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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 
5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  
November 5, 2012. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 
Chairman; Gregory D. Habeeb; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 
McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; 
Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Timothy Oksman; 
Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 
Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

June 2014 through June 2015 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

30:20 May 14, 2014 June 2, 2014 

30:21 May 28, 2014 June 16, 2014 

30:22 June 11, 2014 June 30, 2014 

30:23 June 25, 2014 July 14, 2014 

30:24 July 9, 2014 July 28, 2014 

30:25 July 23, 2014 August 11, 2014 

30:26 August 6, 2014 August 25, 2014 

31:1 August 20, 2014 September 8, 2014 

31:2 September 3, 2014 September 22, 2014 

31:3 September 17, 2014 October 6, 2014 

31:4 October 1, 2014 October 20, 2014 

31:5 October 15, 2014 November 3, 2014 

31:6 October 29, 2014 November 17, 2014 

31:7 November 12, 2014 December 1, 2014 

31:8 November 25, 2014 (Tuesday) December 15, 2014 

31:9 December 10, 2014 December 29, 2014 

31:10 December 23, 2014 (Tuesday) January 12, 2015 

31:11 January 7, 2015 January 26, 2015 

31:12 January 21, 2015 February 9, 2015 

31:13 February 4, 2015 February 23, 2015 

31:14 February 18, 2015 March 9, 2015 

31:15 March 4, 2015 March 23, 2015 

31:16 March 18. 2015 April 6, 2015 

31:17 April 1, 2015 April 20, 2015 

31:18 April 15, 2015 May 4, 2015 

31:19 April 29, 2015 May 18, 2015 

31:20 May 13, 2015 June 1, 2015 

31:21 May 27, 2015 June 15, 2015 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Jeffrey Chase. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend definitions in 
18VAC115-20-10 and requirements for a degree program in 
counseling in 18VAC115-20-49 to accept master's degree 
graduates of a non-CACREP clinical-counseling psychology 
program. 

Agency's Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: While the members of the 
Board of Counseling expressed appreciation for the value of 
non-CACREP psychology programs, they did not agree that 
such programs have a counseling identity and focus. 
Therefore, they declined to amend the provisions of 
18VAC115-20-49, which have been in effect since April of 
2000. The board suggested that the petitioner may want to 
direct his petition to the Board of Psychology for 
consideration of an amendment to its regulations. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-02, Filed May 14, 2014, 2:49 p.m. 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Jacqueline Biggs. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend qualifications for 
supervisors of residents to include art therapists. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: While the members of the 
Board of Counseling appreciate the role of art therapy in 
counseling, it is not a licensed profession and therefore not 
subject to the statutory and regulatory authority of the board. 
There is no license on which to rely for competency, so 
anyone could claim to be an "art therapist" and register to 
supervise a resident. Many art therapists are licensed 
professional counselors and, in that capacity, are currently 
able to supervise a residency. Therefore, the board voted to 
deny the petition and will not amend its rules. 

Agency Contact: Catherine Chappell, Executive Director, 
Board of Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 
catherine.chappell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-17; Filed May 14, 2014, 2:50 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to consider amending 9VAC25-210, Virginia Water 
Protection Permit Program Regulation. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to (i) change the overall organization of the 
regulation so that it is more reader-friendly; (ii) incorporate 
policies and guidance developed in recent years; (iii) 
incorporate certain federal regulatory provisions relative to 
the program; and (iv) clarify the regulatory text by correcting 
grammar, spelling, cross references, and errors. Other 
amendments to the regulation may be considered by the board 
based on comments received in response to this notice or 
discussions of the regulatory advisory panel. 
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 401 of the Clean Water Act. 
Public Comment Deadline: July 2, 2014. 
Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4022, FAX (804) 
698-4347, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 
william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4015; Filed May 13, 2014, 9:03 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to consider amending 9VAC25-660, Virginia Water 
Protection General Permit for Impacts Less Than One-
Half Acre. The purpose of the proposed action is to (i) 
reissue this general permit, which expires in 2016, and allow 
for revisions to correct several administrative procedures; (ii) 
clarify certain definitions; (iii) revise application and 
permitting requirements to reflect current guidance and 
policies; (iv) incorporate certain federal regulatory provisions 
relative to the program; (v) increase efficiency; and (vi) make 
the general permit regulation more relevant and useful. The 
Virginia Water Protection Permit Program Regulation 
(9VAC25-210) provides authority for this general permit 
regulation, and applicable revisions to that program 
regulation must also be reflected in this general permit 
regulation. 
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 401 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.). 
Public Comment Deadline: July 2, 2014. 

Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4022, FAX (804) 
698-4347, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 
william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4057; Filed May 13, 2014, 9:04 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to consider amending 9VAC25-670, Virginia Water 
Protection General Permit for Facilities and Activities of 
Utility and Public Service Companies Regulated by the 
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission or the State 
Corporation Commission and Other Utility Line 
Acitivities. The purpose of the proposed action is to (i) 
reissue this general permit, which expires in 2016, and allow 
for revisions to correct several administrative procedures; (ii) 
clarify certain definitions; (iii) revise application and 
permitting requirements to reflect current guidance and 
policies; (iv) incorporate certain federal regulatory provisions 
relative to the program; (v) increase efficiency; and (vi) make 
the general permit regulation more relevant and useful. The 
Virginia Water Protection Permit Program Regulation 
(9VAC25-210) provides authority for this general permit 
regulation, and applicable revisions to that program 
regulation must also be reflected in this general permit 
regulation. 
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 401 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.). 
Public Comment Deadline: July 2, 2014. 
Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4022, FAX (804) 
698-4347, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 
william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4058; Filed May 13, 2014, 9:04 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to consider amending 9VAC25-680, Virginia Water 
Protection General Permit for Linear Transportation 
Projects. The purpose of the proposed action is to (i) reissue 
this general permit, which expires in 2016, and allow for 
revisions to correct several administrative procedures; (ii) 
clarify certain definitions; (iii) revise application and 
permitting requirements to reflect current guidance and 
policies; (iv) incorporate certain federal regulatory provisions 
relative to the program; (v) increase efficiency; and (vi) make 
the general permit regulation more relevant and useful. The 
Virginia Water Protection Permit Program Regulation 



Notices of Intended Regulatory Action 

Volume 30, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 2, 2014 

2427 

(9VAC25-210) provides authority for this general permit 
regulation, and applicable revisions to that program 
regulation must also be reflected in this general permit 
regulation. 
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 401 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.). 
Public Comment Deadline: July 2, 2014. 
Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4022, FAX (804) 
698-4347, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 
william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4059; Filed May 13, 2014, 9:05 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to consider amending 9VAC25-690, Virginia Water 
Protection General Permit for Impacts from Development 
and Certain Mining Activities. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to (i) reissue this general permit, which expires in 
2016, and allow for revisions to correct several administrative 
procedures; (ii) clarify certain definitions; (iii) revise 
application and permitting requirements to reflect current 
guidance and policies; (iv) incorporate certain federal 
regulatory provisions relative to the program; (v) increase 
efficiency; and (vi) make the general permit regulation more 
relevant and useful. The Virginia Water Protection Permit 
Program Regulation (9VAC25-210) provides authority for 
this general permit regulation, and applicable revisions to that 
program regulation must also be reflected in this general 
permit regulation. 
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 401 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.). 
Public Comment Deadline: July 2, 2014. 
Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4022, FAX (804) 
698-4347, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 
william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4060; Filed May 13, 2014, 9:05 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services intends to consider amending the 
following regulations:  
  12VAC30-50, Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical 
and Remedial Care Services; 
  12VAC30-60, Standards Established and Methods Used 
to Assure High Quality Care; 
  12VAC30-70, Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates - Inpatient Hospital Services; 
  12VAC30-80, Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rate; Other Types of Care; and 
  12VAC30-130, Amount, Duration and Scope of Selected 
Services. 
The purpose of the proposed action is to amend the 
reimbursement methodology for institutions for mental 
disease, such as freestanding public/private psychiatric 
hospitals and residential treatment centers. 
The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
Public Comment Deadline: July 2, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3714; Filed May 5, 2014, 12:21 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 
Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 
management of wildlife. The department is required by § 2.2-
4031 of the Code of Virginia to publish all proposed and final 
wildlife management regulations, including length of seasons 
and bag limits allowed on the wildlife resources within the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 
Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-65, 
4VAC15-20-130).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

June 10, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) establish a new combined 
license for persons hunting with a bow and arrow or a 
crossbow at a cost of $17 for residents and $30 for 
nonresidents; (ii) allow nonresident veterans who are 
totally and permanently disabled due to a service-
connected disability to purchase annual licenses to hunt or 
fish at a cost equal to one-quarter the fee for the state 
nonresident hunting or fishing license; (iii) establish a 
license for hunting foxes on horseback with hounds without 
firearms, at the cost of the standard hunting license; (iv) 
make corrections to the license fee table; (v) adopt the 
updated and modified federal list of endangered and 
threatened wildlife species; and (vi) remove the slabside 
pearlymussel from the Virginia List of Endangered and 
Threatened Species and correct errors in scientific or 
common names of species on the list. 

4VAC15-20-65. Hunting, trapping, and fishing license and 
permit fees. 

In accordance with the authority of the board under 
subdivision 16 of § 29.1-103 (16) of the Code of Virginia, the 
following fees are established for hunting, trapping, and 
fishing licenses and permits: 

Virginia Resident Licenses to Hunt 

Type license Fee 

1-year Resident License to Hunt, for 
licensees 16 years of age or older $22.00 

2-year Resident License to Hunt, for 
licensees 16 years of age or older $43.00 

3-year Resident License to Hunt, for 
licensees 16 years of age or older $64.00 

4-year Resident License to Hunt, for 
licensees 16 years of age or older $85.00 

County or City Resident License to Hunt in 
County or City of Residence Only, for 
licensees 16 years of age or older 

$15.00 

Resident Senior Citizen Annual License to 
Hunt, for licensees 65 years of age or older $8.00 

Resident Junior License to Hunt, for 
licensees 12 through 15 years of age, 
optional for licensees under 12 years of age 

$7.50 

Resident Youth Combination License to 
Hunt, and to hunt bear, deer, and turkey, to 
hunt with bow and arrow during archery 
hunting season, and to hunt with 
muzzleloading guns during muzzleloading 
hunting season, for licensees under 16 
years of age 

$15.00 

Resident Sportsman License to Hunt and 
Freshwater Fish, and to hunt bear, deer, and 
turkey, to hunt with bow and arrow or a 
crossbow during archery hunting season, to 
hunt with muzzleloading guns during 
muzzleloading hunting season, to fish in 
designated stocked trout waters, and to 
hunt with a crossbow (also listed under 
Virginia Resident Licenses to Fish) 

$132.00 
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Resident Junior Lifetime License to Hunt, 
for licensees under 12 years of age at the 
time of purchase 

$255.00 

Resident Lifetime License to Hunt, for 
licensees at the time of purchase:  

through 44 years of age $260.00 

45 through 50 years of age $210.00 

51 through 55 years of age $160.00 

56 through 60 years of age $110.00 

61 through 64 years of age $60.00 

65 years of age and over $20.00 

Resident Hunting License for Partially 
Disabled Veterans  $11.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident 
Special Lifetime License to Hunt $15.00 

Service-Connected Totally and 
Permanently Disabled Veteran Resident 
Lifetime License to Hunt and or Freshwater 
Fish (also listed under Virginia Resident 
Licenses to Fish) 

$15.00 no 
fee 

  

Virginia Resident Licenses for Additional Hunting 
Privileges 

Type license or permit Fee 

Resident Bear, Deer, and Turkey Hunting 
License, for licensees 16 years of age or 
older 

$22.00 

Resident Junior Bear, Deer, and Turkey 
Hunting License, for licensees under 16 
years of age 

$7.50 

Resident Archery License to Hunt with 
bow and arrow or crossbow during archery 
hunting season 

$17.00 

Resident Crossbow License to Hunt with 
crossbow during archery hunting season $17.00 

Resident Muzzleloading License to Hunt 
during muzzleloading hunting season $17.00 

Resident Bonus Deer Permit $17.00 

Resident Fox Hunting License to hunt 
foxes on horseback with hounds without 
firearms (not required of an individual 
holding a general License to Hunt) 

$22.00 

  

Virginia Nonresident Licenses to Hunt 

Type license Fee 

Nonresident License to Hunt, for licensees 
16 years of age or older $110.00 

Nonresident Three-Day Trip License to 
Hunt $59.00 

Nonresident Youth License to Hunt, for 
licensees:   

under 12 years of age $12.00 

12 through 15 years of age $15.00 

Nonresident Youth Combination License to 
Hunt, and to hunt bear, deer, and turkey, to 
hunt with bow and arrow during archery 
hunting season, and to hunt with 
muzzleloading guns during muzzleloading 
hunting season, for licensees under 16 
years of age 

$30.00 

Nonresident Annual Hunting License for 
Partially Disabled Veterans $55.00 

Nonresident Annual Hunting License for 
Totally and Permanently Disabled Veterans $27.50 

Nonresident Lifetime License to Hunt $555.00 

  

Virginia Nonresident Licenses for Additional Hunting 
Privileges 

Type license or permit Fee 

Nonresident Bear, Deer, and Turkey 
Hunting License, for licensees:  

 16 years of age or older $85.00 

12 through 15 years of age $15.00 

under 12 years of age $12.00 

Nonresident Archery License to Hunt with 
bow and arrow or crossbow during archery 
hunting season 

$30.00 

Nonresident Crossbow License to Hunt 
with crossbow during archery hunting 
season 

$30.00 

Nonresident Muzzleloading License to 
Hunt during muzzleloading hunting season $30.00 

Nonresident Shooting Preserve License to 
Hunt within the boundaries of a licensed 
shooting preserve 

$22.00 
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Nonresident Bonus Deer Permit $30.00 

Nonresident Fox Hunting License to hunt 
foxes on horseback with hounds without 
firearms (not required of an individual 
holding a general License to Hunt) 

$110.00 

  

Miscellaneous Licenses or Permits to Hunt 

Type license or permit Fee 

Waterfowl Hunting Stationary Blind in 
Public Waters License  $22.50 

Waterfowl Hunting Floating Blind in Public 
Waters License $40.00 

Foxhound Training Preserve License $17.00 

Public Access Lands for Sportsmen Permit 
to Hunt, Trap, or Fish on Designated Lands 
(also listed under Miscellaneous Licenses or 
Permits to Fish) 

$17.00 

  

Virginia Resident and Nonresident Licenses to Trap 

Type license Fee 

1-year Resident License to Trap, for 
licensees 16 years of age or older $45.00 

2-year Resident License to Trap, for 
licensees 16 years of age or older $89.00 

3-year Resident License to Trap, for 
licensees 16 years of age or older $133.00 

4-year Resident License to Trap, for 
licensees 16 years of age or older $177.00 

County or City Resident License to Trap in 
County or City of Residence Only $20.00 

Resident Junior License to Trap, for 
licensees under 16 years of age $10.00 

Resident Senior Citizen License to Trap, 
for licensees 65 years of age or older $8.00 

Resident Senior Citizen Lifetime License 
to Trap, for licensees 65 years of age or 
older 

$20.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident 
Special Lifetime License to Trap $15.00 

Service-Connected Totally and 
Permanently Disabled Veteran Resident 
Lifetime License to Trap 

$15.00 

Nonresident License to Trap $205.00 

  

Virginia Resident Licenses to Fish 

Type license Fee 

1-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $22.00 

2-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $43.00 

3-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $64.00 

4-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $85.00 

County or City Resident License to 
Freshwater Fish in County or City of 
Residence Only 

$15.00 

Resident License to Freshwater Fish, for 
licensees 65 years of age or older $8.00 

Resident License to Fish in Designated 
Stocked Trout Waters $22.00 

Resident License to Freshwater and 
Saltwater Fish $39.00 

Resident License to Freshwater Fish for 
Five Consecutive Days $13.00 

Resident License to Freshwater and 
Saltwater Fish for Five Consecutive Days $23.00 

Resident Sportsman License to Hunt and 
Freshwater Fish, and to hunt bear, deer, and 
turkey, to hunt with bow and arrow or 
crossbow during archery hunting season, to 
hunt with muzzleloading guns during 
muzzleloading hunting season, to fish in 
designated stocked trout waters, and to 
hunt with a crossbow (also listed under 
Virginia Resident Licenses to Hunt) 

$132.00 

Resident Special Lifetime License to 
Freshwater Fish, for licensees at the time of 
purchase:  

through 44 years of age $260.00 

45 through 50 years of age $210.00 

51 through 55 years of age $160.00 

56 through 60 years of age $110.00 

61 through 64 years of age $60.00 

65 years of age and over $20.00 
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Resident Special Lifetime License to Fish 
in Designated Stocked Trout Waters, for 
licensees at the time of purchase:  

through 44 years of age $260.00 

45 through 50 years of age $210.00 

51 through 55 years of age $160.00 

56 through 60 years of age $110.00 

61 through 64 years of age $60.00 

65 years of age and over $20.00 

Resident Fishing License for Partially 
Disabled Veterans $11.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident 
Special Lifetime License to Freshwater 
Fish 

$15.00 

Service-Connected Totally and 
Permanently Disabled Veteran Resident 
Lifetime License to Hunt and Freshwater 
Fish (also listed under Virginia Resident 
Licenses to Hunt)  

$15.00 no 
fee 

  

Virginia Nonresident Licenses to Fish 

Type license Fee 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish $46.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish in 
Designated Stocked Trout Waters $46.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater and 
Saltwater Fish $70.00 

Nonresident Fishing License for Partially 
Disabled Veterans $23.00 

Nonresident Annual Fishing License for 
Totally and Permanently Disabled Veterans $11.50 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish for 
One Day $7.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish for 
Five Consecutive Days $20.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater and 
Saltwater Fish for Five Consecutive Days $30.00 

Nonresident Special Lifetime License to 
Freshwater Fish $555.00 

Nonresident Special Lifetime License to in 
Fish in Designated Stocked Trout Waters $555.00 

  

Miscellaneous Licenses or Permits to Fish 

Type license or permit Fee 

Permit to Fish for One Day at Board-
Designated Stocked Trout Fishing Areas 
with Daily Use Fees 

$7.00 

Public Access Lands for Sportsmen Permit 
to Hunt, Trap, or Fish on Designated Lands 
(also listed under Miscellaneous Licenses or 
Permits to Hunt) 

$17.00 

Special Guest Fishing License $60.00 

4VAC15-20-130. Endangered and threatened species; 
adoption of federal list; additional species enumerated.  

A. The board hereby adopts the Federal Endangered and 
Threatened Species List, Endangered Species Act of 
December 28, 1973 (16 USC §§ 1531-1543), as amended as 
of August 13, 2012 February 24, 2014, and declares all 
species listed thereon to be endangered or threatened species 
in the Commonwealth. Pursuant to § 29.1-103.12 of the Code 
of Virginia, the director of the department is hereby delegated 
authority to propose adoption of modifications and 
amendments to the Federal Endangered and Threatened 
Species List in accordance with the procedures of §§ 29.1-
501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. In addition to the provisions of subsection A of this 
section, the following species are declared endangered or 
threatened in this Commonwealth, and are afforded the 
protection provided by Article 6 (§ 29.1-563 et seq.) of 
Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia:  

1. Fish:   

  Endangered:     

  Dace, Tennessee Phoxinus tennesseensis   

  Darter, sharphead Etheostoma acuticeps   

  Darter, variegate Etheostoma variatum   

  Sunfish, 
blackbanded  

Enneacanthus 
chaetodon   

  Threatened:   

  Darter, Carolina Etheostoma collis   

  Darter, golden Etheostoma denoncourti   

  Darter, greenfin  Etheostoma 
chlorobranchium   

  Darter, longhead 
sickle 

Percina macrocephala 
willliamsi   

  Darter, western 
sand 

Ammocrypta clara   
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  Madtom, orangefin Noturus gilberti   

  Paddlefish Polyodon spathula   

  Shiner, emerald Notropis atherinoides   

  Shiner, steelcolor Cyprinella whipplei   

  Shiner, whitemouth Notropis alborus   

2. Amphibians:   

  Endangered:   

  Salamander, 
eastern tiger 

Ambystoma tigrinum 
tigrinum   

  Threatened:   

  Salamander, 
Mabee's 

Ambystoma mabeei   

  Treefrog, barking Hyla gratiosa   

3. Reptiles:   

  Endangered:   

  Rattlesnake, 
canebrake (Coastal 
Plain population of 
timber rattlesnake) 

Crotalus horridus 

  

  Turtle, bog Glyptemys 
muhlenbergii   

  Turtle, eastern 
chicken 

Deirochelys reticularia 
reticularia   

  Threatened:   

  Lizard, eastern 
glass 

Ophisaurus ventralis   

  Turtle, wood Glyptemys insculpta   

4. Birds:   

  Endangered:     

  Plover, Wilson's Charadrius wilsonia   

 Rail, black Laterallus jamaicensis  
  Wren, Bewick's Thryomanes bewicki 

bewickii bewickii   

  Threatened:   

  Falcon, peregrine Falco peregrinus   

  Sandpiper, upland Bartramia longicauda   

  Shrike, loggerhead Lanius ludovicianus   

  Sparrow, Aimophila aestivalis   

Bachman's 

  Sparrow, 
Henslow's  

Ammodramus 
henslowii   

  Tern, gull-billed  Sterna nilotica   

5. Mammals:   

  Endangered:   

  Bat, Rafinesque's 
eastern big-eared  

Corynorhinus 
rafinesquii macrotis   

  Hare, snowshoe Lepus americanus   

  Shrew, American 
water 

Sorex palustris   

  Vole, rock Microtus chrotorrhinus   

   Threatened:  

 Shrew, Dismal 
Swamp 
southeastern 

Sorex longirostris 
fisheri  

6. Molluscs:   

  Endangered:   

  Ghostsnail, 
thankless 

Holsingeria 
unthanksensis   

  Coil, rubble  Helicodiscus lirellus   

  Coil, shaggy Helicodiscus diadema   

  Deertoe Truncilla truncata   

  Elephantear Elliptio crassidens   

  Elimia, spider Elimia arachnoidea   

  Floater, brook  Alasmidonta varicosa   

  Heelsplitter, 
Tennessee 

Lasmigona holstonia   

  Lilliput, purple Toxolasma lividus   

  Mussel, 
slippershell  

Alasmidonta viridis   

  Pigtoe, Ohio 
cordatum 

Pleurobema cordatum   

  Pigtoe, pyramid Pleurobema rubrum   

  Springsnail, 
Appalachian 

Fontigens bottimeri   

  Springsnail (no 
common name) 

Fonitgens morrisoni   

  Supercoil, spirit  Paravitrea hera   
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  Threatened:   

  Floater, green Lasmigona subviridis   

  Papershell, fragile Leptodea fragilis   

  Pearlymussel, 
slabside 

Lexingtonia 
dolabelloides   

  Pigtoe, Atlantic  Fusconaiamasoni   

  Pimpleback  Quadrula pustulosa 
pustulosa   

  Pistolgrip Tritogonia verrucosa   

  Riversnail, spiny  Iofluvialis   

  Sandshell, black Ligumia recta   

  Supercoil, brown Paravitrea septadens   

7. Arthropods:   

  Threatened:   

  Amphipod, Madison 
Cave 

Stygobromus 
stegerorum   

  Pseudotremia, Ellett 
Valley 

Pseudotremia 
cavernarum   

  Xystodesmid, Laurel 
Creek 

Sigmoria whiteheadi   

8. Crustaceans:   

  Endangered: 

  Crayfish, Big Sandy Cambarus veteranus   

C. It shall be unlawful to take, transport, process, sell, or 
offer for sale within the Commonwealth any threatened or 
endangered species of fish or wildlife except as authorized by 
law. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4038; Filed May 14, 2014, 10:23 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 
Miscellaneous: in General (amending 4VAC15-20-50).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

July 8, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230 

Public Comment Deadline: June 20, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 
The proposed amendments (i) update the referenced year 
of the department's "List of Native and Naturalized Fauna 
of Virginia" and (ii) exempt from the definition of domestic 
animals those swine that are free-roaming or wild.  

4VAC15-20-50. Definitions; "wild animal," "native 
animal," "naturalized animal," "nonnative (exotic) 
animal," and "domestic animal."  

In accordance with § 29.1-100 of the Code of Virginia, the 
following terms shall have the meanings ascribed to them by 
this section when used in regulations of the board:  

"Native animal" means those species and subspecies of 
animals naturally occurring in Virginia, as included in the 
department's 2012 2014 "List of Native and Naturalized 
Fauna of Virginia," with copies available in the Richmond 
and regional offices of the department.  

"Naturalized animal" means those species and subspecies of 
animals not originally native to Virginia which that have 
established wild, self-sustaining populations, as included in 
the department's 2012 2014 "List of Native and Naturalized 
Fauna of Virginia," with copies available in the Richmond 
and regional offices of the department.  

"Nonnative (exotic) animal" means those species and 
subspecies of animals not naturally occurring in Virginia, 
excluding domestic and naturalized species.  

The following animals are defined as domestic animals:  
Domestic dog (Canis familiaris), including wolf hybrids.  
Domestic cat (Felis catus), including hybrids with wild 
felines.  
Domestic horse (Equus caballus), including hybrids with 
Equus asinus.  
Domestic ass, burro, and donkey (Equus asinus).  
Domestic cattle (Bos taurus and Bos indicus).  
Domestic sheep (Ovis aries) including hybrids with wild 
sheep.  
Domestic goat (Capra hircus).  
Domestic swine (Sus scrofa domestica), including pot-
bellied pig excluding any swine that are free-roaming or 
wild.  
Llama (Lama glama).  
Alpaca (Lama pacos).  
Camels (Camelus bactrianus and Camelus dromedarius).  
Domesticated races of hamsters (Mesocricetus spp.).  
Domesticated races of mink (Mustela vison) where adults 
are heavier than 1.15 kilograms or their coat color can be 
distinguished from wild mink.  
Domesticated races of red fox (Vulpes) where their coat 
color can be distinguished from wild red fox.  
Domesticated races of guinea pigs (Cavia porcellus).  
Domesticated races of gerbils (Meriones unguiculatus).  
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Domesticated races of chinchillas (Chinchilla laniger).  
Domesticated races of rats (Rattus norvegicus and Rattus 
rattus).  
Domesticated races of mice (Mus musculus).  
Domesticated races of European rabbit (Oryctolagus 
cuniculus).  
Domesticated races of chickens (Gallus).  
Domesticated races of turkeys (Meleagris gallopavo).  
Domesticated races of ducks and geese distinguishable 
morphologically from wild birds.  
Feral pigeons (Columba domestica and Columba livia) and 
domesticated races of pigeons.  
Domesticated races of guinea fowl (Numida meleagris).  
Domesticated races of peafowl (Pavo cristatus). 

