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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 
5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  
November 5, 2012. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 
Chairman; Gregory D. Habeeb; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 
McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. 
Moncure, Jr.; Wesley G. Russell, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. 
Tavenner; Christopher R. Nolen; J. Jasen Eige. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 
Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

January 2014 through March 2015 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

30:10 December 20, 2013 (Friday) January 13, 2014 

30:11 January 8, 2014 January 27, 2014 

30:12 January 22, 2014 February 10, 2014 

30:13 February 5, 2014 February 24, 2014 

30:14 February 19, 2014 March 10, 2014 

30:15 March 5, 2014 March 24, 2014 

30:16 March 19, 2014 April 7, 2014 

30:17 April 2, 2014 April 21, 2014 

30:18 April 16, 2014 May 5, 2014 

30:19 April 30, 2014 May 19, 2014 

30:20 May 14, 2014 June 2, 2014 

30:21 May 28, 2014 June 16, 2014 

30:22 June 11, 2014 June 30, 2014 

30:23 June 25, 2014 July 14, 2014 

30:24 July 9, 2014 July 28, 2014 

30:25 July 23, 2014 August 11, 2014 

30:26 August 6, 2014 August 25, 2014 

31:1 August 20, 2014 September 8, 2014 

31:2 September 3, 2014 September 22, 2014 

31:3 September 17, 2014 October 6, 2014 

31:4 October 1, 2014 October 20, 2014 

31:5 October 15, 2014 November 3, 2014 

31:6 October 29, 2014 November 17, 2014 

31:7 November 12, 2014 December 1, 2014 

31:8 November 25, 2014 (Tuesday) December 15, 2014 

31:9 December 10, 2014 December 29, 2014 

31:10 December 23, 2014 (Tuesday) January 12, 2015 

31:11 January 7, 2015 January 26, 2015 

31:12 January 21, 2015 February 9, 2015 

31:13 February 4, 2015 February 23, 2015 

31:14 February 18, 2015 March 9, 2015 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Daniel Colpo. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Prohibit acceptance of 
coupons for dispensing as it has potential for medication 
safety concerns through incomplete DUR/Profile data and 
transcription errors. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition has 
been filed with the Virginia Register of Regulations and will 
be published on January 13, 2014. Comment on the petition 
may be sent by email, regular mail, or posted on the Virginia 
Regulatory Townhall at www.townhall.virginia.gov; 
comment will be requested until February 12, 2014. 
Following receipt of all comments on the petition to amend 
regulations, the board will decide whether to make any 
changes to the regulatory language in Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy. This matter will be on the board's 
agenda for its meeting scheduled for March 26, 2014. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-
4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-04; Filed December 12, 2013, 3:22 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES  

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Mines, Minerals 
and Energy intends to consider amending 4VAC25-150, 
Virginia Gas and Oil Regulation. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to ensure the gas and oil regulation reflects 
current industry best practices and to expand disclosure of 
ingredients used in gas and oil well stimulation and 
completion on permitted gas and oil operations in the 
Commonwealth. The existing regulation will also be 
reviewed to determine if current requirements are sufficient to 
properly regulate drilling in different geographical areas of 
the Commonwealth. 
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: §§ 45.1-161.3 and 45.1-361.27 of the 
Code of Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 
1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, 
telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TTY (800) 
828-1120, or email mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3940; Filed December 20, 2013, 11:43 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 
Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-130, 
Amount, Duration and Scope of Selected Services. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to comply with Item 307 
UU of Chapter 3 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly, Special 
Session I, by making programmatic changes to the Client 
Medical Management program to ensure appropriate 
utilization, prevent abuse of covered services, and promote 
improved and cost efficient medical management of essential 
Medicaid client health care. The proposed action will also 
assist and educate beneficiaries in appropriately utilizing 
medical and pharmacy services. 
The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-2290; Filed December 16, 2013, 12:28 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING  

BOARD OF NURSING  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Nursing intends to 
consider amending 18VAC90-20, Regulations of the Board 
of Nursing. The purpose of the proposed action is to amend 
provisions on inactive licensure and reinstatement of 
licensure to ensure that the requirements for evidence of 
continuing competency are consistent with those for renewal 
of an active license as a nurse. This action is in response to a 
petition for rulemaking. 
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 
(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-01; Filed December 18, 2013, 8:32 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES  

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES  

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 
has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
(NOIRA) for repealing 22VAC40-120, Minimum Standards 
for Licensed Family Day-Care Systems and promulgating 
22VAC40-121, Standards for Licensed Family Day 
Systems, which was published in 27:12 VA.R. 1269 February 
14, 2011. Due to the time this action has been pending, the 
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agency has decided to withdraw the NOIRA and determine its 
next course of action.   
Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1734 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: March 16, 2011. 
Agency Contact: Karen Cullen, Division of Licensing 
Programs, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7152, 
FAX (804) 726-7132, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
karen.cullen@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2732; Filed December 16, 2013, 10:30 a.m.  

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 
has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
(NOIRA) for repealing 22VAC40-180, Voluntary 
Registration of Family Day Homes - Requirements for 
Providers, and promulgating 22VAC40-181, Voluntary 
Registration of Family Day Homes - Requirements for 
Providers, which was published in 26:24 VA.R. 2784 August 
2, 2010. Due to the time this action has been pending, the 
agency has decided to withdraw the NOIRA and determine its 
next course of action.  
Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1704 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Agency Contact: Debra O'Neill, Children's Program 
Licensing Consultant, Department of Social Services, 
Division of Licensing Programs, 801 East Main Street, 9th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7648, 
FAX (804) 726-7132, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
debra.oneill@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2243; Filed December 16, 2013, 10:31 a.m.  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol26/iss24/v26i24.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol26/iss24/v26i24.pdf
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF FORESTRY 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC10-30. Virginia State Forests 
Regulations (amending 4VAC10-30-40, 4VAC10-30-120, 
4VAC10-30-200, 4VAC10-30-210).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1101 and 10.1-1152 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: March 14, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Ronald S. Jenkins, Administrative Officer, 
Department of Forestry, 900 Natural Resources Drive, Suite 
800, Charlottesville, VA 22903, telephone (434) 977-6555, 
FAX (434) 293-2768, or email ron.jenkins@dof.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 10.1-1101 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the Department of Forestry to promulgate regulations 
necessary or incidental to the performance of duties or 
execution of powers conferred under Chapter 11 (§ 10.1-1100 
et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia. Section 10.1-
1152 of the Code of Virginia, as amended by Chapter 484 of 
the 2012 Acts of Assembly, provides that a special use permit 
for certain activities on state forest lands shall be issued for a 
fee established by regulations promulgated by the department. 
Purpose: The purpose of the proposed amendments is to 
better protect and serve the health, safety, and welfare of the 
public who use Virginia State Forests for their recreational 
activities or while working in the state forests for official 
business reasons. The authority to charge a fee is being 
transferred to regulations. The proposed amendments 
establish an annual fee of $15 for special use permits to hunt, 
trap, fish, ride bikes, and ride horses on state forest lands. The 
department adopted an emergency regulation effective 
September 18, 2012, and this action will ensure the authority 
granted under the emergency regulation continues as 
permanent authority. 
Substance: The proposed amendments require that any person 
who hunts, fishes, traps, rides a bike, or rides a horse in a 
state forest is required to purchase an annual special use 
permit for a fee of $15.  
Issues: The advantage to the agency is that the amendments 
will enable the agency to continue charging an annual $15 
special permit fee for hunting, fishing, trapping, riding horses, 
and riding bikes on state forest lands. This fee was previously 

established by statute, therefore, the proposed amendment is 
not expected to have any additional impact on the public. This 
regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
State Forester proposes to: 1) specify that the permit fee to 
hunt, trap, fish, ride bikes, or ride horses in a state forest is 
$15, and 2) add clarifying language to the regulations. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Prior to 2012, the Code of 
Virginia (§ 10.1-1152) stated that the State Forester is 
authorized, with the approval of the Board, to require any 
person who hunts, fishes, traps, rides mountain bikes, or rides 
horses on any of the lands described in § 10.1-1151 to obtain 
a special use permit. A special use permit to engage in these 
activities on any such lands would be issued for a fee, not to 
exceed $15 annually, as fixed by the State Forester. Permits 
to trap on such lands could be issued in combination with the 
hunting permits, or separately, at a fee not to exceed $15 
annually for each such permit, to be fixed by the State 
Forester. 
Chapter 484 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly removed the 
explicit $15 fee from statute, and instead specifies that the fee 
is to be established by regulations promulgated by the 
Department of Forestry. Therefore the State Forester proposes 
to set the fee as $15 in these regulations. As in practice the 
fee is not changing, this proposed amendment will have no 
impact beyond adding clarity. Increased clarity from this 
amendment and the other clarifying changes is potentially 
beneficial for interested parties in that they will need to spend 
less time in determining applicable requirements. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the estimated 6,000 to 7,000 individuals who use state 
forests for hunting, trapping, fishing, biking or horseback 
riding.1  
Localities Particularly Affected. The regulations potentially 
affect anyone interested in hunting, trapping, fishing, biking 
or horseback riding, but may particularly affect those who 
live near the state forests. The 22 state forests are located in 
the following counties: Appomattox, Bedford, Buckingham, 
Carroll, Craig, Cumberland, Essex, Fauquier, Grayson, King 
and Queen, King William, Lancaster, Nelson, New Kent, 
Prince Edward, Prince William, Rockbridge, Rockingham, 
Russell, Shenandoah, Sussex, and Washington. 
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Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 
use and value of private property. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 
businesses. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 
significantly affect small businesses. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 
of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 
other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 
identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 
entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 
and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 
to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 
the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 
effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 
economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 
estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 
regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 
other administrative costs required for small businesses to 
comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 
skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 
documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 
regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 
of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 
achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 
presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 
economic impacts. 
_________________________ 
1 Data source: Department of Forestry 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department of Forestry concurs with the economic impact 
analysis conducted by the Virginia Department of Planning 
and Budget. 
Summary: 

In accordance with Chapter 484 of the 2012 Acts of 
Assembly, the proposed amendments require any person 16 
years of age or older who hunts, fishes, traps, rides a bike, 
or rides a horse in a state forest to purchase an annual 
special use permit for a fee of $15. 

4VAC10-30-40. Permits.  
A permit to do any act shall authorize the same only insofar 

as it may be performed in strict accordance with the terms and 
conditions thereof. Any violation by its holder or his agents 
or employees of any term or condition thereof shall constitute 
grounds for its revocation by the department, or by its 
authorized representative. In case of revocation of any permit, 
all moneys paid for or on account thereof shall, at the option 
of the department, be forfeited to and be retained by it; and 
the holder of such permit, together with his agents and 
employees who violated such terms and conditions, shall be 
jointly and severally liable to the department for all damages 
and loss suffered by it in excess of money so forfeited and 
retained; but neither such forfeiture and retention by the 
department of the whole or any part of such moneys nor the 
recovery or collection thereby of such damages, or both, shall 
in any manner relieve such person or persons from liability to 
punishment for any violation of any provision of any Virginia 
State Forests Regulation. A state forest hunting special use 
permit will be required to hunt or, trap, fish, ride bikes, or 
ride horses on any state forest or portion thereof on which 
hunting and, trapping, fishing, riding bikes, or riding horses is 
permitted. 
4VAC10-30-120. Charges.  

No person 16 years of age or older shall make, use, or gain 
admittance to, or attempt to use or gain admittance to the 
facilities in any forest for the use of which a charge special 
use permit is made required by the department unless he shall 
pay the charge or price fixed by the department obtain a 
special use permit and pay an annual fee of $15. Any person 
under 16 years of age may hunt, trap, fish, ride bikes, or ride 
horses on any state forest and is not required to obtain a 
special use permit or pay an annual fee. 
4VAC10-30-200. Hunting and fishing.  

No person within the confines of any forest, shall hunt, trap, 
shoot, injure, kill or molest in any way any bird or animal, 
nor shall any person have in his possession any bird or 
animal, dead or alive, within the forest except any bird or 
animal designated as a game bird or animal by the Virginia 
Board of Game and Inland Fisheries, and the trapping of, 
hunting of, shooting at, or possession of any such bird or 
animal is prohibited except during the lawful hunting season 
set for the forest or portion thereof by the Virginia Board of 
Game and Inland Fisheries and only in those forests or 
portion thereof designated by the Forest Superintendent as 
lawful hunting areas. A state forest hunting special use permit 
will be required. All provisions of the Virginia Code 
concerning hunting must be complied with.  
4VAC10-30-210. Fishing.  

Fishing is permitted in designated areas in each forest, the 
only stipulation being that persons fishing must have a state 
fishing license, have a special use permit, and comply with 
the Virginia Game and Inland Fisheries rules and regulations.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3185; Filed December 16, 2013, 5:16 p.m.  



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 13, 2014 

1290 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 
Commission is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-252. Pertaining to the Taking 
of Striped Bass (amending 4VAC20-252-55, 4VAC20-252-
150).  
Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 1, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) establish the 2014 Virginia 
recreational and commercial striped bass quotas as 
1,402,325 pounds for each fishery, (ii) establish a 12-
pound minimum weight for the coastal striped bass area 
fishery, and (iii) use the established 12-pound minimum 
weight to allocate striped bass tags in cases where 
harvesters reported an average striped bass weight lower 
than 12 pounds in the previous fishing year.  

4VAC20-252-55. Recreational harvest quota.  
The total allowable level of all recreational harvest of 

striped bass for all open seasons and for all legal gear shall be 
1,230,110 1,402,325 pounds of whole fish. At such time as 
the total recreational harvest of striped bass is projected to 
reach 1,230,110 1,402,325 pounds, and announced as such, it 
shall be unlawful for any person to land or possess striped 
bass caught for recreational purposes.  
4VAC20-252-150. Individual commercial harvest quota.  

A. The commercial harvest quota for the Chesapeake area 
shall be determined annually by the Marine Resources 
Commission. The total allowable level of all commercial 
harvest of striped bass from the Chesapeake Bay and its 
tributaries and the Potomac River tributaries of Virginia for 
all open seasons and for all legal gear shall be 1,230,110 
1,402,325 pounds of whole fish. At such time as the total 
commercial harvest of striped bass from the Chesapeake area 
is projected to reach 1,230,110 1,402,325 pounds, and 
announced as such, it shall be unlawful for any person to land 
or possess striped bass caught for commercial purposes from 
the Chesapeake area.  

B. The commercial harvest quota for the coastal area of 
Virginia shall be determined annually by the Marine 
Resources Commission. The total allowable level of all 
commercial harvest of striped bass from the coastal area for 
all open seasons and for all legal gear shall be 184,853 

pounds of whole fish. At such time as the total commercial 
harvest of striped bass from the coastal area is projected to 
reach 184,853 pounds, and announced as such, it shall be 
unlawful for any person to land or possess striped bass caught 
for commercial purposes from the coastal area.  

C. For the purposes of assigning an individual's tags for 
commercial harvests in the Chesapeake area as described in 
4VAC20-252-160, the individual commercial harvest quota 
of striped bass in pounds shall be converted to an estimate in 
numbers of fish per individual harvest quota based on the 
average weight of striped bass harvested by the permitted 
individual during the previous fishing year. The number of 
striped bass tags issued to each individual will equal the 
estimated number of fish to be landed by that individual 
harvest quota, plus a number of striped bass tags equal to 
10% of the total allotment determined for each individual.  

D. For the purposes of assigning an individual's tags for 
commercial harvests in the coastal area of Virginia as 
described in 4VAC20-252-160, the individual commercial 
harvest quota of striped bass in pounds shall be converted to a 
quota in numbers of fish per individual commercial harvest 
quota, based on the estimate of the reported average coastal 
area harvest weight of striped bass harvested by the permitted 
individual during the previous fishing year, except as 
described in subsection E of this section. The number of 
striped bass tags issued to each individual will equal the 
estimated number of fish to be landed by that individual 
harvest quota, plus a number of striped bass tags equal to 
10% of the total allotment determined for each individual.  

E. For any individual whose reported average coastal area 
harvest weight of striped bass in the previous fishing year was 
less than 12 pounds, a 12-pound minimum weight shall be 
used to convert that individual's harvest quota of striped bass, 
in pounds of fish, to harvest quota in number of fish. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3936; Filed December 18, 2013, 4:40 p.m.  

Final Regulation  
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 
Commission is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-490. Pertaining to Sharks 
(amending 4VAC20-490-41).  
Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 1, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 
The amendments establish a maximum smooth dogfish 
fin-to-carcass weight ratio of 12% and extend the time 
period commercial fishermen may process smooth 
dogfish at sea to year round.  

4VAC20-490-41. Commercial catch limitations.  
A. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess on board a 

vessel or to land in Virginia more than 33 commercially 
permitted nonsandbar large coastal sharks in one 24-hour 
period. The person who owns or operates the vessel is 
responsible for compliance with the provisions of this 
subsection. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to fillet a shark until 
that shark is offloaded at the dock or on shore, except smooth 
dogfish as provided in subsection C of this section. A 
licensed commercial fisherman may eviscerate and remove 
the head of any shark, but the tail and all fins of any shark, 
except smooth dogfish as provided in subsection C of this 
section, shall remain naturally attached to the carcass through 
landing. The fins of any shark, except smooth dogfish, may 
be partially cut but some portion of the fin shall remain 
attached, until the shark is landed. 

C. From July 1 through the end of February, commercial 
fishermen may process smooth dogfish at sea, except the first 
dorsal fin shall remain attached naturally to the carcass until 
landed. From March 1 through June 30, commercial Virginia 
licensed commercial fishermen may completely process 
smooth dogfish at sea prior to landing., except that it shall be 
unlawful for anyone to land or possess on board any vessel 
any amount of processed smooth dogfish whereby the total 
weight of fins exceeds 12% of the total dressed weight of any 
smooth dogfish.  

D. It shall be unlawful to possess, on board a vessel, or to 
land in Virginia any species of shark, after NOAA Fisheries 
has closed the fishery for that species in federal waters. 

E. There are no commercial trip limits or possession limits 
for smooth dogfish or sharks on the lists of commercially 
permitted pelagic species or commercially permitted small 
coastal species.  

F. Except as described in this section, it shall be unlawful 
for any person to take, harvest, land, or possess in Virginia 
any blacktip, bull, great hammerhead, lemon, nurse, scalloped 
hammerhead, silky, smooth hammerhead, spinner, or tiger 
shark from May 15 through July 15. These sharks may be 
transported by vessel, in Virginia waters, during the closed 
season provided the sharks were caught in a legal manner 
consistent with federal regulations outside Virginia waters 
and: 

1. The vessel does not engage in fishing, in Virginia 
waters, while possessing the above species; and  
2. All fishing gear aboard the vessel is stowed and not 
available for immediate use. 

G. It shall be unlawful for any person to retain, possess, or 
purchase any commercially prohibited shark or any research 
only shark, except as provided in subsection I of this section. 

H. All sharks harvested from state waters or federal waters, 
for commercial purposes, shall only be sold to a federally 
permitted shark dealer. 

I. The commissioner may grant exemptions from the 
seasonal closure, quota, possession limit, size limit, gear 
restrictions, and prohibited species restrictions. Exemptions 
shall be granted only for display or research purposes. Any 
person granted an exemption for the harvest of any shark for 
research or display shall report the species, weight, location 
caught, and gear used for each shark collected within 30 days. 
Any person granted a permit to possess any shark for research 
or display shall provide the commissioner, on an annual basis, 
information on the location and status of the shark throughout 
the life of the shark. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3939; Filed December 18, 2013, 3:34 p.m.  

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-490. Pertaining to Sharks 
(amending 4VAC20-490-10, 4VAC20-490-42).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Dates: January 1, 2014, through January 30, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 
Preamble: 

This emergency action changes the amount in pounds, 
from 3,300 to 4,000, of spiny dogfish that can be taken, 
possessed aboard any vessel, or landed for commercial 
purposes in Virginia.  

4VAC20-490-10. Purpose.  
The purpose of this emergency chapter is to ensure the 

conservation of shark resources by preventing overfishing by 
commercial and recreational fisheries and to control the 
practice of finning.  
4VAC20-490-42. Spiny dogfish commercial quota and 
catch limitations.  

A. For the 12-month period of May 1, 2013, through April 
30, 2014, the spiny dogfish commercial landings quota shall 
be limited to 4,408,894 pounds. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, possess aboard 
any vessel or land in Virginia any spiny dogfish harvested 
from federal waters for commercial purposes after it has been 
announced that the federal quota for spiny dogfish has been 
taken. 
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C. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, possess aboard 
any vessel or land in Virginia more than 3,300 4,000 pounds 
of spiny dogfish per day for commercial purposes. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or to land in 
Virginia any spiny dogfish for commercial purposes after the 
quota specified in subsection A of this section has been 
landed and announced as such. 

E. Any spiny dogfish harvested from state waters or federal 
waters, for commercial purposes, shall only be sold to a 
federally permitted dealer. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive 
any spiny dogfish after any commercial harvest or landing 
quota described in this section has been attained and 
announced as such. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3941; Filed December 18, 2013, 4:03 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 
Commission is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-500. Pertaining to the 
Catching of Eels (amending 4VAC20-500-20, 4VAC20-
500-40, 4VAC20-500-50, 4VAC20-500-55, 4VAC20-500-
60; adding 4VAC20-500-35, 4VAC20-500-45).  
Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 1, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments establish (i) a gear-specific harvest 
season closure for all commercial gears, except pots and 
traps, from September 1 through December 31; (ii) a 
recreational possession limit of 25 eels per individual per 
day; (iii) a 9-inch minimum recreational and commercial 
size limit; and (iv) a charter and head boat possession 
limit of 50 eels per captain and crew per day. 

4VAC20-500-20. Definition.  
The following word words and term, terms when used in 

this chapter, shall have the following meaning meanings 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.  

"Eel" or "eels," as described in this chapter, means the eel 
species Anguilla rostrata. 

"Elver" means any eel of less than six inches in total length. 
"Land" or "landing" means to enter port with eels on board 

any boat or vessel, to begin offloading eels, or to offload eels. 

4VAC20-500-35. Minimum size limit. 
It shall be unlawful for any individual to take, catch, 

possess, or land any eels less than nine inches in length.  
4VAC20-500-40. Elvers.  

It shall be unlawful for any person individual to possess 
elvers; provided, however, that elvers may be taken (i) for 
research only by duly appointed representatives of any 
institution of higher education in Virginia and by other parties 
when specifically authorized in writing by the Commissioner 
of Marine Resources or (ii) by those persons individuals who 
are approved for a permit for eel aquaculture by the 
commission.  
4VAC20-500-45. Commercial season. 

It shall be unlawful for any individual to harvest, take, catch, 
possess, or land any eels from September 1 through 
December 31 from any commercial gear, except from pots 
and traps. 
4VAC20-500-50. Minimum mesh size.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person individual to place, 
set, or fish any eel pot in Virginia tidal waters which has a 
mesh less than 1/2-inch by 1/2-inch.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person individual to place, 
set, or fish any 1/2-inch by 1/2-inch mesh rectangular or 
square eel pot unless such pot contains at least one 
unrestricted 4-inch by 4-inch escape panel consisting of 1/2-
inch by 1-inch mesh. In addition, it shall be unlawful for any 
person individual to place, set, or fish any 1/2-inch by 1/2-
inch mesh cylindrical eel pot unless such pot contains at least 
one unrestricted 4-inch square escape panel of 1/2-inch by 1-
inch mesh.  
4VAC20-500-55. Possession limit.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person individual fishing with 
recreational hook and line, rod and reel, spear, gig, or other 
recreational gear to possess more than 50 25 eels per day, 
except as described in subsection B of this section for charter 
boats and head boats. When fishing is from a boat or vessel 
where the entire catch is held in a common hold or container, 
the possession limit shall be for the boat or vessel and shall be 
equal to the number of persons individuals on board legally 
eligible to fish multiplied by 50 25, except as described in 
subsection B of this section for charter boats and head boats. 
The captain or operator of the boat or vessel shall be 
responsible for any boat or vessel possession limit. Any eel 
taken after the possession limit has been reached shall be 
returned to the water immediately. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any captain or mate of any legally 
licensed charter boat or head boat to possess more than 50 
eels per day. When fishing is from a charter boat or head 
boat, where the entire catch is held in a common hold or 
container, the possession limit shall be for the charter boat or 
head boat and shall be equal to the number of captains and 
mates on board legally eligible to fish multiplied by 50. 
Passengers on any charter boat or head boat shall possess no 
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more than 25 eels per passenger per day. The captain or 
operator of the charter boat or head boat shall be responsible 
for any possession limit. Any eel taken after the possession 
limit has been reached shall be returned to the water 
immediately. 

C. Possession of any quantity of eel which that exceeds the 
possession limit described in subsection A or B of this section 
shall be presumed to be for commercial purposes. 
4VAC20-500-60. Penalty.  

As set forth in § 28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person individual violating any provision of this chapter shall 
be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor, and a second or 
subsequent violation of any provision of this chapter 
committed by the same person individual within 12 months of 
a prior violation is a Class 1 misdemeanor.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3937; Filed December 18, 2013, 3:04 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 
Commission is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-900. Pertaining to Horseshoe 
Crab (amending 4VAC20-900-21, 4VAC20-900-25, 
4VAC20-900-35, 4VAC20-900-39, 4VAC20-900-45, 
4VAC20-900-50; adding 4VAC20-900-26; repealing 
4VAC20-900-36).  
Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 1, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 
Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 
betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) establish the 2014 Virginia 
horseshoe crab commercial quota as no greater than 
172,828 horseshoe crabs; (ii) establish a quota category-
specific licensing system; (iii) establish quota category-
specific daily vessel trip limits; (iv) establish a dredge 
gear prohibition in the Virginia Blue Crab Sanctuary 
Area; and (v) establish permit eligibility requirements for 
individuals who have received a horseshoe crab license 
or permit transfer from May 1, 2011, through December 
10, 2013.  

4VAC20-900-21. License Permit requirements and 
exemption. 

A. The taking by hand of as many as five horseshoe crabs in 
any one day only for personal use only noncommercial use 
shall be exempt from the licensing requirements. 

B. Except as provided for in 4VAC20-900-25 G 3, it It shall 
be unlawful for any boat or vessel individual to land 
horseshoe crabs in Virginia for commercial purposes without 
first obtaining either type of horseshoe crab endorsement 
license a horseshoe crab permit as described in this section. 
The A valid horseshoe crab endorsement license permit shall 
be required of each boat or vessel used individual to land 
horseshoe crabs for commercial purposes. Possession of any 
quantity of horseshoe crabs that exceeds the limit described in 
subsection A of this section shall be presumed for 
commercial purposes. There shall be no fee for the license. 

C. To be eligible for an unrestricted horseshoe crab 
endorsement license, the boat or vessel shall have landed and 
sold at least 500 horseshoe crabs in Virginia in at least one 
year during the period 1998 through 2000. 

1. The owner shall complete an application for each boat or 
vessel by providing to the Marine Resources Commission 
a notarized and signed statement of applicant's name, 
address, and telephone number, and boat or vessel name 
and its registration or documentation number. 
2. The owner shall complete a notarized authorization to 
allow the Marine Resources Commission to obtain copies 
of landings data from the National Marine Fisheries 
Service. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any individual to take, catch, 
possess, or land any horseshoe crab by trawl gear without 
first having obtained a Horseshoe Crab Trawl Permit. The 
Horseshoe Crab Trawl Permit shall only be issued to a 
Virginia registered commercial fisherman who was issued an 
unrestricted horseshoe crab endorsement license or horseshoe 
crab bycatch permit prior to the license moratorium of May 1, 
2011, and meets either of the criteria in subdivision 1 or 2 of 
this subsection: 

1. Shall have documentation of a minimum harvest amount 
of one horseshoe crab at any time from January 1, 1993, 
through December 31, 2010, by trawl gear in the 
commission's mandatory harvest reporting system; or 
2. Shall have documentation of a minimum harvest amount 
of one horseshoe crab at any time from January 1, 2004, 
through December 31, 2010, by trawl gear in the federal 
dealer reports to the Standard Atlantic Fisheries 
Information System. 

D. To be eligible for a restricted horseshoe crab 
endorsement license that is limited to using a crab dredge to 
harvest horseshoe crabs, a Virginia registered commercial 
fisherman's boat or vessel shall have landed at least 10,000 
pounds of whelk in any one year from 2002 through 2005. 

1. The Virginia registered commercial fisherman shall 
complete an application for each boat or vessel by 
providing to the Marine Resources Commission a 
notarized and signed statement of applicant's name, 
address, and telephone number, and boat or vessel name 
and its registration or documentation number. 
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2. The Virginia registered commercial fisherman shall 
complete a notarized authorization to allow the Marine 
Resources Commission to obtain copies of whelk landings 
data from the National Marine Fisheries Service.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any individual to take, catch, 
possess, or land any horseshoe crab by dredge gear without 
first having obtained either and only one of the following two 
available horseshoe crab dredge permits: a Horseshoe Crab 
Class A Dredge Permit or a Horseshoe Crab Class B Dredge 
Permit. The Horseshoe Crab Class A Dredge Permit shall 
only be issued to a Virginia registered commercial fisherman 
who was issued an unrestricted horseshoe crab endorsement 
license prior to the license moratorium of May 1, 2011, and 
meets either of the criteria in subdivision 1 or 2 of this 
subsection. The Horseshoe Crab Class B Dredge Permit shall 
only be issued to a Virginia registered commercial fisherman 
who was issued a restricted horseshoe crab endorsement 
license or a horseshoe crab bycatch permit prior to the license 
moratorium of May 1, 2011, and meets either of the criteria in 
subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection. 

1. Shall have documentation of a minimum harvest amount 
of one horseshoe crab at any time from January 1, 1993, 
through December 31, 2010, by dredge gear in the 
commission's mandatory harvest reporting system; or 
2. Shall have documentation of a minimum harvest amount 
of one horseshoe crab at any time from January 1, 2004, 
through December 31, 2010, by dredge gear in the federal 
dealer reports to the Standard Atlantic Fisheries 
Information System. 

E. To be eligible for a horseshoe crab hand harvester permit, 
the individual shall have been issued It shall be unlawful for 
any individual to take, catch, possess, or land any horseshoe 
crab by hand harvest without first having obtained a 
Horseshoe Crab Hand Harvest Permit. The Horseshoe Crab 
Hand Harvest Permit shall only be issued to a Virginia 
registered commercial fisherman who was issued a horseshoe 
crab hand harvester permit, prior to the license moratorium of 
May 1, 2011, and shall have documented on Virginia 
mandatory harvest reporting forms a minimum harvest of one 
horseshoe crab by hand harvest methods, at any time from 
1993 through 2010. and shall have documentation of a 
minimum harvest amount of one horseshoe crab at any time 
from January 1, 1993, through December 31, 2010, by hand 
harvest in the commission's mandatory harvest reporting 
system. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any registered commercial 
fisherman or seafood landing licensee who does not possess 
any type of a valid horseshoe crab endorsement license or 
horseshoe crab hand harvester permit to possess horseshoe 
crabs, without first obtaining a valid horseshoe crab bycatch 
permit from the Marine Resources Commission. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any individual to take, catch, 
possess, or land any horseshoe crab by pound net without first 
having obtained a Horseshoe Crab Pound Net Permit. The 

Horseshoe Crab Pound Net Permit shall only be issued to a 
Virginia registered commercial fisherman who was issued an 
unrestricted horseshoe crab endorsement license or horseshoe 
crab bycatch permit prior to the license moratorium of May 1, 
2011, and meets either of the criteria in subdivision 1 or 2 of 
this subsection: 

1. Shall have documentation of a minimum harvest amount 
of one horseshoe crab at any time from January 1, 1993, 
through December 31, 2010, by pound net in the 
commission's mandatory harvest reporting system; or 
2. Shall have documentation of a minimum harvest amount 
of one horseshoe crab at any time from January 1, 2004, 
through December 31, 2010, by pound net in the federal 
dealer reports to the Standard Atlantic Fisheries 
Information System. 

G. It shall be unlawful for any individual to take, catch, 
possess, or land any horseshoe crab by any method other than 
trawl, dredge, pound net, or hand harvest without first having 
obtained a Horseshoe Crab General Category Permit. The 
Horseshoe Crab General Category Permit shall only be issued 
to a Virginia registered commercial fisherman who was 
issued an unrestricted horseshoe crab endorsement license or 
horseshoe crab bycatch permit prior to the license moratorium 
of May 1, 2011. 
4VAC20-900-25. Commercial fisheries management 
measures.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person individual to harvest 
horseshoe crabs from any shore or tidal waters of Virginia 
within 1,000 feet in any direction of the mean low water line 
from May 1 through June 7. The harvests of horseshoe crabs 
for biomedical use shall not be subject to this limitation. 

B. From January 1 through June 7 of each year, it shall be 
unlawful for any person individual to land, in Virginia, any 
horseshoe crab harvested from federal waters. 

C. Harvests for biomedical purposes shall require a special 
permit issued by the Commissioner of Marine Resources, and 
all crabs taken pursuant to such permit shall be returned to the 
same waters from which they were collected. 

D. The commercial quota of horseshoe crab for 2013 2014 
shall be 172,828 horseshoe crabs. Additional quantities of 
horseshoe crab may be transferred to Virginia by other 
jurisdictions, in accordance with the provisions of Addendum 
I to the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission Fishery 
Management Plan for Horseshoe Crab, April 2000, provided 
that the combined total of the commercial quota and transfer 
from other jurisdictions shall not exceed 355,000 horseshoe 
crabs. It shall be unlawful for any person individual to harvest 
from Virginia waters, or to land in Virginia, any horseshoe 
crab for commercial purposes after any calendar-year 
commercial quota of horseshoe crab has been attained and 
announced as such. 
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1. The horseshoe crab commercial trawl gear quota is equal 
to 12.488% of the commercial quota of horseshoe crabs 
described in this subsection or 21,583 horseshoe crabs. 
2. The horseshoe crab commercial dredge gear quota is 
equal to 40.348% of the commercial quota of horseshoe 
crabs described in this subsection or 69,733 horseshoe 
crabs. 
3. The horseshoe crab commercial hand harvest quota is 
equal to 22.095% of the commercial quota of horseshoe 
crabs described in this subsection or 38,186 horseshoe 
crabs. 
4. The horseshoe crab commercial pound net quota is equal 
to 18.142% of the commercial quota of horseshoe crabs 
described in this subsection or 31,354 horseshoe crabs. 
5. The horseshoe crab commercial general category quota 
is equal to 6.927% of the commercial quota of horseshoe 
crabs described in this subsection or 11,972 horseshoe 
crabs. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person individual to harvest 
or land horseshoe crabs during any calendar year from waters 
east of the COLREGS line Line by any gear after 81,331 
male horseshoe crabs have been landed and announced as 
such, and the following provisions shall also apply: 

1. It shall be unlawful for any person individual to harvest 
or land any female horseshoe crabs from waters east of the 
COLREGS line Line. 
2. It shall be unlawful for any person individual to harvest 
or land any amount of horseshoe crabs from waters east of 
the COLREGS line Line by any gear, except for trawl or 
dredge gear. 
3. It shall be unlawful for any valid Horseshoe Crab Trawl 
Permittee or Horseshoe Crab Class A Dredge Permittee to 
take, catch, possess, or land more than 1,250 male 
horseshoe crabs from waters east of the COLREGS Line 
when it is projected and announced that 65,065 male 
horseshoe crabs have been landed from waters east of the 
COLREGS Line. 
4. It shall be unlawful for any valid Horseshoe Crab Class 
B Dredge Permittee to take, catch, possess, or land more 
than 500 male horseshoe crabs from waters east of the 
COLREGS Line when it is projected and announced that 
65,065 male horseshoe crabs have been landed from waters 
east of the COLREGS Line. 

F. For the purposes of this regulation, no horseshoe crab 
shall be considered a male horseshoe crab unless it possesses 
at least one modified, hook-like appendage as its first pair of 
walking legs. 

G. Limitations on the daily harvest and possession of 
horseshoe crabs for any vessel described below are as 
follows: 

1. It shall be unlawful for any person who holds a valid 
unrestricted horseshoe crab endorsement license Horseshoe 

Crab Trawl Permittee, as described in 4VAC20-900-21 C, 
to possess aboard any vessel or to land any number of 
horseshoe crabs in excess of 2,500, except that when per 
day. When it is projected and announced that 80% of the 
horseshoe crab commercial trawl gear quota is has been 
taken, it shall be unlawful for any person who meets the 
requirements of 4VAC20-900-21 C and holds a valid 
horseshoe crab endorsement license valid Horseshoe Crab 
Trawl Permittee to possess aboard any vessel in Virginia or 
to land any number of horseshoe crabs in excess of 1,250 
per day. When it is projected and announced that 100% of 
the horseshoe crab commercial trawl quota is taken, it shall 
be unlawful for any valid Horseshoe Crab Trawl Permittee 
to possess or land any horseshoe crab taken by trawl gear. 
2. It shall be unlawful for any valid Horseshoe Crab Class 
A Dredge Permittee, as described in 4VAC20-900-21 D, to 
possess aboard any vessel or to land any number of 
horseshoe crabs in excess of 2,500 per day. When it is 
projected and announced that 80% of the horseshoe crab 
commercial dredge gear quota has been taken, it shall be 
unlawful for any valid Horseshoe Crab Class A Dredge 
Permittee to possess aboard any vessel or to land any 
number of horseshoe crabs in excess of 1,250 per day. 
When it is projected and announced that 100% of the 
horseshoe crab commercial dredge gear quota has been 
taken, it shall be unlawful for any valid Horseshoe Crab 
Class A Dredge Permittee to possess or land any horseshoe 
crab taken by dredge gear. 
2. 3. It shall be unlawful for any person who holds a valid 
restricted horseshoe crab endorsement license Horseshoe 
Crab Class B Dredge Permittee, as described in 4VAC20-
900-21 D, to possess aboard any vessel or to land any 
number of horseshoe crabs in excess of 1,000, except that 
when per day. When it is projected and announced that 
80% of the horseshoe crab commercial dredge gear quota 
is has been taken, it shall be unlawful for any person who 
meets the requirements of 4VAC20-900-21 D, and holds a 
valid horseshoe crab endorsement license Horseshoe Crab 
Class B Dredge Permittee to possess aboard any vessel in 
Virginia or to land any number of horseshoe crabs in 
excess of 500 per day. The harvest of horseshoe crabs, 
described in this subdivision, shall be restricted to using 
only crab dredge. When it is projected and announced that 
100% of the horseshoe crab commercial dredge gear quota 
has been taken, it shall be unlawful for any valid 
Horseshoe Crab Class B Dredge Permittee to possess or 
land any horseshoe crab taken by dredge gear. 
3. It shall be unlawful for a horseshoe crab bycatch 
permittee to possess aboard any vessel more than 500 
horseshoe crabs or for any vessel to land any number of 
horseshoe crabs in excess of 500 per day except as 
described in subdivision 4 of this subsection. When it is 
projected and announced that 80% of the commercial quota 
is taken, it shall be unlawful for any person with a 
horseshoe crab bycatch permit to possess aboard any vessel 
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more than 250 horseshoe crabs or for any vessel to land 
any number of horseshoe crabs in excess of 250 per day 
except as described in subdivision 4 of this subsection. 
4. It shall be unlawful for any valid Horseshoe Crab Hand 
Harvest Permittee, as described in 4VAC20-900-21 E, to 
possess aboard any vessel or to land any number of 
horseshoe crabs in excess of 500 per day. When it is 
projected and announced that 80% of the horseshoe crab 
commercial hand harvest quota has been taken, it shall be 
unlawful for any valid Horseshoe Crab Hand Harvest 
Permittee to possess aboard any vessel or to land any 
number of horseshoe crabs in excess of 250 per day. When 
it is projected and announced that 100% of the horseshoe 
crab commercial hand harvest quota has been taken, it shall 
be unlawful for any valid Horseshoe Crab Hand Harvest 
Permittee to possess or land any horseshoe crab taken by 
hand. 
5. It shall be unlawful for any valid Horseshoe Crab Pound 
Net Permittee, as described in 4VAC20-900-21 F, to 
possess aboard any vessel or to land any number of 
horseshoe crabs in excess of 500 per day. When it is 
projected and announced that 80% of the horseshoe crab 
commercial pound net quota has been taken, it shall be 
unlawful for any valid Horseshoe Crab Pound Net 
Permittee to possess aboard any vessel or to land any 
number of horseshoe crabs in excess of 250 per day. When 
it is projected and announced that 100% of the horseshoe 
crab commercial pound net quota has been taken, it shall 
be unlawful for any valid Horseshoe Crab Pound Net 
Permittee to possess or land any horseshoe crab taken by 
pound net. 
6. It shall be unlawful for any valid Horseshoe Crab 
General Category Permittee, as described in 4VAC20-900-
21 G, to possess aboard any vessel or to land any number 
of horseshoe crabs in excess of 250 per day. When it is 
projected and announced that 80% of the horseshoe crab 
commercial general category quota has been taken, it shall 
be unlawful for any valid Horseshoe Crab General 
Category Permittee to possess aboard any vessel or to land 
any number of horseshoe crabs in excess of 125 per day. 
When it is projected and announced that 100% of the 
horseshoe crab commercial general category quota has 
been taken, it shall be unlawful for any valid Horseshoe 
Crab General Category Permittee to possess or land any 
horseshoe crab taken by gear other than trawl, dredge, 
pound net, or by hand. 
4. 7. It shall be unlawful for any two horseshoe crab 
bycatch permittees valid Horseshoe Crab Hand Harvest 
Permittees when fishing from the same boat or vessel to 
possess or land more than 1,000 horseshoe crabs per day. 
When it is projected and announced that 80% of the 
horseshoe crab commercial hand harvest quota is has been 
taken, it shall be unlawful for any two horseshoe crab 
bycatch permittees valid Horseshoe Crab Hand Harvest 

Permittees fishing from the same boat or vessel to possess 
or land more than 500 horseshoe crabs per day. 
5. It shall be unlawful for any registered commercial 
fisherman or seafood landing licensee who does not 
possess a horseshoe crab endorsement license or a 
horseshoe crab bycatch permit to possess any horseshoe 
crabs. 
6. 8. It shall be unlawful for any person who possesses a 
horseshoe crab endorsement license or a horseshoe crab 
bycatch permit valid Horseshoe Crab General Category 
Permittee to harvest horseshoe crabs by gill net, except as 
described in this subdivision. 

a. Horseshoe crabs shall only be harvested from a gill 
net, daily, after sunrise and before sunset. 
b. It shall be unlawful for any person to land horseshoe 
crabs caught by a gill net in excess of 250 horseshoe 
crabs per day. 
c. b. It shall be unlawful for any person individual to 
harvest or possess horseshoe crabs taken by any gill net 
that has a stretched mesh measure equal to or greater than 
six inches, unless the twine size of that gill net is equal to 
or greater than 0.81 millimeters in diameter (0.031 
inches), and that person individual possesses his own 
valid commercial striped bass permit or his own black 
drum harvesting and selling permit, as well as either a 
horseshoe crab endorsement license or horseshoe crab 
bycatch permit. 

H. From April 1 through June 30, in the Toms Cove Area, it 
shall be unlawful for any person individual to place, set, or 
fish any gill net, except as described in this subsection. 

1. From April 1 through May 31, any gill net licensed as 
over 600 feet and up to 1,200 feet in length shall have at 
least one anchored end 800 feet from the mean low water 
line. 
2. From June 1 through June 30, it shall be unlawful to 
place, set, or fish any gill net after sunset or before sunrise. 

I. It shall be unlawful for any fisherman issued a horseshoe 
crab endorsement license valid Horseshoe Crab Trawl 
Permittee, Horseshoe Crab Class A Dredge Permittee, or 
Horseshoe Crab Class B Dredge Permittee to offload any 
horseshoe crabs between the hours of 10 p.m. and 7 a.m. 

J. When it is projected and announced that 65,065 of the 
commercial quota, as described in subsection E of this 
section, has been taken from waters east of the COLREGS 
Line, the limitations on the possession and landing of male 
horseshoe crabs are as follows:  

1. It shall be unlawful for any person who possesses a valid 
unrestricted horseshoe crab endorsement license to possess 
aboard any vessel in waters east of the COLREGS Line or 
to land more than 1,250 male horseshoe crabs per day. 
2. It shall be unlawful for any person who possesses a valid 
restricted horseshoe crab endorsement license to possess 
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aboard any vessel in waters east of the COLREGS Line or 
to land more than 500 male horseshoe crabs per day. 
3. It shall be unlawful for any person who possesses a valid 
horseshoe crab bycatch permit to possess aboard any vessel 
east of the COLREGS Line or to land more than 250 male 
horseshoe crabs per day. 
4. It shall be unlawful for any two horseshoe crab bycatch 
permittees fishing from the same boat or vessel, east of the 
COLREGS Line, to possess or land more than 500 male 
horseshoe crabs per day. 

4VAC20-900-26. Commercial gear restricted area. 
It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest any horseshoe 

crabs by dredge gear within Virginia Blue Crab Sanctuary 
Area 2 as described in 4VAC20-752-20. The Virginia Blue 
Crab Sanctuary Area 2 consists of all tidal waters of the 
Chesapeake Bay that are bounded by a line beginning at the 
mean low water line of Willoughby Spit at its intersection 
with the center line of the Hampton Roads Bridge Tunnel 
facility, Latitude 36° 58.0456514' N, Longitude 76° 
17.8459721' W; thence in a northwesterly direction to a point 
200 feet offshore of mean low water, Latitude 36° 
58.0637717' N, Longitude 76° 17.8812821' W; thence and 
following a line in a general easterly direction, said line being 
200 feet offshore of the mean low water line, to a point on 
Ocean View Fishing Pier (formerly Harrison's Fishing Pier), 
Latitude 36° 57.6985477' N, Longitude 76° 15.5855211' W; 
thence northeasterly to Thimble Shoal Light, Latitude 37° 
00.8708333' N, Longitude 76° 14.3970000' W; thence 
northeasterly to Cape Charles Lighthouse, Latitude 37° 
07.3743333' N, Longitude 75° 54.3898333' W; thence 
southwesterly along the COLREGS Line to its intersection 
with the mean low water line of Cape Henry, Latitude 36° 
55.6885268' N, Longitude 76° 00.3772955' W; thence, in a 
general westerly direction, following the mean low water line 
of the Chesapeake Bay, crossing the mouth of the Lynnhaven 
River along the north side of the Lesner Bridge and the mouth 
of Little Creek at the offshore ends of the stone breakwaters 
and continuing along said mean low water line to a point at its 
intersection with the center line of the Hampton Roads Bridge 
Tunnel facility, said point being the point of beginning.  
4VAC20-900-35. Monitoring requirements.  

A. Any person individual harvesting or landing horseshoe 
crabs in Virginia shall report monthly on forms provided by 
the Marine Resources Commission all harvests of horseshoe 
crabs including, but not limited to, bait fisheries, bycatch, 
biomedical industry, and scientific and educational research 
harvests. Reporting requirements shall consist of numbers and 
pounds landed by sex, harvest method and harvest location. 

B. It shall be unlawful for a restricted or unrestricted 
horseshoe crab endorsement license holder any valid 
Horseshoe Crab Trawl Permittee, Horseshoe Crab Class A 
Dredge Permittee, or Horseshoe Crab Class B Dredge 
Permittee to fail to contact the Marine Resources Operations 
Station prior to the vessel issued a horseshoe crab 

endorsement license offloading horseshoe crabs. The 
horseshoe crab endorsement license holder permittee shall 
provide the Marine Resources Commission the name of the 
vessel and its captain and the anticipated or approximate 
offloading time and site. Following offloading, the horseshoe 
crab endorsement license holder permittee shall contact the 
Marine Resources Operation Station and provide the total 
number of horseshoe crabs landed, gear type, and location of 
harvest. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any horseshoe crab bycatch 
permittee or horseshoe crab hand harvester permittee valid 
Horseshoe Crab Pound Net Permittee, Horseshoe Crab Hand 
Harvest Permittee, or Horseshoe Crab General Category 
Permittee to fail to contact the Virginia Marine Resources 
Commission Interactive-Voice-Response (IVR) System 
within 24 hours of landing and provide his Commercial 
Fisherman Registration License number, and the time, date, 
number of horseshoe crabs landed, gear type, and location of 
harvest. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person individual, firm, or 
corporation to buy any horseshoe crabs from any lawful 
harvester on or after July 1, 2007, without first having 
obtained a Horseshoe Crab Buying Permit from the Marine 
Resources Commission. The permit application shall be 
completed in full by the licensed seafood buyer, and a copy of 
the permit shall be kept in possession of the licensed buyer 
while buying or possessing horseshoe crabs. 

E. Any licensed seafood buyer permitted to purchase 
horseshoe crabs shall provide written reports to the Marine 
Resources Commission of daily purchases and harvest 
information on forms provided by the Marine Resources 
Commission. Such information shall include the date of the 
purchase, the buyer's horseshoe crab permit number and 
harvester's Commercial Fisherman Registration License 
number, gear type used, water area fished, city or county of 
landing, and number of female horseshoe crabs and male 
horseshoe crabs purchased. These reports of any current 
weekly purchases shall be completed in full and submitted to 
the Marine Resources Commission no later than Thursday of 
the following week. In addition, once it has been projected 
and announced that 85% of the commercial quota of 
horseshoe crab has been landed or 69,131 of the commercial 
quota of horseshoe crab established for the horseshoe crab 
harvest 65,065 male horseshoe crabs have been landed from 
waters east of the COLREGS Line has been landed, each 
permitted buyer shall call the Marine Resources 
Commission's IVR on a daily basis to report his name and 
permit number, date, number of female horseshoe crabs and 
number of male horseshoe crabs purchased, gear used, and 
water area fished by the harvester. 

F. Persons Individuals harvesting horseshoe crabs for 
biomedical use and owners of facilities using horseshoe crabs 
for biomedical purposes shall monitor and report monthly to 
the Marine Resources Commission all harvests or purchases 
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of horseshoe crabs and the percentage of mortality up to the 
point of release including that mortality which that occurs 
during harvest, shipping, handling, and bleeding. 

G. Owners of biomedical facilities using horseshoe crabs 
shall participate in the tagging program of the Marine 
Resources Commission to evaluate the post-release mortality 
of horseshoe crabs. 

H. Monthly reports shall be due to the Marine Resources 
Commission no later than the fifth day of the following 
month. 
4VAC20-900-36. Quota allocation. (Repealed.) 

A. When it has been projected and announced that 40.348% 
of the commercial quota, as described in 4VAC20-900-25 D, 
has been landed by dredge gears, it shall be unlawful for any 
person to harvest or land horseshoe crabs caught by dredge 
gears. 

B. When it has been projected and announced that 12.488% 
of the commercial quota, as described in 4VAC20-900-25 D, 
has been landed by trawl gears, it shall be unlawful for any 
person to harvest or land horseshoe crabs caught by trawl 
gears. 

C. When it has been projected and announced that 22.095% 
of the commercial quota, as described in 4VAC20-900-25 D, 
has been landed by horseshoe crab hand harvester permittees, 
it shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or land 
horseshoe crabs caught by hand harvesting. 

D. When it has been projected and announced that 18.142% 
of the commercial quota, as described in 4VAC20-900-25 D, 
has been landed by pound nets, it shall be unlawful for any 
person to harvest or land horseshoe crabs caught by pound 
net. 

E. When it has been projected and announced that 6.927% 
of the commercial quota, as described in 4VAC20-900-25 D, 
has been landed by gears not described in subsections A 
through D of this section, it shall be unlawful for any person 
to harvest or land horseshoe crabs by gears not described in 
subsections A through D of this section. 
4VAC20-900-39. Permit transfers. 

A. The commissioner or his designee may approve transfers 
of a horseshoe crab license or permit, as described in 
4VAC20-900-21, to any individual who meets any of the 
following criteria: 

1. Demonstrates a significant hardship on the basis of 
health and provides the commissioner documentation by an 
attending physician of the medical condition. 
2. Demonstrates a significant hardship on the basis of a call 
to active military duty and provides the commissioner an 
explanation in writing and copy of the military orders for 
active duty. 
3. Documents the death of an immediate family member 
eligible for a horseshoe crab license or permit and 

possessing a legal Commercial Fisherman Registration 
License. 

B. The documented harvest history of a former horseshoe 
crab licensee or permittee, in the commission's mandatory 
harvest reporting system, whose horseshoe crab license or 
permit has been transferred in accordance with subsection A 
of this section from May 1, 2011, through December 10, 
2013, shall be considered when determining permit 
requirements of any individual receiving the transferred 
license or permit. 
4VAC20-900-45. Requirements of authorized agents. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person individual to serve as 
an agent for a horseshoe crab hand harvest permittee. 

B. Any person individual serving as an agent to harvest 
horseshoe crabs for any lawful licensed or permitted 
horseshoe crab fisherman, except as described in subsection 
A of this section, shall be limited to the use of only one 
registered commercial fisherman's horseshoe crab license or 
permit. 
4VAC20-900-50. Penalty. 

As set forth in § 28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person individual violating any provision of this chapter shall 
be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor, and a second or 
subsequent violation of any provision of this chapter 
committed by the same person individual within 12 months of 
a prior violation is a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3938; Filed December 19, 2013, 12:07 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-110. Rules Relating to 
Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Private 
Security Services Business Personnel (repealing 6VAC20-
110-10 through 6VAC20-110-90).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 9.1-102 and 9.1-141 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2014. 
Effective Date: February 27, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Lisa McGee, Regulatory Manager, 
Department of Criminal Justice Services, 1100 Bank Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2419, FAX (804) 
786-6344, or email lisa.mcgee@dcjs.virginia.gov. 
Basis: The Governor's 2012 Regulatory Reform Initiative 
instructed all agencies to conduct a comprehensive review of 
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regulations currently in place and repeal regulations that are 
unnecessary or no longer in use. These regulations have been 
replaced by current regulations promulgated pursuant to § 
9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia and in accordance with the § 
2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
Purpose: The regulatory chapter no longer serves its intended 
purpose and was replaced by newly promulgated regulations 
in July 1994. Repealing these regulations is not expected to 
have any impact on public health, safety, or welfare.  
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The department is 
seeking to repeal the entire chapter 6VAC20-110. These 
regulations have not been enforced since they were replaced 
with a new chapter, 6VAC20-170, in 1994, which has since 
been repealed and replaced with the current chapter 6VAC20-
171. 
Substance: This action repeals existing regulations because 
they have been superseded and are therefore obsolete. 
Issues: These regulations have not been enforced since they 
were replaced in 1994. 6VAC20-171 is in effect and governs 
the private security services industry, and these regulations 
are obsolete. The advantage to the public and the agency of 
repealing these regulations is that such action would eliminate 
unnecessary regulations. There are no known disadvantages 
to the public or the agency. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Criminal Justice Services Board (Board) proposes to repeal 
this regulation. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. According to the Department of 
Criminal Justice Services, the Rules Relating to Compulsory 
Minimum Training Standards for Private Securities Business 
Personnel (6VAC20-110) became obsolete in 1994 when they 
were replaced by the Regulations Relating to Private Security 
Services (6VAC20-170), which included the training 
standards for private security services business personnel. 
Thus these regulations have not been in use since 1994 and 
repealing them will have no impact beyond helping eliminate 
potential confusion by readers of the administrative code.1 
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not directly affect any businesses or 
entities. 
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed repeal does not 
disproportionately affect particular localities. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed repeal will 
not affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed repeal will not significantly affect the use and value 
of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
repeal will not affect costs for small businesses. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed repeal does not adversely 
affect small businesses. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed repeal does 
not affect real estate development costs. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 
__________________________________________________________ 
1 The Regulations Relating to Private Security Services (6VAC20-170) was 
subsequently repealed in 2000 and replaced with Regulations Relating to 
Private Security Services (6VAC20-171), which are currently in effect. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's economic impact analysis: The Department of 
Criminal Justice Services concurs generally with the 
economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning and 
Budget. 
Summary: 

Pursuant to the Governor's 2012 Regulatory Reform 
Initiative, the amendments repeal regulations that are 
unnecessary because they are no longer in use. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3824; Filed December 18, 2013, 1:52 p.m.  
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FORENSIC SCIENCE BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 6VAC40-50. Regulations for the 
Approval of Marijuana Field Tests for Detection of 
Marijuana Plant Material (amending 6VAC40-50-10 
through 6VAC40-50-60, 6VAC40-50-80).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 9.1-1110 and 19.2-188.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
Public Comment Deadline: February 13, 2014. 
Effective Date: February 27, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Stephanie Merritt, Department Counsel, 
Department of Forensic Science, 700 North Fifth Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2281, or email 
stephanie.merritt@dfs.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 19.2-188.1 of the Code of Virginia requires the 
department to evaluate and, where applicable, approve field 
tests for the detection of marijuana, pursuant to regulations 
adopted in accordance with the Administrative Process Act, 
for use by law-enforcement officials. Law-enforcement 
officers may then testify to the results of department-
approved field tests at certain misdemeanor trials. The 
proposed amendments to the Regulations for the Approval of 
Marijuana Field Tests for Detection of Marijuana Plant 
Material were adopted by the Forensic Science Board 
pursuant to §§ 9.1-1101 and 9.1-1110 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Purpose: The Regulations for the Approval of Marijuana 
Field Tests for Detection of Marijuana Plant Material 
(6VAC40-50) assist law enforcement and the criminal justice 
system by providing information critical to criminal charging 
decisions and subsequent trials for the misdemeanor 
possession of marijuana. This process positively impacts 
judicial economy and, in turn, due process. Ultimately, the 
ability of law enforcement and the courts to rely on the results 
of marijuana field tests protects the health, safety, and welfare 
of the citizens of the Commonwealth. 
Unlike the recent proposed amendments to the Regulations 
for the Approval of Field Tests for the Detection of Drugs 
(6VAC40-30), the department determined the marijuana field 
test kit manufacturers need not be required to pay the cost of 
the street drug preparation for this evaluation process because 
of the availability of the material, low material costs, relative 
stability in the field test market, and low rate of disapproval. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The proposed 
amendments to 6VAC40-50 are minor and do not alter 
existing, substantive procedures. In September 2012, the 
department conducted a periodic review of this regulation and 
received no public comment. Likewise, the Forensic Science 
Board discussed and voted to adopt these proposed 
amendments at its January 2013 public meeting, and no 

member of the public offered a comment. Therefore, the 
department does not anticipate these proposed amendments 
will be controversial. 
Substance: In addition to nonsubstantive verbiage changes 
regarding the "evaluation" process, the proposed amendments 
clarify the resubmission process by noting that resubmitted 
requests for approval shall be accompanied by a detailed 
explanation of all modifications or changes to the test, the test 
instructions, or the manufacturer's claims since the most 
recent evaluation. This procedure merely formalizes the 
current practice in which the department and field test 
manufacturers discuss issues surrounding the resubmission of 
a previously disapproved field test. 
Issues: The proposed clarification of the existing language 
and resubmission procedure will inform and, therefore, 
benefit the public, stakeholders, and kit manufacturers. The 
public generally benefits from the efficient and neutral field 
test evaluation process to the extent the proper use of 
department-approved marijuana field tests assist law-
enforcement officials with criminal charging decisions and 
facilitate the judicial process. To the extent the amendments 
require additional information from a kit manufacturer 
seeking to resubmit following a disapproval, which is rare for 
marijuana field tests, the proposed amendments could 
minimally impact four out-of-state kit manufacturers. The 
proposed amendments emphasize the neutrality of the 
evaluation process and clarify resubmission procedures after 
disapproval. The department is unaware of any disadvantages 
to the agency or the Commonwealth. The department is 
unaware of any disadvantage to the public or the 
Commonwealth and expects the proposed amendments will 
generally benefit the Commonwealth and its citizens. 
Small Business Impact Report of Findings: This regulatory 
action serves as the report of findings of the regulatory review 
pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Forensic Science Board (Board) proposes to amend language 
in these regulations in order to improve clarity. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. The Regulations for the 
Approval of Marijuana Field Tests for Detection of Marijuana 
Plant Material concern the evaluation/approval of marijuana 
field test kits submitted by manufacturers. The 
evaluation/approval of the marijuana field test kits assists law 
enforcement and the criminal justice system by providing 
information critical to criminal charging decisions and 
subsequent trials for the misdemeanor possession of 
marijuana. This process positively impacts judicial economy 
and, in turn, due process. Ultimately, the ability of law 
enforcement and the courts to rely on the results of marijuana 
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field tests protects the health, safety and welfare of the 
citizens of the Commonwealth. 
The Board's proposed language amendments do not change 
any requirements in practice. Thus, the proposed amendments 
will have no impact beyond providing a small benefit through 
a potential reduction in confusion concerning the 
requirements by readers of the regulations.  
Businesses and Entities Affected. The regulations affect the 
four manufacturers of marijuana field test kits who have or 
have indicated an interest in submitting field test kits for 
evaluation/approval. All four firms are located outside of the 
Commonwealth. 
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 
use and value of private property. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 
businesses within the Commonwealth. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 
significantly affect small businesses in the Commonwealth. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 
of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 
other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 
identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 
entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 
and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 
to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 
the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 
effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 
economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 
estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 
regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 
other administrative costs required for small businesses to 
comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 
skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 
documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 
regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 
of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 
achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 
economic impacts. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department of Forensic Science concurs with the economic 
impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 
Budget. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments change verbiage relating to the 
Department of Forensic Science's assessment of marijuana 
field test kits pursuant to § 19.2-188.1 of the Code of 
Virginia from an "approval" process to an "evaluation" 
process and clarify the procedure for resubmitting requests 
for evaluation after disapproval. 

