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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 

Chairman; Gregory D. Habeeb; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; 

Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Timothy Oksman; 

Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

October 2014 through August 2015 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

31:3 September 17, 2014 October 6, 2014 

31:4 October 1, 2014 October 20, 2014 

31:5 October 15, 2014 November 3, 2014 

31:6 October 29, 2014 November 17, 2014 

31:7 November 12, 2014 December 1, 2014 

31:8 November 25, 2014 (Tuesday) December 15, 2014 

31:9 December 10, 2014 December 29, 2014 

31:10 December 23, 2014 (Tuesday) January 12, 2015 

31:11 January 7, 2015 January 26, 2015 

31:12 January 21, 2015 February 9, 2015 

31:13 February 4, 2015 February 23, 2015 

31:14 February 18, 2015 March 9, 2015 

31:15 March 4, 2015 March 23, 2015 

31:16 March 18. 2015 April 6, 2015 

31:17 April 1, 2015 April 20, 2015 

31:18 April 15, 2015 May 4, 2015 

31:19 April 29, 2015 May 18, 2015 

31:20 May 13, 2015 June 1, 2015 

31:21 May 27, 2015 June 15, 2015 

31:22 June 10, 2015 June 29, 2015 

31:23 June 24, 2015 July 13, 2015 

31:24 July 8, 2015 July 27, 2015 

31:25 July 22, 2015 August 10, 2015 

31:26 August 5, 2015 August 24, 2015 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health has 

WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

(NOIRA) for 12VAC5-410, Regulations for the Licensure 

of Hospitals in Virginia, and 12VAC5-411, Regulations for 

Inpatient Hospital Licensure, which was published in 24:20 

VA.R. 2834 June 9, 2008. The board has been unable to make 

progress on this action following publication of the NOIRA 

in 2008. A new NOIRA will be filed at a future date. 

Agency Contact: Joseph Hilbert, Director of Governmental 

and Regulatory Affairs, Department of Health, 109 Governor 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7001, or 

email joe.hilbert@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R08-1333; Filed September 5, 2014, 1:10 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

CEMETERY BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Cemetery Board intends to 

consider amending 18VAC47-20, Cemetery Board Rules 

and Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

make clarifying changes, incorporate language as necessary 

to implement new statutory requirements for interment of pets 

(Chapter 500 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly), ensure 

consistency with Virginia law, and make any other changes 

that may be considered necessary. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2312.01 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 5, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 

Cemetery Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 527-4299, 

or email cemetery@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4107; Filed September 9, 2014, 8:20 a.m.  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol24/iss20/v24i20.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol24/iss20/v24i20.pdf
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

VIRGINIA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION 
BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC50-85. Nutrient Management 

Training and Certification Regulations (amending 

4VAC50-85-10, 4VAC50-85-100, 4VAC50-85-110, 

4VAC50-85-140).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: November 5, 2014. 

Effective Date: November 20, 2014.  

Agency Contact: David C. Dowling, Policy and Planning 

Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 600 

East Main Street, 24th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 

david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Sections 10.1-104.2 and 10.1-505 of the Code of 

Virginia provide authority to the Virginia Soil and Water 

Conservation Board to promulgate Nutrient Management 

Training and Certification Regulations and amendments 

thereto. 

Section 10.1-104.5 of the Code of Virginia specifies that golf 

course nutrient management plans may be good for up to five 

years. This regulatory action amends the Nutrient 

Management Training and Certification Regulations 

(4VAC50-85) to clarify that golf course nutrient management 

plans may be good for up to five years in accordance with 

§ 10.1-104.5 of the Code of Virginia, which was added 

pursuant to Chapters 341 and 353 of the 2011 Acts of 

Assembly. 

Purpose: This is a technical amendment requested by the 

Virginia Agribusiness Council to clarify that golf course 

nutrient management plans may be good for up to five years 

in accordance with § 10.1-104.5 of the Code of Virginia. The 

Nutrient Management Training and Certification Regulations 

provide a tool through which the Commonwealth manages 

both urban and agricultural nutrients found in fertilizers, 

manure, biosolids, and other sources so that they retain their 

efficient use yet do not impair the quality of Virginia's ground 

and surface waters. The protection of water quality has a 

positive impact on public health, safety, and welfare. This 

action clarifies the implementation of these water quality 

regulations related to the duration of golf course nutrient 

management plans. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: In the past, a 

clarifying technical amendment of this nature to conform 

state regulations with the Code of Virginia would typically 

have been exempt; however, legislation was passed in 2011 

limiting the exemption in § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, to those actions taken within 90 days of the of the 

law's effective date. 

A review of the regulations in 2011, following the passage of 

the legislation, did not identify a need for any amendments to 

the regulations. However, in recent months, the Virginia 

Agribusiness Council has requested that the Nutrient 

Management Training and Certification Regulations be 

amended to clarify that golf course nutrient management 

plans may be good for up to five years in accordance with 

§ 10.1-104.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Accordingly, the action cannot be considered exempt as over 

90 days have lapsed since the passage of the legislation, and 

the use of a fast-track action is the next best option available 

to make this conforming technical amendment. 

Substance: This regulatory action amends the Nutrient 

Management Training and Certification Regulations to clarify 

that golf course nutrient management plans may be good for 

up to five years in accordance with § 10.1-104.5 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Issues: This is a clarifying technical amendment to conform 

state regulations to the Code of Virginia as requested by the 

Virginia Agribusiness Council. The regulatory amendment 

creates no new requirements. There are no disadvantages. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board (Board) 

proposes to add language to the Nutrient Management 

Training and Certification Regulations in order to make clear 

that golf course nutrient management plans may be good for 

up to five years before they must be revised and resubmitted 

for approval to the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board's proposal to add 

clarifying language in the regulation does not change 

requirements. It creates no costs and is potentially beneficial 

in that it may reduce the likelihood of confusion over the law. 
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Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

is a clarification and does not change requirements. In that the 

clarification concerns golf courses, the proposed amendment 

pertains to businesses and other entities that own golf courses. 

According to the National Golf Federation there are 336 golf 

courses in Virginia. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular entities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 

use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 

businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments will not 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 

costs. 

Legal Mandate.  

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 14 (2010). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments.  Further the report should include but not be 

limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation. 

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules (JCAR) is notified at the time the proposed regulation 

is submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Conservation and Recreation concurs with the 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 

Planning and Budget regarding the proposed amendment to 

the Nutrient Management Training and Certification 

Regulations. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) clarify that nutrient management plans 

for golf courses may be good for up to five years (as 

opposed to three years) pursuant to Chapters 341 and 353 

of the 2011 Acts of Assembly, (ii) update Code of Virginia 

references pursuant to Chapters 881 and 929 of the 2007 

Acts of Assembly, and (iii) update Virginia Administrative 

Code references to reflect the transfer of authority for the 

biosolids regulations to the State Water Control Board.  

4VAC50-85-10. Definitions.  

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

following meanings unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise.  

"Application rate" or "nutrient rate" means the quantity of 

major nutrients, nitrogen as N, phosphorus as P2O5, and 

potassium as K2O on a per acre basis to supply crop or plant 

nutrient needs, and to achieve realistic expected crop yields.  

"Banding" or "sideband" means the placement of fertilizer 

approximately two inches to the side and two inches below 

the seed.  

"Best management practice" means a conservation or 

pollution control practice that manages soil, nutrient losses, or 

other potential pollutant sources to minimize pollution of 

water resources, such as split applications of nitrogen, or use 

of cereal grain cover crops to trap available nitrogen and 

reduce soil erosion.  

"Biosolids" means a sewage sludge that has received an 

established treatment for required pathogen control and is 

treated or managed to reduce vector attraction to a 

satisfactory level and contains acceptable levels of pollutants, 

such that it is acceptable for use for land application, 

marketing, or distribution in accordance with 12VAC5-585, 

Biosolids Use Regulations of the Board of Health 9VAC25-

31, Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
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(VPDES) Permit Regulation, and 9VAC25-32, Virginia 

Pollution Abatement (VPA) Permit Regulation, of the State 

Water Control Board.  

"Broadcast" means the uniform application of a material 

over a field.  

"Calibration" means the systematic determination of the 

operational parameters, such as speed and quantity delivered, 

of application equipment.  

"Cereal crop" or "small grain" means barley, rye, triticale, or 

wheat.  

"Certified nutrient management planner" or "nutrient 

management planner" or "planner" means a person who holds 

a current Virginia nutrient management certificate of 

competence.  

"Cool season grass" means grass species of temperate zone 

origin which exhibit the greatest rates of dry matter 

production in the day/night temperature range of 60°/50°F to 

80°/70°F. Examples of cool season grasses include fescue, 

bluegrass, and ryegrass.  

"Commonwealth" means the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Composted organic nutrient source" means the relatively 

stable, humus-like product resulting from the controlled 

aerobic, thermophilic biological decomposition of organic 

material that bears little physical resemblance to the raw 

materials from which it originated.  

"Cover crop" means a crop including, but not limited to, 

cereal grains, which is planted following the harvest of the 

preceding crop for the purpose of:  

1. Seasonal protection of soil, or  

2. Assimilation of residual soil nitrogen left from a 

previous crop or from continued mineralization of 

nitrogen.  

"Crop" means cultivated plants or agricultural produce such 

as grain, silage, forages, oilseeds, vegetables, fruit, nursery 

stock, or turfgrass.  

"Cropland" means land used for the production of grain, 

oilseeds, silage, industrial crops, and any other category of 

crop not defined as specialty crop, hay, or pasture.  

"Crop nutrient needs" means the primary nutrient 

requirements of a crop determined as pounds per acre or 

pounds per 1,000 square feet of nitrogen as N, phosphorus as 

P2O5, and potassium as K2O required to support crop growth 

for production of an expected crop yield based upon soil 

analysis results as specified in Virginia Nutrient Management 

Standards and Criteria, revised July 2014, or Virginia 

Commercial Vegetable Production Recommendations for 

2005.  

"Crop nutrient removal" means the amount of nutrients per 

acre expected to be taken up by a plant and removed from the 

site in the harvested portion at the expected yield level, 

generally expressed as tons per acre or bushels per acre, at 

rates specified in Virginia Nutrient Management Standards 

and Criteria, revised July 2014.  

"Crop rotation" means one complete sequence of one or 

more crops grown in succession that may assist in minimizing 

disease, insects and weeds. For permanent hay, pasture, or a 

single crop planted continuously, the crop rotation is defined 

as the life of the nutrient management plan.  

"Department" means the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation.  

"Double crop" means the production and harvesting of two 

crops in succession within a consecutive 12-month growing 

season.  

"Dry manure" or "semisolid manure" means manure 

containing less than 85.5% moisture.  

"Environmentally sensitive site" means any field which is 

particularly susceptible to nutrient loss to groundwater or 

surface water since it contains or drains to areas which 

contain sinkholes, or where at least 33% of the area in a 

specific field contains one or any combination of the 

following features:  

1. Soils with high potential for leaching based on soil 

texture or excessive drainage;  

2. Shallow soils less than 41 inches deep likely to be 

located over fractured or limestone bedrock;  

3. Subsurface tile drains;  

4. Soils with high potential for subsurface lateral flow 

based on soil texture and poor drainage;  

5. Floodplains as identified by soils prone to frequent 

flooding in county soil surveys; or  

6. Lands with slopes greater than 15%.  

"Expected crop yield" means a realistic crop yield for a 

given farm field determined by using yield records or soil 

productivity information.  

"Fertilizer" means any organic or inorganic material of 

natural or synthetic origin that is added to a soil to supply 

certain nutrients essential to plant growth.  

"Field" means a unit of contiguous nonwooded land 

generally used for crop production that is separated by 

permanent boundaries, such as fences, permanent waterways, 

woodlands, croplines not subject to change because of 

farming practices, and other similar features or as determined 

by the United States Department of Agriculture Farm Service 

Agency.  

"Field identification number" means a number used by a 

farmer (or the United States Department of Agriculture Farm 

Service Agency) to distinguish or identify the location of a 

field on a farm.  

"Grid soil sampling" means a process whereby farm fields or 

other areas are subdivided into smaller areas or squares for 

the purpose of obtaining more detailed soil analysis results.  
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"Groundwater" means any water beneath the land surface in 

a water saturated layer of soil or rock.  

"Hay" means a grass, legume, or other plants, such as clover 

or alfalfa, which is cut and dried for feed, bedding, or mulch.  

"Hydrologic soil group" means a classification of soils into 

one of four groups, A, B, C, or D, according to their 

hydrologic properties, ranging from low runoff potential 

(high infiltration potential) in group A to high runoff potential 

(low infiltration potential) in group D.  

"Incorporation" means the process whereby materials are 

mixed into soils and not exposed on the soil surface, such as 

would be achieved by disking one time to a depth of six 

inches.  

"Industrial waste" means liquid or other waste resulting 

from any process of industry, manufacture, trade or business, 

or from the development of any natural resources.  

"Irrigation" means the application of water to land to assist 

in crop growth.  

"Irrigation scheduling" means the time and amount of 

irrigation water to be applied to an area for optimum crop 

growth and to minimize leaching and runoff.  

"Leaching" means the movement of soluble material, such 

as nitrate, in solution through the soil profile by means of 

percolation.  

"Legume" means a plant capable of fixing nitrogen from the 

atmosphere such as peas, soybeans, peanuts, clovers, and 

alfalfas.  

"Legume nitrogen credit" means the amount of nitrogen a 

legume is expected to supply to a succeeding crop.  

"Liming" means the application of materials containing the 

carbonates, oxides, or hydroxides of calcium or magnesium in 

a condition and in a quantity suitable for neutralizing soil 

acidity.  

"Liquid manure" means manure containing at least 85.5% 

moisture or which can be applied through subsurface 

injection or surface application with liquid application 

equipment.  

"Livestock" means domesticated animals such as cattle, 

chickens, turkeys, hogs, and horses raised for home use or for 

profit.  

"Manure" or "animal waste" means animal fecal and urinary 

excretions and waste byproducts, which may include spilled 

feed, bedding litter, soil, lactase, process wastewater, and 

runoff water from animal confinement areas.  

"Mehlich I" means the North Carolina Double-Acid soil 

analysis procedure to determine extractable levels of certain 

nutrients in soils as described in Methods of Soil Analysis, 

Part 3, Chemical Methods, 1996.  

"Mehlich III" or "Mehlich 3" means a modified version of 

the Mehlich I method used to determine extractable levels of 

certain nutrients in soils as described in Methods of Soil 

Analysis, Part 3, Chemical Methods, 1996 and in Reference 

Soil and Media Diagnostic Procedures for the Southern 

Region of the United States, Southern Cooperative Series 

Bulletin No. 374.  

"Micronutrient" means a nutrient necessary only in 

extremely small amounts for plant growth.  

"Mineralization" means the process when plant unavailable 

organic forms of nutrients are converted to a plant available 

inorganic state as a result of soil microbial decomposition.  

"No-till" means the soil is left undisturbed from the time of 

harvest or the killing of the preceding crop or cover crop until 

and including the time of planting of the current crop except 

for strips up to 1/3 of the row width that are disturbed by 

coulters or disk openers during the planting operation.  

"NRCS" means the United States Department of 

Agriculture, Natural Resource Conservation Service, formerly 

the Soil Conservation Service (SCS).  

"Nutrient" means an element or compound essential as raw 

materials for plant growth and development such as carbon, 

nitrogen, and phosphorus.  