"Wild animal" means any member of the animal kingdom, 
except domestic animals, including without limitation any 
native, naturalized, or nonnative (exotic) mammal, fish, bird, 
amphibian, reptile, mollusk, crustacean, arthropod or other 
invertebrate, and includes any hybrid of them, except as 
otherwise specified in regulations of the board, or part, 
product, egg, or offspring of them, or the dead body or parts 
of them.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4050; Filed May 14, 2014, 10:25 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-30. Definitions and 
Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., of 
Animals (amending 4VAC15-30-40).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

June 10, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary:  

The proposed amendments (i) add certain nonnative 
species of animals currently included on the federal list of 
endangered and threatened species to the list of predatory 
and undesirable species, (ii) add the oriental weatherfish 
to the list of predatory and undesirable species, (iii) update 
taxonomic references in the list of predatory and 
undesirable species, and (iv) repeal an exception for 
certain animals from the requirement that all individuals 
in possession of animals included on the list of predatory 
and undesirable species apply for a department permit to 
exhibit wild animals in Virginia. 

4VAC15-30-40. Importation requirements, possession and sale of nonnative (exotic) animals.  
A. Permit required. A special permit is required and may be issued by the department, if consistent with the department's fish 

and wildlife management program, to import, possess, or sell those nonnative (exotic) animals listed below and in 4VAC15-20-
210 that the board finds and declares to be predatory or undesirable within the meaning and intent of § 29.1-542 of the Code of 
Virginia, in that their introduction into the Commonwealth will be detrimental to the native fish and wildlife resources of 
Virginia:  

AMPHIBIANS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Anura Bufonidae Rhinella marina Cane toad* 

Pipidae Hymenochirus spp. 
Pseudohymenochiris merlini 

African dwarf frog 

Xenopus spp. Tongueless or African 
clawed frog 

Caudata Ambystomatidae Ambystoma tigrium 
mavortium All species 

Barred tiger salamander 
All mole salamanders 

A. t. diaboli Gray tiger salamander 

A. t. melanostictum Blotched tiger salamander 

BIRDS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Psittaciformes Psittacidae  Myiopsitta monachus Monk parakeet* 
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Anseriformes Anatidae  Cygnus olor Mute swan 

FISH: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Cypriniformes  Catostomidae Catostomus microps Modoc sucker 

Catostomus santaanae Santa Ana sucker 

Catostomus warnerensis Warner sucker  

Ictiobus bubalus  Smallmouth* buffalo 

I. cyprinellus Bigmouth* buffalo 

I. niger  Black buffalo* 

Characidae Pygopristis spp. 
Pygocentrus spp. 
Rooseveltiella spp. 
Serrasalmo spp. 
Serrasalmus spp. 
Taddyella spp. 

Piranhas 

Cobitidae Misgurnus anguillicaudatus Oriental weatherfish 

Cyprinidae Aristichyhys nobilis Bighead carp* 

Chrosomus saylori Laurel dace 

Ctenopharyngodon idella Grass carp or white amur 

Cyprinella caerulea Blue shiner 

Cyprinella formosa Beautiful shiner 

Cyprinella lutrensis  Red shiner 

Hypophthalmichthys molitrix Silver carp* 

Mylopharyngodom piceus Black carp* 

Notropis albizonatus Palezone shiner 

Notropis cahabae Cahaba shiner 

Notropis girardi Arkansas River shiner 

Notropis mekistocholas Cape Fear shiner 

Notropis simus pecosensis Pecos bluntnose shiner 

Notropis topeka (=tristis) Topeka shiner 

Phoxinus cumberlandensis Blackside dace 

Rhinichthys osculus 
lethoporus 

Independence Valley 
speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus 
nevadensis 

Ash Meadows speckled 
dace 

Rhinichthys osculus 
oligoporus 

Clover Valley speckled 
dace 

Rhinichthys osculus ssp. Foskett speckled dace 
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Rhinichthys osculus thermalis Kendall Warm Springs 
dace 

Scardinius erythrophthalmus Rudd 

Tinca tinca Tench* 

Cyprinodontiformes Poeciliidae Gambusia gaigei Big Bend gambusia 

Gambusia georgei San Marcos gambusia 

Gambusia heterochir Clear Creek gambusia 

Gambusia nobilis Pecos gambusia 

Peociliopsis occidentalis Gila topminnow 

Gasterosteiformes Gasterosteidae Gasterosteus aculeatus 
williamsoni 

Unarmored threespine 
stickleback 

Gobiesociformes Gobiidae Proterorhinus marmoratus Tubenose goby 

Neogobius melanostomus Round goby 

Perciformes Channidae Channa spp. 
Parachanna spp. 

Snakeheads 

Cichlidae Tilapia spp. Tilapia 

Gymnocephalus cernuum Ruffe* 

  Elassomatidae Elassoma alabamae Spring pygmy sunfish 

Percidae Crystallaria cincotta Diamond darter 

Etheostoma chermocki Vermilion darter 

Etheostoma boschungi Slackwater darter 

Etheostoma chienense Relict darter 

Etheostoma etowahae Etowah darter 

Etheostoma fonticola Fountain darter 

Etheostoma moorei Yellowcheek darter 

Etheostoma nianguae Niangua darter 

Etheostoma nuchale Watercress darter 

Etheostoma okaloosae Okaloosa darter 

Etheostoma phytophilum Rush darter 

Etheostoma rubrum Bayou darter 

Etheostoma scotti Cherokee darter 

Etheostoma sp. Bluemask (= jewel) darter 

Etheostoma susanae Cumberland darter 

Etheostoma wapiti Boulder darter 

Percina antesella Amber darter 

Percina aurolineata Goldline darter 
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Percina jenkinsi Conasauga logperch 

Percina pantherina Leopard darter 

Percina tanasi Snail darter 

Scorpaeniformes Cottidae Cottus sp. Grotto sculpin 

Cottus paulus (= pygmaeus) Pygmy sculpin 

Siluriformes Clariidae All species Air-breathing catfish 

Ictaluridae Noturus baileyi Smoky madtom 

Noturus crypticus Chucky madtom 

Noturus placidus Neosho madtom 

Noturus stanauli Pygmy madtom 

Noturus trautmani Scioto madtom 

Synbranchiformes Synbranchidae Monopterus albus Swamp eel 

MAMMALS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Artiodactyla Suidae  All Species Pigs or Hogs* 

Cervidae All Species Deer* 

Carnivora Canidae All Species Wild Dogs*, Wolves, 
Coyotes or Coyote 
hybrids, Jackals and 
Foxes 

Ursidae All Species Bears* 

Procyonidae All Species Raccoons and* 
Relatives 

Mustelidae All Species 
(except Mustela putorius furo) 

Weasels, Badgers,* 
Skunks and Otters 
Ferret 

Viverridae All Species Civets, Genets,* 
Lingsangs, Mongooses, 
and Fossas 

Herpestidae All Species Mongooses* 

Hyaenidae All Species Hyenas and 
Aardwolves* 

Felidae All Species Cats* 

Chiroptera   All Species Bats* 

Lagomorpha Lepridae Brachylagus idahoensis Pygmy rabbit 

Lepus europeaeous European hare 

Oryctolagus cuniculus European rabbit 

Sylvilagus bachmani riparius Riparian brush rabbit 
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Sylvilagus palustris hefneri Lower Keys marsh 
rabbit 

Rodentia   All species native to Africa All species native to 
Africa 

Dipodidae Zapus hudsonius preblei Preble's meadow 
jumping mouse 

Muridae Microtus californicus scirpensis Amargosa vole 

Microtus mexicanus 
hualpaiensis 

Hualapai Mexican vole 

Microtus pennsylvanicus 
dukecampbelli 

Florida salt marsh vole 

Neotoma floridana smalli Key Largo woodrat 

Neotoma fuscipes riparia Riparian (= San Joaquin 
Valley) woodrat 

Oryzomys palustris natator Rice rat 

Peromyscus gossypinus 
allapaticola 

Key Largo cotton 
mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus 
allophrys 

Choctawhatchee beach 
mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus 
ammobates 

Alabama beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus 
niveiventris  

Southeastern beach 
mouse  

Peromyscus polionotus 
peninsularis 

St. Andrew beach 
mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus phasma Anastasia Island beach 
mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus 
trissyllepsis 

Perdido Key beach 
mouse 

Reithrodontomys raviventris Salt marsh harvest 
mouse 

Heteromyidae Dipodomys heermanni 
morroensis 

Morro Bay kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys ingens  Giant kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys merriami parvus San Bernadino 
Merriam's kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys nitratoides exilis Fresno kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys nitratoides 
nitratoides 

Tipton kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys stephensi (including 
D. cascus) 

Stephens' kangaroo rat 

Perognathus longimembris Pacific pocket mouse 
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pacificus 

Sciuridae Cynomys spp. Prairie dogs 

Spermophilus brunneus 
brunneus 

Northern Idaho ground 
squirrel 

Tamiasciurus hudsonicus 
grahamensis 

Mount Graham red 
squirrel 

Soricomorpha Soricidae Sorex ornatus relictus Buena Vista Lake 
ornate shrew 

MOLLUSKS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Neotaenioglossa Hydrobiidae Potamopyrgus antipodarum New Zealand mudsnail 

Veneroida Dreissenidae Dreissena bugensis  Quagga mussel 

Dreissena polymorpha  Zebra mussel 

REPTILES: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Squamata Crocodilia Alligatoridae All species Alligators, caimans* 

Colubridae Boiga irregularis Brown tree snake* 

Crocodylidae  All species Crocodiles*  

Gavialidae All species Gavials* 

Squamata Colubridae Boiga irregularis Brown tree snake* 

CRUSTACEANS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Decapoda Cambaridae Cambarus aculabrum Cave crayfish 

Cambarus zophonastes Cave crayfish 

Orconectes rusticus Rusty crayfish 

Orconectes shoupi Nashville crayfish 

Pacifastacus fortis Shasta crayfish 

Procambarus sp. Marbled crayfish 

Parastacidae Cherax spp. Australian crayfish 

Varunidea Eriocheir sinensis Chinese mitten crab 

B. Temporary possession permit for certain animals. 
Notwithstanding the permitting requirements of subsection A, 
a person, company or corporation possessing any nonnative 
(exotic) animal, designated with an asterisk (*) in subsection 
A, prior to July 1, 1992, must declare such possession in 
writing to the department by January 1, 1993. This written 
declaration shall serve as a permit for possession only, is not 
transferable, and must be renewed every five years. This 
written declaration must include species name, common 
name, number of individuals, date or dates acquired, sex (if 

possible), estimated age, height or length, and other 
characteristics such as bands and band numbers, tattoos, 
registration numbers, coloration, and specific markings. 
Possession transfer will require a new permit according to the 
requirements of this subsection.  

C. Exception for certain monk parakeets. A permit is not 
required for monk parakeets (quakers) that have been captive 
bred and are closed-banded with a seamless band.  

D. Exception for parts or products. A permit is not required 
for parts or products of those nonnative (exotic) animals 
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listed in subsection A that may be used for personal use, in 
the manufacture of products, or used in scientific research, 
provided that such parts or products be packaged outside the 
Commonwealth by any person, company, or corporation duly 
licensed by the state in which the parts originate. Such 
packages may be transported into the Commonwealth, 
consistent with other state laws and regulations, so long as the 
original package remains unbroken, unopened and intact until 
its point of destination is reached. Documentation concerning 
the type and cost of the animal parts ordered, the purpose and 
date of the order, point and date of shipping, and date of 
receiving shall be kept by the person, business or institution 
ordering such nonnative (exotic) animal parts. Such 
documentation shall be open to inspection by a representative 
of the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries.  

E. Exception for certain mammals. Nonnative (exotic) 
mammals listed in subsection A, except members of the 
Cervidae family, African rodents, and prairie dogs, that are 
imported or possessed by dealers, exhibitors, transporters, and 
researchers who are licensed or registered by the United 
States Department of Agriculture under the Animal Welfare 
Act (7 USC §§ 2131 et seq.) will be deemed to be permitted 
pursuant to this section, provided that those individuals 
wanting to import such animals notify the department 24 
hours prior to importation with a list of animals to be 
imported, a schedule of dates and locations where those 
animals will be housed while in the Commonwealth, and a 
copy of the current license or licenses or registration or 
registrations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, and 
further provided that such animals shall not be liberated 
within the Commonwealth.  

F. E. Exception for prairie dogs. The effective date of listing 
of prairie dogs under subsection A of this section shall be 
January 1, 1998. Prairie dogs possessed in captivity in 
Virginia on December 31, 1997, may be maintained in 
captivity until the animals' deaths, but they may not be sold 
on or after January 1, 1998, without a permit.  

G. F. Exception for snakehead fish. Anglers may legally 
harvest snakehead fish of the family Channidea, provided that 
they immediately kill such fish and that they notify the 
department, as soon as practicable, of such actions.  

H. G. All other nonnative (exotic) animals. All other 
nonnative (exotic) animals not listed in subsection A of this 
section may be possessed, purchased, and sold; provided, that 
such animals shall be subject to all applicable local, state, and 
federal laws and regulations, including those that apply to 
threatened/endangered species, and further provided, that 
such animals shall not be liberated within the 
Commonwealth.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4039; Filed May 14, 2014, 10:23 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-30. Definitions and 
Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., of 
Animals (amending 4VAC15-30-10).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

July 8, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230 

Public Comment Deadline: June 20, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendment prohibits marking fish with fish 
tagging equipment for personal information or research by 
prohibiting the conducting of research on any wild animal 
unless otherwise specifically permitted by law or 
regulation. 

4VAC15-30-10. Possession, importation, sale, etc., of wild 
animals.  

Under the authority of §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-521 of the 
Code of Virginia it shall be unlawful to take, possess, conduct 
research, import, cause to be imported, export, cause to be 
exported, buy, sell, offer for sale, or liberate within the 
Commonwealth any wild animal unless otherwise specifically 
permitted by law or regulation. Unless otherwise stated, for 
the purposes of identifying species regulated by the board, 
when both the scientific and common names are listed, the 
scientific reference to genus and species will take precedence 
over common names.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4051; Filed May 14, 2014, 10:26 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-50. Game: Bear (amending 
4VAC15-50-11, 4VAC15-50-71, 4VAC15-50-110, 
4VAC15-50-120).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

June 10, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Legislation enacted in the 2014 Session of the General 
Assembly legalized most forms of hunting on Sundays and 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 2, 2014 

2441 

allows muzzleloading pistols to be used for hunting in 
seasons when muzzleloading rifles are permitted. The 
proposed amendments (i) incorporate hunting on Sundays 
into the various bear hunting and bear hound training 
seasons and (ii) allow the use of muzzleloading pistols for 
the purpose of hunting deer during muzzleloading gun 
hunting season. 

4VAC15-50-11. Open season; generally. 
A. It shall be lawful to hunt bears within:  

Location Season 

Accomack County  Closed 

Albemarle County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Alleghany County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Amelia County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Amherst County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Appomattox County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Arlington County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Augusta County  
(North of US-250)  

Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Augusta County 
(South of US-250)  

Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Bath County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Bedford County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Bland County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Botetourt County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Brunswick County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Buchanan County  
First Monday in December 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Buckingham County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Campbell County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Caroline County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Carroll County  
First Monday in December and 
for 17 consecutive hunting 19 
days following. 

Charles City County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Charlotte County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Chesapeake (City of)  
October 1 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Chesterfield County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Clarke County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Craig County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Culpeper County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Cumberland County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Dickenson County  
First Monday in December 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 
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Dinwiddie County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Essex County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Fairfax County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Fauquier County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Floyd County  
First Monday in December and 
for 17 consecutive hunting 19 
days following. 

Fluvanna County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Franklin County  
First Monday in December and 
for 17 consecutive hunting 19 
days following. 

Frederick County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Giles County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Gloucester County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Goochland County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Grayson County  
First Monday in December and 
for 17 consecutive hunting 19 
days following. 

Greene County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Greensville County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Halifax County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Hanover County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Henrico County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Henry County  
First Monday in December and 
for 17 consecutive hunting 19 
days following. 

Highland County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Isle of Wight County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

James City County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

King and Queen 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

King George County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

King William 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Lancaster County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Lee County  
First Monday in December 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Loudoun County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Louisa County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Lunenburg County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Madison County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 
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Mathews County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Mecklenburg 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Middlesex County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Montgomery County 
 (southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December and 
for 17 consecutive hunting 19 
days following. 

Montgomery County 
(northwest of I-81)  

Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Nelson County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

New Kent County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Northampton 
County  Closed 

Northumberland 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Nottoway County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Orange County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Page County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Patrick County  
First Monday in December and 
for 17 consecutive hunting 19 
days following. 

Pittsylvania County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Powhatan County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Prince Edward 
County 

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Prince George 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Prince William 
County  

Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Pulaski County  
(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December and 
for 17 consecutive hunting 19 
days following. 

Pulaski County  
(northwest of I-81)  

Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Rappahannock 
County  

Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Richmond County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Roanoke County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Rockbridge County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Rockingham County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Russell County 
(except on the 
Channels State 
Forest and Clinch 
Mountain WMA) 

First Monday in December 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Russell County (on 
the Channels State 
Forest and Clinch 
Mountain WMA) 

Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Scott County  
First Monday in December 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Shenandoah County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 
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Smyth County 
(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December and 
for 17 consecutive hunting 19 
days following. 

Smyth County  
(northwest of I-81)  

Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Southampton 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Spotsylvania County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Stafford County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Suffolk (City of)  
October 1 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Surry County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Sussex County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Tazewell County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Virginia Beach (City 
of)  

October 1 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Warren County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Washington County  
(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December and 
for 17 consecutive hunting 19 
days following. 

Washington County 
(northwest of I-81 
and east of Route 
19)  

First Monday in December 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Washington County 
(northwest of I-81 
and west of Route 
19)  

First Monday in December and 
for 17 consecutive hunting 19 
days following. 

Westmoreland 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

Wise County  
First Monday in December 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Wythe County  
(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December and 
for 17 consecutive hunting 19 
days following. 

Wythe County  
(northwest of I-81)  

Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

York County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting days 
following. 

B. Except as provided in the subsection A of this section, 
bears may be hunted from the Saturday prior to the fourth 
Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, 
both dates inclusive, within the incorporated limits of any city 
that allows bear hunting.  
4VAC15-50-71. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt bear during the special 
muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 
Saturday prior to the second Monday in November through 
the Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 
inclusive, except in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and 
Virginia Beach. 

B. It shall be unlawful to hunt bear with dogs during any 
special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns, except 
that tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 
Virginia may be used. 

C. A muzzleloading gun, for the purpose of this section, 
means a single shot weapon, excluding muzzleloading 
pistols, .45 caliber or larger, firing a single projectile or sabot 
(with a .38 caliber or larger projectile) of the same caliber 
loaded from the muzzle of the weapon and propelled by at 
least 50 grains of black powder (or black powder equivalent 
or smokeless powder). 

D. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession any 
firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting with a 
muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season. 
4VAC15-50-110. Use of dogs in hunting bear. 

A. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 
during the open season for hunting deer in the counties west 
of the Blue Ridge Mountains and in the counties of Amherst 
(west of Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its 
intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the town of Amherst 
continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), Bedford, and 
Nelson (west of Route 151); and within the boundaries of the 
national forests, except that tracking dogs as defined in 
§ 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be used. 

B. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 
during the first 12 hunting 14 days of the open season for 
hunting deer in the counties of Greene and Madison, except 
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that tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 
Virginia may be used. 

C. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear in 
the counties of Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern 
Railroad), Carroll (east of the New River), Fairfax, Floyd, 
Franklin, Grayson (east of the New River), Henry, Loudoun, 
Montgomery (south of Interstate 81), Patrick, Pittsylvania 
(west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Pulaski (south of 
Interstate 81), Roanoke (south of Interstate 81), Wythe 
(southeast of the New River or that part bounded by Route 21 
on the west, Interstate 81 on the north, the county line on the 
east, the New River on the southeast and Cripple Creek on the 
south); in the city of Lynchburg; and on Amelia, Chester F. 
Phelps, G. Richard Thompson, and Pettigrew wildlife 
management areas, except that tracking dogs as defined in 
§ 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be used. 
4VAC15-50-120. Bear hound training season.  

A. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 
capturing or taking, from the second Saturday in August 
through the last Saturday in September, both dates inclusive, 
in all counties and cities or in the portions in which bear 
hunting is permitted except in the counties of Accomack, 
Amelia, Appomattox, Brunswick, Buckingham, Campbell, 
Caroline, Carroll, Charles City, Charlotte, Chesterfield, 
Clarke, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, 
Floyd, Fluvanna, Franklin, Frederick, Gloucester, Goochland, 
Grayson, Greensville, Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, Henry, Isle 
of Wight, James City, King & Queen, King George, King 
William, Lancaster, Loudoun, Louisa, Lunenburg, Mathews, 
Mecklenburg, Middlesex, Montgomery (south of Interstate 
81), New Kent, Northampton, Northumberland, Nottoway, 
Orange, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince Edward, 
Prince George, Prince William, Pulaski (south of Interstate 
81), Richmond, Roanoke (south of Interstate 81), Smyth 
(south of Interstate 81), Southampton, Spotsylvania, Stafford, 
Surry, Sussex, Washington (south of Interstate 81), 
Westmoreland, Wythe (south of Interstate 81), and York, and 
in the cities of Hampton, Newport News and Norfolk.  

B. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 
capturing or taking, from the Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 12 consecutive hunting 14 days 
following, both dates inclusive, in the counties of Amelia, 
Appomattox, Buckingham, Brunswick, Campbell (east of the 
Norfolk Southern Railroad), Charles City, Charlotte, 
Cumberland, Essex, Gloucester, Greensville, Halifax, Isle of 
Wight, James City, King and Queen, King George, King 
William, Lancaster, Lunenburg, Mathews, Mecklenburg, 
Middlesex, New Kent, Northumberland, Nottoway, 
Pittsylvania (east of the Norfolk Southern Railroad), Prince 
Edward, Prince George, Richmond, Southampton, Surry, 
Sussex, Westmoreland, and York. 

C. It shall be lawful to chase black bears with dogs, without 
capturing or taking, in the counties of Brunswick, 
Greensville, Lunenburg, and Mecklenburg from the first 

Saturday in September through the third Saturday in 
September, both dates inclusive. 

D. It shall be unlawful to have in possession a firearm, bow, 
crossbow or any weapon capable of taking a black bear while 
participating in the bear hound training season. The meaning 
of "possession" for the purpose of this section shall include, 
but not be limited to, having a firearm, bow, crossbow or any 
weapon capable of taking a black bear in or on one's person, 
vehicle, or conveyance.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4040; Filed May 14, 2014, 10:24 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-80. Game: Crow (amending 
4VAC15-80-10).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

June 10, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) remove Mondays and add 
Sundays as days on which it is legal to hunt crows during 
crow open season and (ii) adjust the ending day of the 
season so as to keep the total number of available crow 
hunting days constant. 

4VAC15-80-10. Open season.  
It shall be lawful to hunt crow on Monday, Wednesday, 

Friday and, Saturday, and Sunday of each week from the third 
Saturday in August through the third Saturday Friday in 
March, both dates inclusive.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4041; Filed May 14, 2014, 10:24 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending 
4VAC15-90-10, 4VAC15-90-70, 4VAC15-90-80, 4VAC15-
90-91, 4VAC15-90-260, 4VAC15-90-293).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

June 10, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 
The proposed amendments incorporate hunting on 
Sundays into the various deer hunting seasons and allow 
the use of muzzleloading pistols to hunt deer during 
muzzleloading gun hunting season, pursuant to legislation 
enacted in the 2014 Session of the General Assembly. The 
proposed amendments also correct inadvertent omissions 
from amendments adopted by the board in 2013 that (i) 
adjust the days either-sex deer may be taken with 
muzzleloading guns in Shenandoah County, (ii) prohibit 
the importation of any cervid carcass or part, with certain 
exceptions, from an enclosure intended to confine deer or 
elk, and (iii) allow the importation of skulls or skull plates 
with or without antlers.  

4VAC15-90-10. Open season; generally.  
A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer in the following localities, 

including the cities and towns therein, during the following 
seasons, all dates inclusive.  

Locality Season 

Accomack County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Albemarle County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Alleghany County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Amelia County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Amherst County (west 
of Business U.S. 29 
from the James River 
to its intersection with 
U.S. 29 just south of 
the Town of Amherst 
continuing north on 
U.S. 29 to the Tye 
River) 

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Amherst County (east 
of Business U.S. 29, as 
defined above) 

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Appomattox County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Arlington County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Arlington County 
(antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September 
through the Friday prior to the 
first Saturday in October and 
the Monday Sunday following 
the first Saturday in January 
through the last Saturday 
Sunday in March 

Augusta County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Bath County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Bedford County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Bland County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Botetourt County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Brunswick County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Buchanan County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Buckingham County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Campbell County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Caroline County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 
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Carroll County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Charles City County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Charlotte County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Chesapeake (City of)  October 1 through November 
30 

Chesterfield County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Clarke County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Craig County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Culpeper County 
(except Chester F. 
Phelps Wildlife 
Management Area) 

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Culpeper County 
(Chester F. Phelps 
Wildlife Management 
Area) 

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Cumberland County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Dickenson County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Dinwiddie County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Essex County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Fairfax County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Fairfax County 
(antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September 
through the Friday prior to the 
first Saturday in October and 
the Monday Sunday following 
the first Saturday in January 
through the last Saturday 
Sunday in March 

Fauquier County 
(except Chester F. 
Phelps Wildlife 
Management Area) 

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Fauquier County 
(Chester F. Phelps 
Wildlife Management 
Area) 

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Floyd County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
24 28 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Fluvanna County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Franklin County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
24 28 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Frederick County 
(non-national forest 
lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Frederick County 
(national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Giles County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Gloucester County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Goochland County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Grayson County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 
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Greene County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Greensville County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Halifax County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Hanover County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Henrico County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Henry County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
24 28 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Highland County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Isle of Wight County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

James City County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

King and Queen 
County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

King George County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

King William County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Lancaster County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Lee County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Loudoun County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Loudoun County 
(antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September 
through the Friday prior to the 
first Saturday in October and 
the Monday Sunday following 
the first Saturday in January 
through the last Saturday 
Sunday in March 

Louisa County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Lunenburg County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Madison County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Mathews County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Mecklenburg County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Middlesex County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Montgomery County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Nelson County  
(west of Route 151) 

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Nelson County  
(east of Route 151) 

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

New Kent County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Northampton County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Northumberland 
County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 
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Nottoway County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Orange County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Page County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Patrick County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
24 28 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Pittsylvania County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Powhatan County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Prince Edward County 
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Prince George County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Prince William County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Prince William County 
(antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September 
through the Friday prior to the 
first Saturday in October and 
the Monday Sunday following 
the first Saturday in January 
through the last Saturday 
Sunday in March 

Pulaski County (except 
on New River Unit of 
the Radford Army 
Ammunition Plant 
adjacent to the Town 
of Dublin) 

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Pulaski County (New 
River Unit of the 
Radford Army 
Ammunition Plant 
adjacent to the Town 
of Dublin) 

Saturday prior to the second 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Rappahannock County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Richmond County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Roanoke County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Rockbridge County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Rockingham County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Russell County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Scott County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Shenandoah County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Smyth County 

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Southampton County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Spotsylvania County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Stafford County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Suffolk (City of)  
(east of Dismal Swamp 
Line) 

October 1 through November 
30 
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Suffolk (City of)  
(west of Dismal 
Swamp Line) 

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Surry County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Sussex County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Tazewell County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Virginia Beach (City 
of)  

October 1 through November 
30 

Warren County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Washington County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Westmoreland County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

Wise County  

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

Wythe County 

Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 
12 14 consecutive hunting days 
following 

York County  
Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November through 
the first Saturday in January 

B. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, east of 
the Blue Ridge Mountains deer may be hunted from the 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, within the 
incorporated limits of any city or town that allows deer 
hunting. 

C. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, west 
of the Blue Ridge Mountains deer may be hunted from the 
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 12 
14 consecutive hunting days following within the 
incorporated limits of any city or town that allows deer 
hunting. 

4VAC15-90-70. Bow and arrow hunting. 
A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 

archery season with bow and arrow from the first Saturday in 
October through the Friday prior to the third Monday in 
November, both dates inclusive. 

B. In addition to the season provided in subsection A of this 
section, it shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 
archery season with bow and arrow from the Monday Sunday 
following the close of the general firearms season on deer 
through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, in 
all cities, towns, and counties west of the Blue Ridge 
Mountains (except Clarke County and on non-national forest 
lands in Frederick County) and in the counties (including the 
cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of Business U.S. 
29 from the James River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just 
south of the Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to 
the Tye River), Bedford, Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of 
Route 151), Patrick and on the Chester F. Phelps Wildlife 
Management Area and on national forest lands in Frederick 
County and from December 1 through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive, in the cities of Chesapeake, 
Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp Line), and Virginia 
Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 
special archery seasons as provided in subsections A and B of 
this section (except on PALS (Public Access Lands) in 
Dickenson County where it shall be unlawful to take 
antlerless deer during the special archery seasons provided for 
in subsections A and B of this section). 

D. It shall be unlawful to carry firearms while hunting with 
bow and arrow during the special archery seasons, except that 
a muzzleloading gun, as defined in 4VAC15-90-80, may be 
in the possession of a properly licensed muzzleloading gun 
hunter when and where a special archery deer season overlaps 
a special muzzleloading deer season. 

E. Arrows used for hunting big game must have a minimum 
width head of 7/8 of an inch and the bow used for such 
hunting must be capable of casting a broadhead arrow a 
minimum of 125 yards. 

F. It shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with bow 
and arrow during any special archery season, except that 
tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 
Virginia may be used. 

G. For the purpose of the application of subsections A 
through I to this section, the phrase "bow and arrow" includes 
crossbows. 

H. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special 
urban archery season with bow and arrow from the first 
Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 
Saturday in October, both dates inclusive, and from the 
Monday Sunday following the first Saturday in January 
through the last Saturday Sunday in March, both dates 
inclusive, within the incorporated limits of any city or town in 
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the Commonwealth (except on national forest and 
department-owned lands) and counties with a human 
population density of 300 persons per square mile or more 
(except on national forest and department-owned lands), 
provided that its governing body submits by certified letter to 
the department prior to April 1, its intent to participate in the 
special urban archery season. Any city, town, or county no 
longer participating in this season shall submit by certified 
letter to the department prior to April 1 notice of its intent not 
to participate in the special urban archery season. 

I. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special 
antlerless archery season with a bow and arrow from the 
Monday following the last Saturday Sunday in March through 
the last Saturday Sunday in April, both dates inclusive, in 
Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William counties 
(including the cities and towns within). 
4VAC15-90-80. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 
muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 
Saturday prior to the first Monday in November through the 
Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 
inclusive, in all cities, towns, and counties where deer hunting 
with a rifle or muzzleloading gun is permitted, except in the 
cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp 
Line), and Virginia Beach.  

B. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 
muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns starting 18 21 
consecutive hunting days immediately prior to and inclusive 
of on the first Saturday in January, in all cities, towns, and 
counties west of the Blue Ridge Mountains (except Clarke 
County and on non-national forest lands in Frederick 
County), and east of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the 
counties (including the cities and towns within) of Amherst 
(west of Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its 
intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst 
continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), Bedford, 
Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151), Patrick and on 
national forest lands in Frederick County and in the cities of 
Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp Line), and 
Virginia Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 
special muzzleloading season east of the Blue Ridge 
Mountains unless otherwise noted below:  

- Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 
only of the early special muzzleloading season on state 
forest lands, state park lands (except Occoneechee State 
Park), department-owned lands and Philpott Reservoir. 
- Antlered bucks only—no either sex deer hunting days 
during the early special muzzleloading season on national 
forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson counties. 

D. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 
only during the early special muzzleloading season west of 
the Blue Ridge Mountains unless otherwise noted below: 

- Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 
special muzzleloading season in Clarke and Floyd counties 
and on private lands in Carroll, Frederick, Grayson, 
Montgomery, Roanoke, Shenandoah, and Warren counties. 
- Antlered bucks only—no either sex deer hunting days 
during the early special muzzleloading season in 
Buchanan, Dickenson, Lee, Russell, Smyth, Tazewell, 
Washington, and Wise counties and on national forest 
lands in Alleghany, Botetourt, Frederick, Grayson, Page, 
Rockingham, Scott, Shenandoah, Warren, and on national 
forest and department-owned lands in Augusta, Bath, 
Highland, and Rockbridge counties and on Grayson 
Highlands State Park and on private lands west of Routes 
613 and 731 in Rockingham County. 

E. Deer of either sex may be taken during the last six days of 
the late special muzzleloading season unless otherwise listed 
below: 

- Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 
entire late special muzzleloading season in the counties 
(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of 
Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection 
with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing 
north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River, except on national forest 
lands), Bedford (except on national forest lands), Floyd, 
Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151, except on 
national forest lands), and Patrick and on private lands in 
Carroll, Grayson, Montgomery, Roanoke, Shenandoah, and 
Warren counties and in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk 
(east of the Dismal Swamp Line), and Virginia Beach. 
- Deer of either sex may be taken the last day only during 
the late special muzzleloading season in Alleghany, Bath, 
Dickenson (north of Route 83), Highland, Lee, Russell, 
Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, and Wise counties 
and on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, 
Botetourt, Frederick, Grayson, Nelson, Page, Rockingham, 
Shenandoah, and Warren counties, and on national forest 
and department-owned lands in Augusta and Rockbridge 
counties and on private lands west of Routes 613 and 731 
in Rockingham County and Grayson Highlands State Park. 
- Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 
during the late special muzzleloading season in Buchanan 
and Dickenson (south of Route 83). 

F. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 
special muzzleloading seasons within the incorporated limits 
of any city or town in the Commonwealth that allows deer 
hunting except in the counties of Buchanan, Dickenson, and 
Wise. 

G. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during any 
special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns, except 
that tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 
Virginia may be used. 

H. A muzzleloading gun, for the purpose of this section, 
means a single shot weapon, excluding muzzleloading 
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pistols, .45 caliber or larger, firing a single projectile or sabot 
(with a .38 caliber or larger projectile) of the same caliber 
loaded from the muzzle of the weapon and propelled by at 
least 50 grains of black powder (or black powder equivalent 
or smokeless powder). 

I. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession any 
firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting with a 
muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season.  
4VAC15-90-91. General firearms season either-sex deer 
hunting days. 

A. During the general firearms deer season, deer of either 
sex may be taken within:  

Accomack County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 
Albemarle County: full season. 
Alleghany County: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  
Amelia County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 
12 hunting 13 days. 

-Amelia WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last six hunting days.  

Amherst County (east of Business U.S. 29 from the James 
River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the 
Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 
River): the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and the last 
24 hunting 27 days.  
Amherst County (west of Business U.S. 29 from the James 
River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the 
Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 
River): full season.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  
Appomattox County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last 12 hunting 13 days.  

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and 
third Saturdays.  
-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 

Arlington County: full season.  
Augusta County: the second Saturday and the last six 
hunting days.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 
hunting day.  

Bath County: the second Saturday and the last hunting day.  
-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 
hunting day.  

Bedford County: full season.  
-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Bland County: the second Saturday and the last two 
hunting days. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Botetourt County: full season.  
-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Brunswick County: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last 12 hunting 13 days.  
Buchanan County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 
days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 
taken.  
Buckingham County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last 12 hunting 13 days.  

-Horsepen Lake WMA: the second and third Saturdays 
and the last six hunting days. 
-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and 
third Saturdays.  
-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 

Campbell County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 24 hunting 27 days.  
Caroline County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 

-Mattaponi WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last six hunting days. 

Carroll County: full season.  
-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 
Saturday and the last hunting day.  

Charles City County: full season.  
-Chickahominy WMA: the second Saturday after 
Thanksgiving. 

Charlotte County: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last 12 hunting 13 days.  
Chesapeake (City of): full season. 
Chesterfield County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last 12 hunting 13 days. 
Clarke County: full season.  
Craig County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Culpeper County: full season. 
-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday and the 
last hunting day.  

Cumberland County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last 12 hunting 13 days. 

-Cumberland State Forest: the second and third 
Saturdays. 

Dickenson County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 
days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 
taken.  
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Dinwiddie County: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last 12 hunting 13 days.  
Essex County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and 
the last 24 hunting 27 days. 
Fairfax County: full season (restricted to certain parcels of 
land by special permit).  
Fauquier County: full season.  

-G. Richard Thompson WMA: the second Saturday and 
the last hunting day.  
-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday and the 
last hunting day.  

Floyd County: full season.  
Fluvanna County: second and third Saturdays and the last 
12 hunting 13 days.  
Franklin County: full season.  

-Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 
hunting days.  
-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 
the last six hunting days.  

Frederick County: full season  
-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Giles County: full season. 
-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Gloucester County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 
Goochland County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 24 hunting 27 days.  
Grayson County: full season.  

-National forest lands and Grayson Highlands State Park: 
antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with 
antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Greene County: full season. 
Greensville County: full season.  
Halifax County: full season.  
Hanover County: full season. 
Henrico County: full season. 
Henry County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 
12 hunting 13 days. 

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 
Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 
hunting days.  
-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 
the last six hunting days.  

Highland County: the second Saturday and the last hunting 
day.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 
hunting day.  

Isle of Wight County: full season.  
-Ragged Island WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 
be taken.  

James City County: full season. 
King and Queen County: the second, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 
King George County: the second, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 
King William County: the second, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 
Lancaster County: full season.  
Lee County: the second Saturday and the last two hunting 
days.  

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 
be taken.  

Loudoun County: full season.  
Louisa County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and 
the last 24 hunting 27 days.  
Lunenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last 12 hunting 13 days.  
Madison County: full season. 

-Rapidan WMA: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 

Mathews County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and last 24 hunting 27 days. 
Mecklenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last 12 hunting 13 days.  

-Dick Cross WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last six hunting days. 

Middlesex County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 
and last 24 hunting 27 days.  
Montgomery County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Nelson County (east of Route 151): the second, third, and 
fourth Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days.  

-James River WMA: the second Saturday and the last six 
hunting days.  

Nelson County (west of Route 151): full season.  
-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

New Kent County: full season. 
Northampton County: the second, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 
Northumberland County: full season. 
Nottoway County: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last 12 hunting 13 days. 
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Orange County: full season. 
Page County: the second Saturday and the last two hunting 
days.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  
Patrick County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 
12 hunting 13 days. 

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 
Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 
hunting days.  

Pittsylvania County: the second, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days.  

-White Oak Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 
the last hunting day.  

Powhatan County: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last 12 hunting 13 days. 

-Powhatan WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 
last six hunting days. 

Prince Edward County: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last 12 hunting 13 days.  

-Briery Creek WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 
the last six hunting days. 
-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 
-Prince Edward State Forest: the second and third 
Saturdays.  

Prince George County: full season. 
Prince William County: full season.  
Pulaski County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 
hunting day.  

Rappahannock County: full season. 
Richmond County: full season. 
Roanoke County: full season.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 
Saturday and the last hunting day.  

Rockbridge County: the second Saturday and the last two 
hunting days.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 
hunting day.  

Rockingham County: the second Saturday and the last six 
hunting days.  

-National forest lands and private lands west of Routes 
613 and 731: the last hunting day.  

Russell County: the second Saturday and the last two 
hunting days.  

-Clinch Mountain WMA, Hidden Valley WMA, and the 
Channels State Forest: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 
be taken. 

Scott County: the second Saturday and the last six hunting 
days.  

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 
be taken.  

Shenandoah County: full season.  
-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Smyth County: the second Saturday and the last six 
hunting days.  

-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, and 
Hungry Mother State Park: antlered bucks only—no 
either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline 
may be taken. 

Southampton County: full season.  
Spotsylvania County: the second, third, and fourth 
Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 
Stafford County: full season.  
Suffolk (City of): full season. 
Surry County: full season.  

-Carlisle Tract of the Hog Island WMA: antlered bucks 
only—no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above 
the hairline may be taken.  

Sussex County: full season.  
Tazewell County: the second Saturday and the last two 
hunting days.  

-National forest lands, and Clinch Mountain WMA, and 
Hidden Valley WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 
be taken. 

Virginia Beach (City of): full season.  
Warren County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  
Washington County: the second Saturday and the last six 
hunting days.  

-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, Hidden 
Valley WMA, and the Channels State Forest: antlered 
bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers 
above the hairline may be taken. 

Westmoreland County: full season. 
Wise County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. 
Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken.  
Wythe County: full season. 

-National forest lands and Big Survey WMA: the second 
Saturday and the last hunting day.  

York County: full season.  
B. Except as provided in the subsection A of this section, 

deer of either sex may be taken full season during the general 
firearms deer season within the incorporated limits of any city 
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or town, state park, national wildlife refuge, or military 
installation that allows deer hunting.  
4VAC15-90-260. Hunting with dogs prohibited in certain 
counties and areas.  

A. Generally. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs in 
the counties of Amherst (west of Business U.S. 29 from the 
James River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the 
Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 
River), Bedford, Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern 
Railroad, and in the City of Lynchburg), Fairfax, Franklin, 
Henry, Loudoun, Nelson (west of Route 151), Northampton, 
Patrick and Pittsylvania (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad); 
and on the Amelia, Chester F. Phelps, G. Richard Thompson 
and Pettigrew Wildlife Management Areas, except that 
tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 
Virginia may be used.  

B. Special provision for Greene and Madison counties. It 
shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during the first 12 
hunting 14 days in the counties of Greene and Madison, 
except that tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the 
Code of Virginia may be used.  
4VAC15-90-293. Chronic Wasting Disease deer carcass 
movement restrictions.  

A. For the purposes of this section and in 4VAC15-40-285 
and 4VAC15-90-294: 

"Cervid" means any member of the deer family Cervidae, 
including but not limited to white-tailed deer, fallow deer, 
sika deer, elk, and reindeer. 

B. No person shall import or possess any carcass or part of a 
carcass of any member of the family Cervidae (deer) 
originating from an enclosure intended to confine deer or elk 
or from any area designated by the department as a carcass-
restriction zone in or adjacent to a state or Canadian province 
in which Chronic Wasting Disease has been found in free-
ranging or captive deer, except that the following carcass 
parts may be imported and possessed:  

1. Boned-out meat that is cut and wrapped;  
2. Quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the 
spinal column or skull attached;  
3. Hides or capes with no skull attached;  
4. Clean (no meat or tissue attached) skulls or skull plates 
with or without antlers attached;  
5. Antlers (with no meat or tissue attached);  
6. Upper canine teeth (buglers, whistlers, or ivories); and  
7. Finished taxidermy products.  

A legible label shall be affixed to packages or containers 
containing the allowed carcass parts bearing the following 
information: the species of animal, the state or province from 
where the animal originated, and the name and address of the 
person who killed or owned the animal.  

C. Any person who imports into Virginia any deer carcass or 
parts described in subsection A of this section and is notified 
that the animal has tested positive for Chronic Wasting 
Disease must report the test results to the department within 
72 hours of receiving the notification. In order to facilitate the 
proper disposal of any infected material, the department may 
take into possession any imported carcass or carcass part of 
an animal if the animal has tested positive for Chronic 
Wasting Disease.  

D. No person shall transport any carcass or part of a carcass 
of any cervid out of any area designated by the department as 
a disease containment area, except that the carcass parts 
enumerated in subsection B of this section may be 
transported, and carcasses or parts may be transported directly 
to locations designated by the department, provided that such 
carcasses or parts are transported without unnecessary delay 
and secured within a vehicle or vehicles during transit. 
Provisions of this section shall not apply to employees of the 
department or another government agency working in an 
official disease investigation capacity. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4042; Filed May 14, 2014, 10:25 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-240. Game: Turkey 
(amending 4VAC15-240-10 through 4VAC15-240-40).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

June 10, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments incorporate hunting on 
Sundays into the turkey hunting seasons pursuant to 
legislation enacted in the 2014 Session of the General 
Assembly.  

4VAC15-240-10. Open season; generally.  
Except as otherwise specifically provided in the sections 

appearing in this chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt turkeys 
from the Saturday prior to the last Monday in October and for 
11 consecutive hunting 13 days following; on Thanksgiving 
Day; and on the Monday nearest December 2 through the last 
Saturday in December, both dates inclusive; and on the 
second Saturday in January and for 12 consecutive hunting 14 
days following. 
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4VAC15-240-20. Open season; certain counties and areas; 
Saturday prior to the last Monday in October and for 11 
hunting 13 days following, and on Thanksgiving Day. 

It shall be lawful to hunt turkeys on the Saturday prior to the 
last Monday in October and for 11 consecutive hunting 13 
days following, and on Thanksgiving Day in the counties of 
Albemarle, Alleghany, Augusta, Bath, Greene, Highland, 
Madison, Page, Orange, Rockingham, and Warren. 
4VAC15-240-31. Open season; certain counties and areas; 
Saturday prior to the last Monday in October and for 11 
hunting 13 days following, on Thanksgiving Day, and on 
the Monday closest to December 2 and for 11 hunting 12 
days following. 

It shall be lawful to hunt turkeys on the Saturday prior to the 
last Monday in October and for 11 consecutive hunting 13 
days following, on Thanksgiving Day, and on the Monday 
closest to December 2 and for 11 hunting 12 days following 
in the counties of Accomack, Buchanan, Charles City, 
Gloucester, Isle of Wight, James City, King George, 
Lancaster, Mathews, Middlesex, New Kent, Northampton, 
Northumberland, Prince George, Richmond, Southampton, 
Surry, Sussex, Westmoreland, York (except on Camp Peary), 
and the City of Suffolk. 
4VAC15-240-40. Open season; spring season for bearded 
turkeys. 

A. Except as otherwise provided in this section, it shall be 
lawful to hunt bearded turkeys from the second Saturday in 
April and for 30 consecutive hunting 35 days following, both 
dates inclusive, from 1/2 hour before sunrise to 12:00 noon 
prevailing time during the first 19 hunting 23 days and from 
1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset during the last 12 hunting 13 
days of the spring season. 

B. Turkey hunters 15 years of age and under younger and 
holders of an apprentice hunting license may hunt on the first 
Saturday in April from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset, 
when in compliance with applicable license requirements and 
when accompanied and directly supervised by an adult who 
has a valid Virginia hunting license on his person or an adult 
that who is exempt from purchasing a hunting license. Adult 
hunters accompanying youth hunters or apprentice license 
holders on this day may assist with calling but they shall not 
carry or discharge weapons.  

C. Bearded turkeys may be hunted by calling. 
D. It shall be unlawful to use dogs or organized drives for 

the purpose of hunting. 
E. It shall be unlawful to use or have in possession any shot 

larger than number 2 fine shot when hunting turkeys with a 
shotgun. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4043; Filed May 14, 2014, 10:25 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-320. Fish: Fishing Generally 
(amending 4VAC15-320-25, 4VAC15-320-60, 4VAC15-
320-120; repealing 4VAC15-320-150).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

July 8, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230 

Public Comment Deadline: June 20, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) adjust or establish the 
freshwater fishing creel (i.e., possession) and length limits 
that are allowable in various waters of the state; (ii) add 
Clinch Mountain and Crooked Creek fee fishing areas to 
the list of those areas in which children 12 years and 
younger may fish without a permit if under the direct 
supervision of a permitted adult, with the daily creel limit 
for both adult and child or children combined to be six 
trout; (iii) prohibit stocking blue catfish and their hybrids 
into privately owned ponds and lakes; and (iv) repeal the 
authority to shoot fish using a rifle in Scott County. 

4VAC15-320-25. Creel and length limits.  
The creel limits (including live possession) and the length 

limits for the various species of fish shall be as follows, 
unless otherwise excepted by posted rules at department-
owned or department-controlled waters (see 4VAC15-320-
100 D).  
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Type of fish Subtype or location Creel and length 
limits 

Geographic 
exceptions 

Creel or length 
limits for exceptions 

largemouth bass, smallmouth 
bass, spotted bass 

  5 per day in the 
aggregate 
(combined);  
No statewide length 
limits 

Lakes 

Briery Creek Lake No bass 16 to 24 
inches, only 1 per 
day longer than 24 
inches 

Buggs Island (Kerr) Only 2 of 5 bass less 
than 14 inches 

Claytor Lake No bass less than 12 
inches 

Flannagan Reservoir No bass less than 12 
inches 

Lake Gaston Only 2 of 5 bass less 
than 14 inches 

Leesville Reservoir Only 2 of 5 bass less 
than 14 inches 

Lake Moomaw No bass less than 12 
inches 

Philpott Reservoir No bass less than 12 
inches 

Quantico Marine 
Base waters 

No bass 12 to 15 
inches 

Smith Mt. Lake and 
its tributaries below 
Niagara Dam 

Only 2 of 5 bass less 
than 14 inches 

Rivers 

Clinch River – 
within the 
boundaries of Scott, 
Wise, Russell, or 
Tazewell counties 

No bass 11 to 14 
inches less than 20 
inches, only 1 bass 
per day longer than 
20 inches 

Dan River and 
tributaries down 
stream downstream 
from the Union 
Street Dam, Danville 

Only 2 of 5 bass less 
than 14 inches 

James River – 
Confluence of the 
Jackson and 
Cowpasture rivers 
(Botetourt County) 
downstream to the 
14th Street Bridge in 
Richmond 

No bass 14 to 22 
inches, only 1 per 
day longer than 22 
inches 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 2, 2014 

2458 

New River – Fields 
Dam (Grayson 
County) downstream 
to the VA – WV 
state line and its 
tributary tributaries 
Little River 
downstream from 
Little River Dam in 
Montgomery 
County, Big Walker 
Creek from the 
Norfolk and Western 
Railroad Bridge 
downstream to the 
New River, and 
Wolf Creek from the 
Narrows dam 
downstream to the 
New River in Giles 
County (This does 
not include Claytor 
Lake, which is 
delineated as: The 
upper end of the 
island at Allisonia 
downstream to the 
dam) 

No bass 14 to 20 22 
inches, only 1 per 
day longer than 20 
22 inches 

North Fork Holston 
River - Rt. 91 bridge 
upstream of Saltville, 
VA downstream to 
the VA-TN state line 

No bass less than 20 
inches, only 1 per 
day longer than 20 
inches 

North Fork 
Shenandoah River – 
Rt. 42 bridge, 
Rockingham Co. 
downstream to the 
confluence with S. 
Fork Shenandoah at 
Front Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 
inches 

Potomac River - 
Virginia tidal 
tributaries above Rt. 
301 bridge 

No bass less than 15 
inches from March 1 
through June 15 

Roanoke (Staunton) 
River - and its 
tributaries below 
Difficult Creek, 
Charlotte Co. 

Only 2 of 5 bass less 
than 14 inches 

Shenandoah River –    
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Confluence of South 
Fork and North Fork 
rivers, Front Royal, 
downstream, to the 
Warren Dam, near 
Front Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 
inches 

Base of Warren 
Dam, near Front 
Royal downstream to 
Rt. 17/50 bridge 

No bass 14 to 20 
inches, only 1 per 
day longer than 20 
inches 

Rt. 17/50 bridge 
downstream to VA - 
WV state line 

No bass 11 to 14 
inches 

South Fork 
Shenandoah River - 

  

Confluence of North 
and South rivers, 
below Port Republic, 
downstream to 
Shenandoah Dam, 
near Town of 
Shenandoah 

No bass 11 to 14 
inches 

Base of Shenandoah 
Dam, near Town of 
Shenandoah, 
downstream to Luray 
Dam, near Luray  

No bass 14 to 20 
inches, only 1 per 
day longer than 20 
inches 

Base of Luray Dam, 
near Luray, 
downstream to the 
confluence with 
North Fork of 
Shenandoah, Front 
Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 
inches 

Staunton River -   

Leesville Dam 
(Campbell County) 
downstream to the 
mouth of Difficult 
Creek, Charlotte 
County 

No smallmouth bass 
less than 20 inches, 
only 1 per day longer 
than 20 inches 
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striped bass landlocked striped 
bass and landlocked 
striped bass x white 
bass hybrids 

4 per day in the 
aggregate;  
No fish less than 20 
inches 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 
reservoir including 
the Staunton River to 
Leesville Dam and 
the Dan River to 
Union Street Dam 
(Danville) 

October 1 - May 31: 
2 per day in the 
aggregate;  
No striped bass or 
hybrid striped bass 
less than 24 inches; 
  
June 1 - September 
30: 4 per day in the 
aggregate;  
No length limit 

Smith Mountain 
Lake and its 
tributaries, including 
the Roanoke River 
upstream to Niagara 
Dam 

2 per day in the 
aggregate;  
  
November 1 - May 
31: No striped bass 
26 30 to 36 40 
inches; 
  
June 1 - October 31: 
No length limit 

Lake Gaston 4 per day in the 
aggregate 
  
October 1 - May 31: 
No striped bass or 
hybrid striped bass 
less than 20 inches 
  
June 1 - September 
30: No length limit 

anadromous (coastal) 
striped bass above the 
fall line in all coastal 
rivers of the 
Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length 
limits shall be set by 
the Virginia Marine 
Resources 
Commission for 
recreational fishing 
in tidal waters 
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anadromous (coastal) 
in the Meherrin, 
Nottoway, 
Blackwater (Chowan 
Drainage), North 
Landing and 
Northwest Rivers and 
their tributaries plus 
Back Bay 

2 per day;  
No striped bass less 
than 18 inches 

    

white bass   5 per day;  
No statewide length 
limits 

    

walleye   5 per day in the 
aggregate;  
  
No walleye or 
saugeye less than 18 
inches 

New River upstream 
of Buck Dam in 
Carroll County 

No walleye less than 
20 inches 

    

Claytor Lake and the 
New River upstream 
of Claytor Lake Dam 
to Buck Dam in 
Carroll County 

February 1 - May 31:  
2 walleye per day; no 
walleye 19 to 28 
inches; 
June 1 - January 31:  
5 walleye per day; no 
walleye less than 20 
inches 

sauger   2 per day;  
No statewide length 
limits 

    

yellow perch  No statewide daily 
limit; 
No statewide length 
limits 

Lake Moomaw 10 per day 

chain pickerel   5 per day;  
No statewide length 
limits 

Gaston and Buggs 
Island (Kerr) 
reservoirs 

No daily limit 

northern pike   2 per day;  
No pike less than 20 
inches 

    

muskellunge   2 per day;  
No muskellunge less 
than 30 inches 

New River - Fields 
Dam (Grayson 
County) downstream 
to the VA - WV state 
line, including 
Claytor Lake 

1 per day  
No muskellunge less 
than 42 inches 
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bluegill (bream) and other 
sunfish excluding crappie, rock 
bass (redeye) and Roanoke 
bass 

  50 per day in the 
aggregate;  
No statewide length 
limits 

Gaston and Buggs 
Island (Kerr) 
reservoirs and that 
portion of the New 
River from the VA - 
NC state line 
downstream to the 
confluence of the 
New and Little 
Rivers in Grayson 
County 

No daily limit 

crappie (black or white)   25 per day in the 
aggregate;  
No statewide length 
limits 

Gaston and Buggs 
Island (Kerr) 
reservoirs and that 
portion of the New 
River from the VA - 
NC state line 
downstream to the 
confluence of the 
New and Little 
Rivers in Grayson 
County 

No daily limit 

Flannagan and South 
Holston reservoirs 

No crappie less than 
10 inches 

rock bass (redeye)   25 per day;  
No statewide length 
limits 

Gaston and Buggs 
Island (Kerr) 
reservoirs and that 
portion of the New 
River from the VA - 
NC state line 
downstream to the 
confluence of the 
New and Little 
Rivers in Grayson 
County. 

