS) to 

establish and conduct programs of inspection and certification 

of other laboratories in the Commonwealth as mandated by 

the federal Safe Drinking Water Act and state requirements. 

Section 2.2-1105 of the Code of Virginia requires DCLS to 

establish, by regulation, a program for the certification of 

laboratories conducting any tests, analyses, measurements, or 

monitoring pursuant to Chapter 13 (§ 10.1-1300 et seq.) of 

Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia Waste 

Management Act (§ 10.1-1400 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), or the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia). Section 2.2-1105 also requires 

DCLS to establish, by regulation, a fee system to offset the 

costs of the certification program. 

Purpose: Public health is protected when drinking water 

laboratories meet established federal standards for analyzing 

drinking water samples. The SDWA is carried out in Virginia 

by the Department of Health. 12VAC5-590, Waterworks 

Regulation, promulgated by the Department of Health sets 

standards for the maximum permissible level of contaminants 

in drinking water. 12VAC5-590-340 requires all analyses for 

the purpose of demonstrating compliance with the primary 

and secondary maximum contaminant levels or action levels 

be performed by DCLS or by laboratories certified by DCLS, 

and 12VAC5-590-440 requires all laboratories that seek 

certification to perform drinking water analyses to comply 

with the drinking water laboratory certification regulation 

promulgated by DCLS. The proposed regulatory action is 

necessary to ensure that current federal requirements are set 

out in the drinking water laboratory certification regulation. 

Maintaining primacy for drinking water in Virginia requires 

the drinking water laboratory certification regulation to 

incorporate the most current federal guidance and regulatory 

requirements.  

Substance: The proposed regulation repeals the current 

regulation, which uses the 1992 edition of the EPA Manual 

for the certification of drinking water laboratories, and creates 

a new regulation, which uses the EPA's fifth edition of the 

Manual (June 2005) and a Supplement to the Manual (June 

2008). The latest EPA guidance and agency procedures are 

set out in the proposed new regulation.  

The drinking water laboratories certified under 1VAC30-40 

already meet this latest edition of the EPA Manual and the 

Supplement because of the regulation update provision in 

1VAC30-40-80. The changes to the current regulation are 

numerous, so a new 1VAC30-41 is being proposed. The 

current 1VAC30-40 will be repealed when 1VAC30-41 

becomes effective. The revisions made to 1VAC30-40, 

effective on February 3, 2010, are included in the proposed 

new regulation, 1VAC30-41. 

The proposed regulatory action revises the fee provisions to 

allow DCLS to charge fees to public as well as private 

laboratories to cover the cost of the certification program. The 

fees currently charged to the laboratories certified under the 

regulation do not cover the cost of the program. 
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The following are the substantive changes to the current 

regulation. The references are to the proposed chapter, 

1VAC30-41: 

1. References to outdated versions of the EPA Manual 

are removed. The most recent version of the EPA Manual 

and the Supplement to the Manual are listed in 1VAC30-

41-50, and these documents are incorporated by 

reference.  

2. The provisions in current Part III (1VAC30-40-200 et 

seq.) through Part V (1VAC30-40-370) that were 

included verbatim from outdated versions of the EPA 

Manual are removed, and these provisions are replaced 

with the requirements from the most recent version of the 

EPA Manual as incorporated by reference into 1VAC30-

41-50. The regulatory provisions refer to the appropriate 

requirements in the EPA Manual and its Supplement. 

3. The general fee provisions of current 1VAC30-40-60 

are deleted, and new fee provisions in 1VAC30-41-270 

are added. Public laboratories as well as private 

laboratories would pay fees. 

4. A new provision, 1VAC30-41-30, allowing drinking 

water laboratories to obtain certification by meeting the 

requirements of 1VAC30-46, Accreditation for 

Commercial Environmental Laboratories, is added.  

5. Many of the provisions in Part I (1VAC30-40-10 et 

seq.) and Part II (1VAC30-40-90 et seq.) of the current 

regulation are revised to be more specific, and out-of-

date references are removed. These sections cover 

definitions, application requirements, reciprocal 

certification, renewal of certification, modification of 

certification, general quality assurance requirements, 

onsite assessment, certification type, maintenance of 

certification status, reporting requirements, reasons to 

downgrade a laboratory to provisionally certified status, 

procedure to downgrade a laboratory to provisionally 

certified status, reasons to revoke certification, and 

procedures to revoke certification, to appeal revocation, 

and for requesting reinstatement of certification. 

6. New provisions to improve the clarity of the regulation 

or to include necessary requirements where none exist in 

the current regulation are added. These are listed as 

follows: 

a. 1VAC30-41-20 defines the laboratories and 

contaminants that are covered by the regulation. 

b. 1VAC30-41-60 describes the categories for which a 

laboratory may be certified. 

c. 1VAC30-41-80 describes the requirements laboratories 

must meet to become certified and provides cross-

references to the detailed requirements. 

d. 1VAC30-41-130 establishes the requirements for 

proficiency testing. 

e. 1VAC30-41-140 requires laboratories to meet the 

laboratory ethics and fraud detection and deterrence 

requirements of the Supplement to the EPA Manual. 

EPA encourages laboratories to meet these requirements. 

f. 1VAC30-41-170 establishes a one-year term for 

certification. 

g. 1VAC30-41-200 sets out specific requirements for 

notifying DCLS of major changes to personnel and 

equipment at a laboratory and for a change of laboratory 

location. 

h. 1VAC30-41-460 sets out the quality assurance 

requirements for microbiology laboratories. 

7. Current 1VAC30-40-85 has been moved to 1VAC30-

41-55. This section lists and incorporates by reference 

the Code of Federal Regulation requirements for drinking 

water laboratory test methods and associated 

requirements. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public of the proposed 

regulation is to maintain up-to-date certification of 

laboratories analyzing drinking water. While the drinking 

water laboratories are already meeting the provisions of the 

proposed regulation, the current regulation does not contain 

these provisions. As a result the agency cannot enforce 

compliance with the current federal guidance requirements 

for the certification of these laboratories. Revising the 

regulation provides the agency with the ability to enforce 

these requirements. There are no disadvantages to the general 

public associated with this regulatory action. 

There are two primary advantages to the agency and the 

Commonwealth associated with this regulatory action. The 

first is the ability to enforce the current federal guidance on 

the certification of drinking water laboratories and maintain 

Virginia's primacy for drinking water rather than having 

primacy relinquished to EPA. The second relates to the fees 

charged to laboratories for the certification process. Current 

fees cover only a minimal portion of the cost of the program. 

No general funds have been allocated to cover the cost of the 

certification program. The current regulation waives fees for 

public laboratories. The proposed regulation would eliminate 

the waiver and charge fees to public laboratories. One-third of 

the laboratories certified under the program are public 

laboratories. The cost to the agency of running the program 

has increased over the almost two decades since DCLS began 

charging fees. Charging fees to public laboratories as well as 

to private laboratories will help to recover the cost of the 

program to the agency. Spreading the cost of the program 

among all the laboratories certified under the program will be 

a more equitable approach to fees. 

The primary disadvantage of the proposed regulatory action is 

to the public laboratories in that they will now be charged 

fees. The revised regulation charges fees to public 

laboratories as well as to private laboratories.  
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services (DCLS) 

proposes to repeal its current regulations that govern 

certification of laboratories that analyze drinking water and, 

at the same time, promulgate a new regulatory chapter that 

will replace and update the regulations being repealed. 

Changes between the current and proposed regulations will: 

1. Remove references to outdated versions of the 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) manual that 

sets rules for testing, 

2. Change the regulatory language on fees to remove the 

fee waiver for public labs and clarify that fees will be 

changed once a year if necessary, 

3. Allow drinking water laboratories an alternate path to 

certification by meeting the requirements of 1VAC30-46 

(Accreditation of Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories), and  

4. Add new provisions that clarify already existing 

requirements for laboratories.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for most 

proposed regulatory changes. For one proposed change, there 

is insufficient information to ascertain whether benefits 

outweigh costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations establish 

rules for laboratories, both public and private, that test 

drinking water. Currently, private labs pay fees but public 

labs have a waiver for fees.
1
 Most of the changes that will be 

reflected in the proposed new regulatory chapter will remove 

obsolete language or move guidance language into regulation. 

These changes will benefit affected entities, as they will tend 

to clarify what the rules are. Affected entities are unlikely to 

incur any additional costs on account of these clarifying 

changes.  

Current regulations inform affected entities of how fees are 

set and waive fees for local, state and federal public labs. 

Below is a comparison table for 2009/2010 and 2011 

certification fees (fees have not been set for 2012):  

FEE TYPE 
2009/2010 

FEES 

2011 

FEES 

% 

INCREASE 

Microbiology $250 $500 100% 

Inorganic 

Chemistry 
$280 $800 186% 

Organic 

Chemistry 
$280 $900 221% 

Radiochemistry $250 $950 280% 

Asbestos N/A $850 N/A 

DCLS reports that the current fee structure only covers a 

minimal portion of the actual cost of administering this 

program and that they do not have money in programs budget 

to support the waivers that public labs currently get. As a 

consequence DCLS proposes to eliminate the waiver 

language and require that public labs pay the same fees as 

private ones. This change will benefit DCLS and the public as 

it will allow the lab certification program to be fully funded. 

Public labs will incur costs equal to whatever fee level 

equivalent private labs incur. Some public labs may find these 

fees prohibitive and may choose not to be certified (and 

therefore will not test drinking water). There is insufficient 

information to decide whether the benefits will outweigh the 

costs for this change. 

DCLS proposes one other substantive change in the new 

regulations that will allow labs an alternate path to 

certification. Under this proposal, labs can be certified by 

meeting the requirements of 1VAC30-46 (Accreditation of 

Commercial Environmental Laboratories). Labs will likely 

only use this alternate path if the benefits of doing so 

outweigh the costs.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. DCLS reports that 146 labs 

are currently certified through this program. 52 of these are 

public labs. 

Localities Particularly Affected. Localities with certified labs 

will be particularly affected by this proposed regulatory 

action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The removal of fee 

waivers for public labs in this regulatory action may decrease 

the number of public labs that are able to afford certification. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

regulatory action is unlikely to have an appreciable effect on 

the use or value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. DCLS estimates 

that approximately 60% of the 94 private labs that they certify 

would qualify as small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There are likely no alternate methods of 

regulation that would both allow DCLS to ensure compliance 

with federal law and reduce costs.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
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the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_____________________________________________ 
1 Fees are set outside of these regulations as mandated by the Code of 
Virginia. Fees can be changed once a year and are set at the amount 

necessary to pay the costs of the certification program. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget and has no 

comment. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulation (i) updates the drinking water 

laboratory certification regulation to incorporate by 

reference the most recent Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA) approved test methods and laboratory-

specific requirements in the EPA's Manual for the 

Certification of Laboratories Analyzing Drinking Water, 

Fifth Edition (January 2005) and Supplement 1 to the Fifth 

Edition (June 2008); (ii) revises the fee provisions and 

requires local, state, and federal public laboratories, as 

well as private or commercial laboratories, to pay fees for 

certification; (iii) adds an alternative for drinking water 

laboratories to obtain certification by meeting the 

requirements of 1VAC30-46, Accreditation for 

Commercial Environmental Laboratories, as an 

alternative to meeting the drinking water laboratory 

certification regulation; and (iv) sets out the requirements 

to certify laboratories that analyze drinking water samples 

and determine compliance with federal Safe Drinking 

Water Act (SDWA) contaminant limits.  

CHAPTER 41 

REGULATION FOR THE CERTIFICATION OF 

LABORATORIES ANALYZING DRINKING WATER 

Part I 

General Provisions 

1VAC30-41-10. Purpose. 

A. This chapter establishes the requirements for certification 

of drinking water laboratories. 

B. The federal Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA) mandates 

the establishment of a national drinking water program to 

protect public health. The U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA) at 40 CFR 141.28 requires that laboratories be 

certified to analyze samples of drinking water for compliance 

purposes. EPA at 40 CFR 142.10(b)(3)(i) requires states to 

establish and maintain programs for the certification of 

drinking water laboratories. 

C. The Virginia Department of Health, Office of Drinking 

Water (VDH-ODW) maintains primary enforcement 

responsibility (primacy) under the SDWA and the federal 

SDWA regulations for the Commonwealth of Virginia. The 

VDH-ODW at 12VAC5-590-340 requires that all analyses 

done to demonstrate compliance with primary and secondary 

maximum contaminant levels or action levels be performed 

by the Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services of the 

Department of General Services (DCLS) or by laboratories 

certified by DCLS. VDH-ODW at 12VAC5-590-440 further 

requires that laboratories seeking certification to perform 

drinking water analyses shall comply with this chapter.  

1VAC30-41-20. Applicability. 

A. This chapter applies to the following: 

1. Owners of drinking water laboratories in Virginia. 

2. Owners of drinking water laboratories located outside 

Virginia who seek reciprocal certification under 1VAC30-

41-90. 

B. Covered contaminants. 

1. This chapter covers the contaminants regulated in 

40 CFR Parts 141 and 143 as specified in 12VAC5-590, 

Waterworks Regulations, of the Virginia Department of 

Health. 

2. Laboratory testing for alkalinity, calcium, chlorite, 

conductivity, disinfectant residual, orthophosphate, pH, 

silica, temperature, and turbidity for compliance purposes 

may be performed by laboratories or persons not certified 

under this chapter but acceptable to VDH-ODW.  

1VAC30-41-30. Alternative certification for drinking 

water laboratories. 

Drinking water laboratories may become certified by 

meeting the requirements for accreditation set out in 

1VAC30-46.  

1VAC30-41-40. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context already 

indicates otherwise:  

"Analyst" means a chemist, microbiologist, physicist, or 

technician who actually performs a test. The analyst may 

carry out the complete test or participate jointly with other 

analysts.  

"Certification officer" means a DCLS employee who has the 

responsibility for evaluating drinking water laboratories for 

certification. 

"Contaminant" means any objectionable or hazardous 

physical, chemical, biological, or radiological substance or 
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matter in water. Contaminants are the analytes for which 

drinking water laboratories test in the drinking water samples 

they analyze. 

"Corrective action" means the action taken to eliminate the 

causes of an existing nonconformity, defect, or other 

undesirable situation in order to prevent recurrence. 

"DCLS" means the Division of Consolidated Laboratory 

Services of the Department of General Services.  

"Drinking water laboratory" or "laboratory" means a 

laboratory that performs analyses to demonstrate compliance 

with primary or secondary maximum contaminant levels or 

action levels or any combination of these specified in 

12VAC5-590. 

"EPA" means the United States Environmental Protection 

Agency. 

"Findings" means factual, objective statements that provide 

evidence of deficiencies in meeting the requirements of this 

chapter. 

"Laboratory director" or "laboratory supervisor" means the 

person who directs the operation of the drinking water 

laboratory on a day-to-day basis. 

"Manual" means the EPA Office of Water, Manual for the 

Certification of Laboratories Analyzing Drinking Water: 

Criteria and Procedures Quality Assurance, Fifth Edition, 

EPA 815-R-05-004 (January 2005). 

"Manual Supplement" means the EPA Office of Water, 

Supplement 1 to the Fifth Edition of the Manual for the 

Certification of Laboratories Analyzing Drinking Water, EPA 

815-F-08-006 (June 2008). 

"Maximum contaminant level" or "MCL" means the 

maximum permissible level of a contaminant in water that is 

delivered to any user of a waterworks, except in the cases of 

turbidity and volatile organic compounds (VOCs), where the 

maximum permissible level is measured at each entry point to 

the distribution system. Contaminants added to the water 

under circumstances controlled by the user, except those 

resulting from corrosion of piping and plumbing caused by 

water quality, are excluded from this definition. Maximum 

contaminant levels may be either "primary" (PMCL), 

meaning based on health considerations, or "secondary" 

(SMCL), meaning based on aesthetic considerations. 

"Owner" means any person who owns, operates, leases, or 

controls a drinking water laboratory. 

"Persistent" means to continue an activity without change in 

spite of opposition or warning.  

"Private laboratory" means a laboratory that is, or is part of, 

a commercial entity. 

"Proficiency testing sample" or "PT sample" means a 

sample, the composition of which is unknown to both the 

analyst and the laboratory. The PT sample tests whether the 

analyst or laboratory or both can produce analytical results 

within specified acceptance criteria. 

"Public laboratory" means a laboratory that is, or is part of, a 

local, state, or U.S. governmental agency. 

"Quality assurance" means an integrated system of 

management activities involving planning, quality control, 

quality assessment, reporting, and quality improvement to 

ensure that a product or service meets defined standards of 

quality with a stated level of confidence. 

"Quality assurance plan" or "QA plan" means a 

comprehensive plan detailing the aspects of quality assurance 

needed to adequately fulfill the data needs of a program.  

"Quality control" means 

1. The overall system of technical activities whose purpose 

is to measure and control the quality of a product or service 

so that it meets the needs of the users. 

2. The operational techniques and activities that are used to 

fulfill requirements for quality. 

"SDWA" means the Safe Drinking Water Act (42 USC 

§ 300f et seq.).  

"VDH-ODW" means the Virginia Department of Health - 

Office of Drinking Water.  

1VAC30-41-50. Incorporation by reference - EPA 

guidance documents. 

A. The following EPA guidance documents are incorporated 

by reference into this chapter: 

1. Manual for the Certification of Laboratories Analyzing 

Drinking Water: Criteria and Procedures Quality 

Assurance, Fifth Edition, EPA 815-R-05-004 (January 

2005). 

2. Supplement 1 to the Fifth Edition of the Manual for the 

Certification of Laboratories Analyzing Drinking Water, 

EPA 815-F-08-006 (June 2008). 

B. The federal regulatory requirements incorporated by 

reference into 1VAC30-41-55 shall govern if a conflict is 

found between the requirements of the Manual or the Manual 

Supplement and the requirements incorporated by reference 

into 1VAC30-41-55.  

1VAC30-41-55. Incorporation by reference - Code of 

Federal Regulations. 

A. The sampling, analytical methodology, and laboratory 

certification requirements of 40 CFR 141 and 143 in effect as 

of July 1, 2011, are incorporated by reference into this 

chapter.  

B. The specific sampling, analytical methodology, and 

laboratory certification requirements incorporated by 

reference are listed as follows by category for information 

purposes: 

1. Inorganic chemistry: 40 CFR 141.23, 40 CFR 141.89, 

and 40 CFR 141.131. 

2. Organic chemistry: 40 CFR 141.24 and 40 CFR 

141.131. 
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3. Microbiology: 40 CFR 141.21, 40 CFR 141.74, 40 CFR 

141.174, 40 CFR 141.704, and 40 CFR 141.705. 40 CFR 

136.3(a) for E. coli requirements under 40 CFR 141.704. 

4. Radiochemistry: 40 CFR 141.25. 

5. Alternative testing methods: 40 CFR Part 141, Subpart 

C, Appendix A. 

6. Test methods specified for secondary maximum 

contaminant levels: 40 CFR 143.4. 

C. The exceptions to the requirements for laboratory 

certification in 40 CFR 141.28, 40 CFR 141.74(a), 40 CFR 

141.89(a)(1), 40 CFR 141.131(b)(3), and 40 CFR 

141.131(c)(3) are incorporated by reference into this chapter.  

Part II 

Certification of Laboratories - General Requirements 

1VAC30-41-60. Categories of certification. 

A. Laboratories may apply to be certified for inorganic 

chemistry, organic chemistry, microbiology, radiochemistry, 

or any combination of these four categories of certification.  

B. Within each category, laboratories may be certified for 

specific contaminants or contaminant groups and for one or 

more methods used to determine the levels of these 

contaminants.  

1VAC30-41-70. Initial certification application. 

A. Application for initial certification. Drinking water 

laboratories applying under this chapter shall submit a 

completed Application for Certification, obtained by 

contacting the DCLS Laboratory Certification Office. A 

complete application contains: 

1. Specific laboratory information, including name of 

organization, name of laboratory director, and contact 

information. 

2. Identification of public water systems served by the 

laboratory. 

3. Identification of the drinking water certification 

contaminants or contaminant groups and related methods 

for which the laboratory requests certification. 

4. A quality assurance plan that meets the requirements of 

(i) Chapter III, Section 11 of the Manual and (ii) the 

Manual Supplement to Chapter III, Section 2 as required 

by 1VAC30-41-120. 

5. A satisfactory report of at least one proficiency test 

performed within the last 12 months for each method and 

contaminant for which the laboratory seeks certification. 

6. Laboratory personnel list. 

7. Requested laboratory data, including at a minimum: 

a. For microbiology applications: 

(1) Equipment and supply list. 

(2) Sampling information and test results for at least 20 

analyses for each method and contaminant for which the 

laboratory seeks certification. 

b. For chemistry applications: 

(1) Instrumentation and equipment list. 

(2) Method detection limit (MDL) documentation for 

each requested method and contaminant for which the 

laboratory seeks certification. 

(3) Initial demonstration of capability (IDC) 

documentation for each requested method and 

contaminant for which the laboratory seeks certification. 

c. For radiochemistry applications: 

(1) Instrumentation and equipment list. 

(2) Minimum detectable activity (MDA) documentation 

for each requested method and contaminant for which the 

laboratory seeks certification. 

(3) Initial demonstration of capability (IDC) 

documentation for each requested method and 

contaminant for which the laboratory seeks certification. 

8. Payment of the fee required by 1VAC30-41-270. 

B. DCLS review of application submittal.  

1. DCLS shall administratively review the application 

submittal and respond to the applicant laboratory within 60 

calendar days.  

2. If DCLS finds that the application submittal is complete, 

a certification officer shall arrange a mutually agreeable 

time and date with the laboratory for an onsite assessment. 

3. If DCLS finds that the application submittal is 

incomplete, a certification officer shall request the 

applicant laboratory to submit the additional information or 

documentation required within 90 days. 

4. If the laboratory has not submitted the required 

additional information within 90 days of the DCLS request 

for information, DCLS may return the incomplete 

application and inform the laboratory that the application 

cannot be processed. The laboratory may then submit a 

new application.  

1VAC30-41-80. Certification requirements. 

To become certified, a laboratory shall meet or successfully 

complete the following: 

1. Requirements for a quality assurance plan in 1VAC30-

41-120. 

2. Analysis of a proficiency testing sample for each 

contaminant and each method for which certification is 

sought. Proficiency testing requirements are set out in 

1VAC30-41-130. 

3. Specific requirements for chemistry, microbiology, or 

radiochemistry that are pertinent to the specific laboratory's 

application for certification. These requirements are set out 

in Part III (1VAC30-41-300 et seq.) through Part V 

(1VAC30-41-500) of this chapter. 

4. Onsite assessment by DCLS certification officers at least 

once every three years. Onsite assessment requirements are 

set out in 1VAC30-41-150. 
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5. The laboratory ethics and fraud detection and deterrence 

requirements set out in 1VAC30-41-140.  

6. Payment of the fee required by 1VAC30-41-270.  

1VAC30-41-90. Reciprocity. 

A. DCLS may grant reciprocal certification to a drinking 

water laboratory located outside Virginia, provided the 

laboratory demonstrates the need to serve customers in 

Virginia and is certified by EPA or another state under 

equivalent certification criteria. 

B. To be considered for certification, the applicant 

laboratory shall send DCLS the following: 

1. A copy of the certificate and scope of certification 

issued by the laboratory's primary certifying or accrediting 

authority. 

2. A list of the methods and the contaminants tested under 

each method for which the laboratory is requesting 

certification. 

3. The most recent proficiency testing report for each 

method and contaminant combination listed by the 

laboratory under subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

4. The fee required under 1VAC30-41-270. 

5. Confirmation that Virginia has been added to the 

proficiency testing provider's list of certifying authorities 

to which the laboratory's proficiency testing results will be 

reported.  

C. Out-of-state laboratories holding National Environmental 

Laboratory Accreditation Conference (NELAC) accreditation 

for drinking water that seek reciprocal accreditation for 

drinking water in Virginia shall apply for that accreditation 

under 1VAC30-46. 

1VAC30-41-100. Renewal of certification. 

DCLS shall renew the certification for a drinking water 

laboratory if the laboratory maintains its certified status as 

required by 1VAC30-41-180, and pays the annual fee as 

required by 1VAC30-41-270.  

1VAC30-41-110. Modification of certification. 

A. To request the addition of contaminants or methods to its 

certification, the drinking water laboratory shall submit the 

following to DCLS: 

1. A completed DCLS drinking water certification 

application form. 

2. An acceptable proficiency testing report for each 

requested method and contaminant, performed within the 

last 12 months. 

3. The standard operating procedures for the requested 

methods.  

4. The current quality assurance plan, if requested.  

5. For chemistry: 

a. Method detection limit (MDL) documentation for each 

requested method and contaminant for which the 

laboratory seeks certification. 

b. Initial demonstration of capability (IDC) 

documentation for each requested method and 

contaminant for which the laboratory seeks certification. 

6. For microbiology, sampling information and test results 

for at least 20 analyses by the requested method and 

contaminant combination. 

7. Applicable fees as required by 1VAC30-41-270. 

B. To drop a contaminant or a method from the laboratory's 

certification, the laboratory shall submit a request in writing 

to the DCLS Laboratory Certification Office.  

1VAC30-41-120. Quality assurance plan. 

A drinking water laboratory shall develop and maintain a 

quality assurance plan that meets the requirements of (i) 

Chapter III, Section 11 of the Manual and (ii) the Manual 

Supplement to Chapter III, Section 2. 

1VAC30-41-130. Proficiency testing. 

A. A drinking water laboratory shall meet the following 

requirements pertaining to proficiency testing (PT): 

1. The requirements of this section. 

2. The requirements of Chapter III, Section 13.1 of the 

Manual. 

3. The specific requirements of the Manual for chemistry 

in Chapter IV, Section 7.2.1; for microbiology in Chapter 

V, Section 7.2; and for radiochemistry in Chapter VI, 

Section 7.4 that are pertinent to the laboratory. 

B. A drinking water laboratory shall successfully participate 

in at least one water supply (WS) PT study per calendar year 

for each contaminant and by each method for which the 

laboratory seeks or wants to maintain certification. 

C. Drinking water laboratories shall obtain WS PT studies 

from PT providers approved by the American Association for 

Laboratory Accreditation utilizing the National Standards for 

Water Proficiency Testing Studies. 

D. Drinking water laboratories shall instruct the PT 

providers to send the results of the WS PT studies to the 

DCLS Laboratory Certification Office. 

E. WS PT study results. 

1. DCLS shall certify or maintain certification for a 

drinking water laboratory for which WS PT study results 

are reported by the proficiency test provider as 

"acceptable." 

2. A drinking water laboratory for which some or all WS 

PT study results are reported as "not acceptable" shall 

follow the procedure in subsection F of this section. 

F. Procedure and requirements for "not acceptable" PT study 

results. 

1. When a laboratory receives a PT study result of "not 

acceptable," the laboratory shall perform and document 
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corrective action. The corrective action documentation 

shall be submitted to DCLS within 30 days of receiving the 

"not acceptable" PT study result. 

2. Upon completion of the corrective action, the laboratory 

shall perform another PT study for each contaminant that 

had a "not acceptable" initial PT study result. 

3. If the result of the laboratory's makeup PT study is 

"acceptable," DCLS shall not downgrade the laboratory. 

4. If the laboratory fails the makeup PT study, DCLS shall 

downgrade the laboratory to provisionally certified status 

for the contaminant or contaminants for which the PT 

study was "not acceptable." 

5. When DCLS becomes aware of a failure to comply with 

PT study requirements, DCLS shall notify the laboratory of 

its downgraded status within 14 days of the downgrade. 

DCLS shall send the notification by certified mail or an 

equivalent mailing service. 

6. The laboratory shall correct the problems that caused the 

downgrade and satisfactorily analyze another PT study 

within three months. A laboratory may not be provisionally 

certified for more than three months. 

7. If the result of the second makeup PT study is 

"acceptable," the laboratory can request DCLS in writing 

to restore its certified status. 

8. If the result of the second makeup PT is "not 

acceptable," DCLS shall revoke certification for the 

contaminant or contaminants for which the PT study was 

unsuccessful. 

9. DCLS shall follow the provisions of 1VAC30-41-240 in 

revoking the laboratory's certification. 

1VAC30-41-140. Laboratory ethics and fraud detection 

and deterrence. 

Drinking water laboratories shall meet the requirements of 

the Manual Supplement to Chapter III of the Manual 

concerning laboratory ethics and fraud detection and 

deterrence.  

1VAC30-41-150. Onsite laboratory assessment. 

A. Frequency of onsite laboratory assessments. 

1. DCLS shall assess a drinking water laboratory when the 

laboratory owner initially applies for certification and at 

least once every three years after initial certification is 

granted. 

2. DCLS may perform an onsite assessment if major 

changes in personnel or equipment occur at the laboratory 

or if the location of the laboratory changes. 

3. DCLS may perform interim onsite assessments to 

confirm that a laboratory has carried out a corrective action 

plan. 

4. DCLS may perform unannounced onsite assessments. 

B. Action prior to a scheduled onsite assessment. 

1. DCLS shall arrange a mutually agreeable date and time 

for the onsite assessment with the drinking water 

laboratory's management. 

2. Prior to the onsite audit, DCLS shall request and the 

laboratory shall provide current records and information 

that are necessary to evaluate the laboratory. These records 

and information may include the following:  

a. Quality manual. 

b. Personnel list. 

c. Instrument list or equipment list or both. 

d. Standard operating procedure (SOP) for each method 

to be evaluated. 

e. A data package specified by the certification officer. 

f. For chemistry, the most recent method detection limit 

(MDL) study for each regulated contaminant to which 

the MDL requirement applies. 

C. Opening conference. The DCLS onsite assessor or team 

shall begin the process of the onsite assessment by holding a 

conference to state the purpose of the assessment, identify the 

assessment team, and set out the tasks to be done during the 

assessment. 

D. Assessment process. 

1. The DCLS onsite assessment team shall evaluate 

laboratory personnel qualifications and training, 

operations, equipment, supplies, general laboratory 

practices, sample handling procedures, methodology, 

written procedures, and records. The team shall perform 

the assessment for those specific methods and 

contaminants for which the laboratory has requested 

certification. 

2. DCLS may require a laboratory to demonstrate drinking 

water testing methods during the assessment. 

3. The DCLS onsite assessment team shall perform a data 

audit on at least one sample and on one PT sample for at 

least one method. 

4. The DCLS onsite assessment team shall discuss 

observed deviations at the time such deviations are 

observed. 

5. Findings or deviations are considered preliminary until 

the final report is issued. 

E. Closing conference.  

1. The onsite assessment team shall conduct a closing 

conference to review the results of the assessment with 

laboratory staff and management.  

2. The onsite assessment team shall discuss the following: 

a. Any deviations in the observed procedures and 

records. 

b. The time frame for any corrective actions needed and 

the response. 
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c. Recommendations, if necessary, for changes in 

equipment and supplies, staffing, and facility. 

F. Notification. Within 30 calendar days after the onsite 

assessment, DCLS shall notify the laboratory of its 

certification status and send the laboratory the final onsite 

assessment report.  

G. Final report. In its final onsite report, DCLS:  

1. Shall list the certification status for each contaminant or, 

if applicable, each class of contaminants evaluated as 

determined by DCLS as a result of the onsite assessment. 

2. Shall list and describe each finding, providing a 

reference to the underlying requirement. 

3. May recommend changes to correct the problems 

described in the findings that have resulted in the 

laboratory not obtaining certification for a particular 

contaminant. 

4. May recommend improvements to laboratory operation, 

recognize outstanding performance, and provide other 

information of use to the laboratory. 

H. Results of the onsite assessment. 

1. DCLS shall certify the laboratory when the onsite 

assessment shows that the laboratory has established or is 

maintaining the standards of quality required under this 

chapter. 

2. When DCLS finds during the onsite assessment that the 

laboratory is not maintaining the standards of quality 

required under this chapter, the laboratory shall follow the 

procedure in subsection I of this section. 

I. Procedures and requirements when findings are reported. 

1. The laboratory shall respond with a corrective action 

plan for all findings issued in the report within 60 calendar 

days. This corrective action plan shall specify what 

immediate corrective actions are being taken and any 

proposed actions that need the concurrence of DCLS. 

2. DCLS shall review the corrective action plan. If DCLS 

finds that any aspect of the laboratory's corrective action 

plan is inadequate, it shall notify the laboratory director in 

writing by certified mail or other equivalent mailing 

service of its intent to downgrade the laboratory. 

3. The laboratory director shall respond within 30 calendar 

days with an additional corrective action plan. If the 

additional corrective action plan is still deficient, DCLS 

shall not issue a certificate for the initial application or 

shall downgrade the laboratory to provisionally certified 

status. 

4. DCLS shall respond within 14 days of determining the 

laboratory's letter and corrective action plan are deficient.  

5. The laboratory shall correct the problems cited in the 

initial notification letter within three months of the date the 

laboratory was downgraded.  

6. If within three months the laboratory has not corrected 

the problems for which DCLS downgraded the laboratory 

to provisionally certified status, DCLS shall revoke the 

laboratory's certification status.  

7. DCLS shall revoke certification only for the 

contaminants and methods for which the laboratory was 

initially cited. 

8. DCLS shall follow the provisions of 1VAC30-41-240 in 

revoking the laboratory's certification.  

9. When DCLS reports a finding that had been identified in 

the previous triannual onsite assessment where the 

laboratory had not implemented corrective action, DCLS 

shall downgrade the laboratory to provisionally certified. 

10. A provisionally certified laboratory may continue to 

analyze samples for compliance purposes but shall notify 

its clients in writing of its downgraded status and shall 

indicate its downgraded status in writing on any report. 

1VAC30-41-160. Levels of certification. 

A. Certified. DCLS shall certify a laboratory that meets the 

criteria set out in this chapter.  

B. Interim certification. DCLS may issue an interim 

certification when it finds that performing an onsite 

assessment is unnecessary or when the onsite assessment 

cannot be scheduled within a reasonable time. This may occur 

when DCLS reviews a laboratory application for an addition 

to its certification status or when a laboratory notifies DCLS 

that its location is changing. The laboratory shall maintain the 

requirements for certification while awaiting the onsite 

assessment. DCLS shall perform the onsite assessment as 

soon as possible. Interim certification status is equivalent to 

certified status. 

C. Provisionally certified. DCLS shall provisionally certify a 

laboratory that has deficiencies as a preliminary stage prior to 

revocation. A provisionally certified laboratory may continue 

to analyze drinking water samples for compliance purposes. 

The laboratory shall notify its clients of the downgraded 

status in writing and indicate the status on reports. A 

laboratory may not be provisionally certified for more than 

three months.  

D. Not certified. DCLS shall not certify a laboratory that 

possesses deficiencies and, in the opinion of DCLS, cannot 

consistently produce valid data. A laboratory that has had its 

certification revoked in whole or in part shall notify its clients 

of its revoked status in writing. 

1VAC30-41-170. Term of certification. 

DCLS shall certify drinking water laboratories for a period 

of one year.  

1VAC30-41-180. Maintenance of certified status. 

To maintain its certified status, a laboratory shall:  

1. Continue to meet the requirements for certification listed 

in 1VAC30-41-80. 
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2. Successfully pass water supply proficiency testing 

studies annually as required by 1VAC30-41-130. 

3. Notify DCLS in writing within 30 calendar days of 

major changes in personnel, equipment, or laboratory 

location as specified in 1VAC30-41-200. 

4. Use approved methodology as required by this chapter 

and incorporated by reference into 1VAC30-41-55. 

5. Comply with the reporting requirements specified in 

1VAC30-41-190.  

1VAC30-41-190. Reporting requirements. 

A. To maintain certification, drinking water laboratories 

shall comply with the reporting requirements set out in the 

VDH-ODW regulations specified as follows:  

1. Compliance, monitoring, and exceedances, 12VAC5-

590-530.  

2. Public notices, 12VAC5-590-540.  

B. Drinking water laboratories shall report the results of 

analyses to the VDH-ODW within three days of completion 

unless 12VAC5-590-530 or 12VAC5-590-540 requires a 

different time limit.  

1VAC30-41-200. Major changes in personnel or 

equipment or a change of laboratory location. 

A. Major change in personnel. 

1. The drinking water laboratory shall notify DCLS of a 

major change in the laboratory's personnel in writing 

within 30 calendar days of the change. 

2. A "major change in personnel" is defined as (i) the loss 

or replacement of the laboratory director or laboratory 

supervisor or (ii) the loss of all the trained and experienced 

analysts who had been available to analyze a particular 

contaminant for which certification has been granted. 

3. DCLS shall follow the procedure in 1VAC30-41-220 to 

downgrade the laboratory to provisionally certified status if 

the laboratory fails to notify DCLS within 30 calendar days 

of a major change in personnel. 

B. Change of laboratory location. 

1. The laboratory shall notify DCLS of a change in the 

laboratory's location in writing at least 30 calendar days 

prior to the location change. 

2. DCLS may perform an onsite assessment of the new 

facility when a laboratory changes location. 

3. DCLS shall follow the procedure in 1VAC30-41-220 to 

downgrade the laboratory to provisionally certified status if 

the laboratory fails to notify DCLS of a change in the 

laboratory's location at least 30 days prior to the location 

change. 

C. Equipment. 

1. A drinking water laboratory shall notify DCLS in 

writing within 30 calendar days of a major change in 

equipment. 

2. A drinking water laboratory shall provide the following 

information to DCLS about new equipment: 

a. Make and model of the new instrument. 

b. Date of installation and training. 

c. Initial demonstration of capability (IDC) and minimum 

detection limit (MDL). 

d. Updated standard operating procedure (SOP). 

e. Methods and contaminants for which the instrument 

will be used. 

f. Successful proficiency testing analyzed on the new 

instrument. 

g. Date the instrument was put into service analyzing 

compliance samples. 

3. DCLS shall follow the procedure in 1VAC30-41-220 to 

downgrade the laboratory to provisionally certified status if 

the laboratory fails to notify DCLS within 30 calendar days 

of any major change in equipment. 

D. Laboratory action to address major changes to personnel 

or equipment or a change of location. 

1. When a major change to laboratory personnel or 

equipment or a change of location occurs, the laboratory 

shall establish a schedule to address the change and 

provide the schedule in writing to DCLS. The laboratory 

shall submit the schedule to DCLS along with the 

notification of the change. 

2. If DCLS determines that the laboratory can no longer 

produce valid data because of the major change in 

personnel or equipment or the change of location, DCLS 

shall follow the procedure in 1VAC30-41-240 to revoke 

certification for the contaminants in question.  

1VAC30-41-210. Downgrading to provisionally certified 

status. 

DCLS shall downgrade a certified drinking water 

laboratory's status to provisionally certified for each 

contaminant and by each method for any of the following 

reasons:  

1. Failure to analyze a PT sample each calendar year 

during the period defined by DCLS and within the 

acceptance limits specified in the regulations incorporated 

by reference in 1VAC30-41-55.  

2. Failure to successfully analyze a PT sample for a 

contaminant after participating in two successive PT 

studies. 

3. Failure to notify DCLS within 30 calendar days of major 

changes in personnel or equipment or a change in 

laboratory location as required by 1VAC30-41-200. 

4. Failure to satisfy DCLS that the laboratory is 

maintaining the required standard of quality based upon the 

onsite assessment requirements in 1VAC30-41-150. 

5. Failure to comply with the reporting requirements of 

1VAC30-41-190 in a timely manner.  
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1VAC30-41-220. Procedure to downgrade to provisionally 

certified status. 

A. DCLS shall notify the laboratory director in writing that 

DCLS intends to downgrade the laboratory to provisionally 

certified status. DCLS shall send this notification within 14 

days of becoming aware of the cause for the downgrade. 

DCLS shall send the notification by certified mail or other 

equivalent mailing service. 

B. The laboratory director shall review the problems cited in 

the notice. Within 30 days of receiving the notice, the 

laboratory director shall send DCLS a letter specifying what 

immediate corrective actions are being taken and any 

proposed action that needs the concurrence of DCLS. 

C. DCLS shall consider the adequacy of the laboratory's 

response and notify the laboratory director in writing by 

certified mail or other equivalent mailing service of the 

laboratory's certification status. DCLS shall respond within 

14 days of receiving the laboratory's letter and corrective 

action plan. 

D. The laboratory shall correct the problems cited in the 

initial notification letter from DCLS within three months of 

the date of the DCLS response to the laboratory's corrective 

action plan. 

E. If within three months the laboratory has not corrected 

the problems for which DCLS downgraded the laboratory to 

provisionally certified status, DCLS shall revoke the 

laboratory's certification status. This revocation shall apply 

only to the contaminants and methods for which the 

laboratory was initially cited in the DCLS downgrade 

notification. 

F. DCLS shall follow the provisions of 1VAC30-41-240 in 

revoking the laboratory's certification. 

G. A provisionally certified laboratory may continue to 

analyze samples for compliance purposes but shall notify its 

clients in writing of its downgraded status and shall indicate 

its downgraded status in writing on any report.  

1VAC30-41-230. Revocation of certified status. 

DCLS shall downgrade a drinking water laboratory's status 

to not certified from certified or provisionally certified or 

interim certified status for each contaminant and by each 

method for any of the following reasons:  

1. Falsification of data or use of other deceptive practices. 

2. Reporting proficiency testing data from another 

laboratory as its own. 

3. Failure to use the federally-approved methods 

incorporated by reference into this chapter at 1VAC30-41-

55. 

4. Refusal to participate in an onsite assessment conducted 

by DCLS. 

5. Failure to pay the annual fee to DCLS. 

6. For provisionally certified laboratories, failure to 

successfully analyze a PT sample or any other unknown 

test sample for a particular contaminant within the 

specified acceptance limits. 

7. For provisionally certified laboratories, failure to satisfy 

DCLS that the laboratory has corrected identified 

deficiencies based on an onsite assessment. 

8. For provisionally certified laboratories, persistent failure 

to comply with the reporting requirements specified in 

1VAC30-41-190.  

1VAC30-41-240. Procedure to revoke certification. 

A. DCLS shall notify the laboratory owner in writing of its 

intent to revoke certification. DCLS shall describe in detail 

the reasons and circumstances that form the basis for 

revoking certified status in this notice. DCLS shall send the 

notification by certified mail or an equivalent mailing service. 

B. DCLS shall provide an opportunity for an informal fact-

finding conference pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 

Virginia prior to making a final decision to revoke 

certification. 

C. A drinking water laboratory that has had its certification 

revoked for methods and contaminants under the methods 

shall do the following: 

1. Stop analyzing SDWA compliance samples for these 

contaminants and methods. 

2. Send the samples to a laboratory that is certified to 

perform the analyses.  

3. Notify its clients of its revoked status in writing. 

1VAC30-41-250. Appeal procedure. 

A laboratory may appeal a final decision to revoke 

certification by DCLS pursuant to the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

1VAC30-41-260. Reinstatement of certification. 

A. A drinking water laboratory may request in writing to 

have its certification status upgraded or reinstated. 

B. DCLS shall upgrade or reinstate certification when the 

laboratory can demonstrate that it has corrected the 

deficiencies that produced the downgrading or revocation of 

certified status. 

C. DCLS may require an onsite assessment or successful 

completion of a water supply proficiency testing study or 

both before upgrading or reinstating a drinking water 

laboratory. If the onsite assessment is necessary, the 

laboratory shall pay the fees set out in 1VAC30-41-270 H.  

1VAC30-41-270. Fees. 

A. DCLS shall charge a fee to certify drinking water 

laboratories. This fee shall be limited to the cost of 

administering the certification program.  

B. Required fees. 

1. Drinking water laboratories shall submit payment of the 

fee with the initial applications for certification. 
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2. Drinking water laboratories located out-of-state and 

applying for reciprocal certification shall submit payment 

of the fee with the initial applications. 

3. Once certified under this chapter, drinking water 

laboratories shall pay the fee annually. DCLS shall send an 

invoice to the certified drinking water laboratory. 

4. Additional fees may apply under subsection K of this 

section when changes to the laboratory's certification 

require DCLS staff time to administer the change. 

C. DCLS shall not consider an application to be complete 

until the applicant laboratory submits payment of the 

certification fee. 

D. All incomplete payments shall be deemed as 

nonpayment. Nonpayment of fees shall result in denial or 

revocation of certification. 

E. Payment of fees shall be nonrefundable. 

F. DCLS, under 1VAC30-41-230, may revoke the 

certification of any certified laboratory that does not pay its 

annual fee. 

G. Fee computation. 

1. Fees for certification of drinking water laboratories shall 

be applied on an annual basis. 

2. Drinking water laboratories shall pay the total of the 

base year fees as required by subsections H and J of this 

section for the first 12 months following [insert the 

effective date of this chapter]. 

3. Beginning [insert the thirteenth month following the 

effective date of this chapter], drinking water laboratories 

shall pay the total of the base year fees required by 

subsection H and Table 1 of subsection J of this section as 

adjusted by the method set out in subsection I of this 

section.  

H. Calculation of fees - base year fees [insert year of the 

effective date of this chapter]. 

1. DCLS charges a fee for the review and certification of 

the drinking water laboratory's quality system. This 

includes a review of the test methods for which the 

drinking water laboratory requests or holds certification. 

The fees are based on the number of test methods for 

which the laboratory would be certified within each of the 

six testing categories set out in Table 1 of subsection J of 

this section.  

2. DCLS shall calculate a laboratory's fees by adding the 

fees for the number of test methods in each category as set 

out in Table 1 of subsection J of this section for which the 

laboratory applies or is certified.  

3. For example, a laboratory may be certified for three 

microbiological methods ($700); five inorganic chemistry, 

nonmetals methods ($850); two inorganic chemistry, 

metals methods ($1000); and two organic chemistry 

methods ($1050). The total annual fee would be $3600. 

I. Calculation of fees - fees beginning [insert the thirteenth 

month following the effective date of this chapter]. 

1. DCLS shall revise the base year fees after the first 12 

months following the effective date of this chapter and 

every 12-month period thereafter. 

2. DCLS shall increase or decrease the fees set out in Table 

1 of subsection J of this section using the Consumer Price 

Index-Urban (CPI-U) percentage change, average-average 

for the previous calendar year. (The CPI-U for all urban 

consumers is published by the U.S. Department of Labor, 

Bureau of Labor Statistics.)  

3. DCLS shall revise each previous year's Table 1 of 

subsection J of this section so that the revisions will be 

cumulative, reflecting the changes in the CPI-U over time. 

4. DCLS shall round the revised fees to the nearest whole 

dollar. 

5. DCLS shall publish the revised fee table annually on its 

website for drinking water laboratory certification. This 

website can be found by going to the DCLS page of the 

Department of General Services' website at 

http://dgs.virginia.gov. 

J. Fee tables. 

1. Fees are calculated using the base year fees in Table 1. 

 Table 1 - Base Year Fees 

 Testing Category Fee ($) 

 Microbiological testing  

   1 - 2 methods 600 

   3 - 5 methods 700 

   6+ methods 800 

 Inorganic chemistry, nonmetals 

testing 

 

   1 - 2 methods 650 

   3 - 5 methods 850 

   6 - 8 methods 1050 

   9+ methods 1250 

 Inorganic chemistry, metals testing  

   1 - 2 methods 1000 

   3 - 5 methods 1200 

   6+ methods 1400 

 Organic chemistry  

   1 - 2 methods 1050 

   3 - 5 methods 1250 

   6 - 8 methods 1450 
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   9+ methods 1650 

 Radiochemistry  

   1 - 2 methods 1100 

   3 - 5 methods 1300 

   6+ methods 1500 

 Asbestos  

   1 - 2 methods 900 

   3 - 5 methods 1100 

   6+ methods 1300 

2. Table 2 shows the relationship between the testing 

categories for fees and the drinking water laboratory 

certification categories. 

  Table 2 - Drinking Water Laboratory Certification 

Categories 

  Fee Testing Category Laboratory Certification 

Category 

  Microbiological testing Microbiology (includes 

coliform, E. coli, 

heterotrophic bacteria) 

  Inorganic chemistry, 

nonmetals testing 

Physical/inorganic: 

aggregate properties 

(includes turbidity, 

alkalinity, total dissolved 

solids, conductivity, pH) 

Wet chemistry (includes 

fluoride, nitrate/nitrite, 

cyanide, sulfate, 

orthophosphate, pH) 

Organic aggregate 

properties (includes DOC, 

TOC, UV254, 

Surfactants/SUVA) 

  Inorganic chemistry, 

metals testing 

Trace metals (includes 

lead, copper, chromium, 

beryllium, mercury, 

barium, cadmium) 

  Organic chemistry, trace Organic chemistry 

(includes pesticides, 

herbicides, SOC, PCB, 

THM, VOC, HAA5, 

carbamates, fumigants) 

  Radiochemistry Radiochemistry (includes 

alpha, beta, radium, 

gamma, uranium, 

strontium-89) 

  Asbestos Asbestos 

K. Additional fees.  

1. An additional fee shall be charged to a laboratory: 

a. Applying for modification of certification under 

1VAC30-41-110. 

b. Moving its location when the move requires DCLS to 

perform an onsite assessment. 

c. Requesting reinstatement of certification when DCLS 

requires an onsite assessment. 

2. The fee charged shall be the sum of the total hourly 

charges for all reviewers plus any onsite assessment cost 

incurred. 

a. An hourly charge per reviewer shall be $61 as of 

[insert the effective date of this chapter]. DCLS shall 

revise the hourly charge after the first 12 months 

following [insert the effective date of this chapter] and 

every 12-month period thereafter. The hourly charge 

shall increase or decrease using the Consumer Price 

Index-Urban (CPI-U) percentage change, average-

average for the previous calendar year.  

b. The charge per reviewer shall be determined by 

multiplying the number of hours expended in the review 

by the reviewer's hourly charge.  

c. If an onsite review is required, travel time and onsite 

review time shall be charged at the same hourly charge 

per reviewer, and any travel expenses shall be added.  

L. Method of payment. Fees shall be paid by check, draft, or 

postal money order payable to the Treasurer, Commonwealth 

of Virginia, or submitted electronically, if available, and must 

be in U.S. currency, except that agencies and institutions of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia may submit interagency 

transfers for the amount of the fee. All fees shall be sent to 

the following address, or submitted electronically, if 

available: DCLS, Attn: Lab Certification, 600 North 5th 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219. Laboratories may also pay fees 

using credit cards. Laboratories shall fill out the DCLS Fee 

Payment Form for Virginia Laboratory Certification 

Programs and send the completed form with the fee. 

1VAC30-41-280. (Reserved). 