"Nutrient content" means the percentage of any primary 

nutrients such as nitrogen as N, phosphorus as P2O5, and 

potassium as K2O contained in any type or source of plant 

nutrients.  

"Nutrient management plan" or "plan" means a plan 

prepared by a Virginia certified nutrient management planner 

to manage the amount, placement, timing, and application of 

manure, fertilizer, biosolids, or other materials containing 

plant nutrients in order to reduce nutrient loss to the 

environment and to produce crops.  

"Nutrient Management Training and Certification Fund" 

means the fund established by § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of 

Virginia to support the department's Nutrient Management 

Training and Certification Program.  

"Organic nutrient source" or "organic source" means 

manure, biosolids, sludge, industrial waste, green manure, 

compost, or other plant or animal residues which contain 

plant nutrients.  

"Organic residuals" means nutrients released over time from 

manure, biosolids, industrial wastes, legumes, or other 

organic sources of nutrients.  

"Pasture" means land which supports the grazing of animals 

for forages.  

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, a governmental body and its subordinate units, a 

municipal corporation or any other legal entity.  

"Phosphorus index" means the Virginia Phosphorus Index 

Version 2.0 Technical Guide, revised October 2005.  

"Phosphorus saturation level" means the ratio of phosphorus 

to aluminum plus iron (P/(Al+Fe)) in a soil using the Acid 

Ammonium Oxalate in Darkness method described in 

Methods of Soil Analysis, Part 3, Chemical Methods, 1996 

(pp. 649-650) or estimated with another extraction procedure 
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correlated to the Acid Ammonium Oxalate in Darkness 

method and approved by the department.  

"Plant available nutrients" means the portion of nutrients 

contained in nutrient sources which is expected to be 

available for potential use by plants during the growing 

season or the crop rotation.  

"Pre-sidedress nitrate test" or "PSNT" means a procedure 

used to determine soil nitrate-nitrogen levels at a specific time 

during a corn crop growing season.  

"Primary nutrients" means nitrogen as N, phosphorus as 

P2O5, and potassium as K2O.  

"Residual nutrients" means the level of nitrogen, 

phosphorus, and potassium remaining or available in the soil 

from previously applied nutrient sources, or unharvested 

plants or plant parts, or naturally occurring nutrient levels in 

the soil.  

"Runoff" means that part of precipitation, snow melt, or 

irrigation water that runs off the land into streams or other 

surface water which can carry pollutants from the land.  

"RUSLE2" means the USDA—NRCS Revised Universal 

Soil Loss Equation Version 2 software package.  

"Secondary nutrient" means calcium, magnesium, or sulfur.  

"Sewage sludge" or "sludge" means any solid, semisolid, or 

liquid residues which contain materials removed from 

municipal or domestic wastewater during treatment including 

primary and secondary residues. Other residuals or solid 

wastes consisting of materials collected and removed by 

sewage treatment, septage, and portable toilet wastes are also 

included in this definition. Liquid sludge contains less than 

15% dry residue by weight or can be applied through 

subsurface injection or surface application with liquid 

application equipment. Dewatered sludge contains 15% or 

more dry residue by weight.  

"Shall" means a mandatory requirement.  

"Should" means a recommendation.  

"Sidedress" means the placement of fertilizer beside or 

between the rows of a crop after crop emergence.  

"Sinkhole" means a depression in the earth's surface caused 

by dissolving of underlying limestone, salt, or gypsum having 

drainage patterns through underground channels.  

"Slope" means the degree of deviation of a surface from 

horizontal, measured as a percentage, as a numerical ratio, or 

in degrees.  

"Slowly available nitrogen" means nitrogen sources that 

have delayed plant availability involving compounds which 

dissolve slowly, materials that must be microbially 

decomposed, or soluble compounds coated with substances 

highly impermeable to water such as polymer coated 

products, methylene urea, isobutylidene diurea (IBDU), urea 

formaldehyde based (UF), sulfur coated urea, and natural 

organics.  

"Soil erosion" or "erosion" or "soil loss" means the wearing 

away of the land surface by water, wind, or waves.  

"Soil management group" means a grouping of soils based 

on their similarity in profile characteristics which affect crop 

production and require specific soil and crop management 

practices.  

"Soil pH level" means the negative logarithm of the 

hydrogen-ion activity of a soil which measures the relative 

acidity or alkalinity of the soil. The pH level affects the 

availability and plant utilization of nutrients.  

"Soil productivity group" means a grouping of soils based 

upon expected yield levels for a given crop type.  

"Soil series" means a classification of a specific soil type by 

name based on the morphological, chemical and physical 

properties of the soil.  

"Soil survey" means a published or electronically available 

document developed by a governmental entity using the 

standards and protocols of the National Cooperative Soil 

Survey that includes detailed descriptions and classifications 

of soils, mapping of various soil series, and the interpretation 

of soils according to their adaptability for various crops and 

trees.  

"Specialty crop" means vegetables, tree crops, perennial 

vine crops, ornamentals, horticultural crops, and other similar 

crops.  

"Split application" means utilizing a sequence of two or 

more nutrient applications, separated by approximately three 

weeks or more, to a single crop in order to improve nutrient 

uptake efficiency.  

"Surface water" means all water whose surface is exposed to 

the atmosphere.  

"Tilled" means soil is disturbed between the time of harvest 

of the preceding crop through the time of planting of the 

current crop in that greater than 1/3 of the row width is 

disturbed by tillage implements such as moldboard plows, 

chisel plows, subsoilers, disks, field cultivators, roto-tillers, 

coulters or disk openers.  

"Tillering" means the formation of lateral shoots from the 

axillary buds of small grains and grasses.  

"Tissue test" means an analysis of crop tissue for the 

percentage of nitrogen at key growth stages, and used as an 

intensive nutrient management technique with small grain 

crops.  

"Topdress" means broadcast applications of fertilizer on 

crops such as small grains or forage after crop emergence has 

occurred.  

"Trap crop" means a timely planted cereal crop for the 

purposes of capturing residual soil nitrogen and nitrogen that 

is released during the decomposition of manure or biosolids 

in order to manage limited manure or sewage sludge storage 

availability.  
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"Turfgrass" means selected grass species planted or sodded 

and managed for such uses as home lawns, golf courses, 

office parks and rights-of-way.  

"Volatilization" means a process by which nitrogen is lost to 

the atmosphere as ammonia gas.  

"Warm season grass" means a grass species of tropical 

origin that exhibits the highest rate of dry matter production 

in the day/night temperature range of 90°/79°F at a minimum 

to a maximum of 97°/88°F. Examples of warm season grasses 

include zoysia and bermuda grasses.  

"Water insoluble nitrogen" or "WIN" means the amount of a 

type of slowly available nitrogen listed on fertilizer bags and 

reported as a percentage.  

"Watershed" means a drainage area or basin in which all 

land and water areas drain or flow toward a central collector 

such as a stream, river, or lake at a lower elevation.  

"Watershed code" means the letter and number used by the 

department to identify a watershed or hydrologic unit area.  

"Zadoks' growth stage" means the numerical scale ranging 

from 0-93 which assigns values to small grain growth stages, 

e.g. Growth Stage 30 is just prior to the stem elongation 

phase in wheat growth.  

4VAC50-85-100. Recordkeeping and reporting 

requirements.  

A. Certified nutrient management planner reporting 

requirements. A person who holds a certificate under these 

regulations shall keep records and file with the department by 

September 30 of each year an annual activity report on a form 

supplied by the department covering the previous year (July 1 

through June 30). The annual activity report shall contain the 

following information:  

1. Name and certificate number of the certified nutrient 

management planner;  

2. Any change of mailing address during the previous year;  

3. Number of nutrient management plans completed;  

4. Acreage covered by plans and planned acreage by 

county and state watershed codes specified by plan 

categories of new or revised;  

5. Breakdown of planned acreage by cropland, hay, 

pasture, and specialty crops by county and watershed code 

specified by plan categories of new or revised; and  

6. Other information indicating number of practices 

facilitated by the planner such as manure testing and use of 

the PSNT.  

B. Certified nutrient management planner recordkeeping 

requirements. The department may periodically inspect 

nutrient management plans prepared by certified persons and 

required records for the purpose of review for compliance 

with 4VAC50-85-130 and 4VAC50-85-140. A certified 

nutrient management planner shall maintain the following 

plan records for a period of not less than three years from the 

date the plan was prepared:  

1. A complete copy of each nutrient management plan 

prepared and shall make such plans available for inspection 

by department personnel upon request within one week of 

receiving such request;  

2. Records for each plan with all of the following 

information if the information is not already contained in 

the plan:  

a. Representative soil analysis results for fields, or field 

grids if grid soil sampling is used, dated not more than 

three years prior to the date the nutrient management 

plan was completed to include information on soil 

fertility levels for phosphorus and potassium, and pH 

level;  

b. Copies of soil survey maps or a soil survey book 

containing maps for each field unless a soil survey has 

not been published for the county;  

c. Yield records for each field to include calculations 

used to determine the planning yield if upward 

adjustments to soil productivity based yields were made 

to more than 20% of the fields covered by the plan;  

d. Type and number of livestock, if any, as well as a 

description of the livestock to include average weight;  

e. Calculations or records indicating annual quantity of 

manure produced or expected to be produced; and  

f. Organic nutrient source analysis, if applicable, to 

include information on percentage of moisture, total 

nitrogen or total Kjeldahl nitrogen, ammonium nitrogen, 

total phosphorus, and total potassium.  

3. A summary listing of all plans prepared to include 

landowner or operator's name and the date the plan was 

prepared or revised.  

C. Certified nutrient management planners shall provide the 

department with a copy of a nutrient management plan within 

two weeks following the modification of any plan required by 

regulations promulgated under § 32.1-164.5 62.1-44.19:3 for 

sewage sludge, § 62.1-44.17:1 for animal waste, and § 62.1-

44.17:1.1 for poultry waste.  

4VAC50-85-110. Compliance with regulations and 

disciplinary action.  

If the department finds that a certified person or an applicant 

for certification violated any requirements of this chapter, 

including the circumstances listed below, the department may 

deny, suspend or revoke certification, following the informal 

fact-finding procedures of the Virginia Administrative 

Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

1. Providing misleading, false, or fraudulent information in 

applying for a certificate;  

2. Providing the department with any misleading, false, or 

fraudulent report;  

3. Offering or preparing a nutrient management plan 

claimed to be prepared by a person certified as a nutrient 
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management planner in Virginia as provided by these 

regulations without a certificate;  

4. Offering, preparing, modifying, or revising a nutrient 

management plan that does not comply with the 

requirements of these regulations;  

5. Failing to promptly provide any report or to allow the 

department access to inspect any records required to be 

kept by these regulations;  

6. Failing to provide the department with a copy of a 

nutrient management plan within two weeks following the 

modification of any plan required by regulations 

promulgated under § 32.1-164.5 62.1-44.19:3 of the Code 

of Virginia for sewage sludge, § 62.1-44.17:1 of the Code 

of Virginia for animal waste, or § 62.1-44.17:1.1 of the 

Code of Virginia for poultry waste; or  

7. Conviction of a felony related in any way to the 

responsibilities of a certified nutrient management planner.  

4VAC50-85-140. Required nutrient management plan 

procedures.  

A. Nutrient application.  

1. A certified nutrient management planner shall include, 

in each plan, nutrient application practices for each field in 

the plan. The nutrient application rates shall be calculated 

for nitrogen (N), phosphate (P2O5), and potash (K2O). 

Individual field recommendations shall be made after 

considering nutrients contained in fertilizers, manure, 

biosolids, industrial wastes, legumes in the crop rotation, 

crop residues, residual nutrients, and all other sources of 

nutrients. Individual fields may be grouped together if 

similar soil productivity levels, soil fertility levels, and 

environmentally sensitive site features exist.  

2. Nutrient application rates.  

a. Determination of crop nutrient needs shall be 

consistent with tables and procedures contained in 

Virginia Nutrient Management Standards and Criteria, 

revised July 2014, and the Commercial Vegetable 

Production Recommendations, 2005 (Virginia 

Cooperative Extension Publication 456-420), and shall 

be based on soil test results for P2O5 and K2O.  

b. Nitrogen applications rates in nutrient management 

plans shall not exceed crop nutrient needs in subdivision 

2 a of this subsection.  

c. Phosphorus application rates shall be managed to 

minimize adverse water quality impacts consistent with 

subdivisions 2 c (1) through (5) of this subsection.  

(1) Phosphorus applications from inorganic nutrient 

sources shall not exceed crop nutrient needs over the 

crop rotation based on a soil test.  

(2) Phosphorus applications shall not be included in 

nutrient management plans developed after December 

31, 2005, for soils exceeding 65% phosphorus saturation 

levels as listed in Virginia Nutrient Management 

Standards and Criteria, revised July 2014, regardless of 

the outcome of other procedures specified in this 

subsection except as allowed in subdivision 2 c (4) of this 

subsection.  

(3) Whenever possible, phosphorus applications from 

organic nutrient sources should not exceed crop needs 

based on a soil test over the duration of the crop rotation. 

If this is not possible, maximum phosphorus application 

rates and phosphorus control practices contained in 

nutrient management plans shall be consistent with the 

phosphorus management provisions contained in 

Virginia Nutrient Management Standards and Criteria, 

revised July 2014, except as allowed in subdivision 2 c 

(4) of this subsection.  

(4) Fields controlled by existing operations that receive 

phosphorus applications only from on-farm or on-site 

generated liquid dairy manure, liquid swine manure, or 

liquid sewage sludge shall be limited to a maximum of 

crop removal amounts of applied phosphorus until 

December 31, 2010, if the field exceeds 65% phosphorus 

saturation levels or has a phosphorus index rating that 

exceeds 100. New operations that begin production after 

December 31, 2005, or operations that expand after 

December 31, 2005, by increasing the total phosphorus 

generated in liquid dairy manure, liquid swine manure or 

liquid sewage sludge by more than 10% shall not be 

considered existing operations.  

(5) A single phosphorus application may be 

recommended to address multiple crops in the crop 

rotation identified within the timeframe covered by the 

nutrient management plan consistent with 4VAC50-85-

140 D 1 if the single application does not exceed the sum 

of the appropriate application rates for individual crops 

as determined by subdivisions 2 c (1) through (3) of this 

subsection.  

d. Recommended application rates for secondary 

nutrients and micronutrients should be at agronomically 

or economically justifiable levels for expected crop 

production. Potassium applications sufficient to meet 

crop nutrient needs shall be included in nutrient 

management plans for all fields consistent with 

recommendations contained in Virginia Nutrient 

Management Standards and Criteria, revised July 2014.  

e. Expected crop yield shall be determined from any of 

the following methods on a given field:  

(1) Soil productivity group expected crop yields based on 

and consistent with soil productivity information 

contained in Virginia Nutrient Management Standards 

and Criteria, revised July 2014;  

(2) The farmer's past experience with crop yields in 

specific fields may be used to make reasonable 

adjustments to expected crop yields in subdivision 2 e (1) 

of this subsection in lieu of verifiable yield records 
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provided the upward adjustments impact no more than 

20% of the acreage of any crop on a particular farm; or  

(3) Verifiable past crop yields are utilized to determined 

expected crop yield. The calculation of expected crop 

yield shall be an average of the three highest yielding 

years taken from the last five years the particular crop 

was grown in the specific field.  

f. Representative soil analysis results for fields shall be 

determined by using standard soil sampling and analysis 

methods according to Methods of Soil Analysis, Part 3, 

Chemical Methods, 1996, utilizing the Mehlich I 

extraction procedure for phosphorus or other methods 

and laboratories approved by the department and 

correlated to Mehlich I and utilizing correlation 

procedures contained in Virginia Nutrient Management 

Standards and Criteria, revised July 2014. Soil analysis 

results shall be dated no more than three years prior to 

the beginning date of the nutrient management plan. A 

single composite soil sample should represent an area up 

to approximately 20 acres. Fields such as those common 

to strip cropping may be combined when soils, previous 

cropping history, and soil fertility are similar. 