Part I  
Definitions  

6VAC40-50-10. Definitions. 
The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Agency" means any federal, state or local government law-
enforcement organization in the Commonwealth.  

"Approval authority" means the Director of the Department 
of Forensic Science or his designee. 

"Department" means the Department of Forensic Science. 
"List of approved marijuana field tests" means a list of 

Duquenois-Levine field tests approved by the department for 
use by law-enforcement agencies in the Commonwealth and 
periodically published by the department in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations in accordance with § 19.2-188.1 B of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Manufacturer" means any entity that makes or assembles 
marijuana field tests or marijuana field test kits to be used by 
any law-enforcement officer or agency in the Commonwealth 
for the purpose of detecting marijuana plant material. 

"Manufacturer's instructions and claims" means those testing 
procedures, requirements, instructions, precautions and 
proposed conclusions that are published by the manufacturer 
and supplied with the marijuana field tests or marijuana field 
test kits. 

"Marijuana" means marijuana as defined in § 18.2-247 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Marijuana field test" means any Duquenois-Levine test unit 
used outside of a chemical laboratory environment to detect 
the presence of marijuana plant material. 

"Marijuana field test kit" means a combination of individual 
marijuana field test units. 

Part II  
Process for Approval of Field Tests  

6VAC40-50-20. Authority for approval. 
Section 19.2-188.1 B of the Code of Virginia provides that 

the Department of Forensic Science shall approve marijuana 
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field tests for use by law-enforcement officers to enable them 
to testify to the results obtained in any trial for a violation of 
§ 18.2-250.1 of the Code of Virginia regarding whether or not 
any plant material, the identity of which is at issue, is 
marijuana. 
6VAC40-50-30. Request for approval evaluation. 

A. Any manufacturer who wishes to have submit marijuana 
field tests or marijuana field test kits approved for evaluation 
pursuant to this chapter shall submit a written request for 
approval evaluation to the department director at the 
following address: 

Director 
Department of Forensic Science 
700 North Fifth Street 
Richmond, VA 23219 

B. Materials sufficient for at least 10 marijuana field tests 
shall be supplied by each manufacturer. The materials shall 
include all instructions, precautions, color charts, flow charts 
and the like which are provided with the marijuana field test 
or marijuana field test kit and that describe the use and 
interpretation of the tests. 

C. The manufacturer shall also include exact specifications 
as to the chemical composition of all chemicals or reagents 
used in the marijuana field tests. These shall include the 
volume or weight of the chemicals and the nature of their 
packaging. Material safety data sheets for each chemical or 
reagent shall be sufficient for this purpose. 

D. This approval The department's evaluation process may 
require up to 90 days from the receipt of the written request 
and all needed materials from the manufacturer. 

E. The department will use marijuana plant material to 
assess those marijuana field tests submitted for approval 
evaluation. In order to be approved, the marijuana field test 
must correctly and consistently react in a clearly observable 
fashion to the naked eye, and perform in accordance with 
manufacturer's instructions and claims. 
6VAC40-50-40. Notice of approval decision. 

The department will notify each manufacturer in writing of 
the approval or disapproval of each test for which approval 
evaluation was requested. Should any test not be approved, 
the manufacturer may resubmit their request for approval 
evaluation of that marijuana field test according to the 
previously outlined procedures at any time along with a 
detailed explanation of all alterations or changes to the test or 
related instructions or claims since the department's 
disapproval of the previously submitted test. 
6VAC40-50-50. Maintenance of approved status. 

The department may require that this approval evaluation be 
done as often as annually for routine purposes. If any 
modifications are made to an approved marijuana field test by 
the manufacturer, the department shall be notified in writing 
of the changes. If unreported modifications are discovered by 

the department, the department may require that all testing 
and approval evaluations be repeated for the particular 
manufacturers' approved marijuana field tests. The 
department shall notify the manufacturer in writing of this 
requirement. Any modified marijuana field test must be 
approved before it can be used in accordance with § 19.2-
188.1 B of the Code of Virginia. These changes shall include, 
but are not limited to, any chemical, procedural or 
instructional modifications made to the marijuana field test. 
6VAC40-50-60. Publication. 

Upon completion of such testing evaluations and in 
concurrence with the approval authority, the department will 
periodically publish a list of approved marijuana field tests in 
the General Notices section of the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. The department will also periodically publish 
the list on its website. The department may, in addition, 
provide copies of its approved list to any law-enforcement 
agency. The department may share any information or data 
developed from this testing with these agencies. 

Part III  
Fees  

6VAC40-50-80. Fees. 
Manufacturers will be charged a fee of $50 for each 

marijuana field test for which individual approval evaluation 
is requested. The department will evaluate review the 
manufacturers' manufacturer's request and notify them the 
manufacturer in writing of the amount due before testing 
evaluation begins. Manufacturers who wish to withdraw a 
request for approval evaluation shall immediately notify the 
department in writing of the amount due before testing 
begins. Manufacturers who wish to withdraw a request for 
approval shall immediately notify the department in writing. 
The department's assessment of the amount of payment 
required will be based upon a detailed evaluation review of 
the manufacturer's request and that amount will be final. 
Approval will not be granted The evaluation process will not 
be initiated before full payment is made to the Treasurer of 
Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3821; Filed December 19, 2013, 1:42 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-640. Regulations Governing 
Substitute Teachers (repealing 8VAC20-640-10).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-30 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
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Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2014. 
Effective Date: February 27, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Anne Wescott, Assistant Superintendent for 
Policy and Communications, Department of Education, 101 
North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2403, or email 
anne.wescott@doe.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
general authority for the Board of Education to promulgate 
such regulations as may be necessary to carry out its powers 
and duties and the provisions of Title 22.1 of the Code of 
Virginia.  
Chapter 644 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly removes the 
requirement that the Board of Education promulgate 
regulations concerning temporarily employed teachers.  
Purpose: The Governor's 2012 Regulatory Reform Initiative 
was established to repeal regulations that are unnecessary or 
no longer in use; reduce unnecessary regulatory burdens on 
individuals, businesses, and other regulated groups; and 
identify statutes that require unnecessary or overly 
burdensome regulations. Repealing this regulation is 
necessary to comport with the Governor's 2012 Regulatory 
Reform Initiative. Repealing this regulation will have no 
impact on the public health, safety, or welfare. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: Repeal of the 
regulation is not expected to be controversial because Chapter 
644 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly passed the General 
Assembly unanimously, and there was no opposition from 
any of the education organizations or other entities during the 
General Assembly discussion of the bill. The regulations 
simply duplicate the provisions already in the Code of 
Virginia. 
Substance: The amendments repeal regulations that duplicate 
provisions of the Code of Virginia. 
Issues: The advantage of repealing these regulations is that 
such action would eliminate unnecessary regulations. There 
are no disadvantages. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Education (Board) proposes to repeal these 
regulations. 
Result of Analysis. Repealing these regulations will have no 
economic impact.  
Estimated Economic Impact. The regulations in their entirety 
state that substitute teachers must: 1) be a minimum of 18 
years of age (21 years of age preferred), 2) possess good 
moral character, 3) have earned a high school diploma or 
GED, and 4) attend orientation to school policies and 
procedures conducted by the local school division. The 
minimum age and high school diploma/GED requirements 
are explicitly stated in Virginia Code § 22.1-302, while the 

moral character and orientation requirements are not. Thus by 
eliminating the regulations, the Board is eliminating 
requirements that substitute teachers "possess good moral 
character" and "attend orientation to school policies and 
procedures conducted by the local school division." The 
Department of Education does not expect this to have any 
practical impact, as most school divisions have historically 
had more stringent standards than what was contained within 
the regulation.  
Businesses and Entities Affected. These regulations concern 
the 132 public school divisions in the Commonwealth. 
Localities Particularly Affected. Repealing these regulations 
does not disproportionately affect particular localities. 
Projected Impact on Employment. Repealing these 
regulations will not affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Repealing 
these regulations will not affect the use and value of private 
property. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Repealing these 
regulations will not affect small businesses. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Repealing these regulations will not affect 
small businesses. 
Real Estate Development Costs. Repealing these regulations 
will not affect real estate development costs. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The State 
Board of Education concurs with the economic impact 
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analysis completed by the Department of Planning and 
Budget. 
Summary: 

Chapter 644 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly removed the 
mandate that the Board of Education promulgate 
regulations concerning temporarily employed teachers. 
This action repeals the associated regulations as 
unnecessary.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3778; Filed December 19, 2013, 11:07 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation  
Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-700. Regulations for 
Conducting Division-Level Academic Reviews (repealing 
8VAC20-700-10 through 8VAC20-700-50).  
Statutory Authority: § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2014. 
Effective Date: February 27, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Anne Wescott, Assistant Superintendent for 
Policy and Communications, Department of Education, 101 
North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2403, or email 
anne.wescott@doe.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
general authority for the Board of Education to promulgate 
such regulations as may be necessary to carry out its powers 
and duties and the provisions of Title 22.1 of the Code of 
Virginia.  
Purpose: The Governor's 2012 Regulatory Reform Initiative 
was established to repeal regulations that are unnecessary or 
no longer in use; reduce unnecessary regulatory burdens on 
individuals, businesses, and other regulated groups; and 
identify statutes that require unnecessary or overly 
burdensome regulations. Repealing this regulation is 
necessary to comport with the Governor's Regulatory Reform 
Initiative. Repealing these regulations will have no impact on 
public health, safety, or welfare. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: Repeal of the 
regulation is not expected to be controversial. The 
Department of Education has determined that the regulations 
duplicate provisions in guidance documents and are not 
needed. 
Substance: The amendments repeal regulations pertaining to 
conducting division-level academic reviews. 
Issues: The advantage of repealing these regulations is that 
such action would eliminate unnecessary regulations. There 
are no disadvantages. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Education (Board) proposes to repeal these 
regulations. 
Result of Analysis. Repealing these regulations will have no 
economic impact.  
Estimated Economic Impact. House Bill 1294 of the 2004 
Virginia General Assembly amended Code of Virginia 
§ 22.1-253.13:3 to allow the Board to conduct division-level 
academic reviews when the failure of schools within a 
division to achieve full accreditation status is related to 
division-level failure to implement the Standards of Quality. 
The bill also instructed the Board to promulgate regulations 
to implement the provisions of the act.  
Senate Bill 1201 of the 2013 Virginia General Assembly 
eliminated the statutory requirement for the Board to 
promulgate these regulations. The Board now proposes to 
repeal the regulations. According to the Department of 
Education, all of the provisions in the regulations are also in 
guidance documents. Thus repealing the regulations will not 
change the provisions in practice. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. These regulations concern 
the Board of Education, the Department of Education, and the 
132 public school divisions in the Commonwealth. 
Localities Particularly Affected. These regulations 
particularly affect localities with poorly performing schools. 
Projected Impact on Employment. Repealing these 
regulations is unlikely to affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Repealing 
these regulations is unlikely to affect the use and value of 
private property. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Repealing these 
regulations is unlikely to affect small businesses. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Repealing these regulations is unlikely to 
affect small businesses. 
Real Estate Development Costs. Repealing these regulations 
is unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
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regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency concurs with the economic impact analysis completed 
by the Department of Planning and Budget. 
Summary: 

This action repeals the Regulations for Conducting 
Division-Level Academic Reviews. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3791; Filed December 19, 2013, 11:08 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-710. Regulations Governing 
the Process for Submitting Proposals to Consolidate 
School Divisions (repealing 8VAC20-710-10, 8VAC20-
710-20, 8VAC20-710-30).  
Statutory Authority: § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2014. 
Effective Date: February 27, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Anne Wescott, Assistant Superintendent for 
Policy and Communications, Department of Education, 101 
North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2403, or email 
anne.wescott@doe.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
general authority for the Board of Education to promulgate 
such regulations as may be necessary to carry out its powers 
and duties and the provisions of Title 22.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. Chapter 644 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly removes 
the requirement that the Board of Education promulgate 
regulations concerning the process for submitting proposals 
for the consolidation of school divisions. 
Purpose: The Governor's 2012 Regulatory Reform Initiative 
was established to repeal regulations that are unnecessary or 
no longer in use; reduce unnecessary regulatory burdens on 
individuals, businesses, and other regulated groups; and 
identify statutes that require unnecessary or overly 
burdensome regulations. Repealing this regulation is 
necessary to comport with the Governor's Regulatory Reform 
Initiative. Repealing these regulations will have no impact on 
public health, safety, or welfare. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: Repeal of the 
regulation is not expected to be controversial. The regulations 
simply duplicate the provisions already in the Code of 
Virginia and are, therefore, unnecessary. 
Substance: The amendments repeal regulations that duplicate 
provisions of the Code of Virginia. 
Issues: The advantage of repealing these regulations is that 
such action would eliminate unnecessary regulations. There 
are no disadvantages. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Education proposes to repeal these regulations. 
Result of Analysis. Repealing these regulations will have no 
economic impact.  
Estimated Economic Impact. These regulations duplicate 
language in the Code of Virginia. Thus repealing these 
regulations will have no economic impact.  
Businesses and Entities Affected. Repealing these regulations 
will not affect the 132 public school divisions in the 
Commonwealth. 
Localities Particularly Affected. Repealing these regulations 
will not affect localities. 
Projected Impact on Employment. Repealing these 
regulations will not affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Repealing 
these regulations will not affect the use and value of private 
property. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Repealing these 
regulations will not affect small businesses. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Repealing these regulations will not affect 
small businesses. 
Real Estate Development Costs. Repealing these regulations 
will not affect real estate development costs. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
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reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency concurs with the economic impact analysis completed 
by the Department of Planning and Budget. 
Summary: 

Chapter 644 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly removed the 
mandate that the Board of Education promulgate 
regulations to provide a process whereby school divisions 
may submit proposals for the consolidation of school 
divisions to the Board of Education. This action repeals 
the associated regulations as unnecessary. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3792; Filed December 19, 2013, 11:09 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The State Air Pollution Control 
Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 
Titles of Regulations: 9VAC5-50. New and Modified 
Stationary Sources (Rev. I13) (amending 9VAC5-50-400, 
9VAC5-50-410). 
9VAC5-60. Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources (Rev. I13) 
(amending 9VAC5-60-60, 9VAC5-60-90, 9VAC5-60-100).  
Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 112 of the Clean Air Act; 40 CFR Parts 61 and 63. 
Effective Date: July 1, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 
698-4510, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 
karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 
The amendments update state regulations that incorporate 
by reference certain federal regulations to reflect the Code 
of Federal Regulations as published on July 1, 2013. The 
new standards in the federal regulations that are being 
incorporated into the regulations by reference are as 
follows: 
1. Three new source performance standards (NSPSs) are 
being modified: Subpart KKK, Equipment Leaks of VOC 
from Onshore Natural Gas Processing Plants for which 
Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced 
after January 20, 1984, and on or before August 23, 2011 
(40 CFR 60.630-636); Subpart LLL, SO2 Emissions from 
Onshore Natural Gas Processing for which Construction, 
Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after January 
20, 1984, and on or before August 23, 2011 (40 CFR 
60.640-648); and Subpart F, Portland Cement Plants (40 
CFR 60.60-60.66). Three NSPSs are being added: Subpart 
Ga, Nitric Acid Plants for which Construction, 
Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after October 
14, 2011 (40 CFR 60.70a-77a); Subpart OOOO, Crude Oil 
and Natural Gas Production, Transmission and 
Distribution (40 CFR 60.5360-5430); and Subpart Ja, 
Petroleum Refineries for which Construction, 
Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after May 14, 
2007 (40 CFR 60.100a-109a). 
2. One maximum achievable control technology (MACT) is 
being incorporated: Subpart DDDDD, Industrial, 
Commercial, and Institutional Boilers and Process 
Heaters--major sources (40 CFR 63.7480 through 40 CFR 
63.7575).  

Article 5  
Environmental Protection Agency Standards of Performance 

for New Stationary Sources (Rule 5-5)  
9VAC5-50-400. General. 

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Regulations on 
Standards of Performance for New Stationary Sources 
(NSPSs), as promulgated in 40 CFR Part 60 and designated in 
9VAC5-50-410 are, unless indicated otherwise, incorporated 
by reference into the regulations of the board as amended by 
the word or phrase substitutions given in 9VAC5-50-420. The 
complete text of the subparts in 9VAC5-50-410 incorporated 
herein by reference is contained in 40 CFR Part 60. The 40 
CFR section numbers appearing under each subpart in 
9VAC5-50-410 identify the specific provisions of the subpart 
incorporated by reference. The specific version of the 
provision adopted by reference shall be that contained in the 
CFR (2012) (2013) in effect July 1, 2012 2013. In making 
reference to the Code of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR Part 60 
means Part 60 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations; 
40 CFR 60.1 means 60.1 in Part 60 of Title 40 of the Code of 
Federal Regulations.  
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9VAC5-50-410. Designated standards of performance.  
Subpart A - General Provisions.  

40 CFR 60.1 through 40 CFR 60.3, 40 CFR 60.7, 40 CFR 
60.8, 40 CFR 60.11 through 40 CFR 60.15, 40 CFR 60.18 
through 40 CFR 60.19  
(applicability, definitions, units and abbreviations, 
notification and recordkeeping, performance tests, 
compliance, circumvention, monitoring requirements, 
modification, reconstruction, general control device 
requirements, and general notification and reporting 
requirements)  

Subpart B - Not applicable.  
Subpart C - Not applicable.  
Subpart Ca - Reserved.  
Subpart Cb - Not applicable.  
Subpart Cc - Not applicable.  
Subpart Cd - Not applicable.  
Subpart Ce - Not applicable.  
Subpart D - Fossil Fuel-Fired Steam Generators.  

40 CFR 60.40 through 40 CFR 60.46  
(fossil fuel-fired steam generating units of more than 250 
million Btu per hour heat input rate, and fossil fuel-fired 
and wood residue-fired steam generating units capable of 
firing fossil fuel at a heat input rate of more than 250 
million Btu per hour)  

Subpart Da - Electric Utility Steam Generating Units.  
40 CFR 60.40Da through 40 CFR 60.52Da 
(electric utility steam generating units capable of 
combusting more than 250 million Btu per hour heat input 
of fossil fuel (either alone or in combination with any other 
fuel), and for which construction, reconstruction, or 
modification is commenced after September 18, 1978)  

Subpart Db - Industrial-Commercial-Institutional Steam 
Generating Units.  

40 CFR 60.40b through 40 CFR 60.49b  
(industrial-commercial-institutional steam generating units 
which have a heat input capacity from combusted fuels of 
more than 100 million Btu per hour)  

Subpart Dc - Small Industrial-Commercial-Institutional 
Steam Generating Units.  

40 CFR 60.40c through 40 CFR 60.48c  
(industrial-commercial-institutional steam generating units 
which have a heat input capacity of 100 million Btu per 
hour or less, but greater than or equal to 10 million Btu per 
hour)  

Subpart E - Incinerators.  
40 CFR 60.50 through 40 CFR 60.54  
(incinerator units of more than 50 tons per day charging 
rate)  

Subpart Ea - Municipal Waste Combustors for which 
Construction is Commenced after December 20, 1989, and on 
or before September 20, 1994  

40 CFR 60.50a through 40 CFR 60.59a  
(municipal waste combustor units with a capacity greater 
than 250 tons per day of municipal-type solid waste or 
refuse-derived fuel)  

Subpart Eb - Large Municipal Combustors for which 
Construction is Commenced after September 20, 1994, or for 
which Modification or Reconstruction is Commenced after 
June 19, 1996  

40 CFR 60.50b through 40 CFR 60.59b  
(municipal waste combustor units with a capacity greater 
than 250 tons per day of municipal-type solid waste or 
refuse-derived fuel)  

Subpart Ec - Hospital/Medical/Infectious Waste Incinerators 
for which Construction is Commenced after June 20, 1996  

40 CFR 60.50c through 40 CFR 60.58c  
(hospital/medical/infectious waste incinerators that 
combust any amount of hospital waste and 
medical/infectious waste or both)  

Subpart F - Portland Cement Plants.  
40 CFR 60.60 through 40 CFR 60.64 40 CFR 60.66  
(kilns, clinker coolers, raw mill systems, finish mill 
systems, raw mill dryers, raw material storage, clinker 
storage, finished product storage, conveyor transfer points, 
bagging and bulk loading and unloading systems)  

Subpart G - Nitric Acid Plants.  
40 CFR 60.70 through 40 CFR 60.74  
(nitric acid production units)  

Subpart Ga - Nitric Acid Plants for which Construction, 
Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after October 
14, 2011. 

40 CFR 60.70a through 40 CFR 60.77a 
(nitric acid production units producing weak nitric acid by 
either the pressure or atmospheric pressure process) 

Subpart H - Sulfuric Acid Plants.  
40 CFR 60.80 through 40 CFR 60.85  
(sulfuric acid production units)  

Subpart I - Hot Mix Asphalt Facilities.  
40 CFR 60.90 through 40 CFR 60.93  
(dryers; systems for screening, handling, storing and 
weighing hot aggregate; systems for loading, transferring 
and storing mineral filler; systems for mixing asphalt; and 
the loading, transfer and storage systems associated with 
emission control systems)  

Subpart J - Petroleum Refineries.  
40 CFR 60.100 through 40 CFR 60.106  
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(fluid catalytic cracking unit catalyst regenerators, fluid 
catalytic cracking unit incinerator-waste heat boilers and 
fuel gas combustion devices)  

Subpart Ja - Petroleum Refineries for which Construction, 
Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after May 14, 
2007. 

40 CFR 60.100a through 40 CFR 60.109a 
(fluid catalytic cracking units, fluid coking units, delayed 
coking units, fuel gas combustion devices, including flares 
and process heaters, and sulfur recovery plants) 

Subpart K - Storage Vessels for Petroleum Liquids for which 
Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced 
after June 11, 1973, and prior to May 19, 1978.  

40 CFR 60.110 through 40 CFR 60.113  
(storage vessels with a capacity greater than 40,000 
gallons)  

Subpart Ka - Storage Vessels for Petroleum Liquids for 
which Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification 
Commenced after May 18, 1978, and prior to July 23, 1984.  

40 CFR 60.110a through 40 CFR 60.115a  
(storage vessels with a capacity greater than 40,000 
gallons)  

Subpart Kb - Volatile Organic Liquid Storage Vessels 
(Including Petroleum Liquid Storage Vessels) for which 
Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced 
after July 23, 1984.  

40 CFR 60.110b through 40 CFR 60.117b  
(storage vessels with capacity greater than or equal to 
10,566 gallons)  

Subpart L - Secondary Lead Smelters.  
40 CFR 60.120 through 40 CFR 60.123  
(pot furnaces of more than 550 pound charging capacity, 
blast (cupola) furnaces and reverberatory furnaces)  

Subpart M - Secondary Brass and Bronze Production Plants.  
40 CFR 60.130 through 40 CFR 60.133  
(reverberatory and electric furnaces of 2205 pound or 
greater production capacity and blast (cupola) furnaces of 
550 pounds per hour or greater production capacity)  

Subpart N - Primary Emissions from Basic Oxygen Process 
Furnaces for which Construction is Commenced after June 
11, 1973.  

40 CFR 60.140 through 40 CFR 60.144  
(basic oxygen process furnaces)  

Subpart Na - Secondary Emissions from Basic Oxygen 
Process Steelmaking Facilities for which Construction is 
Commenced after January 20, 1983.  

40 CFR 60.140a through 40 CFR 60.145a  

(facilities in an iron and steel plant: top-blown BOPFs and 
hot metal transfer stations and skimming stations used with 
bottom-blown or top-blown BOPFs)  

Subpart O - Sewage Treatment Plants.  
40 CFR 60.150 through 40 CFR 60.154  
(incinerators that combust wastes containing more than 
10% sewage sludge (dry basis) produced by municipal 
sewage treatment plants or incinerators that charge more 
than 2205 pounds per day municipal sewage sludge (dry 
basis))  

Subpart P - Primary Copper Smelters.  
40 CFR 60.160 through 40 CFR 60.166  
(dryers, roasters, smelting furnaces, and copper converters)  

Subpart Q - Primary Zinc Smelters.  
40 CFR 60.170 through 40 CFR 60.176  
(roasters and sintering machines)  

Subpart R - Primary Lead Smelters  
40 CFR 60.180 through 40 CFR 60.186  
(sintering machines, sintering machine discharge ends, 
blast furnaces, dross reverberatory furnaces, electric 
smelting furnaces and converters)  

Subpart S - Primary Aluminum Reduction Plants.  
40 CFR 60.190 through 40 CFR 60.195  
(potroom groups and anode bake plants)  

Subpart T - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Wet-Process 
Phosphoric Acid Plants.  

40 CFR 60.200 through 40 CFR 60.204  
(reactors, filters, evaporators, and hot wells)  

Subpart U - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Superphosphoric 
Acid Plants.  

40 CFR 60.210 through 40 CFR 60.214  
(evaporators, hot wells, acid sumps, and cooling tanks)  

Subpart V - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Diammonium 
Phosphate Plants.  

40 CFR 60.220 through 40 CFR 60.224  
(reactors, granulators, dryers, coolers, screens, and mills)  

Subpart W - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Triple 
Superphosphate Plants.  

40 CFR 60.230 through 40 CFR 60.234  
(mixers, curing belts (dens), reactors, granulators, dryers, 
cookers, screens, mills, and facilities which store run-of-
pile triple superphosphate)  

Subpart X - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Granular Triple 
Superphosphate Storage Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.240 through 40 CFR 60.244  
(storage or curing piles, conveyors, elevators, screens and 
mills)  
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Subpart Y - Coal Preparation and Processing Plants.  
40 CFR 60.250 through 40 CFR 60.258 
(plants which process more than 200 tons per day: thermal 
dryers, pneumatic coal-cleaning equipment (air tables), 
coal processing and conveying equipment (including 
breakers and crushers), coal storage systems, and coal 
transfer and loading systems)  

Subpart Z - Ferroalloy Production Facilities.  
40 CFR 60.260 through 40 CFR 60.266  
(electric submerged arc furnaces which produce silicon 
metal, ferrosilicon, calcium silicon, silicomanganese 
zirconium, ferrochrome silicon, silvery iron, high-carbon 
ferrochrome, charge chrome, standard ferromanganese, 
silicomanganese, ferromanganese silicon or calcium 
carbide; and dust-handling equipment)  

Subpart AA - Steel Plants: Electric Arc Furnaces Constructed 
after October 21, 1974, and on or before August 17, 1983.  

40 CFR 60.270 through 40 CFR 60.276  
(electric arc furnaces and dust-handling systems that 
produce carbon, alloy or specialty steels)  

Subpart AAa - Steel Plants: Electric Arc Furnaces and Argon-
Oxygen Decarburization Vessels Constructed after August 
17, 1983.  

40 CFR 60.270a through 40 CFR 60.276a  
(electric arc furnaces, argon-oxygen decarburization 
vessels, and dust-handling systems that produce carbon, 
alloy, or specialty steels)  

Subpart BB - Kraft Pulp Mills.  
40 CFR 60.280 through 40 CFR 60.285  
(digester systems, brown stock washer systems, multiple 
effect evaporator systems, black liquor oxidation systems, 
recovery furnaces, smelt dissolving tanks, lime kilns, 
condensate strippers and kraft pulping operations)  

Subpart CC - Glass Manufacturing Plants.  
40 CFR 60.290 through 40 CFR 60.296  
(glass melting furnaces)  

Subpart DD - Grain Elevators.  
40 CFR 60.300 through 40 CFR 60.304  
(grain terminal elevators/grain storage elevators: truck 
unloading stations, truck loading stations, barge and ship 
unloading stations, barge and ship loading stations, railcar 
unloading stations, railcar loading stations, grain dryers, 
and all grain handling operations)  

Subpart EE - Surface Coating of Metal Furniture.  
40 CFR 60.310 through 40 CFR 60.316  
(metal furniture surface coating operations in which 
organic coatings are applied)  

Subpart FF - (Reserved)  
Subpart GG - Stationary Gas Turbines.  

40 CFR 60.330 through 40 CFR 60.335  
(stationary gas turbines with a heat input at peak load equal 
to or greater than 10 million Btu per hour, based on the 
lower heating value of the fuel fired)  

Subpart HH - Lime Manufacturing Plants.  
40 CFR 60.340 through 40 CFR 60.344  
(each rotary lime kiln)  

Subparts II through JJ - (Reserved)  
Subpart KK - Lead-Acid Battery Manufacturing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.370 through 40 CFR 60.374  
(lead-acid battery manufacturing plants that produce or 
have the design capacity to produce in one day (24 hours) 
batteries containing an amount of lead equal to or greater 
than 6.5 tons: grid casting facilities, paste mixing facilities, 
three-process operation facilities, lead oxide manufacturing 
facilities, lead reclamation facilities, and other lead-
emitting operations)  

Subpart LL - Metallic Mineral Processing Plants.  
40 CFR 60.380 through 40 CFR 60.386  
(each crusher and screen in open-pit mines; each crusher, 
screen, bucket elevator, conveyor belt transfer point, 
thermal dryer, product packaging station, storage bin, 
enclosed storage area, truck loading station, truck 
unloading station, railcar loading station, and railcar 
unloading station at the mill or concentrator with the 
following exceptions. All facilities located in underground 
mines are exempted from the provisions of this subpart. At 
uranium ore processing plants, all facilities subsequent to 
and including the benefication of uranium ore are 
exempted from the provisions of this subpart)  

Subpart MM - Automobile and Light Duty Truck Surface 
Coating Operations.  

40 CFR 60.390 through 40 CFR 60.397  
(prime coat operations, guide coat operations, and top-coat 
operations)  

Subpart NN - Phosphate Rock Plants.  
40 CFR 60.400 through 40 CFR 60.404  
(phosphate rock plants which have a maximum plant 
production capacity greater than 4 tons per hour: dryers, 
calciners, grinders, and ground rock handling and storage 
facilities, except those facilities producing or preparing 
phosphate rock solely for consumption in elemental 
phosphorous production)  

Subpart OO - (Reserved) Reserved. 
Subpart PP - Ammonium Sulfate Manufacture.  

40 CFR 60.420 through 40 CFR 60.424  
(ammonium sulfate dryer within an ammonium sulfate 
manufacturing plant in the caprolactum by-product, 
synthetic, and coke oven by-product sectors of the 
ammonium sulfate industry)  
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Subpart QQ - Graphic Arts Industry: Publication Rotogravure 
Printing.  

40 CFR 60.430 through 40 CFR 60.435  
(publication rotogravure printing presses, except proof 
presses)  

Subpart RR - Pressure Sensitive Tape and Label Surface 
Coating Operations.  

40 CFR 60.440 through 40 CFR 60.447  
(pressure sensitive tape and label material coating lines)  

Subpart SS - Industrial Surface Coating: Large Appliances.  
40 CFR 60.450 through 40 CFR 60.456  
(surface coating operations in large appliance coating 
lines)  

Subpart TT - Metal Coil Surface Coating.  
40 CFR 60.460 through 40 CFR 60.466  
(metal coil surface coating operations: each prime coat 
operation, each finish coat operation, and each prime and 
finish coat operation combined when the finish coat is 
applied wet on wet over the prime coat and both coatings 
are cured simultaneously)  

Subpart UU - Asphalt Processing and Asphalt Roofing 
Manufacture.  

40 CFR 60.470 through 40 CFR 60.474  
(each saturator and each mineral handling and storage 
facility at asphalt roofing plants; and each asphalt storage 
tank and each blowing still at asphalt processing plants, 
petroleum refineries, and asphalt roofing plants)  

Subpart VV - Equipment Leaks of Volatile Organic 
Compounds in the Synthetic Organic Chemicals 
Manufacturing Industry for which Construction, 
Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced After January 5, 
1981, and On or Before November 7, 2006.  

40 CFR 60.480 through 40 CFR 60.489  
(all equipment within a process unit in a synthetic organic 
chemicals manufacturing plant) 

Subpart VVa - Equipment Leaks of VOC in the Synthetic 
Organic Chemicals Manufacturing Industry for Which 
Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced 
After November 7, 2006. 

40 CFR 60.480a through 40 CFR 60.489a 
(all equipment within a process unit in a synthetic organic 
chemicals manufacturing plant) 

Subpart WW - Beverage Can Surface Coating Industry.  
40 CFR 60.490 through 40 CFR 60.496  
(beverage can surface coating lines: each exterior base coat 
operation, each overvarnish coating operation, and each 
inside spray coating operation)  

Subpart XX - Bulk Gasoline Terminals.  
40 CFR 60.500 through 40 CFR 60.506  

(total of all loading racks at a bulk gasoline terminal which 
deliver liquid product into gasoline tank trucks)  

Subparts YY through ZZ - (Reserved)  
Subpart AAA - New Residential Wood Heaters.  

40 CFR 60.530 through 40 CFR 60.539b  
(wood heaters)  

Subpart BBB - Rubber Tire Manufacturing Industry.  
40 CFR 60.540 through 40 CFR 60.548  
(each undertread cementing operation, each sidewall 
cementing operation, each tread end cementing operation, 
each bead cementing operation, each green tire spraying 
operation, each Michelin-A operation, each Michelin-B 
operation, and each Michelin-C automatic operation)  

Subpart CCC - (Reserved)  
Subpart DDD - Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) 
Emissions from the Polymer Manufacturing Industry.  

40 CFR 60.560 through 40 CFR 60.566  
(for polypropylene and polyethylene manufacturing using a 
continuous process that emits continuously or 
intermittently: all equipment used in the manufacture of 
these polymers. For polystyrene manufacturing using a 
continuous process that emits continuously: each material 
recovery section. For poly(ethylene terephthalate) 
manufacturing using a continuous process that emits 
continuously: each polymerization reaction section; if 
dimethyl terephthalate is used in the process, each material 
recovery section is also an affected facility; if terephthalic 
acid is used in the process, each raw materials preparation 
section is also an affected facility. For VOC emissions 
from equipment leaks: each group of fugitive emissions 
equipment within any process unit, excluding 
poly(ethylene terephthalate) manufacture.)  

Subpart EEE - (Reserved)  
Subpart FFF - Flexible Vinyl and Urethane Coating and 
Printing.  

40 CFR 60.580 through 40 CFR 60.585  
(each rotogravure printing line used to print or coat flexible 
vinyl or urethane products)  

Subpart GGG - Equipment Leaks of VOC in Petroleum 
Refineries for which Construction, Reconstruction, or 
Modification Commenced After January 4, 1983, and On or 
Before November 7, 2006.  

40 CFR 60.590 through 40 CFR 60.593  
(each compressor, valve, pump pressure relief device, 
sampling connection system, open-ended valve or line, and 
flange or other connector in VOC service)  

Subpart GGGa - Equipment Leaks of VOC in Petroleum 
Refineries for which Construction, Reconstruction, or 
Modification Commenced After November 7, 2006. 

40 CFR 60.590a through 40 CFR 60.593a 
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(each compressor, valve, pump pressure relief device, 
sampling connection system, open-ended valve or line, and 
flange or other connector in VOC service) 

Subpart HHH - Synthetic Fiber Production Facilities.  
40 CFR 60.600 through 40 CFR 60.604  
(each solvent-spun synthetic fiber process that produces 
more than 500 megagrams of fiber per year)  

Subpart III - Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) Emissions 
from the Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturing Industry 
(SOCMI) Air Oxidation Unit Processes.  

40 CFR 60.610 through 40 CFR 60.618  
(each air oxidation reactor not discharging its vent stream 
into a recovery system and each combination of an air 
oxidation reactor or two or more air oxidation reactors and 
the recovery system into which the vent streams are 
discharged)  

Subpart JJJ - Petroleum Dry Cleaners.  
40 CFR 60.620 through 40 CFR 60.625  
(facilities located at a petroleum dry cleaning plant with a 
total manufacturers' rated dryer capacity equal to or greater 
than 84 pounds: petroleum solvent dry cleaning dryers, 
washers, filters, stills, and settling tanks)  

Subpart KKK - Equipment Leaks of VOC from Onshore 
Natural Gas Processing Plants for which Construction, 
Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after January 
20, 1984, and on or before August 23, 2011.  

40 CFR 60.630 through 40 CFR 60.636  
(each compressor in VOC service or in wet gas service; 
each pump, pressure relief device, open-ended valve or 
line, valve, and flange or other connector that is in VOC 
service or in wet gas service, and any device or system 
required by this subpart)  

Subpart LLL - Onshore Natural Gas Processing: Sulfur 
Dioxide Emissions Sulfur Dioxide Emissions from Onshore 
Natural Gas Processing for which Construction, 
Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after January 
20, 1984, and on or before August 23, 2011.  

40 CFR 60.640 through 40 CFR 60.648  
(facilities that process natural gas: each sweetening unit, 
and each sweetening unit followed by a sulfur recovery 
unit)  

Subpart MMM - (Reserved) Reserved. 
Subpart NNN - Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) 
Emissions from Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturing 
Industry (SOCMI) Distillation Operations.  

40 CFR 60.660 through 40 CFR 60.668  
(each distillation unit not discharging its vent stream into a 
recovery system, each combination of a distillation unit or 
of two or more units and the recovery system into which 
their vent streams are discharged)  

Subpart OOO - Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plants.  
40 CFR 60.670 through 40 CFR 60.676  
(facilities in fixed or portable nonmetallic mineral 
processing plants: each crusher, grinding mill, screening 
operation, bucket elevator, belt conveyor, bagging 
operation, storage bin, enclosed truck or railcar loading 
station)  

Subpart PPP - Wool Fiberglass Insulation Manufacturing 
Plants.  

40 CFR 60.680 through 40 CFR 60.685  
(each rotary spin wool fiberglass insulation manufacturing 
line)  

Subpart QQQ - VOC Emissions from Petroleum Refinery 
Wastewater Systems.  

40 CFR 60.690 through 40 CFR 60.699  
(individual drain systems, oil-water separators, and 
aggregate facilities in petroleum refineries)  

Subpart RRR - Volatile Organic Compound Emissions from 
Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturing Industry 
(SOCMI) Reactor Processes.  

40 CFR 60.700 through 40 CFR 60.708  
(each reactor process not discharging its vent stream into a 
recovery system, each combination of a reactor process 
and the recovery system into which its vent stream is 
discharged, and each combination of two or more reactor 
processes and the common recovery system into which 
their vent streams are discharged)  

Subpart SSS - Magnetic Tape Coating Facilities.  
40 CFR 60.710 through 40 CFR 60.718  
(each coating operation and each piece of coating mix 
preparation equipment)  

Subpart TTT - Industrial Surface Coating: Surface Coating of 
Plastic Parts for Business Machines.  

40 CFR 60.720 through 40 CFR 60.726  
(each spray booth in which plastic parts for use in the 
manufacture of business machines receive prime coats, 
color coats, texture coats, or touch-up coats)  

Subpart UUU - Calciners and Dryers in Mineral Industries.  
40 CFR 60.730 through 40 CFR 60.737  
(each calciner and dryer at a mineral processing plant)  

Subpart VVV - Polymeric Coating of Supporting Substrates 
Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.740 through 40 CFR 60.748  
(each coating operation and any onsite coating mix 
preparation equipment used to prepare coatings for the 
polymeric coating of supporting substrates)  

Subpart WWW - Municipal Solid Waste Landfills.  
40 CFR 60.750 through 40 CFR 60.759  
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(municipal solid waste landfills for the containment of 
household and RCRA Subtitle D wastes)  

Subpart AAAA - Small Municipal Waste Combustors for 
which Construction is Commenced after August 30, 1999, or 
for which Modification or Reconstruction is Commenced 
after June 6, 2001.  

40 CFR 60.1000 through 40 CFR 60.1465  
(municipal waste combustor units with a capacity less than 
250 tons per day and greater than 35 tons per day of 
municipal solid waste or refuse-derived fuel)  

Subpart BBBB - Not applicable.  
Subpart CCCC - Commercial/Industrial Solid Waste 
Incinerators for which Construction is Commenced after 
November 30, 1999, or for which Modification or 
Construction is Commenced on or after June 1, 2001.  

40 CFR 60.2000 through 40 CFR 60.2265  
(an enclosed device using controlled flame combustion 
without energy recovery that is a distinct operating unit of 
any commercial or industrial facility, or an air curtain 
incinerator without energy recovery that is a distinct 
operating unit of any commercial or industrial facility)  

Subpart DDDD - Not applicable.  
Subpart EEEE - Other Solid Waste Incineration Units for 
Which which Construction is Commenced After after 
December 9, 2004, or for Which which Modification or 
Reconstruction Is Commenced on or After after June 16, 
2006.  

40 CFR 60.2880 through 40 CFR 60.2977  
(very small municipal waste combustion units with the 
capacity to combust less than 35 tons per day of municipal 
solid waste or refuse-derived fuel, and institutional waste 
incineration units owned or operated by an organization 
having a governmental, educational, civic, or religious 
purpose)  

Subpart FFFF - Reserved. 
Subpart GGGG - Reserved. 
Subpart HHHH - Reserved. 
Subpart IIII - Stationary Compression Ignition Internal 
Combustion Engines. 

40 CFR 60.4200 through 40 CFR 60.4219 
(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 
retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 
into these regulations. for any source that is not (i) a major 
source as defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject to Article 1 
(9VAC5-80-50 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for 
Stationary Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 (Permits for 
Stationary Sources) or (ii) an affected source as defined in 
9VAC5-80-370 and subject to Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et 
seq., Federal Operating Permits for Acid Rain Sources) of 
Part II of 9VAC5-80) 

Subpart JJJJ - Stationary Spark Ignition Internal Combustion 
Engines. 

40 CFR 60.4230 through 40 CFR 60.4248 
(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 
retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 
into these regulations. for any source that is not (i) a major 
source as defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject to Article 1 
(9VAC5-80-50 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for 
Stationary Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 (Permits for 
Stationary Sources) or (ii) an affected source as defined in 
9VAC5-80-370 and subject to Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et 
seq., Federal Operating Permits for Acid Rain Sources) of 
Part II of 9VAC5-80) 

Subpart KKKK - Stationary Combustion Turbines. 
40 CFR 60.4300 through 40 CFR 60.4420 
(stationary combustion turbine with a heat input at peak 
load equal to or greater than 10.7 gigajoules (10 MMBtu) 
per hour) 

Subpart LLLL - Sewage Sludge Incineration Units. 
40 CFR 60.4760 through 40 CFR 60.4925 
(an incineration unit combusting sewage sludge for the 
purpose of reducing the volume of the sewage sludge by 
removing combustible matter, including the sewage sludge 
feed system, auxiliary fuel feed system, grate system, flue 
gas system, waste heat recovery equipment, and bottom 
ash system; and all ash handling systems connected with 
the bottom ash handling system) 

Subpart MMMM - Reserved. 
Subpart NNNN - Reserved. 
Subpart OOOO - Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production, 
Transmission and Distribution 

40 CFR 60.5360 through 40 CFR 60.5430 
(facilities that operate gas wells, centrifugal compressors, 
reciprocating compressors, pneumatic controllers, and 
storage vessels) 

Appendix A - Test methods.  
Appendix B - Performance specifications.  
Appendix C - Determination of Emission Rate Change.  
Appendix D - Required Emission Inventory Information.  
Appendix E - (Reserved) Reserved. 
Appendix F - Quality Assurance Procedures.  
Appendix G - (Not applicable)  
Appendix H - (Reserved) Reserved.  
Appendix I - Removable label and owner's manual.  
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Part II  
Emission Standards  

Article 1  
Environmental Protection Agency National Emission 

Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants (Rule 6-1)  
9VAC5-60-60. General.  

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Regulations 
on National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants 
(NESHAP), as promulgated in 40 CFR Part 61 and 
designated in 9VAC5-60-70 are, unless indicated otherwise, 
incorporated by reference into the regulations of the board as 
amended by the word or phrase substitutions given in 
9VAC5-60-80. The complete text of the subparts in 9VAC5-
60-70 incorporated herein by reference is contained in 40 
CFR Part 61. The 40 CFR section numbers appearing under 
each subpart in 9VAC5-60-70 identify the specific provisions 
of the subpart incorporated by reference. The specific version 
of the provision adopted by reference shall be that contained 
in the CFR (2012) (2013) in effect July 1, 2012 2013. In 
making reference to the Code of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR 
Part 61 means Part 61 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations; 40 CFR 61.01 means 61.01 in Part 61 of Title 40 
of the Code of Federal Regulations.  

Article 2  
Environmental Protection Agency National Emission 

Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories 
(Rule 6-2)  

9VAC5-60-90. General.  
The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) National 

Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source 
Categories (Maximum Achievable Control Technologies, or 
MACTs) as promulgated in 40 CFR Part 63 and designated in 
9VAC5-60-100 are, unless indicated otherwise, incorporated 
by reference into the regulations of the board as amended by 
the word or phrase substitutions given in 9VAC5-60-110. The 
complete text of the subparts in 9VAC5-60-100 incorporated 
herein by reference is contained in 40 CFR Part 63. The 40 
CFR section numbers appearing under each subpart in 
9VAC5-60-100 identify the specific provisions of the subpart 
incorporated by reference. The specific version of the 
provision adopted by reference shall be that contained in the 
CFR (2012) (2013) in effect July 1, 2012 2013. In making 
reference to the Code of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR Part 63 
means Part 63 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations; 
40 CFR 63.1 means 63.1 in Part 63 of Title 40 of the Code of 
Federal Regulations.  
9VAC5-60-100. Designated emission standards. 
Subpart A - General Provisions.  

40 CFR 63.1 through 40 CFR 63.11; 40 CFR 63.16  
(applicability, definitions, units and abbreviations, 
prohibited activities and circumvention, construction and 
reconstruction, compliance with standards and 
maintenance requirements, performance testing 

requirements, monitoring requirements, notification 
requirements, recordkeeping and reporting requirements, 
control device requirements, performance track provisions)  

Subpart B - Not applicable.  
Subpart C - List of Hazardous Air Pollutants, Petitions 
Process, Lesser Quantity Designations, Source Category List.  

40 CFR 63.60, 40 CFR 63.61, 40 CFR 63.62 and 40 CFR 
63.63  
(deletion of caprolactam from the list of hazardous air 
pollutants, deletion of methyl ethyl ketone from the list of 
hazardous air pollutants, redefinition of glycol ethers listed 
as hazardous air pollutants, deletion of ethylene glycol 
monobutyl ether)  

Subpart D - Not applicable.  
Subpart E - Not applicable.  
Subpart F - Organic Hazardous Air Pollutants from the 
Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturing Industry. 

40 CFR 63.100 through 40 CFR 63.106  
(chemical manufacturing process units that manufacture as 
a primary product one or more of a listed chemical; use as 
a reactant or manufacture as a product, by-product, or co-
product, one or more of a listed organic hazardous air 
pollutant; and are located at a plant site that is a major 
source as defined in § 112 of the federal Clean Air Act)  

Subpart G - Organic Hazardous Air Pollutants From the 
Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturing Industry for 
Process Vents, Storage Vessels, Transfer Operations, and 
Wastewater.  

40 CFR 63.110 through 40 CFR 63.152  
(all process vents, storage vessels, transfer operations, and 
wastewater streams within a source subject to Subpart F, 
40 CFR 63.100 through 40 CFR 63.106)  

Subpart H - Organic Hazardous Air Pollutants for Equipment 
Leaks.  

40 CFR 63.160 through 40 CFR 63.182  
(pumps, compressors, agitators, pressure relief devices, 
sampling connection systems, open-ended valves or lines, 
valves, connectors, surge control vessels, bottoms 
receivers, instrumentation systems, and control devices or 
systems that are intended to operate in organic hazardous 
air pollutant service 300 hours or more during the calendar 
year within a source subject to the provisions of a specific 
subpart in 40 CFR Part 63)  

Subpart I - Organic Hazardous Air Pollutants for Certain 
Processes Subject to the Negotiated Regulation for 
Equipment Leaks.  

40 CFR 63.190 through 40 CFR 63.192  
(emissions of designated organic hazardous air pollutants 
from processes specified in this subpart that are located at a 
plant site that is a major source as defined in § 112 of the 
federal Clean Air Act)  
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Subpart J - Polyvinyl Chloride and Copolymers Production. 
40 CFR 63.210 through 40 CFR 63.217 
(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 
retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 
into these regulations.)  

Subpart K - Reserved.  
Subpart L - Coke Oven Batteries.  

40 CFR 63.300 through 40 CFR 63.313  
(existing by-product coke oven batteries at a coke plant, 
and existing nonrecovery coke oven batteries located at a 
coke plant)  

Subpart M - Perchlorethylene Dry Cleaning Facilities.  
40 CFR 63.320 through 40 CFR 63.325  
(each dry cleaning facility that uses perchlorethylene)  

Subpart N - Chromium Emissions from Hard and Decorative 
Chromium Electroplating and Chromium Anodizing Tanks.  

40 CFR 63.340 through 40 CFR 63.347  
(each chromium electroplating or chromium anodizing 
tank at facilities performing hard chromium electroplating, 
decorative chromium electroplating, or chromium 
anodizing)  

Subpart O - Ethylene Oxide Commercial Sterilization and 
Fumigation Operations.  

40 CFR 63.360 through 40 CFR 63.367  
(sterilization sources using ethylene oxide in sterilization 
or fumigation operations)  

Subpart P - Reserved.  
Subpart Q - Industrial Process Cooling Towers.  

40 CFR 63.400 through 40 CFR 63.406  
(industrial process cooling towers that are operated with 
chromium-based water treatment chemicals)  

Subpart R - Gasoline Distribution Facilities.  
40 CFR 63.420 through 40 CFR 63.429  
(bulk gasoline terminals and pipeline breakout stations)  

Subpart S - Pulp and Paper Industry.  
40 CFR 63.440 through 40 CFR 63.458  
(processes that produce pulp, paper, or paperboard, and use 
the following processes and materials: kraft, soda, sulfite, 
or semi-chemical pulping processes using wood; or 
mechanical pulping processes using wood; or any process 
using secondary or nonwood fibers)  

Subpart T - Halogenated Solvent Cleaning.  
40 CFR 63.460 through 40 CFR 63.469  
(each individual batch vapor, in-line vapor, in-line cold, 
and batch cold solvent cleaning machine that uses any 
solvent containing methylene chloride, perchlorethylene, 
trichloroethylene, 1,1,1-trichloroethane, carbon 
tetrachloride, or chloroform)  

Subpart U - Group I Polymers and Resins.  
40 CFR 63.480 through 40 CFR 63.506  
(elastomer product process units that produce butyl rubber, 
halobutyl rubber, epichlorohydrin elastomers, ethylene 
propylene rubber, Hypalon™, neoprene, nitrile butadiene 
rubber, nitrile butadiene latex, polysulfide rubber, 
polybutadiene rubber/styrene butadiene rubber by solution, 
styrene butadiene latex, and styrene butadiene rubber by 
emulsion)  

Subpart V - Reserved.  
Subpart W - Epoxy Resins Production and Non-Nylon 
Polyamides Production.  

40 CFR 63.520 through 40 CFR 63.527  
(manufacturers of basic liquid epoxy resins and wet 
strength resins)  

Subpart X - Secondary Lead Smelting.  
40 CFR 63.541 through 40 CFR 60.552 
(at all secondary lead smelters: blast, reverbatory, rotary, 
and electric smelting furnaces; refining kettles; 
agglomerating furnaces; dryers; process fugitive sources; 
and fugitive dust sources)  

Subpart Y - Marine Tank Vessel Tank Loading Operations.  
40 CFR 63.560 through 40 CFR 63.567  
(marine tank vessel unloading operations at petroleum 
refineries)  

Subpart Z - Reserved.  
Subpart AA - Phosphoric Acid Manufacturing Plants.  

40 CFR 63.600 through 40 CFR 63.610  
(wet-process phosphoric acid process lines, evaporative 
cooling towers, rock dryers, rock calciners, 
superphosphoric acid process lines, purified acid process 
lines)  

Subpart BB - Phosphate Fertilizers Production Plants.  
40 CFR 63.620 through 40 CFR 63.631  
(diammonium and monoammonium phosphate process 
lines, granular triple superphosphate process lines, and 
granular triple superphosphate storage buildings)  

Subpart CC - Petroleum Refineries.  
40 CFR 63.640 through 40 CFR 63.654  
(storage tanks, equipment leaks, process vents, and 
wastewater collection and treatment systems at petroleum 
refineries)  

Subpart DD - Off-Site Waste and Recovery Operations.  
40 CFR 63.680 through 40 CFR 63.697  
(operations that treat, store, recycle, and dispose of waste 
received from other operations that produce waste or 
recoverable materials as part of their manufacturing 
processes)  
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Subpart EE - Magnetic Tape Manufacturing Operations.  
40 CFR 63.701 through 40 CFR 63.708  
(manufacturers of magnetic tape)  

Subpart FF - Reserved.  
Subpart GG - Aerospace Manufacturing and Rework 
Facilities.  

40 CFR 63.741 through 40 CFR 63.752  
(facilities engaged in the manufacture or rework of 
commercial, civil, or military aerospace vehicles or 
components)  

Subpart HH - Oil and Natural Gas Production Facilities.  
40 CFR 63.760 through 40 CFR 63.779  
(facilities that process, upgrade, or store hydrocarbon 
liquids or natural gas; ancillary equipment and 
compressors intended to operate in volatile hazardous air 
pollutant service)  

Subpart II - Shipbuilding and Ship Repair (Surface Coating).  
40 CFR 63.780 through 40 CFR 63.788  
(shipbuilding and ship repair operations)  

Subpart JJ - Wood Furniture Manufacturing Operations.  
40 CFR 63.800 through 40 CFR 63.819  
(finishing materials, adhesives, and strippable spray booth 
coatings; storage, transfer, and application of coatings and 
solvents)  

Subpart KK - Printing and Publishing Industry.  
40 CFR 63.820 through 40 CFR 63.831  
(publication rotogravure, product and packaging 
rotogravure, and wide-web printing processes)  

Subpart LL - Primary Aluminum Reduction Plants.  
40 CFR 63.840 through 40 CFR 63.859  
(each pitch storage tank, potline, paste production plant, or 
anode bulk furnace associated with primary aluminum 
production)  

Subpart MM - Chemical Recovery Combustion Sources at 
Kraft, Soda, Sulfite and Stand-Alone Semichemical Pulp 
Mills.  

40 CFR 63.860 through 40 CFR 63.868  
(chemical recovery systems, direct and nondirect contact 
evaporator recovery furnace systems, lime kilns, sulfite 
combustion units, semichemical combustion units)  

Subpart NN - Reserved.  
Subpart OO - Tanks--Level 1.  

40 CFR 63.900 through 40 CFR 63.907  
(for off-site waste and recovery operations, fixed-roof 
tanks)  

Subpart PP - Containers.  
40 CFR 63.920 through 40 CFR 63.928  

(for off-site waste and recovery operations, containers)  
Subpart QQ - Surface Impoundments.  

40 CFR 63.940 through 40 CFR 63.948  
(for off-site waste and recovery operations, surface 
impoundment covers and vents)  

Subpart RR - Individual Drain Systems.  
40 CFR 63.960 through 40 CFR 63.966  
(for off-site waste and recovery operations, inspection and 
maintenance of individual drain systems)  

Subpart SS - Closed Vent Systems, Control Devices, 
Recovery Devices and Routing to a Fuel Gas System or a 
Process.  

40 CFR 63.980 through 40 CFR 63.999  
(closed vent systems, control devices, recovery devices, 
and routing to a fuel gas system or a process, when 
associated with facilities subject to a referencing subpart)  

Subpart TT - Equipment Leaks - Control Level 1.  
40 CFR 63.1000 through 40 CFR 63.1018  
(control of air emissions from equipment leaks when 
associated with facilities subject to a referencing subpart)  

Subpart UU - Equipment Leaks - Control Level 2.  
40 CFR 63.1019 through 40 CFR 63.1039  
(control of air emissions from equipment leaks when 
associated with facilities subject to a referencing subpart: 
pumps, compressors, agitators, pressure relief devices, 
sampling connection systems, open-ended valves or lines, 
valves, connectors, instrumentation systems, closed vent 
systems and control devices)  

Subpart VV - Oil-Water Separators and Organic-Water 
Separators.  

