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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 

Chairman; Gregory D. Habeeb; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; 

Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Timothy Oksman; 

Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

August 2014 through August 2015 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

30:26 August 6, 2014 August 25, 2014 

31:1 August 20, 2014 September 8, 2014 

31:2 September 3, 2014 September 22, 2014 

31:3 September 17, 2014 October 6, 2014 

31:4 October 1, 2014 October 20, 2014 

31:5 October 15, 2014 November 3, 2014 

31:6 October 29, 2014 November 17, 2014 

31:7 November 12, 2014 December 1, 2014 

31:8 November 25, 2014 (Tuesday) December 15, 2014 

31:9 December 10, 2014 December 29, 2014 

31:10 December 23, 2014 (Tuesday) January 12, 2015 

31:11 January 7, 2015 January 26, 2015 

31:12 January 21, 2015 February 9, 2015 

31:13 February 4, 2015 February 23, 2015 

31:14 February 18, 2015 March 9, 2015 

31:15 March 4, 2015 March 23, 2015 

31:16 March 18. 2015 April 6, 2015 

31:17 April 1, 2015 April 20, 2015 

31:18 April 15, 2015 May 4, 2015 

31:19 April 29, 2015 May 18, 2015 

31:20 May 13, 2015 June 1, 2015 

31:21 May 27, 2015 June 15, 2015 

31:22 June 10, 2015 June 29, 2015 

31:23 June 24, 2015 July 13, 2015 

31:24 July 8, 2015 July 27, 2015 

31:25 July 22, 2015 August 10, 2015 

31:26 August 5, 2015 August 24, 2015 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Michele Frances Jackson. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Per this document 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/UM/chartpetitionpublic.pdf, I 

would like to use § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia to 

request that the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) change the regulations relating to the Medicaid 

Elderly or Disabled with Consumer-Direction (EDCD) 

Waiver.  

1) Repeal all Medicaid Elderly or Disabled with Consumer 

Direction Waiver regulations into one regulation that 

assertively promotes the home and community presence 

and participation of persons with disabilities. For example, 

the EDCD Waiver should seek to encourage disabled 

people eating in restaurants with wait staff and flying 

airplanes to national and international destinations. Repeal 

12VAC30-120-900, 12VAC30-120-980, 12VAC30-120-

930, 12VAC30-120-920, 12VAC30-110, 12VAC30-20-

500 through 12VAC30-20-560, 12VAC30-120-758, 

12VAC30-120-762, 12VAC30-120-2000, 12VAC30-120-

2010 and any other regulation about the EDCD Waiver into 

one regulation that clearly and completely explains the 

program. 

2) Change the EDCD Waiver regulation to increase $11.47 

hourly personal attendant wage by multiples, so that the 

personal attendants who are often family of the disabled 

individual will have the freedom of choice to purchase their 

own charitable contributions, housing, utilities, car, food, 

clothing, medical, entertainment, travel and other needs and 

wants. Persons with disabilities and their caretakers should 

have the income to eat in restaurants with wait staff, to fly 

and to participate in other good and enjoyable things. This 

is a love, truth and disability rights issue. Many personal 

attendants are family members and friends of persons with 

disabilities who do not want their family and friends to end 

up in foster care, nursing facilities, assisted-living facilities, 

other mental health institutions, group homes, etc. Freedom 

of choice allows family and friends, the best people, the 

biggest lovers of persons with disabilities (after God and 

persons with disabilities), to be caregivers for persons with 

disabilities.  

3) Change the EDCD Waiver regulation to include an 

annual cost of living increase for the personal attendants.  

4) Change the EDCD Waiver regulation, so that personal 

attendants and the employer of record can be the same 

person. Single parents need to be able to be both the 

personal attendant and the employer of record. Many single 

parents go through obtaining custody and child support for 

the disabled child because the noncustodial parent refuses 

to provide for the disabled child financially and in other 

ways. Married couples also benefit when a personal 

attendant and the employer of record are the same person. 

For example, a husband who is primarily the employer of 

record and a wife who is primarily the personal attendant 

can switch roles allowing the husband to serve as the 

personal attendant. Some personal attendants work more 

than 40 hours weekly and need rest. All personal attendants 

should be paid. Some family have more than one elderly or 

disabled member and also need flexibility of personal 

attendants and the employer of record being the same 

person.  

5) Change the EDCD Waiver regulation, so that an 

individual age 18 and older can be a personal attendant 

including parents of minor disabled children, spouses of 

disabled individuals, all biological/adoptive family 

members and others. Encourage family to be personal 

attendants.  

6) Change EDCD Waiver regulation, so that an individual 

age 17 and younger who is the mother/father of a disabled 

individual can serve as a personal attendant/employer of 

record.  

7) Repeal EDCD Waiver regulation implementing periodic 

authorization. There should be one evaluation to qualify for 

the EDCD Waiver and no further authorizations. 

Disabilities like autism and Down Syndrome are life-long. 

Also, institutions have a long history of discriminating 

against persons with disabilities.  

8) Change EDCD Waiver regulation, so that disabled 

individuals have compliments or complaints handled by the 

EDCD program head. Disabled individuals or their 

representatives are not to go through the Medicaid appeals 

process. EDCD Waiver is to handle 

compliments/complaints as an opportunity to improve the 

EDCD Waiver service not as a way to reduce or deny 

benefits/income to disabled individuals and their personal 

attendants. EDCD Waiver should strive to ensure that 

personal attendants are continuously paid and providing 

service to elderly or disabled individual from day one of 

birth and older until end of disability or death.  

9) Change EDCD Waiver regulation, so that service 

facilitators are visiting disabled individuals and their 

representatives once annually to inform them about the 

EDCD Waiver, check that the personal attendants are being 

paid continuously and trouble shoot payment problems.  
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10) Repeal EDCD Waiver regulation where service 

facilitator is collecting data on the disabled individual and 

their family/personal attendants as it relates to the periodic 

authorization. (See point 7 where the periodic authorization 

is repealed.)  

11) Change EDCD Waiver regulation, so that service 

facilitators are responsible for informing local medical 

facilities, mental health facilities, schools and government 

agencies about the EDCD Waiver with the goal that these 

groups will tell persons with disabilities and their families 

and friends about the EDCD Waiver. One of the goals 

should be that when parents receive genetic counseling 

they are also told about the EDCD Waiver, so that from 

day one if a disabled individual is born, they are enrolled in 

the EDCD Waiver receiving personal attendant and other 

services. Another goal is to end situation where some 

family have disabled members in foster care, nursing 

facilities, assisted living facilities, group homes and other 

institutions not because they want them there but because 

they have no knowledge of or little knowledge of the 

EDCD Waiver. 

12) Change EDCD Waiver regulation, so that service 

facilitators assist a disabled person holding a Virginia 

EDCD Waiver with a move to another state and his/her 

personal attendant not lose any income.  

13) Change EDCD Waiver regulation, so that service 

facilitators work on problem of how to help a disabled 

person with an EDCD Waiver from another state to move 

to Virginia without his/her personal attendant losing 

income.  

14) EDCD Waiver should be a tool to empower disabled 

person to live daily the best possible life. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: DMAS declines to initiate 

the requested rulemaking action pursuant to § 2.2-4007 C of 

the Code of Virginia. DMAS has been undergoing a 

rulemaking action for the EDCD waiver for the last several 

years that it believes may address a number of this petitioner's 

issues once its final stage regulations can take effect. The 

agency's statement of its reasoning follows:  

1. The petitioner requested that DMAS repeal its regulations 

for the Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction (EDCD) 

waiver (12VAC30-120-900 et seq.), its provider and 

Medicaid enrollee appeals regulations (respectively, 

12VAC30-20-500 through 12VAC30-20-560 and 12VAC30-

110), regulations in the Individual and Family Developmental 

Disability (DD) waiver concerning assistive technology and 

environmental modification services (12VAC30-120-758 and 

12VAC30-120-762, respectively) and its Money Follows the 

Person regulations (12VAC30-120-2000 and 12VAC30-120-

2010). The petitioner requested that these regulations be 

combined into one regulation that clearly and completely 

explains the program. 

DMAS Response: The EDCD waiver currently serves 30,078 

individuals across the Commonwealth who are either elderly 

or disabled or both. It covers personal care services (help with 

Activities of Daily Living (such as bathing, eating, toileting, 

dressing)), adult day health care, respite care, limited assistive 

technology, Personal Emergency Response Systems (PERS), 

PERS medication monitoring, limited environmental 

modifications, transition coordination and services. It has 

thousands of providers enrolled to render services. It has been 

operating across the Commonwealth since 1982 and annually 

brings more than $27 million in federal funds into the 

Commonwealth (State Fiscal Year 2013). The Virginia 

General Assembly appropriates more than $27 million 

annually for this waiver.  

The individuals served in this waiver depend on these 

services to enable them to remain in their homes and 

communities thereby avoiding more restrictive and costly 

institutionalization in nursing facilities. Enrollees served in 

the waiver, in the aggregate, can no longer remain in their 

communities when the costs of their community care exceed 

the comparable aggregated institutional care.  

These enrollees are permitted to self-direct their care via the 

consumer-directed model or have a home care agency direct 

their care.  

Merging the EDCD waiver regulations, the provider and 

Medicaid enrollee appeals regulations, the DD waiver 

sections for assistive technology and environmental 

modification services and the Money Follows the Person 

regulations into one regulation is not a workable proposition. 

Each of these programs serve a unique population, or address 

a separate and unique function. Combining all these 

regulations would in fact create confusion for both providers 

and waiver individuals. The purpose of regulations is to 

establish rules that govern the coverage, provision and 

reimbursement of Medicaid-covered services, in compliance 

with federal and state laws. Medicaid regulations are 

necessary to protect individual rights and support the agency's 

claims for Federal Financial Participation. They are often 

unavoidably complex, but are also not designed to be 

voluminous. DMAS therefore publishes other materials, such 

as Medicaid memoranda, manuals and handbooks that are 

designed to provide a fuller explanation of Medicaid 

requirements.  

Finally, DMAS maintains two separate sets of appeal 

regulations, one for individuals and another for providers, 

because these two populations are distinctly different and the 

legal processes for their appeals are unique to each 

population, precluding the application of one set of rules to 

both populations. Therefore, DMAS must necessarily 

maintain the separate status of these two sets of regulations in 

particular.  
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2. The petitioner requested that the EDCD waiver regulations 

increase the hourly personal attendant wages (currently 

$11.47 per hour) so that such attendants can have the freedom 

to purchase their needs and wants.  

DMAS Response: Within constraints set by the Virginia 

General Assembly, DMAS is required by federal law to 

establish payment rates sufficient to attract enough providers 

to meet the medical care needs of its covered Medicaid 

individuals. DMAS has no data to indicate that the EDCD 

waiver does not enroll sufficient numbers of personal care 

attendants for the number of waiver individuals. DMAS' 

provider payment rates are constrained by the General 

Assembly's appropriations and the related federal matching 

dollars, and are intended to reimburse providers for their 

costs, plus a reasonable profit. The Virginia General 

Assembly provides for DMAS reimbursement in accordance 

with this principle, and it is not responsible to provide a 

certain standard of living for Medicaid providers.  

3. The petitioner recommended that an annual cost of living 

increase be provided for personal attendants.  

DMAS Response: The amounts the agency can reimburse 

providers are determined, in part, through federal law but 

largely through the Virginia legislative process. The General 

Assembly controls the agency's budget and DMAS has no 

independent authority to raise or reduce reimbursement rates. 

The agency encourages the petitioner to address these 

concerns with the General Assembly.  

4. The petitioner requested that the regulations permit the 

personal attendant and the employer of record to be the same 

individual.  

DMAS Response: Personal attendants in the EDCD waiver 

are responsible for providing personal care or respite services 

that can be directed by the employer of record (EOR) in the 

consumer-directed model of care. Employers of record (EOR) 

in the EDCD waiver are responsible for performing the 

functions of the employer in the consumer-directed model of 

service delivery and may be the waiver individual, a family 

member, caregiver or other person. The current regulations 

and the previously referenced final stage regulations do not 

permit the personal attendant and EOR to be the same person 

because a person cannot simultaneously be the employer and 

the employee due to conflicts of interest. Individuals who 

elect to use the consumer-directed model of care are being 

required, in the new final stage regulations, to receive 

services from CD services facilitators (SFs). SFs are 

prohibited from being the waiver individual, the attendant, a 

service provider, spouse or parent of the waiver individual or 

the EOR.  

5. The petitioner requested that parents, spouses, and all 

biological/adoptive family members be allowed to be 

personal attendants for individuals enrolled in the EDCD 

waiver.  

DMAS Response: This is permitted for some family 

members, in limited circumstances, in the current regulations 

and the new EDCD final stage regulations. Spouses and 

parents of minor children are not currently permitted to be 

paid caregivers nor is this allowed in the new final 

regulations. In limited circumstances when a family member 

or caregiver lives under the same roof with the individual 

with a disability they are permitted to be paid caregivers. In 

such instances, when either the consumer-directed services 

facilitator or the agency-directed nurse supervisor documents 

in the record that there are no other providers or aides, then 

DMAS does permit family members to be paid caregivers.  

6. The petitioner requested that a person aged 17 years and 

younger, who is the parent of a disabled individual in the 

waiver, be permitted to serve as the individual's personal 

attendant and employer of record.  

DMAS Response: In the earlier referenced final stage 

regulations, DMAS is requiring persons serving as personal 

care attendants (consumer-directed model) and personal care 

aides (agency-directed model) to be at least 18 years of age. 

As the age of majority in Virginia, it is therefore the youngest 

age at which a person is legally responsible for his actions. 

DMAS must be able to enforce its program requirements with 

persons who can be held legally responsible for their actions. 

This rule is in place to protect the health and safety of waiver 

individuals.  

7. The petitioner requested that the periodic authorizations be 

discontinued as disabilities like autism and Down Syndrome 

are life-long.  

DMAS Response: While it is true that disabilities like autism 

and Down Syndrome are life-long, individuals with such 

disabilities can frequently experience changes in their 

medical, social and cognitive conditions. Such changes must 

be identified promptly so that required service changes can 

also be implemented promptly. DMAS' mechanism for 

quickly ensuring that changes are identified and responded to 

is the periodic authorizations.  

8. The petitioner requested that waiver individuals' 

complaints be handled by the head of the EDCD waiver 

program instead of the appeal process.  

