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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 

Chairman; Gregory D. Habeeb; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. 

Moncure, Jr.; Wesley G. Russell, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. 

Tavenner; Christopher R. Nolen; J. Jasen Eige. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

December 2013 through December 2014 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

30:7 November 13, 2013 December 2, 2013 

30:8 November 26, 2013 (Tuesday) December 16, 2013 

30:9 December 11, 2013 December 30, 2013 

30:10 December 23, 2013 (Monday) January 13, 2014 

30:11 January 8, 2014 January 27, 2014 

30:12 January 22, 2014 February 10, 2014 

30:13 February 5, 2014 February 24, 2014 

30:14 February 19, 2014 March 10, 2014 

30:15 March 5, 2014 March 24, 2014 

30:16 March 19, 2014 April 7, 2014 

30:17 April 2, 2014 April 21, 2014 

30:18 April 16, 2014 May 5, 2014 

30:19 April 30, 2014 May 19, 2014 

30:20 May 14, 2014 June 2, 2014 

30:21 May 28, 2014 June 16, 2014 

30:22 June 11, 2014 June 30, 2014 

30:23 June 25, 2014 July 14, 2014 

30:24 July 9, 2014 July 28, 2014 

30:25 July 23, 2014 August 11, 2014 

30:26 August 6, 2014 August 25, 2014 

31:1 August 20, 2014 September 8, 2014 

31:2 September 3, 2014 September 22, 2014 

31:3 September 17, 2014 October 6, 2014 

31:4 October 1, 2014 October 20, 2014 

31:5 October 15, 2014 November 3, 2014 

31:6 October 29, 2014 November 17, 2014 

31:7 November 12, 2014 December 1, 2014 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-20, 

Administration of Medical Assistance Services. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to comply with Item 307 III 

of Chapter 3 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, 

which authorizes the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services (DMAS) to promulgate regulations to implement 

changes related to appeals administered by and for the 

department. The amendments will address DMAS timelines 

and specifications for filing required documentation, 

including the sufficiency of the contents of case summaries, 

and will clarify DMAS' authority to administratively 

invalidate untimely filed appeals.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 1, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3105; Filed November 1, 2013, 2:51 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-80, 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates; 

Other Types of Care. The purpose of the proposed action is 

to implement a prospective payment methodology for 

outpatient hospital services and to maintain reimbursement of 

drug rebates for outpatient hospital services. The current cost-

based methodology is out of date, inefficient, and costly. The 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) is 

proposing to implement the Enhanced Ambulatory Patient 

Group (EAPG) reimbursement methodology as authorized by 

Item 307 XX of Chapter 806 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly. 

The EAPG reimbursement methodology is deemed to be a 

more efficient and predictable reimbursement methodology 

for DMAS to pay hospitals that furnish services to Medicaid 

recipients in an outpatient hospital setting.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 42 

USC § 1396. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 1, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3799; Filed November 6, 2013, 3:23 p.m.  

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action for 12VAC30-120, Waivered Services, 

which was published in 24:20 VA.R. 2836 June 9, 2008. This 

action is being withdrawn as the agency has determined that 

this action is no longer relevant or necessary. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1142; Filed November 12, 2013, 2:46 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends to 

consider amending 18VAC85-50, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physician Assistants. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to establish the education, experience, and 

examination requirements for physician assistants to perform 

fluoroscopy, in accordance with Chapter 81 of the 2012 Acts 

of Assembly. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 1, 2014. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3348; Filed November 12, 2013, 3:45 p.m.  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol24/iss20/v24i20.pdf
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-410. Rules and Regulations for 

the Enforcement of the Virginia Agricultural Liming 

Materials Law (amending 2VAC5-410-40, 2VAC5-410-

50).  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 1, 2014. 

Effective Date: January 16, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Erin Williams, Policy and Planning 

Coordinator, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-1308, FAX (804) 371-7479, TTY (800) 828-1120, 

or email erin.williams@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services to adopt 

regulations in accordance with Title 3.2 of the Code of 

Virginia regarding agriculture, animal care, and food. The 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

(VDACS) administers the provisions of the Agriculture 

Liming Materials Act (Chapter 37 (§ 3.2-3700 et seq.) of 

Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia). Section 3.2-3701 of the Act 

authorizes the board to adopt regulations necessary to carry 

out the provisions of the Act. 

Purpose: AOAC International is a provider and facilitator of 

the development, use, and harmonization of validated 

analytical methods and laboratory quality assurance programs 

and services. This regulation references AOAC International's 

official methods of analysis for the components of 

agricultural liming materials. AOAC International has not 

amended the substance of the official methods of analysis that 

are currently cited in 2VAC5-410-40; however, AOAC 

International has revised the numbering system it uses for its 

official methods of analysis. As such, the current regulation 

cites obsolete method numbers. The proposed amendments 

will update the method numbers to cite the 18th edition of the 

"Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC International." 

This regulation assists in ensuring that agricultural liming 

material sold in Virginia will effectively neutralize soil 

acidity within the growing season of the crop being grown, 

thereby assisting in the protection of the welfare of Virginia’s 

agriculture industry. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The proposed 

amendments update obsolete references and are not 

substantive amendments. As such, this rulemaking is 

expected to be noncontroversial.  

Substance: The proposed amendments update obsolete 

references to (i) AOAC International, formerly the 

Association of Official Analytical Chemists; (ii) AOAC 

International's publication, "Official Methods of Analysis of 

AOAC International"; and (iii) the relevant methods of 

analysis included in AOAC International's publication. 

AOAC International has not amended the substance of 

official methods of analysis that are cited in 2VAC5-410-40; 

however, AOAC International has revised the numbering 

system it uses for its official methods of analysis, which 

makes it necessary to amend the relevant references in this 

regulation. The proposed amendments do not substantively 

alter the existing regulation. 

Issues: The proposed amendments clarify for manufacturers 

of agricultural liming materials which methods of analysis 

VDACS uses in testing agricultural liming material. This 

regulation assists in ensuring that agricultural liming material 

sold in Virginia will effectively neutralize soil acidity within 

the growing season of the crop being grown, thereby assisting 

in the protection of the welfare of Virginia’s agriculture 

industry. This regulatory action poses no disadvantage to the 

public or the Commonwealth. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This fast-

track rulemaking action serves as the report of the findings of 

the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Regulation. The Board of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services (Board) proposes to 

update obsolete references in its regulations for enforcement 

of the Virginia agriculture liming materials laws. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for this 

regulatory action. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations contain 

references to an outdated test method manual and outdated 

test method numbers. Current regulations also contain old 

contact information for the Association of Official Analytical 

Chemists (AOAC). The Board now proposes to update all of 

this language so that all references are correct and current. No 

entity is likely to incur costs on account of these regulatory 
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changes. Interested parties will benefit from having 

regulations that guide them to the correct manual and test 

method numbers and that contain the correct address for the 

AOAC. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services ( VDACS) reports that 

distributers of liming materials are governed by these 

regulations and will be affected by these regulatory changes. 

There are 71 such distributors currently registered with 

VDACS.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality is likely to be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Employment in the 

Commonwealth is unlikely to be affected by these proposed 

regulations.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

propose regulations are unlikely to affect the value or use of 

property in the Commonwealth.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small 

businesses will incur costs on account of these proposed 

regulations. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small businesses will incur costs on 

account of these proposed regulations. 

Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulations 

are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments update references to (i) AOAC 

International, formerly the Association of Official 

Analytical Chemists; (ii) AOAC International's 

publication, "Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC 

International"; and (iii) the relevant methods of analysis 

included in AOAC International's publication.  

2VAC5-410-40. Methods of analysis and sampling.  

Test methods Methods of analysis shall be those published 

in the latest edition of the Association of Official Analytical 

Chemist "Book of Methods" by AOAC International 

(formerly the Association of Official Analytical Chemists) in 

"Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC International," 18th 

Edition, 2005.  

  AOAC Test Official Method 

Sampling Procedures § 1. Method No. 1.001 924.01 

Screen Analysis § 1. Method No. 1.002 924.02 

Magnesium Analysis § 2. Method No. 2.109 Thru 

2.113 965.09 

Calcium Analysis § 1. Method No. 1.019 965.09 

Calcium Carbonate 

Equivalent 

§ 1. Method No. 1.004 and No. 

1.005 955.01 

Procedures used in sample preparation and analysis for 

enforcement of this chapter are available from:  

AOAC International 

481 North Frederick Avenue 

Suite 500 

Gaithersburg, MD 20877-2417 

2VAC5-410-50. Results of official agricultural liming 

materials analysis.  

A. The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services shall report the results of official samples 

to all registrants of agricultural liming materials annually.  

NOTE: Procedures used in sample preparation and analysis 

for enforcement of this chapter are available from:  

Association of Official Analytical Chemists  

1111 North 29th Street  

Suite 210  

Arlington, Virginia 22209  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(2VAC5-410) 

Official Methods of Analysis of the Association of AOAC 

International, 18th Edition, 2005, AOAC International 
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(formerly the Association of Official Analytical Chemists), 

481 North Frederick Avenue, Suite 500, Gaithersburg, MD 

20877-2417 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3625; Filed November 12, 2013, 9:54 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF FORESTRY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC10-40. Reforestation of 

Timberlands Regulations (amending 4VAC10-40-10, 

4VAC10-40-50, 4VAC10-40-70, 4VAC10-40-80, 4VAC10-

40-170).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1101 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 1, 2014. 

Effective Date: January 31, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Ronald S. Jenkins, Administrative Officer, 

Department of Forestry, 900 Natural Resources Drive, Suite 

800, Charlottesville, VA 22903, telephone (434) 977-6555, 

FAX (434) 293-2768, or email ron.jenkins@dof.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 10.1-1101 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Department of Forestry with the authority to promulgate 

regulations necessary or incidental to the performance of 

duties or execution of powers conferred under Chapter 11 

(§ 10.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia. In 

addition, § 10.1-1103 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Forestry with authority to formulate 

recommendations to the State Forester concerning regulations 

and other matters applicable to Article 10 (§ 10.1-1170 et 

seq.) of Chapter 11 of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

including types of equipment to be purchased, rental rates for 

equipment, and reforestation practices. 

Purpose: The Department of Forestry conducted a periodic 

review of the Reforestation of Timberlands Regulations, 

which included a 30-day public comment period ending 

November 10, 2011. During this periodic review, the agency 

received no comments. However, the Department of Forestry 

requested review and received comments from its Board of 

Forestry and Reforestation of Timberlands Board. Comments 

from the members of these boards were incorporated into the 

regulations as proposed amendments. The proposed 

amendments will update the definitions and current forestry 

practices in Virginia from language that was originally 

designed in 1971 and updated in 1980. The amendments have 

no impact on public health, safety, or welfare. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: During the periodic 

review and other review of the Reforestation of Timberlands 

Regulations, the agency did not receive a single concern or 

proposal to amend the regulation except to bring the 

regulations current with definitions and current forestry 

practices. The reviewers included members of the industry 

and agency staff who are very familiar with all aspects of 

forestry and especially forestry incentives available through 

the Reforestation of Timberlands Regulations and 

Reforestation of Timberlands Act. During these reviews, 

there was no indication of controversy about the proposed 

amendments and the board members reached a unanimous 

agreement on them. 

Substance: The amendments to the regulations:  

1. In 4VAC10-40-10, delete the definition of "owner." 

2. In 4VAC10-40-50, delete pond pine, Virginia pine, 

and tulip poplar tree species from nonqualifying type of 

land cover, which will allow land cover with these 

species to be eligible for reforestation incentive payments 

under the Reforestation of Timberlands Act. 

3. In subdivision 1 of 4VAC10-40-70, delete "including 

release, by means of chemical, mechanical or hand 

methods, of seedlings from overtopping shade of trees, 

brush, or shrubs" and add subdivision 3 to provide that 

post-reforestation cultural treatments shall also be 

eligible for reforestation of timberlands incentives along 

with site preparation and reforestation. 

4. In 4VAC10-40-170, delete current language in 

subsection B where incentive payments to landowners 

for approved projects are set at 60% of actual cost or $80 

per acre, whichever is lesser and replace with language 

that sets incentive payments to landowners from 

approved projects at 75% of the total cost of the project 

or an annually determined maximum per acre agreed 

upon by the Board of Forestry and the State Forester, 

whichever is less. 

Issues: The primary advantages associated with the proposed 

regulatory action include updating definitions to reflect 

current terminology used by forestry practitioners and 

updating forestry practices used by those persons engaged in 

forestry management. All amendments will reflect the types 

of forestry practices that are used in modern forest 

management and qualify for financial incentives to encourage 

reforestation. These regulations underpin the foundation for 

sustainable forest resources in Virginia well into the future. 

The amendments present no known disadvantages to the 

public. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This fast-

track rulemaking action serves as the report of the findings of 

the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Forestry (Board) proposes to amend its reforestation 
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regulations to reword some language, delete several types of 

trees from the list of ground cover that does not qualify for 

incentive payments, and change the formula for maximum 

repayment under the reforestation incentive program.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 

regulatory changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, regulations that 

govern the Commonwealth's reforestation and timberland 

incentive program include a list of ground cover plants that 

do not qualify for reforestation incentive payments. The 

Board proposes to remove pond pine, Virginia pine and tulip 

poplar from this list. This change will benefit private 

landowners who might plant these types of trees in the future 

as they will be eligible for incentive payments to cover part of 

their planting and maintenance costs. This program is funded 

through a tax on forest products and most of the money 

budgeted each year is expended each year.
1
 This being the 

case, total expenditures on this program are unlikely to 

increase much on account of this change. It is more likely that 

the total amount spent on incentives will be approximately 

the same, but more individual landowners may apply for 

incentives. This may have the effect of driving down the 

amount of money that each applicant may get. 

Current regulations set the amount of reimbursement under 

this program at 60% of land owner's actual costs or $80 per 

acre, whichever is less. The Board proposes to change 

reimbursement to 75% of actual costs or a maximum dollar 

amount per acre to be set annually by the Board of Forestry 

and the State Forester. This change will benefit individuals 

who are interested in availing themselves of this program as it 

will give them a much more realistic picture of how much 

reimbursement they might be eligible for. From 2005 to 2011, 

reimbursement rates have ranged between $22 and $37 

(between 32% and 48% of actual costs). These payments are 

far below those indicated in current regulations as payments 

are also constrained by a maximum budget. The new 

regulatory language directs interested parties to getting 

information on actual yearly incentives from the Board staff 

who will be able to give them more accurate information. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that this 

regulatory action will affect all private forest landowners who 

seek financial incentives through the reforestation and 

timberland incentive program. DOF staff also reports that the 

number of individuals who have submitted applications for 

reimbursement from the incentive program have ranged 

between 900 and 1,500 over the past five years. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. By 

incentivizing reforestation, these proposed regulatory changes 

will likely lead to affected private property forests being 

slightly more valuable than they otherwise would be. Since 

participation in this program is voluntary, individuals would 

be unlikely to participate unless they perceived that 

participation would lead to more valuable forestland than 

non-participation. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any additional expense on account of these 

regulatory changes. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any 

additional expense on account of these regulatory changes. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have little effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

_____________________________________ 
1 Between 2005 and 2011, the percentage of money budgeted from the tax on 

forestry products that was actually disbursed in incentive payments ranged 
between 80% and 96%. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Forestry concurs with the economic impact 

analysis.  

Summary: 

The amendments update language; remove pond pine, 

Virginia pine, and tulip poplar from the list of ground 

cover plants that do not qualify for reforestation incentive 

payments; and change the formula for maximum 

repayment under the reforestation incentive program to the 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 2, 2013 

810 

lesser of (i) 75% of actual costs or (ii) a maximum dollar 

amount per acre set annually by the Board of Forestry and 

the State Forester. 

Part I  

Definitions  

4VAC10-40-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 

shall have the following meanings unless the context 

indicates otherwise:  

"Acre" means one or more acres or part of an acre or any 

combination of them.  

"Board" means the Reforestation Board of Forestry.  

"Department" means the Department of Forestry.  

"Forest Products Tax Act" means the tax paid by every 

person engaged in the Commonwealth in business as a 

manufacturer or shipper of forest products for sale, profit, or 

commercial use (§ 58.1-1600 of the Code of Virginia).  

"Owner" means individual, corporation, partnership, trust, 

association or any other business unit, device or arrangement 

owning land to which the Reforestation Act is applicable.  

"Project" means the reforestation activity, completed or an 

approved portion of it, on a specific number of acres, in a 

specific location under one ownership.  

"Reforestation Act" means Reforestation of Timberlands 

Act, Article 10 (§ 10.1-1170 et seq.) of Chapter 11 of Title 

10.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Reforestation assistance" means funds, material, personnel 

or other assistance made available to a landowner pursuant to 

§ 10.1-1173 of the Reforestation Act and these Reforestation 

of Timberlands Regulations.  

"State Forester" means the chief executive officer of the 

Department of Forestry.  

"Tract" means specific acreage upon which a reforestation 

project is conducted.  

4VAC10-40-50. Nonqualifying type of land cover.  

In addition to those acres to which the Reforestation Act 

does not apply pursuant to the provisions of § 10.1-1171 of 

the Reforestation Act, reforestation assistance shall not be 

available with respect to the following:  

1. Any acre on which there are present 400 or more well 

distributed and free-to-grow loblolly pine (Pinus taeda), 

short leaf pine (Pinus echinata), pond pine (Pinus serotina), 

white pine (Pinus strobus), Virginia pine (Pinus 

virginiana), of or pitch pine (Pinus rigida), stems or tulip 

poplar (Liriodendron tulipfera) stems, singly or together, 

four feet or more in height, measured from ground level to 

tip of stem.  

2. Any acre on which loblolly pine (Pinus Taeda), short 

leaf pine (Pinus echinata), pond pine (Pinus serotina), or 

white pine (Pinus strobus), singly or together, occur and 

exceed in number 50 live, thrifty trees of the above species 

six inches or more in diameter of the point of average 

thickness measured from outside of bark to outside of bark 

at a point on the trunk 10 inches above the general ground 

level.  

4VAC10-40-70. Qualifying practices.  

The type of forest practices qualifying for reforestation 

assistance shall include any method approved by the board 

and State Forester designed to:  

1. Prepare land for reforestation, including release, by 

means of chemical, mechanical or hand methods, of 

seedlings from overtopping shade of trees, brush, or 

shrubs;. 

2. Reforest land, either naturally or artificially, by sowing 

of seed and/or planting of seedlings.  

3. Conduct post-reforestation cultural treatments. 

Part IV  

Seed Trees  

4VAC10-40-80. Seed trees.  

After expiration of the number of years that the eight pine 

and/or two tulip poplar seed trees are required, pursuant to the 

Seed Tree Trees Act (§ 10.1-1162 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), to be left standing following the date of cutting of 

the timber, and after release of the tract to the owner, 

reforestation assistance may be made available with respect to 

any acre on which seed trees were left standing and uncut as 

required by the Seed Tree Trees Act, provided such 

reforestation assistance is not prohibited by the provisions of 

4VAC10-40-50.  

Part XI  

Incentive Payments  

4VAC10-40-170. Incentive payments.  

A. The department may from time to time and upon 

consultation with the board adjust the levels and manner of 

incentive payments to be offered to landowners for 

reforestation projects in accordance with the Reforestation 

Act. Those changes will be for one fiscal year and may not 

change within a fiscal year. Any such adjustments shall be 

announced and publicized as far in advance of their affective 

dates as practical.  

B. Effective July 1, 1982, the incentive payments to 

landowners for approved projects are hereby set at 60% of 

actual cost or $80 per acre, whichever is the lesser. The 

incentive payments to landowners from approved projects are 

hereby set at 75% of the total cost of the project or an 

annually determined maximum amount per acre agreed upon 

by the Board of Forestry and the State Forester, whichever is 

less.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3639; Filed November 4, 2013, 12:24 p.m.  
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MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-270. Pertaining to Crabbing 

(amending 4VAC20-270-30, 4VAC20-270-40, 4VAC20-

270-51, 4VAC20-270-55).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 

Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) extend the 2013 crab pot season for 

female and male crabs to December 15, 2013; (ii) establish 

a 2014 male and female blue crab peeler pot and crab pot 

season that begins March 17, 2014, and ends November 

30, 2014; and (iii) establish 2014 conservation equivalency 

measures through crab pot, license-category specific, and 

daily harvest and possession bushel and barrel limits.  

4VAC20-270-30. Daily time limits.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person licensed to catch and 

sell crabs taken by crab pot or peeler pot to take and harvest 

crabs from any crab pot or peeler pot, or to retrieve, bait, or 

set any crab pot or peeler pot, except during the lawful daily 

time periods described in this subsection or subsection C or D 

subsections A, B, C, and D of this section. The lawful daily 

time periods for the commercial harvesting of crabs by crab 

pot or peeler pot shall be from 6 a.m. to 2 p.m. from March 

17 through April 30 and in 2013 and 2014, September 1 

through December 15, 2012 2013, and September 1 through 

November 30, 2014, except as described in subsection 

subsections B and E, C, and D of this section, and. The lawful 

daily time periods for the commercial harvesting of crabs by 

crab pot or peeler pot shall be from 5 a.m. to 1 p.m. during 

the months of May, June, July, and August in 2013 and 2014, 

except as specified in subsection subsections B, C or, and D 

of this section. Crab pots or peeler pots already on board a 

boat at the end of the lawful daily time period, as defined in 

this subsection or subsection subsections A, B, and C or D of 

this section, may be set during the period starting 

immediately following the end of lawful daily time period 

and ending to one hour after the lawful daily time period 

ends.  

B. The lawful daily time periods for the commercial 

harvesting of crabs by crab pot or peeler pot in 2013 shall 

begin March 16 and end November 30, with the lawful daily 

time periods described in subsection A of this section in 

effect for March 16 through November 30, 2013.  

C. B. Any licensed crab pot or peeler pot fisherman who 

provides an opinion and supporting documentation from an 

attending physician to the commissioner of an existing 

medical condition that prevents him from adhering to the 

daily time limit established in subsection A of this section 

may be permitted by the commissioner or his designee to take 

and harvest crabs from his crab pot or peeler pot, or to 

retrieve, bait, or set his crab pot or peeler pot during an 

alternate eight-hour daily time limit. That alternative eight-

hour daily time limit will be prescribed by the commissioner 

or his designee in accordance with the medical condition that 

forms a basis for the exception to the daily time limit as 

described in subsection A of this section.  

Nothing in this regulation shall prohibit any licensed crab 

pot or peeler pot fisherman, who has been granted an 

exception to the eight-hour work schedule, on a medical 

basis, from using another licensed crab pot or peeler pot 

fisherman as a mate; provided, however, during the 

designated alternate work hours, only the crab pots or peeler 

pots of the fisherman receiving the exception shall be fished. 

Further, it shall be unlawful for the licensed crab fisherman, 

who has been granted an exception, or his mate, who is a 

licensed crab pot or peeler pot fisherman, to fish, set, retrieve, 

or bait, during the alternate work hours, any crab pot or peeler 

pot that is not owned and licensed by the fisherman granted 

the exception.  

D. C. Any licensed crab pot or peeler pot fisherman who 

requests and obtains an alternate eight-hour daily time limit 

permit shall be authorized to take and harvest crabs from his 

crab pot or peeler pot or to retrieve, bait, or set his crab pot or 

peeler pot one hour earlier than described in subsection A of 

this section, only for the months of June, July, August, and 

September. During the months of March, April, May, 

October, and November, and from December 1 through 

December 15, 2012 2013, the lawful daily time period 

described in subsection A of this section applies to any crab 

pot or peeler pot licensee. The alternate lawful daily time 

periods for the commercial harvesting of crabs by crab pot or 

peeler pot shall be from 4 a.m. to 12 noon from June 1 

through August 31 and from 5 a.m. to 1 p.m. from September 

1 through September 30. Individuals must apply for this 

permit on an annual basis and shall adhere to the alternate 

daily time limit from the day the permit is issued through 

September 30, as well as subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this 

subsection. 

1. It shall be unlawful for two or more licensed crab pot or 

peeler pot fishermen, or their agents, to crab aboard the 

same vessel if their authorized eight-hour daily time limits 

are not identical. 

2. After January 1, 2012, requests for an alternate eight-

hour time limit permit shall be submitted to the Marine 

Resources Commission annually and prior to May 15. 
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Requests submitted on or after May 15 will not be 

considered. 

3. Once any legal crab pot or peeler pot licensee obtains an 

alternate eight-hour daily time limit permit, that permittee 

shall be legally bound by the alternate eight-hour daily 

time limit as described in this subsection. 

E. D. The lawful daily time periods for the commercial 

harvest of crabs by crab pot or peeler pot may be rescinded by 

the Commissioner of Marine Resources when he determines 

that a pending weather event is sufficient cause for the 

removal of crab pots from the tidal waters of the 

Commonwealth.  

4VAC20-270-40. Season limits.  

A. The lawful season seasons for the harvest of male crabs 

shall be March 17 through December 15, 2012 2013, and 

March 16 17 through November 30, 2013 2014. The lawful 

season seasons for the harvest of female crabs shall be March 

17 through December 15, 2012 2013, and March 16 17 

through November 20 30, 2013 2014. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest crabs or to 

possess crabs on board a vessel, except during the lawful 

season, as described in subsection A of this section. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, 

set, fish or leave any hard crab pot or peeler crab pot in any 

tidal waters of Virginia from December 16, 2012 2013, 

through March 15 16, 2013 2014. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, 

set, fish or leave any fish pot in any tidal waters from March 

11 through March 15 16, 2013 2014, except as provided in 

subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection.  

1. It shall be lawful for any person to place, set, or fish any 

fish pot in those Virginia waters located upriver of the 

following boundary lines:  

a. In the James River the boundary shall be a line 

connecting Hog Point and the downstream point at the 

mouth of College Creek.  

b. In the York River the boundary lines shall be the 

Route 33 bridges at West Point.  

c. In the Rappahannock River the boundary line shall be 

the Route 360 bridge at Tappahannock.  

d. In the Potomac River the boundary line shall be the 

Route 301 bridge that extends from Newberg, Maryland 

to Dahlgren, Virginia. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to lawful eel pots as 

described in 4VAC20-500-50.  

4VAC20-270-51. Daily commercial harvester, vessel, and 

harvest and possession limits. 

A. Any barrel used by a harvester to contain or possess any 

amount of crabs will be equivalent in volume to no more than 

3 bushels of crabs. 

B. From March 16, 2013, through November 30, 2013, any 

harvester Commercial Fisherman Registration Licensee 

legally licensed for a any crab pot license, as defined 

described in 4VAC20-270-50 B, shall be limited to the 

following maximum daily harvest and possession limits 

shown below, for any of the following crab pot license 

categories: 

1. 27 bushels, or 9 barrels, of crabs, if licensed for up to 85 

crab pots. 

2. 32 bushels, or 10 barrels and 2 bushels, of crabs, if 

licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 38 bushels, or 12 barrels and 2 bushels, of crabs, if 

licensed for up to 170 crab pots. 

4. 45 bushels, or 15 barrels, of crabs, if licensed for up to 

255 crab pots. 

5. 55 bushels, or 18 barrels and 1 bushel, of crabs, if 

licensed for up to 425 crab pots. 

C. From December 1 through December 15, 2013, and 

March 17 through November 30, 2014, any Commercial 

Fisherman Registration Licensee legally licensed for any crab 

pot license, as described in 4VAC20-270-50 B, shall be 

limited to the following maximum daily harvest and 

possession limits, for any of the following crab pot license 

categories: 

1. 16 bushels, or 5 barrels and 1 bushel, of crabs, if 

licensed for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 21 bushels, or 7 barrels, of crabs, if licensed for up to 

127 crab pots. 

3. 27 bushels, or 9 barrels, of crabs, if licensed for up to 

170 crab pots. 

4. 43 bushels, or 14 barrels and 1 bushel, of crabs, if 

licensed for up to 255 crab pots. 

5. 55 bushels, or 18 barrels and 1 bushel, of crabs, if 

licensed for up to 425 crab pots. 

C. D. When a single harvester or multiple harvesters are on 

board any vessel, that vessel's daily harvest and possession 

limit shall be equal to only one daily harvest and possession 

limit, as described in 4VAC20-270-51 subsections B and C of 

this section, and that daily limit shall correspond to the 

highest harvest and possession limit of only one licensee on 

board that vessel. 

D. E. When transporting or selling one or more legal crab 

pot licensee's crab harvest in bushels or barrels, any agent 

shall possess either the crab pot license of that one or more 

crab pot licensees or a bill of lading indicating each crab pot 

licensee's name, address, Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License number, date, and amount of bushels or barrels of 

crabs to be sold. 

E. F. If any police officer finds crabs in excess of any lawful 

daily bushel, barrel, or vessel limit, as described in this 

section, that excess quantity of crabs shall be returned 

immediately to the water by the licensee or licensees who 
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possess that excess over lawful daily harvest or possession 

limit. The refusal to return crabs, in excess of any lawful daily 

harvest or possession limit, to the water shall constitute a 

separate violation of this chapter. 

4VAC20-270-55. Minimum size limits.  

A. From March 16 through July 15, it shall be unlawful for 

any person to harvest, possess, sell or offer for sale more than 

10 peeler crabs, per United States standard bushel, or 5.0% of 

peeler crabs in any other container, that measure less than 3-

1/4 inches across the shell from tip to tip of the longest 

spikes. From July 16 through December 15, 2012 2013, and 

July 16 through November 30, 2013 2014, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to harvest, possess, sell or offer for 

sale more than 10 peeler crabs, per United States standard 

bushel, or 5.0% of peeler crabs in any other container, that 

measure less than 3-1/2 inches across the shell from tip to tip 

of the longest spikes, except as described in subsections B 

and C of this section. 

B. From July 16 through December 15, 2012 2013, and July 

16 through November 30, 2013 2014, it shall be unlawful for 

any person to harvest, possess, sell or offer for sale more than 

10 peeler crabs, per United States standard bushel, or 5.0% of 

peeler crabs in any other container, that are harvested from 

waters on the ocean side of Accomack and Northampton 

counties and measure less than 3-1/4 inches across the shell 

from tip to tip of the longest spikes, except as described in 

subsection C of this section.  

C. In the enforcement of these peeler crab minimum size 

limits aboard a vessel, the marine police officer shall select a 

single container of peeler crabs of his choosing to determine 

if the contents of that container violate the minimum size and 

tolerance described in this section. If the officer determines 

the contents of the container are in violation, then the officer 

shall return all peeler crabs on board the vessel to the water 

alive. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, harvest, 

possess, sell or offer for sale, or to destroy in any manner, any 

soft crab that measures less than 3-1/2 inches across the shell 

from tip to tip of the longest spikes.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3903; Filed November 18, 2013, 2:06 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-610. Pertaining to 

Commercial Fishing and Mandatory Harvest Reporting 

(amending 4VAC20-610-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 

Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish a 2014 crab agent provision 

requiring certain crab licensees to submit a 2014 crab 

agent registration application to the commission by March 

1, 2014, to be eligible for one of the 153 agent slots. If the 

number of applications by eligible licensees as of March 1 

is less than the approved 153 agent slots, then any 

application for a crab agent will be considered on a first-

come, first-served basis, starting with those licensees who 

have registered prior to March 1, 2014.  

4VAC20-610-30. Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License; exceptions and requirements of authorized 

agents. 

A. In accordance with § 28.2-241 C of the Code of Virginia, 

only persons who hold a valid Commercial Fisherman 

Registration License may sell, trade, or barter their harvest, or 

give their harvest to another, in order that it may be sold, 

traded, or bartered. Only these licensees may sell their 

harvests from Virginia tidal waters, regardless of the method 

or manner in which caught. Exceptions to the requirement to 

register as a commercial fisherman for selling harvest are 

authorized for the following persons or firms only: 

1. Persons taking menhaden under the authority of licenses 

issued pursuant to § 28.2-402 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Persons independently harvesting and selling, trading, or 

bartering no more than three gallons of minnows per day 

who are not part of, hired by, or engaged in a continuing 

business enterprise. 

a. Only minnow pots, a cast net or a minnow seine less 

than 25 feet in length may be used by persons 

independently harvesting minnows. 

b. All other marine species taken during the process of 

harvesting minnows shall be returned to the water 

immediately. 

B. Requirements of authorized agents. 

1. No person whose Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License, fishing gear license, or fishing permit is currently 

revoked or rescinded by the Marine Resources 

Commission pursuant to § 28.2-232 of the Code of 

Virginia is authorized to possess the Commercial 

Fisherman Registration License, fishing gear license, or 

fishing permit of any other registered commercial 

fisherman in order to serve as an agent for fishing the 

commercial fisherman's gear or selling the harvest.  

2. No registered commercial fisherman shall use more than 

one person as an agent at any time.  
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3. Any person serving as an agent shall possess the 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License and gear 

license of the commercial fisherman while fishing.  

4. When transporting or selling a registered commercial 

fisherman's harvest, the agent shall possess either the 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License of that 

commercial fisherman or a bill of lading indicating that 

fisherman's name, address, Commercial Fisherman 

Registration License number, date and amount of product 

to be sold. 

C. Requirements of authorized blue crab fishery agents. 

1. Any person licensed to harvest blue crabs commercially 

shall not be eligible to also serve as an agent. 

2. Any person serving as an agent to harvest blue crabs for 

another licensed fisherman shall be limited to the use of 

only one registered commercial fisherman's crab license; 

however, an agent may fish multiple crab traps licensed 

and owned by the same person. 

3. There shall be no more than one person, per vessel, 

serving as an agent for a commercial crab licensee. 

4. Prior to using an agent in any crab fishery, the licensee 

shall submit a crab agent registration application to the 

commission. Crab agent registration applications shall be 

approved by the commissioner, or his designee, for a crab 

fishery licensee according to the following guidelines: 

a. Only 168 agents may participate in the 2013 2014 crab 

fishery, as described in subdivision 4 b of this subsection, 

unless the commissioner, or his designee, approves a 

request for agent use because of a non-economic 

hardship circumstance and 

b. 153 of the 168 agents may be utilized by those crab 

fishery licensees who received approval for agent use in 

2012 or who currently are licensed by a transferred crab 

fishery license from a licensee approved for agent use in 

2012, except that should any of these licensees described 

in this subdivision fail to register for agent use by March 

1, 2014, applications for agent use by other 2013 2014 

licensees shall be approved on a first-come, first-serve 

first-served basis, starting with those licensees who have 

registered prior to the effective date of this regulation 

March 1, 2014. 

D. Failure to abide by any of the provisions of this section, 

shall constitute a violation of this regulation. 

E. In accordance with § 28.2-241 H of the Code of Virginia, 

only persons with a valid Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License may purchase gear licenses. Beginning with licenses 

for the 1993 calendar year and for all years thereafter, gear 

licenses will be sold only upon presentation of evidence of a 

valid Commercial Fisherman Registration License.  

Exceptions to the prerequisite requirement are authorized for 

the following gears only and under the conditions described 

below:  

1. Menhaden purse seine licenses issued pursuant to 

§ 28.2-402 of the Code of Virginia may be purchased 

without holding a Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License.  

2. Commercial gear licenses used for recreational purposes 

and issued pursuant to § 28.2-226.2 of the Code of Virginia 

may be purchased without holding a Commercial 

Fisherman Registration License.  

F. Exceptions to the two-year delay may be granted by the 

commissioner if he finds any of the following:  

1. The applicant for an exception (i) has demonstrated, to 

the satisfaction of the commissioner, that the applicant has 

fished a significant quantity of commercial gear in Virginia 

waters during at least two of the previous five years; and 

(ii) can demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the 

commissioner, that a significant hardship caused by 

unforeseen circumstances beyond the applicant's control 

has prevented the applicant from making timely 

application for registration. The commissioner may require 

the applicant to provide such documentation as he deems 

necessary to verify the existence of hardship.  

2. The applicant is purchasing another commercial 

fisherman's gear, and the seller of the gear holds a 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License and the seller 

surrenders that license to the commission at the time the 

gear is sold.  

3. An immediate member of the applicant's family, who 

holds a current registration, has died or is retiring from the 

commercial fishery and the applicant intends to continue in 

the fishery.  

Any applicant denied an exception may appeal the decision 

to the commission. The applicant shall provide a request to 

appeal to the commission 30 days in advance of the meeting 

at which the commission will hear the request. The 

commission will hear requests at their March, June, 

September, and December meetings.  

Under no circumstances will an exception be granted solely 

on the basis of economic hardship.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3904; Filed November 18, 2013, 11:55 a.m.  

VIRGINIA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION 
BOARD 

Notice of Suspension of Regulatory Process 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC50-70. Resource Management 

Plans (adding 4VAC50-70-10 through 4VAC50-70-150).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-104.8 of the Code of Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given that on November 21, 2013, in 

accordance with §§ 2.2-4015 A 4 and 10.1-104.9 of the Code 

of Virginia, the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board 

directed the suspension of the board's Resource Management 

Plans regulations (4VAC50-70). The regulations were set to 

become effective on December 6, 2013, as published in the 
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Virginia Register of Regulations in 29:18 VA.R. 2198-2207 

May 6, 2013. The effective date of the final regulations is 

suspended until the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation 

Board readopts a new effective date. The board indicated its 

intent to consider a new effective date for the regulations at 

the board's first regular meeting in 2014. 

Agency Contact: David C. Dowling, Policy and Planning 

Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 

Governor Street, Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 

david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3140; Filed November 22, 2013, 2:57 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF CORRECTIONS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC15-26. Regulations for Human 

Subject Research (amending 6VAC15-26-10, 6VAC15-26-

20, 6VAC15-26-30, 6VAC15-26-50, 6VAC15-26-120, 

6VAC15-26-130; adding 6VAC15-26-61, 6VAC15-26-71, 

6VAC15-26-81, 6VAC15-26-91, 6VAC15-26-101, 

6VAC15-26-102; repealing 6VAC15-26-40, 6VAC15-26-

60, 6VAC15-26-70, 6VAC15-26-80, 6VAC15-26-90, 

6VAC15-26-100, 6VAC15-26-110, 6VAC15-26-140).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 53.1-5 and 53.1-5.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Jim Bruce, Agency Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, Richmond, 

VA 23225, telephone (804) 887-8215, FAX (804) 674-3017, 

or email james.bruce@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments update the regulations governing 

research to be conducted on human subjects within the 

Department of Corrections. The amendments define the 

proposed research project information submitted by the 

researcher, the review process for approval, the 

agreements and conditions required for conducting an 

approved research project, the consent required from 

research subjects, the security of data collected, and the 

use of research findings. 

The amendments also reduce the number of Human Subject 

Research Review Committee (HSRRC) members from five 

to three and establish and define the HSRRC as the 

Department of Corrections' committee responsible for (i) 

reviewing all submitted research projects for completeness 

and compliance with the Regulations for Human Subject 

Research, with all applicable Department of Corrections' 

operating procedures, and with all applicable state and 

federal regulations pertaining to human subject research; 

(ii) approving or denying submitted research proposals; 

(iii) monitoring all approved research projects for 

adherence to the approved scope of the research; and (iv) 

reporting on all research projects approved, all research 

projects denied, and the findings of all approved research 

projects.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

General Provisions  

6VAC15-26-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Board" means the Board of Corrections.  

"Department" means the Department of Corrections.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Corrections.  

"Human research" means any systematic investigation 

utilizing human subjects which may expose such human 

subjects to physical or psychological injury as a consequence 

of participation as subjects and which departs from the 

application of established and accepted therapeutic methods 

appropriate to meet the subjects' needs.  

"Human Subject Research Review Committee" or "HSRRC" 

means the Department of Corrections committee responsible 

for (i) reviewing all submitted research projects for 

completeness and compliance, with the Regulations for 

Human Subject Research, with all applicable Department of 

Corrections operating procedures, and with all applicable 

state and federal regulations pertaining to human subject 

research; (ii) approving or denying submitted research 

proposals; (iii) monitoring all approved research projects for 

adherence to the scope of the research that was approved; and 

(iv) reporting on all research projects approved, all research 

projects denied and the findings of all approved research 

projects. The composition of the HSRRC and its 

responsibilities shall be as stated in Part II (6VAC15-26-50 et 

seq.) of this chapter. 

"Legally authorized representative" means (i) the parent or 

parents having custody of a prospective subject, (ii) the legal 

guardian of a prospective subject, or (iii) any person or 

judicial body authorized by law or regulation to consent on 

behalf of a prospective subject to such subject's participation 

in the particular human research. For the purposes of this 

definition, any person authorized by law or regulation to 

consent on behalf of a prospective participant to his 

participation in the particular human research shall include an 

attorney-in-fact appointed under a durable power of attorney, 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol29/iss18/v29i18.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol29/iss18/v29i18.pdf
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to the extent the power grants the authority to make such a 

decision. The attorney-in-fact shall not be employed by the 

person, organizational unit or agency conducting the human 

research and shall not be authorized to consent to 

nontherapeutic medical research. No official or employee of 

the organizational unit or agency conducting or authorizing 

the research shall be qualified to act as a legally authorized 

representative.  

"Minimal risk" means that the risks of harm anticipated in 

the proposed research are not greater, considering probability 

and magnitude, than those ordinarily encountered in daily life 

or during the performance of routine physical or 

psychological examinations or tests.  

"Nontherapeutic research" means human research in which 

there is no reasonable expectation of direct benefit to the 

physical or mental condition of the human subject.  

"Organizational work unit" means any unit, facility, office, 

or district within the Department of Corrections, such as 

prisons, correctional centers, correctional field units, 

correctional work centers, probation and parole districts or 

offices, detention centers, diversion centers, or units 

supervised by a manager who reports directly to [ the Deputy 

Director of Administration a deputy director ]. Each 

organizational work unit is managed by an organizational unit 

head such as a warden, superintendent, chief probation and 

parole officer, or manager. 

"Participant" or "human participant" means a living 

individual whether personnel or inmate, probationer, or 

parolee employee or offender about whom an investigator a 

researcher (whether professional or student) conducting 

research obtains (i) data through intervention or interaction 

with the individual, or (ii) identifiable private information. 

"Intervention" includes both physical procedures by which 

data are gathered and manipulations of the participant or 

participant's environment that are performed for research 

purposes. "Interaction" includes communication or 

interpersonal contact between investigator researcher and 

participant.  

"Private information" includes information about behavior 

that occurs in a context in which an individual can reasonably 

expect that no observation or recording is taking place, and 

information which has been provided for specific purposes by 

an individual and which the individual can reasonably expect 

will not be made public. Private information must be 

individually identifiable in order for obtaining the 

information to constitute research involving human 

participants.  

"Research" means the systematic development of knowledge 

essential to effective planning and rational decision making. It 

involves the assessment of current knowledge on conceptual 

problems selected, statement of those problems in 

researchable format, design of methodologies appropriate to 

the problems, and the application of appropriate analytical 

techniques to the data. Research findings should provide 

valuable information to management for policy options.  

"Research agreement" means the document signed by the 

principal researcher, research project supervisor, or advisor 

and the HSRRC indicating the principal researcher and 

research project supervisor or advisor agree to conduct their 

research project in the manner in which the research project 

was approved by the HSRRC, including compliance with this 

chapter, all applicable Department of Corrections' operating 

procedures, all applicable state and federal laws and 

regulations, the research project timeline, and any conditions 

imposed by the HSRRC. The research agreement is governed 

by and must comply with the provisions of this chapter. 

"Researcher" means an individual who has professional 

standing in the pertinent field or is supervised directly by 

such an individual.  

"Research project" means the systematic collection of 

information, analysis of data, and preparation of a report of 

findings.  

"Research proposal" means the document or documents 

completed by the principal researcher outlining: (i) 

information about the researchers, including contact 

information, affiliations, and funding sources; (ii) the human 

research to be performed, including purpose, methodology, 

informed consent, time frame, and Department of Corrections 

resources required; and (iii) any endorsements. The research 

proposal must be submitted to and approved by the HSRRC. 

Research proposals are to be limited to [ twenty 20 ] pages 

(not including bibliographies, curriculum vitae, letters of 

endorsement, copies of surveys or instruments to be used, 

copies of external Institutional Review board approvals, and 

voluntary informed consent forms.) A suggested template for 

a research proposal is incorporated by reference with this 

chapter. 

"Voluntary informed consent" means the knowing consent 

of an individual so situated as to be able to exercise free 

power of choice without undue inducement or any element of 

force, fraud, deceit, duress, or other form of constraint or 

coercion. Voluntary informed consent forms shall not include 

any language through which the human subject waives or 

appears to waive any of his legal rights, including any release 

of any individual, facility, agency, or agents thereof, from 

liability or negligence. The human participant shall sign all 

voluntary [ informed ] consent forms confirmed by an 

acceptable witness. With regard to the conduct of human 

research, the basic elements of information necessary to such 

voluntary informed consent shall include:  

1. A fair explanation to the individual of any procedures to 

be followed and their purposes, including identification of 

any procedures which are experimental;  

2. A description of any attendant discomforts and risks 

reasonably to be expected;  

3. A description of any benefits reasonably to be expected;  
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4. A disclosure of any appropriate alternative procedures 

that might be advantageous for the individual;  

5. An offer to answer any inquiries by the individual 

concerning the procedure; and  

6. An instruction that the individual is free to withdraw 

[ his the individual's ] voluntary informed consent and to 

discontinue participation in the human research at any time 

without prejudice to him.  

A copy of the Voluntary Informed Consent [ to Participate 

in Research ] form is incorporated by reference with this 

chapter.  

6VAC15-26-20. Applicability.  

This chapter shall apply to any individual, group, or agency 

conducting research which that uses human participants 

within the Virginia Department of Corrections, including any 

facility, program or organization owned, operated, funded, or 

licensed by the department.  

6VAC15-26-30. Policy.  

A. No human research may be conducted without informing 

the participant or his legally authorized representative in 

writing of the risks, procedures, and discomforts of the 

research. The voluntary informed consent of the participant or 

his legally authorized representative to participate in the 

research must be documented in writing and supported by 

signature of a witness not involved in the conduct of the 

research, except as provided in 6VAC15-26-90 F 6VAC15-

26-102. Arrangements shall be made for those who need 

special assistance in understanding the consequences of 

participating in the research.  

B. Each human research review activity shall be approved 

by a committee composed of representatives of varied 

backgrounds who shall assure the competent, complete and 

professional review of human research activities. No offender 

shall be subjected to experimentation or participation in 

research against his will. 

C. Nontherapeutic research using institutionalized 

participants shall be is prohibited unless it is determined by 

the research review committee HSRRC that such 

nontherapeutic research will not present greater than minimal 

risk.  

D. The individuals conducting the research shall be required 

to notify all participants of research of the risks caused by the 

research which are discovered after the research has 

concluded. Research involving known and substantive 

physical, mental, or emotional risk to the participants, 

including the withholding of any prescribed program or 

treatment, is specifically prohibited. 

E. Department of Corrections studies, program evaluations, 

and routine data analyses for management purposes are 

exempt from this policy. Medical research shall only be 

conducted in accordance with Department of Corrections 

Operating Procedure 701.1, Health Services Administration, 

which is incorporated by reference with this chapter. 

F. The burden of proof for review by any committee shall be 

with the principal researcher. Research shall not interfere with 

the rights of offenders or Department of Corrections' 

employees. 

G. Proper precautions must be exercised for the protection 

of the research participants rights and for the overall safety 

and security of the public, the researcher, and the Department 

of Corrections. 

H. Research shall not interfere significantly with ongoing 

programs or operations of the Department of Corrections. 

I. The research findings shall not identify individual 

participants. The confidentiality and anonymity of all 

offenders and other parties engaged in the research will be 

maintained. 

J. Researchers are required to notify all participants of risks 

caused by the research that are discovered after the research 

has concluded. 

K. Each human research activity shall be reviewed and 

approved by the HSRRC. 

L. No human research activity involving the Department of 

Corrections shall be initiated without a research proposal 

reviewed and approved by the HSRRC. 

M. Each submitted research proposal must be accompanied 

by a research agreement signed by the principal researcher, or 

research project supervisor or advisor. 

N. All research proposals, research agreements, and 

accompanying documentation must be submitted to the 

HSRRC electronically via email. 

O. The burden of proof for review by the HSRRC shall be 

with the principal researcher. 

P. Research shall not commence until all procedural and 

applicable human research reviews and approvals are 

completed and the [ director Director of the Department of 

Corrections ] or [ applicable deputy director designee ] signs 

an approval memorandum on behalf of the department. This 

approval memorandum and necessary information describing 

the project shall be sent to the appropriate Department of 

Corrections organizational unit head, regional [ director 

operations chief ], and principal researcher. 

Q. This chapter does not apply to Department of Corrections 

studies, program evaluations, and routine data analyses for 

management purposes. 

Part II  

Human Research Review Committees  

6VAC15-26-40. Certification process. (Repealed.) 

A. Organizational units seeking to conduct or sponsor 

human research are required to submit statements to the 

department assuring that all human research activities will be 

reviewed and approved by a human research review 

committee. Organizational units shall report annually to the 

director giving assurance that a committee exists and is 

functioning. These reports should include a list of committee 
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members, their qualifications for service on the committee, 

their organizational unit affiliation and a copy of the minutes 

of committee meetings.  

B. Prior to the initiation of a human research project, 

organizational units shall also send to the director a one-page 

summary containing the following information:  

1. Name, address, telephone numbers, and title and 

affiliation of principal researcher;  

2. Name of person who will supervise the project, if 

different from the principal researcher;  

3. Funding source, if any;  

4. Date the proposal was submitted to the appropriate 

human research review committee;  

5. Title of project;  

6. An objectives statement of the proposed project with 

anticipated results;  

7. Methodology describing in a concise manner the 

research design, sampling strategy, and analytical 

techniques to be used and indicating the effects of the 

research methodology, if any, on existing programs and 

organizational unit operations;  

8. The voluntary informed consent statement;  

9. Time frame indicating proposed beginning and ending 

dates;  

10. Department resources required, including personnel, 

supplies and materials, equipment, workspaces, access to 

participants and files, and any other resources that the 

researcher will require from the department or its 

subsidiaries; and  

11. Project endorsement for student research. Letters or 

other documents must be attached to indicate endorsement 

of the project by the academic advisor or other appropriate 

persons.  

C. Each person engaged in the conduct of human research or 

proposing to conduct human research shall associate himself 

with any organizational unit having a committee, and such 

human research shall be subject to review and approval by the 

committee in the manner set forth in this section.  

D. The director may inspect the records of the committee.  

E. The chairman of the committee shall report as soon as 

possible to the head of the organizational unit and to the 

director any violation of the research protocol which led the 

committee to either suspend or terminate the research.  

Part II 

Human Subject Research Review Committee (HSRRC) 

6VAC15-26-50. Composition [ of ] research review 

committees [ the HSRRC ].  

A. Each committee The HSRRC shall have at least five 

three members, appointed by the organizational unit head 

[ director Director of the Department of Corrections ] or 

designee, with varying backgrounds to provide complete and 

adequate review of activities commonly conducted by the 

organizational unit researchers. The committee HSRRC shall 

be sufficiently qualified through the experience and diversity 

of its members, including consideration of race, gender and 

cultural background. In addition to possessing the 

professional competence necessary to review specific 

activities, the committee must be able to ascertain the 

acceptability of applications and proposals in terms of 

organizational unit commitments and regulations, if 

applicable by law; standards of professional conduct and 

practice; and community attitudes. If a committee regularly 

reviews research that has an impact on an institutionalized or 

other vulnerable category of participants, the committee shall 

have in its membership one or more individuals who are 

primarily concerned with the welfare of these participants and 

who have appropriate experience to serve in that capacity.  

1. The HSRRC shall not be comprised entirely of men or 

of women. 

2. The HSRRC shall not be comprised entirely of members 

from one organizational work unit. 

3. The HSRRC shall have at least one member who is not 

otherwise affiliated with the Department of Corrections 

and is not an immediate family member of a person who is 

affiliated with the department. 

B. No committee shall consist entirely of men or women, or 

entirely of members of one profession. At least one member 

shall be an individual whose primary concerns are in 

nonscientific areas (e.g., lawyers, ethicists, members of the 

clergy). At least three members shall be individuals who are 

not otherwise connected with the department. In addition to 

possessing the professional competence necessary to review 

research proposals, the HSRRC must be able to ascertain the 

acceptability of research proposals in terms of organizational 

work unit commitments, this chapter, applicable Department 

of Corrections [ ' ] operating procedures, any applicable state 

and federal law or regulation, standards of professional 

conduct and practice, and community attitudes. 

C. Each committee shall include at least one member who is 

not otherwise affiliated with the organizational unit and who 

is not part of the immediate family of a person who is 

affiliated with the organizational unit.  

D. C. No member of a committee the HSRRC shall 

participate in the committee's HSRRC's initial or continuing 

review of any research project in which the member has a 

conflict of interest (defined as having direct involvement in or 

department approval authority over the proposed human 

research or otherwise having a conflict of interest under 

applicable Virginia law). The committee HSRRC has 

responsibility for determining whether a member has a 

conflicting interest.  

E. A committee D. The HSRRC may, at its discretion, invite 

individuals with competence in special areas to assist in the 

review of complex issues which that require expertise beyond 

or in addition to that available on the committee to the 
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HSRRC. These individuals may not vote with the committee 

HSRRC.  

F. E. A quorum of the committee HSRRC shall consist of a 

majority of its members including at least one member whose 

primary concerns are in nonscientific areas. If a quorum 

cannot be established (or cannot meet within the established 

time frames) from the existing committee HSRRC, the 

organizational unit head director or designee may replace 

temporarily an active committee member with an alternate to 

the degree needed to establish a quorum.  

G. One member of the committee shall be designated as 

secretary of the committee and shall take and prepare formal 

minutes of each meeting.  

H. The committee and the organizational unit shall establish 

procedures and rules of operation necessary to fulfill the 

requirements of this chapter.  

6VAC15-26-60. Elements of each committee's review 

process. (Repealed.) 

A. No human research shall be conducted or authorized by 

an organizational unit or agency unless such committee has 

reviewed and approved the proposed human research project 

giving consideration to:  

1. The adequacy of the description of the potential benefits 

and risks involved and the adequacy of the methodology of 

the research;  

2. The degree of the risk and, if the research is 

nontherapeutic, whether it presents greater than minimal 

risk;  

3. Whether the rights and welfare of the participants are 

adequately protected;  

4. Whether the risks to the participants are outweighed by 

the potential benefits to them;  

5. Whether the voluntary informed consent is to be 

obtained by methods that are adequate and appropriate, and 

whether the written consent form is adequate and 

appropriate in both content and language for both the 

research and participants of the research;  

6. Whether the persons proposing to supervise or conduct 

the particular human research are appropriately competent 

and qualified;  

7. Whether criteria for selection of participants are 

equitable, especially in research regarding the future 

development of mental or physical illness;  

8. Whether the research conforms with such other 

requirements as the board may establish; and  

9. Whether appropriate studies in the nonhuman systems 

have been conducted prior to the involvement of human 

participants.  

B. Each committee shall review and approve projects to 

ensure conformity with the approved proposal at least 

annually.  

C. Research shall be approved by the committee which has 

jurisdiction over the participant. When cooperating 

organizational units conduct some or all of the research 

involving some or all of the participants, each cooperating 

organizational unit is responsible for safeguarding the rights 

and welfare of human participants and for complying with 

this chapter, except that in complying with this chapter 

organizational units may enter into joint review, rely upon the 

review of another qualified committee, or make similar 

arrangements aimed at avoiding duplication of effort. Such 

arrangements may be made by the committee chairperson 

with the approval of a majority of the members present at a 

meeting of the committee.  

D. The committee shall consider completed research 

proposals within 60 days after submission to the committee's 

chairman. In order for the research to be approved, it shall 

receive the approval of a majority of those members present 

at a meeting in which a quorum exists. A committee shall 

notify investigators and the organizational unit in writing of 

its decision to approve or disapprove the proposed research 

activity, or of modifications required to secure committee 

approval.  

E. The committee shall develop a written procedure to be 

followed by a participant who has a complaint about a 

research project in which he is participating or has 

participated.  

F. Any participant who has a complaint about a research 

project in which he is participating or has participated shall be 

referred to the chairperson of the committee who shall refer it 

to the committee to determine if there has been a violation of 

the protocol.  

G. The committee shall require periodic reports. The 

frequency of such reports should reflect the nature and degree 

of risk of each research project.  

6VAC15-26-61. Duties and responsibilities. 

A. The HSRRC shall establish procedures and rules of 

operation necessary to fulfill the requirements of this chapter. 

B. The HSRRC shall review all submitted research 

proposals for the following: 

1. Completeness, including: 

a. Researcher information. 

(1) Name of principal researcher 

(2) Affiliation 

(3) Mailing address 

(4) Telephone number 

(5) Email address 

(6) Names of all other researchers participating in the 

research project 

(7) Name of research project supervisor or advisor, if 

different from [ subdivision 1 a (1) of this subsection 

principal researcher ]  
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(a) Telephone number 

(b) Email address 

(8) Funding source  

(9) Curriculum vitae of principal researcher, all persons 

named as researchers and research project supervisor or 

advisor 

b. Research proposal information. 

(1) Date research proposal submitted to HSRRC 

(2) Title of research proposal 

(3) Purpose of research proposal 

(4) Methodology 

(a) Research design 

(b) Sampling methods 

(c) Methods of analysis 

(5) Discussion of the research proposal in the context of 

relevant literature 

(6) Discussion of the benefits to the Department of 

Corrections as well as the field of study 

(7) Copies of any surveys or instruments to be used 

(8) Voluntary informed consent forms 

(9) Timeline for the research project 

(10) Department of Corrections resources required 

(including personnel, supplies, materials, equipment, 

workspace, access to participants and files, etc.) 

(11) External Institutional Review Board (IRB) approval 

(including academic IRBs, research group IRBs, and 

government IRBs); all external IRB approvals must be 

received before the HSRRC will initiate review of a 

submitted research proposal 

c. Letters of endorsement. 

2. Compliance with this chapter [ , all applicable 

Department of Corrections operating procedures, ] and all 

applicable state and federal laws and regulations. 

Compliance includes, but is not limited to: 

a. The researchers' ability to obtain the appropriate 

security clearances to enter an organizational work unit. 

b. The researchers' adherence to an organizational work 

unit's standards for appropriate attire, including dress or 

wardrobe, jewelry, hair, grooming, body piercings and 

tattoos. 

c. The researchers' ability to pass an organizational work 

unit's security screening process for contraband, 

including weapons of any kind, alcohol, drugs of any 

kind, cellular phones, other electronic devices, tobacco 

products (including lighters and matches), and any other 

items deemed as potentially adversely impacting the 

safety and security of the Department of Corrections, 

organizational work unit, department staff, research 

participants or other offenders, the researchers, or the 

general public. 

3. Adherence to basic research standards, including: 

a. Credentials. The principal researcher shall have 

academic or professional standing in the pertinent field or 

job-related experience in the areas of study or be directly 

supervised by such a person. 

b. Ethics. The research shall conform to the appropriate 

standards of ethics of professional societies such as the 

American Psychological Association, the American 

Sociological Association, the National Association of 

Social Workers, or other equivalent society. 

c. Protection of rights. The principal researcher is 

responsible for the conduct of his staff and assumes 

responsibility for the protection of the rights of 

participants involved in the research project. 

d. Confidentiality or anonymity. Research project 

information given by participants to the researcher or 

researchers shall be confidential or anonymous 

depending on the study design. This does not preclude 

the reporting of results in aggregated form that protects 

the identity of individuals, or the giving of raw data to 

the Department of Corrections for further analysis. The 

confidentiality of any such raw data shall be monitored 

by the department. Persons who breach confidentiality or 

anonymity shall be subject to sanctions in accordance 

with applicable laws, policies, and procedures. 

e. Participant incentives. The opportunity to participate in 

research is considered sufficient incentive for 

participation. The offering of additional incentives is 

prohibited without specific written approval from the 

[ applicable Director of the ] Department of Corrections 

[ deputy director or designee ]. Sentence reduction or 

pecuniary compensation are always prohibited as 

incentives. 

4. Determination if the research proposal is subject to the 

human research review requirements of §§ 32.1-162.16 

through 32.1-162.20 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. Agreement with Department of Corrections research 

procedures. 

a. The principal researcher and research project 

supervisor or advisor must submit a separate, signed 

written research agreement when submitting their 

research proposal indicating that the principal researcher, 

research project supervisor or advisor, and all other 

researchers and staff under their supervision who are 

associated with the research project have read, 

understand, and agree to abide by Department of 

Corrections research procedures. 

b. The research agreement shall establish a timeline for 

the research project and the specific date when the 

principal researcher shall submit the final report to the 

HSRRC. 
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c. In the case of student research, the student's academic 

advisor must sign the research agreement indicating 

endorsement of the research project. 

C. After reviewing each submitted, complete research 

proposal, research agreement and accompanying 

documentation, the HSRCC will vote to approve or deny the 

research proposal. 

D. A research proposal shall be approved by the HSRRC 

when a majority of the quorum of the HSRRC votes to 

approve the research proposal. 

E. [ In the event that If ] a research proposal is denied, the 

HSRRC shall notify the principal researcher of the reason or 

reasons for denial and any requested clarifications, edits, 

updates, or additions that can be made to the research 

proposal. The principal researcher may resubmit a revised 

research proposal with these requested clarifications, edits, 

updates, or additions. The HSRRC will then review the 

resubmitted revised, complete research proposal in 

accordance with 6VAC15-26-50 B. 

F. Upon approval of a research proposal by the HSRRC, the 

HSRRC shall prepare a research brief summarizing the 

research proposal with any comments. The research brief will 

be provided to the [ director or the appropriate deputy director 

Director of the Department of Corrections or designee ] for 

review and approval. 

G. Upon approval of the research brief by the [ director or 

the appropriate deputy director Director of the Department of 

Corrections or designee ], the HSRRC shall provide an 

approval memorandum and necessary information describing 

the research project to the organizational work unit head, 

regional [ director operations chief ], and principal researcher. 

H. The HSRRC shall retain a separate electronic file for 

each submitted research proposal. Each electronic file shall 

contain: 

1. The original submitted research proposal. 

2. The research agreement. 

3. Any accompanying documentation. 

4. Any resubmitted revised research proposals. 

5. The research brief. 

6. The approval memorandum. 

7. Any progress reports. 

8. The final report. 

9. All communication between the HSRRC, principal 

researcher, research project supervisor or advisor, the 

[ Director of the ] Department of Corrections [ Director, 

and the applicable deputy director or designee ], regional 

[ director operations chief ], and organizational unit head 

pertaining to the research project. 

I. At the time the research agreement is signed, the HSRRC 

shall establish due dates for progress reports to be provided 

by the principal researcher. These progress reports will 

inform the HSRRC of the status of the research project and 

any difficulties encountered that might delay or preclude 

completion of the research project. 

J. The HSRRC shall establish research priorities consistent 

with the needs of the Department of Corrections. 

K. The HSRRC shall regulate the number and timetable of 

research projects so as to not disrupt the normal functioning 

of any Department of Corrections operational work unit. 

L. Upon receipt of a complaint from an organizational unit 

head or participant, the HSRRC will investigate to determine 

if there has been a violation of these regulations, Department 

of Corrections operating procedures, the research proposal, 

the research agreement or any applicable state or federal laws 

or regulations.  

M. If the HSRRC determines that a principal researcher, 

researcher, research project supervisor or advisor, or staff 

supervised by them has violated any provisions of this 

chapter, Department of Corrections operating procedures, the 

research proposal, the research agreement, or any applicable 

state or federal laws or regulations, the HSRRC may 

terminate the research project at any time. 

N. The HSRRC shall submit to the Governor, the General 

Assembly, and the [ director Director of the Department of 

Corrections ] or [ his ] designee [ , ] at least annually [ , ] a 

report on the human research projects reviewed and approved 

by the HSRRC, including any significant deviations from the 

approved research projects. 

6VAC15-26-70. Kinds of research exempt from committee 

review. (Repealed.) 

Research activities in which the only involvement of human 

participants will be in one or more of the following categories 

are exempt from this chapter unless the research is covered by 

other sections of this chapter:  

1. Research conducted in established or commonly 

accepted educational settings, involving commonly used 

educational practices, such as:  

a. Research on regular and special education instructional 

strategies; or  

b. Research on the effectiveness of, or the comparison 

among, instructional techniques, curriculum or classroom 

management methods.  

2. Research involving solely the use and analysis of the 

results of standardized psychological, educational, 

diagnostic, aptitude, or achievement tests, if information 

taken from these sources is recorded in such a manner that 

participants cannot be reasonably identified directly or 

through identifiers linked to the participants.  

3. Research involving survey or interview procedures, 

unless responses are recorded in such a manner that 

participants can be identified directly or through identifiers 

linked to the participants, and either:  



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 2, 2013 

822 

a. The participants' responses, if they became known 

outside the research, could reasonably place the 

participant at risk of criminal or civil liability or be 

damaging to the participants' financial standing, 

employability, or reputation; or  

b. The research deals with sensitive aspects of the 

participant's own behavior, such as sexual behavior, drug 

or alcohol use, illegal conduct, or family planning.  

4. Research involving solely the observation (including 

observation by participants) of public behavior, unless 

observations are recorded in such a manner that 

participants can be identified directly or through identifiers 

linked to the participants, and either:  

a. The observations recorded about the individual, if they 

became known outside the research, could reasonably 

place the participant at risk of criminal or civil liability or 

be damaging to the participant's financial standing, 

employability, or reputation; or  

b. The research deals with sensitive aspects of the 

participant's own behavior such as sexual behavior, drug 

or alcohol use, illegal conduct, or family planning.  

5. Research involving solely the collection or study of 

existing data, documents, records, or pathological or 

diagnostic specimens, if these sources are publicly 

available or if the information taken from these sources is 

recorded in such a manner that participants cannot be 

identified directly or through identifiers linked to the 

participants.  

6. Research involving solely a combination of any of the 

activities described in this section.  

6VAC15-26-71. Reports. 

A. The principal researcher must submit progress reports to 

the HSRRC by the dates agreed upon in the research 

agreement. These progress reports must be submitted 

electronically via email. 

B. The principal researcher must submit a final report to the 

HSRRC. The final report must be submitted electronically via 

email. 

C. The HSRRC reserves the right to reproduce the final 

report for official Department of Corrections use only. 

6VAC15-26-80. Expedited review procedures for certain 

kinds of research involving no more than minimal risk. 

(Repealed.) 

A. The committee may conduct an expedited review of a 

human research project which involves no more than minimal 

risk to the participants if (i) another institution's or agency's 

human research review committee has reviewed and approved 

the project or (ii) the review involves only minor changes in 

previously approved research and the changes occur during 

the approved project period. Under an expedited review 

procedure, the review may be carried out by the committee 

chairperson or one or more experienced reviewers designated 

by the chairperson from among members of the committee. In 

reviewing the research, the reviewers may exercise all of the 

authorities of the committee except that the reviewers may 

not disapprove the research. A research activity may be 

disapproved only after review in accordance with the 

nonexpedited procedure set forth in 6VAC15-26-60.  

B. Each committee which uses an expedited review 

procedure shall adopt a method for keeping all members 

advised of research proposals which have been approved 

under the procedure.  

C. Research activities involving no more than minimal risk 

and in which the involvement of human participants will only 

be in one or more of the following categories (carried out 

through standard methods) may be reviewed by the research 

review committee through the expedited review procedure.  

1. The study of existing data in the form of records on 

department personnel or inmates, probationers, or parolees, 

automated or other records.  

2. Research on individual or group behavior or 

characteristics of individuals, such as studies of perception, 

attitudes or interaction patterns, where the investigator 

does not manipulate participants' behavior and the research 

will not involve stress to participants.  

6VAC15-26-81. Records maintenance. 

A. The principal researcher shall maintain records adequate 

to enable the Department of Corrections to ascertain the status 

of the research project at any given time. 

B. The principal researcher shall maintain completed 

voluntary informed consent forms in a secure location for at 

least three years.  

6VAC15-26-90. Informed consent. (Repealed.) 

A. No human research may be conducted in the absence of 

voluntary informed consent subscribed to in writing by the 

participant or by the participant's legally authorized 

representative except as provided for in subsection F of this 

section. If the participant is a minor otherwise capable of 

rendering voluntary informed consent, the consent shall be 

subscribed to by both the minor and his legally authorized 

representative. An investigator shall seek such consent only 

under circumstances that (i) provide the prospective 

participant or the representative sufficient opportunity to 

consider whether or not to participate and (ii) minimize the 

possibility of coercion or undue influence. The information 

that is given to the participant or the representative shall be in 

understandable language.  

B. No individual shall participate in research unless 

subsection A of this section is met for each individual. The 

consent by a legally authorized representative shall be subject 

to the provisions of subsection C of this section. No voluntary 

informed consent shall include any language through which 

the participant waives or appears to waive any of his legal 

rights, including any release of any individual, institution, 

agency or any agents thereof from liability for negligence. 
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Notwithstanding consent by a legally authorized 

representative, no person shall be forced to participate in any 

research project. Each participant shall be given a copy of the 

signed consent form required by 6VAC15-26-30 A except as 

provided for in subsection F of this section.  

C. No legally authorized representative may consent to 

nontherapeutic research unless it is determined by the 

committee that such nontherapeutic research will present no 

more than a minor increase over minimal risk to the 

participant. No nontherapeutic research shall be performed 

without the consent of the participant.  

D. The committee may approve a consent procedure which 

omits or alters some or all of the elements of informed 

consent set forth in 6VAC15-26-10, or waives the 

requirement to obtain informed consent provided the 

committee finds and documents that:  

1. The research involves no more than minimal risk to the 

participants;  

2. The omission, alteration or waiver will not adversely 

affect the rights and welfare of the participants;  

3. The research could not practicably be performed without 

the omission, alteration or waiver; and  

4. Whenever appropriate, the participants will be provided 

with additional pertinent information after participation.  

E. Except as provided in subsection F of this section, the 

consent form may be either of the following:  

1. A written consent document that embodies the elements 

of informed consent required by 6VAC15-26-10. This 

form may be read to the participant or the participant's 

legally authorized representative, but in any event, the 

investigator shall give either the participant or the 

representative adequate opportunity to read it before it is 

signed; or  

2. A short form written consent document stating that the 

elements of informed consent required by 6VAC15-26-10 

have been presented orally to the participant or the 

participant's legally authorized representative. When this 

method is used, there shall be a witness to the oral 

presentation. Also, the committee shall approve a written 

summary of what is to be said to the participant or the 

representative. Only the short form itself is to be signed by 

the participant or the representative. However, the witness 

shall sign both the short form and a copy of the summary, 

and the person actually obtaining consent shall sign a copy 

of the summary. A copy of the summary shall be given to 

the participant or the representative in addition to a copy of 

the short form.  

F. The committee may waive the requirement for the 

investigator to obtain a signed consent form for some or all 

participants if it finds that the only record linking the 

participant and the research would be the consent document 

and that the principal risk would be potentially harmful 

resulting from a breach of confidentiality. Each participant 

will be asked whether he wants documentation linking him to 

the research, and the participant's wishes will govern. In cases 

where the documentation requirement is waived, the 

committee may require the investigator to provide 

participants with a written statement explaining the research.  

6VAC15-26-91. Publication rights. 

A. Researchers are not permitted to publish beyond the 

approved research proposal without further review and 

approval from the HSRRC. 

B. The researcher shall furnish the HSRRC with an 

electronic copy of the published research findings. 

C. The Department of Corrections shall be permitted to use 

the data collected in the research project and to reproduce the 

materials as they are published. 

D. Without the explicit written approval of the researcher, 

the Department of Corrections should not publicly distribute 

any dissertation or thesis material that the researcher has not 

published or presented publicly or professionally.  

E. Without prior approval from the HSRRC, research 

conducted by employees or agents (including but not limited 

to interns, volunteers, contractors, and vendors) of the 

[ department Department of Corrections ] is the property of 

the department and cannot be published without the approval 

of the [ director or the appropriate deputy director Director of 

the Department of Corrections or designee ]. 

6VAC15-26-100. Committee records. (Repealed.) 

A. Documentation of all committee activities shall be 

prepared and maintained and shall include the following:  

1. Copies of all research proposals reviewed, evaluations 

that may accompany the proposals, approved sample 

consent documents, progress reports submitted by 

researchers, reports of injuries to participants, and 

correspondence related to the research;  

2. Minutes of committee meetings which shall be in 

sufficient detail to show attendance at the meetings; actions 

taken by the committee; the vote on these actions, 

including the number of members voting for, against, and 

abstaining; the basis for requiring changes in or for 

disapproving research; and a written summary of the 

discussion of controversial issues and their resolution;  

3. Records of continuing review activities;  

4. Copies of all correspondence between the committee 

and the investigators;  

5. A list of committee members;  

6. Written procedures for the committee; and  

7. Statements of significant new findings provided to the 

participants.  

B. The records required by this chapter shall be retained for 

at least three years, and records relating to research which is 

conducted shall be retained for at least three years after 

completion of the research. All records shall be accessible for 
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inspection and copying by authorized employees or agents of 

the department at reasonable times and in a reasonable 

manner.  

6VAC15-26-101. Research exempt from HSRRC review. 

The following are exempt from HSRRC review: 

1. Department of Corrections' studies, program evaluations 

and routine data analyses for management purposes. 

2. Research conducted by the Department of Corrections, 

Division of Education in established or commonly 

accepted educational settings, involving commonly used 

educational practices, such as: 

a. Research on regular and special education instructional 

strategies. 

b. Research on the effectiveness of, or the comparison 

among, instructional techniques, curriculum or classroom 

management methods. 

3. Research involving required agency survey procedures, 

unless responses are recorded in such a manner that 

participants can be identified, directly or through 

identifiers linked to the participants, and either: 

a. The participants' responses, if they become known 

outside the research, could reasonably place a participant 

at risk of criminal or civil liability or be damaging to a 

participant's financial standing, employability, or 

reputation; or 

b. The research deals with sensitive aspects of a 

participant's own behavior, such as sexual behavior, drug 

or alcohol use, illegal conduct, or family planning.  

4. Research involving solely the collection or study of 

existing data, documents, records, or pathological or 

diagnostic specimens, if these sources are publically 

available or if the information taken from these sources is 

recorded in such a manner that participants [ connot 

cannot ] be identified, either directly or through identifiers 

linked to the participants. 

6VAC15-26-102. Waiver of signed voluntary informed 

consent form. 

A. The HSRRC may waive the requirement for the 

researcher to obtain a signed voluntary informed consent 

form for some or all participants in a research project if it 

finds that the only record linking the participant and the 

research would be the consent form and that the principal risk 

would be potentially harmful resulting from a breach of 

confidentiality. 

B. Each participant will be asked whether he wants 

documentation linking him to the research, and the 

participant's wishes will govern. 

C. In cases where the documentation requirement is waived, 

the HSRRC shall require the researcher to provide 

participants with a written statement explaining the research. 

6VAC15-26-110. Mandatory reporting. (Repealed.) 

Each research review committee shall submit to the 

governor, the General Assembly, and the director or his 

designee at least annually a report on the human research 

projects reviewed and approved by the committee, including 

significant deviations from the proposals as approved.  

Part III  

Role of the Department, Director, and the Board  

6VAC15-26-120. Role of the department, director, and the 

board.  

A. The [ director Director of the Department of 

Corrections ], or [ his ] designee, shall establish and maintain 

records of organizational unit the HSRRC assurances, annual 

reports, and summary descriptions of research projects to be 

reviewed by the board.  

B. The [ director Director of the Department of 

Corrections ], or [ his ] designee, shall review 

communications from committees the HSRRC reporting 

violations of research protocols which led to suspension or 

termination of the research to ensure that appropriate steps 

have been taken for the protection of rights of human research 

participants. The board shall be kept informed.  

C. The [ director Director of the Department of Corrections ] 

shall arrange for the printing and dissemination of copies of 

this chapter. 

Part IV  

Applicability of State and Federal Policies  

6VAC15-26-130. Applicability of state and federal 

policies.  

A. No statement in this chapter shall be construed as 

limiting in any way the rights of participants in research 

under regulations promulgated by the board pursuant to §§ 

53.1-5 and 53.1-5.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. Human research that is subject to policies and regulations 

for the protection of human participants promulgated by any 

agency of the federal government shall be exempted from this 

chapter. Annual certification shall be made [ to the Director 

of the Department of Corrections and the Board of 

Corrections ] that exempted projects have complied with the 

policies and regulations of federal agencies [ to the director 

and the board ]. 

6VAC15-26-140. Applicability of federal policies. 

(Repealed.) 

Human research which is subject to policies and regulations 

for the protection of human participants promulgated by any 

agency of the federal government shall be exempted from this 

chapter. Annual certification shall be made to the director and 

the board that exempted projects have complied with the 

policies and regulations of federal agencies. 
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NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 

form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 

may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 

General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

FORMS (6VAC15-26) 

[ Research Proposal - Sample (Operating Procedure 020.1), 

Attachment 1, effective April 1, 2010 (rev. 1/10). 

Research Agreement (Operating Procedure 020.1), 

Attachment 2, effective April 1, 2010 (rev. 1/10). 

Voluntary Informed Consent to Participate in Research 

(Operating Procedure 020.1), Attachment 3, effective April 1, 

2010 (rev. 1/10). 

Research Agreement, 020_F2_2-13, (rev. 3/13) 

Research Proposal - Sample (Operating Procedure 020.1), 

Attachment 1, effective May 1, 2013 (rev. 3/13) 

Voluntary Informed Consent to Participate in Research, 

020_F3_2-13, (rev. 3/13) ]  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(6VAC15-26) 

Operating Procedure 701.1 - Health Services 

Administration, Effective Date January 1, 2012, Amended 

March 29, 2012, Virginia Department of Corrections 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2246; Filed November 7, 2013, 8:22 a.m.  

FORENSIC SCIENCE BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC40-20. Regulations for Breath 

Alcohol Testing (amending 6VAC40-20-140, 6VAC40-20-

160).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-1110 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 2, 2014. 

Effective Date: January 17, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Stephanie Merritt, Department Counsel, 

Department of Forensic Science, 700 North Fifth Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2281, FAX (804) 

786-6857, or email stephanie.merritt@dfs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 18.2-267 B of the Code of Virginia requires 

the Department of Forensic Science to determine the proper 

method and equipment to be used in analyzing breath samples 

taken pursuant to § 18.2-267 and to advise the respective 

police and sheriff's departments of the same. Additionally, 

§ 18.2-268.9 of the Code of Virginia requires the department 

to establish a training program for all individuals who are to 

administer the breath tests and, upon a person's successful 

completion of the training program, the department may 

license him to conduct breath test analyses. This regulation 

describes the process for approval of breath test devices, 

general methods of conducting breath tests, training and 

licensing procedures for operators, and the use of preliminary 

breath test devices. Section 9.1-1110 A 1 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the Forensic Science Board to adopt 

regulations, pursuant to the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), for the 

administration of Chapter 11 (§ 9.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 9.1 

of the Code of Virginia or §§ 18.2-268.6, 18.2-268.9, 19.2-

188.1, and 19.2-310.5 of the Code of Virginia and for any 

provisions of the Code of Virginia as they relate to the 

responsibilities of the Department of Forensic Science. 

Purpose: The regulations, which describe the process for 

approval of breath test devices, general methods of 

conducting breath tests, training and licensing procedures for 

operators, and the use of preliminary breath test devices, 

facilitate the protection of the health and safety of the public 

from the perils of individuals who drive while under the 

influence of alcohol or other drugs. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The amendments 

involving a mail delivery method, striking language regarding 

a checklist that is no longer applicable to the instruments used 

the Commonwealth, and updating information about the 

availability of a form relevant to the current breath 

instrumentation are minor and do not change any existing, 

substantive procedures. In September 2012, the department 

conducted a periodic review of this regulation and received 

no public comment. Likewise, the Forensic Science Board 

discussed and voted to adopt these amendments at its January 

2013 public meeting, and no member of the public offered a 

comment. Given these facts, the department does not expect 

the amendments to be controversial. 

Substance: The amendments to 6VAC40-20 make two minor 

changes to the existing regulations. First, the amendments add 

the term "or equivalent delivery method" to 6VAC40-20-140. 

This amendment allows the Department of Forensic Science 

to deliver notice of the revocation of certain licenses or 

certificates via certified U.S.P.S. mail as well as other 

equivalent delivery methods such as signature required 

Federal Express or UPS delivery. The use of the private 

carriers for mail delivery is, at times, more cost effective than 

U.S.P.S. mail. This change will allow the department to 

utilize the least expensive mail delivery option. Second, the 

amendments to 6VAC40-20-160 strike language about the 

preventive maintenance checklist, which was applicable to a 

breath instrument no longer used in the Commonwealth, and 

replaces this language with information about the availability 

of breath test worksheets relevant to the instruments currently 

in use. 

Issues: The amendments are advantageous to the Department 

of Forensic Science and the Commonwealth to the extent that 

multiple mail delivery options allow the department to choose 

the most cost-effective delivery method for certain mailings. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b3f89002246~5&typ=40&actno=002246&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4828c002246~6&typ=40&actno=002246&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4828c002246~6&typ=40&actno=002246&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4071e002246~7&typ=40&actno=002246&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4071e002246~7&typ=40&actno=002246&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=32f08002246~4&typ=40&actno=002246&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=32f08002246~4&typ=40&actno=002246&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=32f08002246~4&typ=40&actno=002246&mime=application/pdf
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Furthermore, the amendments clarify the current availability 

of the breath test worksheet to law-enforcement agencies and 

eliminate reference to a worksheet that is no longer in use. 

The department expects these changes will enhance its user 

agencies' understanding of the regulations. There is no other 

anticipated public impact and no known disadvantage. 

Small Business Impact Report of Findings: This regulatory 

action serves as the report of findings of the regulatory review 

pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Forensic Science (DFS) proposes to amend its 

Regulations for Breath Alcohol Testing to: 1) allow DFS to 

deliver notice of license or certificate revocation to breath 

instrument operators or instructors by certified USPS mail or 

by equivalent signature required UPS or Federal Express, 2) 

remove obsolete language that refers to DFS providing 

preventative maintenance checklists and requires that a copy 

of this checklist be filled out for every breath test devise 

assigned to affected agencies and 3) add language that 

informs agencies that breath test worksheets relevant to 

instruments currently in use are provided to agencies but may 

also be accessed and printed from DFS's website. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 

proposed regulatory changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations require that 

DFS deliver notice of revocation to breath test instructor 

licensees and breath test operators certificate holders by 

certified USPS mail. In other areas of practice, however, DFS 

has found that sending mail by signature required UPS or 

Federal Express mail tends to be less expensive and also 

offers the benefit of nearly instant verification that mail has 

been delivered. Because of this, DFS now proposes to amend 

these regulations so that mail service that is equivalent to 

certified mail (in that it requires the recipient to sign for it) 

may be used to mail notice of revocation to individuals who 

are losing their department issued licenses or certifications. 

This change will benefit DFS, and taxpayers who fund DFS, 

because DFS will have the ability to choose the least costly 

equivalent mailing service rather than being constrained to 

only using certified USPS mail. No entity is likely to incur 

costs on account of this regulatory change. 

DFS also proposes to remove language from these regulations 

that references testing of equipment that is no longer in use in 

the Commonwealth and to add language that informs 

localities of breath test worksheets (in use with newer breath 

test equipment) that will be distributed by DFS and that are 

also available for download on the departments website. No 

entity is likely to incur costs on account of these changes. 

Licensees and certificate holders, as well as other interested 

parties will likely benefit from changes that remove obsolete 

language and clarify current practice.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. DFS reports that there are 

5,000 breath instrument operators and 35 breath instrument 

instructors all of whom will be affected by these regulatory 

changes. DFS additionally reports that there are 168 breath 

instruments that are operated in 165 localities throughout the 

Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any additional expense on account of these 

regulatory changes. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any 

additional expense on account of these regulatory changes. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Forensic Science concurs with the economic 
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impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) allow the Department of Forensic 

Science to deliver notice of license or certificate revocation 

to breath instrument operators or instructors by certified 

USPS mail or by equivalent signature-required delivery 

service, (ii) remove obsolete language that (a) refers 

to  the department providing preventative maintenance 

checklists and (b) requires that a copy of this checklist be 

filled out for every breath test device assigned to affected 

agencies, and (iii) add language that informs agencies that 

breath test worksheets relevant to instruments currently in 

use are provided to agencies but may also be accessed and 

printed from the department's website. 

6VAC40-20-140. Revocation.  

Any revocation of a license or instructor certificate shall be 

by notice sent by registered or certified mail or equivalent 

delivery method from the department to the licensee or 

instructor.  

6VAC40-20-160. Checklist.  

A preventive maintenance checklist, if applicable, shall be 

provided by the department and completed at least once each 

month for each breath test device assigned to an agency. A 

copy of this preventive maintenance checklist shall be 

submitted to the department to be kept on file for at least 

three years. Breath test worksheets are provided to an agency 

by the department but may also be accessed and printed from 

the department's website. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (6VAC40-20)  

Intoxilyzer 5000 Monthly Preventive 

Maintenance/Simulator Solution Change Checklist, DFS-70-

036A (rev. 7/05).  

Operational Checklist for Intoxilyzer 5000, DFS-70-037 

(rev. 8/97).  

EC/IR II Breath Test Worksheet, DFS Document 250-F115 

(eff. 10/08) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3740; Filed November 7, 2013, 9:10 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-71. Regulations Governing 

Virginia Newborn Screening Services (amending 

12VAC5-71-10, 12VAC5-71-30, 12VAC5-71-70 through 

12VAC5-71-100, 12VAC5-71-120 through 12VAC5-71-

190; repealing 12VAC5-71-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-67 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 1, 2014. 

Effective Date: January 24, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Susan Tlusty, Division of Child and 

Adolescent Health, Department of Health, 109 Governor 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7686, 

FAX (804) 864-7647, or email 

susan.tlusty@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The State Board of Health is authorized to make, 

adopt, promulgate, and enforce regulations by § 32.1-12 of 

the Code of Virginia. Section 32.1-65 of the Code of Virginia 

requires newborn screening to be conducted on every infant 

born in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Section 32.1-67 of 

the Code of Virginia requires the State Board of Health to 

promulgate regulations as necessary to implement newborn 

screening services. The regulations are required to include a 

list of newborn screening tests pursuant to § 32.1-65. 

Purpose: The regulation needs to be amended as the result of 

a periodic review conducted pursuant to Executive Order 14 

(2010). The regulation is essential to protect the health of 

citizens as conditions identified through newborn screening 

can lead to death or permanent disability if left unidentified or 

untreated. 

The regulation provides oversight for the Virginia Newborn 

Screening Program. The benefits of newborn screening are to 

identify rare genetic and heritable disorders at birth in order 

to reduce infant mortality and permanent disabilities that can 

result from unidentified and untreated disease. The 

amendments update names and references to programs, state 

regulations, and federal recommendation entities. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track 

rulemaking process is being utilized as the changes to the 

regulation update names and references to programs, state 

regulations, and federal recommendation entities. These 

changes are not expected to be controversial. 

Substance: Definitions in 12VAC5-71-10 for "certified nurse 

midwife," "child," "hospital," "parent," "pool of funds," and 

"preterm infants" are updated to be consistent with other 

regulations or to provide more clarity to the definition. 

References to Virginia Newborn Screening Services or 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0f15a003740~1&typ=40&actno=003740&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0f15a003740~1&typ=40&actno=003740&mime=application/pdf
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newborn screening services are changed to reflect the current 

program name, Virginia Newborn Screening Program, 

throughout the regulation. In 12VAC5-71-30, the reference to 

the federal newborn screening recommended screening panel 

is updated, and standardized nomenclature for newborn 

screening condition names and abbreviations is incorporated 

into the list of conditions. In 12VAC5-71-70, the term from 

the hospital is added to the term at the time of discharge for 

clarity. 12VAC5-71-80 and 12VAC5-71-120 are restructured 

to be formatted in correct style. In 12VAC5-71-90, the phrase 

"information relative to" is stricken to clarify what 

information must be recorded in the record. The reference to 

the federal regulation for laboratories is clarified in 12VAC5-

71-100. In 12VAC5-71-160, the word "protocol" is 

substituted for "procedure" and the term "resident adults" is 

added to clarify that persons ages 19 and 20 are covered. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that infants in 

Virginia will continue to be screened for conditions as 

recommended by the federal government. There are no 

disadvantages related to the proposed changes.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Health (Board) proposes to amend these 

regulations to: 1) update multiple condition names and 

abbreviations using national standardized nomenclature, 2) 

update citations, 3) update definitions, 4) make grammatical 

changes, and 5) add clarifying language. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. None of the proposed 

amendments change requirements or have any impact beyond 

improving clarity. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. These regulations affect 

newborns and their families, as well as hospitals and their 

staff.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Since the proposed 

amendments do not have any impact beyond improving 

clarity, employment will not be significantly affected.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Since the 

proposed amendments do not have any impact beyond 

improving clarity, the use and value of private property will 

not be significantly affected. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposal 

amendments do not significantly affect costs.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Health concurs with the economic impact 

analysis conducted by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments update condition names and 

abbreviations, names and references to programs, 

citations to state regulations, and names of federal 

recommendation entities.  

12VAC5-71-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Attending physician" means the physician in charge of the 

infant's care.  

"Board" means the State Board of Health.  

"Business days" means Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. 

to 5 p.m., excluding federal and state holidays.  

"Care Connection for Children" means a statewide network 

of centers of excellence for children with special health care 

needs (CSHCN) that provides leadership in the enhancement 

of specialty medical services, care coordination, medical 

insurance benefits evaluation and coordination, management 

of the CSHCN Pool pool of Funds funds, information and 

referral to CSHCN resources, family-to-family support, and 

training and consultation with community providers on 

CSHCN issues.  
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"Care coordination" means a process that links individuals 

and their families to services and resources in a coordinated 

effort to maximize their potential and provide them with 

optimal health care.  

"Certified nurse midwife" means a person licensed to 

practice as a nurse practitioner in the Commonwealth 

pursuant to § 54.1-2957 of the Code of Virginia and in 

accordance with Part II (18VAC90-30-60 et seq.) of 

18VAC90-30 and 18VAC90-30-120 and 18VAC90-30-121, 

subject to 18VAC90-30-160.  

"Chief executive officer" means a job descriptive term used 

to identify the individual appointed by the governing body to 

act in its behalf in the overall management of the hospital. Job 

titles may include administrator, superintendent, director, 

executive director, president, vice-president, and executive 

vice-president.  

"Child" means a person less than 18 years of age and 

includes a biological or an adopted child, and as well as a 

child placed for adoption or foster care unless otherwise 

treated as a separate unit for the purposes of determining 

eligibility and charges under these regulations.  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner, his 

duly designated officer, or agent.  

"Confirmatory testing" means a test or a panel of tests 

performed following a screened-abnormal result to verify a 

diagnosis.  

"Core panel conditions" means those heritable disorders and 

genetic diseases considered appropriate for newborn 

screening. The conditions in the core panel are similar in that 

they have (i) specific and sensitive screening tests, (iii) a 

sufficiently well understood natural history, and (iii) available 

and efficacious treatments.  

"Department" means the state Department of Health.  