Representative soil sample cores shall be obtained from 

the soil surface to a depth of four inches (0-4") for fields 

that have not been tilled within the past three years, and 

from the soil surface to a depth of six inches (0-6") for 

fields which that are tilled or have been tilled within the 

past three years. Soil sampling of fields based on subfield 

grids or management zones may be utilized.  

g. For existing operations, the most recent organic 

nutrient source analysis results or an average of past 

nutrient analysis results for the specific operation within 

the last three-year period shall be used to determine the 

nutrient content of organic nutrient sources. Manure 

analyses shall include percent moisture, total nitrogen or 

total Kjeldahl nitrogen, ammonium nitrogen, total 

phosphorus, and total potassium determined using 

laboratory methods consistent with Recommended 

Methods of Manure Analysis, publication A3769, 

University of Wisconsin, 2003, or other methods 

approved by the department. For plans on new animal 

waste facilities, average analyses published in Virginia 

Nutrient Management Standards and Criteria, revised 

July 2014, should be utilized unless proposed manure 

storage and treatment conditions warrant the use of 

alternative data. Plant available nutrient content shall be 

determined using the mineralization rates and availability 

coefficients found in Virginia Nutrient Management 

Standards and Criteria, revised July 2014, for different 

forms and sources of organic nutrients. Mineralization of 

organic nutrients from previous applications shall be 

accounted for in the plan.  

h. The expected nitrogen contributions from legumes 

shall be credited when determining nutrient application 

rates at levels listed in Virginia Nutrient Management 

Standards and Criteria, revised July 2014.  

3. Soil pH influences nutrient availability and crop nutrient 

utilization and should be adjusted to the level suited for the 

crop. Nutrient management plans shall contain lime 

recommendations to adjust soil pH to a level within the 

appropriate agronomic range for the existing crop or 

crop(s) to be grown. Recommendations shall address lime 

application if soil pH is below the optimal range. Nutrient 

management planners shall not recommend the application 

of lime, lime-amended materials, or nutrient sources that 

are expected to raise the soil pH to a level that exceeds the 

appropriate agronomic range for the growing crop or 

crop(s) to be grown based on recommendations contained 

in Virginia Nutrient Management Standards and Criteria, 

revised July 2014.  

4. Nutrient application timing.  

a. Timing recommendations for nutrient sources 

containing nitrogen shall be as close to plant nutrient 

uptake periods as reasonably possible. A certified 

nutrient management planner shall utilize procedures 

contained in Virginia Nutrient Management Standards 

and Criteria, revised July 2014, to determine the timing 

of nutrient applications. To reduce the potential for 

nutrient leaching or runoff, a certified nutrient 

management planner shall recommend applications of 

nitrogen-containing materials only to sites where an 

actively growing crop is in place at the time of 

application or where a timely planted crop will be 

established within 30 days of the planned nutrient 

application, except as specified in subdivisions 4 b 

through e of this subsection. If such nutrient applications 

are made to fall-seeded crops such as small grain, the 

crop planted shall be capable of germination and 

significant growth before the onset of winter so the crop 

is able to take up the available applied nitrogen.  

b. Organic nutrient source applications may be applied at 

differing times than specified in subdivision 4 a of this 

subsection in order to manage storage constraints in 

accordance with the following conditions:  

(1) Applications of organic nutrient sources shall be 

within 60 days of planting a spring seeded crop to sites 

that are not environmentally sensitive sites as identified 

in 4VAC50-85-10 or the Virginia Nutrient Management 

Standards and Criteria, revised July 2014, except as 

specified in subdivision 4 b (2) of this subsection. Such 

nutrient applications shall not exceed allowable 

application rates of the spring seeded crop;  

(2) Applications shall be within 90 days of planting a 

spring seeded crop to sites that meet all of the following 

requirements:  

(a) Are not environmentally sensitive sites as identified 

in 4VAC50-85-10 or the Virginia Nutrient Management 

Standards and Criteria, revised July 2014;  
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(b) Have slopes of less than 7.0% throughout the 

application area unless: (i) at least 60% uniformly 

distributed crop residue cover exists following 

application or (ii) the application and any associated 

tillage is in conformance with an existing and 

implemented soil conservation plan meeting NRCS 

requirements for the site; and  

(c) The organic sources being applied are one of the 

following: semi-solid beef manure, semi-solid dairy 

manure with sawdust bedding or straw bedding, 

dewatered anaerobically digested sewage sludge, or 

dewatered lime stabilized sewage sludge. Such nutrient 

applications shall not exceed allowable application rates 

of the spring planted crop;  

(3) Applications of organic nutrient sources may occur 

prior to the times specified in subdivisions 4 b (1) and (2) 

of this subsection on:  

(a) Sites that are not environmentally sensitive sites if all 

of the following requirements are met: (i) a trap crop 

exists that has reached a Zadoks growth stage of 23 or 

greater having a uniform stand throughout the site area of 

at least 20 plants per square foot; (ii) the trap crop shall 

be allowed to continue growing on the entire site until 

within two weeks of the spring crop planting date; (iii) all 

such nitrogen applications of organic nutrient sources to 

trap crops shall not exceed the crop nutrient needs of the 

upcoming spring planted crop subtracting at least 30 

pounds per acre of nitrogen to be reserved for use as a 

banded starter fertilizer at the time of spring planting; 

and (iv) the rate of organic nutrient source applied does 

not smother the crop.  

(b) Environmentally sensitive sites as identified in 

4VAC50-85-10 or the Virginia Nutrient Management 

Standards and Criteria, revised July 2014, in addition to 

those criteria outlined in subdivision 4 b (3) (a) of this 

subsection, such applications to a trap crop must be 

within 60 days of planting a spring planted crop.  

c. The nutrient timing requirements of subdivisions 4 a 

and b of this subsection for application of sewage sludge 

to nonenvironmentally sensitive sites in nutrient 

management plans shall not be effective until January 1, 

2009. The delayed implementation time is provided to 

allow for the development of adequate winter storage 

capacity, landfilling, or alternative uses. All applications 

of sewage sludge to environmentally sensitive sites in 

nutrient management plans will fully comply with the 

requirements of subdivisions 4 a and b of this subsection 

by January 11, 2006.  

d. Composted organic nutrient sources having a final 

carbon to nitrogen ratio of 20:1 or greater are exempt 

from requirements of subdivisions 4 a and b of this 

subsection if analyzed for carbon to nitrogen ratio at the 

conclusion of the composting process and results are 

obtained prior to land application. The planner shall 

recommend soil nitrate testing to determine nitrogen 

application rates during the growing season following the 

application of composted organic nutrient sources.  

e. The nutrient management planner shall recommend 

split application of inorganic nitrogen fertilizers as starter 

or broadcast and sidedressing or top dressing in row 

crops and small grains consistent with procedures 

contained in Virginia Nutrient Management Standards 

and Criteria, revised July 2014, on environmentally 

sensitive sites as identified in 4VAC50-85-10. Split 

applications of inorganic nitrogen fertilizers and 

irrigation scheduling shall be recommended for crops to 

receive irrigation. The use of a pre-sidedress nitrogen test 

(PSNT) can help to determine nitrogen needs during the 

growing period. In lieu of split applications, the planner 

may recommend the application of the total nitrogen 

requirement for spring-planted row crops within one 

week prior to planting if at least 50% of the plant 

available nitrogen requirement of the crop is supplied 

with slowly available nitrogen sources.  

f. Nutrient management plans shall include a statement 

indicating that applications of inorganic nutrient sources, 

liquid manure, liquid sewage sludge, or liquid industrial 

waste are not to occur on frozen or snow-covered ground. 

When ground is frozen, dry or semi-solid manures, 

dewatered sludges, or dewatered industrial wastes may 

only be applied if the field has: (i) slopes not greater than 

6.0%; (ii) 60% uniform ground cover from crop residue 

or an existing actively growing crop such as a small grain 

or fescue with exposed plant height of three inches or 

more; (iii) a minimum of a 200-foot vegetated or 

adequate crop residue buffer between the application area 

and all surface water courses; and (iv) soils characterized 

by USDA as "well drained."  

5. Application method for nutrients.  

a. The application of nitrogen containing materials shall 

be managed to minimize runoff, leaching, and 

volatilization losses.  

b. Applications of liquid manures or sludges utilizing 

irrigation shall not be recommended to be applied at 

hydraulic rates above those contained in Virginia 

Nutrient Management Standards and Criteria, revised 

July 2014.  

c. Plans shall not recommend liquid manure or sludge 

application rates utilizing nonirrigation liquid spreading 

equipment which exceed 14,000 gallons per acre 

(approximately one-half (0.5) inch) per application. The 

amount of liquid manure or sludge application in plans 

will not exceed the hydraulic loading capacity of the soil 

at the time of each application. If a subsequent pass 

across a field is necessary to achieve the desired 

application rate, the plan will allow for sufficient drying 

time.  
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d. Where possible, the planner should recommend that 

biosolids, industrial wastes and manures be incorporated 

or injected in the crop root zone in order to reduce losses 

of nitrogen to the atmosphere and to increase the plant 

available nitrogen to phosphorus ratio of these nutrient 

sources relative to crop nutrient needs. Lime stabilized 

biosolids should not be injected due to the creation of a 

localized band of high soil pH unless subsequent 

practices are utilized, such as disking, in order to 

adequately mix the soil.  

e. The planner shall recommend setbacks around wells, 

springs, surface waters, sinkholes, and rock outcrops 

where manure, biosolids, or industrial waste should not 

be applied. Such setbacks recommended shall be 

consistent with criteria contained in Virginia Nutrient 

Management Standards and Criteria, revised July 2014, 

unless alternative setbacks or buffers are specified in 

regulations or permits pertaining to the site. For sites 

impacted by other regulations or permits, the planner 

shall include the setbacks and buffers specified in 

regulations promulgated under § 32.1-164.5 62.1-44.19:3 

of the Code of Virginia for sewage sludge, § 62.1-

44.17:1 of the Code of Virginia for animal waste, § 62.1-

44.17:1.1 of the Code of Virginia for poultry waste, and 

Article 2.5 (§ 62.1-44.15:67 et seq.) of Chapter 3.1 of 

Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia for sites in Chesapeake 

Bay Preservation areas, and permits for industrial waste 

land application. The land area within setback and buffer 

areas shall be deducted from field acreage to determine 

usable field acreage for nutrient application in nutrient 

management plans.  

B. Manure production and utilization.  

1. The planner shall estimate the annual manure quantity 

produced on each farm utilizing tables and forms contained 

in Virginia Nutrient Management Standards and Criteria, 

revised July 2014, or from actual farm records of manure 

pumped or hauled during a representative 12-month period.  

2. The nutrient management plan shall state the total 

amount of manure produced and the amount that can be 

used on the farm, utilizing the information and methods 

provided in the Virginia Nutrient Management Standards 

and Criteria, revised July 2014. The plan shall discuss any 

excess manure and shall provide recommendations 

concerning options for the proper use of such excess 

manure.  

C. Plans shall identify and address the protection from 

nutrient pollution of environmentally sensitive sites.  

D. Plan maintenance and revisions.  

1. A site-specific nutrient management plan developed in 

accordance with all requirements of these regulations, 

including specified crops or crop rotations, shall provide 

information on soil fertility and seasonal application of 

required nutrients for one to five years of crop production. 

Plans developed for a period of time greater than three 

years and up to five years shall be limited to sites in 

permanent pasture or continuous hay or that are golf 

courses.  

2. The plan shall state a need for immediate modification if 

(i) animal numbers are to increase above the level specified 

in the plan,; (ii) animal types including intended market 

weights are to be changed,; (iii) additional imported 

manure, biosolids, or industrial waste that was not 

identified in the existing plan is to be applied to fields 

under the control of the operator,; or (iv) available land 

area for the utilization of manure decreases below the level 

necessary to utilize manure in the plan. The plan shall also 

state a need for modification prior to subsequent nutrient 

applications if cropping systems, rotations, or fields are 

changed and phosphorus will be applied at levels greater 

than crop nutrient needs based on soil analysis as 

determined from procedures in Virginia Nutrient 

Management Standards and Criteria, revised July 2014.  

3. Adjustments to manure production and application 

should be made if there are increases in animal numbers or 

changes in how animal waste is stored or applied, or when 

there are changes in nutrient content of manure resulting 

from changing feed rations, animal types, or new sampling 

and analysis for nutrient content and application rate 

calculations.  

4. Soil analysis shall be recommended for each field at 

least once every three years to determine the soil fertility 

and pH, and to update the nutrient management plan.  

5. Manure analysis shall be recommended before field 

application until a baseline nutrient content is established 

for the specific manure type on the corresponding farm 

operation. After a baseline nutrient content is established, a 

manure analysis shall be recommended at least once every 

three years for dry or semisolid manures, and at least once 

every year for liquid manures.  

6. Modified top dressing or sidedressing application rates 

of nitrogen may be recommended if a pre-sidedress 

nitrogen test (PSNT) administered during the growing 

season indicates different levels of nitrogen than planning 

time calculations if the use of the PSNT and interpretation 

of the test results are consistent with Virginia Nutrient 

Management Standards and Criteria, revised July 2014.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-3954; Filed September 14, 2014, 5:23 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

following regulation have been filed by the State Water 

Control Board. The forms are not being published; however, 

online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of the new or amended 

form to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-190. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 

Regulation for Nonmetallic Mineral Mining. 

Agency Contact: Cindy M. Berndt, Director Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East 

Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC25-190) 

Department of Environmental Quality Water Division 

Permit Application Fee (rev. 5/13) 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Change of 

Ownership Agreement Form (undated) 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System General 

Permit Registration Statement - Nonmetallic Mineral Mining 

Change of Ownership Agreement Form (rev. 3/14) 

VPDES General Permit for Nonmetallic Mineral Mining 

(VAG84) - Notice of Termination (eff. 7/14) 

VPDES General Permit Registration Statement - 

Nonmetallic Mineral Mining (rev. 2014)  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4169; Filed September 17, 2014, 1:15 p.m.  

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

following regulation have been filed by the State Water 

Control Board. The forms are not being published; however, 

online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of the new or amended 

form to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-194. General Permit for 

Vehicle Wash Facilities and Laundry Facilities. 

Agency Contact: Cindy M. Berndt, Director Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East 

Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC25-194) 

Registration Statement for the General Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit for Vehicle 

Wash Facilities and Laundry Facilities 2012 Reissuance (rev. 

8/14) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4166; Filed September 17, 2014, 12:26 p.m.  

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

following regulation have been filed by the State Water 

Control Board. The forms are not being published; however, 

online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of the new or amended 

form to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-880. General VPDES Permit 

for Discharges of Stormwater from Construction 

Activities. 