1VAC30-41-290. (Reserved). 

Part III 

Chemistry 

1VAC30-41-300. Personnel. 

Drinking water laboratories shall meet the requirements of 

Chapter III, Section 10 and Chapter IV, Section 1 of the 

Manual.  

1VAC30-41-310. Laboratory facilities. 

Drinking water laboratories shall meet the requirements of 

Chapter IV, Section 2 of the Manual.  
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1VAC30-41-320. Laboratory equipment and 

instrumentation. 

A. Drinking water laboratories shall meet the requirements 

set out in the approved methods incorporated by reference 

into 1VAC30-41-55 and in use by the laboratory. 

B. Drinking water laboratories shall meet the requirements 

of Chapter IV, Section 3 of the Manual.  

1VAC30-41-330. General laboratory practices. 

A. Drinking water laboratories shall meet the requirements 

set out in the approved methods incorporated by reference 

into 1VAC30-41-55 and in use by the laboratory. 

B. Drinking water laboratories shall meet the requirements 

of Chapter IV, Section 4 of the Manual with the exception of 

Table IV-1. 

1VAC30-41-340. Analytical methodology. 

A. Laboratories shall meet the sampling and analytical 

methodology requirements incorporated by reference at 

1VAC30-41-55 for primary inorganic chemical contaminants, 

primary organic chemical contaminants, alternative testing 

methods for chemistry, and secondary maximum contaminant 

levels. 

B. Laboratories shall meet the requirements of Chapter IV, 

Section 5.1 of the Manual with the exception of Tables IV-2 

through IV-5. 

C. A drinking water laboratory shall perform a minimum of 

five water analyses monthly for each chemical contaminant 

for which the laboratory is certified in order to maintain 

certification status or qualify for initial certification. 

D. Exceptions to laboratory certification requirements of 

1VAC30-41-20 B 2. 

1. Laboratory testing for alkalinity, calcium, chlorite, 

conductivity, disinfectant residual, orthophosphate, pH, 

silica, temperature, and turbidity for compliance purposes 

may be performed by laboratories or persons not certified 

under this chapter but acceptable to VDH-ODW. 

2. This testing shall be performed using approved sampling 

and analytical methodology as incorporated by reference 

into 1VAC30-41-55 C. 

3. Laboratories performing this testing shall meet the 

requirements of Chapter IV, Section 5.2 of the Manual, 

with the exception of Tables IV-2 through IV-5. 

1VAC30-41-350. Sample collection, handling, and 

preservation. 

A. Drinking water laboratories shall meet the sample 

container, required preservation, and maximum holding time 

requirements incorporated by reference at 1VAC30-41-55 for 

primary inorganic chemical contaminants, primary organic 

chemical contaminants, alternative testing methods for 

chemistry, and secondary maximum contaminant levels.  

B. Drinking water laboratories shall meet the requirements 

of Chapter IV, Section 6 of the Manual with the exception of 

Table IV-6, and the Manual Supplement to Chapter IV, 

Section 6 of the Manual. 

C. Drinking water laboratories shall reject any sample not 

meeting the criteria of this section and notify the system or 

individual requesting the analyses.  

D. The laboratory shall have a written sample rejection 

policy covering samples that do not meet sampling 

requirements.  

1VAC30-41-360. Quality assurance. 

Drinking water laboratories shall meet the quality assurance 

and quality control requirements of the following: 

1. The approved test methods and associated quality 

assurance and quality control requirements incorporated by 

reference into 1VAC30-41-55. 

2. Chapter III, Section 11 of the Manual. 

3. Chapter IV, Section 7 of the Manual with the exception 

of Tables IV-7 through IV-10. 

4. The Manual Supplement to Chapter III, Section 2 of the 

Manual.  

1VAC30-41-370. Recordkeeping and data reporting. 

Drinking water laboratories shall meet the recordkeeping 

and data reporting requirements of the following: 

1. The approved test methods incorporated by reference 

into 1VAC30-41-55. 

2. Chapter IV, Section 8 of the Manual.  

1VAC30-41-380. Action response to laboratory results. 

Drinking water laboratories shall meet the action response 

requirement of Chapter IV, Section 9 of the Manual and the 

requirements of 1VAC30-41-190.  

1VAC30-41-390. (Reserved). 

Part IV 

Microbiology 

1VAC30-41-400. Personnel. 

Drinking water laboratories shall meet the requirements of 

Chapter III, Section 10 and Chapter V, Section 1 of the 

Manual.  

1VAC30-41-410. Laboratory facilities. 

A. Drinking water laboratories shall meet the requirements 

of Chapter V, Section 2 of the Manual. 

B. The laboratory facilities shall include sufficient space to 

process and examine samples proportionate with the total 

work load.  

C. The laboratory shall have provisions for decontamination 

and disposal of microbiological waste.  

D. Office areas for clerical work and recordkeeping shall be 

segregated from laboratory work areas. 

1VAC30-41-420. Laboratory equipment and supplies. 

Drinking water laboratories shall meet the following 

requirements: 
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1. The requirements set out in the approved methods 

incorporated by reference into 1VAC30-41-55 and in use 

by the laboratory. 

2. The requirements of Chapter V, Section 3 of the 

Manual.  

1VAC30-41-430. General laboratory practices. 

Drinking water laboratories shall meet general laboratory 

practices of the following: 

1. The requirements set out in the approved methods 

incorporated by reference into 1VAC30-41-55 and in use 

by the laboratory. 

2. The requirements of Chapter V, Section 4 of the 

Manual. 

1VAC30-41-440. Analytical methodology. 

A. Drinking water laboratories shall meet the sampling and 

analytical methodology requirements incorporated by 

reference into 1VAC30-41-55 for microbiology and 

alternative testing methods for microbiology. 

B. Drinking water laboratories shall meet the requirements 

of Chapter V, Section 5 of the Manual and the Manual 

Supplement to Chapter V, Section 5 of the Manual unless 

these requirements conflict with the requirements specified in 

subsection A of this section. 

C. A drinking water laboratory shall perform a minimum of 

20 coliform analyses monthly by each coliform method for 

which it is certified in order to maintain certification status or 

qualify for initial certification. The minimum number of 

coliform analyses (20) may be performed on a variety of 

water sample types collected from different stages of the 

water treatment process, raw source water, and surface or 

ground water, as well as drinking water samples collected 

from a distribution system or private wells.  

1VAC30-41-450. Sample collection, handling, and 

preservation. 

A. Laboratories that perform sampling shall meet the sample 

container, required preservation, and maximum holding time 

requirements incorporated by reference at 1VAC30-41-55 for 

microbiology and alternative testing methods for 

microbiology. 

B. Laboratories that perform sampling shall meet the 

requirements of Chapter V, Section 6 of the Manual and the 

Manual Supplement to Chapter V, Section 6 of the Manual 

unless these requirements conflict with the requirements 

specified in subsection A of this section. 

C. Drinking water laboratories shall reject any sample not 

meeting the sampling criteria of this section and notify the 

system or individual requesting the analyses.  

D. The laboratory shall have a written sample rejection 

policy covering samples that do not meet sampling 

requirements. 

1VAC30-41-460. Quality assurance. 

Drinking water laboratories shall meet the quality assurance 

and quality control requirements of the following: 

1. The approved test methods and associated quality 

assurance and quality control requirements incorporated by 

reference into 1VAC30-41-55. 

2. Chapter III, Section 11 and Chapter V, Section 7 of the 

Manual. 

3. The Manual Supplement to Chapter III, Section 2 of the 

Manual. 

1VAC30-41-470. Recordkeeping and data reporting. 

Laboratories shall meet the recordkeeping and data reporting 

requirements of the following: 

1. The approved test methods incorporated by reference 

into 1VAC30-41-55. 

2. Chapter V, Section 8 of the Manual. 

1VAC30-41-480. Action response to laboratory results. 

Drinking water laboratories shall meet the requirements of 

Chapter V, Section 9 of the Manual and the requirements of 

1VAC30-41-190.  

1VAC30-41-490. (Reserved). 

Part V 

Radiochemistry 

1VAC30-41-500. Radiochemistry. 

A. Drinking water laboratories shall meet the sampling and 

analytical methodology requirements incorporated by 

reference into 1VAC30-41-55 for radiochemistry and 

alternative testing methods for radiochemistry. 

B. Drinking water laboratories shall meet the requirements 

of Chapters III and VI of the Manual as follows: 

1. Personnel: Chapter III, Section 10 and Chapter VI, 

Section 1. 

2. Laboratory facilities: Chapter VI, Section 2. 

3. Laboratory equipment and instrumentation: Chapter VI, 

Section 3. 

4. General laboratory practices: Chapter VI, Section 4. 

5. Analytical methods: Chapter VI, Section 5, with the 

exception of Table VI-1. 

6. Sample collection, handling, and preservation: Chapter 

VI, Section 6, with the exception of Table VI-2. 

7. Quality assurance: Chapter III, Section 11 and Chapter 

VI, Section 7. 

8. Recordkeeping and data reporting: Chapter VI, Section 

8. 

9. Action response to laboratory results: Chapter VI, 

Section 9 and the requirements of 1VAC30-41-190. 
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NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the regulation 

were filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name to access a form. The forms are 

also available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 

2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (1VAC30-41) 

Application for Virginia Certification Safe Drinking Water 

Program, DGS-21-109 (rev. 5/30/13). 

Fee Payment Form for Virginia Laboratory Certification 

Programs, DGS-35-232 (rev. 1/14/11). 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(1VAC30-41) 

Manual for the Certification of Laboratories Analyzing 

Drinking Water: Criteria and Procedures Quality Assurance, 

Fifth Edition, January 2005 (EPA-815-R-05-004). 

Chapters I through IV 

Chapters V and VI 

Appendices 

Supplement 1 to the Fifth Edition of the Manual for the 

Certification of Laboratories Analyzing Drinking Water, June 

2008 (EPA 815-F-08-006). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2245; Filed May 28, 2013, 10:33 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-20. Advertising (amending 

3VAC5-20-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 16, 2013. 

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email 

curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Chapter 728 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly and 

Chapters 760 and 818 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly amended 

§ 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia to require that the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control promulgate regulations 

establishing reasonable time, place, and manner restrictions 

on outdoor advertising of alcoholic beverages. While the 

promulgation of regulations is mandatory, most details are 

discretionary, although the statute contains more specific 

limitations on where billboard signs advertising alcoholic 

beverages may be placed. 

Purpose: This action carries out the mandate of Chapter 728 

of the 2011 Acts of Assembly and Chapters 760 and 818 of 

the 2012 Acts of Assembly, which require the Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Board to promulgate regulations to 

establish reasonable time, place, and manner restrictions on 

outdoor advertising of alcoholic beverages The legislation 

specifies provisions that must be included in such regulations 

restricting where outdoor advertising signs may be placed. 

The Alcoholic Beverage Control Board has determined that 

the proposed regulatory action is essential to protect the 

health, safety, or welfare of citizens because regulation of 

alcoholic beverage advertising is necessary to ensure that 

such advertising does not encourage over-consumption of 

alcoholic beverages, nor does it encourage or otherwise 

promote the consumption of alcoholic beverages by persons 

to whom alcoholic beverages may not be lawfully sold. 

Substance: The proposed action amends 3VAC5-20-30 by 

deleting most of the existing language, which specifies certain 

numbers of signs, their placement, and content, for various 

categories of alcoholic beverage industry members. In its 

place would be four paragraphs that (i) prohibit the use of 

persons consuming alcohol, cartoon characters, or persons 

under the legal drinking age in outdoor alcoholic beverage 

advertising; (ii) prohibit alcoholic beverage advertising within 

500 feet of religious institutions, schools, recreational 

facilities, or residences, with measurements as defined in the 

Code of Virginia; (iii) prohibit outdoor alcoholic beverage 

advertising on property zoned for agricultural use or unzoned; 

and (iv) require that outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising 

comply with Virginia Department of Transportation laws and 

regulations. Three other paragraphs prohibit manufacturers, 

importers, or wholesalers from providing outdoor advertising 

to retailers or engaging in cooperative advertising with 

retailers, and prohibit manufacturers or importers from 

requiring wholesalers to engage in outdoor advertising.  

Issues: The primary advantage to the public and regulated 

businesses is the opportunity for increased sharing of 

information about lawful products. The amended regulation 

would provide fewer restrictions on commercial speech. The 

new provisions would be easier to comply with and to 

enforce. Some members of the public would find additional 

alcohol advertising or additional outdoor advertising of any 

nature to be a disadvantage, out of concern for substance 

abuse or esthetics. The regulatory action poses no 

disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to a consent decree between the Office of the 

Attorney General and the Lamar Company, LLC signed in 

January, 2011, as well as Chapter 728 of the 2011 Acts of the 

Assembly and Chapter 760 of the 2012 Acts of the Assembly, 

the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (ABC) proposes to 

amend its advertising regulations. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88a09002245~1&typ=40&actno=002245&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88a09002245~1&typ=40&actno=002245&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=98526002245~2&typ=40&actno=002245&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=98526002245~2&typ=40&actno=002245&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=30355002245~4&typ=40&actno=002245&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f4b1a002245~5&typ=40&actno=002245&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9ea9002245~6&typ=40&actno=002245&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b1a2f002245~3&typ=40&actno=002245&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b1a2f002245~3&typ=40&actno=002245&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b1a2f002245~3&typ=40&actno=002245&mime=application/pdf
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Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for 

implementing these proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Prior to 2011, restrictions on 

advertising set in the Code of Virginia and in the Alcoholic 

Beverage Control (ABC) Board's regulations prohibited most 

forms of outdoor alcoholic beverage advertisement except for 

advertising within "stadia, coliseums or racetracks that are 

used primarily for professional or semiprofessional athletic or 

sporting events." A consent decree agreed to by both Lamar 

Company, LLC (a company that owns numerous outdoor 

advertising billboards in Virginia and other states) and the 

Office of the Attorney General suspended provisions of 

3VAC5-20-30 and agreed that "no alcoholic beverage 

advertising shall depict persons consuming alcoholic 

beverages or use cartoon characters in any way or use persons 

who have not attained the minimum drinking age as models 

or actors" and that "(n)o outdoor alcoholic beverage 

advertising shall be placed within 500 feet of a church or 

synagogue; public, private or parochial school; college or 

university; or public or private playground or similar 

recreational facilities." 

After this consent decree was entered in January, 2011, the 

General Assembly passed legislation that dealt with alcoholic 

beverage advertising in 2011 and 2012. Chapter 728 of the 

2011 Acts of Assembly requires the board to promulgate 

regulations that establish reasonable time, place, and manner 

restrictions on alcoholic beverage outdoor advertising. 

Chapter 760 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly enacted Virginia 

Code § 4.1-112.2 which places specific limits on outdoor 

alcoholic beverage advertising (including specific 

measurement requirements for determining if advertising 

comported with the 500 foot restrictions in the consent 

decree), allows ABC to grant permits for variances, and 

requires outdoor advertising to comply with both ABC 

regulations and those adopted by the Commonwealth 

Transportation Board. This chapter also created Virginia 

Code § 33.1-377.1 which provides for penalties for violations 

of the outdoor advertising law. The 2012 changes were 

characterized as emergency legislation "in force from its 

passage," thereby making them effective on April 18, 2012. 

ABC now proposes to amend its advertising regulations so 

that they are consistent with the consent decree as well as new 

legislation. The proposed regulations will prohibit advertising 

that "depict persons consuming alcoholic beverages, use 

cartoon characters in any way or use persons who have not 

attained the minimum drinking age as models or actors," will 

require that outdoor advertising comply with rules set out in 

Virginia Code § 4.1-112.2 (as modified by Chapter 760 of the 

2012 Acts of the Assembly) and will, also pursuant to 

Chapter 760, prohibit outdoor advertising on property zoned 

exclusively for agricultural or residential uses or on unzoned 

property. The proposed regulations will also prohibit any 

advertising that would not be allowed by the Tied House 

regulations (3 VAC 5-30) or the Franchise Acts (§ 4.1-400 et 

seq. and § 4.1-500 et seq.). 

Because of the consent decree mentioned above, and because 

of the resultant legislation, these proposed regulations are 

much less restrictive on alcoholic beverage advertising than 

were pre-2011 regulations. It does not appear that the 

proposed regulations add any more restrictions than are 

required by the Code of Virginia. ABC's licensees are likely 

to benefit from both a less restrictive advertising environment 

and from ABC's efforts to make these regulations consistent 

with the Code of Virginia so that inconsistencies do not cause 

confusion. No affected entity is likely to incur costs on 

account of these proposed regulations. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. ABC reports that they 

license 16,000 alcoholic beverage manufacturers, wholesalers 

and retailers that will all be affected by these proposed 

regulations; 90% of these entities would meet the 

Commonwealth's definition of small business. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of this regulatory action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 
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preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board concurs with the 

economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

This proposed action carries out the mandate of Chapter 

728 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly and Chapters 760 and 

818 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly, which require the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board to promulgate 

regulations establishing reasonable time, place, and 

manner restrictions on outdoor advertising of alcoholic 

beverages.  The proposed amendments replace most of the 

existing language with four provisions that (i) prohibit the 

use of persons consuming alcohol, cartoon characters, or 

persons under the legal drinking age in outdoor alcoholic 

beverage advertising; (ii) prohibit alcoholic beverage 

advertising within 500 feet of religious institutions, 

schools, recreational facilities, or residences, with 

measurements as defined in the Code of Virginia; (iii) 

prohibit outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising on 

property zoned for agricultural or residential use or 

unzoned; and (iv) require that outdoor alcoholic beverage 

advertising comply with Virginia Department of 

Transportation laws and regulations. Other proposed 

provisions prohibit manufacturers, importers, or 

wholesalers from providing outdoor advertising to 

retailers or engaging in cooperative advertising with 

retailers, and prohibit manufacturers or importers from 

requiring wholesalers to engage in outdoor advertising. 

3VAC5-20-30. Advertising; exterior. 

Outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising shall comply with 

3VAC5-20-10, and shall be limited to signs and is otherwise 

discretionary, except as follows:  

1. Manufacturers and wholesalers, including wineries and 

farm wineries:  

a. No more than one sign upon the licensed premises, no 

portion of which may be higher than 30 feet above 

ground level on a wholesaler's premises;  

b. No more than two signs, which must be directional in 

nature, not farther than 1/2 mile from the licensed 

establishment limited in dimension to 64 square feet with 

advertising limited to brand names;  

c. If the establishment is a winery also holding a retail 

off-premises winery license or is a farm winery, 

additional directional signs with advertising limited to 

trade names, brand names, the terms "farm winery" or 

"winery," and tour information, may be erected in 

accordance with state and local rules, regulations and 

ordinances; and  

d. Only on vehicles and uniforms of persons employed 

exclusively in the business of a manufacturer or 

wholesaler, which shall include any antique vehicles 

bearing original or restored alcoholic beverage 

advertising used for promotional purposes. Additionally, 

any person whether licensed in this Commonwealth or 

not, may use and display antique vehicles bearing 

original or restored alcoholic beverage advertising.  

2. Retailers, including mixed beverage licensees, other than 

carriers and clubs:  

a. No more than two signs at the establishment and, in 

the case of establishments at intersections, three signs, 

the advertising on which, including symbols approved by 

the United States Department of Transportation relating 

to alcoholic beverages, shall be limited to 12 inches in 

height or width and not animated and, in the case of signs 

remote from the premises, subordinate to the main theme 

and substantially in conformance with the size and 

content of advertisements of other services offered at the 

establishment;  

b. Signs may not include any reference to or depiction of 

"Happy Hour," or references or depictions of similar 

import, including references to "special" or "reduced" 

prices or similar terms when used as inducements to 

purchase or consume alcoholic beverages, except that, 

notwithstanding the provisions of 3VAC5-50-160 B 8, a 

retail licensee may post one two-dimensional sign not 

exceeding 17" x 22", attached to the exterior of the 

licensed premises, limited in content to the terms "Happy 

Hour" or "Drink Specials" and the time period within 

which alcoholic beverages are being sold at reduced 

prices; and 

c. No advertising of alcoholic beverages may be 

displayed in exterior windows or within the interior of 

the retail establishment in such a manner that such 

advertising materials may be viewed from the exterior of 

the retail premises, except on table menus or newspaper 

tear sheets.  

3. Manufacturers, wholesalers and retailers may engage in 

billboard advertising within stadia, coliseums or racetracks 

that are used primarily for professional or semiprofessional 

athletic or sporting events.  

1. No outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising shall depict 

persons consuming alcoholic beverages, use cartoon 

characters in any way, or use persons who have not 

attained the minimum drinking age as models or actors. 

2. No outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising shall be 

placed in violation of § 4.1-112.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. No outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising shall be 

placed on property zoned exclusively for agricultural or 

residential uses, or on unzoned property. 
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4. All outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising must also 

comply with the provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 33.1-351 et 

seq.) of Title 33.1 of the Code of Virginia and the 

regulations of the Virginia Department of Transportation 

promulgated pursuant thereto. 

5. No alcoholic beverage manufacturer, importer, or 

wholesale licensee may sell, rent, lend, buy for, or give to 

any retail licensee any outdoor alcoholic beverage 

advertising, any billboard placements for such advertising, 

or in any other way confer on any retail licensee anything 

of value that constitutes outdoor alcoholic beverage 

advertising. 

6. No alcoholic beverage manufacturer, importer, or 

wholesale licensee may engage in cooperative advertising, 

as defined in 3VAC5-30-80, on behalf of any retail 

licensee. 

7. No alcoholic beverage manufacturer or importer may 

require a wholesale licensee to place outdoor alcoholic 

beverage advertising or exercise control over the funds of a 

wholesale licensee for any purpose, including but not 

limited to the purchase of outdoor alcoholic beverage 

advertising. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2956; Filed May 29, 2013, 11:51 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-270. Pertaining to Crabbing 

(amending 4VAC20-270-10, 4VAC20-270-51, 4VAC20-

270-56).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: May 29, 2013, through June 26, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 

Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

This emergency action clarifies that individual and vessel 

harvest and possession limits for commercial or 

recreational crabbing in Virginia are daily limits.  

4VAC20-270-10. Purpose.  

The purpose of this emergency chapter is to allow for the 

conservation and rebuilding of the crab resource and to 

improve the enforceability of other laws pertaining to 

crabbing.  

4VAC20-270-51. Harvester Daily commercial harvester 

and daily vessel harvest and possession limits. 

A. Any barrel used by a harvester to contain or possess any 

amount of crabs will be equivalent in volume to no more than 

3 bushels of crabs. 

B. From March 16, 2013, through November 30, 2013, any 

harvester legally licensed for a crab pot license, as defined in 

4VAC20-270-50 B, shall be limited to the following daily 

harvest and possession limits shown below: 

1. 27 bushels, or 9 barrels, of crabs, if licensed for up to 85 

crab pots. 

2. 32 bushels, or 10 barrels and 2 bushels, if licensed for up 

to 127 crab pots. 

3. 38 bushels, or 12 barrels and 2 bushels, if licensed for up 

to 170 crab pots. 

4. 45 bushels, or 15 barrels, if licensed for up to 255 crab 

pots. 

5. 55 bushels, or 18 barrels and 1 bushel, if licensed for up 

to 425 crab pots. 

C. When multiple harvesters are on board any vessel, that 

vessel's daily harvest limit and possession limit shall be equal 

to only one harvest limit and possession limit, as described in 

4VAC20-270-51 B, and that daily limit shall correspond to 

the highest harvest limit and possession limit of only one 

licensee on board that vessel. 

D. When transporting or selling one or more legal crab pot 

licensee's crab harvest in bushels or barrels, any agent shall 

possess either the crab pot license of that one or more crab 

pot licensees or a bill of lading indicating each crab pot 

licensee's name, address, Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License number, date, and amount of bushels or barrels of 

crabs to be sold. 

E. If any police officer finds crabs in excess of any lawful 

daily bushel limit, or barrel limit, or vessel limit, as described 

in this section, that excess quantity of crabs shall be returned 

immediately to the water by the licensee or licensees who 

possess in possession of that quantity of crabs in excess over 

of any single or combined lawful daily harvest limit or 

possession limit. The refusal to return crabs, in excess of any 

lawful daily harvest limit or possession limit, to the water 

shall constitute a separate violation of this chapter. 

F. The bushel and barrel limits described in this chapter 

replace any provisions for bushel limits described in previous 

4VAC20-300. 

4VAC20-270-56. Recreational Daily recreational harvest 

and possession limit.  

It shall be unlawful to take, by using an unlicensed dip net, 

or hand line, or two crab pots, or to harvest or possess, for 

personal use aboard any vessel, more than one bushel of hard 

crabs or two dozen peeler crabs per day.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3764; Filed May 29, 2013, 1:00 p.m.  
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Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1090. Pertaining to Licensing 

Requirements and License Fees (amending 4VAC20-1090-

30, 4VAC20-1090-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 

Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments establish (i) oyster resource user fees for 

anyone growing, harvesting, shucking, packing, or 

shipping oysters for commercial purposes; (ii) licenses for 

buyers' places of business or trucks used for the purchase 

of oysters from harvesters; (iii) licenses and fees for 

menhaden purse seine vessels, as already established in 

the Code of Virginia; and (iv) a recreational saltwater 

license and fee for nonresident individuals age 65 and 

older.  

4VAC20-1090-30. License fees. 

The following listing of license fees applies to any person 

who purchases a license for the purposes of harvesting for 

commercial purposes, or fishing for recreational purposes, 

during any calendar year. 

1. COMMERCIAL LICENSES. 

Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License $190.00 

Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License for a person 70 years or older $90.00 

Delayed Entry Registration.  $190.00 

Delayed Entry Registration License 

for a person 70 years or older  $90.00 

Seafood Landing License for each 

boat or vessel $175.00 

For each Commercial Fishing Pier 

over or upon subaqueous beds 

(mandatory) $83.00 

Seafood Buyer's License -- For each 

boat or motor vehicle $63.00 

Seafood Buyer's License -- For each 

place of business $126.00 

Clam Aquaculture Product Owner's 

Permit $10.00 

Oyster Aquaculture Product Owner's 

Permit $10.00 

Clam Aquaculture Harvester's Permit $5.00 

Oyster Aquaculture Harvester's Permit $5.00 

Nonresident Harvester's License $444.00 

OYSTER RESOURCE USER FEES 

Any licensed commercial fisherman 

harvesting oysters by hand $50.00 

For any harvester using one or more 

gear types to harvest oysters or for any 

registered commercial fisherman who 

solely harvests or possesses any bushel 

limit described in 4VAC20-720-80, 

only one oyster resource user fee, per 

year, shall be paid $300.00 

On any business shucking or packing 

no more than 1,000 gallons of oysters $500.00 

On any business shucking or packing 

more than 1,000 but no more than 

10,000 gallons of oysters $1,000.00 

On any business shucking or packing 

more than 10,000 but no more than 

25,000 gallons of oysters $2,000.00 

On any business shucking or packing 

more than 25,000 gallons of oysters $4,000.00 

On any oyster buyer using a single 

truck or location $100.00 

On any oyster buyer using multiple 

trucks or locations $300.00 

Commercial aquaculture operation, on 

riparian assignment or general oyster 

planting grounds $50.00 

OYSTER HARVESTING AND, SHUCKING, AND 

BUYERS LICENSES 

Any person purchasing oysters caught 

from the public grounds of the 

Commonwealth or the Potomac River, 

for a single place of business with one 

boat or motor vehicle used for buying 

oysters $50.00 

Any person purchasing oysters caught 

from the public grounds of the 

Commonwealth or the Potomac River, $100.00 
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for a single place of business with 

multiple boats or motor vehicles used 

for buying oysters 

For each person taking oysters by 

hand, or with ordinary tongs $10.00 

For each single-rigged patent tong 

boat taking oysters $35.00 

For each double-rigged patent tong 

boat taking oysters $70.00 

Oyster Dredge Public Ground $50.00 

Oyster Hand Scrape $50.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for any 

number of gallons under 1,000 $12.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 1,000 

gallons, up to 10,000 $33.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 10,000 

gallons, up to 25,000 $74.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 25,000 

gallons, up to 50,000 $124.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 50,000 

gallons, up to 100,000 $207.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 

100,000 gallons, up to 200,000 $290.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 

200,000 gallons or over $456.00 

BLUE CRAB HARVESTING AND SHEDDING 

LICENSES, EXCLUSIVE OF CRAB POT LICENSES 

For each person taking or catching 

crabs by dip nets $13.00 

For ordinary trotlines  $13.00 

For patent trotlines $51.00 

For each single-rigged crab-scrape 

boat $26.00 

For each double-rigged crab-scrape 

boat $53.00 

For up to 210 peeler pots $36.00 

For up to 20 tanks and floats for 

shedding crabs $9.00 

For more than 20 tanks or floats for 

shedding crabs $19.00 

For each crab trap or crab pound $8.00 

CRAB POT LICENSES 

For up to 85 crab pots $48.00 

For over 85 but not more than 127 

crab pots $79.00 

For over 127 but not more than 170 

crab pots $79.00 

For over 170 but not more than 255 

crab pots $79.00 

For over 255 but not more than 425 

crab pots $127.00 

HORSESHOE CRAB AND LOBSTER LICENSES 

For each person harvesting horseshoe 

crabs by hand  $16.00 

For each boat engaged in fishing for, 

or landing of, lobster using less than 

200 pots  $41.00 

For each boat engaged in fishing for, 

or landing of, lobster using 200 pots or 

more  $166.00 

CLAM HARVESTING LICENSES 

For each person taking or harvesting 

clams by hand, rake or with ordinary 

tongs $24.00 

For each single-rigged patent tong 

boat taking clams $58.00 

For each double-rigged patent tong 

boat taking clams $84.00 

For each boat using clam dredge 

(hand) $19.00 

For each boat using clam dredge 

(power) $44.00 

For each boat using hydraulic dredge 

to catch soft shell clams $83.00 

For each person taking surf clams $124.00 

CONCH (WHELK) HARVESTING LICENSES 

For each boat using a conch dredge $58.00 

For each person taking channeled 

whelk by conch pot $51.00 

FINFISH HARVESTING LICENSES 

Each pound net $41.00 

Each stake gill net of 1,200 feet in 

length or under, with a fixed location $24.00 
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All other gill nets up to 600 feet $16.00 

All other gill nets over 600 feet and up 

to 1,200 feet  $24.00 

Each person using a cast net or throw 

net or similar device $13.00 

Each fyke net head, weir, or similar 

device $13.00 

For fish trotlines $19.00 

Each person using or operating a fish 

dip net $9.00 

On each haul seine used for catching 

fish, under 500 yards in length $48.00 

On each haul seine used for catching 

fish, from 500 yards in length to 1,000 

yards in length $146.00 

For each person using commercial 

hook and line $31.00 

For each person using commercial 

hook and line for catching striped bass 

only $31.00 

On each boat or vessel under 70 gross 

tons fishing with purse net, per gross 

ton, but not more than $249 $4.00 

On each boat or vessel over 70 gross 

tons fishing with purse net, per gross 

ton. Provided the maximum license fee 

for such vessels shall not be more than 

$996 $8.00 

On each boat or vessel under 70 gross 

tons fishing for the purse seine 

menhaden reduction sector $249.00 

On each vessel 70 gross tons  or over 

fishing for the purse seine menhaden 

reduction sector $996.00 

On each boat or vessel under 70 gross 

tons fishing for the purse seine 

menhaden bait sector $249.00 

On each vessel 70 gross tons or over 

fishing for the purse seine menhaden 

bait sector $996.00 

For up to 100 fish pots or eel pots $19.00 

For over 100 but not more than 300 

fish pots or eel pots $24.00 

For over 300 fish pots or eel pots $62.00 

2. COMMERCIAL GEAR FOR RECREATIONAL USE. 

Up to five crab pots $36.00 

Crab trotline (300 feet maximum) $10.00 

One crab trap or crab pound $6.00 

One gill net up to 300 feet in length $9.00 

Fish dip net $7.00 

Fish cast net $10.00 

Up to two eel pots $10.00 

3. SALTWATER RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSE. 

Individual, resident $17.50 

Individual, nonresident $25.00 

Temporary 10-Day, resident $10.00 

Temporary 10-Day, nonresident $10.00 

Recreational boat, resident $48.00 

Recreational boat, nonresident, 

provided a nonresident may not 

purchase a recreational boat license 

unless his boat is registered in Virginia $76.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, resident, six 

or less passengers $190.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, nonresident, 

six or less passengers $380.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, resident, 

more than six passengers, plus $5.00 

per person, over six persons $190.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, nonresident, 

more than six passengers, plus $5.00 

per person, over six persons $380.00 

Rental Boat, resident, per boat, with 

maximum fee of $703 $14.00 

Rental Boat, nonresident, per boat, 

with maximum fee of $1270 $18.00 

Commercial Fishing Pier (Optional) $632.00 

Disabled Resident Lifetime Saltwater 

License $10.00 

Disabled Nonresident Lifetime 

Saltwater License $10.00 

Reissuance of Saltwater Recreational 

Boat License $5.00 

Combined Sportfishing License to fish in all inland waters 

and tidal waters of the Commonwealth during open season: 
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Residents $35.00 

Nonresidents $60.50 

Combined Sportfishing Trip License to fish in all inland 

waters and tidal waters of the Commonwealth during open 

season, for five consecutive days: 

Residents $21.00 

Nonresidents $26.00 

LIFETIME SALTWATER RECREATIONAL FISHING 

LICENSES 

Individual Resident Lifetime License $276.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime 

License $500.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License 

age 45 - 50 $132.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime 

License age 45 - 50 $240.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License 

age 51 - 55 $99.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime 

License 51 - 55 $180.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License 

age 56 - 60 $66.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime 

License age 56 - 60 $120.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License 

age 61 - 64 $35.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime 

License age 61 - 64 $60.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime 

License age 65 and older $5.00 

4VAC20-1090-40. Penalty.  

A. As set forth in § 28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person violating any provision of this regulation chapter, 

except as provided in subsection B of this section, shall be 

guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor, and a second or subsequent 

violation of any provision of this regulation chapter 

committed by the same person within 12 months of a prior 

violation is a Class 1 misdemeanor.  

B. As set forth in § 28.2-549 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person willfully failing to pay oyster resource user fees to the 

commission shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3762; Filed June 3, 2013, 11:43 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Emergency Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-30. Regulations Governing 

Adult High School Programs (amending 8VAC20-30-20). 

8VAC20-680. Regulations Governing the General 

Achievement Diploma (repealing 8VAC20-680-10, 

8VAC20-680-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-224 and 22.1-253.13:4 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: July 17, 2013, through July 16, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Anne Wescott, Assistant Superintendent for 

Policy and Communication, Department of Education, P.O. 

Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 225-2403, 

or email anne.wescott@doe.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Chapters 454 and 642 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly 

amended § 22.1-253.13:4 of the Code of Virginia to 

strengthen postsecondary education and workplace 

readiness opportunities for all students and to consolidate 

the number of Board of Education-approved diplomas. The 

legislation includes a second enactment clause that 

requires the board to promulgate emergency regulations to 

implement the provisions of this legislation. The emergency 

regulations provide for a foundation for a quality 

education for adult students receiving a general 

achievement adult high school diploma so they may be 

successful and productive citizens and are prepared for 

postsecondary education and for the workplace. 

The legislation eliminates the general achievement 

diploma by folding it into the adult high school diploma, 

which is renamed the general achievement adult high 

school diploma. The legislation adds a requirement that 

adult students would need to earn a Board of Education-

approved career and technical education credential, such 

as the successful completion of an industry certification, a 

state licensure examination, a national occupational 

competency assessment, or the Virginia workplace 

readiness skills assessment in order to be awarded the 

diploma. The legislation further provides that the general 

achievement adult high school diploma would include the 

following requirements: 

1. Achievement of a passing score on the GED 

examination; 

2. Successful completion of an education and training 

program designated by the Board of Education; 

3. Achievement of a Board of Education-approved career 

and technical education credential such as the successful 

completion of an industry certification, a state licensure 

examination, a national occupational competency 
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assessment, or the Virginia workplace readiness skills 

assessment; and 

4. Completion of other requirements as may be 

established by the board. 

The emergency regulations are designed to (i) enhance 

preparedness for the workplace and for postsecondary 

education and (ii) strengthen educational and career 

opportunities for adult students. They also support 

expanded learning opportunities for adult students by 

enhancing workplace skills through the attainment of a 

career and technical education credential for adult 

students earning the general achievement adult high 

school diploma. 

8VAC20-30-20. Minimum requirements for adult high 

school programs.  

Adult high school programs are not part of the 9 through 12 

high school program and shall meet the following minimum 

requirements:  

1. Age. An adult student shall be at least 18 years of age. 

Under circumstances which local school authorities 

consider justifiable, students of school age may enroll in 

courses offered by the adult high school. Only in 

exceptional circumstances should school officials permit a 

school-aged individual enrolled in grades 9 through 12 to 

earn credits toward high school graduation in adult classes. 

All educational alternatives must have been considered 

prior to placing an enrolled student in an adult class. Such 

students would be able to earn a diploma, as provided in 

8VAC20-131-50, but would not be eligible to earn an adult 

high school diploma. Only those students not subject to the 

compulsory attendance requirements of § 22.1-254 of the 

Code of Virginia shall be enrolled in an adult high school 

program. 

2. Credit.  

a. Satisfactory completion of 108 hours of classroom 

instruction in a subject shall constitute sufficient 

evidence for one unit of credit toward a high school 

diploma.  

b. When, in the judgment of the principal or the 

superintendent, an adult not regularly enrolled in the 

grades 9 through 12 high school program is able to 

demonstrate by examination or other objective evidence, 

satisfactory completion of the work, he may receive 

credit in accordance with policies adopted by the local 

school board. It is the responsibility of the school issuing 

the credit to document the types of examinations 

employed or other objective evidence used, the testing or 

assessment procedures, and the extent of progress in each 

case.  

c. Credits earned in adult high school programs shall be 

transferable as prescribed in the Regulations Establishing 

Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia 

within the sponsoring school division and shall be 

transferable to public secondary schools outside of the 

sponsoring school division.  

3. Diplomas.  

a. A diploma, as provided in 8VAC20-131-50, shall be 

awarded to an adult student who completes all 

requirements of the diploma regulated by the Board of 

Education, with the exception of health and physical 

education requirements, in effect at the time he will 

graduate.  

b. An adult high school diploma shall be awarded to an 

adult student who completes the course credit 

requirements in effect for any Board of Education 

diploma, with the exception of health and physical 

education course requirements, at the time he first 

entered the ninth grade. The requirement for specific 

assessments may be waived if the assessments are no 

longer administered to students in Virginia public 

schools.  

c. An adult high school diploma shall be awarded to an 

adult student who demonstrates through applied 

performance assessment full mastery of the National 

External Diploma Program Generalized Competencies 

Correlated with CASAS Competencies, 1996, version 

5.0, January 2013, a CASAS program, as promulgated by 

the American Council on Education and validated and 

endorsed by the United States Department of Education.  

d. A General Achievement Diploma, as provided in 

8VAC20-680, shall be awarded to an adult student who 

completes all requirements of the diploma. A general 

achievement adult high school diploma shall be awarded 

to a student who is not subject to the compulsory 

attendance requirements of § 22.1-254 of the Code of 

Virginia and who: 

(1) Successfully completes the general educational 

development (GED) program that meets the requirements 

of the Board of Education's Regulations Governing 

General Education Development Certificates (8VAC20-

360) and earns a GED certificate; 

(2) Earns a Board of Education-approved career and 

technical education credential, such as the successful 

completion of an industry certification, a state licensure 

examination, a national occupational competency 

assessment, or the Virginia Workplace Readiness Skills 

Assessment; and 

(3) Successfully completes the following courses that 

incorporate or exceed the applicable Standards of 

Learning: 

  
Discipline Area 

Standard Units of Credit 

Required 

  English 4 

  Mathematics 3 
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  Science 2 

  History and Social 

Sciences 
2 

  Electives 9 

  TOTAL 20 

Courses completed to satisfy the requirements in 

mathematics and science shall include content in courses 

that incorporate or exceed the content of courses 

approved by the Board of Education to satisfy any other 

board-recognized diploma.  

Courses completed to satisfy the history/social science 

requirements shall include one unit of credit in Virginia 

and U.S. history and one unit of credit in Virginia and 

U.S. government in courses that incorporate or exceed 

the content of courses approved by the Board of 

Education to satisfy any other board-recognized diploma.  

Courses completed to satisfy the electives requirement 

shall include at least two sequential electives in an area 

of concentration or specialization, which may include 

career and technical education and training. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(8VAC20-30)  

National External Diploma Program Generalized 

Competencies Correlated with CASAS Competencies, 

Comprehensive Adult Student Assessment System 

EDP/CASAS, 1996 National External Diploma Program 

Competencies, version 5.0, January 2013, a CASAS program, 

as promulgated by the American Council on Education and 

validated and endorsed by the U.S. Department of Education. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3303; Filed May 22, 2013, 2:19 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Waste Management 

Board is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Virginia Waste 

Management Board will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions from any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-40. Administrative 

Procedures for Hazardous Waste Facility Site 

Certification (amending 9VAC20-40-60, 9VAC20-40-80, 

9VAC20-40-130, 9VAC20-40-140).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1434 and 10.1-1436 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Debra A. Harris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4209, FAX (804) 

698-4346, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments allow notifications associated with siting 

of new hazardous waste facilities to be sent via postal or 

electronic mail. The amendments allow for electronic or 

postal mail notifications to interested individuals 

regarding (i) any notice of intent to file an application for 

a certification of site approval, (ii) a briefing meeting to 

discuss such an application, (iii) the public hearing 

associated with such an application, (iii) the decision of 

the Director of the Department of Environmental Quality 

to allow a petitioner to become a party to such a hearing 

regarding an application, and (iv) the final decision of 

approval or denial of the application. The amendments are 

required by statutory changes to § 10.1-1183 of the Code 

of Virginia by Chapter 348 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly.  

9VAC20-40-60. Contents of the notice of intent.  

A. After December 31, 1984, any person may submit to the 

board a notice of intent to file an application for a 

certification of site approval. The notice shall contain:  

1. Name and address of the applicant;  

2. A copy of the property deed, option, or other document 

giving right, title, or interest to the proposed site;  

3. A description of the proposed facility including a 

description based on its operating characteristics;  

4. A USGS map showing the location of the property at a 

scale of one inch = 2,000 feet;  

5. Names and addresses of all owners of property adjacent 

to the proposed site; and  

6. Any state agency filing a notice of intent shall include a 

statement explaining why the Commonwealth desires to 

build a hazardous waste facility and how the public interest 

will be served by that.  

B. Determination of completion of notice of intent. The 

director will review the notice of intent and determine within 

45 days of its receipt whether the notice of intent is complete. 

If the director determines that the notice of intent is 

incomplete, the director shall so advise the applicant, 

specifying the information needed to complete the notice and 

designating a deadline for the correction of any deficiencies.  

C. Distribution of notice of intent. Upon the determination 

that a notice of intent is complete, the board, at the applicant's 

expense, shall promptly:  

1. Deliver by certified, return receipt mail a copy of the 

notice of intent with a copy of the Act, a copy of this 
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chapter, and notice of the date, time, location and purpose 

of the briefing meeting to:  

a. The governing body of each host community;  

b. The governing body of each affected community;  

c. State legislators elected from the areas in which the 

host community and affected communities are located;  

d. The regional planning district commissions of the host 

community and the affected communities; and  

e. Each person owning property immediately adjoining 

the site of the proposed facility.  

2. Have an informative description of the notice published 

in a newspaper of general circulation in each host 

community once each week for four successive weeks. The 

description shall include the name and address of the 

applicant, a description of the proposed facility and its 

location, the places and times where the notice of intent 

may be examined, the address and telephone number of the 

board or other state agency from which information may 

be obtained, and the date, time and location of the initial 

public briefing meeting on the notice.  

3. Copies of the notice of intent will be mailed, by 

electronic or postal delivery, to any person who has 

specifically requested such notice.  

9VAC20-40-80. Briefing meeting.  

A. Not more than 75 nor less than 60 days after the delivery 

of the notice of intent to the host community, the board shall 

conduct a briefing meeting in or in reasonable proximity to 

the host community. Notice of the date, time, place and 

purpose of the briefing session shall be prepared by the board 

and shall accompany the notice of intent delivered pursuant to 

§ 10.1-1439 of the Code of Virginia, and be included in the 

notice published pursuant to § 10.1-1439 of the Code of 

Virginia. At least one representative of the applicant shall be 

present at the briefing meeting. The primary purpose of the 

briefing meeting will be to provide information on the 

proposed site and facility and to receive comments, 

suggestions and questions on them from the public.  

B. The board shall select from among its membership a 

briefing officer who will be responsible for conducting the 

meeting as follows:  

1. The briefing officer will call the meeting to order and 

explain the purpose of the briefing;  

2. The applicant shall be allowed to give a presentation 

describing the proposal and to respond to questions;  

3. Persons asking questions shall be requested to state their 

names, addresses, and interests in the project;  

4. The briefing officer shall conduct the meeting in an 

orderly manner while ensuring that all interested parties 

present are as fully briefed as possible on the proposal; and  

5. A stenographic or electronic record shall be made of all 

briefing meetings. A transcript of the meeting, together 

with copies of any documents submitted at the briefing, 

shall be made available for inspection at the office of the 

board and host community during normal working hours.  

C. If the board conducts additional briefing meetings, notice 

of such meetings shall be provided as follows:  

1. Notice of the date, time, place and purpose of the 

meeting is delivered in writing to the applicant, each 

member of the governing body of the host community, and 

to all owners of property adjoining the proposed site at 

least 15 days in advance of the meeting;  

2. Such notice is published once each week for at least two 

successive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation in 

the host community;  

3. Such notice is broadcast over one or more radio stations 

within the area to be affected by the subject of the notice;  

4. Such notice is mailed, by electronic or postal delivery, to 

each person who has asked to receive notice; and  

5. Such notice is disseminated by any additional means the 

board deems appropriate.  

9VAC20-40-130. Public hearing on draft certification of 

site approval.  

A. The board shall conduct a public hearing on the draft 

certification not less than 15 nor more than 30 days after the 

first publication of notice. The hearing shall be conducted in 

the host community.  

B. Notice of the hearing shall be made at the applicant's 

expense and shall:  

1. Provide for public participation by sending a copy of the 

notice by certified, return receipt mail to the following:  

a. The governing body of the host community;  

b. The governing body of the affected communities;  

c. Legislators elected from the areas in which the host 

community is located and the affected communities are 

located;  

d. The regional planning district commissions of the host 

community and affected communities;  

e. Persons owning property adjoining the site of the 

proposed facility.  

f. The applicant.  

g. Any person who has been designated a party pursuant 

to 9VAC20-40-130 D.  

2. In addition to the requirements imposed by paragraph 1, 

in accordance with § 10.1-1447 of the Code of Virginia, 

the notice shall be disseminated:  

a. By publication once each week for two successive 

weeks in a newspaper of general circulation within the 

area to be affected by the subject of the notice;  

b. By broadcast over one or more radio stations within 

the area to be affected by the subject of the notice;  

c. By mail, electronic or postal delivery, to each person 

who has asked to receive notice; and  
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d. By such additional means as the board deems 

appropriate.  

Every notice shall provide a description of the subject for 

which notice is made and shall include the name and 

telephone number of a person from whom additional 

information may be obtained.  

3. Provide that the contents of such notice include:  

a. A brief description of the terms and conditions of the 

draft certification;  

b. Information describing the date, time, place and 

purpose of the hearing;  

c. The location where the draft certification may be 

reviewed;  

d. The name, address and telephone number of an official 

designated by the board to receive written comments of 

the draft certification;  

e. A brief description of the rules and procedures to be 

followed at the hearing and the time for receiving 

comments; and  

f. Any such information as the board deems appropriate.  

C. Designation and powers of hearing officer.  

1. The public hearing held pursuant to these procedures 

will be conducted by a hearing officer designated by the 

board.  

2. The hearing officer shall conduct the hearing in an 

orderly and expeditious manner, and shall hold all powers 

necessary to those ends, including, but not limited to, the 

power to do the following:  

a. Prescribe the methods and procedures to be used in the 

development of evidentiary facts and the presentation of 

evidence by the parties, including the issuance of 

prehearing orders setting forth the issues for hearing and 

establishing deadlines for the filing of written testimony 

and exhibits;  

b. Impose reasonable limitations on the time permitted 

for oral testimony;  

c. Consolidate the presentation of factual data, arguments 

and proof to avoid repetitive presentation of them;  

d. Administer oaths and affirmations;  

e. Receive probative evidence, rule upon offers of proof 

and, upon his own motion or the objection of any party, 

exclude irrelevant, immaterial, insubstantial or repetitive 

proofs, rebuttal or cross-examination;  

f. Examine witnesses;  

g. Hold prehearing conferences for the settlement 

determination, simplification or stipulation of issues and 

facts by consent;  

h. Rule on procedural matters; and  

i. Issue subpoenas and subpoenas duces tecum in 

accordance with § 2.2-4022 of the Code of Virginia.  

3. Rulings of the hearing officer on the admissibility of 

evidence or testimony, on the propriety or conduct of 

cross-examination, and on any and all procedural matters 

shall appear in the hearing record and shall control further 

proceedings in the hearing. Parties shall be presumed to 

have taken objection to any adverse ruling, and no 

objection shall be considered waived by further 

participation on the hearing.  

D. Parties; rights of parties; petition to become a party.  

1. The following persons are entitled to become parties to 

the public hearing conducted pursuant to this section:  

a. The applicant;  

b. The host community, acting through its governing 

body; and  

c. Any person owning land adjoining the site of the 

proposed facility.  

2. In addition to the above named parties, any person 

whose significant interest will be adversely affected by the 

decision of the board may file a petition to become a party 

to the hearing. The following procedures apply to such 

petitions:  

a. The petition to become a party must be received by the 

board at least 10 days prior to the scheduled hearing date.  

b. The petition shall contain the following:  

(1) The names and addresses of the petitioner, the 

petitioner's counsel (if any) and all persons for whom the 

petitioner is acting as a representative;  

(2) A statement setting forth the interest of the petitioner 

in the matter;  

(3) A statement by the petitioner that, should his petition 

be granted, the petitioner will be available, without cost 

to any other party, to appear at the hearing; and  

(4) A statement by the petitioner explaining how his 

interests would not be adequately represented by existing 

parties to the hearing.  

c. The director shall acknowledge the receipt of all 

petitions to become a party.  

d. The director shall consider all petitions filed in 

accordance herewith, and shall grant those petitions that 

both:  

(1) Raise one or more genuine substantial issues in the 

petition which, if resolved adversely to the petitioner, 

would result in an injury to a significant interest of the 

petitioner; and  

(2) Adequately describe how the petitioner's interest is 

not represented by an existing party to the hearing.  

e. The director shall notify the petitioner, and all other 

parties, of his decision to grant or deny petition to 

become a party by mail, electronic or postal delivery, at 

least five days prior to the scheduled hearing date. The 

decision of the director in no way limits the rights of 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 17, 2013 

2558 

judicial review granted under § 10.1-1433 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia.  

