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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 

Chairman; Gregory D. Habeeb; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. 

Moncure, Jr.; Wesley G. Russell, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. 

Tavenner; Christopher R. Nolen; J. Jasen Eige or Jeffrey S. 

Palmore. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 
Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

July 2013 through June 2014 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

29:22 June 12, 2013 July 1, 2013 

29:23 June 26, 2013 July 15, 2013 

29:24 July 10, 2013 July 29, 2013 

29:25 July 24, 2013 August 12, 2013 

29:26 August 7, 2013 August 26, 2013 

30:1 August 21, 2013 September 9, 2013 

30:2 September 4, 2013 September 23, 2013 

30:3 September 18, 2013 October 7, 2013 

30:4 October 2, 2013 October 21, 2013 

30:5 October 16, 2013 November 4, 2013 

30:6 October 30, 2013 November 18, 2013 

30:7 November 13, 2013 December 2, 2013 

30:8 November 26, 2013 (Tuesday) December 16, 2013 

30:9 December 11, 2013 December 30, 2013 

30:10 December 23, 2013 (Monday) January 13, 2014 

30:11 January 8, 2014 January 27, 2014 

30:12 January 22, 2014 February 10, 2014 

30:13 February 5, 2014 February 24, 2014 

30:14 February 19, 2014 March 10, 2014 

30:15 March 5, 2014 March 24, 2014 

30:16 March 19, 2014 April 7, 2014 

30:17 April 2, 2014 April 21, 2014 

30:18 April 16, 2014 May 5, 2014 

30:19 April 30, 2014 May 19, 2014 

30:20 May 14, 2014 June 2, 2014 

30:21 May 28, 2014 June 16, 2014 

30:22 June 11, 2014 June 30, 2014 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology intends to consider amending 18VAC41-20, 

Barbering and Cosmetology Regulations. The purpose of 

the review is to confirm that current regulations are (i) as least 

intrusive and burdensome as possible, while still protecting 

the health, safety, and welfare of the public, (ii) clearly 

written and easily understandable, and (iii) representative of 

the current state of affairs of the industries. The last non-fee 

related regulatory change was made in 2003. 

Changes in the industry and the amount of time elapsed since 

the last amendments warrant review of this chapter to 

determine whether its provisions accurately reflect current 

requirements and standards. Regulations will also be 

reviewed to make sure they are clearly written and easily 

understandable. Ensuring that the regulations are as clear as 

possible will facilitate increased compliance and, ultimately, 

better protection of the health, safety, and welfare of the 

public. The board will strive to ensure any changes to current 

regulations or all new regulations will be as least intrusive 

and burdensome as possible, while protecting the health, 

safety, and welfare of the public guided by §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia. 

This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as the 

report of the findings of the regulatory review pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 31, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, 

FAX (866) 245-9693, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3107; Filed May 30, 2013, 9:24 a.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 5. CORPORATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-

4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any 

agency of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 5VAC5-30. Uniform Commercial Code 

Filing Rules (amending 5VAC5-30-20 through 5VAC5-30-

70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 8.9A-526 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Joel Peck, Clerk of the Commission, State 

Corporation Commission, 1300 East Main Street, P.O. Box 

1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9733, FAX 

(804) 371-9912, or email joel.peck@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The revisions include technical amendments, such as 

changing "correction statement" to "information 

statement," changing "filing officer" to "filing office," and 

amending a website address and clarifying the grounds to 

refuse a Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) record for 

filing. Additionally, amendments allow UCC search 

requests to be delivered by electronic delivery method 

provided and authorized by the filing office. Further, 

amendments allow the filing office to accept payment via 

electronic funds under National Automated Clearing 

House Association (NACHA) rules for remitters, as well as 

allow a filing office to void a filing if the filing fee payment 

is dishonored, declined, refused, reversed, charged back, 

returned unpaid, or otherwise rejected for any reason and 

the remitter fails to submit a valid payment for the filing 

fee and any penalties after notice by the filing office. The 

revisions also substitute current UCC forms with updated 

forms adopted by the International Association of 

Commercial Administrators (IACA). The State 

Corporation Commission adopted the revised regulations 

as proposed without changes by an order dated June 6, 

2013. 

 

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 6, 2013 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. CLK-2013-00007 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting  

a Revision to the Rules Governing UCC Filings 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 

On April 2, 2013, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") entered an Order to Take Notice of a 

proposal by the Commission to adopt regulations pursuant to 

§ 8.9A-526 of the Code of Virginia.  Among other revisions, 

the proposed regulations, which amend the "Rules Governing 

UCC Filings" ("Rules") in Title 5, Chapter 30 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code, provide technical amendments to the 

Rules and update Uniform Commercial Code ("UCC") forms. 

The proposed regulations also allow the Office of the Clerk of 

the Commission to accept electronic delivery of UCC search 

requests, accept payment via certain electronic funds transfer, 

and void UCC filings for uncollected filing fee payments.  

The Order and proposed regulations were published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations on April 22, 2013, posted on 

the Commission's website, and sent to various interested 

parties.  Interested parties were afforded the opportunity to 

file written comments or request a hearing on or before May 

14, 2013. No comments or requests for a hearing were filed. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

proposed regulations and applicable law, concludes that the 

proposed regulations should be adopted as proposed. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulations, as attached hereto, are 

ADOPTED effective July 1, 2013. 

(2) This Order and the attached regulations shall be posted 

on the Commission's website at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall send a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 

attached regulations, to the Virginia Registrar of Regulations 

for publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(4)  In order to effectuate the transition in UCC filings under 

the revised Rules and avoid prejudice to individuals making 

UCC filings on or around the effective date on July 1, 2013, 

the Office of the Clerk of the Commission may continue to 

accept UCC filings made using the current UCC forms 

through July 31, 2013. 

(5) This case is dismissed from the Commission's docket of 

active cases.  
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AN ATTESTED COPY HEREOF shall be delivered to the 

Clerk of the Commission, who shall forthwith mail or e-mail 

a copy of this Order, including a copy of the attached 

regulations, to any interested persons as he may designate. 

5VAC5-30-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Amendment" means a UCC record that amends the 

information contained in a financing statement. Amendments 

also include (i) assignments and (ii) continuation and 

termination statements. 

"Assignment" means an amendment that assigns all or a part 

of a secured party's power to authorize an amendment to a 

financing statement. 

"Continuation statement" shall have the meaning prescribed 

by § 8.9A-102(a)(27) of the Code of Virginia. 

"Correction [ Information statement" means a UCC record 

that indicates that a financing statement is inaccurate or 

wrongfully filed. ]  

"File number" shall have the meaning prescribed by § 8.9A-

102(a)(36) of the Code of Virginia. 

"Filing office" means the Clerk's Office of the State 

Corporation Commission. 

"Filing officer" means the Clerk of the State Corporation 

Commission. 

"Filing officer statement" means a statement entered into the 

UCC information management system to describe the 

correction of an error or inaccuracy made by the filing office. 

"Financing statement" shall have the meaning prescribed by 

§ 8.9A-102(a)(39) of the Code of Virginia. 

"Individual" means a natural person, living or deceased. 

[ "Information statement" means a UCC record that 

indicates that a financing statement is inaccurate or 

wrongfully filed. ]  

"Initial financing statement" means a UCC record containing 

the information required to be in an initial financing statement 

and that causes the filing office to establish the initial record 

of existence of a financing statement. 

"Organization" means a legal person that is not an 

individual. 

"Personal identifiable information" shall have the meaning 

prescribed by § 12.1-19 B of the Code of Virginia. 

"Remitter" means a person who tenders a UCC record to the 

filing officer office for filing, whether the person is a filer or 

an agent of a filer responsible for tendering the record for 

filing. "Remitter" does not include a person responsible 

merely for the delivery of the record to the filing office, such 

as the postal service or a courier service but does include a 

service provider who acts as a filer's representative in the 

filing process. 

"Secured party of record" shall have the meaning prescribed 

by § 8.9A-511 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Termination statement" shall have the meaning prescribed 

by § 8.9A-102(a)(79) 8.9A-102(a)(80) of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Through date" means the most recent date that all 

submissions for a specified day have been indexed in the 

UCC information management system. 

"UCC" means the Uniform Commercial Code - Secured 

Transactions (§ 8.9A-101 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

"UCC information management system" means the 

information management system used by the filing office to 

store, index, and retrieve information relating to financing 

statements. 

"UCC record" means an initial financing statement, an 

amendment, and a correction an information or a filing officer 

statement, and shall not be deemed to refer exclusively to 

paper or paper-based writings. 

5VAC5-30-30. General filing and search requirements.  

A. UCC records may be tendered for filing at the filing 

office as follows: 

1. By personal delivery, at the filing office street address; 

2. By courier delivery, at the filing office street address;  

3. By postal delivery, to the filing office mailing address; 

or 

4. By electronic delivery method provided and authorized 

by the filing office. 

B. The filing time for a UCC record delivered by personal, 

courier, or postal delivery is the time the UCC record is date-

and-time stamped by the filing office even though the UCC 

record may not yet have been accepted for filing and may be 

subsequently rejected. The filing time for a UCC record 

delivered by authorized electronic delivery method is the date 

and time the UCC information management system receives 

the record and determines that all the required elements of the 

transmission have been received in the required format. 

C. UCC search requests may be delivered to the filing office 

by personal, courier, or postal delivery, or by electronic 

delivery method provided and authorized by the filing office.  

5VAC5-30-40. Forms, fees, and payments.  

A. Forms. 

1. The filing office shall only accept forms for UCC 

records that conform to the requirements of this chapter. 

2. The forms set forth in § 8.9A-521 of the Code of 

Virginia shall be accepted. 

3. 2. The forms approved by the International Association 

of Commercial Administrators as they appear on the filing 

office's website 

(http://www.scc.virginia.gov/division/clk/uccfile.aspx) 

(http://www.scc.virginia.gov/clk/uccfile.aspx) shall be 

accepted. 
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4. 3. The filing officer office may approve other forms for 

acceptance, including additional forms approved by the 

International Association of Commercial Administrators. 

B. Fees. 

1. The fee for filing and indexing a UCC record is $20. 

2. The fee for submitting a UCC search request is $7.00. 

3. The fee for furnishing UCC search copies is $.50 for 

each page. The fee for affixing the seal of the commission 

to a certificate is $3.00. 

C. Methods of payment. Filing fees and fees for services 

provided under this chapter may be paid by the following 

methods: 

1. Payment in cash shall be accepted if paid in person at 

the filing office. 

2. Personal checks, cashier's checks and money orders 

made payable to the State Corporation Commission or 

Treasurer of Virginia shall be accepted for payment if 

drawn on a bank acceptable to the filing office or if the 

drawer is acceptable to the filing office. 

3. Payment by credit card acceptable to the filing office or 

electronic check shall may be accepted for the filing or 

submission of documents delivered by authorized 

electronic delivery method. 

4. The filing office may accept payment via electronic 

funds under National Automated Clearing House 

Association (NACHA) rules from remitters who have 

entered into appropriate NACHA-approved arrangements 

for such transfers and who authorize the relevant transfer 

pursuant to such arrangements and rules.  

D. Overpayment and underpayment policies. 

1. The filing officer office shall notify the remitter of the 

amount of any overpayment exceeding $24.99 and send the 

remitter the appropriate procedure and form for requesting 

a refund. The filing officer office shall refund an 

overpayment of $24.99 or less only upon the written 

request of the remitter. A request for a refund shall be 

delivered to the filing office within 12 months from the 

date of payment. 

2. Upon receipt of a UCC record with an insufficient filing 

fee, the filing officer office shall return the record to the 

remitter with a notice stating the deficiency and may retain 

the filing fee. 

E. Uncollected filing fee payment. A filing may be voided 

by the filing office if the filing fee payment that is submitted 

by the remitter is dishonored, declined, refused, reversed, 

charged back to the commission, returned to the commission 

unpaid, or otherwise rejected for any reason by a financial 

institution or other third party, and after notice from the filing 

office, the remitter fails to submit a valid payment for the 

filing fee and any penalties.  

F. Federal liens. A notice of lien, certificate and other notice 

affecting a federal tax lien or other federal lien presented to 

the filing office pursuant to the provisions of the Uniform 

Federal Lien Registration Act (§ 55-142.1 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia) shall be treated as the most analogous UCC 

record unless the Uniform Federal Lien Registration Act or 

federal law provides otherwise. 

Part II  

Record Requirements  

5VAC5-30-50. Acceptance and refusal of records; 

continuation statements. 

A. The duties and responsibilities of the filing officer office 

with respect to the administration of the UCC are ministerial. 

In accepting for filing or refusing to file a UCC record 

pursuant to this chapter, the filing officer office does none of 

the following: 

1. Determine the legal sufficiency or insufficiency of a 

record; 

2. Determine that a security interest in collateral exists or 

does not exist; 

3. Determine that information in the record is correct or 

incorrect, in whole or in part; or 

4. Create a presumption that information in the record is 

correct or incorrect, in whole or in part. 

B. The first day on which a continuation statement may be 

filed is the day of the month corresponding to the date upon 

which the related financing statement would lapse in the sixth 

month preceding the month in which the financing statement 

would lapse. If there is no such corresponding date, the first 

day on which a continuation statement may be filed is the last 

day of the sixth month preceding the month in which the 

financing statement would lapse. The last day on which a 

continuation statement may be filed is the date upon which 

the financing statement lapses. If the lapse date falls on a 

Saturday, Sunday, or other day on which the filing office is 

not open, then the last day on which a continuation statement 

may be filed, if tendered for filing by personal, courier, or 

postal delivery, is the last day the filing office is open prior to 

the lapse date. An authorized electronic delivery method may 

be available to file a continuation statement on a Saturday, 

Sunday, or other day on which the filing office is not open. 

The relevant anniversary for a February 29 filing date shall be 

March 1 in the fifth or 30th year following the date of filing. 

C. Except as provided in 5VAC5-30-40 D, if the filing 

officer office finds grounds to refuse a UCC record for filing, 

including those set forth in § 8.9A-516 (b) of the Code of 

Virginia, the filing officer office shall return the record to the 

remitter and may retain the filing fee. 

D. Nothing in this chapter shall prevent the filing officer 

office from communicating to a filer or a remitter that the 

filing officer office noticed apparent potential defects in a 

UCC record, whether or not it was filed or refused for filing. 

However, the filing office is under no obligation to do so and 

may not, in fact, have the resources to identify potential 

defects. The responsibility for the legal effectiveness of filing 
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rests with filers and remitters and the filing office bears no 

responsibility for such effectiveness. 

E. The filing officer office may act in accordance with 

§ 12.1-19 B of the Code of Virginia with respect to 

submissions that contain personal identifiable information. 

F. If a secured party or a remitter demonstrates to the 

satisfaction of the filing officer office that a UCC record that 

was refused for filing should not have been refused, the filing 

officer office shall file the UCC record as provided in this 

chapter with a filing date and time assigned when the record 

was originally tendered for filing. The filing officer office 

shall also file a filing officer statement that states the effective 

date and time of filing, which shall be the date and time the 

UCC record was originally tendered for filing. 

Part III  

Record Filing and Searches  

5VAC5-30-60. Filing and data entry procedures.  

A. The filing office may correct errors made by its personnel 

in the UCC information management system at any time. If 

the correction occurs after the filing officer office has issued a 

certification, the filing officer office shall file a filing officer 

statement in the UCC information management system 

identifying the record to which it relates, the date of the 

correction, and explaining the nature of the corrective action 

taken. The record shall be preserved as long as the record of 

the initial financing statement is preserved in the UCC 

information management system. 

B. An error by a filer or remitter is the responsibility of that 

person. It can be corrected by filing an amendment or it can 

be disclosed by filing a correction an information statement 

pursuant to § 8.9A-518 of the Code of Virginia. A correction 

statement shall be made only on a Statement of Claim form 

(Form UCC5). 

C. 1. A UCC record tendered for filing shall designate 

whether a name is a name of an individual or an organization. 

If the name is that of an individual, the first, middle and last 

names surname, first personal name, additional name or 

names, and any suffix shall be given. 

2. Organization names are entered into the UCC 

information management system exactly as set forth in the 

UCC record, even if it appears that multiple names are set 

forth in the record or if it appears that the name of an 

individual has been included in the field designated for an 

organization name. 

3. The filing office will only accept forms that designate 

separate fields for individual and organization names and 

separate fields for first, middle, and last names the 

surname, first personal name, additional name or names, 

and any suffix. Such forms diminish the possibility of 

filing office error and help assure that filers' expectations 

are met. However, the inclusion of names in an incorrect 

field or the failure to transmit names accurately to the 

filing office may cause a financing statement to be 

ineffective. 

D. The filing officer office shall take no action upon receipt 

of a notification, formal or informal, of a bankruptcy 

proceeding involving a debtor included in the UCC 

information management system. 

5VAC5-30-70. Search requests and reports.  

A. The filing officer office maintains for public inspection a 

searchable index for all UCC records. The index shall provide 

for the retrieval of all filed records by the name of the debtor 

and by the file number of the initial financing statement. 

B. Search requests shall be made only on the National 

Information Request form (Form UCC11) and shall include: 

1. The name of the debtor to be searched, specifying 

whether the debtor is an individual or organization. A 

search request will be processed using the exact name 

provided by the requestor. 

2. The name and address of the person to whom the search 

report is to be sent. 

3. Payment of the appropriate fee, which shall be made by 

a method set forth in this chapter. 

C. Search requests may include: 

1. A request that copies of records found in the search be 

included with the search report, and 

2. Instructions on the mode of delivery desired, if other 

than by postal delivery, which shall be followed if the 

desired mode is acceptable to the filing office. 

D. Search results are produced by the application of 

standardized search logic to the name presented to the filing 

officer office. The following criteria apply to searches: 

1. There is no limit to the number of matches that may be 

returned in response to the search request. 

2. No distinction is made between upper and lower case 

letters. 

3. Punctuation marks and accents are disregarded. 

4. "Noise words" are limited to "an," "and," "for," "of," and 

"the." The word "the" is disregarded. Other noise words 

appearing anywhere except at the beginning of an 

organization name are disregarded. Certain business words 

are modified to a standard abbreviation: company to "co," 

corporation to "corp," limited to "ltd," incorporated to 

"inc." 

5. All spaces are disregarded. 

6. After using the preceding criteria to modify the name to 

be searched, the search will reveal names of debtors that 

are contained in unlapsed or all initial financing statements 

in an alphabetical list. 

E. Reports created in response to a search request shall 

include the following: 

1. The date and time the report was generated. 
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2. Identification of the name searched. 

3. The through date as of the date and time the report was 

generated. 

4. For an organization, the name as it appears after 

application of the standardized search logic. 

5. Identification of each unlapsed initial financing 

statement or all initial financing statements filed on or 

prior to the report date and time corresponding to the 

search criteria, by name of debtor, by file number, and by 

file date and file time. 

6. For each initial financing statement on the report, a 

listing of all related UCC records filed by the filing officer 

office on or prior to the report date. 

7. Copies of all UCC records revealed by the search and 

requested by the requestor. 

F. The filing office may provide access to the searchable 

index via the Internet that produces search results beyond 

exact name matches. Search results obtained via the Internet 

shall not constitute an official search and will not be certified 

by the filing office. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 

form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 

may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 

General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

FORMS (5VAC5-30) 

UCC Financing Statement, Form UCC1, (rev. 5/02). 

UCC Financing Statement Addendum, Form UCC1Ad, (rev. 

5/09). 

UCC Financing Statement Additional Party, Form 

UCC1AP, (rev. 5/02). 

UCC Financing Statement Amendment, Form UCC3, (rev. 

5/02). 

UCC Financing Statement Amendment Addendum, Form 

UCC3Ad, (rev. 7/98). 

UCC Financing Statement Amendment Additional Party, 

Form UCC3AP, (rev. 5/02). 

Statement of Claim, Form UCC5, (rev. 5/09). 

National Information Request, Form UCC11, (rev. 5/01). 

UCC Financing Statement, Form UCC1 (rev. 4/11). 

UCC Financing Statement Addendum, Form UCC1Ad (rev. 

4/11). 

UCC Financing Statement Additional Party, Form UCC1AP 

(rev. 8/11). 

UCC Financing Statement Amendment, Form UCC3 (rev. 

4/11). 

UCC Financing Statement Amendment Addendum, Form 

UCC3Ad (rev. 4/11). 

UCC Financing Statement Amendment Additional Party, 

Form UCC3AP (rev. 8/11). 

UCC Information Statement, Form UCC5 (rev. 7/12). 

UCC Information Request, Form UCC11 (rev. 7/12). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3633; Filed June 10, 2013, 3:10 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-20. Rules Relating to 

Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Law-

Enforcement Officers (amending 6VAC20-20-21, 

6VAC20-20-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 31, 2013. 

Effective Date: August 15, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Stephanie Morton, Law Enforcement 

Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, 12th Floor, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-8003, or email 

stephanie.morton@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The legal authority of the Department of Criminal 

Justice Services, under the direction of the Criminal Justice 

Services Board, to establish compulsory minimum training 

standards subsequent to employment as a law-enforcement 

officer in (i) permanent positions and (ii) temporary or 

probationary status, and establish the time required for the 

completion of such training is found in § 9.1-102 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to remove 

the reference to the 1997 document regarding performance 

outcomes and replace it with the department's website link to 

the document regarding compulsory minimum training 

standards. The requested revisions are essential to protect the 

safety and welfare of citizens to ensure that law-enforcement 

officers are receiving the most current training. Currently, 

when training standards must be revised, the department has 

to seek such changes through the standard regulatory process. 

This process requires a minimum of 12 to 18 months for 

completion, which is far too lengthy a wait when dealing with 

public and officer safety issues. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: This amendment will 

not affect the department's constituents. This change will 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2e6db003633~9&typ=40&actno=003633&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b2212003633~10&typ=40&actno=003633&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b2212003633~10&typ=40&actno=003633&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2c653003633~11&typ=40&actno=003633&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2c653003633~11&typ=40&actno=003633&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2e772003633~12&typ=40&actno=003633&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2e772003633~12&typ=40&actno=003633&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dfdf1003633~13&typ=40&actno=003633&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dfdf1003633~13&typ=40&actno=003633&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9c917003633~14&typ=40&actno=003633&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9c917003633~14&typ=40&actno=003633&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f7cb2003633~15&typ=40&actno=003633&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=61e3d003633~16&typ=40&actno=003633&mime=application/pdf
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allow the department to seek changes to the compulsory 

minimum training standards through the process listed within 

6VAC20-20. Changes in training standards must go before 

the Law Enforcement Curriculum Review Committee, which 

is comprised of regional, state, and independent criminal 

justice training academy directors. Upon recommendation for 

approval by the Law Enforcement Curriculum Review 

Committee, the recommendation is then presented to the 

Committee on Training of the Criminal Justice Services 

Board, and the Criminal Justice Services Board must give the 

final approval. 

Substance: This action amends the language of the regulation 

by removing the reference to the 1997 document regarding 

performance outcomes and replacing that language with the 

department's website link to the document regarding 

compulsory minimum training standards. 

Issues: The advantage is that any recruit completing the 

compulsory minimum training standards through a certified 

criminal justice training academy will be receiving the most 

current training standards approved by the Criminal Justice 

Services Board. There are no disadvantages since the 

oversight committee is composed of knowledgable and 

experienced persons who make recommendations to members 

appointed to serve by the Governor through the Criminal 

Justice Services Board and feel these revisions are in the best 

interest of the department's constituents and the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Criminal Justice Services (Board) proposes to 

amend its training regulations for law enforcement officers. 

Specifically, the Board proposes to: 

• Add information to these regulations that will direct 

interested parties to the complete training standards 

guidelines on the Department of Criminal Justice Services 

(DCJS) website and 

• Eliminate reference to performance outcomes in these 

regulations because they are now in DCJS guidelines and are 

subject to annual change. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations explicitly 

enumerate performance outcomes. Because these 

performance outcomes are policy statements and are subject 

to annual change, the Board proposes to strike them from 

these regulations and, instead promulgate regulatory language 

that directs interested parties to a complete list of 

performance outcomes on the DCJS website. Because 

performance outcomes can change every year, but it would 

take two years on average to change them in regulation, this 

regulatory change is likely to provide the benefit of clarity to 

interested parties. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DCJS reports that 

individuals who are interested in pursuing careers as law 

enforcement officers are subject to the training requirements 

in these proposed regulations. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 

likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 

of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. These proposed 

regulatory changes are unlikely to have any effect on small 

businesses in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. These proposed regulatory changes are 

unlikely to have any effect on small businesses in the 

Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Criminal Justice Services concurs generally 

with the economic impact analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget on the proposed Regulations Relating to 
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Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Law-

Enforcement Officers. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment replaces the reference to the 

December 1997 document regarding performance 

outcomes with the Department of Criminal Justice 

Services' website link to the document regarding 

compulsory minimum training standards for law-

enforcement officers. 

6VAC20-20-21. Performance outcomes and minimum 

hours required.  

A. The performance outcomes are detailed in the document 

entitled "Performance Outcomes for Compulsory Minimum 

Training For Law Enforcement Officers," December 1997, 

which is incorporated by reference and made a part of this 

chapter. Pursuant to the provisions of subdivision 2 of § 9.1-

102 of the Code of Virginia, the board establishes the 

standards for Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for 

Law-Enforcement Officers. The complete document may be 

found on the Department of Criminal Justice Services' 

website at http://www.dcjs.virginia.gov.  

B. Academy training.  

1. Category 1 - Professionalism 

2. Category 2 - Legal Issues 

3. Category 3 - Communications  

4. Category 4 - Patrol 

5. Category 5 - Investigations 

6. Category 6 - Defensive Tactics/Use of Force 

7. Category 7 - Weapons Use 

8. Category 8 - Driver Training 

9. Category 9 - Physical Training (Optional)  

ACADEMY TRAINING HOURS - 480 (excluding 

Category 9)  

C. Field training.  

Category 10 - Field Training 

FIELD TRAINING HOURS - 100  

TOTAL MINIMUM TRAINING STANDARDS HOURS 

- 580 (excluding Category 9)  

6VAC20-20-50. Compliance with compulsory minimum 

training standards.  

A. The compulsory minimum training standards shall be 

accomplished by satisfactory completion of the academy 

training objectives and criteria at a certified training academy 

and the successful completion of field training objectives 

unless otherwise provided by 6VAC20-20-30 B.  

B. Officers attending approved training are required to 

attend all classes and shall not be placed on duty or call 

except in cases of emergency.  

C. The Criminal Justice Services Board will provide a 

transition period for implementation of this chapter. The 

transition period shall begin February 4, 1998. During the 

transition period, certified training academies may conduct 

law-enforcement entry-level training using the performance 

objectives within the "Compulsory Minimum Training 

Standards for Law-Enforcement Officers," effective July 6, 

1983, or the performance outcomes and training objectives. 

Accordingly, any certified training academy may institute a 

curriculum transition by replacing existing performance 

objectives with the revised performance outcomes and 

training objectives. Effective July 1, 1999, all entry-level 

training programs shall meet the requirements of 6VAC20-

20-21.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(6VAC20-20)  

Performance Outcomes for Compulsory Minimum Training 

for Law Enforcement Officers, December 1997, Department 

of Criminal Justice Services.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3562; Filed June 12, 2013, 11:50 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Titles of Regulations: 14VAC5-280. Rules Establishing 

Standards for Life, Annuity, and Accident and Sickness 

Reinsurance Agreements (amending 14VAC5-280-10, 

14VAC5-280-30, 14VAC5-280-40, 14VAC5-280-70). 

14VAC5-290. Rules Establishing Standards for 

Companies Deemed to Be in Hazardous Financial 

Condition (amending 14VAC5-290-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 6, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Raquel Pino-Moreno, Principal Insurance 

Analyst, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, 

P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

9499, FAX (804) 371-9511, or email raquel.pino-

moreno@scc.virginia.gov. 

http://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/
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Summary: 

Chapter 539 of the Acts of Assembly of 2012 incorporated 

revisions made to the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners' Credit for Reinsurance Model Law that 

reformed the treatment of reinsurance transactions, 

including allowing for the certification of reinsurers. The 

proposed amendments to 14VAC5-280 and 14VAC5-290 

conform the regulations to those changes by (i) adding 

health maintenance organizations to the definition of "life 

and health business" and (ii) deleting references to and 

provisions based on § 38.2-1316.3 or 38.2-1316.6 of the 

Code of Virginia, which were repealed by Chapter 539.  

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 7, 2013 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2013-00095 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 

Amending the Rules Establishing Standards 

For Life, Annuity, and Accident and Sickness 

Reinsurance Agreements and the Rules Establishing 

Standards for Companies Deemed to be in 

Hazardous Financial Condition 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 

enforcement and administration of all laws within its 

jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code provides that the 

Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 

appropriate for the administration and enforcement of Title 

38.2 of the Code. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 

pursuant to § 38.2-223 of the Code are set forth in Title 14 of 

the Virginia Administrative Code. A copy may also be found 

at the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/laws.aspx.  

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 

Commission proposed amendments to rules set forth in 

Chapters 280 and 290 of Title 14 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code, entitled Rules Establishing Standards 

for Life, Annuity, and Accident and Sickness Reinsurance 

Agreements, 14VAC5-280-10 et seq., and Rules Establishing 

Standards for Companies Deemed to be in Hazardous 

Financial Condition, 14VAC5-290-10 et seq. (collectively, 

"Rules"), respectively, which amend the Rules at 14VAC5-

280-10, 14VAC5-280-30, 14VAC5-280-40, 14VAC5-280-

70, and 14VAC5-290-30. 

The proposed amendments to Chapters 280 and 290 are 

necessary to implement the provisions of House Bill 1139 

passed by the 2012 General Assembly. This legislation 

incorporates revisions made to the National Association of 

Insurance Commissioners' Credit for Reinsurance Model 

Law, which reforms the treatment of reinsurance transactions, 

including allowing for the certification of reinsurers. The 

proposed revisions to Chapters 280 and 290 include: (i) the 

addition of a reference to HMOs under the definition of "life 

and health business" in 14VAC5-280-10, (ii) the deletion of 

the reference in 14VAC5-280-30 to § 38.2-1316.6 of the 

Code, which was repealed by House Bill 1139, and the 

addition of a reference to § 38.2-1316.1 et seq., (iii) the 

deletion of 14VAC5-280-40 A 2 because this provision 

pertains to provisions that were in § 38.2-1316.6 of the Code, 

(iv) the revision of 14VAC5-280-70 to provide consistency 

with other severability sections, and (v) the deletion of the 

reference in 14VAC5-290-30 to § 38.2-1316.3 of the Code, 

which was also repealed by House Bill 1139. 

NOW THE COMMISSION is of the opinion that the 

proposed amendments submitted by the Bureau to amend the 

Rules at 14VAC5-280-10, 14VAC5-280-30, 14VAC5-280-

40, 14VAC5-280-70, and 14VAC5-290-30 should be 

considered for adoption. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed amendments to Rules Establishing 

Standards for Life, Annuity, and Accident and Sickness 

Reinsurance Agreements, and Rules Establishing 

Standards for Companies Deemed to be in Hazardous 

Financial Condition, which amend the Rules at 14VAC5-

280-10, 14VAC5-280-30, 14VAC5-280-40, 14VAC5-280-

70, and 14VAC5-290-30 are attached hereto and made a 

part hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in 

support of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to 

oppose amending Chapters 280 and 290 of Title 14 of the 

Virginia Administrative Code, shall file such comments or 

hearing request on or before August 6, 2013, with Joel H. 

Peck, Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 

Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 

23218. Interested persons desiring to submit comments 

electronically may do so by following the instructions at 

the Commission's website: 

http://wwwm.scc.virginia.gov/caseinfo.htm. All comments 

shall refer to Case No. INS-2013-00095. 

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the proposal to 

amend Chapters 280 and 290 of Title 14 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code is received on or before August 6, 

2013, the Commission, upon consideration of any 

comments submitted in support of or in opposition to the 

proposal, may amend the Rules. 

(4) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of 

the proposal to amend rules, shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to the Bureau in care of Deputy 

Commissioner Douglas C. Stolte, who forthwith shall give 

further notice of the proposal to amend rules by mailing a 

copy of this Order, together with the proposal, to every 

entity that is licensed, approved, registered, or accredited 

in Virginia under the provisions of Title 38.2 of the Code 

and also subject to solvency regulation in this 
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Commonwealth pursuant to the provisions of Title 38.2 of 

the Code, as well as to all interested parties. 

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with 

the proposal to amend rules, to be forwarded to the 

Virginia Registrar of Regulations for appropriate 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(6) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached proposed 

amendments to the rules on the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

(7) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 

an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 

Ordering Paragraph (4) above. 

(8) This matter is continued. 

14VAC5-280-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Commission" means State Corporation Commission.  

"Insurer" means a cooperative nonprofit life benefit 

company, a mutual assessment life, accident and sickness 

insurer, a fraternal benefit society, a health services plan, a 

dental services plan, or an optometric services plan licensed 

under Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia; and also any 

insurance company, whether known as a life and health 

insurer, a property and casualty insurer, or a reciprocal, which 

is licensed in Virginia and authorized to write any class of life 

insurance, annuities, or accident and sickness insurance.  

"Life and health business" means (i) a class of insurance 

defined by §§ 38.2-102 through 38.2-109 of the Code of 

Virginia or (ii) any product or service sold or offered by a 

person organized and licensed in Virginia under Chapter 38 

(§ 38.2-3800 et seq., cooperative nonprofit life benefit 

companies), Chapter 39 (§ 38.2-3900 et seq., mutual 

assessment life, accident and sickness insurers), Chapter 41 

(§ 38.2-4100 et seq., fraternal benefit societies), Chapter 42 

(§ 38.2-4200 et seq., health services plans), Chapter 43 

(§ 38.2-4300 et seq., health maintenance organizations), or 

Chapter 45 (§ 38.2-4500 et seq., dental or optometric services 

plans) of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

14VAC5-280-30. Scope.  

This regulation chapter shall apply to the life and health 

business of all domestic insurers and to the life and health 

business of all other licensed insurers who are not subject to 

substantially similar provisions in their states of domicile or 

entry.  

This regulation chapter shall not apply to assumption 

reinsurance, yearly renewable term reinsurance or certain 

nonproportional reinsurance such as stop loss or catastrophe 

reinsurance; however, nothing herein shall in any way limit or 

prevent the application of § 38.2-1316.6 Article 3.1 (§ 38.2-

1316.1 et seq.) of Chapter 13 or any other provision in Title 

38.2 of the Code of Virginia to any type of insurer, business 

or reinsurance regardless of whether such application entails a 

standard or principle set forth in this regulation chapter.  

14VAC5-280-40. Accounting and actuarial requirements.  

A. No insurer subject to this regulation chapter shall, for 

reinsurance ceded, reduce any liability or establish any asset 

in any financial statement filed with the commission if, by the 

terms of the reinsurance agreement, in substance or effect, 

any of the following conditions exist:  

1. The reserve credit taken by the ceding insurer is not in 

compliance with the laws of this Commonwealth, 

particularly the provisions of Title 38.2 of the Code of 

Virginia and related rules, regulations and administrative 

pronouncements, including actuarial interpretations or 

standards adopted by the commission.  

2. The reserve credit taken by the ceding insurer is greater 

than the amount which the ceding insurer would have 

reserved on the reinsured portion of the risk if there had 

been no reinsurance.  

3. 2. The ceding insurer is required to reimburse the 

reinsurer for negative experience under the reinsurance 

agreement, except that neither offsetting experience 

refunds against current and prior years' losses under the 

agreement nor payment by the ceding insurer of an amount 

equal to the current and prior years' losses under the 

agreement upon voluntary termination of in-force 

reinsurance by that ceding insurer, shall be considered such 

a reimbursement to the reinsurer for negative experience. 

Voluntary termination does not include situations where 

termination occurs because of unreasonable provisions 

which allow the reinsurer to reduce its risk under the 

agreement. An example of such a provision is the right of 

the reinsurer to increase reinsurance premiums or risk and 

expense charges to excessive levels forcing the ceding 

company to prematurely terminate the reinsurance treaty.  

4. 3. The ceding insurer can be deprived of surplus or 

assets (i) at the reinsurer's option; or (ii) automatically 

upon the occurrence of some event, such as the insolvency 

of the ceding insurer or the appointment of a receiver; or 

(iii) upon the unilateral termination or reduction of 

reinsurance coverage by the reinsurer or by the terms of the 

reinsurance contract. Termination of the reinsurance 

agreement by the reinsurer for nonpayment of reinsurance 

premiums or other amounts due, such as modified 

coinsurance reserve adjustments, interest and adjustments 

on funds withheld, and tax reimbursements, shall not be 

considered to be such a deprivation of surplus or assets.  

5. 4. The ceding insurer must, at specific points in time 

scheduled in the agreement, terminate or automatically 

recapture all or part of the reinsurance ceded.  

6. 5. The reinsurance agreement involves the possible 

payment by the ceding insurer to the reinsurer of amounts 
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other than from income realized from the reinsured 

policies. For example, it is improper for a ceding company 

to pay reinsurance premiums, or other fees or charges to a 

reinsurer which are greater than the direct premiums 

collected by the ceding company.  

7. 6. Renewal expense allowances provided or to be 

provided to the ceding insurer by the reinsurer in any 

accounting period, are not sufficient to cover anticipated 

allocable renewal expenses of the ceding insurer on the 

portion of the business reinsured, unless a liability is 

established for the present value of the shortfall (using 

assumptions equal to the applicable statutory reserve basis 

on the business reinsured). Those expenses include 

commissions, premium taxes and direct expenses 

including, but not limited to, billing, valuation, claims and 

maintenance expected by the company at the time the 

business is reinsured.  

8. 7. The terms or operating effect of the reinsurance 

agreement are such that it does not transfer all of the 

significant risk inherent in the business being reinsured. 

The table at Exhibit 1 identifies for a representative 

sampling of products or types of business, the risks which 

are considered to be significant. For products not 

specifically included, the risks determined to be significant 

shall be consistent with this table.  

9. 8. a. The credit quality, reinvestment, or 

disintermediation risk is significant for the business 

reinsured and the ceding company does not (other than for 

the classes of business excepted in subdivision 9 b) 8 b of 

this subsection) either transfer the underlying assets to the 

reinsurer or legally segregate such assets in a trust or 

escrow account or otherwise establish a mechanism 

satisfactory to the commission which legally segregates, by 

contract or contract provision, the underlying assets.  

b. Notwithstanding the requirements of subdivision 9 8 a 

of this subsection, the assets supporting the reserves for 

the following classes of business and any classes of 

business which do not have a significant credit quality, 

reinvestment or disintermediation risk may be held by the 

ceding company without segregation of such assets:  

- (1) Health Insurance - Long Term Care/Long Term 

Disability  

- (2) Traditional Nonparticipating Permanent  

- (3) Traditional Participating Permanent  

- (4) Adjustable Premium Permanent  

- (5) Indeterminate Premium Permanent  

- (6) Universal Life Fixed Premium (no dump-in 

premiums allowed)  

The associated formula for determining the reserve 

interest rate adjustment must use a formula which reflects 

the ceding company's investment earnings and 

incorporates all realized and unrealized gains and losses 

reflected in the statutory statement. An acceptable 

formula appears at Exhibit 2.  

10. 9. Settlements are made less frequently than quarterly 

or payments due from the reinsurer are not made in cash 

within 90 days of the settlement date.  

11. 10. The ceding insurer is required to make 

representations or warranties not reasonably related to the 

business being reinsured.  

12. 11. The ceding insurer is required to make 

representations or warranties about future performance of 

the business being reinsured.  

13. 12. The reinsurance agreement is entered into for the 

principal purpose of producing significant surplus aid for 

the ceding insurer, typically on a temporary basis, while 

not transferring all of the significant risks inherent in the 

business reinsured and, in substance or effect, the expected 

potential liability to the ceding insurer remains basically 

unchanged.  

B. Compliance with the conditions of subsection A of this 

section is not to be interpreted to diminish the requirement of 

Article 3.1 (§ 38.2-1316.1 et seq.) of Chapter 13 of Title 38.2 

of the Code of Virginia that the reserve credits taken must be 

based upon the actual liability assumed by the reinsurer to 

reimburse the ceding company for benefits that the ceding 

company is obligated to pay under its direct policies and 

which gave rise to the requirement of statutory reserves.  

C. The ceding insurer's actuary responsible for the valuation 

of the reinsured business shall consider this regulation chapter 

and any applicable actuarial standards of practice when 

determining the proper reinsurance credit in financial 

statements filed with the commission. The actuary should 

maintain adequate documentation and be prepared upon 

request to describe the actuarial work that substantiates the 

reserves, reserve credits or any other reserve adjustments 

reported in the financial statement and to demonstrate to the 

satisfaction of the commission that such work conforms to the 

provisions of this regulation chapter.  

D. Notwithstanding subsection A of this section, an insurer 

subject to this regulation may, with the prior approval of the 

commission, take such reserve credit or establish such asset 

as the commission may deem consistent with the laws of this 

Commonwealth, particularly the provisions of Title 38.2 of 

the Code of Virginia and related rules, regulations and 

administrative pronouncements, including actuarial 

interpretations or standards adopted by the commission. All 

of the insurer's financial statements filed with the commission 

pursuant to § 38.2-1300 or § 38.2-1301 of the Code of 

Virginia shall thereafter disclose the reduction in liability or 

the establishment of an asset.  

E. 1. Each agreement entered into after March 31, 1995, 

which involves the reinsurance of business issued prior to the 

effective date of the agreement, along with any subsequent 

amendments thereto, shall be filed by the ceding insurer with 
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the commission within 30 days from its date of execution. 

Each filing shall include data detailing the financial impact of 

the transaction. The ceding insurer's actuary who signs the 

financial statement actuarial opinion with respect to valuation 

of reserves shall be subject to the standards set forth in 

subsection C of this section.  