Agency Contact: Cindy M. Berndt, Director Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East 

Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC25-880) 

Department of Environmental Quality Construction Activity 

Operator Permit Fee Form (rev. 1/14) 

Notice of Termination - General VPDES Permit for 

Discharges of Stormwater from Construction Activities 

(VAR10) (rev. 1/14) 

Registration Statement - General VPDES Permit for 

Discharges of Stormwater from Construction Activities 

(VAR10) (rev. 01/2014) 

Registration Statement - General VPDES Permit for 

Discharges of Stormwater from Construction Activities 

(VAR10) (rev. 7/14) 

Transfer Agreement - General VPDES Permit for 

Discharges of Stormwater from Construction Activities 

(VAR10) (rev. 1/14) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4167; Filed September 17, 2014, 12:43 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Lottery Board is 

claiming an exclusion from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Virginia Lottery Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 11VAC5-11. Public Participation 

Guidelines (amending 11VAC5-11-10, 11VAC5-11-20). 

11VAC5-20. Administration Regulations (amending 

11VAC5-20-10, 11VAC5-20-60, 11VAC5-20-80, 11VAC5-

20-160 through 11VAC5-20-200). 

11VAC5-31. Licensing Regulations (amending 11VAC5-

31-10 through 11VAC5-31-80, 11VAC5-31-130, 11VAC5-

31-140, 11VAC5-31-160 through 11VAC5-31-200). 

11VAC5-41. Lottery Game Regulations (amending 

11VAC5-41-10, 11VAC5-41-60, 11VAC5-41-80, 11VAC5-

41-100 through 11VAC5-41-190, 11VAC5-41-220, 

11VAC5-41-230, 11VAC5-41-250, 11VAC5-41-290 

through 11VAC5-41-320).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 58.1-4007 of the 

Code of Virginia (11VAC5-11-10, 11VAC5-11-20). 

§ 58.1-4007 of the Code of Virginia (all other sections). 

Effective Date: November 5, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Amy Roper, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Virginia Lottery, 900 East Main Street, 9th Floor, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-7133, FAX (804) 692-7325, 

or email aroper@valottery.com. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform regulations to changes to the 

Code of Virginia pursuant to (i) Chapter 225 of the 2014 

Acts of Assembly, which changes the name of the "State 

Lottery Department" to the "Virginia Lottery," and (ii) 

Chapter 224 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly, which 

establishes a new waiting period for relicensing of 

retailers under § 58.1-4009 D of the Code of Virginia. 

Part I  

Purpose and Definitions  

11VAC5-11-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to promote public 

involvement in the development, amendment, or repeal of the 

regulations of the State Virginia Lottery Department. This 

chapter does not apply to regulations, guidelines, or other 

documents exempted or excluded from the provisions of the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

11VAC5-11-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the State Virginia Lottery Department, 

which is the unit of state government empowered by the 

agency's basic law to make regulations or decide cases. 

Actions specified in this chapter may be fulfilled by state 

employees as delegated by the agency. 

"Basic law" means provisions in the Code of Virginia that 

delineate the basic authority and responsibilities of an agency. 

"Commonwealth Calendar" means the electronic calendar 

for official government meetings open to the public as 

required by § 2.2-3707 C of the Freedom of Information Act. 

''Negotiated rulemaking panel'' or ''NRP'' means an ad hoc 

advisory panel of interested parties established by an agency 

to consider issues that are controversial with the assistance of 

a facilitator or mediator, for the purpose of reaching a 

consensus in the development of a proposed regulatory 

action. 

"Notification list" means a list used to notify persons 

pursuant to this chapter. Such a list may include an electronic 

list maintained through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or 

other list maintained by the agency. 

"Open meeting" means any scheduled gathering of a unit of 

state government empowered by an agency's basic law to 

make regulations or decide cases, which is related to 

promulgating, amending or repealing a regulation. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 

venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 

or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 

agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

"Public hearing" means a scheduled time at which members 

or staff of the agency will meet for the purpose of receiving 

public comment on a regulatory action. 

"Regulation" means any statement of general application 

having the force of law, affecting the rights or conduct of any 

person, adopted by the agency in accordance with the 

authority conferred on it by applicable laws. 

"Regulatory action" means the promulgation, amendment, or 

repeal of a regulation by the agency. 

"Regulatory advisory panel" or "RAP" means a standing or 

ad hoc advisory panel of interested parties established by the 

agency for the purpose of assisting in regulatory actions. 

"Town Hall" means the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, the 

website operated by the Virginia Department of Planning and 

Budget at www.townhall.virginia.gov, which has online 
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public comment forums and displays information about 

regulatory meetings and regulatory actions under 

consideration in Virginia and sends this information to 

registered public users. 

"Virginia Register" means the Virginia Register of 

Regulations, the publication that provides official legal notice 

of new, amended, and repealed regulations of state agencies, 

which is published under the provisions of Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act. 

Part I  

General Parameters  

11VAC5-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in any of the 

department's agency's regulations shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Administrative Process Act" or "APA" means Chapter 40 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency" means the Virginia Lottery created by the 

Virginia Lottery Law (Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) of 

Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

"Appeal" means a proceeding initiated by a retailer, bidder, 

or offeror (for a contract negotiated on a sole source basis), 

contractor or individual for an informal conference or formal 

hearing contesting the director's decision (i) to refuse to issue 

or renew, to suspend or to revoke a lottery license; or (ii) 

regarding a procurement action.  

"Bank" means any commercial bank, savings bank, savings 

and loan association, credit union, trust company, and any 

other type or form of banking institution organized under the 

authority of the Commonwealth of Virginia or of the United 

States of America which that is designated by the State 

Treasurer to perform functions, activities or services in 

connection with the operations of the lottery for the deposit, 

handling and safekeeping of lottery funds, accounting for 

those funds and the safekeeping of records.  

"Board" means the State Virginia Lottery Board established 

by the State Virginia Lottery Law.  

"Conference" or "consultation" means a type of appeal in the 

nature of an informational or factual proceeding of an 

informal nature provided for in § 2.2-4019 of the 

Administrative Process Act.  

"Conference officer" means the director, or a person 

appointed by the director, who is empowered to preside at 

informal conferences or consultations and to provide a 

recommendation, conclusion or decision in such matter.  

"Consideration" means something of value given for a 

promise to make the promise binding. It is one of the 

essentials of a legal contract.  

"Contract" means a binding agreement, enforceable by law, 

between two or more parties for the supply of goods or 

services.  

"Department" means the State Lottery Department created 

by the State Lottery Law.  

"Depository" means any person, including a bonded courier 

service, armored car service, bank, central or regional offices 

of the department agency, or any state agency that performs 

any or all of the following activities or services for the lottery:  

1. The safekeeping and distribution of tickets to retailers;  

2. The handling of lottery funds;  

3. The deposit of lottery funds; or  

4. The accounting for lottery funds.  

"Director" means the Executive Director of the State 

Virginia Lottery Department or his designee.  

"Electronic funds transfer (EFT)" or "EFT" means a 

computerized transaction that withdraws or deposits money 

from or to a bank account.  

"Goods" means all material, equipment, supplies, printing, 

and automated data processing hardware and software.  

"Hearing" means agency processes other than those 

informational or factual inquiries of an informal nature 

provided in §§ 2.2-4007 and 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia 

and includes only (i) opportunity for private parties to submit 

factual proofs in formal proceedings as provided in § 2.2-

4009 of the Code of Virginia in connection with the making 

of regulations or (ii) a similar right of private parties or 

requirement of public agencies as provided in § 2.2-4020 of 

the Code of Virginia in connection with case decisions.  

"Household" means members of a group who reside at the 

same address.  

"Immediate family" means (i) a spouse and (ii) any other 

person residing in the same household as the officer or 

employee, who is a dependent of the officer or employee or 

of whom the officer or employee is a dependent.  

"Inspection" means the close and critical examination of 

goods and services delivered to determine compliance with 

applicable contract requirements or specifications. It is the 

basis for acceptance or rejection.  

"Legal entity" means an entity, other than a natural person, 

which has sufficient existence in legal contemplation that it 

can function legally, sue or be sued and make decisions 

through agents, as in the case of a corporation.  

"Lottery" or "state lottery" means the lottery or lotteries 

established and operated pursuant to Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 

et seq.) of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Person" means a natural person and may extend and be 

applied to groups of persons, as well as a corporation, 

company, partnership, association, club, trust, estate, society, 

joint stock company, receiver, trustee, assignee, referee, or 

any other person acting in a fiduciary or representative 

capacity, whether appointed by a court or otherwise, and any 

combination of individuals, as well as all departments, 

commissions, agencies, and instrumentalities of the 
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Commonwealth, including counties, cities, municipalities, 

political subdivisions, agencies and instrumentalities thereof.  

"Procurement" means the process for obtaining goods or 

services, including all activities from planning and 

preparation to processing of a request through the processing 

of a final invoice for payment.  

"Retailer and sales agent" means a person or business 

licensed by the department agency as an agent to sell lottery 

tickets or shares.  

"Sales," "gross sales," "annual sales" and similar terms mean 

total ticket sales including any discount allowed to a retailer 

for his compensation.  

"Services" means any work performed by an independent 

contractor where the service rendered does not consist 

primarily of acquisition of equipment or materials, or the 

rental of equipment, materials and supplies.  

"Sole source" means that only one source is practicably 

available to furnish a product or service.  

"State Lottery Law" means Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) 

of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Surety bond" means an insurance agreement in which a 

third party agrees to be liable to pay a specified amount of 

money to the department agency in the event the retailer fails 

to meet his obligations to the department agency.  

"Transaction" means any matter considered by any 

governmental or advisory agency, whether in a committee, 

subcommittee, or other entity of that agency or before the 

agency itself, on which official action is taken or 

contemplated.  

"Vendor" means one who provides goods or services to the 

department agency. 

"Virginia Lottery Law" means Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et 

seq.) of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

11VAC5-20-60. Advertising.  

A. Advertising may include, but is not limited to, print 

advertisements; radio and television advertisements; digital, 

electronic, and video advertisements; billboards; point of 

purchase materials; point-of-sale display materials; and 

Internet and social media.  

B. Any lottery retailer may use his own advertising materials 

unless the department agency objects thereto. The department 

agency shall develop written guidelines for such materials.  

C. The department agency may provide information displays 

or other material to the retailer, who shall position the 

material so it can be seen easily by the general public.  

D. The department agency may produce special posters, 

brochures or flyers describing various aspects of the lottery 

and provide these to lottery retailers to post or distribute.  

Part II  

Banks and Depositories  

11VAC5-20-80. Approval of banks.  

A. The State Treasurer, with the concurrence of the director, 

and in accordance with applicable Treasury directives, shall 

approve a bank or banks to provide services to the department 

agency.  

B. A bank or banks shall serve as agent or agents for 

electronic funds transfers between the department agency and 

lottery retailers as required by Chapters 20 (11VAC5-20), 31 

(11VAC5-31), and 41 (11VAC5-41) and by contracts 

between the department agency, the State Treasury, retailers, 

and the banks.  

11VAC5-20-160. Procedure for appealing a licensing 

decision.  

A. Upon receiving a notice that (i) an application for a 

license or the renewal of a license has been denied by the 

director, or (ii) the director intends to or has already taken 

action to suspend or revoke a current license, the applicant or 

licensed retailer may appeal by filing a written notice of 

appeal requesting a conference on the licensing action. The 

notice of appeal shall be submitted within 30 days of receipt 

of the notice of the licensing action.  

1. Receipt of a notice of the licensing action that is mailed 

in an envelope bearing a United States Postal Service 

postmark is presumed to have taken place not later than the 

third day following the day of mailing to the last known 

address of the applicant or licensed retailer. If the third day 

falls upon a day on which mail is not delivered by the 

United States Postal Service, the notice is presumed to 

have been received on the next business day. The "last 

known address" means the address shown on the 

application of an applicant or licensed retailer unless a 

more current address has been provided to the department 

agency by the applicant or licensed retailer.  

2. The notice of appeal will be timely if it bears a United 

States Postal Service postmark showing mailing on or 

before the 30th day prescribed in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection.  

B. A notice of appeal may be mailed or hand delivered to 

the director at the State Virginia Lottery Department 

headquarters office.  

1. A notice of appeal delivered by hand will be timely only 

if received at the headquarters of the State Virginia Lottery 

Department within the time allowed by subsection A of 

this section.  

2. Delivery to any other State Virginia Lottery Department 

office or to lottery sales personnel by hand or by mail is 

not sufficient.  

3. The appellant assumes full responsibility for the method 

chosen to file the notice of appeal.  

C. The notice of appeal shall state:  
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1. The decision of the director that is being appealed;  

2. The legal and factual basis for the appeal;  

3. The retailer's license number; and 

4. Any additional information the appellant may wish to 

include concerning the appeal.  

11VAC5-20-170. Procedures for conducting informal fact-

finding licensing conferences.  

A. The conference officer will conduct an informal fact-

finding conference with the appellant for the purpose of 

resolving the licensing action at issue.  

B. The conference officer will hold the conference as soon 

as possible but not later than 30 days after the notice of 

appeal is filed, unless an alternate date is designated by the 

conference officer or his designee and accepted by the 

appellant. A notice setting out the conference date, time, and 

location will be sent to the appellant, by certified mail, return 

receipt requested, at least 10 days before the day set for the 

conference, unless a shorter time is agreed to by the appellant.  

C. A conference may be conducted by telephone, at the 

option of the appellant.  

D. The conferences shall be informal.  

1. The conferences will be electronically recorded. The 

recordings will be kept until the time limit for any 

subsequent appeal has expired.  

2. A court reporter may be used. The court reporter shall be 

paid by the person who requested him. If the appellant 

elects to have a court reporter, a transcript shall be 

provided to the department agency. The transcript shall 

become part of the department's agency's records.  

3. The appellant may appear in person or may be 

represented by counsel to present his facts, argument, or 

proof in the matter to be heard and may request other 

parties to appear to present testimony.  

4. The department agency will present its facts in the case 

and may request other parties to appear to present 

testimony.  

5. Questions may be asked by any of the parties at any time 

during the presentation of information subject to the 

conference officer's prerogative to regulate the order of 

presentation in a manner which that, in his sole discretion, 

best serves the interest of fairly developing the facts.  

6. The conference officer may exclude information at any 

time that he believes, in his sole discretion, is not germane 

or that repeats information already received.  

7. The conference officer shall declare the conference 

completed when the time established by the conference 

officer has expired.  

E. Normally, the conference officer shall issue his decision 

within 15 days after the conclusion of an informal conference. 

However, for a conference with a court reporter, the 

conference officer shall issue his decision within 15 days after 

receipt of the transcript of the conference. In all cases the 

agency shall comply with the APA. The decision will be in 

the form of a letter to the appellant summarizing the case and 

setting out his decision on the matter. The decision will be 

sent to the appellant by certified mail, return receipt 

requested.  

F. After receiving the conference officer's decision on the 

informal conference, the appellant may elect to appeal to the 

board for a formal hearing on the licensing action. The 

request for appeal shall:  

1. Be submitted in writing within 15 days of receipt of the 

conference officer's decision on the informal conference. 

2. Be mailed or hand delivered to the chairman of the 

board at the headquarters of the State Virginia Lottery 

Department.  

3. Be governed by the same procedures in 11VAC5-20-160 

B for filing the original notice of appeal.  

4. State:  

a. The decision of the conference officer that is being 

appealed;  

b. The legal and factual basis for the appeal;  

c. The retailer's license number; and  

d. Any additional information the appellant may wish to 

include concerning the appeal.  