40 CFR 63.1040 through 40 CFR 63.1049  
(for off-site waste and recovery operations, oil-water 
separators and organic-water separator roofs and vents)  

Subpart WW - Storage Vessels (Tanks) - Control Level 2.  
40 CFR 63.1060 through 40 CFR 63.1066  
(storage vessels associated with facilities subject to a 
referencing subpart)  

Subpart XX - Ethylene Manufacturing Process Units: Heat 
Exchange Systems and Waste.  

40 CFR 63.1080 through 40 CFR 63.1098  
(any cooling tower system or once-through cooling water 
system)  

Subpart YY - Generic Maximum Achievable Control 
Technology Standards.  

40 CFR 63.1100 through 40 CFR 63.1113  
(acetal resins production, acrylic and modacrylic fibers 
production, hydrogen fluoride production, polycarbonate 
production)  
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Subpart ZZ - Reserved.  
Subpart AAA - Reserved.  
Subpart BBB - Reserved.  
Subpart CCC - Steel Pickling - Hydrogen Chloride Process 
Facilities and Hydrochloric Acid Regeneration Plants.  

40 CFR 63.1155 through 40 CFR 63.1174  
(steel pickling facilities that pickle carbon steel using 
hydrochloric acid solution, hydrochloric acid regeneration 
plants)  

Subpart DDD - Mineral Wool Production.  
40 CFR 63.1175 through 40 CFR 63.1199  
(cupolas and curing ovens at mineral wool manufacturing 
facilities)  

Subpart EEE - Hazardous Waste Combustors.  
40 CFR 63.1200 through 40 CFR 63.1221  
(hazardous waste combustors)  

Subpart FFF - Reserved.  
Subpart GGG - Pharmaceutical Production.  

40 CFR 63.1250 through 40 CFR 63.1261  
(pharmaceutical manufacturing operations)  

Subpart HHH - Natural Gas Transmission and Storage 
Facilities.  

40 CFR 63.1270 through 40 CFR 63.1289  
(natural gas transmission and storage facilities that 
transport or store natural gas prior to entering the pipeline 
to a local distribution company or to a final end user)  

Subpart III - Flexible Polyurethane Foam Production.  
40 CFR 63.1290 through 40 CFR 63.1309  
(flexible polyurethane foam or rebond processes)  

Subpart JJJ - Group IV Polymers and Resins.  
40 CFR 63.1310 through 40 CFR 63.1335  
(facilities which manufacture acrylonitrile butadiene 
styrene resin, styrene acrylonitrile resin, methyl 
methacrylate butadiene styrene resin, polystyrene resin, 
poly(ethylene terephthalate) resin, or nitrile resin)  

Subpart KKK - Reserved.  
Subpart LLL - Portland Cement Manufacturing.  

40 CFR 63.1340 through 40 CFR 63.1359  
(kilns; in-line kilns/raw mills; clinker coolers; raw mills; 
finish mills; raw material dryers; raw material, clinker, or 
finished product storage bins; conveying system transfer 
points; bagging systems; bulk loading or unloading 
systems)  

Subpart MMM - Pesticide Active Ingredient Production.  
40 CFR 63.1360 through 40 CFR 63.1369  

(pesticide active ingredient manufacturing process units, 
waste management units, heat exchange systems, and 
cooling towers)  

Subpart NNN - Wool Fiberglass Manufacturing.  
40 CFR 63.1380 through 40 CFR 63.1399  
(glass melting furnaces, rotary spin wool fiberglass 
manufacturing lines producing bonded wool fiberglass 
building insulation or bonded heavy-density product)  

Subpart OOO - Amino/Phenolic Resins Production.  
40 CFR 63.1400 through 40 CFR 63.1419  
(unit operations, process vents, storage vessels, equipment 
subject to leak provisions)  

Subpart PPP - Polyether Polyols Production.  
40 CFR 63.1420 through 40 CFR 63.1439  
(polyether polyol manufacturing process units)  

Subpart QQQ - Primary Copper Smelting.  
40 CFR 63.1440 through 40 CFR 63.1-1459  
(batch copper converters, including copper concentrate 
dryers, smelting furnaces, slag cleaning vessels, copper 
converter departments, and the entire group of fugitive 
emission sources)  

Subpart RRR - Secondary Aluminum Production.  
40 CFR 63.1500 through 40 CFR 63.1520  
(scrap shredders; thermal chip dryers; scrap 
dryers/delacquering kilns/decoating kilns; group 2, sweat, 
dross-only furnaces; rotary dross coolers; processing units)  

Subpart SSS - Reserved.  
Subpart TTT - Primary Lead Smelting.  

40 CFR 63.1541 through 40 CFR 63.1550  
(sinter machines, blast furnaces, dross furnaces, process 
fugitive sources, fugitive dust sources)  

Subpart UUU - Petroleum Refineries: Catalytic Cracking 
Units, Catalytic Reforming Units, and Sulfur Recovery Units.  

40 CFR 63.1560 through 40 CFR 63.1579  
(petroleum refineries that produce transportation and 
heating fuels or lubricants, separate petroleum, or separate, 
crack, react, or reform an intermediate petroleum stream, 
or recover byproducts from an intermediate petroleum 
stream)  

Subpart VVV - Publicly Owned Treatment Works.  
40 CFR 63.1580 through 40 CFR 63.1595  
(intercepting sewers, outfall sewers, sewage collection 
systems, pumping, power, and other equipment)  

Subpart WWW - Reserved.  
Subpart XXX - Ferroalloys Production: Ferromanganese and 
Silicomanganese.  

40 CFR 63.1620 through 40 CFR 63.1679  
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(submerged arc furnaces, metal oxygen refining processes, 
crushing and screening operations, fugitive dust sources)  

Subpart YYY - Reserved.  
Subpart ZZZ - Reserved.  
Subpart AAAA - Municipal Solid Waste Landfills.  

40 CFR 63.1930 through 40 CFR 63.1990  
(municipal solid waste landfills that have accepted waste 
since November 8, 1987, or have additional capacity for 
waste deposition)  

Subpart BBBB - Reserved.  
Subpart CCCC - Manufacturing of Nutritional Yeast.  

40 CFR 63.2130 through 40 CFR 63.2192  
(fermentation vessels)  

Subpart DDDD - Plywood and Composite Wood Products.  
40 CFR 63.2230 through 40 CFR 63.2292  
(manufacture of plywood and composite wood products by 
bonding wood material or agricultural fiber with resin 
under heat and pressure to form a structural panel or 
engineered wood product)  

Subpart EEEE - Organic Liquids Distribution (Nongasoline).  
40 CFR 63.2330 through 40 CFR 63.2406  
(transfer of noncrude oil liquids or liquid mixtures that 
contain organic hazardous air pollutants, or crude oils 
downstream of the first point of custody, via storage tanks, 
transfer racks, equipment leak components associated with 
pipelines, and transport vehicles) 

Subpart FFFF - Miscellaneous Organic Chemical 
Manufacturing.  

40 CFR 63.2430 through 40 CFR 63.2550  
(reaction, recovery, separation, purification, or other 
activity, operation, manufacture, or treatment that are used 
to produce a product or isolated intermediate)  

Subpart GGGG - Solvent Extraction for Vegetable Oil 
Production.  

40 CFR 63.2830 through 40 CFR 63.2872  
(vegetable oil production processes)  

Subpart HHHH--Wet-formed Fiberglass Mat Production.  
40 CFR 63.2980 through 63.3079  
(wet-formed fiberglass mat drying and curing ovens)  

Subpart IIII - Surface Coating of Automobiles and Light-
Duty Trucks.  

40 CFR 63.3080 through 40 CFR 63.3176.  
(application of topcoat to new automobile or new light-
duty truck bodies or body parts)  

Subpart JJJJ - Paper and Other Web Coating.  
40 CFR 63.3280 through 40 CFR 63.3420  
(web coating lines engaged in the coating of metal webs 
used in flexible packaging and in the coating of fabric 

substrates for use in pressure-sensitive tape and abrasive 
materials)  

Subpart KKKK - Surface Coating of Metal Cans.  
40 CFR 63.3480 through 40 CFR 63.3561  
(application of coatings to a substrate using spray guns or 
dip tanks, including one- and two-piece draw and iron can 
body coating; sheetcoating; three-piece can body assembly 
coating; and end coating)  

Subpart LLLL - Reserved.  
Subpart MMMM - Surface Coating of Miscellaneous Metal 
Parts and Products.  

40 CFR 63.3880 through 40 CFR 63.3981  
(application of coatings to industrial, household, and 
consumer products)  

Subpart NNNN - Surface Coating of Large Appliances.  
40 CFR 63.4080 through 40 CFR 63.4181  
(surface coating of a large appliance part or product, 
including cooking equipment; refrigerators, freezers, and 
refrigerated cabinets and cases; laundry equipment; 
dishwashers, trash compactors, and water heaters; and 
HVAC units, air-conditioning, air-conditioning and heating 
combination units, comfort furnaces, and electric heat 
pumps)  

Subpart OOOO - Printing, Coating, and Dyeing of Fabrics 
and Other Textiles.  

40 CFR 63.4280 through 40 CFR 63.4371  
(printing, coating, slashing, dyeing, or finishing of fabric 
and other textiles)  

Subpart PPPP - Surface Coating of Plastic Parts and Products.  
40 CFR 63.4480 through 40 CFR 63.4581  
(application of coating to a substrate using spray guns or 
dip tanks, including motor vehicle parts and accessories for 
automobiles, trucks, recreational vehicles; sporting and 
recreational goods; toys; business machines; laboratory and 
medical equipment; and household and other consumer 
products)  

Subpart QQQQ - Surface Coating of Wood Building 
Products.  

40 CFR 63.4680 through 40 CFR 63.4781  
(finishing or laminating of wood building products used in 
the construction of a residential, commercial, or 
institutional building)  

Subpart RRRR - Surface Coating of Metal Furniture.  
40 CFR 63.4880 through 40 CFR 63.4981  
(application of coatings to substrate using spray guns and 
dip tanks)  

Subpart SSSS - Surface Coating of Metal Coil.  
40 CFR 63.5080 through 40 CFR 63.5209  
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(organic coating to surface of metal coil, including web 
unwind or feed sections, work stations, curing ovens, wet 
sections, and quench stations)  

Subpart TTTT - Leather Finishing Operations.  
40 CFR 63.5280 through 40 CFR 63.5460  
(multistage application of finishing materials to adjust and 
improve the physical and aesthetic characteristics of 
leather surfaces)  

Subpart UUUU - Cellulose Products Manufacturing.  
40 CFR 63.5480 through 40 CFR 63.5610  
(cellulose food casing, rayon, cellulosic sponge, cellophane 
manufacturing, methyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl methyl 
cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, 
and carboxymethyl cellulose manufacturing industries)  

Subpart VVVV - Boat Manufacturing.  
40 CFR 63.5680 through 40 CFR 63.5779  
(resin and gel coat operations, carpet and fabric adhesive 
operations, aluminum recreational boat surface coating 
operations)  

Subpart WWWW - Reinforced Plastic Composites 
Production.  

40 CFR 63.5780 through 40 CFR 63.5935  
(reinforced or nonreinforced plastic composites or plastic 
molding compounds using thermostat resins and gel coats 
that contain styrene)  

Subpart XXXX - Rubber Tire Manufacturing.  
40 CFR 63.5980 through 40 CFR 63.6015  
(production of rubber tires and components including 
rubber compounds, sidewalls, tread, tire beads, tire cord 
and liners)  

Subpart YYYY - Stationary Combustion Turbines.  
40 CFR 63.6080 through 40 CFR 63.6175  
(simple cycle, regenerative/recuperative cycle, 
cogeneration cycle, and combined cycle stationary 
combustion turbines)  

Subpart ZZZZ - Stationary Reciprocating Internal 
Combustion Engines.  

40 CFR 63.6580 through 40 CFR 63.6675.  
(any stationary internal combustion engine that uses 
reciprocating motion to convert heat energy into 
mechanical work)  
(NOTE: Authority to enforce provisions related to affected 
facilities located at a major source as defined in 40 CFR 
63.6675 is being retained by the Commonwealth. 
Authority to enforce the area source provisions of the 
above standard is being retained by EPA. The provisions of 
this subpart as they apply to area sources and are not 
incorporated by reference into these regulations) 
regulations for any source that is not (i) a major source as 
defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject to Article 1 (9VAC5-

80-50 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for Stationary 
Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 (Permits for Stationary 
Sources) or (ii) an affected source as defined in 9VAC5-
80-370 and subject to Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et seq., 
Federal Operating Permits for Acid Rain Sources) of Part 
II of 9VAC5-80) 

Subpart AAAAA - Lime Manufacturing Plants.  
40 CFR 63.7080 through 40 CFR 63.7143.  
(manufacture of lime product, including calcium oxide, 
calcium oxide with magnesium oxide, or dead burned 
dolomite, by calcination of limestone, dolomite, shells or 
other calcareous substances)  

Subpart BBBBB - Semiconductor Manufacturing.  
40 CFR 63.7180 through 40 CFR 63.7195  
(semiconductor manufacturing process units used to 
manufacture p-type and n-type semiconductors and active 
solid-state devices from a wafer substrate)  

Subpart CCCCC - Coke Ovens: Pushing, Quenching, and 
Battery Stacks.  

40 CFR 63.7280 through 40 CFR 63.7352  
(pushing, soaking, quenching, and battery stacks at coke 
oven batteries)  

Subpart DDDDD - Industrial, Commercial, and Institutional 
Boilers and Process Heaters. 

40 CFR 63.7480 through 40 CFR 63.7575 
(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 
retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 
into these regulations.) (industrial, commercial, and 
institutional boilers and process heaters) 

Subpart EEEEE - Iron and Steel Foundries.  
40 CFR 63.7680 through 40 CFR 63.7765  
(metal melting furnaces, scrap preheaters, pouring areas, 
pouring stations, automated conveyor and pallet cooling 
lines, automated shakeout lines, and mold and core making 
lines)  

Subpart FFFFF - Integrated Iron and Steel Manufacturing.  
40 CFR 63.7780 through 40 CFR 63.7852  
(each sinter plant, blast furnace, and basic oxygen process 
furnace at an integrated iron and steel manufacturing 
facility)  

Subpart GGGGG - Site Remediation.  
40 CFR 63.7880 through 40 CFR 63.7957  
(activities or processes used to remove, destroy, degrade, 
transform, immobilize, or otherwise manage remediation 
material)  

Subpart HHHHH - Miscellaneous Coating Manufacturing.  
40 CFR 63.7980 through 40 CFR 63.8105  
(process vessels; storage tanks for feedstocks and products; 
pumps, compressors, agitators, pressure relief devices, 
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sampling connection systems, open-ended valves or lines, 
valves, connectors, and instrumentation systems; 
wastewater tanks and transfer racks)  

Subpart IIIII - Mercury Cell Chlor-Alkali Plants.  
40 CFR 63.8180 through 40 CFR 63.8266  
(byproduct hydrogen streams, end box ventilation system 
vents, and fugitive emission sources associated with cell 
rooms, hydrogen systems, caustic systems, and storage 
areas for mercury-containing wastes)  

Subpart JJJJJ - Brick and Structural Clay Products 
Manufacturing. 

40 CFR 63.8380 through 40 CFR 63.8515 
(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 
retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 
into these regulations.) 

Subpart KKKKK - Ceramics Manufacturing. 
40 CFR 63.8530 through 40 CFR 63.8665 
(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 
retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 
into these regulations.) 

Subpart LLLLL - Asphalt Processing and Asphalt Roof 
Manufacturing.  

40 CFR 63.8680 through 40 CFR 63.8698  
(preparation of asphalt flux at stand-alone asphalt 
processing facilities, petroleum refineries, and asphalt 
roofing facilities)  

Subpart MMMMM - Flexible Polyurethane Foam Fabrication 
Operations.  

40 CFR 63.8780 through 40 CFR 63.8830  
(flexible polyurethane foam fabrication plants using flame 
lamination or loop slitter adhesives)  

Subpart NNNNN - Hydrochloric Acid Production.  
40 CFR 63.8980 through 40 CFR 63.9075  
(HCl production facilities that produce a liquid HCl 
product)  

Subpart OOOOO - Reserved.  
Subpart PPPPP - Engine Test Cells and Stands.  

40 CFR Subpart 63.9280 through 40 CFR 63.9375  
(any apparatus used for testing uninstalled stationary or 
uninstalled mobile (motive) engines)  

Subpart QQQQQ - Friction Materials Manufacturing 
Facilities.  

40 CFR 63.9480 through 40 CFR 63.9579  
(friction materials manufacturing facilities that use a 
solvent-based process)  

Subpart RRRRR - Taconite Iron Ore Processing.  
40 CFR 63.9580 through 40 CFR 63.9652  

(ore crushing and handling, ore dryer stacks, indurating 
furnace stacks, finished pellet handling, and fugitive dust)  

Subpart SSSSS - Refractory Products Manufacturing.  
40 CFR 63.9780 through 40 CFR 63.9824  
(manufacture of refractory products, including refractory 
bricks and shapes, monolithics, kiln furniture, crucibles, 
and other materials for liming furnaces and other high 
temperature process units)  

Subpart TTTTT - Primary Magnesium Refining.  
40 CFR 63.9880 through 40 CFR 63.9942  
(spray dryer, magnesium chloride storage bin scrubber, 
melt/reactor system, and launder off-gas system stacks)  

Subpart UUUUU - Coal-fired and Oil-fired Electric Utility 
Steam Generating Units. 

40 CFR 63.9980 through 40 CFR 63.10042 
(any furnace, boiler, or other device used for combusting 
fuel for the purpose of producing steam, including fossil 
fuel-fired steam generators associated with integrated 
gasification combined cycle gas turbines and excluding 
nuclear steam generators, for the purpose of powering a 
generator to produce electricity or electricity and other 
thermal energy) 

Subpart VVVVV - Reserved.  
Subpart WWWWW - Hospital Ethylene Oxide Sterilizer Area 
Sources. 

40 CFR 63.10382 through 40 CFR 63.10448 
(any enclosed vessel that is filled with ethylene oxide gas 
or an ethylene oxide/inert gas mixture for the purpose of 
sterilization)  

Subpart XXXXX - Reserved.  
Subpart YYYYY - Electric Arc Furnace Steelmaking Facility 
Area Sources.  

40 CFR 63.10680 through 40 CFR 63.10692 
(a steel plant that produces carbon, alloy, or specialty steels 
using an electric arc furnace) 

Subpart ZZZZZ - Iron and Steel Foundries Area Sources. 
40 CFR 63.10880 through 40 CFR 63.10906 
(a facility that melts scrap, ingot, and/or other forms of iron 
and/or steel and pours the resulting molten metal into 
molds to produce final or near final shape products for 
introduction into commerce) 

Subpart AAAAAA - Reserved. 
Subpart BBBBBB - Gasoline Distribution Bulk Terminals, 
Bulk Plants, and Pipeline Facilities, Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11080 through 40 CFR 63.11100 
(gasoline storage tanks, gasoline loading racks, vapor 
collection-equipped gasoline cargo tanks, and equipment 
components in vapor or liquid gasoline service) 
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Subpart CCCCCC - Gasoline Dispensing Facilities, Area 
Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11110 through 40 CFR 63.11132 
(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 
retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 
into these regulations. for any source that is not (i) a major 
source as defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject to Article 1 
(9VAC5-80-50 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for 
Stationary Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 (Permits for 
Stationary Sources) or (ii) an affected source as defined in 
9VAC5-80-370 and subject to Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et 
seq., Federal Operating Permits for Acid Rain Sources) of 
Part II of 9VAC5-80) 

Subpart DDDDDD - Polyvinyl Chloride and Copolymers 
Production Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11140 through 40 CFR 63.11145 
(plants that produce polyvinyl chloride or copolymers) 

Subpart EEEEEE - Primary Copper Smelting Area Sources. 
40 CFR 63.11146 through 40 CFR 63.11152 
(any installation or any intermediate process engaged in the 
production of copper from copper sulfide ore concentrates 
through the use of pyrometallurgical techniques) 

Subpart FFFFFF - Secondary Copper Smelting Area Sources. 
40 CFR 63.11153 through 40 CFR 63.11159 
(a facility that processes copper scrap in a blast furnace and 
converter or that uses another pyrometallurgical 
purification process to produce anode copper from copper 
scrap, including low-grade copper scrap) 

Subpart GGGGGG - Primary Nonferrous Metals Area 
Sources--Zinc, Cadmium, and Beryllium. 

40 CFR 63.11160 through 40 CFR 63.11168  
(cadmium melting furnaces used to melt cadmium or 
produce cadmium oxide from the cadmium recovered in 
the zinc production; primary beryllium production facilities 
engaged in the chemical processing of beryllium ore to 
produce beryllium metal, alloy, or oxide, or performing 
any of the intermediate steps in these processes; and 
primary zinc production facilities engaged in the 
production, or any intermediate process in the production, 
of zinc or zinc oxide from zinc sulfide ore concentrates 
through the use of pyrometallurgical techniques) 

Subpart HHHHHH - Paint Stripping and Miscellaneous 
Surface Coating Operations Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11169 through 40 CFR 63.11180 
(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 
retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 
into these regulations. for any source that is not (i) a major 
source as defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject to Article 1 
(9VAC5-80-50 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for 
Stationary Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 (Permits for 
Stationary Sources) or (ii) an affected source as defined in 

9VAC5-80-370 and subject to Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et 
seq., Federal Operating Permits for Acid Rain Sources) of 
Part II of 9VAC5-80) 

Subpart IIIIII - Reserved. 
Subpart JJJJJJ - Industrial, Commercial, and Institutional 
Boiler Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11193 through 40 CFR 63.11226 
(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 
retained by EPA and is not incorporated by reference into 
these regulations. for any source that is not (i) a major 
source as defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject to Article 1 
(9VAC5-80-50 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for 
Stationary Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 (Permits for 
Stationary Sources) or (ii) an affected source as defined in 
9VAC5-80-370 and subject to Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et 
seq., Federal Operating Permits for Acid Rain Sources) of 
Part II of 9VAC5-80) 

Subpart KKKKKK - Reserved. 
Subpart LLLLLL - Acrylic and Modacrylic Fibers Production 
Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11393 through 40 CFR 63.11399 
(production of either of the following synthetic fibers 
composed of acrylonitrile units: acrylic fiber or modacrylic 
fiber) 

Subpart MMMMMM - Carbon Black Production Area 
Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11400 through 40 CFR 63.11406 
(carbon black production process units including all waste 
management units, maintenance wastewater, and 
equipment components that contain or contact HAP that 
are associated with the carbon black production process 
unit) 

Subpart NNNNNN - Chemical Manufacturing Area Sources: 
Chromium Compounds. 

40 CFR 63.11407 through 40 CFR 63.11413 
(any process that uses chromite ore as the basic feedstock 
to manufacture chromium compounds, primarily sodium 
dichromate, chromic acid, and chromic oxide) 

Subpart OOOOOO - Flexible Polyurethane Foam Production 
and Fabrication Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11414 through 40 CFR 63.11420 
(a facility where pieces of flexible polyurethane foam are 
cut, bonded, and/or laminated together or to other 
substrates) 

Subpart PPPPPP - Lead Acid Battery Manufacturing Area 
Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11421 through 40 CFR 63.11427 
(grid casting facilities, paste mixing facilities, three-
process operation facilities, lead oxide manufacturing 
facilities, lead reclamation facilities, and any other lead-

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-60
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-50
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-370
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-360
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-60
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-50
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-370
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-360
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-60
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-50
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-370
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-360
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80
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emitting operation that is associated with the lead acid 
battery manufacturing plant) 

Subpart QQQQQQ - Wood Preserving Area Sources. 
40 CFR 63.11428 through 40 CFR 63.11434 
(pressure or thermal impregnation of chemicals into wood 
to provide effective long-term resistance to attack by fungi, 
bacteria, insects, and marine borers) 

Subpart RRRRRR - Clay Ceramics Manufacturing Area 
Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11435 through 40 CFR 63.11447 
(manufacture of pressed tile, sanitaryware, dinnerware, or 
pottery with an atomized glaze spray booth or kiln that 
fires glazed ceramic ware) 

Subpart SSSSSS - Glass Manufacturing Area Sources. 
40 CFR 63.11448 through 40 CFR 63.11461 
(manufacture of flat glass, glass containers, or pressed and 
blown glass by melting a mixture of raw materials to 
produce molten glass and form the molten glass into 
sheets, containers, or other shapes) 

Subpart TTTTTT - Secondary Nonferrous Metals Processing 
Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11462 through 40 CFR 63.11474  
(all crushing and screening operations at a secondary zinc 
processing facility and all furnace melting operations 
located at any secondary nonferrous metals processing 
facility) 

Subpart UUUUUU - Reserved. 
Subpart VVVVVV - Chemical Manufacturing Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11494 through 40 CFR 11503 
(each chemical manufacturing process unit that uses as 
feedstocks, generates as byproducts, or produces as 
products any of the following: 1,3-butadiene; 1,3-
dichloropropene; acetaldehyde; chloroform; ethylene 
dichloride; methylene chloride; hexachlorobenzene; 
hydrazine; quinoline; or compounds of arsenic, cadmium, 
chromium, lead, manganese, or nickel) 

Subpart WWWWWW - Plating and Polishing Operations, 
Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11504 through 40 CFR 63.11513 
(new and existing tanks, thermal spraying equipment, and 
mechanical polishing equipment used in non-chromium 
electroplating, electroless or non-electrolytic plating, non-
electrolytic metal coating, dry mechanical polishing, 
electroforming, and electropolishing) 

Subpart XXXXXX - Nine Metal Fabrication and Finishing 
Source Categories, Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11514 through 40 CFR 63.11523 
(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 
retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 
into these regulations. for any source that is not (i) a major 

source as defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject to Article 1 
(9VAC5-80-50 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for 
Stationary Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 (Permits for 
Stationary Sources) or (ii) an affected source as defined in 
9VAC5-80-370 and subject to Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et 
seq., Federal Operating Permits for Acid Rain Sources) of 
Part II of 9VAC5-80) 

Subpart YYYYYY - Ferroalloys Production Facilities, Area 
Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11524 through 40 CFR 63.11543 
(manufacture of silicon metal, ferrosilicon, ferrotitanium 
using the aluminum reduction process, ferrovanadium, 
ferromolybdenum, calcium silicon, silicomanganese 
zirconium, ferrochrome silicon, silvery iron, high-carbon 
ferrochrome, charge chrome, standard ferromanganese, 
silicomanganese, ferromanganese silicon, calcium carbide 
or other ferroalloy products using electrometallurgical 
operations including electric arc furnaces or other reaction 
vessels) 

Subpart ZZZZZZ - Aluminum, Copper, and Other 
Nonferrous Foundries, Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11544 through 40 CFR 63.11558 
(melting operations at aluminum, copper, and other 
nonferrous foundries, including the collection of induction, 
reverberatory, crucible, tower, or dry hearth furnaces used 
to melt metal ingot, alloyed ingot and/or metal scrap to 
produce molten metal that is poured into molds to make 
castings) 

Subpart AAAAAAA - Asphalt Processing and Asphalt 
Roofing Manufacturing Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11559 through 40 CFR 63.11567 
(asphalt processing operations that prepare asphalt flux at 
standalone asphalt processing facilities, petroleum 
refineries, and asphalt roofing facilities that include one or 
more asphalt flux blowing stills; and asphalt roofing 
manufacturing operations that manufacture asphalt roofing 
products through a series of sequential process steps 
depending upon whether the type of substrate used is 
organic or inorganic) 

Subpart BBBBBBB - Chemical Preparations Industry Area 
Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11579 through 40 CFR 63.11588  
(any facility-wide collection of chemical preparation 
operations, including the collection of mixing, blending, 
milling, and extruding equipment used to manufacture 
chemical preparations that contain metal compounds for 
chromium, lead, manganese, and nickel) 

Subpart CCCCCCC - Paints and Allied Products 
Manufacturing Area Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11599 through 40 CFR 63.11638  
(paints and allied products manufacturing processes, 
including, weighing, blending, mixing, grinding, tinting, 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-60
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-50
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-370
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-360
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80
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dilution or other formulation, as well as cleaning 
operations, material storage and transfer, and piping) 

Subpart DDDDDDD - Prepared Feeds Manufacturing Area 
Sources. 

40 CFR 63.11619 through 40 CFR 63.11638 
(production of animal feed from the point in the process 
where a material containing chromium or manganese is 
added, to the point where the finished product leaves the 
facility, including areas where materials containing 
chromium and manganese are stored, areas where materials 
containing chromium and manganese are temporarily 
stored prior to addition to the feed at the mixer, mixing and 
grinding processes, pelleting and pellet cooling processes, 
packing and bagging processes, crumblers and screens, 
bulk loading operations, and all conveyors and other 
equipment that transfer feed materials) 

Subpart EEEEEEE - Gold Mine Ore Processing and 
Production Area Sources 

40 CFR 63.11640 through 40 CFR 63.11653 
(any industrial facility engaged in the processing of gold 
mine ore that uses any of the following processes: roasting 
operations, autoclaves, carbon kilns, preg tanks, 
electrowinning, mercury retorts, or melt furnaces) 

Subpart FFFFFFF - Reserved. 
Subpart GGGGGGG - Reserved. 
Subpart HHHHHHH - Polyvinyl Chloride and Copolymers 
Production. 

40 CFR 63.11860 through 40 CFR 63.12000 
(facility-wide collection of PVCPU, storage vessels, heat 
exchange systems, surge control vessels, wastewater and 
process wastewater treatment systems that are associated 
with producing polyvinyl chloride and copolymers) 

Appendix A - Test Methods.  
Appendix B - Sources Defined for Early Reduction 
Provisions.  
Appendix C - Determination of the Fraction Biodegraded 
(Fbio) in a Biological Treatment Unit.  
Appendix D - Alternative Validation Procedure for EPA 
Waste and Wastewater Methods.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3856; Filed December 11, 2013, 2:24 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 
2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 
of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 
Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 
of record. 
Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-40. Credit Unions (adding 
10VAC5-40-80, 10VAC5-40-90).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 6.2-1303 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 1, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Werner Paul, Deputy Commissioner, 
Bureau of Financial Institutions, State Corporation 
Commission, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 371-9698, FAX (804) 371-9416, or email 
werner.paul@scc.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The State Corporation Commission is adopting regulations 
to give state-chartered credit unions the authority to (i) 
purchase loan participation interests to the same extent, 
and subject to the same terms and conditions, as is 
authorized for federal credit unions under 12 CFR 701.22 
and (ii) offer employee benefit plans and defined benefit 
plans on terms and conditions comparable to federal credit 
unions under 12 CFR 701.19. The regulations also provide 
state-chartered credit unions the authority to purchase an 
investment to fund an obligation under an employee benefit 
plan or defined benefit plan provided that the investment is 
directly related to the credit union's obligation or potential 
obligation and the credit union holds the investment only 
for as long as it has an actual or potential obligation under 
such plan.  

AT RICHMOND, DECEMBER 17, 2013 
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 
STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2013-00097 
Ex Parte: In re: parity regulations 
for state-chartered credit unions 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 
On September 27, 2013, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") entered an Order to Take Notice 
("September 27 Order") of a proposal by the Bureau of 
Financial Institutions to amend Chapter 40 of Title 10 of the 
Virginia Administrative Code, which governs state-chartered 
credit unions. The proposed regulations would give state-
chartered credit unions the authority to (i) purchase loan 
participation interests on terms and conditions comparable to 
federal credit unions under 12 C.F.R. § 701.22; and (ii) offer 
employee benefit plans as well as defined benefit plans and 
purchase investments to fund such plans on terms and 
conditions comparable to federal credit unions under 
12 C.F.R. § 701.19. The September 27 Order and proposed 
regulations were published in the Virginia Register of 
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Regulations on October 21, 2013, posted on the 
Commission's website, and sent to all state-chartered credit 
unions and other interested parties. Credit unions and other 
interested parties were afforded the opportunity to file written 
comments or request a hearing on or before November 8, 
2013. The Commission received comment letters from the 
Virginia Credit Union League and Northern Star Credit 
Union, Incorporated. Both comment letters supported the 
proposed regulations. The Commission did not receive any 
requests for a hearing. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the 
proposed regulations, the comments filed, the record herein, 
and applicable law, concludes that the proposed regulations 
should be adopted with an effective date of January 1, 2014. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 
(1) The proposed regulations, as attached hereto, are 
adopted effective January 1, 2014. 
(2) This Order and the attached regulations shall be posted 
on the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 
(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall provide a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 
attached regulations, to the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 
(4) This case is dismissed from the Commission's docket of 
active cases. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of the 
attached regulations, shall be sent by the Clerk of the 
Commission to the Commission's Office of General Counsel 
and the Commissioner of Financial Institutions, who shall 
forthwith send a copy of this Order, together with a copy of 
the attached regulations, to all state-chartered credit unions 
and such other interested parties as he may designate. 
10VAC5-40-80. Loan participations. 

Notwithstanding any provision of Chapter 13 (§ 6.2-1300 et 
seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia relating to loan 
participations or cooperative loans, a state-chartered credit 
union may purchase a participation interest in a loan to the 
same extent, and subject to the same terms and conditions, as 
is authorized for federal credit unions under 12 CFR 701.22. 
10VAC5-40-90. Benefits for employees of state-chartered 
credit unions. 

A. A state-chartered credit union may provide employee 
benefits, including retirement benefits, to its employees and 
officers. The kind and amount of these benefits shall be 
reasonable given the credit union's size, financial condition, 
and the duties of the employees.  

B. When a state-chartered credit union is the benefit plan 
trustee or custodian, the plan shall be authorized and 
maintained to the same extent, and subject to the same terms 
and conditions, as is authorized for federal credit unions 

under 12 CFR Part 724. When the benefit plan trustee or 
custodian is a party other than a state-chartered credit union, 
the benefit plan shall be maintained in accordance with 
applicable laws, including any applicable regulations adopted 
by the U.S. Department of Labor, the U.S. Department of the 
Treasury, or any other federal or state authority exercising 
jurisdiction over the plan. 

C. Notwithstanding the investment limitations set forth in 
§ 6.2-1376 of the Code of Virginia, a state-chartered credit 
union investing to fund an obligation under an employee 
benefit plan, as defined in 29 USC § 1002(3), may purchase 
an investment if (i) the investment is directly related to the 
credit union's obligation or potential obligation under the 
employee benefit plan and (ii) the credit union holds the 
investment only for as long as it has an actual or potential 
obligation under the employee benefit plan. 

D. A state-chartered credit union may invest to fund a 
defined benefit plan, as defined in 29 USC § 1002(35), 
provided that the investment complies with subsection C of 
this section. If a credit union invests to fund a defined benefit 
plan that is not subject to the fiduciary responsibility 
provisions of Part 4 of the Employee Retirement Income 
Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), 29 USC § 1001 et seq., it shall 
diversify its investment portfolio to minimize the risk of large 
losses unless it is clearly prudent not to do so under the 
circumstances. 

E. A state-chartered credit union shall not occupy the 
position of a fiduciary, as defined in ERISA and the 
regulations adopted by the U.S. Department of Labor. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3872; Filed December 17, 2013, 12:13 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-20. Regulations for the 
Conduct of Human Research (amending 12VAC5-20-10, 
12VAC5-20-30 through 12VAC5-20-130).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-12.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: March 14, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Dev Nair, PhD, Director, Division of Policy 
and Evaluation, Office of Family Health Services, 
Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 864-7662, or email 
dev.nair@vdh.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 32.1-12.1 of the Code of Virginia states that 
the State Board of Health shall promulgate regulations 
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pursuant to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia) to effectuate the provisions of 
Chapter 5.1 (§ 32.1-162.16 et seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code 
of Virginia for human research, as defined in § 32.1-162.16 of 
the Code of Virginia, to be conducted or authorized by the 
department or any facilities or other entities operated, funded, 
or licensed by the department.  
Purpose: To fulfill the statutory mandate to review 
regulations and to protect the citizens of the Commonwealth, 
the Virginia Department of Health conducted a periodic 
review of 12VAC5-20, Regulations for the Conduct of 
Human Research, pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2010) and 
§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. As a result of this 
review, and in order to help protect the health, safety, and 
welfare of citizens, the Virginia Department of Health is 
providing proposed amendments to the regulations. It is 
necessary to amend these regulations to make corrections to 
outdated citations, provide consistency in language, and 
enhance the clarity of the regulations in order to achieve 
improvements that will be reasonable, prudent, and will not 
impose an unnecessary burden on users of the Virginia 
Department of Health's Institutional Review Board, human 
subject researchers, or the public. 
Substance: The proposed amendments to the regulations 
include: 

12VAC5-20-10: 
1. Updating the definition of "human research." 
2. Adding a definition of "subject" or "human subject." 
3. Replacing the term "participants" with "subjects" in 
various sections. 
4. Eliminating the detailed elements of informed consent. 
This information is duplicated in 12VAC5-20-100. 
5. Amending the definition of "legally authorized 
representative" to be consistent with § 32.1-162.16 of the 
Code of Virginia. 
6. Adding a definition of "protected health information." 

12VAC5-20-30 - Replacing the term "human participants" 
with "human subjects" to be consistent with language used 
in § 32.1-162.16. 
12VAC5-20-40 - Clarifying that no official or employee of 
the institution or agency conducting or authorizing the 
research is qualified to act as a legally authorized 
representative. 
12VAC5-20-50 - Changing the committee reporting 
requirement from January 31 to March 31 of each year. 
12VAC5-20-50 and 12VAC5-20-60 - Amending the term 
"chairman" to "chair." 
12VAC5-20-70 - Requiring that the committee have at 
least five members instead of at least seven members. 

12VAC5-20-80: 
1. Clarifying that no human research shall be conducted 
unless a research committee has reviewed and approved 
the project. The section is also amended to provide 
details as to the elements of the project that are to be 
considered in the review. 
2. Deleting the requirement that the committee approve a 
written procedure for when a subject has a complaint 
regarding the research. The requirement that the 
committee develop a procedure is retained. 
3. Requiring that the committee chair provide a written 
report to the head of the institution regarding any 
violation that led to either a suspension or termination of 
the research. 
4. Requiring that the committee ensure compliance with 
the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act 
(HIPAA) and federal and state regulations regarding 
disclosure of personal health information. 
5. Providing that cooperating institutions conducting 
research may enter into a joint review, rely on another 
qualified committee, or come to an agreement that avoids 
duplication of review effort. 

12VAC5-20-90 - Providing additional clarification on 
when and how an expedited review can be completed and 
clarifying the authority to suspend or terminate approval 
for a project. 
12VAC5-20-100 - Clarifying the informed consent 
requirements and when the committee may waive the 
informed consent requirement. 
12VAC5-20-110 - Eliminating the reference to the 
Alzheimer's Disease and Related Disorders Registry and 
the reference to § 32.1-116.1:2 of the Code of Virginia. 
12VAC5-20-130 - Changing the reporting date from 
January 31 to March 31 annually.  

Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public. There are no 
disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. An 
advantage to the agency and the Commonwealth is that the 
amended regulations will provide greater clarification on the 
requirements for human research and clarification on the 
protection of research subjects. 
Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 
regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 
regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
State Board of Health (Board) proposes to reduce the number 
of required members on human research committees from 
seven to five, and make several other clarifying changes to 
these regulations. These regulations only apply to research 
either wholly or in part conducted by the Virginia Department 
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of Health (Department), local health departments in the 
Commonwealth and to any facility operated, funded or 
licensed by the Department which conducts or which 
proposes to conduct or authorize research which uses human 
participants. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. The regulations state that human 
research activity shall be reviewed and approved by a 
committee composed of representatives of varied 
backgrounds who shall assure the competent, complete, and 
professional review of human research activities. The current 
regulations require that the committee shall have at least 
seven members. The Board proposes to reduce the number of 
required members to five. Having five committee members is 
less burdensome and is consistent with federal regulation.1  
The Board proposes several other changes to the language in 
these regulations. None of the other proposed amendments 
introduce any new requirements or changes to current 
requirements that are not either already in federal regulation 
or Virginia statute. Thus these other proposed changes will 
have no impact beyond improving clarity.  
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the Virginia Department of Health, local health 
departments in the Commonwealth and any facility operated, 
funded or licensed by the Department which conducts or 
which proposes to conduct or authorize research which uses 
human participants. 
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
will not likely affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 
use and value of private property. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments are unlikely to significantly affect costs for 
small businesses. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 
significantly affect costs for small businesses. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 
of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 
other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 
identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 
entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 
to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 
the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 
effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 
economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 
estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 
regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 
other administrative costs required for small businesses to 
comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 
skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 
documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 
regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 
of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 
achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 
presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 
economic impacts. 
_______________________________ 
1 Relevant federal regulation: 45 CFR 46.107 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Department of Health concurs with the findings of 
the economic impact analysis. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) revise the definitions of 
human research, informed consent, and legally authorized 
representative to be consistent with § 32.1-162.16 of the 
Code of Virginia and 45 CFR Part 46; (ii) provide 
additional clarity on committee review procedures; (iii) 
require that the research review committee ensure 
compliance with the Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act and federal and state regulations 
regarding disclosure of personal health information and 
change committee membership from seven to five; (iv) 
clarify the informed consent requirements; and (v) revise 
the required reporting dates for the research review 
committee to report yearly activities and the commissioner 
to report the listing of institutions that are subject to 
federal regulations regarding human subject research and 
are exempt from 12VAC5-20. 

12VAC5-20-10. Definitions.  
The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Affiliated with the institution" means employed by or 
contracting with the institution or directly or indirectly 
involved in the management thereof.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 
Department of Health.  

"Committee" means human research committee assembled 
pursuant to 12VAC5-20-70 of this chapter by any institution 
defined herein.  

"Department" means the Department of Health.  
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"Human research" means any systematic investigation 
utilizing human participants who may be exposed to physical 
or psychological injury as a consequence of participation and 
which departs from the application of established and 
accepted therapeutic methods appropriate to meet the 
participants' needs, including research development, testing, 
and evaluation, utilizing human subjects that is designed to 
develop or contribute to generalized knowledge. Human 
research shall not be deemed to include research exempt from 
federal research regulation pursuant to 45 CFR 46.101(b).  

"Informed consent" means the knowing and voluntary 
agreement, without undue inducement or any element of 
force, fraud, deceit, duress, or other form of constraint or 
coercion, of a person who is capable of exercising free power 
of choice. For the purposes of human research, the basic 
elements of information necessary to such consent shall 
include:  

1. A reasonable and comprehensible explanation to the 
person of the proposed procedures or protocols to be 
followed, their purposes, including descriptions of any 
attendant discomforts, and risks and benefits reasonably to 
be expected;  
2. A disclosure of any appropriate alternative procedures or 
therapies that might be advantageous for the individual;  
3. An instruction that the person may withdraw his consent 
and discontinue participation in the human research at any 
time without prejudice to him;  
4. An explanation of any costs or compensation which may 
accrue to the person and, if applicable, the availability of 
third party reimbursement for the proposed procedures or 
protocols; and  
5. An offer to answer any inquiries by any individual 
concerning the procedures and protocols.  

In addition to the required elements, the information 
provided to the individual should also include the following:  

1. A statement that the study involves research, and an 
explanation that includes identification of any procedures 
which are experimental; the expected duration of the 
individual's participation; and a statement describing the 
extent, if any, to which confidentiality of records 
identifying the participant will be maintained; and if any 
data from this study are published, the individual will not 
be identified without his written permission;  
2. A statement that there may be other risks not yet 
identified;  
3. A disclosure of any appropriate alternative procedures or 
therapies that might be advantageous for the individual;  
4. A statement that participation is voluntary, refusal to 
participate will involve no penalty or loss of benefits to 
which the individual is otherwise entitled, and the 
individual may discontinue participation at any time 
without penalty or loss of benefits to which he is otherwise 
entitled;  

5. An explanation of whom to contact for answers to 
pertinent questions about the research and research 
participants' rights, and whom to contact in the event of a 
research-related injury; and  
6. For research involving more than minimal risk, an 
explanation as to whether any compensation or medical 
care is available if injury occurs and, if so, what is included 
or where further information may be obtained.  

Information should be provided in a manner that is 
understandable to the individual with regard to his 
educational level and language of greatest fluency.  

"Institution" or "agency" means any facility, program, or 
organization owned or operated by the Commonwealth, by 
any political subdivision, or by any person, firm, corporation, 
association, or other legal entity.  

"Legally authorized representative" means, in the following 
specified order of priority, (i) the parent or parents having 
custody of a prospective participant subject of human 
research who is a minor; (ii) the agent appointed under an 
advance directive as defined in § 54.1-2982 of the Code of 
Virginia, executed by the person who is the prospective 
subject of human research, provided the advance directive 
authorizes the agent to make decisions regarding the person's 
participation in human research; (iii) the legal guardian of a 
prospective participant subject of human research; (iv) the 
spouse of a prospective subject of human research, except 
where a suit for divorce has been filed and the divorce decree 
is not yet final; (v) an adult child of a prospective subject of 
human research; (vi) a parent of a prospective subject of 
human research when the individual is an adult; (vii) an adult 
brother or sister of a prospective subject of human research; 
or (viii) any person or judicial or other body authorized by 
law or regulation to consent on behalf of a prospective 
participant subject of human research to such person's 
participation in the particular human research. For the 
purposes of this chapter, any person authorized by law or 
regulation to consent on behalf of a prospective participant 
subject to his such subject's participation in the particular 
human research shall include an attorney-in-fact appointed 
under a durable power of attorney, to the extent the power 
grants the authority to make such a decision. The attorney-in-
fact shall not be employed by the person, institution or 
agency conducting the human research. No official or 
employee of the institution or agency conducting or 
authorizing the research shall be qualified to act as a legally 
authorized representative.  

"Minimal risk" means that the risks of harm or discomfort 
anticipated in the proposed research are not greater, 
considering probability and magnitude, than those ordinarily 
encountered in daily life or during the performance of routine 
physical or psychological examinations, or tests, or 
treatments.  
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"Nontherapeutic research" means human research in which 
there is no reasonable expectation of direct benefit to the 
physical or mental condition of the participant subject.  

"Protected health information" or "PHI" means individually 
identifiable health information that is created or received by 
or on behalf of the institution or agency that is maintained or 
transmitted in any medium, including electronic media. PHI 
excludes individually identifiable health information in: 

1. Education records covered by the Family Educational 
Rights and Privacy Act, as amended, 20 USC § 1232g; 
2. Records described at 20 USC § 1232g(a)(4)(B)(iv) 
(educational records not otherwise covered under the 
Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act in subdivision 
1 of this definition); or 
3. Employment records held by a covered entity in its role 
as an employer. 

"Subject" or "human subject" means a living person about 
whom an investigator (whether professional or student) 
conducting research obtains (i) data through intervention or 
interaction with the person or (ii) identifiable private 
information. 
12VAC5-20-30. Applicability.  

This chapter shall apply to the department, including any 
local health department and to any facility operated, funded 
or licensed by the department which that conducts or which 
proposes to conduct or authorize research which uses using 
human participants subjects.  
12VAC5-20-40. Policy.  

A. No human research may shall be conducted without 
informing the participant subject or his legally authorized 
representative of the procedures, risks, and discomforts of the 
research. The consent of the participant subject or his legally 
authorized representative to participate in the research shall 
be subscribed to in writing by the participant subject or his 
legally authorized representative and supported by the 
signature of a witness not involved in the conduct of the 
research, except as provided for in 12VAC5-20-100 F and H 
of this chapter. Special arrangements shall be made for those 
who need assistance in understanding the consequences of 
participating in the research.  

B. Each human research activity shall be reviewed and 
approved by a committee as set forth in 12VAC5-20-70 of 
this chapter composed of representatives of varied 
backgrounds who shall assure the competent, complete, and 
professional review of human research activities.  

C. Every person engaged in the conduct of human research 
or proposing to conduct human research shall associate 
himself with an institution or agency having a research review 
committee, and the human research which he conducts or 
proposes to conduct shall be subject to review and approval 
by such committee in the manner set forth in these regulations 
this chapter.  

D. Nontherapeutic research using patients or residents 
within an institution as defined herein is forbidden unless it is 
determined by the research review committee that such 
nontherapeutic research will shall not present greater than 
minimal risk.  

E. The individual person, institution, or agency conducting 
the human research shall be required to notify all participants 
subjects of human research of the risks caused by the research 
which that are discovered after the research has concluded. If 
consent has been obtained by the signature of the legally 
authorized representative, the legally authorized 
representative shall also be notified.  

F.  No official or employee of the institution or agency 
conducting or authorizing the human research shall be 
qualified to act as a legally authorized representative for a 
subject of the particular human research. 
12VAC5-20-50. Review process for department.  

A. Prior to the initiation of a human research project by any 
component of the department, a description of the proposed 
human research project shall be submitted to a research 
review committee established by the department for review 
and approval. The description shall include a statement of the 
purpose of the proposed project and justification thereof, the 
criteria for inclusion of a participant as a subject in the 
research project, a description of what will be done to the 
participants subjects, and a copy of the informed consent 
statement.  

B. The committee shall report by January March 31 of each 
year to the commissioner on activities of the committee 
during the previous calendar year. Such reports shall include:  

1. A description of each human research project reviewed 
and whether it was approved or disapproved;  
2. Any significant deviations from proposals as approved;  
3. A list of committee members, their qualifications for 
service on the committee, and their institutional affiliation; 
and  
4. A copy of the minutes of any committee meetings 
conducted.  

C. The chairman chair of the committee shall report as soon 
as possible to the commissioner any violation of the research 
protocol which that led the committee to either suspend or 
terminate the research.  

D. The commissioner may inspect the records of the 
committee.  

E. The commissioner shall report at least annually to the 
Governor and General Assembly on the human research 
projects conducted by any component of the department as 
annually reported to the commissioner by the committee.  
12VAC5-20-60. Review process for institutions or 
agencies funded or licensed by the department.  

A. Prior to the initiation of a human research project by any 
institution or agency funded or licensed by the department, a 
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description of the proposed human research project shall be 
submitted to a research review committee for review and 
approval. The description shall include a statement of the 
purpose of the proposed project and justification thereof, the 
criteria for inclusion of a participant subject in the research 
project, a description of what will be done to the participants 
subjects, and a copy of the informed consent statement.  

B. When more than one such institution or agency is 
involved in a research project, the cooperating entities may 
enter into joint review.  

C. Such institutions or agencies having a committee shall 
report by January March 31 of each year to the commissioner 
on activities of the committee during the previous calendar 
year. Such reports shall include:  

1. A description of each human research project reviewed 
and whether it was approved or disapproved;  
2. Any significant deviations from proposals as approved;  
3. A list of committee members, their qualifications for 
service on the committee, and their institutional affiliation; 
and  
4. A copy of the minutes of any committee meetings 
conducted.  

D. The chairman chair of the committee shall report as soon 
as possible to the head of such institution or agency and to the 
commissioner any violation of the research protocol which 
led the committee to either suspend or terminate the research.  

E. The commissioner may inspect the records of the 
committee.  

F. The commissioner shall report at least annually to the 
Governor and General Assembly on the human research 
projects conducted by such institutions or agencies as 
annually reported to the commissioner by the relevant 
research review committees.  
12VAC5-20-70. Composition of research review 
committee.  

A. Each committee shall have at least seven five members, 
appointed by the head of the institution, with varying 
backgrounds to provide complete and adequate review of 
activities commonly conducted by the institution. The 
committee shall be sufficiently qualified through the maturity, 
experience, and diversity of its members, including 
consideration of race, gender and cultural background, to 
promote respect for its advice and counsel in safeguarding the 
rights and welfare of participants subjects in human research. 
In addition to possessing the professional competence 
necessary to review specific activities, the committee shall be 
able to ascertain the acceptability of applications and 
proposals in terms of institutional commitments and 
regulations, applicable law, standards of professional conduct 
and practice, and community attitudes. If a committee 
regularly reviews research that has an impact on patients or 
residents within an institution as defined herein or other 
vulnerable category of participants subjects, the committee 

shall have in its membership one or more individuals who are 
primarily concerned with the welfare of these participants 
subjects and who have appropriate experience to serve in that 
capacity.  

B. No committee shall consist entirely of members of one 
profession, and at least one member must shall be an 
individual whose primary concerns are in nonscientific areas 
(e.g., lawyers, ethicists, members of the clergy).  

C. Each committee shall include at least one member who is 
not otherwise affiliated with the institution and who is not 
part of the immediate family of a person who is affiliated with 
the institution.  

D. No member of a committee shall participate in the 
committee's initial or continuing review of any project in 
which the member has a conflicting interest, except to 
provide information requested by the committee. The 
committee has responsibility for determining whether a 
member has a conflicting interest. The committee size shall 
be maintained at no fewer than seven five persons by 
appointment of a substitute representative for each member 
with a conflicting interest.  

E. A committee may, at its discretion, invite individuals with 
competence in special areas to assist in the review of complex 
issues which require expertise beyond or in addition to that 
available on the committee. These individuals may shall not 
vote with the committee.  

F. A quorum of the committee shall consist of a majority of 
its members including at least one member whose primary 
concerns are in nonscientific areas.  

G. The committee and the institution shall establish 
procedures and rules of operation necessary to fulfill the 
requirements of this chapter.  
12VAC5-20-80. Elements of committee review process.  

A. No human research shall be conducted or authorized by a 
person, institution, or agency unless a research review 
committee has reviewed and approved the proposed human 
research project giving consideration to:  

1. The adequacy of the description of the potential benefits 
and risks involved and the adequacy of the methodology of 
the human research; 
2. The degree of the risk and, if the human research is 
nontherapeutic, whether it presents greater than minimal 
risk; 
3. Whether the rights and welfare of the human subjects 
involved are adequately protected; 
4. Whether the risks to the human subjects are outweighed 
by the potential benefits to them; 
5. Whether the risks to subjects are minimized (i) by using 
procedures that are consistent with sound human research 
design and that do not unnecessarily expose subjects to risk 
and (ii) whenever appropriate, by using currently accepted 
procedures for diagnostic or treatment purposes; 
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6. Whether additional safeguards have been included in the 
study to protect the rights and welfare of the subjects when 
some or all of the subjects are likely to be incapable of 
providing informed consent or are otherwise vulnerable to 
coercion or undue influence, such as children, prisoners, 
pregnant women, mentally disabled persons, or 
economically or educationally disadvantaged persons; 
7. Whether the informed consent is to be obtained by 
methods that are adequate and appropriate and whether the 
written consent form is adequate and appropriate in both 
content and language for the particular human research and 
for the particular subjects of the human research; 
8. Whether the persons proposing to supervise or conduct 
the particular human research are appropriately competent 
and qualified; 
9. Whether criteria for selection of subjects are equitable; 
and 
10. Whether the human research conforms with other 
requirements of the department, where applicable. 

A. B. The committee shall consider a research proposals 
proposal within 45 days after its submission to the committee. 
In order for the research proposal to be approved, it shall 
receive the approval of a majority of those the committee 
members present at a meeting in for which a quorum exists. A 
committee shall notify investigators and the institution in 
writing of its decision to approve or disapprove the proposed 
research activity, proposal or of modifications required to 
secure committee approval.  

B. C. During the committee review of research projects 
proposals, no personal identifiers of present or potential 
subjects shall be stated.  

C. D. The committee shall approve or develop a written 
description of the procedure to be followed when a subject 
has a complaint about a research project in which he is 
participating or has participated.  

D. E. Any subject who has a complaint about a research 
project in which he is participating or has participated shall be 
referred to the committee to determine if there has been a 
violation of the protocol.  

F. The committee shall have the authority to suspend or 
terminate approval of research that is not being conducted in 
accordance with the committee requirements or that has been 
associated with unexpected serious harm to the subjects. Any 
suspension or termination of approval shall include a 
statement of the reasons for the committee's action and shall 
be reported promptly to the investigator, appropriate 
institutional officials, the department or agency head, and the 
commissioner. 

G. The chair of the committee shall provide a written report 
to the head of the institution of any violation of the human 
research protocol that led the committee to suspend or 
terminate the human research. 

E. H. The committee shall require reports from approved 
research projects at least annually to ensure conformity with 
the approved proposal. The frequency of such reports shall be 
consistent with the nature and degree of risk of each research 
project. The committee shall also require a report from the 
research project at the conclusion of the research project.  

I. The committee shall ensure compliance with the Health 
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (42 
USC § 1320d et seq.), if applicable, and federal and state 
regulations regarding the use and disclosure of PHI created 
for human research. In particular, authorization shall be 
obtained for the use and disclosure of PHI created for the 
purpose of human research, except as otherwise permitted by 
45 CFR 164.512(i). 

J. When cooperating institutions conduct some or all of the 
human research involving some or all of the subjects of the 
human research, each cooperating institution shall be 
responsible for safeguarding the rights and welfare of the 
subjects and for complying with this chapter, provided 
however, in complying with this chapter, institutions may 
enter into joint review, rely upon the review of another 
qualified committee, or come to similar agreements aimed at 
avoiding duplication of effort. Any such agreement shall be in 
writing and designate a lead institution, which shall be the 
institution responsible for reporting and handling any possible 
misconduct in the human research. Such agreements shall be 
entered into by the committee chair with the approval of a 
majority of the committee members. If an institution or 
agency does not have a research review committee, such 
agreements shall be approved and entered into by the chief 
executive officer of the institution or his designee. 
12VAC5-20-90. Expedited review of human research 
projects.  

A. The committee is authorized to conduct an expedited 
review of a human research project which that involves no 
more than minimal risk to the subjects if: and involves only 
research procedures listed in one or more categories 
established by the Secretary of Health and Human Services 
and published in the Federal Register pursuant to 45 CFR 
46.110.  

B. The committee also is authorized to conduct an expedited 
review of a human research project that involves no more 
than minimal risk to the subjects if: 

1. Another institution's or agency's human research review 
committee has reviewed and approved the project; or  
2. The review involves only minor changes in previously 
approved research and the changes occur during the 
approved project period.  

C. An expedited review may be carried out by the chair of 
the committee or by one or more experienced reviewers 
designated by the chair from among the committee members. 
In reviewing the research project, the reviewers may exercise 
all of the authorities of the committee except that the 
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reviewers may not disapprove the research project. A research 
project may be disapproved only after review by the full 
committee in accordance to the procedures set forth in 
12VAC5-20-80. 

B. D. Each committee which that uses an expedited review 
procedure shall adopt a method for keeping all members 
advised of research proposals which projects that have been 
approved under the procedure.  
12VAC5-20-100. Informed consent.  