No daily limit 

Nottoway and 
Meherrin rivers and 
their tributaries 

5 per day in the 
aggregate with 
Roanoke bass;  
No rock bass less 
than 8 inches  

Roanoke bass   No statewide daily 
limit;  
No statewide length 
limits 

Nottoway and 
Meherrin rivers and 
their tributaries 

5 per day in the 
aggregate with rock 
bass;  
No Roanoke bass 
less than 8 inches 

trout See 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing. 

catfish channel, white, and 
flathead catfish 

20 per day;  
No length limits 

All rivers below the 
fall line 

No daily limit 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 2, 2014 

2463 

blue catfish 20 per day, only 1 
blue catfish per day 
longer than 32 
inches 

All rivers below the 
fall line 

No daily limit, 
except only 1 blue 
catfish per day 
longer than 32 inches  

yellow, brown, and 
black bullheads 

No daily limit;  
No length limits 

    

American shad and hickory 
shad 

James River above 
the fall line (14th 
Street Bridge), the 
Meherrin River above 
Emporia Dam, the 
Chickahominy River 
above Walkers Dam, 
the Appomattox River 
above Harvell Dam, 
the Pamunkey River 
and the Mattaponi 
River above the Rt. 
360 bridge, and the 
Rappahannock River 
above the Rt. 1 
bridge, and Virginia 
waters of Lake 
Gaston and Buggs 
Island (Kerr) 
Reservoir and 
tributaries to include 
the Dan and Staunton 
rivers 

No possession (catch 
and release only) 

    

(below the fall line) in 
tidal Above and 
below the fall line in 
all coastal rivers of 
the Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length 
limits shall be the 
same as those set by 
the Virginia Marine 
Resources 
Commission for 
these species in tidal 
rivers 

    

Meherrin River below 
Emporia Dam 
Nottoway River, 
Blackwater River 
(Chowan Drainage), 
North Landing and 
Northwest rivers, and 
their tributaries plus 
Back Bay 

10 per day in the 
aggregate 
  
No length limits 
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anadromous (coastal) alewife 
and blueback herring 

Above and below the 
fall line in all coastal 
rivers of the 
Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length 
limits shall be the 
same as those set by 
the Virginia Marine 
Resources 
Commission for 
these species in tidal 
rivers 

    

Meherrin River, 
Nottoway River, 
Blackwater River 
(Chowan Drainage), 
North Landing and 
Northwest rivers, and 
their tributaries plus 
Back Bay 

No possession  
  

    

red drum Back Bay and 
tributaries including 
Lake Tecumseh and 
the North Landing 
River and its 
tributaries 

1 per day;  
 
No drum less than 
18 inches or greater 
than 27 inches 

  

spotted sea trout (speckled 
trout) 

Back Bay and 
tributaries including 
Lake Tecumseh and 
the North Landing 
River and its 
tributaries 

4 per day;  
 
No sea trout less 
than 14 inches 

  

grey trout (weakfish) Back Bay and 
tributaries including 
Lake Tecumseh and 
North Landing River 
and its tributaries 

1 per day;  
 
No grey trout less 
than 12 inches 

  

southern flounder Back Bay and 
tributaries including 
Lake Tecumseh and 
the North Landing 
River and its 
tributaries 

6 per day;  
 
No flounder less 
than 15 inches 
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northern snakehead  Anglers may possess 
snakeheads taken 
from Virginia waters 
if they immediately 
kill the fish and 
notify the 
headquarters or a 
regional office of the 
department; 
notification may be 
made by telephoning 
(804) 367-2925 
  
No statewide daily 
limit 
  
No statewide length 
limits 

    

other native or naturalized 
nongame fish 

See 4VAC15-360-10. Fish: Aquatic Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame 
Fish. Taking aquatic invertebrates, amphibians, reptiles and nongame fish for private use. 

endangered or threatened fish See 4VAC15-20-130. Definitions and Miscellaneous: In General. Endangered and 
threatened species; adoption of federal list; additional species enumerated. 

nonnative (exotic) fish See 4VAC15-30-40. Definitions and Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., of 
Animals. Importation requirements, possession and sale of nonnative (exotic) animals. 

4VAC15-320-60. Approval required to stock fish into 
inland waters.  

It shall be unlawful to stock any species of fish into any 
inland waters of the Commonwealth, without first obtaining 
written approval to do so from the department. Nothing in 
this section shall be construed as restricting the use of native 
and naturalized species of fish in privately-owned ponds and 
lakes, except blue catfish and their hybrids may not be 
stocked.  
4VAC15-320-120. Special daily permit for fishing in 
Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area, Douthat 
State Park Lake and Crooked and Wilson Creeks.  

It shall be unlawful to fish in the Clinch Mountain Wildlife 
Management Area (except in Little Tumbling Creek and 
Laurel Bed Lake), in Douthat State Park Lake and in Wilson 
Creek both above the lake to the park boundary and 
downstream to the lower USFS boundary, and in the Crooked 
Creek fee fishing area in Carroll County without having first 
paid to the department for such privilege a daily use fee. Such 
daily use fee shall be in addition to all other license fees 
provided by law. Upon payment of the daily use fee the 
department shall issue a special permit which that shall be 
signed and carried by the person fishing. This fee will be 
required from the first Saturday in April through September 
30 at Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area (except 
Little Tumbling Creek and Laurel Bed Lake) and at Crooked 
Creek fee fishing area in Carroll County, and from the first 

Saturday in April through June 15 and from September 15 
through October 31 at Douthat State Park Lake and Wilson 
Creek, except that the director may temporarily suspend fee 
requirements if conditions cause suspension of trout stocking. 
During the remainder of the year, these waters will revert to 
designated stocked trout waters and a trout license will be 
required except as provided in 4VAC15-20-190. No fishing is 
permitted in these waters for five days preceding the opening 
day. Fishing shall begin at 9 a.m. on opening day at all fee 
areas. After opening day, fishing times will be as posted at 
each fee area. The department may recognize clearly marked 
"children only" fishing areas within any department fee 
fishing area. Within these "children only" areas, children 12 
years old or less younger may fish without the daily use fee if 
accompanied by a fully licensed adult who has purchased a 
valid daily permit. No person over older than 12 years of age 
may fish in these children-only areas. Also, children 12 years 
of age and under younger can fish without a permit in the 
entire Douthat Fee Fishing Area all three fee fishing areas if 
under the direct supervision of a permitted adult. However, 
the combined daily creel limit for both adult and 
child/children in such a party shall not exceed six trout. 
During the fee fishing season these waters will be subject to 
4VAC15-330-60, 4VAC15-330-80, and 4VAC15-330-90, as 
it relates to designated stocked trout waters.  
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4VAC15-320-150. Shooting certain fish in Clinch River in 
Scott County. (Repealed.)  

It shall be lawful for any person holding a current license to 
fish to shoot suckers, redhorse and carp with a rifle, during 
the hours of sunrise to sunset, from April 15 to May 31, both 
inclusive, in the waters of the Clinch River within the limits 
of Scott County; except, that it shall be unlawful to shoot fish 
on Sunday, or within the limits of any town, or from any 
bridge. No more than 20 such fish may be so taken during 
any one day. All persons engaged in the shooting or the 
retrieval of fish pursuant to this section shall have in their 
possession a current fishing license.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4052; Filed May 14, 2014, 10:26 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing 
(amending 4VAC15-330-150).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

July 8, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230 

Public Comment Deadline: June 20, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments add certain sections of streams 
to the list of catch and release trout stream waters in which 
it is lawful to fish for trout using only artificial lures with 
single hooks year-round. 

4VAC15-330-150. Special provision applicable to Stewarts 
Creek Trout Management Area; certain portions of the 
Dan, Rapidan, South Fork Holston and Staunton rivers, 
the Brumley Creek, East Fork of Chestnut Creek, Little 
Stony Creek, Little Tumbling Creek, North Creek, 
Roaring Fork, North Creek, Spring Run, Stony Creek, 
Venrick Run, Brumley Creek, and their tributaries. 

It shall be lawful year around to fish for trout using only 
artificial lures with single hooks within the:  

1. The Stewarts Creek Trout Management Area in Carroll 
County, in the.  
2. The Rapidan and Staunton rivers and their tributaries 
upstream from a sign at the Lower Shenandoah National 
Park boundary in Madison County, in the.  
3. The Dan River and its tributaries between the Townes 
Dam and the Pinnacles Hydroelectric Project powerhouse 
in Patrick County, in the.  
4. The East Fork of Chestnut Creek (Farmer's Creek) and 
its tributaries upstream from the Blue Ridge Parkway in 
Grayson and Carroll Counties, in.  

5. Roaring Fork and its tributaries upstream from the 
southwest boundary of Beartown Wilderness Area in 
Tazewell County and in that.  
6. That section of the South Fork Holston River and its 
tributaries from the concrete dam at Buller Fish Culture 
Station downstream to the lower boundary of the Buller 
Fish Culture Station in Smyth County, and in.  
7. North Creek and its tributaries upstream from a sign at 
the George Washington National Forest North Creek 
Campground in Botetourt County, in.  
8. Spring Run from it confluence with Cowpasture River 
upstream to a posted sign at the discharge for Coursey 
Springs Hatchery in Bath County, in.  
9. Venrick Run and its tributaries within the Big Survey 
Wildlife Management Area and Town of Wytheville 
property in Wythe County, and in.  
10. Brumley Creek and its tributaries from the Hidden 
Valley Wildlife Management Area boundary upstream to 
the Hidden Valley Lake Dam in Washington County.  
11. Stony Creek (Mountain Fork) and its tributaries within 
the Jefferson National Forest in Wise and Scott Counties 
from the outlet of High Knob Lake downstream to the 
confluence of Chimney Rock Fork and Stony Creek.  
12. Little Stony Creek and its tributaries within the 
Jefferson National Forest in Scott County from the Falls of 
Little Stony Creek downstream to a posted sign at the 
Hanging Rock Recreation Area.  
13. Little Tumbling Creek and its tributaries within the 
Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area in Smyth and 
Tazewell Counties downstream to the concrete bridge.  

All trout caught in these waters must be immediately 
returned to the water. No trout or bait may be in possession at 
any time in these areas.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4053; Filed May 14, 2014, 10:19 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-340. Fish: Seines and Nets 
(amending 4VAC15-340-40, 4VAC15-340-60).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

July 8, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230 

Public Comment Deadline: June 20, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments prohibit the use of seines, traps, 
and nets in certain waters and replace the obsolete 
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nomenclature "game wardens" with "conservation police 
officers." 

4VAC15-340-40. Dip nets; generally.  
A. Authorization to take fish with dip nets. A county dip net 

permit shall authorize the holder to take shad, herring, mullet, 
and suckers (daily creel (possession) limits for shad and 
herring are found in 4VAC15-320-25, there is no limit for 
mullet, and subsection D of this section provides limits for 
suckers), in the county named on the face of the permit with a 
dip net in inland waters, except where otherwise prohibited 
by local legislation or by the sections appearing in this 
chapter.  

B. Persons required to have permit; inspection by game 
wardens conservation police officers. A dip net permit, or 
valid fishing license, shall be required for all persons using or 
assisting in the use of a dip net and permits, or licenses, shall 
be carried at all times while using such nets and shall be 
subject to inspection by game wardens conservation police 
officers.  

C. Release of certain fish netted. All fish, except shad, 
herring, mullet, suckers and carp, when taken with a dip net 
shall be returned to the water alive with as little injury as 
possible.  

D. Special provisions applicable only to suckers. The 
following special provisions shall apply only to the taking of 
suckers, with a dip net:  

1. Not more than 20 may be taken by any person in one 
day;  
2. The open season for taking same with a dip net shall be 
from February 15 through May 15, both dates inclusive; 
and  
3. Dip nets for taking such fish shall not be more than six 
feet square.  

4VAC15-340-60. Seines, traps, and nets prohibited in 
certain areas.  

A. It shall be unlawful to use seines and nets of any kind for 
the taking of fish from the public waters of the Roanoke 
(Staunton) and Dan Rivers in Campbell, Charlotte, Halifax, 
and Pittsylvania Counties, and in the City of Danville; 
provided, however, this section shall not be construed to 
prohibit the use of hand-landing nets for the landing of fish 
legally hooked or the taking of fish from these waters 
pursuant to the provisions of 4VAC15-360.  

B. In Lick Creek and tributaries in Smyth and Bland 
Counties, in Bear Creek and Hungry Mother Creek above 
Hungry Mother Lake in Smyth County, and in Laurel Creek 
and tributaries upstream of Highway 16 bridge in Tazewell 
and Bland Counties, in Susong Branch and Mumpower Creek 
in Washington County and the City of Bristol, and in 
Timbertree Branch in Scott County, it shall be unlawful to 
use seines, nets, or traps; provided, however, this section shall 
not be construed to prohibit the use of hand-landing nets for 
the landing of fish legally hooked.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4054; Filed May 14, 2014, 10:27 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-350. Fish: Gigs, Grab Hooks, 
Trotlines, Snares, Etc. (amending 4VAC15-350-60).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

July 8, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230 

Public Comment Deadline: June 20, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) require removal of fishing 
lines from trotlines, juglines, and set poles when not in 
use and (ii) clarify that snapping turtles are the only type 
of turtles that may be taken with these methods. 

4VAC15-350-60. Trotlines, juglines, or set poles.  
A. Generally. Except as otherwise provided by local 

legislation and by subsections B and C of this section, and 
except on waters stocked with trout and within 600 feet of 
any dam, it shall be lawful to use trotlines, juglines (single 
hook, including one treble hook, and line attached to a float), 
or set poles for the purpose of taking nongame fish (daily 
creel (possession) and length limits for nongame fish are 
found in 4VAC15-320-25) and snapping turtles (limits for 
snapping turtles are found in 4VAC15-360-10), provided that 
no live bait is used. Notwithstanding the provisions of this 
section, live bait other than game fish may be used on 
trotlines to take catfish in the Clinch River in the Counties of 
Russell, Scott, and Wise. Any person setting or in possession 
of a trotline, jugline, or set pole shall have it clearly marked 
by permanent means with his name, address, and telephone 
number, and is required to check all lines at least once each 
day, and remove all fish and animals caught, and remove all 
lines when not in use. This requirement shall not apply to 
landowners on private ponds, nor to a bona fide tenant or 
lessee on private ponds within the bounds of land rented or 
leased, nor to anyone transporting any such device from its 
place of purchase.  

B. Quantico Marine Reservation. It shall be unlawful to fish 
with trotlines in any waters within the confines of Quantico 
Marine Reservation. 

C. Additional jugline requirements. Jugline sets (except as 
exempt under subsection A of this section) shall be restricted to 
20 per angler and must be attended (within sight) by anglers at 
all times. Also, in addition to being labeled with the angler's 
name, address, and telephone number, jugs shall also be labeled 
with a reflective marker that encircles the jugs to allow for 
visibility at night. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4055; Filed May 14, 2014, 10:27 a.m.  
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Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-360. Fish: Aquatic 
Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame Fish 
(amending 4VAC15-360-10).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

July 8, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230 

Public Comment Deadline: June 20, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments establish a recreational 
harvest season for snapping turtles that coincides with 
the commercial harvest season of June 1 through 
September 30. 

4VAC15-360-10. Taking aquatic invertebrates, 
amphibians, reptiles, and nongame fish for private use. 

A. Possession limits. Except as otherwise provided for in 
§ 29.1-418 of the Code of Virginia, 4VAC15-20-130, 
subdivision 8 of 4VAC15-320-40 and the sections of this 
chapter, it shall be lawful to capture and possess live for 
private use and not for sale no more than five individuals of 
any single native or naturalized (as defined in 4VAC15-20-
50) species of amphibian and reptile and 20 individuals of 
any single native or naturalized (as defined in 4VAC15-20-
50) species of aquatic invertebrate and nongame fish unless 
specifically listed below:  

1. The following species may be taken in unlimited 
numbers from inland waters statewide: carp, bowfin, 
longnose gar, mullet, yellow bullhead, brown bullhead, 
black bullhead, flat bullhead, snail bullhead, white sucker, 
northern hogsucker, gizzard shad, threadfin shad, blueback 
herring (see 4VAC15-320-25 for anadromous blueback 
herring limits), white perch, yellow perch, alewife (see 
4VAC15-320-25 for anadromous alewife limits), 
stoneroller (hornyhead), fathead minnow, golden shiner, 
goldfish, and Asian clams.  
2. See 4VAC15-320-25 for American shad, hickory shad, 
channel catfish, white catfish, flathead catfish, and blue 
catfish limits.  
3. For the purpose of this chapter, "fish bait" shall be 
defined as native or naturalized species of minnows and 
chubs (Cyprinidae), salamanders (each under six inches in 
total length), crayfish, and hellgrammites. The possession 
limit for taking "fish bait" shall be 50 individuals in 
aggregate, unless said person has purchased "fish bait" and 
has a receipt specifying the number of individuals 
purchased by species, except salamanders and crayfish 

which cannot be sold pursuant to the provisions of 
4VAC15-360-60 and 4VAC15-360-70. However, 
stonerollers (hornyheads), fathead minnows, golden 
shiners, and goldfish may be taken and possessed in 
unlimited numbers as provided for in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection.  
4. The daily limit for bullfrogs shall be 15 and for snapping 
turtles shall be 5. Snapping turtles shall only be taken from 
June 1st to September 30th. Bullfrogs and snapping turtles 
may not be taken from the banks or waters of designated 
stocked trout waters.  
5. The following species may not be taken in any number 
for private use: candy darter, eastern hellbender, 
diamondback terrapin, and spotted turtle.  
6. Native amphibians and reptiles, as defined in 4VAC15-
20-50, that are captured within the Commonwealth and 
possessed live for private use and not for sale may be 
liberated under the following conditions: 

a. Period of captivity does not exceed 30 days; 
b. Animals must be liberated at the site of capture; 
c. Animals must have been housed separately from other 
wild-caught and domestic animals; and 
d. Animals that demonstrate symptoms of disease or 
illness or that have sustained injury during their captivity 
may not be released. 

B. Methods of taking species in subsection A. Except as 
otherwise provided for in the Code of Virginia, 4VAC15-20-
130, 4VAC15-320-40, and other regulations of the board, and 
except in any waters where the use of nets is prohibited, the 
species listed in subsection A may only be taken by hand, 
hook and line, with a seine not exceeding four feet in depth 
by 10 feet in length, an umbrella type net not exceeding five 
by five feet square, small minnow traps with throat openings 
no larger than one inch in diameter, cast nets, and hand-held 
bow nets with diameter not to exceed 20 inches and handle 
length not to exceed eight feet (such cast net and hand-held 
bow nets when so used shall not be deemed dip nets under the 
provisions of § 29.1-416 of the Code of Virginia). Gizzard 
shad and white perch may also be taken from below the fall 
line in all tidal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay using a gill net 
in accordance with Virginia Marine Resources Commission 
recreational fishing regulations. Bullfrogs may also be taken 
by gigging or bow and arrow and, from private waters, by 
firearms no larger than .22 caliber rimfire. Snapping turtles 
may be taken for personal use with hoop nets not exceeding 
six feet in length with a throat opening not exceeding 36 
inches. 

C. Areas restricted from taking mollusks. Except as 
provided for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of 
Virginia, it shall be unlawful to take the spiny riversnail (Io 
fluvialis) in the Tennessee drainage in Virginia (Clinch, 
Powell and the North, South and Middle Forks of the Holston 
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Rivers and tributaries). It shall be unlawful to take mussels 
from any inland waters of the Commonwealth.  

D. Areas restricted from taking salamanders. Except as 
provided for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of 
Virginia, it shall be unlawful to take salamanders in Grayson 
Highlands State Park and on National Forest lands in the 
Jefferson National Forest in those portions of Grayson, Smyth 
and Washington Counties bounded on the east by State Route 
16, on the north by State Route 603 and on the south and west 
by U.S. Route 58.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4063; Filed May 14, 2014, 10:28 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, 
which provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to 
supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 
(Boating Laws) of the Code of Virginia as prescribed in 
Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-450. Watercraft: Commercial 
Parasail Operations (amending 4VAC15-450-30).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-701, and 29.1-735.3 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

July 8, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 
Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230 

Public Comment Deadline: June 20, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) bring the Commonwealth 
into conformity with the current standards in the industry 
and (ii) reflect the change in the private organization 
that provides industry standards for commercial 
parasailing. 

4VAC15-450-30. Commercial parasailing activities. 
Commercial parasailing operators shall comply with the 

following provisions: 
1. All commercial parasail operators shall have a valid 
Coast Guard License for carrying passengers for hire. 
2. Vessels engaged in parasailing operations must be 
equipped with a rear launchplatform launch platform and 
direct launch and recovery hydraulic winch system used to 
pay out and reel in the towline. 
3. Prior to leaving the dock, all passengers and parasail 
participants shall be required to view a parasail safety 
briefing video and/or be given a written parasail safety 
briefing handout. Briefing materials shall be consistent 

with information approved or provided by the Professional 
Association of Parasail Operators (PAPO) Water Sports 
Industry Association (WSIA). 
4. Parasailing shall only be conducted from one-half hour 
before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset. 
5. All parasail riders, when attached to the harness of a 
parasail canopy, shall wear a United States Coast Guard 
approved Type I, II, or III wearable, inherently buoyant, 
noninflatable personal flotation device that is in good and 
serviceable condition and of the proper size. The rider must 
be secured in a seat harness attached to an ascending type 
of parachute that is connected to the towline.  
6. All parasailing operations shall include, in addition to 
the operator of the vessel, an observer 18 years or older at 
all times to monitor the progress of an airborne parasail 
rider and parachute. 
7. All parasailing towing vessels when operating more than 
1,000 feet from shore shall be equipped with a VHF radio 
that is in working order and tuned to Channel 16. 
8. Parasailing shall be prohibited when there are sustained 
winds in excess of 20 mph/17.5 knots and/or seas in excess 
of six feet in the area of operation. 
9. Parasail operation towlines shall not exceed 1,200 feet in 
total length on the vessel's winch drum or exceed 1,000 
feet of towline from boat to canopy yoke while conducting 
parasail flight operations. All commercial towlines must 
have a minimum diameter of 3/8 inches, be a maximum 
length of 1,200 feet, and have a minimum tensile strength 
of 4,800 lbs. An in-service date shall be logged whenever 
new line is installed. 
10. Parasail operators shall inspect the towline in its 
entirety daily for damage and/or wear and, if necessary, 
shall immediately replace the line. A minimum of two feet 
shall be trimmed from the towline bitter end within a 
maximum period of seven days or every 400 100 flights or 
as may become necessary. The towline shall be kept clean 
and well maintained in accordance with manufacturers' 
specifications, requirements, and/or recommendations. A 
written log of such inspections and maintenance shall be 
kept at all times. 
11. Parasail vessel operators shall at all times maintain a 
safe parasail chute distance from any surf-zone, shoreline, 
or fixed object when engaged in actual parasail operations. 
This includes all of the following: (i) the canopy shall not 
be allowed to pass within three times the length of the 
towline from shore or any structure, (ii) when the wind has 
an any onshore component, the canopy's minimum 
distance from shore is a function of wind speed as follows: 
either 1,000 feet or a sliding distance based on wind speed 
(0-5 mph – 600 feet, 6-10 mph – 1,000 feet, 11-15 mph – 
1,800 feet, 16-20 mph – 2,400 feet) shall be 1500 feet. 
12. Parasail operators shall only launch and land riders 
from the flight deck of the vessel. Spectators shall not be 
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permitted on the launch/landing deck area while the vessel 
is engaged in actual parasail operations. At no time shall 
there be more than three passengers in any canopy. 
Multipassenger flights shall only be conducted after the 
vessel operator has made reasonable judgment regarding 
the flight safety prior to each flight and then only under the 
following conditions: (i) wind conditions must be 
adequate, stable, and persistent,; (ii) sea conditions must be 
conducive to such activities,; (iii) commercial equipment 
specifically designed and professionally manufactured for 
multipassenger flight operations must be utilized,; (iv) all 
equipment manufacturers' specifications, requirements, 
and/or recommendations must be adhered to,; and (v) the 
vessel's winch system must be equipped with a functional 
level-winder during all multipassenger flights. 
13. A person may not operate or manipulate any vessel by 
which the direction or location of a parasail may be 
affected or controlled in such a way as to cause the parasail 
or any person thereon to collide or strike against or be 
likely to collide or strike against any vessel, bridge, wharf, 
pier, dock, buoy, platform, piling, channel marker, or other 
object. 
14. The deliberate lowering of any person attached to the 
parasail to be in contact with the water's surface (toe 
dipping) shall only be conducted after the vessel operator 
has made reasonable judgment regarding the safety of the 
activity and his ability to control such an activity and then 
only when wind and sea conditions are conducive to such 
activity. Deliberate dipping above the ankles or allowing a 
participant to touch the water during his flight within 200 
feet of another vessel or object or within 50 feet of the 
stern of the tow vessel is prohibited. 
15. Commercial parasail operators shall notify the 
department's law-enforcement division dispatch office at 
least 14 days in advance of the commencement of annual 
operations.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4056; Filed May 14, 2014, 10:27 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 
and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 
(amending 12VAC30-50-130). 
12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to 
Assure High Quality Care (amending 12VAC30-60-25). 
12VAC30-70. Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates - Inpatient Hospital Services (amending 

12VAC30-70-201, 12VAC30-70-321; adding 12VAC30-70-
415, 12VAC30-70-417). 
12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates; other Types of Care (amending 
12VAC30-80-21). 
12VAC30-130. Amount, Duration and Scope of Selected 
Services (amending 12VAC30-130-850, 12VAC30-130-
890).  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
Effective Dates: July 1, 2014, through December 31, 2015. 
Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 
Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 
agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations 
in which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 
or federal law or federal regulation requires that a 
regulation be effective in 280 days or less from its 
enactment, and the regulation is not exempt under the 
provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4. Item 307 CCC of Chapter 3 
of the 2012 Acts of the Assembly, Special Session I, 
directs the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) to develop a prospective payment methodology 
to reimburse institutions treating mental disease 
(residential treatment centers and freestanding 
psychiatric hospitals) for services furnished by the 
facility and by others. Item 307 CCC of Chapter 806 of 
the 2013 Acts of the Assembly directs DMAS to require 
that institutions that treat mental diseases provide 
referral services to their inpatients when an inpatient 
needs ancillary services. The amendments conform 
regulation to these requirements. 