"Dried-blood-spot specimen" means a clinical blood sample 

collected from an infant by heel stick method and placed 

directly onto specially manufactured absorbent specimen 

collection (filter) paper.  

"Guardian" means a parent-appointed, court-appointed, or 

clerk-appointed guardian of the person.  

"Healthcare provider" means a person who is licensed to 

provide health care as part of his job responsibilities and who 

has the authority to order newborn dried-blood-spot screening 

tests.  

"Heritable disorders and genetic diseases" means 

pathological conditions (i.e., interruption, cessation or 

disorder of body functions, systems, or organs) that are 

caused by an absent or defective gene or gene product, or by a 

chromosomal aberration.  

"Hospital" means a medical care facility licensed as a 

hospital by the Virginia Department of Health any facility as 

defined in § 32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Infant" means a child less than 12 months of age.  

"Low protein modified foods" means foods that are (i) 

specially formulated to have less than one gram of protein per 

serving, (ii) intended to be used under the direction of a 

physician for the dietary treatment of an inherited metabolic 

disease, (iii) not natural foods that are naturally low in 

protein, and (iv) prescribed as medically necessary for the 

therapeutic treatment of inherited metabolic diseases.  

"Metabolic formula" means nutritional substances that are 

(i) prescribed by a health professional with appropriate 

prescriptive authority; (ii) specifically designed and 

formulated to be consumed or administered internally under 

the supervision of such health professional; (iii) specifically 

designed, processed, or formulated to be distinct in one or 

more nutrients that are present in natural food; and (iv) 

intended for the medical and nutritional management of 

patients with limited capacity to metabolize ordinary 

foodstuffs or limited capacity to metabolize certain nutrients 

contained in ordinary foodstuffs.  

"Metabolic supplements" means certain dietary or 

nutritional substances intended to be used under the direction 

of a physician for the nutritional management of inherited 

metabolic diseases.  

"Midwife" means a person licensed as a nurse practitioner in 

the category of certified nurse midwife by the Boards of 

Nursing and Medicine or licensed as a midwife by the Board 

of Medicine.  

"Newborn" means an infant who is 28 days old or less.  

"Nurse" means a person holding a current license as a 

registered nurse or licensed practical nurse by the Virginia 

Board of Nursing or a current multistate licensure privilege to 

practice in Virginia as a registered nurse or licensed practical 

nurse.  

"Parent" means a biological parent, adoptive parent, or 

stepparent.  

"Pediatric Comprehensive Sickle Cell Clinic Network" 

means a statewide network of clinics that are located in major 

medical centers and provide comprehensive medical and 

support services for newborns and children living with sickle 

cell disease and other genetically related hemoglobinopathies.  

"Physician" means a person licensed to practice medicine or 

osteopathic medicine in the Commonwealth pursuant to 

Chapter 29 (§ 54.1-2900 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia and in accordance with applicable regulations.  

"Pool of funds" means funds designated for payment of 

direct health care services. Access to the pool is not an 

entitlement and is subject to availability of funds and 

guidelines that govern its eligibility and coverage of services. 

Pool of funds is a mix of federal Title V funds and state 

match matching funds.  

"Population-based" means preventive interventions and 

personal health services developed and available for the entire 

infant and child health population of the Commonwealth 

rather than for individuals in a one-on-one situation.  
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"Preterm infant" means a neonate an infant whose birth 

occurs through by the end of the last day of the 36th week 

following the onset of the last menstrual period.  

"Repeat specimen" means an additional newborn dried-

blood-spot screening specimen submitted to the testing 

laboratory voluntarily or by request.  

"Resident" means an individual who resides within the 

geographical boundaries of the Commonwealth.  

"Satisfactory specimen" means a newborn dried-blood-spot 

screening specimen that has been determined to be acceptable 

for laboratory analyses by the testing laboratory.  

"Screened-abnormal" means a newborn dried-blood-spot 

screening test result that is outside the established normal 

range or normal value for that test method.  

"Testing laboratory" means the laboratory that has been 

selected by the department to perform newborn dried-blood-

spot screening tests services.  

"Total parenteral nutrition (TPN)" or "TPN" means giving 

nutrients through a vein for babies who cannot be fed by 

mouth.  

"Treatment" means appropriate management including 

genetic counseling, medical consultation, and 

pharmacological and dietary management for infants 

diagnosed with a disease listed in 12VAC5-71-30 D.  

"Unsatisfactory specimen" means a newborn dried-blood-

spot screening specimen that is inadequate for performing an 

accurate analysis.  

"Virginia Genetics Advisory Committee" means a formal 

group that advises the department on issues pertaining to 

access to clinical genetics services across the Commonwealth 

and the provision of genetic awareness, quality services, and 

education for consumers and providers.  

"Virginia Newborn Screening System" means a coordinated 

and comprehensive group of services, including education, 

screening, follow up, diagnosis, treatment and management, 

and program evaluation, managed by the department's 

Virginia Newborn Screening Services Program and Virginia 

Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program for 

safeguarding the health of children born in Virginia.  

"Virginia Sickle Cell Awareness Program" means a 

statewide program for the education and screening of 

individuals for the disease of sickle cell anemia or the sickle 

cell trait and for such other genetically related 

hemoglobinopathies.  

12VAC5-71-20. Administration of chapter. (Repealed.) 

This chapter is administered by the commissioner.  

The commissioner may issue a guidance document that 

interprets these regulations and provides guidance for their 

implementation. Such a document shall be reviewed and 

revised whenever the regulations of this chapter are reviewed 

and may also be amended or revised as needed to meet 

changing circumstances.  

Guidance documents shall include procedures for accessing 

program services including available assistance when not 

otherwise addressed in these regulations or the Code of 

Virginia.  

12VAC5-71-30. Core panel of heritable disorders and 

genetic diseases.  

A. The Virginia Newborn Screening System, which includes 

Virginia Newborn Screening Services Program and the 

Virginia Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 

shall ensure that the core panel of heritable disorders and 

genetic diseases for which newborn screening is conducted is 

consistent with but not necessarily identical to the 

recommendations for screening by the American College of 

Medical Genetics in its 2005 report "Newborn Screening: 

Toward a Uniform Screening Panel and System." U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services Secretary's 

Recommended Uniform Screening Panel. 

B. The department shall review, at least biennially, national 

recommendations and guidelines and may propose changes to 

the core panel of heritable disorders and genetic diseases for 

which newborn dried-blood-spot screening tests are 

conducted.  

C. The Virginia Genetics Advisory Committee may be 

consulted and provide advice to the commissioner on 

proposed changes to the core panel of heritable disorders and 

genetic diseases for which newborn dried-blood-spot 

screening tests are conducted.  

D. Infants under six months of age who are born in Virginia 

shall be screened in accordance with the provisions set forth 

in this chapter for the following heritable disorders and 

genetic diseases, which are identified through newborn dried-

blood-spot screening tests:  

1. Argininosuccinic acidemia aciduria (ASA);  

2. Beta-ketothiolase Beta-Ketothiolase deficiency (±KT) 

(BKT);  

3. Biotinidase deficiency (BIOT);  

4. Carnitine uptake defect (CUD);  

5. Classical galactosemia (galactose-1-phosphate 

uridyltransferase deficiency) (GALT);    

5. 6. Citrullinemia (CIT) type I (CIT-I);  

6. 7. Congenital adrenal hyperplasia (CAH);  

7. Congenital hypothyroidism (CH);  

8. Cystic fibrosis (CF);  

9. Galactosemia (GALT);  

10. 9. Glutaric acidemia type I (GA I);  

11. Hemoglobin Sickle/Beta-thalassemia (Hb S/±Th) 10. 

Hb S beta-thalassemia (Hb F,S,A);  

12. Hemoglobin Sickle/C disease (Hb S/C) 11. Hb SC-

disease (Hb F,S,C);  

12. Hb SS-disease (sickle cell anemia) (Hb F, S); 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 2, 2013 

831 

13. Homocystinuria (HCY);  

14. Isovaleric acidemia (IVA);  

15. Long chain hydroxyacyl-CoA L-3-Hydroxy acyl-CoA 

dehydrogenase deficiency (LCHAD);  

16. Maple syrup urine disease (MSUD);  

17. Medium-chain acyl-CoA dehydrogenase deficiency 

(MCAD);  

18. Methylmalonic acidemia (mutase deficiency) 

(Methylmalonyl-CoA mutase deficiency) (MUT);  

19. Methylmalonic acidemia (Cbl A,B) 

(Adenosylcobalamin synthesis deficiency) (CBL A, CBL 

B);  

20. Multiple carboxylase deficiency (MCD);  

21. Phenylketonuria (PKU);  

22. Primary congenital hypothyroidism (CH); 

22. 23. Propionic acidemia (PROP);  

23. Sickle cell anemia (Hb SS disease) (Hb SS);  

24. Tyrosinemia type I (TYR I);  

25. Trifunctional protein deficiency (TFP);  

26. Very long-chain acyl-CoA dehydrogenase deficiency 

(VLCAD);  

27. 3-hydroxy 3-methyl glutaric aciduria (HMG); and  

28. 3-Methylcrotonyl-CoA carboxylase deficiency 

(3MCC) (3-MCC).  

E. Infants born in Virginia shall be screened for hearing loss 

in accordance with provisions set forth in §§ 32.1-64.1 and 

32.1-64.2 of the Code of Virginia and as governed by 

12VAC5-80.  

12VAC5-71-70. Newborn dried-blood-spot screening 

specimen collection, specimen submission, and 

notification for hospital deliveries.  

A. Newborn dried-blood-spot specimen collection and 

submission shall be done in accordance with requirements 

that are determined by the department's designated testing 

laboratory.  

B. Newborn dried-blood-spot specimen collection shall 

occur after 24 hours of age or immediately before the 

newborn's discharge from the hospital, whichever comes first.  

C. If the initial newborn dried-blood-spot specimen is 

collected before 24 hours of age, a repeat specimen shall be 

collected at the time of discharge from the hospital or no later 

than 14 days of age, regardless of earlier test results.  

D. If the newborn is a preterm infant, the newborn dried-

blood-spot specimen shall be collected at seven days of age or 

at the time of discharge from the hospital, whichever occurs 

first.  

E. If the newborn requires a blood transfusion or total 

parenteral nutrition (TPN) or if the newborn is suspected of 

having a heritable disorder or genetic disease that is listed in 

12VAC5-71-30 D:  

1. The newborn dried-blood-spot specimen may be 

collected before 24 hours of age and subsequently 

submitted; and  

2. A repeat newborn dried-blood-spot specimen shall be 

collected at the time of discharge from the hospital or no 

later than 14 days of age, regardless of earlier test results, 

and subsequently submitted.  

F. On notification by the hospital that the infant was 

discharged before a newborn dried-blood-spot specimen was 

collected, the healthcare provider in charge of the infant's care 

or his designee shall:  

1. Notify the infant's parent that the infant was discharged 

before a newborn dried-blood-spot specimen was 

collected;  

2. Cause the collection of a specimen within 48 hours of 

that parental notification; and  

3. Cause the submission of the specimen.  

G. If the newborn is to be transferred to another hospital and 

is less than 24 hours of age:  

1. The physician or certified nurse midwife in charge of the 

infant's care at the hospital of birth shall:  

a. Cause the collection of a newborn dried-blood-spot 

specimen before the newborn is transferred to another 

hospital;  

b. Cause the submission of the specimen; and  

c. Notify the receiving physician or healthcare provider 

that a newborn dried-blood-spot specimen was collected 

before 24 hours of age.  

2. The receiving physician or healthcare provider shall:  

a. Cause the collection of a repeat specimen at the time of 

discharge or no later than 14 days of age, regardless of 

earlier test results; and  

b. Cause the submission of the specimen.  

H. If the infant is transferred to another hospital and is 24 

hours of age or older, the physician in charge of the infant's 

care at the hospital of birth shall:  

1. Cause the initial collection and submission of a newborn 

dried-blood-spot specimen for the infant who is being 

transferred;  

2. Notify the receiving physician or physician of record on 

transfer that the infant's specimen has been collected; and  

3. Notify the receiving physician or physician of record if a 

newborn dried-blood-spot specimen needs to be repeated 

or if confirmatory testing is required.  

I. The healthcare provider in charge of the infant's care, on 

receiving notice from the testing laboratory that the infant's 

newborn dried-blood-spot specimen is unsatisfactory, shall:  

1. Cause the collection of a repeat specimen as soon as 

possible but no later than two business days after notice; 

and  
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2. Cause the submission of the specimen.  

J. The healthcare provider in charge of the infant's care, on 

receiving notice of the results of the infant's newborn dried-

blood-spot screening test, shall place or cause to be placed the 

results in the infant's medical record and cause parental 

notification of test results.  

K. The healthcare provider in charge of the infant's care, on 

receiving notice of the infant's screened-abnormal result, 

shall:  

1. Cause the collection of a repeat newborn dried-blood-

spot specimen for repeat or confirmatory testing as soon as 

possible but no later than two business days after notice;  

2. Cause the submission of the specimen; and  

3. Take immediate action, as instructed, when notified of a 

critically abnormal screening result.  

12VAC5-71-80. Newborn dried-blood-spot screening 

specimen collection, specimen submission, and 

notification for deliveries outside of the hospital.  

A. In the event that the infant is born outside of a hospital, 

the attending physician or midwife shall ensure that:  

1. Newborn dried-blood-spot specimen collection and 

submission is done in accordance with requirements that 

are determined by the department's designated testing 

laboratory.  

2. Newborn dried-blood-spot specimen collection occurs 

after 24 hours of age.  

3. If the initial newborn dried-blood-spot specimen is 

collected before 24 hours of age, a repeat specimen shall 

be collected no later than 14 days of age, regardless of 

earlier test results.  

4. If the newborn is hospitalized, the infant's healthcare 

provider shall cause the newborn dried-blood-spot 

screening specimen collection and submission in 

accordance with 12VAC5-71-70.  

B. The healthcare provider in charge of the infant's care, on 

receiving notice of the results of the infant's newborn dried-

blood-spot screening test, shall place or cause to be placed the 

results in the infant's medical record and cause parental 

notification of test results.  

C. The healthcare provider in charge of the infant's care, on 

receiving notice from the testing laboratory that the infant's 

newborn dried-blood-spot specimen is unsatisfactory, shall:  

1. Cause the collection of a repeat specimen as soon as 

possible but no later than two business days after notice; 

and  

2. Cause the submission of the specimen.  

D. The healthcare provider in charge of the infant's care, on 

receiving notice of the infant's screened-abnormal result, 

shall:  

1. Cause the collection of a repeat newborn dried-blood-

spot specimen for repeat or confirmatory testing as soon as 

possible but no later than two business days after notice;  

2. Cause the submission of the specimen; and  

3. Take immediate action, as instructed, when notified of a 

critically abnormal screening result.  

E. If a licensed midwife has ordered the newborn dried-

blood-spot screening test and is notified that the results are 

unsatisfactory or abnormal, the infant shall be immediately 

referred to a physician or health care facility for repeat 

collection and submission and for care and treatment as 

necessary.  

F. The licensed midwife shall cause the collection and 

submission of a repeat newborn dried-blood-spot specimen if 

the specimen is unsatisfactory and referring the infant to a 

physician or health care facility for repeat collection will 

result in a delay of more than two business days.  

12VAC5-71-90. Responsibilities of the chief executive 

officer.  

The chief executive officer shall assure that the hospital 

providing birthing services develops and implements policies 

and procedures to make certain that the following steps take 

place:  

1. Collection of newborn dried-blood-spot screening 

specimens shall occur after 24 hours of birth, and 

collection and submission of the specimens shall meet the 

standards required by the testing laboratory;  

2. Notification of the newborn's physician of record or 

designee shall occur within one business day in the event 

that the infant is discharged before the newborn dried-

blood-spot screening specimen has been collected;  

3. Communication of the newborn dried-blood-spot 

screening test results to the newborn's physician of record 

or designee shall occur so that test results may become part 

of the infant's medical record on file with the physician;  

4. Information relative to The newborn screening dried-

blood-spot results and treatment shall be recorded in the 

patient's medical record, and retention of the information 

shall comply with applicable medical record retention 

requirements; and  

5. Training of staff on newborn dried-blood-spot screening 

specimen collection and submission and parental 

notification shall be implemented in a way that ensures an 

adequately trained and knowledgeable workforce is 

maintained for implementing specimen collection and 

submission and parental notification according to standards 

required by the testing laboratory and guidance from the 

department.  

12VAC5-71-100. Responsibilities of the testing laboratory 

providing newborn dried-blood-spot screening tests.  

A. Newborn dried-blood-spot screening tests shall be 

performed by the Division of Consolidated Laboratory 
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Services or other laboratory the department has contracted 

with to provide this service in accordance § 32.1-65 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

B. The testing laboratory shall maintain accreditation under 

the federal Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments 

regulations as defined in 42 CFR Part 493.  

C. The testing laboratory shall perform required initial and 

secondary tests using validated analytical test methods and 

establish normal ranges and notification protocols as defined 

in the contract with the department. The testing laboratory 

may seek the advice of the Newborn Screening Subcommittee 

of the Virginia Genetics Advisory Committee.  

D. On completion of newborn dried-blood-spot screening 

tests for the infant, the testing laboratory shall provide the 

completed test results to the submitting facility and to the 

infant's healthcare provider, as indicated on the newborn 

screening sample.  

E. The testing laboratory shall provide the department's 

newborn screening services program with the newborn dried-

blood-spot screening test data that are necessary to carry out 

follow-up services.  

F. The testing laboratory shall manage the distribution of 

newborn dried-blood-spot screening specimen collection kits.  

G. The testing laboratory is authorized to set the fee charged 

to birthing hospitals and physicians for purchase of newborn 

dried-blood-spot screening specimen collection kits in 

consultation with the department and in accordance with 

applicable state statutes and regulations.  

H. The testing laboratory shall maintain an information 

management system capable of electronic data exchange 

between the laboratory and the department's newborn 

screening services program.  

12VAC5-71-120. Scope and content of Virginia Newborn 

Screening Services Program.  

A. The mission of Virginia Newborn Screening Services 

Program is to prevent mental retardation intellectual 

disability, permanent disability, or death through early 

identification and treatment of infants who are affected by 

those heritable disorders and genetic diseases listed in 

12VAC5-71-30 D.  

B. The scope of the newborn screening services program 

shall include the following:  

1. Ensure that infants born in the Commonwealth receive 

newborn dried-blood-spot screening, confirmatory testing, 

and follow-up services for selected heritable disorders or 

genetic diseases;  

2. Locate and track infants with screened-abnormal results 

or unsatisfactory results, a short-term process of ensuring 

that the identified healthcare provider is informed of 

results, in a timely matter, by at least six months of age, to 

determine if the infant has a selected heritable disorder or 

genetic disease;  

3. Ensure that the department receives all diagnostic test 

results, both normal and screened-abnormal results, from 

healthcare providers;  

4. Ensure that appropriate diagnostic data are collected, 

stored, and organized in a secure data management 

information system that allows for efficient extraction of 

appropriate data from the testing laboratory to newborn 

screening services in accordance with federal and state 

laws and regulations;  

5. Assess and evaluate the newborn screening services 

program follow-up activities by collecting and reporting 

data required annually for Title V national performance 

measures that address how well the system functions;  

6. Educate healthcare providers, parents, and the general 

public by electronic or written materials and educational 

sessions, as deemed necessary by the department;  

7. Facilitate the entry of infants with screened-abnormal 

results into medical and dietary management services as 

needed upon receiving notification from the contracted lab 

of such results;  

8. Ensure that residents of the Commonwealth who are 

diagnosed with selected heritable disorders or genetic 

diseases identified through the newborn screening services 

program are referred to the Care Connection for Children 

network for care coordination services; and  

9. Provide information to residents of the Commonwealth 

who are diagnosed with selected heritable disorders or 

genetic diseases identified through the newborn screening 

services program regarding available assistance for 

obtaining metabolic formula, low protein modified foods, 

and metabolic supplements that are medically necessary to 

manage their diagnosed heritable disorder or genetic 

disease listed in 12VAC5-71-30 D.  

C. To ensure full implementation of the newborn screening 

services program, the department may establish contracts 

with, but not be limited to, the following entities, and the 

established contracts shall comply with all federal assurances:  

1. A designated testing laboratory;  

2. Medical facilities to provide metabolic treatment and 

genetic services; and  

3. Other entities as needed.  

D. The Title V national performance measures, as required 

by the federal Government Performance and Results Act 

(GPRA; Public Law 103-62), shall be used to establish the 

newborn screening services program goals. The following 

goals shall change as needed to be consistent with applicable 

Title V national performance measures:  

1. All infants who are born in the Commonwealth and who 

are residents of Virginia will receive appropriate newborn 

dried-blood-spot screening, confirmatory testing, and follow-

up services.  
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2. All infants who are born in the Commonwealth and who 

are not residents of Virginia will receive appropriate newborn 

dried-blood-spot screening and be referred to their state of 

residence for confirmatory testing and follow-up services.  

12VAC5-71-130. Responsibilities of the Pediatric 

Comprehensive Sickle Cell Clinic Network.  

A. Upon notification by the Virginia Newborn Screening 

Services Program of an infant diagnosed with sickle cell 

disease, the Virginia Sickle Cell Awareness Program shall 

track infants identified with sickle cell disease and related 

hemoglobinopathies to ensure that they receive care and refer 

the infants to the Pediatric Comprehensive Sickle Cell Clinic 

Network.  

B. The Pediatric Comprehensive Sickle Cell Clinic Network 

shall provide the following services:  

1. Consultation on screened-abnormal results to primary 

care providers and parents;  

2. Family counseling and support;  

3. Regularly scheduled clinics, which meet the needs of the 

population served; and  

4. Referral to appropriate inpatient care facilities.  

C. The Pediatric Comprehensive Sickle Cell Clinic Network 

shall provide data as needed by the department's newborn 

screening services program. 

12VAC5-71-140. Responsibilities of metabolic treatment 

and genetic centers facilities.  

A. The department's contracted metabolic treatment and 

genetic centers facilities shall collaborate with a specialized 

testing laboratory or laboratories for performing diagnostic 

testing on infants referred by the department's newborn 

screening services program in accordance with § 32.1-65 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

B. The department's contracted metabolic treatment and 

genetic centers facilities shall provide the following clinical 

services:  

1. Consultation on screened-abnormal results to healthcare 

providers;  

2. Family counseling and support;  

3. Regularly scheduled clinics;  

4. Appropriate inpatient care facilities;  

5. Clinical genetic services; and  

6. Nutritional counseling and support.  

C. The department's contracted metabolic treatment and 

genetic centers facilities shall provide written diagnostic and 

other related case information to the department's newborn 

screening services program.  

12VAC5-71-150. Responsibilities of the Care Connection 

for Children network.  

A. The Care Connection for Children network shall provide 

the following services:  

1. Care coordination services for residents of the 

Commonwealth who are diagnosed with selected heritable 

disorders or genetic diseases and are referred to the 

network by the Virginia Newborn Screening Services 

Program.  

2. Other network services for eligible individuals in 

accordance with the § 32.1-77 of the Code of Virginia and 

applicable regulations.  

B. The Care Connection for Children network shall provide 

data as needed by the department's newborn screening 

services program.  

12VAC5-71-160. Availability of assistance for obtaining 

metabolic formula, low protein modified foods, and 

metabolic supplements.  

A. The department shall maintain a procedure protocol to 

assist eligible persons in obtaining metabolic formula, low 

protein modified foods, and metabolic supplements.  

B. Expenditures shall be limited to available funding.  

C. Resident children and resident adults under the age of 21 

who have a diagnosis of a heritable disorder or genetic 

disease listed in 12VAC5-71-30 D and meet financial 

eligibility criteria for the Children with Special Health Care 

Needs Program pool of funds in accordance with the State 

Board of Health Regulations Governing Eligibility Standards 

and Charges for Medical Care Services to Individuals 

(12VAC5-200) may qualify to receive metabolic formula at 

no cost. Applicants who qualify must demonstrate that they 

are not eligible for available state and federal medical 

assistance programs and must demonstrate that they do not 

have insurance coverage for metabolic formula.  

D. Resident children and resident adults under the age of 21 

who have a diagnosis of a heritable disorder or genetic 

disease listed in 12VAC5-71-30 D and do not meet financial 

eligibility criteria for the Children with Special Health Care 

Needs Program pool of funds in accordance with the State 

Board of Health Regulations Governing Eligibility Standards 

and Charges for Medical Care Services to Individuals 

(12VAC5-200) may be eligible to purchase metabolic 

formula through the Virginia Department of Health.  

E. Resident adults ages 21 or older who have a diagnosis of 

a heritable disorder or genetic disease listed in 12VAC5-71-

30 D and who have a gross family income at or below 300% 

of the federal poverty level in accordance with the State 

Board of Health Regulations Governing Eligibility Standards 

and Charges for Medical Care Services to Individuals 

(12VAC5-200) may qualify to receive metabolic formula at 

no cost. Applicants who qualify must demonstrate that they 

are not eligible for available state and federal medical 

assistance programs and must demonstrate that they do not 

have current insurance coverage for metabolic formula.  

F. Resident adults ages 21 or older who have a diagnosis of 

a heritable disorder or genetic disease listed in 12VAC5-71-

30 D and who do not meet financial criteria or other 
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eligibility criteria in accordance with the State Board of 

Health Regulations Governing Eligibility Standards and 

Charges for Medical Care Services to Individuals (12VAC5-

200) may qualify to purchase metabolic formula through the 

Virginia Department of Health.  

G. Residents who have a diagnosis of a heritable disorder or 

genetic disease listed in 12VAC5-71-30 D and who have a 

gross family income at or below of 300% of the federal 

poverty level in accordance with the State Board of Health 

Regulations Governing Eligibility Standards and Charges for 

Medical Care Services to Individuals (12VAC5-200) may be 

eligible to receive reimbursement from the department up to 

$1,500 per year for purchase of low protein modified foods 

and metabolic supplements. Applicants who qualify must 

demonstrate that they are not eligible for available state and 

federal medical assistance programs and must demonstrate 

that they do not have current insurance coverage for low 

protein modified foods or metabolic supplements for which 

they are seeking reimbursement.  

12VAC5-71-170. Emergency suspension of assistance.  

The commissioner may suspend any portion of the 

assistance plan to ensure the financial integrity of the Virginia 

Newborn Screening Services Program. The commissioner 

shall report any action taken under the provisions of this 

section to the State Board of Health at its next scheduled 

meeting.  

12VAC5-71-180. Use of federal, state, or other resources.  

A. The commissioner or his designee may seek, receive, and 

expend federal, state general, or other nongeneral funds for 

the department necessary to administer the newborn screening 

services program.  

B. Federal Title V funds received for the Children with 

Special Health Care Needs Program, authorized by § 32.1-77 

of the Code of Virginia, may be used to support the 

department's newborn screening services program, in 

accordance with applicable federal and state laws and 

regulations.  

12VAC5-71-190. Confidentiality of information.  

The department's newborn screening services program and 

its contractors shall maintain, store, and safeguard client 

records from unauthorized access as required by law.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2916; Filed November 5, 2013, 2:42 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-105. Rabies Regulations 

(adding 12VAC5-105-10 through 12VAC5-105-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 3.2-6521 of the Code of 

Virginia; Chapter 834 of the 2010 Acts of Assembly. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 31, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Julia Murphy, DVM, State Epidemiological 

Veterinarian, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 5th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8113, 

FAX (804) 864-8131, or email 

julia.murphy@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-12 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

State Board of Health to make, adopt, promulgate, and 

enforce such regulations as may be necessary to carry out the 

provisions of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia and other 

laws of the Commonwealth administered by it, the 

Commissioner of Health, or the Department of Health. 

Chapter 834 of the 2010 Acts of Assembly clarifies the 

procedures and responsibilities among the Department of 

Health, localities, and other entities to prevent and control 

rabies and the second enactment of Chapter 834 requires the 

Board of Health to adopt regulations to implement the 

provisions of the act. Section 3.2-6521 of the Code of 

Virginia requires the Board of Health to provide, by 

regulation, an exemption to the requirement that an owner of 

a dog or cat must have his animal vaccinated for rabies if the 

veterinarian determines that the dog or cat has an underlying 

medical condition that is likely to result in a life-threatening 

condition in response to the vaccination.  

Purpose: These regulations are necessary for the protection of 

public health. Rabies is nearly 100% fatal in mammals and is 

highly endemic in the Commonwealth. It is very important 

that human and animal exposures are addressed promptly and 

correctly. Greater detail than is appropriate for the Code of 

Virginia is articulated in these regulations to support the 

implementation of rabies-related sections of the Code of 

Virginia modified and introduced during the 2010 Session of 

the General Assembly. In addition, the Board of Health has 

been specifically instructed to develop regulations addressing 

rabies exemptions and a model rabies response plan. Goals of 

the proposed language include (i) defining commonly used 

terms in the rabies-related sections of the Code of Virginia to 

increase the likelihood that these terms are interpreted and 

applied in a consistent way, (ii) improving the recordkeeping 

associated with rabies clinics to increase the likelihood that an 

animal's vaccinations status can be verified in response to a 

rabies exposure, (iii) outlining the procedure a veterinarian 

must use to apply for a rabies vaccination exemption and the 

role of local authorities in that process, and (iv) offering  a 

model rabies response plan that localities may use to comply 

with § 3.2-6562.1 of the Code of Virginia. The proposed 

language has been developed in cooperation with 

stakeholders from potentially affected groups such as local 

health departments, animal control agencies, veterinary 

associations, humane groups, wildlife agencies, agriculture 

agencies, the Board of Veterinary Medicine, and local 

government associations. These stakeholders have been 

engaged to discuss issues such as the entity that grants rabies 

exemptions and restrictions placed on animals that are exempt 

as well as the authority local health directors now have to 

direct animal control officers in the pursuit of their duties in 

certain circumstances. This participatory approach was 

intended to result in proposed language that is clearly written, 
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understandable, and functional for all those involved in rabies 

prevention, control, and response efforts. 

Substance: The provisions in these new regulations address 

commonly used terms in the rabies-related sections of the 

Code of Virginia, the health department's recordkeeping 

responsibilities associated with rabies clinics, a mechanism 

whereby dogs and cats may be granted a rabies vaccination 

exemption, and fulfill the requirement, as put forward by the 

2010 General Assembly, for the Board of Health to develop a 

model plan that may be used by localities to comply with the 

requirements of § 3.2-6562.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Issues: The main issues associated with the proposed 

regulatory action include defining common terms used in the 

Code of Virginia, rabies vaccination exemptions, 

recordkeeping associated with rabies clinics, and the 

development of a model rabies response plan. The primary 

advantages of these regulations for individual private citizens, 

veterinarians in private practice, and the Commonwealth 

include (i) increasing the likelihood that the terms used in the 

rabies-related sections of the Code of Virginia will be applied 

and interpreted in a consistent way in all health districts; (ii) 

increasing the likelihood that the rabies vaccination status of 

an animal that was vaccinated as part of a rabies clinic can be 

verified; (iii) providing a mechanism for granting rabies 

vaccination exemptions that will allow for a dog or cat owner 

whose animal is likely to have a life-threatening reaction in 

response to vaccination to be in compliance with local 

licensing laws, but also contains provisions that will assist 

local authorities with protecting public health; and (iv) 

improving coordination and communication among local 

government authorities in response to a rabies exposure event 

to ensure that residents living in a locality and their animals 

receive timely and accurate guidance about rabies by creating 

a model rabies response plan that can be used by local health 

departments. A potential disadvantage of these regulations 

includes the time and effort veterinarians in private practice 

may need to complete the application for vaccination 

exemption. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapters 182 and 834 of the 2010 Acts of 

Assembly, the proposed regulations 1) establish a procedure 

for issuing exemptions for rabies vaccination, and 2) require 

localities to have a response plan to rabies exposure. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 

compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs. 

Detailed analysis of the benefits and costs can be found in the 

next section. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 182 of the 2010 Acts of 

Assembly requires the Board of Health to provide an 

exemption for rabies vaccination if the vaccination would 

endanger the animal's life. According to the Virginia 

Department of Health (VDH), some animals may develop life 

threatening allergic reaction to the rabies vaccination. The 

proposed regulations will allow a veterinarian to apply to the 

local health director for an exemption if the animal has a 

history of severe allergic reaction to the vaccination.
1
 Based 

on data from a neighboring state, on an annual basis, 

approximately 130 applications may be expected and 

approximately 100 exemptions may be issued in Virginia. 

The main benefit of the proposed change is avoidance of a 

potentially life threatening allergic reaction the animal may 

develop. The main cost is the added chances of animal being 

infected with rabies because it is not vaccinated. 

In addition, if an exemption is issued, the owner would not 

have to incur the cost of the vaccination and realize some 

savings. Each vaccination is estimated to cost approximately 

$15 - $20. However, VDH estimates a veterinarian would 

have to spend approximately 1 to 2 hours to gather necessary 

information to complete an exemption application. If a 

veterinarian chooses to charge for his or her additional time, 

the owners compliance costs may increase.  

Finally, the local health director would be required to spend 

some time in reviewing exemption applications. 

Another proposed change, pursuant to Chapter 834 of the 

2010 Acts of Assembly, requires localities to have a response 

plan to rabies exposure. VDH estimates that most localities 

already have a plan to respond to rabies exposure. 

Nonetheless, the proposed regulations also provide a model 

plan localities may choose to use in part or in total. This 

proposed change is expected mainly to improve coordination 

and communication among local government authorities in 

responding to rabies exposure. 

All of the remaining changes appear to be clarifications of 

current requirements and are not anticipated to create any 

significant economic impact. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are 134 local 

governments, approximately 130 dog or cat owners who are 

estimated to apply for an exemption, and over 700 full service 

veterinary hospitals in Virginia. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 

apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Approximately 1 to 2 

hours may be required to gather necessary information to 

complete an exemption application. Also, the local health 

director would be required to spend some time in reviewing 

exemption applications. Thus, a small increase in demand for 

labor may be expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed regulations are not anticipated to have a direct 

impact on the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The vast majority, 

if not all, of over 700 full-service veterinary hospitals are 

believed to be small businesses. As discussed, the proposed 

exemption may require veterinarians to spend approximately 
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1 to 2 hours of their time to gather information. Veterinarians 

will choose whether or not to charge for this additional time. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There is no known alternative that has no 

effect on veterinarians while accomplishing the same goals. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed regulations 

have no effect on real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

__________________________________ 
1 The proposed exemption is for licensing purposes only in that if the animal 
is exposed to rabies, euthanasia or 6-month strict isolation will still be 

required. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department of Health has reviewed and agrees with 

the Virginia Department of Planning and Budget's economic 

impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulations (i) establish a procedure for 

issuing exemptions for rabies vaccination, (ii) require 

localities to have a response plan to rabies exposure, and 

(iii) establish requirements for recordkeeping associated 

with rabies clinics. 

CHAPTER 105 

RABIES REGULATIONS 

12VAC5-105-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Currently vaccinated" means the animal was (i) vaccinated 

by a licensed veterinarian or a licensed veterinary technician 

under the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian on the 

premises and (ii) the animal was vaccinated and revaccinated 

in accordance with the current National Association of State 

Public Health Veterinarian's Compendium of Animal Rabies 

Prevention and Control or as described on the U.S. 

Department of Agriculture approved vaccine label. For the 

purposes of rabies exposure response and § 3.2-6522 of the 

Code of Virginia, an animal will not be considered currently 

vaccinated until it has been at least 28 days since the initial 

vaccination and then immediately after every subsequent 

vaccination. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Rabid animal" means an animal that has had the diagnosis 

of rabies confirmed by the Virginia Division of Consolidated 

Laboratory Services, Fairfax Health Department Laboratory, 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Rabies 

Laboratory, or a laboratory in any state that is recognized by 

that state to perform rabies testing for public health purposes. 

Any suspected rabid animal that has exposed a companion or 

agricultural animal or a person and is not available for 

laboratory testing should be presumed to be rabid.  

"Rabies exposure" or "exposed to rabies" means any 

circumstance where saliva or central nervous system tissue 

from a rabid or suspected rabid animal entered or could have 

entered a fresh, open wound or come in contact with a 

mucous membrane of a person or susceptible species of 

companion or agricultural animal. For the purposes of 

companion and agricultural animal exposure, the actual 

witnessing of a bite or attack by a rabid or suspected rabid 

animal is not necessary to define an exposure; however, a 

rabid or suspected rabid animal needs to have been witnessed 

in close proximity to the exposed animal and where, in the 

judgment of the local health director or his designee, it is 

reasonable to assume that the rabid or suspected rabid animal 

could have exposed the susceptible companion or agricultural 

animal. The department should notify the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services when 

agricultural animals meet exposure criteria and coordinate 

exposure response with that agency. This definition 

notwithstanding, decisions regarding the disposition of 

animals housed or maintained with an agricultural animal that 

is diagnosed with rabies shall be at the discretion of the local 

health director.  

"Rabies vaccination certificate" means a document provided 

by a licensed veterinarian or a licensed veterinary 

establishment indicating a specific animal has been 

vaccinated or revaccinated in accordance with the National 

Association of State Public Health Veterinarian's 

Compendium of Animal Rabies Prevention and Control or as 

described on the U.S. Department of Agriculture approved 

vaccine label and includes at least, but is not limited to, the 

following: signature of the veterinarian, the animal owner's 
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name and address, the locality where the animal resides, the 

species of the animal, the sex, whether or not the animal is 

spayed or neutered, the age, the color, the primary breed, the 

certificate expiration date, and the vaccination number, also 

known as the serial lot number. In lieu of individual 

certificates, a herd certificate can be issued for livestock other 

than horses that includes at least the signature of the 

veterinarian, the owner's name and address, the species of 

animal, the sex, the approximate age, the primary breed, date 

of vaccination, the rabies vaccine product name, the 

vaccination number, identifying information for each animal 

such as ear tag number, tattoo or other permanent 

identification, and the name and contact information of the 

veterinarian who administered the vaccine. In lieu of 

individual certificates, a certificate of veterinary inspection 

for use in shipping equine may be generated for horses that 

includes at least the signature of the veterinarian, the owner's 

name and address, the sex, the approximate age, the date of 

vaccination, the rabies vaccine product name, the vaccination 

number, identifying information for each horse such as name, 

color, markings, tattoo or brand, and the name and contact 

information for the veterinarian who administered the 

vaccine.  

"Suspected rabid animal" means any animal that has not 

been tested for rabies and that the department considers to be 

a species at high risk for acquiring or transmitting rabies 

whether or not the animal is exhibiting clinical signs 

compatible with rabies and any animal the department 

considers at low risk for acquiring or transmitting rabies that 

is exhibiting clinical signs compatible with rabies. At the 

discretion of the local health director, any animal to which an 

observation period will be applied that may have bitten a 

person shall be considered a suspected rabid animal until the 

end of the observation period. The status of animals for which 

an observation period will not be applied or that the 

department has not identified as either high or low risk for 

acquiring or transmitting rabies shall be at the discretion of 

the local health director. 

12VAC5-105-20. Rabies clinics. 

The local health department (LHD) will maintain and 

provide upon request the following information about rabies 

clinics that it and the local governing body have approved 

within the previous 48 months:  

1. Date. 

2. Clinic site. 

3. Name of sponsoring organization. 

4. Name, address, and phone number of attending 

veterinarian. 

12VAC5-105-30. Rabies vaccine exemptions. 

A. The local health director, in consultation with the state 

public health veterinarian, may grant an exemption to the 

requirement for rabies vaccination as articulated in § 3.2-6521 

of the Code of Virginia if a vaccination would likely 

endanger the animal's life due to a previously diagnosed 

disease or other previously documented medical 

considerations as documented by a licensed veterinarian.  

B. Such exemption may be granted for an individual animal 

only after the veterinarian has (i) consulted with the local 

health director and completed and submitted to the LHD an 

application for exemption from rabies vaccination on a form 

approved by the department and (ii) submitted other 

documents or medical records as may be requested by the 

LHD. After approval of such exemption, the LHD shall issue 

a rabies vaccination exemption certificate, copies of which 

shall be provided to the veterinarian, the owner of the dog or 

cat exempted from rabies vaccination, and the animal control 

office of the municipality in which the owner of the dog or 

cat resides. Certification that a dog or cat is exempt from 

rabies vaccination may be presented in lieu of a rabies 

vaccination certificate for the purposes of veterinary 

inspection by designated local authorities and for the 

purposes of licensing by the locality where the animal resides. 

Certification that a dog or cat is exempt from rabies 

vaccination shall be valid for one year, after which time the 

animal shall be vaccinated against rabies or the application 

for exemption shall be renewed.  

C. The governing body of any locality may require that an 

exempted animal be confined on the owner's property or kept 

on a leash, or both, or otherwise restrained if it is thought 

necessary to protect public health and safety. The governing 

body of any locality may require that a form of unique 

identification is associated with an exempted animal. An 

exempted animal shall be considered unvaccinated by the 

department in the event of the animal's exposure to a 

confirmed or suspected rabid animal. Any requirement to 

vaccinate an exempted animal for rabies in the event of that 

animal's exposure to a confirmed or suspected rabid animal 

shall be at the discretion of the local health director. 

12VAC5-105-40. Model plan for localities. 

A. Localities are required to have a rabies exposure response 

plan by § 3.2-6562.1 of the Code of Virginia. Pursuant to the 

second enactment of Chapter 834 of the 2010 Acts of 

Assembly, the department has developed a model plan that 

localities may use in part or in total to fulfill this requirement. 

In addition, localities may want to consider including 

information that will assist the plan's users with assessing 

rabies exposure and making post-exposure prophylactic 

(PEP) recommendations, communication with local 

authorities involved in rabies exposure response, 

documenting information associated with rabies exposure, 

and any other duties associated with response. 

B. Model plan. 

Title: Human and Companion Animal Rabies Exposure 

Protocol. 

Section I. Purpose. The purpose of this plan is to: 
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A. Ensure the prompt capture, confinement, isolation, or 

euthanasia of any animal that has exposed, or poses a risk 

of exposing, a person or companion animal to rabies by 

standardizing procedures associated with investigating 

such incidents. 

B. Identify the authority and responsibility of the LHD, 

law-enforcement officers, animal control officers, and any 

other persons with a duty to control or respond to a risk of 

rabies exposure. 

C. Establish consistent communication and reporting of 

possible rabies exposure incidents to ensure residents 

living in the locality receive appropriate guidance and 

residents and their animals receive protection against 

rabies infection by including them within the scope of the 

LHD epidemiology staff, LHD environmental health, LHD 

nursing staff, and locality animal control staff or any 

personnel acting in the capacity of a locality animal control 

officer and locality law enforcement. Officials who have 

entered into a memorandum of understanding with the 

LHD agree to employ standard written guidelines in 

response to possible human and animal rabies exposures. 

D. Establish a plan to control the risk of rabies exposure 

and ensure prompt response to rabies-related incidents in 

order to minimize companion animal and human morbidity 

and mortality in the locality.  

Section II. Locality Employees to Whom Policy Applies. 

This policy applies to positions assigned to the LHD 

environmental health staff, LHD nursing staff, LHD 

epidemiology staff, and any LHD or locality animal control 

staff employee who receives an initial report of an animal 

bite/possible rabies exposure. Further, this policy outlines the 

roles of locality animal control staff and any personnel who 

may be acting in the capacity of a locality animal control 

officer and any locality law-enforcement officials who have 

entered into a memorandum of understanding with the LHD 

for this purpose and shall herein be referred to as "locality 

animal control services." 

Section III. Legal Authority. Authority for the local health 

director to develop a local authority and responsibility plan 

that shall provide for those within the locality with a duty to 

control or respond to a risk of rabies exposure and to be 

directed by the local health director for such purposes is 

articulated in § 3.2-6562.1 of the Code of Virginia (included 

below). 

§ 3.2-6562.1. Rabies exposure; local authority and 

responsibility plan. 

The local health director, in conjunction with the 

governing body of the locality, shall adopt a plan to control 

and respond to the risk of rabies exposure to persons and 

companion animals. Such plan shall set forth a procedure 

that promptly ensures the capture, confinement, isolation, 

or euthanasia of any animal that has exposed, or poses a 

risk of exposing, a person or companion animal to rabies. 

The plan shall identify the authority and responsibility of 

the local health department, law-enforcement officers, 

animal control officers, and any other persons with a duty 

to control or respond to a risk of rabies exposure. The plan 

shall provide for law-enforcement officers, animal control 

officers, and other persons to report to and be directed by 

the local health director for such purposes. 

Section IV. Maintenance. This plan is a working document. 

In an effort to maintain a current rabies response plan, which 

addresses emergent issues and changing knowledge, the plan 

will be reviewed and supplemented as needed as a result of 

lessons learned during investigations or to comply with 

updated guidance and legislative requirements.  

Section V. Disclaimer. This plan is meant to be used as a 

guide. No single set of guidelines applies to all situations 

involving rabies or can provide all of the information needed. 

The contents of the plan are meant to offer a framework for 

response as well as support and complement appropriate, 

practical public health knowledge and experience.  

Section VI. Responsibility of Locality Animal Control 

Services. As directed by the local health director, it shall be 

the duty of locality animal control services to capture, 

confine, isolate, or euthanize any animal that has exposed, or 

poses a risk of exposing, a person or companion animal to 

rabies. If such personnel is unable to capture, confine, isolate, 

or euthanize a companion animal that (i) is reasonably 

suspected to be rabid and (ii) has exposed, or poses an 

immediate risk of exposing, a person or companion animal to 

rabies, such personnel shall ensure the humane destruction of 

such animal.  

A. Companion Animal Response. Locality animal control 

services shall within 24 hours of receiving information 

about a companion animal exposure: 

1. Investigate reports of susceptible companion animals 

exposed to rabies. 

2. Determine if the companion animal has or may have 

been exposed to a rabid animal, and if the companion 

animal is currently vaccinated. 

3. Evaluate the exposure of the companion animal and 

prescribe the appropriate action according to state and 

local regulations. 

4. Ensure that exposed, currently vaccinated companion 

animals receive a booster vaccination. 

5. Notify the LHD about any unvaccinated, exposed 

companion animals, or exposed companion animals with 

an expired vaccination status in order to relay details of 

the exposure, vaccination history if applicable, and 

discussion with the owner concerning the potential 

options.  

6. Notify the LHD about any exposed companion 

animals that are not dogs, cats, or ferrets. 

7. Immediately notify the LHD about any illness 

associated with any animal in confinement or isolation.  
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8. Facilitate the submission of the head of any animal 

that may have exposed a companion animal to rabies as 

directed by the LHD. 

9. Carry out euthanasia or humane destruction of 

companion animals and suspected rabid animals that may 

have exposed companion animals as directed by the state 

agency with jurisdiction over that species. 

10. Submit reports associated with any companion 

animal exposures to the LHD. 

B. Human Exposure Response. In regard to situations 

involving human exposure, locality animal control services 

shall: 

1. Upon receiving information about a human exposure 

immediately report the exposure to the LHD by the 

fastest means possible. 

2. Not disclose the identity of any victim of an animal 

bite or rabies exposure except to a health care provider or 

official of the LHD. 

3. If possible, secure any animal that may have exposed a 

person, pending advice from the LHD as to how to 

proceed with either observation or testing. 

4. Carry out euthanasia or humane destruction of 

companion animals and suspected rabid animals that may 

have exposed a person as directed by the state agency 

with jurisdiction over that species. 

5. Facilitate the submission of the head of any animal 

that may have exposed a person to rabies as directed by 

the LHD. 

Section VII. Responsibility of the LHD. As directed by the 

local health director, it shall be the duty of LHD 

environmental health staff, LHD nursing staff, and LHD 

epidemiology staff to respond to human and companion 

animal rabies exposures as detailed below. Any LHD 

employee who receives a report associated with a companion 

animal or human rabies exposure shall notify a member of the 

LHD environmental health staff, LHD nursing staff, or LHD 

epidemiology staff within 24 hours of receiving the report. 

A. LHD Environmental Health Staff. Environmental health 

staff members are primarily responsible for the following 

activities in regard to companion animal and human rabies 

exposure response:  

1. Interfacing with locality animal control services and 

ensuring that any animals involved in a possible rabies 

exposure incident are appropriately managed to control 

the spread of rabies viral infection.  

2. Initiating contact with a human exposure victim and 

coordinating contact with a companion animal owner 

with locality animal control services when necessary by 

phone or site visit within two hours of receiving an 

exposure report. 

3. Conducting a site visit to investigate a human exposure 

and coordinating a site visit with a companion animal 

owner with locality animal control services when 

necessary within 24 hours of the report.  

4. Notifying the LHD nursing staff and the local health 

director within 24 hours of receiving a report of a human 

exposure victim. 

5. Coordinating with locality animal control services to 

locate, and contain or retrieve animals, and collect 

clinical animal specimens as necessary. 

6. Coordinating the submission of rabies samples to a 

laboratory that has been designated by the 

Commonwealth for rabies testing.  

7. Maintaining a record of human and companion animal 

exposures as well as test results associated with rabies 

sample submissions. 

8. Immediately notifying LHD nursing staff and the local 

health director of any positive results associated with 

human exposures. 

9. Notifying any human exposure victims of positive 

results within two hours of receiving the result and 

refering the victim to the LHD nursing staff in regard to 

PEP treatment options. 

10. Coordinating with locality animal control services the 

notification of owners of positive results associated with 

exposed companion animals within 24 hours of receiving 

the result. 

11. Coordinating with locality animal control services the 

response to exposed companion animals and owner 

follow up to evaluate the situation for any human 

exposures. 

12. Notifying the local health director, LHD nursing 

staff, and LHD epidemiology staff within 24 hours of any 

negative results associated with rabies sample 

submissions. 

13. Notifying the LHD epidemiology staff with 24 hours 

of any positive results associated with rabies sample 

submissions. 

14. Notifying the local health director, LHD nursing 

staff, and locality animal control services within 24 hours 

of any companion animal that has been placed in 

isolation or confinement that is manifesting clinical signs 

that could be compatible with rabies. 

15. Notifying locality animal control services within 24 

hours of a companion animal for which rabies 

vaccination is required that is not vaccinated or has an 

expired status. 

16. Developing and maintaining a human and companion 

animal rabies exposure communication plan that is 

shared with locality animal control services. 

17. In coordination with the local health director, LHD 

nursing staff, and LHD epidemiology staff, developing 

and maintaining a training program that can be used to 

review locality rabies control and response procedures 
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with locality animal control services on an as needed 

basis and/or as new staff are hired.  

B. LHD Nursing Staff. LHD nursing staff members are 

primarily responsible for the following activities in regard 

to companion animal and human rabies exposure response:  

1. Ensuring that any humans involved in a possible rabies 

exposure incident are appropriately counseled/treated to 

control the risk of rabies viral infection. 

2. Notifying the environmental health staff of a human or 

companion animal exposure within two hours of 

receiving a report if the report did not originate with 

environmental health staff. 

3. Coordinating human exposure follow up with 

environmental health staff and assisting with human 

exposure assessment interviews within 24 hours of 

receiving a report of an exposure. 

4. Coordinating the notifying of human exposure victims 

with environmental health staff immediately after 

receiving a positive test result. 

5. Coordinating the notifying of human exposure victims 

with environmental health staff within 24 hours of 

receiving a negative test result. 

6. Discussing PEP treatment options within the locality 

with human exposure victim(s). 

7. Discussing medical conditions and history with human 

exposure victims that may affect PEP treatment. 

8. Maintaining a record of medical information 

associated with all human exposure victims interviewed 

and counseled, including the exposure victim's decision 

concerning PEP treatment and if treatment was 

completed. 

9. Notifying the LHD epidemiology staff when a human 

exposure victim initiates PEP treatment and providing 

any information about the situation necessary for 

statistical purposes. 

10. Coordinating follow up with exposure victims if PEP 

treatment recommendations are not followed. 

11. Coordinating the notification of human exposure 

victims with environmental health staff in regard to 

confinement release results within 24 hours after the 

confinement period. 

C. Locality Epidemiology Staff. Locality epidemiology 

staff members are primarily responsible for the following 

activities in regard to companion animal and human rabies 

exposure response:  

1. Collecting and maintaining the following data in 

coordination/consultation with the environmental health 

staff and nursing staff for animal exposures/bites, animal 

bites to humans, and other human exposures: 

2. Demographics of person exposed; 

3. Information about the animal and its owner; 

4. Details of exposure; 

5. PEP recommendations and actions; 

6. Animal euthanasia secondary to suspect rabies; and 

7. Animal quarantine or confinement 

D. Local Health Director. The local health director is 

primarily responsible for the following activities in regard 

to companion animal and human rabies exposure response:  

1. Developing memoranda of understanding with locality 

animal control services for the purpose of organizing an 

integrated response to human and companion animal 

exposures within the locality and acknowledging the 

need for locality animal control services to be directed by 

the local health director in certain rabies related 

situations. 

2. Overseeing companion animal and human exposure 

response within the locality. 

3. Providing medical advice and consultation in regard to 

human exposure victims to environmental health staff, 

nursing staff, and human exposure victims within the 

locality.  

4. Providing medical advice and consultation about 

rabies and rabies PEP treatment with health care 

providers within the locality. 

5. Developing a guidance document for locality animal 

control services that contains examples of rabies 

response and control situations requiring locality animal 

control services staff to be specifically directed by the 

local health director.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (12VAC5-105) 

Request for Rabies Vaccination Exemption for Licensing 

and Inspection Purposes (eff. 3/12) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2637; Filed November 5, 2013, 9:41 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-191. State Plan for the 

Children with Special Health Care Needs Program 

(amending 12VAC5-191-10, 12VAC5-191-40, 12VAC5-

191-80, 12VAC5-191-90, 12VAC5-191-210, 12VAC5-191-

250).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-77 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 1, 2014. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f6a10002637~2&typ=40&actno=002637&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f6a10002637~2&typ=40&actno=002637&mime=application/pdf
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Effective Date: January 24, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Manager, Survey and 

Analysis Unit, Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7249, FAX (804) 

864-7647, or email emily.mclellan@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-12 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

State Board of Health to make, adopt, promulgate and enforce 

regulations. Section 32.1-77 of the Code of Virginia (i) 

authorizes the board to prepare, amend, and submit state plans 

for maternal and child health services and children's specialty 

services pursuant to Title V of the United States Social 

Security Act to the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human 

Services and (ii) authorizes the State Health Commissioner to 

administer the plan and to receive and expend federal funds 

for the administration of the plan in accordance with 

applicable federal and state laws and regulations. 

Section 32.1-64.1 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 

commissioner to establish and maintain the Virginia Hearing 

Impairment Identification and Monitoring System for the 

purpose of identifying and monitoring infants with hearing 

impairment to ensure that such infants receive appropriate 

early intervention through treatment, therapy, and education; 

§ 32.1-64.1 D mandates the board to establish regulations for 

the screening, and § 32.1-64.1 F authorizes the board to 

promulgate rules and regulations as may be necessary to 

implement this identification and monitoring system. 

Section 32.1-65 of the Code of Virginia mandates certain 

newborn screening testing of all infants, except for those 

exempted from testing by law, for specified disorders. 

Section 32.1-66 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 

commissioner to notify the attending physician of any 

newborn screening test results that indicate a suspicion of a 

disorder and to perform or provide for any additional testing 

required to confirm or disprove the diagnosis of the specified 

disorders. 

Section 32.1-67 of the Code of Virginia mandates the board 

to recommend procedures for the treatment of disorders 

identified by a newborn screening test. 

Section 32.1-68 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 

commissioner, in cooperation with local health directors, to 

establish a voluntary program for the screening of individuals 

for the disease of sickle cell anemia or the sickle cell trait and 

for such other genetically related diseases and genetic traits 

and inborn errors of metabolism as the board may deem 

necessary. The board shall review the program from time to 

time to determine the appropriate age and the method of 

screening for such conditions or traits in the light of 

technological changes. The screening program shall include 

provisions for education concerning the nature and treatment 

of sickle cell anemia, other genetically related diseases, and 

inborn errors of metabolism and provisions for a post-

screening counseling program for the treatment of any person 

determined to have such a condition. The program may 

include the provision of laboratory testing. 

Section 32.1-69.1 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 

commissioner to establish and maintain a Virginia Congenital 

Anomalies Reporting and Education System using data from 

birth certificates filed with the State Registrar of Vital 

Records and data obtained from hospital medical records. The 

chief administrative officer of every hospital, as defined in 

§ 32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia, shall make or cause to be 

made a report to the commissioner of any person under two 

years of age diagnosed as having a congenital anomaly. 

Section 32.1-123 B mandates the board to promulgate 

regulations as may be necessary to implement this reporting 

and education system. These regulations may include scope 

of information to be collected and relationships between the 

reporting and education system and other agencies. 

Section 32.1-89 of the Code of Virginia mandates the board 

to establish a program for the care and treatment of persons 

suffering from hemophilia and other related bleeding diseases 

who cannot pay for the entire cost of their needed medical 

care. Section 32.1-89 B authorizes the board to provide 

services through cooperative agreements with medical 

facilities or other appropriate means. This subsection also 

states that charges for persons receiving care shall be 

determined by the board. 

All of these authorized and mandated programs serve children 

with special health care needs. Separate regulations 12VAC5-

71, Regulations Governing Virginia Newborn Screening 

Services, and 12VAC5-80, Regulations for Administration of 

the Virginia Hearing Impairment Identification and 

Monitoring System, exist for these programs. Relationships 

among the programs are addressed in 12VAC5-191. 

Purpose: A periodic review of 12VAC5-191 was conducted 

starting on April 6, 2011. The public comment period ended 

on May 30, 2011. An ad hoc regulatory workgroup met on 

June 2, 2011, to review the regulation and public comments. 

The workgroup recommended amending the regulation 

through the fast-track rulemaking process to correct 

references to other regulations, laws, and organizational 

entities that have changed since the regulation went into 

effect in 2007. 

This regulation is essential to outline program services for 

children with special health care needs that are made 

available to eligible residents within available appropriations 

and to help those residents qualify for federal Title V and 

other available funds for plan administration. Although the 

program is neither an entitlement nor a federal, state, or local 

public benefit, the program does offer certain services and 

assistance, contingent upon adequate funding, which may 

affect the rights of individuals. 

Other state-mandated initiatives, such as the Virginia 

Newborn Screening System, Virginia Congenital Anomalies 

Reporting and Education System, Virginia Sickle Cell 

Awareness Program, and Pediatric Comprehensive Sickle 

Cell Clinic Network also identify and serve children with 

special health care needs. These programs, several of which 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 2, 2013 

843 

have separate regulations, are now referenced in this 

regulation as well. 

The amended regulation serves to protect the health and 

welfare of children with special health care needs. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: Executive Order 14 

(2010) allows state agencies to use a fast-track rulemaking 

process to expedite regulatory changes that are expected to be 

noncontroversial. The amendments to 12VAC5-191-10, 

12VAC5-191-40, 12VAC5-191-80, and 12VAC5-191-210 

are not substantive changes. These amendments will update 

certain terms and references to other regulations, laws, and 

organizational entities that have changed since 2007. The 

amendments to 12VAC 5-191-90 and 12VAC 5-191-250 are 

substantive but are not expected to be controversial. 

Substance: The amendments to 12VAC5-191-90 remove 

multiple specific citations to privacy and confidentiality laws 

and substitute the term "all applicable federal and state laws 

and regulations." The amendments to 12VAC5-191-250 

reflect changes in organizational structure and functions due 

to changes in grant funding and activities. Otherwise the 

amendments are for clarification and to update citations. 

Issues: The primary advantage of amending this regulation is 

to keep references within the regulation current and up to 

date. There are no primary disadvantages. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Health proposes to update references to other 

regulations, laws, and organizational entities. The proposed 

changes also reflect the updated functions of genetics and 

newborn screening services stemming from changes in grant 

funding. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The State Board of Health 

proposes to update references to other regulations, laws, and 

organizational entities. The proposed changes also reflect the 

updated functions of genetics and newborn screening services 

stemming from changes in grant funding. 

None of the proposed regulations will have an impact on the 

current practices followed by Virginia Department of Health. 

Thus, the proposed changes are not expected to have any 

significant direct economic impact other than improving the 

clarity and accuracy of the regulatory language. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, approximately 

9,900 children under age 21 are served by the Children with 

Special Health Care Needs Program. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 

apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No significant impact on 

employment is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 

significant impact on the use and value of private property is 

expected. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No significant 

costs or other effects on small businesses are expected. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed regulations are not anticipated 

to have an adverse impact on small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No significant effect on real 

estate development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department of Health has reviewed the economic 

impact analysis pertaining to this regulatory action and 

concurs with its findings. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) update references to other regulations 

and laws and (ii) modify references where organizational 

structures, names, or functions have changed since the 

regulation was promulgated in 2007. 

12VAC5-191-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Appeal" means the client's right to seek relief from an 

unfavorable decision in obtaining services or assistance 

included in the plan.  
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"Applicant" means an individual who applies for the 

services under this regulation. An application may be filed for 

or on behalf of a minor or person under a legal disability by a 

parent, legal guardian, and attorney in fact, or an attorney at 

law.  

"Bleeding disorders" means inherited problems in 

coagulation caused by missing or poorly functioning proteins 

in the blood such as hemophilia and von Willebrand Disease. 

"Board" means the State Board of Health.  

"Care coordination" means a process that links individuals 

and their families to services and resources in a coordinated 

effort to maximize their potential and provide them with 

optimal health care. 

"Center" means a unit providing Care Connection for 

Children services. 

"CCC" means Care Connection for Children. 

"Children and youth with special health care needs" means 

individuals who are ages birth to their twenty-first birthday 

and have, or are at increased risk for, a chronic physical, 

developmental, behavioral, or emotional condition and who 

also require health and related services of a type or amount 

beyond that required by children generally. 

"Client" means an individual who meets all the eligibility 

criteria for a program and has been accepted for services.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Health. 

"Community-based" means a framework within which a 

variety of programs work together to meet the many, varied 

needs of children, youth, and families in communities. 

"CSHCN" means children with special health care needs. 

"Culturally-competent" means the ability to provide services 

to clients that honor different cultural beliefs, interpersonal 

styles, attitudes and behaviors and the use of multicultural 

staff in the policy development, administration, and provision 

of those services. 

"Department" means the state Virginia Department of 

Health and includes the central office, regional offices, health 

districts, and local health departments. 

"Developmental disorder" means a delay(s) in maturation or 

deviant maturation of physical, language, sensory, motor, 

cognitive, social, learning or self-help capabilities to the 

extent that there is a negative impact on a child's ability to 

adapt to or cope with the typical environmental demands as 

expected for chronological age.  

"Direct health care services" means medically necessary 

services for the treatment and monitoring of a condition(s) 

covered by the program. The services are generally delivered 

one-on-one between a health care professional and a client in 

an office, home, clinic, outpatient department, or hospital.  

"Director" means the Director, Children with Special Health 

Care Needs Program.  

"Division" means the Division of Child and Adolescent 

Family Health.  

"Enabling services" means support services that allow or 

provide for access to and the receipt of benefits from an array 

of basic health care services.  

"Family" means the client and other such household 

members who together constitute one economic unit. An 

economic unit is one or more individuals who generally 

reside together and share income.  

"Family-centered care" means an approach to the planning, 

delivery, and evaluation of health care whose cornerstone is 

active participation between families and professionals. 

Family-centered care recognizes that families are the ultimate 

decision makers for their children, with children gradually 

taking on more and more of this decision-making themselves. 

"Family-to-family support" means the provision of 

information and peer support among families having 

experience with family members having special health care 

needs. 

"Guardian" means a court-appointed guardian of the person.  

"Information and referral services" means assisting clients 

and their families to find available services, responding to 

inquiries from the general public, and disseminating 

information for accessing specific services. 

"MCH" means maternal and child health. 

"Medical home" means a concept in which the child has an 

ongoing source of health care from a primary care physician 

who works together with the family to ensure that the child 

has accessible, continuous, comprehensive, family-centered, 

coordinated, compassionate, and culturally effective medical 

care.  

"Parent" means a biological or adoptive parent or a 

stepparent. 

"Plan" means the State Plan for the Children with Special 

Health Care Needs Program prepared pursuant to Title V of 

the United States Social Security Act, as amended. 

"Pool of funds" means funds designated for payment of 

direct health care services. Access to the pool is not an 

entitlement and is subject to availability of funds and 

guidelines that govern its eligibility and coverage of services. 

"Population-based services" means preventive interventions 

and personal health services developed and available for the 

entire MCH population of the Commonwealth rather than for 

individuals in a one-on-one situation. 

"Program" means the Children with Special Health Care 

Needs Program.  

"Provider" means an individual or agency that provides a 

service under an agreement between the individual or agency 

and the Children with Special Health Care Needs Program or 

its contractors. 

"Resident" means an individual who resides within the 

geographical boundaries of the Commonwealth.  
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"Services" means those activities provided or arranged by 

the various programs within the Children with Special Health 

Care Needs Program.  

"Sickle cell disease" means any inherited hemoglobin 

pattern with a predominance of hemoglobin (S) in absence of, 

or greater than normal hemoglobin (A); or hemoglobin S with 

another hemoglobin variant such as C, D, or E or beta 

thalassemia. 

"Sickle Cell Program Manager" means an employee of the 

Pediatric Comprehensive Sickle Cell Clinic Network who is 

designated to be responsible for the administration of the 

statewide Pediatric Comprehensive Sickle Cell Clinic 

Network.  

"Transition services" means assisting the client and his 

family in the process of making necessary changes from life 

as a youth with special health care needs to life as an adult 

with special health care needs. Aspects to be addressed 

include health and wellness; education, vocation, and 

employment; mobility, transportation, and recreation; and 

legal, insurance, disability benefits, and housing.  

"Underinsured" means having medically necessary service 

needs that exceed an individual's health insurance coverage 

limits. 

"Uninsured" means having no private health insurance or 

state or federal medical assistance coverage.  

12VAC5-191-40. Scope and content of the Children with 

Special Health Care Needs Program. 

A. Mission. The Children with Special Health Care Needs 

Program promotes the optimal health and development of 

individuals living in the Commonwealth with special health 

care needs by working in partnership with families, service 

providers, and communities. 

B. Scope. The scope of the Children with Special Health 

Care Needs Program includes the following: 

1. Direct health care services. 

2. Enabling services. 

3. Population-based services. 

4. Assessment of community health status and available 

resources. 

5. Policy development to support and encourage better 

health. 

C. Networks and Services. The Children with Special Health 

Care Needs Program administers the following networks and 

services: 

1. Care Connection for Children. 

2. Child Development Services. 

3. Virginia Bleeding Disorders Program. 

4. Pediatric Screening and Genetics Services Genetics and 

Newborn Screening Services. 

a. Virginia Newborn Screening System.  

b. Virginia Congenital Anomalies Reporting and 

Education System.  

5. Virginia Sickle Cell Awareness Program. 

6. Pediatric Comprehensive Sickle Cell Clinic Network. 

C. D. Target population. The target population to receive 

services from the networks and programs within the Children 

with Special Health Care Needs Program are the following:  

1. Residents of the Commonwealth. 

2. Individuals between the ages of birth and their twenty-

first birthday except that the Virginia Bleeding Disorders 

Program and the Virginia Sickle Cell Awareness Program 

serve individuals of all ages. 

3. Individuals diagnosed as having, or are at increased risk 

for having, a chronic physical, developmental, behavioral, 

or emotional condition and who also require health and 

related services of a type or amount beyond that required 

by children generally. 

Each network and program within the CSHCN Program has 

its own specific eligibility criteria. 

D. E. Goals. The Title V national performance measures, as 

required by the federal Government Performance and Results 

Act (GPRA-Pub. L. 103-62), are used to establish the 

program goals. 

12VAC5-191-80. Appeal process. 

A. An applicant for or client in receipt of services or 

assistance, as defined in this plan, may appeal the following 

actions: 

1. Denial of services or assistance. 

2. Termination of services or assistance. 

3. Adverse determination regarding financial eligibility. 

There are no further rights of appeal except as set forth in 

this section. Applicants or clients have no right of appeal of a 

denial of services or assistance because of a lack of funds. 

B. The applicant or client has the right to receive a written 

statement of the reasons for denial and be informed in writing 

of the appeal process, including time limits. 

C. If a client already receiving services or assistance is 

denied those services or assistance, a written notice of 

termination including the reason of denial shall be given 30 

days in advance of discontinuing services.  

D. First level of appeal: An individual or his representative 

may make a written or oral appeal to the employee designated 

to be responsible for the administration of the different 

programs (the Care Connection for Children Program 

Director, Administrative Director for the Child Development 

Services, Bleeding Disorders Program Coordinator, or Sickle 

Cell Program Manager) within 30 days of the denial of 

service. The respective program director, administrative 

director, program coordinator, or program manager shall 

review and make a written decision to the individual or his 
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representative within 15 days from the date of receipt of the 

appeal. 

E. Second level of appeal: If the individual is not satisfied 

with the decision provided at the first level of appeal, the 

individual may appeal the decision in writing to the Director 

of the Children with Special Health Care Needs Program 

within 30 days of the denial from the individual program.  

F. Upon receipt of the appeal, the director shall review and 

make written recommendations to the commissioner, or the 

commissioner's designee, within 15 days. The director shall 

consider all written information and may confer, as deemed 

necessary, with the department's adjudication officer in the 

Office of Family Health Services or other relevant experts. 

G. Within 45 days following the date on which an appeal is 

filed, the commissioner, or commissioner's designee, shall 

make a final decision. 

12VAC5-191-90. Privacy. 

A. The Children with Special Health Care Needs Program 

and program subcontractors shall protect the privacy of the 

client's personal health information and the confidentiality of 

medical records in accordance with §§ 2.2-3700 through 2.2-

3705.1, 2.2-3705.5, 2.2-3800 through 2.2-3809, 32.1-40, 

32.1-41, 32.1-64.2, 32.1-67.1, 32.1-69, 32.1-69.2, 32.1-

127.1:03, and 32.1-127.1:04 of the Code of Virginia; the 

federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act 

of 1996 (42 USC §§ 1320 d et seq. and 45 CFR Part 164); 

and Title V of the Social Security Act (42 USC §§ 701-710, 

Subchapter V, Chapter 7 and 42 CFR 51a.6) all applicable 

federal and state laws and regulations. 

B. Access to minor's minors' health records and the authority 

to consent to surgical and medical treatment for certain 

minors shall be administered in accordance with §§ 20-124.6 

and 54.1-2969 of the Code of Virginia, respectively. 

C. Surveillance and investigation shall be consistent with 

§§ 32.1-39, 32.1-40, 32.1-41 and 32.1-66 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

D. The department's children Children with special health 

care needs program Special Health Care Needs Program and 

its contractors shall maintain security and confidentiality of 

databases in accordance with applicable federal and state laws 

and regulations. 

12VAC5-191-210. Score Scope and content of the Child 

Development Services Program. 

A. Mission. The Child Development Services Program 

promotes the optimal physical, language, cognitive, social, 

learning, self-help, behavioral, and emotional development 

and well-being of children. 

B. Scope of services. The child development clinics provide 

pediatric services in the specialty area of developmental and 

behavioral pediatrics. This health care field specializes in the 

diagnosis and treatment of developmental and psychosocial 

aspects of pediatric health care including developmental 

disorders and emotional, behavioral, and psychosomatic 

problems.  

Services offered at each clinic location may vary according 

to the needs of the community, expertise of the professional 

staff, and the overall goals and objectives for the current 

program.  

The Child Development Services network provides the 

following direct health care services and enabling services: 

1. Interdisciplinary evaluations that may include a pediatric 

medical examination, nurse evaluation, psychosocial 

history, psychological assessment, and educational 

evaluation. 

2. Treatment planning that may include the evaluation 

team developing a written report that integrates their 

findings, establishes diagnoses, and formulates 

recommendations for each client. 

3. Care coordination. 

4. Consultation. 

5. Screenings for early identification of persons with 

developmental disorders. 

6. Screening services to assist other agencies in their 

program implementation as may be described in a contract 

or memorandum of agreement.  

7. Information and referral. 

8. Intervention services that may include medical, 

psychosocial, educational, or interdisciplinary treatment 

services. 

9. Training and technical assistance for community 

providers.  

C. Criteria to receive services from Child Development 

Services. Children and youth are eligible to receive services 

from Child Development Services if they are: 

1. Residents of the Commonwealth. 

2. Between the ages of birth and their twenty-first birthday. 

3. Suspected to have or diagnosed with developmental, 

emotional or behavioral disorder or presence of severe or 

multiple risk factors for these conditions.  

No financial eligibility criteria are required for clients to 

receive the enabling services. However, clients who meet the 

above criteria must also meet the financial requirements to 

receive direct health care services based on a sliding scale 

charge schedule. The amount of the required charge shall be 

in accordance with the State Board of Health Regulation 

Regulations Governing Eligibility Standards and Charges for 

Health Medical Care Services to Individuals, 12VAC5-200. 

D. Goals. The Title V national performance measures, as 

required by the federal Government Performance and Results 

Act (GPRA-Pub. L. 103-62), are used to establish the 

program goals. The following goals shall change as needed to 

be consistent with the Title V national performance measures: 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 2, 2013 

847 

1. Children who are at greatest risk for developmental, 

emotional and behavioral disorders and in need of related 

services will receive early screening, diagnosis, and 

assistance in finding and accessing needed services. 

2. Other state and local agencies will receive assistance in 

providing effective coordinated services for persons with 

special health care needs. 

12VAC5-191-250. Pediatric Screening and Genetics 

Services Genetics and Newborn Screening Services. 

The Pediatric Screening and Genetics Services unit Genetics 

and Newborn Screening Services works to improve the health 

of children and families by preventing birth defects and 

developmental disabilities, promoting optimal child 

development, and promoting health and wellness among 

children and adolescents living with disabilities. 

Pediatric Screening and Genetics Services include several 

programs, services, and projects, two of which are Genetics 

and Newborn Screening Services includes the Virginia 

Newborn Screening System and the Virginia Congenital 

Anomalies Reporting and Education System. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-2931; Filed November 6, 2013, 10:05 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-481. Virginia Radiation 

Protection Regulations (amending 12VAC5-481-10, 

12VAC5-481-290, 12VAC5-481-340, 12VAC5-481-350, 

12VAC5-481-2110, 12VAC5-481-3410; adding 12VAC5-

481-1581, 12VAC5-481-1591, 12VAC5-481-1601, 

12VAC5-481-1611, 12VAC5-481-1621, 12VAC5-481-1631, 

12VAC5-481-1641, 12VAC5-481-1651, 12VAC5-481-1653, 

12VAC5-481-1655, 12VAC5-481-1657; repealing 

12VAC5-481-1580, 12VAC5-481-1590, 12VAC5-481-1600, 

12VAC5-481-1610, 12VAC5-481-1620, 12VAC5-481-1630, 

12VAC5-481-1640, 12VAC5-481-1650).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-229 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 31, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Steve Harrison, Acting Director, Division of 

Radiological Health, Department of Health, 109 Governor 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7001, 

FAX (804) 864-7022, or email 

steve.harrison@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-229 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the State Board of Health to require the licensure and 

inspection of radioactive materials facilities, and mandates 

inspections of mammography facilities. Section 32.1-229.1 of 

the Code of Virginia requires the board to promulgate 

regulations (i) for the registration, inspection, and 

certification of x-ray machines and (ii) to set the criteria for 

private inspectors. 

Purpose: During the 2006 revision of the Virginia Radiation 

Protection Regulations, and in order for Virginia to become 

an Agreement State, some definitions were deleted to comply 

with the Nuclear Regulatory Commission's rules (10 CFR). 

Some of these definitions, however, were used by the x-ray 

program. The proposed amendments will reinsert these 

definitions and update their verbiage such that they would 

apply only to X-ray registrants. 

The Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors 

(CRCPD) has Suggested State Regulations (SSR) upon which 

individual states may base their regulations. 12VAC5-481 

was based upon the SSRs in 2006.  

The sections in Part VI were repealed and new sections were 

inserted that include the 2009 revised CRCPD SSRs to ensure 

that Virginia's regulations conform to the most recent SSRs.  

Substance: The CRCPD SSRs were updated in 2009 to reflect 

current practices and devices used in the x-ray field. 

Virginia's x-ray regulations were last updated to conform to 

the CRCPD SSRs in 2006. 12VAC5-481 is amended to 

reflect and conform to the current practices and to include 

regulations that govern all devices used in the x-ray field. 

Issues: The advantage of the proposed regulation is that 

businesses regulated by both federal agencies and the 

department will operate under identical standards, which will 

eliminate some confusion, particularly with respect to 

occupational worker standards and x-ray machine 

performance standards. Another advantage for health care 

professionals and patients is that regulations governing the 

application of radiation will meet nationally recognized 

performance standards, which will promote quality of care. 

The proposed amendments include definitions that were 

removed in 2006 that pertain to the x-ray program. There are 

no disadvantages to the public in promulgating the proposed 

regulation. 

The advantage of the proposed regulation to the agency is that 

fewer interpretations of the regulation will be needed for new 

radiation machines or materials that were developed since the 

promulgation of the existing regulation and not addressed. 

Another advantage is that agency staff will no longer need to 

take additional time to explain regulatory differences to 

facilities that are dually regulated by a federal agency. There 

are no disadvantages to the agency in promulgating the 

proposed regulation. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Health (Board) proposes to amend these 

regulations to: 1) reflect changes to federal regulations, 2) 

reflect new X-ray modalities in the medical field, 3) reduce 

the frequency of required inspections for lower-risk 

equipment, 4) update definitions, and 5) update formatting 

and style to meet the current Virginia Register Form, Style, 

and Procedure Manual. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 
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Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed amendments that 

reflect federal regulations will not change requirements for 

the regulated community since they are already required to 

follow federal rules. Amending the state regulations to reflect 

the federal rules will be beneficial in that it will improve 

clarity. 

The Board proposes to permit the use of portable hand-held 

x-ray dental equipment under specified requirements. 

Currently these are not permitted. The devices are considered 

safe and are known to be in demand. Thus this proposal 

should produce a net benefit. 

The Board also proposes to change the frequency of the 

radiation survey requirement for analytical x-ray systems 

from once every year to once every five years. Due to the 

nature of the equipment, safety is not expected to be 

adversely affected. Private inspectors charge approximately 

$250 per unit inspection.
1
 There are approximately 1250 units 

in the Commonwealth.
2
 Thus, there would be approximately 

$250,000 savings annually.
3
  

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, the X-ray 

program registers approximately 7,500 entities, including 

medical offices, hospitals, laboratories, courts, etc. 

Approximately 7,000 of these entities meet the small business 

criteria.
4
 Also, the proposal to permit the use of portable 

hand-held x-ray dental equipment under specified 

requirements will affect the manufacturers and sellers of these 

devices. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal to change the frequency of the radiation survey 

requirement for analytical x-ray systems from once every 

year to once every five years would save private users of 

analytical x-ray systems $200 per unit average over each five-

year period.
5
 The proposal to permit the use of portable hand-

held x-ray dental equipment under specified requirements will 

increase the use of these devices and likely increase profits 

for the manufacturers and sellers of the devices. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposal to 

change the frequency of the radiation survey requirement for 

analytical x-ray systems from once every year to once every 

five years would save small businesses that use analytical x-

ray systems $200 per unit average over each five-year 

period.
6
 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed regulations do not adversely 

affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 

costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

__________________________________ 
1 Source: Interview with a Virginia private inspector 
2 Source: Virginia Department of Health 
3 $250 x 1250 x 4/5 = $250,000 
4 Source: Virginia Department of Health 
5 $250 x 4/5 = $250 
6 Ibid 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Division of Radiological Health has reviewed the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Virginia Department of 

Planning and Budget dated March 17, 2012. The division has 

the following comments: 

1. In the Estimated Economic Impact section on Page 1, 

it states private inspectors charge approximately $250 per 

unit inspection. According to footnote 1 it states source: 

interview with a Virginia private inspector. The division 

recommends the sentence be changed to: One private 

inspector charges approximately $250 per unit 

inspection.  

2. The next sentence states that there are approximately 

1250 units in the Commonwealth. Thus, there would be 

approximately $250,000 savings annually. These units 

are not required to be inspected; thus, this statement is 

not accurate. DPB's sentence should be amended to 

include if the units are required to be inspected. This 

analysis is based upon 12VAC5-481-2110 which states 

that radiation surveys as required by 12VAC5-481-750. 

The regulation in 12VAC5-481-750 is a radiation survey 
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and not an inspection. The division will begin to develop 

a new regulatory action to address this. 

3. The division recommends that a statement be included 

in the Small Businesses section that this is based upon 

one private inspector's cost and if the unit was required to 

be inspected under 12VAC5-481. Currently the 

regulations for analytical X-ray equipment under Part 

VIII are not required to be inspected. The division will 

begin to develop a new regulatory action to address this. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) reflect changes to federal 

regulations, (ii) reflect new x-ray modalities in the medical 

field, (iii) reduce the frequency of required inspections for 

lower-risk equipment, (iv) update definitions, and (v) make 

minor grammatical and clarifying changes.  

Part I  

General Provisions  

12VAC5-481-10. Definitions.  

As used in these regulations, these terms have the definitions 

set forth below.  

"A1" means the maximum activity of special form 

radioactive material permitted in a Type A package. This 

value is listed in Table 1 of 12VAC5-481-3770. 

"A2" means the maximum activity of radioactive material, 

other than special form radioactive material, LSA, and SCO 

material, permitted in a Type A package. This value is listed 

in Table 1 of 12VAC5-481-3770. 

"Absorbed dose" means the energy imparted by ionizing 

radiation per unit mass of irradiated material. The units of 

absorbed dose are the gray (Gy) and the rad.  

"Absorbed dose rate" means absorbed dose per unit time, for 

machines with timers, or dose monitor unit per unit time for 

linear accelerators.  

"Accelerator" means any machine capable of accelerating 

electrons, protons, deuterons, or other charged particles in a 

vacuum and of discharging the resultant particulate or other 

radiation into a medium at energies usually in excess of one 

MeV. For purposes of this definition, "particle accelerator" is 

an equivalent term.  

"Accelerator-produced material" means any material made 

radioactive by a particle accelerator.  

"Accessible surface" means the external surface of the 

enclosure or housing of the radiation producing machine as 

provided by the manufacturer. It also means surface of 

equipment or of an equipment part that can be easily or 

accidentally touched by persons without the use of a tool.  

"Act" means §§ 32.1-227 through 32.1-238 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Active maintenance" means any significant activity needed 

during the period of institutional control to maintain a 

reasonable assurance that the performance objectives in 

12VAC5-481-2490 and 12VAC5-481-2500 are met. Such 

active maintenance includes ongoing activities such as the 

pumping and treatment of water from a disposal unit or one-

time measures such as replacement of a disposal unit cover. 

Active maintenance does not include custodial activities such 

as repair of fencing, repair or replacement of monitoring 

equipment, revegetation, minor additions to soil cover, minor 

repair of disposal unit covers, and general disposal site 

upkeep such as mowing grass.  

"Activity" means the rate of disintegration or transformation 

or decay of radioactive material. The units of activity are the 

becquerel (Bq) and the curie (Ci).  

"Acute" means a single radiation dose or chemical exposure 

event or multiple radiation dose or chemical exposure events 

occurring within a short time (24 hours or less). 

"Added filtration" means any filtration that is in addition to 

the inherent filtration.  

"Address of use" means the building or buildings that are 

identified on the license and where radioactive material may 

be produced, prepared, received, used, or stored.  

"Adult" means an individual 18 or more years of age.  

"Agency" means the Radiological Health Program of the 

Virginia Department of Health.  

"Agreement state" means any state with which the NRC or 

the Atomic Energy Commission has entered into an effective 

agreement under subsection 274b of the Atomic Energy Act 

of 1954, as amended (73 Stat. 689).  

"Airborne radioactive material" means any radioactive 

material dispersed in the air in the form of dusts, fumes, 

particulates, mists, vapors, or gases.  

"Airborne radioactivity area" means a room, enclosure, or 

area in which airborne radioactive materials composed wholly 

or partly of licensed material exist in concentrations:  

1. In excess of the derived air concentrations (DACs) 

specified in 12VAC5-481-3690; or  

2. To such a degree that an individual present in the area 

without respiratory protective equipment could exceed, 

during the hours an individual is present in a week, an 

intake of 0.6% of the annual limit on intake (ALI) or 12 

DAC-hours.  

"Air kerma (K)" or "K" means the kinetic energy released in 

air by ionizing radiation. Kerma is determined as the quotient 

of De by Dm, where De is the sum of the initial kinetic 

energies of all the charged ionizing particles liberated by 

uncharged ionizing particles in air of mass Dm. The SI unit of 

air kerma is joule per kilogram and the special name for the 

unit of kerma is the gray (Gy) kerma in air (see definition of 

"kerma").  

"Air kerma rate" or "AKR" means the air kerma per unit 

time. 

"Air-purifying respirator" means a respirator with an air-

purifying filter, cartridge, or canister that removes specific air 
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contaminants by passing ambient air through the air-purifying 

element. 

"Alert" means events may occur, are in progress, or have 

occurred that could lead to a release of radioactive material 

but that the release is not expected to require a response by 

offsite response organizations to protect persons offsite. 

"Aluminum equivalent" means the thickness of type 1100 

aluminum alloy affording the same attenuation, under 

specified conditions, as the material in question. The nominal 

chemical composition of type 100 aluminum is 99.00% 

minimum aluminum, 0.12% copper.  

"Analytical X-ray x-ray equipment" means equipment used 

for X-ray x-ray diffraction or fluorescence analysis.  

"Analytical X-ray x-ray system" means a group of 

components utilizing x-rays or gamma-rays to determine the 

elemental composition or to examine the microstructure of 

materials.  

"Annual limit on intake" (ALI) or "ALI" means the derived 

limit for the amount of radioactive material taken into the 

body of an adult worker by inhalation or ingestion in a year. 

ALI is the smaller value of intake of a given radionuclide in a 

year by the reference man that would result in a committed 

effective dose equivalent of 0.05 Sv (5 rem) or a committed 

dose equivalent of 0.5 Sv (50 rem) to any individual organ or 

tissue. ALI values for intake by ingestion and by inhalation of 

selected radionuclides are given in Tables 1 and 2 in 

12VAC5-481-3690.  

"Annual refresher safety training" means a review conducted 

or provided by the licensee or registrant for its employees on 

radiation safety aspects of industrial radiography. The review 

shall include, as a minimum, any results of internal 

inspections, new procedures or equipment, new or revised 

regulations, and accidents or errors that have been observed. 

The review shall also provide opportunities for employees to 

ask safety questions.  

"Annually" means at intervals not to exceed one year.  

"ANSI" means the American National Standards Institute.  

"Area of use" means a portion of a physical structure that 

has been set aside for the purpose of producing, preparing, 

receiving, using, or storing radioactive material.  

"Assigned protection factor (APF)" or "APF" means the 

expected workplace level of respiratory protection that would 

be provided by a properly functioning respirator or a class of 

respirators to properly fitted and trained users. Operationally, 

the inhaled concentration can be estimated by dividing the 

ambient airborne concentration by the APF. 

"As low as is reasonably achievable" (ALARA) or 

"ALARA" means making every reasonable effort to maintain 

exposures to radiation as far below the dose limits in these 

regulations as is practical, consistent with the purpose for 

which the licensed or registered activity is undertaken, taking 

into account the state of technology, the economics of 

improvements in relation to state of technology, the 

economics of improvements in relation to benefits to the 

public health and safety, and other societal and 

socioeconomic considerations, and in relation to utilization of 

nuclear energy and licensed or registered sources of radiation 

in the public interest.  

"Articulated joint" means a joint between two separate 

sections of a tabletop that provides the capacity for one of the 

sections to pivot on the line segment along which the sections 

join. 

"Assembler" means any person engaged in the business of 

assembling, replacing, or installing one or more components 

into an X-ray x-ray system or subsystem. The term includes 

the owner of an X-ray x-ray system or his or her employee or 

agent who assembles components into an X-ray x-ray system 

that is subsequently used to provide professional or 

commercial services.  

"Associated equipment" means equipment that is used in 

conjunction with a radiographic exposure device to make 

radiographic exposures that drive, guide, or come in contact 

with the source.  

"Atmosphere-supplying respirator" means a respirator that 

supplies the respirator user with breathing air from a source 

independent of the ambient atmosphere, and includes 

supplied-air respirators (SARs) and self-contained breathing 

apparatus (SCBA) units. 

"Attenuation block" means a block or stack, having 

dimensions 20 centimeters by 20 centimeters by 3.8 

centimeters, of type 1100 aluminum alloy or other materials 

having equivalent attenuation. The nominal chemical 

composition of type 100 aluminum is 99.00% minimum 

aluminum, 0.12% copper.  

"Authorized medical physicist" means an individual who: 

1. Meets the requirements in 12VAC5-481-1760 and 

12VAC5-481-1790; or  

2. Is identified as an authorized medical physicist or 

teletherapy physicist on: 

a. A specific medical use license issued by the NRC or 

another agreement state; 

b. A medical use permit issued by an NRC master 

material licensee; 

c. A permit issued by an NRC or another agreement state 

broad scope medical use licensee; or 

d. A permit issued by an NRC master material license 

broad scope medical use permittee. 

"Authorized nuclear pharmacist" means a pharmacist who: 

1. Meets the requirements in 12VAC5-481-1770 and 

12VAC5-481-1790;  

2. Is identified as an authorized nuclear pharmacist on: 

a. A specific license issued by the NRC or another 

agreement state that authorizes medical use or the 

practice of nuclear pharmacy; 
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b. A permit issued by an NRC master material licensee 

that authorizes medical use or the practice of nuclear 

pharmacy; 

c. A permit issued by an NRC or another agreement state 

broad scope medical use licensee that authorizes medical 

use or the practice of nuclear pharmacy; or 

d. A permit issued by an NRC master material license 

broad scope medical use permittee that authorizes 

medical use or the practice of nuclear pharmacy;  

3. Is identified as an authorized nuclear pharmacist by a 

commercial nuclear pharmacy that has been authorized to 

identify authorized nuclear pharmacists; or 

4. Is designated as an authorized nuclear pharmacist in 

accordance with 12VAC5-481-440 I 2. 

"Authorized user" means a practitioner of the healing arts 

who: 

1. Meets the requirements in 12VAC5-481-1790 and any 

of the following: 

a. 12VAC5-481-1910; 

b. 12VAC5-481-1940; 

c. 12VAC5-481-1980; 

d. 12VAC5-481-1990; 

e. 12VAC5-481-2000; 

f. 12VAC5-481-2010; 

g. 12VAC5-481-2030;  

h. 12VAC5-481-2040; or 

2. Is identified as an authorized user on: 

a. A specific license issued by the NRC or another 

agreement state that authorizes medical use; 

b. A permit issued by an NRC master material licensee 

that authorizes medical use; 

c. A permit issued by an NRC or another agreement state 

broad scope medical use licensee that authorizes medical 

use; or 

d. A permit issued by an NRC master material license 

broad scope medical use permittee that authorizes 

medical use. 

"Automatic exposure control (AEC)" or "AEC" means a 

device that automatically controls one or more technique 

factors in order to obtain, at a preselected location(s), a 

required quantity of radiation (includes devices such as 

phototimers and ion chambers).  

