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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 

Chairman; Gregory D. Habeeb; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. 

Moncure, Jr.; Wesley G. Russell, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. 

Tavenner; Christopher R. Nolen; J. Jasen Eige. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

November 2013 through December 2014 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

30:6 October 30, 2013 November 18, 2013 

30:7 November 13, 2013 December 2, 2013 

30:8 November 26, 2013 (Tuesday) December 16, 2013 

30:9 December 11, 2013 December 30, 2013 

30:10 December 23, 2013 (Monday) January 13, 2014 

30:11 January 8, 2014 January 27, 2014 

30:12 January 22, 2014 February 10, 2014 

30:13 February 5, 2014 February 24, 2014 

30:14 February 19, 2014 March 10, 2014 

30:15 March 5, 2014 March 24, 2014 

30:16 March 19, 2014 April 7, 2014 

30:17 April 2, 2014 April 21, 2014 

30:18 April 16, 2014 May 5, 2014 

30:19 April 30, 2014 May 19, 2014 

30:20 May 14, 2014 June 2, 2014 

30:21 May 28, 2014 June 16, 2014 

30:22 June 11, 2014 June 30, 2014 

30:23 June 25, 2014 July 14, 2014 

30:24 July 9, 2014 July 28, 2014 

30:25 July 23, 2014 August 11, 2014 

30:26 August 6, 2014 August 25, 2014 

31:1 August 20, 2014 September 8, 2014 

31:2 September 3, 2014 September 22, 2014 

31:3 September 17, 2014 October 6, 2014 

31:4 October 1, 2014 October 20, 2014 

31:5 October 15, 2014 November 3, 2014 

31:6 October 29, 2014 November 17, 2014 

31:7 November 12, 2014 December 1, 2014 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Melody Cartwright. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend requirements for 

practice by chiropractors relating to treatment and diagnosis 

of curvature of the spine and the use of digital x-rays. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At a meeting of the board 

on October 24, 2013, the issues were thoroughly discussed 

and a decision made not to initiate rulemaking in response to 

the petition. Licensees of the board are expected to practice 

within an evidence-based standard of care for their 

profession. The board does not and cannot prescribe by 

regulation a protocol for each specific condition a patient 

might present. Additionally, the use of digital x-rays has 

some advantages for electronic communication of patient 

records, but there is no evidence of improved outcomes for 

patient care. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-33; Filed October 25, 2013, 9:38 a.m. 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Chelsea L. Mason. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC150-20-70 

of the Board of Veterinary Medicine regulations to accept 

continuing education courses in business management and 

finance. 

Agency's Decision: Request denied.  

Statement of Reason for Decision: While the members 

acknowledged the need for owners of veterinary practices to 

be well informed about technology, marketing, and business 

management, they did not believe continuing education hours 

in those areas should be substituted for courses in the care of 

animals. The purpose of licensure and the role of the board 

are protection of the public. Additionally, the board found 

that most other states that accept business management 

courses typically require more total hours than Virginia. 

While there was discussion about an increase in the number 

of hours with business practices allowed to count for some of 

them, the board rejected that alternative as an increased 

burden on veterinarians and technicians who do not want or 

need to take such courses. Licensees who want education in 

business management can obtain the hours over and above the 

minimum of 15 for veterinarians and six for veterinary 

technicians. There was comment in support of continuing 

education in communication with clients as a way to better 

serve the needs of animals in the practice. The board recently 

revised a Guidance Document (150-11) to clarify that such 

courses are presently acceptable for CE credit: "Approved CE 

credit is given for courses or programs related to the 

treatment and care of patients and shall be clinical courses in 

veterinary medicine or veterinary technology or courses that 

enhance patient safety, such as medical recordkeeping or 

Occupational Health and Safety Administration (OSHA) 

requirements. The board accepts CE that is related to disaster 

or emergency preparedness, the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture's National Veterinary Accreditation Program and 

communication development to strengthen the veterinarian-

client-patient relationships, including but not limited to grief 

counseling." 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-26; Filed October 23, 2013, 3:30 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation has WITHDRAWN the Notice of 

Intended Regulatory Action for 18VAC120-40, Professional 

Boxing and Wrestling Event Regulations, which was 

published in 29:17 VA.R. 2091 April 22, 2013. This action is 

being withdrawn due the department's determination that this 

action does not comport with the Governor's Regulatory 

Reform Initiative. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-831 of the Code of Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-6206, or email 

boxing@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3614; Filed October 28, 2013, 4:39 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 

has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

for 22VAC40-25, Auxiliary Grants Program, which was 

published in 29:3 VA.R. 340 October 8, 2012. Enactment 65 

of Chapters 803 and 835 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly 

transferred powers related to the administration of auxiliary 

grants and the provision of adult services and adult protective 

services from the Department of Social Services to the 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services effective 

July 1, 2013. Therefore, this action is being withdrawn 

because the board no longer has authority to complete this 

regulatory action. 

Statutory Authority: Chapters 803 and 835 of the 2012 Acts 

of Assembly. 

Agency Contact: Karin Clark, Manager, Legislative and 

Regulatory Affairs, Office of Commissioner, Department of 

Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7017, or email 

karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3204; Filed October 23, 2013, 3:11 p.m.  

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 

has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

for 22VAC40-771, Adult Services Approved Providers, 

which was published in 28:9 VA.R. 766 January 2, 2012. 

Enactment 65 of Chapters 803 and 835 of the 2012 Acts of 

Assembly transferred powers related to the administration of 

auxiliary grants and the provision of adult services and adult 

protective services from the Department of Social Services to 

the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services 

effective July 1, 2013. Therefore, this action is being 

withdrawn because the board no longer has authority to 

complete this regulatory action. 

Statutory Authority: Chapters 803 and 835 of the 2012 Acts 

of Assembly. 

Agency Contact: Karin Clark, Manager, Legislative and 

Regulatory Affairs, Office of Commissioner, Department of 

Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7017, or email 

karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3064; Filed October 23, 2013, 3:15 p.m.  

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 

has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

for 22VAC40-775, Adult Services Standards, which was 

published in 27:16 VA.R. 1983 April 11, 2011. Enactment 65 

of Chapters 803 and 835 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly 

transferred powers related to the administration of auxiliary 

grants and the provision of adult services and adult protective 

services from the Department of Social Services to the 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services effective 

July 1, 2013. Therefore, this action is being withdrawn 

because the board no longer has authority to complete this 

regulatory action. 

Statutory Authority: Chapters 803 and 835 of the 2012 Acts 

of Assembly. 

Agency Contact: Karin Clark, Manager, Legislative and 

Regulatory Affairs, Office of Commissioner, Department of 

Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7017, or email 

karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2775; Filed October 23, 2013, 3:16 p.m.  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=3482
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=3165
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=3053
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=1013
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-320. Regulations for the 

Enforcement of the Endangered Plant and Insect Species 

Act (amending 2VAC5-320-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-1002 and 3.2-1005 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 18, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Erin Williams, Policy and Planning 

Coordinator, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-1308, FAX (804) 371-7479, TTY (800) 828-1120, 

or email erin.williams@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove nestronia umbellula 

(nestronia) from the endangered species list; (ii) add 

boltonia montana (valley doll's-daisy), isoetes virginica 

(Virginia quillwort), and pseudanophthalmus thomasi 

(Thomas' cave beetle) to the endangered species list; and 

(iii) add clematis viticaulis (Millboro leatherflower) to the 

threatened species list.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

2VAC5-320-10. Listing of endangered and threatened 

plant and insect species.  

A. The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services hereby 

adopts the following regulation in order to protect designated 

plant and insect species that exist in this Commonwealth. All 

designated species are subject to all sections of the Virginia 

Endangered Plant and Insect Species Act (§ 3.2-1000 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia).  

B. The following plant and insect species are hereby 

declared an endangered species:  

1. Boltonia montana, valley doll's-daisy. 

1. 2. Cardamine micranthera, small-anthered bittercress.  

2. 3. Carex juniperorum, juniper sedge.  

3. 4. Corallorhiza bentley, Bentley's coralroot.  

4. 5. Fimbristylis perpusilla, Harper's fimbristylis.  

5. 6. Helenium virginicum, Virginia sneezeweed.  

6. 7. Helonias bullata, swamp-pink.  

7. 8. Ilex collina, long-stalked holly.  

8. 9. Iliamna corei, Peter's mountain Mountain mallow.  

10. Isoetes virginica, Virginia quillwort. 

9. 11. Isotria medeoloides, small whorled pogonia.  

10. 12. Neonympha mitchellii, Mitchell's satyr butterfly.  

11. Nestronia umbellula, nestronia.  

13. Pseudanophthalmus holsingeri, Holsinger's cave beetle. 

14. Pseudanophthalmus thomasi, Thomas' cave beetle. 

12. 15. Ptilimnium nodosum, harperella.  

13. 16. Puto kosztarabi, Buffalo Mountain mealybug.  

14. Pseudanophthalmus holsingeri, Holsinger's cave beetle.  

15. 17. Scirpus ancistrochaetus, Northeastern bulrush.  

16. 18. Sigara depressa, Virginia Piedmont water boatman.  

17. 19. Spiraea virginiana, Virginia spiraea.  

18. 20. Trifolium calcaricum, running glade clover.  

C. The following plant and insect species are hereby 

declared a threatened species:  

1. Aeschynomene virginica, sensitive-joint vetch.  

2. Amaranthus pumilus, seabeach amaranth.  

3. Arabis serotina, shale barren rock cress rockcress.  

4. Cicindela dorsalis dorsalis, Northeastern beach tiger 

beetle.  

5. Clematis viticaulis, Millboro leatherflower. 

5. 6. Echinacea laevigata, smooth coneflower.  

6. 7. Juncus caesariensis, New Jersey rush.  

7. 8. Lycopodiella margueritiae, Northern prostrate 

clubmoss.  

8. 9. Nuphar sagittifolia, narrow-leaved spatterdock.  

9. 10. Platanthera leucophaea, Eastern prairie fringed 

orchid.  

10. 11. Pyrgus wyandot, Appalachian grizzled skipper.  

11. 12. Rhus michauxii, Michaux's sumac.  

12. 13. Scirpus flaccidifolius, reclining bulrush.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1869; Filed October 30, 2013, 9:30 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-690. Regulations for Pesticide 

Containers and Containment under Authority of the 

Virginia Pesticide Control Act (adding 2VAC5-690-10 

through 2VAC5-690-240).  
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Statutory Authority: § 3.2-3906 of the Code of Virginia; 40 

CFR Part 165. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2013. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Erin Williams, Policy and Planning 

Coordinator, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-1308, FAX (804) 371-7479, TTY (800) 828-1120, 

or email erin.williams@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services as a policy 

board that may adopt regulations in accordance with Title 3.2 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 3.2-3906 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board 

to adopt regulations that are necessary to carry out the 

purposes of Chapter 39 (§ 3.2-3900 et seq.) of Title 3.2 of the 

Code of Virginia regarding pesticides. This authority is 

discretionary.  

Purpose: Regulatory standards and requirements for pesticide 

containers, repackaging pesticides, and pesticide containment 

structures are essential to protect the environment from 

potential contamination resulting from accidental pesticide 

discharges. The enforcement of the current federal regulations 

utilizing the federal credentials issued to Virginia's pesticide 

investigators by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 

(EPA) is sufficient to demonstrate compliance with the 

federal rule. However, the promulgation of Virginia's own 

regulations would allow more flexibility and greater 

discretion in the enforcement of pesticide container and 

containment requirements based on Virginia's unique needs 

and conditions, thereby benefiting the welfare of the regulants 

subject to the provisions of this regulation. The health, safety, 

and welfare of Virginians would not be adversely impacted 

because the proposed regulations are equivalent to those 

currently in place at the federal level. Moreover, the 

enforcement of a state pesticide container and containment 

regulation would be more cost effective because, under the 

proposed regulations, investigators would be able to perform 

container and containment inspections in conjunction with 

other inspection activities at all applicable sites. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: Department staff 

expects the regulations will be noncontroversial because the 

requirements are identical to those of Part 165 of Title 40 of 

the Code of Federal Regulations, Pesticide Management and 

Disposal, with which industry is already expected to comply. 

Since the finalization of the federal regulations, the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services has 

provided compliance assistance to the approximately 50 

pesticide businesses that are required to comply with its 

provisions. 

Substance: These regulations establish standards for (i) 

container design and residue removal for nonrefillable 

pesticide containers, (ii) container design for refillable 

pesticide containers, (iii) repackaging pesticide products into 

refillable containers, and (iv) pesticide containment 

structures. The regulations establish standards for both the 

registrant of a pesticide product and the refiller who 

repackages a pesticide product. The regulations also establish 

recordkeeping requirements. 

Issues: The promulgation of Virginia's own regulations will 

allow more flexibility and greater discretion in the 

enforcement of pesticide container and containment 

requirements based on Virginia's unique needs and 

conditions. This additional flexibility and discretion will be 

an advantage to both regulants and the agency. 

The regulations pose no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth as the regulations are equivalent to federal 

regulations that are currently in place. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. Part 

165 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Pesticide 

Management and Disposal, establishes standards for container 

design and residue removal in non-refillable pesticide 

containers, standards for container design in refillable 

pesticide containers, standards for repackaging pesticide 

products into refillable containers, and standards for pesticide 

containment structures. The Board of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services proposes to promulgate equivalent 

regulations. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. According to the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

(Department), the enforcement of the current federal 

regulations utilizing the federal credentials issued to 

Virginia's pesticide investigators by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) is sufficient to demonstrate 

compliance with the federal rule. However, the promulgation 

of Virginia's own regulations would allow more flexibility 

and greater discretion in the enforcement of pesticide 

container and containment requirements based on Virginia's 

unique needs and conditions. The health, safety, and welfare 

of Virginians would not be adversely affected because the 

proposed regulations are equivalent to those currently in place 

at the federal level. Moreover, the enforcement of a state 

pesticide container and containment regulation would be 

more cost-effective since under the proposed regulations, 

investigators would be able to perform container and 

containment inspections in conjunction with other inspection 

activities at all applicable sites.  

It is a violation of EPA policy for state investigators, during 

the same visit to any given facility, to conduct any type of 

pesticide inspection not related to the container and 
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containment inspection being conducted under the 

investigator's federal credentials. With 50 regulated sites in 

Virginia that receive a state inspection and a container and 

containment inspection once a year, the proposed regulations 

would enable a reduction in duplicative travel that the 

Department anticipates will result in savings of 

approximately $20,000. Additionally, compliance actions 

under a state pesticide container and containment regulation 

will be processed more quickly and in accordance with 

Virginia-specific administrative processes and penalty matrix. 

The federal compliance process can be lengthy, often taking a 

year or longer to reach resolution. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Pesticide registrants, 

retailers, distributors, commercial applicators, custom 

blenders, and end-users may all be affected by the proposed 

regulations. The Department estimates that approximately 50 

facilities will be required to comply with the proposed 

regulations, the vast majority of these facilities being small 

businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The promulgation of these 

regulations will not significantly affect employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

promulgation of these regulations will not significantly affect 

the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The promulgation 

of these regulations will not significantly affect costs for 

small businesses.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The promulgation of these regulations will 

not adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The promulgation of these 

regulations will not affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The regulations establish standards for (i) container 

design and residue removal in nonrefillable pesticide 

containers, (ii) container design in refillable pesticide 

containers, (iii) repackaging pesticide products into 

refillable containers, and (iv) pesticide containment 

structures. The regulations also establish recordkeeping 

requirements. The regulations are equivalent to federal 

regulations located at 40 CFR Part 165, Pesticide 

Management and Disposal.  

CHAPTER 690 

REGULATIONS FOR PESTICIDE CONTAINERS AND 

CONTAINMENT UNDER AUTHORITY OF THE 

VIRGINIA PESTICIDE CONTROL ACT 

2VAC5-690-10. Scope. 

This chapter establishes standards and requirements for 

pesticide containers, repackaging pesticides, and pesticide 

containment structures. 

2VAC5-690-20. Definitions. 

Terms used in this chapter have the same meaning as in the 

Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, Rodenticide Act (7 USC § 136 

et seq.) and 40 CFR Part 152. In addition, as used in this 

chapter, the following terms shall have the meanings set forth 

below. 

"Agricultural pesticide" means any pesticide product labeled 

for use in or on a farm, forest, nursery, or greenhouse. 

"Appurtenance" means any equipment or device that is used 

for the purpose of transferring a pesticide from a stationary 

pesticide container or to any refillable container, including 

but not limited to hoses, fittings, plumbing, valves, gauges, 

pumps, and metering devices. 

"Capacity" means, as applied to containers, the rated 

capacity of the container. 

"CFR" means the Code of Federal Regulations. 

"Container" means any package, can, bottle, bag, barrel, 

drum, tank, or other containing-device (excluding any 

application tanks) used to enclose a pesticide. Containers that 

are used to sell or distribute a pesticide product and that also 

function in applying the product (such as spray bottles, 

aerosol cans, and containers that become part of a direct 

injection system) are considered to be containers for the 

purposes of this chapter. 
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"Containment pad" means any structure that is designed and 

constructed to intercept and contain pesticides, rinsates, and 

equipment washwater at a pesticide dispensing area. 

"Containment structure" means either a secondary 

containment unit or a containment pad. 

"Custom blending" means the service of mixing pesticides 

to a customer's specifications, usually a pesticide-fertilizer, 

pesticide-pesticide, or a pesticide-animal feed mixture, when: 

1. The blend is prepared to the order of the customer and is 

not held in inventory by the blender; 

2. The blend is to be used on the customer's property 

(including leased or rented property); 

3. The pesticides used in the blend bear end-use labeling 

directions that do not prohibit use of the product in such a 

blend; 

4. The blend is prepared from registered pesticides; and 

5. The blend is delivered to the end-user along with a copy 

of the end-use labeling of each pesticide used in the blend 

and a statement specifying the composition of the mixture. 

"Dilutable" means that the pesticide product's labeling 

allows or requires the pesticide product to be mixed with a 

liquid diluent prior to application or use. 

"Dry pesticide" means any pesticide that is in solid form and 

that has not been combined with liquids; this includes 

formulations such as dusts, wettable powders, dry flowables, 

water-soluble powders, granules, and dry baits. 

"EPA" means the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

"Establishment" means any site where a pesticidal product, 

active ingredient, or device is produced, regardless of whether 

such site is independently owned or operated, and regardless 

of whether such site is domestic and producing a pesticidal 

product for export only, or whether the site is foreign and 

producing any pesticidal product for import into the United 

States. 

"Facility" means all buildings, equipment, structures, and 

other stationary items that are located on a single site or on 

contiguous or adjacent sites and that are owned or operated 

by the same person (or by any person who controls, who is 

controlled by, or who is under common control with such 

person). 

"FIFRA" means the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and 

Rodenticide Act (7 USC § 136 et seq.). 

"Nonrefillable container" means a container that is not a 

refillable container and that is designed and constructed for 

one-time use and is not intended to be filled again with a 

pesticide for sale or distribution. Reconditioned containers are 

considered to be nonrefillable containers. 

"One-way valve" means a valve that is designed and 

constructed to allow virtually unrestricted flow in one 

direction and no flow in the opposite direction, thus allowing 

the withdrawal of material from, but not the introduction of 

material into, a container. 

"Operator" means any person in control of, or having 

responsibility for, the daily operation of a facility at which a 

containment structure is located. 

"Owner" means any person who owns a facility at which a 

containment structure is required. 

"Pesticide compatible as applied to containers" means that 

the container construction materials will not chemically react 

with the formulation. A container is not compatible with the 

formulation if, for example, the formulation: 

1. Is corrosive to the container; 

2. Causes softening, premature aging, or embrittlement of 

the container; 

3. Otherwise causes the container to weaken or to create 

the risk of discharge; 

4. Reacts in a significant chemical, electrolytic, or galvanic 

manner with the container; or 

5. Interacts in a way, such as the active ingredient 

permeating the container wall, that would cause the 

formulation to differ from its composition as described in 

the statement required in connection with its registration 

under § 3 of FIFRA (7 USC § 136a). 

"Pesticide compatible as applied to containment" means that 

the containment construction materials are able to withstand 

anticipated exposure to stored or transferred substances 

without losing the capability to provide the required 

containment of the same or other substances within the 

containment area. 

"Pesticide dispensing area" means an area in which pesticide 

is transferred out of or into a container. 

"Portable pesticide container" means a refillable container 

that is not a stationary pesticide container. 

"Produce" means to manufacture, prepare, propagate, 

compound, or process any pesticide, including any pesticide 

produced pursuant to § 5 of FIFRA (7 USC § 136c), and any 

active ingredient or device, or to package, repackage, label, 

relabel, or otherwise change the container of any pesticide or 

device. 

"Producer" means any person, as defined by FIFRA, who 

produces any pesticide, active ingredient, or device (including 

packaging, repackaging, labeling, and relabeling). 

"Refillable container" means a container that is intended to 

be filled with pesticide more than once for sale or 

distribution. 

"Refiller" means a person who engages in the activity of 

repackaging pesticide product into refillable containers. This 

could include a registrant or a person operating under contract 

to a registrant. 

"Refilling establishment" means an establishment where the 

activity of repackaging pesticide product into refillable 

containers occurs. 
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"Registrant" means the person registering any pesticide 

pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 39 (§ 3.2-3900 et seq.) 

of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Repackage" means to transfer a pesticide formulation from 

one container to another without a change in the composition 

of the formulation, the labeling content, or the product's EPA 

registration number for sale or distribution. 

"Rinsate" means the liquid resulting from the rinsing of the 

interior of any equipment or container that has come in direct 

contact with any pesticide. 

"Runoff" means any liquid leaving the target site, including 

water, pesticide rinsate, and pesticide diluents. 

"Secondary containment unit" means any structure, 

including rigid diking, that is designed and constructed to 

intercept and contain pesticide spills and leaks and to prevent 

runoff and leaching from stationary pesticide containers. 

"Stationary pesticide container" means a refillable container 

(i) that is fixed at a single facility or establishment or, if not 

fixed, remains at the facility or establishment for at least 30 

consecutive days and (ii) that holds pesticide during the entire 

time. 

"Suspension concentrate" means a stable suspension of solid 

particulate active ingredients in a liquid intended for dilution 

with water before use. 

"Tamper-evident device" means a device that can be 

visually inspected to determine if a container has been 

opened. 

"Transport vehicle" means a cargo-carrying vehicle such as 

an automobile, van, tractor, truck, semitrailer, tank car, or rail 

car used for the transportation of cargo by any mode. 

"USDOT" means the U.S. Department of Transportation. 

"VDACS" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services. 

"Washwater" means the liquid resulting from the rinsing of 

the exterior of any equipment or containers that have or may 

have come in direct contact with any pesticide or system 

maintenance compound, such as oil or antifreeze. 

Part II 

Nonrefillable Container Standards: Container Design and 

Residue Removal 

2VAC5-690-30. General provisions. 

A. The regulations in Part II (2VAC5-690-30 et seq.) of this 

chapter establish design and construction requirements for 

nonrefillable containers used for the distribution or sale of 

some pesticide products. 

B. A registrant who distributes or sells a pesticide product in 

nonrefillable containers must comply with the regulations in 

Part II of this chapter. A registrant whose pesticide product is 

subject to the regulations in Part II of this chapter as set out in 

2VAC5-690-40 must distribute or sell the pesticide product in 

a nonrefillable container that meets the standards of these 

regulations. 

2VAC5-690-40. Scope of pesticide products included. 

A. The regulations in Part II (2VAC5-690-30 et seq.) of this 

chapter do not apply to manufacturing use products, as 

defined in 40 CFR 158.153(h). 

B. The regulations in Part II of this chapter do not apply to 

plant-incorporated protectants, as defined in 40 CFR 174.3. 

C. The regulations in Part II of this chapter do not apply to a 

pesticide product if it satisfies all of the following conditions: 

1. The pesticide product meets one of the following two 

criteria: 

a. The pesticide product is an antimicrobial pesticide as 

defined in § 2(mm) of FIFRA (7 USC § 136(mm)); or 

b. The pesticide product (i) is intended to disinfect, 

sanitize, reduce, or mitigate growth or development of 

microbiological organisms or protect inanimate objects, 

industrial processes or systems, surfaces, water, or other 

chemical substances from contamination, fouling, or 

deterioration caused by bacteria, viruses, fungi, protozoa, 

algae, or slime and (ii) in the intended use is subject to a 

tolerance under § 408 of the Federal Food, Drug, and 

Cosmetic Act (21 USC § 346a) or a food additive 

regulation under § 409 of the Federal Food, Drug, and 

Cosmetic Act (21 USC § 348). 

2. The labeling of the pesticide product includes directions 

for use on a site in at least one of the following 

antimicrobial product use categories: food handling/storage 

establishments premises and equipment; commercial, 

institutional, and industrial premises and equipment; 

residential and public access premises; medical premises 

and equipment; human drinking water systems; materials 

preservatives; industrial processes and water systems; 

antifouling coatings; wood preservatives; or swimming 

pools. 

3. The pesticide product is not a hazardous waste as set out 

in 40 CFR Part 261 when the pesticide product is intended 

to be disposed. 

4. EPA has not specifically determined that the pesticide 

product must be subject to the regulations in Part II of this 

chapter to prevent an unreasonable adverse effect on the 

environment according to the provisions of subsection D of 

this section. 

D. As established in 40 CFR 165.23(d), EPA may determine 

that an antimicrobial pesticide product otherwise exempted 

must be subject to the regulations in Part II of this chapter. 

E. Except for manufacturing use products, plant-

incorporated protectants, and antimicrobial products that are 

exempt under subsection C of this section, all of the 

regulations in Part II of this chapter apply to a pesticide 

product if it satisfies at least one of the following criteria: 

1. The pesticide product meets the criteria of Toxicity 

Category I as set out in 40 CFR 156.62. 
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2. The pesticide product meets the criteria of Toxicity 

Category II as set out in 40 CFR 156.62. 

3. The pesticide product is classified for restricted use as 

set out in 40 CFR 152.160 through 40 CFR 152.175. 

F. Except for manufacturing use products, plant-

incorporated protectants, antimicrobial products that are 

exempt under subsection C of this section, and other pesticide 

products that are regulated under subsection E of this section, 

a pesticide product must be packaged in compliance with 49 

CFR 173.24. If the pesticide product meets the definition of a 

hazardous material in 49 CFR 171.8, the USDOT requires it 

to be packaged according to 49 CFR Part 171 through 49 

CFR Part 180.  

2VAC5-690-50. Nonrefillable container standards. 

A. In this section, the term "pesticide product" or "pesticide" 

refers only to a pesticide product or a pesticide that is subject 

to the regulations in Part II of this chapter as described in 

2VAC5-690-40. 

B. A pesticide product that does not meet the definition of a 

hazardous material in 49 CFR 171.8 must be packaged in a 

nonrefillable container that, if portable, is designed, 

constructed, and marked to comply with the requirements of 

49 CFR 173.4, 49 CFR 173.5, 49 CFR 173.6, 49 CFR 173.24, 

49 CFR 173.24a, 49 CFR 173.24b, 49 CFR 173.28, 49 CFR 

173.155, 49 CFR 173.203, 49 CFR 173.213, 49 CFR 

173.240(c), 49 CFR 173.240(d), 49 CFR 173.241(c), 49 CFR 

173.241(d), 49 CFR Part 178, and 49 CFR Part 180 that are 

applicable to a Packing Group III material, or, if subject to a 

special permit, according to the applicable requirements of 49 

CFR Part 107 Subpart B. The requirements in this subsection 

apply to the pesticide product as it is packaged for 

transportation in commerce. 

C. A registrant's nonrefillable containers must comply with 

the following standards if the registrant's pesticide product is 

a USDOT hazardous material as defined in 49 CFR 171.8: 

1. The USDOT requires the pesticide product to be 

packaged according to 49 CFR Part 171 through 49 CFR 

Part 180 or, if subject to a special permit, according to the 

applicable requirements of 49 CFR Part 107 Subpart B. 

2. The pesticide product must be packaged in a 

nonrefillable container that, if portable, is designed, 

constructed, and marked to comply with the requirements 

of 49 CFR Part 171 through 49 CFR Part 180 or, if subject 

to a special permit, according to the applicable 

requirements of 49 CFR Part 107 Subpart B. The 

requirements in this subdivision apply to the pesticide 

product as it is packaged for transportation in commerce. 

D. Any nonrefillable container that is a rigid container with 

a capacity equal to or greater than three liters (0.79 gallons), 

is not an aerosol container or a pressurized container, and is 

used to distribute or sell a liquid agricultural pesticide must 

have at least one of the following standard closures: 

1. Bung, two-inch pipe size (2.375 inches in diameter), 

external threading, 11.5 threads per inch, National Pipe 

Straight (NPS) standard; 

2. Bung, two-inch pipe size (2.375 inches in diameter), 

external threading, five threads per inch, buttress threads; 

3. Screw cap, 63 millimeters, at least one thread revolution 

at six threads per inch; or 

4. Screw cap, 38 millimeters, at least one thread revolution 

at six threads per inch. The cap may fit on a separate rigid 

spout or on a flexible pull-out plastic spout. 

E. Any nonrefillable container that has a capacity of five 

gallons (18.9 liters) or less; is not an aerosol container, a 

pressurized container, or a spray bottle; and holds a liquid 

pesticide must do both of the following: 

1. Allow the contents of the nonrefillable container to pour 

in a continuous, coherent stream. 

2. Allow the contents of the nonrefillable container to be 

poured with a minimum amount of dripping down the 

outside of the container. 

F. Each nonrefillable container and pesticide formulation 

combination must meet the applicable residue removal 

standard of this section. 

1. If the nonrefillable container is rigid and has a capacity 

less than or equal to five gallons (18.9 liters) for liquid 

formulations or 50 pounds (22.7 kilograms) for solid 

formulations and if the pesticide product's labeling allows 

or requires the pesticide product to be mixed with a liquid 

diluent prior to application (that is, if the pesticide is 

dilutable), each container/formulation combination must be 

capable of attaining at least 99.99% removal of each active 

ingredient when tested using the EPA test procedure 

"Rinsing Procedures for Dilutable Pesticide Products in 

Rigid Containers." 

2. The test must be conducted only if the pesticide product 

is a suspension concentrate or if EPA specifically requests 

the records on a case-by-case basis. 

3. For the rigid container/dilutable product standard in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection, percent removal 

represents the percent of the original concentration of the 

active ingredient in the pesticide product when compared 

to the concentration of that active ingredient in the fourth 

rinse. Percent removal is calculated by the formula: percent 

removal = [1.0 - RR] x 100.0, where RR = rinsate ratio = 

Active ingredient concentration in fourth rinsate/Original 

concentration of active ingredient in the product. 

G. As established in 40 CFR 165.25(g) and 40 CFR 

165.25(h), a registrant may obtain from EPA a waiver from or 

a modification to the nonrefillable container standards. 

2VAC5-690-60. Reporting and recordkeeping. 

A. In this section, the term "pesticide product" or "pesticide" 

refers only to a pesticide product or a pesticide that is subject 
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to the regulations in Part II of this chapter as described in 

2VAC5-690-40. 

B. A registrant is not required to report to VDACS with 

information about the registrant's nonrefillable containers 

under the regulations in Part II of this chapter. A registrant 

should refer to the reporting standards in 40 CFR Part 159 to 

determine if information on container failures or other 

incidents involving pesticide containers must be reported to 

EPA under § 6(a)(2) of FIFRA (7 USC § 136d(a)(2)). 

C. For each pesticide product that is subject to 2VAC5-690-

50 and 2VAC5-690-60 and is distributed or sold in 

nonrefillable containers, the registrant must maintain the 

records listed in this section for as long as a nonrefillable 

container is used to distribute or sell the pesticide product and 

for three years afterwards. The registrant must furnish these 

records for inspection and copying within 72 hours of request 

by an employee of VDACS. Registrants must keep the 

following records: 

1. The name and EPA registration number of the pesticide 

product. 

2. A description of the nonrefillable container or containers 

in which the pesticide product is distributed or sold. 

3. At least one of the following records to document 

compliance with the requirement for closures in 2VAC5-

690-50 D for each nonrefillable container used to distribute 

or sell the pesticide product that must comply with 

2VAC5-690-50 D: 

a. A letter or document from the container supplier that 

describes the closure. 

b. A specification about the closure in the contract 

between the registrant or applicant and the container 

supplier. 

c. A copy of EPA's approval of any nonstandard closure. 

4. At least one of the following records pertaining to the 

container dispensing capability requirements in 2VAC5-

690-50 E for each nonrefillable container used to distribute 

or sell the pesticide product that must comply with 

2VAC5-690-50 E: 

a. Test data or documentation demonstrating that the 

nonrefillable container meets the standards in 2VAC5-

690-50 E when it contains the pesticide product. 

b. Test data or documentation demonstrating that a 

different nonrefillable container meets the standards in 

2VAC5-690-50 E when it contains the pesticide product 

or a different pesticide product and a written explanation 

of why such data or documentation demonstrates that the 

container meets the standards in 2VAC5-690-50 E for the 

pesticide product. 

c. A copy of EPA's approval of a request for a waiver 

from the container dispensing requirement. 

5. At least one of the following records pertaining to the 

nonrefillable container residue removal requirement in 

2VAC5-690-50 F if the pesticide product is a suspension 

concentrate or if EPA specifically requests the records on a 

case-by-case basis: 

a. Test data showing that the nonrefillable container and 

pesticide formulation meet the standard in 2VAC5-690-

50 F. 

b. Test data showing that a different nonrefillable 

container with the same or a different pesticide 

formulation meets the standard in 2VAC5-690-50 F, 

together with a written explanation of why such data 

demonstrate that the nonrefillable container and pesticide 

formulation meet the standard in 2VAC5-690-50 F. 

c. A copy of EPA's approval of a request for a waiver 

from the residue removal standard requirement. 

Part III 

Refillable Container Standards: Container Design 

2VAC5-690-70. General provisions. 

A. The regulations in Part III (2VAC5-690-70 et seq.) of this 

chapter establish design and construction requirements for 

refillable containers used for the distribution or sale of some 

pesticide products. 

B. The following persons must comply with the regulations 

in Part III of this chapter as follows: 

1. A registrant must comply with all of the regulations in 

Part III of this chapter if the registrant distributes or sells a 

pesticide product in refillable containers. If the pesticide 

product is subject to the regulations in Part III of this 

chapter as set out in 2VAC5-690-80, the pesticide product 

must be distributed or sold in a refillable container that 

meets the standards of these regulations. This includes 

pesticide products that are repackaged according to Part IV 

(2VAC5-690-110 et seq.) of this chapter. 

2. A refiller must comply with the regulations in 2VAC5-

690-90 G for stationary pesticide containers if the refiller is 

not the registrant of the pesticide product. If the pesticide 

product is subject to the regulations in Part III of this 

chapter as set out in 2VAC5-690-80, the stationary 

pesticide containers used to distribute or sell the product 

must meet the standards of 2VAC5-690-90 G. 

3. For a refiller of a pesticide product who is not a 

registrant of the pesticide product, 2VAC5-690-90 C 

provides an exemption from some of the requirements in 

2VAC5-690-90 B. 

2VAC5-690-80. Scope of pesticide products included. 

A. The regulations in Part III (2VAC5-690-70 et seq.) of this 

chapter do not apply to manufacturing use products as defined 

in 40 CFR 158.153(h). 

B. The regulations in Part III of this chapter do not apply to 

plant-incorporated protectants as defined in 40 CFR 174.3. 

C. The regulations in Part III of this chapter do not apply to 

a pesticide product if it satisfies all of the following 

conditions: 
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1. The pesticide product meets one of the following two 

criteria: 

a. The pesticide product is an antimicrobial pesticide as 

defined in § 2(mm) of FIFRA (7 USC § 136(mm)); or 

b. The pesticide product (i) is intended to disinfect, 

sanitize, reduce, or mitigate growth or development of 

microbiological organisms or protect inanimate objects, 

industrial processes or systems, surfaces, water, or other 

chemical substances from contamination, fouling, or 

deterioration caused by bacteria, viruses, fungi, protozoa, 

algae, or slime; and (ii) in the intended use is subject to a 

tolerance under § 408 of the Federal Food, Drug, and 

Cosmetic Act (21 USC § 346a) or a food additive 

regulation under § 409 of the Federal Food, Drug, and 

Cosmetic Act (21 USC § 348). 

2. The labeling of the pesticide product includes directions 

for use on a site in at least one of the following 

antimicrobial product use categories: food handling/storage 

establishments premises and equipment; commercial, 

institutional, and industrial premises and equipment; 

residential and public access premises; medical premises 

and equipment; human drinking water systems; materials 

preservatives; industrial processes and water systems; 

antifouling coatings; wood preservatives; or swimming 

pools. 

3. The pesticide product is not a hazardous waste as set out 

in 40 CFR Part 261 when the pesticide product is intended 

to be disposed. 

4. EPA has not specifically determined that the pesticide 

product must be subject to the regulations in Part III of this 

chapter to prevent an unreasonable adverse effect on the 

environment according to the provisions of subsection E of 

this section. 

D. An antimicrobial swimming pool product that is not 

exempt by subsection A, B, or C of this section must comply 

with all of the regulations in Part III of this chapter except 

2VAC5-690-90 E regarding marking and 2VAC5-690-90 F 

regarding openings. For the purposes of Part III of this 

chapter, an antimicrobial swimming pool product is a 

pesticide product that satisfies both of the following 

conditions: 

1. The pesticide product is intended to disinfect, sanitize, 

reduce, or mitigate growth or development of 

microbiological organisms or protect inanimate objects, 

industrial processes or systems, surfaces, water, or other 

chemical substances from contamination, fouling, or 

deterioration caused by bacteria, viruses, fungi, protozoa, 

algae, or slime. 

2. The labeling of the pesticide product includes directions 

for use on only a site or sites in the antimicrobial product 

use category of swimming pools. 

E. As established in 40 CFR 165.43(e), EPA may determine 

that an antimicrobial pesticide product otherwise exempted 

must be subject to the regulations in Part III of this chapter.  

F. The regulations in Part III of this chapter apply to all 

pesticide products other than manufacturing use products, 

plant-incorporated protectants, and antimicrobial products 

that are exempt by subsection C of this section. Antimicrobial 

products covered under subsection D of this section are 

subject to the regulations indicated in subsection D of this 

section. 

G. In this section, the term "pesticide product" or "pesticide" 

refers only to a pesticide product or a pesticide that is subject 

to the regulations in Part III of this chapter as described in 

subsections A through F of this section. 

1. The regulations in Part III of this chapter do not apply to 

transport vehicles that contain pesticide in pesticide-

holding tanks that are an integral part of the transport 

vehicle and that are the primary containment for the 

pesticide. 

2. The regulations in Part III of this chapter do not apply to 

containers that hold pesticides that are gaseous at 

atmospheric temperature and pressure. 

2VAC5-690-90. Refillable container standards. 

A. In this section, the term "pesticide product" or "pesticide" 

refers only to a pesticide product or a pesticide that is subject 

to the regulations in Part III of this chapter as described in 

2VAC5-690-80 A through F. 

B. A pesticide product that does not meet the definition of a 

hazardous material in 49 CFR 171.8 must be packaged in a 

refillable container that, if portable, is designed, constructed, 

and marked to comply with the requirements of 49 CFR 

173.4, 49 CFR 173.5, 49 CFR 173.6, 49 CFR 173.24, 49 CFR 

173.24a, 49 CFR 173.24b, 49 CFR 173.28, 49 CFR 173.155, 

49 CFR 173.203, 49 CFR 173.213, 49 CFR 173.240(c), 49 

CFR 173.240(d), 49 CFR 173.241(c), 49 CFR 173.241(d), 49 

CFR Part 178, and 49 CFR Part 180 that are applicable to a 

Packing Group III material, or, if subject to a special permit, 

according to the applicable requirements of 49 CFR Part 107 

Subpart B. The requirements in this subsection apply to the 

pesticide product as it is packaged for transportation in 

commerce. 

C. A refiller is not required to comply with 49 CFR 

173.28(b)(2) for pesticide products that are not USDOT 

hazardous materials if the refillable container to be reused 

complies with the refillable container regulations in Part III 

(2VAC5-690-70 et seq.) of this chapter and the refilling is 

done in compliance with the repackaging regulations in Part 

IV (2VAC5-690-110) of this chapter. 

D. A registrant's refillable containers must comply with the 

following standards if the registrant's pesticide product is a 

USDOT hazardous material as defined in 49 CFR 171.8: 

1. The USDOT requires the pesticide product to be 

packaged according to 49 CFR Part 171 through 49 CFR 
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Part 180 or, if subject to a special permit, according to the 

applicable requirements of 49 CFR Part 107 Subpart B. 

2. The pesticide product must be packaged in a refillable 

container that, if portable, is designed, constructed, and 

marked to comply with the requirements of 49 CFR Part 

171 through 49 CFR Part 180 or, if subject to a special 

permit, according to the applicable requirements of 

49 CFR Part 107 Subpart B. The requirements in this 

subsection apply to the pesticide product as it is packaged 

for transportation in commerce. 

E. Each refillable container must be marked in a durable and 

clearly visible manner with a serial number or other 

identifying code that will distinguish the individual container 

from all other containers. Durable marking includes, but is 

not limited to, etching, embossing, ink jetting, stamping, heat 

stamping, mechanically attaching a plate, molding, and 

marking with durable ink. The serial number or other 

identifying code must be located on the outside part of the 

container except on a closure. Placement on the label or 

labeling is not sufficient unless the label is an integral, 

permanent part of or permanently stamped on the container. 

F. For any refillable container that is a portable pesticide 

container, is designed to hold liquid pesticide formulations, 

and is not a cylinder that complies with the USDOT 

Hazardous Materials Regulations in 49 CFR Part 171 through 

49 CFR Part 180, each opening of the container other than a 

vent must have a one-way valve, a tamper-evident device, or 

both. A one-way valve may be located in a device or system 

separate from the container if the device or system is the only 

reasonably foreseeable way to withdraw pesticide from the 

container. A vent must be designed to minimize the amount 

of material that could be introduced into the container through 

it. 

G. If a stationary pesticide container designed to hold 

undivided quantities of pesticides equal to or greater than 500 

gallons (1,890 liters) of liquid pesticide or equal to or greater 

than 4,000 pounds (1,818 kilograms) of dry pesticide is 

located at the refilling establishment of a refiller operating 

under written contract to a registrant, the stationary pesticide 

container must meet the following standards: 

1. Except during a civil emergency or any unanticipated 

grave natural disaster or other natural phenomenon of an 

exceptional, inevitable, and irresistible character, the 

effects of which could not have been prevented or avoided 

by the exercise of due care or foresight, each stationary 

pesticide container (for liquid and dry pesticides) and its 

appurtenances must meet both of the following standards: 

a. Each stationary pesticide container and its 

appurtenances must be resistant to extreme changes in 

temperature and constructed of materials that are 

adequately thick to not fail and that are resistant to 

corrosion, puncture, or cracking. 

b. Each stationary pesticide container must be capable of 

withstanding all operating stresses, taking into account 

static heat, pressure buildup from pumps and 

compressors, and any other foreseeable mechanical 

stresses to which the container may be subjected in the 

course of operations. 

2. Each stationary container of liquid pesticides must meet 

all of the following standards: 

a. Each stationary container of liquid pesticides must be 

equipped with a vent or other device designed to relieve 

excess pressure, prevent losses by evaporation, and 

exclude precipitation. 

b. External sight gauges, which are pesticide-containing 

hoses or tubes that run vertically along the exterior of the 

container from the top to the bottom, are prohibited on 

stationary containers of liquid pesticides. 

c. Each connection on a stationary container of liquid 

pesticides that is below the normal liquid level must be 

equipped with a shutoff valve that is capable of being 

locked closed. A shutoff valve must be located within a 

secondary containment unit if one is required by Part V 

(2VAC5-690-160 et seq.) of this chapter. 

H. As established in 40 CFR 165.45(g) and 40 CFR 

165.45(h), a registrant may obtain from EPA a waiver from or 

a modification to some of the refillable container standards. 

2VAC5-690-100. Reporting. 

In this section, the term "pesticide product" or "pesticide" 

refers only to a pesticide product or a pesticide that is subject 

to the regulations in Part III of this chapter as described in 

2VAC5-690-80 A through F. 

A registrant is not required to report to VDACS information 

about the refillable containers under the regulations in Part III 

(2VAC5-690-70 et seq.) of this chapter. A registrant should 

refer to the reporting standards in 40 CFR Part 159 to 

determine if information on container failures or other 

incidents involving pesticide containers must be reported to 

EPA under § 6(a)(2) of FIFRA (7 USC § 136d(a)(2)). 

Part IV 

Standards for Repackaging Pesticide Products into Refillable 

Containers 

2VAC5-690-110. General provisions. 

A. The regulations in Part IV (2VAC5-690-110 et seq.) of 

this chapter establish requirements for repackaging some 

pesticide products into refillable containers for distribution or 

sale. 

B. The following persons must comply with the regulations 

in Part IV of this chapter:  

1. A registrant who distributes or sells a pesticide product 

in refillable containers;  

2. A registrant who distributes or sells pesticide products to 

a refiller that is not part of the registrant's company for 

repackaging into refillable containers; or  

3. A refiller of a pesticide product that is not the registrant 

of the pesticide product.  
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Each pesticide product that is subject to the regulations in 

Part IV of this chapter as set out in 2VAC5-690-120 and that 

is distributed or sold in a refillable container must be 

distributed or sold in compliance with the standards of these 

regulations. 

2VAC5-690-120. Scope of pesticide products included. 

A. The regulations in Part IV (2VAC5-690-110 et seq.) of 

this chapter do not apply to manufacturing use products as 

defined in 40 CFR 158.153(h). 

B. The regulations in Part IV of this chapter do not apply to 

plant-incorporated protectants as defined in 40 CFR 174.3. 

C. The regulations in Part IV of this chapter do not apply to 

a pesticide product if it satisfies all of the following 

conditions: 

1. The pesticide product meets one of the following two 

criteria: 

a. The pesticide product is an antimicrobial pesticide as 

defined in § 2(mm) of FIFRA (7 USC § 136(mm)); or 

b. The pesticide product (i) is intended to disinfect, 

sanitize, reduce, or mitigate growth or development of 

microbiological organisms or protect inanimate objects, 

industrial processes or systems, surfaces, water, or other 

chemical substances from contamination, fouling, or 

deterioration caused by bacteria, viruses, fungi, protozoa, 

algae, or slime; and (ii) in the intended use is subject to a 

tolerance under § 408 of the Federal Food, Drug, and 

Cosmetic Act (21 USC § 346a) or a food additive 

regulation under § 409 of the Federal Food, Drug, and 

Cosmetic Act (21 USC § 348). 

2. The labeling of the pesticide product includes directions 

for use on a site in at least one of the following 

antimicrobial product use categories: food handling/storage 

establishments premises and equipment; commercial, 

institutional, and industrial premises and equipment; 

residential and public access premises; medical premises 

and equipment; human drinking water systems; materials 

preservatives; industrial processes and water systems; 

antifouling coatings; wood preservatives; or swimming 

pools. 

3. The pesticide product is not a hazardous waste as set out 

in 40 CFR Part 261 when the pesticide product is intended 

to be disposed. 

4. EPA has not specifically determined that the pesticide 

product must be subject to the regulations in Part IV of this 

chapter to prevent an unreasonable adverse effect on the 

environment according to the provisions of subsection F of 

this section. 

D. For the purposes of Part IV of this chapter, an 

antimicrobial swimming pool product is a pesticide product 

that satisfies both of the following conditions: 

1. The pesticide product is intended to disinfect, sanitize, 

reduce, or mitigate growth or development of 

microbiological organisms or protect inanimate objects, 

industrial processes or systems, surfaces, water, or other 

chemical substances from contamination, fouling, or 

deterioration caused by bacteria, viruses, fungi, protozoa, 

algae, or slime. 

2. The labeling of the pesticide product includes directions 

for use on only a site or sites in the antimicrobial product 

use category of swimming pools. 

E. An antimicrobial swimming pool product that is not 

exempt by subsection A, B, or C of this section must comply 

with all of the regulations in Part IV of this chapter except for 

the following requirements: 

Requirement 

Requirement 

for registrants 

who distribute 

or sell directly 

in refillable 

containers 

Requirement 

for refillers 

who are not 

registrants 

Recordkeeping 

specific to each 

instance of 

repackaging 

2VAC5-690-

130 J 2  

2VAC5-690-

150 K 2 

Container 

inspection: criteria 

regarding a serial 

number or other 

identifying code 

2VAC5-690-

130 F 2 

2VAC5-690-

150 G 2 

Container 

inspection: criteria 

regarding one-way 

valve or tamper-

evident device 

2VAC5-690-

130 F 3 

2VAC5-690-

150 G 3 

Cleaning 

requirement: 

criteria regarding 

one-way valve or 

tamper-evident 

device 

2VAC5-690-

130 G 1 

2VAC5-690-

150 H 1 

Cleaning if the one-

way valve or 

tamper-evident 

device is not intact 

2VAC5-690-

130 H 

2VAC5-690-

150 I 

F. As established in 40 CFR 165.63(e), EPA may determine 

that an antimicrobial pesticide product otherwise exempted 

must be subject to the regulations in Part IV of this chapter. 

G. The regulations in Part IV of this chapter apply to all 

pesticide products other than manufacturing use products, 

plant-incorporated protectants, and antimicrobial products 

that are exempt under subsection C of this section. 

Antimicrobial products covered under subsection E of this 
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section are subject to the regulations indicated in that 

subsection. 

H. In this section, the term "pesticide product" or "pesticide" 

refers only to a pesticide product or a pesticide that is subject 

to the regulations in Part IV of this chapter as described in 

subsections A through G of this section. 

1. The regulations in Part IV of this chapter do not apply to 

transport vehicles that contain pesticide in pesticide-

holding tanks that are an integral part of the transport 

vehicle and that are the primary containment for the 

pesticide.  

2. Custom blending is not subject to the regulations in Part 

IV of this chapter.  

3. The regulations in Part IV of this chapter do not apply to 

containers that hold pesticides that are gaseous at 

atmospheric temperature and pressure. 

2VAC5-690-130. Registrants who distribute or sell 

pesticide products in refillable containers. 

A. In this section, the term "pesticide product" or "pesticide" 

refers only to a pesticide product or a pesticide that is subject 

to the regulations in Part IV of this chapter as described in 

2VAC5-690-120 A through G. 

B. Any registrant who distributes or sells pesticide products 

in refillable containers and any registrant who conducts all of 

the repackaging for a pesticide product and does not distribute 

or sell the pesticide product to a refiller that is not part of the 

registrant's company for repackaging into refillable containers 

must comply with this section. Any registrant that repackages 

a product directly into refillable containers for sale or 

distribution and also sells or distributes other quantities of 

that product to an independent refiller for repackaging must 

meet the requirements in this section for those quantities the 

registrant distributes or sells directly and the requirements in 

2VAC5-690-140 for those quantities that the registrant 

distributes or sells to an independent refiller. 

C. A registrant is responsible for the pesticide product that 

the registrant distributes or sells in refillable containers not 

being adulterated or different from the composition described 

in its confidential statement of formula that is required under 

§ 3 of FIFRA (7 USC § 136a). 

D. For each pesticide product distributed or sold in refillable 

containers, the registrant must develop both of the following 

documents in writing. 

1. The registrant must develop a refilling residue removal 

procedure that describes how to remove pesticide residue 

from a refillable container (portable or stationary pesticide 

container) before it is refilled. 

a. The refilling residue removal procedure must be 

adequate to ensure that the composition of the pesticide 

product does not differ at the time of its distribution or 

sale from the composition described in its confidential 

statement of formula that is required under § 3 of FIFRA 

(7 USC § 136a). 

b. If the refilling residue removal procedure requires the 

use of a solvent other than the diluent used for applying 

the pesticide as specified on the labeling under 

"Directions for Use," or if there is no diluent used for 

application, the refilling residue removal procedure must 

describe how to manage any rinsate resulting from the 

procedure in accordance with applicable federal and state 

regulations.  

2. The registrant must develop a description of acceptable 

refillable containers (portable or stationary pesticide 

containers) that can be used for distributing or selling that 

pesticide product. 

a. An acceptable container is one that the registrant has 

determined meets the standards in Part III (2VAC5-690-

70 et seq.) of this chapter and is compatible with the 

pesticide formulation intended to be distributed and sold 

using the refillable container. 

b. The registrant must identify the containers by 

specifying the container materials of construction that are 

compatible with the pesticide formulation and specifying 

information necessary to confirm compliance with the 

refillable container requirements in Part III of this 

chapter. 

E. A refiller at a registrant's establishment that repackages a 

pesticide product into refillable containers for distribution or 

sale must comply with all of the following provisions. 

1. The establishment must be registered with EPA as a 

producing establishment as required by 40 CFR 167.20. 

2. The refiller must not change the pesticide formulation 

unless the refiller has a registration for the new 

formulation. 

3. The refiller must repackage a pesticide product only into 

a refillable container that is identified on the registrant's 

description of acceptable containers for that pesticide 

product. 

4. The refiller may repackage any quantity of a pesticide 

product into a refillable container up to the rated capacity 

of the container. In addition, there are no general limits on 

the size of the refillable containers that the refiller can use. 

5. The refiller must have all of the following items at the 

establishment before repackaging a pesticide product into 

any refillable container for distribution or sale: 

a. The pesticide product's label and labeling; 

b. The written refilling residue removal procedure for the 

pesticide product; and 

c. The written description of acceptable containers for the 

pesticide product. 

6. Before repackaging a pesticide product into any 

refillable container for distribution or sale, the refiller must 

identify the pesticide product previously contained in the 

refillable container to determine whether a residue removal 

procedure must be conducted in accordance with 
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subsection G of this section. The refiller may identify the 

previous pesticide product by referring to the label or 

labeling. 

7. The refiller must inspect each refillable container 

according to subsection F of this section. 

8. The refiller must clean each refillable container 

according to subsection G or H of this section, if required 

by either subsection. 

9. The refiller must ensure that each refillable container is 

properly labeled according to subsection I of this section. 

10. The establishment must maintain records in accordance 

with subsection J of this section. 

11. The establishment must maintain records as required 

by 40 CFR Part 169. 

12. The establishment must report as required by 40 CFR 

Part 167. 

F. Before repackaging a pesticide product into any refillable 

container, a refiller at a registrant's establishment must 

visually inspect the exterior and (if possible) the interior of 

the container and the exterior of appurtenances. The purpose 

of the inspection is to determine whether the container meets 

the necessary criteria with respect to continued container 

integrity, required markings, and openings. If the condition in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection exists, the container fails the 

inspection and must not be refilled unless the container is 

repaired, reconditioned, or remanufactured in compliance 

with the relevant USDOT requirement. If the condition in 

subdivision 2 or 3 of this subsection (or both) exists, the 

container fails the inspection and must not be refilled until the 

container meets the standards specified in Part III of this 

chapter. The conditions are: 

1. The integrity of the container is compromised in at least 

one of the following ways: 

a. The container shows signs of rupture or other damage 

that reduces its structural integrity; 

b. The container has visible pitting, significant reduction 

in material thickness, metal fatigue, damaged threads or 

closures, or other significant defects; 

c. The container has cracks, warpage, corrosion, or any 

other damage that might render it unsafe for 

transportation; or 

d. There is damage to the fittings, valves, tamper-evident 

devices or other appurtenances that may cause failure of 

the container. 

2. The container does not bear the markings required by 

2VAC5-690-90 B through E, or such markings are not 

legible. 

3. The container does not have an intact and functioning 

one-way valve or tamper-evident device on each opening 

other than a vent, if required. 

G. A refiller at a registrant's establishment must clean each 

refillable container by conducting the pesticide product's 

refilling residue removal procedure before repackaging the 

pesticide product into the refillable container, unless the 

conditions in subdivisions 1 and either 2 or 3 of this 

subsection are satisfied. 

1. If required, each tamper-evident device and one-way 

valve is intact. 

2. The refillable container is being refilled with the same 

pesticide product. 

3. Both of the following conditions are satisfied: 

a. The container previously held a pesticide product with 

a single active ingredient and is being used to repackage 

a pesticide product with the same single active 

ingredient. 

b. There is no change that would cause the composition 

of the product being repackaged to differ from the 

composition described in its confidential statement of 

formula that is required under § 3 of FIFRA (7 USC 

§ 136a). Examples of unallowable changes include the 

active ingredient concentration increasing or decreasing 

beyond the limits established by the confidential 

statement of formula or a reaction or interaction between 

the pesticide product being repackaged and the residue 

remaining in the container. 

H. As required in subsection G of this section, a refiller at a 

registrant's establishment must clean each refillable container 

that has a tamper-evident device that is not intact or one-way 

valve that is not intact by conducting the pesticide product's 

refilling residue removal procedure before repackaging the 

pesticide product into the refillable container. In addition, 

other procedures may be necessary to assure that product 

integrity is maintained in such cases. 

I. Before distributing or selling a pesticide product in a 

refillable container, a refiller must ensure that the label of the 

pesticide product is securely attached to the refillable 

container such that the label can reasonably be expected to 

remain affixed during the foreseeable conditions and period 

of use. The label and labeling must comply in all respects 

with the requirements of 40 CFR Part 156. In particular, the 

refiller must ensure that the net contents statement and EPA 

establishment number appear on the label. 

J. Each establishment of a registrant that repackages a 

pesticide product into refillable containers for distribution or 

sale must maintain all of the records listed in this section in 

addition to the applicable records identified in 40 CFR Part 

167 and 40 CFR Part 169. The establishment must furnish 

these records for inspection and copying within 72 hours of 

request by an employee of VDACS. 

1. For each pesticide product distributed or sold in 

refillable containers, both of the following records must be 

maintained for the current operating year and for three 

years afterwards: 

a. The written refilling residue removal procedure for the 

pesticide product; and 
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b. The written description of acceptable containers for 

the pesticide product. 

2. Each time a refiller at a registrant's establishment 

repackages a pesticide product into a refillable container 

and distributes or sells the product, the following records 

must be generated and maintained for at least three years 

after the date of repackaging: 

a. The EPA registration number of the pesticide product 

distributed or sold in the refillable container;  

b. The date of the repackaging; and 

c. The serial number or other identifying code of the 

refillable container. 

2VAC5-690-140. Registrants who distribute or sell 

pesticide products to refillers for repackaging. 

A. In this section, the term "pesticide product" or "pesticide" 

refers only to a pesticide product or a pesticide that is subject 

to the regulations in Part IV of this chapter as described in 

2VAC5-690-120 A through G. 

B. A registrant who distributes or sells pesticide products to 

a refiller that is not part of the registrant's company for 

repackaging into refillable containers must comply with the 

standards in this section. 

C. A registrant may allow a refiller to repackage the 

registrant's pesticide product into refillable containers and to 

distribute or sell such repackaged product under the 

registrant's existing registration if all of the following 

conditions are satisfied: 

1. The repackaging results in no change to the pesticide 

formulation. 

2. One of the following conditions regarding a registered 

refilling establishment is satisfied: 

a. The pesticide product is repackaged at a refilling 

establishment registered with EPA as required by 40 

CFR 167.20. 

b. The pesticide product is repackaged by a refilling 

establishment registered with EPA as required by 

40 CFR 167.20 at the site of a user who intends to use or 

apply the product. 

3. The registrant has entered into a written contract with 

the refiller to repackage the pesticide product and to use 

the label of the registrant's pesticide product. 

4. The pesticide product is repackaged only into refillable 

containers that meet the standards of Part III (2VAC5-690-

70 et seq.) of this chapter. 

5. The pesticide product is labeled with the product's label 

with no changes except the addition of an appropriate net 

contents statement and the refiller's EPA establishment 

number. 

D. Repackaging a pesticide product for distribution or sale 

without either obtaining a registration or meeting all of the 

conditions in subsection C of this section is a violation of 

§ 12 of FIFRA (7 USC § 136j). Both the registrant and the 

refiller that is repackaging the registrant's pesticide product 

under written contract with the registrant may be liable for 

violations pertaining to the repackaged product. 

E. A registrant that allows a refiller to repackage the 

registrant's product as specified in subsection C of this section 

must provide the written contract referred to in subdivision C 

3 of this section to the refiller before the registrant distributes 

or sells the pesticide product to the refiller. 

F. A registrant is responsible for the pesticide product that 

the registrant distributes or sells to a refiller that is not part of 

the registrant's company for repackaging into refillable 

containers not being adulterated or different from the 

composition described in its confidential statement of formula 

that is required under § 3 of FIFRA (7 USC § 136a).  

G. For each pesticide product distributed or sold in refillable 

containers, the registrant must develop both of the following 

documents in writing. 

1. The registrant must develop a refilling residue removal 

procedure that describes how to remove pesticide residue 

from a refillable container (portable or stationary pesticide 

container) before it is refilled. 

a. The refilling residue removal procedure must be 

adequate to ensure that the composition of the pesticide 

product does not differ at the time of its distribution or 

sale from the composition described in its confidential 

statement of formula that is required under § 3 of FIFRA 

(7 USC § 136a). 

b. If the refilling residue removal procedure requires the 

use of a solvent other than the diluent used for applying 

the pesticide as specified on the labeling under 

"Directions for Use," or if there is no diluents used for 

application, the refilling residue removal procedure must 

describe how to manage any rinsate resulting from the 

procedure in accordance with applicable federal and state 

regulations. 

2. The registrant must develop a description of acceptable 

refillable containers (portable or stationary pesticide 

containers) that can be used for distributing or selling that 

pesticide product. 

a. An acceptable container is one that the registrant has 

determined meets the standards Part III of this chapter 

and is compatible with the pesticide formulation intended 

to be distributed and sold using the refillable container. 

b. The registrant must identify the containers by 

specifying the container materials of construction that are 

compatible with the pesticide formulation and specifying 

information necessary to confirm compliance with the 

refillable container requirements in Part III of this 

chapter. 

H. A registrant must provide the refiller with all of the 

following information and documentation before or at the 
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time of distribution or sale of the registrant's pesticide product 

to the refiller: 

1. The registrant's written refilling residue removal 

procedure for the pesticide product; 

2. The registrant's written description of acceptable 

containers for the pesticide product; and 

3. The pesticide product's label and labeling. 

I. A registrant must maintain all of the records listed in this 

section for the current operating year and for three years 

afterwards. A registrant must furnish these records for 

inspection and copying within 72 hours of request by an 

employee of VDACS: 

1. Each written contract entered into with a refiller for 

repackaging the registrant's pesticide product into refillable 

containers; 

2. The registrant's written refilling residue removal 

procedure for the pesticide product; and 

3. The registrant's written description of acceptable 

containers for the pesticide product. 

2VAC5-690-150. Refillers who are not registrants. 

A. In this section, the term "pesticide product" or "pesticide" 

refers only to a pesticide product or a pesticide that is subject 

to the regulations in Part IV of this chapter as described in 

2VAC5-690-120 A through G. 

B. A refiller of a pesticide product that is not the registrant 

of the pesticide product must comply with the standards in 

this section. 

C. A registrant may allow a refiller to repackage the 

registrant's pesticide product into refillable containers and to 

distribute or sell such repackaged product under the 

registrant's existing registration if all of the following 

conditions are satisfied: 

1. The repackaging results in no change to the pesticide 

formulation. 

2. One of the following conditions regarding a registered 

refilling establishment is satisfied: 

a. The pesticide product is repackaged at a refilling 

establishment registered with EPA as required by 40 

CFR 167.20. 

b. The pesticide product is repackaged by a refilling 

establishment registered with EPA as required by 

40 CFR 167.20 at the site of a user who intends to use or 

apply the product. 

3. The registrant has entered into a written contract with 

the refiller to repackage the pesticide product and to use 

the label of the registrant's pesticide product. 

4. The pesticide product is repackaged only into refillable 

containers that meet the standards of Part III (2VAC5-690-

70 et seq.) of this chapter. 

5. The pesticide product is labeled with the product's label 

with no changes except the addition of an appropriate net 

contents statement and the refiller's EPA establishment 

number. 

D. Repackaging a pesticide product for distribution or sale 

without either obtaining a registration or meeting all of the 

conditions in subsection C of this section is a violation of § 

12 of FIFRA (7 USC § 136j). Both the refiller and the 

pesticide product's registrant may be liable for violations 

pertaining to the repackaged product. 

E. A refiller is responsible for the pesticide product that the 

refiller distributes or sells in refillable containers not being 

adulterated or different from the composition described in its 

confidential statement of formula that is required under § 3 of 

FIFRA (7 USC § 136a). 

F. A refiller must comply with all of the following 

provisions. 

1. The refiller's establishment must be registered with EPA 

as a producing establishment as required by 40 CFR 

167.20. 

2. The refiller must not change the pesticide formulation 

unless the refiller has a registration for the new 

formulation. 

3. The refiller must repackage a pesticide product only into 

a refillable container that is identified on the description of 

acceptable containers for that pesticide product provided 

by the registrant. 

4. The refiller may repackage any quantity of a pesticide 

product into a refillable container up to the rated capacity 

of the container. In addition, there are no general limits on 

the size of the refillable containers that the refiller can use. 

5. The refiller must have all of the following items at the 

refiller's establishment before repackaging a pesticide 

product into any refillable container for distribution or sale: 

a. The written contract referred to in subdivision C 3 of 

this section from the pesticide product's registrant; 

b. The pesticide product's label and labeling; 

c. The registrant's written refilling residue removal 

procedure for the pesticide product; and 

d. The registrant's written description of acceptable 

containers for the pesticide product. 

6. Before repackaging a pesticide product into any 

refillable container for distribution or sale, the refiller must 

identify the pesticide product previously contained in the 

refillable container to determine whether a residue removal 

procedure must be conducted in accordance with 

subsection H of this section. The refiller may identify the 

previous pesticide product by referring to the label or 

labeling. 

7. The refiller must inspect each refillable container 

according to subsection G of this section. 

8. The refiller must clean each refillable container 

according to subsection H or I of this section, if required 

by either subsection. 
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9. The refiller must ensure that each refillable container is 

properly labeled according to subsection J of this section. 

10. The refiller must maintain records in accordance with 

subsection K of this section. 

11. The refiller must maintain records as required by 

40 CFR Part 169. 

12. The refiller must report as required by 40 CFR Part 

167. 

13. The stationary pesticide containers at the refiller's 

establishment must meet the standards in 2VAC5-690-90 

G. 

14. The refiller may be required to comply with the 

containment standards in Part V (2VAC5-690-160 et seq.) 

of this chapter. 

G. Before repackaging a pesticide product into any refillable 

container, a refiller must visually inspect the exterior and (if 

possible) the interior of the container and the exterior of 

appurtenances. The purpose of the inspection is to determine 

whether the container meets the necessary criteria with 

respect to continued container integrity, required markings, 

and openings. If the condition in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection exists, the container fails the inspection and must 

not be refilled unless the container is repaired, reconditioned, 

or remanufactured in compliance with the relevant USDOT 

requirement. If the condition in subdivision 2 or 3 of this 

subsection (or both) exists, the container fails the inspection 

and must not be refilled until the container meets the 

standards specified in Part III (2VAC5-690-70 et seq.) of this 

chapter. The conditions are the following: 

1. The integrity of the container is compromised in at least 

one of the following ways: 

a. The container shows signs of rupture or other damage 

that reduces its structural integrity; 

b. The container has visible pitting, significant reduction 

in material thickness, metal fatigue, damaged threads or 

closures, or other significant defects; 

c. The container has cracks, warpage, corrosion, or any 

other damage that might render it unsafe for 

transportation; or 

d. There is damage to the fittings, valves, tamper-evident 

devices, or other appurtenances that may cause failure of 

the container. 

2. The container does not bear the markings required by 

2VAC5-690-90 B through E, or such markings are not 

legible. 

3. The container does not have an intact and functioning 

one-way valve or tamper-evident device on each opening 

other than a vent, if required. 

H. A refiller must clean each refillable container by 

conducting the pesticide product's refilling residue removal 

procedure before repackaging the pesticide product into the 

refillable container, unless the conditions in subdivisions 1 

and either 2 or 3 of this section are satisfied. 

1. If required, each tamper-evident device and one-way 

valve is intact. 

2. The refillable container is being refilled with the same 

pesticide product. 

3. Both of the following conditions are satisfied. 

a. The container previously held a pesticide product with 

a single active ingredient and is being used to repackage 

a pesticide product with the same single active 

ingredient. 

b. There is no change that would cause the composition 

of the product being repackaged to differ from the 

composition described in its confidential statement of 

formula that is required under § 3 of FIFRA (7 USC 

§ 136a). Examples of unallowable changes include the 

active ingredient concentration increasing or decreasing 

beyond the limits established by the confidential 

statement of formula or a reaction or interaction between 

the pesticide product being repackaged and the residue 

remaining in the container. 

I. As required in subsection H of this section, a refiller must 

clean each refillable container that has a tamper-evident 

device that is not intact or one-way valve that is not intact by 

conducting the pesticide product's refilling residue removal 

procedure before repackaging the pesticide product into the 

refillable container. In addition, other procedures may be 

necessary to assure that product integrity is maintained in 

such cases. 

J. Before distributing or selling a pesticide product in a 

refillable container, a refiller must ensure that the label of the 

pesticide product is securely attached to the refillable 

container such that the label can reasonably be expected to 

remain affixed during the foreseeable conditions and period 

of use. The label and labeling must comply in all respects 

with the requirements of 40 CFR Part 156. In particular, a 

refiller must ensure that the net contents statement and EPA 

establishment number appear on the label. 

K. A refiller must maintain all of the records listed in this 

section in addition to the applicable records identified in 40 

CFR Part 167 and 40 CFR Part 169. A refiller must furnish 

these records for inspection and copying within 72 hours of 

request by an employee of VDACS. 

1. For each pesticide product distributed or sold in 

refillable containers, all of the following records must be 

maintained for the current operating year and for three 

years after that: 

a. The written contract from the pesticide product's 

registrant for the pesticide product; 

b. The written refilling residue removal procedure for the 

pesticide product; and 
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c. The written description of acceptable containers for the 

pesticide product. 

2. Each time a refiller repackages a pesticide product into a 

refillable container and distributes or sells the product, the 

following records must be generated and maintained for at 

least three years after the date of repackaging: 

a. The EPA registration number of the pesticide product 

distributed or sold in the refillable container; 

b. The date of the repackaging; and 

c. The serial number or other identifying code of the 

refillable container. 

Part V 

Standards for Pesticide Containment Structures 

2VAC5-690-160. General provisions. 

A. The purpose of the containment regulations in Part V 

(2VAC5-690-160 et seq.) of this chapter is to protect human 

health and the environment from exposure to agricultural 

pesticides that may spill or leak from stationary pesticide 

containers. This protection is achieved by the construction of 

secondary containment units or pads at certain facilities 

handling agricultural pesticides. These regulations will also 

reduce waste generation associated with: 

1. Storage and handling of large quantities of pesticide 

products. 

2. Pesticide dispensing and container-refilling operations. 

B. Any owner or operator of one of the following businesses 

who also has a stationary pesticide container or a pesticide 

dispensing (including container refilling) area must comply 

with the regulations in Part V of this chapter. 

1. Refilling establishments who repackage agricultural 

pesticides and whose principal business is retail sale (i.e., 

more than 50% of total annual revenue comes from retail 

operations). 

2. Custom blenders of agricultural pesticides. 

3. Businesses that apply an agricultural pesticide for 

compensation (other than trading of personal services 

between agricultural producers). 

2VAC5-690-170. Scope of stationary pesticide containers 

included. 

A. A stationary pesticide container is a refillable container 

(i) that is fixed at a single facility or establishment or, if not 

fixed, remains at the facility or establishment for at least 30 

consecutive days and (ii) that holds pesticide during the entire 

time. 

B. Stationary pesticide containers designed to hold 

undivided quantities of agricultural pesticides equal to or 

greater than 500 gallons (1,890 liters) of liquid pesticide or 

equal to or greater than 4,000 pounds (1,818 kilograms) of 

dry pesticide are subject to the regulations in Part V (2VAC5-

690-160 et seq.) of this chapter and must have a secondary 

containment unit that complies with the provisions of Part V 

of this chapter unless any of the following conditions exists: 

1. The container is empty, that is, all pesticide that can be 

removed by methods such as draining, pumping, or 

aspirating has been removed (whether or not the container 

has been rinsed or washed). 

2. The container holds only pesticide rinsates or washwater 

and is labeled accordingly. 

3. The container holds only pesticides that would be 

gaseous when released at atmospheric temperature and 

pressure. 

4. The container is dedicated to nonpesticide use and is 

labeled accordingly. 

2VAC5-690-180. Scope of pesticide dispensing areas 

included. 

A. A pesticide dispensing area is subject to the containment 

regulations in Part V (2VAC5-690-160 et seq.) of this chapter 

and must have a containment pad that complies with the 

requirements of Part V of this chapter if any of the following 

activities occur: 

1. Refillable containers of agricultural pesticide are 

emptied, cleaned, or rinsed. 

2. Agricultural pesticides are dispensed from a stationary 

pesticide container designed to hold undivided quantities 

of agricultural pesticides equal to or greater than 500 

gallons (1,890 liters) of liquid pesticide or equal to or 

greater than 4,000 pounds (1,818 kilograms) of dry 

pesticide for any purpose, including refilling or emptying 

for cleaning. This applies when pesticide is dispensed from 

the container into any vessel, including but not limited to: 

a. Refillable containers; 

b. Service containers; 

c. Transport vehicles; or  

d. Application equipment. 

3. Agricultural pesticides are dispensed from a transport 

vehicle for purposes of filling a refillable container. 

4. Agricultural pesticides are dispensed from any other 

container for the purpose of refilling a refillable container 

for sale or distribution. Containment requirements do not 

apply if the agricultural pesticide is dispensed from such a 

container for use, application or purposes other than 

refilling for sale or distribution. 

B. A pesticide dispensing area is exempt from the 

regulations in Part V of this chapter if any of the following 

conditions exist: 

1. The only pesticides in the dispensing area would be 

gaseous when released at atmospheric temperature and 

pressure. 

2. The only pesticide containers refilled or emptied within 

the dispensing area are stationary pesticide containers that 
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are already protected by a secondary containment unit that 

complies with the provisions of Part V of this chapter. 

3. The pesticide dispensing area is used solely for 

dispensing pesticide from a rail car that does not remain at 

a facility long enough to meet the definition of a stationary 

pesticide container, that is, 30 days. 

2VAC5-690-190. Definition of new and existing structures. 

A. A new containment structure is one whose installation 

began after November 16, 2006. Installation is considered to 

have begun if: 

1. The owner or operator has obtained all federal, state, and 

local approvals or permits necessary to begin physical 

construction of the containment structure; and  

2. The owner or operator has either begun a continuous 

onsite physical construction or installation program or has 

entered into contractual obligations. The contract must be 

such that it cannot be canceled or modified without 

substantial loss and must be for the physical construction 

or installation of the containment structure within a 

specific and reasonable time frame. 

B. An existing containment structure is defined as one 

whose installation began on or before November 16, 2006. 

2VAC5-690-200. Design and capacity requirements for 

new structures. 

A. A new containment structure must comply with the 

following material specifications: 

1. The containment structure must be constructed of steel, 

reinforced concrete, or other rigid material capable of 

withstanding the full hydrostatic head, load, and impact of 

any pesticides, precipitation, other substances, equipment, 

and appurtenances placed within the structure. The 

structure must be liquid-tight with cracks, seams, and joints 

appropriately sealed. 

2. The structure must not be constructed of natural earthen 

material, unfired clay, or asphalt. 

3. The containment structure must be made of materials 

compatible with the pesticides stored. Materials are 

deemed compatible if they are able to withstand anticipated 

exposure to stored or transferred substances and still 

provide containment of those same or other substances 

within the containment area. 

B. A new containment structure must comply with the 

following general design requirements: 

1. The owner or operator must ensure that appurtenances 

and pesticide containers are protected against damage from 

operating personnel and moving equipment. Means of 

protection include, but are not limited to, supports to 

prevent sagging, flexible connections, the use of guard 

rails, barriers, and protective cages. 

2. Appurtenances, discharge outlets, or gravity drains must 

not be configured through the base or wall of the 

containment structure, except for direct interconnections 

between adjacent containment structures that meet the 

requirements of Part V (2VAC5-690-160 et seq.) of this 

chapter. Appurtenances must be configured in such a way 

that spills or leaks are easy to see. 

3. The containment structure must be constructed with 

sufficient freeboard to contain precipitation and prevent 

water and other liquids from seeping into or flowing onto it 

from adjacent land or structures. 

4. Multiple stationary pesticide containers may be 

protected within a single secondary containment unit. 

C. A new secondary containment unit for a stationary 

container of a liquid pesticide and a new containment pad in a 

pesticide dispensing area must comply with the following 

capacity requirements: 

1. New secondary containment units for stationary 

containers of liquid pesticides, if protected from 

precipitation, must have a capacity of at least 100% of the 

volume of the largest stationary pesticide container plus the 

volume displaced by other containers and appurtenances 

within the unit. 

2. New secondary containment units for stationary 

containers of liquid pesticides, if exposed to or unprotected 

from precipitation, must have a capacity of at least 110% 

of the volume of the largest stationary pesticide container 

plus the volume displaced by other containers and 

appurtenances within the unit. 

3. New containment pads in pesticide dispensing areas that 

have a pesticide container or pesticide holding equipment 

with a volume of 750 gallons or greater must have a 

holding capacity of at least 750 gallons. 

4. New containment pads in pesticide dispensing areas that 

do not have a pesticide container or pesticide holding 

equipment with a volume of at least 750 gallons must have 

a holding capacity of at least 100% of the volume of the 

largest pesticide container or pesticide-holding equipment 

used on the pad. 

D. Each stationary container of liquid pesticides protected 

by a new secondary containment unit must be anchored or 

elevated to prevent flotation in the event that the secondary 

containment unit fills with liquid. 

E. Each new containment pad in a pesticide dispensing area 

must: 

1. Be designed and constructed to intercept leaks and spills 

of pesticides that may occur in the pesticide dispensing 

area; 

2. Have enough surface area to extend completely beneath 

any container on it, with the exception of transport vehicles 

dispensing pesticide for sale or distribution to a stationary 

pesticide container. For such vehicles, the surface area of 

the containment pad must accommodate at least the portion 

of the vehicle where the delivery hose or device couples to 

the vehicle. This exception does not apply to transport 
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vehicles that are used for prolonged storage or repeated 

onsite dispensing of pesticides; 

3. Allow, in conjunction with its sump, for removal and 

recovery of spilled, leaked, or discharged material and 

rainfall, such as by a manually activated pump. 

Automatically activated pumps that lack automatic 

overflow cutoff switches for the receiving container are 

prohibited; and 

4. Have its surface sloped toward an area where liquids can 

be collected for removal, such as a liquid-tight sump or a 

depression, in the case of a single-pour concrete pad. 

F. A new secondary containment unit for a stationary 

container of a dry pesticide must comply with the following 

specific design requirements: 

1. The stationary containers of dry pesticides within the 

containment unit must be protected from wind and 

precipitation. 

2. Stationary containers of dry pesticides must be placed on 

pallets or a raised concrete platform to prevent the 

accumulation of water in or under the pesticide. 

3. The storage area for stationary containers of dry 

pesticides must include a floor that extends completely 

beneath the pallets or raised concrete platforms on which 

the stationary containers of dry pesticides must be stored. 

4. The storage area for stationary containers of dry 

pesticides must be enclosed by a curb a minimum of six 

inches high that extends at least two feet beyond the 

perimeter of the container. 

2VAC5-690-210. Design and capacity requirements for 

existing structures. 

A. An existing containment structure must comply with the 

following material specifications: 

1. The containment structure must be constructed of steel, 

reinforced concrete, or other rigid material capable of 

withstanding the full hydrostatic head, load, and impact of 

any pesticides, precipitation, other substances, equipment, 

and appurtenances placed within the structure. The 

structure must be liquid-tight with cracks, seams, and joints 

appropriately sealed. 

2. The structure must not be constructed of natural earthen 

material, unfired clay, or asphalt. 

3. The containment structure must be made of materials 

compatible with the pesticides stored. In this case, 

compatible means able to withstand anticipated exposure 

to stored or transferred substances and still provide 

containment of those same or other substances within the 

containment area. 

B. An existing containment structure must comply with the 

following general design requirements: 

1. The owner or operator must ensure that appurtenances 

and pesticide containers are protected against damage from 

operating personnel and moving equipment. Means of 

protection include, but are not limited to, supports to 

prevent sagging, flexible connections, the use of guard 

rails, barriers, and protective cages. 

2. All appurtenances, discharge outlets, and gravity drains 

through the base or wall of the containment structure must 

be sealed, except for direct interconnections between 

adjacent containment structures that meet the requirements 

of Part V (2VAC5-690-160 et seq.) of this chapter. 

3. The containment structure must be constructed with 

sufficient freeboard to contain precipitation and prevent 

water and other liquids from seeping into or flowing onto it 

from adjacent land or structures. 

4. Multiple stationary pesticide containers may be 

protected within a single secondary containment unit. 

C. An existing secondary containment unit for a stationary 

container of liquid pesticides and an existing containment pad 

in a pesticide dispensing area must comply with the following 

capacity requirements: 

1. Existing secondary containment units for stationary 

containers of liquid pesticides must have a capacity of at 

least 100% of the volume of the largest stationary pesticide 

container plus the volume displaced by other containers 

and appurtenances within the unit. 

2. Existing containment pads in pesticide dispensing areas 

that have a pesticide container or pesticide-holding 

equipment with a volume of 750 gallons or greater must 

have a holding capacity of at least 750 gallons. 

3. Existing containment pads in pesticide dispensing areas 

that do not have a pesticide container or pesticide-holding 

equipment with a volume of at least 750 gallons must have 

a holding capacity of at least 100% of the volume of the 

largest pesticide container or pesticide-holding equipment 

used on the pad. 

D. Each stationary container of liquid pesticides protected 

by an existing secondary containment unit must be anchored 

or elevated to prevent flotation in the event that the secondary 

containment unit fills with liquid. 

E. Each existing containment pad in a pesticide dispensing 

area must: 

1. Be designed and constructed to intercept leaks and spills 

of pesticides that may occur in the pesticide dispensing 

area. 

2. Have enough surface area to extend completely beneath 

any container on it, with the exception of transport vehicles 

dispensing pesticide for sale or distribution to a stationary 

pesticide container. For such vehicles, the surface area of 

the containment pad must accommodate at least the portion 

of the vehicle where the delivery hose or device couples to 

the vehicle. This exception does not apply to transport 

vehicles that are used for prolonged storage or repeated 

onsite dispensing of pesticides. 
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3. Allow, in conjunction with its sump, for removal and 

recovery of spilled, leaked, or discharged material and 

rainfall, such as by a manually activated pump. 

Automatically activated pumps that lack automatic 

overflow cutoff switches for the receiving container are 

prohibited. 

F. An existing secondary containment unit for a stationary 

container of a dry pesticide must comply with the following 

specific design requirements: 

1. The stationary containers of dry pesticides within the 

containment unit must be protected from wind and 

precipitation. 

2. Stationary containers of dry pesticides must be placed on 

pallets or a raised concrete platform to prevent the 

accumulation of water in or under the pesticide. 

3. The storage area for stationary containers of dry 

pesticides must include a floor that extends completely 

beneath the pallets or raised concrete platforms on which 

the stationary containers of dry pesticides must be stored. 

4. The storage area for stationary containers of dry 

pesticides must be enclosed by a curb a minimum of six 

inches high that extends at least two feet beyond the 

perimeter of the container. 

2VAC5-690-220. Operational, inspection, and 

maintenance requirements for all new and existing 

containment structures. 

A. The owner or operator of a new or existing pesticide 

containment structure must comply with the following 

operating procedures: 

1. Manage the structure in a manner that prevents 

pesticides or materials containing pesticides from escaping 

from the containment structure (including, but not limited 

to, pesticide residues washed off the containment structure 

by rainfall or cleaning liquids used within the structure); 

2. Ensure that pesticide spills and leaks on or in any 

containment structure are collected and recovered in a 

manner that ensures protection of human health and the 

environment (including surface water and groundwater) 

and maximum practicable recovery of the pesticide spilled 

or leaked. Cleanup must occur no later than the end of the 

day on which pesticides have been spilled or leaked except 

in circumstances where a reasonable delay would 

significantly reduce the likelihood or severity of adverse 

effects to human health or the environment; 

3. Ensure that all materials resulting from spills and leaks 

and any materials containing pesticide residue are managed 

according to label instructions and applicable federal, state, 

and local laws and regulations; 

4. Ensure that transfers of pesticides between containers or 

between containers and transport vehicles, are attended at 

all times; and 

5. Ensure that each lockable valve on a stationary pesticide 

container, if it is required by 2VAC5-690-90 G, is closed 

and locked, or that the facility is locked, whenever the 

facility is unattended. 

B. The owner or operator of a new or existing pesticide 

containment structure must comply with the following 

inspection and maintenance requirements: 

1. Inspect each stationary pesticide container and its 

appurtenances and each containment structure at least 

monthly during periods when pesticides are being stored or 

dispensed on the containment structure. The inspection 

must include looking for visible signs of wetting, 

discoloration, blistering, bulging, corrosion, cracks or other 

signs of damage or leakage; 

2. Initiate repair to any areas showing visible signs of 

damage and seal any cracks and gaps in the containment 

structure or appurtenances with material compatible with 

the pesticide being stored or dispensed no later than the 

end of the day on which damage is noticed and complete 

repairs within a time frame that is reasonable, taking into 

account factors such as the weather, and the availability of 

cleanup materials, trained staff, and equipment; and 

3. Not store any additional pesticide on a containment 

structure if the structure fails to meet the requirements of 

Part V (2VAC5-690-160 et seq.) of this chapter until 

suitable repairs have been made. 

2VAC5-690-230. Combining a containment pad and a 

secondary containment unit. 

An owner or operator subject to the requirements of Part V 

(2VAC5-690-160 et seq.) of this chapter may combine 

containment pads and secondary containment units as an 

integrated system provided the requirements set out in Part V 

of this chapter for containment pads and secondary 

containment units in 2VAC5-690-200 A and B, 2VAC5-690-

210 A and B, and 2VAC5-690-220, and, as applicable, 

2VAC5-690-200 C through F and 2VAC5-690-210 C through 

F are satisfied separately. 

2VAC5-690-240. Recordkeeping. 

A. A facility owner or operator subject to the requirements 

of Part V (2VAC5-690-160 et seq.) of this chapter, must 

maintain the following records and must furnish these records 

for inspection and copying within 72 hours of request by an 

employee of VDACS: 

B. Records of inspection and maintenance for each 

containment structure and for each stationary pesticide 

container and its appurtenances must be kept for three years 

and must include the following information: 

1. Name of the person conducting the inspection or 

maintenance; 

2. Date the inspection or maintenance was conducted; 

3. Conditions noted; and 

4. Specific maintenance performed. 
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C. Records for any nonstationary pesticide container 

designed to hold undivided quantities of agricultural 

pesticides equal to or greater than 500 gallons (1,890 liters) of 

liquid pesticide or equal to or greater than 4,000 pounds 

(1,818 kilograms) of dry pesticide that holds pesticide but is 

not protected by a secondary containment unit meeting these 

regulations must be kept for three years. Records on these 

nonstationary pesticide containers must include the time 

period that the container remains at the same location. 

D. Records of the construction date of the containment 

structure must be kept for as long as the pesticide 

containment structure is in use, and for three years afterwards. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3295; Filed October 25, 2013, 10:54 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-20. Advertising (amending 

3VAC5-20-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-111 and 4.1-320 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 18, 2013.  

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email 

curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action carries out the mandate of Chapter 728 of the 

2011 Acts of Assembly and Chapters 760 and 818 of the 

2012 Acts of Assembly, which require the Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Board to promulgate regulations 

establishing reasonable time, place, and manner 

restrictions on outdoor advertising of alcoholic 

beverages.  The amendments replace most of the existing 

language with four provisions that (i) prohibit the use of 

persons consuming alcohol, cartoon characters, or 

persons under the legal drinking age in outdoor alcoholic 

beverage advertising; (ii) prohibit alcoholic beverage 

advertising within 500 feet of religious institutions, 

schools, recreational facilities, or residences, with 

measurements as defined in the Code of Virginia; (iii) 

prohibit outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising on 

property zoned for agricultural or residential use or 

unzoned; and (iv) require that outdoor alcoholic beverage 

advertising comply with Virginia Department of 

Transportation laws and regulations. Other provisions 

prohibit manufacturers, importers, or wholesalers from 

providing outdoor advertising to retailers or engaging in 

cooperative advertising with retailers, and prohibit 

manufacturers or importers from requiring wholesalers to 

engage in outdoor advertising. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

3VAC5-20-30. Advertising; exterior. 

Outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising shall comply with 

3VAC5-20-10, and shall be limited to signs and is otherwise 

discretionary, except as follows:  

1. Manufacturers and wholesalers, including wineries and 

farm wineries:  

a. No more than one sign upon the licensed premises, no 

portion of which may be higher than 30 feet above 

ground level on a wholesaler's premises;  

b. No more than two signs, which must be directional in 

nature, not farther than 1/2 mile from the licensed 

establishment limited in dimension to 64 square feet with 

advertising limited to brand names;  

c. If the establishment is a winery also holding a retail 

off-premises winery license or is a farm winery, 

additional directional signs with advertising limited to 

trade names, brand names, the terms "farm winery" or 

"winery," and tour information, may be erected in 

accordance with state and local rules, regulations and 

ordinances; and  

d. Only on vehicles and uniforms of persons employed 

exclusively in the business of a manufacturer or 

wholesaler, which shall include any antique vehicles 

bearing original or restored alcoholic beverage 

advertising used for promotional purposes. Additionally, 

any person whether licensed in this Commonwealth or 

not, may use and display antique vehicles bearing 

original or restored alcoholic beverage advertising.  

2. Retailers, including mixed beverage licensees, other than 

carriers and clubs:  

a. No more than two signs at the establishment and, in 

the case of establishments at intersections, three signs, 

the advertising on which, including symbols approved by 

the United States Department of Transportation relating 

to alcoholic beverages, shall be limited to 12 inches in 

height or width and not animated and, in the case of signs 

remote from the premises, subordinate to the main theme 

and substantially in conformance with the size and 

content of advertisements of other services offered at the 

establishment;  

b. Signs may not include any reference to or depiction of 

"Happy Hour," or references or depictions of similar 

import, including references to "special" or "reduced" 

prices or similar terms when used as inducements to 

purchase or consume alcoholic beverages, except that, 

notwithstanding the provisions of 3VAC5-50-160 B 8, a 

retail licensee may post one two-dimensional sign not 
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exceeding 17" x 22", attached to the exterior of the 

licensed premises, limited in content to the terms "Happy 

Hour" or "Drink Specials" and the time period within 

which alcoholic beverages are being sold at reduced 

prices; and 

c. No advertising of alcoholic beverages may be 

displayed in exterior windows or within the interior of 

the retail establishment in such a manner that such 

advertising materials may be viewed from the exterior of 

the retail premises, except on table menus or newspaper 

tear sheets.  

3. Manufacturers, wholesalers and retailers may engage in 

billboard advertising within stadia, coliseums or racetracks 

that are used primarily for professional or semiprofessional 

athletic or sporting events.  

1. No outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising shall depict 

persons consuming alcoholic beverages, use cartoon 

characters in any way, or use persons who have not 

attained the minimum drinking age as models or actors. 

2. No outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising shall be 

placed in violation of § 4.1-112.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. No outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising shall be 

placed on property zoned exclusively for agricultural or 

residential uses, or on unzoned property. 

4. All outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising must also 

comply with the provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 33.1-351 et 

seq.) of Title 33.1 of the Code of Virginia and the 

regulations of the Virginia Department of Transportation 

promulgated pursuant thereto. 

5. No alcoholic beverage manufacturer, importer, or 

wholesale licensee may sell, rent, lend, buy for, or give to 

any retail licensee any outdoor alcoholic beverage 

advertising, any billboard placements for such advertising, 

or in any other way confer on any retail licensee anything 

of value that constitutes outdoor alcoholic beverage 

advertising. 

6. No alcoholic beverage manufacturer, importer, or 

wholesale licensee may engage in cooperative advertising, 

as defined in 3VAC5-30-80, on behalf of any retail 

licensee. 

7. No alcoholic beverage manufacturer or importer may 

require a wholesale licensee to place outdoor alcoholic 

beverage advertising or exercise control over the funds of a 

wholesale licensee for any purpose, including but not 

limited to the purchase of outdoor alcoholic beverage 

advertising. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2956; Filed October 22, 2013, 1:55 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-20. Advertising (amending 

3VAC5-20-10, 3VAC5-20-60, 3VAC5-20-90, 3VAC5-20-

100).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-111 and 4.1-320 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 18, 2013.  

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email 

curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) clarify existing language, (ii) allow 

combination packaging for beer and distilled spirits, and 

(iii) prohibit the distribution of novelty and specialty items 

bearing alcoholic beverage advertising to persons younger 

than 21 years of age.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

3VAC5-20-10. Advertising; generally; cooperative 

advertising; federal laws; cider; restrictions. 

A. All alcoholic beverage advertising is permitted in this 

Commonwealth except that which is prohibited or otherwise 

limited or restricted by regulation of the board and such 

advertising shall not be blatant or obtrusive. Any editorial or 

other reading matter in any periodical, publication or 

newspaper for the publication of which no money or other 

valuable consideration is paid or promised, directly or 

indirectly, by or for the benefits of any permittee or licensee 

does not constitute advertising.  

B. Advertising of cider, as defined in § 4.1-213 of the Code 

of Virginia, shall conform to the requirements for advertising 

beer.  

C. The board may issue a permit authorizing a variance from 

any of its advertising regulations for good cause shown.  

D. No advertising shall contain any statement, symbol, 

depiction or reference that:  

1. Would tend to induce minors to drink, or would tend to 

induce persons to consume to excess;  

2. Is obscene or is suggestive of any illegal activity;  

3. Incorporates the use of any present or former athlete or 

athletic team or implies that the product enhances athletic 

prowess; except that, persons granted a license to sell wine 

or beer may display within their licensed premises point-

of-sale advertising materials that incorporate the use of any 

present or former professional athlete or athletic team, 

provided that such advertising materials: (i) otherwise 

comply with the applicable regulations of the Federal 

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms appropriate 

federal agency and (ii) do not depict any athlete consuming 

or about to consume alcohol prior to or while engaged in 

an athletic activity, do not depict an athlete consuming 

alcohol while the athlete is operating or about to operate a 
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motor vehicle or other machinery, and do not imply that 

the alcoholic beverage so advertised enhances athletic 

prowess;  

4. Is false or misleading in any material respect;  

5. Implies or indicates, directly or indirectly, that the 

product is government endorsed by the use of flags, seals 

or other insignia or otherwise;  

6. Makes any reference to the intoxicating effect of any 

alcoholic beverages;  

7. Constitutes or contains a contest or sweepstakes where a 

purchase is required for participation; or  

8. Constitutes or contains an offer to pay or provide 

anything of value conditioned on the purchase of alcoholic 

beverages, except for refund coupons and combination 

packaging for wine. Any such combination packaging shall 

be limited to packaging provided by the manufacturer that 

is designed to be delivered intact to the consumer.  

E. The board shall not regulate advertising of nonalcoholic 

beer or nonalcoholic wine so long as (i) a reasonable person 

by common observation would conclude that the advertising 

clearly does not represent any advertisement for alcoholic 

beverages and (ii) the advertising prominently states that the 

product is nonalcoholic.  

3VAC5-20-60. Advertising; novelties and specialties. 

Distribution of novelty and specialty items, including 

wearing apparel, bearing alcoholic beverage advertising, shall 

be subject to the following limitations and conditions:  

1. Items not in excess of $10 in wholesale value may be 

given away;  

2. Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, wholesalers 

or their representatives may give licensed retailers items 

not in excess of $10 in wholesale value in quantities equal 

to the number of employees of the retail establishment 

present at the time the items are delivered. Thereafter, such 

employees may wear or display the items on the licensed 

premises. Neither manufacturers, importers, bottlers, 

brokers, wholesalers or their representatives may give such 

items to patrons on the premises of retail licensees; 

however, manufacturers or their authorized representatives 

other than wholesalers conducting tastings pursuant to the 

provisions of § 4.1-201.1 of the Code of Virginia may give 

no more than one such item to each consumer provided a 

sample of alcoholic beverages during the tasting event; and 

such items bearing moderation and responsible drinking 

messages may be displayed by the licensee and his 

employees on the licensed premises and given to patrons 

on such premises as long as any references to any alcoholic 

beverage manufacturer or its brands are subordinate in type 

size and quantity of text to such moderation message;  

3. Items in excess of $10 in wholesale value may be 

donated by distilleries, wineries and breweries only to 

participants or entrants in connection with the sponsorship 

of conservation and environmental programs, professional, 

semi-professional or amateur athletic and sporting events 

subject to the limitations of 3VAC5-20-100, and for events 

of a charitable or cultural nature;  

4. Items may be sold by mail upon request or over-the-

counter at retail establishments customarily engaged in the 

sale of novelties and specialties, provided they are sold at 

the reasonable open market price in the localities where 

sold; 

5. Wearing apparel shall be in adult sizes; and 

6. Point-of-sale order blanks, relating to novelty and 

specialty items, may be provided by beer and wine 

wholesalers to retail licensees for use on their premises, if 

done for all retail licensees equally and after obtaining the 

consent, which may be a continuing consent, of each 

retailer or his representative. Wholesalers may not be 

involved in the redemption process.; and 

7. Novelty and specialty items bearing alcoholic beverage 

advertising may not be distributed to persons younger than 

the legal drinking age. 

3VAC5-20-90. Advertising; coupons. 

A. "Normal retail price" shall mean the average retail price 

of the brand and size of the product in a given market, and not 

a reduced or discounted price. 

B. Coupons may be advertised in accordance with the 

following conditions and restrictions: 

1. Manufacturers or importers of spirits, wine, and beer 

may use only consumer mail-in refund, not instantly 

redeemable discount, coupons. The coupons may not 

exceed 50% of the normal retail price and may not be 

honored at a retail outlet or state government store but shall 

be mailed directly to the manufacturer or importer or its 

designated agent. Such agent may not be a wholesaler or 

retailer of alcoholic beverages. Consumer proof of 

purchase (such as a dated, retail specific receipt) is 

required for redemption of all consumer coupons. Coupons 

are permitted in the print media, via the Internet, by direct 

mail or electronic mail to consumers, or as part of, or 

attached to, the package. Beer and wine Manufacturers, 

importers, bottlers, brokers, wholesalers, and their 

representatives may provide coupon pads to retailers for 

use by retailers on their premises, if done for all retail 

licensees equally and after obtaining the consent, which 

may be a continuing consent, of each retailer or his 

representative. Wholesale licensees may attach refund 

coupons to the package if done for all retail licensees 

equally and after obtaining the consent, which may be a 

continuing consent, for each retailer or his representative. 

2. Manufacturers or importers offering refund coupons on 

spirits and wine sold in state government stores shall notify 

the board at least 45 15 days in advance of the issuance of 

the coupons of its amount, its expiration date and the area 

of the Commonwealth in which it will be primarily used, if 

not used statewide. 
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3. Wholesale licensees are not permitted to offer coupons. 

4. Retail licensees may offer coupons, including their own 

discount or refund coupons, on wine and beer sold for off-

premises consumption only. Retail licensees may offer 

their own coupons in the print media, at the point-of-sale 

or by direct mail to consumers. 

5. No retailer may be paid a fee by manufacturers or 

wholesalers of alcoholic beverages for display or use of 

coupons and the name of the retail establishment may not 

appear on any refund coupons offered by manufacturers. 

No manufacturer or wholesaler may furnish any coupons 

or materials regarding coupons to retailers which are 

customized or designed for discount or refund by the 

retailer. 

6. Retail licensees or employees thereof may not receive 

refunds on coupons obtained from the packages before sale 

at retail.  

7. No coupons may be honored for any individual below 

the legal age for purchase. 

3VAC5-20-100. Advertising; sponsorship of public events; 

restrictions and conditions. 

A. Generally. Alcoholic beverage advertising in connection 

with the sponsorship of public events shall be limited to 

sponsorship of conservation and environmental programs, 

professional, semi-professional, or amateur athletic and 

sporting events and events of a charitable or cultural nature 

by distilleries, wineries, and breweries, importers, and 

bottlers.  

B. Restrictions and conditions.  

1. Any sponsorship on a college, high school or younger 

age level is prohibited;  

2. Cooperative advertising, as defined in 3VAC5-30-80, is 

prohibited;  

3. [ Awards or contributions Contributions ] of alcoholic 

beverages are prohibited;  

4. Advertising of alcoholic beverages shall conform in size 

and content to the other advertising concerning the event 

and advertising regarding charitable events shall place 

primary emphasis on the charitable fund raising nature of 

the event;  

5. A charitable event is one held for the specific purpose of 

raising funds for a charitable organization which is exempt 

from federal and state taxes;  

6. Advertising in connection with the sponsorship of an 

event may be only in the any media, including such as print 

media, the Internet or other electronic means, television, or 

radio; by direct mail or flyers to consumers; on programs, 

tickets, and schedules for the event,; on the inside of 

licensed or unlicensed retail establishments; and at the site 

of the event;  

7. Advertising materials as defined in 3VAC5-30-60 G, 

table tents as defined in 3VAC5-30-60 H and canisters are 

permitted;  

8. Prior written notice shall be submitted to the board 

describing the nature of the sponsorship and giving the 

date, time and place of it; and 

9. Manufacturers may sponsor public events and 

wholesalers may only cosponsor charitable events.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3235; Filed October 22, 2013, 1:36 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-30. Tied-House (amending 

3VAC5-30-10, 3VAC5-30-20, 3VAC5-30-30, 3VAC5-30-

60, 3VAC5-30-70, 3VAC5-30-80; adding 3VAC5-30-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 18, 2013.  

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email 

curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) allow wine wholesalers to 

merchandise product on Sunday; (ii) transfer the 

prohibitions of price discrimination between wholesalers 

and retailers currently in 3VAC5-70 (Other Provisions) to 

3VAC5-30 (Tied-House); and (iii) expand ordinary and 

commercial reasons for product return. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

3VAC5-30-10. Rotation and exchange of stocks of 

retailers by wholesalers; permitted and prohibited acts.  

A. Permitted acts. For the purpose of maintaining the 

freshness of the stock and the integrity of the products sold by 

him, a wine wholesaler Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, 

brokers, or wholesalers [ , or their representatives, ] may 

perform, except on Sundays in jurisdictions where local 

ordinances restrict Sunday sales of alcoholic beverages, and a 

beer wholesaler may perform, except on Sundays in 

jurisdictions where local ordinances restrict Sunday sales of 

alcoholic beverages, the following services for a retailer upon 

consent, which may be a continuing consent, of the retailer:  

1. Rotate, repack, and rearrange wine or beer alcoholic 

beverages in a display (shelves, coolers, cold boxes, and 

the like, and floor displays in a sales area);  

2. Restock wine and beer alcoholic beverages;  

3. Rotate, repack, rearrange, and add to his own stocks of 

wine or beer alcoholic beverages in a storeroom space 

assigned to him by the retailer;  
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4. Transfer wine and beer alcoholic beverages between 

storerooms, between displays, and between storerooms and 

displays; and  

5. Create or build original displays using wine or beer 

products alcoholic beverages only.  

B. Prohibited acts. A manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, 

or wholesaler, or its representative, may not:  

1. Alter or disturb in any way the merchandise sold by 

another manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler, whether in a display, sales area, or storeroom 

except in the following cases:  

a. When the products of one manufacturer, importer, 

bottler, broker, or wholesaler have been erroneously 

placed in the area previously assigned by the retailer to 

another manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler; or  

b. When a floor display area previously assigned by a 

retailer to one manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler has been reassigned by the retailer to another 

manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or wholesaler; 

2. Mark or affix retail prices to products other than those 

sold by the manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler to the retailer; or  

3. Sell or offer to sell alcoholic beverages to a retailer with 

the privilege of return, except for ordinary and usual 

commercial reasons as set forth below:  

a. Products defective at the time of delivery may be 

replaced;  

b. Products erroneously delivered may be replaced or 

money refunded;  

c. Products that of which a manufacturer or importer 

discontinues nationally production or importation may be 

returned and money refunded if no lawful exchange 

under subdivision 3 g of this subsection is available and 

if prior written approval is provided by the board;  

d. Resalable draft beer may be returned and money 

refunded;  

e. Products in the possession of a retail licensee whose 

license is terminated by operation of law, voluntary 

surrender or order of the board may be returned and 

money refunded upon permit issued by the board;  

f. Products which have been condemned and are not 

permitted to be sold in this Commonwealth may be 

replaced or money refunded upon permit issued by the 

board; or  

g. Wine or beer Alcoholic beverages may be exchanged 

on an identical quantity and brand basis for quality 

control purposes. Where production of the product has 

been discontinued, the distributor may exchange the 

product for a product from the same [ supplier 

manufacturer ] on an identical quantity and comparable 

wholesale price basis. Any such exchange shall be 

documented by the word "exchange" on the proper 

invoice.  

3VAC5-30-20. Restrictions upon employment; exceptions.  

No retail licensee shall employ in any capacity in his 

licensed business any person engaged or employed in the 

manufacturing, bottling or wholesaling of alcoholic 

beverages; nor shall any licensed manufacturer, bottler or 

wholesaler employ in any capacity in his licensed business 

any person engaged or employed in the retailing of alcoholic 

beverages.  

This section shall not apply to banquet licensees, farm 

winery licensees, or to off-premises winery licensees, nor 

shall this section apply in any situation in which the 

manufacturer, bottler, or wholesaler does not sell or otherwise 

furnish, directly or indirectly, alcoholic beverages or other 

merchandise to the retailer.  

3VAC5-30-30. Certain transactions to be for cash; "cash" 

defined; checks and money orders; electronic fund 

transfers; records and reports by sellers; payments to the 

board.  

A. Sales of wine or beer between wholesale and retail 

licensees of the board shall be for cash paid and collected at 

the time of or prior to delivery, except where payment is to be 

made by electronic fund transfer as hereinafter provided. 

Each invoice covering such a sale or any other sale shall be 

signed by the purchaser at the time of delivery and shall 

specify the manner of payment.   

B. "Cash," as used in this section, shall include (i) legal 

tender of the United States, (ii) a money order issued by a 

duly licensed firm authorized to engage in such business in 

the Commonwealth [ , ] (iii) a valid check drawn upon a bank 

account in the name of the licensee or permittee or in the 

trade name of the licensee or permittee making the purchase, 

or (iv) an electronic fund transfer, initiated by a wholesaler 

pursuant to subsection D of this section, from a bank account 

in the name, or trade name, of the retail licensee making a 

purchase from a wholesaler or the board.  