12VAC30-50-130. Skilled nursing Nursing facility 
services, EPSDT, including school health services and 
family planning. 

A. Skilled nursing Nursing facility services (other than 
services in an institution for mental diseases) for individuals 
21 years of age or older. 

Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 
performed within the scope of a license of the practitioner of 
the healing arts. 

B. Early and periodic screening and diagnosis of individuals 
under 21 years of age, and treatment of conditions found. 

1. Payment of medical assistance services shall be made on 
behalf of individuals under 21 years of age, who are 
Medicaid eligible, for medically necessary stays in acute 
care facilities, and the accompanying attendant physician 
care, in excess of 21 days per admission when such 
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services are rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and 
treatment of health conditions identified through a physical 
examination. 
2. Routine physicals and immunizations (except as 
provided through EPSDT) are not covered except that 
well-child examinations in a private physician's office are 
covered for foster children of the local social services 
departments on specific referral from those departments. 
3. Orthoptics services shall only be reimbursed if 
medically necessary to correct a visual defect identified by 
an EPSDT examination or evaluation. The department 
shall place appropriate utilization controls upon this 
service. 
4. Consistent with the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act 
of 1989 § 6403, early and periodic screening, diagnostic, 
and treatment services means the following services: 
screening services, vision services, dental services, hearing 
services, and such other necessary health care, diagnostic 
services, treatment, and other measures described in Social 
Security Act § 1905(a) to correct or ameliorate defects and 
physical and mental illnesses and conditions discovered by 
the screening services and which are medically necessary, 
whether or not such services are covered under the State 
Plan and notwithstanding the limitations, applicable to 
recipients ages 21 and over, provided for by the Act 
§ 1905(a). 
5. Community mental health services. 

a. Intensive in-home services to children and adolescents 
under age 21 shall be time-limited interventions provided 
typically but not solely in the residence of a child who is 
at risk of being moved into an out-of-home placement or 
who is being transitioned to home from out-of-home 
placement due to a documented medical need of the 
child. These services provide crisis treatment; individual 
and family counseling; and communication skills (e.g., 
counseling to assist the child and his parents to 
understand and practice appropriate problem solving, 
anger management, and interpersonal interaction, etc.); 
case management activities and coordination with other 
required services; and 24-hour emergency response. 
These services shall be limited annually to 26 weeks. 
After an initial period, prior authorization is required for 
Medicaid reimbursement. 
b. Therapeutic day treatment shall be provided two or 
more hours per day in order to provide therapeutic 
interventions. Day treatment programs, limited annually 
to 780 units, provide evaluation; medication; education 
and management; opportunities to learn and use daily 
living skills and to enhance social and interpersonal skills 
(e.g., problem solving, anger management, community 
responsibility, increased impulse control, and appropriate 
peer relations, etc.); and individual, group and family 
psychotherapy. 

c. Community-Based Services for Children and 
Adolescents under 21 (Level A). 
(1) Such services shall be a combination of therapeutic 
services rendered in a residential setting. The residential 
services will provide structure for daily activities, 
psychoeducation, therapeutic supervision and psychiatric 
treatment to ensure the attainment of therapeutic mental 
health goals as identified in the individual service plan 
(plan of care). Individuals qualifying for this service 
must demonstrate medical necessity for the service 
arising from a condition due to mental, behavioral or 
emotional illness that results in significant functional 
impairments in major life activities in the home, school, 
at work, or in the community. The service must 
reasonably be expected to improve the child's condition 
or prevent regression so that the services will no longer 
be needed. DMAS will reimburse only for services 
provided in facilities or programs with no more than 16 
beds. 
(2) In addition to the residential services, the child must 
receive, at least weekly, individual psychotherapy that is 
provided by a licensed mental health professional. 
(3) Individuals must be discharged from this service 
when other less intensive services may achieve 
stabilization. 
(4) Authorization is required for Medicaid 
reimbursement. 
(5) Room and board costs are not reimbursed. Facilities 
that only provide independent living services are not 
reimbursed. 
(6) Providers must be licensed by the Department of 
Social Services, Department of Juvenile Justice, or 
Department of Education under the Standards for 
Interdepartmental Regulation of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services according to Regulations for 
Children's Residential Facilities (22VAC42-10) 
(12VAC35-46). 
(7) Psychoeducational programming must include, but is 
not limited to, development or maintenance of daily 
living skills, anger management, social skills, family 
living skills, communication skills, and stress 
management. 
(8) The facility/group home must coordinate services 
with other providers. 
d. Therapeutic Behavioral Services (Level B). 
(1) Such services must be therapeutic services rendered 
in a residential setting that provides structure for daily 
activities, psychoeducation, therapeutic supervision and 
psychiatric treatment to ensure the attainment of 
therapeutic mental health goals as identified in the 
individual service plan (plan of care). Individuals 
qualifying for this service must demonstrate medical 
necessity for the service arising from a condition due to 
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mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results in 
significant functional impairments in major life activities 
in the home, school, at work, or in the community. The 
service must reasonably be expected to improve the 
child's condition or prevent regression so that the 
services will no longer be needed. DMAS will reimburse 
only for services provided in facilities or programs with 
no more than 16 beds. 
(2) Authorization is required for Medicaid 
reimbursement. 
(3) Room and board costs are not reimbursed. Facilities 
that only provide independent living services are not 
reimbursed. 
(4) Providers must be licensed by the Department of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation, and Substance Abuse 
Services (DMHMRSAS) under the Standards for 
Interdepartmental Regulation of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS) according to the 
Regulations for Children's Residential Facilities 
(22VAC42-10) (12VAC35-46). 
(5) Psychoeducational programming must include, but is 
not limited to, development or maintenance of daily 
living skills, anger management, social skills, family 
living skills, communication skills, and stress 
management. This service may be provided in a program 
setting or a community-based group home. 
(6) The child must receive, at least weekly, individual 
psychotherapy and, at least weekly, group psychotherapy 
that is provided as part of the program. 
(7) Individuals must be discharged from this service 
when other less intensive services may achieve 
stabilization. 

6. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be covered for 
individuals younger than age 21 for medically necessary 
stays in inpatient psychiatric facilities described in 
42 CFR160(b)(1) and (b)(2) for the purpose of diagnosis 
and treatment of mental health and behavioral disorders 
identified under EPSDT when such services are rendered 
by: a. A (i) a psychiatric hospital or an inpatient psychiatric 
program in a hospital accredited by the Joint Commission 
on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations; or a 
psychiatric facility that is accredited by the Joint 
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations, 
the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation 
Facilities, the Council on Accreditation of Services for 
Families and Children or the Council on Quality and 
Leadership. b. Inpatient; or (ii) inpatient psychiatric 
hospital admissions at general acute care hospitals and 
freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall also be subject to 
the requirements of 12VAC30-50-100, 12VAC30-50-105, 
and 12VAC30-60-25. Inpatient psychiatric admissions to 
residential treatment facilities shall also be subject to the 
requirements of Part XIV (12VAC30-130-850 et seq.) of 
this chapter 12VAC30-130. 

a. The inpatient psychiatric services benefit for 
individuals younger than 21 years of age shall include 
services defined at 42 CFR 440.160, provided under the 
direction of a physician, pursuant to a certification of 
medical necessity and plan of care developed by an 
interdisciplinary team of professionals, and shall involve 
active treatment designed to achieve the child's discharge 
from inpatient status at the earliest possible time. The 
inpatient psychiatric services benefit shall include the 
following services provided under arrangement furnished 
by Medicaid enrolled providers other than the inpatient 
psychiatric facility, as long as the inpatient psychiatric 
facility: (i) arranges for and oversees the provision of all 
services; (ii) maintains all medical records of care 
furnished to the individual; and (iii) ensures that the 
services are furnished under the direction of a physician. 
Services provided under arrangement shall be 
documented by a written referral from the inpatient 
psychiatric facility. For purposes of pharmacy services, a 
prescription ordered by an employee or contractor of the 
facility who is licensed to prescribe drugs shall be 
considered the referral.  
b. Eligible services provided under arrangement with the 
inpatient psychiatric facility shall vary by provider typed 
as described in this section. For purposes of this section, 
emergency services means the same as is set out in 
12VAC30-50-310 B. 
(1) State freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall arrange 
for, maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order 
these services: (i) pharmacy services and (ii) emergency 
services. 
(2) Private freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall 
arrange for, maintain records of, and ensure that 
physicians order these services: (i) medical and 
psychological services including those furnished by 
physicians, licensed mental health professionals, and 
other licensed or certified health professionals (i.e., 
nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory therapists, and 
substance abuse treatment practitioners); (ii) physical 
therapy, occupational therapy, and therapy for 
individuals with speech, hearing, or language disorders; 
(iii) laboratory and radiology services; (iv) vision 
services; (v) dental, oral surgery, and orthodontic 
services; (vi) transportation services; and (vii) emergency 
services.  
(3) Residential treatment facilities shall arrange for, 
maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order 
these services: (i) medical and psychological services, 
including those furnished by physicians, licensed mental 
health professionals, and other licensed or certified health 
professionals (i.e., nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory 
therapists, and substance abuse treatment practitioners); 
(ii) pharmacy services; (iii) physical therapy, 
occupational therapy, and therapy for individuals with 
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speech, hearing, or language disorders; (iv) laboratory 
and radiology services; (v) durable medical equipment; 
(vi) vision services; (vii) dental, oral surgery, and 
orthodontic services; (viii) transportation services; and 
(ix) emergency services.  
c. Inpatient psychiatric services are reimbursable only 
when the treatment program is fully in compliance with 
42 CFR Part 441 Subpart D, as contained in 42 CFR 
441.151 (a) and (b) and 441.152 through 441.156. Each 
admission must be preauthorized and the treatment must 
meet DMAS requirements for clinical necessity. 

7. Hearing aids shall be reimbursed for individuals younger 
than 21 years of age according to medical necessity when 
provided by practitioners licensed to engage in the practice 
of fitting or dealing in hearing aids under the Code of 
Virginia. 

C. School health services. 
1. School health assistant services are repealed effective 
July 1, 2006. 
2. School divisions may provide routine well-child 
screening services under the State Plan. Diagnostic and 
treatment services that are otherwise covered under early 
and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment services, 
shall not be covered for school divisions. School divisions 
to receive reimbursement for the screenings shall be 
enrolled with DMAS as clinic providers. 

a. Children enrolled in managed care organizations shall 
receive screenings from those organizations. School 
divisions shall not receive reimbursement for screenings 
from DMAS for these children. 
b. School-based services are listed in a recipient's 
Individualized Education Program (IEP) and covered 
under one or more of the service categories described in 
§ 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. These services are 
necessary to correct or ameliorate defects of physical or 
mental illnesses or conditions. 

3. Service providers shall be licensed under the applicable 
state practice act or comparable licensing criteria by the 
Virginia Department of Education, and shall meet 
applicable qualifications under 42 CFR Part 440. 
Identification of defects, illnesses or conditions and 
services necessary to correct or ameliorate them shall be 
performed by practitioners qualified to make those 
determinations within their licensed scope of practice, 
either as a member of the IEP team or by a qualified 
practitioner outside the IEP team. 

a. Service providers shall be employed by the school 
division or under contract to the school division.  
b. Supervision of services by providers recognized in 
subdivision 4 of this subsection shall occur as allowed 
under federal regulations and consistent with Virginia 
law, regulations, and DMAS provider manuals.  

c. The services described in subdivision 4 of this 
subsection shall be delivered by school providers, but 
may also be available in the community from other 
providers. 
d. Services in this subsection are subject to utilization 
control as provided under 42 CFR Parts 455 and 456.  
e. The IEP shall determine whether or not the services 
described in subdivision 4 of this subsection are 
medically necessary and that the treatment prescribed is 
in accordance with standards of medical practice. 
Medical necessity is defined as services ordered by IEP 
providers. The IEP providers are qualified Medicaid 
providers to make the medical necessity determination in 
accordance with their scope of practice. The services 
must be described as to the amount, duration and scope.  

4. Covered services include: 
a. Physical therapy, occupational therapy and services for 
individuals with speech, hearing, and language disorders, 
performed by, or under the direction of, providers who 
meet the qualifications set forth at 42 CFR 440.110. This 
coverage includes audiology services; 
b. Skilled nursing services are covered under 42 CFR 
440.60. These services are to be rendered in accordance 
to the licensing standards and criteria of the Virginia 
Board of Nursing. Nursing services are to be provided by 
licensed registered nurses or licensed practical nurses but 
may be delegated by licensed registered nurses in 
accordance with the regulations of the Virginia Board of 
Nursing, especially the section on delegation of nursing 
tasks and procedures. the The licensed practical nurse is 
under the supervision of a registered nurse.  
(1) The coverage of skilled nursing services shall be of a 
level of complexity and sophistication (based on 
assessment, planning, implementation and evaluation) 
that is consistent with skilled nursing services when 
performed by a licensed registered nurse or a licensed 
practical nurse. These skilled nursing services shall 
include, but not necessarily be limited to dressing 
changes, maintaining patent airways, medication 
administration/monitoring and urinary catheterizations.  
(2) Skilled nursing services shall be directly and 
specifically related to an active, written plan of care 
developed by a registered nurse that is based on a written 
order from a physician, physician assistant or nurse 
practitioner for skilled nursing services. This order shall 
be recertified on an annual basis.  
c. Psychiatric and psychological services performed by 
licensed practitioners within the scope of practice are 
defined under state law or regulations and covered as 
physicians' services under 42 CFR 440.50 or medical or 
other remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. These 
outpatient services include individual medical 
psychotherapy, group medical psychotherapy coverage, 
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and family medical psychotherapy. Psychological and 
neuropsychological testing are allowed when done for 
purposes other than educational diagnosis, school 
admission, evaluation of an individual with mental 
retardation intellectual disability prior to admission to a 
nursing facility, or any placement issue. These services 
are covered in the nonschool settings also. School 
providers who may render these services when licensed 
by the state include psychiatrists, licensed clinical 
psychologists, school psychologists, licensed clinical 
social workers, professional counselors, psychiatric 
clinical nurse specialist, marriage and family therapists, 
and school social workers. 
d. Personal care services are covered under 42 CFR 
440.167 and performed by persons qualified under this 
subsection. The personal care assistant is supervised by a 
DMAS recognized school-based health professional who 
is acting within the scope of licensure. This practitioner 
develops a written plan for meeting the needs of the 
child, which is implemented by the assistant. The 
assistant must have qualifications comparable to those 
for other personal care aides recognized by the Virginia 
Department of Medical Assistance Services. The 
assistant performs services such as assisting with 
toileting, ambulation, and eating. The assistant may serve 
as an aide on a specially adapted school vehicle that 
enables transportation to or from the school or school 
contracted provider on days when the student is receiving 
a Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. Children 
requiring an aide during transportation on a specially 
adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP. 
e. Medical evaluation services are covered as physicians' 
services under 42 CFR 440.50 or as medical or other 
remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. Persons performing 
these services shall be licensed physicians, physician 
assistants, or nurse practitioners. These practitioners shall 
identify the nature or extent of a child's medical or other 
health related condition.  
f. Transportation is covered as allowed under 42 CFR 
431.53 and described at State Plan Attachment 3.1-D 
(12VAC30-50-530). Transportation shall be rendered 
only by school division personnel or contractors. 
Transportation is covered for a child who requires 
transportation on a specially adapted school vehicle that 
enables transportation to or from the school or school 
contracted provider on days when the student is receiving 
a Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. 
Transportation shall be listed in the child's IEP. Children 
requiring an aide during transportation on a specially 
adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP.  
g. Assessments are covered as necessary to assess or 
reassess the need for medical services in a child's IEP 
and shall be performed by any of the above licensed 
practitioners within the scope of practice. Assessments 

and reassessments not tied to medical needs of the child 
shall not be covered. 

5. DMAS will ensure through quality management review 
that duplication of services will be monitored. School 
divisions have a responsibility to ensure that if a child is 
receiving additional therapy outside of the school, that 
there will be coordination of services to avoid duplication 
of service.  

D. Family planning services and supplies for individuals of 
child-bearing age. 

1. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 
performed within the scope of the license of a practitioner 
of the healing arts. 
2. Family planning services shall be defined as those 
services that delay or prevent pregnancy. Coverage of such 
services shall not include services to treat infertility nor 
services to promote fertility. 

12VAC30-60-25. Utilization control: freestanding 
psychiatric hospitals.  

A. Psychiatric services in freestanding psychiatric hospitals 
shall only be covered for eligible persons younger than 21 
years of age and older than 64 years of age.  

B. Prior authorization required. DMAS shall monitor, 
consistent with state law, the utilization of all inpatient 
freestanding psychiatric hospital services. All inpatient 
hospital stays shall be preauthorized prior to reimbursement 
for these services. Services rendered without such prior 
authorization shall not be covered.  

C. In each case for which payment for freestanding 
psychiatric hospital services is made under the State Plan:  

1. A physician must certify at the time of admission, or at 
the time the hospital is notified of an individual's 
retroactive eligibility status, that the individual requires or 
required inpatient services in a freestanding psychiatric 
hospital consistent with 42 CFR 456.160.  
2. The physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner 
acting within the scope of practice as defined by state law 
and under the supervision of a physician, must recertify at 
least every 60 days that the individual continues to require 
inpatient services in a psychiatric hospital.  
3. Before admission to a freestanding psychiatric hospital 
or before authorization for payment, the attending 
physician or staff physician must perform a medical 
evaluation of the individual and appropriate professional 
personnel must make a psychiatric and social evaluation as 
cited in 42 CFR 456.170.  
4. Before admission to a freestanding psychiatric hospital 
or before authorization for payment, the attending 
physician or staff physician must establish a written plan of 
care for each recipient patient as cited in 42 CFR 441.155 
and 456.180. The plan shall also include a list of services 
provided under arrangement with the freestanding 
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psychiatric hospital (see 12VAC30-50-130) that will be 
furnished to the patient through the freestanding 
psychiatric hospital's referral to an employed or contracted 
provider, including the prescribed frequency of treatment 
and the circumstances under which such treatment shall be 
sought. 

D. If the eligible individual is 21 years of age or older, then, 
in order to qualify for Medicaid payment for this service, he 
must be at least 65 years of age.  

E. If younger than 21 years of age, it shall be documented 
that the individual requiring admission to a freestanding 
psychiatric hospital is under 21 years of age, that treatment is 
medically necessary, and that the necessity was identified as a 
result of an early and periodic screening, diagnosis, and 
treatment (EPSDT) screening. Required patient 
documentation shall include, but not be limited to, the 
following:  

1. An EPSDT physician's screening report showing the 
identification of the need for further psychiatric evaluation 
and possible treatment.  
2. A diagnostic evaluation documenting a current (active) 
psychiatric disorder included in the DSM-III-R that 
supports the treatment recommended. The diagnostic 
evaluation must be completed prior to admission.  
3. For admission to a freestanding psychiatric hospital for 
psychiatric services resulting from an EPSDT screening, a 
certification of the need for services as defined in 42 CFR 
441.152 by an interdisciplinary team meeting the 
requirements of 42 CFR 441.153 or 441.156 and the The 
Psychiatric Inpatient Treatment of Minors Act (§ 16.1-335 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

F. If a Medicaid eligible individual is admitted in an 
emergency to a freestanding psychiatric hospital on a 
Saturday, Sunday, holiday, or after normal working hours, it 
shall be the provider's responsibility to obtain the required 
authorization on the next work day following such an 
admission.  

G. The absence of any of the required documentation 
described in this subsection shall result in DMAS' denial of 
the requested preauthorization and coverage of subsequent 
hospitalization.  

F. H. To determine that the DMAS enrolled mental hospital 
providers are in compliance with the regulations governing 
mental hospital utilization control found in the 42 CFR 
456.150, an annual audit will be conducted of each enrolled 
hospital. This audit may be performed either on site or as a 
desk audit. The hospital shall make all requested records 
available and shall provide an appropriate place for the 
auditors to conduct such review if done on site. The audits 
shall consist of review of the following:  

1. Copy of the mental hospital's Utilization Management 
Plan to determine compliance with the regulations found in 
the 42 CFR 456.200 through 456.245.  

2. List of current Utilization Management Committee 
members and physician advisors to determine that the 
committee's composition is as prescribed in the 42 CFR 
456.205 and 456.206.  
3. Verification of Utilization Management Committee 
meetings, including dates and list of attendees to determine 
that the committee is meeting according to their utilization 
management meeting requirements.  
4. One completed Medical Care Evaluation Study to 
include objectives of the study, analysis of the results, and 
actions taken, or recommendations made to determine 
compliance with 42 CFR 456.241 through 456.245.  
5. Topic of one ongoing Medical Care Evaluation Study to 
determine the hospital is in compliance with 42 CFR 
456.245.  
6. From a list of randomly selected paid claims, the 
freestanding psychiatric hospital must provide a copy of 
the certification for services, a copy of the physician 
admission certification, a copy of the required medical, 
psychiatric, and social evaluations, and the written plan of 
care for each selected stay to determine the hospital's 
compliance with §§ 16.1-335 through 16.1-348 of the Code 
of Virginia and 42 CFR 441.152, 456.160, 456.170, 
456.180 and 456.181. If any of the required documentation 
does not support the admission and continued stay, 
reimbursement may be retracted.  
7. The freestanding psychiatric hospital shall not receive a 
per diem reimbursement for any day that:  

a. The comprehensive plan of care fails to include, within 
one calendar day of the initiation of the service provided 
under arrangement, all services that the individual needs 
while at the freestanding psychiatric hospital and that 
will be furnished to the individual through the 
freestanding psychiatric hospital's referral to an 
employed or contracted provider of services under 
arrangement; 
b. The comprehensive plan of care fails to include within 
one calendar day of the initiation of the service the 
prescribed frequency of such service or includes a 
frequency that was exceeded; 
c. The comprehensive plan of care fails to list the 
circumstances under which the service provided under 
arrangement shall be sought;  
d. The referral to the service provided under arrangement 
was not present in the patient's freestanding psychiatric 
hospital record or the record of the provider of services 
under arrangement;  
e. The medical records from the provider of services 
under arrangement (i.e., any admission and discharge 
documents, treatment plans, progress notes, treatment 
summaries, and documentation of medical results and 
findings) were not present in the patient's freestanding 
psychiatric hospital record or had not been requested in 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 2, 2014 

2476 

writing by the freestanding psychiatric hospital within 
seven days of completion of the service or services 
provided under arrangement; or 
f. The freestanding psychiatric hospital did not have a 
fully executed contract or an employee relationship with 
a provider of services under arrangement in advance of 
the provision of such services. For emergency services, 
the freestanding psychiatric hospital shall have a fully 
executed contract with the emergency services provider 
prior to submission of the emergency services provider's 
claim for payment. 

8. The provider of services under arrangement shall be 
required to reimburse DMAS for the cost of any such 
service billed prior to receiving a referral from the 
freestanding psychiatric hospital or in excess of the 
amounts in the referral. 

I. The hospitals may appeal in accordance with the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) any adverse decision resulting from such audits 
which results in retraction of payment. The appeal must be 
requested within 30 days of the date of the letter notifying the 
hospital of the retraction pursuant to the requirements of 
12VAC30-20-500 et seq.  

Part V  
Inpatient Hospital Payment System  

Article 1  
Application of Payment Methodologies  

12VAC30-70-201. Application of payment methodologies.  
A. The state agency will pay for inpatient hospital services 

in general acute care hospitals, rehabilitation hospitals, and 
freestanding psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals under a 
prospective payment methodology. This methodology uses 
both per case and per diem payment methods. Article 2 
(12VAC30-70-221 et seq.) describes the prospective payment 
methodology, including both the per case and the per diem 
methods.  

B. Article 3 (12VAC30-70-400 et seq.) describes a per diem 
methodology that applied to a portion of payment to general 
acute care hospitals during state fiscal years 1997 and 1998, 
and that will continue to apply to patient stays with admission 
dates prior to July 1, 1996. Inpatient hospital services that are 
provided in long stay hospitals shall be subject to the 
provisions of Supplement 3 (12VAC30-70-10 through 
12VAC30-70-130).  

C. Inpatient hospital facilities operated by the Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) 
shall be reimbursed costs except for inpatient psychiatric 
services furnished under early and periodic screening, 
diagnosis, and treatment (EPSDT) services for individuals 
younger than age 21. These inpatient services shall be 
reimbursed according to 12VAC30-70-415 and shall be 
provided according to the requirements set forth in 
12VAC30-50-130 and 12VAC30-60-25 H. Facilities may 

also receive disproportionate share hospital (DSH) payments. 
The criteria for DSH eligibility and the payment amount shall 
be based on subsection F of 12VAC30-70-50. If the DSH 
limit is exceeded by any facility, the excess DSH payments 
shall be distributed to all other qualifying DBHDS facilities 
in proportion to the amount of DSH they otherwise receive. 

D. Transplant services shall not be subject to the provisions 
of this part. Reimbursement for covered liver, heart, and bone 
marrow/stem cell transplant services and any other medically 
necessary transplantation procedures that are determined to 
not be experimental or investigational shall be a fee based 
upon the greater of a prospectively determined, procedure-
specific flat fee determined by the agency or a prospectively 
determined, procedure-specific percentage of usual and 
customary charges. The flat fee reimbursement will cover 
procurement costs; all hospital costs from admission to 
discharge for the transplant procedure; and total physician 
costs for all physicians providing services during the hospital 
stay, including radiologists, pathologists, oncologists, 
surgeons, etc. The flat fee reimbursement does not include 
pre-hospitalization and post-hospitalization for the transplant 
procedure or pretransplant evaluation. If the actual charges 
are lower than the fee, the agency shall reimburse the actual 
charges. Reimbursement for approved transplant procedures 
that are performed out of state will be made in the same 
manner as reimbursement for transplant procedures 
performed in the Commonwealth. Reimbursement for 
covered kidney and cornea transplants is at the allowed 
Medicaid rate. Standards for coverage of organ transplant 
services are in 12VAC30-50-540 through 12VAC30-50-580.  

E. Reduction of payments methodology.  
1. For state fiscal years 2003 and 2004, the Department of 
Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) shall reduce 
payments to hospitals participating in the Virginia 
Medicaid Program by $8,935,825 total funds, and 
$9,227,815 total funds respectively. For purposes of 
distribution, each hospital's share of the total reduction 
amount shall be determined as provided in this subsection.  
2. Determine base for revenue forecast.  

a. DMAS shall use, as a base for determining the 
payment reduction distribution for hospitals Type I and 
Type II, net Medicaid inpatient operating reimbursement 
and outpatient reimbursed cost, as recorded by DMAS 
for state fiscal year 1999 from each individual hospital 
settled cost reports. This figure is further reduced by 
18.73%, which represents the estimated statewide HMO 
average percentage of Medicaid business for those 
hospitals engaged in HMO contracts, to arrive at net 
baseline proportion of non-HMO hospital Medicaid 
business.  
b. For freestanding psychiatric hospitals, DMAS shall 
use estimated Medicaid revenues for the six-month 
period (January 1, 2001, through June 30, 2001), times 
two, and adjusted for inflation by 4.3% for state fiscal 
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year 2002, 3.1% for state fiscal year 2003, and 3.7% for 
state fiscal year 2004, as reported by DRI-WEFA, Inc.'s, 
hospital input price level percentage moving average.  