DMAS Response: An appeal is defined in the existing EDCD 

waiver regulations as, "the process used to challenge adverse 

actions regarding services, benefits, and reimbursement 

provided by Medicaid pursuant to 12VAC30-110 and 

12VAC30-20-500 through 12VAC30-20-560." Complaint is 

defined in DMAS regulations and documents as a 

"grievance." Grievance is defined as "an expression of 

dissatisfaction about any matter 'other than an adverse 

action'." Possible subjects for grievances include, but are not 

limited to, the quality of care or services provided, aspects of 

interpersonal relationships such as rudeness of a provider or 

employee, or failure to respect the individual's rights. 
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Complaints or grievances are handled by the EDCD waiver 

personnel or contractors. They do not rise to the level of 

appeals. Appeals of agency or contractor decisions that are 

adverse to the individual, as per 12VAC30-110 and 

12VAC30-20-500 through 12VAC30-20-560, carry appeal 

rights to DMAS. The resolution of complaints and grievances 

is the responsibility of the head of the EDCD waiver program 

or his or her designee (contract monitor, contract manager), or 

appropriate supervisory personnel for the actual EDCD 

waiver provider. Appeals of adverse actions are required by 

federal law.  

9. The petitioner requested that service facilitators visit the 

waiver individuals and their representatives only once 

annually to check that personal attendants are being paid 

continuously and trouble shoot payment problems.  

DMAS Response: In the current regulations as well as in its 

pending final stage regulations, DMAS is requiring that 

services facilitators (SF) monitor, at least every 90 days, the 

delivery of services set out in the waiver individuals' plans of 

care (POC). The SF are being required to review the 

utilization of services to evaluate the adequacy and 

appropriateness of CD services as compared to waiver 

individuals current functioning, cognitive status, and medical 

and social needs. The SF is also charged with reviewing the 

time sheets submitted by the attendant to ensure that hours 

approved in the POC are being provided and not exceeded. 

The SFs' documentation of such visits and reviews must 

record individuals' status, satisfaction with and adequacy of 

the services, the presence of any suspected neglect or abuse, 

any special tasks performed by attendants, any hospitalization 

or changes in medical condition, functioning, or cognitive 

status. In light of the fact that the EDCD waiver serves 

individuals who are elderly or disabled, or both, DMAS 

believes that this frequency of SF monitoring is appropriate 

given how quickly such individuals' conditions can and do 

change. This rule is in place to protect the health and safety of 

waiver individuals.  

10. The petitioner requested that the services facilitator stop 

collecting data about the individual and their representative as 

it relates to the periodic authorization.  

DMAS Response: DMAS requires SFs to collect only that 

data about individuals that is sufficient to ensure that they are 

adequately and appropriately cared for by their attendants. 

This oversight is meant to ensure that the services being 

provided are consistent with the plan of care. This policy is in 

place to ensure the health and safety of individuals who are 

enrolled in the EDCD waiver.  

11. The petitioner requested that the services facilitators be 

responsible for informing local medical facilities, schools, 

mental health facilities, etc., about the existence of the EDCD 

waiver program. The goal would be the enrollment from day 

one of birth of an individual with a disability or disabilities. 

DMAS Response: DMAS can reimburse providers only for 

Medicaid-covered health care services rendered to Medicaid 

enrolled individuals. The agency is not legally permitted to 

require providers to perform outreach of the nature suggested. 

Automatic eligibility from day one after birth is not legally 

permissible. Waiver eligibility is based upon a disability 

determination process, which is a federally required process 

and cannot be sidestepped.  

12. The petitioner requested that services facilitators be 

responsible for moving a disabled person to another state so 

that his personal attendant does not lose any income.  

DMAS Response: SFs may assist individuals who move to 

another state with the medical logistics associated with a 

move, but DMAS cannot require this. Moving to another state 

is not a Medicaid-covered service and Medicaid providers can 

only be required to perform those services for which they can 

seek Medicaid reimbursement.  

13. The petitioner requested that services facilitators work on 

the problem of how to move disabled persons to other states 

without the personal attendants losing income.  

DMAS Response: DMAS is not required to guarantee 

personal income nor a certain standard of living to personal 

care attendants. Reimbursement is paid for Medicaid-covered 

services designated in the plan of care. If an individual moves 

away from Virginia, attendants can work for other individuals 

in need of personal care services.  

14. The petitioner requested that the EDCD waiver be made 

"a tool to empower disabled person to live daily the best 

possible life."  

DMAS Response: DMAS believes that its revised final stage 

regulations accomplish this recommendation of the petitioner. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-8856, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-26; Filed July 31, 2014, 11:34 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services intends to consider (i) repealing 2VAC5-

110, Rules and Regulations Pertaining to a Pound or 

Enclosure to be Maintained by Each County or City, and 

(ii) adopting 2VAC5-111, Rules and Regulations 

Pertaining to Public and Private Animal Shelters, to 

update requirements and in accordance with changes in the 

Code of Virginia enacted by Chapter 148 of the 2014 Acts of 

Assembly. The purpose of the proposed action is to ensure 

that a consistent standard of confinement and care is applied 

to all companion animals held in trust, whether by public or 

private animal shelters. In addition, the agency has 

determined that it is in the public interest to ensure that all 

companion animals subject to a holding period in shelter 

facilities be maintained in a manner that protects the animals 

from injury, illness, and theft for this short period, while 

allowing public animal shelters greater freedom in housing 

animals that have satisfied holding period requirements.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.   

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-6501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 24, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Dan Kovich, Staff Veterinarian, Animal 

Care and Health Policy, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-1771, FAX (804) 371-2380, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email dan.kovich@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4009; Filed July 29, 2014, 12:38 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Elections is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to the conduct of elections or 

eligibility to vote. 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-40. Voter Registration 

(amending 1VAC20-40-10).  

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 11, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Susan Lee, Manager, Department of 

Elections, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-8925, or email 

susan.lee@sbe.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments change the definition of "valid" for all 

purposes related to voter identification, including the 

length of time an expired identification document will be 

accepted. The board initially proposed accepting 

identification documents up to 30 days after expiration. 

The final amendments allow acceptance of documents that 

have expired within the preceding 12 months.  

Article 1 

General Provisions 

1VAC20-40-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Abode" or "place of abode" means a physical place where a 

person dwells. One may have multiple places of abode, such 

as a second home. 

"Address" or "residence address" for purposes of voter 

registration and address confirmation means the address of 

residence in the precinct required for voter registration. An 

alternative mailing address may be included on a voter 

registration application when: (i) the residence address of the 

applicant cannot receive mail; or (ii) the voter is otherwise 

eligible by law to provide an alternative mailing address. 

Alternative mailing addresses must be sufficient to enable the 

delivery of mail by the United States Postal Service. The post 

office box for published lists may be provided either by the 

United States Postal Service or a commercial mail receiving 

agency (CMRA) described in the United States Postal Service 

Domestic Mail Manual.  

"Authorized personnel" means the designated individuals of a 

general registrar's office or the Department of Elections who are 

permitted to access the voter registration database and capture 

information necessary to generate photo identification cards.  

"Domicile" means a person's primary home, the place where 

a person dwells and which he considers to be the center of his 

domestic, social, and civil life. Domicile is primarily a matter 

of intention, supported by an individual's factual 

circumstances. Once a person has established domicile, 

establishing a new domicile requires that he intentionally 

abandon his old domicile. For any applicant, the registrar 

shall presume that domicile is at the address of residence 

given by the person on the application. The registrar shall not 

solicit evidence to rebut this presumption if the application 

appears to be legitimate, except as provided in 1VAC20-40-

40 B and C. 

"Permanent satellite location" means an office managed, 

maintained, and operated under the control of the general 

registrar for the locality that is consistently operational 

throughout the year and is not the principal office of the general 

registrar. Offices of other agencies where registration takes place 

pursuant to § 24.2-412 B of the Code of Virginia are not 

considered permanent satellite locations.  

"Residence," "residency," or "resident" for all purposes of 

qualification to register and vote means and requires both 

domicile and a place of abode. 

"Valid" for all purposes related to voter identification means 

[ documents (i) the document ] containing the name and 

photograph of the voter [ having legal effect, legally or 

officially acceptable or of binding force, and appearing 

appears ] to be genuinely issued by the agency or issuing 

entity appearing upon the document [ where, (ii) ] the bearer 

of the document reasonably appears to be the person whose 

photograph is contained thereon [ , and (iii) the document 

shall be current or have expired within the preceding 12 

months. The officer of election shall determine whether the 

document is officially acceptable based on its face ]. Other 

data contained on the document, including but not limited to 

expiration date, shall not be considered in determining the 

validity of the document. [ Such documents shall be accepted 

up to 30 days after expiration. ]  

"Voter photo identification card" means the official voter 

registration card containing the voter's photograph and 

signature referenced in § 24.2-404 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4093; Filed August 11, 2014, 4:22 p.m.  
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TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-440. Rules and Regulations for 

Enforcement of the Virginia Pest Law - Cotton Boll 

Weevil Quarantine (amending 2VAC5-440-10, 2VAC5-

440-40, 2VAC5-440-50, 2VAC5-440-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-703 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 24, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Andres Alvarez, Director, Division of 

Consumer Protection, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 225-3821, FAX (804) 371-7479, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email andres.alvarez@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) clarify definitions and certain 

provisions, (ii) update the regulation to reflect the current 

operation of the Boll Weevil Eradication and Exclusion 

Program and the department's enforcement activities, and 

(iii) reduce the penalty for late payments and acreage 

underreporting. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

2VAC5-440-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Authorized inspector" means any person employed by a 

state or federal regulatory plant pest agency and trained to 

inspect for and identify boll weevil in any living stage.  

"Board" means the Board of the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services.  

"Boll weevil" means the live insect, "Anthonomus grandis 

grandis" Boheman, in any stage of development.  

"Boll Weevil Eradication and Exclusion Program" or 

"program" means the program conducted by the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services and the 

Southeastern Boll Weevil Eradication Foundation, Inc., to 

eradicate the boll weevil and subsequently prevent its 

reintroduction into areas where it has been eradicated.  

"Certificate" means a document issued or authorized by an 

inspector to be issued under this chapter to allow the 

movement of regulated articles to any destination.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services or his 

designee.  

"Compliance agreement" means a written agreement 

between a grower, dealer, or mover of regulated articles, and 

the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, United States Department of Agriculture, or both, 

wherein the former agrees to comply with the requirements of 

the compliance agreement.  

"Cotton" means parts and products of plants of the genus 

"Gossypium," before processing.  

"Cottonseed" means cottonseed from which the lint has been 

removed.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services.  

"FSA" means the United States Department of Agriculture, 

Farm Service Agency.  

"Gin trash" means all of the material produced during the 

cleaning and ginning of seed cotton, bollies, or snapped 

cotton, except for the lint, cottonseed, and gin waste.  

"Grower" means a farm operator or producer, whether the 

owner of the land or not.  

"Infestation" means the presence of the boll weevil, or the 

existence of circumstances that make it reasonable to believe 

that boll weevil is present.  

"Inspector" means any employee of the Virginia Department 

of Agriculture and Consumer Services, or other person 

authorized by the commissioner to enforce the provisions of 

the quarantine and regulations.  

"Limited permit" means a document issued by an inspector 

to allow the movement of noncertifiable regulated articles to a 

specified destination for limited handling, use, processing, or 

treatment.  

"Lint" means all forms of raw ginned cotton, either baled or 

unbaled, except linters and waste.  

"Moved (movement, move)" "Move," "moved," or 

"movement" means shipped; offered for shipment to a 

common carrier; received for transportation or transported by 

a common carrier; or carried, transported, moved, or allowed 

to be moved by any means.  

"NASS" means the U.S. Department of Agriculture, 

National Agricultural Statistics Service. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, company, 

society, or association or other organized group.  

"Regulated area" means any state or country in which the 

boll weevil is known to exist or areas where circumstances 

make it reasonable to believe that the boll weevil is present.  

"Scientific permit" means a document issued by the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to 

authorize movement of regulated articles to a specified 

destination for scientific purposes.  

"Seed cotton" means cotton as it comes from the field prior 

to ginning.  
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"Used cotton harvesting equipment" means equipment 

previously used to harvest, strip, transport or destroy cotton.  

"Waybill" means a document containing the details of a 

shipment of goods. 

2VAC5-440-40. Requirements for program participation.  

A. All cotton farm operators in Virginia are hereby required 

to participate in the eradication/exclusion program Boll 

Weevil Eradication and Exclusion Program. Participation 

shall include timely reporting of acreage and field locations, 

compliance with regulations, and payment of fees. Farm 

operators within the Commonwealth shall be notified through 

either the extension offices, the department, FSA, or 

newspapers of their program costs on a per acre basis on or 

before April 1 of each year. The department shall notify farm 

operators of their program costs on a per acre basis. The 

following procedures are required for participation in the 

program:  

1. Completing a Cotton Acreage Reporting Form at Report 

cotton acreage and cotton field location or locations to the 

FSA office by July 1 of the current growing season for 

which participation is required. At this time the farm 

operator shall pay a nonrefundable fee in an amount 

sufficient to cover estimated program costs as determined 

by the commissioner. The commissioner shall set this fee 

following consultation with state, federal, and private 

organizations responsible for implementation and funding 

of boll weevil eradication/exclusion programs conducted in 

the Commonwealth. Such fee shall be based upon prior 

year's expenses and projected cotton acreage for the 

current growing season. Those farm operators not reporting 

their acreage by July 1 will not be considered as program 

participants and will be subject to a penalty. Any farm 

operator who does not report his cotton acreage and cotton 

field location or locations by July 1 will not be considered 

a program participant and may be subject to a penalty of 

10% of the fee due for his unreported cotton acreage. 

2. All fees shall be paid by the farm operator. A farm 

operator shall pay a nonrefundable fee in an amount 

sufficient to cover estimated program costs as determined 

by the commissioner. Fees shall be made payable to 

Treasurer of Virginia and collected by FSA and must be 

paid within 30 days of the invoice date. The commissioner 

shall set this fee following consultation with state, federal, 

and private organizations responsible for the 

implementation and funding of the Boll Weevil 

Eradication and Exclusion Program conducted in the 

Commonwealth.  

3. Noncommercial cotton Cotton grown for 

noncommercial purposes shall not be planted in Virginia 

unless the grower applies for and receives an exemption to 

grow cotton from the commissioner. Applications, in 

writing, shall be made in writing to the Program Manager, 

Office of Plant and Pest Services, 1100 Bank Street, Room 

703, Richmond, VA 23219 commissioner, stating the 

conditions under which the grower requests such 

exemption. The decision whether all or part of these 

requirements shall be exempted shall be based on the 

following:  

a. Location of growing area;  

b. Size of growing area;  

c. Pest conditions in the growing area;  

d. Accessibility of growing area;  

e. Any stipulations set forth in a compliance agreement 

between the individual and the Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services department that are 

necessary for the effectuation of the program.  