11VAC5-20-180. Procedures for conducting formal 

licensing hearings.  

A. The board will conduct a formal hearing at its next 

regularly scheduled meeting following the receipt of a notice 

of appeal on a licensing action if the date of the scheduled 

meeting permits the required 10 days notice to the appellant 

or at a date to be determined by the chairman of the board and 

accepted by the appellant.  

B. A majority of members of the board is required to hear an 

appeal. If the chairman and vice chairman of the board are not 

present, the members present shall choose one from among 

them to preside over the hearing.  

C. The board chairman, at his discretion, may designate a 

committee of the board to hear licensing appeals and act on 

its behalf. Such committee shall have at least three members 

who will hear the appeal on behalf of the board. If the 

chairman of the board is not present, the members of the 

committee shall choose one from among them to preside over 

the hearing.  

D. A notice setting the hearing date, time, and location will 

be sent to the appellant by certified mail, return receipt 

requested, at least 10 days before the day set for the hearing, 

unless a shorter time is agreed to by the appellant.  

E. The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the 

provisions of Article 3 (§ 2.2-4018 et seq.) of the APA and 

shall be open to the public.  
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1. The hearing will be electronically recorded and the 

recording will be kept until any time limits for any 

subsequent court appeals have expired.  

2. A court reporter may be used. The court reporter shall be 

paid by the person who requested him. If the appellant 

elects to have a court reporter, a transcript shall be 

provided to the department agency. The transcript shall 

become part of the department's agency's records.  

3. The provisions of §§ 2.2-4020 through 2.2-4023 of the 

APA shall apply with respect to the rights and 

responsibilities of the appellant and of the department 

agency.  

F. Normally, the board will issue its written decision within 

21 days of the conclusion of the hearing. However, for a 

hearing with a court reporter, the board will issue its written 

decision within 21 days of receipt of the transcript of the 

hearing. In all cases the agency shall comply with the APA.  

1. A copy of the board's written decision will be sent to the 

appellant by certified mail, return receipt requested. The 

original written decision shall be retained by the 

department agency and become a part of the case file.  

2. The written decision will contain:  

a. A statement of the facts to be called "Findings of 

Facts";  

b. A statement of conclusions to be called "Conclusions" 

and to include as much detail as the board feels is 

necessary to set out the reasons and basis for its decision; 

and  

c. A statement, to be called "Decision and Order," which 

sets out the board's decision and order in the case.  

G. After receiving the board's decision on the case, the 

appellant may elect to pursue court review as provided for in 

the APA.  

Part IV  

Procurement  

11VAC5-20-200. Procurement in general.  

The State Virginia Lottery Department will purchase goods 

or services in accordance with procedures established by the 

board, after consultation with the director, pursuant to 

Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) of Title 58.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

11VAC5-31-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in any of the 

department's agency's regulations shall have the same 

meanings as defined in this chapter unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Agency" means the Virginia Lottery created by the 

Virginia Lottery Law (Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) of 

Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

"Board" means the State Virginia Lottery Board established 

by the State Virginia Lottery Law (Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 

et seq.) of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

"Department" means the State Lottery Department created 

by the State Lottery Law (Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) of 

Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

"Director" means the Executive Director of the State 

Virginia Lottery Department or his designee. 

"License" means the certificate issued by the department 

agency to a retailer who has met the requirements established 

by the department agency to sell lottery products.  

"Lottery retailer," "lottery sales agent" or "retailer" means a 

person licensed by the director to sell and dispense lottery 

tickets or products and act as the department's agency's 

representative to collect, preserve, and account for 

Commonwealth of Virginia trust funds. 

"Person," for purposes of licensing, means an individual, 

association, partnership, corporation, club, trust, estate, 

society, company, joint stock company, receiver, trustee, 

assignee, referee, or any other person acting in a fiduciary or 

representative capacity, whether appointed by a court or 

otherwise, and any combination of individuals, as well as all 

departments, commissions, agencies and instrumentalities of 

the Commonwealth, including its counties, cities, 

municipalities, political subdivisions, agencies and 

instrumentalities thereof.  

"Vacuum fluorescent display" means a player display unit 

that, when connected to the lottery terminal, presents 

messages to the customer, such as customer transaction totals, 

validation and cancellation amounts, and jackpot drawing 

messages.  

11VAC5-31-20. Eligibility.  

Any person who is 18 years of age or older may submit an 

application for licensure as a lottery retailer in accordance 

with the provisions and requirements of the department's 

agency's licensing procedures, except no person may submit 

an application for licensure:  

1. Who will be engaged primarily in the business of selling 

lottery tickets; 

2. Who is a board member, officer, or employee of the 

State Virginia Lottery Department or who resides in the 

same household as a board member, officer, or employee 

of the department agency; or  

3. Who is a board member, officer, or employee of any 

vendor to the department agency of lottery ticket goods or 

services, working directly on a contract with the 

department agency, or whose business owns, is owned by 

or controlled by, or affiliated with that vendor.  

11VAC5-31-30. Application procedure.  

A. Any eligible person shall first file an application with the 

department agency by completing all information requested 
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on forms supplied for that purpose, along with submitting any 

required fees.  

B. The submission of application forms or data for licensure 

does not in any way entitle any person to receive a license to 

act as a lottery retailer. 

C. In the event an applicant is a former lottery sales agent 

whose license was suspended, revoked, or refused renewal 

pursuant to § 58.1-4009 or 58.1-4012 of the Code of Virginia, 

no application for a new license to sell lottery tickets or 

shares shall be considered for a minimum period of 90 days 

following the suspension, revocation, or refusal to renew. 

D. The person shall submit all required forms and 

information to the department agency to be considered for 

licensing. Failure to submit required forms within the 

department's agency's licensing procedures may result in the 

loss of opportunity to become or remain a licensed retailer.  

11VAC5-31-40. General standards for licensing.  

A. The director or his designee may license those persons 

who, in his opinion, will best serve the public interest and 

convenience and public trust in the lottery and promote the 

sale of lottery tickets. Before issuing or renewing a license, 

the director may consider factors including, but not limited to, 

the following:  

1. Those factors set out in § 58.1-4009 of the Code of 

Virginia, these regulations, and the department's agency's 

licensing procedures; 

2. The ability to offer a high level of customer service to 

lottery players; 

3. The person's prior history, record, and performance with 

the department agency; 

4. Whether the place of business caters to or is frequented 

predominately by persons under 18 years of age; 

5. Whether the nature of the business constitutes a threat to 

the health or safety of prospective patrons; 

6. Whether the nature of the business is consonant with the 

probity of the Commonwealth; and 

7. Whether the person or retailer has (i) committed any act 

of fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, moral turpitude, or 

illegal gambling or (ii) engaged in conduct prejudicial to 

public confidence in the state lottery. 

B. Special retailer licensing. 

1. The director may license special lottery retailers subject 

to such conditions or limitations as the director may deem 

prudent and if the director finds there is a need to develop 

alternative business models to engage in partnerships with 

certain retailers that are consistent with the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia and these regulations. These 

limitations or conditions may include, but are not limited 

to: 

a. Length of license period; 

b. Hours or day of sale; 

c. Selling of only limited products; 

d. Specific persons who are allowed to sell lottery tickets; 

e. Specific sporting, charitable, social, or other special 

events where lottery tickets may be sold if in conformity 

with law; or 

f. Different commission and payment structures and 

bonding requirements. 

2. Special licensed agents will be subject to these 

regulations. 

11VAC5-31-50. Bonding of lottery retailers.  

A. A lottery retailer shall have and maintain a surety bond 

from a surety company entitled to do business in this 

Commonwealth. The surety bond shall be in an amount as 

deemed necessary to secure the interests of the 

Commonwealth and the department agency, in the sole 

discretion of the director, and shall be payable to the 

department agency and conditioned upon the faithful 

performance of the lottery retailer's duties. 

B. The department agency may establish a sliding scale for 

surety bonding requirements based on the average volume of 

lottery ticket sales by a retailer to ensure that the 

Commonwealth's interest in tickets to be sold by a licensed 

lottery retailer is adequately safeguarded.  

C. Prior to issuance of a license, every lottery sales agent 

shall either (i) be bonded by a surety company entitled to do 

business in this Commonwealth in such amount and penalty 

as may be prescribed by the regulations of the department or 

(ii) provide such other surety as may be satisfactory to the 

director, payable to the department agency, and conditioned 

upon the faithful performance of his duties. Such alternate 

surety instruments or arrangements may include, but not be 

limited to, a combination of surety instruments, including 

cash. 

11VAC5-31-60. Lottery bank accounts and electronic 

funds transfer (EFT) authorization.  

A. A lottery retailer shall have and maintain a separate bank 

account in a bank participating in the Automatic Clearing 

House (ACH) system. This account shall be styled in the 

name of the retailer followed by "Virginia Lottery Trust" and 

shall be used exclusively for lottery business.  

B. The lottery account shall be used by the retailer to make 

funds available to permit withdrawals and deposits initiated 

by the department agency through the EFT process to settle a 

retailer's account for funds owed by or due to the retailer from 

the sale of tickets and the payment of prizes. All retailers 

shall make payments to the department agency through the 

EFT process in accordance with the department's agency's 

licensing procedures, unless the director designates another 

form of payment and settlement under terms and conditions 

he deems appropriate.  
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C. The retailer shall be responsible for payment of any fees 

or service charges assessed by the bank for maintaining the 

required account.  

D. The director will establish a schedule for processing the 

EFT transactions against retailers' lottery trust accounts and 

issue instructions regarding the settlement of accounts.  

11VAC5-31-70. License term and periodic review.  

A. A general license for an approved lottery sales agent shall 

be issued for a specific term and is thereafter subject to a 

periodic determination of continued retailer eligibility and the 

payment of any fees fixed by the board.  

B. The director may issue special licenses to persons for 

specific events and activities in accordance with the 

requirements of the department's agency's licensing 

procedures.  

11VAC5-31-80. License fees.  

An initial licensing fee up to $100 and an annual license fee 

up to $70 shall be collected from each lottery sales agent and 

shall be paid in accordance with the department's agency's 

licensing procedures. These fees are nonrefundable, unless 

otherwise determined by the director in his sole discretion or 

specified in the department's agency's procedures. The license 

fees shall be paid for each location.  

11VAC5-31-130. Retailers' conduct.  

A. Each retailer shall comply with all applicable state and 

federal laws and regulations, as well as all rules, policies and 

procedures of the department agency, license terms and 

conditions, specific rules for all applicable lottery games, 

directives and instructions that may be issued by the director, 

and licensing and equipment agreements and contracts signed 

by the retailer.  

B. No retailer or his employee or agent shall attempt through 

any means whatsoever to identify or otherwise determine 

whether any unsold ticket creates a winning play. This 

includes, but is not limited to, trying to determine the 

numbers or symbols appearing under the removable latex or 

electronically produced coverings or otherwise attempting to 

identify unsold winning tickets. However, this shall not 

prevent the removal of the covering over the validation code 

or validation number after the ticket is sold.  

C. No retailer or his employee or agent shall impose a fee or 

additional charge for selling a lottery game ticket or for 

cashing a winning lottery game ticket. 

D. No retailer or his employee or agent shall purchase a 

winning lottery game ticket from a player at a discounted 

price. 

11VAC5-31-140. Deposit of lottery receipts; interest and 

penalty for late payment; dishonored EFT transactions or 

checks.  

A. Payments shall be due from retailers as specified by the 

director in accordance with department agency policies.  

B. Any retailer who fails to make payment when payment is 

due will be contacted by the department agency and 

instructed to make immediate deposit of the funds due. If the 

retailer is not able to deposit the necessary funds or if the item 

is returned to the department unpaid for a second time, the 

retailer's license may be inactivated. If inactivated, the license 

will not be reactivated until payment is made by cashier's 

check, certified check or EFT transaction, and if the retailer is 

deemed a continuing credit risk by the department agency, 

not until an informal conference is held to determine if the 

licensee is able and willing to meet the terms of his retailer 

contract. Additionally, interest may be charged on the moneys 

due plus a $25 penalty. The interest charge will be equal to 

the "Underpayment Rate" established pursuant to § 58.1-15 of 

the Code of Virginia. The interest charge will be calculated 

beginning the date following the retailer's due date for 

payment through the day preceding receipt of the late 

payment by the department agency for deposit.  

C. In addition to the penalty authorized by subsection B of 

this section, the director may assess a $25 service charge 

against any retailer whose payment through EFT transaction 

or by check is dishonored.  

D. The service charge, interest, and penalty charges may be 

waived if it is determined by the department agency that the 

event that otherwise would result in the assessment of a 

service charge, interest, or penalty is not in any way the fault 

of the lottery retailer.  

11VAC5-31-160. Denial, suspension, revocation or 

noncontinuation of license.  

A. The director may refuse to issue a license to a person if 

the person does not meet the eligibility criteria and standards 

for licensing as set out in § 58.1-4009 of the Code of 

Virginia, these regulations, and in the department's agency's 

licensing procedures, or if:  

1. The person's place of business caters to or is frequented 

predominantly by persons under 18 years of age, but 

excluding family-oriented businesses;  

2. The nature of the person's business constitutes a threat to 

the health or safety of prospective lottery patrons;  

3. The nature of the person's business is not consonant with 

the probity of the Commonwealth;  

4. The person has committed any act of fraud, deceit, 

misrepresentation, moral turpitude, or illegal gambling or 

engaged in conduct prejudicial to public confidence in the 

state lottery;  

5. The person falsifies or misrepresents a material fact on 

any application, form, document, or data submitted during 

the licensure process; 

6. The person has an unsatisfactory prior history, record, or 

performance with the lottery; 

7. The person's place of business represents a substantial 

risk for the collection, deposit, preservation, accounting, or 
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safeguarding of Commonwealth of Virginia Trust Funds, 

irrespective of the bond or surety provided by the person;  

8. The person has been suspended permanently from a 

federal or state licensing or authorization program and that 

person has exhausted all administrative remedies pursuant 

to the respective agency's regulations or procedures; or 

9. The proposed retailer's licensed location or locations 

does not comply with the requirements of the department's 

Retailer Accessibility Guidelines effective January 1, 2011, 

as applicable. 

B. The director may suspend, revoke, or refuse to continue a 

license for any of the reasons enumerated in § 58.1-4012 of 

the Code of Virginia, in subsection A of this section, in the 

department's agency's procedures, or for any of the following 

reasons:  

1. Failure to maintain the required lottery trust account;  

2. Failure to comply with lottery game rules;  

3. Failure to properly care for, or prevent the abuse of, the 

department's agency's equipment, or failure to properly 

position and display the vacuum fluorescent display or 

LED device;  

4. Failure to meet minimum point-of-sale standards;  

5. Failure to continue to meet the eligibility criteria and 

standards for licensing; or 

6. Failure to comply with (i) any applicable law or statute, 

rule, policy, or procedure of the department agency; (ii) 

license terms and conditions; (iii) specific rules for all 

applicable department agency games; (iv) directives and 

instructions that may be issued by the director; and (v) 

licensing and equipment agreements and contracts signed 

by the retailer. 

C. Any person refused a license under subsections A or B of 

this section may appeal the director's decision in the manner 

provided by 11VAC5-20-150.  

D. Before taking action under subsection A or B of this 

section, the director will notify the retailer in writing of his 

intent to suspend, revoke or deny continuation of the license. 