3. The rights of the parties to the hearing shall be limited to 

those enumerated in this chapter and the Act.  

E. Evidence at the hearing.  

1. Parties to the hearing may present direct and rebuttal 

evidence in written and oral form, as the hearing officer 

may direct.  

2. The hearing officer shall admit all relevant, competent 

and material evidence offered by the parties but shall 

exclude evidence which he determines to be repetitive, 

irrelevant, immaterial or otherwise inadmissible.  

3. Whenever any evidence or testimony is excluded by the 

hearing officer as inadmissible, so much of the excluded 

material as is in written form shall remain in the record as 

an offer of proof, and shall be marked "excluded" by the 

hearing officer. Where oral testimony is excluded, the 

party seeking to introduce it may make an offer of proof in 

the form of a brief descriptive statement for the record.  

4. Any other interested person may be given an opportunity 

to testify during the hearing. The hearing officer shall 

allow such testimony to be heard as is not irrelevant, 

immaterial, insubstantial or repetitive. Any interested 

person who so testifies shall be sworn and subject to cross-

examination as prescribed in this section.  

F. Hearing record.  

1. The hearing officer shall assemble a hearing record after 

the close of the hearing.  

The hearing record shall consist of:  

a. A transcript of the hearing, and any exhibits admitted 

in evidence;  

b. A copy of the final impact statement;  

c. A copy of the application for certification of site 

approval;  

d. Reports of any consultants hired by the board that have 

been made available to the parties prior to the hearing;  

e. A copy of the draft certification of site approval; and  

f. A summary of the record, if the hearing officer so 

desires.  

2. Within 15 days after the close of the hearing, the hearing 

officer shall deliver a copy of the hearing record to each 

member of the board.  

Part IV  

Certification and Approval of Site  

9VAC20-40-140. Final decision on certification of site 

approval.  

A. Within 45 days after the close of the public hearing, the 

board shall meet within or in close proximity to the host 

community and shall vote to issue or deny the certification of 

site approval. The board may include in the certification any 

terms and conditions which it deems necessary and 

appropriate to protect and prevent injury or adverse risk to 

health, safety, welfare, the environment and natural resources. 

At least seven days notice of the date, time, place and purpose 

of the meeting shall be made in the manner provided in 

§ 10.1-1447 of the Code of Virginia. No testimony or 

evidence will be received at the meeting.  

B. The board shall grant the certification of site approval if it 

finds:  

1. That the terms and conditions of it will protect and 

prevent injury or unacceptable adverse risk to health, 

safety, welfare, the environment and natural resources;  

2. That the facility will comply and be consistent with the 

criteria promulgated by the board; and  

3. That the applicant has made reasonable and appropriate 

efforts to reach a siting agreement with the host 

community including, though not limited to, efforts to 

mitigate or compensate the host community and its 

residents for adverse economic effects, if any, of the 

facility.  

C. The board's decision to grant or deny certification will be 

based on the hearing record and shall be accompanied by the 

written findings of fact and conclusions upon which the 

decision was based. The board shall provide the applicant and 

the governing body of the host community with copies of the 

decision, together with the findings and conclusions, by 

certified mail in accordance with § 10.1-1183 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

D. The grant or denial of certification constitutes final action 

by the board.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3655; Filed May 20, 2013, 9:49 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-70. Financial Assurance 

Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer and 

Treatment Facilities (amending 9VAC20-70-210).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1402 and 10.1-1410 of the Code 

of Virginia; 40 CFR Part 258. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 17, 2013. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Debra A. Harris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4206, FAX (804) 698-4346, TTY 

(804) 698-4021, or email debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Virginia Waste Management Board to promulgate and 

enforce regulations necessary to carry out its powers and 

duties and the intent of the chapter and federal law. 

Specifically, § 10.1-1410 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the board to promulgate regulations that ensure that, if a solid 

waste treatment, transfer, or disposal facility is abandoned, 

the costs associated with protecting the public health and 
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safety from the consequences of such abandonment may be 

recovered from the person abandoning the facility. 

Purpose: The rationale for this regulatory action is to provide 

clarity and simplify the financial test requirements for local 

governments. Under the current requirements, local 

governments most provide an additional financial assurance 

mechanism in order to use the financial test to ensure the 

closure, post-closure care, and corrective action costs for their 

solid waste management facilities if those costs are over 20% 

but less than 43% of their total annual revenue. This 

amendment will allow the use of the financial test for 

demonstrating financial assurance under 9VAC20-70 for 

costs up to 43% of the total annual revenue, as is required 

under the federal regulations. Currently, only a few localities 

are required to meet this additional requirement, and it was 

considered overly burdensome as it tied up funds that could 

be otherwise allocated for local government use. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: Currently, local 

governments most provide an additional financial assurance 

mechanism in order to use the financial test to assure the 

closure, post-closure care, and corrective action costs for their 

solid waste management facilities if those costs are over 20% 

but less than 43% of their total annual revenue. This 

amendment removes this burdensome requirement on some 

local governments, mostly smaller/rural counties, that must 

provide this additional financial assurance mechanism, which 

is not required under the analogous federal regulations. As all 

local governments will now be required to meet the same 

criteria when using the financial test option for financial 

assurance and as there has been no change in the requirement 

to provide financial assurance for their solid waste 

management facilities subject to this regulation, use of the 

fast-track process is deemed appropriate as this amendment is 

expected to be noncontroversial and will provide a benefit to 

smaller local government entities.  

Substance: The requirements for the additional financial 

mechanism for costs exceeding 20% have been removed from 

the local government financial test section in 9VAC20-70-

210. 

Issues: The public will benefit as these amendments will not 

tie up local government revenue in an additional financial 

assurance mechanism for environmental liabilities over 20% 

of their total annual revenue when a financial test is used 

under 9VAC20-70. There is no disadvantage to the agency or 

the Commonwealth that will result from the adoption of these 

amendments to 9VAC20-70. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Waste Management Board (Board) proposes to 

amend its financial assurance regulations so that local 

governments do not have to provide an additional form of 

financial assurance if their environmental liabilities (closure, 

post closure or corrective costs for landfills, treatment 

facilities, etc.) are greater than 20% of the locality's revenues 

but less than or equal to 43% of their revenues. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for this 

proposed action. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, Virginia regulations, 

as well as federal rules, allow local governments that meet 

certain financial requirements (9VAC20-70-210 - Local 

government financial test) to use their sound financial 

position to assure that they will be able to pay for their 

environmental liabilities as they come due so long as those 

environmental liabilities are not greater than 43% of their 

revenues each year. Virginia additionally requires localities 

with environmental liabilities that are greater than 20% (but 

are less than or equal to 43%) of a locality's revenues to 

provide some other tangible financial assurance that the 

locality will be able to meet its obligations. A locality may 

currently meet this additional requirement by establishing 

either: 

1) A restricted sinking fund, 

2) An escrow account managed by a third party escrow 

agent or 

3) A letter of credit. 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) reports that 

this additional requirement is more stringent than the federal 

requirement. DEQ further reports that only a few localities 

are currently required to provide the additional assurance and 

that the Board considers the requirement for the additional 

assurance to be overly burdensome. Consequently, the Board 

now proposes to eliminate this additional requirement and 

allow localities to use the local government financial test to 

assure that they can meet their financial obligations. 

Affected localities will benefit from this change as they will 

no longer have funds tied up in the additional financial 

assurance and can use those funds to meet other budget 

obligations. Since only localities that are in sound financial 

shape will pass the financial test in these regulations, the 

probability that citizens of these localities will suffer some 

harm from environmental issues that the locality is unable to 

afford fixing, and that they would have been able to fix with 

the additional assurance, is likely low. The benefits of this 

proposed regulatory change likely outweigh its costs. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DEQ reports that this 

regulatory change will potentially affect all local governments 

in Virginia. 

Localities Particularly Affected. Localities whose 

environmental liabilities are currently greater than 20%, but 

less than or equal to 43%, of their annual revenue will benefit 

from this regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 

likely have little to no impact on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

regulatory action will likely have little to no effect on the use 

or value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. This proposed 

regulatory change does not affect any private business. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. This proposed regulatory change does not 

affect any private business. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and has 

no comment. 

Summary:  

The amendment allows local governments to use certain 

financial tests to ensure environmental costs for solid 

waste management facilities up to 43% of the total annual 

revenue without submission of an additional mechanism to 

cover any amount over 20% of revenues.  

9VAC20-70-210. Local government financial test.  

An owner or operator that satisfies the requirements of 

subdivisions 1 through 3 of this section may demonstrate 

financial assurance using the local government financial test 

up to the amount specified in subdivision 4 of this section.  

1. Financial component.  

a. The owner or operator shall satisfy the provisions of 

subdivision 1 a of this section, as applicable:  

(1) If the owner or operator has outstanding, rated, 

general obligation bonds that are not secured by 

insurance, a letter of credit, or other collateral or 

guarantee, he shall supply the director with 

documentation demonstrating that the owner or operator 

has a current rating of Aaa, Aa, A, or Baa, as issued by 

Moody's, or AAA, AA, A, or BBB, as issued by Standard 

and Poor's on all such general obligation bonds; or  

(2) If the owner or operator does not have outstanding, 

rated general obligation bonds, he shall satisfy each of 

the following financial ratios based on the owner's or 

operator's most recent audited annual financial statement:  

(a) A ratio of cash plus marketable securities to total 

expenditures greater than or equal to 0.05; and  

(b) A ratio of annual debt service to total expenditures 

less than or equal to 0.20.  

b. The owner or operator shall prepare his financial 

statements in conformity with Generally Accepted 

Accounting Principles for governments and have its 

financial statements audited by an independent certified 

public accountant or by the Auditor of Public Accounts.  

c. An owner or operator is not eligible to assure its 

obligations under this section if he:  

(1) Is currently in default on any outstanding general 

obligation bonds;  

(2) Has any outstanding general obligation bonds rated 

lower than Baa as issued by Moody's or BBB as issued 

by Standard and Poor's;  

(3) Operated at a deficit equal to 5.0% or more of total 

annual revenue in each of the past two fiscal years; or  

(4) Receives an adverse opinion, disclaimer of opinion, 

or other qualified opinion from the independent certified 

public accountant or Auditor of Public Accounts auditing 

its financial statement as required under subdivision 1 b 

of this section. However, the director may evaluate 

qualified opinions on a case-by-case basis and allow use 

of the financial test in cases where the director deems the 

qualification insufficient to warrant disallowance of the 

test.  

2. Public notice component. The local government owner 

or operator shall place a reference to the closure, post-

closure care, or corrective action costs assured through the 

financial test into the next comprehensive annual financial 

report (CAFR) after January 7, 1998, or prior to the initial 

receipt of waste at the facility, whichever is later. 

Disclosure shall include the nature and source of closure 

and post-closure requirements, the reported liability at the 

balance sheet date, the estimated total closure and post-

closure care cost remaining to be recognized, the 

percentage of landfill capacity used to date, and the 

estimated landfill life in years. A reference to corrective 
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action cost shall be placed in CAFR no later than 120 days 

after the corrective action remedy has been selected in 

accordance with 9VAC20-81-260. For the first year the 

financial test is used to assure costs at a particular facility, 

the reference may instead be placed in the operating record 

until issuance of the next available CAFR if timing does 

not permit the reference to be incorporated into the most 

recently issued CAFR or budget. For closure and post-

closure care costs, conformance with Government 

Accounting Standards Board Statement 18 assures 

compliance with this public notice component.  

3. Recordkeeping and reporting requirements.  

a. The local government owner or operator must submit 

to the department the following items and place copies of 

the items in the facility's operating record:  

(1) An original letter signed by the local government's 

chief financial officer worded as specified in 9VAC20-

70-290 G;  

(2) The local government's independently audited year-

end financial statements for the latest fiscal year, 

including the unqualified opinion of the auditor who 

must be an independent, certified public accountant or an 

appropriate state agency that conducts equivalent 

comprehensive audits;  

(3) A report to the local government from the local 

government's independent certified public accountant 

(CPA) or the Auditor of Public Accounts based on 

performing an agreed upon procedures engagement 

relative to the financial ratios required by subdivision 1 a 

(3) 1 a (2) of this section, if applicable, and the 

requirements of subdivisions 1 b, 1 c (3) and 1 c (4) of 

this section. The CPA or state agency's report shall state 

the procedures performed and the CPA or state agency's 

findings;  

(4) A copy of the comprehensive annual financial report 

(CAFR) used to comply with subdivision 2 of this 

section or certification that the requirements of General 

Accounting Standards Board Statement 18 have been 

met;  

(5) A certification from the local government's chief 

executive officer stating in detail the method selected by 

the local government for funding closure and post-

closure costs. If the method selected by the local 

government is a trust fund, escrow account or similar 

mechanism, there shall be included a certification from 

the local government's chief financial officer indicating 

the current reserve obligated to closure and post-closure 

care cost. If the method selected by local governments is 

the use of annual operating budget and Capital 

Investment Funds, there shall be a certification from the 

local government's chief financial officer so indicating. 

Nothing herein shall be construed to prohibit the local 

government from revising its plan for funding closure 

and post-closure care costs if such revision provides 

economic benefit to the local government and if such 

revision provides adequate means for funding closure 

and post-closure care cost. This certification shall be 

worded as specified in 9VAC20-70-290 H; and  

(6) If the local government is required under this section 

to fund a restricted sinking fund, escrow account, or to 

obtain an irrevocable letter of credit, an original letter 

signed by the local government's chief financial officer 

and worded as specified in 9VAC20-70-290 I must be 

submitted.  

b. The items required in subdivision 3 a of this section 

shall be submitted to the department and placed in the 

facility operating record as follows:  

(1) In the case of closure and post-closure care, either 

before January 7, 1998, or prior to the initial receipt of 

waste at the facility, whichever is later; or  

(2) In the case of corrective action, not later than 120 

days after the corrective action remedy is selected in 

accordance with the requirements of 9VAC20-81-260.  

c. After the initial submission of the items, the local 

government owner or operator must update the 

information, place a copy of the updated information in 

the operating record, and submit the updated 

documentation described in subdivisions 3 a (1) through 

(6) of this section to the department within 180 days 

following the close of the owner or operator's fiscal year.  

d. The local government owner or operator is no longer 

required to meet the requirements of subdivision 3 of this 

section when:  

(1) The owner or operator substitutes alternate financial 

assurance as specified in this section; or  

(2) The owner or operator is released from the 

requirements of this section in accordance with 9VAC20-

70-111 E, 9VAC20-70-112 B, or 9VAC20-70-113 C.  

e. A local government shall satisfy the requirements of 

the financial test at the close of each fiscal year. If the 

local government owner or operator no longer meets the 

requirements of the local government financial test it 

must, within 210 days following the close of the owner 

or operator's fiscal year, obtain alternative financial 

assurance that meets the requirements of this section, 

place a copy of the financial assurance mechanism in the 

operating record, and submit the original financial 

assurance mechanism to the director.  

f. The director, based on a reasonable belief that the local 

government owner or operator may no longer meet the 

requirements of the local government financial test, may 

require additional reports of financial condition from the 

local government at any time. If the director finds, on the 

basis of such reports or other information, that the owner 

or operator no longer meets the requirements of the local 

government financial test, the local government shall 
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provide alternate financial assurance in accordance with 

this article.  

4. Calculation of costs to be assured. The portion of the 

closure, post-closure, and corrective action costs for which 

an owner or operator can assure under subdivision 1 of this 

section is determined as follows:  

a. If the local government owner or operator does not 

assure other environmental obligations through a 

financial test, it may assure closure, post-closure, and 

corrective action costs that equal up to 43% of the local 

government's total annual revenue or the sum of total 

revenues of constituent governments in the case of 

regional authorities. If the local government assures 

closure, post-closure, and corrective action costs that 

exceed 20% (but do not exceed 43%) of the local 

government's total annual revenue or the sum of the 

revenue of constituent governments in the case of 

regional authorities, the locality must also establish one 

of the following:  

(1) A restricted sinking fund for the purpose of funding 

closure of the facility;  

(2) An escrow account managed by a third party escrow 

agent for the purpose of funding closure of the facility; or  

(3) A letter of credit for the purpose of funding closure of 

the facility.  

The funding of the restricted sinking fund, escrow 

account, or letter of credit shall be determined by the 

following formula:  

((CE*CD)-E) where CE is the current closure cost 

estimate, CD is the percent of the landfill capacity used 

to date, and E is the current year expenses for closure.  

b. If the local government assures other environmental 

obligations through a financial test, including those 

associated with UIC facilities under 40 CFR 144.62, 

petroleum underground storage tank facilities under 

9VAC25-590-10 et seq., PCB storage facilities under 40 

CFR Part 761, and hazardous waste treatment, storage, 

and disposal facilities under Part IX or X of the Virginia 

Hazardous Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-

60), it shall add those costs to the closure, post-closure, 

and corrective action costs it seeks to assure under 

subdivision 1 of this section. The total shall not exceed 

43% of the local government's total annual revenue. If 

the local government's total environmental liabilities 

assured through financial tests exceed 20% (but do not 

exceed 43%) of the local government's total annual 

revenue or the sum of the revenue of constituent 

governments in the case of regional authorities, the 

locality must also establish one of the following:  

(1) A restricted sinking fund for the purpose of funding 

closure of the facility;  

(2) An escrow account managed by a third party escrow 

agent for the purpose of funding closure of the facility; or  

(3) A letter of credit for the purpose of funding closure of 

the facility.  

The funding of the restricted sinking fund, escrow 

account, or letter of credit shall be determined by the 

following formula:  

((CE*CD)-E) where CE is the current closure cost 

estimate, CD is the percent of the landfill capacity used 

to date, and E is the current year expenses for closure.  

c. The owner or operator shall obtain an alternate 

financial assurance mechanism for those costs that 

exceed the limits set in subdivisions 4 a and 4 b of this 

section.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3445; Filed May 22, 2013, 3:38 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-90. Solid Waste Management 

Permit Action Fees and Annual Fees (amending 9VAC20-

90-120).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 17, 2013. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Debra A. Harris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4206, FAX (804) 698-4346, TTY 

(804) 698-4021, or email debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Virginia Waste Management Board to promulgate and 

enforce regulations necessary to carry out its powers and 

duties and the intent of the chapter and federal law. Section 

10.1-1402.16 of the Code of Virginia specifically authorizes 

the collection of permit fees and requires the establishment of 

a fee schedule by regulation, and § 10.1-1402.1 of the Code 

of Virginia provides requirements for such regulation. 

Purpose: The rationale for this regulatory action is to provide 

relief from a burdensome permit amendment fee for solid 

waste landfills that are undergoing corrective action. The 

work required while in corrective action is costly, and, with a 

lower fee, it is hoped that more moneys will be available for 

actual remediation of any contamination. The new fee will be 

sufficient and more in line with other permit action fees as the 

department continues to work on streamlining the 

groundwater corrective permitting program. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The current permit 

action fee for amending a permit to include corrective action 

at solid waste landfills is $22,860. This fee has been 

evaluated and deemed to be burdensome with the 

streamlining that is being proposed for the corrective action 

program. With this amendment, a new fee of $3,000 for this 

permit amendment action is being proposed as it is more in 

line with the other permit amendment action fees. Corrective 

action implementation is a costly process, and it is hoped that 
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with the reduction in the permit fee additional moneys may be 

made available for the actual corrective action activities at the 

landfill while still providing the department with sufficient 

funds for processing the permit amendment. For these 

reasons, the proposed amendment is expected to be 

noncontroversial, and use of the fast-track process is justified.  

Substance: The corrective action fee in Table 3.1-2 of 

9VAC20-90-120 has been changed to $3,000. 

Issues: The public will benefit as this regulatory action will 

lessen the cost burden for the corrective action permit 

amendment and may provide more moneys to be available for 

the corrective remedial action. There is no disadvantage to the 

agency or the Commonwealth that will result from the 

adoption of this amendment to 9VAC20-90. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Waste Management Board (Board) proposes to 

decrease its fee for corrective action permits at solid waste 

landfills from $22,860 to $3,000. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for this 

proposed action. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, the Board's fee for 

issuing a corrective action (module XIV) permit for solid 

waste management sites is $22,860. Board staff reports that 

their corrective action program is being streamlined and that 

the current fee is now excessive. Consequently, the Board 

now proposes to decrease this fee to $3,000. The Board 

estimates that the proposed fee will be sufficient to cover the 

Department of Environmental Quality's (DEQ) costs for 

issuing these permits. No other affected entity is likely to 

incur costs on account of this change. Entities that must 

obtain these permits will benefit greatly from having this fee 

reduced by approximately 87%. Residents of communities 

where affected solid waste management sites are located may 

also benefit as lowering this fee will leave site operators with 

more money to actually accomplish the required corrective 

actions. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DEQ reports that there are 

currently 217 solid waste management sites in the 

Commonwealth. DEQ further reports that 59 of these solid 

waste management sites have previously had to amend their 

permits for a corrective action remedy and submit the current 

corrective action fee of $22,860. This regulatory action will 

affect any solid waste management sites that have to amend 

their permits for corrective action in the future. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory change. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 

likely have little to no impact on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

regulatory action will likely have little to no effect on the use 

or value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Affected small 

businesses are very unlikely to incur any additional costs on 

account of this proposed regulation. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. Affected small businesses are very unlikely 

to incur any additional costs on account of this proposed 

regulation. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and has 

no comment. 

Summary:  

This regulatory action decreases the fee for a corrective 

action (Module XIV) permit at a solid waste landfill to 

$3,000. 
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9VAC20-90-120. Permit application fee schedules.  

TABLE 3.1–1. NEW OR INITIAL ISSUANCE OR 

ACTION.  

TYPE OF FACILITY FEE 

All landfills:   

  Part A application $4,180 

  Part B application $18,680 

Incineration/Energy Recovery Facility $5,880 

Transfer Station, Materials Recovery Facility, 

Regulated Medical Waste Storage Facility, or 

Regulated Medical Waste Treatment Facility $4,310 

Compost Facility   

  Facilities Processing Category I Waste  $6,850 

  Facilities Processing Waste Categories I, II, 

or III, or Categories III and Lower  $10,550 

  Facilities Processing Waste Categories I, II, 

III, or IV, or Categories IV and Lower  $12,670 

Experimental Solid Waste Facility $2,090 

Permit-by-rule Initial Review and 

Confirmation $390 

Emergency Permit $2,310 

  

TABLE 3.1-2. MAJOR PERMIT ACTIONS, 

AMENDMENTS, OR MODIFICATIONS. 

TYPE OF PERMIT MODULE FEE 

Landfill Part A $4,180 

General - Module I $390 

Facility - Module II $1,310 

Landfill - Module III, IV, or V $7,050 

  Design plan review $910 

  Liner design review $1,960 

  Leachate system review $1,310 

  Gas management plan review $1,700 

  Drainage plan review $910 

  Cover design review $1,830 

  Equipment $390 

Compost facility - Module VI $3,660 

  Design plan review $650 

  Liner design review $1,310 

  Leachate system review $910 

  Drainage plan review $650 

  Equipment $390 

Transfer station - Module VII $1,180 

Material recovery facility - Module VIII $1,570 

  Waste supply analysis $650 

  Waste management areas $520 

  Wastewater management areas $390 

Incinerator/Energy recovery facility - Module 

IX $3,000 

  Waste and residue storage $910 

  Operational requirements $1,570 

  Waste control procedures $520 

Groundwater monitoring - Module X or XI $3,260 

  Well placement $1,310 

  Materials and specifications $390 

  Sampling plan $1,570 

Closure - Module XII $390 

Post-closure - Module XIII $390 

Corrective action - Module XIV $22,860 

$3,000 

Leachate handling Module XV $1,310 

Regulated medical waste storage facility - 

Module XVI $390 

Regulated medical waste treatment facility - 

Module XVII $390 

Permit-by-rule Modification Review and 

Confirmation $390 

Public participation (does not include costs of 

newspaper advertisements or radio 

broadcasts) $1,040 

  

TABLE 3.1-3. VARIANCE REQUESTS. 

TYPE OF VARIANCE FEE 

Base fee for all variances $390 

Supplemental fees based on variance type   
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  Exemption from classification as a solid 

waste $520 

Variance to permitting requirements   

  Siting requirements $520 

  Facility design (other than alternate liner 

design) $520 

  Operational requirements -- 

  Groundwater monitoring (other than 

groundwater protection standards and 

location of monitoring system) $920 

  Closure requirements -- 

  Post-closure requirements -- 

Groundwater Protection Standards -- 

Alternate liner system design $1,570 

Location of groundwater monitoring system $920 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3525; Filed May 22, 2013, 3:43 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 

with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, which 

excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Virginia Waste Management 

Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-110. Regulations Governing 

the Transportation of Hazardous Materials (amending 

9VAC20-110-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1450 and 44-146.30 of the Code 

of Virginia; 49 USC § 1809-1810; 49 CFR Parts 107, 170-

180, 383, and 390-397. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Debra A. Harris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4209, FAX (804) 

698-4346, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment incorporates certain federal amendments 

to regulations governing the transportation of hazardous 

materials promulgated by the U.S. Secretary of 

Transportation as of October 1, 2012.  

Part III  

Compliance With Federal Regulations  

9VAC20-110-110. Compliance.  

Every person who transports or offers for transportation 

hazardous materials within or through the Commonwealth of 

Virginia shall comply with the federal regulations governing 

the transportation of hazardous materials promulgated by the 

United States Secretary of Transportation with amendments 

promulgated as of October 1, 2011 2012, pursuant to the 

Hazardous Materials Transportation Act, and located at Title 

49 of the Code of Federal Regulations as set forth below and 

which are incorporated in these regulations by reference:  

1. Exemptions Special Permits. 49 CFR Part 107, Subpart 

B.  

2. Registration of Persons Who Offer or Transport 

Hazardous Materials in 49 CFR Part 107, Subpart G.  

3. Hazardous Materials Regulations in 49 CFR Parts 171 

through 177.  

4. Specifications for Packagings in 49 CFR Part 178.  

5. Specifications for Tank Cars in 49 CFR Part 179.  

6. Continuing Qualifications Qualification and 

Maintenance of Packagings in 49 CFR Part 180.  

7. Motor Carrier Safety Regulations in 49 CFR Parts 390 

through 397.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3630; Filed May 20, 2013, 1:21 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 

where no agency discretion is involved. The Department of 

Medical Assistance Services will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions from any interested person at any time 

with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-40. Eligibility Conditions 

and Requirements (amending 12VAC30-40-10). 

12VAC30-141. Family Access to Medical Insurance 

Security Plan (amending 12VAC30-141-100, 12VAC30-

141-740).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2013.  
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Agency Contact: Cindy Olson, Eligibility Policy Manager, 

Policy and Research Division, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-4282, FAX (804) 

786-1680, or email cindy.olson@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Background: 

The amendments are the result of the passage of Chapters 

646 and 689 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly, which add a 

provision for the Commonwealth, through the 

authorization given to states through § 214 of the 

Children's Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act 

(CHIPRA) of 2009 (Public Law 111-3) to provide medical 

assistance coverage to children and pregnant women who 

are lawfully residing in the United States and who are 

otherwise eligible for coverage through the 

Commonwealth's Medicaid, Federal Access to Medical 

Insurance Security (FAMIS) Plan, and FAMIS MOMS 

programs.  

As a result of the enactment of the Personal Responsibility 

and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of 

1996, limitations were placed on receipt of medical 

assistance coverage for most lawfully admitted 

noncitizens. Currently, most lawfully admitted pregnant 

women who are otherwise eligible for Medicaid are subject 

to a five-year waiting period before eligibility for full 

Medicaid coverage can begin and are eligible only for 

Medicaid payment of an emergency medical condition. 

The five-year waiting period also applied to lawfully 

admitted noncitizen children and pregnant women under 

FAMIS.  

Section 214 of CHIPRA changed the requirement set out in 

PRWORA by permitting states, at their option, to cover 

certain noncitizen children and pregnant women who are 

lawfully residing in the United States and otherwise meet 

the criteria for coverage under Medicaid or FAMIS, but 

who are barred from participation in the program during 

their first five years of residence in the United States. This 

CHIPRA provision terminates the application of the five-

year waiting period to these otherwise qualified noncitizen 

pregnant women and children. Under CHIPRA this 

population now qualifies for medical assistance coverage 

and DMAS regulations must reflect this federal change.  

Summary: 

The amendments implement legislative changes enacted 

through Chapters 646 and 689 of the 2012 Acts of 

Assembly by providing medical assistance coverage for 

lawfully residing noncitizen pregnant women and children 

under the age of 19 in the Commonwealth's Medicaid, 

FAMIS, and FAMIS MOMS programs. 

Part I  

General Conditions of Eligibility  

12VAC30-40-10. General conditions of eligibility.  

Each individual covered under the plan:  

1. Is financially eligible (using the methods and standards 

described in Parts II and III of this chapter) to receive 

services.  

2. Meets the applicable nonfinancial eligibility conditions.  

a. For the categorically needy:  

(1) Except as specified under items (2) and (3) below, for 

AFDC-related individuals, meets the nonfinancial 

eligibility conditions of the AFDC program.  

(2) For SSI-related individuals, meets the nonfinancial 

criteria of the SSI program or more restrictive SSI-related 

categorically needy criteria.  

(3) For financially eligible pregnant women, infants or 

children covered under § 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(IV), 

1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VI), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VII), and 

1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(IX) of the Act, meets the nonfinancial 

criteria of § 1902(l) of the Act.  

(4) For financially eligible aged and disabled individuals 

covered under § 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(X) of the Act, meets 

the nonfinancial criteria of § 1902(m) of the Act.  

b. For the medically needy, meets the nonfinancial 

eligibility conditions of 42 CFR Part 435.  

c. For financially eligible qualified Medicare 

beneficiaries covered under § 1902(a)(10)(E)(i) of the 

Act, meets the nonfinancial criteria of § 1905(p) of the 

Act.  

d. For financially eligible qualified disabled and working 

individuals covered under § 1902(a)(10)(E)(ii) of the 

Act, meets the nonfinancial criteria of § 1905(s).  

3. Is residing in the United States and:  

a. Is a citizen or national of the United States; or  

b. Is a qualified alien as defined under Public Law 104-

193 who arrived in the United States prior to August 22, 

1996;  

c. Is a qualified alien as defined under Public Law 104-

193 who arrived in the United States on or after August 

22, 1996, and whose coverage is mandated by Public 

Law 104-193;  

d. Is an alien who is not a qualified alien, or who is a 

qualified alien who arrived in the United States on or 

after August 22, 1996, whose coverage is not mandated 

by Public Law 104-193 (coverage must be restricted to 

certain emergency services).; or 

e. Is an alien who is a pregnant woman or who is a 

child  under the age of 19 who is legally residing in the 

United States and whose coverage is authorized under the 

Children's Health Insurance Program Reauthorization 

Act of 2009 (CHIPRA). CHIPRA provides for coverage 

of the following individuals: 

(1) "Qualified aliens" otherwise subject to the five-year 

waiting period per § 403 of the Personal Responsibility 

and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996; 
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(2) Citizens of a Compact of Free Association State (i.e., 

Federated States of Micronesia, Republic of the Marshall 

Island, and the Republic of Palau) who have been 

admitted to the United States as nonimmigrants and are 

permitted by the Department of Homeland Security to 

reside permanently or indefinitely in the United States; 

(3) Individuals described in 8 CFR 103.12(a)(4) who do 

not have a permanent residence in the country of their 

nationality and are in statuses that permit them to remain 

in the United States for an indefinite period of time 

pending adjustment of status. These individuals include: 

(a) Individuals currently in temporary resident status as 

amnesty beneficiaries pursuant to § 210 or 245A of the 

Immigration and Nationality Act (INA); 

(b) Individuals currently under Temporary Protected 

Status pursuant to § 244 of the INA; 

(c) Family Unity beneficiaries pursuant to § 301 of P.L. 

101-649 as amended, as well as pursuant to § 1504 of 

P.L. 106-554; 

(d) Individuals currently under Deferred Enforced 

Departure pursuant to a decision made by the President; 

and 

(e) Individuals who are the spouse or child of a United 

States citizen whose visa petition has been approved and 

who has a pending application for adjustment of status; 

and 

(4) Individuals in nonimmigrant classifications under the 

INA who are permitted to remain in the United States for 

an indefinite period, including the following who are 

specified in § 101(a)(15) of the INA: 

(a) Parents or children of individuals with special 

immigrant status under § 101(a)(27) of the INA as 

permitted under § 101(a)(15)(N) of the INA; 

(b) Fiancees of a citizen as permitted under 

§ 101(a)(15)(K) of the INA; 

(c) Religious workers under § 101(a)(15)(R); 

(d) Individuals assisting the Department of Justice in a 

criminal investigation as permitted under § 101(a)(15)(U) 

of the INA; 

(e) Battered aliens; and 

(f) Individuals with a petition pending for three years or 

more as permitted under § 101(a)(15)(V) of the INA. 

(1) A qualified alien as defined in § 431 of the Personal 

Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act 

of 1996; 

(2) An alien in nonimmigrant status who has not violated 

the terms of the status under which he was admitted or to 

which he has changed after admission; 

(3) An alien who has been paroled into the United States 

pursuant to § 212(d)(5) of the Immigration and 

Nationality Act (INA) for less than one year, except for 

an alien paroled for prosecution, for deferred inspection, 

or pending removal proceedings; 

(4) An alien who belongs to one of the following classes: 

(a) Individuals currently in temporary resident status 

pursuant to § 210 or 245A of the INA; 

(b) Individuals currently under Temporary Protected 

Status (TPS) pursuant to § 244 of the INA and pending 

applicants to TPS who have been granted employment 

authorization; 

(c) Aliens who have been granted employment 

authorization under 8 USC § 274a.12(c)(9), (10), (16), 

(18), (20), (22), or (24); 

(d) Family unity beneficiaries pursuant to § 301 of Pub. 

L. No. 101-649 as amended; 

(e) Aliens currently under Deferred Enforced Departure 

(DED) pursuant to a decision made by the President of 

the United States; 

(f) Aliens currently in deferred action status; and 

(g) Aliens whose visa petition has been approved and 

who have a pending application for adjustment of status; 

(5) A pending applicant for asylum under § 208(a) of the 

INA or for withholding of removal under § 241(b)(3) of 

the INA or under the Convention against Torture who 

has been granted employment authorization, and such an 

applicant under the age of 14 who has had an application 

pending for at least 180 days; 

(6) An alien who has been granted withholding of 

removal under the Convention against Torture; 

(7) A child who has a pending application for Special 

Immigrant Juvenile status as described in § 101(a)(27)(J) 

of the INA; 

(8) An alien who is lawfully present in the 

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands under 

48 USC § 1806(e); or 

(9) An alien who is lawfully present in American Samoa 

under the immigration laws of American Samoa. 

4. Is a resident of the state, regardless of whether or not the 

individual maintains the residence permanently or 

maintains it a fixed address.  

The state has open agreement(s).  

5. Is not an inmate of a public institution. Public 

institutions do not include medical institutions, nursing 

facilities and intermediate care facilities for the mentally 

retarded, or publicly operated community residences that 

serve no more than 16 residents, or certain child care 

institutions.  

6. Is required, as a condition of eligibility, to assign rights 

to medical support and to payments for medical care from 

any third party, to cooperate in obtaining such support and 

payments, and to cooperate in identifying and providing 

information to assist in pursuing any liable third party. The 
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assignment of rights obtained from an applicant or 

recipient is effective only for services that are reimbursed 

by Medicaid. The requirements of 42 CFR 433.146 

through 433.148 are met.  

An applicant or recipient must also cooperate in 

establishing the paternity of any eligible child and in 

obtaining medical support and payments for himself or 

herself and any other person who is eligible for Medicaid 

and on whose behalf the individual can make an 

assignment; except that individuals described in 

§ 1902(1)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act (pregnant 

women and women in the post-partum period) are exempt 

from these requirements involving paternity and obtaining 

support. Any individual may be exempt from the 

cooperation requirements by demonstrating good cause for 

refusing to cooperate.  

An applicant or recipient must also cooperate in identifying 

any third party who may be liable to pay for care that is 

covered under the state plan and providing information to 

assist in pursuing these third parties. Any individual may 

be exempt from the cooperation requirements by 

demonstrating good cause for refusing to cooperate.  

7. a. Is required, as a condition of eligibility, to furnish his 

social security account number (or numbers, if he has more 

than one number) except for aliens seeking medical 

assistance for the treatment of an emergency medical 

condition under § 1903(v)(2) of the Social Security Act 

(§ 1137(f)). 

b. Applicant or recipient is required, under § 1903(x) to 

furnish satisfactory documentary evidence of both 

identity and of U.S. citizenship upon signing the 

declaration of citizenship required by § 1137(d). 

Qualified aliens signing the declaration of satisfactory 

immigration status required by § 1137(d) must also 

present and have verified documents establishing the 

claimed immigration status under § 137(d). Exception: 

Nonqualified aliens seeking medical assistance for the 

treatment of an emergency medical condition under 

§ 1903(v)(2) as described in § 1137(f). 

8. Is not required to apply for AFDC benefits under Title 

IV-A as a condition of applying for, or receiving Medicaid 

if the individual is a pregnant women, infant, or child that 

the state elects to cover under § 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(IV) and 

1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(IX) of the Act.  

9. Is not required, as an individual child or pregnant 

woman, to meet requirements under § 402(a)(43) of the 

Act to be in certain living arrangements. (Prior to 

terminating AFDC individuals who do not meet such 

requirements under a state's AFDC plan, the agency 

determines if they are otherwise eligible under the state's 

Medicaid plan.)  

10. Is required to apply for coverage under Medicare A, B 

and/or D if it is likely that the individual would meet the 

eligibility criteria for any or all of those programs. The 

state agrees to pay any applicable premiums and cost-

sharing (except those applicable under Part D) for 

individuals required to apply for Medicare. Application for 

Medicare is a condition of eligibility unless the state does 

not pay the Medicare premiums, deductibles or co-

insurance (except those applicable under Part D) for 

persons covered by the Medicaid eligibility group under 

which the individual is applying. 

11. Is required, as a condition of eligibility for Medicaid 

payment of long-term care services, to disclose at the time 

of application for or renewal of Medicaid eligibility, a 

description of any interest the individual or his spouse has 

in an annuity (or similar financial instrument as may be 

specified by the Secretary of Health and Human Services). 

By virtue of the provision of medical assistance, the state 

shall become a remainder beneficiary for all annuities 

purchased on or after February 8, 2006. 

12. Is ineligible for Medicaid payment of nursing facility 

or other long-term care services if the individual's equity 

interest in his home exceeds $500,000. This dollar amount 

shall be increased beginning with 2011 from year to year 

based on the percentage increase in the Consumer Price 

Index for all Urban Consumers rounded to the nearest 

$1,000. 

This provision shall not apply if the individual's spouse, or 

the individual's child who is under age 21 or who is 

disabled, as defined in § 1614 of the Social Security Act, is 

lawfully residing in the individual's home. 

Part III  

Eligibility Determination and Application Requirements  

12VAC30-141-100. Eligibility requirements.  

A. This section shall be used to determine eligibility of 

children for FAMIS.  

B. FAMIS shall be in effect statewide.  

C. Eligible children must:  

1. Be determined ineligible for Medicaid by a local 

department of social services or be screened by the FAMIS 

central processing unit and determined not Medicaid 

likely;  

2. Be under 19 years of age;  

3. Be residents of the Commonwealth;  

4. Be either U.S. citizens, U.S. nationals or qualified 

noncitizens;  

5. Be uninsured, that is, not have comprehensive health 

insurance coverage;  

6. Not be a member of a family eligible for subsidized 

dependent coverage, as defined in 42 CFR 

457.310(c)(1)(ii) under any Virginia state employee health 

insurance plan on the basis of the family member's 

employment with a state agency; and 
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7. Not be an inpatient in an institution for mental diseases 

(IMD), or an inmate in a public institution that is not a 

medical facility.  

D. Income.  

1. Screening. All child health insurance applications 

received at the FAMIS central processing unit must be 

screened to identify applicants who are potentially eligible 

for Medicaid. Children screened and found potentially 

eligible for Medicaid cannot be enrolled in FAMIS until 

there has been a finding of ineligibility for Medicaid. 

Children who do not appear to be eligible for Medicaid 

shall have their eligibility for FAMIS determined. Children 

determined to be eligible for FAMIS will be enrolled in the 

FAMIS program. Child health insurance applications 

received at a local department of social services shall have 

a full Medicaid eligibility determination completed. 

Children determined to be ineligible for Medicaid due to 

excess income will have their eligibility for FAMIS 

determined. If a child is found to be eligible for FAMIS, 

the local department of social services will enroll the child 

in the FAMIS program.  

2. Standards. Income standards for FAMIS are based on a 

comparison of countable income to 200% of the federal 

poverty level for the family size, as defined in the State 

Plan for Title XXI as approved by the Centers for 

Medicare & Medicaid. Children who have income at or 

below 200% of the federal poverty level, but are ineligible 

for Medicaid due to excess income, will be income eligible 

to participate in FAMIS.  

3. Grandfathered CMSIP children. Children who were 

enrolled in the Children's Medical Security Insurance Plan 

at the time of conversion from CMSIP to FAMIS and 

whose eligibility determination was based on the 

requirements of CMSIP shall continue to have their income 

eligibility determined using the CMSIP income 

methodology. If their income exceeds the FAMIS standard, 

income eligibility will be based on countable income using 

the same income methodologies applied under the Virginia 

State Plan for Medical Assistance for children as set forth 

in 12VAC30-40-90. Income that would be excluded when 

determining Medicaid eligibility will be excluded when 

determining countable income for the former CMSIP 

children. Use of the Medicaid income methodologies shall 

only be applied in determining the financial eligibility of 

former CMSIP children for FAMIS and for only as long as 

the children meet the income eligibility requirements for 

CMSIP. When a former CMSIP child is determined to be 

ineligible for FAMIS, these former CMSIP income 

methodologies shall no longer apply and income eligibility 

will be based on the FAMIS income standards.  

4. Spenddown. Deduction of incurred medical expenses 

from countable income (spenddown) shall not apply in 

FAMIS. If the family income exceeds the income limits 

described in this section, the individual shall be ineligible 

for FAMIS regardless of the amount of any incurred 

medical expenses.  

E. Residency. The requirements for residency, as set forth in 

42 CFR 435.403, will be used when determining whether a 

child is a resident of Virginia for purposes of eligibility for 

FAMIS. A child who is not emancipated and is temporarily 

living away from home is considered living with his parents, 

adult relative caretaker, legal guardian, or person having legal 

custody if the absence is temporary and the child intends to 

return to the home when the purpose of the absence (such as 

education, medical care, rehabilitation, vacation, visit) is 

completed.  

F. U.S. citizen or nationality. Upon signing the declaration 

of citizenship or nationality required by § 1137(d) of the 

Social Security Act, the applicant or recipient is required 

under § 2105(c)(9) to furnish satisfactory documentary 

evidence of U.S. citizenship or nationality and documentation 

of personal identity unless citizenship or nationality has been 

verified by the Commissioner of Social Security or unless 

otherwise exempt.  

G. Qualified noncitizen. The requirements for qualified 

aliens set out in Public Law 104-193, as amended, and the 

requirements for noncitizens set out in subdivisions 3 b and, 

c, and e of 12VAC30-40-10 will be used when determining 

whether a child is a qualified noncitizen for purposes of 

FAMIS eligibility.  

H. Coverage under other health plans.  

1. Any child covered under a group health plan or under 

health insurance coverage, as defined in § 2791 of the 

Public Health Services Act (42 USC § 300gg-91(a) and 

(b)(1)), shall not be eligible for FAMIS.  

2. No substitution for private insurance.  

a. Only uninsured children shall be eligible for FAMIS. 

A child is not considered to be insured if the health 

insurance plan covering the child does not have a 

network of providers in the area where the child resides. 

Each application for child health insurance shall include 

an inquiry about health insurance the child currently has 

or had within the past four months. If the child had health 

insurance coverage that was terminated in the past four 

months, inquiry as to why the health insurance was 

terminated is made. Each redetermination of eligibility 

shall also document inquiry about current health 

insurance or health insurance the child had within the 

past four months. If the child has been covered under a 

health insurance plan within four months of application 

for or receipt of FAMIS services, the child will be 

ineligible, unless the child is pregnant at the time of 

application, or, if age 18 or if under the age of 18, the 

child's parent, caretaker relative, guardian, legal 

custodian or authorized representative demonstrates good 

cause for discontinuing the coverage.  
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b. Health insurance does not include Medicare, Medicaid, 

FAMIS or insurance for which DMAS paid premiums 

under Title XIX through the Health Insurance Premium 

Payment (HIPP) Program or under Title XXI through the 

SCHIP premium assistance program.  

c. Good cause. A child shall not be ineligible for FAMIS 

if health insurance was discontinued within the four-

month period prior to the month of application if one of 

the following good cause exceptions is met.  

(1) The family member who carried insurance, changed 

jobs, or stopped employment, and no other family 

member's employer contributes to the cost of family 

health insurance coverage.  

(2) The employer stopped contributing to the cost of 

family coverage and no other family member's employer 

contributes to the cost of family health insurance 

coverage.  

(3) The child's coverage was discontinued by an 

insurance company for reasons of uninsurability, e.g., the 

child has used up lifetime benefits or the child's coverage 

was discontinued for reasons unrelated to payment of 

premiums.  

(4) Insurance was discontinued by a family member who 

was paying the full cost of the insurance premium under 

a COBRA policy and no other family member's 

employer contributes to the cost of family health 

insurance coverage.  

(5) Insurance on the child was discontinued by someone 

other than the child (if 18 years of age) or if under age 

18, the child's parent or stepparent living in the home, 

e.g., the insurance was discontinued by the child's absent 

parent, grandparent, aunt, uncle, godmother, etc.  

(6) Insurance on the child was discontinued because the 

cost of the premium exceeded 10% of the family's 

monthly income or exceeded 10% of the family's 

monthly income at the time the insurance was 

discontinued.  

(7) Other good cause reasons may be established by the 

DMAS director.  

I. Eligibility of newborns. If a child otherwise eligible for 

FAMIS is born within the three months prior to the month in 

which a signed application is received, the eligibility for 

coverage is effective retroactive to the child's date of birth if 

the child would have met all eligibility criteria during that 

time. A child born to a mother who is enrolled in FAMIS, 

under either the XXI Plan or a related waiver (such as FAMIS 

MOMS), on the date of the child's birth shall be deemed 

eligible for FAMIS for one year from birth unless the child is 

otherwise eligible for Medicaid. 

12VAC30-141-740. Eligibility requirements.  

A. This section shall be used to determine eligibility of 

pregnant women for FAMIS MOMS. 

B. FAMIS MOMS shall be in effect statewide. 

C. Eligible pregnant women must: 

1. Be determined ineligible for Medicaid due to excess 

income by a local department of social services or by 

DMAS eligibility staff co-located at the FAMIS CPU; 

2. Be a pregnant woman at the time of application; 

3. Be a resident of the Commonwealth; 

4. Be either a U.S. citizen, U.S. national or a qualified 

noncitizen; 

5. Be uninsured, that is, not have comprehensive health 

insurance coverage;  

6. Not be a member of a family eligible for subsidized 

dependent coverage, as defined in 42 CFR 

457.310(c)(1)(ii) under any Virginia state employee health 

insurance plan on the basis of the family member's 

employment with a state agency; and 

7. Not be an inpatient in an institution for mental diseases 

(IMD), or an inmate in a public institution that is not a 

medical facility. 

D. Income. 

1. Screening. All applications for FAMIS MOMS coverage 

received at the FAMIS central processing unit must be 

screened to identify applicants who are potentially eligible 

for Medicaid. Pregnant women screened and found 

potentially eligible for Medicaid cannot be enrolled in 

FAMIS MOMS until there has been a finding of 

ineligibility for Medicaid. Pregnant women who do not 

appear to be eligible for Medicaid due to excess income 

shall have their eligibility for FAMIS MOMS determined 

and, if eligible, will be enrolled in the FAMIS MOMS 

program. Applications for FAMIS MOMS received at a 

local department of social services shall have a full 

Medicaid eligibility determination completed. Pregnant 

women determined to be ineligible for Medicaid due to 

excess income will have their eligibility for FAMIS 

MOMS determined and, if eligible, the local department of 

social services will enroll the pregnant woman in the 

FAMIS MOMS program. 

2. Standards. Income standards for FAMIS MOMS are 

based on a comparison of countable income to 200% of the 

federal poverty level for the family size. Countable income 

and family size are based on the methodology utilized by 

the Medicaid program as defined in 12VAC30-40-100 e. 

Pregnant women who have income at or below 200% of 

the federal poverty level, but are ineligible for Medicaid 

due to excess income, will be income eligible to participate 

in FAMIS MOMS. 

3. Spenddown. Deduction of incurred medical expenses 

from countable income (spenddown) shall not apply in 

FAMIS MOMS. If the family income exceeds the income 

limits described in this section, the individual shall be 
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ineligible for FAMIS MOMS regardless of the amount of 

any incurred medical expenses. 

E. Residency. The requirements for residency, as set forth in 

42 CFR 435.403, will be used when determining whether a 

pregnant woman is a resident of Virginia for purposes of 

eligibility for FAMIS MOMS. A child who is not 

emancipated and is temporarily living away from home is 

considered living with her parents, adult relative caretaker, 

legal guardian, or person having legal custody if the absence 

is temporary and the child intends to return to the home when 

the purpose of the absence (such as education, medical care, 

rehabilitation, vacation, visit) is completed. 

F. U.S. citizenship or nationality. Upon signing the 

declaration of citizenship or nationality required by § 1137(d) 

of the Social Security Act, the applicant or recipient is 

required under § 2105(c)(9) to furnish satisfactory 

documentary evidence of U.S. citizenship or nationality and 

documentation of personal identify unless citizenship or 

nationality has been verified by the Commissioner of Social 

Security or unless otherwise exempt. 