2. Any increase in surplus net of federal income tax 

resulting from arrangements described in subdivision E 1 

of this subsection shall be identified separately on the 

insurer's statutory financial statement as a surplus item 

(e.g., as part of the aggregate write-ins for gains and losses 

in surplus in the Capital and Surplus Account reported at 

page 4 of the Annual Statement) and recognition of the 

surplus increase as income shall be reflected on a net of tax 

basis in the "Reinsurance ceded" portions of the Annual 

Statement (e.g., Exhibit 1 and Summary of Operations for 

the life insurer's blue blank and the Underwriting Exhibit 

and Statement of Income for the property and casualty 

insurer's yellow blank) as earnings emerge from the 

business reinsured.  

Example: On the last day of calendar year N, company 

XYZ pays a $20 million initial commission and expense 

allowance to company ABC for reinsuring an existing 

block of business. Assuming a 34% tax rate, the net 

increase in surplus at inception is $13.2 million ($20 

million - $6.8 million) which is reported on the 

"Aggregate write-ins for gains and losses in surplus" line 

in the Capital and Surplus Account. $6.8 million (34% of 

$20 million) is reported as income (on the "Commissions 

and expense allowances on reinsurance ceded" line of the 

life insurer's Summary of Operations or as "Other 

underwriting expenses incurred" on the property and 

casualty insurer's Statement of Income).  

At the end of year N+1 the business has earned $4 

million. ABC has paid $0.5 million in profit and risk 

charges in arrears for the year and has received a $1 

million experience refund. Company ABC's annual 

statement (blue blank) would report $1.65 million (66% 

of ($4 million - $1 million - $0.5 million) up to a 

maximum of $13.2 million) on the "Commissions and 

expense allowance on reinsurance ceded" line of the 

Summary of Operations, and -$1.65 million on the 

"Aggregate write-ins for gains and losses in surplus" line 

of the Capital and Surplus Account. In addition, the 

experience refund would be reported separately as a 

miscellaneous income item in a life insurer's Summary of 

Operations and the "Other Income" segment of the 

property and casualty insurer's Underwriting and 

Investment Exhibit, Statement of Income.  

14VAC5-280-70. Severability.  

If any provision in this regulation chapter or the application 

thereof to any person or circumstance is held for any reason 

held to be invalid, the remainder of the provisions in this 

regulation chapter and the application of the provision to 

other persons or circumstances shall not be affected thereby.  

14VAC5-290-30. Standards. 

The following factors and standards, either singly or a 

combination of two or more, may be considered in 

determining whether an insurer's financial condition, method 

of operation, or manner of doing business in this 

Commonwealth might be deemed to be hazardous to its 

policyholders, creditors, or the general public:  

1. Adverse findings resulting from any financial condition 

or market conduct examination conducted pursuant to 

Article 4 (§ 38.2-1317 et seq.) of Chapter 13 of Title 38.2 

of the Code of Virginia or any inspection authorized by the 

general provisions of § 38.2-200, including inspections of 

financial statements filed pursuant to §§ 38.2-1300, 38.2-

1301, 38.2-1316.2, 38.2-1316.3, 38.2-4811, or 38.2-5103 

of the Code of Virginia, or reported in any examination or 

other information submitted pursuant to § 38.2-5103 of the 

Code of Virginia, or reported in any audit report, and 

actuarial opinions, reports, or summaries submitted 

pursuant to §§ 38.2-1315.1 and 38.2-3127.1 of the Code of 

Virginia;  

2. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners' 

("NAIC") Insurance Regulatory Information System 

("IRIS") and its other financial analysis solvency tools and 

reports;  

3. The ratio of the annual premium volume to surplus or of 

liabilities to surplus in relation to loss experience and/or 

the kinds of risks insured;  

4. Whether the insurer's asset portfolio when viewed in 

light of current economic conditions and indications of 

financial or operation leverage is of sufficient value, 

liquidity, or diversity to assure the company's ability to 

meet its outstanding obligations as they mature; 

5. Whether the insurer has established reserves and related 

actuarial items that make adequate provision, according to 

presently accepted actuarial standards of practice, for the 

anticipated cash flows required by the contractual 

obligations and related expenses of the insurer, when 

considered in light of the assets held by the insurer with 

respect to such reserves and related actuarial items 

including, but not limited to, the investment earnings on 

such assets, and the considerations anticipated to be 

received and retained under such policies and contracts;  

6. The ability of an assuming reinsurer to perform and 

whether the insurer's reinsurance program provides 

sufficient protection for the insurer's remaining surplus 

after taking into account the insurer's cash flow and the 

classes of business written as well as the financial 

condition of the assuming reinsurer;  

7. Whether the insurer's operating loss in the last 12-month 

period or any shorter period of time, including but not 

limited to net capital gain or loss, change in nonadmitted 
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assets, and cash dividends paid to shareholders, is greater 

than 50% of the insurer's remaining surplus as regards 

policyholders in excess of the minimum required; 

8. Whether the insurer's operating loss in the last 12-month 

period or any shorter period of time, excluding net capital 

gains, is greater than 20% of the insurer's remaining 

surplus as regards policyholders in excess of the minimum 

required; 

9. Whether the excess of surplus to policyholders over and 

above an insurer's statutorily required surplus to 

policyholders has decreased by more than 50% in the 

preceding 12-month period or any shorter period of time;  

10. The age and collectibility of receivables;  

11. Whether a reinsurer, obligor, or any entity within the 

insurer's insurance holding company system is insolvent, 

threatened with insolvency, or delinquent in payment of its 

monetary or other obligations, and which may affect the 

solvency of the insurer;  

12. Contingent liabilities, pledges or guaranties that either 

individually or collectively involve a total amount that may 

affect the solvency of the insurer;  

13. Whether any affiliate of an insurer is delinquent in the 

transmitting to, or payment of, net premiums or other 

amounts due to such insurer;  

14. Whether the management of an insurer, including 

officers, directors, or any other person who directly or 

indirectly controls the operation of such insurer, fails to 

possess and demonstrate the competence, fitness and 

reputation deemed necessary to serve the insurer in such 

position;  

15. Whether the management of an insurer has failed to 

respond to inquiries relative to the condition of the insurer 

or has furnished false and misleading information 

concerning an inquiry;  

16. Whether the insurer has failed to meet financial and 

holding company filing requirements in the absence of a 

reason satisfactory to the commission; 

17. Whether the management of an insurer either has filed 

any false or misleading sworn financial statement, or has 

released any false or misleading financial statement to 

lending institutions or to the general public, or has made a 

false or misleading entry, or has omitted an entry of 

material amount in the books of the insurer;  

18. Whether the insurer has grown so rapidly and to such 

an extent that it lacks adequate financial and administrative 

capacity to meet its obligations in a timely manner;  

19. Whether the insurer has experienced or will experience 

in the foreseeable future cash flow and/or liquidity 

problems;  

20. Whether management has established reserves and 

related actuarial values that do not comply with the 

requirements of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia, related 

rules, regulations, administrative promulgations, and 

statutory accounting standards, or that are not computed in 

accordance with presently accepted actuarial standards 

consistently applied and in accordance with sound actuarial 

principles and standards of practice; 

21. Whether management persistently engages in material 

under reserving that results in adverse development; 

22. Whether transactions among affiliates, subsidiaries, or 

controlling persons for which the insurer receives assets or 

capital gains, or both, do not provide sufficient value, 

liquidity, or diversity to assure the insurer's ability to meet 

its outstanding obligations as they mature; or  

23. Any other finding determined by the commission to be 

hazardous to the insurer's policyholders, creditors, or the 

general public. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3705; Filed June 10, 2013, 4:29 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-20. Regulation Concerning 

Licensed Asbestos Contractor Notification, Asbestos 

Project Permits, and Permit Fees (amending 16VAC25-

20-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 40.1-22 and 40.1-51.20 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 31, 2013. 

Effective Date: August 15, 2013.  

Agency Contact: John Crisanti, Planning and Evaluation 

Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, TTY (804) 

786-2376, or email john.crisanti@doli.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Pursuant to § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia, the 

board, with the advice of the commissioner, is authorized to 

adopt, alter, amend, or repeal rules and regulations to further, 

protect, and promote the safety and health of employees in 

places of employment over which it has jurisdiction. All such 

rules and regulations shall be designed to protect and promote 

the safety and health of such employees. This amendment 

supports that statutory mandate. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to delete the 

requirement in 16VAC25-20-40, necessitating notification to 

the department of residential asbestos projects because 

Virginia law does not require a permit fee for such asbestos 

projects in residential buildings. New regulatory language has 

been inserted stating that no notification to the department or 
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payment of asbestos project fees is required for asbestos 

projects in residential buildings as defined under 16VAC25-

20-10. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: Most residential 

asbestos projects now fall within the minimum reporting 

amount (10 square or 10 linear feet up to 260 linear feet or 

160 square feet), and jobs of this size present a small risk to 

the public, require fewer inspections, and are of short 

duration. Therefore, eliminating the notification requirements 

for residential buildings will minimize the paperwork burden 

for asbestos contractors and also for homeowners. As such, 

amending the regulation is noncontroversial, and no 

individual or entity will be adversely affected. 

Substance: In 16VAC25-20-40, the language "No asbestos 

project fees will be required for residential buildings. 

Notification for asbestos projects in residential buildings shall 

otherwise be in accordance with applicable portions of this 

chapter," was replaced with "No notification to the 

department or payment of asbestos project fees is required for 

asbestos projects in residential buildings as defined under 

16VAC25-20-10." While residential buildings are covered 

under this Virginia Occupational Safety and Health (VOSH) 

program, the procedure required for such structures does not 

include payment of a fee, therefore, the board approved the 

discontinuance of the requirement for notification of 

residential asbestos project by replacing the regulatory 

language requiring it. 

Issues: The department does not anticipate any disadvantages 

to Virginia employers or Virginia employees. Most 

residential asbestos projects fall within the minimum 

reporting amount (10 square or 10 linear feet up to 260 linear 

feet or 160 square feet). Jobs of this size present a small risk 

to the public, require fewer inspections, and are of short 

duration. Advantages to the public, private citizens, or 

businesses from the elimination of the notification 

requirements for residential buildings will include minimizing 

the paperwork burden for asbestos contractors and also for 

homeowners.  

The department does not anticipate any disadvantages to the 

department with the adoption of these changes. Eliminating 

the notification requirements for residential buildings will 

reduce the number of applications the department will have to 

process. 

There are no disadvantages to the public or to the 

Commonwealth. 

The department believes that these amendments are 

noncontroversial, and no individual or entity will be 

adversely affected. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Safety and Health Codes Board (Board) proposes to amend 

its regulations that govern licensed asbestos contractor 

notification, asbestos project permits and permit fees to 

eliminate a requirement that the Department of Labor and 

Industry (DOLI) receive notification of asbestos projects in 

residential buildings.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for this 

proposed regulatory change. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, individuals who are 

removing asbestos from residential buildings (as defined by 

these regulations) do not have to pay a fee but do have to 

provide notification of the project to DOLI. The Board now 

proposes to amend these regulations so that notification is no 

longer required for projects in residential buildings that do 

not require payment of a fee to DOLI. No entity is likely to 

incur costs on account of this regulatory change. Asbestos 

contractors, and owners of affected properties, will benefit 

from not having to spend time notifying DOLI of these 

residential projects. DOLI will likely also see a slight benefit 

from not having to process these notifications. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that 

there are 180 asbestos contractors in the Commonwealth. All 

of these individuals, plus owners of residential properties that 

may have asbestos on premises, will likely be affected by this 

proposed regulatory change.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any additional expense on account of these 

regulatory changes. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any 

additional expense on account of these regulatory changes. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have little effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
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property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Labor and Industry concurs with the 

Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 

analysis. 

Summary:  

The amendments eliminate the notification requirements to 

the department for asbestos projects in residential 

buildings defined as site-built homes, modular homes, 

condominium units, mobile homes, manufactured housing, 

and duplexes or other multi-unit dwellings consisting of 

four units or fewer that are currently in use or intended for 

use only for residential purposes. However, demolition of 

any such structures that are to be replaced by other than a 

residential building shall not fall within this definition and 

would be subject to payment of a fee. This action is in 

response to the Governor's Regulatory Reform Initiative. 

16VAC25-20-40. Exemption.  

No asbestos project fees will be required for residential 

buildings. Notification for asbestos projects in residential 

buildings shall otherwise be in accordance with applicable 

portions of this chapter. No notification to the department or 

payment of asbestos project fees is required for asbestos 

projects in residential buildings as defined under 16VAC25-

20-10. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3650; Filed June 12, 2013, 8:30 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-40. Standard for Boiler and 

Pressure Vessel Operator Certification (amending 

16VAC25-40-10, 16VAC25-40-20, 16VAC25-40-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 15.2-910 and 40.1-51.6 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 31, 2013. 

Effective Date: August 15, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Ed Hilton, Director, Boiler Safety 

Compliance, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-3169, FAX (804) 371-2324, TTY (804) 

786-2376, or email ed.hilton@doli.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Safety and Health Codes Board is authorized by 

§ 40.1-51.6 of the Code of Virginia to "...formulate 

definitions, rules, regulations and standards which shall be 

designed for the protection of human life and property from 

the unsafe or dangerous construction, installation, inspection, 

operation, maintenance and repair of boilers and pressure 

vessels in this Commonwealth." 

The Safety and Health Codes Board is authorized by § 15.2-

910 of the Code of Virginia to "...establish standards to be 

used in determining an applicant's ability, proficiency and 

qualifications." 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to delete 

requirements in subsection C of 16VAC25-40-30, 

necessitating actions by the Commonwealth's chief boiler 

inspector to provide or evaluate the written examination for 

boiler operator certification for any locality in the 

Commonwealth because no such requests to the department 

have ever been made by any county, city, or town. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The Boiler Safety 

Compliance Program of the Department of Labor and 

Industry sought the repeal of the requirement that it provide 

and evaluate written examinations referenced in subsection C 

of 16VAC25-40-30 since the department has never been 

asked to provide or evaluate such an examination. Subsection 

C has never been implemented by any locality. Therefore, it 

has been determined by the department to be of no value in 

protecting the public health, safety, or welfare. 

Amending the regulation is noncontroversial and no 

individual or entity will be adversely affected. 

Substance: This regulatory action: 

1. In 16VAC25-40-30 C deletes the phrase "provided and 

evaluated by the chief boiler inspector of the 

Commonwealth, or his designee, and be administered by 

the agent or board." The sentence now reads: "The written 

examination for boiler operator certification shall be 

administered by the agent or board." 

2. In 16VAC25-40-30 I deletes the term "receive and" 

preceding "evaluate" to be consistent with the changes 

made in subsection C. Subsection I now will read: "The 

agent or board shall evaluate the applications and 

examinations and issue Certificates of Competency to 

applicants successfully completing the examination 

process." 

3. In 16VAC25-40-30 L for continuity with the revisions 

proposed for subsection C, (i) deletes the term "receipt" 

preceding "examination"; (ii) inserts the term "date" 

following "following the"; (iii) inserts "the" preceding 

"examination"; and (iv) deletes the phrase "results from the 

chief boiler inspector of the Commonwealth or his 

designee" following "the examination." Subsection L now 

will read: "Applicants shall be notified in writing by the 
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agent or board of the results of their application within 

30 days following the date of the examination." 

4. In 16VAC25-40-30 N substitutes the term 

"Competency" for "competency" following "Certificates 

of" to more accurately reflect the reference; and removes 

the term "the department and issued by" also for continuity 

with subsection C. Subsection N now will read: 

"Certificates of Competency shall be provided by the 

adopting jurisdiction at a frequency established by the 

adopting jurisdiction." 

5. In 16VAC25-40-30 O substitutes the term "Certificate of 

Competency" for "certificate of competency" to more 

accurately reflect this reference. 

6. In 16VAC25-40-10 deletes the unnecessary definitions 

of terms "Commissioner" and "Department" for continuity 

with revisions to subsection C of 16VAC25-40-30. 

7. In 16VAC25-40-20 D substitutes the term "board" for 

"Office of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Safety in the 

Virginia Department of Labor and Industry" following 

"amendment to the." 

Issues: The department does not anticipate any advantages or 

disadvantages to Virginia employers, Virginia employees, or 

self-employed individuals, with the adoption of these 

changes. 

The department does not anticipate any advantages or 

disadvantages to the department or the Commonwealth with 

the adoption of these changes. This regulation requiring the 

chief boiler inspector of the Commonwealth or his designee 

to provide and evaluate the written examination for boiler 

operator in 16VAC25-40-30 C is being repealed because the 

department has never been requested to provide and evaluate 

written examinations for boiler operator certification pursuant 

to this subsection nor has this subsection ever been 

implemented by any locality. 

The department believes that there are no disadvantages to the 

public or the Commonwealth with the adoption of these 

changes as these services have never been requested or 

utilized. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Safety and Health Codes Board (Board) proposes to amend 

its regulations that govern certification for boiler and pressure 

vessel operators by making several clarifying changes to 

regulatory text and by eliminating a requirement that the chief 

boiler inspector or his designee provide and evaluate a written 

certification examination for boiler and pressure vessel 

operators who maintain boilers in any locality in the 

Commonwealth. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs for these 

proposed regulations. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations require the 

chief boiler inspector or his designee to provide and evaluate 

a written examination for boiler and pressure vessel operators. 

Board staff reports that this regulatory requirement has been 

in place since 1993 but that no locality has ever actually 

implemented it by asking the Department of Labor and 

Industry (DOLI) to provide or evaluate the required written 

examination. As a consequence, the Board now proposes to 

eliminate this requirement. Board staff reports that, absent 

this requirement, localities would provide an examination 

should they ever decide to implement 16VAC25-40-30 C. 

This change will increase uncertainty for boiler operators 

because regulations will no longer state who is responsible 

for providing and evaluating a written certification exam. Any 

localities that choose to implement 16VAC25-40-30 C in the 

future would also incur costs for providing and evaluating a 

written exam. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that 

affected entities include Virginia localities and any boiler 

operators that operate/maintain boilers in any county, city or 

town in the Commonwealth. Board staff further reports that 

between several dozen and several hundred entities are 

subject to these regulations and, therefore, will be affected by 

these proposed regulatory changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. Localities that employ boiler 

and pressure vessel operators will be particularly affected by 

these proposed regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any additional expense on account of these 

regulatory changes. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any 

additional expense on account of these regulatory changes. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have little effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 
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to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

purpose of this regulatory action is to delete requirements in 

the Standard for Boiler and Pressure Vessel Operator 

Certification, 16VAC25-40, requiring actions by the 

Department of Labor and Industry that have never been 

requested by any county, city, or town. The department 

anticipates that no entities or businesses will be affected by 

this amendment and that this regulatory action will result in 

no economic impacts, costs, or other effects on Virginia 

localities, employers, employees, the department, real estate 

development costs, or the use and value of private property. 

Summary:  

This regulatory action discontinues the requirement in 

16VAC25-40-30 that the Department of Labor and 

Industry provide and evaluate the written examination for 

boiler operator certification for local governments. Since 

the enactment of the regulation, no locality has ever 

requested the department to provide and evaluate any such 

written examinations for boiler operators who would be 

covered under this regulation. This action is in response to 

the Governor's Regulatory Reform Initiative. 

16VAC25-40-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Accredited" means accredited by an accrediting body 

recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.  

"Act" refers to § 15.2-910 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Agent" means the agent established by a county, city or 

town, under local ordinance to examine and determine an 

applicant's qualifications for certification under the Act.  

"Approved" means acceptable to the Commissioner of Labor 

and Industry.  

"Board" means the board established by a county, city or 

town, under local ordinance to examine and determine an 

applicant's qualifications for certification under the Act.  

"Boiler" means a closed vessel in which water is heated, 

steam is generated, steam is superheated, or any combination 

of them, under pressure or vacuum for use externally to itself 

by the direct application of heat. The term "boiler" shall 

include fired units for heating or vaporizing liquids other than 

water where these units are separate from processing systems 

and are complete within themselves.  

"Boiler operator" means an individual who would normally 

be the senior operational and maintenance person at the site 

of the boiler who would be expected to react to changing 

operational and maintenance situations.  

"Certificate of Competency" means a certificate issued to a 

person who has passed the prescribed examination as 

provided in subsection C of 16VAC25-40-30.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department of Labor and Industry.  

"Department" means the Department of Labor and Industry.  

"Heating plant" means a heating system containing a low 

pressure steam or hot water boiler used to generate energy for 

use in heating buildings, potable water or processing.  

"High pressure boiler" means a steam boiler where the 

safety valves are set to relieve at a pressure of more than 15 

pounds per square inch.  

"Horsepower rating of a boiler" for the purpose of this 

chapter shall be the largest rating determined in accordance 

with each of the following (i) by dividing the square feet of 

boiler heating surface by 10; or (ii) the manufacturer's rated 

output in horsepower; or (iii) where the manufacturer's rated 

output is expressed in terms other than horsepower, such 

rating converted into horsepower by the use of one of the 

factors as defined in this chapter.  

"Hot water heating boiler" means any hot water boiler 

operated at pressures not exceeding 160 psi or temperatures 

not exceeding 250°F.  

"Jurisdiction" as referred to in this standard shall mean 

counties, cities and towns in the Commonwealth.  

"Low pressure boiler" means a steam boiler where the safety 

valves are set to relieve at a pressure of 15 pounds per square 

inch or less and hot water heating boilers.  

"Pressure vessel" as referred to in this chapter shall be any 

vessel in which (i) the pressure is obtained from an external 

source, or by an internal or external application of heat; and 

(ii) is an auxiliary to a boiler plant.  

"One boiler horsepower" shall be defined as (i) the 

evaporation of 34.5 pounds of water per hour from and at 

212°F; or (ii) 33475 British Thermal Units (B.T.U.) per hour; 

or (iii) 140 square feet of steam radiation; or (iv) 224 square 

feet of water radiation at 150°F; or (v) 10 kilowatt per hour 

electrical input to boiler.  

"Steam plant" means a system containing a high pressure 

boiler to generate energy for use in heating, power generation 

or processing operations.  
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16VAC25-40-20. Authority and application.  

A. This chapter is established in accordance with § 15.2-910 

of the Code of Virginia for use by counties, cities and towns 

for the certification of boiler and pressure vessel operators.  

B. This chapter shall apply to any person who engages in, or 

offers to engage in, for the general public for compensation, 

the operation or maintenance of a boiler or pressure vessel. 

All jurisdictions who choose to regulate the certification of 

boiler and pressure vessel operators shall utilize this standard 

for control of certification within the Commonwealth.  

C. This chapter shall not affect licensing or inspection under 

any other provision of the Code of Virginia.  

D. Localities shall forward a copy of their certification 

ordinance upon adoption or amendment to the Office of 

Boiler and Pressure Vessel Safety in the Virginia Department 

of Labor and Industry board.  

E. The Department of Labor and Industry will provide 

advisory opinions concerning interpretation and application 

of this chapter upon request.  

F. This chapter shall not apply to any person who, in his 

capacity as an employee, is engaged in the operation or 

maintenance of a boiler or pressure vessel owned by his 

employer.  

16VAC25-40-30. Certification.  

A. Boiler operators and pressure vessel operators covered 

under this chapter shall be duly certified in the proper class by 

the examining agent or board of the jurisdiction adopting a 

boiler certification ordinance.  

B. The agent or board shall be appointed by the adopting 

jurisdiction. Any such agent or board shall provide for the 

examination of applicants for boiler and pressure vessel 

operator certification no less than 12 times per year.  

C. The written examination for boiler operator certification 

shall be provided and evaluated by the chief boiler inspector 

of the Commonwealth, or his designee, and be administered 

by the agent or board.  

Such examination shall include questions, diagrams and 

practical tests of sufficient scope to demonstrate that the 

applicant has the necessary qualifications, experience and 

knowledge of the basic principles involved in operation, care 

and maintenance to operate safely the boiler and auxiliary 

pressure vessels of the class for which an application for 

certification has been made.  

Specific competencies shall include, but not be limited to the 

following:  

1. Principles of boiler design;  

2. General operation practices;  

3. Effects of water treatment;  

4. Inspection requirements; and  

5. Emergency shutdown procedures.  

D. The class of certification and the training and experience 

requirements are as follows:  

1. Class-1 Boiler Operator - To take charge of and operate 

or maintain any steam plant.  

Requirements:  

Two years experience as an operator of high pressure 

boiler beyond that experience which is required for a 

Class-2 operator.  

Substitution of a degree in mechanical engineering from 

an accredited college, university or school of technology 

or successful completion of an approved boiler operator 

apprenticeship program or a U.S. military training course 

may be permitted for one year of the required experience.  

2. Class-2 Boiler Operator - To take charge of and operate 

any of the following:  

a. A high pressure steam plant where the total 

horsepower rating of the boiler is not in excess of 500 

boiler horsepower, or a combination of high pressure 

boilers and heating boilers and auxiliary pressure vessels; 

or  

b. A heating plant having low pressure boilers with a 

pump return with no limitation on total capacity; or  

c. A heating plant having hot water heating boilers, with 

no limitation on total capacity.  

Requirements:  

At least two years experience as a boiler operator or an 

assistant boiler operator, fireman or oiler, in a high 

pressure steam plant of more than 75 boiler horsepower; 

or  

Four years of such experience in a plant of not less than 

50 boiler horsepower.  

Substitution of a degree in mechanical engineering from 

an accredited college, university or school of technology 

or successful completion of any approved boiler operator 

apprenticeship program or a U.S. military training course 

may be permitted for one year of the required experience.  

E. In cases where a boiler operator has been operating a 

plant for a period of at least one year prior to the effective 

date of implementation of this chapter by the adopting 

jurisdiction, or where the classification of such a boiler 

operator has been changed by this chapter, such an operator 

may be conditionally certified for a three-year period by the 

agent or board in order that the operator may continue 

operation of that plant and no other. A suitable endorsement 

should be noted on his certification documents.  

F. Application for examination in the class of certification 

shall be made on an approved form provided by the agent or 

board of the adopting jurisdiction. A notarized statement of 

education, training and experience in operating steam boilers 

or low pressure boiler plants and auxiliary pressure vessels 

shall be provided with the application.  
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G. No certification shall be required of an individual holding 

a valid license or certificate, under Chapter 3.1 (§ 40.1-51.5 

et. seq.) of Title 40.1 of the Code of Virginia, or certified 

under this chapter by another jurisdiction. An applicant who 

holds a valid certificate or license from any state or local 

government outside the Commonwealth may be certified 

without examination upon the presentation of the following to 

the agent or board (i) a valid certificate or license from that 

authority and (ii) the certification or licensure requirements of 

that authority; provided that the authority's requirements for 

certification or licensure are equal to or greater than those 

established under this chapter.  

H. Applicants must successfully complete an examination 

and the other requirements to be deemed certified, except as 

indicated in subsection G above.  

I. The agent or board shall receive and evaluate the 

applications and examinations and issue certificates of 

competency to applicants successfully completing the 

examination process.  

J. The agent or board of the adopting jurisdiction may 

permit an applicant to sit for a written examination at a lower 

class than that for which the applicant has applied, if it is 

determined that an applicant lacks either experience or 

requisite knowledge of the class applied for.  

K. Applicants who fail to pass the required examination may 

not be reexamined until 90 days after the date of the last 

examination.  

L. Applicants shall be notified in writing by the agent or 

board of the results of their application within 30 days 

following the receipt date of the examination results from the 

chief boiler inspector of the Commonwealth or his designee.  

M. The certification fee shall be established by the adopting 

jurisdiction.  

N. Certificates of competency Competency shall be 

provided by the department and issued by the adopting 

jurisdiction at a frequency established by the adopting 

jurisdiction.  

O. When a certificate of competency Certificate of 

Competency has been lost or destroyed, the owner shall 

present a notarized statement to that effect and pay a 

processing charge established by that jurisdiction for issuance 

of a duplicate certificate.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3651; Filed June 12, 2013, 8:29 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Health 

Professions is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Department of Health 

Professions will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 

from any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC76-20. Regulations Governing 

the Prescription Monitoring Program (amending 

18VAC76-20-50, 18VAC76-20-60).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2505 and 54.1-2520 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 15, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Ralph Orr, Program Manager, Department 

of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4523, FAX 

(804) 527-4470, or email ralph.orr@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapter 472 of the Acts of Assembly of 2009 changed the 

name of the Health Practitioners' Intervention Program to 

the Health Practitioners' Monitoring Program (HPMP). 

The amendments to 18VAC76-20-50 conform the 

regulation. 

Chapter 739 of the Acts of Assembly of 2013 expanded the 

list of to whom the Director of the HPMP may disclose 

information. The amendment to 18VAC76-20-60 

authorizes the director to disclose information to a 

prescriber for the purpose of obtaining a record of 

prescriptions issued by that prescriber.  

18VAC76-20-50. Criteria for mandatory disclosure of 

information by the director.  

A. In order to request disclosure of information contained in 

the program, an individual shall be registered with the 

director as an authorized agent entitled to receive reports 

under § 54.1-2523 B of the Code of Virginia.  

1. Such request for registration shall contain an attestation 

from the applicant's employer of the eligibility and identity 

of such person.  

2. Registration as an agent authorized to receive reports 

shall expire on June 30 of each even-numbered year or at 

any such time as the agent leaves or alters his current 

employment or otherwise becomes ineligible to receive 

information from the program.  
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B. An authorized agent shall only request disclosure of 

information related to a specific investigation, or in the case 

of a request from the Health Practitioners' Intervention 

Monitoring Program (HPIP) (HPMP), disclosure of 

information related to a specific applicant for or participant in 

HPIP HPMP. Requests shall be made in a format designated 

by the department and shall contain a case identifier number, 

a specified time period to be covered in the report, and the 

specific recipient, prescriber, or dispenser for which the 

report is to be made.   

C. The request from an authorized agent shall include an 

attestation that the prescription data will not be further 

disclosed and only used for the purposes stated in the request 

and in accordance with the law.  

18VAC76-20-60. Criteria for discretionary disclosure of 

information by the director.  

A. In accordance with § 54.1-2523 C of the Code of 

Virginia, the director may disclose information in the 

program to certain persons provided the request is made in a 

format designated by the department.  

B. The director may disclose information to:  

1. The recipient of the dispensed drugs, provided the 

request is accompanied by a copy of a valid photo 

identification issued by a government agency of any 

jurisdiction in the United States verifying that the recipient 

is over the age of 18 and includes a notarized signature of 

the requesting party. The report shall be mailed to the 

address on the license or delivered to the recipient at the 

department.  

2. The prescriber for the purpose of establishing a 

treatment history for a patient or prospective patient or for 

the purpose of obtaining a record of prescriptions issued by 

that prescriber, provided the request is accompanied by the 

prescriber's registration number with the United States 

Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) and attestation 

that the prescriber is in compliance with patient notice 

requirements of 18VAC76-20-70.  The prescriber may 

delegate the submission of a request for information, 

provided the delegation is in compliance with § 54.1-

2523.2 of the Code of Virginia. The health care 

professionals to whom the prescriber has authorized access 

to information shall be registered with the program. 

Requests for information made by a delegated health care 

professional shall be made in his own name, using his own 

unique identifiers assigned by the program.  

3. Another regulatory authority conducting an investigation 

or disciplinary proceeding or making a decision on the 

granting of a license or certificate, provided the request is 

related to an allegation of a possible controlled substance 

violation and that it is accompanied by the signature of the 

chief executive officer who is authorized to certify orders 

or to grant or deny licenses.  

4. Governmental entities charged with the investigation 

and prosecution of a dispenser, prescriber, or recipient 

participating in the Virginia Medicaid program, provided 

the request is accompanied by the signature of the official 

within the Office of the Attorney General responsible for 

the investigation.  

5. A dispenser for the purpose of establishing a 

prescription history for a specific person to assist in 

determining the validity of a prescription, provided the 

request is accompanied by the dispenser's license number 

issued by the relevant licensing authority and an attestation 

that the dispenser is in compliance with patient notice 

requirements of 18VAC76-20-70.  

C. In each case, the request must be complete and provide 

sufficient information to ensure the correct identity of the 

prescriber, recipient, and/or dispenser.  

D. Except as provided in subdivision B 1 of this section, the 

request form shall include an attestation that the prescription 

data will not be further disclosed and only used for the 

purposes stated in the request and in accordance with the law.  

E. In order to request disclosure of information contained in 

the program, a designated employee of the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services or of the Office of the Chief 

Medical Examiner shall register with the director as an 

authorized agent entitled to receive reports under § 54.1-2523 

C of the Code of Virginia.  

1. Such request for registration shall include an attestation 

from the applicant's employer of the eligibility and identity 

of such person.  

2. Registration as an agent authorized to receive reports 

shall expire on June 30 of each even-numbered year or at 

any such time as the agent leaves or alters his current 

employment or otherwise becomes ineligible to receive 

information from the program.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3769; Filed June 11, 2013, 8:41 a.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-50. Regulations Governing 

the Certification of Massage Therapists (amending 

18VAC90-50-20, 18VAC90-50-40, 18VAC90-50-60, 

18VAC90-50-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 31, 2013. 

Effective Date: August 15, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 
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Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 

the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards, 

including the responsibility to promulgate regulations. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amendments is to update 

regulatory language and clarify the process for provisional 

practice. Elimination of unnecessary or outdated provisions 

and inclusion of language consistent with current practices 

will facilitate submission of documentation for certification. 

The goal is to enable qualified applicants to obtain 

certification that provides the public with some assurance of 

competency and accountability in the delivery of massage 

therapy services. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The amendments 

make the regulations less restrictive and are not controversial. 

They are consistent with recommendations for regulatory 

reform received during the comment period on periodic 

review from the Virginia Chapter of the American Massage 

Therapy Association. 

Substance: Regulations are amended to (i) facilitate electronic 

submission of documents and forms, (ii) allow the board to 

accept a certificate of naturalization as evidence of a name 

change, and (iii) clarify when an applicant may engage in the 

provisional practice of massage therapy. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public are facilitation 

of applications and renewals and elimination of confusing, 

outdated language in the regulations. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. The advantage to the 

Commonwealth is clarity in the regulations, which reduces 

queries to board staff.  

Small Business Impact Report of Findings: This regulatory 

action serves as the report of findings of the regulatory review 

pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Nursing (Board) proposes to amend its regulations 

that set the rules for certification of massage therapists to 

update language and clarify the process for provisional 

practice.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 

proposed regulations. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations require that 

applicants or certificate holders who move submit a change of 

address in writing within 30 days of the change. Current 

regulations also require applicants or certificate holders 

whose names have changed to submit either a copy of a 

marriage certificate or a court order for name change. The 

Board proposes to allow changes of address to be submitted 

electronically and also to allow certificates of naturalization 

as proof of name change. Both of these changes will benefit 

affected individuals by allowing them greater flexibility in 

providing documentation to the Board. No entity is likely to 

incur any costs on account of these changes. 

Current regulations allow eligible candidates who have filed 

an application for certification in Virginia to practice massage 

therapy for not more than 90 days between completion of 

their education program and receipt of the results of their 

certification exam (and the issuance of their certification). 

The Board proposes to add language that clarifies that the 

application filed must be complete and that provisional 

practice must be authorized by the Board. The Department of 

Health Professions (DHP) reports that the proposed new 

language will not change current practice as the Board 

already requires authorization for provisional practice. 

Consequently, no affected entity is likely to incur any costs 

on account of these proposed changes. To the extent that the 

requirements for provisional practice might have been hard 

for some individuals to understand, these clarifying changes 

will provide a benefit.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. DHP reports that there are 

currently 6,345 individuals certified as massage therapists in 

the Commonwealth. All of these entities, as well as any 

individuals who seek certification in the future, will be 

affected by these proposed regulations. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur costs on account of this proposed change. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur costs on 

account of this proposed change.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
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businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Nursing concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget on proposed amended regulations for 

18VAC90-50, Regulations Governing the Certification of 

Massage Therapists.  

Summary:  

This regulatory action is initiated in response to the 

Governor's Regulatory Reform Initiative. The amendments 

(i) facilitate electronic submission of documents and forms, 

(ii) allow the board to accept a certificate of naturalization 

as evidence of a name change, and (iii) clarify when an 

applicant may engage in the provisional practice of 

massage therapy. 

18VAC90-50-20. Operational requirements.  

A. Requirements for current mailing address.  

1. Each applicant or certificate holder shall maintain a 

current address of record with the board. Any change in the 

address of record or the public address, if different from 

the address of record, shall be submitted electronically or 

in writing to the board within 30 days of such change.  

2. All required notices mailed by the board to any applicant 

or certificate holder shall be validly given when mailed to 

the latest address of record on file with the board.  

B. A certificate holder who has had a change of name shall 

submit as legal proof to the board a copy of the marriage 

certificate, a certificate of naturalization, or a court order 

evidencing the change. A duplicate certificate shall be issued 

by the board upon receipt of such evidence and the required 

fee.  

C. Each certified massage therapist shall conspicuously post 

his current Virginia certificate in a public area at his practice 

location.  

Part II  

Requirements for Certification  

18VAC90-50-40. Initial certification.  

A. An applicant seeking initial certification shall submit a 

completed application and required fee and verification of 

meeting the requirements of § 54.1-3029 A of the Code of 

Virginia as follows:  

1. Is at least 18 years old;  

2. Has successfully completed a minimum of 500 hours of 

training from a massage therapy program certified or 

approved by the State Council of Higher Education or an 

agency in another state, the District of Columbia or a 

United States territory that approves educational programs, 

notwithstanding the provisions of § 22.1-320 of the Code 

of Virginia;  

3. Has passed the National Certification Exam for 

Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork, the National 

Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage, the Licensing 

Examination of the Federation of State Massage Therapy 

Boards, or an exam deemed acceptable to the board; and 

4. Has not committed any acts or omissions that would be 

grounds for disciplinary action or denial of certification as 

set forth in § 54.1-3007 of the Code of Virginia and 

18VAC90-50-90.  

B. No application for certification under provisions of 

§ 54.1-3029 B of the Code of Virginia shall be considered 

unless submitted prior to July 1, 1998.  

C. An applicant who has been licensed or certified in 

another country and who, in the opinion of the board, meets 

the educational requirements shall take and pass the national 

certifying an examination as required in subsection A of this 

section in order to become certified.  

18VAC90-50-60. Provisional certification.  

A. An eligible candidate who has filed an a completed 

application for certification in Virginia may engage in the 

provisional practice of massage therapy in Virginia for a 

period not to exceed 90 days between completion of the 

education program and the receipt of the results of the 

candidate's first certifying examination upon written 

authorization from the board.  

B. The designation of "massage therapist" or "certified 

massage therapist" shall not be used by the applicant during 

the 90 days of provisional certification.  

C. An applicant who fails the certifying examination shall 

have his provisional certification withdrawn upon the receipt 

of the examination results and shall not be eligible for 

certification until he passes such examination and becomes 

nationally certified.  

Part III  

Renewal and Reinstatement  

18VAC90-50-70. Renewal of certification.  

A. Certificate holders born in even-numbered years shall 

renew their certificates by the last day of the birth month in 

even-numbered years. Certificate holders born in odd-

numbered years shall renew their certificates by the last day 

of the birth month in odd-numbered years.  

B. The certificate holder shall complete the application 

renewal form and return submit it with the required fee and 

attest that he has complied with continuing competency 

requirements of 18VAC90-50-75.  
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C. Failure to receive the application for renewal shall not 

relieve the certified massage therapist of the responsibility for 

renewing the certificate by the expiration date.  

D. The certificate shall automatically lapse by the last day of 

the birth month if not renewed; and use of the title "massage 

therapist" or "certified massage therapist" is prohibited.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3543; Filed June 5, 2013, 4:27 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-60. Regulations Governing 

the Registration of Medication Aides (amending 

18VAC90-60-20, 18VAC90-60-40, 18VAC90-60-60, 

18VAC90-60-90, 18VAC90-60-92, 18VAC90-60-100, 

18VAC90-60-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 31, 2013. 

Effective Date: August 15, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 

the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards, 

including the responsibility to promulgate regulations.  

Purpose: The purpose of the amendments to the regulation is 

to update language and eliminate unnecessary or outdated 

provisions. Inclusion of language consistent with current 

practices will facilitate administration of medications and 

submission of documentation for registration. The goal is to 

enable qualified applicants to obtain registration that provides 

the public with some assurance of competency and 

accountability in the administration of medications to 

residents of assisted living facilities. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The amendments are 

less restrictive and not controversial. There were no 

comments received during the comment period on periodic 

review. 

Substance: The amendments (i) facilitate electronic 

submission of documents and forms, (ii) allow the board to 

accept a certificate of naturalization as evidence of a name 

change, (iii) clarify the process for application approval and 

requesting of an informal conference if an application is 

denied, (iv) allow up to 20% of the skills practice to be done 

by simulation, (v) allow completion of a nursing education to 

count for training in client care, and (vi) allow an exception to 

the prohibition for intramuscular administration of medication 

for glucagon. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public are facilitation 

of applications; expansion of educational opportunity; and 

elimination of confusing, outdated language. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. The advantage to the 

Commonwealth is clarity in the regulations, which reduces 

queries to board staff.  

Small Business Impact Report of Findings: This regulatory 

action serves as the report of findings of the regulatory review 

pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Nursing proposes 1) to allow 20% of the required 20 

hours of supervised skills practice in medication aide training 

to be a simulation experience, 2) to allow registered aides to 

report their change of address electronically, 3) to allow 

registrants to use a certificate of naturalization as 

documentation of a name change, and 4) to clarify a number 

of existing requirements. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 

one or more proposed changes. There is insufficient data to 

accurately compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the 

costs for at least one change.  

Estimated Economic Impact. One of the proposed changes 

will allow 20% (four hours) of the required 20 hours of 

supervised skills practice in medication aide training to be a 

simulation experience. The proposed percentage is consistent 

with the allowance for simulation in nursing education 

programs. This change will primarily affect training 

institutions and new medication aides. Currently, there are 

141 training institutions in the Commonwealth. The number 

of new medication aides registered in fiscal years (FY) 2011 

and 2012 was 899 and 861, respectively. However, the 

number of affected medication aides will be larger than those 

who are registered because some applicants who take the 

training may not qualify for registration.  