A. "Informed consent" means the knowing and voluntary 
agreement, without undue inducement or any element of 
force, fraud, deceit, duress, or other form of constraint or 
coercion, of a person who is capable of exercising free power 
of choice. For the purposes of human research, the basic 
elements of information necessary to determine the existence 
of such consent shall include the following:  

1. A reasonable and comprehensible explanation to the 
person of the proposed procedures or protocols to be 
followed, their purposes, including descriptions of any 
attendant discomforts, and risks and benefits reasonably to 
be expected, how the results of the human research are 
disseminated, and how the identity of the person is 
protected;  
2. A disclosure of any appropriate alternative procedures or 
therapies that might be advantageous for the individual 
person, together with their side effects, risks, and benefits;  
3. A description of any adverse consequences and risks to 
be expected and an indication of whether there may be 
other significant risks not yet identified; 
3. 4. An instruction that the person may withdraw his 
consent and discontinue participation in the human 
research at any time without prejudice to him or fear of 
reprisal;  
4. 5. An explanation of any costs or compensation that may 
accrue to the person and, if applicable, the availability of 
third party reimbursement for the proposed procedures or 
protocols or any medical care that may be available if an 
injury occurs;  
5. 6. An offer to answer any inquiries by any individual the 
person or, if applicable, his legally authorized 
representative concerning the procedures and protocols and 
a description of the ways in which concerns may be raised 
or questions asked;  
6. 7. A statement that the study involves research, and an 
explanation that includes identification of any procedures 
that are experimental; the expected duration of the 
individual's person's participation; a statement describing 
the extent, if any, to which confidentiality of records 
identifying the participant will be maintained; and if any 
data from this study are published, the individual person 
will not be identified without his written permission;  
7. 8. A statement that there may be other risks not yet 
identified;  

8. 9. A disclosure of any appropriate alternative procedures 
or therapies that might be advantageous for the individual 
person;  
9. 10. A statement that participation is voluntary, refusal to 
participate will involve no penalty or loss of benefits to 
which the individual person is otherwise entitled, and the 
individual person may discontinue participation at any time 
without penalty or loss of benefits to which he is otherwise 
entitled;  
10. 11. An explanation of whom to contact for answers to 
pertinent questions about the research and research 
participants' rights, and whom to contact in the event of a 
research-related injury; and  
11. 12. For research involving more than minimal risk, an 
explanation as to whether any compensation or medical 
care is available if injury occurs and, if so, what is included 
or where further information may be obtained.  

Information shall be provided in a manner that is 
understandable to the individual person with regard to his 
educational level and language of greatest fluency.  

B. No human research shall be conducted in the absence of 
informed consent subscribed to in writing by the person or by 
the person's authorized representative except as provided for 
in subsection E of this section. If the person is capable of 
providing informed consent, written consent shall be provided 
by the person and witnessed. If the person is incapable of 
making an informed decision as defined in § 54.1-2982 of the 
Code of Virginia, at the time consent is required, written 
consent shall be provided by the person's legally authorized 
representative and witnessed. If the person is a minor 
otherwise capable of rendering informed consent, the consent 
shall be provided by both the minor and his legally authorized 
representative. An investigator shall seek such consent only 
under circumstances that provide the person who is the 
prospective subject or the representative sufficient 
opportunity to consider whether to participate and that 
minimize the possibility of coercion or undue influence. The 
information that is given to the person or, if applicable, the 
person's legally authorized representative shall be in language 
understandable to the person or representative. 

C. No person shall participate in human research unless the 
informed consent requirement in this section is met. No 
informed consent shall include any language through which 
the person waives or appears to waive any of his legal rights, 
including any release of any person, institution, or agency or 
any agents therof from liability for negligence. No person 
shall be forced to participate in any human research if the 
investigator conducting the human research knows that 
participation in the human research is protested by the person. 

D. No legally authorized representative shall consent to 
nontherapeutic human research unless it is determined by the 
research review committee that such nontherapeutic research 
will present no more than a minor increase over minimal risk 
to the subject. A legally authorized representative may not 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 13, 2014 

1331 

consent to participation in human research on behalf of a 
subject if the legally authorized representative knows, or upon 
reasonable inquiry ought to know, that any aspect of the 
human research protocol is contrary to the religious beliefs or 
basic values of the subject, whether expressed orally or in 
writing. 

E. The research review committee may approve a consent 
procedure that does not include or that alters some or all of 
the elements of informed consent set forth in this section, or 
that waives the requirements to obtain informed consent 
provided the committee finds and documents that:  

1. The human research involves no more than minimal risk 
to the subjects; 
2. The omission, waiver, or alteration will not adversely 
affect the rights and welfare of the subjects; 
3. The human research could not practicably be performed 
without the omission, waiver, or alterations; and 
4. After participation, the subjects shall be provided with 
additional pertinent information, whenever appropriate. 

B. F. Consent may take the form of either of the following:  
1. A written consent document that embodies the elements 
of informed consent required by this section. This form 
may be read to the subject or the subject's legally 
authorized representative, but, in any event, the 
investigator shall give either the subject or the 
representative adequate opportunity to read it before it is 
signed and witnessed; or  
2. A short form written consent document stating that the 
elements of informed consent required by this section have 
been presented orally to the subject or the subject's legally 
authorized representative. When this method is used, there 
shall be a witness to the oral presentation. Also, the 
committee shall approve a written summary of what is to 
be said to the subject or the representative. Only the short 
form itself written consent is to be signed by the subject or 
the representative. However, the witness shall sign both the 
short form written consent and a copy of the summary, and 
the person actually obtaining consent shall sign a copy of 
the summary. A copy of the summary and a copy of the 
short form written consent shall be given to the subject or 
the representative.  

G. The research review committee may waive the 
requirement in subsection B of this section for the 
investigator to obtain a written informed consent form for 
some or all subjects if it finds that the only record linking the 
subject and the human research would be the consent 
document and the principal risk would be potential harm 
resulting from a breach of confidentiality. Each subject shall 
be asked whether the subject wants documentation linking the 
subject with the human research, and the subject's wishes 
shall govern. In cases where the documentation requirement 
is waived, the committee may require the investigator to 

provide subjects with a written statement explaining the 
human research. 
12VAC5-20-110. Categories of human research exempt 
from regulation.  

Research activities in which the only involvement of human 
participants will be subjects is in one or more of the following 
categories are exempt from this chapter:  

1. The surveillance and investigation by the department 
into all preventable diseases and epidemics in the 
Commonwealth and into the means for the prevention of 
such diseases and epidemics conducted pursuant to § 32.1-
39 of the Code of Virginia.  
2. Research designed to study on a large scale anonymous 
vital records and registry data collected pursuant to the 
Code of Virginia, Chapter 7 (§ 32.1-249 et seq.) of Title 
32.1 (Vital Records), § 32.1-64.1 (Virginia Hearing 
Impairment Identification and Monitoring System), § 32.1-
69.1 (Viginia (Virginia Congenital Anomalies Reporting 
and Education System), § 32.1-70 (Statewide Cancer 
Registry), § 32.1-71.l (Statewide Alzheimer's Disease and 
Related Disorders Registry), § 32.1-46.01 (Virginia 
Immunization Information System), and §§ § 32.116.1 and 
32.116.1:2 (Emergency Medical Services Patient Care 
Information System).  
3. Research or student learning outcomes assessment 
conducted in educational settings such as research 
involving:  

a. Regular or special education instructional strategies; or  
b. The effectiveness of or the comparison among 
instructional techniques, curricula, or classroom 
management methods; or  
c. The use of educational tests, whether cognitive, 
diagnostic, aptitude, or achievement, if the data from 
such tests are recorded in a manner so that participants 
subjects cannot be identified, directly or through 
identifiers linked to the participants subjects.  

4. Research involving survey or interview procedures 
unless responses are recorded in such a manner that the 
participants subjects can be identified, directly or through 
identifiers linked to the participants subjects, and either:  

a. The participant's subject's responses, if they became 
known outside the research, could reasonably place the 
participant at risk of criminal or civil liability or be 
damaging to his financial standing, employability, or 
reputation; or  
b. The research deals with sensitive aspects of the 
participant's subject's own behavior such as sexual 
behavior, drug or alcohol use, or illegal conduct.  

5. Research involving survey or interview procedures, 
when the respondents are elected or appointed public 
officials or candidates for public office.  



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 13, 2014 

1332 

6. Research involving solely the observation of public 
behavior, including observation by participants, unless 
observations are recorded in such a manner that the 
participants subjects can be identified, directly or through 
identifiers linked to the participants subjects, and either:  

a. The observations recorded about the individual 
subject, if they became known outside the research, could 
reasonably place the participant subject at risk of 
criminal or civil liability or be damaging to his financial 
standing, employability, or reputation; or  
b. The research deals with sensitive aspects of the 
participant's subject's own behavior, such as sexual 
behavior, drug or alcohol use, or illegal conduct.  

7. Research involving the collection or study of existing 
data, documents, records, or pathological specimens, if 
these sources are publicly available or if the information is 
recorded by the investigator in a manner so that 
participants subjects cannot be identified, directly or 
through identifiers linked to the participants subjects.  

12VAC5-20-120. Committee records.  
A. Documentation of committee activities shall be prepared 

and maintained by each such committee and shall include the 
following:  

1. Copies of all research proposals reviewed, scientific 
evaluations that may accompany the proposals, approved 
sample consent documents, progress reports submitted by 
investigators, and reports of injuries to participants 
subjects;  
2. Minutes of committee meetings which shall be in 
sufficient detail to show attendance at the meetings; actions 
taken by the committee; the vote on these actions each 
action, including the number of members voting for, 
against, and abstaining; the basis for requiring changes in 
or disapproving research; and a written summary of the 
discussion of controversial issues and their resolution;  
3. Records of continuing review activities;  
4. Copies of all correspondence between the committee 
and the investigators;  
5. A list of committee members;  
6. Written procedures for the committee; and  
7. Statements of significant new findings provided to 
participants subjects.  

B. The records required by this chapter shall be retained for 
at least three years, and records relating to research which that 
is conducted shall be retained for at least three years after 
completion of the research. All records shall be accessible for 
inspection and copying by authorized employees or agents of 
the department at reasonable times and in a reasonable 
manner.  

C. An Each research review committee of a state institution 
or agency shall ensure that an overview of approved human 
research projects and the results of such projects will be are 

made public on the department's such institution's or agency's 
website unless otherwise exempt from disclosure under the 
Virginia Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia). 
12VAC5-20-130. Applicability of federal policies.  

Human research at institutions which are that is subject to 
policies and regulations for the protection of human 
participants subjects promulgated by any agency of the 
federal government shall be exempt from this chapter. Such 
institutions Institutions where research is performed that is 
subject to federal policies and regulation shall notify the 
commissioner annually, by January March 31, of their 
compliance with the policies and regulations of federal 
agencies. The commissioner shall identify institutions exempt 
from this chapter as reported in accordance with this section 
in the annual report to the Governor and the General 
Assembly provided in accordance with 12VAC5-20-60 F.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3401; Filed December 17, 2013, 5:24 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-31. Virginia Emergency 
Medical Services Regulations (amending 12VAC5-31-
1401; repealing 12VAC5-31-1465).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12, 32.1-111.4, and 32.1-111.5 
of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2014. 
Effective Date: March 1, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Michael Berg, Regulatory and Compliance 
Manager, Department of Health, 1041 Technology Park 
Drive, Glen Allen, VA 23059-4500, telephone (804) 888-
9131, or email michael.berg@vdh.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 32.1-12 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
State Board of Health to promulgate regulations to carry out 
the provisions of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. Section 
32.1-111.4 of the Code of Virginia directs the board to 
establish requirements regarding emergency medical services 
(EMS). Section 32.1-111.5 of the Code of Virginia requires 
the board to establish the qualifications required for 
certification of emergency medical services providers, 
including those qualifications necessary for authorization to 
follow Do Not Resuscitate Orders pursuant to § 54.1-2987.1 
of the Code of Virginia, and the procedures and the 
qualifications required for the recertification of EMS 
providers.  
Purpose: This regulatory action will help to strengthen the 
EMS system, and thereby protect the health, safety, and 
welfare of citizens, by improving the efficiency of the EMS 
provider recertification process through the removal of certain 
unnecessary and burdensome regulatory requirements. There 
is unanimous consensus by the EMS system that the current 
method and process used to recertify EMS providers needs to 
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be changed. The EMS system is in agreement that the 
recertification of EMS credentials should be based solely on 
completion of continuing education hours and should not 
require a written examination or examination waiver by the 
provider's EMS agency operational medical director (OMD) 
to complete the process. Current review of available data 
reveals greater than 90% of all recertification testing is being 
waived.  
These changes will not adversely affect the health, safety, and 
welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth because the 
ability to provide patient care as an EMS provider is governed 
by regulations that require authorization by the agency OMD 
and affiliation with an EMS agency. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: Changes to the 
regulations are not expected to be controversial as the various 
stakeholders groups and the EMS community requested this 
change to simplify the existing recertification process. These 
changes will mirror the recertification processes of other 
allied health professions. 
Substance: The changes to the regulation allow a certified 
EMS provider to gain recertification through continuing 
education only, removes any retesting requirement (written or 
practical) at the state level, and removes the requirement for 
the OMD to sign any paperwork to "waive" any test 
administered by the state. This does not preclude the ability 
of the individual OMD to implement any local requirements 
he believes necessary to evaluate the ability of the EMS 
providers that provide patient care under his authority. 
Issues: The primary advantage of this regulatory action is that 
it removes burdensome and unnecessary regulatory 
requirements as well as aligns with other allied health care 
recertification practices in the Commonwealth. This 
regulatory action poses no disadvantages to either the public 
or the Commonwealth. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapters 72 and 331 of the 2013 Acts of 
Assembly, the proposed regulations no longer require 
Emergency Services (EMS) providers to take a written 
examination for recertification. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to Chapters 72 and 331 
of the 2013 Acts of Assembly, the proposed regulations no 
longer require EMS providers to take a written examination 
for recertification. Under the current regulations, EMS 
providers are required to take a written examination for 
recertification. However, the written examination requirement 
may be waived by the relevant operational medical director. 
According to the Virginia Department of Health (VDH), more 
than 90% of all recertification testing is currently being 
waived. With the proposed changes, recertification of EMS 

credentials will be based solely on completion of continuing 
education hours currently required.  
The proposed changes will primarily affect EMS providers. 
EMS providers who are currently obtaining waivers will not 
have to seek waivers and the ones currently taking the exam 
will not have to take it under the proposed regulations. VDH 
estimates that during the five-month period from August to 
December 2013, approximately 2,137 providers will be 
required to take the test. Of these, approximately 1,991 will 
obtain waivers and about 145 will actually take the test. The 
proposed regulations will benefit the affected providers as 
they will no longer incur time and travel costs to take the 
exam or obtain a waiver. The test is administered by VDH 
free of charge. Thus, VDH is also expected to realize cost 
savings from reduced administrative workload, reduced 
postage costs, and reduced printing costs. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. There are approximately 
37,000 EMS providers in the Commonwealth. These 
providers work for approximately 684 agencies that are 
volunteer, commercial, and municipal entities. 
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 
apply throughout the Commonwealth. 
Projected Impact on Employment. Proposed elimination of 
the recertification exam is expected to provide time savings to 
the providers as well as to VDH due to their reduced work 
load. Thus, a potential increase in supply of EMS providers 
and a potential decrease in demand for VDH administrative 
staff time may be expected. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed regulations are not expected to have a significant 
effect on the value of private property. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Some of the 
commercial agencies employing EMS providers may be small 
businesses. However, the proposed regulations do not have a 
direct impact on these agencies.  
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed regulations are not anticipated 
to have a direct impact on commercial agencies that may be 
small businesses. 
Real Estate Development Costs. No effect on real estate 
development costs is expected. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 
of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 
other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 
identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 
entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 
and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 
to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 
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the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 
effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 
economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 
estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 
regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 
other administrative costs required for small businesses to 
comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 
skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 
documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 
regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 
of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 
achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 
presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 
economic impacts. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Department of Health has reviewed the economic 
impact analysis and concurs with the results. 
Summary: 

In accordance with Chapters 72 and 331 of the 2013 Acts 
of Assembly, the amendments remove the requirement for 
emergency medical services (EMS) providers to take a 
written examination or obtain a waiver from testing from 
the relevant operational medical director to recertify their 
EMS certifications. 

12VAC5-31-1401. General recertification requirements.  
A. An EMS provider must complete the requirements for 

recertification and the requesting recertification must 
complete the continuing education hour requirements, as 
identified in 12VAC5-31-1403, for the level at which the 
EMS provider is requesting to be recertified. The Office of 
EMS must receive the required documentation of the EMS 
provider's completion of continuing education within the 
issued certification period for the provider to maintain a 
current certification. 

B. An EMS provider requesting recertification must 
complete the continuing education (CE) hour requirements 
for the level to be recertified. 

C. An EMS provider requesting recertification must pass the 
written state certification examination. 

1. An EMS provider affiliated with an EMS agency may be 
granted an exam waiver from the state written certification 
examination by the OMD of the EMS agency, provided: 

a. The EMS provider meets the recertification 
requirements including those established by the OMD; 
and 
b. The EMS provider must submit a completed Virginia 
EMS Certification Application with the exam waiver 
approval signed by the EMS agency OMD, which must 
be received by the Office of EMS within 30 days 
following the expiration of his certification. 
(1) If the Virginia EMS Certification Application form is 
received by the Office of EMS after the EMS provider's 

certification expiration date, the EMS provider may not 
practice at the expired certification level until a valid 
certification is received from the Office of EMS. 
(2) If the Virginia EMS Certification Application form is 
received by the Office of EMS more than 30 days after 
the EMS provider's certification expiration date, his 
certification will be in reentry and he will be required to 
test pursuant to 12VAC5-31-1407.  

2. B. An EMS provider under legal recognition pursuant to 
12VAC5-31-1393 must pass recertify by passing a Virginia 
written and practical EMS certification examination and is 
not eligible for examination waiver. 
12VAC5-31-1465. Recertification examination 
requirement. (Repealed.) 

A. Individuals who are eligible to recertify and hold current 
certifications are required to successfully complete the state 
written examination process based upon the following: 

1. All individuals who are not affiliated with a licensed 
EMS agency must take the state written examination to 
recertify. 
2. Individuals affiliated with a licensed EMS agency may 
be granted an exam waiver from the state written 
recertification examination by the operational medical 
director (OMD) of the EMS agency, provided:  

a. A completed Virginia EMS Certification Application 
signed by the OMD and the individual is submitted to the 
Office of EMS documenting the exam waiver or a format 
approved by the Office of EMS. 
b. A Virginia EMS Certification Application form 
submitted as an exam waiver must be received by the 
Office of EMS no later than 30 days following the 
expiration of the individual's certification at the level 
being waived. 
(1) Virginia EMS Certification Application forms 
received by the Office of EMS during the 30 days after 
the individual's certification expiration date will be 
considered valid for recertification purposes. However, 
during this period following expiration, the individual 
may not practice at the expired certification level. 
(2) Virginia EMS Certification Application forms 
received by the Office of EMS more than 30 days after 
the individual's certification expiration date will be 
considered as invalid and the individual will be deemed 
in reentry status and required to test to regain current 
certification. 

B. Candidates in current provider status required or 
choosing to take the state recertification examination must 
demonstrate eligibility as evidenced by presentation of a valid 
recertification eligibility notice letter from the Office of EMS. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3703; Filed December 17, 2013, 11:39 a.m.  
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DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-130. Amount, Duration and 
Scope of Selected Services (amending 12VAC30-130-800, 
12VAC30-130-810, 12VAC30-130-820).  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
Effective Dates: December 16, 2013, through June 15, 2015. 
Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 
Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Administrative Process Act states 
that an agency may adopt emergency regulations in 
situations in which Virginia statutory law, the Virginia 
appropriation act, or federal law or federal regulation 
requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or less 
from its enactment and the regulation is not exempt under 
the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 
Item 307 UU of Chapter 3 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly, 
Special Session I, directed the department to make 
programmatic changes to ensure appropriate utilization, 
prevent abuse, and promote improved and cost-efficient 
medical management of essential Medicaid client health 
care (as described in Item 307 UU) within 280 days or less 
from its enactment date. 
The purpose of this regulatory action is to comply with the 
legislative mandate by making programmatic changes to 
the Client Medical Management (CMM) program to 
ensure appropriate utilization, prevent abuse, and promote 
improved and cost-efficient medical management of 
essential health care and to assist and educate 
beneficiaries in appropriately utilizing medical and 
pharmacy services.  
The amendments to the Medicaid Client Medical 
Management program are not essential to protect the 
health, safety, or welfare of citizens. However, the 
amendments could be essential to protect the health, safety, 
and welfare of Medicaid clients who abuse prescription 
drugs. The current regulations promote case management 
of Medicaid individuals who have been identified as 
abusers of specific medical services provided by physicians 
and pharmacists. The current regulations lack an 
education component, therefore leaving enrollees with only 
the option of being restricted for a certain period of time to 
a specific physician or pharmacy. The revisions provide 
for a two-tiered system, allowing for an educational 
component as well as restrictions. The revised regulations 
provide for the notification of potential abusers that they 
have been identified and will be monitored closely for a 

certain period of time. It is anticipated that the revised 
regulations will assist recipients, physicians, and 
pharmacists as they and CMM work together to identify 
the recipients' utilization patterns and educate them on 
appropriate use of services.  
Currently, the regulations provide for administration of the 
Client Medical Management program. CMM guidelines 
lock-in recipients to one physician/pharmacy for a 
minimum of 36 months. At the end of the lock-in period, if 
the recipient is deemed to be still inappropriately utilizing 
services, he is re-enrolled for another 36 months. Despite 
this approach, the recidivism rate has steadily risen, and 
recipients are remaining in lock-in for years. Furthermore, 
providers have also become disinterested in being 
designated as a recipient's assigned physician or 
pharmacist while the abuse is ongoing.  
Individuals who are determined to be utilizing physician or 
pharmacy services beyond the specified limits will be 
evaluated to determine if their utilization warrants being 
locked in to specific providers. Individuals exceeding 
200% of the maximum therapeutic dosage of the same drug 
or multiple drugs in the same therapeutic class for a 
period of time exceeding four weeks would be locked in to 
one pharmacy provider. Individuals having two 
occurrences of having prescriptions for the same drug 
filled two or more times on the same or subsequent day 
would also be restricted. Individuals who utilize services 
from three or more physicians/pharmacies in a three-
month time period would be restricted. Individuals who 
receive more than 24 prescriptions in a three-month period 
would be restricted. Finally individuals receiving more 
than 12 psychotropic prescriptions, more than 12 
analgesic prescriptions, or more than 12 controlled drug 
prescriptions in a three-month period would be restricted.  
These changes update references to the computer 
subsystem that will generate individuals' utilization reports 
for the purpose of data analysis. A new exception is 
provided for individuals to not be restricted when evidence 
indicates that the prescription or medical services 
utilization, or both, are appropriate for their diagnoses 
and medical conditions. This action provides for a two-
tiered system, allowing for both restriction and 
education/monitoring. The new restriction period will last 
for 24 months. DMAS anticipates that reducing the lock-in 
period to 24 months will counter recidivism, assure 
providers that recipients are being educated about their 
utilization patterns in a timely manner, and prevent 
recipients from stagnating in the CMM program. A 24-
month period will also allow for the review of utilization 
within the first 12 months of the CMM lock-in to determine 
if a recipient's behavior has been modified.   
This action provides for individuals to visit physicians or 
specialists other than their designated restriction physician 
upon written referral from the restriction physician. 
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Provision is also retained for individuals who have 
legitimate medical necessity for high numbers of 
prescription drugs and visits to numerous physicians to 
appeal a lock-in status and have it removed. 

Part XIII  
Client Medical Management Program  

12VAC30-130-800. Definitions. 
The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"APA" means the Administrative Process Act established by 
Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Abuse by recipients" means practices by recipients which 
are inconsistent with sound fiscal or medical practices and 
result in unnecessary costs to the Virginia Medicaid Program. 

"Abuse by providers" means practices which are 
inconsistent with sound fiscal, business, or medical practices 
and result in unnecessary costs to the Virginia Medicaid 
Program or in reimbursement for a level of utilization or 
pattern of services that is not medically necessary.  

"Abuse" or "abusive practices" means practices by 
individuals or providers that are inconsistent with sound fiscal 
or medical practices and result in unnecessary costs to the 
Virginia Medicaid program. 

"Card-sharing" means the intentional sharing of a recipient 
an individual's eligibility card for use by someone other than 
the recipient individual for whom it was issued, or a pattern 
of repeated unauthorized use of a recipient an individual's 
eligibility card by one or more persons other than the 
recipient individual for whom it was issued due to the failure 
of the recipient individual to safeguard the card. 

"Client Medical Management Program (CMM) for 
recipients individuals" or "CMM Program for individuals" 
means the recipients' individuals' utilization control program 
designed to prevent abuse and promote improved and cost 
efficient medical management of essential health care for 
noninstitutionalized recipients individuals through restriction 
to one primary care provider, one pharmacy, and one 
transportation provider, or any combination of these three 
designated providers. Referrals may not be made to providers 
restricted through the Client Medical Management Program, 
nor may restricted providers serve as covering providers for 
restricted individuals. 

"Client Medical Management Program (CMM) for 
providers"  or "CMM Program for providers" means the 
providers' utilization control program designed to 
complement the recipient individual abuse and utilization 
control program in promoting improved and cost efficient 
medical management of essential health care. Restricted 
providers may not serve as designated providers for restricted 
recipients individuals. Restricted providers may not serve as 

referral or covering providers for restricted recipients 
individuals. 

"Code of Federal Regulations" or "CFR" means the source 
where Medicaid federal regulations are located (42 CFR Part 
430 through Part 505). 

"Contraindicated medical care" means treatment which is 
medically improper or undesirable and which results in 
duplicative or excessive utilization of services.  

"Contraindicated use of drugs medication" means the 
concomitant use of two or more drugs whose combined 
pharmacologic action produces an undesirable therapeutic 
effect or induces an adverse effect by the extended use of a 
drug with a known potential to produce this effect.  

"Controlled substance" means a substance that has a 
potential for abuse because physical and psychic dependence 
and tolerance may develop upon repeated administration and 
are classified as Schedules I through V drugs. 

"Covering provider" means a provider designated by the 
primary provider to render health care services in the 
temporary absence of the primary provider.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services. The Department of Medical Assistance Services is 
the state agency designated by the General Assembly to 
administer Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

"Dental services" means covered dental services available to 
Medicaid/FAMIS eligible children as well as the limited, 
emergency services available to Medicaid eligible adults. 

"Designated provider physician/pharmacy" means the 
provider who agrees to be the designated primary physician, 
designated or pharmacy, or designated transportation provider 
from whom the restricted recipient individual must first 
attempt to seek health care medical or pharmaceutical 
services. Other providers may be established as designated 
physician or pharmacy providers with the approval of DMAS. 

"Diagnostic category" means the broad classification of 
diseases and injuries found in the International Classification 
of Diseases, 9th Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM) 
which is commonly used by providers in billing for medical 
services. 

"Diagnosis" means (i) the process of determining by 
examination the nature and circumstances of a diseased 
condition; and (ii) the decision reached from such 
examination. 

"Drug" means a substance or medication intended for use in 
the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment or prevention of 
disease as defined by the Virginia Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-
3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

"Duplicative medical care" means two or more practitioners 
are concurrently treat treating the same or similar medical 
problems or conditions falling into the same diagnostic 
category, but excluding confirmation for diagnosis, 
evaluation, or assessment.  
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"Duplicative medications" means more than one prescription 
of the same drug or more than one drug in the same 
therapeutic class.  

"Eligibility card" means the document issued to each 
Medicaid individual listing the name and Medicaid number 
(either the identification or billing number) of the eligible 
individual. This document may be in the form of a plastic 
card magnetically encoded, allowing electronic access to 
inquiries for eligibility status. 

"Emergency hospital services" means those hospital services 
that are necessary to treat a medical emergency. Hospital 
treatment of a medical emergency necessitates the use of the 
most accessible hospital available that is equipped to furnish 
the required services.  

"EPSDT" means the Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis, and Treatment Program which is federally 
mandated for eligible individuals under the age of 21 younger 
than 21 years of age.  

"Essential medical services" means quality medical services, 
including but not limited to preventive care, emergency 
services, maternity care, hospital and physician services, and 
prescription drug services as set out in the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance. 

"Excessive medical care" means obtaining greater than 
necessary services such that health risks to the recipient 
individual or unnecessary costs to the Virginia Medicaid 
Program may ensue from the accumulation of services or 
obtaining duplicative services.  

"Excessive medications" means obtaining medication in 
greater than generally acceptable maximum therapeutic 
dosage regimens or obtaining duplicative medication from 
more than one practitioner.  

"Excessive transportation services" means obtaining or 
rendering greater than necessary transportation services such 
that unnecessary costs to the Virginia Medicaid Program may 
ensue from the accumulation of services.  

"FAMIS" means the Family Access to Medical Insurance 
Security program as created by Title XXI of the Social 
Security Act.  

"Fraud" means an intentional deception or misrepresentation 
made by a person with the knowledge that the deception 
could result in some unauthorized benefit to himself or some 
other person. It includes any act that constitutes fraud under 
applicable federal or state laws.  

"Health care" means any covered services service, including 
equipment, or supplies, or transportation services, provided 
by any individual person, organization, or entity that 
participates in the Virginia Medical Assistance Program.  

"Home and community-based services" means a range of 
community services approved by the Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services (CMS) pursuant to § 1915(c) of the 
Social Security Act to be offered to individuals as an 
alternative to institutionalization. 

"Hospice services" means services, pursuant to § 1905(o) of 
the Act, that are reasonable and necessary for the palliation or 
management of the terminal illness, if the terminal illness 
runs its normal course. 

"Immunization" means the creation of immunity against a 
particular disease using a vaccination. 

"Individual" means the recipient of Medicaid covered 
services that are provided under the authority of Title XIX of 
the Social Security Act.  

"Java-Server Utilization Review System" or "JSURS" 
means a computer subsystem of the Virginia Medicaid 
Management Information System (VAMMIS) that collects 
claims data and computes statistical profiles of individual and 
provider activity and compares them with that of their 
particular peer group. 

"Managed Care Organization" or "MCO" means an entity 
that meets the participation and solvency criteria defined in 
42 CFR Part 438 and has an executed agreement with the 
department to provide services covered under the Medallion 
II (pursuant to 12VAC30-120-360 et seq.) and FAMIS 
(pursuant to 12VAC30-141) programs.  

"Medical emergency" means the sudden onset of a medical 
condition manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient 
severity (including severe pain) that in the absence of 
immediate medical attention could reasonably be expected to 
result in (i) placing the client's individual's health in serious 
jeopardy, (ii) serious impairment of the individual's bodily 
functions, or (iii) serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or 
part.  

"Medical management of essential health care" means a case 
management approach to health care in which the designated 
primary physician has responsibility for assessing the needs 
of the patient and making referrals to other physicians and 
clinics as needed. The designated pharmacy has responsibility 
for monitoring the drug regimen of the patient.  

"Medically necessary" means services that are reasonable 
and necessary for the diagnosis or treatment of an illness, 
condition, injury, or to improve the function of a disability, 
consistent with community standards of medical practice and 
in accordance with Medicaid/FAMIS policies. 

"Noncompliance" means failing to follow Client Medical 
Management Program policies and procedures, or a pattern of 
utilization which is inconsistent with sound fiscal or medical 
practices. Noncompliance includes, but is not limited to, 
failure to follow a recommended treatment plan or drug 
regimen; failure to disclose to a provider any treatment or 
services provided by another provider; requests for medical 
services or medications which are not medically necessary; or 
excessive use of transportation services.  

"Not medically necessary" means an item or service which 
is not consistent with the diagnosis or treatment of the 
patient's condition or an item or service which is duplicative, 
contraindicated, or excessive.  
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"Pattern" means a combination of qualities, acts, or 
tendencies that result in duplication or frequent occurrence.  

"Practitioner" means a health care provider licensed, 
registered, or otherwise permitted by law to distribute, 
dispense, prescribe, and administer drugs or otherwise treat 
medical conditions.  

"Primary care provider" or "PCP" means the designated 
primary physician responsible for medical management of 
essential health care for the restricted recipient a physician or 
nurse practitioner practicing in accordance with state law who 
is responsible for supervising, coordinating, and providing 
initial and primary medical care to patients; for initiating 
referrals for specialist care; and for maintaining the continuity 
of patient care.  

"Provider" means the individual, facility or other entity 
registered, licensed, or certified, as appropriate, and enrolled 
by DMAS to render services to Medicaid recipients eligible 
for services a person, organization, or institution with a 
current, valid license or certification, as applicable, and 
participation agreement with DMAS who or which will (i) 
render service to Medicaid individuals who are eligible for 
covered services, (ii) submit a claim or claims for the 
rendered services, and (iii) accept as payment in full the 
amount paid by the Virginia Medicaid/FAMIS program.  

"Psychotropic drugs" means drugs which that alter the 
mental state activity, behavior, or perception. Such Examples 
of such drugs include, but are not limited to, morphine, 
barbiturates, hypnotics, antianxiety agents, antidepressants, 
and antipsychotics.  

"Recipient" means the individual who is eligible, under Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act, to receive Medicaid covered 
services.  

"Recipient eligibility card" means the document issued to 
each Medicaid enrollee; an individual document issued to 
each Medicaid recipient listing the name and Medicaid 
number (either the identification or billing number) of the 
eligible individual. This document may be in the form of a 
plastic card magnetically encoded, allowing electronic access 
to inquiries for eligibility status.  

"Renal dialysis services" means services that aid the process 
of diffusing blood across a semi-permeable membrane to 
remove substances that a normal kidney would eliminate, 
including poisons, drugs, urea, uric acid, and creatinine. 
Renal dialysis services help to restore electrolytes and acid-
base imbalances. 

"Restriction" means an administrative action imposed on a 
recipient which an individual that limits access to specific 
types of health care services through a designated primary 
provider or an administrative action imposed on a provider to 
prohibit participation as a designated primary provider, 
referral, or covering provider for restricted recipients 
individuals.  

"Social Security Act" means the Act, enacted by the 74th 
Congress on August 14, 1935, which provides for the general 
welfare by establishing a system of federal old age benefits, 
and by enabling the states to make more adequate provisions 
for aged persons, blind persons, dependent and crippled 
children, maternal and child welfare, public health, and the 
administration of their unemployment compensation laws.  

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "the Plan" means the 
document listing the covered groups, covered services and 
their limitations, and provider reimbursement methodologies 
as provided for under Title XIX of the Social Security Act 
comprehensive written statement submitted by the department 
to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) for 
approval, describing the nature and scope of the Virginia 
Medicaid program and giving assurance that it will be 
administered in conformity with the requirements, standards, 
procedures, and conditions for obtaining federal financial 
participation.  

"Surveillance and Utilization Review Subsystem (SURS)" 
or "Automated Exception Analysis (AEA)" means a computer 
subsystem of the Medicaid Management Information System 
(MMIS) which collects claims data and computes statistical 
profiles of recipient and provider activity and compares them 
with that of their particular peer group.  

"Therapeutic class" means a group of drugs with similar 
pharmacologic actions and uses.  

"Under-use" or "under-utilization" means an occurrence 
where there is evidence that a patient did not receive a service 
or procedure whose benefits exceeded the risks. 

"Utilization control" means the control of covered health 
care services to assure the use of cost efficient, medically 
necessary or appropriate services.  
12VAC30-130-810. Client Medical Management Program 
for recipients individuals.  

A. Purpose. The Client Medical Management Program is a 
utilization control program designed to prevent abuse and 
promote improved and cost efficient medical management of 
essential health care designed to assist and educate Medicaid 
individuals in appropriately using medical and pharmacy 
services. Individuals who use these services excessively or 
inappropriately, as determined by DMAS, may be assigned to 
a single physician or pharmacy, or both. CMM also monitors 
individual compliance with program guidelines.  

B. Authority.  
1. Federal regulations at 42 CFR 456.3 require the 
Medicaid agency to implement a statewide surveillance 
and utilization control program and 42 CFR 455.1 through 
455.16 require the Medicaid agency to conduct 
investigations of abuse by recipients that (i) safeguards 
against unnecessary or inappropriate use of Medicaid 
services and against excess payments, (ii) assesses the 
quality of those services, (iii) provides for the control of 
the utilization of all services provided under the Plan, and 
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(iv) provides for the control of the utilization of inpatient 
services.  
2. Federal regulations at 42 CFR 431.54(e) allow states to 
restrict recipients individuals to designated providers when 
the recipients individuals have utilized services at a 
frequency or amount that is not medically necessary in 
accordance with utilization guidelines established by the 
state. 42 CFR 455.16(c)(4) provides for imposition of 
sanctions for instances of abuse identified by the agency.  

C. Identification of Client Medical Management Program 
participants. DMAS shall identify recipients individuals for 
review from computerized reports such as but not limited to 
Recipient SURS or AEA individual Java-Server Utilization 
Review System (JSURS), VAMMIS, Oracle or by written 
referrals from agencies, health care professionals, or other 
individuals persons. Certain individuals reviewed may not be 
restricted when evidence indicates that the prescription or 
medical service utilization patterns, or both, are for 
appropriate therapy.  

D. Recipient Individual evaluation for restriction.  
1. DMAS shall review recipients utilize data as indicated in 
subsection C of this section to conduct a review of 
individuals to determine if services are being utilized at a 
frequency or amount that results in a level of utilization or 
a pattern of services which is not medically necessary or 
which exceeds the thresholds established in these 
regulations by the department. Evaluation of utilization 
patterns can include but is not limited to review by the 
department staff of medical records or computerized 
reports, or both, generated by the department reflecting 
claims submitted for physician visits, drugs/prescriptions, 
outpatient and emergency room visits, lab and or 
diagnostic procedures, or both, and hospital admissions, 
and referrals.  
2. Restricted individuals shall have reasonable access to all 
essential medical services. These restrictions shall not 
apply to hospital emergency services.  
2. 3. Abusive activities shall be investigated and, if 
appropriate, the recipient individual shall be reviewed for 
educational intervention or restriction, or both. Recipients 
demonstrating questionable patterns of utilization or 
exceeding reasonable levels of utilization shall be reviewed 
for restriction. 

a. Lock-in. If DMAS' review determines that an 
individual's data is either (i) inappropriate, (ii) 
questionable patterns of utilization exist, or (iii) 
reasonable levels of utilization are exceeded, then the 
department shall initiate the individual's restriction to 
either a physician or pharmacy, or both. 
(1) Once an individual is locked-in, this period shall last 
for 24 months from the enrollment date. During this lock-
in period, the individual shall be required to use the 

services of the designated physician or pharmacy, or 
both. 
(2) The individual may visit physicians or specialists 
other those who are designated only by a written referral.  
(3) The individual may obtain prescriptions from 
pharmacies other than the designated pharmacy only in 
an emergency when the designated pharmacy is closed or 
when the designated pharmacy does not stock, or is not 
able to obtain in a timely manner, the required 
medication.  
b. DMAS may restrict an individual if any of the 
following activities or patterns or levels of utilization are 
identified. These activities, patterns, or levels of 
utilization include but shall not be limited to: 
(1) Two occurrences of having prescriptions for the same 
drugs filled two or more times on the same or the 
subsequent day; 
(2) Utilizing services from three or more prescribers and 
three or more dispensing pharmacies in a three-month 
period; 
(3) Receiving more than a total of 24 prescriptions in a 
three-month period; 
(4) Receiving more than 12 psychotropic prescriptions, 
more than 12 analgesic prescriptions, or more than 12 
prescriptions for controlled drugs that have the potential 
for abuse, in a three-month period; 
(5) Exceeding the maximum therapeutic dosage of the 
same drug or multiple drugs in the same therapeutic 
class, which have been prescribed by two or more 
practitioners, for a period exceeding four weeks; 
(6) Receiving two or more drugs, duplicative in nature or 
potentially addictive (even within acceptable therapeutic 
levels), dispensed by more than one pharmacy or 
prescribed by more than one practitioner for a period 
exceeding four weeks; 
(7) Receiving narcotic prescriptions from two or more 
prescribers without supporting diagnoses indicative of 
use;  
(8) Utilizing three or more different physicians of the 
same type or specialty in a three-month period for 
treatment of the same or similar condition or conditions; 
(9) Two or more occurrences of seeing two or more 
physicians of the same type or specialty on the same or 
subsequent day for the same or similar diagnosis; 
(10) One or more providers recommend restriction for 
medical management because the individual has 
demonstrated inappropriate utilization practices; 
(11) Duplicative, excessive, or contraindicated utilization 
of medication, medical supplies, medical visits, 
procedures, diagnostic tests, or appliances dispensed by 
or prescribed by more than one provider for the time 
period specified by DMAS; 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 13, 2014 

1340 

(12) Use of emergency hospital services for three or 
more emergency room visits for non-emergency care 
during a three-month period; 
(13) A pattern of noncompliance or utilization of services 
that is inconsistent with sound fiscal or medical practices. 
Noncompliance or inappropriate utilization can be 
characterized by, for example: 
(a) Failure to disclose to a provider any treatment or 
services provided by another provider; 
(b) Failure to follow a drug regimen or other 
recommended treatment; 
(c) Requests for medications or medical services that are 
not medically necessary; 
(d) Use of hospital emergency services for self-referral, 
non-acute episodes of care, or solely for non-acute 
management of chronic diagnoses/symptoms; or  
(e) Under-use or under-utilization of medically necessary 
services that result in higher costs for the management of 
the medical condition;  
(14) One or more documented occurrences of the use of 
the eligibility card to obtain drugs under false pretenses, 
which includes, but is not limited to, purchase or attempt 
to purchase drugs via a forged or altered prescription; 
(15) One or more documented occurrences of card-
sharing or documented occurrences of alteration of the 
individual eligibility care, or both; or 
(16) One or more documented occurrences of paying 
cash for controlled substances, analgesic drugs, or 
psychotropic drugs in addition to the use of the eligibility 
card to obtain similar or duplicative controlled 
substances.  

3. DMAS may restrict recipients if any of the following 
activities or patterns or levels of utilization are identified. 
These activities or patterns or levels of utilization include 
but shall not be limited to:  

a. Exceeding 200% of the maximum therapeutic dosage 
of the same drug or multiple drugs in the same 
therapeutic class for a period exceeding four weeks.  
b. Two occurrences of having prescriptions for the same 
drugs filled two or more times on the same or the 
subsequent day.  
c. Utilizing services from three or more prescribers and 
three or more dispensing pharmacies in a three-month 
period.  
d. Receiving more than 24 prescriptions in a three-month 
period.  
e. Receiving more than 12 psychotropic prescriptions or 
more than 12 analgesic prescriptions or more than 12 
prescriptions for controlled drugs with potential for abuse 
in a three-month period.  

f. Exceeding the maximum therapeutic dosage of the 
same drug or multiple drugs in the same therapeutic class 
for a period exceeding four weeks. In addition, such 
drugs must be prescribed by two or more practitioners.  
g. Receiving two or more drugs, duplicative in nature or 
potentially addictive (even within acceptable therapeutic 
levels), dispensed by more than one pharmacy or 
prescribed by more than one practitioner for a period 
exceeding four weeks.  
h. Utilizing three or more different physicians of the 
same type or specialty in a three-month period for 
treatment of the same or similar conditions.  
i. Two or more occurrences of seeing two or more 
physicians of the same type or specialty on the same or 
subsequent day for the same or similar diagnosis.  
j. Duplicative, excessive, or contraindicated utilization of 
medications, medical supplies, or appliances dispensed 
by or prescribed by more than one provider for the time 
period specified by DMAS.  
k. Duplicative, excessive, or contraindicated utilization 
of medical visits, procedures, or diagnostic tests from 
more than one provider for the time period specified by 
DMAS.  
l. Use of emergency hospital services for three or more 
emergency room visits for nonemergency care during a 
three-month period.  
m. One or more providers recommends restriction for 
medical management because the recipient has 
demonstrated inappropriate utilization practices.  
n. A pattern of noncompliance which is inconsistent with 
sound fiscal or medical practices. Noncompliance is 
characterized by, but not limited to:  
(1) Failure to disclose to a provider any treatment or 
services provided by another provider;  
(2) Failure to follow a drug regimen or other 
recommended treatment;  
(3) Requests for medical services or medications which 
are not medically necessary;  
(4) Excessive use of transportation services; or  
(5) Use of transportation services with no corresponding 
medical services.  
o. One or more documented occurrences of use of the 
eligibility card to obtain drugs under false pretenses, 
which includes, but is not limited to the purchase or 
attempt to purchase drugs via a forged or altered 
prescription.  
p. One or more documented occurrences of card-sharing.  
q. One or more documented occurrences of alteration of 
the recipient eligibility card.  
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E. Recipient Individual restriction procedures.  
1. DMAS shall advise affected recipients individuals by 
written notice of the proposed restriction under the Client 
Medical Management Program. Written notice shall 
include an explanation of restriction procedures and the 
recipient's individual's right to appeal the proposed action. 
2. The recipient individual shall have the opportunity to 
select designated physician or pharmacy providers, or both. 
If a recipient an individual fails to respond by the date 
specified in the restriction notice, DMAS shall select 
designated providers physician or pharmacy providers, or 
both.  
3. DMAS shall not implement restriction if a valid appeal, 
consistent with 12VAC30-110-210, is noted. (See 
subsection K of this section.)  
4. DMAS shall restrict recipients individuals to their 
designated providers physician or pharmacy, or both, for 
36 24 months.  

F. Designated providers.  
1. A designated primary physician or pharmacy, or both, 
must be a physician who provider that is enrolled as an 
individual practitioner in Virginia Medicaid and who that 
is unrestricted by DMAS.  
2. A designated pharmacy provider must be a pharmacy 
that is enrolled as a community pharmacy and that is 
unrestricted by DMAS. Physicians or pharmacy providers, 
or both, who are under the CMM Program for providers 
shall not serve as designated providers, shall not provide 
services through referral, and shall not serve as covering 
providers for restricted individuals. 
3. A designated transportation provider must be enrolled as 
a taxi, registered driver, or wheelchair van and be 
unrestricted by DMAS. Recipients shall be assigned to the 
type of provider who meets the appropriate level of 
transportation that is medically necessary.  
4. Providers restricted through the Client Medical 
Management Program may not serve as designated 
providers, may not provide services through referral, and 
may not serve as covering providers for restricted 
recipients.  
5. Physicians with practices limited to the delivery of 
emergency room services may not serve as designated 
primary providers.  
6. 4. Restricted recipients individuals shall have reasonable 
access to all essential medical services. These restrictions 
shall not apply to hospital emergency services.  
7. 5. Other provider types physicians or pharmacies, or 
both, may be established as designated providers as needed 
but only with the approval of DMAS.  

G. Provider reimbursement.  
1. DMAS shall reimburse for covered outpatient medical, 
or pharmaceutical, or both, and physician services for 

restricted individuals only when they are provided by the 
designated providers, or by physicians seen on a written 
referral from the PCP, or in a medical emergency 
consistent with the methodologies established for such 
services in the State Plan for Medical Assistance. 
Prescriptions may be filled by a nondesignated pharmacy 
only in emergency situations when the designated 
pharmacy is closed, or when the designated pharmacy does 
not stock, or is unable to obtain the drug in a timely 
manner.  
2. DMAS shall require a written referral, in accordance 
with published procedures, from the PCP for payment of 
covered outpatient services by nondesignated practitioners 
unless there is a medical emergency requiring immediate 
hospital treatment. Services exempt from these referral 
requirements include:  

a. Family planning services;  
b. Annual or routine vision examinations (under age 21);  
c. Dental services (under age 21);  
d. Emergency services;  
e. EPSDT well-child exams/screenings (under age 21);  
f. Immunizations (under age 21);  
g. Home- and community-based care waiver services 
such as private duty nursing or respite services;  
h. Renal dialysis services;  
i. Expanded prenatal services, including prenatal group 
education, nutrition services, and homemaker services for 
pregnant women and care coordination for high-risk 
pregnant women and infants up to age two; and  
j. Hospice services.  

3. When a transportation restriction is implemented, 
DMAS shall reimburse for covered transportation services 
only when they are provided by the designated 
transportation provider, or on referral from the designated 
transportation provider, or in a medical emergency.  
4. 3. Designated primary care providers (PCPs) shall 
receive a monthly case management fee for each assigned 
recipient individual.  

H. Client medical management identification material. 
DMAS shall provide an individual recipient eligibility card 
listing the recipient's designated primary care providers or a 
plastic card for each restricted recipient. DMAS shall provide 
correspondence to the recipient listing the name, address, and 
telephone number of each designated provider and the 
effective date of restriction to each provider.  

I. H. Changes in designated providers.  
1. DMAS must give prior authorization approval to all 
changes of designated providers.  
2. The recipient individual or the designated provider may 
initiate requests for change for the following reasons:  

a. Relocation of the recipient individual or provider.  
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b. Inability of the provider to meet the routine health or 
pharmaceutical needs of the recipient individual.  
c. Breakdown of the recipient/provider 
individual/provider relationship.  

3. If the designated provider initiates the request and the 
recipient individual does not select a new provider 
physician or pharmacy, or both, by established deadlines, 
DMAS shall select a provider, subject to concurrence from 
the provider or providers.  
4. If DMAS denies the recipient's individual's request for a 
particular physician or pharmacy, or both, the recipient 
individual shall be notified in writing and given the right to 
appeal the decision. (See subsection K of this section.)  

J. I. Review of recipient individual restriction status.  
1. During the restriction period, DMAS shall monitor the 
recipient's an individual's utilization no less frequently than 
every 12 months and follow up with the recipient 
individual to promote appropriate utilization patterns.  
2. DMAS shall also review a recipient's an individual's 
utilization prior to the end of the restriction period to 
determine restriction termination or continuation. (See 
subsection D of this section.)  

a. DMAS shall extend utilization control restrictions for 
36 12 months if any of the following conditions is 
identified:  
(1) The recipient's individual's utilization patterns include 
one or more conditions listed in subdivision D 3 b of this 
section.  
(2) The recipient individual has not complied with Client 
Medical Management Program CMM procedures 
resulting in services or medications received from one or 
more any nondesignated providers, as demonstrated by 
their submitted claims, without a written referral or in the 
absence of a medical emergency.  
(3) The recipient individual has not complied with Client 
Medical Management Program CMM procedures as 
demonstrated by a pattern of documented attempts to 
receive services or medications from one or more any 
nondesignated providers without a written referral or 
provider in the absence of a medical emergency when the 
designated pharmacy is closed, or when the designated 
pharmacy does not stock, or is unable to obtain the 
medication in a timely manner.  
(4) One or more of the designated providers recommends 
continued restriction status because the recipient 
individual has demonstrated noncompliant behavior 
which is being controlled by Client Medical Management 
CMM Program restrictions.  
(5) Any changes of designated provider have been made 
due to the breakdown of the recipient/provider 
individual/provider relationship as a result of the 
recipient's individual's noncompliance.  

b. DMAS shall notify the recipient individual and 
designated physician or pharmacy, or both, provider in 
writing of the review decision. If restrictions are 
continued, written notice shall include the recipient's 
individual's right to appeal the proposed action. (See 
subsection K of this section.)  
c. DMAS shall not implement the continued recipient 
individual restriction if a valid appeal is noted pending 
the completion of the appeal action. Should the outcome 
of the appeal action support implementation of the 
restriction, it shall be promptly implemented. 

J. Member education of service utilization. If an individual's 
utilization merits concern because his patterns exceed limits, 
but do not fully meet the criteria for restriction, then 
monitoring or education, or both, shall be an option. 

K. Recipient Individual appeals.  
1. Recipients Individuals shall have the right to appeal any 
adverse action taken by DMAS under these regulations.  
2. Recipient Individual appeals shall be held pursuant to 
the provisions of Part I (12VAC30-110-10 et seq.) of 
12VAC30 Chapter 110 12VAC30-110, Eligibility and 
Client Appeals.  

12VAC30-130-820. Client Medical Management Program 
for providers.  

A. Purpose. The Client Medical Management Program 
CMM Program is a utilization control program designed to 
promote improved and cost-efficient medical management of 
essential health care.  

B. Authority.  
1. Federal regulations at 42 CFR 456.3 require the 
Medicaid agency to implement a statewide surveillance 
and utilization control program and 42 CFR 455.1 through 
455.16 require the Medicaid agency to conduct 
investigations of abuse by providers.  
2. Federal regulations at 42 CFR 431.54 (f) allow states to 
restrict providers' participation in the Medicaid program if 
the agency finds that providers of items or services under 
the State Plan have provided items or services at a 
frequency or amount not medically necessary in 
accordance with utilization guidelines established by the 
state, or have provided items or services of a quality that 
do not meet professionally recognized standards of health 
care.  

C. Identification of Client Medical Management Program 
CMM Program participants. DMAS shall identify providers 
for review through computerized reports such as but not 
limited to Provider SURS or AEA JSURS, Oracle, VAMMIS, 
or by written referrals from agencies, health care 
professionals, or other individuals.  

D. Provider evaluation for restriction.  
1. DMAS shall review providers to determine if health care 
services are being provided at a frequency or amount that 
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is not medically necessary or that are not of a quality to 
meet professionally recognized standards of health care. 
Evaluation of utilization patterns can include but is not 
limited to review by the department staff of medical 
records or computerized reports generated by the 
department reflecting claims submitted for physician visits, 
drugs/prescriptions, outpatient and emergency room visits, 
lab or diagnostic procedures, hospital admissions, and 
referrals.  
2. DMAS may restrict providers if any one or more of the 
following conditions is identified in a significant number 
or proportion of cases. These conditions include but shall 
not be limited to the following:  

a. Visits billed at a frequency or level exceeding that 
which is medically necessary;  
b. Diagnostic tests billed in excess of what is medically 
necessary;  
c. Diagnostic tests billed which are unrelated to the 
diagnosis;  
d. Medications prescribed or prescriptions dispensed in 
excess of recommended dosages;  
e. Medications prescribed or prescriptions dispensed 
unrelated to the diagnosis.  
f. The provider's license to practice in any state has been 
revoked or suspended.  
g. Excessive transportation services rendered such that 
unnecessary costs to the Virginia Medicaid Program 
ensue from the accumulation of services.  

E. Provider restriction procedures.  
1. DMAS shall advise affected providers by written notice 
of the proposed restriction under the Client Medical 
Management Program CMM Program. Written notice shall 
include an explanation of the basis for the decision, request 
for additional documentation, if any, and notification of the 
provider's right to appeal the proposed action.  
2. DMAS shall restrict providers from being the designated 
provider, a referral provider, or a covering provider for 
recipients individuals in the Client Medical Management 
Program CMM Program for 24 months.  
3. DMAS shall notify the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS) and the general public of the 
restriction and its duration.  
4. DMAS shall not implement provider restriction if a valid 
appeal is noted.  

F. Review of provider restriction status.  
1. DMAS shall review a restricted provider's claims history 
record prior to the end of the restriction period to 
determine restriction termination or continuation (See 
subsection D of this section). DMAS shall extend provider 
restriction for 24 months in one or more of the following 
situations:  

a. Where abuse by the provider is identified.  
b. Where the practices which led to restriction continue.  

2. In cases where the provider has submitted an insufficient 
number of claims during the restriction period to enable 
DMAS to conduct a claims history review, DMAS shall 
continue restriction until a reviewable six-month claims 
history is available for evaluation.  
3. If DMAS continues restriction following the review, the 
provider shall be notified of the agency's proposed action, 
the basis for the action, and appeal rights. (See subsection 
E of this section).  
4. If the provider continues a pattern of inappropriate 
health care services, DMAS may make a referral to the 
appropriate peer review group or regulatory agency for 
recommendation and action as appropriate.  

