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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 

Chairman; Gregory D. Habeeb; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; 

Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Timothy Oksman; 

Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

July 2014 through August 2015 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

30:24 July 9, 2014 July 28, 2014 

30:25 July 23, 2014 August 11, 2014 

30:26 August 6, 2014 August 25, 2014 

31:1 August 20, 2014 September 8, 2014 

31:2 September 3, 2014 September 22, 2014 

31:3 September 17, 2014 October 6, 2014 

31:4 October 1, 2014 October 20, 2014 

31:5 October 15, 2014 November 3, 2014 

31:6 October 29, 2014 November 17, 2014 

31:7 November 12, 2014 December 1, 2014 

31:8 November 25, 2014 (Tuesday) December 15, 2014 

31:9 December 10, 2014 December 29, 2014 

31:10 December 23, 2014 (Tuesday) January 12, 2015 

31:11 January 7, 2015 January 26, 2015 

31:12 January 21, 2015 February 9, 2015 

31:13 February 4, 2015 February 23, 2015 

31:14 February 18, 2015 March 9, 2015 

31:15 March 4, 2015 March 23, 2015 

31:16 March 18. 2015 April 6, 2015 

31:17 April 1, 2015 April 20, 2015 

31:18 April 15, 2015 May 4, 2015 

31:19 April 29, 2015 May 18, 2015 

31:20 May 13, 2015 June 1, 2015 

31:21 May 27, 2015 June 15, 2015 

31:22 June 10, 2015 June 29, 2015 

31:23 June 24, 2015 July 13, 2015 

31:24 July 8, 2015 July 27, 2015 

31:25 July 22, 2015 August 10, 2015 

31:26 August 5, 2015 August 24, 2015 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Patrick Sorensen. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To accept paramedic hours of 

clinical experience towards the requirement of 500-hour 

requirement for licensure as a registered nurse, similar to the 

150 hours of credit allowed for persons licensed as practical 

nurses. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition to amend the regulation was posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Townhall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov. It has also been filed with the 

Register of Regulations for publication on July 28, 2014. 

Comment on the petition from interested parties will be 

accepted from July 28, 2014, until August 27, 2014. 

Following receipt of all comments on the petition, the request 

will be considered by the Board of Nursing at its meeting 

scheduled for September 16, 2014. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 27, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-37; Filed July 9, 2014, 8:47 a.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

following regulation have been filed by the Department of 

General Services. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of the new or amended 

form to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 1VAC30-120. Virginia Federal 

Property Agency - State Plan of Operation. 

Effective Date: July 28, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of General Services, 1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3311 or email 

rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (1VAC30-120) 

Exhibit 1 - Distribution Document and Invoice, DGS-43-008 

(undated) 

Exhibit 2 - State Surplus Property Transfer Document, 

DGS-44-012 (undated) 

Exhibit 3 - Combat-Type Aircraft Conditional Transfer 

Document (undated) 

Exhibit 4 - Non-Combat-Type Aircraft Conditional Transfer 

Document (undated) 

Exhibit 5 - Vessel Conditional Transfer Document (50 feet 

or more in length) (undated) 

Exhibit 6 - Nondiscrimination Assurance (undated) 

Commonwealth of Virginia Organization of State 

Government chart (undated) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4106; Filed July 2, 2014, 3:27 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-65, 

4VAC15-20-130).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) establish a new combined license for 

persons hunting with a bow and arrow or a crossbow at a 

cost of $17 for residents and $30 for nonresidents; (ii) 

allow nonresident veterans who are totally and 

permanently disabled due to a service-connected disability 

to purchase annual licenses to hunt or fish at a cost equal 

to one-quarter the fee for the state nonresident hunting or 

fishing license; (iii) establish a license for hunting foxes on 

horseback with hounds without firearms, at the cost of the 

standard hunting license, (iv) make corrections to the 

license fee table; (v) adopt the updated and modified 

federal list of endangered and threatened wildlife species; 

and (vi) remove the slabside pearlymussel from the 

Virginia List of Endangered and Threatened Species and 

correct errors in scientific or common names of species on 

the list. 

4VAC15-20-65. Hunting, trapping, and fishing license and 

permit fees. 

In accordance with the authority of the board under 

subdivision 16 of § 29.1-103 (16) of the Code of Virginia, the 

following fees are established for hunting, trapping, and 

fishing licenses and permits: 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60411004106~1&typ=40&actno=004106&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60411004106~1&typ=40&actno=004106&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d4b10004106~2&typ=40&actno=004106&mime=application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.spreadsheetml.sheet
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d4b10004106~2&typ=40&actno=004106&mime=application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.spreadsheetml.sheet
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5aa76004106~3&typ=40&actno=004106&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5aa76004106~3&typ=40&actno=004106&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=40ec8004106~4&typ=40&actno=004106&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=40ec8004106~4&typ=40&actno=004106&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=81d96004106~5&typ=40&actno=004106&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=81d96004106~5&typ=40&actno=004106&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84fc3004106~6&typ=40&actno=004106&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6c34d004106~7&typ=40&actno=004106&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6c34d004106~7&typ=40&actno=004106&mime=application/pdf
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Virginia Resident Licenses to Hunt 

Type license Fee 

1-year Resident License to Hunt, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$22.00 

2-year Resident License to Hunt, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$43.00 

3-year Resident License to Hunt, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$64.00 

4-year Resident License to Hunt, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$85.00 

County or City Resident License to Hunt in 

County or City of Residence Only, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 

$15.00 

Resident Senior Citizen Annual License to 

Hunt, for licensees 65 years of age or older 
$8.00 

Resident Junior License to Hunt, for 

licensees 12 through 15 years of age, 

optional for licensees under 12 years of age 

$7.50 

Resident Youth Combination License to 

Hunt, and to hunt bear, deer, and turkey, to 

hunt with bow and arrow during archery 

hunting season, and to hunt with 

muzzleloading guns during muzzleloading 

hunting season, for licensees under 16 

years of age 

$15.00 

Resident Sportsman License to Hunt and 

Freshwater Fish, and to hunt bear, deer, and 

turkey, to hunt with bow and arrow or a 

crossbow during archery hunting season, to 

hunt with muzzleloading guns during 

muzzleloading hunting season, to fish in 

designated stocked trout waters, and to 

hunt with a crossbow (also listed under 

Virginia Resident Licenses to Fish) 

$132.00 

Resident Junior Lifetime License to Hunt, 

for licensees under 12 years of age at the 

time of purchase 

$255.00 

Resident Lifetime License to Hunt, for 

licensees at the time of purchase:  

through 44 years of age $260.00 

45 through 50 years of age $210.00 

51 through 55 years of age $160.00 

56 through 60 years of age $110.00 

61 through 64 years of age $60.00 

65 years of age and over $20.00 

Resident Hunting License for Partially 

Disabled Veterans  
$11.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident 

Special Lifetime License to Hunt 
$15.00 

Service-Connected Totally and 

Permanently Disabled Veteran Resident 

Lifetime License to Hunt and or Freshwater 

Fish (also listed under Virginia Resident 

Licenses to Fish) 

$15.00 no 

fee 

  

Virginia Resident Licenses for Additional Hunting 

Privileges 

Type license or permit Fee 

Resident Bear, Deer, and Turkey Hunting 

License, for licensees 16 years of age or 

older 

$22.00 

Resident Junior Bear, Deer, and Turkey 

Hunting License, for licensees under 16 

years of age 

$7.50 

Resident Archery License to Hunt with 

bow and arrow or crossbow during archery 

hunting season 

$17.00 

Resident Crossbow License to Hunt with 

crossbow during archery hunting season 
$17.00 

Resident Muzzleloading License to Hunt 

during muzzleloading hunting season 
$17.00 

Resident Bonus Deer Permit $17.00 

Resident Fox Hunting License to hunt 

foxes on horseback with hounds without 

firearms (not required of an individual 

holding a general License to Hunt) 

$22.00 

  

Virginia Nonresident Licenses to Hunt 

Type license Fee 

Nonresident License to Hunt, for licensees 

16 years of age or older 
$110.00 

Nonresident Three-Day Trip License to 

Hunt 
$59.00 

Nonresident Youth License to Hunt, for 

licensees:   

under 12 years of age $12.00 

12 through 15 years of age $15.00 
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Nonresident Youth Combination License to 

Hunt, and to hunt bear, deer, and turkey, to 

hunt with bow and arrow during archery 

hunting season, and to hunt with 

muzzleloading guns during muzzleloading 

hunting season, for licensees under 16 

years of age 

$30.00 

Nonresident Annual Hunting License for 

Partially Disabled Veterans 
$55.00 

Nonresident Annual Hunting License for 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Veterans 
$27.50 

Nonresident Lifetime License to Hunt $555.00 

  

Virginia Nonresident Licenses for Additional Hunting 

Privileges 

Type license or permit Fee 

Nonresident Bear, Deer, and Turkey 

Hunting License, for licensees:  

 16 years of age or older $85.00 

12 through 15 years of age $15.00 

under 12 years of age $12.00 

Nonresident Archery License to Hunt with 

bow and arrow or crossbow during archery 

hunting season 

$30.00 

Nonresident Crossbow License to Hunt 

with crossbow during archery hunting 

season 

$30.00 

Nonresident Muzzleloading License to 

Hunt during muzzleloading hunting season 
$30.00 

Nonresident Shooting Preserve License to 

Hunt within the boundaries of a licensed 

shooting preserve 

$22.00 

Nonresident Bonus Deer Permit $30.00 

Nonresident Fox Hunting License to hunt 

foxes on horseback with hounds without 

firearms (not required of an individual 

holding a general License to Hunt) 

$110.00 

  

Miscellaneous Licenses or Permits to Hunt 

Type license or permit Fee 

Waterfowl Hunting Stationary Blind in 

Public Waters License  
$22.50 

Waterfowl Hunting Floating Blind in Public 

Waters License 
$40.00 

Foxhound Training Preserve License $17.00 

Public Access Lands for Sportsmen Permit 

to Hunt, Trap, or Fish on Designated Lands 

(also listed under Miscellaneous Licenses or 

Permits to Fish) 

$17.00 

  

Virginia Resident and Nonresident Licenses to Trap 

Type license Fee 

1-year Resident License to Trap, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$45.00 

2-year Resident License to Trap, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$89.00 

3-year Resident License to Trap, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$133.00 

4-year Resident License to Trap, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$177.00 

County or City Resident License to Trap in 

County or City of Residence Only 
$20.00 

Resident Junior License to Trap, for 

licensees under 16 years of age 
$10.00 

Resident Senior Citizen License to Trap, 

for licensees 65 years of age or older 
$8.00 

Resident Senior Citizen Lifetime License 

to Trap, for licensees 65 years of age or 

older 

$20.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident 

Special Lifetime License to Trap 
$15.00 

Service-Connected Totally and 

Permanently Disabled Veteran Resident 

Lifetime License to Trap 

$15.00 

Nonresident License to Trap $205.00 

  

Virginia Resident Licenses to Fish 

Type license Fee 

1-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $22.00 

2-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $43.00 

3-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $64.00 

4-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $85.00 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 28, 2014 

2597 

County or City Resident License to 

Freshwater Fish in County or City of 

Residence Only 

$15.00 

Resident License to Freshwater Fish, for 

licensees 65 years of age or older 
$8.00 

Resident License to Fish in Designated 

Stocked Trout Waters 
$22.00 

Resident License to Freshwater and 

Saltwater Fish 
$39.00 

Resident License to Freshwater Fish for 

Five Consecutive Days 
$13.00 

Resident License to Freshwater and 

Saltwater Fish for Five Consecutive Days 
$23.00 

Resident Sportsman License to Hunt and 

Freshwater Fish, and to hunt bear, deer, and 

turkey, to hunt with bow and arrow or 

crossbow during archery hunting season, to 

hunt with muzzleloading guns during 

muzzleloading hunting season, to fish in 

designated stocked trout waters, and to 

hunt with a crossbow (also listed under 

Virginia Resident Licenses to Hunt) 

$132.00 

Resident Special Lifetime License to 

Freshwater Fish, for licensees at the time of 

purchase:  

through 44 years of age $260.00 

45 through 50 years of age $210.00 

51 through 55 years of age $160.00 

56 through 60 years of age $110.00 

61 through 64 years of age $60.00 

65 years of age and over $20.00 

Resident Special Lifetime License to Fish 

in Designated Stocked Trout Waters, for 

licensees at the time of purchase:  

through 44 years of age $260.00 

45 through 50 years of age $210.00 

51 through 55 years of age $160.00 

56 through 60 years of age $110.00 

61 through 64 years of age $60.00 

65 years of age and over $20.00 

Resident Fishing License for Partially 

Disabled Veterans 
$11.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident 

Special Lifetime License to Freshwater 

Fish 

$15.00 

Service-Connected Totally and 

Permanently Disabled Veteran Resident 

Lifetime License to Hunt and Freshwater 

Fish (also listed under Virginia Resident 

Licenses to Hunt)  

$15.00 no 

fee 

  

Virginia Nonresident Licenses to Fish 

Type license Fee 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish $46.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish in 

Designated Stocked Trout Waters 
$46.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater and 

Saltwater Fish 
$70.00 

Nonresident Fishing License for Partially 

Disabled Veterans 
$23.00 

Nonresident Annual Fishing License for 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Veterans 
$11.50 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish for 

One Day 
$7.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish for 

Five Consecutive Days 
$20.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater and 

Saltwater Fish for Five Consecutive Days 
$30.00 

Nonresident Special Lifetime License to 

Freshwater Fish 
$555.00 

Nonresident Special Lifetime License to in 

Fish in Designated Stocked Trout Waters 
$555.00 

  

Miscellaneous Licenses or Permits to Fish 

Type license or permit Fee 

Permit to Fish for One Day at Board-

Designated Stocked Trout Fishing Areas 

with Daily Use Fees 

$7.00 

Public Access Lands for Sportsmen Permit 

to Hunt, Trap, or Fish on Designated Lands 

(also listed under Miscellaneous Licenses or 

Permits to Hunt) 

$17.00 

Special Guest Fishing License $60.00 
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4VAC15-20-130. Endangered and threatened species; 

adoption of federal list; additional species enumerated.  

A. The board hereby adopts the Federal Endangered and 

Threatened Species List, Endangered Species Act of 

December 28, 1973 (16 USC §§ 1531-1543), as amended as 

of August 13, 2012 [ February 24 May 20 ], 2014, and 

declares all species listed thereon to be endangered or 

threatened species in the Commonwealth. Pursuant to § 29.1-

103.12 of the Code of Virginia, the director of the department 

is hereby delegated authority to propose adoption of 

modifications and amendments to the Federal Endangered 

and Threatened Species List in accordance with the 

procedures of §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

B. In addition to the provisions of subsection A of this 

section, the following species are declared endangered or 

threatened in this Commonwealth, and are afforded the 

protection provided by Article 6 (§ 29.1-563 et seq.) of 

Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia:  

1. Fish:   

  Endangered:     

  Dace, Tennessee Phoxinus tennesseensis   

  Darter, sharphead Etheostoma acuticeps   

  Darter, variegate Etheostoma variatum   

  Sunfish, 

blackbanded  

Enneacanthus chaetodon 
  

  Threatened:   

  Darter, Carolina Etheostoma collis   

  Darter, golden Etheostoma denoncourti   

  Darter, greenfin  Etheostoma 

chlorobranchium 
  

  Darter, longhead 

sickle 

Percina macrocephala 

willliamsi 
  

  Darter, western sand Ammocrypta clara   

  Madtom, orangefin Noturus gilberti   

  Paddlefish Polyodon spathula   

  Shiner, emerald Notropis atherinoides   

  Shiner, steelcolor Cyprinella whipplei   

  Shiner, whitemouth Notropis alborus   

    

2. Amphibians:   

  Endangered:   

  Salamander, eastern 

tiger 

Ambystoma tigrinum 

tigrinum 
  

  Threatened:   

  Salamander, 

Mabee's 

Ambystoma mabeei 
  

  Treefrog, barking Hyla gratiosa   

3. Reptiles:   

  Endangered:   

  Rattlesnake, 

canebrake (Coastal 

Plain population of 

timber rattlesnake) 

Crotalus horridus 

  

  Turtle, bog Glyptemys muhlenbergii   

  Turtle, eastern 

chicken 

Deirochelys reticularia 

reticularia 
  

  Threatened:   

  Lizard, eastern glass Ophisaurus ventralis   

  Turtle, wood Glyptemys insculpta   

4. Birds:   

  Endangered:     

  Plover, Wilson's Charadrius wilsonia   

 Rail, black Laterallus jamaicensis 
 

  Wren, Bewick's Thryomanes bewicki 

bewickii bewickii 
  

  Threatened:   

  Falcon, peregrine Falco peregrinus   

  Sandpiper, upland Bartramia longicauda   

  Shrike, loggerhead Lanius ludovicianus   

  Sparrow, Bachman's Aimophila aestivalis   

  Sparrow, Henslow's  Ammodramus henslowii   

  Tern, gull-billed  Sterna nilotica   

5. Mammals:   

  Endangered:   

  Bat, Rafinesque's 

eastern big-eared  

Corynorhinus rafinesquii 

macrotis 
  

  Hare, snowshoe Lepus americanus   
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  Shrew, American 

water 

Sorex palustris 
  

  Vole, rock Microtus chrotorrhinus   

  Threatened:   

 Shrew, Dismal 

Swamp southeastern 

Sorex longirostris fisheri 
 

6. Molluscs:   

  Endangered:   

  Ghostsnail, 

thankless 

Holsingeria 

unthanksensis 
  

  Coil, rubble  Helicodiscus lirellus   

  Coil, shaggy Helicodiscus diadema   

  Deertoe Truncilla truncata   

  Elephantear Elliptio crassidens   

  Elimia, spider Elimia arachnoidea   

  Floater, brook  Alasmidonta varicosa   

  Heelsplitter, 

Tennessee 

Lasmigona holstonia 
  

  Lilliput, purple Toxolasma lividus   

  Mussel, slippershell  Alasmidonta viridis   

  Pigtoe, Ohio 

cordatum 

Pleurobema cordatum 
  

  Pigtoe, pyramid Pleurobema rubrum   

  Springsnail, 

Appalachian 

Fontigens bottimeri 
  

  Springsnail (no 

common name) 

Fonitgens morrisoni 
  

  Supercoil, spirit  Paravitrea hera   

  Threatened:   

  Floater, green Lasmigona subviridis   

  Papershell, fragile Leptodea fragilis   

  Pearlymussel, 

slabside 

Lexingtonia 

dolabelloides 
  

  Pigtoe, Atlantic  Fusconaiamasoni   

  Pimpleback  Quadrula pustulosa 

pustulosa 
  

  Pistolgrip Tritogonia verrucosa   

  Riversnail, spiny  Iofluvialis   

  Sandshell, black Ligumia recta   

  Supercoil, brown Paravitrea septadens   

7. Arthropods:   

  Threatened:   

  Amphipod, Madison 

Cave 

Stygobromus stegerorum 
  

  Pseudotremia, Ellett 

Valley 

Pseudotremia 

cavernarum 
  

  Xystodesmid, Laurel 

Creek 

Sigmoria whiteheadi 
  

8. Crustaceans:   

  Endangered: 

  Crayfish, Big Sandy Cambarus veteranus   

C. It shall be unlawful to take, transport, process, sell, or 

offer for sale within the Commonwealth any threatened or 

endangered species of fish or wildlife except as authorized by 

law. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4038; Filed July 9, 2014, 2:40 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-30. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., of 

Animals (amending 4VAC15-30-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add certain nonnative species of 

animals currently included on the federal list of 

endangered and threatened species to the list of predatory 

and undesirable species; (ii) add the oriental weatherfish 

to the list of predatory and undesirable species, (iii) update 

taxonomic references in the list of predatory and 

undesirable species, and (iv) repeal an exception for 

certain animals from the requirement that all individuals 

in possession of animals included on the list of predatory 

and undesirable species apply for a department permit to 

exhibit wild animals in Virginia. 
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4VAC15-30-40. Importation requirements, possession and sale of nonnative (exotic) animals.  

A. Permit required. A special permit is required and may be issued by the department, if consistent with the department's fish 

and wildlife management program, to import, possess, or sell those nonnative (exotic) animals listed below and in 4VAC15-20-

210 that the board finds and declares to be predatory or undesirable within the meaning and intent of § 29.1-542 of the Code of 

Virginia, in that their introduction into the Commonwealth will be detrimental to the native fish and wildlife resources of 

Virginia:  

AMPHIBIANS:   

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name   

Anura Bufonidae Rhinella marina Cane toad*   

Pipidae Hymenochirus spp. 

Pseudohymenochiris merlini 

African dwarf frog 
  

Xenopus spp. Tongueless or African clawed frog   

Caudata Ambystomatidae Ambystoma tigrium mavortium All 

species 

Barred tiger salamander All mole 

salamanders 
  

A. t. diaboli Gray tiger salamander   

A. t. melanostictum Blotched tiger salamander   

BIRDS:   

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name   

Psittaciformes Psittacidae  Myiopsitta monachus Monk parakeet*   

Anseriformes Anatidae  Cygnus olor Mute swan   

FISH:   

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name   

Cypriniformes  Catostomidae Catostomus microps Modoc sucker   

Catostomus santaanae Santa Ana sucker   

Catostomus warnerensis Warner sucker    

Ictiobus bubalus  Smallmouth* buffalo   

I. cyprinellus Bigmouth* buffalo   

I. niger  Black buffalo*   

Characidae Pygopristis spp. 

Pygocentrus spp. 

Rooseveltiella spp. 

Serrasalmo spp. 

Serrasalmus spp. 

Taddyella spp. 

Piranhas 

  

Cobitidae Misgurnus anguillicaudatus Oriental weatherfish   

Cyprinidae Aristichyhys nobilis Bighead carp*   

Chrosomus saylori Laurel dace   

Ctenopharyngodon idella Grass carp or white amur   

Cyprinella caerulea Blue shiner   

Cyprinella formosa Beautiful shiner   
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Cyprinella lutrensis  Red shiner   

Hypophthalmichthys molitrix Silver carp*   

Mylopharyngodom piceus Black carp*   

Notropis albizonatus Palezone shiner   

Notropis cahabae Cahaba shiner   

Notropis girardi Arkansas River shiner   

Notropis mekistocholas Cape Fear shiner   

Notropis simus pecosensis Pecos bluntnose shiner   

Notropis topeka (= tristis) Topeka shiner   

Phoxinus cumberlandensis Blackside dace   

Rhinichthys osculus lethoporus Independence Valley speckled dace   

Rhinichthys osculus nevadensis Ash Meadows speckled dace   

Rhinichthys osculus oligoporus Clover Valley speckled dace   

Rhinichthys osculus ssp. Foskett speckled dace   

Rhinichthys osculus thermalis Kendall Warm Springs dace   

Scardinius erythrophthalmus Rudd   

Tinca tinca Tench*   

Cyprinodontiformes Poeciliidae Gambusia gaigei Big Bend gambusia   

Gambusia georgei San Marcos gambusia   

Gambusia heterochir Clear Creek gambusia   

Gambusia nobilis Pecos gambusia   

Peociliopsis occidentalis Gila topminnow   

Gasterosteiformes Gasterosteidae Gasterosteus aculeatus williamsoni Unarmored threespine stickleback   

Gobiesociformes Gobiidae Proterorhinus marmoratus Tubenose goby   

Neogobius melanostomus Round goby   

Perciformes Channidae Channa spp. 

Parachanna spp. 

Snakeheads 
  

Cichlidae Tilapia spp. Tilapia   

Gymnocephalus cernuum Ruffe*   

Elassomatidae Elassoma alabamae Spring pygmy sunfish   

Percidae Crystallaria cincotta Diamond darter   

Etheostoma chermocki Vermilion darter   

Etheostoma boschungi Slackwater darter   

Etheostoma chienense Relict darter   

Etheostoma etowahae Etowah darter   

Etheostoma fonticola Fountain darter   
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Etheostoma moorei Yellowcheek darter   

Etheostoma nianguae Niangua darter   

Etheostoma nuchale Watercress darter   

Etheostoma okaloosae Okaloosa darter   

Etheostoma phytophilum Rush darter   

Etheostoma rubrum Bayou darter   

Etheostoma scotti Cherokee darter   

Etheostoma sp. Bluemask (= jewel) darter   

Etheostoma susanae Cumberland darter   

Etheostoma wapiti Boulder darter   

Percina antesella Amber darter   

Percina aurolineata Goldline darter   

Percina jenkinsi Conasauga logperch   

Percina pantherina Leopard darter   

Percina tanasi Snail darter   

Scorpaeniformes Cottidae Cottus sp. Grotto sculpin   

Cottus paulus (= pygmaeus) Pygmy sculpin   

Siluriformes Clariidae All species Air-breathing catfish   

Ictaluridae Noturus baileyi Smoky madtom   

Noturus crypticus Chucky madtom   

Noturus placidus Neosho madtom   

Noturus stanauli Pygmy madtom   

Noturus trautmani Scioto madtom   

Synbranchiformes Synbranchidae Monopterus albus Swamp eel   

MAMMALS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Artiodactyla Suidae  All Species Pigs or Hogs* 

Cervidae All Species Deer* 

Carnivora Canidae All Species Wild Dogs,* Wolves, Coyotes or 

Coyote hybrids, Jackals and Foxes 

Ursidae All Species Bears* 

Procyonidae All Species Raccoons and* Relatives 

Mustelidae All Species 

(except Mustela putorius furo) 

Weasels, Badgers,* Skunks and 

Otters 

Ferret 

Viverridae All Species Civets, Genets,* Lingsangs, 

Mongooses, and Fossas 
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Herpestidae All Species Mongooses* 

Hyaenidae All Species Hyenas and Aardwolves* 

Felidae All Species Cats* 

Chiroptera   All Species Bats* 

Lagomorpha Lepridae Brachylagus idahoensis Pygmy rabbit 

Lepus europeaeous European hare 

Oryctolagus cuniculus European rabbit 

Sylvilagus bachmani riparius Riparian brush rabbit 

Sylvilagus palustris hefneri Lower Keys marsh rabbit 

Rodentia   All species native to Africa All species native to Africa 

Dipodidae Zapus hudsonius preblei Preble's meadow jumping mouse 

Muridae Microtus californicus scirpensis Amargosa vole 

Microtus mexicanus hualpaiensis Hualapai Mexican vole 

Microtus pennsylvanicus 

dukecampbelli 

Florida salt marsh vole 

Neotoma floridana smalli Key Largo woodrat 

Neotoma fuscipes riparia Riparian (= San Joaquin Valley) 

woodrat 

Oryzomys palustris natator Rice rat 

Peromyscus gossypinus allapaticola Key Largo cotton mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus allophrys Choctawhatchee beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus ammobates Alabama beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus niveiventris  Southeastern beach mouse  

Peromyscus polionotus peninsularis St. Andrew beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus phasma Anastasia Island beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus trissyllepsis Perdido Key beach mouse 

Reithrodontomys raviventris Salt marsh harvest mouse 

Heteromyidae Dipodomys heermanni morroensis Morro Bay kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys ingens  Giant kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys merriami parvus San Bernadino Merriam's kangaroo 

rat 

Dipodomys nitratoides exilis Fresno kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys nitratoides nitratoides Tipton kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys stephensi (including D. 

cascus) 

Stephens' kangaroo rat 

Perognathus longimembris pacificus Pacific pocket mouse 

Sciuridae Cynomys spp. Prairie dogs 
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Spermophilus brunneus brunneus Northern Idaho ground squirrel 

Tamiasciurus hudsonicus 

grahamensis 

Mount Graham red squirrel 

Soricomorpha Soricidae Sorex ornatus relictus Buena Vista Lake ornate shrew 

MOLLUSKS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Neotaenioglossa Hydrobiidae Potamopyrgus antipodarum New Zealand mudsnail 

Veneroida Dreissenidae Dreissena bugensis  Quagga mussel 

Dreissena polymorpha  Zebra mussel 

REPTILES: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Squamata 

Crocodilia 

Alligatoridae All species Alligators, caimans* 

Colubridae Boiga irregularis Brown tree snake* 

Crocodylidae  All species Crocodiles*  

Gavialidae All species Gavials* 

Squamata Colubridae Boiga irregularis Brown tree snake* 

CRUSTACEANS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Decapoda Cambaridae Cambarus aculabrum Cave crayfish 

Cambarus zophonastes Cave crayfish 

Orconectes rusticus Rusty crayfish 

Orconectes shoupi Nashville crayfish 

Pacifastacus fortis Shasta crayfish 

Procambarus sp. Marbled crayfish 

Parastacidae Cherax spp. Australian crayfish 

Varunidea Eriocheir sinensis Chinese mitten crab 

B. Temporary possession permit for certain animals. 

Notwithstanding the permitting requirements of subsection A, 

a person, company or corporation possessing any nonnative 

(exotic) animal, designated with an asterisk (*) in subsection 

A, prior to July 1, 1992, must declare such possession in 

writing to the department by January 1, 1993. This written 

declaration shall serve as a permit for possession only, is not 

transferable, and must be renewed every five years. This 

written declaration must include species name, common 

name, number of individuals, date or dates acquired, sex (if 

possible), estimated age, height or length, and other 

characteristics such as bands and band numbers, tattoos, 

registration numbers, coloration, and specific markings. 

Possession transfer will require a new permit according to the 

requirements of this subsection.  

C. Exception for certain monk parakeets. A permit is not 

required for monk parakeets (quakers) that have been captive 

bred and are closed-banded with a seamless band.  

D. Exception for parts or products. A permit is not required 

for parts or products of those nonnative (exotic) animals 

listed in subsection A that may be used for personal use, in 

the manufacture of products, or used in scientific research, 

provided that such parts or products be packaged outside the 

Commonwealth by any person, company, or corporation duly 

licensed by the state in which the parts originate. Such 

packages may be transported into the Commonwealth, 

consistent with other state laws and regulations, so long as the 

original package remains unbroken, unopened and intact until 

its point of destination is reached. Documentation concerning 

the type and cost of the animal parts ordered, the purpose and 
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date of the order, point and date of shipping, and date of 

receiving shall be kept by the person, business or institution 

ordering such nonnative (exotic) animal parts. Such 

documentation shall be open to inspection by a representative 

of the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries.  

E. Exception for certain mammals. Nonnative (exotic) 

mammals listed in subsection A, except members of the 

Cervidae family, African rodents, and prairie dogs, that are 

imported or possessed by dealers, exhibitors, transporters, and 

researchers who are licensed or registered by the United 

States Department of Agriculture under the Animal Welfare 

Act (7 USC §§ 2131 et seq.) will be deemed to be permitted 

pursuant to this section, provided that those individuals 

wanting to import such animals notify the department 24 

hours prior to importation with a list of animals to be 

imported, a schedule of dates and locations where those 

animals will be housed while in the Commonwealth, and a 

copy of the current license or licenses or registration or 

registrations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, and 

further provided that such animals shall not be liberated 

within the Commonwealth.  

F. E. Exception for prairie dogs. The effective date of listing 

of prairie dogs under subsection A of this section shall be 

January 1, 1998. Prairie dogs possessed in captivity in 

Virginia on December 31, 1997, may be maintained in 

captivity until the animals' deaths, but they may not be sold 

on or after January 1, 1998, without a permit.  

G. F. Exception for snakehead fish. Anglers may legally 

harvest snakehead fish of the family Channidea, provided that 

they immediately kill such fish and that they notify the 

department, as soon as practicable, of such actions.  

H. G. All other nonnative (exotic) animals. All other nonnative 

(exotic) animals not listed in subsection A of this section may be 

possessed, purchased, and sold; provided, that such animals shall 

be subject to all applicable local, state, and federal laws and 

regulations, including those that apply to threatened/endangered 

species, and further provided, that such animals shall not be 

liberated within the Commonwealth.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4039; Filed July 9, 2014, 3:05 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-50. Game: Bear (amending 

4VAC15-50-11, 4VAC15-50-71, 4VAC15-50-110, 

4VAC15-50-120).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

 

Summary: 

In accordance with legislation enacted in the 2014 Session 

of the General Assembly, the amendments (i) incorporate 

hunting on Sundays into the various bear hunting and bear 

hound training seasons and (ii) allow the use of 

muzzleloading pistols to hunt bear during muzzleloading 

gun hunting season. 

4VAC15-50-11. Open season; generally. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt bears within:  

Location Season 

Accomack County  Closed 

Albemarle County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Alleghany County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Amelia County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Amherst County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Appomattox County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Arlington County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Augusta County  

(North of US-250)  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Augusta County 

(South of US-250)  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Bath County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Bedford County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Bland County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Botetourt County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 
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Brunswick County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Buchanan County  

First Monday in December 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Buckingham County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Campbell County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Caroline County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Carroll County  

First Monday in December and 

for 17 consecutive hunting 19 

days following. 

Charles City County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Charlotte County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Chesapeake (City of)  

October 1 through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Chesterfield County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Clarke County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Craig County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Culpeper County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Cumberland County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Dickenson County  

First Monday in December 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Dinwiddie County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Essex County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Fairfax County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Fauquier County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Floyd County  

First Monday in December and 

for 17 consecutive hunting 19 

days following. 

Fluvanna County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Franklin County  

First Monday in December and 

for 17 consecutive hunting 19 

days following. 

Frederick County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Giles County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Gloucester County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Goochland County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Grayson County  

First Monday in December and 

for 17 consecutive hunting 19 

days following. 

Greene County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Greensville County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Halifax County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 
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Hanover County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Henrico County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Henry County  

First Monday in December and 

for 17 consecutive hunting 19 

days following. 

Highland County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Isle of Wight County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

James City County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

King and Queen 

County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

King George County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

King William 

County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Lancaster County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Lee County  

First Monday in December 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Loudoun County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Louisa County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Lunenburg County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Madison County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Mathews County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Mecklenburg 

County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Middlesex County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Montgomery County 

 (southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December and 

for 17 consecutive hunting 19 

days following. 

Montgomery County 

(northwest of I-81)  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Nelson County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

New Kent County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Northampton 

County  
Closed 

Northumberland 

County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Nottoway County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Orange County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Page County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Patrick County  

First Monday in December and 

for 17 consecutive hunting 19 

days following. 

Pittsylvania County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Powhatan County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 
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Prince Edward 

County 

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Prince George 

County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Prince William 

County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Pulaski County  

(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December and 

for 17 consecutive hunting 19 

days following. 

Pulaski County  

(northwest of I-81)  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Rappahannock 

County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Richmond County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Roanoke County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Rockbridge County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Rockingham County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Russell County 

(except on the 

Channels State 

Forest and Clinch 

Mountain WMA) 

First Monday in December 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Russell County (on 

the Channels State 

Forest and Clinch 

Mountain WMA) 

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Scott County  

First Monday in December 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Shenandoah County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Smyth County 

(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December and 

for 17 consecutive hunting 19 

days following. 

Smyth County  

(northwest of I-81)  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Southampton 

County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Spotsylvania County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Stafford County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Suffolk (City of)  

October 1 through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Surry County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Sussex County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

Tazewell County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Virginia Beach (City 

of)  

October 1 through the first 

Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive. 

Warren County  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Washington County  

(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December and 

for 17 consecutive hunting 19 

days following. 

Washington County 

(northwest of I-81 

and east of Route 

19)  

First Monday in December 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Washington County 

(northwest of I-81 

and west of Route 

19)  

First Monday in December and 

for 17 consecutive hunting 19 

days following. 

Westmoreland 

County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 
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Wise County  

First Monday in December 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

Wythe County  

(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in December and 

for 17 consecutive hunting 19 

days following. 

Wythe County  

(northwest of I-81)  

Fourth Monday in November 

through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive. 

York County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 

for 5 consecutive hunting days 

following. 

B. Except as provided in the subsection A of this section, 

bears may be hunted from the Saturday prior to the fourth 

Monday in November through the first Saturday in January, 

both dates inclusive, within the incorporated limits of any city 

that allows bear hunting.  

4VAC15-50-71. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt bear during the special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 

Saturday prior to the second Monday in November through 

the Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 

inclusive, except in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and 

Virginia Beach. 

B. It shall be unlawful to hunt bear with dogs during any 

special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns, except 

that tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

C. A muzzleloading gun, for the purpose of this section, 

means a single shot weapon, excluding muzzleloading 

pistols, .45 caliber or larger, firing a single projectile or sabot 

(with a .38 caliber or larger projectile) of the same caliber 

loaded from the muzzle of the weapon and propelled by at 

least 50 grains of black powder (or black powder equivalent 

or smokeless powder). 

D. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession any 

firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting with a 

muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season. 

4VAC15-50-110. Use of dogs in hunting bear. 

A. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 

during the open season for hunting deer in the counties west 

of the Blue Ridge Mountains and in the counties of Amherst 

(west of Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its 

intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the town of Amherst 

continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), Bedford, and 

Nelson (west of Route 151); and within the boundaries of the 

national forests, except that tracking dogs as defined in 

§ 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be used. 

B. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 

during the first 12 hunting 14 days of the open season for 

hunting deer in the counties of Greene and Madison, except 

that tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

C. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear in 

the counties of Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern 

Railroad), Carroll (east of the New River), Fairfax, Floyd, 

Franklin, Grayson (east of the New River), Henry, Loudoun, 

Montgomery (south of Interstate 81), Patrick, Pittsylvania 

(west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Pulaski (south of 

Interstate 81), Roanoke (south of Interstate 81), Wythe 

(southeast of the New River or that part bounded by Route 21 

on the west, Interstate 81 on the north, the county line on the 

east, the New River on the southeast and Cripple Creek on the 

south); in the city of Lynchburg; and on Amelia, Chester F. 

Phelps, G. Richard Thompson, and Pettigrew wildlife 

management areas, except that tracking dogs as defined in 

§ 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be used. 

4VAC15-50-120. Bear hound training season.  

A. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, from the second Saturday in August 

through the last Saturday in September, both dates inclusive, 

in all counties and cities or in the portions in which bear 

hunting is permitted except in the counties of Accomack, 

Amelia, Appomattox, Brunswick, Buckingham, Campbell, 

Caroline, Carroll, Charles City, Charlotte, Chesterfield, 

Clarke, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, 

Floyd, Fluvanna, Franklin, Frederick, Gloucester, Goochland, 

Grayson, Greensville, Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, Henry, Isle 

of Wight, James City, King & Queen, King George, King 

William, Lancaster, Loudoun, Louisa, Lunenburg, Mathews, 

Mecklenburg, Middlesex, Montgomery (south of Interstate 

81), New Kent, Northampton, Northumberland, Nottoway, 

Orange, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince Edward, 

Prince George, Prince William, Pulaski (south of Interstate 

81), Richmond, Roanoke (south of Interstate 81), Smyth 

(south of Interstate 81), Southampton, Spotsylvania, Stafford, 

Surry, Sussex, Washington (south of Interstate 81), 

Westmoreland, Wythe (south of Interstate 81), and York, and 

in the cities of Hampton, Newport News and Norfolk.  

B. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, from the Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 12 consecutive hunting 14 days 

following, both dates inclusive, in the counties of Amelia, 

Appomattox, Buckingham, Brunswick, Campbell (east of the 

Norfolk Southern Railroad), Charles City, Charlotte, 

Cumberland, Essex, Gloucester, Greensville, Halifax, Isle of 

Wight, James City, King and Queen, King George, King 

William, Lancaster, Lunenburg, Mathews, Mecklenburg, 

Middlesex, New Kent, Northumberland, Nottoway, 

Pittsylvania (east of the Norfolk Southern Railroad), Prince 

Edward, Prince George, Richmond, Southampton, Surry, 

Sussex, Westmoreland, and York. 

C. It shall be lawful to chase black bears with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, in the counties of Brunswick, 

Greensville, Lunenburg, and Mecklenburg from the first 
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Saturday in September through the third Saturday in 

September, both dates inclusive. 

D. It shall be unlawful to have in possession a firearm, bow, 

crossbow or any weapon capable of taking a black bear while 

participating in the bear hound training season. The meaning 

of "possession" for the purpose of this section shall include, 

but not be limited to, having a firearm, bow, crossbow or any 

weapon capable of taking a black bear in or on one's person, 

vehicle, or conveyance.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4040; Filed July 9, 2014, 3:15 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-80. Game: Crow (amending 

4VAC15-80-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove Mondays and add Sundays as 

days on which it is legal to hunt crows during crow open 

season and (ii) adjust the ending day of the season so as to 

keep the total number of available crow hunting days 

constant. 

4VAC15-80-10. Open season.  

It shall be lawful to hunt crow on Monday, Wednesday, 

Friday and, Saturday, and Sunday of each week from the third 

Saturday in August through the third Saturday Friday in 

March, both dates inclusive.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4041; Filed July 9, 2014, 3:19 a.m.  

Final Regulation  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending 

4VAC15-90-10, 4VAC15-90-70, 4VAC15-90-80, 4VAC15-

90-91, 4VAC15-90-260, 4VAC15-90-293).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments incorporate hunting on Sundays into the 

various deer hunting seasons and allow the use of 

muzzleloading pistols to hunt deer during muzzleloading 

gun hunting season, pursuant to legislation enacted in the 

2014 Session of the General Assembly. The proposed 

amendments also correct inadvertent omissions from 

amendments adopted by the board in 2013 that (i) adjust 

the days either-sex deer may be taken with muzzleloading 

guns in Shenandoah County, (ii) prohibit the importation 

of any cervid carcass or part, with certain exceptions, from 

an enclosure intended to confine deer or elk, and (iii) 

allow the importation of skulls or skull plates with or 

without antlers. 

4VAC15-90-10. Open season; generally.  

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer in the following localities, 

including the cities and towns therein, during the following 

seasons, all dates inclusive.  

Locality Season 

Accomack County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Albemarle County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Alleghany County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Amelia County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Amherst County (west 

of Business U.S. 29 

from the James River 

to its intersection with 

U.S. 29 just south of 

the Town of Amherst 

continuing north on 

U.S. 29 to the Tye 

River) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Amherst County (east 

of Business U.S. 29, as 

defined above) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Appomattox County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Arlington County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Arlington County 

(antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September 

through the Friday prior to the 

first Saturday in October and 

the Monday Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January 

through the last Saturday 

Sunday in March 
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Augusta County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Bath County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Bedford County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Bland County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Botetourt County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Brunswick County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Buchanan County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Buckingham County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Campbell County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Caroline County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Carroll County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Charles City County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Charlotte County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Chesapeake (City of)  
October 1 through November 

30 

Chesterfield County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Clarke County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Craig County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Culpeper County 

(except Chester F. 

Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Culpeper County 

(Chester F. Phelps 

Wildlife Management 

Area) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Cumberland County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Dickenson County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Dinwiddie County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Essex County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Fairfax County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Fairfax County 

(antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September 

through the Friday prior to the 

first Saturday in October and 

the Monday Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January 

through the last Saturday 

Sunday in March 

Fauquier County 

(except Chester F. 

Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 
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Fauquier County 

(Chester F. Phelps 

Wildlife Management 

Area) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Floyd County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

24 28 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Fluvanna County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Franklin County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

24 28 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Frederick County 

(non-national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Frederick County 

(national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Giles County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Gloucester County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Goochland County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Grayson County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Greene County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Greensville County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Halifax County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Hanover County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Henrico County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Henry County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

24 28 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Highland County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Isle of Wight County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

James City County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

King and Queen 

County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

King George County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

King William County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Lancaster County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Lee County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Loudoun County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Loudoun County 

(antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September 

through the Friday prior to the 

first Saturday in October and 

the Monday Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January 

through the last Saturday 

Sunday in March 

Louisa County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 
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Lunenburg County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Madison County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Mathews County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Mecklenburg County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Middlesex County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Montgomery County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Nelson County  

(west of Route 151) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Nelson County  

(east of Route 151) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

New Kent County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Northampton County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Northumberland 

County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Nottoway County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Orange County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Page County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Patrick County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

24 28 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Pittsylvania County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Powhatan County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Prince Edward County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Prince George County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Prince William County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Prince William County 

(antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in September 

through the Friday prior to the 

first Saturday in October and 

the Monday Sunday following 

the first Saturday in January 

through the last Saturday 

Sunday in March 

Pulaski County (except 

on New River Unit of 

the Radford Army 

Ammunition Plant 

adjacent to the Town 

of Dublin) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Pulaski County (New 

River Unit of the 

Radford Army 

Ammunition Plant 

adjacent to the Town 

of Dublin) 

Saturday prior to the second 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Rappahannock County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Richmond County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Roanoke County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 
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Rockbridge County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Rockingham County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Russell County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Scott County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Shenandoah County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Smyth County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Southampton County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Spotsylvania County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Stafford County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Suffolk (City of)  

(east of Dismal Swamp 

Line) 

October 1 through November 

30 

Suffolk (City of)  

(west of Dismal 

Swamp Line) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Surry County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Sussex County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Tazewell County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Virginia Beach (City 

of)  

October 1 through November 

30 

Warren County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Washington County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Westmoreland County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

Wise County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

Wythe County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 

12 14 consecutive hunting days 

following 

York County  

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November through 

the first Saturday in January 

B. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, east of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains deer may be hunted from the 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, within the 

incorporated limits of any city or town that allows deer 

hunting. 

C. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, west 

of the Blue Ridge Mountains deer may be hunted from the 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 12 

14 consecutive hunting days following within the 

incorporated limits of any city or town that allows deer 

hunting. 

4VAC15-90-70. Bow and arrow hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 

archery season with bow and arrow from the first Saturday in 

October through the Friday prior to the third Monday in 

November, both dates inclusive. 