G. Qualified noncitizen. The requirements for qualified 

aliens set out in Public Law 104-193, as amended, and the 

requirements for noncitizens set out in subdivisions 3 b and, 

c, and e of 12VAC30-40-10 will be used when determining 

whether a pregnant woman is a qualified noncitizen for 

purposes of FAMIS MOMS eligibility. 

H. Coverage under other health plans. 

1. Any pregnant woman covered under a group health plan 

or under health insurance coverage, as defined in § 2791 of 

the Public Health Services Act (42 USC § 300gg-91(a) and 

(b)(1)), shall not be eligible for FAMIS MOMS. 

2. No substitution for private insurance. 

a. Only uninsured pregnant women shall be eligible for 

FAMIS MOMS. A pregnant woman is not considered to 

be insured if the health insurance plan covering the 

pregnant woman does not have a network of providers in 

the area where the pregnant woman resides. Each 

application for FAMIS MOMS coverage shall include an 

inquiry about health insurance the pregnant woman has at 

the time of application. 

b. Health insurance does not include Medicare, Medicaid, 

FAMIS or insurance for which DMAS paid premiums 

under Title XIX through the Health Insurance Premium 

Payment (HIPP) Program or under Title XXI through the 

SCHIP premium assistance program. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3234; Filed May 21, 2013, 2:53 p.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-60. Standards Established 

and Methods Used to Assure High Quality Care 

(amending 12VAC30-60-147, 12VAC30-60-200). 

12VAC30-120. Waivered Services (amending 12VAC30-

120-360, 12VAC30-120-370; repealing 12VAC30-120-260 

through 12VAC30-120-350). 

12VAC30-141. Family Access to Medical Insurance 

Security Plan (amending 12VAC30-141-10, 12VAC30-

141-20, 12VAC30-141-70, 12VAC30-141-200, 12VAC30-

141-500, 12VAC30-141-570, 12VAC30-141-660, 

12VAC30-141-670, 12VAC30-141-680, 12VAC30-141-730, 

12VAC30-141-830, 12VAC30-141-850, 12VAC30-141-

880).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Dates: May 23, 2013, through May 22, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The repeal of the MEDALLION primary care case 

management program (PCCM) is the result of the 

expansion of managed care programs (MCOs) throughout 

the Commonwealth. The MEDALLION program was 

developed in 1991 as the first managed care service 

delivery mechanism in Virginia. This program paid 

primary care providers a small monthly fee to be the 

'medical home' for their Medicaid patients, providing 

referrals to specialists, and care coordination. 

MEDALLION has continued to operate until now as either 

the sole managed care option in some localities or as an 

alternative managed care option in localities having only 

one MCO. With the expansion of MCOs statewide, effective 

July 2012, the PCCM program is no longer needed. This 

change affects both Medicaid (Title XIX) and FAMIS (Title 

XXI). This change also affects numerous other regulations 

that merely reference the PCCM program. 

Repealing the MEDALLION program is not expected to be 

controversial because managed care organizations will be 

operational statewide by the time this action is effective 

and all Medicaid beneficiaries who are eligible for 

managed care enrollment will be served via that system. 

The managed care organization expansion statewide, 

effective July 1, 2012, renders the MEDALLION program 

obsolete. Medicaid beneficiaries who are excluded from 

managed care will receive their required medical care via 

the ongoing fee-for-service delivery system. 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 

federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 

be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4. Item 307 RR a of Chapter 3 of the 2013 Acts of 
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Assembly, Special Session I, directed the agency to expand 

its managed care service delivery system to the final 

remaining areas of the state not already covered by 

managed care - the Roanoke/Alleghany area and far 

Southwest Virginia.  

12VAC30-60-147. Substance abuse treatment services 

utilization review criteria.  

A. Substance abuse residential treatment services for 

pregnant and postpartum women. This subsection provides 

for required services which must be provided to participants, 

linkages to other programs tailored to specific recipient needs, 

and program staff qualifications. The following services must 

be rendered to program participants and documented in their 

case files in order for this residential service to be reimbursed 

by Medicaid.  

1. Services must be authorized following face-to-face 

evaluation/diagnostic assessment conducted by one of the 

appropriately licensed or certified professionals as 

specified in 12VAC30-50-510.  

a. To assess whether the woman will benefit from the 

treatment provided by this service, the professional shall 

utilize the Adult Patient Placement Criteria for Level 

III.3 (Clinically-Managed Medium-Intensity Residential 

Treatment) or Level III.5 (Clinically-Managed 

Medium/High Intensity Residential Treatment) as 

described in Patient Placement Criteria for the Treatment 

of Substance-Related Disorders, Second Edition, Revised 

2001, published by the American Society of Addiction 

Medicine. Services must be reauthorized every 90 days 

by one of the appropriately authorized professionals, 

based on documented assessment using Adult Continued 

Service Criteria for Level III.3 (Clinically-Managed 

Medium-Intensity Residential Treatment) or Level III.5 

(Clinically-Managed Medium-High Intensity Residential 

Treatment) as described in Patient Placement Criteria for 

the Treatment of Substance-Related Disorders, Second 

Edition, Revised 2001, published by the American 

Society of Addiction Medicine. In addition, services 

must be reauthorized by one of the authorized 

professionals if the patient is absent for more than 72 

hours from the program without staff permission. All of 

the professionals must demonstrate competencies in the 

use of these criteria. The authorizing professional must 

not be the same individual providing nonmedical clinical 

supervision in the program.  

b. Utilization reviews shall verify, but not be limited to, 

the presence of these 90-day reauthorizations as well as 

the appropriate re-authorizations after absences.  

c. Documented assessment regarding the woman's need 

for the intense level of services must have occurred 

within 30 days prior to admission.  

d. The Individual Service Plan (ISP) shall be developed 

within one week of admission and the obstetric 

assessment completed and documented within a  

two-week period following admission. Development of 

the ISP shall involve the woman, appropriate significant 

others, and representatives of appropriate service 

agencies.  

e. The ISP shall be reviewed and updated every two 

weeks.  

f. Psychological and psychiatric assessments, when 

appropriate, shall be completed within 30 days of 

admission.  

g. Face-to-face therapeutic contact with the woman 

which is directly related to her Individual Service Plan 

shall be documented at least twice per week.  

h. While the woman is participating in this substance 

abuse residential program, reimbursement shall not be 

made for any other community mental health/mental 

retardation/substance abuse rehabilitative services 

concurrently rendered to her.  

i. Documented discharge planning shall begin at least 60 

days prior to the estimated date of delivery. If the service 

is initiated later than 60 days prior to the estimated date 

of delivery, discharge planning must begin within two 

weeks of admission. Discharge planning shall involve the 

woman, appropriate significant others, and 

representatives of appropriate service agencies. The 

priority services of discharge planning shall seek to 

assure a stable, sober, and drug-free environment and 

treatment supports for the woman.  

2. Linkages to other services. Access to the following 

services shall be provided and documented in either the 

woman's record or the program documentation:  

a. The program must have a contractual relationship with 

an obstetrician/gynecologist who must be licensed by the 

Board of Medicine of the Virginia Department of Health 

Professions.  

b. The program must also have a documented agreement 

with a high-risk pregnancy unit of a tertiary care hospital 

to provide 24-hour access to services for the woman and 

ongoing training and consultation to the staff of the 

program.  

c. In addition, the provider must provide access to the 

following services either through staff at the residential 

program or through contract:  

(1) Psychiatric assessments as needed, which must be 

performed by a physician licensed to practice by the 

Virginia Board of Medicine.  

(2) Psychological assessments as needed, which must be 

performed by a clinical psychologist licensed to practice 

by the Board of Psychology of the Virginia Department 

of Health Professions.  

(3) Medication management as needed or at least 

quarterly for women in the program, which must be 

performed by a physician licensed to practice by the 
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Board of Medicine in consultation with the high-risk 

pregnancy unit, if appropriate.  

(4) Psychological treatment, as appropriate, for women 

present in the program, with clinical supervision 

provided by a clinical psychologist licensed to practice 

by the Board of Psychology.  

(5) Primary health care, including routine gynecological 

and obstetrical care, if not already available to the 

women in the program through other means (e.g., 

Medallion or other Medicaid-sponsored primary health 

care program) programs).  

3. Program and staff qualifications. In order to be eligible 

for Medicaid reimbursement, the following minimum 

program and staff qualifications must be met:  

a. The provider of treatment services shall be licensed by 

DMHMRSAS DBHDS to provide residential substance 

abuse services.  

b. Nonmedical clinical supervision must be provided to 

staff at least weekly by one of the following 

professionals:  

(1) A counselor who has completed master's level 

training in either psychology, social work, counseling or 

rehabilitation who is also either certified as a substance 

abuse counselor by the Board of Licensed Professional 

Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists, and 

Substance Abuse Treatment Professionals of the Virginia 

Department of Health Professions or as a certified 

addictions counselor by the Substance Abuse 

Certification Alliance of Virginia, or who holds any 

certification from the National Association of 

Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors.  

(2) A professional licensed by the appropriate board of 

the Virginia Department of Health Professions as either a 

professional counselor, clinical social worker, registered 

nurse, clinical psychologist, or physician who 

demonstrates competencies in all of the following areas 

of addiction counseling: clinical evaluation; treatment 

planning; referral; service coordination; counseling; 

client, family, and community education; documentation; 

professional and ethical responsibilities; or as a licensed 

substance abuse professional.  

(3) A professional certified as either a clinical supervisor 

by the Substance Abuse Certification Alliance of 

Virginia or as a master addiction counselor by the 

National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse 

Counselors.  

c. Residential facility capacity shall be limited to 16 

adults. Dependent children who accompany the woman 

into the residential treatment facility and neonates born 

while the woman is in treatment shall not be included in 

the 16-bed capacity count. These children shall not 

receive any treatment for substance abuse or psychiatric 

disorders from the facility.  

d. The minimum ratio of clinical staff to women should 

ensure that sufficient numbers of staff are available to 

adequately address the needs of the women in the 

program.  

B. Substance abuse day treatment services for pregnant and 

postpartum women. This subsection provides for required 

services which must be provided to women, linkages to other 

programs tailored to specific needs, and program and staff 

qualifications.  

1. The following services must be rendered and 

documented in case files in order for this day treatment 

service to be reimbursed by Medicaid:  

a. Services must be authorized following a face-to-face 

evaluation/diagnostic assessment conducted by one of the 

appropriately licensed professionals as specified in 

12VAC30-50-510.  

b. To assess whether the woman will benefit from the 

treatment provided by this service, the licensed health 

professional shall utilize the Adult Patient Placement 

Criteria for Level II.1 (Intensive Outpatient Treatment) 

or Level II.5 (Partial Hospitalization) as described in 

Patient Placement Criteria for the Treatment of 

Substance-Related Disorders, Second Edition, Revised 

2001, published by the American Society of Addiction 

Medicine. Services shall be reauthorized every 90 days 

by one of these appropriately authorized professionals, 

based on documented assessment using Level II.1 (Adult 

Continued Service Criteria for Intensive Outpatient 

Treatment) or Level II.5 (Adult Continued Service 

Criteria for Partial Hospitalization Treatment) as 

described in Patient Placement Criteria for the Treatment 

of Substance-Related Disorders, Second Edition, Revised 

2001, published by the American Society of Addiction 

Medicine. In addition, services shall be reauthorized by 

one of the appropriately authorized professionals if the 

patient is absent for five consecutively scheduled days of 

services without staff permission. All of the authorized 

professionals shall demonstrate competency in the use of 

these criteria. This individual shall not be the same 

individual providing nonmedical clinical supervision in 

the program.  

c. Utilization reviews shall verify, but not be limited to, 

the presence of these 90-day reauthorizations, as well as 

the appropriate reauthorizations after absences.  

d. Documented assessment regarding the woman's need 

for the intense level of services; the assessment must 

have occurred within 30 days prior to admission.  

e. The Individual Service Plan (ISP) shall be developed 

within 14 days of admission and an obstetric assessment 

completed and documented within a 30-day period 

following admission. Development of the ISP shall 

involve the woman, appropriate significant others, and 

representatives of appropriate service agencies.  
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f. The ISP shall be reviewed and updated every four 

weeks.  

g. Psychological and psychiatric assessments, when 

appropriate, shall be completed within 30 days of 

admission.  

h. Face-to-face therapeutic contact with the woman 

which is directly related to her ISP shall be documented 

at least once per week.  

i. Documented discharge planning shall begin at least 60 

days prior to the estimated date of delivery. If the service 

is initiated later than 60 days prior to the estimated date 

of delivery, discharge planning shall seek to begin within 

two weeks of admission. Discharge planning shall 

involve the woman, appropriate significant others, and 

representatives of appropriate service agencies. The 

priority services of discharge planning shall seek to 

assure a stable, sober, and drug-free environment and 

treatment supports for the woman.  

j. While participating in this substance abuse day 

treatment program, the only other mental health, mental 

retardation or substance abuse rehabilitation services 

which can be concurrently reimbursed shall be mental 

health emergency services or mental health crisis 

stabilization services.  

2. Linkages to other services or programs. Access to the 

following services shall be provided and documented in the 

woman's record or program documentation.  

a. The program must have a contractual relationship with 

an obstetrician/gynecologist. The 

obstetrician/gynecologist must be licensed by the 

Virginia Board of Medicine as a medical doctor.  

b. The program must have a documented agreement with 

a high-risk pregnancy unit of a tertiary care hospital to 

provide 24-hour access to services for the women and 

ongoing training and consultation to the staff of the 

program.  

c. In addition, the program must provide access to the 

following services (either by staff in the day treatment 

program or through contract):  

(1) Psychiatric assessments, which must be performed by 

a physician licensed to practice by the Board of Medicine 

of the Virginia Department of Health Professions.  

(2) Psychological assessments, as needed, which must be 

performed by clinical psychologist licensed to practice 

by the Virginia Board of Psychology.  

(3) Medication management as needed or at least 

quarterly for women in the program, which must be 

performed by a physician licensed to practice by the 

Virginia Board of Medicine in consultation with the 

high-risk pregnancy unit, if appropriate.  

(4) Psychological treatment, as appropriate, for women 

present in the program, with clinical supervision 

provided by a clinical psychologist licensed to practice 

by the Board of Psychology of the Virginia Department 

of Health Professions.  

(5) Primary health care, including routine gynecological 

and obstetrical care, if not already available to the 

women in the program through other means (e.g., 

Medallion or other Medicaid-sponsored primary health 

care program).  

3. Program and staff qualifications. In order to be eligible 

for Medicaid reimbursement, the following minimum 

program and staff qualifications must be met:  

a. The provider of treatment services shall be licensed by 

DMHMRSAS DBHDS to provide either substance abuse 

outpatient services or substance abuse day treatment 

services.  

b. Nonmedical clinical supervision must be provided to 

staff at least weekly by one of the following 

appropriately licensed professionals:  

(1) A counselor who has completed master's level 

training in either psychology, social work, counseling or 

rehabilitation who is also either certified as a substance 

abuse counselor by the Virginia Board of Licensed 

Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists 

and Substance Abuse Treatment Professionals or as a 

certified addictions counselor by the Substance Abuse 

Certification Alliance of Virginia, or who holds any 

certification from the National Association of 

Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors.  

(2) A professional licensed by the appropriate board of 

the Virginia Department of Health Professions as either a 

professional counselor, clinical social worker, clinical 

psychologist, or physician who demonstrates 

competencies in all of the following areas of addiction 

counseling: clinical evaluation; treatment planning; 

referral; service coordination; counseling; client, family, 

and community education; documentation; professional 

and ethical responsibilities; or as a licensed substance 

abuse professional.  

(3) A professional certified as either a clinical supervisor 

by the Substance Abuse Certification Alliance of 

Virginia or as a master addiction counselor by the 

National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse 

Counselors.  

c. The minimum ratio of clinical staff to women should 

ensure that adequate staff are available to address the 

needs of the women in the program.  

12VAC30-60-200. Ticket to Work and Work Incentives 

Improvement Act (TWWIIA) basic coverage group: 

alternative benefits for Medicaid Buy-In program. 

A. The state elects to provide alternative benefits under 

§ 1937 of the Social Security Act. The alternative benefit 

package will be available statewide.  
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B. The population who will be offered opt-in alternative 

coverage and who will be informed of the available benefit 

options prior to having the option to voluntarily enroll in an 

alternative benefit package consists of working individuals 

with disabilities enrolled pursuant to the Social Security Act, 

§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XV) (Ticket to Work and Work 

Incentives Improvement Act) covered group or who meet the 

income, resource and eligibility requirements for the 

§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XV) covered group. 

C. Medicaid Buy-In: program outreach. 

1. Future Medicaid Works solicitations will be geared 

towards individuals who are currently covered in the SSI 

and blind and disabled 80% federal poverty level groups; 

the letter will be an invitation to consider going to work, or 

to increase how much they work, and inform them that 

they will still be able to keep their Medicaid health care 

coverage.  

2. They will be advised that this is voluntary and will 

enable them to earn higher income and retain more assets 

from their earnings. It will also explain that this option 

includes an alternative benefits package comprised of their 

regular Medicaid benefits plus personal assistance services 

for those who need personal assistance and related services 

in order to live and work in the community. It will be 

clearly stated that this program is optional. Their local 

eligibility worker will be able to review the advantages and 

disadvantages of this option in order to assist individuals in 

making an informed choice.  

3. Current Medicaid Works enrollees will each receive 

personal communication by mail advising them of the new 

alternative benefits package and the steps needed in order 

to access personal assistance services. Should an enrolled 

individual be dissatisfied with this option or be unable to 

continue to be employed, their eligibility worker will 

reevaluate eligibility for other covered groups pursuant to 

changing the individual back to regular Medicaid coverage 

and, if necessary, to accessing personal assistance and 

related services through the existing home- and 

community-based services waivers.  

4. Brochures describing this work incentive opportunity 

and alternative benefits option shall be prominently 

displayed and readily available at local departments of 

social services. 

D. Description of Medicaid Buy-In alternative benefit 

package. 

1. The state will offer an alternative benefit package that 

the secretary determines provides appropriate coverage for 

the population served. 

2. This alternative benefits package includes all federally 

mandated and optional Medicaid State Plan services, as 

described and limited in 12VAC30-50, plus personal 

assistance services (PAS) for enrollees who otherwise meet 

the standards to receive PAS, defined as follows: 

a. "Personal assistance services" or "PAS" means support 

services provided in home and community settings 

necessary to maintain or improve an individual's current 

health status. Personal care services are defined as help 

with activities of daily living, monitoring of self-

administered medications, and the monitoring of health 

status and physical condition.  

b. These services may be provided in home and 

community settings to enable an individual to maintain 

the health status and functional skills necessary to live in 

the community or participate in community activities. An 

additional component of PAS is work-related and 

postsecondary education personal services. This service 

will extend the ability of the personal assistance attendant 

to provide assistance in the workplace.  

c. These services include filing, retrieving work materials 

that are out of reach; providing travel assistance for an 

individual with a mobility impairment; helping an 

individual with organizational skills; reading handwritten 

mail to an individual with a visual impairment; or 

ensuring that a sign language interpreter is present during 

staff meetings to accommodate an employee with a 

hearing impairment. 

d. This service is only available to individuals who also 

require personal assistance services to meet their ADLs. 

Workplace or school supports are not provided if they are 

services provided by the Department of Rehabilitative 

Services, under IDEA, or if they are an employer's 

responsibility under the Americans with Disabilities Act 

or § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act.  

e. Following an individual's assessment of the need for 

PAS and development of a plan of care, the individual 

will decide whether to have PAS through a personal care 

agency or whether to self direct his care. For individuals 

who choose consumer-directed care, DMAS will provide 

for the services of a fiscal agent to perform certain tasks 

as an agent for the recipient/employer who is receiving 

consumer-directed services. The fiscal agent will handle 

certain responsibilities for the individual, including but 

not limited to, employment taxes.  

f. All governmental and private PAS providers are 

reimbursed according to the same published fee schedule, 

located on the agency's website at the following address: 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/pr-fee_files.htm. The 

agency's rates, based upon one-hour increments, were set 

as of July 1, 2006, and are effective for services on or 

after said dates. The agency's rates are updated 

periodically.  

E. Wrap-around/additional services. 

1. The state assures that wrap-around or additional benefits 

will be provided for individuals under 21 who are covered 

under the state plan pursuant to § 1902(a)(10)(A) of the 

Social Security Act to ensure early and periodic screening, 
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diagnostic and treatment (EPSDT) services are provided 

when medically necessary. 

2. Wraparound benefits must be sufficient so that, in 

combination with the Medicaid Buy-In package, these 

individuals receive the full EPSDT benefit, as medically 

necessary. The wraparound services provided are described 

in 12VAC30-50-130. 

F. Delivery system. 

1. The alternative benefit package will be furnished 

through a combination of the following methods: 

a. On a fee-for-service basis consistent with the 

requirements of § 1902(a) and implementing regulations 

relating to payment and beneficiary free choice of 

provider; 

b. On a fee-for-service basis consistent with the 

requirements cited in subdivision 1 a of this subsection, 

except that it will be operated with a primary care case 

management system consistent with § 1915(b)(1); 

c. b. Through a managed care entity consistent with 

applicable managed care requirements; or  

d. c. Through premium assistance for benchmark-

equivalent in employer-sponsored coverage. 

2. Personal assistance services will always be fee-for-

service, whereas all other Medicaid-covered services shall 

be through one of three two models: fee-for-service, 

primary care case management or through managed care 

organizations. 

G. Additional assurances. 

1. The state assures that individuals will have access, 

through the Medicaid Buy-In alternative benefit package, 

to rural health clinic (RHC) services and federally qualified 

health center (FQHC) services as defined in subparagraphs 

(B) and (C) of § 1905(a)(2). 

2. The state assures that payment for RHC and FQHC 

services is made in accordance with the requirements of 

§ 1902(bb) of the Social Security Act. 

H. Cost effectiveness of plans: the Medicaid Buy-In 

alternative benefit package and any additional benefits must 

be provided in accordance with economy and efficiency 

principles. 

I. Compliance with the law: The state will continue to 

comply with all other provisions of the Social Security Act in 

the administration of the state plan under this title. 

Part V  

Medallion (Repealed.) 

12VAC30-120-260. Definitions. (Repealed.)  

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"ABD" means aged, blind and disabled recipients of public 

assistance programs as defined by the Virginia Department of 

Social Services.  

"Action" means a termination, suspension, or reduction of 

Medicaid eligibility or covered services, including the type or 

level of service; the reduction, suspension, or termination of a 

previously authorized service; or the denial, in whole or in 

part, of payment for a service.  

"AFDC" means the Aid to Families with Dependent 

Children program; this program was replaced by the 

Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) program. 

Medicaid utilizes AFDC rules in determining Medicaid 

eligibility for families and children.  

"AFDC related" means those recipients eligible for 

assistance as an extension of the AFDC program, such as 

pregnant women and indigent children under specific ages. It 

shall not include foster care or spend-down medically needy 

clients.  

"Ancillary services" means those services accorded to a 

client that are intended to support the diagnosis and treatment 

of that client. These services include, but are not necessarily 

limited to, laboratory, pharmacy, radiology, physical therapy, 

and occupational therapy.  

"Appeal" means a request for review of an action; all 

enrollee appeals are subject to the regulations set forth in 

12VAC30-110.  

"Area of residence" means the recipient's address in the 

Medicaid eligibility file.  

"Client" or "clients" means an individual or individuals 

having current Medicaid eligibility who is enrolled in or who 

shall be authorized to participate as a member or members of 

MEDALLION.  

"Comparison group" means the group of Medicaid recipients 

whose utilization and costs will be compared against similar 

groups of MEDALLION clients.  

"Covered services" means Medicaid services as defined in 

the State Plan for Medical Assistance.  

"Covering provider" means a provider designated by the 

primary care provider to render health care services in the 

temporary absence of the primary provider.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services.  

"Eligible person" means any person eligible for Virginia 

Medicaid in accordance with the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

"Emergency medical condition" means a medical condition 

manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity 

(including severe pain) that a prudent layperson, who 

possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine, 

could reasonably expect the absence of immediate medical 

attention to result in the following:  
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1. Placing the health of the individual (or, with respect to a 

pregnant woman, the health of the woman or her unborn 

child) in serious jeopardy;  

2. Serious impairment to bodily functions; or  

3. Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.  

"Emergency services" means covered inpatient and 

outpatient services that are (i) funished by a provider that is 

qualified to furnish these services under this title and (ii) 

needed to evaluate or stabilize an emergency medical 

condition.  

"Enrollee" is a Medicaid recipient who is currently enrolled 

with a PCP in a given managed care program.  

"Enrollment broker" means an independent contractor that 

enrolls recipients in MEDALLION and is responsible for the 

operation and documentation of a toll-free recipient service 

helpline. The responsibilities of the enrollment broker shall 

include, but not be limited to, recipient education, recipient 

enrollment, and tracking and resolving recipient complaints, 

and may include recipient marketing and outreach.  

"EPSDT" means the Early and Periodic Screening, 

Diagnosis, and Treatment program.  

"Exclusion from MEDALLION" means the denial of a 

Medicaid recipient from initially enrolling in MEDALLION 

or the removal of an enrollee from the MEDALLION 

program on a temporary or permanent basis.  

"External Quality Review Organization (EQRO)" is an 

organization that meets the competence and independence 

requirements set forth in 42 CFR 438.354 and performs 

external quality reviews, other EQR-related activities as set 

forth in 42 CFR 438.358, or both.  

"Foster care" is a program in which a child receives either 

foster care assistance under Title IV-E of the Social Security 

Act or state and local foster care assistance.  

"General practitioner" means a licensed physician who 

provides routine medical treatment, diagnosis, and advice to 

maintain a client's health and welfare.  

"Grievance" is an expression of dissatisfaction about any 

matter other than an action, as "action" is defined in this 

section. The term is also used to refer to the overall system 

that includes grievances and appeals and access to the state 

fair hearing process. Examples of subjects for grievances 

include, but are not limited to, the quality of care or services 

provided, and aspects of interpersonal relationships, such as 

rudeness of a provider or employee, or the failure to respect 

the enrollee's rights.  

"Health care professional" means a provider who has 

appropriate clinical training in treating an enrollee's condition 

or disease, and as further defined in 42 CFR 438.2.  

"Post-stabilization care services" means covered services 

related to an emergency medical condition that are provided 

after an enrollee is stabilized in order to maintain the 

stabilized condition or to improve or resolve the enrollee's 

condition.  

"Potential enrollee" means a Medicaid recipient who is 

subject to mandatory enrollment or may voluntarily elect to 

enroll in a given managed care program, but is not yet 

assigned to a specific primary care provider.  

"Primary care case management" or "PCCM" means a 

system under which a primary care case manager contracts 

with the Commonwealth to furnish case management services 

(which include the location, coordination, and monitoring of 

primary health care services) to those Medicaid recipients 

assigned to him.  

"Primary care provider" or "PCP" means that MEDALLION 

provider responsible for the coordination of all medical care 

provided to a MEDALLION client and shall be recognized by 

DMAS as a Medicaid provider.  

"School health services" means those physical therapy, 

occupational therapy, speech therapy, nursing, psychiatric and 

psychological services rendered to children who qualify for 

these services under the federal Individuals with Disabilities 

Education Act (20 USC § 1471 et seq.) by (i) employees of 

the school divisions or (ii) providers that subcontract with 

school divisions, as described in 12VAC30-50-229.1.  

"Site" means, for purposes of this part, the geographical 

areas that best represent the health care delivery systems in 

the Commonwealth. In certain areas (sites), there may be two 

or more identifiable health care delivery systems.  

"Specialty" or "specialist services" means those services, 

treatments, or diagnostic tests intended to provide the patient 

with a higher level of medical care or a more definitive level 

of diagnosis than that routinely provided by the primary care 

provider.  

"Spend-down" means the process of reducing countable 

income by deducting incurred medical expenses for medically 

needy individuals, as determined in the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance.  

"State" means the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"TANF" means Temporary Assistance to Needy Families 

and is a public assistance program administered by the 

Department of Social Services providing financial assistance 

to needy citizens.  

12VAC30-120-270. Program purpose. (Repealed.)  

The purpose of MEDALLION shall be to provide 

management in the delivery of health care services by linking 

the primary care provider (PCP) with targeted clients. The 

PCP shall provide medical services as appropriate for clients' 

health care needs and shall coordinate clients' receipt of other 

health services. This shall include, but not be limited to, 

referral to specialty providers as medically appropriate.  

12VAC30-120-280. MEDALLION clients. (Repealed.)  

A. DMAS shall determine enrollment in MEDALLION. 

Enrollment in MEDALLION is not a guarantee of continuing 
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eligibility for services and benefits under the Virginia 

Medical Assistance Services Program. Clients of 

MEDALLION shall be individuals receiving Medicaid as 

ABD, AFDC or AFDC-related categorically needy and 

medically needy (except those becoming eligible through 

spend-down) and except for foster care children, whether or 

not receiving cash assistance grants.  

B. Exclusions.  

1. The following individuals shall be excluded from 

participation in MEDALLION, or excluded from 

continued enrollment if any of the following apply:  

a. Individuals who are inpatients in state mental hospitals 

and skilled nursing facilities, or reside in an Intermediate 

Care Facility for the Mentally Retarded (ICF/MR) or a 

long-stay hospital;  

b. Individuals who are enrolled in § 1915 c home and 

community-based waivers, the family planning waiver, 

or the Family Access to Medical Insurance Security Plan 

(FAMIS);  

c. Individuals who are participating in foster care or 

subsidized adoption programs, who are members of 

spend-down cases, or who are refugees or who receive 

client medical management services;  

d. Individuals receiving Medicare;  

e. Individuals who are enrolled in DMAS-authorized 

residential treatment or treatment foster care programs;  

f. Individuals whose coverage is retroactive only; and  

g. Birth Injury Fund (BIF).  

2. A client may be excluded from participating in 

MEDALLION if any of the following apply:  

a. The client is not accepted to the caseload of any 

participating PCP.  

b. The client's enrollment in the caseload of assigned 

PCP has been terminated, and other PCPs have declined 

to enroll the client.  

c. The individual receives hospice services in accordance 

with DMAS criteria.  

C. Client enrollment process.  

1. All ABD, AFDC or AFDC-related recipients excepting 

those meeting one of the exclusions of subsection B of this 

section shall be enrolled in MEDALLION.  

2. Newly eligible individuals shall not participate in 

MEDALLION until completion of the Medicaid 

enrollment process. This shall include initial enrollment in 

the Medicaid program at the time of eligibility 

determination by Department of Social Services staff, or 

any subsequent reenrollment in the Medicaid program that 

may occur.  

3. During the preassignment period and registration as 

MEDALLION clients, recipients shall be provided 

Medicaid-covered services via the fee-for-service delivery 

mechanism administered by DMAS.  

4. Once clients are fully registered as MEDALLION 

clients, they will receive MEDALLION identification 

material in addition to the Medicaid card.  

D. PCP selection. Clients shall be given the opportunity to 

select the PCP of their choice.  

1. Clients shall notify DMAS of their PCP selection within 

30 days of receiving their MEDALLION enrollment 

notification letter. If notification is not received by DMAS 

within that timeframe, DMAS shall select a PCP for the 

client.  

2. The selected PCP shall be a MEDALLION enrolled 

provider.  

3. The PCP will provide 24-hour, seven day/week access, 

which shall include as a minimum a 24-hour, seven 

day/week telephone number to be provided to each 

MEDALLION client.  

4. DMAS shall review client requests in choosing a 

specific PCP for appropriateness and to ensure client 

accessibility to all required medical services.  

5. Individuals who lose then regain eligibility for 

MEDALLION within 60 days will be reassigned to their 

previous PCP without going through the preassignment 

and selection process.  

E. Mandatory assignment of PCP.  

1. The MEDALLION program enrolls clients with a 

primary care provider (PCP) who acts as a care 

coordinator, provides primary and preventive care, and 

refers most specialty services. The client is required to 

select a PCP from a list of available PCPs in his service 

area. If the client does not select a PCP, the client defaults 

to the department's pre-assignment option. Clients can 

access any program provider for specialty services if they 

obtain the necessary referral from their PCP.  

2. Clients shall initially be assigned to a PCP according to 

the region in which they reside. Should insufficient PCPs 

exist within the client's specific region, clients shall be 

assigned a PCP in an adjacent region.  

3. Each PCP shall be assigned a client, or family group if 

appropriate, until the maximum number of clients the PCP 

has elected to serve or the PCP/client limit has been 

reached or until there are no more clients suitable for 

assignment to that PCP, or all clients have been assigned.  

F. Changing PCPs. MEDALLION clients in areas without 

managed care organizations (MCO) will have the initial 90 

calendar days following the effective date of enrollment with 

a MEDALLION PCP to change PCPs without cause. After 

the initial 90-day assignment period, unless cause to change 

PCPs is shown pursuant to subdivision 1 or 2 of this 

subsection, the recipient will remain with the PCP for up to 

12 months, or until the next open enrollment period. During 
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open enrollment, the recipient will have the option to select 

another PCP. Recipients will be given at least 60 days notice 

prior to the end of the current enrollment period (and all 

future enrollment periods) during which time recipients can 

select another PCP. Open enrollment periods will occur 

annually.  

1. Requests for change of PCP "for cause" are not subject 

to the 12-month limitation, but shall be reviewed and 

approved by DMAS staff on an individual basis. Examples 

of changing providers "for cause" may include but shall 

not be necessarily limited to:  

a. Client has a special medical need which cannot be met 

in his service area or by his PCP.  

b. Client has a pre-existing relationship with a Medicaid 

provider rendering care for a special medical need.  

c. Mutual decision by both client and provider to sever 

the relationship.  

d. Provider or client moves to a new residence, causing 

transportation difficulties for the client.  

e. Provider cannot establish a rapport with the client.  

f. Performance or nonperformance of service to the client 

by a provider that is deemed by the department's external 

quality review organizations to be below the generally 

accepted community practice of health care. This may 

include poor quality care.  

g. Other reasons as determined by DMAS through 

written policy directives.  

2. The existing PCP shall continue to retain the client in the 

caseload, and provide services to the client until a new 

PCP is assigned or selected.  

3. PCPs may elect to release MEDALLION clients from 

their caseloads for cause with review and approval by 

DMAS on a case-by-case basis. In such circumstances, 

subdivision F 2 of this section shall apply.  

G. PCP referral process.  

1. Clients shall contact their assigned PCP or designated 

covering provider to obtain a referral prior to seeking 

nonemergency care.  

2. Emergency services and family planning services shall 

be provided without delay or referral. However, the 

emergency nature of the treatment shall be documented by 

the provider providing treatment and should be reported to 

the PCP after treatment is provided. Clients should inform 

the PCP of any emergency treatment received.  

H. Enrollee rights.  

1. Each primary care provider must comply with any and 

all applicable federal and state laws and regulations 

regarding enrollee rights including, but not limited to, the 

applicable sections of 42 CFR 438.100 et seq., Title VI of 

the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and other applicable laws 

regarding privacy and confidentiality, and ensure that their 

staff and affiliated providers take those rights into account 

when furnishing services to enrollees.  

2. Each enrollee shall be free to exercise his rights, and the 

exercise of those rights shall not adversely affect the way 

the primary care provider or DMAS treats the enrollee.  

12VAC30-120-290. Providers of services. (Repealed.)  

Providers who may enroll to provide MEDALLION services 

include, but are not limited to, physicians of the following 

primary care specialties: general practice, family practice, 

internal medicine, and pediatrics. Federally qualified health 

centers and rural health clinics as defined in 42 CFR 

405.2401), and certain clinics (as defined by 12VAC5-90-10) 

administered by local health departments may also serve as 

primary care providers. Exceptions may be as follows:  

1. Providers specializing in obstetric/gynecologic care may 

enroll as MEDALLION providers if selected by clients as 

PCPs but only if the providers agree to provide or refer 

clients for primary care.  

2. Physicians with subspecialties may enroll as 

MEDALLION providers if selected by clients as PCPs but 

only if the providers agree to provide or refer clients for 

primary care.  

3. Other specialty physicians may enroll as PCPs under 

extraordinary, client-specific circumstances when DMAS 

determines with the provider's and recipient's concurrence 

that the assignment would be in the client's best interests. 

Such circumstances may include, but are not limited to, the 

usual-and-customary practice of general medicine by a 

board-certified specialist, maintenance of a pre-existing 

patient-physician relationship, or support of the special 

medical needs of the client.  

4. DMAS or its designee shall review applications from 

physicians and other health care professionals to determine 

appropriateness of their participating as a MEDALLION 

PCP.  

5. The PCP must have admitting privileges at a local 

hospital or must make arrangements acceptable to DMAS 

for admissions by a physician who does have admitting 

privileges.  

12VAC30-120-300. MEDALLION provider requirements. 

(Repealed.)  

A. PCPs must require their clients to present their currently 

effective MEDALLION identification material upon 

presentation for services.  

B. PCPs shall function as "gatekeeper" for assigned clients. 

Specific requirements shall include but are not necessarily 

limited to:  

1. Providing patient management for the following 

services: physician, pharmacy, hospital inpatient and 

outpatient, laboratory, ambulatory surgical center, 

radiology, and durable medical equipment and supplies.  
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2. Providing or arranging for physician coverage 24 hours 

per day, seven days per week.  

3. Determining the need for and authorizing when 

appropriate, all nonemergency care.  

4. Being an EPSDT provider, or having a referral 

relationship with one, and providing or arranging for 

preventive health services for children under the age of 21 

in accordance with the periodicity schedule recommended 

in the Guidelines for Health Supervision of the American 

Academy of Pediatrics, 1991.  

5. Making referrals when appropriate, conforming to 

standard medical practices, to medical specialists or 

services as required. The referral duration shall be at the 

discretion of the PCP, and must be fully documented in the 

patient's medical record.  

6. Coordinating inpatient admissions either by personally 

ordering the admission, or by referring to a specialist who 

may order the admission.  

7. Maintaining a legibly written, comprehensive, and 

unified patient medical record for each client consistent 

with documentation requirements set forth in DMAS' 

Physician Manual.  

8. Documenting in each client's record all authorizations 

for referred services.  

9. Providing education and guidance to assigned clients for 

the purpose of teaching correct methods of accessing the 

medical treatment system and promoting good health 

practices.  

10. Tracking and documenting any emergency care 

provided to clients.  

11. Shall not refuse an assignment to, or otherwise 

discriminate against, any enrollee or potential enrollee on 

the basis of health status or need for health care services, or 

on the basis of race, color, or national origin, and shall not 

use any policy or practice that has the effect of 

discrimination on the basis of race, color, or national 

origin.  

C. A PCP may not knowingly be affiliated with any of the 

following:  

1. Any individual who is debarred, suspended, or otherwise 

excluded from participating in procurement activities under 

the Federal Acquisition Regulation (48 CFR 9.400 et seq.) 

or from participating in nonprocurement activities under 

regulations issued under Executive Order No. 12549 or 

under guidelines implementing Executive Order No. 

12549.  

2. An individual who is an affiliate of a person described in 

subdivision C 1 of this subsection whose relationship is as 

follows:  

a. A director, officer, or partner of the PCP;  

b. A person with beneficial ownership of 5.0% or more 

of the PCP's equity;  

c. A person with an employment, consulting, or other 

arrangement with the PCP for the provision of items and 

services that are significant and material to the PCP's 

obligations under its contract with the state.  

12VAC30-120-310. Services exempted from 

MEDALLION referral requirements. (Repealed.) 

A. The following services shall be exempt from the referral 

requirements of MEDALLION:  

1. Obstetrical and gynecological services (pregnancy and 

pregnancy related);  

2. Psychiatric and psychological services, to include but 

not be limited to mental health, mental retardation services;  

3. Family planning services;  

4. Routine newborn services;  

5. Annual or routine vision examinations (under age 21);  

6. Emergency services;  

7. EPSDT well-child exams;  

8. Immunizations (health departments only);  

9. All school health services provided pursuant to the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA);  

10. Services for the treatment of sexually transmitted 

diseases;  

11. Targeted case management services;  

12. Transportation services;  

13. Pharmacy services;  

14. Substance abuse treatment services; and  

15. MR waiver services and MH community rehabilitation 

services.  

B. While reimbursement for these services may not require a 

referral, an authorization, or a referral and an authorization by 

the PCP, the PCP must continue to track and document them 

to ensure continuity of care.  

12VAC30-120-320. PCP payments. (Repealed.)  

A. DMAS shall pay for services rendered to MEDALLION 

clients through the existing fee-for-service methodology and a 

case management fee.  

B. MEDALLION providers shall receive a monthly case 

management fee of $3.00 per client.  

C. Individual PCPs and PCPs in Department of Health 

clinics may serve a maximum of 2,000 MEDALLION clients. 

Exceptions to this will be considered on a case-by-case basis 

predicated upon client needs.  

D. Federally qualified health centers, rural health clinics, 

and Department of Health clinics enrolled as Medicaid 

providers are limited to no more than 10,000 enrolled 

recipients per clinic. Exceptions to this will be considered on 

a case-by-case basis predicated upon client needs.  
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12VAC30-120-330. Utilization review. (Repealed.)  

DMAS shall review claims for services provided by or 

resulting from referrals by authorized PCPs. Claims review 

shall include, but not be limited to, review for the following:  

1. Excessive or inappropriate services;  

2. Unauthorized or excluded services; and  

3. Analysis of possible trends in increases or reductions of 

services.  

12VAC30-120-340. Client and provider appeals. 

(Repealed.)  

A. Client appeals. Clients shall have the right of appeal of 

any adverse action taken by DMAS consistent with the 

provisions of Part I (12VAC30-110-10 et seq.) of 12VAC30-

110.  

B. Provider appeals. Providers shall have the right to appeal 

any adverse action taken by DMAS under this part pursuant 

to the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-

6.14:1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

12VAC30-120-350. Sanctions. (Repealed.)  

A. The sanctions, as described in § 1932(e)(1) of the Social 

Security Act (the Act) and listed in subsection B of this 

section, may be imposed by DMAS if the PCP:  

1. Fails substantially to provide medically necessary 

services that the PCP is required to provide, under law or 

under its contract with DMAS, to an enrollee covered 

under the contract;  

2. Imposes on enrollees premiums or charges that are in 

excess of the premiums or charges permitted under the 

Medicaid program;  

3. Acts to discriminate among enrollees on the basis of 

their health status or need for health care services;  

4. Misrepresents or falsifies information furnished to the 

Commonwealth;  

5. Misrepresents or falsifies information furnished to an 

enrollee, potential enrollee, or health care provider;  

6. Has distributed directly or indirectly, through any agent 

or independent contractor, marketing materials that have 

not been approved by DMAS or that contain false or 

materially misleading information; or  

7. Has violated any of the other applicable requirements of 

§ 1932 or § 1905 (t)(3) of the Act and any implementing 

regulations.  

B. Section 1932(e)(2) of the Act provides for the 

Commonwealth to impose the following civil money 

penalties and other sanctions:  

1. A maximum of $25,000 for each determination of 

failure to provide services, misrepresentations or false 

statements to enrollees, potential enrollees, or health care 

providers, or marketing violations;  

2. A maximum of $100,000 for each determination of 

discrimination or misrepresentation or false statements to 

the Commonwealth;  

3. A maximum of $15,000 for each recipient the 

Commonwealth determines was not enrolled because of a 

discriminatory practice (subject to a $100,000 overall 

limit); and  

4. Up to $25,000 or double the amount of the excess 

charges (whichever is greater) for charging premiums or 

charges in excess of the amounts permitted under the 

Medicaid program. DMAS shall deduct the excess amount 

charged from the penalty and return it to the affected 

enrollees.  

5. Termination. Either the PCP or DMAS may terminate 

the PCP's enrollment in the MEDALLION program at any 

time if either party determines that the other party has 

failed to perform any of its functions or duties under the 

addendum to the provider agreement (hereafter referred to 

as the addendum) between DMAS and the PCP. In such 

event, the party exercising this option shall notify the other 

party in writing of the intent to terminate the addendum 

and shall give the other party 30 days to correct the 

identified violation, breach or nonperformance of the 

addendum. If such violation, breach or nonperformance of 

the addendum is not satisfactorily addressed within this 

time period, the exercising party must notify the other 

party in writing of its intent to terminate the addendum at 

least 60 days prior to the proposed termination date. The 

termination date shall always be the last day of the month 

in which the 60th day falls. The addendum may be 

terminated by DMAS sooner than the time periods for 

notice specified in this subsection if DMAS determines 

that a recipient's health or welfare is jeopardized by 

continued enrollment under the care of the PCP. After 

DMAS notifies a PCP that it intends to terminate the 

contract, DMAS will give the entity's enrollees written 

notice of the state's intent to terminate the contract and will 

allow enrollees to disenroll immediately without cause.  

6. Suspension of new enrollment, including default 

enrollment.  

a. Whenever DMAS determines that the PCP is out of 

compliance with the addendum, it may suspend the PCP's 

right to enroll new recipients. DMAS, when exercising 

this option, shall notify the PCP in writing of its intent to 

suspend new enrollment at least 30 days prior to the 

beginning of the suspension period. The suspension 

period may be for any length of time specified by 

DMAS, or may be indefinite. The suspension period may 

extend up to any expiration date of the addendum.  

b. DMAS may also suspend new enrollment or disenroll 

recipients in anticipation of the PCP not being able to 

comply with federal or state laws at its current 

enrollment level. Such suspension shall not be subject to 

the 30-day notification requirement. DMAS may notify 
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recipients of their PCP's noncompliance and provide an 

opportunity to enroll with another PCP.  

7. Withholding of management or other payments and 

recovery of damage costs. DMAS may withhold portions 

of management or other fees or otherwise recover damages 

from the PCP as follows:  

a. Whenever DMAS determines that the PCP has failed 

to perform an administrative function required under this 

contract, DMAS may withhold a portion of management 

or other fees to compensate for the damages which this 

failure has entailed. For the purposes of this section, 

"administrative function" is defined as any contract 

obligation other than the actual provision of contract 

services.  

b. In any case under this contract where DMAS has the 

authority to withhold management or other fees, DMAS 

also shall have the authority to use all other legal 

processes for the recovery of damages.  

8. Department-initiated disenrollment. DMAS may reduce 

the maximum enrollment level or number of current 

enrollees whenever it determines that the PCP has:  

a. Failed to provide or arrange for the provision of one or 

more of the services required under the addendum to the 

provider agreement, or  

b. Failed to maintain or make available any records or 

reports required under the addendum which DMAS 

requires to determine whether the PCP is providing 

services as required. The PCP shall be given at least 30 

days notice prior to DMAS taking any action set forth in 

this subsection.  

9. Inappropriate service delivery. PCPs demonstrating a 

pattern of inappropriate provision of services may be 

subject to suspension of new enrollments, withholding, in 

full or in part, of management fees, addendum termination, 

or refusal to be offered the opportunity to participate as a 

PCP in a future time period.  

Part VI  

Medallion II  

12VAC30-120-360. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Action" means the denial or limited authorization of a 

requested service, including the type or level of service; the 

reduction, suspension, or termination of a previously 

authorized service; the denial, in whole or in part, of payment 

for a service; the failure to provide services in a timely 

manner, as defined by the state; or the failure of an MCO to 

act within the timeframes provided in 42 CFR 438.408(b).  

"Appeal" means a request for review of an action, as 

"action" is defined in this section.  

"Area of residence" means the recipient's address in the 

Medicaid eligibility file.  

"Capitation payment" means a payment the department 

makes periodically to a contractor on behalf of each recipient 

enrolled under a contract for the provision of medical services 

under the State Plan, regardless of whether the particular 

recipient receives services during the period covered by the 

payment.  

"Client," "clients," "recipient," "enrollee," or "participant" 

means an individual or individuals having current Medicaid 

eligibility who shall be authorized by DMAS to be a member 

or members of Medallion II.  

"Covered services" means Medicaid services as defined in 

the State Plan for Medical Assistance.  

"Disenrollment" means the process of changing enrollment 

from one Medallion II Managed Care Organization (MCO) 

plan to another MCO or to the Primary Care Case 

Management (PCCM) program, if applicable.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services.  

"Early Intervention" means EPSDT Early Intervention 

services provided pursuant to Part C of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 2004 as set forth in 

12VAC30-50-131. 

"Eligible person" means any person eligible for Virginia 

Medicaid in accordance with the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

"Emergency medical condition" means a medical condition 

manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity 

(including severe pain) that a prudent layperson, who 

possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine, 

could reasonably expect the absence of immediate medical 

attention to result in the following:  

1. Placing the health of the individual (or, with respect to a 

pregnant woman, the health of the woman or her unborn 

child) in serious jeopardy,  

2. Serious impairment to bodily functions, or  

3. Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.  

"Emergency services" means covered inpatient and 

outpatient services that are furnished by a provider that is 

qualified to furnish these services and that are needed to 

evaluate or stabilize an emergency medical condition.  

"Enrollment broker" means an independent contractor that 

enrolls recipients in the contractor's plan and is responsible 

for the operation and documentation of a toll-free recipient 

service helpline. The responsibilities of the enrollment broker 

include, but shall not be limited to, recipient education and 

MCO enrollment, assistance with and tracking of recipients' 

complaints resolutions, and may include recipient marketing 

and outreach.  
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"Exclusion from Medallion II" means the removal of an 

enrollee from the Medallion II program on a temporary or 

permanent basis.  

"External Quality Review Organization" (EQRO) is an 

organization that meets the competence and independence 

requirements set forth in 42 CFR 438.354 and performs 

external quality reviews, other EQR related activities as set 

forth in 42 CFR 438.358, or both.  

"Foster care" is a program in which a child receives either 

foster care assistance under Title IV-E of the Social Security 

Act or state and local foster care assistance.  

"Grievance" means an expression of dissatisfaction about 

any matter other than an action, as "action" is defined in this 

section.  

"Health care plan" means any arrangement in which any 

managed care organization undertakes to provide, arrange for, 

pay for, or reimburse any part of the cost of any health care 

services.  

"Health care professional" means a provider as defined in 

42 CFR 438.2.  

"Managed care organization" or "MCO" means an entity that 

meets the participation and solvency criteria defined in 

42 CFR Part 438 and has an executed contractual agreement 

with DMAS to provide services covered under the Medallion 

II program. Covered services for Medallion II individuals 

must be as accessible (in terms of timeliness, amount, 

duration, and scope) as compared to other Medicaid recipients 

served within the area.  