G. Provider appeals.  
1. Providers shall have the right to appeal any adverse 
action taken by the department under these regulations.  
2. Provider appeals shall be held pursuant to the provisions 
of Article 3 (§ 2.2-4018 et seq.) of the Administrative 
Process Act.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-2290; Filed December 16, 2013, 12:28 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-20. Virginia Asbestos 
Licensing Regulations (amending 18VAC15-20-70, 
18VAC15-20-470, 18VAC15-20-520).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information:  

February 27, 2014 - 11 a.m. - Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
200, Richmond, Virginia 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: March 14, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 
telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 
alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia states that the 
board has the power and duty to promulgate regulations in 
accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia) necessary to assure continued 
competency, prevent deceptive or misleading practices by 
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practitioners, and effectively administer the regulatory system 
administered by the board.  
Section 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia states that the board 
shall promulgate regulations regarding the professional 
qualifications of home inspector applicants, the requirements 
necessary for passing home inspector examinations in whole 
or in part, the proper conduct of its examinations, the proper 
conduct of the home inspectors certified by the board, the 
implementation of exemptions from certifications 
requirements, and the proper discharge of its duties.  
Purpose: In response to the Governor's Regulatory Reform 
Initiative, the Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors 
reviewed its current regulations to identify, amend, or repeal 
any regulations that are unnecessary or no longer in use and 
reduce unnecessary regulatory burdens on regulated groups. 
The purpose of the amendments is to lessen restrictions on 
regulants without compromising public health, safety, or 
welfare. 
Substance: Currently, any licensee or accredited asbestos 
training provider who fails to renew his license or accredited 
asbestos training program approval within six months after 
the expiration must apply as a new applicant. The proposed 
amendment extends this grace period to 12 months. The 
second amendment increases the time period from 24 hours to 
10 business days for accredited asbestos training providers to 
submit course participant lists. The third amendment 
eliminates the requirement to have a minimum of two 
instructors for all initial accredited asbestos training programs 
except for initial worker. 
Issues: The primary advantage to businesses is eliminating 
the burden on training providers to submit participant lists 
within 24 hours, which may prove difficult if a training 
course ends at 5 p.m. on a Friday. Also, since initial training 
courses have fewer participants, except for initial worker, it 
will lessen the burden for training providers by not requiring 
two instructors per initial program. There are no 
disadvantages to the public since these individuals cannot 
work with an expired license and training providers cannot 
offer or conduct training programs with expired approvals. 
This action poses no advantages or disadvantages to the 
Commonwealth. The primary advantage to those individuals 
and training providers whose license or approval has expired 
is having an additional six months to renew before having to 
apply as a new applicant. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors (Board) 
proposes to allow a licensee or an accredited asbestos training 
provider to renew a license or accredited asbestos training 
program up to 12 months after the expiration of the license or 
accreditation without reapplying as a new applicant. The 
Board also proposes to allow more than 24 hours for 
accredited asbestos training providers to submit course 

participant lists. Finally, the Board proposes to no longer 
require two instructors for most initial accredited asbestos 
training programs.  
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Late renewal - Under the current 
regulations, Each license and each approved accredited 
asbestos training program not renewed within six months 
after the expiration date shall not be renewed and the licensee 
or approved accredited asbestos training program shall apply 
for a new license or new approval. Licensees who seek to 
renew late, but not more than six months late, are required to 
pay the renewal fee ($25 or $40, depending on license) and 
late renewal fee ($25), and submit a copy of a current 
refresher training course certificate or take another initial 
training course if their most recent training has been expired 
for more than twelve months. Licensees who are more than 
six months late must apply as a new applicant, pay the 
application fee ($25 or $40, depending on license), submit 
verification of their experience (if applicable), and submit 
copies of their initial training course and all subsequent 
refresher training course certificates or take another initial 
training course if their most recent training has been expired 
for more than twelve months.  
The Board proposes to change the six months to twelve 
months; licensees who are between six and 12 months late 
must apply as a new applicant under the currents regulations, 
but would qualify to renew late under the proposed 
regulations. These individuals could save time, effort and 
other administrative costs associated with submitting 
documentation. Licensees who are between six and 12 
months late would pay $25 more in fees with the proposed 
change,1 but would save the time, effort and other 
administrative costs associated with submitting 
documentation. 
Unlike for licensure, the application fees for asbestos training 
provider accreditation are more than $25 higher than the 
renewal fees. Thus the proposal to change the six months to 
twelve months will reduce net fees for accredited asbestos 
training providers who are between six and twelve months 
late in seeking to renew accreditation.2 
Training program participant list - Under the current 
regulations, the manager of each accredited asbestos training 
program must provide to the board the program participant 
list no later than 24 hours following the training program 
completion. The Board proposes to change the requirement to 
providing the program participant list no later than 10 
business days following the training program completion. 
This would be significantly less burdensome for training 
providers and is considered sufficient by the Board. Therefore 
this proposed change should produce a net benefit for the 
Commonwealth.  
Number of instructors - Under the current regulations, At 
least two instructors shall be used for each supervisor, 
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inspector, management planner, project designer and project 
monitor initial accredited asbestos training program. The 
Board proposes to eliminate the requirement to have two 
instructors for these initial accredited asbestos training 
programs by deleting the above sentence from the regulations. 
The Board has determined that these training programs tend 
to have small numbers of participants per class. Thus the 
current requirement for two instructors is overly burdensome 
and unnecessary. This proposed change should produce a net 
benefit for the Commonwealth. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
potentially affect the 33 accredited asbestos training providers 
and 4,154 individuals licensed as an asbestos worker, 
asbestos supervisor, asbestos inspector, asbestos management 
planner, asbestos project designer, asbestos project monitor or 
asbestos contractor in the Commonwealth. 
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 
does not disproportionately affect particular localities. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments will moderately reduce costs for 
asbestos training providers. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments will moderately reduce costs for small asbestos 
training providers. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect small businesses. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 
of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 
other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 
identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 
entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 
and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 
to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 
the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 
effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 
economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 
estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 
regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 
other administrative costs required for small businesses to 
comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 
skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 
regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 
of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 
achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 
presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 
economic impacts. 
______________________________________________ 
1 The only fee paid by new applicants is the application fee. The application 
fees and the renewal fees are the same. Those renewing late pay a $25 late 
fee in addition to the renewal fee. 
2 The application fee for accredited asbestos training program approval is 
$400 per day of training, while the renewal fee is $50 and the late fee is $25. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors concurs with 
approval. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) allow a licensee or an 
accredited asbestos training provider to renew a license or 
accredited asbestos training program up to 12 months 
after the expiration of the license or accreditation without 
reapplying as a new applicant, (ii) extend the time frame 
for accredited asbestos training providers to submit course 
participant lists to 10 business days, and (iii) no longer 
require two instructors for most initial accredited asbestos 
training programs. 

18VAC15-20-70. Procedures for renewal.  
A. The department shall mail a renewal notice to each 

licensee and to each approved accredited asbestos training 
program at the last known address. The notice shall outline 
the procedures for renewal and the renewal fee amount. 
Failure to receive the notice shall not relieve the licensee or 
the approved accredited asbestos training program of the 
obligation to renew in a timely fashion.  

B. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license or 
approval letter, each licensed asbestos contractor and licensed 
asbestos analytical laboratory desiring to renew the license 
shall return the renewal notice together with the appropriate 
fee specified in 18VAC15-20-53 to the department. Should 
the licensee fail to receive the renewal notice, a copy of the 
current license may be submitted with the required fee.  

C. Prior to the expiration date shown on the individual's 
current license, the individual desiring to renew that license 
shall provide evidence of meeting the annual refresher 
training requirement for license renewal and the appropriate 
fee specified in 18VAC15-20-53. The board will accept any 
asbestos training programs that are approved by 
EPA/AHERA or the board. A copy of the training certificate 
documenting the successful completion of the refresher 
training for the license discipline being renewed and meeting 
the requirements outlined in this chapter shall accompany the 
renewal notice and fee.  

D. Prior to the expiration date shown on the approval letter, 
each accredited asbestos training program desiring to renew 
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the approval shall return the renewal notice to the department 
together with the following:  

1. Appropriate fee specified in 18VAC15-20-53.  
2. Any changes made to the training program.  
3. Dates on which the training material was last updated.  
4. Statement indicating that the training program continues 
to meet the regulation requirements established in this 
chapter.  

Should an approved accredited asbestos training program 
fail to receive the renewal notice, a letter indicating the desire 
to renew and the applicable fee may be submitted.  

E. Project monitors who also hold a valid Virginia asbestos 
supervisor or project designer license may meet the renewal 
training requirements by completing the supervisor refresher 
or project designer refresher, whichever is applicable. Project 
monitors who hold only a project monitor license shall 
complete an accredited asbestos project monitor refresher 
training program to meet the renewal training requirements.  

F. Annual refresher training certificates shall only be used 
once to renew an individual license.  

G. Each license and each accredited asbestos training 
program approval that is not renewed within 30 days of the 
expiration date on the license or approval shall be subject to 
late renewal fees as established in 18VAC15-20-53.  

H. Each license and each approved accredited asbestos 
training program not renewed within six 12 months after the 
expiration date shall not be renewed and the licensee or 
approved accredited asbestos training program shall apply for 
a new license or new approval.  
18VAC15-20-470. Recordkeeping and provision of 
records to the board.  

A. The training manager shall notify the board no less than 
48 hours prior to the start date of any accredited asbestos 
training program.  

B. The training manager shall provide an updated 
notification when an accredited asbestos training program 
will begin on a date other than the start date specified in the 
original notification as follows:  

1. For accredited asbestos training programs beginning 
prior to the start date provided to the board, an updated 
notification must be received by the board at least 48 hours 
before the new start date.  
2. For accredited asbestos training programs beginning 
after the start date provided to the board, an updated 
notification must be received by the board at least 48 hours 
before the start date provided to the board.  

C. The training manager shall update the board of any 
change in location of an accredited asbestos training program 
at least 48 hours prior to the start date provided to the board.  

D. The training manager shall update the board regarding 
any accredited asbestos training program cancellations or any 

other change to the original notification at least 48 hours prior 
to the start date provided to the board. This requirement shall 
not apply to situations or circumstances beyond the control of 
the training provider.  

E. Each notification, including updates, shall include the 
following:  

1. Notification type (original, update, cancellation).  
2. Training program name, Virginia accreditation number, 
address, and telephone number.  
3. Course discipline, type (initial/refresher), and the 
language in which the instruction will be given.  
4. Dates and times of training.  
5. Training locations, telephone number, and address.  
6. Principal instructor's name.  
7. Training manager's name and signature.  

F. For all accredited asbestos training programs approved by 
the board, the training provider shall keep a training program 
participant list of all of the individuals attending the 
accredited asbestos training program. The training program 
participant list shall contain the following minimum 
information:  

1. Training program name, Virginia accreditation number, 
address, and telephone number.  
2. Course discipline and type (initial/refresher).  
3. Dates of training.  
4. Location of training program presentation.  
5. Each participant's name, address, social security number, 
course completion certificate number, and course test 
score.  
6. Principal instructor's name.  
7. Training manager's name and signature.  

G. The training program participant list shall be completed 
by the training program principal instructor and training 
program participants daily.  

H. The training program participant list shall be retained by 
the training provider for three years following the date of 
completion of the training program.  

I. The training manager shall provide to the board the 
accredited asbestos training program participant list no later 
than 24 hours 10 business days following the training 
program completion.  

J. Notifications and training program participant lists shall 
be submitted electronically in the manner established by the 
board specifically to receive this documentation using a 
sample form designed by and available from the board. Any 
variation upon this procedure shall be approved by the board 
prior to submission.  

K. The training provider shall retain all examinations 
completed by training program participants for a period of 
three years.  
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L. The department shall not recognize training certificates 
from approved training providers that fail to notify or fail to 
provide a training program participant list.  
18VAC15-20-520. Number of instructors required to 
provide training.  

A. The board strongly recommends a minimum of two 
instructors to teach an accredited asbestos initial worker 
training program.  

B. At least two instructors shall be used for each supervisor, 
inspector, management planner, project designer and project 
monitor initial accredited asbestos training program.  

C. B. One instructor is adequate per accredited asbestos 
refresher training program.  

D. C. At least one instructor shall be in the classroom and 
available to the students at all times during the accredited 
asbestos training program.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3645; Filed December 18, 2013, 4:17 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-30. Virginia Lead-Based 
Paint Activities Regulations (amending 18VAC15-30-167, 
18VAC15-30-400).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

February 27, 2014 - 11 a.m. - Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
200, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: March 14, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 
telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 
alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia states that the 
board has the power and duty to promulgate regulations in 
accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia) necessary to assure continued 
competency, prevent deceptive or misleading practices by 
practitioners, and effectively administer the regulatory system 
administered by the board.  
Section 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia states that the board 
shall promulgate regulations regarding the professional 
qualifications of home inspector applicants, the requirements 
necessary for passing home inspector examinations in whole 
or in part, the proper conduct of its examinations, the proper 
conduct of the home inspectors certified by the board, the 
implementation of exemptions from certifications 
requirements, and the proper discharge of its duties.  
Purpose: In response to the Governor's Regulatory Reform 
Initiative, the Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors 
reviewed its current regulations to identify, amend, or repeal 

any regulations that are unnecessary or no longer in use and 
reduce unnecessary regulatory burdens on regulated groups. 
The purpose of the amendments is to lessen restrictions on 
regulants without compromising public health, safety, and 
welfare. 
Substance: Currently, any licensee or accredited lead training 
provider who fails to renew his license or accredited lead 
training program approval within six months after the 
expiration must apply as a new applicant. The proposed 
amendment extends this grace period to 12 months. The 
second amendment eliminates the requirement that 
certificates of completion for accredited lead training 
programs contain two unique identification numbers. 
Issues: This action poses no advantages to the public. There 
are no disadvantages to the public since these individuals 
cannot work with an expired license and training providers 
cannot offer or conduct training programs with expired 
approvals. This action poses no advantages or disadvantages 
to the Commonwealth. The primary advantage to those 
individuals and training providers whose license or approval 
have expired is having an additional six months to renew 
before having to apply as a new applicant. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. These 
regulations contain procedures and requirements for the 
accreditation of lead-based paint activities training programs 
and providers, procedures and requirements for the licensure 
of individuals and firms engaged in lead-based paint activities 
in target housing and child-occupied facilities, and standards 
for performing such activities. The Board for Asbestos, Lead, 
and Home Inspectors (Board) proposes to allow a licensee or 
an accredited lead training provider to renew a license or 
accreditation up to twelve months after the expiration of the 
license or accreditation without reapplying as a new 
applicant. The Board also proposes to require only one unique 
number for certificates of completion issued at the conclusion 
of training programs by accredited lead training providers. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Late renewal - Under the current 
regulations, "Any licensee or accredited lead training provider 
who fails to renew his license or accredited lead training 
program approval within six months after the expiration date 
on the license or approval shall not be permitted to renew and 
shall apply as a new applicant." Licensees who seek to renew 
late, but not more than six months late, are required to pay the 
renewal fee ($25 or $40, depending on license) and late 
renewal fee ($25), and submit a copy of a current refresher 
training course certificate or take another initial training 
course if their most recent training has been expired for more 
than three months. Licensees who are more than six months 
late must apply as a new applicant, pay the application fee 
($25 or $40, depending on license), if applicable retake the 
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exam (fee up to $75), submit verification of their experience 
(if applicable), and submit copies of their initial training 
course and all subsequent refresher training course certificates 
or take another initial training course if their most recent 
training has been expired for more than three months.  
The Board proposes to change the "six months" to "twelve 
months"; licensees who are between six and 12 months late 
must apply as a new applicant under the currents regulations, 
but would qualify to renew late under the proposed 
regulations. These individuals could save time, effort and 
other administrative costs associated with submitting 
documentation, as well as the time and effort preparing and 
retaking the licensure exam (for those licenses that have an 
exam). In net, those seeking renewal of a license that has an 
associated exam would also save about $50 in fees.1 
Licensees who are between six and 12 months late and whose 
license does not require an exam would actually pay $25 
more in fees with the proposed change,2 but would still save 
the time, effort and other administrative costs associated with 
submitting documentation. 
 Unlike for licensure, the application fees for lead training 
provider accreditation are more than $25 higher than the 
renewal fees. Thus the proposal to change the "six months" to 
"twelve months" will reduce net fees for accredited lead 
training providers who are between six and twelve months 
late in seeking to renew accreditation.3  
Certificates of completion - Accredited lead training 
programs must issue unique course completion certificates to 
each individual who successfully completes the course 
requirements. Under the current regulations, the course 
completion certificate must include the following:  
1. A unique certificate number.  
2. The name, a unique identification number, and address of 
the individual.  
3. The name of the particular course that the individual 
completed.  
4. Dates of course completion/test passage.  
5. Expiration date. Training certificates shall expire three 
years from the date of course completion. If the accredited 
lead training program offers a proficiency test, the training 
certificates shall expire five years from the date of course 
completion.  
6. Name, address, and telephone number of the training 
provider.  
7. Name and signature of the training manager and principal 
instructor.  
The Board proposes to remove the requirement for 
certificates of completion to contain a unique identification 
number for the course participant. The requirement for two 
different unique numbers (the certificate number and the 
identification number) is more stringent than federal 
regulations (40 CFR Part 745) and therefore unenforceable. 
This proposed change will remove a small burden for 

accredited lead training programs and will not have any 
negative impact on public safety. Thus it will create a small 
net benefit. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
potentially affect the 21 accredited lead training providers and 
the 896 individuals licensed as a lead abatement worker, lead 
abatement supervisor, lead inspector, lead risk assessor, lead 
project designer, or lead abatement contractor in the 
Commonwealth. 
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments will moderately reduce costs for some 
lead-based paint activities training programs and providers 
and some individuals licensed to work in the industry. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendment will moderately reduce costs for some small lead-
based paint activities training programs and providers. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect small businesses. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
may modestly reduce costs for the development of properties 
that require lead abatement. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 
of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 
other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 
identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 
entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 
and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 
to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 
the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 
effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 
economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 
estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 
regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 
other administrative costs required for small businesses to 
comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 
skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 
documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 
regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 
of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 
achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 
presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 
economic impacts. 
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__________________________________ 
1 The regulations state that the "The examination shall not exceed a cost of 
$75 to the candidate." Those renewing late (not applying as a new applicant) 
pay a $25 late fee. The application fees and the renewal fees are the same. 
Thus, renewing late rather than applying as a new applicant saves about $50 
in fees. 
2 The only fee paid by new applicants for licenses that do not have an 
associated exam is the application fee. The application fees and the renewal 
fees are the same. Those renewing late pay a $25 late fee. 
3 The application fee for accredited lead training program approval is $400 
per day of training, while the renewal fee is $100 and the late fee is $25. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors concurs with 
approval. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) allow a licensee or an 
accredited lead training provider to renew a license or 
accreditation up to 12 months after the expiration of the 
license or accreditation without reapplying as a new 
applicant and (ii) require only one unique number for 
certificates of completion issued at the conclusion of 
training programs by accredited lead training providers. 

18VAC15-30-167. Late renewal.  
A. If the renewal fee is not received by the board within 30 

days after the expiration date printed on the license or 
accredited lead training program approval, a late renewal fee 
shall be required in addition to the renewal fee.  

B. Any licensee or accredited lead training provider who 
fails to renew his license or accredited lead training program 
approval within six 12 months after the expiration date on the 
license or approval shall not be permitted to renew and shall 
apply as a new applicant.  
18VAC15-30-400. Certificates of completion.  

Accredited lead training programs shall issue unique course 
completion certificates to each individual who successfully 
completes the course requirements. The course completion 
certificate shall include:  

1. A unique certificate number.  
2. The name, a unique identification number, and address 
of the individual.  
3. The name of the particular course that the individual 
completed.  
4. Dates of course completion/test passage.  
5. Expiration date. Training certificates shall expire three 
years from the date of course completion. If the accredited 
lead training program offers a proficiency test, the training 
certificates shall expire five years from the date of course 
completion.  
6. Name, address, and telephone number of the training 
provider.  
7. Name and signature of the training manager and 
principal instructor.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3644; Filed December 18, 2013, 4:17 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-40. Virginia Certified Home 
Inspectors Regulations (amending 18VAC15-40-30).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

February 27, 2014 - 11 a.m. - Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
200, Richmond, Virginia 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: March 14, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Trisha L. Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 
telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (804) 350-5354, or email 
alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia states that the 
board has the power and duty to promulgate regulations in 
accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia) necessary to assure continued 
competency, prevent deceptive or misleading practices by 
practitioners, and effectively administer the regulatory system 
administered by the board.  
Section 54.1-501 states that the board shall promulgate 
regulations regarding the professional qualifications of home 
inspector applicants, the requirements necessary for passing 
home inspector examinations in whole or in part, the proper 
conduct of its examinations, the proper conduct of the home 
inspectors certified by the board, the implementation of 
exemptions from certifications requirements, and the proper 
discharge of its duties.  
Purpose: The purpose of the amendment is to remove the 
requirement that training courses be taken in a classroom 
setting in order to meet certified home inspector entry 
requirements. The fact that distance learning is not acceptable 
as an entry requirement but is acceptable as a renewal 
requirement may create confusion among the regulant 
population. In addition, the desire to complete distance 
learning courses, online courses specifically, has grown in 
popularity. The cost reduction from not having to travel, find 
lodging, and take time away from work could be substantial 
for some individuals. With advancement in technology, the 
number of home inspector online courses has increased and 
are readily available. At the same time, classroom courses are 
becoming more difficult to find compared to online courses, 
which creates a barrier to certification. The board feels there 
will be no loss in the required skills resulting from the switch 
to distance learning. 
Substance: The amendments remove the requirement that 
restricts training courses to be conducted in a classroom 
setting to meet the certified home inspector entry 
requirements. 
Issues: The primary advantage to the public is a more flexible 
training entry requirement, which may allow for additional 
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certified home inspectors. There are no disadvantages to the 
public as precertification training is still a requirement. 
The primary advantage to the Commonwealth is a more 
flexible training entry requirement, which may allow for 
additional certified home inspectors. There are no 
disadvantages to the Commonwealth as precertification 
training is still a requirement. 
The primary advantage to those wishing to become certified 
home inspectors is that the barrier of completing classroom 
instruction is removed and more flexible and more available 
precertification training options, such as online courses, will 
now be accepted by the board. 
Small Business Impact Report of Findings: This regulatory 
action serves as the report of findings of the regulatory review 
pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors (Board) 
proposes to remove the requirement that training courses have 
to be taken in a classroom setting to be accepted as meeting 
the certified home inspector entry requirements. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Under the current regulations 
required training for the initial home inspector license must 
be in a classroom. The Board proposes to allow the initial 
training to be via distance learning including, but not limited 
to, online courses. The cost reduction from not having to 
travel, find lodging, and spend time away from work could be 
substantial for some individuals. Additionally, the Board has 
determined that there would be no loss in the required skills 
resulting from the newly permitted switch to distance 
learning. Thus, the proposed amendment should produce a net 
benefit. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 
affects applicants for initial home inspector certification, as 
well as providers of training for home inspectors. There were 
41 applicants in fiscal year 2012.1  
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations do 
not disproportionately affect particular localities. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect total employment.  
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendment will moderately reduce costs for some 
home inspector certification applicants. Providers of 
classroom training who do not also provide distance learning 
will likely lose some business, while some providers of online 
training or other distance learning will likely receive 
additional demand for their services. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments will reduce costs for some small home inspector 

firms. Small providers of classroom training who do not also 
provide distance learning will likely lose some business, 
while some small providers of online training or other 
distance learning will likely receive additional demand for 
their services. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect small home inspector firms. Small providers of 
classroom training who do not also provide distance learning 
will likely lose some business, but there is no alternative 
method that reduces the adverse impact to these firms and 
still accomplishes the policy goal of reduced costs for initial 
training of home inspectors. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 
costs. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 
_______________________________________________ 
1 Data source: Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors concurs with 
approval. 
Summary:  

The proposed amendments remove the requirement that 
training courses to meet the certified home inspector entry 
requirements be taken in a classroom setting. These 
amendments allow for distance learning options, 
including, but not limited to, online courses, and make the 
regulations regarding precertification training more 
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consistent with continuing professional education 
requirements. 

18VAC15-40-30. Qualifications for certification. 
Every applicant for an individual home inspector certificate 

shall have the following qualifications:  
1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.  
2. The applicant shall meet the following educational and 
experience requirements:  

a. High school diploma or equivalent; and  
b. One of the following:  
(1) Completed 35 contact hours of classroom instruction 
and have completed a minimum of 100 home 
inspections;  
(2) Completed 35 contact hours of classroom instruction 
and have completed a minimum of 50 certified home 
inspections in compliance with this chapter under the 
direct supervision of a certified home inspector, who 
shall certify the applicant's completion of each inspection 
and shall be responsible for each inspection; 
(3) Completed 70 contact hours of classroom instruction 
and have completed a minimum of 50 home inspections; 
or 
(4) Completed 70 contact hours of classroom instruction 
and have completed a minimum of 25 certified home 
inspections in compliance with this chapter under the 
direct supervision of a certified home inspector, who 
shall certify the applicant's completion of each inspection 
and shall be responsible for each inspection. 

Instruction courses shall cover the content areas of the 
board-approved examinations.  
An applicant who cannot fulfill the classroom instruction 
requirement as outlined in this subsection may provide 
documentation of a minimum of 10 years of experience as 
a home inspector with a minimum of 250 home inspections 
completed in substantial compliance with this chapter to 
satisfy this requirement. The documentation is subject to 
board review and approval.  
3. The applicant shall have passed a written competency 
examination approved by the board.  
4. The board may accept proof of membership in good 
standing, in a national or state professional home 
inspectors association approved by the board, as 
satisfaction of subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this section, 
provided that the requirements for the applicant's class of 
membership in such association are equal to or exceed the 
requirements established by the board for all applicants.  
5. The applicant shall have a good reputation for honesty, 
truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be competent to transact 
the business of a home inspector in such a manner as to 
safeguard the interests of the public.  

6. The applicant shall disclose whether a certificate or 
license as a home inspector from any jurisdiction where 
certified or licensed has ever been suspended, revoked or 
surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action or 
which has been the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction 
prior to applying for certification in Virginia. The board 
may deny certification to any applicant so disciplined after 
examining the totality of the circumstances.  
7. The applicant shall disclose any conviction or finding of 
guilt, regardless of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the 
United States of any misdemeanor involving violence, 
repeat offenses, multiple offenses, or crimes that 
endangered public health or safety, or of any felony, there 
being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal 
having elapsed. Subject to the provisions of § 54.1-204 of 
the Code of Virginia, the board shall have the authority to 
determine, based upon all the information available, 
including the applicant's record of prior convictions, if the 
applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage in the profession of 
residential home inspections. The board will decide each 
case by taking into account the totality of the 
circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 
considered a conviction for purposes of this subdivision. A 
certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a 
court with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree 
or case decision shall be admissible as prima facie 
evidence of such conviction or guilt.  
8. Procedures and appropriate conduct established by either 
the board or any testing service administering an 
examination approved by the board or both shall be 
followed by the applicant. Such procedures shall include 
any written instructions communicated prior to the 
examination date and any instructions communicated at the 
site, either written or oral, on the date of the examination. 
Failure to comply with all procedures established by the 
board or the testing service with regard to conduct at the 
examination shall be grounds for denial of the application.  
9. Applicants shall show evidence of having obtained 
general liability insurance with minimum limits of 
$250,000.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2848; Filed December 18, 2013, 4:18 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-40. Virginia Certified Home 
Inspectors Regulations (amending 18VAC15-40-90).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information:  

February 27, 2014 - 11 a.m. - Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
200, Richmond, Virginia 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: March 14, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Trisha L. Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 
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9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 
telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (804) 350-5354, or email 
alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia states that the 
board has the power and duty to promulgate regulations in 
accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia) necessary to assure continued 
competency, prevent deceptive or misleading practices by 
practitioners, and effectively administer the regulatory system 
administered by the board.  
Section 54.1-501 states that the board shall promulgate 
regulations regarding the professional qualifications of home 
inspectors applicants, the requirements necessary for passing 
home inspectors examinations in whole or in part, the proper 
conduct of its examinations, the proper conduct of the home 
inspectors certified by the board, the implementation of 
exemptions from certifications requirements, and the proper 
discharge of its duties.  
Purpose: In response to the Governor's Regulatory Reform 
Initiative, the Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors 
reviewed its current regulations to identify, amend, or repeal 
any regulations that are unnecessary or no longer in use and 
reduce unnecessary regulatory burdens on regulated groups. 
Substance: Currently, home inspectors whose certificates 
have been expired for more than two years must apply as new 
applicants and retake the examination. The proposed 
amendment removes the requirement for these individuals to 
retake the examination. 
Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that the cost for 
having to retake the examination will not be passed along to 
the home inspector's clients. There are no disadvantages to 
the public since these individuals have already met the 
examination requirement. This action poses no advantages or 
disadvantages to the Commonwealth. The primary advantage 
to those home inspectors who must reapply is the elimination 
of the expense of having to retake the examination. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors (Board) 
proposes to remove the requirement that home inspectors 
whose certificates have been expired for more than two years 
retake a written competency examination when applying as a 
new applicant.  
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. The Board believes that 
requiring the applicant who must reapply as a new applicant 
to retake the examination serves no purpose and places an 
unnecessary and costly burden upon the applicant. Since 
eliminating this requirement reduces costs for the affected 
home inspectors and does not produce any new costs, the 
proposal should produce a net benefit.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 
potentially affects the 284 certified home inspectors in the 
Commonwealth. 
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 
does not disproportionately affect particular localities. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 
is unlikely to significantly affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendment will reduce costs for home inspectors 
whose certificates have been expired for more than two years.  
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments may moderately reduce costs for small home 
inspection firms that may consider employing a home 
inspector who is returning to the industry after having been 
away for more than two years.  
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendment does not 
adversely affect small businesses. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment is 
unlikely to significantly affect real estate development costs. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 
of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 
other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 
identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 
entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 
and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 
to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 
the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 
effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 
economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 
estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 
regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 
other administrative costs required for small businesses to 
comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 
skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 
documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 
regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 
of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 
achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 
presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 
economic impacts. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors 
concurs with the approval. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments remove the requirement that 
home inspectors whose certificates have been expired for 
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more than two years retake a written competency 
examination when applying as a new applicant. 

18VAC15-40-90. Reinstatement. 
A. If the requirements for renewal of a certificate, including 

receipt of the fee by the board, are not completed by the 
certificate holder within six months after the expiration date 
noted on the certificate, a reinstatement fee shall be required.  

B. All applicants for reinstatement shall meet all 
requirements set forth in 18VAC15-40-30, 18VAC15-40-72 
and 18VAC15-40-80.  

C. A certificate may be reinstated for up to two years 
following the expiration date with payment of the 
reinstatement fee. After two years, the certificate shall not be 
reinstated under any circumstances and the applicant shall 
apply as a new applicant, requiring the applicant to retake the 
examination.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3643; Filed December 18, 2013, 4:18 p.m.  

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
6 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations of the 
regulatory boards served by the Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing fees charged to 
regulants and applicants. The Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 
by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC41-20. Barbering and 
Cosmetology Regulations (amending 18VAC41-20-140).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: March 1, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, 
FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 
barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments reduce various licensure fees for (i) 
barbers, cosmetologists, and nail technicians and (ii) 
barber, cosmetology, and nail technician instructors, 
facilities, and schools.  

Part III  
Fees  

18VAC41-20-140. Fees.  
The following fees apply:  

FEE TYPE AMOUNT DUE WHEN DUE 

Individuals: 

Application $140 $105 With application 

License by 
Endorsement 

$140 $105 With application 

Renewal: 

Barber $140 $105 With renewal card 
prior to expiration 
date 

Cosmetologist $140 $105 With renewal card 
prior to expiration 
date 

Nail technician $140 $105 With renewal card 
prior to expiration 
date 

Reinstatement $280* $210* 
*includes $140 
$105 renewal fee 
and $140 $105 
reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 
application 

Instructors: 

Application $150 $125 With application 

License by 
Endorsement 

$150 $125 With application 

Renewal $150 With renewal card 
prior to expiration 
date 

Reinstatement $300* 
*includes $150 
renewal fee and 
$150 
reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 
application 

Facilities: 

Application $225 $190 With application 

Renewal $225 $190 With renewal card 
prior to expiration 
date 

Reinstatement $450* $380* 
*includes $225 
$190 renewal fee 
and $225 $190 
reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 
application 

Schools: 

Application $255 $220 With application 

Add Program $125 $100 With application 
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Renewal $255 $220 With renewal card 
prior to expiration 
date 

Reinstatement $510* $440* 
*includes $255 
$220 renewal fee 
and $255 $220 
reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 
application 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (18VAC41-20)  

Barber – Barber Instructor Examination & Instructor 
Application, A425-1301_02EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 

Cosmetology – Cosmetology Instructor Examination & 
License Application, A425-1201_04EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 

Nail Technician – Nail Technician Instructor Examination & 
License Application, A425-1206_07EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 

Temporary Permit Application, A425-1213TP (eff. 9/11) 
License by Endorsement Application, A425-1213END (eff. 

9/11) 
License by Endorsement Application, A425-1213END (rev. 

2/14) 
Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

1213TREXP (eff. 9/11) 
Reinstatement Application, A425-1213REI (eff. 9/11) 
Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License Application A425-

1213BUS (eff. 9/11) 
Reinstatement Application, A425-1213REI (rev. 2/14) 
Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License Application A425-

1213BUS (rev. 2/14) 
Salon, Shop & Spa Self Inspection Form, A425-

1213_SSS_INSP (eff. 9/11) 
Instructor Certification Application, A425-1213INST (eff. 

9/11) 
School License Application, A425-1213SCHL (eff. 9/11) 
Instructor Certification Application, A425-1213INST (rev. 

2/14) 
School License Application, A425-1213SCH (rev. 2/14) 
School Self Inspection Form, A425-1213SCH_INSP (eff. 

9/11) 
Licensure Fee Notice, A425-1213FEE (eff. 9/11) 
Licensure Fee Notice, A425-1213FEE (rev. 2/14) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3917; Filed December 20, 2013, 11:55 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
6 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations of the 
regulatory boards served by the Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing fees charged to 
regulants and applicants. The Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 
by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC41-40. Wax Technician 
Regulations (amending 18VAC41-40-120).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: March 1, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, 
FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 
barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments reduce various licensure fees for wax 
technicians and wax technician instructors, schools, and 
facilities. 

Part III  
Fees  

18VAC41-40-120. Fees.  
The following fees apply:  

FEE TYPE AMOUNT DUE WHEN DUE 

Individuals:      

  Application $140 $105 With 
application 

  License by 
Endorsement 

$140 $105 With 
application 

  Renewal $140 $105 With renewal 
card prior to 
expiration 
date 

  Reinstatement $280* $210* 
*includes $140 $105 
renewal fee and $140 
$105 reinstatement fee 

With 
reinstatement 
application 

Instructors:     

  Application $150 $125 With 
application 

  License by 
Endorsement 

$150 $125 With 
application 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cda29001831~7&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cda29001831~7&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d11f2001831~8&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d11f2001831~8&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6679a001831~9&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6679a001831~9&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f40b7001831~10&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=48057003917~7&typ=40&actno=003917&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=48057003917~7&typ=40&actno=003917&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ac2f001831~12&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ac2f001831~12&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a0899003917~10&typ=40&actno=003917&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=950e5003917~6&typ=40&actno=003917&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=950e5003917~6&typ=40&actno=003917&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=45d80001831~15&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=45d80001831~15&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1370a003917~9&typ=40&actno=003917&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1370a003917~9&typ=40&actno=003917&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=197d4003917~11&typ=40&actno=003917&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8a072001831~18&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8a072001831~18&typ=40&actno=001831&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ae988003917~8&typ=40&actno=003917&mime=application/pdf
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  Renewal $150  With renewal 
card prior to 
expiration 
date 

  Reinstatement $300* 
*includes $150 renewal 
fee and $150 
reinstatement fee 

With 
reinstatement 
application 

Facilities:     

  Application $225 $190 With 
application 

  Renewal $225 $190 With renewal 
card prior to 
expiration 
date 

  Reinstatement $450* $380* *includes 
$225 $190 renewal fee 
and $225 $190 
reinstatement fee 

With 
reinstatement 
application 

Schools:     

  Application $255 $220 With 
application 

  Renewal $255 $220 With renewal 
card prior to 
expiration 
date 

  Reinstatement $510* $440* 
*includes $255 $220 
renewal fee and $255 
$220 reinstatement fee 

With 
reinstatement 
application 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the regulation 
were filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 
however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 
Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink to 
access it. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 
may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General 
Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC41-40)  
Wax Technician – Wax Technician Instructor Examination 

& License Application, A425-1214_15EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 
Temporary Permit Application, A425-1213TP (eff. 9/11) 
License by Endorsement Application, A425-1213END (eff. 

9/11) 
License by Endorsement Application, A425-1213END (rev. 

2/14)  
Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

1213TREXP (eff. 9/11) 
Reinstatement Application, A425-1213REI (eff. 9/11) 
Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License Application, A425-

1213BUS (eff. 9/11) 
Reinstatement Application, A425-1213REI (rev. 2/14) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License Application, A425-
1213BUS (rev. 2/14) 

Salon, Shop & Spa Self Inspection Form, A425-
1213_SSS_INSP (eff. 9/11) 

Instructor Certification Application, A425-1213INST (eff. 
9/11) 

Instructor Certification Application, A425-1213INST (rev. 
2/14) 

School License Application, A425-1213SCHL (eff. 9/11) 
School License Application, A425-1213SCHL (rev. 2/14) 
School Self Inspection Form, A425-1213SCH_INSP (eff. 

9/11) 
Licensure Fee Notice, A425-1213FEE-v2 (eff. 9/11)  
Licensure Fee Notice, A425-1213FEE (rev. 2/14) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3918; Filed December 20, 2013, 11:56 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
6 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations of the 
regulatory boards served by the Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing fees charged to 
regulants and applicants. The Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 
by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC41-50. Tattooing Regulations 
(amending 18VAC41-50-130).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: March 1, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, 
FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 
barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments reduce various licensure fees for 
tattooers, tattooing instructors, and tattooing salons and 
schools regulated by the Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology. 

Part III  
Fees  

18VAC41-50-130. Fees.  
The following fees apply:  

FEE TYPE AMOUNT DUE WHEN DUE 

Individuals:      

  Application $140 $105 With application 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d1f6d001834~7&typ=40&actno=001834&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d1f6d001834~7&typ=40&actno=001834&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=56ef4001834~8&typ=40&actno=001834&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bf958003918~2&typ=40&actno=003918&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bf958003918~2&typ=40&actno=003918&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f26d3001834~11&typ=40&actno=001834&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f26d3001834~11&typ=40&actno=001834&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42d8a003918~5&typ=40&actno=003918&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=aed28003918~1&typ=40&actno=003918&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=aed28003918~1&typ=40&actno=003918&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f8139001834~15&typ=40&actno=001834&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f8139001834~15&typ=40&actno=001834&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9fa1a003918~4&typ=40&actno=003918&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9fa1a003918~4&typ=40&actno=003918&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a52aa003918~6&typ=40&actno=003918&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db64c001834~16&typ=40&actno=001834&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db64c001834~16&typ=40&actno=001834&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b83df003918~3&typ=40&actno=003918&mime=application/pdf
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  License by 
Endorsement $140 $105 With application 

  Renewal $140 $105 
With renewal 
card prior to 
expiration date 

  Reinstatement 

$280* $210* 
*includes $140 
$105 renewal 
fee and $140 
$105 
reinstatement 
fee 

With 
reinstatement 
application 

Instructors:      

  Application $150 $125 With application 

  License by 
Endorsement $150 $125 With application 

  Renewal $150 
With renewal 
card prior to 
expiration date 

  Reinstatement 

$300* 
*includes $150 
renewal fee and 
$150 
reinstatement 
fee 

With 
reinstatement 
application 

Parlors or salons:     

  Application $225 $190 With application 

  Renewal $225 $190 
With renewal 
card prior to 
expiration date 

  Reinstatement 

$450* $380* 
*includes $225 
$190 renewal 
fee and $225 
$190 
reinstatement 
fee 

With 
reinstatement 
application 

Schools:     

  Application $255 $220 With application 

  Renewal $255 $220 
With renewal 
card prior to 
expiration date 

  Reinstatement 

$510* $440* 
*includes $255 
$220 renewal 
fee and $255 
$220 
reinstatement 
fee 

With 
reinstatement 
application 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the regulation 
were filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 
however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 
Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink to 

access it. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 
may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General 
Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC41-50)  
Tattooer Examination & License Application, A425-

1231EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 
Tattoo Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

12TATTREXP (eff. 9/11) 
Tattooing Apprenticeship Sponsor Application, A425-

12TATSPON (eff. 9/11) 
Tattooer Apprenticeship Certification Application, A425-

1234TAC (eff. 9/11) 
Tattoo Apprenticeship Completion Form, A425-12TAC (eff. 

9/11) 
Tattoo Client Disclosure Form, A425-12DIS, A425-12TDIS 

(eff. 9/11) 
Limited Term Tattooer License Application, A425-1233LIC 

(eff. 9/11) 
Limited Term Tattoo Parlor License Application, A425-

1235LTPAR (eff. 9/11) 
Limited Term Tattooer License Application, A425-1233LIC 

(rev. 2/14) 
Limited Term Tattoo Parlor License Application, A425-

1235LIC (rev. 2/14) 
Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License 

Application, A425-1236EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 
Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & 

License Application, A425-1237EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 
License by Endorsement Application, A425-1213END (eff. 

9/11) 
License by Endorsement Application, A425-1213END (rev. 

2/14) 
Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

1213TREXP (eff. 9/11) 
Reinstatement Application, A425-1213REI (eff. 9/11) 
Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License Application A425-

1213BUS (eff. 9/11) 
Instructor Certification Application, A425-1213INST (eff. 

9/11) 
School License Application, A425-1213SCHL (eff. 9/11) 
Licensure Fee Notice, A425-1213FEE-v2 (eff. 9/11)  
Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License Application A425-

1213BUS (rev. 2/14) 
Licensure Fee Notice, A425-1213FEE (rev. 2/14) 
Instructor Certification Application, A425-1213INST (rev. 

2/14) 
Reinstatement Application, A425-1213REI (rev. 2/14) 
School License Application, A425-1213SCHL (rev. 2/14) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3919; Filed December 20, 2013, 11:56 a.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=16515001835~9&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=16515001835~9&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bd36b001835~10&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bd36b001835~10&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=70809001835~11&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=70809001835~11&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=512a9001835~12&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=512a9001835~12&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7d299001835~13&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7d299001835~13&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=27321001835~14&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=27321001835~14&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d156d003919~7&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d156d003919~7&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3b3dc003919~8&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3b3dc003919~8&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=275b5001835~25&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=275b5001835~25&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=26740001835~15&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=26740001835~15&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6e6d9003919~2&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6e6d9003919~2&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=25465001835~17&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=25465001835~17&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b019003919~1&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b019003919~1&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=73f54003919~3&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6de1b003919~4&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6de1b003919~4&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6fe59003919~5&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=24d79003919~6&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
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Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
6 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations of the 
regulatory boards served by the Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing fees charged to 
regulants and applicants. The Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 
by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC41-60. Body-Piercing 
Regulations (amending 18VAC41-60-90).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: March 1, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, 
FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 
barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments reduce various licensure fees for body 
piercers and body piercing salons regulated by the Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology. 

Part III  
Fees  

18VAC41-60-90. Fees.  
The following fees apply:  

FEE TYPE AMOUNT DUE WHEN DUE 

Individuals:     

  Application $140 $105 With application 

  License by 
endorsement $140 $105 With application 

  Renewal: $140 $105 
With renewal 
card prior to 
expiration date 

  Reinstatement 

$280* $210* 
*includes $140 
$105 renewal fee 
and $140 $105 
reinstatement fee 

With 
reinstatement 
application 

Salons:     

  Application $225 $190 With application 

  Renewal $225 $190 
With renewal 
card prior to 
expiration date 

  Reinstatement 

$450* $380* 
*includes $225 
$190 renewal fee 
and $225 $190 
reinstatement fee 

With 
reinstatement 
application 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (18VAC41-60)  

Body Piercer Examination & License Application, A425-
1241EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 

Body-Piercing Training & Experience Verification Form, 
A425-12BPTREXP (eff. 9/11) 

Body-Piercing Apprenticeship Sponsor Application, A425-
12BPSPON (eff. 9/11) 

Body-Piercing Apprentice Certification Application, A425-
1244BPAC (eff. 9/11) 

Body-Piercing Apprenticeship Completion Form, A425-
12BPAC (eff. 9/11) 

Body-Piercing Client Disclosure Form, A425-12BPDIS (eff. 
9/11) 

Body Piercer Ear Only License Application, A425-1245LIC 
(eff. 9/11) 

License by Endorsement Application, A425-1213END (eff. 
9/11) 

Body Piercer Ear Only License Application, A450-1245LIC 
(rev. 2/14) 

License by Endorsement Application, A425-1213END (rev. 
2/14) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-
1213TREXP (eff. 9/11) 

Reinstatement Application, A425-1213REI (eff. 9/11) 
Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License Application A425-

1213BUS (eff. 9/11) 
Licensure Fee Notice, A425-1213FEE-v2 (eff. 9/11)  
Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License Application A425-

1213BUS (rev. 2/14) 
Licensure Fee Notice, A425-1213FEE (rev. 2/14) 
Reinstatement Application, A425-1213REI (rev. 2/14) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3920; Filed December 20, 2013, 11:57 a.m.  

 

 

 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c51d6001836~6&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c51d6001836~6&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9a162001836~7&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9a162001836~7&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cf74001836~8&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cf74001836~8&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60f4b001836~9&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60f4b001836~9&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ffda001836~10&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ffda001836~10&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34677001836~11&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34677001836~11&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=abed9001836~12&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=abed9001836~12&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3c8aa001836~13&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3c8aa001836~13&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=26362003919~9&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=26362003919~9&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6e6d9003919~2&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6e6d9003919~2&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8427b001836~14&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8427b001836~14&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57643001836~15&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d2731001836~16&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d2731001836~16&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee849001836~18&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b019003919~1&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b019003919~1&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=73f54003919~3&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6fe59003919~5&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
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Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of 
the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations of the 
regulatory boards served by the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia that are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants 
and applicants. The Board for Barbers and Cosmetology will 
receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC41-70. Esthetics Regulations 
(amending 18VAC41-70-120).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: March 1, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Demetrios J. Melis, Executive Director, 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, 
FAX (804) 527-4295, or email 
barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments reduce various licensure fees for 
estheticians, master estheticians, esthetician and master 
esthetician instructors, and esthetics spas and schools 
regulated by the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology. 

Part III  
Fees  

18VAC41-70-120. Fees. 
The following fees apply: 

FEE TYPE AMOUNT DUE WHEN DUE 

Individuals: 

Application $140 $105 With application 

License by 
Endorsement 

$140 $105 With application 

Renewal $140 $105 With renewal 
card prior to 
expiration date 

Reinstatement $280* $210* 
*includes $140 
$105 renewal fee 
and $140 $105 
reinstatement fee 

With 
reinstatement 
application 

Instructors: 

Application $150 $125 With application 

License by 
Endorsement 

$150 $125 With application 

Renewal $150 With renewal 
card prior to 
expiration date 

Reinstatement $300* 
*includes $150 
renewal fee and 
$150 reinstatement 
fee 

With 
reinstatement 
application 

Spas: 

Application $225 $190 With application 

Renewal $225 $190 With renewal 
card prior to 
expiration date 

Reinstatement $450* $380* 
*includes $225 
$190 renewal fee 
and $225 $190 
reinstatement fee 

With 
reinstatement 
application 

Schools: 

Application $255 $220 With application 

Renewal $255 $220 With renewal 
card prior to 
expiration date 

Reinstatement $510* $440* 
*includes $255 
$220 renewal fee 
and $255 $220 
reinstatement fee 

With 
reinstatement 
application 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the regulation 
were filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 
however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 
Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink to 
access it. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 
may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General 
Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC41-70) 
Esthetician – Esthetics Instructor Examination & License 

Application, A425-1261_62EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 
Master Esthetician – Master Esthetics Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A425-1264_65EXLIC (eff. 9/11) 
Temporary Permit Application, A425-1213TP (eff. 9/11) 
License by Endorsement Application, A425-1213END (eff. 

9/11) 
License by Endorsement Application, A425-1213END (rev. 

2/14) 
Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-1213TREXP 

(eff. 9/11) 
Reinstatement Application, A425-1213REI (eff. 9/11) 
Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License Application A425-1213BUS 

(eff. 9/11) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a4612001837~7&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a4612001837~7&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6c281001837~8&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6c281001837~8&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=333f7001837~9&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2334001837~10&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2334001837~10&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6e6d9003919~2&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6e6d9003919~2&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3575c001837~11&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3575c001837~11&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4ab4b001837~12&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e499e001837~13&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e499e001837~13&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
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Reinstatement Application, A425-1213REI (rev. 2/14) 
Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License Application A425-1213BUS 

(rev. 2/14) 
Salon, Shop & Spa Self Inspection Form, A425-

1213_SSS_INSP (eff. 9/11) 
Instructor Certification Application, A425-1213INST (eff. 

9/11) 
School License Application, A425-1213SCHL (eff. 9/11) 
Instructor Certification Application, A425-1213INST (rev. 

2/14) 
School License Application, A425-1213SCHL (rev. 2/14) 
School Self Inspection Form, A425-1213SCH_INSP (eff. 9/11) 
Licensure Fee Notice, A425-1213FEE (eff. 9/11)  
Licensure Fee Notice, A425-1213FEE (rev. 2/14) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3921; Filed December 20, 2013, 11:57 a.m.  

CEMETERY BOARD 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC47-20. Cemetery Board Rules 
and Regulations (amending 18VAC47-20-70, 18VAC47-
20-140).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2311 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Effective Date: March 1, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 
Cemetery Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 527-4299, 
or email cemetery@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments increase all fees paid by licensees and 
registrants subject to the authority of the Cemetery Board 
including initial licenses, registrations, renewals, and 
reinstatements for cemetery companies and cemetery 
salespersons. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  
18VAC47-20-70. Application Fees fees.  

Application fees are nonrefundable.  

Cemetery company license $50 [ $200 $580 ] per 
cemetery 

Addition of cemetery $50 [ $200 $580 ] per 
cemetery 

Sales personnel registration $20 [ $75 $60 ] per cemetery 

18VAC47-20-140. Renewal and reinstatement fees.  
All fees required by the board are nonrefundable. The date 

on which the fee is received by the department or its agent 
shall determine whether the licensee or registrant is eligible 
for renewal or reinstatement or must reapply as a new 
applicant.  

Renewal of cemetery company 
license 

$50 [ $200 $580 ] per 
cemetery 

Renewal of sales personnel 
registration 

$20 [ $75 $60 ] per 
cemetery 

Reinstatement of cemetery 
company license 

$50 [ $200 $580 ] per 
cemetery 

Reinstatement of sales personnel 
registration 

$20 [ $75 $60 ] per 
cemetery 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name to access a 
form. The forms are also available from the agency contact or 
may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 
General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 
23219. 
FORMS (18VAC47-20) 

Compliance Agent/Director/Officer Change Form, 
49ADOCHG (eff. 7/05). 

Cemetery Addition Form, 49CADD (eff. 1/06). 
Cemetery Company License Application, 49LIC (eff. 1/06). 
New Trustee/Transfer of Funds Notification Form, 

49NEWTR (eff. 7/05). 
Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report Instructions, 

49PCTINS (eff.7/03). 
Perpetual Care Fidelity Bond Form, 49PCFBND (eff. 7/05). 
Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report, 49PCTFR (eff. 

7/05). 
Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report-Schedule A 

(Statement of Receipts and Expenses), 49PCTFRA (eff. 
7/05). 

Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report-Schedule B 
(Statement of Required Deposits), 49PCTFRB (eff. 7/05). 

Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report-Schedule C 
(Statement of Expenses Incurred for the General Care, 
Maintenance, Embellishment and Administration of 
Cemeteries), 49PCTFRC (eff. 7/05). 

Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report-Schedule D 
(Statement of Investment Securities), 49PCTFRD (eff. 7/05). 

Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report-Schedule E 
(Cemeteries Covered by Trust Fund), 49PCTFRE (eff. 7/05). 

Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report Instructions, 49PTINS 
(eff. 7/03). 

Preneed Fidelity Bond Form, 49PFBND (eff. 7/05). 
Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report, 49PTFR (eff. 7/05). 
Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report-Schedule A (Statement 

of Receipts and Expenses), 49PTFRA (eff. 7/05). 
Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report-Schedule B (Statement 

of Financial Deposits), 49PTFRB (eff. 7/05). 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6fe59003919~5&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b019003919~1&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9b019003919~1&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=13275001837~14&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=13275001837~14&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2a26b001837~15&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2a26b001837~15&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d397a001837~16&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6de1b003919~4&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6de1b003919~4&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=24d79003919~6&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=18751001837~17&typ=40&actno=001837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee849001836~18&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=73f54003919~3&typ=40&actno=003919&mime=application/pdf
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Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report-Schedule C (Statement 
of Investment Securities), 49PTFRC (eff. 7/05). 

Cemetery Company Renewal/Reinstatement Application, 
49RENREI (eff. 1/06). 

Sales Personnel Registration Form, 49SLSREG (eff. 1/06). 
Perpetual Care Trust Fund Trustee Verification, 49TRVER 

(eff. 7/05). 
Trustee Approval Application, 49TRAPP (eff. 7/05). 
Preneed Burial Contract, 49PCTRCT (eff. 7/03). 
Compliance Agent Designee Application, 49CADAPP (eff. 

2/05). 
[ Cemetery Addition Form, 49CADD4 (rev. 1/09). 
Cemetery Company License Application, 49LIC (rev. 9/11). 
Cemetery Company Renewal/Reinstatement Application, 

49RENREI (rev. 1/09). 
Compliance Agent Designee Application, 49CADAPP (rev. 

6/12). 
Compliance Agent/Director/Officer Change Form, 

49ADOCHG (rev. 1/09). 
New Trustee/Transfer of Funds Notification Form, 

49NEWTR4 (rev. 1/09). 
Perpetual Care Fidelity Bond Form, 49PCFBND-v1 (rev. 

6/12). 
Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report Instructions, 

49PCTINS-v1 (rev. 12/09). 
Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report, 49PCTFR-v1 

(rev. 1/09). 
Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report - Schedule A 

(Statement of Receipts and Expenses), 49PCTFRA-v1 (rev. 
1/10). 

Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report - Schedule B 
(Statement of Required Deposits), 49PCTFRB-v1 (rev. 1/09). 

Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report - Schedule C 
(Statement of Expenses Incurred for the General Care, 
Maintenance, Embellishment, and Administration of 
Cemeteries), 49PCTFRC-v1 (rev. 1/09). 

Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report - Schedule D 
(Statement of Investment Securities), 49PCTFRD-v1 (rev. 
10/09). 

Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report - Schedule E 
(Cemeteries Covered by Trust Fund), 49PCTFRE-v1 (rev. 
1/09). 

Perpetual Care Trust Fund Trustee Verification, 49TRVER-
v1 (rev. 1/09). 

Preneed Burial Contract, 49PCTRCT-v1 (rev. 8/07). 
Preneed Fidelity Bond Form, 49PFBND-v1 (rev. 1/09). 
Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report Instructions, 

49PTINS-v1 (rev. 12/09). 

Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report, 49PTFR-v1 (rev. 
1/09). 

Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report - Schedule A 
(Statement of Receipts and Expenses), 49PTFRA-v1 (rev. 
4/12). 

Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report - Schedule B 
(Statement of Financial Deposits), 49PTFRB-v1 (rev. 1/09). 

Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report - Schedule C 
(Statement of Investment Securities), 49PTFRC-v1 (rev. 
10/09). 

Sales Personnel Registration Form, 49SLSREG4 (rev. 1/09). 
Trustee Approval Application, 49TRAPP-v1 (rev. 1/09). 
Cemetery Company/Personnel Forms 

Cemetery Company License Application, 4901LIC-v2 
(rev. 1/14) 
Cemetery Company Renewal/Reinstatement Application, 
4901RENREI-v2 (rev. 1/14) 
Sales Personnel Registration Form, 4903REG-v3 (rev. 
1/14) 
Compliance Agent Designee Application, 49CAD-v1 (rev. 
9/13) 
Compliance Agent/Officer/Director Change Form, 
49ADO_CHG-v1 (rev.9/13) 
Cemetery Addition Form, 4901ADD-v3 (rev. 1/14) 

Perpetual Care Forms 
Perpetual Care Fidelity Bond Form, 49PCFBND-v1 (rev. 
9/13) 
Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report, 49PCTFR-v1 
(rev. 9/13) 
Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report Instructions, 
49PCTINS-v1 (rev. 9/13) 
Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report - Schedule A 
(Statement of Receipts and Expenses), 49PCTFRA-v1 
(rev. 9/13) 
Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report - Schedule B 
(Statement of Required Deposits), 49PCTFRB-v1 (rev. 
9/13) 
Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report - Schedule C 
(Statement of Expenses Incurred for the General Care, 
Maintenance, Embellishment, and Administration of 
Cemeteries), 49PCTFRC-v1 (rev. 9/13) 
Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report - Schedule D 
(Statement of Investment Securities), 49PCTFRD-v1 (rev. 
9/13) 
Perpetual Care Trust Fund Financial Report - Schedule E 
(Cemeteries Covered by Trust Fund), 49PCTFRE-v1 (rev. 
9/13) 

Preneed Forms 
Preneed Burial Contract (undated) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=41da8002767~45&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=41da8002767~45&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=05752002767~46&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=05752002767~46&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=10d8b002767~48&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=10d8b002767~48&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a46c002767~26&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a46c002767~26&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=80c3a002767~25&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=80c3a002767~25&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2ecb2002767~44&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d02b8002767~27&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d02b8002767~27&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9e0c1002767~33&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9e0c1002767~33&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=af951002767~34&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=af951002767~34&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=94deb002767~28&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=94deb002767~28&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=94deb002767~28&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fa41e002767~29&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fa41e002767~29&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fa41e002767~29&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d32b8002767~30&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d32b8002767~30&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d32b8002767~30&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d32b8002767~30&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=130a6002767~25&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=130a6002767~25&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=130a6002767~25&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=901ce002767~32&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=901ce002767~32&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=901ce002767~32&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=978cd002767~35&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
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Preneed Fidelity Bond Form, 49PFBND-v1 (rev. 9/13) 
Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report, 49PTFR-v1 (rev. 
9/13) 
Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report Instructions, 
49PTINS-v1 (rev. 9/13) 
Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report - Schedule A 
(Statement of Receipts and Expenses), 49PTFRA-v1 (rev. 
9/13) 
Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report - Schedule B 
(Statement of Financial Deposits), 49PTFRB-v1 (rev. 
9/13) 
Preneed Trust Fund Financial Report - Schedule C 
(Statement of Investment Securities), 49PTFRC-v1 (rev. 
9/13) 

Trustee Forms 
Perpetual Care Trust Fund Trustee Verification, 
49TRVER-v1 (rev. 9/13) 
Trustee Approval Application, 49TRAPP-v1 (rev. 9/13) 
New Trustee/Transfer of Funds Notification Form, 
4901NEWTR-v1 (rev. 9/13) ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2767; Filed December 19, 2013, 5:01 p.m.  

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Dentistry is claiming 
an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 
Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 
Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 
agency discretion is involved. The Board of Dentistry will 
receive, consider, and respond to petitions from any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-20. Regulations Governing 
Dental Practice (amending 18VAC60-20-20).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: February 12, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4538, FAX (804) 527-
4428, or email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendment removes March as the deadline for 
renewal of a faculty license to conform to the June renewal 
deadline established by Chapters 20 and 116 of the 2012 
Acts of Assembly.  

Part II  
Renewal and Fees  

18VAC60-20-20. Renewal and reinstatement. 
A. Renewal fees. Every person holding an active or inactive 

license or a dental assistant II registration or a faculty license 

shall, on or before March 31, renew his license or registration. 
Every person holding a temporary resident's license, a 
restricted volunteer license to practice dentistry or dental 
hygiene, or a temporary permit to practice dentistry or dental 
hygiene shall, on or before June 30, request renewal of his 
license.  

1. The fee for renewal of an active license or permit to 
practice or teach dentistry shall be $285, and the fee for 
renewal of an active license or permit to practice or teach 
dental hygiene shall be $75. The fee for renewal of 
registration as a dental assistant II shall be $50. 
2. The fee for renewal of an inactive license shall be $145 
for dentists and $40 for dental hygienists. The fee for 
renewal of an inactive registration as a dental assistant II 
shall be $25. 
3. The fee for renewal of a restricted volunteer license shall 
be $15. 
4. The application fee for temporary resident's license shall 
be $60. The annual renewal fee shall be $35 a year. An 
additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $15. 

B. Late fees. Any person who does not return the completed 
form and fee by the deadline required in subsection A of this 
section shall be required to pay an additional late fee of $100 
for dentists with an active license, $25 for dental hygienists 
with an active license, and $20 for a dental assistant II with 
active registration. The late fee shall be $50 for dentists with 
an inactive license, $15 for dental hygienists with an inactive 
license, and $10 for a dental assistant II with an inactive 
registration. The board shall renew a license or dental 
assistant II registration if the renewal form, renewal fee, and 
late fee are received within one year of the deadline required 
in subsection A of this section.  

C. Reinstatement fees and procedures. The license or 
registration of any person who does not return the completed 
renewal form and fees by the deadline required in subsection 
A of this section shall automatically expire and become 
invalid and his practice as a dentist, dental hygienist, or dental 
assistant II shall be illegal. 