The notification will include the reason or reasons for the 

proposed action and will provide the retailer with the 

procedures for requesting a conference. Such notice shall be 

given to the retailer in accordance with the provisions of the 

department's agency's regulations.  

E. If the director deems it necessary in order to serve the 

public interest and maintain public trust in the lottery, he may 

temporarily suspend a license without first notifying the 

retailer. Such suspension will be in effect until any 

prosecution, hearing, or investigation into alleged violations 

is concluded.  

F. A retailer shall surrender his license to the director by the 

date specified in the notice of revocation or suspension. The 

retailer shall also surrender the lottery property in his 

possession and give a final lottery accounting of his lottery 

activities by the date specified by the director.  

11VAC5-31-170. License termination by retailer.  

The licensed retailer may voluntarily terminate his license 

with the department agency by first notifying the department 

agency in writing at least 15 calendar days before the 

proposed termination date. The department agency will then 

notify the retailer of the date by which settlement of the 

retailer's account will take place. The retailer shall maintain 

his bond and the required accounts and records until 

settlement is completed and all lottery property has been 

surrendered.  

11VAC5-31-180. Inspection of premises.  

Each lottery retailer shall provide access during normal 

business hours or at such other times as may be required by 

the director or department agency representatives to enter the 

premises of the licensed retailer. The premises include the 

licensed location where lottery tickets are sold or any other 

location under the control of the licensed retailer where the 

director may have good cause to believe lottery materials, 

equipment, or tickets are stored or kept in order to inspect the 

licensed premises and inspect, or if necessary remove lottery 

materials, equipment, or tickets.  

11VAC5-31-190. Examination of records and equipment; 

seizure of records and equipment.  

A. Each lottery retailer shall make all books and records 

pertaining to his lottery activities available for inspection, 

auditing and copying, and make all equipment related to his 

lottery activities available for inspection, as required by the 

director or department agency representatives during normal 

business hours of the licensed retailer. 

B. All books, records and equipment pertaining to the 

licensed retailer's lottery activities may be seized with good 

cause by the director or department agency representatives 

without prior notice.  

11VAC5-31-200. Audit of records.  

The director may require a lottery retailer to submit to the 

department agency an audit report conducted by an 

independent certified public accountant on the licensed 

retailer's lottery activities. The retailer shall be responsible for 

the cost of only the first such audit in any one license term.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (11VAC5-31)  

Retailer License Application, SLD-0062 (rev. 10/07). 

Retailer Contract (rev. 5/10). 
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Retailer License Application, VAL-0062 (rev. 9/14) 

Retailer Contract (rev. 1/14) 

11VAC5-41-10. Definitions for lottery games.  

The following words and terms when used in any of the 

department's agency's regulations shall have the same 

meanings as defined in this chapter unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Agency" means the Virginia Lottery created by Virginia 

Lottery Law (Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) of Title 58.1 of 

the Code of Virginia). 

"Altered ticket" means a lottery ticket that has been forged, 

counterfeited, or tampered with in any manner.  

"Board" means the State Virginia Lottery Board established 

by the State Virginia Lottery Law (Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 

et seq.) of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

"Breakage" means the money accumulated from the 

rounding down of the pari-mutuel prize levels to the next 

lowest whole dollar amount.  

"Cashing retailer" means a department an agency licensed 

retailer that sells lottery products and is authorized to pay 

prizes. 

"Computer gaming system" means any computer system 

owned, operated, or contracted by the department agency that 

supports the sale, redemption, or validation of lottery tickets 

or wagers. 

"Coupon" is a device (electronic or paper or otherwise) that 

is approved by the department agency for redemption. 

"Department" means the State Lottery Department created 

by State Lottery Law (Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) of 

Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

"Director" means the Executive Director of the State 

Virginia Lottery Department or his designee. 

"Drawing" means a formal process of randomly selecting 

numbers, names, or items in accordance with the specific 

game or promotion rules for games or promotions requiring 

the random selection of numbers, names, or items.  

"Game" means any individual or particular type of lottery 

authorized by the board.  

"Instant game" means a game that, when played, reveals or 

informs the player immediately whether he has won a prize, 

entry into a prize drawing, prize points, or any or all of the 

aforementioned as specified in game rules. 

"Misprinted ticket" means a lottery ticket or play that 

contains a manufacturing, programming, or printing defect 

that causes the game to no longer play as defined in game 

rules or does not properly validate against the game's 

validation files. 

"Natural person" means a human being, and not a 

corporation, company, partnership, association, trust or other 

entity.  

"Prize" means any cash or noncash award to a holder of a 

winning entry or play. 

"Prize structure" means the number, value, and odds of 

winning prizes for a game and the prize tiers within a game 

and the chances of winning a prize in each tier in an 

individual game as determined by the department agency and 

as specified in the game rules. 

"Probability game" means a game in which all of the tickets 

sold are potentially winning tickets and the outcome of the 

game depends entirely upon the player's choice or choices 

during game play. 

"Promotion" is defined as means an "added value" offer to 

consumers or licensed retailers sanctioned by the director or 

approved by the board when required. 

"Roll stock" or "ticket stock" means the paper roll issued or 

approved for use by the department agency from which a 

unique lottery ticket is generated displaying the selected items 

or numbers.  

"Scratch ticket" means a printed instant win ticket with a 

covering over the play area that when scratched reveals a 

specific result. 

"Share" means a percentage of ownership in a winning 

ticket, play, or subscription plan. 

"Terminal" means a device that is authorized by the 

department agency to function in an interactive mode with the 

department's agency's computer gaming system or systems 

for the purpose of issuing tickets, plays, or an electronic 

facsimile thereof, and entering, receiving, and processing 

game-related transactions. 

"Terminal ticket" means a computer-generated or 

electronically-produced ticket issued through the computer 

gaming system by a retailer to a player as a receipt for the 

number, numbers, or items or combination of numbers or 

items the player has selected.  

"Ticket number" means the preassigned unique number or 

combination of letters and numbers or barcode that identifies 

that particular ticket as one within a particular game or 

drawing. 

"Validation" means the process of reviewing and certifying 

a lottery ticket to determine whether it is a winning ticket.  

"Validation barcode" means the unique number or number-

and-letter code or barcode used to determine whether a lottery 

ticket is a winning ticket. 

"Winning ticket," "winning wager," or "winning play" 

means the ticket, wager, or play that meets the criteria and 

specific rules for winning prizes as published for each game 

by the director. 

11VAC5-41-60. Drawing and selling times.  

A. Drawings shall be conducted at times and places 

designated by the director and publicly announced by the 

department agency.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a55c004146~1&typ=40&actno=004146&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=43c20004146~2&typ=40&actno=004146&mime=application/pdf
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B. Retailers may sell tickets from new instant games upon 

receipt of the tickets from the department agency, but shall 

not sell tickets for an instant game after the announced end of 

that game.  

C. Retailers may sell terminal tickets up to a designated time 

prior to the drawing as specified in the terminal game rules. 

That time will be designated by the director.  

11VAC5-41-80. Scratch ticket returns.  

A. Ticket sales to retailers are final. The department agency 

will not accept returned, unsold tickets for credit except as 

specifically authorized by and provided for in the 

department's agency's procedures. 

B. Once tickets are accepted by a retailer, the department 

agency: 

1. May hold the retailer financially responsible for the 

replacement of mutilated, damaged, or otherwise 

unaccounted for tickets. 

2. Will not be responsible for lost, stolen, destroyed, or 

otherwise unaccounted for tickets, unless specifically 

authorized and provided for in the department's agency's 

procedures. 

11VAC5-41-100. Validation requirements.  

To receive payment for a prize, a Virginia lottery game 

ticket or play shall be validated by the retailer or the 

department agency as set out in this chapter and in any other 

manner that the director may prescribe in the specific rules 

for the lottery game, which shall include but not be limited to 

the following:  

1. If the game's rules specify that the physical ticket must 

be presented for validation then: 

a. The original ticket must be presented for validation;  

b. The ticket shall not be mutilated, altered, or tampered 

with in any manner. If a ticket is partially mutilated or if 

the ticket is not intact and cannot be validated through 

normal procedures but can still be validated by other 

validation tests, the director may pay the prize for that 

ticket;  

c. The ticket may not be misregistered or defectively 

printed to an extent that it cannot be processed by the 

department;  

d. The ticket shall pass all other confidential security 

checks of the department agency; 

e. The ticket validation number shall be present in its 

entirety; and 

f. The ticket shall not be counterfeited, forged, 

fraudulently made, or a duplicate of another winning 

ticket.  

2. Where a winning ticket or play has been issued by a 

terminal: 

a. The ticket or play shall have been issued by the 

department agency or by a licensed lottery retailer in an 

authorized manner;  

b. The terminal ticket or play shall not have been 

cancelled canceled or previously paid;  

c. The terminal ticket or play shall be validated in 

accordance with procedures for claiming and paying 

prizes as set out in the game rules; and 

d. The terminal ticket or play data shall have been 

recorded in the computer gaming system before the 

drawing or the instant game ticket sale, and the ticket 

data shall match this computer record in every respect. 

3. If the games rules specify that a physical ticket, play, or 

record of play is not required for validation there may be 

other lottery requirements, as defined by the director, for 

winners to collect prizes. 

11VAC5-41-110. Use of playslips.  

A. A playslip issued by the department agency may be used 

to select a player's choice or choices to be played in a 

department-authorized an agency-authorized computer 

gaming system. If a playslip is used to select the player's 

choice or choices for use in a computer gaming system, the 

playslip selections shall be manually or electronically marked 

as authorized by the department's agency's game rules and not 

marked by any electro-mechanical, electronic printing, or 

other automated device, except for play utilizing materials or 

systems developed by the department agency. 

B. Any playslip marked by methods other than those 

authorized by this chapter is invalid and subject to seizure by 

the department if presented for play at any lottery terminal. 

Any tickets produced from the use of invalid playslips are 

also invalid and subject to seizure by the department agency.  

C. Nothing in this chapter shall be deemed to prevent a 

person with a physical handicap who is unable to mark a 

playslip manually from using any device intended to permit 

such person to make such a mark for his sole personal use or 

benefit.  

11VAC5-41-120. Replacement of ticket.  

If a misprinted or otherwise defective ticket is purchased, 

the department's agency's only liability or responsibility shall 

be to replace the misprinted ticket with an unplayed ticket of 

equal price from the same or another current game or to 

refund the purchase price of the defective ticket.  

11VAC5-41-130. Terminal-generated winning tickets.  

A. When more than one ticket containing the winning 

numbers is issued for the same drawing of the same game, the 

holder of each ticket is entitled only to his share of the prize, 

regardless of whether the other holders of tickets with the 

winning numbers actually claim their share of the prize.  

B. The department agency shall not redeem prizes for tickets 

that would have been winning tickets but for the fact that they 
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have been cancelled canceled by the retailer unless 

specifically authorized by the director. 

C. When the department's agency's internal controls indicate 

that a winning ticket was issued but no claim is made for the 

prize, there shall be a rebuttable presumption that such ticket 

was in fact issued and the prize shall be paid in accordance 

with the provisions of § 58.1-4020 of the Code of Virginia 

and regulations of the department agency.  

11VAC5-41-140. Where prizes claimed.  

Winners may claim game prizes as specified in this chapter 

or in the game rules, including: 

1. At department agency headquarters; 

2. At a department an agency customer service center; 

3. From a cashing retailer;  

4. By mail; or 

5. At any other location specifically authorized by the 

department agency. 

11VAC5-41-150. Retailers' prize payment procedures.  

Procedures for prize payments by retailers are as follows:  

1. Retailers may pay cash prizes in cash, by certified 

check, cashier's check, business check, money order, other 

cash equivalent or by any combination of these methods.  

2. If a check for payment of a prize by a retailer to a 

claimant is denied for any reason, the retailer is subject to 

the same service charge, interest and penalty payments for 

referring a debt to the department agency for collection 

that would apply if the check were made payable to the 

department agency. A claimant whose prize check is 

denied shall notify the department agency to obtain the 

prize.  

3. During normal business hours of the lottery retailer with 

operational validation equipment by which the ticket claim 

can be validated, a lottery retailer shall pay any lottery 

prize of $600 or less, unless otherwise determined by the 

director, regardless of the location from which the winning 

ticket was purchased.  

4. A prize claim shall be paid only at the location specified 

on the retailer's license or at a lottery office.  

5. The department agency will reimburse a retailer for all 

valid prizes paid by the retailer within the specified prize 

redemption period for the game from which the prize 

resulted.  

6. In no case shall a retailer impose a fee, additional charge 

or discount for cashing a winning lottery game ticket.  

7. Retailers who pay claims without validating the tickets 

do so at their own financial risk.  

11VAC5-41-160. No reimbursement for retailer errors.  

Unless otherwise determined by the director, the department 

agency shall not reimburse retailers for prize claims a retailer 

has paid in error or for which a retailer failed to properly and 

completely validate the lottery game tickets in accordance 

with department agency procedures. 

11VAC5-41-170. When prize shall be claimed from the 

department agency.  

A. The department agency will pay prizes in any of the 

following circumstances:  

1. If a retailer cannot validate a claim which that the 

retailer otherwise would pay, the ticket holder shall present 

the original signed ticket to any department agency office 

including the department's agency's headquarters or mail 

the signed ticket to the department's agency's headquarters;  

2. If a ticket holder is unable to return to any retailer to 

claim a prize that the retailer otherwise would pay, the 

ticket holder may present the original signed ticket at any 

department agency office or mail the signed ticket to the 

department's agency's headquarters;  

3. If the prize amount is more than $600, the ticket holder 

may present the original signed ticket at any department 

agency office or mail the signed ticket to the department 

agency headquarters; or 

4. Where an electronic entry or an electronic record of a 

ticket is permitted, a presentation of a physical ticket may 

not be required to claim a prize. 

B. The department agency may require a claim form.  

C. A player shall bear all risk of loss or damage by sending 

the ticket through the mail.  

11VAC5-41-180. Department Agency action on claims for 

prizes submitted to department agency.  

A. The department agency shall validate the winning ticket 

claim according to procedures contained in this chapter.  

B. If the claim cannot be validated, the department agency 

will promptly notify the ticket holder.  

C. If the claim is mailed to the department agency and the 

department agency validates the claim, a check for the prize 

amount, merchandise, or experiential prizes will be presented 

or mailed to the winner.  

D. If an individual presents a claim to the department 

agency in person and the department agency validates the 

claim, a check for the prize amount, merchandise, or 

experiential prizes will be presented to the winner.  

11VAC5-41-190. Withholding, notification of prize 

payments.  

A. When paying any prize in excess of $600, the department 

agency shall:  

1. File the appropriate income reporting forms with the 

Virginia Department of Taxation and the federal Internal 

Revenue Service; and  

2. Withhold federal and state taxes from any winning ticket 

in accordance with the tax regulation in effect at the time. 

B. Additionally, when paying any cash prize of $100 or 

more, the department agency shall withhold any moneys due 
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for delinquent debts as provided by the Commonwealth's 

Setoff Debt Collection Act, Article 21 (§ 58.1-520 et seq.) of 

Chapter 3 of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

11VAC5-41-220. How prize claim entered.  

A prize claim shall be entered in the name of a natural 

person as prescribed by § 58.1-4019 B of the Code of 

Virginia. In all cases, the identity and social security number 

of all natural persons who receive a prize or share of a prize 

greater than $100 from a winning ticket redeemed at any 

department agency office shall be provided.  