"Network" means doctors, hospitals or other health care 

providers who participate or contract with an MCO and, as a 

result, agree to accept a mutually-agreed upon sum or fee 

schedule as payment in full for covered services that are 

rendered to eligible participants.  

"Newborn enrollment period" means the period from the 

child's date of birth plus the next two calendar months.  

"Nonparticipating provider" means a health care entity or 

health care professional not in the contractor's participating 

provider network.  

"Post-stabilization care services" means covered services 

related to an emergency medical condition that are provided 

after an enrollee is stabilized in order to maintain the 

stabilized condition or to improve or resolve the enrollee's 

condition.  

"Potential enrollee" means a Medicaid recipient who is 

subject to mandatory enrollment or may voluntarily elect to 

enroll in a given managed care program, but is not yet an 

enrollee of a specific MCO or PCCM.  

"Primary care case management" or "PCCM" means a 

system under which a primary care case manager contracts 

with the Commonwealth to furnish case management services 

(which include the location, coordination, and monitoring of 

primary health care services) to Medicaid recipients.  

"School health services" means those physical therapy, 

occupational therapy, speech therapy, nursing, psychiatric and 

psychological services rendered to children who qualify for 

these services under the federal Individuals with Disabilities 

Education Act (20 USC § 1471 et seq.) by (i) employees of 

the school divisions or (ii) providers that subcontract with 

school divisions, as described in 12VAC30-50-229.1.  

"Spend-down" means the process of reducing countable 

income by deducting incurred medical expenses for medically 

needy individuals, as determined in the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance.  

12VAC30-120-370. Medallion II enrollees. 

A. DMAS shall determine enrollment in Medallion II. 

Enrollment in Medallion II is not a guarantee of continuing 

eligibility for services and benefits under the Virginia 

Medical Assistance Services Program. DMAS reserves the 

right to exclude from participation in the Medallion II 

managed care program any recipient individual who has been 

consistently noncompliant with the policies and procedures of 

managed care or who is threatening to providers, MCOs, or 

DMAS. There must be sufficient documentation from various 

providers, the MCO, and DMAS of these noncompliance 

issues and any attempts at resolution. Recipients Individuals 

excluded from Medallion II through this provision may 

appeal the decision to DMAS. 

B. The following individuals shall be excluded (as defined 

in 12VAC30-120-360) from participating in Medallion II or 

will be disenrolled from Medallion II if any of the following 

apply. Individuals not meeting the exclusion criteria must 

participate in the Medallion II program. 

1. Individuals who are inpatients in state mental hospitals; 

2. Individuals who are approved by DMAS as inpatients in 

long-stay hospitals, nursing facilities, or intermediate care 

facilities for the mentally retarded; 

3. Individuals who are placed on spend-down; 

4. Individuals who are participating in the family planning 

waiver, or in federal waiver programs for home-based and 

community-based Medicaid coverage prior to managed 

care enrollment; 

5. Individuals who are participating in foster care or 

subsidized adoption programs; 

6. Individuals under age 21 who are either enrolled in 

DMAS authorized treatment foster care programs as 

defined in 12VAC30-60-170 A, or who are approved for 

DMAS residential facility Level C programs as defined in 

12VAC30-130-860; 

7. Newly eligible individuals who are in the third trimester 

of pregnancy and who request exclusion within a 

department-specified timeframe of the effective date of 

their MCO enrollment. Exclusion may be granted only if 

the member's obstetrical provider (e.g., physician, hospital, 

midwife) does not participate with the enrollee's assigned 

MCO. Exclusion requests made during the third trimester 
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may be made by the recipient member, MCO, or provider. 

DMAS shall determine if the request meets the criteria for 

exclusion. Following the end of the pregnancy, these 

individuals shall be required to enroll to the extent they 

remain eligible for Medicaid; 

8. Individuals, other than students, who permanently live 

outside their area of residence for greater than 60 

consecutive days except those individuals placed there for 

medically necessary services funded by the MCO; 

9. Individuals who receive hospice services in accordance 

with DMAS criteria; 

10. Individuals with other comprehensive group or 

individual health insurance coverage, including Medicare, 

insurance provided to military dependents, and any other 

insurance purchased through the Health Insurance 

Premium Payment Program (HIPP); 

11. Individuals requesting exclusion who are inpatients in 

hospitals, other than those listed in subdivisions 1 and 2 of 

this subsection, at the scheduled time of MCO enrollment 

or who are scheduled for inpatient hospital stay or surgery 

within 30 calendar days of the MCO enrollment effective 

date. The exclusion shall remain effective until the first day 

of the month following discharge. This exclusion reason 

shall not apply to recipients individuals admitted to the 

hospital while already enrolled in a department-contracted 

MCO;  

12. Individuals who request exclusion during 

preassignment to an MCO or within a time set by DMAS 

from the effective date of their MCO enrollment, who have 

been diagnosed with a terminal condition and who have a 

life expectancy of six months or less. The client's physician 

must certify the life expectancy; 

13. Certain individuals between birth and age three 

certified by the Department of Mental Health, Mental 

Retardation and Substance Abuse Services as eligible for 

services pursuant to Part C of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1471 et seq.) who 

are granted an exception by DMAS to the mandatory 

Medallion II enrollment; 

14. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is less 

than three months; 

15. Individuals who are enrolled in the Commonwealth's 

Title XXI SCHIP program; 

16. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is only 

retroactive; and 

17. Children enrolled in the Virginia Birth-Related 

Neurological Injury Compensation Program established 

pursuant to Chapter 50 (§ 38.2-5000 et seq.) of Title 38.2 

of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Individuals enrolled with a MCO who subsequently meet 

one or more of the aforementioned criteria during MCO 

enrollment shall be excluded from MCO participation as 

determined by DMAS, with the exception of those who 

subsequently become recipients participants in the federal 

long-term care waiver programs, as otherwise defined 

elsewhere in this chapter, for home-based and community-

based Medicaid coverage (AIDS, IFDDS, MR, EDCD, Day 

Support, or Alzheimers, or as may be amended from time to 

time). These individuals shall receive acute and primary 

medical services via the MCO and shall receive waiver 

services and related transportation to waiver services via the 

fee-for-service program. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 

enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the current 

fee-for-service system. When enrollees no longer meet the 

criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to enroll in the 

appropriate managed care program. 

D. Medallion II managed care plans shall be offered to 

recipients individuals, and recipients individuals shall be 

enrolled in those plans, exclusively through an independent 

enrollment broker under contract to DMAS. 

E. Clients shall be enrolled as follows: 

1. All eligible persons, except those meeting one of the 

exclusions of subsection B of this section, shall be enrolled 

in Medallion II. 

2. Clients shall receive a Medicaid card from DMAS, and 

shall be provided authorized medical care in accordance 

with DMAS' procedures after Medicaid eligibility has been 

determined to exist. 

3. Once individuals are enrolled in Medicaid, they will 

receive a letter indicating that they may select one of the 

contracted MCOs. These letters shall indicate a 

preassigned MCO, determined as provided in subsection F 

of this section, in which the client will be enrolled if he 

does not make a selection within a period specified by 

DMAS of not less than 30 days. Recipients Members who 

are enrolled in one mandatory MCO program who 

immediately become eligible for another mandatory MCO 

program are able to maintain consistent enrollment with 

their currently assigned MCO, if available. These 

recipients individuals will receive a notification letter 

including information regarding their ability to change 

health plans under the new program. 

4. Any newborn whose mother is enrolled with an MCO at 

the time of birth shall be considered an enrollee of that 

same MCO for the newborn enrollment period. The 

newborn enrollment period is defined as the birth month 

plus two months following the birth month. This 

requirement does not preclude the enrollee, once he is 

assigned a Medicaid identification number, from 

disenrolling from one MCO to another in accordance with 

subdivision G 1 of this section. 

The newborn's continued enrollment with the MCO is not 

contingent upon the mother's enrollment. Additionally, if 

the MCO's contract is terminated in whole or in part, the 

MCO shall continue newborn coverage if the child is born 
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while the contract is active, until the newborn receives a 

Medicaid number or for the newborn enrollment period, 

whichever timeframe is earlier. Infants who do not receive 

a Medicaid identification number prior to the end of the 

newborn enrollment period will be disenrolled. Newborns 

who remain eligible for participation in Medallion II will 

be reenrolled in an MCO through the preassignment 

process upon receiving a Medicaid identification number. 

5. Individuals who lose then regain eligibility for 

Medallion II within 60 days will be reenrolled into their 

previous MCO without going through preassignment and 

selection. 

F. Clients who do not select an MCO as described in 

subdivision E 3 of this section shall be assigned to an MCO 

as follows: 

1. Clients are assigned through a system algorithm based 

upon the client's history with a contracted MCO. 

2. Clients not assigned pursuant to subdivision 1 of this 

subsection shall be assigned to the MCO of another family 

member, if applicable. 

3. All other clients shall be assigned to an MCO on a basis 

of approximately equal number by MCO in each locality. 

4. In areas where there is only one contracted MCO, 

recipients have a choice of enrolling with the contracted 

MCO or the PCCM program. All eligible recipients in 

areas where one contracted MCO exists, however, 

members are automatically assigned to the a contracted 

MCO in their localities. Individuals are allowed 90 days 

after the effective date of new or initial enrollment to make 

a change from either the contracted MCO to the PCCM 

program or vice versa. 

5. DMAS shall have the discretion to utilize an alternate 

strategy for enrollment or transition of enrollment from the 

method described in this section for expansions to new 

client populations, new geographical areas, expansion 

through procurement, or any or all of these; such alternate 

strategy shall comply with federal waiver requirements . 

G. Following their initial enrollment into an MCO or PCCM 

program, recipients individuals shall be restricted to the MCO 

or PCCM program until the next open enrollment period, 

unless appropriately disenrolled or excluded by the 

department (as defined in 12VAC30-120-360). 

1. During the first 90 calendar days of enrollment in a new 

or initial MCO, a client may disenroll from that MCO to 

enroll into another MCO or into PCCM, if applicable, for 

any reason. Such disenrollment shall be effective no later 

than the first day of the second month after the month in 

which the client requests disenrollment. 

2. During the remainder of the enrollment period, the client 

may only disenroll from one MCO into another MCO or 

PCCM, if applicable, upon determination by DMAS that 

good cause exists as determined under subsection I of this 

section. 

H. The department shall conduct an annual open enrollment 

for all Medallion II participants. The open enrollment period 

shall be the 60 calendar days before the end of the enrollment 

period. Prior to the open enrollment period, DMAS will 

inform the recipient individual of the opportunity to remain 

with the current MCO or change to another MCO, without 

cause, for the following year. In areas with only one 

contracted MCO, recipients will be given the opportunity to 

select either the MCO or the PCCM program. Enrollment 

selections will be effective on the first day of the next month 

following the open enrollment period. Recipients Individuals 

who do not make a choice during the open enrollment period 

will remain with their current MCO selection. 

I. Disenrollment for cause may be requested at any time. 

1. After the first 90 days of enrollment in an MCO, clients 

must request disenrollment from DMAS based on cause. 

The request may be made orally or in writing to DMAS 

and must cite the reasons why the client wishes to 

disenroll. Cause for disenrollment shall include the 

following: 

a. A recipient's An individual's desire to seek services 

from a federally qualified health center which is not 

under contract with the recipient's member's current 

MCO, and the recipient (i) client requests a change to 

another MCO that subcontracts with the desired federally 

qualified health center or (ii) requests a change to the 

PCCM, if the federally qualified health center is 

contracting directly with DMAS as a PCCM; 

b. Performance or nonperformance of service to the 

recipient individual by an MCO or one or more of its 

providers which is deemed by the department's external 

quality review organizations to be below the generally 

accepted community practice of health care. This may 

include poor quality care; 

c. Lack of access to a PCP or necessary specialty services 

covered under the State Plan or lack of access to 

providers experienced in dealing with the enrollee's 

health care needs; 

d. A client has a combination of complex medical factors 

that, in the sole discretion of DMAS, would be better 

served under another contracted MCO or PCCM 

program, if applicable, or provider; 

e. The enrollee moves out of the MCO's service area; 

f. The MCO does not, because of moral or religious 

objections, cover the service the enrollee seeks; 

g. The enrollee needs related services to be performed at 

the same time; not all related services are available 

within the network, and the enrollee's primary care 

provider or another provider determines that receiving 

the services separately would subject the enrollee to 

unnecessary risk; or 

h. Other reasons as determined by DMAS through 

written policy directives. 
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2. DMAS shall determine whether cause exists for 

disenrollment. Written responses shall be provided within a 

timeframe set by department policy; however, the effective 

date of an approved disenrollment shall be no later than the 

first day of the second month following the month in which 

the enrollee files the request, in compliance with 42 CFR 

438.56. 

3. Cause for disenrollment shall be deemed to exist and the 

disenrollment shall be granted if DMAS fails to take final 

action on a valid request prior to the first day of the second 

month after the request. 

4. The DMAS determination concerning cause for 

disenrollment may be appealed by the client in accordance 

with the department's client appeals process at 12VAC30-

110-10 through 12VAC30-110-380. 

5. The current MCO shall provide, within two working 

days of a request from DMAS, information necessary to 

determine cause. 

6. Individuals enrolled with a MCO who subsequently 

meet one or more of the exclusions in subsection B of this 

section during MCO enrollment shall be disenrolled as 

appropriate by DMAS, with the exception of those who 

subsequently become recipients individuals into the AIDS, 

IFDDS, MR, EDCD, Day Support, or Alzheimer's federal 

waiver programs for home-based and community-based 

Medicaid coverage. These individuals shall receive acute 

and primary medical services via the MCO and shall 

receive waiver services and related transportation to waiver 

services via the fee-for-service program. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 

enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the 

current fee-for-service system. When enrollees no longer 

meet the criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to 

enroll in the appropriate managed care program. 

Part I  

General Provisions  

12VAC30-141-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Act" means the Social Security Act.  

"Adult caretaker relative" or "caretaker relative" means an 

individual who is age 18 or older, who is not the parent of, 

but who is related to, the child by blood or marriage, and who 

lives with and assumes responsibility for day-to-day care of 

the child in a place of residence maintained as his or their 

own home.  

"Adverse action" means the denial of eligibility; failure to 

make a timely determination of eligibility; suspension or 

termination of enrollment; or delay, denial, reduction, 

suspension, or termination of health services, in whole or in 

part; provided, however, that determination of eligibility to 

participate in and termination of participation in the FAMIS 

Select program shall not constitute an adverse action.  

"Agency" means a local department of social services, the 

central processing unit, or other entity designated by DMAS 

to make eligibility determinations for FAMIS.  

"Agency error" means a person or persons received benefits 

to which they were not entitled as a result of an error on the 

part of an eligibility worker at a local department of social 

services or the central processing unit.  

"Agent" means an individual designated in writing to act on 

behalf of a FAMIS Plan applicant or enrollee during the 

administrative review process.  

"Applicant" means a child who has filed an application (or 

who has an application filed on his behalf) for child health 

insurance and is awaiting a determination of eligibility. A 

child is an applicant until his eligibility has been determined.  

"Application for health insurance" means the form or forms 

developed and approved by the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services that are used for determining eligibility 

for Family Access to Medical Insurance Security Plan 

(FAMIS), FAMIS Plus (Children's Medicaid), for Medicaid 

for pregnant women, and for FAMIS MOMS.  

"Authorized representative" means a person who is 

authorized to conduct the personal or financial affairs for an 

individual who is 18 years of age or older.  

"Board" or "BMAS" means that policy board created by 

§ 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia to administer the plans 

established by the Social Security Act.  

"CMSIP" means that original child health insurance program 

that preceded FAMIS.  

"Central processing unit" or "CPU" means the private 

contractor that will determine eligibility for and administer 

part of the Family Access to Medical Insurance Security Plan 

or FAMIS.  

"Child" means an individual under the age of 19 years.  

"Competent individual" means a person who has not been 

judged by a court to be legally incapacitated.  

"Comprehensive health insurance coverage" means health 

benefits coverage, which includes the following categories of 

services at a minimum: inpatient and outpatient hospital 

services; physician's surgical and medical services; and 

laboratory and radiological services.  

"Conservator" means a person appointed by a court of 

competent jurisdiction to manage the estate and financial 

affairs of an incapacitated individual.  

"Continuation of enrollment" means ensuring an enrollee's 

benefits are continued until completion of the review process, 

with the condition that should the enrollee not prevail in the 

review process, the enrollee shall be liable for the repayment 

of all benefits received during the review process.  

"Director" means the individual, or his designee, specified in 

§ 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia with all of the attendant 
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duties and responsibilities to administer the State Plan for 

Medical Assistance and the State Plan for FAMIS.  

"DMAS" or "department" means the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services.  

"Enrollee" means a child who has been determined eligible 

to participate in FAMIS and is enrolled in the FAMIS 

program.  

"External Quality Review Organization" means the 

independent contractor assigned by DMAS to handle quality 

reviews and to conduct final review of MCHIP adverse 

actions for FAMIS.  

"Family" means parents, including adoptive and stepparents, 

and their children under the age of 19, who are living in the 

same household. Family shall not mean grandparents, other 

relatives, or legal guardians.  

"Family," when used in the context of the FAMIS Select 

component, means a unit or group that has access to an 

employer's group health plan. Thus, it includes the employee 

and any dependents who can be covered under the employer's 

plan.  

"Family income" means the total income of all family 

members in a household. Income includes, but is not 

necessarily limited to, before-tax earnings from a job, 

including cash, wages, salary, commissions, tips, self-

employment net profits, Social Security, Retirement Survivor 

Disability Insurance (RSDI), veterans benefits, Railroad 

Retirement, disability workers' compensation, unemployment 

benefits, child support, alimony, spousal support, pensions, 

retirement benefits, settlement benefits, rental income, and 

lottery/bingo winnings. Income excludes public assistance 

program benefits such as SSI and TANF payments, foster 

care payments, general relief, loans, grants, or scholarships 

for educational expenses or earned income of a child who is a 

student.  

"FAMIS" means the Family Access to Medical Insurance 

Security Plan.  

"FAMIS Select" means an optional program available to 

children determined eligible for FAMIS, whereby DMAS 

provides premium assistance to the family to cover the child 

through a private or employer-sponsored health plan instead 

of directly through the FAMIS program.  

"Federal poverty level" or "FPL" means that income 

standard as published annually by the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services in the Federal Register.  

"Fee-for-service" means the traditional Medicaid health care 

delivery and payment system in which physicians and other 

providers receive a payment for each unit of service they 

provide.  

"Fixed premium assistance amount" means a predetermined 

amount of premium assistance that DMAS will pay per child 

to a family who chooses to enroll its FAMIS eligible child in 

a private or employer-sponsored health plan. The fixed 

premium assistance amount will be determined annually by 

DMAS to ensure that the FAMIS Select program is cost-

effective as compared to the cost of covering a child directly 

through the FAMIS program.  

"Fraud" means an intentional deception or misrepresentation 

made by a person with the knowledge that the deception 

could result in some unauthorized benefit to himself or some 

other person. It includes any act that constitutes fraud under 

applicable federal or state laws.  

"Group health plan" or "health insurance coverage" means 

that health care coverage as defined in § 2791 of the Public 

Health Services Act (42 USC § 300gg-91(a) and (b)(1)).  

"Guardian" means a person appointed by a court of 

competent jurisdiction to be responsible for the affairs of an 

incapacitated individual, including responsibility for making 

decisions regarding the person's support, care, health, safety, 

habilitation, education, and therapeutic treatment, and if not 

inconsistent with an order of commitment, residence.  

"Health Insurance for Children and Pregnant Women 

application" means the form or forms developed and 

approved by the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

that are used by local departments of social services and the 

FAMIS CPU for determining eligibility for Medicaid for 

poverty-level children and for the Family Access to Medical 

Insurance Security Plan (FAMIS).  

"Incapacitated individual" means a person who, pursuant to 

an order of a court of competent jurisdiction, has been found 

to be incapable of receiving and evaluating information 

effectively or responding to people, events, or environments 

to such an extent that the individual lacks the capacity to (i) 

meet the essential requirements of his health, care, safety, or 

therapeutic needs without the assistance or protection of a 

guardian, or (ii) manage property or financial affairs or 

provide for his support or for the support of his legal 

dependents without the assistance or protection of a 

conservator.  

"Legally emancipated" means that the parents and child 

have gone through the court and a judge has declared that the 

parents have surrendered the right to care, custody, and 

earnings of the child and have renounced parental duties. A 

married minor is not emancipated unless a court has declared 

the married minor emancipated from his parents.  

"LDSS" or "local department" means the local department of 

social services.  

"Managed care health insurance plan" or "MCHIP" as 

defined in § 32.1-137.1 of the Code of Virginia means an 

arrangement for the delivery of health care in which a health 

carrier means under contract with DMAS for Title XXI 

delivery systems, undertakes to provide, arrange and pay for, 

or reimburse any of the costs of health care services for a 

covered person on a prepaid or insured basis, which contains 

one or more incentive arrangements, including any credential 

requirements intended to influence the cost of the health care 

services between the health carrier and one or more providers 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 17, 2013 

2588 

and requires or creates benefit payment differential incentives 

for covered persons to use providers that are directly or 

indirectly managed, owned, under contract with or employed 

by the health carrier.  

"Maternal and child health insurance application" means the 

form or forms developed and approved by the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services that are used by local 

departments of social services and the FAMIS CPU for 

determining eligibility for Medicaid for poverty-level 

children and for the Family Access to Medical Insurance 

Security Plan (FAMIS).  

"Member of a family," for purposes of determining whether 

the child is eligible for coverage under a state employee 

health insurance plan, means a parent or parents, including 

stepparents with whom the child is living if the stepparent 

claims the child as a dependent on the employee's federal tax 

return.  

"Premium assistance" means the portion of the family's cost 

of participating in a private employer's health plan that 

DMAS will pay to cover the FAMIS-eligible children under 

the private or employer-sponsored plan if DMAS determines 

it is cost effective to do so.  

"Primary care case management (PCCM)" means a system 

under which a physician acting as a primary care case 

manager furnishes case management services to FAMIS 

enrollees pursuant to a contract with DMAS.  

"Primary care provider" or "PCP" means a physician 

enrolled in the PCCM program as a primary case manager.  

"Private" or "employer-sponsored health insurance 

coverage"1 means a health insurance policy that is either 

purchased by an individual directly or through an employer. 

This component of FAMIS refers to the ability of DMAS to 

provide coverage to FAMIS-eligible children by providing 

premium assistance to families who enroll the FAMIS-

eligible children in a private or employer-sponsored health 

plan.  

"Provider" means the individual, facility or other entity 

registered, licensed, or certified, as appropriate, and enrolled 

by an MCHIP, a PCCM, or in fee-for-service to render 

services to FAMIS enrollees eligible for services.  

"Supplemental coverage" means coverage provided to 

FAMIS-eligible children covered under the FAMIS Select 

component so that they can receive all childhood 

immunizations included in the FAMIS benefits.  

"Title XXI" means the federal State Children's Health 

Insurance Program as established by Subtitle J of the 

Balanced Budget Act of 1997.  

"Virginia State Employee Health Insurance Plan" means a 

health insurance plan offered by the Commonwealth of 

Virginia to its employees.  

1So in original.  

12VAC30-141-20. Administration and general 

background.  

A. The state shall use funds provided under Title XXI for 

obtaining coverage that meets the requirements for a State 

Child Health Insurance Plan (also known as Title XXI).  

B. The DMAS director will have the authority to contract 

with entities for the purpose of establishing a centralized 

processing site, determining eligibility, enrolling eligible 

children into health plans, performing outreach, data 

collection, reporting, and other services necessary for the 

administration of the Family Access to Medical Insurance 

Security Plan and for employing state staff to perform 

Medicaid eligibility determinations on children referred by 

FAMIS staff.  

C. Health care services under FAMIS shall be provided 

through MCHIPs, PCCMs, and through fee-for-service or 

through any other heath health care delivery system deemed 

appropriate by the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services.  

12VAC30-141-70. Review procedures.  

A. At a minimum, the MCHIP review shall be conducted 

pursuant to written procedures as defined in § 32.1-137.6 of 

the Code of Virginia and as may be further defined by 

DMAS. Such procedures shall be subject to review and 

approval by DMAS.  

B. The DMAS review shall be conducted pursuant to written 

procedures developed by DMAS.  

C. The procedures in effect on the date a particular request 

for review is received by the MCHIP or DMAS shall apply 

throughout the review.  

D. Copies of the procedures shall be promptly mailed by the 

MCHIP or DMAS to applicants and enrollees upon receipt of 

timely requests for review. Such written procedures shall 

include but not be limited to the following:  

1. The right to representation by an attorney or other agent 

of the applicant's or enrollee's choice, but at no time shall 

the MCHIP, local department of social services, DSS, or 

DMAS be required to obtain or compensate attorneys or 

other agents acting on behalf of applicants or enrollees;  

2. The right to timely review of their files and other 

applicable information relevant to the review of the 

decision;  

3. The right to fully participate in the review process, 

whether the review is conducted in person or in writing, 

including the presentation of supplemental information 

during the review process;  

4. The right to have personal and medical information and 

records maintained as confidential; and  

5. The right to a written final decision within 90 calendar 

days of receipt of the request for review, unless the 

applicant or enrollee requests or causes a delay.  



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 17, 2013 

2589 

6. For eligibility and enrollment matters, if the applicant's 

or enrollee's physician or health plan determines that the 

90-calendar-day timeframe could seriously jeopardize the 

applicant's or enrollee's life or health or ability to attain, 

maintain, or regain maximum function, an applicant or 

enrollee will have the opportunity to expedited review. 

Under these conditions, a request for review shall result in 

a written final decision within three business days after 

DMAS receives, from the physician or health plan, the 

case record and information indicating that taking the time 

for a standard resolution of the review request could 

seriously jeopardize the applicant's or enrollee's life or 

health or ability to attain, maintain or regain maximum 

function, unless the applicant or enrollee or his authorized 

representative causes a delay.  

7. For health services matters for FAMIS enrollees 

receiving services through MCHIPs, if the enrollee's 

physician or health plan determines that the 90-calendar-

day timeframe could seriously jeopardize the enrollee's life 

or health or ability to attain, maintain, or regain maximum 

function, an enrollee will have the opportunity to expedited 

review. Under these conditions, a request for review shall 

result in a written decision by the external quality review 

organization within 72 hours from the time an enrollee 

requests expedited review, unless the applicant, enrollee, or 

authorized representative requests or causes a delay. If a 

delay is requested or caused by the applicant, enrollee, or 

authorized representative, then expedited review may be 

extended up to 14 calendar days.  

8. For health services matters for FAMIS enrollees 

receiving services through fee-for-service and PCCM, if 

the enrollee's physician or health plan determines that the 

90-calendar-day timeframe could seriously jeopardize the 

enrollee's life, health or ability to attain, maintain, or regain 

maximum function, an enrollee will have the opportunity 

to expedited review. Under these conditions, a request for 

review shall result in a written decision within 72 hours 

from the time an enrollee requests expedited review, unless 

the applicant, enrollee, or authorized representative 

requests or causes a delay. If a delay is requested or caused 

by the applicant, enrollee, or authorized representative, 

then expedited review may be extended up to 14 calendar 

days.  

Part V  

Benefits and Reimbursement  

12VAC30-141-200. Benefit packages.  

The Commonwealth's Title XXI State Plan utilizes two 

benefit packages within FAMIS as set forth in the FAMIS 

State Plan, as may be amended from time to time. One 

package is a modified Medicaid look-alike component offered 

through a fee-for-service program and a primary care case 

management (PCCM) program; the other package is modeled 

after the state employee health plan and delivered by 

contracted MCHIPs.  

12VAC30-141-500. Benefits reimbursement.  

A. Reimbursement for the services covered under FAMIS 

fee-for-service and PCCM and MCHIPs shall be as specified 

in this section.  

B. Reimbursement for physician services, surgical services, 

clinic services, prescription drugs, laboratory and radiological 

services, outpatient mental health services, early intervention 

services, emergency services, home health services, 

immunizations, mammograms, medical transportation, organ 

transplants, skilled nursing services, well baby and well child 

care, vision services, durable medical equipment, disposable 

medical supplies, dental services, case management services, 

physical therapy/occupational therapy/speech-language 

therapy services, hospice services, school-based health 

services, and certain community-based mental health services 

shall be based on the Title XIX rates.  

C. Reimbursement to MCHIPs shall be determined on the 

basis of the estimated cost of providing the MCHIP benefit 

package and services to an actuarially equivalent population. 

MCHIP rates will be determined annually and published 30 

days prior to the effective date.  

D. Exceptions.  

1. Prior authorization is required after five visits in a fiscal 

year for physical therapy, occupational therapy and speech 

therapy provided by home health providers and outpatient 

rehabilitation facilities and for home health skilled nursing 

visits. Prior authorization is required after 26 visits for 

outpatient mental health visits in the first year of service 

and prior authorization is required for the following 

nonemergency outpatient procedures: Magnetic Resonance 

Imaging, including Magnetic Resonance Angiography 

(MRA), Computerized Axial Tomography (CAT) scans, 

including Computed Tomography Angiography (CTA), or 

Positron Emission Tomography (PET) scans performed for 

the purpose of diagnosing a disease process or physical 

injury. Prior authorization for dental services will be based 

on the Title XIX prior authorization requirements for 

dental services.  

2. Reimbursement for inpatient hospital services will be 

based on the Title XIX rates in effect for each hospital. 

Reimbursement shall not include payments for 

disproportionate share or graduate medical education 

payments made to hospitals. Payments made shall be final 

and there shall be no retrospective cost settlements.  

3. Reimbursement for outpatient hospital services shall be 

based on the Title XIX rates in effect for each hospital. 

Payments made will be final and there will be no 

retrospective cost settlements.  

4. Reimbursement for inpatient mental health services 

other than by free standing psychiatric hospitals will be 

based on the Title XIX rates in effect for each hospital. 

Reimbursement will not include payments for 

disproportionate share or graduate medical education 
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payments made to hospitals. Payments made will be final 

and there will be no retrospective cost settlements.  

5. Reimbursement for outpatient rehabilitation services 

will be based on the Title XIX rates in effect for each 

rehabilitation agency. Payments made will be final and 

there will be no retrospective cost settlements.  

6. Reimbursement for outpatient substance abuse treatment 

services will be based on rates determined by DMAS for 

children ages 6 through 18. Payments made will be final 

and there will be no retrospective cost settlements.  

7. Reimbursement for prescription drugs will be based on 

the Title XIX rates in effect. Reimbursements for Title 

XXI do not receive drug rebates as under Title XIX.  

8. Reimbursement for covered prescription drugs for 

noninstitutionalized FAMIS recipients receiving the fee-

for-service or PCCM benefits will be subject to review and 

prior authorization when their current number of 

prescriptions exceeds nine unique prescriptions within 180 

days, and as may be further defined by the agency's 

guidance documents for pharmacy utilization review and 

the prior authorization program. The prior authorization 

process shall be applied consistent with the process set 

forth in 12VAC30-50-210 A 7.  

12VAC30-141-570. Utilization control.  

A. Each MCHIP shall implement a utilization review system 

as determined by contract with DMAS, or administered by 

DMAS.  

B. For both the fee-for-service and PCCM programs 

program, DMAS shall use the utilization controls already 

established and operational in the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance.  

C. DMAS may collect and review comprehensive data to 

monitor utilization after receipt of services.  

12VAC30-141-660. Assignment to managed care. 

A. Except for children enrolled in the Virginia Birth-Related 

Neurological Injury Compensation Program established 

pursuant to Chapter 50 (§ 38.2-5000 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, all eligible enrollees shall be assigned 

in managed care through the department or the central 

processing unit (CPU) under contract to DMAS. FAMIS 

recipients, during the preassignment period to a PCP or an 

MCHIP, shall receive Title XXI benefits via fee-for-service 

utilizing a FAMIS card issued by DMAS. After assignment to 

a PCP or an MCHIP, benefits and the delivery of benefits 

shall be administered specific to the type of managed care 

program in which the recipient is enrolled. DMAS shall 

contract with MCHIPs to deliver health care services for 

infants born to mothers enrolled in FAMIS for the month of 

birth plus two additional months regardless of the status of 

the newborn's application for FAMIS. If federal funds are not 

available for those months of coverage, DMAS shall use state 

funding only. 

1. MCHIPs shall be offered to enrollees in certain all areas. 

2. In areas with one contracted MCHIP, all All enrollees 

shall be assigned to that the contracted MCHIP MCHIPs. 

3. In areas with multiple contracted MCHIPs or in PCCM 

areas without contracted MCHIPs, enrollees Enrollees 

shall be assigned through a random system algorithm; 

provided however, all children within the same family 

shall be assigned to the same MCHIP or primary care 

provider (PCP), as is applicable. 

4. In areas without contracted MCHIPs, enrollees shall be 

assigned to the primary care case management program 

(PCCM) or into the fee-for-service component. All 

children enrolled in the Virginia Birth-Related 

Neurological Injury Compensation Program shall be 

assigned to the fee-for-service component. 

5. Enrolled individuals residing in PCCM areas without 

contracted MCHIPs or in areas with multiple MCHIPs, 

will receive a letter indicating that they may select one of 

the contracted MCHIPs or primary care provider (PCP) in 

the PCCM program, in each case, which that serve such 

area. Enrollees who do not select an MCHIP/PCP MCHIP 

as described above, shall be assigned to an MCHIP/PCP 

MCHIP as described in subdivision 3 of this section. 

6. Individuals assigned to an MCHIP or a PCCM who lose 

and then regain eligibility for FAMIS within 60 days will 

be re-assigned to their previous MCHIP or PCP. 

B. Following their initial assignment to a MCHIP/PCP an 

MCHIP, those enrollees shall be restricted to that 

MCHIP/PCP MCHIP until their next annual eligibility 

redetermination, unless appropriately disenrolled by the 

department. 

1. During the first 90 calendar days of managed care 

assignment, an enrollee may request reassignment for any 

reason. Such reassignment shall be effective no later than 

the first day of the second month after the month in which 

the enrollee requests reassignment. 

2. If multiple MCHIPs exist, enrollees Enrollees may only 

request reassignment to another MCHIP serving that 

geographic area. In PCCM areas, an enrollee may only 

request reassignment to another PCP serving that 

geographic area. In areas with only one MCHIP, enrollees 

may request reassignment to fee-for-service.  

3. After the first 90 calendar days of the assignment period, 

the enrollee may only be reassigned from one MCHIP/PCP 

MCHIP to another MCHIP/PCP or to fee-for-service in 

areas with only one MCHIP upon determination by DMAS 

that good cause exists pursuant to subsection C of this 

section. 

C. Disenrollment for good cause may be requested at any 

time. 

1. After the first 90 days of assignment in managed care, 

enrollees may request disenrollment from DMAS based on 

good cause. The request must be made in writing to DMAS 

and cite the reasons why the enrollee wishes to be 
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reassigned. The department shall establish procedures for 

good cause reassignment through written policy directives.  

2. DMAS shall determine whether good cause exists for 

reassignment. 

Part VII  

FAMIS MOMS  

12VAC30-141-670. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Act" means the Social Security Act.  

"Adult caretaker relative" or "caretaker relative" means an 

individual who is age 18 or older, who is not the parent of but 

who is related to the child applicant by blood or marriage, and 

who lives with and assumes responsibility for day-to-day care 

of the child applicant in a place of residence maintained as his 

or their own home.  

"Adverse action" means the denial of eligibility; failure to 

make a timely determination of eligibility; suspension or 

termination of enrollment; or delay, denial, reduction, 

suspension, or termination of health services, in whole or in 

part.  

"Agency" means a local department of social services, the 

central processing unit, or other entity designated by DMAS 

to make eligibility determinations for FAMIS MOMS.  

"Agency error" means a person or persons received benefits 

to which they were not entitled as a result of an error on the 

part of an eligibility worker at a local department of social 

services or the central processing unit.  

"Agent" means an individual designated in writing to act on 

behalf of a FAMIS MOMS Plan applicant or enrollee during 

the administrative review process.  

"Applicant" means a pregnant woman who has filed an 

application (or who has an application filed on her behalf) for 

health insurance and is awaiting a determination of eligibility. 

A pregnant woman is an applicant until her eligibility has 

been determined.  

"Application for health insurance" means the form or forms 

developed and approved by the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services that are used for determining eligibility 

for Medicaid for poverty level children, for the Family 

Access to Medical Insurance Security Plan (FAMIS) for 

children, for Medicaid for pregnant women, and for FAMIS 

MOMS coverage for pregnant women.  

"Authorized representative" means a person who is 

authorized to conduct the personal or financial affairs for an 

individual who is 18 years of age or older.  

"Board" or "BMAS" means that policy board created by 

§ 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia to administer the plans 

established by the Social Security Act.  

"Central processing unit" or "CPU" means the private 

contractor that will determine eligibility for and administer 

part of the FAMIS MOMS Plan.  

"Child" means an individual under the age of 19 years.  

"Competent individual" means a person who has not been 

judged by a court to be legally incapacitated.  

"Comprehensive health insurance coverage" means health 

benefits coverage, which includes the following categories of 

services at a minimum: inpatient and outpatient hospital 

services, physician's surgical and medical services, and 

laboratory and radiological services.  

"Conservator" means a person appointed by a court of 

competent jurisdiction to manage the estate and financial 

affairs of an incapacitated individual.  

"Continuation of enrollment" means ensuring an enrollee's 

benefits are continued until completion of the review process, 

with the condition that should the enrollee not prevail in the 

review process, the enrollee shall be liable for the repayment 

of all benefits received during the review process.  

"Director" means the individual, or his designee, specified in 

§ 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia with all of the attendant 

duties and responsibilities to administer the State Plan for 

Medical Assistance and the State Plan for Title XXI.  

"DMAS" or "department" means the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services.  

"Enrollee" means a pregnant woman who has been 

determined eligible to participate in FAMIS MOMS and is 

enrolled in the FAMIS MOMS program.  

"External quality review organization" means the 

independent contractor assigned by DMAS to handle quality 

reviews and to conduct final review of MCHIP adverse 

actions for FAMIS MOMS.  

"Family" for a pregnant woman under the age of 21, means 

parents, including adoptive parents, if they are all residing 

together and the spouse of the pregnant woman if the woman 

is married and living with her spouse, as well as any children 

under the age of 21 the woman may have.  

For a pregnant woman over the age of 21, "family" means 

her spouse, if married and living together, as well as any 

children under the age of 21 the pregnant woman may have.  

"Family income" means the total income of all family 

members in a household. Income includes, but is not 

necessarily limited to, before-tax earnings from a job, 

including cash, wages, salary, commissions, tips, self-

employment net profits, Social Security, Retirement Survivor 

Disability Insurance (RSDI), veterans benefits, Railroad 

Retirement, disability workers' compensation, unemployment 

benefits, child support, alimony, spousal support, pensions, 

retirement benefits, settlement benefits, rental income, and 

lottery/bingo winnings. Income excludes public assistance 

program benefits such as SSI and TANF payments, foster 

care payments, general relief, loans, grants, or scholarships 
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for educational expenses or earned income of a child who is a 

student.  

"FAMIS" means the Family Access to Medical Insurance 

Security Plan.  

"FAMIS MOMS" means the Title XXI program available to 

eligible pregnant women.  

"Federal poverty level" or "FPL" means that income 

standard as published annually by the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services in the Federal Register.  

"Fee-for-service" means the traditional Medicaid health care 

delivery and payment system in which physicians and other 

providers receive a payment for each unit of service they 

provide.  

"Fraud" means an intentional deception or misrepresentation 

made by a person with the knowledge that the deception 

could result in some unauthorized benefit to herself or some 

other person. It includes any act that constitutes fraud under 

applicable federal or state laws.  

"Group health plan" or "health insurance coverage" means 

that health care coverage as defined in § 2791 of the Public 

Health Services Act (42 USC § 300gg-91(a) and (b)(1)).  

"Guardian" means a person appointed by a court of 

competent jurisdiction to be responsible for the affairs of an 

incapacitated individual, including responsibility for making 

decisions regarding the person's support, care, health, safety, 

habilitation, education, and therapeutic treatment, and, if not 

inconsistent with an order of commitment, residence.  

"Incapacitated individual" means a person who, pursuant to 

an order of a court of competent jurisdiction, has been found 

to be incapable of receiving and evaluating information 

effectively or responding to people, events, or environments 

to such an extent that the individual lacks the capacity to (i) 

meet the essential requirements of her health, care, safety, or 

therapeutic needs without the assistance or protection of a 

guardian, or (ii) manage property or financial affairs or 

provide for her support or for the support of her legal 

dependents without the assistance or protection of a 

conservator.  

"Legally emancipated" means that the parents and child 

have gone through the court and a judge has declared that the 

parents have surrendered the right to care, custody, and 

earnings of the child and have renounced parental duties. A 

married minor is not emancipated unless a court has declared 

the married minor emancipated from her parents.  

"LDSS" or "local department" means the local department of 

social services.  

"Managed care health insurance plan" or "MCHIP" as 

defined in § 32.1-137.1 of the Code of Virginia means an 

arrangement for the delivery of health care in which a health 

carrier under contract with DMAS for Title XXI delivery 

systems undertakes to provide, arrange and pay for, or 

reimburse any of the costs of health care services for a 

covered person on a prepaid or insured basis, which contains 

one or more incentive arrangements, including any credential 

requirements intended to influence the cost of the health care 

services between the health carrier and one or more providers 

and requires or creates benefit payment differential incentives 

for covered persons to use providers that are directly or 

indirectly managed, owned, under contract with or employed 

by the health carrier.  

"Member of a family," for purposes of determining whether 

the applicant is eligible for coverage under a state employee 

health insurance plan, means a spouse, parent or parents, 

including stepparents with whom the child is living if the 

stepparent claims the child as a dependent on the employee's 

federal tax return.  

"Pregnant woman" means a woman of any age who is 

medically determined to be pregnant. The pregnant woman 

definition is met from the first day of the earliest month that 

the medical practitioner certifies as being a month in which 

the woman was pregnant, through the last day of the month in 

which the 60th day occurs, following the last day of the 

month in which her pregnancy ended, regardless of the reason 

the pregnancy ended.  

"Primary care case management (PCCM)" means a system 

under which a physician acting as a primary care case 

manager furnishes case management services to FAMIS 

MOMS enrollees pursuant to a contract with DMAS.  

"Primary care provider" or "PCP" means a physician 

enrolled in the PCCM program as a primary case manager.  

"Provider" means the individual, facility, or other entity 

registered, licensed, or certified, as appropriate, and enrolled 

by an MCHIP, a PCCM, or in fee-for-service to render 

services to FAMIS MOMS enrollees eligible for services.  

"Title XXI" means the federal State Children's Health 

Insurance Program as established by Subtitle J of the 

Balanced Budget Act of 1997.  

"Virginia State Employee Health Insurance Plan" means a 

health insurance plan offered by the Commonwealth of 

Virginia to its employees.  

12VAC30-141-680. Administration and general 

background.  

A. The state shall use funds provided under Title XXI for 

obtaining coverage that meets the requirements of Title XXI 

of the Social Security Act and any waiver of federal 

regulations approved by the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services.  

B. The DMAS director will have the authority to contract 

with entities for the purpose of establishing a centralized 

processing site, determining eligibility, enrolling eligible 

pregnant women into health plans, performing outreach, data 

collection, reporting, and other services necessary for the 

administration of the FAMIS MOMS program; and for 

employing state staff to perform Medicaid eligibility 

determinations on pregnant women referred by the 

contractor's staff.  
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C. Health care services under FAMIS MOMS shall be 

provided through MCHIPs, PCCMs, and fee-for-service or 

through any other heath health care delivery system deemed 

appropriate by the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services.  

12VAC30-141-730. Review procedures.  

A. At a minimum, the MCHIP review shall be conducted 

pursuant to written procedures as defined in § 32.1-137.6 of 

the Code of Virginia and as may be further defined by 

DMAS. Such procedures shall be subject to review and 

approval by DMAS.  

B. The DMAS review shall be conducted pursuant to written 

procedures developed by DMAS.  

C. The procedures in effect on the date a particular request 

for review is received by the MCHIP or DMAS shall apply 

throughout the review.  

D. Copies of the procedures shall be promptly mailed by the 

MCHIP or DMAS to applicants and enrollees upon receipt of 

timely requests for review. Such written procedures shall 

include but not be limited to the following:  

1. The right to representation by an attorney or other agent 

of the applicant's or enrollee's choice, but at no time shall 

the MCHIP, local department of social services, DSS, or 

DMAS be required to obtain or compensate attorneys or 

other agents acting on behalf of applicants or enrollees;  

2. The right to timely review of their files and other 

applicable information relevant to the review of the 

decision;  

3. The right to fully participate in the review process, 

whether the review is conducted in person or in writing, 

including the presentation of supplemental information 

during the review process;  

4. The right to have personal and medical information and 

records maintained as confidential; and  

5. The right to a written final decision within 90 calendar 

days of receipt of the request for review, unless the 

applicant or enrollee requests or causes a delay.  

E. For eligibility and enrollment matters, if the applicant's or 

enrollee's physician or health plan determines that the 90-

calendar-day timeframe could seriously jeopardize the 

applicant's or enrollee's life or health or ability to attain, 

maintain, or regain maximum function, an applicant or 

enrollee will have the opportunity to expedited review. Under 

these conditions, a request for review shall result in a written 

final decision within three business days after DMAS 

receives, from the physician or health plan, the case record 

and information indicating that taking the time for a standard 

resolution of the review request could seriously jeopardize the 

applicant's or enrollee's life or health or ability to attain, 

maintain or regain maximum function, unless the applicant or 

enrollee or her authorized representative causes a delay.  

F. For health services matters for FAMIS MOMS enrollees 

receiving services through MCHIPs, if the enrollee's 

physician or health plan determines that the 90-calendar-day 

timeframe could seriously jeopardize the enrollee's life or 

health or ability to attain, maintain, or regain maximum 

function, an enrollee will have the opportunity to expedited 

review. Under these conditions, a request for review shall 

result in a written decision by the external quality review 

organization within 72 hours from the time an enrollee 

requests expedited review, unless the applicant, enrollee, or 

authorized representative requests or causes a delay. If a 

delay is requested or caused by the applicant, enrollee, or 

authorized representative, then expedited review may be 

extended up to 14 calendar days.  

G. For health services matters for FAMIS MOMS enrollees 

receiving services through fee-for-service or PCCM, if the 

enrollee's physician or health plan determines that the 90-

calendar-day timeframe could seriously jeopardize the 

enrollee's life, health or ability to attain, maintain, or regain 

maximum function, an enrollee will have the opportunity to 

expedited review. Under these conditions, a request for 

review shall result in a written decision within 72 hours from 

the time an enrollee requests expedited review, unless the 

applicant, enrollee, or authorized representative requests or 

causes a delay. If a delay is requested or caused by the 

applicant, enrollee, or authorized representative, then 

expedited review may be extended up to 14 calendar days.  

12VAC30-141-830. Benefits reimbursement.  

A. Reimbursement for the services covered under FAMIS 

MOMS fee-for-service and PCCM and MCHIPs shall be as 

specified in this section.  

B. Reimbursement for physician services, surgical services, 

clinic services, prescription drugs, laboratory and radiological 

services, outpatient mental health services, early intervention 

services, emergency services, home health services, 

immunizations, mammograms, medical transportation, organ 

transplants, skilled nursing services, well baby and well child 

care, vision services, durable medical equipment, disposable 

medical supplies, dental services, case management services, 

physical therapy/occupational therapy/speech-language 

therapy services, hospice services, school-based health 

services, and certain community-based mental health services 

shall be based on the Title XIX rates.  

C. Reimbursement to MCHIPs shall be determined on the 

basis of the estimated cost of providing the MCHIP benefit 

package and services to an actuarially equivalent population. 

MCHIP rates will be determined annually and published 30 

days prior to the effective date.  

D. Exceptions.  

1. Prior authorization is required after five visits in a fiscal 

year for physical therapy, occupational therapy and speech 

therapy provided by home health providers and outpatient 

rehabilitation facilities and for home health skilled nursing 

visits. Prior authorization is required after five visits for 
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outpatient mental health visits in the first year of service 

and prior authorization is required for the following 

nonemergency outpatient procedures: Magnetic Resonance 

Imaging, Computer Axial Tomography scans, or Positron 

Emission Tomography scans.  

2. Reimbursement for inpatient hospital services will be 

based on the Title XIX rates in effect for each hospital. 

Reimbursement shall not include payments for 

disproportionate share or graduate medical education 

payments made to hospitals. Payments made shall be final 

and there shall be no retrospective cost settlements.  

3. Reimbursement for outpatient hospital services shall be 

based on the Title XIX rates in effect for each hospital. 

Payments made will be final and there will be no 

retrospective cost settlements.  

4. Reimbursement for inpatient mental health services 

other than by free standing psychiatric hospitals will be 

based on the Title XIX rates in effect for each hospital. 

Reimbursement will not include payments for 

disproportionate share or graduate medical education 

payments made to hospitals. Payments made will be final 

and there will be no retrospective cost settlements.  

5. Reimbursement for outpatient rehabilitation services 

will be based on the Title XIX rates in effect for each 

rehabilitation agency. Payments made will be final and 

there will be no retrospective cost settlements.  

6. Reimbursement for outpatient substance abuse treatment 

services will be based on rates determined by DMAS for 

children ages 6 through 18. Payments made will be final 

and there will be no retrospective cost settlements.  

7. Reimbursement for prescription drugs will be based on 

the Title XIX rates in effect. Reimbursements for Title 

XXI do not receive drug rebates as under Title XIX.  

8. Reimbursement for covered prescription drugs for non-

institutionalized FAMIS MOMS recipients receiving the 

fee-for-service or PCCM benefits will be subject to review 

and prior authorization when their current number of 

prescriptions exceeds nine unique prescriptions within 180 

days, and as may be further defined by the agency's 

guidance documents for pharmacy utilization review and 

the prior authorization program. The prior authorization 

process shall be applied consistent with the process set 

forth in 12VAC30-50-210 A 7.  

12VAC30-141-850. Utilization control.  

A. Each MCHIP shall implement a utilization review system 

as determined by contract with DMAS, or administered by 

DMAS.  

B. For both the fee-for-service and PCCM programs 

program, DMAS shall use the utilization controls already 

established and operational in the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance.  