3. Determine forecast revenue.  
a. Each Type I hospital's individual state fiscal year 2003 
and 2004 forecast reimbursement is based on the 
proportion of non-HMO business (see subdivision 2 a of 
this subsection) with respect to the DMAS forecast of 
SFY 2003 and 2004 inpatient and outpatient operating 
revenue for Type I hospitals.  
b. Each Type II, including freestanding psychiatric, 
hospital's individual state fiscal year 2003 and 2004 
forecast reimbursement is based on the proportion of 
non-HMO business (see subdivision 2 of this subsection) 
with respect to the DMAS forecast of SFY 2003 and 
2004 inpatient and outpatient operating revenue for Type 
II hospitals.  

4. Each hospital's total yearly reduction amount is equal to 
their respective state fiscal year 2003 and 2004 forecast 
reimbursement as described in subdivision 3 of this 
subsection, times 3.235857% for state fiscal year 2003, and 
3.235857%, for the first two quarters of state fiscal year 
2004 and 2.88572% for the last two quarters of state fiscal 
year 2004, not to be reduced by more than $500,000 per 
year.  
5. Reductions shall occur quarterly in four amounts as 
offsets to remittances. Each hospital's payment reduction 
shall not exceed that calculated in subdivision 4 of this 
subsection. Payment reduction offsets not covered by 
claims remittance by May 15, 2003, and 2004, will be 
billed by invoice to each provider with the remaining 
balances payable by check to the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services before June 30, 2003, or 2004, as 
applicable.  

F. Consistent with 42 CFR 447.26 and effective July 1, 
2012, the Commonwealth shall not reimburse inpatient 
hospitals for provider-preventable conditions (PPCs), which 
include: 

1. Health care-acquired conditions (HCACs). HCACs are 
conditions occurring in any hospital setting, identified as a 
hospital-acquired condition (HAC) by Medicare other than 
deep vein thrombosis (DVT)/pulmonary embolism (PE) 
following total knee replacement or hip replacement 
surgery in pediatric and obstetric patients.  
2. Other provider preventable conditions (OPPCs) as 
follows: (i) wrong surgical or other invasive procedure 
performed on a patient; (ii) surgical or other invasive 
procedure performed on the wrong body part; or (iii) 
surgical or other invasive procedure performed on the 
wrong patient. 

12VAC30-70-321. Hospital specific operating rate per 
day.  

A. The hospital specific operating rate per day shall be equal 
to the labor portion of the statewide operating rate per day, as 
determined in subsection A of 12VAC30-70-341, times the 
hospital's Medicare wage index plus the nonlabor portion of 
the statewide operating rate per day. 

B. For rural hospitals, the hospital's Medicare wage index 
used in this section shall be the Medicare wage index of the 
nearest metropolitan wage area or the effective Medicare 
wage index, whichever is higher. 

C. Effective July 1, 2008, and ending after June 30, 2010, 
the hospital specific operating rate per day shall be reduced 
by 2.683%. 

D. The hospital specific rate per day for freestanding 
psychiatric cases shall be equal to the hospital specific 
operating rate per day, as determined in subsection A of this 
section plus the hospital specific capital rate per day for 
freestanding psychiatric cases. 

E. The hospital specific capital rate per day for freestanding 
psychiatric cases shall be equal to the Medicare geographic 
adjustment factor for the hospital's geographic area, times the 
statewide capital rate per day for freestanding psychiatric 
cases times the percentage of allowable cost specified in 
12VAC30-70-271. 

F. The statewide capital rate per day for freestanding 
psychiatric cases shall be equal to the weighted average of the 
GAF-standardized capital cost per day of freestanding 
psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals. 

G. The capital cost per day of freestanding psychiatric 
facilities licensed as hospitals shall be the average charges per 
day of psychiatric cases times the ratio total capital cost to 
total charges of the hospital, using data available from 
Medicare cost report.  
12VAC30-70-415. Reimbursement for freestanding 
psychiatric hospital services under EPSDT. 

A. The freestanding psychiatric hospital specific rate per day 
for psychiatric cases shall be equal to the hospital specific 
operating rate per day, as determined in subsection A of 
12VAC30-70-321 plus the hospital specific capital rate per 
day for freestanding psychiatric cases. 

B. The freestanding psychiatric hospital specific capital rate 
per day for psychiatric cases shall be equal to the Medicare 
geographic adjustment factor (GAF) for the hospital's 
geographic area times the statewide capital rate per day for 
freestanding psychiatric cases times the percentage of 
allowable cost specified in 12VAC30-70-271. 

C. The statewide capital rate per day for psychiatric cases 
shall be equal to the weighted average of the GAF-
standardized capital cost per day of facilities licensed as 
freestanding psychiatric hospitals. 
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D. The capital cost per day of facilities licensed as 
freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall be the average charges 
per day of psychiatric cases times the ratio total of capital cost 
to total charges of the hospital, using data available from 
Medicare cost report. 

E. Effective July 1, 2013, services provided under 
arrangement, as defined in subdivisions B 6 a and B 6 b of 
12VAC30-50-130, shall be reimbursed directly by DMAS, 
according to the reimbursement methodology prescribed for 
each provider in 12VAC30-80 or elsewhere in the State Plan, 
to a provider of services under arrangement if all of the 
following are met:  

1. The services are included in the active treatment plan of 
care developed and signed as described in section 
12VAC30-60-25 C 4 and  
2. The services are arranged and overseen by the 
freestanding psychiatric hospital treatment team through a 
written referral to a Medicaid enrolled provider that is 
either an employee of the freestanding psychiatric hospital 
or under contract for services provided under arrangement.  

12VAC30-70-417. Reimbursement for inpatient 
psychiatric services in residential treatment facilities 
(Level C) under EPSDT. 

A. Effective January 1, 2000, the state agency shall pay for 
inpatient psychiatric services in residential treatment facilities 
provided by participating providers under the terms and 
payment methodology described in this section.  

B. Effective January 1, 2000, payment shall be made for 
inpatient psychiatric services in residential treatment facilities 
using a per diem payment rate as determined by the state 
agency based on information submitted by enrolled 
residential psychiatric treatment facilities. This rate shall 
constitute direct payment for all residential psychiatric 
treatment facility services, excluding all services provided 
under arrangement that are reimbursed in the manner 
described in subsection D of this section.  

C. Enrolled residential treatment facilities shall submit cost 
reports on uniform reporting forms provided by the state 
agency at such time as required by the agency. Such cost 
reports shall cover a 12-month period. If a complete cost 
report is not submitted by a provider, the program shall take 
action in accordance with its policies to assure that an 
overpayment is not being made. 

D. Effective July 1, 2013, services provided under 
arrangement, as defined in subdivisions B 6 a and B 6 b of 
12VAC30-50-130, shall be reimbursed directly by DMAS, 
according to the reimbursement methodology prescribed for 
these providers elsewhere in the State Plan, to a provider of 
services provided under arrangement if all of the following 
are met:  

1. The services provided under arrangement are included in 
the active written treatment plan of care developed and 
signed as described in section 12VAC30-130-890 and  

2. The services provided under arrangement are arranged 
and overseen by the residential treatment facility treatment 
team through a written referral to a Medicaid enrolled 
provider that is either an employee of the residential 
treatment facility or under contract for services provided 
under arrangement.  

12VAC30-80-21. Inpatient psychiatric services in 
residential treatment facilities (under EPSDT). 
Reimbursement for services furnished individuals 
residing in a freestanding psychiatric hospital or 
residential treatment center (Level C). 

A. Effective January 1, 2000, the state agency shall pay for 
inpatient psychiatric services in residential treatment facilities 
provided by participating providers, under the terms and 
payment methodology described in this section.  

B. Methodology. Effective January 1, 2000, payment will be 
made for inpatient psychiatric services in residential treatment 
facilities using a per diem payment rate as determined by the 
state agency based on information submitted by enrolled 
residential psychiatric treatment facilities. This rate shall 
constitute payment for all residential psychiatric treatment 
facility services, excluding all professional services.  

C. Data collection. Enrolled residential treatment facilities 
shall submit cost reports on uniform reporting forms provided 
by the state agency at such time as required by the agency. 
Such cost reports shall cover a 12-month period. If a complete 
cost report is not submitted by a provider, the Program shall 
take action in accordance with its policies to assure that an 
overpayment is not being made.  

Reimbursement for all services furnished to individuals who 
are residing in a freestanding psychiatric hospital or 
residential treatment center (Level C) shall be based on the 
freestanding psychiatric hospital reimbursement described in 
12VAC30-70-415 and the residential treatment center (Level 
C) reimbursement described in 12VAC30-70-417 and 
reimbursement of services provided under arrangement 
described in 12VAC30-80 or elsewhere in the State Plan. 

Part XIV  
Residential Psychiatric Treatment for Children and 

Adolescents  
12VAC30-130-850. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 
have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Active treatment" means implementation of a 
professionally developed and supervised individual plan of 
care that must be designed to achieve the recipient's discharge 
from inpatient status at the earliest possible time.  

"Certification" means a statement signed by a physician that 
inpatient services in a residential treatment facility are or 
were needed. The certification must be made at the time of 
admission, or, if an individual applies for assistance while in 
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a mental hospital or residential treatment facility, before the 
Medicaid agency authorizes payment.  

"Comprehensive individual plan of care" or "CIPOC" means 
a written plan developed for each recipient in accordance with 
12VAC30-130-890 to improve his condition to the extent that 
inpatient care is no longer necessary.  

"Emergency services" means a medical condition 
manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity 
(including severe pain) such that a prudent layperson, who 
possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine, 
could reasonably expect the absence of immediate medical 
attention to result in placing the health of the individual (or, 
with respect to a pregnant woman, the health of the woman or 
her unborn child) in serious jeopardy, serious impairment to 
bodily functions, or serious dysfunction of any bodily organ 
or part. 

"Initial plan of care" means a plan of care established at 
admission, signed by the attending physician or staff 
physician, that meets the requirements in 12VAC30-130-890.  

"Recertification" means a certification for each applicant or 
recipient that inpatient services in a residential treatment 
facility are needed. Recertification must be made at least 
every 60 days by a physician, or physician assistant or nurse 
practitioner acting within the scope of practice as defined by 
state law and under the supervision of a physician.  

"Recipient" or "recipients" means the child or adolescent 
younger than 21 years of age receiving this covered service.  
12VAC30-130-890. Plans of care; review of plans of care.  

A. For Residential Treatment Services (Level C) (RTS-
Level C), an initial plan of care must be completed at 
admission and a Comprehensive Individual Plan of Care 
(CIPOC) must be completed no later than 14 days after 
admission.  

B. Initial plan of care (Level C) must include:  
1. Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications 
indicating the need for admission;  
2. A description of the functional level of the recipient;  
3. Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term 
goals;  
4. Any orders for medications, treatments, restorative and 
rehabilitative services, activities, therapies, social services, 
diet, and special procedures recommended for the health 
and safety of the patient individual and a list of services 
provided under arrangement (see 12VAC30-50-130 for 
eligible services provided under arrangement) that will be 
furnished to the individual through the RTC-Level C's 
referral to an employed or contracted provider of services 
under arrangement, including the prescribed frequency of 
treatment and the circumstances under which such 
treatment shall be sought; 
5. Plans for continuing care, including review and 
modification to the plan of care;  

6. Plans for discharge; and  
7. Signature and date by the physician.  

C. The CIPOC for Level C must meet all of the following 
criteria:  

1. Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes 
examination of the medical, psychological, social, 
behavioral, and developmental aspects of the recipient's 
situation and must reflect the need for inpatient psychiatric 
care;  
2. Be developed by an interdisciplinary team of physicians 
and other personnel specified under subsection F of this 
section, who are employed by, or provide services to, 
patients in the facility in consultation with the recipient and 
his parents, legal guardians, or appropriate others in whose 
care he will be released after discharge;  
3. State treatment objectives that must include measurable 
short-term and long-term goals and objectives, with target 
dates for achievement;  
4. Prescribe an integrated program of therapies, activities, 
and experiences designed to meet the treatment objectives 
related to the diagnosis; and  
5. Include a list of services provided under arrangement 
(described in 12VAC30-50-130) that will be furnished to 
the individual through referral to an employee or 
contracted provider of services under arrangement, 
including the prescribed frequency of treatment and the 
circumstances under which such treatment shall be sought; 
and 
5. 6. Describe comprehensive discharge plans and 
coordination of inpatient services and post-discharge plans 
with related community services to ensure continuity of 
care upon discharge with the recipient's family, school, and 
community.  

D. Review of the CIPOC for Level C. The CIPOC must be 
reviewed every 30 days by the team specified in subsection F 
of this section to:  

1. Determine that services being provided are or were 
required on an inpatient basis; and  
2. Recommend changes in the plan as indicated by the 
recipient's overall adjustment as an inpatient.  

E. The development and review of the plan of care for Level 
C as specified in this section satisfies the facility's utilization 
control requirements for recertification and establishment and 
periodic review of the plan of care, as required in 42 CFR 
456.160 and 456.180.  

F. Team developing the CIPOC for Level C. The following 
requirements must be met:  

1. At least one member of the team must have expertise in 
pediatric mental health. Based on education and 
experience, preferably including competence in child 
psychiatry, the team must be capable of all of the 
following:  
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a. Assessing the recipient's immediate and long-range 
therapeutic needs, developmental priorities, and personal 
strengths and liabilities;  
b. Assessing the potential resources of the recipient's 
family;  
c. Setting treatment objectives; and  
d. Prescribing therapeutic modalities to achieve the plan's 
objectives.  

2. The team must include, at a minimum, either:  
a. A board-eligible or board-certified psychiatrist;  
b. A clinical psychologist who has a doctoral degree and 
a physician licensed to practice medicine or osteopathy; 
or  
c. A physician licensed to practice medicine or 
osteopathy with specialized training and experience in 
the diagnosis and treatment of mental diseases, and a 
psychologist who has a master's degree in clinical 
psychology or who has been certified by the state or by 
the state psychological association.  

3. The team must also include one of the following:  
a. A psychiatric social worker;  
b. A registered nurse with specialized training or one 
year's experience in treating mentally ill individuals;  
c. An occupational therapist who is licensed, if required 
by the state, and who has specialized training or one year 
of experience in treating mentally ill individuals; or  
d. A psychologist who has a master's degree in clinical 
psychology or who has been certified by the state or by 
the state psychological association.  

G. All Medicaid services are subject to utilization review 
review/audit. Absence of any of the required documentation 
may result in denial or retraction of any reimbursement.  

1. The RTC-Level C shall not receive a per diem 
reimbursement for any day that:  

a. The initial or comprehensive written plan of care fails 
to include, within one calendar day of the initiation of the 
service provided under arrangement, all services that the 
individual needs while residing at the residential 
treatment facility and that will be furnished to the 
individual through the RTC-Level C's referral to an 
employed or contracted provider of services under 
arrangement; 
b. The initial or comprehensive written plan of care fails 
to include within one calendar day of the initiation of the 
service provided under arrangement the prescribed 
frequency of treatment of such service, or includes a 
frequency that was exceeded; 
c. The initial or comprehensive written plan of care fails 
to list the circumstances under which the service 
provided under arrangement shall be sought;  

d. The referral to the service provided under arrangement 
was not present in either the individual's RTC-Level C 
record or the record of the provider of services under 
arrangement;  
e. The medical records from the provider of services 
under arrangement (i.e., any admission and discharge 
documents, treatment plans, progress notes, treatment 
summaries, and documentation of medical results and 
findings) were not present in the individual's RTC-Level 
C record, or had not been requested in writing by the 
RTC-Level C within seven days of discharge from or 
completion of the service or services provided under 
arrangement; or 
f. The RTC-Level C did not have a fully executed 
contract or employee relationship with an independent 
provider of services under arrangement in advance of the 
provision of such services. For emergency services, the 
RTC-Level C shall have a fully executed contract with 
the emergency services provider prior to submission of 
the emergency service provider's claim for payment. 

2. Absence of any of the required documentation may 
result in denial or retraction of any per diem 
reimbursement to the RTC-Level C for any day during 
which the requirement was not met. 
3. The provider of services under arrangement shall be 
required to reimburse DMAS for the cost of any such 
service provided under arrangement that was (i) furnished 
prior to receiving a referral or (ii) in excess of the amounts 
in the referral. Providers of services under arrangement 
shall be required to reimburse DMAS for the cost of any 
such services provided under arrangement that were 
rendered in the absence of an employment or contractual 
relationship. 

H. For Therapeutic Behavioral Services for Children and 
Adolescents under 21 (Level B), the initial plan of care must 
be completed at admission by the licensed mental health 
professional (LMHP) and a CIPOC must be completed by the 
LMHP no later than 30 days after admission. The assessment 
must be signed and dated by the LMHP.  

I. For Community-Based Services for Children and 
Adolescents under 21 (Level A), the initial plan of care must 
be completed at admission by the QMHP and a CIPOC must 
be completed by the QMHP no later than 30 days after 
admission. The individualized plan of care must be signed 
and dated by the program director.  

J. Initial plan of care for Levels A and B must include:  
1. Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications 
indicating the need for admission;  
2. A description of the functional level of the child;  
3. Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term 
goals;  
4. Any orders for medications, treatments, restorative and 
rehabilitative services, activities, therapies, social services, 
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diet, and special procedures recommended for the health 
and safety of the patient;  
5. Plans for continuing care, including review and 
modification to the plan of care; and  
6. Plans for discharge.  

K. The CIPOC for Levels A and B must meet all of the 
following criteria:  

1. Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes 
examination of the medical, psychological, social, 
behavioral, and developmental aspects of the child's 
situation and must reflect the need for residential 
psychiatric care;  
2. The CIPOC for both levels must be based on input from 
school, home, other healthcare health care providers, the 
child and family (or legal guardian);  
3. State treatment objectives that include measurable short-
term and long-term goals and objectives, with target dates 
for achievement;  
4. Prescribe an integrated program of therapies, activities, 
and experiences designed to meet the treatment objectives 
related to the diagnosis; and  
5. Describe comprehensive discharge plans with related 
community services to ensure continuity of care upon 
discharge with the child's family, school, and community.  

L. Review of the CIPOC for Levels A and B. The CIPOC 
must be reviewed, signed, and dated every 30 days by the 
QMHP for Level A and by the LMHP for Level B. The 
review must include:  

1. The response to services provided;  
2. Recommended changes in the plan as indicated by the 
child's overall response to the plan of care interventions; 
and  
3. Determinations regarding whether the services being 
provided continue to be required.  

Updates must be signed and dated by the service provider.  
M. All Medicaid services are subject to utilization review. 

Absence of any of the required documentation may result in 
denial or retraction of any reimbursement.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3714; Filed May 5, 2014, 12:21 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Medical 
Assistance Services is claiming an exemption from Article 2 
of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-
4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 
regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act where no 
agency discretion is involved. The Department of Medical 
Assistance Services will receive, consider, and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-141. Family Access to 
Medical Insurance Security Plan (amending 12VAC30-
141-100).  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
Effective Date: July 3, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendment eliminates the uninsured waiting period 
for children applying for Family Access to Medical 
Insurance Security (FAMIS) as required by Chapters 9 and 
183 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly. 

Part III  
Eligibility Determination and Application Requirements  

12VAC30-141-100. Eligibility requirements.  
A. This section shall be used to determine eligibility of 

children for FAMIS.  
B. FAMIS shall be in effect statewide.  
C. Eligible children must:  

1. Be determined ineligible for Medicaid by a local 
department of social services or be screened by the FAMIS 
central processing unit and determined not Medicaid 
likely;  
2. Be under 19 years of age;  
3. Be residents of the Commonwealth;  
4. Be either U.S. citizens, U.S. nationals or qualified 
noncitizens;  
5. Be uninsured, that is, not have comprehensive health 
insurance coverage;  
6. Not be a member of a family eligible for subsidized 
dependent coverage, as defined in 42 CFR 
457.310(c)(1)(ii) under any Virginia state employee health 
insurance plan on the basis of the family member's 
employment with a state agency; and 
7. Not be an inpatient in an institution for mental diseases 
(IMD), or an inmate in a public institution that is not a 
medical facility.  

D. Income.  
1. Screening. All child health insurance applications 
received at the FAMIS central processing unit must be 
screened to identify applicants who are potentially eligible 
for Medicaid. Children screened and found potentially 
eligible for Medicaid cannot be enrolled in FAMIS until 
there has been a finding of ineligibility for Medicaid. 
Children who do not appear to be eligible for Medicaid 
shall have their eligibility for FAMIS determined. Children 
determined to be eligible for FAMIS will be enrolled in the 
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FAMIS program. Child health insurance applications 
received at a local department of social services shall have 
a full Medicaid eligibility determination completed. 
Children determined to be ineligible for Medicaid due to 
excess income will have their eligibility for FAMIS 
determined. If a child is found to be eligible for FAMIS, 
the local department of social services will enroll the child 
in the FAMIS program.  
2. Standards. Income standards for FAMIS are based on a 
comparison of countable income to 200% of the federal 
poverty level for the family size, as defined in the State 
Plan for Title XXI as approved by the Centers for 
Medicare & Medicaid Services. Children who have income 
at or below 200% of the federal poverty level, but are 
ineligible for Medicaid due to excess income, will be 
income eligible to participate in FAMIS.  
3. Grandfathered CMSIP children. Children who were 
enrolled in the Children's Medical Security Insurance Plan 
at the time of conversion from CMSIP to FAMIS and 
whose eligibility determination was based on the 
requirements of CMSIP shall continue to have their income 
eligibility determined using the CMSIP income 
methodology. If their income exceeds the FAMIS standard, 
income eligibility will be based on countable income using 
the same income methodologies applied under the Virginia 
State Plan for Medical Assistance for children as set forth 
in 12VAC30-40-90. Income that would be excluded when 
determining Medicaid eligibility will be excluded when 
determining countable income for the former CMSIP 
children. Use of the Medicaid income methodologies shall 
only be applied in determining the financial eligibility of 
former CMSIP children for FAMIS and for only as long as 
the children meet the income eligibility requirements for 
CMSIP. When a former CMSIP child is determined to be 
ineligible for FAMIS, these former CMSIP income 
methodologies shall no longer apply and income eligibility 
will be based on the FAMIS income standards.  
4. Spenddown. Deduction of incurred medical expenses 
from countable income (spenddown) shall not apply in 
FAMIS. If the family income exceeds the income limits 
described in this section, the individual shall be ineligible 
for FAMIS regardless of the amount of any incurred 
medical expenses.  

E. Residency. The requirements for residency, as set forth in 
42 CFR 435.403, will be used when determining whether a child 
is a resident of Virginia for purposes of eligibility for FAMIS. A 
child who is not emancipated and is temporarily living away 
from home is considered living with his parents, adult relative 
caretaker, legal guardian, or person having legal custody if the 
absence is temporary and the child intends to return to the home 
when the purpose of the absence (such as education, medical 
care, rehabilitation, vacation, visit) is completed.  

F. U.S. citizen or nationality. Upon signing the declaration of 
citizenship or nationality required by § 1137(d) of the Social 
Security Act, the applicant or recipient is required under 

§ 2105(c)(9) to furnish satisfactory documentary evidence of 
U.S. citizenship or nationality and documentation of personal 
identity unless citizenship or nationality has been verified by the 
Commissioner of Social Security or unless otherwise exempt.  

G. Qualified noncitizen. The requirements for qualified aliens 
set out in Public Law 104-193, as amended, and the requirements 
for noncitizens set out in subdivisions 3 b, c, and e of 12VAC30-
40-10 will be used when determining whether a child is a 
qualified noncitizen for purposes of FAMIS eligibility.  

H. Coverage under other health plans.  
1. Any child covered under a group health plan or under 
health insurance coverage, as defined in § 2791 of the 
Public Health Services Act (42 USC § 300gg-91(a) and 
(b)(1)), shall not be eligible for FAMIS.  
2. No substitution for private insurance.  

a. Only uninsured children shall be eligible for FAMIS. 
A child is not considered to be insured if the health 
insurance plan covering the child does not have a 
network of providers in the area where the child resides. 
Each application for child health insurance shall include 
an inquiry about health insurance the child currently has 
or had within the past four months. If the child had health 
insurance coverage that was terminated in the past four 
months, inquiry as to why the health insurance was 
terminated is made. Each redetermination of eligibility 
shall also document inquiry about current health 
insurance or health insurance the child had within the 
past four months. If the child has been covered under a 
health insurance plan within four months of application 
for or receipt of FAMIS services, the child will be 
ineligible, unless the child is pregnant at the time of 
application, or, if age 18 or if under the age of 18, the 
child's parent, caretaker relative, guardian, legal 
custodian or authorized representative demonstrates good 
cause for discontinuing the coverage.  
b. Health insurance does not include Medicare, Medicaid, 
FAMIS, or insurance for which DMAS paid premiums 
under Title XIX through the Health Insurance Premium 
Payment (HIPP) Program or under Title XXI through the 
SCHIP premium assistance program.  
c. Good cause. A child shall not be ineligible for FAMIS 
if health insurance was discontinued within the four-
month period prior to the month of application if one of 
the following good cause exceptions is met.  
(1) The family member who carried insurance, changed 
jobs, or stopped employment, and no other family 
member's employer contributes to the cost of family 
health insurance coverage.  
(2) The employer stopped contributing to the cost of 
family coverage and no other family member's employer 
contributes to the cost of family health insurance 
coverage.  
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(3) The child's coverage was discontinued by an 
insurance company for reasons of uninsurability, e.g., the 
child has used up lifetime benefits or the child's coverage 
was discontinued for reasons unrelated to payment of 
premiums.  
(4) Insurance was discontinued by a family member who 
was paying the full cost of the insurance premium under 
a COBRA policy and no other family member's 
employer contributes to the cost of family health 
insurance coverage.  
(5) Insurance on the child was discontinued by someone 
other than the child (if 18 years of age) or if under age 
18, the child's parent or stepparent living in the home, 
e.g., the insurance was discontinued by the child's absent 
parent, grandparent, aunt, uncle, godmother, etc.  
(6) Insurance on the child was discontinued because the cost 
of the premium exceeded 10% of the family's monthly 

income or exceeded 10% of the family's monthly income at 
the time the insurance was discontinued.  
(7) Other good cause reasons may be established by the 
DMAS director.  