B. In addition to the season provided in subsection A of this 

section, it shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 

archery season with bow and arrow from the Monday Sunday 

following the close of the general firearms season on deer 

through the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, in 
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all cities, towns, and counties west of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains (except Clarke County and on non-national forest 

lands in Frederick County) and in the counties (including the 

cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of Business U.S. 

29 from the James River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just 

south of the Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to 

the Tye River), Bedford, Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of 

Route 151), Patrick and on the Chester F. Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area and on national forest lands in Frederick 

County and from December 1 through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive, in the cities of Chesapeake, 

Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp Line), and Virginia 

Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

special archery seasons as provided in subsections A and B of 

this section (except on PALS (Public Access Lands) in 

Dickenson County where it shall be unlawful to take 

antlerless deer during the special archery seasons provided for 

in subsections A and B of this section). 

D. It shall be unlawful to carry firearms while hunting with 

bow and arrow during the special archery seasons, except that 

a muzzleloading gun, as defined in 4VAC15-90-80, may be 

in the possession of a properly licensed muzzleloading gun 

hunter when and where a special archery deer season overlaps 

a special muzzleloading deer season. 

E. Arrows used for hunting big game must have a minimum 

width head of 7/8 of an inch and the bow used for such 

hunting must be capable of casting a broadhead arrow a 

minimum of 125 yards. 

F. It shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with bow 

and arrow during any special archery season, except that 

tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

G. For the purpose of the application of subsections A 

through I to this section, the phrase "bow and arrow" includes 

crossbows. 

H. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special 

urban archery season with bow and arrow from the first 

Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October, both dates inclusive, and from the 

Monday Sunday following the first Saturday in January 

through the last Saturday Sunday in March, both dates 

inclusive, within the incorporated limits of any city or town in 

the Commonwealth (except on national forest and 

department-owned lands) and counties with a human 

population density of 300 persons per square mile or more 

(except on national forest and department-owned lands), 

provided that its governing body submits by certified letter to 

the department prior to April 1, its intent to participate in the 

special urban archery season. Any city, town, or county no 

longer participating in this season shall submit by certified 

letter to the department prior to April 1 notice of its intent not 

to participate in the special urban archery season. 

I. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special 

antlerless archery season with a bow and arrow from the 

Monday following the last Saturday Sunday in March through 

the last Saturday Sunday in April, both dates inclusive, in 

Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William counties 

(including the cities and towns within). 

4VAC15-90-80. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 

Saturday prior to the first Monday in November through the 

Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 

inclusive, in all cities, towns, and counties where deer hunting 

with a rifle or muzzleloading gun is permitted, except in the 

cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp 

Line), and Virginia Beach.  

B. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns starting 18 21 

consecutive hunting days immediately prior to and inclusive 

of on the first Saturday in January, in all cities, towns, and 

counties west of the Blue Ridge Mountains (except Clarke 

County and on non-national forest lands in Frederick 

County), and east of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the 

counties (including the cities and towns within) of Amherst 

(west of Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its 

intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst 

continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), Bedford, 

Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151), Patrick and on 

national forest lands in Frederick County and in the cities of 

Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp Line), and 

Virginia Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 

special muzzleloading season east of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains unless otherwise noted below:  

- Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 

only of the early special muzzleloading season on state 

forest lands, state park lands (except Occoneechee State 

Park), department-owned lands and Philpott Reservoir. 

- Antlered bucks only—no either sex deer hunting days 

during the early special muzzleloading season on national 

forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson counties. 

D. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 

only during the early special muzzleloading season west of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains unless otherwise noted below: 

- Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 

special muzzleloading season in Clarke and Floyd counties 

and on private lands in Carroll, Frederick, Grayson, 

Montgomery, Roanoke, Shenandoah, and Warren counties. 

- Antlered bucks only—no either sex deer hunting days 

during the early special muzzleloading season in 

Buchanan, Dickenson, Lee, Russell, Smyth, Tazewell, 

Washington, and Wise counties and on national forest 

lands in Alleghany, Botetourt, Frederick, Grayson, Page, 

Rockingham, Scott, Shenandoah, Warren, and on national 
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forest and department-owned lands in Augusta, Bath, 

Highland, and Rockbridge counties and on Grayson 

Highlands State Park and on private lands west of Routes 

613 and 731 in Rockingham County. 

E. Deer of either sex may be taken during the last six days of 

the late special muzzleloading season unless otherwise listed 

below: 

- Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

entire late special muzzleloading season in the counties 

(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection 

with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing 

north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River, except on national forest 

lands), Bedford (except on national forest lands), Floyd, 

Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151, except on 

national forest lands), and Patrick and on private lands in 

Carroll, Grayson, Montgomery, Roanoke, Shenandoah, and 

Warren counties and in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk 

(east of the Dismal Swamp Line), and Virginia Beach. 

- Deer of either sex may be taken the last day only during 

the late special muzzleloading season in Alleghany, Bath, 

Dickenson (north of Route 83), Highland, Lee, Russell, 

Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, and Wise counties 

and on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, 

Botetourt, Frederick, Grayson, Nelson, Page, Rockingham, 

Shenandoah, and Warren counties, and on national forest 

and department-owned lands in Augusta and Rockbridge 

counties and on private lands west of Routes 613 and 731 

in Rockingham County and Grayson Highlands State Park. 

- Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the late special muzzleloading season in Buchanan 

and Dickenson (south of Route 83). 

F. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

special muzzleloading seasons within the incorporated limits 

of any city or town in the Commonwealth that allows deer 

hunting except in the counties of Buchanan, Dickenson, and 

Wise. 

G. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during any 

special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns, except 

that tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

H. A muzzleloading gun, for the purpose of this section, 

means a single shot weapon, excluding muzzleloading 

pistols, .45 caliber or larger, firing a single projectile or sabot 

(with a .38 caliber or larger projectile) of the same caliber 

loaded from the muzzle of the weapon and propelled by at 

least 50 grains of black powder (or black powder equivalent 

or smokeless powder). 

I. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession any 

firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting with a 

muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season.  

4VAC15-90-91. General firearms season either-sex deer 

hunting days. 

A. During the general firearms deer season, deer of either 

sex may be taken within:  

Accomack County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 

Albemarle County: full season. 

Alleghany County: the second Saturday and the last 

hunting day.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Amelia County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

12 hunting 13 days. 

-Amelia WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six hunting days.  

Amherst County (east of Business U.S. 29 from the James 

River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the 

Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 

River): the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and the last 

24 hunting 27 days.  

Amherst County (west of Business U.S. 29 from the James 

River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the 

Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 

River): full season.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Appomattox County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 12 hunting 13 days.  

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and 

third Saturdays.  

-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 

Arlington County: full season.  

Augusta County: the second Saturday and the last six 

hunting days.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

hunting day.  

Bath County: the second Saturday and the last hunting day.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

hunting day.  

Bedford County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Bland County: the second Saturday and the last two 

hunting days. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

hunting day.  

Botetourt County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Brunswick County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 12 hunting 13 days.  
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Buchanan County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken.  

Buckingham County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 12 hunting 13 days.  

-Horsepen Lake WMA: the second and third Saturdays 

and the last six hunting days. 

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and 

third Saturdays.  

-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 

Campbell County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 24 hunting 27 days.  

Caroline County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 

-Mattaponi WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six hunting days. 

Carroll County: full season.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 

Saturday and the last hunting day.  

Charles City County: full season.  

-Chickahominy WMA: the second Saturday after 

Thanksgiving. 

Charlotte County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 12 hunting 13 days.  

Chesapeake (City of): full season. 

Chesterfield County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 12 hunting 13 days. 

Clarke County: full season.  

Craig County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

hunting day.  

Culpeper County: full season. 

-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday and the 

last hunting day.  

Cumberland County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 12 hunting 13 days. 

-Cumberland State Forest: the second and third 

Saturdays. 

Dickenson County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken.  

Dinwiddie County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 12 hunting 13 days.  

Essex County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and 

the last 24 hunting 27 days. 

Fairfax County: full season (restricted to certain parcels of 

land by special permit).  

Fauquier County: full season.  

-G. Richard Thompson WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last hunting day.  

-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday and the 

last hunting day.  

Floyd County: full season.  

Fluvanna County: second and third Saturdays and the last 

12 hunting 13 days.  

Franklin County: full season.  

-Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

hunting days.  

-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last six hunting days.  

Frederick County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Giles County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

hunting day.  

Gloucester County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 

Goochland County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 24 hunting 27 days.  

Grayson County: full season.  

-National forest lands and Grayson Highlands State Park: 

antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with 

antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Greene County: full season. 

Greensville County: full season.  

Halifax County: full season.  

Hanover County: full season. 

Henrico County: full season. 

Henry County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

12 hunting 13 days. 

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 

Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

hunting days.  

-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last six hunting days.  

Highland County: the second Saturday and the last hunting 

day.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

hunting day.  

Isle of Wight County: full season.  

-Ragged Island WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 

be taken.  

James City County: full season. 

King and Queen County: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 
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King George County: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 

King William County: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 

Lancaster County: full season.  

Lee County: the second Saturday and the last two hunting 

days.  

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 

be taken.  

Loudoun County: full season.  

Louisa County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and 

the last 24 hunting 27 days.  

Lunenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 12 hunting 13 days.  

Madison County: full season. 

-Rapidan WMA: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 

Mathews County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and last 24 hunting 27 days. 

Mecklenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 12 hunting 13 days.  

-Dick Cross WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six hunting days. 

Middlesex County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and last 24 hunting 27 days.  

Montgomery County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

hunting day.  

Nelson County (east of Route 151): the second, third, and 

fourth Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days.  

-James River WMA: the second Saturday and the last six 

hunting days.  

Nelson County (west of Route 151): full season.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

New Kent County: full season. 

Northampton County: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 

Northumberland County: full season. 

Nottoway County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 12 hunting 13 days. 

Orange County: full season. 

Page County: the second Saturday and the last two hunting 

days.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Patrick County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

12 hunting 13 days. 

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 

Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

hunting days.  

Pittsylvania County: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days.  

-White Oak Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last hunting day.  

Powhatan County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 12 hunting 13 days. 

-Powhatan WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six hunting days. 

Prince Edward County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 12 hunting 13 days.  

-Briery Creek WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six hunting days. 

-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 

-Prince Edward State Forest: the second and third 

Saturdays.  

Prince George County: full season. 

Prince William County: full season.  

Pulaski County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

hunting day.  

Rappahannock County: full season. 

Richmond County: full season. 

Roanoke County: full season.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 

Saturday and the last hunting day.  

Rockbridge County: the second Saturday and the last two 

hunting days.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

hunting day.  

Rockingham County: the second Saturday and the last six 

hunting days.  

-National forest lands and private lands west of Routes 

613 and 731: the last hunting day.  

Russell County: the second Saturday and the last two 

hunting days.  

-Clinch Mountain WMA, Hidden Valley WMA, and the 

Channels State Forest: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 

be taken. 

Scott County: the second Saturday and the last six hunting 

days.  

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 

be taken.  
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Shenandoah County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Smyth County: the second Saturday and the last six 

hunting days.  

-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, and 

Hungry Mother State Park: antlered bucks only—no 

either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline 

may be taken. 

Southampton County: full season.  

Spotsylvania County: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 24 hunting 27 days. 

Stafford County: full season.  

Suffolk (City of): full season. 

Surry County: full season.  

-Carlisle Tract of the Hog Island WMA: antlered bucks 

only—no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above 

the hairline may be taken.  

Sussex County: full season.  

Tazewell County: the second Saturday and the last two 

hunting days.  

-National forest lands, and Clinch Mountain WMA, and 

Hidden Valley WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 

be taken. 

Virginia Beach (City of): full season.  

Warren County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the last hunting day.  

Washington County: the second Saturday and the last six 

hunting days.  

-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, Hidden 

Valley WMA, and the Channels State Forest: antlered 

bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers 

above the hairline may be taken. 

Westmoreland County: full season. 

Wise County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. 

Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken.  

Wythe County: full season. 

-National forest lands and Big Survey WMA: the second 

Saturday and the last hunting day.  

York County: full season.  

B. Except as provided in the subsection A of this section, 

deer of either sex may be taken full season during the general 

firearms deer season within the incorporated limits of any city 

or town, state park, national wildlife refuge, or military 

installation that allows deer hunting.  

4VAC15-90-260. Hunting with dogs prohibited in certain 

counties and areas.  

A. Generally. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs in 

the counties of Amherst (west of Business U.S. 29 from the 

James River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the 

Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 

River), Bedford, Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern 

Railroad, and in the City of Lynchburg), Fairfax, Franklin, 

Henry, Loudoun, Nelson (west of Route 151), Northampton, 

Patrick and Pittsylvania (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad); 

and on the Amelia, Chester F. Phelps, G. Richard Thompson 

and Pettigrew Wildlife Management Areas, except that 

tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used.  

B. Special provision for Greene and Madison counties. It 

shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during the first 12 

hunting 14 days in the counties of Greene and Madison, 

except that tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the 

Code of Virginia may be used.  

4VAC15-90-293. Chronic Wasting Disease deer carcass 

movement restrictions.  

A. For the purposes of this section and in 4VAC15-40-285 

and 4VAC15-90-294: 

"Cervid" means any member of the deer family Cervidae, 

including but not limited to white-tailed deer, fallow deer, 

sika deer, elk, and reindeer. 

B. No person shall import or possess any carcass or part of a 

carcass of any member of the family Cervidae (deer) 

originating from an enclosure intended to confine deer or elk 

or from any area designated by the department as a carcass-

restriction zone in or adjacent to a state or Canadian province 

in which Chronic Wasting Disease has been found in free-

ranging or captive deer, except that the following carcass 

parts may be imported and possessed:  

1. Boned-out meat that is cut and wrapped;  

2. Quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the 

spinal column or skull attached;  

3. Hides or capes with no skull attached;  

4. Clean (no meat or tissue attached) skulls or skull plates 

with or without antlers attached;  

5. Antlers (with no meat or tissue attached);  

6. Upper canine teeth (buglers, whistlers, or ivories); and  

7. Finished taxidermy products.  

A legible label shall be affixed to packages or containers 

containing the allowed carcass parts bearing the following 

information: the species of animal, the state or province from 

where the animal originated, and the name and address of the 

person who killed or owned the animal.  

C. Any person who imports into Virginia any deer carcass or 

parts described in subsection A of this section and is notified 

that the animal has tested positive for Chronic Wasting 

Disease must report the test results to the department within 

72 hours of receiving the notification. In order to facilitate the 

proper disposal of any infected material, the department may 

take into possession any imported carcass or carcass part of 
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an animal if the animal has tested positive for Chronic 

Wasting Disease.  

D. No person shall transport any carcass or part of a carcass 

of any cervid out of any area designated by the department as 

a disease containment area, except that the carcass parts 

enumerated in subsection B of this section may be 

transported, and carcasses or parts may be transported directly 

to locations designated by the department, provided that such 

carcasses or parts are transported without unnecessary delay 

and secured within a vehicle or vehicles during transit. 

Provisions of this section shall not apply to employees of the 

department or another government agency working in an 

official disease investigation capacity. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4042; Filed July 9, 2014, 3:23 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-240. Game: Turkey 

(amending 4VAC15-240-10, 4VAC15-240-20, 4VAC15-

240-31, 4VAC15-240-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments incorporate hunting on Sundays into the 

turkey hunting seasons pursuant to legislation enacted in 

the 2014 Session of the General Assembly.  

4VAC15-240-10. Open season; generally.  

Except as otherwise specifically provided in the sections 

appearing in this chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt turkeys 

from the Saturday prior to the last Monday in October and for 

11 consecutive hunting 13 days following; on Thanksgiving 

Day; and on the Monday nearest December 2 through the last 

Saturday in December, both dates inclusive; and on the 

second Saturday in January and for 12 consecutive hunting 14 

days following. 

4VAC15-240-20. Open season; certain counties and areas; 

Saturday prior to the last Monday in October and for 11 

hunting 13 days following, and on Thanksgiving Day. 

It shall be lawful to hunt turkeys on the Saturday prior to the 

last Monday in October and for 11 consecutive hunting 13 

days following, and on Thanksgiving Day in the counties of 

Albemarle, Alleghany, Augusta, Bath, Greene, Highland, 

Madison, Page, Orange, Rockingham, and Warren. 

4VAC15-240-31. Open season; certain counties and areas; 

Saturday prior to the last Monday in October and for 11 

hunting 13 days following, on Thanksgiving Day, and on 

the Monday closest to December 2 and for 11 hunting 12 

days following. 

It shall be lawful to hunt turkeys on the Saturday prior to the 

last Monday in October and for 11 consecutive hunting 13 

days following, on Thanksgiving Day, and on the Monday 

closest to December 2 and for 11 hunting 12 days following 

in the counties of Accomack, Buchanan, Charles City, 

Gloucester, Isle of Wight, James City, King George, 

Lancaster, Mathews, Middlesex, New Kent, Northampton, 

Northumberland, Prince George, Richmond, Southampton, 

Surry, Sussex, Westmoreland, York (except on Camp Peary), 

and the City of Suffolk. 

4VAC15-240-40. Open season; spring season for bearded 

turkeys. 

A. Except as otherwise provided in this section, it shall be 

lawful to hunt bearded turkeys from the second Saturday in 

April and for 30 consecutive hunting 35 days following, both 

dates inclusive, from 1/2 hour before sunrise to 12:00 noon 

prevailing time during the first 19 hunting 23 days and from 

1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset during the last 12 hunting 13 

days of the spring season. 

B. Turkey hunters 15 years of age and under younger and 

holders of an apprentice hunting license may hunt on the first 

Saturday in April from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset, 

when in compliance with applicable license requirements and 

when accompanied and directly supervised by an adult who 

has a valid Virginia hunting license on his person or an adult 

that who is exempt from purchasing a hunting license. Adult 

hunters accompanying youth hunters or apprentice license 

holders on this day may assist with calling but they shall not 

carry or discharge weapons.  

C. Bearded turkeys may be hunted by calling. 

D. It shall be unlawful to use dogs or organized drives for 

the purpose of hunting. 

E. It shall be unlawful to use or have in possession any shot 

larger than number 2 fine shot when hunting turkeys with a 

shotgun. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4043; Filed July 9, 2014, 3:26 a.m.  

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-270. Pertaining to Crabbing 

(amending 4VAC20-270-30, 4VAC20-270-40, 4VAC20-

270-51, 4VAC20-270-55).  
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Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 

Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) establish lawful seasons for the 

commercial harvest of crabs by crab pot as March 17 

through November 30 and lawful seasons for the 

commercial harvest of crabs by all other commercial gear 

as March 17, 2014, through September 15, 2014, and May 

1, 2015, through November 30, 2015; (ii) make it unlawful 

to place, set, fish, or leave any hard crab pot in any tidal 

waters of Virginia from December 1, 2014, through March 

16, 2015, and to place, set, fish, or leave any lawful 

commercial gear used to harvest crabs, except any hard 

crab pot, in any tidal waters of Virginia from September 

16, 2014, through April 30, 2015; (iii) establish bushel and 

seasons limits by crab pot license category for July 5, 

2014, through November 15, 2014, and April 1, 2015, 

through July 4, 2015; (iv) establish bushel and seasons 

limits by crab pot license category for November 16, 2014, 

through November 30, 2014, and March 17, 2015, through 

March 31, 2015; (v) establish that from July 16 through 

November 30, it is unlawful for any person to harvest, 

possess, sell, or offer for sale more than 10 peeler crabs 

per bushel, or 5.0% of peeler crabs in any other container, 

that measure less than 3-1/2 inches across the shell from 

tip to tip of the longest spikes; and (vi) establish that from 

July 16 through November 30, it shall be unlawful for any 

person to harvest, possess, sell, or offer for sale more than 

10 peeler crabs per bushel, or 5.0% of peeler crabs in any 

other container, that are harvested from waters on the 

ocean side of Accomack and Northampton counties and 

measure less than 3-1/4 inches across the shell from tip to 

tip of the longest spikes.  

4VAC20-270-30. Daily time limits.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person licensed to catch and 

sell crabs taken by crab pot or peeler pot to take and harvest 

crabs from any crab pot or peeler pot, or to retrieve, bait, or 

set any crab pot or peeler pot, except during the lawful daily 

time periods described in subsections A, B, C, and D of this 

section. The lawful daily time periods for the commercial 

harvesting of crabs by crab pot or peeler pot shall be from 6 

a.m. to 2 p.m. from March 17 through April 30 in 2013 and 

2014, September 1 through December 15, 2013, and 

September 1 through November 30, 2014 during the lawful 

seasons, as described in 4VAC20-270-40 A, except as 

described in subsections B, C, and D of this section. The 

lawful daily time periods for the commercial harvesting of 

crabs by crab pot or peeler pot shall be from 5 a.m. to 1 p.m. 

during the months of May, June, July, and August in 2013 

and 2014, as described in 4VAC20-270-40 A, except as 

specified in subsections B, C, and D of this section. Crab pots 

or peeler pots already on board a boat at the end of the lawful 

daily time period, as defined in subsections A, B, and C of 

this section, may be set immediately following the end of 

lawful daily time period to one hour after the lawful daily 

time period ends.  

B. Any licensed crab pot or peeler pot fisherman who 

provides an opinion and supporting documentation from an 

attending physician to the commissioner of an existing 

medical condition that prevents him from adhering to the 

daily time limit established in subsection A of this section 

may be permitted by the commissioner or his designee to take 

and harvest crabs from his crab pot or peeler pot, or to 

retrieve, bait, or set his crab pot or peeler pot during an 

alternate eight-hour daily time limit. That alternative eight-

hour daily time limit will be prescribed by the commissioner 

or his designee in accordance with the medical condition that 

forms a basis for the exception to the daily time limit as 

described in subsection A of this section.  

Nothing in this regulation shall prohibit any licensed crab 

pot or peeler pot fisherman, who has been granted an 

exception to the eight-hour work schedule, on a medical 

basis, from using another licensed crab pot or peeler pot 

fisherman as a mate; provided, however, during the 

designated alternate work hours, only the crab pots or peeler 

pots of the fisherman receiving the exception shall be fished. 

Further, it shall be unlawful for the licensed crab fisherman, 

who has been granted an exception, or his mate, who is a 

licensed crab pot or peeler pot fisherman, to fish, set, retrieve, 

or bait, during the alternate work hours, any crab pot or peeler 

pot that is not owned and licensed by the fisherman granted 

the exception.  

C. Any licensed crab pot or peeler pot fisherman who 

requests and obtains an alternate eight-hour daily time limit 

permit shall be authorized to take and harvest crabs from his 

crab pot or peeler pot or to retrieve, bait, or set his crab pot or 

peeler pot one hour earlier than described in subsection A of 

this section, only for the months of June, July, August, and 

September. During the months of March, April, May, 

October, and November, and from December 1 through 

December 15, 2013, the lawful daily time period described in 

subsection A of this section applies to any crab pot or peeler 

pot licensee. The alternate lawful daily time periods for the 

commercial harvesting of crabs by crab pot or peeler pot shall 

be from 4 a.m. to 12 noon from June 1 through August 31 and 

from 5 a.m. to 1 p.m. from September 1 through September 

30. Individuals must apply for this permit on an annual basis 

and shall adhere to the alternate daily time limit from the day 

the permit is issued through September 30, as well as 

subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this subsection. 

1. It shall be unlawful for two or more licensed crab pot or 

peeler pot fishermen, or their agents, to crab aboard the 
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same vessel if their authorized eight-hour daily time limits 

are not identical. 

2. After January 1, 2012, requests for an alternate eight-

hour time limit permit shall be submitted to the Marine 

Resources Commission annually and prior to May 15. 

Requests submitted on or after May 15 will not be 

considered. 

3. Once any legal crab pot or peeler pot licensee obtains an 

alternate eight-hour daily time limit permit, that permittee 

shall be legally bound by the alternate eight-hour daily 

time limit as described in this subsection. 

D. The lawful daily time periods for the commercial harvest 

of crabs by crab pot or peeler pot may be rescinded by the 

Commissioner of Marine Resources when he determines that 

a pending weather event is sufficient cause for the removal of 

crab pots from the tidal waters of the Commonwealth.  

4VAC20-270-40. Season limits.  

A. The In 2014 and 2015, the lawful seasons for the 

commercial harvest of male crabs by crab pot shall be March 

17 through December 15, 2013, and March 17 through 

November 30, 2014. The For all other lawful commercial 

gear used to harvest crabs, as described in 4VAC20-1040, the 

lawful seasons for the harvest of female crabs shall be March 

17 through December 15, 2013, and March 17 through 

November 30, 2014 September 15 in 2014 and May 1 

through November 30 in 2015. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest crabs or to 

possess crabs on board a vessel, except during the lawful 

season, as described in subsection A of this section. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, 

set, fish or leave any hard crab pot or peeler crab pot in any 

tidal waters of Virginia from December 16, 2013 1, 2014, 

through March 16, 2014 2015. It shall be unlawful for any 

person knowingly to place, set, fish, or leave any lawful 

commercial gear used to harvest crabs, except any hard crab 

pot, in any tidal waters of Virginia from September 16, 2014, 

through April 30, 2015. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, 

set, fish or leave any fish pot in any tidal waters from March 

11 through March 16, 2014, except as provided in 

subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection.  

1. It shall be lawful for any person to place, set, or fish any 

fish pot in those Virginia waters located upriver of the 

following boundary lines:  

a. In the James River the boundary shall be a line 

connecting Hog Point and the downstream point at the 

mouth of College Creek.  

b. In the York River the boundary lines shall be the 

Route 33 bridges at West Point.  

c. In the Rappahannock River the boundary line shall be 

the Route 360 bridge at Tappahannock.  

d. In the Potomac River the boundary line shall be the 

Route 301 bridge that extends from Newberg, Maryland 

to Dahlgren, Virginia. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to lawful eel pots as 

described in 4VAC20-500-50.  

4VAC20-270-51. Daily commercial harvester, vessel, and 

harvest and possession limits. 

A. Any barrel used by a harvester to contain or possess any 

amount of crabs will be equivalent in volume to no more than 

3 bushels of crabs. 

B. From March 16, 2013, through November 30, 2013, any 

Commercial Fisherman Registration Licensee legally licensed 

for any crab pot license, as described in 4VAC20-270-50 B, 

shall be limited to the following maximum daily harvest and 

possession limits, for any of the following crab pot license 

categories: 

1. 27 bushels, or 9 barrels, of crabs, if licensed for up to 85 

crab pots. 

2. 32 bushels, or 10 barrels and 2 bushels, of crabs, if 

licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 38 bushels, or 12 barrels and 2 bushels, of crabs, if 

licensed for up to 170 crab pots. 

4. 45 bushels, or 15 barrels, of crabs, if licensed for up to 

255 crab pots. 

5. 55 bushels, or 18 barrels and 1 bushel, of crabs, if 

licensed for up to 425 crab pots. 

C. B. From December 1 through December 15, 2013, and 

March 17 July 5, 2014, through November 30, 2014 

November 15, 2014, and April 1, 2015, through July 4, 2015, 

any Commercial Fisherman Registration Licensee legally 

licensed for any crab pot license, as described in 4VAC20-

270-50 B, shall be limited to the following maximum daily 

harvest and possession limits, for any of the following crab 

pot license categories: 

1. 16 10 bushels, or 5 3 barrels and 1 bushel, of crabs, if 

licensed for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 21 14 bushels, or 7 4 barrels and 2 bushels, of crabs, if 

licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 27 18 bushels, or 9 6 barrels, of crabs, if licensed for up 

to 170 crab pots. 

4. 43 29 bushels, or 14 9 barrels and 1 bushel 2 bushels, of 

crabs, if licensed for up to 255 crab pots. 

5. 55 47 bushels, or 18 15 barrels and 1 bushel 2 bushels, 

of crabs, if licensed for up to 425 crab pots. 

C. From November 16, 2014, through November 30, 2014, 

and March 17, 2015, through March 31, 2015, any 

Commercial Fisherman Registration Licensee legally licensed 

for any crab pot license, as described in 4VAC20-270-50 B, 

shall be limited to the following maximum daily harvest and 

possession limits, for any of the following crab pot license 

categories: 
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1. 8 bushels, or 2 barrels and 2 bushels, of crabs, if licensed 

for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 10 bushels, or 3 barrels and 1 bushel, of crabs, if 

licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 13 bushels, or 4 barrels and 1 bushel, of crabs, if 

licensed for up to 170 crab pots. 

4. 21 bushels, or 7 barrels of crabs, if licensed for up to 255 

crab pots. 

5. 27 bushels, or 9 barrels of crabs, if licensed for up to 425 

crab pots. 

D. When a single harvester or multiple harvesters are on 

board any vessel, that vessel's daily harvest and possession 

limit shall be equal to only one daily harvest and possession 

limit, as described in subsections B and C of this section, and 

that daily limit shall correspond to the highest harvest and 

possession limit of only one licensee on board that vessel. 

E. When transporting or selling one or more legal crab pot 

licensee's crab harvest in bushels or barrels, any agent shall 

possess either the crab pot license of that one or more crab 

pot licensees or a bill of lading indicating each crab pot 

licensee's name, address, Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License number, date, and amount of bushels or barrels of 

crabs to be sold. 

F. If any police officer finds crabs in excess of any lawful 

daily bushel, barrel, or vessel limit, as described in this 

section, that excess quantity of crabs shall be returned 

immediately to the water by the licensee or licensees who 

possess that excess over lawful daily harvest or possession 

limit. The refusal to return crabs, in excess of any lawful daily 

harvest or possession limit, to the water shall constitute a 

separate violation of this chapter. 

4VAC20-270-55. Minimum size limits.  

A. From March 16 through July 15, it shall be unlawful for 

any person to harvest, possess, sell or offer for sale more than 

10 peeler crabs, per United States standard bushel, or 5.0% of 

peeler crabs in any other container, that measure less than 3-

1/4 inches across the shell from tip to tip of the longest 

spikes. From July 16 through December 15, 2013, and July 

16 through November 30, 2014, it shall be unlawful for any 

person to harvest, possess, sell or offer for sale more than 10 

peeler crabs, per United States standard bushel, or 5.0% of 

peeler crabs in any other container, that measure less than 3-

1/2 inches across the shell from tip to tip of the longest 

spikes, except as described in subsections B and C of this 

section. 

B. From July 16 through December 15, 2013, and July 16 

through November 30, 2014, it shall be unlawful for any 

person to harvest, possess, sell or offer for sale more than 10 

peeler crabs, per United States standard bushel, or 5.0% of 

peeler crabs in any other container, that are harvested from 

waters on the ocean side of Accomack and Northampton 

counties and measure less than 3-1/4 inches across the shell 

from tip to tip of the longest spikes, except as described in 

subsection C of this section.  

C. In the enforcement of these peeler crab minimum size 

limits aboard a vessel, the marine police officer shall select a 

single container of peeler crabs of his choosing to determine 

if the contents of that container violate the minimum size and 

tolerance described in this section. If the officer determines 

the contents of the container are in violation, then the officer 

shall return all peeler crabs on board the vessel to the water 

alive. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, harvest, 

possess, sell or offer for sale, or to destroy in any manner, any 

soft crab that measures less than 3-1/2 inches across the shell 

from tip to tip of the longest spikes.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4078; Filed June 27, 2014, 2:30 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-910. Pertaining to Scup 

(Porgy) (amending 4VAC20-910-45).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 

Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments lower the recreational possession limit 

for scup to 30 fish per person.  

4VAC20-910-45. Possession limits and harvest quotas. 

A. During the period January 1 through April 30 of each 

year, it shall be unlawful for any person to do any of the 

following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia more than 50,000 

pounds of scup. 

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 50,000 pounds of 

scup during each consecutive seven-day landing period, 

with the first seven-day period beginning on January 1. 

B. When it is projected and announced that 80% of the 

coastwide quota for this period has been attained, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to possess aboard any vessel or to 

land in Virginia more than a total of 1,000 pounds of scup. 

C. During the period November 1 through December 31 of 

each year, it shall be unlawful for any person to possess 

aboard any vessel or to land in Virginia more than 8,000 

pounds of scup. 

D. During the period May 1 through October 31 of each 

year, the commercial harvest and landing of scup in Virginia 

shall be limited to 14,105 pounds. 

E. For each of the time periods set forth in this section, the 

Marine Resources Commission will give timely notice to the 

industry of calculated poundage possession limits and quotas 
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and any adjustments thereto. It shall be unlawful for any 

person to possess or to land any scup for commercial 

purposes after any winter period coastwide quota or summer 

period Virginia quota has been attained and announced as 

such. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive 

any scup after any commercial harvest or landing quota has 

been attained and announced as such. 

G. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with hook and 

line, rod and reel, spear, gig, or other recreational gear to 

possess more than 50 30 scup. When fishing is from a boat or 

vessel where the entire catch is held in a common hold or 

container, the possession limit shall be for the boat or vessel 

and shall be equal to the number of persons on board legally 

eligible to fish multiplied by 50 30. The captain or operator of 

the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any boat or vessel 

possession limit. Any scup taken after the possession limit 

has been reached shall be returned to the water immediately. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4079; Filed June 30, 2014, 8:18 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1140. Prohibition of Crab 

Dredging in Virginia Waters (amending 4VAC20-1140-

20).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Jane Warren, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Marine Resources Commission, 2600 

Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

betty.warren@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment closes the crab dredging season from 

December 1, 2014, through March 31, 2015.  

4VAC20-1140-20. Crab dredging prohibited. 

In accordance with the provisions of § 28.2-707 of the Code 

of Virginia, the crab dredging season of December 1, 2012 

2014, through March 31, 2013 2015, is closed, and it shall be 

unlawful to use a dredge for catching crabs from the waters of 

the Commonwealth during that season. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4091; Filed June 30, 2014, 8:33 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Criminal Justice Services 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 

or the appropriation act where no agency discretion is 

involved. The Criminal Justice Services Board will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 

any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-171. Regulations Relating to 

Private Security Services (amending 6VAC20-171-20, 

6VAC20-171-300, 6VAC20-171-445, 6VAC20-171-450, 

6VAC20-171-470).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 27, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Lisa McGee, Regulatory Manager, 

Department of Criminal Justice Services, 1100 Bank Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2419, FAX (804) 

786-6344, or email lisa.mcgee@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform to changes in the Code of 

Virginia by Chapter 32 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly. 

Specifically, the amendments provide that the Department 

of Criminal Justice Services may grant a full exemption 

from compulsory training for certain persons employed by 

private security services businesses if such persons have 

already received training that meets or exceeds the 

minimum standards approved by the department. 

Currently, the department may only grant a partial 

exemption from compulsory training.  

Part II  

Application Fees  

6VAC20-171-20. Fees.  

A. Schedule of fees. The fees listed below reflect the costs 

of handling, issuance, and production associated with 

administering and processing applications for licensing, 

registration, certification and other administrative requests for 

services relating to private security services.  

CATEGORIES FEES 

CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORDS CHECK  

Fingerprint Processing Application $50 

Initial business license  

1 Year License $550 
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2 Year License $800 

Business license renewal (2 Year License) $500 

Business license category fee $50 

CERTIFICATIONS   

Initial compliance agent certification  $50 

Compliance agent certification renewal  $25 

Initial training school $800 

Training school renewal $500 

Training school category fee $50 

Initial instructor certification $50 

Instructor certification renewal $25 

Instructor certification category fee $10 

Initial Detector Canine Handler Examiner 

certification 

$50 

Detector Canine Handler Examiner 

Certification renewal 

$25 

REGISTRATION   

Initial registration $25 

Registration renewal $20 

Additional registration category form $20 

Replacement registration card  $20 

TRAINING RELATED   

Firearm Endorsement $10 

Entry-level partial-training training exemption $25 

In Service Training Alternative Credit 

Evaluation 

$25 

Regulatory Compliance entry-level training $75 

Regulatory Compliance In-service training $50 

Training completion roster form $30 

B. Reinstatement fee.  

1. The department shall collect a reinstatement fee for 

registration, license, or certification renewal applications 

not received on or before the expiration date of the 

expiring registration, license, or certification pursuant to 

6VAC20-171-180. 

2. The reinstatement fee shall be 50% above and beyond 

the renewal fee of the registration, license, certification, or 

any other credential issued by the department wherein a fee 

is established and renewal is required. 

C. Dishonor of fee payment due to insufficient funds. 

1. The department may suspend the registration, license, 

certification, or authority it has granted any person who 

submits a check or similar instrument for payment of a fee 

required by statute or regulation which that is not honored 

by the financial institution upon which the check or similar 

instrument is drawn. 

2. The suspension shall become effective upon receipt of 

written notice of the dishonored payment. Upon 

notification of the suspension, the person, registrant or 

licensee may request that the suspended registration, 

license, certification, or authority be reinstated, provided 

payment of the dishonored amount plus any penalties or 

fees required under the statute or regulation accompanies 

the request. Suspension under this provision shall be 

exempt from the Administrative Process Act. 

D. Manual processing service fee. The department shall 

collect a $5.00 service fee for any applications under this 

chapter that are submitted to the department by other means 

than the available electronic methods established by the 

department. 

6VAC20-171-300. Private security services training 

session. 

A. Training sessions will be conducted in accordance with 

requirements established in this chapter. Adherence to the 

administrative requirements, attendance and standards of 

conduct are the responsibility of the training school, training 

school director and instructor of the training session.  

B. Administrative requirements.  

1. In a manner approved by the department, a notification 

to conduct a training session shall be submitted to the 

department. All notifications shall be received by the 

department, or postmarked if mailed, no less than seven 

calendar days prior to the beginning of each training 

session to include the date, time, instructors and location of 

the training session. The department may allow a session to 

be conducted with less than seven calendar days of 

notification with prior approval. Session notifications 

require no fee from the training school. A notification to 

conduct a training session shall be deemed to be in 

compliance unless the training school director is notified 

by the department to the contrary. 

2. Notification of any changes to the dates, times, location 

or cancellation of a future training session must be 

submitted to the department in writing and received by the 

department at least 24 hours in advance of the scheduled 

starting time of the class. In the event that a session must 

be cancelled on the scheduled date, the department must be 

notified immediately followed by a cancellation in writing 

as soon as practical. 

3. Course outline and training objectives must be approved 

by the department prior to offering a course of instruction 

for enrollment. 
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4. The training school director shall issue an original 

training completion form provided by the department to 

each student who satisfactorily completes a training 

session no later than five business days following the 

training completion date.  

5. In a manner approved by the department, the training 

school director shall submit an original training completion 

roster to the department affirming each student's successful 

completion of the session. The training completion roster 

shall be received by the department within seven calendar 

days, or postmarked if mailed, no later than five business 

days following the training completion date and must be 

accompanied by the applicable, nonrefundable processing 

fee. 

6. A written examination shall be administered at the 

conclusion of each entry level training session. The 

examination shall be based on the applicable learning 

objectives. The student must attain a minimum grade of 

70% for all entry-level training examinations and pass any 

applicable practical exercises, to satisfactorily complete the 

training session.  

7. Firearms classroom training shall be separately tested 

and graded. Individuals must achieve a minimum score of 

70% on the firearms classroom training examination.  

8. Failure to achieve a minimum score of 70% on the 

firearms classroom written examination will exclude the 

individual from the firearms range training.  

9. To successfully complete the handgun or shotgun 

firearms range training, the individual must achieve a 

minimum qualification score of 75% of the scoring value 

of the target.  

10. To successfully complete the advanced firearms range 

training, the individual must achieve a minimum 

qualification score of 92% of the scoring value of the 

target. 

11. To successfully complete the patrol rifle firearms range 

training, the individual must achieve a minimum 

qualification score of 85% of the scoring value of the 

target. 

C. Attendance.  

1. Private security services business personnel enrolled in 

an approved training session are required to be present for 

the hours required for each training session unless they 

have been granted a partial an exemption to training from 

the department.  

2. Tardiness and absenteeism will not be permitted. 

Individuals violating these provisions will be required to 

make up any training missed. All training must be 

completed within the 12 months prior to application of a 

registration or certification. Individuals not completing the 

required training within this period are required to 

complete the entire training session.  

3. Individuals who do not successfully complete the 

compulsory minimum training standards of the training 

session shall not be issued a training completion form or 

training certificate.  

4. Each individual attending an approved training session 

shall comply with the regulations promulgated by the 

board and any other rules within the authority of the 

training school. If the training school director or instructor 

considers a violation of the rules detrimental to the training 

of other students or to involve cheating on examinations, 

the training school director or instructor may expel the 

individual from the school. Notification of such action 

shall immediately be reported to the employing firms and 

the department.  

D. Standards of conduct.  

1. The training school, training school director and 

instructor shall at all times conform to the application 

requirements, administrative requirements and standards of 

conduct established for certification as a training school 

and instructor.  

2. Training sessions will be conducted by certified 

instructors or other individuals authorized to provide 

instruction pursuant to this chapter and each of whom must 

be present for all periods of instruction unless otherwise 

authorized by the department.  

3. Training sessions will be conducted utilizing lesson 

plans developed including at a minimum the compulsory 

minimum training standards established pursuant to this 

chapter.  

4. Instruction shall be provided in no less than 50-minute 

classes.  

5. Training sessions shall not exceed nine hours of 

classroom instruction per day. Range qualification and 

practical exercises shall not be considered classroom 

instruction; however, total training, including the 

maximum allotment of nine hours classroom instruction 

and applicable range qualification and practical exercises, 

shall not exceed 12 hours per day. This does not include 

time allotted for breaks, meals and testing.  

6. All audio-visual training aids must be accompanied by a 

period of instruction where the instructor reviews the 

content of the presentation and the students are provided 

the opportunity to ask questions regarding the content.  

7. A training session must adhere to the minimum 

compulsory training standards and must be presented in its 

entirety. Training school directors may require additional 

hours of instruction, testing or evaluation procedures.  

8. A training session must provide accurate and current 

information to the students.  

9. Mandated training that is not conducted in accordance 

with the Code of Virginia and this chapter is null and void.  
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10. A duplicate set of instructor course materials, including 

all student materials, shall be made available to any 

department inspector during the training session, if 

requested.  

11. Certifiable in-service training may include a maximum 

of one hour of instruction dedicated to the review of 

regulations unless otherwise authorized by the department. 

12. Live ammunition, pyrotechnics, and explosives are not 

to be utilized or present in any firearms training 

environment except on a firing range approved by the 

department. 

Article 3 

Training Exemptions  

6VAC20-171-445. Training exemptions.  

Persons who meet the statutory requirements as set forth in 

§ 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia may apply for a partial an 

exemption from the compulsory training standards. 

Individuals requesting such partial exemption shall file an 

application furnished by the department and include the 

applicable, nonrefundable application fee. The department 

may issue such partial exemption on the basis of individual 

qualifications as supported by required documentation. Those 

applying for and receiving exemptions must comply with all 

regulations promulgated by the board. Each person receiving 

a partial an exemption for entry-level training must apply to 

the department for registration within 12 months from the 

date of issuance, otherwise the partial exemption shall 

become null and void.  

6VAC20-171-450. Entry level training exemption.  

A. Persons previously employed as law-enforcement 

officers who have not terminated or been terminated from 

said employment more than five years prior to the application 

date must submit official documentation of the following with 

the application for partial exemption:  

1. Completion of law-enforcement entry level training; and  

2. Five continuous years of law-enforcement employment 

provided such employment as a law-enforcement officer 

was not terminated due to misconduct or incompetence.  

B. Persons having previous training or employment in any 

of the classifications defined in § 9.1-138 of the Code of 

Virginia must submit official documentation of the following 

with the application for partial exemption:  

1. Completion of previous private security training, which 

has been approved by the department and which meets or 

exceeds the compulsory minimum training standards 

promulgated by the board; or  

2. Five years continuous employment in the category for 

which partial exemption is sought, provided such 

employment was not terminated due to misconduct or 

incompetence and such employment ended within five 

years of the date of application.  

6VAC20-171-470. Prior firearms training exemption.  

Persons having previous department-approved firearms 

training may be authorized credit for such training which that 

meets or exceeds the compulsory minimum training standards 

for private security services business personnel, provided 

such training has been completed within the 12 months 

preceding the date of application. Official documentation of 

the following must accompany the application for partial 

training credit:  

1. Completion of department-approved firearms training; 

and  

2. Qualification at a Virginia criminal justice agency, 

academy or correctional department.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4090; Filed June 26, 2014, 3:20 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Waste Management 

Board is claiming an exclusion from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 

where no agency discretion is involved. The Virginia Waste 

Management Board will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-60. Virginia Hazardous 

Waste Management Regulations (amending 9VAC20-60-

262, 9VAC20-60-315, 9VAC20-60-420, 9VAC20-60-440, 

9VAC20-60-480, 9VAC20-60-490, 9VAC20-60-1260, 

9VAC20-60-1270, 9VAC20-60-1283, 9VAC20-60-1285; 

repealing 9VAC20-60-450).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 6921 et seq.; 40 CFR Parts 260 through 272. 

Effective Date: August 27, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX (804) 

698-4346, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action conforms the regulation to changes in the Code 

of Virginia enacted by Chapter 139 of the 2014 Acts of 

Assembly. The amendments remove the requirement that 

hazardous waste transporters obtain a hazardous waste 

transporter permit from the Commonwealth of Virginia; 

clarify that a federal Environmental Protection Agency 

identification number, obtained either from the EPA or 
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authorized state, is required; and make other associated 

changes. 

9VAC20-60-262. Adoption of 40 CFR Part 262 by 

reference.  

A. Except as otherwise provided, the regulations of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency set forth in 

40 CFR Part 262 are hereby incorporated as part of the 

Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations. Except 

as otherwise provided, all material definitions, reference 

materials and other ancillaries that are a part of 40 CFR Part 

262 are also hereby incorporated as part of the Virginia 

Hazardous Waste Management Regulations.  