B. Farm operators A farm operator whose FSA measured 

acreage, as determined by FSA, exceeds the grower reported 

acreage that was reported by the farm operator by more than 

10%, shall be assessed an additional $5.00 per acre a penalty 

of 10% of the fee due on that acreage in excess of the 

reported acreage.  

C. A farm operator may apply for a waiver requesting 

delayed payment under conditions of financial hardship. Any 

farm operator applying for a waiver shall make application in 

writing to the Program Manager, Office of Plant and Pest 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219 

commissioner stating the reason a waiver is necessary. This 

request must be accompanied by a financial statement from a 

state or federally chartered bank or lending agency supporting 

such request. The decision of whether to waive all or part of 

these additional assessments or payment dates shall be made 

by the program manager and notification given to the farm 

operator within two weeks after receipt of such application. 

The commissioner's decision whether to delay payment shall 

be based on, but not limited to, the following: (i) 

meteorological conditions, (ii) economic conditions, and (iii) 

any other uncontrollable destructive forces. If a waiver is 

granted, payment shall be due at the time the cotton is sold, or 

by December 1 within 30 days of the invoice date, whichever 

is sooner later.  

D. Failure to pay all fees on or before July 1 within 30 days 

of the invoice date will result in a penalty of $5.00 per acre 

10% of the total fee due. Failure by a farm operator to pay all 

program costs by August 1 within 30 days of the invoice date 

shall be a violation of The Virginia Cotton Boll Weevil 

Quarantine this chapter. If such farm operator fails to comply 

with these regulations this chapter, the Commissioner of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services commissioner, through 

his duly authorized agents, may proceed to trap all cotton 

acreage found in violation and initiate actions to recover all 

trapping program costs through established policies and 

procedures identified in the Virginia Debt Collection Act 

(§ 2.2-4800 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

E. Acreage subject to emergency or hardship conditions 

after all the growers' share of the program have been paid and 

prior to the initiation of field operations may be considered 
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for a refund. The refund amount will be determined by the 

actual program cost per acre up to the time of emergency or 

hardship.  

F. E. The commissioner may purchase growing cotton when 

he deems it in the best interest of the program, provided that 

the funding necessary to purchase the cotton is available. 

Purchase price shall be based on the FSA farm established 

yield for the current year an average of the previous five years 

of cotton yield figures, as determined by NASS, for the 

locality in which the growing cotton that may be purchased 

by the commissioner is located.  

G. F. If necessary to prevent boll weevil reinfestation of the 

Commonwealth, the farm operator, upon notification by the 

commissioner, shall completely destroy all cotton determined 

to threaten that the commissioner deems to pose a threat to 

the safety of Virginia's cotton industry. If such farm operator 

fails to comply with these regulations this chapter, the 

Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

commissioner, through his duly authorized agents, shall 

proceed to destroy such cotton and shall compute the actual 

costs of labor and materials used, and the farm operator shall 

pay to the commissioner such assessed costs. No damage 

damages shall be awarded the grower of such cotton for 

entering thereon his cotton field and destroying any cotton 

when done by the order of the commissioner.  

2VAC5-440-50. Conditions governing the issuance of 

certificates and permits to allow the movement of 

regulated articles.  

A. Certificates shall be issued by an authorized inspector for 

movement of the regulated articles designated in 2VAC5-

440-30 under any of the following conditions when:  

1. In the judgment of the authorized inspector, they have 

not been exposed to boll weevil in any living stage.  

2. They have been examined by the authorized inspector 

and found to be free of boll weevil in any living stage.  

3. They have been treated to destroy boll weevil, under the 

observation of the authorized inspector, according to 

methods selected by him from procedures known to be 

effective under the conditions in which applied.  

4. Grown, produced, stored, or handled in such manner 

that, in the judgment of the authorized inspector, no boll 

weevil would be transmitted.  

B. Limited permit. Limited permits may be issued by an 

authorized inspector for the movement of noncertified 

regulated articles specified under 2VAC5-440-30 to specified 

destinations for limited handling, use, processing, or 

treatment, when he determines that no hazard of spread of the 

boll weevil exists.  

C. Special permits. Special permits may be issued by the 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

department to allow the movement of boll weevil in any 

living stage and any other regulated articles for scientific 

purposes, under conditions prescribed in each specific case.  

D. Compliance agreement. Compliance agreements for the 

movement of regulated articles may be issued by an 

authorized inspector. As a condition of receiving a certificate 

or limited permit for the movement of regulated articles, A 

compliance agreement may be issued to any person engaged 

in purchasing, assembling, exchanging, handling, processing, 

utilizing, treating, or moving such a regulated article may be 

required to sign a compliance agreement. The A compliance 

agreement shall stipulate that include the required safeguards 

against the establishment and spread of infestation will be 

maintained and will comply with the conditions governing the 

maintenance of identity, the handling, and the subsequent 

movement of such regulated articles, and the cleaning and 

treatment of means of conveyance and containers.  

E. Use of certificates or permits with shipments. If a 

certificate or permit is required for the movement of regulated 

articles, the regulated articles are required to have a certificate 

or permit attached when offered for movement. If a certificate 

or permit is attached to the invoice or way-bill waybill, and 

the articles are adequately described on the certificate, the 

attachment of a certificate or limited permit to the regulated 

article will not be required. Certificates or permits attached to 

the invoice, way-bill waybill, or other shipping document, 

shall be given by the carrier to the consignee at the 

destination of the shipment, or to an inspector when 

requested.  

F. Assembly of articles for inspection. Persons intending to 

move any regulated articles shall apply for inspection as far in 

advance as possible. They shall safeguard the articles from 

infestation. The articles shall be assembled at a place and in a 

manner designated by the inspector to facilitate inspection.  

G. Disposition of certificates and permits. In all cases, 

certificates and permits shall be furnished by the carrier to the 

consignee at the destination of the shipment.  

2VAC5-440-110. Determination of reasonableness of costs 

for services, products, or articles.  

The commissioner, pursuant to § 3.2-711 of the Code of 

Virginia, may determine that costs for services, products, or 

articles that shall be paid by the persons affected when the 

commissioner determines that those services, products, or 

articles are beyond the reasonable scope of administering the 

law Virginia Tree and Crop Pests Law (§ 3.2-700 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia).  

FORMS (2VAC5-440)  

Cotton Acreage Reporting Form (rev. 3/99).  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3186; Filed July 31, 2014, 10:59 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

following regulation have been filed by the State Water 

Control Board. The forms are not being published; however, 

online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of the new or amended 

form to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-32. Virginia Pollution 

Abatement (VPA) Permit Regulation. 

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Director, Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East 

Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-

4378, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC25-32) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, General 

Instructions (rev. 4/09) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form A, 

All Applicants (rev. 4/09) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, General 

Instructions (rev. 5/14) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form A, 

All Applicants (rev. 6/14) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form B, 

Animal Waste (rev. 10/95) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form C, 

Industrial Waste (rev. 10/95) 

Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit Application, Form D, 

Municipal Effluent and Biosolids Cover Page (rev. 6/13): 

Part D-I: Land Application of Municipal Effluent (rev. 

4/09) 

Part D-II: Land Application of Biosolids (rev. 10/13) 

Part D-III: Effluent Characterization Form (rev. 4/09) 

Part D-IV: Biosolids Characterization Form (rev. 6/13) 

Part D-V: Non-Hazardous Waste Declaration (rev. 6/13) 

Part D-VI: Land Application Agreement - Biosolids and 

Industrial Residuals (rev. 9/12) 

Part D-VII: Request for Extended Setback from Biosolids 

Land Application Field (rev. 10/11)  

Application for Land Application Supervisor Certification 

(rev. 2/11) 

Application for Renewal of Land Application Supervisor 

Certification (rev. 2/11) 

Sludge Disposal Site Dedication Form, Form A-1 (rev. 

11/09) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form I, Insurance Liability 

Endorsement (rev. 10/13) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form II, Certificate of Liability 

Insurance (rev. 10/13) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form III, Corporate Letter (rev. 

11/09) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form IV, Corporate Guarantee (rev. 

11/09) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form V, Letter of Credit (rev. 

11/09) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form VI, Trust Agreement (rev. 

11/09) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form VII, Local Government 

Financial Test (rev. 10/13) 

Liability Requirements for Transport, Storage, and Land 

Application of Biosolids, Form VIII, Local Government 

Guarantee (rev. 10/13) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4131; Filed August 6, 2014, 10:23 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing (adding 18VAC90-20-215).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3017.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 16, 2014 - 10:30 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 201, Richmond, 

VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: October 24, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under § 54.1-2400 of the 

Code of Virginia, which provides the Board of Nursing the 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5851c004131~3&typ=40&actno=004131&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5851c004131~3&typ=40&actno=004131&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d2e50004131~4&typ=40&actno=004131&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d2e50004131~4&typ=40&actno=004131&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4db8001248~10&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4db8001248~10&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38646001248~11&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38646001248~11&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a8424001248~11&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a8424001248~11&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2aaa2001248~30&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2aaa2001248~30&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=82045003896~6&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a73d001248~27&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=af85b001248~15&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0b6d001248~14&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=973ee001248~16&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=973ee001248~16&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5296e001248~31&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5296e001248~31&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=30150001248~17&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=30150001248~17&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c87fd001248~18&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c87fd001248~18&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b37eb001248~19&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b37eb001248~19&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2fbe003896~7&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2fbe003896~7&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2fbe003896~7&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8c359003896~8&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8c359003896~8&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8c359003896~8&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=66878001248~28&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=66878001248~28&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=66878001248~28&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4f56a001248~24&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4f56a001248~24&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4f56a001248~24&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e3283001248~25&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e3283001248~25&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e3283001248~25&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=00a8c001248~26&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=00a8c001248~26&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=00a8c001248~26&typ=40&actno=001248&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=726ef003896~9&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=726ef003896~9&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=726ef003896~9&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=71d7d003896~10&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=71d7d003896~10&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=71d7d003896~10&typ=40&actno=003896&mime=application/pdf
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authority to promulgate regulations to administer the 

regulatory system, and § 54.1-3017.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

which provides specific authorization for the board to 

promulgate regulations for provisional licensure for registered 

nurse (RN) applicants.  

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to comply 

with the statutory mandate of Chapter 712 of the 2011 Acts of 

the Assembly, which provides for issuance of a provisional 

license to an applicant for registered nurse licensure in order 

to obtain the clinical experience specified in regulation. The 

provisional licensee is to practice under supervision "in 

accordance with regulations established by the Board." This 

action makes permanent emergency regulations that have 

been in place since August 1, 2013. 

The legislation authorizes the board to provide a pathway to 

licensure by the issuance of a provisional license to allow a 

graduate who has met the educational and examination 

requirements but is lacking clinical experience to obtain such 

experience by practicing under the supervision of a registered 

nurse for a period of time. The proposed regulations for 

provisional licensure will protect the public health, safety, 

and welfare by assuring that the RN applicant gains 

experience across the life span in all areas of nursing practice 

and that his practice will be overseen by an RN with at least 

two years of clinical practice experience. The supervisor is 

responsible for the assignment of duties consistent with the 

knowledge and skills of the provisional licensee and must be 

prepared to intervene if necessary for the health and safety of 

clients receiving care from a provisional licensee. 

Substance: The proposal provides an alternative for 

qualifying for licensure by granting a provisional license to an 

RN applicant who has otherwise met the educational and 

examination requirements but is lacking clinical experience in 

the role of an RN. The proposal allows an applicant credit for 

supervised clinical hours in a current educational program 

and for holding an active, current license as a licensed 

practical nurse. The applicant will be given a year in which to 

complete 500 hours (or less with prior credits), which may be 

accomplished on a part-time basis. The proposal requires 

appropriate oversight of a provisional licensee practice across 

all aspects of nursing practice to assure that the RN is 

minimally competent to practice upon the granting of full 

licensure. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the potential 

for an increased supply of registered nurses who are qualified 

by education and supervised clinical experience to provide 

care to patients. There is also an advantage to certain 

graduates of educational programs who are not qualified for 

licensure because they lack the requisite clinical experience; 

the proposed regulation offers a pathway to licensure. There 

are no disadvantages to the public. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth or the agency. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation: 

Pursuant to Chapter 712 (Senate Bill 1245) of the 2011 Acts 

of the Assembly, the Board of Nursing (Board) proposes to 

revise its regulations to provide for provisional licensure for 

applicants as registered nurses to obtain clinical experience. 

Specifically, the Board proposes to establish: 1) requirements 

for qualification and submission of documents for approval as 

a provisional licensee, 2) requirements for 500 hours of direct 

client care in the role of a registered nurse including various 

areas of nursing, 3) provisions for acceptance of previous 

clinical experience towards meeting the 500-hour 

requirement, 4) requirements for supervision of a provisional 

licensee, including the qualifications and responsibilities of 

the supervising nurse, and 5) provision for expiration and 

renewal of a provisional license.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Regulations of the Board of 

Nursing (Section 120) require that "A nursing education 

program preparing for licensure as a registered nurse shall 

provide a minimum of 500 hours of direct client care 

supervised by qualified faculty." So approved programs based 

in Virginia that prepare for licensure as a registered nurse 

(RN) provide at least 500 hours of supervised clinical 

experience; thus the proposed provisional license will not 

directly affect individuals graduating from Virginia RN 

programs.  

The proposed provisional license is relevant for graduates of 

out-of-state RN programs that provide less than 500 hours of 

supervised clinical experience. The proposed provisional 

license will provide these individuals with a feasible pathway 

to become licensed as an RN in the Commonwealth. This 

proposal should provide a net benefit in that it will enable 

additional qualified individuals to work in the 

Commonwealth.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposal to create an 

RN provisional license for applicants who need additional 

clinical experience will affect out-of-state RN programs that 

provide less than 500 hours of supervised clinical experience 

and their students who may wish to gain RN licensure in 

Virginia. The Department of Health Professions estimates 

that 25 or fewer individuals will seek provisional licensure 

per annum. By moderately adding to the supply of RNs in the 

Commonwealth, the proposal may moderately affect some 

hospitals, doctor's offices, and other entities seeking to 

employ RNs as well. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

will likely moderately increase the supply of qualified RNs in 

the Commonwealth. This will likely moderately increase the 

number of individuals working as RNs in Virginia.  
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Through 

the associated moderate increase in supply of RNs, the 

proposed amendments may help some firms find and hire an 

RN. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. By moderately 

adding to the supply of RNs in the Commonwealth, the 

proposed amendments may moderately reduce the cost of 

finding and employing RNs for some small firms that employ 

them.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 

costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Nursing concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Chapter 712 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly authorizes the 

board to adopt regulations that provide a licensure 

pathway through issuance of a provisional license to a 

registered nurse (RN) applicant who has otherwise met the 

educational and examination requirements but is lacking 

clinical experience. The proposed regulation includes (i) 

requirements for qualification and submission of 

documents for approval as a provisional licensee; (ii) 

requirements for 500 hours of direct client care in the role 

of an RN including various areas of nursing; (iii) 

provisions for acceptance of previous clinical experience 

towards meeting the 500-hour requirement; (iv) 

requirements for supervision of a provisional licensee, 

including the qualifications and responsibilities of the 

supervising nurse; and (v) provisions for expiration and 

renewal of a provisional license. 