1. A nonresident alien shall furnish his Immigration and 

Naturalization Service (INS) Number.  

2. Two or more natural persons claiming a single prize 

may file IRS Form 5754, "Statement by Person(s) 

Receiving Gambling Winnings," with the department 

agency. This form designates to whom winnings are to be 

paid and the person or persons to whom winnings are 

taxable.  

3. Two or more natural persons wishing to divide a jackpot 

prize shall complete an "Agreement to Share Ownership 

and Proceeds of Lottery Ticket" form. The filing of this 

form is an irrevocable election that may only be changed 

by an appropriate judicial order.  

11VAC5-41-230. Delay of payment allowed.  

A. Subject to the provisions in § 58.1-4013 D of the Code of 

Virginia, the director may refrain from making payment of a 

prize pending a final determination by the director under any 

of the following circumstances:  

1. If a dispute arises, or it appears that a dispute may arise, 

relative to any ownership of a winning ticket or any prize;  

2. If there is any question regarding the identity of the 

claimant;  

3. If there is any question regarding the validity of any 

ticket presented for payment;  

4. If there is any question whether a claimant has made a 

valid cash option election; or  

5. If the claim is subject to any set off for delinquent debts 

owed to any agency eligible to participate in the Setoff 

Debt Collection Act (Article 21 (§ 58.1-520 et seq.) of 

Chapter 3 of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia) if the 

agency has registered such debt with the Virginia 

Department of Taxation and timely notice of the debt has 

been furnished by the Virginia Department of Taxation to 

the department.  

B. The director may, at any time, delay any periodic or 

installment payment in order to review a change in 

circumstance relative to the prize awarded, the payee, the 

claim, or any other matter that has been brought to the 

department's agency's attention. All delayed installments shall 

be brought up to date immediately upon the director's 

confirmation. Delayed installments shall continue to be paid 

according to the original payment schedule after the director's 

decision is given.  

C. No liability for interest for any delay of any prize 

payment in accordance with subsections A and B of this 

section, or any delay beyond the department's agency's 

control, shall accrue to the benefit of the claimant pending 

payment of the claim. The department agency is neither liable 

for nor has it any responsibility to resolve disputes between or 

among competing claimants.  

11VAC5-41-250. Using winners' names and information.  

The department agency can use a winner's name and the 

city, town, or county in which a winner lives, as well as the 

prizes won, for public information purposes and to foster the 

integrity of the games. The department agency may require 

prize winners to participate in news conferences. The 

department agency can use the winner's information 

described in this section and winner's photographs for public 

information or promotional purposes in mediums such as, but 

not limited to, the department's agency's website 

(www.valottery.com), social media, in-store, television, 

Internet, and radio. No consideration shall be paid by the 

department agency for these purposes. 

11VAC5-41-290. Liability ends with prize payment.  

All liability of the Commonwealth, its officials, officers and 

employees, and of the department agency, the board, the 

director and employees of the department agency, terminates 

upon final payment of a lottery prize, or sooner if so provided 

in the game rules or these regulations.  

11VAC5-41-300. Marking tickets prohibited; exceptions.  

Marking of tickets in any way is prohibited except by a 

player to play a game according to the rules of that specific 

game or to claim a prize or by the department agency or a 

retailer to identify or to void the ticket.  

11VAC5-41-310. Lost, stolen, or destroyed tickets.  

The department agency is not liable for lost, stolen, or 

destroyed tickets. The director may honor a prize claim of an 

apparent winner who does not possess the original ticket if 

the claimant is in possession of information that demonstrates 

that the original ticket meets the following criteria and can be 

validated through other means. Such information may 

include, but is not limited to, the following:  

1. The claim form, if required, and a photocopy of the 

ticket, or photocopy of the original claim form, if required, 

and ticket, are timely filed with the department agency;  

2. The prize for which the claim is filed is a winning prize 

that has not been claimed, as verified in the department's 

agency's records.  

3. The claim is filed within the redemption period, as 

established by the game rules; and 

4. Except in extenuating circumstances or for just cause as 

the director may deem appropriate, the redemption period 

for claims has expired. 

http://www.valottery.com/
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11VAC5-41-320. Unclaimed prizes.  

A. Except for a free ticket prize, a claim for a lottery game 

winning ticket must be mailed in an envelope bearing a 

postmark of the United States Postal Service or another 

sovereign nation or received for payment as prescribed in this 

chapter within either 180 days after the date of the drawing 

for which the ticket was purchased, or of the event which that 

caused the ticket to be a winning entry, or, in the case of an 

instant game ticket, within 180 days after the announced end 

of the game. In the event that the 180th day falls on a 

Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the winning ticket will be 

accepted for validation on the next business day only at a 

lottery office.  

B. Any lottery cash prize that remains unclaimed after either 

180 days following the drawing that determined the prize or 

180 days after the announced end of the instant game shall 

revert to the State Literary Fund. Cash prizes do not include 

free ticket prizes or other noncash prizes such as 

merchandise, vacations, admission to events and the like.  

C. All claims for terminal game winning tickets for which 

the prize is a free ticket must be mailed in an envelope 

bearing a postmark of the United States Postal Service or 

another sovereign nation or received for redemption as 

prescribed in this chapter within 180 days after the date of the 

drawing for which the ticket was purchased. In the event the 

180th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, a 

claimant may only redeem his winning ticket for a free ticket 

at a cashing retailer on or before the 180th day.  

Except for claims for free ticket prizes mailed to lottery 

headquarters and postmarked on or before the 180th day, 

claims for such prizes will not be accepted at any lottery 

office after the sixtieth 60th day. This section does not apply 

to the redemption of free tickets awarded through the 

subscription program.  

D. Any instant game winning ticket of $25 or less that has 

been purchased, but that is not claimed within 180 days after 

the announced end of the instant game, shall revert to the 

State Virginia Lottery Fund.  

E. In case of a prize payable over time, if such prize is 

shared by two or more winning tickets, one or more of which 

is not presented to the department agency for payment within 

the prize redemption period as established by the game rules, 

the department agency will transfer that portion of the prize to 

the State Literary Fund in accordance with procedures 

approved by the State Treasurer.  

F. In accordance with the provisions of the Servicemembers 

Civil Relief Act of 1940 (50 USC App § 526), any person 

while in active military service may claim exemption from 

the 180-day ticket redemption requirement. Such person, 

however, must claim his winning ticket or share as soon as 

practicable, and in no event later than 180 days after 

discharge from active military service.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4146; Filed September 4, 2014, 2:41 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-31. Virginia Emergency 

Medical Services Regulations (amending 12VAC5-31-

1140).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-111.4 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 5, 2014. 

Effective Date: November 24, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Michael Berg, Regulatory and Compliance 

Manager, Department of Health, 1041 Technology Park 

Drive, Glen Allen, VA 23059-4500, telephone (804) 888-

9131, or email michael.berg@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Chapters 191 and 328 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly 

amended § 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia permitting 

certified emergency medical services (EMS) personnel acting 

within their scope of practice to administer drugs and devices 

pursuant to an oral or written order or standing protocol. 

Before the Office of EMS (OEMS) could remove language in 

the Virginia Emergency Services Regulations (12VAC5-31) 

that requires EMS personnel to obtain the signature of the 

medical practitioner who assumes responsibility for the 

patient, the Board of Pharmacy had to first remove language 

pertaining to medical practitioner signature in its existing 

regulations in 12VAC110-20-500. The Board of Pharmacy 

met on June 18, 2013, and adopted changes in regulation that 

became effective September 25, 2013. Section 32.1-111.4 of 

the Code of Virginia provides the statutory authority for the 

State Board of Health to promulgate these regulations. 

Purpose: Each licensed EMS agency is required to have an 

operational medical director (OMD) who meets specific 

criteria outlined in the EMS Regulations. Certified EMS 

providers work under the direction and authorization of the 

OMD to include performing medical procedures and drug 

administration. Requiring a medical practitioner to sign 

patient care reports (electronic or otherwise) documenting 

drug administration or procedures with which they may not 

be familiar is onerous to the emergency department 

practitioner and unnecessary. Approved patient care 

guidelines (protocols) already exist authorizing the EMS 

provider to perform the drug administration or medical 

procedure under the authorization of the OMD. There is 

documentation (medication administration record) that is part 

of the patient care report showing what is administered or 

performed and signed by the EMS provider. This action 

removes extra, unwanted demands on an already burdened 
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medical practitioner in an emergency department, while 

maintaining a process that can be documented and establishes 

accountability and protects the health, safety, and welfare of 

patients.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: This action 

eliminates unnecessary requirements and additional 

burdensome documentation for the medical practitioner. Key 

stakeholder groups and members of the EMS system support 

this change and no opposition is anticipated or has been 

voiced for this regulatory change.  

Substance: The amendment removes subsection B of 

12VAC5-31-1140, which requires the signature of the 

prescriber. 

Emergency medical services providers are certified and 

authorized to administer drugs pursuant to the regulations of 

the State Board of Health and an oral or written order or 

standing protocol of their operational medical director. This 

amendment allows the EMS provider to document the 

administration of a drug or procedure as part of the 

"protocols" as established by their contracted OEMS-

approved operational medical director. The drug 

administration documentation is supported by the Board of 

Pharmacy regulations (18VAC110-20-500). This amendment 

will reduce the amount of time an agency needs to be out of 

service to gain signatures prior to the exchanging of drug kits 

within facilities and returning the units back to service.  

Issues: An advantage to the EMS unit and the public is that 

amending the identified regulation will permit a quicker "in-

service" time for the unit to prepare for the next request for 

service. The time spent seeking a medical practitioner's 

signature for medication administration or a specific 

procedure only delays the in-service time for a response unit. 

Delays in returning EMS units to service can be particularly 

troubling in high volume systems or in a rural agency with 

limited resources trying to meet EMS call demands. There are 

no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Health (Board) proposes to eliminate the 

requirement to have a medical practitioner sign a patient care 

report (electronic or otherwise) attesting to the delivery of a 

drug or the performance of an invasive procedure when 

Emergency Medical Services (EMS) personnel administer 

drugs, perform invasive procedures or assist patients with 

their medications. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Each licensed EMS agency is 

required to have an Operational Medical Director (OMD) 

who meets criteria specified in the EMS Regulations. 

Certified EMS providers work under the direction and 

authorization of the OMD performing medical procedures and 

drug administration. 

If an EMS provider caring for a patient determines that an 

invasive procedure is required and that a drug needs to be 

administered, they can do so under the authorization of the 

OMD. In most cases, the supplies needed for this action are 

from a drug kit supplied by the hospital, stocked by and 

sealed by the pharmacist-in-charge. Once this box is opened, 

there is documentation by the EMS provider noting the 

procedures and the drugs administered.  

Under the current regulation, the EMS provider needs to track 

down the practitioner at the receiving facility to have them 

also sign the documentation. In the event the practitioner 

refuses to sign the document, the OMD would have 7 days to 

sign the documentation. Until the documentation is signed by 

the practitioner, the EMS agency cannot exchange the used 

kit for a new kit. Finding the practitioner to sign the form, 

then going to the pharmacy (which may not be on the same 

floor) can often add significant time before an ambulance at 

the facility is ready for service for the next call. This has led 

to ambulances waiting significant times at hospitals for staff 

to get signatures in order to exchange their drug kit, keeping 

the ambulances from potentially answering waiting calls for 

service.  

The Board's proposal to eliminate the requirement to have a 

medical practitioner sign a patient care report attesting to the 

delivery of a drug or the performance of an invasive 

procedure when EMS personnel administer drugs, perform 

invasive procedures or assist patients with their medications 

would effectively reduce the amount of time an EMS agency 

at a hospital needs to be out of service to gain signatures prior 

to the exchanging of drug kits within facilities and returning 

the units back to service. Effectively this would eliminate 

unnecessary administrative time spent by the medical 

practitioner and unnecessary delays in ambulance availability 

without compromising patient care since the certified EMS 

providers do work under the direction of the OMD. Thus the 

proposal, if implemented, should create a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

affects the 680 licensed Emergency Medical Services 

agencies in Virginia.
1
  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

is unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. According 

to data provided by the Virginia Department of Health, 78 of 

the 680 licensed Emergency Medical Services agencies are 

commercial entities. The proposed amendment will enable 

these firms to reduce delays in providing their services.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Most of the 78 

commercial licensed Emergency Medical Services agencies 

are likely small businesses. The proposed amendment will 
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enable these firms to reduce delays in providing their 

services.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendment does not 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not significantly affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 14 (2010). 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 

proposed amendments. Further the report should include but 

not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulatory action would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulatory action will have 

an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules (JCAR) is notified at the time the proposed regulation 

is submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

___________________________________________ 
1 Data source: Virginia Department of Health (as of March 27, 2014) 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department of Health concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments eliminate the requirement to have a 

medical practitioner sign a patient care report (electronic 

or otherwise) attesting to the delivery of a drug or the 

performance of an invasive procedure by an emergency 

medical services provider. 

12VAC5-31-1140. Provision of patient care 

documentation. 

A. EMS personnel and EMS agencies shall provide the 

receiving medical facility or transporting EMS agency with a 

copy of the prehospital patient care report for each patient 

treated at the time of patient transfer. Should EMS personnel 

be unable to provide the full prehospital patient care report at 

the time of patient transfer, EMS personnel shall provide an 

abbreviated documented report with the critical EMS findings 

and actions at the time of patient transfer and the full 

prehospital patient care report shall be provided to the 

accepting facility within 12 hours.  

B. The signature of the prescriber, as defined in § 54.1-3401 

of the Code of Virginia, who assumes responsibility for the 

patient shall be included on the prehospital patient care report 

for an incident when a drug is administered, or self-

administration is assisted (excluding oxygen), or an invasive 

procedure is performed. EMS personnel shall not infer that 

the prescriber's signature denotes approval, authorization or 

verification of compliance with protocol, standing orders or 

medical control orders.  

The receiving prescriber signature requirement above does 

not apply to drugs that are maintained by EMS personnel 

during transport of patients between healthcare facilities, 

provided adequate documentation of ongoing drugs are 

transferred with the patient by the sending facility.  

If a patient is not transported to the hospital or if the 

attending prescriber at the hospital refuses to sign the 

prehospital patient care report, the PPCR shall be signed by 

the agency's operational medical director within seven days of 

the administration and a signed copy delivered to the hospital 

pharmacy that was responsible for any drug kit exchange.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-3900; Filed September 8, 2014, 3:46 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-20. Administration of 

Medical Assistance Services (amending 12VAC30-20-180).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; Title 

XIX, 42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: November 6, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Bonnie Winn, Manager, Program 

Operations Division, Department of Medical Assistance 
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Services, 600 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-2621, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

bonnie.winn@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Item 300 H of Chapter 890 of the 2011 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments require (i) fee-for-service 

Medicaid providers to electronically submit claims for 

services rendered to Medicaid and FAMIS individuals and 

(ii) providers' payments to be provided by electronic funds 

transfers. Amendments allow for exceptions to these 

electronic filing/payment requirements when certain 

specified standards are met and do not affect the eight 

Medicaid managed care organizations because they do not 

file individual claims for services but already file 

electronic encounter data. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

12VAC30-20-180. Definition of a claim by service.  