C. DMAS may collect and review comprehensive data to 

monitor utilization after receipt of services.  

12VAC30-141-880. Assignment to managed care.  

A. All eligible enrollees shall be assigned in managed care 

through the department or the central processing unit (CPU) 

under contract to DMAS. FAMIS MOMS recipients, during 

the preassignment period to a PCP or an MCHIP, shall 

receive Medicaid-like benefits via fee-for-service utilizing a 

FAMIS MOMS card issued by DMAS. After assignment to a 

PCP or an MCHIP, benefits and the delivery of benefits shall 

be administered specific to the type of managed care program 

in which the recipient is enrolled.  

1. MCHIPs shall be offered to enrollees in certain all areas.  

2. In areas with one contracted MCHIP, all All enrollees 

shall be assigned to that contracted MCHIP.  

3. In areas with multiple contracted MCHIPs or in PCCM 

areas without contracted MCHIPs, enrollees Enrollees 

shall be assigned through a random system algorithm.  

4. In areas without contracted MCHIPs, enrollees shall be 

assigned to the primary care case management program 

(PCCM) or into the fee-for-service component.  

5. 4. Enrolled individuals residing in PCCM areas without 

contracted MCHIPs or in areas with multiple MCHIPs will 

receive a letter indicating that they may select one of the 

contracted MCHIPs or primary care provider (PCP) in the 

PCCM program, in each case, which that serve such area. 

Enrollees who do not select an MCHIP/PCP MCHIP as 

described above, shall be assigned to an MCHIP/PCP 

MCHIP as described in subdivision 3 of this subsection.  

6. Individuals assigned to an MCHIP or a PCCM who lose 

and then regain eligibility for FAMIS MOMS within 60 

days will be reassigned to their previous MCHIP or PCP.  

B. Following their initial assignment to a MCHIP/PCP an 

MCHIP, those enrollees shall be restricted to that 

MCHIP/PCP MCHIP until their next annual eligibility 

redetermination, unless appropriately disenrolled by the 

department.  

1. During the first 90 calendar days of managed care 

assignment, an enrollee may request reassignment for any 

reason from that MCHIP/PCP MCHIP to another 

MCHIP/PCP MCHIP serving that geographic area. Such 

reassignment shall be effective no later than the first day of 

the second month after the month in which the enrollee 

requests reassignment.  

2. Reassignment is available only in areas with the PCCM 

program or where multiple MCHIPs exist. If multiple 

MCHIPs exist, enrollees may only request reassignment to 

another MCHIP serving that geographic area. In PCCM 

areas, an enrollee may only request reassignment to 

another PCP serving that geographic area.  

3. 2. After the first 90 calendar days of the assignment 

period, the enrollee may only be reassigned from one 

MCHIP/PCP MCHIP to another MCHIP/PCP MCHIP 

upon determination by DMAS that good cause exists 

pursuant to subsection C of this section.  
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C. Disenrollment for good cause may be requested at any 

time.  

1. After the first 90 days of assignment in managed care, 

enrollees may request disenrollment from DMAS based on 

good cause. The request must be made in writing to DMAS 

and cite the reasons why the enrollee wishes to be 

reassigned. The department shall establish procedures for 

good cause reassignment through written policy directives.  

2. DMAS shall determine whether good cause exists for 

reassignment.  

D. Exclusion for assignment to a MCHIP. The following 

individuals shall be excluded from assignment to a MCHIP. 

Newly eligible individuals who are in the third trimester of 

pregnancy and who request exclusion within a department-

specified time frame of the effective date of their MCHIP 

enrollment. Exclusion may be granted only if the member's 

obstetrical provider (physician or hospital) does not 

participate with the enrollee's assigned MCHIP. Exclusion 

requests made during the third trimester may be made by the 

enrollee, MCHIP, or provider. DMAS shall determine if the 

request meets the criteria for exclusion.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3371; Filed May 22, 2013, 11:12 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-15. Regulations Governing 

Delegation to an Agency Subordinate (amending 

18VAC90-15-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 17, 2013. 

Effective Date: August 2, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 

the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards, 

including the responsibility to promulgate regulations and the 

authority to delegate an informal conference to an agency 

subordinate. 

Purpose: One of the most important functions of the 

Department of Health Professions is the investigation and 

adjudication of disciplinary cases to ensure that the public is 

adequately protected if a health care professional violates a 

law or regulation. Delegation of informal conferences to an 

agency subordinate, who is either a former board member or 

former board staff, allows the Board of Nursing to bring 

closure to cases to protect the health and safety of the public. 

In § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia, provisions for an 

informal fact-finding proceeding establish the rights of parties 

to a disciplinary case, including the right to "appear in person 

or by counsel or other qualified representative before the 

agency or its subordinates, or before a hearing officer for the 

informal presentation of factual data, argument, or proof in 

connection with any case." While certain standard of care 

cases continue to be heard by board members appointed to a 

special conference committee, a decision to delegate cases 

that may involve harm or injury to a patient must be approved 

by the board president. The ability to have the executive 

director make decisions on delegation will facilitate 

scheduling of proceedings before an agency subordinate, thus 

ensuring resolution in a timelier manner and reserving board 

member time for hearing more serious matters. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The amendment is 

less restrictive and not controversial. Professional staff for the 

board already determines which cases should be heard by an 

agency subordinate. The board unanimously agreed that the 

additional step of getting approval by the board president for 

delegating certain cases is unnecessary. 

Substance: The amendment allows approval by the president 

or the executive director of the board for delegation to an 

agency subordinate cases that involve injury or harm to a 

patient. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is more timely 

resolution of disciplinary cases. There are no disadvantages. 

The advantage to the Commonwealth is facilitation of the 

delegation process and preservation of board member time for 

proceedings that involve more serious allegations. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Nursing (Board) proposes to amend its regulations 

that set the rules for delegation to an agency subordinate by 

adding the executive director of the Board as an entity that 

has the power to delegate.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 

proposed regulations. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations state that 

cases that involve serious injury or harm to a patient may not 

be delegated to an agency subordinate except when such 

delegation is approved by the president of the Board. The 

Board proposes to add the executive director of the Board as a 

second entity who can approve delegation. No entity is likely 

to incur any costs on account of this regulatory change. To 

the extent that this change allows disciplinary cases to be 

resolved more quickly, both regulated entities and individuals 

who have filed complaints will likely benefit. 
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Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Health 

Professions (DHP) reports that there are no good estimates of 

how many entities will be affected by this proposed change. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur costs on account of this proposed change. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur costs on 

account of this proposed change.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Nursing concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget on proposed amended 

regulations for 18VAC90-15, Regulations Governing 

Delegation to an Agency Subordinate. 

Summary:  

The amendment permits the executive director of the board 

to delegate to an agency subordinate cases that involve 

injury or harm to a patient. 

18VAC90-15-20. Criteria for delegation.  

Cases that involve intentional or negligent conduct that 

caused serious injury or harm to a patient may not be 

delegated to an agency subordinate, except as may be 

approved by the president or executive director of the board.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3545; Filed May 23, 2013, 1:23 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-20-10, 

18VAC90-20-220; adding 18VAC90-20-221, 18VAC90-20-

222).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish requirements for continuing 

competency activities or courses in order to renew an 

active license as a registered nurse or a practical nurse 

each biennium. The options available include a refresher 

course, a post-licensure academic course, current specialty 

certification, research and teaching, active practice for 

640 hours and 15 hours of courses, or 30 hours of 

approved courses. The entities and organizations that can 

recognize or approve a continuing education provider are 

listed in the regulation.  

The regulations provide an exemption for nurses who have 

an active license as a nurse practitioner and for the second 

license if someone is licensed as an RN and LPN. Finally, 

the regulation includes a requirement for documentation of 

completion to be maintained for two years following 

renewal, and the documentation required for each type of 

activity or requirement is specified. 

Changes to the proposed regulation in the final adoption 

were made in response to public comment and include (i) a 

definition for "contact hour," (ii) deletion of an inaccurate 

phrase in the definition of "national certifying 

organization," (iii) additional activities that may be 

counted for continuing competency hours, and (iv) 

additions to the listing of approved providers of continuing 

education. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  
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Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC90-20-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in § 54.1-3030 of the 

Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when used 

in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Accreditation" means having been accredited by the 

National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission 

(NLNAC) or by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing 

Education (CCNE). 

"Active practice" means activities performed, whether or not 

for compensation, for which an active license to practice 

nursing is required. 

"Approval" means the process by which the board or a 

governmental agency in another state or foreign country 

evaluates and grants official recognition to nursing education 

programs that meet established standards not inconsistent 

with Virginia law. 

"Associate degree nursing program" means a nursing 

education program preparing for registered nurse licensure, 

offered by a Virginia college or other institution and designed 

to lead to an associate degree in nursing, provided that the 

institution is authorized to confer such degree by the State 

Council of Higher Education. 

"Baccalaureate degree nursing program" means a nursing 

education program preparing for registered nurse licensure, 

offered by a Virginia college or university and designed to 

lead to a baccalaureate degree with a major in nursing, 

provided that the institution is authorized to confer such 

degree by the State Council of Higher Education. 

"Board" means the Board of Nursing. 

"CGFNS" means the Commission on Graduates of Foreign 

Nursing Schools. 

"Clinical setting" means any location in which the clinical 

practice of nursing occurs as specified in an agreement 

between the cooperating agency and the school of nursing. 

"Conditional approval" means a time-limited status which 

results when an approved nursing education program has 

failed to maintain requirements as set forth in Article 2 

(18VAC90-20-70 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter. 

[ "Contact hour" means 50 minutes of continuing education 

coursework or activity. ]  

"Cooperating agency" means an agency or institution that 

enters into a written agreement to provide learning 

experiences for a nursing education program. 

"Diploma nursing program" means a nursing education 

program preparing for registered nurse licensure, offered by a 

hospital and designed to lead to a diploma in nursing, 

provided the hospital is licensed in this state. 

"NCLEX" means the National Council Licensing 

Examination. 

"NCSBN" means the National Council of State Boards of 

Nursing. 

"National certifying organization" means an organization 

that has as one of its purposes the certification of a specialty 

in nursing based on an examination attesting to the 

knowledge of the nurse for practice in the specialty area [ and 

is accredited by a national body recognized by NCSBN ]. 

"Nursing education program" means an entity offering a 

basic course of study preparing persons for licensure as 

registered nurses or as licensed practical nurses. A basic 

course of study shall include all courses required for the 

degree, diploma or certificate. 

"Nursing faculty" means registered nurses who teach the 

practice of nursing in nursing education programs. 

"Practical nursing program" means a nursing education 

program preparing for practical nurse licensure that leads to a 

diploma or certificate in practical nursing, provided the 

school is authorized by the Virginia State Board of Education 

or the appropriate governmental credentialing agency. 

"Preceptor" means a licensed health care provider who is 

employed in the clinical setting, serves as a resource person 

and role model, and is present with the nursing student in that 

setting. 

"Primary state of residence" means the state of a person's 

declared fixed permanent and principal home or domicile for 

legal purposes. 

"Program director" means a registered nurse who holds a 

current, unrestricted license in Virginia or a multistate 

licensure privilege and who has been designated by the 

controlling authority to administer the nursing education 

program. 

"Provisional approval" means the initial status granted to a 

nursing education program which shall continue until the first 

class has graduated and the board has taken final action on the 

application for approval. 

"Recommendation" means a guide to actions that will assist 

an institution to improve and develop its nursing education 

program. 

"Requirement" means a mandatory condition that a nursing 

education program must meet to be approved. 

18VAC90-20-220. Renewal of licenses.  

A. Licensees born in even-numbered years shall renew their 

licenses by the last day of the birth month in even-numbered 

years. Licensees born in odd-numbered years shall renew 

their licenses by the last day of the birth month in odd-

numbered years. 

B. No less than 30 days prior to the last day of the licensee's 

birth month, a notice for renewal of license shall be mailed by 

the board to the last known address of each licensee, who is 

currently licensed After [ insert date August 1, 2015, ] a nurse 

shall be required to meet the requirements for continued 
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competency set forth in 18VAC90-20-221 in order to renew 

an active license. 

C. A notice for renewal of license shall be sent by the board 

to the last known address of the licensee. The licensee shall 

complete the renewal form and submit it with the required 

fee. 

D. Failure to receive the renewal form shall not relieve the 

licensee of the responsibility for renewing the license by the 

expiration date. 

E. The license shall automatically lapse if the licensee fails 

to renew by the expiration date. 

F. Any person practicing nursing during the time a license 

has lapsed shall be considered an illegal practitioner and shall 

be subject to prosecution under the provisions of § 54.1-3008 

of the Code of Virginia. 

G. Upon renewal, all licensees shall declare their primary 

state of residence. If the declared state of residence is another 

compact state, the licensee is not eligible for renewal. 

18VAC90-20-221. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of an active license. 

A. In order to renew an active nursing license, a licensee 

shall complete at least one of the following learning activities 

or courses: 

1. Current specialty certification by a national certifying 

organization, as defined in 18VAC90-20-10; 

2. Completion of a minimum of three credit hours of post-

licensure academic education relevant to nursing practice, 

offered by a regionally accredited college or university; 

3. A board-approved refresher course in nursing; 

4. Completion of nursing-related, evidence-based practice 

project or research study; 

5. Completion of publication as the author or co-author 

during a renewal cycle; 

6. Teaching [ or developing ] a nursing-related course 

resulting in no less than three semester hours of college 

credit [ , a 15-week course, ] or specialty certification; 

7. Teaching [ or developing ] nursing-related continuing 

education courses for up to 30 contact hours; 

8. Fifteen contact hours of workshops, seminars, 

conferences, or courses relevant to the practice of nursing 

and 640 hours of active practice as a nurse; or 

9. Thirty contact hours of workshops, seminars, 

conferences, or courses relevant to the practice of nursing. 

B. To meet requirements of subdivision A 8 or 9 of this 

section, workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses shall be 

offered by a provider recognized or approved by one of the 

following: 

1. American Nurses Credentialing Center 

(ANCC)/American Nurses Association (ANA); 

2. National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN);  

3. Area Health Education Centers (AHEC) in any state in 

which the AHEC is a member of the National AHEC 

Organization; 

4. Any state nurses association; 

5. National League for Nursing (NLN);  

6. National Association for Practical Nurse Education and 

Service (NAPNES); 

7. National Federation of Licensed Practical Nurses 

(NFLPN);  

8. A licensed health care facility, agency, or hospital;  

9. [ A health care provider association; 

10. Regionally or nationally accredited colleges or 

universities; 

11. ] The American Heart Association [ , the American 

Health and Safety Institute, ] or the American Red Cross 

for courses in advanced resuscitation; or 

[ 10. 12. ] Virginia Board of Nursing or any state board of 

nursing. 

C. Dual licensed persons. 

1. Those persons dually licensed by this board as a 

registered nurse and a licensed practical nurse shall only 

meet one of the continued competency requirements as set 

forth in subsection A of this section. 

2. Registered nurses who also hold an active license as a 

nurse practitioner shall only meet the requirements of 

18VAC90-30-105 and, for those with prescriptive 

authority, 18VAC90-40-55. 

D. A licensee is exempt from the continued competency 

requirement for the first renewal following initial licensure by 

examination or endorsement. 

E. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing competency 

requirements upon written request from the licensee 60 days 

prior to the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the 

licensee of the continuing competency requirement. 

F. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing competency requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters. 

G. Continued competency activities or courses required by 

board order in a disciplinary proceeding shall not be counted 

as meeting the requirements for licensure renewal. 

18VAC90-20-222. Documenting compliance with 

continued competency requirements. 

A. All licensees are required to maintain original 

documentation of completion for a period of two years 

following renewal and to provide such documentation within 

30 days of a request from the board for proof of compliance.   

B. Documentation of compliance shall be as follows: 
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1. Evidence of national certification shall include a copy of 

a certificate that includes name of licensee, name of 

certifying body, date of certification, and date of 

certification expiration. Certification shall be initially 

attained during the licensure period, have been in effect 

during the entire licensure period, or have been recertified 

during the licensure period. 

2. Evidence of post-licensure academic education shall 

include a copy of transcript with the name of the licensee, 

name of educational institution, date of attendance, name 

of course with grade, and number of credit hours received. 

3. Evidence of completion of a board-approved refresher 

course shall include written correspondence from the 

provider with the name of the licensee, name of the 

provider, and verification of successful completion of the 

course. 

4. Evidence of completion of a nursing research or project 

shall include an abstract or summary, the name of the 

licensee, role of the licensee as principal or coprincipal 

investigator, date of completion, statement of the problem, 

research or project objectives, methods used, and summary 

of findings. 

5. Evidence of authoring or co-authoring a published 

nursing-related article, paper, book, or book chapter, which 

shall include a copy of the publication to include the name 

of the licensee and publication date. 

6. Evidence of teaching a course for college credit shall 

include documentation of the course offering, indicating 

instructor, course title, course syllabus, and the number of 

credit hours. Teaching a particular course may only be 

used once to satisfy the continued competency requirement 

unless the course offering and syllabus has changed. 

7. Evidence of teaching a course for continuing education 

credit shall include a written attestation from the director 

of the program or authorizing entity including the date or 

dates of the course or courses and the number of contact 

hours awarded. If the total number of contact hours totals 

less than 30, the licensee shall obtain additional hours in 

continuing learning activities or courses. 

8. Evidence of contact hours of continuing learning 

activities or courses shall include the name of the licensee 

[ , ] title of educational activity, name of the provider, 

number of contact hours, and date of activity. 

9. Evidence of 640 hours of active practice in nursing shall 

include documentation satisfactory to the board of the 

name of the licensee, number of hours worked in calendar 

or fiscal year, name and address of employer, and signature 

of supervisor. If self-employed, hours worked may be 

validated through other methods such as tax records or 

other business records. If active practice is of a volunteer 

or gratuitous nature, hours worked may be validated by the 

recipient agency. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2363; Filed May 15, 2013, 1:44 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-20-181).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 17, 2013. 

Effective Date: August 2, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 

the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards, 

including the responsibility to promulgate regulations. 

Article 6 (§ 54.1-3030 et seq.) of Chapter 30 of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia establishes the legal framework for 

Virginia's participation in the Nurse Licensure Compact. 

Purpose: Since Virginia regulations for participation in the 

Nurse Licensure Compact need to be consistent with the 

model rules and regulations, the amendment is adopted under 

a fast-track action. Permitting practice for 90 days by a nurse 

moving from one compact state to another will ensure 

sufficient time to process documentation and avoid a gap in 

the licensure privilege. Nurses moving to Virginia will be 

able to begin employment without concern that the transfer to 

a new party state cannot be accomplished within the current 

30-day window. The ability to practice for 90 days during the 

processing of the nurses's application may modestly increase 

the availability of nursing care for the health and safety of 

patients in Virginia. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The amendment is 

less restrictive, conforming to the model rules of the compact 

and, therefore, is not controversial. 

Substance: 18VAC90-20-181 is amended to allow a nurse 

who is changing primary state of residence to practice under 

the former party state license and multistate licensure 

privilege for a period not to exceed 90 days rather than the 

current limitation of 30 days. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the potential 

increase in the employment of nurses moving from another 

compact state into Virginia. There are no disadvantages to the 

public. 

The advantage to the Commonwealth is consistency with the 

model rules of the compact. There are no disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board Nursing (Board) proposes to amend its regulations so 

that nurses who have a license to practice in another state that 
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is part of the multistate compact, and who are applying for 

licensure in Virginia, may practice in Virginia for up to 90 

days while awaiting their Virginia licensure application 

approval. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for this 

proposed regulatory change.  

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, nurses who are 

licensed to practice nursing in another state that is part of the 

multistate compact can practice for 30 days in Virginia while 

they await approval of their application for Virginia licensure. 

The Board proposes to extend the time that licensed nurses 

can practice while awaiting Virginia licensure to 90 days and 

report that this will allow Virginia regulations to conform to 

the multistate compact rules. Affected nurses will benefit 

from this extension as it will allow them to continue earning a 

living if their application takes more than 30 days to process. 

No entity should be adversely affected by this change because 

it would only apply to nurses who are in good standing with 

the licensure board in their originating state.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Health 

Professions (DHP) reports that 3,355 registered nurses and 

416 licensed practical nurses were licensed by endorsement in 

2012. DHP estimates that about half of these individuals 

would be affected by these proposed regulations since almost 

half of states participate in the Nurse Licensure Compact.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 

likely have little impact on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

regulatory action will likely have little effect on the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No affected small 

business is likely to incur costs on account of these proposed 

regulations. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No affected small business is likely to incur 

costs on account of these proposed regulations. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Nursing concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget on proposed amended regulations for 

18VAC90-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Nursing. 

Summary: 

The amendments extend the maximum time period from 30 

days to 90 days that nurses who (i) have a license to 

practice in another state that is part of the multistate 

compact and (ii) are applying for licensure in Virginia can 

practice in Virginia while waiting for approval of their 

Virginia licensure application. 

18VAC90-20-181. Issuance of a license with a multistate 

licensure privilege. 

A. In order to be issued a license with a multistate licensure 

privilege by the board, a nurse currently licensed in Virginia 

or a person applying for licensure in Virginia shall submit a 

declaration stating that his primary residence is in Virginia. 

Evidence of a primary state of residence may be required to 

include but not be limited to:  

1. A driver's license with a home address;  

2. A voter registration card displaying a home address;  

3. A federal or state tax return declaring the primary state 

of residence; 

4. A Military Form No. 2058 - state of legal residence; or 

5. A W-2 from the United States government or any 

bureau, division, or agency thereof indicating the declared 

state of residence. 

B. A nurse on a visa from another country applying for 

licensure in Virginia may declare either the country of origin 

or Virginia as the primary state of residence. If the foreign 

country is declared as the primary state of residence, a single 

state license shall be issued by Virginia. 

C. A nurse changing the primary state of residence from 

another party state to Virginia may continue to practice under 

the former party state license and multistate licensure 

privilege during the processing of the nurse's licensure 
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application by the board for a period not to exceed 30 90 

days.  

1. If a nurse is under a pending investigation by a former 

home state, the licensure application in Virginia shall be 

held in abeyance and the 30-day 90-day authorization to 

practice stayed until resolution of the pending 

investigation.  

2. A license issued by a former party state shall no longer 

be valid upon issuance of a license by the board.  

3. If the board denies licensure to an applicant from 

another party state, it shall notify the former home state 

within 10 business days, and the former home state may 

take action in accordance with the laws and regulations of 

that state.  

D. A license issued by a party state is valid for practice in all 

other party states, unless clearly designated as valid only in 

the state that issued the license. When a party state issues a 

license authorizing practice only in that state and not 

authorizing practice in other party states, the license shall be 

clearly marked with words indicating that it is valid only in 

the state of issuance. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3559; Filed May 23, 2013, 1:26 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-355).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 17, 2013. 

Effective Date: August 2, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. The specific 

authority to control the sale and dispensing of prescription 

drugs is found in Chapters 33 (§ 54.1-3300 et seq.) and 34 

(§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The goal of the amended regulation is to protect the 

safety and efficacy of drugs dispensed to patients from 

automated counting devices in a manner that is reasonable 

and the least burdensome to pharmacies that use such devices. 

The amended regulation is less burdensome and less costly 

for pharmacies that utilize automated counting devices. Most 

such devices are used for fast-moving drugs, so the 

requirement to allow the bins to run dry every 60 days to 

prevent expired drugs from being dispensed is not necessary 

to protect public health and safety unless there is a risk of a 

drug that has been recalled remaining in a bin and being 

dispensed to patients. Some states do not allow multiple lots 

to be placed in one bin, but the majority of states have no 

such requirement and no run dry requirement. 

In modifying 18VAC110-20-355, the board considered 

safeguards that would ensure recalled drugs are not being 

dispensed to patients. If the technology of the device can 

ensure drugs in a particular lot have been cleared out of the 

machine, it is not necessary to dispose of all drugs in a bin to 

which a recalled lot has been added. If a particular device 

does not have such technology, and if multiple lots are in a 

bin, the drugs may have to be removed and not used for 

patient care when there is a recall on any of the lots within the 

last three months. Additionally, the regulation requires 

regular emptying and cleaning of the device to avoid an 

accumulation of drug residue that might affect the efficacy of 

the drugs or the accuracy of the dispensing.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The board has opted 

to use the fast-track process for two reasons: the action is 

consistent with the Governor's project to reform regulations 

that are unnecessarily burdensome, and there was no 

objection voiced during the NOIRA comment period. 

Substance: The public safety concern with the use of 

automated counting devices is that if there is a recall on a lot 

number among the drugs that have been placed in a bulk bin, 

can the recalled drugs be completely removed from the 

device. Therefore, the amended regulation specifies emptying 

the device and disposing of drugs if one of multiple lots has 

been placed in the bin or cell in the last three months and it is 

known that a recalled lot remains in the bin. Exceptions to the 

requirement for disposal are included if there is a reliable 

means of proving that the drugs included in the recall are no 

longer in the bin or if the bin has been allowed to run dry 

since the recalled lot was placed in the bin. The intent of the 

regulation is to protect the public without unnecessarily 

requiring drugs to be disposed of and wasted. Since the run 

dry requirement is eliminated, a provision requiring emptying 

and cleaning of the bins in accordance with manufacturers 

specifications is added to alleviate any concerns about drug 

residue affecting functionality and quality assurance. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the regulatory action is cost 

and time savings to pharmacies that are currently required to 

run dry cells or bins in automated counting devices. The 

purposes for the requirement can be accomplished with a less 

burdensome and costly regulation that assures recalled lots of 

drugs do not remain in the cell for dispensing. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth. 
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to eliminate the current 

requirement that bulk bins in an automated counting device 

be run dry every 60 days. In addition, the Board proposes to 

specify that: 1) only if there is a drug recall within the last 

three months or if it is known that a recalled drug is in the 

device will it be required that drugs be removed, and 2) if the 

device has technology that ensures a particular lot has been 

cleared or if the bin has been allowed to run dry since the 

addition of the recalled lot, it will not be necessary to remove 

all drugs in the bin in the event of a recall. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Under the current regulations, if 

only one lot is added to a bin at one time, but a subsequent lot 

is added before the first has cleared, the bin is required to 

"run dry" where all product is completely removed prior to 

filling at least once every 60 days with a record made of the 

run dry dates. The Board proposes to repeal this mandate to 

have the pharmaceuticals completely removed prior to filling 

at least once every 60 days; but at the same the Board 

proposes to specify that: 

In the event of a drug recall involving one of multiple 

lots placed in a bin of an automated counting device in 

the last three months or if a recalled drug is known to 

remain in the bin, all drugs shall be removed from the bin 

and not used for patient care. The removal of drugs from 

the bin is not required if: 

a. The technology of the automated counting device can 

ensure drugs in a particular lot have been cleared; or 

b. The bin has been run dry, with a record made of the 

run dry date, since the addition of the recalled lot number 

in which all drugs were completely removed prior to 

filling with a subsequent lot number. 

The proposal to eliminate the "run dry" requirement will 

result in cost savings both in staff time consumed with 

meeting the current 60-day run-dry requirement and in the 

unnecessary loss of drugs that are removed every 60 days 

when the bin must be "run dry." Public safety is maintained 

by no longer requiring the removal of pharmaceuticals when 

there is no clear benefit, but requiring removal when there is a 

risk of recalled drugs being present. Thus, the proposed 

amendments produce a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

affect the 1,760 pharmacies in Virginia that have a current 

license (permit). 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments modestly reduce costs for pharmacies 

by eliminating the requirement that bulk bins in an automated 

counting device be "run dry" every 60 days. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposal to 

eliminate the "run dry" requirement will result in cost savings 

for small businesses both in staff time consumed and in the 

unnecessary loss of drugs that are removed every 60 days 

when the bin must be run dry. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the economic impact analysis of 

the Department of Planning and Budget on proposed 

amended regulations for 18VAC110-20, Regulations 

Governing the Pharmacy, relating to "run-dry" requirements 

for automated counting devices. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action eliminates the current requirement 

in 18VAC110-20-355 that bulk bins in an automated 

counting device be "run dry" every 60 days to prevent 

expired drugs from being dispensed. If a drug recall 

occurs within the last three months or if it is known that a 

recalled drug is in the device, the amended regulation 

requires that all drugs be removed from the bin and not 
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used for patient care. If the device has technology that 

ensures a particular drug lot has been cleared or if the bin 

has been allowed to "run dry" since the addition of the 

recalled drug lot, it will not be necessary to remove all 

drugs from the bin in the event of a recall. A requirement 

for cleaning and maintaining the automated counting 

device is included in the amendments to the regulation.  

18VAC110-20-355. Pharmacy repackaging of drug; 

records required; labeling requirements.  

A. Pharmacies in which bulk reconstitution of injectable, 

bulk compounding or the repackaging or prepackaging of 

drugs is performed shall maintain adequate control records 

for a period of one year or until the expiration, whichever is 

greater. The records shall show the name of the drug(s) used; 

strength, if any; date repackaged; quantity prepared; initials of 

the pharmacist verifying the process; the assigned lot or 

control number; the manufacturer's or distributor's name and 

lot or control number; and an expiration date.  

B. The drug name; strength, if any; the assigned lot or 

control number or the manufacturer's or distributor's name 

and lot or control number; and an appropriate expiration date 

determined by the pharmacist in accordance with USP 

guidelines shall appear on any subsequently repackaged or 

reconstituted units.  

C. Pharmacies using automated counting devices or 

dispensers in which drugs are removed from manufacturer's 

original packaging and placed in bulk bins shall comply with 

the following requirements:  

1. A bin filling record shall be maintained, manually or in a 

computerized record for a period of one year from date of 

filling from which information can be readily retrieved, for 

each bin including: 

a. The drug name and strength, if any;  

b. The name of the manufacturer or distributor;  

c. Manufacturer's control or lot number(s) and expiration 

date for all lots placed into the bin at the time of filling;  

d. Any assigned lot number;  

e. An expiration date determined according to USP 

guidelines for repackaging; 

f. The date of filling; and 

g. The pharmacist's initials verifying the accuracy of the 

process. 

2. If more than one lot is added to a bin at the same time, 

the lot which expires first shall be used to determine the 

expiration date if shorter than a calculated date based on 

USP guidelines. 

3. Each bin shall be labeled in such a manner as to cross-

reference the information on the filling record with the 

correct expiration date. 

4. If only one lot is added to a bin at one time, but a 

subsequent lot may be added before the first has cleared, 

the automated device shall be constructed to reasonably 

dispense the first lot before the second lot is dispensed, and 

the expiration date on the bin's label shall reflect the 

expiration date assigned to the earlier lot, and the bin shall 

be allowed to "run dry" where all product is completely 

removed prior to filling at least once every 60 days with a 

record made of the run dry dates. 

5. In the event of a drug recall involving one of multiple 

lots placed in a bin of an automated counting device in the 

last three months or if a recalled drug is known to remain 

in the bin, all drugs shall be removed from the bin and not 

used for patient care. The removal of drugs from the bin is 

not required if: 

a. The technology of the automated counting device can 

ensure drugs in a particular lot have been cleared; or 

b. The bin has been "run dry," with a record made of the 

"run dry" date, since the addition of the recalled lot 

number in which all drugs were completely removed 

prior to filling with a subsequent lot number. 

6. An automated counting device shall be cleaned and 

maintained in accordance with recommended manufacturer 

guidelines and specifications. 

D. A pharmacy may return a dispensed drug to stock for 

redispensing that has never left the pharmacy premises or the 

control of the pharmacy delivery agent pursuant to § 54.1-

3411.1 A 3 of the Code of Virginia under the following 

conditions: 

1. An expiration date shall be placed on the label prior to 

returning the drug to stock. In the absence of stability data 

to the contrary, the date on the label may not exceed the 

expiration date on the manufacturer's container or one year 

from the date the drug was originally dispensed and placed 

in the prescription vial, whichever date is earlier.  

2. The restocked drug shall be used to fill the next 

prescription received for that product. In the event that the 

drug is not dispensed prior to the new assigned expiration 

date, it shall be removed from working stock as expired, 

and disposed of in accordance with 18VAC110-20-210. 

3. If there is no lot number on the label of a drug returned 

to stock or on the prescription records that can be cross-

referenced from the prescription label, the drug shall be 

removed from stock upon any recall of that drug product 

and returned to the manufacturer or otherwise disposed of 

in accordance with 18VAC110-20-210.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3083; Filed May 22, 2013, 2:08 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-30. Regulations for 

Practitioners of the Healing Arts to Sell Controlled 

Substances (amending 18VAC110-30-20, 18VAC110-30-

90, 18VAC110-30-100, 18VAC110-30-130).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 
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Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 17, 2013. 

Effective Date: August 2, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 527-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The action is the result of a periodic review conducted 

pursuant to the Governor's Regulatory Reform Project. 

18VAC110-30, Regulations for Practitioners of the Healing 

Arts to Sell Controlled Substances, is promulgated under the 

general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, 

which establishes the general powers and duties of health 

regulatory boards, including the responsibility to promulgate 

regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process 

Act.  

The specific statutory authority for the Board of Pharmacy to 

regulate the practice of pharmacy, including the dispensing of 

controlled substances, is found in § 54.1-3307 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to reduce 

the requirements for the enclosure used by practitioners for 

the storage and selling of controlled substances. The 

amendments to the regulation eliminate requirements that are 

not necessary to protect the health of patients or safety of 

prescription medications. While security of patient records 

and of stock of drugs is essential, the amendments make 

reasonable allowances for access while the licensee is on duty 

or for emergency access by another licensed physician. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The board has opted 

to use the fast-track process for two reasons: the action is 

consistent with the Governor's project to reform regulations 

that are unnecessarily burdensome, and the board does not 

anticipate any objection to the amendments to the regulation. 

Substance: The substantive changes are (i) reduction in the 

square footage for the selling and storage area from 60 to 40 

square feet; (ii) allowance for maintenance of prescription 

records outside of the area if access is limited to authorized 

persons; (iii) elimination of specific height requirements for 

the enclosure; and (iv) security access to the area by other 

persons authorized to assist the practitioner while the 

practitioner is on duty. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the regulatory action is less 

burdensome and costly regulation for practitioners who sell 

controlled substances to their patients. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. By reducing the square foot 

requirement for the selling and storage area, fewer requests 

for a limited use permit or a waiver from the 60-foot 

requirement will occur. There are no disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth.  

Small Business Impact Report of Findings: This regulatory 

action serves as the report of findings of the regulatory review 

pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 

result of a periodic review, the Board of Pharmacy (Board) 

proposes to amend its regulations for controlled substances 

sold by practitioners of the healing arts. Specifically, the 

Board proposes to add practitioners of osteopathic medicine 

and podiatry to the list in these regulations of those that are 

eligible to sell controlled substances, decrease the amount of 

space that licensed entities must allot for storage of controlled 

substances and eliminate other requirements for storage areas 

that the Board deems unnecessary.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for 

implementing these proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations specify that 

individuals who possess a current active license to practice 

medicine are eligible to be licensed to sell controlled 

substances. The Code of Virginia and other relevant 

regulations, however, also allow individuals licensed in 

osteopathic medicine and as podiatrists to be licensed to sell 

controlled substances. The Board now proposes to add these 

groups so that these regulations conform to the Code of 

Virginia and current practice. No entity is likely to incur costs 

on account of this regulatory change. Interested individuals 

will benefit from having a seeming contradiction between 

these regulations and the Code of Virginia fixed. 

Current regulations require individuals licensed under these 

regulations to have an area or not less than 60 square feet. 

Currently, the Board can grant a waiver to this requirement 

but now proposes to change it so that licensees will just have 

to have 40 square feet to hold the prescription drugs that they 

are licensed to sell. This change will benefit licensees as they 

can choose to use the space that would otherwise be used to 

store drugs more efficiently and for some other purpose. 

Current regulations also contain a list of other requirements 

that selling or storage area must conform to. The Board 

proposes to amend these provisions to eliminate any that do 

not contribute directly to the security of the storage/selling 

area. For instance the Board proposes to eliminate provisions 

that prescribe the type of doors that these enclosures must 

have but keep requirements that enclosures be locked and 

alarmed when the licensee is not on duty. No entity is likely 

to incur costs on account of these changes nor is the security 

of controlled substances likely to be affected. Licensed 

entities will likely benefit from additional flexibility to 

structure their storage areas in a more efficient manner that 

the proposed regulations will afford them.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Health 

Professions (DHP) reports that there are 591 licensed 

practitioners of the healing arts (physicians, individuals 

licensed in osteopathic medicine and podiatrists) who are 
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licensed to sell prescription drugs in the Commonwealth. All 

of these entities will be affected by these proposed 

regulations.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by the proposed regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to have any impact 

on the use or value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of this regulatory action.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the economic impact analysis of 

the Department of Planning and Budget for amendments to 

18VAC110-30, relating to regulatory reform changes. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action amends requirements for the selling 

and storage area used by practitioners who sell controlled 

substances to their patients for consistency with amended 

regulations governing the practice of pharmacy and in 

response to the Governor's Regulatory Reform Initiative. 

The amendments (i) reduce in square footage the selling 

and storage area enclosure from 60 to 40 square feet; (ii) 

allow for maintenance of prescription records outside of 

the area if access is limited to authorized persons; (iii) 

eliminate the specific height requirements for the 

enclosure; and (iv) stipulate access to the area by other 

persons authorized to assist the practitioner while he is on 

duty.  

Part II  

Licensure Requirements  

18VAC110-30-20. Application for licensure.  

A. Prior to engaging in the sale of controlled substances, a 

practitioner shall make application on a form provided by the 

board and be issued a license.  

B. In order to be eligible for a license to sell controlled 

substances, a practitioner shall possess a current, active 

license to practice medicine, osteopathic medicine, or 

podiatry issued by the Virginia Board of Medicine. Any 

disciplinary action taken by the Board of Medicine against the 

practitioner's license to practice medicine shall constitute 

grounds for the board to deny, restrict, or place terms on the 

license to sell.  

C. For good cause shown, the board may issue a limited-use 

license, when the scope, degree or type of services provided 

to the patient is of a limited nature. The license to be issued 

shall be based on conditions of use requested by the applicant 

or imposed by the board in cases where certain requirements 

of regulations may be waived. The following conditions shall 

apply:  

1. A policy and procedure manual detailing the type and 

volume of controlled substances to be sold and safeguards 

against diversion must accompany the application. The 

application shall list the regulatory requirements for which 

a waiver is requested and a brief explanation as to why 

each requirement should not apply to that practice; and  

2. The issuance and continuation of such license shall be 

subject to continuing compliance with the conditions set 

forth by the board.  

18VAC110-30-90. Physical standards.  

Physical standards for the controlled substance selling and 

storage area:  

1. The building in which the controlled substances selling 

and storage area is located shall be constructed of 

permanent and secure materials. Trailers and other 

movable facilities shall not be permitted;  

2. There shall be an enclosed area of not less than 60 40 

square feet that is designated as the controlled substances 

selling and storage area, which shall be used exclusively 

for the storage, preparation, and dispensing, and record-

keeping. Records related to the sale of controlled 
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substances may be maintained outside the selling and 

storage area with access limited to the licensee and those 

persons authorized to assist in the area. The work space 

used in preparation of the drugs shall be contained within 

the enclosed area. A controlled substance selling and 

storage area inspected and approved prior to November 3, 

1993, shall not be required to meet the size requirement of 

this chapter;  

3. Controlled substances maintained for ultimate sale shall 

be maintained separately from any other controlled 

substances maintained for other purposes. Controlled 

substances maintained for other purposes such as 

administration or samples may be stored within the selling 

and storage area provided they are clearly separated from 

the stock maintained for sale;  

4. The selling and storage area, work counter space and 

equipment in the area shall be maintained in a clean and 

orderly manner;  

5. A sink with hot and cold running water shall be 

available within the immediate vicinity of the selling and 

storage area; and  

6. The entire area described in this chapter shall be well 

lighted and ventilated; the proper storage temperature shall 

be maintained to meet official specifications for controlled 

substance storage.  

18VAC110-30-100. Access to selling area.  

Access to stock rooms, rest rooms, and other areas other 

than an office that is exclusively used by the licensee shall not 

be through the selling and storage area. The selling and 

storage area may be in an office that is exclusively used by 

the licensee and to which only the licensee has access, 

provided the portion of the office used exclusively for 

controlled substances storage and preparation is at least 60 40 

square feet in area; provided the drugs are stored in a cabinet, 

closet, or other lockable area which that can be locked when 

the practitioner is using the office for purposes other than 

dispensing; and provided the office meets all other 

requirements of 18VAC110-30-90, 18VAC110-30-120, and 

18VAC110-30-130.  

18VAC110-30-130. Selling area enclosures.  

A. The controlled substance selling and storage area of the 

licensee shall be provided with enclosures subject to the 

following conditions:  

1. The enclosure shall be construed constructed in such a 

manner that it protects the controlled substance stock from 

unauthorized entry and from pilferage at all times whether 

or not the licensee is on duty;  

2. The enclosure shall be of sufficient height as to prevent 

anyone from reaching over to gain access to the controlled 

substances;  

3. Entrances to the enclosed area must have a door which 

extends from the floor and which is at least as high as the 

adjacent counters or adjoining partitions; and  

4. Doors to the area must have locking devices which will 

prevent entry in the absence of the licensee.  

2. The enclosure shall be locked and alarmed at all times 

when the licensee is not on duty. 

3. The enclosure shall be capable of being locked in a 

secure manner at any time the licensee on duty is not 

present in the storage and selling area. 

B. The door keys or other means of entry and alarm access 

code to the selling and storage area shall be subject to the 

following requirements restricted to the licensee with the 

following exceptions:  

1. Only the licensee shall be in possession of the alarm 

access code and any keys or other means of entry to the 

locking device on the door to such enclosure Other persons 

authorized to assist the licensee in the selling and storage 

area may possess a key or other means of entry into a 

locked area only when the licensee is on duty. Such key or 

other means of entry shall not allow entry when the 

licensee is not on duty; and  

2. The selling and storage area must be locked when the 

licensee is not present and engaged in preparation or 

selling of drugs; and  

3. 2. The licensee may place a key or other means of 

opening the locking device and the alarm access code in a 

sealed envelope or other sealed container with the 

licensee's signature across the seal in a safe or vault within 

the office or other secured place for use by another licensee 

for emergency access. In lieu of the licensee's signature 

across a seal, the executive director for the board may 

approve other methods of securing the emergency keys or 

access codes to the enclosed area.  

C. The controlled substance selling and storage area is 

restricted to the licensee and one person designated by the 

licensee. The designated person may be present in the selling 

and storage area only during the hours when the licensee is on 

duty to render personal supervision.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3497; Filed May 22, 2013, 2:09 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-50. Regulations Governing 

Wholesale Distributors, Manufacturers, and Warehousers 

(amending 18VAC110-50-40, 18VAC110-50-70, 

18VAC110-50-80).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 17, 2013. 

Effective Date: August 2, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 
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Basis: The regulatory action is the result of a periodic review 

conducted pursuant to the Governor's regulatory reform 

project. 18VAC110-50, Regulations Governing Wholesale 

Distributors, Manufacturers, and Warehousers, is 

promulgated under the general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the 

Code of Virginia, which establishes the general powers and 

duties of health regulatory boards, including the responsibility 

to promulgate regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. 

The specific statutory authority for the Board of Pharmacy to 

regulate the practice of pharmacy, including the dispensing of 

controlled substances, is found in § 54.1-3307 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is 

elimination of certain information currently required for an 

application for licensure as a wholesale distributor. 

Information about the responsible parties is necessary to 

ensure the integrity of a wholesale distributor business; the 

board is able to eliminate certain burdensome requirements 

without jeopardizing the enforceability of regulations or 

compromising the health and safety of persons who are the 

ultimate recipients of drugs being distributed for dispensing. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The board has opted 

to use the fast-track process for two reasons: the action is 

consistent with the Governor's project to reform regulations 

that are unnecessarily burdensome, and the board does not 

anticipate any objection to the amendments to the regulation. 

Substance: The substantive changes are (i) modification of 

the required information on an application for licensure as a 

wholesale distributor and (ii) elimination of the requirement 

for a sworn statement regarding criminal convictions on the 

application. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the regulatory action is less 

burdensome and costly regulation for an application for 

licensure as a wholesale distributor. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

Small Business Impact Report of Findings: This regulatory 

action serves as the report of findings of the regulatory review 

pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 

result of a periodic review, the Board of Pharmacy (Board) 

proposes to amend its regulations for wholesalers, 

manufacturers and warehousers. Specifically, the Board 

proposes to add clarifying language to the regulations, amend 

the requirements for information on a application to be 

licensed or registered and allow licensees to file an attestation 

disclosing any criminal history rather than requiring a sworn 

statement or affirmation.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for 

implementing these proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, 18VAC110-50-40 A 

requires the holder of a license to restrict access to all areas in 

which prescription drugs are stored or kept for sale but does 

not specify which holders of what licenses are being 

referenced. Although this requirement is in the Virginia 

Administrative Code chapter that governs wholesale 

distributors, manufacturers and warehousers, and so the 

implication is that the requirement would apply to these 

licensees, the Board proposes to add these entities explicitly 

into the regulatory text so that it is clear who is required to 

restrict access to stored prescription drugs. No affected entity 

will incur any additional costs on account of this proposed 

change. To the extent that this change may forestall any 

misunderstanding of what is required of licensees, this 

proposed change will benefit all interested parties.  

Current regulations require all partners in a covered 

partnership business to provide name, address, and social 

security number or control number on the application for 

licensure or registration and also require the name, address, 

social security number or control number and title of each 

corporate officer for businesses that are incorporated and 

applying for licensure or registration. Board staff reports that 

the Board does not believe it is reasonable to require social 

security or control numbers for all partners or all officers or 

directors of a corporation unless the individuals are directly 

involved in the operation of the distributorship. 

Consequently, the Board now proposes to amend the 

requirements for information so that only individuals who are 

specifically responsible for the operation of a facility will be 

required to provide identifying information to the Board. No 

entity is likely to be harmed by this regulatory change 

because the Board will still have information for the 

individual that they will hold responsible should there be an 

issue that the Board needs to address. Potential licensees or 

registrants will benefit from this change as it will make the 

process of filling out an application less time consuming and 

intrusive.  

Current regulations require that the person who is named as 

the responsible party on the application for licensure provide 

a statement sworn or affirmed before a notary public that 

discloses any criminal convictions and any pending criminal 

charges. The named party also had to undergo a criminal 

background check. Since a notary public can only swear that 

the person signing the statement is who he says he is but 

cannot swear that the statement being signed is truthful, the 

Board proposes to change this requirement so that the named 

responsible party will just have to attest that they are being 

truthful. They will also still have to undergo a criminal 

background check so the information available to the Board 

before a license or registration is issued should not be 

adversely affected. Named responsible parties will likely 

benefit from this change as they will no longer have to take 

the time to go to a notary public and will also not have to 

incur the costs of any fee that the notary public might charge.  
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Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Health 

Professions (DHP) reports that there are 768 non-resident 

wholesaler distributors and 116 Virginia wholesale 

distributors that are licensed to do business in the 

Commonwealth. All of these entities will be affected by these 

proposed regulations.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by the proposed regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to have any impact 

on the use or value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of this regulatory action.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the economic impact analysis of 

the Department of Planning and Budget for amendments to 

18VAC110-50 relating to regulatory reform changes. 

Summary: 

In response to the Governor's Regulatory Reform 

Initiative, the board's action will make the information 

required in the application process more reasonable and 

less restrictive. Specifically, the amendments (i) modify the 

required information on an application for licensure as a 

wholesale distributor and (ii) eliminate the requirement 

that the statement on criminal convictions be notarized.  

18VAC110-50-40. Safeguards against diversion of drugs.  

A. The holder of the license as a wholesale distributor or 

permit as a manufacturer or warehouser shall restrict all areas 

in which prescription drugs are stored or kept for sale to only 

those persons specifically designated as necessary for the 

manufacture, receipt, storage, distribution, or quality control 

of the controlled substance inventory, and shall provide 

reasonable security measures to include appropriate locking 

devices on all access doors to these areas and adequate 

lighting both inside and outside the facility to deter 

unauthorized entry and diversion.  

B. The holder of the license or permit, except for those 

distributors of only medical gases other than nitrous oxide, 

shall install a device for the detection of breaking subject to 

the following conditions:  

1. The device shall be a sound, microwave, photoelectric, 

ultrasonic, or any other generally accepted and suitable 

device.  

2. The installation shall be hardwired and both the 

installation and device shall be based on accepted burglar 

alarm industry standards.  

3. The device shall be maintained in operating order and 

shall have an auxiliary source of power.  

4. The device shall fully protect all areas where 

prescription drugs are stored and shall be capable of 

detecting breaking by any means when activated.  

5. Access to the alarm system shall be restricted to the 

person named on the application as the responsible party or 

to persons specifically designated in writing in a policy and 

procedure manual.  

6. The system shall be activated whenever the drug storage 

areas are closed for business.  

C. Distribution or delivery of prescription drugs shall be 

accomplished in a manner to prevent diversion or possession 

of drugs by unauthorized persons.  

1. The holder of the license or permit shall only deliver 

prescription drugs to a person authorized to possess such 

drugs at a location where the person is authorized to 

possess such drugs, and only at a time when someone 

authorized to possess such drugs is in attendance.  

2. The holder of the license or permit shall affirmatively 

verify that the person to whom prescription drugs are 

delivered is authorized by law to receive such drugs.  
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3. Prescription drugs may be transferred to an authorized 

agent of a person who may lawfully possess prescription 

drugs, provided the transfer occurs on the premises of the 

wholesale distributor, manufacturer, or warehouser, and 

provided the identity and authorization of the agent is 

verified, and such transfer is only used to meet the 

immediate needs of a patient or patients.  

18VAC110-50-70. Minimum required information.  