B. In all locations in these regulations where 40 CFR Part 

262 is incorporated by reference, the following additions, 

modifications and exceptions shall amend the incorporated 

text for the purpose of its incorporation into these regulations:  

1. In 40 CFR 262.42(a)(2), the words "for the Region in 

which the generator is located" is deleted from the 

incorporated text and is not a part of these regulations.  

2. In 40 CFR 262.12, 40 CFR 262.53, 40 CFR 262.54, 

40 CFR 262.55, 40 CFR 262.56 and 40 CFR 262.57, the 

term "Administrator" shall mean the administrator of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency or his 

designee.  

3. In 40 CFR 262.12, 40 CFR 262.53, 40 CFR 262.54, 

40 CFR 262.55, 40 CFR 262.56 and 40 CFR 262.57, the 

term "Regional Administrator" shall mean the regional 

administrator of Region III of the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency or his designee.  

4. For accumulation areas established before March 1, 

1988, a generator who is not otherwise exempted by 40 

CFR 261.5 shall notify the department of each location 

where he accumulates hazardous waste in accordance with 

40 CFR 262.34 by March 1, 1988. For accumulation areas 

established after March 1, 1988, he shall notify the 

department and document in the operating record that he 

intends to accumulate hazardous waste in accordance with 

40 CFR 262.34 prior to or immediately upon the 

establishment of each accumulation area. In the case of a 

new generator who creates such accumulation areas after 

March 1, 1988, he shall notify the department at the time 

the generator files the Notification of Hazardous Waste 

Activity that he intends to accumulate hazardous waste in 

accordance with 40 CFR 262.34. This notification shall 

specify the exact location of the accumulation area at the 

site.  

5. In addition to the requirements in 40 CFR Part 262, 

management of hazardous wastes is required to comply 

with the Regulations Governing the Transportation of 

Hazardous Materials (9VAC20-110), including packaging 

and labeling for transport.  

6. A generator shall not offer his hazardous waste to a 

transporter that has not received an EPA identification 

number or to a facility that has not received a permit and 

an EPA identification number.  

7. In 40 CFR Part 262, Subpart H, the terms "EPA" and 

"Environmental Protection Agency" shall mean the United 

States Environmental Protection Agency.  

8. In addition to the requirements of this section, large 

quantity generators are required to pay an annual fee. The 

fee schedule and fee regulations are contained in Part XII 

(9VAC20-60-1260 through 9VAC20-60-1285) of this 

chapter.  

9VAC20-60-315. Notification.  

A. Any person that notified the EPA of hazardous waste 

management activities as referenced in 9VAC20-60-305 B 

shall provide a copy of that notification to the department.  

B. Any person involved in hazardous waste management 

activities that did not comply with the notification 

requirements of the EPA as referenced in 9VAC20-60-305 B 

but is subject to those requirements shall notify the 

department in writing of their hazardous waste management 

activities by the effective date of this chapter. Notification 

shall be accomplished by the use of EPA Form 8700-12.  

C. Any person who initiated a hazardous waste management 

activity subsequent to the preliminary notification period of 

42 USC § 6930 but prior to the effective date of this chapter 

shall notify the department of the initiation of such activities 

by the effective date of this chapter. Notification shall be 

accomplished by the use of EPA Form 8700-12.  

D. Anyone who becomes a large quantity generator shall 

notify the department in writing immediately of this change 

in status and document the change in the operating record. 

Any large quantity generator who ceases to be a large 

quantity generator shall notify the department in writing 

immediately of this change in status and document the change 

in the operating record.  

E. Transporters shall provide only one notification form for 

all transportation activities.  

F. One notification form is required for each generator site.  

G. A notification form is required for each storage, 

treatment, disposal, or other facility. However, if one 

geographic site includes more than one storage, treatment or 

disposal activity, only one notification form for the entire 

facility site is required.  

H. New generators, transporters, treaters, storers, and 

disposers (those initiating activities subsequent to the 

assumption of the hazardous waste management program by 

the Commonwealth) shall comply with the requirements of 

9VAC20-60-262, 9VAC20-60-263, and 9VAC20-60-264, as 

applicable, to obtain an EPA identification number from the 

administrator or the department.  
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Part VII  

Regulations Applicable to Transporters of Hazardous Waste  

9VAC20-60-420. General.  

A. This chapter applies to all persons who transport a 

hazardous waste as defined in this chapter and applies to all 

shipments of hazardous waste that originate within the 

Commonwealth or that terminate in the Commonwealth but 

originate in another state or foreign country. However, this 

chapter does not apply to the shipment of a hazardous waste 

on the site of a hazardous waste generator, nor on the site of a 

permitted hazardous waste management facility. Nothing in 

this part (9VAC20-60-420 et seq.) shall be construed as 

imposing any requirement on transporters of or the 

transportation of universal waste not otherwise imposed in 

9VAC20-60-273.  

B. Transporters of hazardous waste shipments originating 

outside the Commonwealth and terminating in another state 

shall comply with 9VAC20-60-490 and applicable 

requirements of 9VAC20-60-263 while in transit through the 

Commonwealth.  

C. All transporters of hazardous waste shall comply with the 

applicable portions of the Regulations Governing the 

Transportation of Hazardous Materials (9VAC20-110) and 

Parts III (9VAC20-60-124 et seq.), IV (9VAC20-60-305 et 

seq.), and VII (9VAC20-60-420 et seq.) of this chapter.  

D. A transporter is a generator if he:  

1. Transports hazardous waste into the Commonwealth 

from a foreign country; or  

2. Mixes hazardous wastes of different shipping 

descriptions specified in Regulations Governing the 

Transportation of Hazardous Materials by placing them 

into a single container.  

E. All transporters of hazardous waste shipments originating 

or terminating or both in the Commonwealth are required to 

obtain a permit from the director in accordance with 

9VAC20-60-450.  

F. E. Transporters of materials that are used in a manner that 

constitutes disposal are subject to the requirements of Parts 

III, IV, and VII.  

G. F. Transporters of hazardous waste fuel are subject to the 

applicable requirements of 9VAC20-60-266.  

9VAC20-60-440. Identification number.  

A. All persons who transport hazardous waste within, out of 

or into the Commonwealth shall apply for and receive from 

the department an EPA identification number prior to such 

transport.  

B. An EPA identification number shall be obtained from the 

department EPA or authorized state by submitting an 

application on EPA Form 8700-12.  

C. The EPA identification number issued to the transporter 

shall be included at all times on:  

1. All correspondence related to the transport of hazardous 

waste and shall be displayed in the format as follows:; 

Hazardous Waste Transporter ID Number 

______________ ; 

Virginia Hazardous Waste Transporter Permit Number 

______________;  

2. The manifest provided by the generator of a hazardous 

waste and utilized in the transport of hazardous waste; and  

3. All documents related to the reporting of a discharge or 

accident.  

D. The EPA identification number and permit number shall 

remain unique to the applicant as long as the applicant 

continues to do business as a transporter of hazardous waste 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The EPA identification 

number may not be transferred without the approval of EPA 

or an authorized state. The permit number may not be 

transferred without the approval of the director.  

E. Provisional EPA identification number. If an emergency 

or other unusual incident occurs which that causes a necessity 

for the rapid transport of a hazardous waste to an authorized 

HWM facility, the transporter involved in such a 

circumstance can telephone the Department of Environmental 

Quality (804-698-4000) and obtain a provisional EPA 

identification number. Applicants receiving such a number 

will be mailed a blank EPA Form 8700-12, which shall be 

completed and returned to the department within 10 calendar 

days.  

9VAC20-60-450. Transporter permit. (Repealed.)  

A. This chapter applies to all persons who transport a 

hazardous waste, except as otherwise provided in Part VII 

(9VAC20-60-420 et seq.) of this chapter.  

B. The transporter permit required under 9VAC20-60-450 

applies only to those transporters who transport hazardous 

waste shipments which originate or terminate or both in the 

Commonwealth. Transporters who transport hazardous waste 

only through the Commonwealth are not required to obtain a 

transporter permit.  

C. Permit issuance. Upon receipt of a complete application, 

Form 7.1, accompanied by the appropriate permit application 

fee as specified in Part XII (9VAC20-60-1260 et seq.) of this 

chapter, the director shall either:  

1. Issue a permit, provided conditions of 9VAC20-60-440 

are met; or  

2. Deny the permit when it can be demonstrated that the 

transporter has violated regulations of the Commonwealth, 

another state or the federal government, so as to pose 

substantial present or potential hazard to health or 

environment. The procedure for denying a permit shall be 

consistent with the Virginia Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  
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D. The term of the transporter permit shall be 10 years. A 

permit shall remain in effect until one or more of the 

following conditions are met:  

1. The transporter ceases business operation;  

2. The transporter requests, in writing, that the permit be 

terminated;  

3. The permit is revoked;  

4. The director determines that an emergency exists and 

that summary termination of a permit is necessary to 

prevent the creation or continuance, or both, of an 

immediate and present threat to human health or critical 

damage to the environment;  

5. Upon the expiration date of the permit, unless 

reapplication for a new permit has been received by the 

department 30 days prior to such date.  

E. Revocation of permit.  

1. Revocation for cause. The director may revoke a 

transporter's permit when it can be demonstrated that a 

transporter has violated this chapter so as to pose 

substantial present or potential hazard to health or 

environment. The procedure for revoking a permit shall be 

consistent with the Administrative Process Act of the 

Commonwealth.  

2. Revocation and reissuance. Whenever the transporter 

changes his corporate name, ownership or the EPA 

identification number, he shall notify the director within 30 

days of such a change. Upon receiving such a notification 

the department will revoke the old permit and reissue it 

reflecting the appropriate changes. The reissued permit will 

remain valid for the unexpired duration of the revoked 

permit.  

3. Within 30 days of the receipt of the notice of revocation, 

the original copy of the permit shall be returned to the 

department.  

F. The transporter permit number shall appear at all times 

on:  

1. All correspondence to the Commonwealth;  

2. All documents related to the reporting of a discharge or 

accident.  

G. Temporary transporter permit. If a provisional 

identification number is issued by the department pursuant to 

the provisions of 9VAC20-60-440 E the applicant may obtain 

a temporary transporter permit by calling the department at 

804-698-4000. The permit will be valid only for the duration 

of the activity that required the provisional EPA identification 

number. The applicant shall submit a permit application 

conforming with 9VAC20-60-450 C within 10 calendar days.  

H. Emergency transporter permit. In the event of a 

determination by the Commonwealth that circumstances 

dictate expedient action to protect human health and 

environmental quality, provisions of 9VAC20-60-260, 

9VAC20-60-262, and Part VII of this chapter may be waived 

by the director or his designee. Such waiver will be 

considered as an emergency transporter permit valid for the 

duration of an emergency only.  

9VAC20-60-480. Acceptance, shipment and delivery of 

hazardous waste.  

A. A transporter shall not accept for shipment any hazardous 

waste for transport without determining that requirements of 

9VAC20-60-263 have been complied with.  

B. If a manifest is required by 9VAC20-60-263, the 

generator shall sign and date the manifest and release the 

hazardous waste shipment to the transporter.  

C. The transporter who is subject to 9VAC20-60-480 B shall 

sign and date the manifest and accept the hazardous waste for 

shipment.  

D. The transporter shall not accept any hazardous waste for 

shipment unless the generator has met all applicable labeling, 

container and packaging requirements of this chapter.  

E. If the transporter ships the hazardous waste to a 

treatment, storage or disposal facility or transfers the 

hazardous waste to another transporter, such acts shall be in 

accordance with the following:  

1. The receiving treatment, storage or disposal facility or 

transporter shall have an EPA identification number issued 

by the EPA or authorized state;  

2. The manifest shall be signed over to the receiving 

treatment, storage or disposal facility or transporter with 

the prior transporter retaining a copy of the manifest.  

F. The transporter shall maintain the labeling required by the 

Regulations Governing the Transportation of Hazardous 

Materials (9VAC20-110) during the shipment of the 

hazardous waste.  

G. 1. The transporter shall deliver the entire quantity of 

hazardous waste that he accepted for shipment from a 

generator or a previous transporter to:  

a. The designated facility listed on the manifest;  

b. The next designated transporter; or  

c. The place outside the United States designated by the 

generator.  

2. If the hazardous waste shipment cannot be delivered in 

accordance with 9VAC20-60-480 G 1, the transporter must 

contact the generator for further directions concerning an 

alternate facility for delivery and must revise the manifest 

according to the generator's instructions.  

H. If the hazardous waste shipment will terminate within the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, the transporter shall deliver the 

shipment to a storage, treatment, disposal, or other facility 

permitted by the Commonwealth of Virginia under the 

provisions of this chapter or a facility permitted by the EPA 

or which qualifies for interim status.  

I. If the shipment of hazardous waste is transported out of 

the Commonwealth, the transporter shall deliver the shipment 
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to a designated facility permitted by that state under an 

approved program or by EPA or which qualifies for interim 

status in the opinion of the applicable aforementioned 

authority.  

J. If the shipment of hazardous waste is shipped out of the 

United States, the transporter shall handle the manifest in 

accordance with 9VAC20-60-263.  

K. If the transporter mixes hazardous wastes of different 

shipping descriptions specified in Regulations Governing the 

Transportation of Hazardous Materials by placing them into a 

single container, such transporter shall also comply with 

9VAC20-60-262.  

L. All transporters shipping a hazardous waste to a 

destination within the Commonwealth from another state 

shall comply with all provisions of this chapter including 

obtaining a transporter permit from the director and an EPA 

identification number from the EPA or authorized state. 

M. A transporter that imports a hazardous waste from a 

foreign country into the Commonwealth shall comply with 

the provisions of 9VAC20-60-262 and shall obtain a 

transporter permit from the director and obtain an ID EPA 

identification number from the EPA or authorized state. 

9VAC20-60-490. Discharges.  

A. The transporter shall comply with all federal and 

Commonwealth requirements relative to discharges.  

B. 1. In the event of a discharge or spill of hazardous wastes, 

the transporter shall take appropriate emergency actions to 

protect human life, health, and the environment and shall 

notify appropriate local authorities. Upon arrival on the scene 

of state or local emergency or law-enforcement personnel, the 

transporter shall carry out such actions as required of him.  

2. The transporter shall clean up any hazardous waste 

discharge that occurs during transportation and shall take 

such action as is required by the federal government, the 

Virginia Department of Emergency Management, the 

director, or local officials, so that the hazardous waste 

discharge no longer presents a hazard to human health or 

the environment.  

3. If the discharge of hazardous waste occurs during 

transportation and the director or his designee determines 

that immediate removal of the waste is necessary to protect 

human health or the environment, an emergency 

transporter permit may be issued in accordance with 

9VAC20-60-450 H.  

4. 3. The disposal of the discharged materials shall be done 

in a manner consistent with this chapter and other 

applicable Virginia and federal regulations.  

C. Discharges by air, rail, highway, or water (nonbulk) 

transporters.  

1. In addition to requirements contained in preceding parts, 

an air, rail, highway or water (nonbulk) transporter who 

has discharged hazardous waste shall give notice at the 

earliest practicable moment to agencies indicated in 

9VAC20-60-490 C 2 after each incident that occurs during 

the course of transportation (including loading, unloading, 

and temporary storage) in which as a direct result of the 

discharge of the hazardous wastes:  

a. A person is killed;  

b. A person receives injuries requiring his 

hospitalization;  

c. Estimated carrier or other property damage exceeds 

$50,000;  

d. Fire, breakage, spillage, or suspected radioactive 

contamination occurs involving shipment of radioactive 

material;  

e. Fire, breakage, spillage, or suspected contamination 

occurs involving shipment of etiologic agents; or  

f. A situation exists of such a nature that, in the judgment 

of the transporter, it should be reported in accordance 

with 9VAC20-60-490 C 2 even though it does not meet 

the above criteria (e.g., continuing danger of life exists at 

the scene of the incident), or as required by 49 CFR 

171.15.  

2. The notice required by 9VAC20-60-490 C 1 shall be 

given to:  

a. The National Response Center, U.S. Coast Guard, at 

800-424-8802 (toll free) or at 202-267-2675 (toll call); 

and  

b. The Virginia Department of Emergency Management 

at 800-468-8892 (toll free) or 804-674-2400 (Richmond 

local area). In a case of discharges affecting state waters, 

the notice shall also be given to the Pollution Response 

Program (PreP) Coordinator in the appropriate regional 

office of the department.  

3. When notifying as required in 9VAC20-60-490 C 1, the 

notifier shall provide the following information:  

a. Name of person reporting the discharge and his role in 

the discharge;  

b. Name, telephone number and address of the 

transporter;  

c. Name, telephone number and address of the generator;  

d. Telephone number where the notifier can be contacted;  

e. Date, time and location of the discharge;  

f. Type of incident, nature of hazardous waste 

involvement, and whether a continuing danger to life 

exists at the scene;  

g. Classification, name and quantity of hazardous waste 

involved; and  

h. The extent of injuries, if any.  

4. Within 15 calendar days of the discharge of any quantity 

of hazardous waste, the transporter shall send a written 

report on DOT Form F5800.1 in duplicate to the Chief, 

Information System Division, Transportation Programs 
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Bureau, Department of Transportation, Washington, D.C. 

20590. Two copies of this report will also be filed with the 

Department of Environmental Quality, Post Office Box 

1105, 629 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23218.  

5. In reporting discharges of hazardous waste as required in 

9VAC20-60-490 C 4, the following information shall be 

furnished in Part H of the DOT Form F5800.1 in addition 

to information normally required:  

a. An estimate of the quantity of the waste removed from 

the scene;  

b. The name and address of the facility to which it was 

taken; and  

c. The manner of disposition of any unremoved waste.  

A copy of the hazardous waste manifest shall be attached 

to the report.  

D. Discharges by water (bulk) transporters.  

1. A water (bulk) transporter shall, as soon as he has 

knowledge of any discharge of hazardous waste from the 

vessel, notify, by telephone, radio telecommunication or a 

similar means of rapid communication, the office 

designated in 9VAC20-60-490 C 2.  

2. If notice as required in 9VAC20-60-490 D 1 is 

impractical, the following offices may be notified in the 

order of priority:  

a. The government official predesignated in the regional 

contingency plan as the on-scene coordinator. Such 

regional contingency plan for Virginia is available at the 

office of the 5th U.S. Coast Guard District, 431 Crawford 

Street, Portsmouth, Virginia 23705;  

b. Commanding officer or officer-in-charge of any U.S. 

Coast Guard unit in the vicinity of the discharge; or  

c. Commander of the 5th U.S. Coast Guard District.  

3. When notifying, the notifier shall provide the following 

information:  

a. Name of person reporting the discharge and his role in 

the discharge;  

b. Name, telephone number and address of the 

transporter;  

c. Name, telephone number and address of the generator;  

d. Telephone number so the notifier can be contacted;  

e. Date, time, location of the discharge;  

f. Type of incident and nature of hazardous waste 

involvement and whether a continuing danger to life 

exists at the scene;  

g. Classification, name and quantity of hazardous waste 

involved; and  

h. The extent of injuries, if any.  

E. Discharges at fixed facilities. Any transporter (i) 

responsible for the release of a hazardous material (as defined 

in Part I (9VAC20-60-12 et seq.) of this chapter) from a fixed 

facility (e.g., transfer facility) which that poses an immediate 

or imminent threat to public health and (ii) who is required by 

law to notify the National Response Center shall notify the 

chief administrative officers (or their designees) of the local 

governments of the jurisdictions in which the release occurs 

as well as the department.  

Part XII  

Permit Application And Annual Fees  

9VAC20-60-1260. Purpose, scope, and applicability.  

A. The purpose of this part is to establish a schedule of fees 

collected by the department in the support of its programs 

required by Parts III (9VAC20-60-270 et seq.), IV (9VAC20-

60-305 et seq.) and VII (9VAC20-60-420 et seq.) of this 

chapter.  

B. Part XII (9VAC20-60-1260 et seq.) of this chapter 

applies to all persons required to submit a permit application 

("applicants") under 9VAC20-60-270 and 9VAC20-60-420 E 

unless specifically exempt under subsection G of this section, 

to facilities operating under interim status, to facilities subject 

to an order or agreement, and to all large quantity generators. 

The fees shall be assessed in accordance with 9VAC20-60-

1270 through 9VAC20-60-1286.  

C. When the director finds it necessary to modify any permit 

under 9VAC20-60-270, the holder of that permit shall be 

considered an applicant and shall be assessed a fee in 

accordance with 9VAC20-60-1270 D C even if the director 

shall have initiated the modification action.  

D. When the director finds it necessary to revoke and reissue 

any permit in accordance with 9VAC20-60-270, the holder of 

that permit shall be considered an applicant for a new permit 

and shall be assessed a fee in accordance with 9VAC20-60-

1270 C B. 

E. If the director finds it necessary either to revoke and 

reissue a permit or to perform a minor modification of a 

permit in accordance with 9VAC20-60-270, the holder of that 

permit shall be considered an applicant and shall be assessed 

a fee in accordance with 9VAC20-60-1270 E D. The holder 

of a permit shall not be assessed a permit modification fee for 

minor modifications.  

F. When the director finds it necessary to issue an 

emergency treatment, storage, or disposal permit in 

accordance with 9VAC20-60-270, the holder of that permit 

shall be considered an applicant and shall be assessed a fee in 

accordance with 9VAC20-60-1270 F E. No permit 

application fee will be assessed to the holders of the 

emergency transportation permits issued in accordance with 

9VAC20-60-450 H.  

G. Exemptions.  

1. The owners and operators of HWM treatment, storage, 

and disposal facilities who have submitted Part A of their 

application and who have qualified for interim status in 

accordance with 9VAC20-60-270 are exempt from the 

requirements of 9VAC20-60-1270 until a Part B 
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application for the entire facility or a portion of the facility 

has been requested or voluntarily submitted. The owner 

and operator of a HWM facility submitting a Part B 

application will be considered an applicant for a new 

permit.  

2. The owners and operators of HWM facilities that are 

deemed to possess a permit by rule in accordance with 

9VAC20-60-270 are exempt from the requirements of 

9VAC20-60-1270.  

3. Hazardous waste generators that accumulate wastes on-

site on site in accordance with 40 CFR 262.34 are not 

subject to regulations contained in 9VAC20-60-1270 since 

HWM permits are not required for such accumulations.  

9VAC20-60-1270. Determination of application fee 

amount.  

A. General.  

1. Each application for a new or renewed permit and each 

application for a modification to a permit is a separate 

action and shall be assessed a separate fee. The amount of 

such fees is determined on the basis of this section.  

2. The amount of the permit application fee is based on the 

costs directly associated with the permitting program 

required by Parts III (9VAC20-60-270 et seq.) and VII 

(9VAC20-60-420 et seq.) of this chapter and includes costs 

for personnel and contractual effort and the prorated costs 

of supplies, equipment, communications and office space. 

The fee schedules are shown in 9VAC20-60-1285.  

B. Transporter fees.  

1. Application fees for the transporter permits are shown in 

9VAC20-60-1285 A. Based on the greater regulatory effort 

associated with the issuance of permits to the transporters 

without terminals or other facilities in the Commonwealth, 

the out-of-state transporters are charged higher fees.  

2. Since Part VII of this chapter does not provide for a 

modification procedure, all transporter permit applications 

are considered to be for new permits.  

C. B. New HWM facility permits.  

1. All applicants for new or renewed hazardous waste 

treatment, storage, and disposal facility permits are 

assessed a base fee shown in 9VAC20-60-1285 B A. 

2. Applicants for a facility permit which that includes one 

or more of the hazardous waste treatment, storage or 

disposal units or processes that require ground water 

groundwater protection or corrective action for solid waste 

management units in accordance with Subpart F of 40 CFR 

Part 264, Subpart K of 40 CFR Part 264, Subpart L of 40 

CFR Part 264, Subpart M of 40 CFR Part 264, and Subpart 

N of 40 CFR Part 264, as applicable, ("land-based TSD 

units") are assessed a supplementary fee shown in 

9VAC20-60-1285 B A, in addition to the base fee specified 

in subdivision 1 of this subsection and any other 

supplementary fee that may be appropriate.  

3. Applicants for a facility permit which that includes one 

or more hazardous waste incineration, boiler, or industrial 

furnace units or processes regulated in accordance with 

Subpart O of 40 CFR Part 264 are assessed a 

supplementary fee shown in 9VAC20-60-1285 B A, in 

addition to the base fee specified in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection and any other supplementary fee that may be 

appropriate.  

4. Applicants for a facility permit for storage of hazardous 

wastes in containers, tanks or drip pads, or both, subject to 

Subpart I of 40 CFR Part 264, Subpart J of 40 CFR Part 

264, and Subpart W of 40 CFR Part 264 will not be 

assessed any supplementary fees unless required to close 

and perform post-closure care as landfills as provided for 

in 40 CFR 264.197(b) and 40 CFR 264.571(b).  

5. The transporter permits are separate permits and require 

a separate administrative action. Applicants for new 

treatment, storage, and disposal facility permits who also 

apply for a transporter permit will be assessed separate fees 

in accordance with subsection B of this section.  

D. C. Modifications to existing HWM facility permits.  

1. Except as provided for in subsection E of this section, all 

applicants for a modification of an existing HWM facility 

permit are assessed a modification base fee shown in 

9VAC20-60-1285 C B. 

2. Applicants for a modification that includes or involves 

the addition of hazardous wastes not currently in the permit 

are assessed a supplementary modification fee shown in 

9VAC20-60-1285 C B, in addition to the base fee specified 

in subdivision 1 of this subsection and any other 

supplementary fee that may be appropriate.  

3. Applicants for a major (Class 3) modification that 

includes or involves corrective action for solid waste 

management units under 40 CFR 264.101 and Title 40, 

Subpart S shall be assessed a supplementary modification 

fee shown in 9VAC20-60-1285 C B in addition to 

supplementary fees specified in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection and any other supplementary fee that may be 

appropriate.  

4. Applicants for a major (Class 3) modification that 

includes or involves the addition of one or more new 

hazardous waste land-based TSD units or processes;, or 

requires a substantive change in the design of the existing 

land-based TSD units or processes, are assessed a 

supplementary modification fee shown in 9VAC20-60-

1285 C B in addition to the base fee specified in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection and any other 

supplementary fee that may be appropriate. For the 

purpose of this subsection, it will be deemed that a major 

change is required whenever a change in the design of the 

ground water groundwater protection system or whenever 

a new land treatment demonstration permit specified in 

9VAC20-60-270 is necessary.  
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5. Applicants for a major (Class 3) modification that 

includes or involves the addition of one or more hazardous 

waste incineration units or processes, or requires a 

substantive change in the design of an existing incineration 

unit or process, are assessed a supplementary modification 

fee shown in 9VAC20-60-1285 C B, in addition to the base 

fee specified in subdivision 1 of this subsection and any 

other supplementary fee that may be appropriate. For the 

purposes of this subsection, it will be deemed that a major 

change is required whenever a change occurs that 

necessitates the performance of a trial burn in accordance 

with 9VAC20-60-270.  

6. Applicants for a major (Class 3) modification which that 

includes or involves new treatment, storage or disposal 

units, processes or areas, or requires a substantive change 

in the design of any existing hazardous waste treatment, 

storage or disposal units, processes or areas, neither of 

which is a hazardous waste land-based TSD or incineration 

unit, are assessed a supplementary modification fee shown 

in 9VAC20-60-1285 C B, in addition to the base fee 

specified in subdivision 1 of this subsection and any other 

supplementary fee that may be appropriate. For the 

purposes of this subsection, expansion of an existing 

container storage facility is not considered to be a major 

change.  

7. Applicants for a modification that is not a minor 

modification and is a substantive (Class 2) as specified in 

9VAC20-60-270 and that is not subject to the requirements 

of subdivisions 2 through 6 of this subsection are assessed 

a supplementary modification fee shown in 9VAC20-60-

1285 C B, in addition to the base fee specified in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection.  

8. Applicants for numerous modifications subject to 

several supplementary fees will not be assessed a permit 

application fee in excess to the one required for a new 

permit for a comparable HWM facility.  

E. D. Minor modifications of existing HWM facility 

permits. All applicants for minor (Class 1) modification of an 

existing HWM facility permit provided for in 9VAC20-60-

270 are not assessed a fee.  

F. E. Emergency permits. Applicants for an emergency 

hazardous waste treatment, storage or disposal permit as 

provided for in 9VAC20-60-270 are assessed a fee shown in 

9VAC20-60-1285 E D, unless the director shall determine 

that a lesser fee is appropriate at the time the permit is issued. 

No permit fee will be assessed for emergency treatment, 

storage, or disposal necessary for the remediation of 

abandoned or orphaned hazardous waste by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency, the Virginia Department 

of Environmental Quality, the Virginia Department of 

Emergency Management, the Virginia State Police, the 

Virginia Department of Transportation, a U.S. Department of 

Defense Explosive Ordnance Disposal Team, a U.S. Army 

Technical Escort Unit or other federal government entities 

trained in explosive or munitions emergency response. No 

permit fee will be assessed for emergency treatment, storage, 

or disposal when a determination has been made by the 

Commonwealth that circumstances dictate expedient action to 

protect human health and environmental quality.  

9VAC20-60-1283. Determination of annual fee amount.  

A. Each operator of a hazardous waste treatment, storage, or 

disposal facility shall be assessed an annual fee as shown in 

9VAC20-60-1285 F E to be paid in accordance with 

9VAC20-60-1284.  

B. Each large quantity generator of hazardous waste shall be 

assessed an annual fee as shown in 9VAC20-60-1285 G F to 

be paid in accordance with 9VAC20-60-1284.  

C. A hazardous waste treatment, storage, or disposal facility 

operating under interim status and a facility subject to an 

order or agreement operate by accession and shall be assessed 

an annual fee as described in 9VAC20-60-1285 F E to be 

paid in accordance with 9VAC20-60-1284.  

An order or agreement may be issued to the operator of a 

facility, a generator, or a person who is both a facility 

operator and a generator. If a person is issued an order or 

agreement whose terms allows allow that person to conduct 

an activity that is by these regulations reserved for persons 

operating a facility under a permit or interim status, that 

person shall be considered to be operating a facility subject to 

an order or agreement. If the order or agreement is issued to a 

generator and the terms of the order do not allow that person 

to conduct any activity that is by these regulations reserved 

for persons operating a facility under a permit or interim 

status and the person is not otherwise operating a facility at 

the site of generation, that person shall not be considered to 

be operating a facility subject to an order or agreement.  

D. Annual fees are separate and accumulative. However, a 

facility that is assessed an annual fee as a facility shall not 

also be assessed a second annual fee as a large quantity 

generator for hazardous waste generated at that facility.  

E. Anyone who operates a facility (including those 

described in subsections A and C of this section) or who is a 

large quantity generator at any time during the year shall be 

assessed the full annual fee amount no matter how short the 

period the facility is operated or how briefly the generator is a 

large quantity generator. A generator who is a large quantity 

generator episodically or provisionally (having received a 

provisional EPA Identification Number) shall be assessed the 

full annual fee for any year in which the generator was a large 

quantity generator. For the evaluation of facility status or of 

generator status, the annual year shall be considered to be 

from January 1 to December 31.  

F. No annual fee as a facility or large quantity generator will 

be assessed for emergency treatment, storage, or disposal 

necessary for the remediation of abandoned or orphaned 

hazardous waste by the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency, the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, 
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the Virginia Department of Emergency Management, the 

Virginia State Police, the Virginia Department of 

Transportation, a U.S. Department of Defense Explosive 

Ordnance Disposal Team, a U.S. Army Technical Escort Unit 

or other federal government entities trained in explosive or 

munitions emergency response. No annual fee will be 

assessed for emergency treatment, storage, or disposal when a 

determination has been made by the Commonwealth that 

circumstances dictate expedient action to protect human 

health and environmental quality.  

Persons who are remediating a brownfield as defined in the 

Brownfield Restoration and Land Renewal Act (§ 10.1-1230 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia) shall not be assessed an 

annual fee as a large quantity generator with regard to 

hazardous waste management activities at a waste 

management unit and that result from the remediation of the 

brownfield.  

G. Discounted annual fees may be offered based on the 

criteria listed in 9VAC20-60-1286. An operator of a facility 

or a large quantity generator will be notified by the 

department if discounted annual fees are applicable.  

9VAC20-60-1285. Permit application fee and annual fee 

schedules.  

(The effective date of this fee schedule is July 1, 2004.)  

Table 1. Permit Application Fees. 

A. Transporter fees 

Type of application   

Transporters with terminals or other 

facilities within the Commonwealth. $140 

Other transporters. $210 

B. A. New or renewed TSD facility fees. 

Elements of applications   

Base fee for all facilities, including 

corrective action for solid waste 

management units. $16,900 

Supplementary fee for one or more land-

based TSD units, including corrective 

action for solid waste management units. $39,280 

Supplementary fee for one or more 

incineration, boiler, or industrial furnace 

units (BIF). $25,200 

C. B. Major (Class 3) Permit modification fees. 

Elements of Applications for Major 

Permit Modifications   

Base fee for all major (Class 3) 

modifications, including major changes 

related to corrective action for solid waste 

management unit. $90 

Addition of new wastes. $2,310 

Addition of or major (Class 3) change to 

one or more land-based TSD units, 

including major change related to 

corrective action for land-based solid 

waste management units. $45,070 

Addition of or major (Class 3) change to 

one or more incineration, boiler, or 

industrial furnace units. $33,790 

Addition of or major (Class 3) change to 

other treatment, storage or disposal units, 

processes or areas and major change 

related to corrective action for solid waste 

management units that are not land based. $14,050 

Substantive changes (Class 2). $2,310 

D. C. Minor (Class 1) permit modification fees. 

Type of application   

Minor (Class 1) permit modification fee. $0 

E. D. Emergency Permit fee.  

Type of application   

Emergency Permit fee. $2,310 

Table 2. Annual Fees. 

F. E. Facilities fees. 

Permitted treatment, storage, and disposal 

facility. $2,800 

Interim status treatment, storage, and 

disposal facility. $2,800 

Facility subject to an order or agreement. $2,800 

G. F. Large quantity generator fees.  

Large quantity generators. $1,000 

Illustrative Examples 

Example 1. 

The applicant is submitting a Part B application for a HWM 

permit for a facility consisting of several surface 

impoundments, a land treatment process and an ancillary tank 

and container storage facility. The required fee is calculated 

as follows: 
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  Base fee + 

  Supplementary fee for land-based TSD units + 

  Tank storage facility (see 9VAC20-60-1270 C 

B 4) 

= 

  Total fee   

Example 2. 

After a HWM facility permit has been issued to the facility 

described in Example 1, the owner and the operator of the 

facility propose to change the manufacturing process and 

apply for a modification to allow for an addition of several 

new hazardous streams to be treated in two new incinerators. 

The required modification fee is calculated from subsection C 

B of this section as follows: 

  Base fee + 

  Addition of new wastes + 

  Addition of new incineration units = 

  Total modification fee   

The fee for a comparable new permit calculated on the basis 

of subsection B A of this section is as follows: 

  Base fee + 

  Supplementary fee for land-based units + 

  Supplementary fee for incineration units + 

  Storage facility = 

  Total fee   

Example 3. 

After a HWM facility permit has been issued to the facility 

described in Example 1, the owner and the operator of the 

facility propose to expand their container storage facility for a 

storage of additional new waste streams, and apply for a 

permit modification. The required modification fee is 

calculated from subsection C B of this section as follows: 

  Base fee + 

  Addition of a new waste + 

  Fee for nonsubstantive change = 

  Total modification fee   

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (9VAC20-60)  

Application for a Transporter Permit, Form 7.1 (rev. 12/01).  

Hazardous Materials Incident Report, Form DOT F 5800.1 

(rev. 01/04) 

RCRA Subtitle C Site Identification Form, EPA Form 8700-

12 (OMB#: 2050-0024) (rev. 12/11) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4022; Filed June 30, 2014, 3:59 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Waste Management 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia) of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with the second enactment of Chapter 366 

of the 2014 Acts of Assembly, which exempts the board's 

adoption of regulations necessary to implement the fee 

provisions of subdivision A 5 of § 10.1-1232 of the Code of 

Virginia, as amended by Chapter 366, provided that the 

Department of Environmental Quality utilizes a regulatory 

advisory panel to assist in the development of the regulations 

and provides an opportunity for public comment on the 

regulations.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-160. Voluntary Remediation 

Regulations (amending 9VAC20-160-10, 9VAC20-160-60, 

9VAC20-160-100, 9VAC20-160-110; adding 9VAC20-160-

55, 9VAC20-160-65).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1232 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Gary E. Graham, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4103, FAX (804) 

698-4510, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove the registration fee cap; 

implement a three-phase registration fee structure for 

applications received on or after July 1, 2014; and 

establish (i) provisions for managing the fee structures in 

place prior to July 1, 2014, and the fee structure 

implemented on and after July 1, 2014; (ii) action resulting 

from nonpayment of registration fees; (iii) registration fees 

for any changes to applications and eligibility that require 

additional program staff review; and (iv) registration fees 

for amending previously issued certificates. The 

amendments to this regulation conform to changes in the 

Code of Virginia enacted by Chapter 366 of the 2014 Acts 

of Assembly. 

9VAC20-160-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Applicant" means a person who has applied to the program 

but is not a participant. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=59469004022~2&typ=40&actno=004022&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=59469004022~2&typ=40&actno=004022&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a2c9b004022~1&typ=40&actno=004022&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a2c9b004022~1&typ=40&actno=004022&mime=application/pdf
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"Authorized agent" means any person who is authorized in 

writing to fulfill the requirements of this program.  

"Carcinogen" means a chemical classification for the 

purpose of risk assessment as an agent that is known or 

suspected to cause cancer in humans, including but not 

limited to a known or likely human carcinogen or a probable 

or possible human carcinogen under an EPA weight-of-

evidence classification system.  

"Certificate" means a written certification of satisfactory 

completion of remediation issued by the department pursuant 

to § 10.1-1232 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Completion" means fulfillment of the commitment agreed 

to by the participant as part of this program.  

"Contaminant" means any man-made or man-induced 

alteration of the chemical, physical or biological integrity of 

soils, sediments, air and surface water or groundwater 

including, but not limited to, such alterations caused by any 

hazardous substance (as defined in the Comprehensive 

Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act, 

42 USC § 9601(14)), hazardous waste (as defined in 

9VAC20-60), solid waste (as defined in 9VAC20-81), 

petroleum (as defined in Articles 9 (§ 62.1-44.34:8 et seq.) 

and 11 (§ 62.1-44.34:14 et seq.)) of the Virginia State Water 

Control Law, or natural gas.  

"Cost of remediation" means all costs incurred by the 

participant pursuant to activities necessary for completion of 

voluntary remediation at the site, based on an estimate of the 

net present value (NPV) of the combined costs of the site 

investigation, report development, remedial system 

installation, operation and maintenance, and all other costs 

associated with participating in the program and addressing 

the contaminants of concern at the site.  

"Department" means the Department of Environmental 

Quality of the Commonwealth of Virginia or its successor 

agency.  

"Engineering controls" means physical modification to a site 

or facility to reduce or eliminate potential for exposure to 

contaminants. These include, but are not limited to, 

stormwater conveyance systems, pump and treat systems, 

slurry walls, vapor mitigation systems, liner systems, caps, 

monitoring systems, and leachate collection systems.  

"Environmental covenant" means a servitude arising under 

an environmental response project that imposes activity and 

use limitations pursuant to the Uniform Environmental 

Covenants Act (§ 10.1-1238 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

"Hazard index (HI)" means the sum of more than one hazard 

quotient for multiple contaminants or multiple exposure 

pathways or both. The HI is calculated separately for chronic, 

subchronic, and shorter duration exposures.  

"Hazard quotient" means the ratio of a single contaminant 

exposure level over a specified time period to a reference 

dose for that contaminant derived from a similar period.  

"Incremental upper-bound lifetime cancer risk" means a 

conservative estimate of the incremental probability of an 

individual developing cancer over a lifetime as a result of 

exposure to the potential carcinogen. Upper-bound lifetime 

cancer risk is likely to overestimate "true risk."  

"Institutional controls" means legal or contractual 

restrictions on property use that remain effective after 

remediation is completed and are used to reduce or eliminate 

the potential for exposure to contaminants. The term may 

include, but is not limited to, deed, land use, and water use 

restrictions and environmental covenants.  

"Land use controls" means legal or physical restrictions on 

the use of, or access to, a site to reduce or eliminate potential 

for exposure to contaminants or prevent activities that could 

interfere with the effectiveness of remediation. Land use 

controls include but are not limited to engineering and 

institutional controls.  

"Monitored natural attenuation" means a remediation 

process that monitors the natural or enhanced attenuation 

process. 

"Natural attenuation" means the processes by which 

contaminants break down naturally in the environment. 

Natural attenuation processes include a variety of physical, 

chemical, or biological processes that, under favorable 

conditions, act without human intervention to reduce the 

mass, toxicity, mobility, volume, or concentrations of 

contaminants in soil or groundwater.  

"Noncarcinogen" means a chemical classification for the 

purposes of risk assessment as an agent for which there is 

either inadequate toxicological data or is not likely to be a 

carcinogen based on an EPA weight-of-evidence 

classification system. 

"Owner" means any person currently owning or holding 

legal or equitable title or possessory interest in a property, 

including the Commonwealth of Virginia, or a political 

subdivision thereof, including title or control of a property 

conveyed due to bankruptcy, foreclosure, tax delinquency, 

abandonment, or similar means.  

"Participant" means a person who has received confirmation 

of eligibility and has remitted payment of the phase 2 

registration fee.  

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, a governmental body, a municipal corporation, or 

any other legal entity.  

"Post-certificate monitoring" means monitoring of 

environmental or site conditions stipulated as a condition of 

issuance of the certificate. 

"Program" means the Virginia Voluntary Remediation 

Program.  

"Property" means a parcel of land defined by the boundaries 

in the deed.  
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"Reference dose" means an estimate of a daily exposure 

level for the human population, including sensitive 

subpopulations, that is likely to be without an appreciable risk 

of deleterious effects during a lifetime.  

"Registration fee" means the fee fees paid to apply for, 

obtain eligibility for, enroll in, and participate in the 

Voluntary Remediation Program, based on 1.0% of the total 

cost of remediation at a site, not to exceed the statutory 

maximum.  

"Release" means any spilling, leaking, pumping, pouring, 

emitting, emptying, discharging, injecting, escaping, 

leaching, dumping, or disposing of any contaminant into the 

environment.  

"Remediation" means actions taken to clean up, mitigate, 

correct, abate, minimize, eliminate, control, contain, or 

prevent a release of a contaminant into the environment in 

order to protect human health and the environment. 

Remediation may include, when appropriate and approved by 

the department, land use controls, natural attenuation, and 

monitored natural attenuation.  

"Remediation level" means the concentration of a 

contaminant with applicable land use controls that is 

protective of human health and the environment.  

"Restricted use" means any use other than residential.  

"Risk" means the probability that a contaminant will cause 

an adverse effect in exposed humans or to the environment.  

"Risk assessment" means the process used to determine the 

risk posed by contaminants released into the environment. 

Elements include identification of the contaminants present in 

the environmental media, assessment of exposure and 

exposure pathways, assessment of the toxicity of the 

contaminants present at the site, characterization of human 

health risks, and characterization of the impacts or risks to the 

environment.  

"Site" means any property or portion thereof, as agreed to 

and defined by the participant and the department, which 

contains or may contain contaminants being addressed under 

this program.  

"Termination" means the formal discontinuation of 

participation in the Voluntary Remediation Program without 

obtaining a certificate.  

"Unrestricted use" means the designation of acceptable 

future use for a site at which the remediation levels, based on 

either background or standard residential exposure factors, 

have been attained throughout the site in all media.  

9VAC20-160-55. Registration fees for applications 

received prior to January 29, 2014. 

A. For applicants that submitted an application that was 

received by the department prior to January 29, 2014, the 

registration fee submitted and any registration fee refund 

sought shall be in accordance with the requirements of this 

section. On and after July 1, 2014, any addition of acreage to 

a site participating in the program based upon an application 

subject to registration fees under this section shall require a 

new application for the additional acreage, which shall be 

subject to registration fees pursuant to the requirements of 

9VAC20-160-65. 

B. The registration fee shall be at least 1.0% of the actual 

cost of the remediation at the site, not to exceed $5000. To 

determine the appropriate registration fee, the applicant shall 

provide an estimate of the anticipated total cost of 

remediation and remit that amount. As an alternative to 

providing an estimate, the applicant may elect to pay the 

maximum registration fee. 

C. If the participant did not elect to remit the maximum 

registration fee, the participant shall provide the department 

with the actual total cost of the remediation prior to issuance 

of a certificate. The department shall calculate any balance 

adjustment to be made to the initial registration fee. Any 

negative balance owed to the department shall be paid by the 

participant prior to the issuance of a certificate. Any 

overpayment to be refunded to the participant shall be 

remitted by the department with issuance of the certificate.  

D. If the participant elected to remit the maximum 

registration fee and an overpayment has been made, the 

department shall refund any balance owed to the participant 

after receiving the actual total cost of remediation. If no 

remedial cost summary is provided to the department within 

60 days of the participant's receipt of the certificate, the 

participant will have waived the right to a refund.  

9VAC20-160-60. Registration fee fees for applications 

received on or after January 29, 2014, and prior to July 1, 

2014.  