"Background radiation" means radiation from cosmic 

sources, naturally occurring radioactive materials, that have 

not been technologically enhanced, including radon, except as 

a decay product of source or special nuclear material, and 

including global fallout as it exists in the environment from 

the testing of nuclear explosive devices, or from past nuclear 

accidents such as Chernobyl that contribute to background 

radiation and are not under the control of the licensee or 

registrant. "Background radiation" does not include sources 

of radiation from radioactive materials regulated by the 

agency.  

"Barrier" (See "Protective barrier").  

"Beam axis" means a line from the source through the 

centers of the X-ray x-ray fields.  

"Beam-limiting device" means a device that provides a 

means to restrict the dimensions of the X-ray x-ray field.  

"Beam monitoring system" means a system designed and 

installed in the radiation head to detect and measure the 

radiation present in the useful beam.  

"Beam scattering foil" means a thin piece of material 

(usually metallic) placed in the beam to scatter a beam of 

electrons in order to provide a more uniform electron 

distribution in the useful beam.  

"Becquerel" (Bq) or "Bq" means the SI unit of activity. One 

becquerel is equal to one disintegration or transformation per 

second (dps or tps).  

"Beneficial attribute" means, as used in Part XVI (12VAC5-

481-3460 et seq.) of this chapter, the radioactivity of the 

product necessary to the use of the product.  

"Beneficial to the product" see "Beneficial attribute."  

"Bent beam linear accelerator" means a linear accelerator 

geometry in which the accelerated electron beam must change 

direction by passing through a bending magnet.  

"Bioassay" means the determination of kinds, quantities or 

concentrations, and, in some cases, the locations of 

radioactive material in the human body, whether by direct 

measurement, in-vivo counting, or by analysis and evaluation 

of materials excreted or removed from the human body. For 

purposes of these regulations, "radiobioassay" is an 

equivalent term.  

"Board" means the State Board of Health. 

"Brachytherapy" means a method of radiation therapy in 

which sealed sources are utilized to deliver a radiation dose at 

a distance of up to a few centimeters, by surface, 

intracavitary, or interstitial application.  

"Buffer zone" means a portion of the disposal site that is 

controlled by the licensee and that lies under the disposal 

units and between the disposal units and the boundary of the 

site.  

"Byproduct material" means:  

1. Any radioactive material (except special nuclear 

material) yielded in, or made radioactive by, exposure to 

the radiation incident to the process of producing or using 

special nuclear material;  

2. The tailings or wastes produced by the extraction or 

concentration of uranium or thorium from ore processed 

primarily for its source material content, including discrete 

surface wastes resulting from uranium solution extraction 

processes. Underground ore bodies depleted by these 
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solution extraction operations do not constitute "byproduct 

material" within this definition; 

3. a. Any discrete source of radium-226 that is produced, 

extracted, or converted after extraction, before, on, or after 

August 8, 2005, for use for a commercial, medical, or 

research activity; or 

b. Any material that: 

(1) Has been made radioactive by use of a particle 

accelerator; and 

(2) Is produced, extracted, or converted after extraction, 

before, on, or after August 8, 2005, for use for a 

commercial, medical, or research activity; and 

4. Any discrete source of naturally occurring radioactive 

material, other than source material, that: 

a. The NRC, in consultation with the Administrator of 

the Environmental Protection Agency, the Secretary of 

Energy, the Secretary of Homeland Security, and the 

head of any other appropriate federal agency, determines 

would pose a threat similar to the threat posed by a 

discrete source of radium-226 to the public health and 

safety or the common defense and security; and 

b. Before, on, or after August 8, 2005, is extracted or 

converted after extraction for use in a commercial, 

medical, or research activity. 

"C-arm X-ray system fluoroscope" means an X-ray x-ray 

system in which the image receptor and X-ray x-ray tube 

housing assembly are connected by a common mechanical 

support system in order to maintain a desired spatial 

relationship. This system is designed to allow a change in the 

projection of the beam through the patient without a change 

in the position of the patient.  

"Cabinet radiography" means industrial radiography 

conducted in an enclosure or cabinet so shielded that every 

location on the exterior meets the dose limits for individual 

members of the public as specified in 12VAC5-481-720.  

"Cabinet X-ray x-ray system" means an X-ray x-ray system 

with the X-ray x-ray tube installed in an enclosure 

independent of existing architectural structures except the 

floor on which it may be placed. The cabinet X-ray x-ray 

system is intended to contain at least that portion of a material 

being irradiated, provide radiation attenuation, and exclude 

personnel from its interior during generation of radiation. 

Included are all X-ray x-ray systems designed primarily for 

the inspection of carry-on baggage at airline, railroad, and bus 

terminals, and in similar facilities. An X-ray x-ray tube used 

within a shielded part of a building, or X-ray x-ray equipment 

that may temporarily or occasionally incorporate portable 

shielding, is not considered a cabinet X-ray x-ray system.  

"Calendar quarter" means not less than 12 consecutive 

weeks nor more than 14 consecutive weeks. The first calendar 

quarter of each year shall begin in January and subsequent 

calendar quarters shall be so arranged such that no day is 

included in more than one calendar quarter and no day in any 

one year is omitted from inclusion within a calendar quarter. 

The method observed by the licensee or registrant for 

determining calendar quarters shall only be changed at the 

beginning of a year.  

"Calibration" means the determination of (i) the response or 

reading of an instrument relative to a series of known 

radiation values over the range of the instrument or (ii) the 

strength of a source of radiation relative to a standard.  

"Camera" (See "Radiographic exposure device").  

"Carrier" means a person engaged in the transportation of 

passengers or property by land or water as a common, 

contract, or private carrier, or by civil aircraft.  

"Cassette holder" means a device, other than a spot-film 

device, that supports or fixes the position of an x-ray film 

(imaging) cassette during an x-ray exposure. 

"Cephalometric device" means a device intended for the 

radiographic visualization and measurement of the 

dimensions of the human head.  

"Certifiable cabinet X-ray x-ray system" means an existing 

uncertified X-ray x-ray system that has been modified to meet 

the certification requirements specified in 21 CFR 1020.40.  

"Certificate holder" means a person who has been issued a 

certificate of compliance or other package approval by the 

NRC. 

"Certificate of compliance (CoC)" or "COC" means the 

certificate issued by the NRC that approves the design of a 

package for the transportation of radioactive material. 

"Certified cabinet X-ray x-ray system" means an X-ray x-

ray system that has been certified in accordance with 21 CFR 

1010.2 as being manufactured and assembled pursuant to the 

provisions of 21 CFR 1020.40.  

"Certified components" means components of X-ray x-ray 

systems that are subject to regulations promulgated under 

Pub.L. 90-602, the Radiation Control for Health and Safety 

Act of 1968 of the Food and Drug Administration.  

"Certified system" means any X-ray system which has one 

or more certified component(s).  

"Certifying entity" means an independent certifying 

organization meeting the agency's requirements for 

documenting applicant's training in topics set forth in 

12VAC5-481-1320 or equivalent state or NRC regulations.  

"CFR" means Code of Federal Regulations.  

"Changeable filters" means any filter, exclusive of inherent 

filtration, that can be removed from the useful beam through 

any electronic, mechanical, or physical process.  

"Chelating agent" means amine polycarboxylic acids, 

hydroxycarboxylic acids, gluconic acid, and polycarboxylic 

acids.  

"Chemical description" means a description of the principal 

chemical characteristics of a low-level radioactive waste. 
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"Class" means a classification scheme for inhaled material 

according to its rate of clearance from the pulmonary region 

of the lung. Materials are classified as D, W, or Y, which 

applies to a range of clearance half-times: for Class D, Days, 

of less than 10 days; for Class W, Weeks, from 10 to 100 

days; and for Class Y, Years, of greater than 100 days. For 

purposes of these regulations, "lung class" and "inhalation 

class" are equivalent terms.  

"Closed transport vehicle" means a transport vehicle 

equipped with a securely attached exterior enclosure that 

during normal transportation restricts the access of 

unauthorized persons to the cargo space containing the 

radioactive material. The enclosure may be either temporary 

or permanent but shall limit access from top, sides, and ends. 

In the case of packaged materials, it may be of the "see-

through" type.  

"cm" means centimeters. 

"Coefficient of variation (C)" or "C" means the ratio of the 

standard deviation to the mean value of a set population of 

observations. It is estimated using the following equation:  

 

where: 

s = Standard deviation of the observed values; 

   = Mean value of observations in sample; 

xi = ith observation in sample; 

n = Number of observations in sample. 

"Collective dose" means the sum of the individual doses 

received in a given period of time by a specified population 

from exposure to a specified source of radiation.  

"Collimator" means a device used to limit the size, shape, 

and direction of the primary radiation beam. For industrial 

radiography it means a radiation shield that is placed on the 

end of the guide tube or directly onto a radiographic exposure 

device to restrict the size of the radiation beam when the 

sealed source is cranked into position to make a radiographic 

exposure.  

"Commencement of construction" means any clearing of 

land, excavation, or other substantial action that would 

adversely affect the environment of a land disposal facility. 

The term does not mean disposal site exploration, necessary 

roads for disposal site exploration, borings to determine 

foundation conditions, or other preconstruction monitoring or 

testing to establish background information related to the 

suitability of the disposal site or the protection of 

environmental values.  

"Committed dose equivalent" (HT,50) or "HT,50" means the 

dose equivalent to organs or tissues of reference (T) that will 

be received from an intake of radioactive material by an 

individual during the 50-year period following the intake.  

"Committed effective dose equivalent" (HE, 50) or "HE, 50" is 

the sum of the products of the weighting factors (wT) 

applicable to each of the body organs or tissues that are 

irradiated and the committed dose equivalent to each of these 

organs or tissues (HE,50 = Σ (wT HT,50)).  

"Computed tomography" means the production of a 

tomogram by the acquisition and computer processing of X-

ray x-ray transmission data.  

"Computed tomography dose index" means the integral from 

-7T to +7T of the dose profile along a line perpendicular to 

the tomographic plane divided by the product of the nominal 

tomographic section thickness and the number of tomograms 

produced in a single scan, that is:  

 

where: 

z = Position along a line perpendicular to the 

tomographic plane; 

D(z) = Dose at position z; 

T = Nominal tomographic section thickness; 

n = Number of tomograms produced in a single scan. 

This definition assumes that the dose profile is centered 

around z = 0 and that, for a multiple tomogram system, the 

scan increment between adjacent scans is nT.  

"Computer-readable medium" means that the regulatory 

agency's computer can transfer the information from the 

medium into its memory. 

"Consignee" means the designated receiver of the shipment 

of low-level radioactive waste. 

"Consignment" means each shipment of a package or groups 

of packages or load of radioactive material offered by a 

shipper for transport. 

"Consortium" means an association of medical use licensees 

and a PET radionuclide production facility in the same 

geographical area that jointly own or share in the operation 

and maintenance cost of the PET radionuclide production 

facility that produces PET radionuclides for use in producing 

radioactive drugs within the consortium for noncommercial 

distributions among its associated members for medical use. 

The PET radionuclide production facility within the 

consortium must be located at an educational institution or a 

federal facility or a medical facility. 

"Constraint" means each shipment of a package or groups of 

packages or load of radioactive material offered by a shipper 

for transport. 

"Constraint (dose constraint)" or "dose constraint" means a 

value above which specified licensee actions are required. 
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"Contact therapy system" means a therapeutic radiation 

machine with a short target to skin distance (TSD), usually 

less than five centimeters.  

"Contrast scale" means the change in the linear attenuation 

coefficient per CTN relative to water, that is:  

 

where: 

μw = Linear attenuation coefficient of the material of 

interest; 

μx = Linear attenuation coefficient of water; 

 = of the material of interest; 

 = of water. 

"Control (drive) cable" or "drive" means the cable that is 

connected to the source assembly and used to drive the source 

to and from the exposure location.  

"Control drive mechanism" means a device that enables the 

source assembly to be moved into and out of the exposure 

device.  

"Control panel" means that part of the X-ray x-ray control 

upon which are mounted the switches, knobs, pushbuttons, 

and other hardware necessary for manually setting the 

technique factors.  

"Control tube" means a protective sheath for guiding the 

control cable. The control tube connects the control drive 

mechanism to the radiographic exposure device.  

"Controlled area" means an area, outside of a restricted area 

but inside the site boundary, access to which can be limited 

by the licensee for any reason. 

"Conveyance" means: 

1. For transport by public highway or rail any transport 

vehicle or large freight container; 

2. For transport by water any vessel, or any hold, 

compartment, or defined deck area of a vessel including 

any transport vehicle on board the vessel; and 

3. For transport by any aircraft. 

"Cooling curve" means the graphical relationship between 

heat units stored and cooling time.  

"Cradle" means either: 

1. A removable device that supports and may restrain a 

patient above an x-ray table; or  

2. A device: 

a. Whose patient support structure is interposed between 

the patient and the image receptor during normal use; 

b. Which is equipped with means for patient restraint; 

and 

c. Which is capable of rotation about its long 

(longitudinal) axis. 

"Critical group" means the group of individuals reasonably 

expected to receive the greatest exposure to residual 

radioactivity for any applicable set of circumstances. 

"Criticality safety index (CSI)" or "CSI" means the 

dimensionless number (rounded up to the next tenth) assigned 

to and placed on the label of a fissile material package, to 

designate the degree of control of accumulation of packages 

containing fissile material during transportation. 

Determination of the criticality safety index is described in 

Part XIII (12VAC5-481-2950 et seq.). 

"CS" (See "Contrast scale").  

"CT" (See "Computed tomography").  

"CT conditions of operation" means all selectable 

parameters governing the operation of a CT X-ray x-ray 

system including, but not limited to, nominal tomographic 

section thickness, filtration, and the technique factors as 

defined in these regulations.  

"CTDI" (See "Computed tomography dose index").  

"CT gantry" means the tube housing assemblies, beam-

limiting devices, detectors, and the supporting structures and 

frames which hold these components.  

"CTN" (See "CT number").  

"CT Number" number" means the number used to represent 

the X-ray x-ray attenuation associated with each elemental 

area of the CT image.  

 

where: 

 = A constant, a normal value of 1,000 when the 

Houndsfield scale of CTN is used; 

 = Linear attenuation coefficient of the material of 

interest; 

 = Linear attenuation coefficient of water. 

"Cumulative air kerma" means the total air kerma accrued 

from the beginning of an examination or procedure and 

includes all contribution from fluoroscopic and radiographic 

irradiation. 

"Curie" means a unit of quantity of activity. One curie (Ci) 

is that quantity of radioactive material that decays at the rate 

of 3.7E+10 disintegrations or transformations per second (dps 

or tps).  

"Custodial agency" means an agency of the government 

designated to act on behalf of the government owner of the 

disposal site.  
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"Dead-man switch" means a switch so constructed that a 

circuit closing contact can be maintained only by continuous 

pressure on the switch by the operator.  

"Declared pregnant woman" means a woman who has 

voluntarily informed the licensee, in writing, of her 

pregnancy and the estimated date of conception. The 

declaration remains in effect until the declared pregnant 

woman withdraws the declaration in writing or is no longer 

pregnant. 

"Decommission" means to remove a facility or site safely 

from service and reduce residual radioactivity to a level that 

permits release of the property for unrestricted use and 

termination of the license or release of the property under 

restricted conditions and termination of the license. 

"Decontamination facility" means a facility operating under 

a Commission or Agreement State license whose principal 

purpose is decontamination of equipment or materials to 

accomplish recycle, reuse, or other waste management 

objectives, and, for purposes of this part, is not considered to 

be a consignee for LLW shipments. 

"Dedicated check source" means a radioactive source that is 

used to assure the constant operation of a radiation detection 

or measurement device over several months or years. This 

source may also be used for other purposes.  

"Deep dose equivalent" (Hd), or "Hd," which applies to 

external whole body exposure, means the dose equivalent at a 

tissue depth of one centimeter (1000 mg/cm²).  

"Demand respirator" means an atmosphere-supplying 

respirator that admits breathing air to the facepiece only when 

a negative pressure is created inside the facepiece by 

inhalation. 

"Department of Energy" means the Department of Energy 

established by Pub. L. 95-91, August 4, 1977, 91 Stat. 565, 42 

USC § 7101 et seq., to the extent that the Department 

exercises functions formerly vested in the Atomic Energy 

Commission, its Chairman, members, officers, and 

components and transferred to the Energy Research and 

Development Administration and to the Administrator thereof 

pursuant to sections 104(b), (c) and (d) of the Energy 

Reorganization Act of 1974 (Pub. L. 93-438, October 11, 

1974, 88 Stat. 1233 at 1237, 42 USC § 5814, effective 

January 19, 1975) and retransferred to the Secretary of 

Energy pursuant to section 301(a) of the Department of 

Energy Organization Act (Pub. L. 95-91, August 4, 1977, 91 

Stat. 565 at 577-578, 42 USC § 7151, effective October 1, 

1977.)  

"Depleted uranium" means the source material uranium in 

which the isotope uranium-235 is less than 0.711 weight 

percentage of the total uranium present. Depleted uranium 

does not include special nuclear material.  

"Derived air concentration" (DAC) or "DAC" means the 

concentration of a given radionuclide in air which, if breathed 

by the reference man for a working year of 2,000 hours under 

conditions of light work, results in an intake of one ALI. For 

purposes of these regulations, the condition of light work is 

an inhalation rate of 1.2 cubic meters of air per hour for 2,000 

hours in a year. DAC values are given in 12VAC5-481-3690.  

"Derived air concentration-hour" (DAC-hour) or "DAC 

hour" means the product of the concentration of radioactive 

material in air, expressed as a fraction or multiple of the 

derived air concentration for each radionuclide, and the time 

of exposure to that radionuclide, in hours. A licensee or 

registrant may take 2,000 DAC-hours to represent one ALI, 

equivalent to a committed effective dose equivalent of 0.05 

Sv (5 rem).  

"Detector" (See "Radiation detector").  

"Deuterium" means, for the purposes of Part XIII (12VAC5-

481-2950 et seq.) deuterium and any deuterium compounds, 

including heavy water, in which the ratio of deuterium atoms 

to hydrogen atoms exceeds 1:5000. 

"Diagnostic clinical procedures manual" means a collection 

of written procedures that describes each method (and other 

instructions and precautions) by which the licensee performs 

diagnostic clinical procedures, where each diagnostic clinical 

procedure has been approved by the authorized user and 

includes the radiopharmaceutical, dosage, and route of 

administration.  

"Diagnostic source assembly" means the tube housing 

assembly with a beam-limiting device attached.  

"Diagnostic X-ray x-ray system" means an X-ray x-ray 

system designed for irradiation of any part of the human or 

animal body for the purpose of diagnosis or visualization.  

"Diagnostic X-ray imaging system" means an assemblage of 

components for the generation, emission and reception of X-

rays and the transformation, storage and visual display of the 

resultant X-ray image.  

"Direct scattered radiation" means that scattered radiation 

that has been deviated in direction only by materials 

irradiated by the useful beam (See "Scattered radiation").  

"Discrete source" means a radionuclide that has been 

processed so that its concentration within a material has been 

purposely increased for use for commercial, medical, or 

research activities. 

"Disposable respirator" means a respirator for which 

maintenance is not intended and that is designed to be 

discarded after excessive breathing resistance, sorbent 

exhaustion, physical damage, or end-of-service-life renders it 

unsuitable for use. Examples of this type of respirator are a 

disposable half-mask respirator or a disposable escape-only 

self-contained breathing apparatus (SCBA). 

"Disposal" means the isolation of wastes from the biosphere 

inhabited by man and his food chains by emplacement in a 

land disposal facility.  

"Disposal container" means a container principally used to 

confine low-level radioactive waste during disposal 
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operations at a land disposal facility (also see "high integrity 

container"). Note that for some shipments, the disposal 

container may be the transport package. 

"Disposal site" means that portion of a land disposal facility 

that is used for disposal of waste. It consists of disposal units 

and a buffer zone.  

"Disposal unit" means a discrete portion of the disposal site 

into which waste is placed for disposal. For near-surface 

disposal, the unit is usually a trench.  

"Distinguishable from background" means that the 

detectable concentration of a radionuclide is statistically 

different from the background concentration of that 

radionuclide in the vicinity of the site or, in the case of 

structures, in similar materials using adequate measurement 

technology, survey, and statistical techniques.  

"Dose" is a generic term that means absorbed dose, dose 

equivalent, effective dose equivalent, committed dose 

equivalent, committed effective dose equivalent, total organ 

dose equivalent, or total effective dose equivalent. For 

purposes of these regulations, "radiation dose" is an 

equivalent term.  

"Dose commitment" means the total radiation dose to a part 

of the body that will result from retention in the body of 

radioactive material. For purposes of estimating the dose 

commitment, it is assumed that from the time of intake the 

period of exposure to retained material will not exceed 50 

years. 

"Dose equivalent (HT)" or "HT" means the product of the 

absorbed dose in tissue, quality factor, and all other necessary 

modifying factors at the location of interest. The units of dose 

equivalent are the sievert (Sv) and rem.  

"Dose limits" means the permissible upper bounds of 

radiation doses established in accordance with these 

regulations. For purposes of these regulations, "limits" is an 

equivalent term.  

"Dose monitor unit (DMU)" or "DMU" means a unit 

response from the beam monitoring system from which the 

absorbed dose can be calculated.  

"Dose profile" means the dose as a function of position 

along a line.  

"Dosimetry processor" means an individual or an 

organization that processes and evaluates individual 

monitoring devices in order to determine the radiation dose 

delivered to the monitoring devices.  

"Doubly encapsulated sealed source" means a sealed source 

in which the radioactive material is sealed within an inner 

capsule and that capsule is sealed within an outer capsule.  

"Drive cable" (See "Control cable").  

"Effective dose equivalent (HE)" or "HE" means the sum of 

the products of the dose equivalent (HT) to each organ or 

tissue and the weighting factor (wT) applicable to each of the 

body organs or tissues that are irradiated (HE = Σ wTHT).  

"Elemental area" means the smallest area within a tomogram 

for which the X-ray x-ray attenuation properties of a body are 

depicted. (See also "Picture element").  

"Embryo/fetus" means the developing human organism from 

conception until the time of birth.  

"Energy compensation source (ECS)" or "ECS" means a 

small sealed source, with an activity not exceeding 3.7 MBq 

(100 μCi), used within a logging tool, or other tool 

components, to provide a reference standard to maintain the 

tool's calibration when in use. 

"Engineered barrier" means a manmade structure or device 

that is intended to improve the land disposal facility's ability 

to meet the performance objectives in these regulations.  

"Enriched uranium" (See "Uranium – natural, depleted, 

enriched"). 

"Entrance exposure rate" means the exposure free in air per 

unit time at the point where the center of the useful beam 

enters the patient.  

"Entrance or access point" means any opening through 

which an individual or extremity of an individual could gain 

access to radiation areas or to licensed or registered 

radioactive materials. This includes entry or exit portals of 

sufficient size to permit human entry, irrespective of their 

intended use.  

"EPA identification number" means the number received by 

a transporter following application to the Administrator of 

EPA as required by 40 CFR Part 263. 

"Equipment" (See "X-ray equipment").  

"Exclusive use" means the sole use by a single consignor of 

a conveyance for which all initial, intermediate, and final 

loading and unloading are carried out in accordance with the 

direction of the consignor or consignee. The consignor and 

the carrier must ensure that any loading or unloading is 

performed by personnel having radiological training and 

resources appropriate for safe handling of the consignment. 

The consignor must issue specific instructions, in writing, for 

maintenance of exclusive use shipment controls, and include 

them with the shipping paper information provided to the 

carrier by the consignor.  

"Explosive material" means any chemical compound, 

mixture, or device that produces a substantial instantaneous 

release of gas and heat spontaneously or by contact with 

sparks or flame.  

"Exposure" means being exposed to ionizing radiation or to 

radioactive material.  

"Exposure head" means a device that locates the gamma 

radiography sealed source in the selected working position.  

"Exposure rate" means the exposure per unit of time, such as 

roentgen per minute and milliroentgen per hour.  

"External beam radiation therapy" means therapeutic 

irradiation in which the source of radiation is at a distance 

from the body.  
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"External dose" means that portion of the dose equivalent 

received from any source of radiation outside the body.  

"Extremity" means hand, elbow, arm below the elbow, foot, 

knee, and leg below the knee.  

"Facility" means the location, building, vehicle, or complex 

under one administrative control, at which one or more 

radiation machines are installed, located and/or used.  

"Fail-safe characteristics" mean a design feature that causes 

beam port shutters to close, or otherwise prevents emergence 

of the primary beam, upon the failure of a safety or warning 

device.  

"Field emission equipment" means equipment that uses an 

X-ray x-ray tube in which electron emission from the cathode 

is due solely to the action of an electric field.  

"Field-flattening filter" means a filter used to homogenize 

the absorbed dose rate over the radiation field.  

"Field station" means a facility where radioactive sources 

may be stored or used and from which equipment is 

dispatched to temporary jobsites.  

"Filter" means material placed in the useful beam to 

preferentially absorb selected radiations. It also means 

material placed in the useful beam to change beam quality in 

therapeutic radiation machines subject to Part XV (12VAC5-

481-3380 et seq.) of this chapter.  

"Filtering facepiece (dusk mask)" or "dusk mask" means a 

negative pressure particulate respirator with a filter as an 

integral part of the facepiece or with the entire facepiece 

composed of the filtering medium, not equipped with 

elastomeric sealing surfaces and adjustable straps. 

"Fissile material" means the radionuclides uranium-233, 

uranium-235, plutonium-239, and plutonium-241, or any 

combination of these radionuclides. "Fissile material" means 

the fissile nuclides themselves, not material containing fissile 

nuclides. Unirradiated natural uranium and depleted uranium 

and natural uranium or depleted uranium, that has been 

irradiated in thermal reactors only, are not included in this 

definition. Certain exclusions from fissile material controls 

are provided in 10 CFR 71.15.  

1. Fissile Class I: A package that may be transported in 

unlimited numbers and in any arrangement, and that 

requires no nuclear criticality safety controls during 

transportation. A transport index is not assigned for 

purposes of nuclear criticality safety but may be required 

because of external radiation levels.  

2. Fissile Class II: A package that may be transported 

together with other packages in any arrangement but, for 

criticality control, in numbers that do not exceed an 

aggregate transport index of 50. These shipments require 

no other nuclear criticality safety control during 

transportation. Individual packages may have a transport 

index not less than 0.1 and not more than 10.  

"Fissile material package" means a fissile material 

packaging together with its fissile material contents.  

"Fit factor" means a quantitative estimate of the fit of a 

particular respirator to a specific individual, and typically 

estimates the ratio of the concentration of a substance in 

ambient air to its concentration inside the respirator when 

worn. 

"Fit test" means the use of a protocol to qualitatively or 

quantitatively evaluate the fit of a respirator on an individual. 

"Fluoroscopic imaging assembly" means a subsystem in 

which X-ray x-ray photons produce a visible image set of 

fluoroscopic images or radiographic images recorded from 

the fluoroscopic image receptor. It includes the image 

receptor(s) such as the image intensifier and spot-film device 

receptors, electrical interlocks, if any, and structural material 

providing linkage between the image receptor and diagnostic 

source assembly.  

"Fluoroscopic irradiation time" means the cumulative 

duration during an examination or procedure of operator-

applied continuous pressure to the device, enabling x-ray tube 

activation in any fluoroscopic mode of operation. 

"Fluoroscopy" means a technique for generating x-ray 

images and presenting them simultaneously and continuously 

as visible images. This term has the same meaning as the term 

"radioscopy" in the standards of the International 

Electrotechnical Commission. 

"Focal spot (actual)" or "actual" means the area projected on 

the anode of the X-ray x-ray tube bombarded by the electrons 

accelerated from the cathode and from which the useful beam 

originates.  

"Former Atomic Energy Commission or NRC licensed 

facilities" means nuclear reactors, nuclear fuel reprocessing 

plants, uranium enrichment plants, or critical mass 

experimental facilities where Atomic Energy Commission or 

NRC licenses have been terminated.  

"Gantry" means that part of a radiation therapy system 

supporting and allowing movements of the radiation head 

about a center of rotation.  

"Generally applicable environmental radiation standards" 

means standards issued by the Environmental Protection 

Agency under the authority of the Atomic Energy Act of 

1954, as amended, that impose limits on radiation exposures 

or levels, or concentrations or quantities of radioactive 

material, in the general environment outside the boundaries of 

locations under the control of persons possessing or using 

radioactive material.  

"General environment" means, as used in Part XVI 

(12VAC5-481-3460 et seq.) of this chapter, the total 

terrestrial, atmospheric, and aquatic environments outside the 

site boundary within which any activity, operation, or process 

authorized by a general or specific license issued under Part 

XVI, is performed.  
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"General purpose radiographic X-ray x-ray system" means 

any radiographic X-ray x-ray system which, by design, is not 

limited to radiographic examination of specific anatomical 

regions.  

"Generator" means a licensee who (i) is a waste generator as 

defined in this chapter, or (ii) is the licensee to whom waste 

can be attributed within the context of the Low-Level 

Radioactive Waste Policy Amendments Act of 1985 (e.g., 

waste generated as a result of decontamination or recycle 

activities). 

"Gonad shield" means a protective barrier for the testes or 

ovaries.  

"Gray (Gy)" means the SI unit of absorbed dose. One gray is 

equal to an absorbed dose of one joule per kilogram (100 

rad).  

"Guide tube (protection sheath)" means a flexible or rigid 

tube, or "J" tube, for guiding the source assembly and the 

attached control cable from the exposure device to the 

exposure head. The guide tube may also include the 

connections necessary for attachment to the exposure device 

and to the exposure head.  

"Half-value layer (HVL)" or "HVL" means the thickness of 

a specified material that attenuates X-radiation or gamma 

radiation to an extent such that the air kerma rate, exposure 

rate or absorbed dose rate is reduced to one-half of the value 

measured without the material at the same point the beam of 

radiation to an extent that the AKR is reduced by one-half of 

its original value. In this definition, the contribution of all 

scattered radiation, other than any which might be present 

initially in the beam concerned, is deemed to be excluded. 

"Hand-held radiographic unit" means x-ray equipment that 

is designed to be hand-held during operation. 

"Hands-on experience" means experience in all of those 

areas considered to be directly involved in the radiography 

process, and includes taking radiographs, calibration of 

survey instruments, operational and performance testing of 

survey instruments and devices, film development, posting of 

radiation areas, transportation of radiography equipment, 

posting of records and radiation area surveillance, etc., as 

applicable. Excessive time spent in only one or two of these 

areas, such as film development or radiation area 

surveillance, should not be counted toward the 2,000 hours of 

hands-on experience required for a radiation safety officer in 

12VAC5-481-1310 A 2 or the hands-on experience for a 

radiographer as required by 12VAC5-481-1320 A.  

"Hazardous waste" means those wastes designated as 

hazardous by the Environmental Protection Agency 

regulations in 40 CFR Part 261.  

"Healing arts" means the art or science or group of arts or 

sciences dealing with the prevention and cure or alleviation of 

ailments, diseases or infirmities, and has the same meaning as 

"medicine" when the latter term is used in its comprehensive 

sense.  

"Healing arts screening" means the testing of human beings 

using X-ray x-ray machines for the detection or evaluation of 

health indications when such tests are not specifically and 

individually ordered by a licensed practitioner of the healing 

arts legally authorized to prescribe such X-ray x-ray tests for 

the purpose of diagnosis or treatment.  

"Heat unit" means a unit of energy equal to the product of 

the peak kilovoltage, milliamperes, and seconds, such as 

(kVp) times (mA) times (seconds).  

"Helmet" means a rigid respiratory inlet covering that also 

provides head protection against impact and penetration. 

"High integrity container (HIC)" or "HIC" means a container 

commonly designed to meet the structural stability 

requirements of 12VAC5-481-2572 and to meet 

U.S. Department of Transportation requirements for a Type A 

package. 

"High radiation area" means an area, accessible to 

individuals, in which radiation levels from radiation sources 

external to the body could result in an individual receiving a 

dose equivalent in excess of one mSv (0.1 rem) in one hour at 

30 centimeters from any source of radiation or 30 centimeters 

from any surface that the radiation penetrates.  

"Hood" means a respiratory inlet covering that completely 

covers the head and neck and may also cover portions of the 

shoulders and torso. 

"Human use" means the internal or external administration 

of radiation or radioactive material to human beings.  

"HVL" (See "Half-value layer").  

"Hydrogeologic unit" means any soil or rock unit or zone 

which by virtue of its porosity or permeability, or lack 

thereof, has a distinct influence on the storage or movement 

of groundwater.  

"Image intensifier" means a device, installed in its housing, 

that instantaneously converts an X-ray x-ray pattern into a 

corresponding light image of higher intensity.  

"Image receptor" means any device, such as a fluorescent 

screen or, radiographic film, x-ray image intensifier tube, 

solid-state detector, or gaseous detector that transforms 

incident X-ray x-ray photons either into a visible image or 

into another form that can be made into a visible image by 

further transformations. In those cases where means are 

provided to preselect a portion of the image receptor, the term 

"image receptor" shall mean the preselected portion of the 

device. 

"Image receptor support device" means, for mammographic 

systems, that part of the system designed to support the image 

receptor during mammography mammographic examination 

and to provide a primary protective barrier. 

"Inadvertent intruder" means a person who might occupy the 

disposal site after closure and engage in normal activities, 

such as agriculture, dwelling construction, or other pursuits in 
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which an individual might be unknowingly exposed to 

radiation from the waste.  

"Independent certifying organization" means an independent 

organization that meets the agency's criteria for documenting 

applicant's training in topics set forth in 12VAC5-481-1320 

or equivalent agreement state or NRC regulations.  

"Individual" means any human being.  

"Individual monitoring" means the assessment of:  

1. Dose equivalent (i) by the use of individual monitoring 

devices or (ii) by the use of survey data; or  

2. Committed effective dose equivalent (i) by bioassay or 

(ii) by determination of the time-weighted air 

concentrations to which an individual has been exposed, 

that is, DAC-hours. (See the definition of DAC)  

"Individual monitoring devices" means devices designed to 

be worn by a single individual for the assessment of dose 

equivalent. For purposes of these regulations, "personnel 

dosimeter" and "dosimeter" are equivalent terms. Examples 

of individual monitoring devices are film badges, 

thermoluminescent dosimeters (TLDs), pocket ionization 

chambers, optically stimulated luminescence (OSL) 

dosimeters and personal air sampling devices.  

"Industrial radiography" means an examination of the 

structure of materials by the nondestructive method of 

utilizing ionizing radiation to make radiographic images.  

"Inhalation class" (See "Class").  

"Inherent filtration" means the filtration of the useful beam 

provided by the permanently installed components of the tube 

housing assembly.  

"Injection tool" means a device used for controlled 

subsurface injection of radioactive tracer material.  

"Inspection" means an official examination or observation 

including, but not limited to, tests, surveys, and monitoring to 

determine compliance with rules, regulations, orders, 

requirements, and conditions of the agency.  

"Institutional controls" means: (i) permanent markers placed 

at a disposal site, (ii) public records and archives, (iii) 

government ownership and regulations regarding land or 

resource use, and (iv) other methods of preserving knowledge 

about the location, design, and contents of a disposal system.  

"Instrument traceability" (for ionizing radiation 

measurements) means the ability to show that an instrument 

has been calibrated at specified time intervals using a national 

standard or a transfer standard. If a transfer standard is used, 

the calibration must be at a laboratory accredited by a 

program that requires continuing participation in 

measurement quality assurance with the National Institute of 

Standards and Technology or other equivalent national or 

international program.  

"Interlock" means a device arranged or connected such that 

the occurrence of an event or condition is required before a 

second event or condition can occur or continue to occur.  

"Internal dose" means that portion of the dose equivalent 

received from radioactive material taken into the body.  

"Interruption of irradiation" means the stopping of 

irradiation with the possibility of continuing irradiation 

without resetting of operating conditions at the control panel.  

"Intruder barrier" means a sufficient depth of cover over the 

waste that inhibits contact with waste and helps to ensure that 

radiation exposures to an inadvertent intruder will meet the 

performance objectives set forth in these regulations, or 

engineered structures that provide equivalent protection to the 

inadvertent intruder.  

"Irradiation" means the exposure of matter to ionizing 

radiation.  

"Irradiator" means a facility that uses radioactive sealed 

sources for the irradiation of objects or materials and in which 

radiation dose rates exceeding five grays (500 rads) per hour 

exist at one meter from the sealed radioactive sources in air or 

water, as applicable for the irradiator type, but does not 

include irradiators in which both the sealed source and the 

area subject to irradiation are contained within a device and 

are not accessible to personnel.  

"Irradiator operator" means an individual who has 

successfully completed the training and testing described in 

12VAC5-481-2830 and is authorized by the terms of the 

license to operate the irradiator without a supervisor present.  

"Irradiator operator supervisor" means an individual who 

meets the requirements for an irradiator operator and who 

physically oversees operation of the irradiator by an 

individual who is currently receiving training and testing 

described in 12VAC5-481-2830.  

"Isocenter" means the center of the smallest sphere through 

which the useful beam axis passes while the gantry moves 

through its full range of motions when the equipment moves 

through a full range of rotations about its common center.  

"kBq" means kilabecquerels. 

"Kerma" or "K" means the quantity defined by the 

International Commission on Radiation Units and 

Measurements. The kerma is the quotient of dEtr by dm, 

where dEtr is the sum of the initial kinetic energies of all 

charged particles liberated by uncharged particles in a mass 

dm of materials; thus K=dEtr/dm, in units of J/kg, where the 

special name for the units of kerma is gray (Gy). When the 

materials is air, the quantity is referred to as "air kerma." 

"Kilovolt (kV) (kilo electron volt (keV))" or "kV" means the 

energy equal to that acquired by a particle with one electron 

charge in passing through a potential difference of 1,000 volts 

in a vacuum. Current convention is to use kV for photons and 

keV for electrons.  

"Kilovolts peak" (See "Peak tube potential").  

"kV" means kilovolts.  

"kVp" (See "Peak tube potential").  

"kWs" means kilowatt second.  
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"Land disposal facility" means the land, buildings, structures 

and equipment that is intended to be used for the disposal of 

wastes into the subsurface of the land. For purposes of this 

chapter, a "geologic repository" as defined in 10 CFR Part 60 

or 10 CFR Part 63 is not considered a land disposal facility. 

"Last image hold radiograph" or "LIH" means an image 

obtained either by retaining one or more fluoroscopic images, 

which may be temporarily integrated, at the end of a 

fluoroscopic exposure or by initiating a separate and distinct 

radiographic exposure automatically and immediately in 

conjunction with termination of the fluoroscopic exposure. 

"Lay-barge radiography" means industrial radiography 

performed on any water vessel used for laying pipe.  

"Lead equivalent" means the thickness of the material in 

question affording the same attenuation, under specified 

conditions, as lead.  

"Leakage radiation" means radiation emanating from the 

diagnostic source assembly except for:  

1. The useful beam; and  

2. Radiation produced when the exposure switch or timer is 

not activated.  

"Leakage technique factors" means the technique factors 

associated with the diagnostic source assembly that are used 

in measuring leakage radiation. They are defined as follows:  

1. For diagnostic source assemblies intended for capacitor 

energy storage equipment, the maximum-rated peak tube 

potential and the maximum-rated number of exposures in 

an hour for operation at the maximum-rated peak tube 

potential with the quantity of charge per exposure being 10 

millicoulombs, i.e., 10 milliampere seconds (10 mAs), or 

the minimum obtainable from the unit, whichever is larger;  

2. For diagnostic source assemblies intended for field 

emission equipment rated for pulsed operation, the 

maximum-rated peak tube potential and the maximum-

rated number of X-ray x-ray pulses in an hour for operation 

at the maximum-rated peak tube potential; or 

3. For all other diagnostic source assemblies, the 

maximum-rated peak tube potential and the maximum-

rated continuous tube current for the maximum-rated peak 

tube potential.  

"Lens dose equivalent (LDE)" or "LDE" applies to the 

external exposure of the lens of the eye and is taken as the 

dose equivalent at a tissue depth of 0.3 cm (300 mg/cm
2
). 

"License" means a license issued by the agency in 

accordance with the regulations adopted by the board.  

"Licensed material" means radioactive material received, 

possessed, used, transferred or disposed of under a general or 

specific license issued by the agency.  

"Licensee" means any person who is licensed by the agency 

in accordance with these regulations and the Act.  

"Light field" means that area of the intersection of the light 

beam from the beam-limiting device and one of the set of 

planes parallel to and including the plane of the image 

receptor, whose perimeter is the locus of points at which the 

illumination is one-fourth of the maximum in the intersection.  

"Limits" (See "Dose limits").  

"Line-voltage regulation" means the difference between the 

no-load and the load line potentials expressed as a percentage 

percent of the load line potential. It is calculated using the 

following equation as follows:  

Percent line-voltage regulation = 100 (Vn-Vl)/Vl  

where:  

Vn = No-load line potential; and  

Vl = Load line potential.  

"Lixiscope" means a portable light-intensified imaging 

device using a sealed source.  

"Local components" mean part of an analytical X-ray x-ray 

system and include areas that are struck by X-rays x-rays 

such as radiation source housings, port and shutter 

assemblies, collimators, sample holders, cameras, 

goniometers, detectors, and shielding, but do not include 

power supplies, transformers, amplifiers, readout devices, and 

control panels.  

"Logging assistant" means any individual who, under the 

personal supervision of a logging supervisor, handles sealed 

sources or tracers that are not in logging tools or shipping 

containers or who performs surveys required by Part XIV 

(12VAC5-481-3140 et seq.) of this chapter.  

"Logging supervisor" means the individual who uses 

licensed material or provides personal supervision in the use 

of licensed material at a temporary jobsite and who is 

responsible to the licensee for assuring compliance with the 

requirements of this chapter and the conditions of the license.  

"Logging tool" means a device used subsurface to perform 

well-logging.  

"Loose-fitting facepiece" means a respiratory inlet covering 

that is designed to form a partial seal with the face. 

"Lost or missing licensed material" means licensed (or 

registered) source of radiation whose location is unknown. 

This definition includes, but is not limited to, radioactive 

material that has been shipped but has not reached its planned 

destination and whose location cannot be readily traced in the 

transportation system.  

"Lot tolerance percent defective" means, expressed in 

percent defective, the poorest quality in an individual 

inspection lot that should be accepted. 

"Low specific activity (LSA) material" or "LSA" means 

radioactive material with limited specific activity that is 

nonfissile or is excepted under 12VAC5-481-2970 C, and that 

satisfies the descriptions and limits set forth below. Shielding 

materials surrounding the LSA material may not be 

considered in determining the estimated average specific 

activity of the package contents. LSA material must be in one 

of three groups:  
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1. LSA-I  

a. Uranium and thorium ores, concentrates of uranium 

and thorium ores, and other ores containing naturally 

occurring radioactive radionuclide that are not intended 

to be processed for the use of these radionuclides;  

b. Solid unirradiated natural uranium or depleted uranium 

or natural thorium or their solid or liquid compounds or 

mixtures;  

c. Radioactive material, for which the A2 value is 

unlimited; or  

d. Other radioactive material in which the activity is 

distributed throughout and the estimated average specific 

activity does not exceed 30 times the value for exempt 

material activity concentration determined in accordance 

with 12VAC5-481-3720.  

2. LSA-II  

a. Water with tritium concentration up to 0.8 

terabecquerel per liter (20.0 Ci/L); or  

b. Other material in which the activity is distributed 

throughout, and the average specific activity does not 

exceed 1.0 E-04 A2/g for solids and gases, and 1.0 E-05 

A2/g for liquids.  

3. LSA-III  

Solids (e.g., consolidated wastes, activated materials), 

excluding powders, that satisfy the requirements of 10 

CFR 71.77) in which:  

a. The radioactive material is distributed throughout a 

solid or a collection of solid objects, or is essentially 

uniformly distributed in a solid compact binding agent 

(for example: concrete, bitumen, or ceramic);  

b. The radioactive material is relatively insoluble, or it is 

intrinsically contained in a relatively insoluble material, 

so that, even under loss of packaging, the loss of 

radioactive material per package by leaching, when 

placed in water for seven days, would not exceed 0.1 A2; 

and  

c. The estimated average specific activity of the solid 

does not exceed 2.0 E-03 A2/g.  

"Low toxicity alpha emitters" means natural uranium, 

depleted uranium, natural thorium; uranium-235, uranium-

238, thorium-232, thorium-228 or thorium-230 when 

contained in ores or physical or chemical concentrates or 

tailings; or alpha emitters with a half-life of less than 10 days.  

"Lung class" (See "Class").  

"mA" means milliampere.  

"mAs" means milliampere second.  

"Major processor" means a user processing, handling, or 

manufacturing radioactive material exceeding Type A 

quantities as unsealed sources or material, or exceeding four 

times Type B quantities as sealed sources, but does not 

include nuclear medicine programs, universities, industrial 

radiographers, or small industrial programs. Type A and B 

quantities are defined in this section.  

"Maximum line current" means the root-mean-square 

current in the supply line of an X-ray machine operating at its 

maximum rating.  

"Management" means the chief executive officer or that 

individual's designee.  

"MBq" means megabecquerels. 

"Medical event" means an event that meets the criteria in 

12VAC5-481-2080. 

"Medical institution" means an organization in which 

several medical disciplines are practiced.  

"Medical use" means the intentional internal or external 

administration of radioactive material or the radiation from 

radioactive material to patients or human research subjects 

under the supervision of an authorized user. 

"Megavolt (MV) (mega electron volt (MeV))" or "MV" 

means the energy equal to that acquired by a particle with one 

electron charge in passing through a potential difference of 

one million volts in a vacuum. (Note: current convention is to 

use MV for photons and MeV for electrons.)  

"Member of the public" means an individual except when 

that individual is receiving an occupational dose.  

"Mineral logging" means any logging performed for the 

purpose of mineral exploration other than oil or gas.  

"Minor" means an individual less than 18 years of age.  

"Misadministration" means either: 

1. An x-ray teletherapy radiation dose: 

a. Involving the wrong patient; 

b. Involving the wrong mode of treatment; 

c. Involving the wrong treatment site; 

d. Where the calculated total administered dose differs 

from the total prescribed dose by more than 10% when 

the treatment consists of three or fewer fractions; 

e. Where the calculated weekly administered dose differs 

from the weekly prescribed dose by 30%; or 

f. Where the calculated total administered dose differs 

from the total prescribed dose by more than 20%; or 

2. An x-ray brachytherapy radiation dose: 

a. Involving the wrong patient; 

b, Involving the wrong treatment site; or 

c. Where the calculated administered dose differs from 

the prescribed dose by more than 20%. 

"mm" means millimeters. 

"Mobile nuclear medicine service" means the transportation 

and medical use of radioactive material.  

"Mobile X-ray x-ray equipment" (See "X-ray equipment").  

"Mode of operation" means, for fluoroscopy systems, a 

distinct method of fluoroscopy or radiography provided by 
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the manufacturer and selected with a set of several technique 

factors or other control settings uniquely associated with the 

mode. The set of distinct technique factors and control 

settings for the mode may be selected by the operation of a 

single control. Examples of distinct modes of operation 

include normal fluoroscopy (analog or digital), high-level 

control fluoroscopy, cineradiography (analog and digital), 

digital subtraction angiography, electronic radiography using 

the fluoroscopic image receptor, and photospot recording. In 

a specific mode of operation, certain system variables 

affecting kerma, AKR, or image quality, such as image 

magnification, x-ray field size, pulse rate, pulse duration, 

number of pulses, source-image receptor distance (SID), or 

optical aperture, may be adjustable or may vary; their 

variation per se does not comprise a mode of operation 

different from the one that has been selected.  

"Monitor unit (MU)" or "MU" (See "Dose monitor unit").  

"Monitoring" means the measurement of radiation, 

radioactive material concentrations, surface area activities or 

quantities of radioactive material and the use of the results of 

these measurements to evaluate potential exposures and 

doses. For purposes of these regulations, "radiation 

monitoring" and "radiation protection monitoring" are 

equivalent terms. For Part XI (12VAC5-481-2330 et seq.) of 

this chapter, it means observing and making measurements to 

provide data to evaluate the performance and characteristics 

of the disposal site.  

"Moving beam radiation therapy" means radiation therapy 

with any planned displacement of radiation field or patient 

relative to each other, or with any planned change of absorbed 

dose distribution. It includes arc, skip, conformal, intensity 

modulation and rotational therapy.  

"Multiple tomogram system" means a computed 

tomography X-ray x-ray system that obtains X-ray x-ray 

transmission data simultaneously during a single scan to 

produce more than one tomogram.  

"NARM" means any naturally occurring or accelerator-

produced radioactive material. It does not include byproduct, 

source, or special nuclear material.  

"National Sealed Source and Device Registry" or "SSDR" 

means the national registry that contains the registration 

certificates, maintained by the NRC, that summarize the 

radiation safety information for sealed sources and devices, 

and describes the licensing and use conditions approved for 

the product. 

"Nationally tracked source" means a sealed source 

containing a quantity equal to or greater than Category 1 or 

Category 2 levels of any radioactive material listed in 

12VAC5-481-3780. In this context a sealed source is defined 

as radioactive material that is sealed in a capsule or closely 

bonded, in a solid form and that is not exempt from 

regulatory control. It does not mean material encapsulated 

solely for disposal, or nuclear material contained in any fuel 

assembly, subassembly, fuel rod, or fuel pellet. Category 1 

nationally tracked sources are those containing radioactive 

material at a quantity equal to or greater than the Category 1 

threshold. Category 2 nationally tracked sources are those 

containing radioactive material at a quantity equal to or 

greater than the Category 2 threshold but less than the 

Category 1 threshold. 

"Natural radioactivity" means radioactivity of naturally 

occurring nuclides.  

"Natural thorium" means thorium with the naturally 

occurring distribution of thorium isotopes, which is 

essentially 100 weight percent thorium-232.  

"Natural uranium" (See "Uranium – natural, depleted, 

enriched"). 

"Near-surface disposal facility" means a land disposal 

facility in which waste is disposed of within approximately 

the upper 30 meters of the earth's surface.  

"Negative pressure respirator (tight fitting)" or "tight fitting" 

means a respirator in which the air pressure inside the 

facepiece is negative during inhalation with respect to the 

ambient air pressure outside the respirator. 

"Noise" means the standard deviation of the fluctuations in 

CTN expressed as a percentage of the attenuation coefficient 

of water. Its estimate (Sn) is calculated using the following 

expression:  

 

where: 

 = Linear attenuation coefficient of the material of 

interest. 

 = Linear attenuation coefficient of water. 

 = Standard deviation of the CTN of picture elements 

in a specified area of the CT image. 

"Nominal tomographic section thickness" means the full 

width at half-maximum of the sensitivity profile taken at the 

center of the cross-sectional volume over which X-ray x-ray 

transmission data are collected.  

"Non-image-intensified fluoroscopy" means fluoroscopy 

using only a fluorescent screen. 

"Nonstochastic effect" means a health effect, the severity of 

which varies with the dose and for which a threshold is 

believed to exist. Radiation-induced cataract formation is an 

example of a nonstochastic effect. For purposes of these 

regulations, "deterministic effect" is an equivalent term.  

"NORM" means any naturally occurring radioactive 

material. It does not include accelerator produced, byproduct, 

source, or special nuclear material.  

"Normal form radioactive material" means radioactive 

material that has not been demonstrated to qualify as special 

form radioactive material.  
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"Normal operating procedures" mean step-by-step 

instructions necessary to accomplish the analysis. These 

procedures shall include sample insertion and manipulation, 

equipment alignment, routine maintenance by the registrant 

(or licensee), and data recording procedures, which are 

related to radiation safety.  

"Nominal treatment distance" means:  

1. For electron irradiation, the distance from the scattering 

foil, virtual source, or exit window of the electron beam to 

the entrance surface of the irradiated object along the 

central axis of the useful beam.  

2. For X-ray x-ray irradiation, the virtual source or target to 

isocenter distance along the central axis of the useful beam. 

For nonisocentric equipment, this distance shall be that 

specified by the manufacturer.  

"NRC Forms 540, 540A, 541, 541A, 542, and 542 542A" 

means official NRC forms referenced in this chapter. 

Licensees need not use originals of these NRC Forms as long 

as any substitute forms are equivalent to the original 

documentation in respect to content, clarity, size, and location 

of information. Upon agreement between the shipper and 

consignee, NRC Forms 541 (and 541A) and NRC Forms 542 

(and 542A) may be completed, transmitted, and stored in 

electronic media. The electronic media must have the 

capability for producing legible, accurate, and complete 

records in the format of the uniform manifest. 

"Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)" or "NRC" means 

the NRC or its duly authorized representatives.  

"Nuclear waste" means a quantity of source, byproduct or 

special nuclear material (the definition of nuclear waste in 

this part is used in the same way as in 49 CFR 173.403) 

required to be in NRC-approved specification packaging 

while transported to, through or across a state boundary to a 

disposal site, or to a collection point for transport to a 

disposal site.  

"Occupational dose" means the dose received by an 

individual in the course of employment in which the 

individual's assigned duties for the licensee or registrant 

involve exposure to sources of radiation, whether or not the 

sources of radiation are in the possession of the licensee, 

registrant, or other person. Occupational dose does not 

include doses received from background radiation, from any 

medical administration the individual has received, from 

exposure to individuals administered radioactive material and 

released in accordance with 12VAC5-481-1870, from 

voluntary participation in medical research programs, or as a 

member of the public.  

"Offshore platform radiography" means industrial 

radiography conducted from a platform over a body of water.  

"Offshore waters" means that area of land and water, beyond 

the Commonwealth of Virginia's jurisdiction, on or above the 

U.S. Outer Continental Shelf. 

"Open-beam configuration" means an analytical X-ray x-ray 

system in which an individual could accidentally place some 

part of his body in the primary beam path during normal 

operation.  

"Output" means the exposure rate, dose rate, or a quantity 

related in a known manner to these rates from a teletherapy 

unit for a specified set of exposure conditions.  

"Package" means the packaging together with its radioactive 

contents as presented for transport. 

1. Fissile material package or Type AF package, Type BF 

package, Type B(U)F package, or Type B(M)F package 

means a fissile material packaging together with its fissile 

material contents. 

2. Type A package means a Type A packaging together 

with its radioactive contents. A Type A package is defined 

and must comply with the DOT regulations in 49 CFR Part 

173. 

3. Type B package means a Type B packaging together 

with its radioactive contents. On approval, a Type B 

package design is designated by NRC as B(U) unless the 

package has a maximum normal operating pressure of 

more than 700 kPa (100 lbs/in
2
) gauge or a pressure relief 

device that would allow the release of radioactive material 

to the environment under the tests specified in 10 CFR 

71.73 (hypothetical accident conditions), in which case it 

will receive a designation B(M). B(U) refers to the need 

for unilateral approval of international shipments; B(M) 

refers to the need for multilateral approval of international 

shipments. There is no distinction made in how packages 

with these designations may be used in domestic 

transportation. To determine their distinction for 

international transportation, see DOT regulations in 49 

CFR Part 173. A Type B package approved before 

September 6, 1983, was designated only as Type B. 

Limitations on its use are specified in 10 CFR 71.19.  

"Packaging" means the assembly of components necessary 

to ensure compliance with the packaging requirements of 

these regulations. It may consist of one or more receptacles, 

absorbent materials, spacing structures, thermal insulation, 

radiation shielding, and devices for cooling or absorbing 

mechanical shocks. The vehicle, tie-down system, and 

auxiliary equipment may be designated as part of the 

packaging.  

"Panoramic dry-source-storage irradiator" means an 

irradiator in which the irradiations occur in air in areas 

potentially accessible to personnel and in which the sources 

are stored in shields made of solid materials. The term 

includes beam-type dry-source-storage irradiators in which 

only a narrow beam of radiation is produced for performing 

irradiations.  

"Panoramic irradiator" means an irradiator in which the 

irradiations are done in air in areas potentially accessible to 

personnel. The term includes beam-type irradiators.  
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"Panoramic wet-source-storage irradiator" means an 

irradiator in which the irradiations occur in air in areas 

potentially accessible to personnel and in which the sources 

are stored under water in a storage pool.  

"Particle accelerator" (See "Accelerator").  

"Patient" means an individual or animal subjected to healing 

arts examination, diagnosis, or treatment.  

"PBL" (See "Positive beam limitation").  

"Peak tube potential" means the maximum value of the 

potential difference across the X-ray x-ray tube during an 

exposure.  

"Periodic quality assurance check" means a procedure that is 

performed to ensure that a previous calibration continues to 

be valid.  

"Permanent radiographic installation" means an enclosed 

shielded room, cell, or vault, not located at a temporary 

jobsite, in which radiography is performed.  

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 

firm, association, trust, estate, public or private institution, 

group, department of the Commonwealth other than the 

Department of Health, political subdivision of the 

Commonwealth, any other state or political subdivision or 

department thereof, and any legal successor, representative, 

agent, or department of the foregoing, but not including 

federal government agencies.  

"Personal supervision" means guidance and instruction by 

the supervisor who is physically present at the jobsite and 

watching the performance of the operation in such proximity 

that contact can be maintained and immediate assistance 

given as required. In radiography it means guidance and 

instruction provided to a radiographer trainee by a 

radiographer instructor who is present at the site, in visual 

contact with the trainee while the trainee is using sources of 

radiation, and in such proximity that immediate assistance can 

be given if required.  

"Personnel monitoring equipment" (See "Individual 

monitoring devices").  

"Phantom" means a volume of material behaving in a 

manner similar to tissue with respect to the attenuation and 

scattering of radiation. This requires that both the atomic 

number (Z) and the density of the material be similar to that 

of tissue.  

"Physical description" means the items called for on NRC 

Form 541 to describe a low-level radioactive waste. 

"Pool irradiator" means any irradiator at which the sources 

are stored or used in a pool of water including panoramic wet-

source-storage irradiators and underwater irradiators.  

"Pharmacist" means an individual licensed by this state to 

compound and dispense drugs, prescriptions, and poisons.  

"Physician" means an individual licensed by this state to 

prescribe drugs in the practice of medicine.  

"Picture element" means an elemental area of a tomogram.  

"PID" (See "Position indicating device").  

"Pigtail" (See "Source assembly").  

"Pill" (See "Sealed source").  

"Planned special exposure" means an infrequent exposure to 

radiation, separate from and in addition to the annual 

occupational dose limits.  

"Portable X-ray x-ray equipment" (See "X-ray equipment").  

"Position indicating device" means a device on dental X-ray 

x-ray equipment used to indicate the beam position and to 

establish a definite source-surface (skin) distance. It may or 

may not incorporate or serve as a beam-limiting device.  

"Positive beam limitation" means the automatic or semi-

automatic adjustment of an X-ray x-ray beam to the size of 

the selected image receptor, whereby exposures cannot be 

made without such adjustment.  

"Positive emission tomography (PET) radionuclide 

production facility" or "PET" means a facility operating a 

cyclotron or accelerator for the purpose of producing PET 

radionuclides. 

"Positive pressure respirator" means a respirator in which 

the pressure inside the respiratory inlet covering exceeds the 

ambient air pressure outside the respirator. 

"Powered air-purifying respirator (PAPR)" or "PAPR" 

means an air-purifying respirator that uses a blower to force 

the ambient air through air-purifying elements to the inlet 

covering. 

"Practical examination" means a demonstration through 

application of the safety rules and principles in industrial 

radiography including use of all procedures and equipment to 

be used by radiographic personnel.  

"Practical range of electrons" corresponds to classical 

electron range where the only remaining contribution to dose 

is from bremsstrahlung X-rays x-rays. A further explanation 

may be found in "Clinical Electron Beam Dosimetry: Report 

of AAPM Radiation Therapy Committee Task Group 25" 

(Medical Physics 18(1): 73-109, Jan/Feb. 1991) and ICRU 

Report 35, "Radiation Dosimetry: Electron Beams with 

Energies Between 1 and 50 MeV", International Commission 

on Radiation Units and Measurements, September 15, 1984.  

"Preceptor" means an individual who provides, directs, or 

verifies training and experience required for an individual to 

become an authorized user, an authorized medical physicist, 

an authorized nuclear pharmacist, or a radiation safety officer. 

"Prescribed dosage" means the quantity of 

radiopharmaceutical activity as documented:  

1. In a written directive; or  

2. Either in the diagnostic clinical procedures manual or in 

any appropriate record in accordance with the directions of 

the authorized user for diagnostic procedures.  

"Prescribed dose" means:  
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1. For gamma stereotactic radiosurgery, the total dose as 

documented in the written directive; or  

2. For teletherapy, the total dose and dose per fraction as 

documented in the written directive; or  

3. For brachytherapy, either the total source strength and 

exposure time, or the total dose, as documented in the 

written directive.  

"Pressure demand respirator" means a positive pressure 

atmosphere-supplying respirator that admits breathing air to 

the facepiece when the positive pressure is reduced inside the 

facepiece by inhalation. 

"Primary beam" means radiation that passes through an 

aperture of the source housing by a direct path from the X-ray 

x-ray tube or a radioactive source located in the radiation 

source housing.  

"Primary dose monitoring system" means a system that will 

monitor the useful beam during irradiation and that will 

terminate irradiation when a preselected number of dose 

monitor units have been delivered.  

"Primary protective barrier" (See "Protective barrier") means 

the material, excluding filters, placed in the useful beam to 

reduce the radiation exposure (beyond the patient and cassette 

holder) for protection barriers.  

"Principal activities," as used in this chapter, means 

activities authorized by the license that are essential to 

achieving the purpose(s) for which the license was issued or 

amended. Storage during which no licensed material is 

accessed for use or disposal and activities incidental to 

decontamination or decommissioning are not principal 

activities. 

"Private inspector" means an individual who meets the 

requirements set forth in 12VAC5-481-340 and who has 

demonstrated to the satisfaction of the agency that such 

individual possesses the knowledge, training and experience 

to measure ionizing radiation, to evaluate safety techniques, 

and to advise regarding radiation protection needs.  

"Product" means, as used in Part XVI (12VAC5-481-3460 et 

seq.) of this chapter, something produced, made, 

manufactured, refined, or benefited.  

"Product conveyor system" means a system for moving the 

product to be irradiated to, from, and within the area where 

irradiation takes place.  

"Projection sheath" (See "Guide tube").  

"Projector" (See "Radiographic exposure device").  

"Protective apron" means an apron made of radiation-

attenuating or absorbing materials used to reduce exposure to 

radiation.  

"Protective barrier" means a barrier of radiation absorbing 

material(s) used to reduce radiation exposure. The types of 

protective barriers are as follows:  

1. "Primary protective barrier" means the material, 

excluding filters, placed in the useful beam;  

2. "Secondary protective barrier" means the material that 

attenuates stray radiation.  

"Protective glove" means a glove made of radiation 

absorbing materials used to reduce radiation exposure.  

"Public dose" means the dose received by a member of the 

public from exposure to sources of radiation released by the 

licensee or registrant, or to any other source of radiation 

under the control of the licensee or registrant. Public dose 

does not include occupational dose, or doses received from 

background radiation, from any medical administration the 

individual has received, from exposure to individuals 

administered radioactive material and released in accordance 

with 12VAC5-481-1870, or from voluntary participation in 

medical research programs.  

"Pulsed mode" means operation of the x-ray system such 

that the x-ray tube is pulsed by the x-ray control to produce 

one or more exposure intervals of duration less than one-half 

second. 

"Pyrophoric material" means any liquid that ignites 

spontaneously in dry or moist air at or below 130°F (54.4°C) 

or any solid material, other than one classed as an explosive, 

which under normal conditions is liable to cause fires through 

friction, retained heat from manufacturing or processing, or 

that can be ignited readily and, when ignited, burns so 

vigorously and persistently as to create a serious 

transportation, handling, or disposal hazard. Included are 

spontaneously combustible and water-reactive materials.  

"Qualitative fit test (QLFT)" or "QLFT" means a pass/fail fit 

test to assess the adequacy of respirator fit that relies on the 

individual's response to the test agent. 

"Quality factor" (Q) or "Q" means the modifying factor, that 

is referenced in 12VAC5-481-240, that is used to derive dose 

equivalent from absorbed dose.  

"Quantitative fit test (QNFT)" or "QNFT" means an 

assessment of the adequacy of respirator fit by numerically 

measuring the amount of leakage into the respirator. 

"Quarter" means a period of time equal to one-fourth of the 

year observed by the licensee, approximately 13 consecutive 

weeks, providing that the beginning of the first quarter in a 

year coincides with the starting date of the year and that no 

day is omitted or duplicated in consecutive quarters.  

"Rad" means the special unit of absorbed dose. One rad is 

equal to an absorbed dose of 100 erg per gram or 0.01 joule 

per kilogram (0.01 gray).  

"Radiation" means alpha particles, beta particles, gamma 

rays, X-rays x-rays, neutrons, high-speed electrons, high-

speed protons, and other particles capable of producing ions. 

For purposes of these regulations, ionizing radiation is an 

equivalent term. Radiation, as used in these regulations, does 

not include nonionizing radiation, such as radiowaves or 

microwaves, visible, infrared, or ultraviolet light.  

"Radiation area" means any area, accessible to individuals, 

in which radiation levels could result in an individual 
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receiving a dose equivalent in excess of 0.05 mSv (0.005 

rem) in one hour at 30 centimeters from the source of 

radiation or from any surface that the radiation penetrates.  

"Radiation dose" (See "Dose").  

"Radiation field" (See "Useful beam").  

"Radiation head" means the structure from which the useful 

beam emerges.  

"Radiation machine" means any device capable of producing 

radiation except those devices with radioactive material as the 

only source of radiation.  

"Radiation room" means a shielded room in which 

irradiations take place. Underwater irradiators do not have 

radiation rooms.  

"Radiation safety officer (RSO)" or "RSO" means an 

individual who has the knowledge and responsibility to apply 

appropriate radiation protection regulations and has been 

assigned such responsibility by the licensee or registrant.  

"Radiation safety officer for industrial radiography" means 

an individual with the responsibility for the overall radiation 

safety program on behalf of the licensee or registrant and who 

meets the requirements of 12VAC5-481-1310.  

"Radiation safety officer for medical" means an individual 

who meets the requirements of 12VAC5-481-1750 and 

12VAC5-481-1790 or is identified as an RSO on: a medical 

use license issued by the agency, NRC or another agreement 

state, or a medical use permit issued by an NRC masters 

material licensee. 

"Radiation therapy physicist" means an individual qualified 

in accordance with 12VAC5-481-340.  

"Radiation therapy simulation system" means a radiographic 

or fluoroscopic X-ray x-ray system intended for localizing the 

volume to be exposed during radiation therapy and 

confirming the position and size of the therapeutic irradiation 

field.  

"Radioactive material" means any solid, liquid, or gas which 

emits radiation spontaneously.  

"Radioactive marker" means radioactive material placed 

subsurface or on a structure intended for subsurface use for 

the purpose of depth determination or direction orientation. 

"Radioactivity" means the transformation of unstable atomic 

nuclei by the emission of radiation.  

"Radiobioassay" (See "Bioassay").  

"Radiograph" means an image receptor on which the image 

is created directly or indirectly by an X-ray x-ray pattern and 

results in a permanent record.  

"Radiographer" means any individual who performs or who, 

in attendance at the site where the sources of radiation are 

being used, personally supervises industrial radiographic 

operations and who is responsible to the licensee or registrant 

for assuring compliance with the requirements of the agency's 

regulations and the conditions of the license or registration.  

"Radiographer certification" means written approval 

received from a certifying entity stating that an individual has 

satisfactorily met the radiation safety, testing, and experience 

criteria in 12VAC5-481-1320.  

"Radiographer instructor" means any radiographer who has 

been authorized by the agency to provide on-the-job training 

to radiographer trainees in accordance with Part V (12VAC5-

481-1170 et seq.) of this chapter. 

"Radiographer trainee" means any individual who, under the 

personal supervision of a radiographer instructor, uses 

sources of radiation, related handling tools, or radiation 

survey instruments during the course of his instruction.  

"Radiographer's assistant" means any individual who under 

the direct supervision of a radiographer, uses radiographic 

exposure devices, sources of radiation, related handling tools, 

or radiation survey instruments in industrial radiography.  

"Radiographic exposure device" means any instrument 

containing a sealed source fastened or contained therein, in 

which the sealed source or shielding thereof may be moved, 

or otherwise changed, from a shielded to unshielded position 

for purposes of making a radiographic exposure.  

"Radiographic imaging system" means any system whereby 

a permanent or semi-permanent image is recorded on an 

image receptor by the action of ionizing radiation.  

"Radiographic operations" means all activities performed 

with a radiographic exposure device, or with a radiation 

machine. Activities include using, transporting except by 

common or contract carriers, or storing at a temporary job 

site, performing surveys to confirm the adequacy of 

boundaries, setting up equipment, and any activity inside 

restricted area boundaries. Transporting a radiation machine 

is not considered a radiographic operation.  

"Radiographic personnel" means any radiographer, 

radiographer instructor, or radiographer trainee.  

"Radiography" (See "Industrial radiography") means: 

1. For radioactive materials: See "Industrial radiography." 

2. For x-ray: A technique for generating and recording an 

x-ray pattern for the purpose of providing the user with an 

image after termination of the exposure.  

"Rating" means the operating limits as specified by the 

component manufacturer.  

"Reasonably maximally exposed individual" means, as used 

in Part XVI (12VAC5-481-3460 et seq.) of this chapter, a 

representative of a population who is exposed to TENORM at 

the maximum TENORM concentration measured in 

environmental media found at a site along with reasonable 

maximum case exposure assumptions. The exposure is 

determined by using maximum values for one or more of the 

most sensitive parameters affecting exposure, based on 

cautious but reasonable assumptions, while leaving the others 

at their mean value.  
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"Recording" means producing a permanent retrievable form 

of an image resulting from X-ray x-ray photons.  

"Redundant beam monitoring system" means a combination 

of two dose monitoring systems in which each system is 

designed to terminate irradiation in accordance with a 

preselected number of dose monitor units.  

"Reference man" means a hypothetical aggregation of 

human physical and physiological characteristics determined 

by international consensus. These characteristics may be used 

by researchers and public health employees to standardize 

results of experiments and to relate biological insult to a 

common base. A description of the reference man is 

contained in the International Commission on Radiological 

Protection report, ICRP Publication 23, "Report of the Task 

Group on Reference Man."  

"Reference plane" means a plane that is displaced from and 

parallel to the tomographic plane.  

"Registrant" means any person who is registered with the 

agency and is legally obligated to register with the agency 

pursuant to these regulations and the Act.  

"Registration" means registration with the agency in 

accordance with the regulations adopted by the agency.  

"Regulations of the United States Department of 

Transportation" means the regulations in 49 CFR Parts 100-

189.  

"Rem" means the special unit of any of the quantities 

expressed as dose equivalent. The dose equivalent in rems is 

equal to the absorbed dose in rad multiplied by the quality 

factor (1 rem = 0.01 Sv).  

"Reportable event" means the administration of either: 

1. A diagnostic x-ray exposure where an actual or 

suspected acute or long-term functional damage to an 

organ or a physiological system has occurred. Exempt 

from this reporting requirement is any event when any 

functional damage to a patient organ or a physiological 

system that was an expected outcome when the causative 

procedures were prescribed; 

2. A procedure where the patient or operator is injured as a 

result of a mechanical injury; 

3. A teletherapy x-ray dose where the calculated weekly 

administered dose differs from the weekly prescribed dose 

by 15% or more; or 

4. A brachytherapy x-ray dose where the calculated 

administered dose differs from the prescribed dose by 10% 

or more. 

"Research and development" means (i) theoretical analysis, 

exploration, or experimentation; or (ii) the extension of 

investigative findings and theories of a scientific or technical 

nature into practical application for experimental and 

demonstrative purposes, including the experimental 

production and testing of models, devices, equipment, 

materials, and processes. Research and development does not 

include the internal or external administration of radiation or 

radioactive material to human beings.  

"Residential location" means any area where structures in 

which people lodge or live are located, and the grounds on 

which such structures are located including, but not limited 

to, houses, apartments, condominiums, and garages.  

"Residual radioactive material" means (i) waste (that the 

U.S. Secretary of Energy determines to be radioactive) in the 

form of tailings resulting from the processing of ores for the 

extraction of uranium and other valuable constituents of the 

ores and (ii) other waste (that the U.S. Secretary of Energy 

determines to be radioactive) at a processing site that relates 

to such processing, including any residual stock of 

unprocessed ores or low-grade materials. This term is used 

only with respect to materials at sites subject to remediation 

under Title I of the Uranium Mill Tailings Radiation Control 

Act of 1978, as amended. 

"Residual radioactivity" means radioactivity in structures, 

materials, soils, groundwater, and other media at a site 

resulting from activities under the licensee's control. This 

includes radioactivity from all licensed and unlicensed 

sources used by the licensee, but excludes background 

radiation. It also includes radioactive materials remaining at 

the site as a result of routine or accidental releases of 

radioactive materials at the site and previous burials at the 

site, even if those burials were made in accordance with the 

provisions of Part IV (12VAC5-481-600 et seq.) of this 

chapter.  

"Residual waste" means low-level radioactive waste 

resulting from processing or decontamination activities that 

cannot be easily separated into distinct batches attributable to 

specific waste generators. This waste is attributable to the 

processor or decontamination facility, as applicable. 

"Respiratory protective device" means an apparatus, such as 

a respirator, used to reduce an individual's intake of airborne 

radioactive materials.  

"Restricted area" means an area, access to which is limited 

by the licensee or registrant for the purpose of protecting 

individuals against undue risks from exposure to radiation 

and radioactive materials. Restricted area does not include 

areas used as residential quarters, but separate rooms in a 

residential building may be set apart as a restricted area.  

"Roentgen" means the special unit of exposure. One 

roentgen (R) equals 2.58E-4 coulombs per kilogram of air 

(see "Exposure" and 12VAC5-481-240).  

"S-tube" means a tube through which the radioactive source 

travels when inside a radiographic exposure device.  

"Sanitary sewerage" means a system of public sewers for 

carrying off waste water and refuse, but excluding sewage 

treatment facilities, septic tanks, and leach fields owned or 

operated by the licensee or registrant.  

"Scan" means the complete process of collecting X-ray x-

ray transmission data for the production of a tomogram. Data 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 2, 2013 

868 

can be collected simultaneously during a single scan for the 

production of one or more tomograms.  

"Scan increment" means the amount of relative displacement 

of the patient with respect to the CT X-ray x-ray system 

between successive scans measured along the direction of 

such displacement.  

"Scan sequence" means a preselected set of two or more 

scans performed consecutively under preselected CT 

conditions of operation.  

"Scan time" means the period of time between the beginning 

and end of X-ray x-ray transmission data accumulation for a 

single scan.  

"Scattered radiation" means ionizing radiation emitted by 

interaction of ionizing radiation with matter, the interaction 

being accompanied by a change in direction of the radiation. 

Scattered primary radiation means that scattered radiation 

which has been deviated in direction only by materials 

irradiated by the useful beam.  

"Sealed source" means any radioactive material that is 

encased in a capsule designed to prevent leakage or escape of 

any radioactive material.  

"Sealed Source and Device Registry (SSD)" means the 

national registry that contains the registration certificates, 

maintained by the NRC, that summarize the radiation safety 

information for sealed sources and devices, and describes the 

licensing and use conditions approved for the product.  

"Secondary dose monitoring system" means a system which 

will terminate irradiation in the event of failure of the primary 

dose monitoring system.  

"Secondary protective barrier" (See "Protective barrier").  

"Seismic area" means any area where the probability of a 

horizontal acceleration in rock of more than 0.3 times the 

acceleration of gravity in 250 years is greater than 10%, as 

designated by the United States Geological Survey.  

"Self-contained breathing apparatus (SCBA)" or "SCBA" 

means an atmosphere-supplying respirator for which the 

breathing air source is designed to be carried by the user. 

"Shadow tray" means a device attached to the radiation head 

to support auxiliary beam blocking material.  

"Shallow dose equivalent (Hs)," or "Hs" which applies to the 

external exposure of the skin or an extremity, means the dose 

equivalent at a tissue depth of 0.007 centimeter (7 mg/cm2).  

"Shielded position" means the location within the 

radiographic exposure device or storage container which, by 

manufacturer's design, is the proper location for storage of the 

sealed source.  

"Shielded-room radiography" means industrial radiography 

conducted in a room shielded so that radiation levels at every 

location on the exterior meet the limitations specified in 

12VAC5-481-640.  

"Shipper" means the licensed entity (i.e., the waste 

generator, waste collector, or waste processor) who offers 

low-level radioactive waste for transportation, typically 

consigning this type of waste to a licensed waste collector, 

waste processor, or land disposal facility operator. 

"Shipping paper" means NRC Form 540 and, if required, 

NRC Form 540A, which includes the information required by 

DOT the U.S. Department of Transportation in 49 CFR Part 

172. 

"Shutter" means a device attached to the tube housing 

assembly which can intercept the entire cross sectional area of 

the useful beam and which has a lead equivalency not less 

than that of the tube housing assembly.  

"SI" means the abbreviation for the International System of 

Units.  

"SID" (See "Source-image receptor distance").  

"Sievert" (Sv) or "Sv" means the SI unit of any of the 

quantities expressed as dose equivalent. The dose equivalent 

in sievert is equal to the absorbed dose in gray multiplied by 

the quality factor (1 Sv = 100 rem).  

"Simulator (radiation therapy simulation system)" or 

"radiation therapy simulation system" means any X-ray x-ray 

system intended for localizing the volume to be exposed 

during radiation therapy and reproducing the position and size 

of the therapeutic irradiation field.  

"Single tomogram system" means a CT X-ray x-ray system 

that obtains X-ray x-ray transmission data during a scan to 

produce a single tomogram.  

"Site area emergency" means events may occur, are in 

progress, or have occurred that could lead to a significant 

release of radioactive material and that could require a 

response by offsite response organizations to protect persons 

offsite. 

"Site boundary" means that line beyond which the land or 

property is not owned, leased, or otherwise controlled by the 

licensee. 

"Site closure and stabilization" means those actions that are 

taken upon completion of operations that prepare the disposal 

site for custodial care and that assure that the disposal site 

will remain stable and will not need ongoing active 

maintenance.  

"Source" means the focal spot of the X-ray x-ray tube.  

"Source assembly" means an assembly that consists of the 

sealed source and a connector that attaches the source to the 

control cable. The source assembly may include a ballstop to 

secure the source in the shielded position.  

"Source changer" means a device designed and used for 

replacement of sealed sources in radiographic exposure 

devices, including those source changers also used for 

transporting and storage of sealed sources.  

"Source holder" means a housing or assembly into which a 

radioactive source is placed for the purpose of facilitating the 

handling and use of the source in well-logging operations.  
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"Source-image receptor distance" means the distance from 

the source to the center of the input surface of the image 

receptor.  

"Source material" means:  

1. Uranium or thorium, or any combination thereof, in any 

physical or chemical form; or  

2. Ores that contain by weight one-twentieth of 1.0% 

(0.05%) or more of uranium, thorium or any combination 

of uranium and thorium. Source material does not include 

special nuclear material.  

"Source of radiation" means any radioactive material or any 

device or equipment emitting, or capable of producing, 

radiation.  

"Source-skin distance (SSD)" or "SSD" means the distance 

between from the source and the skin entrance plane of the 

patient to the center of the entrant x-ray field in the plane 

tangent to the patient's skin surface.  

"Source traceability" means the ability to show that a 

radioactive source has been calibrated either by the national 

standards laboratory of the National Institute of Standards and 

Technology, or by a laboratory that participates in a 

continuing measurement quality assurance program with 

National Institute of Standards and Technology or other 

equivalent national or international program.  

"Special form radioactive material" means radioactive 

material that satisfies the following conditions:  

1. It is either a single solid piece or is contained in a sealed 

capsule that can be opened only by destroying the capsule;  

2. The piece or capsule has at least one dimension not less 

than five millimeters (0.2 in.); and  

3. It satisfies the test requirements specified by the NRC. A 

special form encapsulation designed in accordance with the 

NRC requirements in effect on June 30, 1983, and 

constructed prior to July 1, 1985, may continue to be used. 

A special form encapsulation either designed or 

constructed after April 1, 1998, must meet requirements of 

this definition applicable at the time of its design or 

construction.  

"Special nuclear material" means:  

1. Plutonium, uranium-233, uranium enriched in the 

isotope 233 or in the isotope 235, and any other material 

the NRC, pursuant to the provisions of section 51 of the 

Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended, determines to be 

special nuclear material, but does not include source 

material; or  

2. Any material artificially enriched by any of the 

foregoing but does not include source material.  

"Special nuclear material in quantities not sufficient to form 

a critical mass" means uranium enriched in the isotope U-235 

in quantities not exceeding 350 grams of contained U-235; 

uranium-233 in quantities not exceeding 200 grams; 

plutonium in quantities not exceeding 200 grams; or any 

combination of them in accordance with the following 

formula: For each kind of special nuclear material, determine 

the ratio between the quantity of that special nuclear material 

and the quantity specified above for the same kind of special 

nuclear material. The sum of such ratios for all of the kinds of 

special nuclear material in combination shall not exceed 1. 

For example, the following quantities in combination would 

not exceed the limitation and are within the formula:  

 

"Specific activity" of a radionuclide means the radioactivity 

of a radionuclide per unit mass of that nuclide. The specific 

activity of a material in which the radionuclide is essentially 

uniformly distributed is the radioactivity per unit mass of the 

material.  

"Spot film" means a radiograph that is made during a 

fluoroscopic examination to permanently record conditions 

that exist during that fluoroscopic procedure.  

"Spot-film device" means a device intended to transport 

and/or position a radiographic image receptor between the X-

ray x-ray source and fluoroscopic image receptor. It includes 

a device intended to hold a cassette over the input end of an 

image intensifier for the purpose of making a radiograph.  

"Stability" means structural stability.  

"State inspector" means an employee of the Virginia 

Department of Health designated to perform those duties or 

functions assigned the Radiological Health Program.  

"Stationary beam radiation therapy" means radiation therapy 

without displacement of one or more mechanical axes relative 

to the patient during irradiation.  

"Stationary X-ray x-ray equipment" (See "X-ray 

equipment").  

"Stochastic effect" means a health effect that occurs 

randomly and for which the probability of the effect 

occurring, rather than its severity, is assumed to be a linear 

function of dose without threshold. Hereditary effects and 

cancer incidence are examples of stochastic effects. For 

purposes of these regulations, "probabilistic effect" is an 

equivalent term.  

"Storage" means a condition in which a device or source is 

not being used for an extended period of time, and has been 

made inoperable.  

"Storage area" means any location, facility, or vehicle that is 

used to store and secure a radiographic exposure device, a 

radiation machine, or a storage container when it is not used 

for radiographic operations. Storage areas are locked or have 

a physical barrier to prevent accidental exposure, tampering, 

or unauthorized removal of the device, machine, or container.  

"Storage container" means a device in which sealed sources 

or radiation machines are secured and stored.  

"Stray radiation" means the sum of leakage and scattered 

radiation.  
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"Subsurface tracer study" means the release of a substance 

tagged with radioactive material for the purpose of tracing the 

movement or position of the tagged substance in the well-

bore or adjacent formation.  

"Supplied-air respirator (SAR) or," "airline respirator," or 

"SAR" means an atmosphere-supplying respirator for which 

the source of breathing air is not designed to be carried by the 

user. 

"Surface contaminated object" (SCO) or "SCO" means a 

solid object that is not itself classed as radioactive material, 

but that has radioactive material distributed on any of its 

surfaces. An SCO must be in one of two groups with surface 

activity not exceeding the following limits:  

1. SCO-I: A solid object on which:  

a. The nonfixed contamination on the accessible surface 

averaged over 300 cm², or the area of the surface if less 

than 300 cm², does not exceed four becquerel per cm² (1 

E-04 μCi/cm²) for beta and gamma and low toxicity 

alpha emitters, or 0.4 becquerel per cm² (1 E-05 μCi/cm²) 

for all other alpha emitters;  

b. The fixed contamination on the accessible surface 

averaged over 300 cm², or the area of the surface if less 

than 300 cm², does not exceed 4 E+04 becquerel per cm² 

(1.0 μCi/cm²) for beta and gamma and low toxicity alpha 

emitters, or 4 E+03 becquerel per cm² (0.1 μCi/cm²) for 

all other alpha emitters; and  

c. The nonfixed contamination plus the fixed 

contamination on the inaccessible surface averaged over 

300 cm², or the area of the surface if less than 300 cm², 

does not exceed 4 E+04 becquerel per cm² (1 μCi/cm²) 

for beta and gamma and low toxicity alpha emitters, or 4 

E+03 Becquerel per cm² (0.1 μCi/cm²) for all other alpha 

emitters.  

2. SCO-II: A solid object on which the limits for SCO-I are 

exceeded and on which:  

a. The nonfixed contamination on the accessible surface 

averaged over 300 cm², or the area of the surface if less 

than 300 cm², does not exceed 400 becquerel per cm² (1 

E-02 μCi/cm²) for beta and gamma and low toxicity 

alpha emitters or 40 becquerel per cm² (1 E-03 μCi/cm²) 

for all other alpha emitters;  

b. The fixed contamination on the accessible surface 

averaged over 300 cm², or the area of the surface if less 

than 300 cm², does not exceed 8 E+05 becquerel per cm² 

(20 μCi/cm²) for beta and gamma and low toxicity alpha 

emitters, or 8 E+04 becquerel per cm² (2 μCi/cm²) for all 

other alpha emitters; and  

c. The nonfixed contamination plus the fixed 

contamination on the inaccessible surface averaged over 

300 cm², or the area of the surface if less than 300 cm², 

does not exceed 8 E+05 becquerel per cm² (20 μCi/cm²) 

for beta and gamma and low toxicity alpha emitters, or 8 

E+04 becquerel per cm² (2 μCi/cm²) for all other alpha 

emitters.  

"Surveillance" means monitoring and observation of the 

disposal site for purposes of visual detection of need for 

maintenance, custodial care, evidence of intrusion, and 

compliance with other license and regulatory requirements.  

"Survey" means an evaluation of the radiological conditions 

and potential hazards incident to the production, use, transfer, 

release, disposal, or presence of radioactive material or other 

sources of radiation. When appropriate, such an evaluation 

includes a physical survey of the location of radioactive 

material and measurements or calculations of levels of 

radiation, or concentrations or quantities of radioactive 

material present.  

"Tabletop, stationary" means a tabletop that, when 

assembled for use, is incapable of movement with respect to 

its supporting structure within the plane of the tabletop. 

"Target" means that part of an X-ray x-ray tube or 

accelerator onto which a beam of accelerated particles is 

directed to produce ionizing radiation or other particles.  

"Technologically Enhanced Naturally Occurring 

Radioactive Material (TENORM)" or "TENORM" means, as 

used in Part XVI (12VAC5-481-3460 et seq.) of this chapter, 

naturally occurring radionuclides whose concentrations are 

increased by or as a result of past or present human practices. 

TENORM does not include background radiation or the 

natural radioactivity of rocks or soils. TENORM does not 

include uranium or thorium in "source material" as defined in 

the AEA and NRC regulations.  

"Technique factors" means the following conditions of 

operation:  

1. For capacitor energy storage equipment, peak tube 

potential in kV kilovolts (kV) and quantity of charge in 

mAs milliampere-seconds (mAs);  

2. For field emission equipment rated for pulsed operation, 

peak tube potential in kV kilovolts (kV), and number of X-

ray x-ray pulses;  

3. For CT X-ray systems equipment designed for pulsed 

operation, peak tube potential in kV kilovolts (kV), scan 

time in seconds, and either tube current in Ma milliamperes 

(mA), X-ray x-ray pulse width in seconds, and the number 

of X-ray x-ray pulses per scan, or the product of tube 

current, X-ray x-ray pulse width, and the number of X-ray 

x-ray pulses in mAs milliampere-seconds (mAs);  

4. For CT X-ray systems equipment not designed for 

pulsed operation, peak tube potential in kV kilovolts (kV), 

and either tube current in Ma milliamperes (mA) and scan 

time in seconds, or the product of tube current and 

exposure time in mAs milliampere-seconds (mAs) and the 

scan time when the scan time and exposure time are 

equivalent; and  

5. For all other equipment, peak tube potential in kV 

kilovolts (kV), and either tube current in Ma milliamperes 
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(mA) and exposure time in seconds, or the product of tube 

current and exposure time in mAs milliampere-seconds 

(mAs).  

"Teletherapy physicist" means an individual identified as a 

qualified teletherapy physicist on an agency license.  

"Teletherapy" means therapeutic irradiation in which the 

source of radiation is at a distance from the body.  

"Temporary job site" means any location where industrial 

radiography, wireline service, well-logging, portable gauge or 

XRF use is performed and where licensed material may be 

stored other than those location(s) of use authorized on the 

license.  

"Tenth-value layer (TVL)" or "TVL" means the thickness of 

a specified material that attenuates X-radiation or gamma 

radiation to an extent such that the air kerma rate, exposure 

rate, or absorbed dose rate is reduced to one-tenth of the value 

measured without the material at the same point.  

"Termination of irradiation" means the stopping of 

irradiation in a fashion that will not permit continuance of 

irradiation without the resetting of operating conditions at the 

control panel.  

"Test" means the process of verifying compliance with an 

applicable regulation.  

"Therapeutic radiation machine" means X-ray x-ray or 

electron-producing equipment designed and used for external 

beam radiation therapy.  

"These regulations" mean all parts of these regulations.  

"Tight-fitting facepiece" means a respiratory inlet covering 

that forms a complete seal with the face. 

"Tomogram" means the depiction of the X-ray x-ray 

attenuation properties of a section through the body.  

"Tomographic plane" means that geometric plane which is 

identified as corresponding to the output tomogram.  

"Tomographic section" means the volume of an object 

whose X-ray x-ray attenuation properties are imaged in a 

tomogram.  

"Total effective dose equivalent" (TEDE) or "TEDE" means 

the sum of the effective dose equivalent for external 

exposures and the committed effective dose equivalent for 

internal exposures.  

"Total organ dose equivalent" (TODE) or "TODE" means 

the sum of the deep dose equivalent and the committed dose 

equivalent to the organ receiving the highest dose as 

described in 12VAC5-481-1040.  

"Traceable to a National Standard" (See "Instrument 

traceability" or "Source traceability").  

"Transfer" means, as used in Part XVI (12VAC5-481-3460 

et seq.) of this chapter, the physical relocation of NORM 

containing materials not directly associated with commercial 

distribution within a business's operation or between general 

or specific licensees. This term does not include a change in 

legal title to NORM containing materials that does not 

involve physical movement of those materials.  

"Transport container" means a package that is designed to 

provide radiation safety and security when sealed sources are 

transported and which meets all applicable requirements of 

the United States Department of Transportation.  

"Transport index (TI)" or "TI" means the dimensionless 

number, rounded up to the next tenth, placed on the label of a 

package to designate the degree of control to be exercised by 

the carrier during transportation. The transport index is the 

number determined by multiplying the maximum radiation 

level in millisievert (mSv) per hour at one meter (3.3 feet) 

from the external surface of the package by 100 (equivalent to 

the maximum radiation level in millirem per hour at one 

meter (3.3 ft)).  