C. If a check, money order or electronic fund transfer is 

used, the following provisions apply:  

1. If only alcoholic beverage merchandise is being sold, the 

amount of the checks, money orders or electronic fund 

transfers shall be no larger than the purchase price of the 

alcoholic beverages; and  

2. If nonalcoholic merchandise is also sold to the retailer, 

the check, money order or electronic fund transfer may be 

in an amount no larger than the total purchase price of the 

alcoholic beverages and nonalcoholic beverage 

merchandise. If a separate invoice is used for the 

nonalcoholic merchandise, a copy of it shall be attached to 

the copies of the alcoholic beverage invoices which are 

retained in the records of the wholesaler and the retailer. If 

a single invoice is used for both the alcoholic beverages 
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and nonalcoholic beverage merchandise, the alcoholic 

beverage items shall be separately identified and totaled.  

D. If an electronic fund transfer is used for payment by a 

licensed retailer or a permittee for any purchase from a 

wholesaler or the board, the following provisions shall apply:  

1. Prior to an electronic fund transfer, the retail licensee 

shall enter into a written agreement with the wholesaler 

specifying the terms and conditions for an electronic fund 

transfer in payment for the delivery of wine or beer to that 

retail licensee. The electronic fund transfer shall be 

initiated by the wholesaler no later than one business day 

after delivery and the wholesaler's account shall be 

credited by the retailer's bank no later than the following 

business day. The electronic fund transfer agreement shall 

incorporate the requirements of this subdivision, but this 

subdivision shall not preclude an agreement with more 

restrictive provisions. For purposes of this subdivision, the 

term "business day" shall mean a business day of the 

respective bank;  

2. The wholesaler must generate an invoice covering the 

sale of wine or beer, and shall specify that payment is to be 

made by electronic fund transfer. Each invoice must be 

signed by the purchaser at the time of delivery; and  

3. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to require 

that any licensee must accept payment by electronic fund 

transfer.  

E. Wholesalers shall maintain on their licensed premises 

records of all invalid checks received from retail licensees for 

the payment of wine or beer, as well as any stop payment 

order, insufficient fund report or any other incomplete 

electronic fund transfer reported by the retailer's bank in 

response to a wholesaler initiated electronic fund transfer 

from the retailer's bank account. Further, wholesalers shall 

report to the board any invalid checks or incomplete 

electronic fund transfer reports received in payment of wine 

or beer when either (i) any such invalid check or incomplete 

electronic fund transfer is not satisfied by the retailer within 

seven days after notice of the invalid check or a report of the 

incomplete electronic fund transfer is received by the 

wholesaler, or (ii) the wholesaler has received, whether 

satisfied or not, either more than one such invalid check from 

any single retail licensee or received more than one 

incomplete electronic fund transfer report from the bank of 

any single retail licensee, or any combination of the two, 

within a period of 180 days. Such reports shall be upon a 

form provided by the board and in accordance with the 

instructions set forth in such form.  

F. Payments to the board for the following items shall be for 

cash, as defined in subsection B of this section:  

1. State license taxes and application fees;  

2. Purchases of alcoholic beverages from the board by 

mixed beverage licensees;  

3. 2. Wine taxes and excise taxes on beer and wine coolers;  

4. 3. Solicitors' permit fees and temporary permit fees;  

5. 4. Registration and certification fees, and the markup or 

profit on cider, collected pursuant to these regulations;  

6. 5. Civil penalties or charges and costs imposed on 

licensees and permittees by the board; and  

7. 6. Forms provided to licensees and permittees at cost by 

the board.  

3VAC5-30-60. Inducements to retailers; beer and wine 

tapping equipment; bottle or can openers; spirits back-

bar pedestals; banquet licensees; paper, cardboard or 

plastic advertising materials; clip-ons and table tents; 

sanctions and penalties. 

A. Any manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler, or its representative, may sell, rent, lend, buy for, 

or give to any retailer, without regard to the value thereof, the 

following:  

1. Draft beer [ or wine ] knobs, containing advertising 

matter which shall include the brand name and may further 

include only trademarks, housemarks and slogans and shall 

not include any illuminating devices or be otherwise 

adorned with mechanical devices which are not essential in 

the dispensing of draft beer [ or wine ]; and  

2. Tapping equipment, defined as all the parts of the 

mechanical system required for dispensing draft beer in a 

normal manner from the carbon dioxide tank through the 

beer faucet, excluding the following:  

a. The carbonic acid gas in containers, except that such 

gas may be sold only at the reasonable open market price 

in the locality where sold;  

b. Gas pressure gauges (may be sold at cost);  

c. Draft arms or standards;  

d. Draft boxes; and  

e. Refrigeration equipment or components thereof.  

Further, a manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler may sell, rent 

or lend to any retailer, for use only by a purchaser of draft 

beer in kegs or barrels from such retailer, whatever tapping 

equipment may be necessary for the purchaser to extract such 

draft beer from its container.  

B. Any manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler [ , or their representatives, ] may sell to any 

retailer and install in the retailer's establishment tapping 

dispensing accessories such as [ (including but not limited to 

(such as ] standards, faucets, rods, vents, taps, tap standards, 

hoses, cold plates, washers, couplings, gas gauges, vent 

tongues, shanks, and check valves, if the tapping accessories 

are sold valves) and carbon dioxide (and other gases used in 

dispensing equipment) at a price not less than the cost of the 

industry member who initially purchased them, and if the 

price is collected within 30 days of the date of sale.  

Wine tapping equipment shall not include the following:  

1. Draft wine knobs, which may be given to a retailer;  
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2. Carbonic acid gas, nitrogen gas, or compressed air in 

containers, except that such gases may be sold in 

accordance with the reasonable open market prices in the 

locality where sold and if the price is collected within 30 

days of the date of the sales; or  

3. Mechanical refrigeration equipment.  

C. Any beer tapping equipment may be converted for wine 

tapping by the beer wholesaler who originally placed the 

equipment on the premises of the retail licensee, provided that 

such beer wholesaler is also a wine wholesaler licensee. 

Moreover, at the time such equipment is converted for wine 

tapping, it shall be sold, or have previously been sold, to the 

retail licensee at a price not less than the initial purchase price 

paid by such wholesaler.  

D. Any manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler of wine or beer 

may sell or give to any retailer, bottle or can openers upon 

which advertising matter regarding alcoholic beverages may 

appear, provided the wholesale value of any such openers 

given to a retailer by any individual manufacturer, bottler or 

wholesaler does not exceed $20. Openers in excess of $20 in 

wholesale value may be sold, provided the reasonable open 

market price is charged therefor.  

E. Any manufacturer of spirits may sell, lend, buy for or 

give to any retail licensee, without regard to the value thereof, 

back-bar pedestals to be used on the retail premises and upon 

which advertising matter regarding spirits may appear.  

F. Manufacturers of alcoholic beverages and their authorized 

vendors or wholesalers of wine or beer may sell at the 

reasonable wholesale price to banquet licensees glasses or 

paper or plastic cups upon which advertising matter regarding 

alcoholic beverages may appear.  

G. Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, or 

wholesalers of alcoholic beverages, or their representatives, 

may not provide point-of-sale advertising for any alcoholic 

beverage or any nonalcoholic beer or nonalcoholic wine to 

retail licensees except in accordance with 3VAC5-30-80. 

Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, and wholesalers 

[ , or their representatives, ] may provide advertising 

materials to any retail licensee that have been customized for 

that retail licensee (including the name, logo, address, and 

website of the retail licensee) provided that such advertising 

materials must:  

1. Comply with all other applicable regulations of the 

board;  

2. Be for interior use only;  

3. Contain references to the alcoholic beverage products or 

brands offered for sale by the manufacturer, bottler, or 

wholesaler providing such materials and to no other 

products; and  

4. Be made available to all retail licensees.  

H. Any manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler of wine, beer, or spirits, or its representatives, may 

sell, lend, buy for, or give to any retail licensee clip-ons and 

table tents.  

I. Any manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or wholesaler 

of alcoholic beverages [ , or their representatives, ] may clean 

and service, either free or for compensation, coils and other 

like equipment used in dispensing wine and beer alcoholic 

beverages, and may sell solutions or compounds for cleaning 

wine and beer alcoholic beverage glasses, provided the 

reasonable open market price is charged.  

J. Any manufacturer, importer, bottler, or wholesaler of 

alcoholic beverages licensed in this Commonwealth may sell 

ice to retail licensees provided the reasonable open market 

price is charged.  

K. Any licensee of the board, including any manufacturer, 

bottler, importer, broker as defined in § 4.1-216 A of the 

Code of Virginia, wholesaler, or retailer who violates, 

attempts to violate, solicits any person to violate or consents 

to any violation of this section shall be subject to the 

sanctions and penalties as provided in § 4.1-328 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

3VAC5-30-70. Routine business entertainment; definition; 

permitted activities; conditions.  

A. Nothing in this regulation chapter shall prohibit a 

wholesaler or, manufacturer, importer, or broker of alcoholic 

beverages licensed in the Commonwealth from providing a 

retail licensee "routine business entertainment" which is 

defined as those activities enumerated in subsection B of this 

section.  

B. Permitted activities are:  

1. Meals and beverages;  

2. Concerts, theatre and arts entertainment;  

3. Sports participation and entertainment;  

4. Entertainment at charitable events; and  

5. Private parties; and 

6. Local transportation in order to attend one or more of the 

activities permitted by this subsection. 

C. The following conditions apply:  

1. Such routine business entertainment shall be provided 

without a corresponding obligation on the part of the retail 

licensee to purchase alcoholic beverages or to provide any 

other benefit to such wholesaler or manufacturer or to 

exclude from sale the products of any other wholesaler or 

manufacturer;  

2. Wholesaler or manufacturer personnel shall accompany 

the personnel of the retail licensee during such business 

entertainment;  

3. Except as is inherent in the definition of routine business 

entertainment as contained herein, nothing in this 

regulation shall be construed to authorize the providing of 

property or any other thing of value to retail licensees;  
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4. No more than $400 may be spent per 24-hour period on 

any employee of any retail licensee, including a self-

employed sole proprietor, or, if the licensee is a 

partnership, or any partner or employee thereof, or if the 

licensee is a corporation, on any corporate officer, director, 

shareholder of 10% or more of the stock or other 

employee, such as a buyer. Expenditures attributable to the 

spouse of any such employee, partnership or stockholder, 

and the like, shall not be included within the foregoing 

restrictions;  

5. No person enumerated in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection may be entertained more than six times by a 

wholesaler and six times by a manufacturer per calendar 

year;  

6. Wholesale licensees and manufacturers shall keep 

complete and accurate records for a period of three years of 

all expenses incurred in the entertainment of retail 

licensees. These records shall indicate the date and amount 

of each expenditure, the type of entertainment activity and 

retail licensee entertained; and  

7. This regulation section shall not apply to personal 

friends of manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, or 

wholesalers as provided for in 3VAC5-70-100.  

3VAC5-30-80. Advertising materials that may be 

provided to retailers by manufacturers, importers, 

bottlers, or wholesalers. 

A. There shall be no cooperative advertising as between a 

producer, manufacturer, bottler, importer, or wholesaler and a 

retailer of alcoholic beverages, except as may be authorized 

by regulation pursuant to § 4.1-216 of the Code of Virginia. 

The term "cooperative advertising" shall mean the payment or 

credit, directly or indirectly, by any manufacturer, bottler, 

importer, or wholesaler whether licensed in this 

Commonwealth or not to a retailer for all or any portion of 

advertising done by the retailer. 

B. Manufacturers or their authorized vendors as defined in § 

4.1-216.1 of the Code of Virginia and wholesalers of 

alcoholic beverages may sell, lend, buy for, or give to 

retailers any nonilluminated advertising materials made of 

paper, cardboard, canvas, rubber, foam, or plastic, provided 

the advertising materials have a wholesale value of $40 or 

less per item. Advertising material referring to any brand or 

manufacturer of spirits may only be provided to mixed 

beverage licensees and may not be provided by beer and wine 

wholesalers, or their employees, unless they hold a spirits 

solicitor's permit. 

C. Manufacturers, bottlers, or wholesalers may supply to 

retailers napkins, placemats, and coasters that contain (i) a 

reference to the name of a brand of nonalcoholic beer or 

nonalcoholic wine, or (ii) a message relating solely to and 

promoting moderation and responsible drinking, which 

message may contain the name, logo, and address of the 

sponsoring manufacturer, bottler, or wholesaler, provided 

such recognition is subordinate to the message. 

D. Any manufacturer, including any vendor authorized by 

any such manufacturer, whether or not licensed in the 

Commonwealth, may sell service items bearing alcoholic 

brand references to on-premises retail licensees. Such retail 

licensee may display the service items on the premises of his 

licensed establishment. Each such retail licensee purchasing 

such service items shall retain a copy of the evidence of his 

payment to the manufacturer or authorized vendor for a 

period of not less than two years from the date of each sale of 

the service items. As used in this subdivision, "service items" 

means articles of tangible personal property normally used by 

the employees of on-premises licensees to serve alcoholic 

beverages to customers including, but not limited to, glasses, 

napkins, buckets, and coasters. 

E. Beer and wine Alcoholic beverage "neckers," recipe 

booklets, brochures relating to the [ wine alcoholic beverage ] 

manufacturing process, vineyard, brewery, and distillery 

geography, and history of a wine an alcoholic beverage 

manufacturing area;, and point-of-sale entry blanks relating to 

contests and sweepstakes may be provided by beer and wine 

manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, or wholesalers to 

retail licensees for use on retail premises, if such items are 

offered to all retail licensees equally, and the manufacturer, 

importer, bottler, broker, or wholesaler has obtained the 

consent, which may be a continuing consent, of each retailer 

or his representative. Wholesale licensees in the 

Commonwealth may not put entry blanks on the package. 

Solicitors holding permits under the provisions of 3VAC5-

60-80 may provide point-of-sale entry blanks relating to 

contests and sweepstakes to mixed beverage licensees for use 

on the premises if such items are offered to all mixed 

beverage licensees equally, and the solicitor has obtained the 

consent, which may be a continuous consent, of each mixed 

beverage licensee or his representative. 

F. Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, or 

wholesalers [ , or their representatives, ] may supply refund 

coupons, if they are supplied, displayed, and used in 

accordance with 3VAC5-20-90. 

G. No manufacturer, bottler, wholesaler, or importer of 

alcoholic beverages, whether licensed in this Commonwealth 

or not, may directly or indirectly sell, rent, lend, buy for, or 

give to any retailer any advertising materials, decorations, or 

furnishings under any circumstances otherwise prohibited by 

law, nor may any retailer induce, attempt to induce, or 

consent to any such supplier of alcoholic beverages 

furnishing such retailer any such advertising. 

H. Any advertising materials provided for herein, which 

may have been obtained by any retail licensee from any 

manufacturer, bottler, broker, importer, or wholesaler of 

alcoholic beverages, may be installed in the interior of the 

licensed establishment by any such manufacturer, bottler, or 

wholesaler industry member [ or their representatives ] using 

any normal and customary installation materials. With the 

consent of the retail licensee, which consent may be a 
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continuing consent, manufacturers, importers, bottlers, 

brokers, or wholesalers, or their representatives, may mark or 

affix retail prices on these materials. 

I. Every retail licensee who obtains any point-of-sale 

advertising shall keep a complete, accurate, and separate 

record of all such material obtained. Such records shall show 

(i) the name and address of the person from whom obtained; 

(ii) the date furnished; (iii) the item furnished; and (iv) the 

price charged therefore. All such records, invoices and 

accounts shall be kept by each such licensee at the place 

designated in the license for a period of two years and shall 

be available for inspection and copying by any member of the 

board or its special agents during reasonable hours. 

3VAC5-30-90. Price discrimination; inducements. 

A. No wholesale wine or beer licensee shall discriminate in 

price of alcoholic beverages between different retail 

purchasers except where the difference in price charged by 

such wholesale licensee is due to: 

1. Acceptance or rejection by a retail purchaser of terms or 

conditions affecting a price offer, including a quantity 

discount, as long as such terms or conditions are offered on 

an equal basis to all retailers; 

2. A bona fide difference in the cost of sale or delivery; 

[ or ]  

3. [ The status of the purchaser as an on-premises or off-

premises licensee; or 

4. ] The wholesale licensee charging a lower price in good 

faith to meet an equally low price charged by a competing 

wholesale licensee on a brand and package of like grade 

and quality. 

Where such difference in price charged to any such retail 

purchaser does occur, the board may ask for and the 

wholesale licensee shall furnish written substantiation for the 

price difference.  

B. No person holding a license authorizing the sale of 

alcoholic beverages at retail shall knowingly induce or 

receive a discrimination in price prohibited by this section.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3236; Filed October 22, 2013, 1:37 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations 

(amending 3VAC5-50-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 18, 2013.  

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email 

curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment establishes a $1,000 minimum monthly 

food sale requirement of oysters and other seafood for 

gourmet oyster house licensees. This action is required by 

Chapter 626 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

3VAC5-50-110. Definitions and qualifications for retail 

on-premises and on-premises and off-premises licenses 

generally; mixed beverage licensee requirements; 

exceptions; temporary licenses.  

A. The following definitions shall apply to retail licensees 

and mixed beverage licensees where appropriate:  

1. "Designated area." A room or area in which a licensee 

may exercise the privilege of his license, the location, 

equipment and facilities of which room or area have been 

approved by the board. The facilities shall be such that 

patrons may purchase food prepared on the premises for 

consumption on the premises at substantially all times that 

alcoholic beverages are offered for sale therein. The 

seating capacity of such room or area shall be included in 

determining eligibility qualifications for a mixed beverage 

restaurant.  

2. "Dining car, buffet car or club car." A vehicle operated 

by a common carrier of passengers by rail, in interstate or 

intrastate commerce and in which food and refreshments 

are sold.  

3. "Meals." In determining what constitutes a "meal" as the 

term is used in this section, the board may consider the 

following factors, among others:  

a. The assortment of foods commonly offered for sale;  

b. The method and extent of preparation and service 

required; and  

c. The extent to which the food served would be 

considered a principal meal of the day as distinguished 

from a snack.  

4. "Habitual sales." In determining what constitutes 

"habitual sales" of specific foods, the board may consider 

the following factors, among others:  

a. The business hours observed as compared with similar 

type businesses;  

b. The extent to which such food or other merchandise is 

regularly sold; and  

c. Present and anticipated sales volume in such food or 

other merchandise.  

5. "Sale" and "sell." The definition of "sale" and "sell" as 

defined in 3VAC5-70-90 shall apply to this section.  

B. Wine and beer. Retail on-premises or on-premises and 

off-premises licenses may be granted to persons operating the 

following types of establishments provided that meals or 

other foods are regularly sold at substantially all hours that 
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wine and beer are offered for sale and the total monthly food 

sales for consumption in dining areas and other designated 

areas on the premises are not less than those shown:  

1. "Boat" (on premises only). A common carrier of 

passengers for which a certificate as a sight-seeing carrier 

by boat, or a special or charter party by boat has been 

issued by the State Corporation Commission, habitually 

serving food on the boat:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

2. "Restaurant." A bona fide dining establishment 

habitually selling meals with entrees and other foods 

prepared on the premises:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

3. "Hotel." Any duly licensed establishment, provided with 

special space and accommodation, where, in consideration 

of payment, meals with entrees and other food prepared on 

the premises and lodging are habitually furnished to 

persons and which has four or more bedrooms:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

In regard to both restaurants and hotels, at least $1,000 of 

the required monthly sales must be in the form of meals 

with entrees.  

4. "Gourmet Oyster House." Any duly licensed 

establishment, located on the premises of a commercial 

marina and permitted by the Department of Health to serve 

oysters and other fresh seafood for consumption on the 

premises, where the licensee also offers to the public 

events for the purpose of featuring oysters and other 

seafood products: 

Monthly sales of oysters and other seafood…...$1,000 

C. Beer. Retail on-premises or on-premises and off-premises 

licenses may be granted to persons operating the following 

types of establishments provided that food is regularly sold at 

substantially all hours that beer is offered for sale and the 

total monthly food sales for consumption in dining areas and 

other designated areas on the premises are not less than those 

shown:  

1. "Boat" (on-premises only). See subdivision B 1:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

2. "Restaurant." An establishment habitually selling food 

prepared on the premises:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

3. "Hotel." See subdivision B 3;:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

D. Mixed beverage licenses. The following shall apply to 

mixed beverage licenses where appropriate:  

1. "Bona fide, full-service restaurant." An established place 

of business where meals with substantial entrees are 

habitually sold to persons and which has adequate facilities 

and sufficient employees for cooking, preparing and 

serving such meals for consumption at tables in dining 

areas on the premises. In determining the qualifications of 

such restaurant, the board may consider the assortment of 

entrees and other food sold. Such restaurants shall include 

establishments specializing in full course meals with a 

single substantial entree.  

2. "Monetary sales requirements." The monthly sale of 

food prepared on the premises shall not be less than $4,000 

of which at least $2,000 shall be in the form of meals with 

entrees.  

3. "Dining area." A public room or area in which meals are 

regularly sold at substantially all hours that mixed 

beverages are offered for sale therein.  

4. "Outside terraces or patios." An outside terrace or patio, 

the location, equipment and facilities of which have been 

approved by the board may be approved as a "dining area" 

or as a "designated area" in the discretion of the board. A 

location adjacent to a public sidewalk, street or alley will 

not be approved where direct access is permitted from such 

sidewalk, street or alley by more than one well-defined 

entrance therefrom. The seating capacity of an outside 

terrace or patio if used regularly by those operations which 

are seasonal in nature, shall be included in determining 

eligibility qualifications. For purposes of this subdivision, 

the term "seasonal operations" is defined as an 

establishment that voluntarily surrenders its license to the 

board for part of its license year.  

5. "Tables and counters."  

a. A "table" shall include any article of furniture, fixture 

or counter generally having a flat top surface supported 

by legs, a pedestal or a solid base, designed to 

accommodate the serving of food and refreshments 

(though such food and refreshments need not necessarily 

be served together), and to provide seating for customers. 

If any table is located between two-backed benches, 

commonly known as a booth, at least one end of the 

structure shall be open permitting an unobstructed view 

therein. In no event, shall the number of individual seats 

at free standing tables and in booths be less than the 

number of individual seats at counters.  

b. This subdivision shall not be applicable to a room 

otherwise lawfully in use for private meetings and private 

parties limited in attendance to members and guests of a 

particular group.  

E. The board may grant a license to an establishment not 

meeting the qualifying figures in this section, provided the 

establishment otherwise is qualified under the applicable 

provisions of the Code of Virginia and this section, if it 

affirmatively appears that there is a substantial public demand 

for such an establishment and that the public convenience will 

be promoted by the issuance of the license.  

F. Notwithstanding the above, the board may issue a 

temporary license for any of the above retail operations. Such 

licenses may be issued only after application has been filed in 
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accordance with § 4.1-230 of the Code of Virginia, and in 

cases where the sole objection to issuance of a license is that 

the establishment will not be qualified in terms of the sale of 

food or edible items. If a temporary license is issued, the 

board shall conduct an audit of the business after a reasonable 

period of operation not to exceed 180 days. Should the 

business be qualified, the license applied for may be issued. If 

the business is not qualified, the application will become the 

subject of a hearing if the applicant so desires. No further 

temporary license shall be issued to the applicant or to any 

other person with respect to the establishment for a period of 

one year from expiration and, once the application becomes 

the subject of a hearing, no temporary license may be issued.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3012; Filed October 22, 2013, 1:37 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-60. Manufacturers and 

Wholesalers Operations (amending 3VAC5-60-20, 

3VAC5-60-50, 3VAC5-60-80; adding 3VAC5-60-25, 

3VAC5-60-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 18, 2013.  

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email 

curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) allow required reports of sales to be 

filed monthly rather than weekly; (ii) allow up to two cases 

of wine to be peddled to retailers during a scheduled 

delivery of other wine products that were preordered by 

the retailers; (iii) add provisions governing situations in 

which a brewery may manufacture beer bearing the brand 

name of another pursuant to a contract brewing 

arrangement; (iv) allow electronic filing of required 

reports; (v) increase the size of spirits samples that may be 

given to mixed beverage licensees from 50 milliliters to 

375 milliliters; and (vi) allow spirits manufacturers to rent 

booths, provide hospitality events, and pay for advertising 

in brochures made for conventions, trade association 

meetings, and similar gatherings. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

3VAC5-60-20. Wines; purchase orders generally; 

wholesale wine licensees.  

A. Purchases of wine between the board, licensees or 

persons outside the Commonwealth shall be executed only on 

order forms prescribed by the board and provided at cost if 

supplied by the department.  

B. Wholesale wine licensees shall comply with the 

following procedures:  

1. Purchase orders. A copy of each purchase order for wine 

and a copy of any change in such order shall be forwarded 

to the board by the wholesale wine licensee at the time the 

order is placed or changed. Upon receipt of shipment, one 

copy of such purchase order shall be forwarded to the 

board by the licensee reflecting accurately the date 

received and any changes. In lieu of forwarding copies of 

purchase orders to the board, a wholesale licensee may 

submit a report to the board weekly monthly, in a format 

approved by the board, of all purchase orders for the 

previous week month. The report covering the last week of 

any calendar month must be submitted to the board on or 

before the 5th 15th day of the succeeding month.  

2. Sales in the Commonwealth. Separate invoices shall be 

used for all nontaxed wine sales in the Commonwealth and 

a copy of each such invoice shall be furnished to the board 

upon completion of the sale. In lieu of forwarding copies 

of invoices to the board, a wholesale licensee may submit a 

report to the board weekly monthly, in a format approved 

by the board, of all invoices for the previous week month. 

The report covering the last week of any calendar month 

must be submitted to the board on or before the 5th 15th 

day of the succeeding month.  

3. Out-of-state sales. Separate sales invoices shall be used 

for wine sold outside the Commonwealth and a copy of 

each such invoice shall be furnished to the board upon 

completion of the sale. In lieu of forwarding copies of 

invoices to the board, a wholesale licensee may submit a 

report to the board weekly monthly, in a format approved 

by the board, of all invoices for the previous week month. 

The report covering the last week of any calendar month 

must be submitted to the board on or before the 5th 15th 

day of the succeeding month.  

4. Peddling. Wine shall not A maximum of two cases or 24 

bottles of wine may be peddled to retail licensees during an 

invoiced delivery, provided that the wholesale wine 

licensee provides a revised purchase order indicating the 

additional wine peddled during the transaction. 

5. Repossession. Repossession of wine sold to a retailer 

shall be accomplished on forms prescribed by the board 

and provided at cost if supplied by the board, and in 

compliance with the instructions on the forms.  

6. Reports to the board. Each month wholesale wine 

licensees shall, on forms or an electronic system prescribed 

by the board and in accordance with the instructions set 

forth therein, report to the board the purchases and sales 

made during the preceding month, and the amount of state 

wine tax collected from retailers pursuant to §§ 4.1-234 

and 4.1-235 of the Code of Virginia. Each wholesale wine 

licensee shall on forms or an electronic system prescribed 

by the board on a quarterly basis indicate the quantity of 

wine on hand at the close of business on the last day of the 
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last month of the preceding quarter based on actual 

physical inventory by brands. Reports shall be 

accompanied by remittance for the amount of taxes 

collected, less any refunds, replacements or adjustments 

and shall be postmarked or submitted electronically no 

later than the fifteenth 15th of the month, or if the fifteenth 

15th is not a business day, the next business day thereafter.  

3VAC5-60-25. Winery, farm winery, and brewery 

licenses; reports. 

On or before the 15th day of each month, each winery, farm 

winery, and brewery licensee shall, on forms or an electronic 

system prescribed by the board and in accordance with the 

instructions set forth therein, file a report with the board of 

sales made in the previous calendar month. Tax payment in 

accordance with § 4.1-234 or 4.1-236 of the Code of Virginia 

shall be made with the submission of this report. 

3VAC5-60-50. Records required of distillers, fruit 

distillers, winery licensees and farm winery licensees; 

procedures for distilling for another; farm wineries.  

A person holding a distiller's, fruit distiller's, winery or a 

farm winery license shall comply with the following 

procedures:  

1. Records. Complete and accurate records shall be kept at 

the licensee's place of business for a period of two years, 

which records shall be available during reasonable hours 

for inspection by any member of the board or its special 

agents. Such records shall include the following 

information:  

a. The amount in liters and alcoholic content of each type 

of alcoholic beverage manufactured during each calendar 

month;  

b. The amount of alcoholic beverages on hand at the end 

of each calendar month;  

c. Withdrawals of alcoholic beverages for sale to the 

board or licensees;  

d. Withdrawals of alcoholic beverages for shipment 

outside of the Commonwealth showing:  

(1) Name and address of consignee;  

(2) Date of shipment; and  

(3) Alcoholic content, brand name, type of beverage, size 

of container and quantity of shipment.  

e. Purchases of cider or wine including:  

(1) Date of purchase;  

(2) Name and address of vendor;  

(3) Amount of purchase in liters; and  

(4) Amount of consideration paid.  

f. A distiller or fruit distiller employed to distill any 

alcoholic beverage shall include in his records the name 

and address of his employer for such purpose, the amount 

of grain, fruit products or other substances delivered by 

such employer, the type, amount in liters and alcoholic 

content of alcoholic beverage distilled therefrom, the 

place where stored, and the date of the transaction.  

2. Distillation for another. A distiller or fruit distiller 

manufacturing spirits for another person shall:  

a. At all times during distillation keep segregated and 

identifiable the grain, fruit, fruit products or other 

substances furnished by the owner thereof;  

b. Keep the alcoholic beverages distilled for such person 

segregated in containers bearing the date of distillation, 

the name of the owner, the amount in liters, and the type 

and alcoholic content of each container; and  

c. Release the alcoholic beverages so distilled to the 

custody of the owner, or otherwise, only upon a written 

permit issued by the board.  

3. Farm wineries. A farm winery shall keep complete, 

accurate and separate records of fresh fruits or other 

agricultural products grown or produced elsewhere and 

obtained for the purpose of manufacturing wine. At least 

51% of the fresh fruits or agricultural products used by the 

farm winery to manufacture the wine shall be grown or 

produced on such farm. Each farm winery must comply 

with the provisions of § 4.1-219 of the Code of Virginia for 

its applicable class of winery license relating to production 

of fresh fruits or other agricultural products. As provided in 

§ 4.1-219, the board, upon petition by the Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, may grant a waiver 

from the production requirements. 

3VAC5-60-80. Solicitation of mixed beverage licensees by 

representatives of manufacturers, etc., of spirits.  

A. Generally. This section applies to the solicitation, directly 

or indirectly, of a mixed beverage licensee to sell or offer for 

sale spirits. Solicitation of a mixed beverage licensee for such 

purpose other than by a permittee of the board and in the 

manner authorized by this section shall be prohibited.  

B. Permits.  

1. No person shall solicit a mixed beverage licensee unless 

he has been issued a permit. To obtain a permit, a person 

shall:  

a. Register with the board by filing an application on 

such forms as prescribed by the board;  

b. Pay in advance a fee of $300, which is subject to 

proration on a quarterly basis, pursuant to § 4.1-230 E of 

the Code of Virginia;  

c. Submit with the application a letter of authorization 

from the manufacturer, brand owner or its duly 

designated United States agent, of each specific brand or 

brands of spirits which the permittee is authorized to 

represent on behalf of the manufacturer or brand owner 

in the Commonwealth; and  

d. Be an individual at least 21 years of age.  

2. Each permit shall expire yearly on June 30, unless 

sooner suspended or revoked by the board.  
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3. A permit hereunder shall authorize the permittee to 

solicit or promote only the brand or brands of spirits for 

which the permittee has been issued written authorization 

to represent on behalf of the manufacturer, brand owner, or 

its duly designated United States agent and provided that a 

letter of authorization from the manufacturer or brand 

owner to the permittee specifying the brand or brands he is 

authorized to represent shall be on file with the board. 

Until written authorization or a letter of authorization, in a 

form authorized by the board, is received and filed with the 

board for a particular brand or brands of spirits, there shall 

be no solicitation or promotion of such product by the 

permittee. Further, no amendment, withdrawal or 

revocation, in whole or in part, of a letter of authorization 

on file with the board shall be effective as against the 

board until written notice thereof is received and filed with 

the board; and, until the board receives notice thereof, the 

permittee shall be deemed to be the authorized 

representative of the manufacturer or brand owner for the 

brand or brands specified on the most current authorization 

on file with the board.  

C. Records. A permittee shall keep complete and accurate 

records of his solicitation of any mixed beverage licensee for 

a period of two years, reflecting all expenses incurred by him 

in connection with the solicitation of the sale of his 

employer's products and shall, upon request, furnish the board 

with a copy of such records.  

D. Permitted activities. Solicitation by a permittee shall be 

limited to his authorized brand or brands, may include 

contact, meetings with, or programs for the benefit of mixed 

beverage licensees and employees thereof on the licensed 

premises, and in conjunction with solicitation, a permittee 

may:  

1. Distribute directly or indirectly written educational 

material (one item per retailer and one item per employee, 

per visit) which may not be displayed on the licensed 

premises; distribute novelty and specialty items bearing 

spirits advertising not in excess of $10 in wholesale value 

(in quantities equal to the number of employees of the 

retail establishment present at the time the items are 

delivered); and provide film or video presentations of 

spirits which are essentially educational to licensees and 

their employees only, and not for display or viewing by 

customers;  

2. Provide to a mixed beverage licensee sample servings 

from containers of spirits and furnish one, unopened, 50 

milliliter sample container no larger than 375 milliliters of 

each brand being promoted by the permittee and not sold 

by the licensee; such containers and sample containers 

shall be purchased at a government store and bear the 

permittee's permit number and the word "sample" in 

reasonable sized lettering on the container or sample 

container label; further, the spirits container shall remain 

the property of the permittee and may not be left with the 

licensee and any 50 milliliter sample containers left with 

the licensee shall not be sold by the licensee;  

3. Promote their authorized brands of spirits at 

conventions, trade association meetings, or similar 

gatherings of organizations, a majority of whose 

membership consists of mixed beverage licensees or spirits 

representatives for the benefit of their members and guests, 

and shall be limited as follows:  

a. To sample servings from containers of spirits 

purchased from government stores when the spirits 

donated are intended for consumption during the 

gathering;  

b. To displays of spirits in closed containers bearing the 

word "sample" in lettering of reasonable size and 

informational signs provided such merchandise is not 

sold or given away except as permitted in this section;  

c. To distribution of informational brochures, pamphlets 

and the like, relating to spirits;  

d. To distribution of novelty and specialty items bearing 

spirits advertising not in excess of $10 in wholesale 

value; and  

e. To film or video presentations of spirits which are 

essentially educational;  

f. To display at the event the brands being promoted by 

the permittee; 

g. To rent display booth space if the rental fee is the same 

as paid by all exhibitors at the event; 

h. To provide its own hospitality, which is independent 

from activities sponsored by the association or 

organization holding the event; 

i. To purchase tickets to functions and pay registration 

fees if the payments or fees are the same as paid by all 

attendees, participants, or exhibitors at the event; and 

j. To make payments for advertisements in programs or 

brochures issued by the association or organization 

holding the event if the total payments made for all such 

advertisements do not exceed $300 per year for any 

association or organization holding the event; or 

4. Provide or offer to provide point-of-sale advertising 

material to licensees as provided in 3VAC5-20-20 or 

3VAC5-30-80.  

E. Prohibited activities. A permittee shall not:  

1. Sell spirits to any licensee, solicit or receive orders for 

spirits from any licensee, provide or offer to provide cash 

discounts or cash rebates to any licensee, or to negotiate 

any contract or contract terms for the sale of spirits with a 

licensee;  

2. Discount or offer to discount any merchandise or other 

alcoholic beverages as an inducement to sell or offer to sell 

spirits to licensees;  
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3. Provide or offer to provide gifts, entertainment or other 

forms of gratuity to licensees except that a permittee may 

provide a licensee "routine business entertainment," as 

defined in 3VAC5-30-70, subject to the same conditions 

and limitations that apply to wholesalers and 

manufacturers under that section;  

4. Provide or offer to provide any equipment, furniture, 

fixtures, property or other thing of value to licensees 

except as permitted by this regulation;  

5. Purchase or deliver spirits or other alcoholic beverages 

for or to licensees or provide any services as inducements 

to licensees, except that this provision shall not preclude 

the sale or delivery of wine or beer by a licensed 

wholesaler;  

6. Be employed directly or indirectly in the manufacturing, 

bottling, importing or wholesaling of spirits and 

simultaneously be employed by a retail licensee;  

7. Solicit licensees on any premises other than on their 

licensed premises or at conventions, trade association 

meetings or similar gatherings as permitted in subdivision 

D 3 of this section;  

8. Solicit or promote any brand or brands of spirits without 

having on file with the board a letter from the manufacturer 

or brand owner authorizing the permittee to represent such 

brand or brands in the Commonwealth; or  

9. Engage in solicitation of spirits other than as authorized 

by law.  

F. Refusal, suspension or revocation of permits.  

1. The board may refuse, suspend or revoke a permit if it 

shall have reasonable cause to believe that any cause exists 

which would justify the board in refusing to issue such 

person a license, or that such person has violated any 

provision of this section or committed any other act that 

would justify the board in suspending or revoking a 

license.  

2. Before refusing, suspending or revoking such permit, the 

board shall follow the same administrative procedures 

accorded an applicant or licensee under Title 4.1 of the 

Code of Virginia and regulations of the board.  

3VAC5-60-110. Contract brewing arrangements. 

A licensed brewery may manufacture beer bearing the brand 

of another not under common control with the manufacturing 

brewery, and sell and deliver the beer so manufactured to the 

brand owner, provided that (i) the brand owner is 

appropriately licensed as a brewery or beer wholesaler; (ii) 

the manufacturing is pursuant to a written agreement between 

the parties; and (iii) complete records of all beer 

manufactured, sold, and delivered pursuant to the agreement 

are maintained by both parties. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

[ FORMS (3VAC5-60)  

Wholesale Wine Distributions' Bond - Corporate Form, 

#702-38.  

Wholesale Wine Distributions' Bond - Individual or 

Partnership Form, #702-37.  

Purchase Order, #703-34 (eff. 3/87).  

Wholesaler's Summary of Wine Sales and Taxes, #703-40 

(eff. 5/92).  

Malt Beverage Wholesaler's Tax Report, #805-70.  

Purchase Order, #703-34 (rev. 3/87) 

Wholesale Wine Distributors' Bond - Individual or 

Partnership Form, #702-37 

Wholesale Wine Distributors' Bond - Corporation Form, 

#702-38. 

Wholesaler's Summary of Wine Sales and Taxes, #703-40 

(rev. 7/00) 

Virginia Farm Winery Monthly Report, #703-40A (rev. 

10/12) 

Malt Beverage Wholesaler's Tax Report, #805-70 (rev. 5/09) 

Solicitor-Salesman Permit Application, #805-81 (rev. 5/08) ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3240; Filed October 22, 2013, 1:38 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-70. Other Provisions 

(amending 3VAC5-70-90, 3VAC5-70-100, 3VAC5-70-150, 

3VAC5-70-210, 3VAC5-70-220).  

Statutory Authority: § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia 

(3VAC5-70-90, 3VAC5-70-100, 3VAC5-70-150, 3VAC5-

70-220). 

§§ 4.1-111 and 4.1-227 of the Code of Virginia (3VAC5-70-

210). 

Effective Date: December 18, 2013.  

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email 

curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) allow licensees to store records off 

site; (ii) allow banquet and special event licensees 90 days 

to file required reports; (iii) add importers, bottlers, 

brokers, and wholesalers to the list of licensees who are 

permitted to host events at and donate their products to 

conventions or educational events; (iv) clarify that each 

establishment is considered a separate licensee even in 

cases where one entity owns multiple establishments; and 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f80fa003240~1&typ=40&actno=003240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4ed98003240~2&typ=40&actno=003240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4ed98003240~2&typ=40&actno=003240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=47da5003240~3&typ=40&actno=003240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=47da5003240~3&typ=40&actno=003240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cc5f4003240~4&typ=40&actno=003240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cc5f4003240~4&typ=40&actno=003240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=56ba0003240~5&typ=40&actno=003240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=56ba0003240~5&typ=40&actno=003240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cc1b003240~6&typ=40&actno=003240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cf1a1003240~7&typ=40&actno=003240&mime=application/pdf
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(v) allow licensees to file required monthly activity reports 

electronically. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

3VAC5-70-90. Records to be kept by licensees generally; 

additional requirements for certain retailers; "sale" and 

"sell" defined; gross receipts; reports.  

A. All licensees shall keep complete, accurate and separate 

records at the licensee's place of business for a period of two 

years. The records shall be available for inspection and 

copying by any member of the board or its special agents 

during reasonable hours. Licensees may use microfilm, 

microfiche, disks, or other available technologies for the 

storage of their records, and may store them off site, provided 

the records so stored are readily subject to retrieval and made 

available for viewing on a screen or in hard copy by the board 

or its special agents at the licensed premises between the 

hours of 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. At any other time of day, if the 

licensee's records are not available for inspection, the licensee 

shall provide the records to a special agent of the board within 

24 hours after a request is made to inspect the records.  

The board and its special agents shall be allowed free access 

during reasonable hours to every place in the Commonwealth 

where alcoholic beverages are manufactured, bottled, stored, 

offered for sale or sold, for the purpose of examining and 

inspecting all records, invoices and accounts therein.  

"Reasonable hours" shall be deemed to include all business 

hours of operation and any other time at which there exists 

any indication of activity upon the licensed premises.  

B. All licensed manufacturers, bottlers or wholesalers of 

alcoholic beverages shall keep a complete, accurate and 

separate record of all alcoholic beverages manufactured, 

bottled, purchased, sold or shipped by him. Such records shall 

show the quantities of all such alcoholic beverages 

manufactured, bottled, purchased, sold or shipped by him; the 

dates of all sales, purchases, deliveries or shipments; the 

names and addresses of all persons to or from whom such 

sales, purchases, deliveries or shipments are made; the 

quantities and kinds of alcoholic beverages sold and delivered 

or shipped and the prices charged therefor and the taxes 

applicable thereto, if any. Every manufacturer and 

wholesaler, at the time of delivering alcoholic beverages to 

any person, shall also prepare a duplicate invoice showing the 

date of delivery, the quantity and value of each delivery and 

the name of the purchaser to whom the delivery is made.  

C. Every retail licensee shall keep complete, accurate and 

separate records, including invoices, of the purchases and 

sales of alcoholic beverages, food and other merchandise. The 

records of alcoholic beverages shall be kept separate and 

apart from other records and shall include all purchases 

thereof, the dates of such purchases, the kinds and quantities 

of alcoholic beverages purchased, the prices charged therefor 

and the names and addresses of the persons from whom 

purchased.  

Additionally, each retail licensee shall keep accurate 

accounts of daily sales, showing quantities of alcoholic 

beverages, food, and other merchandising sold and the prices 

charged therefor.  

D. In addition to the requirements of subsections A and C of 

this section, mixed beverage restaurant licensees shall keep 

records of all alcoholic beverages purchased for sale as mixed 

beverages and records of all mixed beverage sales. The 

following actions shall also be taken:  

1. On delivery of a mixed beverage restaurant license by 

the board, the licensee shall furnish to the board or its 

special agents a complete and accurate inventory of all 

alcoholic beverages currently held in inventory on the 

premises by the licensee; and  

2. Once a year, each licensee shall submit on prescribed 

forms to the board an annual review report. The report is 

due within 30 days after the end of the mixed beverage 

license year and shall include:  

a. A complete and accurate inventory of all alcoholic 

beverages purchased for sale as mixed beverages and 

held in inventory at the close of business at the end of the 

annual review period;  

b. An accounting of the annual purchases of food, 

nonalcoholic beverages and alcoholic beverages, 

including alcoholic beverages purchased for sale as 

mixed beverages, and miscellaneous items; and  

c. An accounting of the monthly and annual sales of all 

merchandise specified in subdivision 2 b of this 

subsection.  

E. The terms "sale" and "sell" shall include exchange, barter 

or traffic, or delivery made otherwise than gratuitously, by 

any means whatsoever, of mixed beverages and other 

alcoholic beverages, and of meals or food.  

F. In determining "gross receipts from the sale of food" for 

the purposes of § 4.1-210 of the Code of Virginia, a licensee 

shall not include any receipts for food for which there was no 

sale, as defined in this section. Food which is available at an 

unwritten, non-separate charge to patrons or employees 

during Happy Hours, private social gatherings, promotional 

events, or at any other time, shall not be included in the gross 

receipts. Food shall include hors d'oeuvres.  

If in conducting its review pursuant to § 4.1-114 of the Code 

of Virginia, the board determines that the licensee has failed 

or refused to keep complete and accurate records of the 

amounts of mixed beverages or other alcoholic beverages 

sold at regular prices, as well as at all various reduced and 

increased prices offered by the licensee, the board may 

calculate the number of mixed drinks and other alcoholic 

beverage drinks sold, as determined from purchase records, 

and presume that such sales were made at the highest posted 

menu prices for such merchandise.  
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G. Any changes in the officers, directors or shareholders 

owning 10% or more of the outstanding capital stock of a 

corporation shall be reported to the board within 30 days; 

provided, however, that corporations or their wholly owned 

subsidiaries whose corporate common stock is publicly traded 

and owned shall not be required to report changes in 

shareholders owning 10% or more of the outstanding capital 

stock.  

H. All banquet and special event licensees in charge of 

public events shall report to the board the income and 

expenses associated with the public event on a form 

prescribed by the board when the licensee engages another 

person to organize, conduct or operate the event on behalf of 

the licensee. Reports shall be made within 30 90 days after 

the date of each event. "Public events" shall be deemed to 

include any event at which alcoholic beverages are sold to the 

general public and not only to personally invited guests.  

All applicants for banquet or special event licenses shall 

indicate at the time of application whether the event is open to 

the public and whether another person has been or will be 

engaged to organize, conduct or operate the event on behalf 

of the licensee. If the applicant indicates that the event is open 

to the public and another person has been or will be engaged 

to organize, conduct or operate the event on behalf of the 

licensee, the applicant shall attach a copy of any contract 

between the applicant and such other person to the license 

application.  

3VAC5-70-100. Gifts of alcoholic beverages generally; 

exceptions; wine and beer tastings; taxes and records.  

A. Gifts of alcoholic beverages by a licensee to any other 

person are prohibited except as otherwise provided in this 

section or as provided in §§ 4.1-119 G, 4.1-201, 4.1-201.1, 

4.1-205, 4.1-209, 4.1-325, and 4.1-325.2 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

B. Gifts of alcoholic beverages may be made by licensees as 

follows:  

1. Personal friends. Gifts may be made to personal friends 

as a matter of normal social intercourse when in no wise a 

shift or device to evade the provisions of this section.  

2. Samples. A wholesaler may give a retail licensee a 

sample serving or a container not then sold by such 

licensee of wine or beer, which such wholesaler otherwise 

may sell to such retail licensee, provided that in a the case 

of containers, the container does not exceed 52 fluid 

ounces in size (1.5 liters if in a metric-sized container) and 

the label bears the word "Sample" in lettering of 

reasonable size. Such samples may not be sold. For good 

cause shown the board may authorize a larger sample 

container.  

3. Hospitality rooms; conventions. A person licensed to 

manufacture wine or beer may The following activities are 

permitted:  

a. Give A brewer or vintner may give samples of his 

products to visitors to his winery or brewery for 

consumption on premises only in a hospitality room 

approved by the board, provided the donees are persons 

to whom such products may be lawfully sold; and  

b. Host A manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler may host an event at conventions of national, 

regional or interstate associations or foundations 

organized and operated exclusively for religious, 

charitable, scientific, literary, civil affairs, educational or 

national purposes upon the premises occupied by such 

licensee, or upon property of the licensee contiguous to 

such premises, or in a development contiguous to such 

premises, owned and operated by the licensee or a wholly 

owned subsidiary.  

4. Conventions; educational programs, including wine and 

beer alcoholic beverage tastings; research; licensee 

associations. Licensed manufacturers Manufacturers, 

importers, bottlers, brokers, and wholesalers may donate 

beer or wines alcoholic beverages to:  

a. A convention, trade association or similar gathering, 

composed of licensees and their guests, when the 

alcoholic beverages donated are intended for 

consumption during the convention;  

b. Retail licensees attending a bona fide educational 

program relating to the alcoholic beverages being given 

away;  

c. Research departments of educational institutions, or 

alcoholic research centers, for the purpose of scientific 

research on alcoholism;  

d. Licensed manufacturers and wholesalers may donate 

wine to official Official associations of wholesale wine 

licensees alcoholic beverage industry members when 

conducting a bona fide educational program concerning 

wine alcoholic beverages, with no promotion of a 

particular brand, for members and guests of particular 

groups, associations, or organizations.  

5. Conditions. Exceptions authorized by subdivisions 3 b 

and 4 of this subsection are conditioned upon the 

following:  

a. That prior written notice of the activity be submitted to 

the board describing it and giving the date, time and 

place of such; and  

b. That the activity be conducted in a room or rooms set 

aside for that purpose and be adequately supervised.  

C. Wine and beer wholesalers may participate in a wine or 

beer tasting sponsored by a gourmet shop licensee for its 

customers and may provide educational material, oral or 

written, pertaining thereto, as well as participate in the 

pouring of such wine or beer.  

D. Any gift authorized by this section shall be subject to the 

taxes imposed on sales by Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

and complete and accurate records shall be maintained.  
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3VAC5-70-150. Wholesale alcoholic beverage sales; 

winery and brewery discounts, price-fixing; price 

increases; price discrimination; inducements.  

A. No winery as defined in § 4.1-401 or brewery as defined 

in § 4.1-500 of the Code of Virginia shall require a wholesale 

licensee to discount the price at which the wholesaler shall 

sell any alcoholic beverage to persons holding licenses 

authorizing sale of such merchandise at retail. No winery, 

brewery, bottler or wine or beer importer shall in any other 

way fix or maintain the price at which a wholesaler shall sell 

any alcoholic beverage.  

B. No winery as defined in § 4.1-401 or brewery as defined 

in § 4.1-500 of the Code of Virginia shall increase the price 

charged any person holding a wholesale license for alcoholic 

beverages except by written notice to the wholesaler signed 

by an authorized officer or agent of the winery, brewery, 

bottler or importer which shall contain the amount and 

effective date of the increase.  

No increase shall take effect prior to 30 calendar days 

following the date on which the notice is postmarked; 

provided that the board may authorize such price increases to 

take effect with less than the aforesaid 30 calendar days' 

notice if a winery, brewery, bottler or importer so requests 

and demonstrates good cause therefor.  

The provisions of this subsection shall not apply in any case 

where the importer required to provide notice of a price 

increase and the wholesaler to whom notice is to be provided 

are the same person.  

C. No winery as defined in § 4.1-401 or brewery as defined 

in § 4.1-500 of the Code of Virginia shall discriminate in 

price of alcoholic beverages between different wholesale 

purchasers and no wholesale wine or beer licensee shall 

discriminate in price of alcoholic beverages between different 

retail purchasers except where the difference in price charged 

by such winery, or brewery or wholesale licensee is due to a 

bona fide difference in the cost of sale or delivery, or where a 

lower price was charged in good faith to meet an equally low 

price charged by a competing winery, or brewery or 

wholesaler on a brand and package of like grade and quality. 

Where such difference in price charged to any such 

wholesaler or retail purchaser does occur, the board may ask 

and the winery, or brewery or wholesaler shall furnish written 

substantiation for the price difference.  

D. No person holding a license authorizing the sale of 

alcoholic beverages at wholesale or retail shall knowingly 

induce or receive a discrimination in price prohibited by 

subsection C of this section.  

3VAC5-70-210. Schedule of penalties for first-offense 

violations. 

A. Any licensee charged with any violation of board 

regulations or statutes listed below, if the licensee has no 

other pending charges and has not had any substantiated 

violations of regulation or statute within the three years 

immediately preceding the date of the violation, may enter a 

written waiver of hearing and (i) accept the period of license 

suspension set forth below for the violation, or (ii) pay the 

civil charge set forth below for the violation in lieu of 

suspension. In the case of a violation involving the sale of 

beer, wine, or mixed beverages to a person at least 18 but 

under 21 years of age, or to an intoxicated person, or allowing 

consumption of such beverages by such person, any retail 

licensee that can demonstrate that it provided alcohol 

seller/server training certified in advance by the board to the 

employee responsible for such violation within the 12 months 

immediately preceding the alleged violation may accept the 

lesser period of license suspension or pay the lesser civil 

charge listed below for the violation in lieu of suspension. 

Any notice of hearing served on a licensee for a violation 

covered by this section shall contain a notice of the licensee's 

options under this section. Any licensee who fails to notify 

the board of its intent to exercise one of the options provided 

for under this section within 20 days after the date of mailing 

of the notice of hearing shall be deemed to have waived the 

right to exercise such options and the case shall proceed to 

hearing. For good cause shown, the board may, in its 

discretion, allow a licensee to exercise the options provided 

for under this section beyond the 20-day period. 

 

VIOLATION SUSPENSION 
CIVIL 

CHARGE 

SUSPENSION 

WITH 

CERTIFIED 

TRAINING 

CIVIL 

CHARGE 

WITH 

CERTIFIED 

TRAINING 

Sale of beer, wine or mixed beverages to a 

person at least 18 but under 21 years of age. 

25 days $2,000 5 days $1,000 

Allowing consumption of beer, wine, or 

mixed beverages by a person at least 18 but 

under 21 years of age. 

25 days $2,000 5 days $1,000 

Aiding and abetting the purchase of alcoholic 

beverages by a person at least 18 but under 21 

years of age. 

10 days $1,000     
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Keeping unauthorized alcoholic beverages on 

the premises, upon which appropriate taxes 

have been paid. 

7 days $500     

Allow an intoxicated person to loiter on the 

premises. 

7 days $500     

Sale to an intoxicated person. 25 days $2,000 5 days $1,000 

Allow consumption by an intoxicated person. 25 days $2,000 5 days $1,000 

After hours sales or consumption of alcoholic 

beverages. 

10 days $1,000     

No designated manager on premises. 7 days $500     

Invalid check to wholesaler or board. 7 days $250     

Inadequate illumination. 7 days $500     

ABC license not posted. 7 days $500     

Not timely submitting report required by 

statute or regulation. 

7 days $500     

Designated manager not posted. 7 days $500     

Person less than 18 serving alcoholic 

beverages; less than 21 acting as bartender. 

7 days $500     

Sale of alcoholic beverages in unauthorized 

place or manner. 

10 days $1,000     

Consumption of alcoholic beverages in 

unauthorized area. 

7 days $500     

Removal of alcoholic beverages from 

authorized area. 

7 days $500     

Failure to obliterate mixed beverage stamps. 7 days $500     

Employee on duty consuming alcoholic 

beverages. 

7 days $500     

Conducting illegal happy hour. 7 days $500     

Illegally advertising happy hour. 7 days $500     

Unauthorized advertising. 7 days $500     

Failure to remit state beer/wine tax (if 

deficiency has been corrected). 

10 days $1,000     

Wholesaler sale of wine/beer in unauthorized 

manner. 

10 days $1,000     

Wholesaler sale of wine/beer to unauthorized 

person. 

10 days $1,000     

 

B. For purposes of this section, the Virginia Department of 

Alcoholic Beverage Control will certify alcohol seller/server 

training courses that provide instruction on all the topics 

listed on the Seller/Server Training Evaluation form. The 

following steps should be completed to submit a training 

program for approval: 

1. Complete the Alcohol Seller/Server Training Data Sheet 

and review the Seller/Server Training Evaluation form to 

make sure the program will meet the listed criteria; and 

2. Submit the Alcohol Seller/Server Training Data Sheet 

and a copy of the proposed training program materials for 
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review. Materials submitted should include copies of any 

lesson plans and instructional materials used in the training 

program. 

Requests for certification of training courses should be sent 

to:  

  Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 

  Education Section 

  P. O. Box 27491 

  Richmond, VA 23261 

  Email correspondences: education@abc.virginia.gov 

Persons in charge of any certified alcohol server training 

course shall maintain complete records of all training classes 

conducted, including the date and location of each class, and 

the identity of all those successfully completing the course. 

C. For a licensee that operates more than one retail 

establishment, each such establishment shall be considered a 

separate licensee for the purpose of this section. 

3VAC5-70-220. Wine or beer shipper's licenses and 

Internet wine retailer licenses; application process; 

common carriers; records and reports. 

A. Any person or entity qualified for a wine shipper's license 

or beer shipper's license pursuant to § 4.1-209.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, or an Internet wine retailer license pursuant to 

subdivision 6 of § 4.1-207 of the Code of Virginia, must 

apply for such license by submitting form 805-52, 

Application for License. In addition to the application, each 

applicant shall submit as attachments a list of all brands of 

wine or beer sought to be shipped by the applicant, along with 

the board-assigned code numbers for each brand or a copy of 

the label approval by the appropriate federal agency for any 

brand not previously approved for sale in Virginia pursuant to 

3VAC5-40-20 or 3VAC5-40-50 that will be sold only 

through direct shipment to consumers. 

If the applicant is not also the brand owner of the brands 

listed in the application, the applicant shall obtain and submit 

with the application a dated letter identifying each brand, 

from the brand owner or any wholesale distributor authorized 

to distribute the brand, addressed to the Supervisor, Tax 

Management Section, Virginia Department of Alcoholic 

Beverage Control, indicating the brand owner's or wholesale 

distributor's consent to the applicant's shipping the brand to 

Virginia consumers. 

The applicant shall attach (i) a photocopy of its current 

license as a winery, farm winery, brewery, or alcoholic 

beverage retailer issued by the appropriate authority for the 

location from which shipments will be made and (ii) evidence 

of the applicant's registration with the Virginia Department of 

Taxation for the collection of Virginia retail sales tax. 

B. Any brewery, winery or farm winery that applies for a 

shipper's license or consents to the application by any other 

person, other than a retail off-premises licensee, for a license 

to ship such brewery's, winery's or farm winery's brands of 

wine or beer shall notify all wholesale licensees that have 

been authorized to distribute such brands in Virginia that an 

application for a shipper's license has been filed. Such 

notification shall be by a dated letter to each such wholesale 

licensee, setting forth the brands that wholesaler has been 

authorized to distribute in Virginia for which a shipper's 

license has been applied. A copy of each such letter shall be 

forwarded to the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, by 

the brewery, winery, or farm winery. 

C. Any holder of a wine or beer shipper's license or Internet 

wine retailer's license may add or delete brands to be shipped 

by letter to the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, 

designating the brands to be added or deleted. Any letter 

adding brands shall be accompanied by any appropriate 

brand-owner consents or notices to wholesalers as required 

with an original application. 

D. Any brand owner that consents to a holder of a wine 

shipper's license, beer shipper's license, or Internet wine 

retailer's license shipping its brands to Virginia consumers 

may withdraw such consent by a dated letter to the affected 

wine or beer shipper's licensee or Internet wine retailer's 

licensee. Copies of all such withdrawals shall be forwarded 

by the brand owner, by certified mail, return receipt 

requested, to the Supervisor, Tax Management Section. 

Withdrawals shall become effective upon receipt of the copy 

by the Tax Management Section, as evidenced by the 

postmark on the return receipt. 

E. Wine shipper's licensees, beer shipper's licensees, and 

Internet wine retailer's licensees shall maintain for two years 

complete and accurate records of all shipments made under 

the privileges of such licenses, including for each shipment: 

1. Number of containers shipped; 

2. Volume of each container shipped; 

3. Brand of each container shipped; 

4. Names and addresses of recipients; and 

5. Price charged. 

The records required by this subsection shall be made 

available for inspection and copying by any member of the 

board or its special agents upon request. 

F. On or before the 15th day of each month, each wine 

shipper's licensee, beer shipper's licensee, or Internet wine 

retailer's licensee shall file with the Supervisor, Tax 

Management Section, either in paper form or electronically as 

directed by the department, a report of activity for the 

previous calendar month. Such report shall include: 

1. Whether any shipments were made during the month; 

and 

2. If shipments were made, the following information for 

each shipment: 

a. Number of containers shipped; 

b. Volume of each container shipped; 

c. Brand of each container shipped; 
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d. Names and addresses of recipients; and 

e. Price charged. 

Unless otherwise paid, payment of the appropriate beer or 

wine tax shall accompany each report. 

G. All shipments by holders of wine shipper's licenses, beer 

shipper's licenses, or Internet wine retailer's licenses shall be 

by approved common carrier only. Common carriers 

possessing all necessary licenses or permits to operate as 

common carriers in Virginia may apply for approval to 

provide common carriage of wine or beer, or both, shipped by 

holders of wine shipper's licenses, beer shipper's licenses, or 

Internet wine retailer's licenses by dated letter to the 

Supervisor, Tax Management Section, requesting such 

approval and agreeing to perform deliveries of beer or wine 

shipped, maintain records, and submit reports in accordance 

with the requirements of this section. The board may refuse, 

suspend or revoke approval if it shall have reasonable cause 

to believe that a carrier does not possess all necessary licenses 

or permits, that a carrier has failed to comply with the 

regulations of the board, or that a cause exists with respect to 

the carrier that would authorize the board to refuse, suspend 

or revoke a license pursuant to Title 4.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Before refusing, suspending, or revoking such 

approval, the board shall follow the same administrative 

procedures accorded an applicant or licensee under Title 4.1 

of the Code of Virginia and regulations of the board. 

H. When attempting to deliver wine or beer shipped by a 

wine shipper's licensee, beer shipper's licensee, or Internet 

wine retailer's licensee, an approved common carrier shall 

require: 

1. The recipient to demonstrate, upon delivery, that he is at 

least 21 years of age; and 

2. The recipient to sign an electronic or paper form or other 

acknowledgement of receipt that allows the maintenance of 

the records required by this section. 

The approved common carrier shall refuse delivery when the 

proposed recipient appears to be under the age of 21 years 

and refuses to present valid identification. All licensees 

shipping wine or beer pursuant to this section shall affix a 

conspicuous notice in 16-point type or larger to the outside of 

each package of wine or beer shipped within or into the 

Commonwealth, in a conspicuous location stating: 

"CONTAINS ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES; SIGNATURE 

OF PERSON AGED 21 YEARS OR OLDER REQUIRED 

FOR DELIVERY." Such notice shall also contain the wine 

shipper's, beer shipper's, or Internet wine retailer's license 

number of the shipping licensee. No approved common 

carrier shall accept for shipment any wine or beer to be 

shipped to anyone other than a licensee of the board unless 

the package bears the information required by this subsection. 

I. Approved common carriers shall maintain for two years 

complete and accurate records of all shipments of wine or 

beer received from and delivered for wine or beer shipper's 

licensees, or Internet wine retailer's licensees, including for 

each shipment: 

1. Date of shipment and delivery; 

2. Number of items shipped and delivered; 

3. Weight of items shipped and delivered; 

4. Acknowledgement signed by recipient; and 

5. Names and addresses of shippers and recipients. 

The records required by this subsection shall be made 

available for inspection and copying by any member of the 

board or its special agents upon request. 

J. On or before the 15th day of each January, April, July, 

and October, each approved common carrier shall file with 

the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, a report of activity 

for the previous calendar quarter. Such report shall include: 

1. Whether any shipments were delivered during the 

quarter; and 

2. If shipments were made, the following information for 

each shipment: 

a. Dates of each delivery; and 

b. Names and address of shippers and recipients for each 

delivery. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3241; Filed October 22, 2013, 1:39 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-70. Other Provisions (adding 

3VAC5-70-95).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 18, 2013.  

Agency Contact: W. Curtis Coleburn III, Chief Operating 

Officer, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4409, FAX (804) 213-4411, TTY (804) 213-4687, or email 

curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

Pursuant to Chapter 728 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly, the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board is amending its 

regulations so that a business that is licensed by the board 

may get a prorated refund of its licensure fee if the 

business is destroyed by an act of God. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

3VAC5-70-95. Proration of license tax for businesses 

destroyed by natural disaster. 

The board shall make refunds of the state license tax paid 

pursuant to subsection A of § 4.1-231 of the Code of Virginia 

to licensees whose place of business designated in the license 

is destroyed by an act of God, including but not limited to 
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fire, earthquake, hurricane, storm, or similar natural disaster 

or phenomenon, upon the following schedule: 

If the destruction takes place within the first three months 

of the license year, 75% of the license tax shall be 

refunded. If the destruction takes place within the second 

three months of the license year, 50% of the license tax 

shall be refunded. If the destruction takes place within the 

third three months of the license year, 25% of the license 

tax shall be refunded. No refund shall be issued if the 

destruction takes place within the last three months of the 

license year. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3013; Filed October 22, 2013, 1:38 p.m.  

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Conservation 

and Recreation is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

1 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes agency orders or 

regulations fixing rates or prices. The Department of 

Conservation and Recreation will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC5-36. Standard Fees for Use of 

Department of Conservation and Recreation Facilities, 

Programs, and Services (amending 4VAC5-36-50, 

4VAC5-36-90, 4VAC5-36-100, 4VAC5-36-110, 4VAC5-36-

120, 4VAC5-36-130, 4VAC5-36-150, 4VAC5-36-200, 

4VAC5-36-210).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-104 of the Code of Virginia.  

Effective Date: January 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: David C. Dowling, Policy and Planning 

Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 600 

East Main Street, 24th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 

david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments modify parking and launch fees (4VAC5-

36-50), camping fees (4VAC5-36-90), cabin fees (4VAC5-

36-100), picnic shelter and event tent fees (4VAC5-36-

110), amphitheater and gazebo fees (4VAC5-36-120), boat 

storage fees (4VAC5-36-130), interpretive and educational 

tour and program fees (4VAC5-36-150), miscellaneous 

rental fees (4VAC5-36-200), and conference center and 

meeting facility fees (4VAC3-36-210). 

The increases and changes to the standard rates and prices 

represent (i) revisions to maintain fair market value and 

demand for services, (ii) the addition of new facilities and 

offerings, (iii) updates to ensure consistency with the 

private sector, (iv) the deletion of fees that have become 

obsolete as there is no longer demand for a service, (v) 

revisions to reflect private concessionaires' new seasonal 

prices, (vi) reasonable increases to offset growing 

maintenance costs, and (vii) updates to ensure formatting 

consistency. 

4VAC5-36-50. Parking and launch fees.  

PARKING FEES (NONTAXABLE)  

  WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 

Daily Parking for Passenger Vehicles: Applies to cars, trucks, vans 

(up to 15 passenger), and motorcycles. 
  

  

  All parks unless listed below. $2.00 $3.00 $3.00 $4.00 

  Parks under construction and having only limited facilities 

and services. 

$2.00 $2.00 

  Fairy Stone, Raymond R. "Andy" Guest Jr. Shenandoah 

River, Smith Mountain Lake, Claytor Lake, Kiptopeke, 

Westmoreland, Mason Neck, Sky Meadows, Chippokes 

$3.00 $4.00 

  Leesylvania, First Landing, Lake Anna, Pocahontas 

Chippokes, Claytor Lake, Douthat, Fairy Stone, First 

Landing, Grayson Highlands, Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, 

Leesylvania, Mason Neck, New River Trail, Pocahontas, 

Raymond R. "Andy" Guest Jr. Shenandoah River, Sky 

Meadows, Smith Mountain Lake, Westmoreland 

$4.00 $5.00 
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  York River Croaker Landing/Pier Area (also requires boat 

launch fee for all vehicles) 

$3.00 $3.00 

Horse Trailer Parking Fee covers up to two horses in the same trailer 

(also requires vehicle parking fee.) All parks unless listed below. 

$3.00 per trailer $3.00 per trailer 

  Lake Anna $4.00 per trailer $4.00 per trailer 

  Surcharge for additional horse in same trailer beyond the first 

two horses. 

$2.00 per horse $2.00 per horse 

Other Trailer Parking Fee: Applies to other trailers not covered by 

camping, horse trailer, and boat launch fee. (Add to daily parking 

fee.) 

$2.00 per trailer $2.00 per trailer 

Daily Bus Parking: All Seasons. Applies to vehicles with 16 or more 

passenger capacity. 

    

  All parks unless listed below. $10 $10 

  Claytor Lake, Hungry Mother, Leesylvania, Mason Neck, 

New River Trail 

$12 $12 

  First Landing, Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, Pocahontas, 

Westmoreland 

$15 $15 

Natural Area Preserve Parking Fees for any Vehicle: The department 

may charge these fees at any Natural Area Preserve. 

$2.00 $2.00 

Boat Launch Fees: Required to use park boat ramps on bodies of 

water where motorboats are permitted. Required for all vehicles using 

York River Croaker Landing/Pier Area. May not apply to small "car-

top" launch facilities (facilities at which boats may only be launched 

by hand carrying them to the water). The fee is normally added to the 

parking fee to create a combined park/launch payment. 

    

Daily Launch Fees: All Seasons     

  All parks unless listed below. $3.00 $3.00 

  Claytor Lake $2.00 $2.00 

  First Landing, Kiptopeke (with Marine Fishing License), 

Lake Anna 

$4.00 $4.00 

  Kiptopeke (without Marine Fishing License), Leesylvania $8.00 $8.00 

Surcharge for second boat on same trailer: jet ski $2.00 $2.00 

Overnight parking at boat launch: where available $10 $10 

Camper's Boat Launch Fee Kiptopeke: Does not apply if camper 

parks trailer at campsite. 

$3.00 $3.00 

Boat Tournament Fee for Fishing Tournaments: Registration fee is 

based on the number of boats registered and is nonrefundable 

regardless of number that actually participates. This fee is in addition 

to the applicable daily launch fee. 

No charge $2.00 per boat 
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Annual and Lifetime Parking Fees: FEE 

Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus: Lifetime admission and parking pass to all state 

parks, plus 10% discount on individual camp sites and horse stalls; all state park 

merchandise, except fuel sales; equipment rentals; and shelter rentals except where these 

services are provided by private concessionaires. 

  

  Age up to 40 $333 

  Age 41-45 $300 

  Age 46-50 $266 

  Age 51-55 $233 

  Age 56−61 $200 

Senior Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus (Age 62 or older): See Lifetime Naturally 

Yours Passport Plus above. 

$121 

Naturally Yours Passport Plus: 12-month from date of purchase admission and parking pass 

to all state parks, plus 10% discount on camping, all state park merchandise, equipment 

rentals, and shelter rentals. 

$66 

Naturally Yours Parking Passport: 12-month from date of purchase admission and parking 

pass to park of purchase. 

$40 

Senior Naturally Yours Passport Plus: See Naturally Yours Passport Plus above. $36 

Senior Naturally Yours Parking Passport: See Naturally Yours Parking Passport above. $24 

Golden Disability Pass: Available to persons with disabilities as verified by U.S. Social 

Security Administration's (SSA) "Benefit Verification Letter." Pass remains in effect unless 

SSA withdraws eligibility. 

No Charge 

Disabled Veterans Passport 

Admission, parking, and launch pass to all state parks, plus 50% discount on camping fees, 

swimming fees, shelter rentals, and department equipment rentals when provided by the 

department. Where equipment rentals are provided by private concessionaires, this passport 

does not apply. 

The passport shall be issued upon request to a veteran of the armed forces of the United 

States with a letter from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, or from the military 

service that discharged the veteran, certifying that such veteran has a service-connected 

disability rating of 100%. This passport coverage shall be valid for as long as that 

determination by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs remains in effect. 

No Charge 

Annual and Lifetime Park/Launch/Equestrian Fees:   

Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters and Equestrians: Lifetime admission, 

parking, and launch pass to all state parks, plus 10% discount on camping, all state park 

merchandise, equipment rentals, and shelter rentals. 

  

  Age up to 40 $667 

  Age 41-45 $600 

  Age 46-50 $534 

  Age 51-55 $466 

  Age 56-61 $400 
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Senior Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters and Equestrians (Age 62 or 

older): See Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters above. 

$345 

Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters and Equestrians: 12-month from date of purchase 

admission, parking, and launch pass to all state parks, plus 10% discount on camping, all 

state park merchandise, equipment rentals, and shelter rentals. 

$167 

Park/Launch/Equestrian Passport:   

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to all state parks 

including Leesylvania. 

$141 

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to First Landing, 

Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. Good only at park of purchase. 

$107 

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to park of 

purchase other than Leesylvania, First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. 

$87 

Senior Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters and Equestrians: Annual permit for all 

parks including Leesylvania. 

$133 

Senior Park/Launch/Equestrian Passport:   

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to all state parks 

including Leesylvania. 

$120 

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to First Landing, 

Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. Good only at park of purchase. 

$87 

  12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch pass to park of 

purchase other than Leesylvania, First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. 

$73 

Buggs Island Lake Special Annual Park/Launch/Equestrian Pass: Good only at 

Occoneechee and Staunton River State Parks. 

$55 

Leesylvania Annual Overnight Boating/Parking Pass. $74 

Disabled Visitor Annual Boat Launch Pass (in addition to disabled tags). $48 

    

Special Event Fees: EVENT FEE 

Standard Special Event Parking Fee: Applies to all parks and events that utilize parking fees 

unless noted below. 

$10 per vehicle 

Community Event Fee: May be used by any park as a condition of a Special Use Permit for 

a community event provided by a nonprofit group or organization or government agency or 

entity. 

$1.00 per vehicle 

Sky Meadows: Strawberry Festival   

  Advance payment $20 per vehicle 

  Day of Event $25 per vehicle 

Sky Meadows: Extended Hours Special Event: for events that take place after park hours 

such as Astronomy Night, Candlelight Tours, etc. 

$5.00 per vehicle 

Grayson Highlands Fall Festival. Hungry Mother Arts and Crafts Festival $6.00 per vehicle 
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Claytor Lake Arts and Crafts Festival $5.00 per vehicle with 

canned food donation on 

designated day 

$10 per vehicle 

Kiptopeke: Eastern Shore Birding Festival Parking Fee waived to 

registered festival guests; 

otherwise standard fees 

apply 

Smith Mountain Lake: special park/launch rate for boaters participating in fishing 

tournaments if the tournament sponsor has also rented the Tournament Headquarters 

Building. 

$5.00 per vehicle/ boat 

combination 

Shenandoah River: Riverfest Event $8.00 per vehicle 

Standard Special Event Per Person Entrance Fee: Applies to all parks and events that utilize 

per person admission fees unless noted below. 

$4.00 per adult 

$3.00 per child, 6 through 

12 years 

Children under 6 free 

Sailor's Creek Battlefield: Battle of Sailor's Creek Reenactment $5.00 per person  

Children under 6 free 

$10 maximum per vehicle 

$50 per bus (16 passenger 

+) 

Chippokes Plantation Steam and Gas Engine Show $5.00 per person  

Children under 12 free 

Chippokes Plantation Christmas $5.00 per person 

Chippokes Pork, Peanut & Pine Festival $5 per person 

Children under 13 free 

Grayson Highlands Wayne C. Henderson Music Festival $10 per person 

Children under 12 free 

Natural Tunnel Special Event Parking Fee $2.00 per person 

$6.00 per vehicle 

Occoneechee Pow Wow $5.00 per person (13 

years and older) 

$3.00 per child, 3 through 

12 years 

$3.00 Seniors (62 and 

over)  

Children under 3 free 

  Occoneechee Pow Wow School Groups $4.00 per student 

Teachers and Chaperones 

free 

Notes on parking fees:  

1. Weekend rates apply on Memorial Day, Fourth of July, 

and Labor Day holidays.  

2. Except as otherwise noted, boat launching shall be free 

for up to one boat per vehicle per campsite, cabin, lodge, 

camping cabin, travel trailer, or camping lodge.  

3. Parking fees are waived for any vehicle displaying 

disabled license plates or temporary disabled parking 

identification issued by any state or the federal 

government. However, the fee for any additional types of 

trailers, the boat launch fee or the portion of any combined 

parking-launching fee that applies to boat launching shall 

be collected from such vehicles. Additionally, the price for 
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annual passes and lifetime passes that include boat 

launching for qualified disabled individuals shall be 

calculated by subtracting the applicable parking pass fee 

from the park/launch pass fee. 

4. Parking fees are waived for any vehicle occupied solely 

by students and/or teachers and/or assisting personnel 

participating in an official activity of a bona fide school, 

home school, or institution of higher learning. Parks may 

require that individuals in vehicles other than those marked 

as a school bus verify their official activity by letter from 

the school or approved field trip form, or in the case of 

home school groups, proof of home school status such as 

current ID card from a state or national home school 

organization (HEAV, HSLDA, etc.) or a copy of the letter 

from the school district that acknowledges "Notice of 

Intent" to home school for that school year.  

5. Parking fees are waived for official vehicles of federal, 

state, and local governments while on official business; 

vehicles making deliveries to the park; contractor and 

business vehicles performing work in the park; and 

emergency vehicles while conducting official business, 

including training.  

6. Parking fees are waived for park employees during time 

of employment, including family and household members 

of staff occupying staff residences, visitors to staff 

residences, and park volunteers entering the park to 

perform volunteer duties.  

7. Parking fees may be waived for vehicles conducting 

research or collecting activities provided such waiver is 

included in the language of the Research and Collection 

Permit as required in 4VAC5-30-50. 

8. The period covered by a daily parking fee shall be 

midnight to midnight. Park guests utilizing overnight 

parking when and where available (e.g., backpackers, 

overnight fishermen, etc.) will be required to pay the 

applicable daily parking fee for each calendar day that their 

vehicle is in the parking lot (partial days included).  

9. Annual permits shall be valid for 12 months from the 

date of purchase, unless otherwise noted.  

10. Parking fees are waived for visitors entering the park 

for the sole purpose of dining at the park restaurant at 

Douthat and Hungry Mother State Parks.  

11. Parking fees are waived at state parks for participants 

in Walk for Parks, Fall River Renaissance, Envirothons, 

March for Parks, Operation Spruce-Up Day, Stewardship 

Virginia, National Trails Day, and other park-sanctioned 

public service events as approved by the director.  

12. Daily parking fees are reduced to $1.00 for vehicles 

occupied by participants in fund-raising events sponsored 

by nonprofit organizations (Walk-A-Thons, etc.) provided 

the sponsor has obtained a special use permit from the park 

that contains provisions for the identification of 

participants in the event.  

13. Parking fees shall be waived for persons using park 

roads to gain legal access to their private residence and 

guests to such residences; and for vehicles passing through, 

but not stopping in, a park on a public roadway.  

14. Revenue collected from special event parking and/or 

admission fees may be divided between the park and the 

event sponsor if so designated and approved in the special 

event permit following a determination made by the 

director that the revenue split is in the benefit of the 

Commonwealth.  

15. Annual Park/Launch/Equestrian passes cover the park 

entrance or parking fee for up to two horses in the same 

horse trailer or other allowable trailers. Annual and 

Lifetime parking-only passes do not include trailers.  

16. Parking fees are waived for service vehicles such as 

tow trucks when entering the park to service a visitor 

vehicle.  

17. Parking fees are waived for visitors entering the park to 

attend a performance by a U.S. military band if this is a 

required condition for the band's performance.  

18. Parking fees are included in the rental fees for meeting 

facilities, up to the capacity of the facility and provided 

that this waiver of fee is included in the rental agreement 

for the facility.  

19. Parking fees are waived for a period of up to 15 

minutes for persons entering the park to deposit materials 

in community recycling collection containers.  

20. Parking fees are waived for vehicles occupied entirely 

by persons attending fee interpretive programs.  

21. Annual parking passes that do not include boat launch 

require payment of daily launch fee if launching a boat at 

any park or for all vehicles using Croaker Landing/Pier 

Area at York River State Park.  

22. Annual parking pass holders are not guaranteed the 

parking privileges of the pass should parking places be 

unavailable.  

23. Parking fees are waived at Mason Neck during the 

park's annual Elizabeth Hartwell Eagle Festival. 

24. The payment of a parking fee at one park shall be 

applied to parking at any state park on the same day 

provided that the visitor supplies evidence of the paid 

parking fee. 

25. Annual passes are issued to the purchaser and members 

of the same household and may not be transferred. 

Improper transfer or use may result in revocation of the 

pass without refund. 

26. Parking fees are waived at all state parks on Veterans 

Day, November 11, of each year. 
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4VAC5-36-90. Camping fees.  

CAMPING FEES (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  

Camping fees include free use of dump station and free swimming and boat launching 

for members of the camping party during their stay at the property, when and where 

available, except that at Kiptopeke State Park guest is subject to applicable launch fee 

unless the trailer is returned to the campsite immediately after launching. The number 

of campers per campsite is limited to six individuals except when all campers are 

members of the same household. 

ALL SEASONS 

(Per site fees) 

Standard Sites: No hookup; access to bathhouse and restrooms.   

  All parks with standard sites unless noted below. $20 per night 

  Bear Creek and Occoneechee Waterfront Sites. $23 $26 per night 

  Kiptopeke, First Landing, Lake Anna. $24 per night 

  Douthat. $26 per night 

Water and Electric Sites: Access to water and electric hookups; access to 

bathhouse and restrooms. 
  

  All parks where available unless noted below, including Chippokes 

Campground A. 

$27 $30 per night 

  Occoneechee Waterfront Sites and Chippokes Campground B. $30 $33 per night 

  Kiptopeke, First Landing, Lake Anna, Shenandoah. $32 $35 per night 

Water, Electric, and Sewage Sites: Access to water, electric, and sewage hookups; 

access to bathhouse and restrooms. 
  

  Kiptopeke. $37 $40 per night 

  Hungry Mother. $30 $33 per night 

Primitive Camping Sites: primitive restrooms; no showers.   

  All parks where available unless noted below. $11 per night 

  James River. $13 per night 

  Grayson Highlands: Sites with electricity (November, March and April when 

bathhouses are closed). 

$15 per night 

  Occoneechee (persons renting the entire equestrian campground will receive 

a 10% discount on the combined price for sites and stalls, including 

transaction fees). 

$15 per night 

  New River Trail Primitive camping sites at Foster Falls and Cliffview, 

Primitive Sites at Sky Meadows. 

$15 per night 

  New River Trail Water Trail Camping (no potable water). $12 per night 

Horse Camping   

  Horse Stall Fee. $7.00 per night (Outside Stalls) 

$9.00 per night (Inside Stall) 

Standard Rates   

Primitive Group Camp Rental (camping in special primitive group areas). All 

parks where available. 
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  Up to 20 campers. $61 for entire area per night 

  Up to 30 campers. $91 for entire area per night 

  31 or more campers, up to maximum capacity of group camp area. $122 for entire area per night 

  Grayson Highlands: Primitive camping is available in the stable area 

November, March, and April. 

$15 per site per night 

Special Group Camping Areas:   

  Fairy Stone Group Campsites. $20 per site per night 

  Chippokes Plantation: All 4 Sites; Group Rate; 24 persons maximum. 

Natural Tunnel Group Area. 

Grayson Highlands Group Area. 

James River Group Area. 

Shenandoah Group Area. 

Sky Meadows Group Area. 

$67 per night (only available as entire 

group area) 

  Sky Meadows 6 Site Group Area. $100 per night 

  Westmoreland Group Area. $122 per night 

  Standard Buddy Sites: All parks where available unless noted below. $78 per night 

  Douthat Buddy Sites. 

Holliday Lake Group Camp. 

$97 per night 

 Sky Meadows Buddy Sites. $35 per night 

  James River Equestrian Group Area (persons renting the entire equestrian 

campground will receive a 10% discount on the combined price for sites and 

stalls, including transaction fees). 

$216 per night 

Camping – Other Fees   

  Camping Site Transaction Fee: Applies to each purchase transaction of a 

camping visit to a campsite (i.e., one transaction fee per camping visit per 

site no matter how many nights). Applies to Internet, reservation center, and 

walk up visits.  

$5.00 

  Dog Fees (this fee does not apply to service or hearing dogs identifiable in 

accordance with § 51.5-44 of the Code of Virginia). 

$5.00 per dog per night, $15 

maximum per dog per trip 

  Dump Station Fee: Free to state park campers during stay. $5.00 per use 

  Camping Reservation Cancellation Fee Individual Site. $10 per reservation 

  Camping Reservation Cancellation Fee Group Sites. $30 per reservation 

  Hiker or noncamper Shower Fee at Virginia State Parks. $5.00 per person 

 Sky Meadows:  Wheelbarrow Rental Fee for hike-in campers $10 per wheelbarrow rented 

Notes on camping:  

1. Check-out time is 3 p.m. and check-in time is 4 p.m.  

2. Camping Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy.  

a. Any fees to be refunded are calculated less the 

applicable cancellation fee(s).  

b. Fees paid to the reservation center by credit card will 

be refunded to the original credit card charged.  

c. Fees paid by check or money order to the reservation 

center, or by any method at the park, will be refunded by 

state check.  

d. A customer may move a camping reservation to 

another date or park, referred to as a transfer, through the 

reservation center only, and prior to 4 p.m. on the 

scheduled date of arrival. If the reservation center will 

not be open again prior to the start date of the 
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reservation, transferring is not an option. There is no fee 

to transfer.  

e. A camping reservation may be canceled until 4 p.m. on 

the scheduled date of arrival but campers will be charged 

the cancellation fee. This cancellation fee applies to each 

separate reservation made.  

f. Once the 4 p.m. check-in time is reached on the 

scheduled day of arrival, any adjustment to a reservation 

is considered an early departure.  

g. After the check-in time is reached, the first night is 

considered used whether the site is occupied or not.  

h. There is a one-night penalty, deducted from any 

amount available for refund, for early departure.  

3. Campers are allowed two vehicles per campsite per day 

without charge of a parking fee. Additional vehicles, 

beyond two, must pay the prevailing parking fee in effect 

at the park for each day that the vehicle(s) is parked in the 

park. The number of vehicles allowed to park on the 

campsite varies according to site design and size of other 

camping equipment. No vehicles shall park on a campsite 

in other than the designated area for this purpose. Camper 

vehicles that do not fit on the site, whether or not they 

require the special camper vehicle fee, must park in the 

designated overflow parking area.  

4. Each member of the camping party, except in primitive 

group areas, up to the maximum allowable per site, may 

receive an entrance pass to the park's swimming facility on 

the basis of one pass per night of camping. Passes only 

issued during days and seasons of operation of the 

swimming facility and only good during the member's 

registered stay.  

5. Damage to campsites, not considered normal wear and 

tear, will be billed to the person registered for the campsite 

on an itemized cost basis.  

6. At honor collection sites, the stated camping fees on this 

list shall be considered as having tax included. Honor 

collection is defined as the payment of the camping fee on-

site at the park at a nonelectronic collection point at which 

the payment is placed in a box or safe provided for that 

purpose.  

7. Horse stalls may only be rented in conjunction with the 

rental of a campsite in the equestrian campground and a 

person must occupy the campsite. All horses brought to the 

park by overnight guests must be kept in rental stalls 

except in primitive equestrian areas at New River Trail and 

James River State Parks. 

4VAC5-36-100. Cabin fees.  

CABIN RENTALS (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  

  BASE RATE VIRGINIA RESIDENTS 

PRIME SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 
Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

  Efficiency $88 $92 $527 $553 $79 $83 $474 $498 

  One Bedroom, Standard $103 $108 $618 $649 $93 $98 $557 $585 

  One Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View $114 $120 $685 $719 $103 $108 $616 $647 

  One Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation $120 $126 $720 $756 $108 $113 $648 $680 

  Two Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless noted 

below 

$119 $125 $714 $750 $107 $112 $643 $675 

  Two Bedroom, Bear Creek Lake, James River, Occoneechee, 

Lake Anna, Shenandoah, Natural Tunnel 

$125 $131 $749 $786 $113 $119 $674 $708 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, all parks where 

available unless noted below 

$131 $138 $786 $825 $118 $124 $708 $743 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, Bear Creek Lake, 

Occoneechee, Lake Anna 

$137 $144 $823 $864 $124 $130 $741 $778 

  Two Bedroom, First Landing, Chippokes Plantation $139 $146 $831 $873 $125 $131 $747 $784 

  Three Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless 

noted below 

$135 $142 $810 $851 $122 $128 $729 $765 
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  Three Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation, Bel Air Guest House $157 $165 $943 $990 $142 $149 $849 $891 

  Three Bedroom, Claytor Lake, Bear Creek Lake, James River, 

Occoneechee, Lake Anna, Southwest Virginia Museum Poplar 

Hill Cottage, Shenandoah, Natural Tunnel, Douthat 

$156 $164 $932 $979 $140 $147 $839 $881 

  
Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) 

$176 $185 $1,052 

$1,105 

$158 $166 $947 $994 

  Fairy Stone Lodge (Fairy Stone), Creasy Lodge (Douthat), Bel 

Air Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$316 $332 $1,892 

$1,987 

$284 $298 $1,703 

$1,788 

  Douthat Lodge (Douthat), Hungry Mother Lodge (Hungry 

Mother), Potomac River Retreat (Westmoreland) 

$372 $391 $2,230 

$2,342 

$335 $352 $2,007 

$2,107 

  6-Bedroom Lodge, Kiptopeke, James River, Claytor Lake, 

Occoneechee, Bear Creek Lake, Shenandoah, Natural Tunnel, 

Douthat 

$390 $410 $2,337 

$2,454 

$351 $369 $2,104 

$2,209 

MID-SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 
Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

  Efficiency $79 $83 $474 $498 $71 $75 $427 $448 

  One Bedroom, Standard $93 $98 $557 $585 $84 $88 $501 $526 

  One Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View $103 $108 $616 $647 $93 $98 $555 $583 

  One Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation $108 $113 $648 $680 $97 $102 $583 $612 

  Two Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless noted 

below 

$107 $112 $643 $675 $97 $102 $578 $607 

  Two Bedroom, Bear Creek Lake, James River, Occoneechee, 

Lake Anna, Shenandoah, Natural Tunnel 

$113 $119 $674 $708 $101 $106 $606 $636 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, all parks where 

available unless noted below 

$118 $124 $708 $743 $106 $111 $637 $669 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, Bear Creek Lake, 

Occoneechee, Lake Anna  

$124 $130 $741 $778 $111 $117 $667 $700 

  Two Bedroom, First Landing, Chippokes Plantation $125 $131 $747 $784 $112 $118 $673 $707 

  Three Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless 

noted below 

$122 $128 $729 $765 $110 $116 $656 $689 

  Three Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation, Bel Air Guest House $122 $149 $849 $891 $128 $134 $764 $802 

  Three Bedroom, Claytor Lake, Bear Creek Lake, James River, 

Occoneechee, Lake Anna, Southwest Virginia Museum Poplar 

Hill Cottage, Shenandoah, Natural Tunnel, Douthat 

$140 $147 $839 $881 $126 $132 $755 $793 

  Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) $158 $166 $947 $994 $142 $149 $852 $895 

  Fairy Stone Lodge (Fairy Stone), Creasy Lodge (Douthat), Bel 

Air Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$284 $298 $1,703 

$1,788 

$256 $269 $1,533 

$1,610 

  Douthat Lodge (Douthat), Hungry Mother Lodge (Hungry 

Mother), Potomac River Retreat (Westmoreland) 

$335 $352 $2,007 

$2,107 

$302 $317 $1,806 

$1,896 
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  6-Bedroom Lodge, Kiptopeke, James River, Claytor Lake, 

Occoneechee, Bear Creek Lake, Shenandoah, Natural Tunnel, 

Douthat 

$351 $369 $2,104 

$2,209 

$316 $332 $1,893 

$1,988 

OFF-SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 
Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

  Efficiency $66 $69 $395 $415 $59 $62 $356 $374 

  One Bedroom, Standard $77 $81 $464 $487 $70 $74 $417 $438 

  One Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View $86 $90 $513 $539 $77 $81 $462 $485 

  One Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation $90 $95 $540 $567 $81 $85 $486 $510 

  Two Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless noted 

below 

$89 $93 $536 $563 $80 $84 $482 $506 

  Two Bedroom, Bear Creek Lake, James River, Occoneechee, 

Lake Anna, Shenandoah, Natural Tunnel 

$94 $98 $561 $589 $84 $88 $505 $530 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, all parks where 

available unless noted below 

$99 $104 $590 $620 $89 $93 $531 $558 

  Two Bedroom, Waterfront or Water View, Bear Creek Lake, 

Occoneechee, Lake Anna 

$103 $108 $617 $648 $93 $98 $556 $584 

  Two Bedroom, First Landing, Chippokes Plantation $104 $109 $623 $654 $91 $99 $561 $589 

  Three Bedroom, Standard, all parks where available unless 

noted below 

$101 $106 $607 $637 $91 $96 $546 $573 

  Three Bedroom, Chippokes Plantation, Bel Air Guest House $118 $124 $707 $742 $106 $111 $636 $668 

  Three Bedroom, Claytor Lake, Bear Creek Lake, James River, 

Occoneechee, Lake Anna, Southwest Virginia Museum Poplar 

Hill Cottage, Shenandoah, Natural Tunnel, Douthat 

$117 $123 $699 $734 $105 $110 $629 $660 

  Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) $132 $139 $789 $828 $119 $125 $710 $746 

  Fairy Stone Lodge (Fairy Stone), Creasy Lodge (Douthat), Bel 

Air Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$237 $249 $1,419 

$1,490 

$213 $224 $1,277 

$1,341 

  Douthat Lodge (Douthat), Hungry Mother Lodge (Hungry 

Mother), Potomac River Retreat (Westmoreland) 

$279 $293 $1,673 

$1,757 

$251 $264 $1,505 

$1,580 

  6-Bedroom Lodge, Kiptopeke, James River, Claytor Lake, 

Occoneechee, Bear Creek Lake, Shenandoah, Natural Tunnel, 

Douthat 

$293 $308 $1,753 

$1,841 

$263 $276 $1,578 

$1,657 

CAMPING CABINS, CAMPING LODGES, YURTS, AND 

TRAVEL TRAILERS (camping cabins, camping lodges, yurts, and 

travel trailers located in campgrounds and operated in conjunction 

with the campground) 

Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

Per-Night 

Rental Fee 

Per-Week 

Rental Fee 

Camping Cabin rental rate: (2-night minimum rental required) $51 NA $47 NA 

  Yurt rental: Standard fee $103 $113 $618 $680 $92 $101 $555 $611 

  Travel Trailers: 25-30' Standard fee $103 $113 $618 $680 $92 $101 $555 $611 

  Camping Lodges: Standard fee $103 $618 $92 $555 
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Additional Cabin Fees: 

  Cabin Transaction Fee: Applies to each purchase transaction of 

a visit to a cabin (i.e., one transaction fee per cabin visit per site 

no matter how many nights). Applies to Internet, reservation 

center, and walk up visits. 

$5.00 

  Additional Bed Rentals $3.00 per rental night 

  Additional linens at all parks unless otherwise noted. One set of 

linens is 1 sheet set (1 fitted sheet, 1 flat sheet, and 1 

pillowcase) or 1 towel set (1 bath towel, 1 hand towel, and 1 

washcloth or 2 bath towels and 1 washcloth) 

$2.00 per sheet set 

$2.00 per towel set 

  Cabin Cancellation Fee: Applies to all lodging in this section 

except as described below in "Lodge Cancellation Fee" 

$20 per cancellation period: See notes on Cabin 

Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy. 

  Lodge Cancellation Fee: Applies to Fairy Stone Lodge, Douthat 

Lodge, Hungry Mother Lodge, Potomac River Retreat, and all 

6-bedroom park lodges 

$50 per cancellation period: See notes on Cabin 

Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy 

  Pet Fee (this fee does not apply to service or hearing dogs 

identifiable in accordance with § 51.5-44 of the Code of 

Virginia). 

$10 per pet per night 

Pocahontas Group Cabins DAY WEEK 

  Algonquian Ecology Camp Dining Hall: 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. for 

day use, 24-hour use when rented with cabins 

$236 $1,181 

  Swift Creek Dining Hall: 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. for day use, 24-hour 

use when rented with cabins 

$275 $1,375 

  Dining Hall: fee for partial day rental when associated with full 

day rental as noted above 

$140 NA 

Cabin Units: per unit, per night  $112 $560 

  Complete Algonquian Ecology Camp (4 units: 112 capacity) 

with Dining Hall 

$460 $2,300 

  Complete Swift Creek Camp (2 units: 56 capacity) with Dining 

Hall 

$375 $1,875 

Refundable security deposit charged for all reservations $100 per reservation 

Notes on Pocahontas Group Cabins:  

Pocahontas Group Cabins: Reservations of $200 or more require a 25% prepayment, due within 14 days of making the 

reservation. Balance of fees is due 60 days prior to the reservation start date. Reservations of less than $200 require payment 

in full to confirm the reservation, due within 14 days of making the reservation. Cancellations made 30 days or more prior to 

the first day of the reservation shall receive a refund less a $30 per unit cancellation fee. Cancellations made less than 30 

days prior to the first date of the reservation receive no refund unless the units are subsequently rented, in which case the 

refund shall be full price minus $30 per unit.  

Notes on cabins and lodges:  

1. Seasonal cabin and lodge rates shall be in effect according to the following schedule, except for camping cabins, camping 

lodges, yurts, and travel trailers, which operate on the same schedule and season as the campground at that particular park. In 

the event that a weekly rental period includes two seasonal rates, the higher rate will apply for the entire weekly rental 

period.  
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PARK PRIME SEASON MID-SEASON OFF-SEASON 

Bear Creek Lake  

Belle Isle 

Chippokes Plantation 

First Landing 

Kiptopeke  

Lake Anna  

Occoneechee  

Southwest Virginia Museum 

Staunton River 

Twin Lakes 

Westmoreland 

Friday night prior to 

Memorial Day 

through the Sunday 

night prior to Labor 

Day 

April 1 through the 

Thursday night prior 

to Memorial Day, 

and Labor Day 

through November 

30 

December 1 through March 31 

Claytor Lake 

Douthat 

Fairy Stone 

Hungry Mother 

James River  

Smith Mountain Lake 

Shenandoah 

Natural Tunnel 

Friday night prior to 

Memorial Day 

through the Sunday 

night prior to Labor 

Day, and October 1 

through October 31 

April 1 through the 

Thursday night prior 

to Memorial Day, 

and Labor Day 

through September 

30, and November 1 

through November 

30 

December 1 through March 31 

2. All dates refer to the night of the stay; checkout time is 

10 a.m. and check-in time is 3 p.m.  

3. The following holiday periods are charged prime season 

weekend rates: the Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and 

Saturday period that includes Thanksgiving Day; and 

Christmas Eve and Christmas Day; and New Year's Eve 

and New Year's Day.  

4. Cabins and lodges require a two-night minimum stay. 

5. Cabin guests are allowed two vehicles for a one or two 

bedroom cabin, and three vehicles for a three bedroom 

cabin per day without charge of parking fee. Additional 

vehicles must pay the prevailing parking fee for each day 

that the vehicle is parked in the park. The number of 

vehicles allowed to park at the cabin varies according to 

site design and other factors. All vehicles must park in 

designated parking areas, either at the cabin or in the 

designated overflow parking area.  

6. Six-bedroom lodge guests are allowed six vehicles per 

lodge per day without charge of parking fee. Additional 

vehicles must pay the prevailing vehicle parking fee for 

each day the vehicle is parked in the park. The number of 

vehicles allowed to park at the lodge varies according to 

site design and other factors. All vehicles must park in 

designated parking areas, either at the lodge or in the 

designated overflow parking area.  

7. Damage to cabins and other rental units under this 

section, not considered normal wear and tear, may be 

billed to the person registered for the cabin or rental unit 

on an itemized cost basis.  

8. Each member of the rental party, up to the maximum 

allowable for the rented unit, may receive an entrance pass 

to the park's swimming facility on the basis of one pass per 

night of rental. Passes are only issued during days and 

seasons of operation of the swimming facility and are only 

good during the member's registered stay.  

9. Employees of DCR and the members of committees and 

boards of DCR shall receive a discount of 50% on 

applicable cabin or lodge rates for any season, when the 

rental of such cabins or lodge is in connection with the 

official business of DCR or its committees or boards.  

Notes on cabin or lodge transfer/cancellation/early departure 

policy:  

1. Any fees to be refunded are calculated less the 

applicable cancellation fees listed below.  

2. Fees paid to the reservation center by credit card will be 

refunded to the original credit card charged.  

3. Fees paid by check or money order to the reservation 

center, or by any method at the park, will be refunded by 

state check.  

4. A customer may move a cabin or lodge reservation to 

another date or park, referred to as a transfer, through the 

reservation center only, and prior to 5 p.m. on the Monday 

before the scheduled date of arrival. After 5 p.m. on the 

Monday before the scheduled date of arrival, cancellation 

is the only option (see note 5 below) except that transfers 

to a different cabin or lodge for the same rental nights shall 

be allowed, subject to availability, up to the check in time 

for the original reservation. 

5. Once the reservation is paid for, a customer may cancel 

in full with payment of the required cancellation fee if 

there are more than 30 days before the scheduled arrival 

date. As long as the reservation is not during the one-week 

minimum stay requirement period, the length of stay may 

be reduced without a fee as long as there are more than 30 
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days before the scheduled arrival. However, the length of 

stay cannot be less than two nights. During the 30 days 

prior to the scheduled arrival date, the cancellation fee is 

charged for each night cancelled or reduced from the stay. 

Once the official check-in time on the scheduled arrival 

date is reached, the cancellation policy is no longer in 

effect and the early departure policy applies.  

6. Once the 3 p.m. check-in time is reached on the 

scheduled day of arrival, any adjustment to a reservation is 

considered an early departure. There is a two night 

minimum charge associated with all cabin, lodge, camping 

cabin, travel trailer, and camping lodge stays. Reducing the 

total nights stayed will incur a $20 per night fee. If the 

original reservation was for a week, the weekly discount 

will no longer be valid and the fee will be adjusted to the 

nightly rate before any refunds are calculated.  

4VAC5-36-110. Picnic shelters and event tents fees.  

PICNIC SHELTERS AND EVENT TENTS (TAXABLE) 

The shelter rental periods shall be from park opening until park closing, unless otherwise 

specified. 

DAY 

Standard Small Picnic Shelter Rental Fee: Bear Creek Lake, Belle Isle, Caledon, Chippokes 

Plantation, Claytor Lake, Douthat, Holliday Lake, Hungry Mother (half shelter), Lake Anna, 

Natural Tunnel, New River Trail, Occoneechee, Pocahontas, Sky Meadows, Smith Mountain 

Lake, Twin Lakes, Westmoreland, York River, and all other small park picnic shelters. 

$60 

Standard Large Picnic Shelter Rental Fee: Belle Isle, Chippokes Plantation, Claytor Lake, 

Douthat Fairy Stone, First Landing, Grayson Highlands, Hungry Mother (full shelter), James 

River, Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, Natural Tunnel, Occoneechee, Pocahontas, Powhatan, Shenandoah, 

Sky Meadows, Smith Mountain Lake (Pavilion), Staunton River, Staunton River Battlefield, Twin 

Lakes, Westmoreland, York River, and all other large park picnic shelters. 

$90 

Sky Meadows: Covered Group Picnic Area Shelter Rental (up to 60 people) $130 

Sky Meadows: Group Picnic Pad (up to 60 people) $64 

Leesylvania Shelter, Shenandoah Large Group Shelter Rental $130 

Leesylvania: Lee's Landing Picnic Area Rental $64 

Leesylvania: Lee's Landing Picnic Shelter $400 

  With 15 tables and 100 chairs $820 

Mason Neck Picnic Area Rental 

  Without Area rental without tent shelter $64 

 
Area activity fee (for use of picnic area for "special use" without tent shelter that requires 

special set-up or clean-up). 

$35 

  With Area rental with tent shelter (seasonably available) $130 

Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter (with kitchen) $315 per function 

Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter kitchen cleaning fee (only applicable is kitchen is used 

and not cleaned in accordance with rental agreement) 

$150 per function 

Mini-Shelter: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $21 

Event Tent Rental: Full day in-park rental only. Price includes set up and take down. 

  Standard fee: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $0.45 per square foot 

  Chippokes Plantation, Douthat, Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, Pocahontas, Shenandoah River, Smith 

Mountain Lake, York River. 

$0.55 per square foot 
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  False Cape, First Landing, Leesylvania, Mason Neck. $0.60 per square foot 

  Standard 10' x 10' event tent $25 per day 

  Westmoreland, Caledon Natural Area: 20' x 40' tent with tables and chairs $400 per day 

  Wilderness Road: 20' x 40' $350 per day 

  White String Lights for Tent $0.80 per foot 

  Side Panels for Tent $1.50 per foot 

Standard Shelter Cancellation Fee: Cancellation fee deducted from refund if refund is made more 

than 14 days prior to the reservation date. No refunds if cancellation made within 14 days prior to 

date. Shelter reservation may be transferred without penalty if the change is made through the 

reservations center prior to scheduled use. 

$10 

4VAC5-36-120. Amphitheater and gazebo fees.  

AMPHITHEATERS AND GAZEBOS (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  

Amphitheater or Gazebo Rental Fee: The amphitheater or gazebo rental periods shall be from 

park opening until park closing unless otherwise specified. 
DAY 

  Leesylvania, Fairy Stone, Staunton River, Kiptopeke and all other amphitheaters and 

gazebos unless noted below. 

$32 

  Hungry Mother, Occoneechee, Westmoreland, New River Trail $53 

  Smith Mountain Lake, Natural Tunnel (gazebo at Cove Ridge), James River $74 

  Claytor Lake (gazebo) $84 

  First Landing (gazebo at Chesapeake Bay Center): rental period is three hours $84 per 3 hours 

  York River and Douthat Amphitheater. $105 

  Shenandoah Overlook Rental $16 per half-day 

$32 per full day 

  Natural Tunnel and First Landing Amphitheaters: Private group or company rate $315 

  Natural Tunnel and First Landing Amphitheaters: Educational group. $158 

  Natural Tunnel Amphitheater Wedding Package: Three consecutive half-day rental 

periods. 

$420 per package 

  First Landing: Courtyard at Chesapeake Bay Center; includes amphitheater and gazebo. $788 

  First Landing: Additional hourly charge for hours beyond 10 p.m. for gazebo. $11 per hour 

  First Landing: Additional hourly charge for hours beyond 10 p.m. for Courtyard. $53 per hour 

  Fishing Tournament Staging. All parks where available. $26 

  Pocahontas Amphitheater Area: Without Heritage Center. Includes Amphitheater, Exhibit 

Area, Restrooms and use of sound system. 

$630 

  Pocahontas Amphitheater Area Plus Heritage Center $840  

  Parking Attendant (per attendant). $11 $12 per hour 

  Law Enforcement Officer (per officer). $26 $28 per hour 
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  Natural Tunnel: Rental of Observation Deck at mouth of tunnel for dinner parties. 