1. Any person whose license or dental assistant II 
registration has expired for more than one year and who 
wishes to reinstate such license or registration shall submit 
to the board a reinstatement application and the 
reinstatement fee of $500 for dentists, $200 for dental 
hygienists, or $125 for dental assistants II.  
2. With the exception of practice with a restricted volunteer 
license as provided in §§ 54.1-2712.1 and 54.1-2726.1 of 
the Code of Virginia, practicing in Virginia with an expired 
license or registration may subject the licensee to 
disciplinary action by the board. 
3. The executive director may reinstate such expired 
license or registration provided that the applicant can 
demonstrate continuing competence, that no grounds exist 
pursuant to § 54.1-2706 of the Code of Virginia and 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6f4d9002767~36&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f750002767~40&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f750002767~40&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc9a1002767~41&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bc9a1002767~41&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f4d9002767~37&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f4d9002767~37&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f4d9002767~37&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8293f002767~38&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8293f002767~38&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8293f002767~38&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9baee002767~39&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9baee002767~39&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9baee002767~39&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d27dd002767~43&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d27dd002767~43&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2e379002767~42&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee13a002767~47&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee13a002767~47&typ=40&actno=002767&mime=application/pdf
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18VAC60-20-170 to deny said reinstatement, and that the 
applicant has paid the unpaid reinstatement fee and any 
fines or assessments. Evidence of continuing competence 
shall include hours of continuing education as required by 
subsection H of 18VAC60-20-50 and may also include 
evidence of active practice in another state or in federal 
service or current specialty board certification.  

D. Reinstatement of a license or dental assistant II 
registration previously revoked or indefinitely suspended. 
Any person whose license or registration has been revoked 
shall submit to the board for its approval a reinstatement 
application and fee of $1,000 for dentists, $500 for dental 
hygienists, and $300 for dental assistants II. Any person 
whose license or registration has been indefinitely suspended 
shall submit to the board for its approval a reinstatement 
application and fee of $750 for dentists, $400 for dental 
hygienists, and $250 for dental assistants II.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3860; Filed December 16, 2013, 4:33 p.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-20-35, 
18VAC90-20-190, 18VAC90-20-200, 18VAC90-20-271, 
18VAC90-20-280; adding 18VAC90-20-34, 18VAC90-20-
37; repealing 18VAC90-20-240, 18VAC90-20-270, 
18VAC90-20-370, 18VAC90-20-380, 18VAC90-20-390, 
18VAC90-20-400, 18VAC90-20-410). 
18VAC90-21. Medication Administration Training and 
Immunization Protocol (adding 18VAC90-21-10 through 
18VAC90-21-50).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2014. 
Effective Date: February 27, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 
(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the health regulatory boards to promulgate regulations that 
are reasonable and necessary to administer the regulatory 
system. Section 54.1-3005 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the Board of Nursing to promulgate regulations for 
certification of nurse aides. 
Purpose: The purpose of the amendments is to update 
language and simplify the process of applying for licensure. 
Elimination of unnecessary or outdated provisions and 
inclusion of language consistent with current practices will 
facilitate submission of documentation for licensure or 

registration as a volunteer nurse for a nonprofit organization. 
The goal is to enable qualified applicants to obtain licensure, 
which provides the public with some assurance of 
competency and accountability in the delivery of nursing 
services. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The amendments are 
less restrictive and not controversial. They are consistent with 
the intent and purpose of regulatory reform. 
Substance: Regulations are amended to facilitate electronic 
submission of documents and forms, accept a certificate of 
naturalization as evidence of a name change, eliminate 
burdensome timelines and documentation for certain 
applicants, and clarify regulations. This action also relocates 
requirements for medication administration training and 
immunization protocols into a separate chapter (18VAC90-
21). 
Issues: The primary advantage to the public is facilitation of 
applications and renewals and elimination of confusing, 
outdated language. There are no disadvantages. The 
advantage to the Commonwealth is clarity in the regulations, 
which reduces queries to board staff. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As 
part of the regulatory reform initiative, the Board of Nursing 
(Board) proposes to amend its Regulations Governing the 
Practice of Nursing to: 1) allow a certificate of naturalization 
as proof of legal name change, 2) allow applicants for 
licensure 12 months from the date that their application is 
filed with the Board, rather than the currently allowed 6 
months, to take their licensure examination and also to 
establish eligibility, 3) allow applicants for registration for 
voluntary practice by out-of-state licensees to provide an 
electronic copy of current licensure and to provide 
attestations that the applicants are in compliance with the 
current controlling statute and 4) repeal sections of these 
regulations that govern medication aide administration 
training programs and replace them with a new concurrently 
promulgated regulatory chapter. 
Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 
proposed regulations. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, licensees who are 
seeking to change their name with the Board must provide a 
copy of a marriage certificate or a court order for name 
change as proof that the requested name change is legal. The 
Board now proposes to allow a certificate of naturalization to 
also serve as proof. No entity is likely to incur costs on 
account of this change. Licensees who are changing their 
names will benefit as the proposed regulation will give them 
more flexibility. 
Current regulations require that applicants for licensure prove 
eligibility for licensure and take their licensure examination 
within 6 months of application. The Board proposes to extend 
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this time frame to 12 months. No entity is likely to incur 
additional costs on account of these changes. Applicants for 
licensure will benefit from the extra flexibility afforded by 
this change and may save money as they will not have to pay 
an additional application for licensure fee if they miss the 6 
month window (the fee is $190 for registered nurses and $170 
for licensed practical nurses). 
Currently, an out-of-state licensee who is volunteering for 
nursing duties in the Commonwealth must provide a complete 
record of professional licensure in each state in which he has 
held a license and a copy of every current license and also 
must provide a notarized statement from a representative of 
the non-profit organization with which he is volunteering that 
the organization is in compliance with subdivision 11 of 54.1-
3001 of the Code of Virginia. The Board now proposes to 
ease these requirements by allowing out-of-state licensees to 
submit electronic evidence of unrestricted licensure in a U.S. 
jurisdiction and by allowing non-profit organizations to attest 
to their compliance with the controlling law. These changes 
will make it slightly easier for nurses licensed out-of-state to 
volunteer in Virginia and may save non-profits the small 
amount of money (probably less than $5) that it may cost to 
get a statement notarized. No entity is likely to incur costs on 
account of these changes. 
Current regulations include rules that govern medication aide 
training programs. The Board proposes to repeal these rules 
in this chapter and promulgate them in a separate chapter 
(18VAC90-21, Medication Administration Training and 
Immunization Protocols) so that they are easier to search for 
and find. While these rules are being moved, they are not 
being changed. Therefore, no entity is likely to incur costs on 
account of this Board action. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Health 
Professions (DHP) reports that there are 100,608 registered 
nurses, 31,276 licensed practical nurses, 426 clinical nurse 
specialists 5,250 registered medication aides and 201 
approved medication aide training programs in the 
Commonwealth. All of these entities, as well as out-of-state 
licensees who are volunteering their skills and time in the 
state, will be affected by these regulatory changes. 
Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 
particularly affected by these proposed regulations. 
Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed regulatory 
changes are unlikely to have an appreciable impact on 
employment in the Commonwealth. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 
proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 
value of private property in the Commonwealth. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 
is likely to incur and additional expense on account of these 
regulatory changes. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur and 
additional expense on account of these regulatory changes. 
Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 
of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 
other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 
identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 
entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 
and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 
to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 
the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 
effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 
economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 
estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 
regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 
other administrative costs required for small businesses to 
comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 
skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 
documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 
regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 
of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 
achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 
presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 
economic impacts. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Nursing concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget on proposed amended regulations for 
18VAC90-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Nursing. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) allow a certificate of naturalization as 
proof of legal name change, (ii) extend the time applicants 
for licensure may take their licensure examination and 
establish eligibility from six months to 12 months from the 
date that their application is filed with the board, (iii) 
allow applicants for registration for voluntary practice by 
out-of-state licensees to provide an electronic copy of 
current licensure and to provide attestations that the 
applicants are in compliance with the current controlling 
statute, and (iv) relocate provisions governing medication 
aide administration training programs to a new chapter 
numbered 18VAC90-21. 
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18VAC90-20-34. Duplicate license. 
A duplicate license for the current renewal period shall be 

issued by the board upon receipt of the required information 
and fee.  
18VAC90-20-35. Identification; accuracy of records. 

A. Any person regulated by this chapter who provides direct 
patient care shall, while on duty, wear identification that is 
clearly visible and indicates the person's first and last name 
and the appropriate title for the license, certification, or 
registration issued to such person by the board under which 
he is practicing in that setting. Any person practicing in 
hospital emergency departments, psychiatric and mental 
health units and programs, or in health care facilities units 
offering treatment for patients in custody of state or local law-
enforcement agencies may use identification badges of first 
name and first letter only of last name and appropriate title. 

B. A licensee who has changed his name shall submit as 
legal proof to the board a copy of the marriage certificate, a 
certificate of naturalization, or court order evidencing the 
change. A duplicate license shall be issued by the board upon 
receipt of such evidence and the required fee. 

C. Each licensee shall maintain an address of record with the 
board. Any change in the address of record or in the public 
address, if different from the address of record, shall be 
submitted by a licensee electronically or in writing to the 
board within 30 days of such change. All notices required by 
law and by this chapter to be mailed by the board to any 
licensee shall be validly given when mailed to the latest 
address of record on file with the board. 
18VAC90-20-37. Supervision of licensed practical nurses. 

Licensed practical nursing is performed under the direction 
or supervision of a licensed medical practitioner, a registered 
nurse, or a licensed dentist.  

Part III  
Licensure and Practice  

18VAC90-20-190. Licensure by examination.  
A. The board shall authorize the administration of 

examinations for registered nurse licensure and examinations 
for practical nurse licensure. 

B. A candidate shall be eligible to take the NCLEX 
examination (i) upon receipt by the board of the completed 
application, fee and an official transcript from the nursing 
education program; and (ii) when a determination has been 
made that no grounds exist upon which the board may deny 
licensure pursuant to § 54.1-3007 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. To establish eligibility for licensure by examination, an 
applicant for the licensing examination shall: 

1. File the required application, any necessary 
documentation and fee. 
2. Arrange for the board to receive an official transcript 
from the nursing education program which shows either: 

a. That the degree or diploma has been awarded and the 
date of graduation or conferral; or 
b. That all requirements for awarding the degree or 
diploma have been met and specifies the date of 
conferral. 

3. File a new application and reapplication fee if: 
a. The examination is not taken within six 12 months of 
the date that the board determines the applicant to be 
eligible; or 
b. Eligibility is not established within six 12 months of 
the original filing date. 

D. The minimum passing standard on the examination for 
registered nurse licensure and practical nurse licensure shall 
be determined by the board. 

E. Any applicant suspected of giving or receiving 
unauthorized assistance during the examination may be 
noticed for a hearing pursuant to the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) to determine eligibility for licensure or 
reexamination. 

F. Practice of nursing pending receipt of examination 
results. 

1. A graduate who has filed a completed application for 
licensure in Virginia and has received an authorization 
letter issued by the board may practice nursing in Virginia 
from the date of the authorization letter. The period of 
practice shall not exceed 90 days between the date of 
successful completion of the nursing education program, as 
documented on the applicant's transcript, and the 
publication of the results of the candidate's first licensing 
examination. 
2. Candidates who practice nursing as provided in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection shall use the designation 
"R.N. Applicant" or "L.P.N. Applicant" on a nametag or 
when signing official records. 
3. The designations "R.N. Applicant" and "L.P.N. 
Applicant" shall not be used by applicants who either do 
not take the examination within 90 days following receipt 
of the authorization letter from the board or who have 
failed the examination. 

G. Applicants who fail the examination. 
1. An applicant who fails the licensing examination shall 
not be licensed or be authorized to practice nursing in 
Virginia. 
2. An applicant for licensure by reexamination shall file the 
required board application and reapplication fee no later 
than 60 days prior to the first day of the month in which 
the applicant expects to take the examination in order to 
establish eligibility for reexamination. 
3. Applicants who have failed the examination for 
licensure in another U.S. jurisdiction but satisfy the 
qualifications for licensure in this jurisdiction may apply 
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for licensure by examination in Virginia. Such applicants 
shall submit the required application and fee. Such 
applicants shall not, however, be permitted to practice 
nursing in Virginia until the requisite license has been 
issued. 

18VAC90-20-200. Licensure by endorsement. 
A. A graduate of an approved nursing education program 

who has been licensed by examination in another U.S. 
jurisdiction and whose license is in good standing, or is 
eligible for reinstatement, if lapsed, shall be eligible for 
licensure by endorsement in Virginia, provided the applicant 
satisfies the same requirements for registered nurse or 
practical nurse licensure as those seeking initial licensure in 
Virginia. Applicants who have graduated from approved 
nursing education programs that did not require a sufficient 
number of clinical hours, as specified in 18VAC90-20-120, 
may qualify for licensure if they can provide evidence of at 
least 960 hours of clinical practice with an active, 
unencumbered license in another U.S. jurisdiction. 

1. A graduate of a nursing school in Canada where English 
was the primary language shall be eligible for licensure by 
endorsement provided the applicant has passed the 
Canadian Registered Nurses Examination (CRNE) and 
holds an unrestricted license in Canada. 
2. An applicant for licensure by endorsement who has not 
passed a licensing examination other than NCLEX may 
only be issued a single state license to practice in Virginia. 

B. An applicant for licensure by endorsement who has 
submitted the required application and fee and submitted the 
required form to the appropriate credentialing agency for 
verification of licensure may practice for 30 days upon receipt 
of an authorization letter from the board. If an applicant has 
not received a Virginia license within 30 days and wishes to 
continue practice, he shall seek an extension of authorization 
to practice by submitting a request and evidence that he has 
requested verification of licensure. 

C. If the application is not completed within one year of the 
initial filing date, the applicant shall submit a new application 
and fee. 
18VAC90-20-240. Duplicate license. (Repealed.) 

A duplicate license for the current renewal period shall be 
issued by the board upon receipt of the required information 
and fee.  
18VAC90-20-270. Supervision of licensed practical 
nurses. (Repealed.) 

Licensed practical nursing is performed under the direction 
or supervision of a licensed medical practitioner, a registered 
nurse or a licensed dentist.  
18VAC90-20-271. Registration for voluntary practice by 
out-of-state licensees.  

Any licensed nurse who does not hold a license to practice 
in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice on a 

voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, all 
volunteer, nonprofit organization that sponsors the provision 
of health care to populations of underserved people shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 
provided by the board at least five business days prior to 
engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will 
not be considered;  
2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 
each state in which he has held a license and a copy of 
every current license evidence of current, unrestricted 
licensure in a U.S. jurisdiction;  
3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates 
and location of the voluntary provision of services;  
4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  
5. Provide a notarized statement an attestation from a 
representative of the nonprofit organization attesting to its 
compliance with provisions of subdivision 11 of § 54.1-
3001 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC90-20-280. Clinical nurse specialist registration.  
A. Initial registration. An applicant for initial registration as 

a clinical nurse specialist shall: 
1. Be currently licensed as a registered nurse in Virginia or 
hold a current multistate licensure privilege as a registered 
nurse; 
2. Submit evidence of a graduate degree in nursing from an 
approved program as defined in 18VAC90-20-275; 
3. Submit evidence of current specialty certification as a 
clinical nurse specialist from a national certifying 
organization acceptable to the board or has an exception 
available from March 1, 1990, to July 1, 1990; and 
4. Submit the required application and fee. 

B. Renewal of registration. 
1. Registration as a clinical nurse specialist shall be 
renewed biennially at the same time the registered nurse 
license is renewed. If registered as a clinical nurse 
specialist with a multistate licensure privilege to practice in 
Virginia as a registered nurse, a licensee born in even-
numbered years shall renew his license by the last day of 
the birth month in even-numbered years and a licensee 
born in odd-numbered years shall renew his license by the 
last day of the birth month in odd-numbered years. 
2. The clinical nurse specialist shall complete the renewal 
form and submit it with the required fee and evidence. An 
attestation of current specialty certification is required 
unless registered in accordance with an exception. 
3. Registration as a clinical nurse specialist shall lapse if 
the registered nurse license is not renewed or the multistate 
licensure privilege is lapsed and may be reinstated upon: 

a. Reinstatement of R.N. license or multistate licensure 
privilege; 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 13, 2014 

1366 

b. Payment of reinstatement and current renewal fees; 
and 
c. Submission of evidence of continued specialty 
certification unless registered in accordance with an 
exception. 

Part VI  
Medication Administration Training Program (Repealed) 

18VAC90-20-370. Establishing a medication 
administration training program. (Repealed.) 

A. A program provider wishing to establish a medication 
administration training program pursuant to § 54.1-3408 of 
the Code of Virginia shall submit an application to the board 
at least 90 days in advance of the expected beginning date. 

B. The application shall be considered at a meeting of the 
board. The board shall, after review and consideration, either 
grant or deny approval. 

C. If approval is denied, the program provider may request a 
hearing before the board, and the provisions of the 
Administrative Process Act shall apply (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia). 
18VAC90-20-380. Qualifications of instructional 
personnel. (Repealed.) 

Instructors shall be licensed health care professionals who, 
consistent with provisions of the Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-
3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), are authorized to 
administer, prescribe or dispense drugs and who have 
completed a program designed to prepare the instructor to 
teach the course as it applies to the clients in the specific 
setting in which those completing the course will administer 
medications.  
18VAC90-20-390. Content. (Repealed.) 

The curriculum shall include a minimum of 32 hours of 
classroom instruction and practice in the following:  

1. Preparing for safe administration of medications to 
clients in specific settings by:  

a. Demonstrating an understanding of the client's rights 
regarding medications, treatment decisions and 
confidentiality.  
b. Recognizing emergencies and other health-threatening 
conditions and responding accordingly.  
c. Identifying medication terminology and abbreviations.  

2. Maintaining aseptic conditions by:  
a. Implementing universal precautions.  
b. Insuring cleanliness and disinfection.  
c. Disposing of infectious or hazardous waste.  

3. Facilitating client self-administration or assisting with 
medication administration by:  

a. Reviewing administration records and prescriber's 
orders.  

b. Facilitating client's awareness of the purpose and 
effects of medication.  
c. Assisting the client to interpret prescription labels.  
d. Observing the five rights of medication administration 
and security requirements appropriate to the setting.  
e. Following proper procedure for preparing medications.  
f. Measuring and recording vital signs to assist the client 
in making medication administration decisions.  
g. Assisting the client to administer oral medications.  
h. Assisting the client with administration of prepared 
instillations and treatments of:  
(1) Eye drops and ointments.  
(2) Ear drops.  
(3) Nasal drops and sprays.  
(4) Topical preparations.  
(5) Compresses and dressings.  
(6) Vaginal and rectal products.  
(7) Soaks and sitz baths.  
(8) Inhalation therapy.  
(9) Oral hygiene products.  
i. Reporting and recording the client's refusal to take 
medication.  
j. Documenting medication administration.  
k. Documenting and reporting medication errors.  
l. Maintaining client records according to facility policy.  
m. Sharing information with other staff orally and by 
using documents.  
n. Storing and securing medications.  
o. Maintaining an inventory of medications.  
p. Disposing of medications.  

4. Facilitating client self-administration or assisting with 
the administration of insulin. Instruction and practice in the 
administration of insulin shall be included only in those 
settings where required by client needs and shall include:  

a. Cause and treatment of diabetes.  
b. The side effects of insulin.  
c. Preparation and administration of insulin.  

18VAC90-20-400. Post-course examination. (Repealed.) 
The program provider shall require that each student shall 

pass a written and practical examination at the conclusion of 
the training which measures minimum competency in 
medication administration.  
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Part VII  
Protocol for Adult Immunization (Repealed) 

18VAC90-20-410. Requirements for protocol for 
administration of adult immunization. (Repealed.) 

Pursuant to provisions of § 54.1-3408 of the Code of 
Virginia, a protocol shall be submitted to the board prior to 
the administration of an adult immunization program that 
includes the following: 

1. Purpose and objectives of immunization program. 
2. Target population. 
3. Name and address of medical director. 
4. A signed and dated medical directive. 
5. Screening criteria for inclusion and exclusion. 
6. Informed consent form. 
7. Immunization procedures. 

a. Dosage. 
b. Single or multiple dose administration. 
c. Injection site. 
d. Vaccine storage. 
e. Biohazardous waste disposal. 
f. Standard precautions. 

8. Post-immunization instructions. 
9. Emergency guidelines, including a signed medical 
directive for emergency treatment. 
10. Qualification of immunization providers. 

a. Virginia licensure as a registered nurse, licensed 
practical nurse, or pharmacist. 
b. Supervision of LPN provider. 
c. Current cardiopulmonary resuscitation training. 

11. Resource personnel and supervision. 
12. Sample of patient record with date, vaccine, dose, site, 
expiration date, lot number, and administering person's 
signature. 

CHAPTER 21 
MEDICATION ADMINISTRATION TRAINING AND 

IMMUNIZATION PROTOCOL 
18VAC90-21-10. Establishing a medication 
administration training program. 

A. A program provider wishing to establish a medication 
administration training program pursuant to subsection L of 
§ 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia shall submit an 
application to the board at least 90 days in advance of the 
expected beginning date.  

B. The application shall be considered at a meeting of the 
board. The board shall, after review and consideration, either 
grant or deny approval.  

C. If approval is denied, the program provider may request a 
hearing before the board, and the provisions of the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) shall apply. 
18VAC90-21-20. Qualifications of instructional personnel. 

Instructors shall be licensed health care professionals who, 
consistent with provisions of the Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-
3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), are authorized to 
administer, prescribe, or dispense drugs and who have 
completed a program designed to prepare the instructor to 
teach the course as it applies to the clients in the specific 
setting in which those completing the course will administer 
medications. 
18VAC90-21-30. Content of medication administration 
training. 

The curriculum shall include a minimum of 32 hours of 
classroom instruction and practice in the following:  

1. Preparing for safe administration of medications to 
clients in specific settings by:  

a. Demonstrating an understanding of the client's rights 
regarding medications, treatment decisions, and 
confidentiality.  
b. Recognizing emergencies and other health-threatening 
conditions and responding accordingly.  
c. Identifying medication terminology and abbreviations.  

2. Maintaining aseptic conditions by:  
a. Implementing universal precautions.  
b. Insuring cleanliness and disinfection.  
c. Disposing of infectious or hazardous waste.  

3. Facilitating client self-administration or assisting with 
medication administration by:  

a. Reviewing administration records and prescriber's 
orders.  
b. Facilitating client's awareness of the purpose and 
effects of medication.  
c. Assisting the client to interpret prescription labels.  
d. Observing the five rights of medication administration 
and security requirements appropriate to the setting.  
e. Following proper procedure for preparing medications.  
f. Measuring and recording vital signs to assist the client 
in making medication administration decisions.  
g. Assisting the client to administer oral medications.  
h. Assisting the client with administration of prepared 
instillations and treatments of:  
(1) Eye drops and ointments.  
(2) Ear drops.  
(3) Nasal drops and sprays.  
(4) Topical preparations.  
(5) Compresses and dressings.  
(6) Vaginal and rectal products.  
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(7) Soaks and sitz baths.  
(8) Inhalation therapy.  
(9) Oral hygiene products.  
i. Reporting and recording the client's refusal to take 
medication.  
j. Documenting medication administration.  
k. Documenting and reporting medication errors.  
l. Maintaining client records according to facility policy.  
m. Sharing information with other staff orally and by 
using documents.  
n. Storing and securing medications.  
o. Maintaining an inventory of medications.  
p. Disposing of medications.  

4. Facilitating client self-administration or assisting with 
the administration of insulin. Instruction and practice in the 
administration of insulin shall be included only in those 
settings where required by client needs and shall include:  

a. Cause and treatment of diabetes.  
b. The side effects of insulin.  
c. Preparation and administration of insulin. 

18VAC90-21-40. Post-course examination. 
The program provider shall require that each student shall 

pass a written and practical examination at the conclusion of 
the training that measures minimum competency in 
medication administration. 
18VAC90-21-50. Requirements for protocols for 
administration of adult immunizations. 

Pursuant to provisions of subsection I of § 54.1-3408 of the 
Code of Virginia, a protocol shall be submitted to and 
approved by the board prior to the administration of an adult 
immunization program that includes the following: 

1. Purpose and objectives of immunization program. 
2. Target population. 
3. Name and address of medical director. 
4. A signed and dated medical directive. 
5. Screening criteria for inclusion and exclusion. 
6. Informed consent form. 
7. Immunization procedures. 

a. Dosage. 
b. Single or multiple dose administration. 
c. Injection site. 
d. Vaccine storage. 
e. Biohazardous waste disposal. 
f. Standard precautions. 

8. Post-immunization instructions. 
9. Emergency guidelines, including a signed medical 
directive for emergency treatment. 

10. Qualification of immunization providers. 
a. Virginia licensure as a registered nurse, licensed 
practical nurse, or pharmacist. 
b. Supervision of a licensed practical nurse provider. 
c. Current cardiopulmonary resuscitation training. 

11. Resource personnel and supervision. 
12. Sample of patient record with date, vaccine, dose, site, 
expiration date, lot number, and administering person's 
signature. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3680; Filed December 18, 2013, 9:13 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 18VAC90-25. Regulations Governing 
Certified Nurse Aides (amending 18VAC90-25-10, 
18VAC90-25-15, 18VAC90-25-71, 18VAC90-25-72, 
18VAC90-25-120; repealing 18VAC90-25-20, 18VAC90-
25-30, 18VAC90-25-40, 18VAC90-25-50, 18VAC90-25-60, 
18VAC90-25-90). 
18VAC90-26. Regulations for Nurse Aide Education 
Programs (adding 18VAC90-26-10 through 18VAC90-26-
70).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2014. 
Effective Date: February 27, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX (804) 
527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the health regulatory boards to promulgate regulations that 
are reasonable and necessary to administer the regulatory 
system. Section 54.1-3005 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the Board of Nursing to promulgate regulations for 
certification of nurse aides. 
Purpose: The purpose of the amendments is to update 
language and simplify the process of applying for registration 
as a certified nurse aide. Elimination of unnecessary or 
outdated provisions and inclusion of language consistent with 
current practices will facilitate submission of documentation. 
The goal is to enable qualified applicants to obtain 
certification, which provides the public with some assurance 
of competency and accountability in the delivery of nurse 
aide services. The changes to the process of initial approval, 
continued approval, and conditional approval will result in a 
more efficient system to avoid unnecessary delay in the 
provision of educational programs for training new nurse 
aides. Requirements for education, practical training, and 
evaluation of persons seeking certification are not being 
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changed and will continue to ensure minimal competency to 
serve patients with safety and skill. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The amendments are 
less restrictive and not controversial. They are consistent with 
the intent and purpose of regulatory reform. 
Substance: Regulations are amended to clarify the 
regulations, facilitate electronic submission of documents and 
forms, accept a certificate of naturalization as evidence of a 
name change, and allow completion of one clinical nursing 
course within the past 12 months to qualify an applicant for 
registration.  
This action will also repeal 18VAC90-25-20 through 
18VAC90-25-60 to move the requirements for nurse aide 
education programs into a separate chapter, promulgated as 
Chapter 26 (18VAC90-26). In 18VAC90-26, the 
administrative processes for initial board approval, continued 
approval, and denial of approval are revised for consistency 
with current delegation of authority to professional staff for 
nursing education programs and the Administrative Process 
Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 
Requirements for curriculum, instructors, course hours, and 
other essential elements of an approved program are identical 
to those currently in Chapter 25 (18VAC90-25). 
Issues: The primary advantage to the public is facilitation of 
applications and elimination of outdated language. The Board 
of Nursing will be able to approve nurse aide education 
programs in a timelier manner, thus making qualified 
programs available to persons interested in becoming certified 
nurse aides. There are no disadvantages. 
The advantage to the Commonwealth is clarity in the 
regulations, which reduces queries to board staff. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Nursing (Board) proposes to 1) accept a certificate 
of naturalization as evidence of a name change for nurse 
aides, 2) allow electronic submission of an address change, 3) 
allow for electronic verification of registration, certification, 
or licensure by another state for applicants seeking 
certification by endorsement, 4) allow completion of one 
clinical nursing course within the past 12 months to qualify 
an applicant for registration, and 5) streamline the initial and 
continued approval processes for nurse aide education 
programs. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Several proposed changes will 
reduce the regulatory burden on the nurse aides. These 
include allowing the Board to accept a certificate of 
naturalization as evidence of a name change in addition to a 
marriage certificate or a court order, allowing electronic 
submission of an address change rather than requiring the 
information be sent in writing, and allowing for electronic 

verification of registration, certification, or licensure by 
another state for applicants seeking certification by 
endorsement instead of requiring submission of written 
verification. These proposed changes will reduce the costs 
associated with time and effort the nurse aides would 
normally incur to produce and submit required documents 
and information to the Board. In addition, electronic 
submission and verification of documents and information 
may reduce administrative costs of the Department of Health 
Professions (DHP) by a small margin. 
One of the proposed changes will also allow completion of 
one clinical nursing course within the past 12 months to 
qualify an applicant for registration instead of requiring 
current enrollment in a nursing education program. This 
change will allow an applicant to qualify for registration 
without incurring the time and costs of completing a nurse 
aide education course for a possible savings of $200. 
Finally, the proposed changes will streamline the initial and 
continued approval processes for nurse aide education 
programs. Currently, a committee of the Board (Education 
Special Conference Committee) receives and reviews the 
initial applications and makes a recommendation to the 
Board. If the recommendation is to deny approval, the 
program must request a hearing before the full Board or a 
panel. Under the proposed changes, initial approval may be 
issued upon determination that requirements for establishing 
a program have been met by the Board's professional staff. If 
the program is denied approval following the staff review, 
then no further action will be necessary unless the program 
requests an informal conference with the committee of the 
Board. If the decision of the committee is to uphold the 
denial, the program may request a hearing before the full 
Board or the panel. This proposed change will eliminate the 
need to convene the committee of the Board and the possible 
delay in the approval process. In case of a denial following 
the staff review, an informal conference instead of a hearing 
before the full Board or a panel will be utilized. 
Similarly, current regulations require the committee to 
receive and review the report of the site visit or program 
evaluation report and make a recommendation to the Board to 
grant continued approval, place a program on conditional 
approval, or deny continued approval. Under the proposed 
regulation, the Board will be able to delegate that 
determination to the professional staff, so there would be no 
need to convene the committee and no delay in continued 
approval process. Also, an informal conference instead of a 
hearing before the full Board or a panel will be utilized in 
cases of denial or conditional approval. 
The proposed, more streamlined, initial and continued 
approval processes are expected to shift a significant portion 
of the review and appeal process from the Board members to 
the Board staff and provide administrative cost savings and 
reduce possible delays. 
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Businesses and Entities Affected. There are currently 53,877 
registered certified nurse aides and 230 nurse aide education 
programs in the Commonwealth. 
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations do 
not affect any particular locality more than others. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed electronic 
submission and verification of documents may provide small 
savings in staff time at DHP. However, the proposed changes 
to initial and continued approval process for nurse aide 
education programs will shift some administrative workload 
from Board members to the staff. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the 
extent streamlined initial and continued approval and appeal 
process reduce compliance costs, a positive impact on the 
asset value of nurse aide education programs may be 
expected. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Most of the 230 
nurse aide education programs in the Commonwealth are 
likely to be small businesses. The proposed changes do not 
impose costs on them.  
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. No adverse impact on small businesses is 
expected. 
Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 
development costs is expected. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 
of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 
other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 
identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 
entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 
and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 
to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 
the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 
effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 
economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 
estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 
regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 
other administrative costs required for small businesses to 
comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 
skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 
documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 
regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 
of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 
achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 
presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 
economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Nursing concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget on proposed amended regulations for 
18VAC90-25 and 18VAC90-26, relating to regulations for 
certified nurse aides and nurse aide education programs. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) provide that a certificate of 
naturalization may be accepted as evidence of a name 
change for nurse aides; (ii) allow for electronic submission 
of an address change; (iii) allow for electronic verification 
of registration, certification, or licensure by another state 
for applicants seeking certification by endorsement; (iv) 
allow completion of one clinical nursing course within the 
past 12 months to qualify an applicant for registration; 
and (v) relocate requirements for nurse aide education 
programs into a separate chapter and streamline the initial 
and continued approval processes for nurse aide education 
programs.  

Part I  
Nurse Aide Education Programs General Provisions 

18VAC90-25-10. Definitions.  
The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Nursing.  
"Client" means a person receiving the services of a certified 

nurse aide, to include a patient in a health care facility or at 
home or a resident of a long-term care facility.  

"Committee" means the Education Special Conference 
Committee, comprised of not less than two members of the 
board in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Nurse aide education program" means a program designed 
to prepare nurse aides for certification.  

"Nursing facility" means a licensed nursing home or an 
entity that is certified for Medicare or Medicaid long-term 
care reimbursement and licensed or certified by the Virginia 
Department of Health.  

"Primary instructor" means a registered nurse who is 
responsible for teaching and evaluating the students enrolled 
in a nurse aide education program.  

"Program coordinator" means a registered nurse who is 
administratively responsible and accountable for a nurse aide 
education program.  

"Program provider" means an entity that conducts a nurse 
aide education program.  
18VAC90-25-15. Identification; accuracy of records. 

A. Any person regulated by this chapter who provides direct 
patient care shall, while on duty, wear identification that is 
clearly visible and indicates the person's first and last name 
and the appropriate title issued to such person by the board 
under which he is practicing in that setting. Any person 
practicing in hospital emergency departments, psychiatric and 
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mental health units and programs, or in health care facilities 
units offering treatment for patients in custody of state or 
local law-enforcement agencies may use identification badges 
of first name and first letter only of last name and appropriate 
title. 

B. A certificate holder who has changed his name shall 
submit as legal proof to the board a copy of the marriage 
certificate, a certificate of naturalization, or court order 
evidencing the change. A duplicate certificate shall be issued 
by the board upon receipt of such evidence. 

C. Each certificate holder shall maintain an address of 
record with the board. Any change in the address of record or 
in the public address, if different from the address of record, 
shall be submitted in writing or electronically to the board 
within 30 days of such change. All notices required by law 
and by this chapter to be mailed by the board to any 
certificate holder shall be validly given when mailed to the 
latest address of record on file with the board. 
18VAC90-25-20. Establishing and maintaining a nurse 
aide education program. (Repealed.) 

A. Establishing a nurse aide education program. 
1. A program provider wishing to establish a nurse aide 
education program shall submit an application to the board 
at least 90 days in advance of the expected opening date. 
2. The application shall provide evidence of the ability of 
the institution to comply with subsection B of this section. 
3. The committee shall, in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of 
the Code of Virginia, receive and review the application 
and shall make a recommendation to the board to grant or 
deny approval. 
4. If the committee's recommendation is to deny approval, 
no further action will be required of the board unless the 
program requests a hearing before the board or a panel 
thereof in accordance with § 2.2-4020 and subdivision 11 
of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Maintaining an approved nurse aide education program. 
To maintain approval, the nurse aide education program shall: 

1. Demonstrate evidence of compliance with the following 
essential elements: 

a. Curriculum content and length as set forth in 
subsection A of 18VAC90-25-40 and subsection C of 
18VAC90-25-50. 
b. Maintenance of qualified instructional personnel as set 
forth in 18VAC90-25-30. 
c. Classroom facilities that meet requirements set forth in 
subsection D of 18VAC90-25-50. 
d. Maintenance of records as set forth in subsection A of 
18VAC90-25-50. 
e. Skills training experience in a nursing facility that has 
not been subject to penalty or penalties as provided in 42 
CFR 483.151(b)(2) (Medicare and Medicaid Programs: 
Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation and 

Paid Feeding Assistants, revised October 1, 2005) in the 
past two years. The foregoing shall not apply to a nursing 
facility that has received a waiver from the state survey 
agency in accordance with federal law. 
f. Agreement that board representatives may make 
unannounced visits to the program. 
g. Financial support and resources sufficient to meet 
requirements of this chapter as evidenced by a copy of 
the current annual budget or a signed statement from the 
administration specifically detailing its financial support 
and resources. 
h. Completion and submission of biennial on-site review 
reports and program evaluation reports as requested by 
the board. 

2. Impose no fee for any portion of the program on any 
nurse aide who, on the date on which the nurse aide begins 
the program, is either employed or has an offer of 
employment from a nursing facility. 
3. Provide documentation that each student applying to or 
enrolled in such program has been given a copy of 
applicable Virginia law regarding criminal history records 
checks for employment in certain health care facilities, and 
a list of crimes that pose a barrier to such employment. 
4. Report all substantive changes in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection within 10 days of the change to the board to 
include, but not be limited to, a change in the program 
coordinator, primary instructor, program ownership, 
physical location of the program or licensure status. 
5. Provide each student with a copy of his certificate of 
completion. 

18VAC90-25-30. Requirements for instructional 
personnel. (Repealed.) 

A. Program coordinator. 
1. Each program shall have a program coordinator who 
must be a registered nurse who holds a current, unrestricted 
license in Virginia or a multistate licensure privilege. 
2. The program coordinator in a nursing facility based 
program may be the director of nursing services. The 
director of nursing may assume the administrative 
responsibility and accountability for the nurse aide 
education program but shall not engage in the actual 
classroom and clinical teaching. 
3. The primary instructor may be the program coordinator 
in any nurse aide education program. 

B. Primary instructor. 
1. Each program shall have a primary instructor who must 
be a registered nurse who holds a current, unrestricted 
license in Virginia or a multistate licensure privilege. 
2. Qualifications. The primary instructor, who does the 
majority of the actual teaching of the students shall: 
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a. Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia license as a 
registered nurse who holds a current, unrestricted license 
in Virginia or a multistate licensure privilege; and 
b. Have two years of experience as a registered nurse 
within the previous five years and at least one year of 
experience in the provision of long-term care facility 
services. Such experience may include, but not be limited 
to, employment in a nurse aide education program or 
employment in or supervision of nursing students in a 
nursing facility or unit, geriatrics department, chronic 
care hospital, home care or other long-term care setting. 
Experience should include varied responsibilities, such as 
direct resident care, supervision and education. 

3. Responsibilities. The primary instructor is responsible 
for the teaching and evaluation of students and, in addition, 
shall: 

a. Participate in the planning of each learning experience; 
b. Ensure that course objectives are accomplished; 
c. Ensure that the provisions of subsection F of this 
section are maintained; 
d. Maintain records as required by subsection A of 
18VAC90-25-50; 
e. Perform other activities necessary to comply with 
subsection B of 18VAC90-25-20; and 
f. Ensure that students do not perform services for which 
they have not received instruction and been found 
proficient by the instructor. 

C. Other instructional personnel. 
1. Instructional personnel who assist the primary instructor 
in providing classroom or clinical supervision shall be 
registered nurses or licensed practical nurses. 

a. A registered nurse shall: 
(1) Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia license as a 
registered nurse; and 
(2) Have had at least one year of direct patient care 
experience as a registered nurse. 
b. A licensed practical nurse shall: 
(1) Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia license as a 
practical nurse; 
(2) Hold a high school diploma or equivalent; 
(3) Have been graduated from a state-approved practical 
nursing program; and 
(4) Have had at least two years of direct patient care 
experience as a licensed practical nurse. 

2. Responsibilities. Other instructional personnel shall 
provide instruction under the supervision of the primary 
instructor. 

D. Prior to being assigned to teach the nurse aide education 
program, all instructional personnel shall demonstrate 
competence to teach adults by one of the following: 

1. Satisfactory completion of a course in teaching adults 
that includes (i) basic principles of adult learning; (ii) 
teaching methods and tools for adult learners; and (iii) 
evaluation strategies and measurement tools for assessing 
the learning outcomes; or 
2. Have experience in teaching adults or high school 
students. 

E. To meet planned program objectives, the program may, 
under the direct, on-site supervision of the primary instructor, 
use other persons who have expertise in specific topics and 
have had at least one year of experience in their field. 

F. When students are giving direct care to clients in clinical 
areas, instructional personnel must be on site solely to 
supervise the students. The ratio of students to each instructor 
shall not exceed 10 students to one instructor. 
18VAC90-25-40. Requirements for the curriculum. 
(Repealed.) 

A. Curriculum content. The curriculum shall include, but 
shall not be limited to, classroom and clinical instruction in 
the following: 

1. Initial core curriculum. Prior to the direct contact with a 
nursing facility client, a student shall have completed a 
total of at least 24 hours of instruction. Sixteen of those 
hours shall be in the following five areas: 

a. Communication and interpersonal skills. 
b. Infection control. 
c. Safety and emergency procedures, including dealing 
with obstructed airways and fall prevention. 
d. Promoting client independence. 
e. Respecting clients' rights. 

2. Basic skills. 
a. Recognizing changes in body functioning and the 
importance of reporting such changes to a supervisor. 
b. Measuring and recording routine vital signs. 
c. Measuring and recording height and weight. 
d. Caring for the clients' environment. 
e. Measuring and recording fluid and food intake and 
output. 
f. Performing basic emergency measures. 
g. Caring for a client when death is imminent. 

3. Personal care skills. 
a. Bathing and oral hygiene. 
b. Grooming. 
c. Dressing. 
d. Toileting. 
e. Assisting with eating and hydration, including proper 
feeding techniques. 
f. Caring for skin, to include prevention of pressure 
ulcers. 
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g. Transfer, positioning and turning. 
4. Individual client's needs, including mental health and 
social service needs. 

a. Modifying the aide's behavior in response to the 
behavior of clients. 
b. Identifying developmental tasks associated with the 
aging process. 
c. Demonstrating principles of behavior management by 
reinforcing appropriate behavior and causing 
inappropriate behavior to be reduced or eliminated. 
d. Demonstrating skills supporting age-appropriate 
behavior by allowing the client to make personal choices, 
and by providing and reinforcing other behavior 
consistent with the client's dignity. 
e. Utilizing the client's family or concerned others as a 
source of emotional support. 
f. Responding appropriately to the client's behavior; 
including, but not limited to, aggressive behavior and 
language. 
g. Providing appropriate clinical care to the aged and 
disabled. 
h. Providing culturally sensitive care. 

5. Care of the cognitively or sensory (visual and auditory) 
impaired client. 

a. Using techniques for addressing the unique needs and 
behaviors of individuals with dementia (Alzheimer's and 
others). 
b. Communicating with cognitively or sensory impaired 
clients. 
c. Demonstrating an understanding of and responding 
appropriately to the behavior of cognitively or sensory 
impaired clients. 
d. Using methods to reduce the effects of cognitive 
impairment. 

6. Skills for basic restorative services. 
a. Using assistive devices in transferring, ambulation, 
eating and dressing. 
b. Maintaining range of motion. 
c. Turning and positioning, both in bed and chair. 
d. Bowel and bladder training. 
e. Caring for and using prosthetic and orthotic devices. 
f. Teaching the client in self-care according to the client's 
abilities as directed by a supervisor. 

7. Clients' rights. 
a. Providing privacy and maintaining confidentiality. 
b. Promoting the client's right to make personal choices 
to accommodate individual needs. 
c. Giving assistance in resolving grievances and disputes. 

d. Providing assistance necessary to participate in client 
and family groups and other activities. 
e. Maintaining care and security of the client's personal 
possessions. 
f. Promoting the client's rights to be free from abuse, 
mistreatment and neglect and the need to report any 
instances of such treatment to appropriate staff. 
g. Avoiding the need for restraints in accordance with 
current professional standards. 

8. Legal and regulatory aspects of practice as a certified 
nurse aide, including, but not limited to, consequences of 
abuse, neglect, misappropriation of client property and 
unprofessional conduct. 
9. Occupational health and safety measures. 
10. Appropriate management of conflict. 

B. Unit objectives. 
1. Objectives for each unit of instruction shall be stated in 
behavioral terms that are measurable. 
2. Objectives shall be reviewed with the students at the 
beginning of each unit. 

C. Curriculum changes. Changes in curriculum shall be 
approved by the board prior to implementation and shall be 
submitted at the time of the on-site visit or with the report 
submitted by the program coordinator in the intervening year. 
18VAC90-25-50. Other program requirements. 
(Repealed.) 

A. Records. 
1. Each nurse aide education program shall develop and 
maintain an individual record of major skills taught and the 
date of performance by the student. At the completion of 
the nurse aide education program, the program shall 
provide each nurse aide with a copy of this record and a 
certificate of completion from the program. 
2. A record of the reports of graduates' performance on the 
approved competency evaluation program shall be 
maintained. 
3. A record that documents the disposition of complaints 
against the program shall be maintained. 

B. Student identification. The nurse aide students shall wear 
identification that clearly distinguishes them as a "nurse aide 
student." 

C. Length of program. 
1. The program shall be at least 120 clock hours in length. 
2. The program shall provide for at least 24 hours of 
instruction prior to direct contact of a student with a 
nursing facility client. 
3. Skills training in clinical settings shall be at least 40 
hours of providing direct client care. Five of the clinical 
hours may be in a setting other than a nursing home. Hours 
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of observation shall not be included in the required 40 
hours of skills training. 
4. Employment orientation to facilities used in the 
education program must not be included in the 120 hours 
allotted for the program. 

D. Classroom facilities. The nurse aide education program 
shall provide facilities that meet federal and state 
requirements including: 

1. Comfortable temperatures. 
2. Clean and safe conditions. 
3. Adequate lighting. 
4. Adequate space to accommodate all students. 
5. Instructional technology and equipment needed for 
simulating client care. 

18VAC90-25-60. Requirements for continued approval; 
interruption or closing of a program. (Repealed.) 

A. Program review. 
1. Each nurse aide education program shall be reviewed 
annually either by a visit on site by an agent of the board or 
by a written program evaluation. Each program shall be 
reviewed by an on-site visit at least every two years 
following initial review or whenever deemed necessary by 
the board to ensure continued compliance. 
2. The program coordinator shall prepare and submit a 
program evaluation report on a form provided by the board 
in the intervening year that an on-site review is not 
conducted. 

B. Decision on continued approval.  The committee, in 
accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia, shall 
receive and review the report of the on-site visit or program 
evaluation report and shall make recommendations to the 
board to grant continued approval, place a program on 
conditional approval or deny continued approval. 

a. Granting continued approval. A nurse aide education 
program shall continue to be approved provided the 
requirements set forth in subsection B of 18VAC90-25-
20 are maintained. 
b. Placing a program on conditional approval. If the 
committee determines that a nurse aide education 
program has not filed its program evaluation report or is 
not maintaining the requirements of subsection B of 
18VAC90-25-20, the committee may recommend to the 
board that the program be placed on conditional approval 
and the program provider shall be given a reasonable 
period of time to correct the identified deficiencies. 
(1) The committee shall receive and review reports of 
progress toward correcting identified deficiencies and, 
when a final report is received at the end of the specified 
time showing corrections of deficiencies, make a 
recommendation to the board to grant continued 
approval. 

(2) If the program provider fails to correct the identified 
deficiencies within the time specified by the committee 
or the board, the board or a panel thereof may withdraw 
approval following a hearing in accordance with § 2.2-
4020 and subdivision 11 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
(3) The program provider may request a formal hearing 
before the board or a panel thereof pursuant to § 2.2-
4020 and subdivision 11 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of 
Virginia if it objects to any action of the board relating to 
conditional approval. 
c. Denying continued approval.  If the committee 
determines that a nurse aide education program is not 
maintaining the requirements of subsection B of 
18VAC90-25-20, it may recommend that continued 
approval be denied and refer the matter to the board or a 
panel of the board for a hearing in accordance with § 2.2-
4020 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Interruption of program. 
1. When a program provider does not hold classes for a 
period not to exceed one year, the provider may request 
that the program be placed on inactive status and shall not 
be subject to compliance with subsection B of 18VAC90-
25-20 for the specified time. 
2. Unless the program provider notifies the board that it 
intends to admit students, the program will be considered 
closed at the end of the one-year period and be subject to 
the requirements of subsection D of this section. 
3. If the program provider does not hold classes for two 
consecutive years, the program shall be considered closed 
and shall be subject to the requirements of subsection D of 
this section. 

D. Closing of a nurse aide education program. When a nurse 
aide education program closes, the program provider shall: 

1. Notify the board of the date of closing. 
2. Submit to the board a list of all graduates with the date 
of graduation of each. 

18VAC90-25-71. Certification by examination. 
To be placed on the registry and certified by examination, 

the nurse aide must: 
1. (i) Satisfactorily complete Have satisfactorily 
completed: 

a a. A nurse aide education program approved by the 
board;  
(ii) be enrolled in a nursing education program preparing 
for registered nurse or practical nurse licensure, and have 
satisfactorily completed at b. At least one clinical nursing 
course that includes at least 40 hours of clinical 
experience involving direct client care within the past 12 
months while enrolled in a nursing education program 
preparing for registered nurse or practical nurse 
licensure; or  
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(iii) have completed a c. A nursing education program 
preparing for registered nurse licensure or practical nurse 
licensure; 
2. Pass the competency evaluation required by the board; 
and 
3. Submit the required application and testing fee as 
prescribed by the board. 

18VAC90-25-72. Certification by endorsement. 
To be placed on the registry and be certified by 

endorsement, the nurse aide shall: 
1. Be a graduate of a state-approved nurse aide education 
program that meets the requirements for clinical training 
and competency set forth in 42 CFR 483.152; 
2. Have satisfactorily completed a competency evaluation 
program; 
3. Be currently registered in another state, with no finding 
of abuse, neglect or misappropriation of property; 
4. Submit the required application; and 
5. Submit the required verification form to the 
credentialing agency in each state in which the applicant 
has been registered, certified, or licensed, unless electronic 
verification is available. 

18VAC90-25-90. Requirements for certified nurse aides. 
(Repealed.) 

A. Evidence of change of name. A certificate holder who 
has changed his name shall submit as legal proof to the board 
a copy of the marriage certificate or court order authorizing 
the change. A duplicate certificate shall be issued by the 
board upon receipt of such evidence and the required fee.  

B. Requirements for current mailing address.  
1. All notices required by law and by this chapter to be 
mailed by the board to any certificate holder shall be 
validly given when mailed to the latest address on file with 
the board.  
2. Each certificate holder shall maintain a record of his 
current mailing address with the board.  
3. Any change of address by a certificate holder shall be 
submitted in writing to the board within 30 days of such 
change.  

18VAC90-25-120. Renewal and reinstatement of 
certification as an advanced certified nurse aide.  

A. Current certification as a nurse aide in Virginia must be 
maintained in order to hold certification as an advanced 
certified nurse aide. 

B. Renewal. If an individual is not eligible to renew as a 
certified nurse aide, certification as an advanced certified 
nurse aide may not be renewed. An advanced certification 
shall be renewed concurrently with the biennial renewal of 
the basic certification as a nurse aide in Virginia by: 

1. Submitting a completed renewal form and renewal fee of 
$20; and 

2. Attesting to completion of at least three contact hours 
per year of continuing education and training in any of the 
competency areas identified in the advanced certification 
training program. The board may grant an extension or 
waiver of the continuing education requirement based on 
good cause shown by the certified nurse aide. 

C. Late renewal. An advanced certified nurse aide may 
renew certification for 90 days following the expiration date 
by meeting the requirements of subsection A of this section. 

D. Reinstatement. If an advanced certification has not been 
renewed for 90 days following the expiration date, it shall 
only be reinstated if the applicant for reinstatement: 

1. Holds current certification as a nurse aide in Virginia; 
2. Submits a completed reinstatement application on a 
form provided by the board; 
3. Pays the reinstatement fee of $30; and 
4. Provides evidence that he has completed all required 
hours of continuing education and training. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (18VAC90-25)  

Instructions for Application for Nurse Aide Certification by 
Endorsement (rev. 1/11) 

Application for Nurse Aide Certification by Endorsement 
(rev. 8/08) 

Nurse Aide Certification Verification Form (rev. 11/07) 
Instructions and Application for Certification as Advanced 

Certified Nurse Aide (rev. 8/07) 
Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of Nurse 

Aide Certification (rev. 8/08) 
Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of Advanced 

Nurse Aide Certification (rev. 8/07) 
Application to Establish Nurse Aide Education Program 

(rev. 7/11) 
Application to Establish an Advanced Certification Nurse 

Aide Education Program (rev. 8/07) 
Nurse Aide Education Program Evaluation Report (rev. 

8/07) 
Nurse Aide Education Program-On-site Review Report (rev. 

8/07) 
Advanced Certification Nurse Aide Education Program 

Evaluation Report (rev. 8/08) 
Advanced Certification Nurse Aide Education Program-On-

site Review Report (rev. 8/07) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=78cff003068~13&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=78cff003068~13&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2723c003068~14&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2723c003068~14&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5546003068~47&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5546003068~47&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=880c2003068~15&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=880c2003068~15&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=16fab003068~48&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=16fab003068~48&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
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Request for Statistical Information (rev. 6/08) 
CHAPTER 26 

REGULATIONS FOR NURSE AIDE EDUCATION 
PROGRAMS 

18VAC90-26-10. Definitions. 
The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Nursing.  
"Client" means a person receiving the services of a certified 

nurse aide, to include a patient in a health care facility or at 
home or a resident of a long-term care facility.  

"Committee" means the Education Special Conference 
Committee, comprised of not less than two members of the 
board in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Nurse aide education program" means a program designed 
to prepare nurse aides for certification.  

"Nursing facility" means a licensed nursing home or an 
entity that is certified for Medicare or Medicaid long-term 
care reimbursement and licensed or certified by the Virginia 
Department of Health.  

"Primary instructor" means a registered nurse who is 
responsible for teaching and evaluating the students enrolled 
in a nurse aide education program.  

"Program coordinator" means a registered nurse who is 
administratively responsible and accountable for a nurse aide 
education program.  

"Program provider" means an entity that conducts a nurse 
aide education program. 
18VAC90-26-20. Establishing and maintaining a nurse 
aide education program. 

A. Establishing a nurse aide education program. 
1. A program provider wishing to establish a nurse aide 
education program shall submit an application to the board 
at least 90 days in advance of the expected opening date. 
2. The application shall provide evidence of the ability of 
the institution to comply with subsection B of this section. 
3. Initial approval may be granted when all documentation 
of the program's compliance with requirements as set forth 
in subsection B of this section has been submitted and 
deemed satisfactory to the board. 
4. If approval is denied, the program may request, within 
30 days of the mailing of the decision, an informal 
conference to be convened in accordance with § 2.2-4019 
of the Code of Virginia. 
5. If denial is recommended following an informal 
conference, which is accepted by the board or a panel 
thereof, no further action will be required of the board 
unless the program requests a hearing before the board or a 
panel thereof in accordance with § 2.2-4020 and 
subdivision 11 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

6. If the decision of the board or a panel thereof following 
a formal hearing is to deny initial approval, the program 
shall be advised of the right to appeal the decision to the 
appropriate circuit court in accordance with § 2.2-4026 of 
the Code of Virginia and Part 2A of the Rules of the 
Supreme Court of Virginia. 

B. Maintaining an approved nurse aide education program. 
To maintain approval, the nurse aide education program shall: 

1. Demonstrate evidence of compliance with the following 
essential elements: 

a. Curriculum content and length as set forth in 
subsection A of 18VAC90-26-40 and subsection C of 
18VAC90-26-50. 
b. Maintenance of qualified instructional personnel as set 
forth in 18VAC90-26-30. 
c. Classroom facilities that meet requirements set forth in 
subsection D of 18VAC90-26-50. 
d. Maintenance of records as set forth in subsection A of 
18VAC90-26-50. 
e. Skills training experience in a nursing facility that has 
not been subject to penalty or penalties as provided in 
42 CFR 483.151(b)(2) (Medicare and Medicaid 
Programs: Nurse Aide Training and Competency 
Evaluation and Paid Feeding Assistants, October 1, 2013 
edition) in the past two years. The foregoing shall not 
apply to a nursing facility that has received a waiver from 
the state survey agency in accordance with federal law. 
f. Agreement that board representatives may make 
unannounced visits to the program. 
g. Financial support and resources sufficient to meet 
requirements of this chapter as evidenced by a copy of 
the current annual budget or a signed statement from the 
administration specifically detailing its financial support 
and resources. 
h. Completion and submission of biennial onsite review 
reports and program evaluation reports as requested by 
the board. 

2. Impose no fee for any portion of the program on any 
nurse aide who, on the date on which the nurse aide begins 
the program, is either employed or has an offer of 
employment from a nursing facility. 
3. Provide documentation that each student applying to or 
enrolled in such program has been given a copy of 
applicable Virginia law regarding criminal history records 
checks for employment in certain health care facilities, and 
a list of crimes that pose a barrier to such employment. 
4. Report all substantive changes in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection within 10 days of the change to the board to 
include, but not be limited to, a change in the program 
coordinator, primary instructor, program ownership, 
physical location of the program, or licensure status. 
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5. Provide each student with a copy of his certificate of 
completion. 

18VAC90-26-30. Requirements for instructional 
personnel. 

A. Program coordinator.  
1. Each program shall have a program coordinator who 
must be a registered nurse who holds a current, unrestricted 
license in Virginia or a multistate licensure privilege. 
2. The program coordinator in a nursing facility based 
program may be the director of nursing services. The 
director of nursing services may assume the administrative 
responsibility and accountability for the nurse aide 
education program but shall not engage in the actual 
classroom and clinical teaching.  
3. The primary instructor may be the program coordinator 
in any nurse aide education program.  

B. Primary instructor.  
1. Qualifications. Each program shall have a primary 
instructor who does the majority of the actual teaching of 
the students and who shall:  

a. Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia license as a 
registered nurse who holds a current, unrestricted license 
in Virginia or a multistate licensure privilege; and  
b. Have two years of experience as a registered nurse 
within the previous five years and at least one year of 
experience in the provision of long-term care facility 
services. Such experience may include, but not be limited 
to, employment in a nurse aide education program or 
employment in or supervision of nursing students in a 
nursing facility or unit, geriatrics department, chronic 
care hospital, home care, or other long-term care setting. 
Experience should include varied responsibilities, such as 
direct client care, supervision, and education.  

2. Responsibilities. The primary instructor is responsible 
for the teaching and evaluation of students and, in addition, 
shall:  

a. Participate in the planning of each learning experience;  
b. Ensure that course objectives are accomplished;  
c. Ensure that the provisions of subsection F of this 
section are maintained;  
d. Maintain records as required by subsection A of 
18VAC90-26-50;  
e. Perform other activities necessary to comply with 
subsection B of 18VAC90-26-20; and  
f. Ensure that students do not perform services for which 
they have not received instruction and been found 
proficient by the instructor.  