A. In accordance with § 10.1-1232 A 5 of the Code of 

Virginia, the applicant shall submit a registration fee to defray 

the cost of the program. For applicants submitting an 

application that is received by the department on or after 

January 29, 2014, and prior to July 1, 2014, the registration 

fee submitted and any registration fee refund sought shall be 

in accordance with the requirements of this section. On and 

after July 1, 2014, any addition of acreage to a site 

participating in the program based upon an application 

subject to registration fees under this section shall require a 

new application for the additional acreage, which shall be 

subject to registration fees pursuant to the requirements of 

9VAC20-160-65. 

B. The preliminary registration fee shall be $5,000. Payment 

shall be required after eligibility has been verified by the 

department and prior to technical review of submittals 

pursuant to 9VAC20-160-80. Payment shall be made payable 

to the Commonwealth of Virginia and remitted to Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1104, 

Receipts Control, Richmond, VA 23218.  

C. Failure to remit the required registration fee within 90 

days of the date of eligibility determination shall result in the 

loss of eligibility status of the applicant. The applicant must 
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reestablish his eligibility for participation in the program and 

the eligibility of the site, unless the department agrees to 

extend the period for remitting the registration fee. Once 

eligibility is lost for failure to remit the registration fee 

pursuant to this subsection, the applicant shall submit a new 

application in order to reestablish his eligibility for 

participation in the program and the eligibility of the site and 

shall be subject to the registration fees under the provisions of 

9VAC20-160-65.  

D. Upon completion of remediation and issuance of the 

certificate pursuant to 9VAC20-160-110, the participant 

whose final cost of remediation is less than $500,000 may 

seek a refund of a portion of the preliminary registration fee. 

The refund amount shall be reconciled as the difference 

between the preliminary registration fee and the final 

registration fee amounts. 

1. In order to receive a refund, the participant shall provide 

the department with a summary of the final cost of 

remediation within 60 days of issuance of a certificate. The 

final registration fee amount for such projects shall be 

calculated as 1.0% of the final cost of remediation. The 

department shall review the summary, calculate the refund 

amount due, and issue a refund to the participant.  

2. If no summary of the final cost of remediation is 

provided to the department within 60 days of issuance of 

the certificate, the final registration fee amount shall be 

equal to the preliminary registration fee amount, and no 

portion of the preliminary registration fee shall be 

refunded. 

3. Concurrence with the summary of the final cost of 

remediation does not constitute department verification of 

the actual cost incurred. 

E. No portion of the preliminary registration fee will be 

refunded if participation is terminated pursuant to the 

provisions of 9VAC20-160-100. 

9VAC20-160-65. Registration fees for applications 

received on or after July 1, 2014. 

A. In accordance with § 10.1-1232 A 5 of the Code of 

Virginia, the applicant shall submit a registration fee to defray 

the cost of the program. For applications received by the 

department on and after July 1, 2014, the registration fee shall 

be remitted in three phases as required by this section.  

B. Phase 1 of the registration fee shall be an application fee 

in the amount of $2,000. 

1. Payment of the phase 1 registration fee is required for 

each application received by the department on or after 

July 1, 2014. 

2. The phase 1 registration fee is due when the application 

is submitted and shall be made payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia. 

3. The phase 1 registration fee shall be submitted 

separately from the application package and remitted to 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

1104, Receipts Control, Richmond, VA 23218.  

4. An application is not administratively complete until the 

phase 1 registration fee is received by the department. 

Review of an application for eligibility in accordance with 

9VAC20-160-30 and 9VAC20-160-40 shall not commence 

until the application is administratively complete. 

C. Phase 2 of the registration fee shall be an eligibility fee in 

the amount of $7,500.  

1. Payment of the phase 2 registration fee shall be required 

after eligibility has been verified by the department and 

prior to technical review of submittals pursuant to 

9VAC20-160-80. Upon receipt of the phase 2 registration 

fee the site and applicant shall be considered by the 

department to be participating in the program.  

a. A phase 2 registration fee shall be required from the 

applicant for each site that has been determined to be 

eligible for participation in the program based upon an 

application received by the department on or after July 1, 

2014.  

b. A separate phase 2 registration fee is required for each 

section of a phased remediation project that requires a 

separate eligibility determination or requires a separate 

certificate issued for that section pursuant to 9VAC20-

160-110.  

c. No phase 2 registration fee shall be required for a site 

that has been determined to be eligible for participation 

in the program based upon an application received by the 

department prior to July 1, 2014.  

2. Payments of phase 2 registration fees shall (i) be made 

payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, (ii) include the 

Voluntary Remediation Program (VRP) ID number 

assigned by the department, and (iii) be remitted to 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

1104, Receipts Control, Richmond, VA 23218. The phase 

2 registration fees shall be remitted to the department 

within 90 days after date of the eligibility determination 

unless the department agrees to extend the period for 

remitting the phase 2 registration fee.  

3. Failure to remit the required phase 2 registration fee in 

accordance with subdivision 2 of this subsection within 90 

days after the date of eligibility determination shall result 

in the loss of eligibility status of the applicant and the site. 

After such loss of eligibility, the applicant must reestablish 

eligibility in order to participate in the program. 

a. The department shall mail notification of nonpayment 

of the phase 2 registration fee and pending loss of 

eligibility at least 30 days prior to loss of the applicant's 

and the site's eligibility. 

b. If eligibility is lost as a result of failure to remit a 

phase 2 registration fee, the applicant shall pay new 

phase 1 and phase 2 registration fees as part of 

reestablishing eligibility. 
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D. Phase 3 of the registration fee shall be an annual program 

cost defrayment fee in the amount of $4,500. If a site has 

been determined to be eligible for participation in the 

Voluntary Remediation Program based upon an application 

received by the department on or after July 1, 2014, and is 

participating in the Voluntary Remediation Program, a phase 

3 registration fee shall be assessed for that site as follows: 

1. On November 1 of each calendar year, any site 

participating in the program on that day shall be assessed a 

phase 3 registration fee if the application on which the 

eligibility determination was based was received by the 

department in a calendar year prior to that year. For 

example: 

a. Any site participating in the program on November 1, 

2015, based upon an application that had been received 

by the department in calendar year 2014 (on or after July 

1, 2014) will be assessed a phase 3 registration fee and 

will be billed for that assessment on March 1, 2016. 

b. Any eligible site participating in the program on 

November 1, 2017, based upon an application that had 

been received by the department in calendar year 2014 

(on or after July 1, 2014), 2015, or 2016 will be assessed 

a phase 3 registration fee to be billed on March 1, 2018. 

c. Sites that are not participating in the program, 

including sites that have not yet been determined to be 

eligible to participate in the program; sites that have had 

a certificate issued pursuant to 9VAC20-160-110 prior to 

November 1; and sites that have been terminated from 

participation in the program pursuant to 9VAC20-160-

100 prior to November 1 are not subject to a phase 3 

registration fee assessment for that calendar year and will 

not be billed on March 1 of the following year.  

2. The phase 3 registration fee is not prorated for 

participation in the program for portions of calendar years.  

3. The phase 3 registration fee assessed for an eligible site 

shall be billed to the applicant on March 1 of the calendar 

year following the November 1 assessment.  

4. The assessed phase 3 registration fee is due on April 1 of 

the billing year and shall (i) be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia, (ii) include the VRP ID number 

assigned by the department, and (iii) be remitted to 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

1104, Receipts Control, Richmond, VA 23218. 

5. The phase 3 registration fees shall be remitted to the 

department by the due date specified in subdivision 4 of 

this subsection unless extended by the department.  

a. Failure to remit a required phase 3 registration fee 

within 30 days of the due date shall be cause for 

termination from the program in accordance with 

9VAC20-160-100 A 4.  

b. The department shall mail notification of nonpayment 

of the phase 3 registration fee and intent to terminate 

participation in accordance with 9VAC20-160-100 to the 

participant at least 30 days prior to termination. 

6. No phase 3 registration fee shall be assessed for a site 

participating in the program based upon an application 

received by the department prior to July 1, 2014. 

7. Any assessed phase 3 fees shall be remitted to the 

department before a certificate is issued. 

E. The total amount of fees collected by the board shall 

defray the actual reasonable costs of the program. The 

director shall take whatever action is necessary to ensure that 

this limit is not exceeded. 

F. No portion of Voluntary Remediation Program 

registration fees collected pursuant to this section shall be 

refunded. 

G. If a site has been terminated from the program in 

accordance with 9VAC20-160-100, a new application shall 

be submitted before the site will be considered for a new 

eligibility determination and reenrollment into the program. 

The applicant shall also remit new phase 1 and phase 2 

registration fees in accordance with this section and no 

monetary credit will be given for any fees submitted prior to 

termination. 

H. Amendments to a site's certificate or the associated 

declaration of restrictive covenants issued by the department 

pursuant to 9VAC20-160-110 shall be subject to registration 

fees based on the amendments requested. The land owner 

shall submit a certificate amendment request to the 

department describing the changes being requested. The 

department will review the request and notify the land owner 

of any additional information required and the amount of the 

registration fee to be remitted as follows: 

1. For amendments to the certificate or the associated 

declaration of restrictive covenants not requiring a 

technical review by the department, only a phase 1 

registration fee shall be required.  

2. For amendment requests that require technical review by 

the department, no phase 1 registration fee shall be 

required, but a reduced phase 2 registration fee in the 

amount of $4,500 shall be required. In the event that the 

amendment request also meets the phase 3 registration fee 

criteria in subsection D of this section based upon the date 

that the department received the amendment request being 

the date of the application for such purpose, phase 3 

registration fees shall also be billed and remitted. 

I. For a site that has been determined to be eligible for 

participation in the program based upon an application 

received by the department prior to July 1, 2014, a request to 

change the participant for such site received by the 

department on or after July 1, 2014, or the department making 

such change, will not in and of itself subject the site to the 

fees under this section. 
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9VAC20-160-100. Termination.  

A. Participation in the program shall be terminated:  

1. When evaluation of new information obtained during 

participation in the program results in a determination by 

the department that the site is ineligible or that a participant 

has taken an action to render the site ineligible for 

participation in the program. If such a determination is 

made, the department shall notify the participant that 

participation has been terminated and provide an 

explanation of the reasons for the determination. Within 30 

days, the participant may submit additional information, or 

accept the department's determination.  

2. Upon 30 days written notice of withdrawal by the 

participant.  

3. Upon the participant's failure to make reasonable 

progress towards completion of the program, as determined 

by the department, and the participant's subsequent failure 

to respond appropriately within 30 days to the department's 

written request for an update of program-related activities 

and a projected timeline to fulfill the program 

requirements. 

4. Upon failure to submit required registration fees in 

accordance with 9VAC20-160-55 (for applications 

received prior to January 29, 2014), 9VAC20-160-60 (for 

applications received on or after January 29, 2014, and 

prior to July 1, 2014), or 9VAC20-160-65 (for applications 

received on or after July 1, 2014). The department shall 

mail notification of the department's intent to terminate 

participation in the program to the participant at least 30 

days prior to terminating the site's participation in the 

program. If the participant fails to remit the required fee 

within 30 days of the date of such notification, the site's 

participation in the program shall be terminated. The 

department reserves the right to collect unpaid fees due to 

the department pursuant to 9VAC20-160-65. 

B. The department shall be entitled to receive and use, upon 

request, copies of any and all information developed by or on 

behalf of the participant as a result of work performed 

pursuant to participation in the program, after application has 

been made to the program whether the program is 

satisfactorily completed or terminated.  

9VAC20-160-110. Certification of satisfactory completion 

of remediation.  

A. The department shall issue a certificate when:  

1. The participant has demonstrated that migration of 

contamination has been stabilized;  

2. The participant has demonstrated that the site has met 

the applicable remediation levels and will continue to meet 

the applicable remediation levels in the future for both 

onsite and offsite receptors;  

3. All provisions of the approved remedial action plan as 

applicable have been completed; 

4. All applicable requirements of the regulations have been 

completed; and 

5. The department accepts all work submitted, as set forth 

in 9VAC20-160-70.; and 

6. All registration fees due to the department pursuant to 

9VAC20-160-55, 9VAC20-160-60, and 9VAC20-160-65 

have been received by the department. 

B. The issuance of the certificate shall constitute immunity 

to an enforcement action under the Virginia Waste 

Management Act (§ 10.1-1400 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), the Virginia State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the Virginia Air Pollution 

Control Law (§ 10.1-1300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), or 

other applicable Virginia law for the releases described in the 

certificate.  

C. A site shall be deemed to have met the requirements for 

unrestricted use if the remediation levels, based on either 

background or standard residential exposure factors, have 

been attained throughout the site and in all media. Attainment 

of these levels will allow the site to be given an unrestricted 

use classification. No remediation techniques or land use 

controls that require ongoing management may be employed 

to achieve this classification. 

D. For sites that do not achieve the unrestricted use 

classification, land use controls may be proffered in order to 

develop remediation levels based on restricted use. The 

restrictions imposed upon a site may be media-specific, may 

vary according to site-specific conditions, and may be applied 

to limit present and future use. All controls necessary to attain 

the restricted use classification shall be described in the 

certificate as provided in this section. Land use controls 

accepted by the department for use at the site are considered 

remediation for the purposes of this chapter. 

E. If a use restriction is specified in the certificate, the 

participant shall cause the certificate to be recorded among 

the land records in the office of the clerk of the circuit court 

for the jurisdiction in which the site is located within 90 days 

of execution of the certificate by the department, unless a 

longer period is specified in the certificate. If the certificate 

does not include any use restriction, recordation of the 

certificate is at the option of the participant. The immunity 

accorded by the certificate shall apply to the participant and 

shall run with the land identified as the site.  

F. The immunity granted by issuance of the certificate shall 

be limited to the known releases as described in the certificate 

]. The immunity is further conditioned upon satisfactory 

performance by the participant of all obligations required by 

the department under the program and upon the veracity, 

accuracy, and completeness of the information submitted to 

the department by the participant relating to the site. Specific 

limitations of the certificate shall be enumerated in the 

certificate. The immunity granted by the certificate shall be 

dependent upon the identification of the nature and extent of 
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contamination as presented in the Voluntary Remediation 

Report.  

G. The certificate shall specify the conditions for which 

immunity is being accorded, including, but not limited to:  

1. A summary of the information that was considered;  

2. Any restrictions on future use;  

3. Any local land use controls on surrounding properties 

that were taken into account;  

4. Any proffered land use controls; and 

5. Any post-certificate monitoring. 

H. The certificate may be revoked by the department in any 

of the following situations, provided that (i) the department 

has given the owner written notice of the deficiency and (ii) 

the owner has failed to cure the deficiency within 60 days of 

the date of the written notice or some longer period granted 

by the department. 

1. In the event that conditions at the site, unknown at the 

time of issuance of the certificate, pose a risk to human 

health or the environment; 

2. In the event that the certificate was based on information 

that was false, inaccurate, or misleading; or 

3. In the event that the conditions of the certificate have not 

been met or maintained.  

I. The certificate is not and shall not be interpreted to be a 

permit or a modification of an existing permit or 

administrative order issued pursuant to state law, nor shall it 

in any way relieve the participant of its obligation to comply 

with any other federal or state law, regulation or 

administrative order. Any new permit or administrative order, 

or modification of an existing permit or administrative order, 

must be accomplished in accordance with applicable federal 

and state laws and regulations.  

J. The issuance of the certificate shall not preclude the 

department from taking any action authorized by law for 

failure to meet a requirement of the program or for liability 

arising from future activities at the site that result in the 

release of contaminants. 

K. The issuance of the certificate by the department shall not 

constitute a waiver of the Commonwealth's sovereign 

immunity unless otherwise provided by law.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4023; Filed June 27, 2014, 11:28 a.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The State Water Control Board will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality 

Management Planning Regulation (amending 9VAC25-

720-60, 9VAC25-720-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

33 USC § 1313(e) of the Clean Water Act. 

Effective Date: August 27, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Elizabeth McKercher, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 625 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4291, FAX (804) 

698-4116, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

elizabeth.mckercher@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments add one total maximum daily load 

wasteload allocation for the James River Basin and two 

total maximum daily load wasteload allocations for the 

Tennessee-Big Sandy River Basin.  
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9VAC25-720-60. James River Basin.  

A. Total maximum daily load (TMDLs).  

TMDL # Stream Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA Units 

1. Pheasanty 

Run 

Benthic TMDL 

Reports for Six 

Impaired Stream 

Segments in the 

Potomac-Shenandoah 

and James River 

Basins 

Bath I14R Organic 

Solids 

1,231.00 LB/YR 

2. Wallace Mill 

Stream 

Benthic TMDL 

Reports for Six 

Impaired Stream 

Segments in the 

Potomac-Shenandoah 

and James River 

Basins 

Augusta I32R Organic 

Solids 

2,814.00 LB/YR 

3. Montebello 

Sp. Branch 

Benthic TMDL 

Reports for Six 

Impaired Stream 

Segments in the 

Potomac-Shenandoah 

and James River 

Basins 

Nelson H09R Organic 

Solids 

37.00 LB/YR 

4. Unnamed 

Tributary to 

Deep Creek 

General Standard 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load for Unnamed 

Tributary to Deep 

Creek 

Nottoway J11R Raw 

Sewage 

0 GAL/Y

R 

5.  Unnamed 

Tributary to 

Chickahominy 

River 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load (TMDL) 

Development for the 

Unnamed Tributary to 

the Chickahominy 

River 

Hanover G05R Total 

Phosphorus 

409.35 LB/YR 

6. Rivanna 

River 

Benthic TMDL 

Development for the 

Rivanna River 

Watershed 

Albemarle, 

Greene, 

Nelson, and 

Orange 

H27R 

H28R 

Sediment 10,229 Lbs/Da

y 

7. Jackson River Benthic TMDL 

Development for the 

Jackson River, 

Virginia 

Alleghany, 

Bath, 

Highland 

I04R, 

I09R 

Total 

Phosphorus 

72,955 LB/GS
1
 

8. Jackson River Benthic TMDL 

Development for the 

Jackson River, 

Virginia 

Alleghany, 

Bath, 

Highland 

I04R, 

I09R 

Total 

Nitrogen 

220,134 LB/GS 

9. Little 

Calfpasture 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development to 

Address a Benthic 

Impairment in the 

Little Calfpasture 

Rockbridge 132R Sediment 30.4 T/YR 
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River, Rockbridge 

County, Virginia 

10. Phelps 

Branch 

Phelps Branch 

Sediment TMDL 

Development Report 

for a Benthic 

Impairment in 

Appomattox County, 

Virginia 

Appomattox H06R Sediment 115.7 T/YR 

11. Long Branch Sediment TMDL 

Development Report 

for Benthic 

Impairments in Long 

Branch and Buffalo 

River in Amherst 

County, Virginia 

Amherst H11R Sediment 16.2 T/YR 

12. Buffalo River Sediment TMDL 

Development Report 

for Benthic 

Impairments in Long 

Branch and Buffalo 

River in Amherst 

County, Virginia 

Amherst H11R Sediment 306.4 T/YR 

13. Chickahominy 

River 
Benthic TMDL 

Development for 

Chickahominy River, 

Virginia 

Hanover, 

Henrico 

G05R Sediment 294.03 T/YR 

14. Colliers 

Creek 

Bacteria TMDL 

Development for 

Colliers Creek, North 

Fork Buffalo Creek, 

South Fork Buffalo 

Creek, Buffalo Creek, 

Maury River, and 

Cedar Creek and a 

Sediment TMDL 

Development for 

Colliers Creek 

Rockbridge 138R Sediment 103.4 T/YR 

1
 GS means growing season. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections B and C of 9VAC25-720-60 are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is not set 

out. 

9VAC25-720-90. Tennessee-Big Sandy River Basin.  

A. Total Maximum Daily Load total maximum daily load (TMDLs).  

TMDL # 
Stream 

Name 
TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA Units 

1. 
Guest 

River 

Guest River Total 

Maximum Load Report 
Wise P11R Sediment 317.92 LB/YR 

2. 
Cedar 

Creek 

Total Maximum Daily Load 

(TMDL) Development for 

Cedar Creek, Hall/Byers 

Creek and Hutton Creek 

Washington O05R Sediment 1,789.93 LB/YR 
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3. 
Hall/Byers 

Creek 

Total Maximum Daily Load 

(TMDL) Development for 

Cedar Creek, Hall/Byers 

Creek and Hutton Creek 

Washington O05R Sediment 57,533.49 LB/YR 

4. 
Hutton 

Creek 

Total Maximum Daily Load 

(TMDL) Development for 

Cedar Creek, Hall/Byers 

Creek and Hutton Creek 

Washington O05R Sediment 91.32 LB/YR 

5. 
Clinch 

River 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for the 

Upper Clinch River 

Watershed 

Tazewell P01R Sediment 206,636 LB/YR 

6. 
Lewis 

Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for the 

Lewis Creek Watershed 

Russell P04R Sediment 40,008 LB/YR 

7. 
Black 

Creek 

General Standard Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Black 

Creek, Wise County, 

Virginia 

Wise P17R Manganese 2,127 KG/YR 

8. 
Dumps 

Creek 

General Standard Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Dumps 

Creek, Russell County, 

Virginia 

Russell P08R 

Total 

Dissolved 

Solids 

1,631,575 KG/YR 

9. 
Dumps 

Creek 

General Standard Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Dumps 

Creek, Russell County, 

Virginia 

Russell P08R 

Total 

Suspended 

Solids 

316,523 KG/YR 

10. 
Beaver 

Creek 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for the 

Beaver Creek Watershed 

Washington O07R Sediment 784,036 LB/YR 

11. 
Stock 

Creek 

General Standard (Benthic) 

Total Maximum Daily 

Load Development for 

Stock Creek 

Scott P13R Sediment 0 T/YR 

12. 
Lick 

Creek 

Lick Creek TMDLs for 

Benthic Impairments-

Dickenson, Russell and 

Wise Counties 

Dickenson, 

Russell and 

Wise 

P10R Sediment 63 T/YR 

13. 
Cigarette 

Hollow 

Lick Creek TMDLs for 

Benthic Impairments-

Dickenson, Russell and 

Wise Counties 

Dickenson, 

Russell and 

Wise 

P10R Sediment 0.4 T/YR 

14. 
Laurel 

Branch 

Lick Creek TMDLs for 

Benthic Impairments-

Dickenson, Russell and 

Wise Counties 

Dickenson, 

Russell and 

Wise 

P10R Sediment 3.9 T/YR 
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15. Right Fork 

Lick Creek TMDLs for 

Benthic Impairments-

Dickenson, Russell and 

Wise Counties 

Dickenson, 

Russell and 

Wise 

P10R Sediment 1.3 T/YR 

16. 

Middle 

Fork 

Holston 

River 

Bacteria and Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Middle 

Fork Holston River 

Washington, 

Smyth 
O05R Sediment  100.4 T/YR 

17. 
Wolf 

Creek 

Bacteria and Benthic Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

Development for Wolf Creek 

Washington O06R Sediment 301.6 T/YR 

18. 

North Fork 

Holston 

River 

Mercury Total Maximum 

Daily Load Development for 

the North Fork Holston 

River, Virginia 

Scott, 

Washington, 

Smyth, Bland, 

Tazewell, 

Russell 

O10R Total Mercury 11.9 G/YR 

19. 
Laurel 

Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 

TMDL Development Lower 

Clinch River Watershed, VA 

Russell, 

Tazewell 
P05R Sediment 0.26 T/YR 

20. 
Thompson 

Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 

TMDL Development Lower 

Clinch River Watershed, VA 

Russell P07R Sediment 0.22 T/YR 

B. Non-TMDL waste load wasteload allocations. 

Water 

Body 

Permit No. Facility Name Receiving 

Stream 

River 

Mile 

Outfall 

No. 

Parameter 

Description 

WLA Units 

WLA 

VAS-

Q13R 
VA0061913 Pound WWTP 

Pound 

River 
33.26 001 

CBOD5, JUN-

NOV 

28 KG/D 

CBOD5, DEC-

MAY 

47 KG/D 

TKN, JUN-NOV 28 KG/D 

VAS-

Q14R 
VA0026565 

Clintwood 

WWTP 

Cranes 

Nest River 
9.77 001 BOD5 30 KG/D 

VAS-

O06R 
VA0026531 

Wolf Creek 

Water 

Reclamation 

Facility 

Wolf 

Creek 
7.26 001 CBOD5 249.8 KG/D 

VAS-

P01R 
VA0026298 

Tazewell 

WWTP 

Clinch 

River 
346.26 001 

CBOD5, JUN-

NOV 
76 KG/D 

VAS-

P03R 
VA0021199 

Richlands 

Regional 

WWTF 

Clinch 

River 
317.45 001 

BOD5, JUN-

NOV 
273 KG/D 

VAS-

P06R 
VA0020745 

Lebanon 

WWTP 

Big Cedar 

Creek 
5.22 001 BOD5 91 KG/D 
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VAS-

P11R 
VA0077828 

Coeburn 

Norton Wise 

Regional 

WWTP 

Guest 

River 
7.56 001 

CBOD5, JUN-

NOV 

303 KG/D 

CBOD5, DEC-

MAY 

379 KG/D 

VAS-

P15R 
VA0029564 

Duffield 

Industrial Park 

WWTP 

North Fork 

Clinch 

River 

21.02 001 BOD5 36 KG/D 

VAS-

P17R 
VA0020940 

Big Stone Gap 

Regional 

WWTP 

Powell 

River 
177.38 001 

CBOD5, JUN-

NOV 
110 KG/D 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4100; Filed July 1, 2014, 10:16 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to the second enactment of Chapters 303 and 598 of the 

2014 Acts of Assembly, which provides that amendments to 

regulations of the board necessary to implement the provisions of 

the acts are exempt from the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), provided that there is a 

public comment period of at least 30 days on the proposed 

amendments prior to adoption by the board. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-830. Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Area Designation and Management 

Regulations (amending 9VAC25-830-130).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-15:69 and 62.1-44.15:72 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 27, 2014.  

Agency Contact: William Norris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4022, FAX (804) 

698-4347, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments incorporate statutory changes made to 

§ 62.1-44.15:34 of the Code of Virginia by Chapters 303 

and 598 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly related to the 

general performance criteria for localities subject to the 

provisions of the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act 

(§ 62.1-44.15:67 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and the 

regulation of Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act land-

disturbing activities in accordance with § 62.1-44.15:28 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

9VAC25-830-130. General performance criteria. 

Through their applicable land use ordinances, regulations 

and enforcement mechanisms, local governments shall 

require that any use, development or redevelopment of land in 

Chesapeake Bay Preservation Areas meets the following 

performance criteria:  

1. No more land shall be disturbed than is necessary to 

provide for the proposed use or development.  

2. Indigenous vegetation shall be preserved to the 

maximum extent practicable, consistent with the use or 

development proposed.  

3. All development exceeding 2,500 square feet of land 

disturbance shall be accomplished through a plan of 

development review process consistent with § 15.2-2286 A 

8 of the Code of Virginia and subdivision 1 e of 9VAC25-

830-240.  

4. Land development shall minimize impervious cover 

consistent with the proposed use or development.  

5. Any land disturbing activity that exceeds an area of 

2,500 square feet (including construction of all single 

family houses, septic tanks and drainfields, but otherwise 

as defined in § 62.1-44.15:51 of the Code of Virginia) shall 

comply with the requirements of the local erosion and 

sediment control ordinance. Enforcement for 

noncompliance with the erosion and sediment control 

requirements referenced in this criterion shall be conducted 

under the provisions of the Erosion and Sediment Control 

Law and attendant regulations. 

6. Any Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act land-disturbing 

activity as defined in § 62.1-44.15:24 of the Code of 

Virginia shall comply with the requirements of 9VAC25-

870-51 and 9VAC25-870-103. 

7. Onsite sewage treatment systems not requiring a 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

permit shall:  

a. Have pump-out accomplished for all such systems at 

least once every five years.  

(1) If deemed appropriate by the local health department 

and subject to conditions the local health department may 

set, local governments may offer to the owners of such 

systems, as an alternative to the mandatory pump-out, the 

option of having a plastic filter installed and maintained 

in the outflow pipe from the septic tank to filter solid 

material from the effluent while sustaining adequate flow 

to the drainfield to permit normal use of the septic 

system. Such a filter should satisfy standards established 

in the Sewage Handling and Disposal Regulations 
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(12VAC5-610) administered by the Virginia Department 

of Health.  

(2) Furthermore, in lieu of requiring proof of septic tank 

pump-out every five years, local governments may allow 

owners of on-site onsite sewage treatment systems to 

submit documentation every five years, certified by a 

sewage handler permitted by the Virginia Department of 

Health an operator or onsite soil evaluator licensed or 

certified under Chapter 23 (§ 54.1-2300 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia as being qualified to 

operate, maintain, or design onsite sewage systems, that 

the septic system has been inspected, is functioning 

properly, and the tank does not need to have the effluent 

pumped out of it.  

b. For new construction, provide a reserve sewage 

disposal site with a capacity at least equal to that of the 

primary sewage disposal site. This reserve sewage 

disposal site requirement shall not apply to any lot or 

parcel recorded prior to October 1, 1989, if the lot or 

parcel is not sufficient in capacity to accommodate a 

reserve sewage disposal site, as determined by the local 

health department. Building shall be prohibited on the 

area of all sewage disposal sites until the structure is 

served by public sewer or an on-site onsite sewage 

treatment system which that operates under a permit 

issued by the board. All sewage disposal site records 

shall be administered to provide adequate notice and 

enforcement. As an alternative to the 100% reserve 

sewage disposal site, local governments may offer the 

owners of such systems the option of installing an 

alternating drainfield system meeting the following 

conditions:  

(1) Each of the two alternating drainfields in the system 

shall have, at a minimum, an area not less than 50% of 

the area that would otherwise be required if a single 

primary drainfield were constructed.  

(2) An area equaling 50% of the area that would 

otherwise be required for the primary drainfield site must 

be reserved for subsurface absorption systems that utilize 

a flow diversion device, in order to provide for future 

replacement or repair to meet the requirements for a 

sewage disposal system. Expansion of the primary 

system will require an expansion of this reserve area.  

(3) The two alternating drainfields shall be connected by 

a diversion valve, approved by the local health 

department, located in the pipe between the septic 

(aerobic) tank and the distribution boxes. The diversion 

valve shall be used to alternate the direction of effluent 

flow to one drainfield or the other at a time. However, 

diversion valves shall not be used for the following types 

of treatment systems:  

(a) Sand mounds;  

(b) Low-pressure distribution systems;  

(c) Repair situations when installation of a valve is not 

feasible; and  

(d) Any other approved system for which the use of a 

valve would adversely affect the design of the system, as 

determined by the local health department.  

(4) The diversion valve shall be a three-port, two-way 

valve of approved materials (i.e., resistant to sewage and 

leakproof and designed so that the effluent from the tank 

can be directed to flow into either one of the two 

distribution boxes).  

(5) There shall be a conduit from the top of the valve to 

the ground surface with an appropriate cover to be level 

with or above the ground surface.  

(6) The valve shall not be located in driveways, 

recreational courts, parking lots, or beneath sheds or 

other structures.  

(7) In lieu of the aforementioned diversion valve, any 

device that can be designed and constructed to 

conveniently direct the flow of effluent from the tank 

into either one of the two distribution boxes may be 

approved if plans are submitted to the local health 

department and found to be satisfactory.  

(8) The local government shall require that the owner(s) 

alternate the drainfields every 12 months to permit the 

yearly resting of half of the absorption system.  

(9) The local government shall ensure that the owner(s) 

are notified annually of the requirement to switch the 

valve to the opposite drainfield.  

7. 8. Land upon which agricultural activities are being 

conducted, including but not limited to crop production, 

pasture, and dairy and feedlot operations, or lands 

otherwise defined as agricultural land by the local 

government, shall have a soil and water quality 

conservation assessment conducted that evaluates the 

effectiveness of existing practices pertaining to soil erosion 

and sediment control, nutrient management, and 

management of pesticides, and, where necessary, results in 

a plan that outlines additional practices needed to ensure 

that water quality protection is being accomplished 

consistent with the Act and this chapter.  

a. Recommendations for additional conservation 

practices need address only those conservation issues 

applicable to the tract or field being assessed. Any soil 

and water quality conservation practices that are 

recommended as a result of such an assessment and are 

subsequently implemented with financial assistance from 

federal or state cost-share programs must be designed, 

consistent with cost-share practice standards effective in 

January 1999 in the "Field Office Technical Guide" of 

the U.S. Department of Agriculture Natural Resource 

Conservation Service or the June 2000 edition of the 

"Virginia Agricultural BMP Manual" of the Virginia 

Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
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respectively. Unless otherwise specified in this section, 

general standards pertaining to the various agricultural 

conservation practices being assessed shall be as follows:  

(1) For erosion and sediment control recommendations, 

the goal shall be, where feasible, to prevent erosion from 

exceeding the soil loss tolerance level, referred to as "T," 

as defined in the "National Soil Survey Handbook" of 

November 1996 in the "Field Office Technical Guide" of 

the U.S. Department of Agriculture Natural Resource 

Conservation Service. However, in no case shall erosion 

exceed the soil loss consistent with an Alternative 

Conservation System, referred to as an "ACS", as defined 

in the "Field Office Technical Guide" of the U.S. 

Department of Agriculture Natural Resource 

Conservation Service.  

(2) For nutrient management, whenever nutrient 

management plans are developed, the operator or 

landowner must provide soil test information, consistent 

with the Virginia Nutrient Management Training and 

Certification Regulations (4VAC5-15) (4VAC50-85).  

(3) For pest chemical control, referrals shall be made to 

the local cooperative extension agent or an Integrated 

Pest Management Specialist of the Virginia Cooperative 

Extension Service. Recommendations shall include 

copies of applicable information from the "Virginia Pest 

Management Guide" or other Extension materials related 

to pest control.  

b. A higher priority shall be placed on conducting 

assessments of agricultural fields and tracts adjacent to 

Resource Protection Areas. However, if the landowner or 

operator of such a tract also has Resource Management 

Area fields or tracts in his operation, the assessment for 

that landowner or operator may be conducted for all 

fields or tracts in the operation. When such an expanded 

assessment is completed, priority must return to Resource 

Protection Area fields and tracts.  

c. The findings and recommendations of such 

assessments and any resulting soil and water quality 

conservation plans will be submitted to the local Soil and 

Water Conservation District Board, which will be the 

plan-approving authority.  

8. 9. Silvicultural activities in Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Areas are exempt from this chapter provided 

that silvicultural operations adhere to water quality 

protection procedures prescribed by the Virginia 

Department of Forestry in the Fifth Edition (March 2011) 

of "Virginia's Forestry Best Management Practices for 

Water Quality Technical Manual." The Virginia 

Department of Forestry will oversee and document 

installation of best management practices and will monitor 

in-stream impacts of forestry operations in Chesapeake 

Bay Preservation Areas.  

9. 10. Local governments shall require evidence of all 

wetlands permits required by law prior to authorizing 

grading or other on-site onsite activities to begin.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4016; Filed June 27, 2014, 3:14 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to the second enactment of Chapters 303 and 598 of the 

2014 Acts of Assembly, which provides that amendments to 

regulations of the board necessary to implement the provisions of 

the acts are exempt from the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), provided that there is a 

public comment period of at least 30 days on the proposed 

amendments prior to adoption by the board. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-840. Erosion and Sediment 

Control Regulations (amending 9VAC25-840-65).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15:52 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: William Norris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4022, FAX (804) 

698-4347, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment incorporates changes to § 62.1-44.15:34 

of the Code of Virginia enacted by Chapters 303 and 598 

of the 2014 Acts of Assembly related to the schedule for 

reporting of approvals pursuant to the Erosion and 

Sediment Control Law (§ 62.1-44.15:52 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia) to begin land disturbance of one acre or 

greater to the Department of Environmental Quality at 

least monthly. 

9VAC25-840-65. Reporting. 

Each VESCP authority shall report to the department, at 

least monthly, in a method such as an online reporting system 

and on a time schedule established by the department, a 

listing of each land-disturbing activity for which a plan has 

been approved by the VESCP authority under the Act and this 

chapter.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4025; Filed June 27, 2014, 12:53 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to the second enactment of Chapters 303 and 598 of the 

2014 Acts of Assembly, which provides that amendments to 

regulations of the board necessary to implement the provisions of 

the acts are exempt from the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), provided that there is a 

public comment period of at least 30 days on the proposed 

amendments prior to adoption by the board. 
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Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-870. Virginia Stormwater 

Management Program (VSMP) Regulation (amending 

9VAC25-870-10, 9VAC25-870-51, 9VAC25-870-55, 

9VAC25-870-59, 9VAC25-870-65, 9VAC25-870-66, 

9VAC25-870-103, 9VAC25-870-118, 9VAC25-870-150, 

9VAC25-870-820, 9VAC25-870-825, 9VAC25-870-830).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15:25 and 62.1-44.15:28 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: William Norris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4022, FAX (804) 

698-4347, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments incorporate changes to the Code of 

Virginia enacted by Chapters 303 and 598 of the 2014 Acts 

of Assembly related to the Virginia Stormwater 

Management Program (VSMP) Regulations. The 

amendments (i) provide for the use of an "agreement in 

lieu of a stormwater management plan"; (ii) clarify the 

roles and responsibilities of the VSMP authority, the 

locality, and the department; (iv) clarify the requirements 

for "single-family detached residences"; and (v) provide 

for technical changes to accommodate these revisions. 

Part I  

Definitions, Purpose, and Applicability 

9VAC25-870-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms used in this chapter have the 

following meanings unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise. 

"Act" means the Virginia Stormwater Management Act, 

Article 2.3 (§ 62.1-44.15:24 et seq.) of Chapter 3.1 of Title 

62.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Administrator" means the Administrator of the United 

States Environmental Protection Agency or an authorized 

representative. 

"Agreement in lieu of a stormwater management plan" 

means a contract between the VSMP authority and the owner 

or permittee that specifies methods that shall be implemented 

to comply with the requirements of a VSMP for the 

construction of a single-family residence; such contract may 

be executed by the VSMP authority in lieu of a stormwater 

management plan. 

"Applicable standards and limitations" means all state, 

interstate, and federal standards and limitations to which a 

discharge or a related activity is subject under the Clean 

Water Act (CWA) (33 USC § 1251 et seq.) and the Act, 

including effluent limitations, water quality standards, 

standards of performance, toxic effluent standards or 

prohibitions, best management practices, and standards for 

sewage sludge use or disposal under §§ 301, 302, 303, 304, 

306, 307, 308, 403 and 405 of CWA. 

"Approval authority" means the State Water Control Board 

or its designee. 

"Approved program" or "approved state" means a state or 

interstate program that has been approved or authorized by 

EPA under 40 CFR Part 123. 

"Average monthly discharge limitation" means the highest 

allowable average of daily discharges over a calendar month, 

calculated as the sum of all daily discharges measured during 

a calendar month divided by the number of daily discharges 

measured during that month. 

"Average weekly discharge limitation" means the highest 

allowable average of daily discharges over a calendar week, 

calculated as the sum of all daily discharges measured during 

a calendar week divided by the number of daily discharges 

measured during that week. 

"Best management practice" or "BMP" means schedules of 

activities, prohibitions of practices, maintenance procedures, 

and other management practices, including both structural 

and nonstructural practices, to prevent or reduce the pollution 

of surface waters and groundwater systems.  

"Board" means the State Water Control Board. 

"Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste streams 

from any portion of a treatment facility. 

"Channel" means a natural or manmade waterway.  

"Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act" means Article 2.5 

(§ 62.1-44.15:67 et seq.) of Chapter 3.1 of Title 62.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act land-disturbing activity" 

means a land-disturbing activity including clearing, grading, 

or excavation that results in a land disturbance equal to or 

greater than 2,500 square feet and less than one acre in all 

areas of jurisdictions designated as subject to the Chesapeake 

Bay Preservation Area Designation and Management 

Regulations (9VAC25-830) adopted pursuant to the 

Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act. 

"Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area" means any land 

designated by a local government pursuant to Part III 

(9VAC25-830-70 et seq.) of the Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Area Designation and Management Regulations 

and § 62.1-44.15:74 of the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act. 

A Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area shall consist of a 

Resource Protection Area and a Resource Management Area 

as defined in the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area 

Designation and Management Regulations (9VAC25-830). 

"Chesapeake Bay watershed" means all land areas draining 

to the following Virginia river basins: Potomac River Basin, 

James River Basin, Rappahannock River Basin, Chesapeake 

Bay and its small coastal basins, and York River Basin.  
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"Common plan of development or sale" means a contiguous 

area where separate and distinct construction activities may 

be taking place at different times on different schedules. 

"Comprehensive stormwater management plan" means a 

plan, which may be integrated with other land use plans or 

regulations, that specifies how the water quality components, 

quantity components, or both of stormwater are to be 

managed on the basis of an entire watershed or a portion 

thereof. The plan may also provide for the remediation of 

erosion, flooding, and water quality and quantity problems 

caused by prior development. 

"Construction activity" means any clearing, grading or 

excavation associated with large construction activity or 

associated with small construction activity. 

"Contiguous zone" means the entire zone established by the 

United States under Article 24 of the Convention on the 

Territorial Sea and the Contiguous Zone (37 FR 11906 June 

15, 1972). 

"Continuous discharge" means a discharge which occurs 

without interruption throughout the operating hours of the 

facility, except for infrequent shutdowns for maintenance, 

process changes, or other similar activities. 

"Control measure" means any BMP, stormwater facility, or 

other method used to minimize the discharge of pollutants to 

state waters. 

"Co-operator" means an operator of a state permit that is 

only responsible for state permit conditions relating to the 

discharge for which it is the operator. 

"Clean Water Act" or "CWA" means the federal Clean 

Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.), formerly referred to as 

the Federal Water Pollution Control Act or Federal Water 

Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1972, Public Law 92-

500, as amended by Public Law 95-217, Public Law 95-576, 

Public Law 96-483, and Public Law 97-117, or any 

subsequent revisions thereto. 

"CWA and regulations" means the Clean Water Act (CWA) 

and applicable regulations published in the Code of Federal 

Regulations promulgated thereunder. For the purposes of this 

chapter, it includes state program requirements. 

"Daily discharge" means the discharge of a pollutant 

measured during a calendar day or any 24-hour period that 

reasonably represents the calendar day for purposes of 

sampling. For pollutants with limitations expressed in units of 

mass, the daily discharge is calculated as the total mass of the 

pollutant discharged over the day. For pollutants with 

limitations expressed in other units of measurement, the daily 

discharge is calculated as the average measurement of the 

pollutant over the day. 

"Department" means the Department of Environmental 

Quality. 

"Development" means land disturbance and the resulting 

landform associated with the construction of residential, 

commercial, industrial, institutional, recreation, 

transportation, or utility facilities or structures or the clearing 

of land for nonagricultural or nonsilvicultural purposes. The 

regulation of discharges from development, for purposes of 

these regulations this chapter, does not include the 

exemptions found in 9VAC25-870-300. 

"Direct discharge" means the discharge of a pollutant. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality or his designee. 

"Discharge," when used without qualification, means the 

discharge of a pollutant. 

"Discharge of a pollutant" means: 

1. Any addition of any pollutant or combination of 

pollutants to state waters from any point source; or  

2. Any addition of any pollutant or combination of 

pollutants to the waters of the contiguous zone or the ocean 

from any point source other than a vessel or other floating 

craft which is being used as a means of transportation. 

This definition includes additions of pollutants into surface 

waters from: surface runoff that is collected or channeled by 

man; discharges through pipes, sewers, or other conveyances 

owned by a state, municipality, or other person that do not 

lead to a treatment works; and discharges through pipes, 

sewers, or other conveyances, leading into privately owned 

treatment works. This term does not include an addition of 

pollutants by any indirect discharger. 

"Discharge Monitoring Report" or "DMR" means the form 

supplied by the department, or an equivalent form developed 

by the operator and approved by the board, for the reporting 

of self-monitoring results by operators. 

"Draft state permit" means a document indicating the board's 

tentative decision to issue or deny, modify, revoke and 

reissue, terminate, or reissue a state individual or general 

permit. A notice of intent to deny a state individual or general 

permit is a type of draft state permit. A denial of a request for 

modification, revocation and reissuance, or termination is not 

a draft state permit.  

"Drainage area" means a land area, water area, or both from 

which runoff flows to a common point. 

"Effluent limitation" means any restriction imposed by the 

board on quantities, discharge rates, and concentrations of 

pollutants which are discharged from point sources into 

surface waters, the waters of the contiguous zone, or the 

ocean. 

"Effluent limitations guidelines" means a regulation 

published by the administrator under § 304(b) of the CWA to 

adopt or revise effluent limitations. 

"Environmental Protection Agency" or "EPA" means the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency. 

"Erosion and Sediment Control Law" means Article 2.4 

(§ 62.1-44.15:51 et seq.) of Chapter 3.1 of Title 62.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"ESC" means erosion and sediment control. 
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"Existing state permit" means for the purposes of this 

chapter a state permit issued by the board and currently held 

by a state permit applicant. 

"Existing source" means any source that is not a new source 

or a new discharger. 

"Facilities or equipment" means buildings, structures, 

process or production equipment or machinery that form a 

permanent part of a new source and that will be used in its 

operation, if these facilities or equipment are of such value as 

to represent a substantial commitment to construct. It 

excludes facilities or equipment used in connection with 

feasibility, engineering, and design studies regarding the new 

source or water pollution treatment for the new source. 

"Facility or activity" means any point source or treatment 

works treating domestic sewage or any other facility or 

activity (including land or appurtenances thereto) that is 

subject to regulation under the VSMP. 

"Flood fringe" means the portion of the floodplain outside 

the floodway that is usually covered with water from the 100-

year flood or storm event. This includes, but is not limited to, 

the flood or floodway fringe designated by the Federal 

Emergency Management Agency. 