Includes use of chairlift for transportation of guests and supplies and set-up/take-down of 

tables and chairs. 

$300 per 4 hours 

  Natural Tunnel Amphitheater Concession Building $42 

  Natural Tunnel: Sound System Rental $32 

Standard Amphitheater/Gazebo Cancellation Fee: Cancellation fee deducted from refund if refund 

is made more than 14 days prior to the reservation date. No refunds if cancellation made within 

fourteen 14 days prior to date. 

$11 

  All parks unless listed below. $11 

  Pocahontas Amphitheater or First Landing Courtyard $105 

4VAC5-36-130. Boat storage fees.  

BOAT STORAGE (TAXABLE, Price here does not include tax)  

Boat Storage Fees FEE 

Standard Annual Boat Storage Fee: Bear Creek Lake, Douthat, Hungry Mother, and all other 

parks where available unless noted below. 

$35 

Marine Pump-Out Fee (all parks where available) $5.00 per usage 

Leesylvania Boat Storage Fees: Annual Fee (Dec. 1 – Nov. 30). Fee prorated for partial year on a 

months-remaining basis. Fee includes one park/launch pass per storage rental space to coincide 

with the rental period. 

  

  Boat Length Up To 16' $755 

  Boat Length Up To 17' $800 

  Boat Length Up To 18' $850 

  Boat Length Up To 19' $895 

  Boat Length Up To 20' $945 

  Boat Length Up To 21' $990 

  Boat Length Up To 22' $1,035 

  Boat Length Up To 23' $1,085 

  Boat Length Up To 24' $1,155 

  Boat Length Up To 25' $1,210 

Leesylvania Canoe/Kayak Storage: Renter must possess an annual parking pass $10 per month 

Staunton River Boat Shed Fees: Does not include parking or launching fee, if applicable   

  Nightly Storage $4.00 

  Monthly Storage $15 

  Six-Month Storage $70 

  One-year boat storage $120 without annual 

park/launch pass 

$150 with Buggs 

Island Special pass 
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Claytor Lake: Boat Dock Slips: FEE PER RENTAL SEASON 

FEE PER RENTAL 

NIGHT 

  7' wide and under $468 $11 

  9' wide and under $715 $22 

  14' wide and under $908 $22 

  Extended length slips $770  NA 

Occoneechee: 

FEE PER ANNUAL 

RENTAL PERIOD 

FEE PER 

MONTH 

FEE PER RENTAL 

NIGHT (Transient) 

 20' with water - 20 amp hookup $1,200 $120 $36 $18 

 30' with water - 20 amp hookup $1,600 $160 NA 

 30' with water - 20 amp and 30 amp hookups $1,750 $175 NA 

Notes on Occoneechee marina fees/Claytor Lake board dock slips: 

1. All rentals for more than a three-month period shall be made by signing an annual rental agreement. 

2. 1. The annual rental period shall be March 1 through November 1 at Claytor Lake State Park and through the last day of 

February in the following year in Occoneechee State Park. All annual rental agreements, no matter when initiated, will end 

on the last day of an annual period (not 12 months from the time rental).  

3. 2. Any annual rental agreement entered into or renewed for a period that includes March 1 through June 30 shall be made 

at 100% of the annual rental fee. 

4. Any annual rental agreement made for a period that includes July 1 through the end of the annual rental period shall 

receive a 40% discount off of the current annual rate. 

5. At the park manager's discretion, and subject to availability, boat slips not covered by an annual rental agreement may be 

rented on a monthly basis, not to exceed three months to the same renter or boat, at a monthly rate of 20% of the annual 

rental fee. 

6. 3. The cancellation fee for an annual slip rental is three months rental.  Also, after the first of the month, that month is 

considered to be "used." 

4VAC5-36-150. Interpretive and educational tours and program fees.  

INTERPRETIVE AND EDUCATIONAL TOURS AND PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE)  

Interpretive and Educational Tours and Programs 

PARK PROGRAM FEE 

All parks unless 

otherwise noted: 

Standard Interpretive Program or Tour: such 

as typical staff led nature hikes or campfire 

programs. 

Free 

Fee-based Interpretive Program or Tour: (Fee 

only applies to programs or tours that have 

unusual costs or require special equipment, 

personnel, marketing, or other special 

arrangements). 

$2.00 per person 

$6.00 per family 

Fee-based Night Hike or Evening Program or 

Evening Tour: (Fee only applies to programs 

or tours that have unusual costs or require 

special equipment, personnel, marketing, or 

other special arrangements). 

$3.00 per person 

$8.00 per family 
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Standard Workshop Fee $5.00 per child (Age 12 and under) 

$15 per adult (Age 13 and over) 

Standard Wagon Ride Program $3.00 per person 

$8.00 per family 

$25 exclusive group 

Extended or Special Event Wagon Ride 

Program 

$4.00 per person 

$10 per family 

$75 exclusive group booking 

Park Outreach Program: Price per park staff 

member conducting program 

$10 for under 2 hours 

$25 for 2 to 3 hours 

$50 for 4 hours plus 

Standard Junior Ranger Program: 4-day 

program. All parks unless noted below. 

$10 full program 

$3.00 per day 

Haunted Hike $1.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Geo Caching or Orienteering Interpretive 

Program. 

$3.00 per person 

$8.00 per family 

$25 per group 

Nature-Themed Birthday Party: Includes a 

nature talk, hike, games, songs, and time in 

the Nature Center for gifts and cakes. At least 

one staff member is present to conduct 

activities. 

$96 per hour plus materials cost for 12 children 

$8.00 per additional child 

Standard Women's Wellness Weekend 

Program 

$149 per person 

Grayson Highlands Junior Ranger Program $5.00 per person per day 

Hayrides $2.00 per child 

$3.00 per adult 

Adventure Rangers Interpretive Program $10 per person per day 

Make a Birdhouse Program $5.00 per person 

Make Your Own Hiking Stick Program $3.00 per person 

2-Day Photography Class $35 per person 

Twin Lakes Haunted Hike $3.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$5.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Occoneechee, 

Caledon, Sky 

Meadows 

Individual interpretive program pass: (Allows 

admission for one person to 4 interpretive 

programs valued at $3.00 or less) 

$6.00 per pass 

Family interpretive program pass: (Allows 

admission for members of the same family to 

4 interpretive programs valued at $8.00 or 

less) 

$18 per pass 
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Pocahontas Nature Camps $100 per child per program plus materials cost 

$30 per child plus materials cost for Jr. 

Assistant. The Jr. Assistant helps the park staff 

in conducting camp programs. 

Curious Kids $3.00 per program 

Nature and Discovery Programs 

(School/Groups Outreach) 

$4.00 per child 

$80 minimum 

$15 additional if program is outside of 

Chesterfield County 

Sky Meadows Interpretive Program Series: 6-program series $15 per person per program 

$45 per person per 4 programs 

$60 per person per 6 programs 

Nature and Discovery Programs 

(School/Groups Outreach) 

$2.00 per child 

$50 minimum 

$15 additional if program is outside of the 

following counties: Fauquier, Frederick, Clark, 

and Loudoun 

Junior Ranger Outdoor Adventure Camp $100 per child per program plus materials cost 

$30 per child plus materials cost for Jr. 

Assistant. The Jr. Assistant helps the park staff 

in conducting camp programs. 

Smith Mountain Lake Nature and Discovery Programs 

(School/Groups Outreach) 

$10 per school visit 

Southwest Virginia 

Museum 

How Our Ancestors Lived  $5.00 per person  

Special Themed Interpretive Program $10 per person 

Music or Literary Event $5.00 per person 

Workshop (Adult) $10 per person 

Workshop (Children) $5.00 per person 

Nature and Discovery Programs 

(School/Groups Outreach) 

$25 for under 2 hours 

$50 from 2 hours to under 4 hours 

$75 for 4 or more hours 

Guided Tour or Activity School Groups: $1.50 per person 

Public Groups: $2.50 per person 

Step-On Tour Guide Service $7.00 per person 

Caledon Caledon Eagle Tours $6.00 per person 

$50 Flat Rate (minimum: 10; maximum: 20) 

All Group Programs up to 2 hours long $5.00 per person 

Haunted Hay Ride $5.00 per person (age 7 and over) 

Children under 7 free 

Special Program Bus Fee: Programs involving 

transportation within the natural area. 

$3.00 per person 

Workshop (Adult) $15 per person 
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Workshop (Children) $5.00 per person 

Natural Tunnel: Cove 

Ridge 

Guided Programs $25 per program (Maximum 30 participants) 

$25 facility fee (If applicable) 

Environmental Education (Children's 

Activities) 

$25 per program (Maximum 30 participants) 

$25 facility fee (If applicable) 

Environmental Education (Adult Facilitation) $15 per person 

Hungry Mother/ 

Hemlock Haven 

Junior Naturalist Program $4.00 per person per week 

$12 unlimited participation in interpretive 

season 

Kiptopeke Birding Program (Group Rates) $35 (Corporate) 

$25 (Nonprofit) 

York River Guided Adventure Programs $4.00 per person 

$40 per group (Minimum 12 persons) 

Westmoreland Guided Program Fee $25 per person 

Natural Tunnel Junior Ranger Program (Includes T-Shirt) $35 per person 

Wagon Ride Program $50 Exclusive Education Group Booking 

Hay Wagon and Hot Dog Roast $10 per person 

Bike Tours - 2 hours $10 per person 

Extended Bike Tours - 4 hours $15 per person 

Canoe and Bike Tour - 4 hours $20 per person 

Halloween Haunted House/Hay Wagon Ride $3.00 (Age 3 through 12) 

$5.00 (Age 13 and over) 

Mason Neck Junior Ranger Program $50 per person 

Holliday Lake Field Archaeology Workshop $25 per person 

Junior Ranger Program (3 half-day workshop) 

(Ages 6 to 13) 

$25 per child 

False Cape Wildlife Watch Tour – Per Person $8.00 per person 

Wilderness Survival Weekend (2-night stay) $200 per person 

Wilderness Survival Weekend (1-night stay) $100 per person 

Wilderness Survival Program $16 

Astronomy Program $16 per person 

Wild Women Weekend $200 per person 

Summer Survival $120 per person 

Blue Berry Blues $20 per person 

Staunton River Interpretive Craft $2.00 per person 
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First Landing Junior Ranger Program 

3 Hour Program 

6 Hour Program 

 

$25 per person 

$50 per person 

Bear Creek Lake Junior Ranger Program $20 per person 

Leesylvania Junior Ranger Program $50 per person 

Halloween Haunted Hike $2.00 per person 

$6.00 per group (4 person maximum) 

Interpretive Programs $2.00 per person 

Kids Fishing Tournament $2.00 per child 

Natural Tunnel Pannel Cave Tour $10 per person 

$7.00 per person (Family-Group; 8-person 

minimum) 

Bolling Cave Tours $15 per person 

$12 per person (Family-Group; 10-person 

minimum) 

Stock Creek Tunnel Tour/Snorkeling on the 

Clinch 

$5.00 per person 

New River Trail New River Trail Seniors Van Tour Full Day $25 per person 

New River Trail Seniors Van Tour Half Day $15 per person 

Bertha Cave Tour $10 per person 

James River Haunted Wagon Ride $5.00 per person (Age 7 and over) 

Children 6 and under free 

Interpretive Archery Program $5.00 per person 

Belle Isle Triple Treat Program: 

Hayride/Canoe/Campfire 

$10 per person 

Junior Ranger 3-day program $5.00 per class 

Bike Tour: visitors can supply their own bike 

or rent separately 

$2.00 per person 

$6.00 per family 

Notes on interpretive and educational tours and programs:  

Additional costs for supplies and materials may apply.  

4VAC5-36-200. Miscellaneous rental fees.  

RENTALS (TAXABLE; Price here does not include tax)  

Bike Rentals (includes helmet) FEE 

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted  $3.00 per hour 

$8.00 per half-day 

$15 per full-day 

  New River Trail, James River, Mason Neck $5.00 per hour 

$12 per half-day 

$18 per day 

  First Landing $5.00 per hour 

$16 per day 
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Bike Helmet without bike rental $1.00 

Child Cart for bike $5.00 

Personal Bike Repair Services $25 basic tune-up 

$60 standard tune-up 

$13.50 flat repairs 

$10 minor adjustments 

Boat Rentals   

Standard Paddle Boat Rental:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted  $4.00 per half-hour 

$6.00 per hour 

  Fairy Stone, Westmoreland, Hungry Mother  $5.00 per half-hour 

$8.00 per hour 

  Smith Mountain Lake $25 per half-hour 

$35 per one hour 

 Westmoreland $7.00 per half-hour 

$12 per hour 

Standard Canoe Rental:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $8.00 per hour 

$15 per half-day 

$25 per full-day 

$40 for 24 hours 

$100 per week 

  Smith Mountain Lake $8.00 per half-hour 

$12 per one hour 

$60 for 24 hours 

$30 additional for each day after first day 

  Claytor Lake $12 per hour 

$35 per half-day 

$50 per day 

  Leesylvania, Mason Neck $7.00 per half-hour 

$12 per hour 

$35 per half-day 

$50 per day 

  James River $10 per hour (does not include shuttle) 

$40 per day (does not include shuttle) 

$120 per week (does not include shuttle) 

Standard Float Trips:   

  James River   

    Bent Creek to Canoe Landing:   

    Canoe $45 Max 3 people 

    Single Kayak $35 per kayak 

    Canoe Landing to Dixon Landing:   
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    Tubes $12 per tube 

    Group of four or more $10 per tube 

    Canoe $15 per canoe 

    Single Kayak $15 per kayak 

    Bent Creek to Dixon Landing:   

    Canoe $50 per canoe 

    Single Kayak $40 per kayak 

    Shuttle Service Only:   

    Canoe Landing to Dixon Landing, canoe or single kayak, 

scheduled or unscheduled 

$2.00 per person 

$5.00 per canoe/kayak 

    Bent Creek Shuttle (Scheduled) $5.00 per boat (canoe/kayak) 

$5.00 per person 

    Bent Creek Shuttle (Unscheduled) $15 per boat (canoe/kayak) 

$15 per person 

    Tubes $5.00 per person/Bent Creek Shuttle 

$2.00 between landings in park 

    Late Rental Fee $15 per half hour past return time 

  New River Trail $7.00 per hour 

$20 per half-day 

$30 per day 

$35 per half-day, includes canoe rental and 

shuttle 

$50 per full day, includes canoe rental and 

shuttle 

  Canoe Rental (includes shuttle)   

    Trip A: Austinville to Foster Falls $35 per canoe 

    Trip B: Ivanhoe to Austinville $50 per canoe 

    Trip C: Ivanhoe to Foster Falls $55 per canoe 

    Trip D: Foster Falls to Allisonia $55 per canoe 

  Kayak Rental (includes shuttle)   

    Trip A: Austinville to Foster Falls $25 per kayak 

    Trip B: Ivanhoe to Foster Falls $40 per kayak 

    Trip C: Foster Falls to Allisonia $45 per kayak 

Standard Rowboat Rental, without motor:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted $6.00 per hour 

$12 per half-day 

$22 per full-day 

$36 per 24 hours 

$80 per week 
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  Hungry Mother: Rowboats $4.00 per hour 

$15 per day 

$40 per week 

  New River Trail: Rafts and flat-bottom boats $7.00 per hour 

$20 per half-day 

$30 per day 

Standard Rowboat Rental with electric motor and battery: All parks 

where available unless otherwise noted 

$10 per hour 

$20 per 4 hours 

$36 per day 

$100 per 4 days 

$150 per week 

  Hungry Mother: Standard Rowboat Rental with electric motor 

and battery 

$12 per hour 

$24 per 4 hours 

$45 per day 

$75 per 24 hours (limited to overnight guests) 

Standard Motorboat Rental, 16-foot console steering, 25-45 horsepower 

outboard. All parks where available. 

$18 per hour 

$90 per day 

Standard Fishing Boat Rental with gasoline motor and one tank of fuel: 

All parks where available. 

$10 per hour (2-hour minimum) 

$50 per day 

Pedal Craft Rental: (Hydro-Bike, Surf-Bike, etc.) All parks where 

available unless otherwise noted. 

  

  One person. $8.00 per hour 

  Two person. $10 per hour 

  Hungry Mother: Hydro Bike $5.25 per half hour 

$8.00 per hour 

  Smith Mountain Lake: Hydro Bike  $8.00 per half hour 

$12 per hour 

$4.00 additional per hour after first hour 

$60 per 24 hours 

$30 additional per day after first day 

  Barracuda Boat. All parks where available $10 per hour 

Solo Kayak Rental:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted  $8.00 per hour 

$20 per half-day 

$30 per day 

$40 for 24 hours 

$100 per week 

  Westmoreland $9.00 $12 per hour 

$17 per half-day 

$30 per day 

  Smith Mountain Lake $8.00 per half hour 

$12 per hour 

$60 per 24 hours 

$30 additional per day after first day 
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  Mason Neck $6.00 per half-hour 

$10 per hour 

$35 per half-day 

$50 per day 

  James River $7.00 per hour (does not include shuttle) 

$20 per day (does not include shuttle) 

$80 per week (does not include shuttle) 

$12 per half hour past return time 

  Claytor Lake $10 per hour 

$25 per half-day 

$40 per day 

Tandem Kayak Rental:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $10 per hour 

$20 per half-day 

$30 per full-day 

$45 for 24 hours 

$120 per week 

  Westmoreland $12 $15 per hour 

$22 per half-day 

$36 per day 

  Smith Mountain Lake $10 per half-hour 

$15 per hour 

$80 for 24 hours 

$30 additional for each day after first day 

  Mason Neck $8.00 per half-hour 

$15 per hour 

$45 per 4 hours 

$60 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake: 14-foot fishing boat with 5 hp (3 person 

capacity). Rental does not include fuel and oil. Damage deposit of $200 

required. 

$50 for 3 hours 

$10 additional per hour after first 3 hours 

$150 for 24 hours 

$30 additional per day after first day 

Claytor Lake: 16-foot Bass Tracker with 60 hp motor. Damage deposit 

of 50% required. 

$30 per hour 

$75 per half-day 

$115 per day 

Claytor Lake: 20-foot pontoon boat with 90 hp motor. Damage deposit 

of 50% required. 

$45 per hour 

$120 per half-day 

$185 per day 

Claytor Lake: 21-foot pontoon boat (10 person capacity) with 75 hp 

motor and tow hook.  Damage deposit of 50% required.  

$45 per hour 

$125 per half-day 

$195 per day 

Claytor Lake: 24-foot pontoon boat with 75 hp motor. Damage deposit 

of 50% required. 

$50 per hour 

$140 per half-day 

$210 per day 

Claytor Lake: 24-foot pontoon boat with 115 hp motor. Damage deposit 

of 50% required.  

$55 per hour 

$150 per half-day 

$225 per day 
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Claytor Lake: 30-foot pontoon boat with 115 hp motor. Damage deposit 

of 50% required. 

$60 per hour 

$165 per half-day 

$250 per day 

Claytor Lake: 18-foot bowrider with 190 hp motor. Damage deposit of 

50% required. 

$50 per hour 

$135 per half-day 

$205 per day 

Claytor Lake: 19-foot bowrider with 220 hp motor, Damage deposit of 

50% required. 

$55 per hour 

$150 per half-day 

$225 per day 

Occoneechee: 17-1/2-foot fishing boat. Rental includes 30 gallons of 

fuel. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$85 per hour 

$20 additional per hour after first hour 

$175 per 8 hours 

$875 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 20-foot pontoon boat with motor (8 person capacity) 

Rental includes 30 gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$85 per hour 

$20 additional per hour after first hour 

$175 per 8 hours 

$875 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 22-foot pontoon boat with motor (10 person capacity) 

Rental includes 30 gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$95 per hour 

$20 additional per hour after first hour 

$185 per 8 hours 

$925 per 7 day week 

Occoneechee: 25-foot pontoon boat with motor (14 person capacity) 

Rental includes 30 gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$110 per hour 

$25 additional per hour after first hour 

$230 per 8 hours 

$1,150 per 7 day week 

Smith Mountain Lake: 18-20-foot Runabout with 190 hp (8 person 

capacity). Rental does not include fuel and oil. Damage deposit of $200 

required. 

$165 for 3 hours 

$20 additional per hour after first 3 hours 

$255 per 8 hours 

$320 for 24 hours 

$100 additional per day after first day 

Claytor Lake: Jet Ski/Personal Watercraft  $50 per hour 

$140 per 4 hours 

$210 per 8 hours 

Smith Mountain Lake: 24-foot pontoon boat with 40 hp (10-12 person 

capacity). Damage deposit of $200 required. 

$90 for 3 hours 

$20 additional per hour after first 3 hours 

$165 per 8 hours 

$215 for 24 hours 

$80 additional each day after first day 

Smith Mountain Lake: Personal Watercraft (Waverunner 700). Rental 

does not include fuel and oil. Damage deposit of $500 required. 

$180 for 3 hours 

$20 additional per hour after first 3 hours 

$270 per 8 hours 

$335 for 24 hours 

$130 additional per day after first day 

Belle Isle: Motorboat less than 25 horsepower (3 gallons of fuel 

included, 2 hour minimum) 

$15 per hour 

$60 per half-day 

$100 per day 
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Belle Isle: Motorboat 25-49 horsepower (11 gallons of fuel included, 2 

hour minimum) 

$22 per hour 

$70 per half-day 

$110 per day 

Standard Damage/Replacement Fees: All parks where available unless 

otherwise noted. Not required for damage due to normal wear and tear. 

  

  Paddle $20 

  Anchor/Rope $40 

  Fuel Tank/Hose $60 

  Fire Extinguisher $25 

  Throw Cushion $10 

  Propeller (small) $100 

  Propeller (large) $135 

  Personal Flotation Device (PFD): replacement fee for 

lost/damaged PFD 

$25 each 

Other Rentals:   

Personal Flotation Device (PFD): When separate from boat rental. $1.00 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake, James River: Personal Floatation Device, type II. $5.00 for first day 

$1.00 additional days 

Smith Mountain Lake: Personal Floatation Device, type III $7.00 for first day 

$2.00 additional days 

Canoe/Kayak Paddles: All parks where available unless otherwise 

noted. 

$5.00 per day 

New River Trail: Float Tubes $5.00 per hour 

$12 per half-day 

$18 per day 

James River:   

  Cooler Tubes $3.00 per day 

  Tubes $8.00 per hour (does not include shuttle) 

$20 per day (does not include shuttle) 

$12 per half hour past return time 

Claytor Lake: 2-person tow tube and towrope (with rental of boat only) $20 per 2 hours 

$25 per half-day 

$30 per day 

Claytor Lake: Water skis and towrope (with rental of boat only) $20 per 2 hours 

$25 per half-day 

$30 per day 

Claytor Lake: Kneeboard and towrope (with rental of boat only) $15 per 2 hours 

$20 per half-day 

$25 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake: Tow tube; Water Skis; Knee Board $15 per day with boat rental 

$5.00 per additional day 

$25 per day without boat rental 
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Smith Mountain Lake: Wake Board $25 per day with boat rental 

$10 per additional day 

$30 per day without boat rental 

Mobile Pig Cooker: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $40 per day 

GPS Units $6.00 per unit per half-day 

$10 per unit per day 

Volleyball Net and Ball Rental: All parks where available. $10 

Binocular Rentals (2 hours): All parks where available. $2.00 

Beach Floats: All parks where available. $1.00 per hour 

$3.00 for 4-hours 

$5.00 for full-day 

Surf Lounge Floating Chair Rental. All parks where available. $2.00 per hour, single chair 

$5.00 per half-day, single chair 

$7.00 per full day, single chair 

$3.00 per hour, double chair 

$7.00 per half-day, double chair 

$10 per full day, double chair 

Body Board: First Landing $6.00 per day 

Standard Stand-Up Paddle Board:  Westmoreland $15 per hour 

Beach Umbrella: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $3.00 per hour 

$8.00 for 4 hours 

$15 for full-day 

  First Landing $6.00 per day 

Beach Chair: All parks where available $5.00 per day 

  First Landing $6.00 per day 

Fishing Rods: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $5.00 per half-day 

  First Landing $6.00 per day 

$3.00 per rod per fishing program 

Tents with a group camp reservation. All parks where available.   

  2-person tent  $12 per day 

  3-person tent $20 per day 

  4-person tent $25 per day 

  5-person tent $30 per day 

Coleman Camp Stove Rental, includes fuel $10 per day 

Tabletop Propane Grill, includes fuel $15 per day 

Coin-Operated Washing Machine: All parks where available unless 

otherwise noted. 

$1.25 per load, tax included 

  First Landing $1.50 per load, tax included 

Coin Operated Dryer: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $1.25 per load, tax included 

  First Landing $1.50 per load, tax included 
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Pump Out: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $5.00 

Horse Rentals:   

  All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $20 per one-hour ride 

$35 per two-hour ride 

$100 per full day ride 

Pony Rides: All parks where available unless otherwise noted. $5.00 per 15 minutes 

Horseback Riding Lessons: All parks where available unless otherwise 

noted. 

$25 per lesson on group basis 

$30 per lesson for individual 

Horseback Summer Day Camp: All parks where available unless 

otherwise noted. 

$180 per person per week 

Horseshoe or Croquet Rental for Campers. All parks where available. $1.00 per hour 

$5.00 per day 

$20 deposit 

4VAC5-36-210. Conference center and meeting facility fees.  

CONFERENCE CENTERS (TAXABLE)  

Prices may be discounted and/or waived by the director when necessary to 

create competitive bids for group sales. FEE 

Hemlock Haven Conference Center at Hungry Mother   

  Main Hall (Capacity: 240) $350 per day 

  Upper Level Dogwood Room (Capacity: 50) $200 per day 

  Lower Level Board Room: (Capacity: 16) $100 per day 

  Ferrell Hall (Entire complex from 8 a.m. through 10 p.m.) $575 per day 

  Day Use Recreational Package (Includes all outside recreational 

facilities) 

  

    0 – 250 Persons $300 per half-day 

$600 per full-day 

    250 – 500 Persons $425 per half-day 

$850 per full-day 

    500 + persons $575 per half-day 

$1,200 per full-day 

Cedar Crest Conference Center at Twin Lakes   

  Complex: Doswell Hall with deck, grounds, volleyball, horseshoes; 

Kitchen, Latham and Hurt Rooms NOT included. 

$229 per 4 hours 

$459 per day 

$53 each extra hour 

  Doswell Meeting Room: Meeting Room only; no kitchen or dining 

room. 

$164 per room per 4 hours 

$328 per room per day 

$37 each extra hour 

  Small breakout rooms with main room: Latham and Hurt. $65 per room per 4 hours 

$131 per room per day 

$21 each extra hour 
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  Small breakout rooms without main room. $98 per room per 4 hours 

$196 per room per day 

$37 each extra hour 

  Picnic Shelter or Gazebo at Cedar Crest. $68 per 4 hours 

$131 per day 

$11 each extra hour 

  Kitchen rental only available with complex rental. $105 per event 

  Kitchen Cleaning Fee: Deposit. $150 per event 

Chippokes Plantation Meeting, Conference, and Special Use Facilities   

  Mansion Conference Room. $26 per hour 

  Mansion or Historic Area Grounds (Includes parking for party 

rental). 

$525 per 4 hours 

  Mansion Board Room $105 per 4 hours 

  Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter (Available on reservation 

basis only). 

$105 per 4 hours 

  Wedding Package (includes historic area grounds, gardens, tent set 

up and take down, 10 60-inch round tables, 10 standard size 

rectangle tables, 100 folding chairs, Wedding Coordinator, changing 

room for bride and groom, Mansion kitchen area, boardroom, no fee 

for wedding rehearsal). 

$1,412 per 4 hours 

$2,073 per 8 hours 

$50 nonrefundable reservation fee 

Southwest Virginia Museum  DAY EVENING 

  Victorian Parlor    

    Up to 30 People (8 tables – 30 chairs) OR Up to 50 people (50 

chairs and head table) 

$42 $68 

  Additional meeting rooms: Victorian Parlor must be rented in order 

to rent additional rooms.  

  

    Hallway (downstairs) (Includes three existing tables with 

linens) 

$11 $11 

  Additional Hours $10 per hour $10 per hour 

  Exceeding approved hours $20 per hour $20 per hour 

  Wedding Portraits $52 per 2 hours $78 per 2 hours 

  Wedding Packages EVENT 

    Wedding Package A: Accommodates 100 people. Use of 

arbor in Victorian Garden. Setup of 100 chairs. One parking 

attendant. Use of wedding space for previous night's 

rehearsal. Bride and groom dressing rooms. Free use of 

facilities for wedding portrait (must be scheduled). 

$500 

    Wedding Package B: Accommodates 100 people. Use of a 

40x40 Tent. Small platform stage (4"H x 8'W x 8'L). Accent 

rope lighting. Setup of 100 chairs. One parking attendant. 

Use of wedding space for previous night's rehearsal. Bride 

and groom dressing rooms. Free use of facilities for wedding 

portrait (must be scheduled). 

$1,500 
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    Wedding Package C: Accommodates 200 people (this 

requires an off-site reception area). Use of a 40x60 tent. 

Small platform stage (4"H x 8'W x 8'L). Accent rope 

lighting. Setup of 200 chairs. Two parking attendants. Use of 

wedding space for previous night's rehearsal. Bride and 

groom dressing rooms. Free use of facilities for wedding 

portrait (must be scheduled). 

$2,500 

  Reception Packages 

    Casual Reception Package A: May be reserved with 

Wedding Package A or B. Use of Victorian Parlor or foyer; 

parlor set with serving tables and linens. Use of serving 

kitchen. 

$200 

    Casual Reception Package B: May be reserved with 

Wedding Package A or B. Use of 20x30 tent; set with tables 

and linens. Use of serving kitchen. 

$300 

    Formal Reception Package C: May be reserved with 

Wedding Package A or B. Use of 40x60 tent; sit-down 

reception for 100 to include tables, linens and chairs. Use of 

serving kitchen. 

$2,250 

  Wedding and Reception Combination Package 

    Wedding and Reception Combination Package: 

Accommodates 100 people. Both wedding and reception are 

held under the same tent. Use of a 40x60 tent. Small 

platform stage (4"H x 8'W x 8'L). Accent rope lighting. 

Setup of 100 chairs. One parking attendant. Use of wedding 

space for previous night's rehearsal. Bride and groom 

dressing rooms. Free use of facilities for wedding portrait 

(must be scheduled). Back of tent set with serving tables and 

linens. Use of serving kitchen. 

$2,500 

  Damage Fee: a minimal damage fee will be accessed the person(s) 

renting the property for damage to the site. 

$200 

  

Wilderness Road (Mansion and Ground Rental)   

  Karlan Mansion and Grounds Rental $350 for first day 

$150 for each additional day 

Cove Ridge Center at Natural Tunnel:  PRIVATE FEE 

EDUCATIONAL 

FEE 

  Cove Ridge Center Annual Membership: Membership entitles 

organization to a 25% discount on facility rental fees and group rates 

on all programming offered through the center. 

$1,050 per year $525 per year 

  Day Use: Exclusive use of the auditorium, meeting room, resource 

library, catering kitchen, great room with stone fireplace and deck for 

two consecutive half-day rental periods, and parking passes. 

$315 $210 

  Overnight Use of one dorm: Includes Day Use Package plus one dorm 

rooms for one night and swimming (in season). 

$683 $498 

  Overnight Use of both dorms: Includes Day Use Package plus two 

dorm rooms for one night and swimming (in season). 

$892 $656 
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  Wedding Package Day Use: Exclusive use of the auditorium, meeting 

room, resource library, catering kitchen, great room with stone 

fireplace and deck for three consecutive half-day rental periods, and 

parking passes. 

$525 NA 

  Wedding Package Overnight: Includes Day Use Package plus one 

dorm for one night and swimming (in season). 

$919 NA 

  Wedding Package Overnight: Includes Day Use Package plus both 

dorms for one night and swimming (in season). 

$1,102 NA 

  Wedding Package with Amphitheater: Rental of the park amphitheater 

in conjunction with any of the above wedding packages. 

$236 for the rental 

period 

NA 

  Removal of furniture from great room (only available with exclusive 

use of the center). 

$42 $42 

  Additional seating on deck (only available with exclusive use of the 

center). 

$42 $0 

  Auditorium $126 per half day 

$231 per full day 

$99 per half day 

$183 per full day 

  Classroom – Library (half-day) $63 $47 

  One dorm: Overnight lodging for up to 30, includes swimming (in 

season) and parking passes. 

$420 per night 

April 1-October 31 

$378 per night 

November 1-March 

31 

$315 per night April 

1-October 31 

$283 per night 

November 1-March 

31 

  Both Dorms: Overnight lodging for up to 60, includes swimming (in 

season) and parking passes. 

$630 per night 

April 1-October 31 

$567 per night 

November 1-March 

31 

$472 per night April 

1-October 31 

$425 per night 

November 1-March 

31 

  Per Person Student Rate for Overnight Dorm Use $13 per person $13 per person 

  Kitchen Use (when not included in package) $50 per event $50 per event 

Heritage Center at Pocahontas: All reservations require 50% down at time of 

reservation (Nonrefundable within 14 days of event) PRIVATE FEE 

EDUCATIONAL 

FEE 

  Large Room (Capacity: seated at tables 50; reception style 125, 

auditorium 80: includes tables, chairs, and warming kitchen) 

$131 per 4 hours 

$236 per full-day 

$26 each extra hour 

$78 per 4 hours 

$141 per full-day 

$15 each extra hour 

Westmoreland FEE 

  Tayloe and Helen Murphy Hall Meeting Facility: Includes Main 

Meeting Room, Kitchen, and Grounds 

$500 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

$350 additional rental days after first day 

$75 per hour for usage beyond reservation 

period 

 Wedding and Reception Package for Tayloe and Helen Murphy 

Hall: The hours accompanying this package are 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 

p.m. on Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. on Saturday, and 9:00 a.m. 

to 2:00 p.m. on Sunday. 

$1,000 

  Potomac Overlook Rental $55 per day 
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  Breakout Meeting Room (May be rented separately from main 

meeting room only within 45 days of event. 

$75 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

  Kitchen Clean Up Fee: (Waived if renter cleans facility) $250 per event 

  Potomac River Retreat: Table and Chair Set-up $40 

Fairy Stone   

  Fayerdale Hall Meeting Facility Weekend Rental. Includes Friday, 

Saturday, and Sunday 

  

    One Day Rental $236 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

    Two Consecutive Days Rental $315 

    Three Consecutive Days Rental $366 

  Fayerdale Hall Meeting Facility Weekday Rental. Includes Monday 

through Thursday only. 

  

    One Day Rental $75 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

    Two Consecutive Days Rental $125 

    Three Consecutive Days Rental $174 

    Four Consecutive Days Rental $225 

Douthat   

  Restaurant (includes table set-up) $236 

  Allegheny Room: Up to 30 persons. $158 per day 

  Wedding Package: Conference room and amphitheater (see 

"amphitheater section") on day of wedding, plus an extra half-day 

amphitheater for rehearsal. 

$289 

First Landing   

  Trail Center Conference Room and Meeting Facility  $280 per day 

Lake Anna   

  Visitor Center $32 per half-day 

$53 per full day 

  Concessions Building Rental $100 per day 

Bear Creek Lake   

  Meeting facility $350 per day (Memorial Day weekend 

through October 31) 

$236 per day (November 1 up to Memorial 

Day weekend) 

$25 each extra hour 

  Wedding Package $400 per day (Memorial Day weekend 

through October 31) 

$315 per day (November 1 up to Memorial 

Day weekend) 

Claytor Lake   
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  Marina Meeting Facility: Includes facility, chairs, and tables. $550 per day, Friday – Sunday 

$275 per day, Monday – Thursday 

$825 per two days 

  Wedding Package: Includes rental of facility, chairs, tables, gazebo, 

and special use permit ($10 permit fee is waived with package).  

$625 per day package 

$995 per two-day package 

Leesylvania Wedding/Function Package: Includes Rental of: Lee's Landing 

Picnic Shelter, 100 Chairs, 15 Tables, and Parking for up to 50 vehicles 

$840 per half-day 

$945 per full-day 

Mason Neck   

 Small Wedding Package: Includes two 10 foot by 10 foot canopies, 

up to 50 chairs, and parking for up to 25 cars. 

$250 per event 

  Wedding Package: Includes a 20 foot by 40 foot tent, up to 100 

chairs, and parking for up to 50 cars. 

$788 per event 

  Parking Attendant $53 per 4 hours 

Smith Mountain Lake   

  Meeting room at Visitor Center $158 per day 

  Exceeding approved hours. All parks unless otherwise noted below. $25 per hour 

Sky Meadows   

  Timberlake House Meeting Room 

Capacity 15 people 

$50 per day 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 

$75 per evening beyond 5 p.m. 

  Timberlake House Kitchen (in conjunction with rental of meeting 

room) 

$25 per day or part of day 

Equipment and Services Associated with Meetings and Rentals:   

  Microphone/Podium Rental $15 per day 

  Stage Section Rental: 4' x 4' $24 per event 

  First Landing 

    Trail Center Pergola $95 per 3 hours 

  Chair Rentals 

  White, padded $3.00 

  White, plastic event chair $1.50 

  Standard folding chair $1.00 

  Table Rentals 

  Rectangular, 6' $7.50 

  Rectangular, 8' $8.00 

  Round, 4' $7.50 

  Round, 5' $8.75 

  Round, 6' $15 

  Linen Rentals: All parks unless otherwise noted 
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    Table cloth only 

Place settings 

$3.00 per table 

$2.00 each 

  Wilderness Road 

    Table cloth  $7.00  

  Twin Lakes 

    Overlay $1.25 per table 

    Napkins $0.40 per napkin 

  Fax First 2 pages free 

$2.00 each extra page 

  Copies Single copy free 

$0.15 each extra copy 

  Lost Key Fee $10 

  Easels $5.00 per day 

  Overhead Projector $10 per day 

  TV with VCR $10 

  Second TV $10 

  Overhead Projector with Screen $10 

  Slide Projector with Screen $10 

  Flip Chart $10 

Event Set-up and Clean Up Fees   

  First Landing 

    Table and Chair Set-up Fee $40 per event 

  Park labor to clean up after special events and facility rentals if not 

done in accordance with rental agreement or use permit  

$50 per hour 

Notes on conference and meeting facilities fees:  

1. Conference and meeting facilities require a 30% prepayment due 10 days after making reservation, and payment of the full 

balance prior to or on the first day of the reservation. Cancellations made 14 or more days prior to the first day of the 

reservation shall be charged the lesser of 10% of the total fee or $100. Cancellations made less that 14 days prior to the first 

date of the reservation shall be charged 30% of the total fee.  

2. Alcohol use during weddings at the Southwest Virginia Museum: Weddings held during public operating hours of the 

museum will not be allowed to serve alcohol. Weddings held after regular operating hours of the museum must comply with 

ABC permit laws and have alcohol in the designated reception areas. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3876; Filed October 28, 2013, 5:31 p.m.  

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-260. Pertaining to 

Designation of Seed Areas and Clean Cull Areas 

(amending 4VAC20-260-40, 4VAC20-260-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 

Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
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telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments clarify culling tolerances and inspection 

procedures for oysters taken from public oyster beds, 

rocks, and shoals in Virginia's tidal waters as follows: (i) 

oysters less than the minimum cull size that are adhering 

so closely to the shell of any marketable oyster as to render 

removal impossible without destroying the oysters less 

than the minimum cull size, need not be removed, but shall 

be considered part of the culling tolerance during 

inspection; and (ii) for any oysters transferred from the 

culling board to one or more baskets, any police officer 

may select one or more baskets of oysters and empty the 

contents of those baskets into a bushel container for 

inspection.  

4VAC20-260-40. Culling tolerances or standards. 

A. In the clean cull areas, if more than a four-quart measure 

of any combined quantity of oysters less than three inches and 

shells of any size are found in any bushel inspected by a any 

police officer, it shall constitute a violation of this chapter, 

except as described in subsection E of 4VAC20-260-30 E.  

B. In the James River seed areas, if more than a six-quart 

measure of shells is found in any bushel of seed oysters 

inspected by a any police officer, it shall constitute a violation 

of this chapter.  

C. In the James River seed areas, if more than a four-quart 

measure of any combined quantity of oysters less than three 

inches and shells of any size are found in any bushel of clean 

cull oysters inspected by a any police officer, it shall 

constitute a violation of this chapter.  

D. From the seaside of the Eastern Shore, if more than a 

four-quart measure of any combined quantity of oysters less 

than three inches and shells of any size are found per bushel 

of clean cull oysters inspected by a any police officer, it shall 

constitute a violation of this chapter.  

E. Any oysters less than the minimum cull size or any 

amount of shell that exceeds the culling standard shall be 

returned immediately to the natural beds, rocks, or shoals 

from where they were taken. 

F. Oysters less than the minimum cull size that are attached 

adhering so closely on to the shell of a any marketable oyster 

as to render removal impossible without destroying the 

oysters less than the minimum cull size need not be removed 

but shall be considered part of the culling tolerance during 

inspection. 

4VAC20-260-50. Culling and inspection procedures.  

A. All oysters taken from natural public beds, rocks, or 

shoals shall be placed on the culling board, or in only one 

basket upon the culling board, and culled by hand at the 

location of harvest. 

1. Culled oysters shall be transferred immediately from the 

culling board to either the inside open part of the boat, a 

loose pile, or baskets, but only one transfer method may be 

used on any boat or vessel in any one day. 

a. Oysters shall not be stored in both a loose pile and in 

baskets. 

b. A single basket may be on board any boat during 

transfer of culled oysters from the culling board to the 

inside open part of the boat in a loose pile. 

2. The entire harvest shall be subject to inspection, as 

provided in subsection F of this section. 

B. Any oysters taken lawfully by hand from natural public 

beds, rocks, or shoals from the seaside of the Eastern Shore, 

and held in sacks, bags, or containers, shall be culled when 

taken and placed in those sacks, bags, or containers for 

inspection by any police officer as described in subsection G 

of this section. 

C. If oysters from leased grounds and oysters from public 

grounds are mixed in the same cargo on a boat or motor 

vehicle, the entire cargo shall be subject to inspection under 

this chapter.  

D. All oysters taken from public grounds shall be sold or 

purchased in the regular oyster one-half bushel or one bushel 

measure as described in § 28.2-526 of the Code of Virginia, 

or the alternate container described in subsection E of this 

section; except that on the seaside of the Eastern Shore 

oysters may be sold without being measured if both the buyer 

and the seller agree to the number of bushels of oysters in the 

transaction. 

E. An alternate container produced by North Machine Shop 

in Mathews, Virginia, may be used for measuring oysters to 

be sold or purchased. The dimensions of this metallic 

cylindrical container shall be 18.5 inches inside diameter and 

11 inches inside height. 

F. Oysters may be inspected by any police officer according 

to any one of the following provisions: 

1. For any oysters transferred from the culling board to the 

inside open part of the boat, vehicle, or trailer, or a loose 

pile, any police officer may use a shovel to take at least 

one bushel of oysters to inspect, at random, provided that 

the entire bushel shall be taken from one place in the open 

pile of oysters. 

2. For any oysters transferred from the culling board to one 

or more baskets, any police officer may select one or more 

baskets of oysters, and empty the contents of those baskets 

in a loose pile and use a shovel to take, at random, at least 

one bushel of oysters for inspection into a bushel container, 

as described in § 28.2-526 of the Code of Virginia, for 

inspection. 

G. In the inspection of oysters harvested by hand from 

waters of the seaside of the Eastern Shore, the police officer 

may select any sacks, bags, or containers at random to 
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establish a full metallic measuring bushel for purposes of 

inspection.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3902; Filed November 1, 2013, 11:00 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC25-31. Reclamation Regulations 

for Mineral Mining (amending 4VAC25-31-10, 4VAC25-

31-100, 4VAC25-31-110, 4VAC25-31-130, 4VAC25-31-

140, 4VAC25-31-150, 4VAC25-31-170, 4VAC25-31-190, 

4VAC25-31-260, 4VAC25-31-290, 4VAC25-31-330, 

4VAC25-31-360, 4VAC25-31-380, 4VAC25-31-420, 

4VAC25-31-460, 4VAC25-31-490, 4VAC25-31-500, 

4VAC25-31-510, 4VAC25-31-530, 4VAC25-31-540; 

adding 4VAC25-31-405, 4VAC25-31-505).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 45.1-161.3 and 45.1-180.3 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 19, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, 

telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments facilitate the use of electronic permitting 

and forms and clarify reclamation and post-mining land 

use requirements. Obsolete items, such as addresses that 

have changed, are updated. The amendments also expand 

the types of financial instruments that can be used for 

performance bonds. Changes since the proposed stage 

include (i) those in 4VAC25-3-460, where the requirement 

for operators to include a 50-foot riparian buffer along 

both sides of a perennial stream was removed from the 

final stage and (ii) additional requirements for what must 

be included in maps of permitted areas added to 4VAC25-

3-150. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

General Provisions  

4VAC25-31-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Acre-foot" means a unit of volume equal to 43,560 cubic 

feet or 325,853 gallons. One acre-foot of water is equivalent 

to one acre covered by water one foot deep.  

"Berm" means a stable ridge of material used in reclamation 

for the control of sound and surface water, safety, aesthetics, 

or such other purpose as may be applicable.  

"Critical areas" mean problem areas such as those with steep 

slopes, easily erodible material, hostile growing conditions, 

concentration of drainage or other situations where 

revegetation or stabilization will be potentially difficult.  

"Dam break inundation zone" means the area downstream of 

a dam that would be inundated or otherwise directly affected 

by the failure of a dam. 

"Department" means the Department of Mines, Minerals and 

Energy.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy or his designee.  

"Division" means the Division of Mineral Mining.  

"Fifty-year storm" means the storm magnitude expected to 

be equaled or exceeded on the average of once in 50 years. It 

may also be expressed as a probability that there is a 2.0% 

chance that the storm magnitude may be equaled or exceeded 

in any given year. A 50-year, 24-hour storm occurs when the 

total 50-year storm rainfall occurs in a 24-hour period. 

"Inert waste" means brick, concrete block, broken concrete, 

[ asphalt paving, ] and uncontaminated minerals or soil. 

"Intermittent stream" means a stream or part of a stream that 

flows for at least one month of the calendar year as a result of 

ground water discharge or surface run-off that contains 

flowing water for extended periods during a year, but does 

not carry flows at all times.  

"Internal service roads" mean roads that are to be used for 

internal movement of raw materials, soil, overburden, 

finished, or in-process materials within the permitted area, 

some of which may be temporary.  

"Natural drainageway" means any natural or existing 

channel, stream bed, or watercourse that carries surface or 

ground water.  

"One hundred-year storm" means the storm magnitude 

expected to be equaled or exceeded on the average of once in 

100 years. It may also be expressed as a probability that there 

is a 1.0% chance that the storm magnitude may be equaled or 

exceeded in any given year. A 100-year, 24-hour storm 

occurs when the total 100-year storm rainfall occurs in a 24-

hour period. 

"On-site generated mine waste" means the following items 

generated by mineral mining or processing activities taking 

place on the permitted mine site: 

Drill steel Tree stumps/land clearing 

debris 

Crusher liners Large off-road tires 

Conveyor belting Scrap wood or metal 

Steel cable Steel reinforced air hoses 

Screen cloth Broken concrete or block 

Punch plate V-belts 
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"Perennial stream" means a stream or part of a stream that 

flows continuously during all of the calendar year as a result 

of ground water discharge or surface run-off well-defined 

channel that contains water year round during a year of 

normal rainfall. Generally, the water table is located above 

the streambed for most of the year and groundwater is the 

primary source for stream flow. A perennial stream exhibits 

the typical biological, hydrological, and physical 

characteristics commonly associated with the continuous 

conveyance of water.  

"Permitted area" means the area within the defined boundary 

shown on the application map including all disturbed land 

area, and areas used for access roads and other mining-related 

activities.  

"Principal access roads" mean roads that are well-defined 

roads leading from scales, sales offices, or loading points to a 

public road.  

"Probable maximum flood (PMF)" means the flood that 

might be expected from the most severe combination of 

critical meteorologic and hydrologic conditions that are 

reasonably possible in the region. The PMF is derived from 

the current probable maximum precipitation (PMP) available 

from the National Weather Service, National Oceanic and 

Atmospheric Association Administration. In some cases local 

topography or meteorological conditions will cause changes 

from the generalized PMP values; therefore, it is advisable to 

contact local, state, or federal agencies to obtain the 

prevailing practice in specific cases.  

"Qualified person" means a person who is suited by training 

or experience for a given purpose or task.  

"Regrade" or "grade" means to change the contour of any 

surface.  

"Riparian buffer" means an area of trees, shrubs, or other 

vegetation that is managed to maintain the integrity of the 

stream channel and reduce the effects of upland sources of 

pollution by trapping, filtering, and converting sediments, 

nutrients, and other chemicals. 

"Sediment" means undissolved organic or inorganic material 

transported or deposited by water.  

"Sediment basin" means a basin created by the construction 

of a barrier, embankment, or dam across a drainageway or by 

excavation for the purpose of removing sediment from the 

water.  

"Spillway design flood (SDF)" means the largest flood that 

needs be considered in the evaluation of the performance for 

a given project. The impounding structure shall perform so as 

to safely pass the appropriate SDF. Where a range of SDF is 

indicated, the magnitude that most closely relates to the 

involved risk should be selected.  

"Stabilize" means any method used to prevent movement of 

soil, spoil piles, or areas of disturbed earth. This includes 

increasing bearing capacity, increasing shear strength, 

draining, compacting, rip-rapping, vegetating or other 

approved method.  

"State waters" means all water, on the surface and under the 

ground, wholly or partially within or bordering the 

Commonwealth or within its jurisdiction, including wetlands. 

"Ten-year storm" means the storm magnitude expected to be 

equaled or exceeded on the average of once in 10 years. It 

may also be expressed as a probability that there is a 10% 

chance that the storm magnitude may be equaled or exceeded 

in any given year. A 10-year 24-hour storm occurs when the 

total 10-year storm rainfall amount occurs in a 24-hour 

period.  

"Top soil" means the surface layer and its underlying 

materials that have properties capable of producing and 

sustaining vegetation.  

4VAC25-31-100. Mineral mining permits.  

Permits shall be renewed annually, in a manner acceptable 

to the director, to continue to remain in effect. [ Paper filings 

shall be considered acceptable. ] 

4VAC25-31-110. Permit application.  

Application for a mineral mining permit shall be made in 

writing on a form prescribed by the director and shall be 

signed and sworn to certified by the applicant or his duly 

sworn authorized representative. Two copies Copies of the 

application shall be submitted to the division in a manner 

acceptable to the director. [ Paper filings shall be considered 

acceptable. ] 

4VAC25-31-130. Mineral mining plans.  

Mineral mining plans shall be attached to the application 

and consist of the following:  

1. The reclamation plan shall include a statement of the 

planned land use to which the disturbed land will be 

returned through reclamation, the proposed actions to 

assure suitable reclamation, and a time schedule for 

reclamation. The method of grading, removal of metal, 

lumber, and debris, including processing equipment, 

buildings, and other equipment relative to the mining 

operation and revegetation of the disturbed area shall be 

specified.  

2. 1. The operation plan shall include a description of the 

proposed method of mining and processing; the location of 

top soil storage areas; overburden, refuse and waste 

disposal areas; stockpiles, equipment storage, and 

maintenance areas; cut and fill slopes; and roadways. The 

operation plan shall also include all related design and 

construction data. The method of operation shall provide 

for the conducting of reclamation simultaneously where 

practicable with the mining operation. For the 

impoundments that meet the criteria of § 45.1-225.1 A of 

the Code of Virginia, plans shall be provided as required 

under 4VAC-25-31-180 and 4VAC25-31-500.  
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3. 2. The drainage plan shall consist of a description of the 

drainage system to be constructed before, during and after 

mining, a map or overlay showing the natural drainage 

system, and all sediment and drainage control structures to 

be installed along with all related design and construction 

data.  

3. The reclamation plan shall include a statement of the 

planned land use to which the disturbed land will be 

returned through reclamation, the proposed actions to 

assure suitable reclamation, and a time schedule for 

reclamation. The method of grading, removal of metal, 

lumber, and debris, including processing equipment, 

buildings, and other equipment relative to the mining 

operation and revegetation of the disturbed area shall be 

specified.  

4. Adequate maps, plans and cross sections, and 

construction specifications shall be submitted to 

demonstrate compliance with the performance standards of 

Part IV (4VAC25-31-330 et seq.) of this chapter and 

Chapter 16 (§ 45.1-180 et seq.) of Title 45.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Designs, unless otherwise specified, shall be 

prepared by a qualified person, using accepted engineering 

design standards and specifications.  

5. A copy of the Virginia Department of Transportation 

land use permit for roads that connect to public roads.  

6. If mining below the water table is to take place, the 

following conditions apply:  

a. The application shall contain an assessment of the 

potential for impact on the overall hydrologic balance 

from the proposed operations to be conducted within the 

permitted area.  

b. A plan for the minimization of adverse [ affects 

effects ] on water quality or quantity shall be prepared 

based on the assessment in subdivision 6a 6 a of this 

section and included in the application.  

c. In no case shall Permanent lakes or ponds be created if 

they are less by mining shall be equal to or greater than 

four feet deep, except when creation of wetlands is 

approved as part of the post-mining land use or otherwise 

constructed in a manner acceptable to the director.  

4VAC25-31-140. Marking of permit boundaries.  

A. The permit boundary of the mine shall be clearly marked 

with identifiable markings when mine related land disturbing 

activities are within 100 feet of the permit boundary.  

B. This section is not applicable to lands disturbed prior to 

the effective date of this regulation September 11, 2003.  

C. Maintenance of permit boundary markers is not required 

after completion of construction, completion of final 

disturbances, or completion of final reclamation unless the 

area is being redisturbed by mining.  

D. Separate boundary markings are not required if clear, 

readily identifiable features, such as streams, permanent 

roads, or permanent power lines coincide with the permit 

boundary.  

4VAC25-31-150. Maps.  

A. Maps shall be supplied as described in §§ 45.1-181 and 

45.1-182.1 of the Code of Virginia and in this chapter that 

show the total area to be permitted and the area to be affected 

in the next ensuing year (with acreage calculated).  

B. Preparation of maps.  

1. All application, renewal, and completion maps shall be 

prepared and certified under the direction of a professional 

engineer, licensed land surveyor, licensed geologist, issued 

by a standard mapping service, or prepared in such a 

manner as to be acceptable to the director.  

2. If maps are not prepared by the applicant, the 

certification of the maps shall read as follows: "I, the 

undersigned, hereby certify that this map is correct and 

shows to the best of my knowledge and belief, all the 

information required by the mineral mining laws and 

regulations of the DMME."  

3. The applicant shall submit a general location map 

showing the location of the mine, such as a county 

highway map or equivalent, in the initial application.  

4. Sensitive features within 1,000 500 feet of the permit 

boundary such as including state waters, cemeteries, oil 

and gas wells, underground mine workings, streams, creeks 

and other bodies of public water, public utilities and utility 

lines, public buildings, public roads, schools, churches, and 

occupied dwellings shall be shown. [ Delineated wetlands 

within the permit boundary shall be shown.  

5. ] All properties, and their owners, within 1,000 feet of 

the permit boundary shall be identified. 

[ 6. Wetlands that have been previously delineated shall be 

shown within the permit boundary. 

7. Riparian buffers that have been previously delineated 

shall be shown within the permit boundary. ] 

C. Map code and legend.  

1. A color code as prescribed by the director shall be used 

in preparing the map.  

2. Graphic symbols may be used to represent the different 

areas instead of a color-coded map.  

3. The map shall include a legend that shows the graphic 

symbol or color code and the acreage for each of the 

different areas.  

4VAC25-31-170. Permit application notifications.  

A. The following shall be made with a new permit 

application:  

1. Notification to property owners within 1,000 feet of the 

permit boundary by certified mail. A record shall be kept 

of:  

a. The names and addresses of those notified, and  
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b. The certified mail return receipts used for the 

notification.  

2. A statement as required by § 45.1-184.1 of the Code of 

Virginia to property owners that requires land owners 

within 1,000 feet of the permit boundary to be notified that 

the operator is seeking a surface mining and reclamation 

permit from the Department of Mines, Minerals and 

Energy. The statement shall also include:  

a. Company name;  

b. Date;  

c. Location;  

d. Distance and direction of nearest town or other easily 

identified landmark;  

e. City or county;  

f. Tax map identification number; and  

g. Requirements for (i) regrading; (ii) revegetation; and 

(iii) erosion controls of mineral mine sites.  

h. A notice that informs property owners that they have 

10 days from receipt of the permit notification to specify 

written objections or request a hearing. This request shall 

be in writing and shall be sent to the Department of 

Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of Mineral 

Mining, P.O. Box 3727, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903, 

(434) 951-6310.  

B. Applicants will provide a copy of the permit notification 

to the division at the time they are mailed to the neighboring 

landowners. 

B. C. A statement, with certified mail receipt, certifying that 

the chief administrative official of the local political 

subdivision has been notified.  

C. D. Notification shall be made to any public utilities on or 

within [ 500 1,000 ] feet of the permitted area. The 

notification shall consist of the following:  

1. The name of the party issuing the notice;  

2. The applicant name, address, and phone number; and  

3. The name and address of the party receiving the notice 

and the information noted in subdivision A 2 of this 

section.  

D. E. No permit will be issued until at least 15 days after 

receipt of the application by the division. If all persons 

required to receive notice have issued a statement of no 

objection, the permit may be issued in less than 15 days.  

E. F. Copies of all permit notifications and statements 

required in subsections A through C D of this section shall be 

supplied to the department division with the application.  

4VAC25-31-190. Availability of permits.  

Mineral mining permits and, a copy of the permit 

application, and a copy of the approved mineral mining plan 

shall be kept on-site while mining is underway.  

4VAC25-31-260. Form of performance bond.  

The bond shall be submitted in the form of cash, check, 

certificate of deposit, or insurance surety bond, or irrevocable 

letter of credit.  

A. Certificates of deposit.  

1. Certificates of deposit must be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia, Division of Mineral Mining.  

2. The amount of the certificate of deposit must include the 

maximum early withdrawal penalty rounded up to the next 

higher hundred dollars.  

3. The original certificate of deposit shall be submitted to 

the division and held by the division throughout the bond 

liability period.  

4. Certificates of deposit must be automatically renewable.  

5. The certificate of deposit must be from a bank located in 

the Commonwealth of Virginia or approved as an 

allowable bank depository by the Virginia Department of 

Treasury.  

6. Interest accrued on certificates of deposit may be 

deposited to the permittee's individual account and is free 

of encumbrance by bond liability.  

7. In the event of forfeiture of a certificate of deposit, the 

face value of the deposit plus any accrued interest that has 

been rolled back into the certificate principal will be 

subject to bond liability and expenditure in the 

performance of the reclamation obligation.  

B. Surety bonds.  

1. All bonds shall be in a form acceptable by to the 

director. Bonds shall be executed by the permittee, and a 

corporate surety and agent licensed to do business in the 

Commonwealth.  

2. Surety bonds shall not be canceled during their term 

except that surety bond coverage for lands not disturbed 

may be canceled with the prior consent of the division. The 

division shall advise the surety, within 30 days after receipt 

of a notice to cancel bond, whether the bond may be 

canceled on an undisturbed area.  

C. Irrevocable letter of credit. 

1. The director may accept a letter of credit on certain 

designated funds issued by a financial institution 

authorized to do business in the Commonwealth. The letter 

of credit shall be irrevocable and unconditional, shall be 

payable to the division on demand, and shall afford to the 

division protection equivalent to a corporate surety bond. 

The issuer of the letter of credit shall give prompt notice to 

the permittee and the division of any notice received or 

action filed alleging the insolvency or bankruptcy of the 

issuer, or alleging any violations of regulatory 

requirements that could result in the suspension or 

revocation of the issuer's charter or license to do business. 

In the event the issuer becomes unable to fulfill its 

obligations under the letter of credit for any reason, the 
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issuer shall immediately notify the permittee and the 

division. Upon the incapacity of an issuer by reason of 

bankruptcy, insolvency, or suspension or revocation of its 

charter or license, the permittee shall be deemed to be 

without proper performance bond coverage and shall 

promptly notify the division, and the division shall then 

issue a notice to the permittee specifying a reasonable 

period, which shall not exceed 90 days, to replace bond 

coverage. If an adequate bond is not posted by the end of 

the period allowed, the permittee shall cease mineral 

extraction and mineral processing operations and shall 

immediately begin to conduct reclamation operations in 

accordance with the reclamation plan. Mineral extraction 

and mineral processing operations shall not resume until 

the division has determined that an acceptable bond has 

been posted. If an acceptable bond has not been posted by 

the end of the period allowed, the division may suspend the 

permit until acceptable bond is posted. 

2. The letter of credit shall be provided on the form and in 

the format established by the director. 

3. Nothing contained in this section shall relieve the 

permittee of responsibility under the permit or the issuer of 

liability on the letter of credit. 

4VAC25-31-290. Intensive agricultural use.  

If the post-mining use is to be intensive agriculture, then 

planting and harvesting of a normal crop yield is required to 

meet the regulatory requirements for full or partial bond 

release. A normal yield for a particular crop is equal to the 

five-year average for the county. If crop yield data is 

unavailable, then other methods to determine suitability for 

bond release may be utilized as acceptable to the director. The 

use of grass, water bars, or diversion strips and natural 

vegetative drainage control may be required in the initial 

planting year as specified by the director.  

Part IV  

Performance Standards  

4VAC25-31-330. Protected structures and sensitive 

features.  

Mining activities shall be conducted in a manner that 

protects state waters, cemeteries, oil and gas wells, 

underground mine workings, public utilities, and utility lines, 

public buildings, public roads, schools, churches, and 

occupied dwellings.  

4VAC25-31-360. Operation and reclamation.  

A. Mining operations shall be conducted to minimize 

adverse effects on the environment and facilitate integration 

of reclamation with mining operations according to the 

special requirements of individual mineral types. Mining shall 

be conducted to minimize the acreage that is disturbed and 

reclamation shall be conducted simultaneously with mining to 

the extent feasible.  

B. Open pit mining of unconsolidated material shall be 

performed in such a way that extraction and reclamation are 

conducted simultaneously.  

C. Mining activities shall be conducted so that the impact on 

water quality and quantity are minimized. Mining below the 

water table shall be done in accordance with the mining plan 

under 4VAC25-31-130.  

D. In no case shall lakes or ponds of water be created that 

are less than four feet deep, unless wetlands are formed as 

part of the approved post-mining land use Permanent lakes or 

ponds created by mining shall be equal to or greater than four 

feet deep, or otherwise constructed in a manner acceptable to 

the director.  

E. Excavation shall be done in such a manner as to keep 

storm drainage flowing toward sediment control structures. 

Diversions shall be used to minimize storm run-off over 

disturbed areas.  

F. The mining operation shall be planned to enhance the 

appearance to the public during mining and to achieve 

simultaneous and final reclamation.  

G. At the completion of mining, all entrances to 

underground mines shall be closed or secured and the surface 

area reclaimed in accordance with the mineral mining plan.  

H. Reclamation shall be completed to allow the post-mining 

land use to be implemented. After reclamation, the post 

mining land use shall be achievable and compatible with 

surrounding land use. All necessary permits and approvals for 

the post-mining land use shall be obtained prior to 

implementation.  

4VAC25-31-380. Treatment of acid material.  

All acid material, which is part of or directly associated with 

the mineral deposit or deposits being mined, encountered 

during the mining operation shall be properly controlled 

during mining and upon to prevent adverse impacts on 

surface or groundwater quality. Upon completion of mining, 

acid materials shall be covered with a material capable of 

shielding the acid material them and supporting plant cover in 

accordance with the approved reclamation plan. Unless 

otherwise specified by the director, the minimum cover shall 

be four feet in depth.  

4VAC25-31-405. Disposal of waste. 

On-site generated waste shall not be disposed of within the 

permitted mine area without prior approval. [ On-site 

generated inert materials are approved for use as fill on the 

mining site provided they are capped with a minimum of four 

feet of soil cover and seeding is established per the approved 

reclamation plan. ]  Off-site generated inert waste shall not be 

brought onto the mine permitted area or disposed of on the 

mine permitted area without prior approval. 
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4VAC25-31-420. Screening.  

A. Screening shall be provided for sound absorption and to 

improve the appearance of the mining site from public roads, 

public buildings, recreation areas, and occupied dwellings.  

B. If screening is to be undisturbed forest, a distance of 100 

feet must be left undisturbed within the permit boundary. 

Less than 100 feet may be approved if the natural vegetation 

provides the needed screening benefits between the mining 

operation and the adjacent property. Planted earth berms, tree 

plantings, natural topography, or appropriately designed 

fences or walls may be used if approved in the mineral 

mining plan.  

C. On permanent berms for screening, the spoils (waste 

materials) shall be initially placed on the proposed berm area 

and top soil (where available) shall be spread over the spoil 

areas, not less than four six inches in thickness, and if 

possible, 12 inches in thickness. The remaining top soil shall 

be placed in a designated area for future spreading on other 

areas which need top dressing. The top soil shall be seeded or 

planted in accordance with the approved reclamation plan.  

4VAC25-31-460. Intermittent or perennial streams.  

All intermittent or perennial streams shall be protected from 

spoil by natural or constructed barriers. [ Areas disturbed 

after (the effective date of this regulation) shall provide an 

undisturbed riparian buffer, 50 feet in width, along both sides 

of a perennial stream unless otherwise approved by the 

director. Areas disturbed prior to (the effective date) shall 

provide the aforementioned riparian buffer upon reclamation, 

in accordance with the approved post-mining land use. ] 

Stream channel diversions shall safely pass the peak run-off 

from a 10-year, 24-hour storm. Stream channel diversions 

shall be at least equal to the capacity of the unmodified 

stream channel immediately upstream and downstream of the 

diversion.  

4VAC25-31-490. Water quality.  

The pH of all water discharge resulting from the mining of 

minerals shall be between pH 6.0 and pH 9.0 unless otherwise 

approved by the director. In addition, discharges shall be in 

compliance with applicable standards established by the 

Department of Environmental Quality [ (4VAC25-260-20) 

(9VAC25-260-20) ].  

4VAC25-31-500. Water impoundments.  

A. Structures that impound water or sediment to a height of 

five feet or more above the lowest natural ground area within 

the impoundment and have a storage volume of 50 acre-feet 

or more, or impound water or sediment to a height of 20 feet 

or more regardless of storage volume, shall meet the 

following criteria (noted in Chapter 18.1 (§ 45.1-225.1 et 

seq.) of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia):  

1. Impoundments meeting or exceeding the size criteria set 

forth in this section shall be designed utilizing a spillway 

flood and hazard potential classification as specified in the 

following table:  

Class of 

Impoundment* 

Hazard Potential if Failure 

Occurred 

Size Classification** Spillway 

Design Flood (SDF)** 

Spillway Design Flood 

(SDF)*** Minimum 

Threshold for 

Incremental Damage 

Analysis *** 

Capacity (ac-ft) Height   

I High Hazard 
Probable loss of life 

Extensive off-site effect 

A) >1000 PMF 

B) > 500 

C) > 50 

D) < 50  

> 40 ft 

< 40 ft 

> 5 ft 

> 20 ft 

.50 PMF 

0.5 PMF-PMF 

0.5 PMF-PMF 

100 yr - 0.5 PMF 

II Significant 

Hazard 

Probable loss of life 

Appreciable off-site effects 

A) >1000 .50 PMF 

B) > 500 

C) > 50 

D) < 50 

> 40 ft 

< 40 ft 

> 5 ft 

> 20 ft 

0.5 PMF-PMF 100- 

year storm 

100 yr - 0.5 PMF 

100 yr - 0.5 PMF 

100 yr 

III Low Hazard 
No loss of life 

Minimal off-site effect 

A) >1000 100- year 

storm 

B) > 500 

C) > 50 

D) < 50 

> 40 ft 

< 40 ft 

> 5 ft 

< 20 ft 

100 yr - 0.5 PMF 50-

year storm 

100 yr 

100 yr 

50 yr - 100 yr 
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*Size and hazard potential classifications shall be proposed and justified by the operator and shall be subject to approval by 

the director. Present and projected development in the inundation zone downstream from the structure shall be used in 

determining the classification. 

**The factor determining the largest size classification shall govern **The complete definitions of hazard potential are those 

contained in 4VAC50-20-40. 

***The establishment of rigid design flood criteria or standards is not intended. Safety must be evaluated in the light of 

peculiarities and local conditions for each impounding structure and in recognition of the many factors involved, some of 

which may not be precisely known. Such can only be done by competent, experienced engineering judgment, which the 

values in the table are intended to add to, not replace. 

Reductions in the SDF may be evaluated by use of 

incremental damage analysis described in 4VAC50-20-52. 

Note that future development downstream may increase 

the required SDF. 

2. Impounding structures shall be constructed, operated, 

and maintained such that they perform in accordance with 

their design and purpose throughout their life.  

a. Impoundments shall be designed and constructed by or 

under the direction of a qualified registered professional 

engineer licensed in Virginia and experienced in the 

design and construction of impoundments.  

b. The designs shall meet the requirements of this section 

and use current prudent engineering practices.  

c. The plans and specifications for an impoundment shall 

consist of a detailed engineering design report that 

includes engineering drawings and specifications, with 

the following as a minimum:  

(1) The name of the mine; the name of the owner; 

classification of the impounding structure as set forth in 

this regulation; designated access to the impoundment 

and the location with respect to highways, roads, streams 

and existing impounding structures and impoundments 

that would affect or be affected by the proposed 

impounding structure.  

(2) Cross sections, profiles, logs of test borings, 

laboratory and in situ test data, drawings of principal and 

emergency spillways and other additional drawings in 

sufficient detail to indicate clearly the extent and 

complexity of the work to be performed.  

(3) The technical provisions as may be required to 

describe the methods of the construction and construction 

quality control for the project.  

(4) Special provisions as may be required to describe 

technical provisions needed to ensure that the 

impounding structure is constructed according to the 

approved plans and specifications.  

d. Components of the impounding structure, the 

impoundment, the outlet works, drain system and 

appurtenances shall be durable in keeping with the design 

and planned life of the impounding structure.  

e. All new impounding structures regardless of their 

hazard potential classification, shall include a device to 

permit draining of the impoundment within a reasonable 

period of time, and at a minimum shall be able to lower 

the pool level six vertical inches per day, as determined 

by the owner's professional engineer, subject to approval 

by the director.  

f. Impoundments meeting the size requirements and 

hazard potential of Class I, Class II and Class III high, 

significant, or low shall have a minimum static safety 

factor of 1.5 for a normal pool with steady seepage 

saturation conditions and a seismic safety factor of 1.2.  

g. Impoundments shall be inspected and maintained to 

ensure that all structures function to design 

specifications.  

h. Impoundments shall be constructed, maintained and 

inspected to ensure protection of adjacent properties and 

preservation of public safety and shall meet proper 

design and engineering standards under Chapter 18.1 

(§ 45.1-225.1 et seq.) of Title 45.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Impoundments shall be inspected at least daily 

by a qualified person, designated by the licensed 

operator, who can provide prompt notice of any 

potentially hazardous or emergency situation as required 

under § 45.1-225.2 of the Code of Virginia. Records of 

the inspections shall be kept and certified by the operator 

or his agent.  

i. The operator will prepare an Emergency Action Plan 

(EAP) that includes the following information: 

(1) A notification chart of persons or organizations to be 

notified, the person or persons responsible for 

notification, and the priority in which notifications are 

issued. Notifications shall include at a minimum the 

division, the local government authority responsible for 

emergency response, and the Virginia Department of 

Emergency Management. 

(2) A discussion of the procedures used for timely and 

reliable detection, evacuation, and classification of 

emergency situations considered to be relevant to the 

structure and its setting. 

(3) Designation of responsibilities for EAP related tasks. 

Also, the EAP shall designate the responsible party for 

making a decision that an emergency situation no longer 

exists at the impounding structure. Finally, the EAP shall 

include the responsible party and the procedures for 

notifying to the extent possible any known local 

occupants, owners, or lessees of downstream properties 
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potentially impacted by a failure of the impounding 

structure. 

(4) A section describing actions to be taken in 

preparation for impoundment emergencies, both before 

and during the development of emergency conditions. 

(5) Dam break inundation maps. Each sheet of such maps 

for high and significant potential hazard classification 

structures shall be prepared and sealed by a professional 

engineer. Where possible, inundation mapping in the 

EAP should be provided on sheets no larger than 11 

inches by 17 inches to facilitate copying for emergency 

response. 

(6) Appendices containing information that supports and 

supplements the material used in the development of the 

EAP, including plans for training, exercising, and 

updating the EAP. 

(7) A section that identifies all parties with assigned 

responsibilities in the EAP and signed certification by all 

of those parties that a copy of the EAP has been received. 

(8) Times periods for review or revision acceptable to the 

director. 

3. Impoundments shall be closed and abandoned in a 

manner that ensures continued stability and compatibility 

with the post-mining land use.  

4. The following are acceptable as design procedures and 

references:  

a. The design procedures, manuals and criteria used by 

the United States Army Corps of Engineers:; 

b. The design procedures, manuals and criteria used by 

the United States Department of Agriculture, Natural 

Resources Conservation Service:;  

c. The design procedures, manuals and criteria used by 

the United States Department of Interior, Bureau of 

Reclamation:;  

d. The design procedures, manuals and criteria used by 

the United States Department of Commerce, National 

Weather Service: or; 

e. The design procedures, manuals and criteria used by 

the United States Federal Energy Regulatory 

Commission; 

f. Federal Guidelines for Dam Safety: Emergency Action 

Planning for Dam Owners, United States Department of 

Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management 

Agency, October 1998, Reprinted January 2004; FEMA 

64 or as revised; 

g. Federal Guidelines for Dam Safety: Selecting and 

Accommodating Inflow Design Floods for Dams, United 

States Department of Homeland Security, Federal 

Emergency Management Agency, October 1998, 

Reprinted April 2004; FEMA 94 or as revised; or 

e. h. Other design procedures, manuals and criteria that 

are accepted as current, sound engineering practices, as 

approved by the director prior to the design of the 

impounding structure.  

B. Impoundments that do not meet or exceed the size criteria 

of subsection A of this section shall meet the following 

criteria:  

1. Be designed and constructed using current, prudent 

engineering practice to safely perform the intended 

function.  

2. Be constructed with slopes no steeper than two-

horizontal-to-one-vertical in predominantly clay soils or 

three-horizontal-to-one-vertical in predominantly sandy 

soils.  

3. Safely pass the runoff from a 50-year storm event for 

temporary (life of mine) structures and a 100-year storm 

event for permanent (to remain after mining is completed) 

structures.  

4. Be closed and abandoned to ensure continued stability 

and compatibility with the post-mining use.  

5. Be inspected and maintained to ensure proper 

functioning.  

6. Provide adequate protection for adjacent property 

owners and ensure public safety.  

C. Impoundments with impounding capability created solely 

by excavation shall comply with the following criteria:  

1. Be designed and constructed using prudent engineering 

practice to safely perform the intended function.  

2. Be constructed with slopes no steeper than two-

horizontal-to-one-vertical in predominantly clay soils or 

three-horizontal-to-one-vertical in predominantly sandy 

soils.  

3. Be designed and constructed with outlet facilities 

capable of:  

a. Protecting public safety;  

b. Maintaining water levels to meet the intended use; and  

c. Being compatible with regional hydrologic practices.  

4. Be closed and abandoned to ensure continued stability 

and compatibility with the post-mining use.  

5. Be inspected and maintained to ensure proper 

functioning.  

6. Provide adequate protection for adjacent property 

owners and ensure public safety.  

4VAC25-31-505. Reporting impoundment failures. 

If upon examination an operator determines that [ a any ] 

water impounding structure [ in the permitted area ] has failed 

partially or completely, the incident must be reported to the 

division immediately. 

4VAC25-31-510. Alternative methods of stabilization.  

Riprap shall be used for the control of erosion on those areas 

where it is impractical to establish vegetation or other means 

of erosion control or in any areas where rock riprap is an 
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appropriate means of reclamation. Placing of rock riprap shall 

be in accordance with drainage standards and the approved 

mineral mining plan. Other methods of stabilization shall may 

include gabions, concrete, and shotcrete, geotextiles, and 

other means acceptable to the director.  

4VAC25-31-530. Process in revegetation.  

A. Slopes shall be graded in keeping with good conservation 

practices acceptable to the division. Slopes shall be provided 

with proper structures such as terraces, berms, and 

waterways, to accommodate surface water where necessary 

and to minimize erosion due to surface run-off. Slopes shall 

be stabilized, protected with a permanent vegetative or riprap 

covering and not be in an eroded state at the time reclamation 

is complete.  

B. Crusted and hard soil surfaces shall be scarified prior to 

revegetation. Steep graded slopes shall be tracked (running a 

cleated crawler tractor or similar equipment up and down the 

slope).  

C. Application of lime and fertilizer shall be performed 

based on soil tests and the revegetation requirements in the 

approved reclamation plan.  

D. Vegetation shall be planted or seeded and mulched 

according to the mixtures and practices included in the 

approved reclamation plan. Mulch shall be applied at the rate 

of 2,000 pounds per acre for straw or hay, and 1,500 pounds 

per acre for wood cellulose mulch.  

E. The seed used must meet the purity and germination 

requirements of the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services. The division may, at its discretion, take 

samples for laboratory testing. Noncritical vegetated areas 

shall achieve adequate cover so that no areas larger than one-

half acre shall exist with less than 75% cover after two 

growing seasons. Seeded portions of critical areas shall have 

adequate vegetative cover so the area is completely stabilized.  

4VAC25-31-540. Trees and shrubs.  

Trees and shrubs shall be planted according to the specific 

post-mining land use, regional adaptability, and planting 

requirements included in the approved reclamation plan. Tree 

and shrub planting for ground cover shall be combined with 

well established grass species. For forest and wildlife post-

mining land uses, at least 400 healthy plants per acre shall be 

established after two growing seasons.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

[ FORMS (4VAC25-31)  

Permit/License Application, DMM-101 (rev. 2/06).  

Notice of Application to Mine, DMM-103 (rev. 2/06).  

Statement Listing the Names and Addresses of Adjoining 

Property Owners, DMM-103a (rev. 9/99); included in DMM-

103 Notice of Application to Mine.  

Bond Release Inspection, DMM-104d (rev. 12/09). 

Yearly Progress Report, DMM-105 (rev. 2/06).  

Surety Bond, DMM-107 (rev. 4/09).  

Legend, DMM-109 (rev. 2/11). 

Relinquishment of Mining Permit, DMM-112 (rev. 2/06).  

Request for Amendment, DMM-113 (rev. 2/06).  

Consolidated Biennial Report of Waivered Counties, Cities, 

and Towns, DMM-116 (rev. 2/06).  

Biennial Waivered Counties, Cities, and Towns, Report of 

Individual Mining Companies, DMM-117 (rev. 2/06).  

Consent for Right of Entry, DMM-120 (rev. 12/99).  

Mineral Mining Annual Tonnage Report, DMM-146 (rev. 

2/06).  

Mineral Mining Annual Report for Contractors, DMM-146c 

(rev. 12/11). 

DMM Application Checklist, DMM-148 (rev. 2/06).  

Request for Release of Mine Map, DMM-155 (rev. 2/06).  

Notice of Operator Intent, DMM-156 (rev. 2/06).  

License Renewal/Transfer Application, DMM-157 (rev. 

2/06).  

Permit Transfer Acceptance, DMM-161 (rev. 2/06).  

Permit Renewal Checklist, DMM-163 (rev. 3/06).  

Certification of No Change, DMM-164 (rev. 3/06).  

Surety Bond Rider, DMM-167 (rev. 2/06).  

General Permit for Sand and Gravel Operations Less Than 

Ten Acres in Size, DMM-168 (eff. 9/03).  

Certificate of Deposit, DMM-169 (eff. 2/06).  

Irrevocable Standby Letter of Credit, DMM-108 (eff. 6/13) ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1913; Filed October 22, 2013, 8:21 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC25-35. Certification 

Requirements for Mineral Miners (amending 4VAC25-

35-10, 4VAC25-35-20, 4VAC25-35-40 through 4VAC25-

35-70, 4VAC25-35-80 through, 4VAC25-35-120; adding 

4VAC25-35-5).  

Statutory Authority: § 45.1-161.292:19 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2013. 

Effective Date: January 3, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8f9a1003087~1&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f5e3f003087~2&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=87bd8003087~16&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=87bd8003087~16&typ=40&actno=003087&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2885b001913~1&typ=0%20&actno=001913&mime=application/pdf
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1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, 

telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 45.1-161.292:19 of the Code of Virginia 

directs the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy 

(DMME) to issue certifications for mineral miners to ensure 

the health and safety of persons and property associated with 

mineral mining and grants DMME the authority to 

promulgate regulations necessary or incidental to the 

performance of its duties. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to amend the 

certification requirements for mineral miners to allow for 

electronic submission of certification forms. Doing so will 

allow DMME to more effectively and efficiently serve its 

customers and protect the health, safety, and welfare of the 

public. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: This rulemaking is 

expected to be noncontroversial as the amendments are 

largely to clarify language and enhance the efficiency of the 

certification process. 

Substance: Amendments allow for certification 

documentation and for payment of fees associated with 

certification to be submitted electronically. In addition, 

amendments add a definitions section, make several 

clarifying changes, and change the requirements for written 

examination for general mineral mining certification and 

electrical certification. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public and the 

Commonwealth is a more convenient, electronic permitting 

process. This process creates efficiencies for both DMME and 

the mineral mining industry. There are no known 

disadvantages. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Mineral Mining Examiners (Board) proposes to 

amend these regulations to allow mineral miners to file for 

their required certifications, pay fees and take examinations 

electronically. Additionally, the Board proposes several 

amendments for clarity, which do not change policy or 

requirements.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Allowing mineral miners to file 

for their required certifications, pay fees and take 

examinations electronically may moderately reduce costs 

through saved time and postage. To the extent that the 

clarifying amendments reduce confusion, these proposed 

changes will be beneficial as well.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

potentially affect the 433 mineral operations currently in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. Approximately 90% of these 

(roughly 390) would qualify as small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

apply to all localities, but may particularly impact areas with 

relatively greater mineral mining. According to the 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, the Division of 

Mineral Mining has issued active permits in over 90 localities 

in the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments may moderately reduce costs by 

permitting the use of electronic submission of documents.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments may moderately reduce costs by permitting the 

use of electronic submission of documents. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 

costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy concurs with the 

economic impact analysis conducted by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) define terms used in the regulation; 

(ii) make technical changes designed to allow for mineral 
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miners to file their required certifications and pay fees 

electronically; and (iii) provide that applicants for 

general mineral miner certification and electrical 

certification who possess a valid master electrical license 

issued by the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation are not required to take a 

written examination. 

4VAC25-35-5. Definitions. 

The following words and items when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Commencing work" means after employment but before 

beginning job duties. 

"Department" means the Department of Mines, Minerals and 

Energy. 

"Division" means the Division of Mineral Mining of the 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy. 

"MSHA" means the federal Mine Safety and Health 

Administration. 

Part I  

General and Specific Requirements  

4VAC25-35-10. Initial certification requirements.  

A. Applicants shall submit:  

1. An application for certification examination in a form 

acceptable to the division. 

2. A copy Verification of all degrees required for 

certification and a valid first aid certificate or card or as 

noted in Part II, Minimum Certification Requirements 

(4VAC25-35-50 et seq.). When not otherwise specified, 

first aid cards certifications shall be issued by an 

organization that uses nationally recognized standards and 

is approved by the Division of Mineral Mining (DMM) 

division, e.g., American Red Cross and National Safety 

Council.  

3. A $10 fee for each examination application received at 

least five working days prior to an examination. Cash will 

be accepted if paying in person at a department office.  

4. Verification of work experience in a form acceptable to 

the division and documentation of equivalent work 

experience for approval by the division, if required for the 

certification. Work experience shall be verified by a 

company official who is knowledgeable of the experience 

of the applicant.  

B. Applicants shall fulfill the requirements of 4VAC25-35-

10 this section and accumulate the required years of 

experience within five years of taking the examination or start 

the process over including payment of fee.  

C. Applicants for the general mineral miner certification 

shall submit a $10 processing fee with their application.  

4VAC25-35-20. Examination requirements.  

A. All applicants for certification shall take a written an 

examination except candidates for the general mineral miner 

certification and electrical certification applicants who hold a 

valid journeyman card or master electrical license issued by 

the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation. 

Applicants for the foreman certification shall score at least 

85% and applicants for other certifications shall score at least 

80% on each section of the written examination. 

Examinations will be given in a manner specified by the 

division, including, but not limited to, online or written 

examinations.  

B. If all or part of an examination is failed, the applicant 

must pay the examination fee and retake the failed section or 

sections within 90 days to continue the certification process. 

If a section of the examination is failed a second time, the 

applicant must pay the fee and retake the entire examination. 

If the examination is failed on the third try, the applicant must 

pay the fee and wait the longer of 90 days from the re-

examination date or one year from the initial examination 

date before retaking the entire exam. After the third attempt, 

the application cycle starts over.  

4VAC25-35-40. Renewal requirements.  

A. The division will send renewal notices to the last known 

address of the certificate holder at least 180 days prior to the 

expiration of the certificate. Certified persons shall apply for 

renewal of certificates by submitting an application for 

renewal and verification of work experience in a form 

acceptable to the division no more than 180 days prior to the 

expiration of their certificate. The application shall be 

submitted in time to be received at least five working days 

prior to the date of the examination or refresher class.  

B. Certified persons, except mine inspectors, who have 

worked in the classification for which they are certified for a 

cumulative minimum of 24 months in the last five years shall 

select one of two options to renew their certificates; either 

take an examination or complete a refresher class on any 

changes in regulations and law since the initial certification or 

the certificate was last renewed. No examination or class shall 

be required if there have been no such changes.  

C. Certified persons shall take the examination described in 

4VAC25-35-20 if their certificate has expired, they have not 

worked in the area classification for which they are certified 

for a cumulative minimum of 24 months in the last five years, 

or DMM the division has issued the individual violations that 

have not been corrected.  

D. Successful completion of the mine inspector renewal 

shall suffice for renewing the mine foreman certification.  

E. Applicants for renewal of certifications shall hold a valid 

first aid certificate or card to renew their certification.  

F. Applicants shall submit a $10 fee for the examination or 

the refresher class which shall be received at least five 
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working days prior to the examination or class. Cash will be 

accepted if paying in person at a department office.  

Part II  

Minimum Certification Requirements  

4VAC25-35-50. Underground foreman.  

A. Applicants for certification as an underground foreman 

shall possess five years mining experience at an underground 

mineral mine or equivalent work experience approved by 

DMM the division.  

B. Applicants may be given three years credit for a surface 

foreman certificate or bachelor's degree in mining 

engineering, mining technology, civil engineering or geology, 

or two years credit for an associate's degree in mining 

technology or civil technology.  

C. Applicants shall possess a valid first aid certificate which 

represents verifying completion of an approved first aid 

course.  

4VAC25-35-60. Surface foreman (this certification is for a 

person whose job duties include overseeing blasting 

activities).  

A. Applicants for certification as a surface foreman shall 

possess five years mining experience, at least one year at a 

surface mineral mine, or equivalent work experience 

approved by DMM the division.  

B. Applicants may be given three years credit for a 

bachelor's degree in mining engineering, mining technology, 

civil engineering, civil technology or geology, or two years 

credit for an associate's degree in mining technology or civil 

technology.  

C. Applicants shall possess a valid first aid certificate which 

represents verifying completion of an approved first aid 

course.  

4VAC25-35-70. Surface foreman, open pit (not applicable 

to drilling and (this certification is for a person whose job 

duties do not include overseeing blasting activities).  

A. Surface foreman, open pit applicants shall possess five 

years mining experience with at least one year at a surface 

mineral mine, or equivalent work experience approved by 

DMM the division.  

B. Applicants may be given three years credit for a 

bachelor's degree in mining engineering, mining technology, 

civil engineering, civil technology or geology, or two years 

credit for an associate's degree in mining technology or civil 

technology.  

C. Applicants shall possess a valid first aid certificate which 

represents verifying completion of an approved first aid 

course.  

4VAC25-35-80. Surface blaster.  

A. Surface blaster applicants shall possess one year of 

blasting experience on a surface mineral mine under the 

supervision of a certified blaster or possess equivalent work 

experience approved by DMM the division.  

B. Applicants shall possess a valid record of three hours of 

training in first aid from an organization that uses nationally 

recognized standards or a valid record of training to meet the 

requirements in 30 CFR Part 48 that includes first aid 

certificate verifying completion of a first aid course approved 

by the division.  

4VAC25-35-90. Underground mining blaster.  

A. Underground mining blaster applicants shall possess two 

years of work experience in an underground mine with at 

least one year handling and using explosives underground or 

possess equivalent work experience approved by DMM the 

division.  

B. Applicants shall possess a valid MSHA 5000-23 form 

showing training in first aid certificate verifying completion 

of a first aid course approved by the division.  

4VAC25-35-100. Mineral mining electrician (electrical 

repairman).  

A. Applicants for certification as a mineral mining 

electrician shall possess work experience as demonstrated by 

a valid journeyman or master electrical certification license 

issued by the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, Tradesmen Section or as approved by DMM the 

division as equivalent to that required for a journeyman 

certification license.  

B. Applicants shall submit documentation of training or 

obtain training as required by 30 CFR Part 46 or 30 CFR Part 

48 or provide evidence of their knowledge of safe working 

practices on the mine site as approved by DMM the division.  

4VAC25-35-110. Mine inspector.  

In addition to the requirements set forth in § 45.1-

161.292:11 of the Code of Virginia, mine inspector applicants 

shall demonstrate knowledge and competence in those areas 

specified in § 45.1-161.292:12 of the Code of Virginia 

through the examination process. A certificate will not be 

issued until an applicant is employed by DMME the 

department.  

4VAC25-35-120. General mineral miner.  

A. As set forth in § 45.1-161.292:28 of the Code of Virginia, 

miners commencing work after January 1, 1997, shall have a 

general mineral miner certification. For the purposes of these 

regulations, "commencing work" means after employment but 

before beginning job duties. Persons excluded from the 

general mineral miner certification are those involved in 

delivery, office work, maintenance, service and construction 

work, other than the extraction and processing of minerals, 

who are contracted by the mine operator. Hazard training as 

required by 30 CFR Part 46 or 30 CFR Part 48 shall be 

provided to these persons.  

B. Applicants shall complete certification training in first aid 

and mineral mining regulations and law, which is conducted 

by a training instructor approved by DMM the division, a 

certified MSHA instructor, or a certified mine foreman. 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 18, 2013 

658 

Training shall include the following topics, subtopics and 

practical applications:  

1. First aid training shall convey a knowledge of first aid 

practices including identification of trauma symptoms, 

recognition and treatment of external and internal bleeding, 

shock, fractures, and exposure to extreme heat or cold. 

Training shall include a demonstration of skills or passing 

a written an examination, as evidenced by the instructor 

certification submitted in a form acceptable to the division. 

2. Law and regulation training shall convey highlights of 

the mineral mine safety laws of Virginia and the safety and 

health regulations of Virginia. Specifically, information 

shall be provided on miner responsibilities and 

accountability, certification requirements, violations, 

penalties, appeals and reporting violations to DMM the 

division. Training shall include a demonstration of skills or 

passing a written an examination, as evidenced by the 

instructor certification submitted in a form acceptable to 

the division.  

C. The trainer will certify to the department that the training 

and demonstrations required by § 45.1-161.292:28 B of the 

Code of Virginia and this section have occurred.  

D. Applicants who hold a valid first aid card or certificate as 

noted in 4VAC25-35-10 shall be considered to have met the 

first aid requirements.  

E. Applicants who have completed training may commence 

work and shall be considered provisionally certified for up to 

60 days from the date the instructor completes the training.  

F. The instructor shall submit verification of certification in 

a form acceptable to the division and the $10 fee for each 

applicant who completes the training, together with a class 

roster of all persons who complete the training, within 30 

days of the training date.  

G. The mine operator shall maintain the following records 

for those miners required to obtain a general mineral miner 

certification and those who qualify for exemption, starting 

January 1, 1997:  

1. The employee name, address, and phone number.  

2. The job title, employment date and general mineral 

miner number if applicable.  

3. The date training was completed and the instructor 

providing it for nonexempt employees.  

4. If the employee is exempt from the requirements, the 

date they began working in the mineral mining industry in 

Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3357; Filed October 22, 2013, 8:19 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC25-165. Regulations Governing 

the Use of Arbitration to Resolve Coalbed Methane Gas 

Ownership Disputes (adding 4VAC25-165-10 through 

4VAC25-165-130).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 45.1-361.15 and 45.1-361.22:1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 19, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, 

telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapter 442 of the 2010 Acts of Assembly directs the 

Virginia Gas and Oil Board (VGOB) to adopt 

regulations to implement a voluntary arbitration process 

for parties with conflicting claims of ownership of 

coalbed methane gas. VGOB adopts its regulations 

through the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy. 

This regulation establishes the guidelines for the 

arbitration process. Key provisions include how 

arbitrations are funded, the qualifications of the 

arbitrator, and procedures associated with the 

arbitration process.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

CHAPTER 165 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE USE OF 

ARBITRATION TO RESOLVE COALBED METHANE 

GAS OWNERSHIP DISPUTES 

4VAC25-165-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Accrued interest" means funds accrued during the 

preceding 36 months on total proceeds held in the general 

escrow account. Accrued interest does not include escrow 

account fees or administrative costs of the board related to the 

general escrow account. 

"Act" means the Virginia Gas and Oil Act of 1990, Chapter 

22.1 (§ 45.1-361.1 et seq.) of Title 45.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Arbitrator" means a qualified individual appointed by a 

court to render a determination in an ownership dispute 

concerning coalbed methane gas. 

"Board" means the Virginia Gas and Oil Board. 

"Claimant" means a person or entity in a dispute over 

ownership of coalbed methane gas who has agreed to 

arbitration to resolve the dispute. 

"Court" means a circuit court in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia wherein the majority of the subject tract of land is 

located. 

"Department" means the Department of Mines, Minerals and 

Energy. 
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"Escrow account" means the account established by the 

board pursuant to [ § ] § 45.1-361.21 and [ subdivision 2 of 

§ ] 45.1-361.22 [ (2) ] of the Code of Virginia. 

"Ex parte communication" means any form of 

communication between an arbitrator and a claimant without 

the presence of the opposing claimant. 

"Operator" means the gas or oil owner designated by the 

board to operate in or on a pooled unit.  

4VAC25-165-20. Costs of arbitration. 

Arbitrations shall be funded from accrued interest. The 

department shall determine on a case-by-case basis if 

sufficient funds exist to conduct an arbitration. Sufficiency of 

funds shall be determined by the amount of accrued interest 

available at the time arbitration is requested, less estimated 

costs of pending arbitrations. If sufficient funds are not 

available, the department shall maintain a waiting list of 

parties willing to arbitrate. 

4VAC25-165-30. Qualification of arbitrators. 

The department shall review all applications from potential 

arbitrators pursuant to § 45.1-361.22:1 C of the Code of 

Virginia. Applications shall be submitted on a form 

prescribed by the department. In order to qualify, applicants 

must demonstrate substantial expertise in mineral title 

examination. Substantial expertise shall be determined on an 

individual basis. The department shall notify applicants 

deemed to be qualified. 

The department shall maintain a list of qualified arbitrators 

and update it annually. The list shall be supplied to the court 

when the board issues an order for arbitration. Pursuant to 

§ 45.1-361.22:1 C of the Code of Virginia, the court has the 

discretion to appoint an individual not on the list of qualified 

arbitrators. 

In order to maintain a current, accurate list, qualified 

arbitrators shall at least annually update their disclosures to 

the department. 

4VAC25-165-40. Agreement to arbitrate. 

Claimants shall submit their request of arbitration to the 

board on a form prescribed by the department. Claimants 

shall also provide an affidavit pursuant to § 45.1-361.22:1 A 

of the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC25-165-50. Conflicts of interest. 

In addition to the limitations set forth in § 45.1-361.22:1 A 

of the Code of Virginia, an arbitrator may not hear an 

arbitration if the arbitrator is related to one of the claimants, 

has a personal interest in the subject of the arbitration, or if 

other circumstances exist that might affect the arbitrator's 

ability to render a fair determination. If evidence of a conflict 

exists under this section, a claimant may petition the court to 

appoint a different arbitrator. 

4VAC25-165-60. Location. 

The arbitrator shall determine an appropriate time and place 

for the arbitration. The arbitration shall take place in the 

jurisdiction where the majority of the subject tract is located, 

unless all claimants agree to an alternate location. Notice to 

claimants shall be given pursuant to the requirements of 

§ 45.1-361.22:1 D of the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC25-165-70. Postponement of arbitration. 

Any request for postponement may be granted by the 

arbitrator if all claimants consent, or if good cause for a 

postponement is shown to the satisfaction of the arbitrator. 

Requests for postponement for cause should be made to the 

arbitrator at least 15 days before the hearing, unless the 

circumstances requiring the postponement do not allow 15 

days notice. Whenever a postponement is granted, the 

arbitrator will promptly reschedule the hearing and notify the 

board and the claimants. 

4VAC25-165-80. Discovery. 

Pursuant to §§ 8.01-581.06 and 45.1-361.22:1 D of the Code 

of Virginia, the arbitrator may issue subpoenas, administer 

oaths, and take depositions. Additionally, any documents a 

claimant intends to introduce at the arbitration must be shared 

with the opposing claimant and the arbitrator not less than 

five days prior to the arbitration. If this provision is found not 

to be met, the arbitrator may elect to continue the arbitration. 

4VAC25-165-90. Extension of arbitration. 

If, pursuant to § 45.1-361.22:1 E of the Code of Virginia, 

the claimants agree that the arbitrator may take longer than 

six months from the date the board ordered the arbitration to 

render a determination, the arbitrator shall notify the board of 

this extension. 

4VAC25-165-100. Determination of arbitrator. 

Pursuant to § 45.1-361.22:1 E of the Code of Virginia, the 

determination of the arbitrator shall be in writing and sent to 

the board and each party to whom notice is required to be 

given. The determination shall include, at a minimum, a 

finding of facts and an explanation for the basis of the 

determination. A copy of the determination shall be placed on 

the department's website. The arbitrator shall record the 

determination with the clerk's office of the court. 

4VAC25-165-110. Ex parte communications. 

There shall be no direct communication between the 

claimants and the arbitrator concerning the merits of the 

dispute other than at the arbitration hearing. If an ex parte 

communication occurs between a party and the arbitrator 

outside of the arbitration hearing, the arbitrator shall notify 

the other parties of the date, time, place, and content of the 

communication. 

4VAC25-165-120. Fees. 

Arbitrators shall be paid at the rate of no more than $250 per 

hour. Expenses of the arbitrator incurred during the course of 

the arbitration shall be reimbursed in accordance with the 

State Travel Regulations prescribed by the Department of 

Accounts. Arbitrators shall submit a complete W-9 form to 

the department before payment is made. 
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Pursuant to § 45.1-361.22:1 F of the Code of Virginia, 

payment of fees and expenses of the arbitration may be 

delayed if there are intervening disbursements from the 

general escrow account under [ subdivision 5 (i) or (iii) of ] 

§ 45.1-361.22 [ (5)(i) or (iii) ] of the Code of Virginia that 

reduce the interest balance below the amount of fees and 

expenses requested. 

4VAC25-165-130. Disbursement of proceeds. 

Within 30 days of receipt of an affidavit from the claimants 

affirming the determination, the operator shall petition the 

board for disbursement pursuant to [ subdivision 5 of ] 

§ 45.1-361.22 [ (5) ] of the Code of Virginia. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy. The forms are not being published; 

however, the names of the forms are listed below. Online 

users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may 

access the form by clicking on the name of the form. The 

form is also available for public inspection at the Department 

of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219, or at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (4VAC25-165) 

Arbitrator Qualification Form, DGO-ARB (rev. 5/10) 

Agreement to Arbitrate Form, DGO-ARB2 (rev. 7/10) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2556; Filed October 22, 2013, 8:03 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

FORENSIC SCIENCE BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC40-30. Regulations for the 

Approval of Field Tests for Detection of Drugs (amending 

6VAC40-30-10 through 6VAC40-30-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-1110 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2013. 

Effective Date: January 3, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Stephanie Merritt, Department Counsel, 

Department of Forensic Science, 700 North Fifth Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2281, or email 

stephanie.merritt@dfs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 19.2-188.1 of the Code of Virginia requires the 

department to evaluate and, where applicable, approve field 

tests for the detection of drugs, pursuant to regulations 

adopted in accordance with the Administrative Process Act, 

for use by law-enforcement officials. Law-enforcement 

officers may then testify to the results of department-

approved field tests at certain preliminary hearings. The 

amendments to the Regulations for the Approval of Field 

Tests for Detection of Drugs (6VAC40-30) were adopted by 

the Forensic Science Board pursuant to §§ 9.1-1101 and 9.1-

1110 A 1 of the Code of Virginia.  

Purpose: The Regulations for the Approval of Field Tests for 

Detection of Drugs assist law enforcement and the criminal 

justice system by providing information critical to the 

probable cause determination necessary at the time of the 

arrest and subsequent preliminary hearing. This process 

positively impacts judicial economy and constitutional due 

process. Ultimately, therefore, the ability of law enforcement 

and the courts to rely on the results of drug field tests protects 

the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of the 

Commonwealth. 

The amendments change verbiage relating to the department's 

assessment of field test kits pursuant to § 19.2-188.1 of the 

Code of Virginia from an "approval" process to an 

"evaluation" process. Because approval is not automatic, but 

rather depends on the kit's performance during the evaluation 

process, these amendments achieve the goal of more 

accurately expressing the neutrality of the evaluation process. 

The amendments also clarify the procedure for resubmitting 

requests for evaluation after disapproval. If a field test kit is 

disapproved, there is typically an exchange of information 

between the department and the manufacturer regarding why 

the kit was disapproved and any changes made to the kit upon 

resubmission. The amendments formalize this process by 

requiring the kit manufacturer to explain changes or 

corrections made between evaluations by the department. 

Finally, the amendments require manufacturers submitting 

field test kits for evaluation to pay the actual costs of the 

"street drug preparations" used in the evaluation process. The 

existing $50 fee was originally intended to cover the 

manpower costs associated with this testing and has not 

changed since the regulation's 2006 effective date. This fee 

does not address the cost of the street drug preparations used 

in the evaluation process. The street drug preparations, or the 

known substances needed to actually test the efficacy of a 

particular field test, are also called "standards" in the 

scientific community. The standards for controlled drugs, 

particularly standards for newly emerging drugs such as 

research chemicals (e.g., bath salts) are difficult to obtain and 

more expensive than other scheduled substances such as 

heroin or cocaine. For example, the 10 mg sample necessary 

for a single evaluation of a 25C-NBOMe field test costs the 

department $448. In a recent request for evaluation, the fees 

to be paid by the kit manufacturer totaled $1,000, but the 

actual cost to department for materials alone would be 

$1,700. The department's budget does not address these costs, 

nor does the department have a control over the number and 

frequency of costly field tests submitted for evaluation. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e232f002556~1&typ=40&actno=002556&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1f8a6002556~2&typ=40&actno=002556&mime=application/msword
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Currently, these rising costs are supported by Virginia tax 

dollars. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The amendments to 

6VAC40-30, involving the change of "approval" language to 

more neutral "evaluation" terminology as well as a 

clarification regarding the resubmission process, are minor 

and do not change existing, substantive procedures. 

Additionally, the amendment to 6VAC40-30-80 requires drug 

field test kit manufacturers to pay the actual cost of the street 

drug preparations. Based on the current information regarding 

requests for evaluation, this cost would affect only eight out-

of-state kit manufacturers. In September 2012, the department 

conducted a periodic review of this regulation and received 

no public comment. Likewise, the Forensic Science Board 

discussed and voted to adopt these amendments at its January 

and May 2013 public meetings, and no member of the public 

offered a comment. Given these facts, as well as the clear cost 

savings to the Commonwealth, the department does not 

expect these amendments to be controversial. 

Substance: In addition to nonsubstantive verbiage changes 

regarding the "evaluation" process, the amendments clarify 

the resubmission process by noting that resubmitted requests 

for approval "shall be accompanied by a detailed explanation 

of all modifications or changes to the test, the test instructions 

or the manufacturer's claims since the. . . most recent 

evaluation." This procedure merely formalizes the current 

practice in which the department and field test manufacturer 

discuss issues surrounding the resubmission of a previously 

disapproved field test. The amendments to 6VAC40-30-80 

require the field test manufacturers to pay the actual cost of 

the street drug preparations.  

Issues: The proposed clarification of the existing language 

and resubmission procedure will inform and benefit the 

public, stakeholders, and kit manufacturers. The public 

generally benefits from the efficient and neutral field test 

evaluation process to the extent the proper use of department-

approved drug field tests assists law-enforcement officials 

with probable cause determinations and facilitates the judicial 

process. The transfer of the actual cost of the street drug 

preparations used during the kit evaluation process from the 

Commonwealth to the manufacturers is a benefit to 

Virginians, but arguably a disadvantage to the eight out-of-

state kit manufacturers, particularly any manufacturer seeking 

to transfer its kit quality control responsibilities to the 

department because it will be required to pay the actual cost 

of repeated evaluations.  

The department currently bears the cost of the street drug 

preparations used in the field test kit evaluation process. By 

transferring this cost to the manufacturers, the 

Commonwealth will be relieved of a financial burden that is 

increasingly costly.  

The department believes the proposed changes benefit the 

Commonwealth and its citizens. 

Small Business Impact Report of Findings: This regulatory 

action serves as the report of findings of the regulatory review 

pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Forensic Science Board (board) proposes to: 1) require 

manufacturers submitting field test kits for evaluation to pay 

the actual costs of the street drug preparations used in the 

evaluation process, and 2) add clarifying language. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Regulations for the 

Approval of Field Tests for Detection of Drugs assist law 

enforcement and the criminal justice system by providing 

information critical to the probable cause determination 

necessary at the time of the arrest and subsequent preliminary 

hearing. This process positively impacts judicial economy 

and Constitutional due process. Ultimately, therefore, the 

ability of law enforcement and the courts to rely on the results 

of drug field tests protects the health, safety and welfare of 

the citizens of the Commonwealth. 