"Treatment site" means the correct anatomical description of 

the area intended to receive a radiation dose, as described in a 

written directive. 

"Tritium neutron generator target source" means a tritium 

source used within a neutron generator tube to produce 

neutrons for use in well-logging applications. 

"Tube" means an X-ray x-ray tube, unless otherwise 

specified.  

"Tube housing assembly" means the tube housing with tube 

installed. It includes high-voltage and/or filament 

transformers and other appropriate elements when such are 

contained within the tube housing.  

"Tube rating chart" means the set of curves which specify 

the rated limits of operation of the tube in terms of the 

technique factors.  

"Type A quantity" means a quantity of radioactive material, 

the aggregate radioactivity of which does not exceed A1 for 

special form radioactive material or A2 for normal form 

radioactive material, where A1 and A2 are given in Table A-1 

of 12VAC5-481-3770 or may be determined by procedures 

described in Table A-1 of 12VAC5-481-3770.  

"Type B quantity" means a quantity of radioactive material 

greater than a Type A quantity.  

"Underwater irradiator" means an irradiator in which the 

sources always remain shielded under water and humans do 

not have access to the sealed sources or the space subject to 

irradiation without entering the pool.  

"Underwater radiography" means radiographic operations 

performed when the radiographic exposure device or 

radiation machine and/or related equipment are beneath the 

surface of the water.  

"Uniform Low-Level Radioactive Waste Manifest" or 

"uniform manifest" means the combination of NRC Forms 

540 and 541, and, if necessary, 542, and their respective 

continuation sheets as needed, or equivalent. 

"Unirradiated uranium" means uranium containing not more 

than 2 x 10
3
 Bq of plutonium per gram of uranium-235, not 
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more than 9 x 10
6
 Bq of fission products per gram of 

uranium-235, and not more than 5 x 10
-3

 g of uranium-236 

per gram of uranium-235. 

"Unrefined and unprocessed ore" means ore in its natural 

form prior to any processing, such as grinding, roasting, 

beneficiating, or refining.  

"Unrestricted area" means an area, access to which is neither 

limited nor controlled by the licensee or registrant. For 

purposes of these regulations, "uncontrolled area" is an 

equivalent term.  

"Uranium—natural, depleted, enriched"  

1. "Natural uranium" means uranium with the naturally 

occurring distribution of uranium isotopes, which is 

approximately 0.711 weight percent uranium-235, and the 

remainder by weight essentially uranium-238.  

2. "Depleted uranium" means uranium containing less 

uranium-235 than the naturally occurring distribution of 

uranium isotopes.  

3. "Enriched uranium" means uranium containing more 

uranium-235 than the naturally occurring distribution of 

uranium isotopes.  

"Uranium sinker bar" means a weight containing depleted 

uranium used to pull a logging tool down toward the bottom 

of a well.  

"Useful beam" means the radiation emanating from that 

passes through the tube housing port or the radiation head and 

passing through and the aperture of the beam limiting beam-

limiting device when the exposure controls are in a mode to 

cause the system to produce radiation switch or timer is 

activated.  

"User seal check (fit check)" or "fit check" means an action 

conducted by the respirator user to determine if the respirator 

is properly seated to the face. Examples include negative 

pressure check, positive pressure check, irritant smoke check, 

or isoamyl acetate check. 

"Variable-aperture beam-limiting device" means a beam-

limiting device which has capacity for stepless adjustment of 

the X-ray x-ray field size at a given SID.  

"Very high radiation area" means an area, accessible to 

individuals, in which radiation levels from radiation sources 

external to the body could result in an individual receiving an 

absorbed dose in excess of five Gy (500 rad) in one hour at 

one meter from a source of radiation or one meter from any 

surface that the radiation penetrates.  

"Virtual source" means a point from which radiation appears 

to originate.  

"Visible area" means that portion of the input surface of the 

image receptor over which incident X-ray x-ray photons are 

producing a visible image.  

"Visiting authorized user" means an authorized user who is 

not identified on the license of the licensee being visited.  

"Waste" means those low-level radioactive wastes 

containing source, special nuclear, or byproduct material that 

are acceptable for disposal in a land disposal facility. For the 

purposes of this definition, low-level radioactive waste means 

radioactive waste not classified as high-level radioactive 

waste, transuranic waste, spent nuclear fuel, or byproduct 

material as defined in subdivisions 2, 3, and 4 of the 

definition of byproduct material.  

"Waste collector" means an entity, operating under a 

specific license, whose principal purpose is to collect and 

consolidate waste generated by others, and to transfer this 

waste, without processing or repackaging the collected waste, 

to another licensed waste collector, licensed waste processor, 

or licensed land disposal facility. 

"Waste description" means the physical, chemical and 

radiological description of a low-level radioactive waste as 

called for on NRC Form 541. 

"Waste generator" means an entity, operating under a 

license, who (i) possesses any material or component that 

contains radioactivity or is radioactively contaminated for 

which the licensee foresees no further use, and (ii) transfers 

this material or component to a licensed land disposal facility 

or to a licensed waste collector or processor for handling or 

treatment prior to disposal. A licensee performing processing 

or decontamination services may be a "waste generator" if the 

transfer of low-level radioactive waste from its facility is 

defined as "residual waste." 

"Waste handling licensees" mean persons licensed to receive 

and store radioactive wastes prior to disposal and/or persons 

licensed to dispose of radioactive waste.  

"Waste processor" means an entity, operating under a 

specific license, whose principal purpose is to process, 

repackage, or otherwise treat low-level radioactive material or 

waste generated by others prior to eventual transfer of waste 

to a licensed low-level radioactive waste land disposal 

facility. 

"Waste type" means a waste within a disposal container 

having a unique physical description (i.e., a specific waste 

descriptor code or description; or a waste sorbed on or 

solidified in a specifically defined media). 

"Wedge filter" means a filter that effects continuous change 

in transmission over all or a part of the useful beam.  

"Week" means seven consecutive days starting on Sunday.  

"Weighting factor (wT)" for an organ or tissue (T) means the 

proportion of the risk of stochastic effects resulting from 

irradiation of that organ or tissue to the total risk of stochastic 

effects when the whole body is irradiated uniformly. For 

calculating the effective dose equivalent, the values of wT are:  
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Organ Dose Weighting 

Factors 

  

Organ or Tissue wT   

Gonads 0.25   

Breast 0.15   

Red bone marrow 0.12   

Lung 0.12   

Thyroid 0.03   

Bone surfaces 0.03   

Remainder  0.30
a/
   

Whole Body 1.00
b/
   

a/
0.30 results from 0.06 for each of five "remainder" 

organs, excluding the skin and the lens of the eye, that 

receive the highest doses.  

b/
For the purpose of weighting the external whole body 

dose for adding it to the internal dose, a single weighting 

factor, wT = 1.0, has been specified. The use of other 

weighting factors for external exposure will be approved 

on a case-by-case basis until such time as specific 

guidance is issued.  

"Well-bore" means a drilled hole in which wireline service 

operations or subsurface tracer studies are performed.  

"Well-logging" means all operations involving the lowering 

and raising of measuring devices or tools that may contain 

sources of radiation into well-bores or cavities for the purpose 

of obtaining information about the well or adjacent 

formations.  

"Whole body" means, for purposes of external exposure, 

head, trunk including male gonads, arms above the elbow, or 

legs above the knee.  

"Wireline" means a cable containing one or more electrical 

conductors that is used to lower and raise logging tools in the 

well-bore.  

"Wireline service operation" means any evaluation or 

mechanical service that is performed in the well-bore using 

devices on a wireline.  

"Worker" means an individual engaged in work under a 

license or registration issued by the agency and controlled by 

a licensee or registrant but does not include the licensee or 

registrant.  

"Working level (WL)" or "WL" means any combination of 

short-lived radon daughters in one liter of air that will result 

in the ultimate emission of 1.3E+5 MeV of potential alpha 

particle energy. The short-lived radon daughters of radon-222 

are polonium-218, lead-214, bismuth-214, and polonium-214; 

and those of radon-220 are polonium-216, lead-212, bismuth-

212, and polonium-212.  

"Working level month" (WLM) or "WLM" means an 

exposure to one working level for 170 hours. Two thousand 

working hours per year divided by 12 months per year is 

approximately equal to 170 hours per month.  

"Written directive" means an order in writing for a specific 

patient, dated and signed by an authorized user prior to the 

administration of a radiopharmaceutical or radiation, except 

as specified in subdivision 6 below, containing the following 

information:  

1. For any administration of quantities greater than 1.11 

megabecquerels (30 mCi) of sodium iodide I-125 or I-131: 

the radionuclide, and dosage; or  

2. For a therapeutic administration of a 

radiopharmaceutical other than sodium iodide I-125 or I-

131: the radiopharmaceutical, dosage, and route of 

administration; or  

3. For gamma stereotactic radiosurgery: target coordinates, 

collimator size, plug pattern, and total dose; or  

4. For teletherapy: the total dose, dose per fraction, 

treatment site, and overall treatment period; or  

5. For high-dose-rate remote afterloading brachytherapy: 

the radionuclide, treatment site, and total dose; or  

6. For all other brachytherapy,  

a. Prior to implantation: the radionuclide, number of 

sources, and source strengths; and  

b. After implantation but prior to completion of the 

procedure: the radionuclide, treatment site, and total 

source strength and exposure time (or, equivalently, the 

total dose).  

"X-ray control" means a device that controls input power to 

the x-ray high-voltage generator or the x-ray tube. It includes 

equipment such as timers, phototimers, automatic brightness 

stabilizers, and similar devices, which control the technique 

factors of an x-ray exposure. 

"X-ray exposure control" means a device, switch, button or 

other similar means by which an operator initiates and/or 

terminates the radiation exposure. The X-ray x-ray exposure 

control may include such associated equipment as timers and 

back-up timers.  

"X-ray equipment" means an X-ray x-ray system, 

subsystem, or component thereof. Types of X-ray x-ray 

equipment are as follows:  

1. "Mobile X-ray x-ray equipment" means X-ray x-ray 

equipment mounted on a permanent base with wheels 

and/or casters for moving while completely assembled.  

2. "Portable X-ray x-ray equipment" means X-ray x-ray 

equipment designed to be hand-carried.  

3. "Stationary X-ray x-ray equipment" means X-ray x-ray 

equipment that is installed in a fixed location.  

"X-ray field" means that area of the intersection of the 

useful beam and any one of the sets of planes parallel to and 
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including the plane of the image receptor, whose perimeter is 

the locus of points at which the exposure rate AKR is one-

fourth of the maximum in the intersection.  

"X-ray high-voltage generator" means a device which 

transforms electrical energy from the potential supplied by 

the X-ray x-ray control to the tube operating potential. The 

device may also include means for transforming alternating 

current to direct current, filament transformers for the X-ray 

x-ray tube(s), high-voltage switches, electrical protective 

devices, and other appropriate elements.  

"X-ray system" means an assemblage of components for the 

controlled production of X-rays x-rays. It includes minimally 

an X-ray x-ray high-voltage generator, an X-ray x-ray 

control, a tube housing assembly, a beam-limiting device, and 

the necessary supporting structures. Additional components 

that function with the system are considered integral parts of 

the system.  

"X-ray table" means a patient support device with its patient 

support structure (tabletop) interposed between the patient 

and the image receptor during radiography and/or 

fluoroscopy. This includes, but is not limited to, any stretcher 

equipped with a radiolucent panel and any table equipped 

with a cassette tray (or bucky), cassette tunnel, image 

intensifier fluoroscopic image receptor, or spot-film device 

beneath the tabletop.  

"X-ray tube" means any electron tube that is designed for 

the conversion of electrical energy into X-ray x-ray energy.  

"Year" means the period of time beginning in January used 

to determine compliance with the provisions of these 

regulations. The licensee or registrant may change the starting 

date of the year used to determine compliance by the licensee 

or registrant provided that the change is made at the 

beginning of the year. If a licensee or registrant changes in a 

year, the licensee or registrant shall assure that no day is 

omitted or duplicated in consecutive years.  

12VAC5-481-290. Registration of radiation machine 

facilities.  

Each person having a radiation machine facility shall:  

1. Apply for registration of such facility with the agency 

within 30 days following installation of equipment. 

Application for registration shall be completed on forms 

furnished by the agency and shall contain all the 

information required by the form and accompanying 

instructions. Registrations filed with the agency prior to 

September 20, 2006, shall remain in effect until a renewal 

notice is issued by the agency pursuant to 12VAC5-481-

310.  

2. Designate on the application form an individual to be 

responsible for radiation protection;  

3. Submit to the agency as part of any application for 

registration or renewal of registration one copy of each 

radiation survey or calibration report for which records are 

required to be maintained pursuant to 12VAC5-481-1590 

12VAC5-481-1591 A 12 c. Records submitted once need 

not be submitted again for renewal of registration.  

4. Have an initial inspection by a private or state inspector 

no later than 30 days after the registration of the 

equipment. Subsequent inspections shall be made 

periodically in accordance with other parts of these 

regulations or whenever the equipment is moved to a new 

location. The agency shall furnish a list of private 

inspectors.  

12VAC5-481-340. Private inspector qualifications.  

Any person desiring designation as a private inspector for 

diagnostic X-ray x-ray, mammographic or therapeutic X-ray 

x-ray and teletherapy machines must be qualified by training 

and experience to perform inspections or calibrations 

according to the following criteria and must submit to the 

agency a statement on the appropriate form certifying his 

specific qualifications. In order to maintain designation as a 

private inspector, the individual must maintain satisfactory 

performance of work performed in that capacity. The agency 

shall disqualify individuals any individual from this 

designation for just cause provided that a show-cause hearing 

has been held and the agency if the agency has determined 

that the individual has demonstrated unsatisfactory 

performance as a private inspector. The individual may 

request an informal hearing.  

A. Private inspector, diagnostic X-ray x-ray (except 

mammography). The person must have adequate knowledge, 

training and experience to measure ionizing radiation, 

evaluate safety techniques, and advise regarding radiation 

protection needs to assure compliance with Virginia Rules 

and Regulations for Ionizing Radiation as evidenced by all of 

the following:  

1. Initial qualifications: evidenced by one or more of the 

following:  

a. Certification by one of the following: American Board 

of Radiology either in diagnostic or radiological physics, 

American Board of Health Physics in comprehensive 

practice, or the American Board of Medical Physics in 

diagnostic imaging physics.  

b. Bachelor's degree in one of the physical sciences or 

engineering and three years of full-time experience in 

radiation safety including at least one year in diagnostic 

X-ray x-ray safety. Advanced degrees in related areas 

may be substituted for experience on an equal time basis, 

except that no substitution shall be allowed for the 

required one year of experience in diagnostic X-ray x-ray 

safety.  

c. Those individuals listed as private inspectors 

immediately prior to September 20, 2006, shall be 

considered grandfathered.  

2. Continuing qualifications:  

a. Continuing education. Private inspectors must 

participate in continuing education programs relating to 
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diagnostic X-ray x-ray, either by teaching or completing 

at least 15 continuing education units (CMEs) every three 

years.  

b. Continuing experience. The private inspector must 

have inspected at least 10 diagnostic X-ray x-ray 

machines within the preceding 12 months.  

3. Reestablishing qualifications. Private inspectors who fail 

to maintain the required continuing qualifications of this 

section may not perform the inspections without the 

supervision of a qualified private inspector. Before 

independently inspecting another facility, private 

inspectors must reestablish their qualifications, as follows:  

a. Private inspectors who fail to meet the continuing 

educational requirements of this section shall obtain a 

sufficient number of continuing education units to bring 

their total units up to five continuing education units 

during the preceding 12 months.  

b. Private inspectors who fail to meet the continuing 

experience requirement of this section shall complete a 

satisfactory inspection of a sufficient number of facilities 

and machines under the direct supervision of a private 

inspector who meets the qualifications of this section to 

bring the number to the required level.  

B. Private inspector, therapeutic X-ray x-ray and teletherapy 

machines. The person must have adequate knowledge, 

training, and experience to calibrate a therapeutic X-ray x-

ray  machine or teletherapy machine, perform inspections and 

to establish procedures for (and review the results of) spot-

check measurements as evidenced by all of the following:  

1. Initial qualifications: evidenced by one or more of the 

following:  

a. Be certified by the American Board of Radiology in:  

(1) Therapeutic radiological physics;  

(2) Roentgen-ray and gamma-ray physics;  

(3) X-ray and radium physics;  

(4) Radiological physics;  

b. Be certified by the American Board of Medical 

Physics in Radiation Oncology Physics;  

c. Be certified by the Canadian College of Medical 

Physics; or  

d. Hold a master's or doctor's degree in physics, 

biophysics, radiological physics, or health physics, and 

have completed one year of full time training in 

therapeutic radiological physics and also one year of full 

time work experience under the supervision of a radiation 

therapy physicist at a medical institution. To meet this 

requirement, the individual shall have performed the 

tasks listed in 12VAC5-481-3400 A;, 12VAC5-481-3420 

P;, 12VAC5-481-3430 T;, 12VAC5-481-3420 Q;, and 

12VAC5-481-3430 U under the supervision of a 

radiation therapy physicist during the year of work 

experience.  

Notwithstanding the provisions of 12VAC5-481-3390 D, 

certification pursuant to subdivisions B 1 a, b, or c of this 

section shall be required on or before July 1, 2007, for all 

persons currently qualifying as a radiation therapy 

physicist pursuant to subdivision B 1 d of this section.  

2. Continuing qualifications.  

a. Continuing education: Private inspectors must 

participate in continuing education programs relating to 

therapeutic X-ray x-ray and teletherapy machines, either 

by teaching or completing at least 15 continuing 

education units (CEUs) every three years.  

b. Continuing experience: The private inspector must 

have inspected at least one therapeutic X-ray x-ray or 

teletherapy facilities and at least one therapeutic X-ray x-

ray or teletherapy machine within the preceding 12 

months.  

3. Reestablishing qualifications. Private inspectors who fail 

to maintain the required continuing qualifications of this 

section may not perform an inspection without the 

supervision of a qualified private inspector. Before 

independently inspecting another facility, private 

inspectors must reestablish their qualifications, as follows:  

a. Private inspectors who fail to meet the continuing 

educational requirements of this section shall obtain a 

sufficient number of continuing education units to bring 

their total units up to five continuing education units 

during the preceding 12 months.  

b. Private inspectors who fail to meet the continuing 

experience requirement of this section shall complete a 

satisfactory inspection of a sufficient number of facilities 

and machines under the direct supervision of a private 

inspector who meets the qualifications of this section to 

bring the number to the required level.  

C. Private inspector, mammography. The person must have 

adequate knowledge, training, and experience to inspect 

mammography X-ray x-ray machines and facilities. All 

mammography private inspector conducting inspections of 

mammography facilities and providing oversight of the 

facility quality assurance program must meet one of the 

following tracks, either through the initial master's degree of 

higher route or the alternative initial bachelor's degree route:  

1. Initial qualifications:  

Master Route:  

a. Be certified by the American Board of Radiology 

(ABR) or the American Board of Medical Physics 

(ABMP) in:  

(1) Diagnostic radiological physics;  

(2) Radiological physics; or  

(3) Diagnostic imaging physics;  

b. A master's degree or higher in a physical science with 

at least 20 semester hours or equivalent of graduate or 

undergraduate physics; and  
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c. Twenty contact hours of mammography facility 

training; and  

d. The experience of conducting inspections of at least 

one mammography facility and a total of at least 10 

mammography units.  

Bachelor Route (must have been qualified before April 28, 

1999):  

a. A bachelor's degree in a physical science with at least 

10 semester hours or equivalent of college level physics;  

b. Forty contact hours of documented specialized training 

in conducting inspections of mammography facilities; 

and  

c. The experience of conducting inspections of at least 

one mammography facility and a total of at least 20 

mammography units. The training and experience 

requirements must be met after fulfilling the degree 

requirement.  

2. Continuing qualifications.  

a. Continuing education. At all times after the third 

anniversary of completion of the initial requirements of 

this section, the private inspector shall have taught or 

completed at least 15 continuing education units in 

mammography during the preceding three years.  

b. Continuing experience. At all times after the first 

anniversary of the completion of the initial requirements 

of this section, the private inspector shall have inspected 

at least two mammography facilities and six machines in 

24 months.  

c. Before a private inspector may begin independently 

performing mammographic examinations using a new 

modality, that is, a modality other than one for which the 

physicist received training to qualify under this section, 

the inspector must receive at least eight hours of training 

in inspecting units with the new modality.  

3. Reestablishing qualifications. Private inspectors who fail 

to maintain the required continuing qualifications of this 

section may not perform the mammography inspections 

without the supervision of a qualified private inspector. 

Before independently inspecting another facility, private 

inspectors must reestablish their qualifications as follows:  

a. Private inspectors who fail to meet the continuing 

educational requirements of this section shall obtain a 

sufficient number of continuing education units to bring 

their total units up to the required 15 in the previous three 

years.  

b. Private inspectors who fail to meet the continuing 

experience requirement of this section shall complete a 

satisfactory inspection of three mammography facilities 

under the direct supervision of a private inspector who 

meets the qualifications of this section.  

12VAC5-481-350. Assembler or transfer obligation.  

A. Any person who sells, leases, transfers, lends, disposes, 

assembles, or installs radiation machines or upon significant 

service or modification thereof of any radiation machine 

(such as tube inserts, generators, or collimators) in this state 

shall notify the agency within 15 days of:  

1. The name and address of persons who have received 

these machines;  

2. The manufacturer, model, and serial number of each 

radiation machine transferred; however, in the case of 

diagnostic x-ray systems that contain certified components, 

a copy of the assembler's report (Form FDA 2579) 

prepared in compliance with the requirements of the Food 

and Drug Administration's Federal Diagnostic X-ray 

Standard (21 CFR 1020.30(d)) shall be submitted and shall 

suffice in lieu of any other report by the assembler; and  

3. The date of transfer of each radiation machine.  

B. No person shall make, sell, lease, transfer, lend, 

assemble, or install radiation machines or the supplies used in 

connection with such machines unless such supplies and 

equipment when properly placed in operation and used shall 

meet the requirements of these regulations.  

Part VI  

Use Of Diagnostic X-Rays In The Healing Arts  

12VAC5-481-1580. Purpose and scope. (Repealed.)  

This part establishes requirements, for which a registrant is 

responsible, for use of diagnostic X-ray equipment by, or 

under the supervision of, an individual authorized by and 

licensed in accordance with state statutes to engage in the 

healing arts or veterinary medicine. The provisions of this 

part are in addition to, and not in substitution for, other 

applicable provisions of Parts I (12VAC5-481-10 et seq.); II 

(12VAC5-481-260 et seq.); IV (12VAC5-481-600 et seq.); 

and X (12VAC5-481-2250 et seq.) of this chapter. Some 

registrants may also be subject to the requirements of Parts IX 

(12VAC5-481-2140 et seq.) and XV (12VAC5-481-3380 et 

seq.) of this chapter.  

12VAC5-481-1581. Purpose and scope. 

This part establishes requirements, for which a registrant is 

responsible, for use of diagnostic x-ray equipment and 

imaging systems by or under the supervision of an individual 

authorized by and licensed in accordance with Virginia law to 

engage in the healing arts or veterinary medicine. The 

provisions of this part are in addition to and not in 

substitution for other applicable provisions of this chapter. 

12VAC5-481-1590. General and administrative 

requirements. (Repealed.) 

A. Radiation safety requirements. The registrant shall be 

responsible for directing the operation of the X-ray system(s) 

under his administrative control. The registrant or the 

registrant's agent shall assure that the requirements of these 

regulations are met in the operation of the X-ray system(s).  
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1. An X-ray system that does not meet the provisions of 

these regulations shall not be operated for diagnostic 

purposes.  

2. Individuals who will be operating the X-ray systems 

shall be adequately instructed in the safe operating 

procedures and be competent in the safe use of the 

equipment. The agency may use interview, observation 

and/or testing to determine compliance. The following are 

areas in which the agency considers it important that an 

individual have expertise for the competent operation of X-

ray equipment:  

a. Familiarization with equipment  

(1) Identification of controls  

(2) Function of each control  

(3) How to use a technique chart  

b. Radiation protection  

(1) Collimation  

(2) Filtration  

(3) Gonad shielding and other patient protection devices, 

if used  

(4) Restriction of X-ray tube radiation to the image 

receptor  

(5) Personnel protection  

(6) Grids  

c. Image processing  

(1) Film speed as related to patient exposure  

(2) Image processing parameters  

(3) Quality assurance program  

d. Emergency procedures—termination of exposure in 

event of automatic timing device failure  

e. Proper use of personnel dosimetry, if required  

f. Understanding units of radiation  

3. A chart shall be provided in the vicinity of the diagnostic 

X-ray system's control panel that specifies, for all 

examinations performed with that system, the following 

information:  

a. Patient's body part and anatomical size, or body part 

thickness, or age (for pediatrics), versus technique factors 

to be utilized;  

b. Reserved;  

c. Reserved;  

d. Source to image receptor distance to be used (except 

for dental intra-oral radiography);  

e. Type and location of placement of patient shielding 

(e.g., gonad, etc.) to be used; and  

f. For mammography, indication of kVp/target/filter 

combination.  

4. The registrant of a facility shall create and make 

available to X-ray operators written safety procedures, 

including patient holding and any restrictions of the 

operating technique required for the safe operation of the 

particular X-ray system. The operator shall be able to 

demonstrate familiarity with these procedures. A copy of 

the written safety procedures shall be posted near each X-

ray machine.  

5. Except for patients who cannot be moved out of the 

room, only the staff, ancillary personnel or other persons 

required for the medical procedure or training shall be in 

the room during the radiographic exposure. Other than the 

patient being examined:  

a. All individuals shall be positioned such that no part of 

the body will be struck by the useful beam unless 

protected by not less than 0.5 millimeter lead equivalent 

material;  

b. The X-ray operator, other staff, ancillary personnel, 

and other persons required for the medical procedure 

shall be protected from the direct scatter radiation by 

protective aprons or whole body protective barriers of not 

less than 0.25 millimeter lead equivalent material;  

c. Human patients who cannot be removed from the room 

shall be protected from the direct scatter radiation by 

whole body protective barriers, or protective aprons of 

not less than 0.25 millimeter lead equivalent material or 

shall be so positioned that the nearest portion of the body 

is at least two meters from both the tube head and the 

nearest edge of the image receptor.  

6. Gonad shielding of not less than 0.5 millimeter lead 

equivalent material shall be used for human patients, who 

have not passed the reproductive age, during radiographic 

procedures in which the gonads are in the useful beam, 

except for cases in which this would interfere with the 

diagnostic procedure.  

7. Individuals shall not be exposed to the useful beam 

except for healing arts purposes and unless such exposure 

has been authorized by a licensed practitioner of the 

healing arts. This provision specifically prohibits deliberate 

exposure for the following purposes:  

a. Exposure of an individual for training, demonstration, 

or other nonhealing arts purposes; and  

b. Exposure of an individual for the purpose of healing 

arts screening except as authorized by subdivision A 11 

of this section.  

8. When a patient or film must be provided with auxiliary 

support during a radiation exposure:  

a. Mechanical holding devices shall be used when the 

technique permits. The written safety procedures, 

required by subdivision A 4 of this section, shall list 

individual projections where holding devices cannot be 

utilized;  
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b. Written safety procedures, as required by subdivision 

A 4 of this section, shall indicate the requirements for 

selecting a holder and the procedure the holder shall 

follow;  

c. The human holder shall be instructed in personal 

radiation safety and protected as required by subdivision 

A 5 of this section;  

d. No individual shall be used routinely to hold film or 

patients;  

e. In those cases where the patient must hold the film, 

except during intraoral examinations, any portion of the 

body other than the area of clinical interest struck by the 

useful beam shall be protected by not less than 0.5 

millimeter lead equivalent material; and  

f. Each facility shall have leaded aprons and gloves 

available in sufficient numbers to provide protection to 

all personnel who are involved with X-ray operations and 

who are otherwise not shielded.  

g. When an animal must be held in position during 

radiography, mechanical supporting or restraining 

devices should be used. If the animal must be held by an 

individual, that individual shall be protected by 

appropriate shielding devices, such as protective glove 

and apron, and he shall be so positioned that no part of 

his body will be struck by the useful beam. The radiation 

exposure of and individual used for this purpose shall be 

monitored and recorded. These records of radiation 

exposure must be maintained indefinitely for inspection 

by the agency.  

9. Procedures and auxiliary equipment designed to 

minimize patient and personnel exposure commensurate 

with the needed diagnostic information shall be utilized.  

a. The speed of the screen and film combinations used 

shall be the fastest speed consistent with the diagnostic 

objective of the examinations. Film cassettes without 

intensifying screens shall not be used for any routine 

diagnostic radiological imaging, with the exception of 

veterinary radiography and standard film packets for 

intra-oral use in dental radiography.  

b. The radiation exposure to the patient shall be the 

minimum exposure required to produce images of good 

diagnostic quality and, where applicable, shall not exceed 

the following standards:  

EXPOSURE LIMITS FOR SELECTED PROJECTIONS  

Using a method acceptable to the agency, the exposure 

measurement shall be determined in the center of the X-ray 

field at the location of the entrance skin of a standard patient, 

except for dental intraoral X-ray machines in which case the 

measurement shall be determined at the conetip. The 

technique factors selected shall be those used for routine 

radiography for an average size adult patient at that facility 

for that X-ray machine. At least one projection must be tested 

for each X-ray machine unless none of the projections listed 

are used. If an X-ray machine is used in both the manual and 

phototimed modes, then only the manual mode shall be 

tested. If the machine is used only in the phototimed mode, 

then this test is not required. An average size adult, for 

purposes of these regulations, is defined as a 5'8", 164 lb. 

adult male meeting the following anthropometric guidelines 

for the radiographic examination projection specified: PA 

Chest—Thorax—23 cm thickness; AP Abdomen and AP 

Lumbar Spine—Abdomen—23 cm thickness.  

The exposure shall not exceed the following maximum 

exposure limits for the projections below:  

Projection Maximum Exposure 

PA Chest 50 mR 

AP Lumbar Spine 1400 mR 

AP Abdomen 1100 mR 

Dental Bitewing 

Using D Speed Film 

50 kVp 575 mR 

55 kVp 500 mR 

60 kVp 440 mR 

65 kVp 400 mR 

70 kVp 350 mR 

75 kVp 260 mR 

80 kVp 230 mR 

85 kVp 200 mR 

90 kVp 180 mR 

95 kVp 160 mR 

100 kVp 140 mR 

Using E Speed Film 

50 kVp 320 mR 

55 kVp 270 mR 

60 kVp 230 mR 

65 kVp 200 mR 

70 kVp 170 mR 

75 kVp 140 mR 

80 kVp 120 mR 

85 kVp 105 mR 

90 kVp 90 mR 

95 kVp 80 mR 

100 kVp 70 mR 
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c. Portable or mobile X-ray equipment shall be used only 

for examinations where it is impractical to transfer the 

patient(s) to a stationary X-ray installation.  

d. X-ray systems subject to 12VAC5-481-1620 shall not 

be utilized in procedures where the source to patient 

distance is less than 30 centimeters, except for veterinary 

systems.  

e. If grids are used between the patient and the image 

receptor to decrease scatter to the film and improve 

contrast, the grid shall:  

(1) Be positioned properly, i.e., tube side facing the right 

direction, and grid centered to the central ray;  

(2) If of the focused type, be of the proper focal distance 

for the SID's being used.  

10. All individuals who are associated with the operation 

of an X-ray system are subject to the requirements of 

12VAC5-481-640, 12VAC5-481-680, 12VAC5-481-700 

and 12VAC5-481-710.  

11. Healing arts screening. Any person proposing to 

conduct a healing arts screening program shall not initiate 

such a program without prior approval of the agency. 

When requesting such approval, that person shall submit 

the following information. If any information submitted to 

the agency becomes invalid or outdated, the agency shall 

be immediately notified.  

INFORMATION TO BE SUBMITTED BY PERSONS 

PROPOSING TO CONDUCT HEALING ARTS 

SCREENING  

Persons requesting that the agency approve a healing arts 

screening program shall submit the following information 

and evaluation:  

a. Name and address of the applicant and, where 

applicable, the names and addresses of agents within this 

state;  

b. Diseases or conditions for which the X-ray 

examinations are to be used in diagnoses;  

c. A detailed description of the X-ray examinations 

proposed in the screening program;  

d. Description of the population to be examined in the 

screening program, i.e., age, sex, physical condition, and 

other appropriate information;  

e. An evaluation of any known alternate methods not 

involving ionizing radiation that could achieve the goals 

of the screening program and why these methods are not 

used instead of the X-ray examinations;  

f. An evaluation by a private inspector of the X-ray 

system(s) to be used in the screening program. The 

evaluation by the private inspector shall show that such 

system(s) do satisfy all requirements of these regulations. 

The evaluation shall include a measurement of patient 

exposures from the X-ray examinations to be performed;  

g. A description of the diagnostic X-ray quality control 

program;  

h. A copy of the technique chart for the X-ray 

examination procedures to be used;  

i. The qualifications of each individual who will be 

operating the X-ray system(s);  

j. The qualifications of the individual who will be 

supervising the operators of the X-ray system(s). The 

extent of supervision and the method of work 

performance evaluation shall be specified;  

k. The name and address of the individual who will 

interpret the radiograph(s);  

l. A description of the procedures to be used in advising 

the individuals screened and their private practitioners of 

the healing arts of the results of the screening procedure 

and any further medical needs indicated;  

m. A description of the procedures for the retention or 

disposition of the radiographs and other records 

pertaining to the X-ray examinations;  

n. An indication of the frequency of screening and the 

duration of the entire screening program.  

12. Information and maintenance record and associated 

information. The registrant shall maintain the following 

information for each X-ray system for inspection by the 

agency:  

a. Model and serial numbers of all major components, 

and user's manuals for those components;  

b. Tube rating charts and cooling curves;  

c. Records of surveys, calibrations, maintenance, and 

modifications performed on the X-ray system(s); and  

d. A copy of all correspondence with this agency 

regarding that X-ray system.  

13. X-ray utilization log. Except for veterinary facilities, 

each facility shall maintain a record containing the patient's 

name, the type of examinations, and the dates the 

examinations were performed. When the patient or film 

must be provided with human auxiliary support, the name 

of the human holder shall be recorded.  

14. The registrant shall maintain a list of X-ray machine 

operators for each facility. The following information will 

be maintained on the list:  

The name of the X-ray machine operator. Operators must 

be licensed by the Department of Health Professions 

where X-rays are used within the scope of practice or be 

certified by the ARRT, or an individual enrolled in an 

accredited program for radiologic technology and under 

the supervision of a licensed or certified radiological 

technologist, and if a dental assistant, comply with the 

Board of Dentistry's radiation certification requirements 

in 18VAC60-20-195.  

B. X-ray film processing facilities and practices.  
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1. Each installation using a radiographic X-ray system and 

using analog image receptors (e.g. radiographic film) shall 

have available suitable equipment for handling and 

processing radiographic film in accordance with the 

following provisions:  

a. Manually developed film:  

(1) Processing tanks shall be constructed of mechanically 

rigid, corrosion resistant material; and  

(2) The temperature of solutions in the tanks shall be 

maintained within the range of 60°F to 80°F (16°C to 

27°C). Film shall be developed in accordance with the 

time-temperature relationships recommended by the film 

manufacturer, or, in the absence of such 

recommendations, with the following time-temperature 

chart that must be posted in the darkroom:  

Thermometer 

Reading (Degrees) 
Minimum 

Developing Time 

(Minutes) °C °F 

26.7 80 2 

26.1 79 2 

25.6 78 22 

25.0 77 22 

24.4 76 3 

23.9 75 3 

23.3 74 32 

22.8 73 32 

22.2 72 4 

21.7 71 4 

21.1 70 42 

20.6 69 42 

20.0 68 5 

19.4 67 52 

18.9 66 52 

18.3 65 6 

17.8 64 62 

17.2 63 7 

16.7 62 8 

16.1 61 82 

15.6 60 92 

(3) Devices shall be utilized which will indicate the 

actual temperature of the developer and signal the 

passage of a preset time appropriate to the developing 

time required.  

b. Automatic processors and other closed processing 

systems:  

(1) Films shall be developed in accordance with the time-

temperature relationships recommended by the film 

manufacturer; in the absence of such recommendations, 

the film shall be developed using the following chart:  

Developer 

Temperature 

Minimum 

Immersion 

Time
a 

(Seconds) 
°C °F 

35.5 96 19 

35 95 20 

34.5 94 21 

34 93 22 

33.5 92 23 

33 91 24 

32 90 25 

31.5 89 26 

31 88 27 

30.5 87 28 

30 86 29 

29.5 85 30 

a
 Immersion time only, no crossover time 

included.  

(2) The specified developer temperature and immersion 

time shall be posted in the darkroom or on the automatic 

processor.  

c. Processing deviations from the requirements of 

subdivision 1 of this subsection shall be documented by 

the registrant in such manner that the requirements are 

shown to be met or exceeded (e.g., extended processing, 

and special rapid chemistry).  

2. Other requirements.  

a. Pass boxes, if provided, shall be so constructed as to 

exclude light from the darkroom when cassettes are 

placed in or removed from the boxes, and shall 

incorporate adequate shielding from stray radiation to 

prevent exposure of undeveloped film.  

b. The darkroom shall be light tight and use proper 

safelighting such that any film type in use exposed in a 

cassette to x-radiation sufficient to produce an optical 

density from one to two when processed shall not suffer 

an increase in density greater than 0.1 (0.05 for 
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mammography) when exposed in the darkroom for two 

minutes with all safelights on. If used, daylight film 

handling boxes shall preclude fogging of the film.  

c. Darkrooms typically used by more than one individual 

shall be provided a method to prevent accidental entry 

while undeveloped films are being handled or processed.  

d. Film shall be stored in a cool, dry place and shall be 

protected from exposure to stray radiation. Film in open 

packages shall be stored in a light tight container.  

e. Film cassettes and intensifying screens shall be 

inspected periodically and shall be cleaned and replaced 

as necessary to best assure radiographs of good 

diagnostic quality.  

f. Outdated X-ray film shall not be used for diagnostic 

radiographs, unless the film has been stored in 

accordance with the manufacturer's recommendations 

and a sample of the film passes a sensitometric test for 

normal ranges of base plus fog and speed.  

g. Film developing solutions shall be prepared in 

accordance with the directions given by the 

manufacturer, and shall be maintained in strength by 

replenishment or renewal so that full development is 

accomplished within the time specified by the 

manufacturer.  

h. Living and deceased patient's films (diagnostic 

images) shall be maintained for a minimum of five years. 

Films for minors shall be maintained for a minimum of 

five years beyond their 18th birthday.  

C. Information to be submitted to the agency. The registrant 

shall submit to the agency a copy of all surveys, calibrations 

and inspections performed by a private inspector within 30 

days of completion of the survey or calibration.  

D. Information to be submitted by the private inspector to 

the registrant. The private inspector shall provide the 

inspection report to the registrant within 14 days of the 

completion of the inspection. A summary and/or 

recommendations shall be included with this report. The 

private inspector shall notify the registrant of any 

noncompliances that need corrective action.  

12VAC5-481-1591 General and administrative 

requirements 

A. Radiation safety requirements. The registrant shall be 

responsible for directing the operation of the x-ray system 

under his administrative control. The registrant or the 

registrant's agent shall assure that the requirements of this 

chapter are met in the operation of the x-ray system or 

systems. 

1. An x-ray system that does not meet the provisions of 

this chapter shall not be operated for diagnostic purposes. 

2. Individuals who will be operating the x-ray systems 

shall meet the qualifications of this part to conduct the 

practice of radiologic technology.  

3. A chart shall be provided in the vicinity of the diagnostic 

x-ray system's control panel that specifies, for all 

examinations performed with that system, the following 

information: 

a. Patient's body part and anatomical size, or body part 

thickness, or age (for pediatrics), versus technique factors 

to be utilized; 

b. Type and size of the image receptor to be used; 

c. Type and size of the image receptor combination to be 

used, if any; 

d. Source to image receptor distance to be used (except 

for dental intraoral radiography); 

e. Type and location of placement of patient shielding 

(e.g., gonad, etc.) to be used; and 

f. For mammography, indication of kVp/target/filter 

combination. 

4. The registrant of a facility shall create and make 

available to x-ray operators written safety procedures, 

including patient holding and any restrictions of the 

operating technique required for the safe operation of the 

particular x-ray system. The operator shall be able to 

demonstrate familiarity with these procedures. 

5. Except for patients who cannot be moved out of the 

room, only the staff, ancillary personnel, or other persons 

required for the medical procedure or training shall be in 

the room during the radiographic exposure. Other than the 

patient being examined: 

a. All individuals shall be positioned such that no part of 

the body will be struck by the useful beam unless 

protected by not less than 0.5 mm lead equivalent 

material; 

b. The x-ray operator, other staff, ancillary personnel, 

and other persons required for the medical procedure 

shall be protected from the direct scatter radiation by 

protective aprons or whole body protective barriers of not 

less than 0.25 mm lead equivalent material; and 

c. Human patients who cannot be removed from the room 

shall be protected from the direct scatter radiation by 

whole body protective barriers of not less than 0.25 mm 

lead equivalent material or shall be so positioned that the 

nearest portion of the body is at least two meters from 

both the tube head and the nearest edge of the image 

receptor. 

6. Gonad shielding of not less than 0.5 mm lead equivalent 

material shall be used for human patients, who have not 

passed the reproductive age, during radiographic 

procedures in which the gonads are in the useful beam, 

except for cases in which this would interfere with the 

diagnostic procedure. 

7. Individuals shall not be exposed to the useful beam 

except for healing arts purposes and unless such exposure 

has been authorized by a licensed practitioner of the 
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healing arts. This provision specifically prohibits deliberate 

exposure for the following purposes: 

a. Exposure of an individual for training, demonstration, 

or other non-healing arts purposes; and 

b. Exposure of an individual for the purpose of healing 

arts screening except as authorized by subdivision 11 of 

this subsection. 

8. When a patient or image receptor must be provided with 

auxiliary support during a radiation exposure: 

a. Mechanical holding devices shall be used when the 

technique permits. The written safety procedures, as 

required by subdivision 4 of this subsection, shall list 

individual projections where holding devices cannot be 

utilized; 

b. Written safety procedures, as required by subdivision 4 

of this subsection, shall indicate the requirements for 

selecting a holder and the procedure the holder shall 

follow; 

c. The human holder shall be instructed in personal 

radiation safety and protected as required by subdivision 

5 of this subsection; 

d. No individual shall be used routinely to hold image 

receptor or patients; 

e. In those cases where the patient must hold the image 

receptor, except during intraoral examinations, any 

portion of the body other than the area of clinical interest 

struck by the useful beam shall be protected by not less 

than 0.5 mm lead equivalent material; and 

f. Each facility shall have leaded aprons and gloves 

available in sufficient numbers to provide protection for 

all personnel who are involved with x-ray operations and 

who are otherwise not shielded. 

9. Procedures and auxiliary equipment designed to 

minimize patient and personnel exposure commensurate 

with the needed diagnostic information shall be utilized. 

a. The fastest imaging system consistent with the 

diagnostic objective of the examinations shall be used. 

Film cassettes without intensifying screens shall not be 

used for any routine diagnostic radiological imaging, 

with the exception of veterinary radiography and 

standard film packets for intraoral use in dental 

radiography. 

b. The radiation exposure to the patient shall be the 

minimum exposure required to produce images of good 

diagnostic quality. 

c. Portable or mobile x-ray equipment shall be used only 

for examinations where it is impractical to transfer the 

patient to a stationary x-ray installation. 

d. X-ray systems subject to 12VAC5-481-1621 shall not 

be utilized in procedures where the source to patient 

distance is less than 30 cm, except for veterinary 

systems. 

e. If grids are used between the patient and the image 

receptor to decrease scatter to the film and improve 

contrast, the grid shall: 

(1) Be positioned properly, i.e., tube side facing the right 

direction, and grid centered to the central ray; and 

(2) If the grid is of the focused type, be of the proper 

focal distance for the SIDs being used. 

10. All individuals who are associated with the operation 

of an x-ray system are subject to the requirements of 

12VAC5-481-640, 12VAC5-481-700, and 12VAC5-481-

710. 

11. Any person proposing to conduct a healing arts 

screening program shall not initiate such a program 

without prior approval of the agency. If any information 

submitted to the agency becomes invalid or outdated, the 

agency shall be immediately notified. Persons requesting 

that the agency approve a healing arts screening program 

shall submit the following information and evaluation: 

a. Name and address of the applicant and, where 

applicable, the names and addresses of agents within this 

state; 

b. Diseases or conditions for which the x-ray 

examinations are to be used in diagnoses; 

c. A description of the x-ray examinations proposed in 

the screening program, i.e., type and number of views; 

d. Description of the population to be examined in the 

screening program, i.e., age range, sex, physical 

condition, and other appropriate information; 

e. An evaluation of any known alternate methods not 

involving ionizing radiation that could achieve the goals 

of the screening program and why these methods are not 

used instead of the x-ray examinations; 

f. An evaluation by a qualified medical physicist of the x-

ray system or systems to be used in the screening 

program. The evaluation shall include the following: 

(1) Documentation that such systems satisfy all 

requirements of this chapter; and 

(2) Measurement of patient exposures from the x-ray 

examinations to be performed; 

g. A description of the diagnostic x-ray quality control 

program; 

h. A copy of the technique chart for the x-ray 

examination procedures to be used; 

i. The qualifications of each individual who will be 

operating the x-ray system or systems; 

j. The qualifications of the individual who will be 

supervising the operators of the x-ray system or systems. 

The extent of supervision and the method of work 

performance evaluation shall be specified; 

k. The name and address of the practitioner licensed in 

the state who will interpret the radiograph; 
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l. Procedures to be used in advising the individuals 

screened and their practitioners of the healing arts or 

health care providers of the results of the screening 

procedure and any further medical needs indicated; 

m. Procedures for the retention or disposition of the 

radiographs and other records pertaining to the x-ray 

examinations; 

n. Frequency of screening of individuals; and  

o. The duration of the screening program. 

12. The registrant shall maintain the following information 

and maintenance record for each x-ray system for 

inspection by the agency: 

a. Model and serial numbers of all major components, 

and user's manuals for those components; 

b. Tube rating charts and cooling curves; 

c. Records of surveys, calibrations, maintenance, and 

modifications performed on the x-ray system or systems; 

and 

d. A copy of all correspondence with the agency 

regarding that x-ray system. 

13. Except for veterinary facilities, each facility shall 

maintain an x-ray utilization log containing the patient's 

name, the type of examination, and the date the 

examination was performed. 

14. The registrant shall maintain a list of x-ray operators 

for each facility. Operators must be licensed by the 

Department of Health Professions where x-rays are used 

within the scope of practice or be certified by the American 

Registry of Radiological Technologists (ARRT), or be an 

individual enrolled in an accredited program for radiologic 

technology and under the supervision of a licensed or 

certified radiological technologist, and if a dental assistant, 

comply with the Board of Dentistry's radiation certification 

requirements in 18VAC60-20-195. 

B. X-ray film processing facilities and practices. 

1. Each installation using a radiographic x-ray system and 

analog image receptors (e.g., radiographic film) shall have 

available suitable equipment for handling and processing 

radiographic film in accordance with the following 

provisions: 

a. Manually developed film. 

(1) Processing tanks shall be constructed of mechanically 

rigid, corrosion resistant material; and 

(2) The temperature of solutions in the tanks shall be 

maintained within the range of 60°F to 80°F (16°C to 

27°C). Film shall be developed in accordance with the 

time-temperature relationships recommended by the film 

manufacturer or, in the absence of such 

recommendations, with the following time-temperature 

chart: 

Time-Temperature Chart 

Thermometer 

Reading (Degrees) 

Minimum Developing Time 

(Minutes) 

°C °F   

26.7 80 2 

26.1 79 2 

25.6 78 2-1/2 

25.0 77 2-1/2 

24.4 76 3 

23.9 75 3 

23.3 74 3-1/2 

22.8 73 3-1/2 

22.2 72 4 

21.7 71 4 

21.1 70 4-1/2 

20.6 69 4-1/2 

20.0 68 5 

19.4 67 5-1/2 

18.9 66 5-1/2 

18.3 65 6 

17.8 64 6-1/2 

17.2 63 7 

16.7 62 8 

16.1 61 8-1/2 

15.6 60 9-1/2 

(3) Devices shall be utilized that will indicate the actual 

temperature of the developer and signal the passage of a 

preset time appropriate to the developing time required. 

b. Automatic processors and other closed processing 

systems. Films shall be developed in accordance with the 

time-temperature relationships recommended by the film 

manufacturer. In the absence of such recommendations, the 

film shall be developed using the following chart: 

Developer 

Temperature 

Minimum Immersion 

Time* 

°C °F Seconds 

35.5 96 19 

35 95 20 
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34.5 94 21 

34 93 22 

33.5 92 23 

33 91 24 

32 90 25 

31.5 89 26 

31 88 27 

30.5 87 28 

30 86 29 

29.5 85 30 

*Immersion time only, no crossover time included. 

Processing deviations from the requirements of this 

subdivision shall be documented by the registrant in such 

manner that the requirements are shown to be met or 

exceeded (e.g., extended processing and special rapid 

chemistry). 

2. Other requirements. 

a. Pass boxes, if provided, shall be so constructed as to 

exclude light from the darkroom when cassettes are 

placed in or removed from the boxes and shall 

incorporate adequate shielding from stray radiation to 

prevent exposure of undeveloped film. 

b. The darkroom shall be light tight and use proper 

safelighting such that any film type in use exposed in a 

cassette to x-ray radiation sufficient to produce an optical 

density from one to two when processed shall not suffer 

an increase in density greater than 0.1 (0.05 for 

mammography) when exposed in the darkroom for two 

minutes with all safelights on. If used, daylight film 

handling boxes shall preclude fogging of the film. 

c. Darkrooms typically used by more than one individual 

shall be provided a method to prevent accidental entry 

while undeveloped films are being handled or processed. 

d. Film shall be stored in a cool, dry place and shall be 

protected from exposure to stray radiation. Film in open 

packages shall be stored in a light tight container. 

e. Film cassettes and intensifying screens shall be 

inspected periodically and shall be cleaned and replaced 

as necessary to best assure radiographs of good 

diagnostic quality. 

f. Outdated x-ray film shall not be used for diagnostic 

radiographs, unless the film has been stored in 

accordance with the manufacturer's recommendations 

and a sample of the film passes a sensitometric test for 

normal ranges of base plus fog and speed. 

g. Film developing solutions shall be prepared in 

accordance with the directions given by the manufacturer 

and shall be maintained in strength by replenishment or 

renewal so that full development is accomplished within 

the time specified by the manufacturer. 

h. Living and deceased patients' diagnostic images shall 

be maintained for a minimum of five years. Diagnostic 

images for minors shall be maintained for a minimum of 

five years beyond their 18th birthday. 

C. The registrant shall submit to the agency a copy of all 

surveys, calibrations, and inspections performed by a private 

inspector within 30 days of completion of the survey, 

calibration, or inspection. 

D. The private inspector shall provide the inspection report 

to the registrant within 14 days of the completion of the 

inspection. A summary or recommendation shall be included 

with this report. The inspector shall notify the registrant of 

any noncompliances that need corrective action. 

E. Violations identified as "serious" must be corrected 

within 30 days. Certification of the unit will not be issued 

until the violation is corrected. Violations identified as "non-

serious" shall be corrected before the next inspection cycle. 

Uncorrected "non-serious" violations will become "serious" 

and require immediate correction. 

12VAC5-481-1600. General requirements for all 

diagnostic X-ray systems. (Repealed.) 

In addition to other requirements of this part, all diagnostic 

X-ray systems shall meet the following requirements:  

1. Warning label. The control panel containing the main 

power switch shall bear the warning statement, legible and 

accessible to view: "WARNING: This X-ray unit may be 

dangerous to patient and operator unless safe exposure 

factors and operating instructions are observed."  

2. Battery charge indicator. On battery-powered X-ray 

generators, visual means shall be provided on the control 

panel to indicate whether the battery is in a state of charge 

adequate for proper operation.  

3. Leakage radiation from the diagnostic source assembly. 

The leakage radiation from the diagnostic source assembly 

measured at a distance of one meter in any direction from 

the source shall not exceed 25.8 μC/kg (100 

milliroentgens) in one hour when the X-ray tube is 

operated at its leakage technique factors. Compliance shall 

be determined by measurements averaged over an area of 

100 square centimeters with no linear dimension greater 

than 20 centimeters.  

4. Radiation from components other than the diagnostic 

source assembly. The radiation emitted by a component 

other than the diagnostic source assembly shall not exceed 

0.5 μC/kg (2 milliroentgens) in one hour at five 

centimeters from any accessible surface of the component 

when it is operated in an assembled X-ray system under 

any conditions for which it was designed. Compliance 

shall be determined by measurements averaged over an 
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area of 100 square centimeters with no linear dimension 

greater than 20 centimeters.  

5. Beam quality.  

a. Half-value layer.  

(1) The half-value layer of the useful beam for a given X-

ray tube potential shall not be less than the values shown 

in Table I. If it is necessary to determine such half-value 

layer at an X-ray tube potential that is not listed in Table 

I, linear interpolation or extrapolation may be made.  

 

TABLE I 

Design Operating 

Range (kVp) 

Measured 

Potential (kVp) 

Half-Value Layer In mm Aluminum 

Dental Intra-Oral Manufactured 

Before Aug. 1, 1974, and on or 

After Dec. 1, 1980 

All Other Diagnostic X-

ray Systems 

Below 51 30 N/A 0.3 

  40 N/A 0.4 

  50 1.5 0.5 

51 to 70 51 1.5 1.2 

  60 1.5 1.3 

  70 1.5 1.5 

Above 70 71 2.1 2.1 

  80 2.3 2.3 

  90 2.5 2.5 

  100 2.7 2.7 

  110 3.0 3.0 

  120 3.2 3.2 

  130 3.5 3.5 

  140 3.8 3.8 

  150 4.1 4.1 

(2) For capacitor energy storage equipment, compliance 

with the requirements of subdivision 5 a of this section 

shall be determined with the system fully charged and a 

setting of 10 mAs for each exposure.  

(3) The required minimal half-value layer of the useful 

beam shall include the filtration contributed by all 

materials which are permanently between the source and 

the patient.  

b. Filtration controls. For X-ray systems that have 

variable kVp and variable filtration for the useful beam, a 

device shall link the kVp selector with the filter(s) and 

shall prevent an exposure unless the minimum amount of 

filtration necessary to produce the HVL required by 

subdivision 5 a of this section is in the useful beam for 

the given kVp that has been selected.  

6. Multiple tubes. Where two or more radiographic tubes 

are controlled by one exposure switch, the tube or tubes 

that have been selected shall be clearly indicated prior to 

initiation of the exposure. This indication shall be both on 

the X-ray control panel and at or near the tube housing 

assembly that has been selected.  

7. Mechanical support of tube head. The tube housing 

assembly supports shall be adjusted such that the tube 

housing assembly will remain stable during an exposure 

unless tube housing movement is a designed function of 

the X-ray system.  

8. Technique indicators.  

a. The technique factors to be used during an exposure 

shall be indicated before the exposure begins. If 

automatic exposure controls are used, the technique 

factors which are set prior to the exposure shall be 

indicated.  

b. The requirement of subdivision 8 a of this section may 

be met by permanent markings on equipment having 

fixed technique factors. Indication of technique factors 
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shall be visible from the operator's position except in the 

case of spot films made by the fluoroscopist.  

9. Maintaining compliance. Diagnostic X-ray systems and 

their associated components used on humans and certified 

pursuant to the federal X-ray Equipment Performance 

Standard (21 CFR Part 1020) shall be maintained in 

compliance with applicable requirements of that standard.  

10. Locks. All position locking, holding, and centering 

devices on X-ray system components and systems shall 

function as intended.  

11. Mechanical timers. The use of a mechanical timer is 

prohibited.  

12VAC5-481-1601. General requirements for all 

diagnostic x-ray systems. 

In addition to other requirements of this part, all diagnostic 

x-ray systems shall meet the following requirements: 

1. Warning label. The control panel containing the main 

power switch shall bear the warning statement, legible and 

accessible to view:  

"WARNING: This x-ray unit may be dangerous to 

patient and operator unless safe exposure factors, 

operating instructions, and maintenance schedules are 

observed." 

2. Leakage radiation from the diagnostic source assembly. 

The leakage radiation from the diagnostic source assembly 

measured at a distance of one meter in any direction from 

the source shall not exceed 0.88 milligray (mGy) air kerma 

(100 milliroentgen (mR) exposure) in one hour when the x-

ray tube is operated at its leakage technique factors. If the 

maximum rated peak tube potential of the tube housing 

assembly is greater than the maximum rated peak tube 

potential for the diagnostic source assembly, positive 

means shall be provided to limit the maximum x-ray tube 

potential to that of the diagnostic source assembly. 

Compliance shall be determined by measurements 

averaged over an area of 100 square cm with no linear 

dimension greater than 20 cm. 

3. Radiation from components other than the diagnostic 

source assembly. The radiation emitted by a component 

other than the diagnostic source assembly shall not exceed 

an air kerma of 18 microgray (two milliroentgens 

exposure) in one hour at five cm from any accessible 

surface of the component when it is operated in an 

assembled x-ray system under any conditions for which it 

was designed. Compliance shall be determined by 

measurements averaged over an area of 100 square cm 

with no linear dimension greater than 20 cm. 

4. Beam quality half-value layer (HVL). 

a. The HVL of the useful beam for a given x-ray tube 

potential shall not be less than the values shown in Table 

1 (i) under the heading "Specified Dental Systems" for 

any dental x-ray system designed for use with intraoral 

image receptors and manufactured after December 1, 

1980; (ii) under the heading "I-Other X-Ray Systems" for 

any dental x-ray system designed for use with intraoral 

image receptors and manufactured before or on 

December 1, 1980, and all other x-ray systems subject to 

this section and manufactured before June 10, 2006; and 

(iii) under the heading "II-Other X-Ray Systems" for all 

x-ray systems, except dental x-ray systems designed for 

use with intraoral image receptors, subject to this section 

and manufactured on or after June 10, 2006.  If it is 

necessary to determine such half-value layer at an x-ray 

tube potential that is not listed in Table 1, linear 

interpolation or extrapolation may be made. Positive 

means shall be provided to ensure that at least the 

minimum filtration needed to achieve beam quality 

requirements is in the useful beam during each exposure. 

In the case of a system, which is to be operated with 

more than one thickness of filtration, this requirement 

can be met by a filter interlocked with the kilovoltage 

selector that will prevent x-ray emissions if the minimum 

required filtration is not in place. 

 

TABLE 1 

X-Ray Tube Voltage (kilovolt peak) 

Design Operating 

Range 

Measured Operating 

Potential 

Minimum HVL (mm in Aluminum) 

Specified Dental 

Systems
1
 

I-Other X-Ray 

Systems
2
 

II-Other X-Ray 

Systems
3
 

Below 51 30 1.5 0.3 0.3 

  40 1.5 0.4 0.4 

  50 1.5 0.5 0.5 

51 to 70 51 1.5 1.2 1.3 

  60 1.5 1.3 1.5 
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  70 1.5 1.5 1.8 

Above 70 71 2.1 2.1 2.5 

  80 2.3 2.3 2.9 

  90 2.5 2.5 3.2 

  100 2.7 2.7 3.6 

  110 3.0 3.0 3.9 

  120 3.2 3.2 4.3 

  130 3.5 3.5 4.7 

  140 3.8 3.8 5.0 

  150 4.1 4.1 5.4 

1
 Dental x-ray systems designed for use with intraoral image receptors and manufactured after December 1, 1980. 

2
 Dental x-ray systems designed for use with intraoral image receptors and manufactured before or on December 1, 1980, and 

all other x-ray systems subject to this section and manufactured before June 10, 2006. 
3
 All x-ray systems, except dental x-ray systems designed for use with intraoral image receptors, subject to this section and 

manufactured on or after June 10, 2006. 

b. Optional filtration. Fluoroscopic systems 

manufactured on or after June 10, 2006, incorporating an 

x-ray tube or tubes with a continuous output of one 

kilowatt or more and an anode heat storage capacity of 

one million heat units or more shall provide the option of 

adding x-ray filtration to the diagnostic source assembly 

in addition to the amount needed to meet the half-value 

layer provisions in Table 1. The selection of this 

additional x-ray filtration shall be either at the option of 

the user or automatic as part of the selected mode of 

operation. A means of indicating which combination of 

additional filtration is in the x-ray beam shall be 

provided. 

c. Measuring compliance. For capacitor energy storage 

equipment, compliance shall be determined with the 

maximum selectable quantity of charge per exposure.  

5. Aluminum equivalent of material between patient and 

image receptor. Except when used in a CT x-ray system, 

the aluminum equivalent of each of the items listed in 

Table 2, which are used between the patient and the image 

receptor, shall not exceed the indicated limits. Compliance 

shall be determined by x-ray measurements made at a 

potential of 100 kilovolts peak and with an x-ray beam that 

has an HVL specified in Table 1 for the potential. This 

requirement applies to front panel or panels of cassette 

holders and film changers provided by the manufacturer 

for patient support or for prevention of foreign object 

intrusions. It does not apply to screens and their associated 

mechanical support panels or grids.

 

TABLE 2 

Item Maximum 

Aluminum 

Equivalent (mm) 

Front panel(s) of cassette holders 

(total of all) 

1.2 

Film panel(s) of film changer (total 

of all) 

1.2 

Cradle 2.3 

Tabletop, stationary, without 

articulated joints 

1.2 

Tabletop, movable, without 

articulated joints (including 

stationary subtop) 

1.7 

Tabletop, with radiolucent panel 

having one articulated joint 

1.7 

Tabletop, with radiolucent panel 

having two or more articulated 

joints 

2.3 

Tabletop, cantilevered 2.3 

Tabletop, radiation therapy 

simulator 

5.0 

6. Battery charge indicator. On battery-powered 

generators, visual means shall be provided on the control 

panel to indicate whether the battery is in a state of charge 

adequate for proper operation. 
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7. Modification of certified diagnostic x-ray components 

and systems. 

a. Diagnostic x-ray components and systems certified in 

accordance with 21 CFR Part 1020 shall not be modified 

such that the component or system fails to comply with 

any applicable provision of this part.  

b. The owner of a diagnostic x-ray system who uses the 

system in a professional or commercial capacity may 

modify the system provided the modification does not 

result in the failure of the system or a component to 

comply with the applicable requirements of this part. The 

owner who causes such modification need not submit the 

reports required by this part, provided the owner records 

the date and the details of the modification in the system 

records and maintains this information, and provided the 

modification of the x-ray system does not result in a 

failure to comply with this part. 

8. Multiple tubes. Where two or more radiographic tubes 

are controlled by one exposure switch, the tube or tubes 

that have been selected shall be clearly indicated prior to 

initiation of the exposure. This indication shall be both on 

the x-ray control panel and at or near the tube housing 

assembly which has been selected. 

9. Mechanical support of tube head. The tube housing 

assembly supports shall be adjusted such that the tube 

housing assembly will remain stable during an exposure 

unless tube housing movement is a designed function of 

the x-ray system. 

10. Technique indicators. 

a. For x-ray equipment capable of displaying technique 

factors, the technique factors to be used during an 

exposure shall be indicated before the exposure begins. If 

automatic exposure controls are used, the technique 

factors that are set prior to the exposure shall be 

indicated. 

b. The requirement of subdivision 10 a of this subsection 

may be met by permanent markings on equipment having 

fixed technique factors.  Indication of technique factors 

shall be visible from the operator's position except in the 

case of spot films made by the fluoroscopist. 

11. Maintaining compliance. Diagnostic x-ray systems and 

their associated components used on humans and certified 

pursuant to the Federal X-Ray Equipment Performance 

Standard (21 CFR Part 1020) shall be maintained in 

compliance with applicable requirements of that standard. 

12. Locks. All position locking, holding, and centering 

devices on x-ray system components and systems shall 

function as intended. 

13. Mechanical timers. The use of mechanical timers is 

prohibited. 

12VAC5-481-1610. Fluoroscopic X-ray systems. 

(Repealed.) 

All fluoroscopic X-ray systems used shall be image 

intensified and meet the following requirements:  

1. Limitation of useful beam.  

a. Primary barrier.  

(1) The fluoroscopic imaging assembly shall be provided 

with a primary protective barrier that intercepts the entire 

cross section of the useful beam at any SID.  

(2) The X-ray tube used for fluoroscopy shall not 

produce X-rays unless the barrier is in position to 

intercept the entire useful beam.  

b. Fluoroscopic beam limitation.  

(1) For certified fluoroscopic systems with or without a 

spot film device, neither the length nor the width of the 

X-ray field in the plane of the image receptor shall 

exceed that of the visible area of the image receptor by 

more than 3.0% of the SID. The sum of the excess length 

and the excess width shall be no greater than 4.0% of the 

SID.  

(2) For uncertified fluoroscopic systems with a spot film 

device, the X-ray beam with the shutters fully opened 

(during fluoroscopy or spot filming) shall be no larger 

than the largest spot film size for which the device is 

designed. Measurements shall be made at the minimum 

SID available but at no less than 20 centimeters table top 

to the film plane distance.  

(3) For uncertified fluoroscopic systems without a spot 

film device, the requirements of subdivision b (1) of this 

section apply.  

(4) Other requirements for fluoroscopic beam limitation:  

(a) Means shall be provided to permit further limitation 

of the field. Beam-limiting devices manufactured after 

May 22, 1979, and incorporated in equipment with a 

variable SID and/or a visible area of greater than 300 

square centimeters shall be provided with means for 

stepless adjustment of the X-ray field;  

(b) All equipment with a fixed SID and a visible area of 

300 square centimeters or less shall be provided with 

either stepless adjustment of the X-ray field or with 

means to further limit the X-ray field size at the plane of 

the image receptor to 125 square centimeters or less;  

(c) If provided, stepless adjustment shall, at the greatest 

SID, provide continuous field sizes from the maximum 

attainable to a field size of five centimeters by five 

centimeters or less;  

(d) For equipment manufactured after February 25, 1978, 

when the angle between the image receptor and beam 

axis is variable, means shall be provided to indicate when 

the axis of the X-ray beam is perpendicular to the plane 

of the image receptor;  



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 2, 2013 

889 

(e) For noncircular X-ray fields used with circular image 

receptors, the error in alignment shall be determined 

along the length and width dimensions of the X-ray field 

that pass through the center of the visible area of the 

image receptor.  

c. Spot-film beam limitation. Spot-film devices shall 

meet the following requirements:  

(1) Means shall be provided between the source and the 

patient for adjustment of the X-ray field size in the plane 

of the film to the size of that portion of the film that has 

been selected on the spot film selector. Such adjustment 

shall be automatically accomplished except when the X-

ray field size in the plane of the film is smaller than that 

of the selected portion of the film. For spot film devices 

manufactured after June 21, 1979, if the X-ray field size 

is less than the size of the selected portion of the film, the 

means for adjustment of the field size shall be only at the 

operator's option;  

(2) Neither the length nor the width of the X-ray field in 

the plane of the image receptor shall differ from the 

corresponding dimensions of the selected portion of the 

image receptor by more than 3.0% of the SID when 

adjusted for full coverage of the selected portion of the 

image receptor. The sum, without regard to sign, of the 

length and width differences shall not exceed 4.0% of the 

SID;  

(3) It shall be possible to adjust the X-ray field size in the 

plane of the film to a size smaller than the selected 

portion of the film. The minimum field size at the 

greatest SID shall be equal to, or less than, five 

centimeters by five centimeters;  

(4) The center of the X-ray field in the plane of the film 

shall be aligned with the center of the selected portion of 

the film to within 2.0% of the SID; and  

(5) On spot-film devices manufactured after February 25, 

1978, if the angle between the plane of the image 

receptor and beam axis is variable, means shall be 

provided to indicate when the axis of the X-ray beam is 

perpendicular to the plane of the image receptor, and 

compliance shall be determined with the beam axis 

indicated to be perpendicular to the plane of the image 

receptor.  

d. Override. If a means exists to override any of the 

automatic X-ray field size adjustments required in 

subdivisions 1 b and c of this section that means:  

(1) Shall be designed for use only in the event of system 

failure;  

(2) Shall incorporate a signal visible at the fluoroscopist's 

position that will indicate whenever the automatic field 

size adjustment is overridden; and  

(3) Shall be clearly and durably labeled as follows:  

FOR X-RAY FIELD LIMITATION SYSTEM FAILURE  

2. Activation of the fluoroscopic tube. X-ray production in 

the fluoroscopic mode shall be controlled by a device that 

requires continuous pressure by the fluoroscopist for the 

entire time of any exposure. When recording serial 

fluoroscopic images, the fluoroscopist shall be able to 

terminate the X-ray exposure(s) at any time, but means 

may be provided to permit completion of any single 

exposure of the series in process.  

3. Exposure rate limits.  

a. Entrance exposure rate allowable limits.  

(1) Fluoroscopic equipment which is provided with 

automatic exposure rate control shall not be operable at 

any combination of tube potential and current which will 

result in an exposure rate in excess of 2.6 mC/kg (10 

roentgens) per minute at the point where the center of the 

useful beam enters the patient, except:  

(a) During recording of fluoroscopic images; or  

(b) When an optional high level control is provided. 

When so provided, the equipment shall not be operable at 

any combination of tube potential and current that will 

result in an exposure rate in excess of 5.2 mC/kg-min (20 

R/min) at the point where the center of the useful beam 

enters the patient unless the high level control is 

activated. Special means of activation of high level 

controls shall be required. The high level control shall 

only be operable when continuous manual activation is 

provided by the operator. A continuous signal audible to 

the fluoroscopist shall indicate that the high level control 

is being employed.  

(2) Fluoroscopic equipment that is not provided with 

automatic exposure rate control shall not be operable at 

any combination of tube potential and current that will 

result in a exposure rate in excess of 1.3 mC/kg (5 

roentgens) per minute at the point where the center of the 

useful beam enters the patient, except:  

(a) During recording of fluoroscopic images; or  

(b) When an optional high level control is activated. 

Special means of activation of high level controls shall 

be required. The high level control shall only be operable 

when continuous manual activation is provided by the 

operator. A continuous signal audible to the fluoroscopist 

shall indicate that the high level control is being 

employed.  

(3) Compliance with the requirements of subdivision 3 of 

this section shall be determined as follows:  

(a) If the source is below the X-ray table, the exposure 

rate shall be measured one centimeter above the tabletop 

or cradle;  

(b) If the source is above the X-ray table, the exposure 

rate shall be measured at 30 centimeters above the 

tabletop with the end of the beam-limiting device or 
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spacer positioned as closely as possible to the point of 

measurement;  

(c) For a C-arm type of fluoroscope, the exposure rate 

shall be measured 30 centimeters from the input surface 

of the fluoroscopic imaging assembly, with the source 

positioned at any available SID, provided that the end of 

the beam-limiting device or spacer is no closer than 30 

centimeters from the input surface of the fluoroscopic 

imaging assembly;  

(d) For a lateral type fluoroscope, the exposure rate shall 

be measured at a point 15 centimeters from the centerline 

of the X-ray table and in the direction of the X-ray source 

with the end of the beam-limiting device or spacer 

positioned as closely as possible to the point of 

measurement. If the tabletop is movable, it shall be 

positioned as closely as possible to the lateral X-ray 

source, with the end of the beam-limiting device or 

spacer no closer than 15 centimeters to the centerline of 

the X-ray table.  

b. Periodic measurement of entrance exposure rate shall 

be performed by a private inspector for both typical and 

maximum values as follows:  

(1) Such measurements shall be made annually or after 

any maintenance of the system that might affect the 

exposure rate;  

(2) Results of these measurements shall be posted where 

any fluoroscopist may have ready access to such results 

while using the fluoroscope and in the record required in 

12VAC5-481-1590 A 12 c. The measurement results 

shall be stated in coulombs per kilogram (roentgens) per 

minute and include the technique factors used in 

determining such results. The name of the individual 

performing the measurements and the date the 

measurements were performed shall be included in the 

results;  

(3) Conditions of periodic measurement of typical 

entrance exposure rate are as follows:  

(a) The measurement shall be made under the conditions 

that satisfy the requirements of subdivision 3 a (3) of this 

section;  

(b) The kVp, mA, and/or other selectable parameters 

shall be adjusted to those settings typical of clinical use 

on a 23 cm thick abdominal patient;  

(c) The X-ray system that incorporates automatic 

exposure rate control shall have sufficient attenuative 

material placed in the useful beam to produce a 

milliamperage and/or kilovoltage to satisfy the conditions 

of subdivision 3 b (3) (b) of this section.  

(4) Conditions of periodic measurement of maximum 

entrance exposure rate are as follows:  

(a) The measurement shall be made under the conditions 

that satisfy the requirements of subdivision 3 a (3) of this 

setion1;  

(b) The kVp, mA and/or other selectable parameters shall 

be adjusted to those settings which give the maximum 

entrance exposure rate;  

(c) The X-ray system(s) that incorporates automatic 

exposure rate control shall have sufficient attenuative 

material placed in the useful beam to produce the 

maximum entrance exposure rate of the system.  

4. Barrier transmitted radiation rate limits.  

a. The exposure rate due to transmission through the 

primary protective barrier with the attenuation block in 

the useful beam, combined with radiation from the image 

intensifier, if provided, shall not exceed 0.5 

%v(508)%E2%vC/kg (2 milliroentgens) per hour at 10 

centimeters from any accessible surface of the 

fluoroscopic imaging assembly beyond the plane of the 

image receptor for each mC/kg (roentgen) per minute of 

entrance exposure rate.  

b. Measuring compliance of barrier transmission.  

(1) The exposure rate due to transmission through the 

primary protective barrier combined with radiation from 

the image intensifier shall be determined by 

measurements averaged over an area of 100 square 

centimeters with no linear dimension greater than 20 

centimeters.  

(2) If the source is below the tabletop, the measurement 

shall be made with the input surface of the fluoroscopic 

imaging assembly positioned 30 centimeters above the 

tabletop.  

(3) If the source is above the tabletop and the SID is 

variable, the measurement shall be made with the end of 

the beam-limiting device or spacer as close to the 

tabletop as it can be placed, provided that it shall not be 

closer than 30 centimeters.  

(4) Movable grids and compression devices shall be 

removed from the useful beam during the measurement.  

5. Indication of potential and current. During fluoroscopy 

and cinefluorography, the kV and the mA shall be 

continuously indicated.  

6. Source-to-skin distance. The SSD shall not be less than:  

a. Thirty-eight centimeters on stationary fluoroscopic 

systems manufactured on or after August 1, 1974;  

b. Thirty-five and one-half centimeters on stationary 

fluoroscopic systems manufactured prior to August 1, 

1974;  

c. Thirty centimeters on all mobile fluoroscopes;  

d. Twenty centimeters for all mobile fluoroscopes when 

used for specific surgical applications; or  

e. Nine centimeters for all portable fluoroscopes when 

used for special applications.  
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7. Fluoroscopic timer.  

a. Means shall be provided to preset the cumulative on-

time of the fluoroscopic X-ray tube. The maximum 

cumulative time of the timing device shall not exceed 

five minutes without resetting.  

b. A signal audible to the fluoroscopist shall indicate the 

completion of any preset cumulative on-time. Such signal 

shall continue to sound while X-rays are produced until 

the timing device is reset.  

8. Control of scattered radiation.  

a. Fluoroscopic table designs when combined with 

procedures utilized shall be such that no unprotected part 

of any staff or ancillary individual's body shall be 

exposed to unattenuated scattered radiation that 

originates from under the table. The attenuation required 

shall be not less than 0.25 millimeter lead equivalent.  

b. Equipment configuration when combined with 

procedures shall be such that no portion of any staff or 

ancillary individual's body, except the extremities, shall 

be exposed to the unattenuated scattered radiation 

emanating from above the tabletop unless that individual:  

(1) Is at least 120 centimeters from the center of the 

useful beam; or  

(2) The radiation has passed through not less than 0.25 

millimeter lead equivalent material including, but not 

limited to, drapes, Bucky-slot cover panel, or self-

supporting curtains, in addition to any lead equivalency 

provided by the protective apron referred to in 12VAC5-

481-1590 A 5.  

c. The agency may grant exemptions to subdivision 8 b 

of this section where a sterile field will not permit the use 

of the normal protective barriers. Where the use of 

prefitted sterilized covers for the barriers is practical, the 

agency shall not permit such exemption. The following is 

a suggested list of fluoroscopic procedures where such 

exemptions will be automatically granted: angiograms, 

arthrograms, biliary drainage procedures, fluoroscopic 

biopsy procedures, myelograms, percutaneous 

cholangiograms, percutaneous nephrostomies, sinograms 

or fistulograms, t-tube cholangiograms, interventional 

cardiac catheterization, and interventional special 

procedures.  

9. Spot-film exposure reproducibility. Fluoroscopic 

systems equipped with spot-film (radiographic) mode shall 

meet the exposure reproducibility requirements of 

12VAC5-481-1620 D when operating in the spot film 

mode.  

10. Radiation therapy simulation systems. Radiation 

therapy simulation systems shall be exempt from all the 

requirements of subdivision 3 of this section. In addition, 

these systems shall be exempt from:  

a. The requirements of subdivisions 1 and 4 of this 

section provided such systems are designed and used in 

such a manner that no individual other than the patient is 

in the X-ray room during periods of time when the 

system is producing X-rays; and  

b. The requirements of subdivision 7 of this section if 

such systems are provided with a means of indicating the 

cumulative time that an individual patient has been 

exposed to X-rays. Procedures shall require in such cases 

that the timer be reset between examinations.  

11. Surveys. Radiation safety and equipment performance 

surveys shall be performed annually on all fluoroscopic X-

ray systems by or under the direct supervision of a private 

or state inspector who is physically present at the facility 

during the inspection in order to assure compliance with 

these regulations.  

12VAC5-481-1611. Fluoroscopic equipment. 

A. The provisions of this section apply to equipment for 

fluoroscopic imaging or for recording images from the 

fluoroscopic image receptor, except computed tomography x-

ray systems manufactured on or after November 29, 1984. 

B. Primary protective barrier. 

1. Limitation of useful beam. The fluoroscopic imaging 

assembly shall be provided with a primary protective 

barrier that intercepts the entire cross section of the useful 

beam at any SID. The x-ray tube used for fluoroscopy shall 

not produce x-rays unless the barrier is in position to 

intercept the entire useful beam. The AKR due to 

transmission through the barrier with the attenuation block 

in the useful beam combined with radiation from the 

fluoroscopic imaging receptor shall not exceed 3.34x10
-3

% 

of the entrance AKR, at a distance of 10 cm from any 

accessible surface of the fluoroscopic imaging assembly 

beyond the plane of the image receptor. Radiation therapy 

simulation systems shall be exempt from this requirement 

provided the systems are intended only for remote control 

operation. 

2. Measuring compliance. The AKR shall be measured in 

accordance with subsection E of this section. The AKR due 

to transmission through the primary barrier combined with 

radiation from the fluoroscopic image receptor shall be 

determined by measurements averaged over an area of 100 

square cm with no linear dimension greater than 20 cm. If 

the source is below the tabletop, the measurement shall be 

made with the input surface of the fluoroscopic imaging 

assembly positioned 30 cm above the tabletop. If the 

source is above the tabletop and the SID is variable, the 

measurement shall be made with the end of the beam-

limiting device or spacer as close to the tabletop as it can 

be placed, provided that it shall not be closer than 30 cm. 

Movable grids and compression devices shall be removed 

from the useful beam during the measurement. For all 

measurements, the attenuation block shall be positioned in 

the useful beam 10 cm from the point of measurement of 

entrance AKR and between this point and the input surface 

of the fluoroscopic imaging assembly.  
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C. Field limitation.  

1. Angulation. For fluoroscopic equipment manufactured 

after February 25, 1978, when the angle between the image 

receptor and the beam axis of the x-ray beam is variable, 

means shall be provided to indicate when the axis of the x-

ray beam is perpendicular to the plane of the image 

receptor. Compliance with subdivisions 4 and 5 of this 

subsection shall be determined with the beam axis 

indicated to be perpendicular to the plane of the image 

receptor. 

2. Further means for limitation. Means shall be provided to 

permit further limitation of the x-ray field to sizes smaller 

than the limits of subdivisions 4 and 5 of this subsection. 

Beam-limiting devices manufactured after May 22, 1979, 

and incorporated in equipment with a variable SID or 

capability of a visible area of greater than 300 square cm, 

shall be provided with means for stepless adjustment of the 

x-ray field. Equipment with a fixed SID and the capability 

of a visible area of no greater than 300 square cm shall be 

provided with either stepless adjustment of the x-ray field 

or with a means to further limit the x-ray field size at the 

plane of the image receptor to 125 square cm or less. 

Stepless adjustment shall, at the greatest SID, provide 

continuous field sizes from the maximum obtainable to a 

field size containable in a square of five cm by five cm. 

This paragraph does not apply to non-image-intensified 

fluoroscopy.  

3. Non-image-intensified fluoroscopy. The x-ray field 

produced by non-image-intensified fluoroscopic equipment 

shall not extend beyond the entire visible area of the image 

receptor. Means shall be provided for stepless adjustment 

of field size. The minimum field size, at the greatest SID, 

shall be containable in a square of five cm by five cm. 

4. Fluoroscopy and radiography using the fluoroscopic 

imaging assembly with inherently circular image receptors. 

a. For fluoroscopic equipment manufactured before June 

10, 2006, other than radiation therapy simulation 

systems, the following applies: 

(1) Neither the length nor width of the x-ray field in the 

plane of the image receptor shall exceed that of the 

visible area of the image receptor by more than 3.0% of 

the SID. The sum of the excess length and the excess 

width shall be no greater than 4.0% of the SID. 

(2) For rectangular x-ray fields used with circular image 

receptors, the error in alignment shall be determined 

along the length and width dimensions of the x-ray field 

that pass through the center of the visible area of the 

image receptor. 

b. For fluoroscopic equipment manufactured on or after 

June 10, 2006, other than radiation simulation systems, 

the maximum area of the x-ray field in the plane of the 

image receptor shall conform with one of the following 

requirements: 

(1) When any linear dimension of the visible area of the 

image receptor measured through the center of the visible 

area is less than or equal to 34 cm in any direction, at 

least 80% of the area of the x-ray field overlaps the 

visible area of the image receptor; or 

(2) When any linear dimension of the visible area of the 

image receptor measured through the center of the visible 

area is greater than 34 cm in any direction, the x-ray field 

measured along the direction of greatest misalignment 

with the visible area of the image receptor does not 

extend beyond the edge of the visible area of the image 

receptor by more than two cm. 

5. Fluoroscopy and radiography using fluoroscopic 

imaging assembly with inherently rectangular image 

receptors. For x-ray systems manufactured on or after June 

10, 2006, the following applies: 

a. Neither the length nor width of the x-ray field in the 

plane of the image receptor shall exceed that of the 

visible area of the image receptor by more than 3.0% of 

the SID. The sum of the excess length and the excess 

width shall be no greater than 4.0% of the SID. 

b. The error in alignment shall be determined along the 

length and width dimensions of the x-ray field that pass 

through the center of the visible area of the image 

receptor. 

If the fluoroscopic x-ray field size is adjusted automatically 

as the SID or image receptor size is changed, a capability 

may be provided for overriding the automatic adjustment 

in case of system failure. If it is so provided, a signal 

visible at the fluoroscopist’s position shall indicate 

whenever the automatic field adjustment is overridden. 

Each such system failure override switch shall be clearly 

labeled as follows: 

"For X-Ray Field Limitation System Failure" 

D. Activation of tube. X-ray production in the fluoroscopic 

mode shall be controlled by a device that requires continuous 

pressure by the operator for the entire time of any exposure. 

When recording serial radiographic images from the 

fluoroscopic image receptor, the operator shall be able to 

terminate the x-ray exposure or exposures at any time, but 

means may be provided to permit completion of any single 

exposure of the series in process. 

E. Air kerma rates. For fluoroscopic equipment, the 

following requirements apply: 

1. Fluoroscopic equipment manufactured before May 19, 

1995. 

a. Equipment provided with automatic exposure rate 

control (AERC) shall not be operable at any combination 

of tube potential and current that will result in an AKR in 

excess of 88 mGy per minute (10 R/min exposure rate) at 

the measurement point specified in subdivision 3 of this 

subsection, except as specified in subdivision 1 e of this 

subsection.  
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b. Equipment provided without AERC shall not be 

operable at any combination of tube potential and current 

that will result in an AKR in excess of 44 mGy per 

minute (5 R/min exposure rate) at the measurement point 

specified in subdivision 3 of this subsection, except as 

specified in subdivision 1 e of this subsection. 

c. Equipment provided with both an AERC mode and a 

manual mode shall not be operable at any combination of 

tube potential and current that will result in an AKR in 

excess of 88 mGy per minute (10 R/min exposure rate) in 

either mode at the measurement point specified in 

subdivision 3 of this subsection, except as specified in 

subdivision 1 e of this subsection. 

d. Equipment may be modified in accordance with this 

part to comply with subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

When the equipment is modified, it shall bear a label 

indicating the date of the modification and the statement:  

"Modified to comply with 21 CFR 1020.32(h)(2)" 

e. Exceptions: 

(1) During recording of fluoroscopic images; or 

(2) When a mode of operation has an optional high-level 

control, in which case that mode shall not be operable at 

any combination of tube potential and current that will 

result in an AKR in excess of any of the rates specified in 

subdivisions 1 a, b, and c of this subsection at the 

measurement point specified in subdivision 3 of this 

subsection, unless the high-level control is activated. 

Special means of activation of high-level controls shall 

be required. The high-level control shall be operable only 

when continuous manual activation is provided by the 

operator. A continuous signal audible to the fluoroscopist 

shall indicate that the high-level control is being 

employed. 

2. Fluoroscopic equipment manufactured on or after May 

19, 1995. 

a. Equipment shall be equipped with AERC if operable at 

any combination of tube potential and current that results 

in an AKR greater than 44 mGy per minute (5 R/min 

exposure rate) at the measurement point specified in 

subdivision 3 of this subsection. Provision or manual 

selection of technique factors may be provided. 

b. Equipment shall not be operable at any combination of 

tube potential and current that will result in an AKR in 

excess of 88 mGy per minute (10 R/min exposure rate) at 

the measurement point specified in subdivision 3 of this 

subsection, except as specified in subdivision 2 c of this 

subsection. 

c. Exceptions: 

(1) For equipment manufactured prior to June 10, 2006, 

during the recording of images from the fluoroscopic 

image receptor using photographic film or a video 

camera when the x-ray source is operated in a pulsed 

mode. 

(2) For equipment manufactured on or after June 10, 

2006, during the recording of images from the 

fluoroscopic image receptor for the purpose of providing 

the user with a recorded image or images after 

termination of the exposure. Such recording does not 

include images resulting from a last-image-hold feature 

that are not recorded. 

(3) When a mode of operation has an optional high-level 

control and the control is activated, in which case the 

equipment shall not be operable at any combination of 

tube potential and current that will result in an AKR in 

excess of 176 mGy per minute (20 R/min exposure rate) 

at the measurement point specified in subdivision 3 of 

this subsection. Special means of activation of high-level 

controls shall be required. The high-level control shall be 

operable only when continuous manual activation is 

provided by the operator. A continuous signal audible to 

the fluoroscopist shall indicate that the high-level control 

is employed. 

3. Measuring compliance. Compliance with this subsection 

shall be determined as follows: 

a. If the source is below the x-ray table, the AKR shall be 

measured at one cm above the tabletop or cradle. 

b. If the source is above the x-ray table, the AKR shall be 

measured at 30 cm above the tabletop with the end of the 

beam-limiting device or spacer positioned as closely as 

possible to the point of measurement. 

c. In a C-arm type of fluoroscope, the AKR shall be 

measured at 30 cm from the input surface of the 

fluoroscopic imaging assembly, with the source 

positioned at any available SID, provided that the end of 

the beam-limiting device or spacer is no closer than 30 

cm from the input surface of the fluoroscopic imaging 

assembly. 

d. In a C-arm type of fluoroscope having an SID less than 

45 cm, the AKR shall be measured at the minimum SSD. 

e. In a lateral type of fluoroscope, the air kerma rate shall 

be measured at a point 15 cm from the centerline of the 

x-ray table and in the direction of the x-ray source with 

the end of the beam-limiting device or spacer positioned 

as closely as possible to the point of measurement. If the 

tabletop is movable, it shall be positioned as closely as 

possible to the lateral x-ray source, with the end of the 

beam-limiting device or spacer no closer than 15 cm to 

the centerline of the x-ray table. 

4. Exemptions. Fluoroscopic radiation therapy simulation 

systems are exempt from the requirements set forth in this 

subsection when used for therapy simulation purposes. 

F. Reserved. 

G. Indication of potential and current. During fluoroscopy 

and cinefluorography, x-ray tube potential and current shall 

be continuously indicated. Deviation of x-ray tube potential 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 2, 2013 

894 

and current from the indicated value shall not exceed the 

maximum deviation as stated by the manufacturer. 

H. Source-skin distance.  

1. Means shall be provided to limit the source-skin distance 

to not less than 38 cm on stationary fluoroscopes and to not 

less than 30 cm on mobile and portable fluoroscopes. In 

addition, for fluoroscopes intended for specific surgical 

application that would be prohibited at the source-skin 

distances specified in this subsection, provisions may be 

made for operating at shorter source-skin distances but in 

no case less than 20 cm. 

2. For stationary, mobile, or portable C-arm fluoroscopic 

systems manufactured on or after June 10, 2006, having a 

maximum source-image receptor distance of less than 45 

cm, means shall be provided to limit the source-skin 

distance to not less than 19 cm. Such systems shall be 

labeled for extremity use only. In addition, for those 

systems intended for specific surgical application that 

would be prohibited at the source-skin distance specified in 

this subsection, provisions may be made for operation at 

shorter source-skin distances but in no case less than 10 

cm. 

I. Fluoroscopic irradiation time, display, and signal. 

1. Fluoroscopic equipment manufactured before June 10, 

2006. 

a. Equipment shall be provided with means to preset the 

cumulative irradiation time of the fluoroscopic tube. The 

maximum cumulative time of the timing device shall not 

exceed five minutes without resetting. A signal audible to 

the fluoroscopist shall indicate the completion of any 

preset cumulative irradiation time. Such signal shall 

continue to sound while x-rays are produced until the 

timing device is reset. Fluoroscopic equipment may be 

modified in accordance with 21 CFR 1020.30(q) to 

comply with the requirements of this subdivision. When 

the equipment is modified, it shall bear a label indicating 

the statement: 

"Modified to comply with 21 CFR 1020.32(h)(2)" 

b. As an alternative to the requirements of this 

subsection, radiation therapy simulation systems may be 

provided with a means to indicate the total cumulative 

exposure time during which x-rays were produced, and 

which is capable of being reset between x-ray 

examinations. 

2. For x-ray controls manufactured on or after June 10, 

2006, there shall be provided for each fluoroscopic tube: 

a. A display of the fluoroscopic irradiation time at the 

fluoroscopist's working position. This display shall 

function independently of the audible signal described in 

this subsection. The following requirements apply: 

(1) When the x-ray tube is activated, the fluoroscopic 

irradiation time in minutes and tenths of minutes shall be 

continuously displayed and updated at least once every 

six seconds. 