"Flooding" means a volume of water that is too great to be 

confined within the banks or walls of the stream, water body 

or conveyance system and that overflows onto adjacent lands, 

thereby causing or threatening damage. 

"Floodplain" means the area adjacent to a channel, river, 

stream, or other water body that is susceptible to being 

inundated by water normally associated with the 100-year 

flood or storm event. This includes, but is not limited to, the 

floodplain designated by the Federal Emergency Management 

Agency. 

"Flood-prone area" means the component of a natural or 

restored stormwater conveyance system that is outside the 

main channel. Flood-prone areas may include, but are not 

limited to, the floodplain, the floodway, the flood fringe, 

wetlands, riparian buffers, or other areas adjacent to the main 

channel.  

"Floodway" means the channel of a river or other 

watercourse and the adjacent land areas, usually associated 

with flowing water, that must be reserved in order to 

discharge the 100-year flood or storm event without 

cumulatively increasing the water surface elevation more than 

one foot. This includes, but is not limited to, the floodway 

designated by the Federal Emergency Management Agency. 

"General permit" means a state permit authorizing a 

category of discharges under the CWA and the Act within a 

geographical area. 

"Hazardous substance" means any substance designated 

under the Code of Virginia or 40 CFR Part 116 pursuant to 

§ 311 of the CWA. 

"Hydrologic Unit Code" or "HUC" means a watershed unit 

established in the most recent version of Virginia's 6th Order 

National Watershed Boundary Dataset unless specifically 

identified as another order. 

"Illicit discharge" means any discharge to a municipal 

separate storm sewer that is not composed entirely of 

stormwater, except discharges pursuant to a separate VPDES 

or state permit (other than the state permit for discharges from 

the municipal separate storm sewer), discharges resulting 

from firefighting activities, and discharges identified by and 

in compliance with 9VAC25-870-400 D 2 c (3). 

"Impervious cover" means a surface composed of material 

that significantly impedes or prevents natural infiltration of 

water into soil.  

"Incorporated place" means a city, town, township, or 

village that is incorporated under the Code of Virginia. 

"Indian country" means (i) all land within the limits of any 

Indian reservation under the jurisdiction of the United States 

government, notwithstanding the issuance of any patent, and 

including rights-of-way running through the reservation; (ii) 

all dependent Indian communities with the borders of the 

United States whether within the originally or subsequently 

acquired territory thereof, and whether within or without the 

limits of a state; and (iii) all Indian allotments, the Indian 

titles to which have not been extinguished, including rights-

of-way running through the same.  

"Indirect discharger" means a nondomestic discharger 

introducing "pollutants" to a "publicly owned treatment 

works (POTW)." 

"Inspection" means an on-site review of the project's 

compliance with the permit or the state permit, the VSMP, 

and any applicable design criteria, or an on-site review to 

obtain information or conduct surveys or investigations 

necessary in the implementation or enforcement of the Act 

and this chapter. 

"Interstate agency" means an agency of two or more states 

established by or under an agreement or compact approved by 

Congress, or any other agency of two or more states having 

substantial powers or duties pertaining to the control of 

pollution as determined and approved by the administrator 

under the CWA and regulations. 

"Karst area" means any land area predominantly underlain at 

the surface or shallow subsurface by limestone, dolomite, or 

other soluble bedrock regardless of any obvious surface karst 

features. 

"Karst features" means sinkholes, sinking and losing 

streams, caves, large flow springs, and other such landscape 

features found in karst areas. 

"Land disturbance" or "land-disturbing activity" means a 

manmade change to the land surface that potentially changes 

its runoff characteristics including clearing, grading, or 

excavation, except that the term shall not include those 

exemptions specified in § 62.1-44.15:34 of the Code of 

Virginia. 
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"Large construction activity" means construction activity 

including clearing, grading and excavation, except operations 

that result in the disturbance of less than five acres of total 

land area. Large construction activity also includes the 

disturbance of less than five acres of total land area that is a 

part of a larger common plan of development or sale if the 

larger common plan will ultimately disturb five acres or 

more. Large construction activity does not include routine 

maintenance that is performed to maintain the original line 

and grade, hydraulic capacity, or original purpose of the 

facility.  

"Large municipal separate storm sewer system" means all 

municipal separate storm sewers that are either: 

1. Located in an incorporated place with a population of 

250,000 or more as determined by the 1990 decennial 

census by the Bureau of Census (40 CFR Part 122 

Appendix F); 

2. Located in the counties listed in 40 CFR Part 122 

Appendix H, except municipal separate storm sewers that 

are located in the incorporated places, townships or towns 

within such counties; 

3. Owned or operated by a municipality other than those 

described in subdivision 1 or 2 of this definition and that 

are designated by the board as part of the large or medium 

municipal separate storm sewer system due to the 

interrelationship between the discharges of the designated 

storm sewer and the discharges from municipal separate 

storm sewers described under subdivision 1 or 2 of this 

definition. In making this determination the board may 

consider the following factors: 

a. Physical interconnections between the municipal 

separate storm sewers; 

b. The location of discharges from the designated 

municipal separate storm sewer relative to discharges 

from municipal separate storm sewers described in 

subdivision 1 of this definition; 

c. The quantity and nature of pollutants discharged to 

surface waters; 

d. The nature of the receiving surface waters; and 

e. Other relevant factors. 

4. The board may, upon petition, designate as a large 

municipal separate storm sewer system, municipal separate 

storm sewers located within the boundaries of a region 

defined by a stormwater management regional authority 

based on a jurisdictional, watershed, or other appropriate 

basis that includes one or more of the systems described in 

this definition. 

"Layout" means a conceptual drawing sufficient to provide 

for the specified stormwater management facilities required at 

the time of approval.  

"Linear development project" means a land-disturbing 

activity that is linear in nature such as, but not limited to, (i) 

the construction of electric and telephone utility lines, and 

natural gas pipelines; (ii) construction of tracks, rights-of-

way, bridges, communication facilities and other related 

structures of a railroad company; (iii) highway construction 

projects; (iv) construction of stormwater channels and stream 

restoration activities; and (v) water and sewer lines. Private 

subdivision roads or streets shall not be considered linear 

development projects. 

"Locality" means a county, city, or town. 

"Localized flooding" means smaller scale flooding that may 

occur outside of a stormwater conveyance system. This may 

include high water, ponding, or standing water from 

stormwater runoff, which is likely to cause property damage 

or unsafe conditions. 

"Main channel" means the portion of the stormwater 

conveyance system that contains the base flow and small 

frequent storm events. 

"Major facility" means any facility or activity classified as 

such by the regional administrator in conjunction with the 

board. 

"Major modification" means, for the purposes of this 

chapter, the modification or amendment of an existing state 

permit before its expiration that is not a minor modification as 

defined in this regulation. 

"Major municipal separate storm sewer outfall" or "major 

outfall" means a municipal separate storm sewer outfall that 

discharges from a single pipe with an inside diameter of 36 

inches or more or its equivalent (discharge from a single 

conveyance other than circular pipe which is associated with 

a drainage area of more than 50 acres); or for municipal 

separate storm sewers that receive stormwater from lands 

zoned for industrial activity (based on comprehensive zoning 

plans or the equivalent), with an outfall that discharges from a 

single pipe with an inside diameter of 12 inches or more or 

from its equivalent (discharge from other than a circular pipe 

associated with a drainage area of two acres or more). 

"Manmade" means constructed by man. 

"Maximum daily discharge limitation" means the highest 

allowable daily discharge. 

"Maximum extent practicable" or "MEP" means the 

technology-based discharge standard for municipal separate 

storm sewer systems established by CWA § 402(p). MEP is 

achieved, in part, by selecting and implementing effective 

structural and nonstructural best management practices 

(BMPs) and rejecting ineffective BMPs and replacing them 

with effective best management practices (BMPs). MEP is an 

iterative standard, which evolves over time as urban runoff 

management knowledge increases. As such, the operator's 

MS4 program must continually be assessed and modified to 

incorporate improved programs, control measures, BMPs, 

etc., to attain compliance with water quality standards. 

"Medium municipal separate storm sewer system" means all 

municipal separate storm sewers that are either: 
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1. Located in an incorporated place with a population of 

100,000 or more but less than 250,000 as determined by 

the 1990 decennial census by the Bureau of Census 

(40 CFR Part 122 Appendix G);  

2. Located in the counties listed in 40 CFR Part 122 

Appendix I, except municipal separate storm sewers that 

are located in the incorporated places, townships or towns 

within such counties; 

3. Owned or operated by a municipality other than those 

described in subdivision 1 or 2 of this definition and that 

are designated by the board as part of the large or medium 

municipal separate storm sewer system due to the 

interrelationship between the discharges of the designated 

storm sewer and the discharges from municipal separate 

storm sewers described under subdivision 1 or 2 of this 

definition. In making this determination the board may 

consider the following factors: 

a. Physical interconnections between the municipal 

separate storm sewers; 

b. The location of discharges from the designated 

municipal separate storm sewer relative to discharges 

from municipal separate storm sewers described in 

subdivision 1 of this definition; 

c. The quantity and nature of pollutants discharged to 

surface waters; 

d. The nature of the receiving surface waters; or 

e. Other relevant factors. 

4. The board may, upon petition, designate as a medium 

municipal separate storm sewer system, municipal separate 

storm sewers located within the boundaries of a region 

defined by a stormwater management regional authority 

based on a jurisdictional, watershed, or other appropriate 

basis that includes one or more of the systems described in 

subdivisions 1, 2 and 3 of this definition. 

"Minimize" means to reduce or eliminate the discharge of 

pollutants to the extent achievable using stormwater controls 

that are technologically available and economically 

practicable. 

"Minor modification" means, for the purposes of this 

chapter, minor modification or amendment of an existing 

state permit before its expiration for the reasons listed at 

40 CFR 122.63 and as specified in 9VAC25-870-640. Minor 

modification for the purposes of this chapter also means other 

modifications and amendments not requiring extensive 

review and evaluation including, but not limited to, changes 

in EPA promulgated test protocols, increasing monitoring 

frequency requirements, changes in sampling locations, and 

changes to compliance dates within the overall compliance 

schedules. A minor state permit modification or amendment 

does not substantially alter state permit conditions, 

substantially increase or decrease the amount of surface water 

impacts, increase the size of the operation, or reduce the 

capacity of the facility to protect human health or the 

environment. 

"Municipal separate storm sewer" means a conveyance or 

system of conveyances otherwise known as a municipal 

separate storm sewer system, including roads with drainage 

systems, municipal streets, catch basins, curbs, gutters, 

ditches, manmade channels, or storm drains: 

1. Owned or operated by a federal, state, city, town, 

county, district, association, or other public body, created 

by or pursuant to state law, having jurisdiction or delegated 

authority for erosion and sediment control and stormwater 

management, or a designated and approved management 

agency under § 208 of the CWA that discharges to surface 

waters; 

2. Designed or used for collecting or conveying 

stormwater; 

3. That is not a combined sewer; and 

4. That is not part of a publicly owned treatment works. 

"Municipal separate storm sewer system" or "MS4" means 

all separate storm sewers that are defined as "large" or 

"medium" or "small" municipal separate storm sewer systems 

or designated under 9VAC25-870-380 A 1. 

"Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System Management 

Program" or "MS4 Program" means a management program 

covering the duration of a state permit for a municipal 

separate storm sewer system that includes a comprehensive 

planning process that involves public participation and 

intergovernmental coordination, to reduce the discharge of 

pollutants to the maximum extent practicable, to protect water 

quality, and to satisfy the appropriate water quality 

requirements of the CWA and regulations and the Act and 

attendant regulations, using management practices, control 

techniques, and system, design and engineering methods, and 

such other provisions that are appropriate. 

"Municipality" means a city, town, county, district, 

association, or other public body created by or under state law 

and having jurisdiction over disposal of sewage, industrial 

wastes, or other wastes, or an Indian tribe or an authorized 

Indian tribal organization, or a designated and approved 

management agency under § 208 of the CWA. 

"National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System" or 

"NPDES" means the national program for issuing, modifying, 

revoking and reissuing, terminating, monitoring and 

enforcing state permits, and imposing and enforcing 

pretreatment requirements under §§ 307, 402, 318, and 405 of 

the CWA. The term includes an approved program. 

"Natural channel design concepts" means the utilization of 

engineering analysis based on fluvial geomorphic processes 

to create, rehabilitate, restore, or stabilize an open conveyance 

system for the purpose of creating or recreating a stream that 

conveys its bankfull storm event within its banks and allows 

larger flows to access its floodplain. 
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"Natural stream" means a tidal or nontidal watercourse that 

is part of the natural topography. It usually maintains a 

continuous or seasonal flow during the year and is 

characterized as being irregular in cross-section with a 

meandering course. Constructed channels such as drainage 

ditches or swales shall not be considered natural streams; 

however, channels designed utilizing natural channel design 

concepts may be considered natural streams. 

"New discharger" means any building, structure, facility, or 

installation: 

1. From which there is or may be a discharge of pollutants; 

2. That did not commence the discharge of pollutants at a 

particular site prior to August 13, 1979; 

3. Which is not a new source; and 

4. Which has never received a finally effective separate 

VPDES or state permit for discharges at that site. 

This definition includes an indirect discharger that 

commences discharging into surface waters after August 13, 

1979. It also includes any existing mobile point source (other 

than an offshore or coastal oil and gas exploratory drilling rig 

or a coastal oil and gas developmental drilling rig) such as a 

seafood processing rig, seafood processing vessel, or 

aggregate plant, that begins discharging at a site for which it 

does not have a separate VPDES or state permit; and any 

offshore or coastal mobile oil and gas exploratory drilling rig 

or coastal mobile oil and gas developmental drilling rig that 

commences the discharge of pollutants after August 13, 1979. 

"New permit" means, for the purposes of this chapter, a state 

permit issued by the board to a state permit applicant that 

does not currently hold and has never held a state permit of 

that type, for that activity, at that location. An application for 

a new permit issued pursuant to this chapter, 9VAC25-880, or 

9VAC25-890 shall not be subject to §§ 62.1-44.15:3 A and 

62.1-44.15:4 D of the Code of Virginia. 

"New source," means any building, structure, facility, or 

installation from which there is or may be a discharge of 

pollutants, the construction of which commenced: 

1. After promulgation of standards of performance under 

§ 306 of the CWA that are applicable to such source; or 

2. After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of the CWA that are applicable to 

such source, but only if the standards are promulgated in 

accordance with § 306 of the CWA within 120 days of 

their proposal. 

"Nonpoint source pollution" means pollution such as 

sediment, nitrogen, phosphorous, hydrocarbons, heavy 

metals, and toxics whose sources cannot be pinpointed but 

rather are washed from the land surface in a diffuse manner 

by stormwater runoff. 

"Oil and gas exploration, production, processing, or 

treatment operations or transmission facilities" means all field 

activities or operations associated with exploration, 

production, or treatment operations, or transmission facilities, 

including activities necessary to prepare a site for drilling and 

for the movement and placement of drilling equipment, 

whether or not such field activities or operations may be 

considered to be construction activity. (33 USC § 1362(24)) 

"Operator" means the owner or operator of any facility or 

activity subject to the Act and this chapter. In the context of 

stormwater associated with a large or small construction 

activity, operator means any person associated with a 

construction project that meets either of the following two 

criteria: (i) the person has direct operational control over 

construction plans and specifications, including the ability to 

make modifications to those plans and specifications or (ii) 

the person has day-to-day operational control of those 

activities at a project that are necessary to ensure compliance 

with a stormwater pollution prevention plan for the site or 

other state permit or VSMP authority permit conditions (i.e., 

they are authorized to direct workers at a site to carry out 

activities required by the stormwater pollution prevention 

plan or comply with other permit conditions). In the context 

of stormwater discharges from Municipal Separate Storm 

Sewer Systems (MS4s), operator means the operator of the 

regulated MS4 system.  

"Outfall" means, when used in reference to municipal 

separate storm sewers, a point source at the point where a 

municipal separate storm sewer discharges to surface waters 

and does not include open conveyances connecting two 

municipal separate storm sewers, or pipes, tunnels or other 

conveyances which connect segments of the same stream or 

other surface waters and are used to convey surface waters. 

"Overburden" means any material of any nature, 

consolidated or unconsolidated, that overlies a mineral 

deposit, excluding topsoil or similar naturally occurring 

surface materials that are not disturbed by mining operations. 

"Owner" means the Commonwealth or any of its political 

subdivisions including, but not limited to, sanitation district 

commissions and authorities, and any public or private 

institution, corporation, association, firm or company 

organized or existing under the laws of this or any other state 

or country, or any officer or agency of the United States, or 

any person or group of persons acting individually or as a 

group that owns, operates, charters, rents, or otherwise 

exercises control over or is responsible for any actual or 

potential discharge of sewage, industrial wastes, or other 

wastes or pollutants to state waters, or any facility or 

operation that has the capability to alter the physical, 

chemical, or biological properties of state waters in 

contravention of § 62.1-44.5 of the Code of Virginia, the Act 

and this chapter. 

"Peak flow rate" means the maximum instantaneous flow 

from a prescribed design storm at a particular location. 

"Percent impervious" means the impervious area within the 

site divided by the area of the site multiplied by 100. 
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"Permit" or "VSMP authority permit" means an approval to 

conduct a land-disturbing activity issued by the VSMP 

authority for the initiation of a land-disturbing activity after 

evidence of general permit coverage has been provided where 

applicable.  

"Permittee" means the person to whom the state permit or 

VSMP authority permit is issued, including any owner or 

operator whose construction site is covered under a state 

construction general permit. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, state, municipality, commission, or political 

subdivision of a state, governmental body, including a 

federal, state, or local entity as applicable, any interstate body 

or any other legal entity. 

"Point of discharge" means a location at which concentrated 

stormwater runoff is released. 

"Point source" means any discernible, confined, and discrete 

conveyance including, but not limited to, any pipe, ditch, 

channel, tunnel, conduit, well, discrete fissure, container, 

rolling stock, concentrated animal feeding operation, landfill 

leachate collection system, vessel, or other floating craft from 

which pollutants are or may be discharged. This term does 

not include return flows from irrigated agriculture or 

agricultural stormwater runoff. 

"Pollutant" means dredged spoil, solid waste, incinerator 

residue, filter backwash, sewage, garbage, sewage sludge, 

munitions, chemical wastes, biological materials, radioactive 

materials (except those regulated under the Atomic Energy 

Act of 1954, as amended (42 USC § 2011 et seq.)), heat, 

wrecked or discarded equipment, rock, sand, cellar dirt and 

industrial, municipal, and agricultural waste discharged into 

water. It does not mean: 

1. Sewage from vessels; or 

2. Water, gas, or other material that is injected into a well 

to facilitate production of oil or gas, or water derived in 

association with oil and gas production and disposed of in 

a well if the well used either to facilitate production or for 

disposal purposes is approved by the board and if the board 

determines that the injection or disposal will not result in 

the degradation of groundwater or surface water resources. 

"Pollutant discharge" means the average amount of a 

particular pollutant measured in pounds per year or other 

standard reportable unit as appropriate, delivered by 

stormwater runoff. 

"Pollution" means such alteration of the physical, chemical 

or biological properties of any state waters as will or is likely 

to create a nuisance or render such waters (a) harmful or 

detrimental or injurious to the public health, safety or welfare, 

or to the health of animals, fish or aquatic life; (b) unsuitable 

with reasonable treatment for use as present or possible future 

sources of public water supply; or (c) unsuitable for 

recreational, commercial, industrial, agricultural, or other 

reasonable uses, provided that (i) an alteration of the physical, 

chemical, or biological property of state waters, or a 

discharge or deposit of sewage, industrial wastes or other 

wastes to state waters by any owner which by itself is not 

sufficient to cause pollution, but which, in combination with 

such alteration of or discharge or deposit to state waters by 

other owners, is sufficient to cause pollution; (ii) the 

discharge of untreated sewage by any owner into state waters; 

and (iii) contributing to the contravention of standards of 

water quality duly established by the State Water Control 

Board, are "pollution" for the terms and purposes of this 

chapter. 

"Postdevelopment" refers to conditions that reasonably may 

be expected or anticipated to exist after completion of the 

land development activity on a specific site. 

"Predevelopment" refers to the conditions that exist at the 

time that plans for the land development of a tract of land are 

submitted to the VSMP authority. Where phased development 

or plan approval occurs (preliminary grading, demolition of 

existing structures, roads and utilities, etc.), the existing 

conditions at the time prior to the first item being submitted 

shall establish predevelopment conditions. 

"Prior developed lands" means land that has been previously 

utilized for residential, commercial, industrial, institutional, 

recreation, transportation or utility facilities or structures, and 

that will have the impervious areas associated with those uses 

altered during a land-disturbing activity. 

"Privately owned treatment works" or "PVOTW" means any 

device or system that is (i) used to treat wastes from any 

facility whose operator is not the operator of the treatment 

works and (ii) not a POTW. 

"Publicly owned treatment works" or "POTW" means a 

treatment works as defined by § 212 of the CWA that is 

owned by a state or municipality (as defined by § 502(4) of 

the CWA). This definition includes any devices and systems 

used in the storage, treatment, recycling, and reclamation of 

municipal sewage or industrial wastes of a liquid nature. It 

also includes sewers, pipes, and other conveyances only if 

they convey wastewater to a POTW treatment plant. The term 

also means the municipality as defined in § 502(4) of the 

CWA, that has jurisdiction over the indirect discharges to and 

the discharges from such a treatment works. 

"Qualified personnel" means a person knowledgeable in the 

principles and practices of erosion and sediment and 

stormwater management controls who possesses the skills to 

assess conditions at the construction site for the operator that 

could impact stormwater quality and quantity and to assess 

the effectiveness of any sediment and erosion control 

measures or stormwater management facilities selected to 

control the quality and quantity of stormwater discharges 

from the construction activity. For VSMP authorities this 

requires the use of a person who holds a certificate of 

competency from the board in the area of project inspection 

for ESC and project inspection for SWM or combined 

administrator for ESC and combined administrator for SWM 
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as defined in 9VAC25-850-10 or a combination of ESC and 

SWM qualifications from these two areas. 

"Recommencing discharger" means a source that 

recommences discharge after terminating operations. 

"Regional administrator" means the Regional Administrator 

of Region III of the Environmental Protection Agency or the 

authorized representative of the regional administrator. 

"Revoked state permit" means, for the purposes of this 

chapter, an existing state permit that is terminated by the 

board before its expiration. 

"Runoff coefficient" means the fraction of total rainfall that 

will appear at a conveyance as runoff.  

"Runoff" or "stormwater runoff" means that portion of 

precipitation that is discharged across the land surface or 

through conveyances to one or more waterways. 

"Runoff characteristics" includes maximum velocity, peak 

flow rate, volume, and flow duration. 

"Runoff volume" means the volume of water that runs off 

the site from a prescribed design storm. 

"Schedule of compliance" means a schedule of remedial 

measures included in a state permit, including an enforceable 

sequence of interim requirements (for example, actions, 

operations, or milestone events) leading to compliance with 

the Act, the CWA and regulations. 

"Secretary" means the Secretary of the Army, acting through 

the Chief of Engineers. 

"Severe property damage" means substantial physical 

damage to property, damage to the treatment facilities that 

causes them to become inoperable, or substantial and 

permanent loss of natural resources that can reasonably be 

expected to occur in the absence of a bypass. Severe property 

damage does not mean economic loss caused by delays in 

production. 

"Significant materials" means, but is not limited to: raw 

materials; fuels; materials such as solvents, detergents, and 

plastic pellets; finished materials such as metallic products; 

raw materials used in food processing or production; 

hazardous substances designated under § 101(14) of 

CERCLA (42 USC § 9601(14)); any chemical the facility is 

required to report pursuant to § 313 of Title III of SARA 

(42 USC § 11023); fertilizers; pesticides; and waste products 

such as ashes, slag and sludge that have the potential to be 

released with stormwater discharges. 

"Single jurisdiction" means, for the purposes of this chapter, 

a single county or city. The term county includes incorporated 

towns which are part of the county. 

"Site" means the land or water area where any facility or 

land-disturbing activity is physically located or conducted, 

including adjacent land used or preserved in connection with 

the facility or land-disturbing activity. Areas channelward of 

mean low water in tidal Virginia shall not be considered part 

of a site. 

"Site hydrology" means the movement of water on, across, 

through and off the site as determined by parameters 

including, but not limited to, soil types, soil permeability, 

vegetative cover, seasonal water tables, slopes, land cover, 

and impervious cover. 

"Small construction activity" means: 

1. Construction activities including clearing, grading, and 

excavating that results in land disturbance of equal to or 

greater than one acre, and less than five acres. Small 

construction activity also includes the disturbance of less 

than one acre of total land area that is part of a larger 

common plan of development or sale if the larger common 

plan will ultimately disturb equal to or greater than one and 

less than five acres. Small construction activity does not 

include routine maintenance that is performed to maintain 

the original line and grade, hydraulic capacity, or original 

purpose of the facility. The board may waive the otherwise 

applicable requirements in a general permit for a 

stormwater discharge from construction activities that 

disturb less than five acres where stormwater controls are 

not needed based on an approved "total maximum daily 

load" (TMDL) that addresses the pollutant(s) of concern 

or, for nonimpaired waters that do not require TMDLs, an 

equivalent analysis that determines allocations for small 

construction sites for the pollutant(s) of concern or that 

determines that such allocations are not needed to protect 

water quality based on consideration of existing in-stream 

concentrations, expected growth in pollutant contributions 

from all sources, and a margin of safety. For the purpose of 

this subdivision, the pollutant(s) of concern include 

sediment or a parameter that addresses sediment (such as 

total suspended solids, turbidity or siltation) and any other 

pollutant that has been identified as a cause of impairment 

of any water body that will receive a discharge from the 

construction activity. The operator must certify to the 

board that the construction activity will take place, and 

stormwater discharges will occur, within the drainage area 

addressed by the TMDL or equivalent analysis. 

2. Any other construction activity designated by either the 

board or the EPA regional administrator, based on the 

potential for contribution to a violation of a water quality 

standard or for significant contribution of pollutants to 

surface waters. 

"Small municipal separate storm sewer system" or "small 

MS4" means all separate storm sewers that are (i) owned or 

operated by the United States, a state, city, town, borough, 

county, parish, district, association, or other public body 

(created by or pursuant to state law) having jurisdiction over 

disposal of sewage, industrial wastes, stormwater, or other 

wastes, including special districts under state law such as a 

sewer district, flood control district or drainage district, or 

similar entity, or an Indian tribe or an authorized Indian tribal 

organization, or a designated and approved management 

agency under § 208 of the CWA that discharges to surface 
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waters and (ii) not defined as "large" or "medium" municipal 

separate storm sewer systems or designated under 9VAC25-

870-380 A 1. This term includes systems similar to separate 

storm sewer systems in municipalities, such as systems at 

military bases, large hospital or prison complexes, and 

highway and other thoroughfares. The term does not include 

separate storm sewers in very discrete areas, such as 

individual buildings. 

"Source" means any building, structure, facility, or 

installation from which there is or may be a discharge of 

pollutants. 

"State" means the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"State application" or "application" means the standard form 

or forms, including any additions, revisions, or modifications 

to the forms, approved by the administrator and the board for 

applying for a state permit. 

"State/EPA agreement" means an agreement between the 

EPA regional administrator and the state that coordinates 

EPA and state activities, responsibilities and programs 

including those under the CWA and the Act. 

"State permit" means an approval to conduct a land-

disturbing activity issued by the board in the form of a state 

stormwater individual permit or coverage issued under a state 

general permit or an approval issued by the board for 

stormwater discharges from an MS4. Under these state 

permits, the Commonwealth imposes and enforces 

requirements pursuant to the federal Clean Water Act and 

regulations, the Act and this chapter. As the mechanism that 

imposes and enforces requirements pursuant to the federal 

Clean Water Act and regulations, a state permit for 

stormwater discharges from an MS4 and, after June 30, 2014, 

a state permit for conducting a land-disturbing activity issued 

pursuant to the Act, are also types of Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permits. State 

permit does not include any state permit that has not yet been 

the subject of final board action, such as a draft state permit. 

Approvals issued pursuant to this chapter, 9VAC25-880, and 

9VAC25-890 are not issuances of a permit under § 62.1-

44.15.01 of the Code of Virginia. 

"State project" means any land development project that is 

undertaken by any state agency, board, commission, authority 

or any branch of state government, including state-supported 

institutions of higher learning. 

"State Water Control Law" means Chapter 3.1 (§ 62.1-44.2 

et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"State waters" means all water, on the surface and under the 

ground, wholly or partially within or bordering the 

Commonwealth or within its jurisdiction, including wetlands. 

"Stormwater" means precipitation that is discharged across 

the land surface or through conveyances to one or more 

waterways and that may include stormwater runoff, snow 

melt runoff, and surface runoff and drainage. 

"Stormwater conveyance system" means a combination of 

drainage components that are used to convey stormwater 

discharge, either within or downstream of the land-disturbing 

activity. This includes: 

1. "Manmade stormwater conveyance system" means a 

pipe, ditch, vegetated swale, or other stormwater 

conveyance system constructed by man except for restored 

stormwater conveyance systems;  

2. "Natural stormwater conveyance system" means the 

main channel of a natural stream and the flood-prone area 

adjacent to the main channel; or  

3. "Restored stormwater conveyance system" means a 

stormwater conveyance system that has been designed and 

constructed using natural channel design concepts. 

Restored stormwater conveyance systems include the main 

channel and the flood-prone area adjacent to the main 

channel.  

"Stormwater discharge associated with construction activity" 

means a discharge of stormwater runoff from areas where 

land-disturbing activities (e.g., clearing, grading, or 

excavation); construction materials or equipment storage or 

maintenance (e.g., fill piles, borrow area, concrete truck 

washout, fueling); or other industrial stormwater directly 

related to the construction process (e.g., concrete or asphalt 

batch plants) are located. 

"Stormwater discharge associated with large construction 

activity" means the discharge of stormwater from large 

construction activities. 

"Stormwater discharge associated with small construction 

activity" means the discharge of stormwater from small 

construction activities. 

"Stormwater management facility" means a control measure 

that controls stormwater runoff and changes the 

characteristics of that runoff including, but not limited to, the 

quantity and quality, the period of release or the velocity of 

flow. 

"Stormwater management plan" means a document(s) 

containing material for describing methods for complying 

with the requirements of the VSMP or this chapter. An 

agreement in lieu of a stormwater management plan as 

defined in this chapter shall be considered to meet the 

requirements of a stormwater management plan. 

"Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plan" or "SWPPP" means 

a document that is prepared in accordance with good 

engineering practices and that identifies potential sources of 

pollutants that may reasonably be expected to affect the 

quality of stormwater discharges. A SWPPP required under a 

VSMP for construction activities shall identify and require 

the implementation of control measures, and shall include, 

but not be limited to the inclusion of, or the incorporation by 

reference of an approved erosion and sediment control plan, 

an approved stormwater management plan, and a pollution 

prevention plan. 
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"Subdivision" means the same as defined in § 15.2-2201 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Surface waters" means: 

1. All waters that are currently used, were used in the past, 

or may be susceptible to use in interstate or foreign 

commerce, including all waters that are subject to the ebb 

and flow of the tide; 

2. All interstate waters, including interstate wetlands; 

3. All other waters such as intrastate lakes, rivers, streams 

(including intermittent streams), mudflats, sandflats, 

wetlands, sloughs, prairie potholes, wet meadows, playa 

lakes, or natural ponds the use, degradation, or destruction 

of which would affect or could affect interstate or foreign 

commerce including any such waters: 

a. That are or could be used by interstate or foreign 

travelers for recreational or other purposes; 

b. From which fish or shellfish are or could be taken and 

sold in interstate or foreign commerce; or 

c. That are used or could be used for industrial purposes 

by industries in interstate commerce. 

4. All impoundments of waters otherwise defined as 

surface waters under this definition; 

5. Tributaries of waters identified in subdivisions 1 through 

4 of this definition; 

6. The territorial sea; and 

7. Wetlands adjacent to waters (other than waters that are 

themselves wetlands) identified in subdivisions 1 through 6 

of this definition. 

Waste treatment systems, including treatment ponds or 

lagoons designed to meet the requirements of the CWA and 

the law, are not surface waters. Surface waters do not include 

prior converted cropland. Notwithstanding the determination 

of an area's status as prior converted cropland by any other 

agency, for the purposes of the CWA, the final authority 

regarding the CWA jurisdiction remains with the EPA. 

"SWM" means stormwater management. 

"Total dissolved solids" means the total dissolved (filterable) 

solids as determined by use of the method specified in 

40 CFR Part 136. 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means the sum of 

the individual wasteload allocations for point sources, load 

allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, natural background 

loading and a margin of safety. TMDLs can be expressed in 

terms of either mass per time, toxicity, or other appropriate 

measure. The TMDL process provides for point versus 

nonpoint source trade-offs. 

"TMDL Action Plan" means the scheduled steps of activities 

that the MS4 operator will take to address the assumptions 

and requirements of the TMDL wasteload allocation. TMDL 

action plans may be implemented in multiple phases over 

more than one state permit cycle. 

"Toxic pollutant" means any pollutant listed as toxic under 

§ 307(a)(1) of the CWA or, in the case of sludge use or 

disposal practices, any pollutant identified in regulations 

implementing § 405(d) of the CWA. 

"Upset" means an exceptional incident in which there is 

unintentional and temporary noncompliance with technology 

based state permit effluent limitations because of factors 

beyond the reasonable control of the operator. An upset does 

not include noncompliance to the extent caused by 

operational error, improperly designed treatment facilities, 

inadequate treatment facilities, lack of preventive 

maintenance, or careless or improper operation. 

"Variance" means any mechanism or provision under § 301 

or § 316 of the CWA or under 40 CFR Part 125, or in the 

applicable federal effluent limitations guidelines that allows 

modification to or waiver of the generally applicable effluent 

limitation requirements or time deadlines of the CWA. This 

includes provisions that allow the establishment of alternative 

limitations based on fundamentally different factors or on 

§ 301(c), § 301(g), § 301(h), § 301(i), or § 316(a) of the 

CWA. 

"Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control Program" or 

"VESCP" means a program approved by the board that has 

been established by a VESCP authority for the effective 

control of soil erosion, sediment deposition, and 

nonagricultural runoff associated with a land-disturbing 

activity to prevent the unreasonable degradation of properties, 

stream channels, waters, and other natural resources and shall 

include such items where applicable as local ordinances, 

rules, permit requirements, annual standards and 

specifications, policies and guidelines, technical materials, 

and requirements for plan review, inspection, enforcement 

where authorized in the Erosion and Sediment Control Act 

and its attendant regulations, and evaluation consistent with 

the requirements of the Erosion and Sediment Control Act 

and its attendant regulations.  

"Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control Program authority" 

or "VESCP authority" means an authority approved by the 

board to operate a Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control 

Program. An authority may include a state entity, including 

the department; a federal entity; a district, county, city, or 

town; or for linear projects subject to annual standards and 

specifications, electric, natural gas and telephone utility 

companies, interstate and intrastate natural gas pipeline 

companies, railroad companies, or authorities created 

pursuant to § 15.2-5102 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

permit" or "VPDES permit" means a document issued by the 

State Water Control Board pursuant to the State Water 

Control Law authorizing, under prescribed conditions, the 

potential or actual discharge of pollutants from a point source 

to surface waters. 
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"Virginia Stormwater Management Act" means Article 2.3 

(§ 62.1-44.15:24 et seq.) of Chapter 3.1 of Title 62.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Virginia Stormwater BMP Clearinghouse Website" means 

a website that contains detailed design standards and 

specifications for control measures that may be used in 

Virginia to comply with the requirements of the Virginia 

Stormwater Management Act and associated regulations. 

"Virginia Stormwater Management Handbook" means a 

collection of pertinent information that provides general 

guidance for compliance with the Act and associated 

regulations and is developed by the department with advice 

from a stakeholder advisory committee. 

"Virginia Stormwater Management Program" or "VSMP" 

means a program approved by the board after September 13, 

2011, that has been established by a VSMP authority to 

manage the quality and quantity of runoff resulting from land-

disturbing activities and shall include such items as local 

ordinances, rules, permit requirements, annual standards and 

specifications, policies and guidelines, technical materials, 

and requirements for plan review, inspection, enforcement, 

where authorized in the Act and associated regulations, and 

evaluation consistent with the requirements of the SWM Act 

and associated regulations.  

"VSMP authority" means an authority approved by the 

board after September 13, 2011, to operate a Virginia 

Stormwater Management Program or, until such approval is 

given, the department. An authority may include a locality as 

set forth in § 62.1-44.15:27 of the Code of Virginia; state 

entity, including the department; federal entity; or, for linear 

projects subject to annual standards and specifications in 

accordance with subsection B of § 62.1-44.15:31 of the Code 

of Virginia, electric, natural gas, and telephone utility 

companies, interstate and intrastate natural gas pipeline 

companies, railroad companies, or authorities created 

pursuant to § 15.2-5102 of the Code of Virginia. Prior to 

approval, the board must find that the ordinances adopted by 

the locality's VSMP authority are consistent with the Act and 

this chapter including the General Permit for Discharges of 

Stormwater from Construction Activities (9VAC25-880).  

"Wasteload allocation" or "wasteload" or "WLA" means the 

portion of a receiving surface water's loading or assimilative 

capacity allocated to one of its existing or future point sources 

of pollution. WLAs are a type of water quality-based effluent 

limitation. 

"Water quality standards" or "WQS" means provisions of 

state or federal law that consist of a designated use or uses for 

the waters of the Commonwealth and water quality criteria 

for such waters based on such uses. Water quality standards 

are to protect the public health or welfare, enhance the quality 

of water, and serve the purposes of the State Water Control 

Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the Act 

(§ 62.1-44.15:24 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), and the 

CWA (33 USC § 1251 et seq.).  

"Watershed" means a defined land area drained by a river or 

stream, karst system, or system of connecting rivers or 

streams such that all surface water within the area flows 

through a single outlet. In karst areas, the karst feature to 

which the water drains may be considered the single outlet for 

the watershed. 

"Wetlands" means those areas that are inundated or 

saturated by surface water or groundwater at a frequency and 

duration sufficient to support, and that under normal 

circumstances do support, a prevalence of vegetation 

typically adapted for life in saturated soil conditions. 

Wetlands generally include swamps, marshes, bogs, and 

similar areas. 

"Whole effluent toxicity" means the aggregate toxic effect 

of an effluent measured directly by a toxicity test. 

9VAC25-870-51. Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act land-

disturbing activity. 

A. In order to protect the quality of state waters and to 

control the discharge of stormwater pollutants from land-

disturbing activities, runoff associated with Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Act land-disturbing activities shall be controlled 

regulated by localities subject to the Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Act or, in the case of state and federal agency 

projects, the department. In regulating such land-disturbing 

activities in accordance with subsection B of this section, 

localities shall have the same authority and responsibilities as 

set forth in these regulations for VSMP authorities.  

B. After June 30, 2014, such land-disturbing activities shall 

not require completion of a registration statement or require 

coverage under the General Permit for Discharges of 

Stormwater from Construction Activities but shall be subject 

to the following technical criteria and program and 

administrative requirements: 

1. An erosion and sediment control plan consistent with the 

requirements of the Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control 

Law and regulations must be designed and implemented 

during land disturbing activities. Prior to land disturbance, 

this plan must be approved by either the VESCP authority 

or the department in accordance with the Virginia Erosion 

and Sediment Control Law and attendant regulations. 

2. A stormwater management plan consistent with the 

requirements of the Virginia Stormwater Management Act 

and regulations must be designed and implemented during 

the land-disturbing activity. The stormwater management 

plan shall be developed and submitted in accordance with 

9VAC25-870-55. Prior to land disturbance, this plan must 

be approved by the VSMP authority. 

3. Exceptions may be requested in accordance with 

9VAC25-870-57. 

4. Long-term maintenance of stormwater management 

facilities shall be provided for and conducted in accordance 

with 9VAC25-870-58. 
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5. Water quality design criteria in 9VAC25-870-63 shall be 

applied to the site. 

6. Water quality compliance shall be achieved in 

accordance with 9VAC25-870-65. 

7. Channel protection and flood protection shall be 

achieved in accordance with 9VAC25-870-66. 

8. Offsite compliance options in accordance with 9VAC25-

870-69 shall be available to Chesapeake Bay Preservation 

Act land-disturbing activities. 

9. Such land-disturbing activities shall be subject to the 

design storm and hydrologic methods set out in 9VAC25-

870-72, linear development controls in 9VAC25-870-76, 

and criteria associated with stormwater impoundment 

structures or facilities in 9VAC25-870-85. 

9VAC25-870-55. Stormwater management plans. 

A. A stormwater management plan shall be developed and 

submitted to the VSMP authority. The stormwater 

management plan shall be implemented as approved or 

modified by the VSMP authority and shall be developed in 

accordance with the following:  

1. A stormwater management plan for a land-disturbing 

activity shall apply the stormwater management technical 

criteria set forth in this part to the entire land-disturbing 

activity. Individual lots in new residential, commercial, or 

industrial developments, including those developed under 

subsequent owners, shall not be considered separate land-

disturbing activities. 

2. A stormwater management plan shall consider all 

sources of surface runoff and all sources of subsurface and 

groundwater flows converted to surface runoff.  

B. A complete stormwater management plan shall include 

the following elements: 

1. Information on the type of and location of stormwater 

discharges, information on the features to which 

stormwater is being discharged including surface waters or 

karst features if present, and predevelopment and 

postdevelopment drainage areas; 

2. Contact information including the name, address, 

telephone number, and email address of the owner and the 

tax reference number and parcel number of the property or 

properties affected; 

3. A narrative that includes a description of current site 

conditions and final site conditions or if allowed by the 

VSMP authority, the information provided and 

documented during the review process that addresses the 

current and final site conditions; 

4. A general description of the proposed stormwater 

management facilities and the mechanism through which 

the facilities will be operated and maintained after 

construction is complete; 

5. Information on the proposed stormwater management 

facilities, including (i) the type of facilities; (ii) location, 

including geographic coordinates; (iii) acres treated; and 

(iv) the surface waters or karst features into which the 

facility will discharge; 

6. Hydrologic and hydraulic computations, including 

runoff characteristics; 

7. Documentation and calculations verifying compliance 

with the water quality and quantity requirements of these 

regulations; 

8. A map or maps of the site that depicts the topography of 

the site and includes:  

a. All contributing drainage areas;  

b. Existing streams, ponds, culverts, ditches, wetlands, 

other water bodies, and floodplains; 

c. Soil types, geologic formations if karst features are 

present in the area, forest cover, and other vegetative 

areas; 

d. Current land use including existing structures, roads, 

and locations of known utilities and easements; 

e. Sufficient information on adjoining parcels to assess 

the impacts of stormwater from the site on these parcels; 

f. The limits of clearing and grading, and the proposed 

drainage patterns on the site; 

g. Proposed buildings, roads, parking areas, utilities, and 

stormwater management facilities; and 

h. Proposed land use with tabulation of the percentage of 

surface area to be adapted to various uses, including but 

not limited to planned locations of utilities, roads, and 

easements; 

9. If an operator intends to meet the requirements 

established in 9VAC25-870-63 or 9VAC25-870-66 

through the use of off-site compliance options, where 

applicable, then a letter of availability from the off-site 

provider must be included; and 

10. If payment of a fee is required with the stormwater 

management plan submission by the VSMP authority, the 

fee and the required fee form in accordance with Part XIII 

(9VAC25-870-700 et seq.) must have been submitted. 

C. Elements of the stormwater management plans that 

include activities regulated under Chapter 4 (§ 54.1-400 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia shall be 

appropriately sealed and signed by a professional registered 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia pursuant to Article 1 

(§ 54.1-400 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

D. A construction record drawing for permanent stormwater 

management facilities shall be submitted to the VSMP 

authority in accordance with 9VAC25-870-108 and 9VAC25-

870-112. The construction record drawing shall be 

appropriately sealed and signed by a professional registered 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia, certifying that the 

stormwater management facilities have been constructed in 

accordance with the approved plan.  
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9VAC25-870-59. Applying for state permit coverage. 

The operator must submit a complete and accurate 

registration statement, if such statement is required, on the 

official department form to the VSMP authority in order to 

apply for state permit coverage. The registration statement 

must be signed by the operator in accordance with 9VAC25-

870-370. In accordance with § 62.1-44.15:28 of the Code of 

Virginia, no registration statement is required for the 

construction of a single-family detached residential structure 

within or outside a common plan of development or sale.  

9VAC25-870-65. Water quality compliance. 

A. Compliance with the water quality design criteria set out 

in subdivisions A 1 and A 2 of 9VAC25-870-63 shall be 

determined by utilizing the Virginia Runoff Reduction 

Method or another equivalent methodology that is approved 

by the board. 

B. The BMPs listed in this subsection are approved for use 

as necessary to effectively reduce the phosphorus load and 

runoff volume in accordance with the Virginia Runoff 

Reduction Method. Other approved BMPs found on the 

Virginia Stormwater BMP Clearinghouse Website may also 

be utilized. Design specifications and the pollutant removal 

efficiencies for all approved BMPs are found on the Virginia 

Stormwater BMP Clearinghouse Website.  