18VAC90-20-215. Provisional licensure of applicants for 

licensure as registered nurses. 

A. Pursuant to § 54.1-3017.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

board may issue a provisional license to an applicant for the 

purpose of meeting the 500 hours of supervised, direct 

(hands-on) client care required of an approved registered 

nurse education program. 

B. Such applicants for provisional licensure shall submit:  

1. A completed application for licensure by examination 

and fee; 

2. Documentation that the applicant has successfully 

completed a nursing education program; and 

3. Documentation of passage of NCLEX in accordance 

with 18VAC90-20-190. 

C. Requirements for hours of direct client care with a 

provisional license. 

1. To qualify for licensure as a registered nurse, direct, 

hands-on hours of supervised clinical experience shall 

include the areas of adult medical/surgical nursing, 

geriatric nursing, maternal/infant (obstetrics, gynecology, 

neonatal) nursing, mental health/psychiatric nursing, 

nursing fundamentals, and pediatric nursing. Supervised 

clinical hours may be obtained in employment in the role 

of a registered nurse or without compensation for the 

purpose of meeting these requirements. 

2. Hours of direct, hands-on clinical experience obtained as 

part of the applicant's nursing education program and noted 

on the official transcript shall be counted towards the 

minimum of 500 hours and in the applicable areas of 

clinical practice. 

3. For applicants with a current, active license as an LPN, 

150 hours of credit shall be counted towards the 500-hour 

requirement. 

4. Up to 100 hours of credit may be applied towards the 

500-hour requirement for applicants who have successfully 

completed a nursing education program that: 

a. Requires students to pass competency-based 

assessments of nursing knowledge as well as a 

summative performance assessment of clinical 

competency that has been evaluated by the American 

Council on Education or any other board-approved 

organization; and 

b. Has a passage rate for first-time test takers on the 

NCLEX that is not less than 80%, calculated on the 
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cumulative results of the past four quarters of all 

graduates in each calendar year regardless of where the 

graduate is seeking licensure. 

5. An applicant for licensure shall submit verification from 

a supervisor of the number of hours of direct client care 

and the areas in which clinical experiences in the role of a 

registered nurse were obtained. 

D. Requirements for supervision of a provisional licensee. 

1. The supervisor shall be on site and physically present in 

the unit where the provisional licensee is providing clinical 

care of clients. 

2. In the supervision of provisional licensees in the clinical 

setting, the ratio shall not exceed two provisional licensees 

to one supervisor at any given time. 

3. Licensed registered nurses providing supervision for a 

provisional licensee shall: 

a. Notify the board of the intent to provide supervision 

for a provisional licensee on a form provided by the 

board; 

b. Hold an active, unrestricted license or multistate 

licensure privilege and have at least two years of active 

clinical practice as a registered nurse prior to acting as a 

supervisor; 

c. Be responsible and accountable for the assignment of 

clients and tasks based on their assessment and 

evaluation of the supervisee's clinical knowledge and 

skills; 

d. Be required to monitor clinical performance and 

intervene if necessary for the safety and protection of the 

clients; and 

e. Document on a form provided by the board the 

frequency and nature of the supervision of provisional 

licensees to verify completion of hours of clinical 

experience. 

E. The provisional status of the licensee shall be disclosed to 

the client prior to treatment and shall be indicated on 

identification worn by the provisional licensee. 

F. All provisional licenses shall expire six months from the 

date of issuance and may be renewed for an additional six 

months. Renewal of a provisional license beyond the limit of 

12 months shall be for good cause shown and shall be 

approved by the board. A request for extension of a 

provisional license beyond 12 months shall be made at least 

30 days prior to its expiration. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC90-20)  

Application for Licensure by Endorsement -- Registered 

Nurse (rev. 5/11) 

Instructions for Licensure by Endorsement -- Registered 

Nurse (rev. 5/11) 

Instructions for Licensure by Endorsement -- Licensed 

Practical Nurse (rev. 5/11) 

Application for Licensure by Endorsement -- Licensed 

Practical Nurse (rev. 6/11) 

Verification of Clinical Practice -- Licensure by 

Endorsement (rev. 1/10) 

Instructions and Application for Licensure by Examination 

for Registered Nurses (rev. 8/11) 

Instructions and Application for Licensure by Examination -

- Licensed Practical Nurse (rev. 8/11) 

Instructions and Application for Licensure by Repeat 

Examination for Registered Nurse (rev. 8/11) 

Instructions and Application for Licensure by Repeat 

Examination for Licensed Practical Nurse (rev. 8/11) 

Instructions and Application for Licensure by Examination 

for Licensed Practical Nurses Educated in 

Other Countries (rev. 6/11) 

Instructions and Application for Licensure by Examination 

for Registered Nurses Educated in Other Countries (rev. 6/11) 

Declaration of Primary State of Residency for Purposes of 

the Nurse Licensure Compact (rev. 6/11) 

Instructions for Application for Reinstatement -- Registered 

Nurse (rev. 10/10) 

Application for Reinstatement -- Registered Nurse (rev. 

6/11) 

Instructions for Application for Reinstatement -- Licensed 

Practical Nurse (rev. 2/10) 

Application for Reinstatement of License as a Licensed 

Practical Nurse (rev. 6/11) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of License as 

a Registered Nurse Following Suspension or Revocation (rev. 

6/11) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of License as 

a Licensed Practical Nurse Following Suspension 

or Revocation (rev. 6/11) 

License Verification Form (rev. 10/09) 

Procedure (rev. 3/10) and Application for Registration as a 

Clinical Nurse Specialist (rev. 6/11) 

Application for Reinstatement of Registration as a Clinical 

Nurse Specialist (rev. 6/11) 

Application to Establish a Nursing Education Program (rev. 

6/11) 

Agenda and Survey Visit Report -- Registered Nurse 

Education Program (rev. 4/08) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a20b0003068~16&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a20b0003068~16&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8c25003068~17&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8c25003068~17&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86418003068~18&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86418003068~18&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c4bd003068~20&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c4bd003068~20&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=31199003068~20&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=31199003068~20&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ae346003068~22&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ae346003068~22&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ef22a003068~23&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ef22a003068~23&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=15f1a003068~24&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=15f1a003068~24&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8123b003068~25&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8123b003068~25&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6f4bf003068~26&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6f4bf003068~26&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6f4bf003068~26&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1ac82003068~27&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1ac82003068~27&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42cb1003068~28&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42cb1003068~28&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=31c8b003068~29&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=31c8b003068~29&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19b1c003068~30&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19b1c003068~30&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bb7ed003068~31&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bb7ed003068~31&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f0876003068~32&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f0876003068~32&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91f3d003068~33&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91f3d003068~33&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91f3d003068~33&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4c535003068~34&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4c535003068~34&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4c535003068~34&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8f187003068~35&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60acb003068~36&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60acb003068~36&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=44532003068~51&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=44532003068~51&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=69f52003068~38&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=69f52003068~38&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0eccb003068~39&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0eccb003068~39&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
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Agenda and Survey Visit Report -- Practical Nurse 

Education Program (rev. 4/08) 

NCLEX Survey Visit Report (rev. 4/08) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

7/07) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 8/08) 

Verification of Supervised Clinical Practice -- Registered 

Nurse Provisional License (undated) 

Notification of Intent to Supervise Clinical Practice -- 

Registered Nurse Provisional License (undated) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2989; Filed August 6, 2014, 11:54 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth 

Transportation Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 

of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-

4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 

regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Commonwealth 

Transportation Board will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-41. Rules and Regulations 

Governing Relocation Assistance (amending 24VAC30-

41-30, 24VAC30-41-220, 24VAC30-41-290, 24VAC30-41-

300, 24VAC30-41-310, 24VAC30-41-320, 24VAC30-41-

340, 24VAC30-41-360, 24VAC30-41-390, 24VAC30-41-

400, 24VAC30-41-430, 24VAC30-41-510, 24VAC30-41-

520, 24VAC30-41-540, 24VAC30-41-550, 24VAC30-41-

570, 24VAC30-41-580, 24VAC30-41-620 through 

24VAC30-41-660, 24VAC30-41-680).  

Statutory Authority: § 25.1-402 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 4601 et seq.; 49 CFR Part 24. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Richard Bennett, Director, Right of Way 

and Utilities Division, Department of Transportation, 

1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-2923, FAX (804) 786-1706, or email 

richard.bennett@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments raise the authorized payment to a 

displaced homeowner from $22,500 to $31,000, reduce the 

number of days that may pass between displacement and 

negotiations for the acquisition of property before such 

payment is authorized from 180 to 90 days, and increase 

the maximum payment permitted to a person leasing or 

renting a comparable replacement dwelling for a period of 

42 months from $5,250 to $7,200. The amendments 

conform to Chapter 218 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly. 

24VAC30-41-30. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Business" means any lawful activity, except a farm 

operation, that is conducted:  

1. Primarily for the sale of services to the public;  

2. Primarily for the purchase, sale, lease, rental or any 

combination of these, of personal or real property, or both, 

or for the manufacture, processing, or marketing of 

products, commodities, or any other personal property;  

3. Primarily for outdoor advertising display purposes, 

when the display must be moved as a result of the project; 

or  

4. By a nonprofit organization that has established its 

nonprofit status under applicable federal or state law.  

"Comparable replacement housing" means a dwelling that 

is:  

1. Decent, safe and sanitary (defined below).  

2. Functionally equivalent to the displacement dwelling in 

that it performs the same function and provides the same 

utility. While every feature of a displacement dwelling 

need not be present, the principal features must be 

provided. Functional equivalency reflects the range of 

purposes for which the various physical features of a 

building may be used. Special consideration will be given 

to the number of rooms, and area of living space. VDOT 

may consider reasonable trade offs for specific features 

when the replacement unit is equal to or better than the 

displacement dwelling.  

3. Adequate in size to accommodate the displacee.  

4. In a location generally not less desirable than the 

displacement dwelling with respect to public utilities, 

commercial and public facilities, and is reasonably 

accessible to the displacee's place of employment.  

5. On a site typical in size for residential use, with normal 

site improvements. (The site need not include features such 

as swimming pools or outbuildings.)  

6. Currently available to the displaced person on the 

private market. However, a publicly owned or assisted unit 

may be comparable for a person displaced from the same 

type of unit. In such cases, any requirements of the public 

housing assistant program relating to the size of the 

replacement dwelling shall apply.  

7. Within financial means of the displaced person.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=46d1e003068~40&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=46d1e003068~40&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d19bb003068~41&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=37a45003068~42&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=37a45003068~42&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8865f003068~43&typ=40&actno=003068&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bdfeb002989~1&typ=40&actno=002989&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bdfeb002989~1&typ=40&actno=002989&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c2d85002989~2&typ=40&actno=002989&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c2d85002989~2&typ=40&actno=002989&mime=application/pdf
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Comparable replacement housing is the standard for 

replacement housing that VDOT is obligated to make 

available to displaced persons. It also is the standard for 

establishing owner and rental purchase supplement benefits.  

"Contributes materially" means that during the two taxable 

years prior to the taxable year in which displacement occurs, 

or during such other period as VDOT determines to be more 

equitable, a business or farm operation:  

1. Had average annual gross receipts of at least $5,000;  

2. Had average annual net earnings of at least $1,000; or  

3. Contributed at least 33-1/3% of the owner's or operator's 

average annual gross income from all sources.  

If the application of the above criteria creates an inequity or 

hardship in any given case, VDOT may approve the use of 

other criteria as determined appropriate.  

"Decent, safe and sanitary housing" means that a dwelling:  

1. Meets local housing and occupancy codes, is structurally 

sound, weather tight and in good repair;  

2. Has a safe electrical wiring system adequate for lighting 

and appliances;  

3. Contains a heating system capable of maintaining a 

healthful temperature;  

4. Is adequate in size with respect to the number of rooms 

and area of living space needed to accommodate the 

displaced household;  

5. Has a separate, well-lighted and ventilated bathroom that 

provides privacy to the user and contains sink, toilet, and 

bathing facilities (shower or bath, or both), all operational 

and connected to a functional water and sewer disposal 

system;  

6. Provides unobstructed egress to safe open space at 

ground level; and  

7. Is free of barriers to egress, ingress and use by a 

displacee who is disabled.  

This is the qualitative and safety standard to which 

displacees must relocate in order to qualify for replacement 

housing payment benefits provided by VDOT. Decent, safe 

and sanitary is also an element in the definition of comparable 

replacement housing defined above.  

"Displaced person" means any person who moves from real 

property or moves personal property from real property as a 

direct result of the initiation of negotiations for the 

acquisition of the property; the acquisition of the real 

property, in whole or in part, for a project; as a direct result of 

rehabilitation or demolition for a project; or as a direct result 

of a written notice of intent to acquire, or the acquisition, 

rehabilitation or demolition of, in whole or in part, other real 

property on which the person conducts a business or farm 

operation, for a project. If the move occurs after a written 

order to vacate is issued, the occupant is considered a 

displaced person even though the property is not acquired.  

Persons who do not qualify as a displaced person under 

these regulations include:  

1. A person who moves before the initiation of 

negotiations, unless VDOT determines that the person was 

displaced as a direct result of the project;  

2. A person who initially enters into occupancy of the 

property after the date of its acquisition for the project;  

3. A person who is not required to relocate permanently as 

a direct result of a project. VDOT, after weighing the facts, 

shall make such determination on a case-by-case basis;  

4. A person who has occupied the property for the purpose 

of obtaining assistance under the Uniform Relocation 

Assistance and Real Property Acquisition Policies Act of 

1970, and amendments (42 USC § 4601 et seq.);  

5. A person who, after receiving a notice of relocation 

eligibility, is notified in writing that it would not be 

necessary to relocate. Such notice shall not be issued 

unless the person has not moved and VDOT agrees to 

reimburse the person for any expenses incurred to satisfy 

any binding contractual relocation obligations entered into 

after the effective date of the notice of relocation 

eligibility;  

6. An owner-occupant who voluntarily conveys a property 

after being informed in writing that if a mutually 

satisfactory agreement of sale cannot be reached, VDOT 

will not acquire the property. In such cases, tenants who 

are displaced are eligible for relocation benefits;  

7. 6. A person whom VDOT determines is not displaced as 

a direct result of a partial acquisition;  

8. 7. A person who is determined by VDOT to be in 

unlawful occupancy or a person who has been evicted for 

cause, under applicable law, prior to the initiation of 

negotiations for the property; or  

9. 8. A person determined to be not lawfully present in the 

United States.  