Under the current regulations, manufacturers submitting field 

test kits for evaluation/approval are charged $50 for each drug 

for which individual evaluation/approval is requested. The 

existing $50 fee was originally intended to cover the 

manpower costs associated with this testing and has not 

changed since the regulation's 2006 effective date. This fee 

does not address the cost of the street drug preparations used 

in the evaluation process. The street drug preparations, or the 

known substances needed to actually test the efficacy of a 

particular field test, are also called standards in the scientific 

community. The standards for controlled drugs, particularly 

standards for newly emerging drugs such as research 

chemicals (e.g., bath salts), are difficult to obtain and more 

expensive than other scheduled substances such as heroin or 

cocaine. For example, the 10mg sample necessary for a single 

evaluation of a 25C-NBOMe field test cost the Department of 

Forensic Science (Department) $448.
1
 In a recent request for 

evaluation, the fees to be paid by the kit manufacturer totaled 

$1000, but the actual cost to the Department for materials 

alone would be $1700.
2
 Effectively, the costs of the street 

drug preparations are paid for by Virginia taxpayers. 

The Department is aware of eight field test kit manufacturers 

likely to be affected by the proposal to charge the actual costs 

of the street drug preparations used in the evaluation process. 

All eight are located outside of Virginia. The firm that has 

most frequently submitted field test kits for evaluation is 

located in Europe. So under the status quo, Virginia taxpayers 

are subsidizing services for firms that are located out of state, 

and in particular a firm located out of country.  

There is no compelling reason to provide this subsidy. There 

is no current concern that there would be a lack of reliable 

field tests for the detection drugs without it. The tax dollars 
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currently being used for this subsidy would likely provide 

greater benefit for the Commonwealth by either being used 

for a more productive purpose or by not being collected from 

the public. Thus, the proposal to charge the actual costs of the 

street drug preparations used in the evaluation process will 

most likely produce a net benefit for the Commonwealth.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

affect the eight manufacturers of field test kits for drug 

detection who have or have indicated an interest in submitting 

field test kits for evaluation/approval. All eight firms are 

located outside of the Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 

use and value of private property within the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 

businesses within the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 

significantly affect small businesses in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 

costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

_____________________________ 
1 Source: Department of Forensic Science 
2 Ibid 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Forensic Science concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) change verbiage relating to the 

Department of Forensic Science's assessment of field test 

kits from an "approval" process to an "evaluation" process 

in an effort to more accurately express the neutrality of the 

evaluation process, (ii) clarify the procedure for 

resubmitting requests for evaluation after disapproval, and 

(iii) require manufacturers submitting field test kits for 

evaluation to pay the actual costs of the "street drug 

preparations" used in the evaluation process. 

Part I  

Definitions  

6VAC40-30-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Agency" means any federal, state or local government law-

enforcement organization in the Commonwealth.  

"Approval authority" means the Director of the Department 

of Forensic Science or designee.  

"Department" means the Department of Forensic Science.  

"Drug" means any controlled substance, imitation controlled 

substance, or marijuana, as defined in § 18.2-247 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

"Field test" means any presumptive chemical test unit used 

outside of a chemical laboratory environment to detect the 

presence of a drug.  

"Field test kit" means a combination of individual field tests 

units.  

"List of approved field tests" means a list of field tests or 

field test kits approved by the department for use by law-

enforcement agencies in the Commonwealth and periodically 

published by the department in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations in accordance with § 19.2-188.1 A of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Manufacturer" means any entity which that makes or 

assembles field test units or field test kits to be used by any 

law-enforcement officer or agency in the Commonwealth for 

the purpose of detecting a drug.  

"Manufacturers' instructions and claims" means those testing 

procedures, requirements, instructions, precautions and 

proposed conclusions which that are published by the 
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manufacturer and supplied with the field tests or field test 

kits.  

"Street drug preparations" means any drug or combination 

of drugs and any other substance which that has been 

encountered or is likely to be encountered by a law-

enforcement officer as a purported drug in the 

Commonwealth.  

Part II  

Process for Approval of Field Tests  

6VAC40-30-20. Authority for approval.  

Section 19.2-188.1 A of the Code of Virginia provides that 

the Department of Forensic Science shall approve field tests 

for use by law-enforcement officers to enable them to testify 

to the results obtained in any preliminary hearing regarding 

whether any substance, the identify of which is at issue in 

such hearing, is a controlled substance, imitation controlled 

substance, or marijuana, as defined in § 18.2-247 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

6VAC40-30-30. Request for approval evaluation.  

A. Any manufacturer who that wishes to have submit field 

tests or field test kits approved for evaluation shall submit a 

written request for approval evaluation to the department 

director at the following address:  

Director 

Department of Forensic Science 

700 North Fifth Street  

Richmond, VA 23219 

B. Materials sufficient for at least 10 field tests shall be 

supplied for each drug for which the manufacturer requests 

approval evaluation. The materials shall include all 

instructions, precautions, color charts, flow charts and the like 

which are provided with the field test or field test kit and 

which describe the use and interpretation of the tests.  

C. The manufacturer shall also include exact specifications 

as to the chemical composition of all chemicals or reagents 

used in the field tests. These shall include the volume or 

weight of the chemicals and the nature of their packaging. 

Material Safety Data Sheets for each chemical or reagent 

shall be sufficient for this purpose.  

D. This approval The department's evaluation process will 

require at least 120 days from the receipt of the written 

request and all needed materials from the manufacturer.  

E. The department will use commonly encountered "street 

drug preparations" to examine those field tests submitted for 

approval evaluation. In order to be approved, the field test 

must correctly react in a clearly observable fashion to the 

naked eye, and perform in accordance with manufacturers' 

instructions and claims.  

6VAC40-30-40. Notice of approval decision.  

The department will notify each manufacturer in writing of 

the approval or disapproval of each test for which approval 

evaluation was requested. Should any test not be approved, 

the manufacturer may resubmit their request for approval 

evaluation of that field test according to the previously 

outlined procedures at any time. Resubmitted requests for 

approval shall be accompanied by a detailed explanation of 

all modifications or changes to the test, the test instructions, 

or the manufacturer's claims since the department's most 

recent evaluation of the test.  

6VAC40-30-50. Maintenance of approved status.  

The department may require that this approval evaluation be 

done as often as annually for routine purposes. If any 

modifications are made to an approved field test by the 

manufacturer, the department shall be notified in writing of 

the changes. If unreported modifications are discovered by 

the department, the department may require that all testing 

and approval evaluations be repeated for the particular 

manufacturers' manufacturer's approved field tests at any 

time. The department shall notify the manufacturer in writing 

of this requirement. Any modified field test must be approved 

before it can be used in accordance with § 19.2-188.1 A of 

the Code of Virginia. These changes shall include, but are not 

limited to any chemical, procedural or instructional 

modifications made to the field test.  

6VAC40-30-60. Publication.  

Upon completion of such testing evaluations and in 

concurrence with the approval authority, the department will 

periodically publish a list of approved field tests in the 

General Notices section of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. The department will also periodically publish 

the list on its website. The department may, in addition, 

provide copies of its approval list to any agency subject to 

this chapter. The department may share any information or 

data developed from this testing with these agencies.  

6VAC40-30-70. Liability.  

A. The department assumes no liability as to the safety of 

these field tests or field test kits, any chemicals contained 

therein or the procedures and instructions by which they are 

used.  

B. The department further assumes no responsibility for any 

incorrect results or interpretations obtained from these 

inherently tentative presumptive chemical tests.  

Part III  

Fees  

6VAC40-30-80. Fees.  

Manufacturers shall pay the actual cost of the street drug 

preparation and will be charged a fee of $50 for each drug or 

type of drug for which individual approval evaluation is 

requested. The department will evaluate review the 

manufacturers' manufacturer's request and notify them the 

manufacturer in writing of the amount due before testing the 

evaluation begins. Manufacturers who wish to withdraw a 

request for approval evaluation shall immediately notify the 

department in writing. The department's assessment of the 

amount of payment required will be based upon a detailed 
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evaluation review of the manufacturer's request and that 

amount will be final. Approval will not be granted The 

evaluation process will not be initiated before full payment is 

made to the Treasurer of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3798; Filed October 25, 2013, 1:18 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC5-130. Regulation for Open 

Burning (Rev. E12) (amending 9VAC5-130-10 through 

9VAC5-130-50, 9VAC5-130-100; repealing 9VAC5-130-

60).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 

§§ 110, 111, 123, 129, 171, 172, and 182 of the federal Clean 

Air Act; 40 CFR Parts 51 and 60. 

Public Hearing Information: 

November 19, 2013 - 1:30 p.m. - Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 2nd Floor, 

Conference Room A, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: January 21, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 

698-4510, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: State Requirements - These specific regulations are not 

required by state mandate. Rather, Virginia's Air Pollution 

Control Law gives the State Air Pollution Control Board the 

discretionary authority to promulgate regulations "abating, 

controlling and prohibiting air pollution throughout or in any 

part of the Commonwealth" (§ 10.1-1308 of the Code of 

Virginia). The law defines such air pollution as "the presence 

in the outdoor atmosphere of one or more substances which 

are or may be harmful or injurious to human health, welfare 

or safety, to animal or plant life, or to property, or which 

unreasonably interfere with the enjoyment by the people or 

life or property" (§ 10.1-1300 of the Code of Virginia). 

Specifically, § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia provides 

that the board shall have the power to promulgate regulations 

abating, controlling, and prohibiting air pollution throughout 

or in any part of the Commonwealth in accordance with the 

provisions of the Administrative Process Act. It further 

provides that no such regulation shall prohibit the burning of 

leaves from trees by persons on property where they reside if 

the local governing body of the county, city or town has 

enacted an otherwise valid ordinance regulating such burning. 

Federal Requirements - Section 110(a) of the federal Clean 

Air Act mandates that each state adopt and submit to the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) a plan that provides 

for the implementation, maintenance, and enforcement of 

each primary and secondary air quality standard within each 

air quality control region in the state. The state 

implementation plan (SIP) shall be adopted only after 

reasonable public notice is given and public hearings are held. 

The plan shall include provisions to accomplish, among other 

tasks, the following: 

1. Establish enforceable emission limitations and other 

control measures as necessary to comply with the 

provisions of the Act, including economic incentives such 

as fees, marketable permits, and auctions of emissions 

rights; 

2. Establish schedules for compliance; 

3. Prohibit emissions which would contribute to 

nonattainment of the standards or interference with 

maintenance of the standards by any state; and 

4. Require sources of air pollution to install, maintain, and 

replace monitoring equipment as necessary and to report 

periodically on emissions-related data. 

40 CFR Part 51 sets out requirements for the preparation, 

adoption, and submittal of state implementation plans. These 

requirements mandate that any such plan shall include several 

provisions, including those summarized below. 

Subpart G (Control Strategy) specifies the description of 

control measures and schedules for implementation, the 

description of emissions reductions estimates sufficient to 

attain and maintain the standards, time periods for 

demonstrations of the control strategy's adequacy, an 

emissions inventory, an air quality data summary, data 

availability, special requirements for lead emissions, stack 

height provisions, and intermittent control systems. 

Subpart K (Source Surveillance) specifies procedures for 

emissions reports and recordkeeping; procedures for testing, 

inspection, enforcement, and complaints; transportation 

control measures; and procedures for continuous emissions 

monitoring. 

Subpart L (Legal Authority) specifies the requirements for 

legal authority to implement plans. Section 51.230 under 

Subpart L specifies that each state implementation plan must 

show that the state has the legal authority to carry out the 

plan, including the authority to perform the following actions: 

1. Adopt emission standards and limitations and any other 

measures necessary for the attainment and maintenance of 

the national ambient air quality standards; 

2. Enforce applicable laws, regulations, and standards, and 

seek injunctive relief; 

3. Abate pollutant emissions on an emergency basis to 

prevent substantial endangerment to the health of persons; 

4. Prevent construction, modification, or operation of a 

facility, building, structure, or installation, or combination 

thereof, which directly or indirectly results or may result in 
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emissions of any air pollutant at any location which will 

prevent the attainment or maintenance of a national 

standard; 

5. Obtain information necessary to determine whether air 

pollution sources are in compliance with applicable laws, 

regulations, and standards, including authority to require 

record-keeping and to make inspections and conduct tests 

of air pollution sources; 

6. Require owners or operators of stationary sources to 

install, maintain, and use emission monitoring devices and 

to make periodic reports to the state on the nature and 

amounts of emissions from such stationary sources; and 

7. Make emissions data available to the public as reported 

and as correlated with any applicable emission standards or 

limitations. 

Section 51.231 under Subpart L requires the identification of 

legal authority as follows: (i) the provisions of law or 

regulation which the state determines provide the authorities 

required under this section must be specifically identified, and 

copies of such laws or regulations must be submitted with the 

plan; and (ii) the plan must show that the legal authorities 

specified in this subpart are available to the state at the time 

of submission of the plan. 

Subpart N (Compliance Schedules) specifies legally 

enforceable compliance schedules, final compliance schedule 

dates, and conditions for extensions beyond one year. 

Part D of the Clean Air Act specifies state implementation 

plan requirements for nonattainment areas, with Subpart 1 

covering nonattainment areas in general and Subpart 2 

covering additional provisions for ozone nonattainment areas. 

Section 171 defines "reasonable further progress," 

"nonattainment area," "lowest achievable emission rate," and 

"modification." Section 172(a) authorizes EPA to classify 

nonattainment areas for the purpose of assigning attainment 

dates. Section 172(b) authorizes EPA to establish schedules 

for the submission of plans designed to achieve attainment by 

the specified dates. Section 172(c) specifies the provisions to 

be included in each attainment plan, as follows: 

1. The implementation of all reasonably available control 

measures as expeditiously as practicable and shall provide 

for the attainment of the national ambient air quality 

standards; 

2. The requirement of reasonable further progress; 

3. A comprehensive, accurate, current inventory of actual 

emissions from all sources of the relevant pollutants in the 

nonattainment area; 

4. An identification and quantification of allowable 

emissions from the construction and modification of new 

and modified major stationary sources in the nonattainment 

area; 

5. The requirement for permits for the construction and 

operations of new and modified major stationary sources in 

the nonattainment area; 

6. The inclusion of enforceable emission limitations and 

such other control measures (including economic 

incentives such as fees, marketable permits, and auctions 

of emission rights) as well as schedules for compliance; 

7. If applicable, the proposal of equivalent modeling, 

emission inventory, or planning procedures; and 

8. The inclusion of specific contingency measures to be 

undertaken if the nonattainment area fails to make 

reasonable further progress or to attain the national 

ambient air quality standards by the attainment date. 

Section 172(d) requires that attainment plans be revised if 

EPA finds inadequacies. Section 172(e) authorizes the 

issuance of requirements for nonattainment areas in the event 

of a relaxation of any national ambient air quality standard. 

Such requirements shall provide for controls which are not 

less stringent than the controls applicable to these same areas 

before such relaxation. 

Section 182(b) requires stationary sources in moderate 

nonattainment areas to comply with the requirements for 

sources in marginal nonattainment areas. Section 182(c) 

requires stationary sources in serious nonattainment areas to 

comply with the requirements for sources in both marginal 

and moderate nonattainment areas. 

EPA has issued detailed guidance that sets out its preliminary 

views on the implementation of the air quality planning 

requirements applicable to nonattainment areas: the "General 

Preamble for the Implementation of Title I of the Clean Air 

Act Amendments of 1990" (See 57 FR 13498 (April 16, 

1992)) and 57 FR 18070 (April 28, 1992). The General 

Preamble has been supplemented with further guidance on 

Title I requirements. 

Purpose: The regulation is necessary for the protection of 

public health and safety as it is needed to meet the primary 

goals of the federal Clean Air Act: the attainment and 

maintenance of the National Ambient Air Quality Standards 

(NAAQS) and the prevention of significant deterioration 

(PSD) of air quality in areas cleaner than the NAAQS. 

The NAAQS, developed and promulgated by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), establish the 

maximum limits of pollutants that are permitted in the outside 

ambient air in order to protect public health and safety. EPA 

requires that each state submit a state implementation plan 

(SIP), including any laws and regulations necessary to 

enforce the plan, that shows how the air pollution 

concentrations will be reduced to levels at or below these 

standards (attainment). Once the pollution levels are within 

the standards, the SIP must also demonstrate how the state 

will maintain the air pollution concentrations at the reduced 

levels (maintenance). 
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A SIP is the key to the state's air quality programs. The Act is 

specific concerning the elements required for an acceptable 

SIP. If a state does not prepare such a plan, or EPA does not 

approve a submitted plan, then EPA itself is empowered to 

take the necessary actions to attain and maintain the air 

quality standards--that is, it would have to promulgate and 

implement an air quality plan for that state. EPA is also 

required by law to impose sanctions in cases where there is no 

approved plan or the plan is not being implemented--the 

sanctions consisting of loss of federal funds for highways and 

other projects or more restrictive requirements for new 

industry or both. Generally, the plan is revised, as needed, 

based upon changes in the Act and its requirements. 

The basic approach to developing a SIP is to examine air 

quality across the state, delineate areas where air quality 

needs improvement, determine the degree of improvement 

necessary, inventory the sources contributing to the problem, 

develop a control strategy to reduce emissions from 

contributing sources enough to bring about attainment of the 

air quality standards, implement the strategy, and take the 

steps necessary to ensure that the air quality standards are not 

violated in the future. The heart of the SIP is the control 

strategy. The control strategy describes the emission 

reduction measures to be used by the state to attain and 

maintain the air quality standards. 

Federal guidance on states' approaches to the inclusion of 

control measures in the SIP has varied considerably over the 

years, ranging from very general in the early years of the 

Clean Air Act to very specific in more recent years. Many 

regulatory requirements were adopted in the 1970s when no 

detailed guidance existed. The legally binding federal 

mandate for these regulations is general, not specific, 

consisting of the Act's broad-based directive to states to attain 

and maintain the air quality standards. However, in recent 

years, the Act, along with EPA regulations and policy, has 

become much more specific, thereby removing much of the 

states' discretion to craft their own air quality control 

programs. 

Generally, a SIP is revised, as needed, based upon changes in 

air quality or statutory requirements. For the most part the 

SIP has worked, and the standards have been attained for 

most pollutants in most areas. However, attainment of 

NAAQS for one pollutant – ozone – has proven problematic. 

While ozone is needed at the earth's outer atmospheric layer, 

excess concentrations at the surface have an adverse effect on 

human health and safety. Ozone is formed by a chemical 

reaction between volatile organic compounds (VOCs), 

nitrogen oxides (NOX), and sunlight. When VOC and 

NOX emissions are reduced, ozone is reduced. 

The Act establishes a process for evaluating the air quality in 

each region and identifying and classifying each 

nonattainment area according to the severity of its air 

pollution problem. Nonattainment areas are classified as 

marginal, moderate, serious, severe and extreme. Marginal 

areas are subject to the least stringent requirements and each 

subsequent classification (or class) is subject to successively 

more stringent control measures. Areas in a higher 

classification of nonattainment must meet the mandates of the 

lower classifications plus the more stringent requirements of 

their class. In addition to the general SIP-related sanctions, 

nonattainment areas have their own unique sanctions. If a 

particular area fails to attain the federal standard by the 

legislatively mandated attainment date, EPA is required to 

reassign it to the next higher classification level (denoting a 

worse air quality problem), thus subjecting the area to more 

stringent air pollution control requirements. The Act includes 

specific provisions requiring these sanctions to be issued by 

EPA if so warranted. 

Once a nonattainment area is defined, each state is then 

obligated to submit a SIP demonstrating how it will attain the 

air quality standards in each nonattainment area. Certain 

specific control measures and other requirements must be 

adopted and included in the SIP. In cases where the specific 

federal control measures are inadequate to achieve the 

emission reductions or attain the air quality standard, the state 

is obligated to adopt additional control measures as necessary 

to achieve this end. The open burning rule is needed to make 

legally enforceable one of several control measures identified 

in plans submitted by the Commonwealth for the attainment 

and maintenance of the ozone air quality standard. 

The Regulation for Open Burning (4VAC5-130) is intended 

to meet three goals: (i) to protect public health and safety with 

the least possible cost and intrusiveness to the citizens and 

businesses of the Commonwealth; (ii) to reduce VOC 

emissions in Virginia's ozone nonattainment areas to facilitate 

the attainment and maintenance of the air quality standards; 

and (iii) to require that open burning be conducted in a 

manner as to prevent the release of air pollutants. The purpose 

of the planned action is to revise the regulation as needed to 

efficiently and effectively meet its goals while avoiding 

unreasonable hardships on the general public, the department, 

and the regulated community. 

The current regulation provides for the control of open 

burning and use of special incineration devices. It specifies 

the materials that may and may not be burned, the conditions 

under which burning may occur, and the legal responsibilities 

of the person conducting the burning. The regulation permits 

open burning or the use of special incineration devices for 

disposal of clean burning construction waste, debris waste 

and demolition waste but provides for a restriction during 

ozone season (May through September) in the volatile 

organic compound (VOC) emissions control areas, which 

generally correspond to nonattainment areas, as well as 

maintenance and early action compact areas that require 

additional controls to avoid a nonattainment designation. 

Open burning is limited to clean burning waste and debris 

waste; certain materials may never be burned anywhere at any 

time. Finally, the regulation provides a model ordinance for 
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localities that wish to adopt their own legally enforceable 

mechanisms to control burning. 

In addition to controlling ozone, open burning restrictions 

control particulate matter (smoke) and hazardous air 

pollutants, which are harmful to human health. 

Open burning in the Commonwealth has been regulated by 

the board since 1972. As the years pass, the need to control 

certain types of burning and how to do so evolves, and the 

regulation must be evaluated and revised from time to time in 

order to effectively meet its goals. Since the last substantive 

revision of the regulation in 2003, the following specific 

issues have been identified. 

1. Applicability: Although the population has increased 

and cities and towns have expanded, so too have methods 

of dealing with certain waste materials; for example, 

opportunities for recycling and composting have increased. 

Numerous localities have also opted to adopt open burning 

ordinances in the interest of expeditiously meeting their 

residents' needs. In addition, areas with recognized 

pollution problems, such as ozone nonattainment areas, 

have open burning restrictions that enable the 

Commonwealth to meet targeted national standards. 

In Virginia, localities have the power to regulate only what 

the General Assembly expressly provides. The fact that the 

Virginia legislature has explicitly allowed for local control 

over open burning suggests a legislative intent that 

localities should be able to control—or not control—open 

burning as they see fit. Essentially, open burning is a local 

air pollution problem and should be addressed via local 

governments working together to respond to the needs of 

their citizens and local governments that have complete 

authority to adopt or intervene as they deem appropriate 

for the citizens of their jurisdictions. 

Additionally, DEQ staff endeavor to ensure that the board's 

regulations are properly implemented and enforced. 

However, it is not DEQ staff's role to address 

neighborhood disputes; rather, local law-enforcement 

personnel are best able to address such disagreements. If 

local police and fire services cannot resolve such problems, 

it is not reasonable to expect DEQ personnel to do so in 

their stead. Local services are also better equipped to more 

quickly respond to a local issue; the investigation of an 

open burning complaint by DEQ staff can be far more 

time-consuming and therefore less effective in addressing a 

complaint. Furthermore, in the case of an actual 

environmental emergency, DEQ's Pollution Response 

Program (PREP) provides for responses to pollution 

incidents in order to protect human health and the 

environment. PREP staff often work to assist local 

emergency responders, other state agencies, federal 

agencies, and responsible parties, as may be needed, to 

manage pollution incidents. 

It is believed that the board's open burning regulation 

should be limited to VOC control areas (see 9VAC5-20-

206), which correspond to localities with recognized air 

pollution issues. Other localities would still be able to 

adopt and implement local burning ordinances in 

accordance with state law should local conditions and 

needs warrant, and the model ordinance contained within 

the state rule would be retained. Note that although not 

every locality in Virginia has an open burning ordinance or 

provides curbside waste pickup, virtually all localities have 

some form of fire protection and nuisance codes that can 

be used to directly address local open burning problems. 

2. Urban areas: 9VAC5-130-40 A 5 allows open burning in 

"urban areas" for the on-site destruction of leaves and tree, 

yard and garden trimmings located on private property if 

no regularly scheduled public or private collection service 

is available. In "non-urban" areas, such open burning is 

permitted regardless of the availability of collection 

service. Urban areas are defined generally in 9VAC5-10 

(General Definitions), with the specific localities listed in 

9VAC5-20-201. 

The concept of "urban areas" was adopted by the board in 

the early 1980s in order to balance the need for waste 

disposal in areas without access to public services such as 

refuse collection against the health and safety needs of 

those persons likely to be affected. Since then, the term 

"urban areas" has been superseded by other federally 

established terms for characterizing population groups, 

including "urban clusters" and "urbanized areas." 

Ultimately, each community determines what characterizes 

an area and treats it accordingly, whether through zoning, 

ordinance, or providing certain services. Additionally, the 

delimitation of areas in the context of control of air 

pollution has evolved from focus on population to focus on 

measured air pollution (that is, to emissions control areas). 

Since population characteristics are not necessarily 

indicative of an air pollution problem, the criteria for 

burning limitations should not be based on a list of "urban 

areas," but simply as to whether or not waste collection 

service is available. Emissions control areas, which have 

known, quantifiable air pollution control issues, would 

continue to be governed by the open burning regulation in 

addition to any local ordinances. Otherwise, as discussed 

elsewhere, the locality may choose to regulate--or not 

regulate--open burning as it deems appropriate 

3. On-site: The term "on-site" was originally added in 

order to limit open burning where the waste material was 

generated to minimize problems associated with the 

transport and storage of solid waste. However, the Virginia 

Department of Transportation (VDOT) cannot burn 

highway maintenance debris "on-site" and therefore, 

special provisions have been added to address the specific 

burning needs of VDOT. For all other situations, the "on-

site" requirements remain. 

During the regulatory development process, other options 

for improving the regulation will be entertained. 
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Substance:  

1. The applicability provisions are modified to establish 

new parts of the regulation (Part II, Volatile Organic 

Compound Emissions Control Areas, and Part III, Special 

Statewide Requirements for Forestry, Agricultural, and 

Highway Programs) and to specify that open burning 

prohibitions and restrictions and permissible open burning 

provisions apply only in VOC emissions control areas. 

2. Definitions for "regular burn site" and "volatile organic 

compound emissions control area" have been added. 

3. The reference to "urban areas" has been deleted from the 

permissible burning provisions for VOC emissions control 

areas. Open burning is now predicated according to 

whether a regularly scheduled collection for leaf/yard 

trimmings or household waste is available. 

4. Part III is created to address special statewide 

requirements for forestry, agricultural, and highway 

programs. 

5. Part IV, Local Ordinances, has been modified to 

stipulate that any model ordinance in VOC control areas 

must include all prohibitions and restrictions on burning 

currently imposed in the state regulation. Model ordinances 

for areas outside of the VOC emissions control areas must, 

at a minimum, include the general and statewide provisions 

of the statewide regulation. 

Issues: The public will benefit from a more rapid resolution 

of nuisance problems by contacting local authorities rather 

than DEQ regional offices. In addition, public health may 

likely benefit in that the department will be directing scarce 

resources to air quality issues with a more serious impact on 

health and safety. Some members of the public may perceive 

limiting options for complaints to local authorities as a 

disadvantage. However, local government control of open 

burning outside of volatile organic compound emissions 

control areas is expected to provide for locality-specific 

controls, and more timely and effective response to 

complaints. 

The department will be able to redirect staff resources to 

other air quality issues with a greater impact on public health 

and safety. There are no disadvantages to the department. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Air Pollution Control Board (Board) proposes to: 1) limit the 

requirements of this regulation to only VOC emissions 

control areas, 2) delete the reference to "urban areas" from the 

permissible burning provisions for VOC emissions control 

areas, 3) add special provisions to address the specific 

burning needs of VDOT, 4) add clarifying language, and 5) 

eliminate obsolete language. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Background. The Regulation for 

Open Burning is part of the Commonwealth's effort to meet 

the primary goals of the federal Clean Air Act: the attainment 

and maintenance of the National Ambient Air Quality 

Standards (NAAQS) and the prevention of significant 

deterioration (PSD) of air quality in areas cleaner than the 

NAAQS. The NAAQS, developed and promulgated by the 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), establish the 

maximum limits of pollutants that are permitted in the outside 

ambient air in order to protect public health and safety. EPA 

requires that each state submit a State Implementation Plan 

(SIP), including any laws and regulations necessary to 

enforce the plan, which shows how the air pollution 

concentrations will be reduced to levels at or below these 

standards (attainment). Once the pollution levels are within 

the standards, the SIP must also demonstrate how the state 

will maintain the air pollution concentrations at the reduced 

levels (maintenance). 

A SIP is the key to the state's air quality programs. The Act is 

specific concerning the elements required for an acceptable 

SIP. If a state does not prepare such a plan, or EPA does not 

approve a submitted plan, then EPA itself is empowered to 

take the necessary actions to attain and maintain the air 

quality standards--that is, it would have to promulgate and 

implement an air quality plan for that state. EPA is also, by 

law, required to impose sanctions in cases where there is no 

approved plan or the plan is not being implemented, the 

sanctions consisting of loss of federal funds for highways and 

other projects and/or more restrictive requirements for new 

industry. Generally, the plan is revised, as needed, based upon 

changes in the Act and its requirements. 

Generally, a SIP is revised, as needed, based upon changes in 

air quality or statutory requirements. For the most part the 

SIP has worked, and the standards have been attained for 

most pollutants in most areas. However, attainment of 

NAAQS for one pollutant – ozone – has proven problematic. 

While ozone is needed at the earth's outer atmospheric layer, 

excess concentrations at the surface have an adverse effect on 

human health and safety. Ozone is formed by a chemical 

reaction between volatile organic compounds (VOCs), 

nitrogen oxides (NOX), and sunlight. When VOC and 

NOX emissions are reduced, ozone is reduced. 

Once a nonattainment area is defined, each state is then 

obligated to submit a SIP demonstrating how it will attain the 

air quality standards in each nonattainment area. Certain 

specific control measures and other requirements must be 

adopted and included in the SIP. In cases where the specific 

federal control measures are inadequate to achieve the 

emission reductions or attain the air quality standard, the state 

is obligated to adopt additional control measures as necessary 

to achieve this end. The open burning rule is needed to reduce 

VOC emissions in Virginia's ozone nonattainment areas to 

facilitate the attainment and maintenance of the air quality 

standards. 
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The current regulation provides for the control of open 

burning and use of special incineration devices. It specifies 

the materials that may and may not be burned, the conditions 

under which burning may occur, and the legal responsibilities 

of the person conducting the burning. The regulation permits 

open burning or the use of special incineration devices for 

disposal of clean burning construction waste, debris waste 

and demolition waste but provides for a restriction during 

ozone season (May through September) in the VOC 

emissions control areas, which generally correspond to 

nonattainment areas, as well as maintenance and Early Action 

Compact areas that require additional controls to avoid a 

nonattainment designation. Open burning is limited to clean 

burning waste and debris waste; certain materials may never 

be burned anywhere at any time. Finally, the regulation 

provides a model ordinance for localities that wish to adopt 

their own legally enforceable mechanisms to control burning. 

Numerous localities have opted to adopt open burning 

ordinances in practice. 

Limiting application of regulation 

The Board proposes to limit the application of this regulation 

to only VOC emissions control areas. Other localities would 

still be able to adopt and implement local burning ordinances 

in accordance with state law should local conditions and 

needs warrant, and the model ordinance contained within the 

state rule would be retained. Note that although not every 

locality in Virginia has an open burning ordinance or 

provides curbside waste pickup, virtually all localities have 

some form of fire protection and nuisance codes that can be 

used to directly address local open burning problems. 

According to the Department of Environmental Quality 

(Department), currently approximately 840 hours per year are 

spent by the agency on open burning compliance activities. 

The Department estimates that the proposal to limit the 

application of this regulation to only VOC emissions control 

areas will reduce the required staff time to address open 

burning issues by about 75 percent, consequently saving 

about 630 hours. The Department believes that this time can 

be more productively spent on air quality issues with a more 

serious impact on health and safety. 

Urban areas 

The current regulation allows open burning in "urban areas" 

for the on-site destruction of leaves and tree, yard and garden 

trimmings located on private property if no regularly 

scheduled public or private collection service is available. In 

"non-urban" areas, such open burning is permitted regardless 

of the availability of collection service. 

The concept of "urban areas" was adopted by the board in the 

early 1980s in order to balance the need for waste disposal in 

areas without access to public services such as refuse 

collection against the health and safety needs of those persons 

likely to be affected. Since population characteristics are not 

necessarily indicative of an air pollution problem, the criteria 

for burning limitations is not sensibly based on a list of 

"urban areas," but simply as to whether or not waste 

collection service is available. Thus the Board proposes to 

delete the reference to "urban areas" from the permissible 

burning provisions for VOC emissions control areas. 

On-site 

The term "on-site" was originally added in order to limit open 

burning where the waste material was generated to minimize 

problems associated with the transport and storage of solid 

waste. However, the Virginia Department of Transportation 

(VDOT) cannot burn highway maintenance debris "on-site" 

and therefore the Board proposes to add special provisions to 

address the specific burning needs of VDOT. For all other 

situations, the "on-site" requirements remain. 

The special provisions for VDOT are consistent with a 

Memorandum of Understanding that is currently in effect 

between DEQ and VDOT. Thus this proposed change will not 

have a significant impact in practice. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Open burning may be 

conducted by a wide range of businesses, agencies, and 

individual citizens. However, none of the contemplated 

changes to the regulation will have any direct impact on how 

open burning is conducted; rather, the regulatory amendments 

will clarify how open burning concerns are to be addressed: at 

the local or state level. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

particularly affect localities which are not in VOC control 

areas, and do not currently have local open burning 

ordinances. The following counties fall into this category: 

Allegheny, Amelia, Amherst, Appomattox, Augusta, Bath, 

Bedford, Bland, Brunswick, Buchanan, Buckingham, Carroll, 

Charlotte, Clarke, Craig, Cumberland, Dickenson, Dinwiddie, 

Essex, Floyd, Fluvanna, Franklin, Giles, Goochland, 

Grayson, Greene, Greensville, Highland, King and Queen, 

King William, Lancaster, Lee, Louisa, Madison, Mathews, 

Mecklenburg, Middlesex, Montgomery, Nelson, New Kent, 

Northumberland, Nottoway, Orange, Page, Patrick, 

Powhatan, Prince Edward, Pulaski, Rappahannock, 

Richmond, Rockbridge, Rockingham, Russell, Scott, 

Southampton, Sussex, Westmoreland, and Wythe. The 

following cities fall into this category: Bedford, Buena Vista, 

Clifton Forge, Covington, Emporia, Galax, Lexington, and 

Norton. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

will not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments will not significantly affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments will not increase costs for small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect small businesses. 
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Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

will not significantly affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property.  Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and has 

no comment. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) specify that open burning 

prohibitions and restrictions and permissible open burning 

provisions apply only in volatile organic compound (VOC) 

emissions control areas; (ii) delete the reference to "urban 

areas" from the permissible burning provisions for VOC 

emissions control areas; (iii) add special provisions to 

address the specific burning needs of the Virginia 

Department of Transportation; and (iv) add clarifying 

language and eliminate obsolete language. 

Part I  

General Provisions  

9VAC5-130-10. Applicability. 

A. Except as provided in subsections C and D of this 

section, the provisions of this chapter apply to any person 

who permits or engages in open burning or who permits or 

engages in burning using special incineration devices. Special 

incineration devices, including open pit incinerators, are 

exempt from permitting requirements according to the 

provisions of 9VAC5-80-1105 and such exemption applies 

throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

B. The provisions This part and Part II (9VAC5-130-30 et 

seq.) of this chapter apply to volatile organic compounds 

emissions control areas (see 9VAC5-20-206). This part and 

Parts III (9VAC5-130-50 et seq.) and IV (9VAC5-130-100 et 

seq.) of this chapter apply throughout the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. 

C. The provisions of this chapter do This chapter does not 

apply to such an extent as to prohibit the burning of leaves by 

persons on property where they reside if the local governing 

body of the county, city or town in which such persons reside 

has enacted an otherwise valid ordinance (under the 

provisions of § 10.1-1308 of the Virginia Air Pollution 

Control Law) regulating such burning in all or any part of the 

locality as required in Part IV of this chapter. 

D. The provisions of this chapter do This chapter does not 

apply to air curtain incinerators subject to the provisions of (i) 

Article 45 (9VAC5-40-6250 et seq.), Article 46 (9VAC5-40-

6550 et seq.), or Article 54 (9VAC5-40-7950 et seq.) of 

9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources) or (ii) Subparts Eb, 

AAAA or CCCC of 40 CFR Part 60. 

9VAC5-130-20. Definitions. 

A. For the purpose of these regulations this chapter and 

subsequent amendments or any orders issued by the board, 

the words or terms shall have the meanings given them in 

subsection C of this section. 

B. As used in this chapter, all terms not defined here shall 

have the meaning meanings given them in 9VAC5-10 

(General Definitions), unless otherwise required by context. 

C. Terms defined: 

"Air curtain incinerator" means an incinerator that operates 

by forcefully projecting a curtain of air across an open 

chamber or pit in which combustion occurs. Incinerators of 

this type can be constructed above or below ground and with 

or without refractory walls and floor. Air curtain incinerators 

are not to be confused with conventional combustion devices 

with enclosed fireboxes and controlled air technology such as 

mass burn, modular, and fluidized bed combustors. 

"Automobile graveyard" means any lot or place that is 

exposed to the weather and upon which more than five motor 

vehicles of any kind, incapable of being operated, and that it 

would not be economically practical to make operative, are 

placed, located or found. 

"Built-up area" means any area with a substantial portion 

covered by industrial, commercial or residential buildings. 

"Clean burning waste" means waste that is not prohibited to 

be burned under this chapter and that consists only of (i) 

100% wood waste, (ii) 100% clean lumber or clean wood, 

(iii) 100% yard waste, or (iv) 100% mixture of only any 

combination of wood waste, clean lumber, clean wood or 

yard waste. 

"Clean lumber" means wood or wood products that have 

been cut or shaped and include wet, air-dried, and kiln-dried 

wood products. Clean lumber does not include wood products 
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that have been painted, pigment-stained, or pressure-treated 

by compounds such as chromate copper arsenate, 

pentachlorophenol, and creosote. 

"Clean wood" means uncontaminated natural or untreated 

wood. Clean wood includes, but is not limited to, byproducts 

of harvesting activities conducted for forest management or 

commercial logging, or mill residues consisting of bark, 

chips, edgings, sawdust, shavings or slabs. It does not include 

wood that has been treated, adulterated, or chemically 

changed in some way; treated with glues, binders or resins; or 

painted, stained or coated. 

"Commercial waste" means all solid waste generated by 

establishments engaged in business operations other than 

manufacturing or construction. This category includes, but is 

not limited to, waste resulting from the operation of stores, 

markets, office buildings, restaurants and shopping centers. 

"Construction waste" means solid waste that is produced or 

generated during construction, remodeling, or repair of 

pavements, houses, commercial buildings and other 

structures. Construction waste consists of lumber, wire, 

sheetrock, broken brick, shingles, glass, pipes, concrete, and 

metal and plastics if the metal or plastics are a part of the 

materials of construction or empty containers for such 

materials. Paints, coatings, solvents, asbestos, any liquid, 

compressed gases or semi-liquids, and garbage are not 

construction wastes and the disposal of such materials shall 

be in accordance with the regulations of the Virginia Waste 

Management Board. 

"Debris waste" or "vegetative debris" means wastes 

resulting from land clearing operations. Debris wastes include 

but are not limited to stumps, wood, brush, leaves, soil and 

road spoils. 

"Demolition waste" means that solid waste that is produced 

by the destruction of structures, or their foundations, or both, 

and includes the same materials as construction waste. 

"Garbage" means readily putrescible discarded materials 

composed of animal, vegetable or other organic matter. 

"Hazardous waste" means a "hazardous waste" as described 

in 9VAC20-60 (Hazardous Waste Management Regulations). 

"Household waste" means any waste material, including 

garbage, trash and refuse derived from households. For 

purposes of this regulation, households include single and 

multiple residences, hotels and motels, bunkhouses, ranger 

stations, crew quarters, campgrounds, picnic grounds and 

day-use recreation areas. Household wastes do not include 

sanitary waste in septic tanks (septage) that is regulated by 

other state agencies. 

"Industrial waste" means any solid waste generated by 

manufacturing or industrial process that is not a regulated 

hazardous waste. Such waste may include but is not limited to 

waste resulting from the following manufacturing processes: 

electric power generation; fertilizer/agricultural chemicals; 

food and related products/byproducts; inorganic chemicals; 

iron and steel manufacturing; leather and leather products; 

nonferrous metals manufacturing/foundries; organic 

chemicals; plastics and resins manufacturing; pulp and paper 

industry; rubber and miscellaneous plastic products; stone, 

glass, clay and concrete products; textile manufacturing; 

transportation equipment; and water treatment. This term 

does not include mining waste or oil and gas waste. 

"Junk" means old or scrap copper, brass, rope, rags, 

batteries, paper, trash, rubber, debris, waste, or junked, 

dismantled, or wrecked automobiles, or parts thereof, iron, 

steel, and other old or scrap ferrous or nonferrous material. 

"Junkyard" means an establishment or place of business that 

is maintained, operated, or used for storing, keeping, buying, 

or selling junk, or for the maintenance or operation of an 

automobile graveyard, and the term shall include garbage 

dumps and sanitary landfills. 

"Landfill" means a sanitary landfill, an industrial waste 

landfill, or a construction/demolition/debris landfill. See Part 

I (9VAC20-81-10 et seq.) of 9VAC20-81 (Solid Waste 

Management Regulations) for further definitions of these 

terms. 

"Local landfill" means any landfill located within the 

jurisdiction of a local government. 

"Open burning" means the combustion of solid waste 

without: 

1. Control of combustion air to maintain adequate 

temperature for efficient combustion; 

2. Containment of the combustion reaction in an enclosed 

device to provide sufficient residence time and mixing for 

complete combustion; and 

3. Control of the combustion products' emission. 

"Open pit incinerator" means a device used to burn waste for 

the primary purpose of reducing the volume by removing 

combustible matter. Such devices function by directing a 

curtain of air at an angle across the top of a trench or similarly 

enclosed space, thus reducing the amount of combustion 

byproducts emitted into the atmosphere. The term also 

includes trench burners, air curtain incinerators and over draft 

incinerators. 

"Refuse" means all solid waste products having the 

characteristics of solids rather than liquids and that are 

composed wholly or partially of materials such as garbage, 

trash, rubbish, litter, residues from clean up of spills or 

contamination or other discarded materials. 

"Regular burn site" means, in reference to burning 

conducted by the Virginia Department of Transportation, 

state-owned property where burning is expected to occur 

greater than once per year. 

"Salvage operation" means any operation consisting of a 

business, trade or industry participating in salvaging or 

reclaiming any product or material, such as, but not limited 

to, reprocessing of used motor oils, metals, chemicals, 
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shipping containers or drums, and specifically including 

automobile graveyards and junkyards. 

"Sanitary landfill" means an engineered land burial facility 

for the disposal of household waste that is so located, 

designed, constructed, and operated to contain and isolate the 

waste so that it does not pose a substantial present or potential 

hazard to human health or the environment. A sanitary 

landfill also may receive other types of solid wastes, such as 

commercial solid waste, nonhazardous sludge, hazardous 

waste from conditionally exempt small quantity generators, 

construction, demolition, or debris waste and nonhazardous 

industrial solid waste. See Part I (9VAC20-81-10 et seq.) of 

9VAC20-81 (Solid Waste Management Regulations) for 

further definitions of these terms. 

"Smoke" means small gas-borne particulate matter 

consisting mostly, but not exclusively, of carbon, ash and 

other material in concentrations sufficient to form a visible 

plume. 

"Special incineration device" means an open pit incinerator, 

conical or teepee burner, or any other device specifically 

designed to provide good combustion performance. 

"Wood waste" means untreated wood and untreated wood 

products, including tree stumps (whole or chipped), trees, tree 

limbs (whole or chipped), bark, sawdust, chips, scraps, slabs, 

millings, and shavings. Wood waste does not include: 

1. Grass, grass clippings, bushes, shrubs, and clippings 

from bushes and shrubs from residential, 

commercial/retail, institutional, or industrial sources as part 

of maintaining yards or other private or public lands. 

2. Construction, renovation, or demolition wastes. 

3. Clean lumber. 

"Volatile organic compound emissions control area" means 

an area designated as such under 9VAC5-20-206. 

"Yard waste" means grass, grass clippings, bushes, shrubs, 

and clippings from bushes and shrubs that come from 

residential, commercial/retail, institutional, or industrial 

sources as part of maintaining yards or other private or public 

lands. Yard waste does not include (i) construction, 

renovation, and demolition wastes or (ii) clean wood. 

Part II 

Volatile Organic Compound Emissions Control Areas 

9VAC5-130-30. Open burning prohibitions. 

A. No owner or other person shall cause or permit open 

burning of refuse or use of special incineration devices except 

as provided in 9VAC5-130-40. 

B. No owner or other person shall cause or permit open 

burning or the use of a special incineration device for the 

destruction of rubber tires, asphaltic materials, crankcase oil, 

impregnated wood or other rubber or petroleum based 

materials except when conducting bona fide fire fighting 

instruction at fire fighting training schools having permanent 

facilities. 

C. No owner or other person shall cause or permit open 

burning or the use of a special incineration device for the 

destruction of hazardous waste or containers for such 

materials. 

D. No owner or other person shall cause or permit open 

burning or the use of a special incineration device for the 

purpose of a salvage operation or for the destruction of 

commercial/industrial waste. 

E. Upon declaration of an alert, warning or emergency stage 

of an air pollution episode as described in 9VAC5-70 (Air 

Pollution Episode Prevention) or when deemed advisable by 

the board to prevent a hazard to, or an unreasonable burden 

upon, public health or welfare, no owner or other person shall 

cause or permit open burning or use of a special incineration 

device; and any in-process burning or use of special 

incineration devices shall be immediately terminated in the 

designated air quality control region. 

9VAC5-130-40. Permissible open burning. 

A. Open burning or the use of special incineration devices is 

permitted in the following instances provided the provisions 

of subsections B through E of 9VAC5-130-30 are met: 

1. Upon the request of an owner or a responsible civil or 

military public official, the board may approve open 

burning or the use of special incineration devices under 

controlled conditions for the elimination of a hazard that 

constitutes a threat to the public health, safety or welfare 

and that cannot be remedied by other means consonant 

with the circumstances presented by the hazard. Such uses 

of open burning or the use of special incineration devices 

may include, but are not limited to, the following: 

a. Destruction of deteriorated or unused explosives and 

munitions on government or private property when other 

means of disposal are not available. Hazardous waste 

permits may be required under the provisions of 

9VAC20-60 (Hazardous Waste Management 

Regulations). 

b. Destruction of debris caused by floods, tornadoes, 

hurricanes or other natural disasters where alternate 

means of disposal are not economical or practical and 

when it is in the best interest of the citizens of the 

Commonwealth. Solid waste management permits may 

be required under the provisions of 9VAC20-81 (Solid 

Waste Management Regulations). 

c. On-site destruction of animal or plant life that is 

infested, or reasonably believed to be infested, by a pest 

or disease in order to (i) suppress, control, or eradicate an 

infestation or pest; (ii) prevent or retard the spread of an 

infestation or pest; or (iii) prevent further disease 

transmission or progression. 

2. Open burning is permitted for training and instruction of 

government and public firefighters under the supervision 

of the designated official and industrial in-house 

firefighting personnel with clearance from the local 
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firefighting authority. The designated official in charge of 

the training shall notify and obtain the approval of the 

regional director prior to conducting the training exercise. 

Training schools where permanent facilities are installed 

for firefighting instruction are exempt from this 

notification requirement. Buildings that have not been 

demolished may be burned under the provisions of this 

subdivision only. 

3. Open burning or the use of special incineration devices 

is permitted for the destruction of classified military 

documents under the supervision of the designated official. 

4. Open burning is permitted for camp fires or other fires 

that are used solely for recreational purposes, for 

ceremonial occasions, for outdoor noncommercial 

preparation of food, and for warming of outdoor workers 

provided the materials specified in subsections B and C of 

9VAC5-130-30 are not burned. 

5. In urban areas, open Open burning is permitted for the 

on-site destruction of leaves and tree, yard, and garden 

trimmings located on the premises of private property, 

provided that no regularly scheduled public or private 

collection service for such trimmings is available at the 

adjacent street or public road. In nonurban areas, open 

burning is permitted for the on-site destruction of leaves 

and tree, yard and garden trimmings located on the 

premises of private property regardless of the availability 

of collection service for such trimmings. 

6. Open burning is permitted for the on-site destruction of 

household waste by homeowners or tenants, provided that 

no regularly scheduled public or private collection service 

for such refuse is available at the adjacent street or public 

road. 

7. Open burning is permitted for the destruction of any 

combustible liquid or gaseous material by burning in a 

flare or flare stack. Use of a flare or flare stack for the 

destruction of hazardous waste or commercial/industrial 

waste is allowed provided written approval is obtained 

from the board and the facility is in compliance with 

Article 3 (9VAC5-40-160 et seq.) of 9VAC5-40 (Existing 

Stationary Sources) and Article 3 (9VAC5-50-160 et seq.) 

of 9VAC5-50 (New and Modified Stationary Sources). 

Permits issued under 9VAC5-80 (Permits for Stationary 

Sources) may be used to satisfy the requirement for written 

approval. This activity must be consistent with the 

provisions of 9VAC20-60 (Virginia Hazardous Waste 

Regulations). 

8. Open burning or the use of special incineration devices 

is permitted on site for the destruction of clean burning 

waste and debris waste resulting from property 

maintenance, from the development or modification of 

roads and highways, parking areas, railroad tracks, 

pipelines, power and communication lines, buildings or 

building areas, sanitary landfills, or from any other clearing 

operations. Open burning or the use of special incineration 

devices for the purpose of such destruction is prohibited in 

volatile organic compounds emissions control areas (see 

9VAC5-20-206) during from May, June, July, August, and 

1 through September 30. 

9. Open burning is permitted for forest management and, 

agriculture practices, and highway construction and 

maintenance programs approved by the board (see 

9VAC5-130-50), provided the following conditions are 

met: 

a. The burning shall be at least 1,000 feet from any 

occupied building unless the occupants have given prior 

permission, other than a building located on the property 

on which the burning is conducted; and 

b. The burning shall be attended at all times. 

10. Open burning or the use of special incineration devices 

is permitted for the destruction of clean burning waste and 

debris waste on the site of local landfills provided that the 

burning does not take place on land that has been filled and 

covered so as to present an underground fire hazard due to 

the presence of methane gas. Open burning or the use of 

special incineration devices for the purpose of such 

destruction is prohibited in volatile organic compounds 

emissions control areas (see 9VAC5-20-206) during May, 

June, July, August, and 1 through September 30. 

B. Open burning or the use of special incineration devices 

permitted under the provisions of this chapter does not 

exempt or excuse any owner or other person from the 

consequences, liability, damages or injuries that may result 

from such conduct; nor does it excuse or exempt any owner 

or other person from complying with other applicable laws, 

ordinances, regulations and orders of the governmental 

entities having jurisdiction, even though the open burning is 

conducted in compliance with this chapter. In this regard 

special attention should be directed to § 10.1-1142 of the 

Code of Virginia, which is enforced by the Department of 

Forestry. 

C. With regard to the provisions of subsection B of this 

section, special attention should also be directed to the 

regulations of the Virginia Waste Management Board. No 

destruction of waste by open burning or transportation of 

waste to be destroyed by open burning shall take place in 

violation of the regulations of the Virginia Waste 

Management Board. 

Part III 

Special Statewide Requirements for Forestry, Agricultural, 

and Highway Programs 

9VAC5-130-50. Forest management and, agricultural 

practices, and highway construction and maintenance 

programs. 

A. Open burning is permitted in accordance with 

subsections B and C of this section provided the provisions of 

subsections B through E of 9VAC5-130-30 are met. 
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B. A. Open burning may be used for the following forest 

management practices provided the burning is conducted in 

accordance with the Department of Forestry's smoke 

management plan to: 

1. Reduce forest fuels and minimize the effect of wild fires. 

2. Control undesirable growth of hardwoods. 

3. Control disease in pine seedlings. 

4. Prepare forest land for planting or seeding. 

5. Create a favorable habitat for certain species. 

6. Remove dead vegetation for the maintenance of railroad, 

highway and public utility right-of-way. 

C. B. In the absence of other means of disposal, open 

burning may be used for the following agricultural practices 

to: 

1. Destroy undesirable or diseased vegetation. 

2. Clear orchards and orchard prunings. 

3. Destroy empty fertilizer and chemical containers. 

4. Denature seed and grain that may no longer be suitable 

for agricultural purposes. 

5. Prevent loss from frost or freeze damage. 

6. Create a favorable habitat for certain species. 

7. Destroy strings and plastic ground cover remaining in 

the field after being used in growing staked tomatoes. 

C. Open burning may be used for the destruction of 

vegetative debris generated by highway construction and 

maintenance programs conducted by the Virginia Department 

of Transportation (VDOT) provided the burning is conducted 

in accordance with VDOT's best management practices 

(BMP) for vegetative debris and the following requirements 

are met: 

1. The department has approved the BMP. 

2. The local department regional office shall be notified at 

least five business days before commencement of a burn.  

3. No liquid accelerants (e.g., diesel, motor oil, etc.) or 

other prohibited materials (e.g., building debris, treated 

wood, painted wood, paper, cardboard, asphaltic materials, 

tires, metal, garbage, etc.) shall be used. 

4. No burn activity shall be conducted in a VOC emission 

control area from May 1 through September 30 or in 

violation of § 10.1-1142 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. No more than one burn event per regular burn site shall 

be scheduled or commenced per 60-day period. 

6. The open burn shall be extinguished for reasons 

including but not limited to the following: 

a. Unfavorable meteorological conditions (i.e., high 

winds or air stagnation); 

b. Official declaration by a governmental entity of a 

pollution alert, code red air quality action day, or air 

quality health advisory where the burn activity is 

occurring; or 

c. The emission of smoke, ashes, dust, dirt, odors, or any 

other substance creates a threat to public health, a 

nuisance, a pollution problem, a fire hazard, a safety 

hazard, or impairment to visibility on traveled roads or 

airports. 

9VAC5-130-60. Waivers. (Repealed.) 

A. A waiver from any provision of this chapter may be 

granted by the board for any person or geographic area 

provided that satisfactory demonstration is made that another 

state or local government entity has in effect statutory 

provisions or other enforceable mechanisms that will achieve 

the objective of the provision from which the waiver is 

granted. 

B. Demonstrations made pursuant to subsection A of this 

section should, at a minimum, meet the following criteria: 

1. Show that the statutory provisions or other enforceable 

mechanisms essentially provide the same effect as the 

provision from which the waiver is granted. 

2. Show that the governmental entity has the legal 

authority to enforce the statutory provisions or enforceable 

mechanisms. 

C. Waivers under subsection A of this section shall be 

executed through a memorandum of understanding between 

the board and affected governmental entity and may include 

such terms and conditions as may be necessary to ensure that 

the objectives of this chapter are met by the waiver. 

D. A waiver from any applicable provision of this chapter 

may be granted by the board for any locality that has lawfully 

adopted an ordinance in accordance with 9VAC5-130-100. 

Part II IV 

Local Ordinances  

9VAC5-130-100. Local ordinances on open burning. 

A. General. 

1. If the governing body of any locality wishes to adopt an 

ordinance relating to air pollution and governing open 

burning within its jurisdiction, the ordinance must first be 

approved by the board (see § 10.1-1321 B of the Code of 

Virginia). 

2. In order to assist local governments in a VOC control 

area with the development of ordinances acceptable to the 

board, the ordinance in subsection C of this section is 

offered as a model. For local governments located outside 

of a VOC control area, an ordinance must contain, at a 

minimum, the provisions in the title, purpose, definitions, 

and exemptions sections of the model ordinance in 

subsection C of this section. 

3. If a local government wishes to adopt the language of 

the model ordinance without changing any wording except 

that enclosed by parentheses, that government's ordinance 

shall be deemed to be approved by the board on the date of 

local adoption provided that a copy of the ordinance is 
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filed with the department upon its adoption by the local 

government. 

4. If a local government wishes to change any wording of 

the model ordinance aside from that enclosed by 

parentheses in order to construct a local ordinance, that 

government shall request the approval of the board prior to 

adoption of the ordinance by the local jurisdiction. A copy 

of the ordinance shall be filed with the department upon its 

adoption by the local government. 

5. Local ordinances that have been approved by the board 

prior to April 1, 1996, remain in full force and effect as 

specified by their promulgating authorities. 

B. Establishment and approval of local ordinances varying 

from the model. 

1. Any local governing body proposing to adopt or amend 

an ordinance relating to open burning that differs from the 

model local ordinance in subsection C of this section shall 

first obtain the approval of the board for the ordinance or 

amendment as specified in subdivision A 4 of this section. 

The board in approving local ordinances will consider, but 

will not be limited to, the following criteria: 

a. The local ordinance shall provide for 

intergovernmental cooperation and exchange of 

information. 

b. Adequate local resources will be committed to 

enforcing the proposed local ordinance. 

c. The provisions of the local ordinance shall be as strict 

as state regulations, except as provided for leaf burning 

in § 10.1-1308 of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law. 

d. If a waiver from any provision of this chapter has been 

requested under 9VAC5-130-60, the language of the 

ordinance shall achieve the objective of the provision 

from which the waiver is requested. 

2. Approval of any local ordinance may be withdrawn if 

the board determines that the local ordinance is less strict 

than state regulations or if the locality fails to enforce the 

ordinance. 

3. If a local ordinance must be amended to conform to an 

amendment to state regulations, such local amendment will 

be made within six months of the effective date of the 

amended state regulations. 

4. Local ordinances are a supplement to state regulations. 

Any provisions of local ordinances that have been 

approved by the board and are more strict than state 

regulations shall take precedence over state regulations 

within the respective locality. If a locality fails to enforce 

its own ordinance, the board reserves the right to enforce 

state regulations. 

5. A local governing body may grant a variance to any 

provision of its air pollution control ordinance(s) provided 

that: 

a. A public hearing is held prior to granting the variance; 

b. The public is notified of the application for a variance 

by notice in at least one major newspaper of general 

circulation in the affected locality at least 30 days prior to 

the date of the hearing; and 

c. The variance does not permit any owner or other 

person to take action that would result in a violation of 

any provision of state regulations unless a variance is 

granted by the board. The public hearings required for 

the variances to the local ordinance and state regulations 

may be conducted jointly as one proceeding. 

6. 9VAC5-170-150 shall not apply to local ordinances 

concerned solely with open burning. 

C. Model ordinance. 

ORDINANCE NO. (000) 

Section (000-1). Title.  

This chapter ordinance shall be known as the (local 

jurisdiction) Ordinance for the Regulation of Open Burning. 

Section (000-2). Purpose.  

The purpose of this chapter ordinance is to protect public 

health, safety, and welfare by regulating open burning within 

(local jurisdiction) to achieve and maintain, to the greatest 

extent practicable, a level of air quality that will provide 

comfort and convenience while promoting economic and 

social development. This chapter ordinance is intended to 

supplement the applicable regulations promulgated by the 

State Air Pollution Control Board and other applicable 

regulations and laws. 

Section (000-3). Definitions. 

For the purpose of this chapter ordinance and subsequent 

amendments or any orders issued by (local jurisdiction), the 

words or phrases shall have the meaning meanings given 

them in this section. 

"Automobile graveyard" means any lot or place that is 

exposed to the weather and upon which more than five motor 

vehicles of any kind, incapable of being operated, and that it 

would not be economically practical to make operative, are 

placed, located or found. 

"Built-up area" means any area with a substantial portion 

covered by industrial, commercial or residential buildings. 

"Clean burning waste" means waste that is not prohibited to 

be burned under this ordinance and that consists only of (i) 

100% wood waste, (ii) 100% clean lumber or clean wood, 

(iii) 100% yard waste, or (iv) 100% mixture of only any 

combination of wood waste, clean lumber, clean wood or 

yard waste. 

"Clean lumber" means wood or wood products that have 

been cut or shaped and include wet, air-dried, and kiln-dried 

wood products. Clean lumber does not include wood products 

that have been painted, pigment-stained, or pressure-treated 

by compounds such as chromate copper arsenate, 

pentachlorophenol, and creosote. 
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"Clean wood" means uncontaminated natural or untreated 

wood. Clean wood includes, but is not limited to, byproducts 

of harvesting activities conducted for forest management or 

commercial logging, or mill residues consisting of bark, 

chips, edgings, sawdust, shavings or slabs. It does not include 

wood that has been treated, adulterated, or chemically 

changed in some way; treated with glues, binders or resins; or 

painted, stained or coated. 

"Construction waste" means solid waste that is produced or 

generated during construction remodeling, or repair of 

pavements, houses, commercial buildings and other 

structures. Construction waste consists of lumber, wire, 

sheetrock, broken brick, shingles, glass, pipes, concrete, and 

metal and plastics if the metal or plastics are a part of the 

materials of construction or empty containers for such 

materials. Paints, coatings, solvents, asbestos, any liquid, 

compressed gases or semi-liquids, and garbage are not 

construction wastes and the disposal of such materials must 

be in accordance with the regulations of the Virginia Waste 

Management Board. 

"Debris waste" means wastes resulting from land clearing 

operations. Debris wastes include but are not limited to 

stumps, wood, brush, leaves, soil and road spoils. 

"Demolition waste" means that solid waste that is produced 

by the destruction of structures, or their foundations, or both, 

and includes the same materials as construction waste. 

"Garbage" means readily putrescible discarded materials 

composed of animal, vegetable or other organic matter. 

"Hazardous waste" means a "hazardous waste" as described 

in 9VAC20-60 (Hazardous Waste Management Regulations). 

"Household waste" means any waste material, including 

garbage, trash and refuse derived from households. For 

purposes of this regulation, households include single and 

multiple residences, hotels and motels, bunkhouses, ranger 

stations, crew quarters, campgrounds, picnic grounds and 

day-use recreation areas. Household wastes do not include 

sanitary waste in septic tanks (septage) that is regulated by 

state agencies. 

"Industrial waste" means any solid waste generated by 

manufacturing or industrial process that is not a regulated 

hazardous waste. Such waste may include but is not limited to 

waste resulting from the following manufacturing processes: 

electric power generation; fertilizer/agricultural chemicals; 

food and related products/byproducts; inorganic chemicals; 

iron and steel manufacturing; leather and leather products; 

nonferrous metals manufacturing/foundries; organic 

chemicals; plastics and resins manufacturing; pulp and paper 

industry; rubber and miscellaneous plastic products; stone, 

glass, clay and concrete products; textile manufacturing; 

transportation equipment; and water treatment. This term 

does not include mining waste or oil and gas waste. 

"Junkyard" means an establishment or place of business that 

is maintained, operated, or used for storing, keeping, buying, 

or selling junk, or for the maintenance or operation of an 

automobile graveyard, and the term shall include garbage 

dumps and sanitary landfills. 

"Landfill" means a sanitary landfill, an industrial waste 

landfill, or a construction/demolition/debris landfill. See 

9VAC20-81 (Solid Waste Management Regulations) for 

further definitions of these terms. 

"Local landfill" means any landfill located within the 

jurisdiction of a local government. 

"Open burning" means the combustion of solid waste 

without: 

1. Control of combustion air to maintain adequate 

temperature for efficient combustion; 

2. Containment of the combustion reaction in an enclosed 

device to provide sufficient residence time and mixing for 

complete combustion; and 

3. Control of the combustion products' emission. 

"Open pit incinerator" means a device used to burn waste for 

the primary purpose of reducing the volume by removing 

combustible matter. Such devices function by directing a 

curtain of air at an angle across the top of a trench or similarly 

enclosed space, thus reducing the amount of combustion 

byproducts emitted into the atmosphere. The term also 

includes trench burners, air curtain incinerators and over draft 

incinerators. 

"Refuse" means all solid waste products having the 

characteristics of solids rather than liquids and that are 

composed wholly or partially of materials such as garbage, 

trash, rubbish, litter, residues from clean up of spills or 

contamination or other discarded materials. 

"Salvage operation" means any operation consisting of a 

business, trade or industry participating in salvaging or 

reclaiming any product or material, such as, but not limited 

to, reprocessing of used motor oils, metals, chemicals, 

shipping containers or drums, and specifically including 

automobile graveyards and junkyards. 

"Sanitary landfill" means an engineered land burial facility 

for the disposal of household waste that is so located, 

designed, constructed, and operated to contain and isolate the 

waste so that it does not pose a substantial present or potential 

hazard to human health or the environment. A sanitary 

landfill also may receive other types of solid wastes, such as 

commercial solid waste, nonhazardous sludge, hazardous 

waste from conditionally exempt small quantity generators, 

construction, demolition, or debris waste and nonhazardous 

industrial solid waste. See 9VAC20-81 (Solid Waste 

Management Regulations) for further definitions of these 

terms. 

"Smoke" means small gas-borne particulate matter 

consisting mostly, but not exclusively, of carbon, ash and 

other material in concentrations sufficient to form a visible 

plume. 
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"Special incineration device" means an open pit incinerator, 

conical or teepee burner, or any other device specifically 

designed to provide good combustion performance. 

"Wood waste" means untreated wood and untreated wood 

products, including tree stumps (whole or chipped), trees, tree 

limbs (whole or chipped), bark, sawdust, chips, scraps, slabs, 

millings, and shavings. Wood waste does not include: 

1. Grass, grass clippings, bushes, shrubs, and clippings 

from bushes and shrubs from residential, 

commercial/retail, institutional, or industrial sources as part 

of maintaining yards or other private or public lands. 

2. Construction, renovation, or demolition wastes. 

3. Clean lumber. 

"Yard waste" means grass, grass clippings, bushes, shrubs, 

and clippings from bushes and shrubs that come from 

residential, commercial/retail, institutional, or industrial 

sources as part of maintaining yards or other private or public 

lands. Yard waste does not include (i) construction, 

renovation, and demolition wastes or (ii) clean wood. 

Section (000-4). Prohibitions on open burning. 

A. No owner or other person shall cause or permit open 

burning or the use of a special incineration device for the 

destruction of refuse except as provided in this ordinance. 

B. No owner or other person shall cause or permit open 

burning or the use of a special incineration device for the 

destruction of rubber tires, asphaltic materials, crankcase oil, 

impregnated wood or other rubber or petroleum based 

materials except when conducting bona fide firefighting 

instruction at firefighting training schools having permanent 

facilities. 

C. No owner or other person shall cause or permit open 

burning or the use of a special incineration device for the 

destruction of hazardous waste or containers for such 

materials. 

D. No owner or other person shall cause or permit open 

burning or the use of a special incineration device for the 

purpose of a salvage operation or for the destruction of 

commercial/industrial waste. 

E. Open burning or the use of special incineration devices 

permitted under the provisions of this ordinance does not 

exempt or excuse any owner or other person from the 

consequences, liability, damages or injuries that may result 

from such conduct; nor does it excuse or exempt any owner 

or other person from complying with other applicable laws, 

ordinances, regulations and orders of the governmental 

entities having jurisdiction, even though the open burning is 

conducted in compliance with this ordinance. In this regard 

special attention should be directed to § 10.1-1142 of the 

Forest Fire Law of Virginia, the regulations of the Virginia 

Waste Management Board, and the State Air Pollution 

Control Board's Regulations for the Control and Abatement 

of Air Pollution. 

F. Upon declaration of an alert, warning or emergency stage 

of an air pollution episode as described in 9VAC5-70 (Air 

Pollution Episode Prevention) or when deemed advisable by 

the State Air Pollution Control Board to prevent a hazard to, 

or an unreasonable burden upon, public health or welfare, no 

owner or other person shall cause or permit open burning or 

use of a special incineration device; and any in process 

burning or use of special incineration devices shall be 

immediately terminated in the designated air quality control 

region. 

Section (000-5). Exemptions.  

The following activities are exempted to the extent covered 

by the State Air Pollution Control Board's Regulations for the 

Control and Abatement of Air Pollution: 

A. Open burning for training and instruction of government 

and public firefighters under the supervision of the designated 

official and industrial in-house firefighting personnel; 

B. Open burning for camp fires or other fires that are used 

solely for recreational purposes, for ceremonial occasions, for 

outdoor noncommercial preparation of food, and for warming 

of outdoor workers; 

C. Open burning for the destruction of any combustible 

liquid or gaseous material by burning in a flare or flare stack; 

D. Open burning for forest management and, agriculture 

practices, and highway construction and maintenance 

programs approved by the State Air Pollution Control Board; 

and 

E. Open burning for the destruction of classified military 

documents. 

Section (000-6). Permissible open burning. 

A. Open burning is permitted on site for the destruction of 

leaves and tree, yard and garden trimmings located on the 

premises of private property, provided that the following 

conditions are met: 

1. The burning takes place on the premises of the private 

property; (and) 

2. The location of the burning is not less than 300 feet from 

any occupied building unless the occupants have given 

prior permission, other than a building located on the 

property on which the burning is conducted (; and 

3. No regularly scheduled public or private collection 

service for such trimmings is available at the adjacent 

street or public road
1
). 

B. Open burning is permitted on-site for the destruction of 

household waste by homeowners or tenants, provided that the 

following conditions are met: 

1. The burning takes place on the premises of the dwelling; 

2. Animal carcasses or animal wastes are not burned; 

3. Garbage is not burned; (and) 

4. The location of the burning is not less than 300 feet from 

any occupied building unless the occupants have given 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 18, 2013 

678 

prior permission, other than a building located on the 

property on which the burning is conducted (; and 

5. No regularly scheduled public or private collection 

service for such refuse is available at the adjacent street or 

public road
2
). 

C. Open burning is permitted on site for destruction of 

debris waste resulting from property maintenance, from the 

development or modification of roads and highways, parking 

areas, railroad tracks, pipelines, power and communication 

lines, buildings or building areas, sanitary landfills, or from 

any other clearing operations that may be approved by 

(designated local official), provided the following conditions 

are met: 

1. All reasonable effort shall be made to minimize the 

amount of material burned, with the number and size of the 

debris piles approved by (designated local official); 

2. The material to be burned shall consist of brush, stumps 

and similar debris waste and shall not include demolition 

material; 

3. The burning shall be at least 500 feet from any occupied 

building unless the occupants have given prior permission, 

other than a building located on the property on which the 

burning is conducted; 

4. The burning shall be conducted at the greatest distance 

practicable from highways and air fields, 

5. The burning shall be attended at all times and conducted 

to ensure the best possible combustion with a minimum of 

smoke being produced; 

6. The burning shall not be allowed to smolder beyond the 

minimum period of time necessary for the destruction of 

the materials; and 

7. The burning shall be conducted only when the prevailing 

winds are away from any city, town or built-up area. 

D. Open burning is permitted for destruction of debris on the 

site of local landfills provided that the burning does not take 

place on land that has been filled and covered so as to present 

an underground fire hazard due to the presence of methane 

gas, provided that the following conditions are met: 

1. The burning shall take place on the premises of a local 

sanitary landfill that meets the provisions of the regulations 

of the Virginia Waste Management Board; 

2. The burning shall be attended at all times; 

3. The material to be burned shall consist only of brush, 

tree trimmings, yard and garden trimmings, clean burning 

waste, clean burning debris waste, or clean burning 

demolition waste; 

4. All reasonable effort shall be made to minimize the 

amount of material that is burned; 

5. No materials may be burned in violation of the 

regulations of the Virginia Waste Management Board or 

the State Air Pollution Control Board. The exact site of the 

burning on a local landfill shall be established in 

coordination with the regional director and (designated 

local official); no other site shall be used without the 

approval of these officials. (Designated local official) shall 

be notified of the days during which the burning will 

occur. 

(E. Sections 000-6 A through D notwithstanding, no owner 

or other person shall cause or permit open burning or the use 

of a special incineration device during May, June, July, 

August, or 1 through September 30.
31

 ) 

Section (000-7). Permits. 

A. When open burning of debris waste (Section 000-6 C) or 

open burning of debris on the site of a local landfill (Section 

000-6 D) is to occur within (local jurisdiction), the person 

responsible for the burning shall obtain a permit from 

(designated local official) prior to the burning. Such a permit 

may be granted only after confirmation by (designated local 

official) that the burning can and will comply with the 

provisions of this ordinance and any other conditions that are 

deemed necessary to ensure that the burning will not 

endanger the public health and welfare or to ensure 

compliance with any applicable provisions of the State Air 

Pollution Control Board's Regulations for the Control and 

Abatement of Air Pollution. The permit may be issued for 

each occasion of burning or for a specific period of time 

deemed appropriate by (designated local official). 

B. Prior to the initial installation (or reinstallation, in cases 

of relocation) and operation of special incineration devices, 

the person responsible for the burning shall obtain a permit 

from (designated local official), such permits to be granted 

only after confirmation by (designated local official) that the 

burning can and will comply with the applicable provisions in 

Regulations for the Control and Abatement of Air Pollution 

and that any conditions are met that are deemed necessary by 

(designated local official) to ensure that the operation of the 

devices will not endanger the public health and welfare. 

Permits granted for the use of special incineration devices 

shall at a minimum contain the following conditions: 

1. All reasonable effort shall be made to minimize the 

amount of material that is burned. Such efforts shall 

include, but are not limited to, the removal of pulpwood, 

sawlogs and firewood. 

2. The material to be burned shall consist of brush, stumps 

and similar debris waste and shall not include demolition 

material. 

3. The burning shall be at least 300 feet from any occupied 

building unless the occupants have given prior permission, 

other than a building located on the property on which the 

burning is conducted; burning shall be conducted at the 

greatest distance practicable from highways and air fields. 

If (designated local official) determines that it is necessary 

to protect public health and welfare, he may direct that any 

of the above cited distances be increased. 
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4. The burning shall be attended at all times and conducted 

to ensure the best possible combustion with a minimum of 

smoke being produced. Under no circumstances should the 

burning be allowed to smolder beyond the minimum period 

of time necessary for the destruction of the materials. 

5. The burning shall be conducted only when the prevailing 

winds are away from any city, town or built-up area. 

6. The use of special incineration devices shall be allowed 

only for the destruction of debris waste, clean burning 

construction waste, and clean burning demolition waste. 

7. Permits issued under this subsection shall be limited to a 

specific period of time deemed appropriate by (designated 

local official). 

(C. An application for a permit under Section 000-7 A or 

000-7 B shall be accompanied by a processing fee of 

$____.
42

) 

Section (000-8). Penalties for violation. 

A. Any violation of this ordinance is punishable as a Class 1 

misdemeanor. (See § 15.2-1429 of the Code of Virginia.) 

B. Each separate incident may be considered a new 

violation. 

________________________ 
1 

This provision shall be included in ordinances for urban 

areas. It may be included in ordinances for nonurban areas. 
2 

This provision shall be included in ordinances for urban 

areas. It may be included in ordinances for nonurban areas. 
31 

This provision shall be included in ordinances for 

jurisdictions within volatile organic compound emissions 

control areas. It may be included in ordinances for 

jurisdictions outside these areas. 
4 2

The fee stipulation in this section is optional at the 

discretion of the jurisdiction. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3200; Filed October 30, 2013, 7:57 a.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of 

Virginia, which exempts general permits issued by the State 

Water Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.), Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 

62.1, and Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the 

Code of Virginia if the board (i) provides a Notice of 

Intended Regulatory Action in conformance with the 

provisions of § 2.2-4007.01; (ii) following the passage of 30 

days from the publication of the Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action forms a technical advisory committee 

composed of relevant stakeholders, including potentially 

affected citizens groups, to assist in the development of the 

general permit; (iii) provides notice and receives oral and 

written comment as provided in § 2.2-4007.03; and (iv) 

conducts at least one public hearing on the proposed general 

permit.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-192. Virginia Pollution 

Abatement (VPA) General Permit Regulation for Animal 

Feeding Operations (amending 9VAC25-192-10, 9VAC25-

192-20, 9VAC25-192-50, 9VAC25-192-60, 9VAC25-192-

70; adding 9VAC25-192-25, 9VAC25-192-80, 9VAC25-

192-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 11, 2013 - 7 p.m. - Department of 

Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office,  

4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801 

December 12, 2013 - 7 p.m. - Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office,  

4949-A Cox Road, Richmond, VA 23060 

December 18, 2013 - 7 p.m. - Department of 

Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge Regional Office, 

7705 Timberlake Road, Lynchburg VA 24502 

December 19, 2013 - 7 p.m. - Culpeper County Library, 

271 Southgate Shopping Center, Culpeper, VA 22701 

Public Comment Deadline: January 21, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Betsy Bowles, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4059, FAX (804) 

698-4116, or email betsy.bowles@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The State Water Control Board is reissuing the general 

permit regulation for animal feeding operations with a 10-

year permit term that expires on November 15, 2024. The 

regulation governs the pollutant management activities of 

animal wastes at animal feeding operations not covered by 

a Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permit 

and having 300 or more animal units utilizing a liquid 

manure collection and storage system. These animal 

feeding operations may operate and maintain treatment 

works for waste storage, treatment, or recycling and may 

perform land application of manure, wastewater, compost, 

or sludges. 

The proposed amendments include options to (i) transfer 

animal waste off the farm as long as specific requirements 

are followed by the permittee and the end-users of the 

animal waste and (ii) manage imported waste materials as 

long as specific requirements are followed by the 

permittee. 
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CHAPTER 192  

VIRGINIA POLLUTION ABATEMENT (VPA) 

REGULATION AND GENERAL PERMIT REGULATION 

FOR ANIMAL FEEDING OPERATIONS AND ANIMAL 

WASTE MANAGEMENT  

9VAC25-192-10. Definitions.  

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

meanings defined in the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-

44.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and the Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-32) unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise, except that for the purposes of this chapter:  

"Agricultural storm water discharge" means storm water that 

is not the sole result of land application of manure, litter or 

process wastewater. Where manure, litter or process 

wastewater has been applied a precipitation-related discharge 

of manure, litter, or process wastewater that has been applied 

on land areas under the control of an animal feeding operation 

or under the control of an animal waste end-user in 

accordance with a nutrient management plan approved by the 

Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation and in 

accordance with site specific nutrient management practices 

that ensure appropriate agricultural utilization of the nutrients 

in the manure, litter or process wastewater, a precipitation-

related discharge of manure, litter, or process wastewater 

from land areas under the control of an animal feeding 

operation is an agricultural storm water discharge.  

"Animal feeding operation" means a lot or facility (other 

than an aquatic animal production facility) where the 

following conditions are met:  

1. Animals (other than aquatic animals) have been, are, or 

will be stabled or confined and fed or maintained for a total 

of 45 days or more in any 12-month period; and  

2. Crops, vegetation, forage growth or post-harvest 

residues are not sustained in the normal growing season 

over any portion of the operation of the lot or facility.  

Two or more animal feeding operations under common 

ownership are a single animal feeding operation for the 

purposes of determining the number of animals at an 

operation, if they adjoin each other, or if they use a common 

area or system for the disposal of wastes.  

"Animal waste" means liquid, semi-solid, and solid animal 

manure, poultry waste and process wastewater, compost, or 

sludges associated with livestock and poultry animal feeding 

operations including the final treated wastes generated by a 

digester or other manure treatment technologies.  

"Animal waste end-user" or "end-user" means any recipient 

of transferred animal waste who stores or who utilizes the 

waste as fertilizer, fuel, feedstock, livestock feed, or other 

beneficial use for an operation under his control.  

"Animal waste fact sheet" means the document that details 

the requirements regarding utilization, storage, and 

management of animal waste by end-users. The fact sheet is 

approved by the department. 

"Beneficial use" means a use that is of benefit as a substitute 

for natural or commercial products and does not contribute to 

adverse effects on health or environment.  

"Confined animal feeding operation," for the purposes of 

this regulation, has the same meaning as an "animal feeding 

operation."  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality.  

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality or his designee.  

"Nutrient management plan" or "NMP" means a plan 

developed or approved by the Department of Conservation 

and Recreation that requires proper storage, treatment, and 

management of animal waste and limits accumulation of 

excess nutrients in soils and leaching or discharge of nutrients 

into state waters; except that for an animal waste end-user 

who is not covered under the general permit, the requirements 

of 9VAC25-192-90 constitute the NMP.  

"Operator" means any person who owns or operates an 

animal feeding operation.  

"Permittee" means the owner whose animal feeding 

operation is covered under this general permit.  

"Organic source" means any nutrient source including, but 

not limited to, manures, biosolids, compost, and waste or 

sludges from animals, humans, or industrial processes, but for 

the purposes of this regulation it excludes waste from 

wildlife.  

"Waste nutrient analysis rate" means a land application rate 

for animal waste approved by the board as specified in this 

regulation.  

"Waste storage facility" means a waste holding pond or tank 

used to store manure prior to land application, or a lagoon or 

treatment facility used to digest or reduce the solids or 

nutrients.  

"Vegetated buffer" means a permanent strip of dense 

perennial vegetation established parallel to the contours of 

and perpendicular to the dominant slope of the field for the 

purposes of slowing water runoff, enhancing water 

infiltration, and minimizing the risk of any potential nutrients 

or pollutants from leaving the field and reaching surface 

waters.  

"300 animal units" means 300,000 pounds of live animal 

weight, or the following numbers and types of animals:  

a. 300 slaughter and feeder cattle;  

b. 200 mature dairy cattle (whether milked or dry cows);  

c. 750 swine each weighing over 25 kilograms 

(approximately 55 pounds);  

d. 150 horses;  

e. 3,000 sheep or lambs;  

f. 16,500 turkeys;  

g. 30,000 laying hens or broilers.  
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9VAC25-192-20. Purpose; delegation of authority; 

effective date of permit.  

A. This general permit regulation governs the pollutant 

management activities of animal wastes at animal feeding 

operations having 300 or more animal units utilizing a liquid 

manure collection and storage system not covered by a 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

permit, and having 300 or more animal units utilizing a liquid 

manure collection and storage system and animal waste 

utilized or stored by animal waste end-users. These animal 

feeding operations may operate and maintain treatment works 

for waste storage, treatment, or recycle recycling and may 

perform land application of manure, wastewater, compost, or 

sludges.  

B. The Director of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, or his designee, may perform any act of the board 

provided under this chapter, except as limited by § 62.1-44.14 

of the Code of Virginia.  

C. This general permit will become effective on November 

16, 2004 2014. This general permit will expire 10 years from 

the effective date.  

9VAC25-192-25. Duty to comply. 

A. Any person who manages or proposes to manage 

pollutants regulated by 9VAC25-192 shall comply with the 

applicable requirements of this chapter.  

B. In order to manage pollutants from an animal feeding 

operation, the owner shall be required to obtain coverage 

under the Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) general permit 

or an individual VPA permit provided that the owner has not 

been required to obtain a Virginia Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System (VPDES) permit. The owner shall 

comply with the requirements of this chapter and the permit.  

C. An animal waste end-user shall comply with the technical 

requirements outlined in 9VAC25-192-80 and 9VAC25-192-

90.  

9VAC25-192-50. Authorization to manage pollutants.  

A. Owner of an animal feeding operation. Any owner 

governed by this general permit is hereby authorized to 

manage pollutants at animal feeding operations provided that 

the owner files the registration statement of 9VAC25-192-60, 

complies with the requirements of 9VAC25-192-70, and 

provided that:  

1. The operator owner has not been required to obtain a 

VPDES permit or an individual VPA permit according to 

subdivision 2 of 9VAC25-32-260 B;  

2. The operation of the animal feeding operation shall not 

contravene the Water Quality Standards, as amended and 

adopted by the board, or any provision of the State Water 

Control Law. There shall be no point source discharge of 

wastewater to surface waters of the state except in the case 

of a storm event greater than the 25-year, 24-hour storm. 

Agricultural stormwater storm water discharges are 

permitted. Domestic sewage or industrial shall not be 

managed under this general permit. Industrial waste shall 

not be managed under this general permit, except for 

wastes that have been approved by the department and are 

managed in accordance with 9VAC25-192-70;  

3. The owner of any proposed pollutant management 

activities or those which have not previously been issued a 

valid Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permit or 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

permit must attach to the registration statement, the Local 

Government Ordinance Form (a notification from the 

governing body of the county, city or town where the 

operation is located that the operation is consistent with all 

ordinances adopted pursuant to Chapter 22 (§ 15.2-2200 et 

seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia).  

4. The owner shall obtain Department of Conservation and 

Recreation must approve approval of a nutrient 

management plan for the animal feeding operation prior to 

the submittal of the registration statement. The operator 

owner shall attach to the registration statement a copy of 

the approved Nutrient Management Plan nutrient 

management plan and a copy of the letter from the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation certifying 

approval of the Nutrient Management Plan, and if the plan 

was written after December 31, 2005, nutrient management 

plan that the plan was developed by a certified nutrient 

management planner in accordance with § 10.1-104.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. The operator owner shall implement 

the approved nutrient management plan.  

5. a. The operator owner shall give notice of the 

registration statement to all owners or residents of property 

that adjoins the property on which the animal feeding 

operation will be located. Such notice shall include (i) the 

types and maximum number of animals which will be 

maintained at the facility and (ii) the address and phone 

number of the appropriate department regional office to 

which comments relevant to the permit registration 

statement may be submitted. This notice requirement is 

waived whenever registration is for the purpose of 

renewing coverage under the permit and no expansion is 

proposed and the department has not issued any special or 

consent order relating to violations under the existing 

permit.  

b. Any person may submit written comments on the 

proposed operation to the department within 30 days of 

the date of the filing of the registration statement. If, on 

the basis of such written comments or his review, the 

director determines that the proposed operation will not 

be capable of complying with the provisions of the 

general permit, the director shall require the owner to 

obtain an individual permit for the operation. Any such 

determination by the director shall be made in writing 

and received by mailed to the owner not more than 45 

days after the filing of the registration statement or, if in 

the director's sole discretion additional time is necessary 
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to evaluate comments received from the public, not more 

than 60 days after the filing of the registration statement.  

6. Each operator As required by § 62.1-44.17:1 F of the 

Code of Virginia, each owner of a facility covered by this 

general permit shall have completed the training program 

offered or approved by the Department of Conservation 

and Recreation department in the two years prior to 

submitting the registration statement for general permit 

coverage, or shall complete such training within one year 

after the registration statement has been submitted for 

general permit coverage. All operators permitted owners 

shall complete the training program at least once every 

three years.  

B. Animal waste end-user. An animal waste end-user shall 

comply with the requirements outlined in 9VAC25-192-80 

and 9VAC25-192-90.  

1. When an animal waste end-user does not comply with 

the requirements of 9VAC25-192-80 and 9VAC25-192-90, 

the department may choose to do any or all of the 

following:  

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the violation of 

the regulation;  

b. Require the animal waste end-user to register for 

coverage under the general permit;  

c. Require the animal waste end-user to apply for the 

VPA individual permit; or  

d. Take other actions set forth in the VPA Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-32).  

2. An animal waste end-user governed by this general 

permit is hereby authorized to manage pollutants relating 

to the utilization and storage of animal waste provided that 

the animal waste end-user files the registration statement of 

9VAC25-192-60, complies with the requirements of 

9VAC25-192-70, and:  

a. The animal waste end-user has not been required to 

obtain a VPA individual permit according to subdivision 

2 of 9VAC25-32-260;  

b. The activities of the animal waste end-user shall not 

contravene the Water Quality Standards, as amended and 

adopted by the board, or any provision of the State Water 

Control Law (§ 62.1-44 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

There shall be no point source discharge of wastewater to 

surface waters of the state except in the case of a storm 

event greater than the 25-year, 24-hour storm. 

Agricultural storm water discharges are permitted. 

Domestic sewage shall not be managed under this 

general permit. Industrial waste shall not be managed 

under this general permit, except for wastes that have 

been approved by the department and are managed in 

accordance with 9VAC25-192-70;  

c. The animal waste end-user shall obtain Department of 

Conservation and Recreation approval of a nutrient 

management plan for land application sites where animal 

waste will be utilized or stored and managed prior to the 

submittal of the registration statement. The animal waste 

end-user shall attach to the registration statement a copy 

of the approved nutrient management plan and a copy of 

the letter from the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation certifying approval of the nutrient 

management plan that was developed by a certified 

nutrient management planner in accordance with § 10.1-

104.2 of the Code of Virginia. The animal waste end-user 

shall implement the approved nutrient management plan; 

and  

d. As required by § 62.1-44.17:1 F of the Code of 

Virginia, each permitted animal waste end-user shall 

complete a training program offered or approved by the 

department within one year of filing the registration 

statement for general permit coverage. All permitted 

animal waste end-users shall complete a training program 

at least once every three years.  

C. Continuation of permit coverage.  

1. Any owner that was authorized to manage pollutants 

under the general permit issued in 2004 and that submits a 

complete registration statement on or before November 15, 

2014, is authorized to continue to manage pollutants under 

the terms of the 2004 general permit until such time as the 

board either:  

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 

or  

b. Notifies the owner that coverage under this permit is 

denied.  

2. When the permittee that was covered under the expiring 

or expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 

or all of the following:  

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the expiring or 

expired general permit;  

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

reissued general permit. If the general permit coverage is 

denied, the owner would then be required to cease the 

activities authorized by the expiring or expired general 

permit or be subject to enforcement action for operating 

without a permit;  

c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 

or  

d. Take other actions set forth in the VPA Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-32).  

B. D. Receipt of this general permit does not relieve any 

operator permittee of the responsibility to comply with any 

other applicable federal, state or local statute, ordinance, or 

regulation.  

9VAC25-192-60. Registration statement.  

A. The owner of an animal feeding operation. In order to be 

covered under the general permit, the operator owner shall 
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file a complete VPA General Permit Registration Statement 

for the management of pollutants at animal feeding operations 

in accordance with this chapter. The registration statement 

shall be deemed complete for registration under the VPA 

General Permit if it contains the following information:  

1. The animal feeding operation owner's name, mailing 

address, email address (if available), and telephone 

number;  

2. The animal feeding operation operator's name, mailing 

address, email address (if available), and telephone number 

of the operator or contact person other than the owner, if 

applicable;  

2. 3. The farm name (if applicable) and location of the 

animal feeding operation;  

3. The name and telephone number of a contact person 

other than the operator, if necessary;  

4. The best time of day and day of the week to contact the 

operator or the contact person;  

5. If the facility has an existing VPA or VPDES permit 

number, the permit number;  

6. The type or types of animals (dairy cattle, slaughter and 

feeder cattle, swine, other) and the maximum number and 

average weight of the type or types of animals to be 

maintained at the animal feeding operation;  

7. The operator owner of any proposed pollutant 

management activities or those which have not previously 

been issued a valid VPA permit or Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) VPDES permit 

must attach to the registration statement, the Local 

Government Ordinance Form (the notification from the 

governing body of the county, city or town where the 

operation is located that the operation is consistent with all 

ordinances adopted pursuant to Chapter 22 (§ 15.2-2200 et 

seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia);  

8. A copy of the nutrient management plan approved by 

the Department of Conservation and Recreation and a copy 

of the letter certifying approval of the plan, and if the plan 

was written after December 31, 2005, that the plan was 

developed by a certified nutrient management planner in 

accordance with § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of Virginia; and  

9. A copy of the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation nutrient management plan approval letter that 

also certifies that the plan was developed by a certified 

nutrient management planner in accordance with § 10.1-

104.2 of the Code of Virginia; and 

9. 10. The following certification: "I certify that notice of 

the registration statement has been given to all owners or 

residents of property that adjoins the property on which the 

animal feeding operation will be located. This notice 

included the types and numbers of animals which will be 

maintained at the facility and the address and phone 

number of the appropriate Department of Environmental 

Quality regional office to which comments relevant to the 

permit may be submitted. (The preceding certification is 

waived if the registration is for renewing coverage under 

the general permit and no expansion of the operation is 

proposed and the department has not issued any special or 

consent order relating to violations under the existing 

permit.) I certify under penalty of law that all the 

requirements of the board for the general permit are being 

met and that this document and all attachments were 

prepared under my direction or supervision in accordance 

with a system designed to assure that qualified personnel 

properly gather and evaluate the information submitted. 

Based on my inquiry of the person or persons who manage 

the system or those persons directly responsible for 

gathering the information, the information submitted is to 

the best of my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and 

complete. I am aware that there are significant penalties for 

submitting false information including the possibility of 

fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."  

B. The animal waste end-user. In order to be covered under 

the general permit, the animal waste end-user shall file a 

complete VPA General Permit Registration Statement in 

accordance with this chapter. The registration statement shall 

be deemed complete for registration under the VPA General 

Permit if it contains the following information:  

1. The animal waste end-user's name, mailing address, 

email address (if available), and telephone number;  

2. The name (if applicable) and location of the facility 

where the animal waste will be utilized, stored, or 

managed;  

3. The best time of day and day of the week to contact the 

animal waste end-user;  

4. If the facility has an existing VPA or VPDES permit 

number, the permit number;  

5. If confined animals are located at the facility, indicate 

the type or types of animals (dairy cattle, slaughter and 

feeder cattle, swine, other) and the maximum number and 

average weight of the type or types of animals;  

6. A copy of the nutrient management plan approved by 

the Department of Conservation and Recreation;  

7. A copy of the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation nutrient management plan approval letter that 

also certifies that the plan was developed by a certified 

nutrient management planner in accordance with § 10.1-

104.2 of the Code of Virginia; and 

8. The following certification: "I certify under penalty of 

law that all the requirements of the board for the general 

permit are being met and that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 

information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person 

or persons who manage the system or those persons 

directly responsible for gathering the information, the 
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information submitted is to the best of my knowledge and 

belief true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 

are significant penalties for submitting false information 

including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 

knowing violations."  

B. C. The registration statement shall be signed in 

accordance with 9VAC25-32-50 Part II F of 9VAC25-32-70.  

9VAC25-192-70. Contents of the general permit.  

Any operator owner or animal waste end-user whose 

registration statement is accepted by the board will receive 

the following general permit and shall comply with the 

requirements therein and be subject to the VPA permit 

regulation, 9VAC25-32.  

General Permit No.: VPG1  

Effective Date: November 16, 2004 2014 

Modification Date:  

Expiration Date: November 15, 2014 2024 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR POLLUTANT MANAGEMENT 

ACTIVITIES FOR ANIMAL FEEDING OPERATIONS 

AND ANIMAL WASTE MANAGEMENT  

AUTHORIZATION TO MANAGE POLLUTANTS UNDER 

THE VIRGINIA POLLUTION ABATEMENT PROGRAM 

AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER CONTROL LAW  

In compliance with the provisions of the State Water 

Control Law and State Water Control Board regulations 

adopted pursuant thereto, owners of animal feeding 

operations having 300 or more animal units utilizing a liquid 

manure collection and storage system, and animal waste end-

users are authorized to manage pollutants within the 

boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia, except where 

board regulations or policies prohibit such activities.  

The authorized pollutant management activities shall be in 

accordance with the registration statement, supporting 

documents submitted to the Department of Environmental 

Quality, this cover page, Part I-Pollutant Management and 

Monitoring Requirements for Animal Feeding Operations, 

Part II-Conditions Applicable to all VPA Permits, and Part 

III-Pollutant Management and Monitoring Requirements for 

Animal Waste End-Users, as set forth herein.  

Part I  

Pollutant Management and Monitoring Requirements for 

Animal Feeding Operations 

A. Pollutant management and monitoring requirements.  

1. During the period beginning with the permit's effective 

date and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the 

permittee is authorized to manage pollutants at the location 

or locations identified in the registration statement and the 

facility's approved nutrient management plan.  

2. At earthen liquid waste storage facilities constructed 

after December 1, 1998, to an elevation below the seasonal 

high water table or within one foot thereof, ground water 

groundwater monitoring wells shall be installed. A 

minimum of one up gradient and one down gradient well 

shall be installed at each earthen waste storage facility that 

requires ground water groundwater monitoring. Existing 

wells may be utilized to meet this requirement if properly 

located and constructed.  

3. All facilities previously covered under a VPA permit 

that required groundwater monitoring shall continue 

monitoring consistent with the requirements listed below 

regardless of where they are located relative to the seasonal 

high water table.  

4. At facilities where groundwater monitoring is required, 

the following conditions apply:  

a. One data set shall be collected from each well prior to 

any waste being placed in the storage facility.  

b. The static water level shall be measured prior to 

bailing well water for sampling.  

c. At least three well volumes of ground water 

groundwater shall be withdrawn immediately prior to 

sampling each monitoring well.  

5. In accordance with subdivisions 2 and 3 of this 

subsection, the ground water groundwater shall be 

monitored by the permittee at the monitoring wells as 

specified below. Additional groundwater monitoring may 

be required in the facility's approved nutrient management 

plan.  

 

GROUNDWATER MONITORING  

PARAMETERS LIMITATIONS UNITS 
MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Frequency Sample Type 

Static Water Level NL Ft 1/3 years Measured 

Ammonia Nitrogen NL mg/L 1/3 years Grab 

Nitrate Nitrogen NL mg/L 1/3 years Grab 

pH NL SU 1/3 years Grab 

Conductivity NL umhos/cm 1/3 years Grab 
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NL = No limit, this is a monitoring requirement only. 

6. Soil at the land application sites shall be monitored as specified below. Additional soils monitoring may be required in the 

facility's approved nutrient management plan.  

SOILS MONITORING  

PARAMETERS LIMITATIONS UNITS 
MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Frequency Sample Type 

pH NL SU 1/3 years Composite 

Phosphorus NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite 

Potash NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite 

Calcium NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite 

Magnesium NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite 

NL = No limit, this is a monitoring requirement only. 

SU = Standard Units 

7. Soil monitoring shall be conducted at a depth of between 0-6 inches, unless otherwise specified in the facility's approved 

nutrient management plan.  

8. Waste shall be monitored as specified below. Additional waste monitoring may be required in the facility's approved 

nutrient management plan.  

WASTE MONITORING  

PARAMETERS LIMITATIONS UNITS 
MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Frequency Sample Type 

Total Kjeldahl Nitrogen NL * 1/year Composite 

Ammonia Nitrogen NL * 1/year Composite 

Total Phosphorus NL * 1/year Composite 

Total Potassium NL * 1/year Composite 

Calcium NL * 1/year Composite 

Magnesium NL * 1/year Composite 

Moisture Content NL % 1/year Composite 

NL = No limit, this is a monitoring requirement only. 

*Parameters for waste may be reported as a percent, as lbs/ton or lbs/1000 gallons, or as ppm where appropriate. 

9. Analysis of soil and waste shall be according to methods 

specified in the facility's approved nutrient management 

plan.  

10. All monitoring data collected as required by this 

section and any additional monitoring shall be maintained 

on site for a period of five years and shall be made 

available to department personnel upon request.  

B. Other requirements or special conditions.  

1. Any liquid manure collection and storage facility shall 

be designed and operated to (i) prevent point source 

discharges of pollutants to state waters except in the case 

of a storm event greater than the 25-year, 24-hour storm 

and (ii) provide adequate waste storage capacity to 

accommodate periods when the ground is frozen or 

saturated, periods when land application of nutrients 

should not occur due to limited or nonexistent crop nutrient 

uptake, and periods when physical limitations prohibit the 

land application of waste.  

2. Waste storage facilities constructed after December 1, 

1998, shall not be located on a 100-year floodplain.  

3. Earthen waste storage facilities constructed after 

December 1, 1998, shall include a properly designed and 

installed liner. Such liner shall be either a synthetic liner of 
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at least 20 mils thickness or a compacted soil liner of at 

least one foot thickness with a maximum permeability 

rating of 0.0014 inches per hour. A Virginia licensed 

professional engineer, an employee of the Natural 

Resources Conservation Service of the United States 

Department of Agriculture with appropriate engineering 

approval authority, or an employee of a soil and water 

conservation district with appropriate engineering approval 

authority shall certify that the siting, design and 

construction of the waste storage facility comply with the 

requirements of this permit. This certification shall be 

maintained on site.  

4. At earthen waste storage facilities constructed below the 

seasonal high water table, the top surface of the waste must 

be maintained at a level of at least two feet above the water 

table.  

5. All liquid waste storage or treatment facilities shall 

maintain at least one foot of freeboard at all times, except 

in the case of a storm event greater than a up to and 

including 25-year, 24-hour storm.  

6. For new waste storage or treatment facilities constructed 

after November 16, 2014, the facilities shall be 

constructed, operated, and maintained in accordance with 

the applicable practice standard adopted by the Natural 

Resources Conservation Service of the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture and approved by the department. A Virginia 

licensed professional engineer, an employee of the Natural 

Resources Conservation Service of the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture with appropriate engineering approval 

authority or an employee of a soil and water conservation 

district with appropriate engineering approval authority 

shall certify that the siting, design, and construction of the 

waste storage facility comply with the requirements of this 

permit. This certification shall be maintained on site.  

7. The permittee shall notify the department's regional 

office at least 14 days prior to (i) animals being initially 

placed in the confined facility or (ii) utilization of any new 

waste storage or treatment facilities.  

8. For waste that is not stored under roof, the storage site 

must be at least 100 feet from any surface water, 

intermittent drainage, wells, sinkholes, rock outcrops, and 

springs.  

9. All equipment needed for the proper operation of the 

permitted facilities shall be maintained in good working 

order. The manufacturer's operating and maintenance 

manuals shall be retained for references to allow for timely 

maintenance and prompt repair of equipment when 

appropriate. The operator permittee shall periodically 

inspect for leaks on equipment used for land application of 

waste.  

10. When wastes are treated by a digester or other manure 

treatment technologies, the waste treatment process shall 

be approved by the department and shall be managed by a 

facility covered under this permit and in accordance with 

the following conditions:  

a. All treated wastes generated by a digester or other 

manure treatment technologies must be managed through 

an approved nutrient management plan or transferred to 

another entity in accordance with animal waste transfer 

requirements in Part 1 B 15 and 16.  

b. When a facility covered under this permit generates a 

treated waste from animal waste and other feedstock, the 

permittee shall maintain records related to the production 

of the treated waste.  

(1) If off-site wastes are added to generate the treated 

waste, the permittee shall record the following items:  

(a) The amount of waste brought to the facility; and  

(b) From whom and where the waste originated.  

(2) For all treated wastes generated by the facility, the 

permittee shall record the following items:  

(a) The amount of treated waste generated;  

(b) The nutrient analysis of the treated waste; and  

(c) The final use of the treated waste.  

(3) Permittees shall maintain the records required by Part 

I B 10 b (1) and (2) on site for a period of three years. All 

records shall be made available to department personnel 

upon request.  

11. Animal waste generated by this facility shall not be 

applied to fields owned by or under the operational control 

of either the permittee or a legal entity in which the 

permittee has an ownership interest unless the fields are 

included in the facility's approved nutrient management 

plan.  

7. 12. The operator permittee shall implement a nutrient 

management plan (NMP) approved by the Department of 

Conservation and Recreation. All NMPs written after 

December 31, 2005, shall be developed by a certified 

nutrient management planner in accordance with § 10.1-

104.2 of the Code of Virginia. The NMP shall be 

maintained and approved by the Department of 

Conservation and Recreation and maintain the plan on site. 

The NMP shall address the form, source, amount, timing, 

and method of application of nutrients on each field to 

achieve realistic production goals, while minimizing 

nitrogen and phosphorus loss to ground and surface waters. 

NMPs written after December 31, 2005, and NMPs 

implemented after December 31, 2006, shall also include 

provisions to minimize phosphorus loss to ground and 

surface waters according to the most current standards and 

criteria developed by DCR at the time the plan is written. 

The terms of the NMP shall be enforceable through this 

permit. The NMP shall contain at a minimum the following 

information:  

a. Site map indicating the location of the waste storage 

facilities and the fields where waste will be applied;  
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b. Site evaluation and assessment of soil types and 

potential productivities;  

c. Nutrient management sampling including soil and 

waste monitoring;  

d. Storage and land area requirements;  

e. Calculation of waste application rates; and  

f. Waste application schedules; and.  

g. A plan for waste utilization in the event the operation 

is discontinued.  

8. 13. Waste shall not be land applied within buffer zones. 

Buffer zones at waste application sites shall, at a minimum, 

be maintained as follows:  

a. Distance from occupied dwellings not on the owner's 

permittee's property .....: 200 feet (unless the occupant of 

the dwelling signs a waiver of the buffer zone);  

b. Distance from water supply wells or springs .....: 100 

feet; 

c. Distance from surface water courses 

(1) 100 feet (without a vegetated buffer); or  

(2) 35-foot wide vegetated buffer; or  

c. Distance from surface water courses: 100 feet (without 

a permanent vegetated buffer) or 35 feet (if a permanent 

vegetated buffer exists). (3) Other site-specific 

conservation practices may be approved by the 

department that will provide pollutant reductions 

equivalent or better than the reductions that would be 

achieved by the 100-foot buffer, or 35-foot wide 

vegetated buffer.; 

d. Distance from rock outcropping (except limestone) 

.....: 25 feet;  

e. Distance from limestone outcroppings .....: 50 feet; and  

f. Waste shall not be applied in such a matter that it 

would discharge to sinkholes that may exist in the area.  

9. 14. Records shall be maintained to demonstrate where 

and at what rate waste has been applied, that the 

application schedule has been followed, and what crops 

have been planted. The following land application records 

shall be maintained:  

a. The identification of the land application field sites 

where the waste is utilized or stored;  

b. The application rate;  

c. The application dates; and  

d. What crops have been planted.  

These records shall be maintained on site for a period of 

five years after recorded the date the application is made 

and shall be made available to department personnel upon 

request.  

10. The permittee shall notify the department's regional 

office at least 14 days prior to: (i) animals being initially 

placed in the confined facility or (ii) utilization of any new 

waste storage facilities.  

15. Animal waste generated by this facility may be 

transferred from the permittee to another person if one or 

more of the following conditions are met:  

a. Animal waste generated by this facility may be 

transferred off-site for land application or another 

acceptable use approved by the department, if:  

(1) The sites where the animal waste will be utilized are 

included in this permitted facility's approved nutrient 

management plan; or 

(2) The sites where the animal waste will be utilized are 

included in another permitted facility's approved nutrient 

management plan.  

b. Animal waste generated by this facility may be 

transferred off-site without identifying in the permittee's 

approved nutrient management plan the fields where 

such waste will be utilized, if one of the following 

conditions are met:  

(1) The animal waste is registered with the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services in 

accordance with regulations adopted pursuant to 

subdivision A 2 of § 3.2-3607 of the Code of Virginia; or  

(2) When the permittee transfers to another person more 

than 10 tons of solid or semi-solid animal waste (solid or 

semi-solid animal waste contains less than 85% 

moisture) or more than 6,000 gallons of liquid animal 

waste (liquid animal waste contains 85% or more 

moisture) in any 365-day period, the permittee shall 

maintain records in accordance with Part I B 16.  