1. Vegetated Roof (Version 2.3, March 1, 2011); 

2. Rooftop Disconnection (Version 1.9, March 1, 2011); 

3. Rainwater Harvesting (Version 1.9.5, March 1, 2011); 

4. Soil Amendments (Version 1.8, March 1, 2011); 

5. Permeable Pavement (Version 1.8, March 1, 2011);  

6. Grass Channel (Version 1.9, March 1, 2011); 

7. Bioretention (Version 1.9, March 1, 2011); 

8. Infiltration (Version 1.9, March 1, 2011); 

9. Dry Swale (Version 1.9, March 1, 2011); 

10. Wet Swale (Version 1.9, March 1, 2011); 

11. Sheet Flow to Filter/Open Space (Version 1.9, March 

1, 2011); 

12. Extended Detention Pond (Version 1.9, March 1, 

2011); 

13. Filtering Practice (Version 1.8, March 1, 2011); 

14. Constructed Wetland (Version 1.9, March 1, 2011); 

and  

15. Wet Pond (Version 1.9, March 1, 2011).  

C. BMPs differing from those listed in subsection B of this 

section or proprietary BMPs certified in other states shall be 

reviewed and approved by the director in accordance with 

procedures established by the department. 

D. A VSMP authority may establish limitations on the use 

of specific BMPs in accordance with § 62.1-44.15:33 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

E. The VSMP authority shall have the discretion to allow for 

application of the design criteria to each drainage area of the 

site. However, where a site drains to more than one HUC, the 

pollutant load reduction requirements shall be applied 

independently within each HUC unless reductions are 

achieved in accordance with a comprehensive watershed 

stormwater management plan in accordance with 9VAC25-

870-92.  

F. Offsite alternatives where allowed in accordance with 

9VAC25-870-69 may be utilized to meet the design criteria of 

subsection A of 9VAC25-870-63.  

9VAC25-870-66. Water quantity. 

A. Channel protection and flood protection shall be 

addressed in accordance with the minimum standards set out 

in this section, which are established pursuant to the 

requirements of subdivision 7 of § 62.1-44.15:28 of the Code 

of Virginia. Nothing in this section shall prohibit a locality's 

VSMP authority from establishing a more stringent standard 

in accordance with § 62.1-44.15:33 of the Code of Virginia 

especially where more stringent requirements are necessary to 

address total maximum daily load requirements or to protect 

exceptional state waters. Compliance with the minimum 

standards set out in this section shall be deemed to satisfy the 

requirements of subdivision 19 of 9VAC25-840-40 

(Minimum standards; Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control 

Regulations).  

B. Channel protection. Concentrated stormwater flow shall 

be released into a stormwater conveyance system and shall 

meet the criteria in subdivision 1, 2, or 3 of this subsection, 

where applicable, from the point of discharge to a point to the 

limits of analysis in subdivision 4 of this subsection. 

1. Manmade stormwater conveyance systems. When 

stormwater from a development is discharged to a 

manmade stormwater conveyance system, following the 

land-disturbing activity, either: 

a. The manmade stormwater conveyance system shall 

convey the postdevelopment peak flow rate from the 

two-year 24-hour storm event without causing erosion of 

the system. Detention of stormwater or downstream 

improvements may be incorporated into the approved 

land-disturbing activity to meet this criterion, at the 

discretion of the VSMP authority; or  

b. The peak discharge requirements for concentrated 

stormwater flow to natural stormwater conveyance 

systems in subdivision 3 of this subsection shall be met. 

2. Restored stormwater conveyance systems. When 

stormwater from a development is discharged to a restored 

stormwater conveyance system that has been restored 

using natural design concepts, following the land-

disturbing activity, either: 

a. The development shall be consistent, in combination 

with other stormwater runoff, with the design parameters 
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of the restored stormwater conveyance system that is 

functioning in accordance with the design objectives; or  

b. The peak discharge requirements for concentrated 

stormwater flow to natural stormwater conveyance 

systems in subdivision 3 of this subsection shall be met. 

3. Natural stormwater conveyance systems. When 

stormwater from a development is discharged to a natural 

stormwater conveyance system, the maximum peak flow 

rate from the one-year 24-hour storm following the land-

disturbing activity shall be calculated either: 

a. In accordance with the following methodology: 

QDeveloped ≤ I.F.*(QPre-developed* RVPre-Developed)/RVDeveloped 

Under no condition shall QDeveloped be greater than QPre-

Developed nor shall QDeveloped be required to be less than that 

calculated in the equation (QForest * RVForest)/RVDeveloped; 

where 

I.F. (Improvement Factor) equals 0.8 for sites > 1 acre or 

0.9 for sites ≤ 1 acre.  

QDeveloped = The allowable peak flow rate of runoff from 

the developed site.  

RVDeveloped = The volume of runoff from the site in the 

developed condition. 

QPre-Developed = The peak flow rate of runoff from the site 

in the pre-developed condition. 

RVPre-Developed = The volume of runoff from the site in 

pre-developed condition. 

QForest = The peak flow rate of runoff from the site in a 

forested condition. 

RVForest = The volume of runoff from the site in a 

forested condition; or 

b. In accordance with another methodology that is 

demonstrated by the VSMP authority to achieve 

equivalent results and is approved by the board. 

4. Limits of analysis. Unless subdivision 3 of this 

subsection is utilized to show compliance with the channel 

protection criteria, stormwater conveyance systems shall 

be analyzed for compliance with channel protection criteria 

to a point where either:  

a. Based on land area, the site's contributing drainage 

area is less than or equal to 1.0% of the total watershed 

area; or  

b. Based on peak flow rate, the site's peak flow rate from 

the one-year 24-hour storm is less than or equal to 1.0% 

of the existing peak flow rate from the one-year 24-hour 

storm prior to the implementation of any stormwater 

quantity control measures.  

C. Flood protection. Concentrated stormwater flow shall be 

released into a stormwater conveyance system and shall meet 

one of the following criteria as demonstrated by use of 

acceptable hydrologic and hydraulic methodologies: 

1. Concentrated stormwater flow to stormwater 

conveyance systems that currently do not experience 

localized flooding during the 10-year 24-hour storm event: 

The point of discharge releases stormwater into a 

stormwater conveyance system that, following the land-

disturbing activity, confines the postdevelopment peak 

flow rate from the 10-year 24-hour storm event within the 

stormwater conveyance system. Detention of stormwater 

or downstream improvements may be incorporated into the 

approved land-disturbing activity to meet this criterion, at 

the discretion of the VSMP authority. 

2. Concentrated stormwater flow to stormwater 

conveyance systems that currently experience localized 

flooding during the 10-year 24-hour storm event: The point 

of discharge either:  

a. Confines the postdevelopment peak flow rate from the 

10-year 24-hour storm event within the stormwater 

conveyance system to avoid the localized flooding. 

Detention of stormwater or downstream improvements 

may be incorporated into the approved land-disturbing 

activity to meet this criterion, at the discretion of the 

VSMP authority; or 

b. Releases a postdevelopment peak flow rate for the 10-

year 24-hour storm event that is less than the 

predevelopment peak flow rate from the 10-year 24-hour 

storm event. Downstream stormwater conveyance 

systems do not require any additional analysis to show 

compliance with flood protection criteria if this option is 

utilized. 

3. Limits of analysis. Unless subdivision 2 b of this 

subsection is utilized to comply with the flood protection 

criteria, stormwater conveyance systems shall be analyzed 

for compliance with flood protection criteria to a point 

where: 

a. The site's contributing drainage area is less than or 

equal to 1.0% of the total watershed area draining to a 

point of analysis in the downstream stormwater 

conveyance system;  

b. Based on peak flow rate, the site's peak flow rate from 

the 10-year 24-hour storm event is less than or equal to 

1.0% of the existing peak flow rate from the 10-year 24-

hour storm event prior to the implementation of any 

stormwater quantity control measures; or 

c. The stormwater conveyance system enters a mapped 

floodplain or other flood-prone area, adopted by 

ordinance, of any locality. 

D. Increased volumes of sheet flow resulting from pervious 

or disconnected impervious areas, or from physical spreading 

of concentrated flow through level spreaders, must be 

identified and evaluated for potential impacts on down-

gradient properties or resources. Increased volumes of sheet 

flow that will cause or contribute to erosion, sedimentation, 

or flooding of down gradient properties or resources shall be 
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diverted to a stormwater management facility or a stormwater 

conveyance system that conveys the runoff without causing 

down-gradient erosion, sedimentation, or flooding. If all 

runoff from the site is sheet flow and the conditions of this 

subsection are met, no further water quantity controls are 

required. 

E. For purposes of computing predevelopment runoff, all 

pervious lands on the site shall be assumed to be in good 

hydrologic condition in accordance with the U.S. Department 

of Agriculture's Natural Resources Conservation Service 

(NRCS) standards, regardless of conditions existing at the 

time of computation. Predevelopment runoff calculations 

utilizing other hydrologic conditions may be utilized provided 

that it is demonstrated to and approved by the VSMP 

authority that actual site conditions warrant such 

considerations. 

F. Predevelopment and postdevelopment runoff 

characteristics and site hydrology shall be verified by site 

inspections, topographic surveys, available soil mapping or 

studies, and calculations consistent with good engineering 

practices. Guidance provided in the Virginia Stormwater 

Management Handbook and on the Virginia Stormwater 

BMP Clearinghouse Website shall be considered appropriate 

practices. 

9VAC25-870-103. VSMP authority requirements 

Requirements for Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act land-

disturbing activities. 

A. A VSMP authority Localities subject to the Chesapeake 

Bay Preservation Act shall regulate runoff associated with 

Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act land-disturbing activities in 

accordance with the following: 

1. After June 30, 2014, such land-disturbing activities shall 

not require completion of a registration statement or 

require coverage under the General Permit for Discharges 

of Stormwater from Construction Activities but shall be 

subject to the technical criteria and program and 

administrative requirements set out in 9VAC25-870-51. 

2. A local or VSMP authority permit, where as applicable, 

shall be issued permitting the land-disturbing activity. 

3. The VSMP authority locality shall regulate such land-

disturbing activities in compliance with the: 

a. Program requirements in 9VAC25-870-104; 

b. Plan review requirements in 9VAC25-870-108 with 

the exception of subsection D of 9VAC25-870-108; 

c. Long-term stormwater management facility 

requirements of 9VAC25-870-112; 

d. Inspection requirements of 9VAC25-870-114 with the 

exception of subdivisions A 3 and A 4 of 9VAC25-870-

114; 

e. Enforcement components of 9VAC25-870-116; 

f. Hearing requirements of 9VAC25-870-118; 

g. Exception conditions of 9VAC25-870-122 excluding 

subsection C of 9VAC25-870-122 which is not 

applicable; and 

h. Reporting and recordkeeping requirements of 

9VAC25-870-126 with the exception of subdivision B 3 

of 9VAC25-870-126. 

B. A locality's VSMP authority locality subject to the 

Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act shall adopt an ordinance, 

and other VSMP authorities shall provide program 

documentation, that incorporates the components of this 

section. 

C. In accordance with subdivision A 5 of § 62.1-44.15:28 of 

the Code of Virginia, a locality's VSMP authority may collect 

a permit issuance fee from the applicant of $290 and an 

annual maintenance fee of $50 for such land-disturbing 

activities. 

9VAC25-870-118. Hearings. 

The VSMP authority shall ensure that any Any permit 

applicant, permittee, or person subject to state permit 

requirements under the Act Stormwater Management Act 

aggrieved by any action of the VSMP authority department or 

board taken without a formal hearing, or by inaction of the 

VSMP authority, shall have a right to may demand in writing 

a formal hearing pursuant to § 62.1-44.15:44 of the Code of 

Virginia and shall ensure that all hearings held under this 

chapter shall be conducted in a manner consistent with 

§ 62.1-44.26 of the Code of Virginia or as otherwise provided 

by law. A locality holding hearings under this chapter shall 

do so in a manner consistent with local hearing procedures. 

The provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq.) seq. of the Code of Virginia) shall not apply to 

decisions rendered by localities but appeals. Appeals of 

decisions rendered by localities shall be conducted in 

accordance with local appeal procedures and shall include an 

opportunity for judicial review in the circuit court of the 

locality in which the land disturbance occurs or is proposed to 

occur. Unless otherwise provided by law, the circuit court 

shall conduct such review in accordance with the standards 

established in § 2.2-4027 of the Code of Virginia, and the 

decisions of the circuit court shall be subject to review by the 

Court of Appeals, as in other cases under this chapter. 

9VAC25-870-150. Authorization procedures for Virginia 

stormwater management programs. 

A. A locality required to adopt adopting a VSMP in 

accordance with § 62.1-44.15:27 A of the Code of Virginia or 

a town electing to adopt its own VSMP in accordance with 

§ 62.1-44.15:27 B of the Code of Virginia, must submit to the 

board an application package which that, at a minimum, 

contains the following: 

1. The draft VSMP ordinance(s) as required in 9VAC25-

870-148; 

2. A funding and staffing plan;  
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3. The policies and procedures including, but not limited 

to, agreements with Soil and Water Conservation Districts, 

adjacent localities, or other public or private entities for the 

administration, plan review, inspection, and enforcement 

components of the program; and 

4. Such ordinances, plans, policies, and procedures must 

account for any town lying within the county as part of the 

locality's VSMP program unless such towns choose to 

adopt their own program. 

B. Upon receipt of an application package, the board or its 

designee shall have 30 calendar days to determine the 

completeness of the application package. If an application 

package is deemed to be incomplete based on the criteria set 

out in subsection A of this section, the board or its designee 

must identify to the VSMP authority applicant in writing the 

reasons the application package is deemed deficient. 

C. Upon receipt of a complete application package, the 

board or its designee shall have 120 calendar days for the 

review of the application package, unless an extension of 

time, not to exceed 12 months unless otherwise specified by 

the board in accordance with § 62.1-44.15:27 M of the Code 

of Virginia, is requested by the department, provided the 

VSMP authority applicant has made substantive progress. 

During the 120-day review period, the board or its designee 

shall either approve or disapprove the application, or notify 

the locality of a time extension for the review, and 

communicate its decision to the VSMP authority applicant in 

writing. If the application is not approved, the reasons for not 

approving the application shall be provided to the VSMP 

authority applicant in writing. Approval or denial shall be 

based on the application's compliance with the Virginia 

Stormwater Management Act and this chapter. 

D. A VSMP authority applicant in accordance with § 62.1-

44.15:27 of the Code of Virginia shall submit a complete 

application package for the board's review pursuant to a 

schedule set by the board in accordance with § 62.1-44.15:27 

and shall adopt a VSMP consistent with the Act and this 

chapter within the timeframe established pursuant to § 62.1-

44.15:27 or otherwise established by the board. 

E. A town locality or other authorized entity not required to 

adopt a VSMP in accordance with § 62.1-44.15:27 A of the 

Code of Virginia but electing to adopt a VSMP may shall 

notify the board department. Such notification shall include a 

proposed schedule for adoption of date for a local stormwater 

management program on or after July 1, 2014, and within a 

timeframe agreed upon by the board in accordance with a 

schedule developed by the department. 

9VAC25-870-820. Fees for an individual permit or 

coverage under the General Permit for Discharges of 

Stormwater from Construction Activities. 

The following fees apply, until June 30, 2014, to coverage 

under the General Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from 

Construction Activities issued by the department prior to a 

VSMP authority being approved by the board in the area 

where the applicable land-disturbing activity is located, or 

where the department has issued an individual permit or 

coverage under the General Permit for Discharges of 

Stormwater from Construction Activities for a state or federal 

agency. 

General / Stormwater Management - 

Phase I Land Clearing (Large 

Construction Activity - Sites or 

common plans of development equal 

to or greater than five acres) 

$750 

General / Stormwater Management - 

Phase II Land Clearing (Small 

Construction Activity - Sites or 

common plans of development equal 

to or greater than one acre and less 

than five acres) 

$450 

General / Stormwater Management - 

Small Construction Activity/Land 

Clearing (Sites within designated areas 

of Chesapeake Bay Act localities with 

land disturbance acreage equal to or 

greater than 2,500 square feet and less 

than one acre)  

(Fee valid until July 1, 2014) 

$200 

Individual Permit for Discharges of 

Stormwater from Construction 

Activities 

$15,000 

The following total fees to be paid by an applicant apply to 

(i) any operator seeking coverage under a July 1, 2014, 

General Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from 

Construction Activities or (ii) on or after July 1, 2014, to any 

operator seeking coverage under a General Permit for 

Discharges of Stormwater from Construction Activities, a 

state or federal agency that does not file annual standards and 

specifications, or an individual permit issued by the board. 

On and after approval by the board of a VSMP authority for 

coverage under the General Permit for Discharges of 

Stormwater from Construction Activities, no more than 50% 

of the total fee to be paid by an applicant set out in this part 

shall be due at the time that a stormwater management plan or 

an initial stormwater management plan is submitted for 

review in accordance with 9VAC25-870-108. The remaining 

total fee balance to be paid by an applicant shall be due prior 

to the issuance of coverage under the General Permit for 

Discharges of Stormwater from Construction Activities. 

When a site or sites are purchased for development within a 

previously permitted common plan of development or sale, 

the applicant shall be subject to fees ("total fee to be paid by 

applicant" column) in accordance with the disturbed acreage 

of their site or sites according to the following table. 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 28, 2014 

2666 

Fee type Total fee to 

be paid by 

applicant 

(includes 

both VSMP 

authority and 

department 

portions 

where 

applicable) 

Department 

portion of 

"total fee to 

be paid by 

applicant" 

(based on 

28% of total 

fee paid*) 

Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Act Land-

Disturbing Activity (not 

subject to General 

Permit coverage; sites 

within designated areas 

of Chesapeake Bay Act 

localities with land-

disturbance acreage 

equal to or greater than 

2,500 square feet and 

less than one acre) 

$290 $0 

General / Stormwater 

Management - Small 

Construction 

Activity/Chesapeake 

Bay Preservation Act 

Land-Disturbing 

Activity (not subject to 

General Permit 

coverage)/Land 

Clearing (Single-family 

detached residential 

structures within or 

outside a common plan 

of development or sale 

with land-disturbance 

acreage less than five 

acres) 

$209 $0 

General / Stormwater 

Management - Small 

Construction 

Activity/Land Clearing 

(Areas within common 

plans of development or 

sale with land-

disturbance acreage less 

than one acre) (Areas 

within common plans of 

development or sale 

with land-disturbance 

acreage less than one 

acre, except for single-

$290 $81 

family detached 

residential structures) 

General / Stormwater 

Management - Small 

Construction 

Activity/Land Clearing 

(Sites or areas within 

common plans of 

development or sale 

with land-disturbance 

acreage equal to or 

greater than one acre 

and less than five acres) 

$2,700 $756 

General / Stormwater 

Management - Large 

Construction 

Activity/Land Clearing 

(Sites or areas within 

common plans of 

development or sale 

with land-disturbance 

acreage equal to or 

greater than five acres 

and less than 10 acres) 

$3,400 $952 

General / Stormwater 

Management - Large 

Construction 

Activity/Land Clearing 

(Sites or areas within 

common plans of 

development or sale 

with land-disturbance 

acreage equal to or 

greater than 10 acres 

and less than 50 acres) 

$4,500 $1,260 

General / Stormwater 

Management - Large 

Construction 

Activity/Land Clearing 

(Sites or areas within 

common plans of 

development or sale 

with land-disturbance 

acreage equal to or 

greater than 50 acres 

and less than 100 acres) 

$6,100 $1,708 

General / Stormwater 

Management - Large 

Construction 

Activity/Land Clearing 

(Sites or areas within 

common plans of 

development or sale 

$9,600 $2,688 
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with land-disturbance 

acreage equal to or 

greater than 100 acres) 

Individual Permit for 

Discharges of 

Stormwater from 

Construction Activities 

(This will be 

administered by the 

department) 

$15,000 $15,000 

* If the project is completely administered by the 

department such as may be the case for a state or federal 

project or projects covered by individual permits, the 

entire applicant fee shall be paid to the department. 

The following fees apply, on or after July 1, 2014, to 

coverage under the General Permit for Discharges of 

Stormwater from Construction Activities issued by the board 

for a state or federal agency that has annual standards and 

specifications approved by the board. 

General / Stormwater Management - 

Phase I Land Clearing (Large 

Construction Activity - Sites or common 

plans of development equal to or greater 

than five acres) 

$750 

General / Stormwater Management - 

Phase II Land Clearing (Small 

Construction Activity - Sites or common 

plans of development equal to or greater 

than one acre and less than five acres) 

$450 

9VAC25-870-825. Fees for the modification or transfer of 

individual permits or of registration statements for the 

General Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from 

Construction Activities. 

The following fees apply to modification or transfer of 

individual permits or of registration statements for the 

General Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from 

Construction Activities issued by the board. If the state permit 

modifications result in changes to stormwater management 

plans that require additional review by the VSMP authority, 

such reviews shall be subject to the fees set out in this 

section. The fee assessed shall be based on the total disturbed 

acreage of the site. In addition to the state permit modification 

fee, modifications resulting in an increase in total disturbed 

acreage shall pay the difference in the initial state permit fee 

paid and the state permit fee that would have applied for the 

total disturbed acreage in 9VAC25-870-820. No modification 

or transfer fee shall be required until such board-approved 

programs exist. These fees shall only be effective when 

assessed by a VSMP authority, including the department 

when acting in that capacity, that has been approved by the 

board. No modification fee shall be required for the General 

Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from Construction 

Activities for a state or federal agency that is administering a 

project in accordance with approved annual standards and 

specifications but shall apply to all other state or federal 

agency projects. 

General / Stormwater Management – Small 

Construction Activity/Land Clearing (Areas 

within common plans of development or sale 

with land disturbance acreage less than one 

acre) (Areas within common plans of 

development or sale with land-disturbance 

acreage less than one acre, except for single-

family detached residential structures) 

$20 

General / Stormwater Management – Small 

Construction Activity/Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Act Land-Disturbing Activity 

(not subject to General Permit coverage)/Land 

Clearing (Single-family detached residential 

structures within or outside a common plan of 

development or sale with land-disturbance 

acreage less than five acres where the locality 

is the VSMP authority) 

$20 

General / Stormwater Management – Small 

Construction Activity/Land Clearing (Single-

family detached residential structures within or 

outside a common plan of development or sale 

with land-disturbance acreage less than five acres 

where the department is the VSMP authority) 

$0 

General / Stormwater Management – Small 

Construction Activity/Land Clearing (Sites or 

areas within common plans of development or 

sale with land-disturbance acreage equal to or 

greater than one and less than five acres) 

$200 

General / Stormwater Management – Large 

Construction Activity/Land Clearing (Sites or 

areas within common plans of development or 

sale with land-disturbance acreage equal to or 

greater than five acres and less than 10 acres) 

$250 

General / Stormwater Management – Large 

Construction Activity/Land Clearing (Sites or 

areas within common plans of development or 

sale with land-disturbance acreage equal to or 

greater than 10 acres and less than 50 acres) 

$300 

General / Stormwater Management – Large 

Construction Activity/Land Clearing (Sites or 

areas within common plans of development or 

sale with land-disturbance acreage equal to or 

greater than 50 acres and less than 100 acres) 

$450 

General / Stormwater Management – Large 

Construction Activity/Land Clearing (Sites or 

areas within common plans of development or 

sale with land-disturbance acreage equal to or 

greater than 100 acres) 

$700 
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Individual Permit for Discharges of 

Stormwater from Construction Activities 

$5,000 

9VAC25-870-830. State permit maintenance fees. 

The following annual permit maintenance fees apply to each 

state permit identified below, including expired state permits 

that have been administratively continued. With respect to the 

General Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from 

Construction Activities, these fees shall apply until the state 

permit coverage is terminated, and shall only be effective 

when assessed by a VSMP authority including the department 

when acting in that capacity that has been approved by the 

board. No maintenance fee shall be required for a General 

Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from Construction 

Activities until such board approved programs exist. No 

maintenance fee shall be required for the General Permit for 

Discharges of Stormwater from Construction Activities for a 

state or federal agency that is administering a project in 

accordance with approved annual standards and specifications 

but shall apply to all other state or federal agency projects. 

All regulated MS4s who are issued joint coverage under an 

individual permit or general permit registration shall each pay 

the appropriate fees set out below: 

Municipal Stormwater / MS4 Individual 

(Large and Medium) 

$8,800 

Municipal Stormwater / MS4 Individual 

(Small) 

$6,000 

Municipal Stormwater / MS4 General Permit 

(Small) 

$3,000 

Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act Land-

Disturbing Activity (not subject to General 

Permit coverage; sites within designated areas 

of Chesapeake Bay Act localities with land-

disturbance acreage equal to or greater than 

2,500 square feet and less than 1 acre) 

$50 

General / Stormwater Management – Small 

Construction Activity/Land Clearing (Areas 

within common plans of development or sale 

with land-disturbance acreage less than one 

acre) (Areas within common plans of 

development or sale with land-disturbance 

acreage less than one acre, except for single-

family detached residential structures) 

$50 

General / Stormwater Management – Small 

Construction Activity/Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Act Land-Disturbing Activity 

(not subject to General Permit coverage)/Land 

Clearing (Single-family detached residential 

structures within or outside a common plan of 

development or sale with land-disturbance 

acreage less than five acres where the locality 

is the VSMP authority) 

$50 

General / Stormwater Management – Small 

Construction Activity/Land Clearing (Single-

family detached residential structures within 

or outside a common plan of development or 

sale with land-disturbance acreage less than 

five acres where the department is the VSMP 

authority) 

$0 

General / Stormwater Management – Small 

Construction Activity/Land Clearing (Sites or 

areas within common plans of development or 

sale with land-disturbance equal to or greater 

than one acre and less than five acres) 

$400 

General / Stormwater Management – Large 

Construction Activity/Land Clearing (Sites or 

areas within common plans of development or 

sale with land-disturbance acreage equal to or 

greater than five acres and less than 10 acres) 

$500 

General / Stormwater Management – Large 

Construction Activity/Land Clearing (Sites or 

areas within common plans of development or 

sale with land-disturbance acreage equal to or 

greater than 10 acres and less than 50 acres) 

$650 

General / Stormwater Management – Large 

Construction Activity/Land Clearing (Sites or 

areas within common plans of development or 

sale with land-disturbance acreage equal to or 

greater than 50 acres and less than 100 acres) 

$900 

General / Stormwater Management – Large 

Construction Activity/Land Clearing (Sites or 

areas within common plans of development or 

sale with land-disturbance acreage equal to or 

greater 100 acres) 

$1,400 

Individual Permit for Discharges from 

Construction Activities 

$3,000 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4017; Filed June 27, 2014, 12:56 p.m.  
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Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to the second enactment of Chapters 303 and 598 of the 

2014 Acts of Assembly, which provides that amendments to 

regulations of the board necessary to implement the provisions of 

the acts are exempt from the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), provided that there is a 

public comment period of at least 30 days on the proposed 

amendments prior to adoption by the board. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-880. General Permit for 

Discharges of Stormwater from Construction Activities 

(amending 9VAC25-880-30, 9VAC25-880-40, 9VAC25-

880-50, 9VAC25-880-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15:25 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: William Norris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4022, FAX (804) 

698-4347, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments incorporate changes to the Code of 

Virginia enacted by Chapters 303 and 598 of the 2014 Acts 

of Assembly related to the Virginia Stormwater 

Management Program (VSMP) Regulations. The 

amendments (i) provide for the use of an "agreement in 

lieu of a stormwater management plan," (ii) change 

terminology from "single-family residence" to "single-

family detached residential structure," and (iii) provide for 

technical changes to accommodate these revisions. 

9VAC25-880-30. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any operator governed by this general permit is 

authorized to discharge to surface waters of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia provided that:  

1. The operator submits a complete and accurate 

registration statement, if required to do so, in accordance 

with 9VAC25-880-50 and receives acceptance of the 

registration by the board; 

2. The operator submits any permit fees, if required to do 

so, in accordance with 9VAC25-870-700 et seq.; 

3. The operator complies with the applicable requirements 

of 9VAC25-880-70;  

4. The operator obtains approval of: 

a. An erosion and sediment control plan from the 

appropriate VESCP authority as authorized under the 

Erosion and Sediment Control Regulations (9VAC25-

840), unless the operator receives from the VESCP 

authority an "agreement in lieu of a plan" as defined in 

9VAC25-840-10 or prepares the erosion and sediment 

control plan in accordance with annual standards and 

specifications approved by the department. The operator 

of any land-disturbing activity that is not required to 

obtain erosion and sediment control plan approval from a 

VESCP authority or is not required to adopt department-

approved annual standards and specifications shall 

submit the erosion and sediment control plan to the 

department for review and approval; and 

b. A stormwater management plan from the appropriate 

VSMP authority as authorized under the Virginia 

Stormwater Management Program (VSMP) Regulation 

(9VAC25-870), unless the operator receives from the 

VSMP authority an "agreement in lieu of a stormwater 

management plan" as defined in 9VAC25-870-10 or 

prepares the stormwater management plan in accordance 

with annual standards and specifications approved by the 

department. The operator of any land-disturbing activity 

that is not required to obtain stormwater management 

plan approval from a VSMP authority or is not required 

to adopt department-approved annual standards and 

specifications shall submit the stormwater management 

plan to the department for review and approval; and 

5. The board has not notified the operator that the 

discharge is not eligible for coverage in accordance with 

subsection B of this section. 

B. The board will notify an operator that the discharge is not 

eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 

any of the following: 

1. The operator is required to obtain an individual permit in 

accordance with 9VAC25-870-410 B; 

2. The operator is proposing discharges to surface waters 

specifically named in other board regulations that prohibit 

such discharges;  

3. The discharge causes, may reasonably be expected to 

cause, or contributes to a violation of water quality 

standards (9VAC25-260); 

4. The discharge violates or would violate the 

antidegradation policy in the Water Quality Standards 

(9VAC25-260-30); or 

5. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of an applicable TMDL approved prior to the 

term of this general permit. 

C. This general permit also authorizes stormwater 

discharges from support activities (e.g., concrete or asphalt 

batch plants, equipment staging yards, material storage areas, 

excavated material disposal areas, borrow areas) located on-

site or off-site provided that:  

1. The support activity is directly related to a construction 

activity that is required to have general permit coverage for 

discharges of stormwater from construction activities;  

2. The support activity is not a commercial operation, nor 

does it serve multiple unrelated construction activities by 

different operators;  
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3. The support activity does not operate beyond the 

completion of the last construction activity it supports; 

4. The support activity is identified in the registration 

statement at the time of general permit coverage; 

5. Appropriate control measures are identified in a 

stormwater pollution prevention plan and implemented to 

address the discharges from the support activity areas; and 

6. All applicable, state, federal, and local approvals are 

obtained for the support activity. 

D. Support activities located off-site are not required to be 

covered under this general permit. Discharges of stormwater 

from off-site support activities may be authorized under 

another state or VPDES permit. Where stormwater discharges 

from off-site support activities are not authorized under this 

general permit, the land area of the off-site support activity 

need not be included in determining the total land disturbance 

acreage of the construction activity seeking general permit 

coverage. 

E. Discharges authorized by this general permit may be 

commingled with other sources of stormwater that are not 

required to be covered under a state permit, so long as the 

commingled discharge is in compliance with this general 

permit. Discharges authorized by a separate state or VPDES 

permit may be commingled with discharges authorized by 

this general permit so long as all such discharges comply with 

all applicable state and VPDES permit requirements. 

F. Authorized nonstormwater discharges. The following 

nonstormwater discharges from construction activities are 

authorized by this general permit: 

1. Discharges from firefighting activities; 

2. Fire hydrant flushings; 

3. Water used to wash vehicles or equipment where soaps, 

solvents, or detergents have not been used and the wash 

water has been filtered, settled, or similarly treated prior to 

discharge; 

4. Water used to control dust that has been filtered, settled, 

or similarly treated prior to discharge; 

5. Potable water source, including uncontaminated 

waterline flushings; 

6. Routine external building wash down where soaps, 

solvents, or detergents have not been used and the wash 

water has been filtered, settled, or similarly treated prior to 

discharge; 

7. Pavement wash water where spills or leaks of toxic or 

hazardous materials have not occurred (or where all spilled 

or leaked material has been removed prior to washing); 

where soaps, solvents, or detergents have not been used; 

and where the wash water has been filtered, settled, or 

similarly treated prior to discharge; 

8. Uncontaminated air conditioning or compressor 

condensate; 

9. Uncontaminated groundwater or spring water; 

10. Foundation or footing drains where flows are not 

contaminated with process materials such as solvents; 

11. Uncontaminated, excavation dewatering, including 

dewatering of trenches and excavations that have been 

filtered, settled, or similarly treated prior to discharge; and 

12. Landscape irrigations. 

G. Approval for coverage under this general permit does not 

relieve any operator of the responsibility to comply with any 

other applicable federal, state or local statute, ordinance or 

regulation. 

H. Continuation of general permit coverage. 

1. Any operator that was authorized to discharge under the 

general permit issued in 2009 and that submits a complete 

and accurate registration statement on or before June 30, 

2014, is authorized to continue to discharge under the 

terms of the 2009 general permit until such time as the 

board either: 

a. Issues coverage to the operator under this general 

permit or 

b. Notifies the operator that the discharge is not eligible 

for coverage under this general permit. 

2. When the operator is not in compliance with the 

conditions of the expiring or expired general permit the 

board may choose to do any or all of the following: 

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the 2009 

general permit; 

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny the new general permit. 

If the general permit is denied, the owner or operator 

would then be required to cease the activities authorized 

by the continued general permit or be subject to 

enforcement action for operating without a state permit; 

c. Issue a new state permit with appropriate conditions; 

or 

d. Take other actions authorized by the VSMP 

Regulation (9VAC25-870).  

9VAC25-880-40. Delegation of authorities to state and 

local programs. 

A board-approved VSMP authority is authorized to 

administer requirements of this general permit, including but 

not limited to: (i) registration statement acceptance;, (ii) fee 

collection;, and (iii) stormwater management plan review and 

approval; and (iv) permit compliance and enforcement 

dependent upon conditions established as part of the board 

approval. 

9VAC25-880-50. General permit application (registration 

statement). 

A. Deadlines for submitting registration statement. Any 

operator seeking coverage under this general permit, and that 

is required to submit a registration statement, shall submit a 

complete and accurate general VPDES permit registration 

statement in accordance with this section, which shall serve 
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as a notice of intent for coverage under the general VPDES 

permit for discharges of stormwater from construction 

activities.  

1. New construction activities. 

a. Any operator proposing a new stormwater discharge 

from construction activities shall submit a complete and 

accurate registration statement to the VSMP authority 

prior to the commencement of land disturbance. 

b. Any operator proposing a new stormwater discharge 

from construction activities in response to a public 

emergency where the related work requires immediate 

authorization to avoid imminent endangerment to human 

health or the environment is authorized to discharge 

under this general permit, provided that: 

(1) The operator submits a complete and accurate 

registration statement to the VSMP authority no later 

than 30 days after commencing land disturbance; and 

(2) Documentation to substantiate the occurrence of the 

public emergency is provided with the registration 

statement. 

c. Any operator proposing a new stormwater discharge 

associated with the construction of a single-family 

residence separately built, disturbing less than one acre 

and part of a larger detached residential structure, within 

or outside a common plan of development or sale, is 

authorized to discharge under this general permit and is 

not required to submit a registration statement or the 

department portion of the permit fee, provided that the 

stormwater management plan for the larger common plan 

of development or sale provides permanent control 

measures (i.e., stormwater management facilities) 

encompassing the single-family residence. 

2. Existing construction activities. 

a. Any operator that was authorized to discharge under 

the general permit issued in 2009 and that intends to 

continue coverage under this general permit shall: 

(1) Submit a complete and accurate registration statement 

to the VSMP authority on or before June 1, 2014; and 

(2) Update its stormwater pollution prevention plan to 

comply with the requirements of this general permit no 

later than 60 days after the date of coverage under this 

general permit. 

b. Any operator with an existing stormwater discharge 

associated with the construction of a single-family 

residence separately built, disturbing less than one acre 

and part of a larger detached residential structure, within 

or outside a common plan of development or sale, and 

that intends to continue coverage under this general 

permit, is authorized to discharge under this general 

permit and is not required to submit a registration 

statement or the department portion of the permit fee, 

provided that: (1) The stormwater management plan for 

the larger common plan of development or sale provides 

permanent control measures (i.e., stormwater 

management facilities) encompassing the single-family 

residence; and (2) The the operator updates its 

stormwater pollution prevention plan to comply with the 

requirements of this general permit no later than 60 days 

after the date of coverage under this general permit. 

3. For stormwater discharges from construction activities 

where the operator changes, the new operator must submit 

a complete and accurate registration statement or transfer 

agreement form to the VSMP authority prior to assuming 

operational control over site specifications or commencing 

work on-site. 

4. Late notifications. Operators are not prohibited from 

submitting registration statements after commencing land 

disturbance. When a late registration statement is 

submitted, authorization for discharges shall not occur until 

coverage under the general permit is issued. The VSMP 

authority, department, board, and the EPA reserve the right 

to take enforcement action for any unpermitted discharges 

that occur between the commencement of land disturbance 

and discharge authorization. 

B. Registration statement. The operator shall submit a 

registration statement to the VSMP authority that shall 

contain the following information:  

1. Name, contact, mailing address, telephone number, and 

email address if available of the construction activity 

operator. No more than one operator may receive coverage 

under each registration statement;  

NOTE: General permit coverage will be issued to this 

operator, and the certification in subdivision 11 of this 

subsection must be signed by the appropriate person 

associated with this operator.  

2. Name and location if available of the construction 

activity and all off-site support activities to be covered 

under this general permit, including city or county, and 

latitude and longitude in decimal degrees;  

3. Status of the construction activity: federal, state, public, 

or private;  

4. Nature of the construction activity (e.g., commercial, 

industrial, residential, agricultural, oil and gas, etc.);  

5. Name of the receiving water(s) and HUC;  

6. If the discharge is through a municipal separate storm 

sewer system (MS4), the name of the municipal separate 

storm sewer system operator;  

7. Estimated project start date and completion date;  

8. Total land area of development and estimated area to be 

disturbed by the construction activity (to the nearest one-

hundredth of an acre);  

9. Whether the area to be disturbed by the construction 

activity is part of a larger common plan of development or 

sale;  
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10. A stormwater pollution prevention plan (SWPPP) must 

be prepared in accordance with the requirements of the 

General VPDES Permit for Stormwater Discharges from 

Construction Activities prior to submitting the registration 

statement. By signing the registration statement the 

operator certifies that the SWPPP has been prepared; and  

11. The following certification: "I certify under penalty of 

law that I have read and understand this registration 

statement and that this document and all attachments were 

prepared in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gathered and evaluated 

the information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the 

person or persons who manage the system or those persons 

directly responsible for gathering the information, the 

information submitted is to the best of my knowledge and 

belief true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 

are significant penalties for submitting false information 

including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 

knowing violations."  

C. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 

with 9VAC25-880-70, Part III K.  

9VAC25-880-70. General permit. 

Any operator whose registration statement is accepted by the 

board will receive the following general permit and shall 

comply with the requirements contained therein and be 

subject to all requirements of 9VAC25-870.  

General Permit No.: VAR10 

Effective Date: July 1, 2014 

Expiration Date: June 30, 2019 

GENERAL VPDES PERMIT FOR DISCHARGES OF 

STORMWATER FROM CONSTRUCTION ACTIVITIES  

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA STORMWATER MANAGEMENT PROGRAM 

AND THE VIRGINIA STORMWATER MANAGEMENT 

ACT  

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, 

as amended, and pursuant to the Virginia Stormwater 

Management Act and regulations adopted pursuant thereto, 

operators of construction activities are authorized to discharge 

to surface waters within the boundaries of the Commonwealth 

of Virginia, except those specifically named in State Water 

Control Board regulations that prohibit such discharges. 

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with this 

cover page, Part I - Discharge Authorization and Special 

Conditions, Part II - Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plan, 

and Part III - Conditions Applicable to All VPDES Permits as 

set forth herein.  

PART I  

DISCHARGE AUTHORIZATION AND SPECIAL 

CONDITIONS  

A. Coverage under this general permit.  

1. During the period beginning with the date of coverage 

under this general permit and lasting until the general 

permit's expiration date, the operator is authorized to 

discharge stormwater from construction activities. 

2. This general permit also authorizes stormwater 

discharges from support activities (e.g., concrete or asphalt 

batch plants, equipment staging yards, material storage 

areas, excavated material disposal areas, borrow areas) 

located on-site or off-site provided that:  

a. The support activity is directly related to the 

construction activity that is required to have general 

permit coverage for discharges of stormwater from 

construction activities;  

b. The support activity is not a commercial operation, nor 

does it serve multiple unrelated construction activities by 

different operators;  

c. The support activity does not operate beyond the 

completion of the last construction activity it supports; 

d. The support activity is identified in the registration 

statement at the time of general permit coverage; 

e. Appropriate control measures are identified in a 

stormwater pollution prevention plan and implemented to 

address the discharges from the support activity areas; 

and 

f. All applicable state, federal, and local approvals are 

obtained for the support activity. 

B. Limitations on coverage.  

1. Post-construction discharges. This general permit does 

not authorize stormwater discharges that originate from the 

site after construction activities have been completed and 

the site, including any support activity sites covered under 

the general permit registration, has undergone final 

stabilization. Post-construction industrial stormwater 

discharges may need to be covered by a separate VPDES 

permit.  

2. Discharges mixed with nonstormwater. This general 

permit does not authorize discharges that are mixed with 

sources of nonstormwater, other than those discharges that 

are identified in Part I E (Authorized nonstormwater 

discharges) and are in compliance with this general permit.  

3. Discharges covered by another state permit. This general 

permit does not authorize discharges of stormwater from 

construction activities that have been covered under an 

individual permit or required to obtain coverage under an 

alternative general permit.  

4. Impaired waters and TMDL limitation. Discharges of 

stormwater from construction activities to surface waters 

identified as impaired in the 2012 § 305(b)/303(d) Water 

Quality Assessment Integrated Report or for which a 

TMDL wasteload allocation has been established and 

approved prior to the term of this general permit for (i) 

sediment or a sediment-related parameter (i.e., total 
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suspended solids or turbidity) or (ii) nutrients (i.e., nitrogen 

or phosphorus) are not eligible for coverage under this 

general permit unless the operator develops, implements, 

and maintains a SWPPP that minimizes the pollutants of 

concern and, when applicable, is consistent with the 

assumptions and requirements of the approved TMDL 

wasteload allocations. In addition, the operator shall 

implement the following items: 

a. The impaired water(s), approved TMDL(s), and 

pollutant(s) of concern, when applicable, shall be 

identified in the SWPPP; 

b. Permanent or temporary soil stabilization shall be 

applied to denuded areas within seven days after final 

grade is reached on any portion of the site;  

c. Nutrients shall be applied in accordance with 

manufacturer's recommendations or an approved nutrient 

management plan and shall not be applied during rainfall 

events; and 

d. The applicable SWPPP inspection requirements 

specified in Part II F 2 shall be amended as follows: 

(1) Inspections shall be conducted at a frequency of (i) at 

least once every four business days or (ii) at least once 

every five business days and no later than 48 hours 

following a measurable storm event. In the event that a 

measurable storm event occurs when there are more than 

48 hours between business days, the inspection shall be 

conducted on the next business day; and 

(2) Representative inspections used by utility line 

installation, pipeline construction, or other similar linear 

construction activities shall inspect all outfalls 

discharging to surface waters identified as impaired or 

for which a TMDL wasteload allocation has been 

established and approved prior to the term of this general 

permit. 

5. Exceptional waters limitation. Discharges of stormwater 

from construction activities not previously covered under 

the general permit issued in 2009 to exceptional waters 

identified in 9VAC25-260-30 A 3 c are not eligible for 

coverage under this general permit unless the operator 

implements the following: 

a. The exceptional water(s) shall be identified in the 

SWPPP; 

b. Permanent or temporary soil stabilization shall be 

applied to denuded areas within seven days after final 

grade is reached on any portion of the site;  

c. Nutrients shall be applied in accordance with 

manufacturer's recommendations or an approved nutrient 

management plan and shall not be applied during rainfall 

events; and 

d. The applicable SWPPP inspection requirements 

specified in Part II F 2 shall be amended as follows: 

(1) Inspections shall be conducted at a frequency of (i) at 

least once every four business days or (ii) at least once 

every five business days and no later than 48 hours 

following a measurable storm event. In the event that a 

measurable storm event occurs when there are more than 

48 hours between business days, the inspection shall be 

conducted on the next business day; and 

(2) Representative inspections used by utility line 

installation, pipeline construction, or other similar linear 

construction activities shall inspect all outfalls 

discharging to exceptional waters. 

6. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 

foam in other than trace amounts.  

C. Commingled discharges. Discharges authorized by this 

general permit may be commingled with other sources of 

stormwater that are not required to be covered under a state 

permit, so long as the commingled discharge is in compliance 

with this general permit. Discharges authorized by a separate 

state or VPDES permit may be commingled with discharges 

authorized by this general permit so long as all such 

discharges comply with all applicable state and VPDES 

permit requirements.  

D. Prohibition of nonstormwater discharges. Except as 

provided in Parts I A 2, I C, and I E, all discharges covered 

by this general permit shall be composed entirely of 

stormwater associated with construction activities. All other 

discharges including the following are prohibited: 

1. Wastewater from washout of concrete; 

2. Wastewater from the washout and cleanout of stucco, 

paint, form release oils, curing compounds, and other 

construction materials; 

3. Fuels, oils, or other pollutants used in vehicle and 

equipment operation and maintenance; 

4. Oils, toxic substances, or hazardous substances from 

spills or other releases; and 

5. Soaps, solvents, or detergents used in equipment and 

vehicle washing. 