(2) The fluoroscopic irradiation time shall also be 

displayed within six seconds of termination of an 

exposure and remain displayed until reset. 

(3) Means shall be provided to reset the display to zero 

prior to the beginning of a new examination or 

procedure. 

b. A signal audible to the fluoroscopist shall sound for 

each passage of five minutes of fluoroscopic irradiation 

time during an examination or procedure. The signal 

shall sound until manually reset or, if automatically reset, 

for at least two seconds. 

J. Mobile and portable fluoroscopes. In addition to the other 

requirements of this subsection, mobile and portable 

fluoroscopes shall provide an image receptor incorporating 

more than a simple fluorescent screen. 

K. Display of last-image-hold (LIH). Fluoroscopic 

equipment manufactured on or after June 10, 2006, shall be 

equipped with means to display LIH image following 

termination of the fluoroscopic exposure. 

1. For an LIH image obtained by retaining pretermination 

fluoroscopic images, if the number of images and method 

of combining images are selectable by the user, the 

selection shall be indicated prior to initiation of the 

fluoroscopic exposure. 

2. For an LIH image obtained by initiating a separate 

radiographic-like exposure at the termination of 

fluoroscopic imaging, the technique factors for the LIH 

image shall be selectable prior to the fluoroscopic 

exposure, and the combination selected shall be indicated 

prior to initiation of the fluoroscopic exposure. 

3. Means shall be provided to clearly indicate to the user 

whether a displayed image is the LIH radiograph or 

fluoroscopy. Display of the LIH radiograph shall be 

replaced by the fluoroscopic image concurrently with re-

initiation of fluoroscopic exposure, unless separate 

displays are provided for the LIH radiograph and 

fluoroscopic images. 

L. Displays of values of AKR and cumulative air kerma. 

Fluoroscopic equipment manufactured on or after June 10, 

2006, shall display at the fluoroscopist's working position the 

AKR and cumulative air kerma. The following requirements 

apply for each x-ray tube used during an examination or 

procedure: 

1. When the x-ray tube is activated and the number of 

images produced per unit time is greater than six images 

per second, the AKR in mGy/min shall be continuously 

displayed and updated at least once every second. 

2. The cumulative air kerma in units of mGy shall be 

displayed either within five seconds of termination of an 

exposure or displayed continuously and updated at least 

once every five seconds. 
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3. The display of the AKR shall be clearly distinguishable 

from the display of the cumulative air kerma. 

4. The AKR and cumulative air kerma shall represent the 

value for conditions of free-in-air irradiation at one of the 

following reference locations specified according to the 

type of fluoroscope.  

a. For fluoroscopes with x-ray source below the x-ray 

table, x-ray source above the table, or of lateral type, the 

reference location shall be the respective locations 

specified in subdivision E 3 a or E 3 e of this section. 

b. For C-arm fluoroscopes, the reference location shall be 

15 cm from the isocenter toward the x-ray source along 

the beam axis. Alternatively, the reference location shall 

be at a point specified by the manufacturer to represent 

the location of the intersection of the x-ray beam with the 

patient's skin. 

5. Means shall be provided to reset to zero the display of 

cumulative air kerma prior to the commencement of a new 

examination or procedure. 

6. The displayed AKR and cumulative air kerma shall not 

deviate from the actual values by more than ±35% over the 

range of six mGy/min and 100 mGy to the maximum 

indication of AKR and cumulative air kerma, respectively. 

Compliance shall be determined with an irradiation time 

greater than three seconds. 

M. Control of scattered radiation. 

1. Fluoroscopic table designs when combined with 

procedures utilized shall be such that no unprotected part 

of any staff or ancillary individual's body shall be exposed 

to unattenuated scattered radiation that originates from 

under the table. The attenuation required shall be not less 

than 0.25 mm lead equivalent. 

2. Equipment configuration when combined with 

procedures shall be such that no portion of any staff or 

ancillary individual's body, except the extremities, shall be 

exposed to the unattenuated scattered radiation emanating 

from above the tabletop unless that individual: 

a. Is at least 120 centimeters from the center of the useful 

beam; or 

b. The radiation has passed through not less than 0.25 

mm lead equivalent material including, but not limited to, 

drapes, Bucky-slot cover panel, or self-supporting 

curtains, in addition to any lead equivalency provided by 

the protective apron referred to in 12VAC5-481-1591 A 

5. 

3. The agency may grant exemptions to subdivision 2 of 

this subsection where a sterile field will not permit the use 

of the normal protective barriers. Where the use of 

prefitted sterilized covers for the barriers is practical, the 

agency shall not permit such exemption. 

N. Operator qualifications. The facility shall ensure that only 

a licensed practitioner of the healing arts or a radiologic 

technologist or equivalent be allowed to operate fluoroscopic 

x-ray systems.  

O. Equipment operation. 

1. All imaging formed by the use of fluoroscopic x-ray 

systems shall be viewed, directly or indirectly, and 

interpreted by a licensed practitioner of the healing arts. 

2. The operation of fluoroscopic x-ray systems by 

radiologic technologists or equivalent shall be performed 

under the direct supervision of a licensed practitioner of 

the healing arts. 

3. Radiologic technology students shall not be allowed to 

operate fluoroscopic x-ray systems unless directly 

supervised by a licensed practitioner of the healing arts or 

radiologic technologist as specified in subsection N of this 

section. 

4. Overhead fluoroscopy shall not be used as a positioning 

tool for general purpose radiographic examinations. 

5. Facilities shall maintain a record of the cumulative 

fluoroscopic exposure time used and the number of 

fluorographic images recorded for each examination. This 

record shall include patient identification, type and date of 

examination, the fluoroscopic system used, and operator's 

name. 

P. Surveys. Radiation safety and equipment performance 

surveys shall be performed annually on all fluoroscopic x-ray 

systems by or under the direct supervision of a private or state 

inspector who is physically present at the facility during the 

inspection in order to assure compliance with these 

regulations. 

12VAC5-481-1620. Radiographic systems other than 

fluoroscopic, dental intraoral, or computed tomography 

X-ray systems. (Repealed.) 

A. Beam limitation, except mammographic systems. The 

useful beam shall be limited to the area of clinical interest. 

This shall be deemed to have been met if a positive beam 

limiting device meeting manufacturer's specifications and the 

requirements of 12VAC5-481-1620 H 2 has been properly 

used or if evidence of collimation is shown on at least three 

sides or three corners of the film (for example, projections 

from the shutters of the collimator, cone cutting at the 

corners, or borders at the film's edge).  

1. General purpose stationary and mobile X-ray systems, 

including veterinary systems (other than portable) installed 

after September 20, 2006.  

a. Only X-ray systems provided with means for 

independent stepless adjustment of at least two 

dimensions of the X-ray field shall be used.  

b. A method shall be provided for visually defining the 

perimeter of the X-ray field. The total misalignment of 

the edges of the visually defined field with the respective 

edges of the X-ray field along either the length or width 

of the visually defined field shall not exceed 2.0% of the 
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distance from the source to the center of the visually 

defined field when the surface upon which it appears is 

perpendicular to the axis of the X-ray beam.  

c. The agency may grant an exemption on noncertified 

X-ray systems to subdivisions 1 a and b of this 

subsection provided the registrant makes a written 

application for such exemption and in that application:  

(1) Demonstrates it is impractical to comply with 

subdivisions 1 a and b of this subsection; and  

(2) The purpose of subdivisions 1 a and b of this 

subsection will be met by other methods.  

2. Additional requirements for stationary general purpose 

X-ray systems. In addition to the requirements of 

subdivision 1 of this subsection, stationary general purpose 

X-ray systems, both certified and noncertified, shall meet 

the following requirements:  

a. A method shall be provided to indicate when the axis 

of the X-ray beam is perpendicular to the plane of the 

image receptor, to align the center of the X-ray field with 

respect to the center of the image receptor to within 2.0% 

of the SID, and to indicate the SID to within 2.0%;  

b. The beam-limiting device shall indicate numerically 

the field size in the plane of the image receptor to which 

it is adjusted; and  

c. Indication of field size dimensions and SID's shall be 

specified in inches and/or centimeters, and shall be such 

that aperture adjustments result in X-ray field dimensions 

in the plane of the image receptor that correspond to 

those indicated by the beam-limiting device to within 

2.0% of the SID when the beam axis is indicated to be 

perpendicular to the plane of the image receptor.  

3. X-ray systems designed for one image receptor size. 

Radiographic equipment designed for only one image 

receptor size at a fixed SID shall be provided with means 

to limit the field at the plane of the image receptor to 

dimensions no greater than those of the image receptor, 

and to align the center of the X-ray field with the center of 

the image receptor to within 2.0% of the SID, or shall be 

provided with means to both size and align the X-ray field 

such that the X-ray field at the plane of the image receptor 

does not extend beyond any edge of the image receptor.  

4. X-ray systems other than those described in subdivisions 

1 through 3 of this subsection, and veterinary systems 

installed prior to September 20, 2006, and all portable 

veterinary X-ray systems.  

a. Means shall be provided to limit the X-ray field in the 

plane of the image receptor so that such field does not 

exceed each dimension of the image receptor by more 

than 2.0% of the SID when the axis of the X-ray beam is 

perpendicular to the plane of the image receptor.  

b. Means shall be provided to align the center of the X-

ray field with the center of the image receptor to within 

2.0% of the SID, or means shall be provided to both size 

and align the X-ray field such that the X-ray field at the 

plane of the image receptor does not extend beyond any 

edge of the image receptor. Compliance shall be 

determined with the axis of the X-ray beam 

perpendicular to the plane of the image receptor.  

c. Subdivisions 4 a and b of this subsection may be met 

with a system that meets the requirements for a general 

purpose X-ray system as specified in subdivision 1 of 

this subsection or, when alignment means are also 

provided, may be met with either:  

(1) An assortment of removable, fixed-aperture, beam-

limiting devices sufficient to meet the requirement for 

each combination of image receptor size and SID for 

which the unit is designed with each such device having 

clear and permanent markings to indicate the image 

receptor size and SID for which it is designed; or  

(2) A beam-limiting device having multiple fixed 

apertures sufficient to meet the requirement for each 

combination of image receptor size and SID for which 

the unit is designed. Permanent, clearly legible markings 

shall indicate the image receptor size and SID for which 

each aperture is designed and shall indicate which 

aperture is in position for use.  

B. Radiation exposure control.  

1. Exposure initiation. Means shall be provided to initiate 

the radiation exposure by a deliberate action on the part of 

the operator, such as the depression of a switch. Radiation 

exposure shall not be initiated without such an action. In 

addition, it shall not be possible to initiate an exposure 

when the timer is set to a "zero" or "off" position if either 

position is provided.  

2. Exposure indication. Means shall be provided for visual 

indication observable at or from the operator's protected 

position whenever X-rays are produced. In addition, a 

signal audible to the operator shall indicate that the 

exposure has terminated.  

3. Exposure termination. Means shall be provided to 

terminate the exposure at a preset time interval, preset 

product of current and time, a preset number of pulses, or a 

preset radiation exposure to the image receptor. Except for 

dental panoramic systems, termination of an exposure shall 

cause automatic resetting of the timer to its initial setting or 

to "zero."  

a. Manual exposure control. An X-ray control shall be 

incorporated into each X-ray system such that an 

exposure can be terminated by the operator at any time 

except for:  

(1) Exposure of two seconds or less; or  

(2) During serial radiography when means shall be 

provided to permit completion of any single exposure of 

the series in process.  

b. Automatic exposure controls. When an automatic 

exposure control is provided:  
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(1) Indication shall be made on the control panel when 

this mode of operation is selected;  

(2) If the X-ray tube potential is equal to or greater than 

50 kVp, the minimum exposure time for field emission 

equipment rated for pulsed operation shall be equal to or 

less than a time interval equivalent to two pulses;  

(3) The minimum exposure time for all equipment other 

than that specified in subdivision 3 b (2) of this 

subsection shall be equal to or less than one-sixtieth 

(1/60) second or a time interval required to deliver five 

mAs, whichever is greater;  

(4) Either the product of peak X-ray tube potential, 

current, and exposure time shall be limited to not more 

than 60 kWs per exposure, or the product of X-ray tube 

current and exposure time shall be limited to not more 

than 600 mAs per exposure except that, when the X-ray 

tube potential is less than 50 kVp, the product of X-ray 

tube current and exposure time shall be limited to not 

more than 2000 mAs per exposure; and  

(5) A visible signal shall indicate when an exposure has 

been terminated at the limits required by subdivision 3 b 

(4) of this subsection, and manual resetting shall be 

required before further automatically timed exposures 

can be made.  

4. Exposure duration (timer) linearity. For systems having 

independent selection of exposure time settings, the 

average ratios (Xi) of exposure to the indicated timer 

setting, in units of C kg
-1

s
-1

 (mR/s), obtained at any two 

clinically used timer settings shall not differ by more than 

0.10 times their sum. This is written as:  

(X1-X2) 0.1 (X1 + X2)  

where X1 and X2 are the average C kg
-1

s
-1

 (mR/s) values.  

5. Exposure control location. The X-ray exposure control 

shall be so placed that the operator can view the patient 

while making any exposure.  

6. Operator protection, except veterinary systems, bone 

densitometers, and other self-contained machines whose 

design was approved by the FDA.  

a. Stationary systems. Stationary X-ray systems shall be 

required to have the X-ray exposure control permanently 

mounted behind a protected barrier so that the operator 

can remain behind that protected barrier during the entire 

exposure. Where it is impractical to stand behind a 

protected barrier, dental panographic and podiatry X-ray 

systems may, as an alternative, be provided with means 

to allow the operator to be at least nine feet from the tube 

housing assembly during exposures.  

b. Mobile and portable systems. Mobile and portable X-

ray systems that are:  

(1) Used continuously for greater than one week in the 

same location, i.e., a room or suite, shall meet the 

requirements of subdivision 6 a of this subsection;  

(2) Used for less than one week at the same location shall 

be provided with either a protective barrier at least two 

meters (6.5 feet) high for operator protection during 

exposures, or means shall be provided to allow the 

operator to be at least 2.7 meters (9 feet) from the tube 

housing assembly during the exposure.  

7. Operator protection for veterinary systems. All 

stationary, mobile or portable X-ray systems used for 

veterinary work shall be provided with either a two meter 

(6.5 feet) high protective barrier for operator protection 

during exposures, or shall be provided with means to allow 

the operator to be at least 2.7 meters (9 feet) from the tube 

housing assembly during exposures.  

C. Source-to-skin distance. All mobile or portable 

radiographic systems shall be provided with means to limit 

the source-to-skin distance to equal to or greater than 30 

centimeters, except for veterinary systems.  

D. Reproducibility for Exposure and Time. When all 

technique factors are held constant, including control panel 

selections associated with automatic exposure control 

systems, the coefficient of variation of exposure for both 

manual and automatic exposure control systems shall not 

exceed 0.10. This requirement applies to clinically used 

techniques.  

E. Radiation from capacitor energy storage equipment in 

standby status. Radiation emitted from the X-ray tube when 

the system is fully charged and the exposure switch or timer 

is not activated shall not exceed a rate of 0.5 

%v(508)%E2%vC/kg (2 milliroentgens) per hour at five 

centimeters from any accessible surface of the diagnostic 

source assembly, with the beam-limiting device fully open.  

F. Accuracy. Deviation of measured technique factors from 

indicated values of kVp and exposure time shall not exceed 

the limits specified for that system by its manufacturer. In the 

absence of manufacturer's specifications, the deviation shall 

not exceed 10% of the indicated value for kVp and 10% for 

time.  

G. mA/mAs linearity. The following requirements apply 

when the equipment is operated on a power supply as 

specified by the manufacturer for any fixed X-ray tube 

potential within the range of 40% to 100% of the maximum 

rated:  

1. Equipment having independent selection of X-ray tube 

current (mA). The average ratios (Xi) of exposure to the 

indicated milliampere-seconds product (C kg
-1

 mAs
-1

 (or 

mR/mAs)) obtained at any two consecutive tube current 

settings shall not differ by more than 0.10 times their sum:  

X1-X2 < 0.10 (X1+X2)  

where X1 and X2 are the average values obtained at each 

of two consecutive tube current settings, or at two 

settings differing by no more than a factor of two where 

the tube current selection is continuous.  
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2. Equipment having a combined X-ray tube current-

exposure time product (mAs) selector, but not a separate 

tube current (mA) selector. The average ratios (Xi) of 

exposure to the indicated milliampere-seconds product, in 

units of C kg
-1

 mAs
-1

 (or mR/mAs), obtained at any two 

consecutive mAs selector settings shall not differ by more 

than 0.10 times their sum:  

X1-X2 < 0.10 (X1+X2)  

where X1 and X2 are the average values obtained at any 

two mAs selector settings, or at two settings differing by 

no more than a factor of two where the mAs selector 

provides continuous selection.  

3. Measuring compliance. Determination of compliance 

shall be based on four exposures taken within a time period 

of one hour, at each of the two settings. These two settings 

may include any two focal spot sizes except where one is 

equal to or less than 0.45 millimeters and the other is 

greater than 0.45 millimeters. For purposes of this 

requirement, focal spot size is the nominal focal spot size 

specified by the X-ray tube manufacturer.  

H. Additional requirements. Diagnostic X-ray systems shall 

be required to comply with the following additional 

requirements.  

1. Beam limitation for stationary and mobile general 

purpose X-ray systems.  

a. There shall be provided a means of stepless adjustment 

of the size of the X-ray field. The minimum field size at 

an SID of 100 centimeters shall be equal to or less than 

five centimeters by five centimeters.  

b. When a light localizer is used to define the X-ray field, 

it shall provide an average illumination of not less than 

120 lux or 10 footcandles at 100 centimeters or at the 

maximum SID, whichever is less. The average 

illumination shall be based upon measurements made in 

the approximate center of each quadrant of the light field. 

Radiation therapy simulation systems manufactured on 

and after May 27, 1980, are exempt from this 

requirement.  

2. Beam limitation and alignment on stationary general 

purpose X-ray systems equipped with PBL. If PBL is 

being used, the following requirements shall be met:  

a. PBL shall prevent the production of X-rays when:  

(1) Either the length or width of the X-ray field in the 

plane of the image receptor differs, except as permitted 

by subdivision 2 c of this subsection, from the 

corresponding image receptor dimensions by more than 

3.0% of the SID; or  

(2) The sum of the length and width differences as stated 

in subdivision 2 a (1) of this subsection without regard to 

sign exceeds 4.0% of the SID;  

b. Compliance with subdivision 2 a of this subsection 

shall be determined when the equipment indicates that 

the beam axis is perpendicular to the plane of the image 

receptor. Compliance shall be determined no sooner than 

five seconds after insertion of the image receptor;  

c. The PBL system shall be capable of operation, at the 

discretion of the operator, such that the size of the field 

may be made smaller than the size of the image receptor 

through stepless adjustment of the field size. The 

minimum field size at an SID of 100 centimeters shall be 

equal to or less than five centimeters by five centimeters;  

d. The PBL system shall be designed such that if a 

change in image receptor does not cause an automatic 

return to PBL function as described in subdivision 2 a of 

this subsection, then any change of image receptor size or 

SID must cause the automatic return.  

3. Beam limitation for portable X-ray systems. Beam 

limitation for portable X-ray systems shall meet the beam 

limitation requirements of subdivisions A 1 or H 2 of this 

section.  

I. Tube stands for portable X-ray systems. A tube stand or 

other mechanical support shall be used for portable X-ray 

systems, so that the X-ray tube housing assembly need not be 

hand held during exposures unless the system is specifically 

designed to be handheld.  

J. Surveys. Radiation safety and equipment performance 

surveys shall be performed annually on all X-ray machines 

covered by this section in order to assure compliance with the 

regulations, except that bone densitometers and X-ray 

machines used in the practice of podiatry or dentistry shall be 

surveyed every three years. The surveys shall be performed 

by or under the direct supervision of a private or state 

inspector who is physically present at the facility during the 

inspection.  

12VAC5-481-1621. Radiographic equipment. 

A. Control and indication of technique factors. 

1. Visual indication. The technique factors to be used 

during an exposure shall be indicated before the exposure 

begins, except when automatic exposure controls are used, 

in which case the technique factors that are set prior to the 

exposure shall be indicated. On equipment having fixed 

technique factors, this requirement may be met by 

permanent markings. Indication of technique factors shall 

be visible from the operator's position except in the case of 

spot films made by the fluoroscopist. 

2. Timers. Means shall be provided to terminate the 

exposure at a preset time interval, a preset product of 

current and time, a preset number of pulses, or a preset 

radiation exposure to the image receptor. 

a. Except during serial radiography, the operator shall be 

able to terminate the exposure at any time during an 

exposure of greater than one-half second. Except during 

panoramic dental radiography, termination of exposure 

shall cause automatic resetting of the timer to its initial 

setting or to zero. It shall not be possible to make an 
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exposure when the timer is set to a zero or off position if 

either position is provided. 

b. During serial radiography, the operator shall be able to 

terminate the x-ray exposure at any time, but means may 

be provided to permit completion of any single exposure 

of the series in process. 

3. Automatic exposure controls. When an automatic 

exposure control is provided: 

a. Indication shall be made on the control panel when this 

mode of operation is selected; 

b. When the x-ray tube potential is equal to or greater 

than 51 kilovolts peak (kVp), the minimum exposure 

time for field emission equipment rated for pulse 

operation shall be equal to or less than a time interval 

equivalent to two pulses and the minimum exposure time 

for all other equipment shall be equal to or less than 1/60 

second or a time interval required to deliver five 

milliampere-seconds (mAs), whichever is greater; 

c. Either the product of peak x-ray tube potential, current, 

and exposure time shall be limited to not more than 60 

kilowatt-seconds (kWs) per exposure or the product of x-

ray tube current and exposure time shall be limited to not 

more than 600 mAs per exposure, except when the x-ray 

tube potential is less than 51 kVp, in which case the 

product of x-ray tube current and exposure time shall be 

limited to not more than 2,000 mAs per exposure; and 

d. A visible signal shall indicate when an exposure has 

been terminated at the limits described in subdivision 3 c 

of this subsection, and manual resetting shall be required 

before further automatically timed exposures can be 

made. 

4. Accuracy. Deviation of technique factors from indicated 

values shall not exceed the limits given by the 

manufacturer. In the absence of manufacturer's limits, the 

deviation shall not exceed 10% of the indicated value for 

kVp and time. 

B. Reproducibility. The following requirements shall apply 

when the equipment is operated on an adequate power supply 

as specified by the manufacturer: 

1. Coefficient of variation. For any specific combination of 

selected technique factors, the estimated coefficient of 

variation of the air kerma shall be no greater than 0.10. 

2. Measuring compliance. Determination of compliance 

shall be based on 10 consecutive measurements taken 

within a time period of one hour. Equipment manufactured 

after September 5, 1978, shall be subject to the additional 

requirement that all variable controls for technique factors 

shall be adjusted to alternate settings and reset to the test 

setting after each measurement. The percent line-voltage 

regulation shall be within ±1 of the mean value for all 

measurements. For equipment having automatic exposure 

controls, compliance shall be determined with a sufficient 

thickness of attenuating material in the useful beam such 

that the technique factors can be adjusted to provide 

individual exposures of a minimum of 12 pulses on field 

emission equipment rated for pulsed operation or no less 

than one-tenth second per exposure on all other equipment. 

C. Linearity. The following requirements apply when the 

equipment is operated on a power supply as specified by the 

manufacturer in accordance with 21 CFR Part 1020 for any 

fixed x-ray tube potential within the range of 40% to 100% of 

the maximum rated. 

1. Equipment having independent selection of x-ray tube 

current (mA). The average ratios of air kerma to the 

indicated milliampere-seconds product (mGy/mAs) 

obtained at any two consecutive tube current settings 

shall not differ by more than 0.10 times their sum. This 

is:  

|X1 –  2| ≤ 0.10( 1 +  2)  

where X1 and X2 are the average mGy/mAs values 

obtained at each of two consecutive mAs selector settings 

or at two settings differing by no more than a factor of 2 

where the mAs selector provides continuous selection. 

2. Equipment having selection of x-ray tube current-

exposure time product (mAs). For equipment 

manufactured after May 3, 1994, the average ratios of air 

kerma to the indicated milliampere-seconds product 

(mGy/mAs) obtained at any two consecutive mAs 

selector settings shall not differ by more than 0.10 times 

their sum. This is:  

|X1 –  2| ≤ 0.10( 1 +  2) 

where X1 and X2 are the average mGy/mAs values 

obtained at each of two consecutive mAs selector settings 

or at two settings differing by no more than a factor of 2 

where the mAs selector provides continuous selection. 

3. Measuring compliance. Determination of compliance 

shall be based on 10 exposures, made within one hour, at 

each of the two settings. These two settings may include 

any two focal spot sizes except where one is equal to or 

less than 0.45 mm and the other is greater than 0.45 mm. 

For purposes of this requirement, focal spot size is the 

focal spot size specified by the x-ray tube manufacturer. 

The percent line-voltage regulation shall be determined for 

each measurement. All values for percent line-voltage 

regulation at any one combination of technique factors 

shall be within ±1 of the mean value for all measurements 

at these technique factors. 

D. Field limitation and alignment for mobile, portable, and 

stationary general purpose x-ray systems. Except when spot-

film devices are in service, mobile, portable, and stationary 

general purpose radiographic x-ray systems shall meet the 

following requirements: 

1. Variable x-ray field limitation. A means for stepless 

adjustment of the size of the x-ray field shall be provided. 

Each dimension of the minimum field size at an SID of 

100 cm shall be equal to or less than five cm. 
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2. Visual definition. 

a. Means for visually defining the perimeter of the x-ray 

field shall be provided. The total misalignment of the 

edges of the visually defined field with the respective 

edges of the x-ray field along either the length or width 

of the visually defined field shall not exceed 2.0% of the 

distance from the source to the center of the visually 

defined field when the surface upon which it appears is 

perpendicular to the axis of the x-ray beam. 

b. When a light localizer is used to define the x-ray field, 

it shall provide an average illuminance of not less than 10 

foot-candles at 100 cm or at the maximum SID, 

whichever is less. The average illuminance shall be based 

on measurements made in the approximate center of each 

quadrant of the light field. Radiation therapy simulation 

systems are exempt from this requirement. 

c. The edge of the light field at 100 cm or at the 

maximum SID, whichever is less, shall have a contrast 

ratio, corrected for ambient lighting, of not less than four 

in the case of beam-limiting devices designed for use on 

stationary equipment, and a contrast ratio of not less than 

three in the case of beam-limiting devices designed for 

use on mobile and portable equipment. The contrast ratio 

is defined as I1/I2, where I1 is the illuminance three mm 

from the edge of the light field toward the center of the 

field, and I2 is the illuminance three mm from the edge of 

the light field away from the center of the field. 

Compliance shall be determined with a measuring 

aperture of one mm. 

E. Field indication and alignment on stationary general 

purpose x-ray equipment. Except when spot-film devices are 

in service, stationary general purpose x-ray systems shall 

meet the following requirements in addition to those 

prescribed in subsection D of this section: 

1. Means shall be provided to indicate when the axis of the 

x-ray beam is perpendicular to the plane of the image 

receptor, to align the center of the x-ray field with respect 

to the center of the image receptor to within 2.0% of the 

SID and to indicate the SID to within 2.0%; 

2. The beam-limiting device shall numerically indicate the 

field size in the plane of the image receptor to which it is 

adjusted; 

3. Indication of field size dimensions and SIDs shall be 

specified in centimeters or inches and shall be such that 

aperture adjustments result in x-ray field dimensions in the 

plane of the image receptor that correspond to those 

indicated by the beam-limiting device to within 2.0% of 

the SID when the beam axis is indicated to be 

perpendicular to the plane of the image receptor; and 

4. Compliance measurements will be made at discrete SIDs 

and image receptor dimensions in common clinical use 

(such as SIDs of 100, 150, and 200 cm or 36, 40, 48, and 

72 inches and nominal image receptor dimensions of 13, 

18, 24, 30, 35, 40, and 43 cm or 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 

and 17 inches) or at any other specific dimensions at which 

the beam-limiting device or its associated diagnostic x-ray 

system is uniquely designed to operate. 

F. Field limitation on radiographic x-ray equipment other 

than general purpose radiographic systems. 

1. Equipment for use with intraoral image receptors. 

Radiographic equipment designed for use with an intraoral 

image receptor shall be provided with means to limit the x-

ray beam such that: 

a. If the minimum source-to-skin distance (SSD) is 18 cm 

or more, the x-ray field at the minimum SSD shall be 

containable in a circle having a diameter of no more than 

seven cm; and 

b. If the minimum SSD is less than 18 cm, the x-ray field 

at the minimum SSD shall be containable in a circle 

having a diameter of no more than six cm. 

For dental intraoral uses, an open ended shielded 

positioning device shall be used. 

2. X-ray systems designed for one image receptor size. 

Radiographic equipment designed for only one image 

receptor size at a fixed SID shall be provided with means 

to limit the field at the plane of the image receptor to 

dimensions no greater than those of the image receptor and 

to align the center of the x-ray field with the center of 

image receptor to within 2.0% of the SID, or shall be 

provided with means to both size and align the x-ray field 

such that the x-ray field at the plane of the image receptor 

does not extend beyond the edge of the image receptor. 

3. Systems designed for mammography. 

a. Radiographic systems designed only for 

mammography and general purpose radiography systems, 

when special attachments for mammography are in 

service, manufactured on or after November 1, 1977, and 

before September 30, 1999, shall be provided with means 

to limit the useful beam such that the x-ray field at the 

plane of the image receptor does not extend beyond any 

edge of the image receptor at any designated SID except 

the edge of the image receptor designed to be adjacent to 

the chest wall where the x-ray field may not extend 

beyond this edge by more than 2.0% of the SID. This 

requirement can be met with a system that performs as 

prescribed in subdivisions 4 a, b, and c of this subsection. 

When the beam-limiting device and image receptor 

support device are designed to be used to immobilize the 

breast during a mammographic procedure and the SID 

may vary, the SID indication specified in subdivisions 4 

b and c of this subsection shall be the maximum SID for 

which the beam-limiting device or aperture is designed. 

b. Mammographic beam-limiting devices manufactured 

on or after September 30, 1999, shall be provided with a 

means to limit the useful beam such that the x-ray field at 

the plane of the image receptor does not extend beyond 
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any edge of the image receptor by more than 2.0% of the 

SID. This requirement can be met with a system that 

performs as prescribed in subdivisions 4 a, b, and c of 

this subsection. For systems that allow changes in SID, 

the SID indication specified in subdivisions 4 b and c of 

this subsection shall be the maximum SID for which the 

beam-limiting device or aperture is designed. 

c. Each image receptor support device manufactured on 

or after November 1, 1977, intended for installation on a 

system designed for mammography shall have clear and 

permanent markings to indicate the maximum image 

receptor size for which it is designed. 

4. Other x-ray systems. Radiographic systems not 

specifically covered in subsections D, E, and H of this 

section, which are also designed for use with extraoral 

image receptors and when used with an extraoral image 

receptor, shall be provided with means to limit the x-ray 

field in the plane of the image receptor so that such field 

does not exceed each dimension of the image receptor by 

more than 2.0% of the SID when the axis of the x-ray 

beam is perpendicular to the plane of the image receptor. 

In addition, means shall be provided to align the center of 

the x-ray field with the center of the image receptor to 

within 2.0% of the SID, or means shall be provided to both 

size and alignment the x-ray field such that the x-ray field 

at the plane of the image receptor does not extend beyond 

any edge of the image receptor. These requirements may 

be met with: 

a. A system that performs in accordance with subsections 

D and E of this section; or when alignment means are 

also provided, may be met with either; 

b. An assortment of removable, fixed-aperture, beam-

limiting devices sufficient to meet the requirement for 

each combination of image receptor size and SID for 

which the unit is designed. Each such device shall have 

clear and permanent markings to indicate the image 

receptor size and SID for which it is designed; or 

c. A beam-limiting device having multiple fixed 

apertures sufficient to meet the requirement for each 

combination of image receptor size and SID for which 

the unit is designed. Permanent, clearly legible markings 

shall indicate the image receptor size and SID for which 

each aperture is designed and shall indicate which 

aperture is in position for use. 

G. Positive beam limitation (PBL). The requirements of this 

subsection shall apply to radiographic systems that contain 

PBL. 

1. Field size. When a PBL system is provided, it shall 

prevent x-ray production when: 

a. Either the length or width of the x-ray field in the 

plane of the image receptor differs from the 

corresponding image receptor dimension by more than 

3.0% of the SID; or 

b. The sum of the length and width differences stated in 

subdivision 1 a of this subsection without regard to sign 

exceeds 4.0% of the SID. 

c. The beam-limiting device is at an SID for which PBL 

is not designed for sizing. 

2. Conditions for PBL. When provided, the PBL system 

shall function as described in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection whenever all the following conditions are met: 

a. The image receptor is inserted into a permanently 

mounted cassette holder; 

b. The image receptor length and width are less than 50 

cm; 

c. The x-ray beam axis is within ±3 degrees of vertical 

and the SID is 90 cm to 130 cm inclusive; or the x-ray 

beam axis is within ±3 degrees of horizontal and the SID 

is 90 cm to 205 cm inclusive; 

d. The x-ray beam axis is perpendicular to the plane of 

the image receptor to within ±3 degrees; and  

e. Neither tomographic nor stereoscopic radiography is 

being performed. 

3. Measuring compliance. Compliance with the 

requirements of subdivision 1 of this subsection shall be 

determined when the equipment indicates that the beam 

axis is perpendicular to the plane of the image receptor and 

the provisions of subdivision 2 of this subsection are met. 

Compliance shall be determined no sooner than five 

seconds after insertion of the image receptor. 

4. Operator initiated undersizing. The PBL system shall be 

capable of operating such that, at the discretion of the 

operator, the size of the field may be made smaller than the 

size of the image receptor through stepless adjustment of 

the field size. Each dimension of the minimum field size at 

an SID of 100 cm shall be equal to or less than five cm. 

Return to PBL function as described in subdivision 1 of 

this subsection shall occur automatically upon any change 

of image receptor size or SID. 

5. Override of PBL. A capability may be provided for 

overriding PBL in case of system failure and for servicing 

the system. This override may be for all SIDs and image 

receptor sizes. A key shall be required for any override 

capability that is accessible to the operator. It shall not be 

possible to remove the key while PBL is overridden. Each 

such key switch or key shall be clearly and durably labeled 

as follows: 

"For X-Ray Field Limitation System Failure" 

The override capability is considered accessible to the 

operator if it is referenced in the operator's manual or in 

other material intended for the operator or if its location is 

such that the operator would consider it part of the 

operational controls. 

H. Field limitation and alignment for spot-film devices. The 

following requirements shall apply to spot-film devices, 
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except when the spot-film device is provided for use with a 

radiation therapy simulation system: 

1. Means shall be provided between the source and the 

patient for adjustment of the x-ray field size in the plane of 

the image receptor to the size of that portion of the image 

receptor that has been selected on the spot-film selector. 

Such adjustment shall be accomplished automatically when 

the x-ray field size in the plane of the image receptor is 

greater than the selected portion of the image receptor. If 

the x-ray field size is less than the size of the selected 

portion of the image receptor, the field size shall not open 

automatically to the size of the selected portion of the 

image receptor unless the operator has selected that mode 

of operation. 

2. Neither the length nor width of the x-ray field in the 

plane of the image receptor shall differ from the 

corresponding dimensions of the selected portion of the 

image receptor by more than 3.0% of the SID when 

adjusted for full coverage of the selected portion of the 

image receptor. The sum, without regard to sign, of the 

length and width differences shall not exceed 4.0% of the 

SID. On spot film devices manufactured after February 25, 

1978, if the angle between the plane of the image receptor 

and beam axis is variable, means shall be provided to 

indicate when the axis of the x-ray beam is perpendicular 

to the plane of the image receptor, and compliance shall be 

determined with the beam axis indicated to be 

perpendicular to the plane of the image receptor. 

3. The center of the x-ray field in the plane of the image 

receptor shall be aligned with the center of the selected 

portion of the image receptor to within 2.0% of the SID. 

4. Means shall be provided to reduce the x-ray field size in 

the plane of the image receptor to a size smaller than the 

selected portion of the image receptor such that: 

a. For spot-film devices used on fixed-SID fluoroscopic 

systems that are not required to and do not provide 

stepless adjustment of the x-ray field, the minimum field 

size, at the greatest SID, does not exceed 125 square cm; 

or 

b. For spot-film devices used on fluoroscopic systems 

that have a variable SID or stepless adjustment of the 

field size, the minimum field size, at the greatest SID, 

shall be containable in a square of five cm by five cm. 

5. A capability may be provided for overriding the 

automatic x-ray field size adjustment in case of system 

failure. If it is so provided, a signal visible at the 

fluoroscopist's position shall indicate whenever the 

automatic x-ray field size adjustment override is engaged. 

Each such system failure override switch shall be clearly 

labeled as follows: 

"For X-ray Field Limitation System Failure" 

I. Source-skin distance. 

1. X-ray systems designed for use with an intraoral image 

receptor shall be provided with means to limit the source-

skin distance to not less than: 

a. 18 cm if operable above 50 kVp; or  

b. 10 cm if not operable above 50 kVp. 

2. Mobile and portable x-ray systems other than dental 

shall be provided with means to limit the source-skin 

distance to not less than 30 cm. 

J. Beam-on indicators. The x-ray control shall provide visual 

indication whenever x-rays are produced. In addition, a signal 

audible to the operator shall indicate that the exposure has 

terminated. 

K. Reserved. 

L. Radiation from capacitor energy storage equipment. 

Radiation emitted from the x-ray tube shall not exceed: 

1. An air kerma of 0.26 microGy (0.03 mR exposure) in 

one minute at five cm from any accessible surface of the 

diagnostic source assembly, with the beam-limiting device 

fully open, the system fully charged, and the exposure 

switch, timer, or any discharge mechanism not activated. 

Compliance shall be determined by measurements 

averaged over an area of 100 square cm, with no linear 

dimensions greater than 20 cm: and 

2. An air kerma of 0.88 mGy (100 mR exposure) in one 

hour at 100 cm from the x-ray source, with beam-limiting 

device fully open, when the system is discharged through 

the x-ray tube either manually or automatically by use of a 

discharge switch or deactivation of the input power. 

Compliance shall be determined by measurements of the 

maximum air kerma per discharge multiplied by the total 

number of discharges in one hour (duty cycle). The 

measurements shall be averaged over an area of 100 square 

cm with no linear dimension greater than 20 cm. 

M. Primary protective barrier for mammography x-ray 

systems. 

1. For x-ray systems manufactured after September 5, 

1978, and before September 30, 1999, which are designed 

only for mammography, the transmission of the primary 

beam through any image receptor support provided with 

the system shall be limited such that the air kerma five cm 

from any accessible surface beyond the plane of the image 

receptor supporting device does not exceed 0.88 microGy 

(0.1 mR exposure) for each activation of the tube. 

2. For mammographic x-ray systems manufactured on or 

after September 30, 1999: 

a. At any SID where exposures can be made, the image 

receptor support device shall provide a primary 

protective barrier that intercepts the cross section of the 

useful beam along every direction except at the chest 

wall edge. 
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b. The x-ray system shall not permit exposure unless the 

appropriate barrier is in place to intercept the useful 

beam as required in subdivision 2 a of this subdivision. 

c. The transmission of the useful beam through the 

primary protective barrier shall be limited such that the 

air kerma five cm from any accessible surface beyond the 

plane of the primary protective barrier does not exceed 

0.88 microGy (0.1 mR exposure) for each activation of 

the tube. 

3. Compliance with the requirements of subdivisions 1 and 

2 c of this subsection for transmission shall be determined 

with the x-ray system operated at the minimum SID for 

which it is designed, at maximum rated peak tube 

potential, at the maximum rated product of x-ray tube 

current and exposure time (mAs) for the maximum rated 

peak tube potential, and by measurements averaged over 

an area of 100 square cm with no linear dimension greater 

than 20 cm. The sensitive volume of the radiation 

measuring instrument shall not be positioned beyond the 

edge of the primary protective barrier along the chest wall 

side. 

N. Reserved. 

O. Beam limitation, except mammographic systems. The 

useful beam shall be limited to the area of clinical interest. 

This shall be deemed to have been met if a positive beam-

limiting device meeting manufacturer's specifications and the 

requirements of subsection G of this section have been 

properly used or if evidence of collimation is shown on at 

least three sides or three corners of the film (for example, 

projections from the shutters of the collimator, cone cutting at 

the corners, or borders at the film's edge). 

P. Radiation exposure control. 

1. Exposure initiation. Means shall be provided to initiate 

the radiation exposure by a deliberate action on the part of 

the operator, such as the depression of a switch. Radiation 

exposure shall not be initiated without such an action. In 

addition, it shall not be possible to initiate an exposure 

when the timer is set to a "zero" or "off" position if either 

position is provided. 

2. Exposure indication. Means shall be provided for visual 

indication observable at or from the operator's protected 

position whenever x-rays are produced. In addition, a 

signal audible to the operator shall indicate that the 

exposure has terminated. 

3. Operator protection, except veterinary systems. 

a. Stationary systems. Stationary x-ray systems shall be 

required to have the x-ray control permanently mounted 

in a protected area so that the operator may remain in that 

protected area during the entire exposure. For dental 

intraoral systems installed prior to September 20, 2006, if 

the x-ray control is not permanently mounted behind a 

protected barrier, then dosimetry is required by all 

operators of the system. 

b. Mobile and portable systems. Mobile and portable x-

ray systems that are: 

(1) Used continuously for greater than one week in the 

same location, i.e., a room or suite, shall meet the 

requirements of subdivision 3 a of this subsection; 

(2) Used for less than one week at the same location shall 

be provided with either a protective barrier at least two 

meters (6.5 feet) high for operator protection during 

exposures, or means shall be provided to allow the 

operator to be at least 2.7 meters (nine feet) from the tube 

housing assembly during the exposure.  

4. Operator protection for veterinary systems. All 

stationary, mobile or portable x-ray systems used for 

veterinary work shall be provided with either a two meter 

(6.5 feet) high protective barrier for operator protection 

during exposures, or shall be provided with means to allow 

the operator to be at least 2.7 meters (nine feet) from the 

tube housing assembly during exposures.  

Q. Tube stands for portable x-ray systems. A tube stand or 

other mechanical support shall be used for portable x-ray 

systems, so that the x-ray tube housing assembly need not be 

hand-held during exposures.  

R. Surveys. Radiation safety and equipment performance 

surveys shall be performed annually on all x-ray machines 

covered by this section in order to assure compliance with the 

regulations, except that bone densitometers, hand-held units, 

and x-ray machines other than head CT or cone beam units 

used in the practice of podiatry, dentistry, or veterinary 

medicine shall be surveyed every three years. The surveys 

shall be performed by or under the direct supervision of a 

private or state inspector who is physically present at the 

facility during the inspection.  

12VAC5-481-1630. Intraoral dental radiographic systems. 

(Repealed.) 

In addition to the provisions of 12VAC5-481-1590 and 

12VAC5-481-1600, the requirements of 12VAC5-481-1630 

apply to X-ray equipment and associated facilities used for 

dental radiography. Requirements for extraoral dental 

radiographic systems are covered in 12VAC5-481-1620. 

Only systems meeting the requirements of this section shall 

be used.  

A. Source-to-skin distance (SSD). X-ray systems designed 

for use with an intraoral image receptor shall be provided 

with means to limit SSD, to not less than:  

1. 18 centimeters if operable above 50 kVp; or  

2. 10 centimeters if operable at 50 kVp only.  

B. Beam limitation. Radiographic systems designed for use 

with an intraoral image receptor shall be provided with means 

to limit the X-ray beam such that the beam at the minimum 

SSD shall be containable in a circle having a diameter of no 

more than seven centimeters.  
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C. Radiation exposure control.  

1. Exposure initiation.  

a. Means shall be provided to initiate the radiation 

exposure by a deliberate action on the part of the 

operator, such as the depression of a switch. Radiation 

exposure shall not be initiated without such an action; 

and  

b. It shall not be possible to make an exposure when the 

timer is set to a "zero" or "off" position if either position 

is provided.  

2. Exposure indication. Means shall be provided for visual 

indication observable at or from the operator's protected 

position whenever X-rays are produced. In addition, a 

signal audible to the operator shall indicate that the 

exposure has terminated.  

3. Exposure termination.  

a. Means shall be provided to terminate the exposure at a 

preset time interval, preset product of current and time, a 

preset number of pulses, or a preset radiation exposure to 

the image receptor.  

b. An X-ray exposure control shall be incorporated into 

each X-ray system such that an exposure can be 

terminated by the operator at any time, except for 

exposures of two seconds or less.  

c. Termination of an exposure shall cause automatic 

resetting of the timer to its initial setting or to "zero."  

4. Exposure duration (timer) linearity. For systems having 

independent selection of exposure time settings, the 

average ratios (Xi) of exposure to the indicated timer 

setting, in units of C kg
-1

 s
-1

 (mR/s), obtained at any two 

clinically used timer settings shall not differ by more than 

0.10 times their sum. This is written as:  

(X1-X2) 0.1 (X1+X2)  

where X1 and X2 are the average values.  

5. Exposure control location and operator protection.  

a. After September 20, 2006, stationary X-ray systems 

shall be required to have the X-ray exposure control 

permanently mounted behind a protected barrier, so that 

the operator can remain behind that protected barrier 

during the entire exposure. Where it is impractical to 

stand behind a protected barrier, the X-ray exposure shall 

be permanently mounted at least 2.7 meters (9 feet) from 

the tube housing assembly while making exposures. If an 

X-ray machine was installed prior to September 20, 

2006, and if the X-ray exposure control is not 

permanently mounted behind a protected barrier, so that 

the operator can remain behind that protected barrier 

during the entire exposure, then dosimetry shall be 

required by all operators of the X-ray system.  

b. Mobile and portable X-ray systems that are:  

(1) Used for greater than one week in the same location, 

i.e., a room or suite, shall meet the requirements of 

subdivision 5 of this subsection;  

(2) Used for less than one week in the same location shall 

be provided with either a protective barrier at least two 

meters (6.5 feet) high for operator protection, or means 

shall be provided to allow the operator to be at least 2.7 

meters (9 feet) from the tube housing assembly while 

making exposures.  

D. Reproducibility for Exposure and Time. When the 

equipment is operated on an adequate power supply as 

specified by the manufacturer, the estimated coefficient of 

variation of radiation exposures and times shall be no greater 

than 0.10, for any specific combination of selected technique 

factors.  

E. mA/mAs linearity. The following requirements apply 

when the equipment is operated on a power supply as 

specified by the manufacturer for any fixed X-ray tube 

potential within the range of 40% to 100% of the maximum 

rated.  

1. Equipment having independent selection of X-ray tube 

current (mA). The average ratios (Xi) of exposure to the 

indicated milliampere-seconds product, in units of C kg
-1

 

mAs
-1

 (or mR/mAs), obtained at any two consecutive tube 

current settings shall not differ by more than 0.10 times 

their sum:  

X1-X2 < 0.10 (X1+X2)  

where X1 and X2 are the average values obtained at each 

of two consecutive tube current settings, or at two 

settings differing by no more than a factor of two where 

the tube current selection is continuous.  

2. Equipment having a combined X-ray tube current-

exposure time product (mAs) selector, but not a separate 

tube current (mA) selector. The average ratios (Xi) of 

exposure to the indicated milliampere-seconds product, in 

units of C kg
-1

 mAs
-1

 (or mR/mAs), obtained at any two 

consecutive mAs selector settings shall not differ by more 

than 0.10 times their sum:  

X1-X2 < 0.10 (X1+X2)  

where X1 and X2 are the average values obtained at any 

two mAs selector settings, or at two settings differing by 

no more than a factor of two where the mAs selector 

provides continuous selection.  

3. Measuring compliance. Determination of compliance 

shall be based on four exposures taken within a time period 

of one hour, at each of the two settings. These two settings 

may include any two focal spot sizes except where one is 

equal to or less than 0.45 millimeters and the other is 

greater than 0.45 millimeters. For purposes of this 

requirement, focal spot size is the nominal focal spot size 

specified by the X-ray tube manufacturer.  

F. Accuracy. Deviation of technique factors from indicated 

values for kVp and exposure time (if time is independently 
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selectable) shall not exceed the limits specified for that 

system by its manufacturer. In the absence of manufacturer's 

specifications the deviation shall not exceed 10% of the 

indicated value for kVp and 10% for time.  

G. kVp limitations. Dental X-ray machines with a nominal 

fixed kVp of less than 50 kVp shall not be used to make 

diagnostic dental radiographs of humans.  

H. Administrative controls.  

1. Patient and film holding devices shall be used when the 

techniques permit.  

2. The tube housing and the PID shall not be hand held 

during an exposure.  

3. The X-ray system shall be operated in such a manner 

that the useful beam at the patient's skin does not exceed 

the requirements of subsection B of this section.  

4. Dental fluoroscopy without image intensification shall 

not be used.  

I. Radiation safety and equipment performance surveys shall 

be performed every three years on all dental X-ray systems by 

or under the direct supervision of a private or state inspector 

who is physically present at the facility during the inspection 

in order to assure compliance with these regulations.  

12VAC5-481-1631. Intraoral dental radiographic 

equipment. 

In addition to the applicable provisions of 12VAC5-481-

1591, 12VAC5-481-1601, and 12VAC5-481-1621, the 

requirements of this section apply to x-ray equipment and 

associated facilities used for dental intraoral radiography. 

Requirements for extraoral dental radiographic systems are in 

12VAC5-481-1621.  

1. Radiation exposure control. Means shall be provided to 

initiate the radiation exposure by a deliberate action on the 

part of the operator, such as the depression of a switch. 

Radiation exposure shall not be initiated without such an 

action. 

2. Exposure control location and operator protection. 

a. Stationary x-ray systems shall be required to have the 

x-ray exposure control permanently mounted in a 

protected area, so that the operator is required to remain 

in that protected area during the entire exposure; and  

b. Mobile and portable x-ray systems that are: 

(1) Used for greater than one week in the same location, 

i.e., a room or suite, shall meet the requirements of 

subdivision 1 of this section.  

(2) Used for less than one week in the same location shall 

be provided with either a protective barrier at least two 

meters (6.5 feet) high for operator protection, or means to 

allow the operator to be at least 2.7 meters (nine feet) 

from the tube housing assembly while making exposures. 

3. kVp limitations. Dental x-ray machines with a nominal 

fixed kVp of less than 50 kVp shall not be used to make 

diagnostic dental radiographs of humans. 

4. Administrative controls. 

a. Patient and film holding devices shall be used when 

the techniques permit. 

b. The tube housing and the PID for a permanently 

mounted intraoral dental system shall not be hand-held 

during an exposure. 

c. Dental fluoroscopy without image intensification shall 

not be used. 

12VAC5-481-1640. Computed tomography X-ray systems. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Reserved.  

B. Requirements for equipment.  

1. Termination of exposure.  

a. Means shall be provided to terminate the X-ray 

exposure automatically by either de-energizing the X-ray 

source or shuttering the X-ray beam in the event of 

equipment failure affecting data collection. Such 

termination shall occur within an interval that limits the 

total scan time to no more than 110% of its preset value 

through the use of either a backup timer or devices that 

monitor equipment function.  

b. A visible signal shall indicate when the X-ray 

exposure has been terminated through the means required 

by subdivision 1 a of this subsection.  

c. The operator shall be able to terminate the X-ray 

exposure at any time during a scan, or series of scans 

under CT X-ray system control, of greater than one-half 

second duration.  

2. Tomographic plane indication and alignment.  

a. For any single tomogram system, means shall be 

provided to permit visual determination of the 

tomographic plane or a reference plane offset from the 

tomographic plane.  

b. For any multiple tomogram system, means shall be 

provided to permit visual determination of the location of 

a reference plane. This reference plane can be offset from 

the location of the tomographic planes.  

c. If a device using a light source is used to satisfy the 

requirements of subdivisions 2 a or b of this subsection, 

the light source shall provide illumination levels 

sufficient to permit visual determination of the location 

of the tomographic plane or reference plane under 

ambient light conditions of up to 500 lux.  

3. Beam-on and shutter status indicators and control 

switches.  

a. The CT X-ray control and gantry shall provide visual 

indication whenever X-rays are produced and, if 

applicable, whether the shutter is open or closed.  
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b. Each emergency button or switch shall be clearly 

labeled as to its function.  

4. Indication of CT conditions of operation. The CT X-ray 

system shall be designed such that the CT conditions of 

operation to be used during a scan or a scan sequence shall 

be indicated prior to the initiation of a scan or a scan 

sequence. On equipment having all or some of these 

conditions of operation at fixed values, this requirement 

may be met by permanent markings. Indication of CT 

conditions of operation shall be visible from any position 

from which scan initiation is possible.  

5. Extraneous radiation. When data are not being collected 

for image production, the radiation adjacent to the tube 

port shall not exceed that permitted by subdivision 3 of 

12VAC5-481-1600.  

6. Maximum surface CTDI identification. The angular 

position where the maximum surface CTDI occurs shall be 

identified to allow for reproducible positioning of a CT 

dosimetry phantom.  

7. Additional requirements applicable to CT X-ray Systems 

containing a gantry manufactured after September 3, 1985.  

a. The total error in the indicated location of the 

tomographic plane or reference plane shall not exceed 

five millimeters.  

b. If the X-ray production period is less than one-half 

second, the indication of X-ray production shall be 

actuated for at least one-half second. Indicators at or near 

the gantry shall be discernible from any point external to 

the patient opening where insertion of any part of the 

human body into the primary beam is possible.  

c. The deviation of indicated scan increment versus 

actual increment shall not exceed plus or minus one 

millimeter with any mass from 0 to 100 kilograms resting 

on the support device. The patient support device shall be 

incremented from a typical starting position to the 

maximum incremented distance or 30 centimeters, 

whichever is less, and then returned to the starting 

position. Measurement of actual versus indicated scan 

increment may be taken anywhere along this travel.  

d. Premature termination of the X-ray exposure by the 

operator shall necessitate resetting of the CT conditions 

of operation prior to the initiation of another scan.  

C. Facility design requirements.  

1. Aural communication. Provision shall be made for two-

way aural communication between the patient and the 

operator at the control panel.  

2. Viewing systems.  

a. Windows, mirrors, closed-circuit television, or an 

equivalent shall be provided to permit continuous 

observation of the patient during irradiation and shall be 

so located that the operator can observe the patient from 

the control panel.  

b. When the primary viewing system is by electronic 

means, an alternate viewing system (which may be 

electronic) shall be available for use in the event of 

failure of the primary viewing system.  

D. Surveys, calibrations, spot checks, and operating 

procedures.  

1. Surveys.  

a. All CT X-ray systems installed after September 20, 

2006, and those systems not previously surveyed shall 

have a survey made by, or under the direct supervision of 

a private inspector who is physically present at the 

facility during the inspection. In addition, such surveys 

shall be done at least annually or after any change in the 

facility or equipment that might cause a significant 

increase in radiation hazard, whichever occurs first.  

b. The registrant shall obtain a written report of the 

survey from the private inspector, and a copy of the 

report shall be sent to the agency within 60 days of the 

date of the survey.  

2. Radiation calibrations.  

a. The calibration of the radiation output of the CT X-ray 

system shall be performed by, or under the direction of, a 

private inspector who is physically present at the facility 

during such calibration.  

b. The calibration of a CT X-ray system shall be 

performed at intervals specified by a private inspector 

and after any change or replacement of components that, 

in the opinion of the private inspector, could cause a 

change in the radiation output.  

c. The calibration of the radiation output of a CT X-ray 

system shall be performed with a calibrated dosimetry 

system. The calibration of such system shall be traceable 

to a national standard. The dosimetry system shall have 

been calibrated within the preceding two years.  

d. CT dosimetry phantom(s) shall be used in determining 

the radiation output of a CT X-ray system. Such 

phantom(s) shall meet the following specifications and 

conditions of use:  

(1) CT dosimetry phantom(s) shall be right circular 

cylinders of polymethyl methacrylate of density 1.19 plus 

or minus 0.01 grams per cubic centimeter. The 

phantom(s) shall be at least 14 centimeters in length and 

shall have diameters of 32.0 centimeters for testing CT 

X-ray systems designed to image any section of the body 

and 16.0 centimeters for systems designed to image the 

head or for whole body scanners operated in the head 

scanning mode;  

(2) CT dosimetry phantom(s) shall provide means for the 

placement of a dosimeter(s) along the axis of rotation and 

along a line parallel to the axis of rotation 1.0 centimeter 

from the outer surface and within the phantom. Means 

for the placement of dosimeters or alignment devices at 

other locations may be provided;  
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(3) Any effects on the doses measured due to the removal 

of phantom material to accommodate dosimeters shall be 

accounted for through appropriate corrections to the 

reported data or included in the statement of maximum 

deviation for the values obtained using the phantom;  

(4) All dose measurements shall be performed with the 

CT dosimetry phantom placed on the patient couch or 

support device without additional attenuation materials 

present.  

e. The calibration shall be required for each type of head, 

body, or whole-body scan performed at the facility.  

f. Calibration shall meet the following requirements:  

(1) The dose profile along the center axis of the CT 

dosimetry phantom for the minimum, maximum, and 

midrange values of the nominal tomographic section 

thickness used by the registrant shall be measurable. 

Where less than three nominal tomographic thicknesses 

can be selected, the dose profile determination shall be 

performed for each available nominal tomographic 

section thickness;  

(2) The CTDI along the two axes specified in subdivision 

2 d (2) of this subsection shall be measured. The CT 

dosimetry phantom shall be oriented so that the 

measurement point 1.0 centimeter from the outer surface 

and within the phantom is in the same angular position 

within the gantry as the point of maximum surface CTDI 

identified. The CT conditions of operation shall 

correspond to typical values used by the registrant;  

(3) The spot checks specified in subdivision 3 of this 

subsection shall be made.  

g. Calibration procedures shall be in writing. Records of 

calibrations performed shall be maintained for inspection 

by the agency.  

3. Spot checks.  

a. The spot-check procedures shall be in writing and shall 

have been developed by a private inspector.  

b. The spot-check procedures shall incorporate the use of 

a CT dosimetry phantom that has a capability of 

providing an indication of contrast scale, noise, nominal 

tomographic section thickness, the resolution capability 

of the system for low and high contrast objects, and 

measuring the mean CTN for water or other reference 

material.  

c. All spot checks shall be included in the calibration 

required by subdivision 2 of this subsection and at time 

intervals and under system conditions specified by a 

private inspector.  

d. Spot checks shall include acquisition of images 

obtained with the CT dosimetry phantom(s) using the 

same processing mode and CT conditions of operation as 

are used to perform calibrations required by subdivision 

2 of this subsection. The images shall be retained, until a 

new calibration is performed, in two forms as follows:  

(1) Photographic copies of the images obtained from the 

image display device; and  

(2) Images stored in digital form on a storage medium 

compatible with the CT X-ray system.  

e. Written records of the spot checks performed shall be 

maintained for inspection by the agency.  

4. Operating procedures.  

a. The CT X-ray system shall not be operated except by 

an individual who has been specifically trained in its 

operation.  

b. Information shall be available at the control panel 

regarding the operation and calibration of the system. 

Such information shall include the following:  

(1) Dates of the latest calibration and spot checks and the 

location within the facility where the results of those tests 

may be obtained;  

(2) Instructions on the use of the CT dosimetry 

phantom(s) including a schedule of spot checks 

appropriate for the system, allowable variations for the 

indicated parameters, and the results of at least the most 

recent spot checks conducted on the system;  

(3) The distance in millimeters between the tomographic 

plane and the reference plane if a reference plane is 

utilized; and  

(4) A current technique chart available at the control 

panel that specifies for each routine examination the CT 

conditions of operation and the number of scans per 

examination.  

c. If the calibration or spot check of the CT X-ray system 

identifies that a system operating parameter has exceeded 

a tolerance established by the private inspector, use of the 

CT X-ray system on patients shall be limited to those 

uses permitted by established written instructions of the 

private inspector.  

12VAC5-481-1641. Computed tomography equipment. 

A. Reserved. 

B. Requirements for equipment. 

1. Termination of exposure. 

a. Means shall be provided to terminate the x-ray 

exposure automatically by either de-energizing the x-ray 

source or shuttering the x-ray beam in the event of 

equipment failure affecting data collection. Such 

termination shall occur within an interval that limits the 

total scan time to no more than 110% of its preset value 

through the use of either a backup timer or devices that 

monitor equipment function. 

b. A visible signal shall indicate when the x-ray exposure 

has been terminated through the means required by 

subdivision 1 a of this subsection. 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 2, 2013 

908 

c. The operator shall be able to terminate the x-ray 

exposure at any time during a scan, or series of scans 

under CT x-ray system control, of greater than one-half 

second duration. 

2. Tomographic plane indication and alignment. 

a. For any single tomogram system, means shall be 

provided to permit visual determination of the 

tomographic plane or a reference plane offset from the 

tomographic plane. 

b. For any multiple tomogram system, means shall be 

provided to permit visual determination of the location of 

a reference plane. This reference plane can be offset from 

the location of the tomographic planes. 

c. If a device using a light source is used to satisfy the 

requirements of subdivision 2 a or b of this subsection, 

the light source shall provide illumination levels 

sufficient to permit visual determination of the location 

of the tomographic plane or reference plane under 

ambient light conditions of up to 500 lux. 

3. Beam-on and shutter status indicators and control 

switches. 

a. The CT x-ray control and gantry shall provide visual 

indication whenever x-rays are produced and, if 

applicable, whether the shutter is open or closed. 

b. Each emergency button or switch shall be clearly 

labeled as to its function. 

4. Indication of CT conditions of operation. The CT x-ray 

system shall be designed such that the CT conditions of 

operation to be used during a scan or a scan sequence shall 

be indicated prior to the initiation of a scan or a scan 

sequence. On equipment having all or some of these 

conditions of operation at fixed values, this requirement 

may be met by permanent markings. Indication of CT 

conditions of operation shall be visible from any position 

from which scan initiation is possible. 

5. Extraneous radiation. When data are not being collected 

for image production, the radiation adjacent to the tube 

port shall not exceed that permitted by subdivision 3 of 

12VAC5-481-1601. 

6. Maximum surface CTDI identification. The angular 

position where the maximum surface CTDI occurs shall be 

identified to allow for reproducible positioning of a CT 

dosimetry phantom. 

7. Additional requirements applicable to CT x-ray systems 

containing a gantry manufactured after September 3, 1985. 

a. The total error in the indicated location of the 

tomographic plane or reference plane shall not exceed 

five mm. 

b. If the x-ray production period is less than one-half 

second, the indication of x-ray production shall be 

actuated for at least one-half second. Indicators at or near 

the gantry shall be discernible from any point external to 

the patient opening where insertion of any part of the 

human body into the primary beam is possible. 

c. The deviation of indicated scan increment versus 

actual increment shall not exceed one millimeter with 

any mass from 0 to 100 kg resting on the support device. 

The patient support device shall be incremented from a 

typical starting position to the maximum incremented 

distance or 30 cm, whichever is less, and then returned to 

the starting position. Measurement of actual versus 

indicated scan increment may be taken anywhere along 

this travel. 

d. Premature termination of the x-ray exposure by the 

operator shall necessitate resetting of the CT conditions 

of operation prior to the initiation of another scan. 

C. Facility design requirements. 

1. Aural communication. Provision shall be made for two-

way aural communication between the patient and the 

operator at the control panel. 

2. Viewing systems. 

a. Windows, mirrors, closed-circuit television, or an 

equivalent shall be provided to permit continuous 

observation of the patient during irradiation and shall be 

so located that the operator can observe the patient from 

the control panel. 

b. When the primary viewing system is by electronic 

means, an alternate viewing system (which may be 

electronic) shall be available for use in the event of 

failure of the primary viewing system. 

D. Surveys, calibrations, spot checks, and operating 

procedures. 

1. Surveys. 

a. All CT x-ray systems installed after September 19, 

2006, and those systems not previously surveyed shall 

have a survey made by, or under the direction of, a 

qualified medical physicist.  In addition, such surveys 

shall be done after any change in the facility or 

equipment that might cause a significant increase in 

radiation hazard. 

b. The registrant shall obtain a written report of the 

survey from the qualified medical physicist, and a copy 

of the report shall be made available to the agency upon 

request. 

2. Radiation calibrations. 

a. The calibration of the radiation output of the CT x-ray 

system shall be performed by, or under the direction of, a 

qualified medical physicist who is physically present at 

the facility during such calibration. 

b. The calibration of a CT x-ray system shall be 

performed (i) after initial installation and before use on 

human patients, (ii) annually or at intervals specified by a 

qualified medical physicist, and (iii) after any change or 

replacement of components that in the opinion of the 
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qualified medical physicist could cause a change in the 

radiation output. 

c. The calibration of the radiation output of a CT x-ray 

system shall be performed with a calibrated dosimetry 

system. The calibration of such system shall be traceable 

to a national standard. The dosimetry system shall have 

been calibrated within the preceding two years. 

d. CT dosimetry phantom shall be used in determining 

the radiation output of a CT x-ray system. Such phantom 

shall meet the following specifications and conditions of 

use: 

(1) CT dosimetry phantom shall be right circular 

cylinders of polymethyl methacrylate of density 1.19 plus 

or minus 0.01 grams per cubic cm. The phantom shall be 

at least 14 cm in length and shall have diameters of 32.0 

cm for testing CT x-ray systems designed to image any 

section of the body and 16.0 cm for systems designed to 

image the head or for whole body scanners operated in 

the head scanning mode; 

(2) CT dosimetry phantom shall provide means for the 

placement of a dosimeter along the axis of rotation and 

along a line parallel to the axis of rotation 1.0 cm from 

the outer surface and within the phantom. Means for the 

placement of dosimeters or alignment devices at other 

locations may be provided; 

(3) Any effects on the doses measured due to the removal 

of phantom material to accommodate dosimeters shall be 

accounted for through appropriate corrections to the 

reported data or included in the statement of maximum 

deviation for the values obtained using the phantom; and 

(4) All dose measurements shall be performed with the 

CT dosimetry phantom placed on the patient couch or 

support device without additional attenuation materials 

present. 

e. The calibration shall be required for each type of head, 

body, or whole-body scan performed at the facility. 

f. Calibration shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) The dose profile along the center axis of the CT 

dosimetry phantom for the minimum, maximum, and 

midrange values of the nominal tomographic section 

thickness used by the registrant shall be measurable. 

Where less than three nominal tomographic thicknesses 

can be selected, the dose profile determination shall be 

performed for each available nominal tomographic 

section thickness; 

(2) The CTDI along the two axes specified in subdivision 

2 d (2) of this subsection shall be measured. For the 

purpose of determining the CTDI, the manufacturer's 

statement as to the nominal tomographic section 

thickness for that particular system may be utilized. The 

CT dosimetry phantom shall be oriented so that the 

measurement point 1.0 cm from the outer surface and 

within the phantom is in the same angular position within 

the gantry as the point of maximum surface CTDI 

identified.  The CT conditions of operation shall 

correspond to typical values used by the registrant; and 

(3) The spot checks specified in subdivision 3 of this 

subsection shall be made. 

g. Calibration procedures shall be in writing. Records of 

calibrations performed shall be maintained for inspection 

by the agency. 

3. Spot checks. 

a. The spot-check procedures shall be in writing and shall 

have been developed by a qualified medical physicist. 

b. The spot-check procedures shall incorporate the use of 

a CT dosimetry phantom that has a capability of (i) 

providing an indication of contrast scale, noise, nominal 

tomographic section thickness, and the resolution 

capability of the system for low and high contrast 

objects; and (ii) measuring the mean CTN for water or 

other reference material. 

c. All spot checks shall be included in the calibration 

required by subdivision 2 of this subsection and at time 

intervals and under system conditions specified by a 

qualified medical physicist. 

d. Spot checks shall include acquisition of images 

obtained with the CT dosimetry phantom or phantoms 

using the same processing mode and CT conditions of 

operation as are used to perform calibrations required by 

subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

e. The results of each spot check shall be maintained for 

two years. 

4. Operating procedures. 

a. The CT x-ray system shall not be operated except by 

an individual who has been specifically trained in its 

operation. 

b. Information shall be available at the control panel 

regarding the operation and calibration of the system. 

Such information shall include the following:  

(1) Dates of the latest calibration and spot checks and the 

location within the facility where the results of those tests 

may be obtained; 

(2) Instructions on the use of the CT dosimetry phantoms 

including a schedule of spot checks appropriate for the 

system, allowable variations for the indicated parameters, 

and the results of at least the most recent spot checks 

conducted on the system; 

(3) The distance in millimeters between the tomographic 

plane and the reference plane if a reference plane is 

utilized; and 

(4) A current technique chart available at the control 

panel that specifies for each routine examination the CT 

conditions of operation and the number of scans per 

examination. 
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c. If the calibration or spot check of the CT x-ray system 

identifies that a system operating parameter has exceeded 

a tolerance established by the qualified medical physicist, 

use of the CT x-ray system on patients shall be limited to 

those uses permitted by established written instructions 

of the qualified medical physicist. 

12VAC5-481-1650. Mammography. (Repealed.) 

A. Equipment standards. Only X-ray systems meeting the 

following standards shall be used.  

1. System design. The X-ray system shall be specifically 

designed for mammography.  

2. Image receptor. The image receptor systems and their 

individual components shall be specifically designed for or 

appropriate for mammography.  

3. kVp/target/filter. The X-ray system shall have the 

capability of providing kVp/target/filter combinations 

compatible with the selected image receptor system.  

4. Beam quality.  

a. When used with screen-film image receptors, and 

when the contribution to filtration made by the 

compression device is included, the useful beam shall 

have a half-value layer (HVL):  

(1) Between the values of: ((measured kVp)/100) and 

((measured kVp)/100 + 0.1) millimeters aluminum for 

molybdenum targets;  

(2) At least the value of ((measured kVp)/100) 

millimeters aluminum for rhodium alloy targets.  

b. For xeroradiography, the HVL of the useful beam with 

the compression device in place shall be at least 1.0 and 

not greater than 1.6 mm aluminum, measured at 49 kVp 

with a tungsten target tube.  

5. Resolution. The combination of focal spot size, source-

to-image receptor distance and magnification shall result in 

a resolution of at least 12 line pairs per millimeter 

(cycles/mm) measured when a resolution pattern is 

positioned 4.2 cm above all breast supports and when the 

resolution pattern is either perpendicular to or parallel with 

the chest wall edge of the image receptor support. The 

measurement shall be made with the kVp in the range of 

25-30 and the mA shall be the highest available for the 

focal spot size selected. The resolution shall be at least 11 

line pairs when a high-contrast resolution bar test pattern is 

orientated with the bars perpendicular to the anode-cathode 

axis, and a minimum resolution of 13 line pairs/mm when 

the bars are parallel to that axis. The bar pattern must be 

placed 4.5 cm above the breast support surface, centered 

with respect to the chest wall edge of the image receptor, 

and with the edge of the pattern within one cm of the chest 

wall edge of the image receptor. When more than one 

target material is provided, the measurement must be made 

using the appropriate focal spot for each target material.  

6. Compression.  

a. The X-ray system shall be capable of compressing the 

breast with a force of at least 25 pounds and shall be 

capable of maintaining this compression for at least three 

minutes.  

b. The chest wall edge of the compression paddle shall 

extend beyond the chest wall edge of the image receptor 

by no more than 2.0% of the Source-to-Image Receptor 

Distance with the compression paddle placed 4.2 cm 

above the breast support device. With the compression 

paddle in this position, the chest wall edge of the 

compression paddle shall not be visible in the acquired 

image.  

7. System capabilities. A mammographic X-ray system 

utilizing screen-film image receptors shall have:  

a. The capability of using anti-scatter grids that are:  

(1) Integral to the X-ray system;  

(2) Available for all image receptor sizes used;  

b. The capability of automatic exposure control, for 

systems installed after September 20, 2006; and  

c. The capability of displaying post-exposure mAs after 

an exposure made using an automatic exposure control 

device, for systems installed after September 20, 2006.  

8. Milliampere-second read-out accuracy. For those 

mammographic X-ray systems equipped with automatic 

exposure control and post-exposure mAs read-out, the 

indicated mAs read-out shall be within 10% of the actual 

mAs delivered.  

9. Transmission. For X-ray systems manufactured after 

September 5, 1978, the transmission of the primary beam 

through any image receptor support provided with the 

system shall be limited such that the exposure five 

centimeters from any accessible surface beyond the plane 

of the image receptor supporting device does not exceed 

25.8 nC/kg (0.1 milliroentgen) for each activation of the 

tube. Exposure shall be measured with the system operated 

at the minimum SID for which it is designed. Compliance 

shall be determined at the maximum rated peak tube 

potential for the system and at the maximum rated product 

of tube current and exposure time (mAs) for that peak tube 

potential. Compliance shall be determined by 

measurements averaged over an area of 100 square 

centimeters with no linear dimension greater than 20 

centimeters.  

10. Collimation.  

a. All systems shall have beam-limiting devices that 

allow the entire chest wall edge of the X-ray field to 

extend to the chest wall edge of the image receptor and 

provide means to assure that the X-ray field does not 

extend beyond any edge of the image receptor by more 

than 2.0% of the SID.  

b. Means for visually defining the perimeter of the X-ray 

field shall be provided. The total misalignment of the 
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edges of the visually defined field with the respective 

edges of the X-ray field along either the length or width 

of the visually defined field shall not exceed 2.0% of the 

distance from the source to the center of the visually 

defined field when the surface upon which it appears is 

perpendicular to the axis of the X-ray beam.  

11. Accuracy of kVp. Deviation of actual kVp from the 

indicated kVp shall not exceed the limits specified by the 

manufacturer of the X-ray system, or, the actual kVp shall 

be within plus or minus 2 kVp of the indicated kVp, 

whichever limit is more restrictive.  

12. Automatic exposure control performance. In addition 

to 12VAC5-481-1620 D, mammographic systems in the 

AEC mode shall be able to maintain constant film density 

to within an optical density of plus or minus 0.3 of the 

average optical density over the kVp range used clinically, 

using phantoms of BR-12 or other breast equivalent 

material thicknesses of two centimeters to six centimeters. 

If the facility has established a technique chart that utilizes 

varying technical factors for different breast thicknesses, 

those adjustments in technique may be used when 

performing this test.  

13. Radiation output minimum. At 28 kVp, with a focal 

spot meeting the requirements of subdivision A 5 of this 

section, the mammographic system shall be capable of 

sustaining a minimum output rate of 130 

%v(508)%E2%vC/kg/sec (500 mR/sec) for at least three 

seconds. This output shall be measured at a point 4.2 

centimeters from the surface of the breast support device 

when the SID is at its maximum and the effect of 

compression paddle attenuation is included.  

14. Screen-film contact. Cassettes shall not be used for 

mammography if poor contact of two or more large areas 

(>1 cm in diameter) or a section longer than 1 cm and >2 

mm in width along the chest wall edge can be seen in a 40 

mesh test.  

15. Image quality. The mammographic X-ray imaging 

system shall be capable of providing an image of a 0.75 

mm fiber, 0.32 mm speck group, and a 0.75 mm mass from 

the Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors 

NEXT "92 phantom (or equivalent) on the standard 

mammographic image receptor system in use at a facility. 

Mammograms shall not be taken on patients if this 

minimum is not met. Any fibers, speck groups and masses 

larger than those specified shall also be imaged.  

16. Dose. The mean glandular dose for one craniocaudal 

view, measured with the phantom referenced in 

subdivision 15 of this subsection, based on exposure 

measured at the breast entrance location, and using dose 

conversion factors specified by the Health Care Financing 

Administration in their Medicare Mammography Survey 

Protocols, shall not exceed the following values:  

a. 2.0 mGy (200 millirads) for nongrid screen film 

systems;  

b. 3.0 mGy (300 millirads) for screen-film systems with 

grid.  

17. Technique settings. The technique settings used for 

subdivisions 15 and 16 of this subsection shall be those 

used by the facility for its clinical images of a 50% 

adipose, 50% glandular, 4.2 cm compressed breast.  

B. Quality assurance.  

1. Quality assurance program required. The registrant shall 

have a written, on-going equipment quality assurance 

program specific to mammographic imaging, covering all 

components of the diagnostic X-ray imaging system, to 

ensure consistently high-quality images with minimum 

patient exposure. Responsibilities under this requirement 

include providing qualified individuals who are to:  

a. Conduct equipment performance monitoring functions;  

b. Analyze the monitoring results to determine if there 

are problems requiring correction;  

c. Carry out or arrange for the necessary corrective 

actions when results of quality control tests including 

those specified in subdivision 3 of this subsection 

indicate the need; and  

d. Maintain records for a minimum of two years 

documenting that actions required under subdivisions 1 a 

through c of this subsection have been completed.  

2. Quality assurance program review. At intervals not to 

exceed 12 months, the registrant shall:  

a. Have the annual quality control tests specified in 

subdivision 3 of this subsection performed by a qualified 

individual and obtain the results of those tests, 

incorporating them into the records specified in 

subdivision 1 d of this subsection; and  

b. Conduct a review of the effectiveness of the quality 

assurance program required in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection and maintain a written report of such review. 

Records of annual reviews shall be maintained for a 

minimum of two years and shall be available for agency 

review.  

3. Equipment quality control tests. The registrant shall 

ensure that the following quality control tests are 

performed when applicable equipment or components are 

initially installed, or replaced or serviced (if such servicing 

affects test results), and performed thereafter at least as 

often as the frequency specified. The private inspector 

shall determine the corrective action interval.  

a. Processor performance by sensitometric means—daily, 

or day of use, prior to the first patient exposure. For any 

mammography registrant using film processors at 

multiple locations, such as a mobile service, each 

processor shall be subject to this requirement. Corrective 

action shall be taken when:  

(1) Deviations of 0.15 or more in optical density from 

established operating levels occur for readings of mid-



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 2, 2013 

912 

density (MD) and density difference (DD) on the 

sensitometric control charts;  

(2) Base plus fog (B+F) exceeds the established 

operating level by more than 0.03 in optical density.  

b. Resolution—upon tube installation or replacement and 

every 12 months.  

c. Focal spot size—upon tube installation or tube 

replacement only or at least every 12 months, whichever 

occurs first.  

d. Half-value layer—12 months.  

e. kVp accuracy and reproducibility—12 months.  

f. Output reproducibility, mA linearity, and mR/mAs—

12 months.  

g. Automatic exposure control reproducibility and 

performance (response to kVp and phantom thickness 

variations)—12 months.  

h. Screen-film contact and screen artifact detection—six 

months.  

i. Compression device performance (releases, level of 

force, etc)—six months.  

j. Collimator alignment—12 months.  

k. Primary/secondary barrier transmission—upon initial 

X-ray system installation and significant modification of 

the system or the facility.  

l. Image quality (using a test "phantom," that simulates 

the composition of the breast and includes simulations of 

breast structures)—weekly for stationary systems, on 

each day of use for mobile systems, and upon significant 

service or modification of any mammographic system.  

m. Densitometer accuracy check—every 12 months.  

n. Glandular dose—every 12 months.  

o. Image quality—every 12 months.  

p. Artifacts—every 12 months.  

4. Additional quality control requirements. The registrant 

shall perform the following observations and procedures 

according to the frequency noted and record the results. 

Corrections of problems noted shall be made and recorded. 

Records shall be maintained over the most recent two-year 

period.  

a. Retake Analysis—three months.  

b. Viewbox uniformity—six months.  

c. Darkroom integrity (safelight condition, light leaks, 

etc.)—six months.  

d. Screen cleaning—weekly.  

e. Fixer retention—three months.  

C. Additional facility requirements.  

1. Masks. Masks shall be provided on the viewboxes to 

block extraneous light from the viewer's eye when the 

illuminated surface of the viewbox is larger than the 

exposed area of the film.  

2. Film processing.  

a. Film processors utilized for mammography shall be 

adjusted to and operated at the specifications 

recommended by the mammographic film manufacturer, 

or at other settings such that the sensitometric 

performance is at least equivalent.  

b. Clinical films and phantom image quality films shall 

be processed within 10 hours of exposure.  

c. Facilities shall offer to process films before the patient 

leaves the facility. If the patient chooses not to wait; of 

there is not developing capabilities, the patient will be 

notified within two business days if additional films are 

necessary.  

3. Instruments and devices. An image quality phantom, 

sensitometer, and a calibrated densitometer shall be 

available to each facility in order to comply with the 

quality control test frequencies specified in subdivision B 3 

of this section.  

4. Operator qualifications. The operator of the X-ray 

machine shall be certified by the American Registry of 

Radiologic Technologists and shall have had specialized 

training in mammography meeting the requirements set 

forth by the FDA under the MQSA of 1992.  

5. Physician qualifications. The physician interpreting the 

mammograms shall be certified by the American Board of 

Radiology, the American Osteopathic Board of Radiology, 

or Board eligible, or equivalent, and shall have had 

specialized training in mammography and image 

interpretation.  

6. Physicist qualifications. The person performing 

evaluation of mammographic system performance in 

accordance with these regulations shall meet the 

requirements set forth in 12VAC5-481-340 C.  

7. Image retention. Clinical images shall be retained for a 

minimum of five years or 10 years if no other clinical 

images are obtained.  

8. Retake rate. Corrective action shall be taken if the retake 

rate exceeds 5.0%. The retake rate shall be calculated as 

(repeated + rejected films)/ total number of clinical films.  

9. Darkroom fog. Darkroom fog levels shall not exceed 

0.05 in optical density when sensitized mammographic 

film of the type used in the facility is exposed to darkroom 

conditions with safelight on for two minutes. Film shall be 

sensitized by exposing it to sufficient light from an 

appropriate intensifying screen or sensitometer so that after 

processing an optical density of at least 1.0 is achieved.  

Facility qualifications. The registrant performing 

mammography shall be accredited by the American College 

of Radiology or another agency recognized as a certifying 

body or have their application pending. The registrant shall 
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also be certified by the FDA or another agency recognized as 

an accrediting body under the MQSA of 1992 or have a 

provisional/interim certificate.  

D. Additional state requirements.  

1. When film developing is not available or the patient 

chooses not to wait, the patient shall be notified within two 

business days if another mammogram is necessary. This 

requirement does not imply or require that a diagnostic 

opinion be made at the time of the mammogram. The 

interpreting physician may require that the mammogram be 

retaken if, in the opinion of the physician, the study is of 

inadequate quality.  

2. Agency inspectors may conduct unannounced 

inspections during normal hours of business.  

12VAC5-481-1651. Mammography requirements. 

A. Only x-ray systems, pursuant to the Mammography 

Quality Standards Reauthorization Act of 1998 (Public Law 

105-248) and 21 CFR Part 900, shall be used for screening 

and diagnostic mammography. 

B. A facility performing mammography shall have a valid 

certificate issued by the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services, pursuant to the Mammography Quality 

Standards Reauthorization Act of 1998 and 21 CFR Part 900. 

C. A facility performing mammography shall ensure that the 

additional mammography activities of processing the x-ray 

film, interpreting the image, and maintaining viewing 

conditions, wherever performed, meet all quality standards 

pursuant to the Mammography Quality Standards 

Reauthorization Act of 1998 and 21 CFR Part 900. 

D. The operator of the mammography machine shall be 

certified by the American Registry of Radiologic 

Technologists (ARRT) and shall have had specialized training 

in mammography meeting the requirements set forth by the 

U.S. Food and Drug Administration under the Mammography 

Quality Standards Reauthorization Act of 1998. 

E. When film developing is not available or the patient 

chooses not to wait, the patient shall be notified within two 

business days if another mammogram is necessary. This 

requirement does not imply or require that a diagnostic 

opinion be made at the time of the mammogram. The 

interpreting physician may require that the mammogram be 

retaken if, in the opinion of the physician, the study is of 

inadequate quality. 

F. Agency inspectors may conduct unannounced inspections 

during normal business hours. 

12VAC5-481-1653. Hand-held radiographic unit. 

In addition to the applicable provisions found elsewhere in 

this chapter, the following provisions apply to a hand-held 

radiographic unit. 

1. A hand-held radiograph unit shall be: 

a. Certified by the manufacturer pursuant to 21 CFR Part 

803, Medical Device Reporting of the Federal Food and 

Drug Administration Modernization Act of 1997; 21 

USC Chapter 9, Subchapter V, Part C – Electronic 

Product Radiation Control (EPRC) (§ 360hh et seq.) of 

the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act; and 21 CFR 

1020.30, Diagnostic x-ray systems and their major 

components. 

b. Registered with the agency in accordance with 

applicable parts of this chapter. 

c. Maintained and operated in accordance with the 

manufacturer's specifications.  

2. For all uses: 

a. Operators of a hand-held radiographic unit shall be 

specifically trained to operate such equipment. 

b. When operating a hand-held radiographic unit, 

operators shall wear dosimetry unless otherwise 

authorized by the agency. 

c. A hand-held radiographic unit shall have the 

backscatter radiation shield in place to protect the 

operator during operation. 

d. The operator shall ensure there are no bystanders 

within a radius of at least six feet from the patient being 

examined with a hand-held radiograph unit. 

e. A hand-held radiographic unit shall not be used in 

hallways or waiting rooms.  

12VAC5-481-1655. Bone densitometry. 

A. A bone densitometry system shall be: 

1. Certified by the manufacturer pursuant to 21 CFR Part 

803, Medical Device Reporting of the Federal Food and 

Drug Administration Modernization Act of 1997; 21 USC 

Chapter 9, Subchapter V, Part C – Electronic Product 

Radiation Control (EPRC) (§ 360hh et seq.) of the Federal 

Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act; and 21 CFR 1020.30, 

Diagnostic x-ray systems and their major components.  

2. Registered with the agency in accordance with 

applicable parts of this chapter. 

3. Maintained and operated in accordance with the 

manufacturer's specifications. 

B. Equipment requirements. A system with stepless 

collimators shall be provided with means to both size and 

align the x-ray field such that the x-ray field at the plane of 

the image receptor does not extend beyond 2.0% of the SID. 

C. Operators of a bone densitometry system shall meet one 

of the following: 

1. Be certified by the American Registry of Radiologic 

Technologists (ARRT);  

2. Be licensed by the Virginia Department of Health 

Professions, Board of Medicine as a radiologic 

technologist or a limited radiologic technologist for bone 

density operation;  
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3. Be licensed by the Virginia Department of Health 

Professions, Board of Medicine as a practitioner of the 

healing arts; or 

4. Be in an accredited program for radiologic technology 

and under the supervision of an individual who meets one 

of the criteria listed in subdivisions 1, 2, or 3 of this 

subsection.  

D. During the operation of any bone densitometry system: 

1. The operator, ancillary personnel, and members of the 

general public shall be positioned at least one meter from 

the patient and bone densitometry system during the 

examination.  

2. The operator shall advise the patient that the bone 

densitometry examination is a type of x-ray procedure. 

E. The registrant shall keep maintenance records for bone 

densitometry systems as prescribed by subdivision A 3 of this 

section. These records shall be maintained for inspection by 

the agency. 

F. Bone densitometry on human patients shall be conducted 

only: 

1. Under a prescription of an individual licensed by the 

Virginia Department of Health Professions, Board of 

Medicine as a practitioner of the healing arts; or 

2. Under a screening program approved by the agency.  

12VAC5-481-1657. Quality assurance program. 

All registrants of diagnostic x-ray imaging equipment may 

be required by the agency to establish and maintain a quality 

assurance program consisting of quality control assessments. 

12VAC5-481-2110. Area requirements.  

A. Radiation Levels. The local components of an analytical 

X-ray x-ray system shall be located and arranged and shall 

include sufficient shielding or access control such that no 

radiation levels exist in any area surrounding the local 

component group that could result in a dose to an individual 

present therein in excess of the dose limits given in 12VAC5-

481-640. For systems utilizing X-ray x-ray tubes, these levels 

shall be met at any specified tube rating.  

B. Surveys.  

1. Radiation surveys, as required by 12VAC5-481-750, of 

all analytical X-ray x-ray systems sufficient to show 

compliance with 12VAC5-481-2440 A shall be performed:  

a. Upon installation of the equipment, and at least once 

every 12 months five years thereafter;  

b. Following any change in the initial arrangement, 

number, or type of local components in the system;  

c. Following any maintenance requiring the disassembly 

or removal of a local component in the system;  

d. During the performance of maintenance and alignment 

procedures if the procedures require the presence of a 

primary X-ray x-ray beam when any local component in 

the system is disassembled or removed;  

e. Any time a visual inspection of the local components 

in the system reveals an abnormal condition; and  

f. Whenever personnel monitoring devices show a 

significant increase over the previous monitoring period 

or the readings are approaching the limits specified in 

12VAC5-481-630.  

2. Radiation survey measurements shall not be required if a 

registrant (or licensee) can demonstrate compliance with 

subsection A of this section to the satisfaction of the 

agency.  

C. Posting. Each area or room containing analytical X-ray x-

ray equipment shall be conspicuously posted with a sign or 

signs bearing the radiation symbol and the words 

"CAUTION—X-RAY EQUIPMENT" or words having a 

similar intent in accordance with 12VAC5-481-660.  

12VAC5-481-3410. Quality management program.  

The facility shall implement a quality management program. 

The facility shall include in the quality management program 

written notification to the agency within 72 hours of 

discovery of a reportable event or a misadministration, a 

recordable event, and recording written directives.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2412; Filed November 5, 2013, 9:35 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-570. Commonwealth of 

Virginia Sanitary Regulations for Marinas and Boat 

Moorings (amending 12VAC5-570-10, 12VAC5-570-30 

through 12VAC5-570-190; adding 12VAC5-570-200; 

repealing 12VAC5-570-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-246 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 31, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Preston Smith, Manager, Marina Programs, 

Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 864-7468, FAX (804) 864-7475, or 

email preston.smith@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Sections 32.1-12 and 32.1-246 of the Code of Virginia 

require the State Board of Health to promulgate regulations 

establishing minimum requirements for sewerage facilities at 

marinas and other places where boats are moored. Section 

32.1-164 of the Code of Virginia provides that the board's 

regulations may require that residences, buildings, structures, 

and other places designed for human occupancy as the board 

may prescribe be provided with a sewerage system or 

treatment works. 

Purpose: The board's Marina Regulations are intended to 

protect public health and the environment by ensuring that 

sewage generated from boats and onshore boating facilities is 

treated and disposed of properly. The Marina Regulations 

have not been revised since the board adopted amendments in 

1990. Since that time, development has increased 

dramatically in the Chesapeake Bay watershed and other 
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tributaries and around Virginia's inland lakes. At the same 

time the public's awareness of and susceptibility to impaired 

water quality has increased. Boating has increased in 

popularity with more than 12 million boats in use nationwide. 