16. Animal waste may be transferred from a permittee to 

another person without identifying the fields where such 

waste will be utilized in the permittee's approved nutrient 

management plan if the following conditions are met:  

a. When a permittee transfers to another person more 

than 10 tons of solid or semi-solid animal waste (solid or 

semi-solid animal waste contains less than 85% 

moisture) or more than 6,000 gallons of liquid animal 

waste (liquid animal waste contains 85% or more 

moisture) in any 365-day period, the permittee shall 

provide that person with:  

(1) Permittee's name, address, and permit number;  

(2) A copy of the most recent nutrient analysis of the 

animal waste; and  

(3) An animal waste fact sheet.  

b. When a permittee transfers to another person more 

than 10 tons of solid or semi-solid animal waste (solid or 

semi-solid animal waste contains less than 85% 

moisture) or more than 6,000 gallons of liquid animal 

waste (liquid animal waste contains 85% or more 

moisture) in any 365-day period, the permittee shall keep 

a record of the following:  
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(1) The recipient name and address;  

(2) The amount of animal waste received by the person;  

(3) The date of the transaction;  

(4) The nutrient analysis of the animal waste;  

(5) The locality in which the recipient intends to utilize 

the animal waste (i.e., nearest town or city and zip code);  

(6) The name of the stream or waterbody, if known, to 

the recipient that is nearest to the animal waste utilization 

or storage site; and  

(7) The signed waste transfer records form 

acknowledging the receipt of the following:  

(a) The animal waste;  

(b) The nutrient analysis of the animal waste; and  

(c) An animal waste fact sheet.  

c. Permittees shall maintain the records required by Part I 

B 16 a and b for at least three years after the date of the 

transaction and shall make them available to department 

personnel upon request.  

17. When the waste storage or treatment facility is no 

longer needed, the permittee shall close it in a manner that 

(i) minimizes the need for further maintenance and (ii) 

controls, minimizes, or eliminates, to the extent necessary 

to protect human health and the environment, the 

postclosure escape of uncontrolled leachate, surface runoff, 

or waste decomposition products to the groundwater, 

surface water, or the atmosphere. At closure, the permittee 

shall remove all waste residue from the animal waste 

storage or treatment facility. Removed waste materials 

shall be utilized according to the approved NMP.  

11. Each operator of a facility 18. As required by § 62.1-

44.17:1 F of the Code of Virginia, each permittee covered 

by under this general permit shall have completed the 

training program offered or approved by the Department of 

Conservation and Recreation department in the two years 

prior to submitting the registration statement for general 

permit coverage, or shall complete such training within one 

year after the registration statement has been submitted for 

general permit coverage. All operators permittees shall 

complete the training program at least once every three 

years.  

Part II  

Conditions Applicable to all VPA Permits 

A. Sampling and analysis methods.  

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the volume and nature of 

the monitored activity.  

2. Unless otherwise specified in this permit all sample 

preservation methods, maximum holding times and 

analysis methods for pollutants shall comply with 

requirements set forth in Guidelines Establishing Test 

Procedures for the Analysis of Pollutants (40 CFR 136 

(2001)) (40 CFR Part 136).  

3. The sampling and analysis program to demonstrate 

compliance with the permit shall at a minimum, conform to 

Part I of this permit.  

4. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements.  

B. Recording of results. For each measurement or sample 

taken pursuant to the requirements of this permit, the 

permittee shall record the following information:  

1. The date, exact place and time of sampling or 

measurements;  

2. The persons who performed the sampling or 

measurements;  

3. The dates analyses were performed;  

4. The persons who performed each analysis;  

5. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  

6. The results of such analyses and measurements.  

C. Records retention. All records and information resulting 

from the monitoring activities required by this permit, 

including all records of analyses performed and calibration 

and maintenance of instrumentation and recording from 

continuous monitoring instrumentation shall be retained on 

site for five years from the date of the sample, measurement 

or report. This period of retention shall be extended 

automatically during the course of any unresolved litigation 

regarding the regulated activity or regarding control standards 

applicable to the permittee, or as requested by the director.  

D. Additional monitoring by permittee. If the permittee 

monitors any pollutant at the locations designated herein 

more frequently than required by this permit, using approved 

analytical methods as specified above, the results of such 

monitoring shall be included in the calculation and reporting 

of the values required in the project report. Such increased 

frequency shall also be reported.  

E. Reporting requirements.  

1. If, for any reason, the permittee does not comply with 

one or more limitations, standards, monitoring or 

management requirements specified in this permit, the 

permittee shall submit to the department at least the 

following information:  

a. A description and cause of noncompliance;  

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 

and times or the anticipated time when the 

noncompliance will cease; and  

c. Actions taken or to be taken to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent recurrence of the noncompliance. Whenever such 

noncompliance may adversely affect state waters or may 

endanger public health, the permittee shall submit the 
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above required information by oral report within 24 

hours from the time the permittee becomes aware of the 

circumstances and by written report within five days. The 

director may waive the written report requirement on a 

case-by-case basis if the oral report has been received 

within 24 hours and no adverse impact on state waters 

has been reported.  

2. The permittee shall report any unpermitted, unusual or 

extraordinary discharge which enters or could be expected 

to enter state waters. The permittee shall provide 

information, specified in Part II E 1 a through c, regarding 

each such discharge immediately, that is, as quickly as 

possible upon discovery, however, in no case later than 24 

hours. A written submission covering these points shall be 

provided within five days of the time the permittee 

becomes aware of the circumstances covered by this 

paragraph.  

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required in 

Parts II E 1 and 2 may be made to the department's regional 

office. Reports may be made by telephone or by fax. For 

reports outside normal working hours, a message shall fulfill 

the immediate reporting requirement. For emergencies, the 

Virginia Department of Emergency Management maintains a 

24-hour telephone service at 1-800-468-8892.  

F. Signatory requirements. Any registration statement or 

certification required by this permit shall be signed as 

follows:  

1. For a corporation, by a responsible corporate official. 

For purposes of this section, a responsible corporate 

official means (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-

president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy or decision-making functions for the 

corporation, or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities 

employing more than 250 persons or having gross annual 

sales or expenditures exceeding $25,000,000 (in second 

quarter 1980 dollars), if authority to sign documents has 

been assigned or delegated to the manager in accordance 

with corporate procedures.  

2. For a municipality, state, federal or other public agency 

by either a principal executive officer or ranking elected 

official. (A principal executive officer of a federal, 

municipal, or state agency includes the chief executive 

officer of the agency or head executive officer having 

responsibility for the overall operation of a principal 

geographic unit of the agency.)  

3. For a partnership or sole proprietorship, by a general 

partner or proprietor respectively.  

Part III  

A. G. Change in management of pollutants. 1. All pollutant 

management activities authorized by this permit shall be 

made in accordance with the terms and conditions of the 

permit. The permittee shall submit a new registration 

statement 30 days prior to all expansions, production 

increases, or process modifications, that will result in the 

management of new or increased pollutants. The management 

of any pollutant at a level greater than that identified and 

authorized by this permit, shall constitute a violation of the 

terms and conditions of this permit.  

2. The permittee shall promptly provide written notice of 

the following:  

a. Any new introduction of pollutant or pollutants, into 

treatment works or pollutant management activities 

which represents a significant increase in the 

management of pollutant or pollutants which may 

interfere with, pass through, or otherwise be 

incompatible with such works or activities, from an 

establishment or treatment works, if such establishment, 

treatment works has the potential to discharge pollutants 

to state waters; and  

b. Any substantial change, whether permanent or 

temporary, in the volume or character of pollutants being 

introduced into such treatment works by an 

establishment, treatment works, or pollutant management 

activity that was introducing pollutants into such 

treatment works at the time of issuance of the permit.  

Such notice shall include information on: (i) the 

characteristics and quantity of pollutants to be introduced 

into or from such treatment works or pollutant 

management activities; (ii) any anticipated impact of 

such change in the quantity and characteristics of the 

pollutants to be managed at a pollutant management 

activity; and (iii) any additional information that may be 

required by the director.  

B. H. Treatment works operation and quality control.  

1. Design and operation of facilities or treatment works and 

disposal of all wastes shall be in accordance with the 

registration statement filed with the department. The 

permittee has the responsibility of designing and operating 

the facility in a reliable and consistent manner to meet the 

facility performance requirements in the permit. If facility 

deficiencies, design or operational, are identified in the 

future which could affect the facility performance or 

reliability, it is the responsibility of the permittee to correct 

such deficiencies.  

2. All waste collection, control, treatment, management of 

pollutant activities and disposal facilities shall be operated 

in a manner consistent with the following:  

a. At all times, all facilities and pollutant management 

activities shall be operated in a prudent and workmanlike 

manner.  

b. The permittee shall provide an adequate operating staff 

to carry out the operation, maintenance and testing 

functions required to ensure compliance with the 

conditions of this permit.  
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c. Maintenance of treatment facilities or pollutant 

management activities shall be carried out in such a 

manner that the monitoring and limitation requirements 

are not violated.  

d. Collected solids shall be stored and utilized as 

specified in the approved Nutrient Management Plan 

nutrient management plan in such a manner as to prevent 

entry of those wastes (or runoff from the wastes) into 

state waters.  

C. I. Adverse impact. The permittee shall take all feasible 

steps to minimize any adverse impact to state waters resulting 

from noncompliance with any limitation or limitations or 

conditions specified in this permit, and shall perform and 

report such accelerated or additional monitoring as is 

necessary to determine the nature and impact of the 

noncomplying limitation or limitations or conditions.  

D. J. Duty to halt, reduce activity or to mitigate.  

1. It shall not be a defense for a permittee in an 

enforcement action that it would have been necessary to 

halt or reduce the permitted activity in order to maintain 

compliance with the conditions of this permit.  

2. The permittee shall take all reasonable steps to 

minimize, correct or prevent any discharge in violation of 

this permit which has a reasonable likelihood of adversely 

affecting human health or the environment.  

E. K. Structural stability. The structural stability of any of 

the units or parts of the facilities herein permitted is the sole 

responsibility of the permittee and the failure of such 

structural units or parts shall not relieve the permittee of the 

responsibility of complying with all terms and conditions of 

this permit.  

F. L. Compliance with state law. Compliance with this 

permit during its term constitutes compliance with the State 

Water Control Law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed 

to preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 

the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation.  

G. M. Property rights. The issuance of this permit does not 

convey any property rights in either real or personal property, 

or any exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 

private property or any invasion of personal rights, nor any 

infringement of federal, state, or local laws or regulations.  

H. N. Severability. The provisions of this permit are 

severable.  

I. O. Duty to reregister. If the permittee wishes to continue 

to operate under a general permit after the expiration date of 

this permit, the permittee must submit a new registration 

statement at least 30 days prior to the expiration date of this 

permit.  

J. P. Right of entry. The permittee shall allow, or secure 

necessary authority to allow, authorized state representatives, 

upon the presentation of credentials:  

1. To enter upon the permittee's premises on which the 

establishment, treatment works, pollutant management 

activities, or discharge or discharges is located or in which 

any records are required to be kept under the terms and 

conditions of this permit;  

2. To have access to inspect and copy at reasonable times 

any records required to be kept under the terms and 

conditions of this permit;  

3. To inspect at reasonable times any monitoring 

equipment or monitoring method required in this permit;  

4. To sample at reasonable times any waste stream, process 

stream, raw material or by-product; and  

5. To inspect at reasonable times any collection, treatment, 

or pollutant management activities required under this 

permit. For purposes of this section, the time for inspection 

shall be deemed reasonable during regular business hours, 

and whenever the facility is discharging or involved in 

managing pollutants. Nothing contained here shall make an 

inspection time unreasonable during an emergency.  

K. Q. Transferability of permits. This Coverage under this 

permit may be transferred to a new owner by a permittee if:  

1. The current permittee notifies the department 30 days in 

advance of the proposed transfer of the title to the facility 

or property;  

2. The notice to the department includes a written 

agreement between the existing and proposed new 

permittee containing a specific date of transfer of permit 

responsibility, coverage and liability between them; and  

3. The department does not within the 30-day time period 

notify the existing permittee and the proposed permittee of 

the board's intent to modify or revoke and reissue transfer 

coverage under the permit. Such a transferred coverage 

under this permit shall, as of the date of the transfer, be as 

fully effective as if it had been issued directly to the new 

permittee.  

L. R. Permit modification. The permit may be modified 

when any of the following developments occur: 1. When a 

change is made in the promulgated standards or regulations 

on which the permit was based; or.  

2. When the level of management of a pollutant, not 

limited in the permit, exceeds applicable Water Quality 

Standards or the level which can be achieved by 

technology-based treatment requirements appropriate to 

the permittee.  

M. S. Permit termination. After public notice and 

opportunity for a hearing, coverage under the general permit 

may be terminated for cause.  

N T. When an individual permit may be required. The 

director may require any permittee authorized to manage 

pollutants covered under this general permit to apply for and 

obtain an individual permit. Cases where an individual permit 

may be required include, but are not limited to, the following:  
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1. The pollutant management activities violate the terms or 

conditions of this permit;  

2. When additions or alterations have been made to the 

affected facility which that require the application of 

permit conditions that differ from those of the existing 

permit or are absent from it; and  

3. When new information becomes available about the 

operation or pollutant management activities covered by 

under this permit which that were not available at the time 

of permit issuance and would have justified the application 

of different permit conditions at the time of permit 

issuance coverage.  

This Coverage under this general permit may be terminated 

as to an individual permittee for any of the reasons set forth 

above after appropriate notice and an opportunity for a 

hearing.  

O. U. When an individual permit may be requested. Any 

permittee operating under this permit may request to be 

excluded from the coverage of under this permit by applying 

for an individual permit. When an individual permit is issued 

to a permittee the applicability of this general permit to the 

individual permittee is automatically terminated on the 

effective date of the individual permit.  

P. V. Civil and criminal liability. Nothing in this permit 

shall be construed to relieve the permittee from civil and 

criminal penalties for noncompliance with the terms of this 

permit.  

Q. W. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under § 311 of the Clean Water Act or §§ 62.1-

44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the Code of Virginia.  

R. X. Unauthorized discharge of pollutants. Except in 

compliance with this permit, it shall be unlawful for any 

permittee to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 

to the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the 

uses of such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, 

or for recreation, or for other uses.  

Part III 

Pollutant Management and Monitoring Requirements for 

Animal Waste End-Users 

A. Pollutant management and monitoring requirements.  

1. During the period beginning with the permit's effective 

date and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the 

permittee is authorized to manage pollutants at the location 

or locations identified in the registration statement and the 

facility's approved nutrient management plan.  

2. At earthen liquid waste storage facilities constructed 

after December 1, 1998, to an elevation below the seasonal 

high water table or within one foot thereof, groundwater 

monitoring wells shall be installed. A minimum of one up 

gradient and one down gradient well shall be installed at 

each earthen waste storage facility that requires 

groundwater monitoring. Existing wells may be utilized to 

meet this requirement if properly located and constructed.  

3. All facilities previously covered under a VPA permit 

that required groundwater monitoring shall continue 

monitoring consistent with the requirements listed below 

regardless of where they are located relative to the seasonal 

high water table.  

4. At facilities where groundwater monitoring is required, 

the following conditions apply:  

a. One data set shall be collected from each well prior to 

any waste being placed in the storage facility.  

b. The static water level shall be measured prior to 

bailing well water for sampling.  

c. At least three well volumes of groundwater shall be 

withdrawn immediately prior to sampling each 

monitoring well.  

5. In accordance with subdivisions 2 and 3 of this 

subsection, the groundwater shall be monitored by the 

permittee at the monitoring wells as specified below. 

Additional groundwater monitoring may be required in the 

facility's approved nutrient management plan.  

 

GROUNDWATER MONITORING  

PARAMETERS LIMITATIONS UNITS 
MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Frequency Sample Type 

Static Water Level NL Ft 1/3 years Measured 

Ammonia Nitrogen NL mg/L 1/3 years Grab 

Nitrate Nitrogen NL mg/L 1/3 years Grab 

pH NL SU 1/3 years Grab 
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Conductivity NL umhos/cm 1/3 years Grab 

NL = No limit, this is a monitoring requirement only. 

6. Soil at the land application sites shall be monitored as specified below. Additional soils monitoring may be required in the 

facility's approved nutrient management plan.  

SOILS MONITORING  

PARAMETERS LIMITATIONS UNITS 
MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Frequency Sample Type 

pH NL SU 1/3 years Composite 

Phosphorus NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite 

Potash NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite 

Calcium NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite 

Magnesium NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite 

NL = No limit, this is a monitoring requirement only. 

SU = Standard Units 

7. Soil monitoring shall be conducted at a depth of between 0-6 inches, unless otherwise specified in the facility's approved 

nutrient management plan.  

8. Waste shall be monitored as specified below. Additional waste monitoring may be required in the facility's approved 

nutrient management plan.  

WASTE MONITORING  

PARAMETERS LIMITATIONS UNITS 
MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Frequency Sample Type 

Total Kjeldahl Nitrogen NL * 1/year Composite 

Ammonia Nitrogen NL * 1/year Composite 

Total Phosphorus NL * 1/year Composite 

Total Potassium NL * 1/year Composite 

Calcium NL * 1/year Composite 

Magnesium NL * 1/year Composite 

Moisture Content NL % 1/year Composite 

NL = No limit, this is a monitoring requirement only. 

*Parameters for waste may be reported as a percent, as lbs/ton or lbs/1000 gallons, or as ppm where appropriate. 

9. Analysis of soil and waste shall be according to methods 

specified in the facility's approved nutrient management 

plan.  

10. All monitoring data collected as required by this 

section and any additional monitoring shall be maintained 

on site for a period of five years and shall be made 

available to department personnel upon request.  

B. Other requirements or special conditions.  

1. Any liquid manure collection and storage facility shall 

be designed and operated to (i) prevent point source 

discharges of pollutants to state waters except in the case 

of a storm event greater than the 25-year, 24-hour storm 

and (ii) provide adequate waste storage capacity to 

accommodate periods when the ground is frozen or 

saturated, periods when land application of nutrients 

should not occur due to limited or nonexistent crop nutrient 

uptake, and periods when physical limitations prohibit the 

land application of waste.  

2. Waste storage facilities constructed after December 1, 

1998, shall not be located on a 100-year floodplain.  
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3. Earthen waste storage facilities constructed after 

December 1, 1998, shall include a properly designed and 

installed liner. Such liner shall be either a synthetic liner of 

at least 20 mils thickness or a compacted soil liner of at 

least one foot thickness with a maximum permeability 

rating of 0.0014 inches per hour. A Virginia licensed 

professional engineer, an employee of the Natural 

Resources Conservation Service of the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture with appropriate engineering approval 

authority, or an employee of a soil and water conservation 

district with appropriate engineering approval authority 

shall certify that the siting, design, and construction of the 

waste storage facility comply with the requirements of this 

permit. This certification shall be maintained on site.  

4. At earthen waste storage facilities constructed below the 

seasonal high water table, the top surface of the waste must 

be maintained at a level of at least two feet above the water 

table.  

5. All liquid waste storage or treatment facilities shall 

maintain at least one foot of freeboard at all times, up to 

and including 25-year, 24-hour storm.  

6. For new waste storage or treatment facilities constructed 

after November 16, 2014, the facilities shall be 

constructed, operated, and maintained in accordance with 

the applicable practice standard adopted by the Natural 

Resources Conservation Service of the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture and approved by the department. A Virginia 

licensed professional engineer, an employee of the Natural 

Resources Conservation Service of the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture with appropriate engineering approval 

authority, or an employee of a soil and water conservation 

district with appropriate engineering approval authority 

shall certify that the siting, design, and construction of the 

waste storage facility comply with the requirements of this 

permit. This certification shall be maintained on site.  

7. The permittee shall notify the department's regional 

office at least 14 days prior to (i) animals being initially 

placed in the confined facility or (ii) utilization of any new 

waste storage or treatment facilities.  

8. For waste that is not stored under roof, the storage site 

must be at least 100 feet from any surface water, 

intermittent drainage, wells, sinkholes, rock outcrops, and 

springs.  

9. All equipment needed for the proper operation of the 

permitted facilities shall be maintained in good working 

order. The manufacturer's operating and maintenance 

manuals shall be retained for references to allow for timely 

maintenance and prompt repair of equipment when 

appropriate. The permittee shall periodically inspect for 

leaks on equipment used for land application of waste.  

10. All treated wastes generated by a digester or other 

manure treatment technologies shall be approved by the 

department and shall be managed by a facility covered 

under this permit and in accordance with the following 

conditions:  

a. All treated wastes generated by a digester or other 

manure treatment technologies must be managed through 

an approved nutrient management plan or transferred to 

another entity in accordance with animal waste transfer 

requirements in Part III B 15 and 16.  

b. When a facility covered under this permit generates a 

treated waste from animal waste and other feedstock, the 

permittee shall maintain records related to the production 

of the treated waste.  

(1) If off-site wastes are added to generate the treated 

waste, the permittee shall record the following items:  

(a) The amount of waste brought to the facility; and  

(b) From whom and where the waste originated.  

(2) For all treated wastes generated by the facility, the 

permittee shall record the following items:  

(a) The amount of treated waste generated;  

(b) The nutrient analysis of the treated waste; and  

(c) The final use of the treated waste.  

(3) Permittees shall maintain the records required by Part 

III B 10 b (1) and (2) on site for a period of three years. 

All records shall be made available to department 

personnel upon request.  

11. Animal waste generated by this facility shall not be 

applied to fields owned by or under the operational control 

of either the permittee or a legal entity in which the 

permittee has an ownership interest unless the fields are 

included in the facility's approved nutrient management 

plan.  

12. The permittee shall implement a nutrient management 

plan (NMP) developed by a certified nutrient management 

planner in accordance with § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of 

Virginia and approved by the Department of Conservation 

and Recreation and maintain the plan on site. The NMP 

shall address the form, source, amount, timing, and method 

of application of nutrients on each field to achieve realistic 

production goals, while minimizing nitrogen and 

phosphorus loss to ground and surface waters. The terms of 

the NMP shall be enforceable through this permit. The 

NMP shall contain at a minimum the following 

information:  

a. Site map indicating the location of the waste storage 

facilities and the fields where waste will be applied;  

b. Site evaluation and assessment of soil types and 

potential productivities;  

c. Nutrient management sampling including soil and 

waste monitoring;  

d. Storage and land area requirements;  

e. Calculation of waste application rates; and  

f. Waste application schedules.  
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13. Waste shall not be land applied within buffer zones. 

Buffer zones at waste application sites shall, at a minimum, 

be maintained as follows:  

a. Distance from occupied dwellings not on the 

permittee's property: 200 feet (unless the occupant of the 

dwelling signs a waiver of the buffer zone); 

b. Distance from water supply wells or springs: 100 feet; 

c. Distance from surface water courses: 100 feet (without 

a permanent vegetated buffer) or 35 feet (if a permanent 

vegetated buffer exists). Other site-specific conservation 

practices may be approved by the department that will 

provide pollutant reductions equivalent or better than the 

reductions that would be achieved by the 100-foot buffer 

or 35-foot wide vegetated buffer; 

d. Distance from rock outcropping (except limestone): 25 

feet;  

e. Distance from limestone outcroppings: 50 feet; and  

f. Waste shall not be applied in such a matter that it 

would discharge to sinkholes that may exist in the area.  

14. The following land application records shall be 

maintained:  

a. The identification of the land application field sites 

where the waste is utilized or stored;  

b. The application rate;  

c. The application dates; and  

d. What crops have been planted.  

These records shall be maintained on site for a period of 

five years after the date the application is made and shall 

be made available to department personnel upon request.  

15. Animal waste generated by this facility may be 

transferred from the permittee to another person, if one or 

more of the following conditions are met:  

a. Animal waste generated by this facility may be 

transferred off-site for land application or another 

acceptable use approved by the department, if:  

(1) The sites where the animal waste will be utilized are 

included in this permitted facility's approved nutrient 

management plan; or 

(2) The sites where the animal waste will be utilized are 

included in another permitted facility's approved nutrient 

management plan.  

b. Animal waste generated by this facility may be 

transferred off-site without identifying in the permittee's 

approved nutrient management plan the fields where 

such waste will be utilized, if the following conditions 

are met:  

(1) The animal waste is registered with the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services in 

accordance with regulations adopted pursuant to 

subdivision A 2 of § 3.2-3607 of the Code of Virginia; or  

(2) When the permittee transfers to another person more 

than 10 tons of solid or semi-solid animal waste (solid or 

semi-solid animal waste contains less than 85% 

moisture) or more than 6,000 gallons of liquid animal 

waste (liquid animal waste contains 85% or more 

moisture) in any 365-day period, the permittee shall 

maintain records in accordance with Part III B 16.  

16. Animal waste may be transferred from a permittee to 

another person without identifying the fields where such 

waste will be utilized in the permittee's approved nutrient 

management plan if the following conditions are met:  

a. When a permittee transfers to another person more 

than 10 tons of solid or semi-solid animal waste (solid or 

semi-solid animal waste contains less than 85% 

moisture) or more than 6,000 gallons of liquid animal 

waste (liquid animal waste contains 85% or more 

moisture) in any 365-day period, the permittee shall 

provide that person with:  

(1) Permittee's name, address, and permit number;  

(2) A copy of the most recent nutrient analysis of the 

animal waste; and  

(3) An animal waste fact sheet.  

b. When a permittee transfers to another person more 

than 10 tons of solid or semi-solid animal waste (solid or 

semi-solid animal waste contains less than 85% 

moisture) or more than 6,000 gallons of liquid animal 

waste (liquid animal waste contains 85% or more 

moisture) in any 365-day period, the permittee shall keep 

a record of the following:  

(1) The recipient name and address;  

(2) The amount of animal waste received by the person;  

(3) The date of the transaction;  

(4) The nutrient analysis of the animal waste;  

(5) The locality in which the recipient intends to utilize 

the animal waste (i.e., nearest town or city and zip code);  

(6) The name of the stream or waterbody, if known, to 

the recipient that is nearest to the animal waste utilization 

or storage site; and  

(7) The signed waste transfer records form 

acknowledging the receipt of the following:  

(a) The animal waste;  

(b) The nutrient analysis of the animal waste; and  

(c) An animal waste fact sheet.  

c. Permittees shall maintain the records required by Part 

III B 16 a and b for at least three years after the date of 

the transaction and shall make them available to 

department personnel upon request.  

17. When the waste storage or treatment facility is no 

longer needed, the permittee shall close it in a manner that 

(i) minimizes the need for further maintenance and (ii) 

controls, minimizes, or eliminates, to the extent necessary 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 18, 2013 

695 

to protect human health and the environment, the 

postclosure escape of uncontrolled leachate, surface runoff, 

or waste decomposition products to the groundwater, 

surface water, or the atmosphere. At closure, the permittee 

shall remove all waste residue from the animal waste 

storage or treatment facility. Removed waste materials 

shall be utilized according to the approved NMP.  

18. As required by § 62.1-44.17:1 F of the Code of 

Virginia, each permittee covered under this general permit 

shall have completed the training program offered or 

approved by the department in the two years prior to 

submitting the registration statement for general permit 

coverage or shall complete such training within one year 

after the registration statement has been submitted for 

general permit coverage. All permittees shall complete the 

training program at least once every three years.  

9VAC25-192-80. Tracking and accounting requirements 

for animal waste end-users. 

A. When an animal waste end-user is the recipient of more 

than 10 tons of solid or semi-solid animal waste (solid or 

semi-solid animal waste contains less than 85% moisture) or 

more than 6,000 gallons of liquid animal waste (liquid animal 

waste contains 85% percent or more moisture) in any 365-day 

period from an owner or operator of an animal feeding 

operation covered by a VPA or VPDES permit, the end-user 

shall maintain records regarding the transfer and land 

application of animal waste.  

1. The animal waste end-user shall provide the permittee 

with the following items:  

a. End-user name and address;  

b. The locality in which the end-user intends to utilize the 

waste (i.e., nearest town or city and zip code);  

c. The name of the stream or waterbody, if known, to the 

end-user that is nearest to the waste utilization or storage 

site; and  

d. Written acknowledgement of receipt of:  

(1) The waste;  

(2) The nutrient analysis of the waste; and  

(3) An animal waste fact sheet.  

2. The animal waste end-user shall record the following 

items regarding the waste transfer:  

a. The source name, address, and permit number (if 

applicable);  

b. The amount of animal waste that was received;  

c. The date of the transaction;  

d. The final use of the animal waste;  

e. The locality in which the waste was utilized (i.e., 

nearest town or city and zip code); and  

f. The name of the stream or waterbody, if known, to the 

recipient that is nearest to the waste utilization or storage 

site.  

Records regarding animal waste transfers shall be 

maintained on site for a period of three years after the date 

of the transaction. All records shall be made available to 

department personnel upon request.  

3. If waste is land applied, the animal waste end-user shall 

keep a record of the following items regarding the land 

application of the waste:  

a. The nutrient analysis of the waste;  

b. Maps indicating the animal waste land application 

fields and storage sites;  

c. The land application rate;  

d. The land application dates;  

e. What crops were planted;  

f. Soil test results, if obtained;  

g. NMP, if applicable; and  

h. The method used to determine the land application 

rates (i.e., phosphorus crop removal, waste nutrient 

analysis rate, soil test recommendations, or a nutrient 

management plan).  

Records regarding land application of animal waste shall 

be maintained on site for a period of three years after the 

date the application is made. All records shall be made 

available to department personnel upon request.  

B. Any duly authorized agent of the board may, at 

reasonable times and under reasonable circumstances, enter 

any establishment or upon any property, public or private, for 

the purpose of obtaining information or conducting surveys or 

investigations necessary in the enforcement of the provisions 

of this regulation.  

9VAC25-192-90. Utilization and storage requirements for 

transferred animal waste. 

A. An animal waste end-user who receives animal waste 

from an owner or operator of an animal feeding operation 

covered by a VPA or VPDES permit shall comply with the 

requirements outlined in this section.  

B. Storage requirements. An animal waste end-user who 

receives animal waste from an owner or operator of an animal 

feeding operation covered by a VPA or VPDES permit shall 

comply with the requirements outlined in this subsection 

regarding storage of animal waste in his possession or under 

his control.  

1. Animal waste shall be stored in a manner that prevents 

contact with surface water and groundwater. Animal waste 

that is stockpiled outside for more than 14 days shall be 

kept in a facility or at a site that provides adequate storage. 

Adequate storage shall, at a minimum, include the 

following:  

a. Animal waste shall be covered to protect it from 

precipitation and wind;  

b. Storm water shall not run onto or under the stored 

animal waste;  
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c. A minimum of two feet separation distance to the 

seasonal high water table or an impermeable barrier shall 

be used under the stored poultry waste. All waste storage 

facilities that use an impermeable barrier shall maintain a 

minimum of one foot separation between the seasonal 

high water table and the impermeable barrier. "Seasonal 

high water table" means that portion of the soil profile 

where a color change has occurred in the soil as a result 

of saturated soil conditions or where soil concretions 

have formed. Typical colors are gray mottlings, solid 

gray, or black. The depth in the soil at which these 

conditions first occur is termed the seasonal high water 

table. Impermeable barriers shall be constructed of at 

least 12 inches of compacted clay, at least four inches of 

reinforced concrete, or another material of similar 

structural integrity that has a minimum permeability 

rating of 0.0014 inches per hour (1X10-6 centimeters per 

second); and  

d. For animal waste that is not stored under roof, the 

storage site must be at least 100 feet from any surface 

water, intermittent drainage, wells, sinkholes, rock 

outcrops, and springs.  

2. Any liquid animal waste collection and storage facility 

shall be designed and operated to (i) prevent point source 

discharges of pollutants to state waters except in the case 

of a storm event greater than the 25-year, 24-hour storm 

and (ii) provide adequate waste storage capacity to 

accommodate periods when the ground is frozen or 

saturated, periods when land application of nutrients 

should not occur due to limited or nonexistent crop nutrient 

uptake, and periods when physical limitations prohibit the 

land application of waste.  

3. Waste storage facilities constructed after December 1, 

1998, shall not be located on a 100-year floodplain.  

4. Earthen waste storage facilities constructed after 

December 1, 1998, shall include a properly designed and 

installed liner. Such liner shall be either a synthetic liner of 

at least 20 mils thickness or a compacted soil liner of at 

least one foot thickness with a maximum permeability 

rating of 0.0014 inches per hour. A Virginia licensed 

professional engineer, an employee of the Natural 

Resources Conservation Service of the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture with appropriate engineering approval 

authority or an employee of a soil and water conservation 

district with appropriate engineering approval authority 

shall certify that the siting, design, and construction of the 

waste storage facility comply with the requirements of this 

subsection. This certification shall be maintained on site.  

5. At earthen waste storage facilities constructed below the 

seasonal high water table, the top surface of the waste must 

be maintained at a level of at least two feet above the water 

table.  

6. All liquid waste storage or waste treatment facilities 

shall maintain at least one foot of freeboard at all times, 

except in the case of a storm event up to and including a 

25-year, 24-hour storm.  

C. Land application requirements. An animal waste end-user 

who (i) receives more than 10 tons of solid or semi-solid 

animal waste (solid or semi-solid animal waste contains less 

than 85% moisture) or more than 6,000 gallons of liquid 

animal waste (liquid animal waste contains 85% or more 

moisture) from an owner or operator of an animal feeding 

operation covered by a VPA or VPDES permit and (ii) land 

applies animal waste shall follow appropriate land application 

requirements as outlined in this subsection. The application of 

animal waste shall be managed to minimize adverse water 

quality impacts.  

1. The maximum application rates can be established by 

the following methods:  

a. Phosphorus crop removal application rates can be used 

when:  

(1) Soil test phosphorus levels do not exceed the values 

listed in the table below:  

Region 

Soil Test P (ppm) 

VPI & SU Soil Test 

(Mehlich I) * 

Eastern Shore and Lower 

Coastal Plain 
135 

Middle and Upper Coastal 

Plain and Piedmont 
136 

Ridge and Valley 162 

* If results are from another laboratory the Department 

of Conservation and Recreation approved conversion 

factors must be used.  

(2) The phosphorus crop removal application rates are set 

forth by regulations promulgated by the Department of 

Conservation and Recreation in accordance with § 10.1-

104.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

b. Animal waste may be applied to any crop once every 

three years at a rate of no greater than 80 pounds per acre 

when:  

(1) The plant available phosphorus supplied by the 

animal waste is based on a waste nutrient analysis 

obtained in the last two years;  

(2) In the absence of current soil sample analyses and 

recommendations; and  

(3) Nutrients have not been supplied by an organic 

source, other than pastured animals, to the proposed land 

application sites within the previous three years of the 

proposed land application date of animal waste.  

c. Soil test recommendations can be used when:  
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(1) Accompanied by analysis results for soil tests that 

have been obtained from the proposed field or fields in 

the last three years;  

(2) The analytical results are from procedures in 

accordance with 4VAC5-15-150 A 2 f; and  

(3) Nutrients from the waste application do not exceed 

the nitrogen or phosphorus recommendations for the 

proposed crop or double crops. The recommendations 

shall be in accordance with 4VAC5-15-150 A 2 a.  

d. A nutrient management plan developed by a certified 

nutrient management planner in accordance with § 10.1-

104.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. The timing of land application of animal waste shall be 

appropriate for the crop, and in accordance with 4VAC5-

15-150 A 4, except that no waste may be applied to ice 

covered or snow covered ground or to soils that are 

saturated.  

3. Animal waste shall not be land applied within buffer 

zones. Buffer zones at waste application sites shall, at a 

minimum, be maintained as follows:  

a. Distance from occupied dwellings: 200 feet (unless the 

occupant of the dwelling signs a waiver of the buffer 

zone);  

b. Distance from water supply wells or springs: 100 feet; 

c. Distance from surface water courses: 100 feet (without 

a permanent vegetated buffer) or 35 feet (if a permanent 

vegetated buffer exists). Other site-specific conservation 

practices may be approved by the department that will 

provide pollutant reductions equivalent or better than the 

reductions that would be achieved by the 100-foot buffer;  

d. Distance from rock outcropping (except limestone): 25 

feet;  

e. Distance from limestone outcroppings: 50 feet; and  

f. Waste shall not be applied in such a manner that it 

would discharge to sinkholes that may exist in the area.  

D. Animal waste end-users shall maintain the records 

demonstrating compliance with the requirements of 

subsections B and C of this section for at least three years and 

make them available to department personnel upon request.  

E. The activities of the animal waste end-user shall not 

contravene the Water Quality Standards, as amended and 

adopted by the board, or any provision of the State Water 

Control Law (§ 62.1-44 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

F. Any duly authorized agent of the board may, at 

reasonable times and under reasonable circumstances, enter 

any establishment or upon any property, public or private, for 

the purpose of obtaining information or conducting surveys or 

investigations necessary in the enforcement of the provisions 

of this regulation.  

 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (9VAC25-192)  

Virginia Pollution Abatement General Permit Registration 

Statement for Animal Feeding Operations (rev. 8/04).  

Virginia DEQ Registration Statement for VPA General 

Permit for Animal Feeding Operations for Owners of Animal 

Feeding Operations, RS VPG1 (rev. 2/13) 

Virginia DEQ Registration Statement for VPA General 

Permit for Animal Feeding Operations for Animal Waste 

End-Users, RS End-Users VPG1 (2/13) 

Local Government Ordinance Form (eff. 11/94)  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3285; Filed October 30, 2013, 8:22 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Reproposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-90. Regulations for Disease 

Reporting and Control (amending 12VAC5-90-10, 

12VAC5-90-370).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-35 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2013. 

Agency Contact: Diane Woolard, PhD, Director, Disease 

Surveillance, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8124, or email 

diane.woolard@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-35.1 of the Code of Virginia requires 

acute care hospitals to report infection information to the 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's (CDC) National 

Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN) and for the State Board 

of Health to define infections to be reported and the patient 

populations to be included in that report. 

Purpose: The proposed regulatory action provides the 

Virginia Department of Health (VDH) with additional 

measures related to healthcare-associated infections (HAI) 

from acute care hospitals without increasing the burden on the 

hospitals to provide the information. Data entered into the 

CDC HAI reporting system for hospital quality monitoring by 

the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1bc45003285~3&typ=40&actno=003285&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1bc45003285~3&typ=40&actno=003285&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1bc45003285~3&typ=40&actno=003285&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b6a8e003285~4&typ=40&actno=003285&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b6a8e003285~4&typ=40&actno=003285&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b6a8e003285~4&typ=40&actno=003285&mime=application/pdf
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would be made available to authorized staff members of 

VDH. This will allow VDH to have a means of measuring 

patient safety in hospitals, with the goal of helping to reduce 

the occurrence of healthcare-associated infections, without 

adding new reporting requirements for Virginia hospitals. 

Substance: The agency proposes to amend 12VAC5-90-370, 

pertaining to the reporting of healthcare-associated infections. 

This is a reproposal of an amendment based on comments 

received on a proposal that was published in the Virginia 

Register on January 31, 2011. That proposed amendment 

required additional reporting of HAIs to VDH by hospitals, 

and the comments received were not supportive of that action. 

The agency has responded by submitting the current 

reproposal, which simply states that, "Data reported into the 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's National 

Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN) for the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services Hospital Inpatient Quality 

Reporting Program shall be shared, through the NHSN, with 

the department." 

Issues: Hospitals are increasingly accountable to multiple 

organizations to demonstrate their performance relative to 

patient safety, including healthcare-associated 

infections.  Hospital staff responsible for monitoring these 

infections are feeling the burden of increasing demands for 

data. In 2011, CMS began requiring hospitals to use the 

CDC's NHSN to report all central line-associated bloodstream 

infections in intensive care units in order to maximize their 

reimbursement for Medicare and Medicaid services. In 2012, 

CMS will expand those requirements to include the reporting 

of data on catheter-associated urinary tract infections 

(CAUTI) and surgical site infections (SSI) related to colon 

and abdominal hysterectomy procedures. CMS is also 

proposing additional reporting requirements for both acute 

care and long-term care facilities, to be rolled out over the 

next several years. Rather than add more requirements, 

potentially not aligned with the federal government, and 

increase the reporting burden on hospitals in Virginia, VDH 

proposes that Virginia hospitals will share these same CMS-

required data with the agency as well. This will provide VDH 

with additional data on the performance of Virginia hospitals 

by gaining access to the data hospitals enter into the CDC 

system for the CMS hospital quality program, thus achieving 

the goal of measuring progress toward preventing infections 

without adding reporting burdens to an already stressed 

system. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Health proposes that data reported into the 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's National 

Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN) for the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services Hospital Inpatient Quality 

Reporting Program shall be shared, through the NHSN, with 

the department. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Section 32.1-35.1 of the Code 

of Virginia mandates that the acute care hospitals report 

nosocomial (healthcare-associated) infections to the Centers 

for Disease Control and Prevention's National Healthcare 

Safety Network and release their infection data to the Board 

which in turn may release the data to the public. The 

legislative mandate requires the Board to determine the types 

of infections to be reported and the patient populations to be 

included. 

Pursuant to the Code of Virginia, the State Board of Health 

(the Board) proposes that data reported into the Centers for 

Disease Control and Preventions (CDC) NHSN for the 

Centers for CMS Hospital Inpatient Quality Reporting 

Program shall be shared, through the NHSN, with the 

department. 

In 2011, CMS began requiring hospitals to use the CDC's 

NHSN to report all central line associated bloodstream 

infections in intensive care units in order to maximize their 

reimbursement for Medicare and Medicaid services. In 2012, 

CMS will expand those requirements to include the reporting 

of data on Catheter-Associated Urinary Tract Infections and 

Surgical Site Infections related to colon and abdominal 

hysterectomy procedures. CMS is also proposing additional 

reporting requirements for both acute care and long-term care 

facilities, to be rolled out over the next several years. 

Hospitals have strong incentives to comply with CMS's 

disease reporting requirements as their reimbursement for 

Medicare and Medicaid services is contingent on reporting. 

Virginia Department of Health (VDH) believes that all 

hospitals required to report to CMS for Medicare and 

Medicaid reimbursement are already doing so. Since the 

proposed regulations provide VDH with access to data 

already being reported, no direct economic impact on 

hospitals is expected. 

However, access to reported data is expected to demand more 

administrative resources from VDH which anticipates 

allocating approximately eight days (two days each quarter) 

of full time staff annually for this requirement. VDH believes 

that the current staffing level made possible by federal 

funding through July 2012 would be able to absorb the 

increased workload in terms of the retrieval and analysis of 

data reported and dissemination of the same data to public if 

requested. After July 2012, the requirement could place a 

financial hardship on the agency. VDH plans to pursue any 

available opportunities for funding to support the necessary 

staff resources. If none are available, existing staff may be 

forced to absorb the responsibilities. 

The proposed changes are expected to be beneficial by 

allowing VDH to have a means of measuring patient safety in 

hospitals, with the goal of helping to reduce the occurrence of 

healthcare-associated infections, without adding new 

reporting requirements for Virginia hospitals. The proposed 
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regulations are also expected to benefit the public by enabling 

them to make informed health care choices by providing 

information that can be used as a proxy for hospital quality. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 

will require 90 acute care hospitals to report healthcare-

associated infection data to the Board. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 

apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulations 

are expected to increase the labor demand by VDH by about 

eight days of full time staff per year in order to retrieve, 

analyze, and disseminate already reported healthcare-

associated infection data. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed changes are not expected to have a direct impact on 

hospitals. However, since the infection data will be available 

to the public, depending on whether the infection data is 

favorable or not, some hospitals may see a decrease or 

increase in the demand for the health care services they are 

offering. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. According to 

VDH, of the 90 acute care hospitals, 47 have fewer than 200 

beds and could be considered as small businesses. While 

there is no direct costs or other effects expected on small 

businesses, depending on whether the infection data is 

favorable or not, some affected small businesses may see a 

decrease or increase in the demand for the health care 

services they are offering as discussed above. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No direct adverse impact on small 

businesses is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed regulations are 

not expected to have any significant effect on real estate 

development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 

Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 

Health has reviewed the economic impact analysis for 

expanded requirements for reporting healthcare-associated 

infections posted to the Virginia Town Hall website on 

October 21, 2011, and concur with its findings and 

conclusions. 

Summary:  

The reproposed amendments provide that data reported 

into the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s 

National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN) for the 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Hospital 

Inpatient Quality Reporting Program shall be shared, 

through the NHSN, with the department. 

Part I  

Definitions  

12VAC5-90-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Acute care hospital" means a hospital as defined in § 32.1-

123 of the Code of Virginia that provides medical treatment 

for patients having an acute illness or injury or recovering 

from surgery. 

[ "Adult" means a person 18 years of age or more. ]  

"Adult intensive care unit" means a nursing care area that 

provides intensive observation, diagnosis, and therapeutic 

procedures for persons 18 years of age or more who are 

critically ill. Such units may also provide intensive care to 

pediatric patients. An intensive care unit excludes nursing 

areas that provide step-down, intermediate care, or telemetry 

only. 

"Affected area" means any part or the whole of the 

Commonwealth, which has been identified as where persons 

reside, or may be located, who are known to have been 

exposed to or infected with, or who are reasonably suspected 

to have been exposed to or infected with, a communicable 

disease of public health threat. "Affected area" shall include, 

but not be limited to, cities, counties, towns, and subsections 

of such areas, public and private property, buildings, and 

other structures. 

"Arboviral infection" means a viral illness that is transmitted 

by a mosquito, tick, or other arthropod. This includes, but is 

not limited to, chikungunya, dengue, eastern equine 

encephalitis (EEE), LaCrosse encephalitis (LAC), St. Louis 

encephalitis (SLE), and West Nile virus (WNV) infection. 
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"Board" means the State Board of Health.  

"Cancer" means all carcinomas, sarcomas, melanomas, 

leukemias, and lymphomas excluding localized basal and 

squamous cell carcinomas of the skin, except for lesions of 

the mucous membranes. 

"Central line-associated bloodstream infection" means a 

primary bloodstream infection identified by laboratory tests, 

with or without clinical signs or symptoms, in a patient with a 

central line device, and meeting the current Centers for 

Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) surveillance definition 

for laboratory-confirmed primary bloodstream infection. 

"Central line device" means a vascular infusion device that 

terminates at or close to the heart or in one of the greater 

vessels. The following are considered great vessels for the 

purpose of reporting central line infections and counting 

central line days: aorta, pulmonary artery, superior vena cava, 

inferior vena cava, brachiocephalic veins, internal jugular 

veins, subclavian veins, external iliac veins, and common 

femoral veins. 

"Child care center" means a child day center, child day 

program, family day home, family day system, or registered 

family day home as defined by § 63.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia, or a similar place providing day care of children by 

such other name as may be applied.  

"Clinic" means any facility, freestanding or associated with 

a hospital, that provides preventive, diagnostic, therapeutic, 

rehabilitative, or palliative care or services to outpatients.  

[ "Clostridium difficile infection, laboratory-identified 

event" means laboratory testing on unformed stool that yields 

a positive result for Clostridium difficile toxin A or B or a 

toxin-producing Clostridium difficile organism detected in 

the stool sample by culture or other laboratory means, with 

duplicate reports on a patient ruled out according to CDC 

definitions in the NHSN Patient Safety Component Manual, 

MDRO and CDAD Module (June 2010). ]  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner or 

his duly designated officer or agent, unless stated in a 

provision of these regulations that it applies to the State 

Health Commissioner in his sole discretion. 

"Communicable disease" means an illness due to an 

infectious agent or its toxic products which is transmitted, 

directly or indirectly, to a susceptible host from an infected 

person, animal, or arthropod or through the agency of an 

intermediate host or a vector or through the inanimate 

environment. 

"Communicable disease of public health significance" 

means an illness caused by a specific or suspected infectious 

agent that may be transmitted directly or indirectly from one 

individual to another. This includes but is not limited to 

infections caused by human immunodeficiency viruses, 

bloodborne pathogens, and tubercle bacillus. The State Health 

Commissioner may determine that diseases caused by other 

pathogens constitute communicable diseases of public health 

significance. 

"Communicable disease of public health threat" means an 

illness of public health significance, as determined by the 

State Health Commissioner in accordance with these 

regulations, caused by a specific or suspected infectious agent 

that may be reasonably expected or is known to be readily 

transmitted directly or indirectly from one individual to 

another and has been found to create a risk of death or 

significant injury or impairment; this definition shall not, 

however, be construed to include human immunodeficiency 

viruses or the tubercle bacilli, unless used as a bioterrorism 

weapon.  

"Companion animal" means any domestic or feral dog, 

domestic or feral cat, nonhuman primate, guinea pig, hamster, 

rabbit not raised for human food or fiber, exotic or native 

animal, reptile, exotic or native bird, or any feral animal or 

any animal under the care, custody, or ownership of a person 

or any animal that is bought, sold, traded, or bartered by any 

person. Agricultural animals, game species, or any animals 

regulated under federal law as research animals shall not be 

considered companion animals for the purpose of this 

regulation. 

"Condition" means any adverse health event, such as a 

disease, an infection, a syndrome, or as indicated by a 

procedure (including but not limited to the results of a 

physical exam, laboratory test, or imaging interpretation) 

suggesting that an exposure of public health importance has 

occurred. 

"Contact" means a person or animal known to have been in 

such association with an infected person or animal as to have 

had an opportunity of acquiring the infection. 

"Contact services" means a broad array of services that are 

offered to persons with infectious diseases and their contacts. 

Contact services include contact tracing, providing 

information about current infections, developing risk 

reduction plans to reduce the chances of future infections, and 

connecting to appropriate medical care and other services. 

"Contact tracing" means the process by which an infected 

person or health department employee notifies others that 

they may have been exposed to the infected person in a 

manner known to transmit the infectious agent in question. 

"Decontamination" means the use of physical or chemical 

means to remove, inactivate, or destroy hazardous substances 

or organisms from a person, surface, or item to the point that 

such substances or organisms are no longer capable of 

causing adverse health effects and the surface or item is 

rendered safe for handling, use, or disposal. 

"Department" means the State Department of Health. 

"Designee" or "designated officer or agent" means any 

person, or group of persons, designated by the State Health 

Commissioner, to act on behalf of the commissioner or the 

board. 
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"Ehrlichiosis/anaplasmosis" means human infections caused 

by Ehrlichia chaffeensis (formerly included in the category 

"human monocytic ehrlichiosis" or "HME"), Ehrlichia 

ewingii or Anaplasma phagocytophilum (formerly included in 

the category "human granulocytic ehrlichiosis" or "HGE"). 

"Epidemic" means the occurrence in a community or region 

of cases of an illness clearly in excess of normal expectancy.  

"Essential needs" means basic human needs for sustenance 

including but not limited to food, water, and health care, e.g., 

medications, therapies, testing, and durable medical 

equipment.  

"Exceptional circumstances" means the presence, as 

determined by the commissioner in his sole discretion, of one 

or more factors that may affect the ability of the department 

to effectively control a communicable disease of public health 

threat. Factors to be considered include but are not limited to: 

(i) characteristics or suspected characteristics of the disease-

causing organism or suspected disease-causing organism such 

as virulence, routes of transmission, minimum infectious 

dose, rapidity of disease spread, the potential for extensive 

disease spread, and the existence and availability of 

demonstrated effective treatment; (ii) known or suspected risk 

factors for infection; (iii) the potential magnitude of the effect 

of the disease on the health and welfare of the public; and (iv) 

the extent of voluntary compliance with public health 

recommendations. The determination of exceptional 

circumstances by the commissioner may take into account the 

experience or results of investigation in Virginia, another 

state, or another country.  

"Foodborne outbreak" means two or more cases of a similar 

illness acquired through the consumption of food 

contaminated with chemicals or an infectious agent or its 

toxic products. Such illnesses include but are not limited to 

heavy metal intoxication, staphylococcal food poisoning, 

botulism, salmonellosis, shigellosis, Clostridium perfringens 

food poisoning, hepatitis A, and Escherichia coli O157:H7 

infection.  

"Healthcare-associated infection" (also known as 

nosocomial infection) means a localized or systemic 

condition resulting from an adverse reaction to the presence 

of an infectious agent or agents or its toxin or toxins that (i) 

occurs in a patient in a healthcare setting (e.g., a hospital or 

outpatient clinic), (ii) was not found to be present or 

incubating at the time of admission unless the infection was 

related to a previous admission to the same setting, and (iii) if 

the setting is a hospital, meets the criteria for a specific 

infection site as defined by CDC [ in the NHSN Patient 

Safety Component Manual, Key Terms (June 2010) ].  

[ "Healthcare-associated outbreak" means any group of 

illnesses of common etiology occurring in patients of a 

healthcare setting acquired by exposure of those patients to 

the disease agent while in such a facility. ]  

"Hepatitis C, acute" means the following clinical 

characteristics are met: (i) discrete onset of symptoms 

indicative of viral hepatitis and (ii) jaundice or elevated serum 

aminotransferase levels and the following laboratory criteria 

are met: (a) serum alanine aminotransferase levels (ALT) 

greater than 400 IU/L; (b) IgM anti-HAV negative (if done); 

(c) IgM anti-HBc negative (if done); and (d) hepatitis C virus 

antibody (anti-HCV) screening test positive with a signal-to-

cutoff ratio predictive of a true positive as determined for the 

particular assay as defined by CDC, HCV antibody positive 

by immunoblot (RIBA), or HCV RNA positive by nucleic 

acid test.  

"Hepatitis C, chronic" means that the laboratory criteria 

specified in clauses (b), (c) and (d) listed above for an acute 

case are met but clinical signs or symptoms of acute viral 

hepatitis are not present and serum alanine aminotransferase 

(ALT) levels do not exceed 400 IU/L. This category will 

include cases that may be acutely infected but not 

symptomatic.  

"Immunization" means a procedure that increases the 

protective response of an individual's immune system to 

specified pathogens.  

"Independent pathology laboratory" means a nonhospital or 

a hospital laboratory performing surgical pathology, 

including fine needle aspiration biopsy and bone marrow 

specimen examination services, which reports the results of 

such tests directly to physician offices, without reporting to a 

hospital or accessioning the information into a hospital tumor 

registry.  

"Individual" means a person or companion animal. When 

the context requires it, "person or persons" shall be deemed to 

include any individual.  

"Infection" means the entry and multiplication or persistence 

of a disease-causing organism (prion, virus, bacteria, fungus, 

parasite, or ectoparasite) in the body of an individual. An 

infection may be inapparent (i.e., without recognizable signs 

or symptoms but identifiable by laboratory means) or 

manifest (clinically apparent).  

"Influenza A, novel virus" means infection of a human with 

an influenza A virus subtype that is different from currently 

circulating human influenza H1 and H3 viruses. Novel 

subtypes include H2, H5, H7, and H9 subtypes or influenza 

H1 and H3 subtypes originating from a nonhuman species.  

"Invasive" means the organism is affecting a normally 

sterile site, including but not limited to blood or cerebrospinal 

fluid.  

"Investigation" means an inquiry into the incidence, 

prevalence, extent, source, mode of transmission, causation 

of, and other information pertinent to a disease occurrence.  

"Isolation" means the physical separation, including 

confinement or restriction of movement, of an individual or 

individuals who are infected with, or are reasonably suspected 

to be infected with, a communicable disease in order to 

prevent or limit the transmission of the communicable disease 

to uninfected and unexposed individuals.  
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"Isolation, complete" means the full-time confinement or 

restriction of movement of an individual or individuals 

infected with, or reasonably suspected to be infected with, a 

communicable disease in order to prevent or limit the 

transmission of the communicable disease to uninfected and 

unexposed individuals.  

"Isolation, modified" means a selective, partial limitation of 

freedom of movement or actions of an individual or 

individuals infected with, or reasonably suspected to be 

infected with, a communicable disease. Modified isolation is 

designed to meet particular situations and includes but is not 

limited to the exclusion of children from school, the 

prohibition or restriction from engaging in a particular 

occupation or using public or mass transportation, or 

requirements for the use of devices or procedures intended to 

limit disease transmission.  

"Isolation, protective" means the physical separation of a 

susceptible individual or individuals not infected with, or not 

reasonably suspected to be infected with, a communicable 

disease from an environment where transmission is occurring, 

or is reasonably suspected to be occurring, in order to prevent 

the individual or individuals from acquiring the 

communicable disease.  

"Laboratory" as used herein means a clinical laboratory that 

examines materials derived from the human body for the 

purpose of providing information on the diagnosis, 

prevention, or treatment of disease.  

"Laboratory director" means any person in charge of 

supervising a laboratory conducting business in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Law-enforcement agency" means any sheriff's office, 

police department, adult or youth correctional officer, or other 

agency or department that employs persons who have law-

enforcement authority that is under the direction and control 

of the Commonwealth or any local governing body. "Law-

enforcement agency" shall include, by order of the Governor, 

the Virginia National Guard.  

"Lead, elevated blood levels" means a confirmed blood level 

greater than or equal to 10 micrograms of lead per deciliter 

(μg/dL) of whole blood in a child or children 15 years of age 

and younger, a venous blood lead level greater than or equal 

to 25 μg/dL in a person older than 15 years of age, or such 

lower blood lead level as may be recommended for individual 

intervention by the department or the Centers for Disease 

Control and Prevention.  

"Least restrictive" means the minimal limitation of the 

freedom of movement and communication of an individual 

while under an order of isolation or an order of quarantine 

that also effectively protects unexposed and susceptible 

individuals from disease transmission.  

"Medical care facility" means any hospital or nursing home 

licensed in the Commonwealth, or any hospital operated by or 

contracted to operate by an entity of the United States 

government or the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Midwife" means any person who is licensed as a nurse 

midwife by the Virginia Boards of Nursing and Medicine or 

who is licensed by the Board of Medicine as a certified 

professional midwife. 

"National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN)" means a 

surveillance system created by the CDC for accumulating, 

exchanging, and integrating relevant information on 

infectious adverse events associated with healthcare delivery. 

"Nucleic acid detection" means laboratory testing of a 

clinical specimen to determine the presence of 

deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) or ribonucleic acid (RNA) 

specific for an infectious agent using any method, including 

hybridization, sequencing, or amplification such as 

polymerase chain reaction.  

"Nurse" means any person licensed as a professional nurse 

or as a licensed practical nurse by the Virginia Board of 

Nursing.  

"Occupational outbreak" means a cluster of illness or 

disease that is indicative of a work-related exposure. Such 

conditions include but are not limited to silicosis, asbestosis, 

byssinosis, pneumoconiosis, and tuberculosis.  

"Outbreak" means the occurrence of more cases of a disease 

than expected.  

"Period of communicability" means the time or times during 

which the etiologic agent may be transferred directly or 

indirectly from an infected person to another person, or from 

an infected animal to a person.  

"Physician" means any person licensed to practice medicine 

or osteopathy by the Virginia Board of Medicine.  

"Quarantine" means the physical separation, including 

confinement or restriction of movement, of an individual or 

individuals who are present within an affected area or who 

are known to have been exposed, or may reasonably be 

suspected to have been exposed, to a communicable disease 

and who do not yet show signs or symptoms of infection with 

the communicable disease in order to prevent or limit the 

transmission of the communicable disease of public health 

threat to unexposed and uninfected individuals.  

"Quarantine, complete" means the full-time confinement or 

restriction of movement of an individual or individuals who 

do not have signs or symptoms of infection but may have 

been exposed, or may reasonably be suspected to have been 

exposed, to a communicable disease of public health threat in 

order to prevent the transmission of the communicable 

disease of public health threat to uninfected individuals.  

"Quarantine, modified" means a selective, partial limitation 

of freedom of movement or actions of an individual or 

individuals who do not have signs or symptoms of the 

infection but have been exposed to, or are reasonably 

suspected to have been exposed to, a communicable disease 

of public health threat. Modified quarantine may be designed 
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to meet particular situations and includes but is not limited to 

limiting movement to the home, work, and/or one or more 

other locations, the prohibition or restriction from using 

public or mass transportation, or requirements for the use of 

devices or procedures intended to limit disease transmission.  

"Reportable disease" means an illness due to a specific toxic 

substance, occupational exposure, or infectious agent, which 

affects a susceptible individual, either directly, as from an 

infected animal or person, or indirectly through an 

intermediate host, vector, or the environment, as determined 

by the board.  

"SARS" means severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS)-

associated coronavirus (SARS-CoV) disease.  

"School" means (i) any public school from kindergarten 

through grade 12 operated under the authority of any locality 

within the Commonwealth; (ii) any private or parochial 

school that offers instruction at any level or grade from 

kindergarten through grade 12; (iii) any private or parochial 

nursery school or preschool, or any private or parochial child 

care center licensed by the Commonwealth; and (iv) any 

preschool handicap classes or Head Start classes.  

"Serology" means the testing of blood, serum, or other body 

fluids for the presence of antibodies or other markers of an 

infection or disease process.  

[ "Surgical Care Improvement Project (SCIP)" means a 

national quality initiative supported by The Joint 

Commission, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services, and other partners in healthcare that is designed to 

improve surgical care in hospitals. ]  

"Surveillance" means the ongoing systematic collection, 

analysis, and interpretation of outcome-specific data for use 

in the planning, implementation, and evaluation of public 

health practice. A surveillance system includes the functional 

capacity for data analysis as well as the timely dissemination 

of these data to persons who can undertake effective 

prevention and control activities.  

"Susceptible individual" means a person or animal who is 

vulnerable to or potentially able to contract a disease or 

condition. Factors that affect an individual's susceptibility 

include but are not limited to physical characteristics, 

genetics, previous or chronic exposures, chronic conditions or 

infections, immunization history, or use of medications.  

"Toxic substance" means any substance, including any raw 

materials, intermediate products, catalysts, final products, or 

by-products of any manufacturing operation conducted in a 

commercial establishment, that has the capacity, through its 

physical, chemical or biological properties, to pose a 

substantial risk of death or impairment either immediately or 

over time, to the normal functions of humans, aquatic 

organisms, or any other animal but not including any 

pharmaceutical preparation which deliberately or 

inadvertently is consumed in such a way as to result in a drug 

overdose.  

"Tubercle bacilli" means disease-causing organisms 

belonging to the Mycobacterium tuberculosis complex and 

includes Mycobacterium tuberculosis, Mycobacterium bovis, 

and Mycobacterium africanum or other members as may be 

established by the commissioner.  

"Tuberculin skin test (TST)" means a test for demonstrating 

infection with tubercle bacilli, performed according to the 

Mantoux method, in which 0.1 ml of 5 TU strength tuberculin 

purified protein derivative (PPD) is injected intradermally on 

the volar surface of the arm. Any reaction is observed 48-72 

hours after placement and palpable induration is measured 

across the diameter transverse to the long axis of the arm. The 

measurement of the indurated area is recorded in millimeters 

and the significance of the measured induration is based on 

existing national and department guidelines.  

"Tuberculosis" means a disease caused by tubercle bacilli.  

"Tuberculosis, active disease" (also "active tuberculosis 

disease" and "active TB disease"), as defined by § 32.1-49.1 

of the Code of Virginia, means a disease caused by an 

airborne microorganism and characterized by the presence of 

either (i) a specimen of sputum or other bodily fluid or tissue 

that has been found to contain tubercle bacilli as evidenced by 

culture or nucleic acid amplification, including preliminary 

identification by rapid methodologies; (ii) a specimen of 

sputum or other bodily fluid or tissue that is suspected to 

contain tubercle bacilli as evidenced by smear, and where 

sufficient clinical and radiographic evidence of active 

tuberculosis disease is present as determined by a physician 

licensed to practice medicine in Virginia; or (iii) sufficient 

clinical and radiographic evidence of active tuberculosis 

disease as determined by the commissioner is present, but a 

specimen of sputum or other bodily fluid or tissue containing, 

or suspected of containing, tubercle bacilli is unobtainable.  

"Tuberculosis infection in children age less than 4 years" 

means a significant reaction resulting from a tuberculin skin 

test (TST) or other approved test for latent infection without 

clinical or radiographic evidence of active tuberculosis 

disease, in children from birth up to their fourth birthday.  

"Vaccinia, disease or adverse event" means vaccinia 

infection or serious or unexpected events in persons who 

received the smallpox vaccine or their contacts, including but 

not limited to bacterial infections, eczema vaccinatum, 

erythema multiforme, generalized vaccinia, progressive 

vaccinia, inadvertent inoculation, post-vaccinial 

encephalopathy or encephalomyelitis, ocular vaccinia, and 

fetal vaccinia.  

"Waterborne outbreak" means two or more cases of a similar 

illness acquired through the ingestion of or other exposure to 

water contaminated with chemicals or an infectious agent or 

its toxic products. Such illnesses include but are not limited to 

giardiasis, viral gastroenteritis, cryptosporidiosis, hepatitis A, 

cholera, and shigellosis. A single case of laboratory-

confirmed primary amebic meningoencephalitis or of 

waterborne chemical poisoning is considered an outbreak.  
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Part XIII  

Report Reporting of Healthcare-Associated Infections  

12VAC5-90-370. Reporting of healthcare-associated 

infections. 

A. Reportable infections [ and method and timing of 

reporting ]. [ 1. Acute care hospitals shall collect enter data on 

the following healthcare-associated infection infections in the 

specified patient population: into CDC's National Healthcare 

Safety Network according to CDC protocols in the NHSN 

Patient Safety Component Manual Modules: Identifying 

HAIs (November 2009), Device-associated Module CLABSI 

Events (June 2010), MDRO and CDAD Module (June 2010), 

and CDC Locations and Descriptions (July 2010). Acute care 

hospitals shall ensure that accurate and complete data are 

entered at least quarterly within one month of the close of the 

calendar year quarter and shall authorize the department to 

have access to hospital-specific data contained in the NHSN 

database.  

central 1. Central line-associated bloodstream infections in 

adult intensive care units, including the number of central-

line days in each population at risk, expressed per 1,000 

catheter-days.  

2. Central line-associated bloodstream infections outside 

intensive care, including in one adult inpatient medical 

ward and one adult inpatient surgical ward. Wards selected 

should be those with the longest length of stay during the 

previous calendar year, excluding cardiology, obstetrics, 

psychiatry, hospice, and step-down units. Data shall 

include the number of central-line days in each population 

at risk.  

3. Clostridium difficile infection, laboratory-identified 

events on inpatient units, with the exceptions 

recommended by CDC protocol in the NHSN Patient 

Safety Component Manual, MDRO and CDAD Module 

(June 2010). Data shall be collected year-round at the 

overall facility-wide level. Data shall include patient days. 

2. All acute care hospitals with adult intensive care units 

shall (i) participate in CDC's National Healthcare Safety 

Network by July 1, 2008, (ii) submit data on the above 

named infection to the NHSN according to CDC protocols 

and ensure that all data from July 1, 2008, to December 31, 

2008, are entered into the NHSN by January 31, 2009, and 

(iii) ensure accurate and complete data are available 

quarterly thereafter according to a schedule established by 

the department. 

3. All acute care hospitals reporting the information noted 

above shall authorize the department to have access to 

hospital-specific data contained in the NHSN database. 

B. Reportable process measures. Acute care hospitals shall 

report to the department quarterly, within one month of the 

close of the calendar year quarter, aggregate counts of the 

Surgical Care Improvement Project (SCIP) Core Measures 

pertaining to the following surgical procedures: hip 

arthroplasty, knee arthroplasty, and coronary artery bypass 

graft. Data shall be collected in accordance with the 

Specification Manual for National Hospital Inpatient 

Quality Measures (Version 3.3) and shall include counts of 

the patient population and the applicable SCIP measures 

for each of the above designated surgical procedures. 

Reports shall be submitted to the department’s Division of 

Surveillance and Investigation. [ Data reported into the 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's National 

Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN) for the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services Hospital Inpatient Quality 

Reporting Program shall be shared, through the NHSN, 

with the department. ]  

B. Liability protection and data release. Any person making 

such report as authorized herein shall be immune from 

liability as provided by § 32.1-38 of the Code of Virginia. 

Infection rate data may be released to the public by the 

department upon request. Data shall be aggregated to ensure 

that no individual patient may be identified.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC5-90)  

Control of Communicable Diseases Manual, [ 18th 19th ] 

Edition, [ 2008, ] American Public Health Association [ , 

2004 ]  

[ National Healthcare Safety Network Patient Safety 

Component Manual, Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention: 

Key Terms, June 2010. 

Multidrug-Resistant Organism & Clostridium difficile-

Associated Disease (MDRO/CDAD) Module (MDRO and 

CDAD Module), June 2010. 

Identifying Healthcare-associated Infections (HAI) in 

NHSN (Identifying HAIs), November 2009. 

Central Line-Associated Bloodstream Infection (CLABSI) 

Event (Device-associated Module CLABSI), June 2010. 

CDC Locations and Descriptions, July 2010. 

Specification Manual for National Hospital Inpatient Quality 

Measures, Version 3.3, 04-01-11 (2Q11) through 12-31-11 

(4Q11), Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services and The 

Joint Commission. ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2109; Filed October 21, 2013, 12:01 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 

Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 

12VAC30-50-35, 12VAC30-50-75).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 
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Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2013. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 

Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority, as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a), provides governing authority 

for payments for services. 

Section 175 of the Medicare Improvement for Patients and 

Providers Act of 2008 (Public Law 110-275) amended 

§ 1869D-2(e)(2)(A) of the Social Security Act to include 

barbiturates (when used for the treatment of epilepsy, cancer, 

or a chronic mental health disorder) and benzodiazepines in 

Part D drug coverage as of January 1, 2013. With this new 

coverage under Medicare Part D for these dual eligible 

persons, Medicaid no longer needs to offer this benefit. 

Purpose: The proposed amendments eliminate redundant 

coverage of two classes of drugs (barbiturates when used for 

the treatment of epilepsy, cancer, or a chronic mental health 

disorder and benzodiazepines) that were previously excluded 

for Medicare beneficiaries, including full benefit dual 

eligibles, under their Medicare Part D drug benefit. This 

amendment will not prevent full benefit dual eligibles from 

receiving these drugs; however, the coverage will be provided 

by their Medicare Part D pharmacy benefit provider, not the 

fee for service Medicaid program. DMAS will continue to 

provide coverage for all other drugs enumerated in 

12VAC30-50-35 and 12VAC30-50-75 that will continue to 

be excluded from Medicare Part D coverage in accordance 

with existing Medicaid policy.  

An analysis of benzodiazepine and barbiturate drug utilization 

by full benefit dual eligibles in fiscal year 2012 indicated that 

the elimination of these two classes of drugs will significantly 

reduce current non-Medicare Part D covered drug 

expenditures for approximately 109,000 full benefit dual 

eligibles by approximately $ 2.2 million per year (state and 

federal funds). Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.05 of the Code of 

Virginia DMAS does not anticipate any impact upon the 

public health, safety, or welfare. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: DMAS is utilizing 

the fast-track rulemaking process because the agency does not 

anticipate any objections to these changes. Full benefit dual 

eligibles will continue to have the same access to all of the 

classes of drugs they previously had and for the same 

conditions. This change is anticipated by the provider 

community because the expanded Medicare Part D drug 

coverage for benzodiazepines and barbiturates will be a 

national change that all Medicare Part D pharmacy benefit 

plans are implementing. These plans are required by the 

federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services to inform 

their enrollees of these changes. 

Substance: Currently, the State Plan for Medical Assistance 

provides drug coverage for certain drug classes not provided 

for under Medicare Part D, including the drug classes of 

benzodiazepines and barbiturates. This regulatory action 

discontinues Medicaid coverage of benzodiazepines for all 

conditions and barbiturates for epilepsy, cancer, and chronic 

mental health disorders for approximately 109,000 

categorically needy and medically needy full benefit dual 

eligibles. These categories of drugs are covered by their 

chosen Medicare Part D pharmacy benefit plan effective 

January 1, 2013.  

Issues: The primary advantage of this proposed amendment to 

the general public and private citizens is the cost savings 

associated with the implementation of this change. Recent 

analysis of benzodiazepine and barbiturate utilization by full 

benefit dual eligibles suggests that DMAS will save 

approximately $ 2.2 million annually in total dollars. With the 

implementation of this change, the cost of these drugs will be 

borne by the Medicare Part D plan of the enrollee, not by the 

Virginia Medicaid program. There are no disadvantages to the 

general public or private citizens.  

The primary advantage to the agency and the Commonwealth 

is the transfer of coverage for benzodiazepines and 

barbiturates to the federally funded Medicare Part D plans, 

which will save the Commonwealth approximately $ 1.1 

million in general funds.  

Medicaid enrolled pharmacies that provide coverage to full 

benefit dual eligibles also participate in the Medicare Part D 

plans that will be providing this additional coverage. It is 

anticipated that the transition to a different payor for these 

classes of drugs from the Virginia Medicaid program to 

Medicare Part D plans should cause no disruption in 

coverage. There are no perceived disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth as a result of this proposed regulatory 

change. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

proposed regulations will eliminate Medicaid coverage for 

some drugs for some recipients that will be covered under 

Medicare Part D drug benefit effective January 1, 2013. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed regulations will 

eliminate Medicaid coverage for benzodiazepines for all 

conditions and barbiturates, for patients with diagnoses of 

epilepsy, cancer or a chronic mental health disorder for full 
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benefits dual eligibles (Medicaid recipients who are also 

eligible for Medicare benefits). Effective January 1, 2013, 

these drugs will be covered for full benefit dual eligibles 

under their Medicare Part D drug benefit. This additional 

Medicare Part D coverage is being provided as a result of the 

passage of Section 175 of the Medicare Improvement for 

Patients and Providers Act of 2008, which amended section 

1860D-2(e)(2)(A) of the Act to include barbiturates used in 

the treatment of epilepsy, cancer, or a chronic mental health 

disorder and benzodiazepines for all conditions in their 

existing Medicare Part D coverage. Because of this additional 

Part D drug coverage, Virginia Medicaid will no longer 

provide these classes of drugs to full benefit dual eligibles. 

According to Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS), there were 25,607 dual eligible recipients who 

received one of these drugs from Medicaid at a cost of 

approximately $2.2 million in total funds in fiscal year 2012. 

Since Medicare Part D, a 100% federally funded program, 

will start paying for these drugs at the beginning of 2013, 

Virginia Medicaid expenditures are anticipated to decrease by 

$2.2 million per year. Of this amount, $1.1 million will be 

savings in state funds and the rest will be savings in federal 

funds. As a result, the proposed change will save the 

Commonwealth approximately $1.1 million annually and 

increase the influx of federal funds coming to Virginia by the 

same amount. An increased influx of federal funds is likely to 

have an expansionary economic effect on the 

Commonwealth's economy. 

DMAS plans to notify approximately 1,000 Medicaid 

enrolled pharmacies of this coverage change. In addition, 

DMAS reports that the Part D plans have informed patients of 

their expanded coverage. Moreover, Medicaid enrolled 

pharmacies that provide coverage to full benefit dual eligibles 

also participate in the Medicare Part D plans that will be 

providing this additional coverage. Thus, DMAS anticipates 

no disruption in coverage while recipients transition to a 

different payor for these drugs. In short, no significant 

economic effect is expected on affected recipients and 

pharmacies. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are approximately 

25,607 dual eligible recipients who received one of these 

drugs from Medicaid in fiscal year 2012 and there are 

approximately 1,000 enrolled pharmacies in the Medicaid 

program. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The expected $1.1 million 

increase in the influx of federal funds coming into Virginia 

should have an expansionary economic impact on the state's 

economy and help increase employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 

significant economic effect is expected on the use and value 

of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No significant 

costs and other effects are expected on small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed regulations are not anticipated 

to have a significant adverse impact on small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No effect on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget and concurs with 

this analysis.  

Summary: 

The amendments eliminate Medicaid coverage of two 

classes of drugs--benzodiazepines for all conditions and 

barbiturates for patients with a diagnosis of epilepsy, 

cancer, or a chronic mental health disorder--for Medicaid 

recipients covered under the Medicare Part D drug 

benefit.  

12VAC30-50-35. Requirements relating to payment for 

covered outpatient drugs for the categorically needy.  

A. Effective January 1, 2006, the Medicaid agency will not 

cover any Part D drug for full-benefit dual eligible individuals 

who are entitled to receive Medicare benefits under Part A or 

Part B. 1. The Medicaid agency provides coverage for the 

following excluded or otherwise restricted drugs or classes of 

drugs, or their medical uses to all Medicaid recipients, 

including full benefit dual eligible beneficiaries under the 
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Medicare Prescription Drug Benefit-Part D. The following 

excluded drugs are covered:  

a. 1. Agents when used for anorexia, weight loss, weight 

gain (see specific drug categories in subsection B of this 

section);  

b. 2. Agents when used for the symptomatic relief cough 

and colds (see specific drug categories in subsection B of 

this section);  

c. 3. Prescription vitamins and mineral products, except 

prenatal vitamins and fluoride (see specific drug categories 

in subsection B of this section);  

d. 4. Nonprescription drugs (see specific drug categories in 

subsection B of this section);  

e. 5. Barbiturates, except for dual eligible individuals when 

used in the treatment of epilepsy, cancer, or a chronic 

mental health disorder (see specific drug categories in 

subsection B of this section); and  

f. 6. Benzodiazepines, except for dual eligible individuals 

as Part D will provide coverage for all conditions (see 

specific drug categories in subsection B of this section).  

B. Coverage of specific categories of excluded drugs will be 

in accordance with existing Medicaid policy as described in 

12VAC30-50-520.  

12VAC30-50-75. Requirements relating to payment for 

covered outpatient drugs for the medically needy.  

A. Effective January 1, 2006, the Medicaid agency will not 

cover any Part D drug for full-benefit dual eligible individuals 

who are entitled to receive Medicare benefits under Part A or 

Part B. 1. The Medicaid agency provides coverage for the 

following excluded or otherwise restricted drugs or classes of 

drugs, or their medical uses to all Medicaid recipients, 

including full benefit dual eligible beneficiaries under the 

Medicare Prescription Drug Benefit Part D. The following 

excluded drugs are covered:  

a. 1. Agents when used for anorexia, weight loss, weight 

gain (see specific drug categories in subsection B of this 

section);  

b. 2. Agents when used for the symptomatic relief cough 

and colds (see specific drug categories in subsection B of 

this section);  

c. 3. Prescription vitamins and mineral products, except 

prenatal vitamins and fluoride (see specific drug categories 

in subsection B of this section);  

d. 4. Nonprescription drugs (see specific drug categories in 

subsection B of this section);  

e. 5. Barbiturates, except for dual eligible individuals when 

used in the treatment of epilepsy, cancer, or a chronic 

mental health disorder (see specific drug categories in 

subsection B of this section); and  

f. 6. Benzodiazepines, except for dual eligible individuals 

as Part D will provide coverage for all conditions (see 

specific drug categories in subsection B of this section).  

B. Coverage of specific categories of excluded drugs will be 

in accordance with existing Medicaid policy as described in 

12VAC30-50-520.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3433; Filed October 21, 2013, 2:01 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 

(amending 12VAC30-120-360, 12VAC30-120-370).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2013. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 

Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority, as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a), provides governing authority 

for payments for services. 

Item 307 DDD of Chapter 3 of the 2012 Acts of the 

Assembly, Special Session I, provides:  

"The Department of Medical Assistance Services may seek 

federal authority through amendments to the State Plans 

under Title XIX and XXI of the Social Security Act, and 

appropriate waivers to such, to allow foster care children, on 

a regional basis to be determined by the department, to be 

enrolled in Medicaid managed care (Medallion II)." 

DMAS is relying on its general authority in § 32.1-325 of the 

Code of Virginia to also include adoption assistance children 

along with foster care children, treating similarly situated 

individuals the same, in enrolling them in Medallion II.  

As permitted by Executive Order 14 (2010), this regulatory 

action is necessary in order to interpret the applicable federal 

laws that created the managed care organization (MCO) 

health care delivery system (Social Security Act § 1915(b)). It 

also implements the directive to DMAS of Item 307 RR of 

Chapter 3 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, to 

"expand principles of care coordination to all geographic 

areas, populations and services under programs administered 

by the department."  

Purpose: Virginia includes most Medicaid beneficiaries in 

risk-based managed care; however, children in foster care and 

adoption assistance are currently excluded. This exclusion 
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was based on the fact that managed care service delivery did 

not, until recently, cover the entire Commonwealth. 

DMAS has realized numerous health care and budgetary 

benefits from covering traditional acute care services through 

a risk-based capitated managed care program. Expanding the 

managed care population to include foster care and adoption 

assistance children is consistent with the agency's effort to 

improve access and treatment, coordinate care, reduce 

inappropriate utilization, and provide budget stability with 

tangible quality goals. Including more previously-excluded 

populations in managed care is also a goal of this 

administration. There are no disadvantages to the health, 

safety, and welfare of citizens from these amendments. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track 

rulemaking process for this proposed regulatory change was 

selected because this change is not expected to be 

controversial. The inclusion of foster care and adoption 

assistance children in managed care is not expected to be 

controversial as the Virginia Department of Social Services is 

in agreement and has even collaborated with DMAS during 

the earlier pilot project. The pilot project showed managed 

care services to be quite beneficial to these participants. The 

amendments help to protect the health, safety, and welfare of 

the affected Medicaid beneficiaries who are also citizens of 

the Commonwealth. 

Substance: The amendments affect the Medallion II (Part VI, 

12VAC30-120-360 and 12VAC30-120-370) by removing the 

exclusion of foster care and adoption assistance children from 

Medallion II.  

Foster care and adoption assistance children were originally 

included in the managed care system, as early as 1996. 

Experience at that time indicated that, due to foster care and 

adoption assistance children's frequent changes of addresses 

(moving into/out of MCO service areas), being restricted for a 

period of time to a managed care organization was not 

practical. This difficulty was compounded by the fact that, at 

that time, there were large geographic areas of the 

Commonwealth that lacked operational MCOs. 

Consequently, these two groups of children were excluded, 

by regulatory action, from the managed care system. Now 

that the managed care system is statewide, this complication 

has been eliminated.  

Furthermore, a recent pilot study with the City of Richmond 

Department of Social Services found that moving 

approximately 300 foster care children into the Medallion II 

managed care delivery system was feasible and advantageous 

for children in foster care as well as those receiving adoption 

assistance. These children often have special health care 

needs that are better met by managed care organizations than 

by separate, freestanding, fee-for-service providers. Managed 

care organizations have easier access to specialty physician 

services that these young people often need.  

Issues: The primary advantage of this change is that children 

who are in foster care or who are receiving adoption 

assistance are expected to receive improved long term quality 

of care as a result of having a more consistent medical home. 

This is particularly important for these populations as they 

can have histories of neglect and abuse, which increases their 

physical, mental, and emotional vulnerabilities and medical 

care needs. There are no disadvantages for these populations 

to being included in MCOs. 

The affected MCOs will experience small increases in their 

patient numbers for which they will receive Medicaid 

capitation rates. There will be no disadvantages for the 

MCOs.  

For the public and the Commonwealth, there are no identified 

disadvantages. The advantage to the Commonwealth is that 

these most vulnerable children, for whom the Commonwealth 

is legally responsible, will be receiving better health care 

more appropriate to their medical needs as well as the 

coordination of those services.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 3, Item 307 DDD of the 2012 Acts of the 

Assembly, Special Session I, the proposed changes will allow 

foster care children enrolled in Medicaid to receive services 

under the managed care service delivery system. In addition, 

the proposed changes will allow adoption assistance children 

to enroll in managed care. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 

one or more proposed changes. There is insufficient data to 

accurately compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the 

costs on providers. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to Chapter 3, Item 307 

DDD of the 2012 Acts of the Assembly, Special Session I, 

the proposed changes will allow foster care children enrolled 

in Medicaid to receive services under the managed care 

service delivery system. In addition, the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) is proposing to allow 

adoption assistance children to enroll in managed care. 

Children enrolled in foster care or adoption assistance have 

previously been exempted from enrollment into managed 

care, due primarily to the lack of managed care delivery 

systems statewide. 

However, at the request of the City of Richmond Department 

of Social Services, beginning December 1, 2011, DMAS 

implemented a pilot program adding foster care children in 

Richmond City into managed care. According to DMAS, this 

program has shown great success, and expansion of this 

program until all foster care/adoption assistance children 

statewide are enrolled in managed care is desirable. 

Currently, there are 5,700 children in the foster care and 

6,600 children in adoption assistance categories. In fiscal year 

2012, the total Medicaid spending for these children was 

about $120 million. The health care costs under the managed 

care delivery system are usually lower than the costs under 
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the fee-for-service delivery system. Thus, the main fiscal 

benefit of the proposed regulations is the avoided cost 

difference between fee-for-service and the managed care 

delivery systems. The proposed changes are anticipated to 

provide $5.75 million savings in fiscal year 2013 and $5.5 

million savings in fiscal year 2014. One half of the savings 

would accrue to the Commonwealth and the remaining half 

would accrue to the federal government since Virginia 

Medicaid is funded 50% by the state and 50% by the federal 

government.  

In addition to the fiscal savings, requiring children in the 

foster care and adoption assistance categories to enroll in 

managed care is expected to enhance the coordination of 

services and the care received through case management, 

affording easier access to needed specialized care services by 

children who often have special medical care needs. This is 

particularly important for these populations as they can have 

histories of neglect and abuse which increases their physical, 

mental, and emotional vulnerabilities and medical care needs.  

Furthermore, the managed care delivery system offers other 

value added services that the fee-for-service system does not. 

These value added services include 24-hour nurse line, toll-

free member services helpline, free translation services, 

outreach and health education materials, special programs to 

help control conditions like asthma and diabetes, well-adult 

checkups, and no co-payments for any covered service. 

Since the proposed regulations make it possible to provide 

services through the managed care system, these changes 

have an impact on both the networks of the managed care 

system and the fee-for-service system. The managed care 

providers and providers in the network of managed care 

organizations will now be able to offer their services to foster 

care and adoption assistance children. The fee-for-service 

providers, on the other hand, will no longer be the only 

providers offering services to these children. However, it is 

possible that some providers belong to both networks. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 

will allow approximately 12,300 foster care and adoption 

assistance children to enroll in six managed care 

organizations operating in the Commonwealth. The number 

of unique providers that may be either in fee-for-service or 

managed care networks is 52,818. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 

apply to all localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulations 

are anticipated to shift up to 12,300 children from the fee-for-

service provider network to the managed care provider 

network. Thus, while the managed care network and their 

providers may see an increase in their demand for labor, 

providers in the fee-for-service network are expected to see a 

corresponding decrease. However, a provider may belong to 

both networks. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Increased 

demand for services for the managed care network and their 

providers is expected to have a positive effect on their asset 

values while reduced demand is expected to hurt asset values 

of fee-for-service network providers. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. None of the six 

managed care organizations are small businesses. However, 

most of the providers in their networks and providers in fee-

for-service networks are believed to be small businesses. The 

costs and other effects on these small businesses would be the 

same as discussed above. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There is no known alternative method that 

minimizes adverse impact while achieving the same goals. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed regulations are 

not expected to have any effect of real estate development 

costs.  

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Medical Assistance Services has reviewed the 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. The department concurs with this 

analysis.  

Summary: 

Pursuant to Item 307 DDD of Chapter 3 of the 2012 Acts 

of Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments require 

children in foster care or adoption assistance categories to 

be enrolled in managed care. Children enrolled in foster 

care or adoption assistance have previously been exempted 

from enrollment into managed care. The amendments treat 
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children in foster care or adoption assistance the same as 

all other children enrolled in Medicaid. 

Part VI  

Medallion II  

12VAC30-120-360. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Action" means the denial or limited authorization of a 

requested service, including the type or level of service; the 

reduction, suspension, or termination of a previously 

authorized service; the denial, in whole or in part, of payment 

for a service; the failure to provide services in a timely 

manner, as defined by the state; or the failure of an MCO to 

act within the timeframes provided in 42 CFR 438.408(b).  

"Appeal" means a request for review of an action, as 

"action" is defined in this section.  

"Area of residence" means the recipient's address in the 

Medicaid eligibility file.  

"Capitation payment" means a payment the department 

makes periodically to a contractor on behalf of each recipient 

enrolled under a contract for the provision of medical services 

under the State Plan, regardless of whether the particular 

recipient receives services during the period covered by the 

payment.  

"Client," "clients," "recipient," "enrollee," or "participant" 

means an individual or individuals having current Medicaid 

eligibility who shall be authorized by DMAS to be a member 

or members of Medallion II.  

"Covered services" means Medicaid services as defined in 

the State Plan for Medical Assistance.  

"Disenrollment" means the process of changing enrollment 

from one Medallion II Managed Care Organization (MCO) 

plan to another MCO or to the Primary Care Case 

Management (PCCM) program, if applicable.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services.  

"Early Intervention" means EPSDT Early Intervention 

services provided pursuant to Part C of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 2004 as set forth in 

12VAC30-50-131. 

"Eligible person" means any person eligible for Virginia 

Medicaid in accordance with the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

"Emergency medical condition" means a medical condition 

manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity 

(including severe pain) that a prudent layperson, who 

possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine, 

could reasonably expect the absence of immediate medical 

attention to result in the following:  

1. Placing the health of the individual (or, with respect to a 

pregnant woman, the health of the woman or her unborn 

child) in serious jeopardy,  

2. Serious impairment to bodily functions, or  

3. Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.  

"Emergency services" means covered inpatient and 

outpatient services that are furnished by a provider that is 

qualified to furnish these services and that are needed to 

evaluate or stabilize an emergency medical condition.  

"Enrollment broker" means an independent contractor that 

enrolls recipients in the contractor's plan and is responsible 

for the operation and documentation of a toll-free recipient 

service helpline. The responsibilities of the enrollment broker 

include, but shall not be limited to, recipient education and 

MCO enrollment, assistance with and tracking of recipients' 

complaints resolutions, and may include recipient marketing 

and outreach.  

"Exclusion from Medallion II" means the removal of an 

enrollee from the Medallion II program on a temporary or 

permanent basis.  

"External Quality Review Organization" (EQRO) is quality 

review organization" or "EQRO" means an organization that 

meets the competence and independence requirements set 

forth in 42 CFR 438.354 and performs external quality 

reviews, other external quality review (EQR) related activities 

as set forth in 42 CFR 438.358, or both.  

"Foster care" is a program in which a child receives either 

foster care assistance under Title IV-E of the Social Security 

Act or state and local foster care assistance.  

"Grievance" means an expression of dissatisfaction about 

any matter other than an action, as "action" is defined in this 

section.  

"Health care plan" means any arrangement in which any 

managed care organization undertakes to provide, arrange for, 

pay for, or reimburse any part of the cost of any health care 

services.  

"Health care professional" means a provider as defined in 

42 CFR 438.2.  

"Managed care organization" or "MCO" means an entity that 

meets the participation and solvency criteria defined in 

42 CFR Part 438 and has an executed contractual agreement 

with DMAS to provide services covered under the Medallion 

II program. Covered services for Medallion II individuals 

must be as accessible (in terms of timeliness, amount, 

duration, and scope) as compared to other Medicaid recipients 

served within the area.  

"Network" means doctors, hospitals or other health care 

providers who participate or contract with an MCO and, as a 

result, agree to accept a mutually-agreed upon sum or fee 

schedule as payment in full for covered services that are 

rendered to eligible participants.  
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"Newborn enrollment period" means the period from the 

child's date of birth plus the next two calendar months.  

"Nonparticipating provider" means a health care entity or 

health care professional not in the contractor's participating 

provider network.  

"Post-stabilization care services" means covered services 

related to an emergency medical condition that are provided 

after an enrollee is stabilized in order to maintain the 

stabilized condition or to improve or resolve the enrollee's 

condition.  

"Potential enrollee" means a Medicaid recipient who is 

subject to mandatory enrollment or may voluntarily elect to 

enroll in a given managed care program, but is not yet an 

enrollee of a specific MCO or PCCM.  

"Primary care case management" or "PCCM" means a 

system under which a primary care case manager contracts 

with the Commonwealth to furnish case management services 

(which include the location, coordination, and monitoring of 

primary health care services) to Medicaid recipients.  

"School health services" means those physical therapy, 

occupational therapy, speech therapy, nursing, psychiatric and 

psychological services rendered to children who qualify for 

these services under the federal Individuals with Disabilities 

Education Act (20 USC § 1471 et seq.) by (i) employees of 

the school divisions or (ii) providers that subcontract with 

school divisions, as described in 12VAC30-50-229.1 

12VAC30-50-130.  

"Spend-down" means the process of reducing countable 

income by deducting incurred medical expenses for medically 

needy individuals, as determined in the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance.  

12VAC30-120-370. Medallion II enrollees. 

A. DMAS shall determine enrollment in Medallion II. 

Enrollment in Medallion II is not a guarantee of continuing 

eligibility for services and benefits under the Virginia 

Medical Assistance Services Program. DMAS reserves the 

right to exclude from participation in the Medallion II 

managed care program any recipient individual who has been 

consistently noncompliant with the policies and procedures of 

managed care or who is threatening to providers, MCOs, or 

DMAS. There must be sufficient documentation from various 

providers, the MCO, and DMAS of these noncompliance 

issues and any attempts at resolution. Recipients Individuals 

excluded from Medallion II through this provision may 

appeal the decision to DMAS. 

B. The following individuals shall be excluded (as defined 

in 12VAC30-120-360) from participating in Medallion II or 

will be disenrolled from Medallion II if any of the following 

apply. Individuals not meeting the exclusion criteria must 

participate in the Medallion II program. 

1. Individuals who are inpatients in state mental hospitals; 

2. Individuals who are approved by DMAS as inpatients in 

long-stay hospitals, nursing facilities, or intermediate care 

facilities for the mentally retarded intellectually disabled; 

3. Individuals who are placed on spend-down; 

4. Individuals who are participating in the family planning 

waiver, or in federal waiver programs for home-based and 

community-based Medicaid coverage prior to managed 

care enrollment; 

5. Individuals who are participating in foster care or 

subsidized adoption programs; 

6. 5. Individuals under age 21 who are either enrolled in 

DMAS authorized treatment foster care programs as 

defined in 12VAC30-60-170 A, or who are approved for 

DMAS residential facility Level C programs as defined in 

12VAC30-130-860; 

7. 6. Newly eligible individuals who are in the third 

trimester of pregnancy and who request exclusion within a 

department-specified timeframe of the effective date of 

their MCO enrollment. Exclusion may be granted only if 

the member's obstetrical provider (e.g., physician, hospital, 

midwife) does not participate with the enrollee's assigned 

MCO. Exclusion requests made during the third trimester 

may be made by the recipient, MCO, or provider. DMAS 

shall determine if the request meets the criteria for 

exclusion. Following the end of the pregnancy, these 

individuals shall be required to enroll to the extent they 

remain eligible for Medicaid; 

8. 7. Individuals, other than students, who permanently live 

outside their area of residence for greater than 60 

consecutive days except those individuals placed there for 

medically necessary services funded by the MCO; 

9. 8. Individuals who receive hospice services in 

accordance with DMAS criteria; 

10. 9. Individuals with other comprehensive group or 

individual health insurance coverage, including Medicare, 

insurance provided to military dependents, and any other 

insurance purchased through the Health Insurance 

Premium Payment Program (HIPP); 

11. 10. Individuals requesting exclusion who are inpatients 

in hospitals, other than those listed in subdivisions 1 and 2 

of this subsection, at the scheduled time of MCO 

enrollment or who are scheduled for inpatient hospital stay 

or surgery within 30 calendar days of the MCO enrollment 

effective date. The exclusion shall remain effective until 

the first day of the month following discharge. This 

exclusion reason shall not apply to recipients admitted to 

the hospital while already enrolled in a department-

contracted MCO;  

12. 11. Individuals who request exclusion during 

preassignment to an MCO or within a time set by DMAS 

from the effective date of their MCO enrollment, who have 

been diagnosed with a terminal condition and who have a 
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life expectancy of six months or less. The client's physician 

must certify the life expectancy; 

13. 12. Certain individuals between birth and age three 

certified by the Department of Mental Health, Mental 

Retardation and Substance Abuse Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services as eligible for services pursuant to 

Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act 

(20 USC § 1471 et seq.) who are granted an exception by 

DMAS to the mandatory Medallion II enrollment; 

14. 13. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is 

less than three months; 

15. 14. Individuals who are enrolled in the 

Commonwealth's Title XXI SCHIP program; 

16. 15. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is 

only retroactive; and 

17. 16. Children enrolled in the Virginia Birth-Related 

Neurological Injury Compensation Program established 

pursuant to Chapter 50 (§ 38.2-5000 et seq.) of Title 38.2 

of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Individuals enrolled with a MCO who subsequently meet 

one or more of the aforementioned criteria of subsections A 

and B of this section during MCO enrollment shall be 

excluded from MCO participation as determined by DMAS, 

with the exception of those who subsequently become 

recipients in the federal long-term care waiver programs, as 

otherwise defined elsewhere in this chapter, for home-based 

and community-based Medicaid coverage (AIDS, IFDDS, 

MR, EDCD, Day Support, or Alzheimers, or as may be 

amended from time to time). These individuals shall receive 

acute and primary medical services via the MCO and shall 

receive waiver services and related transportation to waiver 

services via the fee-for-service program. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 

enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the current 

fee-for-service system. When enrollees no longer meet the 

criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to enroll in the 

appropriate managed care program. 

D. Medallion II managed care plans shall be offered to 

recipients, and recipients shall be enrolled in those plans, 

exclusively through an independent enrollment broker under 

contract to DMAS. 

E. Clients shall be enrolled as follows: 

1. All eligible persons, except those meeting one of the 

exclusions of subsection B of this section, shall be enrolled 

in Medallion II. 

2. Clients shall receive a Medicaid card from DMAS, and 

shall be provided authorized medical care in accordance 

with DMAS' procedures after Medicaid eligibility has been 

determined to exist. 

3. Once individuals are enrolled in Medicaid, they will 

receive a letter indicating that they may select one of the 

contracted MCOs. These letters shall indicate a 

preassigned MCO, determined as provided in subsection F 

of this section, in which the client will be enrolled if he 

does not make a selection within a period specified by 

DMAS of not less than 30 days. Recipients who are 

enrolled in one mandatory MCO program who 

immediately become eligible for another mandatory MCO 

program are able to maintain consistent enrollment with 

their currently assigned MCO, if available. These 

recipients will receive a notification letter including 

information regarding their ability to change health plans 

under the new program. 

4. Any newborn whose mother is enrolled with an MCO at 

the time of birth shall be considered an enrollee of that 

same MCO for the newborn enrollment period. The 

newborn enrollment period is defined as the birth month 

plus two months following the birth month. This 

requirement does not preclude the enrollee, once he is 

assigned a Medicaid identification number, from 

disenrolling from one MCO to another in accordance with 

subdivision G 1 of this section. 

The newborn's continued enrollment with the MCO is not 

contingent upon the mother's enrollment. Additionally, if 

the MCO's contract is terminated in whole or in part, the 

MCO shall continue newborn coverage if the child is born 

while the contract is active, until the newborn receives a 

Medicaid number or for the newborn enrollment period, 

whichever timeframe is earlier. Infants who do not receive 

a Medicaid identification number prior to the end of the 

newborn enrollment period will be disenrolled. Newborns 

who remain eligible for participation in Medallion II will 

be reenrolled in an MCO through the preassignment 

process upon receiving a Medicaid identification number. 

5. Individuals who lose then regain eligibility for 

Medallion II within 60 days will be reenrolled into their 

previous MCO without going through preassignment and 

selection. 

F. Clients who do not select an MCO as described in 

subdivision E 3 of this section shall be assigned to an MCO 

as follows: 

1. Clients are assigned through a system algorithm based 

upon the client's history with a contracted MCO. 

2. Clients not assigned pursuant to subdivision 1 of this 

subsection shall be assigned to the MCO of another family 

member, if applicable. 

3. All other clients shall be assigned to an MCO on a basis 

of approximately equal number by MCO in each locality. 

4. In areas where there is only one contracted MCO, 

recipients have a choice of enrolling with the contracted 

MCO or the PCCM program. All eligible recipients in 

areas where one contracted MCO exists, however, are 

automatically assigned to the contracted MCO. Individuals 

are allowed 90 days after the effective date of new or 
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initial enrollment to change from either the contracted 

MCO to the PCCM program or vice versa. 

5. DMAS shall have the discretion to utilize an alternate 

strategy for enrollment or transition of enrollment from the 

method described in this section for expansions to new 

client populations, new geographical areas, expansion 

through procurement, or any or all of these; such alternate 

strategy shall comply with federal waiver requirements . 

G. Following their initial enrollment into an MCO or PCCM 

program, recipients shall be restricted to the MCO or PCCM 

program until the next open enrollment period, unless 

appropriately disenrolled or excluded by the department (as 

defined in 12VAC30-120-360). 

1. During the first 90 calendar days of enrollment in a new 

or initial MCO, a client may disenroll from that MCO to 

enroll into another MCO or into PCCM, if applicable, for 

any reason. Such disenrollment shall be effective no later 

than the first day of the second month after the month in 

which the client requests disenrollment. 

2. During the remainder of the enrollment period, the client 

may only disenroll from one MCO into another MCO or 

PCCM, if applicable, upon determination by DMAS that 

good cause exists as determined under subsection I of this 

section. 

H. The department shall conduct an annual open enrollment 

for all Medallion II participants. The open enrollment period 

shall be the 60 calendar days before the end of the enrollment 

period. Prior to the open enrollment period, DMAS will 

inform the recipient of the opportunity to remain with the 

current MCO or change to another MCO, without cause, for 

the following year. In areas with only one contracted MCO, 

recipients will be given the opportunity to select either the 

MCO or the PCCM program. Enrollment selections will be 

effective on the first day of the next month following the open 

enrollment period. Recipients who do not make a choice 

during the open enrollment period will remain with their 

current MCO selection. 

I. Disenrollment for cause may be requested at any time. 

1. After the first 90 days of enrollment in an MCO, clients 

must request disenrollment from DMAS based on cause. 

The request may be made orally or in writing to DMAS 

and must cite the reasons why the client wishes to 

disenroll. Cause for disenrollment shall include the 

following: 

a. A recipient's desire to seek services from a federally 

qualified health center which that is not under contract 

with the recipient's current MCO, and the recipient (i) 

requests a change to another MCO that subcontracts with 

the desired federally qualified health center or (ii) 

requests a change to the PCCM, if the federally qualified 

health center is contracting directly with DMAS as a 

PCCM; 

b. Performance or nonperformance of service to the 

recipient by an MCO or one or more of its providers 

which that is deemed by the department's external quality 

review organizations to be below the generally accepted 

community practice of health care. This may include 

poor quality care; 

c. Lack of access to a PCP or necessary specialty services 

covered under the State Plan or lack of access to 

providers experienced in dealing with the enrollee's 

health care needs; 

d. A client has a combination of complex medical factors 

that, in the sole discretion of DMAS, would be better 

served under another contracted MCO or PCCM 

program, if applicable, or provider; 

e. The enrollee moves out of the MCO's service area; 

f. The MCO does not, because of moral or religious 

objections, cover the service the enrollee seeks; 

g. The enrollee needs related services to be performed at 

the same time; not all related services are available 

within the network, and the enrollee's primary care 

provider or another provider determines that receiving 

the services separately would subject the enrollee to 

unnecessary risk; or 

h. Other reasons as determined by DMAS through 

written policy directives. 

2. DMAS shall determine whether cause exists for 

disenrollment. Written responses shall be provided within a 

timeframe set by department policy; however, the effective 

date of an approved disenrollment shall be no later than the 

first day of the second month following the month in which 

the enrollee files the request, in compliance with 42 CFR 

438.56. 

3. Cause for disenrollment shall be deemed to exist and the 

disenrollment shall be granted if DMAS fails to take final 

action on a valid request prior to the first day of the second 

month after the request. 

4. The DMAS determination concerning cause for 

disenrollment may be appealed by the client in accordance 

with the department's client appeals process at 12VAC30-

110-10 through 12VAC30-110-380. 

5. The current MCO shall provide, within two working 

days of a request from DMAS, information necessary to 

determine cause. 

6. Individuals enrolled with a MCO who subsequently 

meet one or more of the exclusions in subsection B of this 

section during MCO enrollment shall be disenrolled as 

appropriate by DMAS, with the exception of those who 

subsequently become recipients into the AIDS, IFDDS, 

MR, EDCD, Day Support, or Alzheimer's federal waiver 

programs for home-based and community-based Medicaid 

coverage. These individuals shall receive acute and 

primary medical services via the MCO and shall receive 
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waiver services and related transportation to waiver 

services via the fee-for-service program. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 

enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the 

current fee-for-service system. When enrollees no longer 

meet the criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to 

enroll in the appropriate managed care program. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3229; Filed October 17, 2013, 11:55 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

VIRGINIA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Housing 

Development Authority is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC10-180. Rules and Regulations 

for Allocation of Low-Income Housing Tax Credits 

(amending 13VAC10-180-50, 13VAC10-180-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 36-55.30:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Paul M. Brennan, General Counsel, Virginia 

Housing Development Authority, 601 South Belvidere Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 343-5798, or email 

paul.brennan@vhda.com. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) continue the new construction pool; 

(ii) implement maximum total development cost limits for 

developments to be eligible to receive credits; (iii) revise 

point categories for subsidized funding, developments in 

census tracts with less than a 10% poverty rate, the use of 

brick, energy efficient water heaters, bath vents, wall 

sheathing insulation, fire prevention features, applicants 

servicing elderly and disabled tenants, EarthCraft 

certification, developer experience, and bonus point 

categories serving lower income households; (iv) add 

penalty points when cost limits are exceeded; (v) amend 

the point category for locality notification and response 

letters; and (vi) make other miscellaneous administrative 

clarification changes. 

13VAC10-180-50. Application.  

Prior to submitting an application for reservation, applicants 

shall submit on such form as required by the executive 

director, the letter for authority signature by which the 

authority shall notify the chief executive officers (or the 

equivalent) of the local jurisdictions in which the 

developments are to be located to provide such officers a 

reasonable opportunity to comment on the developments.  

Application for a reservation of credits shall be commenced 

by filing with the authority an application, on such form or 

forms as the executive director may from time to time 

prescribe or approve, together with such documents and 

additional information (including, without limitation, a 

market study that shows adequate demand for the housing 

units to be produced by the applicant's proposed 

development) as may be requested by the authority in order to 

comply with the IRC and this chapter and to make the 

reservation and allocation of the credits in accordance with 

this chapter. The executive director may reject any 

application from consideration for a reservation or allocation 

of credits if in such application the applicant does not provide 

the proper documentation or information on the forms 

prescribed by the executive director. 

All sites in an application for a scattered site development 

may only serve one primary market area. If the executive 

director determines that the sites subject to a scattered site 

development are served by different primary market areas, 

separate applications for credits must be filed for each 

primary market area in which scattered sites are located 

within the deadlines established by the executive director. 