Being able to substitute simulation experience for actual 

experience is likely to reduce training costs as the simulation 

method is probably more conducive to train a large number of 

people simultaneously. If the training costs are reduced for 

the training institutions, some of the reduction will likely be 

passed on to the applicants depending on the competitiveness 

of the training industry. However, the Department of Health 

Professions (DHP) acknowledges that the simulation method 

may not be as effective as real hands on training. This is the 

reason why only 20% of required training is allowed to be a 

simulation experience. 

Another proposed change will allow registered aides to report 

their change of address electronically in addition to via a 

written submission. This change is expected to facilitate the 

submission of address change information and produce net 

benefits by reducing compliance costs such as time, travel, 

and postage costs on registered aides. DHP states that 

medication aides are generally very mobile and a fairly large 

proportion of them change their address in a given year. 

Currently, there are 4,936 medication aides registered in 

Virginia. 
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In addition, one of the proposed changes will allow 

registrants to use a certificate of naturalization as 

documentation of a name change. Under the current rules, a 

court order or a marriage certificate is required. This change 

is expected to produce net benefits by reducing compliance 

costs for those who have a certificate of naturalization at 

hand, but not a court order or marriage certificate. However, 

the number of people who may be affected by this change is 

likely to be very small. 

The remaining changes are clarifications of the current 

requirements and are not anticipated to create a significant 

economic impact other than perhaps avoiding some potential 

confusion among the medication aides. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 

apply to 141 training institutions and approximately 4,936 

medication aides registered in Virginia. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

disproportionately affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Allowance of simulation 

experience to meet the required real supervised skills practice 

is likely to increase the demand for training staff involved in 

simulation while reducing the demand for staff providing real 

world supervision. Remaining proposed changes are not 

anticipated to have a significant impact on employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Allowance 

of simulation experience to meet the required real supervised 

skills practice is likely to positively affect the asset value of 

the training centers offering this option as the demand for 

their services is likely to increase while the opposite is 

expected for the training institutions that do not offer the 

simulation method. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

regulation is expected to have an impact on 141 medication 

aide training institutions most if not all of which are small 

businesses. While no small business costs are expected, other 

effects on them are the same as discussed above. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed changes are not anticipated to 

have an adverse impact on small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Nursing concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget on a fast-track action for 18VAC90-60, 

Regulations Governing the Registration of Medication Aides, 

to promulgate changes recommended pursuant to the 

Governor's Regulatory Reform Project. 

Summary:  

This regulatory action is in response to the Governor's 

Regulatory Reform Initiative. The amendments (i) facilitate 

electronic submission of documents and forms, (ii) allow 

the board to accept a certificate of naturalization as 

evidence of a name change, (iii) clarify the process for 

application approval and requesting of an informal 

conference if an application is denied, (iv) allow up to 20% 

of the skills practice to be done by simulation, (v) allow 

completion of a nursing education to count for training in 

client care, and (vi) allow an exception to the prohibition 

for intramuscular administration of medication for 

glucagon. 

18VAC90-60-20. Identification; accuracy of records. 

A. Any person regulated by this chapter shall, while on duty, 

wear identification that is clearly visible to the client and that 

indicates the person's first and last name and the appropriate 

title issued to such person by the board under which he is 

practicing in that setting. 

B. A medication aide who has changed his name shall 

submit as legal proof to the board a copy of the marriage 

certificate, a certificate of naturalization, or a court order 

evidencing the change. A duplicate certificate shall be issued 

by the board upon receipt of such evidence. 

C. A medication aide shall maintain an address of record 

with the board. Any change in the address of record or in the 

public address, if different from the address of record, shall 

be submitted electronically or in writing to the board within 

30 days of such change. All notices required by law and by 

this chapter to be mailed by the board to any registrant shall 

be validly given when mailed to the latest address of record 

on file with the board. 
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Part II  

Medication Aide Training Programs  

18VAC90-60-40. Establishing and maintaining a 

medication aide training program. 

A. Establishing a medication aide training program. 

1. A program provider wishing to establish a medication 

aide training program shall submit a completed application 

and pay the prescribed fee to the board at least 90 days in 

advance of the first expected offering of the program. 

2. The application shall provide evidence Initial approval 

may be granted when all documentation of the program's 

compliance with requirements as set forth in this part has 

been submitted and deemed satisfactory to the board. 

3. The committee shall, If approval is denied, the applicant 

may request, within 30 days of the mailing of the decision, 

an informal conference committee to be convened in 

accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia, 

receive and review the application and shall make a 

recommendation to the board to grant or deny approval. 

4. If the committee's recommendation is to deny approval, 

no further action will be required of the board unless the 

program requests a hearing before the board or a panel 

thereof in accordance with § 2.2-4020 and subdivision 11 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. Maintaining an approved medication aide training 

program. To maintain approval, the program shall: 

1. Continue to comply with requirements as set forth in this 

part. 

2. Document that the cumulative passing rate for the 

program's first-time test takers taking the competency 

evaluation required for registration over the past two years 

is not less than 80%. 

3. Report all substantive changes within 10 days of the 

change to the board to include, but not be limited to, a 

change in the program instructors, curriculum or program 

location. 

4. Cooperate with any unannounced visits to the program 

conducted by board representatives for the purpose of 

ensuring compliance with requirements for approval or in 

response to complaints about the program. 

5. Provide documentation that each student enrolled in 

such program has been given a copy of applicable Virginia 

law and regulation for the registration and practice of 

medication aides. 

6. Provide each student with a certificate of completion. 

18VAC90-60-60. Requirements for the program 

curriculum. 

A. Prerequisite for the program. A student seeking 

enrollment in a medication aide training program shall have 

successfully completed the direct care staff training required 

by the Department of Social Services for employment in an 

assisted living facility or an approved nurse aide education 

program. 

B. Hours of instruction. An approved program shall consist 

of a minimum of 68 hours of student instruction and training 

to include: 

1. At least 40 hours of classroom or didactic instruction 

over and above any facility orientation program or training 

in direct client care provided by the facility; 

2. At least 20 hours of supervised skills practice in 

medication administration to residents of an assisted living 

facility, after which the training program shall evaluate the 

student's minimal competency in the clinical skills of 

administering medications on a form provided by the 

board. Up to 20% of the supervised skills practice may be 

completed by a simulation experience in a simulation 

laboratory. The clinical evaluation shall be conducted one-

on-one with a qualified instructor with experience in 

medications in long-term care; and 

3. An eight-hour module in facilitating client self-

administration or assisting with the administration of 

insulin to include instruction and skills practice in the 

administration of insulin as specified in the board-

approved curriculum. 

C. Content of the curriculum. An approved program shall 

use the curriculum developed and provided by the board, 

which shall, at a minimum, include the following topics: 

1. Preparing for safe administration of medications to 

clients in assisted living facilities; 

2. Maintaining aseptic conditions; 

3. Understanding of basic pharmacology; 

4. Facilitating client self-administration or assisting with 

medication administration; 

5. Following proper procedure for preparing, 

administering, and maintaining medications; and 

6. Following appropriate procedures for documentation 

and reporting to the licensed healthcare professional on 

duty at the facility or to the client's prescriber. 

D. In addition to the training curriculum, the program shall 

provide one or more four-hour modules that can be used by 

facilities as refresher courses or by medication aides to satisfy 

requirements for continuing education. 

Part III  

Registration of Medication Aides  

18VAC90-60-90. Requirements for initial registration. 

A. To be registered as a medication aide, an applicant shall: 

1. Provide documentation of successful completion of a 

staff training program in direct client care approved by the 

Department of Social Services, a nursing education 

program, or of an approved nurse aide education program;  

2. Provide documentation of successful completion of one 

of the following: 
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a. A medication aide training program approved by the 

board in accordance with this chapter; or 

b. A nursing education program preparing for registered 

nurse licensure or practical nurse licensure; or 

c. An eight-hour refresher course preparing a person to 

take the competency evaluations required for registration 

and one year of experience working as a medication aide 

in an assisted living facility. The one year of experience 

working as a medication aide in an assisted living facility 

shall be completed prior to December 31, 2008, and may 

only be accepted as evidence of training until August 1, 

2009; 

3. Submit the required application and fee as prescribed by 

the board; 

4. Disclose whether there are grounds for denial of 

registration as specified in § 54.1-3007 of the Code of 

Virginia; and 

5. Provide documentation of successful completion of 

competency evaluations consisting of: 

a. A clinical evaluation of minimal competency in the 

skills of administering medications as specified in 

18VAC90-60-60 B 2; and 

b. A written examination as specified by the board with a 

passing score determined by the board. 

B. An applicant who fails to take the board-approved 

examination within one year of completion of the training or 

who has failed the examination in three attempts shall reenroll 

and successfully complete another approved medication aide 

training program before reapplying for registration. 

18VAC90-60-92. Requirements for registration by 

endorsement. 

An applicant applying for registration by endorsement who 

has met the requirements for registration or certification as a 

medication aide in another state or the District of Columbia 

may be deemed eligible to sit for the competency evaluation 

if there are no grounds for denial of registration as specified 

in § 54.1-3007 of the Code of Virginia and upon submission 

of: 

1. A completed application and fee; and 

2. Verification of registration or certification as a 

medication aide in another state or the District of Columbia 

that is current or eligible for reinstatement.  

18VAC90-60-100. Renewal or reinstatement of 

registration. 

A. Renewal of registration. 

1. Registered medication aides shall renew by the last day 

of their birth month each year. 

2. The medication aide shall complete the application and 

submit it with the required fee and an attestation that he 

has completed continuing education as required by 

subsection B of this section. 

3. Failure to receive the application for renewal shall not 

relieve the medication aide of the responsibility for 

renewing his registration by the expiration date. 

4. The registration shall automatically lapse if the 

medication aide fails to renew by the expiration date. 

5. Any person administering medications in an assisted 

living facility during the time a registration has lapsed shall 

be considered an illegal practitioner and shall be subject to 

prosecution under the provisions of § 54.1-3008 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

B. Continuing education required for renewal. 

1. In addition to hours of continuing education in direct 

client care required for employment in an assisted living 

facility, a medication aide shall have four the following:  

a. Four hours each year of population-specific training in 

medication administration in the assisted living facility in 

which the aide is employed; or a 

b. A refresher course in medication administration 

offered by an approved program. 

2. A medication aide shall maintain documentation of 

continuing education for a period of four years following 

the renewal period for which the records apply. 

3. The board shall periodically conduct a random audit of 

at least 1.0% of its registrants to determine compliance. A 

medication aide selected for audit shall provide 

documentation as evidence of compliance within 30 days 

of receiving notification of the audit. 

4. The board may grant an extension for compliance with 

continuing education requirements for up to one year, for 

good cause shown, upon a written request from the 

registrant prior to the renewal deadline. 

C. Reinstatement of registration. 

1. An individual whose registration has lapsed for less than 

one renewal cycle may renew by payment of the renewal 

fee and late fee and attestation that he has completed all 

required continuing education for the period since his last 

renewal. 

2. An individual whose registration has lapsed for more 

than one year shall: 

a. Apply for reinstatement of registration by submission 

of a completed application and fee; 

b. Provide evidence of completion of all required 

continuing education for the period since his last 

renewal, not to exceed eight hours of training in 

medication administration; 

c. Retake the written and practical competency 

evaluation as required by the board; and 

d. Attest that there are no grounds for denial of 

registration as specified in § 54.1-3007 of the Code of 

Virginia. 
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18VAC90-60-110. Standards of practice. 

A. A medication aide shall: 

1. Document and report all medication errors and adverse 

reactions immediately to the licensed healthcare 

professional in the facility or to the client's prescriber; 

2. Give all medications in accordance with the prescriber's 

orders and instructions for dosage and time of 

administration and document such administration in the 

client's record; and 

3. Document and report any information giving reason to 

suspect the abuse, neglect or exploitation of clients 

immediately to the licensed healthcare professional in the 

facility or to the facility administrator. 

B. A medication aide shall not: 

1. Transmit verbal orders to a pharmacy; 

2. Make an assessment of a client or deviate from the 

medication regime ordered by the prescriber; 

3. Mix, dilute or reconstitute two or more drug products, 

with the exception of insulin or glucagon; or 

4. Administer by intramuscular or intravenous routes or 

medications via a nasogastric or percutaneous endoscopic 

gastric tube except for administration of glucagon. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3542; Filed June 5, 2013, 3:59 p.m.  

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC95-30. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Assisted Living Facility Administrators 

(amending 18VAC95-30-130, 18VAC95-30-150, 

18VAC95-30-180, 18VAC95-30-190; adding 18VAC95-30-

201; repealing 18VAC95-30-95).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

July 11, 2013 - 9 am - Department of Health Professions, 

Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd Floor, Suite 

201, Board Room 1, Henrico, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: August 30, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Lisa Russell Hahn, Executive Director, 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 

(804) 367-4595, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

ltc@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 provides the board the authority to 

promulgate regulations that are reasonable and necessary to 

administer effectively the regulatory system. In addition, the 

second enactment clause of Chapter 609 of the 2011 Acts of 

Assembly, which amended §§ 54.1-3103.1 and 63.2-1803 of 

the Code of Virginia, mandated that the board promulgate 

regulations for the oversight of acting administrators of 

assisted living facilities who have sought licensure but who 

are not yet licensed as long-term care administrators by a 

preceptor registered or recognized by the board.  

Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory action is to comply 

with the second enactment of Chapter 609 of the 2011 Acts of 

the Assembly. To implement the provisions of Chapter 609, 

the board will amend certain regulations for an administrator-

in-training to ensure adequate oversight by the preceptor who 

is supervising the training of a person serving as the acting 

administrator for an assisted living facility to protect its 

residents, who are generally a very vulnerable population. 

Since the revised law will allow an acting administrator 

(unlicensed person) to remain in charge of an assisted living 

facility for up to 180 days (rather than the current 90 days), it 

is essential for the health, welfare, and safety of residents in 

that facility to ensure appropriate oversight by the person who 

is supervising and training the acting administrator and to 

identify the status of the acting administrator to the public. 

Substance: Regulations will require identification to the 

public that the acting administrator of an assisted living 

facility is an administrator-in-training, that the preceptor is 

responsible for appropriate oversight by being present in the 

facility for training on a regular basis (at least two hours per 

week), and that survey visit reports for the facility become 

part of the administrator-in-training reports. The time frame 

for completion of an assisted living facility administrator-in-

training program is set at 150 days since the law provides that 

in no case shall an assisted living facility be operated with an 

acting administrator for more than 180 days from the last date 

of employment of a licensed administrator. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the amendments is 

increased oversight of an unlicensed person who is serving as 

an acting administrator. If the acting administrator has applied 

for licensure and is in an administrator-in-training program, 

he may serve for 150 days with a possible 30-day extension if 

the acting administrator is awaiting the results of the licensure 

examination. During that six-month period, the facility is 

being run by an unlicensed person who has not yet 

demonstrated minimal competency. Oversight by a preceptor 

and appropriate identification of the acting administrator 

provides a measure of assurance that the residents are 

adequately protected. There are no disadvantages to the 

public. There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 609 of the 2011 Acts of the Assembly, 

the Board of Long-Term Care Administrators (Board) 

proposes to amend its requirements for the training of acting 

administrators of assisted living facilities who intend to 

become licensed administrators. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 

proposed changes. 
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Estimated Economic Impact. Prior to 2011, the State Board of 

Social Services, as the entity that licenses long term care 

facilities, had the authority to decide how long acting 

administrators could replace licensed Long Term Care 

Administrators. Board of Social Services regulations allowed 

long term care facilities 90 days after a licensed administrator 

left employment to hire a new licensed administrator and 

allowed an acting administrator to run the facility in the 

interim. In 2011, the General Assembly passed a bill that 

allows an acting administrator to do the job of a licensed 

administrator for 90 days while a long term care facility finds 

a new licensed administrator except when the acting 

administrator has applied to be an administrator-in-training; 

in that case the acting administrator can fulfill the duties of a 

licensed administrator for 150 days and can apply for a 30 

day extension to that 150 days if the acting administrator has 

completed all training and testing and is just awaiting their 

results on the national examination. 

In response to this change to the Code of Virginia, the Board 

of Long-Term Care Administrators proposes to change its 

regulations to reflect that acting administrators have 150 days 

to finish their administrator-in-training program and to 

require that preceptors for acting administrators have at least 

two hours of face to face contact per week with their trainees.  

The change in preceptor rules is proposed because most 

administrators-in-training (AIT) work in a facility where the 

current administrator is their preceptor and, so, AITs have 

many hours of face to face contact. This is not the case when 

the acting administrator is also an AIT being trained by an 

outside preceptor. The Board believes that requiring a 

minimal amount of weekly face to face training between 

preceptors and acting administrators who are also AITs will 

result in more consistent training. Preceptors may incur some 

additional travel costs on account of this proposed change but 

these costs are likely outweighed by the benefits for the 

acting administrator AITs, who may get more valuable 

individual direction from their preceptors, and for the public 

served by long term care facilities. 

Both the change to the Code of Virginia and the change to 

these regulations that give acting administrators 150 days to 

become licensed represent a loosening of requirements. 

Because this is the case, no affected entity is likely to incur 

any additional costs. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Health 

Professions (DHP) reports that the Board currently licenses 

approximately 600 long term care administrators. DHP 

further reports that fewer than 12 facilities a year have acting 

administrators at some time during the year. All of these 

entities will likely be affected by these proposed regulations. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed 

regulations will likely have no effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulations will likely have no effect on the use and 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. DHP reports that 

most licensees are employed by small private businesses or 

non-profit ventures. None of these entities are, however, 

likely to incur any additional costs. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No affected small businesses are likely to 

incur any additional costs on account of these proposed 

regulations. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Long-Term Care Administrators concurs with the analysis 

of the Department of Planning and Budget for the proposed 

regulation, 18VAC95-30, Regulations Governing the Practice 

of Assisted Living Administrators. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments require (i) identification to the 

public that the acting administrator of an assisted living 

facility is an administrator-in-training, (ii) that the 

preceptor responsible for appropriate oversight of the 

acting administrator be present in the facility for training 

on a regular basis (at least two hours per week), and (iii) 

that survey visit reports for the facility become part of the 

administrator-in-training reports. 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations July 1, 2013 

2667 

Part III  

Requirements for Licensure  

18VAC95-30-95. Licensure of current administrators. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Until January 2, 2009, any person who has served in one 

of the following positions for the period of one of the four 

years immediately preceding application for licensure may be 

licensed by the board: 

1. A full-time administrator of record in accordance with 

requirements of 22VAC40-72-200, or an assistant 

administrator in an assisted living facility, as documented 

on an application for licensure; or 

2. A full-time regional administrator with onsite 

supervisory responsibilities for one or more assisted living 

facilities with at least two years of previous experience as 

the administrator of an assisted living facility as 

documented on an application for licensure. 

B. Persons who are applying for licensure based on 

experience as an administrator as specified in subsection A of 

this section shall document a passing grade on the national 

credentialing examination for administrators of assisted living 

facilities approved by the board. 

18VAC95-30-130. Application package. 

A. An application for licensure shall be submitted after the 

applicant completes the qualifications for licensure.  

B. An individual seeking licensure as an assisted living 

facility administrator or registration as a preceptor shall 

submit:  

1. A completed application as provided by the board;  

2. Additional documentation as may be required by the 

board to determine eligibility of the applicant, to include 

the most recent survey report if the applicant has been 

serving as an acting administrator of a facility;  

3. The applicable fee; and 

4. An attestation that he has read and understands and will 

remain current with the applicable Virginia laws and the 

regulations relating to assisted living facilities. 

C. With the exception of school transcripts, examination 

scores, and verifications from other state boards, all parts of 

the application package shall be submitted at the same time. 

An incomplete package shall be retained by the board for one 

year, after which time the application shall be destroyed and a 

new application and fee shall be required. 

18VAC95-30-150. Required hours of training. 

A. The ALF AIT program shall consist of hours of 

continuous training as specified in 18VAC95-30-100 A 1 in a 

facility as prescribed in 18VAC95-30-170 to be completed 

within 24 months, except a person in an ALF AIT program 

who has been approved by the board and is serving as an 

acting administrator shall complete the program within 150 

days. An extension may be granted by the board on an 

individual case basis. The board may reduce the required 

hours for applicants with certain qualifications as prescribed 

in subsection B of this section. 

B. An ALF AIT applicant with prior health care work 

experience may request approval to receive hours of credit 

toward the total hours as follows:  

1. An applicant who has been employed full time for one 

of the past four years immediately prior to application as 

an assistant administrator in a licensed assisted living 

facility or nursing home or as a hospital administrator shall 

complete 320 hours in an ALF AIT;  

2. An applicant who holds a license or a multistate 

licensure privilege as a registered nurse and who has held 

an administrative level supervisory position in nursing for 

at least one of the past four consecutive years in a licensed 

assisted living facility or nursing home shall complete 320 

hours in an ALF AIT; or  

3. An applicant who holds a license or a multistate 

licensure privilege as a licensed practical nurse and who 

has held an administrative level supervisory position in 

nursing for at least one of the past four consecutive years 

in a licensed assisted living facility or nursing home shall 

complete 480 hours in an ALF AIT.  

18VAC95-30-180. Preceptors. 

A. Training in an ALF AIT program shall be under the 

supervision of a preceptor who is registered or recognized by 

a licensing board.  

B. To be registered by the board as a preceptor, a person 

shall:  

1. Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia assisted living 

facility administrator or nursing home administrator 

license;  

2. Be employed full-time as an administrator in a training 

facility or facilities for a minimum of one of the past four 

years immediately prior to registration or be a regional 

administrator with on-site supervisory responsibilities for a 

training facility or facilities; and  

3. Submit an application and fee as prescribed in 

18VAC95-30-40. The board may waive such application 

and fee for a person who is already approved as a preceptor 

for nursing home licensure. 

C. A preceptor shall:  

1. Provide direct instruction, planning and evaluation;  

2. Be routinely present with the trainee in the training 

facility; and  

3. Continually evaluate the development and experience of 

the trainee to determine specific areas needed for 

concentration.  

D. A preceptor may supervise no more than two trainees at 

any one time.  

E. A preceptor for a person who is serving as an acting 

administrator while in an ALF AIT program shall be present 
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in the training facility for face-to-face instruction and review 

of the trainee's performance for a minimum of two hours per 

week. 

18VAC95-30-190. Reporting requirements. 

A. The preceptor shall maintain progress reports on forms 

prescribed by the board for each month of training. For a 

person who is serving as an acting administrator while in an 

ALF AIT program, the preceptor shall include in the progress 

report evidence of face-to-face instruction and review for a 

minimum of two hours per week. 

B. The trainee's certificate of completion plus the 

accumulated original monthly reports shall be submitted by 

the preceptor to the board within 30 days following the 

completion of the program.  

18VAC95-30-201. Administrator-in-training program for 

acting administrators. 

A. A person who is in an ALF AIT program while serving 

as an acting administrator pursuant to § 54.1-3103.1 of the 

Code of Virginia shall be identified on his nametag as an 

acting administrator-in-training. 

B. The facility shall post the certificate issued by the board 

for the acting administrator and a copy of the license of the 

preceptor in a place conspicuous to the public. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2920; Filed June 5, 2013, 4:01 p.m.  

REAL ESTATE BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC135-20. Virginia Real Estate 

Board Licensing Regulations (amending 18VAC135-20-10 

through 18VAC135-20-45, 18VAC135-20-60, 18VAC135-

20-70, 18VAC135-20-80, 18VAC135-20-101, 18VAC135-

20-120, 18VAC135-20-140 through 18VAC135-20-240, 

18VAC135-20-260 through 18VAC135-20-310, 

18VAC135-20-360; adding 18VAC135-20-55, 18VAC135-

20-165, 18VAC135-20-225; repealing 18VAC135-20-100, 

18VAC135-20-105).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2105 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 7, 2013 - 9 a.m. - Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

200, Board Room 2, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: August 30, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 527-4299, or 

email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

general authority for the regulatory boards to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. Section 54.1-

2105 of the Code of Virginia provides that the Real Estate 

Board may do all things necessary and convenient for 

carrying into effect the provisions of its duties, including 

promulgating necessary regulations. 

Purpose: Changes are made annually to the Real Estate 

Board's statutes by the General Assembly. Since the 

regulations have not undergone substantial revision since 

2008, a thorough review was necessary to ensure the 

regulations complement the Real Estate Board's laws, provide 

minimum burdens on the regulants, protect the public, and 

reflect current procedures and policies of the board and the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation. 

Substance: Proposed changes are intended to improve the 

clarity of the regulations and ensure consistency with current 

practices and legal requirements and standards of practice in 

the industry. As a result of this thorough review, it was 

determined that sections pertaining to previous education 

requirements and additional qualifications for renewal of 

reciprocal license were no longer relevant. The subsection on 

duties of a supervising broker was moved from the place of 

business section to its own section to complement changes in 

the law. A new section was added on voluntary compliance to 

address a new section in the Code of Virginia. The board also 

amended 18VAC135-20-260 to clarify what actions 

constitute failure to safeguard the interests of the public and 

engaging in improper, fraudulent, or dishonest conduct. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that the 

revisions will improve the clarity of the regulations and 

ensure consistency with current board practices, legal 

requirements, and standards of practice in the industry—all to 

better protect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens of the 

Commonwealth. 

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth is that the 

revisions to the regulations reflect the importance that 

Virginia places on ensuring regulations are not burdensome 

but provide protection to the citizens of the Commonwealth. 

No disadvantages to the Commonwealth could be identified. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Real Estate Board (the Board) proposes to 1) incorporate 

statutory voluntary audit and compliance procedures, 2) 

require a reciprocity licensee to pass the Board's written 

examination within 12 months prior to applying for a license 

pursuant to the changes in law, 3) require initial license 

applicants to submit to fingerprinting pursuant to changes in 

law, 4) allow a licensee to carry over excess continuing 

education credits into the next renewal period pursuant to 

changes in law, 5) allow a broker to downgrade his license to 

that of a salesperson, 6) remove the $90 cap on the license 

examination fee, and 7) require that a proprietary school 

applicant demonstrate a minimum net worth and offer more 

options to qualify for pre-license instructor certification. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 

compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs for 

some of the proposed changes. The benefits exceed the costs 
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for other proposed changes. Detailed analysis of the benefits 

and costs can be found in the next section. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed amendments 

mainly incorporate numerous changes made to the related 

statues since 2008. Pursuant to the Chapters 373 and 637 of 

the 2010 Acts of Assembly, one of the proposed changes 

incorporates voluntary audit and compliance procedures. This 

change requires a principal broker or a supervising broker to 

audit the practices, policies, and procedures of his firm or sole 

proprietorship at least once every two years. If the results of 

self audit indicate non-compliance with regulations or law, 

the broker is required to remedy the non-compliance. When 

such a report is submitted, it provides immunity to the broker 

from enforcement. 

This requirement introduces additional compliance costs on 

the principal or supervising brokers in terms of added self 

audit costs. However, it also affords an opportunity to them to 

identify problematic practices and correct deficiencies 

voluntarily without risking enforcement action from the 

Board. The voluntary audit and compliance procedures are 

expected to improve compliance with the regulations and law 

without increasing the administrative costs of the Board. 

While the proposed voluntary audit and compliance 

procedures represent a significant change, they have already 

been implemented in practice under the statutory language. 

Thus, the proposed incorporation of the voluntary audit and 

compliance procedures in the regulations are not expected to 

create a significant economic impact upon incorporation of 

these amendments in the regulations. 

Pursuant to the Chapters 373 and 637 of the 2010 Acts of 

Assembly, another proposed change requires a reciprocity 

licensee to pass the Boards written examination within 12 

months prior to applying for a license. Previously, a 

reciprocity licensee could wait up to two years to pass the 

written test. This change shortens the time frame a reciprocity 

licensee can perform as a real estate salesperson or broker in 

Virginia from two years to 12 months. According to the 

Department of Professional Occupational Regulation 

(DPOR), a few hundred reciprocity licenses are granted in a 

year. Since this requirement has already been implemented 

under the statutory authority, no significant economic effect is 

expected from this proposed language upon its promulgation. 

The proposed changes also require initial license applicants to 

submit to fingerprinting pursuant to Chapter 667 of the 2009 

Acts of Assembly. This change is expected to affect 

approximately 3,000 individuals applying for licensure every 

year. The fingerprinting is estimated to cost $62 per case, of 

which $37 goes to the State Police and $25 goes to the 

vendor. This additional cost is paid by the applicant. The 

main benefit of this requirement is likely improved 

compliance with the Boards existing background 

requirements.  

Pursuant to Chapter 750 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly, the 

proposed changes allow a licensee to carry over excess 

continuing education credits into the next renewal period if 

they are obtained six months prior to the license expiration 

date. This change is expected to benefit regulants who have 

taken more than the required amount of continuing education 

credits for renewal. 

The proposed changes also allow a broker to downgrade his 

license to that of a salesperson. Such applicants are required 

to submit a complete application package for the salesperson 

license and be subject to the requirements of the broker 

license if he wishes to become licensed as a broker again. 

According to DPOR, some brokers no longer want to meet 

the continuing education requirements to maintain the broker 

license. While brokers are required to have 24 hours of 

continuing education per year, salespersons are required to 

have only 16 hours of continuing education per year. The 

additional 8 hours of continuing education is estimated to cost 

approximately $50. Of the 11,835 brokers, how many may 

choose this option is not known. The Board has already 

implemented this requirement. Thus, no significant economic 

effect is expected from this proposed language upon its 

promulgation. 

One of the proposed changes removes the $90 cap on the 

license examination fee. The exam is administered by a 

contracted vendor. The current fee amount negotiated with 

the Board is $60 which is in effect until 2015. Currently, the 

regulations allow the exam fee to be adjusted according to 

proper procurement procedures not to exceed $90. The 

proposed removal of the cap will allow the Board to contract 

with a vendor with a negotiated price above $90 per exam 

when the contract needs to be renewed. Approximately, 6,300 

individuals take this test every year. 

The proposed changes require that a proprietary school 

applicant demonstrate a minimum net worth of $2,000 by a 

Certified Public Accountant certified letter and include more 

options to qualify for pre-license instructor certification. The 

net worth requirement has been established in guidance 

documents for three years. It was added to the regulation to 

require evidence of financial responsibility. Under the 

proposed changes, there are more options to qualify for pre-

license instructor certification, but the applicant must meet 

two of the six options listed instead of one of the three. The 

Board receives 80 100 applications per year for pre-license 

instructor certification. The goal of this change is to make the 

instructor a more effective teacher. The board has also added 

a provision that would allow the board to waive the 

requirements if proof of experience in related field of real 

estate can be demonstrated. 

The proposed changes also update the requirements for 

maintenance and management of financial records and actions 

that constitute an improper dealing pursuant to Chapter 461 

of the 2011 Acts of Assembly; and the requirements for 

maintenance and management of escrow accounts pursuant to 

Chapter 181 of the 2010 Acts of Assembly. 
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Businesses and Entities Affected. This regulation change will 

affect all brokers, salespersons, business entities and firms. 

As of March 1, 2013, 55,753 individuals and 6,199 firms/sole 

proprietorships are regulated by the Board. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 

apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. While some of the changes 

discussed above are expected to have a positive impact on 

employment, some others are expected to have a negative 

impact. For example, voluntary audit and compliance 

procedures are likely to add to demand for labor. Shortening 

the time frame a reciprocity licensee can perform as an agent 

or broker in Virginia is likely to reduce supply of real estate 

professionals in Virginia. Fingerprinting requirements are 

likely to add to the demand for fingerprinting services. Being 

able to carryover excess continuing education credits are 

likely to reduce demand for continuing education services. 

Allowing a broker to downgrade his license to that of a 

salesperson is likely to reduce demand for continuing 

education services. The net impact of these opposing effects 

on employment is not known. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. While some 

of the changes discussed above are expected to reduce 

compliance costs, some others are expected to increase them. 

For example, voluntary audit and compliance procedures, 

shortening the time frame a reciprocity licensee can perform 

as an agent or broker in Virginia, and fingerprinting 

requirements are likely to add to the compliance costs. Being 

able to carryover excess continuing education credits and 

allowing a broker to downgrade his license to that of a 

salesperson is likely to reduce the compliance costs. The net 

impact of these opposing effects on compliance costs and 

consequently on asset value of affected firms is not known. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Most of the 6,199 

firms/sole proprietorships are likely to be small businesses. 

Costs and other effects discussed above apply to them.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. Shortening the time frame a reciprocity 

licensee can perform as an agent or broker in Virginia and 

fingerprinting requirements are the changes with probably the 

most significant adverse impact. There is no known 

alternative that minimizes these adverse impacts. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No significant impact on real 

estate development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Real 

Estate Board concurs with approval with the economic impact 

analysis performed by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) incorporate statutory 

voluntary audit and compliance procedures (Chapters 373 

and 637 of the Acts of Assembly of 2010), (ii) require a 

reciprocity licensee to pass the board's written 

examination within 12 months prior to applying for a 

license (Chapters 373 and 637 of the Acts of Assembly of 

2010), (iii) require initial license applicants to submit to 

fingerprinting (Chapter 667 of the Acts of Assembly of 

2009), (iv) allow a licensee to carry over excess continuing 

education credits into the next renewal period (Chapter 

750 of the Acts of Assembly of 2012), (v) allow a broker to 

downgrade his license to that of a salesperson, (vi) remove 

the $90 cap on the license examination fee, (vii) require 

that a proprietary school applicant demonstrate a 

minimum net worth, (viii) offer more options to qualify for 

prelicense instructor certification, (ix) change 

requirements for maintenance and management of 

financial records and amend the list of actions that 

constitute improper dealing (Chapter 461 of the Acts of 

Assembly of 2011), and (x) change the requirements for 

maintenance and management of escrow accounts 

(Chapter 181 of the Acts of Assembly of 2010). 

Part I  

General  

18VAC135-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 

by the context shall have the following meanings: 

"Active" means any broker or salesperson who is under the 

supervision of a principal or supervising broker of a firm or 

sole proprietor and who is performing those activities defined 

in §§ 54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the Code of Virginia. 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations July 1, 2013 

2671 

"Actively engaged" means active licensure with a licensed 

real estate firm or sole proprietorship in performing those 

activities as defined in §§ 54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the 

Code of Virginia for an average of at least 40 hours per week. 

This requirement may be waived at the discretion of the board 

in accordance with § 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Actively engaged in the brokerage business" means anyone 

who holds an active real estate license.  

"Associate broker" means any individual licensee of the 

board holding a broker's license other than one who has been 

designated as the principal broker. 

"Client" means a person who has entered into a brokerage 

relationship with a licensee as defined by § 54.1-2130 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Firm" means any sole proprietorship (nonbroker owner), 

partnership, association, limited liability company, or 

corporation, other than a sole proprietorship (principal broker 

owner), which is required by 18VAC135-20-20 B to obtain a 

separate brokerage firm license. The firm's licensed name 

may be any assumed or fictitious name properly filed with the 

board. 

"Inactive status" refers to any broker or salesperson who is 

not under the supervision of a principal broker or supervising 

broker, who is not active with a firm or sole proprietorship 

and who is not performing any of the activities defined in 

§§ 54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Independent contractor" means a licensee who acts for or 

represents a client other than as a standard agent and whose 

duties and obligations are governed by a written contract 

between the licensee and the client. 

"Licensee" means real estate brokers and salespersons as 

defined in Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Principal broker" means the individual broker who shall be 

designated by each firm to assure compliance with Chapter 21 

(§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

and this chapter, and to receive communications and notices 

from the board which may affect the firm or any licensee 

active with the firm. In the case of a sole proprietorship, the 

licensed broker who is the sole proprietor shall have the 

responsibilities of the principal broker. The principal broker 

shall have responsibility for the activities of the firm and all 

its licensees. The principal broker shall have signatory 

authority on all escrow accounts maintained by the firm. 

"Principal to a transaction" means a party to a real estate 

transaction including without limitation a seller or buyer, 

landlord or tenant, optionor or optionee, licensor or licensee. 

For the purposes of this chapter, the listing or selling broker, 

or both, are not by virtue of their brokerage relationship, 

principals to the transaction. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, 

limited liability company, partnership, or association, who is 

trading under the individual's name, or under an assumed or 

fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 5 

(§ 59.1-69 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Standard agent" means a licensee who acts for or represents 

a client in an agency relationship. A standard agent shall have 

the obligations as provided in Article 3 (§ 54.1-2130 et seq.) 

of Chapter 21 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Supervising broker" means (i) the individual broker who 

shall be designated by the principal broker to supervise the 

provision of real estate brokerage services by the associate 

brokers and salespersons assigned to branch offices or (ii) the 

broker, who may be the principal broker, designated by the 

principal broker to supervise a designated agent as stated in 

§ 54.1-2130 of the Code of Virginia. 

Part II  

Entry  

18VAC135-20-20. Necessity for license. (Refer to § 54.1-

2106.1 of the Code of Virginia.)  

A. Sole proprietor (principal broker owner). A real estate 

broker's license shall be issued to an individual trading under 

an assumed or fictitious name, that is, a name other than the 

individual's full name, only after the individual signs and 

acknowledges a certificate provided by the board, setting 

forth the name under which the business is to be organized 

and conducted, the address of the individual's residence, and 

the address of the individual's place of business. Each 

certificate must be attested by the clerk of court of the county 

or jurisdiction wherein the business is to be conducted. The 

attention of all applicants and licensees is directed to §§ 59.1-

69 through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. Sole proprietor (nonbroker owner), partnership, 

association, limited liability company, or corporation. Every 

sole proprietor (nonbroker owner), partnership, association, 

limited liability company, or corporation must secure a real 

estate license for its firm before transacting real estate 

business. This license is separate and distinct from the 

individual broker license required of each partner, associate, 

manager of a limited liability company, and officer of a 

corporation who is active in the firm's brokerage business. 

Each applicant for such license shall disclose, and the license 

shall be issued to, the name under which the applicant intends 

to do or does business and holds itself out to the public. Each 

applicant shall also disclose the business address of the firm. 

The board will consider the application of any partnership, 

association, corporation or limited liability company only 

after the entity is authorized to conduct business in 

accordance with §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

C. Each real estate firm is required to have a principal 

broker whose license is in good standing with the board in 

order to transact real estate business. 

D. Branch office license. If a real estate broker maintains 

more than one place of business within the state, a branch 

office license shall be issued for each place of business 
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maintained. Application for the license shall be made on 

forms provided by the board and shall reveal the name of the 

firm, the location of the branch office, and the name of the 

supervising broker for that branch office. The branch office 

license shall be maintained at the branch office location.  

18VAC135-20-30. Qualifications for licensure. 

Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for an individual 

salesperson's or broker's license shall have the following 

qualifications:  

1. The applicant shall have a good reputation for honesty, 

truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be competent to transact 

the business of a real estate broker or a real estate 

salesperson in such a manner as to safeguard the interests 

of the public.  

2. The applicant shall meet the current educational 

requirements by achieving a passing grade in all required 

courses of § 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia prior to the 

time the applicant sits for the licensing examination and 

applies for licensure.  

3. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed real 

estate broker or salesperson in every jurisdiction where 

licensed and the applicant shall not have had a license as a 

real estate broker or real estate salesperson which was 

suspended, revoked or surrendered in connection with a 

disciplinary action or which has been the subject of 

discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure 

in Virginia. The applicant shall be in compliance with all 

the terms of all board orders, including but not limited to 

paying imposed monetary penalties and costs, plus any 

accrued interest and other fees, and completing imposed 

education. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall submit to fingerprinting and shall 

disclose the following information: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical 

injury within five years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions during his lifetime. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of 

a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as 

prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. 

The board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old. 

6. The applicant shall have a high school diploma or its 

equivalent. 

7. The applicant, within 12 months prior to making 

complete application for a license, shall have passed a 

written examination provided by the board or by a testing 

service acting on behalf of the board. 

8. The applicant shall follow all procedures established 

with regard to conduct at the examination. Failure to 

comply with all procedures established with regard to 

conduct at the examination may be grounds for denial of 

application. 

9. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the 

requirements set forth in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this 

section may be approved for licensure following 

consideration by the board. 

18VAC135-20-40. Additional qualifications for brokers.  

An applicant for an individual license as a real estate broker 

shall meet the following requirements in addition to those set 

forth in 18VAC135-20-30:  

1. The applicant shall meet the current educational 

requirements of § 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. The applicant shall have been actively engaged as 

defined in 18VAC135-20-10 as a real estate salesperson 

for a period of 36 of the 48 months immediately preceding 

application. This requirement may be waived at the 

discretion of the board in accordance with § 54.1-2105 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

3. The applicant's experience must be verified by the 

principal or supervising broker for whom the licensee 

worked at the time of obtaining that experience. 

18VAC135-20-45. Additional qualifications for 

salesperson's or associate broker's license as a business 

entity.  

An applicant for a salesperson's license as a business entity 

shall meet the following requirements in addition to those set 

forth in 18VAC135-20-30:  

1. Every owner or officer who actively participates in the 

real estate business shall hold a license as a salesperson or 

associate broker. The business entity license does not 

replace the individual license. More than one licensee may 

be a participant of the business entity.  

2. When one licensee is the owner or officer, the business 

entity shall be named in accordance with § 54.1-2106.1 C 

of the Code of Virginia.  

3. The board will consider the application of any 

partnership, association, corporation or limited liability 

company only after the entity is authorized to do business 

in accordance with §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

18VAC135-20-55. Downgrade to salesperson's license. 