Only parties designated as "displaced persons" are eligible 

for relocation benefits.  

"Dwelling" means the place of permanent or customary and 

usual residence of a person, according to local custom or law, 

including a single family house, a single family unit in a two-

family, multi-family, or multi-purpose property; a unit of a 

condominium or cooperative housing project; a 

nonhousekeeping unit; a mobile home; or any other 

residential unit.  

"Dwelling site" means land area that is typical in size for 

dwellings located in the same neighborhood or rural area.  

"Family" means two or more individuals, one of whom is 

the head of a household plus all other individuals, regardless 

of blood or legal ties, who live with and are considered part of 

the family unit. Where two or more individuals occupy the 

same dwelling with no identifiable head of household, they 
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shall be treated as one family for replacement housing 

payment purposes.  

"Farm operation" means any activity conducted solely or 

primarily for the production of one or more agricultural 

products or commodities, including timber, for sale or home 

use, and customarily producing such products or commodities 

in sufficient quantity to be capable of contributing materially 

to the operator's support.  

"Financial means" of the displaced person means:  

1. A replacement dwelling purchased by a homeowner in 

occupancy at the displacement dwelling for at least 180 90 

days prior to initiation of negotiations (180-day (90-day 

homeowner) is considered to be within the homeowner's 

financial means if the homeowner will receive the full 

price differential, all increased mortgage interest costs and 

all eligible incidental expenses.  

2. A replacement dwelling rented by an eligible displaced 

person is considered to be within their financial means if, 

after receiving rental assistance under this part, the person's 

monthly rent and estimated average monthly utility costs 

for the replacement dwelling do not exceed the person's 

base monthly rental for the displacement dwelling.  

3. For a displaced person who is not eligible to receive a 

replacement housing payment because of the person's 

failure to meet length-of-occupancy requirements, 

comparable replacement rental housing is considered to be 

within the person's financial means if VDOT pays that 

portion of the monthly housing costs of a replacement 

dwelling which that exceeds the person's base monthly rent 

for the displacement dwelling. Such rental assistance must 

be paid under last resort housing.  

"Increased interest payment" means the amount which that 

will reduce the mortgage balance on a new mortgage to an 

amount that will be amortized with the same monthly 

payment for principal and interest as that for the mortgage on 

the displacement dwelling.  

"Nonprofit organization" means an organization that is 

incorporated under the applicable laws of a state as a 

nonprofit organization and exempt from paying federal 

income taxes under § 501 of the Internal Revenue Code (26 

USC § 501).  

"Owner" means any person who purchases or holds any of 

the following interests in real property:  

1. Fee title, a life estate, a land contract, a 99-year lease, or 

a lease including any options for extension with at least 50 

years to run from the date of acquisition;  

2. An interest in a cooperative housing project which that 

includes the right to occupy a dwelling; or  

3. A contract to purchase any of the interests or estates 

described in the preceding two descriptions of interests in 

real property.  

"Person" means any individual, family, partnership, 

corporation or association.  

"Purchase supplement" means the amount which that, when 

added to the acquisition value, equals the cost of comparable 

replacement housing.  

"Rent supplement" means the amount which that equals 42 

times the difference between base monthly rental of a 

displacement dwelling including utilities and the monthly rent 

of a comparable dwelling including utilities.  

"Small business" means any business having not more than 

500 employees working at the site being acquired or 

displaced by a program or project, which site is the location 

of economic activity. Sites operated solely by outdoor 

advertising signs, displays or devices do not qualify as a 

small business eligible for reestablishment expenses.  

"State agency" means any department, agency, or 

instrumentality of the Commonwealth; public authority, 

municipal corporation, local governmental unit or political 

subdivision of the Commonwealth or any department, agency 

or instrumentality thereof; person who has the authority to 

acquire property by eminent domain under state law; or two 

or more of the aforementioned, which carries out projects that 

cause people to be displaced.  

24VAC30-41-220. Moving expense schedule.  

A. In lieu of a payment for actual costs, a displaced person 

or family who occupies the acquired dwelling may choose to 

be reimbursed for moving costs based on a moving expense 

schedule established by VDOT based on a room count. The 

schedule is revised periodically, based on a survey of movers, 

to reflect current costs. The schedule is used by all acquiring 

agencies throughout the state by agreement coordinated by 

the Federal Highway Administration.  

The room count used will include occupied rooms within the 

dwelling unit plus personal property located in attics, 

unfinished basements, garages and outbuildings, or 

significant outdoor storage. Spaces included in the count must 

contain sufficient personal property as to constitute a room.  

B. A person with minimal personal possessions who is in 

occupancy of a dormitory style room shared by two or more 

other unrelated persons, or if the move is performed by 

VDOT at no cost to the person, shall be limited to $50.  

C. The cost to move a retained dwelling, any other structure, 

or any item determined to be real estate prior to the move, is 

not a reimbursable moving cost. However, if an owner-

occupant retains the dwelling, including a mobile home, and 

chooses to use it as a means of moving personal belongings 

and furnishings, the owner-occupant may receive a moving 

cost payment based upon the moving expense schedule.  

D. A discussion of residential move reimbursement options 

is contained in the "Guidance Document for Determination of 

Certain Financial Benefits to Displacees," effective 

November 21, 2001, revised July 1, 2006 October 1, 2014.  
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24VAC30-41-290. Actual direct losses of tangible personal 

property.  

A. Actual, direct losses of tangible personal property are 

allowed when a person who is displaced from a business, 

farm or nonprofit organization is entitled to relocate such 

property but elects not to do so. This may occur if an item of 

equipment is bulky and expensive to move, but is obsolete 

and the owner desires to replace it with a new item that 

performs the same function. Payments for actual, direct losses 

can be made only after an effort has been made by the owner 

to sell the item involved. When the item is sold, payment will 

be determined in accordance with subsection B or C of this 

section. If the item cannot be sold, the owner will be 

compensated in accordance with subsection D of this section. 

The sales prices and the cost of advertising and conducting 

the sale, must be supported by copies of bills, receipts, 

advertisements, offers to sell, auction records and other data 

supporting the bona fide nature of the sale.  

B. If an item of personal property which is used in 

connection with the business is not moved but is replaced 

with a comparable item at the new location, the payment will 

be the lesser of:  

1. The replacement cost minus the net proceeds of the sale. 

Trade-in value may be substituted for net proceeds of sale 

where applicable; or  

2. The estimated cost of moving the item to the 

replacement site but not to exceed 50 miles.  

C. If the item is not to be replaced in the reestablished 

business, the payment will be the lesser of:  

1. The difference between the market value of the item in 

place for continued use at its location prior to displacement 

less its net proceeds of the sale; or  

2. The estimated cost of moving the item to the 

replacement site but not to exceed 50 miles. (See 

"Guidance Document for Determination of Certain 

Financial Benefits for Displacees," effective November 21, 

2001, revised July 1, 2006 October 1, 2014, for example.)  

D. If a sale is not effected under subsection B or C of this 

section because no offer is received for the property and the 

property is abandoned, payment for the actual direct loss of 

that item may not be more than the fair market value of the 

item for continued use at its location prior to displacement or 

the estimated cost of moving the item 50 miles, whichever is 

less, plus the cost of the attempted sale, irrespective of the 

cost to VDOT of removing the item.  

E. The owner will not be entitled to moving expenses or 

losses for the items involved if the property is abandoned 

with no effort being made to dispose of it by sale, or by 

removal at no cost. The district manager may allow 

exceptions to this requirement for good cause.  

F. The cost of removal of personal property by VDOT will 

not be considered as an offsetting charge against other 

payments to the displaced person.  

24VAC30-41-300. Searching expenses.  

A. A displaced business, farm operation, or nonprofit 

organization is entitled to reimbursement for actual expenses, 

not to exceed $2,500, as VDOT determines to be reasonable, 

which are incurred in searching for a replacement location, 

and includes expenses for:  

1. Transportation. A mileage rate determined by VDOT 

will apply to the use of an automobile;  

2. Meals and lodging away from home;  

3. Time spent searching, based on reasonable salary or 

earnings;  

4. Fees paid to a real estate agent or broker to locate a 

replacement site, exclusive of any fees or commissions 

related to the purchase of such site;  

5. Time spent in obtaining permits and attending zoning 

hearings; and  

6. Time spent negotiating the purchase of a replacement 

site based on a reasonable salary or earnings.  

B. Documentation for a move search claim will include 

expense receipts and logs of times, dates and locations related 

to the search. (See "Guidance Document for Determination of 

Certain Financial Benefits for Displacees," effective 

November 21, 2001, revised July 1, 2006 October 1, 2014, 

for example).  

24VAC30-41-310. Reestablishment expenses.  

A. A small business, farm or nonprofit organization may be 

eligible to receive a payment, not to exceed $25,000, for 

expenses actually incurred in reestablishing operations at a 

replacement site. A small business, farm or nonprofit 

organization that elects a fixed payment in lieu of actual 

moving expenses is not eligible for a reestablishment expense 

payment.  

B. Eligible expenses. Reestablishment expenses must be 

reasonable and actually incurred. They may include the 

following items:  

1. Repairs or improvements to the replacement real 

property as required by federal, state or local law, code or 

ordinance;  

2. Modifications to the replacement property to 

accommodate the business operation or make replacement 

structures suitable for conducting the business;  

3. Construction and installation costs for exterior signing to 

advertise the business;  

4. Redecoration or replacement of soiled or worn surfaces 

at the replacement site, such as paint, paneling, or 

carpeting;  

5. Licenses, fees and permits when not paid as part of 

moving expenses;  

6. Advertisement of replacement location;  

7. Increased costs of operation during the first two years at 

the replacement site for such items as:  
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a. Lease or rental charges;  

b. Personal or real property taxes;  

c. Insurance premiums; and  

d. Utility charges, excluding impact fees.; and  

8. Other items that VDOT considers essential to the 

reestablishment of the business.  

A discussion of business reestablishment costs is contained 

in the "Guidance Document for the Determination of Certain 

Financial Benefits to Displacees," effective November 21, 

2001, revised July 1, 2006 October 1, 2014.  

C. Ineligible expenses. The following is a nonexclusive 

listing of ineligible reestablishment expenditures.  

1. Purchase of capital assets, such as office furniture, filing 

cabinets, machinery or trade fixtures;  

2. Purchase of manufacturing materials, production 

supplies, product inventory or other items used in the 

normal course of the business operation;  

3. Interest on money borrowed to make the move or 

purchase the replacement property; and  

4. Payment to a part-time business in the home which that 

does not contribute materially to the household income.  

24VAC30-41-320. Fixed payment in lieu of actual costs.  

A. A displaced business, farm or nonprofit organization, 

meeting eligibility criteria may receive a fixed payment in 

lieu of a payment for actual moving and related expenses. The 

amount of this payment is equal to its average annual net 

earnings as computed in accordance with subsection E of this 

section, but not less than $1,000 nor more than $75,000.  

B. Criteria for eligibility. For an owner of a displaced 

business to be entitled to a payment in lieu of actual moving 

expenses, the district office must determine that:  

1. The business owns or rents personal property which that 

must be moved in connection with such displacement and 

for which an expense would be incurred in such move;, 

and, it vacates or relocates from its displacement site.  

2. The displaced business cannot be relocated without a 

substantial loss of its existing patronage (clientele or net 

earnings). A business is assumed to meet this test unless 

VDOT determines, for a stated reason, that it will not 

suffer a substantial loss of its existing patronage.  

3. The business is not part of a commercial enterprise 

having more than three other entities which that are not 

being acquired by VDOT and which that are under the 

same ownership and engaged in the same or similar 

business activities. (For purposes of this rule, any 

remaining business facility that did not contribute 

materially to the income of the displaced person during the 

two taxable years prior to displacement shall not be 

considered "other entity.")  

4. The business is not operated at displacement dwelling or 

site solely for the purpose of renting such dwelling or site 

to others.  

5. The business contributed materially to the income of the 

displaced person during the two taxable years prior to 

displacement. However, VDOT may waive this test for 

good cause. A part-time individual or family occupation in 

the home that does not contribute materially to the 

displaced owner is not eligible.  

C. In determining whether two or more displaced legal 

entities constitute a single business, which is entitled to only 

one fixed payment, all pertinent factors shall be considered, 

including the extent to which:  

1. The same premises and equipment are shared;  

2. Substantially identical or interrelated business functions 

are carried out and business and financial affairs are co-

mingled;  

3. The entities are held out to the public and to those 

customarily dealing with them, as one business; and  

4. The same person, or closely related persons own, 

control, or manage the affairs of the entities.  

The district office will make a decision after consideration 

of all the above items and so advise the displacee.  

D. A displaced farm operation may choose a fixed payment 

in lieu of the payments for actual moving and related 

expenses in an amount equal to its average annual net 

earnings as computed in accordance with subsection E of this 

section, but not less than $1,000 nor more than $75,000. In 

the case of a partial acquisition of land, which was a farm 

operation before the acquisition, the fixed payment shall be 

made only if VDOT determines that:  

1. The acquisition of part of the land caused the operator to 

be displaced from the farm operation on the remaining 

land; or  

2. The partial acquisition caused a substantial change in the 

nature of the farm operation.  

A displaced nonprofit organization may choose a fixed 

payment of $1,000 to $75,000 in lieu of the payments for 

actual moving and related expenses if VDOT determines that 

it cannot be relocated without a substantial loss of existing 

patronage (membership or clientele). A nonprofit 

organization is assumed to meet this test, unless VDOT 

demonstrates otherwise. Any payment in excess of $1,000 

must be supported with financial statements for the two 12-

month periods prior to the acquisition. The amount to be used 

for the payment is the average of two years annual gross 

revenues less administrative expenses.  

Gross revenues for a nonprofit organization include 

membership fees, class fees, cash donations, tithes, receipts 

from sales or other forms of fund collection that enables the 

nonprofit organization to operate. Administrative expenses 

are for administrative support, such as rent, utilities, salaries, 
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advertising and other like items, as well as fund raising 

expenses. Operating expenses are not included in 

administrative expenses.  

E. Payment determination. The term "average annual net 

earnings" means one-half of all net earnings of the business or 

farm before federal, state and local income taxes, during the 

two tax years immediately preceding the tax year in which the 

business or farm is relocated. If the two years immediately 

preceding displacement are not representative, VDOT may 

use a period that would be more representative. For instance, 

proposed construction may have caused recent outflow of 

business customers, resulting in a decline in net income for 

the business.  