A. The application form for a new license or for registration 

as a nonresident wholesale distributor or any change of 

ownership shall include at least the following information:  

1. The name, full business address, and telephone number 

of the applicant or licensee and name and telephone 

number of a designated contact person;  

2. All trade or business names used by the applicant or 

licensee;  

3. The federal employer identification number of the 

applicant or licensee;  

4. The type of ownership and name(s) of the owner of the 

entity, including:  

a. If an individual, the name, address, social security 

number or control number;  

b. If a partnership, the name, address, and social security 

number or control number of each partner who is 

specifically responsible for the operations of the facility, 

and the name of the partnership and federal employer 

identification number;  

c. If a corporation:  

(1) The name and address of the corporation, federal 

employer identification number, state of incorporation, 

the name and address of the resident agent of the 

corporation;  

(2) The name, address, social security number or control 

number, and title of each corporate officer and director 

who is specifically responsible for the operations of the 

facility;  

(3) For nonpublicly held corporations, the name and 

address of each shareholder that owns 10% or more of 

the outstanding stock of the corporation;  

(4) The name, federal employer identification number, 

and state of incorporation of the parent company.  

d. If a sole proprietorship, the full name, address, and 

social security number or control number of the sole 

proprietor and the name and federal employer 

identification number of the business entity;  

e. If a limited liability company, the name and address of 

each member, the name and address of each manager, the 

name of the limited liability company and federal 

employer identification number, the name and address of 

the resident agent of the limited liability company, and 

the name of the state in which the limited liability 

company was organized;  

5. Name, business address and telephone number, and 

social security number or control number, and 

documentation of required qualifications as stated in 

18VAC110-50-80 of the person who will serve as the 

responsible party;  

6. A list of all states in which the entity is licensed to 

purchase, possess and distribute prescription drugs, and 

into which it ships prescription drugs;  

7. A list of all disciplinary actions imposed against the 

entity by state or federal regulatory bodies, including any 

such actions against the responsible party, principals, 

owners, directors, or officers over the last seven years;  

8. A full description, for nonresident wholesale 

distributors, including the address, square footage, security 

and alarm system description, temperature and humidity 

control, and other relevant information of the facility or 

warehouse space used for prescription drug storage and 

distribution; and  

9. An attestation providing a complete disclosure of any 

past criminal convictions and violations of the state and 

federal laws regarding drugs or devices or an affirmation 

and attestation that the applicant has not been involved in, 

or convicted of, any criminal or prohibited acts. Such 

attestation shall include the responsible party, principals, 

owners, directors, or officers.  

B. An applicant or licensee shall notify the board of any 

changes to the information required in this section within 30 

days of such change.  

18VAC110-50-80. Minimum qualifications, eligibility, and 

responsible party.  

A. The board shall use the following factors in determining 

the eligibility for licensure of wholesale distributors:  

1. The existence of grounds to deny an application as set 

forth in § 54.1-3435.1 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. The applicant's past experience in the manufacture or 

distribution of drugs or devices;  

3. Compliance with the recordkeeping requirements;  

4. Prior disciplinary action by a regulatory authority, prior 

criminal convictions, or ongoing investigations related to 

the manufacturing, distribution, prescribing, or dispensing 

of drugs by the responsible party or immediate family 

members of the responsible party, and owners, directors, or 

officers; and  

5. The responsible party's credentials as set forth in 

subsection B of this section.  

B. Requirements for the person named as the responsible 

party.  

1. The responsible party shall be the primary contact 

person for the board as designated by the wholesale 

distributor, who shall be responsible for managing the 

wholesale distribution operations at that location;  
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2. The responsible party shall have a minimum of two 

years of verifiable experience in a pharmacy or wholesale 

distributor licensed in Virginia or another state where the 

person's responsibilities included, but were not limited to, 

managing or supervising the recordkeeping, storage, and 

shipment for drugs or devices;  

3. A person may only serve as the responsible party for one 

wholesale distributor license at any one time;  

4. The responsible party shall be employed full time in a 

managerial position and actively engaged in daily 

operations of the wholesale distributor;  

5. The responsible party shall be present on a full-time 

basis at the location of the wholesale distributor during 

normal business hours, except for time periods when 

absent due to illness, family illness or death, vacation, or 

other authorized absence; and  

6. The responsible party shall be aware of, and 

knowledgeable about, all policies and procedures 

pertaining to the operations of the wholesale distributor 

and all applicable state and federal laws related to 

wholesale distribution of prescription drugs.  

C. The person named as the responsible party on the 

application shall submit the following with the application:  

1. A passport size and quality photograph taken within 30 

days of submission of the application;  

2. A resume listing employment, occupations, or offices 

held for the past seven years including names, addresses, 

and telephone numbers of the places listed;  

3. A sworn statement or affirmation An attestation 

disclosing whether the person has a criminal conviction or 

is the subject of any pending criminal charges within or 

outside the Commonwealth;  

4. A criminal history record check through the Central 

Criminal Records Exchange; and  

5. A description of any involvement by the person with any 

business, including any investments, other than the 

ownership of stock in publicly traded company or mutual 

fund, during the past seven years, which manufactured, 

administered, prescribed, distributed, or stored drugs and 

devices and any lawsuits, regulatory actions, or criminal 

convictions related to drug laws or laws concerning 

wholesale distribution of prescription drugs in which such 

businesses were named as a party.  

D. Responsibilities of the responsible party.  

1. Ensuring that any employee engaged in operations is 

adequately trained in the requirements for the lawful and 

appropriate wholesale distribution of prescription drugs;  

2. Requiring any employee who has access to prescription 

drugs to attest that he has not been convicted of any federal 

or state drug law or any law relating to the manufacture, 

distribution, or dispensing of prescription drugs;  

3. Maintaining current working knowledge of requirements 

for wholesale distributors and assuring continued training 

for employees;  

4. Maintaining proper security, storage and shipping 

conditions for all prescription drugs;  

5. Maintaining all required records.  

E. Each nonresident wholesale distributor shall designate a 

registered agent in Virginia for service of any notice or other 

legal document. Any nonresident wholesale distributor that 

does not so designate a registered agent shall be deemed to 

have designated the Secretary of the Commonwealth to be its 

true and lawful agent, upon who may be served all legal 

process in any action or proceeding against such nonresident 

wholesale distributor. A copy of any such service of legal 

documents shall be mailed to the nonresident wholesale 

distributor by the board by certified mail at the address of 

record.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3528; Filed May 22, 2013, 2:12 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physical Therapy (amending 18VAC112-

20-10, 18VAC112-20-50, 18VAC112-20-65, 18VAC112-20-

70, 18VAC112-20-131, 18VAC112-20-135, 18VAC112-20-

136, 18VAC112-20-140).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 

Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4674, FAX (804) 

527-4413, or email ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) offer the option of meeting the 

standard of the Practice Review Tool in lieu of some 

training hours for applicants returning to practice through 

reinstatement, reactivation, or endorsement; (ii) reduce the 

traineeship hours for physical therapist assistants; (iii) 

allow part-time traineeships for graduates of nonapproved 

physical therapy schools; (iv) limit the numbers of 

supervisors for each trainee; (v) require co-signing of 

trainee documentation in patient records and identification 

of a trainee for the patient; (vi) eliminate the requirement 

that Type 1 continuing education training be face-to-face; 

and (vii) clarify that the coursework evaluation tool used 

to evaluate education in a nonaccredited physical therapy 

program should be based on the year of graduation. 

In the reproposed regulation, the board had proposed 

adding the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy 

(FSBPT) to the list of continuing education providers; 

however, this change was removed as a result of public 

comment. 
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Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC112-20-10. Definitions.  

In addition to the words and terms defined in § 54.1-3473 of 

the Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when 

used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Active practice" means a minimum of 160 hours of 

professional practice as a physical therapist or physical 

therapist assistant within the 24-month period immediately 

preceding renewal. Active practice may include supervisory, 

administrative, educational or consultative activities or 

responsibilities for the delivery of such services.  

"Approved program" means an educational program 

accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical 

Therapy Education of the American Physical Therapy 

Association.  

"CLEP" means the College Level Examination Program.  

"Contact hour" means 60 minutes of time spent in 

continuing learning activity exclusive of breaks, meals or 

vendor exhibits.  

"Direct supervision" means a physical therapist or a physical 

therapist assistant is physically present and immediately 

available and is fully responsible for the physical therapy 

tasks or activities being performed.  

"Discharge" means the discontinuation of interventions in an 

episode of care that have been provided in an unbroken 

sequence in a single practice setting and related to the 

physical therapy interventions for a given condition or 

problem. 

"Evaluation" means a process in which the physical therapist 

makes clinical judgments based on data gathered during an 

examination or screening in order to plan and implement a 

treatment intervention, provide preventive care, reduce risks 

of injury and impairment, or provide for consultation. 

"Face-to-face" means learning activities or courses obtained 

in a group setting or through interactive, real-time 

technology.  

"FCCPT" means the Foreign Credentialing Commission on 

Physical Therapy.  

"FSBPT" means the Federation of State Boards of Physical 

Therapy.  

"General supervision" means a physical therapist shall be 

available for consultation.  

"National examination" means the examinations developed 

and administered by the Federation of State Boards of 

Physical Therapy and approved by the board for licensure as 

a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant.  

"PRT" means the Practice Review Tool for competency 

assessment given by the Federation of State Boards of 

Physical Therapy developed and administered by FSBPT . 

"Support personnel" means a person who is performing 

designated routine tasks related to physical therapy under the 

direction and supervision of a physical therapist or physical 

therapist assistant within the scope of this chapter.  

"TOEFL" means the Test of English as a Foreign Language.  

"Trainee" means a person seeking licensure as a physical 

therapist or physical therapist assistant who is undergoing a 

traineeship.  

"Traineeship" means a period of active clinical practice 

during which an applicant for licensure as a physical therapist 

or physical therapist assistant works under the direct 

supervision of a physical therapist approved by the board.  

"TSE" means the Test of Spoken English.  

"Type 1" means face-to face continuing learning activities 

offered by an approved organization as specified in 

18VAC112-20-131.  

"Type 2" means continuing learning activities which may or 

may not be offered by an approved organization but shall be 

activities considered by the learner to be beneficial to practice 

or to continuing learning.  

18VAC112-20-50. Education requirements: graduates of 

schools not approved by an accrediting agency approved 

by the board.  

A. An applicant for initial licensure as a physical therapist 

who is a graduate of a school not approved by an accrediting 

agency approved by the board shall submit the required 

application and fee and provide documentation of the 

physical therapist's certification by a report from the FCCPT 

or of the physical therapist eligibility for licensure as verified 

by a report from any other credentialing agency approved by 

the board that substantiates that the physical therapist has 

been evaluated in accordance with requirements of subsection 

B of this section.  

B. The board shall only approve a credentialing agency that:  

1. Utilizes the FSBPT Coursework Evaluation Tool for 

Foreign Educated Physical Therapists of the Federation of 

State Boards of Physical Therapy, based on the year of 

graduation, and utilizes original source documents to 

establish substantial equivalency to an approved physical 

therapy program;  

2. Conducts a review of any license or registration held by 

the physical therapist in any country or jurisdiction to 

ensure that the license or registration is current and 

unrestricted or was unrestricted at the time it expired or 

was lapsed; and  

3. Verifies English language proficiency by passage of the 

TOEFL and TSE examination or the TOEFL iBT, the 

Internet-based tests of listening, reading, speaking and 

writing or by review of evidence that the applicant's 
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physical therapy program was taught in English or that the 

native tongue of the applicant's nationality is English.  

C. An applicant for licensure as a physical therapist assistant 

who is a graduate of a school not approved by the board shall 

submit with the required application and fee the following:  

1. Proof of proficiency in the English language by passing 

TOEFL and TSE or the TOEFL iBT, the Internet-based 

tests of listening, reading, speaking, and writing by a score 

determined by the board or an equivalent examination 

approved by the board. TOEFL iBT or TOEFL and TSE 

may be waived upon evidence that the applicant's physical 

therapist assistant program was taught in English or that 

the native tongue of the applicant's nationality is English. 

2. A copy of the original certificate or diploma that has 

been certified as a true copy of the original by a notary 

public, verifying his graduation from a physical therapy 

curriculum. If the certificate or diploma is not in the 

English language, submit either:  

a. An English translation of such certificate or diploma 

by a qualified translator other than the applicant; or  

b. An official certification in English from the school 

attesting to the applicant's attendance and graduation 

date.  

3. Verification of the equivalency of the applicant's 

education to the educational requirements of an approved 

program for physical therapist assistants from a scholastic 

credentials service approved by the board.  

D. An applicant for initial licensure as a physical therapist or 

a physical therapist assistant who is not a graduate of an 

approved program shall also submit verification of having 

successfully completed a full-time 1,000-hour traineeship 

within a two-year period under the direct supervision of a 

licensed physical therapist. The board may grant an extension 

beyond two years for circumstances beyond the control of the 

applicant, such as temporary disability or mandatory military 

service. 

1. The traineeship shall be in accordance with requirements 

in 18VAC112-20-140.  

2. The traineeship requirements of this part may be waived 

if the applicant for a license can verify, in writing, the 

successful completion of one year of clinical physical 

therapy practice as a licensed physical therapist or physical 

therapist assistant in the United States, its territories, the 

District of Columbia, or Canada, equivalent to the 

requirements of this chapter.  

18VAC112-20-65. Requirements for licensure by 

endorsement.  

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who 

holds a current, unrestricted license in the United States, its 

territories, the District of Columbia, or Canada may be 

licensed in Virginia by endorsement.  

B. An applicant for licensure by endorsement shall submit:  

1. Documentation of having met the educational 

requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-40 or 

18VAC112-20-50. In lieu of meeting such requirements, 

an applicant may provide evidence of clinical practice 

during the five years immediately preceding application for 

licensure in Virginia with a current, unrestricted license 

issued by another U.S. jurisdiction;  

2. The required application, fees, and credentials to the 

board;  

3. A current report from the Healthcare Integrity and 

Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) and a current report from 

the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB); 

4. Evidence of completion of 15 hours of continuing 

education for each year in which the applicant held a 

license in another U.S. jurisdiction, or 60 hours obtained 

within the past four years; and 

5. Documentation of passage of an examination equivalent 

to the Virginia examination at the time of initial licensure 

or documentation of passage of an examination required by 

another state at the time of initial licensure in that state and 

active, clinical practice with a current, unrestricted license 

for at least five years prior to applying for licensure in 

Virginia.  

For the purpose of this subsection, active, clinical practice 

shall mean at least 2,500 hours of patient care over a five-year 

period.  

C. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant 

seeking licensure by endorsement who has not actively 

practiced physical therapy for at least 320 hours within the 

four years immediately preceding his application for licensure 

shall first successfully: 

1. Successfully complete 480 hours in a traineeship in 

accordance with requirements in 18VAC112-20-140; or 

2. Document passage of that he meets the standard of the 

PRT within the two years preceding application for 

licensure in Virginia and successfully complete 320 hours 

in a traineeship in accordance with the requirements in 

18VAC112-20-140. 

D. A physical therapist assistant seeking licensure by 

endorsement who has not actively practiced physical therapy 

for at least 320 hours within the four years immediately 

preceding his application for licensure shall successfully 

complete 320 hours in a traineeship in accordance with the 

requirements in 18VAC112-20-140. 

18VAC112-20-70. Traineeship for unlicensed graduate 

scheduled to sit for the national examination.  

A. Upon approval of the president of the board or his 

designee, an unlicensed graduate who is registered with the 

Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy to sit for the 

national examination may be employed as a trainee under the 

direct supervision of a licensed physical therapist until the 

results of the national examination are received.  
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B. The traineeship, which shall be in accordance with 

requirements in 18VAC112-20-140, shall terminate two 

working days following receipt by the candidate of the 

licensure examination results.  

C. The unlicensed graduate may reapply for a new 

traineeship while awaiting to take the next examination. A 

new traineeship shall not be approved for more than one year 

following the receipt of the first examination results. 

18VAC112-20-131. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of an active license. 

A. In order to renew an active license biennially, a physical 

therapist or a physical therapist assistant shall complete at 

least 30 contact hours of continuing learning activities within 

the two years immediately preceding renewal. In choosing 

continuing learning activities or courses, the licensee shall 

consider the following: (i) the need to promote ethical 

practice, (ii) an appropriate standard of care, (iii) patient 

safety, (iv) application of new medical technology, (v) 

appropriate communication with patients, and (vi) knowledge 

of the changing health care system. 

B. To document the required hours, the licensee shall 

maintain the Continued Competency Activity and Assessment 

Form that is provided by the board and that shall indicate 

completion of the following: 

1. A minimum of 15 20 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapists and 10 15 of the contact hours required 

for physical therapist assistants shall be in Type 1 face-to-

face courses. For the purpose of this section, "course" 

means an organized program of study, classroom 

experience or similar educational experience that is 

directly related to the clinical practice of physical therapy 

and approved or provided by one of the following 

organizations or any of its components: 

a. The Virginia Physical Therapy Association; 

b. The American Physical Therapy Association; 

c. Local, state or federal government agencies; 

d. Regionally accredited colleges and universities; 

e. Health care organizations accredited by the Joint 

Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations (JCAHO); 

f. The American Medical Association - Category I 

Continuing Medical Education course; [ and ] 

g. The National Athletic Trainers Association [ ; and 

h. The FSBPT ]. 

2. No more than 15 10 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapists and 20 15 of the contact hours required 

for physical therapist assistants may be Type 2 activities or 

courses, which may or may not be offered by an approved 

organization but which shall be related to the clinical 

practice of physical therapy. Type 2 activities may include 

but not be limited to consultation with colleagues, 

independent study, and research or writing on subjects 

related to practice. 

3. Documentation of specialty certification by the 

American Physical Therapy Association may be provided 

as evidence of completion of continuing competency 

requirements for the biennium in which initial certification 

or recertification occurs. 

4. Documentation of graduation from a transitional doctor 

of physical therapy program may be provided as evidence 

of completion of continuing competency requirements for 

the biennium in which the physical therapist was awarded 

the degree. 

5. A physical therapist who can document that he has taken 

the PRT may receive 10 hours of Type 1 credit for the 

biennium in which the assessment examination tool was 

taken. A physical therapist who can document that he 

has passed met the standard of the PRT may receive 20 

hours of Type 1 credit for the biennium in which the 

assessment examination was passed tool was taken. 

C. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing 

competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure by examination in 

Virginia. 

D. The licensee shall retain his records on the completed 

form with all supporting documentation for a period of four 

years following the renewal of an active license. 

E. The licensees selected in a random audit conducted by the 

board shall provide the completed Continued Competency 

Activity and Assessment Form and all supporting 

documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 

audit. 

F. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

G. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing competency requirements for up to one year for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date. 

H. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters. 

I. Physical therapists holding certification to provide direct 

access without a referral shall include four contact hours as 

part of the required 30 contact hours of continuing education 

in courses related to clinical practice in a direct access setting. 

18VAC112-20-135. Inactive license.  

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who 

holds a current, unrestricted license in Virginia shall, upon a 

request on the renewal application and submission of the 

required renewal fee of $70 for a physical therapist and $35 

for a physical therapist assistant, be issued an inactive license. 

The fee for the renewal of an inactive license due December 
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31, 2010, shall be $60 for a physical therapist and $30 for a 

physical therapist assistant. 

1. The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to 

meet active practice requirements.  

2. An inactive licensee shall not be entitled to perform any 

act requiring a license to practice physical therapy in 

Virginia.  

B. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who 

holds an inactive license may reactivate his license by:  

1. Paying the difference between the renewal fee for an 

inactive license and that of an active license for the 

biennium in which the license is being reactivated; and  

2. Providing proof of: a. Active active practice hours in 

another jurisdiction equal to those required for renewal of 

an active license in Virginia for the period in which the 

license has been inactive.  

a. If the inactive physical therapist licensee does not meet 

the requirement for active practice, the license may be 

reactivated by completing 480 hours in a traineeship that 

meets the requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-140 

or documenting passage that he has met the standard of 

the PRT within the two years preceding application for 

licensure in Virginia and successfully completing 320 

hours in a traineeship in accordance with requirements in 

18VAC112-20-140. 

b. If the inactive physical therapist assistant licensee does 

not meet the requirement for active practice, the license 

may be reactivated by completing 320 hours in a 

traineeship that meets the requirements prescribed in 

18VAC112-20-140; and  

b. Completion of 3. Completing the number of continuing 

competency hours required for the period in which the 

license has been inactive, not to exceed four years.  

18VAC112-20-136. Reinstatement requirements.  

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant whose 

Virginia license is lapsed for two years or less may reinstate 

his license by payment of the renewal and late fees as set 

forth in 18VAC112-20-150 and completion of continued 

competency requirements as set forth in 18VAC112-20-131. 

B. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant whose 

Virginia license is lapsed for more than two years and who is 

seeking reinstatement shall: 

1. Apply for reinstatement and pay the fee specified in 

18VAC112-20-150; Practice physical therapy in another 

jurisdiction for at least 320 hours within the four years 

immediately preceding applying for reinstatement or 

successfully complete 480 hours as specified in 

18VAC112-20-140; and  

2. Complete the number of continuing competency hours 

required for the period in which the license has been 

lapsed, not to exceed four years; and 

3. Have actively practiced physical therapy in another 

jurisdiction for at least 320 hours within the four years 

immediately preceding applying for reinstatement.  

a. If a physical therapist licensee does not meet the 

requirement for active practice, the license may be 

reinstated by completing 480 hours in a traineeship that 

meets the requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-140 

or documenting passage that he has met the standard of 

the PRT within the two years preceding application for 

licensure in Virginia and successfully completing 320 

hours in a traineeship in accordance with requirements in 

18VAC112-20-140. 

b. If a physical therapist assistant licensee does not meet 

the requirement for active practice, the license may be 

reinstated by completing 320 hours in a traineeship that 

meets the requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-140. 

18VAC112-20-140. Traineeship requirements.  

A. The traineeship: shall be (i) shall be in a facility that 

serves as a clinical education facility for students enrolled in 

an accredited program educating physical therapists in 

Virginia, (ii) is approved by the board, and (iii) is under the 

direction and supervision of a licensed physical therapist.  

B. Supervision and identification of trainees: 

1. There shall be a limit of two physical therapists assigned 

to provide supervision for each trainee.  

2. The supervising physical therapist shall countersign 

patient documentation (i.e., notes, records, charts) for 

services provided by a trainee. 

3. The trainee shall wear identification designating them as 

a "physical therapist trainee" or a "physical therapist 

assistant trainee." 

C. Completion of traineeship. 

1. The physical therapist supervising the inactive practice 

trainee shall submit a report to the board at the end of the 

required number of hours on forms supplied by the board.  

2. If the traineeship is not successfully completed at the 

end of the required hours, as determined by the supervising 

physical therapist, the president of the board or his 

designee shall determine if a new traineeship shall 

commence. If the president of the board determines that a 

new traineeship shall not commence, then the application 

for licensure shall be denied.  

3. The second traineeship may be served under a different 

supervising physical therapist and may be served in a 

different organization than the initial traineeship. If the 

second traineeship is not successfully completed, as 

determined by the supervising physical therapist, then the 

application for licensure shall be denied.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1926; Filed May 22, 2013, 2:14 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Social Services will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-60. Standards and 

Regulations for Licensed Adult Day Care Centers 

(amending 22VAC40-60-90, 22VAC40-60-120; repealing 

22VAC40-60-130).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1733 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Annette Kelley, Department of Social 

Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7632, FAX (804) 726-7132, or email 

annette.kelley@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action brings 22VAC40-60, Standards and 

Regulations for Licensed Adult Day Care Centers, into 

conformity with changes made to §§ 63.2-1702 and 63.2-

1707 of the Code of Virginia by Chapters 182 and 545 of 

the 2013 Acts of Assembly. Changes include removing 

requirements that (i) the licensee give evidence of financial 

responsibility; (ii) the licensee ensure sound financial 

management of the center; and (iii) the initial applicant 

provide to the department evidence of financial 

responsibility, including a projected budget for the first 

year of operation, complete balance sheet, and 

documentation of funds or credit available for the first 90 

days of operation. 

22VAC40-60-90. Requirements for licensee.  

A. The licensee shall ensure compliance with all regulations 

for licensed adult day care centers and terms of the license 

issued by the department; with other relevant federal, state or 

local laws and regulations; and with the center's own policies.  

B. The licensee shall meet the following requirements:  

1. The licensee shall give evidence of financial 

responsibility.  

2. 1. The licensee shall be of good character and 

reputation.  

3. 2. The licensee shall protect the physical and mental 

well-being of the participants.  

4. 3. The licensee shall keep such records and make such 

reports as required by this chapter for licensed adult day 

care centers. Such records and reports may be inspected at 

any reasonable time in order to determine compliance with 

this chapter.  

5. 4. The licensee shall meet the qualifications of the 

administrator if he assumes those duties.  

22VAC40-60-120. Operational responsibilities.  

The licensee shall be responsible for the overall planning of 

the program and services to be provided by the center. The 

operational responsibilities of the licensee shall include, but 

not be limited to, the following:  

1. To develop a written statement of the purpose and scope 

of the services to be provided by the center, a description 

of adults who may be accepted into the program as well as 

those whom the program cannot serve, and written policies 

under which the center will operate;  

NOTE: This requirement applies only to initial application 

for licensure unless there is a significant change.  

2. To ensure that the center's activities, services, and 

facilities are maintained in compliance with this chapter, 

with the terms of the current license issued by the 

department and with other relevant federal, state, or local 

laws and regulations;  

3. To appoint and identify in writing a director to be 

responsible for the day-to-day operation and management 

of the center, except when the sponsor is an individual who 

serves as the director or a partnership in which a partner 

serves as the director;  

4. To provide for an adequate number of qualified staff 

capable of carrying out the operation of the program;  

5. To develop a written organizational chart indicating 

lines of authority and a staffing plan which includes a 

staffing schedule; and 

6. To establish sound policies under which the center shall 

operate; and.  

7. To ensure sound financial management of the center.  

22VAC40-60-130. Financial responsibilities. (Repealed.)  

With an initial application for licensure, the applicant shall 

provide the department with the following evidence of 

financial responsibility:  

1. A projected budget detailing income and expenses of the 

proposed center for the first year of operation;  

2. A complete balance sheet showing separately the current 

assets committed to and current liabilities charged against 

the proposed center; and  

3. Documentation of funds or credit available for the first 

90 days of operation.  

NOTE: Financial records may be requested pursuant to 

§ 63.2-1706 of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3659; Filed May 17, 2013, 11:19 a.m.  
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Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Social Services will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-72. Standards for Licensed 

Assisted Living Facilities (amending 22VAC40-72-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1732 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Judith McGreal, Program Consultant, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7157, or email 

judith.mcgreal@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action brings 22VAC40-72, Standards for 

Licensed Assisted Living Facilities, into conformity with 

changes made to §§ 63.2-1702 and 63.2-1707 of the Code 

of Virginia by Chapters 182 and 545 of the 2013 Acts of 

Assembly. Specifically, the changes remove requirements 

from 22VAC40-72-50 (Licensee) that the licensee (i) shall 

give evidence of financial responsibility and (ii) develop 

and maintain an operating budget sufficient to ensure 

adequate funds for all aspects of operation.  

Part II  

Administration and Administrative Services  

22VAC40-72-50. Licensee.  

A. The licensee shall ensure compliance with all regulations 

for licensed assisted living facilities and terms of the license 

issued by the department; with relevant federal, state or local 

laws and other relevant regulations; and with the facility's 

own policies and procedures.  

B. The licensee shall meet the following requirements:  

1. The licensee shall give evidence of financial 

responsibility.  

2. 1. The licensee shall be of good character and 

reputation.  

Character and reputation investigation includes, but is not 

limited to, background checks as required by §§ 63.2-1702 

and 63.2-1721 of the Code of Virginia.  

3. 2. The licensee shall meet the requirements specified in 

the Regulation for Background Checks for Assisted Living 

Facilities and Adult Day Care Centers (22VAC40-90).  

4. 3. The licensee shall protect the physical and mental 

well-being of residents.  

5. 4. The licensee shall exercise general supervision over 

the affairs of the licensed facility and establish policies and 

procedures concerning its operation in conformance with 

applicable law, these regulations, and the welfare of the 

residents.  

6. The licensee shall develop and maintain an operating 

budget, including resident care, dietary, and physical plant 

maintenance allocations and expenditures. The budget 

shall be sufficient to ensure adequate funds in all aspects of 

operation.  

7. 5. The licensee shall ensure that the facility keeps such 

records, makes such reports and maintains such plans, 

schedules, and other information as required by this 

chapter for licensed assisted living facilities. The facility 

shall submit, or make available, to the department's 

representative, records, reports, plans, schedules, and other 

information necessary to establish compliance with this 

chapter and applicable law. Such records, reports, plans, 

schedules, and other information shall be maintained at the 

facility and may be inspected at any reasonable time by the 

department's representative.  

8. 6. The licensee shall meet the qualifications of and 

requirements for the administrator if he serves as the 

administrator of the facility.  

C. An assisted living facility sponsored by a religious 

organization, a corporation or a voluntary association shall be 

controlled by a governing board of directors that shall fulfill 

the duties of the licensee.  

D. Upon initial application for an assisted living facility 

license, any person applying to operate such a facility who 

has not previously owned or managed or does not currently 

own or manage a licensed assisted living facility shall be 

required to undergo training by the commissioner or his 

designated agents. Such training shall be required of those 

owners and currently employed administrators of an assisted 

living facility at the time of initial application for a license.  

1. The commissioner may also approve training programs 

provided by other entities and allow owners or 

administrators to attend such approved training programs 

in lieu of training by the department.  

2. The commissioner may at his discretion also approve for 

licensure applicants who meet requisite experience criteria 

as established by the board.  

3. The training programs shall focus on the health and 

safety regulations and resident rights as they pertain to 

assisted living facilities and shall be completed by the 

owner or administrator prior to the granting of an initial 

license.  

4. The commissioner may, at his discretion, issue a license 

conditioned upon the owner or administrator's completion 

of the required training.  

E. If there are plans for a facility to be voluntarily closed or 

sold, the licensee shall notify the regional licensing office of 
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intent to close or sell the facility no less than 60 days prior to 

the closure or sale date. The following shall apply:  

1. No less than 60 days prior to the planned closure or sale 

date, the licensee shall notify the residents, legal 

representatives, and designated contact persons of the 

intended closure or sale of the facility and the date for 

such, and the requirements of 22VAC40-72-420 shall 

apply.  

2. If the facility is to be sold, at the time of notification of 

residents of such, the licensee shall explain to each 

resident, legal representative, and at least one designated 

contact person that unless provided otherwise by the new 

licensee, the resident has a choice as to whether to stay or 

to relocate and that if a resident chooses to stay, there must 

be a new agreement/acknowledgment between the resident 

and the new licensee that meets the specifications of 

22VAC40-72-390.  

3. The licensee shall provide updates regarding the closure 

or sale of the facility to the regional licensing office, as 

requested.  

EXCEPTION: If plans are made at such time that 60-day 

notice is not possible, the licensee shall notify the regional 

licensing office, the residents, legal representatives, and 

designated contact persons as soon as the intent to close or 

sell the facility is known.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3660; Filed May 17, 2013, 11:19 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Social Services will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-80. General Procedures and 

Information for Licensure (amending 22VAC40-80-20, 

22VAC40-80-160).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217, 63.2-1732, 63.2-1733, and 

63.2-1734 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Jan Sigler, Department of Social Services, 

801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

726-7901, FAX (804) 726-7132, or email 

jan.sigler@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action brings 22VAC40-80, General 

Procedures and Information for Licensure, into conformity 

with changes made to §§ 63.2-1702 and 63.2-1707 of the 

Code of Virginia by Chapters 182 and 545 of the 2013 Acts 

of Assembly.  

The amendments provide that upon receipt of an initial 

application, the department will investigate the financial 

responsibility of an applicant for licensure and that upon 

receipt of a new application, the Commissioner of the 

Department of Social Services shall (i) investigate the 

activities, services, and facilities of the applicant and his 

character and reputation; (ii) if the applicant is an 

association, partnership, limited liability company, or 

corporation, investigate the character and reputation of its 

officers and agents; and (iii) upon receipt of an initial 

application, investigate the applicant's financial 

responsibility. The amendments also provide that records 

containing confidential proprietary information furnished 

to the department shall be exempt from disclosure and that 

at the time of the initial inspection, the financial records of 

an applicant shall not be subject to inspection if the 

applicant submits an operating budget and at least one 

credit reference. An exception pertaining to inspection of 

financial records of child welfare agencies is removed 

because the new language regarding inspection of 

financial records will also apply to child welfare agencies. 

22VAC40-80-20. Preplanning.  

A. Licensing staff are available throughout the application 

or licensing process to answer questions and provide 

consultation and technical assistance (see 22VAC40-80-130).  

B. In order to avoid costly errors, applicants and prospective 

applicants are urged to present their building plans to the 

department as early as possible and before entering into 

contracts in order to assure that the building can be 

preapproved as meeting the department's regulations (see 

22VAC40-80-150).  

C. In addition to making The department will make an on-

site inspection of the proposed facility and the proposed 

services, the department will; investigate the financial 

responsibility of the licensee and will investigate the 

character and reputation of the licensee and, if required, staff 

and household members; and upon receipt of the initial 

application will investigate the financial responsibility of the 

applicant (see 22VAC40-80-160).  

22VAC40-80-160. The investigation Investigation.  

A. Upon receipt of the application the commissioner shall: 

1. Cause an investigation to be made of the activities, 

services, and facilities of the applicant, and of his character 

and reputation; 

2. If the applicant is an association, partnership, limited 

liability company, or corporation, cause an investigation of 

the character and reputation of its officers and agents; and 

3. Upon receipt of the initial application, cause an 

investigation of the applicant's financial responsibility. 

A. B. At the time of the initial application and annually 

thereafter, the applicant or licensee shall be responsible for 

obtaining inspection reports from appropriate fire and health 

agencies to determine compliance with applicable regulations.  
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EXCEPTION: Subsection A of this section This subsection 

does not apply to child placing agencies or family day 

systems.  

1. All buildings shall be inspected and approved by the 

local building official when required. This approval shall 

be documented by a Certificate of Use and Occupancy 

indicating that the building is classified for its proposed 

licensed purpose.  

2. At the time of the initial application and at least annually 

thereafter, the applicant or licensee shall obtain an 

inspection report from state or local fire authorities, as 

applicable, to determine compliance of the building or 

buildings with the Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention 

Code.  

3. At the time of the initial application and at least annually 

thereafter, the applicant or licensee shall obtain an 

inspection report from state or local health authorities that 

shall include approval of general sanitation and, if 

applicable, water supply, sewage disposal systems, and 

food service operations for the building or buildings in 

which the facility is operated.  

B. C. The department's representative will make an on-site 

inspection of the proposed facility or agency and an 

investigation of the proposed services, as well as an 

investigation of the character, reputation, and financial 

responsibility of the applicant. Compliance with all standards 

will be determined by the Department of Social Services. The 

licensee is responsible for correcting any areas of 

noncompliance found during any on-site inspection.  

NOTE: See 22VAC40-90, 22VAC40-190, or 22VAC15-50, 

as applicable.  

C. D. The applicant or licensee shall at all times afford the 

department's representative reasonable opportunity to inspect 

all of the facility's or agency's buildings, books, and records. 

Records that contain confidential proprietary information 

furnished to the department pursuant to this section shall be 

exempt from disclosure pursuant to subdivision 4 of § 2.2-

3705.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

EXCEPTION: Section 63.2-1702 of the Code of Virginia 

provides for an exception in regard to inspection of financial 

records of child welfare agencies under specified 

conditions. At the time of the initial application, the financial 

records of an applicant shall not be subject to inspection if the 

applicant submits an operating budget and at least one credit 

reference. 

D. E. The applicant or licensee shall also allow the 

department's representative to interview the facility's or 

agency's agents, employees, residents, participants, and any 

person under its custody, control, direction, or supervision. 

Interviews with residents, participants, and any person under 

the facility's or agency's custody, control, direction, or 

supervision shall be: 

1. Authorized by the person to be interviewed or his legally 

authorized representative; and 

2. Limited to discussion of issues related to the applicant's 

or licensee's compliance with applicable laws and 

regulations, including ascertaining if assessments and 

reassessments of residents' cognitive and physical needs 

are performed as required under regulations for licensure 

of the facility or agency. 

E. F. After the on-site inspection the licensing representative 

will discuss the findings of the investigation with the 

administrator, licensee or designee. As applicable, the 

applicant shall submit an acceptable plan for correcting any 

areas of noncompliance following these discussions.  

F. G. At any time during the investigation, an applicant or 

licensee may request an allowable variance to any standard 

that creates a special hardship. (See Part V (22VAC40-80-230 

et seq.) of this chapter Allowable Variances.)  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3658; Filed May 17, 2013, 11:20 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Social Services will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-111. Standards for Licensed 

Family Day Homes (amending 22VAC40-111-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1734 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Becky Sagle, Department of Social 

Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7037, FAX (804) 726-7132, or email 

becky.sagle@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 182 and 545 of the 2013 Acts of 

Assembly, the requirement for a licensee to provide 

evidence of financial responsibility is deleted. 

22VAC40-111-30. Operational responsibilities. 

A. The provider shall ensure compliance with these 

standards and the terms of the current license issued by the 

department and with relevant federal, state or local laws, and 

other relevant regulations. 

B. The provider will ensure compliance with the home's 

policies that have been disclosed to the parents as required by 

22VAC-40-111-70. 

C. The provider shall give evidence of financial 

responsibility. 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 17, 2013 

2619 

D. C. The provider shall be of good character and 

reputation. Character and reputation investigation includes, 

but is not limited to, background checks as required by 

§§ 63.2-1702 and 63.2-1721 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. D. The provider shall meet the requirements specified in 

22VAC40-191, Background Checks for Child Welfare 

Agencies. 

F. E. The provider shall ensure that the home's activities, 

services, and facilities are conducive to the welfare of 

children in care. 

G. F. The provider shall be responsible for the home's day-

to-day operation. 

H. G. The provider shall ensure that any advertising is not 

misleading or deceptive as required by § 63.2-1713 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

I. H. The provider shall meet the requirements specified in 

22VAC40-80, General Procedures and Information for 

Licensure. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3661; Filed May 17, 2013, 1:07 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with (i) § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved and (ii) § 2.2-4006 A 3 of the 

Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that consist 

only of changes in style or form or corrections of technical 

errors. The State Board of Social Services will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 

any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-120. Minimum Standards 

for Licensed Family Day-Care Systems (amending 

22VAC40-120-10, 22VAC40-120-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia.  

Effective Date: July 17, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Karen Cullen, Program Consultant, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7152, or email 

karen.cullen@dss.virgnia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 182 and 545 of the 2013 Acts of 

Assembly, this regulatory action (i) clarifies that upon 

receipt of the initial application, the department's 

representative will investigate the financial responsibility 

of the applicant; (ii) clarifies that the financial records of 

an initial applicant shall not be subject to inspection if the 

applicant submits an operating budget and at least one 

credit reference; and (iii) removes the provisions allowing 

the department to request an audit of the family day system 

financial records, specifying budget and balance sheet 

requirements for initial applicants, and evidence required 

to show financial responsibility. The amendments also 

update citations to the Code of Virginia and make other 

changes to conform the regulation to the style and format 

of the Virginia Administrative Code. 

22VAC40-120-10. Introduction.  

A. Legal Base. Chapter 10 17 (§ 63.1-195 et seq.) 63.2-1700 

et seq.) of Title 63.1 63.2 of the Code of Virginia sets forth 

the responsibility of the Department of Social Services for 

licensure of family day-care systems, including the authority 

and responsibility of the State Board of Social Services for 

the development of regulations containing minimum 

standards and requirements.  

It is a misdemeanor to operate a family day-care system 

without a license. (§ 63.1-215 63.2-1712 of the Code of 

Virginia)  

B. Definitions. The following words and terms, when used 

in this chapter, shall have the following meaning unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Family Day Care System" means any person who approves 

family day-care homes as members of its system; who refers 

children to available day-care homes in that system; and who 

through contractual arrangement may provide central 

administrative functions including, but not limited to, training 

of operators of family day-care homes; technical assistance 

and consultation to operators of family day-care homes; 

inspection, supervision, monitoring, and evaluation of family 

day-care homes; and referral of children to available health 

and social services. (§ 63.1-195 of the Code of Virginia.)  

"Family Day-Care System Home" means any private family 

home, which is an approved member of a family day-care 

system and receives nine or fewer children for care, 

protection and guidance during any part of the 24 hour day 

except children who are related by blood or marriage to the 

person who maintains the home. (Family day-care homes that 

are members of a licensed day-care system and are approved 

by that system to care for six or more children are not subject 

to direct licensure by the department.) by law; see § 63.1-

196.001B of the Code of Virginia.  

"Abused or Neglected Child" neglected child" (See (see 

§ 63.1-248.2) 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia) means any 

child less younger than 18 years of age whose parents or other 

persons responsible for his or her care:  

a. Create or inflict, threaten to create or inflict, or allow to 

be create created or inflicted a physical or mental injury by 

other than accidental means, or creates create a substantial 

risk of death, disfigurement, or impairment of bodily or 

mental functions;  

b. Neglect or refuse to provide care necessary for the 

child's health, unless the child is, in good faith, under 

treatment solely by spiritual means through prayer, 

according to the practice of a recognized church or 

denomination;  

c. Abandon the child;  
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d. Commit or allow to be committed any sexual act upon a 

child in violation of the law.  

"Child" means any person less younger than 18 years of age.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Social 

Services also known as the Director of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services. (§ 63.1-2 63.2-100 of the 

Code of Virginia)  

"Complaint" means an accusation received either orally or in 

writing that:  

a. A licensed family day-care system is not in compliance 

with one or more of these standards or one or more 

statutory requirements; or  

b. A family day-care system home is not in compliance 

with one or more applicable requirements of these 

standards or one or more requirements as established by 

the family day-care system; or  

c. A child or children in the care of a family day-care 

home, which is a member of a licensed family day-care 

system is or are being abused or neglected.  

"Day-Care" "Day-care" means care, protection, and 

guidance provided to a child or group of children separated 

from their parents or guardian for less than 24 hours per day 

at a location other than the home of the parents or guardian.  

"Day-Care Provider" "Day-care provider" means an 

individual who, by contract with a family day-care system, 

provides day-care in his or her home.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services.  

"Department Representative" representative" means an 

employee of the Virginia Department of Social Services 

department, acting as the authorized agent of the 

Commissioner commissioner in carrying out the 

responsibilities and duties specified in Chapter 10 17 (§ 63.1-

195 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.1 63.2 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Director" means the licensee or a person designated by the 

licensee who oversees the day-to-day operation of the system, 

including compliance with all minimum standards for 

licensed family day-care systems.  

"Family day-care system" means any person who approves 

family day-care homes as members of its system; who refers 

children to available day-care homes in that system; and who 

through contractual arrangement may provide central 

administrative functions, including, but not limited to, 

training of operators of family day-care homes; technical 

assistance and consultation to operators of family day-care 

homes; inspection, supervision, monitoring, and evaluation of 

family day-care homes; and referral of children to available 

health and social services. (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia)  

"Family day-care system home" means any private family 

home, which is an approved member of a family day-care 

system and receives nine or fewer children for care, 

protection, and guidance during any part of the 24-hour day 

except children who are related by blood or marriage to the 

person who maintains the home. Family day-care homes that 

are members of a licensed day-care system and are approved 

by that system to care for six or more children are not subject 

to direct licensure by the department. (§ 63.2-100 of the Code 

of Virginia) 

"Licensee" means any person, association, partnership, or 

corporation to whom the license is issued.  

"Person" means any natural person or any association, 

partnership, or corporation. For the purpose of these standards 

public agencies are not included in this definition.  

"Referral" means any activity by the family day-care system 

which that provides assistance in locating or arranging day-

care for children in homes that have been accepted or 

approved as members of the system, or in locating or 

arranging for health or social services from other sources 

based upon identified needs.  

"Sponsor" means an individual, association, partnership, or 

corporation having the responsibility for planning and 

operating a family day-care system subject to licensure. The 

licensee is the sponsor of a family day-care system. (The 

sponsor may not, in all cases, be the owner of the physical 

plant including buildings or real estate, or both, in or on 

which the family day-care system office is located. In these 

instances the term "sponsor" as defined here and used in this 

chapter is considered to be the person, partnership, 

association, or corporation that owns the enterprise rather 

than the physical plant or real estate, or both,.) both.) 

C. The license.  

1. A license to operate a family day-care system is issued 

to a specific person, partnership, association, or 

corporation for an exact location, which will be indicated 

on the license.  

2. The family day-care system shall be operated and 

conducted in the name of the sponsor or in such name as 

shall be designated on the application and as indicated on 

the license.  

3. The license expires automatically and is not transferable 

when there is a change of sponsorship.  

4. [Deleted effective February 1, 1984.]  

5. 4. The current license shall be posted at all times at a 

place that is conspicuous to the public in the building 

housing the system office. If the system has more than one 

office, copies of the current license shall be posted in a 

place that is conspicuous to the public in each office.  

6. 5. An annual license is one issued to a family day-care 

system when the activities, services, and facilities meet 

substantially the minimum standards and requirements for 

a license that are set forth in this chapter and any additional 

requirements that may be specified in Chapter 10 17 

(§ 63.1-195 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.1 63.2 of the 
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Code of Virginia. The annual license is effective for 12 

months unless it is sooner revoked or surrendered.  

7. 6. When an annual license expires, a provisional license 

may be issued for any period not to exceed six months, if 

the applicant is temporarily unable to comply with all of 

the requirements; however, no facility may operate under 

any such provisional license and renewals of that license 

for a longer period than six successive months.  

8. 7. At the discretion of the Commissioner commissioner, 

a conditional license may be issued to operate a new 

facility in order to permit the applicant to demonstrate 

compliance with all requirements. A conditional license 

and any renewable renewal of that shall be for no longer a 

period than six successive months.  

9. 8. Terms of the license.  

a. The terms of any license issued include:  

(1) The operating name of the family day-care system;  

(2) The name of the individual, the partnership, the 

association, or the corporation to whom the license is 

issued;  

(3) The physical location;  

(4) The number of homes that may be under contract to 

the system;  

(5) The period of time for which the license is effective; 

and  

(6) The total number of children who may be referred by 

the system and be receiving care at any given time in all 

homes that are members of the system.  

b. The terms of the license may include other limitations 

which that the Commissioner commissioner may 

prescribe within the context of this chapter.  

c. The provisional license cites the standards with which 

the licensee is not in compliance.  

D. The licensing process.  

1. Pre-application consultation. Upon request, the 

department's representative will provide consultation to 

any person seeking information about obtaining a license 

for a family day-care system. The purpose of such 

consultation is:  

a. To explain standards;  

b. To help the potential applicant to explore the 

operational demands of a licensed family day-care 

system;  

c. To provide assistance in locating sources of 

information and technical assistance;  

d. To alert the potential applicant of the need to 

determine whether local ordinances will affect the 

proposed operation (e.g. zoning, business license, etc.);  

e. To provide an on-site visit to a proposed family day-

care system office, upon request.  

2. The application.  

a. The application for a license to operate a family day-

care system shall be obtained form from the Virginia 

Department of Social Services department.  

b. The application, together with all required information, 

shall be submitted to the Department department at least 

two months in advance of the planned opening date.  

This is required in order that a determination of 

compliance with the provisions of Chapter 10 17 (§ 63.1-

195 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.1 63.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, and with the Standards for Licensed Family 

Day-Care Systems as set forth here in this chapter may 

be made.  

Among other things, the information submitted shall be 

sufficient to enable the department's representative to 

determine, during the subsequent investigation, the 

specific services to be offered, the adequacy of staff to 

provide these services, the financial capability of the 

applicant, the character and reputation of the applicant, 

including the officers and agents of any association, 

partnership, or corporation as mandated by § 63. 1-198 

63.2-1702 of the Code of Virginia.  

c. The application shall be signed by the individual 

responsible for the operation of the family day-care 

system. The application for a family day-care system to 

be operated by a board shall be signed by an officer of 

the board, preferably the chairman.  

3. The investigation.  

a. Following receipt of the application, the department's 

representative will make an on-site inspection of the 

proposed office and an investigation of the proposed 

services, as well as an investigation of the character, and 

reputation and financial responsibility of the applicant., 

and, upon receipt of the initial application, an 

investigation of the applicant’s financial responsibility.  

b. "The applicant Applicants for licensure and licensees 

shall at all times afford representatives of the 

commissioner required to make the investigation 

reasonable opportunity to inspect all of the applicant's 

their facilities, books, and records, and to interview his or 

its their agents and employees and any child or other 

person living or participating in such facilities, within his 

or its or under their custody, or control, direction, or 

supervision." (§ 63.1-198 63.2-1706 of the Code of 

Virginia) The financial records of an initial applicant 

shall not be subject to inspection if the applicant submits 

an operating budget and at least one credit reference.  

4. Notice to the applicant of commissioner's action. Upon 

completion of the investigation of the application for a 

license, the applicant will be notified in writing of the 

commissioner's decision.  

If the license is issued, an accompanying letter will cite 

any areas of non-compliance noncompliance with 
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standards. This letter will also include any limitations on 

the license and may contain recommendations.  

If a license is to be denied, the letter will state the reasons 

for the intent to deny and will set forth the applicant's right 

to an administrative hearing.  

5. Procedures for renewal of annual, provisional, or 

conditional license. In order to renew an annual, 

provisional, or conditional license, the licensee must 

complete the renewal application and return it, together 

with any required attachments, to the department. In order 

to assure timely processing, the renewal application should 

be completed and returned within 10 days after it is 

received from the department.  

The procedure for investigation and issuance or denial of 

the license as set forth in subdivisions D 3 and D 4 of this 

subsection will be followed.  

6. Early compliance (replacement of a provisional or 

conditional license with an annual license).  

a. A provisional or conditional license may be voided and 

an annual license issued when all of the following 

conditions exist:  

(1) The facility complies with all standards listed on the 

face of the provisional or conditional license well in 

advance of the expiration date of the provisional or 

conditional license, and no additional areas of non-

compliance noncompliance exist;  

(2) Compliance has been verified by an on-site 

observation by the department representative or by 

written evidence provided by the licensee; and  

(3) All other terms of the license remain the same.  

b. A request to void a provisional or conditional license 

and to issue an annual license must be made in writing by 

the licensee to the regional office of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services department from which 

the family day-care system's license to operate was 

issued.  

c. If the request is approved by the department, the 

effective date of the new annual license will be the same 

as the beginning date of the provisional or conditional 

license.  

7. Situation requiring a new application. A new application 

must be filed when sponsorship of the family day-care 

system changes.  