While the number of large commercial marinas has steadily 

grown, Virginia has also seen an increase in the number of 

smaller facilities, such as neighborhood marinas and public 

boat ramps. The proposed amendments simplify and clarify 

many regulatory requirements and address the need to modify 

the regulatory requirements for two facilities in particular: (i) 

marinas that serve owners who live aboard their boats and (ii) 

public boating access facilities (boat ramps) that receive 

heavy use (i.e., that have parking spaces for 50 or more boat 

trailers). In addition, the proposed amendments reflect the 

evolution in the methods of conveying and disposing human 

waste aboard boats; in particular, the proposed amendments 

address the advent of waste disposal via a marine sanitation 

device or a portable toilet. In addition to these methods, the 

Marina Regulations also require pump-outs to safely and 

properly handle waste disposal. Some of the changes, 

particularly those that simplify the method for determining 

sewage flow as a function of the number of slips, are intended 

to provide marinas and other places where boats are moored 

with the flexibility to redefine business models regarding the 

types of boats and boating activities they will service. 

Substance: The amendments cover five main areas: (i) 

definitions of terms; (ii) requirements for sanitary fixtures 

based on the number of slips and dry storage spaces; (iii) 

sewerage facility requirements at boating access facilities 

(boat ramps); (iv) sewage design flows based on the number 

of slips rather than the type of slip with a specific flow 

assigned to all slips used as live-aboard slips; (v) a new 

section for onshore facility requirements; and (vi) an 

exemption from the requirement for a sewage dump station 

for any facility that has a sewage pump-out and the correct 

appurtenance for pumping out portable toilets. 

The agency amended 12VAC5-570-10 to define boating 

access facility as a location consisting of a boat ramp. The 

agency expanded the definition for dry storage to include 

different ways boats are stored between uses. The agency 

added a definition for live-aboard slip. The agency defined 

regulated facilities as marinas, other places where boats are 

moored, and boating access facilities with 50 or more parking 

spaces for boat trailers. 

The agency amended 12VAC5-570-150 to provide an 

allowance for smaller boating facilities to construct unisex 

bathrooms. 

The agency amended 12VAC5-570-160 to require sewerage 

facilities at boating access facilities that have 50 or more 

parking spaces for boat trailers. 

The agency amended 12VAC5-570-180 to prohibit marinas 

or other places that provide live-aboard slips or boats with a 

marine sanitation device to invoke an exemption to provide a 

pump-out service. 

The agency amended 12VAC5-570-190 to allow marinas 

with a pump-out facility equipped with a specialized device 

(i.e., porta-potty wand) to use the device to excavate sewage 

from portable sewage containers instead of installing a dump 

station. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public of these 

amendments are improved sewage handling in sensitive 

waterfront areas and the assurance that when the public visits 

a regulated facility, there will be adequate sewerage fixtures 

to meet their needs. Having sewerage facilities available in 

such locations reduces the potential that human wastes will be 

improperly dumped into the waters of the Commonwealth. 

The requirement for smaller-sized marinas to install shower 

facilities poses an additional economic burden on smaller 

marina owners. This burden is offset somewhat, however, by 

the change that allows these smaller facilities to install a 

unisex bathroom instead of having to construct separate 

facilities for men and women. The proposed amendments 

create advantages to the public and the department by 

simplifying the regulatory program; specifically, the number 

of sewerage fixtures required at regulated facilities is no 

longer driven by the type of slip (seasonal or transient) but 

rather by the total number of slips and dry storage spaces. 

This proposed amendment allows owners the freedom to 

accommodate both short-term and long-term boaters without 

impacting any future growth. The amendments propose a 

higher sewage flow for live-aboard slips to reflect the higher 

water usage associated with these residences. While this 

change may pose economic impacts to owners, it provides 

public health protection from raw sewage discharge by 

helping to ensure that sewerage systems and treatment works 

are sized adequately to handle the wastewater load. 

The department worked with an ad hoc group of stakeholders 

in developing the proposed amendments. While that group 

was not able to review all of the proposed amendments, it 

supported the need to update the regulations and generally 

supported the substantive changes proposed. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Health's Sanitary Regulations for Marinas and Boat 

Moorings establish minimum standards for sewage handling 

and disposal at regulated facilities. The regulations are 

intended to protect public health and the environment by 

ensuring that sewage generated from boats and onshore 

boating facilities is treated and disposed of properly. The 

Marina Regulations have not been revised since the Board 

adopted amendments in 1990. Among other changes the 

Board proposes to: 1) require that boating access facilities 

have at least one privy, 2) eliminate the distinction between 

transient and seasonal slips as the basis for determining 

sewerage fixture needs, 3) establish a new category of slip, 

live-aboard slip, with a higher wastewater flow number, 4) 

provide owners with facilities that have proper sanitary waste 
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pump-out services an alternative to installing a sanitary waste 

dump station, and 5) allow the use of manually operated 

pumps at marinas and other places where boats are moored 

that offer fewer than 26 slips. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 

one or more proposed changes. There is insufficient data to 

accurately compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the 

costs for other changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed regulations do 

state that "Marinas, other place(s) where boats are moored, 

and boating access facilities in operation prior to the effective 

date of this chapter shall be subject to the regulations in effect 

at the time the marina, other place(s) where boats are moored 

or boating access facility was permitted unless such marina, 

other place(s) where boats are moored or boating access 

facility is expanded after the effective date of this chapter." 

So, no marina or other facility will face increased (or 

decreased) costs due to the proposed changes in these 

regulations unless they expand after the effective date of the 

adoption of these proposed amended regulations. Further, 

federal funding is available to pay 75 percent of the cost of 

investments in sewage handling infrastructure.
1
  

The Board proposes to require that boating access facilities 

have at least one privy (porta john). Boating access facilities 

are defined as any installation operating under public or 

private ownership that provides a boat launching ramp and 

has 50 or more parking spaces for boat trailers. The Virginia 

Department of Health (Department) estimates that purchasing 

a privy costs from $500 to $750;
2
 leasing a privy costs about 

$150.00 per week and that includes a weekly service (pump-

out and cleaning).
3 

The benefit of this proposed requirement 

is reduced risk to public health and the environment. 

According to the Department there has been a problem with 

unprocessed sewage being left in the water and on the land at 

boating access facilities and adjacent properties. The 

proposed requirement for a privy is intended to reduce such 

incidences and thus reduce potential harm to public health 

and the environment. 

The Board also proposes to eliminate the distinction between 

transient and seasonal slips as the basis for determining 

sewerage fixture needs. In the current regulations the required 

number of sewerage fixtures per given quantity of transient 

slips is greater than the required number of sewerage fixtures 

per given quantity of seasonal slips. Under the proposed 

regulations where the distinction between transient and 

seasonal is eliminated, the required number of sewerage 

fixtures per given quantity of slips is between the required 

numbers for seasonal and transient under the current 

regulations. Thus, marina owners with relatively more 

transient slips may encounter a slight reduction in the number 

of required sewerage fixtures under the proposed regulations; 

while marina owners with relatively more seasonal slips may 

encounter a slight increase in the number of required 

sewerage fixtures under the proposed regulations. As 

indicated earlier, these changes in the number of required 

sewerage fixtures only apply for facilities which expand after 

the effective date of the adoption of these proposed amended 

regulations. 

Public or municipal sewerage systems and treatment works 

should be used if there is reasonable access to sewers. When 

such municipal means of disposal are not available, the owner 

shall have designed and installed an approved sewerage 

system or treatment works. The sewage design flow for each 

slip shall be 25 gallons per slip per day.  

The Board proposes to establish a new category of slip, live-

aboard slip, with a higher wastewater flow number. Live-

aboard slips are any slip where a boat is moored and used 

principally as a residence or a place of business. Charter and 

commercial fishing boats are not included unless used as a 

residence. The Board proposes to require that the sewage 

design flow for each live-aboard slip be 50 gallons per slip 

per day. Users of live-aboard slips are likely to put 

significantly greater demands on the sewage system given 

that the slip users are likely to be present at the facility for a 

much higher percentage of time than other slip users.  

The proposed regulations do allow for a reduction in the 

sewage flow requirements if the owner provides documented 

flow data sufficient to justify the reduction. The owner could 

do this by use of a water meter measuring actual discharge 

into the onsite system. Such meters cost approximately $500. 

Expansion of an onsite system would on the other hand cost 

thousands of dollars.
4
  

The Board proposes to provide owners with facilities that 

have proper sanitary waste pump-out services an alternative 

to installing a sanitary waste dump station. Marinas and other 

place(s) where boats are moored that have an operational 

pump-out facility equipped with a device to pump portable 

sewage containers would not be required to have a dump 

station (costs about $5,000). The wand attachment is now 

commonly used at boating facilities with sanitary waste 

pump-out systems because it is easy to use and limits the 

boaters opportunity to spill sanitary waste into the water 

thereby protecting the environment. The wand costs 

approximately $25.
5
  

Under the current regulations manually operated pumps are 

not permitted. The Board proposes to allow the use of 

manually operated pumps at marinas and other places where 

boats are moored that offer fewer than 26 slips. Manually 

operated pumps cost approximately $1,500 and could help 

avoid spending $15,000.
6
  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

potentially affect owners of the 525 marinas, 402 other places 

where boats are moored, and 25 public access facilities (boat 

ramps) in the Commonwealth,
7
 as well as the customers and 

suppliers of such facilities. 

Localities Particularly Affected. Localities that own (or 

propose to own) regulated facilities are regulated under the 

current regulations and will be affected by the proposed 
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amendments. These include the Cities of Alexandria, 

Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Virginia 

Beach, Suffolk and the counties of Fairfax, Prince William, 

Stafford, Spotsylvania, James City, and the Northern Neck, 

Middle Peninsula, and Eastern Shore regions. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to require 

that boating access facilities have at least one privy may 

increase demand for firms which supply and service privies. 

Consequently employment for such firms may modestly 

increase.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal to require that boating access facilities have at least 

one privy may increase demand for firms which supply and 

service privies. Consequently the value for some such firms 

may modestly increase. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to significantly increase costs for 

small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 

significantly adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposals to allow the 

use of manually operated pumps at marinas and other places 

where boats are moored that offer fewer than 26 slips and to 

provide owners with facilities that have proper sanitary waste 

pump-out services an alternative to installing a sanitary waste 

dump station will modestly reduce develop costs for 

applicable marinas and other places where boats are moored. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

__________________________ 
1 Source: Virginia Department of Health 
2 Ibid 
3 Ibid 
4 Ibid 
5 Ibid 
6 Ibid 
7 Ibid 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department of Health concurs with the Department 

of Planning and Budget's economic impact analysis. The 

benefits of the regulations likely exceed the costs for one or 

more proposed changes. 

Summary: 

The Sanitary Regulations for Marinas and Boat Moorings 

establish minimum standards for sewage handling and 

disposal at regulated facilities to ensure that sewage 

generated from boats and onshore boating facilities is 

treated and disposed of properly. The proposed 

amendments (i) provide an allowance for smaller boating 

facilities to construct unisex bathrooms, (ii) eliminate the 

distinction between transient and seasonal slips as the 

basis for determining sewerage fixture needs, (iii) establish 

a new live-aboard slip category with a higher wastewater 

flow number, (iv) provide an alternative to installing a 

sanitary waste dump station for owners with facilities that 

have proper sanitary waste pump-out services, and (v) 

allow the use of manually operated pumps at marinas and 

other places where boats are moored that offer fewer than 

26 slips. 

Part I  

Introduction  

Article 1  

Definitions  

12VAC5-570-10. Definitions.  

As used in this chapter, the The following words and terms 

hereinafter set forth when used in this chapter shall have the 

following meanings respectively, unless the context clearly 

requires a different meaning. indicates otherwise:  

"Board" means the State Board of Health.  

"Boat" means any vessel or other watercraft, privately 

owned or owned by the Commonwealth or any political 

subdivision thereof, whether moved by oars, paddles, sails, or 

other power mechanism, inboard or outboard, or any other 

vessel or structure floating on water in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, whether or not capable of self-locomotion, including 

but not limited to cruisers, cabin cruisers, runabouts, 

houseboats and barges. Excluded from this definition are 

commercial, passenger and cargo carrying vessels subject to 

the Quarantine Regulation of the United States Public Health 

Service adopted pursuant to Title 42 of the United States 

Code and ships or vessels of the U.S. Government and boats 

which are tenders to larger boats moored or stored at the same 

facility.  
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"Boating access facility" means any installation operating 

under public or private ownership that provides a boat 

launching ramp and has 50 or more parking spaces for boat 

trailers. 

"Certificate" means a written approval from the 

Commissioner commissioner or his designated representative 

indicating that plans for sanitary facilities and sewage 

sewerage facilities, sewerage system, and treatment works 

meet or satisfy the minimum requirements of this chapter and 

§ 32.1-246, of the Code of Virginia.  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner 

whose duties are prescribed in § 32.1-19 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

"Division" means the Division of Wastewater Engineering, 

Department of Health Onsite Sewage and Water Services, 

Environmental Engineering, and Marina Programs, Office of 

Environmental Health Services of the department or its 

administrative successor.  

"Dry storage" means a boat storage, including boatels, valet 

storage, pigeon hole storage, stackominiums, or parking space 

where boats rest on racks or trailers located on land, whether 

covered or uncovered, at a marina or other place places where 

boats are moored for the purpose of storing boats on land 

between use.  

"Expanded" means any change to a regulated facility that 

results in an increase in sewage volume or strength due to the 

addition of slips, dry storage spaces, boat trailer parking 

spaces, or ancillary operations. 

"Live-aboard slip" means any slip where a boat is moored 

and used principally as a residence or a place of business. 

Charter and commercial fishing boats are not included unless 

used as a residence. 

"Local health department" means the branch of the State 

Health Department, established in accordance with § 32.1-30 

of the Code of Virginia, that has jurisdiction in the city or 

county where the regulated facility is located. 

"Marina" means any installation operating, under public or 

private ownership, which that provides dockage or moorage 

for boats (exclusive of, other than paddle or rowboats) 

rowboats, and provides, through sale, rental or, fee, or free 

basis, any equipment, supply, or service (fuel including fuel, 

electricity, or water) water for the convenience of the public 

or its leasee the lessee, renters, or users of its the facilities.  

"Marine sanitation device" means any equipment, piping, 

holding tanks, and appurtenances such as holding tanks for 

installation on board onboard a boat which is designed to 

receive, retain, treat, or discharge sewage and any process to 

treat such sewage.  

"No Discharge Zone" means an area where a state has 

received an affirmative determination from the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency that there are adequate 

facilities for the removal of sewage from vessels (holding 

tank pump-out facilities) in accordance with § 312(f)(3) of the 

Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.) and where federal 

approval has been received allowing a complete prohibition 

of all treated or untreated discharges of sewage from all 

vessels. 

"Office" means the Office of Environmental Health 

Services.  

"Other places where boats are moored" means any 

installation operating under public or private ownership, 

which that provides dockage, or moorage or mooring for 

boats, other than (exclusive of paddle or rowboats) rowboats, 

either on a free, rental, or fee basis or for the convenience of 

the public boater.  

"Owner" means the Commonwealth or any of its political 

subdivisions and any public or private institution, 

corporation, association, firm, or company organized or 

existing under the laws of this or any other state or county, or 

any person or group of persons acting individually or as a 

group who owns or proposes to own a marina, or other place 

places where boats are moored, or boating access facility.  

"Pump-out facilities facility" means any device, equipment, 

or method of for removing sewage from a marine sanitation 

device. Also, it shall include and conveying such sewage to a 

sewerage system or treatment works including any portable, 

movable, or permanent holding tanks either portable, movable 

or permanently installed, and any sewage treatment method or 

disposable equipment used to treat, or ultimately dispose of, 

sewage removed from boats.  

"Sanitary facilities "Sewerage facility" means bathrooms, 

toilets, closets and other enclosures, including portable toilets, 

where commodes, stools, water closets, lavatories, showers, 

urinals, sinks, or other such plumbing fixtures are installed.  

"Seasonal slips" means any slip which is used, rented, 

leased, or otherwise made available for mooring or docking 

of boats during the normal boating season, usually from April 

through September, or for any period greater than 30 days.  

"Sewage" means the spent water or wastewater containing 

human excrement coming from toilets, bathrooms, commodes 

and holding tanks. water-carried and nonwater-carried human 

excrement, kitchen, laundry, shower, bath, or lavatory waste, 

separately or together with such underground, surface, storm, 

and other water and liquid industrial wastes as may be present 

from residences, buildings, vehicles, boats, industrial 

establishments, or other places. 

"Sewage dump station" means a facility specifically 

designed to receive waste from portable sewage containers 

carried on boats and to convey such sewage to a sewerage 

system or a treatment works. 

"Sewage treatment or disposal systems" means device, 

process or plant designed to treat sewage and remove solids 

and other objectionable constituents which will permit the 

discharge to another approved system, or an approved 

discharge to state waters or disposal through an approved 
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subsurface drainfield or other acceptable method, such as 

incineration.  

"Sewerage facilities system" means entire sewage collection 

and disposal system including commodes, toilets, lavatories, 

showers, sinks and all other plumbing fixtures which are 

connected to a collection system consisting of sewer pipe, 

conduit, holding tanks, pumps and all appurtenances, 

including the sewage treatment or disposal system pipelines 

or conduits, pump stations and force mains, and all other 

construction, devices, and appliances used for the collection 

and conveyance of sewage to a treatment works or point of 

ultimate disposal. 

"Slip" means a berth or space where a boat may be secured 

to a fixed or floating structure, including a dock, finger pier, 

boat lift, or mooring buoy. 

"Transient slips" means temporary docking or mooring 

space which may be used for short periods of time, including 

overnight, days, or weeks, but less than 30 days.  

"Treatment works" means any device or system used in the 

storage, treatment, disposal, or reclamation of sewage or 

combinations of sewage and industrial wastes, including but 

not limited to pumping, power and other equipment and 

appurtenances, septic tanks, and any works, including land, 

that are or will be (i) an integral part of the treatment process 

or (ii) used for ultimate disposal of residues or effluents 

resulting from such treatment. 

"VMRC" means the Virginia Marine Resources 

Commission. 

Article 2  

General Information 

12VAC5-570-20. Authority for regulations. (Repealed.) 

Section 32.1-12 and 32.1-246 of the Code of Virginia 

provides that the State Board of Health is empowered and 

directed to promulgate all necessary rules and regulations 

establishing minimum requirements as to adequacy of 

sewerage facilities at marinas and other places where boats 

are moored. These facilities should be sufficient to serve the 

number of boat slips or persons such marinas and places are 

designed to accommodate, regardless of whether such 

establishments serve food.  

Article 2 

General Information 

12VAC5-570-30. Purpose of regulations.  

This chapter The board has been promulgated by the State 

Board of Health this chapter to:  

Ensure 1. Protect public health and water quality by 

ensuring that adequate sanitary sewerage facilities and, 

pump-out facilities, as defined in 12VAC5-570-10 and 

required by 12VAC5-570-130 of this chapter, sewage 

dump stations, and sewerage systems are provided at all 

marinas and, other places where boats are moored;, and 

boating access facilities.  

2. Establish minimum requirements as to the adequacy of 

sewerage facilities and sewerage systems at all marinas 

and, other places where boats are moored;, and boating 

access facilities.  

3. Protect public health and the environment by ensuring 

that all sewage generated from all regulated facilities is 

conveyed to an approved sewerage system or treatment 

works. 

3. 4. Guide the State Board of Health commissioner or his 

designee in its his determination of the adequacy of the 

sewerage systems and sewerage facilities to serve serving 

all marinas and, other places where boats are moored;, and 

boating access facilities. 

4. 5. Guide the State Board of Health commissioner or his 

designee in its approval his evaluation of plans and other 

data and in the issuance of a certificate as to the adequacy 

of sanitary and sewerage facilities; and sewerage systems. 

5. Notify the Marine Resources Commission that a 

certificate has been issued; and  

6. Assist the owner or his authorized engineer in the 

preparation of an application and supporting data, as may 

be required. (See 12VAC5-570-70) 

12VAC5-570-40. Administration of regulations.  

This chapter is administered by the following parties:  

1. The State Board of Health has responsibility for 

promulgating, amending, and repealing regulations which 

ensure minimum requirements as to adequacy of sewerage 

facilities at marinas and other places where boats are 

moored.  

2. A. The State Health Commissioner commissioner is the 

chief executive officer of the Virginia Department of Health. 

The commissioner has the authority to act for the board when 

it is not in session. The commissioner may delegate his 

powers under this chapter with the exception of his power to 

issue variances under 12VAC5-570-90.  

3. B. The Division of Wastewater Engineering division is 

designated as the primary reviewing agent of the board 

commissioner for the purpose of administering this chapter. It 

Upon receipt of the application from the local health 

department, the division examines and passes upon the 

technical aspects of all applications, plans and specifications 

grants or denies the application for sewerage facilities to 

serve marinas and, other places where boats are moored, and 

boating access facilities. It The division issues all certificates 

attesting to the adequacy of the sewerage facilities and 

notifies the Marine Resources Commission VMRC when a 

certificate is issued or denied.  

4. The Deputy Commissioner for Community Health 

Services directs and supervises the activities of the local 

health departments in the administration of assigned duties 

and responsibilities under the chapter.  



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 2, 2013 

920 

5. C. The local health department in each jurisdiction, city, 

town or county in which there exists, or is proposed, a marina 

or other place where boats are moored shall (i) be responsible 

for the processing of all applications submitted by owners, (ii) 

inspect and for inspecting sites and facilities provided, (iii) 

issue such permits as required by law, rules or regulations for 

sewerage facilities and, (iv) lacking in authority to issue a 

permit, will process such applications in accordance with the 

policies and procedures of the department. The local health 

department shall conduct a surveillance program and enforce 

the provisions of this chapter to ensure proper sanitation and 

cleanliness of the facilities provided for compliance with this 

chapter.  

6.The Office of Water Programs of the Department of 

Health of the Commonwealth of Virginia is responsible for 

the review and approval of sewage treatment works where 

there is a discharge to state waters, in accordance with the 

chapter, policies and procedures of the Health Department 

and the State Water Control Law, §§ 62.1-44.2 through 

62.1-44.34 of the Code of Virginia.  

12VAC5-570-50. Application of regulations to marinas 

and other places where boats are moored Applicability.  

A. Marinas or other places where boats are moored which 

are not in compliance with the Rules and Regulations of the 

Board of Health Governing Sanitary and Sewerage Facilities 

at Marinas and Other Places Where Boats Are Moored which 

became effective November 15, 1975 [repealed], shall 

comply with this chapter. Marinas, other places where boats 

are moored, and boating access facilities in operation prior to 

the effective date of this chapter shall be subject to the 

regulations in effect at the time the marina, other places 

where boats are moored, or boating access facility was 

permitted unless such marina, other places where boats are 

moored, or boating access facility is expanded after (insert the 

effective date of this chapter). 

B. All planned or new marinas or other places where boats 

are moored which do not exist This chapter shall apply to all 

marinas, other places where boats are moored, and boating 

access facilities placed into operation on or after (insert the 

effective date of this chapter) shall comply with all provisions 

of this chapter prior to commencing operation.  

C. All sanitary or sewerage facilities and sewerage systems 

shall conform to the requirements of this chapter when the 

marina or, other place places where boats are moored are 

either, or boating access facility that is served by the 

sewerage facilities and sewerage systems is expanded, altered 

or modified.  

D. This chapter shall apply to sewerage facilities and 

sewerage systems (i) serving marinas, other places where 

boats are moored, or boating access facilities and (ii) located 

on property owned by the marina, other places where boats 

are moored, or boating access facility. Sewerage systems or 

treatment works installed or proposed to be installed on 

property owned by someone other than the marina, other 

places where boats are moored, or boating access facility 

owner are regulated by Chapter 6 (§ 32.1-163 et seq.) of Title 

32.1 of the Code of Virginia or Title 62.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, as applicable. 

Article 3  

Procedure  

12VAC5-570-60. Certification general Permits and 

certificate.  

No owner shall operate construct a marina or, other place 

places where boats are moored, or a boating access facility 

unless he complies with the provisions of §§ 32.1-12 and 

32.1-246 of the Code of Virginia and has obtained a 

construction permit in accordance with this chapter. No 

owner shall operate a marina, other places where boats are 

moored, or a boating access facility until the local health 

department has inspected and approved construction and has 

issued a certificate to operate. Owners shall have in their 

possession obtain a permit from the Marine Resources 

Commission VMRC to operate a marina, or place other 

places where boats are moored, or a boating access facility 

when so required by § 62.1-3, of the Code of Virginia. Where 

state-owned bottom lands are involved, the owner shall 

submit a plan approved preliminary design and receive 

approval by the department shall be issued division prior to 

construction and the issuance of a certificate to operate.  

12VAC5-570-70. Application for certificate construction 

permit. 

A. Any owner, or his duly authorized representative, may 

make application shall apply for a certificate of approval of 

sanitary or sewerage facilities construction permit by 

applying submitting an application to the local health 

department in the jurisdiction where the proposed marina or, 

other place places where boats are moored, or boating access 

facility is to be located. The application shall be made on a 

form supplied by the local health department approved by the 

division. The application shall consist of the following:  

1. A completed application form which shall set forth the 

essential Essential data to determine the sewerage facilities 

and sewerage system necessary to serve the proposed 

installation;. 

2. Maps, plans, and specifications of the sanitary sewerage 

facilities and sewerage facilities system describing how 

and what the type of facilities that will be provided and 

how the facilities will provide for the safe and sanitary 

disposal of all sewage generated at the facility. The 

preliminary design plans shall establish the location of the 

sanitary sewerage facilities and sewerage system in 

relation to other facilities; they are intended to serve. 

3. A description of the proposed method of sewage or 

existing offsite sewerage system or treatment works used 

for the ultimate treatment or and disposal. Approval of 

sewage. The applicant shall apply for and obtain approval 

of the new offsite sewerage systems or treatment works or 
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disposal system must be applied for and obtained under 

other sections of the Code of Virginia and other 

regulations; and demonstrate that the existing sewerage 

systems or treatment works are approved and in 

accordance with this chapter. 

4. Any other data as may be pertinent to show the 

adequacy of sanitary or the sewerage facilities and 

sewerage system to be provided.  

B. An application pursuant to this section shall contain 

sufficient detail and clarity necessary to demonstrate that the 

sewerage facility and sewerage system meet all the applicable 

requirements of this chapter. 

12VAC5-570-80. Receipt of data application.  

Upon receipt of the data set forth in 12VAC5-570-70 in 

sufficient detail and clarity so as to show that the sewerage 

facilities meet requirements of this chapter, a plan approval or 

disapproval will be issued by the Department of Health.  

A. Construction. Upon completion of construction of the 

sanitary sewerage facilities and sewerage facilities systems at 

marinas and, other places where boats are moored, or boating 

access facilities, the owner of the facility, or his duly 

authorized representative, shall notify the local health 

department so that it may inspect the construction. A 

certificate to operate shall be issued by the Health Department 

when it When the division, in consultation with the local 

health department, has been determined that construction is in 

compliance with the approved plan, it shall issue a certificate. 

B. Operation. All marinas and other places where boats are 

moored shall hold a valid certificate to operate in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. The owner shall post the 

certificate in a place where it is readily observable by 

members of the public who transact business with the facility. 

12VAC5-570-90. Variances.  

A. The commissioner may grant a variance to any 

requirement of this chapter if, after investigation, it is 

determined the commissioner determines that the hardship 

imposed upon the owner or the public by compliance with 

this chapter outweigh outweighs the benefits that the chapter 

confers, or that there is no and that granting a variance will 

not result in a potential or actual public health hazard.  

A. Effect of variance. B. A variance is a conditional waiver 

of a specific regulation which that is granted to a particular or 

designated marina or other place where boats are moored an 

owner of a marina, other places where boats are moored, or a 

boating access facility. It is nontransferrable Variances are 

not transferrable between owners, and it any variance shall be 

attached to the certificate of the marina or, other place places 

where boats are moored, or boating access facility to which it 

was granted. The variance is a condition of the certificate, 

which is revoked if the certificate is revoked.  

B. Application for a variance. C. Any owner of a marina or, 

other place places where boats are moored, or a boating 

access facility may apply in writing for a variance. This 

application shall be submitted to the local health department 

in the jurisdiction in which the marina or, other place places 

where boats are moored, or boating access facility is located. 

This application shall include:  

1. A citation to referencing the specific requirements of 

this chapter from which a variance is requested and a 

statement describing the hardships imposed by the specific 

requirements of this chapter; 

2. A statement of reasons why the public health and 

environment would not be detrimentally affected if a 

variance is granted, and a list of suggested measures that 

would be implemented to prevent any potential detrimental 

impacts; and  

3. Facts supporting the need and justification for the 

variance.; 

4. The nature and duration of the variance request; 

5. Other information, if any, believed by the applicant to be 

pertinent; and 

6. Such other information as the division, local health 

department, or the commissioner may require. 

D. If the commissioner denies any request for a variance, 

such denial shall be in writing and shall state the reasons for 

the denial.  

12VAC5-570-100. Suspension or revocation Revocation of 

a certificate.  

The board Either by emergency order under the authority of 

§ 32.1-13 of the Code of Virginia or following an opportunity 

for an informal fact-finding proceeding as provided by § 2.2-

4019 of the Code of Virginia, the commissioner or his 

designee may revoke or suspend a certificate for failure to 

construct and operate the sewerage facilities and sewerage 

system in accordance with the conditions of the application 

and certificate issued or for any violation of this chapter.  

12VAC5-570-110. Administration appeals Applicability of 

the Administrative Process Act.  

Any applicant or certificate holder who is aggrieved by an 

adverse decision of the commissioner may appeal in writing 

within 30 days after the notification of the adverse decision 

and request a fair hearing. Within 30 days of receipt of 

notification of appeal, the commissioner shall set a date and 

place for such hearing. Not later than 30 days following the 

hearing, the commissioner shall issue a final order with 

respect to the disposition of the appeal. Such hearing, notice 

and proceedings shall be conducted pursuant to the The 

Administrative Process Act, Chapter 1.1:1 (§ 9-6.14:1 et seq.) 

of Title 9 of the Code of Virginia. (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia) shall govern the decision of cases under 

this chapter.  
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Part II  

Required Sewerage Facilities and Sewerage Systems for 

Marinas and, Other Places Where Boats are Are Moored, and 

Boating Access Facilities and Their Operation  

12VAC5-570-120. General.  

A. All owners of marinas or, other places where boats are 

moored, and boating access facilities shall provide the 

minimum number of sanitary sewerage facilities required by 

this chapter for their patrons. These Owners shall maintain 

their facilities shall be maintained in a clean and sanitary 

operable condition. They shall be equipped Owners shall 

equip their facilities with toilet tissue, lights where electricity 

is available, and soap and towels where handwashing 

facilities are required. These Owners shall make their 

facilities shall be available during normal business hours to 

patrons and users of these facilities at all times during the 

normal boating season for that facility.  

B. Marinas which are located within 1,000 feet of the shore 

end of the pier that are operated as part of residential 

developments, overnight lodging facilities, restaurants, or 

commercial establishments, which are located within 1,000 

feet of the shore end of the pier, are exempted exempt from 

providing separate sanitary sewerage facilities, as long as the 

sanitary sewerage facilities at the residence, lodging 

establishment, restaurant, or commercial establishment are 

made available to all users of the marina. This The exemption 

set forth in this subsection does not apply to (i) marinas:  

1. Marinas associated with restaurants or commercial 

establishments which that allow overnight occupancy of 

boats; and (ii) marinas 

2. Marinas associated with overnight lodging 

establishments where overnight occupancy of boats is 

permitted by persons not registered at the overnight 

lodging establishment.  

C. Exempt from the requirements of subsection A of this 

section are other Other places where boats are moored which 

serve and boating access facilities are exempt from the 

requirements of subsection A of this section, provided that the 

other places where boats are moored or boating access 

facility: 

1. Serves residents of homes (houses, condominiums, 

apartments, or mobile homes), their bona fide house 

guests, or registered guests of tourist establishments which 

provide;  and  

2. Provides adequate sanitary sewerage facilities that are 

located within 1,000 feet of the shore end of the pier. 

D. In order to qualify for an exemption under subsections 

subsection B or C of this section, the owner of such marinas 

or a marina, other places where boats are moored, or a 

boating access facility shall provide to the department 

division a signed, notarized statement that all conditions set 

forth in the aforementioned sections this section will be 

complied with by users of the facilities.  

12VAC5-570-130. Location.  

Adequate sanitary Owners shall conveniently locate their 

sewerage facilities shall be conveniently located within 500 

feet walking distance from the shore end of any dock they the 

facilities are intended to serve or within a reasonable. On a 

case-by-case basis the division may approve a greater 

distance under if unusual circumstances as determined by the 

division, such as topography or resource protection areas, 

prevent compliance with this requirement. It The division 

may be necessary require the owner to provide sanitary 

sewerage facilities in more than one location in order to meet 

the needs of the particular site developed. In addition, the 

division may require additional fixtures, beyond the minimum 

number specified in Table 1 (12VAC5-570-150), if it 

determines that additional fixtures are necessary to 

accommodate the site layout and use of the marina, other 

places where boats are moored, or boating access facility. 

12VAC5-570-140. Availability and marking of sanitary 

facilities.  

The sanitary Owners shall locate the sewerage facilities shall 

be so that they are available and readily reasonably accessible 

to all users. They shall be appropriately marked with signs 

readily identifiable to all personnel who might desire to use 

the facilities The location and use of all sewerage facilities 

shall be clearly indicated by appropriate signage. 

12VAC5-570-150. Marinas Sewerage facilities for 

marinas.  

A. Minimum The minimum number of sewerage fixtures to 

be provided in sanitary facilities. It shall be understood that at 

marinas is found in many instances the site layout and the use 

of the marina may require more fixtures than are shown in the 

table below. If the board, after observation and study, 

determines that additional fixtures or buildings housing 

sanitary facilities are necessary, the owner shall provide the 

additional fixtures so determined Table 1.  

B. Where dry storage space is provided, each dry storage 

space is equivalent to one-third of a seasonal slip. The 

minimum number of fixtures required is contained in Table 

No. 1 and is based upon the total number of seasonal slips or 

their equivalent. Separate sewerage facilities for male and 

female personnel shall employees may be provided in a 

structure or structures, but shall not be counted toward the 

minimum number of fixtures required to accommodate users 

of the marina. 
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Table # 1 

Number of Seasonal Slips 

FIXTURES 

Commodes Urinals Lavatories Showers 

Male Female Male Male Female Male Female 

0-49 1 1 0 1 1 0 0 

50-99 1 2 1 1 1 0 0 

100-149 2 3 1 2 2 1 1 

150-199 2 4 2 3 3 2 2 

200-249 3 5 2 4 4 2 2 

  

Table 1 

Number of Slips 

SEWERAGE FIXTURES  

Commodes 
Additional Urinal  

or Commode 
Lavatories Showers 

Male Female Male Male Female Male Female 

1 - 24 1 0 1 1 

25 - 49 1 2 1 2 2 1 1 

50 - 99 2 3 1 2 2 1 1 

100 - 149 3 4 1 3 3 2 2 

150 - 199 3 5 2 4 4 2 2 

200 - 249 4 6 2 5 5 3 3 

C. When the number of seasonal slips exceeds those above on prescribed by Table No. 1, the owner shall provide additional 

fixtures shall be provided. One The owner shall provide one commode, lavatory, and shower will be provided for each sex 

gender for each 100 additional seasonal slips. A urinal may be substituted for a commode when the number of seasonal slips 

exceeds 100 of the Table No. 1 values. Showers are not required for dry storage boat usage.  

B. Transient slip. When transient slips are available additional sanitary facilities shall be provided. Table No. 2 below shows 

the minimum number of additional fixtures required. These fixtures may be included in a structure or structures with those 

fixtures provided for the seasonal slip, provided the accessibility and convenience standards of 12VAC5-570-130 and 

12VAC5-570-140 of this chapter are met.  

Table # 2 

Number of Transient 

Slips 

FIXTURES 

Commodes Urinals Lavatories Showers 

Male Female Male Male Female Male Female 

0 1 - 24 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 

25 - 49 1 2 1 2 2 2 2 

50 - 74 2 3 1 2 2 2 2 

75 - 100 2 4 2 3 3 3 3 
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For each 24 or fraction thereof of transient slips or moorings in excess of those shown in Table No. 2 above, one commode, 

lavatory, and shower shall be provided for each sex. In addition, one urinal shall be provided for each 50 or fraction thereof 

transient slips in excess of the number shown in Table No. 2.  

12VAC5-570-160. Sanitary Sewerage facilities at other 

places where boats are moored and boating access 

facilities. 

A. Sewerage facilities are required at other places where 

boats are moored and boating access facilities in accordance 

with this section. 

B. Where piped potable water is available, sanitary sewerage 

facilities for other places where boats are moored shall consist 

of a minimum of one commode and, one lavatory, and one 

shower for females and one commode and one lavatory for 

males for each gender, for each 100 seasonal slips or fraction 

thereof and each 50 transient slips or fraction thereof.  

C. Requirements for dry storage boat usage shall be are 

identical to those specified in 12VAC5-570-150 for marinas.  

Sanitary D. Where piped potable water is not available, 

sewerage facilities for other places where boats are moored 

may consist of privies where piped water is not available.  

E. Sewerage facilities at boating access facilities shall 

consist of at least one privy or portable toilet and shall be 

sufficient in number to accommodate facility usage.  

F. Walking distance to these facilities shall comply with 

12VAC5-570-130.  

12VAC5-570-170. Sewage treatment.  

A. Public or municipal sewage sewerage systems and 

treatment facilities shall works should be used if there is 

reasonable access to sewers. When such municipal means of 

disposal is are not available, the owner shall have designed 

and installed an approved method of sewage treatment. 

Approved methods of sewage treatment are set forth in the 

Sewerage Regulations (1977) (12VAC5-580-10 et seq.) 

Sewage Handling and Disposal Regulations (1982, as 

amended), 12VAC5-610-10 et seq. If permanent water 

conservation devices are provided, the sewage flow 

requirements specified in subsections A and B of this section 

may be reduced upon written approval of the division 

sewerage system or treatment works. An approved sewerage 

system or treatment works is (i) a system for which a 

certificate to operate has been issued jointly by the 

department and the Department of Environmental Quality, (ii) 

a system approved by the Department of Environmental 

Quality in accordance with Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

or (iii) a system approved by the commissioner in accordance 

with Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

A. The following shall be used to determine the amount of 

sewage flow. It is assumed that B. The sewage design flow 

for each slip or dry storage space represents two persons. At 

marinas providing toilet facilities only, the flow figure shall 

be 10 25 gallons per person slip per day. At marinas 

providing toilet and shower facilities, the flow figure shall be 

16 gallons per person per day except at marinas with only 

seasonal slips, where the flow figure shall be 10 gallons per 

person per day for the first 99 slips, regardless of whether 

showers are available, and 16 gallons per person per day for 

all slips above the 99 slips. For dry storage facilities the 

sewage flow shall be calculated using one-third the number of 

dry storage spaces. Where dry storage is provided, each dry 

storage space shall be equivalent to one-third of a slip. The 

sewage design flow for each live-aboard slip shall be 50 

gallons per slip per day. When marinas or other places where 

boats are moored are constructed in conjunction with another 

structure or facility, the sewage design flows prescribed in 

this section shall be added to the sewage design flow 

governing the associated structure or facility.  

In addition, for marinas C. For marinas or other places 

where boats are moored which have that have a boat 

launching ramp and provide boat trailer parking spaces only 

while the boat is in use boating access facility, the design 

sewage flow shall be increased by 10 gallons per day per boat 

trailer parking space.  

B. Where restaurants or motels are operated in connection 

with a marina or place where boats are moored the following 

shall be used as a basis for determining the amount of sewage 

flow:  

Motels - 65 gallons per person per day or a minimum of 130 

gallons per room per day.  

Restaurant - 50 to 180 gallons per seat per day. Each 

installation will be evaluated according to conditions.  

C. The occupancy level of boats used for design of sewage 

treatment or disposal facilities will be those levels listed in 

12VAC5-570-170 A. It is recognized that the type of activity 

and utilization of marina or other places where boats are 

moored varies and, therefore, additional facilities to provide 

capacity up to maximum may be required if the need arises. 

The local health director serving the area in which the marina 

is located shall make such determination.  

D. The division may approve a reduction in the sewage flow 

requirements specified in subsection B of this section if the 

owner provides documented flow data sufficient to justify the 

reduction. 

12VAC5-570-180. Pump-out.  

Other A. Owners of other places where boats are moored 

which that allow overnight docking or mooring of boats and 

owners of all marinas, regardless of size or number of boat 

moorings slips, shall provide pump-out facilities for pumping 

or removing sewage from boats. These pump-out facilities 

shall include all the equipment, structures, and treatment or 

disposal facilities necessary to ultimately discharge or dispose 

of this boat sewage in an efficient and sanitary manner 

without causing an actual or potential public health hazard. 

Exempt from this requirement are marinas and other places 
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where boats are moored which that do not have live-aboard 

slips or allow boats with an installed toilet with a discharge 

overboard or a sewage holding tank a marine sanitation 

device to use any of the services provided, including 

moorage, except in an emergency. In order to qualify for this 

exemption, the owner of such marina or other place places 

where boats are moored shall provide the department with a 

signed, notarized statement indicating that there are no live-

aboard slips and that boats with installed toilets with 

overboard discharges or sewage holding tanks marine 

sanitation devices shall not be permitted to use the marina or 

other places facilities facility except in an emergency. 

A. Availability and operation. Where pump-out facilities are 

required, the owner shall install, maintain in good operating 

condition and provide pump-out during normal working 

hours to users of the marina or other places where boats are 

moored except in those cases where adequate facilities are 

provided in accordance with subsection B of this section, 

then, the normal working hours requirement will apply to the 

facility using the agreement, as well as the facility with the 

alternate pump-out service. B. The owner shall make sewage 

pump-out facilities available to all users of the marina or 

other places where boats are moored during normal operating 

hours. The owner shall maintain the pump-out equipment in 

serviceable condition and shall keep the equipment located in 

an area convenient for utilization.  

C. The owner shall use placards or signs to identify the 

sewage pump-out location and use restrictions. 

B. Alternate pump-out service. D. Marinas and other places 

where boats are moored which that provide less fewer than 50 

seasonal (or transient) slips for boats of 26 feet or more in 

length and less than 20 seasonal (or transient) slips for boats 

of 40 feet or more in length may be exempted exempt from 

the requirement to install pump-out facilities unless such 

marinas or other places where boats are moored are located in 

a No Discharge Zone. Such exemption will shall be granted 

by the director of the division whenever alternate pump-out 

service is provided at a nearby marina or other place places 

where boats are moored, and is as evidenced by an agreement 

signed and notarized by both parties in accordance with the 

requirements of this section, and filed with the division. Such 

The division shall only approve such alternate pump-out 

service will only be approved by the division when in 

accordance with the following criteria are met:  

1. That the The alternate pump-out service will shall not 

require more than 20 minutes to complete from the time a 

boater has the boat ready to receive the service and has 

previously requested to have the boat sewage holding tank 

marine sanitation device pumped. The pump-out service 

for holding tanks of 50-gallon capacity or more (sewage 

holding) may exceed twenty 20 minutes;.  

2. That the The alternate pump-out service shall be located 

within three nautical miles, as measured along the water 

route, of the exempt facility using the agreement unless the 

alternate pump-out service is located along the normal 

travel route to open water, in which case the exempt 

facility using the agreement shall be within five nautical 

miles of the alternate pump-out service;. 

3. That the The alternate pump-out service capacity is shall 

be sufficient to handle the demand for pump-out service, in 

accordance with subsection C of this section, that is 

expected for all of the marinas or other places where boats 

are moored entering into the above-mentioned agreement; 

referenced in this subsection.  

4. That a notice shall be posted in a conspicuous location, 

at the marina or other place where boats are moored not 

installing pump-out service, that specifies the location of 

the alternate pump-out service; and The owner of the 

exempt facility shall post in a conspicuous location 

appropriate signage that specifies the location of the 

alternate pump-out service and the associated charge for its 

use. 

5. The terms of the agreement shall provide that:  

a. That the The alternate pump-out service will shall be 

available to all boats moored at each facility and it will 

state that the alternate pump-out facility will furnish 

pump-out services to anybody boaters referred to it by 

the establishment using the agreement to provide pump-

out service, exempt facility as specified by this chapter; 

and  

b. That the The agreement will shall be valid for one year 

and will be automatically renewable on the anniversary 

date, unless either party gives at least a 60-day 

termination notice to the other and to the director of the 

division prior to the renewal date.  

6. If a termination notice is issued to a an exempt facility 

using an agreement to provide alternate pump-out service, 

in accordance with 12VAC5-570-180 B this subsection, 

then that facility shall either provide pump-out service or 

obtain a new written agreement, in accordance with 

12VAC5-570-180 B, this subsection by the effective date 

of the termination of alternate pump-out service.  

C. Minimum design criteria for pump-out facilities. E. The 

purpose of these minimum design criteria is to provide the 

owner and the Department of Health department with 

acceptable methods for pumping, storing, and conveying and 

treatment of the contents from boat holding tanks marine 

sanitation devices. The owner shall furnish the following 

information for each proposed pump-out facility A proposed 

pump-out facility shall meet the following minimum design 

criteria:  

1. Pumping equipment. Pump equipment may be fixed or 

portable; however, this equipment shall be conveniently 

located for usage and clearly identified or placarded by 

signs or other notices, indicating any fees, restrictions, or 

other operating instructions, as necessary. A minimum 

pump capacity of 10 gpm gallons per minute (gpm) is 
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acceptable at the operating head required to transport the 

flow to the proper collection or treatment location with 

such residual head as may be required; however, at marinas 

with 51 or more slips, greater pumping capacity may be 

required. Pumps To prevent clogging, pumps shall be of a 

macerator type or have sufficient size suction and 

discharge openings to prevent clogging the pumps shall be 

able to pass a 2-inch spherical solid. Manually operated 

pumps are not permitted acceptable at marinas and other 

places where boats are moored that offer fewer than 26 

slips. Pump data from the manufacturer shall include:  

a. The type of pump (diaphragm or (positive 

displacement, centrifugal, and power) vacuum, 

macerator, etc.);  

b. Rated capacity (gpm, hp. and head) Pump power 

source (electric motor, gasoline engine, etc.) and output 

(HP); 

c. Motor type (electric or gas); and Pump capacity, 

including a performance curve; 

d. Suction and discharge opening size. Pump solids-

handling ability; and 

e. A schematic showing relevant pump dimensions, such 

as height, size, and location of suction and discharge 

openings, etc. 

2. Location schematic. If fixed pump-out equipment is 

proposed, a schematic of the location with elevations for 

subsections a, b, c, d and e, as described below, shall be 

included, or if portable pump-out equipment is proposed, a 

schematic shall indicate elevations for subsections a, c, f 

and g, as described below: A schematic of the proposed 

facilities shall be provided and include the following 

minimum information: 

a. Mean low water level elevation;  

b. Elevation of dock Suction hose diameter, length, and 

highest elevation;  

c. Greatest elevation of suction center line of pump Pump 

elevation;  

d. Elevation of discharge point Discharge hose/pipe 

diameters, lengths, and highest elevation; 

e. Highest point in discharge line Discharge point 

elevation;  

f. Type of dock (floating or stationary); and  

g. Greatest elevation of any dock; and 

h. Distance between pump-out location and slips.  

All elevations shall be measured with respect to mean low 

water. If the elevation of mean low water is not known, 

assume it to be zero.  

3. Fittings and hose (piping). Fittings This subdivision sets 

forth the minimum design criteria for fittings and hoses 

(piping) which are used in the operation of a pump-out 

facility shall meet the following:  

a. Suction hose hoses shall meet the following criteria: 

(1) A friction nozzle (right angle preferred) or wand-type 

attachment is to be provided on the end of the suction 

hose. Adapters shall be provided to fit any discharge 

connection from 1.5 1.25 to 4 2 inches in diameter.  

(2) A check valve shall be provided on the suction hose 

at the nozzle.  

(3) The hose shall be made of flexible, heavy-duty 

material that will be noncollapsing and nonkinking. The 

length of this line shall be determined on an individual 

case basis by the division.  

(4) If the suction line is to be installed in such a manner 

that sewage would discharge from the line when the 

pump is removed for service, a gate full port ball valve 

shall be provided on the pump end of the suction line.  

b. Discharge hose and piping. shall meet the following 

criteria: 

(1) The discharge hose or piping shall be equipped with 

watertight, permanent or positive locking type fittings 

and connections.  

(2) Where flexible discharge hose is used, the hose shall 

be made of heavy-duty material and be nonkinking and 

noncollapsing.  

c. Discharge line lines shall meet the following criteria: 

(1) A gate full port ball valve shall be provided on the 

discharge line at the pump;  

(2) Suitable connections on the end of the discharge line 

shall be provided to prevent it from coming loose 

dislodging during discharge; all nozzles and fittings are 

to be positive locking, male and female.  

(3) The discharge line must shall not be subject to 

freezing or leaking into the water course.  

(4) Sewer lines on piers shall be located below water 

distribution lines. Water and sewer line separation and 

sewer line, and water source separation requirements are 

set forth in the Waterworks Regulations (12VAC5-590-

10 et seq.) (12VAC5-590) and the Sewage Handling and 

Disposal Regulations (12VAC5-610-10 et seq.) 

(12VAC5-610).  

(5) The discharge line connection to the pump-out 

receiving facility shall be fixed in place in such a manner 

as to prevent it from coming loose dislodging during 

discharge.  

d. Pump-out facilities shall include equipment for rinsing 

the boats' holding tanks associated with marine sanitation 

devices. Where potable water will be used for rinsing the 

holding tank, a backflow prevention device shall be 

installed on the water service line. A minimum of a hose 

bib type vacuum breaker shall be provided.  

4. Other devices or methods of removal. Other devices or 

methods of removal of contents from boat holding tanks 
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marine sanitation devices may be approved by the 

Commissioner division on an individual case basis.  

5. Onshore facilities. Contents from boat holding tanks 

shall be discharged to (i) a public wastewater collection 

system in which sewage is conveyed to an approved 

treatment facility; (ii) a holding tank whereby sewage may 

be stored until it is taken in an approved manner to an 

approved treatment facility; or (iii) directly to an approved 

sewage treatment facility.  

a. For discharge to a public wastewater collection system, 

the following will be required: The owner of the marina 

or other place where boats are moored shall submit 

evidence, in writing, (i) of consent from the owner of the 

system, (ii) from the owner of any conveyance systems 

located downstream, which may be affected, and (iii) 

from the owner of the ultimate treatment facility. 

Verification shall be given that there are satisfactory 

provisions for emptying the contents from portable toilets 

in a sanitary manner.  

b. If sewage is to be stored in a holding tank, the holding 

tanks shall be sized, constructed and located to meet the 

criteria.  

(1) Size of holding tank.  

Marinas or other places where boats are moored shall 

size the holding tanks based upon the following 

tabulations:  

Total Number of Boats 

Serviced with Holding 

Tanks 

Required Onshore 

Holding Tank - 

Volume (gallons) 

Minimum 

1 - 20 250 

21 - 40 500 

41 - 60 725 

61 - 80 1000 

81 - 100 1200 

100+ 2000 

(2) Construction of holding tank.  

(a) The holding tank shall be designed so that it is 

watertight and not subject to any infiltration or any 

leakage.  

(b) When holding tanks are made of material other than 

concrete, the internal surface of the holding tank shall be 

protected from corrosion. Materials used in the 

manufacture and installation of holding tanks shall be 

resistant to deterioration by prolonged or frequent contact 

with deodorizing chemicals, sewage decomposing 

chemicals, sewage, freshwater and saltwater.  

(c) When holding tanks are made of material other than 

concrete, the outside surface of the holding tank shall be 

protected from corrosion.  

(d) The holding tank shall be constructed of materials 

capable of withstanding the forces exerted on its walls.  

(e) The holding tank shall be fixed in place unless it is 

part of an approved mobile pump-out unit.  

(f) Provisions shall be made to assure that the holding 

tank can be completely emptied. The tank shall be 

essentially emptied when pumped out.  

(g) The holding tank shall be adequately vented. 

Screened, elbowed down vents installed at the top of the 

tank will serve this requirement.  

(h) The inlet/outlet of the holding tank shall be 

compatible with the proposed method of removal.  

(i) There shall be satisfactory provisions for emptying the 

contents from portable toilets in a sanitary manner.  

(3) Holding tank location.  

Separation distance between holding tank and various 

structures and features are contained in Table 4.4 of the 

Sewage Handling and Disposal Regulations (12VAC5-

610-10 et seq.)  

(4) Any person who removes, or contracts to remove, and 

transport by vehicle, the contents of a holding tank shall 

have a written sewage handling permit issued by the 

Commissioner (see the Sewage Handling and Disposal 

Regulations, 12VAC5-610-10 et seq.).  

c. Sewage treatment plant. Disposal of holding tank 

wastes shall not be allowed at small sewage treatment 

plants where shock loading may result or disinfectants 

and odor inhibitors will affect the operation of the 

treatment facility. Whenever feasible, the collected 

sewage shall be discharged directly to the sewer system 

of a large sewage treatment facility or transported for 

eventual treatment at a large plant.  

12VAC5-570-190. Sewage dump station.  

A. All marinas and other places where boats are moored, 

regardless of size or number of boat moorings, shall have an 

acceptable a proper and adequate receiving station for sewage 

from portable toilets containers used on boats. The owner 

shall install, maintain in good operating condition and 

provide a sewage dump station to users of the marina or other 

places where boats are moored. Exempt from this provision 

subsection are marinas or other places where boats are 

moored which that also qualify for the exemption contained 

in 12VAC5-570-120 B or C exemption, provided that the 

owner of the sanitary sewerage facility will allow consents to 

the dumping of the contents of portable toilets sewage 

containers into the sanitary sewerage facilities.  

B. Availability and operation. Where a sewage dump station 

is required, the owner shall install, and maintain in good 

operating condition, and provide it in a serviceable and 
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sanitary condition and in compliance with this chapter. The 

owner shall make the facilities available to users of the 

marina or other places where boats are moored. The owner 

shall locate the sewage dump station in an area convenient for 

use, and the owner shall use placards or signs to identify its 

location and restrictions. 

C. Minimum design criteria for a sewage dump station. The 

purpose of these the minimum design criteria is to provide the 

owner and the Department of Health department with 

acceptable methods of discharging sewage from a portable 

container containers into a sewage holding tank or a sewage 

sewerage treatment system works. The same criteria as set 

forth in 12VAC5-570-180 C 5 12VAC5-570-200 A for 

contents from boat holding tanks will marine sanitation 

devices shall apply for sewage dump stations. The sewage 

dump station receiving unit shall be a minimum of 12 inches 

in diameter and be equipped with a cover that has a lip of 

sufficient size to prevent it from accidentally being removed 

prohibit accidental removal. If the unit is designed to drain, 

the drain shall be a minimum of four inches in diameter and 

equipped with a fly tight cover.  

D. Marinas and other places where boats are moored that 

have an operational pump-out facility equipped with a device 

to pump portable sewage containers are exempt from the 

requirements of subsection C of this section. 

12VAC5-570-200. Onshore facilities. 

A. Contents from marine sanitation devices and portable 

sewage containers used on boats shall be discharged to:  

1. A public sewerage system for conveyance to an 

approved treatment works as described in 12VAC5-570-

170 A;  

2. A holding tank whereby sewage may be stored until it is 

transported in accordance with the Sewage Handling and 

Disposal Regulations to an approved treatment works as 

described in 12VAC5-570-170 A; or  

3. An approved sewage treatment works as described in 

12VAC5-570-170 A. 

B. Disposal of sewage waste from a marine sanitation device 

shall be prohibited at small sewage treatment plants where 

shock loading may result or disinfectants and odor inhibitors 

will affect the operation of the treatment facility. Whenever 

feasible, the collected sewage shall be discharged directly to 

the sewerage system of a large sewage treatment facility or 

transported for eventual treatment at a large sewage treatment 

facility. 

C. For discharge to a public sewerage system, the owner of 

the marina or other places where boats are moored shall 

submit to the division, in writing; 

1. Evidence of consent to the discharge from the owner of 

the conveyance system; 

2. Evidence of consent to discharge from the owner of any 

conveyance systems located downstream that may be 

affected; and  

3. Evidence of consent to discharge from the owner of the 

treatment works where the sewage is to be disposed.  

The owner shall verify that there are satisfactory provisions 

for emptying the contents from portable sewage containers in 

a sanitary manner.  

D. If sewage is to be stored by the marina or other places 

where boats are moored in a holding tank, the holding tank or 

tanks shall be sized, constructed, and located to meet the 

following criteria:  

1. Sewage holding tanks shall be sized in accordance with 

the requirements of Table 2.  

Table 2: Minimum Holding Tank Volume 

Total Number of Boats 

Serviced Annually with 

Marine Sanitation Devices 

Minimum Holding Tank 

Volume (gallons)  

1 - 60 725 

61 - 80 1000 

81 - 100 1200 

100+ 2000 

2. Holding tanks shall be constructed in accordance with 

the following criteria;  

a. The holding tank shall be watertight and not subject to 

any infiltration or leakage. 

b. When holding tanks are made of material other than 

concrete, the internal surface of the holding tank shall be 

protected from corrosion. Materials used in the 

manufacture and installation of holding tanks shall be 

resistant to deterioration by prolonged or frequent contact 

with deodorizing chemicals, sewage decomposing 

chemicals, sewage, freshwater, and saltwater. 

c. When holding tanks are made of material other than 

concrete, the external surface of the holding tank shall be 

protected from corrosion.  

d. The holding tank shall be constructed of materials 

capable of withstanding the forces exerted on its walls.  

e. The holding tank shall be located onshore and fixed in 

place unless it is part of an approved mobile pump-out 

unit.  

f. Provisions shall be made to the satisfaction of the 

department to assure that the holding tank can be 

completely emptied. The tank shall be essentially 

emptied when pumped out.  

g. The holding tank shall be adequately vented. This 

requirement may be met with screened, elbowed down 

vents installed at the top of the tank.  

h. The inlet/outlet of the holding tank shall be compatible 

with the proposed method of removal.  
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i. There shall be provisions for emptying the contents 

from portable sewage containers in a sanitary manner.  

3. The required separation distances between holding tank 

and various structures and features are contained in Table 

4.1 of the Sewage Handling and Disposal Regulations 

(12VAC5-610-597 D).  

4. Any person who removes, or contracts to remove and 

transport by vehicle, the contents of a holding tank shall 

have a written sewage handling permit issued by the 

commissioner in accordance with the Sewage Handling 

and Disposal Regulations (12VAC5-610).  

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2688; Filed November 7, 2013, 12:24 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-20. Administration of 

Medical Assistance Services (amending 12VAC30-20-500, 

12VAC30-20-520, 12VAC30-20-540, 12VAC30-20-560).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Dates: January 1, 2014, through June 30, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Administrative Process Act states 

that an agency may adopt emergency regulations in 

situations in which Virginia statutory law, the Virginia 

appropriation act, or federal law or federal regulation 

requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or less 

from its enactment and the regulation is not exempt under 

the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Item 307 III of Chapter 3 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly, 

Special Session I, authorizes the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services to promulgate regulations to 

implement changes related to appeals administered by and 

for the department as described in Item 307 III within 280 

days or less from its enactment date. 

The purpose of this regulatory action is to comply with the 

legislative mandate and address recent case law and 

administrative decisions that have created the need to 

clarify existing appeals processes and codify emerging 

processes made urgent by court and administrative case 

decisions and the increasing volume of appeals generated 

by provider audits and other utilization review mandates. 

Specifically, recent case decisions such as Virginia 

Department of Medical Assistance Services v. Patient 

Transportation System, 58 Va. App.328, 709 S. E. 2d 188 

(2011) and its predecessor appeal in circuit court have 

necessitated clarifying the means by which documentation 

can be transmitted and the manner in which alleged 

deficiencies in case summaries can be addressed. The 

volume of appeals has left outdated appeal timelines 

established a decade ago and requires immediate 

clarification and updating to reflect the realities that the 

hearing officers and all parties to the appeal process face 

in attempting to meet outdated timelines that were 

originally established when the volume of appeals was less 

than one third of the current volume.  

This regulation is necessary to comply with the 

requirements set out in Item 307 III of Chapter 3 of the 

2012 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, and is not 

expected to have direct impact on the health, safety, or 

welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth.  

Section 32.1-325.1 of the Code of Virginia requires the 

agency to provide the right of appeal to Medicaid service 

providers and to do so within established timeframes that 

are more specifically contained in the regulations subject 

to this regulatory action. The mandate must be fulfilled 

and, in order to do so, the timeframes and requirements 

must adapt to and reflect the growing volume and 

complexity of appeals. Protecting the agency's right to 

collect overpayments of public funds, while assuring the 

provider's right to a timely appeal, requires clarifying 

existing processes and codifying processes that court and 

administrative proceedings have placed in practice to deal 

with the increasing volume of appeals. It is in the interest 

of all parties to clarify and to amend the appeal regulation 

to reflect current needs and practices.  

The amendments (i) address the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) timeframes and specification 

for filing required documentation, including the sufficiency 

of the contents of case summaries; and (ii) clarify DMAS' 

authority to administratively invalidate untimely filed 

appeals.  

Part XII  

Provider Appeals  

12VAC30-20-500. Definitions. 

The following words, when used in this part, shall have the 

following meanings:  

"Administrative dismissal" means a dismissal that requires 

only the issuance of a decision with appeal rights but that 

does not require the submission of a case summary or any 

further proceedings. 

"Day" means a calendar day unless otherwise stated.  

"DMAS" means the Virginia Department of Medical 

Assistance Services or its agents or contractors.  

"Hearing officer" means an individual selected by the 

Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court of Virginia to 

conduct the formal appeal in an impartial manner pursuant to 

§§ 2.2-4020 and 32.1-325.1 of the Code of Virginia and this 

part. 
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"Informal appeals agent" means a DMAS employee who 

conducts the informal appeal in an impartial manner pursuant 

to §§ 2.2-4019 and 32.1-325.1 of the Code of Virginia and 

this part. 

"Provider" means an individual or entity that has a contract 

with DMAS to provide covered services and that is not 

operated by the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Transmit" means send by means of the U.S. Postal Service, 

courier or other hand delivery, facsimile, electronic mail, or 

electronic submission.  

12VAC30-20-520. Provider appeals: general provisions. 

A. This part governs all DMAS informal and formal 

provider appeals and shall supersede any other provider 

appeals regulations.  

B. A provider may appeal any DMAS action that is subject 

to appeal under the Virginia Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), including 

DMAS' interpretation and application of payment 

methodologies. A provider may not appeal the actual payment 

methodologies.  

C. DMAS shall mail transmit all items to the last known 

address of the provider. It is presumed that DMAS mails 

transmits items on the date noted on the item. It is presumed 

that providers receive items mailed sent by U.S mail to their 

last known address within three days after DMAS mails sends 

the item by U.S. mail. It is presumed that providers receive 

items sent by email or facsimile, to their last known email 

address or facsimile number, on the date sent. 

D. Whenever DMAS or a provider is required to file a 

document, the document shall be considered filed when it is 

date stamped by the DMAS Appeals Division in Richmond, 

Virginia.  

E. Whenever the last day specified for the filing of any 

document or the performance of any other act falls on a day 

on which DMAS is officially closed, for the full or partial 

day, the time period shall be extended to the next day on 

which DMAS is officially open.  

F. Conferences and hearings shall be conducted at DMAS' 

main office in Richmond, Virginia, or at such other place as 

agreed to by the parties.  

G. Whenever DMAS or a provider is required to attend a 

conference or hearing, failure by one of the parties to attend 

the conference or hearing shall result in dismissal of the 

appeal in favor of the other party.  

H. DMAS shall reimburse a provider for reasonable and 

necessary attorneys' fees and costs associated with an 

informal or formal administrative appeal if the provider 

substantially prevails on the merits of the appeal and DMAS' 

position is not substantially justified, unless special 

circumstances would make an award unjust. In order to 

substantially prevail on the merits of the appeal, the provider 

must be successful on more than 50% of the dollar amount 

involved in the issues identified in the provider's notice of 

appeal.  

I. Documents that are filed with the DMAS Appeals 

Division or the hearing officer after 5 p.m. eastern time on the 

due date shall be untimely. 

12VAC30-20-540. Informal appeals.  

A. Providers appealing a DMAS decision shall file a written 

notice of informal appeal with the DMAS Appeals Division 

within 30 days of the provider's receipt of the decision. 

Providers appealing the termination or denial of their 

Medicaid agreement pursuant to § 32.1-325 D of the Code of 

Virginia shall file a written notice of informal appeal with the 

DMAS Appeals Division within 15 days of the provider's 

receipt of the notice of termination or denial. Providers 

appealing adjustments to a cost report shall file a written 

notice of informal appeal with the DMAS Appeals Division 

within 90 days of the provider's receipt of the notice of 

program reimbursement. The notice of informal appeal shall 

identify the issues being appealed. Failure to file a written 

notice of informal appeal that identifies the issues being 

appealed within 30 days of receipt of the decision or within 

90 days of receipt of the notice of program reimbursement 

shall result in an administrative dismissal of the appeal. 

Failure to file a written notice of informal appeal that 

identifies the issues being appealed for termination or denial 

of a Medicaid agreement pursuant to § 32.1-325 D of the 

Code of Virginia within 15 days of receipt of the notice of 

termination or denial shall result in an administrative 

dismissal of the appeal. Failure to file a written notice of 

informal appeal that identifies the issues being appealed 

within 90 days of receipt of the notice of program 

reimbursement shall result in an administrative dismissal of 

the appeal.  

B. DMAS shall file a written case summary with the DMAS 

Appeals Division within 30 days of the filing of the provider's 

notice of informal appeal. DMAS shall mail transmit a 

complete copy of the case summary to the provider on the 

same day that the case summary is filed with the DMAS 

Appeals Division. The case summary shall address each 

disputed adjustment, patient, service date, or other disputed 

matter appealable issue identified by the provider in its notice 

of informal appeal and shall state DMAS' position for each 

disputed adjustment, patient, service date, or other disputed 

matter appealable issue identified by the provider in its notice 

of informal appeal. The case summary shall contain the 

factual basis for each disputed adjustment, patient, service 

date, or other disputed matter appealable issue identified by 

the provider in its notice of informal appeal and any other 

information, authority, or documentation DMAS relied upon 

in taking its action or making its decision on the appealable 

issues identified by the provider in its notice of informal 

appeal. Failure to file a written case summary with the 

DMAS Appeals Division in the detail specified within 30 

days of the filing of the provider's notice of informal appeal 
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shall result in dismissal in favor of the provider on those 

appealable issues not addressed in the detail specified. If the 

provider alleges any nonsubstantive deficiencies with the case 

summary, defined as being other than the factual basis for 

each disputed adjustment, patient, service date, or other 

appealable issue identified by the provider in its notice of 

informal appeal, the provider shall adhere to the following 

procedure: the provider shall have 12 days following the due 

date of the case summary to file with the DMAS Appeals 

Division and transmit to the author of the case summary a 

written notice of any alleged nonsubstantive deficiencies that 

the provider knows or reasonably should know exist. DMAS 

shall have 12 days after the DMAS Appeals Division's receipt 

of the provider's written notice to address or cure any alleged 

deficiencies. Failure of the provider to timely file a written 

notice with the DMAS Appeals Division pursuant to this 

procedure shall be deemed a waiver of any alleged 

nonsubstantive deficiencies with the case summary. Any 

remaining dispute regarding the sufficiency of the case 

summary not resolved through the procedure herein shall be 

addressed by the informal appeals agent as part of the 

informal appeal decision. 

C. The informal appeals agent shall conduct the conference 

within 90 days from the filing of the notice of informal 

appeal. If DMAS and the provider and the informal appeals 

agent agree, the conference may be conducted by way of 

written submissions. If the conference is conducted by way of 

written submissions, the informal appeals agent shall specify 

the time within which the provider may file written 

submissions, not to exceed 90 days from the filing of the 

notice of informal appeal. Only written submissions filed 

within the time specified by the informal appeals agent shall 

be considered.  

D. The conference may be recorded for the convenience of 

the informal appeals agent. Since the conference is not an 

adversarial or evidentiary proceeding, recordings shall not be 

made part of the administrative record and shall not be made 

available to anyone other than the informal appeals agent.  

E. Upon completion of the conference, the informal appeals 

agent shall specify the time within which the provider may 

file additional documentation or information, if any, not to 

exceed 30 days. Only documentation or information filed 

within the time specified by the informal appeals agent shall 

be considered.  

F. The informal appeal decision shall be issued within 180 

days of receipt of the notice of informal appeal.  

G. Whenever an informal appeal is required pursuant to a 

remand by court order, final agency decision, agreement of 

the parties, or otherwise, all time periods set forth in this 

section shall begin to run effective with the date of the 

remand, unless otherwise specified within the remand. 

12VAC30-20-560. Formal appeals.  

A. Any provider appealing a DMAS informal appeal 

decision shall file a written notice of formal appeal with the 

DMAS Appeals Division within 30 days of the provider's 

receipt of the informal appeal decision. The notice of formal 

appeal shall identify the issues being appealed. Failure to file 

a written notice of formal appeal that identifies the issues 

being appealed within 30 days of receipt of the informal 

appeal decision shall result in dismissal of the appeal.  

B. DMAS and the provider shall exchange transmit to the 

other party and file with the hearing officer all documentary 

evidence on which DMAS or the provider relies within 21 

days of the filing of the notice of formal appeal. Only 

documents filed within 21 days of the filing of the notice of 

formal appeal shall be considered. DMAS and the provider 

shall file transmit to the other party and file with the hearing 

officer any objections to the admissibility of documentary 

evidence within seven days of the filing of the documentary 

evidence. Only objections filed within seven days of the filing 

of the documentary evidence shall be considered. The hearing 

officer shall rule on any objections within seven days of the 

filing of the objections.  

C. The hearing officer shall conduct the hearing within 45 

days from the filing of the notice of formal appeal, unless the 

hearing officer, DMAS, and the provider all mutually agree to 

extend the time for conducting the hearing. Notwithstanding 

the foregoing, the due date for the hearing officer to submit 

the recommended decision to the DMAS director shall not be 

extended or otherwise changed. 

D. Hearings shall be transcribed by a court reporter retained 

by DMAS.  

E. Upon completion of the hearing, DMAS and the provider 

shall have 30 days to exchange transmit to the other party and 

file with the hearing officer an opening brief. Only opening 

briefs filed within 30 days after the hearing shall be 

considered. DMAS and the provider shall have 10 days to 

exchange transmit to the other party and file with the hearing 

officer a reply brief after the opening brief has been filed. 

Only reply briefs filed within 10 days after the opening brief 

has been filed shall be considered. Notwithstanding the 

foregoing, if there has been an extension to the time for 

conducting the hearing pursuant to subsection C of this 

section, the hearing officer is authorized to alter the time 

periods for briefs set forth herein so that the hearing officer 

complies with the due date set forth in subsection F of this 

section. 

F. The hearing officer shall submit a recommended decision 

to the DMAS director with a copy to the provider within 120 

days of receipt of the formal appeal request. If the hearing 

officer does not submit a recommended decision within 120 

days, then DMAS shall give written notice to the hearing 

officer and the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court that 

a recommended decision is due.  

G. Upon receipt of the hearing officer's recommended 

decision, the DMAS director shall notify DMAS and the 

provider in writing that any written exceptions to the hearing 

officer's recommended decision shall be filed with the DMAS 
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director within 30 14 days of receipt of the DMAS director's 

letter. Only exceptions filed within 30 14 days of receipt of 

the DMAS director's letter shall be considered. The DMAS 

director shall issue the final agency case decision within 60 

days of receipt of the hearing officer's recommended 

decision.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3105; Filed November 1, 2013, 2:51 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 

and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 

(amending 12VAC30-50-210). 

12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (amending 

12VAC30-80-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 1, 2014. 

Effective Date: January 16, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for Medical 

Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396 et seq.) provides governing 

authority for payments for services. 

Supplemental Rebates - Section 4401 of the federal 

Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990 added § 1927 

to the Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396r-8). This 

provided for the Commonwealth to receive supplemental 

rebates on pharmaceutical products purchased by Medicaid 

for fee-for-service recipients, in addition to the rebates 

received under the manufacturers' CMS agreement. 

Payments of supplemental rebates by the pharmaceutical 

manufacturers to the Commonwealth does not affect 

DMAS payment methodology for pharmacy services.  

Unit Dose Drugs Dispensing Fee - Chapter 890, Item 297 

NNNN of the 2011 Acts of Assembly directed DMAS to 

discontinue paying the dispensing fee of $5.00 to nursing 

facilities for drugs dispensed to residents via unit dose 

systems. 

Drug Threshold Program - The need for regulations 

controlling the use of high numbers of prescription drugs 

no longer exists. DMAS' authority for this change derives 

from its general authority set out in § 32.1-325 of the Code 

of Virginia, which provides for administering and 

amending the State Plan for Medical Assistance.  

Purpose: This suggested regulatory action will not affect the 

health, safety, or welfare of the citizens of the 

Commonwealth. The federally mandated drug rebate program 

does benefit the Commonwealth by permitting DMAS to 

recover some of its expenditures for legend drugs.  

Supplemental Rebates - The supplemental rebate program, 

implemented by DMAS in 2004, saves the Commonwealth 

of Virginia millions of dollars per year in the cost of legend 

drugs provided to fee-for-service Medicaid recipients. This 

rebate program helps DMAS offset some of its 

expenditures while at the same time assuring that fee-for-

service Medicaid recipients have access to clinically 

appropriate medications in all covered therapeutic drug 

classes. The proposed changes to the supplemental rebate 

agreement described in 12VAC30-80-40 A 9 reduce the 

time necessary to execute new contracts and renew existing 

contracts, and increase the flexibility of DMAS and its 

pharmaceutical manufacturing partners in the contracting 

process, thereby enhancing a cost effective and clinically 

appropriate pharmacy program that saves the 

Commonwealth money.  

Unit Dose Drugs Dispensing Fee - The discontinuing of the 

dispensing fee for unit dose drugs dispensed by nursing 

facility pharmacies will save DMAS a small expenditure. 

Drug Threshold Program - The need for the provisions 

establishing prior authorization requirements when high 

numbers of prescription drugs is monitored by the Drug 

Utilization Review Board. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: This proposed 

regulatory change is being promulgated through the fast-track 

rulemaking process because it is noncontroversial: (i) it 

reduces the time and effort needed to execute contracts and 

revisions to these contracts without reducing or modifying 

existing terms or conditions of the supplemental rebate 

agreements between DMAS and pharmaceutical 

manufacturers; (ii) it eliminates a dispensing fee that is no 

longer necessary; and (iii) it removes prior authorization 

requirements for using high numbers of prescription drugs 

because it has been replaced with the Drug Utilization 

Review program. No opposition is expected as a result of this 

suggested fast-track regulatory action. 

Substance: The sections of the State Plan that are affected by 

this action are the Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rates; Other Types of Care: Fee for Services 

Reimbursement for Pharmacy Services (12VAC30-80-40) 

and the Amount, Duration, and Scope of Services: Pharmacy 

Services (12VAC30-50-210). 

Supplemental Rebates - Prior to 2004, DMAS did not 

collect rebates for expenditures for legend drugs and spent 

almost $499 million for this service. In 2005, DMAS' gross 
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expenditures for prescribed drugs were almost $612 million 

with almost $11 million in manufacturers' rebates. In 2007, 

with the implementation of the federal Medicare Part D 

program (which reimburses for a significant amount of the 

legend drugs required by Virginia Medicaid individuals), 

DMAS saw its gross expenditures for prescribed drugs 

decrease to almost $228 million with a concomitant 

decrease in the manufacturers' rebates to slightly more than 

$2 million.  

The current supplemental rebate contracting policy requires 

DMAS and pharmaceutical manufacturers to execute an 

18-page to 20-page contract each time there is a change in 

the types of supplemental drugs to be included in the 

supplemental rebate program by a specific pharmaceutical 

manufacturer. The supplemental rebate contracts and 

amendments in current regulation are the model 

supplemental rebate contracts A, B, and C and amendments 

1 and 2.  

DMAS proposes to develop one Supplemental Drug Rebate 

Agreement and one Supplemental Drug Rebate 

Amendment. Additional changes to these documents by 

either the manufacturer or DMAS would be made through 

addenda to the original agreement. Renewals to the 

agreement would be made through an amendment to the 

original agreement.  

Unit Dose Drugs Dispensing Fee - In 2003, DMAS 

implemented a unit dose dispensing fee of $5.00 per 

member per month as a means of reimbursing nursing 

home pharmacies for the packaging of individual doses of 

medication for their Medicaid residents. This dispensing 

fee compensated nursing facility pharmacies for the time 

and materials to perform in-house packaging as was the 

practice at the time. 

Community pharmacies are also paid a dispensing fee for 

their pharmacy services for individuals who live in their 

communities. Community pharmacies do not use unit dose 

packaging systems for drugs dispensed to individuals who 

are not institutionalized.  

With the implementation of the Medicare Part D 

prescription drug program in 2006, the vast majority of 

Medicaid recipients residing in nursing facilities became 

eligible for Medicare Part D prescription drug benefits. As 

a result, the payment of the dispensing fee for unit dose 

prescription drugs covered by DMAS was no longer 

necessary. Although DMAS still covers drugs not covered 

by Medicare Part D (benzodiazepines, barbiturates, and 

over the counter medications) and prescription drugs for 

nursing facility residents enrolled in the Medicaid program 

but not eligible for Medicare Part D, the vast majority by 

volume of unit dose prescriptions are provided by Medicare 

Part D plans.  

Additionally, DMAS determined in a recent analysis of 

pharmacy reimbursement that nursing facility pharmacies 

are no longer packaging unit dose prescriptions in-house 

but are receiving prepackaged unit dose prescriptions 

directly from external pharmacies thereby making the unit 

dose dispensing fee no longer necessary. DMAS estimates 

that the elimination of this unnecessary unit dose 

dispensing fee will save the agency approximately 

$323,708 in General Fund dollars for the state fiscal year 

2012.  

Drug Threshold Program - DMAS is proposing the removal 

of the pharmacy threshold program. This program, adopted 

by DMAS in 2004, required prior authorization for fee-for-

service non-institutionalized Medicaid patients whose 

volume of prescriptions for legend drugs exceeded nine 

unique prescriptions within 180 days and institutionalized 

Medicaid patients whose volume of legend drugs exceeded 

nine unique prescriptions within 30 days. The definition of 

prior authorization as it relates to the pharmacy threshold 

program is eliminated as is the description of the program 

in 12VAC30-50-210 A 7 d (1) through (4).  

The elimination of the pharmacy threshold program in 

current state regulation is proposed in this regulatory 

change because this function has been assumed by the 

Virginia Drug Utilization Review Board (DUR Board), and 

therefore is no longer needed. The DUR Board carries out 

reviews at least semiannually of high prescription use by 

patients and targets prescribers of these patients through 

individual notifications that includes relevant peer-

reviewed clinical standards specific to these patients' 

diagnoses. 

In addition, pharmacists are informed at the point of sale 

through prospective DUR (Pro-DUR) edits if prescriptions 

have exceeded nine unique prescriptions within 180 days or 

30 days, depending on the non-institutional or institutional 

status of patients. This DUR Board function achieves the 

objectives of the pharmacy threshold program by reducing 

over-prescribing without clinical justification and informs 

prescribers and pharmacists about patients who have 

received excessive, clinically questionable prescriptions.  

Issues: The issues are as follows: 

Supplemental Rebates - The primary advantages to this 

regulatory change are to decrease the time and paperwork 

and increase the flexibility of DMAS and its 

pharmaceutical manufacturing partners by modifying the 

supplemental rebate agreement and amendment. There are 

no known disadvantages to this regulatory change. 

Unit Dose Drugs Dispensing Fee - This change has a small 

advantage for the agency in that it will save slightly more 

than $300,000 in expenditures. It would be a slight 

disadvantage to the nursing facilities that have been 

receiving these dispensing fees. 

Drug Threshold Program - There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to anyone regarding the removal of this text. 

This function has been assumed by the Drug Utilization 

Review Board so this additional service limit text is not 

necessary. 
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

proposed changes 1) discontinue the $5 per individual per 

month unit dose fee paid to nursing home pharmacies by 

Virginia Medicaid, 2) modify the supplemental rebate 

contracting process, and 3) repeal the regulatory language 

regarding the pharmacy threshold program. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 

compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs. 

Detailed analysis of the benefits and costs can be found in the 

next section. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to Chapter 890 Item 

297 NNNN of the 2011 Appropriation Act, one of the 

proposed changes permanently discontinues the $5 per 

individual per month unit dose fee paid by Medicaid for 

individuals residing in a nursing facility. This dispensing fee 

is to compensate nursing home pharmacies for time and 

material costs associated with performing in-house 

packaging. This change was implemented in July 2011. 

According to the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS), a majority of nursing home residents became 

eligible for the Medicare Part D prescription drug program 

that was implemented in 2006. As a result, the need for the 

Medicaid unit dose dispensing fee was significantly reduced. 

In addition, DMAS reports that nursing facility pharmacies 

no longer package unit dose prescriptions in-house, but 

receive pre-packaged unit dose prescriptions directly from 

external pharmacies thereby making the payment of this 

dispensing fee unnecessary.  

The main economic effect of this change will be on 

pharmacies that used to package unit dose prescriptions in 

house prior to July 2011. They are expected to lose $647,416 

per year in revenues as a result of this change. One half of 

this amount ($323,708) represents savings to the 

Commonwealth and the other half represents savings to the 

federal government, as currently 50% of Virginia Medicaid is 

paid by federal matching funds. In addition, a reduction in 

federal funds coming in to the Commonwealth will likely 

have additional a contractionary economic impact beyond the 

initial $323,708 reduction in economic activity due to 

repercussion effects. 

Additionally, one of the proposed changes will modify the 

supplemental rebate contracting process. DMAS collects 

rebates from manufacturers for expenditures for legend drugs 

provided to Medicaid fee-for-service recipients. The current 

rules require DMAS and pharmaceutical manufacturers to 

execute an 18-20 pages model contract each time there is a 

change in the types of drugs included in the rebate program. 

The proposed changes will allow DMAS and pharmaceutical 

manufacturers to execute an initial contract and effectuate 

changes through an addendum to the original agreement. This 

change is expected to reduce the time necessary to execute 

new contracts and renew existing ones. It will also provide 

additional flexibility to DMAS and to pharmaceutical 

manufacturers in the contracting process. 

Finally, the proposed changes will repeal the regulatory 

language regarding the pharmacy threshold program.
1
 The 

pharmacy threshold program aims to reduce excessive 

prescription of drugs without clinical justification. According 

to DMAS; however, the program has never been implemented 

as written in regulations. This function has been assumed by 

the Drug Utilization Review (DUR) Board since August 

2005. The DUR Board is reported to have been carrying out 

reviews, at least semi-annually, of high prescription use by 

patients and is targeting prescribers of these patients through 

individual notifications that include relevant peer-reviewed 

clinical standards specific to these patients' diagnoses. In 

addition, pharmacists are informed at the point of sale 

through prospective DUR edits if prescriptions have exceeded 

the thresholds. This DUR Board review function is expected 

to achieve the objectives of the pharmacy threshold program 

by reducing over-prescriptions without clinical justification 

and to inform prescribers and pharmacists about patients who 

have received excessive, clinically questionable prescriptions. 

Since there does not appear to be any operational differences 

as a result of this change, no significant economic effect is 

expected other than achieving consistency between the 

regulatory language and the practice. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed repeal of unit 

dose dispensing fee is expected to primarily affect 76 nursing 

facility pharmacies. The proposed supplemental rebate 

contract change is expected to primarily affect approximately 

20 pharmaceutical manufacturers providing rebates and the 

Virginia Medicaid program. The drug threshold program 

applies to all of the approximately 1,857 pharmacies enrolled 

in Medicaid. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 

throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed repeal of the 

unit dose dispensing fee is expected to reduce revenues of 

nursing facility pharmacies which may have a negative 

impact on their demand for labor. Also, simplification of the 

supplemental rebate contracting process may reduce demand 

for legal professionals by a small margin. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed changes are not anticipated to have a direct impact 

on the use and value of private property. However, a 

reduction in revenues of nursing facility pharmacies may 

have a negative impact on their asset values. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Only the repeal of 

unit dose dispensing fee is expected to have a small business 

impact as most of the nursing home pharmacies are believed 

to be small businesses. Anticipated economic effects on 

nursing home pharmacies are discussed above. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There does not seem to be an alternative 
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method that minimizes the adverse impact while achieving 

the same goals. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

_________________________________________________ 
1 Current regulatory language requires prior authorization for prescriptions 

for legend drugs that exceed nine unique prescriptions within 180 days for 
non-institutionalized Medicaid fee-for-service patients and within 30 days for 

institutionalized patients. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget.  

Summary: 

The amendments (i) discontinue the $5.00 per individual 

per month unit dose fee paid to nursing home pharmacies 

by Virginia Medicaid, (ii) modify the supplemental drug 

rebate contracting process, and (iii) repeal the 

regulatory language regarding the pharmacy threshold 

program. 

12VAC30-50-210. Prescribed drugs, dentures, and 

prosthetic devices; and eyeglasses prescribed by a 

physician skilled in diseases of the eye or by an 

optometrist.  

A. Prescribed drugs.  

1. Drugs for which Federal Financial Participation is not 

available, pursuant to the requirements of § 1927 of the 

Social Security Act (OBRA 90 § 4401), shall not be 

covered.  

2. Nonlegend drugs shall be covered by Medicaid in the 

following situations:  

a. Insulin, syringes, and needles for diabetic patients;  

b. Diabetic test strips for Medicaid recipients under 21 

years of age;  

c. Family planning supplies;  

d. Designated categories of nonlegend drugs for 

Medicaid recipients in nursing homes; and  

e. Designated drugs prescribed by a licensed prescriber to 

be used as less expensive therapeutic alternatives to 

covered legend drugs.  

3. Legend drugs are covered for a maximum of a 34-day 

supply per prescription per patient with the exception of 

the drugs or classes of drugs identified in 12VAC30-50-

520. FDA-approved drug therapies and agents for weight 

loss, when preauthorized, will be covered for recipients 

who meet the strict disability standards for obesity 

established by the Social Security Administration in effect 

on April 7, 1999, and whose condition is certified as life 

threatening, consistent with Department of Medical 

Assistance Services' medical necessity requirements, by 

the treating physician. For prescription orders for which 

quantity exceeds a 34-day supply, refills may be dispensed 

in sufficient quantity to fulfill the prescription order within 

the limits of federal and state laws and regulations.  

4. Prescriptions for Medicaid recipients for multiple source 

drugs subject to 42 CFR 447.332 shall be filled with 

generic drug products unless the physician or other 

practitioners so licensed and certified to prescribe drugs 

certifies in his own handwriting "brand necessary" for the 

prescription to be dispensed as written or unless the drug 

class is subject to the Preferred Drug List.  

5. New drugs shall be covered in accordance with the 

Social Security Act § 1927(d) (OBRA 90 § 4401).  

6. The number of refills shall be limited pursuant to § 54.1-

3411 of the Drug Control Act.  

7. Drug prior authorization.  

a. Definitions. The following words and terms used in 

these regulations shall have the following meaning 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Clinical data" means drug monographs as well as any 

pertinent clinical studies, including peer review literature.  

"Complex drug regimen" means treatment or course of 

therapy that typically includes multiple medications, co-

morbidities and/or caregivers.  

"Department" or "DMAS" means the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services.  

"Drug" shall have the same meaning, unless the context 

otherwise dictates or the board otherwise provides by 

regulation, as provided in the Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-

3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  
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"Emergency supply" means 72-hour supplies of the 

prescribed medication that may be dispensed if the 

prescriber cannot readily obtain authorization, or if the 

physician is not available to consult with the pharmacist, 

including after hours, weekends, holidays and the 

pharmacist, in his professional judgment consistent with 

current standards of practice, feels that the patient's 

health would be compromised without the benefit of the 

drug, or other criteria defined by the Pharmacy and 

Therapeutics Committee and DMAS.  

"Nonpreferred drugs" means those drugs that were 

reviewed by the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee 

and not included on the preferred drug list. Nonpreferred 

drugs may be prescribed but require authorization prior 

to dispensing to the patient.  

"Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee," "P&T 

Committee" or "committee" means the committee 

formulated to review therapeutic classes, conduct clinical 

reviews of specific drugs, recommend additions or 

deletions to the preferred drug list, and perform other 

functions as required by the department.  

"Preferred drug list (PDL)" or "PDL" means the list of 

drugs that meet the safety, clinical efficacy, and pricing 

standards employed by the P&T Committee and adopted 

by the department for the Virginia Medicaid fee-for-

service program. Most drugs on the PDL may be 

prescribed and dispensed in the Virginia Medicaid fee-

for-service program without prior authorization; 

however, some drugs as recommended by the Pharmacy 

and Therapeutics Committee may require authorization 

prior to dispensing to the patient.  

"Prior authorization," as it relates to the PDL, means the 

process of review by a clinical pharmacist of legend 

drugs that are not on the preferred drug list, or other 

drugs as recommended by the Pharmacy and 

Therapeutics Committee, to determine if medically 

justified.  

"Prior authorization," as it relates to the threshold 

program, means the process of review by a clinical 

pharmacist of legend drugs with respect to established 

limits or criteria to determine the appropriateness of all 

existing prescriptions and newly prescribed medications 

to help ensure appropriate, quality, and cost-effective 

prescription drug treatments. The process is also 

designed to prevent waste and abuse of the pharmacy 

program by assisting providers and the department in 

identifying clients who may be accessing multiple 

physicians and pharmacies.  

"State supplemental rebate" means any cash rebate that 

offsets Virginia Medicaid expenditure and that 

supplements the federal rebate. State supplemental rebate 

amounts shall be calculated in accordance with the 

Virginia Supplemental Drug Rebate Agreement Contract 

and Addenda.  

"Therapeutic class" means a grouping of medications 

sharing the same Specific Therapeutic Class Code (GC3) 

within the Federal Drug Data File published by First 

Data Bank, Inc.  

"Utilization review" means the prospective and 

retrospective processes employed by the agency to 

evaluate the medical necessity of reimbursing for certain 

covered services.  

b. Medicaid Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee.  

(1) The department shall utilize a Pharmacy and 

Therapeutics Committee to assist in the development and 

ongoing administration of the preferred drug list and 

other pharmacy program issues. The committee may 

adopt bylaws that set out its make-up and functioning. A 

quorum for action of the committee shall consist of seven 

members.  

(2) Vacancies on the committee shall be filled in the 

same manner as original appointments. DMAS shall 

appoint individuals for the committee that assures a 

cross-section of the physician and pharmacy community 

and remains compliant with General Assembly 

membership guidelines.  

(3) Duties of the committee. The committee shall receive 

and review clinical and pricing data related to the drug 

classes. The committee's medical and pharmacy experts 

shall make recommendations to DMAS regarding various 

aspects of the pharmacy program. For the preferred drug 

list program, the committee shall select those drugs to be 

deemed preferred that are safe, clinically effective, as 

supported by available clinical data, and meet pricing 

standards. Cost effectiveness or any pricing standard 

shall be considered only after a drug is determined to be 

safe and clinically effective.  