The term "average annual net earnings" include any 

compensation paid by the business to the owner, spouse, or 

dependents during the two-year period. In the case of a 

corporate owner of a business, earnings shall include any 

compensation paid to the spouse or dependents of the owner 

of a majority interest in the corporation. For the purpose of 

determining majority ownership, stock held by a husband, his 

wife and their children shall be treated as one unit.  

If the business, farm or nonprofit organization was not in 

operation for the full two taxable years prior to displacement, 

net earnings shall be based on the actual period of operation 

at the displacement site during the two taxable years prior to 

displacement, projected to an annual rate.  

F. Information to be provided by owner. For the owner of a 

business, farm or nonprofit organization to be entitled to this 

payment, the owner must provide information to support the 

net earnings of the business, farm or nonprofit organization. 

State or federal tax returns for the tax years in question are 

the best source of this information. However, certified 

financial statements can be accepted as evidence of earnings. 

The tax returns furnished must either be signed and dated or 

accompanied by a certification from the business owner that 

the returns being furnished reflect the actual income of the 

business as reported to the Internal Revenue Service or the 

State Department of Taxation for the periods in question. The 

owner's statement alone would not be sufficient if the amount 

claimed exceeded the minimum payment of $1,000.  

A more complete discussion of this benefit is contained in 

the "Guidance Document for Determination of Certain 

Financial Benefits for Displacees," effective November 21, 

2001, revised July 1, 2006 October 1, 2014.  

24VAC30-41-340. Fully eligible occupants.  

A. A fully eligible owner-occupant of 180 90 days or more 

may receive either a purchase supplement payment plus 

increased mortgage interest costs and incidental costs not to 

exceed $22,500 $31,000 or a rent supplement not to exceed 

$5,250 subject to the conditions set forth in 24VAC30-41-

510.  

A fully eligible owner-occupant of between 90 and 180 days 

or a tenant-occupant of at least 90 days may receive either a 

down payment supplement including closing costs, not to 

exceed $5,250 $7,200 and subject to the conditions set forth 

in 24VAC30-41-570, or a rent supplement, not to exceed 

$5,250 $7,200.  

B. The above limits of $22,500 $31,000 and $5,250 $7,200 

do not apply if a displacee's circumstances with regard to 

available replacement housing require the use of Last Resort 

Housing last resort housing provisions. It is VDOT's 

obligation to enable the displacee to relocate to comparable 

replacement housing while retaining original status as either 

an owner or a tenant. This obligation overrides any monetary 

limit, which would otherwise apply. Refer to Part XI 

(24VAC30-41-650 et seq.) of this chapter for last resort 

housing provisions.  

24VAC30-41-360. Requirements to receive payment.  

A. In addition to length of occupancy provisions, the 

displaced person must occupy a decent, safe and sanitary 

dwelling, as defined in 24VAC30-41-30, within one year, 

beginning on the following dates:  

1. Owner-occupant of 180 90 days or more. The date on 

which the owner received payment of the entire 

consideration for the acquired dwelling in negotiated 

settlements;, or in the case of condemnation, the date on 

which the certificate was filed and the amount set forth in 

the certificate was made available for the benefit of the 

owner.  

2. Tenant-occupant of 90 days or more. The date on which 

the move occurs. An occupancy affidavit (Form RW-62C) 

shall be secured as evidence of occupancy.  

A displaced person who cannot occupy the replacement 

dwelling within the one-year time period because of 

construction delays beyond reasonable control, will be 

considered to have purchased and occupied the dwelling as of 

the date of the contract to purchase. The replacement housing 

payment under these conditions may be deferred until 

replacement housing is actually occupied.  

B. Upon relocating, the displacee must properly complete 

the appropriate application, Library Form RW-65A(1), RW-

65B(1), or RW-65C(1) to receive a replacement housing 

payment and submit them to the district manager. The 

application must be filed no later than six months after the 

expiration of the one-year period specified in subdivisions A 

1 and A 2 of this section. In condemnation cases the one-year 

period is extended to six months after final adjudication. The 

district office must stamp the application to show the date of 

its receipt. Where husband and wife both hold title to the 

property, or there is more than one owner-occupant, each 

owner must sign the application for payment. In the case of 

tenant-occupants, each must sign the application for payment.  

C. The payment may be made directly to the displaced 

persons whose names are on the application for payment. On 

written instruction from a tenant-displacee, payment may be 

made to the lessor for rent. For an owner, payment may be 
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made to the seller or lending agency at closing on the 

replacement property. If payment is made at closing, it will be 

personally delivered by a district office employee who will 

remain present to assure that the full purchase supplement 

amount is credited to the purchase of the replacement 

dwelling. If this is performed, the occupancy requirement will 

be considered met at the completion of closing, providing an 

occupancy agreement has been signed.  

Part VIII  

Replacement Housing Payments for Owner-Occupants for 

180 of 90 Days or More  

24VAC30-41-390. General.  

A displaced owner-occupant of a dwelling may receive a 

replacement housing payment, the elements of which will not 

exceed $22,500 $31,000 except when last resort housing has 

been authorized. The elements included in the replacement 

housing payment are: additional costs necessary to purchase 

replacement housing (purchase supplement); compensation to 

the owner for the increased interest cost and other debt 

service costs which that are incurred in connection with a 

mortgage or mortgages on the replacement dwelling; and 

reimbursement to the owner for expenses incidental to the 

purchase of replacement housing when such costs are 

incurred as specified by the provisions of this chapter.  

The purchase supplement is the amount, if any, which when 

added to the amount for which VDOT acquired the dwelling, 

equals the actual cost which that the owner is required to pay 

for a decent, safe and sanitary dwelling or, if lesser, the 

amount determined by VDOT as necessary to purchase a 

comparable decent, safe and sanitary dwelling.  

24VAC30-41-400. Eligibility.  

An owner-occupant is entitled to a replacement housing 

payment when:  

1. The owner is in occupancy at the initiation of 

negotiations for the acquisition of the property, or is in 

occupancy at the time a written notice of intent to acquire 

is delivered by VDOT;  

2. Such ownership and occupancy has been for at least 180 

90 consecutive days immediately prior to the earlier of the 

initiation of negotiations, or the date of vacation if a notice 

of intent to acquire has been issued;  

3. Purchase and occupancy of a decent, safe and sanitary 

dwelling has occurred within the specified time period; and  

4. If otherwise eligible, the owner-occupant can receive 

these payments if the move was a result of the initiation of 

negotiations, even though VDOT did not acquire the 

property.  

24VAC30-41-430. Purchase supplement payment 

computation.  

A. Method.  

1. The probable selling price of a comparable dwelling will 

be determined by the district office by analyzing at least 

three dwellings from the inventory of available housing, 

Library Form RW-69B, which are available on the private 

market and which meet the criteria of a comparable 

replacement dwelling. Less than three comparables may be 

used for this determination when fewer comparable 

dwellings are available. The relocation agent performing 

the determination must provide a full explanation 

supporting the determination, including a discussion of 

efforts to locate more than one comparable. One 

comparable, from among those evaluated and considered, 

will be selected as the basis for the purchase supplement 

determination. The selection will be made by careful 

consideration of all factors in the dwellings being 

considered which affect the needs of the displacee with 

reference to the elements in the definition of comparable 

replacement housing.  

Refer to the "Guidance Document for Determination of 

Certain Financial Benefits for Displacees," effective 

November 21, 2001, revised July 1, 2006 October 1, 2014, 

for a step-by-step summary of the determination process, 

and an example of the purchase supplement payment 

computation.  

2. If comparable decent, safe and sanitary housing cannot 

be located, after a diligent search of the market, available 

non-decent, safe and sanitary replacement dwellings may 

be used as the basis for the maximum amount of the 

purchase supplement. In these cases, the maximum 

payment will be established by obtaining cost estimates 

from persons qualified to correct the decent, safe and 

sanitary deficiencies and adding this amount to the 

probable selling price of the available replacement 

housing.  

A displacee will not be required to vacate the displacement 

dwelling until decent, safe and sanitary housing has been 

made available.  

B. Major exterior attributes. When the dwelling selected in 

computing the payment is similar, except it lacks major 

exterior attributes present at the displacement property such 

as a garage, outbuilding, swimming pool, etc., the appraised 

value of such items will be deducted from the acquisition cost 

of the acquired dwelling for purposes of computing the 

payment. No exterior attributes are to be added to the 

comparable. However, the added cost of actually building an 

exterior attribute at the replacement property occupied, may 

be added to the acquisition cost provided major exterior 

attributes having the same function are found in the 

displacement property and in the comparable used to 

determine the maximum payment.  

The following calculation shows how a purchase 

supplement is determined when a major exterior attribute is 

present:  
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Example 

Major Exterior Attribute (swimming pool) 

The appraiser assigned $5,000 contributing value for the 

pool, and a total property value of $100,000. A comparable 

house, not having a pool, is listed for sale at $105,000. After 

a 3% 3.0% adjustment, a probable selling price of $101,850 

is determined for the comparable property. The purchase 

supplement amount is computed below: 

Comparable Dwelling (adjusted) $101,850 

Less:   

Displacement property value $100,000 

Less value of the pool $5,000 

Adjusted displacement property 

value 

$95,000 

Purchase Supplement Amount $6,850 

C. Comparable housing not available.  

1. In the absence of available comparable housing upon 

which to compute the maximum replacement housing 

payment, the district office may establish the estimated 

selling price of a new comparable decent, safe and sanitary 

dwelling on a typical home site. To accomplish this, the 

district office will contact at least two reputable home 

builders for the purpose of obtaining firm commitments for 

the cost of building a comparable dwelling on a typical 

home site.  

2. If the only housing available greatly exceeds comparable 

standards, a payment determination may be based on 

estimated construction cost of a new dwelling which that 

meets, but does not exceed, comparable standards.  

24VAC30-41-510. Owner-occupant for 180 of 90 days or 

more who rents.  

A. An owner-occupant eligible for a replacement housing 

payment under this section who elects to rent a replacement 

dwelling is eligible for a rental replacement housing payment. 

The amount of a rent supplement also will not exceed the 

amount the displaced family would have received had the 

family purchased replacement housing.  

B. The payment is to be computed and disbursed in 

accordance with the provisions of 24VAC30-41-520, except 

that the present rental rate for the displacement dwelling will 

be the economic rent.  

C. An owner-displacee retains eligibility for a replacement 

housing payment if replacement housing is purchased and 

occupied within one year after the date of final payment is 

received for the acquired property. Further, eligibility to 

submit a claim for relocation benefits extends for 18 months 

from the date of final payment for the acquired property. An 

owner who initially rents replacement housing may later 

purchase and qualify for a replacement housing payment. The 

total amount of the rent and the purchase supplements, 

however, will not exceed the amount that would have been 

received if the displacee had initially purchased replacement 

housing.  

Part IX  

Replacement Housing Benefits for Tenants, and Owners Who 

Choose to Rent Replacement Housing  

24VAC30-41-520. General.  

A. A residential tenant who was in occupancy at the 

displacement dwelling for 90 days or more before the 

initiation of negotiations for the property is eligible to receive 

a rent supplement to provide for relocation to comparable 

replacement housing. An owner-displacee who was in 

occupancy from 90—179 days before the initiation of 

negotiations is eligible for the same benefits as the tenant-

displacee of 90+ days.  

B. A displaced owner or tenant eligible under this category 

can receive a replacement housing payment not to exceed 

$5,250 $7,200 to rent a decent, safe and sanitary replacement 

dwelling. A tenant may be eligible for a down payment 

supplement up to $5,250 $7,200. The monetary limit of 

$5,250 $7,200 for a rental replacement housing payment, or a 

down payment supplement, does not apply if provisions of 

Last Resort Housing last resort housing are applicable (see 

Part XI (24VAC30-41-650 et seq.)).  

C. A discussion of rent supplement determination is found in 

the "Guidance Document for the Determination of Certain 

Financial Benefits to Displacees," effective November 21, 

2001, revised July 1, 2006 October 1, 2014.  

24VAC30-41-540. Disbursement of rental replacement 

housing payment.  

The rental payment, in the amount of $5,250 or less, as 

determined in 24VAC30-41-530 shall be paid in a lump sum, 

unless the district manager determines that it should be paid 

in installments.  

24VAC30-41-550. $5,250 $7,200 limit on offers.  

A rent supplement payment offer is limited to $5,250 $7,200 

under normal program authority. VDOT has an overriding 

responsibility, however, to enable tenant displacees to rent 

replacement housing within their financial means. See 

24VAC30-41-30 for the definition of "financial means." If the 

payment computation exceeds $5,250 $7,200, last resort 

housing provisions are applicable. See Part XI (24VAC30-41-

650 et seq.) of this chapter for last resort housing provisions.  

24VAC30-41-570. Down payment benefit -- 90-day 

tenants.  

A. A displaced tenant eligible for a rental replacement 

housing payment who elects to purchase a replacement 

dwelling in lieu of accepting such rental assistance payment 

may elect to apply the entire computed payment to the 

purchase of a replacement dwelling. This payment may be 

increased to any amount, not to exceed $5,250 $7,200, for the 



Regulations 

Volume 30, Issue 26 Virginia Register of Regulations August 25, 2014 

2786 

purchase of a replacement dwelling and related incidental 

expenses.  

B. VDOT has a responsibility to enable a displacee to 

relocate to housing of the same tenancy or ownership status 

as was occupied before displacement. Efforts will be made 

through advisory assistance and the down payment benefit to 

assist a tenant to move to ownership, but the achievement of 

ownership by tenants is not a program requirement.  

24VAC30-41-580. Section 8 Housing Assistance Program 

for low income families.  

A. Program features.  

1. Section 8 is a rent subsidy program funded by the U.S. 

Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), 

to enable low-income families to rent privately owned 

decent, safe and sanitary housing. Section 8 is administered 

by local housing agencies. Landlords receive a subsidy 

representing the difference between 30% of an eligible 

tenant's adjusted gross household income, and reasonable 

housing rent as determined under program rules.  

There are three types of Section 8 housing:  

a. A certificate based on the income of the recipient and 

the rent paid;  

b. A voucher, which pays a specific amount toward the 

recipient's rent; and  

c. Market rehab unit.  

The first two program types are portable, meaning the 

benefit moves with the recipient. The market rehab form 

stays with the housing facility.  