The application should include a breakdown of sources and 

uses of funds sufficiently detailed to enable the authority to 

ascertain what costs will be incurred and what will comprise 

the total financing package, including the various subsidies 

and the anticipated syndication or placement proceeds that 

will be raised. The following cost information, if applicable, 

needs to be included in the application to determine the 

feasible credit amount: site acquisition costs, site preparation 

costs, construction costs, construction contingency, general 

contractor's overhead and profit, architect and engineer's fees, 

permit and survey fees, insurance premiums, real estate taxes 

during construction, title and recording fees, construction 

period interest, financing fees, organizational costs, rent-up 

and marketing costs, accounting and auditing costs, working 

capital and operating deficit reserves, syndication and legal 

fees, development fees, and other costs and fees. All 

applications seeking credits for rehabilitation of existing units 

must provide for contractor construction costs of at least 

$10,000 per unit for developments financed with tax-exempt 

bonds and $15,000 per unit for all other developments. 

Any application that exceeds the cost limits set forth below 

in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 shall be rejected from further 

consideration hereunder and shall not be eligible for any 

reservation or allocation of credits. 

1. Inner Northern Virginia. The Inner Northern Virginia 

region shall consist of Arlington County, Fairfax County, 

City of Alexandria, City of Fairfax, and City of Falls 

Church. The total development cost of proposed 

developments in the Inner Northern Virginia region may 

not exceed (i) for new construction or adaptive reuse: 

$335,475 per unit plus up to an additional $37,275 per unit 

if the proposed development contains underground or 
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structured parking for each unit or (ii) for 

acquisition/rehabilitation: $292,875 per unit.  

2. Prince William County [ and, ] Loudoun County [ , and 

Fauquier County ]. The total development cost of proposed 

developments in Prince William County [ and, ] Loudoun 

County [ , and Fauquier County ] may not exceed (i) for 

new construction or adaptive reuse: [ $228,975 $249,210 ] 

per unit or (ii) for acquisition/rehabilitation: $175,725 per 

unit.  

3. Balance of state. The total development cost of proposed 

developments in the balance of the state may not exceed (i) 

for new construction or adaptive reuse: $186,375 per unit 

or (ii) for acquisition/rehabilitation: [ $117,150 $143,775 ] 

per unit. 

The cost limits in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 above are 2012 

fourth quarter base amounts. The cost limits shall be adjusted 

annually beginning in the fourth quarter of 2013 by the 

authority in accordance with Marshall & Swift cost factors for 

such quarter, and the adjusted limits will be indicated on the 

application form, instructions, or other communication 

available to the public.  

Each application shall include plans and specifications or, in 

the case of rehabilitation for which plans will not be used, a 

unit-by-unit work write-up for such rehabilitation with 

certification in such form and from such person satisfactory to 

the executive director as to the completion of such plans or 

specifications or work write-up. 

Each application shall include evidence of (i) sole fee simple 

ownership of the site of the proposed development by the 

applicant, (ii) lease of such site by the applicant for a term 

exceeding the compliance period (as defined in the IRC) or 

for such longer period as the applicant represents in the 

application that the development will be held for occupancy 

by low-income persons or families or (iii) right to acquire or 

lease such site pursuant to a valid and binding written option 

or contract between the applicant and the fee simple owner of 

such site for a period extending at least four months beyond 

any application deadline established by the executive director, 

provided that such option or contract shall have no conditions 

within the discretion or control of such owner of such site. 

Any contract for the acquisition of a site with existing 

residential property may not require an empty building as a 

condition of such contract, unless relocation assistance is 

provided to displaced households, if any, at such level 

required by the authority. A contract that permits the owner to 

continue to market the property, even if the applicant has a 

right of first refusal, does not constitute the requisite site 

control required in clause (iii) above. No application shall be 

considered for a reservation or allocation of credits unless 

such evidence is submitted with the application and the 

authority determines that the applicant owns, leases or has the 

right to acquire or lease the site of the proposed development 

as described in the preceding sentence. In the case of 

acquisition and rehabilitation of developments funded by 

Rural Development of the U.S. Department of Agriculture 

(Rural Development), any site control document subject to 

approval of the partners of the seller does not need to be 

approved by all partners of the seller if the general partner of 

the seller executing the site control document provides (i) an 

attorney's opinion that such general partner has the authority 

to enter into the site control document and such document is 

binding on the seller or (ii) a letter from the existing 

syndicator indicating a willingness to secure the necessary 

partner approvals upon the reservation of credits. 

Each application shall include, in a form or forms required 

by the executive director, a certification of previous 

participation listing all developments receiving an allocation 

of tax credits under § 42 of the IRC in which the principal or 

principals have or had an ownership or participation interest, 

the location of such developments, the number of residential 

units and low-income housing units in such developments and 

such other information as more fully specified by the 

executive director. Furthermore, for any such development, 

the applicant must indicate whether the appropriate state 

housing credit agency has ever filed a Form 8823 with the 

IRS reporting noncompliance with the requirements of the 

IRC and that such noncompliance had not been corrected at 

the time of the filing of such Form 8823. The executive 

director may reject any application from consideration for a 

reservation or allocation of credits unless the above 

information is submitted with the application. If, after 

reviewing the above information or any other information 

available to the authority, the executive director determines 

that the principal or principals do not have the experience, 

financial capacity and predisposition to regulatory 

compliance necessary to carry out the responsibilities for the 

acquisition, construction, ownership, operation, marketing, 

maintenance and management of the proposed development 

or the ability to fully perform all the duties and obligations 

relating to the proposed development under law, regulation 

and the reservation and allocation documents of the authority 

or if an applicant is in substantial noncompliance with the 

requirements of the IRC, the executive director may reject 

applications by the applicant. No application will be accepted 

from any applicant with a principal that has or had an 

ownership or participation interest in a development at the 

time the authority reported such development to the IRS as no 

longer in compliance and no longer participating in the 

federal low-income housing tax credit program. 

Each application shall include, in a form or forms required 

by the executive director, a certification that the design of the 

proposed development meets all applicable amenity and 

design requirements required by the executive director for the 

type of housing to be provided by the proposed development. 

The application should include pro forma financial 

statements setting forth the anticipated cash flows during the 

credit period as defined in the IRC. The application shall 

include a certification by the applicant as to the full extent of 

all federal, state and local subsidies which apply (or which the 
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applicant expects to apply) with respect to each building or 

development. The executive director may also require the 

submission of a legal opinion or other assurances satisfactory 

to the executive director as to, among other things, 

compliance of the proposed development with the IRC and a 

certification, together with an opinion of an independent 

certified public accountant or other assurances satisfactory to 

the executive director, setting forth the calculation of the 

amount of credits requested by the application and certifying, 

among other things, that under the existing facts and 

circumstances the applicant will be eligible for the amount of 

credits requested. 

Each applicant shall commit in the application to provide 

relocation assistance to displaced households, if any, at such 

level required by the executive director. Each applicant shall 

commit in the application to use a property management 

company certified by the executive director to manage the 

proposed development. 

If an applicant submits an application for reservation or 

allocation of credits that contains a material misrepresentation 

or fails to include information regarding developments 

involving the applicant that have been determined to be out of 

compliance with the requirements of the IRC, the executive 

director may reject the application or stop processing such 

application upon discovery of such misrepresentation or 

noncompliance and may prohibit such applicant from 

submitting applications for credits to the authority in the 

future. 

In any situation in which the executive director deems it 

appropriate, he may treat two or more applications as a single 

application. Only one application may be submitted for each 

location. 

The executive director may establish criteria and 

assumptions to be used by the applicant in the calculation of 

amounts in the application, and any such criteria and 

assumptions may be indicated on the application form, 

instructions or other communication available to the public. 

The executive director may prescribe such deadlines for 

submission of applications for reservation and allocation of 

credits for any calendar year as he shall deem necessary or 

desirable to allow sufficient processing time for the authority 

to make such reservations and allocations. If the executive 

director determines that an applicant for a reservation of 

credits has failed to submit one or more mandatory 

attachments to the application by the reservation application 

deadline, he may allow such applicant an opportunity to 

submit such attachments within a certain time established by 

the executive director with a 10-point scoring penalty per 

item. 

After receipt of the applications, if necessary, the authority 

shall notify the chief executive officers (or the equivalent) of 

the local jurisdictions in which the developments are to be 

located and shall provide such officers a reasonable 

opportunity to comment on the developments. 

The development for which an application is submitted may 

be, but shall not be required to be, financed by the authority. 

If any such development is to be financed by the authority, 

the application for such financing shall be submitted to and 

received by the authority in accordance with its applicable 

rules and regulations. 

The authority may consider and approve, in accordance 

herewith, both the reservation and the allocation of credits to 

buildings or developments which the authority may own or 

may intend to acquire, construct and/or rehabilitate. 

13VAC10-180-60. Review and selection of applications; 

reservation of credits. 

The executive director may divide the amount of credits into 

separate pools and each separate pool may be further divided 

into separate tiers. The division of such pools and tiers may 

be based upon one or more of the following factors: 

geographical areas of the state; types or characteristics of 

housing, construction, financing, owners, occupants, or 

source of credits; or any other factors deemed appropriate by 

him to best meet the housing needs of the Commonwealth. 

An amount, as determined by the executive director, not less 

than 10% of the Commonwealth's annual state housing credit 

ceiling for credits, shall be available for reservation and 

allocation to buildings or developments with respect to which 

the following requirements are met: 

1. A "qualified nonprofit organization" (as described in § 

42(h)(5)(C) of the IRC) which is authorized to do business 

in Virginia and is determined by the executive director, on 

the basis of such relevant factors as he shall consider 

appropriate, to be substantially based or active in the 

community of the development and is to materially 

participate (regular, continuous and substantial 

involvement as determined by the executive director) in the 

development and operation of the development throughout 

the "compliance period" (as defined in § 42(i)(1) of the 

IRC); and 

2. (i) The "qualified nonprofit organization" described in 

the preceding subdivision 1 is to own (directly or through a 

partnership), prior to the reservation of credits to the 

buildings or development, all of the general partnership 

interests of the ownership entity thereof; (ii) the executive 

director of the authority shall have determined that such 

qualified nonprofit organization is not affiliated with or 

controlled by a for-profit organization; (iii) the executive 

director of the authority shall have determined that the 

qualified nonprofit organization was not formed by one or 

more individuals or for-profit entities for the principal 

purpose of being included in any nonprofit pools (as 

defined below) established by the executive director, and 

(iv) the executive director of the authority shall have 

determined that no staff member, officer or member of the 

board of directors of such qualified nonprofit organization 

will materially participate, directly or indirectly, in the 

proposed development as a for-profit entity. 
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In making the determinations required by the preceding 

subdivision 1 and clauses (ii), (iii) and (iv) of subdivision 2 

of this section, the executive director may apply such 

factors as he deems relevant, including, without limitation, 

the past experience and anticipated future activities of the 

qualified nonprofit organization, the sources and manner of 

funding of the qualified nonprofit organization, the date of 

formation and expected life of the qualified nonprofit 

organization, the number of paid staff members and 

volunteers of the qualified nonprofit organization, the 

nature and extent of the qualified nonprofit organization's 

proposed involvement in the construction or rehabilitation 

and the operation of the proposed development, the 

relationship of the staff, directors or other principals 

involved in the formation or operation of the qualified 

nonprofit organization with any persons or entities to be 

involved in the proposed development on a for-profit basis, 

and the proposed involvement in the construction or 

rehabilitation and operation of the proposed development 

by any persons or entities involved in the proposed 

development on a for-profit basis. The executive director 

may include in the application of the foregoing factors any 

other nonprofit organizations which, in his determination, 

are related (by shared directors, staff or otherwise) to the 

qualified nonprofit organization for which such 

determination is to be made. 

For purposes of the foregoing requirements, a qualified 

nonprofit organization shall be treated as satisfying such 

requirements if any qualified corporation (as defined in 

§ 42(h)(5)(D)(ii) of the IRC) in which such organization (by 

itself or in combination with one or more qualified nonprofit 

organizations) holds 100% of the stock satisfies such 

requirements. 

The applications shall include such representations and 

warranties and such information as the executive director may 

require in order to determine that the foregoing requirements 

have been satisfied. In no event shall more than 90% of the 

Commonwealth's annual state housing credit ceiling for 

credits be available for developments other than those 

satisfying the preceding requirements. The executive director 

may establish such pools (nonprofit pools) of credits as he 

may deem appropriate to satisfy the foregoing requirement. If 

any such nonprofit pools are so established, the executive 

director may rank the applications therein and reserve credits 

to such applications before ranking applications and reserving 

credits in other pools, and any such applications in such 

nonprofit pools not receiving any reservations of credits or 

receiving such reservations in amounts less than the full 

amount permissible hereunder (because there are not enough 

credits then available in such nonprofit pools to make such 

reservations) shall be assigned to such other pool as shall be 

appropriate hereunder; provided, however, that if credits are 

later made available (pursuant to the IRC or as a result of 

either a termination or reduction of a reservation of credits 

made from any nonprofit pools or a rescission in whole or in 

part of an allocation of credits made from such nonprofit 

pools or otherwise) for reservation and allocation by the 

authority during the same calendar year as that in which 

applications in the nonprofit pools have been so assigned to 

other pools as described above, the executive director may, in 

such situations, designate all or any portion of such additional 

credits for the nonprofit pools (or for any other pools as he 

shall determine) and may, if additional credits have been so 

designated for the nonprofit pools, reassign such applications 

to such nonprofit pools, rank the applications therein and 

reserve credits to such applications in accordance with the 

IRC and this chapter. In the event that during any round (as 

authorized hereinbelow) of application review and ranking 

the amount of credits reserved within such nonprofit pools is 

less than the total amount of credits made available therein, 

the executive director may either (i) leave such unreserved 

credits in such nonprofit pools for reservation and allocation 

in any subsequent round or rounds or (ii) redistribute, to the 

extent permissible under the IRC, such unreserved credits to 

such other pool or pools as the executive director shall 

designate reservations therefore in the full amount 

permissible hereunder (which applications shall hereinafter be 

referred to as "excess qualified applications") or (iii) carry 

over such unreserved credits to the next succeeding calendar 

year for the inclusion in the state housing credit ceiling (as 

defined in § 42(h)(3)(C) of the IRC) for such year. 

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, no 

reservation of credits shall be made from any nonprofit pools 

to any application with respect to which the qualified 

nonprofit organization has not yet been legally formed in 

accordance with the requirements of the IRC. In addition, no 

application for credits from any nonprofit pools or any 

combination of pools may receive a reservation or allocation 

of annual credits in an amount greater than $750,000 unless 

credits remain available in such nonprofit pools after all 

eligible applications for credits from such nonprofit pools 

receive a reservation of credits. 

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, applicants 

relying on the experience of a local housing authority for 

developer experience points described hereinbelow and/or 

using Hope VI funds from HUD in connection with the 

proposed development shall not be eligible to receive a 

reservation of credits from any nonprofit pools. 

The authority shall review each application, and, based on 

the application and other information available to the 

authority, shall assign points to each application as follows: 

1. Readiness. 

a. Written evidence satisfactory to the authority of 

unconditional approval by local authorities of the plan of 

development or site plan for the proposed development 

or that such approval is not required. (40 points; 

applicants receiving points under this subdivision 1 a are 

not eligible for points under subdivision 5 a below) 
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b. Written evidence satisfactory to the authority (i) of 

proper zoning or special use permit for such site or (ii) 

that no zoning requirements or special use permits are 

applicable. (40 points) 

2. Housing needs characteristics. 

a. Submission of the form prescribed by the authority 

with any required attachments, providing such 

information necessary for the authority to send a letter 

addressed to the current chief executive officer (or the 

equivalent) of the locality in which the proposed 

development is located, soliciting input on the proposed 

development from the locality within the deadlines 

established by the executive director. (minus 50 points 

for failure to make timely submission) 

b. (1) A letter dated within three months prior to the 

application deadline addressed to the authority and 

signed by the chief executive officer of the locality in 

which the proposed development is to be located stating, 

without qualification or limitation, the following: 

"The construction or rehabilitation of (name of 

development) and the allocation of federal housing tax 

credits available under IRC Section 42 for that 

development will help meet the housing needs and 

priorities of (name of locality). Accordingly, (name of 

locality) supports the allocation of federal housing tax 

credits requested by (name of applicant) for that 

development." (50 points) 

(2) No letter from the chief executive officer of the 

locality in which the proposed development is to be 

located, or a letter addressed to the authority and signed 

by such chief executive officer stating neither support (as 

described in subdivision b (1) above) nor opposition (as 

described in subdivision b (3) below) as to the allocation 

of credits to the applicant for the development. (25 

points) 

(3) b. A letter in response to its notification to the chief 

executive officer of the locality in which the proposed 

development is to be located opposing the allocation of 

credits to the applicant for the development. In any such 

letter, the chief executive officer must certify that the 

proposed development is not consistent with current 

zoning or other applicable land use regulations. (0 points) 

Any such letter must also be accompanied by a legal 

opinion of the locality's attorney opining that the 

locality's opposition to the proposed development does 

not have a discriminatory intent or a discriminatory effect 

(as defined in 24 CFR 100.500(a)) that is not supported 

by a legally sufficient justification (as defined in 24 CFR 

100.500(b)) in violation of the Fair Housing Act (Title 

VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968, as amended) and the 

HUD implementing regulations. (minus 25 points) 

c. Documentation in a form approved by the authority 

from the chief executive officer (or the equivalent) of the 

local jurisdiction in which the development is to be 

located (including the certification described in the 

definition of revitalization area in 13VAC10-180-10) that 

the area in which the proposed development is to be 

located is a revitalization area and the proposed 

development is an integral part of the local government's 

plan for revitalization of the area. (30 points) 

d. If the proposed development is located in a qualified 

census tract as defined in § 42(d)(5)(C)(ii) of the IRC and 

is in a revitalization area. (5 points) 

e. Commitment by the applicant for any development 

without section 8 project-based assistance to give leasing 

preference to individuals and families (i) on public 

housing waiting lists maintained by the local housing 

authority operating in the locality in which the proposed 

development is to be located and notification of the 

availability of such units to the local housing authority by 

the applicant or (ii) on section 8 (as defined in 

13VAC10-180-90) waiting lists maintained by the local 

or nearest section 8 administrator for the locality in 

which the proposed development is to be located and 

notification of the availability of such units to the local 

section 8 administrator by the applicant. (10 points; 

Applicants receiving points under this subdivision may 

not require an annual minimum income requirement for 

prospective tenants that exceeds the greater of $3,600 or 

2.5 times the portion of rent to be paid by such tenants.) 

f. Any of the following: (i) firm financing commitment(s) 

from the local government, local housing authority, 

Federal Home Loan Bank affordable housing funds, 

Virginia Housing Trust Fund, funding from VOICE for 

projects located in Prince William County [ , Authority 

REACH funding ] and donations from unrelated private 

foundations that have filed an IRS Form 990 (or the a 

variation of such form) or Rural Development for a 

below-market rate loan or grant or Rural Development's 

interest credit used to reduce the interest rate on the loan 

financing the proposed development; (ii) a resolution 

passed by the locality in which the proposed 

development is to be located committing such financial 

support to the development in a form approved by the 

authority; or (iii) a commitment to donate land, buildings 

or waive tap fee waivers from the local government. (The 

amount of such financing or dollar value of local support 

will be divided by the total development sources of funds 

and the proposed development receives two points for 

each percentage point up to a maximum of 40 points.) 

g. Any development subject to (i) HUD's Section 8 or 

Section 236 programs or (ii) Rural Development's 515 

program, at the time of application. (20 points, unless the 

applicant is, or has any common interests with, the 

current owner, directly or indirectly, the application will 

only qualify for these points if the applicant waives all 

rights to any developer's fee and any other fees 

associated with the acquisition and rehabilitation (or 
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rehabilitation only) of the development unless permitted 

by the executive director for good cause.) 

h. Any development receiving [ (i) ] a real estate tax 

abatement on the increase in the value of the 

development [ or (ii) new project-based subsidy from 

HUD or Rural Development for the greater of [ 5 five ] 

units or 10% of the units of the proposed development ]. 

(10 points) 

i. Any proposed elderly development located in a census 

tract that has less than a 10% poverty rate (based upon 

Census Bureau data) with no other elderly tax credit units 

in such census tract. (25 points) 

j. Any proposed family development located in a census 

tract that has less than a 10% poverty rate (based upon 

Census Bureau data) with no other family tax credit units 

in such census tract. (25 points) 

j. k. Any proposed development listed in the top 25 

developments identified by Rural Development as high 

priority for rehabilitation at the time the application is 

submitted to the authority. (15 points) 

k. l. Any proposed new construction development 

(including adaptive re-use and rehabilitation that creates 

additional rental space) located in a pool identified by the 

authority as a pool with little or no increase in rent-

burdened population. (up to minus 20 points, depending 

upon the portion of the development that is additional 

rental space, in all pools except the at-large pool, 0 points 

in the at-large pool. The executive director may make 

exceptions in the following circumstances: (1) 

Specialized types of housing designed to meet special 

needs that cannot readily be addressed utilizing existing 

residential structures; (2) Housing designed to serve as a 

replacement for housing being demolished through 

redevelopment; or (3) Housing that is an integral part of a 

neighborhood revitalization project sponsored by a local 

housing authority.) 

l. m. Any proposed new construction development 

(including adaptive re-use and rehabilitation that creates 

additional rental space) that is located in a pool identified 

by the authority as a pool with an increasing rent-

burdened population. (up to 20 points, depending upon 

the portion of the development that is additional rental 

space, in all pools except the at-large pool, 0 points in the 

at-large pool) 

3. Development characteristics. 

a. Evidence satisfactory to the authority documenting the 

quality of the proposed development's amenities as 

determined by the following: 

(1) The following points are available for any 

application: 

[ (a) If a community/meeting room with a minimum of 

749 square feet is provided. (5 points)  

(b) (a) ] If the exterior walls are constructed using the 

following materials: 

(i) Brick or other similar low-maintenance material 

approved by the authority (as indicated on the application 

form, instructions, or other communication available to 

the public) covering 30% or more of the exterior walls. 

(20 points times the percentage of exterior walls covered 

by brick) (10 points) and 

(ii) If subdivision [ (a)(i) (b) (i) ] above is met, an 

additional one-fifth point for each percent of exterior 

wall brick or other similar low-maintenance material 

approved by the authority (as indicated on the application 

form, instructions, or other communication available to 

the public) in excess of 30%. (maximum 10 points) and  

(iii) If subdivision [ (a)(i) (b) (i) ] above is met, an 

additional one-tenth point for each percent of exterior 

wall covered by fiber-cement board. (maximum 7 points) 

[ (c) (b) ] If all kitchen and laundry appliances (except 

range hoods) meet the EPA's Energy Star qualified 

program requirements. (5 points) 

[ (d) (c) ] If all the windows and glass doors meet the 

EPA's Energy Star qualified program requirements. (5 

points) 

[ (e) (d) If every unit in the development is heated and 

cooled with either (i) heat pump equipment with both a 

SEER rating of 15.0 or more and a HSPF rating of 8.5 or 

more or (ii) air conditioning equipment with a SEER 

rating of 15.0 or more, combined with a gas furnace with 

an AFUE rating of 90% or more. (10 points) 

[ (f) (e) ] If the water expense is submetered (the tenant 

will pay monthly or bimonthly bill). (5 points) 

[ (g) (h) ] If each bathroom contains only WaterSense 

labeled faucets and showerheads. (2 points) 

[ (h) (g) ] If each unit is provided with the necessary 

infrastructure for high-speed cable, DSL or wireless 

Internet service. (1 point) 

[ (i) (h) ] If all the water heaters meet the EPA's Energy 

Star qualified program requirements have an energy 

factor greater than or equal to 67% for gas water heaters 

or greater than or equal to 93% for electric water heaters; 

or any centralized commercial system that has a 95%+ an 

efficiency performance rating equal to or greater than 

95%, or any solar thermal system that meets at least 60% 

of the development's domestic hot water load. (5 points) 

[ (j) (i) ] If each bathroom is equipped with a WaterSense 

labeled toilet. (2 points) 

[ (k) ] If [ (j) ] For new construction only, if each full 

bathroom is equipped with EPA Energy Star qualified 

bath vent fans. (2 points) 

[ (l) ] New [ (k) ] If the development has or the 

application provides for installation of continuous R-3 or 

higher wall sheathing insulation. (5 points) 
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[ (m) (l) ] If all cooking surfaces are equipped with fire 

prevention or suppression features that meet the 

authority's design and construction standards. (4 points 

for fire prevention or 2 points for fire suppression) 

requirements (as indicated on the application form, 

instructions, or other communication available to the 

public). (2 points) 

(2) The following points are available to applications 

electing to serve elderly and/or physically disabled 

tenants: 

(a) If all cooking ranges have front controls. (1 point) 

(b) If all units have an emergency call system. (3 points) 

(c) If all bathrooms have an independent or supplemental 

heat source. (1 point) 

(d) If all entrance doors to each unit have two eye 

viewers, one at 42 inches and the other at standard 

height. (1 point) 

(3) If the structure is historic, by virtue of being listed 

individually in the National Register of Historic Places, 

or due to its location in a registered historic district and 

certified by the Secretary of the Interior as being of 

historical significance to the district, and the 

rehabilitation will be completed in such a manner as to be 

eligible for historic rehabilitation tax credits. (5 points) 

The maximum number of points that may be awarded 

under any combination of the scoring categories under 

subdivision 3 b of this section is 70 points. 

b. Any nonelderly development or elderly rehabilitation 

development in which (i) the greater of [ 5 five ] units or 

10% of the units will be subject to assisted by HUD 

project-based vouchers (as evidenced by the submission 

of a [ fully executed agreement to enter into a housing 

assistance payments (AHAP) contract for the 

development between the applicant and letter satisfactory 

to the authority from ] an authorized public housing 

authority [ (PHA)) (PHA) that the development meets all 

prerequisites for such assistance) ], or other form of 

documented and binding federal project-based rent 

subsidies or equivalent assistance (approved by the 

executive director) in order to ensure occupancy by 

extremely low-income persons; and (ii) the greater of [ 5 

five ] units or 10% of the units will conform to HUD 

regulations interpreting the accessibility requirements of 

§ 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and be actively marketed 

to people persons with special needs disabilities as 

defined in the Fair Housing Act in accordance with a 

plan submitted as part of the application for credits (all 

common space must also conform to HUD regulations 

interpreting the accessibility requirements of § 504 of the 

Rehabilitation Act, and all the units described in (ii) 

above must include roll-in showers and roll-under sinks 

and [ front control ] ranges, unless agreed to by the 

authority prior to the applicant's submission of its 

application). (50 points) 

c. Any nonelderly development or elderly rehabilitation 

development in which the greater of [ 5 five ] units or 

10% of the units (i) have rents within HUD's Housing 

Choice Voucher (HCV) payment standard; (ii) conform 

to HUD regulations interpreting the accessibility 

requirements of § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act; and (iii) 

(ii) are actively marketed to people persons with mobility 

impairments including HCV holders disabilities as 

defined in the Fair Housing Act in accordance with a 

plan submitted as part of the application for credits (all 

common space must also conform to HUD regulations 

interpreting the accessibility requirements of § 504 of the 

Rehabilitation Act). (30 points) 

d. Any nonelderly development or elderly rehabilitation 

development in which 4.0% 5.0% of the units (i) 

conform to HUD regulations interpreting the accessibility 

requirements of § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and (ii) 

are actively marketed to people persons with mobility 

impairments disabilities as defined in the Fair Housing 

Act in accordance with a plan submitted as part of the 

application for credits. (15 points) 

e. Any development located within one-half mile of an 

existing commuter rail, light rail or subway station or 

one-quarter mile of one or more existing public bus 

stops. (10 points, unless the development is located 

within the geographical area established by the executive 

director for a pool of credits for northern Virginia, in 

which case, the development will receive 20 points if the 

development is ranked against other developments in 

such northern Virginia pool, 10 points if the development 

is ranked against other developments in any other pool of 

credits established by the executive director) 

f. Any development for which the applicant agrees to 

obtain either (i) EarthCraft certification or (ii) [ US U.S. ] 

Green Building Council LEED green-building 

certification prior to the issuance of an IRS Form 8609 

with the proposed development's architect certifying in 

the application that the development's design will meet 

the criteria for such certification, provided that the 

proposed development's architect is on the authority's list 

of LEED/EarthCraft certified architects. (15 points for a 

LEED Silver development, or a new construction 

EarthCraft certified development that is 15% more 

energy efficient than the 2004 International Energy 

Conservation Code (IECC) as measured by EarthCraft or 

a rehabilitation development that is 30% more energy 

efficient post-rehabilitation as measured by EarthCraft; 

30 points for a LEED Gold development, or a new 

construction development that is 20% more energy 

efficient than the 2004 IECC as measured by EarthCraft 

or a rehabilitation development that is 40% more energy 

efficient post-rehabilitation as measured by EarthCraft or 
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EarthCraft Gold development; 45 points for a LEED 

Platinum development, or a new construction 

development that is 25% more energy efficient than the 

2004 IECC as measured by EarthCraft or a rehabilitation 

development that is 50% more energy efficient post-

rehabilitation as measured by EarthCraft or EarthCraft 

Platinum development.) The executive director may, if 

needed, designate a proposed development as requiring 

an increase in credit in order to be financially feasible 

and such development shall be treated as if in a difficult 

development area as provided in the IRC for any 

applicant receiving 30 or 45 points under this 

subdivision, provided however, any resulting increase in 

such development's eligible basis shall be limited to 5.0% 

of the development's eligible basis for 30 points awarded 

under this subdivision and 10% for 45 points awarded 

under this subdivision of the development's eligible 

basis.  

g. If units are constructed to include the authority's 

universal design features, provided that the proposed 

development's architect is on the authority's list of 

universal design certified architects. (15 points, if all the 

units in an elderly development meet this requirement; 15 

points multiplied by the percentage of units meeting this 

requirement for nonelderly developments) 

h. Any development in which the applicant proposes to 

produce less than 100 low-income housing units. (20 

points for producing 50 low-income housing units or 

less, minus 0.4 points for each additional low-income 

housing unit produced down to 0 points for any 

development that produces 100 or more low-income 

housing units.)  

4. Tenant population characteristics. Commitment by the 

applicant to give a leasing preference to individuals and 

families with children in developments that will have no 

more than 20% of its units with one bedroom or less. (15 

points; plus 0.75 points for each percent of the low-income 

units in the development with three or more bedrooms up 

to an additional 15 points for a total of no more than 30 

points) 

5. Sponsor characteristics. 

a. Evidence that the principal or principals, as a group of 

the controlling general partner or individually, managing 

member for the proposed development have developed, 

as: 

(1) As controlling general partner or managing member, 

(i) at least three tax credit developments that contain at 

least three times the number of housing units in the 

proposed development or (ii) at least six tax credit 

developments that contain at least the number of housing 

units in the proposed development. (50 points; applicants 

receiving points under this subdivision 5 a are not 

eligible for points under subdivision 1 a above). (50 

points) or 

b. Evidence that the principal or principals for the 

proposed development have developed  

(2) At least three deals as a principal and have at least 

$500,000 in liquid assets. "Liquid assets" means cash, 

cash equivalents, and investments held in the name of the 

entity(s) and or person(s), including cash in bank 

accounts, money market funds, U.S. Treasury bills, and 

equities traded on the New York Stock Exchange or 

NASDAQ. Certain cash and investments will not be 

considered liquid assets, including but not limited to: (i) 

stock held in the applicant's own company or any closely 

held entity, (ii) investments in retirement accounts, (iii) 

cash or investments pledged as collateral for any liability, 

and (iv) cash in property accounts, including reserves. 

The authority will assess the financial capacity of the 

applicant based on its financial statements. The authority 

will accept financial statements audited, reviewed, or 

compiled by an independent certified public accountant. 

Only a balance sheet dated on or after December 31 of 

the year prior to the application deadline is required. The 

authority will accept a compilation report with or without 

full note disclosures. Supplementary schedules for all 

significant assets and liabilities may be required. 

Financial statements prepared in accordance with 

accounting principles generally accepted in the United 

States (U.S. GAAP) are preferred. Statements prepared in 

the income tax basis or cash basis must disclose that 

basis in the report. The authority reserves the right to 

verify information in the financial statements. (50 points) 

or  

(3) As controlling general partner or managing member, 

at least one tax credit development that contains at least 

the number of housing units in the proposed 

development. (10 points) 

c. Applicants receiving points under subdivision 5 a (1) 

and (2) above are not eligible for points under 

subdivision a of subdivision 1 Readiness, above.  

b. Any applicant that includes a principal that was a 

principal in a development at the time the authority 

inspected such development and discovered a life-

threatening hazard under HUD's Uniform Physical 

Condition Standards and such hazard was not corrected 

in the time frame established by the authority. (minus 50 

points for a period of three years after the violation has 

been corrected) 

d. c. Any applicant that includes a principal that was a 

principal in a development that either (i) at the time the 

authority reported such development to the IRS for 

noncompliance had not corrected such noncompliance by 

the time a Form 8823 was filed by the authority or (ii) 

remained out-of-compliance with the terms of its 

extended use commitment after notice and expiration of 

any cure period set by the authority. (minus 15 points for 

a period of three calendar years after the year the 
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authority filed Form 8823 or expiration of such cure 

period, unless the executive director determines that such 

principal's attempts to correct such noncompliance was 

prohibited by a court, local government or governmental 

agency, in which case, no negative points will be 

assessed to the applicant, or 0 points, if the appropriate 

individual or individuals connected to the principal 

attend compliance training as recommended by the 

authority) 

e. d. Any applicant that includes a principal that is or was 

a principal in a development that (i) did not build a 

development as represented in the application for credit 

(minus two times the number of points assigned to the 

item or items not built or minus 20 points for failing to 

provide a minimum building requirement, for a period of 

three years after the last Form 8609 is issued for the 

development, in addition to any other penalties the 

authority may seek under its agreements with the 

applicant), or (ii) has a reservation of credits terminated 

by the authority (minus 10 points a period of three years 

after the credits are returned to the authority). 

f. e. Any applicant that includes a management company 

in its application that is rated unsatisfactory by the 

executive director or if the ownership of any applicant 

includes a principal that is or was a principal in a 

development that hired a management company to 

manage a tax credit development after such management 

company received a rating of unsatisfactory from the 

executive director during the compliance period and 

extended use period of such development. (minus 25 

points) 

f. Any applicant that includes a principal that was a 

principal in a development for which the actual cost of 

construction (as certified in the Independent Auditor's 

Report with attached Certification of Sources and Uses 

that is submitted in connection with the Owner's 

Application for IRS Form 8609) exceeded the applicable 

cost limit [ , the following penalty points shall apply: 

(1) An excess of 1.0% or less (minus 10 points for a 

period of three calendar years after December 31 of the 

year the cost certification is complete; provided, 

however, if the executive director determines that such 

overage was outside of the applicant's control based upon 

documented extenuating circumstances, no negative 

points will be assessed). 

(2) An excess between 1.0% and 5.0% (minus 30 points 

for a period of three calendar years after December 31 of 

the year the cost certification is complete; provided, 

however, if the Board of Commissioners determines that 

such overage was outside of the applicant's control based 

upon documented extenuating circumstances, no negative 

points will be assessed). 

(3) An excess of by ] 5.0% or more (minus 50 points for 

a period of three calendar years after December 31 of the 

year the cost certification is complete; provided, 

however, if the Board of Commissioners determines that 

such overage was outside of the applicant's control based 

upon documented extenuating circumstances, no negative 

points will be assessed). 

6. Efficient use of resources. 

a. The percentage by which the total of the amount of 

credits per low-income housing unit (the "per unit credit 

amount") of the proposed development is less than the 

standard per unit credit amounts established by the 

executive director for a given unit type, based upon the 

number of such unit types in the proposed development. 

(200 points multiplied by the percentage by which the 

total amount of the per unit credit amount of the 

proposed development is less than the applicable 

standard per unit credit amount established by the 

executive director, negative points will be assessed using 

the percentage by which the total amount of the per unit 

credit amount of the proposed development exceeds the 

applicable standard per unit credit amount established by 

the executive director.) 

b. The percentage by which the cost per low-income 

housing unit (the "per unit cost"), adjusted by the 

authority for location, of the proposed development is 

less than the standard per unit cost amounts established 

by the executive director for a given unit type, based 

upon the number of such unit types in the proposed 

development. (100 points multiplied by the percentage by 

which the total amount of the per unit cost of the 

proposed development is less than the applicable 

standard per unit cost amount established by the 

executive director; negative points will be assessed using 

the percentage by which the total amount of the per unit 

cost amount of the propsed proposed development 

exceeds the applicable standard per unit cost amount 

established by the executive director.) 

The executive director may use a standard per square 

foot credit amount and a standard per square foot cost 

amount in establishing the per unit credit amount and the 

per unit cost amount in subdivision 6 above. For the 

purpose of calculating the points to be assigned pursuant 

to such subdivision 6 above, all credit amounts shall 

include any credits previously allocated to the 

development. 

7. Bonus points. 

a. Commitment by the applicant to impose income limits 

on the low-income housing units throughout the extended 

use period (as defined in the IRC) below those required 

by the IRC in order for the development to be a qualified 

low-income development. Applicants receiving points 

under this subdivision a may not receive points under 

subdivision b below. (The (Up to 50 points, the product 

of (i) 50 points 62.5 multiplied by (ii) the percentage of 

housing units in the proposed development both rent 
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restricted to and occupied by households at or below 

50% of the area median gross income; plus 1 point for 

each percentage point of such housing units in the 

proposed development which are further restricted to 

rents at or below 30% of 40% of the area median gross 

income up to an additional 10 points.) 

b. Commitment by the applicant to impose rent limits on 

the low-income housing units throughout the extended 

use period (as defined in the IRC) below those required 

by the IRC in order for the development to be a qualified 

low-income development. Applicants receiving points 

under this subdivision b may not receive points under 

subdivision a above. (The (Up to 25 points, the product 

of (i) 25 points (50 points for proposed developments in 

low-income jurisdictions) 31.25 multiplied by (ii) the 

percentage of housing units in the proposed development 

rent restricted to households at or below 50% of the area 

median gross income; plus 1 point for each percentage 

point of such housing units in the proposed development 

which are further restricted to rents at or below 30% of 

40% of the area median gross income up to an additional 

10 points.) Points for proposed developments in low-

income jurisdictions shall be two times the points 

calculated in the preceding sentence, up to 50 points.) 

c. Commitment by the applicant to maintain the low-

income housing units in the development as a qualified 

low-income housing development beyond the 30-year 

extended use period (as defined in the IRC). Applicants 

receiving points under this subdivision c may not receive 

bonus points under subdivision d below. (40 points for a 

10-year commitment beyond the 30-year extended use 

period or 50 points for a 20-year commitment beyond the 

30-year extended use period.) 

d. Participation by a local housing authority or qualified 

nonprofit organization (substantially based or active in 

the community with at least a 10% ownership interest in 

the general partnership interest of the partnership) and a 

commitment by the applicant to sell the proposed 

development pursuant to an executed, recordable option 

or right of first refusal to such local housing authority or 

qualified nonprofit organization or to a wholly owned 

subsidiary of such organization or authority, at the end of 

the 15-year compliance period, as defined by IRC, for a 

price not to exceed the outstanding debt and exit taxes of 

the for-profit entity. The applicant must record such 

option or right of first refusal immediately after the low-

income housing commitment described in 13VAC10-

180-70. Applicants receiving points under this 

subdivision d may not receive bonus points under 

subdivision c above. (60 points; plus 5 points if the local 

housing authority or qualified nonprofit organization 

submits a homeownership plan satisfactory to the 

authority in which the local housing authority or 

qualified nonprofit organization commits to sell the units 

in the development to tenants.) 

In calculating the points for subdivisions 7 a and b above, 

any units in the proposed development required by the 

locality to exceed 60% of the area median gross income will 

not be considered when calculating the percentage of low-

income units of the proposed development with incomes 

below those required by the IRC in order for the development 

to be a qualified low-income development, provided that the 

locality submits evidence satisfactory to the authority of such 

requirement. 

After points have been assigned to each application in the 

manner described above, the executive director shall compute 

the total number of points assigned to each such application. 

Any application that is assigned a total number of points less 

than a threshold amount of 450 425 points (450 (325 points 

for developments financed with tax-exempt bonds in such 

amount so as not to require under the IRC an allocation of 

credits hereunder) shall be rejected from further consideration 

hereunder and shall not be eligible for any reservation or 

allocation of credits. 

During its review of the submitted applications, the 

authority may conduct its own analysis of the demand for the 

housing units to be produced by each applicant's proposed 

development. Notwithstanding any conclusion in the market 

study submitted with an application, if the authority 

determines that, based upon information from its own loan 

portfolio or its own market study, inadequate demand exists 

for the housing units to be produced by an applicant's 

proposed development, the authority may exclude and 

disregard the application for such proposed development. 

The executive director may exclude and disregard any 

application which he determines is not submitted in good 

faith or which he determines would not be financially 

feasible. 

Upon assignment of points to all of the applications, the 

executive director shall rank the applications based on the 

number of points so assigned. If any pools shall have been 

established, each application shall be assigned to a pool and, 

if any, to the appropriate tier within such pool and shall be 

ranked within such pool or tier, if any. The amount of credits 

made available to each pool will be determined by the 

executive director. Available credits will include unreserved 

per capita dollar amount credits from the current calendar 

year under § 42(h)(3)(C)(i) of the IRC, any unreserved per 

capita credits from previous calendar years, and credits 

returned to the authority prior to the final ranking of the 

applications and may include up to [ 10% 40% ] of next 

calendar year's per capita credits as shall be determined by the 

executive director. Those applications assigned more points 

shall be ranked higher than those applications assigned fewer 

points. However, if any set-asides established by the 

executive director cannot be satisfied after ranking the 

applications based on the number of points, the executive 

director may rank as many applications as necessary to meet 

the requirements of such set-aside (selecting the highest 
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ranked application, or applications, meeting the requirements 

of the set-aside) over applications with more points. 

In the event of a tie in the number of points assigned to two 

or more applications within the same pool, or, if none, within 

the Commonwealth, and in the event that the amount of 

credits available for reservation to such applications is 

determined by the executive director to be insufficient for the 

financial feasibility of all of the developments described 

therein, the authority shall, to the extent necessary to fully 

utilize the amount of credits available for reservation within 

such pool or, if none, within the Commonwealth, select one 

or more of the applications with the highest combination of 

points from subdivision 7 above, and each application so 

selected shall receive (in order based upon the number of 

such points, beginning with the application with the highest 

number of such points) a reservation of credits. If two or 

more of the tied applications receive the same number of 

points from subdivision 7 above and if the amount of credits 

available for reservation to such tied applications is 

determined by the executive director to be insufficient for the 

financial feasibility of all the developments described therein, 

the executive director shall select one or more of such 

applications by lot, and each application so selected by lot 

shall receive (in order of such selection by lot) a reservation 

of credits. 

For each application which may receive a reservation of 

credits, the executive director shall determine the amount, as 

of the date of the deadline for submission of applications for 

reservation of credits, to be necessary for the financial 

feasibility of the development and its viability as a qualified 

low-income development throughout the credit period under 

the IRC. In making this determination, the executive director 

shall consider the sources and uses of the funds, the available 

federal, state and local subsidies committed to the 

development, the total financing planned for the development 

as well as the investment proceeds or receipts expected by the 

authority to be generated with respect to the development, 

and the percentage of the credit dollar amount used for 

development costs other than the costs of intermediaries. He 

shall also examine the development's costs, including 

developer's fees and other amounts in the application, for 

reasonableness and, if he determines that such costs or other 

amounts are unreasonably high, he shall reduce them to 

amounts that he determines to be reasonable. The executive 

director shall review the applicant's projected rental income, 

operating expenses and debt service for the credit period. The 

executive director may establish such criteria and 

assumptions as he shall deem reasonable for the purpose of 

making such determination, including, without limitation, 

criteria as to the reasonableness of fees and profits and 

assumptions as to the amount of net syndication proceeds to 

be received (based upon such percentage of the credit dollar 

amount used for development costs, other than the costs of 

intermediaries, as the executive director shall determine to be 

reasonable for the proposed development), increases in the 

market value of the development, and increases in operating 

expenses, rental income and, in the case of applications 

without firm financing commitments (as defined hereinabove) 

at fixed interest rates, debt service on the proposed mortgage 

loan. The executive director may, if he deems it appropriate, 

consider the development to be a part of a larger 

development. In such a case, the executive director may 

consider, examine, review and establish any or all of the 

foregoing items as to the larger development in making such 

determination for the development. 

At such time or times during each calendar year as the 

executive director shall designate, the executive director shall 

reserve credits to applications in descending order of ranking 

within each pool and tier, if applicable, until either 

substantially all credits therein are reserved or all qualified 

applications therein have received reservations. (For the 

purpose of the preceding sentence, if there is not more than a 

de minimis amount, as determined by the executive director, 

of credits remaining in a pool after reservations have been 

made, "substantially all" of the credits in such pool shall be 

deemed to have been reserved.) The executive director may 

rank the applications within pools at different times for 

different pools and may reserve credits, based on such 

rankings, one or more times with respect to each pool. The 

executive director may also establish more than one round of 

review and ranking of applications and reservation of credits 

based on such rankings, and he shall designate the amount of 

credits to be made available for reservation within each pool 

during each such round. The amount reserved to each such 

application shall be equal to the lesser of (i) the amount 

requested in the application or (ii) an amount determined by 

the executive director, as of the date of application, to be 

necessary for the financial feasibility of the development and 

its viability as a qualified low-income development 

throughout the credit period under the IRC; provided, 

however, that in no event shall the amount of credits so 

reserved exceed the maximum amount permissible under the 

IRC. 

Not more than 20% of the credits in any pool may be 

reserved to developments intended to provide elderly 

housing, unless the feasible credit amount, as determined by 

the executive director, of the highest ranked elderly housing 

development in any pool exceeds 20% of the credits in such 

pool, then such elderly housing development shall be the only 

elderly housing development eligible for a reservation of 

credits from such pool. However, if credits remain available 

for reservation after all eligible nonelderly housing 

developments receive a reservation of credits, such remaining 

credits may be made available to additional elderly housing 

developments. The above limitation of credits available for 

elderly housing shall not include elderly housing 

developments with project-based subsidy providing rental 

assistance for at least 20% of the units that are submitted as 

rehabilitation developments or assisted living facilities 
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licensed under Chapter 17 of Title 63.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

If the amount of credits available in any pool is determined 

by the executive director to be insufficient for the financial 

feasibility of the proposed development to which such 

available credits are to be reserved, the executive director 

may move the proposed development and the credits 

available to another pool. If any credits remain in any pool 

after moving proposed developments and credits to another 

pool, the executive director may for developments that meet 

the requirements of § 42(h)(1)(E) of the IRC only, reserve the 

remaining credits to any proposed development(s) scoring at 

or above the minimum point threshold established by this 

chapter without regard to the ranking of such application with 

additional credits from the Commonwealth's annual state 

housing credit ceiling for the following year in such an 

amount necessary for the financial feasibility of the proposed 

development, or developments. However, the reservation of 

credits from the Commonwealth's annual state housing credit 

ceiling for the following year shall be in the reasonable 

discretion of the executive director if he determines it to be in 

the best interest of the plan. In the event a reservation or an 

allocation of credits from the current year or a prior year is 

reduced, terminated or cancelled, the executive director may 

substitute such credits for any credits reserved from the 

following year's annual state housing credit ceiling. 

In the event that during any round of application review and 

ranking the amount of credits reserved within any pools is 

less than the total amount of credits made available therein 

during such round, the executive director may either (i) leave 

such unreserved credits in such pools for reservation and 

allocation in any subsequent round or rounds or (ii) 

redistribute such unreserved credits to such other pool or 

pools as the executive director may designate or (iii) 

supplement such unreserved credits in such pools with 

additional credits from the Commonwealth's annual state 

housing credit ceiling for the following year for reservation 

and allocation, if in the reasonable discretion of the executive 

director, it serves the best interest of the plan, or (iv) carry 

over such unreserved credits to the next succeeding calendar 

year for inclusion in the state housing credit ceiling (as 

defined in § 42(h)(3)(C) of the IRC) for such year. 

Notwithstanding anything contained herein, the total amount 

of credits that may be awarded in any credit year after credit 

year 2001 to any applicant or to any related applicants for one 

or more developments shall not exceed 15% of Virginia's per 

capita dollar amount of credits for such credit year (the 

"credit cap"). However, if the amount of credits to be 

reserved in any such credit year to all applications assigned a 

total number of points at or above the threshold amount set 

forth above shall be less than Virginia's dollar amount of 

credits available for such credit year, then the authority's 

board of commissioners may waive the credit cap to the 

extent it deems necessary to reserve credits in an amount at 

least equal to such dollar amount of credits. Applicants shall 

be deemed to be related if any principal in a proposed 

development or any person or entity related to the applicant 

or principal will be a principal in any other proposed 

development or developments. For purposes of this 

paragraph, a principal shall also include any person or entity 

who, in the determination of the executive director, has 

exercised or will exercise, directly or indirectly, substantial 

control over the applicant or has performed or will perform 

(or has assisted or will assist the applicant in the performance 

of), directly or indirectly, substantial responsibilities or 

functions customarily performed by applicants with respect to 

applications or developments. For the purpose of determining 

whether any person or entity is related to the applicant or 

principal, persons or entities shall be deemed to be related if 

the executive director determines that any substantial 

relationship existed, either directly between them or indirectly 

through a series of one or more substantial relationships (e.g., 

if party A has a substantial relationship with party B and if 

party B has a substantial relationship with party C, then A has 

a substantial relationship with both party B and party C), at 

any time within three years of the filing of the application for 

the credits. In determining in any credit year whether an 

applicant has a substantial relationship with another applicant 

with respect to any application for which credits were 

awarded in any prior credit year, the executive director shall 

determine whether the applicants were related as of the date 

of the filing of such prior credit year's application or within 

three years prior thereto and shall not consider any 

relationships or any changes in relationships subsequent to 

such date. Substantial relationships shall include, but not be 

limited to, the following relationships (in each of the 

following relationships, the persons or entities involved in the 

relationship are deemed to be related to each other): (i) the 

persons are in the same immediate family (including, without 

limitation, a spouse, children, parents, grandparents, 

grandchildren, brothers, sisters, uncles, aunts, nieces, and 

nephews) and are living in the same household; (ii) the 

entities have one or more common general partners or 

members (including related persons and entities), or the 

entities have one or more common owners that (by 

themselves or together with any other related persons and 

entities) have, in the aggregate, 5.0% or more ownership 

interest in each entity; (iii) the entities are under the common 

control (e.g., the same person or persons and any related 

persons serve as a majority of the voting members of the 

boards of such entities or as chief executive officers of such 

entities) of one or more persons or entities (including related 

persons and entities); (iv) the person is a general partner, 

member or employee in the entity or is an owner (by himself 

or together with any other related persons and entities) of 

5.0% or more ownership interest in the entity; (v) the entity is 

a general partner or member in the other entity or is an owner 

(by itself or together with any other related persons and 

entities) of 5.0% or more ownership interest in the other 

entity; or (vi) the person or entity is otherwise controlled, in 

whole or in part, by the other person or entity. In determining 
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compliance with the credit cap with respect to any 

application, the executive director may exclude any person or 

entity related to the applicant or to any principal in such 

applicant if the executive director determines that (i) such 

person or entity will not participate, directly or indirectly, in 

matters relating to the applicant or the ownership of the 

development to be assisted by the credits for which the 

application is submitted, (ii) such person or entity has no 

agreement or understanding relating to such application or the 

tax credits requested therein, and (iii) such person or entity 

will not receive a financial benefit from the tax credits 

requested in the application. A limited partner or other similar 

investor shall not be determined to be a principal and shall be 

excluded from the determination of related persons or entities 

unless the executive director shall determine that such limited 

partner or investor will, directly or indirectly, exercise control 

over the applicant or participate in matters relating to the 

ownership of the development substantially beyond the 

degree of control or participation that is usual and customary 

for limited partners or other similar investors with respect to 

developments assisted by the credits. If the award of multiple 

applications of any applicant or related applicants in any 

credit year shall cause the credit cap to be exceeded, such 

applicant or applicants shall, upon notice from the authority, 

jointly designate those applications for which credits are not 

to be reserved so that such limitation shall not be exceeded. 

Such notice shall specify the date by which such designation 

shall be made. In the absence of any such designation by the 

date specified in such notice, the executive director shall 

make such designation as he shall determine to best serve the 

interests of the program. Each applicant and each principal 

therein shall make such certifications, shall disclose such 

facts and shall submit such documents to the authority as the 

executive director may require to determine compliance with 

credit cap. If an applicant or any principal therein makes any 

misrepresentation to the authority concerning such applicant's 

or principal's relationship with any other person or entity, the 

executive director may reject any or all of such applicant's 

pending applications for reservation or allocation of credits, 

may terminate any or all reservations of credits to the 

applicant, and may prohibit such applicant, the principals 

therein and any persons and entities then or thereafter having 

a substantial relationship (in the determination of the 

executive director as described above) with the applicant or 

any principal therein from submitting applications for credits 

for such period of time as the executive director shall 

determine. 

Within a reasonable time after credits are reserved to any 

applicants' applications, the executive director shall notify 

each applicant for such reservations of credits either of the 

amount of credits reserved to such applicant's application (by 

issuing to such applicant a written binding commitment to 

allocate such reserved credits subject to such terms and 

conditions as may be imposed by the executive director 

therein, by the IRC and by this chapter) or, as applicable, that 

the applicant's application has been rejected or excluded or 

has otherwise not been reserved credits in accordance 

herewith. The written binding commitment shall prohibit any 

transfer, direct or indirect, of partnership interests (except 

those involving the admission of limited partners) prior to the 

placed-in-service date of the proposed development unless the 

transfer is consented to by the executive director. The written 

binding commitment shall further limit the developers' fees to 

the amounts established during the review of the applications 

for reservation of credits and such amounts shall not be 

increased unless consented to by the executive director.  

If credits are reserved to any applicants for developments 

which have also received an allocation of credits from prior 

years, the executive director may reserve additional credits 

from the current year equal to the amount of credits allocated 

to such developments from prior years, provided such 

previously allocated credits are returned to the authority. Any 

previously allocated credits returned to the authority under 

such circumstances shall be placed into the credit pools from 

which the current year's credits are reserved to such 

applicants. 

The executive director shall make a written explanation 

available to the general public for any allocation of housing 

credit dollar amount which is not made in accordance with 

established priorities and selection criteria of the authority. 

The authority's board shall review and consider the analysis 

and recommendation of the executive director for the 

reservation of credits to an applicant, and, if it concurs with 

such recommendation, it shall by resolution ratify the 

reservation by the executive director of the credits to the 

applicant, subject to such terms and conditions as it shall 

deem necessary or appropriate to assure compliance with the 

aforementioned binding commitment issued or to be issued to 

the applicant, the IRC and this chapter. If the board 

determines not to ratify a reservation of credits or to establish 

any such terms and conditions, the executive director shall so 

notify the applicant. 

Subsequent to such ratification of the reservation of credits, 

the executive director may, in his discretion and without 

ratification or approval by the board, increase the amount of 

such reservation by an amount not to exceed 10% of the 

initial reservation amount. 

The executive director may require the applicant to make a 

good faith deposit or to execute such contractual agreements 

providing for monetary or other remedies as it may require, or 

both, to assure that the applicant will comply with all 

requirements under the IRC, this chapter and the binding 

commitment (including, without limitation, any requirement 

to conform to all of the representations, commitments and 

information contained in the application for which points 

were assigned pursuant to this section). Upon satisfaction of 

all such aforementioned requirements (including any post-

allocation requirements), such deposit shall be refunded to the 
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applicant or such contractual agreements shall terminate, or 

both, as applicable. 

If, as of the date the application is approved by the executive 

director, the applicant is entitled to an allocation of the credits 

under the IRC, this chapter and the terms of any binding 

commitment that the authority would have otherwise issued 

to such applicant, the executive director may at that time 

allocate the credits to such qualified low-income buildings or 

development without first providing a reservation of such 

credits. This provision in no way limits the authority of the 

executive director to require a good faith deposit or 

contractual agreement, or both, as described in the preceding 

paragraph, nor to relieve the applicant from any other 

requirements hereunder for eligibility for an allocation of 

credits. Any such allocation shall be subject to ratification by 

the board in the same manner as provided above with respect 

to reservations. 

The executive director may require that applicants to whom 

credits have been reserved shall submit from time to time or 

at such specified times as he shall require, written 

confirmation and documentation as to the status of the 

proposed development and its compliance with the 

application, the binding commitment and any contractual 

agreements between the applicant and the authority. If on the 

basis of such written confirmation and documentation as the 

executive director shall have received in response to such a 

request, or on the basis of such other available information, or 

both, the executive director determines any or all of the 

buildings in the development which were to become qualified 

low-income buildings will not do so within the time period 

required by the IRC or will not otherwise qualify for such 

credits under the IRC, this chapter or the binding 

commitment, then the executive director may (i) terminate the 

reservation of such credits and draw on any good faith 

deposit, or (ii) substitute the reservation of credits from the 

current credit year with a reservation of credits from a future 

credit year, if the delay is caused by a lawsuit beyond the 

applicant's control that prevents the applicant from 

proceeding with the development. If, in lieu of or in addition 

to the foregoing determination, the executive director 

determines that any contractual agreements between the 

applicant and the authority have been breached by the 

applicant, whether before or after allocation of the credits, he 

may seek to enforce any and all remedies to which the 

authority may then be entitled under such contractual 

agreements. 

The executive director may establish such deadlines for 

determining the ability of the applicant to qualify for an 

allocation of credits as he shall deem necessary or desirable to 

allow the authority sufficient time, in the event of a reduction 

or termination of the applicant's reservation, to reserve such 

credits to other eligible applications and to allocate such 

credits pursuant thereto. 

Any material changes to the development, as proposed in the 

application, occurring subsequent to the submission of the 

application for the credits therefor shall be subject to the prior 

written approval of the executive director. As a condition to 

any such approval, the executive director may, as necessary to 

comply with this chapter, the IRC, the binding commitment 

and any other contractual agreement between the authority 

and the applicant, reduce the amount of credits applied for or 

reserved or impose additional terms and conditions with 

respect thereto. If such changes are made without the prior 

written approval of the executive director, he may terminate 

or reduce the reservation of such credits, impose additional 

terms and conditions with respect thereto, seek to enforce any 

contractual remedies to which the authority may then be 

entitled, draw on any good faith deposit, or any combination 

of the foregoing. 

In the event that any reservation of credits is terminated or 

reduced by the executive director under this section, he may 

reserve, allocate or carry over, as applicable, such credits in 

such manner as he shall determine consistent with the 

requirements of the IRC and this chapter. 

Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, the executive 

director may make a reservation of credits to any applicant 

that proposes a nonelderly development that (i) provides rent 

subsidies or equivalent assistance in order to ensure 

occupancy by extremely low-income persons; (ii) conforms to 

HUD regulations interpreting the accessibility requirements 

of § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act; and (iii) will be actively 

marketed to people with disabilities in accordance with a plan 

submitted as part of the application for credits and approved 

by the executive director for either (i) at least 50% of the 

units in the development or (ii) if HUD Section 811 funds are 

providing the rent subsidies, as close to, but not more than 

25% of the units in the development. Any such reservations 

made in any calendar year may be up to 6.0% of the 

Commonwealth's annual state housing credit ceiling for the 

applicable credit year. However, such reservation will be for 

credits from the Commonwealth's annual state housing credit 

ceiling from the following calendar year. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3842; Filed October 30, 2013, 11:17 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-35. Regulation Concerning 

Certified Lead Contractors Notification, Lead Project 

Permits and Permit Fees (amending 16VAC25-35-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 
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Public Hearing Information:  

December 5, 2013 - 10 a.m. - State Corporation 

Commission, Tyler Building, Court Room A, 1300 East 

Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219 

Public Comment Deadline: January 17, 2014. 

Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Planning and Evaluation 

Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, TTY (804) 

786-2376, or email john.crisanti@doli.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Safety and Health Codes Board is authorized by 

§ 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia to:  "…adopt, alter, amend 

or repeal rules and regulations to further, protect and promote 

the safety and health of employees in places of employment 

over which it has jurisdiction and to effect compliance with 

the federal OSH Act of 1970…as may be necessary to carry 

out its functions established under this title."  In making such 

rules and regulations to protect the occupational safety and 

health of employees, the board is required to adopt the 

standard which most adequately assures, to the extent 

feasible, on the basis of the best available evidence that no 

employee will suffer material impairment of health or 

functional capacity. 

Section 40.1-51.20 of the Code of Virginia mandates that all 

certified lead contractors notify the Department of Labor and 

Industry prior to commencement of each lead abatement 

project for which certification is required by the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation. The contractor 

must also obtain a lead permit and pay the appropriate fee in 

accordance with this code section. This regulation establishes 

the notification requirements and provides that the 

Department of Labor and Industry conduct on-site inspections 

of each certified lead contractor's actual abatement projects. 

This regulation does not exceed the mandate required by 

§ 40.1-51.20. 

Purpose: Currently, subsection A of 16VAC25-35-30, 

Notification and Permit Fee, requires that lead contractors 

notify the Department of Labor and Industry for lead 

abatement projects when the contract price is $2,000 or more. 

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has 

notification requirements with which the department must 

comply. EPA has no price amount stipulated in its 

notification regulations. Therefore, the basis for this proposed 

regulatory action is to conform the requirements of subsection 

A of 16VAC25-35-30 with that of EPA's Notification 

Requirements for Lead-Based Paint Abatement Activities and 

Training, 40 CFR 745.227(e)(4)(i)-(ix). Notification to the 

department protects the health, welfare, and safety of the 

public. 

Substance: The lead notification requirements in subsection A 

of 16VAC25-35-30 currently stipulate that lead contractors 

notify the department for lead abatement projects when the 

contract price is $2,000 or more. EPA also has notification 

requirements with which the department is obligated to 

comply. EPA has no price amount stipulated with respect to 

its notification requirements; therefore, the department seeks 

to remove the $2,000 minimum contract price provision 

requiring lead abatement notification for all lead projects, 

regardless of the contract price for the lead project. 

Issues: The primary advantages of implementing the amended 

provisions to the public is that the $2,000 minimum contract 

price provision required for lead abatement notification will 

be removed for consistency with the notification requirements 

of EPA. However, since there will no longer be a contractor 

price threshold of $2,000, lead contractors will be required to 

submit more notification permit applications, which will, in 

turn, increase the overall costs of lead permit fees that 

contractors need to pay in order to get their lead abatement 

permit. 

The primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency or 

the Commonwealth is that the department will incur no added 

costs nor will staffing levels require an increase as a result of 

the rule change.  Any additional revenue received will be 

deposited in the Lead Program Special Fund. 

There are no disadvantages to the public or to the 

Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Safety and Health Codes Board (Board) proposes to amend 

its regulations that govern certified lead contractor 

notification, lead project permits and permit fees to require 

that the Department of Labor and Industry (DOLI) receive 

notification of all lead projects commenced in the 

Commonwealth rather than only projects where the contract 

price exceeds $2,000. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether benefits outweigh costs for this proposed 

regulatory change.  

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, lead contractors who 

engage in lead abatement projects where contractual 

payments exceed $2,000 must notify the Department of Labor 

and Industry (DOLI). The U.S Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA), however, requires notification for all lead 

abatement projects without regard to contract price. Although 

the EPA has not demanded that DOLI change its regulations 

so that DOLI is notified of all lead abatement projects, DOLI 

does have an obligation to comply with federal standards. As 

a consequence, the Board now proposes to amend these 

regulations so that they conform to the EPA's regulations. 

This regulatory amendment will require lead contractors to 

notify DOLI of all lead abatement projects and not just those 

with a contract price of more than $2,000. The required 

notification must include 1) identifying information for all 

individuals who will be working on the project, 2) identifying 

information for the owner or operator of the building from 

which lead will be removed, 3) the type of notification that is 

being made, 4) identifying information for the building which 
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is to undergo lead abatement, 5) the estimated amount of lead 

to be removed and how that amount was estimated, 6) the fee 

to be submitted to DOLI, 7) scheduled setup date, removal 

date or dates and completion date and times during which 

lead abatement activities will take place, 8) name and 

certificate number of the on-site supervisor for the project, 9) 

identifying information for the waste disposal site where lead 

containing materials will be disposed of, 10) a detailed 

description of the methods to be used to remove lead 

materials and 11) a description of procedures and equipment 

used to control the emission of lead-contaminated dust, to 

contain or encapsulate lead-based paint and replace lead 

painted surfaces. 

Board staff reports that they do not know how many extra 

projects will be reported per year on account of this 

regulatory change but suspect that most, if not all, lead 

abatement projects presently cost more than $2,000. Board 

staff further reports that they currently receive an average of 

four notifications per year for lead abatement projects. Any 

lead contractors affected by this proposed regulatory change 

will incur costs for compiling the information required in 

notifications to DOLI. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that 

there are 142 lead contractors in the Commonwealth and that 

most lead contractors are small businesses. All of these 

individuals, plus owners of properties that may have lead 

contamination on premises, will likely be affected by this 

proposed regulatory change. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Affected 

businesses may incur additional reporting costs on account of 

this regulatory change only if they contract for lead abatement 

projects worth $2,000 or less. To the extent that any business 

does have to compile information for additional notifications, 

profits for those businesses will likely see a very small 

decrease that is equal to the cost of compiling information 

and conveying it to DOLI.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Affected small 

businesses may incur additional reporting costs on account of 

this regulatory change only if they contract for lead abatement 

projects worth $2,000 or less.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There are likely no alternative methods that 

would both further minimize any adverse impact and meet 

EPA standards. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action may 

slightly increase real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth only for real estate development projects 

which include a lead abatement contract worth $2,000 or less.  

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Labor and Industry concurs with the economic 

impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment requires a lead contractor to file 

a written lead project notification with the Department of 

Labor and Industry for all lead projects, rather than only 

projects where the contract price is $2,000 or more.  

16VAC25-35-30. Notification and permit fee.  

A. Written notification of any lead project, the contract price 

of which is $2,000 or more, shall be made to the department 

on a department form. Such notification shall be sent by 

facsimile transmission as set out in subsection J of this 

section, by certified mail, or hand-delivered to the 

department. Notification shall be postmarked or made at least 

20 days before the beginning of any lead project.  

B. The department form shall include the following 

information:  

1. Name, address, telephone number, and the certification 

number of each person intending to engage in a lead 

project.  

2. Name, address, and telephone number of the owner or 

operator of the facility in which the lead project is to take 

place.  

3. Type of notification: amended, emergency, renovation 

or demolition.  
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4. Description of facility in which the lead project is to take 

place, including address, size, and number of floors.  

5. Estimate of amount of lead and method of estimation.  

6. Amount of the lead project fee submitted.  

7. Scheduled setup date, removal date or dates, and 

completion date and times during which lead-related 

activity will take place.  

8. Name and license number of the supervisor on site.  

9. Name, address, telephone number, contact person, and 

landfill permit number of the waste disposal site or sites 

where the lead-containing material will be disposed.  

10. Detailed description of the methods to be used in 

performing the lead project.  

11. Procedures and equipment used to control the emission 

of lead-contaminated dust, to contain or encapsulate lead-

based paint, and to replace lead-painted surfaces or fixtures 

in order to protect public health during performance of the 

lead project.  

12. If a facsimile transmission is to be made pursuant to 

subsection J of this section, the credit card number, 

expiration date, and signature of cardholder.  

13. Any other information requested on the department 

form.  

C. A lead project permit fee shall be submitted with the 

completed project notification form. The fee shall be in 

accordance with the following schedule:  

1. The greater of $100 or 1.0% of the contract price, with a 

maximum of $500.  

2. If, at any time, the Commissioner of Labor and Industry 

determines that projected revenues from lead project 

permit fees may exceed projected administrative expenses 

related to the lead program by at least 10%, the 

commissioner may reduce the minimum and maximum 

fees and contract price percentage set forth in subdivision 1 

of this subsection.  

D. A blanket notification, valid for a period of one year, may 

be granted to a contractor who enters into a contract for a lead 

project on a specific site which is expected to last for one year 

or longer.  

1. The contractor shall submit the notification required in 

subsection A of this section to the department at least 20 

days prior to the start of the requested blanket notification 

period. The notification submitted shall contain the 

following additional information:  

a. The dates of work required by subdivision B 7 of this 

section shall be every work day during the blanket 

notification period, excluding weekends and state 

holidays.  

b. The estimate of lead to be removed required under 

subdivision B 5 of this section shall be signed by the 

owner and the owner's signature authenticated by a 

notary.  

c. A copy of the contract shall be submitted with the 

notification.  

2. The lead project permit fee for blanket notifications shall 

be as set forth in subsection C of this section.  

3. The contractor shall submit an amended notification at 

least one day prior to each time the contractor will not be 

present at the site. The fee for each amended notification 

will be $15.  

4. Cancellation of a blanket notification may be made at 

any time by submitting a notarized notice of cancellation 

signed by the owner. The notice of cancellation must 

include the actual amount of lead removed and the actual 

amount of payments made under the contract. The refund 

shall be the difference between the original lead permit fee 

paid and 1.0% of the actual amount of payments made 

under the contract.  

E. Notification of fewer than 20 days may be allowed in 

case of an emergency involving protection of life, health or 

property. In such cases, notification and the lead permit fee 

shall be submitted within five working days after the start of 

the emergency lead project. A description of the emergency 

situation shall be included when filing an emergency 

notification.  

F. A notification shall not be effective unless a complete 

form is submitted and the proper permit fee is enclosed with 

the completed form. A notification made by facsimile 

transmission pursuant to subsection J of this section shall not 

be effective if the accompanying credit card payment is not 

approved.  

G. On the basis of the information submitted in the lead 

notification, the department shall issue a permit to the 

contractor within seven working days of the receipt of a 

completed notification form and permit fee.  

1. The permit shall be effective for the dates entered on the 

notification.  

2. The permit or a copy of the permit shall be kept on site 

during work on the project.  

H. Amended notifications may be submitted for 

modifications of subdivisions B 3 through B 11 of this 

section. No amendments to subdivision B 1 or B 2 of this 

section shall be allowed. A copy of the original notification 

form with the amended items circled and the permit number 

entered shall be submitted at any time prior to the removal 

date on the original notification.  

1. No amended notification shall be effective if an 

incomplete form is submitted or if the proper permit 

amendment fee is not enclosed with the completed 

notification.  
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2. A permit amendment fee shall be submitted with the 

amended notification form. The fee shall be in accordance 

with the following schedule:  

a. For modifications to subdivisions B 3, B 4, and B 6 

through B 10 of this section, $15.  

b. For modifications to subdivision B 5 of this section, 

the difference between the permit fee in subsection C of 

this section for the amended amount of lead and the 

original permit fee submitted, plus $15.  

3. Modifications to the completion date may be made at 

any time up to the completion date on the original 

notification.  

4. If the amended notification is complete and the required 

fee is included, the department will issue an amended 

permit if necessary.  

I. The department must be notified prior to any cancellation. 

A copy of the original notification form marked "canceled" 

must be received no later than the scheduled removal date. 

Cancellation of a project may also be done by facsimile 

transmission. Refunds of the lead project permit fee will be 

made for timely cancellations when a notarized notice of 

cancellation signed by the owner is submitted.  

The following amounts will be deducted from the refund 

payment: $15 for processing of the original notification, $15 

for each amendment filed, and $15 for processing the refund 

payment.  

J. Notification for any lead project, emergency notification, 

or amendment to notification may be done by facsimile 

transmission if the required fees are paid by credit card.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3269; Filed October 28, 2013, 12:23 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-40. Virginia Certified Home 

Inspectors Regulations (amending 18VAC15-40-50, 

18VAC15-40-52).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 2, 2013 - 10:30 a.m. - Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 200, Board Room 4, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: January 17, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Trisha L. Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (804) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia (commonly 

referred to as the Callahan Act) requires regulatory boards to 

periodically review and adjust fees. Section 54.1-201 of the 

Code of Virginia provides the authority to regulatory boards 

to levy and collect fees; § 54.1-304 of the Code of Virginia 

authorizes the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation (DPOR) to collect and account for fees; and 

§ 54.1-308 of the Code of Virginia requires costs to be paid 

by regulatory boards. 

Purpose: The intent of the proposed amendments is to 

increase licensing fees for regulants of the Board for 

Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors. The board must 

establish fees adequate to support the costs of board 

operations and a proportionate share of the expense of 

department operations. By the close of the next biennium, if 

left at their current rates, fees will not provide adequate 

revenue for those costs.  

DPOR receives no general fund money but, instead, is funded 

almost entirely from revenue collected from license and 

certificate application fees, renewal fees, examination fees, 

and other licensing fees. DPOR is self-supporting and must 

collect adequate revenue to support its mandated and 

approved activities and operations. Fees must be established 

at amounts that will provide that revenue. Fee revenue 

collected on behalf of the various boards is what funds the 

department's authorized special revenue appropriation.  

The Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors has no 

other source of revenue from which to fund its operations.  

Section 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia requires DPOR to 

review each board's expenditures at the close of each 

biennium and to adjust fees if necessary. The Board for 

Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors is expected to incur a 

deficit of $82,268 by the end of the 2012-2014 biennium and 

a Callahan Act percentage of -11.5%. 

The regulatory review process generally takes a minimum of 

18 months, so it is essential to consider fee increases now to 

avoid a greater deficit than currently projected. In order to 

address the deficit as currently projected, new fees will need 

to become effective by late in fiscal year 2014, or the board's 

deficit will increase to the point that the new fees would be 

inadequate to provide sufficient revenue for upcoming 

operating cycles, which could result in the board having to 

consider additional fee increases in the near future.  

Substance: The Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home 

Inspectors reviewed the fees listed in 18VAC15-40-50 and 

18VAC15-40-52 and, based on projected revenues and 

expenses, developed a fee schedule that meets the 

requirements of the applicable statutes while being the least 

burdensome to the regulant population. The amendments 

increase application, renewal, and reinstatement fees for 

certification as a home inspector. 
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Issues: The primary issue for the proposed fee increase is the 

department's statutory requirement to comply with the 

Callahan Act. 

The advantage of these changes is that the regulatory program 

will be able to continue to function in order to protect the 

public. The disadvantage is that these changes will increase 

the cost of the license to the regulated population; however, 

the impact of these changes on the income of the regulated 

population should not be of a great significance compared to 

their level of income. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors (Board) 

proposes to increase all fees paid by licensees, certificate 

holders and registrants that are subject to the Board's 

authority.  

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

accurately gauge whether benefits are likely to outweigh costs 

for these proposed changes.  

Estimated Economic Impact. Under current regulations, home 

inspectors pay an initial certification fee of $25, a biennial 

renewal fee of $25, a late renewal fee of $50 (if they renew 

between 30 days and 6 months after the renewal date) and a 

reinstatement fee of $100 if they renew later than 6 months 

but sooner than 2 years after their certification expires. The 

Board now proposes to increase all of these fees.  

Below is a comparison table for current and proposed fees: 

FEE TYPE CURRENT 

FEE 

PROPOSED 

FEE 

% 

INCREASE 

Initial Home 

Inspector 

Certification 

$25 $80 220% 

Renewal of 

Home 

Inspector 

Certification 

$25 $45 80% 

Late Renewal 

of Home 

Inspector 

Certification 

$50 $80 60% 

Reinstatement 

of Home 

Inspector 

Certification 

$100 $125 25% 

Board staff reports that fees were reduced in 2000 because 

they were set at a level that was too high to be justified by 

Board expenditures. As a consequence of high fees prior to 

2000, the Board had a large surplus that has offset fees that 

since then were too low to cover all Board expenses. Absent 

some fee increase, Board staff reports that the Board will run 

a deficit in the next biennium. In addition to a large surplus 

finally being depleted, Board staff reports that fees will need 

to be raised because expenses for developing Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation's (DPOR's) new 

customer support and licensure software have greatly 

increased information technology costs over the last several 

years.   

While the number of entities that the Board regulates has 

increased, other things being equal, the fees from additional 

regulants would be expected to cover application costs, 

customer support services costs and any other expenses that 

the Board might incur in regulating them. Because fees have 

been kept artificially low for the last decade so that the Board 

could use up the very large surplus that it had accrued, fees 

from each new licensee, certificate holder or registrant may 

not, in this instance, been enough to cover the per person 

application and customer support costs. This notwithstanding, 

it is likely that the necessity of raising fees would not be as 

urgent as it now is without large and continuing increases in 

information technology (IT) expenses over the last few years.  

Board staff reports that DPOR has already paid $3.6 million, 

and expects to pay an additional $1.6 million, for its new 

automated licensure system. These costs are additional to 

other IT (VITA) costs which have increased for all state 

agencies. It is likely that most of the per regulant expenditure 

increase in the last decade is due to these increased 

information systems costs. In FY2005, the Board spent 

$32.13 per regulant; in FY2006, per regulant spending was 

$31.40 and in FY2007 it was $29.07. In FY2008, per regulant 

spending jumped to $45.45. During FY2012, per regulant 

spending was to $50.37.  Board staff expects per regulant 

spending to increase further in FY2013 (to $57.07). Given 

this information, it is not at all clear that these increased 

information systems costs represent a net benefit for the 

Board's regulated entities. 

Increasing fees will likely increase the cost of being licensed, 

certified or registered, and so may slightly decrease the 

number of people who choose to be remain in these jobs or 

businesses.  To the extent that the public benefits from the 

Board regulating these professional populations, they will 

also likely benefit from the Board's proposed action given 

that the regulating will continue. There is insufficient 

information to ascertain whether the benefits of the continued 

regulation will outweigh the costs with higher fees. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that the 

Board currently regulates 5,808 individuals, contractors, labs 

and training programs. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action.  

Projected Impact on Employment. Fee increases in this 

regulatory action may marginally decrease the number of 

individuals who choose to work in professional fields that are 

regulated by the Board. Individuals who work part time or 

whose earnings are only slightly higher in these regulated 
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fields than they would be in other jobs that do not require 

licensure or registration will be more likely to be affected.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Fee 

increases will likely very slightly decrease business profits 

and make affected businesses slightly less valuable. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Board staff 

reports that most of the entities regulated by the Board likely 

qualify as small businesses. Affected small businesses will 

bear the costs of proposed increased fees.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. Outside of increasing the efficiency of the 

business practices of DPOR or lowering other expenses 

charged to the department, particularly information 

technology related, there are no clear alternative methods that 

would reduce the adverse impact on small businesses from 

the proposed fee increases. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth.  

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 

DPB's best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors concurs with the 

approval. However, we would like to address the statement 

regarding the efficiency of the Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation's (DPOR's) business practices.  

DPOR serves to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the 

public by establishing and administering regulatory programs 

for certain professions or occupations that are deemed by the 

General Assembly as needing to be regulated. Such programs 

are designed to ensure minimum competency of practitioners 

who elect to enter these professions by verifying applicants' 

compliance with specified entry standards (education, 

experience, and examination).  

DPOR is mindful of the need to keep costs to a minimum 

while still maintaining its charge of allowing minimally 

competent individuals and companies to begin working in 

their chosen fields as quickly as possible and resolving 

complaints against licensees in a timely manner. DPOR's staff 

continuously strives to improve its processes to find more 

efficient methods of conducting its work. In addition, staff 

works with its regulatory boards to develop regulations and 

policies that minimize burdens on its regulants, including 

minimizing costs associated with licensure, certification, and 

registration. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments increase fees for obtaining and 

maintaining certification as a home inspector. 

18VAC15-40-50. Application fees. 

The application fee for an initial home inspector certification 

shall be $25 $80. 

18VAC15-40-52. Renewal and reinstatement fees. 

Renewal and reinstatement fees are as follows: 

Fee type Fee amount When due 

Renewal 
 $25 

$45 

  With renewal 

application 

Late renewal 

 

 

 

+ 

 

=  

$25 

$45 

$25 

$35 

$50 

$80 

 

(renewal) 

 

(late fee) 

 

total fee 

With renewal 

application 

Reinstatement 

 

 

 

+  

 

=  

$75 

$80 

$25 

$45 

$100 

$125 

 

(reinstatement) 

 

(renewal) 

 

total fee 

With 

reinstatement 

application 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3182; Filed October 21, 2013, 8:53 a.m.  

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 527-4401, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

The amendments add a new specialty to incorporate 

businesses that perform work related to the certified 

accessibility mechanic program pursuant to Chapters 81 

and 207 of the 2010 Acts of Assembly and amend the 

definition of "manufactured home contracting." 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC50-22-30. Definitions of specialty services.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 

by the context shall have the following meanings:  

"Accessibility services contracting" (Abbr: ASC) means the 

service that provides for all work in connection with the 

constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, testing, 

or maintenance of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, and private 

residence elevators in accordance with the Uniform Statewide 

Building Code (13VAC5-63). The EEC specialty may also 

perform this work. This specialty does not include work on 

limited use-limited application (LULA) elevators. 

"Accessibility services contracting – LULA" (Abbr: ASL) 

means the service that provides for all work in connection 

with the constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, 

testing, or maintenance of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, private 

residence elevators, and limited use-limited application 

(LULA) elevators in accordance with the Uniform Statewide 

Building Code (13VAC5-63). The EEC specialty may also 

perform this work.  

"Alternative energy system contracting" (Abbr: AES) means 

that the service which that provides for the installation, repair 

or improvement, from the customer's meter, of alternative 

energy generation systems, supplemental energy systems and 

associated equipment annexed to real property. This service 

does not include the installation of emergency generators 

powered by fossil fuels. No other classification or specialty 

service provides this function. This specialty does not provide 

for electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions.  

"Asbestos contracting" (Abbr: ASB) means that the service 

which that provides for the installation, removal, or 

encapsulation of asbestos containing materials annexed to real 

property. No other classification or specialty service provides 

for this function.  

"Asphalt paving and sealcoating contracting" (Abbr: PAV) 

means that the service which that provides for the installation 

of asphalt paving and/or or sealcoating, or both, on 

subdivision streets and adjacent intersections, driveways, 

parking lots, tennis courts, running tracks, and play areas, 

using materials and accessories common to the industry. This 

includes height adjustment of existing sewer manholes, storm 

drains, water valves, sewer cleanouts and drain grates, and all 

necessary excavation and grading. The H/H classification also 

provides for this function.  

"Billboard/sign contracting" (Abbr: BSC) means that the 

service which that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or dismantling of any billboard or structural 

sign permanently annexed to real property. H/H and BLD are 

the only other classifications that can perform this work 

except that a contractor in this specialty may connect or 

disconnect signs to existing electrical circuits. No trade 

related plumbing, electrical, or HVAC work is included in 

this function.  

"Blast/explosive contracting" (Abbr: BEC) means that the 

service which that provides for the use of explosive charges 

for the repair, improvement, alteration, or demolition of any 

real property or any structure annexed to real property.  

"Commercial improvement contracting" (Abbr: CIC) means 

that the service which that provides for repair or improvement 

to nonresidential property and multifamily property as 

defined in the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code. 

The BLD classification also provides for this function. The 

CIC classification does not provide for the construction of 

new buildings, accessory buildings, electrical, plumbing, 

HVAC, or gas work.  

"Concrete contracting" (Abbr: CEM) means that the service 

which that provides for all work in connection with the 

processing, proportioning, batching, mixing, conveying and 

placing of concrete composed of materials common to the 

concrete industry. This includes but is not limited to 

finishing, coloring, curing, repairing, testing, sawing, 

grinding, grouting, placing of film barriers, sealing and 

waterproofing. Construction and assembling of forms, molds, 

slipforms, pans, centering, and the use of rebar is also 

included. The BLD and H/H classifications also provide for 

this function.  

"Electronic/communication service contracting" (Abbr: 

ESC) means that the service which that provides for the 

installation, repair, improvement, or removal of electronic or 

communications systems annexed to real property including 

telephone wiring, computer cabling, sound systems, data 

links, data and network installation, television and cable TV 

wiring, antenna wiring, and fiber optics installation, all of 

which operate at 50 volts or less. A firm holding an ESC 

license is responsible for meeting all applicable tradesman 

licensure standards. The ELE classification also provides for 

this function.  

"Elevator/escalator contracting" (Abbr: EEC) means that the 

service which that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement or removal of elevators or escalators 

permanently annexed to real property. A firm holding an EEC 

license is responsible for meeting all applicable individual 

license and certification regulations. No other classification or 

specialty service provides for this function.  

"Environmental monitoring well contracting" (Abbr: EMW) 

means that the service which that provides for the 
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construction of a well to monitor hazardous substances in the 

ground.  

"Environmental specialties contracting" (Abbr: ENV) means 

that the service which that provides for installation, repair, 

removal, or improvement of pollution control and 

remediation devices. No other specialty provides for this 

function. This specialty does not provide for electrical, 

plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions.  

"Equipment/machinery contracting" (Abbr: EMC) means 

that the service which that provides for the installation or 

removal of equipment or machinery including but not limited 

to conveyors or heavy machinery. Boilers exempted by the 

Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code but regulated by 

the Department of Labor and Industry are also included in 

this specialty. This specialty does not provide for any 

electrical, plumbing, process piping or HVAC functions.  

"Farm improvement contracting" (Abbr: FIC) means that the 

service which that provides for the installation, repair or 

improvement of a nonresidential farm building or structure, or 

nonresidential farm accessory-use structure, or additions 

thereto. The BLD classification also provides for this 

function. The FIC specialty does not provide for any 

electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or gas fitting functions.  

"Fire alarm systems contracting" (Abbr: FAS) means that 

the service which that provides for the installation, repair, or 

improvement of fire alarm systems which operate at 50 volts 

or less. The ELE classification also provides for this function. 

A firm with an FAS license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable tradesman licensure standards.  

"Fire sprinkler contracting" (Abbr: SPR) means that the 

service which that provides for the installation, repair, 

alteration, addition, testing, maintenance, inspection, 

improvement, or removal of sprinkler systems using water as 

a means of fire suppression when annexed to real property. 

This specialty does not provide for the installation, repair, or 

maintenance of other types of fire suppression systems. The 

PLB classification allows for the installation of systems 

permitted to be designed in accordance with the plumbing 

provisions of the USBC. This specialty may engage in the 

installation of backflow prevention devices in the fire 

sprinkler supply main and incidental to the sprinkler system 

installation when the installer has received formal vocational 

training approved by the board that included instruction in the 

installation of backflow prevention devices.  

"Fire suppression contracting" (Abbr: FSP) means that the 

service which that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of fire suppression systems 

including but not limited to halon and other gas systems; dry 

chemical systems; and carbon dioxide systems annexed to 

real property. No other classification provides for this 

function. The FSP specialty does not provide for the 

installation, repair, or maintenance of water sprinkler 

systems.  

"Gas fitting contracting" (Abbr: GFC) means that the service 

which that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of gas piping and appliances annexed to real 

property. A firm holding a GFC license is responsible for 

meeting all applicable individual (tradesman) licensure 

regulations.  

"Home improvement contracting" (Abbr: HIC) means that 

the service which that provides for repairs or improvements to 

one-family and two-family residential buildings or structures 

annexed to real property. The BLD classification also 

provides for this function. The HIC specialty does not provide 

for electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or gas fitting functions. It 

does not include high rise buildings, buildings with more than 

two dwelling units, or new construction functions beyond the 

existing building structure other than decks, patios, driveways 

and utility out buildings.   

"Industrial "Industrialized building contracting" (Abbr: IBC) 

means that the service that provides for the installation or 

removal of an industrialized building as defined in the 

Virginia Industrialized Building Safety Regulations 

(13VAC5-91). This classification covers foundation work in 

accordance with the provisions of the USBC Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) and allows the 

licensee to complete internal tie-ins of plumbing, gas, 

electrical, and HVAC systems. It does not allow for installing 

additional plumbing, gas, electrical, or HVAC work such as 

installing the service meter, or installing the outside 

compressor for the HVAC system. The BLD classification 

also provides for this function.  

"Landscape irrigation contracting" (Abbr: ISC) means that 

the service which that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of irrigation sprinkler systems or 

outdoor sprinkler systems. The PLB and H/H classifications 

also provide for this function. This specialty may install 

backflow prevention devices incidental to work in this 

specialty when the installer has received formal vocational 

training approved by the board that included instruction in the 

installation of backflow prevention devices.  

"Landscape service contracting" (Abbr: LSC) means that the 

service which that provides for the alteration or improvement 

of a land area not related to any other classification or service 

activity by means of excavation, clearing, grading, 

construction of retaining walls for landscaping purposes, or 

placement of landscaping timbers. This specialty may remove 

[ stumbs stumps ] and roots below grade. The BLD and H/H 

classifications also provide for this function.  

"Lead abatement contracting" (Abbr: LAC) means that the 

service which that provides for the removal or encapsulation 

of lead-containing materials annexed to real property. No 

other classification or specialty service provides for this 

function, except that the PLB and HVA classifications may 

provide this service incidental to work in those 

classifications.  
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"Liquefied petroleum gas contracting" (Abbr: LPG) means 

that the service which that includes the installation, 

maintenance, extension, alteration, or removal of all piping, 

fixtures, appliances, and appurtenances used in transporting, 

storing or utilizing liquefied petroleum gas. This excludes hot 

water heaters, boilers, and central heating systems that require 

[ a an ] HVA or PLB license. The GFC specialty also 

provides for this function. A firm holding [ a an ] LPG license 

is responsible for meeting all applicable individual license 

and certification regulations.  

"Manufactured home contracting" (Abbr: MHC) means that 

the service that provides for the installation or removal of a 

manufactured home as defined in the Virginia Manufactured 

Home Safety Regulations (13VAC5-95). This classification 

does not cover foundation work; however, it does allow 

installation of piers covered under HUD regulations. It does 

allow a licensee to do internal tie-ins of plumbing, gas, 

electrical, or HVAC equipment. It does not allow for 

installing additional plumbing, gas, electrical, or HVAC work 

such as installing the service meter or installing the outside 

compressor for the HVAC system. The H/H and BLD 

classifications also provide for this function. No other 

specialty provides for this function.  

"Marine facility contracting" (Abbr: MCC) means that the 

service which that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of any structure the purpose of 

which is to provide access to, impede, or alter a body of 

surface water. The BLD and H/H classifications also provide 

for this function. The MCC specialty does not provide for the 

construction of accessory structures or electrical, HVAC or 

plumbing functions.  

"Masonry contracting" (Abbr: BRK) means that the service 

which that includes the installation of brick, concrete block, 

stone, marble, slate or other units and products common to 

the masonry industry, including mortarless type masonry 

products. This includes installation of grout, caulking, tuck 

pointing, sand blasting, mortar washing, parging and cleaning 

and welding of reinforcement steel related to masonry 

construction. The BLD classification and HIC and CIC 

specialties also provide for this function.  

"Natural gas fitting provider contracting" (Abbr: NGF) 

means that the service which that provides for the incidental 

repair, testing, or removal of natural gas piping or fitting 

annexed to real property. This does not include new 

installation of gas piping for hot water heaters, boilers, central 

heating systems, or other natural gas equipment which 

requires [ a an ] HVA or PLB license. The GFC specialty also 

provides for this function. A firm holding [ a an ] NGF 

license is responsible for meeting all applicable individual 

license and certification regulations.  

"Painting and wallcovering contracting" (Abbr: PTC) means 

that the service which that provides for the application of 

materials common to the painting and decorating industry for 

protective or decorative purposes, the installation of surface 

coverings such as vinyls, wall papers, and cloth fabrics. This 

includes surface preparation, caulking, sanding and cleaning 

preparatory to painting or coverings and includes both interior 

and exterior surfaces. The BLD classification and the HIC 

and CIC specialties also provide for this function.  

"Radon mitigation contracting" (Abbr: RMC) means that the 

service which that provides for additions, repairs or 

improvements to buildings or structures, for the purpose of 

mitigating or preventing the effects of radon gas. This 

function can only be performed by a firm holding the BLD 

classification or CIC (for other than one-family and two-

family dwellings), FIC (for nonresidential farm buildings) or 

HIC (for one-family and two-family dwellings) specialty 

services. No electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC 

functions are provided by this specialty.  

"Recreational facility contracting" (Abbr: RFC) means that 

the service which that provides for the construction, repair, or 

improvement of any recreational facility, excluding paving 

and the construction of buildings, plumbing, electrical, and 

HVAC functions. The BLD classification also provides for 

this function.  

"Refrigeration contracting" (Abbr: REF) means that the 

service which that provides for installation, repair, or removal 

of any refrigeration equipment (excluding HVAC equipment). 

No electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions are 

provided by this specialty. This specialty is intended for those 

contractors who repair or install coolers, refrigerated 

casework, ice-making machines, drinking fountains, cold 

room equipment, and similar hermetic refrigeration 

equipment. The HVAC classification also provides for this 

function.  

"Roofing contracting" (Abbr: ROC) means that the service 

which that provides for the installation, repair, removal or 

improvement of materials common to the industry that form a 

watertight, weather resistant surface for roofs and decks. This 

includes roofing system components when installed in 

conjunction with a roofing project, application of 

dampproofing or waterproofing, and installation of roof 

insulation panels and other roof insulation systems above roof 

deck. The BLD classification and the HIC and CIC specialties 

also provide for this function.  

"Sewage disposal systems contracting" (Abbr: SDS) means 

that the service which that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of septic tanks, septic systems, and 

other on-site sewage disposal systems annexed to real 

property.  

"Swimming pool construction contracting" (Abbr: POL) 

means that the service which that provides for the 

construction, repair, improvement or removal of in-ground 

swimming pools. The BLD classification and the RFC 

specialty also provide for this function. No trade related 

plumbing, electrical, backflow or HVAC work is included in 

this specialty.  
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"Vessel construction contracting" (Abbr: VCC) means that 

the service which that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of nonresidential vessels, tanks, or 

piping that hold or convey fluids other than sanitary, storm, 

waste, or potable water supplies. The H/H classification also 

provides for this function.  

"Water well/pump contracting" (Abbr: WWP) means that 

the service which that provides for the installation of a water 

well system, including geothermal wells, which includes 

construction of a water well to reach groundwater, as defined 

in § 62.1-255 of the Code of Virginia, and the installation of 

the well pump and tank, including pipe and wire, up to and 

including the point of connection to the plumbing and 

electrical systems. No other classification or specialty service 

provides for construction of water wells. This regulation shall 

not exclude PLB, ELE or HVAC from installation of pumps 

and tanks.  

Note: Specialty contractors engaging in construction which 

that involves the following activities or items or similar 

activities or items may fall under the CIC, HIC and/or FIC 

specialty services, or they may fall under the BLD 

classification.  

Appliances  Fireplaces  Rubber linings 

Awnings  Fireproofing  Sandblasting 

Blinds Fixtures  Scaffolding 

Bulkheads Floor coverings  Screens 

Cabinetry Flooring Sheet metal 

Carpentry  Floors  Shutters 

Carpeting  Glass  Siding 

Casework  Glazing  Skylights 

Ceilings  Grouting  Storage bins and 

lockers 

Chimneys  Grubbing Stucco 

Chutes  Guttering Temperature 

controls 

Conduit 

rodding  

Insulation  Terrazzo 

Curtains  Interior 

decorating 

Tile 

Curtain walls  Lubrication  Vaults 

Decks Metal work  Vinyl flooring 

Doors  Millwrighting  Wall panels 

Drapes  Mirrors  Wall tile 

Drywall  Miscellaneous 

iron 

Waterproofing 

Epoxy  Ornamental 

iron  

Weatherstripping 

Exterior 

decoration 

Partitions  Welding 

Facings Protective 

coatings 

Windows 

Fences  Railings  Wood floors 

Fiberglass Rigging   

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 

form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 

may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 

General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

[ FORMS (18VAC50-22) 

Contractor Licensing Information, A503-27INTRO (rev. 

9/12).  

Requirements for Qualified Individuals, A503-27EXINFO 

(rev. 9/12).  

License Application, A503-27LIC (rev. 9/12). 

Expedited Class A License Application, A503-2705A_ELIC 

(rev. 9/12). 

Class C License Application (Short Form), A503-27CSF 

(rev. 9/12). 

Additional Specialty Designation Application, A503-

27ADDSP (rev. 9/12).  

Change in Qualified Individual and Designated Employee 

Application, A503-27CH_QIDE (rev. 9/12).  

Change of Responsible Management Application, A503-

syCHRM (rev. 7/11).  

Certificate of License Termination, A503-27TERM (3/11).  

Education Provider Registration/Course Approval 

Application, A503-27EDREG (rev. 10/11).  

Education Provider Listing Application, A503-27EDLIST 

(rev. 3/11). 

Financial Statement, A503-27FINST (rev. 7/11).  

Additional Qualified Individual Experience Reference Form, 

A504-27QIEXP (rev. 3/11). 

Contractor Licensing Information, A503-27INTRO v-3 (rev. 

12/12) 

Requirements for Qualified Individuals, A501-27EXINFO-

v2 (rev. 12/12) 

Contractor's License Application, A501-27LIC-v5 (rev. 

12/12) 

Expedited Class A License Application, A503-

2705A_ELIC-v5 (rev. 12/12) 

Additional Specialty Designation Application, A503-

27ADDSP-v5 (rev. 12/12) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b644002636~26&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b644002636~26&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3b87e002636~27&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3b87e002636~27&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e71a9002636~28&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e71a9002636~28&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91970002636~29&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91970002636~29&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=36c71002636~30&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=36c71002636~30&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
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Change in Qualified Individual and Designated Employee 

Application, A501-27CH_QIDE-v5 (rev. 7/13) 

Change of Responsible Management Application, A501-

27CHRM-v4 (rev. 12/12) 

Certificate of License Termination, A501-27TERM-v3 (rev. 

12/12) 

Education Provider Registration/Course Approval 

Application, A501-27EDREG-v5 (rev. 12/12) 

Education Provider Listing Application, A501-27EDLIST-

v3 (rev. 12/12) 

Financial Statement, A501-27FINST-v4 (rev. 12/12) 

Change in License Class Application, A501-27CHLIC-v5 

(rev. 12/12) 

Firm – Residential Building Energy Analyst Application, 

A501-2707LIC-v2 (rev. 7/13) ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2636; Filed October 28, 2013, 3:20 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-10, 18VAC50-22-

100; adding 18VAC50-22-65, 18VAC50-22-66).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 527-4401, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The Board for Contractors is amending its regulations to 

include temporary licenses among the types of licenses the 

board issues. The amendments define "temporary license," 

establish eligibility criteria for such a license, list the fees 

associated with such a license, and identify other 

administrative requirements.  

These regulations replace the emergency regulations that 

have been in effect since March 2, 2011. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part I  

Definitions  

18VAC50-22-10. General definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter, 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 

by the context, shall have the following meanings:  

"Address of record" means the mailing address designated 

by the licensee to receive notices and correspondence from 

the board. 

"Affidavit" means a written statement of facts, made 

voluntarily, and confirmed by the oath or affirmation of the 

party making it, taken before a notary or other person having 

the authority to administer such oath or affirmation.  

"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by 

law.  

"Change order" means any modification to the original 

contract including, but not limited to, the time to complete the 

work, change in materials, change in cost, and change in the 

scope of work. 

"Controlling financial interest" means the direct or indirect 

ownership or control of more than 50% ownership of a firm.  

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Formal vocational training" means courses in the trade 

administered at an accredited educational facility; or formal 

training, approved by the department, conducted by trade 

associations, businesses, military, correspondence schools or 

other similar training organizations.  

"Full-time employee" means an employee who spends a 

minimum of 30 hours a week carrying out the work of the 

licensed contracting business.  

"Helper" or "laborer" means a person who assists a licensed 

tradesman and who is not an apprentice as defined in 

18VAC50-30-10.  

"Licensee" means a firm holding a license issued by the 

Board for Contractors to act as a contractor, as defined in 

§ 54.1-1100 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Net worth" means assets minus liabilities. For purposes of 

this chapter, assets shall not include any property owned as 

tenants by the entirety.  

"Prime contractor" means a licensed contractor that 

performs, supervises, or manages the construction, removal, 

repair, or improvement of real property pursuant to the terms 

of a primary contract with the property owner/lessee. The 

prime contractor may use its own employees to perform the 

work or use the services of other properly licensed 

contractors. 

"Principal place of business" means the location where the 

licensee principally conducts business with the public. 

"Reciprocity" means an arrangement by which the licensees 

of two states are allowed to practice within each other's 

boundaries by mutual agreement.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to 

effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 

for another period of time.  

"Responsible management" means the following 

individuals:  

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship;  

2. The partners of a general partnership;  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86540002636~31&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86540002636~31&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c08a002636~32&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c08a002636~32&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e5cd9002636~33&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e5cd9002636~33&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34b93002636~34&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34b93002636~34&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b99f6002636~35&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b99f6002636~35&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9f5d2002636~38&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=466c9002636~36&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=466c9002636~36&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6dba9002636~37&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6dba9002636~37&typ=40&actno=002636&mime=application/pdf
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3. The managing partners of a limited partnership;  

4. The officers of a corporation;  

5. The managers of a limited liability company;  

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and  

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under 

the laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 

responsibility to the firm.  

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, 

who is trading under his own name, or under an assumed or 

fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 

through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Supervision" means providing guidance or direction of a 

delegated task or procedure by a tradesman licensed in 

accordance with Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia, being accessible to the helper or 

laborer, and periodically observing and evaluating the 

performance of the task or procedure.  

"Supervisor" means the licensed master or journeyman 

tradesman who has the responsibility to ensure that the 

installation is in accordance with the applicable provisions of 

the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code and provides 

supervision to helpers and laborers as defined in this chapter.  

"Temporary license" means a license issued by the board 

pursuant to § 54.1-201.1 of the Code of Virginia that 

authorizes a person to engage in the practice of contracting 

until such time as the license is issued or 45 days from the 

date of issuance of the temporary license, whichever occurs 

first. 

"Tenants by the entirety" means a tenancy which is created 

between a husband and wife and by which together they hold 

title to the whole with right of survivorship so that, upon 

death of either, the other takes whole to exclusion of the 

deceased's remaining heirs.  

"Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code" or "USBC" 

means building regulations comprised of those promulgated 

by the Virginia Board of Housing and Community 

Development in accordance with § 36-98 of the Code of 

Virginia, including any model codes and standards that are 

incorporated by reference and that regulate construction, 

reconstruction, alteration, conversion, repair, maintenance or 

use of structures, and building and installation of equipment 

therein. 

18VAC50-22-65. Temporary licenses. 

A. A firm applying for a temporary license must meet all of 

the requirements of § 54.1-201.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

including the simultaneous submission of a completed 

application for licensure, and the provisions of this section.  

B. A firm must hold a comparable license or certificate in 

another state and provide verification of current licensure or 

certification from the other state in a format acceptable to the 

board. The license or certificate, as applicable, must be in 

good standing and have comparable qualifications to the 

Virginia license applied for by the firm. 

C. The following provisions apply to a temporary license 

issued by the board: 

1. A temporary license shall not be renewed. 

2. A firm shall not be issued more than one temporary 

license. 

3. The issuance of the license shall void the temporary 

license.  

4. If the board denies approval of the application for a 

license, the temporary license shall be automatically 

suspended. 

D. Any firm continuing to practice as a contractor after a 

temporary license has expired or been suspended and who has 

not obtained a comparable license or certificate may be 

prosecuted and fined by the Commonwealth under § 54.1-111 

A 1 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC50-22-66. Board's disciplinary authority over 

temporary license holders. 

A. A temporary licensee shall be subject to all laws and 

regulations of the board and shall remain under and be subject 

to the disciplinary authority of the board during the period of 

temporary licensure. 

B. The license shall be subject to disciplinary action for any 

violations of Virginia statutes or regulations during the period 

of temporary licensure.  

18VAC50-22-100. Fees. 

Each check or money order shall be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft or 

similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 

fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 

processing charge set by the department: 

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C Initial 

License 

with license 

application 
$210  

Class B Initial 

License 

with license 

application 
$345  

Class A Initial 

License 

with license 

application 
$360  

Temporary 

License 

with license 

application and 

applicable initial 

license fee 

$50 

Qualified 

Individual Exam 

Fee 

with exam 

application 
$20 
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Class B Exam Fee 

with exam 

application ($20 

per section) 

$40 

Class A Exam Fee 

with exam 

application ($20 

per section) 

$60 

Note: A $25 Recovery Fund assessment is also required 

with each initial license application. If the applicant does not 

meet all requirements and does not become licensed, this 

assessment will be refunded. The examination fees approved 

by the board but administered by another governmental 

agency or organization shall be determined by that agency or 

organization. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2484; Filed October 21, 2013, 12:56 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-30. Individual License and 

Certification Regulations (amending 18VAC50-30-10, 

18VAC50-30-40, 18VAC50-30-90, 18VAC50-30-100, 

18VAC50-30-120, 18VAC50-30-130, 18VAC50-30-185, 

18VAC50-30-190, 18VAC50-30-200, 18VAC50-30-220).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 527-4401, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish a program to certify 

accessibility mechanics, including criteria, fees, and 

continuing education requirements associated with 

certification. The amendments also include an 

endorsement for limited use/limited application elevators. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part I  

General  

18VAC50-30-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Apprentice" means a person who assists tradesmen while 

gaining knowledge of the trade through on-the-job training 

and related instruction in accordance with the Virginia 

Voluntary Apprenticeship Act (§ 40.1-117 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia).  

"Backflow prevention device work" means work performed 

by a backflow prevention device worker as defined in § 54.1-

1128 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Building official/inspector" is an employee of the state, a 

local building department or other political subdivision who 

enforces the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code. 

"Certified accessibility mechanic" means an individual who 

is certified by the board who is engaged in erecting, 

constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, testing, 

or maintaining wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, and private 

residence elevators.  

"Certified elevator mechanic" means an individual who is 

certified by the board who is engaged in erecting, 

constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, testing 

or maintaining elevators, escalators, or related conveyances in 

accordance with the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code.  

"Division" means a limited subcategory within any of the 

trades, as approved by the department.  

"Electrical work" consists of, but is not limited to, the 

following: (i) planning and layout of details for installation or 

modifications of electrical apparatus and controls including 

preparation of sketches showing location of wiring and 

equipment; (ii) measuring, cutting, bending, threading, 

assembling and installing electrical conduits; (iii) performing 

maintenance on electrical systems and apparatus; (iv) 

observation of installed systems or apparatus to detect 

hazards and need for adjustments, relocation or replacement; 

and (v) repairing faulty systems or apparatus.  

"Electrician" means a tradesman who does electrical work 

including the construction, repair, maintenance, alteration or 

removal of electrical systems in accordance with the National 

Electrical Code and the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code.  