E. Authorized nonstormwater discharges. The following 

nonstormwater discharges from construction activities are 

authorized by this general permit when discharged in 

compliance with this general permit: 

1. Discharges from firefighting activities;  

2. Fire hydrant flushings;  

3. Waters used to wash vehicles or equipment where 

soaps, solvents, or detergents have not been used and the 

wash water has been filtered, settled, or similarly treated 

prior to discharge; 

4. Water used to control dust that has been filtered, 

settled, or similarly treated prior to discharge;  

5. Potable water sources, including uncontaminated 

waterline flushings;  
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6. Routine external building wash down where soaps, 

solvents or detergents have not been used and the wash 

water has been filtered, settled, or similarly treated prior 

to discharge;  

7. Pavement wash waters where spills or leaks of toxic or 

hazardous materials have not occurred (or where all 

spilled or leaked material has been removed prior to 

washing); where soaps, solvents, or detergents have not 

been used; and where the wash water has been filtered, 

settled, or similarly treated prior to discharge;  

8. Uncontaminated air conditioning or compressor 

condensate;  

9. Uncontaminated ground water or spring water;  

10. Foundation or footing drains where flows are not 

contaminated with process materials such as solvents;  

11. Uncontaminated excavation dewatering, including 

dewatering of trenches and excavations that have been 

filtered, settled, or similarly treated prior to discharge; 

and  

12. Landscape irrigation.  

F. Termination of general permit coverage.  

1. The operator of the construction activity shall submit a 

notice of termination in accordance with 9VAC25-880-60 

to the VSMP authority after one or more of the following 

conditions have been met: 

a. Necessary permanent control measures included in the 

SWPPP for the site are in place and functioning 

effectively and final stabilization has been achieved on 

all portions of the site for which the operator is 

responsible. When applicable, long term responsibility 

and maintenance requirements shall be recorded in the 

local land records prior to the submission of a notice of 

termination; 

b. Another operator has assumed control over all areas of 

the site that have not been finally stabilized and obtained 

coverage for the ongoing discharge; 

c. Coverage under an alternative VPDES or state permit 

has been obtained; or 

d. For residential construction only, temporary soil 

stabilization has been completed and the residence has 

been transferred to the homeowner. 

2. The notice of termination should be submitted no later 

than 30 days after one of the above conditions in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection is met. Authorization to 

discharge terminates at midnight on the date that the notice 

of termination is submitted for the conditions set forth in 

subdivisions 1 b through 1 d of this subsection. 

Termination of authorizations to discharge for the 

conditions set forth in subdivision 1 a of this subsection 

shall be effective upon notification from the department 

that the provisions of subdivision 1 a of this subsection 

have been met or 60 days after submittal of the notice of 

termination, whichever occurs first. 

3. The notice of termination shall be signed in accordance 

with Part III K of this general permit. 

G. Water quality protection.  

1. The operator must select, install, implement and 

maintain control measures as identified in the SWPPP at 

the construction site that minimize pollutants in the 

discharge as necessary to ensure that the operator's 

discharge does not cause or contribute to an excursion 

above any applicable water quality standard.  

2. If it is determined by the department that the operator's 

discharges are causing, have reasonable potential to cause, 

or are contributing to an excursion above any applicable 

water quality standard, the department, in consultation with 

the VSMP authority, may take appropriate enforcement 

action and require the operator to: 

a. Modify or implement additional control measures in 

accordance with Part II B to adequately address the 

identified water quality concerns; 

b. Submit valid and verifiable data and information that 

are representative of ambient conditions and indicate that 

the receiving water is attaining water quality standards; 

or 

c. Submit an individual permit application in accordance 

with 9VAC25-870-410 B 3. 

All written responses required under this chapter must 

include a signed certification consistent with Part III K. 

PART II  

STORMWATER POLLUTION PREVENTION PLAN 

A stormwater pollution prevention plan (SWPPP) shall be 

developed prior to the submission of a registration statement 

and implemented for the construction activity, including any 

support activity, covered by this general permit. SWPPPs 

shall be prepared in accordance with good engineering 

practices. Construction activities that are part of a larger 

common plan of development or sale and disturb less than 

one acre may utilize a SWPPP template provided by the 

department and need not provide a separate stormwater 

management plan if one has been prepared and implemented 

for the larger common plan of development or sale. 

The SWPPP requirements of this general permit may be 

fulfilled by incorporating by reference other plans such as a 

spill prevention control and countermeasure (SPCC) plan 

developed for the site under § 311 of the federal Clean Water 

Act or best management practices (BMP) programs otherwise 

required for the facility provided that the incorporated plan 

meets or exceeds the SWPPP requirements of Part II A. All 

plans incorporated by reference into the SWPPP become 

enforceable under this general permit. If a plan incorporated 

by reference does not contain all of the required elements of 

the SWPPP, the operator must develop the missing elements 

and include them in the SWPPP. 
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Any operator that was authorized to discharge under the 

general permit issued in 2009, and that intends to continue 

coverage under this general permit, shall update its 

stormwater pollution prevention plan to comply with the 

requirements of this general permit no later than 60 days after 

the date of coverage under this general permit. 

A. Stormwater pollution prevention plan contents. The 

SWPPP shall include the following items: 

1. General information. 

a. A signed copy of the registration statement, if required, 

for coverage under the general VPDES permit for 

discharges of stormwater from construction activities; 

b. Upon receipt, a copy of the notice of coverage under 

the general VPDES permit for discharges of stormwater 

from construction activities (i.e., notice of coverage 

letter); 

c. Upon receipt, a copy of the general VPDES permit for 

discharges of stormwater from construction activities; 

d. A narrative description of the nature of the 

construction activity, including the function of the project 

(e.g., low density residential, shopping mall, highway, 

etc.); 

e. A legible site plan identifying: 

(1) Directions of stormwater flow and approximate 

slopes anticipated after major grading activities; 

(2) Limits of land disturbance including steep slopes and 

natural buffers around surface waters that will not be 

disturbed; 

(3) Locations of major structural and nonstructural 

control measures, including sediment basins and traps, 

perimeter dikes, sediment barriers, and other measures 

intended to filter, settle, or similarly treat sediment, that 

will be installed between disturbed areas and the 

undisturbed vegetated areas in order to increase sediment 

removal and maximize stormwater infiltration; 

(4) Locations of surface waters; 

(5) Locations where concentrated stormwater is 

discharged; 

(6) Locations of support activities, when applicable and 

when required by the VSMP authority, including but not 

limited to (i) areas where equipment and vehicle 

washing, wheel wash water, and other wash water is to 

occur; (ii) storage areas for chemicals such as acids, 

fuels, fertilizers, and other lawn care chemicals; (iii) 

concrete wash out areas; (iv) vehicle fueling and 

maintenance areas; (v) sanitary waste facilities, including 

those temporarily placed on the construction site; and (vi) 

construction waste storage; and 

(7) When applicable, the location of the on-site rain 

gauge or the methodology established in consultation 

with the VSMP authority used to identify measurable 

storm events for inspection purposes. 

2. Erosion and sediment control plan. 

a. An erosion and sediment control plan approved by the 

VESCP authority as authorized under the Erosion and 

Sediment Control Regulations (9VAC25-840), an 

"agreement in lieu of a plan" as defined in 9VAC25-840-

10 from the VESCP authority, or an erosion and 

sediment control plan prepared in accordance with 

annual standards and specifications approved by the 

department. Any operator proposing a new stormwater 

discharge from construction activities that is not required 

to obtain erosion and sediment control plan approval 

from a VESCP authority or does not adopt department-

approved annual standards and specifications shall 

submit the erosion and sediment control plan to the 

department for review and approval. 

b. All erosion and sediment control plans shall include a 

statement describing the maintenance responsibilities 

required for the erosion and sediment controls used. 

c. A properly implemented approved erosion and 

sediment control plan, "agreement in lieu of a plan," or 

erosion and sediment control plan prepared in accordance 

with department-approved annual standards and 

specifications, that adequately: 

(1) Controls the volume and velocity of stormwater 

runoff within the site to minimize soil erosion; 

(2) Controls stormwater discharges, including peak flow 

rates and total stormwater volume, to minimize erosion at 

outlets and to minimize downstream channel and stream 

bank erosion; 

(3) Minimizes the amount of soil exposed during the 

construction activity; 

(4) Minimizes the disturbance of steep slopes; 

(5) Minimizes sediment discharges from the site in a 

manner that addresses (i) the amount, frequency, 

intensity, and duration of precipitation; (ii) the nature of 

resulting stormwater runoff; and (iii) soil characteristics, 

including the range of soil particle sizes present on the 

site; 

(6) Provides and maintains natural buffers around surface 

waters, directs stormwater to vegetated areas to increase 

sediment removal, and maximizes stormwater 

infiltration, unless infeasible; 

(7) Minimizes soil compaction and, unless infeasible, 

preserves topsoil; 

(8) Ensures that stabilization of disturbed areas will be 

initiated immediately whenever any clearing, grading, 

excavating, or other land-disturbing activities have 

permanently ceased on any portion of the site, or 

temporarily ceased on any portion of the site and will not 

resume for a period exceeding 14 days; and 

(9) Utilizes outlet structures that withdraw stormwater 

from the surface (i.e., above the permanent pool or wet 
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storage water surface elevation), unless infeasible, when 

discharging from sediment basins or sediment traps. 

3. Stormwater management plan. 

a. New construction activities. A stormwater 

management plan approved by the VSMP authority as 

authorized under the Virginia Stormwater Management 

Program (VSMP) Regulation (9VAC25-870), or an 

"agreement in lieu of a stormwater management plan" as 

defined in 9VAC25-870-10 from the VSMP authority, or 

a stormwater management plan prepared in accordance 

with annual standards and specifications approved by the 

department. Any operator proposing a new stormwater 

discharge from construction activities that is not required 

to obtain stormwater management plan approval from a 

VSMP authority or does not adopt department-approved 

annual standards and specifications shall submit the 

stormwater management plan to the department for 

review and approval. 

b. Existing construction activities. Any operator that was 

authorized to discharge under the general permit issued 

in 2009, and that intends to continue coverage under this 

general permit, shall ensure compliance with the 

requirements of 9VAC25-870-93 through 9VAC25-870-

99 of the VSMP Regulation, including but not limited to 

the water quality and quantity requirements. The SWPPP 

shall include a description of, and all necessary 

calculations supporting, all post-construction stormwater 

management measures that will be installed prior to the 

completion of the construction process to control 

pollutants in stormwater discharges after construction 

operations have been completed. Structural measures 

should be placed on upland soils to the degree possible. 

Such measures must be designed and installed in 

accordance with applicable VESCP authority, VSMP 

authority, state, and federal requirements, and any 

necessary permits must be obtained. 

4. Pollution prevention plan. A pollution prevention plan 

that addresses potential pollutant-generating activities that 

may reasonably be expected to affect the quality of 

stormwater discharges from the construction activity, 

including any support activity. The pollution prevention 

plan shall: 

a. Identify the potential pollutant-generating activities 

and the pollutant that is expected to be exposed to 

stormwater; 

b. Describe the location where the potential pollutant-

generating activities will occur, or if identified on the site 

plan, reference the site plan; 

c. Identify all nonstormwater discharges, as authorized in 

Part I E of this general permit, that are or will be 

commingled with stormwater discharges from the 

construction activity, including any applicable support 

activity; 

d. Identify the person responsible for implementing the 

pollution prevention practice or practices for each 

pollutant-generating activity (if other than the person 

listed as the qualified personnel); 

e. Describe the pollution prevention practices and 

procedures that will be implemented to: 

(1) Prevent and respond to leaks, spills, and other 

releases including (i) procedures for expeditiously 

stopping, containing, and cleaning up spills, leaks, and 

other releases; and (ii) procedures for reporting leaks, 

spills, and other releases in accordance with Part III G; 

(2) Prevent the discharge of spilled and leaked fuels and 

chemicals from vehicle fueling and maintenance 

activities (e.g., providing secondary containment such as 

spill berms, decks, spill containment pallets, providing 

cover where appropriate, and having spill kits readily 

available); 

(3) Prevent the discharge of soaps, solvents, detergents, 

and wash water from construction materials, including 

the clean-up of stucco, paint, form release oils, and 

curing compounds (e.g., providing (i) cover (e.g., plastic 

sheeting or temporary roofs) to prevent contact with 

stormwater; (ii) collection and proper disposal in a 

manner to prevent contact with stormwater; and (iii) a 

similarly effective means designed to prevent discharge 

of these pollutants); 

(4) Minimize the discharge of pollutants from vehicle 

and equipment washing, wheel wash water, and other 

types of washing (e.g., locating activities away from 

surface waters and stormwater inlets or conveyance and 

directing wash waters to sediment basins or traps, using 

filtration devices such as filter bags or sand filters, or 

using similarly effective controls); 

(5) Direct concrete wash water into a leak-proof 

container or leak-proof settling basin. The container or 

basin shall be designed so that no overflows can occur 

due to inadequate sizing or precipitation. Hardened 

concrete wastes shall be removed and disposed of in a 

manner consistent with the handling of other construction 

wastes. Liquid concrete wastes shall be removed and 

disposed of in a manner consistent with the handling of 

other construction wash waters and shall not be 

discharged to surface waters; 

(6) Minimize the discharge of pollutants from storage, 

handling, and disposal of construction products, 

materials, and wastes including (i) building products such 

as asphalt sealants, copper flashing, roofing materials, 

adhesives, and concrete admixtures; (ii) pesticides, 

herbicides, insecticides, fertilizers, and landscape 

materials; and (iii) construction and domestic wastes 

such as packaging materials, scrap construction 

materials, masonry products, timber, pipe and electrical 

cuttings, plastics, Styrofoam, concrete, and other trash or 

building materials; 
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(7) Prevent the discharge of fuels, oils, and other 

petroleum products, hazardous or toxic wastes, and 

sanitary wastes; and 

(8) Address any other discharge from the potential 

pollutant-generating activities not addressed above; and 

f. Describe procedures for providing pollution prevention 

awareness of all applicable wastes, including any wash 

water, disposal practices, and applicable disposal 

locations of such wastes, to personnel in order to comply 

with the conditions of this general permit. The operator 

shall implement the procedures described in the SWPPP. 

5. SWPPP requirements for discharges to impaired waters, 

surface waters with an applicable TMDL wasteload 

allocation established and approved prior to the term of 

this general permit, and exceptional waters. The SWPPP 

shall: 

a. Identify the impaired water(s), approved TMDL(s), 

pollutant(s) of concern, and exceptional waters identified 

in 9VAC25-260-30 A 3 c, when applicable; 

b. Provide clear direction that: 

(1) Permanent or temporary soil stabilization shall be 

applied to denuded areas within seven days after final 

grade is reached on any portion of the site; 

(2) Nutrients shall be applied in accordance with 

manufacturer's recommendations or an approved nutrient 

management plan and shall not be applied during rainfall 

events; and 

(3) A modified inspection schedule shall be implemented 

in accordance with Part I B 4 or Part I B 5. 

6. Qualified personnel. The name, phone number, and 

qualifications of the qualified personnel conducting 

inspections required by this general permit. 

7. Delegation of authority. The individuals or positions 

with delegated authority, in accordance with Part III K, to 

sign inspection reports or modify the SWPPP. 

8. SWPPP signature. The SWPPP shall be signed and 

dated in accordance with Part III K.  

B. SWPPP amendments, modification, and updates. 

1. The operator shall amend the SWPPP whenever there is 

a change in the design, construction, operation, or 

maintenance that has a significant effect on the discharge 

of pollutants to surface waters and that has not been 

previously addressed in the SWPPP. 

2. The SWPPP must be amended if, during inspections or 

investigations by the operator's qualified personnel, or by 

local, state, or federal officials, it is determined that the 

existing control measures are ineffective in minimizing 

pollutants in discharges from the construction activity. 

Revisions to the SWPPP shall include additional or 

modified control measures designed and implemented to 

correct problems identified. If approval by the VESCP 

authority, VSMP authority, or department is necessary for 

the control measure, revisions to the SWPPP shall be 

completed no later than seven calendar days following 

approval. Implementation of these additional or modified 

control measures must be accomplished as described in 

Part II G. 

3. The SWPPP must clearly identify the contractor(s) that 

will implement and maintain each control measure 

identified in the SWPPP. The SWPPP shall be amended to 

identify any new contractor that will implement and 

maintain a control measure. 

4. The operator shall update the SWPPP no later than 

seven days following any modification to its 

implementation. All modifications or updates to the 

SWPPP shall be noted and shall include the following 

items: 

a. A record of dates when: 

(1) Major grading activities occur; 

(2) Construction activities temporarily or permanently 

cease on a portion of the site; and 

(3) Stabilization measures are initiated;  

b. Documentation of replaced or modified controls where 

periodic inspections or other information have indicated 

that the controls have been used inappropriately or 

incorrectly and where modified as soon as possible; 

c. Areas that have reached final stabilization and where 

no further SWPPP or inspection requirements apply; 

d. All properties that are no longer under the legal control 

of the operator and the dates on which the operator no 

longer had legal control over each property; 

e. The date of any prohibited discharges, the discharge 

volume released, and what actions were taken to 

minimize the impact of the release; 

f. Measures taken to prevent the reoccurrence of any 

prohibited discharge; and  

g. Measures taken to address any evidence identified as a 

result of an inspection required under Part II F. 

5. Amendments, modifications, or updates to the SWPPP 

shall be signed in accordance with Part III K. 

C. Public Notification. Upon commencement of land 

disturbance, the operator shall post conspicuously a copy of 

the notice of coverage letter near the main entrance of the 

construction activity. For linear projects, the operator shall 

post the notice of coverage letter at a publicly accessible 

location near an active part of the construction project (e.g., 

where a pipeline crosses a public road). The operator shall 

maintain the posted information until termination of general 

permit coverage as specified in Part I F. 

D. SWPPP availability. 

1. Operators with day-to-day operational control over 

SWPPP implementation shall have a copy of the SWPPP 

available at a central location on-site for use by those 
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identified as having responsibilities under the SWPPP 

whenever they are on the construction site. 

2. The operator shall make the SWPPP and all 

amendments, modifications, and updates available upon 

request to the department, the VSMP authority, the EPA, 

the VESCP authority, local government officials, or the 

operator of a municipal separate storm sewer system 

receiving discharges from the construction activity. If an 

on-site location is unavailable to store the SWPPP when no 

personnel are present, notice of the SWPPP's location must 

be posted near the main entrance of the construction site. 

3. The operator shall make the SWPPP available for public 

review in an electronic format or in hard copy. Information 

for public access to the SWPPP shall be posted and 

maintained in accordance with Part II C. If not provided 

electronically, public access to the SWPPP may be 

arranged upon request at a time and at a publicly accessible 

location convenient to the operator or his designee but 

shall be no less than once per month and shall be during 

normal business hours. Information not required to be 

contained within the SWPPP by this general permit is not 

required to be released.  

E. SWPPP implementation. The operator shall implement 

the SWPPP and subsequent amendments, modifications, and 

updates from commencement of land disturbance until 

termination of general permit coverage as specified in Part I 

F. 

1. All control measures must be properly maintained in 

effective operating condition in accordance with good 

engineering practices and, where applicable, manufacturer 

specifications. If a site inspection required by Part II F 

identifies a control measure that is not operating 

effectively, corrective action(s) shall be completed as soon 

as practicable, but no later than seven days after discovery 

or a longer period as established by the VSMP authority, to 

maintain the continued effectiveness of the control 

measures. 

2. If site inspections required by Part II F identify an 

existing control measure that needs to be modified or if an 

additional control measure is necessary for any reason, 

implementation shall be completed prior to the next 

anticipated measurable storm event. If implementation 

prior to the next anticipated measurable storm event is 

impracticable, then alternative control measures shall be 

implemented as soon as practicable, but no later than seven 

days after discovery or a longer period as established by 

the VSMP authority. 

F. SWPPP Inspections. 

1. Personnel responsible for on-site and off-site 

inspections. Inspections required by this general permit 

shall be conducted by the qualified personnel identified by 

the operator in the SWPPP. The operator is responsible for 

insuring that the qualified personnel conduct the 

inspection. 

2. Inspection schedule. 

a. Inspections shall be conducted at a frequency of: 

(1) At least once every five business days; or 

(2) At least once every 10 business days and no later than 

48 hours following a measurable storm event. In the 

event that a measurable storm event occurs when there 

are more than 48 hours between business days, the 

inspection shall be conducted no later than the next 

business day. 

b. Where areas have been temporarily stabilized or land-

disturbing activities will be suspended due to continuous 

frozen ground conditions and stormwater discharges are 

unlikely, the inspection frequency may be reduced to 

once per month. If weather conditions (such as above 

freezing temperatures or rain or snow events) make 

discharges likely, the operator shall immediately resume 

the regular inspection frequency. 

c. Representative inspections may be utilized for utility 

line installation, pipeline construction, or other similar 

linear construction activities provided that: 

(1) Temporary or permanent soil stabilization has been 

installed and vehicle access may compromise the 

temporary or permanent soil stabilization and potentially 

cause additional land disturbance increasing the potential 

for erosion; 

(2) Inspections occur on the same frequency as other 

construction activities; 

(3) Control measures are inspected along the construction 

site 0.25 miles above and below each access point (i.e., 

where a roadway, undisturbed right-of-way, or other 

similar feature intersects the construction activity and 

access does not compromise temporary or permanent soil 

stabilization); and 

(4) Inspection locations are provided in the report 

required by Part II F. 

3. Inspection requirements. 

a. As part of the inspection, the qualified personnel shall: 

(1) Record the date and time of the inspection and when 

applicable the date and rainfall amount of the last 

measurable storm event; 

(2) Record the information and a description of any 

discharges occurring at the time of the inspection; 

(3) Record any land-disturbing activities that have 

occurred outside of the approved erosion and sediment 

control plan; 

(4) Inspect the following for installation in accordance 

with the approved erosion and sediment control plan, 

identification of any maintenance needs, and evaluation 

of effectiveness in minimizing sediment discharge, 

including whether the control has been inappropriately or 

incorrectly used: 
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(a) All perimeter erosion and sediment controls, such as 

silt fence; 

(b) Soil stockpiles, when applicable, and borrow areas for 

stabilization or sediment trapping measures; 

(c) Completed earthen structures, such as dams, dikes, 

ditches, and diversions for stabilization; 

(d) Cut and fill slopes; 

(e) Sediment basins and traps, sediment barriers, and 

other measures installed to control sediment discharge 

from stormwater; 

(f) Temporary or permanent channel, flume, or other 

slope drain structures installed to convey concentrated 

runoff down cut and fill slopes; 

(g) Storm inlets that have been made operational to 

ensure that sediment laden stormwater does not enter 

without first being filtered or similarly treated; and 

(h) Construction vehicle access routes that intersect or 

access paved roads for minimizing sediment tracking;  

(5) Inspect areas that have reached final grade or that will 

remain dormant for more than 14 days for initiation of 

stabilization activities; 

(6) Inspect areas that have reached final grade or that will 

remain dormant for more than 14 days for completion of 

stabilization activities within seven days of reaching 

grade or stopping work; 

(7) Inspect for evidence that the approved erosion and 

sediment control plan, "agreement in lieu of a plan," or 

erosion and sediment control plan prepared in accordance 

with department-approved annual standards and 

specifications has not been properly implemented. This 

includes but is not limited to: 

(a) Concentrated flows of stormwater in conveyances 

such as rills, rivulets or channels that have not been 

filtered, settled, or similarly treated prior to discharge, or 

evidence thereof; 

(b) Sediment laden or turbid flows of stormwater that 

have not been filtered or settled to remove sediments 

prior to discharge; 

(c) Sediment deposition in areas that drain to unprotected 

stormwater inlets or catch basins that discharge to surface 

waters. Inlets and catch basins with failing sediments 

controls due to improper installation, lack of 

maintenance, or inadequate design are considered 

unprotected; 

(d) Sediment deposition on any property (including 

public and private streets) outside of the construction 

activity covered by this general permit; 

(e) Required stabilization has not been initiated or 

completed on portions of the site; 

(f) Sediment basins without adequate wet or dry storage 

volume or sediment basins that allow the discharge of 

stormwater from below the surface of the wet storage 

portion of the basin; 

(g) Sediment traps without adequate wet or dry storage or 

sediment traps that allow the discharge of stormwater 

from below the surface of the wet storage portion of the 

trap; and 

(h) Land disturbance outside of the approved area to be 

disturbed; 

(8) Inspect pollutant generating activities identified in the 

pollution prevention plan for the proper implementation, 

maintenance and effectiveness of the procedures and 

practices; 

(9) Identify any pollutant generating activities not 

identified in the pollution prevention plan; and 

(10) Identify and document the presence of any evidence 

of the discharge of pollutants prohibited by this general 

permit. 

4. Inspection report. Each inspection report shall include 

the following items: 

a. The date and time of the inspection and when 

applicable, the date and rainfall amount of the last 

measurable storm event; 

b. Summarized findings of the inspection; 

c. The location(s) of prohibited discharges; 

d. The location(s) of control measures that require 

maintenance; 

e. The location(s) of control measures that failed to 

operate as designed or proved inadequate or 

inappropriate for a particular location; 

f. The location(s) where any evidence identified under 

Part II F 3 a (7) exists; 

g. The location(s) where any additional control measure 

is needed that did not exist at the time of inspection; 

h. A list of corrective actions required (including any 

changes to the SWPPP that are necessary) as a result of 

the inspection or to maintain permit compliance; 

i. Documentation of any corrective actions required from 

a previous inspection that have not been implemented; 

and 

j. The date and signature of the qualified personnel and 

the operator or its duly authorized representative. 

The inspection report and any actions taken in accordance 

with Part II must be retained by the operator as part of the 

SWPPP for at least three years from the date that general 

permit coverage expires or is terminated. The inspection 

report shall identify any incidents of noncompliance. 

Where an inspection report does not identify any incidents 

of noncompliance, the report shall contain a certification 

that the construction activity is in compliance with the 

SWPPP and this general permit. The report shall be signed 

in accordance with Part III K of this general permit. 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 28, 2014 

2680 

G. Corrective actions.  

1. The operator shall implement the corrective action(s) 

identified as a result of an inspection as soon as practicable 

but no later than seven days after discovery or a longer 

period as approved by the VSMP authority. If approval of 

a corrective action by a regulatory authority (e.g., VSMP 

authority, VESCP authority, or the department) is 

necessary, additional control measures shall be 

implemented to minimize pollutants in stormwater 

discharges until such approvals can be obtained. 

2. The operator may be required to remove accumulated 

sediment deposits located outside of the construction 

activity covered by this general permit as soon as 

practicable in order to minimize environmental impacts. 

The operator shall notify the VSMP authority and the 

department as well as obtain all applicable federal, state, 

and local authorizations, approvals, and permits prior to the 

removal of sediments accumulated in surface waters 

including wetlands. 

PART III  

CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL VPDES PERMITS  

NOTE: Discharge monitoring is not required for this general 

permit. If the operator chooses to monitor stormwater 

discharges or control measures, the operator must comply 

with the requirements of subsections A, B, and C, as 

appropriate.  

A. Monitoring.  

1. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 

monitoring shall be representative of the monitoring 

activity.  

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

unless other procedures have been specified in this general 

permit. Analyses performed according to test procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 shall be performed by an 

environmental laboratory certified under regulations 

adopted by the Department of General Services (1VAC30-

45 or 1VAC30-46).  

3. The operator shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements.  

B. Records.  

1. Monitoring records and reports shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements;  

b. The individual(s) who performed the sampling or 

measurements;  

c. The date(s) and time(s) analyses were performed;  

d. The individual(s) who performed the analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  

f. The results of such analyses.  

2. The operator shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart recordings for 

continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by this general permit, and records of all 

data used to complete the registration statement for this 

general permit, for a period of at least three years from the 

date of the sample, measurement, report or request for 

coverage. This period of retention shall be extended 

automatically during the course of any unresolved 

litigation regarding the regulated activity or regarding 

control standards applicable to the operator, or as requested 

by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results.  

1. The operator shall update the SWPPP to include the 

results of the monitoring as may be performed in 

accordance with this general permit, unless another 

reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this general 

permit.  

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a discharge 

monitoring report (DMR); on forms provided, approved or 

specified by the department; or in any format provided that 

the date, location, parameter, method, and result of the 

monitoring activity are included.  

3. If the operator monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this general permit more frequently than 

required by this general permit using test procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or using other test 

procedures approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency or using procedures specified in this general 

permit, the results of this monitoring shall be included in 

the calculation and reporting of the data submitted in the 

DMR or reporting form specified by the department.  

4. Calculations for all limitations which require averaging 

of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in this general permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The operator shall furnish, 

within a reasonable time, any information which the board 

may request to determine whether cause exists for modifying, 

revoking and reissuing, or terminating this general permit or 

to determine compliance with this general permit. The board, 

department, EPA, or VSMP authority may require the 

operator to furnish, upon request, such plans, specifications, 

and other pertinent information as may be necessary to 

determine the effect of the wastes from his discharge on the 

quality of surface waters, or such other information as may be 

necessary to accomplish the purposes of the CWA and the 

Virginia Stormwater Management Act. The operator shall 

also furnish to the board, department, EPA, or VSMP 

authority, upon request, copies of records required to be kept 

by this general permit.  
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E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this general permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days 

following each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized stormwater discharges. Pursuant to § 62.1-

44.5 of the Code of Virginia, except in compliance with a 

state permit issued by the department, it shall be unlawful to 

cause a stormwater discharge from a construction activity. 

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any operator who 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 

industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 

substance or a hazardous substance or oil in an amount equal 

to or in excess of a reportable quantity established under 

either 40 CFR Part 110, 40 CFR Part 117, 40 CFR Part 302, 

or § 62.1-44.34:19 of the Code of Virginia that occurs during 

a 24-hour period into or upon surface waters or who 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may 

reasonably be expected to enter surface waters, shall notify 

the Department of Environmental Quality of the discharge 

immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 

later than within 24 hours after said discovery. A written 

report of the unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the 

department and the VSMP authority within five days of 

discovery of the discharge. The written report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  

2. The cause of the discharge;  

3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  

4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  

5. The volume of the discharge;  

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue;  

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and  

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this general permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department and the VSMP 

authority under the immediate reporting requirements of other 

regulations are exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a "bypass" or 

"upset," as defined herein, should occur from a facility and 

the discharge enters or could be expected to enter surface 

waters, the operator shall promptly notify, in no case later 

than within 24 hours, the department and the VSMP authority 

by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. This 

notification shall provide all available details of the incident, 

including any adverse effects on aquatic life and the known 

number of fish killed. The operator shall reduce the report to 

writing and shall submit it to the department and the VSMP 

authority within five days of discovery of the discharge in 

accordance with Part III I 2. Unusual and extraordinary 

discharges include but are not limited to any discharge 

resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations;  

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  

3. Failure or taking out of service of some or all of the 

facilities; and  

4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance. The operator shall report any 

noncompliance which may adversely affect surface waters or 

may endanger public health.  

1. An oral report to the department and the VSMP 

authority shall be provided within 24 hours from the time 

the operator becomes aware of the circumstances. The 

following shall be included as information that shall be 

reported within 24 hours under this subdivision:  

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and  

b. Any upset that causes a discharge to surface waters.  

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 

shall contain:  

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause;  

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 

and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 

corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 

and  

c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The department may waive the written report on a case-by-

case basis for reports of noncompliance under Part III I if 

the oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 

adverse impact on surface waters has been reported.  

3. The operator shall report all instances of noncompliance 

not reported under Part III I 1 or 2 in writing as part of the 

SWPPP. The reports shall contain the information listed in 

Part III I 2.  

NOTE: The reports required in Part III G, H and I shall be 

made to the department and the VSMP authority. Reports 

may be made by telephone, email, or by fax. For reports 

outside normal working hours, leaving a recorded message 

shall fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 

emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Management maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-

800-468-8892.  

4. Where the operator becomes aware of a failure to submit 

any relevant facts, or submittal of incorrect information in 

any report, including a registration statement, to the 

department or the VSMP authority, the operator shall 

promptly submit such facts or correct information.  
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J. Notice of planned changes.  

1. The operator shall give notice to the department and the 

VSMP authority as soon as possible of any planned 

physical alterations or additions to the permitted facility or 

activity. Notice is required only when:  

a. The operator plans an alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation that may meet 

one of the criteria for determining whether a facility is a 

new source in 9VAC25-870-420; 

b. The operator plans an alteration or addition that would 

significantly change the nature or increase the quantity of 

pollutants discharged. This notification applies to 

pollutants that are not subject to effluent limitations in 

this general permit; or  

2. The operator shall give advance notice to the department 

and VSMP authority of any planned changes in the 

permitted facility or activity, which may result in 

noncompliance with state permit requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall 

be signed as follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this chapter, a responsible corporate 

officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or 

vice-president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation; or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 

provided the manager is authorized to make management 

decisions that govern the operation of the regulated 

facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 

making major capital investment recommendations, and 

initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 

assure long-term compliance with environmental laws 

and regulations; the manager can ensure that the 

necessary systems are established or actions taken to 

gather complete and accurate information for state permit 

application requirements; and where authority to sign 

documents has been assigned or delegated to the manager 

in accordance with corporate procedures;  

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this chapter, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes: (i) the 

chief executive officer of the agency or (ii) a senior 

executive officer having responsibility for the overall 

operations of a principal geographic unit of the agency.  

2. Reports, etc. All reports required by this general permit, 

including SWPPPs, and other information requested by the 

board or the department shall be signed by a person 

described in Part III K 1 or by a duly authorized 

representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized 

representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part III K 1;  

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 

an individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the operator. (A duly 

authorized representative may thus be either a named 

individual or any individual occupying a named 

position); and  

c. The signed and dated written authorization is included 

in the SWPPP. A copy must be provided to the 

department and VSMP authority, if requested. 

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 

III K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 

or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 

the construction activity, a new authorization satisfying the 

requirements of Part III K 2 shall be submitted to the 

VSMP authority as the administering entity for the board 

prior to or together with any reports or information to be 

signed by an authorized representative.  

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 

III K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that I have read and 

understand this document and that this document and all 

attachments were prepared in accordance with a system 

designed to assure that qualified personnel properly 

gathered and evaluated the information submitted. Based 

on my inquiry of the person or persons who manage the 

system, or those persons directly responsible for gathering 

the information, the information submitted is, to the best of 

my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I 

am aware that there are significant penalties for submitting 

false information, including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The operator shall comply with all 

conditions of this general permit. Any state permit 

noncompliance constitutes a violation of the Virginia 

Stormwater Management Act and the Clean Water Act, 

except that noncompliance with certain provisions of this 

general permit may constitute a violation of the Virginia 

Stormwater Management Act but not the Clean Water Act. 

Permit noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for 

state permit termination, revocation and reissuance, or 

modification; or denial of a state permit renewal application.  

The operator shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 

Act for toxic pollutants within the time provided in the 
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regulations that establish these standards or prohibitions or 

standards for sewage sludge use or disposal, even if this 

general permit has not yet been modified to incorporate the 

requirement.  

M. Duty to reapply. If the operator wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this general permit after the expiration 

date of this general permit, the operator shall submit a new 

registration statement at least 90 days before the expiration 

date of the existing general permit, unless permission for a 

later date has been granted by the board. The board shall not 

grant permission for registration statements to be submitted 

later than the expiration date of the existing general permit.  

N. Effect of a state permit. This general permit does not 

convey any property rights in either real or personal property 

or any exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 

private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 

infringement of federal, state or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this general permit shall be 

construed to preclude the institution of any legal action under, 

or relieve the operator from any responsibilities, liabilities, or 

penalties established pursuant to any other state law or 

regulation or under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean 

Water Act. Except as provided in general permit conditions 

on "bypassing" (Part III U) and "upset" (Part III V), nothing 

in this general permit shall be construed to relieve the 

operator from civil and criminal penalties for noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

general permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of 

any legal action or relieve the operator from any 

responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties to which the operator 

is or may be subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-

44.34:23 of the State Water Control Law or § 311 of the 

Clean Water Act.  

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The operator shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances), 

which are installed or used by the operator to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this general permit. Proper 

operation and maintenance also includes effective plant 

performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 

adequate laboratory and process controls, including 

appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 

requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 

similar systems, which are installed by the operator only 

when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with 

the conditions of this general permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering surface 

waters and in compliance with all applicable state and federal 

laws and regulations.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The operator shall take all steps to 

minimize or prevent any discharge in violation of this general 

permit that has a reasonable likelihood of adversely affecting 

human health or the environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 

be a defense for an operator in an enforcement action that it 

would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 

activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 

of this general permit.  

U. Bypass.  

1. "Bypass," as defined in 9VAC25-870-10, means the 

intentional diversion of waste streams from any portion of 

a treatment facility. The operator may allow any bypass to 

occur that does not cause effluent limitations to be 

exceeded, but only if it also is for essential maintenance to 

ensure efficient operation. These bypasses are not subject 

to the provisions of Part III U 2 and 3.  

2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the operator knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, the operator shall submit prior 

notice to the department, if possible at least 10 days 

before the date of the bypass.  

b. Unanticipated bypass. The operator shall submit notice 

of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part III I.  

3. Prohibition of bypass.  

a. Except as provided in Part III U 1, bypass is 

prohibited, and the board or department may take 

enforcement action against an operator for bypass unless:  

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage. Severe 

property damage means substantial physical damage to 

property, damage to the treatment facilities that causes 

them to become inoperable, or substantial and permanent 

loss of natural resources that can reasonably be expected 

to occur in the absence of a bypass. Severe property 

damage does not mean economic loss caused by delays 

in production;  

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 

such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 

of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 

periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 

satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 

been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 

judgment to prevent a bypass that occurred during 

normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance; and  

(3) The operator submitted notices as required under Part 

III U 2.  

b. The department may approve an anticipated bypass, 

after considering its adverse effects, if the department 

determines that it will meet the three conditions listed in 

Part III U 3 a.  
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V. Upset.  

1. An "upset," as defined in 9VAC25-870-10, means an 

exceptional incident in which there is unintentional and 

temporary noncompliance with technology-based state 

permit effluent limitations because of factors beyond the 

reasonable control of the operator. An upset does not 

include noncompliance to the extent caused by operational 

error, improperly designed treatment facilities, inadequate 

treatment facilities, lack of preventive maintenance, or 

careless or improper operation. 

2. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 

brought for noncompliance with technology-based state 

permit effluent limitations if the requirements of Part III V 

4 are met. A determination made during administrative 

review of claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, 

and before an action for noncompliance, is not a final 

administrative action subject to judicial review.  

3. An upset does not include noncompliance to the extent 

caused by operational error, improperly designed treatment 

facilities, inadequate treatment facilities, lack of 

preventative maintenance, or careless or improper 

operation. 

4. An operator who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly 

signed, contemporaneous operating logs or other relevant 

evidence that:  

a. An upset occurred and that the operator can identify 

the cause(s) of the upset;  

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated;  

c. The operator submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Part III I; and  

d. The operator complied with any remedial measures 

required under Part III S.  

5. In any enforcement proceeding, the operator seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 

proof.  

W. Inspection and entry. The operator shall allow the 

department as the board's designee, the VSMP authority, 

EPA, or an authorized representative of either entity 

(including an authorized contractor), upon presentation of 

credentials and other documents as may be required by law 

to:  

1. Enter upon the operator's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 

records must be kept under the conditions of this general 

permit;  

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 

records that must be kept under the conditions of this 

general permit;  

3. Inspect and photograph at reasonable times any 

facilities, equipment (including monitoring and control 

equipment), practices, or operations regulated or required 

under this general permit; and  

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of ensuring state permit compliance or as otherwise 

authorized by the Clean Water Act or the Virginia 

Stormwater Management Act, any substances or 

parameters at any location.  

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 

deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and 

whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 

herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 

emergency.  

X. State permit actions. State permits may be modified, 

revoked and reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a 

request by the operator for a state permit modification, 

revocation and reissuance, or termination, or a notification of 

planned changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay 

any state permit condition.  

Y. Transfer of state permits.  

1. State permits are not transferable to any person except 

after notice to the department. Except as provided in Part 

III Y 2, a state permit may be transferred by the operator to 

a new operator only if the state permit has been modified 

or revoked and reissued, or a minor modification made, to 

identify the new operator and incorporate such other 

requirements as may be necessary under the Virginia 

Stormwater Management Act and the Clean Water Act.  

2. As an alternative to transfers under Part III Y 1, this 

state permit may be automatically transferred to a new 

operator if:  

a. The current operator notifies the department at least 30 

days in advance of the proposed transfer of the title to the 

facility or property;  

b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new operators containing a specific date for 

transfer of state permit responsibility, coverage, and 

liability between them; and  

c. The department does not notify the existing operator 

and the proposed new operator of its intent to modify or 

revoke and reissue the state permit. If this notice is not 

received, the transfer is effective on the date specified in 

the agreement mentioned in Part III Y 2 b.  

3. For ongoing construction activity involving a change of 

operator, the new operator shall accept and maintain the 

existing SWPPP, or prepare and implement a new SWPPP 

prior to taking over operations at the site. 

Z. Severability. The provisions of this general permit are 

severable, and if any provision of this general permit or the 

application of any provision of this state permit to any 

circumstance, is held invalid, the application of such 

provision to other circumstances and the remainder of this 

general permit shall not be affected thereby.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4018; Filed June 27, 2014, 12:58 p.m.  
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  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Forms 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the following 

regulation have been filed by the State Corporation 

Commission. The forms are not being published; however, 

online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of the new or amended 

form to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-216. Rules Governing 

Internal Appeal and External Review. 

Effective Date: July 28, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Robert Grissom, Chief Insurance Market 

Examiner, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-9152 or email 

bob.grissom@scc.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (14VAC5-216) 

External Review Request Form, Form 216-A (7/11) 

Appointment of Authorized Representative, Form 216-B 

(7/11) 

Physician Certification Expedited External Review Request, 

Form 216-C (7/11) 

Physician Certification Experimental or Investigational 

Denials, Form 216-D (7/11) 

Independent Review Organization Application for 

Registration, Form 216-E (7/11) 

Independent Review Organization Application for 

Registration, Form 216-E (rev. 7/14) 

Health Carrier External Review Annual Report Form, Form 

216-F (7/11) 

Independent Review Organization External Review Annual 

Report Form, Form 216-G (7/11) 

Self-Insured Plan Opt-In to Virginia External Review 

Process, Form 216-H (7/11) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4105; Filed July 2, 2014, 3:32 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

 

 

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory actions 

are exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Safety and Health Codes Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-90. Federal Identical 

General Industry Standards (amending 16VAC25-90-

1910.217 (e)(1)). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Planning and Evaluation 

Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 

crisanti.john@dol.gov. 

Summary: 

In a direct final rule, federal Occupational Safety & Health 

Administration (OSHA) made two main revisions to its 

Mechanical Power Presses Standard in General Industry, 

29 CFR 1910. First, OSHA revised a provision that 

requires employers to develop and maintain certification 

records of periodic inspections performed on the presses 

by adding a requirement that they develop and maintain 

certification records of any maintenance and repairs they 

perform on the presses during the periodic inspections. 

Second, OSHA removed the requirement from another 

provision that employers develop and maintain 

certification records of weekly inspections and tests 

performed on the presses. This action incorporates these 

changes into the Virginia standards for general industry. 

Note on Incorporation by Reference: Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 

of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 1910 (Occupational 

Safety and Health Standards) is declared a document 

generally available to the public and appropriate for 

incorporation by reference. For this reason, this document 

will not be printed in the Virginia Register of Regulations. A 

copy of this document is available for inspection at the 

Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 

East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, and in the 

office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly 

Building, 201 North 9th Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action: On June 5, 2014, the 

Safety and Health Codes Board adopted federal OSHA's 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=aecf7002809~10&typ=40&actno=002809&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1ae24002809~11&typ=40&actno=002809&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1ae24002809~11&typ=40&actno=002809&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=179a4002809~12&typ=40&actno=002809&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=179a4002809~12&typ=40&actno=002809&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c40d0002809~13&typ=40&actno=002809&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c40d0002809~13&typ=40&actno=002809&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7be7d004105~1&typ=40&actno=004105&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7be7d004105~1&typ=40&actno=004105&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d67ff002809~14&typ=40&actno=002809&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d67ff002809~14&typ=40&actno=002809&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e2daf002809~15&typ=40&actno=002809&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e2daf002809~15&typ=40&actno=002809&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=15403002809~16&typ=40&actno=002809&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=15403002809~16&typ=40&actno=002809&mime=application/pdf
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4103
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direct final rule for the Record Requirements in the 

Mechanical Power Presses Standard, as published in 78 FR 

69543 through 78 FR 69550 on November 20, 2013, with an 

effective date of February 18, 2014.  

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: When the regulations as 

set forth in the revised final rule for Occupational Safety and 

Health Standards are applied to the Commissioner of the 

Department of Labor and Industry or to Virginia employers, 

the following federal terms shall be considered to read as 

follows: 

Federal Terms  VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR  VOSH Standard 

Assistant Secretary  Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry 

Agency  Department 

February 18, 2014  September 1, 2014 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4102; Filed July 9, 2014, 11:35 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 16VAC25-90. Federal Identical 

General Industry Standards (amending 16VAC25-90-

1910.136, 16VAC25-90-1910.137, Appendix B to Subpart I 

of Part 1910, 16VAC25-90-1910.269, Appendices A 

through D to 16VAC25-90-1910.269, 16VAC25-90-

1910.331, 16VAC25-90-1910.339; adding Appendices E 

through G to 16VAC25-90-1910.269). 

16VAC25-155. Virginia Construction Industry General 

Requirements for Clearances, Construction of Electric 

Transmission and Distribution Lines and Equipment 

(repealing 16VAC25-155-10).  