A broker who wants to downgrade his license(s) to that of a 

salesperson must submit a complete application with 

appropriate fee. When downgrading the license(s), the 

licensee agrees his current broker's license(s) ceases to exist, 

and if he chooses to become licensed as a broker again, he 

must pass the current broker examination and must meet the 

current education and experience requirements in place at the 

time of application.  
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18VAC135-20-60. Qualifications for licensure by 

reciprocity. 

An individual who is currently licensed as a real estate 

salesperson or broker in another jurisdiction may obtain a 

Virginia real estate license by meeting the following 

requirements: 

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years of age. 

2. The applicant shall have a high school diploma or its 

equivalent. 

3. The applicant shall have received the salesperson's or 

broker's license by virtue of having passed in the 

jurisdiction of licensure a written examination deemed to 

be substantially equivalent to the Virginia examination.  

4. The applicant shall sign a statement verifying that he has 

read and understands the provisions of this chapter and 

Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

5. The applicant, within 12 months prior to making a 

complete application for a license, shall have passed a 

written examination provided by the board or by a testing 

service acting on behalf of the board covering Virginia real 

estate license law and regulations of the Real Estate Board. 

6. The applicant shall follow all procedures established 

with regard to conduct at the examination. Failure to 

comply with all procedures established by the board with 

regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for 

denial of application. 

6. 7. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed 

real estate broker or salesperson in every jurisdiction where 

licensed and the applicant shall not have had a license as a 

real estate broker or real estate salesperson which was 

suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection with a 

disciplinary action or which has been the subject of 

discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure 

in Virginia. The applicant shall be in compliance with all 

the terms of all board orders, including but not limited to 

paying imposed monetary penalties and costs, plus any 

accrued interest and other fees, and completing imposed 

education. 

7. 8. At the time of application for a salesperson's license, 

the applicant must have been actively engaged as defined 

by 18VAC135-20-10 for 12 of the preceding 36 months or 

have met educational requirements that are substantially 

equivalent to those required in Virginia. At the time of 

application for a broker's license, the applicant must have 

met educational requirements that are substantially 

equivalent to those required in Virginia, and the applicant 

must have been actively engaged as defined by 

18VAC135-20-10 for 36 of the preceding 48 months. The 

broker applicant's experience must be verified by an 

individual who has direct knowledge of the applicant’s 

activities as defined in §§ 54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the 

Code of Virginia. These requirements may be waived at 

the discretion of the board in accordance with § 54.1-2105 

of the Code of Virginia. 

8. 9. The applicant shall have a good reputation for 

honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be competent to 

transact the business of a real estate salesperson or broker 

in such a manner as to safeguard the interests of the public. 

9. 10. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia, each applicant shall submit to fingerprinting and 

shall disclose the following information: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical 

injury within five years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions during his lifetime. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

10. 11. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the 

requirements set forth in subdivisions 6 7 and 9 10 of this 

subsection section may be approved for licensure 

following consideration by the board. 

18VAC135-20-70. Activation or transfer of license.  

A. Any inactive licensee may activate that license with a 

licensed real estate firm or sole proprietorship by completing 

an activate form prescribed by the board. Continuing 

education pursuant to § 54.1-2105 54.1-2105.03 of the Code 

of Virginia shall be completed within two years prior to 

activation of a license when the license has been inactive for 

more than 30 days. Any licensee who has not been active 

with a licensed real estate firm or sole proprietorship for a 

period of greater than three years shall be required to meet the 

existing prelicense educational requirements.  

B. Any licensee may transfer from one licensed real estate 

firm or sole proprietorship to another by completing and 

submitting to the board a transfer application and the fee as 

set forth in 18VAC135-20-80. 

C. A licensee who submits an activate application to the 

board shall not conduct business with the real estate firm or 

sole proprietorship set forth in the application until the 

application is processed and the license is issued by the 

board. 

18VAC135-20-80. Application fees.  

A. All application fees for licenses are nonrefundable and 

the date of receipt by the board or its agent is the date that 

will be used to determine whether it is on time.  

B. Application fees are as follows:  

  Salesperson by education and examination $150 

  Salesperson by reciprocity $150 
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  Salesperson's or associate broker's license as 

a business entity $190 

  Broker by education and examination  $190 

  Broker by reciprocity $190 

  Broker concurrent license $140 

  Firm license $250 

  Branch office license $190 

  Transfer application $60 

  Activate application $60 

C. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor. These 

contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted 

and charged to the candidate in accordance with these 

contracts. The fee shall not exceed $90 per candidate.  

18VAC135-20-100. Qualification for renewal; continuing 

education requirements. (Repealed.) 

Effective until June 30, 2008, as a condition of renewal, and 

pursuant to § 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia, all active 

brokers and salespersons, resident or nonresident, except 

those called to active duty in the Armed Forces of the United 

States, shall be required to satisfactorily complete a course or 

courses of not less than a total of 16 classroom, 

correspondence, or other distance learning instruction hours 

during each licensing term, except for salespersons who are 

renewing for the first time and are required to complete 30 

hours of postlicense education regardless of whether his 

license is active or inactive. Active licensees called to active 

duty in the Armed Forces of the United States may complete 

these courses within six months of their release from active 

duty. Inactive brokers and salespersons are not required to 

complete the continuing education course as a condition of 

renewal (see 18VAC135-20-70, Activation of license). 

1. Providers shall be those as defined in 18VAC135-20-

350. 

2. Eight of the 16 required hours shall include two hours of 

training in fair housing laws, and a minimum of one hour 

each in state real estate laws and regulations, ethics and 

standards of conduct, agency and contracts for brokers. 

Eight of the 16 required hours shall include two hours of 

training in fair housing laws, three hours in ethics and 

standards of conduct and a minimum of one hour each in 

state real estate laws and regulations, agency, and contracts 

for salespersons. If the licensee submits a notarized 

affidavit to the board which certifies that he does not 

practice residential real estate brokerage, residential 

management or residential leasing and shall not do so 

during the licensing term, training in fair housing shall not 

be required; instead such licensee shall receive training in 

other applicable federal and state discrimination laws and 

regulations. The remaining hours shall be on subjects from 

the following list: 

a. Property rights; 

b. Contracts; 

c. Deeds; 

d. Mortgages and deeds of trust; 

e. Types of mortgages; 

f. Leases; 

g. Liens; 

h. Real property and title insurance; 

i. Investment; 

j. Taxes in real estate; 

k. Real estate financing; 

l. Brokerage and agency contract responsibilities; 

m. Real property management; 

n. Search, examination and registration of title; 

o. Title closing; 

p. Appraisal of real property; 

q. Planning subdivision developments and 

condominiums; 

r. Regulatory statutes; 

s. Housing legislation; 

t. Fair housing; 

u. Real Estate Board regulations; 

v. Land use; 

w. Business law; 

x. Real estate economics; 

y. Real estate investments; 

z. Federal real estate law; 

aa. Commercial real estate; 

bb. Americans With Disabilities Act; 

cc. Environmental issues impacting real estate; 

dd. Building codes and design; 

ee. Local laws and zoning; 

ff. Escrow requirements; 

gg. Ethics and standards of conduct; and 

hh. Common interest ownership. 

3. Licensees holding licenses in other jurisdictions must 

complete eight hours, which shall include fair housing 

laws, state real estate laws and regulations, ethics and 

standards of conduct, agency and contracts and may 

substitute education completed in their jurisdiction for the 

remaining hours required by subdivision 2 of this 

subsection. 
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4. The board may approve additional subjects at its 

discretion and in accordance with § 54.1-2105 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

5. Credit for continuing education course completion is 

given for each class hour/clock hour as defined in 

18VAC135-20-350. 

6. Licensees are responsible for retaining for three years 

and providing proof of continuing education. Proof of 

course completion shall be made on a form prescribed by 

the board. Failure to provide documentation of completion 

as directed by the board will result in the license not being 

renewed and/or disciplinary action pursuant to this chapter. 

7. Instructors who are also licensees of the board may earn 

continuing education credit for teaching continuing 

education courses. 

18VAC135-20-101. Qualification for renewal; continuing 

education requirements. 

Effective July 1, 2008, as As a condition of renewal, and 

pursuant to § 54.1-2105 54.1-2105.03 of the Code of 

Virginia, all active salespersons, resident or nonresident, 

except those called to active duty in the Armed Forces of the 

United States, shall be required to satisfactorily complete a 

course or courses of not less than a total of 16 classroom, 

correspondence, or other distance learning instruction hours 

during each licensing term, except for salespersons who are 

renewing for the first time and are required to complete 30 

hours of post-license education regardless of whether his 

license is active or inactive. All active brokers, resident or 

nonresident, except those called to active duty in the Armed 

Forces of the United States, shall be required to satisfactorily 

complete a course or courses of not less than a total of 24 

classroom, correspondence, or other distance learning 

instruction hours during each licensing term. Active licensees 

called to active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States 

may complete these courses within six months of their release 

from active duty. Inactive brokers and salespersons are not 

required to complete the continuing education course as a 

condition of renewal (see 18VAC135-20-70, Activation of 

license). 

1. Providers shall be those as defined in 18VAC135-20-

350; 

2. For salespersons, eight of the required 16 hours shall 

include two hours of training in fair housing laws, three 

hours in ethics and standards of conduct and a minimum of 

one hour each in state real estate laws and regulations legal 

updates and emerging trends, real estate agency and real 

estate contracts. For brokers, 16 of the 24 required hours 

shall include eight hours in supervision and management of 

real estate agents and the management of real estate 

brokerage firms, two hours of training in fair housing laws, 

three hours in ethics and standards of conduct and a 

minimum of one hour each in state real estate laws and 

regulations legal updates and emerging trends, real estate 

agency and real estate contracts. If the licensee submits a 

notarized affidavit to the board that certifies that he does 

not practice residential real estate brokerage, residential 

management or residential leasing and shall not do so 

during the licensing term, training in fair housing shall not 

be required; instead such licensee shall receive training in 

other applicable federal and state discrimination laws and 

regulations. The remaining hours shall be on subjects from 

the following list: 

a. Property rights; 

b. Contracts; 

c. Deeds; 

d. Mortgages and deeds of trust; 

e. Types of mortgages; 

f. Leases; 

g. Liens; 

h. Real property and title insurance; 

i. Investment; 

j. Taxes in real estate; 

k. Real estate financing; 

l. Brokerage and agency contract responsibilities; 

m. Real property management; 

n. Search, examination and registration of title; 

o. Title closing; 

p. Appraisal of real property; 

q. Planning subdivision developments and 

condominiums; 

r. Regulatory statutes; 

s. Housing legislation; 

t. Fair housing; 

u. Real Estate Board regulations; 

v. Land use; 

w. Business law; 

x. Real estate economics; 

y. Real estate investments; 

z. Federal real estate law; 

aa. Commercial real estate; 

bb. Americans With Disabilities Act; 

cc. Environmental issues impacting real estate; 

dd. Building codes and design;  

ee. Local laws and zoning; 

ff. Escrow requirements;  

gg. Ethics and standards of conduct; and 

hh. Common interest ownership. 

3. Salespersons holding licenses in other jurisdictions must 

complete eight hours, which shall include fair housing 

laws, state real estate laws and regulations legal updates 
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and emerging trends, ethics and standards of conduct, and 

real estate agency and real estate contracts and may 

substitute education completed in their jurisdiction for the 

remaining hours required by subdivision 2 of this 

subsection section. Brokers holding licenses in other 

jurisdictions must complete 16 hours that shall include 

supervision and management of real estate agents and the 

management of real estate brokerage firms, fair housing 

laws, state real estate laws and regulations legal updates 

and emerging trends, ethics and standards of conduct, and 

real estate agency and real estate contracts and may 

substitute education completed in their jurisdiction for the 

remaining hours required by subdivision 2 of this 

subsection section. 

4. The board may approve additional subjects at its 

discretion and in accordance with § 54.1-2105 54.1-

2105.03 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. Credit for continuing education course completion is 

given for each class hour/clock hour as defined in 

18VAC135-20-350. 

6. Licensees are responsible for retaining for three years 

and providing proof of continuing education. Proof of 

course completion shall be made on a form prescribed by 

the board. Failure to provide documentation of completion 

as directed by the board will result in the license not being 

renewed and/or disciplinary action pursuant to this chapter. 

7. Instructors who are also licensees of the board may earn 

continuing education credit for teaching continuing 

education courses.  

8. Any continuing education credits completed by the 

licensee in excess of that required in the current license 

term that are obtained in the six months immediately prior 

to the license expiration date shall carry over into the next 

two-year renewal period. 

18VAC135-20-105. Additional qualifications for renewal 

of a reciprocal license. (Repealed.) 

In addition to the requirements set forth in 18VAC135-20-

100, all licensees, including those licensees who upgrade to 

broker prior to renewal, who obtained their license by 

reciprocity in accordance with 18VAC135-20-60 must pass a 

written examination provided by the board or a testing service 

acting on behalf of the board covering Virginia real estate 

license law and regulations of the Real Estate Board. 

18VAC135-20-120. Fees for renewal.  

A. All fees for renewals are nonrefundable, and the date of 

receipt by the board or its agent is the date that will be used to 

determine whether it is on time.  

B. Renewal fees are as follows:  

  Salesperson $65 

  Salesperson's or associate broker's license as 

a business entity 

$90 

  Broker $80 

  Concurrent broker  $80 

  Firm $160 

  Branch office $90 

Part IV  

Reinstatement  

18VAC135-20-140. Failure to renew; reinstatement 

required.  

A. All applicants for reinstatement must meet all 

requirements set forth in 18VAC135-20-100 18VAC135-20-

101. Applicants for reinstatement of an active who want to 

activate their license must have completed the continuing 

education requirement in order to reinstate and activate the 

license. Applicants for reinstatement of an inactive license are 

not required to complete the continuing education 

requirement for license reinstatement.  

B. If the requirements for renewal of a license, including 

receipt of the fee by the board, are not completed by the 

licensee within 30 days of the expiration date noted on the 

license, a reinstatement fee is required as follows:  

  Salesperson $100 

  Salesperson's or associate broker's license 

as a business entity 

$135 

  Broker $120 

  Concurrent Broker $120 

  Firm $245 

  Branch Office $135 

C. A license may be reinstated for up to one year following 

the expiration date with payment of the reinstatement fee. 

After one year, the license may not be reinstated under any 

circumstances and the applicant must meet all current 

educational and examination requirements and apply as a new 

applicant.  

D. Any real estate activity conducted subsequent to the 

expiration date may constitute unlicensed activity and be 

subject to prosecution under Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

Part V  

Standards of Practice and Conduct  

18VAC135-20-155. Grounds for disciplinary action.  

The board has the power to fine any licensee and to suspend 

or revoke any license issued under the provisions of Chapter 

21 (§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia 

and this chapter in accordance with subdivision A 7 of § 54.1-

201 and § 54.1-202 of the Code of Virginia and the 

provisions of the Administrative Process Act, Chapter 40 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia, 

where the licensee has been found to have violated or 



Regulations 

Volume 29, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations July 1, 2013 

2677 

cooperated with others in violating any provision of Chapter 

Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.), 3 

(§ 54.1-300 et seq.), and 21 (§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia, Chapter 1.3 27.3 (§ 6.1-2.19 55-

525.16 et seq.) of Title 6.1 55 of the Code of Virginia, or any 

regulation of the board. Any licensee failing to comply with 

the provisions of Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia or the regulations of the Real 

Estate Board in performing any acts covered by §§ 54.1-2100 

and 54.1-2101 of the Code of Virginia may be charged with 

improper dealings a violation, regardless of whether those 

acts are in the licensee's personal capacity or in his capacity 

as a real estate licensee.  

18VAC135-20-160. Place of business.  

A. Within the meaning and intent of § 54.1-2110 of the 

Code of Virginia, a place of business shall be an office where:  

1. The principal broker, either through his own efforts or 

through the efforts of his employees or associates, 

regularly transacts the business of a real estate broker as 

defined in § 54.1-2100 of the Code of Virginia; and  

2. The principal broker and his employees or associates can 

receive business calls and direct business calls to be made.  

B. No place of business shall be in a physical residence 

unless it is separate and distinct from the living quarters of 

the residence with its own entrance and is accessible by the 

public.  

C. Every principal broker shall have readily available to the 

public in the main place of business the firm license, the 

principal broker license and the license of every salesperson 

and broker active with the firm. The branch office license and 

a roster of every salesperson or broker assigned to the branch 

office shall be posted in a conspicuous place in each branch 

office. 

18VAC135-20-165. Duties of supervising broker. 

D. Each place of business and each branch office shall be 

supervised by a supervising broker. The supervising broker 

shall exercise reasonable and adequate supervision of the 

provision of real estate brokerage services by associate 

brokers and salespersons assigned to the branch office. The 

supervising broker may designate another broker to assist in 

administering the provisions of this subsection section. The 

supervising broker does not relinquish overall responsibility 

for the supervision of the acts of all licensees assigned to the 

branch office. Factors to be considered in determining 

whether the supervision is reasonable and adequate include 

but are not limited to the following: 

1. The availability of the supervising broker to all licensees 

under the supervision of the broker to review and approve 

all documents, including but not limited to leases, contracts 

affecting the firm's clients, brokerage agreements, and 

advertising; 

2. The availability of training and written procedures and 

policies which that provide, without limitation, clear 

guidance in the following areas: 

a. Proper handling of escrow deposits; 

b. Compliance with federal and state fair housing laws 

and regulations if the firm engages in residential 

brokerage, residential leasing, or residential property 

management; 

c. Advertising; 

d. Negotiating and drafting of contracts, leases, and 

brokerage agreements; 

e. Use of unlicensed individuals;  

f. Agency relationships; 

g. Distribution of information on new or changed 

statutory or regulatory requirements; 

h. Disclosure of matters relating to the condition of the 

property.; and 

i. Such other matters as necessary to assure the 

competence of licensees to comply with this chapter and 

Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

3. The availability of the supervising broker in a timely 

manner to supervise the management of the brokerage 

services; 

4. The supervising broker ensures the brokerage services 

are carried out competently and in accordance with the 

provisions of this chapter and Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-2100 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

5. The supervising broker undertakes reasonable steps to 

ensure compliance by all licensees assigned to the branch 

office;, including but not limited to ensuring the licensees 

have an active, current license: 

6. The supervising broker ensures only licensees undertake 

activities requiring a license, including but are not limited 

to: 

a. Show property; 

b. Hold an open house; 

c. Answer questions on listings, title, financing, closing, 

contracts, brokerage agreements, and legal documents; 

d. Discuss, explain, interpret, or negotiate a contract, 

listing, lease agreement, or property management 

agreement with anyone outside the firm; and 

e. Negotiate or agree to any commission, commission 

split, management fee, or referral fee. 

7. A supervising broker shall provide adequate supervision 

over the unlicensed employee(s) or assistants under the 

supervision of a broker as they perform the following 

permitted activities: 

a. Perform general clerical duties, including answering 

the phones and reading information shown on the listing; 
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b. Submit listings and changes to MLS; 

c. Follow up on loan commitments after contracts have 

been ratified;  

d. Have keys made for listings;  

e. Compute commission checks; 

f. Place signs on properties; 

g. Act as a courier service;  

h. Schedule appointments; 

i. Record and deposit earnest money deposits, security 

deposits, and advance rents; 

j. Prepare contract forms for approval of the licensee and 

supervising broker; 

k. Prepare promotional materials and advertisements for 

approval of the licensee and supervising broker;  

l. Assemble closing documents; 

m. Obtain required public information from 

governmental entities; 

n. Monitor license and personnel files; 

o. Order routine repairs as directed by licensee; 

p. Are compensated for their work at a predetermined 

rate that is not contingent upon the occurrence of a real 

estate transaction; and 

q. Perform any other activities undertaken in the regular 

course of business for which a license is not required. 

6. 8. If a supervising broker is located more than 50 miles 

from the place of business or the branch office and there 

are licensees who regularly conduct business assigned to 

the branch office or at the place of business, the 

supervising broker must certify in writing on a quarterly 

basis on a form provided by the board that the supervising 

broker complied with the requirements in of this subsection 

section; and  

7. 9. The supervising broker must maintain the records 

required in this subsection section for three years. The 

records must be furnished to the board's agent upon 

request. 

18VAC135-20-170. Maintenance of licenses. 

A. Name and address. 

1. Salespersons and individual brokers shall at all times 

keep the board informed of their current name and home 

address. Changes of name and address must be reported to 

the board in writing within 30 calendar days of such 

change. The board shall not be responsible for the 

licensee's failure to receive notices, communications and 

correspondence caused by the licensee's failure to promptly 

notify the board of any change of address. A licensee may 

use a professional name other than a legal name if that 

professional name is filed with the board prior to its use. 

The professional name shall include the licensee's first or 

last name and shall not include any titles. 

2. Salespersons and brokers shall be issued a license only 

to the place of business of the sole proprietorship or firm 

with which the salesperson or broker is active. 

3. Principal brokers must at all times keep the board 

informed of their current firm and branch office name and 

addresses and changes of name and address must be 

reported to the board in writing within 30 calendar days of 

such change. A physical address is required. A post office 

box will not be accepted. 

B. Discharge or termination of active status. 

1. When any salesperson or broker is discharged or in any 

way terminates his active status with a sole proprietorship 

or firm, it shall be the duty of the sole proprietor or 

principal broker to return the license by certified mail to 

the board so that it is received within 10 calendar days of 

the date of termination or status change. The sole 

proprietor or principal broker shall indicate on the license 

the date of termination, and shall sign the license before 

returning it. 

2. When any principal broker is discharged or in any way 

terminates his active status with a firm, it shall be the duty 

of the firm to notify the board and return the license by 

certified mail to the board within three business days of 

termination or status change. The firm shall indicate on the 

license the date of termination, and shall sign the license 

before returning it. See § 54.1-2109 of the Code of 

Virginia for termination relating to the death or disability 

of the principal broker. 

18VAC135-20-180. Maintenance and management of 

escrow accounts. 

A. Maintenance of escrow accounts.  

1. If money is to be held in escrow, each firm or sole 

proprietorship shall maintain in the name by which it is 

licensed one or more federally insured separate escrow 

accounts in a federally insured depository in Virginia into 

which all down payments, earnest money deposits, money 

received upon final settlement, rental payments, rental 

security deposits, money advanced by a buyer or seller for 

the payment of expenses in connection with the closing of 

real estate transactions, money advanced by the broker's 

client or expended on behalf of the client, or other escrow 

funds received by him or his associates on behalf of his 

client or any other person shall be deposited unless all 

principals to the transaction have agreed otherwise in 

writing. The balance in the escrow accounts shall be 

sufficient at all times to account for all funds that are 

designated to be held by the firm or sole proprietorship. 

The principal broker shall be held responsible for these 

accounts, including having signatory authority on these 

accounts. The supervising broker and any other licensee 

with escrow account authority may be held responsible for 

these accounts. All such accounts, checks and bank 

statements shall be labeled "escrow" and the account(s) 
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shall be designated as "escrow" accounts with the financial 

institution where such accounts are established.  

2. Funds to be deposited in the escrow account may 

include moneys which shall ultimately belong to the 

licensee, but such moneys shall be separately identified in 

the escrow account records and shall be paid to the firm by 

a check drawn on the escrow account when the funds 

become due to the licensee. Funds in an escrow account 

shall not be paid directly to the licensees of the firm. The 

fact that an escrow account contains money which may 

ultimately belong to the licensee does not constitute 

"commingling of funds" as set forth by subdivision C 2 of 

this section, provided that there are periodic withdrawals of 

said funds at intervals of not more than six months, and 

that the licensee can at all times accurately identify the 

total funds in that account which belong to the licensee and 

the firm.  

3. If escrow funds are used to purchase a certificate of 

deposit, the pledging or hypothecation of such certificate, 

or the absence of the original certificate from the direct 

control of the principal or supervising broker, shall 

constitute commingling as prohibited by subdivision C 2 of 

this section.  

B. Disbursement of funds from escrow accounts.  

1. a. Purchase transactions. Upon the ratification of a 

contract, earnest money deposits and down payments 

received by the principal broker or supervising broker or 

his associates must be placed in an escrow account by the 

end of the fifth business banking day following ratification, 

unless otherwise agreed to in writing by the parties 

principals to the transaction, and shall remain in that 

account until the transaction has been consummated or 

terminated. In the event the transaction is not 

consummated (nonconsummation), the principal broker or 

supervising broker shall hold such funds in escrow until (i) 

all principals to the transaction have agreed in writing as to 

their disposition, and the money shall be returned to the 

agreed upon principal within 30 days of the agreement, or 

(ii) a court of competent jurisdiction orders such 

disbursement of the funds, or (iii) the funds are 

successfully interpleaded into a court of competent 

jurisdiction pursuant to this section, or (iv) the broker can 

pay the funds to the principal to the transaction who is 

entitled to receive them in accordance with the clear and 

explicit terms of the contract which established the deposit. 

In the latter event, prior to disbursement, the broker shall 

give written notice to the principal to the transaction not to 

receive the deposit by either (i) hand delivery receipted for 

by the addressee, or (ii) by certified mail return receipt 

requested, with a copy to the other party, that this payment 

will be made unless a written protest from that principal to 

the transaction is received by the broker within 30 days of 

the hand delivery or mailing, as appropriate, of that notice. 

If the notice is sent within 90 days of the date of 

nonconsummation, the broker may send the notice by 

receiptable email or facsimile if such email address or 

facsimile information is set forth in the contract or 

otherwise provided by the recipient. In all events, the 

broker may send the notice to the notice address, if any, set 

forth in the contract. If the contract does not contain a 

notice address and the broker does not have another 

address for the recipient of the notice, the broker may send 

it to the last known address of the recipient. No broker 

shall be required to make a determination as to the party 

entitled to receive the earnest money deposit. The broker 

shall not be deemed to violate any obligation to any client 

by virtue of making such a determination. A broker who 

has carried out the above procedure shall be construed to 

have fulfilled the requirements of this chapter.  

A principal broker or supervising broker holding escrow 

funds for a principal to the transaction may seek to have a 

court of competent jurisdiction take custody of disputed or 

unclaimed escrow funds via an interpleader action pursuant 

to § 16.1-77 of the Code of Virginia. 

If a principal broker or supervising broker is holding 

escrow funds for the owner of real property and such 

property is foreclosed upon by a lender, the principal 

broker or supervising broker shall have the right to file an 

interpleader action pursuant to § 16.1-77 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

If there is in effect at the date of the foreclosure sale a real 

estate purchase contract to buy the property foreclosed 

upon and the real estate purchase contract provides that the 

earnest money deposit held in escrow by a firm or sole 

proprietorship shall be paid to a principal to the contract in 

the event of a termination of the real estate purchase 

contract, the foreclosure shall be deemed a termination of 

the real estate purchase contract, and the principal broker 

or supervising broker may, absent any default on the part 

of the purchaser, disburse the earnest money deposit  to the 

purchaser pursuant to such provisions of the real estate 

purchase contract without further consent from, or notice 

to, the principals. 

b. Lease transactions: security deposits. Any security 

deposit held by a firm or sole proprietorship shall be 

placed in an escrow account by the end of the fifth 

business banking day following receipt, unless otherwise 

agreed to in writing by the principals to the transaction. 

Each such security deposit shall be treated in accordance 

with the security deposit provisions of the Virginia 

Residential Landlord and Tenant Act, Chapter 13.2 

(§ 55-248.2 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia, 

unless exempted therefrom, in which case the terms of 

the lease or other applicable law shall control. 

Notwithstanding anything in this section to the contrary, 

unless the landlord has otherwise become entitled to 

receive the security deposit or a portion thereof, the 

security deposit shall not be removed from an escrow 
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account required by the lease without the written consent 

of the tenant. If there is in effect at the date of the 

foreclosure sale a tenant in a residential dwelling unit 

foreclosed upon and the landlord is holding a security 

deposit of the tenant, the landlord shall handle the 

security deposit in accordance with applicable law, which 

requires the holder of the landlord's interest in the 

dwelling unit at the time of termination of tenancy to 

return any security deposit and any accrued interest that 

is duly owed to the tenant, whether or not such security 

deposit is transferred with the landlord's interest by law 

or equity, and regardless of any contractual agreements 

between the original landlord and his successors in 

interest. Nothing herein shall be construed to prevent the 

landlord from making lawful deductions from the 

security deposit in accordance with applicable law. 

c. Lease transactions: rents or escrow fund advances. 

Unless otherwise agreed in writing by all principals to 

the transaction, all rents and other money paid to the 

licensee in connection with the lease shall be placed in an 

escrow account by the end of the fifth business banking 

day following receipt, unless otherwise agreed to in 

writing by the principals to the transaction, and remain in 

that account until paid in accordance with the terms of 

the lease and the property management agreement, as 

applicable.  

2. a. Purchase transactions. Unless otherwise agreed in 

writing by all principals to the transaction, a licensee shall 

not be entitled to any part of the earnest money deposit or 

to any other money paid to the licensee in connection with 

any real estate transaction as part of the licensee's 

commission until the transaction has been consummated.  

b. Lease transactions. Unless otherwise agreed in writing 

by the principals to the lease or property management 

agreement, as applicable, a licensee shall not be entitled 

to any part of the security deposit or to any other money 

paid to the licensee in connection with any real estate 

lease as part of the licensee's commission except in 

accordance with the terms of the lease or the property 

management agreement, as applicable. Notwithstanding 

anything in this section to the contrary, unless the 

landlord has otherwise become entitled to receive the 

security deposit or a portion thereof, the security deposit 

shall not be removed from an escrow account required by 

the lease without the written consent of the tenant.  

3. On funds placed in an account bearing interest, written 

disclosure in the contract of sale or lease at the time of 

contract or lease writing shall be made to the principals to 

the transaction regarding the disbursement of interest.  

4. A licensee shall not disburse or cause to be disbursed 

moneys from an escrow or property management escrow 

account unless sufficient money is on deposit in that 

account to the credit of the individual client or property 

involved.  

5. Unless otherwise agreed in writing by all principals to 

the transaction, expenses incidental to closing a 

transaction, e.g., fees for appraisal, insurance, credit report, 

etc., shall not be deducted from a deposit or down 

payment.  

C. Actions including improper maintenance of escrow funds 

include:  

1. Accepting any note, nonnegotiable instrument, or 

anything of value not readily negotiable, as a deposit on a 

contract, offer to purchase, or lease, without 

acknowledging its acceptance in the agreement;  

2. Commingling the funds of any person by a principal or 

supervising broker or his employees or associates or any 

licensee with his own funds, or those of his corporation, 

firm, or association;  

3. Failure to deposit escrow funds in an account or 

accounts designated to receive only such funds as required 

by subdivision A 1 of this section;  

4. Failure to have sufficient balances in an escrow account 

or accounts at all times for all funds that are designated to 

be held by the firm or sole proprietorship as required by 

this chapter; and  

5. Failing, as principal broker, to report to the board within 

three business days instances where the principal broker 

reasonably believes the improper conduct of a licensee, 

independent contractor, or employee has caused 

noncompliance with this section. 

18VAC135-20-185. Maintenance and management of 

financial records.  

A. A complete record of financial transactions conducted 

under authority of the principal broker's Virginia license shall 

be maintained in the principal broker's place of business, or in 

a designated branch office. When the principal broker's office 

is located outside of Virginia and the firm has a branch office 

in Virginia, a copy of these records shall be maintained in the 

Virginia office. These records shall show, in addition to any 

other requirements of the regulations, the following 

information: from whom money was received; the date of 

receipt; the place of deposit; the date of deposit; and, after the 

transaction has been completed, the final disposition of the 

funds.  

B. The principal broker shall maintain a bookkeeping or 

recordkeeping system which shall accurately and clearly 

disclose full compliance with the requirements outlined in 

this section. Accounting records which are in sufficient detail 

to provide necessary information to determine such 

compliance shall be maintained.  

C. Actions constituting improper recordkeeping by a 

principal broker or supervising broker include:  

1. Failing, as a principal or supervising broker, to retain for 

a period of three years from the date of the closing or 

ratification, if the transaction fails to close, a complete and 

legible copy of each disclosure of a brokerage relationship, 
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and each executed contract, agreement, and closing 

statement related to a real estate transaction, in the broker's 

control or possession, unless prohibited by law execution, 

each brokerage agreement, each disclosure of a brokerage 

relationship to an unrepresented party, each disclosure and 

consent to dual agency or dual representation, and each 

disclosure and consent to designated agency or designated 

representation;  

2. Having received moneys on behalf of others and failed 

to maintain Failing to retain for a period of three years 

from the date of closing or from ratification, if the 

transaction fails to close, a complete and legible copy of 

each executed contract of sale, any executed release from 

contract, any executed lease agreement, any executed 

property management agreement, and each settlement 

statement related to a real estate transaction, in the broker's 

control or possession unless prohibited by law; 

3. Failing to maintain a complete and accurate record of 

such receipts and their disbursements for moneys received 

on behalf of others for a period of three years from the date 

of the closing or termination of the sales transaction or 

termination of a lease or conclusion of the licensee's 

involvement in the lease; and  

3. 4. Failing, within a reasonable time, to account for or to 

remit any moneys coming into a licensee's possession 

which belong to others to maintain any records required by 

this section for three years.  

18VAC135-20-190. Advertising by licensees.  

A. Definitions. The following definitions apply unless a 

different meaning is plainly required by the context:  

"Advertising" means all forms of representation, promotion 

and solicitation disseminated in any manner and by any 

means of communication to consumers for any purpose 

related to licensed real estate activity.  

"Contact information" means telephone number or web 

address. 

"Disclosure" in the context of online electronic media 

advertising means (i) advertising that contains the firm's 

licensed name, the city and state in which the firm's main 

office is located and the jurisdiction in which the firm holds a 

license or (ii) advertising that contains the licensee licensee's 

name, and the name of the firm with which the licensee is 

active, the city and state in which the licensee's office is 

located and the jurisdiction in which the licensee holds a 

license and is one click away from the main page. 

"Disclosure" in the context of other advertising means (a) (i) 

advertising by the firm that contains the firm's licensed name 

and the firm's address or (b) (ii) advertising by an affiliated 

licensee that contains the licensee's name, and the name of the 

firm with which the licensee is active and the firm's address.  

"Institutional advertising" means advertising in which no 

real property is identified.  

"Viewable page" means a page that may or may not scroll 

beyond the borders of the screen and includes the use of 

framed pages.  

B. All advertising must be under the direct supervision of 

the principal broker or supervising broker, in the name of the 

firm and, when applicable, comply with the disclosure 

required by § 54.1-2138.1 of the Code of Virginia. The firm's 

licensed name must be clearly and legibly displayed on all 

advertising. 

C. Online Electronic media advertising.  

1. Any online electronic media advertising undertaken for 

the purpose of any licensed activity is subject to the 

provisions of this chapter.  

2. All online electronic media advertising that can be 

viewed or experienced as a separate unit (i.e., e-mail email 

messages and web pages) must contain disclosure as 

follows:  

a. The web. If a firm or licensee owns a webpage or 

controls its content, the viewable page must include 

disclosure or a link to disclosure.  

b. E-mail, newsgroups, discussion lists, bulletin boards. 

All such formats shall include disclosure at the beginning 

or end of each message. The provisions of this subsection 

do not apply to correspondence in the ordinary course of 

business All other electronic media. Firm's name, 

licensee's name and license number, and contact 

information. The disclosure must be prominently 

displayed on the viewable page.  

c. Instant messages. Disclosure is not necessary in this 

format if the firm or licensee provided the disclosures via 

another format prior to providing, or offering to provide, 

licensed services.  

d. Chat/Internet-based dialogue. Disclosure is required 

prior to providing, or offering to provide, licensable 

services during the chat session, or in text visible on the 

same webpage that contains the chat session if the 

licensee controls the website hosting the chat session.  

e. Voice Over Net (VON). Disclosure is required prior to 

advertising or the disclosure text must be visible on the 

same webpage that contains the VON session.  

f. Banner ads. A link to disclosure is required unless the 

banner ad contains the disclosure.  

3. All online electronic media listings advertised must be 

kept current and consistent as follows: 

a. Online Electronic media listing information must be 

consistent with the property description and actual status 

of the listing. The licensee shall update in a timely 

manner material changes to the listing status authorized 

by the seller or property description when the licensee 

controls the online electronic media site. 

b. The licensee shall make timely written requests for 

updates reflecting material changes to the listing status or 
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property descriptions when a third party online electronic 

media listing service controls the website displaying the 

listing information. 

c. All listing information shall indicate in a readily 

visible manner the date that the listing information shown 

was last updated. 

D. Other advertising. 

1. Signage shall include but not be limited to the firm's 

name and the firm's primary or branch office telephone 

number. 

2. Business cards shall include but not be limited to the 

licensee's name, the firm name, and contact information. 

D. E. The following activities shall be prohibited:  

1. Implying that property listed by a licensee's firm and 

advertised by the firm or licensee is for sale, exchange, rent 

or lease by the owner or by an unlicensed person;  

2. Failing to include a notice in all advertising that the 

owner is a real estate licensee if the licensee owns or has 

any ownership interest in the property advertised and is not 

using the services of a licensed real estate entity;  

3. Failing to include the firm's licensed name on any sign 

displayed outside each place of business;  

4. Failing to obtain the written consent of the seller, 

landlord, optionor or licensor prior to advertising a specific 

identifiable property; and  

5. Failing to identify the type of services offered when 

advertising by general description a property not listed by 

the party making the advertisement.  

18VAC135-20-210. Disclosure of interest.  

If a licensee knows or should have known that he, any 

member of his family, his firm, any member of his firm, or 

any entity in which he has an ownership interest, is acquiring 

or attempting to acquire or is selling or leasing real property 

through purchase, sale, or lease and the licensee is a party to 

the transaction, the licensee must disclose in writing that 

information he is a licensee and that he, any member of his 

family, his firm, any member of his firm, or any entity in 

which he has an ownership interest has or will have an 

ownership interest to the owner, purchaser or lessee in writing 

in the offer to purchase, the application, the offer to lease or 

lease other parties to the transaction. This disclosure shall be 

made to the purchaser, seller or lessee upon having 

substantive discussions about specific real property. 

18VAC135-20-220. Disclosure of brokerage relationships.  

A. Purchase transactions. 

1. Unless disclosure has been previously made by a 

licensee, a licensee shall disclose to an actual or 

prospective buyer or seller who is not the client of the 

licensee and who is not represented by another licensee 

and with whom the licensee has substantive discussions 

about a specific property or properties, the person whom 

the licensee represents in pursuant to a brokerage 

relationship agreement, as that term is defined in § 54.1-

2130 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 3 of this 

subsection, such disclosure shall be made in writing at the 

earliest practical time, but in no event later than the time 

specific real estate assistance is first provided. Any 

disclosure complying with the provisions of § 54.1-2138 A 

of the Code of Virginia shall be deemed in compliance 

with this disclosure requirement. 

3. A licensee acting as a dual or designated agent or as a 

dual or designated representative shall obtain the written 

consent of all clients to the transaction at the earliest 

practical time. Such consent shall be presumed to have 

been given by a client who signs a disclosure complying 

with the provisions of §§ 54.1-2139 and 54.1-2139.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. Such disclosure shall be given to, and 

consent obtained from, (i) the buyer not later than the time 

an offer to purchase is presented to the licensee who will 

present the offer to the listing agent or seller, and (ii) the 

seller not later than the time the offer to purchase is 

presented to the seller. 

4. Any disclosure required by this subsection may be given 

in combination with other disclosures or information, but, 

if so, the disclosure must be conspicuous, printed in bold 

lettering, all capitals, underlined, or within a separate box 

or as otherwise provided by § 54.1-2138 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

B. Lease transactions. 

1. Unless disclosure has been previously made by a 

licensee, a licensee shall disclose to an actual or 

prospective landlord or tenant who is not the client of the 

licensee and who is not represented by another licensee, 

that the licensee has a brokerage relationship with another 

party or parties to the transaction. Such disclosure shall be 

in writing and included in the application for lease or the 

lease itself, whichever occurs first. If the terms of the lease 

do not provide for such disclosure, the disclosure shall be 

made in writing not later than the signing of the lease. 

2. This disclosure requirement shall not apply to lessors or 

lessees in single or multi-family residential units for lease 

terms of less than two months. 

18VAC135-20-225. Voluntary compliance. 

A. Procedures for self audit or third-party audit; broker 

immunity. 

1. A principal broker or supervising broker may conduct, 

or may have another person conduct, an audit of the 

practices, policies, and procedures of his firm or sole 

proprietorship in accordance with § 54.1-2111.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. A principal broker or supervising broker 

shall conduct an audit at least once during each license 

term in accordance with § 54.1-2106.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. The methods and findings of the audit shall be 

documented as described in this subsection. 
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2. A principal broker or supervising broker shall notify the 

board in writing within 30 days following the conclusion 

of a self audit, or within 30 days from the receipt of the 

final report of a third-party audit, of any matter he believes 

to constitute noncompliance with the provisions of Real 

Estate Board regulations or law. The principal broker or 

supervising broker shall also submit (i) a statement that 

such noncompliance has been remediated or (ii) a plan to 

correct such noncompliance within 90 days. Failure to 

comply with these requirements may result in loss of 

immunity from regulatory enforcement action. 

3. A principal broker or supervising broker shall sign and 

date any report made pursuant to subdivision 2 of this 

subsection. Such report, properly submitted, shall provide 

immunity from enforcement against the principal broker or 

supervising broker by the board for the matters reported 

therein. 

4. Immunity from enforcement action provided by this 

section shall not apply if the noncompliance with 

provisions of Real Estate Board regulations or law by the 

principal broker or supervising broker was intentional or 

was the result of gross negligence by the principal broker 

or supervising broker. 

5. Immunity from enforcement acton provided by this 

section shall apply only to the principal broker and 

supervising broker who conduct an audit and submit a 

voluntary compliance plan in accordance with this section 

and shall not extend to any other broker or salesperson who 

may not be in compliance with Real Estate Board 

regulations or law. 