2. Section 8 assistance has a feature that is superior to the 

relocation rent supplement in that it is not limited to 42 

months, but continues as long as the recipient household is 

income eligible. The district office should make every 

effort to relocate existing Section 8 recipients to units in 

which their Section 8 benefits will continue. If a normal 

relocation rent supplement is paid, the local housing 

agency may consider this income, and disqualify the 

displaced household from eligibility for Section 8. It may 

be difficult to reenter the program, as there is usually a 

long waiting list. The district office should closely 

coordinate with the administering local housing agency.  

B. Replacement housing payment computation. In order to 

transfer Section 8 benefits the recipient must relocate to a 

decent, safe and sanitary unit in which the owner agrees to 

participate in this program. Local housing agencies generally 

maintain current lists of participating owners and properties.  

The criteria below will apply, corresponding to the type of 

Section 8 program the displacee is receiving:  

1. For the certificate program, rent must be less than the 

ceiling set as fair market rent in the HUD schedule for the 

local area. Housing agencies will provide a copy of the 

current HUD established local schedule.  

2. For a recipient in the voucher program, Section 8 will 

pay up to the housing authority approved payment standard 

for the area. This is usually 80-100% of the fair market rent 

in subdivision 1 of this subsection. The recipient may pay 

the landlord the difference if actual rent is higher than the 

standard.  

3. Market rehab Section 8 recipients may remain in Section 

8 on concurrence of the local housing agency and the 

landlord.  

In determining the rent supplement amount, assume utility 

costs are the same as before relocation. An effort should be 

made to use comparable dwellings meeting Section 8 criteria. 

The standard of base monthly rent should be used, which is 

the lower of the following: existing rent before subsidy, 

market rent, or 30% of income. Under the Section 8 

certificate program, rent paid should be the same as 30% of 

income. However, this will not always be the case in the 

Voucher voucher program. An example is provided below:  

Example  

Rent Supplement - Section 8 Voucher Program  

FACTS BEFORE RELOCATION:   

Displacee household income $1,000/month 

30% of income  $300/month 

Fair market rent and contract rent  $550/month 

Actual rent paid (Section 8 voucher 

= $225) 

$325/month 

AFTER RELOCATION:   

Displacee moves to comparable housing at $550/month 

and retains Section 8 voucher paying $225 to landlord. 

VDOT pays rent supplement on incremental difference 

between 30% of income ($300) and actual replacement 

rent ($325). 

($325 - $300) X 42 months - $1,050 

C. Displacee options. The agent will inform the displacee of 

the replacement housing payment, both with and without 

Section 8 participation and advise of the following options:  

1. Accept VDOT conventional rent supplement, which is 

limited to 42 months, and may disqualify the displacee for 

Section 8 in the future;  

2. Receive down payment subsidy of $5,250 $7,200 to 

assist in purchase of a replacement dwelling; or  

3. Retain Section 8. VDOT will pay rent supplement only 

to the extent of any difference between Section 8 subsidy 

and base monthly rent (as in above example). In most 

cases, the VDOT payment will be $0. Tenants should be 

encouraged to accept this option if they plan to continue to 

rent and have no prospects of significant increase of 

income.  
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D. Tenant not on Section 8 before displacement. Determine 

rent supplement based on comparable unsubsidized housing, 

and the lesser of existing rent, market rent or 30% of income 

if classified as low income by HUD. This is a conventional 

rent supplement situation. If the tenant moves to Section 8 

housing as a replacement, recalculate based on the net 

increase (if any) in monthly housing cost to the displacee 

after applying the Section 8 subsidy.  

24VAC30-41-620. Replacement housing payments; 

general.  

A. The ownership or tenancy of the mobile home, not the 

land on which it is located, determines the occupant's status 

as an owner or a tenant. The length of ownership and 

occupancy of the mobile home on the mobile home site will 

determine the occupant's status as a 180-day or 90-day owner 

or tenant.  

The mobile home must be occupied on the same site (or in 

the same mobile home park) for the requisite 90 or 180 days 

to make the occupant fully eligible for rent or purchase 

supplement benefits.  

B. After the above eligibility determinations are made, the 

replacement housing payment is computed in two parts:  

1. If the mobile home is being acquired, the replacement 

housing, or rent supplement payment is computed for the 

mobile home unit in accordance with the same procedures 

for any other dwelling unit.  

2. The replacement housing or rent supplement payment is 

computed separately for the mobile home site in 

accordance with normal procedures. The payment amount 

is limited to the maximums according to the displacee's 

ownership or tenancy of the land.  

The sum of the two parts computed above cannot exceed the 

maximum limitation of the $5,250 $7,200 for 90-day owner 

and tenant-occupants or $22,500 $31,000 for 180-day 90-day 

owner-occupants, unless last resort housing provisions in 

accordance with Part XI (24VAC30-41-650 et seq.) of this 

chapter are applicable. Replacement housing and rent 

supplement offers and payments will be computed in 

accordance with Parts VIII (24VAC30-41-390 et seq.) and IX 

(24VAC30-41-520 et seq.) of this chapter. The offer will set 

the maximum limit of the supplemental payment.  

When determining the purchase supplement payment for an 

owner-occupant-displacee from a mobile home, the cost of a 

comparable is the reasonable cost of a comparable mobile 

home, including the site. When a comparable mobile home is 

not available, the supplement may be determined using a 

conventional dwelling.  

If a mobile home requires repairs or modifications to permit 

its relocation to another site and the district office determines 

that it would be practical to make the repairs or modifications, 

the cost of a comparable dwelling is the value of the 

displacee's mobile home plus the cost to make the necessary 

repairs or modifications.  

24VAC30-41-630. Replacement housing payments; 180-

day 90-day owner-occupant.  

A. General. A displaced owner of a mobile home who has 

occupied the home and site for at least 180 90 days is eligible 

for the following as a replacement housing benefit:  

1. The additional cost necessary to purchase replacement 

housing as specified in subsections B, C, D, and E of this 

section, and in accordance with the provisions of Part VIII 

(24VAC30-41-390 et seq.) of this chapter;  

2. Compensation for the loss of favorable financing on the 

existing mortgage in the financing of such replacement 

housing, under the provisions of 24VAC30-41-500; and  

3. An amount to reimburse the owner for incidental 

expenses incident to the purchase of such replacement 

housing in accordance with the provisions of 24VAC30-

41-510.  

A displaced owner-occupant of a mobile home eligible for a 

replacement housing payment as shown above who elects to 

rent is eligible for a rental replacement housing payment, not 

to exceed $5,250, in accordance with 24VAC30-41-510.  

B. Acquisition of mobile home and site from owner-

occupant.  

1. The purchase supplement payment will be an amount, if 

any, which when added to the amount for which VDOT 

acquired the mobile home and site equals the lesser of:  

a. The amount the owner is required to pay for a decent, 

safe and sanitary replacement mobile home and site; or  

b. The amount determined by the district office as 

necessary to purchase a comparable mobile home and 

site in accordance with the provisions of 24VAC30-41-

430.  

2. Rental replacement housing payment. If the owner elects 

to rent, the rent supplement will be determined by 

subtracting 42 times the economic rent of the mobile home 

and site from the lesser of:  

a. The amount determined by the district office necessary 

to rent a comparable mobile home and site for a period of 

42 months; or  

b. Forty-two times the monthly rent paid for the 

replacement mobile home and site.  

C. Acquisition of site only—owner-occupant retains mobile 

home.  

1. Upon acquisition of the site but not the home situated 

upon the site and the mobile home is required to be moved, 

the replacement housing payment will be the amount, if 

any, which when added to the amount for which VDOT 

acquired the mobile home site equals the lesser of:  

a. The amount the owner is required to pay for a 

comparable site; or  

b. The amount determined by the district office as 

necessary to purchase a comparable mobile home site.  
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2. If the owner elects to rent, the rent supplement shall be 

determined by subtracting 42 times the economic rent of 

the mobile home site from the lesser of:  

a. The amount determined as necessary to rent a 

comparable mobile home site for 42 months; or  

b. Forty-two times the monthly rent paid at the 

replacement mobile home site.  

D. Acquisition of mobile home only—owner-occupant rents 

site.  

1. The replacement housing payment is to be the amount, if 

any, which when added to the amount for which VDOT 

acquired the mobile home equals the lesser of:  

a. The actual amount the owner is required to pay for a 

replacement dwelling; or  

b. The amount determined as necessary to purchase a 

comparable mobile home, plus the difference in the 

amount determined by the district office as necessary to 

rent a comparable mobile home site for a period of 42 

months and 42 times the rent being paid on the site 

acquired.  

The entire computed amount may be applied toward the 

purchase of a comparable mobile home site, if so desired.  

2. If the owner elects to rent a replacement mobile home, 

the rent supplement payment shall be determined by 

subtracting 42 times the economic rent of the mobile home 

and the actual rent of the site from the lesser of:  

a. The amount determined by the district office as 

necessary to rent a comparable mobile home and site for 

42 months; or  

b. Forty-two times the monthly rent paid for the 

replacement dwelling.  

E. Acquisition of rental site only—mobile home not 

acquired. When the site is acquired but not the mobile home, 

which must be moved, the owner-occupant of the mobile 

home is eligible for up to $5,250 $7,200 as a rent supplement 

for a comparable replacement site. This rent supplement 

payment shall be the difference determined by subtracting 42 

times the rent on the site being acquired from the lesser of:  

1. The amount determined as necessary to rent a 

comparable home site for 42 months; or  

2. Forty-two times the monthly rent paid for the 

replacement site.  

The entire computed amount may be applied toward the 

down payment and incidental expenses on a comparable 

home site.  

24VAC30-41-640. Replacement housing payment to 

tenants of 90 days or more and owner occupants for 90-

179 days.  

A displaced owner or tenant of a mobile home or site, or 

both, under this category can receive a replacement housing 

payment not to exceed $5,250 $7,200 (except under last resort 

housing) to rent a comparable decent, safe and sanitary 

mobile home or site, or both, or make a down payment on 

either or both computed as follows:  

1. The rental replacement housing payment is to be 

determined in accordance with the provisions of 

24VAC30-41-530.  

2. If a purchase decision is made, the entire computed 

rental payment may be applied towards the purchase, 

including related incidental expenses for a replacement 

mobile home, site, or both.  

3. An owner-occupant under this category is entitled to the 

same replacement housing payments as the tenant-

occupant, except economic rent of the acquired mobile 

home and site will be used.  

Part XI  

Last Resort Housing  

24VAC30-41-650. General.  

A. No displaced persons will be required to move until a 

comparable replacement dwelling is made available within 

their financial means. Comparable replacement housing may 

not be available on the private market or does not meet 

specific requirements or special needs of a particular 

displaced family. Also, housing may be available on the 

market, but the cost exceeds the benefit limits for tenants and 

owners of $5,250 $7,200 and $22,500 $31,000, respectively. 

If housing is not available to a displacee and the 

transportation project would thereby be prevented from 

proceeding in a timely manner, VDOT is authorized to take a 

broad range of measures to make housing available. These 

measures, which are outside normal relocation benefit limits, 

are called collectively last resort housing.  

B. It is the responsibility of VDOT to provide a replacement 

dwelling, which enables the displacee to relocate to the same 

ownership or tenancy status as prior to displacement. The 

displacee may voluntarily relocate to a different status. The 

district office may also provide a dwelling, which changes a 

status of the displacee with their concurrence, if a comparable 

replacement dwelling of the same status is not available.  

A more complete discussion of last resort housing appears in 

the "Guidance Document for Determination of Certain 

Financial Benefits for Displacees," effective November 21, 

2001, revised July 1, 2006 October 1, 2014.  

24VAC30-41-660. Utilization of last resort housing.  

Last resort housing is applicable when:  

1. Comparable replacement housing is not available on the 

housing market; or  

2. Comparable replacement housing is available, but:  

a. The computed replacement housing payment exceeds 

the $22,500 $31,000 limitation; or  

b. The computed rent supplement exceeds the $5,250 

$7,200 limitation.  
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3. Comparable housing is not available within the financial 

means of a displaced person who is ineligible to receive a 

replacement housing payment because of failure to meet 

length-of-occupancy requirements.  

24VAC30-41-680. Last resort housing alternative 

solutions.  

A. VDOT has broad latitude in the methods used and the 

manner in which it provides housing of last resort. After 

consideration of all practical options, a method should be 

selected which provides comparable housing at the most 

reasonable cost, within the time constraints of roadway 

project scheduling and urgency of the displacee's need. 

Methods for providing this housing include, but are not 

limited to:  

1. Making an offer and payment greater than $22,500 

$31,000 for a displaced owner or $5,250 $7,200 for a 

displaced tenant;  

2. Rehabilitation, modifications or additions to an existing 

replacement dwelling to accommodate displacee needs;  

3. The construction of a new replacement dwelling;  

4. The relocation and, if necessary, rehabilitation of a 

replacement dwelling;  

5. The purchase of land or a replacement dwelling, or both, 

by VDOT and subsequent sale, lease to, or exchange with a 

displaced person;  

6. Acting as mortgagee in financing a displacee's purchase 

of housing; and  

7. The provision of features such as entrance ramps, wide 

doors, etc., which will make a dwelling accessible to a 

disabled displacee.  

B. Under special circumstances, consistent with the 

definition of a comparable replacement dwelling, 

consideration will be given to providing replacement housing 

with space and physical characteristics different from those in 

the displacement dwelling. This may include upgraded, but 

smaller replacement housing that is decent, safe and sanitary 

and adequate to accommodate families displaced from 

marginal or substandard housing. In no event, however, will a 

displaced person be required to move into a dwelling that is 

not functionally equivalent to the displacement dwelling.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (24VAC30-41)  

RW-59(1) (Form letter for moving families w/certification 

of citizenship/legal residence) (rev. 11/98) 

RW-59(2) (Form letter for moving personal property 

w/certification of citizenship/legal residence) (rev. 8/99)  

RW-59(3) (Form letter for moving businesses, farms, and 

nonprofit organizations w/certification of citizenship/legal 

residence) (rev. 7/06)  

Occupancy Agreement (no form number) (rev. 8/99)  

RW-60A, Moving Cost Application (Families and 

Individual/Personal Property only) (rev. 10/00)  

RW-60B, Moving Cost Application (Businesses, Farms, and 

Nonprofit Organizations) (rev. 8/00)  

RW-62C, Occupancy Affidavit (Tenants) (rev. 7/06)  

RW-65A(1), Application for Purchase Replacement 

Housing Payment (Owner-occupant for 180 days or more) 

(rev. 4/01) 

RW-65B(1), Application for Purchase Replacement Housing 

Payment (Owner-occupant for less than 180 days but not less 

than 90 days/Tenant-occupant of not less than 90 days) (rev. 

4/01) 

RW-65A(1), Application for Purchase Replacement 

Housing Payment (Owner-occupant for not less than 90 days) 

(rev. 10/14) 

RW-65B(1), Application for Purchase Replacement Housing 

Payment (Tenant-occupant of not less than 90 days) (rev. 