I. Eligibility of newborns. If a child otherwise eligible for 
FAMIS is born within the three months prior to the month in 
which a signed application is received, the eligibility for 
coverage is effective retroactive to the child's date of birth if 
the child would have met all eligibility criteria during that 
time. A child born to a mother who is enrolled in FAMIS, 
under either the XXI Plan or a related waiver (such as FAMIS 
MOMS), on the date of the child's birth shall be deemed 
eligible for FAMIS for one year from birth unless the child is 
otherwise eligible for Medicaid. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3980; Filed May 12, 2014, 1:43 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 13. HOUSING 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT 

Notice of Suspension of Regulatory Process and Additional Comment Period 
Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-51. Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code. 
Statutory Authority: § 27-97 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: July 2, 2014. 
Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Housing and Community 
Development is suspending the addition of the new "Permissible fireworks" row in Table 5003.1.1(1) of 13VAC5-51-145 E of 
the final Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code published in 30:16 VA.R. 2027-2070 April 7, 2014, and is soliciting 
additional comments. The subsection containing the specific provision regarding permissible fireworks that is being suspended 
is set out below. The provision regarding consumer fireworks is not suspended. 

E. Change the "Consumer fireworks" row and add a new "Permissible fireworks" row to Table 5003.1.1(1) to read: 

Consumer fireworks 1.4G H-3 125e,l N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Permissible fireworks 1.4G H-3 125d,e,l N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

The additional 30-day comment period ends on July 2, 2014. Written comment regarding the permissible fireworks provision 
may be submitted to the agency contact listed below. 
Agency Contact: Stephen W. Calhoun, Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 
Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7000, FAX (804) 371-7090, TTY 
(804) 371-7089, or email steve.calhoun@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3161; Filed May 7, 2014, 10:39 a.m.  

Notice of Suspension of Regulatory Process and Additional Comment Period 
Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-63. Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code.  
Statutory Authority: § 36-98 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: July 2, 2014. 
Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Housing and Community 
Development is suspending the addition of the new "Permissible fireworks" row in Table 307.1(1) of 13VAC5-63-210 C of the 
final Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code published in 30:16 VA.R. 2071-2229 April 7, 2014, and is soliciting additional 
comments. The subsection containing the specific provision regarding permissible fireworks that is being suspended is set out 
below. The provision regarding consumer fireworks is not suspended. 

C. Change the "Consumer fireworks" row and add a new "Permissible fireworks" row to Table 307.1(1) of the IBC to read: 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=4356
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=4357
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Consumer fireworks 1.4G H-3 125e,l N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Permissible fireworks 1.4G H-3 125d,e,l N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

The additional 30-day comment period ends on July 2, 2014. Written comment regarding the permissible fireworks provisions 
may be submitted to the agency contact listed below. 
Agency Contact: Stephen W. Calhoun, Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 
Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7000, FAX (804) 371-7090, TTY 
(804) 371-7089, or email steve.calhoun@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3159; Filed May 7, 2014, 10:38 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Proposed Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 18VAC65-20. Regulations of the 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (amending 
18VAC65-20-70, 18VAC65-20-154). 
18VAC65-40. Regulations for the Funeral Service 
Internship Program (amending 18VAC65-40-40).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

June 17, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 
Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 
Floor Conference Center, Hearing Room #3, Henrico, 
VA 

Public Comment Deadline: August 1, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Lisa Russell Hahn, Executive Director, 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 
(804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 527-4637, or email 
lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Regulations for the Funeral Service Intern Program are 
promulgated under the general authority of Chapter 24 
(§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, 
which establishes the general powers and duties of health 
regulatory boards, including the responsibility to promulgate 
regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process 
Act that are reasonable and necessary and the authority to 
levy and collect fees that are sufficient to cover all expenses 
for the administration of a regulatory program. 
The proposed regulation is mandated by § 54.1-113 of the 
Code of Virginia; however the board must exercise some 
discretion in the amount and type of fees that will be 
increased in order to comply with the statute. 
Purpose: The issue to be addressed is the need of the Board of 
Funeral Directors and Embalmers to increase fees for 
applicants, registrants, and licensees to cover expenses for 

essential functions of licensing, investigation of complaints 
against licensees and facilities, adjudication of disciplinary 
cases, and the inspections required for public safety and 
security in the Commonwealth. Section 54.1-113 of the Code 
of Virginia requires that at the end of each biennium, an 
analysis of revenues and expenditures of each regulatory 
board shall be performed. It is necessary that each board have 
sufficient revenue to cover its expenditures. By the close of 
the FY09 fiscal year, the Board of Funeral Directors and 
Embalmers had a surplus of $19,797 and was projected to 
have a deficit of $84 by the end of FY10. Because the board 
underspent its budget, it ended FY10 with a surplus of 
$40,298. However, because of extraordinary increases in 
information technology services, increases in health care 
costs, building lease payments, anticipated cost-of-living 
increases, and other expenditures, current revenue is projected 
to be insufficient for expenditures. The board will have 
deficits through the fiscal years going forward. Since the fees 
from licensees will no longer generate sufficient funds to pay 
operating expenses for the board, consideration of a fee 
increase is essential in order to avoid spiraling shortfalls and 
to have sufficient funding for the operation of the board. 
Substance: The proposed amendments increase almost all fees 
charged to applicants, registrants, and licensees. Renewal fees 
for funeral service licensee will increase from $175 to $225 
and for funeral establishment licensees from $300 to $400. 
Application fees, reinstatement fees, and late fees will 
increase accordingly. The fee for initial registration of a 
funeral service internship will increase from $100 to $150, 
and the renewal fee will increase from $100 to $125. 
Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that increased 
fees will produce adequate revenue to fund the licensing and 
disciplinary activities of the board. With a shortfall of 
$432,195 projected in FY14, there could be significant delays 
in licensing, inspecting facilities, and adjudicating complaints 
against licensees. There are no disadvantages; increases in 
renewal fees of approximately $50 for a funeral service 
licensee and $100 for an establishment should not 
significantly impact the cost of funeral services for 
Virginians. If two establishments have fewer than 85 funeral 
calls per year, the Code of Virginia allows them to share a 
manager who is a funeral service licensee, so the increase in 
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fees would result in a very minimum increase in the cost per 
funeral call. 
There are no disadvantages to the agency; the advantage 
would be that fees would be sufficient to cover expenditures, 
especially significant increases in information technology 
services, which are a requirement of the Code of Virginia. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (Board) proposes 
to separate out one fee from its previous grouping (a fee for 
renewal of funeral service intern registration) and increase 
most fees paid by licensees and registrants that are subject to 
the Board's authority. 
Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 
accurately gauge whether benefits are likely to outweigh costs 
for these proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. The Board proposes to change 
most of its fees for funeral service providers and 
establishments, funeral directors, embalmers, surface 
transportation service establishments, crematories and funeral 
service interns. Below is a comparison table for current and 
proposed fees: 

FEE TYPE CURRENT 
FEE 

PROPOSED 
FEE 

% 
INCREASE 

Initial license 
to practice 

funeral 
services or as a 
funeral director 

or embalmer 

$275 $325 18.18% 

Initial funeral 
service 

establishment 
license 

$500 $600 20% 

Initial surface 
transportation 
and removal 
registration 

$300 $325 8.3% 

Initial courtesy 
card $275 $325 18.18% 

Initial 
crematory 

registration  
$200 $250 25% 

Renewal of 
license to 
practice 
funeral 

services or as a 
funeral director 

or embalmer  

$175 $225 30% 

Renewal of 
funeral service 

$300  $400 33.33% 

establishment 
license 

Renewal of 
surface 

transportation 
and removal 
registration 

$250 $300 20% 

Renewal of 
courtesy card $275 $300 9.09% 

Renewal of 
crematory 

registration 
$150 $200 33.33% 

Additional fee 
for late 

renewal of 
license to 
practice 
funeral 

services or as a 
funeral director 

or embalmer  

$60 $75 25% 

Additional fee 
for late 

renewal of 
funeral service 
establishment 

license 

$100 $135 35% 

Additional fee 
for late 

renewal of 
surface 

transportation 
and removal 
registration 

$85 $100 17.65% 

Additional fee 
for late 

renewal of 
courtesy card 

$90 $100 11.11% 

Additional fee 
for late 

renewal of 
crematory 

registration 

$50 $75 50% 

Reinstatement 
of license to 

practice 
funeral 

services or as a 
funeral director 

or embalmer  

$275 $400 45.45% 

Reinstatement 
of funeral 

service 
establishment 

license 

$500 $635 27% 
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Reinstatement 
of surface 

transportation 
and removal 
registration 

$350 $425 21.43% 

Reinstatement 
of courtesy 

card 
$275 $425 54.55% 

Reinstatement 
of crematory 
registration 

$225  $275 22.22% 

Reinstatement 
following 

Suspension 
$500 $1,000 100% 

Reinstatement 
following 

Revocation 
$1,000 $2,000 100% 

Change of 
manager or 

establishment 
name 

$75 $100 33.33% 

Duplicate 
license, 

registration or 
courtesy card 

$15 $25 66.67% 

Non-routine 
reinspection  $300 $400 33.33% 

Application for 
renewal of 
continuing 
education 
provider 

$300 $400 33.33% 

Renewal fee 
for inactive 
licensure 

$90 $115 27.78% 

Additional fee 
for late 

renewal of an 
inactive license 

$30 $40 33.33% 

Funeral service 
intern 

registration 
$100 $150 50% 

Funeral 
services intern 

registration 
renewal 

$100 $125 25% 

Additional fee 
for late 

renewal of 
funeral 

services intern 
registration 

$35 $45 28.57% 

Registration of 
supervisor $25 $35 40% 

Change of 
supervisor $25 $35 40% 

Reinstatement 
fee $170 $195 14.71% 

Board staff reports that the Board had a surplus for FY 2009 
of $19,797 and a surplus of $40,298 for FY2010 but expects 
to run a deficit of $90,300 for FY2012 and every fiscal year 
thereafter. Board staff reports that the these fee increases are 
needed because 1) the costs of health care for Board 
employees and lease payments for office space have 
increased, 2) some Board non-general funds were transferred 
in FY2010 to the General Fund to help close the budget gap 
and, so, won't be available to cover the cost of licensure 
services, 3) costs for information technology (IT) services 
have skyrocketed and 4) enforcement and adjudications costs 
have run well over budget.  
The Department of Health Professions (DHP) reports that a 
large portion of the expected expenditure increases over their 
forecast horizon are needed to cover increased costs for 
services from the Virginia Information Technologies Agency 
(VITA). DHP reports that its VITA services costs have more 
than tripled from FY2005 to FY2011, from $850,000 to $3.6 
million, and are expected to be $4.4 million in FY2012. A 
large portion of the increase in costs, at least for FY 2010 and 
FY 2011, can be attributed to the planned move of DHP's 
licensing servers from DHP to Northrop Grumman. DHP 
anticipates that this will increase the costs for maintaining 
these servers by approximately $80,000 per month ($960,000 
per year). This Board is and will be responsible for a 
proportional share of these costs. Although it is likely beyond 
the capacity of DHP to control the very rapid growth of these 
costs, licensees of this Board (and all other DHP Boards) 
would benefit from increased scrutiny of services provided to 
DHP through VITA. 

Board Staff also reports that a portion of DHP's non-general 
fund bank account balances that would have partially offset 
the need for fee increases were instead moved to the General 
Fund by the Budget Bill of 2010 to help close the gap 
between revenue and expenditures. Staff reports that the 
Board's portion of this transfer was $20,270. The General 
Assembly's budgets for FY2011 and FY2012 transferred 
additional funds: the Board's loss due to these transfers was 
$4,808 in FY2011 and $3,043 in FY2012. Staff further 
reports that there is a possibility that further transfers could be 
required in future budgets. Licensees likely are harmed by 
these transfers as funds that were collected from them (and 
the interest those funds earned) that would have been used to 
cover the costs of administering their licensure program are 
instead used to offset the need for an increase in general taxes 
or for further budget cuts.  
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Increasing fees will likely increase the cost of being licensed 
and, so, will likely slightly decrease the number of people 
who choose to work in the field of funeral services and/or will 
likely slightly decrease the income of individuals that choose 
to remain licensed.  To the extent that the public benefits 
from the Board regulating these professional populations, 
they will also likely benefit from the Board's proposed action 
that will increase fees to support Board activities. There is 
insufficient information to ascertain whether benefits will 
outweigh costs.  
Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that the 
Board currently regulates 500 funeral establishments, 1,450 
funeral service licensees, 75 funeral directors, 5 embalmers, 
145 funeral interns, 90 crematories, 85 courtesy card holders, 
50 surface transportation companies and 25 continuing 
education providers. All of these entities, as well as any 
individuals or entities who may wish to become licensed or 
registered in the future, will be affected by these proposed 
regulations.  
Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 
Projected Impact on Employment. Fee increases in this 
regulatory action will likely marginally decrease the number 
of individuals who choose to work in professional fields that 
are regulated by the Board. Individuals who work part time or 
whose earnings are only slightly higher in these licensed 
fields than they would be in other jobs that do not require 
licensure will be more likely to be affected. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the 
extent that affected licensees are in private practice, fee 
increases will likely slightly decrease business profits and 
make their businesses slightly less valuable.  
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Board staff 
reports that most of the firms regulated by the Board likely 
qualify as small businesses. Affected small businesses will 
bear the costs of proposed increased fees. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. There are several actions that the Board 
could take that might mitigate the necessity of raising fees 
overall. The Board could slightly lengthen the time that it 
takes to process both license applications and complaints so 
that staff costs could be cut. This option would benefit current 
licensees but would slightly delay licensure, and the ability to 
legally work, for new applicants. Affected small businesses 
would also likely benefit from increased scrutiny of the IT 
costs that are driving increases in both agency and Board 
expenditures.  
Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 
likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 
Commonwealth. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 
best estimate of these economic impacts. 
Agency's Response to Economic Import Analysis: The Board 
of Funeral Directors and Embalmers concurs with the 
analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments will increase almost all fees 
charged to applicants, registrants, and licensees regulated 
by the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers. 
Renewal fees for funeral service licensees will increase to 
$225 and for funeral establishments to $400. Application 
fees, reinstatement fees, and late fees will increase. The fee 
for initial registration of a funeral service internship will 
increase to $150, and the renewal fee will increase to 
$125. 

18VAC65-20-70. Required fees.  
A. The following fees shall apply for initial licensure or 

registration:  

1. License to practice funeral service 
or as a funeral director or an embalmer 

$275 $325 

2. Funeral service establishment 
license 

$500 $600 

3. Surface transportation and removal 
service registration 

$300 $325 

4. Courtesy card $275 $325 

5. Crematory $200 $250 

6. Waiver of full-time manager 
requirement 

$150 
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B. The following fees shall apply for renewal of licensure or 
registration:  

1. License to practice funeral service 
or as a funeral director or an embalmer 

$175 $225 

2. Funeral service establishment 
license 

$300 $400 

3. Surface transportation and removal 
service registration 

$250 $300 

4. Courtesy card $275 $300 

5. Crematory $150 $200 

6. Waiver of full-time manager 
requirement 

$100 

C. The following fees shall apply for late renewal of 
licensure or registration up to one year following expiration:  

1. License to practice funeral service 
or as a funeral director or an embalmer 

$60 $75 

2. Funeral service establishment 
license 

$100 $135 

3. Surface transportation and removal 
service registration 

$85 $100 

4. Courtesy card $90 $100 

5. Crematory $50 $75 

6. Waiver of full-time manager 
requirement 

$35 

D. The following fees shall apply for reinstatement of 
licensure or registration:  

1. License to practice funeral service 
or as a funeral director or an 
embalmer 

$275 $400 

2. Establishment license $500 $635 

3. Surface transportation and removal 
service registration 

$350 $425 

4. Courtesy card $275 $425 

5. Crematory $225 $275 

6. Reinstatement following 
suspension 

$500 $1,000 

7. Reinstatement following revocation $1,000 $2,000 

E. Other fees.  

1. Change of manager or 
establishment name 

$75 $100 

2. Verification of license or 
registration to another state 

$50  

3. Duplicate license, registration, or 
courtesy card 

$15 $25 

4. Duplicate wall certificates $60 

5. Change of ownership $100 

6. Nonroutine reinspection (i.e., 
structural change to preparation room, 
change of location or ownership) 

$300 $400 

F. Fees for approval of continuing education providers.  

1. Application or renewal for continuing 
education provider 

$300 $400 

2. Late renewal of continuing education 
provider approval 

$100 

3. Review of additional courses not 
included on initial or renewal 
application 

$300 

18VAC65-20-154. Inactive license.  
A. A funeral service licensee, funeral director, or embalmer 

who holds a current, unrestricted license in Virginia shall, 
upon a request for inactive status on the renewal application 
and submission of the required renewal fee of $90 $115, be 
issued an inactive license. The fee for late renewal up to one 
year following expiration of an inactive license shall be $30 
$40.  

1. An inactive licensee shall not be entitled to perform any 
act requiring a license to practice funeral service in 
Virginia.  
2. The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to 
meet continuing education requirements, except as may be 
required for reactivation in subsection B of this section.  

B. A funeral service licensee, funeral director, or embalmer 
who holds an inactive license may reactivate his license by:  

1. Paying the difference between the renewal fee for an 
inactive license and that of an active license for the year in 
which the license is being reactivated; and  
2. Providing proof of completion of the number of 
continuing competency hours required for the period in 
which the license has been inactive, not to exceed three 
years.  

18VAC65-40-40. Fees.  
A. The following fees shall be paid as applicable for 

registration:  

1. Funeral service intern registration, 
reinstatement or renewal 

$100 $150 

2. Funeral service intern renewal $125 

2. 3. Late fee for renewal up to one 
year after expiration 

$35 $45 
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3. 4. Duplicate copy of intern 
registration 

$25 

4. 5. Returned check $35 

5. 6. Registration of supervisor $25 $35 

6. 7. Change of supervisor $25 $35 

7. 8. Reinstatement fee $170 $195 

B. Fees shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia 
and shall not be refundable once submitted.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2522; Filed May 15, 2014, 1:06 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-35. Virginia Independence 
Program (amending 22VAC40-35-10, 22VAC40-35-30, 
22VAC40-35-40, 22VAC40-35-80, 22VAC40-35-100).  
Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia; 
45 CFR 261.22. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
Public Comment Deadline: July 2, 2014. 
Effective Date: July 18, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Mark Golden, Program Manager, 
Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7385, or email 
mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Pursuant to § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia, the 
State Board of Social Services has authority to promulgate 
rules and regulations necessary for operation of all assistance 
programs. With regard to amendments to 22VAC40-35-80 
specifically, federal regulations at 45 CFR 261.22(c)(1) give 
the state the option of how long, up to one year, to disregard a 
custodial parent from engaging in a work program. 
Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory action is to amend the 
Virginia Independence Program regulation by (i) updating 
program names, such as "Food Stamps" to "SNAP"; some 
terminology, such as "day care" to "child care"; and 
definitions and (ii) conforming the regulation to amendments 
to § 63.2-609 of the Code of Virginia that limit the exemption 
for caring for a young child to 12 months in a lifetime, which 
will also bring the regulation into consistency with federal 
requirements (45 CFR 261.22), allowing for greater access to 
employment and training opportunities, thereby benefiting the 
health and welfare of participants. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: During the public 
comment period of the periodic review process there were no 

comments made about this regulation. The changes are 
minimal and expected to be noncontroversial. 
Substance: The amendments (i) update the Virginia 
Independence Program regulation by (i) changing references 
from "food stamps" to the current "Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program" or "SNAP," "day care" to "child care," 
and "Aid to Families with Dependent Children" or "AFDC" 
to "Temporary Assistance for Needy Families" or "TANF"; 
(ii) update associated definitions; and (iii) conform the 
regulation to § 63.2-609 of the Code of Virginia and limit the 
exemption for caring for a young child to 12 months in a 
lifetime, which will also bring the regulation into consistency 
with federal requirements (45 CFR 261.22).  
Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that the terms 
and definitions will be current and correct. The regulation 
will no longer improperly refer to other programs using 
outdated program titles. In addition, the regulation will reflect 
the employment and training exemptions as stated in statute. 
There are no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth. 
Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 
regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 
regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Regulation. The State Board of 
Social Services (Board) proposed to amend its regulations 
that govern the Virginia Independence Program to update 
obsolete language and to change a rule that outlines an 
exemption from Virginia Initiative for Employment not 
Welfare (VIEW) requirements for parents of infants under 12 
months of age. The VIEW exemption language is being 
changed so that these regulations are consistent with § 63.2-
609 of the Code of Virginia (as amended in 2011). 
Result of Analysis. Benefits likely exceed costs for all 
proposed regulatory changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Regulations for the Virginia 
Independence Program were last amended in 2009 and still 
contain references to the Aid for Families with Dependent 
Children (AFDC) program and to the food stamp program, 
both of which have been renamed/replaced with the 
Temporary Aid for Needy Families (TANF) program and the 
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), 
respectively. These regulations also have not been amended 
to make them consistent with a Code of Virginia change that 
was passed in 2011 which puts a limit on the number of 
months that parents of infants qualify for an exemption to 
work requirements that are normally mandatory in order to 
receive TANF benefits. The Board now proposes to amend 
these regulations to update terminology and make regulatory 
language consistent with controlling statutory language. 
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No affected entity is likely to incur costs on account of these 
proposed regulations. To the extent that these changes remove 
obsolete language that may be confusing and clarify the rules 
that recipients are subject to, interested parties will benefit 
from these changes.  
Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that 
there are approximately 62,250 low-income families that 
receive TANF benefits each month. All these families, as well 
as all future recipients will be affected by these proposed 
regulatory changes.  
Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by these proposed regulations. 
Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed 
regulations are unlikely to have any impact on employment in 
the Commonwealth.  
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 
proposed regulations are unlikely to have any effect on the 
use and value of any private property. 
Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small 
businesses will be affected by these proposed regulations. 
Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. No small businesses will be affected by 
these proposed regulations. 
Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 
(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 
of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 
other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 
identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 
entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 
and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 
to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 
the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 
property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 
effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 
economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 
estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 
regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 
other administrative costs required for small businesses to 
comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 
skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 
documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 
regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 
of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 
achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 
presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 
economic impacts. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department of Social Services concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 
Budget. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) update current references to "Aid to 
Families with Dependent Children" or "AFDC" to 
"Temporary Assistance for Needy Families" or "TANF," 
"Food Stamp Program" or "food stamps" to 
"Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program" or 
"SNAP," and "child day care" or "day care" to "child 
care"; (ii) update definitions; and (iii) conform the 
regulation to § 63.2-609 of the Code of Virginia and 
federal regulations by including a 12-month lifetime limit 
on the exemption from participating in the employment 
and training program because of caring for a young 
child. 

Part I  
General Provisions  

22VAC40-35-10. Definitions.  
The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Actively seeking employment" means satisfactorily 
participating in any assigned job-seeking activity while in the 
program.  

"Adult portion" means the TANF amount paid on behalf of 
the parent or other caretaker-relative with whom the TANF 
child resides, including a minor parent. This amount is the 
difference in the standard of assistance for a family size, 
which includes the adult and the standard of assistance for a 
family size of one less person.  

"Agreement" means the written individualized agreement of 
personal responsibility required by § 63.2-608 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Allotment" means the monthly food stamp SNAP benefit 
given to a household.  

"Applicant" means a person who has applied for TANF or 
TANF-UP benefits and the disposition of the application has 
not yet been determined.  

"Assistance unit" means those persons who have been 
determined categorically and financially eligible to receive 
assistance.  

"Caretaker-relative" means the natural or adoptive parent or 
other relative, as specified in 45 CFR 233.90(c)(1)(v), who is 
responsible for supervision and care of the needy child.  

"Case management" means the process of assessing, 
coordinating, monitoring, delivering, or brokering activities 
and services necessary for VIEW participants to enter 
employment or employment-related activities as quickly as 
possible.  

"Case management services" means services which that 
include, but are not limited to, job development and job 
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placement, community work experience, education, skills 
training, and support services.  

"Case manager" means the worker designated by the local 
department of social services, a private-sector contractor or a 
private community-based organization including nonprofit 
entities, churches, or voluntary organizations that provide 
case management services.  

"Child day care" means those services for which a 
participant is eligible pursuant to child day care services 
policy.  

"Child day care services/program" means a regularly 
operating service arrangement for children where, during the 
absence of a parent or guardian, a person or organization has 
agreed to assume responsibility for the supervision, 
protection, and well-being of children under the age of 13 (or 
children up to 18 years of age if they are physically or 
mentally incapable of caring for themselves or subject to 
court supervision) for less than a 24-hour period.  

"Community work experience" means work for benefits in a 
public or private organization that serves a community/public 
function.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 
Services.  

"Diversionary cash assistance" means a one-time lump sum 
payment to an individual or third-party vendor to prevent 
long-term receipt of TANF.  

"Division of Child Support Enforcement" or "DCSE" means 
that division of the Virginia Department of Social Services 
which that is responsible under Title IV-D of the Social 
Security Act (42 USC §§ 651-669) to locate noncustodial 
parents, establish paternity, establish child support and health 
care orders, enforce payment of delinquent support, and 
collect and distribute support payments.  

"Employer tax credit" means a tax credit available to an 
employer pursuant to § 58.1-439.9 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Family" means a TANF assistance unit.  
"Food Stamp Program" means the program administered 

through the Virginia Department of Social Services through 
which a household can receive food stamps with which to 
purchase food products.  

"Full Employment Program" or "FEP" means subsidized, 
training-oriented, employment which that replaces the TANF 
and food stamp benefits of a participant. This component of 
VIEW is designed to train the recipient for a specific job, 
increase his self-sufficiency, and improve his competitiveness 
in the labor market.  

"Grant" means the monthly TANF benefit payment.  
"Hardship exceptions" means prescribed reasons which that, 

if applicable, would allow an extension of receipt of TANF 
benefits.  

"He" means a male or female, as applicable.  

"Hiring authority" means an individual with the authority to 
hire employees for a business.  

"In loco parentis" means an adult relative or other adult who 
is acting in place of a parent.  

"Incapacitated" means a medically verified condition which 
renders an individual unable to work.  

"Job placement" means placing a participant in an 
unsubsidized or subsidized job.  

"Job search" means a structured, time-limited period in 
which the participant is required to search for employment. 
The participant must complete a set number of hours 
searching for employment. 

"Job skills training" means training in technical job skills or 
required knowledge in a specific occupational area in the 
labor market.  

"Local agency" or "local department" means any one of the 
local social services or welfare agencies throughout the 
Commonwealth which that administers the VIP program.  

"Minor parent" means any parent under 18 years of age.  
"On-the-job training" means training which that is provided 

by an employer during routine performance of a job.  
"Parent" means a mother or father, married or unmarried, 

natural, or adoptive following entry of an interlocutory order. 
The parent may be a minor parent.  

"Participant" means a TANF or TANF-UP recipient who is 
participating in the VIEW program.  

"Participating family" means an assistance unit including a 
parent who participates in the Virginia Initiative for 
Employment not Welfare (VIEW) Program.  

"Part-time unsubsidized employment" means employment of 
at least 10 hours but less than 30 hours per week and for 
which no VIEW, or TANF, or food stamp funds are used to 
pay the individual's salary.  

"Post-secondary education" means formal instruction at an 
institution of higher education or vocational school leading to 
the attainment of a certificate, an associate degree, or a 
baccalaureate degree.  

"Recipient" means an individual who is presently receiving 
a TANF assistance payment or whose eligibility exists even 
though the assistance payment is zero.  

"Recipient family" means an assistance unit in which the 
caretaker-relative is a parent of the eligible child and the 
parent's needs may or may not be included on the grant.  