6. Failure to complete the voluntary compliance program 

within 90 days from the date of plan submission shall 

result in the loss of immunity from regulatory enforcement 

action. Repeated instances of a violation found as a result 

of an audit that was subject to the voluntary compliance 

program may be deemed by the board to constitute a 

failure to complete the prior voluntary compliance 

program. 

B. Information needed for audit. In conducting an audit of 

practices, policies, and procedures of a broker, the principal 

broker or supervising broker or a third party shall examine 

and document all matters regarding the compliance by the 

firm or sole proprietorship with law and regulation regarding: 

1. Proper handling of escrow deposits and maintenance of 

a complete record of financial transactions; 

2. Compliance with federal and state fair housing laws and 

regulations if the firm or sole proprietorship engages in 

residential brokerage, residential leasing, or residential 

property management; 

3. Advertising in all forms and media; 

4. Negotiation and drafting of contracts, leases, and 

brokerage agreements;  

5. Use of unlicensed individuals;  

6. Agency relationships;  

7. Distribution of information on new or changed statutory 

or regulatory requirements; 

8. Proper documentation of required disclosures; and 

9. Such other matters as necessary to assure the 

competence of licensees to comply with this chapter and 

Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Upon request by any investigator, or by another agent of the 

board, a broker shall cooperate in the provision of records and 

documents pursuant to 18VAC135-20-240 within 10 days of 

receipt of the request, and for other requests by the board and 

its agents pursuant to 18VAC135-20-250, within 21 days of 

receipt. 

18VAC135-20-240. Provision of records to the board.  

Unless otherwise specified by the board, or as set forth in 

§ 54.1-2108 of the Code of Virginia, a licensee of the Real 

Estate Board shall produce to the board or any of its agents 

within 10 days of the request evidence of signature cards or 

bank records, any document, book, or record concerning any 

real estate transaction in which the licensee was involved, or 

for which the licensee is required to maintain records for 

inspection and copying by the board or its agents. The board 

may extend such time frame upon a showing of extenuating 

circumstances prohibiting delivery within such 10-day period.  

18VAC135-20-260. Unworthiness and incompetence 

Prohibited acts.  

Actions constituting unworthy and incompetent conduct 

include The following are prohibited acts:  

1. Obtaining a license by false or fraudulent representation 

Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete 

information to the board in obtaining, renewing, 

reinstating, or maintaining a license;  

2. Holding more than one license as a real estate broker or 

salesperson in Virginia except as provided in this chapter;  

3. As a currently licensed real estate salesperson, sitting for 

the licensing examination for a salesperson's license;  

4. As a currently licensed real estate broker, sitting for a 

real estate licensing examination;  

5. Signing an experience verification form without direct 

supervision or actual knowledge of the applicant's 

activities as defined in §§ 54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the 

Code of Virginia; 

6. Having been convicted or found guilty regardless of the 

manner of adjudication in any jurisdiction of the United 

States of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, sexual 

offense, drug distribution or physical injury, or any felony, 

there being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for 

appeal having elapsed. Review of convictions shall be 

subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. The record 
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of a conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to 

be admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such conviction or guilt;  

6. 7. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days 

of pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 

found guilty regardless of adjudication of any convictions 

as stated in subdivision 5 6 of this section;  

7. 8. Having had a license as a real estate broker or real 

estate salesperson that was suspended, revoked, or 

surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action or that 

has been the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction;  

8. 9. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days 

of a disciplinary action as stated in subdivision 7 8 of this 

section;  

9. 10. Having been found in a court or an administrative 

body of competent jurisdiction to have violated the 

Virginia Fair Housing Act, the Fair Housing Laws of any 

jurisdiction of the United States, including without 

limitation Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 

(82 Stat. 73), or the Civil Rights Act of 1866 (14 Stat. 27), 

there being no appeal therefrom or the time for appeal 

having elapsed;  

10. Failing 11. Actions constituting failing to act as a real 

estate broker or salesperson in such a manner as to 

safeguard the interests of the public, including but not 

limited to the following: 

a. A broker failing to ensure proper supervision and 

accountability over the firm's day-to-day financial 

dealings, escrow account or accounts, and daily 

operations; 

b. A broker failing to ensure the transaction was properly 

released and the money disbursed according to the 

regulations; 

c. A broker failing to ensure salespersons working at the 

firm or sole proprietorship hold active licenses while 

practicing real estate; 

d. A broker failing to provide accurate and timely reports 

to the board about a licensee's compliance with the 

board's laws and regulations; 

e. A broker failing to have signatory authority on all 

accounts; 

f. A broker failing to account for or remit any moneys 

coming into a licensee's possession that belong to 

another; 

g. A licensee failing to submit to the broker in a timely 

manner, all earnest money deposits, contracts, listing 

agreements, deeds of lease, or any other documents for 

which the broker has oversight duites; 

h. A salesperson negotiating leases, collecting security 

deposits, and receiving management fees for managing 

properties through an unlicensed firm without a principal 

broker; 

i. A salesperson operating an unlicensed firm acting as a 

principal broker;  

j. A licensee practicing real estate with an inactive 

license; 

k. A licensee providing the broker with an earnest money 

deposit check from an account with insufficient funds 

causing an escrow shortage;  

l. A licensee providing lockbox codes to an unlicensed 

person allowing unsupervised access to a home; 

m. A licensee failing to inform the broker of a 

transaction; and  

n. A licensee submitting altered copies of a contract or 

contracts to the broker; and 

11. Engaging 12. Actions constituting engaging in 

improper, fraudulent, or dishonest conduct, including but 

not limited to the following: 

a. A licensee attempting to divert commission from the 

firm or sole proprietorship and direct payment to a 

licensee or an unlicensed individual who is not a party to 

the transaction; 

b. A licensee fabricating or altering any document with 

the intent to mislead; 

c. A licensee failing to obtain a client's written or legal 

permission or authorization to sign documents; 

d. A licensee making an earnest money deposit payable 

to himself or cashing the check without written 

authorization; 

e. A licensee misrepresenting ownership of a property; 

f. A licensee submitting copies of the same earnest 

money deposit check for inclusion with multiple offers; 

g. A licensee entering into agreements to be compensated 

for real estate services while his license is inactive; 

h. A licensee representing in offers he received the 

earnest money deposit when he knows the check is 

worthless; and 

i. A licensee misrepresenting who is holding the earnest 

money deposit. 

18VAC135-20-270. Conflict of interest.  

Actions constituting a conflict of interest include:  

1. Being active with or receiving compensation from a real 

estate broker other than the licensee's principal broker, 

without the written consent of the principal broker;  

2. Acting for more than one client in a transaction 

governed by the provisions of §§ 54.1-2139, 54.1-2139.01, 

and 54.1-2139.1 of the Code of Virginia without first 

obtaining the written consent of all clients; and  

3. Acting Performing regulated activities as a standard 

agent, limited service agent, or independent contractor for 
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any client outside the licensee's brokerage firm(s) or sole 

proprietorship(s) without the written consent of the 

principal broker.  

18VAC135-20-280. Improper brokerage commission. 

Actions resulting in an improper brokerage commission 

include:  

1. Offering to pay or paying a commission transaction-

based fee, fees, or other valuable consideration to any 

person for acts or services performed in violation of 

Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, or this chapter; provided, however, that 

referral fees and shared commissions may be paid to any 

real estate entity licensed in this or another jurisdiction, or 

to any referral entity in the United States, the members of 

which are brokers licensed in this or another jurisdiction 

and which only disburses commissions or referral fees to 

its licensed member brokers not licensed in this or any 

jurisdiction for services that require a real estate license;  

2. Accepting a commission, fee, or other valuable 

consideration, as a real estate salesperson or associate 

broker, for any real estate services from any person or 

entity except the licensee's principal broker at the time of 

the transaction, for the performance of any of the acts 

specified in Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia or the regulations of the board or 

related to any real estate transaction, without the consent of 

that broker. Unless he has notified the broker in writing of 

the activity or activites to be pursued and obtained the prior 

written consent of the principal broker, no salesperson or 

associate broker shall (i) use any information about the 

property, the transaction or the parties to the transaction, 

gained as a result of the performance of acts specified in 

Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia or (ii) act as an employee of a company 

providing real estate settlement services as defined in the 

Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (12 USC § 2601 et 

seq.) or pursuant to a license issued by the Commonwealth 

of Virginia to provide real estate settlement services to 

clients or customers of the firm; 

3. Receiving a fee or portion thereof including a referral 

fee or a commission or other valuable consideration for 

services required by the terms of the real estate contract 

when such costs are to be paid by either one or more 

principals to the transaction unless such fact is revealed in 

writing to the principal(s) prior to the time of ordering or 

contracting for the services financial benefit from the use 

of any information about the property, the transaction, or 

the parties to the transaction, when the information is 

gained as a result of the performance of acts specified in 

Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia without the prior written consent of the 

licensee's principal broker; 

4. Offering or paying any money or other valuable 

consideration for services required by the terms of the real 

estate contract to any party other than the principals to a 

transaction which results in a fee being paid to the licensee; 

without such fact being revealed in writing to the 

principal(s) prior to the time of ordering or contracting for 

the services Receiving financial benefit from any person 

other than the licensee's principal broker at the time of the 

transaction, for the performance of any of the acts specified 

in Chapter 21 (§ 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia without the prior written consent of the 

licensee's principal broker; 

5. Receiving financial benefit or other valuable 

consideration for any work or service related to a 

transaction without the prior written acknowledgment of 

the person paying for such work or service; and 

6. Making a listing contract or lease which provides for a 

"net" return to the seller/lessor, leaving the licensee free to 

sell or lease the property at any price he can obtain in 

excess of the "net" price named by the seller/lessor; and 

6. Charging money or other valuable consideration to or 

accepting or receiving money or other valuable 

consideration from any person or entity other than the 

licensee's client for expenditures made on behalf of that 

client without the written consent of the client. 

18VAC135-20-290. Improper dealing.  

Actions constituting improper dealing include:  

1. Entering a brokerage relationship that (i) does not 

specify a definite termination date; (ii) does not provide a 

mechanism for determining the termination date; or (iii) is 

not terminable by the client;  

2. 1. Offering real property for sale or for lease without the 

knowledge and consent of the owner or the owner's 

authorized representative, or on any terms other than those 

authorized by the owner or the owner's authorized 

representative;  

3. 2. Placing a sign on any property without the consent of 

the owner of the property or the owner's authorized 

representative; and  

4. 3. Causing any advertisement for sale, rent, or lease to 

appear in any newspaper, periodical, or sign format or 

medium without including in the advertisement the name 

of the firm or sole proprietorship.  

18VAC135-20-300. Misrepresentation/omission.  

Actions constituting misrepresentation or omission, or both, 

include:  

1. Using "bait and switch" tactics by advertising or offering 

real property for sale or rent with the intent not to sell or 

rent at the price or terms advertised, unless the 

advertisement or offer clearly states that the property 

advertised is limited in specific quantity and the licensee 

did in fact have at least that quantity for sale or rent;  

2. Failure by a licensee representing a seller or landlord as 

a standard agent to disclose in a timely manner to a 
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prospective purchaser or tenant all material adverse facts 

pertaining to the physical condition of the property which 

are actually known by the licensee;  

3. Failing as a licensee to tender promptly to the buyer and 

seller every written offer, every written counteroffer, and 

every written rejection to purchase, option or lease 

obtained on the property involved;  

4. Failure by a licensee acting as a standard an agent to 

disclose in a timely manner to the licensee's client all 

material facts related to the property or concerning the 

transaction when the failure to so disclose would constitute 

failure by the licensee to exercise ordinary care as defined 

in the brokerage agreement;  

5. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 4 of this 

section, a licensee acting as a dual representative shall not 

disclose to one client represented in the dual representation 

confidential information relating to the transaction 

obtained during the representation of another client in the 

same dual representation unless otherwise provided by 

law;  

6. Failing to include the complete terms and conditions of 

the real estate transaction, including but not limited to any 

lease, property management agreement or offer to 

purchase;  

7. Failing to include in any application, lease, or offer to 

purchase identification of all those holding any deposits;  

8. Knowingly making any false statement or report, or 

willfully misstating the value of any land, property, or 

security for the purpose of influencing in any way the 

action of any lender upon:  

a. Applications, advance discounts, purchase agreements, 

repurchase agreements, commitments or loans;  

b. Changes in terms or extensions of time for any of the 

items listed in this subdivision 8 whether by renewal, 

deferment of action, or other means without the prior 

written consent of the principals to the transaction;  

c. Acceptance, release, or substitution of security for any 

of the items listed in subdivision 8 a of this section 

without the prior written consent of the principals to the 

transaction;  

9. Knowingly making any material misrepresentation or 

making a material misrepresentation; and  

10. Making a false promise through agents, salespersons, 

advertising, or other means.  

18VAC135-20-310. Delivery of instruments.  

Actions constituting improper delivery of instruments 

include:  

1. Failing to make prompt delivery to each principal to a 

transaction, complete and legible copies of any written 

disclosures required by §§ 54.1-2138, and 54.1-2139, 54.1-

2139.01, and 54.1-2139.1 of the Code of Virginia, listings, 

lease, offers to purchase, counteroffers, addenda and 

ratified agreements, and other documentation required by 

the agreement;  

2. Failing to provide in a timely manner to all principals to 

the transaction written notice of any material changes to 

the transaction;  

3. Failing to deliver to the seller and buyer, at the time a 

real estate transaction is completed, a complete and 

accurate statement of receipts and disbursements of 

moneys received by the licensee, duly signed and certified 

by the principal or supervising broker or his authorized 

agent; provided, however, if the transaction is closed by a 

settlement agent other than the licensee or his broker, and 

if the disbursement of moneys received by the licensee is 

disclosed on the applicable settlement statement, the 

licensee shall not be required to provide the separate 

statement of receipts and disbursements; and  

4. Refusing or failing without just cause to surrender to the 

rightful owner, upon demand, any document or instrument 

which the licensee possesses.  

18VAC135-20-360. Proprietary school standards, 

instructor qualifications and course requirements. 

A. Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for a proprietary 

school certificate shall meet the standards provided in 

subsection A of § 54.1-2105 54.1-2105.02 of the Code of 

Virginia by submitting a CPA-certified letter attesting to the 

applicant's net worth or a balance sheet or financial statement 

certified to be accurate by the applicant. Such applicant shall 

show a minimum net worth of $2,000. 

B. Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for approval 

certification as an instructor for prelicense education shall 

have one must meet two of the following qualifications 

outlined in subdivisions 1 through 6 of this subsection: 

1. Baccalaureate A baccalaureate degree, a an active 

Virginia real estate broker's license, and two consecutive 

years of discipline-free active real estate experience 

immediately prior to application; 

2. Five An active Virginia real estate broker's license and 

five consecutive years of discipline-free active real estate 

experience acquired in the real estate field immediately 

prior to application and an active Virginia broker's license; 

or 

3. Expertise in a specific field of real estate with at least 

three years of active experience in that field. Such 

applicants will teach only in the area of their expertise and 

will be required to furnish proof of their expertise 

including, but not limited to, educational transcripts, 

professional certificates and letters of reference which will 

verify the applicant's expertise. A professional designation 

such as, but not limited to, Accredited Land Consultant 

(ALC), Certified Residential Specialist (CRS), Certified 

Commercial Investment Member (CCIM), Certified 

Property Manager (CPM), Certified Residential Broker 

(CRB), Counselor Real Estate (CRE), Member Appraisal 
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Institute (MAI), Society Industrial Office Realtors (SIOR), 

Senior Residential Appraiser (SRA), or Senior Real Estate 

Property Appraiser (SRPA);  

4. A fully designated membership of the Real Estate 

Educators Association holding the Designated Real Estate 

Instructor (DREI) designation; 

5. Possession of a valid teaching credential or certificate 

issued by the Commonwealth of Virginia, or any other 

state with qualifications that are equal to or exceed 

Virginia teacher qualifications, or at least five years of 

teaching experience in an accredited public, private, or 

parochial school, or an accredited junior college, college, 

or university; and  

6. An attorney member of the Virginia State Bar who is 

engaged in the field of real estate-related law. 

7. The board shall also consider evaluations from previous 

education courses the applicant has instructed and 

recommendations of course providers, coordinators, 

administrators, and institutions who have employed the 

applicant. 

8. The board may waive the requirements of subdivisions 1 

through 6 of this subsection upon review of proof of 

experience in related fields of real estate. The board has 

discretion to deny an applicant who has been the subject of 

a disciplinary action. 

C. Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for approval as 

an instructor for continuing education and postlicense post 

license education shall have expertise in a specific field of 

real estate with at least three years of active experience and 

will teach only in the area of their expertise. Such applicants 

will be required to furnish proof of their expertise, possibly 

including, but not limited to, educational transcripts, 

professional certificates, and letters of reference (a maximum 

of three), a resume, or any other type of documentation that 

will verify the applicant's expertise. 

D. Prelicense courses must be acceptable to the board, be 

taught by a certified prelicense instructor, and are required to 

have a monitored, final written examination. Distance 

learning prelicense courses may be considered as meeting the 

board's standard of quality if they have Association of Real 

Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) distance education 

certification, or a substantially equivalent distance education 

certification, and online distance learning courses must 

include a timer requiring licensees to be actively engaged 

online learning course content for at least 50 minutes to 

receive one hour of credit. Those schools which propose to 

offer prelicensing courses (Principles and Practices of Real 

Estate, Real Estate Brokerage, Real Estate Finance, Real 

Estate Law or Real Estate Appraisal, etc.) must submit a 

request, in writing, to the board prior to offering the course(s) 

and supply the following information: 

1. Course content. All Principles and Practices of Real 

Estate courses must include the 25 topic areas specified in 

18VAC135-20-400. All requests to offer broker courses 

must include a course syllabus acceptable to the board; 

2. Name of the course's text and any research materials 

used for study assignments; 

3. Description of any research assignments; 

4. Copies of test or quizzes; 

5. Information explaining how the "Principles" course will 

require 60 hours of study, or how each broker related 

course will require 45 hours of study, in compliance with 

§ 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia; and 

6. Information about recordkeeping for the type of course 

delivery. 

E. Providers of continuing education and post license 

education courses shall submit all subjects to the board for 

approval prior to initially offering the course. Correspondence 

and other distance learning courses offered by an approved 

provider must include appropriate testing procedures to verify 

completion of the course, including requiring licensees who 

complete correspondence or other distance learning courses to 

file a notarized affidavit certifying compliance with the 

course requirements with the education provider or with the 

licensee's own records. Distance learning continuing 

education and post license education courses may be 

considered as meeting the board's standard of quality if they 

have Association of Real Estate License Law Officials 

(ARELLO) distance education certification, or a substantially 

equivalent distance education certification, and online 

distance learning courses must include a timer requiring 

licensees to be actively engaged online learning course 

content for at least 50 minutes to receive one hour of credit. 

The board shall approve courses and the number of hours 

approved for each course based on the relevance of the 

subject to the performance of the duties set forth in §§ 54.1-

2100 and 54.1-2101 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. Approval of prelicense, continuing education and 

postlicense post license education courses shall expire on 

December 31 five three years from the year in which the 

approval was issued, as indicated on the approval document. 

G. All schools must establish and maintain a record for each 

student. The record shall include: the student's name and 

address, the course name and clock hours attended, the course 

syllabus or outline, the name or names of the instructor, the 

date of successful completion, and the board's course code. 

Records shall be available for inspection during normal 

business hours by authorized representatives of the board. 

Schools must maintain all student and class records for a 

minimum of five years. 

H. All schools must provide each student with a certificate 

of course completion or other documentation that the student 

may use as proof of course completion. Such documentation 

shall contain the student's name, school name, course name, 

course approval number, course completion date, hours of 
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credit completed., and a statement that the course is 

"Approved by the Real Estate Board." 

I. All providers of continuing education or post license 

education courses shall electronically transmit course 

completion data to the board in an approved format within 

five business days of the completion of each individual 

course. The transmittal will include each student's name, 

license number or social security number; the date of 

successful completion of the course; the school's code; and 

the board's code. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3250; Filed June 7, 2013, 1:24 p.m.  

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-10, 

18VAC140-20-40, 18VAC140-20-45, 18VAC140-20-51, 

18VAC140-20-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 31, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Catherine Chappell, Executive Director, 

Board of Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX 

(804) 527-4435, or email 

catherine.chappell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments to the regulation (i) require that the 

national licensing examination be passed within five years 

prior to application or, if the examination was passed 

before that time period, that the applicant demonstrate 

evidence of social work practice at the appropriate level 

(social worker or clinical social worker) within an exempt 

setting prior to application; (ii) eliminate certain 

application requirements for licensure by endorsement 

applicants and, at the same time, clarify the meaning of 

"active practice" to demonstrate competency in the field of 

social work and provide an alternative to the experience 

requirement; and (iii) address the issue of reactivation and 

reinstatement for applicants who have either been not 

practicing social work in recent years or practicing 

elsewhere in an exempt setting by requiring practice under 

supervision for at least 360 hours in the 12 months 

preceding licensure in Virginia. In response to comment 

during the public comment period for the proposed 

regulation, in 18VAC140-20-110, the board changed the 

term "resident" to "supervisee."  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC140-20-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-3700 of 

the Code of Virginia: 

Board 

Casework 

Casework management and supportive services 

Clinical social worker 

Practice of social work 

Social worker 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Accredited school of social work" means a school of social 

work accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. 

"Active practice" means post-licensure practice at the level 

of licensure for which an applicant is seeking licensure in 

Virginia and shall include at least 360 hours of practice in a 

12-month period.  

"Clinical course of study" means graduate course work 

which includes specialized advanced courses in human 

behavior and social environment, social policy, research, 

clinical practice with individuals, families, groups and a 

clinical practicum which focuses on diagnostic, prevention 

and treatment services. 

"Clinical social work services" include the application of 

social work principles and methods in performing 

assessments and diagnoses based on a recognized manual of 

mental and emotional disorders or recognized system of 

problem definition, preventive and early intervention services 

and treatment services, including but not limited to 

psychotherapy and counseling for mental disorders, substance 

abuse, marriage and family dysfunction, and problems caused 

by social and psychological stress or health impairment. 

"Exempt practice" is that which meets the conditions of 

exemption from the requirements of licensure as defined in 

§ 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Face-to-face supervision" means the physical presence of 

the individuals involved in the supervisory relationship 

during either individual or group supervision. 

"Nonexempt practice" is that which does not meet the 

conditions of exemption from the requirements of licensure as 

defined in § 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Supervisee" means an individual who has submitted a 

supervisory contract and has received board approval to 

provide clinical services in social work under supervision. 

"Supervision" means a professional relationship between a 

supervisor and supervisee in which the supervisor directs, 

monitors and evaluates the supervisee's social work practice 
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while promoting development of the supervisee's knowledge, 

skills and abilities to provide social work services in an 

ethical and competent manner. 

Part II  

Requirements for Licensure  

18VAC140-20-40. Requirements for licensure by 

examination as a licensed clinical social worker. 

Every applicant for examination for licensure as a licensed 

clinical social worker shall: 

1. Meet the education requirements prescribed in 

18VAC140-20-49 and experience requirements prescribed 

in 18VAC140-20-50. 

2. Submit in one package to the board office: 

a. A completed notarized application; 

b. Documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the 

successful completion of the supervised experience 

requirements of 18VAC140-20-50 along with 

documentation of the supervisor's out-of-state license 

where applicable. Applicants whose former supervisor is 

deceased, or whose whereabouts is unknown, shall 

submit to the board a notarized affidavit from the present 

chief executive officer of the agency, corporation or 

partnership in which the applicant was supervised. The 

affidavit shall specify dates of employment, job 

responsibilities, supervisor's name and last known 

address, and the total number of hours spent by the 

applicant with the supervisor in face-to-face supervision; 

c. The application fee prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30;  

d. Official transcript or transcripts in the original sealed 

envelope submitted from the appropriate institutions of 

higher education directly to the applicant; and 

e. Documentation of applicant's out-of-state licensure 

where applicable. 

3. [ An applicant for licensure by examination shall 

provide Provide ] evidence of passage of the examination 

prescribed in 18VAC140-20-70.  If the examination was 

not passed within five years preceding application for 

licensure, the applicant may qualify by documentation of 

providing clinical social work services in an exempt setting 

for at least 360 hours per year for two of the past five 

years. 

18VAC140-20-45. Requirements for licensure by 

endorsement.  

Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall submit in 

one package:  

1. A completed application and the application fee 

prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30.  

2. Documentation of social work licensure in good 

standing obtained by standards substantially equivalent to 

those outlined in 18VAC140-20-49 and 18VAC140-20-50 

for a licensed clinical social worker or 18VAC140-20-60 

for a licensed social worker, required for licensure in 

another jurisdiction as verified by the out-of-state licensing 

agency on a board-approved form. Licensure in the other 

jurisdiction shall be of a comparable type as the licensure 

that the applicant is seeking in Virginia. 

3. Verification of a passing score as established by the 

board on a board-approved national exam at the level for 

which the applicant is seeking licensure in Virginia.  

4. Official transcript or transcripts in the school's original 

sealed envelope.  

5. 4. Verification of active practice in another jurisdiction 

for 36 out of the past 60 months or evidence of supervised 

experience requirements substantially equivalent to those 

outlined in 18VAC140-20-50 and 18VAC140-20-60.  

6. 5. Certification that the applicant is not the respondent in 

any pending or unresolved board action in another 

jurisdiction or in a malpractice claim.  

18VAC140-20-51. Requirements for licensure by 

examination as a licensed social worker. 

A. In order to be approved to sit for the board-approved 

examination for a licensed social worker, an applicant shall:  

1. Meet the education requirements prescribed in 

18VAC140-20-60 A. 

2. Submit in one package to the board office: 

a. A completed notarized application; 

b. The application fee prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30; 

and 

c. Official transcript or transcripts in the original sealed 

envelope submitted from the appropriate institutions of 

higher education directly to the applicant. 

B. In order to be licensed by examination as a licensed 

social worker, an applicant shall: 

1. Meet the education and experience requirements 

prescribed in 18VAC140-20-60; and 

2. Submit, in addition to the application requirements of 

subsection A, the following: 

a. Documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the 

successful completion of the supervised experience 

requirements of 18VAC140-20-60 along with 

documentation of the supervisor's out-of-state license 

where applicable. An applicant whose former supervisor 

is deceased, or whose whereabouts is unknown, shall 

submit to the board a notarized affidavit from the present 

chief executive officer of the agency, corporation or 

partnership in which the applicant was supervised. The 

affidavit shall specify dates of employment, job 

responsibilities, supervisor's name and last known 

address, and the total number of hours spent by the 

applicant with the supervisor in face-to-face supervision; 

b. Verification of a passing score on the board-approved 

national examination; and 
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c. Documentation of applicant's out-of-state licensure 

where applicable. 

3. [ An applicant for licensure by examination shall 

provide Provide ] evidence of passage of the examination 

prescribed in 18VAC140-20-70. If the examination was 

not passed within five years preceding application for 

licensure, the applicant may qualify by documentation of 

providing social work services in an exempt setting for at 

least 360 hours per year for two of the past five years. 

18VAC140-20-110. Late renewal; reinstatement; 

reactivation.  

A. A social worker or clinical social worker whose license 

has expired may renew that license within four years after its 

expiration date by:  

1. Providing evidence of having met all applicable 

continuing education requirements.  

2. Paying the penalty for late renewal and the biennial 

license fee for each biennium as prescribed in 18VAC140-

20-30.  

B. A social worker or clinical social worker who fails to 

renew the license for four years or more and who wishes to 

resume practice shall apply for reinstatement, pay the 

reinstatement fee and provide documentation of having 

completed all applicable continued competency hours equal 

to the number of years the license has lapsed, not to exceed 

four years. An applicant for reinstatement shall also provide 

evidence of competency to practice by documenting: 

1. Active practice in another U.S. jurisdiction for at least 

three of the past five years immediately preceding 

application; 

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least three of 

the past five years immediately preceding application; or 

3. Practice as a [ resident supervisee ] under supervision 

for at least 360 hours in the 12 months immediately 

preceding licensure in Virginia. 

C. A social worker wishing to reactivate an inactive license 

shall submit the renewal fee for active licensure minus any 

fee already paid for inactive licensure renewal, and document 

completion of continued competency hours equal to the 

number of years the license has been inactive, not to exceed 

four years. An applicant for reactivation shall also provide 

evidence of competency to practice by documenting: 

1. Active practice in another U.S. jurisdiction for at least 

three of the past five years immediately preceding 

application; 

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least three of 

the past five years immediately preceding application; or 

3. Practice as a [ resident supervisee ] under supervision 

for at least 360 hours in the 12 months immediately 

preceding licensure in Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2415; Filed June 5, 2013, 4:25 p.m.  

BOARD FOR PROFESSIONAL SOIL SCIENTISTS, 
WETLAND PROFESSIONALS, AND GEOLOGISTS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC145-20. Professional Soil 

Scientists Regulations (amending 18VAC145-20-10, 

18VAC145-20-60, 18VAC145-20-90, 18VAC145-20-91, 

18VAC145-20-100, 18VAC145-20-120, 18VAC145-20-130, 

18VAC145-20-140, 18VAC145-20-151, 18VAC145-20-160, 

18VAC145-20-170; adding 18VAC145-20-145; repealing 

18VAC145-20-70, 18VAC145-20-111).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2200 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 7, 2013 - 10 a.m. - Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Board Room 2, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: August 30, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Board for Professional Soil Scientists, Wetland Professionals, 

and Geologists, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-6206, 

or email bpssandwp@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Chapters 777 and 859 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly 

require that the board's regulatory program for soil scientists 

change from certification to licensure. Section 54.1-201 of the 

Code of Virginia states that the board has the power and duty 

"To promulgate regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) necessary to assure continued competency, to 

prevent deceptive or misleading practices by practitioners and 

to effectively administer the regulatory system administered 

by the regulatory board." Chapter 22 (§ 54.1-2200 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia provides for requirements 

for professional soil scientists, wetland professionals, and 

geologists. 

It is mandatory for an agency to comply with the relevant 

changes to Virginia statutes. 

Purpose: The regulation amendments are required for the 

board to comply with the mandates of Chapters 777 and 859 

of the 2011 Acts of Assembly requiring the board's regulatory 

program for soil scientists change from certification to 

licensure effective July 1, 2013. These minimum licensing 

standards establish a baseline performance that must be met 

by all licensed professionals, offering the public increased 

protection against incompetent practice. 

Substance: The proposed amendments contain changes to the 

regulations to facilitate the transition of the program from 

certification to licensure, including (i) the board's adoption of 

the Council of Soil Science Examiners (CSSE)-prepared 

exams, (ii) requirements for continuing education for license 

renewal and reinstatement, and (iii) modifications to the 
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regulation language to make it easier to read and understand 

and to eliminate of language already established in statute. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that individuals 

practicing soil science work will now be required to adhere to 

established minimum standards in order to obtain a license to 

practice. The primary disadvantage to individuals is the new 

requirement for licensure. Individuals presently practice soil 

science work without being required to be certified because 

certification is voluntary. However, licensure is mandatory; 

individuals will be required to earn their soil scientist license 

in order to legally continue to practice soil science work. 

Also, the adoption of the CSSE-prepared national exam as a 

result of the program transition to licensure could facilitate 

the ability of citizens of the Commonwealth to more easily 

obtain licensure in other states.  

The primary advantage to the agency is compliance with 

Chapters 777 and 859 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly. The 

primary advantage to the Commonwealth is a soil science 

regulatory program that may invite licensed soil scientists 

from other states to do business in Virginia due to potential 

reciprocal licensure agreements. No primary disadvantage to 

the agency or Commonwealth has been identified. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapters 777 and 859 of the 2011 Acts of the 

General Assembly, the Board for Professional Soil Scientists, 

Wetland Professionals, and Geologists proposes 1) to change 

the current certification program to a licensure program, 2) to 

add continuing education requirements, and 3) to replace the 

state licensure examination with the national licensure 

examination. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 

compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs. A 

detailed analysis of the benefits and costs can be found in the 

next section. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapters 777 and 859 of the 

2011 Acts of the General Assembly change the current soil 

scientist program from certification to licensure. Pursuant to 

the statutory mandate, the Board for Professional Soil 

Scientists, Wetland Professionals, and Geologists (the Board) 

will start issuing licenses on July 1, 2013. Individuals with 

certification as of July 1, 2013 will be eligible for 

grandfathering until July 1, 2015. According to the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

(DPOR), there are 133 certified soil scientists in Virginia and 

the membership in the Virginia Association of Professional 

Soil Scientists is estimated to be about 200. 

The main economic effect of these proposed regulations stem 

from the fact that a certification program is voluntary while a 

licensure program is mandatory. Under a certification 

program, a soil scientist does not have to have certification to 

practice, but may choose to obtain certification to signal that 

he or she is competent. Under a licensure program, on the 

other hand, a soil scientist is prohibited from practice unless 

he or she holds a valid license. In short, the proposed 

licensure program represents a much stronger form of 

regulation than the current certification program. 

It appears that the main goal of switching to a stronger form 

of regulation is to offer the public increased protection against 

risks that may be posed by incompetent practices. For 

example, work of a soil scientist may put the quality of 

groundwater and surface water at risk, or may threaten the 

integrity of structures and viability of agricultural resources. 

In other words, the licensure is hoped to help maintain a 

certain service quality so that the risks are minimized. 

However, the proposed switch from certification to licensure 

makes it also possible to restrict entry of new soil scientists 

into the profession. Any type of barriers to entry into an 

occupation would generally be expected to promote 

monopolistic behavior which usually leads to reduced 

competition, higher prices, reduced production, and 

consequently, reduced consumer choice. 

Empirical literature on the economic effects of occupational 

licensure versus certification is very limited. And, limited 

available research does not seem to support the notion that 

stricter licensure improves quality in the long run. A fairly 

recent comprehensive study
1
 offers some insights into the 

likely economic effects by comparing data from Wisconsin, 

which licensed certain healthcare occupations, such as 

physical therapists, respiratory care providers, and physician 

assistants and data from Minnesota, which certified the same 

occupations. 

The study finds some support that licensing has positive 

impacts immediately following its implementation as the 

occupation initially focuses on quality through the 

standardization of the quality of the service, but in the long 

term, the focus may have shifted toward restriction of supply 

of services through entry tests and other legal barriers that can 

limit the number of practitioners who enter the occupation. 

This research finds no meaningful difference, in the long 

term, in consumer complaints between Wisconsin and 

Minnesota, but finds evidence from other data sources that 

licensing drives up prices and earnings in the regulated 

profession. Thus, whether the focus in the long term will be 

on quality or restriction of supply would determine actual 

economic effects of the proposed stronger form of regulation 

for the soil scientists. 

Finally, the Board proposes to switch from a state initial 

licensure examination to a national examination. According 

to DPOR, access to the national exam would necessitate a 

$2,000 per year membership to the Soil Science Society of 

America. DPOR estimates that the cost of updating current 

state exam is about the same, thus no additional costs are 

expected due to this change. However, the current state 

examination fee is $75 per part or $150 total while the 

national exam fee is $150 per part or $300 for total. 
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Therefore, applicants for licensure will experience an increase 

in compliance costs. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 

will require soil scientists in Virginia to obtain a license. 

According to DPOR, currently there are 133 certified soil 

scientists in Virginia and the membership in Virginia 

Association of Professional Soil Scientists is estimated to be 

about 200. However, the number of soil scientists, who are 

not certified by the Board, or not a member of the association, 

but who may be currently practicing in Virginia, is not 

known. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulation 

applies throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulations 

have the potential to restrict entry into soil scientist 

profession in Virginia which would have a negative effect on 

employment. In addition, the proposed continuing education 

requirement and switch to a national exam will add to the 

compliance costs which may discourage some of the soil 

scientists practicing in Virginia and have a negative effect on 

employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed regulations do not have a direct effect on the use 

and value of private property. Indirectly however, higher 

compliance costs would have a negative effect on the asset 

value of soil scientist businesses while restricted entry into 

the profession would have a positive effect. Furthermore, if 

the proposed changes lead to improvement in service quality, 

risks to environmental assets may be reduced and have a 

positive effect on the use and value of private property in the 

vicinity. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Most, if not all, of 

the soil scientist businesses in Virginia are believed to be 

small businesses. Thus, all of the costs and other effects 

discussed above apply to them. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. Given the statutory mandate, the Board does 

not appear to have discretion on switching from certification 

to licensure. While the Board appears to have discretion on 

the quantity of the proposed continuing education and on the 

proposed switch to the national examination, it is not clear 

that an alternate method such as fewer hours of continuing 

education would achieve exactly the same goals. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No direct effects on real 

estate development costs are expected. However, if the 

competency of soil scientists is affected by the proposed 

licensure rules, there could be some indirect effects on real 

estate development costs. For example, improved competency 

may help a soil scientist identify a difficult-to-detect 

environmental risk associated with a development project. Or, 

a solution to a known environmental risk associated with a 

development project may be produced by a more competent 

professional. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

___________________________________ 
1 Kleiner, Morris M. 2006. "Licensing Occupations: Ensuring Quality or 
Restricting Competition?" Upjohn Institute for Employment Research. 

Kalamazoo, Michigan. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

for Professional Soil Scientists, Wetland Professionals, and 

Geologists generally concurs with the Department of 

Planning and Budget's economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments facilitate the requirements of 

Chapters 777 and 859 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly that 

the soil scientist regulation program transition from 

certification to licensure and also include the following 

changes: (i) the board's adoption of the Council of Soil 

Science Examiners prepared exam, (ii) addition of 

continuing education requirements for the renewal and 

maintenance of licensure, and (ii) technical changes to 

eliminate language in the regulation that duplicates 

existing language in corresponding statutes and to clarify 

and improve the readability of the regulations. 

Part I  

General  

18VAC145-20-10. Definitions.  

Section 54.1-2200 of the Code of Virginia provides 

definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 

chapter: 

Board 

Soil 
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Soil evaluation 

Soil science 

Soil scientist 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Application" means a completed application with the 

appropriate fee and any other required documentation, 

including but not limited to references, employment 

verification, degree verification, and verification of 

examination and licensure. 

"Board" means the Board for Professional Soil Scientists as 

established by Chapter 22 (§ 54.1-2200 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"CSSE" means the Council of Soil Science Examiners. 

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation.  

"Field study" means the investigation of a site to secure soils 

information by means of landscape analysis and soil borings, 

excavations or test pits which are plotted on a base map or 

other documents (e.g., aerial photographs, topographic maps, 

scaled site plans, subdivision plans, or narrative description of 

the location).  

"Practice of soil evaluation" means the evaluation of soil by 

accepted principles and methods including, but not limited to, 

observation, investigation, and consultation on measured, 

observed and inferred soils and their properties; analysis of 

the effects of these properties on the use and management of 

various kinds of soil; and preparation of soil descriptions, 

maps, reports and interpretive drawings.  

"Soil" means the groups of natural bodies occupying the 

unconsolidated portion of the earth's surface which are 

capable of supporting plant life and have properties caused by 

the combined effects, as modified by topography and time, of 

climate and living organisms upon parent materials.  

"Soil evaluation" means plotting soil boundaries, describing 

and evaluating the kinds of soil and predicting their suitability 

for and response to various uses.  

"Soil map" means a map showing distribution of soil types 

or other soil mapping units in relation to the prominent 

landforms and cultural features of the earth earth's surface.  

"Soil science" means the science dealing with the physical, 

chemical, mineralogical, and biological properties of soils as 

natural bodies.  

"Soil scientist" means a person having special knowledge of 

soil science and the methods and principals of soil evaluation 

as acquired by education and experience in the formation, 

description and mapping of soils.  

"Soil survey" means a systematic field investigation of the 

survey area that provides a soil evaluation and a system of 

uniform definitions of soil characteristics for all the different 

kinds of soil found within the study area, all of which are 

incorporated into a soil report which includes a soil map.  

Part II  

Entry  

18VAC145-20-60. Qualifications for certification General 

application requirements.  

A. Applicants for certification licensure shall meet the 

education, eligibility, experience and examination 

requirements specified established in Chapter 22 (§ 54.1-2200 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. All applications and accompanying materials become the 

property of the board upon receipt by the board. 

C. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 

with respect to applicants' qualifications and documentation 

to confirm or amplify information supplied. 

D. Applicants who do not meet the requirements of this 

chapter may be approved following consideration by the 

board in accordance with the provisions of the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

18VAC145-20-70. Qualifications for examination. 

(Repealed.)  

An applicant shall satisfy one of the following criteria in 

order to qualify for the examination:  

1. Hold a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution 

of higher education in a soil science curriculum (see 

18VAC145-20-91) which has been approved by the board 

and have at least four years of experience in soil 

evaluation, the quality of which demonstrates to the board 

that the applicant is competent to practice as a professional 

soil scientist; or  

2. Hold a bachelor's degree in one of the natural sciences 

and have at least five years of experience in soil 

evaluation, the quality of which demonstrates to the board 

that the applicant is competent to practice as a professional 

soil scientist; or  

3. Have a record of at least eight years of experience in soil 

evaluation, the quality of which demonstrates to the board 

that the applicant is competent to practice as a professional 

soil scientist; or  

4. Have at least four years of experience in soil science 

research or as a teacher of soil science curriculum in an 

accredited institution of higher education which offers an 

approved four-year program in soils and at least two years 

of soil evaluation experience, the quality of which 

demonstrates to the board that the applicant is competent to 

practice as a professional soil scientist.  

18VAC145-20-90. Qualifying experience in soil 

evaluation.  

An applicant Minimum experience requirements are 

established in Chapter 22 (§ 54.1-2200 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia. Applicants shall satisfy the length of 
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experience established relative to their education. Applicants 

shall demonstrate experience in two or more of the following 

areas:  

1. Soil mapping. Compiling of Compiled soil maps 

representing at least 5,000 acres as a part of a soil survey 

or surveys with a formal mapping legend under the direct 

guidance of an experienced technical supervisor. 