8. Modification.  

a. The conditions of the license may be modified during 

the effective dates of the license with respect to 

increasing or decreasing the number of homes that may 

be placed under contract, the number of children who 

may be referred by the system and be receiving care at a 

given time, changing the name of the system when there 

is no change in sponsorship, change in changing location 

of the system office, or because of other conditions 

caused by changes in staff, program, or facilities.  

b. The licensee shall report to the department any 

contemplated changes in operation which that would 

affect with either the terms of the license or the 

continuing eligibility for a license. (This does not mean 

the department has to approve changes in staff or 

program unless they affect the terms of the license or 

continuing eligibility.)  

c. This information shall be submitted in writing by the 

licensee to the regional office of the Virginia Department 

of Social Services department from which the system's 

license to operate was issued.  

d. The department will then determine whether such 

changes may be approved and the license modified 

accordingly or whether a new application must be filed.  

9. Determination of continued compliance. In order to 

determine continued compliance with standards during the 

effective dates of the license, the department's 

representative will make announced and unannounced 

visits to the offices office or offices of the system and may 

make such visits to homes that are members of the system.  

10. Complaint investigation.  

a. The department has the responsibility to investigate 

any complaints regarding alleged violations of minimum 

standards for licensed family day-care systems and 

provisions of Chapter 10 17 (§ 63.1-195 63.2-1700 et 

seq.) of Title 63.1 63.2 of the Code of Virginia, or both.  

b. The licensee has the responsibility to investigate any 

complaints regarding any family day-care home which 

that is approved as a member of its system. (See 

22VAC40-120-50 C.) At its discretion the department 

may also investigate complaints against individual 

homes.  

11. Revocation. Any license may be revoked for failure to 

maintain these standards or for violation of the provisions 

of Chapter 10 17 (§ 63.1-195 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 

63.1 63.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

12. Appeals. The applicant or licensee has the right to 

request an administrative hearing regarding any denial or 

revocation of a license, in accordance with the provisions 

of the Administrative Process Act, Chapter 1.1:1 (§§ 9-

6.14:11 through 9-6.14:14) of Title 9 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia Virginia).  

Following the receipt of the final order which that 

transmits the department's decision after the administrative 

hearing, the applicant/licensee has the right to appeal to a 

court of record in accordance with § 63.1-213 63.2-1710 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

22VAC40-120-20. Organization and Administration 

administration.  

A. Sponsorship.  
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1. A family day-care system may be sponsored by a single 

individual, a partnership, an association, or a corporation.  

2. A corporation sponsoring a family day-care system shall 

maintain its corporation sponsoring a family day-care 

system shall maintain its corporate status in accordance 

with Virginia law.  

3. Such corporation shall be organized and empowered for 

the purpose of operating and maintaining a family day-care 

system. Corporations not organized and empowered solely 

to operate a family day-care system shall provide for such 

operations in their charters.  

4. A family day-care system sponsored by an association or 

corporation shall be controlled by a governing board that 

shall fulfill the duties of the licensee.  

5. If a family day-care system is sponsored by an 

individual or a partnership, the individual or partnership 

shall be the licensee and shall comply with the 

responsibilities specified for the governing board. (See 

subdivision B 3 of this section.)  

B. Governing board.  

1. Composition of the Governing Board governing board.  

a. The membership of the governing board shall be based 

on the size and purpose of the family day-care system as 

well as the services to be offered by the system.  

b. It shall be large enough and of a composition to:  

(1) Be representative of the variety of interests served by 

the system;  

(2) Contain experience appropriate to the services offered 

by the system; and  

(3) Be representative of the geographical area served by 

the system.  

c. At minimum, the governing board shall be composed 

of three members, unless there are fewer than three 

shareholders, at which time the number of members can 

equal the number of shareholders. This membership shall 

include a president, secretary-treasurer, and member-at-

large. When there are fewer than three members, this 

membership shall consist of a president and secretary-

treasurer.  

d. The method of selecting board members shall be made 

known to the department's representative and shall be 

consistent with the by-laws bylaws.  

2. Meetings of the governing board.  

a. The governing board shall meet not less often than 

quarterly.  

b. Minutes of all meetings shall be recorded and retained 

in a permanent file at the office of the family day-care 

system.  

c. Copies of minutes shall be made available to the 

department's representative upon request.  

3. The responsibilities of the governing board shall include, 

but shall not be limited to:  

a. Establishing written by-laws bylaws for the association 

or corporation; (not applicable to an individual or 

partnership);. 

b. Establishing written goals and policies under which 

the family day-care system is to operate (See (see 

subsection C of this section);.  

c. Ensuring the family day-care system functions 

according to its defined purpose and within the scope of 

services to be offered;.  

d. Ensuring that compliance with minimum standards for 

licensed family day-care systems;.  

e. Maintaining a budgetary and financial system which 

that assures that a sound financial structure is 

maintained;.  

f. Appointing a qualified director to whom it delegates, in 

writing, the authority and responsibility for 

administrative direction and management of the family 

day-care system in accordance with established policies 

(optional for an individual or partnership);.  

g. Establishing written policies which that govern the 

board's or licensee's relationship to the director to 

include, at minimum:  

(1) Evaluation of the performance of the director not less 

often than annually;  

(2) Provision for the director to meet with the board 

periodically to review the services being provided and 

the personnel needs and the fiscal management of the 

family day-care system.  

h. Providing a written organizational chart which that 

indicates the organizational elements of the system, the 

personnel positions within each organizational element, 

and the lines of authority and communication within the 

family day-care system. This chart shall be kept current.  

i. Reviewing, at least annually, the program of the family 

day-care system. This review shall include an 

examination of:  

(1) The number, size, and capabilities of homes, and 

quality of service offered by homes that are members of 

the system;  

(2) The needs of homes that are members of the system 

and the services offered to these homes by the system;  

(3) The needs of children and families served by the 

system and the services offered to them;  

(4) Problems encountered n in the operation of the 

system;  

(5) Consistency of services provided within the 

framework of the stated purpose and objectives of the 

system;  
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(6) Changes required in the focus of the system's 

program;  

(7) The adequacy of the record keeping recordkeeping 

system.  

j. Determining, based on the annual review required by 

subdivision B 3 i of this section subsection, the 

following:  

(1) Requirements for additional staff training;  

(2) Requirements for changes in staffing;  

(3) Requirements for changes in the focus of the program 

and services offered by the system.  

k. Developing and implementing plans to respond to the 

needs identified in subdivision B 3 j of this section 

subsection.  

l. Maintaining accurate and appropriate inventories 

regarding all real property and equipment belonging to 

the system.  

m. Ensuring that member homes comply with local child 

care ordinances where such ordinances exist. (NOTE: A 

note of approval from the administrator of the local 

ordinances will constitute evidence of compliance.)  

C. Goals, policies, and procedures.  

1. Goals.  

a. Written goals shall be developed for the family day-

care system.  

b. These goals shall clearly describe the philosophy and 

objectives of the system.  

c. At minimum, they shall address:  

(1) The purpose of the family day-care system;  

(2) The population to be served;  

(3) The recruitment of homes;  

(4) The program to be offered by the system in terms of:  

(a) Services to be provided to the homes that are 

members of the system;  

(b) Services to be provided to families and children who 

use the system.  

2. Policies and procedures. Written policies and procedures 

shall be prepared for the operation of the family day-care 

system. These policies and procedures shall relate to:  

a. Personnel policies. (see (See 22VAC40-120-30 B) B.) 

b. Services to member homes including:  

(1) Criteria for approving family day-care homes as 

members of system.;  

(2) Training of home operators;  

(3) Technical assistance and consultation to home 

operators; and  

(4) Inspection, supervision, monitoring and evaluation of 

system homes.  

c. Services to children and their families including:  

(1) Referral of children to homes that are members of the 

system; and  

(2) Referral of children to available health and social 

services.  

3. A copy of the goals and all policies and procedures shall 

be made available to the department representative upon 

request.  

D. Finances.  

1. Fiscal accountability. a. The family day-care system 

shall have a plan of financing which that assures sufficient 

funds to operate in accordance with its stated purpose, 

objectives, and the services to be provided.  

b. The department, at any time, may request an audit of 

the financial records of the system by a certified public 

accountant. When requested, systems shall obtain such 

an audit and the cost of the audit report shall be borne by 

the system. (This does not mean that the department will 

routinely require such a report as part of the process of 

application for licensure.)  

c. A new system shall as part of its initial application for 

licensure:  

(1) Submit a plan of financing (working budget) for the 

first year of operation;  

(2) Document funds or credit available for the first year 

of operation;  

(3) Provide a financial report reflecting the current fiscal 

condition of the facility. This report shall be in the form 

of a current balance sheet showing a statement of assets 

and liabilities;  

(4) Submit fee and payment schedules as required by 

subdivision D 3 of this section.  

d. The application for license renewal shall include 

evidence of financial responsibility. At minimum, this 

evidence shall consist of:  

(1) A current balance sheet showing a statement of 

current assets and current liabilities;  

(2) A budget for the next year of operation;  

(3) A copy of the current audit report required by 

subdivision D 1 b of this section if such a report is 

requested by the department;  

(4) Current fee and payment schedules as required by 

subdivision D 3 of this section.  

2. Internal financial procedures.  

a. There shall be a system of financial record keeping 

recordkeeping that is consistent with generally accepted 

accounting principles, showing separation of the system's 

accounts from all other records.  

b. There shall be a written policy for the collection and 

disbursement of funds.  
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c. Those members of the governing board or body and 

staff who have been granted authorized responsibility for 

funds of the system shall be bonded.  

3. Fee and payment schedules.  

a. The family day-care system shall maintain a current 

written schedule of fees charged for the services 

provided. The applicable schedule or schedules shall be 

made available to families who seek or use the services 

of the system, to home homes that apply for membership 

in the system, and to the department as part of the 

application for licensure.  

b. The family day-care system shall establish and 

maintain a current written schedule of payments to be 

made to homes that are members of the system. This 

schedule shall specify the amount of payment, conditions 

of payment, and frequency of payment. It shall be 

provided to all homes that are members of the system and 

also to the department as part of the application for 

licensure. When applicable, this schedule shall also be 

made available to families who seek or use the services 

of the system.  

E. Relationship to the licensing authority.  

1. The family day-care system shall submit to the 

department such reasonable reports and information as it 

may require. (See § 63.1-203 63.2-1708 of the Code of 

Virginia.)  

2. The system's books and records shall be made available 

for inspection by the department's representative, upon 

request. (See § 63.1-198 63.2-1706 of the Code of 

Virginia.)  

3. The licensee, governing board, or its official 

representative shall notify the department when any major 

change is anticipated in the program, services provided, or 

administrative structure. When such a change occurs, 

which was not anticipate anticipated, this notification shall 

be provided no later than 10 days following the change. 

The department shall also be notified within five working 

days whenever a new director is employed by the family 

day-care system.  

F. Family day-care system setting.  

1. The family day-care system shall have an office which 

that shall serve as the headquarters of the system.  

2. This office shall have:  

a. Sufficient space for administration of the system, 

including all clerical functions;  

b. Sufficient space to maintain privacy and 

confidentiality for conferences with parents who seek or 

use the services of the system and family day-care home 

operators who are members of the system; and  

c. At least one working telephone, other than a pay 

phone, with a listed number which that is available for 

system business. An emergency phone number shall be 

provided for the use of the homes in the system during 

any hours that children are in care if the system's 

telephone is not manned during those hours.  

G. Determination of the number of homes that may be under 

contract to the system. In order to ensure timely and adequate 

service delivery, the maximum number of homes that may be 

under contract of the system shall be based on the following 

factors:  

1. The number of system's office staff (NOTE: Persons 

who are approved as day-care providers and their assistants 

are not considered to be system's office staff.);  

2. The geographical dispersion of homes with relation to 

the system office;  

3. The type or types and needs of children served by the 

system;  

4. The financial capabilities of the system; and  

5. They The types of program or programs and services 

offered by the system.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3662; Filed May 17, 2013, 1:08 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Social Services will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-131. Standards for Licensed 

Child-Placing Agencies (amending 22VAC40-131-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1734 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Joni Baldwin, Program Consultant, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7162, or email 

joni.baldwin@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 182 and 545 of the 2013 Acts of 

Assembly, the requirements for a licensee to give evidence 

of financial responsibility and develop an annual budget 

are repealed. 

22VAC40-131-40. Licensee. 

A. The licensee shall ensure compliance with all regulations 

for licensed child-placing agencies and terms of the current 

license issued by the department; and with relevant federal, 

state, or local laws and relevant regulations.  

B. The licensee shall comply with its own policies and 

procedures.  
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C. The licensee shall give evidence of financial 

responsibility. 

D. C. The licensee shall be of good character and reputation 

as defined in 22VAC40-80-10. 

E. D. The licensee shall meet the requirements specified in 

22VAC40-191, Background Checks for Child Welfare 

Agencies. 

F. E. The licensee shall meet the requirements specified in 

22VAC40-80, General Procedures and Information for 

Licensure. 

G. F. The licensee shall maintain sufficient funds to ensure 

operation in compliance with this chapter. The licensee shall 

develop a budget for a period of 12 months of operation.  

H. G. The licensee shall ensure that the child-placing agency 

makes and maintains such records and other information as 

required by this chapter. The licensee shall submit, or make 

available for inspection to the department's representative, 

records, reports, and other information as necessary to assist 

the department in determining the licensee's compliance with 

this chapter and applicable law. 

I. H. The licensee shall allow the department's representative 

to interview the licensee's employees and individuals under 

its custody, control, direction, or supervision. 

J. I. The licensee shall at all times allow the department's 

representative reasonable opportunities to conduct announced 

and unannounced inspections of the licensee's approved 

homes. 

K. J. The licensee shall: 

1. Correct any areas of noncompliance found during 

inspections;  

2. Take necessary actions to prevent reoccurrence of 

noncompliance; and 

3. Make and implement necessary revisions to its policies 

and procedures. 

L. K. The licensee shall not disseminate, or cause directly or 

indirectly to be disseminated, statements regarding services 

that are untrue, deceptive, or misleading.  

M. L. The licensee shall ensure that information, brochures, 

and materials distributed or available to the public contain 

accurate and updated information. 

N. M. The licensee shall maintain ultimate responsibility for 

the health, safety, and well-being of children under its 

custody, control, and direction and shall ensure that an on-call 

licensee representative is available 24 hours a day 7 days each 

week to receive contacts from foster parents, children, and 

other staff of placement settings in which children have been 

placed by the licensee. The licensee shall provide 

interventions and follow-up services, as necessary. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3663; Filed May 17, 2013, 1:08 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Social Services will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-151. Standards for Licensed 

Children's Residential Facilities (amending 22VAC40-

151-130; repealing 22VAC40-151-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1737 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Sharon Lindsay, Program Consultant, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7167, FAX (804) 

726-7132, or email sharon.lindsay@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 182 and 545 of the 2013 Acts of 

Assembly, the requirements for (i) the department to 

conduct an investigation of the financial responsibility of 

the applicant and (ii) the facility to prepare certain 

financial information annually are repealed. 

22VAC40-151-20. Investigation. (Repealed.) 

The department will arrange and conduct an on-site 

inspection of the facility, a thorough review of the activities 

and services, and an investigation of the financial 

responsibility, character, and reputation of the applicant.  

22VAC40-151-130. Fiscal accountability. 

A. Facilities operated by corporations, unincorporated 

organizations or associations, individuals, or partnerships 

shall prepare at the end of each fiscal year: 

1. An operating statement showing revenue and expenses 

for the fiscal year just ended; 

2. A working budget showing projected revenue and 

expenses for the next fiscal year that gives evidence that 

there are sufficient funds to operate; and 

3. A balance sheet showing assets and liabilities for the 

fiscal year just ended. 

B. A. There shall be a system of financial recordkeeping that 

shows a separation of the facility's accounts from all other 

records. 

C. B. The provider shall develop and implement written 

policies and procedures that address the day-to-day handling 

of facility funds to include: 

1. Handling of deposits; 

2. Writing of checks; and 
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3. Handling of petty cash. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3664; Filed May 17, 2013, 1:09 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Taxation is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 

changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion 

is involved. The Department of Taxation will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions from any interested person 

at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 23VAC10-240. Motor Vehicle Fuel 

Sales Tax Regulations (repealing 23VAC10-240-10 

through 23VAC10-240-470).  

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 17, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Joe Mayer, Lead Tax Policy Analyst, 

Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 

23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2299, FAX (804) 371-

2355, or email joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov. 

Background: The Motor Vehicle Fuel Sales Tax Regulations 

were promulgated in 1984 to provide guidance for the Motor 

Vehicle Fuel Sales Tax imposed at the rate of two percent in 

the localities that comprise the Northern Virginia 

Transportation District and the Potomac and Rappahannock 

Transportation District. In 2007, the Department of Taxation 

repealed 25 sections of the regulations as they were either 

obsolete or offered no additional guidance to clear and 

unambiguous statutory language. 

Chapter 532 of the 2009 Acts of Assembly restructured the 

Motor Vehicle Fuel Sales Tax by changing the imposition of 

the tax from the retail sale of the fuel at the pump to the 

wholesale sale of fuel by distributors to retailers. As a result, 

the Motor Vehicle Fuel Sales Tax Regulations became 

obsolete. On November 19, 2009, the Department of Taxation 

issued comprehensive guidelines for the restructured tax. 

Chapters 217 and 225 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly 

transferred the administration of the tax from the Department 

of Taxation to the Department of Motor Vehicles effective 

July 1, 2013. This legislation was a recommendation of 

Governor McDonnell's Government Reform and 

Restructuring Commission, which worked to develop 

proposals for reforming state government to reduce costs and 

improve service delivery. 

Section 58.1-203 A of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Tax Commissioner to issue regulations relating to the 

interpretation and enforcement of the laws of this 

Commonwealth governing taxes administered by the 

Department of Taxation. Effective July 1, 2013, the 

Department of Motor Vehicles will assume administration of 

this tax and the Department of Taxation will no longer be 

authorized to maintain this regulation. 

Summary: 

Chapters 217 and 225 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly 

transferred the administration of the motor vehicle fuel 

sales tax from the Department of Taxation to the 

Department of Motor Vehicles. Since the Department of 

Taxation no longer has authority over this tax effective 

July 1, 2013, the Tax Commissioner is repealing this 

regulation. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3509; Filed May 24, 2013, 4:44 p.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed State Implementation Plan Revision - 
Ambient Air Quality Standards 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 

proposed revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia State 

Implementation Plan (SIP). The SIP is a plan developed by 

the Commonwealth in order to fulfill its responsibilities under 

the federal Clean Air Act to attain and maintain the ambient 

air quality standards promulgated by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) under the Act. The Commonwealth 

intends to submit the regulation to the EPA as a revision to 

the SIP in accordance with the requirements of § 110(a) of the 

federal Clean Air Act. 

Regulations affected: The regulation of the board affected by 

this action is 9VAC5-30, Ambient Air Quality Standards 

(Rev. B13). 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 

whether the regulation amendments should be submitted as a 

revision to the SIP. 

Public comment period: June 17, 2013, to July 17, 2013. 

Public hearing: A public hearing may be conducted if a 

request is made in writing to the contact listed below. In order 

to be considered, the request must include the full name, 

address, and telephone number of the person requesting the 

hearing and be received by DEQ by the last day of the 

comment period. Notice of the date, time, and location of any 

requested public hearing will be announced in a separate 

notice, and another 30-day comment period will be 

conducted. 

Public comment stage: The regulation amendments are 

exempt from the state administrative procedures for adoption 

of regulations contained in Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of 

the Administrative Process Act by the provisions of § 2.2-

4006 A 4 c of the Administrative Process Act because they 

are necessary to meet the requirements of the federal Clean 

Air Act and do not differ materially from the pertinent EPA 

regulations. Since the amendments are exempt from 

administrative procedures for the adoption of regulations, 

DEQ is accepting comment only on the issue cited above 

under "purpose of notice" and not on the content of the 

regulation amendments. 

Description of proposal: The proposed revision will consist of 

amendments to an existing regulation concerning ambient air 

quality standards. On January 15, 2013 (78 FR 3086), EPA 

revised the National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) 

for fine particulate (PM2.5). The annual arithmetic mean 

concentration has been set at 12 µg/m
3
, and the standard for 

the 24-hour concentration is being retained at 35 µg/m
3
. 

9VAC5-30 contains the specific criteria pollutant standards 

set out in 40 CFR Part 50. Therefore, this chapter is the action 

effectively implementing the EPA requirements and must be 

revised accordingly. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations 

(40 CFR 51.102) and not any provision of state law. The 

proposal will be submitted as a revision to the 

Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the federal 

Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. DEQ plans 

to submit all provisions of the proposal as a revision to the 

SIP. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DEQ by the last 

day of the comment period. All materials received are part of 

the public record. 

To review regulation documents: The proposal and any 

supporting documents are available on the DEQ Air Public 

Notices for Plans website: 

http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airpla

nsandprograms.aspx. The documents may also be obtained by 

contacting the DEQ representative named below. The public 

may review the documents between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. 

of each business day until the close of the public comment 

period at the following DEQ locations:  

1) Main Street Office, 629 East Main Street, 8th Floor, 

Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4070,  

2) Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA, telephone (276) 676-4800,  

3) Blue Ridge Regional Office, Roanoke Location, 

3019 Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, VA, telephone (540) 

562-6700,  

4) Blue Ridge Regional Office, Lynchburg Location, 

7705 Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, VA, telephone (804) 

582-5120,  

5) Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, 

VA, telephone (540) 574-7800,  

6) Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen 

Allen, VA, telephone (804) 527-5020,  

7) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800, and  

8) Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA, telephone (757) 518-2000. 

Contact Information: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 

698-4510, TDD (804) 698-4021, or email 

karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 
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Proposed State Implementation Plan Revision - 
Definition of Regulated NSR Pollutant 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 

proposed revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia State 

Implementation Plan (SIP). The SIP is a plan developed by 

the Commonwealth in order to fulfill its responsibilities under 

the federal Clean Air Act to attain and maintain the ambient 

air quality standards promulgated by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) under the Act. The Commonwealth 

intends to submit the regulation to EPA as a revision to the 

SIP in accordance with the requirements of § 110(a) of the 

federal Clean Air Act. 

Regulations affected: The regulation of the board affected by 

this action is Permits for Major Stationary Sources and Major 

Modifications Locating in Prevention of Significant 

Deterioration Areas, Article 8 (9VAC5-80-1605 et seq.) of 

Part II of 9VAC5-80 (Permits for Stationary Sources). 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 

whether the regulation amendments should be submitted as a 

revision to the SIP. 

Public comment period: June 17, 2013, to July 17, 2013. 

Public hearing: A public hearing may be conducted if a 

request is made in writing to the contact listed below. In order 

to be considered, the request must include the full name, 

address, and telephone number of the person requesting the 

hearing and be received by DEQ by the last day of the 

comment period. Notice of the date, time, and location of any 

requested public hearing will be announced in a separate 

notice, and another 30-day comment period will be 

conducted. 

Public comment stage: The regulation amendments are 

exempt from the state administrative procedures for adoption 

of regulations contained in Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of 

the Administrative Process Act by the provisions of § 2.2-

4006 A 3 and 4 c of the Administrative Process Act because 

they consist of the correction of a technical error and because 

they are necessary to meet the requirements of the federal 

Clean Air Act and do not differ materially from the pertinent 

EPA regulations. Since the amendments are exempt from 

administrative procedures for the adoption of regulations, 

DEQ is accepting comment only on the issue cited above 

under "purpose of notice" and not on the content of the 

regulation amendments. 

Description of proposal: The proposed revision will consist of 

amendments to an existing regulation concerning major new 

source review (NSR) for prevention of significant 

deterioration (PSD) areas. On October 25, 2012 (77 FR 

65107), EPA promulgated final amendments revising the 

NSR permitting program for PSD areas. The amendments 

revise the definition of "regulated NSR pollutant" to remove 

the term "particulate matter emissions" from the requirement 

to include the condensable particulate matter fraction. 

"Particulate matter emissions" refers to the non-criteria 

indicator for particulate matter (PM) that is regulated under 

various new source performance standards (NSPSs), using 

EPA Method 5 for the compliance test. EPA has determined 

that only PM10 and PM2.5-indicators of PM used for the 

national ambient air quality standards may include 

condensable PM, unless a specific NSPS or applicable 

implementation plan otherwise requires the condensable 

portion to be included. In Virginia, where the state is 

administering the NSR program under an approved SIP, the 

state may adopt and submit revisions to the SIP to reflect the 

rule revisions. The revised SIP should be the same as or 

equivalent to the revised federal program. Additionally, a 

regulatory citation is being corrected. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations 

(40 CFR 51.102) and not any provision of state law. The 

proposal will be submitted as a revision to the 

Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the federal 

Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. DEQ plans 

to submit all provisions of the proposal as a revision to the 

SIP. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DEQ by the last 

day of the comment period. All materials received are part of 

the public record. 

To review regulation documents: The proposal and any 

supporting documents are available on the DEQ Air Public 

Notices for Plans website: 

http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airpla

nsandprograms.aspx. The documents may also be obtained by 

contacting the DEQ representative named below. The public 

may review the documents between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. 

of each business day until the close of the public comment 

period at the following DEQ locations:  

1) Main Street Office, 629 East Main Street, 8th Floor, 

Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4070,  

2) Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA, telephone (276) 676-4800,  

3) Blue Ridge Regional Office, Roanoke Location, 

3019 Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, VA, telephone (540) 

562-6700,  

4) Blue Ridge Regional Office, Lynchburg Location, 

7705 Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, VA, telephone (804) 

582-5120,  

5) Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, 

VA, telephone (540) 574-7800,  

http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
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6) Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen 

Allen, VA, telephone (804) 527-5020,  

7) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800, and  

8) Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA, telephone (757) 518-2000. 

Contact Information: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 

698-4510, TDD (804) 698-4021, or email 

karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

AT RICHMOND, MAY 22, 2013 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUE-2013-00045 

Concerning the establishment of a renewable energy 

pilot program for third party power purchase agreements 

ORDER PROPOSING GUIDELINES 

On March 14, 2013, the Virginia General Assembly approved 

Chapter 382 of the Virginia Acts of Assembly 

("Chapter 382"), requiring the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") to conduct a renewable energy pilot program 

for third party power purchase agreements and to establish 

certain guidelines regarding its implementation. Chapter 382 

specifically provides that the Commission must establish 

guidelines concerning (i) information to be provided in 

written notices and (ii) procedures for collecting and posting 

information derived from such notices on the Commission's 

website. In addition, the Commission may establish general 

guidelines for its administration of the pilot program. 

As set forth in Chapter 382, parties who wish to enter into a 

power purchase agreement under the pilot program must 

provide written notice to the Commission and to the pilot 

utility of the parties' intent to enter into such agreement not 

less than thirty days before the effective date of such 

agreement. Pursuant to Chapter 382, the Commission must 

establish guidelines concerning the information to be 

included in the provision of such written notice. In addition, 

the Commission must establish guidelines concerning the 

procedures for aggregating and posting the information 

included in such written notices on the Commission's website. 

This information must include the total capacity utilized by 

pilot projects for which notice has been received and the 

capacity remaining available for future pilot projects. Finally, 

the Commission may adopt such rules or establish such 

guidelines as may be necessary for its general administration 

of the pilot program. 

The Commission Staff ("Staff") has prepared proposed 

guidelines in accordance with Chapter 382. A draft of these 

proposed guidelines is attached to this Order for review and 

comment by interested persons. Each third party power 

purchase agreement established pursuant to the pilot program 

should be in accordance with these guidelines, once 

established by further Commission order, and should be in 

compliance with the statutory directives set forth by the 

General Assembly. The Commission will review comments 

on the proposed guidelines from interested persons before 

formally establishing Commission guidelines pursuant to 

Chapter 382. Comments on the proposed guidelines may be 

filed in this proceeding within thirty days from the date of 

this Order. 

In order to promote broad dissemination of the proposed 

guidelines, we direct the Commission's Division of Energy 

Regulation to provide copies of this Order and the proposed 

guidelines by electronic transmission or by mail to 

individuals, organizations, and companies identified by Staff 

as potentially having an interest in this proceeding.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) This matter is docketed and assigned Case No. PUE-

2013-00045. 

(2) Comments on the proposed guidelines shall be filed on 

or before thirty (30) days from the date of this Order. 

Interested persons wishing to comment or propose 

modifications or supplements to the proposed guidelines 

shall file an original and fifteen (15) copies of such 

comments or proposals with Joel H. Peck, Clerk, State 

Corporation Commission, c/o Document Control Center, 

P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218. Interested 

persons desiring to submit comments or proposals 

electronically may do so by following the instructions on 

the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make a downloadable version of the proposed 

guidelines available to the public at the Commission's 

website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. The Clerk of the 

Commission shall make a copy of the proposed guidelines 

available, free of charge, in response to any written request 

for one. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Energy Regulation shall 

transmit electronically or by mail a copy of this Order and 

proposed guidelines to individuals, organizations, and 

companies identified by Staff as potentially having an 

interest in this proceeding. 

(5) This matter is continued generally for further orders of 

the Commission. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to: Senator John Edwards, P.O. Box 1179, 
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Roanoke, Virginia 24006-1179; Delegate David Yancey, P.O. 

Box 1163, Newport News, Virginia 23601; Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219; and C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant 

Attorney General, Division of Consumer Counsel, Office of 

the Attorney General, 900 East Main Street, Second Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. A copy shall be delivered to the 

Commission's Office of General Counsel and Division of 

Energy Regulation. 

PROPOSED GUIDELINES REGARDING NOTICE 
INFORMATION FOR A THIRD PARTY RENEWABLE 

POWER PURCHASE AGREEMENT  

A. Purpose.  

The Commission is establishing these guidelines pursuant to 

Chapter 382 of the 2013 Virginia Acts of Assembly ("Chapter 

382") regarding a pilot program for third party power 

purchase agreements for renewable generation. Chapter 382 

specifically provides that the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") must establish guidelines concerning (i) 

information to be provided in written notices and (ii) 

procedures for collecting and posting information derived 

from such notices on the Commission's website. In addition, 

the Commission may establish general guidelines for its 

administration of the pilot program. 

B. Applicability.  

These guidelines are applicable to any owner or operator of a 

solar-powered or wind-powered electricity generation facility 

(referred to herein as "owner-operator") located on premises 

owned or leased by an eligible customer-generator, as defined 

in § 56-594 of the Code of Virginia, within the service 

territory of Dominion Virginia Power ("DVP"). Such a 

facility shall have a generation capacity of 50 kW to 1 MW 

and shall provide electricity to only one customer. The 

owner-operator shall be permitted to sell the electricity 

generated from such facility exclusively to such eligible 

customer-generator under a power purchase agreement used 

to provide third party financing of the costs of such a 

renewable generation facility. The owner-operator also may 

be subject to requirements of its local governing body and the 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality. 

C. Filing of Notice.  

Parties who wish to enter into a third party power purchase 

agreement under the pilot program must provide written 

notice to the Commission and to DVP of the parties' intent to 

enter into such agreement not less than thirty days before the 

effective date of such agreement.  

D. Contents of Filing.  

The owner-operator shall provide written notice to the 

Commission and DVP not less than thirty days before the 

effective date of such agreement and shall include the 

following information: 

• Identity of the owner or operator of the facility. 

• Identity of the eligible customer-generator. 

• Location of the premise upon which the facility will be 

installed. 

• Renewable source of the facility.  

• Size of the facility. 

• Expected date of operation of the facility. 

• Duration of the third party purchase agreement. 

E. Posting and Tracking.  

Within three days of receiving a written notice of intent, the 

Commission will post to its website the cumulative amount of 

solar-powered and wind-powered generation capacity 

associated with the notice of intent. Within three days of the 

commercial operation of such facility, the owner-operator 

shall provide written notification of such commercial 

operation to the Commission and DVP. Within three days of 

receiving such written notice of commercial operation, the 

Commission will post to its website the cumulative amount of 

installed solar-powered and wind-powered generation 

capacity. Simultaneously, the capacity remaining available 

for future pilot projects also will be posted. The owner-

generator also shall provide written notice to the Commission 

and DVP of any change in the generating capacity of the 

facility or in the parties to the third party power purchase 

agreement within three days of any such change. 

VIRGINIA EMPLOYMENT COMMISSION 

Periodic and Small Business Impact Review for 
Regulations Adopted by the Virginia Employment 

Commission Before July 1, 2005; Published Report 
of Findings 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2010) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia Employment 

Commission has conducted a periodic review of: 

16VAC5-10, Definitions and General Provisions 

16VAC5-20, Unemployment Taxes 

16VAC5-32, Required Records and Reports 

16VAC5-42, Combined Employer Accounts 

16VAC5-50, Employer Elections to Cover Multistate 

Workers 

16VAC5-60, Benefits 

16VAC5-70, Interstate and Multistate Claimants 

16VAC5-80, Adjudication 

The commission has determined that these regulations should 

be continued without change, amendment, or repeal, 

consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law (Title 
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60.2 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia Unemployment 

Compensation Act (Act)), as the regulations (i) are necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for 

the economical performance of important government 

functions; (ii) minimize the economic impact on small 

businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives 

of applicable law; and (iii) are clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

While the Commission has carefully considered the one 

public comment provided, it has determined that these 

particular regulations should be continued without change, 

amendment, or repeal. The Commission reached this 

determination after careful consideration of the proposed 

comment in light of the fundamental purpose of the Virginia 

Unemployment Compensation Act, the agency's statutory 

mandate, the rationale for the General Assembly's addition of 

the "subsequent employing unit" provision to the statute, and 

the 2011 Integrity Act amendments to the Federal 

Unemployment Tax Act. Any change in notice requirements, 

such as those proposed, which could have the effect of 

discouraging or suppressing the rate of participation by 

subsequent employers in the unemployment insurance (UI) 

claims adjudication process, administered under Article 5 

(§ 60.2-619 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of the Act, could result in 

erroneous or improper payment of UI benefits to claimants 

who might otherwise not qualify for such benefits. That result 

would be inconsistent with the purpose of the Act and the 

Commission's statutory duties. 

The primary purpose of the Act is to provide temporary 

income replacement to otherwise eligible individuals who are 

unemployed through no fault of their own. Ford Motor Co. v. 

Unemployment Compensation Commission, 191 Va. 812, 63 

S.E. 2d 28 (1951). Moreover, the General Assembly has 

mandated that the Commission maintain a solvent trust fund 

to pay benefits to those eligible individuals who are 

involuntarily unemployed. See § 60.2-113 of the Code of 

Virginia. To help ensure that benefits were paid only to 

individuals who were unemployed through no fault of their 

own, the General Assembly amended the provisions of 

§§ 60.2-618 and 60.2-619 of the Code of Virginia to require 

the Commission to give notice of a claim to employers for 

whom a claimant worked less than 30 days prior to filing a 

claim and to determine a claimant's qualification for benefits 

based on any separation from work from such employer, 

designated in the statute as a "subsequent employing unit." 

The General Assembly became aware of situations under the 

former law where an individual was laid off from his liable 

employer, went to work for another employer for less than 30 

days, and was then discharged for an act of misconduct such 

as stealing. Prior to the enactment of the "subsequent 

employing unit" provisions, the Commission had no statutory 

authority to address any separation from work other than from 

an employer for whom the claimant worked at least 30 days. 

In 2011, Congress amended the provisions of the Federal 

Unemployment Tax Act to require all states to amend their 

laws in certain ways to reduce the amount of erroneous 

payments of unemployment compensation. One of those 

changes required states to adopt laws that penalized 

employers for failing to respond adequately or promptly to a 

written request for information. Under the conforming law 

passed by the General Assembly in 2013 (Senate Bill 775), an 

employer would be subject to penalty if it failed to promptly 

or adequately respond to a written request for information 

four times in a four-year period. The penalties include a $75 

assessment on the third offense and charges to their tax 

accounts after the fourth such incident. If the proposed 

change was adopted, the Commission could be viewed as 

discouraging employers from participating in the claims 

process if such employer did not have a direct pecuniary 

interest in the outcome and subsequently penalize the 

employer for not providing prompt or adequate information 

about the claim. 

Any UI benefits paid by the Commission must be recouped 

from employers covered by the Act by direct charges to 

respective employer accounts, or indirect charges through 

pool cost and building fund charges. Discouraging subsequent 

employers, who have information on the qualification of a 

claimant for benefits, from participating in this process could 

likely increase the risk of improper payment of UI benefits. 

This would result in attendant charge(s) to the liable 

employer, i.e., the last 30 day/240 hour employer. The 

resulting charge from such lack of participation by 

subsequent employers could not only increase the tax rate of 

the specific liable employer charged, but could also increase 

the tax rate across the board for all employers in the 

Commonwealth who pay into the Unemployment 

Compensation Fund ("Trust Fund") by reducing the overall 

solvency of the Trust Fund. A tax increase, whether direct or 

indirect, due to an increase in improper payments would be 

inconsistent with the Commission's statutory mandate and 

contrary to the best interests of the Commonwealth. 

Granted, the most recent public comment, with its attendant 

proposed notice modifications, seeks to cure the agency's 

prior objection to past, similar such public comment to avoid 

misleading certain subsequent employers about their 

nonliability for direct benefit charges. For example, dollar for 

dollar reimbursable employers, mostly government entities 

and certain non-profit organizations, could in some 

circumstances, depending upon the base period [wage] 

calculations for certain claimants, incur a direct charge to 

their employer tax account, even when such employers have 

been joined  as a subsequent employing unit to a claim filed. 

While the proposed changes to the notice provisions 

contained in the most recent public comment attempt to make 

these dollar for dollar reimbursable employers more aware of 

such direct charge circumstances, it does not change the fact 

that such proposal could actually increase the tax burden or 
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claims cost for businesses/employers covered by the Act. 

While the most recent public comment has suggested some 

further notice revisions to better apprise dollar for dollar 

subsequent employers of this fact, the Commission must 

reiterate that the proposed notice revisions do not change the 

fact that they could still result in increased improper 

payments and an increased tax burden on employers covered 

by the Act. 

In conclusion, the Commission has conducted its periodic 

review of its regulations in a manner consistent with the 

stated objectives of applicable law. The Commission finds the 

regulations (i) are necessary for the protection of public 

health, safety, and welfare or for the economical performance 

of important government functions; (ii) minimize the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) are 

clearly written and easily understandable. 

Contact Information: Coleman Walsh, Chief Administrative 

Law Judge, 703 East Main Street, Room 126, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-7263, FAX (804) 786-9034, or 

email coleman.walsh@vec.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Public Meetings for Draft Water Quality Restoration 
Study and Implementation Planning for the James 

River and Tributaries Impaired for Bacteria 

Public meeting: Charles City Government School Board 

Administration Building Auditorium, 10900 Courthouse 

Road, Charles City, VA 23030. Public meetings will be held 

on Wednesday, June 26, 2013, at 2 p.m. and 6 p.m. Both 

meetings are open to the public. Meetings will cover the same 

content. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) is announcing a draft total maximum daily 

load (TMDL) study to restore water quality and the initiation 

of the Implementation Plan (IP) for the James River and 

tributaries in Henrico, Prince George, Charles City, and Surry 

counties.  

Meeting description: Public meetings provide an opportunity 

for the public to share their knowledge of the watershed and 

learn about pollution affecting community waters. Meetings 

will feature a summary of information from the draft TMDL, 

including watershed land use, water quality monitoring, 

suspected sources of bacteria, and the reduction of source 

bacteria required to meet water quality standards. It will 

feature an introduction to Implementation Planning (IP) for 

the watershed.  Those attending the meeting are invited to ask 

questions, contribute their knowledge of the watershed, and 

participate in the working groups as part of the IP phase. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies have been working to 

identify sources of bacteria in the James River and its 

tributaries:  

Stream County/City Length 

(mi.) 

Impairment 

Crewes Channel Henrico 3.19 

Bacteria 

(Primary 

Contact / 

Swimming 

Use) 

Western Run Henrico 1.85 

West Run Charles City 1.86 

Wards Creek  

Prince 

George 

8.47 

Upper 

Chippokes 

Creek 

Prince 

George, 

Surry 

5.61 

James River 

(mainstem)  

Prince 

George, 

Charles City, 

Surry 

3.76 

(sq. 

miles) 

These streams are impaired for failure to meet the Primary 

Contact (Recreational or Swimming) designated use, due to 

high concentrations of bacteria. The study reports on the 

sources of bacteria and recommends total maximum daily 

loads, or TMDLs, for impaired waters. A TMDL is the total 

amount of a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet 

water quality standards. To restore water quality, bacterial 

levels need to be reduced to the TMDL amount. The draft 

TMDL report will be available at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLR

eports.aspx approximately one week prior to the meeting for 

review. The Implementation Planning (IP) phase utilizes the 

source information and reductions identified in the TMDL to 

devise one scenario of watershed measures, or best 

management practices (BMPs). BMPs can be implemented 

throughout the watershed in order to meet the TMDL bacteria 

reduction goals. The IP phase requires the participation of 

watershed stakeholders at working group meetings to evaluate 

BMPs for the watershed. A steering committee, made up of 

working group members, is designated to guide the process. 

How a decision is made: After the public meeting and all 

public comments have been considered and addressed, DEQ 

will submit the final TMDL report to the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency and the State Water Control Board for 

approval. When the IP is complete following working group 

and steering committee meetings and a final public meeting 

and comment period, the document will be sent to the State 

Water Control Board for approval. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include name, 

address, and telephone number and be received by DEQ 

during the comment period, which will begin Thursday, June 

27, 2013, and end Monday, July 29, 2013. 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
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Contact for additional information: Margaret Smigo, TMDL 

Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 

Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 

23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, FAX (804) 527-5106, or 

email margaret.smigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Periodic and Small Business Impact 
Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2010) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Health is 

conducting a periodic review of 12VAC5-218, Rules and 

Regulations Governing Outpatient Health Data Reporting. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 14 (2010) and § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be terminated, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins June 17, 2013, and ends July 17, 

2013. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Debbie Condrey, CIO and Director of the 

Office of Information Management and Health IT, State 

Board of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-7118, or email 

debbie.condrey@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of the periodic review will be 

posted on the Town Hall and published in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 

Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations on May 16, 2013. The orders may be viewed at 

the State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA, or at the office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA. 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Seven (13) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1417 "Millions To The Max" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective April 5, 2013) 

Director's Order Number Twenty-Eight (13) 

Virginia Lottery's "Cornhole Cash
TM

 2nd Chance 

Sweepstakes" Final Requirements for Operation (effective 

May 8, 2013) 

Director's Order Number Thirty (13) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1430 "Cornhole Cash
TM

" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective May 8, 2013) 

Director's Order Number Thirty-Eight (13) 

Virginia Lottery's "Play For Keeps Sweeps" Sweepstakes 

Final Requirements for Operation (effective nunc pro tunc to 

April 17, 2013, and shall remain in full force and effect unless 

amended or rescinded by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number Thirty-Nine (13) 

Virginia Lottery's "Frisbee
®
 2nd Chance Sweepstakes" Final 

Requirements for Operation (effective May 14, 2013) 

Director's Order Number Forty (13) 

Virginia Lottery's "Skee-Ball
®
 2nd Chance Sweepstakes" 

Final Requirements for Operation (effective May 14, 2013) 

Director's Order Number Forty-One (13) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1424 "Skee-Ball
®
" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective May 8, 2013) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Two (13) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1422 "Frisbee
®
" Final Rules 

for Game Operation (effective May 8, 2013) 

* * * 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 

Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations on May 16, 2013. 

Director's Order Number Thirty-Six (13) 

Certain Virginia Instant Game Lotteries; End of Games. 

In accordance with the authority granted by §§ 2.2-4002 B 15 

and 58.1-4006 A of the Code of Virginia, I hereby give notice 

that the following Virginia Lottery instant games will 

officially end at midnight on April 5, 2013. 

Game 1175 Quick $100's 

Game 1177 Quick Silver 

Game 1223 Lucky Bucks Doubler 

Game 1309 In the Chips 

Game 1314 Triple 777 (TOP) 

tel:804-864-7118
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Game 1315 Lucky Gold 

Game 1332 Bonus Cashword (TOP) 

Game 1334 Quick Bucks 

Game 1344 Win it All (TOP) 

Game 1348 Some Like it Hot 

Game 1358 Ice Chest 

Game 1361 Grab Bag Bucks 

Game 1371 Redskins 

The last day for lottery retailers to return for credit unsold 

tickets from any of these games will be May 10, 2013. The 

last day to redeem winning tickets for any of these games will 

be October 2, 2013, 180 days from the declared official end 

of the game. Claims for winning tickets from any of these 

games will not be accepted after that date. Claims that are 

mailed and received in an envelope bearing a postmark of the 

United States Postal Service or another sovereign nation of 

October 2, 2013, or earlier, will be deemed to have been 

received on time. This notice amplifies and conforms to the 

duly adopted State Lottery Board regulations for the conduct 

of lottery games. 

This order is available for inspection and copying during 

normal business hours at the Virginia Lottery headquarters, 

900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, and at any 

Virginia Lottery regional office. A copy may be requested by 

mail by writing to Director's Office, Virginia Lottery, 

900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order is effective on the date of its signing 

and shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 

rescinded by further Director's Order. 

/s/ Paula I. Otto 

Executive Director 

April 5, 2013 

Director's Order Number Thirty-Seven (13) 

Certain Virginia Game Sweepstakes; End of Sweepstakes 

In accordance with the authority granted by §§ 2.2-4002 B 15 

and 58.1-4006 A of the Code of Virginia, I hereby give notice 

that the following Virginia Lottery sweepstakes will officially 

end at midnight on Tuesday, April 16, 2013. 

Virginia Lottery's "Play for Keeps Sweeps"  

Sweepstakes (18) 13 

This order is available for inspection and copying during 

normal business hours at the Virginia Lottery headquarters, 

900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, and at any 

Virginia Lottery regional office. A copy may be requested by 

mail by writing to: Director's Office, Virginia Lottery, 

900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order is effective nunc pro tunc to April 16, 

2013, and shall remain in full force and effect unless amended 

or rescinded by further Director's Order. 

/s/ Paula I. Otto 

Executive Director 

April 22, 2013 

BOARD OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

Institutions for Mental Disease Reimbursement 
Changes - Notice of Intent to Amend the Virginia 
State Plan for Medical Assistance (pursuant to 
§ 1902(a)(13) of the Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13))) 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the rules governing reimbursement for 

services furnished to individuals under age 21 who reside in 

institutions for mental disease (IMDs), which are inpatient 

psychiatric facilities such as private and state freestanding 

psychiatric hospitals and residential treatment facilities (Level 

C). The U.S. Court of Appeals issued a final decision on May 

8, 2012, regarding reimbursement for these services that 

compels this regulatory action by the department. 

In response to the court decision and in accordance with CMS 

guidance, DMAS is changing the relevant regulations to 

permit separate billing for ancillary services for individuals 

under age 21 residing in an IMD only when the IMD (i) 

arranges for and oversees the provision of all ancillary 

services, including ancillary services furnished through 

contracted or employed Medicaid providers; (ii) maintains 

medical records of care furnished to the individual; and (iii) 

ensures that all services are furnished under the direction of a 

physician. Allowable ancillary services will vary by provider 

type. 

DMAS will continue to enforce the requirement that IMD 

individuals' plans of care be comprehensive, covering 

medical, psychological, social, behavioral, and developmental 

needs (including emergency services). In addition, DMAS 

will require IMDs to: (i) use contracted or employed 

Medicaid providers for ancillary services furnished to 

individuals under age 21 residing in the IMD; (ii) make 

referrals to these contracted and employed Medicaid 

providers; and (iii) obtain and maintain medical records from 

all ancillary service providers that are not covered by the per 

diem. 

DMAS has established detailed guidance on exactly how and 

when the IMDs must update plans of care, establish contracts, 

make referrals, and obtain medical records. If these 

requirements are not met, DMAS has established detailed 

criteria for audits and retractions of paid claims. 

There will be no change to annual expenditures. 
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DMAS is submitting an emergency regulation, pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, to the Governor for 

approval. Pending the Governor's approval, DMAS will 

provide copies of said emergency regulations to all 

requesters. Please forward a written request to the Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

East Broad Street, Richmond, VA, 23219. Further 

information is also available at www.townhall.virginia.gov. 

Contact Information: Brian McCormick, Regulatory 

Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA, 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, TDD (800) 

343-0634, or email brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Code of Virginia Title Recodifications 

The Virginia Code Commission, which is responsible for 

publishing and maintaining the Code of Virginia, is 

considering placing Title 23, Educational Institutions, on its 

work plan as the commission's next recodification project to 

begin in 2014, followed by Title 36, Housing, in 2016. 

Neither title has been recodified since its enactment as part of 

the current Code of Virginia of 1950. 

Generally, the commission selects a title to recodify based on 

the need to logically reorganize content, modernize language, 

and reflect current Code of Virginia style and numbering 

schemes. To the extent practical, the commission avoids 

making substantive changes to the statutory text. In the event 

a substantive change is made, the change is highlighted and 

explained in the final report. 

Other titles presented as recodification candidates in the 

future include Titles 8.01 (Civil Remedies and Procedure), 

22.1 (Education), 40.1 (Labor and Employment), 45.1 (Mines 

and Mining), and 55 (Property and Conveyances). 

The commission is currently working on Title 33.1, 

Highways, Bridges and Ferries, assisted by an advisory panel 

of practitioners experienced in this area. Work on proposed 

Title 33.2, Highways and Other Surface Transportation 

Systems, is expected to be finalized by the end of 2013 with 

resulting legislation introduced at the 2014 Session of the 

General Assembly. More information on title recodifications 

can be found on the commission's website: 

http://codecommission.dls.virginia.gov/title_33_1.shtml. 

Send comments to Jane Chaffin at jchaffin@dls.virginia.gov 

or General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, 201 North Ninth 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, by June 18, 2013. 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-880, Child Support 

Enforcement Program. 

Publication: 27:24 VA.R. 2580 August 1, 2011. 

Correction to Notice of Intended Regulatory Action: 

Page 2580, column 1, 22VAC40-880, paragraph 2 (public 

hearing). The notice incorrectly indicated that the agency 

intended to hold a public hearing on the proposed action 

after publication in the Virginia Register. In addition to 

submitting comments through the U.S. mail, email, and the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall public comment forum, the 

public is welcome to provide comments at regularly 

scheduled State Board of Social Services' meetings during 

the public comment portion of the agendas. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2892; Filed May 29, 2013, 11:43 a.m. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC15-10. Standards and 

Procedures Governing Intrastate Rail Rates in Virginia. 

Publication: 29:20 VA.R. 2516 June 3, 2013 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2516, at the end of the regulation add: 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3579: Filed May 7, 2013, 12:13 p.m.
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