(4) As the United States Food and Drug Administration 

(FDA) approves new drug products, the department shall 

ensure that the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee 

will evaluate the drug for clinical effectiveness and 

safety. Based on clinical information and pricing 

standards, the P&T Committee will determine if the drug 

will be included in the PDL or require prior 

authorization.  

(a) If the new drug product falls within a drug class 

previously reviewed by the P&T Committee, until the 

review of the new drug is completed, it will be classified 

as nonpreferred, requiring prior authorization in order to 

be dispensed. The new drug will be evaluated for 

inclusion in the PDL no later than at the next review of 

the drug class.  

(b) If the new drug product does not fall within a drug 

class previously reviewed by the P&T Committee, the 

new drug shall be treated in the same manner as the other 

drugs in its class.  
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(5) To the extent feasible, the Pharmacy and 

Therapeutics Committee shall review all drug classes 

included in the preferred drug list at least every 12 

months and may recommend additions to and deletions 

from the PDL.  

(6) In formulating its recommendations to the 

department, the committee shall not be deemed to be 

formulating regulations for the purposes of the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia).  

(7) Immunity. The members of the committee and the 

staff of the department and the contractor shall be 

immune, individually and jointly, from civil liability for 

any act, decision, or omission done or made in 

performance of their duties pursuant to this subsection 

while serving as a member of such board, committee, or 

staff provided that such act, decision, or omission is not 

done or made in bad faith or with malicious intent.  

c. Pharmacy prior authorization program. Pursuant to 

§ 1927 of the Act and 42 CFR 440.230, the department 

shall require the prior authorization of certain specified 

legend drugs. For those therapeutic classes of drugs 

subject to the PDL program, drugs with nonpreferred 

status included in the DMAS drug list shall be subject to 

prior authorization. The department also may require 

prior authorization of other drugs only if recommended 

by the P&T Committee. Providers who are licensed to 

prescribe legend drugs shall be required to obtain prior 

authorization for all nonpreferred drugs or other drugs as 

recommended by the P&T Committee.  

(1) Prior authorization shall consist of prescription 

review by a licensed pharmacist or pharmacy technician 

to ensure that all predetermined clinically appropriate 

criteria, as established by the P&T Committee relative to 

each therapeutic class, have been met before the 

prescription may be dispensed. Prior authorization shall 

be obtained through a call center staffed with appropriate 

clinicians, or through written or electronic 

communications (e.g., faxes, mail). Responses by 

telephone or other telecommunications device within 24 

hours of a request for prior authorization shall be 

provided. The dispensing of 72-hour emergency supplies 

of the prescribed drug may be permitted and dispensing 

fees shall be paid to the pharmacy for such emergency 

supply.  

(2) The preferred drug list program shall include: (i) 

provisions for an expedited review process of denials of 

requested prior authorization by the department; (ii) 

consumer and provider education; (iii) training and 

information regarding the preferred drug list both prior to 

implementation as well as ongoing communications, to 

include computer and website access to information and 

multilingual material.  

(3) Exclusion of protected groups from pharmacy 

preferred drug list prior authorization requirements. The 

following groups of Medicaid eligibles shall be excluded 

from pharmacy prior authorization requirements: 

individuals enrolled in hospice care, services through 

PACE or pre-PACE programs; persons having 

comprehensive third party insurance coverage; minor 

children who are the responsibility of the juvenile justice 

system; and refugees who are not otherwise eligible in a 

Medicaid covered group.  

d. Other pharmacy prior authorization programs. 

Pursuant to § 1927 of the Act and 42 CFR 440.230, the 

department shall require the prior authorization of legend 

drugs when both institutionalized and 

noninstitutionalized recipients are prescribed high 

numbers of legend drugs. Over-the-counter drugs and 

legend drug refills shall not count as a unique 

prescription for the purposes of prior authorization as it 

relates to the threshold program.  

(1) Prior authorization shall be required for 

noninstitutionalized Medicaid recipients whose current 

volume of prescriptions of legend drugs exceeds nine 

unique prescriptions within 180 days and as may be 

further defined by the agency's guidance documents for 

pharmacy utilization review, limitations, and the prior 

authorization program. This prior authorization shall be 

required regardless of whether the prescribed drug 

appears on the preferred drug list of legend drugs. All 

recipients subject to these prior authorization limits shall 

be advised of their rights to appeal. Such appeals shall be 

considered and responded to pursuant to 12VAC30-110.  

(2) Prior authorization shall be required for 

institutionalized Medicaid recipients whose current 

volume of prescriptions of legend drugs exceeds nine 

unique prescriptions within 30 days and as may be 

further defined by the agency's guidance documents for 

pharmacy utilization review, limitations, and prior 

authorization program. The prior authorization shall be 

required regardless of whether the drug is listed on the 

PDL of legend drugs. All recipients subject to these prior 

authorization limits shall be advised of their rights to 

appeal. Such appeals shall be considered and responded 

to pursuant to 12VAC30-110.  

(3) Prior authorization shall consist of prospective and 

retrospective drug therapy review by a licensed 

pharmacist to ensure that all predetermined clinically 

appropriate criteria, as established by the department, 

have been met before the prescription may be dispensed. 

Prior authorization shall be obtained through a call center 

staffed with appropriate clinicians, or through written or 

electronic communications (e.g., faxes, mail). Responses 

by telephone or other telecommunications device within 

24 hours of a request for prior authorization shall be 

provided. The dispensing of 72-hour emergency supplies 
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of the prescribed drug may be permitted and dispensing 

fees shall be paid to the pharmacy for such emergency 

supply.  

(4) Exclusion of protected institutions from pharmacy 

threshold prior authorization. For the purposes of 

threshold prior authorization, nursing facility residents do 

not include residents of the Commonwealth's mental 

retardation training centers. For the purposes of threshold 

prior authorization, noninstitutionalized recipients do not 

include recipients of services at Hiram Davis Medical 

Center.  

e. d. State supplemental rebates. The department has the 

authority to seek supplemental rebates from 

pharmaceutical manufacturers. The contract regarding 

supplemental rebates shall exist between the 

manufacturer and the Commonwealth. Rebate 

agreements between the Commonwealth and a 

pharmaceutical manufacturer shall be separate from the 

federal rebates and in compliance with federal law, 

§§ 1927(a)(1) and 1927(a)(4) of the Social Security Act. 

All rebates collected on behalf of the Commonwealth 

shall be collected for the sole benefit of the state share of 

costs. One hundred percent of the supplemental rebates 

collected on behalf of the state shall be remitted to the 

state. Supplemental drug rebates received by the 

Commonwealth in excess of those required under the 

national drug rebate agreement will be shared with the 

federal government on the same percentage basis as 

applied under the national drug rebate agreement.  

f. e. Pursuant to 42 USC § 1396r-8(b)(3)(D), information 

disclosed to the department or to the committee by a 

pharmaceutical manufacturer or wholesaler which 

discloses the identity of a specific manufacturer or 

wholesaler and the pricing information regarding the 

drugs by such manufacturer or wholesaler is confidential 

and shall not be subject to the disclosure requirements of 

the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

g. f. Appeals for denials of prior authorization shall be 

addressed pursuant to 12VAC30-110, Part I, Client 

Appeals.  

8. Coverage of home infusion therapy. This service shall 

be covered consistent with the limits and requirements set 

out within home health services (12VAC30-50-160). 

Multiple applications of the same therapy (e.g., two 

antibiotics on the same day) shall be covered under one 

service day rate of reimbursement. Multiple applications of 

different therapies (e.g., chemotherapy, hydration, and pain 

management on the same day) shall be a full service day 

rate methodology as provided in pharmacy services 

reimbursement.  

B. Dentures. Dentures are provided only as a result of 

EPSDT and subject to medical necessity and preauthorization 

requirements specified under Dental Services.  

C. Prosthetic devices.  

1. Prosthetic services shall mean the replacement of 

missing arms, legs, eyes, and breasts and the provision of 

any internal (implant) body part. Nothing in this regulation 

shall be construed to refer to orthotic services or devices or 

organ transplantation services.  

2. Artificial arms and legs, and their necessary supportive 

attachments, implants and breasts are provided when 

prescribed by a physician or other licensed practitioner of 

the healing arts within the scope of their professional 

licenses as defined by state law. This service, when 

provided by an authorized vendor, must be medically 

necessary and preauthorized for the minimum applicable 

component necessary for the activities of daily living.  

3. Eye prostheses are provided when eyeballs are missing 

regardless of the age of the recipient or the cause of the 

loss of the eyeball. Eye prostheses are provided regardless 

of the function of the eye.  

D. Eyeglasses. Eyeglasses shall be reimbursed for all 

recipients younger than 21 years of age according to medical 

necessity when provided by practitioners as licensed under 

the Code of Virginia.  

12VAC30-80-40. Fee-for-service providers: pharmacy. 

Payment for pharmacy services shall be the lowest of items 

subdivisions 1 through 5 of this section (except that items 

subdivisons 1 and 2 of this section will not apply when 

prescriptions are certified as brand necessary by the 

prescribing physician in accordance with the procedures set 

forth in 42 CFR 447.512(c) if the brand cost is greater than 

the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) upper 

limit of VMAC cost) subject to the conditions, where 

applicable, set forth in subdivisions 6 and 7 of this section:  

1. The upper limit established by the CMS for multiple 

source drugs pursuant to 42 CFR 447.512 and 447.514, as 

determined by the CMS Upper Limit List plus a dispensing 

fee. If the agency provides payment for any drugs on the 

HCFA Upper Limit List, the payment shall be subject to 

the aggregate upper limit payment test.  

2. The methodology used to reimburse for generic drug 

products shall be the higher of either (i) the lowest 

Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) plus 10% or (ii) the 

second lowest WAC plus 6.0%. This methodology shall 

reimburse for products' costs based on a Maximum 

Allowable Cost (VMAC) list to be established by the 

single state agency.  

a. In developing the maximum allowable reimbursement 

rate for generic pharmaceuticals, the department or its 

designated contractor shall: 

(1) Identify three different suppliers, including 

manufacturers that are able to supply pharmaceutical 

products in sufficient quantities. The drugs considered 

must be listed as therapeutically and pharmaceutically 

equivalent in the Food and Drug Administration's most 
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recent version of the Approved Drug Products with 

Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book). 

Pharmaceutical products that are not available from three 

different suppliers, including manufacturers, shall not be 

subject to the VMAC list. 

(2) Identify that the use of a VMAC rate is lower than the 

Federal Upper Limit (FUL) for the drug. The FUL is a 

known, widely published price provided by CMS; and 

(3) Distribute the list of state VMAC rates to pharmacy 

providers in a timely manner prior to the implementation 

of VMAC rates and subsequent modifications. DMAS 

shall publish on its website, each month, the information 

used to set the Commonwealth's prospective VMAC 

rates, including, but not necessarily limited to: 

(a) The identity of applicable reference products used to 

set the VMAC rates; 

(b) The Generic Code Number (GCN) or National Drug 

Code (NDC), as may be appropriate, of reference 

products; 

(c) The difference by which the VMAC rate exceeds the 

appropriate WAC price; and 

(d) The identity and date of the published compendia 

used to determine reference products and set the VMAC 

rate. The difference by which the VMAC rate exceeds 

the appropriate WAC price shall be at least or equal to 

10% above the lowest-published wholesale acquisition 

cost for products widely available for purchase in the 

Commonwealth and shall be included in national pricing 

compendia. 

b. Development of a VMAC rate that does not have a 

FUL rate shall not result in the use of higher-cost 

innovator brand name or single source drugs in the 

Medicaid program. 

c. DMAS or its designated contractor shall: 

(1) Implement and maintain a procedure to add or 

eliminate products from the list, or modify VMAC rates, 

consistent with changes in the fluctuating marketplace. 

DMAS or its designated contractor will regularly review 

manufacturers' pricing and monitor drug availability in 

the marketplace to determine the inclusion or exclusion 

of drugs on the VMAC list; and 

(2) Provide a pricing dispute resolution procedure to 

allow a dispensing provider to contest a listed VMAC 

rate. DMAS or its designated contractor shall confirm 

receipt of pricing disputes within 24 hours, via telephone 

or facsimile, with the appropriate documentation of 

relevant information, e.g., invoices. Disputes shall be 

resolved within three business days of confirmation. The 

pricing dispute resolution process will include DMAS' or 

the contractor's verification of accurate pricing to ensure 

consistency with marketplace pricing and drug 

availability. Providers will be reimbursed, as appropriate, 

based on findings. Providers shall be required to use this 

dispute resolution process prior to exercising any 

applicable appeal rights. 

3. The provider's usual and customary charge to the public, 

as identified by the claim charge. 

4. The Estimated Acquisition Cost (EAC), which shall be 

based on the published Average Wholesale Price (AWP) 

minus a percentage discount established by the General 

Assembly (as set forth in subdivision 7 of this section) or, 

in the absence thereof, by the following methodology set 

out in subdivisions a through c of this subdivision. 

a. Percentage discount shall be determined by a statewide 

survey of providers' acquisition cost. 

b. The survey shall reflect statistical analysis of actual 

provider purchase invoices. 

c. The agency will conduct surveys at intervals deemed 

necessary by DMAS. 

5. MAC methodology for specialty drugs. Payment for 

drug products designated by DMAS as specialty drugs 

shall be the lesser of subdivisions 1 through 4 of this 

section or the following method, whichever is least: 

a. The methodology used to reimburse for designated 

specialty drug products shall be the WAC price plus the 

WAC percentage. The WAC percentage is a constant 

percentage identified each year for all GCNs. 

b. Designated specialty drug products are certain 

products used to treat chronic, high-cost, or rare diseases; 

the drugs subject to this pricing methodology and their 

current reimbursement rates are listed on the DMAS 

website at the following internet address: 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/downloads/pdfs/pharm-

special_mac_list.pdf. 

c. The MAC reimbursement methodology for specialty 

drugs shall be subject to the pricing review and dispute 

resolution procedures described in subdivisions 2 c (1) 

and 2 c (2) of this section. 

6. Payment for pharmacy services will be as described 

above; however, payment for legend drugs will include the 

allowed cost of the drug plus only one dispensing fee per 

month for each specific drug. Exceptions to the monthly 

dispensing fees shall be allowed for drugs determined by 

the department to have unique dispensing requirements. 

The dispensing fee for brand name and generic drugs is 

$3.75.  

7. The Program pays additional reimbursement for unit 

dose dispensing systems of dispensing drugs. DMAS 

defines its unit dose dispensing system coverage consistent 

with that of the Board of Pharmacy of the Department of 

Health Professions (18VAC110-20-420). This service is 

paid only for patients residing in nursing facilities. 

Reimbursements are based on the allowed payments 

described above plus the unit dose per capita fee to be 

calculated by DMAS' fiscal agent based on monthly per 

nursing home resident service per pharmacy provider. Only 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations December 2, 2013 

940 

one service fee per month may be paid to the pharmacy for 

each patient receiving unit dose dispensing services. 

Multisource drugs will be reimbursed at the maximum 

allowed drug cost for specific multiple source drugs as 

identified by the state agency or CMS' upper limits as 

applicable. All other drugs will be reimbursed at drug costs 

not to exceed the estimated acquisition cost determined by 

the state agency. The original per capita fee shall be 

determined by a DMAS analysis of costs related to such 

dispensing, and shall be reevaluated at periodic intervals 

for appropriate adjustment. The unit dose dispensing fee is 

$5.00 per recipient per month per pharmacy provider. An 

EAC of AWP minus 13.1% shall become effective July 1, 

2011. The dispensing fee for brand name and generic drugs 

of $3.75 shall remain in effect, creating a payment 

methodology based on the previous algorithm (least of 

subdivisions of this section) plus a dispensing fee where 

applicable. 

8. Home infusion therapy.  

a. The following therapy categories shall have a 

pharmacy service day rate payment allowable: hydration 

therapy, chemotherapy, pain management therapy, drug 

therapy, and total parenteral nutrition (TPN). The service 

day rate payment for the pharmacy component shall 

apply to the basic components and services intrinsic to 

the therapy category. Submission of claims for the per 

diem rate shall be accomplished by use of the CMS 1500 

claim form.  

b. The cost of the active ingredient or ingredients for 

chemotherapy, pain management and drug therapies shall 

be submitted as a separate claim through the pharmacy 

program, using standard pharmacy format. Payment for 

this component shall be consistent with the current 

reimbursement for pharmacy services. Multiple 

applications of the same therapy shall be reimbursed one 

service day rate for the pharmacy services. Multiple 

applications of different therapies shall be reimbursed at 

100% of standard pharmacy reimbursement for each 

active ingredient.  

9. Supplemental rebate agreement. Based on the 

requirements in § 1927 of the Social Security Act, the 

Commonwealth of Virginia has the following policies for 

the supplemental drug rebate program for Medicaid 

recipients The Commonwealth complies with the 

requirements of § 1927 of the Social Security Act and 

Subpart I (42 CFR 447.500 et seq.) of 42 CFR Part 447 

with regard to supplemental drug rebates. In addition, the 

following requirements are also met: 

a. The model supplemental rebate agreement between the 

Commonwealth and pharmaceutical manufacturers for 

legend drugs provided to Medicaid recipients, submitted 

to CMS on February 5, 2004, and entitled Virginia 

Supplemental Drug Rebate Agreement Contract A and 

Amendment #2 to Contract A has been authorized by 

CMS. 

b. The model supplemental rebate agreement between the 

Commonwealth and pharmaceutical manufacturers for 

drugs provided to Medicaid recipients, submitted to CMS 

on February 5, 2004, and entitled Virginia Supplemental 

Drug Rebate Agreement Contract B and Amendment #2 

to Contract B has been authorized by CMS. 

c. The model supplemental rebate agreement between the 

Commonwealth and pharmaceutical manufacturers for 

drugs provided to Medicaid recipients, submitted to CMS 

on February 5, 2004, and entitled Virginia Supplemental 

Drug Rebate Agreement Contract C, and Amendments 

#1 and #2 to Contract C has been authorized by CMS. 

d. a. Supplemental drug rebates received by the state in 

excess of those required under the national drug rebate 

agreement will be shared with the federal government on 

the same percentage basis as applied under the national 

drug rebate agreement.  

e. b. Prior authorization requirements found in § 

1927(d)(5) of the Social Security Act have been met.  

f. c. Nonpreferred drugs are those that were reviewed by 

the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee and not 

included on the preferred drug list. Nonpreferred drugs 

will be made available to Medicaid beneficiaries through 

prior authorization.  

g. d. Payment of supplemental rebates may result in a 

product's inclusion on the PDL.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3130; Filed October 30, 2013, 4:36 p.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 

for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care 

(amending 12VAC30-80-20, 12VAC30-80-40; adding 

12VAC30-80-36).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396. 

Effective Dates: January 1, 2014, through June 30, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 

federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 

be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4 of the Administrative Process Act. Item 307 XX of 

Chapter 806 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly authorizes the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to (i) 
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amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance to convert the 

current cost-based reimbursement methodology for 

outpatient hospitals to an Enhanced Ambulatory Patient 

Group (EAPG) methodology and (ii) promulgate 

regulations to be effective within 280 days of enactment of 

the act. 

The purpose of this action is to implement a prospective 

payment methodology for outpatient hospital services. The 

current cost-based methodology is out of date, inefficient, 

and costly. DMAS is implementing the EAPG methodology, 

which is deemed to be a more efficient and predictable 

reimbursement methodology for DMAS to pay hospitals 

that furnish services to Medicaid recipients in an 

outpatient hospital setting. 

12VAC30-80-20. Services that are reimbursed on a cost 

basis.  

A. Payments for services listed below shall be on the basis 

of reasonable cost following the standards and principles 

applicable to the Title XVIII Program with the exception 

provided for in subdivision D 1 d of this section. The upper 

limit for reimbursement shall be no higher than payments for 

Medicare patients on a facility by facility basis in accordance 

with 42 CFR 447.321 and 42 CFR 447.325. In no instance, 

however, shall charges for beneficiaries of the program be in 

excess of charges for private patients receiving services from 

the provider. The professional component for emergency 

room physicians shall continue to be uncovered as a 

component of the payment to the facility.  

B. Reasonable costs will be determined from the filing of a 

uniform cost report by participating providers. The cost 

reports are due not later than 150 days after the provider's 

fiscal year end. If a complete cost report is not received 

within 150 days after the end of the provider's fiscal year, the 

Program shall take action in accordance with its policies to 

assure that an overpayment is not being made. The cost report 

will be judged complete when DMAS has all of the 

following:  

1. Completed cost reporting form(s) provided by DMAS, 

with signed certification(s);  

2. The provider's trial balance showing adjusting journal 

entries;  

3. The provider's financial statements including, but not 

limited to, a balance sheet, a statement of income and 

expenses, a statement of retained earnings (or fund 

balance), and a statement of changes in financial position;  

4. Schedules that reconcile financial statements and trial 

balance to expenses claimed in the cost report;  

5. Depreciation schedule or summary;  

6. Home office cost report, if applicable; and  

7. Such other analytical information or supporting 

documents requested by DMAS when the cost reporting 

forms are sent to the provider.  

C. Item 398 D of the 1987 Appropriation Act (as amended), 

effective April 8, 1987, eliminated reimbursement of return 

on equity capital to proprietary providers.  

D. The services that are cost reimbursed are:  

1. Outpatient For dates of service prior to January 1, 2014, 

outpatient hospital services including rehabilitation 

hospital outpatient services and excluding laboratory.  

a. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 

in this regulation shall have the following meanings 

when applied to emergency services unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise:  

"All-inclusive" means all emergency department and 

ancillary service charges claimed in association with the 

emergency room visit, with the exception of laboratory 

services.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) 

of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Emergency hospital services" means services that are 

necessary to prevent the death or serious impairment of 

the health of the recipient. The threat to the life or health 

of the recipient necessitates the use of the most 

accessible hospital available that is equipped to furnish 

the services.  

"Recent injury" means an injury that has occurred less 

than 72 hours prior to the emergency department visit.  

b. Scope. DMAS shall differentiate, as determined by the 

attending physician's diagnosis, the kinds of care 

routinely rendered in emergency departments and 

reimburse for nonemergency care rendered in emergency 

departments at a reduced rate.  

(1) With the exception of laboratory services, DMAS 

shall reimburse at a reduced and all-inclusive 

reimbursement rate for all services, including those 

obstetric and pediatric procedures contained in 

12VAC30-80-160, rendered in emergency departments 

that DMAS determines were nonemergency care.  

(2) Services determined by the attending physician to be 

emergencies shall be reimbursed under the existing 

methodologies and at the existing rates.  

(3) Services performed by the attending physician that 

may be emergencies shall be manually reviewed. If such 

services meet certain criteria, they shall be paid under the 

methodology for subdivision 1 b (2) of this subsection. 

Services not meeting certain criteria shall be paid under 

the methodology of subdivision 1 b (1) of this subsection. 

Such criteria shall include, but not be limited to:  

(a) The initial treatment following a recent obvious 

injury.  

(b) Treatment related to an injury sustained more than 72 

hours prior to the visit with the deterioration of the 
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symptoms to the point of requiring medical treatment for 

stabilization.  

(c) The initial treatment for medical emergencies 

including indications of severe chest pain, dyspnea, 

gastrointestinal hemorrhage, spontaneous abortion, loss 

of consciousness, status epilepticus, or other conditions 

considered life threatening.  

(d) A visit in which the recipient's condition requires 

immediate hospital admission or the transfer to another 

facility for further treatment or a visit in which the 

recipient dies.  

(e) Services provided for acute vital sign changes as 

specified in the provider manual.  

(f) Services provided for severe pain when combined 

with one or more of the other guidelines.  

(4) Payment shall be determined based on ICD-9-CM 

diagnosis codes and necessary supporting documentation.  

(5) DMAS shall review on an ongoing basis the 

effectiveness of this program in achieving its objectives 

and for its effect on recipients, physicians, and hospitals. 

Program components may be revised subject to achieving 

program intent, the accuracy and effectiveness of the 

ICD-9-CM code designations, and the impact on 

recipients and providers.  

c. Limitation of allowable cost. Effective for services on 

and after July 1, 2003, reimbursement of Type Two 

hospitals for outpatient services shall be at various 

percentages as noted in subdivisions 1 c (1) and (2) of 

this subsection of allowable cost, with cost to be 

determined as provided in subsections A, B, and C of this 

section. For hospitals with fiscal years that do not begin 

on July 1, outpatient costs, both operating and capital, for 

the fiscal year in progress on that date shall be 

apportioned between the time period before and the time 

period after that date, based on the number of calendar 

months in the cost reporting period, falling before and 

after that date.  

(1) Type One hospitals. 

(a) Effective July 1, 2003, through June 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating reimbursement shall be at 

94.2% of allowable cost and capital reimbursement shall 

be at 90% of allowable cost. 

(b) Effective July 1, 2010, through September 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating reimbursement shall be at 

91.2% of allowable cost and capital reimbursement shall 

be at 87% of allowable cost. 

(c) Effective October 1, 2010, through June 30, 2011, 

hospital outpatient operating reimbursement shall be at 

94.2% of allowable cost and capital reimbursement shall 

be at 90% of allowable cost. 

(d) Effective July 1, 2011, hospital outpatient operating 

reimbursement shall be at 90.2% of allowable cost and 

capital reimbursement shall be at 86% of allowable cost. 

(2) Type Two hospitals. 

(a) Effective July 1, 2003, through June 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating and capital reimbursement 

shall be 80% of allowable cost. 

(b) Effective July 1, 2010, through September 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating and capital reimbursement 

shall be 77% of allowable cost. 

(c) Effective October 1, 2010, through June 30, 2011, 

hospital outpatient operating and capital reimbursement 

shall be 80% of allowable cost. 

(d) Effective July 1, 2011, hospital outpatient operating 

and capital reimbursement shall be 76% of allowable 

cost. 

d. The last cost report with a fiscal year end on or after 

December 31, 2013, shall be used for reimbursement for 

dates of service through December 31, 2013, based on 

this section. Reimbursement shall be prorated based on 

the number of cost report months prior to January 1, 

2014, as a percentage of total months in the cost report. 

Settlement will be based on four months of runout from 

the end of the provider's fiscal year. Claims for services 

paid after the cost report runout period will not be settled. 

d. e. Payment for direct medical education costs of 

nursing schools, paramedical programs and graduate 

medical education for interns and residents.  

(1) Direct medical education costs of nursing schools and 

paramedical programs shall continue to be paid on an 

allowable cost basis.  

(2) Effective with cost reporting periods beginning on or 

after July 1, 2002, direct graduate medical education 

(GME) costs for interns and residents shall be reimbursed 

on a per-resident prospective basis. See 12VAC30-70-

281 for prospective payment methodology for graduate 

medical education for interns and residents.  

2. Rehabilitation agencies or comprehensive outpatient 

rehabilitation. 

a. Effective July 1, 2009, rehabilitation agencies or 

comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities that are 

operated by community services boards or state agencies 

shall be reimbursed their costs. For reimbursement 

methodology applicable to all other rehabilitation 

agencies, see 12VAC30-80-200.  

b. Effective October 1, 2009, rehabilitation agencies or 

comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities 

operated by state agencies shall be reimbursed their 

costs. For reimbursement methodology applicable to all 

other rehabilitation agencies, see 12VAC30-80-200. 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+12VAC30-70-281
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+12VAC30-70-281
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12VAC30-80-36. Fee-for-service: outpatient hospitals.  

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Enhanced Ambulatory Patient Group" or "EAPG" means a 

defined group of outpatient procedures, encounters, or 

ancillary services that incorporates International 

Classification of Diseases (ICD) diagnosis codes, Current 

Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes, and Healthcare 

Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) codes. 

"EAPG relative weight" means the expected average costs 

for each EAPG divided by the relative expected average costs 

for visits assigned to all EAPGs. 

"Base year" means the state fiscal year for which data is 

used to establish the EAPG base rate. The base year will 

change when the EAPG payment system is rebased and 

recalibrated. In subsequent rebasings, the Commonwealth 

shall notify affected providers of the base year to be used in 

this calculation.  

"Cost" means the reported cost as defined in 12VAC30-80-

20 A. 

"Medicare wage index" is published annually in the Federal 

Register by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

The indices used in this section shall be those in effect in the 

base year.  

"Cost-to-charge ratio" equals the hospital's total costs 

divided by the hospital's total charges. The cost-to-charge 

ratio shall be calculated using data from cost reports from 

hospital fiscal years ending in the state fiscal year used as the 

base year.  

B. Effective January 1, 2014, the prospective Enhanced 

Ambulatory Patient Group (EAPG) based payment system 

described as follows shall apply to reimbursement for 

outpatient hospital services with the exception of laboratory 

services referred to the hospital but not associated with an 

outpatient hospital visit, which will be reimbursed according 

to the laboratory fee schedule: 

1. The payments for outpatient hospital visits shall be 

determined on the basis of a hospital-specific base rate per 

visit times the relative weight of the EAPG (and the 

payment action) assigned for each of the service performed 

during a hospital visit. 

2. The EAPG relative weights shall be the weights 

determined and published periodically by DMAS and shall 

be consistent with applicable Medicaid reimbursement 

limits and policies. The weights shall be updated at least 

every three years.  

3. The statewide base rate shall be equal to the total costs 

described below divided by the wage-adjusted sum of the 

EAPG weights for each facility. The wage-adjusted sum of 

the EAPG weights shall equal the sum of the EAPG 

weights times the labor percentage times the hospital's 

Medicare wage index plus the sum of the EAPG weights 

times the nonlabor percentage. The base rate shall be 

determined for outpatient hospital services at least every 

three years so that total expenditures will equal the 

following: 

a. When using base years prior to January 1, 2014, for all 

services, excluding all laboratory services and emergency 

services described in subdivision 3 c of this subsection, a 

percentage of costs as reported in the available cost 

reports for the base period for each type of hospital as 

defined in 12VAC30-70-221.  

(1) Type One hospitals. Effective January 1, 2014, 

hospital outpatient operating reimbursement shall be 

calculated at 90.2% of cost and capital reimbursement 

shall be at 86% of cost inflated to the rate year. 

(2) Type Two hospitals. Effective January 1, 2014, 

hospital outpatient operating and capital reimbursement 

shall be calculated at 76% of cost inflated to the rate 

year. 

When using base years after January 1, 2014, the 

percentages described in subdivision 3 a of this 

subsection shall be adjusted according to subdivision 3 c 

of this subsection. 

b. Laboratory services (excluding laboratory services 

referred to the hospital but not associated with an 

outpatient hospital visit) calculated at the fee schedule in 

effect for the rate year. 

c. Services rendered in emergency departments 

determined to be nonemergencies as prescribed in 

12VAC30-80-20 D 1 b shall be calculated at the 

nonemergency reduced rate reported in the base year for 

base years prior to January 1, 2014. For base years after 

January 1, 2014, the cost percentages in subdivision 3 a 

of this subsection shall be adjusted to reflect services 

paid at the non-emergency reduced rate in the last base 

year prior to January 1, 2014. 

4. Inflation adjustment to base year costs. Each July, the 

Virginia moving average values as compiled and published 

by Global Insight (or its successor), under contract with the 

DMAS, shall be used to update the base year costs to the 

midpoint of the rate year. The most current table available 

prior to the effective date of the new rates shall be used to 

inflate base year amounts to the upcoming rate year. Thus, 

corrections made by Global Insight (or its successor) in the 

moving averages that were used to update rates for 

previous state fiscal years shall be automatically 

incorporated into the moving averages that are being used 

to update rates for the upcoming state fiscal year. Inflation 

shall be applied to the costs identified in subdivision 3 a of 

this subsection.  

5. Hospital-specific base rate. The hospital-specific base 

rate per case shall be adjusted for geographic variation. 

The hospital-specific base rate shall be equal to the labor 

portion of the statewide base rate times the hospital's 
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Medicare wage index plus the nonlabor percentage of the 

statewide base rate. The labor percentage shall be 

determined at each rebasing based on the most recently 

reliable data. For rural hospitals, the hospital's Medicare 

wage index used to calculate the base rate shall be the 

Medicare wage index of the nearest metropolitan wage 

area or the effective Medicare wage index, whichever is 

higher. A base rate differential of 5.0% shall be established 

for freestanding Type Two children's hospitals. The base 

rate for non-cost-reporting hospitals shall be the average of 

the hospital-specific base rates of instate Type Two 

hospitals. 

6. The total payment shall represent the total allowable 

amount for a visit including ancillary services and capital. 

7. The transition from cost-based reimbursement to EAPG 

reimbursement shall be transitioned over a four-year 

period. DMAS shall calculate a cost-based base rate at 

January 1, 2014, and at each rebasing during the transition. 

a. Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 

2014, DMAS shall calculate the hospital-specific base 

rate as the sum of 75% of the cost-based base rate and 

25% of the EAPG base rate.  

b. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2014, 

DMAS shall calculate the hospital-specific base rate as 

the sum of 50% of the cost-based base rate and 50% of 

the EAPG base rate. 

c. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2015, 

DMAS shall calculate the hospital-specific base rate as 

the sum of 25% of the cost-based base rate and 75% of 

the EAPG base rate. 

d. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2016, 

DMAS shall calculate the hospital-specific base rate as 

the EAPG base rate. 

8. To maintain budget neutrality during the first six years, 

DMAS shall compare the total reimbursement of hospital 

claims based on the parameters in subdivision 3 of this 

subsection to EAPG reimbursement every six months 

based on the six months of claims ending three months 

prior to the potential adjustment. If the percentage 

difference between the reimbursement target in subdivision 

3 of this subsection and EAPG reimbursement is greater 

than 1.0%, plus or minus, DMAS shall adjust the statewide 

base rate by the percentage difference the following July 1 

or January 1. The first possible adjustment would be July 

1, 2014, using reimbursement between January 1, 2014, 

and March 31, 2014.  

C. The Enhanced Ambulatory Patient Group (EAPG) 

grouper version used for outpatient hospital services shall be 

determined by DMAS. Providers or provider representatives 

shall be given notice prior to implementing a new grouper. 

D. The primary data sources used in the development of the 

EAPG payment methodology are the DMAS' hospital 

computerized claims history file and the cost report file. The 

claims history file captures available claims data from all 

enrolled, cost-reporting general acute care hospitals. The cost 

report file captures audited cost and charge data from all 

enrolled general acute care hospitals. The following table 

identifies key data elements that are used to develop the 

EAPG payment methodology. DMAS may supplement this 

data with similar data for Medicaid services furnished by 

managed care organizations if DMAS determines that it is 

reliable. 

Data Elements for EAPG Payment Methodology 

Data Elements Source 

Total charges for each outpatient 

hospital visit 

Claims history 

file 

Number of groupable claims lines in 

each EAPG 

Claims history 

file 

Total number of groupable claim lines Claims history 

file 

Total charges for each outpatient 

hospital revenue line 

Claims history 

file 

Total number of EAPG assignments Claims history 

file 

Cost-to-charge ratio for each hospital Cost report file 

Medicare wage index for each hospital Federal 

Register 

12VAC30-80-40. Fee-for-service providers: pharmacy. 

Payment for pharmacy services (excluding outpatient 

hospital) shall be the lowest of items subdivisions 1 through 5 

of this section (except that items subdivisions 1 and 2 of this 

section will not apply when prescriptions are certified as 

brand necessary by the prescribing physician in accordance 

with the procedures set forth in 42 CFR 447.512(c) if the 

brand cost is greater than the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS) upper limit of VMAC cost) subject 

to the conditions, where applicable, set forth in subdivisions 6 

and 7 of this section:  

1. The upper limit established by the CMS for multiple 

source drugs pursuant to 42 CFR 447.512 and 447.514, as 

determined by the CMS Upper Limit List plus a dispensing 

fee. If the agency provides payment for any drugs on the 

HCFA Upper Limit List, the payment shall be subject to 

the aggregate upper limit payment test.  

2. The methodology used to reimburse for generic drug 

products shall be the higher of either (i) the lowest 

Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) plus 10% or (ii) the 

second lowest WAC plus 6.0%. This methodology shall 

reimburse for products' costs based on a Maximum 

Allowable Cost (VMAC) list to be established by the 

single state agency.  
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a. In developing the maximum allowable reimbursement 

rate for generic pharmaceuticals, the department or its 

designated contractor shall: 

(1) Identify three different suppliers, including 

manufacturers that are able to supply pharmaceutical 

products in sufficient quantities. The drugs considered 

must be listed as therapeutically and pharmaceutically 

equivalent in the Food and Drug Administration's most 

recent version of the Approved Drug Products with 

Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book). 

Pharmaceutical products that are not available from three 

different suppliers, including manufacturers, shall not be 

subject to the VMAC list. 

(2) Identify that the use of a VMAC rate is lower than the 

Federal Upper Limit (FUL) for the drug. The FUL is a 

known, widely published price provided by CMS; and 

(3) Distribute the list of state VMAC rates to pharmacy 

providers in a timely manner prior to the implementation 

of VMAC rates and subsequent modifications. DMAS 

shall publish on its website, each month, the information 

used to set the Commonwealth's prospective VMAC 

rates, including, but not necessarily limited to: 

(a) The identity of applicable reference products used to 

set the VMAC rates; 

(b) The Generic Code Number (GCN) or National Drug 

Code (NDC), as may be appropriate, of reference 

products; 

(c) The difference by which the VMAC rate exceeds the 

appropriate WAC price; and 

(d) The identity and date of the published compendia 

used to determine reference products and set the VMAC 

rate. The difference by which the VMAC rate exceeds 

the appropriate WAC price shall be at least or equal to 

10% above the lowest-published wholesale acquisition 

cost for products widely available for purchase in the 

Commonwealth and shall be included in national pricing 

compendia. 

b. Development of a VMAC rate that does not have a 

FUL rate shall not result in the use of higher-cost 

innovator brand name or single source drugs in the 

Medicaid program. 

c. DMAS or its designated contractor shall: 

(1) Implement and maintain a procedure to add or 

eliminate products from the list, or modify VMAC rates, 

consistent with changes in the fluctuating marketplace. 

DMAS or its designated contractor will regularly review 

manufacturers' pricing and monitor drug availability in 

the marketplace to determine the inclusion or exclusion 

of drugs on the VMAC list; and 

(2) Provide a pricing dispute resolution procedure to 

allow a dispensing provider to contest a listed VMAC 

rate. DMAS or its designated contractor shall confirm 

receipt of pricing disputes within 24 hours, via telephone 

or facsimile, with the appropriate documentation of 

relevant information, e.g., invoices. Disputes shall be 

resolved within three business days of confirmation. The 

pricing dispute resolution process will include DMAS' or 

the contractor's verification of accurate pricing to ensure 

consistency with marketplace pricing and drug 

availability. Providers will be reimbursed, as appropriate, 

based on findings. Providers shall be required to use this 

dispute resolution process prior to exercising any 

applicable appeal rights. 

3. The provider's usual and customary charge to the public, 

as identified by the claim charge. 

4. The Estimated Acquisition Cost (EAC), which shall be 

based on the published Average Wholesale Price (AWP) 

minus a percentage discount established by the General 

Assembly (as set forth in subdivision 7 of this section) or, 

in the absence thereof, by the following methodology set 

out in subdivisions a through c of this subdivision. 

a. Percentage discount shall be determined by a statewide 

survey of providers' acquisition cost. 

b. The survey shall reflect statistical analysis of actual 

provider purchase invoices. 

c. The agency will conduct surveys at intervals deemed 

necessary by DMAS. 

5. MAC methodology for specialty drugs. Payment for 

drug products designated by DMAS as specialty drugs 

shall be the lesser of subdivisions 1 through 4 of this 

section or the following method, whichever is least: 

a. The methodology used to reimburse for designated 

specialty drug products shall be the WAC price plus the 

WAC percentage. The WAC percentage is a constant 

percentage identified each year for all GCNs. 

b. Designated specialty drug products are certain 

products used to treat chronic, high-cost, or rare diseases; 

the drugs subject to this pricing methodology and their 

current reimbursement rates are listed on the DMAS 

website at the following internet address: 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/downloads/pdfs/pharm-

special_mac_list.pdf. 

c. The MAC reimbursement methodology for specialty 

drugs shall be subject to the pricing review and dispute 

resolution procedures described in subdivisions 2 c (1) 

and 2 c (2) of this section. 

6. Payment for pharmacy services will be as described 

above; however, payment for legend drugs will include the 

allowed cost of the drug plus only one dispensing fee per 

month for each specific drug. Exceptions to the monthly 

dispensing fees shall be allowed for drugs determined by 

the department to have unique dispensing requirements. 

The dispensing fee for brand name and generic drugs is 

$3.75.  

7. The Program pays additional reimbursement for unit 

dose dispensing systems of dispensing drugs. DMAS 
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defines its unit dose dispensing system coverage consistent 

with that of the Board of Pharmacy of the Department of 

Health Professions (18VAC110-20-420). This service is 

paid only for patients residing in nursing facilities. 

Reimbursements are based on the allowed payments 

described above plus the unit dose per capita fee to be 

calculated by DMAS' fiscal agent based on monthly per 

nursing home resident service per pharmacy provider. Only 

one service fee per month may be paid to the pharmacy for 

each patient receiving unit dose dispensing services. 

Multisource drugs will be reimbursed at the maximum 

allowed drug cost for specific multiple source drugs as 

identified by the state agency or CMS' upper limits as 

applicable. All other drugs will be reimbursed at drug costs 

not to exceed the estimated acquisition cost determined by 

the state agency. The original per capita fee shall be 

determined by a DMAS analysis of costs related to such 

dispensing, and shall be reevaluated at periodic intervals 

for appropriate adjustment. The unit dose dispensing fee is 

$5.00 per recipient per month per pharmacy provider. 

An EAC of AWP minus 13.1% shall become effective July 

1, 2011. The dispensing fee for brand name and generic 

drugs of $3.75 shall remain in effect, creating a payment 

methodology based on the previous algorithm (least of 

subdivisions of this section) plus a dispensing fee where 

applicable. 

8. Home infusion therapy.  

a. The following therapy categories shall have a 

pharmacy service day rate payment allowable: hydration 

therapy, chemotherapy, pain management therapy, drug 

therapy, total parenteral nutrition (TPN). The service day 

rate payment for the pharmacy component shall apply to 

the basic components and services intrinsic to the therapy 

category. Submission of claims for the per diem rate shall 

be accomplished by use of the CMS 1500 claim form.  

b. The cost of the active ingredient or ingredients for 

chemotherapy, pain management and drug therapies shall 

be submitted as a separate claim through the pharmacy 

program, using standard pharmacy format. Payment for 

this component shall be consistent with the current 

reimbursement for pharmacy services. Multiple 

applications of the same therapy shall be reimbursed one 

service day rate for the pharmacy services. Multiple 

applications of different therapies shall be reimbursed at 

100% of standard pharmacy reimbursement for each 

active ingredient.  

9. Supplemental rebate agreement. Based on the 

requirements in § 1927 of the Social Security Act, the 

Commonwealth of Virginia has the following policies for 

the supplemental drug rebate program for Medicaid 

recipients:  

a. The model supplemental rebate agreement between the 

Commonwealth and pharmaceutical manufacturers for 

legend drugs provided to Medicaid recipients, submitted 

to CMS on February 5, 2004, and entitled Virginia 

Supplemental Drug Rebate Agreement Contract A and 

Amendment #2 to Contract A has been authorized by 

CMS.  

b. The model supplemental rebate agreement between the 

Commonwealth and pharmaceutical manufacturers for 

drugs provided to Medicaid recipients, submitted to CMS 

on February 5, 2004, and entitled Virginia Supplemental 

Drug Rebate Agreement Contract B and Amendment #2 

to Contract B has been authorized by CMS.  

c. The model supplemental rebate agreement between the 

Commonwealth and pharmaceutical manufacturers for 

drugs provided to Medicaid recipients, submitted to CMS 

on February 5, 2004, and entitled Virginia Supplemental 

Drug Rebate Agreement Contract C, and Amendments 

#1 and #2 to Contract C has been authorized by CMS.  

d. Supplemental drug rebates received by the state in 

excess of those required under the national drug rebate 

agreement will be shared with the federal government on 

the same percentage basis as applied under the national 

drug rebate agreement.  

e. Prior authorization requirements found in § 1927(d)(5) 

of the Social Security Act have been met.  

f. Nonpreferred drugs are those that were reviewed by the 

Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee and not included 

on the preferred drug list. Nonpreferred drugs will be 

made available to Medicaid beneficiaries through prior 

authorization.  

g. Payment of supplemental rebates may result in a 

product's inclusion on the PDL.  

10. Each drug administered in an outpatient hospital setting 

and reimbursed based on the Enhanced Ambulatory Patient 

Group methodology as described in 12VAC30-80-36 shall 

be reimbursed separately at a rate greater than zero to be 

eligible for drug rebate claiming. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3799; Filed November 6, 2013, 3:23 p.m.  

Final Regulation  

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 

(amending 12VAC30-120-360, 12VAC30-120-370, 

12VAC30-120-380).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action incorporates changes that have 

been approved by the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services to the Virginia Medicaid managed 
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care waiver program, Medallion II. The amendments add 

the rural exception to the Medallion II program in areas 

federally designated as "rural" where there is only one 

contracted managed care organization. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part VI  

Medallion II  

12VAC30-120-360. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Action" means the denial or limited authorization of a 

requested service, including the type or level of service; the 

reduction, suspension, or termination of a previously 

authorized service; the denial, in whole or in part, of payment 

for a service; the failure to provide services in a timely 

manner, as defined by the state; or the failure of an MCO to 

act within the timeframes provided in 42 CFR 438.408(b).  

"Appeal" means a request for review of an action, as 

"action" is defined in this section.  

"Area of residence" means the recipient's address in the 

Medicaid eligibility file.  

"Capitation payment" means a payment the department 

makes periodically to a contractor on behalf of each recipient 

enrolled under a contract for the provision of medical services 

under the State Plan, regardless of whether the particular 

recipient receives services during the period covered by the 

payment.  

"Client," "clients," "recipient," "enrollee," or "participant" 

means an individual or individuals having current Medicaid 

eligibility who shall be authorized by DMAS to be a member 

or members of Medallion II.  

"Covered services" means Medicaid services as defined in 

the State Plan for Medical Assistance.  

"Disenrollment" means the process of changing enrollment 

from one Medallion II Managed Care Organization (MCO) 

plan to another MCO or to the Primary Care Case 

Management (PCCM) program, if applicable.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services.  

"Early Intervention" means EPSDT Early Intervention 

services provided pursuant to Part C of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 2004 as set forth in 

12VAC30-50-131. 

"Eligible person" means any person eligible for Virginia 

Medicaid in accordance with the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

"Emergency medical condition" means a medical condition 

manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity 

(including severe pain) that a prudent layperson, who 

possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine, 

could reasonably expect the absence of immediate medical 

attention to result in the following:  

1. Placing the health of the individual (or, with respect to a 

pregnant woman, the health of the woman or her unborn 

child) in serious jeopardy,  

2. Serious impairment to bodily functions, or  

3. Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.  

"Emergency services" means covered inpatient and 

outpatient services that are furnished by a provider that is 

qualified to furnish these services and that are needed to 

evaluate or stabilize an emergency medical condition.  

"Enrollment broker" means an independent contractor that 

enrolls recipients in the contractor's plan and is responsible 

for the operation and documentation of a toll-free recipient 

service helpline. The responsibilities of the enrollment broker 

include, but shall not be limited to, recipient education and 

MCO enrollment, assistance with and tracking of recipients' 

complaints resolutions, and may include recipient marketing 

and outreach.  

"Exclusion from Medallion II" means the removal of an 

enrollee from the Medallion II program on a temporary or 

permanent basis.  

"External [ Quality Review Organization" (EQRO) is quality 

review organization" or "EQRO" means ] an organization that 

meets the competence and independence requirements set 

forth in 42 CFR 438.354 and performs external quality 

reviews, other [ EQR external quality review ] related 

activities as set forth in 42 CFR 438.358, or both.  

"Foster care" is a program in which a child receives either 

foster care assistance under Title IV-E of the Social Security 

Act or state and local foster care assistance.  

"Grievance" means an expression of dissatisfaction about 

any matter other than an action, as "action" is defined in this 

section.  

"Health care plan" means any arrangement in which any 

managed care organization undertakes to provide, arrange for, 

pay for, or reimburse any part of the cost of any health care 

services.  

"Health care professional" means a provider as defined in 

42 CFR 438.2.  

"Managed care organization" or "MCO" means an entity that 

meets the participation and solvency criteria defined in 

42 CFR Part 438 and has an executed contractual agreement 

with DMAS to provide services covered under the Medallion 

II program. Covered services for Medallion II individuals 

must be as accessible (in terms of timeliness, amount, 

duration, and scope) as compared to other Medicaid recipients 

served within the area.  

"Network" means doctors, hospitals or other health care 

providers who participate or contract with an MCO and, as a 

result, agree to accept a mutually-agreed upon sum or fee 
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schedule as payment in full for covered services that are 

rendered to eligible participants.  

"Newborn enrollment period" means the period from the 

child's date of birth plus the next two calendar months.  

"Nonparticipating provider" means a health care entity or 

health care professional not in the contractor's participating 

provider network.  

"PCP of record" means a primary care physician of record 

with whom the recipient has an established history and such 

history is documented in the individual's records. 

"Post-stabilization care services" means covered services 

related to an emergency medical condition that are provided 

after an enrollee is stabilized in order to maintain the 

stabilized condition or to improve or resolve the enrollee's 

condition.  

"Potential enrollee" means a Medicaid recipient who is 

subject to mandatory enrollment or may voluntarily elect to 

enroll in a given managed care program, but is not yet an 

enrollee of a specific MCO or PCCM.  

"Primary care case management" or "PCCM" means a 

system under which a primary care case manager contracts 

with the Commonwealth to furnish case management services 

(which include the location, coordination, and monitoring of 

primary health care services) to Medicaid recipients. 

"Retractions" means the departure of an enrolled managed 

care organization from any one or more localities as provided 

for in 12VAC30-120-370. 

"Rural exception" means a rural area designated in the 

§ 1915(b) managed care waiver, pursuant to § 1932(a)(3)(B) 

of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR § 438.52(b) and 

recognized by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services, wherein qualifying Medallion II members are 

mandated to enroll in the one available contracted MCO. 

"School health services" means those physical therapy, 

occupational therapy, speech therapy, nursing, psychiatric and 

psychological services rendered to children who qualify for 

these services under the federal Individuals with Disabilities 

Education Act (20 USC § 1471 et seq.) by (i) employees of 

the school divisions or (ii) providers that subcontract with 

school divisions, as described in [ 12VAC30-50-229.1 

12VAC30-50-130 ].  

"Spend-down" means the process of reducing countable 

income by deducting incurred medical expenses for medically 

needy individuals, as determined in the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance.  

12VAC30-120-370. Medallion II enrollees. 

A. DMAS shall determine enrollment in Medallion II. 

Medicaid eligible persons not meeting the exclusion criteria 

set out in this section must participate in the Medallion II 

program. Enrollment in Medallion II is not a guarantee of 

continuing eligibility for services and benefits under the 

Virginia Medical Assistance Services Program. DMAS 

reserves the right to exclude from participation in the 

Medallion II managed care program any recipient who has 

been consistently noncompliant with the policies and 

procedures of managed care or who is threatening to 

providers, MCOs, or DMAS. There must be sufficient 

documentation from various providers, the MCO, and DMAS 

of these noncompliance issues and any attempts at resolution. 

Recipients excluded from Medallion II through this provision 

may appeal the decision to DMAS. 

B. The following individuals shall be excluded (as defined 

in 12VAC30-120-360) from participating in Medallion II or 

will be disenrolled from Medallion II if any of the following 

apply. Individuals not meeting the exclusion criteria must 

participate in the Medallion II program. as defined in the § 

1915(b) managed care waiver. Individuals excluded from 

Medallion II include the following:  

1. Individuals who are inpatients in state mental hospitals; 

2. Individuals who are approved by DMAS as inpatients in 

long-stay hospitals, nursing facilities, or intermediate care 

facilities for the [ mentally retarded intellectually 

disabled ]; 

3. Individuals who are placed on spend-down; 

4. Individuals who are participating in the family planning 

waiver, or in federal waiver programs for home-based and 

community-based Medicaid coverage prior to managed 

care enrollment; 

5. Individuals who are participating in foster care or 

subsidized adoption programs; 

6. Individuals under age 21 who are either enrolled in 

DMAS authorized treatment foster care programs as 

defined in 12VAC30-60-170 A, or who are approved for 

DMAS residential facility Level C programs as defined in 

12VAC30-130-860; 

7. Newly eligible individuals who are in the third trimester 

of pregnancy and who request exclusion within a 

department-specified timeframe of the effective date of 

their MCO enrollment. Exclusion may be granted only if 

the member's obstetrical provider (e.g., physician, hospital, 

midwife) does not participate with the enrollee's assigned 

MCO. Exclusion requests made during the third trimester 

may be made by the recipient, MCO, or provider. DMAS 

shall determine if the request meets the criteria for 

exclusion. Following the end of the pregnancy, these 

individuals shall be required to enroll to the extent they 

remain eligible for Medicaid; 

8. Individuals, other than students, who permanently live 

outside their area of residence for greater than 60 

consecutive days except those individuals placed there for 

medically necessary services funded by the MCO; 

9. Individuals who receive hospice services in accordance 

with DMAS criteria; 

10. Individuals with other comprehensive group or 

individual health insurance coverage, including Medicare, 
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insurance provided to military dependents, and any other 

insurance purchased through the Health Insurance 

Premium Payment Program (HIPP); 

11. Individuals requesting exclusion who are inpatients in 

hospitals, other than those listed in subdivisions 1 and 2 of 

this subsection, at the scheduled time of MCO enrollment 

or who are scheduled for inpatient hospital stay or surgery 

within 30 calendar days of the MCO enrollment effective 

date. The exclusion shall remain effective until the first day 

of the month following discharge. This exclusion reason 

shall not apply to recipients admitted to the hospital while 

already enrolled in a department-contracted MCO;  

12. Individuals who request exclusion during 

preassignment to an MCO or within a time set by DMAS 

from the effective date of their MCO enrollment, who have 

been diagnosed with a terminal condition and who have a 

life expectancy of six months or less. The client's physician 

must certify the life expectancy; 

13. Certain individuals between birth and age three 

certified by the Department of Mental Health, Mental 

Retardation and Substance Abuse Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services as eligible for services pursuant to 

Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act 

(20 USC § 1471 et seq.) who are granted an exception by 

DMAS to the mandatory Medallion II enrollment; 

14. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is less 

than three months; 

15. Individuals who are enrolled in the Commonwealth's 

Title XXI SCHIP program; 

16. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is only 

retroactive; and 

17. Children enrolled in the Virginia Birth-Related 

Neurological Injury Compensation Program established 

pursuant to Chapter 50 (§ 38.2-5000 et seq.) of Title 38.2 

of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Individuals enrolled with a MCO who subsequently meet 

one or more of the aforementioned criteria during MCO 

enrollment shall be excluded from MCO participation as 

determined by DMAS, with the exception of those who 

subsequently become recipients in the federal long-term care 

waiver programs, as otherwise defined elsewhere in this 

chapter, for home-based and community-based Medicaid 

coverage (AIDS, IFDDS, MR, EDCD, Day Support, or 

Alzheimers Alzheimer's, or as may be amended from time to 

time). These individuals shall receive acute and primary 

medical services via the MCO and shall receive waiver 

services and related transportation to waiver services via the 

fee-for-service program. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 

enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the current 

fee-for-service system. When enrollees no longer meet the 

criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to enroll in the 

appropriate managed care program. 

D. Individuals who are enrolled in localities that qualify for 

the rural exception may meet exclusion criteria if their PCP of 

record, as defined in 12VAC30-120-360, cannot or will not 

participate with the one MCO in the locality. Individual 

requests to be excluded from MCO participation in localities 

meeting the qualification for the rural exception must be 

made to DMAS for consideration on a case-by-case basis. 

Recipients enrolled in MCO rural exception areas shall not 

have open enrollment periods and shall not be afforded the 

90-day window after initial enrollment during which they 

may make a health plan or program change. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 

enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the current 

fee-for-service system. When enrollees no longer meet the 

criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to enroll in the 

appropriate managed care program. 

D. E. Medallion II managed care plans shall be offered to 

recipients, and recipients shall be enrolled in those plans, 

exclusively through an independent enrollment broker under 

contract to DMAS. 

E. F. Clients shall be enrolled as follows: 

1. All eligible persons, except those meeting one of the 

exclusions of subsection B of this section, shall be enrolled 

in Medallion II. 

2. Clients shall receive a Medicaid card from DMAS, and 

shall be provided authorized medical care in accordance 

with DMAS' procedures after Medicaid eligibility has been 

determined to exist. 

3. Once individuals are enrolled in Medicaid, they will 

receive a letter indicating that they may select one of the 

contracted MCOs. These letters shall indicate a 

preassigned MCO, determined as provided in subsection F 

of this section, in which the client will be enrolled if he 

does not make a selection within a period specified by 

DMAS of not less than 30 days. Recipients who are 

enrolled in one mandatory MCO program who 

immediately become eligible for another mandatory MCO 

program are able to maintain consistent enrollment with 

their currently assigned MCO, if available. These 

recipients will receive a notification letter including 

information regarding their ability to change health plans 

under the new program. 

4. Any newborn whose mother is enrolled with an MCO at 

the time of birth shall be considered an enrollee of that 

same MCO for the newborn enrollment period. The 

newborn enrollment period is defined as the birth month 

plus two months following the birth month. This 

requirement does not preclude the enrollee, once he is 

assigned a Medicaid identification number, from 

disenrolling from one MCO to another in accordance with 

subdivision G H 1 of this section. 

The newborn's continued enrollment with the MCO is not 

contingent upon the mother's enrollment. Additionally, if 
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the MCO's contract is terminated in whole or in part, the 

MCO shall continue newborn coverage if the child is born 

while the contract is active, until the newborn receives a 

Medicaid number or for the newborn enrollment period, 

whichever timeframe is earlier. Infants who do not receive 

a Medicaid identification number prior to the end of the 

newborn enrollment period will be disenrolled. Newborns 

who remain eligible for participation in Medallion II will 

be reenrolled in an MCO through the preassignment 

process upon receiving a Medicaid identification number. 

5. Individuals who lose then regain eligibility for 

Medallion II within 60 days will be reenrolled into their 

previous MCO without going through preassignment and 

selection. 

F. G. Clients who do not select an MCO as described in 

subdivision E 3 F 3 of this section shall be assigned to an 

MCO as follows: 

1. Clients are assigned through a system algorithm based 

upon the client's history with a contracted MCO. 

2. Clients not assigned pursuant to subdivision 1 of this 

subsection shall be assigned to the MCO of another family 

member, if applicable. 

3. Clients who live in rural exception areas as defined in 

12VAC30-120-360 must enroll with the one available 

MCO. These persons shall receive a preassignment 

notification for enrollment into the MCO. Individuals in 

rural exception areas who are assigned to the one MCO 

may request exclusion from MCO participation if their 

PCP of record, as defined in 12VAC30-120-360, cannot or 

will not participate with the one MCO in the locality. 

Individual requests to be excluded from MCO participation 

in rural exception localities must be made to DMAS for 

consideration on a case-by-case basis. 

3. 4. All other clients shall be assigned to an MCO on a 

basis of approximately equal number by MCO in each 

locality. 

4. In areas where there is only one contracted MCO, 

recipients have a choice of enrolling with the contracted 

MCO or the PCCM program.  All eligible recipients in 

areas where one contracted MCO exists, however, are 

automatically assigned to the contracted MCO. Individuals 

are allowed 90 days after the effective date of new or 

initial enrollment to change from either the contracted 

MCO to the PCCM program or vice versa. 

5. Recipients in areas where there is only one contracted 

MCO and the PCCM program are automatically assigned 

to the contracted MCO, but are allowed 90 days after the 

effective date of new or initial enrollment to change from 

either the contracted MCO to the PCCM program, or vice 

versa. Recipients residing in localities qualifying for rural 

exception shall not be afforded the 90-day window after 

initial enrollment during which they may make a health 

plan or program change. 

5. 6. DMAS shall have the discretion to utilize an alternate 

strategy for enrollment or transition of enrollment from the 

method described in this section for expansions, 

retractions, or changes to new client populations, new 

geographical areas, expansion through procurement 

procurements, or any or all of these; such alternate strategy 

shall comply with federal waiver requirements. 

G. H. Following their initial enrollment into an MCO or 

PCCM program, recipients shall be restricted to the MCO or 

PCCM program until the next open enrollment period, unless 

appropriately disenrolled or excluded by the department (as 

defined in 12VAC30-120-360). 

1. During the first 90 calendar days of enrollment in a new 

or initial MCO, a client may disenroll from that MCO to 

enroll into another MCO or into PCCM, if applicable, for 

any reason. Such disenrollment shall be effective no later 

than the first day of the second month after the month in 

which the client requests disenrollment. 

2. During the remainder of the enrollment period, the client 

may only disenroll from one MCO into another MCO or 

PCCM, if applicable, upon determination by DMAS that 

good cause exists as determined under subsection I of this 

section. 

H. I. The department shall conduct an annual open 

enrollment for all Medallion II participants with the exception 

of those clients who live in a designated rural exception area. 

The open enrollment period shall be the 60 calendar days 

before the end of the enrollment period. Prior to the open 

enrollment period, DMAS will inform the recipient of the 

opportunity to remain with the current MCO or change to 

another MCO, without cause, for the following year. In areas 

with only one contracted MCO and where the PCCM 

program is available, recipients will be given the opportunity 

to select either the MCO or the PCCM program. Enrollment 

selections will be effective on the first day of the next month 

following the open enrollment period. Recipients who do not 

make a choice during the open enrollment period will remain 

with their current MCO selection. 

I. J. Disenrollment for cause may be requested at any time. 

1. After the first 90 days of enrollment in an MCO, clients 

must request disenrollment from DMAS based on cause. 

The request may be made orally or in writing to DMAS 

and must cite the reasons why the client wishes to 

disenroll. Cause for disenrollment shall include the 

following: 

a. A recipient's desire to seek services from a federally 

qualified health center which is not under contract with 

the recipient's current MCO, and the recipient (i) requests 

a change to another MCO that subcontracts with the 

desired federally qualified health center or (ii) requests a 

change to the PCCM, if the federally qualified health 

center is contracting directly with DMAS as a PCCM; 
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b. Performance or nonperformance of service to the 

recipient by an MCO or one or more of its providers 

which is deemed by the department's external quality 

review organizations to be below the generally accepted 

community practice of health care. This may include 

poor quality care; 

c. Lack of access to a PCP or necessary specialty services 

covered under the State Plan or lack of access to 

providers experienced in dealing with the enrollee's 

health care needs; 

d. A client has a combination of complex medical factors 

that, in the sole discretion of DMAS, would be better 

served under another contracted MCO or PCCM 

program, if applicable, or provider; 

e. The enrollee moves out of the MCO's service area; 

f. The MCO does not, because of moral or religious 

objections, cover the service the enrollee seeks; 

g. The enrollee needs related services to be performed at 

the same time; not all related services are available 

within the network, and the enrollee's primary care 

provider or another provider determines that receiving 

the services separately would subject the enrollee to 

unnecessary risk; or 

h. Other reasons as determined by DMAS through 

written policy directives. 

2. DMAS shall determine whether cause exists for 

disenrollment. Written responses shall be provided within a 

timeframe set by department policy; however, the effective 

date of an approved disenrollment shall be no later than the 

first day of the second month following the month in which 

the enrollee files the request, in compliance with 42 CFR 

438.56. 

3. Cause for disenrollment shall be deemed to exist and the 

disenrollment shall be granted if DMAS fails to take final 

action on a valid request prior to the first day of the second 

month after the request. 

4. The DMAS determination concerning cause for 

disenrollment may be appealed by the client in accordance 

with the department's client appeals process at 12VAC30-

110-10 through 12VAC30-110-380. 

5. The current MCO shall provide, within two working 

days of a request from DMAS, information necessary to 

determine cause. 

6. Individuals enrolled with a MCO who subsequently 

meet one or more of the exclusions in subsection B of this 

section during MCO enrollment shall be disenrolled 

excluded as appropriate by DMAS, with the exception of 

those who subsequently become recipients into the AIDS, 

IFDDS, MR MR/ID, EDCD, Day Support, or Alzheimer's 

federal waiver programs for home-based and community-

based Medicaid coverage. These individuals shall receive 

acute and primary medical services via the MCO and shall 

receive waiver services and related transportation to waiver 

services via the fee-for-service program. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 

enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the 

current fee-for-service system. When enrollees no longer 

meet the criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to 

enroll in the appropriate managed care program. 

12VAC30-120-380. Medallion II MCO responsibilities. 

A. The MCO shall provide, at a minimum, all medically 

necessary covered services provided under the State Plan for 

Medical Assistance and further defined by written DMAS 

regulations, policies and instructions, except as otherwise 

modified or excluded in this part. 

1. Nonemergency services provided by hospital emergency 

departments shall be covered by MCOs in accordance with 

rates negotiated between the MCOs and the emergency 

departments. 

2. Services that shall be provided outside the MCO 

network shall include, but are not limited to, those services 

identified and defined by the contract between DMAS and 

the MCO. Services reimbursed by DMAS include, but 

shall not be limited to, dental and orthodontic services for 

children up to age 21; for all others, dental services (as 

described in 12VAC30-50-190), school health services (as 

defined in 12VAC30-120-360), community mental health 

services (rehabilitative, targeted case management and the 

following substance abuse treatment services: emergency 

services (crisis); intensive outpatient services; day 

treatment services; substance abuse case management 

services; and opioid treatment services), as defined in 

12VAC30-50-228 and 12VAC30-50-491, EPSDT Early 

Intervention services provided pursuant to Part C of the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 

2004 (as defined in 12VAC30-50-131), and long-term care 

services provided under the § 1915(c) home-based and 

community-based waivers including related transportation 

to such authorized waiver services.  

3. The MCOs shall pay for emergency services and family 

planning services and supplies whether they are provided 

inside or outside the MCO network. 

B. Except for those services specifically carved out in 

subsection A of this section, EPSDT services shall be covered 

by the MCO and defined by the contract between DMAS and 

the MCO. The MCO shall have the authority to determine the 

provider of service for EPSDT screenings. 

C. The MCOs shall report data to DMAS under the contract 

requirements, which may include data reports, report cards 

for clients, and ad hoc quality studies performed by the MCO 

or third parties. 

D. Documentation requirements. 

1. The MCO shall maintain records as required by federal 

and state law and regulation and by DMAS policy. The 

MCO shall furnish such required information to DMAS, 
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the Attorney General of Virginia or his authorized 

representatives, or the State Medicaid Fraud Control Unit 

on request and in the form requested. 

2. Each MCO shall have written policies regarding enrollee 

rights and shall comply with any applicable federal and 

state laws that pertain to enrollee rights and shall ensure 

that its staff and affiliated providers take those rights into 

account when furnishing services to enrollees in 

accordance with 42 CFR 438.100. 

E. The MCO shall ensure that the health care provided to its 

clients meets all applicable federal and state mandates, 

community standards for quality, and standards developed 

pursuant to the DMAS managed care quality program. 

F. The MCOs shall promptly provide or arrange for the 

provision of all required services as specified in the contract 

between the state and the contractor. Medical evaluations 

shall be available within 48 hours for urgent care and within 

30 calendar days for routine care. On-call clinicians shall be 

available 24 hours per day, seven days per week. 

G. The MCOs must meet standards specified by DMAS for 

sufficiency of provider networks as specified in the contract 

between the state and the contractor. 

H. Each MCO and its subcontractors shall have in place, and 

follow, written policies and procedures for processing 

requests for initial and continuing authorizations of service. 

Each MCO and its subcontractors shall ensure that any 

decision to deny a service authorization request or to 

authorize a service in an amount, duration, or scope that is 

less than requested, be made by a health care professional 

who has appropriate clinical expertise in treating the 

enrollee's condition or disease. Each MCO and its 

subcontractors shall have in effect mechanisms to ensure 

consistent application of review criteria for authorization 

decisions and shall consult with the requesting provider when 

appropriate. 

I. In accordance with 42 CFR 447.50 through 42 CFR 

447.60, MCOs shall not impose any cost sharing obligations 

on enrollees except as set forth in 12VAC30-20-150 and 

12VAC30-20-160. 

J. An MCO may not prohibit, or otherwise restrict, a health 

care professional acting within the lawful scope of practice, 

from advising or advocating on behalf of an enrollee who is 

his patient in accordance with 42 CFR 438.102. 

K. An MCO that would otherwise be required to reimburse 

for or provide coverage of a counseling or referral service is 

not required to do so if the MCO objects to the service on 

moral or religious grounds and furnishes information about 

the service it does not cover in accordance with 42 CFR 

438.102. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2004; Filed October 30, 2013, 4:16 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services is claiming an exclusion from Article 2 

of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-

4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 

regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 

(amending 12VAC30-120-760, 12VAC30-120-1020).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Item 307 QQQQ of Chapter 806 of the 2013 

Acts of Assembly, the amendments change the unit of 

service for skilled nursing services from hourly to 15-

minute increments. The amendments affect the Intellectual 

Disability Waiver and the Individual and Family 

Developmental Disabilities Support Waiver.  

12VAC30-120-760. Skilled nursing services.  

A. Service description. Skilled nursing services shall be 

provided for individuals with serious medical conditions and 

complex health care needs who require specific skilled 

nursing services that cannot be provided by non-nursing 

personnel. Skilled nursing may be provided in the home or 

other community setting. It may include consultation and 

training for other providers. 

B. Criteria. In order to qualify for these services, the 

individual must have demonstrated complex health care needs 

that require specific skilled nursing services ordered by a 

physician and that cannot be otherwise accessed under the 

Title XIX State Plan for Medical Assistance. The individual's 

plan of care must stipulate that this service is necessary in 

order to prevent institutionalization and is not available under 

the State Plan for Medical Assistance. 

C. Service units and service limitations. Skilled nursing 

services to be rendered by either registered or licensed 

practical nurses are provided in hourly 15-minute units. 

Services must be explicitly detailed in the CSP and must be 

specifically ordered by a physician. 

D. Provider requirements. Skilled nursing services shall be 

provided by a DMAS-enrolled home care organization 

provider or a home health provider, or licensed registered 
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nurse or a licensed practical nurse under the supervision of a 

licensed registered nurse who is contracted or employed by a 

DMHMRSAS licensed day support, respite, or residential 

provider. In addition to meeting the general conditions and 

requirements for home and community-based waiver 

participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-730 and 

12VAC30-120-740, in order to be enrolled as a skilled 

nursing provider, the provider must: 

1. If a home health agency, be certified by the VDH for 

Medicaid participation and have a current DMAS provider 

participation agreement for private duty nursing; 

2. Demonstrate a prior successful health care delivery 

business or practice; 

3. Operate from a business office; and 

4. If community services boards or behavioral health 

authority employ or subcontract with and directly 

supervise a registered nurse (RN) or a licensed practical 

nurse (LPN) with a current and valid license issued by the 

Virginia State Board of Nursing, the RN or LPN must have 

at least two years of related clinical nursing experience that 

may include work in an acute care hospital, public health 

clinic, home health agency, or nursing home. 

12VAC30-120-1020. Covered services; limits on covered 

services. 

A. Covered services in the ID Waiver include: assistive 

technology, companion services (both consumer-directed and 

agency-directed), crisis stabilization, day support, 

environmental modifications, personal assistance services 

(both consumer-directed and agency-directed), personal 

emergency response systems (PERS), prevocational services, 

residential support services, respite services (both consumer-

directed and agency-directed), services facilitation (only for 

consumer-directed services), skilled nursing services, 

supported employment, therapeutic consultation, and 

transition services.  

1. There shall be separate supporting documentation for 

each service and each shall be clearly differentiated in 

documentation and corresponding billing.  

2. The need of each individual enrolled in the waiver for 

each service shall be clearly set out in the Individual 

Support Plan containing the providers' Plans for Supports.  

3. Claims for payment that are not supported by their 

related documentation shall be subject to recovery by 

DMAS or its designated contractor as a result of utilization 

reviews or audits.  

4. Individuals enrolled in the waiver may choose between 

the agency-directed model of service delivery or the 

consumer-directed model when DMAS makes this 

alternative model available for care. The only services 

provided in this waiver that permit the consumer-directed 

model of service delivery shall be: (i) personal assistance 

services; (ii) respite services; and (iii) companion services. 

An individual enrolled in the waiver shall not receive 

consumer-directed services if at least one of the following 

conditions exists: 

(a) The individual enrolled in the waiver is younger than 

18 years of age or is unable to be the employer of record 

and no one else can assume this role; 

(b) The health, safety, or welfare of the individual 

enrolled in the waiver cannot be assured or a back-up 

emergency plan cannot be developed; or 

(c) The individual enrolled in the waiver has medication 

or skilled nursing needs or medical/behavioral conditions 

that cannot be safely met via the consumer-directed 

model of service delivery.  

5. Voluntary/involuntary disenrollment of consumer-

directed services. Either voluntary or involuntary 

disenrollment of consumer-directed services may occur. In 

either voluntary or involuntary situations, the individual 

enrolled in the waiver shall be permitted to select an 

agency from which to receive his personal assistance, 

respite, or companion services.  

a. An individual who has chosen consumer direction may 

choose, at any time, to change to the agency-directed 

services model as long as he continues to qualify for the 

specific services. The services facilitator or case 

manager, as appropriate, shall assist the individual with 

the change of services from consumer-directed to 

agency-directed.  

b. The services facilitator or case manager, as 

appropriate, shall initiate involuntary disenrollment from 

consumer direction of the individual enrolled in the 

waiver when any of the following conditions occur: 

(1) The health, safety, or welfare of the individual 

enrolled in the waiver is at risk; 

(2) The individual or EOR, as appropriate, demonstrates 

consistent inability to hire and retain a personal assistant; 

or  

(3) The individual or EOR, as appropriate, is consistently 

unable to manage the assistant, as may be demonstrated 

by, but shall not necessarily be limited to, a pattern of 

serious discrepancies with timesheets.  

c. Prior to involuntary disenrollment, the services 

facilitator or case manager, as appropriate, shall: 

(1) Verify that essential training has been provided to the 

individual or EOR, as appropriate, to improve the 

problem condition or conditions; 

(2) Document in the individual's record the conditions 

creating the necessity for the involuntary disenrollment 

and actions taken by the services facilitator or case 

manager, as appropriate; 

(3) Discuss with the individual or the EOR, as 

appropriate, the agency directed option that is available 

and the actions needed to arrange for such services while 

providing a list of potential providers; and 
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(4) Provide written notice to the individual and EOR, as 

appropriate, of the right to appeal, pursuant to 12VAC30-

110, such involuntary termination of consumer direction. 

Such notice shall be given at least 10 business days prior 

to the effective date of this action. 

d. If the services facilitator initiates the involuntary 

disenrollment from consumer direction, then he shall 

inform the case manager.  

6. All requests for this waiver's services shall be submitted 

to either DMAS or the service authorization contractor for 

service (prior) authorization. 

B. Assistive technology (AT). Service description. This 

service shall entail the provision of specialized medical 

equipment and supplies including those devices, controls, or 

appliances, specified in the Individual Support Plan but which 

are not available under the State Plan for Medical Assistance, 

that (i) enable individuals to increase their abilities to perform 

activities of daily living (ADLs); (ii) enable individuals to 

perceive, control, or communicate with the environment in 

which they live; or (iii) are necessary for life support, 

including the ancillary supplies and equipment necessary to 

the proper functioning of such technology.  

1. Criteria. In order to qualify for these services, the 

individual shall have a demonstrated need for equipment or 

modification for remedial or direct medical benefit 

primarily in the individual's home, vehicle, community 

activity setting, or day program to specifically improve the 

individual's personal functioning. AT shall be covered in 

the least expensive, most cost-effective manner.  

2. Service units and service limitations. AT shall be 

available to individuals who are receiving at least one other 

waiver service and may be provided in a residential or 

nonresidential setting. Only the AT services set out in the 

Plan for Supports shall be covered by DMAS. AT shall be 

prior authorized by the state-designated agency or its 

contractor for each calendar year with no carry-over across 

calendar years. 

a. The maximum funded expenditure per individual for 

all AT covered procedure codes (combined total of AT 

items and labor related to these items) shall be $5,000 per 

calendar year for individuals regardless of waiver for 

which AT is approved. The service unit shall always be 

one for the total cost of all AT being requested for a 

specific timeframe. 

b. Costs for AT shall not be carried over from calendar 

year to calendar year and shall be prior authorized by the 

state-designated agency or its contractor each calendar 

year. AT shall not be approved for purposes of 

convenience of the caregiver or restraint of the 

individual.  

3. An independent professional consultation shall be 

obtained from staff knowledgeable of that item for each 

AT request prior to approval by the state-designated 

agency or its contractor. Equipment, supplies, or 

technology not available as durable medical equipment 

through the State Plan may be purchased and billed as AT 

as long as the request for such equipment, supplies, or 

technology is documented and justified in the individual's 

Plan for Supports, recommended by the case manager, 

prior authorized by the state-designated agency or its 

contractor, and provided in the least expensive, most cost-

effective manner possible.  

4. All AT items to be covered shall meet applicable 

standards of manufacture, design, and installation.  

5. The AT provider shall obtain, install, and demonstrate, 

as necessary, such AT prior to submitting his claim to 

DMAS for reimbursement. The provider shall provide all 

warranties or guarantees from the AT's manufacturer to the 

individual and family/caregiver, as appropriate.  

6. AT providers shall not be the spouse or parents of the 

individual enrolled in the waiver. 

C. Companion (both consumer-directed and agency-

directed) services. Service description. These services provide 

nonmedical care, socialization, or support to an adult (ages 18 

or older). Companions may assist or support the individual 

enrolled in the waiver with such tasks as meal preparation, 

community access and activities, laundry, and shopping, but 

companions do not perform these activities as discrete 

services. Companions may also perform light housekeeping 

tasks (such as bed-making, dusting and vacuuming, laundry, 

grocery shopping, etc.) when such services are specified in 

the individual's Plan for Supports and essential to the 

individual's health and welfare in the context of providing 

nonmedical care, socialization, or support, as may be needed 

in order to maintain the individual's home environment in an 

orderly and clean manner. Companion services shall be 

provided in accordance with a therapeutic outcome in the 

Plan for Supports and shall not be purely recreational in 

nature. This service may be provided and reimbursed either 

through an agency-directed or a consumer-directed model.  

1. In order to qualify for companion services, the 

individual enrolled in the waiver shall have demonstrated a 

need for assistance with IADLs, light housekeeping (such 

as cleaning the bathroom used by the individual, washing 

his dishes, preparing his meals, or washing his clothes), 

community access, reminders for medication self-

administration, or support to assure safety. The provision 

of companion services shall not entail routine hands-on 

care.  

2. Individuals choosing the consumer-directed option shall 

meet requirements for consumer direction as described 

herein. 

3. Service units and service limitations.  

a. The unit of service for companion services shall be one 

hour and the amount that may be included in the Plan for 

Supports shall not exceed eight hours per 24-hour day 
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regardless of whether it is an agency-directed or 

consumer-directed service model, or both.  

b. A companion shall not be permitted to provide nursing 

care procedures such as, but not limited to, ventilators, 

tube feedings, suctioning of airways, or wound care. 

c. The hours that can be authorized shall be based on 

documented individual need. No more than two unrelated 

individuals who are receiving waiver services and who 

live in the same home shall be permitted to share the 

authorized work hours of the companion.  

4. This consumer directed service shall be available to 

individuals enrolled in the waiver who receive congregate 

residential services. These services shall be available when 

individuals enrolled in the waiver are not receiving 

congregate residential services such as, but not necessarily 

limited to, when they are on vacation or are visiting with 

family members.  

D. Crisis stabilization. Service description. These services 

shall involve direct interventions that provide temporary 

intensive services and support that avert emergency 

psychiatric hospitalization or institutional placement of 

individuals with ID who are experiencing serious psychiatric 

or behavioral problems that jeopardize their current 

community living situation. Crisis stabilization services shall 

have two components: (i) intervention and (ii) supervision. 

Crisis stabilization services shall include, as appropriate, 

neuropsychiatric, psychiatric, psychological, and other 

assessments and stabilization techniques, medication 

management and monitoring, behavior assessment and 

positive behavioral support, and intensive service 

coordination with other agencies and providers. This service 

shall be designed to stabilize the individual and strengthen the 

current living situation, so that the individual remains in the 

community during and beyond the crisis period.  

1. These services shall be provided to:  

a. Assist with planning and delivery of services and 

supports to enable the individual to remain in the 

community;  

b. Train family/caregivers and service providers in 

positive behavioral supports to maintain the individual in 

the community; and  

c. Provide temporary crisis supervision to ensure the 

safety of the individual and others.  

2. In order to receive crisis stabilization services, the 

individual shall: 

a. Meet at least one of the following: (i) the individual 

shall be experiencing a marked reduction in psychiatric, 

adaptive, or behavioral functioning; (ii) the individual 

shall be experiencing an increase in extreme emotional 

distress; (iii) the individual shall need continuous 

intervention to maintain stability; or (iv) the individual 

shall be causing harm to himself or others; and  

b. Be at risk of at least one of the following: (i) 

psychiatric hospitalization; (ii) emergency ICF/ID 

placement; (iii) immediate threat of loss of a community 

service due to a severe situational reaction; or (iv) 

causing harm to self or others.  

3. Service units and service limitations. Crisis stabilization 

services shall only be authorized following a documented 

face-to-face assessment conducted by a qualified mental 

retardation professional (QMRP).  

a. The unit for either intervention or supervision of this 

covered service shall be one hour. This service shall only 

be authorized in 15-day increments but no more than 60 

days in a calendar year shall be approved. The actual 

service units per episode shall be based on the 

documented clinical needs of the individual being served. 

Extension of services, beyond the 15-day limit per 

authorization, shall only be authorized following a 

documented face-to-face reassessment conducted by a 

QMRP.  

b. Crisis stabilization services shall be provided directly 

in the following settings, but shall not be limited to: 

(1) The home of an individual who lives with family, 

friends, or other primary caregiver or caregivers;  

(2) The home of an individual who lives independently 

or semi-independently to augment any current services 

and supports; or  

(3) Either a community-based residential program, a day 

program, or a respite care setting to augment ongoing 

current services and supports.  

4. Crisis supervision shall be an optional component of 

crisis stabilization in which one-to-one supervision of the 

individual who is in crisis shall be provided by agency staff 

in order to ensure the safety of the individual and others in 

the environment. Crisis supervision may be provided as a 

component of crisis stabilization only if clinical or 

behavioral interventions allowed under this service are also 

provided during the authorized period. Crisis supervision 

must be provided one-to-one and face-to-face with the 

individual. Crisis supervision, if provided as a part of this 

service, shall be separately billed in hourly service units.  

5. Crisis stabilization services shall not be used for 

continuous long-term care. Room, board, and general 

supervision shall not be components of this service.  

6. If appropriate, the assessment and any reassessments 

may be conducted jointly with a licensed mental health 

professional or other appropriate professional or 

professionals.  

E. Day support services. Service description. These services 

shall include skill-building, supports, and safety supports for 

the acquisition, retention, or improvement of self-help, 

socialization, community integration, and adaptive skills. 

These services shall be typically offered in a nonresidential 

setting that provides opportunities for peer interactions, 
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community integration, and enhancement of social networks. 

There shall be two levels of this service: (i) intensive and (ii) 

regular. 

1. Criteria. For day support services, individuals shall 

demonstrate the need for skill-building or supports offered 

primarily in settings other than the individual's own 

residence that allows him an opportunity for being a 

productive and contributing member of his community.  

2. Types of day support. The amount and type of day 

support included in the individual's Plan for Supports shall 

be determined by what is required for that individual. 

There are two types of day support: center-based, which is 

provided primarily at one location/building; or noncenter-

based, which is provided primarily in community settings. 

Both types of day support may be provided at either 

intensive or regular levels.  

3. Levels of day support. There shall be two levels of day 

support, intensive and regular. To be authorized at the 

intensive level, the individual shall meet at least one of the 

following criteria: (i) the individual requires physical 

assistance to meet the basic personal care needs (such as 

but not limited to toileting, eating/feeding); (ii) the 

individual requires additional, ongoing support to fully 

participate in programming and to accomplish the 

individual's desired outcomes due to extensive disability-

related difficulties; or (iii) the individual requires extensive 

constant supervision to reduce or eliminate behaviors that 

preclude full participation in the program. In this case, 

written behavioral support activities shall be required to 

address behaviors such as, but not limited to, withdrawal, 

self-injury, aggression, or self-stimulation. Individuals not 

meeting these specified criteria for intensive day support 

shall be provided with regular day support. 

4. Service units and service limitations.  

a. This service shall be limited to 780 blocks, or its 

equivalent under the DMAS fee schedule, per Individual 

Support Plan year. A block shall be defined as a period of 

time from one hour through three hours and 59 minutes. 

Two blocks are defined as four hours to six hours and 59 

minutes. Three blocks are defined as seven hours to nine 

hours and 59 minutes. If this service is used in 

combination with prevocational, or group supported 

employment services, or both, the combined total units 

for day support, prevocational, or group supported 

employment services shall not exceed 780 units, or its 

equivalent under the DMAS fee schedule, per Individual 

Support Plan year. 

b. Day support services shall be billed according to the 

DMAS fee schedule. 

c. Day support shall not be regularly or temporarily 

provided in an individual's home setting or other 

residential setting (e.g., due to inclement weather or 

individual illness) without prior written approval from 

the state-designated agency or its contractor.  

d. Noncenter-based day support services shall be separate 

and distinguishable from either residential support 

services or personal assistance services. The supporting 

documentation shall provide an estimate of the amount of 

day support required by the individual. 

5. Service providers shall be reimbursed only for the 

amount and level of day support services included in the 

individual's approved Plan for Supports based on the 

setting, intensity, and duration of the service to be 

delivered.  

F. Environmental modifications (EM). Service description. 

This service shall be defined, as set out in 12VAC30-120-

1000, as those physical adaptations to the individual's primary 

home, primary vehicle, or work site that shall be required by 

the individual's Individual Support Plan, that are necessary to 

ensure the health and welfare of the individual, or that enable 

the individual to function with greater independence. 

Environmental modifications reimbursed by DMAS may only 

be made to an individual's work site when the modification 

exceeds the reasonable accommodation requirements of the 

Americans with Disabilities Act. Such adaptations may 

include, but shall not necessarily be limited to, the installation 

of ramps and grab-bars, widening of doorways, modification 

of bathroom facilities, or installation of specialized electric 

and plumbing systems that are necessary to accommodate the 

medical equipment and supplies that are necessary for the 

individual. Modifications may be made to a primary 

automotive vehicle in which the individual is transported if it 

is owned by the individual, a family member with whom the 

individual lives or has consistent and ongoing contact, or a 

nonrelative who provides primary long-term support to the 

individual and is not a paid provider of services.  

1. In order to qualify for these services, the 

individual enrolled in the waiver shall have a demonstrated 

need for equipment or modifications of a remedial or 

medical benefit offered in an individual's primary home, 

the primary vehicle used by the individual, community 

activity setting, or day program to specifically improve the 

individual's personal functioning. This service shall 

encompass those items not otherwise covered in the State 

Plan for Medical Assistance or through another program.  

2. Service units and service limitations.  

a. Environmental modifications shall be provided in the 

least expensive manner possible that will accomplish the 

modification required by the individual enrolled in the 

waiver and shall be completed within the calendar year 

consistent with the Plan of Supports' requirements. 

b. The maximum funded expenditure per individual for 

all EM covered procedure codes (combined total of EM 

items and labor related to these items) shall be $5,000 per 

calendar year for individuals regardless of waiver for 

which EM is approved. The service unit shall always be 

one, for the total cost of all EM being requested for a 

specific timeframe.  
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EM shall be available to individuals enrolled in the 

waiver who are receiving at least one other waiver 

service and may be provided in a residential or 

nonresidential setting. EM shall be prior authorized by 

the state-designated agency or its contractor for each 

calendar year with no carry-over across calendar years. 

c. Modifications shall not be used to bring a substandard 

dwelling up to minimum habitation standards. 

d. Providers shall be reimbursed for their actual cost of 

material and labor and no additional mark-ups shall be 

permitted. 

e. Providers of EM services shall not be the spouse or 

parents of the individual enrolled in the waiver. 

f. Excluded from coverage under this waiver service shall 

be those adaptations or improvements to the home that 

are of general utility and that are not of direct medical or 

remedial benefit to the individual enrolled in the waiver, 

such as, but not necessarily limited to, carpeting, roof 

repairs, and central air conditioning. Also excluded shall 

be modifications that are reasonable accommodation 

requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act, the 

Virginians with Disabilities Act, and the Rehabilitation 

Act. Adaptations that add to the total square footage of 

the home shall be excluded from this service. Except 

when EM services are furnished in the individual's own 

home, such services shall not be provided to individuals 

who receive residential support services. 

3. Modifications shall not be prior authorized or covered to 

adapt living arrangements that are owned or leased by 

providers of waiver services or those living arrangements 

that are sponsored by a DBHDS-licensed residential 

support provider. Specifically, provider-owned or leased 

settings where residential support services are furnished 

shall already be compliant with the Americans with 

Disabilities Act. 

4. Modifications to a primary vehicle that shall be 

specifically excluded from this benefit shall be: 

a. Adaptations or improvements to the vehicle that are of 

general utility and are not of direct medical or remedial 

benefit to the individual; 

b. Purchase or lease of a vehicle; and 

c. Regularly scheduled upkeep and maintenance of a 

vehicle, except upkeep and maintenance of the 

modifications that were covered under this waiver 

benefit.  

G. Personal assistance services. Service description. These 

services may be provided either through an agency-directed 

or consumer-directed (CD) model.  

1. Personal assistance shall be provided to individuals in 

the areas of activities of daily living (ADLs), instrumental 

activities of daily living (IADLs), access to the community, 

monitoring of self-administered medications or other 

medical needs, monitoring of health status and physical 

condition, and work-related personal assistance. Such 

services, as set out in the Plan for Supports, may be 

provided and reimbursed in home and community settings 

to enable an individual to maintain the health status and 

functional skills necessary to live in the community or 

participate in community activities. When specified, such 

supportive services may include assistance with IADLs. 

Personal assistance shall not include either practical or 

professional nursing services or those practices regulated 

in Chapters 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) and 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, as appropriate. 

This service shall not include skilled nursing services with 

the exception of skilled nursing tasks that may be 

delegated pursuant to 18VAC90-20-420 through 

18VAC90-20-460.  

2. Criteria. In order to qualify for personal assistance, the 

individual shall demonstrate a need for assistance with 

ADLs, community access, self-administration of 

medications or other medical needs, or monitoring of 

health status or physical condition.  

3. Service units and service limitations.  

a. The unit of service shall be one hour.  

b. Each individual, family, or caregiver shall have a 

back-up plan for the individual's needed supports in case 

the personal assistant does not report for work as 

expected or terminates employment without prior notice.  

c. Personal assistance shall not be available to individuals 

who (i) receive congregate residential services or who 

live in assisted living facilities, (ii) would benefit from 

ADL or IADL skill development as identified by the case 

manager, or (iii) receive comparable services provided 

through another program or service.  

d. The hours to be authorized shall be based on the 

individual's need. No more than two unrelated 

individuals who live in the same home shall be permitted 

to share the authorized work hours of the assistant.  