"Formal vocational training" means courses in the trade 

administered at an accredited educational facility; or formal 

training, approved by the board, conducted by trade 

associations, businesses, the military, correspondence schools 

or other similar training organizations.  

"Gas fitter" means an individual who does gas fitting-related 

work usually as a division within the HVAC or plumbing 

trades in accordance with the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code. This work includes the installation, repair, 

improvement or removal of liquefied petroleum or natural gas 

piping, tanks, and appliances annexed to real property.  

"Helper" or "laborer" means a person who assists a licensed 

tradesman and who is not an apprentice as defined in this 

chapter.  

"HVAC tradesman" means an individual whose work 

includes the installation, alteration, repair or maintenance of 

heating systems, ventilating systems, cooling systems, steam 

and hot water heating systems, boilers, process piping, 

backflow prevention devices, and mechanical refrigeration 

systems, including tanks incidental to the system.  
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"Inactive tradesman" means an individual who meets the 

requirements of 18VAC50-30-73 and is licensed under that 

section. 

"Incidental" means work that is necessary for that particular 

repair or installation and is outside the scope of practice 

allowed to the regulant by this chapter. 

"Journeyman" means a person who possesses the necessary 

ability, proficiency and qualifications to install, repair and 

maintain specific types of materials and equipment utilizing a 

working knowledge sufficient to comply with the pertinent 

provisions of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code 

and according to plans and specifications.  

"Limited use/limited application endorsement" means an 

addition to the certification record of a certified accessibility 

mechanic authorizing the certificate holder to erect, construct, 

install, alter, service, repair, test, or maintain limited 

use/limited application elevators as defined by the Virginia 

Uniform Statewide Building Code.  

"Liquefied petroleum gas fitter" means any individual who 

engages in, or offers to engage in, work for the general public 

for compensation in work that includes the installation, repair, 

improvement, alterations or removal of piping, liquefied 

petroleum gas tanks and appliances (excluding hot water 

heaters, boilers and central heating systems that require a 

heating, ventilation and air conditioning or plumbing 

certification) annexed to real property.  

"Maintenance" means the reconstruction or renewal of any 

part of a backflow device for the purpose of maintaining its 

proper operation. This does not include the actions of 

removing, replacing or installing, except for winterization.  

"Master" means a person who possesses the necessary 

ability, proficiency and qualifications to plan and lay out the 

details for installation and supervise the work of installing, 

repairing and maintaining specific types of materials and 

equipment utilizing a working knowledge sufficient to 

comply with the pertinent provisions of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code.  

"Natural gas fitter provider" means any individual who 

engages in, or offers to engage in, work for the general public 

for compensation in the incidental repair, testing, or removal 

of natural gas piping or fitting annexed to real property, 

excluding new installation of gas piping for hot water heaters, 

boilers, central heating systems, or other natural gas 

equipment that requires heating, ventilation and air 

conditioning or plumbing certification.  

"Periodic inspection" means to examine a cross connection 

control device in accordance with the requirements of the 

locality to be sure that the device is in place and functioning 

in accordance with the standards of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code.  

"Plumber" means an individual who does plumbing work in 

accordance with the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code.  

"Plumbing work" means work that includes the installation, 

maintenance, extension, or alteration or removal of piping, 

fixtures, appliances, and appurtenances in connection with 

any of the following:  

1. Backflow prevention devices;  

2. Boilers;  

3. Domestic sprinklers;  

4. Hot water baseboard heating systems;  

5. Hydronic heating systems;  

6. Process piping;  

7. Public/private water supply systems within or adjacent 

to any building, structure or conveyance;  

8. Sanitary or storm drainage facilities;  

9. Steam heating systems;  

10. Storage tanks incidental to the installation of related 

systems;  

11. Venting systems; or  

12. Water heaters.  

These plumbing tradesmen may also install, maintain, 

extend or alter the following:  

1. Liquid waste systems;  

2. Sewerage systems;  

3. Storm water systems; and  

4. Water supply systems.  

"Regulant" means an individual licensed as a tradesman, 

liquefied petroleum gas fitter, natural gas fitter provider or 

certified as a backflow prevention device worker, elevator 

mechanic, or water well systems provider.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license or certification card 

restored to effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 

or certification card for another period of time.  

"Repair" means the reconstruction or renewal of any part of 

a backflow prevention device for the purpose of returning to 

service a currently installed device. This does not include the 

removal or replacement of a defective device by the 

installation of a rebuilt or new device.  

"Supervisor" means the licensed master or journeyman 

tradesman who has the responsibility to ensure that the 

installation is in accordance with the applicable provisions of 

the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code, one of whom 

must be on the job site at all times during installation.  

"Testing organization" means an independent testing 

organization whose main function is to develop and 

administer examinations.  

"Trade" means any of the following: electrical, gas fitting, 

HVAC (heating, ventilation and air conditioning), liquefied 

petroleum gas fitting, natural gas fitting, plumbing, and 

divisions within them.  
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"Water distribution systems" include fire sprinkler systems, 

highway/heavy, HVAC, lawn irrigation systems, plumbing, 

or water purveyor work.  

18VAC50-30-40. Evidence of ability and proficiency.  

A. Applicants for examination to be licensed as a 

journeyman shall furnish evidence that one of the following 

experience and education standards has been attained:  

1. Four years of practical experience in the trade and 240 

hours of formal vocational training in the trade. Experience 

in excess of four years may be substituted for formal 

vocational training at a ratio of one year of experience for 

80 hours of formal training, but not to exceed 200 hours;  

2. Four years of practical experience and 80 hours of 

vocational training for liquefied petroleum gas fitters and 

natural gas fitter providers except that no substitute 

experience will be allowed for liquefied petroleum gas and 

natural gas workers;  

3. An associate degree or a certificate of completion from 

at least a two-year program in a tradesman-related field 

from an accredited community college or technical school 

as evidenced by a transcript from the educational 

institution and two years of practical experience in the 

trade for which licensure is desired;  

4. A bachelor's degree received from an accredited college 

or university in an engineering curriculum related to the 

trade and one year of practical experience in the trade for 

which licensure is desired; or  

5. On or after July 1, 1995, an applicant with 10 years of 

practical experience in the trade as verified by reference 

letters of experience from any of the following: building 

officials, building inspectors, current or former employers, 

contractors, engineers, architects or current or past clients 

attesting to the applicant's work in the trade, may be 

granted permission to sit for the journeyman's level 

examination without having to meet the educational 

requirements.  

B. Applicants for examination to be licensed as a master 

shall furnish evidence that one of the following experience 

standards has been attained:  

1. Evidence that they have one year of experience as a 

licensed journeyman; or  

2. On or after July 1, 1995, an applicant with 10 years of 

practical experience in the trade, as verified by reference 

letters of experience from any of the following: building 

officials, building inspectors, current or former employers, 

contractors, engineers, architects or current or past clients, 

attesting to the applicant's work in the trade, may be 

granted permission to sit for the master's level examination 

without having to meet the educational requirements.  

C. Individuals who have successfully passed the Class A 

contractors trade examination prior to January 1, 1991, 

administered by the Virginia Board for Contractors in a 

certified trade shall be deemed qualified as a master in that 

trade in accordance with this chapter.  

D. Applicants for examination to be certified as a backflow 

prevention device worker shall furnish evidence that one of 

the following experience and education standards has been 

attained:  

1. Four years of practical experience in water distribution 

systems and 40 hours of formal vocational training in a 

school approved by the board; or  

2. Applicants with seven or more years of experience may 

qualify with 16 hours of formal vocational training in a 

school approved by the board.  

The board accepts the American Society of Sanitary 

Engineers' (ASSE) standards for testing procedures. Other 

programs could be approved after board review. The board 

requires all backflow training to include instruction in a wet 

lab.  

E. An applicant for certification as an elevator mechanic 

shall:  

1. Have three years of practical experience in the 

construction, maintenance and service/repair of elevators, 

escalators, or related conveyances; 144 hours of formal 

vocational training; and satisfactorily complete a written 

examination administered by the board. Experience in 

excess of four years may be substituted for formal 

vocational training at a ratio of one year of experience for 

40 hours of formal training, but not to exceed 120 hours;  

2. Have three years of practical experience in the 

construction, maintenance, and service/repair of elevators, 

escalators, or related conveyances and a certificate of 

completion of the elevator mechanic examination of a 

training program determined to be equivalent to the 

requirements established by the board; or  

3. Successfully complete an elevator mechanic 

apprenticeship program that is approved by the Virginia 

Apprenticeship Council or registered with the Bureau of 

Apprenticeship and Training, U.S. Department of Labor, as 

evidenced by providing a certificate of completion or other 

official document, and satisfactorily complete a written 

examination administered by the board.  

F. Pursuant to § 54.1-1129.1 A of the Code of Virginia, an 

applicant for examination as a certified water well systems 

provider shall provide satisfactory proof to the board of at 

least: 

1. One year of full-time practical experience in the drilling, 

installation, maintenance, or repair of water wells or water 

well systems under the supervision of a certified master 

water well systems provider or other equivalent experience 

as approved by the board to qualify for examination as a 

trainee water well systems provider; 

2. Three years of practical experience in the drilling, 

installation, maintenance, or repair of water wells or water 

well systems under the supervision of a certified master 
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water well systems provider or other equivalent experience 

as approved by the board and 24 hours of formal 

vocational training in the trade to qualify for examination 

as a journeyman water well systems provider; or 

3. Six years of practical experience in the drilling, 

installation, maintenance, or repair of water wells or water 

well systems under the supervision of a certified master 

water well systems provider or other equivalent experience 

as approved by the board and 48 hours of formal 

vocational training in the trade to qualify for examination 

as a master water well systems provider. 

G. An applicant for certification as an accessibility 

mechanic shall: 

1. Have three years of practical experience in the 

construction, installation, maintenance, service, repair, and 

testing of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, dumbwaiters, 

residential elevators, or related conveyances; 80 hours of 

formal vocational training; and satisfactorily complete a 

written examination administered by the board. Experience 

in excess of four years may be substituted for formal 

vocational training at a ratio of one year of experience for 

20 hours of formal training, but not to exceed 60 hours; 

2. Have three years of practical experience in the 

construction, installation, maintenance, service, repair, and 

testing of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, dumbwaiters, 

residential elevators, or related conveyances and a 

certificate of completion of an accessibility mechanic 

examination of a training program determined to be 

equivalent to the requirements established by the board; or 

3. Successfully complete an accessibility mechanic 

apprenticeship program that is approved by the Virginia 

Apprenticeship Council or registered with the Bureau of 

Apprenticeship and Training, U.S. Department of Labor, as 

evidenced by providing a certificate of completion or other 

official document, and satisfactorily complete a written 

examination administered by the board. 

H. An applicant for a limited use/limited application 

(LULA) endorsement shall: 

1. Hold a current certification as an accessibility mechanic 

issued by the board.  

2. Have one year of practical experience in the 

construction, installation, maintenance, service, repair, and 

testing of limited use/limited application elevators and 

complete a vocational education program approved by the 

board; and satisfactorily complete a written examination 

administered by the board; or complete a limited 

use/limited application elevator training program 

determined to be equivalent to the requirements established 

by the board.  

18VAC50-30-90. Fees for licensure and certification. 

A. Each check or money order shall be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The date of receipt 

by the department or its agent is the date that will be used to 

determine whether or not it is on time. Fees remain active for 

a period of one year from the date of receipt and all 

applications must be completed within that time frame.  

B. Fees are as follows:  

Original tradesman license by examination $130 

Original tradesman license without 

examination 

$130 

Card exchange (exchange of locality-

issued card for state-issued Virginia 

tradesman license) 

$95  

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter $130 

Natural gas fitter provider $130 

Backflow prevention device worker 

certification 

$130 

Elevator mechanic certification 

Certified accessibility mechanic 

$130 

$130 

Water well systems provider certification 

Limited use/limited application 

endorsement 

$130 

$65 

18VAC50-30-100. Fees for examinations.  

The examination fee shall consist of the administration 

expenses of the department resulting from the board's 

examination procedures and contract charges. Exam service 

contracts shall be established through competitive 

negotiation, in compliance with the Virginia Public 

Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

The current examination shall not exceed a cost of $100 for 

the journeyman exam, $125 for the master exam for any of 

the trades, or $100 for the backflow prevention device 

worker, elevator mechanic, accessibility mechanic, or water 

well systems provider exams.  

18VAC50-30-120. Renewal. 

A. Licenses and certification cards issued under this chapter 

shall expire two years from the last day of the month in which 

they were issued as indicated on the license or certification 

card. 

B. Effective with all licenses issued or renewed after 

December 31, 2007, as a condition of renewal or 

reinstatement and pursuant to § 54.1-1133 of the Code of 

Virginia, all individuals holding tradesman licenses with the 

trade designations of plumbing, electrical and heating 

ventilation and cooling shall be required to satisfactorily 

complete three hours of continuing education for each 

designation and individuals holding licenses as liquefied 

petroleum gas fitters and natural gas fitter providers, one hour 

of continuing education, relating to the applicable building 

code, from a provider approved by the board in accordance 

with the provisions of this chapter. An inactive tradesman is 
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not required to meet the continuing education requirements as 

a condition of renewal. 

C. Certified elevator mechanics and certified accessibility 

mechanics, as a condition of renewal or reinstatement and 

pursuant to § 54.1-1143 of the Code of Virginia, shall be 

required to satisfactorily complete eight hours of continuing 

education relating to the provisions of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code pertaining to elevators, escalators, 

and related conveyances. This continuing education will be 

from a provider approved by the board in accordance with the 

provisions of this chapter.  

D. Certified water well systems providers, as a condition of 

renewal or reinstatement and pursuant to § 54.1-1129.1 B of 

the Code of Virginia, shall be required to satisfactorily 

complete eight hours of continuing education in the specialty 

of technical aspects of water well construction, applicable 

statutory and regulatory provisions, and business practices 

related to water well construction from a provider approved 

by the board in accordance with the provisions of this chapter. 

E. Renewal fees are as follows:  

Tradesman license $90  

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter license $90  

Natural gas fitter provider license $90  

Backflow prevention device worker 

certification 

$90  

Elevator mechanic certification 

Certified accessibility mechanic 

$90  

$90 

Water well systems provider certification $90 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. 

F. The board will mail a renewal notice to the regulant 

outlining procedures for renewal. Failure to receive this 

notice, however, shall not relieve the regulant of the 

obligation to renew. If the regulant fails to receive the 

renewal notice, a photocopy of the tradesman license or 

backflow prevention device worker certification card may be 

submitted with the required fee as an application for renewal 

within 30 days of the expiration date. 

G. The date on which the renewal fee is received by the 

department or its agent will determine whether the regulant is 

eligible for renewal or required to apply for reinstatement. 

H. The board may deny renewal of a tradesman license or a 

backflow prevention device worker certification card for the 

same reasons as it may refuse initial issuance or to discipline 

a regulant. The regulant has a right to appeal any such action 

by the board under the Virginia Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

I. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 

provided by the department such as, but not limited to, 

renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 

exam administration. 

18VAC50-30-130. Reinstatement. 

A. Should the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation fail to receive the renewal application or fees 

within 30 days of the expiration date, the regulant will be 

required to apply for reinstatement of the license or 

certification card. 

B. Reinstatement fees are as follows: 

Tradesman license $140* 

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter license $140* 

Natural gas fitter provider license $140* 

Backflow prevention device worker 

certification 

$140* 

Elevator mechanic certification 

Certified accessibility mechanic 

$140* 

$140* 

Water well systems provider certification $140* 

*Includes renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-30-120. 

All fees required by the board are nonrefundable and shall 

not be prorated. 

C. Applicants for reinstatement shall meet the requirements 

of 18VAC50-30-30. 

D. The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by 

the department or its agent will determine whether the license 

or certification card is reinstated or a new application is 

required.  

E. In order to ensure that license or certification card holders 

are qualified to practice as tradesmen, liquefied petroleum gas 

fitters, natural gas fitter providers, backflow prevention 

device workers, elevator mechanics, or water well systems 

providers, no reinstatement will be permitted once one year 

from the expiration date has passed. After that date the 

applicant must apply for a new license or certification card 

and meet the then current entry requirements.  

F. Any tradesman, liquefied petroleum gas fitter, or natural 

gas fitter provider activity conducted subsequent to the 

expiration of the license may constitute unlicensed activity 

and may be subject to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. Further, any person who holds himself out 

as a certified backflow prevention device worker, as defined 

in § 54.1-1128 of the Code of Virginia, or as a certified 

elevator mechanic or certified accessibility mechanic, as 

defined in § 54.1-1140 of the Code of Virginia, or as a water 

well systems provider as defined in § 54.1-1129.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, without the appropriate certification, may be 

subject to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Any activity related to the operating integrity of an 

elevator, escalator, or related conveyance, conducted 

subsequent to the expiration of an elevator mechanic 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 18, 2013 

745 

certification may constitute illegal activity and may be subject 

to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

G. The board may deny reinstatement of a license or 

certification card for the same reasons as it may refuse initial 

issuance or to discipline a regulant. The regulant has a right to 

appeal any such action by the board under the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

H. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 

provided by the department, such as, but not limited to, 

renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 

exam administration. 

Part V  

Standards of Conduct  

18VAC50-30-185. Revocation of licensure or certification.  

A. Licensure or certification may be revoked for 

misrepresentation or a fraudulent application or for 

incompetence as demonstrated by an egregious or repeated 

violation of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code.  

B. The board shall have the power to require remedial 

education and to fine suspend, revoke, or deny renewal of a 

license or certification card of any individual who is found to 

be in violation of the statutes or regulations governing the 

practice of licensed tradesmen, liquefied petroleum gas fitters, 

natural gas fitter providers, backflow prevention device 

workers or, elevator mechanics, or accessibility mechanics in 

the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

18VAC50-30-190. Prohibited acts.  

Any of the following are cause for disciplinary action:  

1. Failure in any material way to comply with provisions of 

Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or the 

regulations of the board;  

2. Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete 

information to the board in obtaining, renewing, 

reinstating, or maintaining a license or certification card;  

3. Where the regulant has failed to report to the board, in 

writing, the suspension or revocation of a tradesman, 

liquefied petroleum gas fitter or natural gas fitter provider 

license, certificate or card, or backflow prevention device 

worker or, water well systems provider, elevator mechanic, 

or accessibility mechanic certification card, by another 

state or a conviction in a court of competent jurisdiction of 

a building code violation;  

4. Negligence or incompetence in the practice of a 

tradesman, liquefied petroleum gas fitter, natural gas fitter 

provider, backflow prevention device worker, elevator 

mechanic, accessibility mechanic, or water well systems 

provider;  

5. Misconduct in the practice of a tradesman, liquefied 

petroleum gas fitter, natural gas fitter provider, backflow 

prevention device worker, elevator mechanic, accessibility 

mechanic, or water well systems provider;  

6. A finding of improper or dishonest conduct in the 

practice of a tradesman, liquefied petroleum gas fitter, 

natural gas fitter provider, backflow prevention device 

worker, elevator mechanic, accessibility mechanic, or 

water well systems provider by a court of competent 

jurisdiction;  

7. For licensed tradesmen, liquefied petroleum gas fitters 

or natural gas fitter providers performing jobs under 

$1,000, or backflow prevention device workers, elevator 

mechanics, accessibility mechanics, or water well systems 

providers performing jobs of any amount, abandonment, 

the intentional and unjustified failure to complete work 

contracted for, or the retention or misapplication of funds 

paid, for which work is either not performed or performed 

only in part (unjustified cessation of work under the 

contract for a period of 30 days or more shall be 

considered evidence of abandonment);  

8. Making any misrepresentation or making a false promise 

of a character likely to influence, persuade, or induce;  

9. Aiding or abetting an unlicensed contractor to violate 

any provision of Chapter 1 or Chapter 11 of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia, or these regulations; or combining or 

conspiring with or acting as agent, partner, or associate for 

an unlicensed contractor; or allowing one's license or 

certification to be used by an unlicensed or uncertified 

individual;  

10. Where the regulant has offered, given or promised 

anything of value or benefit to any federal, state, or local 

government employee for the purpose of influencing that 

employee to circumvent, in the performance of his duties, 

any federal, state, or local law, regulation, or ordinance 

governing the construction industry;  

11. Where the regulant has been convicted or found guilty, 

after initial licensure or certification, regardless of 

adjudication, in any jurisdiction of any felony or of a 

misdemeanor involving lying, cheating or stealing, sexual 

offense, drug distribution, physical injury, or relating to the 

practice of the profession, there being no appeal pending 

therefrom or the time of appeal having elapsed. Any pleas 

of guilty or nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. The record 

of a conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to 

be admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such guilt;  

12. Having failed to inform the board in writing, within 30 

days, that the regulant has pleaded guilty or nolo 

contendere or was convicted and found guilty of any 

felony or a misdemeanor involving lying, cheating, 
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stealing, sexual offense, drug distribution, physical injury, 

or relating to the practice of the profession;  

13. Having been disciplined by any county, city, town, or 

any state or federal governing body for actions relating to 

the practice of any trade, backflow prevention device work, 

elevator or accessibility work, or water well systems 

provider work, which action shall be reviewed by the board 

before it takes any disciplinary action of its own;  

14. Failure to comply with the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code;  

15. Practicing in a classification or specialty service for 

which the regulant is not licensed or certified;  

16. Failure to obtain any document required by the 

Virginia Department of Health for the drilling, installation, 

maintenance, repair, construction, or removal of water 

wells, water well systems, water well pumps, or other 

water well equipment; and 

17. Failure to obtain a building permit or applicable 

inspection where required. 

Part VI  

Vocational Training and Continuing Education Providers  

18VAC50-30-200. Vocational training.  

A. Vocational training courses must be completed through 

accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 

colleges; adult distributive, marketing and formal vocational 

training as defined in this chapter; Virginia Apprenticeship 

Council programs; or proprietary schools approved by the 

Virginia Department of Education.  

B. Backflow prevention device worker courses must be 

completed through schools approved by the board. The board 

accepts the American Society of Sanitary Engineers' (ASSE) 

standards for testing procedures. Other programs could be 

approved after board review. The board requires all backflow 

training to include instruction in a wet lab.  

C. Elevator mechanic courses must be completed through 

schools approved by the board. The board accepts training 

programs approved by the National Elevator Industry 

Education Program (NEIEP). Other programs could be 

approved after board review.  

D. Water well systems provider courses must be completed 

through schools or programs approved by the board. 

E. Certified accessibility courses must be completed through 

education providers approved by the board.  

18VAC50-30-220. Continuing education courses.  

A. All courses offered by continuing education providers 

must be approved by the board and shall cover articles of the 

current edition of the building code for the applicable license 

specialty. For tradesmen with the electrical specialty, the 

National Electrical Code; for tradesmen with the plumbing 

specialty, the International Plumbing Code; for tradesmen 

with HVAC specialty, the International Mechanical Code; for 

gas fitters, liquefied petroleum gas fitters, and natural gas 

fitters, the International Fuel Gas Code. Courses offered by 

continuing education providers for elevator mechanics shall 

cover articles of the current edition of the building code and 

other applicable laws governing elevators, escalators, or 

related conveyances. Courses offered by continuing education 

providers for accessibility mechanics shall cover articles of 

the current edition of the building code and other applicable 

laws governing wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters, and private residence elevators. Courses offered 

by continuing education providers for water well systems 

providers shall cover the specialty of technical aspects of 

water well construction, applicable statutory and regulatory 

provisions, and business practices related to water well 

construction. 

B. Approved continuing education providers shall submit an 

application for course approval on a form provided by the 

board. The application shall include but is not limited to:  

1. The name of the provider and the approved provider 

number;  

2. The name of the course;  

3. The date(s), time(s), and location(s) of the course;  

4. Instructor information, including name, license 

number(s) if applicable, and a list of other appropriate 

trade designations;  

5. Course and material fees;  

6. Course syllabus.  

C. Courses may be approved retroactively; however, no 

regulant will receive credit toward the continuing education 

requirements of renewal until such approval is received from 

the board.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

[ FORMS (18VAC50-30) 

Education Provider Listing Application, A503-27EDLIST-

v2 (rev. 3/11).  

Education Provider Registration/Course Approval 

Application, A503-27EDREG-v4 (rev.10/11).  

Tradesman Additional Designation & License Upgrade 

Application, A503-2710_ADDLIC-v1 (rev. 10/11).  

Tradesman Exam & License Application, A503-

2710EXLIC-v1 (eff. 10/11).  

Tradesman Individual Experience Form, A503-2710EXP-v1 

(rev. 10/11).  

Backflow Prevention Device Worker Certification 

Application, A503-2717BPD (rev. 10/11).  
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Certified Elevator Mechanic Application, A503-2718ELE 

(rev. 10/11).  

Certified Water Well System Provider Application, A503-

2719WSP (rev. 10/11). 

Education Provider Listing Application, A501-27EDLIST-

v3 (rev. 12/12) 

Education Provider Registration/Course Approval 

Application, A501-27EDREG-v5 (rev. 12/12) 

Tradesman Additional Designation & License Upgrade 

Application, A501-2710_ADDLIC-v2 (rev. 12/12) 

Tradesman Exam & License Application, A501-

2710EXLIC-v2 (rev. 12/12) 

Tradesman Individual Experience Form, A501-2710EXP-v2 

(rev. 12/12) 

Tradesman – Inactive/Activate License Application, A501-

2710INAT-v1 (eff. 1/13) 

Backflow Prevention Device Worker Certification 

Application, A501-2717CERT-v2 (rev. 12/12) 

Certified Elevator Mechanic Application, A501-2718CERT-

v3 (rev. 7/13) 

Temporary Elevator Mechanic Certification (rev. 4/10)  

Certified Water Well System Provider Application, A501-

2719CERT-v2 (rev. 12/12) 

Certified Accessibility Mechanics Application, A501-

2720CERT-v1 (eff. 1/14) 

Certified Accessibility Mechanics Limited Use/Limited 

Application (LULA) Endorsement Application, A501-

2720LULA-v1 (eff. 1/14) ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2485; Filed October 28, 2013, 12:47 p.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-130. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Licensed Midwives (amending 18VAC85-

130-80; adding 18VAC85-130-81).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957.9 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 18, 2013.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments require midwives to disclose to their 

clients options for consultation and referral to a physician 

and evidence-based information on health risks associated 

with a home birth when certain antepartum or intrapartum 

conditions exist. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part III  

Practice Standards  

18VAC85-130-80. Disclosure General disclosure 

requirements.  

A licensed midwife shall provide written disclosures to any 

client seeking midwifery care. The licensed midwife shall 

review each disclosure item and obtain the client's signature 

as evidence that the disclosures have been received and 

explained. Such disclosures shall include:  

1. A description of the licensed midwife's qualifications, 

experience, and training;  

2. A written protocol for medical emergencies, including 

hospital transport, particular to each client;  

3. A statement as to whether the licensed midwife has 

hospital privileges;  

4. A statement that a licensed midwife is prohibited from 

prescribing, possessing or administering controlled 

substances;  

5. A description of the midwife's model of care;  

6. A copy of the regulations governing the practice of 

midwifery;  

7. A statement as to whether the licensed midwife carries 

malpractice or liability insurance coverage and, if so, the 

extent of that coverage;  

8. An explanation of the Virginia Birth-Related 

Neurological Injury Compensation Fund and a statement 

that licensed midwives are currently not covered by the 

fund; and  

9. A description of the right to file a complaint with the 

Board of Medicine and with NARM and the procedures 

and contact information for filing such complaint.  

18VAC85-130-81. Disclosures on health risks. 

A. Upon initiation of care, a midwife shall review the 

client's medical history in order to identify pre-existing 

conditions or indicators that require disclosure of risk for 

home birth. The midwife shall offer standard tests and 

screenings for evaluating risks and shall document client 

response to such recommendations. The midwife shall also 

continually assess the pregnant woman and baby in order to 

recognize conditions that may arise during the course of care 

that require disclosure of risk for birth outside of a hospital or 

birthing center. 

B. If any of the following conditions or risk factors are 

presented, the midwife shall request and review the client's 

medical history, including records of the current or previous 

pregnancies; disclose to the client the risks associated with a 

birth outside of a hospital or birthing center; and provide 

options for consultation and referral. If the client is under the 

care of a physician for any of the following medical 

conditions or risk factors, the midwife shall consult with or 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76254002485~13&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76254002485~13&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e2548002485~14&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e2548002485~14&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=587c3002485~15&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=587c3002485~15&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cc708002485~16&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cc708002485~16&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc38e002485~18&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc38e002485~18&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd92d002485~17&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd92d002485~17&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2012e002485~10&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2012e002485~10&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fba9d002485~11&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fba9d002485~11&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=118e7002619~7&typ=40&actno=002619&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0099d002485~12&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0099d002485~12&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7a75e002485~19&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7a75e002485~19&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6113b002485~20&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6113b002485~20&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6113b002485~20&typ=40&actno=002485&mime=application/pdf
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request documentation from the physician as part of the risk 

assessment for birth outside of a hospital or birthing center. 

1. Antepartum risks:  

Conditions requiring ongoing medical supervision or 

ongoing use of medications; 

Active cancer; 

Cardiac disease; 

Severe renal disease -- active or chronic; 

Severe liver disease -- active or chronic; 

HIV positive status with AIDS; 

Uncontrolled hyperthyroidism; 

Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease; 

Seizure disorder requiring prescriptive medication; 

Psychiatric disorders; 

Current substance abuse known to cause adverse effects; 

Essential chronic hypertension over 140/90; 

Significant glucose intolerance; 

Genital herpes; 

Inappropriate fetal size for gestation; 

Significant 2nd or 3rd trimester bleeding; 

Incomplete spontaneous abortion; 

Abnormal fetal cardiac rate or rhythm; 

Uterine anomaly; 

Platelet count less than 120,000; 

Previous uterine incision and/or myomectomy with 

review of surgical records and/or subsequent birth 

history; 

Isoimmunization to blood factors; 

Body mass index (BMI) equal to or greater than 30; 

History of hemoglobinopathies; 

Acute or chronic thrombophlebitis; 

Anemia (hematocrit less than 30 or hemoglobin less than 

10 at term); 

Blood coagulation defect; 

Pre-eclampsia/eclampsia; 

Uterine ablation; 

Placental abruption; 

Placenta previa at onset of labor; 

Persistent severe abnormal quantity of amniotic fluid; 

Suspected chorioamnionitis; 

Ectopic pregnancy; 

Pregnancy lasting longer than 42 completed weeks with 

an abnormal nonstress test; 

Any pregnancy with abnormal fetal surveillance tests; 

Rupture of membranes 24 hours before the onset of 

labor; 

Position presentation other than vertex at term or while in 

labor; or 

Multiple gestation. 

2. Intrapartum risks:  

Current substance abuse; 

Documented intrauterine growth retardation 

(IUGR)/small for gestational age (SGA) at term; 

Suspected uterine rupture; 

Active herpes lesion in an unprotectable area; 

Prolapsed cord or cord presentation; 

Suspected complete or partial placental abruption; 

Suspected placental previa; 

Suspected chorioamnionitis; 

Pre-eclampsia/eclampsia; 

Thick meconium stained amniotic fluid without 

reassuring fetal heart tones and birth is not imminent; 

Position presentation other than vertex at term or while in 

labor; 

Abnormal auscultated fetal heart rate pattern 

unresponsive to treatment or inability to auscultate fetal 

heart tones; 

Excessive vomiting, dehydration, or exhaustion 

unresponsive to treatment; 

Blood pressure greater than 140/90 that persists or rises 

and birth is not imminent; 

Maternal fever equal to or greater than 100.4°F; or 

Labor or premature rupture of membrane (PROM) less 

than 37 weeks according to due date. 

3. If a risk factor first develops when birth is imminent, the 

individual midwife must use judgment taking into account 

the health and condition of the mother and baby in 

determining whether to proceed with a home birth or 

arrange transportation to a hospital. 

C. If the risks factors or criteria have been identified that 

may indicate health risks associated with birth of a child 

outside of a hospital or birthing center, the midwife shall 

provide evidence-based information on such risks. Such 

information shall be specified by the board in guidance 

documents and shall include evidence-based research and 

clinical expertise from both the medical and midwifery 

models of care. 

D. The midwife shall document in the client record the 

assessment of all health risks that pose a potential for a high 

risk pregnancy and, if appropriate, the provision of 

disclosures and evidence-based information. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2179; Filed October 21, 2013, 11:08 a.m.  
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BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC95-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing Home Administrators (amending 

18VAC95-20-80). 

18VAC95-30. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Assisted Living Facility Administrators (amending 

18VAC95-30-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 10, 2013 - 9:30 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Perimeter Center, 2nd 

Floor, Suite 201, Henrico, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: January 17, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Lisa Russell Hahn, Executive Director, 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 

(804) 367-4595, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

ltc@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 

the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards, 

including the responsibility to promulgate regulations in 

accordance with the Administrative Process Act that are 

reasonable and necessary, and establishes the authority to 

levy and collect fees that are sufficient to cover all expenses 

for the administration of a regulatory program. Section 54.1-

113 of the Code of Virginia requires the board to revise the 

fees levied by it for certification or licensure and renewal 

thereof so that the fees are sufficient but not excessive to 

cover expenses. 

Purpose: The issue to be addressed is the need of the Board of 

Long-Term Care Administrators to increase its fees to cover 

expenses for essential functions of licensing, investigation of 

complaints against licensees, and adjudication of disciplinary 

cases to protect the health and safety of a very vulnerable 

population who receive services in long-term care facilities in 

the Commonwealth.  

Section 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia requires that an 

analysis of revenues and expenditures of each regulatory 

board shall be performed at the end of each biennium. It is 

necessary that each board have sufficient revenue to cover its 

expenditures. In fiscal year (FY) 2009, the board collected 

biennial renewal fees, resulting in a balance of $16,929. 

However, in FY 2010, allocated and direct expenditures and 

the cash transfers to the general fund totaled $470,144 and 

revenue totaled $354,270, resulting in a shortfall of $98,946 

by June 30, 2010. With current fees, the shortfall in the 

board's budget is projected to increase to $609,645 by FY 

2014. With a small pool of licensees (approximately 798 

nursing home administrators and 590 assisted living 

administrators), it is very difficult to have sufficient revenue 

to eliminate a shortfall and have adequate revenue for future 

budgets. 

In FY 2005 when the contract for information technology 

services was signed, placing all IT hardware, software, and 

services under a contract with Northrop-Grumman through 

the Virginia Information Technology Agency (VITA), DHP 

costs for IT services was $850,000. In FY 2011, the cost for 

those services was $3.6 million, and in FY 2012, the allocated 

data budget for the Board of Long-Term Care Administrators 

is $126,416 (which is $91 per year for each licensed nursing 

home administrator and assisted living administrator). Since 

the department and its boards are under the VITA contract, 

the agency has no other options for information technology.  

Additionally, some of the department's nongeneral funds were 

transferred, in accordance with the 2010 appropriation act, to 

the general fund to help close the gap between revenue and 

expenditures. The share of that cash transfer allocated to the 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators was $17,997. 

While the board only spent 87% of its direct budget for FY 

2010, the allocated expenditures were 204% over budget. The 

VITA expenditures and cash transfers account for some of 

that overage, but the enforcement and adjudication cost were 

also over budget due to a significant increase in the 

disciplinary caseload. The investigative costs were 497% over 

budget and the adjudication costs were 369% over budget. In 

FY 2009, there were 21 nursing home cases and four assisted 

living cases; in FY 2010, there were 36 nursing home cases 

and 27 assisted living cases. Consequently, the board is 

working with enforcement and administrative proceedings to 

develop alternative methods for managing the caseload with 

the intent of reducing the number of investigative hours and 

streamlining the preparing of documentation. 

Since the fees from licensees no longer generate sufficient 

funds to pay operating expenses for the board, adoption of a 

fee increase is essential to continue licensing, investigating, 

and disciplining long-term care administrators.  

Substance: The Board of Long-Term Care Administrators is 

proposing amendments to increase fees charged to regulants 

and applicants. Annual renewal fees for FY 2012 would be 

increased as follows: (i) for nursing home and assisted living 

facility administrators, the increase is $90 per year from $225 

to $315 and (ii) for preceptors, the increase is $15 per year to 

$65. Other fees set proportionally to the renewal fees would 

also be increased. An application fee, which includes initial 

licensure, would be increased from $200 to $315. There is a 

new fee of $1,000 proposed for reinstatement after 

disciplinary action to partially cover the costs of an 

investigation and a hearing for reinstatement of licensure. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public would be that 

increased fees will produce adequate revenue to fund the 

licensing and disciplinary activities of the board. With the 

shortfall at $98,946 at the end of FY 2010 and projected to 

increase to $951,192 in FY 2016, there could be significant 

delays in licensing new administrators, approving 
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administrator-in-training programs, and investigating and 

adjudicating complaints against licensees. There are no 

disadvantages; increases in annual renewal fees of $90 should 

not impact the cost of long-term care for Virginians. There 

are no disadvantages to the agency; the advantage would be 

that fees would be sufficient to cover expenditures, which is a 

requirement of the Code of Virginia.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators (Board) proposes 

to institute one new fee (a fee for reinstatement after 

disciplinary action) and increase most fees paid by licensees 

and registrants that are subject to the Board's authority. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

accurately gauge whether benefits are likely to outweigh costs 

for these proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board proposes to change 

most of its fees for nursing home administrators, assisted 

living administrators, preceptors and administrator-in-training 

program applications. Below is a comparison table for current 

and proposed fees. 

 

FEE TYPE CURRENT FEE PROPOSED FEE  % INCREASE  

Fee Increases For Nursing Home Administrators 

A.I.T. Program Application $185 $215 16.21% 

Preceptor Application $50 $65 30% 

Licensure Application $200 $315 57.5% 

Verification of Licensure Requests from 

States 
$25 $35 40% 

Nursing Home Administrator License 

Renewal 
$225 $315 40% 

Preceptor Renewal $50 $65 30% 

Penalty for Nursing Home Administrator 

Late Renewal 
$65  $110 69.23% 

Penalty for Preceptor Late Renewal $20 $25 25% 

Nursing Home Administrator Reinstatement $315 $435 38.09% 

Preceptor Reinstatement $95 $105 10.53% 

Duplicate License  $15 $25 66.67% 

Duplicate Wall Certificate  $25 $40 60% 

Reinstatement After Disciplinary Action None $1,000 N/A 

Fee Increases For Assisted Living Facility Administrators 

ALF A.I.T. Program Application $185 $215 16.21% 

Preceptor Application $50 $65 30% 

Licensure Application $200 $315 57.5% 

Verification of Licensure Requests from 

States 
$25 $35 40% 

Assisted Living Facility Administrator 

License Renewal 
$225 $315 40% 

Preceptor Renewal $50 $65 30% 

Penalty for Assisted Living Facility 

Administrator Late Renewal 
$65  $110 69.23% 
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Penalty for Preceptor Late Renewal $20 $25 25% 

Assisted Living Facility Administrator 

Reinstatement 
$315 $435 38.09% 

Preceptor Reinstatement $95 $105 10.53% 

Duplicate License  $15 $25 66.67% 

Duplicate Wall Certificate  $25 $40 60% 

Returned Check Fee $35 $35 No Change 

Reinstatement After Disciplinary Action None $1,000 N/A 

Board staff reports that the Board had a surplus for FY 2009 

of $16,929 but ran a deficit of $98,946 for FY2010. Absent 

approval of these fee increases, Board staff reports that the 

deficit for FY2014 is projected to be $609,645 and may reach 

as high as $951,192 by FY2016. Board staff reports that the 

fee increases are needed because 1) the costs of health care 

for Board employees and lease payments for office space 

have increased, 2) some Board non-general funds were 

transferred in FY2010, FY2011 and FY2012 to the General 

Fund to help close the budget gap, and so won't be available 

to cover the cost of licensure services, 3) costs for 

information technology (IT) services have skyrocketed, and 

4) enforcement and adjudications costs have run well over 

budget.  

The Department of Health Professions (DHP) reports that a 

large portion of the expected expenditure increases over their 

forecast horizon are needed to cover increased costs for 

services from the Virginia Information Technologies Agency 

(VITA). DHP reports that its VITA services costs have more 

than tripled from FY2005 to FY2011, from $850,000 to $3.6 

million, and are expected to be $4.4 million in FY2012. A 

large portion of the increase in costs, at least for FY 2010 and 

FY 2011, can be attributed to the planned move of DHP's 

licensing servers from DHP to Northrop Grumman. DHP 

anticipates that this will increase the costs for maintaining 

these servers by approximately $80,000 per month ($960,000 

per year). This Board is and will be responsible for a 

proportional share of these costs. Although it is likely beyond 

the capacity of DHP to control the very rapid growth of these 

costs, licensees of this Board (and all other DHP Boards) 

would benefit from increased scrutiny of services provided to 

DHP through VITA. 

Board Staff also reports that a portion of DHP's non-general 

fund bank account balances that would have partially offset 

the need for fee increases were instead moved to the General 

Fund by the Budget Bill of 2010 to help close the gap 

between revenue and expenditures. Staff reports that the 

Board's portion of this transfer was $17,997. Budget bills for 

2011 and 2012 also required balance transfers to the General 

Fund: this Board's portions of these transfers were $4,057 and 

$4,750, respectively. Staff further reports that there is a 

possibility that further transfers could be required in future 

budgets. Licensees likely are harmed by these transfers as 

funds that were collected from them (and the interest those 

funds earned) that would have been used to cover the costs of 

administering their licensure program are instead used to 

offset the need for an increase in general taxes or for further 

budget cuts.  

Board staff reports that, in FY 2010, investigative costs were 

497% over budget and adjudication costs were 369% over 

budget. In FY09, the Board investigated 21 nursing home 

cases and 4 assisted living cases; in FY10, there were 36 

nursing home cases and 27 assisted living cases. Board staff 

reports that the Board is working with Enforcement and 

Administrative Proceedings to develop alternative methods 

for managing the caseload with the intent of reducing the 

number of investigative hours and streamlining the preparing 

of documentation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DHP reports that the Board 

currently regulates 798 nursing home administrators, 590 

assisted living facility administrators, 379 preceptors and 150 

administrators-in-training. All of these entities, as well as any 

individuals or entities who may wish to become licensed or 

registered in the future, will be affected by these proposed 

regulations.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Fee increases in this 

regulatory action will likely marginally decrease the number 

of individuals who choose to work in professional fields that 

are regulated by the Board. Individuals who work part time or 

whose earnings are only slightly higher in these licensed 

fields than they would be in other jobs that do not require 

licensure will be more likely to be affected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the 

extent that affected licensees fees are paid by their private 

business employers, fee increases will likely slightly decrease 

business profits and make their businesses slightly less 

valuable.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. DHP reports that 

most licensees are employed by small private businesses or 

non-profit ventures. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There are several actions that the Board 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 18, 2013 

752 

could take that might mitigate the necessity of raising fees 

overall. The Board could slightly lengthen the time that it 

takes to process both license applications and complaints so 

that staff costs could be cut. This option would benefit current 

licensees but would slightly delay licensure, and the ability to 

legally work, for new applicants. Affected small businesses 

would also likely benefit from increased scrutiny of the IT 

costs that are driving increases in both agency and Board 

expenditures.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Long-Term Care Administrators concurs with the analysis 

of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) increase fees charged to 

nursing home administrators, assisted living 

administrators, preceptors, and administrator-in-training 

program applicants and (ii) establish a new fee of $1,000 

for reinstatement after disciplinary action.  

18VAC95-20-80. Required fees.  

The applicant or licensee shall submit all fees below which 

apply:  

1. A.I.T. program application $185 $215 

2. Preceptor application $50 $65 

3. Licensure application $200 $315 

4. Verification of licensure requests from 

other states 

$25 $35 

5. Nursing home administrator license 

renewal 

$225 $315 

6. Preceptor renewal $50 $65 

7. Penalty for nursing home 

administrator late renewal 

$65 $110 

8. Penalty for preceptor late renewal $20 $25 

9. Nursing home administrator 

reinstatement 

$315 $435 

10. Preceptor reinstatement $95 $105 

11. Duplicate license $15 $25 

12. Duplicate wall certificates $25 $40 

13. Reinstatement after disciplinary 

action 

$1,000 

18VAC95-30-40. Required fees. 

A. The applicant or licensee shall submit all fees below that 

apply:  

1. ALF AIT program application $185 $215 

2. Preceptor application $50 $65 

3. Licensure application $200 $315 

4. Verification of licensure requests 

from other states 

$25 $35 

5. Assisted living facility administrator 

license renewal 

$225 $315 

6. Preceptor renewal $50 $65 

7. Penalty for assisted living facility 

administrator late renewal 

$65 $110 

8. Penalty for preceptor late renewal $20 $25 

9. Assisted living facility administrator 

reinstatement 

$315 $435 

10. Preceptor reinstatement $95 $105 

11. Duplicate license $15 $25 

12. Duplicate wall certificates $25 $40 

13. Returned check $35 

14. Reinstatement after disciplinary 

action 

$1,000 

B. Fees shall not be refunded once submitted.  

C. Examination fees are to be paid directly to the service 

contracted by the board to administer the examination. 
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VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2364; Filed October 21, 2013, 11:19 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-10; 

adding 18VAC110-20-418).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 12, 2013 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Perimeter Center, 

Suite 201, Board Room 2, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: January 17, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system, and § 54.1-

3434.03 of the Code of Virginia, which requires that each 

pharmacy implement a program for continuous quality 

improvement, according to regulations of the board. 

Purpose: The intent of the regulatory action is the adoption of 

regulations in compliance with the statutory mandate of 

Chapter 124 of the 2011 Acts of the Assembly, which 

requires the Board of Pharmacy to promulgate regulations to 

specify the elements of a continuous quality improvement 

program. The program provides a systematic, ongoing 

process of analysis of dispensing errors that uses findings to 

formulate an appropriate response and to develop or improve 

pharmacy systems and workflow processes designed to 

prevent or reduce future errors. 

The goal of the regulations is to provide a framework for a 

continuous quality improvement (CQI) program that can 

identify, analyze, and reduce risks and errors associated with 

dispensing of drugs to patients. An analysis of an error is 

required to identify systems failures and personnel 

deficiencies and to review any gaps in the efficiency and 

effectiveness of policies and processes that might result in 

dispensing errors. Oversight of CQI programs by the board 

can be accomplished through routine inspections or 

investigations initiated by a complaint, so documentation of 

an analysis is required to be maintained for at least 12 months 

from the date of the analysis.  

To protect the health and safety of patients who receive drugs 

dispensed by pharmacies to Virginia residents, legislation was 

introduced to require continuous quality improvement 

programs in every licensed pharmacy (resident and 

nonresident). Quality improvement programs can result in the 

identification of root causes for errors in the systems and 

workflow processes in order to prevent or reduce future 

errors. 

Substance: The regulations include (i) definitions for terms 

used in regulation, such as "actively reports," "analysis," and 

"dispensing error"; (ii) provisions for pharmacies actively 

reporting to a patient safety organization; and (iii) provisions 

for a continuous quality improvement program in a pharmacy, 

to include notification responsibilities, documentation 

requirements, remediation of systems or procedures, and 

maintenance of a record of the analysis of the error. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is assurance that a 

pharmacy is recording and analyzing errors in the dispensing 

of prescriptions in order to identify problems that led to a 

prescription error that could cause harm to a patient. There 

are no disadvantages. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the Commonwealth. This action is in 

response to a mandate in the Code of Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 124 of the 2011 Acts of the Assembly, 

and as a replacement for emergency regulations that expired 

September 30, 2013, the Board of Pharmacy (Board) 

proposes to amend its regulations to set rules for a continuous 

quality improvement (CQI) program. The purpose of the CQI 

program is to have pharmacists systematically record and 

report drug dispensing errors so that they can be analyzed and 

avoided in the future.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 

proposed regulations. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Prior to 2011, the Board of 

Pharmacy (Board) enforced a code of behavior for 

pharmacists that required they handle errors in an appropriate 

manner so that patients were not harmed and also supported 

the institution of continuous quality improvement programs 

that would facilitate protecting patient safety and eliminating 

repeated errors. In 2011, the General Assembly passed 

legislation that required the Board to promulgate regulations 

for a CQI program that provides a systematic ongoing process 

of analysis of dispensing errors that uses findings to 

formulate an appropriate response and to develop or improve 

pharmacy systems and workflow processes designed to 

prevent or reduce future errors. The Board promulgated 

emergency regulations to meet this mandate and these 

regulations became effective October 1, 2012. These 

proposed regulations will serve as a more permanent 

replacement for the emergency regulations that expired 

September 30th of this year. 

This action adds several definitions to these regulations, 

including definitions for the activity reports that pharmacies 

will have to compile and submit to a patient safety 

organization after a dispensing error occurs and also includes 

a long but intuitive list of thing that fall under the heading 

dispensing error. The proposed regulations contain 
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notification requirements (both for pharmacy staff to notify 

the pharmacist on duty and for the pharmacist to notify the 

affected patient and, when appropriate, the prescribing 

physician) and also specify that pharmacies can meet their 

error reporting and analysis obligations under the CQI 

program by either reporting errors and analysis to a patient 

safety organization or by independently keeping track of and 

analyzing dispensing errors. Records of errors, both those 

reported to patient safety organizations and those 

independently tracked by pharmacies, will be required to be 

kept for 12 months. 

Pharmacies that are subject to these regulations will incur 

some costs, mainly for time spent on new record keeping 

requirements and on analysis activities related to dispensing 

errors that occur but also for time spent educating pharmacy 

staff on CQI procedures as well as the outcome of error 

analysis. Pharmacies will be able to report errors to patient 

safety organizations at no cost but may also choose to pay for 

additional analysis services that these organizations offer. 

Pharmacies are unlikely to pay for these additional services 

unless they perceive that the benefits of doing so outweigh 

the costs. Patients will likely benefit to the extent that these 

regulations reduce dispensing errors and improve patient 

safety. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Health 

Professions (DHP) reports that there are 1,764 resident 

pharmacies and 511 non-resident pharmacies permitted to 

dispense drugs in the Commonwealth. All of these entities 

will be affected by these proposed regulations. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. DHP reports that 

they do not know how many of the entities affected by these 

proposed regulations would qualify as small businesses but 

also report that most pharmacies are part of a national chain 

or health care system that would not qualify. Affected small 

businesses will likely incur extra bookkeeping and reporting 

costs as well as costs associated with completing analysis of 

any errors that occur. Most of these costs would be for time 

spent at these activities instead of doing some other job 

related tasks. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There are likely no alternative methods for 

doing the tasks mandated by these regulations that would 

both meet the Boards (and the General Assemblys) aims and 

also further minimize any adverse impact on affected small 

businesses.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Chapter 124 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly mandates that 

the Board of Pharmacy promulgate regulations to specify 

the elements of a continuous quality improvement program 

that provides a systematic, ongoing process for analyzing 

dispensing errors and uses those findings to (i) formulate 

an appropriate response, (ii) develop or improve pharmacy 

systems and workflow processes, and (iii) prevent or 

reduce future errors.  

The key provisions of the proposed regulations include (i) 

definitions for terms used in regulation, such as "actively 

reports," "analysis," and "dispensing error"; (ii) 

provisions for pharmacies actively reporting to a patient 

safety organization; and (iii) provisions for a continuous 

quality improvement program in a pharmacy, to include 

notification responsibilities, documentation requirements, 

remediation of systems or procedures, and maintenance of 

a record of the analysis of the error. 
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Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC110-20-10. Definitions.  

In addition to words and terms defined in §§ 54.1-3300 and 

54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia, the following words and 

terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"ACPE" means the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy 

Education.  

"Acquisition" of an existing entity permitted, registered or 

licensed by the board means (i) the purchase or transfer of all 

or substantially all of the assets of the entity or of any 

corporation that owns or controls the entity; (ii) the creation 

of a partnership by a sole proprietor or change in partnership 

composition; (iii) the acquiring of 50% or more of the 

outstanding shares of voting stock of a corporation owning 

the entity or of the parent corporation of a wholly owned 

subsidiary owning the entity, except that this shall not apply 

to any corporation the voting stock of which is actively traded 

on any securities exchange or in any over-the-counter market; 

or (iv) the merger of a corporation owning the entity, or of the 

parent corporation of a wholly owned subsidiary owning the 

entity, with another business or corporation.  

"Actively reports" means reporting all dispensing errors and 

analyses of such errors to a patient safety organization as 

soon as practical or at least within 30 days of identifying the 

error.  

"Alternate delivery site" means a location authorized in 

18VAC110-20-275 to receive dispensed prescriptions on 

behalf of and for further delivery or administration to a 

patient. 

"Analysis" means a review of the findings collected and 

documented on each dispensing error, assessment of the cause 

and any factors contributing to the dispensing error, and any 

recommendation for remedial action to improve pharmacy 

systems and workflow processes to prevent or reduce future 

errors. 

"Beyond-use date" means the date beyond which the 

integrity of a compounded, repackaged, or dispensed drug can 

no longer be assured and as such is deemed to be adulterated 

or misbranded as defined in §§ 54.1-3461 and 54.1-3462 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Pharmacy.  

"CE" means continuing education as required for renewal of 

licensure by the Board of Pharmacy.  

"CEU" means a continuing education unit awarded for credit 

as the equivalent of 10 contact hours.  

"Chart order" means a lawful order for a drug or device 

entered on the chart or in a medical record of a patient by a 

prescriber or his designated agent. 

"Compliance packaging" means packaging for dispensed 

drugs which is comprised of a series of containers for solid 

oral dosage forms and which is designed to assist the user in 

administering or self-administering the drugs in accordance 

with directions for use.  

"Contact hour" means the amount of credit awarded for 60 

minutes of participation in and successful completion of a 

continuing education program.  

"Correctional facility" means any prison, penitentiary, penal 

facility, jail, detention unit, or other facility in which persons 

are incarcerated by government officials. 

"DEA" means the United States Drug Enforcement 

Administration.  

"Dispensing error" means one or more of the following 

discovered after the final verification by the pharmacist:  

1. Variation from the prescriber's prescription drug order, 

including but not limited to: 

a. Incorrect drug; 

b. Incorrect drug strength; 

c. Incorrect dosage form; 

d. Incorrect patient; or 

e. Inadequate or incorrect packaging, labeling, or 

directions. 

2. Failure to exercise professional judgment in identifying 

and managing: 

a. Known therapeutic duplication; 

b. Known drug-disease contraindications; 

c. Known drug-drug interactions; 

d. Incorrect drug dosage or duration of drug treatment; 

e. Known drug-allergy interactions; 

f. A clinically significant, avoidable delay in therapy; or 

g. Any other significant, actual, or potential problem with 

a patient's drug therapy. 

3. Delivery of a drug to the incorrect patient.  

4. Variation in bulk repackaging or filling of automated 

devices, including but not limited to: 

a. Incorrect drug;  

b. Incorrect drug strength; 

c. Incorrect dosage form; or 

d. Inadequate or incorrect packaging or labeling. 

"Drug donation site" means a permitted pharmacy that 

specifically registers with the board for the purpose of 

receiving or redispensing eligible donated prescription drugs 

pursuant to § 54.1-3411.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Electronic prescription" means a written prescription that is 

generated on an electronic application in accordance with 21 

CFR Part 1300 and is transmitted to a pharmacy as an 

electronic data file.  
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"Expiration date" means that date placed on a drug package 

by the manufacturer or repacker beyond which the product 

may not be dispensed or used.  

"Facsimile (FAX) prescription" means a written prescription 

or order which is transmitted by an electronic device over 

telephone lines which sends the exact image to the receiver 

(pharmacy) in a hard copy form.  

"FDA" means the United States Food and Drug 

Administration.  

"Floor stock" means a supply of drugs that have been 

distributed for the purpose of general administration by a 

prescriber or other authorized person pursuant to a valid order 

of a prescriber.  

"Foreign school of pharmacy" means a school outside the 

United States and its territories offering a course of study in 

basic sciences, pharmacology, and pharmacy of at least four 

years in duration resulting in a degree that qualifies a person 

to practice pharmacy in that country. 

"Forgery" means a prescription that was falsely created, 

falsely signed, or altered. 

"FPGEC certificate" means the certificate given by the 

Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Committee of NABP that 

certifies that the holder of such certificate has passed the 

Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Examination and a credential 

review of foreign training to establish educational 

equivalency to board approved schools of pharmacy, and has 

passed approved examinations establishing proficiency in 

English.  

"Generic drug name" means the nonproprietary name listed 

in the United States Pharmacopeia-National Formulary (USP-

NF) or in the USAN and the USP Dictionary of Drug Names.  

"Hospital" or "nursing home" means those facilities as 

defined in Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia or as defined in 

regulations by the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Inactive license" means a license which is registered with 

the Commonwealth but does not entitle the licensee to 

practice, the holder of which is not required to submit 

documentation of CE necessary to hold an active license.  

"Long-term care facility" means a nursing home, retirement 

care, mental care or other facility or institution which 

provides extended health care to resident patients.  

"NABP" means the National Association of Boards of 

Pharmacy. 

"Nuclear pharmacy" means a pharmacy providing 

radiopharmaceutical services.  

"On duty" means that a pharmacist is on the premises at the 

address of the permitted pharmacy and is available as needed.  

"Patient safety organization" means an organization that has 

as its primary mission continuous quality improvement under 

the Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Act of 2005 

(Pub. L. 109-41) and is credentialed by the Agency for 

Healthcare Research and Quality. 

"Permitted physician" means a physician who is licensed 

pursuant to § 54.1-3304 of the Code of Virginia to dispense 

drugs to persons to whom or for whom pharmacy services are 

not reasonably available.  

"Perpetual inventory" means an ongoing system for 

recording quantities of drugs received, dispensed or otherwise 

distributed by a pharmacy. 

"Personal supervision" means the pharmacist must be 

physically present and render direct, personal control over the 

entire service being rendered or act being performed. Neither 

prior nor future instructions shall be sufficient nor, shall 

supervision rendered by telephone, written instructions, or by 

any mechanical or electronic methods be sufficient.  

"Pharmacy closing" means that the permitted pharmacy 

ceases pharmacy services or fails to provide for continuity of 

pharmacy services or lawful access to patient prescription 

records or other required patient records for the purpose of 

continued pharmacy services to patients.  

"Pharmacy technician trainee" means a person who is 

currently enrolled in an approved pharmacy technician 

training program and is performing duties restricted to 

pharmacy technicians for the purpose of obtaining practical 

experience in accordance with § 54.1-3321 D of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"PIC" means the pharmacist-in-charge of a permitted 

pharmacy.  

"Practice location" means any location in which a prescriber 

evaluates or treats a patient.  

"Prescription department" means any contiguous or 

noncontiguous areas used for the compounding, dispensing 

and storage of all Schedule II through VI drugs and devices 

and any Schedule I investigational drugs.  

"PTCB" means the Pharmacy Technician Certification 

Board, co-founded by the American Pharmaceutical 

Association and the American Society of Health System 

Pharmacists, as the national organization for voluntary 

examination and certification of pharmacy technicians.  

"Quality assurance plan" means a plan approved by the 

board for ongoing monitoring, measuring, evaluating, and, if 

necessary, improving the performance of a pharmacy function 

or system.  

"Radiopharmaceutical" means any drug that exhibits 

spontaneous disintegration of unstable nuclei with the 

emission of nuclear particles or photons and includes any 

nonradioactive reagent kit or radionuclide generator that is 

intended to be used in the preparation of any such substance, 

but does not include drugs such as carbon-containing 

compounds or potassium-containing salts that include trace 

quantities of naturally occurring radionuclides. The term also 

includes any biological product that is labeled with a 

radionuclide or intended solely to be labeled with a 

radionuclide.  
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"Repackaged drug" means any drug removed from the 

manufacturer's original package and placed in different 

packaging.  

"Robotic pharmacy system" means a mechanical system 

controlled by a computer that performs operations or 

activities relative to the storage, packaging, labeling, 

dispensing, or distribution of medications, and collects, 

controls, and maintains all transaction information.  

"Safety closure container" means a container which meets 

the requirements of the federal Poison Prevention Packaging 

Act of 1970 (15 USC §§ 1471-1476), i.e., in testing such 

containers, that 85% of a test group of 200 children of ages 

41-52 months are unable to open the container in a five-

minute period and that 80% fail in another five minutes after 

a demonstration of how to open it and that 90% of a test 

group of 100 adults must be able to open and close the 

container.  

"Satellite pharmacy" means a pharmacy which is 

noncontiguous to the centrally permitted pharmacy of a 

hospital but at the location designated on the pharmacy 

permit.  

"Special packaging" means packaging that is designed or 

constructed to be significantly difficult for children under five 

years of age to open to obtain a toxic or harmful amount of 

the drug contained therein within a reasonable time and not 

difficult for normal adults to use properly, but does not mean 

packaging which all such children cannot open or obtain a 

toxic or harmful amount within a reasonable time.  

"Special use permit" means a permit issued to conduct a 

pharmacy of a special scope of service that varies in any way 

from the provisions of any board regulation.  

"Storage temperature" means those specific directions stated 

in some monographs with respect to the temperatures at 

which pharmaceutical articles shall be stored, where it is 

considered that storage at a lower or higher temperature may 

produce undesirable results. The conditions are defined by the 

following terms:  

1. "Cold" means any temperature not exceeding 8°C 

(46°F). A refrigerator is a cold place in which temperature 

is maintained thermostatically between 2° and 8°C (36° 

and 46°F). A freezer is a cold place in which the 

temperature is maintained thermostatically between -20° 

and -10°C (-4° and 14°F).  

2. "Room temperature" means the temperature prevailing 

in a working area.  

3. "Controlled room temperature" means a temperature 

maintained thermostatically that encompasses the usual 

and customary working environment of 20° to 25°C (68° 

to 77°F); that results in a mean kinetic temperature 

calculated to be not more than 25°C; and that allows for 

excursions between 15° and 30°C (59° and 86°F) that are 

experienced in pharmacies, hospitals, and warehouses.  

4. "Warm" means any temperature between 30° and 40°C 

(86° and 104°F).  

5. "Excessive heat" means any temperature above 40°C 

(104°F).  

6. "Protection from freezing" means where, in addition to 

the risk of breakage of the container, freezing subjects a 

product to loss of strength or potency, or to the destructive 

alteration of its characteristics, the container label bears an 

appropriate instruction to protect the product from 

freezing.  

7. "Cool" means any temperature between 8° and 15°C 

(46° and 59°F).  

"Terminally ill" means a patient with a terminal condition as 

defined in § 54.1-2982 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Unit dose container" means a container that is a single-unit 

container, as defined in United States Pharmacopeia-National 

Formulary, for articles intended for administration by other 

than the parenteral route as a single dose, direct from the 

container.  

"Unit dose package" means a container that contains a 

particular dose ordered for a patient.  

"Unit dose system" means a system in which multiple drugs 

in unit dose packaging are dispensed in a single container, 

such as a medication drawer or bin, labeled only with patient 

name and location. Directions for administration are not 

provided by the pharmacy on the drug packaging or container 

but are obtained by the person administering directly from a 

prescriber's order or medication administration record.  

"USP-NF" means the United States Pharmacopeia-National 

Formulary.  

"Well-closed container" means a container that protects the 

contents from extraneous solids and from loss of the drug 

under the ordinary or customary conditions of handling, 

shipment, storage, and distribution.  

18VAC110-20-418. Continuous quality improvement 

programs. 

A. Notwithstanding practices constituting unprofessional 

practice indicated in 18VAC110-20-25, any pharmacy that 

actively reports dispensing errors and the analysis of such 

errors to a patient safety organization consistent with § 54.1-

3434.03 of the Code of Virginia and 18VAC110-20-10 shall 

be deemed in compliance with this section. A record 

indicating the date a report was submitted to a patient safety 

organization shall be maintained for 12 months from the date 

of reporting. If no dispensing errors have occurred within the 

past 30 days, a zero report with date shall be recorded on the 

record.  

B. Pharmacies not actively reporting to patient safety 

organizations, consistent with § 54.1-3434.03 and 

18VAC110-20-10, shall implement a program for continuous 

quality improvement in compliance with this section. 

1. Notification requirements: 
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a. A pharmacy intern or pharmacy technician who 

identifies or learns of a dispensing error shall 

immediately notify a pharmacist on duty of the 

dispensing error. 

b. A pharmacist on duty shall appropriately respond to 

the dispensing error in a manner that protects the health 

and safety of the patient. 

c. A pharmacist on duty shall immediately notify the 

patient or the person responsible for administration of the 

drug to the patient and communicate steps to avoid injury 

or mitigate the error if the patient is in receipt of a drug 

involving a dispensing error, that may cause patient harm 

or affect the efficacy of the drug therapy. Additionally, 

reasonable efforts shall be made to determine if the 

patient self-administered or was administered the drug 

involving the dispensing error. If it is known or 

reasonable to believe the patient self-administered or was 

administered the drug involving the dispensing error, the 

pharmacist shall immediately assure that the prescriber is 

notified.  

2. Documentation and record requirements; remedial 

action: 

a. Documentation of the dispensing error must be 

initiated as soon as practical, not to exceed three days 

from identifying the error. Documentation shall include, 

at a minimum, a description of the event that is sufficient 

to allow further investigation, categorization, and 

analysis of the event. 

b. The pharmacist-in-charge or designee shall perform a 

systematic, ongoing analysis, as defined in 18VAC110-

20-10, of dispensing errors. An analysis of each 

dispensing error shall be performed within 30 days of 

identifying the error. 

c. The pharmacist-in-charge shall inform pharmacy 

personnel of changes made to pharmacy policies, 

procedures, systems, or processes as a result of the 

analysis. 

d. Documentation associated with the dispensing error 

need only to be maintained until the systematic analysis 

has been completed. Prescriptions, dispensing 

information, and other records required by federal or 

state law shall be maintained accordingly.  

e. A separate record shall be maintained and available for 

inspection to ensure compliance with this section for 12 

months from the date of the analysis of dispensing errors 

and shall include the following information: 

(1) Dates the analysis was initiated and completed; 

(2) Names of the participants in the analysis; 

(3) General description of remedial action taken to 

prevent or reduce future errors; and  

(4) A zero report with date shall be recorded on the 

record if no dispensing errors have occurred within the 

past 30 days. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2888; Filed October 21, 2013, 11:02 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC120-30. Regulations Governing 

Polygraph Examiners (amending 18VAC120-30-30, 

18VAC120-30-40, 18VAC120-30-70, 18VAC120-30-100, 

18VAC120-30-110, 18VAC120-30-160, 18VAC120-30-170, 

18VAC120-30-180, 18VAC120-30-200, 18VAC120-30-220, 

18VAC120-30-230, 18VAC120-30-240, 18VAC120-30-260, 

18VAC120-30-270, 18VAC120-30-300).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-1802.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-6166, FAX (804) 527-4401, or email 

polygraph@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) allow an applicant to take portions of 

the examination at different dates within a one-year 

period, (ii) clarify renewal and reinstatement 

requirements, and (iii) provide for a procedure to be used 

in the event that an examiner supervising an intern is 

unable to provide verification of experience.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC120-30-30. Advisory board.  

A. The Polygraph Examiners Advisory Board, consisting of 

[ eight seven ] members appointed by the director, shall 

exercise the authority delegated by the director consistent 

with § 2.2-2100 A of the Code of Virginia and advise the 

department on any matters relating to the practice of 

polygraphy and the licensure of polygraph examiners in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

B. The advisory board shall be composed of three Virginia 

licensed polygraph examiners employed by law enforcement 

agencies of the Commonwealth, or any of its political 

subdivisions; three Virginia licensed polygraph examiners 

employed in private industry; and two citizen members as 

defined in §§ 54.1-107 and 54.1-200 of the Code of Virginia. 

All members must be residents of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. 

C. Each member shall serve a four-year term. No member 

shall serve more than two consecutive four-year terms. 
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Part II  

Entry Requirements  

18VAC120-30-40. Basic qualifications for licensure and 

registration.  

A. Every applicant to the board for a license shall provide 

information on his application establishing that: 

1. The applicant is at least 18 years old. 

2. The applicant is in good standing as a licensed 

polygraph examiner in every jurisdiction where licensed. 

The applicant must disclose if he has had a license as a 

polygraph examiner which was suspended, revoked, or 

surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action or 

which has been the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction 

prior to applying for licensure in Virginia. At the time of 

application for licensure, the applicant must also disclose 

any disciplinary action taken in another jurisdiction in 

connection with the applicant's practice as a polygraph 

examiner and whether he has been previously licensed in 

Virginia as a polygraph examiner. 

3. The applicant is fit and suited to engage in the 

profession of polygraphy. The applicant must disclose if he 

has been convicted in any jurisdiction of a felony or 

misdemeanor involving lying, cheating, stealing, sexual 

offense, drug distribution, physical injury, or relating to the 

practice of the profession. Any plea of nolo contendere 

shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 

subdivision. The record of a conviction authenticated in 

such form as to be admissible in the evidence under the 

laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction. 

4. The applicant has disclosed his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

5. The nonresident applicant for a license has filed and 

maintained with the department an irrevocable consent for 

the department to serve as a service agent for all actions 

filed in any court in this Commonwealth. 

6. The applicant has signed, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that he has read and understands the 

Virginia polygraph examiner's license law and regulations. 

7. The applicant has submitted an application, provided by 

the department, which shall include criminal history record 

information from the Central Criminal Records Exchange, 

with a report date within 30 days of the date the application 

is received by the department. 

B. The department may (i) make further inquiries and 

investigations with respect to the qualifications of the 

applicant, (ii) require a personal interview with the applicant, 

(iii) or both.  

C. The applicant shall pass all parts of the polygraph 

examiners licensing examination approved by the department 

at a single administration within one year from examination 

approval in order to be eligible for a polygraph examiners 

license. 

18VAC120-30-70. Procedures for licensed polygraph 

examiners to certify the procedures to be used to 

supervise an intern during an internship.  

A. Each licensee supervising an intern shall file with the 

application of the intern a description of the following:  

1. The frequency and duration of contact between the 

licensee and the intern; and  

2. The procedures to be employed by the licensee in 

reviewing and evaluating the intern's performance; and  

3. The polygraph technique(s) to be used.  

B. The licensee supervising the intern shall review the 

intern's charts prior to the intern rendering of any an opinion 

or conclusion on any polygraph examination administered by 

the intern. 

C. In the event the licensed supervisor is unable to continue 

[ , ] any review of experience shall be at the discretion of the 

board.  

18VAC120-30-100. Fees.  

A. All application fees for licenses and registrations are 

nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The date of receipt 

by the department is the date that will be used to determine 

whether or not the fee is on time.  

B. Application and examination fees must be submitted with 

the application for licensure. All other fees are discussed in 

greater detail in later sections of this chapter.  

C. In the event that a check, money draft, or similar 

instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 

fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 

processing charge set by the department.  

D. The following fees listed in the table apply:  

FEE TYPE AMOUNT 

DUE 

WHEN DUE 

Application for 

Examiner's License 

$45 With 

application  

Application for 

Examiner's License by 

Reciprocity 

$95 With 

application  

Application for Intern 

Registration 

$75 With 

application  

Application for 

Examiner's License by 

Examination  

$200 With 

application  

Reexamination  $200 With approval 

letter  
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Renewal  $55 Up to one 

calendar month 

after the 

expiration date 

on license 

Reinstatement  $75 One to six 

calendar 

months after 

the expiration 

date on license 

Duplicate Wall 

Certificate  

$25 With written 

request  

Certificate of 

Licensure 

$25 With written 

request  

18VAC120-30-110. Examinations.  

All examinations required for licensure shall be approved by 

the advisory board and provided by the department, a testing 

service acting on behalf of the advisory board, or another 

governmental agency or organization.  

Applicants for licensure shall pass a two-part licensing 

examination approved by the board, of which Part I is a 

written examination and Part II is an Advisory Board 

Evaluation. Applicants must pass the written examination in 

order to sit for the advisory board evaluation being 

administered the same day.  

The applicant shall follow all the rules established by the 

department with regard to conduct at the examination. Such 

rules shall include any written instructions communicated 

prior to the examination date and any instructions 

communicated at the site, either written or oral, on the date of 

the examination. Failure to comply with all rules established 

by the department with regard to conduct at the examination 

shall be grounds for denial of application.  

18VAC120-30-160. Qualifications for renewal.  

A. Applicants for renewal of a license shall continue to meet 

the standards for entry as set forth in subdivisions A 2 

through A 5 of 18VAC120-30-40. The board may deny 

renewal of a license for the same reasons as it may refuse 

initial issuance or discipline a regulant. The regulant has a 

right to appeal any such action by the board under the 

Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia). 

B. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 

provided by the department, such as, but not limited to, 

renewal, reinstatement, or processing of a new application; or 

exam administration. 

Part IV  

Reinstatement  

18VAC120-30-170. Reinstatement required.  

A. Any licensee who fails to renew his license within one 

calendar month after the expiration date on the license shall 

be required to apply for reinstatement and submit the proper 

fee referenced in 18VAC120-30-100.  

B. Six calendar months after the expiration date on the 

license, reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume 

practice as a polygraph examiner, the former licensee must 

apply as a new applicant for licensure, meeting all 

educational, examination and experience requirements as 

listed in the regulations then current entry requirements at the 

time of reapplication, including retaking an examination.  

C. Any examiner activity conducted subsequent to the 

expiration of the license may constitute unlicensed activity 

and may be subject to prosecution under § 54.1-111 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

18VAC120-30-180. Department discretion to deny 

reinstatement.  

The department may deny reinstatement of a license for the 

same reasons as it may refuse initial licensure or discipline a 

licensee. 

Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, reimbursement 

of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order or final order 

shall result in delaying or withholding the services provided 

by the department, such as, but not limited to, renewal, 

reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 

examination administration. The regulant has a right to appeal 

any such action by the board under the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

Part V  

Standards of Practice and Conduct  

18VAC120-30-200. Polygraph examination procedures.  

A. Each licensed polygraph examiner and registered 

polygraph examiner intern must post, in a conspicuous place 

for the examinee, his license or registration, or a legible copy 

of his license or registration to practice in Virginia. 

B. The examiner shall provide the examinee with a written 

explanation of the provisions of 18VAC120-30-200, 

18VAC120-30-210 and 18VAC120-30-220 at the beginning 

of each polygraph examination. 

C. The examinee may request a recording of the polygraph 

examination being administered. Each examiner shall 

maintain recording equipment and recording media adequate 

for such recording. The examiner shall safeguard all 

examination recordings with the records he is required to 

keep pursuant to 18VAC120-30-230. All recordings shall be 

made available to the department, the examinee or the 

examinee's attorney upon request. The examiner may charge 

the examinee a fee not to exceed $25 $35 only if the 
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examinee requests and receives a copy of an examination tape 

recording. 

D. The examinee shall be entitled to a copy of all portions of 

any written report pertaining to his examination which is 

prepared by the examiner and provided to any person or 

organization. The examinee shall make his request in writing 

to the examiner. The examiner shall comply within 10 

business days of providing the written report to any person or 

organization or receiving the examinee's written request, 

whichever occurs later. The examiner may collect not more 

than $1.00 per page from the examinee for any copy 

provided. 

E. The provisions of subsections B, C, and D of this section 

shall not be applicable to any examination conducted by or on 

behalf of the Commonwealth or any of its political 

subdivisions when the examination is for the purpose of 

preventing or detecting crime or the enforcement of penal 

laws. However, examiners administering examinations as 

described in this section shall comply with subsection B of 

this section through a verbal explanation of the provisions of 

18VAC120-30-210 and 18VAC120-30-220. 

18VAC120-30-220. Examination standards of practice.  

A. The examiner shall comply with the following standards 

of practice and shall disclose to each examinee the provisions 

of this subsection and shall not proceed to examine or 

continue the examination if it is or becomes apparent to the 

examiner that the examinee does not understand any of these 

disclosures: 

1. All questions to be asked during the polygraph test(s) 

shall be reduced to writing and read to the examinee. 

2. The examinee or the examiner may terminate the 

examination at any time. 

3. If the examination is within the scope of § 40.1-51.4:3 of 

the Code of Virginia, the examiner shall explain the 

provisions of that statute to the examinee. 

4. No questions shall be asked concerning any examinee's 

lawful religious affiliations, lawful political affiliations, or 

lawful labor activities. This provision shall not apply to 

any such affiliation which is inconsistent with the oath of 

office for public law-enforcement officers. 

5. The examinee shall be provided the full name of the 

examiner and the name, address, and telephone number of 

the department. 

6. During no part of a preemployment polygraph 

examination shall the examiner ask questions concerning 

an examinee's sexual preferences or sexual activities 

except as in accordance with § 40.1-51.4:3 or 54.1-1806 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

B. An examiner shall not perform more than 12 polygraph 

examinations in any 24-hour period. 

C. An examiner shall not ask more than 16 questions per 

chart on a single polygraph test. Nothing in this subsection 

shall prohibit an examiner from conducting more than one 

polygraph test during a polygraph examination. 

D. An examiner shall allow on every polygraph test a 

minimum time interval of 10 seconds between the examinee's 

answer to a question and the start of the next question. 

E. An examiner shall record at a minimum the following 

information on each polygraph test chart produced: 

1. The name of the examinee; 

2. The date of the examination; 

3. The time that each test begins; 

4. The examiner's initials; 

5. Any adjustment made to component sensitivity; 

6. The point at which each question begins and each 

answer is given; 

7. Each question number; and 

8. Each answer given by the examinee. 

F. An examiner shall render only three evaluations of 

polygraph tests: 

1. Deception indicated; 

2. No deception indicated; or 

3. Inconclusive. 

An examiner may include in his report any information 

revealed by the examinee during the polygraph examination. 

Nothing in this section shall prohibit an examiner from 

explaining the meaning of the above evaluations. 

G. An examiner shall not render a verbal or written report 

based upon polygraph test chart analysis without having 

conducted at least two polygraph tests charts. Each relevant 

question shall have been asked at least once on each of at 

least two polygraph tests charts. 

H. An examiner may make a hiring or retention 

recommendation for the examiner's full-time employer 

provided the hiring or retention decision is not based solely 

on the results of the polygraph examination. 

18VAC120-30-230. Records.  

The licensed polygraph examiner or registered polygraph 

examiner intern shall maintain the following for at least one 

year from the date of each polygraph examination: 

1. Polygraphic charts; 

2. Questions asked during the examination; 

3. A copy of the results and the conclusions drawn; 

4. A copy of any every written report provided in 

connection with the examination; and 

5. Tape Electronic recordings of examinations made in 

compliance with subsection C of 18VAC120-30-200. 
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18VAC120-30-240. Grounds for fines, denial, suspension 

or revocation of licenses or denial or withdrawal of school 

approval Prohibited acts.  

The department may fine, deny, suspend, or revoke any 

license or registration, or deny or withdraw school approval 

upon a finding that the applicant, licensee, registrant, or 

school: 

1. Has presented false or fraudulent information when 

applying for any license or registration, renewal of license 

or registration, or approval; 

2. Has violated, aided, or abetted others to violate Chapters 

1 through 3 of Title 54.1 or §§ 54.1-1800 through 54.1-

1806 of the Code of Virginia, or of any other statute 

applicable to the practice of the profession herein 

regulated, or of any provisions of this chapter; 

3. Has been convicted of any misdemeanor directly related 

to the occupation or any felony. [ Having Has ] been 

convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of 

adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of any 

misdemeanor or felony. Review of convictions shall be 

subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. Any pleas of nolo contendere shall be considered 

a conviction for the purposes of this section subsection. 

The record of a conviction authenticated in such form as to 

be admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where the conviction occurred shall be forwarded to the 

board within 10 30 days of entry and shall be admissible as 

prima facie evidence of such conviction; 

4. Has made any misrepresentation or false promise or 

caused to be published any advertisement that is false, 

deceptive, or misleading; 

[ 4. Has made, in the course of soliciting for or advertising 

a business or service licensed under § 54.1-1802 of the 

Code of Virginia, a false, deceptive, or misleading 

statement orally, in writing, or in printed form; ]  

[ 5. 4. ] Has allowed one's license or registration to be used 

by anyone else; 

[ 6. 5. ] Has failed, within a reasonable period of time 21 

days, to provide any records or other information requested 

or demanded by the department;  

[ 7. 6. ] Has displayed professional incompetence or 

negligence in the performance of polygraphy; [ or ]  

[ 8. 7. ] Has violated any provision of 18VAC120-30-220 

[ .; ]  

[ 8. Failure of the regulant, school's owner, or instructor 9. 

Has failed ] to maintain for a period of one year from the 

date of each administered polygraph examination a 

complete and legible copy of all documents relating to the 

polygraph examination including, but not limited to, 

examination questions, results, conclusions drawn, and 

written or electronic reports; 

[ 9. Failure 10. Has failed ] to inform the board in writing 

within 30 days that the regulant, school's owner, or 

instructor has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere or was 

convicted and found guilty of any felony or of a Class 1 

misdemeanor or any misdemeanor conviction for activities 

carried out while engaged in the practice of polygraphy 

[ .; ]  

[ 10. Refusing or failing, 11. Has refused or failed, ] upon 

request, to produce to the board, or any of its agents, any 

document, book, or record, or copy of it in the regulant's or 

school's owner's possession concerning all records for 

which the regulant, school's owner, or instructor is required 

to maintain [ .; or ]  

[ 11. Failing 12. Has failed ] to respond to an investigator 

or [ providing provides ] false, misleading, or incomplete 

information to an investigator seeking information in the 

investigation of a complaint filed with the board against 

the regulant, school's owner, or instructor. 

Part VI  

Approval of Polygraphy School  

18VAC120-30-260. Approval of polygraph school 

curriculum.  

Schools seeking approval of their polygraph curriculum 

shall submit the application for approval of a polygraph 

school to the department for consideration. The application 

shall include:  

1. The name and address of the school;  

2. The name and address of the proprietor, partnership, 

corporation or association if different from the school 

name;  

3. The owners of the school;  

4. The names and qualifications of the instructors which 

shall be indicated on instructor qualifications form; and in 

a format approved by the advisory board; [ and ]  

5. The subject courses and the number of instruction hours 

assigned to each.  

18VAC120-30-270. Minimum requirements for school 

curriculum.  

A. There must be one type of accepted polygraph instrument 

per three students in the course. 

B. To receive approval, the institution must offer a 

minimum of 240 hours of instruction, unless the school has 

obtained approval from the department for less than the 

minimum hours of course instruction. The following subject 

areas must be included in the school's curriculum: 

1. Polygraph theory; 

2. Examination techniques and question formulation; 

3. Polygraph interrogation; 

4. Case observation; 

5. Polygraph case practice; 

6. Chart interpretation; 
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7. Legal aspects of polygraph examination; 

8. Physiological aspects of polygraphy; 

9. Psychological aspects of polygraphy; 

10. Instrumentation; 

11. History of polygraph; and 

12. Reviews and examinations [ .; and; ]  

13. Ethics as it relates to polygraphy. 

C. Out-of-state schools seeking approval of their curriculum 

which has been approved by their state must have the 

appropriate regulatory agency of their state certify such 

approval to the department. 

18VAC120-30-300. Periodic requalification for continued 

course approval. 

At times established by the department, or during the 

random audit of any course, the department may require that 

schools that have previously obtained course approval, 

provide the department with evidence, in a form set forth by 

the department, that they continue to comply with the 

requirements of 18VAC120-30-260, 18VAC120-30-270 and 

18VAC120-30-280. Failure to continue to comply with the 

department's requirements or respond to such a request may 

result in the department withdrawing its approval. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 

form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 

may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 

General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

FORMS (18VAC120-30) 

Internship Completion and License Exam Form, 16EXINT 

(rev. 8/07). 

License/Intern Registration Application, 16LIC (rev. 8/07). 

Polygraph School Curriculum Approval Application, 

16SCHL (rev. 11/02). 

Supervisor Endorsement Form, 16SEND (rev. 11/02). 

[ Internship Completion and License Exam Form, 16EXINT 

(rev. 9/12) 

License/Intern Registration Application, 16LIC (rev. 9/12) 

Polygraph School Curriculum Approval Application, 

16SCHL (rev. 9/12) 

Supervisor Endorsement Form, 16SEND (rev. 9/12) 

Internship Completion and License Exam Form, A456-

16EXINT-v5 (rev. 10/13) 

License/Intern Registration Application, A456-16LIC-v3 

(rev. 8/13) 

Polygraph School Curriculum Approval Application, A456-

16SCHL-v3 (rev. 8/13) 

Supervisor Endorsement Form, A456-16SEND-v3 (rev. 

8/13) 

Commonwealth of Virginia Polygraph Examiners License 

Examination, A543-16CIB-v10 (eff. 10/13) ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2217; Filed October 21, 2013, 1:49 p.m.  

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-20. Real Estate Appraiser 

Board Rules and Regulations (amending 18VAC130-20-

90, 18VAC130-20-130, 18VAC130-20-240).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2013 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 2, 2013 - 11 a.m. - 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

200, Board Room 4, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: January 17, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 

527-4298, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The proposed regulatory action is mandated by the 

following sections of the Code of Virginia. To comply with 

these statutes, the Real Estate Appraiser Board evaluates its 

current and projected financial position, and determines the 

type of fees and amounts to be established for each fee that 

will provide revenue sufficient to cover its expenses. 

1. Section 54.1-113 (Callahan Act) requires the board to 

adjust fees levied by it for certification or licensure and 

renewal so that the fees are sufficient but not excessive to 

cover expenses. 

2. Subdivision 4 of § 54.1-201 describes each regulatory 

board's power and duty to "levy and collect fees for the 

certification or licensure and renewal that are sufficient to 

cover all expenses for the administration and operation of 

the regulatory board and a proportionate share of the 

expenses of the department..." 

3. Subdivision 3 of § 54.1-304 describes the power and 

duty of the director to "collect and account for all fees 

prescribed to be paid into each board and account for and 

deposit the moneys so collected into a special fund from 

which the expenses of the Board, regulatory boards, and 

the Department shall be paid..." 

4. Section 54.1-308 provides for compensation of the 

Director of the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation, employees, and board members 

to be paid out of the total funds collected. This section also 

requires the director to maintain a separate account for 

each board showing moneys collected on its behalf and 

expenses allocated to the board. 

5. Section 54.1-2013 provides the Real Estate Appraiser 

Board with the power and duty to "levy and collect fees for 

the certification or licensure and renewal that are sufficient 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4bd7f002217~5&typ=40&actno=002217&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4bd7f002217~5&typ=40&actno=002217&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=17ca1002217~6&typ=40&actno=002217&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=17ca1002217~6&typ=40&actno=002217&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6e418002217~7&typ=40&actno=002217&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6e418002217~7&typ=40&actno=002217&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a806d002217~8&typ=40&actno=002217&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a806d002217~8&typ=40&actno=002217&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85fde002217~9&typ=40&actno=002217&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85fde002217~9&typ=40&actno=002217&mime=application/pdf
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to cover all expenses for the administration and operation 

of the regulatory board and a proportionate share of the 

expenses of the Department..." 

These Code sections require the department to: 

- Pay expenses of each board and the department from 

revenues collected; 

- Establish fees adequate to provide sufficient revenue to 

pay expenses; 

- Account for the revenues collected and expenses charged 

to each board; and 

- Revise fees as necessary to ensure that revenue is 

sufficient but not excessive to cover all expenses. 

To comply with these requirements, the department: 

- Accounts for the revenue collected for each board 

distinctly; 

- Accounts for direct board expenses for each board, and 

allocates a proportionate share of agency operating 

expenses to each board; 

- Reviews the actual and projected financial position of 

each board biennially to determine whether revenues are 

adequate, but not excessive, to cover reasonable and 

authorized expenses for upcoming operating cycles; and  

- Recommends adjustments to fees to respond to changes 

and projections in revenue trends and operating expenses. 

If projected revenue collections are expected to be more 

than sufficient to cover expenses for upcoming operating 

cycles, decreases in fees are recommended. If projected 

revenue collections are expected to be inadequate to cover 

operating expenses for upcoming operating cycles, 

increases in fees are recommended.  

Fee adjustments are mandatory in accordance with these 

Code of Virginia sections. The board exercises discretion on 

how the fees are adjusted by determining the amount of 

adjustment for each type of fee. The board makes its 

determination based on the adequacy of the fees to provide 

sufficient revenue for upcoming operating cycles. 

Purpose: The intent of the proposed change in the regulations 

is to adjust licensing fees for regulants of the Real Estate 

Appraiser Board. The board must establish fees adequate to 

support the costs of the board's operations and a proportionate 

share of the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation's operations. By the close of the next biennium, 

fees will not provide adequate revenue for those costs. 

The board provides protection to the safety and welfare of the 

citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that only those 

individuals who meet specific criteria set forth in the statutes 

and regulations are eligible to receive an appraiser, temporary 

appraiser, or appraiser trainee license; an appraisal instructor 

certification; or an appraisal business registration. The board 

is also tasked with ensuring that its regulants meet standards 

of practice that are set forth in the regulations. Without 

adequate funding, citizen complaints against regulants could 

not be investigated and processed in a timely manner. This 

could provide an opportunity for a dishonest appraiser, 

appraisal instructor, or appraisal business, waiting for action 

to be taken by the board, to continue to operate, harming 

additional citizens.  

The department receives no general fund money but, instead, 

is funded almost entirely from revenue collected for license 

applications, renewal fees, and other licensing fees. The 

department is self-supporting and must collect adequate 

revenue to support its mandated and approved activities and 

operations. Fees must be established at amounts that will 

provide that revenue. Fee revenue collected on behalf of the 

various boards funds the department's authorized special 

revenue appropriation. 

The board has no other source of revenue from which to fund 

its operations. 

Substance: The existing regulations are being amended to 

adjust the fees related to obtaining and maintaining licensure, 

registration, certification, or approval as an appraiser, 

appraiser trainee, appraisal business, appraisal instructor, and 

appraisal course. 

1. The registration fee for an appraisal business is adjusted 

from $100 to $160.  

2. The application fee for an appraiser license is adjusted 

from $141 to $201.  

3. The application fee for a temporary appraiser license is 

adjusted from $45 to $75.  

4. The application fee for an appraiser trainee license is 

adjusted from $96 to $146.  

5. The application fee to upgrade an appraiser license is 

adjusted from $65 to $130.  

6. The application fee for an appraisal instructor 

certification is adjusted from $135 to $150. 

7. The renewal fee for an appraisal business is adjusted 

from $60 to $120.  

8. The renewal fee for an appraiser license is adjusted from 

$61 to $116.  

9. The renewal fee for an appraiser trainee license is 

adjusted from $61 to $116.  

10. The renewal fee for an appraisal instructor certification 

is adjusted from $125 to $150.  

11. The reinstatement fee for an appraisal business is 

adjusted from $40 to $160.  

12. The reinstatement fee for an appraiser license is 

adjusted from $60 to $180.  

13. The reinstatement fee for an appraiser trainee license is 

adjusted from $60 to $125.  

14. The reinstatement fee for an appraisal instructor 

certification is adjusted from $105 to $150. 

15. The approval fee for an appraisal course is adjusted 

from $135 to $150. 
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Issues: The Code of Virginia establishes the board as the state 

agency that oversees licensure of appraisers providing 

services in Virginia. The board's primary mission is to protect 

the citizens of the Commonwealth by prescribing 

requirements for minimal competencies; by prescribing 

standards of conduct and practice; and by imposing penalties 

for not complying with the regulations. Further, the Code of 

Virginia requires the department to comply with the Callahan 

Act. The proposed fee adjustments will ensure that the board 

has sufficient revenues to fund its operating expenses. 

There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth in raising the board's fees as proposed. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Real Estate Appraiser Board (Board) proposes to increase 

most fees paid by licensees, registrants and certificate holders 

that are subject to the Board's authority.  

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

accurately gauge whether benefits are likely to outweigh costs 

for these proposed changes.  

Estimated Economic Impact. Under current regulations, 

business entities that practice real estate appraisal pay $100 

for initial registration with the Board, a biennial renewal fee 

of $60 and, when necessary, a reinstatement fee of $100. 

Temporary certification for general or residential real estate 

appraisers and temporary licensure for residential real estate 

appraisers currently cost $45. Certified general real estate 

appraisers, certified residential real estate appraisers and 

licensed residential real estate appraisers all currently pay an 

initial fee of $141, a biennial renewal fee of $141 and, if 

applicable, a reinstatement fee of $201. Appraiser trainees 

currently pay an initial fee of $96, a biennial renewal fee of 

$60 and a fee of $121 if they ever need to be reinstated by the 

Board. Instructors pay an initial certification fee of $135 for 

certification, a fee of $125 for biennial certification renewal 

and a $230 fee if they ever have to get their certification 

reinstated. Licensees currently pay $65 for upgrade of license. 

The fee for real estate appraiser training course approval is 

currently $135. The Board now proposes to increase all of 

these fees. 

Below is a comparison tale for current and proposed fees: 

FEE TYPE CURRENT FEE PROPOSED FEE % INCREASE 

Initial Registration of Business Entity $100 $160 60% 

Initial Temporary Certification for 

General Real Estate Appraiser 
$45  $75 67% 

Initial Temporary Certification for 

Residential Real Estate Appraiser 
$45 $75 67% 

Initial Temporary Licensure for 

Residential Real Estate Appraiser 
$45 $75 67% 

Initial Certification for General Real 

Estate Appraiser 
$141 $281 99.3% 

Initial Certification for Residential 

Real Estate Appraiser 
$141 $281 99.3% 

Initial Licensed Residential Real 

Estate Appraiser 
$141 $281 99.3% 

Initial Registration of Appraiser 

Trainee 
$96 $146 52% 

Upgrade of Licensure $65 $130 100% 

Initial Instructor Certification $135 $150 11% 

Renewal of Certification for General 

Real Estate Appraiser 
$141 $196 39% 

Renewal of Certification for 

Residential Real Estate Appraiser 
$141 $196 39% 
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Renewal of Licensed Residential Real 

Estate Appraiser 
$141 $196 39% 

Renewal of Appraiser Trainee 

Registration 
$61 $116 90% 

Renewal of Business Entity 

Registration 
$60 $120 100% 

Renewal of Instructor Certification $125 $150 20% 

Reinstatement of Certification for 

General Real Estate Appraiser 
$201 $376 87% 

Reinstatement of Certification for 

Residential Real Estate Appraiser 
$201 $376 87% 

Reinstatement of Licensed Residential 

Real Estate Appraiser 
$201 $376 87% 

Reinstatement of Appraiser Trainee 

Registration 
$121 $241 99.3% 

Reinstatement of Business Entity 

Registration 
$100 $280 180% 

Reinstatement of Instructor 

Certification 
$230 $300 30.43% 

Training Course Approval $135 $150 11% 

Board staff reports that, although revenues have fallen short 

of being able to pay for all expenditures in this and the last 

biennium, the Board had excess balances that covered budget 

shortfalls. Absent some fee increase, Board staff reports that 

the Board will run a deficit in the next biennium. In addition 

to a surplus finally being depleted, Board staff reports that 

fees will need to be raised because expenses for developing 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation's 

(DPOR's) new customer support and licensure software have 

greatly increased information technology costs over the last 

several years. 

While the number of entities that the Board regulates has 

increased, other things being equal, the fees from additional 

regulants would be expected to cover application costs, 

customer support services costs and any other expenses that 

the Board might incur in regulating them. Because fees have 

been kept artificially low so that the Board could use up the 

surplus that it had accrued, fees from each new licensee or 

registrant may not, in this instance, been enough to cover the 

per person application and customer support costs. This 

notwithstanding, it is likely that the necessity of raising fees 

would not be as urgent as it now is without large and 

continuing increases in information technology (IT) expenses 

over the last few years.  

Board staff reports that the DPOR has already paid $3.6 

million, and expects to pay an additional $1.6 million, for its 

new automated licensure system. These costs are additional to 

other IT (VITA) costs which have increased for all state 

agencies. It is likely that most of the per regulant expenditure 

increase in the last decade is due to these increased 

information systems costs. Given this information, it is not at 

all clear that these increased information systems costs 

represent a net benefit for the Board's regulated entities.  

Increasing fees will likely increase the cost of being licensed 

or registered and, so, will likely slightly decrease the number 

of people who choose to be remain in these jobs or 

businesses.  To the extent that the public benefits from the 

Board regulating these professional populations, they will 

also likely benefit from the Board's proposed action that will 

increase fees to support Board activities. There is insufficient 

information to ascertain whether benefits will outweigh 

costs.   

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that the 

Board currently regulates 4,243 real estate appraisers. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action.  

Projected Impact on Employment. Fee increases in this 

regulatory action will likely marginally decrease the number 

of individuals who choose to work in professional fields that 

are regulated by the Board. Individuals who work part time or 

whose earnings are only slightly higher in these regulated 

fields than they would be in other jobs that do not require 

licensure or registration will be more likely to be affected.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Fee 

increases will likely slightly decrease business profits and 

make affected businesses slightly less valuable. 
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Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Board staff 

reports that most of the entities regulated by the Board likely 

qualify as small businesses. Affected small businesses will 

bear the costs of proposed increased fees.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There are several actions that the Board 

could take that might mitigate the necessity of raising fees 

overall. The Board could slightly lengthen the time that it 

takes to process both license applications and complaints so 

that staff costs could be cut. This option would benefit current 

licensees but would slightly delay licensure, and the ability to 

legally work, for new applicants. Affected small businesses 

would also likely benefit from increased scrutiny of the IT 

costs that are driving increases in Board expenditures. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth.  

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulations 

concurs with the approval of the economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments increase fees for (i) obtaining 

and maintaining licensure, registration, or certification as 

a real estate appraiser, appraiser trainee, appraisal 

business, and appraisal instructor and (ii) approval of a 

real estate appraisal course.  

18VAC130-20-90. Application and registration fees. 

There will be no pro rata refund of these fees to licensees 

who resign or upgrade to a higher license or to licensees 

whose licenses are revoked or surrendered for other causes. 

All application fees for licenses and registrations are 

nonrefundable.  

1. Application fees for registrations, certificates and 

licenses are as follows:  

  Registration of business entity $100 $160 

  Certified General Real Estate Appraiser $150 $281 

  Temporary Certified General Real 

Estate Appraiser 

$45 $75 

  Certified Residential Real Estate 

Appraiser 

$150 $281 

  Temporary Certified Residential Real 

Estate Appraiser 

$45 $75 

  Licensed Residential Real Estate 

Appraiser 

$150 $281 

  Temporary Licensed Residential Real 

Estate Appraiser 

$45 $75 

  Appraiser Trainee $105 $146 

  Upgrade of license $65 $130 

  Instructor Certification $135 $150 

Application fees for a certified general real estate 

appraiser, a certified residential real estate appraiser, a 

licensed residential real estate appraiser and an appraiser 

trainee include a $30 fee for a copy of the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice. This fee is 

subject to the fee charged by the Appraisal Foundation and 

may be adjusted and charged to the applicant in accordance 

with the fee charged by the Appraisal Foundation.  

2. Examination fees. The fee for examination or 

reexamination is subject to contracted charges to the 

department by an outside vendor. These contracts are 

competitively negotiated and bargained for in compliance 

with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted and 

charged to the candidate in accordance with this contract.  

3. An $80 National Registry fee assessment for all 

permanent license applicants is to be assessed of each 

applicant in accordance with § 1109 of the Financial 

Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 

1989 (12 USC §§ 3331-3351). This fee may be adjusted 

and charged to the applicant in accordance with the Act. If 

the applicant fails to qualify for licensure, then this 

assessment fee will be refunded.  
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18VAC130-20-130. Fees for renewal and reinstatement. 

A. All fees are nonrefundable.  

B. National Registry fee assessment. In accordance with the 

requirements of § 1109 of the Financial Institutions Reform, 

Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989, $80 of the biennial 

renewal or reinstatement fee assessed for all certified general 

real estate appraisers, certified residential and licensed 

residential real estate appraisers shall be submitted to the 

Appraisal Subcommittee. The registry fee may be adjusted in 

accordance with the Act and charged to the licensee.  

Renewal and reinstatement fees for a certified general real 

estate appraiser, a certified residential real estate appraiser, a 

licensed residential real estate appraiser and an appraiser 

trainee include a $30 fee for a copy of the Uniform Standards 

of Professional Appraisal Practice. This fee is subject to the 

fee charged by the Appraisal Foundation and may be adjusted 

and charged to the applicant in accordance with the fee 

charged by the Appraisal Foundation.  

C. Renewal fees are as follows:  

Certified general real estate appraiser $150 $196 

Certified residential real estate 

appraiser 

$150 $196 

Licensed residential real estate 

appraiser 

$150 $196 

Appraiser trainee $70 $116 

Registered business entity $60 $120 

Certified instructor $125 $150 

D. Reinstatement fees are as follows:  

Certified general real estate appraiser $210 $376 

Certified residential real estate 

appraiser 

$210 $376 

Licensed residential real estate 

appraiser 

$210 $376 

Appraiser trainee $130 $241 

Registered business entity $100 $280 

Certified instructor $230 $300 

18VAC130-20-240. Course approval fees.  

Course Approval Fee $135 $150 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3187; Filed October 23, 2013, 12:43 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-221. Additional Daily 

Supervision Rate Structure (adding 22VAC40-221-10 

through 22VAC40-221-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 673. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Phyl Parrish, Program Manager, Policy and 

Legislation, Division of Family Services, Department of 

Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219-

2901, telephone (804) 726-7926, FAX (804) 726-7985, TTY 

(800) 828-1120, or email phyl.parrish@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action establishes a structure for an 

enhanced maintenance payment for children who require 

increased supervision or support (additional daily 

supervision) because of identified needs, as required by 

the federal Administration for Children and Families 

(ACF) to draw down Title IV-E funds to reimburse 

Virginia for these payments.  

The regulation (i) requires the use of an assessment 

instrument developed by the Department of Social 

Services (DSS), (ii) establishes how and when the 

instrument will be used, and (iii) sets forth the 

responsibilities of local departments of social services 

(LDSS) making the payments and of parents receiving 

payments. The regulation also establishes an enhanced 

maintenance payment process for emergency placements 

and rules for reviewing the results of the assessment 

process. 

This regulatory action addresses only maintenance 

payments for the additional daily supervision needs of 

the child. It does not address the provision of services 

funded through the Comprehensive Services Act. 

Changes to the regulation since the proposed stage 

include (i) expanding the time frame to conduct an 

assessment after an initial emergency placement; (ii) use 

of the assessment process for post-finalized adoptions; 

(iii) consideration of certain services in reducing the 

amount of the enhanced maintenance payment for foster 

parents; (iv) limiting when the assessment must be used 

in initial adoption assistance negotiations; (v) changing 

the date on which a new enhanced maintenance rate goes 

into effect; (vi) requiring the LDSS to give a copy of the 

assessment tool to the foster or adoptive parent; and (vii) 

eliminating the requirement to conduct a new assessment 

when the child moves from one home to another in a 

different child-placing agency. 
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Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 221 

ADDITIONAL DAILY SUPERVISION RATE 

STRUCTURE 

22VAC40-221-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Additional daily supervision" or "ADS" means a child's 

need for increased supervision and support. ADS is the basis 

for determining if an enhanced maintenance payment to a 

foster parent or an adoptive parent entering into an adoption 

assistance agreement is needed. The need for ADS is also the 

basis for increased expectations for the child-placing agency 

and the foster parent [ or the adoptive parent prior to the 

finalization of the adoption ] in meeting the needs of the 

child. 

"Adoption assistance" means a money payment or services 

provided to adoptive parents on behalf of a child with special 

needs. 

"Adoption assistance agreement" is a written agreement 

between the local department of social services (LDSS) and 

the adoptive parent that is binding on both parties and 

includes maintenance and, when applicable, additional daily 

supervision, Medicaid, services and nonrecurring fees. 

"Adoptive placement" means the placement of a child for 

the purposes of adoption in a home with a signed adoptive 

placement agreement. 

"ADS emergency placement" means the sudden, unplanned, 

or unexpected placement of a child who needs immediate care 

in a foster home and the placement occurs prior to the agency 

obtaining adequate information regarding the child's 

needs. ADS emergency placements require the foster parent 

to provide increased supervision and support to ensure the 

child's safety. 

"Child-placing agency" means any person who places 

children in foster homes, adoptive homes, or independent 

living arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-1819 of the Code of 

Virginia or a local board that places children in foster homes 

or adoptive homes pursuant to § 63.2-900, 63.2-903, or 63.2-

1221 of the Code of Virginia. [ Officers, employees, or agents 

of the Commonwealth, or any locality, acting within the 

scope of their authority as such, who serve as or maintain a 

child-placing agency, shall not be required to be licensed. ]  

"CRAFFT" means Community Resource, Adoptive, and 

Foster Family Training. CRAFFT specialists are available to 

local departments of social services to provide assistance 

regarding training for foster families. 

"Department" means the [ State Virginia ] Department of 

Social Services. 

"Enhanced maintenance payment" means the payment made 

to a foster parent over and above the basic foster care 

maintenance payment or to an adoptive parent when the 

[ initial ] adoption assistance agreement is negotiated. It is 

based on the needs of the child for additional daily 

supervision as identified by the uniform rate assessment tool. 

"Foster care maintenance payment" means payments to 

cover the cost of food, clothing, shelter, daily supervision, 

school supplies, a child's personal incidentals, liability 

insurance with respect to a child, reasonable travel to the 

child's home for visitation, and reasonable travel for the child 

to remain in the school in which the child was enrolled at the 

time of placement. 

"LDSS" means the local department of social services. 

"Licensed" means licensed child-placing agencies; entities 

licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services; licensed behavioral health 

professionals or behavioral health professionals working 

under the direct supervision of a licensed behavioral health 

professional. 

"Treatment foster care" or "TFC" means a community-based 

program where services are designed to address the special 

needs of children and families. Services to children and youth 

are delivered primarily by treatment foster parents who are 

trained, supervised, and supported by agency staff. Treatment 

is primarily foster family based. 

22VAC40-221-20. Administration of the uniform rate 

assessment tool. 

A. A department approved uniform rate assessment tool 

shall be used to determine the additional daily supervision 

component of the foster care maintenance payment or the 

adoption assistance payment. Use of the rate assessment tool 

shall be applied consistently regardless of the child's 

maintenance funding source. 

1. The LDSS having care and responsibility for the child is 

responsible to ensure the tool is completed with input from 

a child-specific team of individuals who are 

knowledgeable about the child's characteristics. 

2. The team shall include the caseworker, foster or 

adoptive parents, and an individual trained to administer 

the rate assessment tool. Other individuals with knowledge 

of the child shall be invited to participate in the meeting or 

provide input about the child's needs. This shall include 

family members and the child as appropriate, other 

significant individuals in the child's social support 

network, the private child-placing agency staff involved in 

the care of the child, and other providers.  