Acceptable maps shall be Only maps in a published report, 

a report scheduled to be published, or a report of a 

publishable quality shall be deemed as acceptable for this 

type of experience;  

2. Soil evaluation. Conducting Conducted at least 20 soil 

evaluations for specific land uses under the direct guidance 

of an experienced technical supervisor. Examples of such 

uses include, but are not limited to, on-site onsite 

wastewater disposal, residential and commercial 

development, sanitary landfill sites, forestry or agriculture 

production, soil erosion and sediment control, shrink-swell, 

or hydric soils. The finished product shall must have been 

submitted to a client or government agency (e.g., Health 

Department, Environmental Protection Agency, 

Department of Environmental Quality, Department of 

Conservation and Recreation, or local planning 

commission);  

3. Field/Laboratory studies. Conducting Conducted at least 

10 detailed field or laboratory studies under the direct 

guidance of an experienced technical supervisor. The field 

or laboratory study shall must have resulted in a soil 

evaluation report that was accepted by the client or 

government agency;  

4. Research/Teaching. Conducting Conducted at least one 

research project as part of a thesis or publication or 

teaching taught at least one full time full-time course in a 

soil science curriculum at an accredited institution of 

higher education, the quality of which demonstrates to the 

board that the applicant is competent to practice as a 

professional soil scientist;  

5. Consulting (public/private). Assembling or compiling 

Assembled or compiled soil information either with 

existing data or field studies, and evaluating evaluated data 

for a specific land use. The work may be either have been 

done independently or under supervision. At least three 

written reports shall must have been submitted to the client 

or government agency; or  

6. Education. Each year of full-time undergraduate study in 

a soils curriculum or related natural science may count as 

one-half year of experience up to a maximum of two years. 

Each year of full-time graduate study in a soils curriculum 

may count as one year of experience up to a maximum of 

two years. With a passing grade, 30 semester credit hours 

or 45 quarter credit hours is considered to be one year One 

year equals 30 semester credit hours earned or 45 quarter 

credit hours earned. Credits Any credits used to meet the 

education requirements established in Chapter 22 (§ 54.1-

2200 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia may not 

be used to meet experience requirements.  

18VAC145-20-91. Core course requirements.  

A. At least 15 semester hours selected from the identified 

courses below in this subsection or the equivalent are required 

for course work or a degree core to be considered a degree in 

a soil science degree curriculum or a soil science related 

natural science degree.  

Intro to Crop and Soil 

Environmental Sciences 

Soil - Plant - Animal 

Interrelationships in 

Grasslands 

Soil Evaluation 
Aluminum Chemistry in the 

Soil System 

Soils 
Soil Physics or Physical 

Properties 

Soils Lab Soil Genesis/Classification 

Man and Environment Soil Fertility/Management 

Soil Survey/Taxonomy 
Soil Fertility/Management 

Lab 

Soil Microbiology Soil/Groundwater Pollution 

Soil Resource 

Management 
Soils for Waste Disposal 

Soil Chemistry Soil Microbiology Lab 

Topics in Soil Genesis Forest Soils/Hydrology 

Soil Seminar Clay Mineralogy 

Special Studies (Soils 

Based) 
Soil Interpretations 

Field Studies (Soils 

Based) 

Advanced Concepts in Soil 

Genesis 

Soils and Land Use 
Independent Studies (Soil 

Based) 

Soil Physical and 

Colloidal Chemistry 
Soil Biochemistry 

Chemistry Soil Geomorphology 

Soil - Plant Relations Soil Conservation 

B. An applicant Applicants may petition the board in writing 

to review the syllabus and other supporting documents of a 

course not listed in subsection A of this section for academic 

credit. The course shall must contain content to enhance the 

that enhances applicants' knowledge of the applicant in the 

study of soils. The applicant Applicants must demonstrate 

course equivalency in order to receive academic credit. 

Petitions to the board for such review must be made in 

writing. 
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18VAC145-20-100. Examination.  

A. A board-approved examination shall be administered at 

least twice a year, at a time designated by the department.  

B. An applicant must meet all eligibility requirements as of 

the date the application is filed with the department.  

C. A candidate who is unable to take the examination at the 

time scheduled must notify the department in writing prior to 

the date of the examination; such a candidate will be 

rescheduled for the next examination without additional fee. 

Failure to so notify the department will result in forfeiture of 

the examination or reexamination fee.  

D. A candidate approved to take an examination shall do so 

within one year of the date of approval or submit a new 

application and fee in accordance with these regulations.  

E. Candidates will be notified of passing or failing the 

examination.  

F. Upon payment of the reexamination fee, a candidate who 

fails the examination or any part thereof shall be allowed to 

retake the failed examination or any part thereof within one 

year of the date of initial failure notification. After the one-

year period has elapsed, an applicant shall be required to 

submit a new application and fee in accordance with this 

chapter in order to take the examination.  

A. Applicants shall be required to pass all parts of the 

CSSE-prepared exam. 

B. Applicants shall meet all other requirements established 

in Chapter 22 (§ 54.1-2200 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia in order to be granted board approval to sit for the 

exam. 

C. Completed applications must be received by the board no 

less than 60 days prior to the exam date or applicants may be 

deferred to the next exam administration. 

D. Applicants approved by the board shall be exam-eligible 

for a period of three years from the date of their initial board 

approval. Applicants who do not pass the exam at the end of 

the three-year period are no longer exam-eligible. 

E. To become exam-eligible again, applicants shall reapply 

to the board and meet all entry requirements current at the 

time of their reapplication. Upon approval by the board, 

applicants shall become exam-eligible for another period of 

three years. 

F. Board-approved applicants eligible for admission to both 

parts of the exam must first pass the Fundamentals in Soil 

Science exam before being admitted to the Professional 

Practices in Soil Science exam. 

G. Applicants will be notified by the board of whether they 

passed or failed the exam. The exam may not be reviewed by 

applicants. Exam scores are final and not subject to change. 

18VAC145-20-111. Waiver from examination through 

reciprocity. (Repealed.) 

An applicant qualified to take the examination may be 

granted a Virginia certificate without written examination, 

provided that the applicant holds an unexpired professional 

soil scientist certificate or equivalent issued on the basis of 

equivalent requirements for certification in Virginia, by a 

regulatory body of another state, territory or possession of the 

United States and is not the subject of any disciplinary 

proceeding before such regulatory body that could result in 

the suspension or revocation of his certificate, and such other 

regulatory body recognizes the certificates issued by this 

board. 

Part III  

Renewal/Reinstatement and Fees  

18VAC145-20-120. Expiration.  

Certificates Licenses issued under this chapter shall expire 

two years from the last day of the month in which they were 

issued, as indicated on the certificate license.  

18VAC145-20-130. Procedures for renewal.  

A. The department shall mail board sends a renewal notice 

to the certificate license holder at the last known address of 

record at least 30 days prior to expiration of the license. 

Failure to receive this notice does not relieve the certificate 

license holder from the requirement to renew the certificate 

license. If the certificate holder fails to receive the renewal 

notice, a copy of the certificate shall be submitted with the 

required fee in lieu of the renewal notice. A certificate holder 

License holders shall keep the department board informed of 

his their current mailing address. Change Changes of address 

shall be reported to the department board in writing within 30 

calendar days of the change. 

B. In addition to the established fee, proof of satisfactory 

completion of continuing education (CE) shall be required to 

renew a license. Documentation submitted as proof of 

completion of CE must demonstrate that the CE meets the 

requirements established in 18VAC145-20-145. 

C. If the renewal fee is and proof of completion of CE are 

not received by the department board within 30 calendar days 

following the license expiration date noted on the certificate, 

a late renewal fee of $25 shall be required in addition to the 

regular renewal fee. If the certificate is renewed after 30 days 

from the expiration date and prior to 180 days of the 

expiration date, the effective date of the renewal shall be the 

original renewal date Upon receipt of the requisite fee and 

proof of completion of CE, the license shall be renewed for 

an additional two years. No certificate may be renewed more 

than 180 days following the date of expiration noted on the 

certificate A license that is not renewed within six months 

after its expiration is no longer eligible for renewal. The 

license may be reinstated pursuant to the requirements of 

18VAC145-20-140.  

C. D. The date a the fee is and documented proof of 

completion of CE are received by the department board or its 

agent shall determine whether a late renewal fee or, the 

requirement for reinstatement fee, or reapplication is 

applicable required.  
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D. E. A certificate license suspended by board order shall 

may not be renewed until the period of suspension has ended 

and all terms and conditions of the board's order have been 

met. Individuals renewing certificates licenses within 30 days 

after the suspension is lifted will not be required to pay a late 

fee.  

E. F. A revoked certificate cannot license may not be 

renewed. An individual whose certificate license has been 

revoked must shall file a new application and obtain approval 

of the board board approval to recover certification licensure. 

Examination shall may not be waived. 

18VAC145-20-140. Reinstatement.  

A. If the renewal fee and, late renewal fee, and documented 

proof of completion of CE are not received by the department 

board within 180 days six months following the license 

expiration date noted on the certificate, the certificate license 

holder shall no longer be considered a certificate holder and 

will be required to apply for certificate pay the fee for 

reinstatement. The applicant shall meet the current eligibility 

standards for certification as a professional soil scientist. The 

applicant may apply by examination or by reciprocity. The 

board may require reexamination. The fee for reinstatement 

shall include the regular renewal fee plus the reinstatement 

fee.  

B. If the reinstatement fee is and documented proof of 

completion of CE are not received by the department board 

within 360 days one year following the license expiration date 

noted on the certificate, the applicant, the individual shall no 

longer be considered a license holder. To become licensed 

again, the individual shall apply as a new applicant and meet 

all current education, experience, and examination 

requirements as may be required by the board established in 

this chapter. 

18VAC145-20-145. Continuing education requirements. 

A. Licensees shall complete eight contact hours of 

continuing education (CE) per year for renewal or 

reinstatement. CE shall be completed pursuant to the 

provisions of this section. 

B. CE must be completed during the time prior to the 

renewal or reinstatement of a license and shall be valid for 

that renewal or reinstatement only. 

C. CE activities completed by licensees may be accepted by 

the board provided the activity: 

1. Consists of content and subject matter directly related to 

the practice of soil science; 

2. Has a clear purpose and objective that will maintain, 

improve, or expand the skills and knowledge relevant to 

the practice of soil science and may be in areas related to 

business practices, including project management, risk 

management, and ethics, that have demonstrated relevance 

to the practice of soil science as defined in § 54.1-2200 of 

the Code of Virginia; 

3. Is taught by instructors who are competent in the subject 

matter, either by education or experience, for those 

activities involving an interaction with an instructor; 

4. Contains an assessment by the sponsor at the conclusion 

of the activity that verifies that the licensee has 

successfully achieved the purpose and objective for any 

self-directed activity; and 

5. Results in documentation that verifies the licensee's 

successful completion of the activity. 

D. Computation of credit. 

1. Fifty contact minutes shall equal one hour of CE. For 

activities that consist of segments that are less than 50 

minutes, those segments shall be totaled for computation of 

CE for that activity. 

2. The number of hours required to successfully complete 

any CE activity must have been predetermined by the 

sponsor. A licensee shall not claim more credit for any CE 

activity than was predetermined by the sponsor at the time 

the activity was completed. 

3. A licensee may not receive credit for any CE activity 

that was not completed in its entirety. No credit shall be 

given for partial completion of a CE activity. 

4. A licensee applying for renewal or reinstatement shall 

not receive credit for completing a CE activity with the 

same content more than once during the time period prior 

to the renewal or reinstatement. 

18VAC145-20-151. Fees.  

The fees for certification licensure are listed below. Checks 

or money orders shall be made payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia. All fees required by the board are nonrefundable. In 

the event that a check, money draft, or similar instrument for 

payment of a fee required by statute or regulation is not 

honored by the bank or financial institution named, the 

applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees sufficient 

to cover the original fee, plus an additional processing charge 

as authorized by § 2.2-614.1 C of the Code of Virginia.  

Fee Type When due Due Amount 

due Due 

New application With application $90 

Examination fee Upon approval for exam $150 

Reexamination 

fee 

Upon request to be 

rescheduled for exam 

$75 for 

each part 

Renewal fee With renewal card Prior 

to license expiration 

$70 

Late renewal fee 30 days after date of 

expiration More than 30 

days after license 

expiration 

$25 
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Reinstatement fee 180 days after date of 

expiration More than 

six months after license 

expiration 

$90 

Part IV  

Standards of Practice and Conduct  

18VAC145-20-160. Professional conduct.  

A certified licensed professional soil scientist:  

1. Shall not submit any false statements, make any 

misrepresentations, or fail to disclose any facts requested 

concerning any application for certification or 

recertification. initial licensure, renewal, or reinstatement;  

2. Shall not engage in any fraud, deceit, or 

misrepresentation in advertising, in soliciting, or in 

providing professional services.;  

3. Shall not knowingly sign, stamp, or seal any plans, 

drawings, blueprints, surveys, reports, specifications, 

maps, or other documents not prepared or reviewed and 

approved by the certificate holder. him;  

4. Shall not knowingly represent a client or employer on a 

project on which the certificate holder he represents or has 

represented another client or employer without making full 

disclosure thereof.; 

5. Shall express a professional opinion only when it is 

founded on adequate knowledge of established facts at 

issue and based on a background of technical competence 

in the subject matter.;  

6. Shall not knowingly misrepresent factual information in 

expressing a professional opinion.;  

7. Shall immediately notify the client or employer and the 

appropriate regulatory agency if the certificate holder's his 

professional judgment is overruled and not adhered to 

when advising appropriate parties of any circumstances of 

a substantial threat to the public health, safety, or welfare.; 

and  

8. Shall exercise reasonable care when rendering 

professional services and shall apply the technical 

knowledge, skill, and terminology ordinarily applied by 

practicing soil scientists.  

18VAC145-20-170. Grounds for suspensions, revocation, 

denial of application, renewal or other disciplinary action 

Sanctions and powers of the board.  

A. The board has the power to fine any certificate holder or 

to revoke or suspend any certificate sanction any license 

holder at any time after a hearing conducted pursuant to the 

Administrative Process Act, (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia, when the person is found to have:). Sanctions 

may include but are not limited to the issuance of fines, the 

suspension of a license, the revocation of a license, or the 

levying of an additional requirement for remedial education. 

Sanctions may be levied against any regulant who has been 

determined by the board to have:  

1. Committed fraud or deceit in obtaining or attempting to 

obtain certification. initial licensure, renewal, or 

reinstatement;  

2. Performed any act in the practice of his profession likely 

to deceive, defraud, or harm the public.;  

3. Committed any act of gross negligence, incompetence, 

or misconduct in the practice of soil science.;  

4. Been convicted of a felony under the terms specified in 

§ 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia.; or 

The board may suspend or revoke a certificate or may fine a 

certificate holder when the certificate holder has been found 

to have violated or cooperated with others in violating any 

provisions of Chapter 22 (§ 54.1-2200 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia or any regulation of the board. 

5. Violated or cooperated with others having violated any 

provisions of Chapter 22 (§ 54.1-2200 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia or any regulation of the board. 

B. The board may, in its discretion, refuse to grant, renew, 

or reinstate a certificate the license of any person for any of 

the reasons specified in subsection A of this section, or in 

circumstances where an individual fails to comply with the 

requirements of Chapter 22 (§ 54.1-2200 et seq.) of the Code 

of Virginia and this chapter.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2917; Filed June 7, 2013, 1:25 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC145-40. Regulations for the 

Geology Certification Program (amending 18VAC145-40-

20).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 7, 2013 - 11 a.m. - Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Board Room 2, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: August 30, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Board for Professional Soil Scientists, Wetland Professionals, 

and Geologists, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-6206, 

or email bpssandwp@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia (commonly 

referred to as the Callahan Act) requires regulatory boards to 

periodically review and adjust fees. It states, in part, 

"Following the close of any biennium, when the account for 

any regulatory board within the Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation or the Department of Health 

Professions maintained under § 54.1-308 or § 54.1-2505 

shows expenses allocated to it for the past biennium to be 

more than ten percent greater or less than moneys collected 

on behalf of the board, it shall revise the fees levied by it for 

certification or licensure and renewal thereof so that the fees 

are sufficient but not excessive to cover expenses." 
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Section 54.1-201 A 4 of the Code of Virginia describes the 

power and duty of regulatory boards to "levy and collect fees 

for certification or licensure and renewal that are sufficient to 

cover all expenses for the administration and operation of the 

regulatory board and a proportionate share of the expenses of 

the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

and the Board for Professional and Occupational Regulation." 

Subdivision 3 of § 54.1-304 of the Code of Virginia describes 

the authority of the department to "collect and account for all 

fees prescribed to be paid into each board and account for and 

deposit the moneys so collected into a special fund from 

which the expenses of the Board, regulatory boards and 

Department shall be paid." 

Section 54.1-308 of the Code of Virginia requires costs to be 

paid by regulatory boards. It states, "The compensation of the 

Director and the employees within the Department, including 

the compensation of the members of each board, shall be paid 

out of the total funds collected and charged to the accounts of 

the respective boards. The Director shall maintain a separate 

account for each board showing the moneys collected on its 

behalf and the expenses allocated to each board." 

The above sections of the Code of Virginia mandate that the 

board manage and periodically review and adjust fees. In 

addition, the department must: 

1. Pay expenses of each board and the department from 

revenues collected; 

2. Establish fees adequate to provide sufficient revenue 

to pay expenses; 

3. Account for the revenues collected and expenses 

charged to each board; and 

4. Adjust fees as necessary to ensure that revenue is 

sufficient but not excessive to cover all expenses. 

To comply with these requirements, the department: 

1. Distinctly accounts for the revenue collected for each 

board; 

2. Accounts for direct board expenses for each board, and 

allocates a proportionate share of agency operating 

expenses to each board; 

3. Reviews the actual and projected financial position of 

each board biennially to determine whether revenues are 

adequate, but not excessive, to cover reasonable and 

authorized expenses for upcoming operating cycles; and 

4. Recommends adjustments to fees to respond to 

changes and projections in revenue trends and operating 

expenses. If projected revenue collections are expected to 

be more than sufficient to cover expenses for upcoming 

operating cycles, decreases in fees are recommended. If 

projected revenue collections are expected to be 

inadequate to cover operating expenses for upcoming 

operating cycles, increases in fees are recommended. 

Purpose: The intent of the proposed changes in the regulation 

is to increase certification fees for professional geologist 

applicants and regulants of the Board for Professional Soil 

Scientists, Wetland Professionals, and Geologists. The board 

must establish fees adequate to support the costs of board 

operations and a proportionate share of the department's 

operations.  

The board provides protection for the health, safety, and 

welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that 

only individuals who meet specific criteria set forth in statute 

and regulations receive certification as professional 

geologists; by ensuring its regulants meet standards of 

practice and conduct set forth in the regulation; and by 

imposing penalties for not complying with the governing 

statutes and regulations. Without adequate funding, 

complaints against regulants, brought to the attention of the 

board by citizens, cannot be investigated and processed in a 

timely manner. Ensuring that professional geologists have at 

least the minimal competencies to perform geological work 

protects the health, safety, and welfare of Virginia citizens. 

The department receives no general fund money, but instead, 

is funded almost entirely from revenue collected through 

applications for certification, licensure, renewals, 

examination fees, and other certification and licensing fees. 

The department is self-supporting, and must collect adequate 

revenue to support its mandated and approved activities and 

operations. Fees must be established at amounts that will 

provide adequate revenue. Fee revenues collected on behalf 

of the boards fund the department's authorized special 

revenue appropriation. 

The Board for Professional Soil Scientists, Wetland 

Professionals, and Geologists has no other source of revenue 

from which to funds its operations. 

Substance: The existing regulation is being amended to 

increase the fees related to obtaining and maintaining 

certification as a professional geologist. 

1. The application fee for certification is increased from 

$40 to $90. 

2. The fee for renewal of certification is increased from 

$35 to $70. 

3. The penalty fee for late renewal remains $25. 

4. The reinstatement fee is increased from $40 to $90. 

Issues: The Code of Virginia establishes the board as the state 

agency that oversees certification of professional geologists 

providing services in Virginia. The board's primary mission is 

to protect the citizens of the Commonwealth, and it views 

certification as a broad concept that offers the public 

significant protection by prescribing requirements for 

minimal competencies; by prescribing standards of conduct 

and practice; and by imposing penalties for not complying 

with the regulations. Further, the department is compelled to 

comply with § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia (commonly 

referred to as the Callahan Act). The proposed fee increases 

will ensure that the board has sufficient revenues to fund its 

operating expenses. 
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There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth in raising the board's fees as proposed. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Professional Soil Scientists, Wetland Professionals, 

and Geologists (Board) proposes to increase fees paid by 

individuals certified as geologists. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

accurately gauge whether benefits are likely to outweigh costs 

for these proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Under regulations promulgated 

by the now defunct Board of Geology, certified geologists 

pay $40 for initial certification, $35 for renewal of 

certification, a $25 additional fee for late renewal of 

certification and $40 for reinstatement of certification. The 

Board of Professional Soil Scientists, Wetland Professionals, 

and Geologists, which now has authority to certify geologists 

now propose to raise most fees paid by geologists. 

Below is a comparison table for current and proposed fees: 

FEE TYPE  CURRENT 

FEE 

PROPOSED 

FEE % 

% 

INCREASE 

Initial 

Geologist 

Certification 

$40 $90 125% 

Certification 

Renewal 

$35 $70 100% 

Certification 

Reinstatement 

$40 $90 125% 

According to information provided by the Board, fees are 

being increased to bring geologists' fees in line with others 

charged by this Board and because information technology 

costs have increased precipitously over the last few years. 

Board staff reports that the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation (DPOR) has already paid $3.6 

million, and expects to pay an additional $1.6 million, for its 

new automated licensure system. These costs are additional to 

other IT (VITA) costs which have increased for all state 

agencies. It is likely that most of the per regulant expenditure 

increase in the last decade is due to these increased 

information systems costs. Over the 02-04 biennium, DPOR 

spent $60.98 per regulant; for the 04-06 biennium, per 

regulant spending was $52.19. During the 06-08 biennium, 

per regulant spending increased to $76.63 and has increased 

in both of the biennia since (estimated spending for the 

current biennium is approximately $87 per regulant). Given 

this information, it is not at all clear that these increased 

information systems costs represent a net benefit for the 

Board's regulated entities. 

Increasing fees will likely increase the cost of being certified 

and, so, will likely slightly decrease the number of people 

who choose to be certified by the Commonwealth. This will 

likely not greatly decrease the number of individuals actually 

practicing geology because certification is voluntary. To the 

extent that the public benefits from the Board regulating this 

professional population, they will likely benefit from the 

Board's proposed action that will increase fees to support 

Board activities. There is insufficient information to ascertain 

whether benefits will outweigh costs. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that the 

Board currently regulates 883 geologists. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Employment in the 

Commonwealth is unlikely to be affected by this proposed 

regulatory action. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Fee 

increases will likely slightly decrease business profits and 

make affected businesses slightly less valuable. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Board staff 

reports that most of the individuals regulated by the Board 

likely qualify as small businesses. Affected small businesses 

will bear the costs of proposed increased fees. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There are several actions that the Board 

could take that might mitigate the necessity of raising fees 

overall. The Board could slightly lengthen the time that it 

takes to process both certification applications and complaints 

so that staff costs could be cut. This option would benefit 

current certificate holders but would slightly delay 

certification for new applicants. Affected small businesses 

would also likely benefit from increased scrutiny of the IT 

costs that are driving increases in Board expenditures. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
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including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The result 

of Department of Planning and Budget's analysis is there is 

insufficient information to accurately gauge whether benefits 

are likely to outweigh costs for the proposed fee adjustments. 

The Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

(DPOR) is proposing the fee adjustment now because 

geologists renew certification in August of even fiscal years. 

While it will be too soon to have the fee adjustment in place 

for August 2013, it is needed to be in place before August 

2015. Fee increases would end up being substantially higher 

if the fee adjustment is not in place before August 2015. 

Although it may seem premature to submit the fee adjustment 

at this time, the entire approval process has been taking three 

years or more for other DPOR boards. DPOR is trying to 

minimize the size of the adjustment now as well as future 

adjustments, while also trying to avoid from entering into 

deficit cash positions. 

As to the magnitude of the fee increase, it is important to note 

that fees for geologists were actually higher in 1995 than the 

current proposed fees. Incremental fee increases are not 

possible due to the three year approval process and are in 

order to sufficiently cover expenses.  

Summary: 

The proposed amendments increase the application, 

renewal, and reinstatement fees for professional geologists 

and align the fees with those of professional soil scientists 

and wetland professionals. 

18VAC145-40-20. Fees. 

All fees for application, examination, renewal, and 

reinstatement shall be established by the board pursuant to 

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. All fees are 

nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.  

1. The application fee for certification shall be $40 $90.  

2. The fee for renewal of certification shall be $35 $70.  

3. The application fee for the Geologist-in-Training (GIT) 

designation shall be $20. 

4. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges to the department by an outside vendor. 

These contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained 

for in compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement 

Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may 

be adjusted and charged to the candidate in accordance 

with this contract.  

5. The penalty fee for late renewal shall be $25 in addition 

to the renewal fee.  

6. The reinstatement fee shall be $40 $90.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3180; Filed June 7, 2013, 1:24 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-880. Child Support 

Enforcement Program (amending 22VAC40-880-10, 

22VAC40-880-20, 22VAC40-880-90, 22VAC40-880-100, 

22VAC40-880-190, 22VAC40-880-240, 22VAC40-880-250, 

22VAC40-880-290, 22VAC40-880-320, 22VAC40-880-350, 

22VAC40-880-380, 22VAC40-880-390, 22VAC40-880-405, 

22VAC40-880-410, 22VAC40-880-430, 22VAC40-880-440, 

22VAC40-880-480, 22VAC40-880-560; repealing 

22VAC40-880-30 through 22VAC40-880-80, 22VAC40-

880-110 through 22VAC40-880-180, 22VAC40-880-200, 

22VAC40-880-210, 22VAC40-880-220, 22VAC40-880-230, 

22VAC40-880-260, 22VAC40-880-270, 22VAC40-880-280, 

22VAC40-880-300, 22VAC40-880-310, 22VAC40-880-330, 

22VAC40-880-340, 22VAC40-880-360, 22VAC40-880-370, 

22VAC40-880-385, 22VAC40-880-420, 22VAC40-880-450, 

22VAC40-880-460, 22VAC40-880-470, 22VAC40-880-490 

through 22VAC40-880-550, 22VAC40-880-570 through 

22VAC40-880-720).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 651 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 30, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Alice Burlinson, Senior Assistant Attorney 

General, Department of Social Services, 4504 Starkey Road, 

Suite 103, Roanoke, VA 24018, telephone (540) 776-2779, 

FAX (540) 776-2797, or email 

alice.burlinson@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Social Services to adopt such regulations, not in 

conflict with Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia, as may be 

necessary or desirable to carry out the purpose of Title 63.2. 

Section 63.2-1901 of the Code of Virginia provides that the 

purpose of Chapter 19 (§ 63.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of 

the Code of Virginia is to promote the efficient and accurate 

collection, accounting, and receipt of support for financially 

dependent children and their custodians and to further the 

effective and timely enforcement of such support while 

ensuring that all functions in the Department of Social 

Services are appropriate or necessary to comply with 

applicable federal law. 

Purpose: The child support regulation supplements the 

statutory law by providing a framework to promote the 

efficient and accurate administration of the child support 
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program. The efficient and accurate administration of the 

program is critical to the health and well-being of children on 

whose behalf the funds are collected and disbursed. The 

primary functions of the child support program include 

locating noncustodial parents, establishing paternity, 

establishing and modifying child support orders, and 

enforcing support obligations. This proposed action is the 

result of a comprehensive review of the child support 

regulation. The regulation has not been thoroughly reviewed 

since 2002. Statutory and program changes since that time 

required a complete review of all portions of the regulation to 

reflect current federal and state legislative and program 

requirements. 

Substance: This regulatory action primarily involves 

removing numerous sections that are duplicative of existing 

state and federal law and federal regulations, updating 

obsolete terms with current terminology, and clarifying the 

remaining sections by making the regulation easier to read 

and understand for the user. As a result, there are no 

substantive changes, except for 22VAC40-880-405, Passport 

Denial, which is amended to provide for an appeal process to 

circuit court pursuant to the Setoff Debt Collection Act.  

Issues: The primary advantages of this proposed regulatory 

action to the public are to streamline the administrative code, 

remove unnecessary language, correct incorrect citations, and 

clarify the program. These are no disadvantages to the public. 

The primary advantages to the agency and the 

Commonwealth are to streamline and clarify the regulation 

and remove unnecessary provisions. There are no 

disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to amend its 

regulations that govern the child support enforcement 

program to 1) update the definitions section, 2) allow appeal 

of a social services hearing officer's decision on passport 

denial to the circuit court, 3) remove specific language that 

currently governs case prioritization and replace it with a 

general notice that the department has the authority to 

prioritize cases based on available information and 4) to 

repeal 49 of the 72 sections in these regulations. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for several 

proposed changes. Costs likely outweigh benefits for other 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations include 

several definitions for terms that are obsolete or no longer 

used in the body of the regulations. The Board proposes to 

eliminate some definitions and add others so that they better 

help interested parties understand the regulatory text. No 

affected entity is likely to incur any costs on account of the 

proposed changes to the definitions. To the extent that 

obsolete terms might confuse readers, removing these terms 

will benefit them.  

Current regulations explicitly state that the decisions of 

department hearing officers for appeals of passport denial are 

final. Department staff reports that the Setoff Debt Collection 

Act now allows individuals to appeal the decision of a 

department hearing officer to the circuit court. Because of 

this, the Board proposes to remove the statement that the 

decision of the hearing officer is final and to insert notice that 

such decisions may be appealed to the circuit court. No 

affected entity is likely to incur any costs on account of these 

proposed changes. Affected entities will benefit from these 

changes as erroneous information is being removed and 

replaced with notice that affected entities have the right of 

appeal. 

Current regulations have specific criteria for case 

prioritization that includes notice to clients that cases where 

current contact information for a absent or putative father is 

available will be handled before cases where such 

information is not known or where the department would be 

unlikely to be able to enforce a child support order. The 

Board proposes to remove all specific information on case 

prioritization and replace it with a general statement that the 

department has the authority to prioritize cases based on 

available information. Unless current criteria for prioritization 

no longer reflect current department practice, there does not 

appear to be much benefit in removing them from the 

regulations. Affected entities will be subject to increased 

uncertainty as to how the department will prioritize cases 

under the proposed regulatory language. Because, absent 

some information that current regulatory text is obsolete or 

wrong, there appears to be little benefit to removing specific 

criteria from these regulations and because doing so will 

likely increase uncertainty as to the rules and decrease 

understanding of those rules, costs likely outweigh benefits 

for these proposed changes. 

The remaining substantive changes proposed by the Board 

consist of repealing 49 of the 72 sections in current 

regulations. Board staff reports that the Board proposes to 

repeal these sections to streamline regulations and because 

they were advised that Executive Order 14 (EO 14) requires 

them to remove language that is duplicative of federal or state 

code. EO 14 doesn't call for the repeal of duplicative sections 

but it does state that "regulations shall be designed to achieve 

their intended objective in the most efficient, cost-effective 

manner." However, it also states that "regulations shall be 

clearly written and easily understandable by the individuals 

and entities affected." To the extent that duplicative language 

is necessary to fully explain an area of regulation, it likely is 

also necessary to make sure regulations are clearly written 

and easily understandable. 

DPB has identified one section for which repeal is proposed 

that now contains a rule that is in contradiction with both 

federal and state law. 22VAC40-130 states that "the 

department may not require custodial parents to pay the costs 

associated with the provision of child support services unless 

contesting genetic test results". Since this requirement was 
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promulgated into regulation, the federal Deficit Reduction 

Act (2005) required states to pay certain fees for child support 

enforcement services and gives states several options as to 

how those fees are collected. In 2007, the General Assembly 

amended § 63.2-1904 to require that these fees be collected 

directly from custodial parents who meet certain criteria. 

These statutory changes supersede the rule in these 

regulations. As the regulatory language listed above is now 

contradictory and has a large potential to cause confusion for 

affected entities who read the regulations, removing it will 

provide the benefit of clarity. For this proposed change, 

benefits outweigh costs. 

It appears that the remaining sections that the Board proposes 

to repeal are duplicative of various parts of either the Code of 

Virginia, of federal code or of federal regulation. Repealing 

these sections will make the regulations shorter and less 

duplicative but it may not make them more efficient or easier 

to understand. Having rules that are listed in both code and 

regulations, while duplicative, also can provide interested 

individuals the benefit of being able to suss out the rules no 

matter which source they look to. Current regulations that the 

Board proposes to repeal also provide a benefit to affected 

entities in that they consolidate rules from several places into 

one source and, therefore, save affected entities the time that 

would need to be spent to search out the various sources from 

which the rules are derived. These benefits will be lost if 

these sections of regulations are repealed and affected entities 

will, instead, incur time costs for having to search various 

sources in order to be able to find all relevant rules. Board 

staff reports that DCSE has various resources on their website 

that provide information to affected entities. In particular, the 

"Child Support and You" booklet provides a very good 

overview, in the form of frequently asked questions, to 

interested individuals. This booklet, however, appears to lack 

the specificity that is found in current regulations and, so, 

may not completely substitute for information that will be lost 

with the repeal of approximately two thirds of these 

regulations. Repealing regulations that are duplicative of code 

may provide a benefit to the Board in the future as they would 

no longer have to amend regulations to reflect future code 

changes but that benefit likely does not outweigh the costs 

that will be incurred if these regulations are made less 

informative. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 

changes will affect DCSE and all individuals that are served 

by them. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of this regulatory action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services appreciated the opportunity to 

comment on the initial economic impact analysis (EIA), and 

the Department of Planning and Budget's posting of a revised 

EIA in response. However, the Department of Social Services 

is not in complete concurrence with the revised EIA and 

looks forward to receiving public comment on the proposed 

regulation. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) update terminology, (ii) 

allow appeal of a social services hearing officer's decision 

on passport denial to the circuit court, (iii) remove specific 

language that currently governs case prioritization and 

replace it with a general notice that the department has the 

authority to prioritize cases based on available 

information, (iv) update language to reflect statutory 

changes, and (v) repeal numerous sections that are 

duplicative of state and federal law and federal 

regulations. 
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Part I  

Definitions  

22VAC40-880-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Absent parent" means a responsible person as defined in 

§ 63.1-250 of the Code of Virginia who is required under law 

to support a dependent child or the dependent child and the 

child's caretaker.  

"Administrative" means noncourt ordered, legally 

enforceable actions the department may take to establish, 

modify, collect, distribute or enforce a child support 

obligation.  

"AFDC" means Aid to Families with Dependent Children 

which is established under Title IV-A of the Social Security 

Act. This is a category of financial assistance paid on behalf 

of children who are deprived of one or both of their parents 

by reason of death, disability, or continued absence (including 

desertion) from the home. See also "TANF."  

"AFDC/FC" means Aid to Families with Dependent 

Children or Foster Care which is established under Title IV-E 

of the Social Security Act. This is a category of financial 

assistance paid on behalf of children who otherwise meet the 

eligibility criteria for AFDC and who are in the custody of 

local social services agencies.  

"Appeal" means a request for a review of an administrative 

action taken by the division, or an action taken to contest a 

court order.  

"Applicant" or "applicant/recipient" means a party who 

applies for and receives services from the division.  

"Application" means a written document requesting child 

support enforcement services which the department provides 

to the individual or agency applying for services and which is 

signed by the applicant.  

"Arrears" or "arrearage" "Arrearage" means unpaid child or 

medical support payments, interest, and other costs for past 

periods owed by a parent to the state or obligee. This may 

include unpaid spousal support when child support is also 

being enforced.  

"Assignment" means any assignment of rights to child, 

spousal, or medical support or any assignment of rights to 

medical support and to payments for medical care from any 

third party.  

"Bad check" means a check not honored by the bank on 

which it is drawn.  

"Case summary" means a written statement outlining the 

actions taken by the department on a case that has been 

appealed.  

"Child support guideline" means a federal requirement for 

the establishment and adjustment/modification of financial 

child support and is comprised of §§ 20-108.1 and method for 

calculating a child support obligation as set out in § 20-108.2 

of the Code of Virginia.  

"Custodial parent" or "obligee" means (i) the natural or 

adoptive parent with whom the child resides, (ii) a stepparent 

or other person who has physical custody of the child and 

with whom the child resides, or (iii) a social service agency 

which has legal custody of a child in foster care.  

"Debt" means the total unpaid support obligation established 

by court order, administrative order, or payment of public 

assistance that is owed by an obligor to either the custodial 

parent/obligee, to the Commonwealth, or to the obligor's 

dependents.  

"Delinquency" means an unpaid child or medical support 

obligation. The obligation may include spousal support when 

child support is also being enforced.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services.  

"District office" means a local office of the Division of 

Child Support Enforcement responsible for the operation of 

the Child Support Enforcement Program child support 

enforcement program.  

"Division" means the Division of Child Support 

Enforcement of the Virginia Department of Social Services, 

also known as a IV-D agency.  

"Enforcement" means ensuring the payment of child support 

through the use of administrative or judicial means as 

described in § 63.2-1904 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Erroneous payment" means a payment sent to the custodial 

parent/obligee for which no funds were received by the 

department to be paid to that applicant/recipient.  

"Federal foster care" means foster care that is established 

under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act. This is a category 

of financial assistance paid on behalf of children who 

otherwise meet the eligibility criteria for TANF and who are 

in the custody of local social service agencies. 

"Financial statement" means the provision of financial 

information from the natural or adoptive parents.  

"Foreclosure" means a judicial procedure to enforce debts 

involving forced judicial sale of the real property of a debtor.  

"Genetic testing" means scientifically reliable genetic tests, 

including blood tests, as described in §§ 20-49.1, 20-49.3, 20-

49.4, 20-49.8, and 63.1-250.1:2 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Good cause" means, as it pertains to TANF and AFDC/FC 

federal foster care applicants and recipients, an agency 

determination that the individual does not have is not required 

to cooperate with Division of Child Support Enforcement the 

division in its efforts to collect child support.  

"Health insurance coverage" means any plan providing 

hospital, medical, or surgical care coverage for dependent 

children provided such coverage is available and can be 

obtained by a parent at a reasonable cost.  
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"Hearings officer" means a disinterested person designated 

by the department to hold appeal hearings and render appeal 

decisions on administrative actions an impartial person 

charged by the Commissioner of Social Services to hear 

appeals and decide if an agency followed its policy and 

procedures.  

"Interest" means charges accrued on past due child support 

at the prevailing judgment rate.  

"IV-D agency" means a governmental entity administering 

the child support program enforcement under Title IV-D of 

the Social Security Act. In Virginia the IV-D agency is the 

Division of Child Support Enforcement.  

"Judicial" means an action initiated through a court.  

"Local social service agency" means one of Virginia's 

locally administered social service or welfare departments 

which operate the TANF and AFDC/FC programs and other 

programs offered by the department.  

"Location" "Locate services" means obtaining information 

which is sufficient and necessary to take action on a child 

support case including information concerning (i) the physical 

whereabouts of the obligor or the obligor's employer, or (ii) 

other sources of income or assets, as appropriate. Certain 

individuals and entities such as courts and other state child 

support enforcement agencies can receive locate-only 

services from the department. 

"Location only services" means that certain entities such as 

courts and other state child support enforcement agencies can 

receive only locate services from the department.  

"Medicaid only" "Medicaid-only" means a category of 

public assistance whereby a family receives Medicaid but is 

not eligible for or receiving AFDC TANF.  

"Medical support services" means the establishment of a 

medical support order and the enforcement of health 

insurance coverage or, if court ordered, medical expenses.  

"Mistake of fact" means an error in the identity of the 

obligor or in the amount of support owed.  

"Noncustodial parent" means a responsible person, as 

defined in § 63.1-250 of the Code of Virginia, who is 

obligated under Virginia law for support of a dependent child 

or child's caretaker.  

"Obligation" means the amount and frequency of payments 

which the obligor is legally bound to pay as set out in a court 

or administrative support order.  

"Obligee" means an individual to whom a duty of support is 

or is alleged to be owed or in whose favor a support order has 

been issued or a judgment determining parentage has been 

rendered.  

"Obligor" means an individual, or the estate of a decedent, 

who owes or is alleged to owe a duty of support, is alleged 

but has not been adjudicated to be a parent of a child, or is 

liable under a court order.  

"Occupational license" means any license, certificate, 

registration, or other authorization to engage in a business, 

trade, profession, or occupation issued by the Commonwealth 

pursuant to Title 22.1, 38.2, 46.2, or 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia or any other provision of law.  

"Parent" means any natural or adoptive parent; the natural or 

adoptive parent with whom the child resides; a stepparent or 

other person who has physical custody of the child and with 

whom the child resides; a local board that has legal custody of 

a child in foster care; or a responsible person who is or may 

be obligated under Virginia law for support of a dependent 

child or child's caretaker. 

"Past due support" means support payments determined 

under a court or administrative order which have not been 

paid.  

"Pendency of an appeal" means the period of time after an 

administrative appeal has been made and before the final 

disposition by an administrative hearing officer, or between 

the time a party files an appeal with the court hears a case and 

the court renders a final decision.  

"Public assistance" means payments for TANF, or 

AFDC/FC, or Medicaid.  

"Putative father" means an alleged father; a person named as 

alleged to be the father of a child born out-of-wedlock but 

whose paternity has not been established.  

"Reasonable cost" means, as it pertains to health insurance 

coverage, available through employers, unions, or other 

groups without regard to service delivery mechanism.  

"Recipient" means a person who or agency that has applied 

for or is in receipt of receives public assistance or child 

support enforcement services.  

"Recreational license" means any license, certificate, or 

registration used for the purpose of participation in games, 

sports, or hobbies, or for amusement or relaxation.  