10/14) 

RW-65C(1), Application for Rental Replacement Housing 

Payment (rev. 11/98)  

RW-67A, Moving Cost Payment Claim (Families and 

Individuals/Personal Property only) (rev. 11/98)  

RW-67B, Moving Cost Payment Claim (Businesses, Farms, 

and Nonprofit Organizations) (rev. 8/99)  

RW-69B, Application for Available or Acquired 

Replacement Housing (rev. 09/08) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(24VAC30-41)  

Guidance Document for Determination of Certain Financial 

Benefits for Displacees, rev. July 1, 2006, Right of Way and 

Utilities Division, Virginia Department of Transportation.  

Guidance Document for Determination of Certain Financial 

Benefits for Displacees, eff. October 1, 2014, Right of Way 

and Utilities Division, Virginia Department of Transportation 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4081; Filed July 29, 2014, 1:06 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth 

Transportation Board is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 

B 4 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts regulations 

relating to grants of state or federal funds or property. 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-301. Recreational Access 

Fund Policy (repealing 24VAC30-301-10, 24VAC30-301-

20).  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=67312004081~1&typ=40&actno=004081&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=67312004081~1&typ=40&actno=004081&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=67312004081~1&typ=40&actno=004081&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=25df4004081~2&typ=40&actno=004081&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=25df4004081~2&typ=40&actno=004081&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=25df4004081~2&typ=40&actno=004081&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2cb0d004081~4&typ=40&actno=004081&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2cb0d004081~4&typ=40&actno=004081&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=af87d004081~3&typ=40&actno=004081&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=af87d004081~3&typ=40&actno=004081&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=af87d004081~3&typ=40&actno=004081&mime=application/pdf
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Statutory Authority: §§ 33.1-12 and 33.1-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 6, 2014.  

Agency Contact: David L. Roberts, Policy and Planning 

Specialist III, Department of Transportation, VDOT Policy 

Division, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-3620, or email 

david.roberts@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapter 222 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly amended § 33.1-

223 of the Code of Virginia to allow guidelines, as opposed 

to regulations, established by the Commonwealth 

Transportation Board to be used to administer the 

Recreational Access Fund Program. This program was 

originally established by the General Assembly in 1966 to 

authorize funds for the construction, reconstruction, 

maintenance, or improvement of access roads to public 

recreational areas and historical sites, A Program Guide 

explaining how the program is administered has been 

included on Virginia Department of Transportation's List 

of Guidance Documents posted on the Department of 

Planning and Budget's Regulatory Town Hall.  

This regulatory action repeals the Recreational Access 

Fund Policy to streamline the VDOT's regulatory 

inventory and render this program consistent with other 

board funding programs, such as the Revenue Sharing 

Program, that are administered by means of guidance 

documents. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3747; Filed August 6, 2014, 2:06 p.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 21 (2014) 

Champions for Virginia's Children: Virginia 
Children's Cabinet 

Importance of the Issues 

With a longstanding history of prioritizing our youngest 

generation, Virginia has a distinguished record as one of the 

best states for children and families. This achievement has 

been accomplished through a firm commitment to the highest 

quality of life, health care, public safety, K-12 and higher 

education, and a vibrant business environment that promotes 

job growth, employment opportunities, and career 

advancement. 

We must ensure that youth throughout Virginia can excel, 

beginning in their earliest years. Addressing the challenges 

that face our children requires a comprehensive approach that 

focuses on strengthening families and stemming the tide of 

poverty. To build Virginia's workforce, we must continue to 

invest in and foster the development of healthy and well-

educated children who are prepared to be productive 

members of our communities as adults. 

The Commonwealth of Virginia must cultivate a solid 

foundation for our children and their families through 

supportive measures that promote: 1) early childhood 

development programs and basic health care needs, 2) age-

appropriate mental health services, 3) first-rate, coordinated 

services for at-risk youth, 4) critical educational outcomes 

and academic readiness to succeed, and 5) nutritional security 

and access to stable housing. The education, health, safety, 

and well-being of Virginia's children are fundamental to the 

Commonwealth's future. 

Establishment of the Cabinet 

Accordingly, by virtue of the authority vested in me as 

Governor under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and 

under the laws of the Commonwealth, and subject to my 

continuing and ultimate authority and responsibility to act in 

such matters, I hereby initiate Champions for Virginia's 

Children with the establishment of the Virginia Children's 

Cabinet ("Children's Cabinet"). 

Virginia Children's Cabinet 

The Children's Cabinet shall develop and implement a 

comprehensive policy agenda related to the education, health, 

safety, and well-being of youth throughout the 

Commonwealth. It shall evaluate and recommend strategies 

to optimize and align local, state, and federal public 

resources, and public-private partnerships to enhance current 

and prospective programs and services for Virginia's children 

and their families, particularly those at highest risk. It shall 

also identify best practices and areas for improvement. 

Additionally, the Children's Cabinet shall provide leadership 

and strategic direction, facilitate the sharing of information, 

and work to improve service delivery of state programs. It 

shall identify specific goals, outcomes, and metrics to 

accomplish its work during this administration. These issues 

are interrelated and require regular communication and 

collaboration across local, state, and federal agencies, 

secretariats, industry sectors, and other related constituencies. 

It will coordinate with other state entities as appropriate to 

remain apprised of developing issues. 

Children's Cabinet Priorities 

By collaborating across secretariats and working with local, 

state, and federal agencies, private industry, and non-profit 

organizations, the Children's Cabinet will work to ensure that 

effective supports are in place to achieve the following: 

1. Beyond the barriers. Schools in high-poverty 

communities face numerous systemic societal barriers 

(such as unstable housing, high crime rates, health, 

nutritional, and social challenges). The myriad of issues 

facing these schools and their students must be addressed. 

Opportunities for increased support will be identified, 

including, but not limited to, community and social 

services for Virginia's most vulnerable children and their 

families. 

2. Raising the foundation. High quality early child care, 

increased access to pre-K, and educational programs lay the 

foundation for academic achievement. Child care providers 

must be held accountable to provide quality care so that our 

youngest children will thrive and obtain the necessary skills 

to contribute to our communities. 

3. Access to basics. Access to health care, housing, and 

proper nutrition must be facilitated to meet basic needs and 

ensure the healthy growth, development, and well-being of 

our children and their families. 

4. Triumph over transitions. Services for youth who are 

transitioning out of Virginia's juvenile justice, mental 

health, and foster care systems will be assessed. Best 

practices will be determined, and replication will be 

encouraged. Factors leading to youth entering the juvenile 

justice system will be identified to reduce the impact of 

incarceration. Issues related to educational and work 

transitions from preschool to K-12 education, and K-12 

education to college and/or the workforce, will also be 

examined. 

5. Working parents, building families. Policies and services 

that encourage workforce development efforts for parents 

through education, credential training, career development, 

and employment will be addressed. 

Composition of the Children's Cabinet 

The Secretaries of Education and Health and Human 

Resources shall serve as Co-Chairs of the Children's Cabinet. 
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The Children's Cabinet will be appointed by the Governor 

and consist of the Lieutenant Governor, the First Lady, the 

Secretaries of Commerce and Trade, Education, Health and 

Human Resources, and Public Safety and Homeland Security. 

The Children's Cabinet Co-Chairs may invite other 

Secretaries to participate as needed and appropriate. 

Staffing 

Staff support for the Children's Cabinet will be provided by 

the Secretaries of Education, Health and Human Resources, 

and any other agencies or offices as may be designated by the 

Governor. The Children's Cabinet will serve in an advisory 

role, in accordance with § 2.2-2100 of the Code of Virginia, 

and will meet upon the call of the Co-Chairs at least four 

times per year. The Children's Cabinet will issue an annual 

report by no later than June 1, and any additional reports and 

recommendations as necessary or as requested by the 

Governor. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in force and effect until January 9, 2018, unless 

amended or rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 11th day of August, 2014. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Total Maximum Daily Load for Accotink Creek and 
Long Branch in Fairfax County 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

development of total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for 

Accotink Creek and Long Branch in the Accotink Creek 

Watershed in Fairfax County. These streams are listed on the 

2012 § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired 

due to violations of the state's water quality standards for the 

aquatic life use due to poor health of the benthic 

macroinvertebrate communities. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the State Water Control Law require DEQ to develop 

TMDLs for pollutants responsible for each impaired water 

contained in Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and 

Report. 

Stream 
Name Location Impairment 

Length 
(miles) 

Upstream 
Limit 

Down-

stream 
Limit 

Accotink 

Creek 

Fairfax 

County 

Aquatic Life 

Use 

Benthic 

Macroinverte-

brates 

9.92 
Lake 

Accotink 

Tidal 

waters of 

Accotink 
Bay 

Accotink 

Creek 

City of 
Fairfax 

Fairfax 

County 

Aquatic Life 

Use 

Benthic 
Macroinverte-

brates 

6.2 

Headwaters 

of Accotink 
Creek 

Lake 

Accotink 

Long 

Branch 

Fairfax 

County 

Aquatic Life 

Use 

Benthic 

Macroinverte-

brates 

2.24 

Unnamed 

tributary at 

the Route 

651 bridge 

Accotink 

Creek 

The first public meeting on the development of the TMDL to 

address the benthic impairments for these segments will be 

held on Wednesday, September 10, 2014, 6 p.m., Kings Park 

Library, Meeting Room, 9000 Burke Lake Road, Burke, VA 

22015-1683. 

In case of inclement weather, the alternate meeting date is 

Monday, September 29, 2014, 6 p.m., Kings Park Library, 

Meeting Room, 9000 Burke Lake Road, Burke, VA 22015-

1683. 

The public comment period will begin September 10, 2014, 

and end Friday, October 10, 2014. An advisory committee to 

assist in development of this TMDL is scheduled to convene 

Tuesday, August 26, 2014. 

A component of a TMDL is the wasteload allocations 

(WLAs); therefore, this notice is provided pursuant to § 2.2-

4006 A 14 of the Virginia Administrative Process Act for any 

future adoption of the TMDL's associated WLAs. 

Information on the development of the TMDLs for the 

impairments is available upon request. Questions or 

information requests should be addressed to the DEQ contact 

person listed below. Please note, all written comments should 

include the name, address, and telephone number of the 

person submitting the comments and should be sent to 

Jennifer Carlson, Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, 

telephone (703) 583-3859, or email 

jennifer.carlson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Public Comment Period for Revised Draft Water 
Quality Restoration Study (TMDL) for the James 
River and Tributaries in Henrico, Prince George, 

Charles City, and Surry Counties 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) is announcing a revised draft total maximum 

daily load (TMDL) study to restore water quality for the 

James River and its tributaries in Henrico, Prince George, 

Charles City, and Surry Counties. DEQ invites the public to 

share its knowledge of the watershed and learn about 

pollution affecting community waters. The TMDL document 

includes an executive summary of information on watershed 

land use, water quality monitoring data, suspected sources of 

bacteria, and the reduction of source bacteria required to meet 

water quality standards.  

Description of study: Virginia agencies have been working to 

identify sources of bacteria in the James River and its 

tributaries:  

Stream County/City Length 

(mi.) 

Impairment 

Crewes 

Channel 

Henrico 3.19 

Bacteria 

(Primary 

Contact / 

Swimming 

Use) 

Western Run Henrico 1.85 

West Run Charles City 1.86 

Wards Creek  Prince George 8.47 

Upper 

Chippokes 

Creek 

Prince George, 

Surry 

5.61 

James River 

(mainstem)  

Prince George, 

Charles City, 

Surry 

3.76  

(sq. miles) 

The above streams failed to meet the primary contact 

(recreational or swimming) designated use, due to high 

concentrations of bacteria. The study reports on the sources of 

bacteria and recommends total maximum daily loads, or 

TMDLs, for impaired waters. A TMDL is the total amount of 
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a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 

quality standards. To restore water quality, bacterial levels 

need to be reduced to the TMDL amount. The draft TMDL 

report will be available at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQuality 

InformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDL

Reports.aspx on August 25, 2014, for review. A public 

meeting was held for the original draft TMDL document in 

August 2013. Subsequent revisions were made to the 

reduction scenarios that will allow for greater flexibility 

during implementation of best management practices. 

How a decision is made: After public comments have been 

considered and addressed, DEQ will submit the final TMDL 

report to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the 

State Water Control Board for approval. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, or postal mail. Written comments should include name, 

address and telephone number and be received by DEQ 

during the comment period, which begins August 25, 2014, 

and ends September 25, 2014. 

Contact for additional information: Margaret Smigo, TMDL 

Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 

Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 

VA 23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, FAX (804) 527-5106, 

or email margaret.smigo@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the State Council of Higher 

Education for Virginia is conducting a periodic review and 

small business impact review of 8VAC40-130, Virginia 

Student Financial Assistance Program Regulations, and 

8VAC40-150, Virginia Two-Year College Transfer Grant 

Program Regulations. 

The review of these regulations will be guided by the 

principles in Executive Order 17 (2014). 

http://dpb.virginia.gov/regs/EO17.pdf. 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether these 

regulations should be repealed, amended, or retained in their 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to these regulations, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins August 25, 2014, and ends 

September 15, 2014. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Melissa Wyatt, Senior Associate for 

Financial Aid, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 225-4113, FAX (804) 225-2604, or email 

melissacollumwyatt@schev.edu. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for BVU Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the BVU 

Authority for violations in the City of Bristol, Virginia. The 

proposed consent order describes a settlement for a sewage 

overflow from a collection system manhole that reached state 

waters and resulted in a fish kill. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Ralph T. Hilt will accept comments 

by email at ralph.hilt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (276) 676-

4899, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA 24210, from August 26, 2014, to September 

24, 2014. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for International 
Paper Company 

An enforcement action has been proposed for International 

Paper Company for violations of the State Water Control Law 

in Franklin, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. John Brandt 

will accept comments by email at 

john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from August 25, 2014, to 

September 17, 2014. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for City of 
Williamsburg 

An enforcement action has been proposed for City of 

Williamsburg for violations of the State Water Control Law 

in Williamsburg, Virginia. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental 

Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. John Brandt will accept comments by 

email at john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
mailto:Margaret.Smigo@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:ralph.hilt@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
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2009, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from August 25, 2014, to 

September 17, 2014. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-63. Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code. 

Publication: 30:16 VA.R. 2071-2232 April 7, 2014. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2204, 13VAC5-63-320 B 20, first sentence:  

delete "[ and add Section 1303.11 ]"  

after "subsections," replace "to" with "[ to of ]" 

after "read" add "[ as follows and delete Section 1303.11 ]"  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3159; Filed August 4, 2014, 3:38 p.m. 
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