3. LDSS staff or other public child-serving agency 

individuals may be trained in accordance with 

[ departmental guidance the department's Child and Family 

Services Manual, Chapter E Foster Care, Section 14, July 

2011 ] to administer the tool. 
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4. The child's assigned caseworker, foster or adoptive 

parents, or private agency staff shall not administer the 

tool. 

5. The rate assessment tool shall be administered according 

to the following criteria and in accordance with 

[ department guidance the department's Child and Family 

Services Manual, Chapter E Foster Care, Section 14, July 

2011 ]: 

a. If the child is to be placed in a TFC home; 

b. If the LDSS chooses to make enhanced maintenance 

payments for children in non-TFC homes;  

c. At the time an adoption assistance agreement is 

negotiated [ whether or not an ADS assessment has been 

previously administered for this child when the child's 

needs prior to negotiating and signing the agreement 

indicate a need for ADS ]. A re-administration of the tool 

is not required if the adoption assistance agreement is 

signed within three months of a prior ADS assessment. 

6. The rate assessment tool shall be re-administered: 

[ a. If a child moves to a TFC home in a different TFC 

agency; 

b. a. ] When requested and there is evidence of 

significant behavioral, emotional, or medical changes and 

[ two four ] or more weeks of additional support have 

become necessary to maintain the child in the home [ ;. ]  

(1) Once requested, the rate assessment tool must be 

administered within 14 calendar days. 

(2) If the rate assessment tool indicates a need for an 

increase [ or decrease ] in ADS, the increase [ is 

retroactive to the date of the foster parent's request or 

decrease takes effect on the first day of the subsequent 

month ].  

[ c. b. ] No more often than quarterly for any child unless 

the previously stated criteria apply [ ; and. ]  

[ d. c. ] A minimum of once per year.  

B. The individual administering the rate assessment tool 

shall: 

1. Consider all input from all sources regarding the 

characteristics of the child and will rate each item on the 

tool; 

2. Make the final decision as to how to rate a child's 

characteristics based on the evidence as presented; 

3. Issue a final score on the tool within five business days 

of the meeting; and 

4. Share a copy of the scored tool with the foster [ or 

adoptive ] parents and [ , if requested, ] review the tool 

with them [ if requested ]. 

[ 22VAC40-221-25. Determining the enhanced 

maintenance rate. 

The child-specific team shall consider the services provided 

to the child that reduce or eliminate any direct additional 

supervision or support provided to the child by the foster 

parent and reduce the enhanced maintenance payment based 

on these services. ]  

22VAC40-221-30. Child-placing agency requirements. 

A. The child-placing agency that approved the home shall 

have face-to-face contacts with the foster parents at least 

monthly. Child-placing agencies may contract with licensed 

providers to conduct the in-home contacts with the foster 

parent. 

B. Child-placing agencies shall have an appointed case 

worker on call and available to make face-to-face contact if 

necessary to provide services to the child and the foster 

family 24 hours per day, seven days per week. 

1. Child-placing agencies may contract with licensed 

providers to perform this service. 

2. Supervisory consultation to the on-call worker shall be 

available 24 hours per day, seven days per week and may 

be a service obtained through a contract with a licensed 

provider. 

C. The child-placing agency shall monitor and document the 

contractor's performance if they choose to contract out the 

activities in subsections A and B of this section in accordance 

with [ guidance developed by the department the department's 

Child and Family Services Manual, Chapter E Foster Care, 

Section 14, July 2011 ].  

D. Additional training shall be provided to the foster parents 

receiving an enhanced maintenance payment based on the 

needs of the foster parent and the children in care. Foster 

parents [ and adoptive parents prior to finalization of the 

adoption ] receiving enhanced maintenance payments shall be 

consulted on their training needs. 

E. The foster care service plans developed for a child for 

whom enhanced maintenance is paid shall include but not be 

limited to:  

1. Measurable goals, objectives, and strategies for the 

foster [ or adoptive ] parent and the child-placing agency in 

addressing the identified needs of the child; 

2. Provisions for providing training for the foster [ or 

adoptive ] parents consistent with the identified needs of 

the child; 

3. Provisions for services to prevent placement disruption 

and maintain a stable placement; and  

4. The method developed jointly by the child-placing 

agency and the foster [ or adoptive ] parent to document 

the child's progress.  

F. This section is not applicable in cases where a final order 

of adoption has been issued. 

22VAC40-221-40. Foster [ and adoptive ] home 

requirements. 

A. The requirements for foster [ parent or ] parents [ or 

adoptive parents, prior to a finalized adoption, ] receiving an 

ADS payment shall include but not be limited to:  
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1. Working with the child-placing agency to identify and 

participate in targeted training necessary to meet the 

support and supervision needs of the child; 

2. Actively [ participate participating ] in the development 

and implementation of the foster care service plan; 

3. [ Agree Agreeing ] to accept and participate in services 

to prevent placement disruption; and 

4. [ Monitor and document Monitoring and documenting ] 

the child's progress based on a schedule and in a format 

developed in consultation with the child-placing agency.  

B. This section is not applicable in cases once a final order 

of adoption has been issued.  

22VAC40-221-50. ADS emergency placement. 

Enhanced maintenance payments for the initial emergency 

placement of a child shall be based on a per diem not to 

exceed $1,600 per month. 

1. The department may change the maximum per diem for 

initial emergency placements upon approval from the State 

Board of Social Services. 

2. The enhanced maintenance payment per diem for the 

initial emergency placement includes the day the uniform 

rate assessment tool is administered to determine the on-

going enhanced maintenance rate. 

3. The rate assessment tool shall be administered within 

[ 30 60 ] calendar days of the initial emergency placement 

of a child.  

22VAC40-221-60. Reviews. 

A representative of the child, including the foster parent or 

guardian ad litem, may request a review of the results of the 

rate assessment tool by the director of the LDSS that holds 

custody, if he feels the tool did not correctly identify the 

needs of the child. The director may not adjust the rate but 

may request a new assessment. 

1. The representative shall have five business days to 

request a review. 

2. The LDSS director or designee has 15 business days to 

conduct an administrative review of the request and may 

concur with the original decision or may order a new 

administration of the tool. The re-administration may occur 

by phone or videoconferencing. 

3. The [ LDSS individual administering the rate assessment 

tool ] has 10 business days to re-administer the tool if 

requested by the director. 

4. If the re-administration of the tool indicates a higher [ or 

lower ] payment rate, that rate shall [ be retroactive to the 

date of the foster parent's request take effect on the first 

day of the subsequent month ].  

[ 22VAC40-221-70. Post-finalized adoptions. 

Enhanced maintenance payments shall be made available to 

adoptive parents after the adoption has been finalized 

pursuant to the department's Child and Family Services 

Manual, Chapter E Foster Care, Section 17, April 2013. 

1. The adoptive parent shall be required to submit an 

application for renegotiation of their adoption assistance 

agreement. 

2. The documented needs of the child shall be the basis for 

a decision to provide an enhanced maintenance payment or 

a services payment. 

3. Enhanced maintenance payments shall be documented in 

an adoption assistance agreement addendum. 

[ DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(22VAC40-221) 

Child and Family Services Manual, Chapter E Foster Care, 

Section 14, July 2011 

Child and Family Services Manual, Chapter E Foster Care, 

Section 17, April 2013 ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1868; Filed October 23, 2013, 9:06 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-601. Supplemental Nutrition 

Assistance Program (adding 22VAC40-601-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia; 

7 CFR 271.4. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 17, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Celestine Jackson, Program Consultant, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7376, FAX (804) 

726-7357, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 

celestine.jackson@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia grants the 

State Board of Social Services authority to promulgate rules 

and regulations to operate assistance programs in Virginia. 

Federal regulations at 7 CFR 271.4 delegate responsibility to 

administer the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 

(SNAP) within a state to the agency assigned responsibility 

for other federally funded public assistance programs. Federal 

regulations at 7 CFR 273.11(c)(3)(i) permit states to count all 

of the income of an ineligible immigrant or to count a 

prorated amount of the ineligible immigrant's income. 

Purpose: The proposed amendments change how income is 

evaluated in determining SNAP eligibility for households that 

contain immigrants who do not meet the eligibility 

requirements to receive SNAP benefits. Only citizens and 

certain immigrants are eligible for SNAP benefits. Federal 

regulations at 7 CFR 273.4 outline eligibility requirements for 

those who are not citizens. This proposed action will not alter 

or establish requirements to identify which immigrants are 

eligible for SNAP benefits or to establish separate or 

additional SNAP eligibility rules or allowances. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=68bdf001868~1&typ=40&actno=001868&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=68bdf001868~1&typ=40&actno=001868&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=39628001868~3&typ=40&actno=001868&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=39628001868~3&typ=40&actno=001868&mime=application/pdf
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The proposed amendments require local eligibility workers to 

count all the income of household members who are 

ineligible immigrants for SNAP purposes towards the 

determination of eligibility for SNAP for the remaining 

household members. Prior to the enactment of the Personal 

Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 

1996 (PRWORA), states were required to prorate the income 

of the ineligible immigrant and use that prorated amount 

toward the eligibility of the remaining household members. 

PRWORA allowed each state the option to count all of the 

income of the ineligible immigrant or to prorate the income.  

Prorating the income results in less money being counted as 

available to the SNAP household and conceivably results in a 

higher benefit. In SNAP households that do not include an 

ineligible immigrant, or other persons who are disqualified 

from receiving SNAP benefits, all of the income of all 

members is counted toward the household's eligibility, which 

results in a lower benefit. Prorating the income instead of 

counting the full income amount results in inequitable 

eligibility determinations when compared to citizen or 

eligible immigrant households with similar income amounts. 

This action will align SNAP guidance with that for Medicaid 

and Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, as these 

programs count the full amount of ineligible immigrants' 

income to the eligibility determination. 

This regulation promotes the welfare of Virginia residents by 

providing equal access to SNAP benefits. Receipt of SNAP 

benefits expands available household resources by setting 

aside money for food and thereby enhancing the health and 

welfare of eligible households by granting greater access to 

nutritious food. This amendment will not affect the safety of 

Virginia residents. 

Substance: A proposed section will require SNAP eligibility 

and benefit level to be determined by using the full monthly 

income of household members who are ineligible for SNAP 

benefits because of their immigration status. This amendment 

requires the use of the full amount of income instead of a 

prorated amount.  

Issues: The primary advantage of changing the income 

calculation method for SNAP households with ineligible 

immigrants will be to end the perceived inequitable treatment 

of households comprised of citizens or eligible immigrants 

with similar income amounts. In most other circumstances, 

the entire amount of income for a disqualified individual is 

counted for the remaining household members. There are 

limited instances when a pro rata share is counted to the 

remaining household members. The Department of Social 

Services (DSS) will continue to prorate the income of persons 

who are ineligible or disqualified for SNAP benefits for 

persons whose citizenship in the United States is questionable 

and persons who cannot or do not provide a social security 

number. DSS does not have authority to alter the income 

calculation method in these instances. 

All other calculations and actions to determine SNAP 

eligibility and benefit level are unaffected. The action poses 

no disadvantages to the public or Commonwealth.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

proposed regulation will count the full income of an ineligible 

alien when determining the eligibility and amount of food 

stamp benefits of a household rather than counting only a 

prorated amount of the immigrant's income.  

Result of Analysis. The proposed change will remove an 

economic inequality that currently exists between families 

with an ineligible non-alien and families with an ineligible 

alien when determining eligibility and amount of benefits in 

the food stamp program. However, the costs likely exceed the 

benefits since the proposed change makes some of the food 

stamp recipients in the Commonwealth worse off without 

making anyone else in the state better off by a comparable 

magnitude.  

Estimated Economic Impact. These regulations set out rules 

for the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) 

also known as the "food stamp" program. Prior to the 

enactment of the federal Personal Responsibility and Work 

Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA), states 

were required to prorate
1
 the income of the ineligible 

immigrant
2
 and count the prorated amount toward the 

eligibility of the remaining household members for SNAP 

benefits. PRWORA allowed each state the option to count all 

of the income of the ineligible immigrant or to prorate the 

income.
3
 Virginia has opted to count the prorated share of 

income since 1996, but with this action the State Board of 

Social Services proposes to count the entire income of the 

immigrant who is ineligible for food assistance.  

The eligibility and amount of food stamp benefits are 

determined by looking at the combined income of the 

members in the household and the number of eligible 

members among other criteria. The eligibility determination 

counts full income of all individuals in the household unless 

the individual is an alien who is ineligible for food assistance. 

Even though their incomes are counted, benefits are not 

issued to ineligible individuals, aliens or non-aliens alike.  

Since currently less than the full amount of the ineligible 

alien's income is counted in eligibility determinations, 

families with an ineligible alien are favored by the eligibility 

rules compared to the families with an ineligible non-alien 

member where every member's full income is counted.
4
 The 

logic behind this conclusion is that a family with an ineligible 

alien is more likely to be determined eligible for food 

assistance and qualify for higher benefits due to the lower 

combined family income. Conversely, a family with an 

ineligible non-alien is less likely to be determined eligible for 

food assistance and qualify for lower benefits due to the 

higher combined family income. Thus, there exists a fairness 
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issue in determining combined family income for purposes of 

food stamp eligibility and benefit amount. 

The figure in the following page shows the relationship 

between monthly income and benefits for two families for 

various income levels:
5
 the red line marked with circles 

represents the income-benefit relationship for a family of four 

with one ineligible non-alien and the green line marked with 

triangles represents the same relationship for a family of four 

with one ineligible alien. For simplicity, each family is 

assumed to have two income earning adults and two minor 

children. Each adult is assumed to make one half of the total 

family income. 

The graph shows that both families would receive $526 in 

benefits if they had no income. If the family income were 

$500 a month, the red line shows that the family with one 

ineligible non-alien member would receive $376 in food 

assistance compared to $413 for the family with one 

ineligible alien as indicated by the green line. The family with 

one ineligible alien would receive higher benefits compared 

to the family with one illegible non-alien for all income levels 

up to $1,750. The family with one ineligible non-alien would 

not be eligible for assistance beyond $1,750 income level. In 

contrast, the family with one ineligible alien would continue 

to be eligible up to $2,333 income level. The fairness issue 

appears to be prompted by the differential treatment of a 

family with an ineligible alien and a family with an ineligible 

non-alien. 

 

Income-Benefit Relationship for Two Families under Current and Proposed Rules 

 

 

The main economic impact of this proposed change will be 

on families that have at least one ineligible alien. First, their 

chances for food stamp eligibility will be reduced as the level 

of counted family income used for eligibility will be higher, 

or a lower level of total family income will render them 

ineligible.
6
 According to the Department of Social Services 

(DSS), in the month of February 2012, approximately $117 

million in SNAP benefits were issued to 914,445 persons in 

439,966 households. Of the eligible persons, approximately 

15,614 were excluded in the month of September 2011 from 

the program because of their immigration status. This 

suggests that the proposed regulation may affect 

approximately 7,500 families.
7
 Among these families, the 

ones with high income levels will have a reduced chance to 

qualify for food assistance. Second, among the 7,500 

families, the ones with lower income levels will have their 

benefit amounts reduced because their counted income will 

be higher. 

The impact of the proposed change on the income-benefit 

relationship of a family with an ineligible alien is illustrated 

in the graph by tilting the lower part of the green line to the 

left so that it completely overlaps the red line and becomes 

identical to it. In other words, the proposed change aligns the 

income-benefit relationship of a family containing an 

ineligible alien with that of a family containing an ineligible 

non-alien so that there is no differential treatment between the 

two families. 

The fact that the food stamp program is financed 100% by the 

federal government has a crucial role in determining the 

economic impact of this change to the Commonwealth. Since 

the families with an ineligible alien either will cease to 

receive benefits, or start receiving reduced benefits, a 

reduction in the funds coming into the Commonwealth from 

the federal government is expected. Unlike the state or private 

funds, influx of federal funds coming into the Commonwealth 

does not have offsetting reductions in funds elsewhere in the 

state and thus has significant positive impact on the state's 

economy. A reduction in net influx of federal spending 

directed to residents of Virginia is expected to start a chain 

reduction in economic activity. The first effect would be a 
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reduction in revenues of retailers. Then, retailers would buy 

less from their suppliers and hire fewer employees, creating 

more negative economic effects and so on. Even though the 

magnitude of the revenue loss to retailers is highly uncertain, 

the impact of such reduction would have negative 

consequences on Commonwealth's economy. Currently, there 

are 5,580 authorized retailers accepting food stamps in 

Virginia though households are not limited to use their 

benefits in Virginia. 

The proposed change will also require DSS to reprogram the 

statewide eligibility system, change the program guidance, 

and train eligibility workers in local departments of social 

services. DSS estimates that three to four system experts 

would be involved in making the required system change 

over a three-month period. Also, approximately 2,500 local 

eligibility workers are estimated to be involved with the 

SNAP program and would have to be educated about this 

change. However, training usually covers multiple topics. 

Thus, the proposed change may be responsible for only a 

portion of the training costs that may accrue. Even though the 

proposed change is likely to create additional costs in terms 

of reprogramming, changing guidance documents, and 

training, DSS expects that these costs will be absorbed within 

existing budgets. On the other hand, the proposed change will 

also provide some administrative cost savings due to the 

expected reduction in the SNAP caseloads. Administrative 

costs of social services are funded 50% by federal 

government, 34.5% by state government, and 15.5% by local 

governments. While the administrative cost savings would 

work to offset some of the negative impact of reduced 

spending funded by the federal government to some extent, 

administrative costs are usually a fraction of benefits 

provided by most public assistance programs and therefore 

these savings are not likely to fully offset the expected 

negative impact.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulation 

applies to SNAP program. In February 2012, there were 

approximately 914,445 persons in 439,966 households 

receiving benefits. Approximately 15,614 individuals in 

estimated 7,500 households were excluded in September 

2011 from the program because of their immigration status. 

There are approximately 5,580 authorized retailers 

participating and about 2,500 eligibility workers involved in 

the program.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulation 

applies throughout the Commonwealth.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The estimated reduction in 

the net influx of federal funds coming into the 

Commonwealth and reduction in caseloads are likely to 

reduce the demand for labor in Virginia. This reduction may 

be temporarily offset to a small degree by the increased labor 

demand necessary to reprogram the statewide eligibility 

system, to update guidance materials, and to attend and to 

provide training.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed regulation does not have a direct effect on the use 

and value of private property. However, a reduction in food 

benefits would reduce revenues of authorized retailers 

participating in the program. A reduction in revenues may 

have a negative impact on the asset value of such businesses. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The number of 

small businesses among the 5,580 authorized retailers is 

probably significant. The proposed change is expected to 

reduce issuance of food benefits in Virginia and consequently 

the revenues of retailers some of which may be small 

businesses.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There is no known alternative method that 

minimizes the adverse impact on small businesses while 

accomplishing the same goals.  

Real Estate Development Costs. No effect on real estate 

development costs is expected.  

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 
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Appendix 

Income-Benefit Comparison for Two Families under Current and Proposed Rules 

One Ineligible Non-Alien One Ineligible Alien 

Current and Proposed Rules Current Rules Proposed Rules 

Total Income Benefits Counted Income Benefits Counted Income Benefits 

$0 $526 $0 $526 $0 $526 

$500 $376 $375 $413 $500 $376 

$1,000 $226 $750 $301 $1,000 $226 

$1,750 $2 $1,312 $132 $1,750 $2 

$2,333 Ineligible $1,750 $2 $2,333 Ineligible 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
1 Prorate in this context means the income of the ineligible alien divided by the number of all household members is disregarded when calculating the total 
family income.  
2 Ineligible immigrant is referred in 7 CFR 273.11(c)(3)(i) to as someone: "who is not lawfully admitted for permanent residence; who is not granted asylum; 

who is not admitted as a refugee; who is not paroled; whose deportation or removal has not been withheld; who is not aged, blind, or disabled and is not 
admitted for temporary or permanent residence; or who is not a special agricultural worker admitted for temporary residence." 
3 See federal regulations at 7 CFR 273.11(c)(3)(i).  
4 Based on the comments provided, the impetus for this proposed change appears to originate from the eligibility workers at local departments of social services 
who believe there is a fairness issue involved in determining income for purposes of SNAP assessment. 
5 The values the graph is derived from are provided in a table in the appendix.  
6 This action will align SNAP guidance with that of Medicaid and Temporary Assistance to Needy families, as these programs count the full amount of 

ineligible immigrant's income in the eligibility determination. 
7 15,614/(914,445/439,966)=7,512. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: This 

document represents the Department of Social Services' 

response to the Department of Planning and Budget's revised 

economic impact analysis of the proposed change to the 

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program at 22VAC40-

601. 

DPB EIA: The proposed change will remove an economic 

inequality that currently exists between families with an 

ineligible non-alien and families with an ineligible alien when 

determining eligibility and amount of benefits in the food 

stamp program. However, the costs likely exceed the benefits 

since the proposed change makes some of the food stamp 

recipients in the Commonwealth worse off without making 

anyone else in the state better off by a comparable magnitude.  

Agency Response: Treating all households in similar 

situations is paramount and overrides any other economic 

considerations, especially when households with all citizen 

members are penalized and receive lower benefits than 

households with non-citizen members under the current 

eligibility rules. The agency believes that all households 

should be treated equitably, and while it is unfortunate that 

households with non-citizens may have their benefits 

reduced, this regulation will subject them to the same 

eligibility rules that currently reduce benefits for households 

containing all citizen members. 

DBP EIA: The main economic impact of this proposed 

change will be on families that have at least one ineligible 

alien. First, their chances for food stamp eligibility will be 

reduced as the level of counted family income used for 

eligibility will be higher, or a lower level of total family 

income will render them ineligible. According to the 

Department of Social Services (DSS), in the month of 

February 2012, approximately $117 million in SNAP benefits 

were issued to 914,445 persons in 439,966 households. Of the 

eligible persons, approximately 15,614 were excluded in the 

month of September 2011 from the program because of their 

immigration status. This suggests that the proposed regulation 

may affect approximately 7,500 families. Among these 

families, the ones with high income levels will have a reduced 

chance to qualify for food assistance.  

Agency Response: The agency does not agree. The proposed 

regulation will put households with an ineligible alien on par 

with a household with an ineligible citizen, giving both 

households an equal chance of accessing the same benefit 

when their incomes are the same. 

DPB EIA: The fact that the food stamp program is financed 

100% by the federal government has a crucial role in 

determining the economic impact of this change to the 

Commonwealth. Since the families with an ineligible alien 

either will cease to receive benefits, or start receiving reduced 
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benefits, a reduction in the funds coming into the 

Commonwealth from the federal government is expected. 

Agency Response: The DPB EIA overlooks the fact that 

federal SNAP benefits are financed by taxpayer dollars, 

including Virginia taxpayers. At a time when $.40 of every 

federal dollar spent is used to pay the federal debt, we should 

be very critical to cut federal spending if there is an inequity 

that favors one group over another. The federal deficit has 

long-term consequences to the Commonwealth if not 

resolved, compared to the one-time loss of federal SNAP 

funding. In addition, the American Recovery and 

Reinvestment Act increased SNAP benefit levels by 13.6% in 

March 2009, which was directly intended to stimulate 

economic activity in Virginia's retail grocery stores and 

businesses that support the grocery industry. 

DPB EIA: The proposed change will also require DSS to 

reprogram the statewide eligibility system, change the 

program guidance, and train eligibility workers in local 

departments of social services. DSS estimates that three to 

four system experts would be involved in making the required 

system change over a three-month period. Also, 

approximately 2,500 local eligibility workers are estimated to 

be involved with the SNAP program and would have to be 

educated about this change. However, training usually covers 

multiple topics. Thus, the proposed change may be 

responsible for only a portion of the training costs that may 

accrue. 

Agency Response: The programming changes will be minor 

since the system currently calculates the benefit for ineligible 

citizens without prorating the benefit. The training effort will 

also be minor since eligibility workers in local departments of 

social services know how to calculate the income of ineligible 

citizens without prorating. It is important to note that during 

the public comment period local staff overwhelmingly 

supported the proposed regulation as they recognize the 

inequity in the current benefit calculation for ineligible 

citizens. 

DPB EIA: The estimated reduction in the net influx of federal 

funds coming into the Commonwealth and reduction in 

caseloads are likely to reduce the demand for labor in 

Virginia. This reduction may be temporarily offset to a small 

degree by the increased labor demand necessary to reprogram 

the statewide eligibility system, to update guidance materials, 

and to attend and to provide training. 

Agency Response: The DPB EIA seems to indicate that high 

public assistance caseloads and individual dependence on 

public assistance are positive for Virginia's economy. To the 

contrary, Virginia's economy is the strongest when public 

assistance caseloads are low and individuals who were 

dependent on assistance have regained employment and are 

contributing to the Commonwealth's economic prosperity. In 

1995, when Governor Robert F. McDonnell served in the 

Virginia House of Delegates, he was a very strong proponent 

of reforming Virginia's welfare system. He strongly supported 

the passage of the Virginia Independence Program as a way 

to reduce dependence on government assistance programs and 

promote personal responsibility through work. 

Chapter 450 of the 1995 Acts of Assembly, the Virginia 

Independence Program, sets five goals that the legislation was 

intended to accomplish: 

1. Offer Virginians living in poverty the opportunity to 

achieve economic independence by removing barriers 

and disincentives to work and providing positive 

incentives to work;  

2. Provide families living in poverty with the 

opportunities and work skills necessary for self-

sufficiency;  

3. Allow families living in poverty to contribute 

materially to their own self-sufficiency;  

4. Set out the responsibilities of and expectations for 

recipients of public assistance and the government; and  

5. Provide families living in poverty with the opportunity 

to obtain work experience through the Virginia Initiative 

for Employment Not Welfare (VIEW). 

During the deliberations on HB 2001, there was no discussion 

on the negative impact of reduced federal funding associated 

with falling caseloads, but rather the overall health of a 

Commonwealth that has citizens who support themselves and 

their families and do not depend on government assistance. 

The agency takes the same position on this proposed 

regulation. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment requires that the income of 

persons who are ineligible for SNAP benefits because of 

their immigration status will be used in its entirety to 

determine the SNAP eligibility of the remaining eligible 

household members and alters current processes by using 

the full amount of an ineligible immigrant's income instead 

of a prorated amount of the income. 

22VAC40-601-70. Income calculation method of ineligible 

immigrants. 

The income and resources of an ineligible alien shall count 

in their entirety, and the ineligible alien's deductible expenses 

shall continue to apply to the remaining household members. 

The requirements of this section do not apply to those aliens 

described in 7 CFR 273.11(c)(3)(i)(A) through (G).  

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2893; Filed October 30, 2013, 8:33 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-661. Child Care Program 

(amending 22VAC40-661-10, 22VAC40-661-30, 

22VAC40-661-40, 22VAC40-661-57, 22VAC40-661-60, 

22VAC40-661-70, 22VAC40-661-80; adding 22VAC40-

661-100).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia; 45 

CFR 98.11. 
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Public Hearing Information: 

December 10, 2013 - 6 p.m. - Department of Social 

Services, Central Regional Office, 1604 Santa Rosa 

Road, Richmond Room, Henrico, VA 23229 

Public Comment Deadline: January 17, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Mary Ward, Subsidy Program Manager, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7638, FAX (804) 

726-7655, or email mary.ward@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the State Board of Social Services to adopt regulations 

necessary or desirable to carry out the purpose of Title 63.2 

(§ 63.2-100 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia. Other authority 

for the program implemented through this regulation are 

§§ 63.2-319, 63.2-510, 63.2-611, and 63.2-616 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Applicable federal laws are the Child Care and Development 

Block Grant of 1990 as amended by the Personal 

Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 

1996 (Public Law 104-193) and the Balanced Budget Act of 

1997 (Public Law 105-33), as implemented in regulation at 

45 CFR Parts 98 and 99. Additional federal authority comes 

from the Food Stamp Act of 1977, as amended.  

Purpose: Currently, no statewide automation exists to support 

the Child Care Subsidy Program. In addition, program 

guidance currently allows some options for local department 

administration. These two factors have resulted in a number 

of variations in local program operations across the state. The 

proposed amendments will enable the department to initiate 

the changes necessary to develop a statewide automated 

program and manage child care providers across the state. An 

automated program will insure consistent application of 

program guidance regardless of the locality in which a client 

lives. State management of child care providers will assure 

both parents and providers of consistent application of policy 

and procedures regardless of the locality in which they live 

and do business. State management will provide a single 

point of contact for child care providers.  

The regulation is essential to protect the health, safety, and 

welfare of citizens by providing financial assistance for 

eligible families to help pay the cost of child care so a parent 

or person who has assumed responsibility for a child can 

work or attend child care programs. 

Substance: The following changes are proposed: 

1. Require that all vendors sign and comply with the 

terms of their vendor agreements including payment 

processes, holiday schedules, absence policy, and 

attendance tracking. This change is necessary for vendors 

to be eligible to participate in the Child Care Subsidy 

Program and receive payment for their services, and to 

assure consistent statewide procedures.  

2. Require that, to participate in the Child Care Subsidy 

Program, vendors must have a working telephone on site 

wherever care is provided. This change is necessary for 

both the health and safety of children and for 

participation in a new, centralized payment process for 

vendors. 

3. Cap subsidy payments for care of children with special 

needs to bring consistency to such payments and to 

permit programmatic oversight of costs. 

4. Allow payment of one annual registration fee to be 

paid to a child care provider for a child eligible for 

subsidized child care if the provider charges such a fee to 

the public. A limitation on payment of registration fees 

will result in more funding available to assist eligible 

families.  

5. Eliminate payment of activity fees charged by 

providers, which will result in more funding available to 

assist eligible families.  

6. Require that applicants for child care be at least 18 

years of age to ensure that the contractual obligation of 

parents to pay a portion of their child care costs can be 

enforced. 

7. Require that all applicants and recipients cooperate 

with the Division of Child Support Enforcement (DCSE) 

as a condition of eligibility for the Child Care Subsidy 

Program, which will result in additional support and 

services for families. 

8. Require that an appellant repay the amount of all child 

care payments made on behalf of the family during an 

appeal process if the action of the local department of 

social services is upheld by a hearing officer. 

9. Require that applications for child care assistance be 

processed within 30 days. This change from 45 days to 

30 days will result in more timely eligibility 

determination for assistance.  

10. Limit receipt of child care assistance to 72 months 

per family. This change will bring consistency to the 

program statewide since time limitation on receipt of 

benefits had previously been an option for local 

departments. A 72-month lifetime limit for receipt of 

child care assistance will allow the program to serve 

more families.  

11. Initiate an administrative disqualification hearing 

process to review allegations of intentional program 

violations made against a client when the 

Commonwealth's Attorney has determined that the case 

does not meet the criteria for prosecution.  

12. Require that overpayments made as a result of a local 

department of social services' error be repaid to the 

Department of Social Services with local funds. 

Issues: The proposed amendments will provide the following 

advantages to families, local departments of social services, 

child care providers, and the department: 
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1. Statewide automation will result in a more efficient 

and effective Child Care Subsidy Program, thereby 

providing more expedient receipt of services to families. 

2. Statewide automation will insure uniform application 

of policy and procedures across the state, which will 

decrease errors. 

3. State oversight and management of child care 

providers will assure families that child care providers 

have complied with all state requirements for program 

participation.  

4. State oversight will allow providers a single point of 

contact. 

5. Payments to child care providers will be processed 

more frequently. 

6. A cap on the amount a child care provider can charge 

for the care of children with special needs, limiting 

payment of registration fees, and eliminating payment of 

other fees charged by child care providers will result in 

program savings that can be used to assist more families.  

7. The recovery of payments made for services during an 

appeal process when a local department's decision is 

upheld will result in the ability to serve more families. 

8. A shortened application processing time will result in 

more timely receipt of assistance to eligible families.  

9. Limiting receipt of child care assistance to 72 months 

for non-TANF families will allow more families to be 

served.  

10. Use of the administrative disqualification hearing 

process rather than a lengthy and costly court process 

will result in program savings.  

11. The requirement that local departments repay the 

state with local-only funding when a local department 

error is discovered will result in Child Care and 

Development Fund savings and increased program 

integrity.  

Issues that could be considered disadvantages to families are:  

1. The requirement that applicants be at least 18 years of 

age, which could affect less than 1.0% of applicants. 

2. A 72-month limitation, which could affect 

approximately 12% of families in the fee program. 

3. Appellants will be required to repay the amount of all 

payments made during the appeal process when a local 

department's decision is upheld.  

4. A cap on the amount that a provider can charge for 

care of children with special needs could decrease the 

number of child care providers willing to accept the 

approved rate. 

5. A requirement to cooperate with DCSE as a condition 

of eligibility could discourage some applicants. 

Issues that could be considered a disadvantage to child care 

providers are: 

1. The requirement to have a working phone on site 

could result in an additional expense to those providers 

who do not currently have one. 

2. A cap on the amount that a provider can charge for 

care of children with special needs could decrease the 

number of providers willing to participate in the 

program.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to amend its 

regulations that govern the non-mandated child care subsidy 

program to facilitate a new statewide child care automation 

system. The Board specifically proposes to add a number of 

definitions and add some requirements now in guidance 

language into regulation. The Board also proposes several 

substantive changes: 1) the Board proposes to reduce the 

number of days from initial application to beginning date of 

service payment from 45 to 30, 2) mandate that Local 

Departments of Social Services (LDSS) have a 72 month 

limit on child care subsidy payments and 3) require that 

applicants for child care subsidy be at least 18 years of age. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for most 

changes. Costs and benefits will not be significantly altered 

for one proposed change and costs will likely outweigh 

benefits for one proposed change. There is insufficient 

information to ascertain whether benefits outweigh costs for 

one proposed change. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Many of the changes that the 

Board proposes for these regulations will not alter how this 

child care subsidy program is administered. Definitions for 

ADH
1
 and SNAP

2
 are being added, for instance, so that 

interested parties will be better able to understand regulatory 

text. Changes like these are likely to have no costs attached. 

To the extent that these changes clarify the requirements of 

these regulations, regulated entities will benefit from them. In 

addition to these instructive changes, the Board proposes 

several substantive changes. 

Currently, LDSS have 45 days to process applications and 

start child care subsidy payments. The Board proposes to 

reduce this time to 30 days. This change will likely benefit 

subsidy recipients as they may receive that subsidy several 

weeks sooner than they might under current regulations. This 

change may increase LDSS workload in this area given that 

they will have to process applications more quickly. 

However, the state Department of Social Services has 

recently taken responsibility for the approval of unregulated 

child care providers who want to participate in the program 

and for payments to providers. These actions have reduced 

the local department workload and make the 30-day deadline 

more feasible.  

The Board proposes to add a 72 month limitation on receipt 

of assistance for those families in the Fee Program (income 

eligible, non-TANF
3
 families and TANF families not in 
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VIEW
4
 who receive assistance to support education or 

training only). Child Care for TANF working families, VIEW 

participants, and families receiving Head Start Wrap Around 

services are not impacted by the time limit in the current or 

proposed regulation. This change will likely neither reduce 

nor increase the amount of money dispensed by LDSS, but 

may allocate it to different families than it would absent this 

regulatory change. 

There is no restriction on the age of parents that may apply 

for child care subsidies in current regulation. The Board 

proposes to require that applicant parents be at least 18 years 

old. Board staff reports that it is not the Board's intention to 

deny subsidies to underage parents and that the Board intends 

there to be a process for the parents or guardians of underage 

parents to apply for the subsidies instead. Proposed regulatory 

text does not, however, make clear that this is the Board's 

intention. Additionally, the regulatory text as proposed 

imposes an outright ban on individuals under 18 applying for 

a child care subsidy. This means that underage parents who 

do not have an adult who is legally responsible for them 

would be precluded from taking advantage of this subsidy 

program. DPB has pointed this out to Board staff and they 

have indicated that the Board will reconsider this language 

before the final stage of this regulatory action.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. These proposed regulatory 

changes will affect all 120 local Departments of Social 

Services, all parents that receive subsidies through this 

program and their children and all child care providers that 

are paid with subsidies from this program.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of this regulatory action.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_______________________________ 
1 Administrative Disqualification Hearing 
2 Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 
3 Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
4 Virginia Initiative for Employment not Welfare 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed action modifies the current child care 

subsidy program to facilitate the development and 

implementation of a statewide child care automation 

system and to expedite the automation process by ensuring 

uniform statewide child care guidance.  

Proposed changes include (i) new requirements for 

vendors; (ii) a limitation on fees and rates paid by the 

program; (iii) a requirement for applicants to be at least 

18 years of age; (iv) a requirement for both applicants and 

recipients to cooperate with the Division of Child Support 

Enforcement as a condition of eligibility; (v) a requirement 

that appellants refund the cost of services paid during the 

appeals process when the local department's decision is 

upheld; (vi) a decrease in the time allowed for processing 

applications; (vii) the use of the administrative 

disqualification hearing process to hear certain cases of 

alleged recipient fraud; (viii) the establishment of a time 

limitation for receipt of benefits in the fee program; and 

(ix) a change to require that overpayments caused as a 

result of a local department error be repaid to the state 

Department of Social Services with local funds.  
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22VAC40-661-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context 

indicates otherwise:  

"ADH" means an administrative disqualification hearing, an 

impartial review by a state hearing officer of an individual's 

actions involving an alleged intentional program violation for 

the purpose of determining if the individual did or did not 

commit an intentional program violation. 

"Applicant" means a person who has applied for child care 

services and the disposition of the application has not yet 

been determined.  

"Background checks" means a sworn statement or 

affirmation as may be required by the Code of Virginia, the 

Criminal History Record Check, the Sex Offender and 

Crimes Against Minors Registry Check, and the Central 

Registry Child Protective Services check.  

"Child care services" means those activities that assist 

eligible families in the arrangement for or purchase of child 

care for children for care that is less than a 24-hour day. It 

also means activities that promote parental choice, consumer 

education to help parents make informed choices about child 

care, activities to enhance health and safety standards 

established by the state, and activities that increase and 

enhance child care and early childhood development 

resources in the community.  

"Child protective services" means the identification, receipt 

and immediate response to complaints and reports of alleged 

child abuse or neglect for children under 18 years of age. It 

also includes assessment, and arranging for and providing 

necessary protective and rehabilitative services for a child and 

his family when the child has been found to have been abused 

or neglected or is at risk of being abused or neglected.  

"Child support services" means any civil, criminal or 

administrative action taken by the Division of Child Support 

Enforcement to locate parents, establish paternity, and 

establish, modify, enforce, or collect, and disburse child 

support, or child and spousal support.  

"Children with special needs" means children with 

documented developmental disabilities, mental retardation, 

emotional disturbance, sensory or motor impairment, or 

significant chronic illness who require special health 

surveillance or specialized programs, interventions, 

technologies, or facilities. 

"Cooperate with the Division of Child Support 

Enforcement" means that an applicant or recipient of child 

care subsidy services must provide the information required 

by the Division of Child Support Enforcement to locate an 

absent parent, establish paternity, or establish a support order, 

unless a basis for good cause for noncooperation is 

determined by the program.  

"Copayment" means a specific fee that is a portion of a 

household's income that is contributed toward the cost of 

child care.  

"DCSE" means the Division of Child Support Enforcement, 

the division of the Department of Social Services responsible 

for locating absent parents; establishing paternity; and 

establishing, modifying, enforcing, collecting, and disbursing 

child support, or child and spousal support. 

"Department" means the State Department of Social 

Services.  

"Family" means any individual, adult, or adults and/or 

children related by blood, marriage, adoption, or an 

expression of kinship who function as a family unit.  

"Federal poverty guidelines" means the income levels by 

family size, determined by the federal Department of Health 

and Human Services, used as guidelines in determining at 

what level families in the country are living in poverty.  

"Fee" means a charge for a service and may include, but is 

not limited to, copayments, charges above the maximum 

reimbursable rate, or charges for registration, activities or 

transportation.  

"Fee program" means a category in the child care subsidy 

program that assists low income, non-TANF families with 

child care services. 

"Fraud" means the knowing employment of deception or 

suppression of truth in order to receive services one is not 

entitled to receive.  

"FSET" means Virginia's Food Stamp Employment and 

Training Program, a multi-component employment and 

training program that provides Job Search, Job Search 

Training, Education, Training, and Work Experience to 

certain Food Stamp recipients.  

"Good cause" means a valid reason why a parent in a two-

parent household, or any other person under Virginia law 

responsible for the support of the children cannot provide the 

needed child care, or a valid reason why a parent will not be 

required to register with the Division of Child Support 

Enforcement.  

"Head Start" means the comprehensive federal child 

development programs that serve children from birth through 

age five, pregnant women, and their families (as established 

by the Head Start Act (42 USC § 9840)).  

"Income eligible" means that eligibility for subsidy is based 

on income and family size.  

"In-home" means child care provided in the home of the 

child and parent when all the children in care reside in the 

home and the provider does not live in the home.  

"In loco parentis" means an adult with whom the child is 

living who has assumed responsibility for the day-to-day care 

and supervision of the child. 

"Intentional program violation" means fraudulent action by a 

client for the purpose of establishing or maintaining the 
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family's eligibility for child care subsidy, increasing or 

preventing a reduction in the amount of the subsidy, or 

causing an improper payment to be made by intentionally 

giving false or misleading information. 

"Level two provider" means a child care provider who is 

licensed by the Department of Social Services, approved by a 

licensed family day system, approved under local ordinance 

according to § 15.2-914 of the Code of Virginia, or federally 

approved. 

"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in this Commonwealth.  

"Maximum reimbursable rate" means the maximum rate 

paid for child care services through the subsidy program that 

is established by the department and set out in the state Child 

Care and Development Fund plan filed with the United States 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.  

"Noncooperation with DCSE" means failure of an applicant 

or recipient to provide the local department or the Division of 

Child Support Enforcement with information required to 

establish paternity or an order for child support, without good 

cause. 

"Nonfraud overpayment" means an overpayment that was 

caused by the local department, or by an inadvertent 

household or provider error.  

"Parent" means the primary adult caretaker or guardian of a 

child.  

"Provider" means a person, entity, or organization providing 

child care services. 

"Resource and referral" means services that provide 

information to parents to assist them in choosing child care, 

and may include assessment of the family's child care needs, 

collection and maintenance of information about child care 

needs in the community, and efforts to improve the quality 

and increase the supply of child care.  

"Service plan" means the written, mutually agreed upon 

activities and responsibilities between the local department 

and the parent in the provision of child care services.  

"SNAP" means the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 

Program, a program administered by the United States 

Department of Agriculture to reduce hunger and increase 

food security. 

"SNAPET" means Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 

Program Employment and Training, which provides job 

search, job search training, education, training, and work 

experience to nonpublic assistance SNAP recipients. 

"Subsidy programs" program" means the department 

programs program that assist assists low income eligible 

families with the cost of child care, including the TANF child 

care program and the income eligible child care programs.  

"TANF assistance unit" means a household composed of an 

individual or individuals who meet all categorical 

requirements and conditions of eligibility for TANF.  

"TANF capped child" means a child who the TANF worker 

has determined ineligible for inclusion in the TANF 

assistance unit because the child was born more than 10 full 

months after the mother's initial TANF payment was issued.  

"Temporary assistance for needy families" or "TANF" 

means the program administered by the department through 

which a relative can receive monthly cash assistance for the 

support of his eligible children.  

"Transitional child care" means the program that provides 

child care subsidy to eligible former TANF recipients after 

the TANF case closes.  

22VAC40-661-30. Child care programs.  

Child care subsidy, to the extent of available funding, is 

provided through the following programs:  

1. TANF Child Care Program. Child care subsidy and 

services are made available to recipients of TANF. TANF 

child care includes needed care for the TANF capped child. 

These services are also provided to:  

a. A child who receives Supplemental Security Income 

(SSI), if the parent is on the TANF grant and if the child 

would have been in the TANF assistance unit were it not 

for the receipt of SSI, or  

b. Children who are not in the TANF assistance unit but 

who are financially dependent upon the parent who is in 

the TANF assistance unit.  

2. Income eligible child care programs.  

a. Transitional child care. Child care subsidy and services 

are made available to eligible children of former TANF 

recipients to support parental employment if the TANF 

case is closed, and they are found income eligible.  

b. Head Start child care. Head Start child care subsidy 

and services are made available to eligible Head Start 

enrolled children. The program is for extended day and 

extended year child care beyond times covered by 

federally funded Head Start core hours.  

c. Fee child care. Fee child care subsidy and services are 

made available to children in eligible low income 

families who are not receiving TANF, not in the Head 

Start Program, and who meet the eligibility criteria for 

child care, to the extent of available funding is available.  

3. Food Stamp SNAP child care. Child care subsidy and 

services are made available to children of parents in 

Virginia's FSET SNAPET program to allow participation 

in an approved activity.  

22VAC40-661-40. State income eligible scale and 

copayments.  

A. State income eligible scale. The department establishes 

the scale for determining financial eligibility for the income 

eligible child care programs. Income eligibility is determined 

by measuring the family's income and size against the 

percentage of the federal poverty guidelines for their locality. 

Income to be counted in determining income eligibility 
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includes all earned and unearned income received by the 

family except certain disregarded income : Supplemental 

Security Income; TANF benefits; general relief; food stamp 

benefits; child support paid to another household; earnings of 

a child under the age of 18 years; garnished wages; earned 

income tax credit; lump sum child support payments; and 

scholarships, loans, or grants for education except any portion 

specified for child care. 

Unless a local alternate scale is approved, the income 

eligibility scale established by the department must be used 

for the transitional, Head Start and fee programs. Proposed 

alternate sliding scales must be approved by the department 

prior to submission to the local board of social services.  

B. Copayments. Copayments are established by the 

department. All families receiving child care subsidy have a 

copayment responsibility of 10% of their countable monthly 

income or the copayment established by an approved local 

alternate scale except that families whose gross monthly 

income is at or below the federal poverty guidelines who are 

recipients of TANF, participants in the FSET SNAPET 

program, or families in the Head Start program will have no 

copayment.  

C. Five-year limit. Localities may limit receipt of fee child 

care program subsidies to a maximum of 60 months (five 

years). Receipt of transitional child care does not count 

toward the five years.  

D. Waiting list. Local departments must have a waiting list 

policy for the fee child care program. Prior receipt of TANF 

must not be a reason for preferential placement on a waiting 

list. Proposed policy for a waiting list must be approved by 

the department prior to submission to the local board of social 

services. A waiting list policy must assure that decisions are 

made uniformly.  

22VAC40-661-57. Provider requirements.  

A. Providers who participate in the subsidy program must be 

at least 18 years of age, obtain background checks as required 

by the regulations for their type of child care, and participate 

in annual training. Providers and other individuals required to 

have background checks according to § 63.2-1725 of the 

Code of Virginia who are not otherwise governed by another 

state regulation requiring background checks shall obtain 

background checks as defined in this regulation.  

B. Background checks for regulated child care providers and 

local department approved child care providers remain valid 

according to the provisions of the regulations for their type of 

child care. Background checks for employees of certified 

preschools or nursery schools and unregulated family day 

home providers that participate in the child care subsidy 

program will remain valid for three years as long as the 

provider provides continuous services under the child care 

subsidy program. For any other individual who is required to 

have background checks according to § 63.2-1725 of the 

Code of Virginia, the background checks will remain valid 

for three years as long as the individual maintains continuous 

employment, residence or volunteer status with that provider.  

C. Training requirements will consist of current certification 

in first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) as 

appropriate for the age for the children in care, the cost of 

which will be borne by the provider. Four hours of skills 

training will also be required annually. Skills training is 

available through the department at for a cost of less than $20 

per participant nominal fee.  

D. All providers who participate in the subsidy program 

must sign a department-approved agreement that will be 

based on the level of regulation of the provider. The 

provider's signature confirms his agreement to comply with 

the terms of the agreement, including payment processes, 

absences, and attendance tracking. 

E. All providers who participate in the subsidy program 

must have a working telephone at each site at which child 

care is provided, as required by the department-approved 

agreement. 

22VAC40-661-60. Determining payment amount.  

A. Maximum reimbursable rates.  

1. The department will establish maximum reimbursable 

rates for child care subsidies for all localities in the state by 

type of care.  

2. For children with special needs, payment over the 

maximum reimbursable rate is allowed when this is 

appropriate as determined by the local department. The 

maximum reimbursable rate for children with special needs 

may not exceed twice the reimbursable rate for care of 

children who do not have special needs. 

3. Providers will be paid for the amount of care approved 

up to the maximum reimbursable rate of the jurisdiction in 

which the provider is located. Local departments must The 

department will pay the rates and fees providers charge the 

general public, up to the maximum reimbursable rate, or a 

negotiated rate that is lower.  

4. For out-of-state providers, the local department 

maximum reimbursable rate of the locality in which the 

local department is located is used.  

5. Parents who choose to place a child in a facility with a 

rate above the maximum reimbursable rate are responsible 

for payment of any additional amount, unless the local 

department elects to pay the additional amount out of local 

funds.  

B. In-home care. For in-home child care, payment must be 

at least minimum wage, but not more than the maximum 

reimbursable rate for the number of children in care.  

C. Registration fee. A single annual registration fee, if 

charged, will be paid to level two providers. The registration 

fee may not exceed $100. Transportation fees are paid only 

when the transportation services are provided by the provider. 

The total cost of care, excluding the single annual registration 
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fee, but including special programs, other fees and 

transportation, must not exceed the maximum reimbursable 

rate and must be identified as one child care cost.  

22VAC40-661-70. Case management.  

A. Application and assessment. Parents who are not 

receiving TANF and who are at least 18 years of age and who 

wish to request child care services are required to sign an 

application and cooperate with an assessment by the local 

department. Consumer education, including the selection and 

monitoring of child care, must be provided to parents to assist 

them in gaining needed information about child care services 

and availability of providers. As a condition of eligibility, all 

applicants and recipients must cooperate with the Division of 

Child Support Enforcement unless the subsidy program 

determines that good cause exists for their failure to do so. 

B. Service planning. Child care workers must complete a 

written service plan for each child care case. The service plan 

outlines the mutually agreed upon activities and 

responsibilities between the local department and the parent 

in the provision of child care services.  

C. Due process. Applicants and recipients will be afforded 

due process through timely written notices of any action 

deciding or affecting his eligibility for services or copayment 

amount. Such written notice shall include the reason for the 

action and the notice of appeal rights and procedures, 

including the right to a fair hearing if the applicant or 

recipient is aggrieved by the local department's action or 

failure to act on an application. If a client requests an appeal 

within 10 days of the effective date of the notice of action, 

child care services will continue until a decision is rendered 

by a hearing officer. If the decision of the local department is 

upheld by the hearing officer, the client must repay the 

amount of services paid during the appeal process.  

D. Reassessment. Local departments will make regular 

contacts with a member of the case household or the provider. 

The purpose of these contacts is to evaluate whether the child 

care services authorized are meeting the needs of the child 

and the parent.  

E. Beginning date of service payment.  

1. The beginning date of service payment is the date the 

signed application is received in the local department if the 

family is determined eligible within 45 30 days.  

2. If the determination is made more than 45 30 days after 

the signed application is received, services may begin only 

on the date eligibility is actually determined, except in the 

case of administrative delay.  

3. Administrative delay is when either the parent or 

provider does not provide needed information for 

eligibility purposes to the local department within the 45 

30 days due to circumstances beyond their control.  

4. Payment cannot be made to licensed providers prior to 

the effective dates of their initial licenses.  

F. Parental responsibilities.  

1. Parents must be informed of their responsibility to report 

changes that could affect their eligibility. These changes 

must be reported to the local department within 10 

calendar days. Parents must be informed that failure to 

report required changes may result in case closure, 

repayment of child care costs, or prosecution for fraud.  

2. Parents must be informed of their responsibility to pay 

all fees owed. Parental failure to pay fees may result in 

case closure.  

G. Termination. Local department termination of child care 

services must be planned jointly with the parent and provider. 

Adequate documentation supporting the reasons for 

termination must be filed in the case record. Eligibility in the 

fee program is limited to a total of 72 months per family. 

Receipt of assistance in any other category does not count 

toward the 72-month limitation. 

H. Waiting list. When sufficient funds are not available in 

the fee program, local departments of social services must 

screen applicants for potential eligibility and place them on 

the department's waiting list if the family chooses. 

22VAC40-661-80. Fraud.  

A. Fraud.  

1. When it is suspected that there has been a deliberate 

misrepresentation of facts in order to receive services, the 

local department must determine whether or not fraud was 

committed. There must be clear and convincing evidence 

that demonstrates that the household or provider 

committed or intended to commit fraud. Suspected 

instances of child care fraud shall be referred to the fraud 

staff for investigation. If there is clear and convincing 

evidence that fraud has occurred, the case will be referred 

to the attorney for the Commonwealth to determine if the 

case will be prosecuted. If the case does not meet the 

criteria for prosecution as established by the attorney for 

the Commonwealth, the case will be referred for an 

administrative disqualification hearing. 

2. Disqualification.  

a. Parents will be disqualified from participating in the 

child care subsidy program for three months upon the 

first finding of child care fraud or an intentional program 

violation, 12 months upon the second finding, and 

permanently upon the third finding.  

b. Providers will be permanently disqualified from 

participating in the child care subsidy program upon the 

first finding of child care fraud.  

B. Repayment. In addition to any criminal punishment, 

anyone who causes the local department to make an improper 

vendor provider payment by withholding required 

information or by providing false information will be required 

to repay the amount of the improper payment.  

C. Nonfraud overpayment. In cases of nonfraud 

overpayment, neither the parent nor provider will be 

disqualified from participating in the subsidy program, as 
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long as a repayment schedule is entered into with the local 

department and payments are made according to that 

schedule. If an overpayment was made as result of an error by 

the local department, the local department will not seek to 

recoup those funds from the parent or the provider.  

22VAC40-661-100. Administration. 

A. Nonfraud overpayment. In cases of nonfraud 

overpayment, neither the parent nor provider will be 

disqualified from participating in the subsidy program as long 

as a repayment schedule is entered into with the local 

department and payments are made according to that 

schedule. 

B. Local department error. If an overpayment was made as a 

result of an error by the local department, the local 

department will not seek to recoup those funds from the 

parent or the provider. Any overpayments made as a result of 

a local department error must be refunded to the Department 

of Social Services with local-only funds. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (22VAC40-661) 

60 Month Lifetime Limit Letter (undated) 

Absent Parent/Paternity Information (undated) 

Attesting to the Lack of Information Form (undated) 

Good Cause Communication Form, Child Care Subsidy 

Program (undated) 

Notice of Cooperation and Good Cause (undated) 

Administrative Disqualification Hearing Decision (undated)  

Notice of Disqualification for Intentional Program Violation 

(undated) 

Notice of Intentional Program Violation and Penalties 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(22VAC40-661)  

Child Care and Development Fund Plan for FFY 2004-2005, 

Department of Social Services, effective October 1, 2003.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2776; Filed October 28, 2013, 4:10 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-690. Virginia Child Care 

Provider Scholarship Program (amending 22VAC40-690-

15, 22VAC40-690-35).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2013. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Kathy Gillikin, Division of Child Care and 

Development, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7606, 

FAX (804) 726-7655, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 

kathy.gillikin@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

State Board of Social Services with the authority to 

promulgate the regulation. Additional statutory authority 

includes 42 USC § 9858 et seq.; 42 USC § 1958e and h; and 

§§ 63.2-206 and 63.2-207 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The regulation is needed to provide the legal right to 

appeal eligibility decisions regarding scholarship awards for 

child care providers or those intending to become providers. 

Modifications are required to bring the regulation in 

compliance with current state law, including citation updates 

and revisions to the appeal process to protect the health, 

welfare, and safety of the public. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: During the public 

comment period of the periodic review process, there were no 

comments made about this regulation. As part of the periodic 

review, the Office of the Attorney General recommended the 

use of the fast-track rulemaking process to make a very minor 

Code of Virginia citation update and to update the appeal 

process, as these actions are not expected to be controversial. 

Substance: The amendments (i) update a Code of Virginia 

citation; (ii) update the current appeal process to conform to 

the Administrative Process Act; and (iii) revise the 

application form to include date-of-birth, last five digits of the 

social security number, and updated Virginia Community 

College System course information, which will be helpful in 

tracking applicants' use of the program. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public with these 

changes is that the Code of Virginia citation will be correct 

for easier reference and the appeal information will coincide 

with the Administrative Process Act. Additionally, the 

application form was revised to require better data tracking 

information on each applicant with the new online application 

and tracking system. There are no disadvantages to the public 

or the Commonwealth for making these changes. 

Small Business Impact Report of Findings: This regulatory 

action serves as the report of findings of the regulatory review 

pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to amend its 

regulations that govern the Virginia Child Care Provider 

Scholarship Program which provides funds to child care 

providers to pay for undergraduate courses. The Board 

proposes to update Code of Virginia citations, clarify that the 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60c82002776~1&typ=40&actno=002776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=345a1002776~2&typ=40&actno=002776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ed618002776~3&typ=40&actno=002776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9d77b002776~4&typ=40&actno=002776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9d77b002776~4&typ=40&actno=002776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1be4b002776~5&typ=40&actno=002776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d6231002776~6&typ=40&actno=002776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a1aa1002776~7&typ=40&actno=002776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a1aa1002776~7&typ=40&actno=002776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a363d002776~8&typ=40&actno=002776&mime=application/pdf
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program is subject to availability of funds and update the 

form number. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 

proposed changes.  

Estimated Economic Impact. While current language in these 

regulations does not specify that scholarships dispersed under 

this program are subject to availability of funds; by statute, 

they are. The Board proposes to specify in the regulations that 

this program is subject to the availability of funds. This 

change provides greater conformity to authorizing statutes 

and adds clarity to these regulations which will benefit 

interested parties.  

The Board also proposes to update regulatory language that 

lays out the appeals process so that it conforms to the 

Administrative Process Act and to update a reference to the 

form that scholarship applicants have to fill out. Again, these 

changes add clarity to the regulations and, therefore, will 

benefit interested parties. No entity is likely to incur costs on 

account of any of these proposed changes.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that 

only a small number of child care providers receive 

scholarships under this program so only a small number of 

individuals will be affected by these proposed changes.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of this regulatory action.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments update a Code of Virginia citation, revise 

the appeal process to comply with the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act, and update the application 

form. 

22VAC40-690-15. Purpose and intent.  

The purpose of the Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship 

Program is to provide tuition assistance to child care 

providers. The intent of the program is to provide child care 

providers with a foundation in child care and child 

development. The anticipated benefit of an increased 

knowledge and skills base for child care providers will be an 

improved level of care provided to Virginia's children. This 

program is subject to the availability of funds. 

22VAC40-690-35. Appeal process.  

A. Any person denied a scholarship who believes the denial 

was contrary to law or regulations may request an informal 

conference, as provided for by § 9-6.14:11 of the Code of 

Virginia, with the designee of the Commissioner, by filing a 

written Notice of Appeal with the department within 33 days 

of the date on the denial letter. The Notice of Appeal must be 

received by the department within the 33-day time period. 

The decision of the informal conference shall constitute a 

final agency case decision and shall be appealable as provided 

for in Article 4 (§ 9-6.14:15 et seq.) of Chapter 1.1:1 of Title 

9 of the Code of Virginia. appeal the denial pursuant to the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). Section 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia provides 

the aggrieved party the right to request an informal 

conference. This request shall be made within 15 days of the 

date of denial. The informal conference is a fact-finding 

process and gives the aggrieved party an opportunity to 

present information that the denial decision was based on 

factual error or misinterpretation of facts. The aggrieved party 

may be required to provide verification of facts. The 

department then has 90 days from the date of the informal 
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conference to issue its official decision in writing, including 

information concerning the aggrieved party's right to continue 

the appeal process pursuant to the Administrative Process 

Act. The informal conference may be conducted by telephone 

if both parties consent.  

B. No person shall have a right to appeal any denial due to 

lack of scholarship funds, untimely application, or incomplete 

application.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (22VAC40-690) 

Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship Program 

Application, Form # 032-05-0032-03 (eff. 3/08) 

Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship Program 

Application, Form # 032-05-0032-06-eng (eff. 10/12) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3399; Filed October 23, 2013, 1:51 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-730. Investigation of Child 

Abuse and Neglect in Out of Family Complaints 

(amending 22VAC40-730-10, 22VAC40-730-20, 

22VAC40-730-30, 22VAC40-730-40, 22VAC40-730-60  

through 22VAC40-730-115, 22VAC40-730-130).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Mary Walter, Child Protective Services 

Consultant, Division of Family Services, Department of 

Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7569, FAX (804) 726-7499, 

TTY (800) 828-1120, or email mary.walter@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments make changes to the definitions and other 

regulatory language to conform this regulation to the 

regulation that governs child protective services 

(22VAC40-705). 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part I  

Definitions  

22VAC40-730-10. Definitions.  

The In addition to the definitions contained in 22VAC40-

705-10, the following words and terms when used in 

conjunction with this chapter shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Caretaker," for the purpose of this chapter, means any 

individual determined to have the responsibility of caring for 

a child. 

"Child day center" means a child day program operated in 

other than the residence of the provider or any of the children 

in care, responsible for the supervision, protection, and well-

being of children during absence of a parent or guardian, as 

defined in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. For the 

purpose of this chapter, the term shall be limited to include 

only state licensed child day centers and religiously exempted 

child day centers.  

"Child Protective Services" means the identification, receipt 

and immediate investigation of complaints and reports of 

child abuse and neglect for children under 18 years of age. It 

also includes documenting, arranging for, and providing 

social casework and other services for the child, his family, 

and the alleged abuser.  

"Complaint" means a valid report of suspected child abuse 

or neglect which must be investigated by the local department 

of social services.  

"Department" means the Department of Social Services.  

"Disposition" means the determination of whether abuse or 

neglect occurred.  

"Child day program" means a regularly operating service 

arrangement for children where, during the absence of a 

parent or guardian, a person or organization has agreed to 

assume responsibility for the supervision, protection, and 

well-being of children as defined in § 63.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Facility" means the generic term used to describe the 

setting in out of family abuse or neglect and for the purposes 

of this regulation includes schools (public and private), 

private or state-operated hospitals or institutions, child day 

centers programs, state regulated family day homes, and 

residential facilities.  

"Facility administrator" means the on-site individual 

responsible for the day-to-day operation of the facility.  

"Family day home," for the purpose of this chapter, means a 

child day program as defined in § 63.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia where the care is provided in the provider's home 

and is state regulated; locally approved or regulated homes 

are not included in this definition.  

"Founded" means that a review of the facts shows by a 

preponderance of the evidence that child abuse and/or neglect 

has occurred. A determination that a case is founded shall be 

based primarily on first source evidence; in no instance shall 

a determination that a case is founded be based solely on 

indirect evidence or an anonymous complaint.  

"Local agency" means the local department of social 

services responsible for conducting investigations of child 

abuse or neglect complaints as per § 63.2-1503 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=25024003399~1&typ=40&actno=003399&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=25024003399~1&typ=40&actno=003399&mime=application/pdf
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"Participate" means to take part in the activities of the joint 

investigation as per a plan for investigation developed by the 

CPS worker with the facility administrator or regulatory 

authority or both.  

"Physical plant" means the physical structure/premises of 

the facility.  

"Regulatory authority" means the department or state board 

that is responsible under the Code of Virginia for the 

licensure or certification of a facility for children.  

"Residential facility" means a publicly or privately owned 

facility, other than a private family home, where 24-hour 

care, maintenance, protection, and guidance is provided to 

children separated from their parents or legal guardians, that 

is subject to licensure or certification pursuant to the 

provisions of the Code of Virginia and includes, but is not 

limited to, group homes, group residences, secure custody 

facilities, self-contained residential facilities, temporary care 

facilities, and respite care facilities.  

Part II  

Policy  

Article 1  

Out of Family Investigation Policy  

22VAC40-730-20. General.  

Complaints Valid complaints of child abuse or neglect 

involving caretakers in out of family settings are for the 

purpose of this chapter valid complaints in state licensed and 

religiously exempted child day centers programs, regulated 

family day homes, private and public schools, group 

residential facilities, hospitals, or institutions. These valid 

complaints shall be investigated by qualified staff employed 

by local departments of social services or welfare.  

Staff shall be determined to be qualified based on criteria 

identified by the department. All staff involved in 

investigating a valid complaint must be qualified.  

This regulation is limited in scope to the topics contained 

herein. All issues regarding investigations, findings and 

appeals are found in Child Protective Services, 22VAC40-

705, and as such are cross referenced and incorporated into 

and apply to out of family cases to the extent that they are not 

inconsistent with this regulation.  

In addition to the authorities and the responsibilities 

specified in department policy for all child protective services 

investigations, the policy for investigations in out of family 

settings is set out in 22VAC40-730-30 through 22VAC40-

730-130.  

22VAC40-730-30. Initial Safety assessment.  

If the valid complaint information received is such that the 

local agency department is concerned for the child's 

immediate safety, contact must be initiated with the facility 

administrator immediately to ensure the child's safety. If, in 

the judgment of the child protective services/CPS worker, the 

situation is such that the child or children should be 

immediately removed from the facility, the parent or parents, 

guardian or agency holding custody shall be notified 

immediately to mutually develop a safety plan which 

addresses the child's or children's immediate safety needs.  

22VAC40-730-40. Involvement of regulatory agencies.  

The authority of the local agency department to investigate 

valid complaints of alleged child abuse or neglect in regulated 

facilities overlaps with the authority of the public agencies 

which have regulatory responsibilities for these facilities to 

investigate alleged violations of standards.  

1. For valid complaints in state regulated facilities and 

religiously exempted child day centers programs, the local 

agency department shall contact the regulatory authority 

and share the valid complaint information. The regulatory 

authority will appoint a staff person to participate in the 

investigation to determine if there are regulatory concerns.  

2. The CPS worker assigned to investigate and the 

appointed regulatory staff person will discuss their 

preliminary joint investigation plan.  

a. The CPS worker and the regulatory staff person shall 

review their respective needs for information and plan 

the investigation based on when these needs coincide and 

can be met with joint interviews or with information 

sharing.  

b. The investigation plan must keep in focus the policy 

requirements to be met by each party as well as the 

impact the investigation will have on the facility's staff, 

the victim child or children, and the other children at the 

facility.  

22VAC40-730-60. Contact with CPS regional coordinator.  

A. The local agency department shall contact the 

department's regional CPS coordinator as soon as is practical 

after the receipt of the valid complaint. The regional 

coordinator will review the procedures to be used in 

investigating the valid complaint and provide any case 

planning assistance the local worker may need.  

B. The regional coordinator shall be responsible for 

monitoring the investigative process and shall be kept 

informed of developments which substantially change the 

original case plan.  

C. At the conclusion of the investigation the local agency 

department shall contact the department's regional CPS 

coordinator to review the case prior to notifying anyone of the 

disposition. The regional coordinator shall review the facts 

gathered and policy requirements for determining whether or 

not abuse or neglect occurred. However, the statutory 

authority for the disposition rests with the local agency 

department. This review shall not interfere with the 

requirement to complete the investigation in the legislatively 

mandated time frame.  
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22VAC40-730-70. Contact with the facility administrator.  

A. The CPS worker shall initiate contact with the facility 

administrator or designee at the onset of the investigation.  

B. The CPS worker shall inform the facility administrator or 

his designee of the details of the valid complaint. When the 

administrator or designee chooses to participate in the joint 

investigation, he will be invited to participate in developing 

the plan for investigation, including decisions about who is to 

be present in interviews. If the administrator or designee is 

the alleged abuser or neglector, this contact should be 

initiated with the individual's superior, which may be the 

board of directors, etc. If there is no superior, the CPS worker 

may use discretion in sharing information with the 

administrator.  

C. Arrangements are to be made for:  

1. Necessary interviews;  

2. Observations including the physical plant; and  

3. Access to information, including review of pertinent 

policies and procedures.  

D. The CPS worker shall keep the facility administrator or 

designee apprised of the progress of the investigation. In a 

joint investigation with a regulatory staff person, either party 

may fulfill this requirement.  

22VAC40-730-80. Contact with the alleged victim child.  

The CPS worker shall interview the alleged victim child and 

shall determine along with a regulatory staff person or facility 

administrator or designee who may be present in the 

interview. Where there is an apparent conflict of interest, the 

CPS agency local department shall use discretion regarding 

who is to be included in the interview.  

22VAC40-730-90. Contact with the alleged abuser or 

neglector.  

A. The CPS worker shall interview the alleged abuser or 

neglector according to a plan developed with the regulatory 

staff person, facility administrator, or designee. Where there 

is an apparent conflict of interest, the CPS agency local 

department shall use discretion regarding who is to be 

included in the interview. At the onset of the initial interview 

with the alleged abuser or neglector, the CPS worker shall 

notify him in writing of the general nature of the valid 

complaint and the identity of the alleged victim child to avoid 

any confusion regarding the purpose of the contacts.  

B. The alleged abuser or neglector has the right to involve a 

representative of his choice to be present during his 

interviews.  

22VAC40-730-100. Contact with collateral children.  

The CPS worker shall interview nonvictim children as 

collaterals if it is determined that they may have information 

which would help in determining the finding in the valid 

complaint. Such contact should be made with prior consent of 

the nonvictim child's parent, guardian or agency holding 

custody. If the situation warrants contact with the nonvictim 

child prior to such consent being obtained, the parent, 

guardian or agency holding custody should be informed as 

soon as possible after the interview takes place.  

22VAC40-730-110. Report the findings.  

Written notification of the findings shall be submitted to the 

facility administrator or designee and the regulatory staff 

person involved in the investigation, if applicable, at the same 

time the alleged abuser or neglector is notified.  

If the facility administrator is the abuser or neglector, 

written notification of the findings shall be submitted to his 

superior if applicable.  

22VAC40-730-115. Procedures for conducting an 

investigation of a teacher, principal or other person 

employed by a local school board or employed in a 

nonresidential school operated by the Commonwealth.  

A. Each local department of social services and local school 

division shall adopt a written interagency agreement as a 

protocol for investigating child abuse and neglect reports 

against school personnel. The interagency agreement shall be 

based on recommended procedures for conducting 

investigations developed by the Departments of Education 

and Social Services.  

B. These procedures for investigating school personnel 

amplify or clarify other Child Protection Services (CPS) 

regulations.  

1. In determining the validity of a report of suspected 

abuse or neglect pursuant to § 63.2-1511 of the Code of 

Virginia, the local department must consider whether the 

school employee used reasonable and necessary force. The 

use of reasonable and necessary force does not constitute a 

valid report.  

2. The local department shall conduct a face-to-face 

interview with the person who is the subject of the valid 

complaint or report.  

3. At the onset of the initial interview with the alleged 

abuser or neglector, the local department shall notify him 

in writing of the general nature of the valid complaint and 

the identity of the alleged child victim regarding the 

purpose of the contacts.  

4. The written notification shall include the information 

that the alleged abuser or neglector has the right to have an 

attorney or other representative of his choice present 

during his interviews. However, the failure by a 

representative of the Department of Social Services to so 

advise the subject of the valid complaint shall not cause an 

otherwise voluntary statement to be inadmissible in a 

criminal proceeding.  

5. If the local department determines that the alleged 

abuser's actions were within the scope of his employment 

and were taken in good faith in the course of supervision, 

care or discipline of students, then the standard for 

determining a founded finding of abuse or neglect is 
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whether such acts or omissions constituted gross 

negligence or willful misconduct.  

6. Written notification of the findings shall be submitted to 

the alleged abuser or neglector. The notification shall 

include a summary of the investigation and an explanation 

of how the information gathered supports the disposition.  

7. The written notification of the findings shall inform the 

alleged abuser or neglector of his right to appeal.  

8. The written notification of the findings shall inform the 

alleged abuser or neglector of his right to review 

information about himself in the record with the following 

exceptions:  

a. The identity of the person making the report.  

b. Information provided by any law-enforcement official.  

c. Information that may endanger the well-being of the 

child.  

d. The identity of a witness or any other person if such 

release may endanger the life or safety of such witness or 

person.  

No information shall be released by the local department in 

cases that are being criminally investigated unless the release 

is authorized by the investigating law-enforcement officer or 

his supervisor or the local attorney for the Commonwealth.  

Article 2  

Local Staff Qualifications in Out of Family Investigations  

22VAC40-730-130. Requirements.  

A. In order to be determined qualified to conduct 

investigations in out of family settings, local CPS staff 

workers shall meet minimum education standards established 

by the department including:  

1. Documented competency in designated general 

knowledge and skills and specified out of family 

knowledge and skills; and  

2. Completion of out of family policy training.  

B. The department and each local agency department shall 

maintain a roster of personnel determined qualified to 

conduct these out of family investigations.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2527; Filed October 23, 2013, 8:58 a.m.  

Withdrawal of Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-740. Adult Protective 

Services (amending 22VAC40-740-10, 22VAC40-740-21, 

22VAC40-740-31, 22VAC40-740-40, 22VAC40-740-50, 

22VAC40-740-60, 22VAC40-740-70, 22VAC40-740-80; 

adding 22VAC40-740-45).  

Statutory Authority: Chapters 803 and 835 of the 2012 Acts 

of Assembly. 

The State Board of Social Services has WITHDRAWN the 

proposed regulatory action for 22VAC40-740, Adult 

Protective Services, which was published in 29:2 VA.R. 312-

322 September 24, 2012. Enactment 65 of Chapters 803 and 

835 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly transferred powers related 

to the administration of auxiliary grants and the provision of 

adult services and adult protective services from the 

Department of Social Services to the Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services effective July 1, 2013. Therefore, 

this action is being withdrawn because the board no longer 

has authority to complete this regulatory action. 

Agency Contact: Karin Clark, Manager, Legislative and 

Regulatory Affairs, Office of Commissioner, Department of 

Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7017, or email 

karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2684; Filed October 23, 2013, 3:16 p.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-910. General Provisions for 

Maintaining and Disclosing Confidential Information of 

Public Assistance, Child Support Enforcement, and Social 

Services Record (amending 22VAC40-910-10, 22VAC40-

910-80, 22VAC40-910-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2013. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Treina Owen, Board Liaison, Department of 

Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7903, FAX (804) 726-7906, or email 

treina.owen@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia gives the 

State Board of Social Services the responsibility to make 

rules and regulations to carry out the purposes of social 

services programs. Sections 63.2-102 through 63.2-105 of the 

Code of Virginia govern confidentiality of public assistance 

and social services records and information. 

Purpose: Public assistance, child support enforcement, and 

social services programs are essential to protecting the health, 

safety, and welfare of citizens. This regulation assists these 

programs in protecting the health, safety, and welfare of 

citizens by ensuring that public assistance, child support 

enforcement, and social services confidential client 

information is protected and released only according to 

federal and state laws and regulations. This regulation 

provides separate sections for public assistance, child support 

enforcement, and social services programs. Each section 

includes the applicable statutory and regulatory citations or 

provisions, or both, related to confidentiality. The regulation 

helps ensure compliance with confidentiality requirements, 

thereby affording greater protection of privacy to all 

Virginians. 

The three amendments to the regulation are necessary to 

clarify a key definition and update references to applicable 

regulation. 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=3155
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=3155
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Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The agency does not 

expect the amendments to the regulation to be controversial. 

The change to the definition of "research" better frames the 

term as it is used in the regulation, was recommended by the 

Office of Attorney General, and is within the agency's 

authority. Replacing references to a repealed regulation is 

necessary in order to keep this regulation current. The three 

amendments are not anticipated to be problematic in any way. 

Substance: In 22VAC40-910-10, the current definition of 

"research" is broad and may allow for the disclosure of public 

assistance information in violation of federal confidentiality 

regulations. As recommended by the Office of Attorney 

General, the amendment tightens the definition to reference 

research to contribute to general knowledge related to specific 

programs. 

22VAC40-910-80 relates to confidential client information 

pertaining to public assistance. 22VAC40-910-80 D provides 

that release of client records to law enforcement and 

Commonwealth's and county or city attorneys is governed by 

22VAC40-320 (Disclosure of Information to Law-

Enforcement Officers in the Aid to Families with Dependent 

Children (AFDC) Program). 22VAC40-320 has been 

repealed. The amendment replaces reference to the repealed 

regulation with the appropriate federal citation, 7 CFR 

272.1(c)(1).  

22VAC40-910-90 relates to confidential client information 

pertaining to child support enforcement. 22VAC40-910-90 D 

6 provides that release of client records to law enforcement 

and Commonwealth's and county or city attorneys is 

governed by 22VAC40-320 (Disclosure of Information to 

Law-Enforcement Officers in the Aid to Families with 

Dependent Children Program). 22VAC40-320 has been 

repealed. The amendment replaces reference to the repealed 

regulation with the appropriate Virginia Administrative Code 

reference, 22VAC40-880-520 B. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the regulation overall to the 

public, the Department of Social Services, and the 

Commonwealth is that it ensures that public assistance, child 

support enforcement, and social services client information is 

protected and released only according to federal and state 

laws and regulations. The three amendments facilitate the 

accuracy and effectiveness of the regulation and allow for 

continued enforcement of the regulation.  

The agency is not aware of disadvantages to the public or 

Commonwealth. 

Small Business Impact Report of Findings: This regulatory 

action serves as the report of findings of the regulatory review 

pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to amend its 

regulations that govern the handling of confidential 

information to update obsolete administrative code references 

and to add clarifying language to the definition of research.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations have two 

outdated references to another chapter in the Virginia 

Administrative Code. The Board now proposes to delete these 

obsolete references and replace them with, respectively, a 

reference to the Code of Federal Regulations and a reference 

to another of the Board's chapters in the Virginia 

Administrative Code. The Board also proposes to clarify that, 

for the purposes of these regulations, research must relate to 

specific social services programs. 

No affected entity is likely to incur any additional costs on 

account of the three proposed changes to these regulations. 

To the extent that these changes eliminate now incorrect 

references and allow a better understanding of how the Board 

defines research, affected entities will get a benefit from the 

clarity added. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Social 

Services (DSS) reports these proposed regulatory changes 

will affect all individuals who have disclosed confidential or 

identifying information to any (Local or State) Department of 

Social Services.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of this regulatory action.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 18, 2013 

791 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) tighten the definition of "research" 

to ensure that disclosure of confidential information is 

done within the confines of federal confidentiality 

regulations and (ii) replace references to repealed 

22VAC40-320 with applicable current citations. 

22VAC40-910-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

will have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Agency" means a local department of social services.  

"Agent" means any individual authorized to act on behalf of 

or under the direction of the Commissioner of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services or State Board of Social 

Services for the sole purpose of accessing confidential client 

records in the administration of public assistance, child 

support enforcement, or social services programs.  

"Client" means any applicant for or recipient of public 

assistance or social services or any individual about whom 

the child support enforcement division maintains information.  

"Client record" or "client information" means any 

identifying or nonidentifying information, including 

information stored in computer data banks or computer files 

relating to a client.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services.  

"Human research" means any formal and structured 

evaluation involving individuals in a special project, program, 

or study.  

"Legally responsible person" means (i) the biological or 

adoptive parent or other relative with whom the child 

primarily resides and who has legal custody of the child; (ii) 

the biological or adoptive parent with whom the child does 

not primarily reside and who has legal custody of the child; or 

(iii) a committee or guardian appointed by a court to represent 

the interest of a client.  

"Near fatality" means an act that, as certified by a physician, 

places the child in serious or critical condition. Serious or 

critical condition is a life-threatening condition or injury.  

"Provider" means any person, agency or organization 

providing public assistance, child support enforcement 

services, or social services through a contract or an agreement 

with the department or agency.  

"Public assistance" means Temporary Assistance for Needy 

Families (TANF); auxiliary grants to the aged, blind and 

disabled; medical assistance; energy assistance; food stamps; 

employment services; child care; and general relief.  

"Research" means a systematic investigation, including 

research development, testing, and evaluation, designed to 

develop or contribute to general knowledge related to specific 

programs, including research for the development of new 

knowledge or techniques that would be useful in the 

administration of public assistance, child support 

enforcement, or social services programs.  

"Social services program" means foster care, adoption, 

adoption assistance, adult services, adult protective services, 

child protective services, domestic violence services, family 

preservation, or any other services program implemented in 

accordance with regulations promulgated by the State Board 

of Social Services.  

22VAC40-910-80. Confidential client information 

pertaining to public assistance.  

A. Confidentiality of client information of public assistance 

programs is assured by §§ 63.2-102 and 63.2-805 G of the 

Code of Virginia.  

B. Information may be released only for a purpose directly 

connected with the administration of a public assistance 

program, except as herein provided or pursuant to §§ 63.2-

102 and 63.2-805 G of the Code of Virginia.  

C. Purposes directly related to the administration of a public 

assistance program include but are not limited to:  

1. Establishing eligibility;  

2. Determining the amount of public assistance;  

3. Providing services for public assistance clients; and  

4. Conducting or assisting in an investigation or 

prosecution of a civil or criminal proceeding related to the 

administration of the public assistance program.  

D. Release of client records to law-enforcement agencies 

and Commonwealth's and county or city attorneys is 

governed by 22VAC40-320 7 CFR 272.1(c)(1). 

22VAC40-910-90. Confidential client information 

pertaining to child support enforcement.  

A. Confidentiality of child support enforcement client 

information is assured by §§ 63.2-102 and 63.2-103 of the 

Code of Virginia.  
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B. Information may be released only for a purpose directly 

connected with the administration of the child support 

enforcement program, except as herein provided or pursuant 

to §§ 63.2-102, 63.2-103, 63.2-1906 and 63.2-1940 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

C. Purposes directly related to the administration of the child 

support enforcement program include but are not limited to:  

1. Determining the amount of child support;  

2. Providing child support enforcement services; and  

3. Conducting or assisting in an investigation or 

prosecution of a civil or criminal proceeding related to the 

administration of the child support enforcement program.  

D. The following regulatory provisions provide guidance on 

the release of child support enforcement client information:  

1. Entities to whom the Division of Child Support 

Enforcement can release client information is governed by 

22VAC40-880-520;  

2. The release of client information to and from the 

Internal Revenue Service is governed by 22VAC40-880-

530;  

3. Request for client information from the general public is 

governed by 22VAC40-880-540;  

4. Requests for client information from parents is governed 

by 22VAC40-880-550;  

5. Release of health insurance information is governed by 

22VAC40-880-560; and  

6. Release of client records to law-enforcement agencies 

and Commonwealth's and county or city attorneys is 

governed by 22VAC40-320 22VAC40-880-520 B.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3042; Filed October 23, 2013, 1:42 p.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2010) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of 

Environmental Quality is conducting a periodic review and 

small business impact review of 9VAC15-20, Guidelines for 

the Preparation of Environmental Impact Assessments for 

Oil or Gas Well Drilling Operations in Tidewater 

Virginia. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 14 (2010).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins November 18, 2013, and ends 

December 9, 2013. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Melissa Porterfield, Office of Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX 

(804) 698-4346, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF FORENSIC SCIENCE 

Approval of Field Tests for Detection of Drugs 

In accordance with 6VAC40-30, Regulations for the Approval of Field Tests for Detection of Drugs, and under the authority of 

the Code of Virginia, the following field tests for detection of drugs are approved field tests:  

O D V INCORPORATED 

13386 INTERNATIONAL PARKWAY 

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA 32218-2383 

 

ODV NarcoPouch  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test: 

Heroin 902 – Marquis Reagent 

Amphetamine 902 – Marquis Reagent 

Methamphetamine 902 – Marquis Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 902 – Marquis Reagent 

Cocaine Hydrochloride 904 or 904B – Cocaine HCl and Base Reagent 

Cocaine Base 904 or 904B – Cocaine HCl and Base Reagent 

Barbiturates 905 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 

Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) 907 – Ehrlich's (Modified) Reagent 

Marijuana 908 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

Hashish Oil 908 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

Marijuana 909 – K N Reagent 

Hashish Oil 909 – K N Reagent  

Phencyclidine (PCP) 914 – PCP Methaqualone Reagent 

Heroin 922 – Opiates Reagent 

Methamphetamine 923 – Methamphetamine/Ecstasy Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 923 – Methamphetamine/Ecstasy Reagent 

Heroin 924 – Mecke's (Modified) Reagent 

Diazepam 925 – Valium/Ketamine Reagent 

Ketamine 925 – Valium/Ketamine Reagent 

Ephedrine 927 – Ephedrine Reagent 

gamma–Hydroxybutyrate (GHB) 928 – GHB Reagent 
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ODV NarcoTest  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test: 

Heroin 7602 – Marquis Reagent 

Amphetamine 7602 – Marquis Reagent 

Methamphetamine 7602 – Marquis Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 7602 – Marquis Reagent 

Barbiturates 7605 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 

Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) 7607 – Ehrlich's (Modified) Reagent 

Marijuana 7608 – Duquenois Reagent 

Hashish Oil 7608 – Duquenois Reagent 

Marijuana 7609 – K N Reagent 

Hashish Oil 7609 – K N Reagent 

Cocaine Hydrochloride 7613 – Scott (Modified) Reagent 

Cocaine Base 7613 – Scott (Modified) Reagent 

Phencyclidine (PCP) 7614 – PCP Methaqualone Reagent 

Heroin 7622 – Opiates Reagent 

Methamphetamine  7623 – Methamphetamine/Ecstasy Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 7623 – Methamphetamine/Ecstasy Reagent 

Heroin 7624 – Mecke's Reagent 

Diazepam 7625 – Valium/Ketamine Reagent 

Ketamine 7625 – Valium/Ketamine Reagent 

Ephedrine 7627 – Chen's Reagent - Ephedrine 

gamma – Hydroxybutyrate (GHB) 7628 – GHB Reagent 

SIRCHIE FINGERPRINT LABORATORIES 

100 HUNTER PLACE 

YOUNGSVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA 27596 

 

NARK  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test: 

Narcotic Alkaloids 1 – Mayer's Reagent 

Heroin 1 – Mayer's Reagent 

Morphine 1 – Mayer's Reagent 

Amphetamine 1 – Mayer's Reagent 

Methamphetamine 1 – Mayer's Reagent 

Opium Alkaloids 2 – Marquis Reagent 

Heroin 2 – Marquis Reagent 

Morphine 2 – Marquis Reagent 

Amphetamine 2 – Marquis Reagent 

Methamphetamine 2 – Marquis Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 2 – Marquis Reagent 

Meperidine (Demerol) (Pethidine) 2 – Marquis Reagent 

Heroin 3 – Nitric Acid 

Morphine 3 – Nitric Acid 

Cocaine Hydrochloride 4 – Cobalt Thiocyanate Reagent 

Cocaine Base Reagent 4 – Cobalt Thiocyanate Reagent 

Procaine Reagent 4 – Cobalt Thiocyanate Reagent 

Tetracaine Reagent 4 – Cobalt Thiocyanate Reagent 

Barbiturates  5 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 

Heroin 6 – Mandelin Reagent 

Morphine 6 – Mandelin Reagent 

Amphetamine  6 – Mandelin Reagent 

Methamphetamine 6 – Mandelin Reagent 

Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) 7 – Ehrlich's Reagent 

Marijuana 8 – Duquenois Reagent 
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Hashish 8 – Duquenois Reagent 

Hashish Oil 8 – Duquenois Reagent 

Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) 8 – Duquenois Reagent 

Marijuana 9 – NDB (Fast Blue B Salt) Reagent 

Hashish 9 – NDB (Fast Blue B Salt) Reagent 

Hashish Oil 9 – NDB (Fast Blue B Salt) Reagent 

Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) 9 – NDB (Fast Blue B Salt) Reagent 

Cocaine Base  13 – Cobalt Thiocyanate/Crack Test 

NARK II  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Narcotic Alkaloids 01 – Marquis Reagent 

Heroin 01 – Marquis Reagent 

Morphine 01 – Marquis Reagent 

Amphetamine  01 – Marquis Reagent 

Methamphetamine 01 – Marquis Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 01 – Marquis Reagent 

Morphine 02 – Nitric Acid 

Heroin 02 – Nitric Acid 

Barbiturates 03 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 

Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) 04 – Ehrlich's Reagent 

Marijuana 05 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

Hashish 05 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

Hashish Oil 05 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) 05 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

Cocaine Hydrochloride 07 – Scott's (Modified) Reagent 

Cocaine Base 07 – Scott's (Modified) Reagent 

Phencyclidine (PCP) 09 – Phencyclidine Reagent 

Opiates  10 – Opiates Reagent 

Heroin 10 – Opiates Reagent 

Morphine 10 – Opiates Reagent 

Buprenorphine 10 – Special Opiates Reagent 

Heroin 11 – Mecke's Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 11 – Mecke's Reagent 

Pentazocine 12 – Talwin/Pentazocine Reagent 

Ephedrine 13 – Ephedrine Reagent 

Diazepam  14 – Valium Reagent 

Methamphetamine 15 – Methamphetamine (Secondary Amines Reagent) 

Narcotic Alkaloids 19 – Mayer's Reagent 

Heroin 19 – Mayer's Reagent 

Morphine 19 – Mayer's Reagent 

Amphetamine 19 – Mayer's Reagent 

Methamphetamine 19 – Mayer's Reagent 

3,4-Methylenedioxypyrovalerone (MDPV) 24 – MDPV (Bath Salts) Reagent 

Beta-keto-N-methyl-3,4-benzodioxyolybutanamine (butylone) 24 – MDPV Synthetic Cathinones Reagent 

3,4-methylenedioxyethcathinone (ethylone) 24 – MDPV Synthetic Cathinones Reagent 

3,4-methylenedioxymethcathinone (methylone) 24 – MDPV Synthetic Cathinones Reagent 

Naphthylpyrovalerone (naphyrone) 24 – MDPV Synthetic Cathinones Reagent 

Beta-keto-methylbenzodioxolylpentanamine (pentylone) 24 – MDPV Synthetic Cathinones Reagent 

4-Methylmethcathinone (Mephedrone) 25 – Mephedrone (Bath Salts) Reagent 

Alpha-pyrrolidinovalerophenone (alpha-PVP) 26 – A-PVP (Synthetic Stimulant) Reagent 

4-Bromo-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-B) 29 – 2C Reagent 

2-(4-Chloro -2,5-dimethoxyphenyl)ethanamine (2C-C) 29 – 2C Reagent 

4-Ethyl-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-E) 29 – 2C Reagent 
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4-Iodo-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-I) 29 – 2C Reagent 

2-(2,5-Dimethoxy-4-nitro-phenyl)ethanamine  

(2C-N) 

29 – 2C Reagent 

2,5-dimethoxy-4-(n)-propylthiophenethylamine (2C-T-7) 29 – 2C Reagent 

Psilocybin  30 – Psilocybin/Psilocin Reagent 

Methamphetamine  31 – Liebermann Reagent 

Morphine 31 – Liebermann Reagent 

ARMOR HOLDINGS, INCORPORATED 

13386 INTERNATIONAL PARKWAY 

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA 32218-2383 

 

NIK  

Drug or Drug Type:  Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Heroin Test A 6071 – Marquis Reagent 

Amphetamine Test A 6071 – Marquis Reagent 

Methamphetamine Test A 6071 – Marquis Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) Test A 6071 – Marquis Reagent 

Morphine Test B 6072 – Nitric Acid Reagent 

Barbiturates Test C 6073 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 

Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) Test D 6074 – LSD Reagent System 

Marijuana Test E 6075 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

Hashish Oil Test E 6075 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

Tetrahydrocannabinol Test E 6075 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

Cocaine Hydrochloride Test G 6077 – Scott (Modified) Reagent 

Cocaine Base Test G 6077 – Scott (Modified) Reagent 

Cocaine Hydrochloride 6500 or 6501 – Cocaine ID Swab 

Cocaine Base 6500 or 6501 – Cocaine ID Swab 

Phencyclidine (PCP) Test J 6079 – PCP Reagent System 

Heroin Test K 6080 – Opiates Reagent 

Heroin Test L 6081 – Brown Heroin Reagent System 

gamma–Hydroxybutyrate (GHB) Test O 6090 – GHB Reagent 

Ephedrine Test Q 6085 – Ephedrine Reagent 

Pseudoephedrine Test Q 6085 – Ephedrine Reagent 

Diazepam Test R 6085 – Valium Reagent 

Methamphetamine  Test U 6087 – Methamphetamine Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) Test U 6087 – Methamphetamine Reagent 

Methadone  Test W 6088 – Mandelin Reagent System 

MISTRAL SECURITY INCORPORATED 

7910 WOODMONT AVENUE, SUITE 820 

BETHESDA, MARYLAND 20814 

 

Drug or Drug Type:  Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Heroin Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 

Amphetamine Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 

Methamphetamine Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 

Marijuana Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 

Hashish Oil Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 

Methamphetamine Meth 1 and 2 Aerosol 

Heroin  Herosol Aerosol 

Marijuana Cannabispray 1 and 2 Aerosol 

Hashish Oil Cannabispray 1 and 2 Aerosol 

Cocaine Hydrochloride Coca-Test Aerosol 

Cocaine Base Coca-Test Aerosol 

Marijuana Pen Test – D4D 

Phencyclidine Pen Test – D4D 
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Amphetamine Pen Test – D4D 

Ketamine Pen Test – D4D 

Methamphetamine Pen Test – D4D 

Ephedrine Pen Test – D4D 

Heroin Pen Test – D4D 

Methadone Pen Test – D4D 

Buprenorphine Pen Test – D4D 

Opium Pen Test – D4D 

Phenobarbital Pen Test – Barbitusol 

Marijuana  Pen Test – Cannabis Test 

Phencyclidine  Pen Test – Coca Test 

Cocaine Hydrochloride  Pen Test – Coca Test 

Cocaine base Pen Test – Coca Test 

Buprenorphine Pen Test – C&H Test 

Cocaine Hydrochloride Pen Test – C&H Test 

Cocaine base Pen Test – C&H Test 

Ephedrine Pen Test – C&H Test 

Ketamine Pen Test – C&H Test 

Heroin Pen Test – C&H Test 

Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) Pen Test – C&H Test 

Methadone Pen Test – C&H Test 

Methamphetamine Pen Test – C&H Test 

Heroin Pen Test – Herosol 

Methadone Pen Test – Herosol 

Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) Pen Test – LSD Test 

Methamphetamine Pen Test – Meth/X Test 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) Pen Test – Meth/X Test 

Morphine Pen Test – Opiatest 

Opium Pen Test – Opiatest 

Diazepam Pen Test – BZO 

Ephedrine Pen Test – Ephedrine 

Pseudoephedrine Pen Test – Ephedrine 

Amphetamine 101 PDT Marquis Reagent 

Heroin 101 PDT Marquis Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 101 PDT Marquis Reagent 

Phenobarbital 107 PDT Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 

Cocaine Hydrochloride 122 PDT Modified Scott Reagent 

Cocaine base   122 PDT Modified Scott Reagent 

Methaqualone 143 PDT Methaqualone/PCP Reagent 

Heroin 140 PDT Modified Mecke's Reagent 

gamma-Hydroxybutyrate (GHB) 149 PDT GHB Reagent 

Ephedrine 155 PDT Chen's Reagent 

Diazepam 158 PDT Valium/Rohypnol Reagent 

Flunitrazepam 158 PDT Valium/Rohypnol Reagent 

Methamphetamine 164 PDT Methamphetamine (MDMA/Ecstasy) Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 164 PDT Methamphetamine (MDMA/Ecstasy) Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxypyrovalerone (MDPV) 170 PDT Bath Salts: MDPV Reagent 

Morphine 137 PDT Opiates Reagent 
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JANT PHARMACAL CORPORATION 

16255 VENTURA BLVD., #505 

ENCINO, CALIFORNIA 91436 

Formerly available through: 

MILLENNIUM SECURITY GROUP 

 

Accutest IDenta  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Marijuana Marijuana/Hashish (Duquenois-Levine Reagent) 

Hashish Oil Marijuana/Hashish (Duquenois-Levine Reagent) 

Heroin   Heroin Step 1 and Step 2 

Cocaine Hydrochloride Cocaine/Crack Step 1 and Step 2 

Cocaine Base Cocaine/Crack Step 1 and Step 2 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) MDMA Step 1 and Step 2 

Methamphetamine  Methamphetamine Step 1 and Step 2 

COZART PLC 

92 MILTON PARK 

ABINGDON, OXFORDSHIRE ENGLAND OX14 4RY 

 

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Cocaine Cocaine Solid Field Test 

LYNN PEAVEY COMPANY 

10749 WEST 84TH TERRACE 

LEXEXA, KANSAS 66214 

 

QuickCheck  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Marijuana Marijuana – 10120 

Marijuana Marijuana – 10121 

Hashish Oil Marijuana – 10120 

Hashish Oil Marijuana – 10121 

Heroin Marquis – 10123 

Heroin  Heroin - 10125 

Cocaine Hydrochloride  Cocaine – 10124 

Cocaine Base Cocaine – 10124 

Methamphetamine Meth/Ecstasy – 10122 

Methamphetamine  Marquis – 10123 

MDMA Meth/Ecstasy – 10122 

MDMA Marquis - 10123 

M.M.C. INTERNATIONAL B.V. 

FRANKENTHALERSTRAAT 16-18 

4816 KA BREDA 

THE NETHERLANDS 

 

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Heroin Opiates/Amphetamine Test (Ampoule) 

Morphine Opiates/Amphetamine Test (Ampoule) 

Amphetamine Opiates/Amphetamine Test (Ampoule) 

Methamphetamine Opiates/Amphetamine Test (Ampoule) 

Codeine Opiates/Amphetamine Test (Ampoule) 

Marijuana Cannabis Test (Ampoule) 

Hashish Oil Cannabis Test (Ampoule) 

Cocaine Hydrochloride Cocaine/Crack Test (Ampoule) 

Cocaine base Cocaine/Crack Test (Ampoule) 

Heroin Heroin Test (Ampoule) 

Ketamine Ketamine Test (Ampoule) 

Methadone Methadone Test (Ampoule) 
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Methamphetamine Crystal Meth/XTC Test (Ampoule) 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) Crystal Meth/XTC Test (Ampoule) 

Morphine M&H Test (Ampoule) 

Heroin M&H Test (Ampoule) 

Ephedrine Ephedrine HCL Test (Ampoule) 

Pseudoephedrine Ephedrine HCL Test (Ampoule) 

Pentazocine Pentazocine Test (Ampoule) 

Buprenorphine Buprenorphine HCL Test (Ampoule) 

gamma–Butyrolactone (GBL) GHB Test (Ampoule) 

gamma–Hydroxybutyric acid (GHB) GHB Test (Ampoule) 

Oxycodone Oxycodone Test (Ampoule) 

Oxymetholone Steroids Test B (Ampoule) 

Testosterone Steroids Test B (Ampoule) 

Methandrostenolone Steroids Test B (Ampoule) 

Phenylacetone PMK/BMK(BMK) Test (Ampoule) 

Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) LSD Test (Ampoule) 

Phencyclidine (PCP) PCP Test (Ampoule) 

Methaqualone Methaqualone Test (Ampoule) 

Amobarbital Barbiturates Test (Ampoule) 

Pentobarbital Barbiturates Test (Ampoule) 

Phenobarbital Barbiturates Test (Ampoule) 

Secobarbital Barbiturates Test (Ampoule) 

Propoxyphene Propoxyphene Test (Ampoule) 

Diazepam V&R Test (Ampoule) 

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test: 

Cocaine Hydrochloride Cocaine/Crack Test (Spray) 

Cocaine base Cocaine/Crack Test (Spray) 

Cocaine Hydrochloride Cocaine Trace Wipes 

Cocaine base Cocaine Trace Wipes 

Morphine Opiate Cassette 

Heroin Opiate Cassette 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) MDMA/Ecstasy Cassette 

Methamphetamine Methamphetamine Cassette 

Amphetamine Amphetamine Cassette 

REDXDEFENSE 

7642 STANDISH PLACE 

ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND 20855 

 

XCAT  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test: 

Cocaine Hydrochloride COC-210 Card 

Cocaine base COC-210 Card 

Phencyclidine COC-210 Card 

Heroin  HER-110 Card 

Amphetamine AMP-500 Card 

Methamphetamine  AMP-500 Card 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) AMP-500 Card 

Butylone AMP-500 Card 

Methedrone AMP-500 Card 

Methylone AMP-500 Card 

Mephedrone AMP-500 Card 

N-Benzylpiperazine (N-BZP) AMP-500 Card 

Mescaline AMP-500 Card 

2C-I AMP-500 Card 
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DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Labor and Industry has conducted a small 

business impact review of 16VAC15-21, Maximum 

Garnishment Amounts, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The Department of 

Labor and Industry is publishing its report of findings dated 

October 21, 2013, to support this decision in accordance with 

§ 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation was amended in 2009. There is a continuing 

need for the regulation because it is required by state law. No 

comments were received during the public comment period. 

The regulation is not overly complex and does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

Since this regulation was amended in 2009, there have been 

no significant changes in technology, economic conditions, or 

other factors in the area affected by the regulation. At this 

time, there is nothing to indicate that the regulation should be 

amended or repealed, consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law, to minimize the economic impact of 

regulations on small businesses.  

Contact Information: Reba O'Connor, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-2631, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 

reba.oconnor@dol.gov. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 

Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations on October 18, 2013, and October 25, 2013. The 

orders may be viewed at the State Lottery Department, 900 

East Main Street, Richmond, VA, or at the office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 201 North 9th Street, 2nd Floor, 

Richmond, VA. 

Director's Order Number Four (14) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1428 "Wild Number Bingo" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective October 23, 2013) 

Director's Order Number Eighty-Six (13) 

Virginia's Online Game Lottery; "Virginia's New Year's 

Millionaire Raffle" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

October 23, 2013) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Three (13) 

Virginia's Ninth Online Game Lottery Mega Millions Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective with drawings beginning 

October 22, 2013, as set forth in the Multi-State "Mega 

Millions" Official Game Rules, revised accordingly, and shall 

remain in full force and effect unless amended or rescinded 

by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Seven (13) 

This order rescinds Director's Order Number 79 (13): 

"Virginia's Megaply It!" Consumer Promotion Final Rules for 

Operation (effective October 14, 2013) 

Director's Order Number Ninety-Eight (13) 

Virginia's "Megaply It!" Consumer Promotion Final Rules for 

Operation (effective October 16, 2013) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred (13) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1437 "Happy Holidays" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective October 25, 2013) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred One (13) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1439 "Jolly Jingle Jackpot" 

Final Rules for Game Operation (effective October 23, 2013) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Two (13) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1441 "Poker" Final Rules for 

Game Operation (effective October 23, 2013) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Three (13) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1438 "Tic Tac Snow" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective October 23, 2013) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Four (13) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1333 "Hit the Jackpot" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective October 23, 2013) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Five (13) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1452 "Cash!" Final Rules for 

Game Operation (effective October 23, 2013) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Six (13) 

Certain Virginia Instant Game Lotteries; End of Games. 

In accordance with the authority granted by §§ 2.2-4002 B 15 

and 58.1-4006 A of the Code of Virginia, I hereby give notice 

that the following Virginia Lottery instant games will 

officially end at midnight on October 11, 2013:  

Game 1228 King of Ca$h 

Game 1272 Winning Spades 

Game 1300 Treasure 

Game 1308 Money Roll 

Game 1317 Cherry Twist 

Game 1322 The Money Game 

Game 1327 Red Hot Slots 

Game 1330 $150,000 Players Club 
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Game 1339 Hot Chile Tripler 

Game 1340 Hit $20,000 

Game 1349 Find the 9's 

Game 1353 Pinball Payout 

Game 1380 $2,000 Spin 

Game 1387 7-11-21 

Game 1389 Power 9's 

Game 1394 Good Deal 

Game 1402 EZ 1040 

Game 1420 Daily Crossword 

Game 1422 Frisbee 

Game 1424 Skeeball (TOP) 

Game 1430 Corn Hole Cash 

The last day for lottery retailers to return for credit unsold 

tickets from any of these games will be November 15, 2013. 

The last day to redeem winning tickets for any of these games 

will be April 9, 2014, 180 days from the declared official end 

of the game. Claims for winning tickets from any of these 

games will not be accepted after that date. Claims that are 

mailed and received in an envelope bearing a postmark of the 

United States Postal Service or another sovereign nation of 

April 9, 2014, or earlier, will be deemed to have been 

received on time. This notice amplifies and conforms to the 

duly adopted State Lottery Board regulations for the conduct 

of lottery games. 

This order is available for inspection and copying during 

normal business hours at the Virginia Lottery headquarters, 

900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, and at any 

Virginia Lottery regional office. A copy may be requested by 

mail by writing to Director's Office, Virginia Lottery, 

900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order is effective on the date of its signing 

and shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 

rescinded by further Director's Order. 

/s/ Paula I. Otto 

Executive Director 

October 13, 2013 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seven (13) 

Certain Virginia Game Promotion; End of Promotion.  

In accordance with the authority granted by §§ 2.2-4002B 

(15) and 58.1-4006A of the Code of Virginia, I hereby give 

notice that the following Virginia Lottery sweepstakes will 

officially end at close of business on Monday, October 7, 

2013:  

Virginia Lottery's "Z-VA" (88 13) (effective nunc pro tunc to 

October 7, 2013, and shall remain in full force and effect 

unless amended or rescinded by further Director's Order) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eight (13) 

Virginia Lottery's "Z-VA Promotion" Final Requirements for 

Operation (effective October 13, 2013) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Nine (13) 

Virginia Lottery's "$250 Winter Bonus" Sweepstakes Final 

Rules for Operation (effective October 29, 2013) 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2010) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy is conducting a periodic review and 

small business impact review of 4VAC25-125, Regulations 

Governing Coal Stockpiles and Bulk Storage and 

Handling Facilities. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 14 (2010).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins November 18, 2013, and ends 

December 9, 2013. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Michael Skiffington, Program Support 

Manager, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 1100 

Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, or email 

michael.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 
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STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for Bristow Development 
Corporation 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Bristow 

Development Corporation for violations of the State Water 

Control Law and Regulations in Prince William County. The 

State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent order 

resolving violations at the Bristow Manor Golf Course 

Wastewater Treatment Plant. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental 

Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Daniel Burstein will accept comments 

by email at daniel.burstein@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (703) 

583-3821, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 

Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA 22193, from November 19, 2013, through 

December 19, 2013. 

Proposed Consent Order for Mena Farm, LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Mena Farm, 

LLC, for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

Regulations in Prince William County. The consent order 

describes a settlement to resolve an unauthorized discharge to 

state waters. A description of the proposed action is available 

at the Department of Environmental Quality office named 

below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Stephanie Bellotti 

will accept comments by email at 

stephanie.bellotti@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (703) 583-3821, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, from November 19, 2013, through December 19, 

2013. 

Proposed Consent Order for SV5 One Vintage Park, 
LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for SV5 One 

Vintage Park, LLC for violations of the State Water Control 

Law and Regulations in Sterling, Virginia. The consent order 

describes a settlement to resolve the unauthorized discharge 

of oil to state waters. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Stephanie 

Bellotti will accept comments by email at 

stephanie.bellotti@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (703) 583-3821, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, from November 19, 2013, through December 19, 

2013. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 
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