"Service" or "service of process" means the delivery to or 

leaving of a child support document, in a manner prescribed 

by state statute, giving the party reasonable notice of the 

action being taken.  

"Subpoena" means a document commanding a person to 

appear at a time and place to give testimony upon a certain 

matter.  

"Subpoena duces tecum" means a document compelling 

production of specific materials relevant to facts in a pending 

judicial proceeding.  

"Summons" means a document notifying an absent or 

custodial a parent or other person that he or she must appear 

at a time and place named in the document to provide 

information needed to pursue child support actions.  

"Supplemental Security Income" means a program 

administered by the federal government which guarantees a 

minimum income to persons who meet the requirement of 

aged, blind, or disabled.  
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"Support order" means a judgment, decree, or order, whether 

temporary, final, or subject to modification, issued by a court 

or an administrative agency of competent jurisdiction, for the 

support and maintenance of a child, including a child who has 

attained the age of majority under the law of the issuing state, 

or a child and the parent with whom the child is living, which 

provides for monetary support, health care, arrearages, or 

reimbursement, and which may include related costs and fees, 

interest and penalties, income withholding, attorneys' fees, 

and other relief.  

"TANF" means Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, 

formerly known as AFDC.  

Part II  

General Information  

Article 1  

Services  

22VAC40-880-20. Services provided.  

A. Child support enforcement services shall be provided as a 

group to AFDC, AFDC/FC, and non-AFDC clients to all 

TANF and non-TANF customers. Courts and other state IV-

D agencies may apply for location-only services. Medicaid 

only Medicaid-only clients shall be provided services to 

establish or enforce medical support and may, at their request, 

receive full services health care orders.  

B. Child support enforcement services shall include the 

following services which may involve administrative or court 

action:  

1. Location of absent parents, their employers, or their 

sources of income;  

2. Establishment of paternity;  

3. Establishment or modification of child support 

obligations, including the responsibility to provide health 

insurance coverage;  

4. Enforcement of child support and medical support 

obligations, both administratively and judicially 

determined; and  

5. Collection and disbursement of child support payments, 

regardless of whether the obligation is legally established.  

B. The department shall provide locate services (i) whenever 

the location of parents or their sources of income or assets is 

needed in order to establish parentage, establish a child 

support order, or enforce a child support obligation and (ii) 

when there is sufficient identifying information available to 

the department to access locate sources. 

22VAC40-880-30. Eligibility for services. (Repealed.) 

A. Individuals who apply for TANF, AFDC/FC, or 

Medicaid only assistance are automatically eligible for child 

support services.  

1. TANF and AFDC/FC applicants and recipients must 

subrogate all rights to support to IV-D, which includes all 

child support services as a condition of eligibility for 

public assistance unless a determination of good cause has 

been made for the IV-D agency not to pursue child support 

services.  

2. Medicaid applicants/recipients must accept medical 

support and paternity establishment services as a condition 

of eligibility for Medicaid unless the local social services 

agency determines that good cause exists for not accepting 

these services.  

3. The department shall close a child support case in which 

the local social service agency has determined that good 

cause exists for not cooperating with the department in its 

pursuit of child support.  

4. The department shall continue to provide child support 

services to an individual whose TANF, AFDC/FC, or 

Medicaid case closes.  

a. The department shall provide these services without 

requiring a formal application.  

b. The department shall continue to provide these 

services until the applicant/recipient states in writing that 

the services are no longer wanted. This request will result 

in closure of the child support case unless this action is 

contrary to state or federal law, or outstanding arrears are 

owed to the Commonwealth for TANF previously paid.  

B. An individual who is not receiving TANF, AFDC/FC, or 

Medicaid assistance must make an application for child 

support services as a condition of eligibility for those services 

with the exception that an application is not required for cases 

transferred from the courts to the department on or after 

October 1, 1985. For such cases the payee shall be deemed as 

having executed an authorization to seek or enforce a support 

obligation with the department unless the payee specifically 

indicates that the department's services are not desired.  

1. The child for whom child support is being requested 

must have an order in place for his support, or be under 18 

years of age.  

2. If the child for whom support is being sought is under 18 

years of age, the applicant must be the parent or physical 

guardian of the child.  

C. Individuals residing outside of Virginia shall be eligible 

for child support services:  

1. Upon a request for services from the IV-D agency in the 

state in which they reside; or  

2. Upon receipt of an application from nonresident 

individuals and accompanying documentation.  

D. Locate-only services.  

1. Custodial parents may apply for locate-only services.  

2. Noncustodial parents may apply for locate-only services 

for custody and visitation purposes only.  

3. Courts and other state IV-D agencies are eligible for 

child support enforcement services or for location only 

services.  
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Article 2  

Department as Payee  

22VAC40-880-40. Assignment of rights. (Repealed.) 

A. Assignment of child support rights to the Commonwealth 

is automatic by operation of law with receipt of AFDC and 

AFDC/FC assistance and continues after the public assistance 

case closes unless the client requests in writing that the 

services be terminated.  

B. Assignment of medical support rights to the 

Commonwealth is automatic by operation of law with receipt 

of Medicaid only assistance and continues after the public 

assistance case closes unless the client requests in writing that 

the service be terminated.  

22VAC40-880-50. Authorization to seek or enforce a child 

support obligation. (Repealed.) 

Persons receiving child support services shall give the 

department written authorization to seek or enforce support 

on behalf of the child or spouse and child.  

22VAC40-880-60. Special conditions regarding receipt of 

TANF or AFDC/FC. (Repealed.) 

Pursuant to § 63.1-251 of the Code of Virginia, receipt of 

TANF or AFDC/FC assistance creates a debt to the 

Commonwealth.  

Article 3  

Application  

22VAC40-880-70. Application fees. (Repealed.) 

The application fee for child support services is $1.00 for 

nonpublic assistance clients. The department shall pay this fee 

on behalf of such applicants for child support enforcement 

services.  

22VAC40-880-80. Application process. (Repealed.)  

A. The department shall make applications accessible to the 

public and shall include with each application information 

describing child support enforcement services and the 

applicant's rights and responsibilities.  

1. The department shall provide an application on the day 

an individual requests the application when the request is 

made in person.  

2. The department shall send applications within five 

working days of the date a written or telephone request for 

an application is received.  

B. The department shall provide TANF, AFDC/FC, and 

Medicaid recipients with the above information, and the 

rights and responsibilities of applicants, within five working 

days of receiving the referral from a local social service 

agency.  

C. The department shall, within two calendar days of the 

date of application from a nonpublic assistance recipient or 

from the date a referral of a public assistance recipient is 

received, establish a case record, and within 20 calendar days, 

obtain the information needed to locate the noncustodial 

parent, initiate verification of information, if appropriate, and 

gather all relevant facts and documents.  

Article 4  

Case Assessment and Prioritization  

22VAC40-880-90. Case assessment.  

The After establishing a case record, the department shall (i) 

assess the case information to determine if sufficient 

information to establish or enforce a child support obligation 

is available and verified and, (ii) attempt to obtain additional 

case information if the information is not sufficient and, (iii) 

gather all relevant documents, and (iv) verify case 

information which is not verified.  

22VAC40-880-100. Case prioritization.  

A. The department shall give priority to cases which contain 

any of the following on the absent parent or putative father:  

1. Verified, current, residential address; or  

2. Current employer; or  

3. Last known residential address or last known employer 

if the information is less than three years old; or  

4. Social security number and date of birth.  

B. The department shall give low priority but shall review 

periodically cases in which:  

1. There is not adequate identifying or other information to 

meet requirements for submittal for location, or  

2. The absent parent receives supplemental security income 

or public assistance.  

The department shall have the authority to prioritize cases 

based on available information. 

Article 5  

Service of Process  

22VAC40-880-110. Service of process. (Repealed.) 

Service is necessary when child support obligations are 

established either administratively or through court action 

and, in some instances, when actions to enforce the obligation 

are taken. The department shall use diligent efforts to serve 

process as allowed by law.  

Article 6  

Administrative Summons  

22VAC40-880-120. Administrative summons. (Repealed.) 

The department may summons obligees, obligors, and 

parents to appear in the division's office to provide essential 

information necessary for the collection of child support.  

The department may request the Department of Motor 

Vehicles to suspend or refuse to renew the driver's license of 

a party who fails to comply with a subpoena, summons, 

warrant, or writ of capias relating to paternity or child support 

proceedings pursuant to § 46.2-320 of the Code of Virginia.  
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Article 7  

Program Costs  

22VAC40-880-130. Costs associated with the provision of 

child support services. (Repealed.) 

A. The department may not require custodial parents to pay 

the costs associated with the provision of child support 

services unless contesting genetic test results.  

B. The department shall assess and recover fees from the 

parties according to the rules set out in Part XII (22VAC40-

880-680 et seq.) of this chapter.  

Part III  

Location  

22VAC40-880-140. Location services. (Repealed.) 

The department shall provide location services (i) whenever 

the location of absent parents or their employers is needed in 

order to establish or enforce a child support obligation and (ii) 

when there is sufficient identifying information available to 

the department to access location sources.  

22VAC40-880-150. Location sources. (Repealed.) 

Whenever location services are provided, the department 

shall access all necessary locate sources. Locate sources 

include but are not limited to:  

1. Local public and private sources;  

2. State Parent Locator Services;  

3. Electronic Parent Locator Network;  

4. Central Interstate Registry;  

5. Federal Parent Locator Service; and  

6. Parents, friends, and other personal sources.  

22VAC40-880-160. Location time requirements. 

(Repealed.) 

A. The department shall access all appropriate location 

sources within 75 calendar days of receipt of the application 

for child support services or the referral of a public assistance 

recipient if the department determines that such services are 

needed and quarterly thereafter if the location attempts are 

unsuccessful.  

B. The department shall review at least quarterly those cases 

in which previous attempts to locate absent parents or sources 

of income or assets have failed, but adequate identifying and 

other information exists to meet requirements for submittal 

for location.  

C. The department shall provide location services 

immediately if new information is received which may aid in 

location.  

D. The department shall utilize the Federal Parent Locator 

Service at least annually when other location attempts have 

failed with the exception of cases referred through the central 

registry.  

E. When another state requests location services from the 

department, the department shall follow the time 

requirements described in 45 CFR § 303.7.  

Part IV  

Establishing Child Support Obligations  

Article 1  

Paternity Establishment  

22VAC40-880-170. Establishing paternity. (Repealed.) 

In order for the department to establish a child support 

obligation and to enforce and collect child support payments 

from a putative father, the father must be determined to be 

legally responsible for the support of the child. In situations 

in which a putative father has not been legally determined to 

be the father of the child, paternity must be established before 

a child support obligation can be administratively ordered or 

court ordered. The department pursues paternity 

establishment in accordance with §§ 20-49.1 through 20-49.9 

and 63.1-250.1:2 of the Code of Virginia.  

1. The department shall obtain a sworn statement for each 

child from the mother acknowledging the paternity of the 

child or children for whom child support is sought.  

2. Based on this sworn statement, the department shall 

attempt to locate the putative father, if necessary, 

according to the locate time requirements described in Part 

III (22VAC40-880-140 et seq.) of this chapter.  

3. Once the putative father is located, the department shall 

contact him to determine if he is willing to sign a sworn 

statement voluntarily acknowledging paternity or to 

voluntarily submit to genetic testing to determine paternity.  

a. The department shall advise the putative father 

verbally and in writing of his rights and responsibilities 

regarding child support prior to obtaining a sworn 

statement of paternity.  

b. A putative father who signs a sworn statement of 

paternity along with an acknowledgement from the 

mother or who, through genetic testing, is affirmed by at 

least a 98% probability to be the father of the child is 

responsible for the financial support of the child or 

children.  

4. When the putative father does not sign a sworn 

statement of paternity or does not voluntarily submit to 

genetic testing, the department shall order the putative 

father to submit to genetic testing. If the putative father 

refuses to comply with the genetic testing order, the 

department shall petition the court for a paternity 

determination when there is sufficient evidence to do so.  

5. Within 90 calendar days of locating the putative father, 

the department shall:  

a. Obtain a sworn acknowledgement of paternity or 

arrange for voluntary or mandatory genetic testing or the 

purpose of establishing paternity, or  
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b. File a petition with the court for paternity 

establishment.  

6. In any case where more than one putative father has 

been identified, the department shall pursue paternity for 

all putative fathers.  

22VAC40-880-180. Establishing paternity in interstate 

cases. (Repealed.) 

The department shall establish, if possible, the paternity of 

children who do not reside in Virginia when the putative 

father resides in Virginia and a request for such services is 

received from another state IV-D agency.  

Article 2  

Administrative Support Orders  

22VAC40-880-190. Administrative establishment of a 

child support obligation.  

A. The department has statutory authority to establish child 

support obligations through noncourt ordered, legally 

enforceable child support orders. These administrative orders 

have the same force and effect as a support order established 

by the court. These administrative orders shall contain the 

information listed in § 63.1-252.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. The amount of child support that is owed and the 

frequency with which it is paid must be established before the 

payment of child support can be enforced.  

C. The administrative order shall be called the 

administrative support order.  

D. A. The department shall use the administrative support 

order to establish a temporary child support obligation when 

judicial determinations of support are pending due to custody 

and visitation issues.  

E. B. Within 90 calendar days of locating the putative father 

or noncustodial parent, and except as shown in subsection H 

D of this section, the department shall either establish an 

administrative child support order or petition the court to 

serve and complete service of process on the putative father 

or noncustodial parent to establish a child support obligation, 

or shall diligently attempt to complete the service of process 

necessary for an obligation to be ordered.  

F. C. When a court dismisses a petition for a support order 

without prejudice or an administrative hearings officer 

overrules an administrative support action, the department 

shall examine the reasons for the dismissal or overruling to 

determine when or if further action is appropriate.  

G. The child support obligation is established when an 

administrative support order has been served and the 10-day 

appeal period for the administrative order has elapsed.  

H. A child support obligation shall not be established when 

the obligor is receiving Temporary Assistance for Needy 

Families (TANF), Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or 

General Relief (GR) benefits.  

22VAC40-880-200. Determining the amount of the child 

support obligation. (Repealed.) 

A. The administrative child support order shall include 

information and provisions as set forth in § 63.2-1916 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

B. Verification of financial information and use of financial 

statements. 

1. The department shall use financial statements obtained 

from the legally responsible parents to determine the 

amount of the child support obligation and shall verify 

financial information used to determine child support 

obligations. 

2. The legally responsible parents shall complete financial 

statements upon demand by the department. Such 

responsible parties shall certify under penalty of perjury 

the correctness of the statement. 

3. If the custodial parent is a recipient of public assistance, 

the department shall use the information obtained through 

the TANF or AFDC/FC eligibility process to meet the 

financial statement and financial information verification 

requirements. 

4. The department shall define the type of financial 

information which shall be required based on § 63.2-1919 

of the Code of Virginia which is incorporated by reference. 

The department has the authority to request verification of 

financial information for the purpose of establishing or 

modifying a child support obligation. The department will 

not provide credit for self-employment tax paid if the most 

recent federal tax return and the Schedule H attachment are 

not provided by the party upon request. 

5. When both parents are noncustodial, each parent must 

provide financial information. In this situation, the person 

with whom the child resides shall not be required to 

complete a financial statement. 

C. The department shall determine the amount to be paid 

monthly toward past due support when the obligation is 

administratively ordered and when a court ordered obligation 

for support does not specify the amount to be paid toward the 

past due support. The monthly payment for past due support 

will be $65 or 25% of the current obligation, whichever is 

greater, and shall not exceed the amount allowed under the 

federal Consumer Credit Protection Act.  

22VAC40-880-210. Service of the administrative support 

order. (Repealed.) 

The department must legally serve the administrative 

support order on the obligor in order to have an established 

obligation. The department shall also provide a copy of this 

document to the obligee in no less than 14 days from date of 

service on the obligor.  

22VAC40-880-220. Medical support. (Repealed.)  

A. The department shall have the authority to issue orders 

containing provisions for medical support services for the 
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dependent children of obligors if the coverage is available at 

reasonable cost as defined in § 63.1-250.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

B. The obligor shall provide information regarding the 

availability of or changes in health insurance coverage for his 

or her dependent children.  

C. The obligor shall provide health insurance coverage for 

the child or children if health insurance is available through 

his or her employment. The department may enter an 

administrative order or seek a judicial order requiring the 

obligor's employer to enroll the dependent children in a group 

health insurance plan or other similar plan providing health 

insurance coverage offered by the employer as provided in 

§ 20-79.3 of the Code of Virginia.  

22VAC40-880-230. Child support guideline. (Repealed.)  

A. The department shall use the child support guideline, 

which includes the Schedule of Monthly Basic Child Support 

Obligations (§ 20-108.2 B of the Code of Virginia) and 

procedures in §§ 20-108.1 and 20-108.2 of the Code of 

Virginia in calculating obligation amounts except for 

obligations determined as set forth in 22VAC40-880-240 for 

which the presumptive amount will only be used as the initial 

support calculation.  

B. The department may not include benefits from public 

assistance programs as defined in § 63.1-87 of the Code of 

Virginia, Supplemental Security Income, or child support 

received in calculating the combined gross income.  

22VAC40-880-240. Administrative deviation from the 

child support guideline.  

There shall be a rebuttable presumption that the amount of 

child support that results from the application of the 

guidelines is the correct amount of child support pursuant to 

§§ 20-108.1, 20-108.2, and 63.1-264.2 63.2-1918 of the Code 

of Virginia. Deviations from the guideline shall be allowed as 

follows:  

1. A deviation from the gross income of either parent shall 

be allowed when a parent has other dependent children 

residing with him or has child support orders for other 

dependent children for which either parent is legally and 

financially responsible and who are not included in a child 

support order.  

a. If there is an order in place for such child, the actual 

amount of the order is allowed.  

b. If there is no order in place (i.e., the child lives in the 

home of either parent), a deviation is allowed equal to the 

amount of support found in the Schedule of Basic 

Monthly Child Support Obligations (§ 20-108.2 B of the 

Code of Virginia) for the income of the parent receiving 

the deviation and the number of children for whom a 

deviation is allowable as described above.  

2. 1. When either natural or adoptive parent is found to be 

voluntarily unemployed or fails to provide financial 

information upon request, income shall be imputed except 

as indicated below. A natural or adoptive parent is 

determined to be voluntarily unemployed when he quits a 

job without good cause or is fired for cause.  

a. The current or last available monthly income shall be 

used to determine the obligation if that income is 

representative of what the natural or adoptive parent 

could earn or otherwise receive.  

b. If actual income is not available, use the federal 

minimum wage multiplied by 40 hours per week and 

converted to a monthly amount by multiplying the result 

by 4.333.  

c. Where parents have never been employed, income 

shall not be imputed.  

3. 2. No other deviations from the child support guidelines 

may be made in establishing or adjusting administrative 

support orders or reviewing court orders. Should potential 

deviation factors exist, as stated in § 20-108.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, refer the case to court for additional action.  

22VAC40-880-250. Periodic reviews of the child support 

obligation.  

A. Either parent may request a review of the child support 

obligation once every three years. Additional requests may be 

made earlier by providing documentation of a special 

circumstance that a material change of circumstance has 

occurred that potentially affects the child support obligation. 

Such changes shall be limited to the following: 

1. An additional child needs to be covered by added to the 

order; 

2. A child needs to be removed when another child remains 

covered by the order; is no longer eligible to receive 

current support due to a change of custody or emancipation 

and needs to be removed from an existing order that 

includes other children; 

3. A provision for health care coverage needs to be added;  

4. A provision ordering the natural or adoptive parents to 

share the costs of all unreimbursed medical/dental 

expenses exceeding $250 per child per year covered by the 

order needs to be added; or 

5. A change of at least 25% can be documented by the 

requesting party parent in the following circumstances: 

a. Income of either party natural or adoptive parent; 

b. Amount of medical insurance; or 

c. Cost of dependent care. employment-related child-care 

costs. 

B. The department shall adjust an administrative obligation 

when the results of the review indicate a change of at least 

10% in the monthly obligation but not less than $25. 
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Part V  

Enforcing Child Support Obligations  

Article 1  

General  

22VAC40-880-260. Enforcement. (Repealed.) 

A. The department shall, whenever possible, 

administratively enforce compliance with established child 

support orders including both administrative and court orders.  

B. The department shall enforce child support obligations at 

the time the administrative support order is initially entered 

through the use of an income withholding order.  

C. The department shall enforce child support obligations 

when the obligation becomes delinquent through the use of 

one or more of the following administrative enforcement 

remedies:  

1. Income withholding order;  

2. Liens;  

3. Orders to withhold and deliver;  

4. Foreclosure;  

5. Distraint, seizure, and sale;  

6. Unemployment compensation benefits intercept;  

7. Bonds, securities, and guarantees;  

8. Tax intercept;  

9. Internal Revenue Service full collection service;  

10. Credit bureau reporting;  

11. Enforcement remedies for federal employees;  

12. Occupational and professional license suspensions;  

13. Driver's license suspension;  

14. Recreational or sporting license suspensions; or  

15. Financial Institution Data Match.  

D. The department shall attempt to enforce current and 

delinquent child support payments through administrative 

means before petitioning the court for enforcement action 

unless it determines that court action is more appropriate.  

E. The department shall take appropriate enforcement 

action, unless service of process is necessary, within 30 

calendar days of identifying a delinquency or of locating a 

noncustodial parent, whichever occurs later.  

F. The department shall take appropriate enforcement action 

if service of process is necessary within 60 calendar days of 

identifying a delinquency or of locating a noncustodial parent, 

whichever occurs later.  

G. The department shall take appropriate enforcement action 

within the above timeframes to enforce health insurance 

coverage.  

H. When an enforcement action is unsuccessful, the 

department shall examine the reason or reasons and determine 

when it would be appropriate to take an enforcement action in 

the future. The department shall take further enforcement 

action at a time and in a manner determined appropriate by 

department staff.  

I. The department shall use high-volume administrative 

enforcement, to the same extent as used for intrastate cases, in 

response to a request made by another state to enforce support 

orders, and shall promptly report the results of such 

enforcement procedures to the requesting state, pursuant to 

42 USC § 666(a)(14).  

22VAC40-880-270. Withholding of income. (Repealed.) 

A. The department shall issue an income withholding order 

against all income except income exempted under federal and 

state law. 

B. The department shall serve the income withholding order 

on the employer.  

C. The department shall release the income withholding 

order only if one of the following occurs: 

1. The current support order terminates, and any past due 

support is paid in full; 

2. Only past due support is owed and it is paid in full; 

3. The whereabouts of the child or child and custodial 

parent become unknown; 

4. Bankruptcy laws require release; or 

5. A nonpublic assistance custodial parent or former public 

assistance custodial parent no longer wants the services of 

the department and no debt is owed to the Commonwealth. 

Article 2  

Income Withholding Enforcement Remedies  

22VAC40-880-280. Withholding of income; 

administrative support orders. (Repealed.) 

The administrative support order shall include a requirement 

for immediate withholding of the child support obligation 

from the noncustodial parent's income unless the parties agree 

in writing to an alternate payment arrangement, or good cause 

is determined by the department for not implementing an 

immediate withholding, pursuant to 42 USC § 666(a)(8)(B)(i) 

and § 63.1-258.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

22VAC40-880-290. Determining the amount to be applied 

toward past due support.  

The department shall collect any court ordered court-ordered 

amount to be paid toward past due support. If the order does 

not specify an amount to be paid toward past due support, the 

department shall determine the amount to be paid monthly 

toward past due support. The monthly payment for past due 

support will be $65 or 25% of the current or former 

obligation or $65, whichever is greater. For disposable 

earnings, the total amount withheld shall not exceed the 

amount allowed under the federal Consumer Credit Protection 

Act. (See § 34-29 of the Code of Virginia.)  
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22VAC40-880-300. Alternative payment arrangement. 

(Repealed.)  

The custodial parent and noncustodial parent may mutually 

choose an alternative payment arrangement at the time the 

obligation is established as an alternate to immediate 

withholding of income for payment of child support.  

Article 3  

Other Enforcement Remedies  

22VAC40-880-310. Enforcement remedies. (Repealed.)  

The department shall have the authority to administratively 

collect delinquent child support payments from absent 

parents. These are called enforcement remedies.  

22VAC40-880-320. Initiated withholding of income.  

In all initial and modified administrative support orders, the 

department shall initiate an income withholding order unless 

the parties agree to an alternative payment arrangement. The 

department shall send initiate an income withholding order to 

an the noncustodial parent's employer requiring the deduction 

withholding of the child support obligation from the 

noncustodial parent's income under the following 

circumstances:  

1. When a payment is delinquent in an amount equal to or 

exceeding one month's child support obligation, or  

2. When either parent requests that withholding begin 

regardless of whether past due support is owed or support 

payments are in arrears.  

22VAC40-880-330. Liens. (Repealed.)  

A. A lien arises by operation of law for overdue support 

pursuant to 42 USC § 666(a)(4)(A) and the department may 

file a lien on the real or personal property of the noncustodial 

parent when the division has:  

1. Issued an administrative support order;  

2. Received a Virginia court order; or  

3. Received a support order from a jurisdiction outside of 

Virginia.  

B. Any lien of the department shall have the priority of a 

secured creditor.  

C. Any lien of the department shall be subordinate to the 

lien of any prior mortgagee.  

D. Any lien shall be released when the past due support has 

been paid in full.  

22VAC40-880-340. Orders to withhold and deliver. 

(Repealed.)  

A. The department may use orders to withhold and deliver 

to collect assets such as bank accounts, trust funds, stocks, 

bonds, and other types of financial holdings when past due 

support is owed.  

B. The department may use high-volume administrative 

enforcement (AEI) in response to a request made by another 

state to enforce support orders by using orders to withhold 

and deliver to collect assets such as bank accounts, trust 

funds, stocks, bonds, and other types of financial holdings 

when past due support is owed. The department shall 

promptly report the results of such enforcement procedure to 

the requesting state.  

C. The department shall release the order to withhold when 

the order cannot be served on the noncustodial parent.  

D. The department shall release the order to deliver when:  

1. The past due support is paid, or  

2. The noncustodial parent makes satisfactory alternate 

arrangements for paying the full amount of the past due 

support.  

22VAC40-880-350. Distraint, seizure, and sale.  

A. The department may use distraint, including booting of 

vehicle, seizure and sale against the real or personal property 

of a noncustodial parent when: 

1. There are arrears is an arrearage of at least $1,000 for a 

case with a current support obligation and at least $500 for 

an arrears-only case; 

2. Conventional enforcement remedies have failed or are 

not appropriate; and 

3. A lien has been filed pursuant to § 63.2-1927 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

B. Assets targeted for distraint, including booting of vehicle, 

seizure and sale are: 

1. Solely owned by the noncustodial parent. 

2. Co-owned by the noncustodial parent and current 

spouse. 

3. Owned by a business in which the noncustodial parent is 

the sole proprietor. Assets owned by business partnerships 

or corporations which are co-owned with someone other 

than a noncustodial parent's current spouse do not qualify 

for booting of vehicle, or seizure and sale. 

C. The Director director of the Division of Child Support 

Enforcement division or his designee shall give final approval 

for the use of distraint, seizure and sale. This includes 

immobilizing a vehicle using vehicle boots. 

D. When initiating booting, or seizure and sale of vehicle, 

the department shall check with the Department of Motor 

Vehicles for vehicles registered in the noncustodial parent's 

name, the address on the vehicle registration, and the name of 

any lien holder on the vehicle. 

E. Once a lien has been filed pursuant to § 63.2-1927 of the 

Code of Virginia, the department shall send a notice of intent 

to the noncustodial parent before initiating distraint, including 

booting of vehicle, seizure and sale action. If there is reason 

to believe that the noncustodial parent will leave town or hide 

the asset, the asset can be seized without sending the notice 

and with proper documentation. 

F. If the noncustodial parent contacts the department in 

response to the intent notice, the department shall request 

payment of arrears the arrearage in full. The department shall 
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negotiate a settlement if the noncustodial parent cannot pay 

the arrears in full. The least acceptable settlement is 5.0% of 

the arrearage owed or $500, whichever is greater, with 

additional monthly payments towards the arrears arrearage 

that will satisfy the arrearage within 10 years. The department 

may initiate distraint, including booting of vehicle, seizure 

and sale, without further notice to the noncustodial parent if 

the noncustodial parent defaults on the payments as agreed. 

G. The department shall send a fieri facias request to each 

county or city where a lien is filed and a levy is being 

executed if the noncustodial parent does not contact the 

department in response to the intent notice. 

H. The department shall set a target date for seizure or 

booting and have the sheriff levy the property or boot the 

vehicle. 

I. Once property has been seized or booted by the sheriff, 

the department must (i) reach a payment agreement with the 

noncustodial parent of 5.0% of the arrearage owed or $500, 

whichever is greater, with additional monthly payments 

towards the arrears arrearage that will satisfy the arrearage 

within 10 years and release the vehicle to the owner; (ii) 

proceed with the sale of the vehicle pursuant to § 63.2-1933 

of the Code of Virginia; or (iii) at the end of 90 days from the 

issuance of the writ of fieri facias, release the vehicle to the 

owner. 

J. The department shall send a cancellation notice to the 

sheriff if a decision is made to terminate the seizure action 

before the asset is actually seized. 

K. If the department sells an asset and it is a motor vehicle, 

the department shall notify the Department of Motor Vehicles 

to issue clear title to the new owner of the vehicle. 

22VAC40-880-360. Unemployment compensation benefits 

intercept. (Repealed.)  

The department may intercept unemployment compensation 

benefits for support within the limits set by the federal 

Consumer Credit Protection Act pursuant to 15 USC 

§ 1673(b) and § 34-29 of the Code of Virginia.  

22VAC40-880-370. Bonds, securities, and guarantees. 

(Repealed.)  

The department shall use administrative bonds, securities, 

and guarantees as an enforcement action only if the amount of 

the delinquency exceeds $1,000 and:  

1. After all other enforcement actions fail; or  

2. When no other enforcement actions are feasible.  

22VAC40-880-380. Tax intercept.  

A. The department shall intercept state and federal income 

tax refunds due to obligors that owe support arrearages.  

B. The Virginia Department of Taxation prescribes rules for 

interception of state tax refunds and notification to the person 

whose state tax refund is being intercepted.  

1. The department may retain moneys up to the amount 

owed on the due date of the finalization notice from the 

department to the Virginia Department of Taxation.  

2. The department may intercept state tax refunds when the 

delinquent amount arrearage equals at least $25.  

3. State tax refund intercepts shall be disbursed in the same 

manner as support payments. Federal tax intercepts shall 

be disbursed as required pursuant to 42 USC § 664.  

4. The department may not disburse the intercepted state 

taxes if the noncustodial parent has appealed the intercept 

action and the appeal is pending.  

5. The department shall issue a refund to the noncustodial 

parent when one of the following occurs:  

a. The intercept was made in error;  

b. The noncustodial parent pays the delinquent amount 

arrearage in full after the Department of Taxation has 

been notified of the delinquency arrearage and before the 

tax refund is intercepted; or  

c. The total amount intercepted is more than the amount 

of the delinquency arrearage owed at the time that 

notification of the tax intercept is received from the 

Department of Taxation, and the noncustodial parent 

does not agree to allow the department to apply the 

excess funds to any delinquency arrearage that accrued 

after certification for tax intercept.  

C. The Internal Revenue Service has prescribed rules 

regarding the interception of federal tax refunds. 45 CFR 

302.60 and 303.72 are incorporated by reference in this 

chapter.  

22VAC40-880-385. License suspension. (Repealed.)  

A. The department may petition the court to suspend any 

license, certificate, registration or other authorization to 

engage in a business, trade, profession or occupation pursuant 

to 42 USC § 666(a)(16) and § 63.1-263.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

B. The department may request the Department of Motor 

Vehicles to suspend or refuse to renew the driver's license of 

an obligor pursuant to 42 USC § 666(a)(16) and § 46.2-320 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

C. The department may petition the court to suspend any 

recreation or sporting activity license issued to an obligor 

pursuant to 42 USC § 666(a)(16) and § 63.1-263.1 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

Article 4  

Federal Enforcement Remedies  

22VAC40-880-390. Additional remedies.  

In addition to state administrative enforcement remedies, the 

department shall use utilize available federal enforcement 

remedies to enforce child support obligations and collect 

accumulated support arrearages.  
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22VAC40-880-405. Passport denial program. 

A. The department shall participate in the Passport Denial 

Program for the denial, revocation, or limitation of 

noncustodial parents' passports where child support 

arrearages exceed the federally mandated threshold. 

B. The department shall certify the arrearages to the federal 

Office of Child Support Enforcement, which will then (i) 

send notice of the certification on behalf of the department to 

the individual and (ii) certify the arrearage to the Department 

of State pursuant to the Passport Denial Program. 

C. An individual has the right to appeal per the notice to a 

Department of Social Services' hearing officer. The only 

issues reviewable on appeal are (i) whether the arrears met 

the threshold at the time of certification, or (ii) mistaken 

identity. The decision of the hearing officer is final with no 

further appeal. An appeal from the hearing officer shall be to 

circuit court pursuant to the procedures under the Setoff Debt 

Collection Act (§ 58.1-520 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

The issues in subsections D and E are not reviewable by the 

hearing officer. 

D. An individual's child support arrearages shall be paid in 

full before the department notifies the federal Office of Child 

Support Enforcement that the individual is eligible to receive 

a passport. 

E. Exceptions to paying all arrearages prior to release of a 

passport may be granted by the IV-D agency director upon 

written request documenting compelling evidence of a life-or-

death situation of an immediate family member. Such 

decision whether to grant an exception shall be in the sole 

discretion of the IV-D agency director. 

22VAC40-880-410. Enforcement remedies to be used 

against federal employees.  

A. The department may apply its enforcement remedies 

against United States military and civilian active and retired 

personnel current and retired employees of the United States.  

B. When enforcement under Virginia law is unsuccessful, 

the department may use involuntary allotments to enforce 

support obligations of certain federal employees, including 

active military personnel and public health services 

employees.  

1. For the purposes of these enforcement actions, 

delinquency shall be defined as failure of the noncustodial 

parent to make support payments equal to the amount due 

for two months.  

2. The amount of money withheld from these wages shall 

be up to the amount allowed under the federal Consumer 

Credit Protection Act pursuant to 15 USC § 1673(b) and 

§ 34-29 of the Code of Virginia. 

Part VI  

Administrative Appeals  

22VAC40-880-420. Appeal rules. (Repealed.)  

Actions to establish and enforce child support obligations 

administratively may be appealed according to the following 

rules.  

22VAC40-880-430. Validity of the appeal.  

A. The department shall determine the validity of an 

administrative appeal.  

1. The appeal must be in writing.  

2. If the appeal is personally delivered, the appeal must be 

received within 10 working days of service of the notice of 

the proposed action on the appellant.  

3. If mailed, the postmark must be within 10 business days 

from the date of service of the notice of the proposed 

action on the appellant.  

B. The only exception to this shall be For appeals of federal 

and state tax intercepts. The, the appellant shall have 30 days 

to note an appeal a tax intercept notice to the department.  

22VAC40-880-440. General rules for appeals.  

A. The appeal shall be heard by a hearing officer.  

1. The hearing officer may hold the hearing by telephone 

or in the district office where the custodial parent or his or 

her case resides unless another location is requested by the 

appellant.  

2. The parties parents may be represented at the hearing by 

legal counsel.  

3. The appellant may withdraw the appeal at any time. The 

department may withdraw its actions at any time, such as 

when a case review reveals new information or that prior 

action taken was incorrect.  

4. The hearing officer shall accept a request for a 

continuance from the noncustodial parent or the custodial 

parent if:  

a. The request is made in writing at least five business 

days prior to the hearing, and  

b. The request is for not more than a 10-day continuance, 

except when the facts presented justify an exception.  

B. The hearing officer shall notify the parties parents of the 

date and time of the hearing in accordance with § 63.1-267.1 

63.2-1942 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. Prior to the hearing, the hearing officer shall send the 

parties parents a copy of the case summary prepared by the 

district office.  

D. The hearing officer shall serve the appellant and mail the 

other party a copy of the hearing officer's decision either at 

the time of the hearing or no later than 45 days from the date 

the appeal request was first received by the department.  
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E. The hearing officer shall notify the parties in writing by 

certified mail if the appeal is determined to be abandoned 

because the appellant did not appear at the hearing.  

F. Either party may appeal the hearing officer's decision as 

follows:  

1. For cases under the Setoff Debt Collection Act (§ 58.1-

520 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), to the circuit court on 

the record within 30 days of the date of the decision.  

2. For all other cases, to the juvenile and domestic relations 

district court de novo within 10 calendar days of receipt of 

the decision.  

22VAC40-880-450. Appeal of enforcement actions. 

(Repealed.)  

A. The absent parent may appeal the actions of the 

department to enforce a support obligation only under the 

following conditions:  

1. For withholding of earnings; liens; distraint, seizure, and 

sale; and unemployment compensation benefits intercept 

the appeal shall be based only on a mistake of fact;  

2. For orders to withhold and deliver the appeal shall be 

based only on (i) a mistake of fact or (ii) whether the funds 

to be withheld are exempt by law from garnishment; and  

3. Federal and state tax intercepts may be appealed based 

only on (i) a mistake of fact or (ii) the validity of the claim.  

B. A mistake of fact is based on:  

1. An error in the identity of the absent parent, or  

2. An error in the amount of current support or past due 

support.  

22VAC40-880-460. Appeal of federal enforcement 

remedies. (Repealed.)  

Actions to enforce child support payments through federal 

enforcement remedies may not be appealed through the 

Department of Social Services. Absent parents shall appeal 

these actions to the federal agency which took the action.  

Part VII  

Interstate Responsibilities  

22VAC40-880-470. Long-arm authority. (Repealed.)  

The department shall extend its authority whenever possible 

to establish and enforce child support obligations on out-of-

state absent parents as provided in § 63.1-250.1 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

22VAC40-880-480. Cooperation with other state IV-D 

agencies.  

A. When the noncustodial parent and the custodial parent 

parents reside in different states, cooperation between these 

state agencies may be necessary.  

B. The department shall provide the same services to other 

state IV-D cases that it provides to its own cases with the 

following conditions:  

1. The request for services must be in writing; and  

2. The request for services must list the specific services 

needed.  

C. The department shall request in writing the services of 

other state IV-D agencies when one parent resides in 

Virginia, but the other parent resides in another state.  

D. Other department responsibilities in providing services to 

other state IV-D cases and obtaining services from other state 

IV-D agencies are defined in 45 CFR 303.7 and §§ 63.1-

274.6 63.2-1902 and 20-88.32 through 20-88.82 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

22VAC40-880-490. Central registry. (Repealed.)  

A. The department shall manage the flow of interstate 

correspondence through a Central Registry located in the 

division's central office. Correspondence will be handled 

according to the rules established by the state and federal 

regulations cited by reference above.  

B. The Central Registry shall act as the Uniform Interstate 

Family Support Act State Information Agent required by 

§§ 63.1-274.6 and 20-88.32 through 20-88.82 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Part VIII  

Confidentiality and Exchange of Information  

Article 1  

Information Collected by the Department  

22VAC40-880-500. Information collected from state, 

county, and city offices. (Repealed.) 

A. The department may request and shall receive from state, 

county, city, and local agencies within and without the 

Commonwealth information about noncustodial parents.  

B. The department shall use this information to locate and 

collect child support payments from noncustodial parents.  

22VAC40-880-510. Subpoena of financial information. 

(Repealed.)  

The department may subpoena financial records or other 

information relating to the obligor and obligee from a person, 

firm, corporation, association, political subdivision, or state 

agency to establish or enforce the collection of child support. 

A civil penalty not to exceed $1,000 may be assessed for 

failure to respond to a subpoena, pursuant to 42 USC § 666 

(c)(1)(B) and § 63.1-250.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

Article 2  

Information Released by the Department  

22VAC40-880-520. Agencies to whom the department 

releases information. (Repealed.) 

A. The department may release information on the parents 

as set forth in 45 CFR 303.21 to courts and other state child 

support agencies for the purpose of establishing or enforcing 

a child support order.  

B. The department may release information directly bearing 

on the identity and whereabouts of a noncustodial parent or 

putative father to public officials and agencies seeking to 
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locate obligors for the purpose of enforcing child support 

obligations including but not limited to the Attorney General, 

law-enforcement agencies, prosecuting attorneys, courts of 

competent jurisdiction and agencies in other states engaged in 

the enforcement of support of children and their caretakers.  

C. The department shall provide information on the 

noncustodial or custodial parent to an entity other than the 

ones listed above with the written permission of that parent. 

However, the department may not release information 

regarding the noncustodial parent's debt to private collection 

agencies, if it deems such disclosure inappropriate.  

D. The department shall release information concerning 

parents' medical support payments and medical support 

orders to the Department of Medical Assistance Services.  

22VAC40-880-530. Release of information to and from the 

Internal Revenue Service. (Repealed.) 

A. The department may not release information provided by 

the Internal Revenue Service to anyone outside of the 

department with the following exceptions:  

1. The department may release the information to local 

social service agencies and the courts, but the source of the 

information may not be released.  

2. The department may release information provided by the 

Internal Revenue Service if that information is verified by 

a source independent of the IRS.  

B. The division director, or a designee, may release 

information on absent parents to the Internal Revenue 

Service.  

22VAC40-880-540. Request for information from the 

general public. (Repealed.)  

The department shall answer requests for information from 

the general public within five working days of receipt of the 

request or less as federal and state law may require.  

22VAC40-880-550. Requests for information from 

parents. (Repealed.)  

A. The department shall release, upon request from either 

parent, copies of court orders, administrative orders, 

enforcement actions, fiscal records, and financial information 

used to calculate the obligation. However, when a protective 

order has been issued or there is a risk of physical or 

emotional harm from the other party, information other than 

the name of the party at risk shall not be released.  