C. Other instructional personnel.  
1. Instructional personnel who assist the primary instructor 
in providing classroom or clinical supervision shall be 
registered nurses or licensed practical nurses.  

a. A registered nurse shall:  
(1) Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia license as a 
registered nurse; and  
(2) Have had at least one year of direct patient care 
experience as a registered nurse.  
b. A licensed practical nurse shall:  
(1) Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia license as a 
practical nurse;  
(2) Hold a high school diploma or equivalent;  
(3) Have been graduated from a state-approved practical 
nursing program; and  
(4) Have had at least two years of direct patient care 
experience as a licensed practical nurse.  

2. Responsibilities. Other instructional personnel shall 
provide instruction under the supervision of the primary 
instructor.  

D. Prior to being assigned to teach the nurse aide education 
program, all instructional personnel shall demonstrate 
competence to teach adults by one of the following:  

1. Satisfactory completion of a course in teaching adults 
that includes:  

a. Basic principles of adult learning;  
b. Teaching methods and tools for adult learners; and  
c. Evaluation strategies and measurement tools for 
assessing the learning outcomes; or 

2. Have experience in teaching adults or high school 
students.  

E. To meet planned program objectives, the program may, 
under the direct, onsite supervision of the primary instructor, 
use other persons who have expertise in specific topics and 
have had at least one year of experience in their field.  

F. When students are giving direct care to clients in clinical 
areas, instructional personnel must be on site solely to 
supervise the students. The ratio of students to each instructor 
shall not exceed 10 students to one instructor. 
18VAC90-26-40. Requirements for the curriculum. 

A. Curriculum content. The curriculum shall include, but 
shall not be limited to, classroom and clinical instruction in 
the following: 

1. Initial core curriculum. Prior to the direct contact with a 
nursing facility client, a student shall have completed a 
total of at least 24 hours of instruction. Sixteen of those 
hours shall be in the following five areas: 

a. Communication and interpersonal skills. 
b. Infection control. 
c. Safety and emergency procedures, including dealing 
with obstructed airways and fall prevention. 
d. Promoting client independence. 
e. Respecting clients' rights. 
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2. Basic skills. 
a. Recognizing changes in body functioning and the 
importance of reporting such changes to a supervisor. 
b. Measuring and recording routine vital signs. 
c. Measuring and recording height and weight. 
d. Caring for the client's environment. 
e. Measuring and recording fluid and food intake and 
output. 
f. Performing basic emergency measures. 
g. Caring for a client when death is imminent. 

3. Personal care skills. 
a. Bathing and oral hygiene. 
b. Grooming. 
c. Dressing. 
d. Toileting. 
e. Assisting with eating and hydration, including proper 
feeding techniques. 
f. Caring for skin, to include prevention of pressure 
ulcers. 
g. Transfer, positioning, and turning. 

4. Individual client's needs, including mental health and 
social service needs. 

a. Modifying the aide's behavior in response to the 
behavior of clients. 
b. Identifying developmental tasks associated with the 
aging process. 
c. Demonstrating principles of behavior management by 
reinforcing appropriate behavior and causing 
inappropriate behavior to be reduced or eliminated. 
d. Demonstrating skills supporting age-appropriate 
behavior by allowing the client to make personal choices, 
and by providing and reinforcing other behavior 
consistent with the client's dignity. 
e. Utilizing the client's family or concerned others as a 
source of emotional support. 
f. Responding appropriately to the client's behavior 
including, but not limited to, aggressive behavior and 
language. 
g. Providing appropriate clinical care to the aged and 
disabled. 
h. Providing culturally sensitive care. 

5. Care of the cognitively or sensory (visual and auditory) 
impaired client. 

a. Using techniques for addressing the unique needs and 
behaviors of individuals with dementia (Alzheimer's and 
others). 
b. Communicating with cognitively or sensory impaired 
clients. 

c. Demonstrating an understanding of and responding 
appropriately to the behavior of cognitively or sensory 
impaired clients. 
d. Using methods to reduce the effects of cognitive 
impairment. 

6. Skills for basic restorative services. 
a. Using assistive devices in transferring, ambulation, 
eating, and dressing. 
b. Maintaining range of motion. 
c. Turning and positioning, both in bed and chair. 
d. Bowel and bladder training. 
e. Caring for and using prosthetic and orthotic devices. 
f. Teaching the client in self-care according to the client's 
abilities as directed by a supervisor. 

7. Clients' rights. 
a. Providing privacy and maintaining confidentiality. 
b. Promoting the client's right to make personal choices 
to accommodate individual needs. 
c. Giving assistance in resolving grievances and disputes. 
d. Providing assistance necessary to participate in client 
and family groups and other activities. 
e. Maintaining care and security of the client's personal 
possessions. 
f. Promoting the client's rights to be free from abuse, 
mistreatment, and neglect and the need to report any 
instances of such treatment to appropriate staff. 
g. Avoiding the need for restraints in accordance with 
current professional standards. 

8. Legal and regulatory aspects of practice as a certified 
nurse aide including, but not limited to, consequences of 
abuse, neglect, misappropriation of client property, and 
unprofessional conduct. 
9. Occupational health and safety measures. 
10. Appropriate management of conflict. 

B. Unit objectives. 
1. Objectives for each unit of instruction shall be stated in 
behavioral terms that are measurable. 
2. Objectives shall be reviewed with the students at the 
beginning of each unit. 

C. Curriculum changes. Changes in curriculum shall be 
approved by the board prior to implementation and shall be 
submitted at the time of the onsite visit or with the report 
submitted by the program coordinator in the intervening year. 
18VAC90-26-50. Other program requirements. 

A. Records. 
1. Each nurse aide education program shall develop and 
maintain an individual record of major skills taught and the 
date of performance by the student. At the completion of 
the nurse aide education program, the program shall 
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provide each nurse aide with a copy of this record and a 
certificate of completion from the program. 
2. A record of the reports of graduates' performance on the 
approved competency evaluation program shall be 
maintained. 
3. A record that documents the disposition of complaints 
against the program shall be maintained. 

B. Student identification. The nurse aide students shall wear 
identification that clearly distinguishes them as a "nurse aide 
student." 

C. Length of program. 
1. The program shall be at least 120 clock hours in length. 
2. The program shall provide for at least 24 hours of 
instruction prior to direct contact of a student with a 
nursing facility client. 
3. Skills training in clinical settings shall be at least 40 
hours of providing direct client care. Five of the clinical 
hours may be in a setting other than a nursing home. Hours 
of observation shall not be included in the required 40 
hours of skills training. 
4. Employment orientation to facilities used in the 
education program must not be included in the 120 hours 
allotted for the program. 

D. Classroom facilities. The nurse aide education program 
shall provide facilities that meet federal and state 
requirements including: 

1. Comfortable temperatures. 
2. Clean and safe conditions. 
3. Adequate lighting. 
4. Adequate space to accommodate all students. 
5. Instructional technology and equipment needed for 
simulating client care. 

18VAC90-26-60. Requirements for continued approval. 
A. Program review. 

1. Each nurse aide education program shall be reviewed 
annually either by a visit on site by an agent of the board or 
by a written program evaluation. Each program shall be 
reviewed by an onsite visit at least every two years 
following initial review or whenever deemed necessary by 
the board to ensure continued compliance. 
2. The program coordinator shall prepare and submit a 
program evaluation report on a form provided by the board 
in the intervening year that an onsite review is not 
conducted. 

B. Decision on continued approval.  
1. The board shall receive and review the report of the 
onsite visit or program evaluation report and may grant 
continued approval, place a program on conditional 
approval or deny continued approval. 

a. Granting continued approval. A nurse aide education 
program shall continue to be approved provided the 
requirements set forth in subsection B of 18VAC90-26-
20 are maintained. 
b. Placing a program on conditional approval. If the 
board determines that a nurse aide education program has 
not filed its program evaluation report or is not 
maintaining the requirements of subsection B of 
18VAC90-26-20, as evidenced by the onsite report, the 
board may place the program on conditional approval 
and the program provider shall be given a reasonable 
period of time to correct the identified deficiencies. The 
program may request, within 30 days of the mailing of a 
decision on conditional approval, an informal conference 
to be convened in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the 
Code of Virginia. 
(1) The board shall receive and review reports of 
progress toward correcting identified deficiencies. When 
a final report is received at the end of the specified time 
showing corrections of deficiencies, the board may grant 
continued approval. 
(2) If the program provider fails to correct the identified 
deficiencies within the time specified by the board, a 
committee may recommend withdrawing approval 
following an informal conference held in accordance 
with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia. 
(3) If the recommendation to withdraw approval 
following an informal conference is accepted by the 
board or a panel thereof, no further action will be 
required unless the program requests a formal hearing. 
(4) The program provider may request a formal hearing 
before the board or a panel thereof pursuant to § 2.2-
4020 and subdivision 11 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of 
Virginia if it objects to any action of the board relating to 
conditional approval. 
c. Denying continued approval. If the board determines 
that a nurse aide education program is not maintaining 
the requirements of subsection B of 18VAC90-26-20, an 
informal conference will be convened in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia. If the 
recommendation to withdraw approval following an 
informal conference is accepted by the board or a panel 
thereof, no further action will be required unless the 
program requests a formal hearing. 

2. If the decision of the board or a panel thereof following 
a formal hearing is to withdraw approval or continue on 
conditional approval with terms or conditions, the program 
shall be advised of the right to appeal the decision to the 
appropriate circuit court in accordance with § 2.2-4026 of 
the Code of Virginia and Part 2A of the Rules of the 
Supreme Court of Virginia. 

18VAC90-26-70. Interruption or closing of a program. 
A. Interruption of program. 
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1. When a program provider does not hold classes for a 
period of one year, the program shall be placed on inactive 
status and shall not be subject to compliance with 
subsection B of 18VAC90-26-20 for the specified time. 
2. Unless the program provider notifies the board that it 
intends to admit students, the program will be considered 
closed at the end of the inactive period and be subject to 
the requirements of subsection B of this section. 
3. If the program provider does not hold classes for two 
consecutive years, the program shall be considered closed 
and shall be subject to the requirements of subsection B of 
this section. 

B. Closing of a nurse aide education program. When a nurse 
aide education program closes, the program provider shall: 

1. Notify the board of the date of closing. 
2. Submit to the board a list of all graduates with the date 
of graduation of each. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (18VAC90-26) 

Application to Establish Nurse Aide Education Program 
(rev. 7/11) 

Nurse Aide Education Program - Program Evaluation 
Report (rev. 8/07) 

Nurse Aide Education Program - On-Site Review Report 
(rev. 8/07) 

Application to Establish an Advanced Certification Nurse 
Aide Education Program (rev. 8/07) 

Advanced Certification Nurse Aide Education Program - 
Program Evaluation Report (rev. 8/08) 

Advanced Certification Nurse Aide Education Program - 
On-Site Review Report (rev. 8/07) 

Request for Statistical Information (rev. 6/08) 
VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3553; Filed December 18, 2013, 9:13 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-10, 
18VAC110-20-240, 18VAC110-20-250, 18VAC110-20-
270).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Effective Date: February 12, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 
(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) add a definition of "on-hold 
prescription," (ii) allow a prescription to be filed either by 
the date of initial dispensing or by the date it is entered 
into an automated data processing system if the 
prescription is an on-hold prescription until the patient 
needs the prescription, (iii) require verification of the 
accuracy of the prescription information entered into the 
data system by the pharmacist who enters the on-hold 
prescription, and (iv) require a prospective drug review by 
the pharmacist who subsequently dispenses the on-hold 
prescription. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC110-20-10. Definitions.  
In addition to words and terms defined in §§ 54.1-3300 and 

54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia, the following words and 
terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"ACPE" means the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy 
Education.  

"Acquisition" of an existing entity permitted, registered or 
licensed by the board means (i) the purchase or transfer of all 
or substantially all of the assets of the entity or of any 
corporation that owns or controls the entity; (ii) the creation 
of a partnership by a sole proprietor or change in partnership 
composition; (iii) the acquiring of 50% or more of the 
outstanding shares of voting stock of a corporation owning 
the entity or of the parent corporation of a wholly owned 
subsidiary owning the entity, except that this shall not apply 
to any corporation the voting stock of which is actively traded 
on any securities exchange or in any over-the-counter market; 
or (iv) the merger of a corporation owning the entity, or of the 
parent corporation of a wholly owned subsidiary owning the 
entity, with another business or corporation.  

"Alternate delivery site" means a location authorized in 
18VAC110-20-275 to receive dispensed prescriptions on 
behalf of and for further delivery or administration to a 
patient. 

"Beyond-use date" means the date beyond which the 
integrity of a compounded, repackaged, or dispensed drug can 
no longer be assured and as such is deemed to be adulterated 
or misbranded as defined in §§ 54.1-3461 and 54.1-3462 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Pharmacy.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=904bb003553~1&typ=40&actno=003553&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=904bb003553~1&typ=40&actno=003553&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c62d003553~3&typ=40&actno=003553&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c62d003553~3&typ=40&actno=003553&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=74156003553~4&typ=40&actno=003553&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=74156003553~4&typ=40&actno=003553&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=39fc3003553~2&typ=40&actno=003553&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=39fc3003553~2&typ=40&actno=003553&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=15311003553~5&typ=40&actno=003553&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=15311003553~5&typ=40&actno=003553&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9df41003553~6&typ=40&actno=003553&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9df41003553~6&typ=40&actno=003553&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=79da4003553~7&typ=40&actno=003553&mime=application/pdf
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"CE" means continuing education as required for renewal of 
licensure by the Board of Pharmacy.  

"CEU" means a continuing education unit awarded for credit 
as the equivalent of 10 contact hours.  

"Chart order" means a lawful order for a drug or device 
entered on the chart or in a medical record of a patient by a 
prescriber or his designated agent. 

"Compliance packaging" means packaging for dispensed 
drugs which is comprised of a series of containers for solid 
oral dosage forms and which is designed to assist the user in 
administering or self-administering the drugs in accordance 
with directions for use.  

"Contact hour" means the amount of credit awarded for 60 
minutes of participation in and successful completion of a 
continuing education program.  

"Correctional facility" means any prison, penitentiary, penal 
facility, jail, detention unit, or other facility in which persons 
are incarcerated by government officials. 

"DEA" means the United States Drug Enforcement 
Administration.  

"Drug donation site" means a permitted pharmacy that 
specifically registers with the board for the purpose of 
receiving or redispensing eligible donated prescription drugs 
pursuant to § 54.1-3411.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Electronic prescription" means a written prescription that is 
generated on an electronic application in accordance with 21 
CFR Part 1300 and is transmitted to a pharmacy as an 
electronic data file.  

"Expiration date" means that date placed on a drug package 
by the manufacturer or repacker beyond which the product 
may not be dispensed or used.  

"Facsimile (FAX) prescription" means a written prescription 
or order which is transmitted by an electronic device over 
telephone lines which sends the exact image to the receiver 
(pharmacy) in a hard copy form.  

"FDA" means the United States Food and Drug 
Administration.  

"Floor stock" means a supply of drugs that have been 
distributed for the purpose of general administration by a 
prescriber or other authorized person pursuant to a valid order 
of a prescriber.  

"Foreign school of pharmacy" means a school outside the 
United States and its territories offering a course of study in 
basic sciences, pharmacology, and pharmacy of at least four 
years in duration resulting in a degree that qualifies a person 
to practice pharmacy in that country. 

"Forgery" means a prescription that was falsely created, 
falsely signed, or altered. 

"FPGEC certificate" means the certificate given by the 
Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Committee of NABP that 
certifies that the holder of such certificate has passed the 
Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Examination and a credential 

review of foreign training to establish educational 
equivalency to board approved schools of pharmacy, and has 
passed approved examinations establishing proficiency in 
English.  

"Generic drug name" means the nonproprietary name listed 
in the United States Pharmacopeia-National Formulary (USP-
NF) or in the USAN and the USP Dictionary of Drug Names.  

"Hospital" or "nursing home" means those facilities as 
defined in Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia or as defined in 
regulations by the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Inactive license" means a license which is registered with 
the Commonwealth but does not entitle the licensee to 
practice, the holder of which is not required to submit 
documentation of CE necessary to hold an active license.  

"Long-term care facility" means a nursing home, retirement 
care, mental care or other facility or institution which 
provides extended health care to resident patients.  

"NABP" means the National Association of Boards of 
Pharmacy. 

"Nuclear pharmacy" means a pharmacy providing 
radiopharmaceutical services.  

"On duty" means that a pharmacist is on the premises at the 
address of the permitted pharmacy and is available as needed.  

"On-hold prescription" means a valid prescription that is 
received and maintained at the pharmacy for initial 
dispensing on a future date. 

"Permitted physician" means a physician who is licensed 
pursuant to § 54.1-3304 of the Code of Virginia to dispense 
drugs to persons to whom or for whom pharmacy services are 
not reasonably available.  

"Perpetual inventory" means an ongoing system for 
recording quantities of drugs received, dispensed or otherwise 
distributed by a pharmacy. 

"Personal supervision" means the pharmacist must be 
physically present and render direct, personal control over the 
entire service being rendered or act being performed. Neither 
prior nor future instructions shall be sufficient nor, shall 
supervision rendered by telephone, written instructions, or by 
any mechanical or electronic methods be sufficient.  

"Pharmacy closing" means that the permitted pharmacy 
ceases pharmacy services or fails to provide for continuity of 
pharmacy services or lawful access to patient prescription 
records or other required patient records for the purpose of 
continued pharmacy services to patients.  

"Pharmacy technician trainee" means a person who is 
currently enrolled in an approved pharmacy technician 
training program and is performing duties restricted to 
pharmacy technicians for the purpose of obtaining practical 
experience in accordance with § 54.1-3321 D of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"PIC" means the pharmacist-in-charge of a permitted 
pharmacy.  
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"Practice location" means any location in which a prescriber 
evaluates or treats a patient.  

"Prescription department" means any contiguous or 
noncontiguous areas used for the compounding, dispensing 
and storage of all Schedule II through VI drugs and devices 
and any Schedule I investigational drugs.  

"PTCB" means the Pharmacy Technician Certification 
Board, co-founded by the American Pharmaceutical 
Association and the American Society of Health System 
Pharmacists, as the national organization for voluntary 
examination and certification of pharmacy technicians.  

"Quality assurance plan" means a plan approved by the 
board for ongoing monitoring, measuring, evaluating, and, if 
necessary, improving the performance of a pharmacy function 
or system.  

"Radiopharmaceutical" means any drug that exhibits 
spontaneous disintegration of unstable nuclei with the 
emission of nuclear particles or photons and includes any 
nonradioactive reagent kit or radionuclide generator that is 
intended to be used in the preparation of any such substance, 
but does not include drugs such as carbon-containing 
compounds or potassium-containing salts that include trace 
quantities of naturally occurring radionuclides. The term also 
includes any biological product that is labeled with a 
radionuclide or intended solely to be labeled with a 
radionuclide.  

"Repackaged drug" means any drug removed from the 
manufacturer's original package and placed in different 
packaging.  

"Robotic pharmacy system" means a mechanical system 
controlled by a computer that performs operations or 
activities relative to the storage, packaging, labeling, 
dispensing, or distribution of medications, and collects, 
controls, and maintains all transaction information.  

"Safety closure container" means a container which meets 
the requirements of the federal Poison Prevention Packaging 
Act of 1970 (15 USC §§ 1471-1476), i.e., in testing such 
containers, that 85% of a test group of 200 children of ages 
41-52 months are unable to open the container in a five-
minute period and that 80% fail in another five minutes after 
a demonstration of how to open it and that 90% of a test 
group of 100 adults must be able to open and close the 
container.  

"Satellite pharmacy" means a pharmacy which is 
noncontiguous to the centrally permitted pharmacy of a 
hospital but at the location designated on the pharmacy 
permit.  

"Special packaging" means packaging that is designed or 
constructed to be significantly difficult for children under five 
years of age to open to obtain a toxic or harmful amount of 
the drug contained therein within a reasonable time and not 
difficult for normal adults to use properly, but does not mean 

packaging which all such children cannot open or obtain a 
toxic or harmful amount within a reasonable time.  

"Special use permit" means a permit issued to conduct a 
pharmacy of a special scope of service that varies in any way 
from the provisions of any board regulation.  

"Storage temperature" means those specific directions stated 
in some monographs with respect to the temperatures at 
which pharmaceutical articles shall be stored, where it is 
considered that storage at a lower or higher temperature may 
produce undesirable results. The conditions are defined by the 
following terms:  

1. "Cold" means any temperature not exceeding 8°C 
(46°F). A refrigerator is a cold place in which temperature 
is maintained thermostatically between 2° and 8°C (36° 
and 46°F). A freezer is a cold place in which the 
temperature is maintained thermostatically between -20° 
and -10°C (-4° and 14°F).  
2. "Room temperature" means the temperature prevailing 
in a working area.  
3. "Controlled room temperature" means a temperature 
maintained thermostatically that encompasses the usual 
and customary working environment of 20° to 25°C (68° 
to 77°F); that results in a mean kinetic temperature 
calculated to be not more than 25°C; and that allows for 
excursions between 15° and 30°C (59° and 86°F) that are 
experienced in pharmacies, hospitals, and warehouses.  
4. "Warm" means any temperature between 30° and 40°C 
(86° and 104°F).  
5. "Excessive heat" means any temperature above 40°C 
(104°F).  
6. "Protection from freezing" means where, in addition to 
the risk of breakage of the container, freezing subjects a 
product to loss of strength or potency, or to the destructive 
alteration of its characteristics, the container label bears an 
appropriate instruction to protect the product from 
freezing.  
7. "Cool" means any temperature between 8° and 15°C 
(46° and 59°F).  

"Terminally ill" means a patient with a terminal condition as 
defined in § 54.1-2982 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Unit dose container" means a container that is a single-unit 
container, as defined in United States Pharmacopeia-National 
Formulary, for articles intended for administration by other 
than the parenteral route as a single dose, direct from the 
container.  

"Unit dose package" means a container that contains a 
particular dose ordered for a patient.  

"Unit dose system" means a system in which multiple drugs 
in unit dose packaging are dispensed in a single container, 
such as a medication drawer or bin, labeled only with patient 
name and location. Directions for administration are not 
provided by the pharmacy on the drug packaging or container 
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but are obtained by the person administering directly from a 
prescriber's order or medication administration record.  

"USP-NF" means the United States Pharmacopeia-National 
Formulary.  

"Well-closed container" means a container that protects the 
contents from extraneous solids and from loss of the drug 
under the ordinary or customary conditions of handling, 
shipment, storage, and distribution.  

Part VI  
Drug Inventory and Records  

18VAC110-20-240. Manner of maintaining records, 
prescriptions, inventory records. 

A. Each pharmacy shall maintain the inventories and records 
of drugs as follows:  

1. Inventories and records of all drugs listed in Schedules I 
and II shall be maintained separately from all other records 
of the pharmacy. Each pharmacy shall maintain a perpetual 
inventory of all Schedule II drugs received and dispensed, 
with reconciliation at least monthly. Electronic monitoring 
at the pharmacy or by another entity that provides alerts for 
discrepancies between drugs received and drugs dispensed 
is acceptable provided such alerts are reviewed at least 
monthly. 
2. Inventories and records of drugs listed in Schedules III, 
IV, and V may be maintained separately or with records of 
Schedule VI drugs but shall not be maintained with other 
records of the pharmacy.  
3. All executed order forms, prescriptions, and inventories 
of Schedule II through V drugs shall be maintained at the 
same address as the stock of drugs to which the records 
pertain. If authorized by DEA, other records pertaining to 
Schedule II through V drugs, such as invoices, may be 
maintained in an off-site database or in secured storage. All 
records in off-site storage shall be retrieved and made 
available for inspection or audit within 48 hours of a 
request by the board or an authorized agent.  
4. All inventories required by § 54.1-3404 of the Code of 
Virginia shall be signed and dated by the person taking the 
inventory and shall indicate whether the inventory was 
taken prior to the opening of business or after close of 
business. A 24-hour pharmacy with no opening or closing 
of business shall clearly document whether the receipt or 
distribution of drugs on the inventory date occurred before 
or after the inventory was taken.  
5. Invoices or other records showing receipts of Schedule 
VI drugs shall be maintained, but may be stored in an 
electronic database or record as an electronic image that 
provides an exact, clearly legible, image of the document 
or in secured storage either on or off site. All records in 
off-site storage or database shall be retrieved and made 
available for inspection or audit within 48 hours of a 
request by the board or an authorized agent.  

6. All records required by this section shall be filed 
chronologically and maintained for a period of not less 
than two years from the date of transaction.  

B. Prescriptions.  
1. A hard copy prescription shall be placed on file for 
every initial prescription dispensed and be maintained for 
two years from the date of last refill. All prescriptions shall 
be filed chronologically by date of initial dispensing or by 
date of initial entry into the automated data processing 
system in compliance with 18VAC110-20-250 if such a 
system is employed by the pharmacy.  
2. Schedule II drugs. Prescriptions for Schedule II drugs 
shall be maintained in a separate prescription file.  
3. Schedule III through V drugs. Prescriptions for Schedule 
III through V drugs shall be maintained either in a separate 
prescription file for drugs listed in Schedules III, IV, and V 
only or in such form that they are readily retrievable from 
the other prescriptions of the pharmacy. Prescriptions will 
be deemed readily retrievable if, at the time they are 
initially filed, the face of the prescription is stamped in red 
ink in the lower right corner with the letter "C" no less than 
one inch high and filed in the prescription file for drugs 
listed in the usual consecutively numbered prescription file 
for Schedule VI drugs. However, if a pharmacy employs 
an automated data processing system or other electronic 
recordkeeping system for prescriptions which permits 
identification by prescription number and retrieval of 
original documents by prescriber's name, patient's name, 
drug dispensed, and date filled, then the requirement to 
mark the hard copy prescription with a red "C" is waived.  

C. Chart orders.  
1. A chart order written for a patient in a hospital or long-
term care facility, a patient receiving home infusion 
services, or a hospice patient pursuant to § 54.1-3408.01 A 
of the Code of Virginia shall be exempt from having to 
contain all required information of a written prescription 
provided:  

a. This information is contained in other readily 
retrievable records of the pharmacy; and  
b. The pharmacy maintains a current policy and 
procedure manual that sets out where this information is 
maintained and how to retrieve it and the minimum 
requirements for chart orders consistent with state and 
federal law and accepted standard of care.  

2. A chart order may serve as the hard copy prescription 
for those patients listed in subdivision 1 of this subsection.  
3. Requirements for filing of chart orders.  

a. Chart orders shall be filed chronologically by date of 
initial dispensing with the following exception: If 
dispensing data can be produced showing a complete 
audit trail for any requested drug for a specified time 
period and each chart order is readily retrievable upon 
request, chart orders may be filed using another method. 
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Such alternate method shall be clearly documented in a 
current policy and procedure manual.  
b. If a single chart order contains both an order for a 
Schedule II drug and one or more orders for a drug in 
another schedule, where the Schedule II drug is not floor 
stocked, but is dispensed from the pharmacy pursuant to 
this order for the specific patient, the original order must 
be filed with records of dispensing of Schedule II drugs 
and a copy of the order placed in the file for other 
schedules.  

18VAC110-20-250. Automated data processing records of 
prescriptions.  

A. An automated data processing system may be used for 
the storage and retrieval of original and refill dispensing 
information for prescriptions instead of manual record 
keeping requirements, subject to the following conditions:  

1. A prescription shall be placed on file as set forth in 
18VAC110-20-240 B with the following provisions:  

a. In lieu of a hard copy file for Schedule VI 
prescriptions, an electronic image of a prescription may 
be maintained in an electronic database provided it 
preserves and provides an exact image of the prescription 
that is clearly legible and made available within 48 hours 
of a request by a person authorized by law to have access 
to prescription information. Storing electronic images of 
prescriptions for [ Schedule II-V Schedules II through 
V ] controlled substances instead of the hard copy shall 
only be authorized if such storage is allowed by federal 
law. 
b. If the pharmacy system's automated data processing 
system fields are automatically populated by an 
electronic prescription, the automated record shall 
constitute the prescription and a hard copy or electronic 
image is not required.  
c. For [ Schedule II-V Schedules II through V ] 
controlled substances, electronic prescriptions shall be 
maintained in accordance with federal law and 
regulation.  

2. Any computerized system shall provide retrieval (via 
computer monitor display or printout) of original 
prescription information for those prescriptions which are 
currently authorized for dispensing.  
3. Any computerized system shall also provide retrieval via 
computer monitor display or printout of the dispensing 
history for prescriptions dispensed during the past two 
years.  
4. Documentation of the fact that the information entered 
into the computer each time a pharmacist fills a 
prescription for a drug is correct shall be provided by the 
individual pharmacist who makes use of such system 
indicating that the information entered into the computer 
system is correct for each on-hold prescription or for each 
prescription that is dispensed shall be provided by the 

individual pharmacist who makes use of such system. If a 
printout is maintained of each day's prescription dispensing 
data or data entry of an on-hold prescription, the printout 
shall be verified, dated, and signed by the individual 
pharmacist who dispensed the prescription or verified the 
accuracy of the data entry. The individual pharmacist shall 
verify that the data indicated is correct and then sign the 
document in the same manner as his name appears on his 
pharmacist license (e.g., J. H. Smith or John H. Smith).  
If a bound log book, or separate file is maintained rather 
than a printout, each individual pharmacist involved in 
dispensing shall sign a statement each day in the log, in the 
manner previously described, attesting to the fact that the 
dispensing information and data entry of on-hold 
prescriptions entered into the computer that day has have 
been reviewed by him and is are correct as shown.  

B. Printout of dispensing data requirements. Any 
computerized system shall have the capability of producing a 
printout of any dispensing data which the user pharmacy is 
responsible for maintaining under the Drug Control Act 
(§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and such any 
data entry of on-hold prescriptions. Such printout shall be 
provided within 48 hours of a request of an authorized agent. 

Part VII  
Prescription Order and Dispensing Standards  

18VAC110-20-270. Dispensing of prescriptions; 
certification of completed prescriptions; supervision of 
pharmacy technicians. 

A. In addition to the acts restricted to a pharmacist in § 54.1-
3320 A of the Code of Virginia, a pharmacist shall provide 
personal supervision of compounding of extemporaneous 
preparations by pharmacy technicians.  

B. A pharmacist shall determine the number of pharmacy 
interns, pharmacy technicians, and pharmacy technician 
trainees he can safely and competently supervise at one time; 
however, no pharmacist shall supervise more than four 
persons acting as pharmacy technicians at one time. 

C. After the prescription has been prepared and prior to the 
delivery of the order, a pharmacist shall inspect the 
prescription product to verify its accuracy in all respects, and 
place his initials on the record of dispensing as a certification 
of the accuracy of, and the responsibility for, the entire 
transaction. If more than one pharmacist is involved in 
verifying the accuracy of the prescription product, a record 
shall be maintained identifying the date of dispensing, each 
pharmacist involved in the process, and the individual task for 
which he is responsible for verifying the accuracy. Such 
record showing verification of accuracy shall be maintained 
on a pharmacy record and, if necessary, an alternate record 
consistent with 18VAC110-20-255 for the required time 
period of two years, unless otherwise specified in regulation. 
If the dispensing involves central or remote processing, 
records of pharmacist verification shall be maintained in a 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 13, 2014 

1385 

manner consistent with 18VAC110-20-276 and 18VAC110-
20-515. 

D. If a pharmacist declines to fill a prescription for any 
reason other than the unavailability of the drug prescribed, he 
shall record on the back of the prescription the word 
"declined"; the name, address, and telephone number of the 
pharmacy; the date filling of the prescription was declined; 
and the signature of the pharmacist.  

E. If a pharmacist determines from a prescriber or by other 
means, including the use of his professional judgment, that a 
prescription presented for dispensing is a forgery, the 
pharmacist shall not return the forged prescription to the 
person presenting it. The forged prescription may be given to 
a law-enforcement official investigating the forgery; or it 
shall be retained for a minimum of 30 days before destroying 
it, in the event it is needed for an investigative or other 
legitimate purpose. 

F. An on-hold prescription shall be entered into the 
automated data processing system if such system is employed 
by the pharmacy, and the pharmacist on-duty shall verify the 
accuracy of the data entry at that time. The pharmacist 
subsequently dispensing the on-hold prescription on a future 
date shall, at a minimum, conduct a prospective drug review 
consistent with § 54.1-3319 A of the Code of Virginia. If an 
on-hold prescription is returned to a patient prior to the initial 
dispensing of the drug, the pharmacist shall delete the entry in 
the automated data processing system. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2768; Filed December 18, 2013, 8:43 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-490).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Effective Date: February 12, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 
(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) reorganize and clarify the provisions 
for using automated dispensing devices (ADDs); (ii) 
distinguish "audits" from "reviews" so pharmacies 
understand more clearly when each action is required; (iii) 
limit the required monthly audit for ADDs with perpetual 
monitoring systems to discrepancies or exceptions 
identified through the ADDs; and (iv) provide an exception 
to the monthly inspection of ADDs if the ADD is capable of 
performing self-inspections that meet criteria set by the 
board. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  
18VAC110-20-490. Automated devices for dispensing and 
administration of drugs. 

A. A hospital may use automated devices for the dispensing 
and administration of drugs pursuant to § 54.1-3301 of the 
Code of Virginia and §§ 54.1-3401 and 54.1-3434.02 of the 
Drug Control Act and in accordance with 18VAC110-20-270, 
18VAC110-20-420, or 18VAC110-20-460 as applicable. The 
following conditions shall apply:  

B. Policy and procedure manual; access codes.  
1. Proper use of the automated dispensing devices and 
means of compliance with requirements shall be set forth 
in the pharmacy's policy and procedure manual.  
2. Personnel allowed access to an automated dispensing 
device shall have a specific access code that records the 
identity of the person accessing the device. The device may 
verify access codes using biometric identification or other 
coded identification after the initial log-on in order to 
eliminate sharing or theft of access codes. 

C. Distribution of drugs from the pharmacy. 
1. Prior to removal of drugs from the pharmacy, a delivery 
record shall be generated for all drugs to be placed in an 
automated dispensing device which shall include the date; 
drug name, dosage form, and strength; quantity; hospital 
unit and a unique identifier for the specific device 
receiving the drug; initials of the person loading the 
automated dispensing device; and initials of the pharmacist 
checking the drugs to be removed from the pharmacy and 
the delivery record for accuracy.  
2. At the time of loading any Schedule II through V drug, 
the person loading will verify that the count of that drug in 
the automated dispensing device is correct. Any 
discrepancy noted shall be recorded on the delivery record 
and immediately reported to the pharmacist in charge, who 
shall be responsible for reconciliation of the discrepancy or 
properly reporting of a loss. 

D. Distribution of drugs from the device. 
3. 1. Automated dispensing devices in hospitals shall be 
capable of producing a hard-copy record of distribution 
which shall show patient name, drug name and strength, 
dose withdrawn, dose to be administered, date and time of 
withdrawal from the device, and identity of person 
withdrawing the drug. The record shall be filed in 
chronological order from date of issue. 
2. If an automated dispensing device is used to obtain 
drugs for dispensing from an emergency room, a separate 
dispensing record is not required provided the automated 
record distinguishes dispensing from administration and 
records the identity of the physician who is dispensing. 

E. Discrepancy reports. A discrepancy report shall be 
generated for each discrepancy in the count of a drug on hand 
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in the device. Each such report shall be resolved by the PIC or 
his designee within 72 hours of the time the discrepancy was 
discovered or, if determined to be a theft or an unusual loss of 
drugs, shall be immediately reported to the board in 
accordance with § 54.1-3404 E of the Drug Control Act. 

F. Reviews and audits. 
1. The PIC or his designee shall conduct at least a monthly 
review for compliance with written policy and procedures 
that are consistent with § 54.1-3434.02 A of the Drug 
Control Act for security and use of the automated 
dispensing devices, to include procedures for timely 
termination of access codes when applicable, accuracy of 
distribution from the device, and proper recordkeeping. 
4. 2. The PIC or his designee shall conduct at least a 
monthly audit to review distribution and administration of 
Schedule II through V drugs from each automated 
dispensing device as follows:  

a. The audit shall reconcile records of all quantities of 
Schedule II through V drugs dispensed from the 
pharmacy with records of all quantities loaded into each 
device to detect whether any drugs recorded as removed 
from the pharmacy were diverted rather than being 
placed in the proper device.  
b. A discrepancy report shall be generated for each 
discrepancy in the count of a drug on hand in the device. 
Each such report shall be resolved by the PIC or his 
designee within 72 hours of the time the discrepancy was 
discovered or, if determined to be a theft or an unusual 
loss of drugs, shall be immediately reported to the board 
in accordance with § 54.1-3404 E of the Drug Control 
Act If a pharmacy has an ongoing method for perpetually 
monitoring drugs in Schedule II through V to ensure 
drugs dispensed from the pharmacy have been loaded 
into the device and not diverted, such as with the use of 
perpetual inventory management software, then the audit 
required in this subsection may be limited to the 
discrepancies or exceptions as identified by the method 
for perpetually monitoring the drugs.  

3. The PIC or his designee shall conduct at least a monthly 
audit to review administration of Schedule II through V 
drugs from each automated dispensing device as follows: 

c. a. The audit shall include a review of a sample of 
administration records from each device per month for 
possible diversion by fraudulent charting. A sample The 
review shall include all Schedule II-V II through V drugs 
administered for a time period of not less than 24 
consecutive hours during the audit period.  
d. The audit shall include a check of medical records to 
ensure that a valid order exists for a random sample of 
doses recorded as administered.  
e. The audit shall also check for compliance with written 
procedures for security and use of the automated 

dispensing devices, accuracy of distribution from the 
device, and proper recordkeeping.  
f. b. The hard-copy distribution and administration 
records printed out and reviewed in the audit shall be 
initialed and dated by the person conducting the audit. If 
nonpharmacist personnel conduct the audit, a pharmacist 
shall review the record and shall initial and date the 
record.  

5. If an automated dispensing device is used to obtain 
drugs for dispensing from an emergency room, a separate 
dispensing record is not required provided the automated 
record distinguishes dispensing from administration and 
records the identity of the physician who is dispensing.  

c. The PIC or his designee shall be exempt from 
requirements of this audit if reconciliation software that 
provides a statistical analysis is used to generate reports 
at least monthly. The statistical analysis shall be based 
on: 
(1) Peer-to-peer comparisons of use for that unit or 
department; and 
(2) Monitoring of overrides and unresolved 
discrepancies. 
d. The report shall be used to identify suspicious activity, 
which includes, but is not limited to, usage beyond three 
standard deviations in peer-to-peer comparisons. A 
focused audit of the suspicious activity and individuals 
associated with the activity shall be performed whenever 
suspicious activity is identified from the reports. 

4. The PIC or his designee shall maintain a record of 
compliance with the reviews and audits in accordance with 
subsection H of this section.  

6. G. Inspections. Automated dispensing devices shall be 
inspected monthly by pharmacy personnel to verify proper 
storage, proper location of drugs within the device, expiration 
dates, the security of drugs and validity of access codes. The 
PIC or his designee shall maintain documentation of the 
inspection in accordance with subsection H of this section. 
With the exception of a monthly physical review of look-alike 
and sound-alike drugs stored within matrix drawers or open 
access areas within the device, such monthly inspection shall 
not require physical inspection of the device if the device is 
capable of and performs the following: 

1. At least daily monitoring of refrigerator or freezer 
storage with documented temperature ranges, variances, 
and resolutions; 
2. Automatic identification and isolation of the location of 
each drug within the device using a machine readable 
product identifier, such as barcode technology, and 
generation of a report verifying the applicable settings; 
3. Electronic tracking of drug expiration dates and 
generation of proactive reports allowing for the 
replacement of drugs prior to their expiration date; and  
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4. Electronic detection of the opening of the device, 
identification of the person accessing the device, automatic 
denial of access to the device during malfunctions and 
mechanical errors, and generation of reports of any 
malfunction and mechanical error. 

H. Records. 
7. Personnel allowed access to an automated dispensing 
device shall have a specific access code which records the 
identity of the person accessing the device.  
8. Proper use of the automated dispensing devices and 
means of compliance with requirements shall be set forth 
in the pharmacy's policy and procedure manual.  
9. 1. All records required by this section shall be filed in 
chronological order from date of issue and maintained for a 
period of not less than two years. Records shall be 
maintained at the address of the pharmacy providing 
services to the hospital except: a. Manual manual Schedule 
VI distribution records, reports auditing for indications of 
suspicious activity, and focused audits, all of which may be 
maintained in offsite storage or electronically as an 
electronic image that provides an exact image of the 
document that is clearly legible provided such offsite or 
electronic records are retrievable and made available for 
inspection or audit within 48 hours of a request by the 
board or an authorized agent. 
b. 2. Distribution and delivery records and required 
signatures initials may be generated or maintained 
electronically provided: 

(1) a. The system being used has the capability of 
recording an electronic signature that is a unique 
identifier and restricted to the individual required to 
initial or sign the record. 
(2) b. The records are maintained in a read-only format 
that cannot be altered after the information is recorded. 
(3) c. The system used is capable of producing a hard-
copy printout of the records upon request.  

c. 3. Schedule II-V II through V distribution and delivery 
records may only also be stored offsite or electronically as 
described in subdivisions 9 a and b of this section in 
compliance with requirements of subdivision 1 of this 
subsection and if authorized by DEA or in federal law or 
regulation.  
d. 4. Hard-copy distribution and administration records that 
are printed and reviewed in conducting required audits may 
be maintained at an off-site location or electronically 
provided they can be readily retrieved upon request; 
provided they are maintained in a read-only format that 
does not allow alteration of the records; and provided a 
separate log is maintained for a period of two years 
showing dates of audit and review, the identity of the 
automated dispensing device being audited, the time period 
covered by the audit and review, and the initials of all 
reviewers.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-45; Filed December 18, 2013, 8:44 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Physical Therapy (amending 18VAC112-
20-10, 18VAC112-20-60, 18VAC112-20-65, 18VAC112-20-
90, 18VAC112-20-120, 18VAC112-20-135, 18VAC112-20-
136, 18VAC112-20-140; adding 18VAC112-20-27; 
repealing 18VAC112-20-150).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3474 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2014. 
Effective Date: February 27, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 
Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4674, FAX (804) 
527-4413, or email ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of Chapter 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. Section 54.1-2400 provides the Board 
of Physical Therapy the authority to promulgate regulations 
to administer the regulatory system. 
Specific authority for regulation of physical therapy is found 
in § 54.1-3474 of the Code of Virginia, which requires the 
board to promulgate regulations establishing requirements to 
ensure continuing competency of physical therapists and 
physical therapist assistants, which may include continuing 
education, testing, or such other requirements as the board 
may determine to be necessary.  
Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to address 
some inconsistencies in the clinical practice requirements for 
applicants by reactivation, reinstatement, or licensure by 
endorsement and to make the traineeship less burdensome. 
The amendments will not reduce the responsibility of 
supervisors for trainees and will continue to protect the health 
and safety of the public. Additionally, changes to the 
evaluation responsibilities of physical therapists will not 
affect public safety because the language is more clarifying 
and consistent with current practice. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The action is less 
restrictive regulation for applicants and practitioners. It will 
resolve some issues relating to evaluation of patients by 
physical therapists and be more consistent with current 
practices. It will not be controversial. 
Substance: The amendments (i) eliminate specific remedial 
requirements for persons who fail the licensure examination 
three times; (ii) reduce the traineeship hours required for 
applicants by endorsement, reactivation, or reinstatement; (iii) 
clarify that a reevaluation of patients is required at certain 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 13, 2014 

1388 

intervals of care; and (iv) eliminate the requirement that 
traineeships be served in facilities approved as clinical sites 
for students enrolled in an accredited education program. 
Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 
public. The public continues to be protected by assurances 
that applicants will have clinical competency evidenced by 
hours of active practice in another jurisdiction or hours under 
supervision in a traineeship. 
There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Physical Therapy (Board) proposes to: 1) eliminate 
specific remedial requirements for persons who fail the 
licensure examination three times, 2) reduce the traineeship 
hours required for applicants by endorsement, reactivation or 
reinstatement, 3) no longer require that applicants for 
licensure by endorsement have active, clinical practice with a 
current, unrestricted license for at least five years prior to 
applying for licensure in Virginia if the applicant did not take 
the same examination, 4) eliminate the requirement that 
traineeships be served in facilities approved as clinical sites 
for students enrolled in an accredited education program, 5) 
amend the requirement for evaluation of those patients who 
have been receiving care for the same condition or injury for 
six months or longer to require evaluation at least every 90 
days from the last evaluation, 6) establish that if a patient is 
discharged from a health care facility without the opportunity 
for the physical therapist to evaluate the patient, the final note 
in the patient record may document patient status, and 7) 
amend language for clarification.  
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Under the current regulations, 
an applicant for licensure who has failed the national 
examination three times must:  

1. Provide the board with a copy of the deficiency report 
from the examination;  
2. Review areas of deficiency with the applicant's physical 
therapy educational program and develop a plan, which 
may include additional clinical training or coursework, to 
address deficiency areas; and  
3. Take an examination review course and the practice 
examination.  

The Board proposes to repeal these requirements. According 
to the Department of Health Professions (Department), The 
requirement to review areas of deficiency with the applicant's 
physical therapy educational program and develop a plan, 
which may include additional clinical training or coursework, 
to address deficiency areas was very problematic for 
applicants and programs, which are not organized to assume 
that responsibility. The Board determined that remedial steps 

following failure of an examination should be left to the 
individual. The first exam review course listed by the 
American Physical Therapy Association is from TherapyEd 
(http://www.therapyed.com/ptmain.htm#ptreg). TherapyEd 
charges $265 for their review course. Thus, if the applicant 
determined that taking the review course was not his/her best 
course of action, then the proposed repeal would save 
approximately $265 in fees. Since the applicant will still not 
become licensed without passing the exam, there is no 
reduction in required knowledge to become a licensed 
physical therapist. Therefore the proposed repeal of these 
requirements should produce a net benefit. 
The current regulations require applicants by endorsement, 
reactivation or reinstatement to have completed a 480 hour 
internship/traineeship if they do not have at least 320 hours of 
active practice in another jurisdiction. The board proposes to 
amend the internship/traineeship requirement to 320 hours for 
consistency with the active practice requirement and to enable 
the applicant to become fully licensed more quickly. If the 
applicant completes the Practice Review Tool (PRT) offered 
by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy 
(FSBPT), he can reduce the internship hours to 160 (amended 
from the current requirement of 320 hours). This significantly 
reduces the burden to obtain licensure for these individuals 
who previously were licensed in Virginia.  
For individuals applying for licensure by endorsement, the 
existing regulations require active, clinical practice with a 
current, unrestricted license for at least five years prior to 
applying for licensure in Virginia if the applicant did not take 
the same examination Virginia required at the time of initial 
licensure in another state. The Board believes passage of the 
examination required for licensure in the other state is 
adequate evidence of competency. Additionally, all states 
have required the FSBPT examination for many years; so the 
likelihood of receiving an application from a person who 
passed only a state examination is decreasing. This proposed 
change eliminates a burden without in practice making any 
significant change in qualification; thus this proposed change 
should also provide net benefit. 
Presently, traineeship must be held in a facility that serves as 
a clinical education facility for students enrolled in an 
accredited program educating physical therapists in Virginia. 
The Board has determined that that requirement is too 
limiting and burdensome and substantially reduces the 
physical therapy settings in which an applicant or graduate 
may serve a traineeship. Thus the Board proposes to eliminate 
that provision in the requirements but retain the requirement 
that the traineeship be under direction and supervision of a 
licensed physical therapist to assure patient safety.  
For patients in settings other than in-patient, the current 
regulations require that the physical therapist evaluate the 
patient not less than once out of 12 visits made to the patient 
during a 30-day period, or once every 30 days from the last 
evaluation, whichever occur first. The Board believes that the 
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requirement for evaluation every 30 days is burdensome for 
patients who have been receiving physical therapy care for 
the same condition or injury over an extended period of time. 
For example, children with physical disabilities who are 
receiving physical therapy in school settings may not need 
evaluation every 30 days. There will not be enough 
significant progress within that time frame to warrant an 
evaluation by the physical therapist. Therefore, the Board 
proposes to amend the requirement for evaluation of those 
patients who have been receiving care for the same condition 
or injury for six months or longer to require evaluation at 
least every 90 days from the last evaluation. This proposed 
amendment should produce net benefits in that it will 
eliminate the nonproductive use of time by both physical 
therapists and their patients. 
The regulations require physical therapists to document the 
status of the patient at the time of discharge, including the 
response to therapeutic intervention. The Department notes 
that the patient often is discharged from a health care facility 
without the opportunity for the physical therapist to evaluate 
the patient. So the Board proposes to amend the regulations to 
allow the final note in the patient record to document patient 
status.  
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
potentially affect the 6,580 licensed physical therapists and 
2,692 physical therapist assistants currently licensed in the 
Commonwealth, as well as future licensure applicants.  
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
reduce some burdens in obtaining licensure, and may 
therefore moderately increase the number of licensed physical 
therapists in the Commonwealth. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments reduce some burdens in obtaining 
licensure and allow physical therapy practices additional 
discretion in how often to see patients.  
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendments will not increase costs for small businesses. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
impact small businesses.  
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
will not affect real estate development costs. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 
of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 
other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 
identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 
and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 
to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 
the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 
effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 
economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 
estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 
regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 
other administrative costs required for small businesses to 
comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 
skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 
documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 
regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 
of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 
achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 
presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 
economic impacts. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Physical Therapy concurs with the analysis of the 
Department of Planning and Budget for amendments to 
18VAC112-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Physical Therapy, relating to regulatory reform. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) eliminate specific remedial 
requirements for persons who fail the licensure 
examination three times; (ii) reduce the traineeship hours 
required for applicants by endorsement, reactivation, or 
reinstatement; (iii) eliminate the requirement that 
applicants for licensure by endorsement have active, 
clinical practice with a current, unrestricted license for at 
least five years prior to applying for licensure in Virginia; 
(iv) eliminate the requirement that traineeships be served 
in facilities approved as clinical sites for students enrolled 
in an accredited education program; (v) amend the 
requirement for evaluation of those patients who have been 
receiving care for the same condition or injury for six 
months or longer to require evaluation at least every 90 
days from the last evaluation; and (vi) establish that the 
final note in the patient record may document patient 
status if a patient is discharged from a health care facility 
without the opportunity for the physical therapist to 
evaluate the patient. 

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC112-20-10. Definitions.  
In addition to the words and terms defined in § 54.1-3473 of 

the Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when 
used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Active practice" means a minimum of 160 hours of 
professional practice as a physical therapist or physical 
therapist assistant within the 24-month period immediately 
preceding renewal. Active practice may include supervisory, 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 13, 2014 

1390 

administrative, educational or consultative activities or 
responsibilities for the delivery of such services.  

"Approved program" means an educational program 
accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical 
Therapy Education of the American Physical Therapy 
Association.  

"CLEP" means the College Level Examination Program.  
"Contact hour" means 60 minutes of time spent in 

continuing learning activity exclusive of breaks, meals or 
vendor exhibits.  

"Direct supervision" means a physical therapist or a physical 
therapist assistant is physically present and immediately 
available and is fully responsible for the physical therapy 
tasks or activities being performed.  

"Discharge" means the discontinuation of interventions in an 
episode of care that have been provided in an unbroken 
sequence in a single practice setting and related to the 
physical therapy interventions for a given condition or 
problem. 

"Evaluation" means a process in which the physical therapist 
makes clinical judgments based on data gathered during an 
examination or screening in order to plan and implement a 
treatment intervention, provide preventive care, reduce risks 
of injury and impairment, or provide for consultation. 

"FCCPT" means the Foreign Credentialing Commission on 
Physical Therapy.  

"FSBPT" means the Federation of State Boards of Physical 
Therapy.  

"General supervision" means a physical therapist shall be 
available for consultation.  

"National examination" means the examinations developed 
and administered by the Federation of State Boards of 
Physical Therapy and approved by the board for licensure as 
a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant.  

"PRT" means the Practice Review Tool for competency 
assessment developed and administered by FSBPT. 

"Reevaluation" means a process in which the physical 
therapist makes clinical judgments based on data gathered 
during an examination or screening in order to determine a 
patient's response to the treatment plan and care provided. 

"Support personnel" means a person who is performing 
designated routine tasks related to physical therapy under the 
direction and supervision of a physical therapist or physical 
therapist assistant within the scope of this chapter.  

"TOEFL" means the Test of English as a Foreign Language.  
"Trainee" means a person seeking licensure as a physical 

therapist or physical therapist assistant who is undergoing a 
traineeship.  

"Traineeship" means a period of active clinical practice 
during which an applicant for licensure as a physical therapist 

or physical therapist assistant works under the direct 
supervision of a physical therapist approved by the board.  

"TSE" means the Test of Spoken English.  
"Type 1" means continuing learning activities offered by an 

approved organization as specified in 18VAC112-20-131.  
"Type 2" means continuing learning activities which may or 

may not be offered by an approved organization but shall be 
activities considered by the learner to be beneficial to practice 
or to continuing learning.  
18VAC112-20-27. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 
not be refundable.  

B. Licensure by examination.  
1. The application fee shall be $140 for a physical therapist 
and $100 for a physical therapist assistant.  
2. The fees for taking all required examinations shall be 
paid directly to the examination services.  

C. Licensure by endorsement. The fee for licensure by 
endorsement shall be $140 for a physical therapist and $100 
for a physical therapist assistant.  

D. Licensure renewal and reinstatement.  
1. The fee for active license renewal for a physical 
therapist shall be $135 and for a physical therapist assistant 
shall be $70 and shall be due by December 31 in each 
even-numbered year. 
2. The fee for an inactive license renewal for a physical 
therapist shall be $70 and for a physical therapist assistant 
shall be $35 and shall be due by December 31 in each 
even-numbered year. 
3. A fee of $50 for a physical therapist and $25 for a 
physical therapist assistant for processing a late renewal 
within one renewal cycle shall be paid in addition to the 
renewal fee.  
4. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has expired 
for two or more years shall be $180 for a physical therapist 
and $120 for a physical therapist assistant and shall be 
submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement.  

E. Other fees.  
1. The fee for an application for reinstatement of a license 
that has been revoked shall be $1,000; the fee for an 
application for reinstatement of a license that has been 
suspended shall be $500.  
2. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5, and the fee 
for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  
3. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  
4. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification to 
another jurisdiction shall be $10.  
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F. Direct access certification fees. 
1. The application fee shall be $75 for a physical therapist 
to obtain certification to provide services without a 
referral. 
2. The fee for renewal on a direct access certification shall 
be $35 and shall be due by December 31 in each even-
numbered year. 
3. A fee of $15 for processing a late renewal of 
certification within one renewal cycle shall be paid in 
addition to the renewal fee. 

18VAC112-20-60. Requirements for licensure by 
examination.  

A. Every applicant for initial licensure by examination shall 
submit:  

1. Documentation of having met the educational 
requirements specified in 18VAC112-20-40 or 
18VAC112-20-50;  
2. The required application, fees and credentials to the 
board; and  
3. Documentation of passage of the national examination 
as prescribed by the board.  

B. If an applicant fails the national examination three times, 
he shall apply for approval to sit for any subsequent 
examination by submission of evidence satisfactory to the 
board of having successfully completed the following 
requirements: 

1. Provide the board with a copy of the deficiency report 
from the examination;  
2. Review areas of deficiency with the applicant's physical 
therapy educational program and develop a plan, which 
may include additional clinical training or coursework, to 
address deficiency areas; and 
3. Take an examination review course and the practice 
examination. 

18VAC112-20-65. Requirements for licensure by 
endorsement.  

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who 
holds a current, unrestricted license in the United States, its 
territories, the District of Columbia, or Canada may be 
licensed in Virginia by endorsement.  

B. An applicant for licensure by endorsement shall submit:  
1. Documentation of having met the educational 
requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-40 or 
18VAC112-20-50. In lieu of meeting such requirements, 
an applicant may provide evidence of clinical practice 
consisting of at least 2,500 hours of patient care during the 
five years immediately preceding application for licensure 
in Virginia with a current, unrestricted license issued by 
another U.S. jurisdiction;  
2. The required application, fees, and credentials to the 
board;  

3. A current report from the Healthcare Integrity and 
Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) and a current report from 
the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB); 
4. Evidence of completion of 15 hours of continuing 
education for each year in which the applicant held a 
license in another U.S. jurisdiction, or 60 hours obtained 
within the past four years; and 
5. Documentation of passage of an examination equivalent 
to the Virginia examination at the time of initial licensure 
or documentation of passage of an examination required by 
another state at the time of initial licensure in that state and 
active, clinical practice with a current, unrestricted license 
for at least five years prior to applying for licensure in 
Virginia.; and  

For the purpose of this subsection, active, clinical practice 
shall mean at least 2,500 hours of patient care over a five-year 
period.  

C. A physical therapist seeking licensure by endorsement 
who has not actively practiced 6. Documentation of active 
practice in physical therapy in another U.S. jurisdiction for 
at least 320 hours within the four years immediately 
preceding his application for licensure. A physical therapist 
who does not meet the active practice requirement shall: 

1. a. Successfully complete 480 320 hours in a 
traineeship in accordance with requirements in 
18VAC112-20-140; or 
2. b. Document that he meets the standard of the PRT 
within the two years preceding application for licensure 
in Virginia and successfully complete 320 160 hours in a 
traineeship in accordance with the requirements in 
18VAC112-20-140. 

D. C. A physical therapist assistant seeking licensure by 
endorsement who has not actively practiced physical therapy 
for at least 320 hours within the four years immediately 
preceding his application for licensure shall successfully 
complete 320 hours in a traineeship in accordance with the 
requirements in 18VAC112-20-140. 
18VAC112-20-90. General responsibilities.  

A. The physical therapist shall be responsible for managing 
all aspects of the physical therapy care of each patient and 
shall provide:  

1. The initial evaluation for each patient and its 
documentation in the patient record; and  
2. Periodic evaluations reevaluation, including 
documentation of the patient's response to therapeutic 
intervention.; and  
3. The documented status of the patient at the time of 
discharge, including the response to therapeutic 
intervention. If a patient is discharged from a health care 
facility without the opportunity for the physical therapist to 
reevaluate the patient, the final note in the patient record 
may document patient status. 
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B. The physical therapist shall communicate the overall plan 
of care to the patient or his legally authorized representative 
and shall also communicate with a referring doctor of 
medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, podiatry, or dental 
surgery, nurse practitioner or physician assistant to the extent 
required by § 54.1-3482 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. A physical therapist assistant may assist the physical 
therapist in performing selected components of physical 
therapy intervention to include treatment, measurement and 
data collection, but not to include the performance of an 
evaluation as defined in 18VAC112-20-10.  