"Relative" means spouse, child, grandchild, parent, or 
sibling of a qualified employer an applicant or recipient.  

"Sanction" means to reduce or suspend a participant's TANF 
grant or food stamp allotment or both, where applicable, for 
noncompliance with these regulations or the statute.  

"School" means (i) any public school from kindergarten 
through grade 12 operated under the authority of any locality 
within this Commonwealth or (ii) any private or parochial 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 2, 2014 

2492 

school that offers instruction at any level or grade from 
kindergarten through grade 12.  

"Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program" or "SNAP" 
means the program administered through the Virginia 
Department of Social Services through which a household 
receives assistance to purchase food. 

"Support services" means services such as child care or 
transportation provided to program participants to enable the 
participant to work or to receive training or education which 
that are intended to lead to employment.  

"Temporary Assistance for Needy Families" or "TANF" 
means the program authorized in § 406 of the Social Security 
Act (42 USC § 606) and administered by the Virginia 
Department of Social Services, through which a relative can 
receive monthly cash assistance for the support of his eligible 
children.  

"Temporary Assistance for Needy Families-Unemployed 
Parent" or "TANF-UP" means the program authorized in 
§ 63.2-602 of the Code of Virginia and administered by the 
Virginia Department of Social Services, which provides aid 
to two-parent families with dependent children who are in 
financial need.  

"Time limitations" means a specified period of time, under 
the statute, to receive TANF.  

"Transitional support services" means child care, 
transportation, medical assistance or employment and training 
services provided to working participants whose TANF has 
been terminated either voluntarily, although still eligible for 
TANF, or involuntarily, due to time limitations.  

"Truant" means a child who (i) fails to report to school for 
three consecutive school days, or for a total of five scheduled 
school days per month or an aggregate of seven scheduled 
school days per school calendar quarter, whichever occurs 
sooner, and no indication has been received by school 
personnel that the child's parent or guardian is aware of the 
child's absence, and a reasonable effort by school personnel to 
notify the parent or guardian has failed; or (ii) is not enrolled 
in school at any time during the month.  

"Underemployed" means working at a job for less than the 
federal hourly minimum wage.  

"Unsubsidized employment" means employment in which 
no government funds are used to subsidize directly the wages 
earned by a participant.  

"Virginia Independence Program" or "VIP" means the 
program in the Commonwealth of Virginia which that is 
made up of the TANF Program and the Virginia Initiative for 
Employment not Welfare.  

"Virginia Initiative for Employment not Welfare" or 
"VIEW" means the employment program for TANF 
recipients.  

"Work activity" means participation in unsubsidized 
employment, FEP, part-time work, community work 

experience, on-the-job training, job search, job readiness, 
community service, job skills training directly related to 
employment, satisfactory attendance at secondary school, or 
in a course of study leading to a certificate of general 
equivalence.  
22VAC40-35-30. Cooperation in establishing paternity.  

A. As a condition of eligibility, the caretaker-relative shall 
cooperate, as defined in 22VAC40-35-20, with the Division 
of Child Support Enforcement (DCSE) and the local 
department of social services in establishing paternity.  

B. If the caretaker-relative does not cooperate, the adult 
portion of the grant shall be denied or terminated until the 
individual has disclosed the required information.  

C. If, after six months of receipt of AFDC TANF, paternity 
has not been established and the local department determines 
that the caretaker-relative is not cooperating in establishing 
paternity, the local department shall terminate the entire grant 
for a minimum of one month and until cooperation has been 
achieved. An individual whose AFDC TANF case was 
terminated due to such noncooperation must cooperate and 
file a new application for AFDC TANF to receive further 
benefits.  
22VAC40-35-40. Diversionary assistance program 
eligibility criteria.  

A. An assistance unit shall be eligible to receive 
diversionary cash assistance if:  

1. Verification is provided to the local department of social 
services that the assistance unit has a temporary loss of 
income or delay in starting to receive income resulting in 
an emergency;  
2. The assistance unit meets AFDC TANF requirements 
specified in § 63.2-617 of the Code of Virginia; and  
3. The local department of social services determines that 
diversionary assistance will resolve the emergency.  

B. The amount of assistance provided shall be up to the 
maximum TANF amount for 120 days that the family would 
otherwise be eligible to receive. The amount of the payment 
is based on immediate needs of the applicant. Local agencies 
shall strive to provide the most cost-effective solution to the 
one-time emergency.  

C. If an assistance unit receives a diversionary assistance 
payment, all assistance unit members shall be ineligible for 
TANF for 1.33 times the number of days for which assistance 
is granted, beginning with the date that the diversionary 
assistance is issued.  

D. An assistance unit shall be eligible to receive 
diversionary assistance once in a 12-month period.  

E. Receipt of diversionary assistance is voluntary.  
F. Local social services agencies shall determine eligibility 

for diversionary assistance within five working days of the 
receipt of the final verification that substantiates eligibility, or 
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within 30 days of the date of the receipt of the signed 
application, whichever occurs first.  

Part III  
Virginia Initiative for Employment Not Welfare (VIEW)  

22VAC40-35-80. Participant eligibility.  
A. The following individuals shall be exempt from 

mandatory participation in VIEW: 
1. Any individual, including all minor caretakers, under 16 
years of age; 
2. Any individual at least 16 but no more than 19 years of 
age who is enrolled full time in elementary or secondary 
school, including career and technical education programs. 
The career and technical education program must be 
equivalent to secondary school. Whenever feasible, such 
recipients should participate in summer work.  
3. Any individual unable to participate because of a 
temporary medical condition that prevents entry into 
employment or training. Such individuals must provide to 
the local department a written statement from a physician 
to specify that he is incapacitated, the nature and scope of 
the incapacity, and the duration of the incapacity.  
4. Any individual who is receiving Social Security 
Disability Benefits or Supplemental Security Income. 
5. Any individual who is the sole caregiver of another 
member of the household who is incapacitated, and whose 
presence is essential for the care of the other member on a 
substantially continuous basis. Incapacity is determined by 
receipt of Social Security Disability Benefits, 
Supplemental Security Income, or a written medical 
statement from a physician.  
6. Any individual who is age 60 or older. 
7. A parent of a child under 12 months of age who 
personally provides care for the child. A parent exempt 
from mandatory participation in VIEW shall be exempt for 
no more than 12 months for this reason. Months during 
which a person is exempt may be consecutive or 
nonconsecutive. A parent of a child not considered part of 
the TANF public assistance unit due to the provisions 
listed in § 63.2-604 of the Code of Virginia may be granted 
a temporary exemption of not more than six weeks after 
the birth of such child. 

B. Nonparents who receive TANF shall participate in VIEW 
if not otherwise exempt. 

C. Pregnant women shall participate in VIEW if not 
otherwise exempt. Pregnant women shall be assigned to job 
readiness, training, and educational activities during the last 
trimester of pregnancy. 

D. TANF recipients who meet an exemption from 
participation in VIEW may volunteer for the program.  
22VAC40-35-100. VIEW activities.  

A. VIEW recognizes that parents have the obligation to 
support their children through employment.  

B. VIEW shall recognize clearly defined responsibilities and 
obligations on the part of public assistance recipients. VIEW 
shall require an Agreement of Personal Responsibility and the 
obligation to seek and obtain employment. Refusal to sign the 
Agreement of Personal Responsibility shall result in 
termination of TANF. The Agreement of Personal 
Responsibility shall be written for each nonexempt 
participant specifying, among other applicable requirements, 
the following:  

1. The participant's obligations and responsibilities:  
a. That it is the participant's responsibility to seek 
employment to support his own family.  
b. That it is the participant's responsibility to participate 
in assignments made by the case manager.  
c. That it is the participant's responsibility to notify the 
case manager of any change in the participant's 
circumstances which that would impact the participant's 
ability to satisfactorily participate in the program.  
d. That it is the participant's responsibility to accept 
offers of suitable employment. Refusal to accept offers of 
suitable employment will result in the loss of the 
participant household's TANF.  
e. That it is the participant's responsibility to arrange and 
find transportation and day child care. The agency will 
provide for transportation and day child care, to the 
extent funding is available, only when the participant is 
unable to make his own arrangements.  

2. Explanation of the two-year time limit.  
C. Modification of the Agreement of Personal 

Responsibility shall not impact or change the two-year time 
limit for receipt of TANF benefits.  

D. A VIEW participant who does not meet an exemption 
shall be required to participate in a work activity. The 
department shall ensure that participants are assigned to one 
of the following employment categories after TANF 
eligibility determination and entry into the VIEW program:  

1. Unsubsidized private sector employment (full-time, part-
time, or temporary) is the preferred employment category. 
A participant shall be required to accept any offers of 
suitable employment as defined in § 60.2-618 of the 
Virginia Unemployment Compensation Act.  
2. Subsidized employment as follows:  

a. The department shall conduct a work activity which 
that shall be known as the Full Employment Program 
(FEP), which shall replace TANF benefits with 
subsidized employment.  
b. The local department, employer, and the full 
employment participant shall sign a written agreement. 
At the expiration of this full employment agreement or 
when the participant leaves FEP, he will be reassessed 
and a modified Activity and Service Plan will be 
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developed to reassign the participant to an appropriate 
employment category.  
c. The employer is reimbursed for the wages paid to the 
participant up to the value of the participant's TANF 
benefits as contained in the agreement signed between 
the department and the employer.  
(1) The employer subsidy will be based on the actual 
hours the participant works.  
(2) The value of the participant's TANF benefits will be 
based on the benefits received over the period of 
assignment to a Full Employment Program placement.  

3. Community work experience.  
a. The participant can be placed into community work 
experience. Job placements shall serve a useful public 
purpose as provided in § 482 (f) of the Social Security 
Act (42 USC § 682 F).  
b. The department and local departments shall work with 
other state, regional, and local agencies and governments 
in developing job placements. Placements shall be 
selected to provide skills that will make the participant 
more employable and serve a public function. 
Participation in community work experience shall be for 
an initial period of six months. Program participants shall 
not displace regular workers.  
c. At the expiration of the community work experience 
assignment or when the participant leaves community 
work experience, he will be reassessed and a modified 
Activity and Service Plan will be developed to reassign 
the participant to an appropriate employment category.  
d. There shall be no sick leave benefit attached to this 
component since participants work in exchange for their 
TANF and food stamp SNAP benefits. Participants who 
are ill or incapacitated will continue to receive their 
benefits.  

4. In order to be considered a work activity in VIEW, on-
the-job training must be provided by an employer. This is 
typically employer-required unpaid training by an 
employer which that must be completed before an 
individual will be hired.  

E. Other VIEW activities include:  
1. Education.  

a. Education may only be provided in conjunction with 
work-related activities during the participant's two-year 
time period.  
(1) Educational activities can be substituted for 
community work experience hours during the 
participant's initial six-month placement in community 
work experience. The participant must be engaged in 
community work experience for at least 20 hours per 
week in addition to the educational activities. After six 
months of participation in community work experience, 
the number of hours required in the work activity can be 

reduced to allow participation in education to further the 
participant's employability.  
(2) Participants who enroll into education or training 
programs prior to coming in VIEW shall be required to 
meet the requirements of the program.  
b. Post-secondary education. Participants assigned to 
post-secondary education should have demonstrated the 
capability to successfully complete the educational 
activity in the prescribed time period in an occupational 
area for which there is demand in the community.  

2. Job skills training may only be provided in conjunction 
with work-related activities during the participant's two-
year time period. The choice of occupational skills training 
offered will vary in each jurisdiction depending upon local 
labor market conditions. However, skills training must be 
related to the types of jobs which that are available or are 
likely to become available in the community.  
3. Job search and job readiness. 
4. Community service. 
5. Vocational education. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3620; Filed May 6, 2014, 12:10 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 
is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 
appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 
State Board of Social Services will receive, consider, and 
respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 
respect to reconsideration or revision. 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-41. Neighborhood 
Assistance Tax Credit Program (amending 22VAC40-41-
20).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 58.1-439.20 and 63.2-217 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Effective Date: July 2, 2014.  
Agency Contact: Wanda Stevenson, Neighborhood 
Assistance Program Technician, Department of Social 
Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 726-7924, or email 
wanda.stevenson@dss.virginia.gov. 
Background: The Neighborhood Assistance Act Program 
(NAP) is a state tax credit program that was established by 
the General Assembly in 1981. NAP uses tax credits as an 
incentive for businesses, trusts, and, with certain restrictions, 
individuals to make donations to eligible nonprofit 
organizations whose primary function is providing services to 
a low-income person or an eligible student with a disability. 
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Summary: 
The amendments conform the regulation to legislation 
passed by the General Assembly in 2013 and 2014. 
Pursuant to Chapter 802 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly, 
the amendments require that neighborhood organizations 
with total revenues (including the value of all donations) 
(i) in excess of $100,000 for the organization's most 
recent year ended provide an audit or review for such 
year performed by an independent certified public 
accountant or (ii) of $100,000 or less for the 
organization's most recent year ended provide a 
compilation for such year performed by an independent 
certified public accountant and that all affiliates of the 
applicant neighborhood organization must provide such 
an audit, review, or compilation. Pursuant to Chapters 
47 and 189 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly, the 
amendments allow a nonprofit organization to submit the 
audit, review, or compilation within 30 days immediately 
following the proposal deadline to be considered timely 
filed, as long as the proposal was otherwise complete by 
the deadline. 

22VAC40-41-20. Purpose; procedure for becoming an 
approved organization; eligibility criteria; termination of 
approved organization; appeal procedure.  

A. The purpose of the Neighborhood Assistance Program is 
to encourage business firms and individuals to make 
donations to neighborhood organizations for the benefit of 
low-income persons. 

B. Neighborhood organizations that do not provide 
education services and that wish to become an approved 
organization must submit an application to the 
commissioner:. Neighborhood organizations that provide 
education services must submit an application to the 
Superintendent of Public Instruction. The application 
submitted to the Superintendent of Public Instruction must 
comply with regulations or guidelines adopted by the Board 
of Education. The application submitted to the commissioner 
must contain the following information: 

1. A description of their eligibility as a neighborhood 
organization, the programs being conducted, the low-
income persons assisted, the estimated amount that will be 
donated to the programs, and plans for implementing the 
programs. 
2. Proof of the neighborhood organization's current 
exemption from income taxation under the provisions of 
§ 501(c)(3) or § 501(c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code, or 
the organization's eligibility as a community action agency 
as defined in the Economic Opportunity Act of 1964 
(42 USC § 2701 et seq.) or housing authority as defined in 
§ 36-3 of the Code of Virginia. 
3. A copy of the neighborhood organization's current audit, 
For neighborhood organizations with total revenues 
(including the value of all donations) (i) in excess of 
$100,000 for the organization's most recent year ended, an 

audit or review for such year performed by an independent 
certified public accountant or (ii) of $100,000 or less for 
the organization's most recent year ended, a compilation 
for such year performed by an independent certified public 
accountant; a copy of the organization's current federal 
form 990,; a current brochure describing the organization's 
programs,; and a copy of the annual report filed with the 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services' 
Division of Consumer Protection. 
4. A statement of objective and measurable outcomes that 
are expected to occur and the method the organization will 
use to evaluate the program's effectiveness. 

C. To be eligible for participation in the Neighborhood 
Assistance Program, the applicant and any of its affiliates 
must meet the following criteria: 

1. Applicants must have been in operation as a viable 
entity, providing neighborhood assistance for low-income 
people, for at least 12 months. 
2. Applicants must be able to demonstrate that at least 40% 
of the total people served and at least 50% of the total 
expenditures were for low-income persons or eligible 
students with disabilities.  
3. Applicant's audit must not contain any significant 
findings or areas of concern for the ongoing operation of 
the neighborhood organization. 
4. Applicants must demonstrate that at least 75% of total 
revenue received is expended to support their ongoing 
programs each year. 

D. The application period will start no later than March 15 
of each year. All applications must be received by the 
Department of Social Services no later than the first business 
day of May. An application filed without the required audit, 
review, or compilation will be considered timely filed 
provided that the audit, review, or compilation is filed within 
30 days immediately following the deadline.  

E. Those applicants submitting all required information and 
reports and meeting the eligibility criteria described in this 
section will be determined an approved organization. The 
program year will run from July 1 through June 30 of the 
following year. 

F. The commissioner may terminate an approved 
organization's eligibility based on a finding of program abuse 
involving illegal activities or fraudulent reporting on 
contributions. 

G. Any neighborhood organization that disagrees with the 
disposition of its application, or its termination as an 
approved organization, may appeal to the commissioner in 
writing for a reconsideration. Such requests must be made 
within 30 days of the denial or termination. The 
commissioner will act on the request and render a final 
decision within 30 days of the request for reconsideration. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4003; Filed May 6, 2014, 9:50 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
AT RICHMOND, MAY 1, 2014 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2013-00238 

Ex Parte: In the matter of revising the 
Rules Governing Long-term Care Insurance 

ORDER SCHEDULING HEARING 

On November 26, 2012, the State Corporation Commission 
("Commission") initiated a proceeding to consider whether 
Chapter 200 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, 
entitled Rules Governing Long-term Care Insurance, 
14 VAC 5-200-10 et seq. ("Rules"),1 should be revised. This 
proceeding follows a report filed by the Bureau of Insurance 
("Bureau"), at the direction of the Commission, which studied 
the premium rate increases implemented by insurers writing 
long-term care insurance in Virginia on or after January 1, 
2009 ("Report").2 The Bureau's Report was filed on October 
4, 2013. 

Subsequently, the Commission found that it was appropriate 
to undertake a review of the Report and the Rules and 
consider proposing revisions to the Rules. The Commission 
therefore provided interested persons, including insurers 
writing long-term care insurance in Virginia, an opportunity 
to comment on the Report or propose amendments to the 
Rules on or before February 1, 2014.3 

On January 13, 2014, the Commission entered an Amending 
Order requesting that additional notice of the opportunity to 
comment on the Report and propose amendments to the Rules 
be provided to the general public, as well as to specific 
individuals who filed written complaints or inquiries with the 
Bureau regarding long-term care premium rate increases 
within the last two years.4 The Commission also directed the 
Bureau to file a response to such comments or proposed 
amendments on or before May 1, 2014. 

On or before March 14, 2014, the Bureau received filed 
comments from 171 residents of Virginia. The Bureau also 
received comments from Genworth Financial and jointly from 
two major trade associations: the American Council of Life 
Insurers and America's Health Insurance Plans. 

 The Bureau filed its Response on May 1, 2014 ("Response").  

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 
matter, is of the opinion and finds that we should allow an 
opportunity for public oral comments regarding the Bureau's 
Response and other filings in this docket. We note that 
written comments already filed in this docket will remain 
under the Commission's consideration whether or not the 
commenter provides additional oral comments.   

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) On June 19, 2014, starting at 10 a.m. in the 
Commission's Courtroom, Second Floor, Tyler Building, 
1300 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, the 
Commission will receive comments on the Bureau's 
Response and other filings in this docket. 

(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall make a downloadable version of this Order 
Scheduling Hearing available for public access on the 
Commission's website at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 
The Clerk of the Commission also shall make a copy of this 
Order Scheduling Hearing available, free of charge, in 
response to any written request for one. 

(3) The Clerk of the Commission shall send a copy of this 
Order Scheduling Hearing to the Bureau in care of Deputy 
Commissioner Althelia P. Battle, who forthwith shall mail 
a copy of this Order Scheduling Hearing to: (i) all persons 
who have filed written complaints or inquiries with the 
Bureau regarding long-term care premium rate increases 
within the last two years; (ii) all insurance companies who 
reported Long-Term Care Insurance Earned Premium in the 
2012 Long-Term Care Reporting Form; (iii) all persons 
who have filed comments in this docket; and (iv) all other 
interested persons. 

(4) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission, 
on or before May 21, 2014, an affidavit of compliance with 
the notice requirements set forth in Paragraph (3). 

(5) The Division of Information Resources shall have the 
following public notice published as display advertising 
(not classified) on one (1) occasion by May 21, 2014, in a 
newspaper of general circulation published in each of the 
following cities: Richmond, Norfolk, Newport News, 
Roanoke, Winchester, Lynchburg, Danville, Bristol, 
Fredericksburg, and Alexandria: 

NOTICE TO THE PUBLIC OF THE 
OPPORTUNITY TO COMMENT ON THE 

BUREAU OF INSURANCE'S RESPONSE TO 
COMMENTS RECEIVED REGARDING LONG-
TERM CARE INSURANCE PREMIUM RATE 

INCREASES 

CASE NO. INS-2013-00238 

Notice is hereby given to the public that the State 
Corporation Commission ("Commission") is seeking 
comments on the Bureau of Insurance's ("Bureau") 
response filed in Case No. INS-2013-00238 concerning 
long-term care insurance premium rate increases. 

On November 25, 2012, the Commission initiated a 
proceeding to consider whether Chapter 200 of Title 14 of 
the Virginia Administrative Code, entitled Rules Governing 
Long-term Care Insurance, 14 VAC 5-200-10 et seq. 
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("Rules"), should be revised. This proceeding follows a 
report filed by the Bureau, at the direction of the 
Commission, which studied the premium rate increases 
implemented by insurers writing long-term care insurance 
in Virginia on or after January 1, 2009 ("Report"). The 
Bureau's Report was filed on October 4, 2013.  

Subsequently, the Commission found that it was 
appropriate to undertake a review of the Report and the 
Rules and consider proposing revisions to the Rules. The 
Commission therefore provided, to the general public, 
interested persons, and specific individuals who filed 
written complaints or inquiries with the Bureau on long-
term care premium rate increases within the last two years, 
an opportunity to comment on the Report or propose 
amendments to the Rules. 

The Bureau has received these comments and, on May 1, 
2014, filed its Response. The Commission now seeks 
comments on the Bureau's Response and other filings in 
Case No. INS-2013-00238. 

A copy of the Bureau's Response and other filings in this 
docket may be found on the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case, by selecting the "Docket 
Search" feature and searching for Case No. INS-2013-
00238. 

Any person who desires to comment on the Bureau's 
Response or other filings in this docket shall appear in the 
Commission's Courtroom at 9:45 a.m. on June 19, 2014, 
and contact the Commission's Bailiff. Individuals with 
disabilities who require an accommodation to participate in 
the hearing should contact the Commission at least seven 
(7) days before the scheduled hearing at 1-800-552-7945 
(voice) or 1-804-371-9206 (TDD). 

The Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure may be 
viewed at: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. A printed 
copy of the Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure 
and an official copy of the Commission's Order Scheduling 
Hearing in this case may be obtained from Joel H. Peck, 
Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 
Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia  
23218-2118. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

(6) This matter is continued. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to: C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant 
Attorney General, Division of Consumer Counsel, Office of 
the Attorney General, 900 East Main Street, Second Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219; and to all persons who filed 
comments with regard to this matter. A copy also shall be 
delivered to the Commission's Office of General Counsel and 
the Bureau of Insurance in care of Althelia P. Battle, Deputy 
Commissioner. 

________________________________________________ 
1 The Rules can be found at: 
http://lis.virginia.gov/000/reg/TOC14005.HTM#C0200. 
2 Commonwealth of Virginia ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex 
Parte: In the matter of investigating long-term care insurance premium rates, 
Case No. INS-2012-000282, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 121130186, Order 
Directing Report (Nov. 26, 2012). 
3 Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex 
Parte: In the matter of revising the Rules Governing Long-term Care 
Insurance, Case No. INS-2013-00238, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 131130115, Order 
Initiating Proceeding (Nov. 25, 2013). 
4 Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex 
Parte: In the matter of revising the Rules Governing Long-term Care 
Insurance, Case No. INS-2013-00238, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 140120003, 
Amending Order (Jan. 13, 2014). 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Labor and Industry has conducted a small 
business impact review of 16VAC15-30, Virginia Rules and 
Regulations Declaring Hazardous Occupations and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Department of Labor and Industry is 
publishing its report of findings dated May 13, 2014, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 
the Code of Virginia. 

There is a continuing need for this regulation because it is 
required by state law. No public comments were received on 
this regulation during the public comment period. This 
regulation is not overly complex. This regulation does not 
overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any federal or state law or 
regulations. There have not been any significant changes in 
technology, economic conditions, or other factors in the area 
affected by this regulation since it was amended in 2010. The 
department determined, consistent with the stated objectives 
of applicable law, this regulation does not have an adverse 
economic impact on small businesses, and that this regulation 
should be retained with no changes.  
Contact Information: Reba O’Connor, Regulatory 
Coordinator, Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, 
Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2631, FAX (804) 371-6524, or 
email oconnor.reba@dol.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for Aqua Presidential, Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Aqua 
Presidential, Inc. for violations of the State Water Control 
Law and regulations in King George County. The State Water 
Control Board proposes to issue a consent order resolving 
violations at the Presidential Lakes, Section 14 – Wastewater 
Treatment Plant. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 
named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Daniel 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
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Burstein will accept comments by email at 
daniel.burstein@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (703) 583-3821, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 
VA 22193, from June 3, 2014, through July 3, 2014. 

Proposed Consent Order for DuPont Teijin Films 
U.S. Limited Partnership 

An enforcement action has been proposed for DuPont Teijin 
Films U.S. Limited Partnership for alleged violations at 
DuPont Teijin Films, Hopewell Site at 3600 Discovery Drive, 
Chesterfield, Virginia. The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent special order to DuPont Teijin 
Films U.S. Limited Partnership to address noncompliance 
with State Water Control Law. A description of the proposed 
action is available at the Department of Environmental 
Quality office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Gina Pisoni will accept comments by 
email at gina.pisoni@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 527-
5106, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 
VA 23060, from June 2, 2014, through July 3, 2014. 

Proposed Consent Order for Mountain Materials, 
Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Mountain 
Materials, Inc. for violations in Grayson County. The 
proposed consent order addresses violations of the State 
Water Control Law and VPDES General Permit Registration 
No. VAG840011 at the Lyall Stone Plant, near Mouth of 
Wilson, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 
named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Ralph T. 
Hilt will accept comments by email at 
ralph.hilt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (276) 676-4899, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, 
Abingdon, VA 24210, from June 3, 2014, through July 3, 
2014. 

Proposed Consent Order for Salvation Army 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Salvation 
Army. The consent order describes a settlement to resolve 
violations of State Water Control Law and the applicable 
regulations associated with the Salvation Army Camp 
Happyland Wastewater Treatment Plant located in 
Richardsville, Virginia. A description of the proposed action 
is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 
office named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 
Daniel Burstein will accept comments by email at 
daniel.burstein@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (703) 583-3821, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 
VA 22193, from June 3, 2014, through July 3, 2014. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 
Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 
(804) 786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 
varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 

ERRATA 
BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 

DEVELOPMENT 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-63. Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code.  

Publication: 30:16 VA.R. 2071-2229 April 7, 2014 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2106, 13VAC5-63-210 S 52, Table R507.5, row 1, 
column 1, after "Species" replace superscript "a" with 
superscript "b" 

Page 2155, 13VAC5-63-210 S 85, column 2, in 
N1102.4.1.3 (R402.4.1.3) Leakage rate (Prescriptive). after 
"air leakage rate" change "not exceeding" to "less than" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3159; Filed May 9, 2014 10:02 a.m. 
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