B. The department shall release to either parent personal 

information contained in the case record which pertains to the 

individual requesting the information with one exception. The 

department may not release medical or psychological 

information for which the physician providing the 

information has stated the individual should not have access.  

C. Either parent may correct, challenge, or explain the 

personal information which pertains to that individual and 

may challenge the financial information of the other parent.  

D. The department shall charge a fee for copying case record 

information. The department shall base the fee on the cost of 

copying the material.  

22VAC40-880-560. Release of health insurance 

information.  

The department shall provide specific third party liability 

information to the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services in order for that agency to pursue the noncustodial 

parent's health insurance provider for any Medicaid funds 

expended for his or her dependents who are receiving TANF 

or AFDC/FC federal foster care or who are Medicaid-only 

clients.  

A. The department shall release health insurance coverage 

information on TANF, AFDC/FC federal foster care, and 

Medicaid only Medicaid-only cases to the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services as prescribed in the cooperative 

agreement between the department and that agency.  

B. The department shall release health insurance coverage 

information on TANF, AFDC/FC federal foster care, and 

Medicaid only Medicaid-only cases to other state child 

support agencies upon their request.  

Part IX  

Rights and Responsibilities of the Custodial Parent and of the 

Department  

Article 1  

Custodial Parent's Rights and Responsibilities  

22VAC40-880-570. Custodial parents. (Repealed.)  

Throughout this chapter rights and responsibilities of the 

custodial parents are mentioned in general terms. This section 

of the chapter does not abridge those rights and 

responsibilities; it adds to them.  

22VAC40-880-580. Custodial parent's rights. (Repealed.)  

A. The department shall give the custodial parent prior 

notice of major decisions about the child support case.  

B. The department shall periodically inform the custodial 

parent of the progress of the case.  

C. The department shall provide the custodial parent with 

copies of appropriate notices as identified in this chapter.  

D. The department shall advise custodial parents who 

receive AFDC of the following rights:  

1. The $50 disregard payments, and  

2. Eligibility for continued Medicaid coverage when 

AFDC is no longer received.  

E. The department shall advise parents who receive AFDC, 

AFDC/FC, and Medicaid only of their eligibility for 

continued child support services when public assistance is no 

longer received.  

F. The department shall inform all non-AFDC or AFDC/FC 

clients at the time of application for services of the effect of 

past receipt of AFDC or AFDC/FC on the collection of child 

support payments.  
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22VAC40-880-590. Custodial parent's responsibilities. 

(Repealed.)  

A. Custodial parents must give full and complete 

information, if known, regarding the absent parent's name, 

address, social security number, current employment, and 

employment history and provide new information when 

learned.  

B. Custodial parents must inform the department of any 

public assistance which was received in the past on behalf of 

the parent and children.  

C. Custodial parents must promptly (i) inform the 

department of any divorce actions or court actions to establish 

a child support order, (ii) send to the department copies of 

any legal documents pertaining to divorce, support, or 

custody, and (iii) inform the department of any changes in 

custody or plans for reconciliation with the absent parent.  

D. Custodial parents must notify the department if an 

attorney is hired to handle a child support matter.  

E. Custodial parents must notify the department immediately 

of any change in their financial circumstances.  

F. Custodial parents must notify the department in writing 

regarding any change of their address or name. When 

possible, the custodial parent shall give this notification 30 

days in advance.  

Article 2  

Department's Rights and Responsibilities  

22VAC40-880-600. Department's rights. (Repealed.) 

A. The department shall decide, in a manner consistent with 

state and federal requirements, the best way to handle a child 

support case.  

B. The department shall decide when to close a case based 

on federal requirements and the criteria in Part XI 

(22VAC40-880-670 et seq.).  

22VAC40-880-610. Department's responsibilities. 

(Repealed.)  

A. The department shall act in a manner consistent with the 

best interests of the child.  

B. The department shall establish a priority system for 

providing services which will ensure that services are 

provided in a timely manner.  

C. The department shall keep custodial parents advised 

about the progress of the child support cases and shall include 

custodial parents in major decisions made about the handling 

of the child support case.  

Part X  

Processing Support Payments  

Article 1  

Child Support and Medical Support Payments  

22VAC40-880-620. Disbursement of payments. 

(Repealed.) 

A. A noncustodial parent may have multiple child support 

obligations. 

1. Each case shall receive full payment of the current 

obligation when possible. 

2. If the noncustodial parent's disposable earnings do not 

cover the full payment for each current support order, the 

department shall prorate the amount withheld among all 

orders. 

B. Current support obligations shall be satisfied before 

satisfying past due support. 

C. The method by which child support and medical support 

payments are disbursed is governed by 45 CFR 302.51 and 

302.52 which are incorporated by reference. 

D. No refund shall be made of any overpayment of support 

under $1 except upon written request by the payor. 

Article 2  

Payment Recovery  

22VAC40-880-630. Bad checks. (Repealed.)  

A. When a payment made by an employer or absent parent 

is not honored upon presentation to the bank on which it was 

drawn, the department shall first demand payment from the 

employer or absent parent.  

B. If the employer or absent parent does not comply with the 

demand and the custodial parent is not an AFDC or 

AFDC/FC recipient, the department shall recover the 

payment from the custodial parent according to the methods 

described in 22VAC40-880-650.  

C. The department shall concurrently take enforcement 

action against the absent parent or legal action against the 

employer.  

D. If a check received from a custodial parent is not honored 

upon presentation to the bank upon which it was drawn, the 

department shall demand payment from the custodial parent.  

22VAC40-880-640. Erroneous or duplicate disbursements. 

(Repealed.)  

A. When the department sends the custodial parent a 

payment in error or a duplicate payment, the department shall 

first demand payment from the custodial parent.  

B. If the custodial parent is not an AFDC or AFDC/FC 

recipient and does not comply with the demand, the 

department shall recover the amount of the payment 

according to the methods described in 22VAC40-880-650.  
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22VAC40-880-650. Methods of payment recovery from 

the custodial parent. (Repealed.) 

A. If the custodial parent is not a TANF or AFDC/FC 

recipient, the department shall:  

1. Intercept and retain payments for past due support 

(arrears) by retaining the lesser of the balance due or 100% 

of any intercepted funds and any amounts seized from 

bank accounts; and  

2. Retain 10% of the current support payment.  

B. If the custodial parent is a TANF or AFDC/FC recipient 

and retains an erroneous payment, the division shall notify the 

Division of Temporary Assistance Program.  

Article 3  

Uncollectible Debts  

22VAC40-880-660. Debt discharge. (Repealed.)  

The department may identify uncollectible support debts and 

discharge them from its record.  

Part XI  

Case Closure  

22VAC40-880-670. General rules. (Repealed.)  

A. The department shall terminate child support 

enforcement services when one of the criteria defined in the 

45 CFR 303.11 is met.  

B. The department shall continue to provide collection and 

disbursement services until alternate arrangement for these 

services has been made.  

Part XII  

Cost Recovery  

Article 1  

General  

22VAC40-880-680. Recovery of fees. (Repealed.)  

A. The department shall assess and recover from the 

noncustodial parent:  

1. Attorney's fees;  

2. Genetic testing fees for paternity establishment; and  

3. Intercept programs' costs.  

B. The department shall use any mechanism provided in 

Title 63.1 of the Code of Virginia to enforce these fees and 

costs.  

22VAC40-880-690. Attorney's fees for enforcement. 

(Repealed.)  

A. Attorney fees shall not exceed the amount allowed court-

appointed counsel in the district courts pursuant to 

subdivision 1 of § 19.2-163 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. The department shall not recover attorneys' fees or costs 

in any case in which the absent parent prevails.  

22VAC40-880-700. Genetic testing. (Repealed.)  

A. The department shall set the costs of the genetic testing 

for paternity establishment at the rate charged the department 

by the provider of genetic testing services.  

B. Where an original genetic test for paternity establishment 

is contested and either party requests additional testing, the 

department may require advance payment by the contestant.  

22VAC40-880-710. Intercept programs. (Repealed.)  

The department shall charge the absent parent the rate 

actually charged the department.  

22VAC40-880-720. Service of process, seizure and sale. 

(Repealed.)  

The department shall have the authority to charge the 

noncustodial parent the actual costs for service of process, 

and seizure and sale pursuant to a levy on a judgment in 

enforcement actions, per § 63.1-274.10 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2892; Filed May 29, 2013, 8:41 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

State Implementation Plan Revision - Sulfur Dioxide 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 

proposed plan to assure necessary authorities are contained in 

the state implementation plan (SIP) to allow areas to attain 

and maintain the national ambient air quality standard for 

sulfur dioxide (SO2). The Commonwealth intends to submit 

the plan as a revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP 

in accordance with the requirements of § 110(a) of the federal 

Clean Air Act. The SIP is the plan developed by the 

Commonwealth in order to fulfill its responsibilities under the 

federal Clean Air Act to attain and maintain the ambient air 

quality standards promulgated by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) under the Act. 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 

whether the plan demonstrates the Commonwealth's 

compliance with federal Clean Air Act requirements related 

to general state plan infrastructure for controlling SO2. 

Public comment period: July 1, 2013, to August 1, 2013. 

Public hearing: A public hearing will be conducted at the 

Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 

Second Floor Conference Room A, Richmond, Virginia, 

beginning at 10 a.m. on July 31, 2013. 

Description of proposal: The proposed revision will consist of 

a demonstration of compliance with the general requirements 

of § 110(a)(2) of the federal Clean Air Act for the 2010 

SO2 national ambient air quality standard (NAAQS). 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations 

(40 CFR 51.102). The proposal will be submitted as a 

revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) 

of the federal Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 

51.104. It is planned to submit all provisions of the proposal 

as a revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DEQ on the last 

day of the comment period. All information received is part 

of the public record. 

To review proposal: The proposal and any supporting 

documents are available on the DEQ Air Public Notices for 

Plans website: 

http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airpla

nsandprograms.aspx. The documents may also be obtained by 

contacting the DEQ representative named below. The public 

may review the documents between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. 

of each business day until the close of the public comment 

period at the following DEQ locations:  

1) DEQ Main Street Office, 629 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4070,  

2) Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA, telephone (276) 676-4800,  

3) Blue Ridge Regional Office, Roanoke Location, 3019 

Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, VA, telephone (540) 562-

6700,  

4) Blue Ridge Regional Office, Lynchburg Location, 7705 

Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, VA, telephone (434) 582-

5120,  

5) Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, 

VA, telephone (540) 574-7800,  

6) Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen 

Allen, VA, telephone (804) 527-5020,  

7) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800, and  

8) Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA, telephone (757) 518-2000. 

Contact Information: Doris A. McLeod, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4197, FAX (804) 

698-4510, TDD (804) 698-4021, or email 

doris.mcleod@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 

May 20, 2013 

Administrative Letter 2013-05 

To: All Insurers and Other Interested Parties 

Re: Legislation Enacted by the 2013 Virginia General 

Assembly 

We have attached for your reference summaries of certain 

statutes enacted or amended and re-enacted during the 2013 

Session of the Virginia General Assembly. The effective date 

of these statutes is July 1, 2013, except as otherwise indicated 

in this letter. Each organization to which this letter is being 

sent should review the summaries carefully and see that 

notice of these laws is directed to the proper persons, 

including appointed representatives, to ensure that appropriate 

action is taken to effect compliance with these new legal 

requirements. Copies of individual bills may be obtained at 

http://lis.virginia.gov/lis.htm or via the links we have 

provided in the summary headings. You may enter the bill 

number (not the chapter number) on the Virginia General 

Assembly Home Page, and you will be linked to the 

Legislative Information System. You may also link from the 

Legislative Information System to any existing section of the 

Code of Virginia. All statutory references made in the letter 

http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
http://lis.virginia.gov/lis.htm
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are to Title 38.2 (Insurance) of the Code of Virginia unless 

otherwise noted. All references to the Commission refer to 

the State Corporation Commission. The federal Patient 

Protection and Affordable Care Act is referred to as the ACA 

throughout this letter. 

Please note that this document is a summary of legislation. It 

is neither a legal review and interpretation nor a full 

description of the legislative amendments affecting insurance-

related laws during the 2013 Session.  Each person or 

organization is responsible for review of relevant statutes. 

/s/ Jacqueline K. Cunningham 

Commissioner of Insurance 

Chapter 9 (House Bill 1396) 

The bill amends § 38.2-1878 (Insurance Agents Chapter) to 

eliminate a provision that caps, at $10 per customer, the 

incidental compensation that a vendor of portable electronics 

may provide to its employees or authorized representatives 

who sell portable electronics insurance. 

Chapter 11 (House Bill 1510) 

The bill amends § 38.2-4504 (Dental or Optometric Services 

Plans Chapter) to provide that each dental or optometric 

services plan must be offered through a nonstock corporation. 

The Commission shall consider the sufficiency of 

contingency reserves and subject the nonstock corporation to 

the requirements of Chapter 17 (Virginia Life, Accident and 

Sickness Insurance Guaranty Association) when considering 

the nonstock corporation's application for changing its status 

from an agent to a nonagent nonstock corporation. Subsection 

E of § 38.2-4504 is amended to require the nonstock 

corporation to maintain a contingency reserve of $4 million. 

Chapter 12 (House Bill 1527) 

The bill amends Subsection B of § 38.2-2107 (Fire Insurance 

Policies Chapter) to clarify that excess fire coverage may be 

written as a stand-alone policy or as an endorsement to a 

policy. The bill also removes the requirement that insurers 

indicate in the title or the heading of the policy whether the 

coverage is written on a primary or excess basis. 

Chapter 13 (House Bill 1528) 

The bill amends § 38.2-231 (General Provisions Chapter) to 

permit insurers to send termination notices on commercial 

liability policies only to the first named insured listed in the 

policy's declarations page. Previously, the law required 

termination notices to be sent to all named insureds. 

Chapter 27 (House Bill 2118) 

The bill amends Subsection B of § 38.2-305 (Insurance 

Policies and Contract Provisions Chapter) to clarify which 

notice requirements are applicable to all insurers, and which 

requirements are applicable only to health maintenance 

organizations. 

Chapter 29 (House Bill 2155) 

The bill amends § 38.2-4809.1 (Surplus Lines Insurance Law 

Chapter). The bill makes technical changes to facilitate the 

transfer of the administration of premium license tax from the 

Commission to the Department of Taxation.  

Chapter 75 (House Bill 1655) 

The bill amends § 38.2-2201 (Liability Insurance Policies 

Chapter) to provide a mechanism by which health care 

providers may seek a valid assignment of medical expense 

benefits provided under a motor vehicle insurance policy in 

cases where the injury being treated arises out of the 

ownership, operation, or use of a motor vehicle. The bill 

provides that the health care provider must give the injured 

person notice of his rights regarding assignment of such 

benefits at the time he is asked to make the assignment. The 

injured person is not required to sign or initial the assignment 

in order to receive care. The amendment provides that the 

insured may wish to consult his insurance agent or an 

attorney before executing the form permitting the assignment 

of his medical expense benefits. 

Chapter 93 (Senate Bill 777) 

The bill restates and clarifies § 38.2-232 (General Provisions) 

relating to notice of a lapse or pending lapse of the types of 

life and accident and sickness policies or annuities as defined 

in §§ 38.2-102 through 38.2-109. The bill clarifies that the 

provisions of Subsection A of § 38.2-232 shall not apply to 

group policies, contracts or plans if the insurer, health 

services plan, or health care plan either (i) as a general 

business practice provides written notices of premium due; or 

(ii) has furnished a written notice separate from the policy 

that failure to pay premiums on a timely basis will result in 

lapse of the policy, contract or plan. 

Chapter 136 (Senate Bill 780) and Chapter 210 (House 

Bill 1784) (Effective January 1, 2014) 

The bill amends various sections of Title 38.2 to repeal the 

requirements for the offer of an open enrollment period for 

individual accident and sickness contracts. Section 58.1-2501 

is also revised to change the tax rates for plans defined in 

§§ 38.2-4201 (Health Services Plans) and 38.2-4501 (Dental 

or Optometric Plans) for taxable years after 2012 to 2.25 

percent of the direct gross subscriber fee income for all 

subscription contracts. The tax rate of .75 percent for open 

enrollment contracts and individual contracts referenced in 

that subdivision ends at tax year 2013. The provisions of the 

bill are effective on January 1, 2014.  

Chapter 146 (Senate Bill 984) 

The bill adds a new section in the General Provisions chapter 

to require insurers that issue a settlement check of at least 

$5000 in satisfaction of a third party claim to a claimant's 

attorney to send a notice to the claimant within five days that 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=hb1396
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=hb1510
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=hb1527
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=hb1528
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=hb2118
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=hb2155
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=hb1655
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=sb777
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=sb780
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=HB1784
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=HB1784
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=sb984
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such check has been sent to his attorney. The bill holds the 

insurer harmless if the notice is not given or is defective. The 

bill further provides that the failure to give notice or the 

provision of defective notice (i) does not create a cause of 

action against an insurer by any person; (ii) does not create a 

defense for any person in any such action; or (iii) does not in 

any way affect the settlement or satisfaction for which the 

payment was made by the insurer. The bill is applicable to all 

lines of insurance except those lines subject to §§ 38.2-4214 

and 38.2-4319. 

Chapter 203 (House Bill 1731) 

This bill adds a new article in the Insurance Agents chapter. 

Storage unit insurance authority is added to the lines of 

insurance that may be sold by those holding a limited lines 

property and casualty agent license. 

Chapter 212 (House Bill 1838) 

The bill amends § 38.2-1822 (Insurance Agents) to prohibit 

an agent whose license has been revoked or voluntarily 

surrendered from directly or indirectly owning and operating, 

controlling or being employed in any manner by an insurance 

agent or agency during the time period in which the 

individual is unlicensed unless otherwise authorized by the 

Commission. 

Chapter 257 (House Bill 1607) 

The bill amends §§ 38.2-231 (General Provisions), 38.2-325 

(Insurance Policy Provisions), 38.2-2113 and 38.2-2114 (Fire 

Insurance Policies) and 38.2-2208 and 38.2-2212 (Liability 

Insurance Policies) pertaining to termination notice 

requirements in certain insurance policies to permit insurers 

to send cancellation notices electronically, if the insured and 

insurer have agreed to conduct business by electronic means.   

Chapter 473 (Senate Bill 1059) 

The bill amends § 38.2-4509 (Dental or Optometric Plans) to 

subject dental and optometric plans to two additional 

requirements applicable to insurers which offer dental and 

optometric coverages. Dental and optometric plans must pay 

interest on claim payments not made in a timely manner if the 

interest is greater than $5.00. The bill also amends § 38.2-

4509 to require dental and optometric plans to file their 

explanation of benefit forms with the Bureau of Insurance for 

approval. The provision addressing interest is applicable to 

claims on and after January 1, 2014. 

Chapter 497 (House Bill 2023) 

The bill adds a new article to the Insurance Agents chapter to 

add travel insurance to the lines of insurance that may be sold 

by those holding a limited lines property and casualty agent 

license. The bill allows the sale of travel insurance by a travel 

retailer (i) holding a limited lines P&C license or (ii) under 

the direction and license of a travel insurance agent. 

Chapter 595 (House Bill 2246) and Chapter 791 (Senate 

Bill 1261) 

The bill adds a new article to the Accident and Sickness 

Insurance Policies chapter that identifies prohibited activities 

for health benefit exchange navigators as described in the 

ACA. The Commission is required to monitor and report on 

the activities of navigators in the Commonwealth. 

Chapter 653 (Senate Bill 1243) 

The bill amends § 38.2-3411 (Accident and Sickness 

Insurance Provisions) and 38.2-4319 (Health Maintenance 

Organizations) to require that health maintenance 

organizations provide coverage for newborn children in the 

same manner as coverage is provided in health insurance 

policies and subscription contracts with family coverage. 

Chapter 670 (House Bill 1769) and Chapter 679 (Senate 

Bill 922) 

The bill authorizes the Commission, with the assistance of the 

Virginia Department of Health, to perform plan management 

functions required to certify health benefit plans and stand-

alone dental plans for participation in the federal health 

benefit exchange established by the Secretary of the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services pursuant to 

§ 1321 of the ACA.  The performance of plan management 

functions is contingent upon the availability of federal 

funding sufficient to pay the operating expenses necessary to 

carry out the functions, the necessary technological 

infrastructure being made available to the Commission and no 

other impediments to prevent the Commission from carrying 

out the functions.  The bill also adds a new section in the 

Provisions Relating to Accident and Sickness Insurance 

Policies chapter to authorize the Commission to review and 

approve accident and sickness insurance premium rates 

applicable to health benefit plans in the individual and small 

group markets and health benefit plans providing health 

insurance coverage in the individual market to residents of the 

Commonwealth through a group trust, association, purchasing 

cooperative or other group that is not an employer plan. 

Chapter 709 (House Bill 2138) 

The bill establishes the Health Insurance Reform Commission 

to monitor the implementation of the ACA; determine 

whether Virginia should establish a state-based health 

insurance exchange; make recommendations regarding the 

health benefits that should be included within the scope of the 

essential health benefits provided under health insurance 

products offered in Virginia; provide assessments of existing 

and proposed mandated health insurance benefits and 

providers; develop recommendations to increase access to and 

reasonable costs for health insurance coverage; and ensure a 

robust health insurance market. Staff of the Bureau of 

Insurance will assist the Health Insurance Reform 

Commission in the assessment of the impact and efficacy of 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=hb1731
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=hb1838
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=hb1607
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=sb1059
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=hb2023
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=hb2246
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=sb1261
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=sb1261
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=sb1243
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=hb1769
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=sb922
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=sb922
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=hb2138
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legislation proposing mandated health insurance benefits or 

providers. The bill also repeals the establishment article for 

the Special Advisory Commission on Mandated Health 

Insurance Benefits. 

Chapter 751 (House Bill 1900) Effective January 1, 2014 

The bill amends many sections of Title 38.2 addressing 

requirements applicable to accident and sickness insurance 

policies and related products in order to be consistent with 

relevant requirements of the ACA. The bill also repeals 

provisions relating to the essential and standard plans in 

§ 38.2-3431. The provisions of the bill are effective January 

1, 2014. 

* * * 

June 4, 2013 

Administrative Letter 2013-06 

To: All Insurers and Other Interested Parties 

Re: Senate Bill 984 (Section 38.2-236) 

Effective July 1, 2013, Section 38.2-236 requires insurers to 

send notices to claimants when such insurers issue payments, 

in partial or full settlement of claims of $5000 or more, if the 

insurers send such settlement checks to attorneys licensed in 

Virginia, or to other representatives of such claimants or 

judgment creditors. The primary purpose of this law is to 

ensure that claimants who are represented by attorneys or 

other representatives are aware of the amount of and the date 

that an insurer sends a payment of $5000 or more to a 

claimant's attorney or other representative. Additionally, any 

court approved settlements, such as those involving wrongful 

death claims and claims by infants, of $5000 or more sent to 

the attorney or representative trigger the notice requirement. 

The law applies to both first and third party claims. The 

notice must be sent within five business days after the date 

payment is made or the offer of settlement is sent to the 

claimant's attorney or representative. Section 38.2-236 applies 

to all lines of insurance except those lines subject to Sections 

38.2-4214 and 38.2-4319. 

This statute applies to the following: 

• Partial settlements of claims where the payment is $5000 

or more, and 

• Full and final settlements of $5000 or more. 

The notice must be sent to the claimant (first or third party) or 

judgment creditor any time the insurer sends a payment to the 

claimant's attorney or representative. This would include 

those circumstances where the check is made payable to the 

claimant only or where the check is made payable to both the 

claimant and his attorney or representative. 

In certain situations, an insurer sends a settlement offer and 

check to the claimant's attorney or representative with a 

request that the offer be presented to the claimant.  Notice 

must be sent by the insurer to the claimant once the claimant 

agrees to accept the settlement offer, and it must be sent 

within five business days of the claimant's agreement to 

accept the offered settlement. 

In the case when an insurer is paying the injured worker's 

portion of his workers' compensation claim (of $5000 or 

more) directly to the worker, and the injured worker's 

attorney's portion of the settlement is sent directly to the 

attorney, the insurer is not required to send the notice under 

Section 38.2-236. However, if the injured person's settlement 

of a workers' compensation claim is $5000 or more and 

payment is sent to the injured person's attorney, licensed in 

Virginia, then the notice required by the statute must be given 

by the insurer. 

Questions concerning this administrative letter may be 

addressed to Life and Health Division, Joanne Spruill, Chief 

Insurance Market Examiner, telephone (804) 371-9231, or 

email joanne.spruill@scc.virginia.gov.  

Property & Casualty Division, Katie Johnson, AIE, CIC, 

Coordinator of Special Projects, telephone (804) 371-9688, or 

email katie.johnson@scc.virginia.gov. 

/s/ Jacqueline K. Cunningham 

Commissioner of Insurance 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Restore Water Quality in Clinch River and Certain 
Tributaries 

Public meeting location: Norton Community Center, 201 East 

Park Avenue NE, Norton, VA on July 11, 2013, from 6 p.m. 

to 8 p.m. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) and the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation (DCR) are announcing an effort to restore water 

quality, a public comment opportunity, and public meeting. 

Meeting description: First public meeting on a study to 

restore water quality. 

Description of study: DEQ has been working to identify 

sources of bacterial contamination and sources of pollutants 

affecting aquatic organisms. The mainstem of the Clinch 

River is impaired for failure to meet the Recreational Use 

because of fecal coliform bacteria violations and violations of 

the E. coli standard. Bear Creek, Fall Creek, Little Stoney 

Creek, Russell Creek, Staunton Creek, Stony Creek, Cove 

Creek, Stock Creek, Copper Creek, Moll Creek, Valley 

Creek, North Fork Clinch River, and Blackwater Creek are 

impaired for failure to meet the Recreational Use because of 

fecal coliform bacteria violations and violations of the E. coli 

standard. Bark Camp Branch in Wise County, Laurel Creek 

in Russell and Tazewell counties, as well as Thompson Creek 

in Tazewell County are impaired for failing to meet the 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=131&typ=bil&val=hb1900
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Aquatic Life Use (benthic impairment) based on violations of 

the general standard for aquatic organisms.  Bark Camp 

Branch is also impaired for failure to meet the Aquatic Life 

Use based on violations of the pH water quality standard. 

During the study, the sources of bacterial contamination and 

pollutants impairing the aquatic community will be identified 

and total maximum daily loads, or TMDLs, will be developed 

for the impaired waters. To restore water quality, 

contamination levels must be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a water body can 

contain and still meet water quality standards.  

How a decision is made: The development of a TMDL 

includes public meetings and a public comment period once 

the study report is drafted. After public comments have been 

considered and addressed, DEQ will submit the TMDL report 

to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for approval. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include the 

name, address, and telephone number of the person 

commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 

period, July 11, 2013, to August 11, 2013. DEQ also accepts 

written and oral comments at the public meeting announced 

in this notice. 

To review fact sheets: Fact sheets are available on the 

impaired waters from the contacts below or on the DEQ 

website: 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQuality 

InformationTMDLs.aspx. 

Contact for additional information: Martha Chapman, TMDL 

Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 

Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA 24210, telephone (276) 676-4800, FAX (276) 

676-4899, or email martha.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load for North Fork Rockfish 
River, South Fork Rockfish River, and Rockfish 

River Watersheds 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

amendment of total maximum daily load (TMDL) 

implementation plans (IPs) for the North Fork Rockfish 

River, South Fork Rockfish River, and Rockfish River 

watersheds in Nelson County. These streams were listed on 

the 2004 and 2006 § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report 

as impaired due to violations of the state's water quality 

standard for bacteria. The bacteria impairment on the North 

Fork Rockfish begins in the headwaters and extends 7.2 miles 

to its confluence with the Rockfish River. The South Fork 

Rockfish bacterial impairment extends 11.6 miles from its 

headwaters to its confluence with the mainstem Rockfish 

River. The bacteria impairment on the Rockfish River extends 

from the confluence of its north and south forks to its 

confluence with Davis Creek, which is a total of 6.5 miles. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 

pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 

Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. In 

addition, § 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires 

the development of an IP for approved TMDLs. The IP 

should provide measurable goals and the date of expected 

achievement of water quality objectives. The IP should also 

include the corrective actions needed and their associated 

costs, benefits, and environmental impacts. The Rockfish IP 

has been amended to include just the best management 

practices related to these bacterial impairments and TMDLs. 

The public comment period for the amended implementation 

plan will last from July 1, 2013, to July 31, 2013. Written 

comments should include the name, address, and telephone 

number of the person submitting the comments and should be 

sent to Tara Sieber, Department of Environmental Quality, 

4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, 

telephone (540) 574-7870, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 

tara.sieber@deq.virginia.gov. 

The Implementation Plan document will be available on the 

DEQ website during the public comment period at the 

following address: 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQuality 

InformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLIm

plementationPlans.aspx. 

Total Maximum Daily Load for Potomac River 
Tributaries 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) announces the release of two revised draft 

TMDL reports on the Potomac River tributaries to members 

of the community for review and comment. 

Description of study: Portions of the following streams have 

been identified as impaired on the Clean Water Act § 303(d) 

list for not supporting Virginia's water quality recreational use 

standard due to exceedances of the bacteria criterion: 

 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs.aspx
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Waterbody 

Name 

Watershed  

Location 

Segment 

Size 
Cause Segment Description 

Sugarland Run 

Fairfax County 

Loudoun County 

Town of Herndon 

0.95 miles 
Escherichia 

coli 

Segment begins at the confluence with Folly Lick 

Branch, at approximately rivermile 5.75, and 

continues downstream until the boundary of the PWS 

designation area, at rivermile 4.82. 

Sugarland Run 

Fairfax County 

Loudoun County 

Town of Herndon 

4.77 miles 
Escherichia 

coli 

Segment begins at the boundary of the PWS 

designation area, at rivermile 4.82, and continues 

downstream until the confluence with the Potomac 

River. 

Mine Run Fairfax County 0.93 miles 
Escherichia 

coli 

Segment begins at the confluence with an unnamed 

tributary to Mine Run, approximately 0.5 rivermile 

upstream from River Bend Road, and continues 

downstream until the confluence with the Potomac 

River. 

Pimmit Run 
Arlington County 

Fairfax County 
1.62 miles 

Escherichia 

coli 

Segment begins at the confluence with Little Pimmit 

Run, approximately 0.1 rivermile downstream from 

Route 695, and continues downstream until the 

confluence with the Potomac River. 

Pimmit Run 
Arlington County 

Fairfax County 
2.46 miles 

Escherichia 

coli 

Segment begins at the Route 309 bridge crossing, at 

rivermile 4.16, and continues downstream until the 

confluence with Little Pimmit Run, approximately 

0.1 rivermile downstream from Route 695. 

Pimmit Run 
Arlington County 

Fairfax County 
3.29 miles 

Escherichia 

coli 

Segment begins at the headwaters of Pimmit Run, 

approximately 0.12 rivermile upstream from Route 

7, and continues downstream until the Route 309 

bridge crossing, at rivermile 4.16. 

Powells Creek 
Prince William 

County 
4.62 miles 

Escherichia 

coli 

Segment begins approximately 0.2 rivermiles below 

Lake Montclair and continues downstream until the 

end of the free-flowing waters of Powells Creek. 

Quantico Creek 

Prince William 

County 

Town of Dumfries 

1.45 miles 
Escherichia 

coli 

Segment begins at the confluence with South Fork 

Quantico Creek, approximately 0.75 rivermile 

upstream from I-95, and continues downstream until 

the start of the tidal waters of Quantico Bay. 

South Fork 

Quantico Creek 

Prince William 

County 

Town of Dumfries 

4.63 miles 
Escherichia 

coli 

Segment begins at the headwaters of the South Fork 

Quantico Creek and continues downstream until the 

start of the impounded waters, adjacent to what is 

labeled as Mawavi Camp No. 2 on the Joplin quad. 
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North Branch 

Chopawamsic 

Creek 

Stafford County 

Prince William 

County 

6.9 miles 
Escherichia 

coli 

Segment begins at the headwaters of North Branch 

Chopawamsic Creek and continues downstream until 

the confluence with Middle Branch. 

Unnamed 

tributary to the 

Potomac River 

Stafford County 2.9 miles 
Escherichia 

coli 

Segment begins at the headwaters of the unnamed 

tributary and continues downstream until its 

confluence with the Potomac River. 

Austin Run 
Fauquier County 

Stafford County 
0.79 miles 

Fecal 

coliform 

Segment begins at the confluence with an unnamed 

tributary to Austin Run (streamcode XGQ) and 

continues downstream until the confluence with 

Aquia Creek. 

Accokeek 

Creek 
Stafford County 4.21 miles 

Escherichia 

coli 

Segment begins at the confluence with an unnamed 

tributary to Accokeek Creek (rivermile 8.62), 

approximately 0.33 rivermile downstream from 

Route 1, and continues downstream until the end of 

the free-flowing waters. 

Potomac Creek Stafford County 2.18 miles 
Escherichia 

coli 

Segment begins at the railroad crossing at the west 

end of swamp, upstream from Route 608, and 

continues downstream until the east end of swamp. 

Potomac Run Stafford County 6.13 miles 
Escherichia 

coli 

Segment begins at the headwaters of Potomac Run 

and continues downstream until the confluence with 

Long Branch. 

Virginia agencies have worked to identify the sources of 

bacteria contamination in these stream segments. During this 

study, DEQ developed a total maximum daily load, or a 

TMDL, for each of the impaired stream segments. A TMDL 

is the total amount of a pollutant a water body can receive and 

still meet water quality standards. To restore water quality, 

pollutant levels have to be reduced to the TMDL allocated 

amount. 

In February of 2012, DEQ held public meetings and released 

the draft TMDL reports for two bacteria TMDL studies 

involving tributaries to the Potomac River. Those TMDL 

reports were:  

1. Bacteria TMDL for Tributaries to the Potomac River: 

Sugarland Run, Mine Run, and Pimmit Run. 

2. Bacteria TMDL for Tributaries to the Potomac River: 

Prince William and Stafford Counties.  

The impaired streams included in this report were Powells 

Creek, Quantico Creek, North Branch Chopawamsic Creek, 

South Fork Quantico Creek,  unnamed tributary to  

the Potomac River, Austin Run, Accokeek Creek, Potomac 

Creek, and Potomac Run. 

During the public comment period for these reports, DEQ 

received comments on both projects. Because of those 

comments, DEQ decided to pursue several changes to the 

TMDLs. The changes involved revising the water quality 

models to incorporate changes to pet loading assumptions and 

to the distribution of wildlife loadings, as well as accounting 

for reported sanitary sewer overflow loadings. Additionally, 

the revised reports include updated urban area information as 

defined by the 2010 U.S. census.  

How to comment: The public comment period on the revised 

draft of the TMDL reports will extend from July 1, 2013, to 

July 31, 2013. DEQ accepts written comments by email, fax, 

or postal mail. Written comments should include the name, 

address, and telephone number of the person commenting, 

and be received by DEQ during the comment period. Please 

send all comments to the contact listed below. 
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Contact for additional information: Jennifer Carlson, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone (703) 583-3859, or email 

jennifer.carlson@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 

Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations on May 29, 2013. The orders may be viewed at 

the State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA, or at the office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA. 

Director's Order Number Forty-Three (13) 

Virginia Lottery's "$50,000 Summer Cash Bash Promotion" 

Final Requirements for Operation (effective May 28, 2013) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Four (13) 

Virginia's Online Game Lottery; "Fast Play Crossword" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (This Director's Order becomes 

effective on the first sale date of the Matrix set forth in the 

"Fast Play Crossword" Official Game Rules, as adopted, and 

shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 

rescinded by further Director's Order. Upon the effective date, 

these rules shall supersede and replace any and all prior 

Virginia Lottery "Fast Play Crossword" game rules.) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Five (13) 

Virginia's Online Game Lottery; "Fast Play Fast $50's Gold 

Bar Doubler" Final Rules for Game Operation (This 

Director's Order becomes effective on the first sale date of the 

Matrix set forth in the "Fast Play Fast $50's Gold Bar 

Doubler" Official Game Rules, as adopted, and shall remain 

in full force and effect unless amended or rescinded by 

further Director's Order. Upon the effective date, these rules 

shall supersede and replace any and all prior Virginia Lottery 

"Fast Play Fast $50's Gold Bar Doubler" game rules.) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Six (13) 

Virginia's Online Game Lottery; "Fast Play Summer Sizzler" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (This Director's Order 

becomes effective on the first sale date of the Matrix set forth 

in the "Fast Play Summer Sizzler" Official Game Rules, as 

adopted, and shall remain in full force and effect unless 

amended or rescinded by further Director's Order. Upon the 

effective date, these rules shall supersede and replace any and 

all prior Virginia Lottery "Fast Play Summer Sizzler" game 

rules.) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-One (13) 

"Cornhole Ticket Dispenser Promotion" Virginia Lottery 

Retailer Incentive Program Requirements (This Director's 

Order becomes effective on the date of its signing (June 6, 

2013) and shall remain in full force and effect until ninety 

(90) days after the conclusion of the Incentive Program, 

unless otherwise extended by the Director.) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Two (13) 

Certain Virginia Game Promotion; End of Promotion 

In accordance with the authority granted by §§ 2.2-4002 B 

(15) and 58.1-4006 A of the Code of Virginia, I hereby give 

notice that the following Virginia Lottery Promotion will 

officially end at midnight on Monday, June 3, 2013: 

Virginia Lottery's "$50,000 Summer Cash Bash" Promotion 

(43 13) 

This order is available for inspection and copying during 

normal business hours at the Virginia Lottery headquarters, 

900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, and at any 

Virginia Lottery regional office. A copy may be requested by 

mail by writing to: Director's Office, Virginia Lottery, 900 

East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order is effective nunc pro tunc to midnight 

on June 3, 2013, and shall remain in full force and effect 

unless amended or rescinded by further Director's Order. 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Three (13) 

Virginia Lottery's "$50,000 Summer Cash Bash Promotion" 

Final Requirements for Operation (effective nunc pro tunc to 

midnight on June 3, 2013) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Seven (13) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1427 "Red Hot Crossword" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective June 6, 2013) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Eight (13) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1416 "Sapphire Riches" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective June 6, 2013) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Nine (13) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1447 "Cash on the Spot" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective June 6, 2013) 

Director's Order Number Sixty (13) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1431 "Jewel 7's" Final Rules 

for Game Operation (effective June 6, 2013) 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intent to Request 1115 Waiver for Early 
Implementation of MAGI Rules 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

solicit public comment on the department's request for 

Section 1115 demonstration waiver for early implementation 

of the modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) provisions 

related to eligibility determinations for certain medical 

assistance programs (Medicaid and FAMIS). 
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The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010 

mandates significant changes in how eligibility is determined 

for medical assistance programs for children, parent or 

caretaker relatives, and pregnant women beginning January 1, 

2014.  

The change requires the use of IRS tax rules for determining 

income and household composition for these individuals and 

brings the determination of eligibility in line with 

determinations of eligibility for the advance premium tax 

credit (APTC) and cost-sharing subsidies for individuals 

through the Federally Facilitated Marketplace. The Federally 

Facilitated Marketplace (Marketplace) will begin use of these 

new rules in October 2013 when open enrollment for health 

insurance coverage begins. In addition to making 

determinations of eligibility for the APTC and cost sharing 

subsidies, the Marketplace will also be assessing potential 

eligibility for medical assistance coverage using the same 

rules. If an individual or family appears to meet Medicaid or 

FAMIS requirements using the new rules, the Marketplace 

will send the application electronically to local departments 

of social services for processing. However, if the Virginia 

medical assistance programs are not using the same rules as 

the Marketplace, individuals assessed as being potentially 

eligible will be evaluated using a different set of rules, which 

could lead to a denial of coverage. Using two sets of rules to 

evaluate the same population could lead to confusion on the 

part of the applicants, as they will be informed by the 

Marketplace of their potential eligibility for medical 

assistance, and to unnecessary transfers of information 

between the two entities.  

DMAS will hold two separate public hearings on this issue in 

July. DMAS will publish the details regarding these two 

hearings on the Commonwealth Calendar 

(http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of the 

Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services State Health Official 

Letter #12-001 and section 10201(i) of the Patient Protection 

and Affordable Care Act. A copy of this notice is available 

for public review from Cindy Olson, Policy Division, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, and this notice is 

available for public review on the Regulatory Town Hall 

(www.townhall.com).  

The full public notice is available from the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services home page at 

http://dmas.virginia.gov/ through a link in the "What's New" 

column. Comments or inquiries may be submitted, in writing, 

within 30 days of this notice publication to Ms. Olson and 

such comments are available for review at the same address. 

Contact Information: Cindy Olson, Policy Division, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-4282, 

FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

cindy.olson@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1090. Pertaining to Licensing 

Requirements and License Fees. 

Publication: 29:21 VA.R. 2550-2553 June 17, 2013. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2550, Summary, clause (iv) should reflect that the 

amendments establish a recreational saltwater license and 

fee for "resident individuals" age 65 and older instead of 

for "nonresident individuals." 

Page 2553, 4VAC20-1090-30, last line, the name of the 

license should read, "Individual Resident Lifetime License 

age 65 or older"  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3762; Filed June 20, 2013, 10:20 a.m. 

 

http://dmasva.dmas.virginia.gov/
mailto:varegs@dls.virginia.gov
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations. 

Publication: 29:19 VA.R. 2342-2347 May 20, 2013. 

Correction to Emergency Regulation: 

Page 2343, 18VAC50-22-65, change the section number to 

18VAC50-22-62. 

Page 2344, 18VAC50-22-130 C, second and third lines, 

change "18VAC50-22-65" to "18VAC50-22-62" 

Page 2346, 18VAC50-22-260 B, at the end of subdivision 

32, insert "33. Failure to obtain a building permit or 

applicable inspection, where required." 

Page 2346, 18VAC50-22-260 B 33, change the subdivision 

number to 34 

Page 2347, 18VAC50-22-260 B 34, change the subdivision 

number to 35 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2849; Filed June 21, 2013, 3:49 p.m. 
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