D. A physical therapist assistant's visits to a patient may be 
made under general supervision.  

E. A physical therapist providing services with a direct 
access certification as specified in § 54.1-3482 of the Code of 
Virginia shall utilize the Direct Access Patient Attestation and 
Medical Release Form prescribed by the board or otherwise 
include in the patient record the information, attestation and 
written consent required by subsection B of § 54.1-3482 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
18VAC112-20-120. Responsibilities to patients.  

A. The initial patient visit shall be made by the physical 
therapist for evaluation of the patient and establishment of a 
plan of care.  

B. The physical therapist assistant's first visit with the 
patient shall only be made after verbal or written 
communication with the physical therapist regarding patient 
status and plan of care. Documentation of such 
communication shall be made in the patient's record.  

C. Documentation of physical therapy interventions shall be 
recorded on a patient's record by the physical therapist or 
physical therapist assistant providing the care.  

D. The physical therapist shall reevaluate the patient as 
needed, but not less than according to the following 
schedules:  

1. For inpatients in hospitals as defined in § 32.1-123 of 
the Code of Virginia, it shall be not less than once every 
seven consecutive days.  
2. For patients in other settings, it shall be not less than one 
of 12 visits made to the patient during a 30-day period, or 
once every 30 days from the last evaluation reevaluation, 
whichever occurs first.  
3. For patients who have been receiving physical therapy 
care for the same condition or injury for six months or 
longer, it shall be at least every 90 days from the last 
reevaluation. 

Failure to abide by this subsection due to the absence of the 
physical therapist in case of illness, vacation, or professional 
meeting, for a period not to exceed five consecutive days, will 
not constitute a violation of these provisions.  

E. The physical therapist shall be responsible for ongoing 
involvement in the care of the patient to include regular 

communication with a physical therapist assistant regarding 
the patient's plan of treatment.  
18VAC112-20-135. Inactive license.  

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who 
holds a current, unrestricted license in Virginia shall, upon a 
request on the renewal application and submission of the 
required renewal fee of $70 for a physical therapist and $35 
for a physical therapist assistant, be issued an inactive license. 
The fee for the renewal of an inactive license due December 
31, 2010, shall be $60 for a physical therapist and $30 for a 
physical therapist assistant. 

1. The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to 
meet active practice requirements.  
2. An inactive licensee shall not be entitled to perform any 
act requiring a license to practice physical therapy in 
Virginia.  

B. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who 
holds an inactive license may reactivate his license by:  

1. Paying the difference between the renewal fee for an 
inactive license and that of an active license for the 
biennium in which the license is being reactivated;  
2. Providing proof of 320 active practice hours in another 
jurisdiction equal to those required for renewal of an active 
license in Virginia for the period in which the license has 
been inactive within the four years immediately preceding 
application for reactivation.  

a. If the inactive physical therapist licensee does not meet 
the requirement for active practice, the license may be 
reactivated by completing 480 320 hours in a traineeship 
that meets the requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-
140 or documenting that he has met the standard of the 
PRT within the two years preceding application for 
reactivation of licensure in Virginia and successfully 
completing 320 160 hours in a traineeship in accordance 
with requirements in 18VAC112-20-140. 
b. If the inactive physical therapist assistant licensee does 
not meet the requirement for active practice, the license 
may be reactivated by completing 320 hours in a 
traineeship that meets the requirements prescribed in 
18VAC112-20-140; and  

3. Completing the number of continuing competency hours 
required for the period in which the license has been 
inactive, not to exceed four years.  

18VAC112-20-136. Reinstatement requirements.  
A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant whose 

Virginia license is lapsed for two years or less may reinstate 
his license by payment of the renewal and late fees as set 
forth in 18VAC112-20-150 and completion of continued 
competency requirements as set forth in 18VAC112-20-131. 

B. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant whose 
Virginia license is lapsed for more than two years and who is 
seeking reinstatement shall: 
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1. Apply for reinstatement and pay the fee specified in 
18VAC112-20-150;  
2. Complete the number of continuing competency hours 
required for the period in which the license has been 
lapsed, not to exceed four years; and 
3. Have actively practiced physical therapy in another 
jurisdiction for at least 320 hours within the four years 
immediately preceding applying for reinstatement.  

a. If a physical therapist licensee does not meet the 
requirement for active practice, the license may be 
reinstated by completing 480 320 hours in a traineeship 
that meets the requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-
140 or documenting that he has met the standard of the 
PRT within the two years preceding application for 
licensure in Virginia and successfully completing 320 
160 hours in a traineeship in accordance with 
requirements in 18VAC112-20-140. 
b. If a physical therapist assistant licensee does not meet 
the requirement for active practice, the license may be 
reinstated by completing 320 hours in a traineeship that 
meets the requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-140. 

18VAC112-20-140. Traineeship requirements.  
A. The traineeship shall be (i) in a facility that serves as a 

clinical education facility for students enrolled in an 
accredited program educating physical therapists in Virginia, 
(ii) approved by the board, and (iii) under the direction and 
supervision of a licensed physical therapist.  

B. Supervision and identification of trainees: 
1. There shall be a limit of two physical therapists assigned 
to provide supervision for each trainee.  
2. The supervising physical therapist shall countersign 
patient documentation (i.e., notes, records, charts) for 
services provided by a trainee. 
3. The trainee shall wear identification designating them as 
a "physical therapist trainee" or a "physical therapist 
assistant trainee." 

C. Completion of traineeship. 
1. The physical therapist supervising the trainee shall 
submit a report to the board at the end of the required 
number of hours on forms supplied by the board.  
2. If the traineeship is not successfully completed at the 
end of the required hours, as determined by the supervising 
physical therapist, the president of the board or his 
designee shall determine if a new traineeship shall 
commence. If the president of the board determines that a 
new traineeship shall not commence, then the application 
for licensure shall be denied.  
3. The second traineeship may be served under a different 
supervising physical therapist and may be served in a 
different organization than the initial traineeship. If the 
second traineeship is not successfully completed, as 

determined by the supervising physical therapist, then the 
application for licensure shall be denied.  

18VAC112-20-150. Fees. (Repealed.) 
A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable.  
B. Licensure by examination.  

1. The application fee shall be $140 for a physical therapist 
and $100 for a physical therapist assistant.  
2. The fees for taking all required examinations shall be 
paid directly to the examination services.  

C. Licensure by endorsement. The fee for licensure by 
endorsement shall be $140 for a physical therapist and $100 
for a physical therapist assistant.  

D. Licensure renewal and reinstatement.  
1. The fee for active license renewal for a physical 
therapist shall be $135 and for a physical therapist assistant 
shall be $70 and shall be due by December 31 in each 
even-numbered year. The fee for renewal of an active 
license due December 31, 2010, shall be $100 for a 
physical therapist and $60 for a physical therapist assistant. 
2. A fee of $25 for a physical therapist assistant and $50 
for a physical therapist for processing a late renewal within 
one renewal cycle shall be paid in addition to the renewal 
fee.  
3. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has expired 
for two or more years shall be $180 for a physical therapist 
and $120 for a physical therapist assistant and shall be 
submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement.  

E. Other fees.  
1. The fee for an application for reinstatement of a license 
that has been revoked shall be $1,000; the fee for an 
application for reinstatement of a license that has been 
suspended shall be $500.  
2. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5, and the fee 
for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  
3. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  
4. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification to 
another jurisdiction shall be $10.  

F. Direct access certification fees. 
1. The application fee shall be $75 for a physical therapist 
to obtain certification to provide services without a 
referral. 
2. The fee for renewal on a direct access certification shall 
be $35 and shall be due by December 31 in each even-
numbered year. The fee for direct access certification due 
December 31, 2010, shall be $30. 
3. A fee of $15 for processing a late renewal of 
certification within one renewal cycle shall be paid in 
addition to the renewal fee. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3816; Filed December 18, 2013, 9:14 a.m.  



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations January 13, 2014 

1394 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-15. Regulations Governing 
Delegation to an Agency Subordinate (amending 
18VAC125-15-20).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2014. 
Effective Date: February 27, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Catherine Chappell, Executive Director, 
Board of Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 
327-4435, or email catherine.chappell@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 
the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards 
including the responsibility to promulgate regulations and the 
authority to delegate an informal conference to an agency 
subordinate. 
Purpose: One of the most important functions of the 
Department of Health Professions is the investigation and 
adjudication of disciplinary cases to ensure that the public is 
adequately protected if a health care professional violates a 
law or regulation. Delegation of informal conferences to an 
agency subordinate, who is either a former board member or 
former board staff, would allow the Board of Psychology to 
bring closure to cases to protect the health and safety of the 
public. 
In § 2.2-4019 of the Administrative Process Act, provisions 
for an informal fact-finding proceeding establish the rights of 
parties to a disciplinary case, including the right to "appear in 
person or by counsel or other qualified representative before 
the agency or its subordinates, or before a hearing officer for 
the informal presentation of factual data, argument, or proof 
in connection with any case." While certain standard of care 
cases would continue to be heard by board members 
appointed to a special conference committee, a decision to 
delegate cases that may involve standards of practice must be 
approved by the probable cause committee.  The ability to 
have the chair of the discipline committee (currently, the 
board does not have a "probable cause" committee) make 
decisions on delegation will facilitate scheduling of 
proceedings before an agency subordinate, thus ensuring 
resolution in a timelier manner and reserving board member 
time for hearing more serious matters. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The amendment is 
less restrictive and not controversial. The board does not 
currently utilize agency subordinates, but a simplified process 
for delegation may facilitate resolution of cases arising out of 
violations such as failure to complete continuing education. 
The board unanimously agreed to the revision. 

Substance: The amendments allow approval by the chair of 
the discipline committee in consultation with the board chair 
for delegation to an agency subordinate cases that involve a 
violation of standards of practice. 
Issues: The primary advantage to the public is more timely 
resolution of disciplinary cases, and there are no 
disadvantages to the public. The advantage to the 
Commonwealth is facilitation of the delegation process and 
preservation of board member time for proceedings that 
involve more serious allegations.  
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
proposed changes will authorize the Board of Psychology's 
(Board) chair of the discipline committee to delegate informal 
fact finding conferences involving violations of standards of 
practice to an agency subordinate. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed changes will 
authorize the Board's chair of the discipline committee in 
consultation with the Board chair to delegate informal fact-
finding conferences involving violations of standards of 
practice to an agency subordinate. The agency subordinate 
could be a former board member or a former board staff 
member. The ability to delegate some of the cases is expected 
to facilitate the scheduling of proceedings, thus helping 
ensure resolution in a timelier manner and reserve board 
member time for hearing more serious matters. The 
Department of Health Professions (DHP) estimates 
approximately 10 cases per year may be delegated to an 
agency subordinate. DHP does not anticipate an adverse 
impact on the quality of the investigations if they are 
conducted by a subordinate. Thus, no negative impact on 
health and safety of the public is expected. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. These regulations currently 
apply to 3,572 licensees and certificate holders regulated 
under the Board. Approximately 10 cases a year involving 
violations of standards of practice may be delegated to an 
agency subordinate. 
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations do 
not affect any locality disproportionately. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed changes are 
expected to shift the administrative responsibilities associated 
with about 10 informal fact-finding conferences per year from 
Board members to an agency subordinate.  
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 
significant effect on the use and value of private property is 
expected.  
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No costs on small 
businesses are expected. However, in about 10 cases per year, 
regulated psychology practices that are small businesses may 
benefit from expedited disciplinary investigations. 
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Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed changes are not anticipated to 
have an adverse impact on small businesses. 
Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 
development costs is expected. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 
of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 
other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 
identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 
entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 
and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 
to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 
the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 
effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 
economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 
estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 
regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 
other administrative costs required for small businesses to 
comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 
skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 
documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 
regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 
of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 
achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 
presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 
economic impacts. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Psychology concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget. 
Summary: 

The amendment allows approval by the chair of the 
discipline committee, in consultation with the chair of the 
Board of Psychology, to delegate to an agency subordinate 
cases that involve a violation of standards of practice. 

18VAC125-15-20. Criteria for delegation.  
Cases that may not be delegated to an agency subordinate 

include violations of standards of practice as set forth in 
regulations governing each profession certified or licensed by 
the board, except as may otherwise be determined by the 
probable cause chair of the discipline committee in 
consultation with the board chair.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3735; Filed December 18, 2013, 9:16 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Psychology is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of 
Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards 

served by the Department of Health Professions pursuant to 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing 
fees charged to regulants and applicants. The Board of 
Psychology will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 
any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 
Titles of Regulations: 18VAC125-20. Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Psychology (amending 
18VAC125-20-30). 
18VAC125-30. Regulations Governing the Certification of 
Sex Offender Treatment Providers (amending 
18VAC125-30-20).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3605 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Effective Date: February 12, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Catherine Chappell, Executive Director, 
Board of Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 
527-4435, or email catherine.chappell@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments provide for a one-time fee reduction 
applicable to the 2014 renewal cycle for licensees and 
certificate holders. 

18VAC125-20-30. Fees required by the board.  
A. The board has established fees for the following:  

  Applied 
psychologists, 

Clinical 
psychologists, 

School 
psychologists 

School 
psychologists-

limited 

1. Registration of 
residency (per 
residency request) 

$50 - - 

2. Add or change 
supervisor 

$25 - - 

3. Application 
processing and 
initial licensure 

$200 $85 

4. Annual renewal 
of active license 

$140 $70 

5. Annual renewal 
of inactive license 

$70 $35 

6. Late renewal $50 $25 

7. Verification of 
license to another 
jurisdiction 

$25 $25 

8. Duplicate 
license 

$5 $5 
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9. Additional or 
replacement wall 
certificate 

$15 $15 

10. Returned check $35 $35 

11. Reinstatement 
of a lapsed license 

$270 $125 

12. Reinstatement 
following 
revocation or 
suspension 

$500 $500 

B. Fees shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia 
and forwarded to the board. All fees are nonrefundable. 

C. Between April 30, 2014, and June 30, 2014, the 
following renewal fees shall be in effect: 

1. For an active license as a clinical, applied, or school 
psychologist, it shall be $95. For an inactive license as a 
clinical, applied, or school psychologist, it shall be $45. 
2. For an active license as a school psychologist-limited, it 
shall be $45. For an inactive license as a school 
psychologist-limited, it shall be $23.  

18VAC125-30-20. Fees required by the board.  
A. The board has established the following fees applicable 

to the certification of sex offender treatment providers:  

  Registration of supervision  $50 

  Add or change supervisor $25 

  Application processing and initial 
certification fee 

$90 

  Certification renewal $75 

  Duplicate certificate $5 

  Late renewal $25 

  Reinstatement of an expired 
certificate 

$125 

  Replacement of or additional wall 
certificate 

$15 

  Returned check $35 

  Reinstatement following revocation 
or suspension 

$500 

  One-time reduction in fee for 
renewal on June 30, 2010 2014 

$37 $52 

B. Fees shall be paid by check or money order made payable 
to the Treasurer of Virginia and forwarded to the Board of 
Psychology. All fees are nonrefundable.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3895; Filed December 16, 2013, 3:50 p.m.  

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC160-20. Board for Waterworks 
and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage 
System Professionals Regulations (amending 18VAC160-
20-97).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2301 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

February 27, 2014 - 10:30 a.m. - Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, Perimeter 
Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 200, Richmond, VA 
23233 

Public Comment Deadline: March 14, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, Board 
for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 
Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX 
(866) 350-5354, or email waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia states that the 
board has the power and duty to promulgate regulations in 
accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia) necessary to assure continued 
competency, to prevent deceptive or misleading practices by 
practitioners, and to effectively administer the regulatory 
system administered by the regulatory board. Section 54.1-
2301 of the Code of Virginia provides the authority for the 
board to promulgate regulations for the licensure of onsite 
sewage system professionals, waterworks operators, and 
wastewater works operators.  
Purpose: In response to the Governor's Regulatory Reform 
initiative, the Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works 
Operators and Onsite Sewage System Professionals reviewed 
its current regulations to identify, amend, or repeal any 
regulations that are unnecessary or no longer in use and 
reduce unnecessary regulatory burdens on regulated groups 
while still protecting the health, safety, and welfare of the 
public. The board has determined that the requirement that an 
applicant for a conventional onsite sewage system installer 
license provide documentation of experience from a list of 
specific professionals when applying for waiver of the 
examination can be eliminated. 
Substance: As an entry requirement for licensure as a 
conventional onsite sewage system installer, applicants who 
qualify for the conventional onsite sewage system installer 
exam waiver must demonstrate active engagement in 
performing the duties of a conventional onsite sewage system 
installer. The proposed amendment eliminates the need to 
provide documentation by specific professionals as currently 
required by 18VAC160-20-97 C 2 a, thereby allowing more 
latitude to consider applicants that have the required 
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experience but have not worked with one of the specified 
professionals. 
Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed amendment is 
that it allows more individuals who have the required 
experience to perform the services of a conventional onsite 
sewage system installer. This provides a larger pool of 
qualified individuals from which a consumer can select when 
hiring a conventional onsite sewage system installer. The 
primary advantage to the agency, which ultimately is an 
advantage to the board's regulants, is that individuals who 
apply for a conventional onsite sewage system installer with 
exam waiver currently would have to go through the 
administrative process to have their applications considered if 
one of the specified professionals could not verify their 
experience. This change will eliminate the need for, and costs 
associated with, a hearing to consider otherwise compliant 
applications. There are no disadvantages to the public, 
agency, or Commonwealth. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
current regulations require an applicant for a conventional 
onsite sewage system installer license who is applying for 
waiver of the examination to provide documentation of 
experience from a list of specific professionals. The Board for 
Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 
Sewage System Professionals (Board) proposes to eliminate 
this requirement. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Code of Virginia § 54.1-2301 
states that: 

The Board shall not require applicants for initial licensure 
as a conventional onsite sewage system installer to pass an 
examination prior to issuance of such license provided that 
the applicant satisfactorily demonstrates to the Board that 
he has been actively engaged in performing the duties of a 
conventional onsite sewage system installer for at least 
eight years within the 12-year period immediately 
preceding the date of application for licensure.  

Repealing the requirement for documentation by specific 
professionals will leave language in the regulations that is 
similar to that in the Code of Virginia quoted above. 
Eliminating the need to provide documentation by specific 
professionals allows more latitude to consider applicants that 
have the required experience, but have not worked with one 
of the specified professionals. Also, the time and effort 
associated with obtaining and processing the documentation 
would be eliminated. Since the Board believes the 
documentation is unnecessary, it seems to have little value. 
Thus the proposal to eliminate the documentation requirement 
should produce a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 
affects applicants for the conventional onsite sewage system 
installer license. According to the Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation, there are approximately 200 
applicants annually.  
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 
does not disproportionately affect particular localities. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to eliminate 
the documentation requirement may moderately increase the 
number of individuals who seek licensure as a conventional 
onsite sewage system installer. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendment will moderately reduce application 
costs for licensure. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 
amendment does not add cost for small businesses. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. The proposed amendment does not 
adversely affect small businesses. 
Real Estate Development Costs. Since the proposal to 
eliminate the documentation requirement may moderately 
increase the supply of conventional onsite sewage system 
installation services, there may be a very modest cost 
reduction for real estate development that includes septic 
systems. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 
of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 
other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 
identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 
entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 
and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 
to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 
the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 
effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 
economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 
estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 
regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 
other administrative costs required for small businesses to 
comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 
skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 
documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 
regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 
of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 
achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 
presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 
economic impacts. 
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Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's economic impact analysis: The Board for 
Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 
Sewage System Professionals concurs with the economic 
impact analysis. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendment eliminates the need for an 
applicant for a conventional onsite sewage system 
installer license, who is applying for waiver of the 
examination, to provide documentation of experience 
attained working with professionals from a specific list. 

18VAC160-20-97. Qualifications for licensure - onsite 
sewage system installers. 

A. Each applicant shall make application in accordance with 
18VAC160-20-76 and shall meet the specific entry 
requirements provided for in this section for the license 
desired. 

B. Each applicant holding a valid interim onsite sewage 
system installer license shall submit documentation of 
compliance with the continuing professional education 
requirements of this chapter at the time of application. 

C. Specific entry requirements. 
1. Conventional onsite sewage system installer. Each 
individual applying for an initial conventional onsite 
sewage system installer license shall pass a board-
approved examination and shall meet one of the following 
requirements: 

a. Have two years of full-time experience installing 
alternative or conventional onsite sewage systems during 
the last four years under the direct supervision of a 
properly licensed contractor holding a sewage disposal 
system (SDS) specialty issued by the Virginia Board for 
Contractors; or 
b. Have two years of full-time experience installing 
alternative or conventional onsite sewage systems during 
the last four years as a properly licensed contractor 
holding a sewage disposal system (SDS) specialty issued 
by the Virginia Board for Contractors; or 
c. Have documentation certifying that the applicant is 
competent to install conventional onsite sewage systems. 
Certification must be provided by any combination of 
three of the following individuals:  
(1) VDH Authorized Onsite Soil Evaluators (AOSE) for 
work performed prior to July 1, 2009;  
(2) Licensed interim onsite soil evaluators; 
(3) Licensed conventional or alternative onsite soil 
evaluators;  
(4) Licensed conventional or alternative onsite sewage 
system installers; or 
(5) Virginia licensed professional engineers. 

2. Conventional onsite sewage system installer. The 
examination requirement provided for in subdivision 1 of 
this subsection shall not apply to applicants seeking initial 
licensure as a conventional onsite sewage system installer 
provided that:  

a. The applicant is able to satisfactorily demonstrate that 
he has been actively engaged in performing the duties of 
a conventional onsite sewage system installer, as defined 
in this chapter, for at least eight years within the 12-year 
period immediately preceding the date of application. 
Documentation of being actively engaged in performing 
the duties of a conventional onsite sewage system 
installer, as defined in this chapter, for at least eight years 
within the 12-year period immediately preceding the date 
of application shall be provided by one or more of the 
following: 
(1) VDH Authorized Onsite Soil Evaluator (AOSE) for 
work performed prior to July 1, 2009;  
(2) Licensed interim onsite soil evaluator; 
(3) Licensed conventional or alternative onsite soil 
evaluator;  
(4) Licensed conventional or alternative onsite sewage 
system installer; or 
(5) Virginia licensed professional engineer; and  
b. The department receives a completed application no 
later than June 30, 2016. An individual who fails to have 
his application in the department's possession by June 30, 
2016, shall be required to pass the board-approved 
examination provided for in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection. 

3. Alternative onsite sewage system installer. Each 
individual applying for an initial alternative onsite sewage 
system installer license shall pass a board-approved 
examination and shall meet one of the following 
requirements: 

a. Provide contractor completion statements and 
associated operation permits issued by the VDH for work 
performed after June 30, 2009. The statements and 
permits must verify that the applicant had successfully 
installed 36 onsite sewage systems during the preceding 
three years, six of which must be alternative systems. All 
contractor completion statements and associated VDH 
operation permits shall be certified by either a licensed 
alternative onsite soil evaluator, a licensed conventional 
or alternative onsite sewage system installer, or a 
Virginia licensed professional engineer; 
b. Provide contractor completion statements and 
associated operation permits issued by the VDH for work 
performed on or before June 30, 2009. The statements 
and permits must verify that the applicant successfully 
installed 12 alternative onsite sewage systems during the 
past three years. All contractor completion statements 
and associated VDH operation permits shall be certified 
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by either an authorized onsite soil evaluator or a Virginia 
licensed professional engineer; 
c. Have two years of full-time experience installing 
sewage systems as a properly licensed contractor holding 
a sewage disposal system (SDS) specialty issued by the 
Virginia Board for Contractors and provide certification 
by at least three interim or alternative onsite soil 
evaluator licensees, Virginia-licensed professional 
engineers, or any combination thereof, that the applicant 
is competent to install alternative onsite sewage systems;  
d. Have two years of full-time experience installing 
sewage systems under the direct supervision a properly 
licensed contractor holding a sewage disposal system 
(SDS) specialty issued by the Virginia Board for 
Contractors and provide certification by at least three 
interim or alternative onsite soil evaluator licensees, 
Virginia-licensed professional engineers, or any 
combination thereof, that the applicant is competent to 
install alternative onsite sewage systems; or  
e. Have two years of full-time experience as a licensed or 
interim licensed conventional onsite sewage system 
installer and provide certification by at least three interim 
or alternative onsite soil evaluator licensees, Virginia-
licensed professional engineers, or any combination 
thereof, that the applicant is competent to install 
alternative onsite sewage systems. 

If the applicant is not listed on the completion statement but 
did perform the installation, then the individual named on the 
contractor's completion statement and associated operation 
permit issued by the VDH may certify the applicant's work 
performed on an alternative onsite sewage system that was 
installed prior to June 30, 2009, provided that the application 
is received by the department no later than June 30, 2010. 

D. Education and training substitution. Each individual 
applying for a conventional or an alternative onsite sewage 
system installer license may receive credit for up to half of 
the experience required by this section for: 

1. Satisfactory completion of postsecondary courses in 
wastewater, biology, chemistry, geology, hydraulics, 
hydrogeology, or soil science at the rate of one month per 
semester hour or two-thirds of a month per quarter hour; or 
2. Satisfactory completion of board-approved onsite 
sewage system installer training courses at the rate of one 
month for each training credit earned. Up to one training 
credit is awarded for each 10 hours of classroom contact 
time or for each 20 hours of laboratory exercise and field 
trip contact time. No credit towards training credits is 
granted for breaks, meals, receptions, and time other than 
classroom, laboratory and field trip contact time. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3570; Filed December 18, 2013, 3:46 p.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 68 (2013) 

Governor's Task Force on Improving Mental Health 
Services and Crisis Response 

Importance of the Initiative 

Over the years, including the events of April 16, 2007, 
Virginians have experienced tremendous heartache as a result 
of mental health tragedies. In response to the events at 
Virginia Tech, then-Governor Kaine, the General Assembly 
and I, as Attorney General, drew on work done by the 
Virginia Tech Review Panel and the Commission on Mental 
Health Law Reform to study and investigate the tragedy to 
strengthen the civil commitment process through legislation 
so individuals with serious mental illness can receive needed 
help in a timely manner. The 2008 budget also included an 
infusion of funds to build core community services such as 
emergency services, case management and outpatient 
commitment. Unfortunately, many of these gains were lost as 
a result of the economic downturn. 

Since that time, the General Assembly and I have worked 
together to bring targeted and impactful investments in 
community mental health services to help meet critical needs. 
These services include children's crisis response services, 
crisis intervention team (CIT) programs, secure assessment 
centers, child psychiatry and hospital discharge 
supports.  Many of these investments were recommended 
through the Governor's Taskforce on School and Campus 
Safety in response to the tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary 
School. These services are intended to prevent a developing 
crisis from escalating and connect individuals currently 
experiencing a crisis to appropriate services. While these 
programs and services are indeed demonstrating their 
effectiveness, we have recently seen that we must continue to 
find measures to assure the safety of persons suffering mental 
health crises along with their families, neighbors, and 
members of the community. 

Virginia's mental health system has transformed toward a 
community based system for individuals to receive treatment 
in their homes and community as appropriate. The mental 
health system is extremely complex and difficult to navigate 
for families seeking assistance and for workers within the 
system. Though state law helps guide the process, practices 
and services are determined locally and therefore vary across 
the Commonwealth. The mental health system for emergency 
services is dependent upon cooperation and communication 
from a variety of partners, including community services 
boards, law enforcement, the judicial system and private 
hospitals. Effective collaboration among these many parties 
ensures the most favorable outcomes for people in crisis. 
While emergency mental health services work for most 
people, it is critical that the mental health safety net responds 
effectively to all individuals and families in crisis.  

It is now time to improve our understanding of the issues 
facing our mental health system in order to seek solutions. 
Because the system is multifaceted, the solutions must be as 
well. 

While bolstering our ability to respond to mental health crises 
when they occur, we must seek ways to intervene early and 
prevent crises from developing. When interventions occur 
before mental illness becomes debilitating, people find 
treatment more manageable and the outcome can be sustained 
for longer periods. Virginia already has such crisis prevention 
services in place, such as outpatient psychiatric consultation, 
suicide prevention, psychiatric medication treatment plans 
and rehabilitation services. However, these services are in 
high demand, and are not consistently available across the 
commonwealth. 

Through this Executive Order, I am calling for leaders in the 
mental health field, law enforcement communities, the 
judicial system, private hospitals, and individuals receiving 
mental health services and their families to seek and 
recommend solutions that will improve Virginia's mental 
health crisis services and help prevent crises from developing. 

This group must rely on two principles based on numerous 
studies: that individuals with mental health disorders are not a 
greater threat to the community than anyone else unless drugs 
or alcohol are involved, and that even those with the most 
serious mental illnesses can recover to manage their 
symptoms and lead productive lives. Nevertheless, should 
they experience a mental health crisis, our duty is to connect 
them with needed services immediately to help ensure their 
safety and the safety of those around them. 

Truly improving Virginia's mental health system requires 
easing the difficult navigation through laws and procedures 
and facilitating the tremendous need to collaborate among 
many partners. It also involves reducing the frequency and 
intensity of acute mental health emergencies through crisis 
prevention services. 

To accomplish this, in accordance with the authority vested in 
me by Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and by § 2.2-
134 of the Code of Virginia, I hereby create the Governor's 
Task Force on Improving Mental Health Services and Crisis 
Response.  

Governor's Task Force on Improving Mental Health Services 
and Crisis Response 

The Task Force's responsibilities shall include the following: 

• Recommend refinements and clarifications of protocols 
and procedures for community services boards, state 
hospitals, law enforcement and receiving hospitals.  

• Review for possible expansion of the programs and 
services that assure prompt response to individuals in 
mental health crises and their families such as emergency 
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services teams, law enforcement crisis intervention teams 
(CIT), secure assessment centers, mobile crisis teams, crisis 
stabilization centers and mental health first aid. 

• Examine possible extensions or adjustments to the 
emergency custody order and the temporary detention order 
period. 

• Explore technological resources and capabilities, 
equipment, training and procedures to maximize the use of 
telepsychiatry. 

• Examine the cooperation that exists between the courts, 
law enforcement and mental health systems in communities 
that have incorporated crisis intervention teams and cross 
systems mapping. 

• Assess the availability of psychiatric beds in Virginia, the 
assessment process hospitals use to select which patients 
are appropriate for those beds, and to explore whether 
psychiatric bed registries and/or census management teams 
improve the process for locating beds. 

• Review for possible expansion those services that will 
provide ongoing support for individuals with mental illness 
and reduce the frequency and intensity of mental health 
crises. These services may include rapid, consistent access 
to outpatient treatment and psychiatric services, as well as 
critical supportive services such as wrap-around stabilizing 
services, peer support services, programs of assertive 
community treatment, housing, employment and case 
management.  

• Recommend legislative and budget proposals that will 
enable implementation of the above. 

• Recommend how families and friends of a loved one 
facing a mental health crisis can be taught to improve the 
environment and safety of an individual in crisis.  

• Examine workforce development activities and 
recommend any improvements to ensure an adequate 
mental health workforce.  

Task Force Membership 

The Task Force shall be co-chaired by the Secretary of Health 
and Human Resources and the Secretary of Public Safety.  

Membership shall include the following individuals or 
representatives: 

• The Attorney General of Virginia or his representative; 

• Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Virginia or her 
representative; 

• Commissioner of the Department of Behavioral Health 
and Developmental Services; 

• Commissioner of the Department of Social Services; 

• Superintendent of the Virginia State Police; 

• At least three community services board emergency 
services directors; 

• At least three law enforcement officers, including at least 
one sheriff; 

• At least two executive directors of community services 
boards; 

• At least two magistrates; 

• At least two private hospital emergency department 
physicians; 

• At least two psychiatrists; 

• At least one representative of a state mental health 
facility; 

• At least two representatives from Virginia's private 
hospital system; 

• At least two individuals receiving mental health services; 

• At least two family members of individuals receiving 
services; and 

• Two members of the House of Delegates and the Senate 
of Virginia. 

The Governor may appoint other members as he deems 
necessary. 

Task Force Staffing and Funding 

Necessary staff support for the Task Force's work during its 
existence shall be furnished by the Office of the Governor, 
the Office of the Attorney General, and the Offices of the 
Secretary of Health and Human Resources and the Secretary 
of Public Safety, as well as such other agencies and offices as 
designated by the Governor. An estimated 250 hours of staff 
time will be required to support the work of the Task Force.  

Necessary funding to support the Commission and its staff 
shall be provided from federal funds, private contributions, 
and state funds appropriated for the same purposes as the 
Task Force, as authorized by Section 2.2-135 of the Code of 
Virginia, as well as any other private sources of funding that 
may be identified. Estimated direct costs for this Commission 
are $1,000.00 per year.  

The Task Force shall commence its work promptly and send 
initial recommendations no later than January 31, 2014. The 
Task Force shall make additional recommendations on an 
ongoing basis and shall provide a final report to the Governor 
no later than October 1, 2014. The Task Force shall issue 
such other reports and recommendations as necessary or as 
requested by the Governor.  

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon signing and 
pursuant to § 2.2-135 of the Code of Virginia shall remain in 
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force and effect for one year from its signing unless amended 
or rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, this 10th day of December, 
2013.  

/s/ Robert F. McDonnell 
Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Development of Watershed Plan to Restore Water 
Quality at Fairview Beach 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 
written and oral comments from interested persons on the 
development of a watershed plan (WP) for impaired waters at 
Fairview Beach, located in King George County, Virginia. 
Fairview Beach (Potomac River) has been on the state's list of 
dirty, or impaired, waters since 2006. 

The use of this beach has been restricted due to excessive 
bacteria levels, resulting in beach closures at various times 
over the last nine years. The Virginia Department of Health 
has issued swimming advisories in order to protect the public 
from possible exposure to bacteria. 

Due to the fact that there is not currently a total maximum 
daily load (TMDL) for Fairview Beach, a watershed plan will 
be developed by DEQ and contractors in order to identify 
measurable goals for restoring water quality. The WP will 
also include the corrective actions needed and their associated 
costs, benefits, and environmental impacts. Information 
presented during a recent informational meeting can be found 
at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQuality 
InformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/Documentat
ionforSelectTMDLs.aspx. 

Actions to restore water quality at Fairview Beach will be the 
subject of a public meeting to be held February 20, 2014, 
from 6 p.m. until 8 p.m. at the Fairview Beach Firehouse, 
6060 Riverview Drive, King George, VA 22485. It should be 
noted that in the event of inclement weather and county 
school closures on February 20, 2014, the meeting will be 
rescheduled for February 27, 2014, from 6 p.m. until 8 p.m. at 
the Fairview Beach Firehouse. At this meeting, bacteria 
source studies and the process for developing the WP will be 
discussed, and citizens will learn how they can be a part of 
the public participation process. DEQ seeks information and 
involvement of local citizens in developing this plan. After a 
one-hour public meeting, stakeholders will break into 
working group sessions to discuss and provide input for the 
watershed plan.  

The 30-day public comment period on the information 
presented at the meeting will end March 20, 2014. Questions 
or information requests should be addressed to May Sligh, 
Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional 
Office, telephone (804) 450-3802, or email 
may.sligh@deq.virginia.gov, or to Jennifer Carlson, 
Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 
Office, telephone (703) 583-3859, or email 
jennifer.carlson@deq.virginia.gov. Though email comments 
are preferred, written comments and inquiries can also be 
submitted and should include the name, address, and 
telephone number of the person submitting the comments. 
Please send to May Sligh, Department of Environmental 

Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen 
Allen, VA 23060. 

Water Quality Improvement Plan - Cripple Creek 
(Smyth and Wythe Counties) and Elk Creek 

(Grayson County) 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality will hold 
a public meeting to present the draft water quality 
improvement plan for reducing agricultural and residential 
sources of bacteria in Cripple Creek (Smyth and Wythe 
Counties) and Elk Creek (Grayson County) on January, 28, 
2014. The meeting will be held from 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. at 
the Summerfield UMC Community Clubhouse located at 
4680 Carsonville Road, Fries, VA 24330, near the 
community of Elk Creek. Directions are provided at the end 
of this notice. 

Cripple Creek originates near Rural Retreat in Smyth County 
and flows east into the New River near Ivanhoe. Elk Creek is 
located in the northern half of Grayson County and flows into 
the New River a few miles west of Galax.  

Elk Creek and segments of Cripple Creek do not meet state 
water quality standards for E. coli (i.e., fecal bacteria). 
Elevated levels of E. coli indicate an increased risk of illness 
for people who come in contact with water in the affected 
streams. Bacteria sources identified in the area include failing 
septic systems, discharges of untreated human waste (i.e., 
straight pipes), and livestock waste.  

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality will 
present an overview of the types and amount of corrective 
actions that are needed to meet water quality goals and the 
framework through which stakeholders can implement the 
corrective actions. 

The public meeting provides an opportunity for citizens and 
interested parties to ask questions and provide comments on 
the plan, and it will begin a 30-day period during which 
written public comments will be accepted. 

Questions, information requests, and comments should be 
addressed to Patrick Lizon, TMDL/Watershed Field 
Coordinator, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, 
355-A Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, email 
patrick.lizon@deq.virginia.gov, or telephone (276) 676-4803. 
Comments must be submitted by February 28, 2014. 

Directions to the Summerfield UMC Community Clubhouse: 
From Wytheville in the north: from the junction of U.S. 
HWY 11 and U.S. HWY 21 in Wytheville, follow U.S. 21 
south approximately 20.2 miles to the community of Elk 
Creek at the junction of U.S. 21 and Comers Rock Road (Rd 
658). Continue on U.S. 21, for approximately 0.4 miles (just 
past the Elk Creek Rescue Squad station on the right) and 
turn left on Carsonville Road (Rd 660). Continue on 
Carsonville Road for 5 miles. The building is located at the 
intersection of Carsonville Road and Churchview Lane (Rd 
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717), on the left side of the road (Carsonville Road makes a 
sharp left turn at the intersection while Churchview Lane goes 
straight). From Independence in the south: Head north on 
U.S. HWY 21 for approximately 9.1 miles to the intersection 
of U.S. 21 and Carsonville Road (on the right side of U.S. 
21). The Carsonville Road intersection is on the right (just 
before the Elk Creek Rescue Squad building on the left side 
of U.S. 21). Follow the directions listed above to get from the 
Carsonville Road turnoff to the Summerfield UMC 
Community Clubhouse. 

Total Maximum Daily Load for Little Otter River 
Watershed and the Buffalo Creek Watershed 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) announces the release of an updated draft total 
maximum daily load (TMDL) report. Final public meeting 
was held on February 20, 2013, and since that meeting, 
changes were made to the draft TMDL report. The TMDL 
report was developed to document a study to restore water 
quality in the Little Otter River watershed and the Buffalo 
Creek watershed. The draft TMDL report is posted on the 
DEQ website at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn
formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLR
eports.aspx. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies are working to 
identify sources of biological impairment (general standard) 
in the Little Otter River watershed and the Buffalo Creek 
watershed. The general standard indicates the water quality 
does not support a natural aquatic invertebrate community.  

The following is the "impaired" stream, the length of the 
impaired segment, location and the reason for the impairment: 
Johns Creek, 2.13 miles, Bedford City and Bedford County, 
general standard (aquatic invertebrate community); Little 
Otter River, 21.62 miles, Bedford City and Bedford County, 
general standard (aquatic invertebrate community); Wells 
Creek, 3.78 miles, Bedford County, general standard (aquatic 
invertebrate community); Buffalo Creek, 8.09 miles, Bedford 
and Campbell Counties, general standard (aquatic 
invertebrate community).  

DEQ, in cooperation with the Virginia Department of 
Conservation and Recreation and other state and local 
agencies, developed a total maximum daily load (TMDL) 
study for the impaired waters. A TMDL is the total amount of 
a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 
quality standards. To restore water quality, contamination 
levels have to be reduced to the TMDL amount.  

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by February 13, 2014. DEQ also 
accepts written and oral comments at the public meeting 
announced in this notice. 

Contact: For additional information or to submit comments, 
contact Mary Dail, Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality, Blue Ridge Regional Office, 3019 Peters Creek 
Road, Roanoke, VA 24019, telephone (540) 562-6715, or 
email mary.dail@deq.virginia.gov. 

Additional information is also available on the DEQ website 
at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQual 
ityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment.aspx. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2010) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the State Board of Health is 
conducting a periodic review and small business impact 
review of 12VAC5-421, Food Regulations. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 
in Executive Order 14 (2010), which can be found at 
http://tinyurl.com/ExecutiveOrder142010. 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins January 13, 2014, and ends 
February 12, 2014. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Townhall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Allen Knapp, Director, Office of 
Environmental Health Services, 109 Governor Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7456, or email 
allen.knapp@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Townhall and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on December 20, 2013. The orders may be 
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viewed at the State Lottery Department, 900 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA, or at the office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 201 North 9th Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA. 

Director's Order Number Nine (14) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1465 "High StakesTM" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective March 18, 2014) 

Director's Order Number Eleven (14) 

Virginia Lottery's "2 Ways 2 Win" Second Chance 
Sweepstakes Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 
January 7, 2014) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seventeen (13) 

Virginia's Online Game Lottery; "Fast Play Blackjack 
Bonanza" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective on 
December 9, 2013. Upon the effective date, these rules shall 
supersede and replace any and all prior Virginia Lottery "Fast 
Play Blackjack Bonanza" game rules) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Eighteen (13) 

Virginia's Online Game Lottery; "Fast Play Cold Hard Cash" 
Final Rules for Game Operation (effective on December 9, 
2013. Upon the effective date, these rules shall supersede and 
replace any and all prior Virginia Lottery "Fast Play Cold 
Hard Cash" game rules) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Nineteen (13) 

Virginia's Online Game Lottery; "Fast Play Fast $50's Hot 
Slots Doubler" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective on 
December 9, 2013. Upon the effective date, these rules shall 
supersede and replace any and all prior Virginia Lottery "Fast 
Play Fast $50's Hot Slots Doubler" game rules) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty (13) 

Virginia's Online Game Lottery; "Fast Play Money Bag 
Crossword" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective on  
December 9, 2013. Upon the effective date, these rules shall 
supersede and replace any and all prior Virginia Lottery "Fast 
Play Money Bag Crossword" game rules) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty-Five (13) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1466 "$52 Million Cash 
Spectacular" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 
November 26, 2013) 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intent to Submit a State Plan Amendment 
Regarding the Alternative Benefit Plan 

(This modification does not change any benefits currently 
offered—it is only a procedural change required by the 
Affordable Care Act.) 

Pursuant to 42 CFR 440.305(d), the Virginia Department of 
Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) hereby affords the 
public notice of its intention to solicit public comment on the 
department's proposal to seek approval from the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) of a state plan 
amendment to modify the Alternative Benefit Plan (ABP) 
authorized under § 1937 of the Social Security Act for 
individuals who are eligible for the MEDICAID WORKS 
program. 

MEDICAID WORKS is Virginia's Medicaid Buy-In 
Program, a work incentive opportunity for individuals with 
disabilities. Established in January 2007, this voluntary plan 
option enables workers with disabilities to earn higher income 
and retain more in savings than is typically allowed by 
Medicaid while ensuring continued health care coverage. 
MEDICAID WORKS helps enrollees gain greater 
independence from public assistance programs and enables 
their contribution to the tax base of the community and to its 
economic growth. 

In 2008, DMAS received authorization to establish an 
optional alternative benefit plan for program enrollees to 
include personal assistance services, in addition to the 
standard health care services available through Medicaid. 
Personal assistance services, sometimes called attendant care, 
provide individuals with disabilities nonmedical support in 
the home or the workplace in order that they may continue to 
live at home, maintain employment and participate in 
community activities. 

The Affordable Care Act (ACA) requires that, as of January 
1, 2014, all ABPs provide services in 10 essential health 
benefit (EHB) categories (ambulatory services, emergency 
services hospitalization, maternity and newborn care, mental 
health and substance use disorder services, rehabilitation and 
habilitative services, prescription drugs, laboratory, 
preventive services, and pediatric services). This modification 
to the existing ABP for the MEDICAID WORKS program 
will ensure that this ABP includes all of the required services 
under each of the EHB categories, as well as all other services 
authorized under Virginia's Medicaid State Plan, and the 
personal assistance services. 

Any service limits or cost sharing currently authorized under 
the approved Medicaid State Plan will apply to the ABP. The 
ABP will include the full range of early periodic screening, 
diagnoses, and treatment (EPSDT) program benefits for 
individuals under the age of 21. 

Note: A separate communication will be issued to individuals 
enrolled in the program regarding the increase in the income 
limit that will be allowed under a forthcoming regulation. 

Comments or inquiries on DMAS' proposed state plan 
amendment to modify the ABP for the MEDICAID WORKS 
program may be sent, in writing, within 14 days of this notice 
publication to Jack Quigley, Policy and Research Division, 
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Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219. Such comments are available 
for review at the same address. 

Contact Information: Jack Quigley, Policy Analyst, Division 
of Policy and Research, Department of Medical Assistance 
Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-1300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or 
email jack.quigley@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy has conducted a 
small business impact review of 4VAC25-125, Regulations 
Governing Coal Stockpiles and Bulk Storage and 
Handling Facilities, and determined that this regulation 
should be retained in its current form. The Department of 
Mines, Minerals and Energy is publishing its report of 
findings dated December 16, 2013, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation is required by statute. It is necessary to protect 
the health and safety of miners working at underground and 
surface mines in the Commonwealth. DMME has reviewed 
the regulation and determined that it does not adversely 
impact small businesses. 

Contact Information: Michael Skiffington, Program Support 
Manager, 1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, or email 
michael.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for USDA - Forest Service, 
Flatwoods Job Corps Civilian Conservation Center 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the USDA - 
Forest Service, Flatwoods Job Corps Civilian Conservation 
Center for violations in Wise County. The proposed consent 
order addresses violations of the State Water Control Law and 
VPDES Permit No. VA0023027 at the Flatwoods Job Corps 
Civilian Conservation Center sewage treatment plant. A 
description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 
online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Ralph T. Hilt will accept 
comments by email at ralph.hilt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 
(276) 676-4899, or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355-A 
Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, from January 14, 
2014, to February 12, 2014. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Home Associates 
of Virginia, Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Home 
Associates of Virginia, Inc. for alleged violations of the State 

Water Control Law at the Sherwood Lakes Subdivision in 
Virginia Beach, VA. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 
named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Mr. Robin 
Schuhmann will accept comments by email at 
robin.schuhmann@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (757) 518-2009, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 
Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from January 13, 2014, to 
February 12, 2014. 

Amendment to Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation 

Notice of action: The State Water Control Board (board) is 
considering the amendment of the regulation on water quality 
management planning in accordance with the Public 
Participation Procedures for Water Quality Management 
Planning. A regulation is a general rule governing people's 
rights or conduct that is upheld by a state agency. 

Purpose of notice: The board is seeking comments through 
the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) on the 
proposed amendment. The purpose of the amendment to the 
state's Water Quality Management Planning Regulation 
(9VAC25-720) is to adopt four total maximum daily load 
(TMDL) waste load allocations.  

Public comment period: January 13, 2014, through February 
13, 2014. 

Description of proposed action: DEQ staff will propose 
amendments to the state's Water Quality Management 
Planning Regulation for the James River Basin (9VAC25-
720-60 A). Statutory authority for promulgating these 
amendments can be found in § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Staff intends to recommend that the board (i) approve the 
TMDL reports as the plan for the pollutant reductions 
necessary for attainment of water quality goals in the 
impaired segments, (ii) authorize inclusion of the TMDL 
reports in the appropriate Water Quality Management Plan, 
and (iii) adopt four TMDL waste load allocations as part of 
the state's Water Quality Management Planning Regulation in 
accordance with §§ 2.2-4006 A 4 c and 2.2-4006 B of the 
Code of Virginia. 

The TMDL reports were developed in accordance with 
federal regulations (40 CFR 130.7) and are exempt from the 
provisions of Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) of the Virginia Administrative Process Act. The 
reports were subject to the TMDL public participation 
process contained in DEQ's Public Participation Procedures 
for Water Quality Management Planning. The public 
comment process provides the affected stakeholders an 
opportunity for public appeal of the TMDL. The U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) approved the 
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TMDLs presented under this public notice. The approved 
reports can be found at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn
formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTM
DLReports.aspx. 

Affected waterbodies and localities: 

In the James River Basin (9VAC25-720-60): 

1. "Phelps Branch Sediment TMDL Development Report 
for a Benthic Impairment in Appomattox County, Virginia" 

• The Phelps Branch TMDL proposes sediment 
reductions for the watershed and provides a sediment 
wasteload allocation of 115.7 tons/year. 

2. "Sediment TMDL Development Report for Benthic 
Impairments in Long Branch and Buffalo River in Amherst 
County, Virginia" 

• The Long Branch and Buffalo River TMDLs propose 
sediment reductions for portions of the watershed and 
provide a sediment wasteload allocation of 16.2 
tons/year for Long Branch and 306.4 tons/year for 
Buffalo River. 

3. "Benthic Total Maximum Daily Load Development for 
Chickahominy River, Virginia" 

• The Chickahominy River TMDL, located in Hanover 
and Henrico Counties, proposes sediment reductions 
for portions of the watershed and provides a sediment 
wasteload allocation of 294.03 tons/year. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, and postal mail. All written comments must include the 
full name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by 5 p.m. on the last day of the 
comment period.  

How a decision is made: After comments have been 
considered, the board will make the final decision. Citizens 
who submit statements during the comment period may 
address the board members during the board meeting at which 
a final decision is made on the proposal.  

To review documents: The TMDL report is available on the 
DEQ website at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn
formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTM
DLReports.aspx and by contacting the DEQ representative 
named below. The electronic copies are in PDF format and 
may be read online or downloaded. 

Contact for public comments, document requests, and 
additional information: Liz McKercher, Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4291, FAX (804) 698-4032, or 
email elizabeth.mckercher@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Water Quality Management Planning 
Actions 

Notice of action: The State Water Control Board (board) is 
considering the approval of five total maximum daily load 
(TMDL) reports, and granting authorization to include the 
TMDL reports in the appropriate Water Quality Management 
Plans (WQMPs). 

Purpose of notice: The board is seeking comment on the 
proposed approvals and authorizations. The purpose of these 
actions is to approve five TMDL reports as Virginia's plans 
for the pollutant reductions necessary for attainment of water 
quality goals in impaired waterbodies. These actions are taken 
in accordance with the Public Participation Procedures for 
Water Quality Management Planning. 

Public comment period: January 13, 2014, through February 
13, 2014. 

Description of proposed action: Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) staff intends to recommend that the DEQ 
Director (i) approve the TMDL reports listed below as 
Virginia's plans for the pollutant reductions necessary for 
attainment of water quality goals in the impaired segments 
and (ii) authorize inclusion of the TMDL reports in the 
appropriate WQMPs. No regulatory amendments are required 
for these TMDLs and their associated waste load allocations. 

At the December 2, 2004, meeting, the board voted 
unanimously to delegate to the DEQ Director the authority to 
approve TMDLs that do not include waste load allocations 
requiring regulatory adoption by the board, provided that a 
summary report of the action the director plans to take is 
presented to the board prior to the director approving the 
TMDL reports. The TMDLs included in this public notice 
will be approved using this delegation of authority. 

The TMDLs listed below were developed in accordance with 
Federal Regulations (40 CFR 130.7) and are exempt from the 
provisions of Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) of the Virginia Administrative Process Act. The 
TMDLs have been through the TMDL public participation 
process contained in DEQ's Public Participation Procedures 
for Water Quality Management Planning. The public 
comment process provides the affected stakeholders an 
opportunity for public appeal of the TMDLs. the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency approved all TMDL 
reports presented under this public notice. The approved 
reports can be found at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn
formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTM
DLReports.aspx. 

Affected waterbodies and localities: 

In the Potomac – Shenandoah River Basin: 
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1. "Bacteria Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) 
Development for Tributaries to the Potomac River: Prince 
William and Stafford Counties" 

• Nine bacteria TMDLs, located in Prince William and 
Stafford Counties, propose bacteria reductions for 
portions of the watersheds to address primary contact 
(swimming use) impairments. 

2. "Bacteria TMDL Development for Tributaries to the 
Potomac River: Sugarland Run, Mine Run, and Pimmit 
Run" 

• Three bacteria TMDLs, located in Arlington, Fairfax, 
and Loudoun Counties, propose bacteria reductions for 
portions of the watersheds to address primary contact 
(swimming use) impairments. 

In the James River Basin:  

3. "Bacteria Total Maximum Daily Load Development for 
Hat Creek, Piney River, Rucker Run, Mill Creek, Rutledge 
Creek, Turner Creek, Buffalo River, and Tye River in 
Nelson County and Amherst County, Virginia"  

• Eight bacteria TMDLs, located in Nelson and 
Amherst Counties, propose bacteria reductions for 
portions of the watersheds to address primary contact 
(swimming use) impairments. 

4. "Bacteria Total Maximum Daily Load Development for 
Bent Creek, North Creek, Stonewall Creek, Walkers Ford 
Creek, and Wreck Island Creek"  

• Five bacteria TMDLs, located Amherst, Appomattox, 
Buckingham, and Campbell Counties, propose bacteria 
reductions for portions of the watershed to address 
primary contact (swimming use) impairments. 

In the Roanoke River Basin:  

5. "Bacterial TMDL Development for the Banister River 
(BAN06A08) and Winn Creek (WNN01A06) Watersheds" 

• Two bacteria TMDLs, located in Halifax and 
Pittsylvania Counties, propose bacteria reductions for 
portions of the watersheds to address the primary 
contact (swimming use). 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, and postal mail. All written comments must include the 
full name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by 5 p.m. on the last day of the 
comment period.  

How a decision is made: After comments have been 
considered, the board will make the final decision.  

To review documents: The TMDL reports and TMDL 
implementation plans are available on the DEQ website at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn
formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTM

DLReports.aspx  and by contacting the DEQ representative 
named below. The electronic copies are in PDF format and 
may be read online or downloaded. 

Contact for public comments, document requests, and 
additional information: Liz McKercher; Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4291, FAX (804) 698-4032, or 
email elizabeth.mckercher@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Water Quality Management Planning 
Actions 

Notice of action: The State Water Control Board (board) is 
considering the approval of seven total maximum daily load 
(TMDL) implementation plans (IPs) and granting 
authorization to include the TMDL IPs in the appropriate 
Water Quality Management Plans (WQMPs). 

Purpose of notice: The board is seeking comment on the 
proposed approvals and authorizations. The purpose of these 
actions is to approve seven TMDL IPs as Virginia's plans for 
the management actions necessary for attainment of water 
quality goals in several impaired waterbodies. These actions 
are taken in accordance with the Public Participation 
Procedures for Water Quality Management Planning. 

Public comment period: January 13, 2014, through February 
13, 2014. 

Description of proposed action: Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) staff intends to recommend that the DEQ 
Director (i) approve the TMDL IPs listed below as Virginia's 
plans for the management actions necessary for attainment of 
water quality goals in the impaired segments and (ii) 
authorize inclusion of the TMDL IPs in the appropriate 
WQMPs. No regulatory amendments are required for these 
TMDL IPs. 

At the June 28, 2005, meeting, the board voted unanimously 
to delegate to the DEQ Director the authority to approve 
TMDL implementation plans, provided that a summary report 
of the action the director plans to take is presented to the 
board prior to the director's approval. The TMDL 
implementation plans included in this public notice will be 
approved using this delegation of authority. 

The TMDLs listed below were developed in accordance with 
1997 Water Quality Monitoring, Information and Restoration 
Act (WQMIRA) (§§ 62.1-44.19:4 through 62.1-44.19:8 of the 
Code of Virginia) and federal recommendations. The TMDL 
IPs were developed in accordance with DEQ's Public 
Participation Procedures for Water Quality Management 
Planning. Extensive public participation was solicited during 
the development of the plans, and the public comment 
process provided the affected stakeholders with opportunities 
for comment on the proposed plans. The final TMDL IPs can 
be found at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationPlans.aspx
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formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImpl
ementationPlans.aspx. 

Affected waterbodies and localities: 

In the Potomac – Shenandoah River Basin: 

1. "Linville Creek Watershed Implementation Plan" 

• The IP proposes management actions needed to 
reduce bacteria and sediment and restore the primary 
contact and aquatic life uses in Linville Creek located 
in Rockingham County. 

2. "Spout Run Water Quality Improvement Plan" 

• The IP proposes management actions needed to 
reduce bacteria and sediment and restore the primary 
contact and aquatic life uses in Spout Run located in 
Clarke County. 

In the James River Basin: 

3. "Rockfish River Watershed TMDL Implementation 
Plan" 

• The IP proposes management actions needed to 
reduce bacteria and sediment and restore the primary 
contact and aquatic life uses in the Rockfish River 
watershed located in Nelson County. 

In the Roanoke River Basin: 

4. "Lower Banister River Watershed Implementation Plan" 

• The IP proposes management actions needed to 
reduce bacteria and restore the primary contact use in 
the Banister River watershed located in Halifax and 
Pittsylvania Counties. 

5. "South Mayo River, North Fork Mayo River, South Fork 
Mayo River, Blackberry Creek, Marrowbone Creek, 
Leatherwood Creek, and Smith River Watershed 
Implementation Plan" 

• The IP proposes management actions needed to 
reduce bacteria and restore the primary contact use in 
the Smith River and Mayo River watersheds located in 
Patrick, Henry, Floyd, and Franklin Counties. 

In the Tennessee - Big Sandy River Basin: 

6. "A Plan to Reduce Fecal Bacteria and Sediment in the 
Middle Fork Holston River and Wolf Creek Watersheds" 

• The IP proposes management actions needed to 
reduce bacteria and sediment and restore the primary 
contact and aquatic life uses in the Middle Fork 
Holston River and Wolf Creek watersheds located in 
Washington, Wythe, and Smyth Counties. 

In the Chesapeake Bay-Small Coastal-Eastern Shore Basin: 

7. "Water Quality Implementation Plan for Gwynns Island, 
Milford Haven and Piankatank River Watersheds (Upper 
and Lower)" 

• The IP proposes management actions needed to 
reduce bacteria and restore the shellfishing and 
primary contact uses contact use in the Piankatank 
River watershed located in Mathews, Middlesex, and 
Gloucester Counties. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, and postal mail. All written comments must include the 
full name, address, and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by 5 p.m. on the last day of the 
comment period.  

How a decision is made: After comments have been 
considered, the board will make the final decision.  

To review documents: The TMDL implementation plans are 
available on the DEQ website at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn
formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImpl
ementationPlans.aspx and by contacting the DEQ 
representative named below. The electronic copies are in PDF 
format and may be read online or downloaded. 

Contact for public comments, document requests, and 
additional information: Liz McKercher, Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4291, FAX (804) 698-4032, or 
email elizabeth.mckercher@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 
Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 
(804) 786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 
varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationPlans.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationPlans.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationPlans.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationPlans.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationPlans.aspx
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 
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