H. Personal Emergency Response System (PERS). Service 

description. This service shall be a service that monitors 

individuals' safety in their homes, and provides access to 

emergency assistance for medical or environmental 

emergencies through the provision of a two-way voice 

communication system that dials a 24-hour response or 

monitoring center upon activation and via the individuals' 

home telephone system. PERS may also include medication 

monitoring devices.  

1. PERS may be authorized when there is no one else in 

the home with the individual enrolled in the waiver who is 

competent or continuously available to call for help in an 

emergency.  

2. Service units and service limitations.  

a. A unit of service shall include administrative costs, 

time, labor, and supplies associated with the installation, 

maintenance, monitoring, and adjustments of the PERS. 
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A unit of service is the one-month rental price set by 

DMAS. The one-time installation of the unit shall 

include installation, account activation, individual and 

caregiver instruction, and removal of PERS equipment.  

b. PERS services shall be capable of being activated by a 

remote wireless device and shall be connected to the 

individual's telephone system. The PERS console unit 

must provide hands-free voice-to-voice communication 

with the response center. The activating device must be 

waterproof, automatically transmit to the response center 

an activator low battery alert signal prior to the battery 

losing power, and be able to be worn by the individual.  

c. PERS services shall not be used as a substitute for 

providing adequate supervision for the individual 

enrolled in the waiver.  

I. Prevocational services. Service description. These services 

shall be intended to prepare an individual enrolled in the 

waiver for paid or unpaid employment but shall not be job-

task oriented. Prevocational services shall be provided to 

individuals who are not expected to be able to join the general 

work force without supports or to participate in a transitional 

sheltered workshop within one year of beginning waiver 

services. Activities included in this service shall not be 

directed at teaching specific job skills but at underlying 

habilitative outcomes such as accepting supervision, regular 

job attendance, task completion, problem solving, and safety. 

There shall be two levels of this covered service: (i) intensive 

and (ii) regular.  

1. In order to qualify for prevocational services, the 

individual enrolled in the waiver shall have a demonstrated 

need for support in skills that are aimed toward preparation 

of paid employment that may be offered in a variety of 

community settings. 

2. Service units and service limitations. Billing shall be in 

accordance with the DMAS fee schedule.  

a. This service shall be limited to 780 blocks, or its 

equivalent under the DMAS fee schedule, per Individual 

Support Plan year. A block shall be defined as a period of 

time from one hour through three hours and 59 minutes. 

Two blocks are defined as four hours to six hours and 59 

minutes. Three blocks are defined as seven hours to nine 

hours and 59 minutes. If this service is used in 

combination with day support or group-supported 

employment services, or both, the combined total units 

for prevocational services, day support and group 

supported employment services shall not exceed 780 

blocks, or its equivalent under the DMAS fee schedule, 

per Individual Support Plan year. A block shall be 

defined as a period of time from one hour through three 

hours and 59 minutes. 

b. Prevocational services may be provided in center-

based or noncenter-based settings. Center-based settings 

means services shall be provided primarily at one 

location or building and noncenter-based means services 

shall be provided primarily in community settings.  

c. For prevocational services to be authorized at the 

intensive level, the individual must meet at least one of 

the following criteria: (i) require physical assistance to 

meet the basic personal care needs (such as, but not 

limited to, toileting, eating/feeding); (ii) require 

additional, ongoing support to fully participate in 

services and to accomplish desired outcomes due to 

extensive disability-related difficulties; or (iii) require 

extensive constant supervision to reduce or eliminate 

behaviors that preclude full participation in the program. 

In this case, written behavioral support activities shall be 

required to address behaviors such as, but not limited to, 

withdrawal, self-injury, aggression, or self-stimulation. 

Individuals not meeting these specified criteria for 

intensive prevocational services shall be provided with 

regular prevocational services. 

3. There shall be documentation regarding whether 

prevocational services are available in vocational 

rehabilitation agencies through § 110 of the Rehabilitation 

Act of 1973 or through the Individuals with Disabilities 

Education Act (IDEA). If the individual is not eligible for 

services through the IDEA due to his age, documentation 

shall be required only for lack of DRS funding. When 

these services are provided through these alternative 

funding sources, the Plan for Supports shall not authorize 

prevocational services as waiver expenditures. 

4. Prevocational services shall only be provided when the 

individual's compensation for work performed is less than 

50% of the minimum wage.  

J. Residential support services. Service description. These 

services shall consist of skill-building, supports, and safety 

supports, provided primarily in an individual's home or in a 

licensed or approved residence, that enable an individual to 

acquire, retain, or improve the self-help, socialization, and 

adaptive skills necessary to reside successfully in home and 

community-based settings. Service providers shall be 

reimbursed only for the amount and type of residential 

support services that are included in the individual's approved 

Plan for Supports. There shall be two types of this service: 

congregate residential support and in-home supports. 

Residential support services shall be authorized for Medicaid 

reimbursement in the Plan for Supports only when the 

individual requires these services and when such needs 

exceed the services included in the individual's room and 

board arrangements with the service provider, or if these 

services exceed supports provided by the family/caregiver. 

Only in exceptional instances shall residential support 

services be routinely reimbursed up to a 24-hour period. 

1. Criteria.  

a. In order for DMAS to reimburse for congregate 

residential support services, the individual shall have a 
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demonstrated need for supports to be provided by staff 

who shall be paid by the residential support provider.  

b. To qualify for this service in a congregate setting, the 

individual shall have a demonstrated need for continuous 

skill-building, supports, and safety supports for up to 24 

hours per day.  

c. Providers shall participate as requested in the 

completion of the DBHDS-approved SIS form or its 

approved substitute form.  

d. The residential support Plan for Supports shall indicate 

the necessary amount and type of activities required by 

the individual, the schedule of residential support 

services, and the total number of projected hours per 

week of waiver reimbursed residential support.  

e. In-home residential supports shall be supplemental to 

the primary care provided by the individual, his family 

member or members, and other caregivers. In-home 

residential supports shall not replace this primary care. 

f. In-home residential supports shall be delivered on an 

individual basis, typically for less than a continuous 24-

hour period. This service shall be delivered with a 1:1 

one-to-one staff-to-individual ratio except when skill 

building supports require interaction with another person.  

2. Service units and service limitations. Total billing shall 

not exceed the amount authorized in the Plan for Supports. 

The provider must maintain documentation of the date and 

times that services have been provided, and specific 

circumstances that prevented provision of all of the 

scheduled services, should that occur.  

a. This service shall be provided on an individual-

specific basis according to the Plan for Supports and 

service setting requirements;  

b. Congregate residential support shall not be provided to 

any individual enrolled in the waiver who receives 

personal assistance services under the ID Waiver or other 

residential services that provide a comparable level of 

care. Residential support services shall be permitted to be 

provided to the individual enrolled in the waiver in 

conjunction with respite services for unpaid caregivers;  

c. Room, board, and general supervision shall not be 

components of this service;  

d. This service shall not be used solely to provide routine 

or emergency respite care for the family/caregiver with 

whom the individual lives; and  

e. Medicaid reimbursement shall be available only for 

residential support services provided when the individual 

is present and when an enrolled Medicaid provider is 

providing the services.  

K. Respite services. Service description. These services may 

be provided either through an agency-directed or consumer-

directed (CD) model.  

1. Respite services shall be provided to individuals in the 

areas of activities of daily living (ADLs), instrumental 

activities of daily living (IADLs), access to the community, 

monitoring of self-administered medications or other 

medical needs, and monitoring of health status and 

physical condition in the absence of the primary caregiver 

or to relieve the primary caregiver from the duties of care-

giving. Such services may be provided in home and 

community settings to enable an individual to maintain the 

health status and functional skills necessary to live in the 

community or participate in community activities. When 

specified, such supportive services may include assistance 

with IADLs. Respite assistance shall not include either 

practical or professional nursing services or those practices 

regulated in Chapters 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) and 34 

(§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

as appropriate. This service shall not include skilled 

nursing services with the exception of skilled nursing tasks 

that may be delegated pursuant to 18VAC90-20-420 

through 18VAC90-20-460.  

2. Respite services shall be those that are normally 

provided by the individual's family or other unpaid primary 

caregiver. These covered services shall be furnished on a 

short-term, episodic, or periodic basis because of the 

absence of the unpaid caregiver or need for relief of the 

unpaid caregiver or caregivers who normally provide care 

for the individual. 

3. Criteria.  

a. In order to qualify for respite services, the individual 

shall demonstrate a need for assistance with ADLs, 

community access, self-administration of medications or 

other medical needs, or monitoring of health status or 

physical condition.  

b. Respite services shall only be offered to individuals 

who have an unpaid primary caregiver or caregivers who 

require temporary relief. Such need for relief may be 

either episodic, intermittent, or periodic. 

4. Service units and service limitations.  

a. The unit of service shall be one hour. Respite services 

shall be limited to 480 hours per individual per state 

fiscal year. If an individual changes waiver programs, 

this same maximum number of respite hours shall apply. 

No additional respite hours beyond the 480 maximum 

limit shall be approved for payment. Individuals who are 

receiving respite services in this waiver through both the 

agency-directed and CD models shall not exceed 480 

hours per year combined. 

b. Each individual, family, or caregiver shall have a 

back-up plan for the individual's care in case the respite 

assistant does not report for work as expected or 

terminates employment without prior notice.  

c. Respite services shall not be provided to relieve staff 

of either group homes, pursuant to 12VAC35-105-20, or 
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assisted living facilities, pursuant to 22VAC40-72-10, 

where residential supports are provided in shifts. Respite 

services shall not be provided for DMAS reimbursement 

by adult foster care providers for an individual residing 

in that foster home.   

d. Skill development shall not be provided with respite 

services. 

e. The hours to be authorized shall be based on the 

individual's need. No more than two unrelated 

individuals who live in the same home shall be permitted 

to share the authorized work hours of the respite 

assistant.  

5. Consumer-directed and agency-directed respite services 

shall meet the same standards for service limits and 

authorizations. 

L. Services facilitation and consumer-directed service 

model. Service description. Individuals enrolled in the waiver 

may be approved to select consumer directed (CD) models of 

service delivery, absent any of the specified conditions that 

precludes such a choice, and may also receive support from a 

services facilitator. Persons functioning as services facilitators 

shall be enrolled Medicaid providers. This shall be a separate 

waiver service to be used in conjunction with CD personal 

assistance, respite, or companion services and shall not be 

covered for an individual absent one of these consumer 

directed services.  

1. Services facilitators shall train individuals enrolled in 

the waiver, family/caregiver, or EOR, as appropriate, to 

direct (such as select, hire, train, supervise, and authorize 

timesheets of) their own assistants who are rendering 

personal assistance, respite services, and companion 

services.  

2. The services facilitator shall assess the individual's 

particular needs for a requested CD service, assisting in the 

development of the Plan for Supports, provide 

management training for the individual or the EOR, as 

appropriate, on his responsibilities as employer, and 

provide ongoing support of the CD model of services. The 

service authorization for receipt of consumer directed 

services shall be based on the approved Plan for Supports. 

3. The services facilitator shall make an initial 

comprehensive home visit to collaborate with the 

individual and the individual's family/caregiver, as 

appropriate, to identify the individual's needs, assist in the 

development of the Plan for Supports with the individual 

and the individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, and 

provide employer management training to the individual 

and the family/caregiver, as appropriate, on his 

responsibilities as an employer, and providing ongoing 

support of the consumer-directed model of services. 

Individuals or EORs who are unable to receive employer 

management training at the time of the initial visit shall 

receive management training within seven days of the 

initial visit. 

a. The initial comprehensive home visit shall be 

completed only once upon the individual's entry into the 

CD model of service regardless of the number or type of 

CD services that an individual requests. 

b. If an individual changes services facilitators, the new 

services facilitator shall complete a reassessment visit in 

lieu of a comprehensive visit.  

c. This employer management training shall be 

completed before the individual or EOR may hire an 

assistant who is to be reimbursed by DMAS. 

4. After the initial visit, the services facilitator shall 

continue to monitor the individual's Plan for Supports 

quarterly (i.e., every 90 days) and more often as-needed. If 

CD respite services are provided, the services facilitator 

shall review the utilization of CD respite services either 

every six months or upon the use of 240 respite services 

hours, whichever comes first. 

5. A face-to-face meeting shall occur between the services 

facilitator and the individual at least every six months to 

reassess the individual's needs and to ensure 

appropriateness of any CD services received by the 

individual. During these visits with the individual, the 

services facilitator shall observe, evaluate, and consult with 

the individual, EOR, and the individual's family/caregiver, 

as appropriate, for the purpose of documenting the 

adequacy and appropriateness of CD services with regard 

to the individual's current functioning and cognitive status, 

medical needs, and social needs. The services facilitator's 

written summary of the visit shall include, but shall not 

necessarily be limited to:  

a. Discussion with the individual and EOR or 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, whether the particular 

consumer directed service is adequate to meet the 

individual's needs;  

b. Any suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation and to 

whom it was reported;  

c. Any special tasks performed by the assistant and the 

assistant's qualifications to perform these tasks;  

d. Individual's and EOR's or family/caregiver's, as 

appropriate, satisfaction with the assistant's service;  

e. Any hospitalization or change in medical condition, 

functioning, or cognitive status;  

f. The presence or absence of the assistant in the home 

during the services facilitator's visit; and  

g. Any other services received and the amount.  

6. The services facilitator, during routine visits, shall also 

review and verify timesheets as needed to ensure that the 

number of hours approved in the Plan for Supports is not 

exceeded. If discrepancies are identified, the services 

facilitator shall discuss these with the individual or the 

EOR to resolve discrepancies and shall notify the 

fiscal/employer agent. If an individual is consistently 
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identified as having discrepancies in his timesheets, the 

services facilitator shall contact the case manager to 

resolve the situation.  

7. The services facilitator shall maintain a record of each 

individual containing elements as set out in 12VAC30-

120-1060.  

8. The services facilitator shall be available during 

standard business hours to the individual or EOR by 

telephone. 

9. If a services facilitator is not selected by the individual, 

the individual or the family/caregiver serving as the EOR 

shall perform all of the duties and meet all of the 

requirements, including documentation requirements, 

identified for services facilitation. However, the individual 

or family/caregiver shall not be reimbursed by DMAS for 

performing these duties or meeting these requirements. 

10. If an individual enrolled in consumer-directed services 

has a lapse in services facilitator duties for more than 90 

consecutive days, and the individual or family/caregiver is 

not willing or able to assume the service facilitation duties, 

then the case manager shall notify DMAS or its designated 

prior authorization contractor and the consumer-directed 

services shall be discontinued once the required 10 days 

notice of this change has been observed. The individual 

whose consumer-directed services have been discontinued 

shall have the right to appeal this discontinuation action 

pursuant to 12VAC30-110. The individual shall be given 

his choice of an agency for the alternative personal care, 

respite, or companion services that he was previously 

obtaining through consumer direction.  

11. The CD services facilitator, who is to be reimbursed by 

DMAS, shall not be the individual enrolled in the waiver, 

the individual's case manager, a direct service provider, the 

individual's spouse, a parent of the individual who is a 

minor child, or the EOR who is employing the 

assistant/companion. 

12. The services facilitator shall document what constitutes 

the individual's back-up plan in case the 

assistant/companion does not report for work as expected 

or terminates employment without prior notice. 

13. Should the assistant/companion not report for work or 

terminate his employment without notice, then the services 

facilitator shall, upon the individual's or EOR's request, 

provide management training to ensure that the individual 

or the EOR is able to recruit and employ a new assistant 

/companion.  

14. The limits and requirements for individuals' selection 

of consumer directed services shall be as follows: 

a. In order to be approved to use the CD model of 

services, the individual enrolled in the waiver, or if the 

individual is unable, the designated EOR, shall have the 

capability to hire, train, and fire his own assistants and 

supervise the assistants' performance. Case managers 

shall document in the Individual Support Plan the 

individual's choice for the CD model and whether or not 

the individual chooses services facilitation. The case 

manager shall document in this individual's record that 

the individual can serve as the EOR or if there is a need 

for another person to serve as the EOR on behalf of the 

individual. 

b. An individual enrolled in the waiver who is younger 

than 18 years of age shall be required to have an adult 

responsible for functioning in the capacity of an EOR. 

c. Specific employer duties shall include checking 

references of assistants, determining that assistants meet 

specified qualifications, timely and accurate completion 

of hiring packets, training the assistants, supervising 

assistants' performance, and submitting complete and 

accurate timesheets to the fiscal/employer agent on a 

consistent and timely basis.  

M. Skilled nursing services. Service description. These 

services shall be provided for individuals enrolled in the 

waiver having serious medical conditions and complex health 

care needs who do not meet home health criteria but who 

require specific skilled nursing services which cannot be 

provided by non-nursing personnel. Skilled nursing services 

may be provided in the individual's home or other community 

setting on a regularly scheduled or intermittent basis. It may 

include consultation, nurse delegation as appropriate, 

oversight of direct support staff as appropriate, and training 

for other providers.  

1. In order to qualify for these services, the individual 

enrolled in the waiver shall have demonstrated complex 

health care needs that require specific skilled nursing 

services as ordered by a physician that cannot be otherwise 

provided under the Title XIX State Plan for Medical 

Assistance, such as under the home health care benefit.  

2. Service units and service limitations. Skilled nursing 

services shall be rendered by a registered nurse or licensed 

practical nurse as defined in 12VAC30-120-1000 and shall 

be provided in hourly 15-minute units in accordance with 

the DMAS fee schedule as set out in DMAS guidance 

documents. The services shall be explicitly detailed in a 

Plan for Supports and shall be specifically ordered by a 

physician as medically necessary. 

N. Supported employment services. Service description. 

These services shall consist of ongoing supports that enable 

individuals to be employed in an integrated work setting and 

may include assisting the individual to locate a job or develop 

a job on behalf of the individual, as well as activities needed 

to sustain paid work by the individual including skill-building 

supports and safety supports on a job site. These services 

shall be provided in work settings where persons without 

disabilities are employed. Supported employment services 

shall be especially designed for individuals with 

developmental disabilities, including individuals with ID, 

who face severe impediments to employment due to the 
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nature and complexity of their disabilities, irrespective of age 

or vocational potential (i.e., the individual's ability to perform 

work). 

1. Supported employment services shall be available to 

individuals for whom competitive employment at or above 

the minimum wage is unlikely without ongoing supports 

and who because of their disabilities need ongoing support 

to perform in a work setting. The individual's assessment 

and Individual Support Plan must clearly reflect the 

individual's need for employment-related skill building. 

2. Supported employment shall be provided in one of two 

models: individual or group.  

a. Individual supported employment shall be defined as 

support, usually provided one-on-one by a job coach to 

an individual in a supported employment position. For 

this service, reimbursement of supported employment 

shall be limited to actual documented interventions or 

collateral contacts by the provider, not the amount of 

time the individual enrolled in the waiver is in the 

supported employment situation. 

b. Group supported employment shall be defined as 

continuous support provided by staff to eight or fewer 

individuals with disabilities who work in an enclave, 

work crew, bench work, or in an entrepreneurial model.  

3. Criteria. 

a. Only job development tasks that specifically pertain to 

the individual shall be allowable activities under the ID 

Waiver supported employment service and DMAS shall 

cover this service only after determining that this service 

is not available from DRS for this individual enrolled in 

the waiver. 

b. In order to qualify for these services, the individual 

shall have demonstrated that competitive employment at 

or above the minimum wage is unlikely without ongoing 

supports and, that because of his disability, he needs 

ongoing support to perform in a work setting. 

c. Providers shall participate as requested in the 

completion of the DBHDS-approved assessment. 

d. The Plan for Supports shall document the amount of 

supported employment required by the individual.  

4. Service units and service limitations. 

a. Service providers shall be reimbursed only for the 

amount and type of supported employment included in 

the individual's Plan for Supports, which must be based 

on the intensity and duration of the service delivered. 

b. The unit of service for individual job placement 

supported employment shall be one hour. This service 

shall be limited to 40 hours per week per individual.  

c. Group models of supported employment shall be billed 

according to the DMAS fee schedule.  

d. Group supported employment shall be limited to 780 

blocks per individual, or its equivalent under the DMAS 

fee schedule, per Individual Support Plan year. A block 

shall be defined as a period of time from one hour 

through three hours and 59 minutes. Two blocks are 

defined as four hours to six hours and 59 minutes. Three 

blocks are defined as seven hours to nine hours and 59 

minutes. If this service is used in combination with 

prevocational and day support services, the combined 

total unit blocks for these three services shall not exceed 

780 units, or its equivalent under the DMAS fee 

schedule, per Individual Support Plan year. 

O. Therapeutic consultation. Service description. This 

service shall provide expertise, training, and technical 

assistance in any of the following specialty areas to assist 

family members, caregivers, and other service providers in 

supporting the individual enrolled in the waiver. The 

specialty areas shall be (i) psychology, (ii) behavioral 

consultation, (iii) therapeutic recreation, (iv) speech and 

language pathology, (v) occupational therapy, (vi) physical 

therapy, and (vii) rehabilitation engineering. The need for any 

of these services shall be based on the individuals' Individual 

Support Plans, and shall be provided to those individuals for 

whom specialized consultation is clinically necessary and 

who have additional challenges restricting their abilities to 

function in the community. Therapeutic consultation services 

may be provided in individuals' homes, and in appropriate 

community settings (such as licensed or approved homes or 

day support programs) as long as they are intended to 

facilitate implementation of individuals' desired outcomes as 

identified in their Individual Support Plans.  

1. In order to qualify for these services, the individual shall 

have a demonstrated need for consultation in any of these 

services. Documented need must indicate that the 

Individual Support Plan cannot be implemented effectively 

and efficiently without such consultation as provided by 

this covered service.  

a. The individual's therapeutic consultation Plan for 

Supports shall clearly reflect the individual's needs, as 

documented in the assessment information, for 

specialized consultation provided to family/caregivers 

and providers in order to effectively implement the Plan 

for Supports.  

b. Therapeutic consultation services shall not include 

direct therapy provided to individuals enrolled in the 

waiver and shall not duplicate the activities of other 

services that are available to the individual through the 

State Plan for Medical Assistance.  

2. The unit of service shall be one hour. The services must 

be explicitly detailed in the Plan for Supports. Travel time, 

written preparation, and telephone communication shall be 

considered as in-kind expenses within this service and shall 

not be reimbursed as separate items. Therapeutic 

consultation shall not be billed solely for purposes of 

monitoring the individual. 
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3. Only behavioral consultation in this therapeutic 

consultation service may be offered in the absence of any 

other waiver service when the consultation is determined to 

be necessary.  

P. Transition services. Transition services, as defined at and 

controlled by 12VAC30-120-2000 and 12VAC30-120-2010, 

provide for set-up expenses for qualifying applicants. The ID 

case manager shall coordinate with the discharge planner to 

ensure that ID Waiver eligibility criteria shall be met. 

Transition services shall be prior authorized by DMAS or its 

designated agent in order for reimbursement to occur. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3681; Filed November 1, 2013, 2:41 p.m.  

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-230. Operation of the 

Individual and Family Support Program (adding 

12VAC35-230-10 through 12VAC35-230-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 1, 2014. 

Effective Date: January 16, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Linda B. Grasewicz, Senior Planner, 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank Street, 12th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0040, FAX (804) 

371-0092, or email linda.grasewicz@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The State Board of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services has the authority under § 37.2-203 of 

the Code of Virginia "to adopt regulations that may be 

necessary to carry out the provisions of this title and other 

laws of the Commonwealth administered by the 

Commissioner or the Department." 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulations is to establish a 

support program (i) for individuals who are living in their 

own homes or a family home and are on the statewide waiting 

list for Intellectual Disability (ID) Medicaid Waiver or the 

Individual and Family Developmental Disabilities Support 

(IFDDS) Medicaid Waiver and (ii) for the family members 

who are supporting these individuals. This program promotes 

and protects the public welfare. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The Governor 

released emergency regulations governing the operations of 

the Individual and Family Support Program (IFSP) in January 

2013. In March, the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS) mailed letters to all the 

individuals on the ID or IFDDS statewide waiting lists and 

posted a notice on the DBHDS website that the program was 

operational. In addition to these two communication 

strategies, program guidelines, along with applications for 

support, were distributed to community services boards 

(CSBs), providers, and advocates. By the end of fiscal year 

(FY) 2013, DBHDS had received more than 1,700 

applications, with 825 individuals and families receiving 

financial support through the program.  

The emergency regulations authorizing this program will 

expire in January 2014. The FY 2014 funding round is 

scheduled to begin September 3, 2013, and should conclude 

before the expiration of these emergency regulations. In the 

settlement agreement with the Department of Justice, the 

Commonwealth agreed to provide financial support through 

the program until at least 2021, which will require that the 

proposed permanent regulations be in place by July 1, 2014. 

There are no changes from the emergency regulations 

establishing the IFSP to what is being proposed in the 

permanent IFSP regulations, which is one of the reasons that 

fast-track rulemaking process is being sought. 

The extraordinary demand for IFSP resources initially 

overwhelmed DBHDS resources. In two months, the entire 

fiscal year allocation was distributed to individuals on either 

the ID or developmental disability (DD) waiver wait list with 

little controversy. It is important that permanent regulations 

are in place by July 1, 2014, so that DBHDS can continue to 

provide supports to this vulnerable population in subsequent 

state fiscal years. 

Substance: The section number and intent and likely impact 

of proposed requirements are as follows: 

12VAC35-230-10. Definitions: Assures that the terms used in 

the regulation are understood. 

12VAC35-230-20. Program description: Describes the 

objectives and service population of the program being 

established. 

12VAC35-230-30. Program eligibility requirements: 

Identifies who is eligible to receive program support. 

12VAC35-230-40. Program implementation: Explains how 

the program will be implemented. 

12VAC35-230-50. Covered services and supports: Details the 

specific activities and supports that will be covered. 

12VAC35-230-60. Application for funding: Provides details 

on how to request program support. 

12VAC35-230-70. Application review criteria: Explains how 

DBHDS will evaluate funding requests. 

12VAC35-230-80. Funding decision-making process: 

Establishes the conditions for DBHDS to deny or reduce the 

amount of an individual funding request and requires that the 

department provide applicants with a written notice regarding 

funding decisions. 

12VAC35-230-90. Requests for reconsideration: Provides 

applicants with an opportunity to provide additional 

information prior to initiating the formal APA review 

process. 
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12VAC35-230-100. Post-funding review: Explains for 

successful applicants what their responsibilities are with 

respect to any utilization review.  

12VAC35-230-110. Termination of funding for services, 

supports, or other assistance: Ensures applicants understand 

how and when funding will be terminated. 

The IFSP is designed to support individuals with ID or DD 

and their family members and help such individuals access 

needed person-centered and family-centered resources, 

supports, services, and other assistance. Individual and 

Family Support Program funds will be distributed directly to 

the requesting individual or family member or a third party 

designated by the individual or family member. Program 

funds can be used to provide services such as (i) 

professionally provided services and supports, such as respite, 

transportation services, behavioral consultation, and behavior 

management; (ii) assistive technology and home 

modifications, goods, or products that directly support the 

individual; (iii) temporary rental assistance or deposits; (iv) 

fees for summer camp and other recreation services; (v) 

temporary assistance with utilities or deposits; (vi) dental or 

medical expenses of the individual; (vii) family education, 

information, and training; (viii) peer mentoring and family-to-

family supports; (ix) emergency assistance and crisis support; 

or (x) other direct support services as approved by the 

department. 

Issues: The IFSP provides short term support that will enable 

individuals who are living in their own homes or a family 

home and are on the statewide waiting list for ID Medicaid 

Waiver or the IFDDS Medicaid Waiver and the family 

members who are supporting these individuals to continue to 

remain in their own homes or a family home. The resources 

provided through the IFSP will benefit individual private 

citizens and the businesses from which they purchase goods 

and services. The IFSP benefits local CSBs, DBHDS, and the 

public by assuring that individuals most at risk of 

institutionalization continue to maintain their community 

residence. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

proposed regulations establish the Individual and Family 

Support Program to provide financial support to individuals 

with intellectual disability or developmental disabilities and 

their family members. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 

compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs. 

Detailed analysis of the benefits and costs can be found in the 

next section. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In a settlement agreement with 

the Department of Justice (DOJ), the Commonwealth agreed 

to provide financial support to individuals with intellectual 

disability or developmental disabilities and their family 

members until at least 2021. The proposed regulations 

establish Individual and Family Support Program (IFSP) to 

accomplish this goal. IFSP has become operational in March 

2013 under emergency regulations. The proposed regulations 

will permanently replace the emergency regulations currently 

in place. 

IFSP provides short term support that enables individuals 

who are living in their own homes or a family home and are 

on the statewide waiting list for Intellectual Disability 

Medicaid Waiver or Developmental Disabilities Medicaid 

Waiver and their family members who are supporting these 

individuals to continue to remain in their own homes or a 

family home. The support services and items provided may 

include respite care, transportation services, behavioral 

consultation and management services; assistive technology, 

home modifications, goods and products that directly support 

the individual; temporary assistance with rent, utilities and 

deposits; fees for summer camp and other recreation services; 

dental or medical expenses of the individual; family 

education, information, and training; peer mentoring and 

family-to-family supports, emergency assistance and crisis 

support. 

IFSP will provide limited relief to a minimum of 1,000 

individuals and their families each year over the next nine 

years in accordance with DOJ settlement agreement 

requirements. The funds available to the program are limited 

by the budget appropriation. In fiscal year (FY) 2014, $3.2 

million is appropriated for this program. Since the demand for 

these services are much greater than the available funds, 

individuals are served on a first-come-first-serve basis. In FY 

2013, there were 1,654 applications and the entire funding 

was distributed in just two months. As of September 5, 2013, 

350 applications were received for FY 2014 funding. The 

average support amount is estimated to be about $2,000 with 

a range from $50 to $3,000. 

The main benefit of IFSP is providing services and goods to 

individuals and their families in need so that they can stay in 

their communities. These individuals would not be able to 

receive these services without this program or they would 

have to pay for them from their own resources. In addition, 

supporting these individuals to keep them in their 

communities helps avoid institutionalization. According to 

the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS), caring for an individual in an institutional 

setting may cost up to $120,000 per year. Furthermore, failure 

to permanently implement this program may constitute a 

breach of the settlement agreement with DOJ and expose the 

Commonwealth to litigation risks. 

On the other hand, IFSP expenditures are paid 100% by state 

funds. Since the Commonwealth is required to maintain a 

balanced budget, the funding for this program has to reduce 

funding elsewhere. Thus, while IFSP recipients and 

businesses that cater to IFSP recipients enjoy positive 

economic effects, a corresponding economic effect in the 

opposite direction would likely take place elsewhere. In 
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addition, there will be additional costs associated with 

administration of this program. DBHDS estimates that 

slightly fewer than three full time personnel would be 

sufficient to operate the program. Also, there would be other 

costs associated with office supplies, debit card fees, postage, 

etc in order to administer this program.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. IFSP will provide limited 

relief to a minimum of 1,000 individuals and their families 

each year over the next nine years in accordance with DOJ 

settlement agreement requirements. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 

apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulations 

will increase state spending and have positive impact in labor 

demand in certain sectors that provide support services and 

goods to keep individuals with intellectual or developmental 

disabilities in their communities. However, due to balanced 

budget requirement, state spending will have be reduced 

somewhere else, having a negative effect on labor demand in 

different sectors. The net impact of these opposing effects is 

not known. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Similarly, 

while businesses in certain sectors may see a positive impact 

on their asset values due to increased state spending, 

businesses in other sectors may see a corresponding decrease 

in their asset values due to reduced revenues. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. As discussed 

above reduced state spending elsewhere to finance IFSP 

would have negative impact on businesses in those areas. At 

least some of those businesses may be expected to be small 

businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There is no known alternative to minimize 

adverse impact on small businesses that accomplish the same 

goal. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No direct impact on real 

estate development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Chapter 3, Item 315 V 3 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly, 

Special Session I, requires the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services to promulgate 

regulations to establish an Individual and Family Support 

Program (IFSP). The regulations establish an IFSP for 

individuals with intellectual disability (ID) or 

developmental disability (DD) who are on the waiting list 

for either an ID or a DD waiver. This program is required 

by a settlement agreement with the U.S. Department of 

Justice, which also stipulates that this program will be 

operational before the end of fiscal year 2013. 

This regulation establishes a support program for (i) 

individuals who are living in their own homes or a family 

home and are on the statewide waiting list for ID Medicaid 

Waiver or the Individual and Family Developmental 

Disabilities Support Medicaid Waiver and (ii) for the 

family members who are supporting these individuals. The 

regulation provides (i) who is eligible for the program, (iii) 

how the program is implemented, (iii) what services and 

supports are covered by the program, (iv) application 

process, (v) how applications are evaluated and funds 

approved, (vi) how to appeal the denial of funds, and (vii) 

when the program terminates. 

CHAPTER 230 

OPERATION OF THE INDIVIDUAL AND FAMILY 

SUPPORT PROGRAM 

12VAC35-230-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

"Department" means the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services. 

"Developmental disability" or "DD" means a severe, chronic 

disability of an individual that: 
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1. Is attributable to a mental or physical impairment or 

combination of mental and physical impairments;  

2. Is manifested before the individual attains age 22;  

3. Is likely to continue indefinitely;  

4. Results in substantial functional limitations in three or 

more of the following areas of major life activity: (i) self-

care; (ii) receptive and expressive language; (iii) learning; 

(iv) mobility; (v) self-direction; (vi) capacity for 

independent living; and (vii) economic self-sufficiency; 

and  

5. Reflects the individual's need for a combination and 

sequence of special, interdisciplinary or generic services, 

individualized supports, or other forms of assistance that 

are of lifelong or extended duration and are individually 

planned and coordinated. (42 USC § 15002)  

"Family member" means an immediate family member of an 

individual receiving services or the principal caregiver of that 

individual. A principal caregiver is a person who acts in the 

place of an immediate family member, including other 

relatives and foster care providers, but does not have a 

proprietary interest in the care of the individual receiving 

services. (§ 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia)  

"Individual and Family Support" means an array of 

individualized items and services that are intended to support 

the continued residence of an individual with intellectual or 

developmental disabilities (ID/DD) in his own or the family 

home.  

"Intellectual disability" or "ID" means a disability, 

originating before the age of 18 years, characterized 

concurrently by (i) significantly subaverage intellectual 

functioning as demonstrated by performance on a 

standardized measure of intellectual functioning, 

administered in conformity with accepted professional 

practice, that is at least two standard deviations below the 

mean; and (ii) significant limitations in adaptive behavior as 

expressed in conceptual, social, and practical adaptive skills. 

(§ 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia)  

12VAC35-230-20. Program description. 

A. The Individual and Family Support Program assists 

individuals with intellectual disability or developmental 

disabilities and their family members to access needed 

person-centered and family-centered resources, supports, 

services and other assistance as approved by the department. 

As such, Individual and Family Support Program funds shall 

be distributed directly to the requesting individual or family 

member or a third party designated by the individual or 

family member. 

B. The overall objective of the Individual and Family 

Support Program is to support the continued residence of an 

individual with intellectual or developmental disabilities in 

his own home or the family home, which include the home of 

a principal caregiver. 

C. Individual and Family Support Program funds shall not 

supplant or in any way limit the availability of services 

provided through a Medicaid Home and Community-Based 

Waiver, Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 

Treatment, or similar programs. 

12VAC35-230-30. Program eligibility requirements.  

Eligibility for Individual and Family Support Program funds 

shall be limited to individuals who are living in their own or a 

family home and are on the statewide waiting list for the 

Intellectual Disability (ID) Medicaid Waiver or the Individual 

and Family Developmental Disabilities Support (IFDDS) 

Medicaid Waiver and family members who are assisting 

those individuals.  

12VAC35-230-40. Program implementation. 

A. Individual and Family Support Program funds shall be 

limited by the amount of funds allocated to the program by 

the General Assembly. Department approval of funding 

requests shall not exceed the funding available for the fiscal 

year. 

B. Based on funding availability, the department shall 

establish an annual individual financial support limit, which 

is the maximum annual amount of funding that can be 

provided to support an eligible individual during the 

applicable fiscal year.  

C. Individual and Family Support Program funds may be 

provided to individuals or family members in varying 

amounts, as requested and approved by the department, up to 

the established annual individual financial support limit. 

D. On an annual basis, the department shall announce 

Individual and Family Support Program total funding 

availability and the annual individual financial support limit 

for the applicable fiscal year. This announcement shall 

include a summary of covered services, the application, and 

the application review criteria.  

E. Individuals and family members may submit applications 

for Individual and Family Support Program funding as needs 

arise throughout the year. Applications shall be considered by 

the department on a first-come, first-served basis until the 

annual allocation appropriated to the program by the General 

Assembly for the applicable fiscal year has been expended. 

F. Individuals and their family members may apply for 

Individual and Family Support Program funding each year 

and may submit more than one application in a single year; 

however, the total amount approved during the year shall not 

exceed the annual individual financial support limit.  

12VAC35-230-50. Covered services and supports. 

Services and items funded through the Individual and 

Family Support Program are intended to support the 

continued residence of an individual in his own or the family 

home and may include:  
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1. Professionally provided services and supports, such as 

respite, transportation services, behavioral consultation, 

and behavior management; 

2. Assistive technology and home modifications, goods, or 

products that directly support the individual; 

3. Temporary rental assistance or deposits; 

4. Fees for summer camp and other recreation services; 

5. Temporary assistance with utilities or deposits; 

6. Dental or medical expenses of the individual; 

7. Family education, information, and training;  

8. Peer mentoring and family-to-family supports; 

9. Emergency assistance and crisis support; or 

10. Other direct support services as approved by the 

department. 

12VAC35-230-60. Application for funding. 

A. Eligible individuals or family members who choose to 

apply for Individual and Family Support Program funds shall 

submit a completed application to the department. 

B. Completed applications shall include the following 

information: 

1. A detailed description of the services or items for which 

funding is requested; 

2. Documentation that the requested services or items are 

needed to support the continued residence of the individual 

with ID/DD in his own or the family home and no other 

public funding sources are available; 

3. The requested funding amount and frequency of 

payment; and 

4. A statement in which the individual or family member: 

a. Agrees to provide the department with documentation 

to establish that the requested funds were used to 

purchase only approved services or items; and 

b. Acknowledges that failure to provide documentation 

that the requested funds were used to purchase only 

approved services or items may result in recovery of such 

funds and denial of subsequent funding requests. 

C. The application shall be signed by the individual or 

family member requesting the funding.  

12VAC35-230-70. Application review criteria. 

Upon receipt of a completed application, the department 

shall:  

1. Verify that the individual is on the statewide ID or 

IFDDS Medicaid Waiver waiting list; 

2. Confirm that the services or items for which funding is 

requested are eligible for funding in accordance with 

12VAC35-230-50; 

3. Determine that the services or items for which funding is 

requested are needed to support the continued residence of 

the individual with ID/DD in his own or the family home; 

4. Determine that other public funding sources have been 

fully explored and utilized and are not available to 

purchase or provide the requested services or items; 

5. Evaluate the cost of the requested services or items; and  

6. Consider past performance of the individual and family 

members regarding compliance with this chapter. 

12VAC35-230-80. Funding decision-making process. 

A. Applications may be approved at a reduced amount when 

the amount requested exceeds a reasonable amount as 

determined by department staff as being necessary to 

purchase the services or items.  

B. Applications shall be denied if the department determines 

that: 

1. The service or item for which funding is requested is not 

eligible for funding in accordance with 12VAC35-230-50; 

2. The request exceeds the maximum annual individual 

financial support limit for the applicable fiscal year; 

3. Other viable public funding sources have not been fully 

explored or utilized; 

4. The requesting individual or family member has not 

used previously received Individual and Family Support 

Program funds in accordance with the department's written 

notice approving the request or has failed to comply with 

these regulations; or 

5. The total annual Individual and Family Support Program 

funding appropriated by the General Assembly has been 

expended for the applicable fiscal year.  

C. The department shall provide a written notice to the 

individual or family member who submitted the application 

indicating the funding decision. 

1. Approval notices shall include: 

a. The services, supports, or other items for which 

funding is approved; 

b. The amount and time frame of the financial allocation; 

c. The expected date that the funds should be released; 

and 

d. Financial expenditure documentation requirements, 

and the date or dates by which this documentation shall 

be provided to the department. 

2. For applications where funding is denied or approved at 

a reduced amount, the department's notice shall state the 

reason or reasons why the requested services, supports, or 

other items were denied or were approved at a reduced 

amount and the process for requesting the department to 

reconsider its funding decision. 

12VAC35-230-90. Requests for reconsideration. 

A. Individuals or family members who disagree with the 

determination of the department may submit a written request 

for reconsideration to the commissioner, or his designee, 

within 30 days of the date of the written notice of denial or 

approval at a reduced amount. 
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B. The commissioner, or his designee, shall provide an 

opportunity for the person requesting reconsideration to 

submit for review any additional information or reasons why 

the funding should be approved as originally requested. 

C. The commissioner, or his designee, after reviewing all 

submitted materials shall render a written decision on the 

request for reconsideration within 30 calendar days of the 

receipt of the request and shall notify all involved parties in 

writing. The commissioner's decision shall be binding. 

D. Applicants may obtain further review of the decision in 

accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

12VAC35-230-100. Post-funding review. 

A. Utilization review of documentation or verification of 

funds expended may be undertaken by department staff. 

Reviews may include home visits to view items purchased or 

services delivered.  

B. Individuals and family members receiving Individual and 

Family Support Program funds shall permit the department 

representatives to conduct utilization reviews, including home 

visits.  

C. Individuals and family members receiving Individual and 

Family Support Program funds shall fully cooperate with 

such reviews and provide all information requested by the 

department.  

D. Failure to use funds in accordance with the department's 

written notice or provide documentation that the funds were 

used to purchase only approved services or items may result 

in recovery of such by the department. 

12VAC35-230-110. Termination of funding for services, 

supports, or other assistance. 

Funding through the Individual and Family Support 

Program shall be terminated when the individual is enrolled 

in the ID or IFDDS Medicaid Waiver or if approved funds are 

used for purposes not approved by the department in its 

written notice. Any funds approved, but not released, will be 

forfeited in such circumstances. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3439; Filed October 30, 2013, 1:58 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-20. Virginia Asbestos 

Licensing Regulations (amending 18VAC15-20-52, 

18VAC15-20-53).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 2, 2013 - 10:40 a.m. - Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 200, Board Room 4, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: January 31, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia (commonly 

referred to as the Callahan Act) requires regulatory boards to 

periodically review and adjust fees. Section 54.1-201 A 4 of 

the Code of Virginia provides the authority to regulatory 

boards to levy and collect fees, and § 54.1-304.3 of the Code 

of Virginia describes the authority of the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) to collect 

and account for fees. Section 54.1-308 of the Code of 

Virginia requires costs to be paid by regulatory boards, of 

which the Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors is 

one. 

Purpose: The intent of the proposed changes is to increase 

licensing fees for regulants of the Board for Asbestos, Lead, 

and Home Inspectors. The board must establish fees adequate 

to support the costs of board operations and a proportionate 

share of DPOR's operations. By the close of the next 

biennium, fees will not provide adequate revenue for the 

costs. 

The intent of the proposed amendments is to increase 

licensing fees for regulants of the Board for Asbestos, Lead, 

and Home Inspectors. The board must establish fees adequate 

to support the costs of board operations and a proportionate 

share of the DPOR's operations. By the close of the next 

biennium, fees will not provide adequate revenue for those 

costs. The board provides protection to the safety and welfare 

of the citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that only 

those individuals and firms that meet specific criteria set forth 

in the statutes and regulations are eligible to receive an 

asbestos worker, asbestos supervisor, asbestos inspector, 

asbestos management planner, asbestos project designer, 

asbestos project monitor, asbestos contractor, asbestos 

analytical laboratory license, or an accredited asbestos 

training program approval. The board is also tasked with 

ensuring that its regulants meet standards of practice that are 

set forth in the regulations. Without adequate funding, citizen 

complaints against regulants could not be investigated and 

processed in a timely manner. This could provide an 

opportunity for a dishonest individual or firm, waiting for 

action to be taken by the board, to continue to operate, 

harming additional citizens. DPOR receives no general fund 

money but, instead, is funded almost entirely from revenue 

collected for license and certificate application fees, renewal 
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fees, examination fees, and other licensing fees. DPOR is 

self-supporting and must collect adequate revenue to support 

its mandated and approved activities and operations. Fees 

must be established at amounts that will provide that revenue. 

Fee revenue collected on behalf of the various boards funds 

the DPOR’s authorized special revenue appropriation. The 

Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors has no other 

source of revenue from which to fund its operations. 

Substance: The Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home 

Inspectors reviewed the fees listed in 18VAC15-20-52 and 

18VAC15-20-53 and, based on projected revenues and 

expenses, developed a fee schedule that meets the 

requirements of the applicable statutes while being the least 

burdensome to the regulant population. 

Fee Type  

Current 

Fees 

Proposed 

Fees 

Application  Individuals  25 80 

Application Contractors 40 110 

Application Labs 40 120 

Application 

Training 

courses 400/day 500/day 

Renewal Individuals 25 45 

Renewal Contractors 40 70  

Renewal Labs 40 75 

Renewal 

Training 

courses 50 125 

Late 

Renewal Individuals 25 35 

Late 

Renewal Contractors 25 35 

Late 

Renewal Labs 25 35 

Late 

Renewal 

Training 

courses 25 35 

Issues: Section 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia requires 

DPOR to review each board's expenditures at the close of 

each biennium and adjust fees if necessary. The Board for 

Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors is expected to incur a 

deficit of $82,268 by the end of the 2012-2014 biennium and 

a Callahan Act percentage of -11.5%. 

The regulatory review process generally takes a minimum of 

18 months, so it is essential to consider fee increases now to 

avoid a greater deficit than currently projected. In order to 

address the deficit as currently projected, new fees will need 

to become effective by late in fiscal year 2014. Otherwise, the 

board's deficit will increase to the point that the new fees 

would be inadequate to provide sufficient revenue for 

upcoming operating cycles, which could result in the board 

having to consider additional fee increases in the near future. 

The advantage of proposed amendments is that the regulatory 

program will be able to continue to function in order to 

protect the public. The disadvantage is that these changes will 

increase the cost of the license to the regulated population; 

however, the impact of these changes on the income of the 

regulated population should not be of a great significance 

compared to their level of income. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors (Board) 

proposes to increase all fees paid by licensees, certificate 

holders and registrants that are subject to the Board's 

authority. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

accurately gauge whether benefits are likely to outweigh costs 

for these proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Under current regulations, 

asbestos removal workers, supervisors, inspectors, 

management planners, project designers and project managers 

pay an initial licensure fee of $25, an annual renewal fee of 

$25 and a late renewal fee of $50 (if they renew between 30 

days and 6 months after the renewal date). Asbestos 

contractors currently pay $40 for initial licensure, $40 

annually for license renewal and $65 for late renewal. 

Asbestos analytical laboratories currently pay $40 for initial 

licensure, $40 for license renewal and $65 for late renewal. 

Asbestos training programs currently pay $400 per day of 

training for program approval, $50 for renewal of program 

approval and $75 for late renewal of program approval. The 

Board now proposes to increase all of these fees. 

Below is a comparison table for current and proposed fees: 

FEE TYPE 
CURRENT 

FEE 

PROPOSED 

FEE 

% 

INCREASE 

Fee for 

Worker, 

Supervisor, 

Inspector, 

Management 

Planner, 

Project 

Designer or 

Project 

Monitor 

Initial 

Licensure  

$25 $80 220% 

Asbestos 

Analytical 

Laboratory 

Initial 

Licensure 

$40  $120 200% 
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Asbestos 

Contractor 

Initial 

Licensure 

$40 $110 175% 

Accredited 

Asbestos 

Training 

Program 

Initial 

Approval 

(per day of 

training) 

$400 $500 25% per day 

Renewal of 

Worker, 

Supervisor, 

Inspector, 

Management 

Planner, 

Project 

Designer or 

Project 

Monitor 

Licensure 

$25 $45 80% 

Renewal of 

Asbestos 

Analytical 

Laboratory 

Licensure 

$40 $75 87.5% 

Renewal of 

Asbestos 

Contractor 

Licensure 

$40 $70 75% 

Renewal of 

Accredited 

Asbestos 

Training 

Program 

Approval  

$50 $125 150% 

Late Renewal 

of Worker, 

Supervisor, 

Inspector, 

Management 

Planner, 

Project 

Designer or 

Project 

Monitor 

Licensure 

$50 $80 60% 

Late Renewal 

of Asbestos 

Analytical 

Laboratory 

Licensure 

$65 $110 69.2% 

Late Renewal 

of Asbestos 

Contractor 

Licensure 

$65 $105 61.5% 

Late Renewal 

of Accredited 

Asbestos 

Training 

Program 

Approval 

$75 $160 113% 

Board staff reports that fees were reduced in 2000 because 

they were set at a level that was too high to be justified by 

Board expenditures. As a consequence of high fees prior to 

2000, the Board had a large surplus that has offset fees that 

since then were too low to cover all Board expenses. Absent 

some fee increase, Board staff reports that the Board will run 

a deficit in the next biennium. In addition to a large surplus 

finally being depleted, Board staff reports that fees will need 

to be raised because expenses for developing Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation's (DPOR's) new 

customer support and licensure software have greatly 

increased information technology costs over the last several 

years.  

While the number of entities that the Board regulates has 

increased, other things being equal, the fees from additional 

regulants would be expected to cover application costs, 

customer support services costs and any other expenses that 

the Board might incur in regulating them. Because fees have 

been kept artificially low for the last decade so that the Board 

could use up the very large surplus that it had accrued, fees 

from each new licensee, certificate holder or registrant may 

not, in this instance, been enough to cover the per person 

application and customer support costs. This notwithstanding, 

it is likely that the necessity of raising fees would not be as 

urgent as it now is without large and continuing increases in 

information technology (IT) expenses over the last few years. 

Board staff reports that DPOR has already paid $3.6 million, 

and expects to pay an additional $1.6 million, for its new 

automated licensure system. These costs are additional to 

other IT (VITA) costs which have increased for all state 

agencies. It is likely that most of the per regulant expenditure 

increase in the last decade is due to these increased 

information systems costs. In FY2005, the Board spent 

$32.13 per regulant; in FY2006, per regulant spending was 

$31.40 and in FY2007 it was $29.07. In FY2008 per regulant 

spending jumped to $45.45. During FY2012, per regulant 

spending was to $50.37. Board staff expect per regulant 

spending to increase further in FY2013 (to $57.07). Given 

this information, it is not at all clear that these increased 

information systems costs represent a net benefit for the 

Board's regulated entities. 

Increasing fees will increase the cost of being licensed, 

certified or registered, and so may slightly decrease the 

number of people who choose to remain in these jobs or 
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businesses. To the extent that the public benefits from the 

Board regulating these professional populations, they will 

also likely benefit from the Board's proposed action given 

that the regulating will continue. There is insufficient 

information to ascertain whether the benefits of the continued 

regulation will outweigh the costs with higher fees.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that the 

Board currently regulates 5,808 individuals, contractors, labs 

and training programs.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Fee increases in this 

regulatory action may marginally decrease the number of 

individuals who choose to work in professional fields that are 

regulated by the Board. Individuals who work part time or 

whose earnings are only slightly higher in these regulated 

fields than they would be in other jobs that do not require 

licensure or registration will be more likely to be affected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Fee 

increases will likely slightly decrease business profits and 

make affected businesses slightly less valuable.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Board staff 

reports that most of the entities regulated by the Board likely 

qualify as small businesses. Affected small businesses will 

bear the costs of proposed increased fees. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. Outside of increasing the efficiency of the 

business practices of DPOR or lowering other expenses 

charged to the department, particularly information 

technology related, there are no clear alternative methods that 

would reduce the adverse impact on small businesses from 

the proposed fee increases.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors concurs with the 

approval of the economic impact analysis done by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. However, the board 

would like to address the statement regarding the efficiency 

of the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation's (DPOR's) business practices. 

DPOR serves to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the 

public by establishing and administering regulatory programs 

for certain professions or occupations that are deemed by the 

General Assembly as needing to be regulated. Such programs 

are designed to ensure minimum competency of practitioners 

who elect to enter these professions by verifying applicants 

compliance with specified entry standards (education, 

experience, and examination).  

DPOR is mindful of the need to keep costs to a minimum 

while still maintaining its charge of allowing minimally 

competent individuals and companies to begin working in 

their chosen fields as quickly as possible and resolving 

complaints against licensees in a timely manner. DPOR's staff 

continuously strives to improve its processes to find more 

efficient methods of conducting its work. In addition, staff 

works with its regulatory boards to develop regulations and 

policies that minimize burdens on its regulants, including 

minimizing costs associated with licensure, certification, and 

registration. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments increase fees of the Board for 

Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors to ensure that 

revenues are sufficient, but not excessive, to cover its 

ongoing operating expenses. Without the proposed fee 

increases, the board will incur a deficit by the end of the 

2012-2014 biennium. 

18VAC15-20-52. Application fees.  

Application fees are set out in this section.  

Fee Type 
Fee 

Amount 
When Due 

Application for 

worker, supervisor, 

inspector, 

management planner, 

project designer or 

project monitor 

license 

$25 $80 With 

application 
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Application for 

asbestos analytical 

laboratory license 

$40 $120 With 

application 

Application for an 

asbestos contractor 

license 

$40 $110 With 

application 

Application for 

accredited asbestos 

training program 

approval 

$400 $500 

per day of 

training 

With 

application 

18VAC15-20-53. Renewal and late renewal fees.  

Renewal and late renewal fees are set out in this section.  

Fee Type 
Fee 

Amount 
When Due 

Renewal for worker, 

supervisor, inspector, 

management planner, 

project designer or 

project monitor 

license 

$25 $45 With renewal 

application 

Renewal for asbestos 

analytical laboratory 

license 

$40 $75 With renewal 

application 

Renewal for asbestos 

contractor's license 

$40 $70 With renewal 

application 

Renewal for 

accredited asbestos 

training program 

approval 

$50 $125 With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for 

worker, supervisor, 

inspector, 

management planner, 

project designer or 

project monitor 

license (includes a $25 

$35 late renewal fee in 

addition to the regular 

$25 $45 renewal fee) 

$50 $80 With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for 

asbestos analytical 

laboratory license 

(includes a $25 $35 

late renewal fee in 

addition to the regular 

$40 $75 renewal fee) 

$65 $110 With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for 

asbestos contractor's 

license (includes a $25 

$65 $105 With renewal 

application 

$35 late renewal fee in 

addition to the regular 

$40 $70 renewal fee) 

Late renewal for 

accredited asbestos 

training program 

approval (includes a 

$25 $35 late renewal 

fee in addition to the 

regular $50 $125 

renewal fee) 

$75 $160 With renewal 

application 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3169; Filed October 31, 2013, 8:25 a.m.  

AUCTIONEERS BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC25-21. Regulations of the 

Virginia Auctioneers Board (amending 18VAC25-21-10, 

18VAC25-21-50, 18VAC25-21-70, 18VAC25-21-80, 

18VAC25-21-90, 18VAC25-21-110, 18VAC25-21-120, 

18VAC25-21-140 through 18VAC25-21-185, 18VAC25-

21-220, 18VAC25-21-250, 18VAC25-21-280; adding 

18VAC25-21-95).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-602 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 2, 2013 - 11:30 a.m. - Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Board Room 4, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: January 31, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Marian H. Brooks, Regulatory Board 

Administrator, Auctioneers Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, 

FAX (866) 465-6206, or email 

auctioneers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the regulatory boards of the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation to promulgate regulations in 

accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia) necessary to assure continued 

competency, to prevent deceptive or misleading practices by 

practitioners, and to effectively administer the regulatory 

system administered by the regulatory board. Section 54.1-

602 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the Board of 

Auctioneers to establish regulations to obtain and retain 

licensure of auctioneers.  

Purpose: The purpose of the amendments is to improve the 

clarity of the regulations and thereby better protect the 

citizens of the Commonwealth. 

Substance: The amendments provide clarification to the 

existing regulations and allow licensees to use continuing 

education hours gained in reciprocating states to meet 

continuing education requirements in Virginia. 
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Issues: The primary advantage to the public and the 

Commonwealth is that the licensed auctioneers and 

consumers will have clearer and more comprehensible 

regulations, which should permit a positive outcome for all 

parties. In addition, the changes will assist with disciplinary 

actions and the compliance of such actions. 

No disadvantage to the public or the Commonwealth could be 

identified. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Auctioneers Board (Board) proposes to amend its regulations 

to allow licensees to use continuing education hours gained in 

other, reciprocating states to meet continuing education 

requirements in Virginia. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 

most proposed changes.  

Estimated Economic Impact. Most of the changes that the 

Board proposes for these regulations are meant to clarify parts 

of the regulatory text. For instance, current regulatory text 

says that the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation (DPOR) mails out renewal notices to licensees 

when it is actually Board staff that is responsible for this task. 

The Board proposes to change the regulatory text so that it is 

clear that the Board will mail out renewal notices. No affected 

entity is likely to incur any costs on account of changes such 

as these. To the extent that some regulated entities may find 

the current regulatory text confusing, these changes will 

provide the benefit of additional clarity. 

Current regulations do not allow individuals who are licensed 

in Virginia and in another state to count continuing education 

classes that they may have taken in that other state to count 

toward Board renewal requirements. The Board proposes to 

allow licensees to do this so long as the state where the 

continuing education is completed has a reciprocal agreement 

with Virginia that allows the same thing. No entity is likely to 

incur additional costs on account of this regulatory change. 

Licensees who are licensed in several states will likely benefit 

from rules that allow them to eliminate the time and expense 

of duplicating continuing education classes in each of the 

states in which they are licensed. 

Current regulations are silent on whether the Board has 

discretion to deny renewal of licensure. The Board proposes 

to add language to these regulations that would allow denial 

of renewal for any of the same reasons that it can deny initial 

licensure or discipline licensees.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. DPOR reports that there are 

1,356 individual auctioneers and 253 auctioneer firms 

currently licensed by the Board. All of these entities will be 

affected by these regulatory changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 

likely have no impact on employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 

of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 

businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 

significantly adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 

DPB's best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Auctioneers Board concurs with the approval. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) replace the $40 examination 

and reexamination fees with language making such fees 

subject to competitively negotiated contracts, (ii) allow 

licensees to use continuing education hours gained in 

reciprocating states to meet continuing education 

requirements in Virginia, and (iii) clarify existing 

regulatory language. 
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Part I  

Definitions  

18VAC25-21-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Owner" means the bona fide owner or any lawfully 

designated agent of the real or personal property being 

offered for sale; in the case of a corporation, partnership, or 

other entity, except a sole proprietorship, an authorized 

officer, director, or partner may be deemed to be "owner" of 

the real or personal property being offered for sale, provided 

such entity is licensed to do business in the Commonwealth 

of Virginia.  

18VAC25-21-50. Application. 

A. All applicants seeking licensure by reciprocity or 

examination shall submit a fully executed application with the 

appropriate fee or fees attached. Applicants will be notified if 

their application is incomplete. 

Applications for licensure by examination must comply with 

the requirements of the board's designee as to the deadline for 

submission of the application to the board's designee. 

B. 1. If a corporation, limited liability company, or other 

entity, the application shall include copies of the certificate of 

incorporation or certificate of organization issued by the 

Virginia State Corporation Commission, articles and bylaws.  

2. If a foreign corporation, foreign limited liability 

company, or other entity, the application shall include 

copies of the certificate of authority to conduct business 

issued by the Virginia State Corporation Commission, 

which shall be required in lieu of the certificates as 

required by subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

3. Any firm applicant shall not have been previously found 

by any regulatory board or agency to have violated any 

applicable regulations or laws in the course of performing 

auctioneer duties or been convicted or found guilty, 

regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of a misdemeanor 

involving moral turpitude or any felony, there being no 

appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having 

elapsed. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subdivision. A certified 

copy of a final order, decree or case decision by a court or 

regulatory agency with the lawful authority to issue such 

order shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

conviction or discipline. Applicants for licensure who do 

not meet requirements set forth in this section may be 

approved for licensure following consideration by the 

board in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

C. All applications will be reviewed by the Auctioneers 

Board staff, or the board's designee, to determine eligibility 

for examination and licensure within 30 days of receipt at the 

offices of the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation or the board's designee. However, failure to 

review an application within 30 days of receipt shall not 

imply or result in the automatic approval of the application. 

No applicant will be approved for licensure unless all 

requirements of this part of this chapter are met. 

18VAC25-21-70. Fees.  

Fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 

following fees shall apply:  

1. Individual auctioneer license $25 

2. Auctioneer firm license $55 

3. Examination $40 

4. Reexamination fee $40 

5. 3. Renewal for individual auctioneer's 

license 

$55 

6. 4. Renewal for firm or corporation license $65 

7. 5. Late renewal for an individual auctioneer's 

license 

$80 

8. 6. Late renewal for an auction firm or 

corporate license 

$90 

9. 7. Reinstatement of the individual 

auctioneer's license 

$105 

10. 8. Reinstatement of the firm or corporate 

license 

$115 

The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges by an outside vendor. These contracts are 

competitively negotiated and bargained for in compliance 

with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia). The board may adjust the fee 

charged to candidates in accordance with these contracts. 

Part III  

Renewal/Reinstatement  

18VAC25-21-80. Notice of renewal.  

The Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation board will mail a renewal notice to the licensee 

outlining the amount due and procedures for renewal to the 

last known mailing address of record. Failure to receive this 

notice shall not relieve the individual or firm licensee of the 

obligation to renew.  

Licenses issued under this chapter shall be issued for a two-

year period. Each license holder, corporation or firm shall be 

required to renew the license by submitting the proper fee 

made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, with verification 

of current surety bond coverage as detailed in 18VAC25-21-

30. In addition, individual license holders applying for 

renewal are required to certify that they comply with the 

continuing education requirements as contained in this 

chapter. By renewing the license, the licensee is certifying 
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continued compliance with the Standards of Practice in Part 

IV (18VAC25-21-100 et seq.) and Standards of Conduct in 

Part V (18VAC25-21-180 et seq.), as well as Continuing 

Education Requirements in Part VII (18VAC25-21-230 et 

seq.) of this chapter. 

18VAC25-21-90. Failure to renew.  

A. Any individual or firm licensee who fails to renew a 

license within 30 days after the license expires, shall be 

required to pay a late renewal fee. 

B. Any individual or firm licensee, including individuals 

initially licensed pursuant to § 54.1-603 A of the Code of 

Virginia, who fails to renew his license within six calendar 

months after the expiration date of the license shall be 

required to apply for reinstatement of the license. The 

applicant shall submit to the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation board a reinstatement application 

and fee and comply with the following paragraph. 

If the license has expired for six months or more, but less 

than two years, the applicant shall be required to submit a 

reinstatement application, which shall be evaluated by the 

board to determine if the applicant meets the renewal 

requirements. In addition, individual license holders applying 

for reinstatement are required to provide evidence of 

compliance with the continuing education requirements as 

contained in this chapter. A license that is reinstated shall be 

deemed as having been continuous without interruption. 

Nothing in these regulations shall divest the board of its 

authority to discipline a license holder for a violation of the 

law or regulation during the period of time for which the 

regulant licensee was licensed. 

C. If the license has expired for two years or more, the 

applicant shall be required to submit a new application and 

meet current entry requirements that are in effect as of the 

date the application is received by the board office. The 

applicant shall be required to submit the examination fee and 

sit for and pass the Virginia Licensed Auctioneer's 

Examination or comply with the provisions contained in 

18VAC25-21-40. Any auctioneering activity conducted 

between the time the previous license expired and the 

effective date of the new license shall be considered 

unlicensed activity. 

D. The date that the complete renewal application, including 

fees and all required documentation, is received by the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

board or its agent will determine whether a license will be 

renewed without penalty or will be subject to reinstatement 

requirements.  

E. Auctioneer individual and firm licenses Licenses issued 

under this regulation shall expire 24 months from the last day 

of the month in which the license was issued. The expiration 

date of the license will be included on the license. 

18VAC25-21-95. Board discretion to deny renewal or 

reinstatement. 

The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of a license 

for the same reason as it may refuse initial licensure or 

discipline a licensee. The licensee has the right to request 

further review of any such action by the board under the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et. seq. of the Code 

of Virginia). 

18VAC25-21-110. Contracts.  

A. When an auctioneer or auction firm a licensee agrees to 

conduct an auction, a contract shall be drawn setting forth the 

particulars of the terms and conditions under which the 

auctioneer or auction firm received the real or personal 

property for auction and particulars for the disbursement of 

the proceeds. Each contract for auction shall include the 

following:  

1. a. A detailed list of the real or personal property 

received for sale with adequate descriptions of the property 

so that the personal property can be readily identified. If a 

list cannot be made at the time of signing of the contract, 

then a list must be signed and dated by the owner and made 

a part of the contract (and attached) prior to auction of the 

real or personal property for that day; or  

b. If the auctioneer or auction firm enters into a contract 

to sell items on a consignment basis where the total value 

of all the items to be sold at any one action does not 

exceed $500, and the owner of the items agrees to waive 

this requirement in writing on a document separate from, 

but made a part of, the contract, then the requirement 

contained in subdivision 1 a of this subsection is not 

applicable.  

2. The name, address, telephone number, and license 

number of the Virginia auctioneer or auction firm licensee 

entering into the contract.  

3. The name, address and telephone number of the property 

owner.  

4. The date, time and place of the auction or auctions at 

which the real or personal property is scheduled to be 

auctioned. The date by which the property is to be returned 

or otherwise disposed of in accordance with the terms of 

the contract if it is not sold. 

5. The fee or percentage of gross sales the auctioneer or 

auction firm will charge the owner and what services are 

included in the fee, such as preparation, travel, labor, 

advertising and any other auction related expenses.  

6. By what date the owner is to be paid and who is 

responsible for disbursing the funds.  

7. A statement that the clerk sheets, or other evidence to 

properly account for all items sold, shall be given or made 

available for inspection by the owner on a daily basis.  

8. The following statement above the owner's signature 

line: "I have read and accepted the terms of this contract."  
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B. A legible executed copy of the contract and any 

addendums shall be given to the owner at the time of 

execution. 

18VAC25-21-120. Conduct at auctions.  

No auctioneer or auction firm licensee shall attempt to 

escalate bidding through false bids, or through collusion with 

another (shills). The auctioneer or auction firm licensee shall 

not bid on the owner's behalf nor knowingly accept a bid 

made by the owner or made on the owner's behalf unless 

notice has been given that liberty for such bidding has been 

reserved. The auctioneer or auction firm licensee shall not 

neither bid on his own behalf nor knowingly accept a bid 

made on his behalf unless notice has been given that such 

bidding will be permitted. 

18VAC25-21-140. Documentation.  

Upon completion of the auctioneer's or auction firm's 

licensee's service, each owner shall be given legible copies of 

bills of sale, clerk sheets, consignment sheets, settlement 

papers, balance sheets or other evidence to properly account 

for all items sold at auction.  

18VAC25-21-150. Escrow funds. 

A. Proceeds of a personal property auction not disbursed to 

the owner on auction day shall be deposited in an auction 

escrow account by the auctioneer/auction firm licensee no 

later than the next banking day following the date of auction 

or sale of the goods, whichever occurs first. 

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection A of this 

section for, proceeds that are paid via credit card, the payment 

of such proceeds from the credit card issuer debit card, check 

card, or any other electronic funds transfer (EFT) method 

shall be deposited into an auction escrow account upon 

receipt from the credit card issuer originating source. 

C. The auction escrow account shall be used solely for the 

preservation and guarantee of auction proceeds until 

disbursed at settlement. Funds for any other purpose shall not 

be commingled with the auction escrow account. 

Contingency accounts established to guarantee checks 

accepted on the owner's behalf shall not be considered 

commingling of funds. Moneys due to the licensee shall not 

be withdrawn from the auction escrow account until final 

settlement is made with the owner. 

D. Funds to be deposited in the escrow account may include 

moneys that shall ultimately belong to the licensee for 

incidental expenses per the terms of the contract. Such 

moneys shall be separately identified in the escrow account 

records and shall be paid to the licensee by a check drawn on 

the escrow account when the funds become due to the 

licensee. The fact that an escrow account contains money that 

may ultimately belong to the licensee does not constitute 

"commingling of funds" provided that there are periodic 

withdrawals of said funds at intervals of not more than six 

months and that the licensee can at all times accurately 

identify the total funds in that account that belong to the 

licensee. 

E. On funds placed in an account bearing interest, written 

disclosure in the contract of sale or lease at the time of 

contract or lease writing shall be made to the principals to the 

transaction regarding the disbursement of interest. 

C. Auctioneers/auction firms F. Auctioneers and auction 

firms shall use federally insured depositories in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. All accounts, checks, and bank 

statements shall be labeled "escrow" and the accounts shall be 

designated as "escrow" accounts with the financial institution 

where such accounts are established. 

D. G. Proceeds due from the sale of goods other than real 

property shall be disbursed to the owner no later than 30 days 

after the date of each auction. 

E. H. Funds from a real estate auction shall be held in 

escrow until settlement in accordance with the agreement of 

sale. 

F. I. If the owners' owner's goods are not sold in a single 

auction, proceeds due shall be disbursed to the owner within 

30 days after each auction for goods other than real property, 

or in accordance with the agreement of sale for the sale of 

real property. Notice must be given to the owner of tentative 

date of auction, or date of return to the owner, of the 

remaining goods. 

G. The auction escrow account shall be used solely for the 

preservation and guarantee of auction proceeds until 

disbursed at settlement. Funds for any other purpose shall not 

be commingled with the auction escrow account. 

Contingency accounts established to guarantee checks 

accepted on the owner's behalf shall not be considered 

commingling of funds. Moneys due to the licensee shall not 

be withdrawn from the auction escrow account until final 

settlement is made with the owner. 

H. J. The balance in the escrow accounts shall be sufficient 

at all times to account for all funds that are designated to be 

held by the licensee. A licensee shall not disburse or cause to 

be disbursed moneys from an escrow account unless 

sufficient money is on deposit in that account to the credit of 

the individual client or property involved.  

I. Funds to be deposited in the escrow account may include 

moneys that shall ultimately belong to the licensee for 

incidental expenses per the terms of the contract. Such 

moneys shall be separately identified in the escrow account 

records and shall be paid to the licensee by a check drawn on 

the escrow account when the funds become due to the 

licensee. The fact that an escrow account contains money that 

may ultimately belong to the licensee does not constitute 

"commingling of funds" provided that there are periodic 

withdrawals of said funds at intervals of not more than six 

months, and that the licensee can at all times accurately 

identify the total funds in that account that belong to the 

licensee. 
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J. On funds placed in an account bearing interest, written 

disclosure in the contract of sale or lease at the time of 

contract or lease writing shall be made to the principals to the 

transaction regarding the disbursement of interest. 

18VAC25-21-160. Records.  

The licensee is required to maintain, for a period of four 

years from the date of settlement, written records of the 

following: the contract drawn with each owner; auction 

records, including but not limited to lists of buyers and their 

addresses; and clerk sheets showing the items sold including 

the buyers' numbers or names and the selling prices and the 

final settlement papers shall be retained for a period of four 

years from the date of settlement. These business records 

shall be available for inspection by the board or its designees 

as deemed appropriate and necessary.  

18VAC25-21-170. Change of address.  

A. An auctioneer's or auction firm's license Licenses shall 

not be transferable and shall bear the same name and physical 

address as the business. Upon dissolution or change in the 

form of the business entity of an auction firm, the auction 

firm license shall become void. 

B. Written notice shall be given within 30 days A licensee 

shall report all changes of address to the board by each 

individual or firm licensee of any change of physical business 

address or location in writing, within 30 calendar days of the 

change, whereupon the board shall issue an amended license 

without fee for the unexpired portion of the biennial period. 

C. A post office box is not an acceptable only when a 

physical business address is also provided. If the licensee 

holds more than one license, certificate, or registration, the 

licensee shall inform the board of all licenses, certificates, and 

registrations affected by the address change. 

Part V  

Standards of Conduct  

18VAC25-21-180. Discipline. 

The board has the power to fine any individual or firm 

licensee, or to suspend or revoke any license issued under the 

provisions of Chapter 6 (§ 54.1-600 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia and the regulations of the board pursuant 

to the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) if it finds that: 

1. The license was obtained, renewed or reinstated through 

fraud or misrepresentation; 

2. The licensed auctioneer or firm licensee has been 

convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of 

adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of a 

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or any felony, 

there being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for 

appeal having elapsed. Review of prior criminal 

convictions shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia. A certified copy of a final 

order, decree or case decision by a court with the lawful 

authority to issue such order shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such conviction or discipline; 

3. The licensed auctioneer or firm licensee has been found 

by any regulatory board, agency, or jurisdiction where 

licensed to have had a license or registration suspended, 

revoked or surrendered in connection with a disciplinary 

action, who has been the subject of discipline in another 

jurisdiction or to have violated any applicable regulations 

or laws in the course of performing auctioneer duties. A 

certified copy of a final order, decree or case decision by a 

court or regulatory agency with the lawful authority to 

issue such order shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such conviction or discipline; 

4. The licensed auctioneer or firm licensee has not 

demonstrated reasonable care, judgment, or application of 

his knowledge and ability in the performance of 

auctioneering duties; 

5. The license auctioneer or firm licensee violated or 

induced assisted another person to violate any provisions 

of Chapters Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 (§ 54.1-200 et 

seq.), 3 (§ 54.1-300 et seq.), or 6 of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, or any provision of this chapter;, or combined 

or conspired with or acted as agent, partner, or associate 

for another; or 

6. The licensee fails to comply, or misrepresents any 

information pertaining to his compliance, with any of the 

continuing education requirements as contained in this 

chapter. 

18VAC25-21-185. Cooperation with board. 

A. The licensee shall, upon request or demand, produce to 

the board, or any of its agents, within 10 days any plan, 

document, book, record or copy thereof in his possession 

concerning a transaction covered by this chapter, and shall 

cooperate in the investigation of a complaint filed with the 

board. 

B. A professional licensee who has direct knowledge that 

any individual, including himself, or firm may be violating 

any of these provisions, or the provisions of Chapters 1 

(§ 54.1-100 et seq.) through 3 (§ 54.1-300 et seq.) or Chapter 

6 (§ 54.1-600 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

shall immediately inform the secretary of the board in writing 

and shall cooperate in furnishing any further information or 

assistance that may be required. 

C. The board, in its discretion, may refuse to grant the 

renewal or reinstatement of a license of any person for any of 

the reasons specified in subsection A of this section.  

18VAC25-21-220. Periodic requalification for continued 

course approval.  

At times established by the board, the The board may 

require that schools that have previously obtained course 

approval provide the board with evidence, in a form set forth 

by the board, that they continue to comply with the 

requirements of 18VAC25-21-190 and 18VAC25-21-200. 
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Failure to continue to comply with the board's requirements 

or respond to such a request may result in the board 

withdrawing its approval.  

18VAC25-21-250. Continuing education requirements for 

renewal or reinstatement. 

A. Individuals Licensees whose licenses expire, or apply to 

reinstate, after February 1, 2008, shall be required to comply 

with the continuing education provisions of this chapter. 

B. Individuals are required to complete at least six 

continuing education credit hours of board-approved 

continuing education courses for any license renewal or 

reinstatement. 

B. Licensees are required to complete at least six continuing 

education credit hours of board-approved continuing 

education courses for any license renewal or reinstatement. 

A Virginia licensee that is also licensed in another state with 

which the board shares a reciprocal agreement may use 

board-approved continuing education in that state to meet the 

required six hours of continuing education for Virginia, 

provided that the reciprocal jurisdiction affords the same 

privilege to Virginia licensees.  

C. 1. Each individual licensee applying for renewal shall 

certify that he has met the continuing education requirements 

of this chapter. Only continuing education courses completed 

during the license period immediately prior to the expiration 

date of the license shall be acceptable in order to renew the 

license. 

2. Individuals Licensees shall maintain records of 

completion of continuing education credit hours for two 

years from the date of expiration of the license for which 

the continuing education credit hours are being used to 

renew the license. Individuals shall provide such records to 

the board or its duly authorized agents upon request. 

3. Continuing education credit hours utilized to satisfy the 

continuing education requirements to renew a license shall 

be valid only for that renewal and shall not be accepted for 

any subsequent renewal cycles or reinstatement. 

D. 1. Each individual applying for reinstatement shall 

provide, as part of his reinstatement application, evidence of 

compliance with the continuing education requirements of 

this chapter. The completion date of continuing education 

courses submitted in support of a reinstatement application 

shall not be more than two years old as of the date a complete 

reinstatement application is received by the board. 

2. Continuing education credit hours utilized to satisfy the 

continuing education requirements in order to reinstate a 

license shall be valid only for that reinstatement and shall 

not be accepted for any subsequent renewal cycles or 

reinstatement. 

E. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection C of this 

section, continuing education hours earned during a licensing 

renewal cycle to satisfy the continuing education 

requirements of the preceding licensing renewal cycle shall 

be valid only for that preceding license renewal cycle and 

shall not be accepted for any subsequent renewal cycles or 

reinstatement. 

18VAC25-21-280. Periodic requalification for continued 

course approval. 

At times established by the board, the The board may 

require that course providers that have previously obtained 

course approval provide the board with evidence, in a form 

set forth by the board, that they continue to comply with the 

requirements of 18VAC25-21-230 A and 18VAC25-21-240. 

Failure to continue to comply with the board's requirements 

or respond to such a request may result in the board 

withdrawing its approval. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC25-21) 

Auctioneer License By Examination Application, 

2907EXLIC (rev. 11/08) 

Auctioneer Surety Bond Form, 2905_07BOND (rev. 11/08) 

Auctioneer License By Examination Application, 

2907EXLIC (rev. 3/13) 

Auctioneer Surety Bond Form, 2905_07BOND (rev. 4/10) 

Auctioneer Firm License Application, 2908LIC (rev. 11/08) 

Auction Firm Surety Bond Form, 2906_08BOND (rev. 

11/08) 

States with Approved Reciprocal Agreements, 29RECST 

(rev. 11/08) 

Virginia Approved Auctioneering Schools, 29SCHLST (rev. 

11/08) 

States with Approved Reciprocal Agreements, 29RECLST 

(rev. 2/12) 

Virginia Approved Auctioneering Schools, 29SCHLST (rev. 

9/13) 

Auctioneering School Application for Course Approval, 

29CRS (rev. 11/08) 

Auctioneer License By Reciprocity Application, 

2907RECLIC (rev. 11/08) 

Auctioneer License Reinstatement Application, 2905_07REI 

(rev. 11/08) 

Application for Continuing Education Course Approval, 

29CECRS (rev. 11/08) 

Auctioneer Firm License Renewal Form, 2906_08REN (eff. 

11/08) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=546e9002002~1&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=546e9002002~1&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ea22002002~2&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=532f5002002~3&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc945002002~4&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc945002002~4&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6ad12002002~5&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6ad12002002~5&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b066e002002~6&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b066e002002~6&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1e183002002~7&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1e183002002~7&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=772c9002002~8&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=772c9002002~8&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1303a002002~9&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1303a002002~9&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5d33002002~10&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5d33002002~10&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5ca59002002~11&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5ca59002002~11&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
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Individual Auctioneer License Renewal Form, 2905_07REN 

(eff. 11/08) 

Continuing Education Medical Exemption Request, 

2905_07CEXMP (eff. 11/08) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-2002; Filed November 8, 2013, 12:51 p.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physician Assistants (adding 18VAC85-50-

117).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: November 12, 2013, through May 11, 2015. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Chapter 81 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly requires the 

Board of Medicine to promulgate regulations to implement 

provisions of the act with 280 days of its enactment. 

Therefore, the board is authorized to adopt emergency 

regulations establishing the criteria for use of fluoroscopy 

by physician assistants.  

Fluoroscopy is a radiological procedure that emits high 

levels of ionizing radiation and is used for diagnostic and 

therapeutic purposes. Performed improperly, it can harm a 

patient or cause a misdiagnosis that can harm a patient. 

Since fluoroscopy typically is outside the scope of practice 

for a physician assistant and not covered in prelicensure 

educational programs and examinations, additional 

qualifications must be established to assure minimal 

competency to perform the procedure with safety and 

effectiveness. 

The emergency regulation establishes the qualifications of 

a physician assistant who may use fluoroscopy for 

guidance of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures under 

the supervision of a licensed doctor of medicine or 

osteopathy specializing in the field of radiology. The 

additional education, training, and testing is consistent 

with the qualifications recommended by the American 

Academy of Physician Assistants and the American Society 

of Radiologic Technologists.  

18VAC85-50-117. Authorization to use fluoroscopy. 

A physician assistant working under the supervision of a 

licensed doctor of medicine or osteopathy specializing in the 

field of radiology is authorized to use fluoroscopy for 

guidance of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures provided 

such activity is specified in his protocol and he has met the 

following qualifications: 

1. Completion of at least 40 hours of structured didactic 

educational instruction and at least 40 hours of supervised 

clinical experience as set forth in the Fluoroscopy 

Educational Framework for the Physician Assistant created 

by the American Academy of Physician Assistants 

(AAPA) and the American Society of Radiologic 

Technologists (ASRT); and 

2. Successful passage of the American Registry of 

Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) Fluoroscopy 

Examination.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(18VAC85-50) 

Fluoroscopy Educational Framework for the Physician 

Assistant, December 2009, American Academy of Physician 

Assistants, 950 North Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 

22314 and the American Society of Radiologic 

Technologists, 15000 Central Avenue, SE, Albuquerque, NM 

87123 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3348; Filed November 12, 2013, 3:45 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-309. Rules for Enforcement 

of the Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act 

(adding 20VAC5-309-205).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-265.30 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2013.  

Agency Contact: Massoud Tahamtani, Director, Utility and 

Railroad Safety Division, State Corporation Commission, 

P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

9264, FAX (804) 371-9734, or email 

massoud.tahamtani@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments provide the State Corporation 

Commission increased flexibility in its enforcement of the 

Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act by including 

a provision by which the rules may be waived by the 

commission upon a finding supported by clear and 

convincing evidence that such a waiver is in the public 

interest. Since the initial rules were promulgated in 1994, 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7a7f6002002~12&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7a7f6002002~12&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4fc27002002~13&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4fc27002002~13&typ=40&actno=002002&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=46835003348~1&typ=40&actno=003348&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=46835003348~1&typ=40&actno=003348&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=46835003348~1&typ=40&actno=003348&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=46835003348~1&typ=40&actno=003348&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=46835003348~1&typ=40&actno=003348&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=46835003348~1&typ=40&actno=003348&mime=application/pdf
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enhanced technology and methods employed in locating 

underground utility lines and the protection of such lines 

from excavation damage have given rise to the need for 

flexibility in the commission's enforcement of the 

Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act that 

recognizes the evolution of excavation and demolition 

practices in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 15, 2013 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. URS-2013-00312 

Ex Parte: In the matter concerning Rules 

implementing the State Corporation 

Commission's authority to enforce the 

Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 

On July 22, 2013, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") initiated a rulemaking pursuant to § 56-

265.30 of the Code of Virginia ("Code"), which authorizes 

the Commission to enforce the provisions of Chapter 10.3 of 

Title 56 of the Code,
1
 also known as the Underground Utility 

Damage Prevention Act ("Act"). Section 56-265.30 of the 

Code also authorizes the Commission to promulgate any rules 

or regulations necessary to implement the Commission's 

authority to enforce the Act. 

The Commission's Division of Utility and Railroad Safety 

("Division") proposed that the Commission adopt an 

additional rule that includes a general waiver provision in the 

Commission's Rules for Enforcement of the Underground 

Utility Damage Prevention Act, 20 VAC 5-309-10 et seq. 

("Rules"), by which the Rules may be waived by the 

Commission upon a finding supported by clear and 

convincing evidence that such a waiver is in the public 

interest ("Proposed Rule"). This additional rule was proposed 

to provide the Commission with increased flexibility in its 

enforcement of the Act. 

The Commission's July 22, 2013 Order for Notice and 

Comment ("July 22, 2013 Order") set out the rule proposed 

by the Division and provided that public notice of the 

Proposed Rule be given so as to afford any interested person 

or entity an opportunity to comment on or to request a 

hearing on the Proposed Rule. 

Notice of the proceeding was published in the Virginia 

Register on August 12, 2013, and in newspapers of general 

circulation throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia.
2
 

Interested persons were directed to file any comments and 

requests for hearing on the Proposed Rule on or before 

August 26, 2013. 

Comments in this proceeding were submitted by 

Washington Gas Light Company ("WGL") and Columbia Gas 

of Virginia, Inc. ("Columbia Gas"). The Commission did not 

receive a request for hearing on the Proposed Rule. 

On August 23, 2013, WGL submitted comments in this 

proceeding with a suggested modification to the Proposed 

Rule.
3
 Specifically, WGL proposed a modification to the 

Proposed Rule that would permit the Commission to modify 

or eliminate a waiver granted pursuant to the Proposed Rule 

upon a finding that such waiver is "adverse to the public 

interest" as opposed to the Division's proposal that a finding 

be made that the waiver is "no longer required by the public 

interest." On August 26, 2013, Columbia Gas submitted 

comments supporting the adoption of the Proposed Rule.
4
 

As directed by the July 22, 2013 Order, the Division filed a 

report on September 10, 2013, responding to the comments 

received on the Proposed Rule. The Division opposed WGL's 

modification to the Proposed Rule, stating that "a showing of 

why the waiver is 'no longer in the public interest' is adequate 

to return to the status quo under the Damage Prevention 

Rules."
5
 Accordingly, the Division recommended that the 

Commission adopt the Proposed Rule without modification. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 

matter, is of the opinion and finds that the proposed 

regulation should be adopted without modification. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Commission's regulations regarding Rules for 

Enforcement of the Underground Utility Damage 

Prevention Act, 20 VAC 5-309-10 et seq., are hereby 

adopted as shown in Attachment A to this Order and shall 

become effective as of December 1, 2013. 

(2) A copy of these regulations as set out in Attachment A 

of this Order shall be forwarded to the Registrar of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register. 

(3) There being nothing further to come before the 

Commission, this case hereby is dismissed from the 

Commission's docket. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to: Meera Ahamed, Senior Legal Counsel, 

Office of General Counsel, Washington Gas Light Company, 

101 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20080; 

and James S. Copenhaver, Assistant General Counsel, 

NiSource Corporate Services Company, 1809 Coyote Drive, 

Chester, Virginia 23836; and a copy shall be delivered to the 

Commission's Office of General Counsel and Division of 

Utility and Railroad Safety. 

__________________________________ 
1 Va. Code §§ 56-265.14 et seq. 
2 See Memoranda from Laura S. Martin of the Commission's Division of 
Information Services, filed in this docket on August 7, 2013, and August 26, 

2013. 
3 Comments of WGL at 2. 
4 Comments of Columbia Gas at 1. 
5 Response at 2. 

20VAC5-309-205. Commission authority. 

Upon a finding that the public interest so requires, the 

commission may, upon motion, grant exemptions from any of 

the provisions of this chapter. The burden of proof shall be 
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upon the movant to demonstrate, by clear and convincing 

evidence, that such exemption is in the public interest. The 

commission may, by order, require modification or 

elimination of any granted exemption no longer required by 

the public interest. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3817; Filed November 18, 2013, 3:48 p.m.
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Program 

Intended Use Plan for Fiscal Year 2014 

Under the Safe Drinking Water Act, Congress authorizes 

capitalization grants to the states through the Drinking Water 

State Revolving Loan Fund Program (DWSRF). As part of 

the annual DWSRF grant application process, Virginia seeks 

meaningful public involvement through input, review, and 

comments. The Virginia Department of Health's Office of 

Drinking Water (ODW) has prepared a draft intended use 

plan (IUP) that explains the goals of the program, funding 

priorities, how the Virginia Department of Health (VDH) 

intends to use the grant funds, and other important 

information submitted from the funding requests and set-

aside suggestions. 

VDH received numerous funding requests and set-aside 

suggestions following the January 2013 DWSRF funding 

solicitation announcement. The draft 2014 IUP and draft 

project lists (available on the VDH website) are open for 

review and comment by the public for a period of 60 days. 

The document entitled "Virginia Drinking Water State 

Revolving Fund Program Design Manual" (dated January, 

2013) is a part of the intended use plan and was mailed in the 

January announcement and placed on the VDH website. The 

Program Design Manual provides information on VDH's 

project prioritization criteria and methodologies. 

VDH will hold a public meeting to solicit comments and 

recommendations regarding the 2014 IUP on Wednesday, 

January 15, 2014, from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m. at the ODW's East 

Central Field Office, 300 Turner Road, Richmond, VA 

23225. Those individuals planning to attend the public 

meeting should contact Theresa Hewlett at (804) 864-7501 by 

the close of business on January 3, 2014. 

Any written comments from the public are to be submitted by 

January 31, 2014, the close of the public comment period. 

VDH will consider all meaningful public input and comments 

and make revisions to the IUP and project priority lists if 

necessary. Please direct requests for information and forward 

written comments to Steven Pellei, PE, Virginia Department 

of Health, Office of Drinking Water, James Madison 

Building, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-7500, FAX (804) 864-7521. 

The following information is provided at VDH's website at 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/ODW/financial/IntendedUsePla

n14.htm. 

VDH's 2014 Preliminary Project Priority List/2014 

Comprehensive Project List  

VDH's 2014 Draft Intended Use Plan (IUP) 

The IUP is subject to change depending on EPA's 2014 

award allocations. 

VDH's 2014 Planning Grant Award List 

The projects listed will be awarded grants in the amounts 

indicated on the table. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC25-31. Reclamation Regulations 

for Mineral Mining.  

Publication: 30:6 VA.R. 646-654 November 18, 2013 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 648, 4VAC25-31-150 B 5, after "identified" insert 

"[ in the initial application ]" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1913; Filed November 20, 2013 1:57 p.m. 

LONGWOOD UNIVERSITY 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC50-11. Motor Vehicle Parking 

and Traffic Regulation.  

Publication: 30:2 VA.R. 97-99 September 23, 2013 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/ODW/financial/IntendedUsePlan14.htm
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/ODW/financial/IntendedUsePlan14.htm
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/ODW/documents/2011/pdf/Project%20Priority%20List_2012.pdf
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/ODW/financial/documents/2012/pdf/IUPWebFinal_Att_6_12_12.pdf
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/ODW/financial/documents/2011/pdf/2012%20Planning%20Grants%20RankingFINAL_AWARD11_11.pdf
mailto:varegs@dls.virginia.gov
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Correction to Title of Regulation: 

Page 97, change "Title of Regulation:" to "Titles of 

Regulations:" and add "8VAC50-10. Motor Vehicle 

Parking and Traffic Rules and Regulations (repealing 

8VAC50-10-10 through 8VAC50-10-50)."  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3757; Filed November 22, 2013 4:16 p.m. 
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