16VAC25-175. Federal Identical Construction Industry 

Standards (amending 16VAC25-175-1926.500, 16VAC25-

175-1926.950, 16VAC25-175-1926.951, 16VAC25-175-

1926.952, 16VAC25-175-1926.953, 16VAC25-175-

1926.954, 16VAC25-175-1926.955, 16VAC25-175-

1926.956, 16VAC25-175-1926.957, 16VAC25-175-

1926.958, 16VAC25-175-1926.959, 16VAC25-175-

1926.960, 16VAC25-175-1926.961, 16VAC25-175-

1926.962, 16VAC25-175-1926.963, 16VAC25-175-

1926.964, 16VAC25-175-1926.965, 16VAC25-175-

1926.966, 16VAC25-175-1926.967, 16VAC25-175-

1926.968, 16VAC25-175-1926.1053, 16VAC25-175-

1926.1400, 16VAC25-175-1926.1410; adding 16VAC25-

175-1926.97, Appendices A through G to Subpart V of 

Part 1926). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Planning and Evaluation 

Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 

crisanti.john@dol.gov. 

Summary: 

In a final rule, federal Occupational Safety & Health 

Administration (OSHA) (i) adopted a new construction 

standard on electrical protective equipment, 29 CFR 

1926.97; (ii) revised the standard on the construction of 

electric power transmission and distribution lines and 

equipment, 29 CFR Part 1926, Subpart V; (iii) revised the 

general industry counterparts to these construction 

standards, 29 CFR 1910.137 and 1910.269; (iv) revised its 

general industry standard on foot protection, 29 CFR 

1910.136, to require employers to ensure that protective 

footwear is used to protect an employee from an electrical 

hazard that remains after the employer takes other 

necessary protective measures; and (v) made certain 

editorial and nonsubstantive changes for clarification. 

OSHA also included numerous comparable appendices in 

29 CFR 1910.269 and Subpart V of 29 CFR Part 126 in 

the final rule. This action incorporates these changes into 

the Virginia standards, with the exception of the change to 

29 CFR 1926.6, Incorporation by reference. Like federal 

OSHA, VOSH is seeking to use the extended phase-in 

period for this final rule with the same federal date 

schedule for implementation so that the additional time 

granted to employers will serve to reduce the transitional 

costs associated with this rule.  

The new federal final rule provides comprehensive and 

uniform levels of worker protection across industries that 

previously were lacking and had been addressed by the 

board in 2004 through the adoption of 16VAC25-155. 

Since this Virginia unique regulation is no longer 

necessary, the board is repealing it as part of this 

regulatory action. 

Note on Incorporation by Reference: Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 

of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 1910 (Occupational 

Safety and Health Standards) and 29 CFR Part 1926 (Safety 

and Health Regulations for Construction) are declared 

documents generally available to the public and appropriate 

for incorporation by reference. For this reason, these 

documents will not be printed in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. A copy of these documents are available for 

inspection at the Department of Labor and Industry, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 

23219, and in the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 

General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th Street, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action: On June 5, 2014, the 

Safety and Health Codes Board adopted federal OSHA's final 

rule for Electric Power Generation, Transmission, 

Distribution and Electrical Protective Equipment, Parts 1910 

and 1926, as published in 79 FR 20316 through 79 FR 20743 

on April 11, 2014, with an effective date of July 10, 2014.  
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Federal Terms and State Equivalents: When the regulations as 

set forth in the revised final rule for Occupational Safety and 

Health Standards and Safety and Health Regulations for 

Construction are applied to the Commissioner of the 

Department of Labor and Industry or to Virginia employers, 

the following federal terms shall be considered to read as 

follows: 

Federal Terms  VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR  VOSH Standard 

Assistant Secretary  Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry 

Agency  Department 

July 10, 2014  September 1, 2014 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4104; Filed July 9, 2014, 11:37 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-120. Federal Identical 

Marine Terminals Standards (amending 16VAC25-120-

1917.71). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: John J. Crisanti, Planning and Evaluation 

Manager, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 

crisanti.john@dol.gov. 

Summary: 

In a final rule, federal Occupational Safety & Health 

Administration (OSHA) implemented a court-ordered 

remand of certain portions of the standard for vertical 

tandem lifts (VTLs) by limiting the application of the 

corner-casting and interbox-connector inspection 

requirements to shore-to-ship VTLs and removing the 

tandem lifts of platform containers from the scope of the 

VTL standard. This action incorporates these changes into 

the Virginia standards for marine terminals. 

Note on Incorporation by Reference: Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 

of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 1917 (Marine 

Terminals) is declared a document generally available to the 

public and appropriate for incorporation by reference. For this 

reason, this document will not be printed in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. A copy of this document is available 

for inspection at the Department of Labor and Industry, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 

23219, and in the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 

General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th Street, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action: On June 5, 2014, the 

Safety and Health Codes Board adopted federal OSHA's final 

rule and remand for Terminals Handling Intermodal 

Containers or Roll-On Roll-Off Operations; Vertical tandem 

lifts, as published in 79 FR 22018 through 79 FR 22020 on 

April 21, 2014, with an effective date of July 21, 2014.  

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: When the regulations as 

set forth in the revised final rule for Marine Terminals are 

applied to the Commissioner of the Department of Labor and 

Industry or to Virginia employers, the following federal terms 

shall be considered to read as follows: 

Federal Terms  VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR  VOSH Standard 

Assistant Secretary  Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry 

Agency  Department 

July 21, 2014  September 1, 2014 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4103; Filed July 9, 2014, 11:37 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Medicine is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Board of Medicine will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions from any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-80. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Occupational Therapists (amending 

18VAC85-80-45).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 27, 2014.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action conforms the requirements regarding practice 

by a graduate of an occupational therapy or occupational 

therapy assistant program while awaiting examination 

results to changes in the Code of Virginia enacted by 

Chapter 252 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly. The 

amendments permit an applicant to practice for up to six 

months from the date of graduation or until the applicant 

has received a failing score on the licensure examination, 

whichever comes first. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4103
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18VAC85-80-45. Practice by a graduate awaiting 

examination results.  

A. A graduate of an accredited occupational therapy 

educational program may practice with the designated title of 

"Occupational Therapist, License Applicant" or "O.T.L.-

Applicant" until he has taken and received the results of a 

failing score on the licensure examination from NBCOT or 

for six months from the date of graduation, whichever occurs 

sooner. The graduate shall use one of the designated titles on 

any identification or signature in the course of his practice. 

B. A graduate of an accredited occupational therapy 

assistant educational program may practice with the 

designated title of "Occupational Therapy Assistant-License 

Applicant" or "O.T.A.-Applicant" until he has taken and 

received the results of a failing score on the licensure 

examination from NBCOT or for six months from the date of 

graduation, whichever occurs sooner. The graduate shall use 

one of the designated titles on any identification or signature 

in the course of his practice.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4086; Filed July 8, 2014, 9:09 a.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 17 (2014) 

Development and Review of State Agency 
Regulations 

Importance of the Initiative 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under 

Article V of the Constitution of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia and under the laws of the Commonwealth, including, 

but not limited to, Sections 2.2-4013 and 2.2-4017 of the 

Code of Virginia, and subject to my continuing and ultimate 

authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby 

establish policies and procedures for the review of all new 

regulations and changes to existing regulations proposed by 

state agencies, which shall include for purposes of this 

Executive Order all agencies, boards, commissions, and other 

entities of the Commonwealth within the executive branch 

that are authorized to promulgate regulations. Nothing in this 

Executive Order shall be construed to limit my authority 

under the Code of Virginia, including to require an additional 

30-day public comment period, file a formal objection to a 

regulation, suspend the effective date of a regulation with the 

concurrence of the applicable body of the General Assembly, 

or to exercise any other rights and prerogatives existing under 

Virginia law. 

Acronyms and Definitions 

The following acronyms and definitions are set out here for 

ease of use and represent only a summary of terms and 

acronyms related to the regulatory review process. More 

detailed descriptions and definitions can be found throughout 

the Administrative Process Act (APA), Section 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia. 

ABD – Agency Background Document. An ABD is a form 

completed by agencies and uploaded on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall (Town Hall) for each regulatory stage 

in order to describe and explain the regulatory action. The 

form for each stage is available on the Town Hall. 

APA – Administrative Process Act, Section 2.2-4000 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia. Article 2 of the APA contains 

provisions on how regulations are to be promulgated in 

Virginia. 

Day – All references to a day mean a calendar day. 

DPB – Virginia Department of Planning and Budget. DPB 

houses the Economic and Regulatory Analysis Division 

(ERAD), which reviews regulatory proposals for economic 

and policy impact and manages the Town Hall website. 

EIA – Economic Impact Analysis. An EIA is prepared by 

DPB and evaluates the estimated costs and benefits of a 

regulatory proposal. 

Emergency rulemaking process – This process is invoked 

(1) when there is an emergency situation as determined by the 

agency and the Governor agrees that an emergency regulation 

is necessary, or (2) when a Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act or federal law or federal regulation requires 

that a state regulation be effective in 280 days or less from its 

enactment. 

Executive branch review – The review of a regulatory 

proposal at various stages by the executive branch before it is 

published in the Virginia Register of Regulations and 

available for public comment. The scope of review depends 

on the stage type, e.g., a proposed stage is reviewed by: the 

Office of the Attorney General (OAG), DPB, the appropriate 

Cabinet Secretary, and the Governor. 

Exempt rulemaking process – Agency actions that are 

exempt from the promulgation requirements of Article 2 of 

the APA can generally be adopted and filed directly with the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations (Registrar) and are not 

subject to executive branch review. 

Fast-track rulemaking process – This process may be 

utilized for rules that are expected to be noncontroversial.  

Legislative mandate – When a law is passed by the General 

Assembly that requires a regulation to be promulgated, 

amended, or repealed in whole or part. 

NOIRA – Notice of Intended Regulatory Action. A NOIRA 

is the first stage in the standard rulemaking process in 

Virginia. 

OAG – Office of the Attorney General. The OAG must 

review regulatory proposals at the emergency stage, the fast-

track stage, and the proposed stage. In addition, the OAG 

must review a proposal at the final stage if there have been 

changes with substantial impact made since the proposed 

stage.  

Register – The Virginia Register of Regulations is an official 

legal publication that provides information about proposed 

and final changes to Virginia's regulations. The Registrar is 

responsible for publication of the Register. 

RIS – Regulation Information System. The RIS is a web-

enabled application operated by the Registrar and is used by 

agencies to create text for regulatory proposals. This text is 

then synchronized on the Town Hall website for display to all 

Town Hall users. 

Rulemaking or regulatory process – There are four types of 

rulemaking processes in Virginia: (1) emergency, (2) fast-

track, (3) standard, and (4) exempt. 

Standard rulemaking process – This is the default 

rulemaking process in Virginia. If a regulatory proposal does 

not meet the criteria for exempt, fast-track, or emergency 

rulemaking, it goes through the standard rulemaking process, 

generally consisting of three stages: NOIRA, proposed, and 

final. 
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Town Hall – The Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website. 

The Town Hall is managed by DPB and used by agencies to 

post regulatory proposals and to facilitate the regulatory 

review process. The site features public comment forums, 

meeting information, and an email notification service. 

VAC – Virginia Administrative Code. The VAC is the 

official legal publication for regulations in Virginia. 

General Policy 

The executive branch agencies of the Commonwealth must 

consider, review, and promulgate numerous regulations each 

year. This Executive Order sets out procedures and 

requirements to ensure the efficiency and quality of Virginia's 

regulatory process. All state employees who draft, provide 

policy analysis for, or review regulations shall carefully 

consider and apply the principles outlined below during the 

regulatory development and review process. 

General Principles 

A. All regulatory activity should be undertaken with the least 

possible intrusion into the lives of the citizens of the 

Commonwealth and be necessary to protect the public health, 

safety, and welfare. Accordingly, agencies shall consider: 

1. The use of economic incentives to encourage the desired 

outcomes (such as user fees or marketable permits); 

2. The use of information disclosure requirements, rather 

than regulatory mandates, so that the public can make more 

informed choices; 

3. The use of performance standards in place of mandating 

specific techniques or behavior; and 

4. The consideration of reasonably available alternatives in 

lieu of regulation. 

B. Where applicable, and to the extent permitted by law, it 

shall be the policy of the Commonwealth that only 

regulations necessary to interpret the law or to protect the 

public health, safety, or welfare shall be promulgated. 

C. Regulations shall be clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

D. Regulations shall be designed to achieve their intended 

objective in the most efficient, cost effective manner. 

Regulatory Development 

E. Regulatory development shall be based on the best 

reasonably available and reliable scientific, economic, and 

other information concerning the need for, and consequences 

of, the intended regulation. Agencies shall specifically cite 

the best reasonably available and reliable scientific, 

economic, and other information in support of regulatory 

proposals. 

F. Regulatory development shall be conducted in accordance 

with the statutory provisions related to impact on small 

businesses. DPB shall work with state agencies to address 

these requirements during the regulatory review process, 

including notifications as appropriate to the Joint 

Commission on Administrative Rules. 

G. During regulatory development, agencies shall consider 

the impact on existing and potential Virginia employers and 

their ability to maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 

Commonwealth, as well as the cost of compliance to the 

general public. 

Public Participation 

H. Agencies shall actively seek input for proposed regulations 

from interested parties, stakeholders, citizens, and members 

of the General Assembly. 

I. In addition to requirements established in Article 2 of the 

APA, agencies shall post all rulemaking actions on the Town 

Hall to ensure that the public is adequately informed of 

rulemaking activities. 

J. All legal requirements related to public participation and all 

public participation guidelines shall be strictly followed to 

ensure that citizens have reasonable access and opportunity to 

present their comments and concerns. Agencies shall inform 

interested persons of (1) the Town Hall's email notification 

service that can send information regarding the specific 

regulations, regulatory actions, and meetings about which 

they are interested, and (2) the process to submit comments in 

the Town Hall public comment forums. Agencies shall 

establish procedures that provide for a timely written 

response to all comments and the inclusion of suggested 

changes that would improve the quality of the regulation. 

Other 

K. Agencies, as well as reviewing entities, shall endeavor to 

perform their tasks in the regulatory process as expeditiously 

as the regulatory subject matter will allow and shall adhere to 

the timeframes set out in this Executive Order. 

L. Regulations will be subject to periodic evaluation, review, 

and modification, as appropriate, in accordance with the 

APA, policy initiatives of the Governor, and legislation. 

M. Each agency head will be held accountable for ensuring 

that the policies and objectives specified in this Executive 

Order are put into effect. Agency heads shall ensure that 

information requested by DPB, the appropriate Cabinet 

Secretary, or the Office of the Governor, in connection with 

this Executive Order, is provided on a timely basis. 

Incomplete regulatory packages may be returned to the 

appropriate agency by DPB. 

Applicability 

The review process in this Executive Order applies to 

rulemakings initiated by agencies of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia in accordance with Article 2 of the APA. 
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With the exception of the requirements governing the 

periodic review of existing regulations, the posting of 

meeting agenda and minutes, and the posting of guidance 

documents, agencies and agency regulatory action exempt 

from Article 2 of the APA are not subject to the requirements 

of this Executive Order. Nonetheless, the Governor, a Cabinet 

Secretary, or the Chief of Staff may request in writing that an 

agency comply with all or part of the requirements of this 

Executive Order for regulations exempt from Article 2 of the 

APA. Copies of such requests shall be forwarded to the 

Governor's Policy Office and DPB. In addition, a Cabinet 

Secretary may request in writing that certain Article 2 exempt 

regulations be further exempted from all or part of the 

requirements of this Executive Order. 

These procedures shall apply in addition to those already 

specified in the APA, the agencies' public participation 

guidelines, and the agencies' basic authorizing statutes. As of 

June 30, 2014, these procedures shall apply to all regulatory 

actions and stages that have been submitted to DPB for any 

stage of executive branch review. 

Any failure to comply with the requirements set forth herein 

shall in no way affect the validity of a regulation, create any 

cause of action or provide standing for any person under 

Article 5 of the APA (Section 2.2-4025 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), or otherwise challenge the actions of a government 

entity responsible for adopting or reviewing regulations. 

Regulatory Review Process  

Regulations shall be subject to executive branch review as 

specified herein. All agency regulatory packages shall be 

submitted via the Town Hall. For each stage of the regulatory 

development process, agencies shall complete and post the 

applicable ABD on the Town Hall to describe the regulatory 

action and inform the public about the substance and reasons 

for the rulemaking. Agencies shall ensure that the correct 

regulatory text is synchronized with the appropriate stage 

information page on the Town Hall. 

If a regulatory package is submitted to DPB, and DPB 

determines that the package is not substantially complete, 

then DPB shall notify the agency within 10 days. At that 

time, the agency must withdraw the package from the Town 

Hall and resubmit the package only after all missing elements 

identified by DPB have been added. Agencies shall submit 

regulatory packages to the Registrar for publication on the 

Town Hall within 14 days of being authorized to do so. 

In rulemakings where there are two or more stages, the filing 

of each subsequent stage shall be submitted on the Town Hall 

as expeditiously as the subject matter allows and no later than 

180 days after the conclusion of the public comment period 

for the prior stage. If this deadline is not met, it shall be 

reported to the appropriate Cabinet Secretary in an end of 

year report further described below. 

A. Standard Rulemaking Process 

1. Notice of Intended Regulatory Action (NOIRA) Stage 

The NOIRA shall include the nature and scope of the 

regulatory changes being considered and the relevant 

sections of the Virginia Administrative Code. This package 

shall include draft regulatory text if it is available. 

DPB shall review the NOIRA to determine whether it 

complies with all requirements of this Executive Order and 

applicable statutes and whether the contemplated 

regulatory action comports with the policy of the 

Commonwealth as set forth herein. Within 14 days of 

receiving a complete NOIRA review package from the 

agency, the Director of DPB shall advise the appropriate 

Secretary and the Governor of DPB's determination. If the 

Director of DPB advises the appropriate Secretary and the 

Governor that the NOIRA presents issues requiring further 

review, the NOIRA shall be forwarded to the Secretary. 

The Secretary shall review the NOIRA within 14 days and 

forward a recommendation to the Governor. If DPB does 

not find issues requiring further review, the agency shall be 

authorized to submit the NOIRA to the Registrar for 

publication when the Governor approves the NOIRA for 

publication. 

The Chief of Staff to the Governor is hereby authorized to 

approve or disapprove NOIRAs on behalf of the Governor. 

Public comments received following publication of the 

NOIRA should be encouraged and carefully considered in 

developing the proposed stage of a regulatory proposal. 

2. Proposed Stage 

Following the initial public comment period required by 

Section 2.2-4007.01 of the Code of Virginia, and taking 

into account the comments received, the agency shall 

prepare a regulatory review package. 

At this stage, the proposed regulation and regulatory review 

package shall be in as close to final form as possible, 

including completed review by all appropriate regulatory 

advisory panels or negotiated rulemaking panels. New 

issues that were not disclosed to the public when the 

NOIRA was published shall not be addressed at the 

proposed stage. 

The order of executive branch review shall be as follows: 

a. OAG. The OAG will conduct a review of the proposed 

regulation and produce a memorandum assessing the 

agency's legal authority to promulgate the regulation. The 

OAG may also provide any advice, recommendations, or 

other comments for consideration by the Governor with 

respect to the proposed regulation. After the OAG has 

completed its review, the package will be submitted to 

DPB. 
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b. DPB. DPB shall review the proposed regulatory package 

to determine whether it complies with all requirements of 

this Executive Order, applicable statutes, and other policies 

of the Commonwealth. Per Section 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia, within 45 days of receiving a complete 

regulatory review package, the Director of DPB shall 

prepare a policy analysis and EIA before advising the 

appropriate Secretary and the Governor of the results of the 

review. 

c. Cabinet Secretary. The Secretary shall review the 

proposed regulation package within 14 days and forward a 

recommendation to the Governor. 

d. Governor. The Chief of Staff to the Governor is hereby 

authorized to approve or disapprove proposed regulations 

on behalf of the Governor. 

Revised Proposed Stage (Optional) 

Following the proposed stage public comment period, 

required by Section 2.2-4007.03 of the Code of Virginia, the 

agency may wish to make additional changes and/or receive 

additional public comment by publishing a revised proposed 

regulation. The order of executive branch review for the 

revised proposed stage shall be as follows: 

a. OAG. The OAG will conduct a review of the revised 

proposed regulation and produce a memorandum assessing 

the agency's legal authority to promulgate the regulation. 

The OAG may also provide any advice, recommendations, 

or other comments for consideration by the Governor with 

respect to the revised proposed regulation. After the OAG 

has completed its review, the package will be submitted to 

DPB. 

b. DPB. DPB shall review the revised proposed regulatory 

package to determine whether it complies with all 

requirements of this Executive Order, applicable statutes, 

and other policies of the Commonwealth. Within 21 days 

of receiving a complete regulatory package, the Director of 

DPB shall prepare a policy analysis and EIA before 

advising the appropriate Secretary and the Governor of the 

results of the review. 

c. Cabinet Secretary. The Secretary shall review the revised 

proposed regulation package within 14 days and forward a 

recommendation to the Governor. 

d. Governor. The Chief of Staff to the Governor is hereby 

authorized to approve or disapprove revised proposed 

regulations on behalf of the Governor.  

3. Final Stage 

Following the public comment period required by Section 

2.2-4007.03 of the Code of Virginia and taking into 

account all comments received since the last stage was 

published, the rulemaking entity shall revise the proposed 

regulation. 

If any change with substantial impact – as determined by 

DPB – has been made to the regulatory text between the 

proposed and final stages, the agency shall obtain a letter 

from the OAG certifying that the agency has authority to 

make the additional changes. 

The order of executive branch review shall be as follows: 

a. DPB. DPB shall review the final stage package to 

determine whether it complies with all requirements of this 

Executive Order, applicable statutes, and other policies of 

the Commonwealth. In particular, DPB shall assess the 

effect of any substantive changes made since the 

publication of the proposed regulation and the 

responsiveness of the agency to public comment. Within 14 

days of receiving a complete final regulation package from 

the agency, the Director of DPB shall prepare a policy 

analysis before advising the appropriate Secretary and the 

Governor of the results of the review. 

b. Cabinet Secretary. The Secretary shall review the final 

stage regulation package within 14 days and forward a 

recommendation to the Governor. 

c. Governor. The Chief of Staff to the Governor is hereby 

authorized to approve or disapprove proposed final 

regulations on behalf of the Governor. 

B. Fast-Track Rulemaking Process 

The fast-track rulemaking process is for rules that are 

expected to be noncontroversial. 

DPB shall review the fast-track regulation to determine 

whether the regulatory change is appropriately within the 

intended scope of fast-track regulatory authority, whether it 

complies with all other requirements of this Executive Order 

and applicable statutes, and whether the contemplated 

regulatory action comports with the policy of the 

Commonwealth. DPB shall request the Governor's office to 

determine if the fast-track process is appropriate when there is 

any question as to whether a package should be allowed to 

proceed in this manner. The Governor shall retain discretion 

to disapprove use of the fast-track rulemaking process when 

the Governor determines use of this process is not in the 

public interest, the determination of which shall be at the sole 

discretion of the Governor. 

After a fast-track regulation has been submitted on the Town 

Hall, executive branch review will proceed as follows: 

1. OAG. The OAG will conduct a review of the proposed 

fast-track regulation and produce a memorandum assessing 

the agency's legal authority to promulgate the regulation. 

The OAG may also provide any advice, recommendations, 

or other comments for consideration by the Governor with 

respect to the fast-track regulation. After the OAG has 

completed its review, the package will be submitted to 

DPB. 
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2. DPB. DPB shall determine within 10 days or less 

whether the regulatory package is appropriate for the fast-

track rulemaking process and communicate this decision to 

the agency. After a package has been determined to be 

appropriate for the fast-track process, the Director of DPB 

shall have 30 days to prepare a policy analysis and EIA 

before advising the appropriate Secretary and the Governor 

of the results of the review. 

3. Cabinet Secretary. The Secretary shall review the fast-

track regulation package within 14 days and forward a 

recommendation to the Governor. 

4. Governor. The Chief of Staff to the Governor is hereby 

authorized to approve or disapprove fast-track regulations 

on behalf of the Governor. 

C. Emergency Rulemaking Process  

Emergency regulations may be promulgated by an agency if it 

determines there is an emergency situation, consults with the 

OAG, and obtains the approval of the Governor. Emergency 

regulations may also be promulgated in situations in which 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law 

or federal regulation requires that a state regulation be 

effective in 280 days or less from its enactment and the 

regulation is not exempt from the APA. 

If the agency plans to replace the emergency regulation with a 

permanent regulation, it should file an Emergency/NOIRA 

stage. The order of executive branch review shall be as 

follows: 

1. OAG. The OAG will conduct a review of the proposed 

emergency regulation and produce a memorandum 

assessing the agency's legal authority to promulgate the 

regulation. The OAG may also provide any advice, 

recommendations, or other comments for consideration by 

the Governor with respect to the proposed emergency 

regulation. After the OAG has completed its review, the 

package will be submitted to DPB. 

2. DPB. DPB shall review the proposed emergency 

regulatory package to determine whether it complies with 

all requirements of this Executive Order, applicable 

statutes, and other policies of the Commonwealth. Within 

10 days of receiving a complete emergency regulation 

package from the agency, the Director of DPB shall 

prepare a policy analysis before advising the appropriate 

Secretary and the Governor of the results of the review. 

3. Cabinet Secretary. The Secretary shall review the 

proposed emergency regulation package within 10 days and 

forward a recommendation to the Governor. 

4. Governor. The Chief of Staff to the Governor is hereby 

authorized to approve or disapprove emergency regulations 

on behalf of the Governor. 

An emergency regulation shall be effective for up to 18 

months and may be extended for up to an additional six 

months if, despite the rulemaking entity's best efforts, a 

permanent replacement regulation cannot become effective 

before it expires. If an agency wishes to extend an emergency 

regulation beyond its initial effective period, the agency shall 

submit an emergency extension request to the Governor's 

Office via the Town Hall as soon as the need for the 

extension is known and no later than 30 days before the 

emergency regulation is set to expire. The emergency 

extension request must be granted prior to the expiration date 

of the emergency regulation, pursuant to Section 2.2-4011D 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Periodic Review of Existing Regulations  

Every existing state regulation shall be reviewed at least once 

every four years by the promulgating agency, unless 

specifically exempted from periodic review by the Governor. 

A periodic review shall include notice to the public, a public 

comment period (minimum of 21 days), and a result to be 

announced no later than 60 days after the close of the public 

comment period.  

The review shall ensure that each regulation complies with 

the principles set out in this Executive Order. In addition, 

each periodic review shall include an examination by the 

OAG to ensure statutory authority for the regulation and that 

the regulation does not exceed the agency's rulemaking 

authority. Agencies shall cooperate with reviews of 

regulations by the OAG, including, but not limited to, 

reasonable requests for data and other supporting information 

as may be necessary to conduct the review. 

The periodic review must be conducted on the Town Hall and 

may be accomplished either (1) during the course of a 

comprehensive regulatory action using the standard 

rulemaking process, or (2) by using the periodic review 

feature as follows: 

A. During the course of a comprehensive rulemaking using 

the standard regulatory process. If the agency already plans to 

undertake a standard regulatory action, the agency can fulfill 

the periodic review requirement by including a notice of a 

periodic review in the NOIRA. When the proposed stage is 

submitted for executive branch review, the ABD shall include 

the result of the periodic review. When a regulation has 

undergone a comprehensive review as part of a regulatory 

action and when the agency has solicited public comment on 

the regulation, a periodic review shall not be required until 

four years after the effective date of the regulatory action. 

B. Using the periodic review feature. If, at the time of the 

periodic review, the agency has no plans to begin a 

comprehensive rulemaking using the standard rulemaking 

process, then the agency shall use the periodic review feature 

to announce and report the result of a periodic review. If the 

result of the periodic review is to amend the regulation, the 
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agency shall link the periodic review with the subsequent 

action to amend the regulation. If the result is to retain the 

regulation as is, the agency shall so indicate using the 

appropriate Town Hall form.  

In addition to the procedures described above, the Governor 

may request a periodic review of a regulation at any time 

deemed appropriate. Such a request may outline specific areas 

to be addressed in the review. In the case of such a request, 

the agency shall follow the procedures for periodic review as 

established herein or such other procedures as may be 

stipulated by the Governor. 

Petitions for Rulemaking 

Agencies shall post petitions for rulemaking and decisions to 

grant or deny the petitions on the Town Hall, in accordance 

with the timeframes established in Section 2.2-4007 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Regulatory Timeframe Deadlines  

If an agency fails to meet any regulatory timeframe deadlines 

set forth below, it shall submit a report to its Cabinet 

Secretary and DPB no later than December 31 of the year in 

which the timeframe deadline is not met. This report shall 

include the Town Hall action and stage number, as well as an 

explanation of why the timeframe deadline was not met. The 

report must contain the following missed regulatory 

timeframe deadlines:  

A. For regulatory actions that have multiple stages, the period 

between the close of a public comment period and when the 

next stage is submitted on the Town Hall shall not exceed 180 

days. 

B. Agencies have 14 days to submit a regulatory package to 

the Register once they have been authorized to do so. 

Electronic Availability of Meeting Agenda and Minutes 

Executive branch agencies shall post the notice of, and 

agenda for, a public regulatory meeting on the Town Hall at 

least 7 days prior to the date of the meeting, except if it is 

necessary to hold an emergency meeting in which case the 

agenda shall be posted as soon as possible. 

In addition, agencies that promulgate regulations and keep 

minutes of regulatory meetings shall post such minutes of 

those meetings on the Town Hall in accordance with the 

timeframes established in Sections 2.2-3707 and 2.2-3707.1 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Legislative Mandates 

By July 1 of each year, agencies shall post on the Town Hall 

all legislative mandates for rulemaking activity required by 

the most recent session of the General Assembly. The agency 

shall then link each legislative mandate with the regulatory 

action that implements the mandate. 

Electronic Availability of Guidance Documents 

Agencies shall post all guidance documents or a link to each 

agency guidance document, as defined by Section 2.2-4001 of 

the Code of Virginia, on the Town Hall. Any changes to a 

guidance document or a guidance document link shall be 

reflected on the Town Hall within 10 days of the change. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order rescinds and replaces Executive Order 

Number 14 (2010) issued by Governor Robert F. McDonnell. 

This Executive Order shall become effective on June 30, 

2014, and shall remain in full force and effect until June 30, 

2018, unless amended or rescinded by further executive 

order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia on this 30th day of June, 2014. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 18 (2014) 

Continuing the Governor's Advisory Board on 
Service and Volunteerism 

Importance of the Initiative 

Service and volunteerism are critical components of our civic 

life. The Commonwealth of Virginia and federal government 

work in tandem to develop a focal point for these efforts. 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under 

Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and under the laws 

of the Commonwealth, including but not limited to § 2.2-134 

of the Code of Virginia, and subject always to my continuing 

and ultimate authority and responsibility to act in such 

matters, I hereby affirm the Governor's Advisory Board on 

Service and Volunteerism. The Board is classified as a 

gubernatorial advisory board in accordance with § 2.2-2100 

of the Code of Virginia. 

The Board shall be established to comply with the provisions 

of the National and Community Services Trust Act of 1993, 

and to advise the Governor and Cabinet Secretaries on 

matters related to the promotion and development of national 

service in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The Board shall 

have the following specific duties: 

1. To advise the Governor, the Secretaries of Education, 

Health and Human Resources, Natural Resources, Veterans 

and Defense Affairs, the Commissioner of Social Services, 

and other appropriate officials, on national and community 

service programs in Virginia and on fulfilling the 

responsibilities and duties prescribed by the federal 

Corporation for National Service. 

2. To advise the Governor, the Secretaries of Education, 

Health and Human Resources, Natural Resources, Veterans 

and Defense Affairs, the Commissioner of Social Services, 
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and other appropriate officials, on the development, 

implementation, and evaluation of Virginia's Unified State 

Plan that outlines strategies for supporting and expanding 

national and community service throughout the 

Commonwealth. 

3. To promote the importance of AmeriCorps programs in 

meeting Virginia's most pressing human, educational, 

environmental, and public safety needs. 

4. To collaborate with the Department of Social Services 

and other public and private entities to recognize and call 

attention to the significant community service contributions 

of Virginia citizens and organizations. 

5. To promote volunteerism and community service within 

the Commonwealth. 

6. To work with the Department of Social Services on 

promoting the involvement of faith-based organizations in 

community and national service efforts. 

The Board shall be comprised of no more than twenty voting 

members appointed by the Governor and serving at his 

pleasure. No more than 25 percent of voting members may be 

state employees. 

The Governor may appoint additional persons at his 

discretion as ex-officio, non-voting members. The voting 

members of the Board shall elect the Chair. Board voting 

membership shall include representatives for the categories as 

outlined in federal regulations issued by the Corporation for 

National Service. 

Staff support as necessary to support the Board's work during 

the term of its existence shall be furnished by the Department 

of Social Services, and the Governor may designate further 

support by any other executive branch agencies. An estimated 

300 hours of staff time will be required to support the work of 

the Board. 

Funding needed to support the Board shall be provided from 

federal funds, private contributions, and state funds 

appropriated for the same purposes of the Board, authorized 

by § 2.2-135 of the Code of Virginia. Direct costs for this 

Board are estimated at no more than $15,000. Members of the 

Board shall serve without compensation, but may receive 

reimbursement for expenses incurred in the discharge of their 

official duties. 

The Board shall meet at least quarterly upon the call of the 

Chair. The Board shall make an annual report to the Governor 

and shall issue such other reports and recommendations as it 

deems necessary or as requested by the Governor. 

This Executive Order replaces Executive Order No. 66, 

issued on July 22, 2013, by Governor Robert F. McDonnell. 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and, 

pursuant to §§ 2.2-134 and 2.2-135 of the Code of Virginia, 

and shall remain in force and effect for a year or until 

superseded or rescinded. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 30th day of June, 2014. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 19 (2014) 

Convening the Governor's Climate Change and 
Resiliency Update Commission 

Importance of the Issue 

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration has 

identified some Virginia coastal areas as among the most 

vulnerable to sea level rise in the nation, and the U.S. Navy 

Task Force Climate Change has identified Naval Station 

Norfolk as one of its most endangered installations. The 

Chesapeake Bay is particularly susceptible to damage caused 

by climate change. While Virginia has taken certain steps to 

mitigate the effects of climate change, it is imperative that the 

Commonwealth redouble its efforts in the face of this 

looming problem. 

In 2008, Governor Kaine established the Governor's 

Commission on Climate Change to address these concerns. 

The Commission's final report outlined the impact that 

changing weather conditions have on Virginia's built 

environment, natural systems, and the health of its citizens. 

Among the findings was the decline or disappearance of key 

species of the Chesapeake Bay, increased damage from more 

frequent and severe storms, and the spread of vector born 

diseases like West Nile virus. The report also made over 150 

recommendations to help Virginia adapt to the consequences 

of climate change, as well as reduce Virginia's contributions 

to the problem. 

Establishment of the Commission 

The Commonwealth requires an action–oriented plan with 

concrete measures to be addressed and executed. 

Accordingly, I hereby formally convene the Governor's 

Climate Change and Resiliency Update Commission 

("Commission") to review, update, and prioritize the 

recommendations of the 2008 Climate Change Action Plan. 

Moreover, the updated report will work to identify sources of 

revenue to fund the implementation of these 

recommendations. 

Composition of the Commission 

The Governor's Climate Change and Resiliency Update 

Commission membership will be appointed by the Governor 

and chaired by the Secretaries of Natural Resources and 

Public Safety and Homeland Security. 

Membership shall also include the following individuals or 

their designee: 
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Secretary of Transportation; 

Secretary of Commerce and Trade; 

Representative(s) of the General Assembly; 

Representative(s) from the military; 

Representative(s) from local governments; 

Scientific experts; and, 

Representative(s) from agriculture/forestry, environmental 

organizations, and affected industries. 

The Governor may appoint any other member(s) deemed 

necessary to carry out the assigned functions of the 

Commission and the members shall serve at his pleasure. 

Staff support for the Commission will be provided by the 

Offices of the Secretary of Natural Resources, the Secretary 

of Public Safety and Homeland Security, the Secretary of 

Transportation, the Secretary of Commerce and Trade, the 

Department of Environmental Quality, the Department of 

Mines, Minerals and Energy, the Office of the Governor, and 

other agencies as may be designated by the Governor. The 

estimated direct cost of the Commission is $5,000. All 

executive branch agencies shall cooperate fully with the 

Commission and provide any assistance necessary, upon 

request of the Commission or its staff. 

Duties of the Commission 

The Commission is charged with conducting an assessment of 

the recommendations from the 2008 Climate Change Action 

Plan. Specifically, the Commission will: 

• Determine which recommendations from the original 

report were implemented; 

• Update and prioritize the recommendations; and, 

• Identify sources of funding to support the implementation 

of the recommendations. 

The Commission shall submit a report with its updated 

recommendations by June 30, 2015. 

Effective Date of the Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and, 

pursuant to §§ 2.2-134 and 2.2-135 of the Code of Virginia, 

shall remain in force and effect for a year or until superseded 

or rescinded. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 1st day of July, 2014. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Social 

Services is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 22VAC40-325, Fraud 

Reduction/Elimination Effort. The review of this regulation 

will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 17 

(2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins July 28, 2014, and ends August 

18, 2014. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Sandy Smith, Program Manager, 801 East 

Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-

7679, FAX (804) 726-7669, or email 

sandy.smith@dss.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Water Control Board conducted a small business impact 

review of 9VAC25-650, Closure Plans and Demonstration 

of Financial Capability, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The State Water 

Control Board is publishing its report of findings dated June 

30, 2014, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-

4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, 

and welfare. The purpose of the regulation is to ensure that 

owners or operators of privately owned sewerage systems and 

sewerage treatment works that discharge between 1,000 

gallons and 40,000 gallons per day are capable of continuing 

to treat sewage and are capable of properly closing facilities. 

The proper operation of a sewage system or sewage treatment 

works to treat sewage before it is discharged into state waters 

is critical to protect public health and the environment. If a 

sewage treatment plant ceases to operate, untreated sewage 

would be discharged into state waters, would negatively 

impact state waters, and cause impacts to human health and 

the environment.  

One commenter submitted a request to change the regulation. 

Aqua Virginia believes the regulation should be amended to 

include a corporate guarantee as an option to demonstrate 

financial capability. They believe this change would be 

beneficial for them and possibly reduce the cost of complying 

with these regulations for a company of the size and financial 

strength of Aqua. 

The regulation's level of complexity is appropriate to ensure 

that the regulated entities are able to meet their legal 

mandates as efficiently and cost-effectively as possible. 

Multiple financial mechanisms are available for use to 

demonstrate financial capability. 

The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 

any state law or other state regulation.  

This regulation was last revised in 2001. Since that time, 

technology has advanced and more treatment methods are 

available to be used at these types of sewage systems and 

sewage treatment works. Newer technologies are capable of 

removing more nutrients from sewage before it is discharged 

to state waters. Additionally, some smaller sewage systems 

are now no longer independently operated, but operated by 

larger companies.  

This regulation satisfies the provisions of the law and legally 

binding state requirements and is effective in meeting its 

goals. The agency is recommending the regulation stay in 

effect.  

In response to comments, however, the agency plans to begin 

a fast-track regulatory action to include a corporate financial 

test and corporate guarantee in this regulation to provide more 

options for owners to provide financial assurance. The agency 

also plans to make some editorial changes to the regulation. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Office of 

Regulatory Affairs, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX (804) 698-4346, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Water Control Board conducted a small business impact 

review of 9VAC25-780, Local and Regional Water Supply 

Planning, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The State Water Control Board is 

publishing its report of findings dated June 9, 2014, to 
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support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Water supply is a critical factor for the economic vitality and 

public health of the Commonwealth and its political 

subdivisions. Meeting the demand for water is complex and 

the amount available to meet these needs is finite. This 

regulation seeks to balance the water supply needs of 

localities with the promotion of water conservation and water 

reuse to minimize the demand on finite water supplies. This 

regulation continues to be needed to ensure adequate water 

supplies for use by the public while maintaining beneficial 

uses of state waters.  

No comments were received concerning this regulation.  

The regulation's level of complexity is appropriate to ensure 

that the regulated entities are able to develop and implement a 

water supply plan as efficiently and cost-effectively as 

possible. Details are provided concerning required plan 

contents to assist localities with developing plans that meet 

the requirements of the regulation. This information continues 

to be necessary and valid over time.  

The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 

any federal or state law or regulation.  

The regulation was adopted in 2005 and revised in 2006. The 

regulation contains a schedule for when water supply plans 

were to be developed and submitted to the Department of 

Environmental Quality for review. The schedule was based 

on the population of the community or communities included 

in the water supply plan. The last group of localities was 

required to submit water supply plans by November 2011. 

These plans were all approved by the department with 

conditions. The conditions must be met through plan 

revisions by the end of 2018. New plans must be resubmitted 

in 2023.  

The department does not believe these regulations should be 

amended or repealed, consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law, to minimize the economic impact of 

regulations on small businesses. When the regulation was 

originally adopted, flexibility was included in the regulation 

to allow localities to select how they would create their water 

supply plans, either individually or with other localities. This 

allows localities to collaborate on the development of water 

supply plans and share the costs of developing the plans with 

other localities included in the plan. The department has 

highlighted for the localities and regional planning groups 

where there are water supply challenges to meeting their 2040 

water expectations. This information forms the basis of 

ongoing work among localities and the Department in 

developing solutions to meeting these future water needs.  

Contact Information: Sara Jordan, Senior Water Supply 

Planner, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone 

(540) 574-7901, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 

sara.jordan@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Order for Belvedere Station Land 
Trust 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Belvedere 

Station Land Trust for violations in Albemarle County, 

Virginia. A proposed consent order describes a settlement to 

resolve wetland mitigation violations at its Belvedere 

Development. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Steven W. 

Hetrick will accept comments by email at 

steven.hetrick@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 574-7878, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Valley 

Regional Office, P.O. Box 3000, 4411 Early Road, 

Harrisonburg, VA 22801, from July 28, 2014, through August 

27, 2014. 

Proposed Consent Order for Virginia Hospital 
Center Arlington Health System 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Virginia 

Hospital Center Arlington Health System in Arlington, 

Virginia. The consent order describes a settlement to resolve 

violations of State Water Control Law and the applicable 

regulations associated with the Virginia Hospital Center and 

the Carlin Springs Health Campus. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Daniel Burstein will accept comments 

by email at daniel.burstein@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (703) 

583-3821, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 

Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA 22193, from July 29, 2014, through August 

28, 2014. 

Proposed Consent Order for Workman Oil Company 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Workman Oil 

Company, regarding it's underground petroleum storage tanks 

in Alton, Virginia, for violations of State Water Control Law 

and regulations. The proposed enforcement action includes a 

civil charge and a schedule of compliance. A description of 

the proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Robert Steele will accept comments 

by email at robert.steele@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 

562-6725, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 

Quality, Roanoke Office, 3019 Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, 

VA 24019, from July 28, 2014, through August 27, 2014. 

Public Participation Procedures for Water Quality 
Management Planning 

Purpose of notice: The State Water Control Board is 

announcing a public comment period to receive comments 

through the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) on 

the draft revision to its Public Participation Procedures for 

Water Quality Management Planning. 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
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Public Comment Period: July 28, 2014, through August 27, 

2014. 

Description: The document, Public Participation Procedures 

for Water Quality Management Planning, has been revised to 

be consistent with changes to Virginia's Administrative 

Process Act (APA) during the 2014 Session of the General 

Assembly. The 2014 General Assembly added a provision to 

the APA granting an exemption for the State Water Control 

Board's adoption, amendment, or repeal of wasteload 

allocations (WLAs) into the Water Quality Management 

Planning Regulation (WQMPR), 9VAC25-720. Therefore, 

the Public Participation Procedures for Water Quality 

Management Planning has been modified to include the 

exemption requirements under § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the APA 

and water quality actions resulting in adoption, amendment, 

or repeal of WLAs and procedures for board approval have 

been revised to meet the exemption criteria. Additional 

revisions include changes for formatting and changes for 

clarification of procedures. 

In accordance with the Public Participation Procedures for 

Water Quality Management Planning, an opportunity for 

public comment for this revision is being noticed and appears 

in the July 28, 2014, Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

draft revision to the Public Participation Procedures for Water 

Quality Management Planning may be found on DEQ's 

website at the following link under the "Featured 

Topics" column: http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/ 

Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL.aspx. 

How to Comment: Anyone wishing to submit written 

comments may do so by mail, fax, or email to Debra Harris at 

Office of Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental 

Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, Virginia, 23218, FAX at 

(804) 698-4019, or email at debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the name and address of the 

commenter. In order to be considered, comments must be 

received by 11:59 p.m. on August 27, 2014. 

How a decision is made: After comments have been 

considered, the board will make the final decision. Citizens 

who submit statements during the comment period may 

address the board members during the board meeting at which 

a final decision is made on the revised document.  

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-51. Virginia Statewide Fire 

Prevention Code. 

Publication: 30:16 VA.R. 2027-2071 April 7, 2014. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2035, 13VAC5-51-81 C, Table 107.2, Operational 

Permit Requirements, under the entry for Hazardous 

materials, footnote b is corrected to begin with "Two hundred 

pounds" instead of "Twenty pounds" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3161; Filed July 10, 2014, 10:04 a.m. 

* * * 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-63. Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code. 

Publication: 30:16 VA.R. 2071-2232 April 7, 2014. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2165, 13VAC5-63-220 A, replace "403.4.4" with 

"[ 403.4.4 403.4.5 ]" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3159; Filed July 11, 2014, 11:44 a.m. 
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