A. Claims. 

SERVICE CLAIM 

A) Inpatient Hospital A Bill for Service 

B) Outpatient Hospital A Bill for Service 

C) Rural Health Clinic A Line Item for Service 

D) Laboratory and X-Ray A Line Item of Service 

E) Skilled Nursing A Bill for Service 

F) EPSDT A Bill for Service 

G) Family Planning A Bill for Service or Line Item 

depending on provider type 

H) Physician A Line Item of Service 

I) Other Medical A Bill for Service or Line Item 

depending on provider type 

J) Home Health A Bill for Service 

K) Clinic A Line for Service Item 

L) Dental A Line Item of Service 

M) Pharmacy A Line Item of Service 

N) Intermediate Care A Bill for Service 

O) Transportation A Line Item of Service 

P) Physical Therapy A Bill for Service or Line Item 

depending on provider type 

Q) Nurse Midwife A Line Item of Service 

R) Eyeglasses A Line Item of Service 

B. All providers that enroll with Medicaid on or after 

October 1, 2011, shall submit electronically all claims for 

covered services they render in the fee-for-service program 

under the State Plans for Title XIX and XXI of the Social 

Security Act, and any waivers thereof, and enroll to receive 

electronic funds transfer (EFT) for payment of those services. 

All other providers shall comply with this electronic 

submission requirement by July 1, 2012. 

1. Any provider who cannot comply with this electronic 

claims submission or EFT requirement may request an 

exception from DMAS for good cause shown.  

2. Good cause may include, but is not limited to, (i) the 

unavailability of the infrastructure necessary to support 

electronic claims submission in the provider's geographic 

region; (ii) the absence of a mechanism for electronic 

submission for the particular claim type, such as in the case 

of a temporary detention order; (iii) the provider's inability 

to transact business through a banking institution capable 

of EFT; or (iv) financial hardship.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2789; Filed September 8, 2014, 2:02 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Titles of Regulations: 14VAC5-70. Rules Governing 

Accelerated Benefits Provisions (amending 14VAC5-70-

130). 

14VAC5-200. Rules Governing Long-Term Care 

Insurance (amending 14VAC5-200-140, 14VAC5-200-

153). 

14VAC5-310. Rules Governing Actuarial Opinions and 

Memoranda (amending 14VAC5-310-10 through 

14VAC5-310-50, 14VAC5-310-90). 

14VAC5-319. Life Insurance Reserves (amending 

14VAC5-319-10). 

14VAC5-321. Use of the 2001 CSO Mortality Table in 

Determining Reserve Liabilities and Nonforfeiture 

Benefits (amending 14VAC5-321-10, 14VAC5-321-30, 

14VAC5-321-40). 

14VAC5-322. Use of the 2001 CSO Preferred Class 

Structure Mortality Table in Determining Reserve 

Liabilities (amending 14VAC5-322-10). 

14VAC5-323. Rules Governing Preneed Life Insurance 

Minimum Standards for Determining Reserve Liabilities 
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and Nonforfeiture Values (amending 14VAC5-323-10, 

14VAC5-323-40, 14VAC5-323-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 31, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Raquel C. Pino-Moreno, Principal Insurance 

Analyst, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, 

P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

9499, FAX (804) 371-9511, or email raquel.pino-

moreno@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments update the Code of Virginia 

citations that will be effective January 1, 2015, to reflect 

changes enacted by Chapter 571 of the 2014 Acts of 

Assembly. Chapter 571 is based on revisions to the 

National Association of Insurance Commissioners' (NAIC) 

Standard Valuation Law model, which was adopted by the 

NAIC in 2009. The revised model authorizes a principle-

based reserve (PBR) basis for life, annuity, and accident 

and health contracts, and requires the use of a Valuation 

Manual, which contains both PBR and non-PBR 

requirements, as well as actuarial opinion and corporate 

governance requirements.  

AT RICHMOND, SEPTEMBER 16, 2014 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2014-00202 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Amending the 

Rules Governing Accelerated Benefits Provisions; 

the Rules Governing Long-Term Care Insurance;  

the Rules Governing Actuarial Opinions and Memoranda; 

Life Insurance Reserves; Use of the 2001 CSO  

Mortality Table in Determining Reserve Liabilities 

and Nonforfeiture Benefits; Use of the 2001 CSO  

Preferred Class Structure Mortality Table in  

Determining Reserve Liabilities; and  

Preneed Life Insurance Minimum Standards for Determining 

Reserve Liabilities and Nonforfeiture Values 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 

enforcement and administration of all laws within its 

jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code provides that the 

Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 

appropriate for the administration and enforcement of Title 

38.2 of the Code.  

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 

pursuant to § 38.2-223 of the Code are set forth in Title 14 of 

the Virginia Administrative Code.  A copy may also be found 

at the Commission's 

website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/laws.aspx.  

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 

Commission proposed amendments to rules set forth in 

Chapters 70, 200, 310, 319, 321, 322, and 323 of Title 14 of 

the Virginia Administrative Code, entitled Rules Governing 

Accelerated Benefits Provisions, 14 VAC 5-70-10 et seq.; 

Rules Governing Long-Term Care Insurance, 14 VAC 5-200-

10 et seq.; Rules Governing Actuarial Opinions and 

Memoranda, 14 VAC 5-310-10 et seq.; Life Insurance 

Reserves, 14 VAC 5-319-10 et seq.; Use of the 2001 CSO 

Mortality Table in Determining Reserve Liabilities and 

Nonforfeiture Benefits, 14 VAC 5-321-10 et seq.; Use of the 

2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure Mortality Table in 

Determining Reserve Liabilities, 14 VAC 5-322-10 et seq.; 

and Preneed Life Insurance Minimum Standards for 

Determining Reserve Liabilities and Nonforfeiture Values, 

14 VAC 5-323-10 et seq. (collectively, "Rules"), respectively, 

which amend the Rules at 14 VAC 5-70-130; 14 VAC 5-200-

140; 14 VAC 5-200-153; 14 VAC 5-310-10 through 14 VAC 

5-310-50; 14 VAC 5-310-90; 14 VAC 5-319-10; 14 VAC 5-

321-10; 14 VAC 5-321-30; 14 VAC 5-321-40; 14 VAC 5-

322-10; 14 VAC 5-323-10; 14 VAC 5-323-40; and 14 VAC 

5-323-50.  

The proposed amendments to the Rules are necessary to 

implement the provisions of House Bill 631 passed by the 

2014 General Assembly, which amends the Code by adding 

in Chapter 13 of Title 38.2 an Article numbered 10, 

consisting of sections numbered 38.2-1365 through 38.2-

1385. The revised rules replace the current citations to Title 

38.2 of the Code with citations that will be effective on 

January 1, 2015. 

NOW THE COMMISSION is of the opinion that the 

proposed amendments submitted by the Bureau to amend the 

Rules at 14 VAC 5-70-130; 14 VAC 5-200-140; 14 VAC 5-

200-153; 14 VAC 5-310-10 through 14 VAC 5-310-50; 

14 VAC 5-310-90; 14 VAC 5-319-10; 14 VAC 5-321-10; 

14 VAC 5-321-30; 14 VAC 5-321-40; 14 VAC 5-322-10; 

14 VAC 5-323-10; 14 VAC 5-323-40; and 14 VAC 5-323-50 

should be considered for adoption.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed amendments to Rules Governing 

Accelerated Benefits Provisions, Rules Governing Long-

Term Care Insurance, Rules Governing Actuarial Opinions 

and Memoranda, Life Insurance Reserves, Use of the 2001 

CSO Mortality Table in Determining Reserve Liabilities and 

Nonforfeiture Benefits, Use of the 2001 CSO Preferred Class 

Structure Mortality Table in Determining Reserve Liabilities, 

and Preneed Life Insurance Minimum Standards for 

Determining Reserve Liabilities and Nonforfeiture Values, 

which amend the Rules at 14 VAC 5-70-130; 14 VAC 5-200-

140; 14 VAC 5-200-153; 14 VAC 5-310-10 through 14 VAC 

5-310-50; 14 VAC 5-310-90; 14 VAC 5-319-10; 14 VAC 5-

321-10; 14 VAC 5-321-30; 14 VAC 5-321-40; 14 VAC 5-



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 6, 2014 

140 

322-10; 14 VAC 5-323-10; 14 VAC 5-323-40; and 

14 VAC 5-323-50 are attached hereto and made a part hereof.  

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in support 

or in opposition to, or request a hearing to oppose amending 

Chapters 70, 200, 310, 319, 321, 322, and 323 of Title 14 of 

the Virginia Administrative Code, shall file such comments 

or hearing request on or before October 31, 2014, with Joel 

H. Peck, Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o 

Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, 

Virginia 23218. Interested persons desiring to submit 

comments electronically may do so by following the 

instructions at the Commission's 

website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. All comments 

shall refer to Case No. INS-2014-00202.  

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the proposal to 

amend Chapters 70, 200, 310, 319, 321, 322, and 323 of Title 

14 of the Virginia Administrative Code is received on or 

before October 31, 2014, the Commission, upon 

consideration of any comments submitted in support or in 

opposition to the proposal, may amend the Rules.  

(4) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of 

the proposal to amend rules, shall be sent by the Clerk of the 

Commission to the Bureau in care of Deputy Commissioner 

Douglas C. Stolte, who forthwith shall give further notice of 

the proposal to amend rules by mailing a copy of this Order, 

together with the proposal, to every entity that is licensed, 

approved, registered, or accredited in Virginia under the 

provisions of Tile 38.2 of the Code and also subject to 

solvency regulation in this Commonwealth pursuant to the 

provisions of Title 38.2 of the Code, as well as to all 

interested parties.  

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 

proposal to amend rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia 

Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations.  

(6) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached proposed 

amendments to the rules on the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

(7) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 

an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 

Ordering Paragraph (4) above.  

(8) This matter is continued.  

14VAC5-70-130. Actuarial disclosure and reserves.  

A. A qualified actuary shall be required to describe the 

accelerated benefits, the risks, the expected costs and the 

calculation of statutory reserves in an actuarial memorandum 

accompanying each filing. The insurer shall maintain in its 

files descriptions of the bases and procedures used to 

calculate benefits payable under these provisions. These 

descriptions shall be made available for examination by the 

commission upon request.  

B. 1. When benefits are provided through the acceleration of 

benefits under group or individual life policies or riders to 

such policies, policy reserves shall be determined in 

accordance with §§ 38.2-3126 38.2-1365 through 38.2-3144 

38.2-1385 of the Code of Virginia. All valuation assumptions 

used in constructing the reserves shall be determined as 

appropriate for statutory valuation purposes by a member in 

good standing of the American Academy of Actuaries. 

Mortality tables and interest currently recognized for life 

insurance reserves by the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners may be used as well as appropriate 

assumptions for the other provisions incorporated in the 

policy form. The actuary must follow both actuarial standards 

and certification for good and sufficient reserves. Reserves in 

the aggregate should be sufficient to cover:  

a. Policies upon which no claim has yet arisen.  

b. Policies upon which an accelerated claim has arisen.  

2. For policies and certificates which provide actuarially 

equivalent benefits, no additional reserves need to be 

established.  

3. Policy liens and policy loans, including accrued interest, 

represent assets of the company for statutory reporting 

purposes. For any policy on which the policy lien exceeds 

the policy's statutory reserve liability such excess must be 

held as a nonadmitted asset.  

14VAC5-200-140. Reserve standards.  

A. When long-term care benefits are provided through the 

acceleration of benefits under group or individual life policies 

or riders to such policies, policy reserves for such benefits 

shall be determined in accordance with subdivision 7 of 

§ 38.2-3130 38.2-1369 of the Code of Virginia. Claim 

reserves must also be established in the case when such 

policy or rider is in claim status. Reserves for policies and 

riders subject to this subsection should be based on the 

multiple decrement model utilizing all relevant decrements 

except for voluntary termination rates. Single decrement 

approximations are acceptable if the calculation produces 

essentially similar reserves, if the reserve is clearly more 

conservative, or if the reserve is immaterial. The calculations 

may take into account the reduction in life insurance benefits 

due to the payment of long-term care benefits. However, in 

no event shall the reserves for the long-term care benefit and 

the life insurance benefit be less than the reserves for the life 

insurance benefit assuming no long-term care benefit. In the 

development and calculation of reserves for policies and 

riders subject to this subsection, due regard shall be given to 

the applicable policy provisions, marketing methods, 

administrative procedures and all other considerations which 

have an impact on projected claim costs, including, but not 

limited to, the following:  

1. Definition of insured events;  

2. Covered long-term care facilities;  

3. Existence of home convalescence care coverage;  
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4. Definition of facilities;  

5. Existence or absence of barriers to eligibility;  

6. Premium waiver provision;  

7. Renewability;  

8. Ability to raise premiums;  

9. Marketing method;  

10. Underwriting procedures;  

11. Claims adjustment procedures;  

12. Waiting period;  

13. Maximum benefit;  

14. Availability of eligible facilities;  

15. Margins in claim costs;  

16. Optional nature of benefit;  

17. Delay in eligibility for benefit;  

18. Inflation protection provisions; and  

19. Guaranteed insurability option.  

Any applicable valuation morbidity table shall be certified 

as appropriate as a statutory valuation table by a member of 

the American Academy of Actuaries.  

B. When long-term care benefits are provided other than as 

in Subsection subsection A above of this section, reserves 

shall be determined in accordance with subdivision 7 of 

§ 38.2-3130 of the Code of Virginia 14VAC5-320.  

14VAC5-200-153. Premium rate schedule increases.  

A. This section applies to any long-term care policy or 

certificate issued in this Commonwealth on or after October 

1, 2003.  

B. An insurer shall request the commission's approval of a 

pending premium rate schedule increase, including an 

exceptional increase, prior to the notice to the policyholders 

and shall include:  

1. Information required by 14VAC5-200-75;  

2. Certification by a qualified actuary that:  

a. If the requested premium rate schedule increase is 

implemented and the underlying assumptions, which 

reflect moderately adverse conditions, are realized, no 

further premium rate schedule increases are anticipated;  

b. The premium rate filing is in compliance with the 

provisions of this section;  

3. An actuarial memorandum justifying the rate schedule 

change request that includes:  

a. Lifetime projections of earned premiums and incurred 

claims based on the filed premium rate schedule increase; 

and the method and assumptions used in determining the 

projected values, including reflection of any assumptions 

that deviate from those used for pricing other forms 

currently available for sale;  

(1) Annual values for the five years preceding and the 

three years following the valuation date shall be provided 

separately;  

(2) The projections shall include the development of the 

lifetime loss ratio, unless the rate increase is an 

exceptional increase;  

(3) The projections shall demonstrate compliance with 

subsection C of this section; and  

(4) For exceptional increases,  

(a) The projected experience should be limited to the 

increases in claims expenses attributable to the approved 

reasons for the exceptional increase; and  

(b) In the event the commission determines as provided 

in the definition of exceptional increase in 14VAC5-200-

40 that offsets may exist, the insurer shall use appropriate 

net projected experience;  

b. Disclosure of how reserves have been incorporated in 

this rate increase whenever the rate increase will trigger 

contingent benefit upon lapse;  

c. Disclosure of the analysis performed to determine why 

a rate adjustment is necessary, which pricing assumptions 

were not realized and why, and what other actions taken 

by the company have been relied on by the actuary;  

d. A statement that policy design, underwriting and 

claims adjudication practices have been taken into 

consideration; and  

e. In the event that it is necessary to maintain consistent 

premium rates for new policies and policies receiving a 

rate increase, the insurer will need to file composite rates 

reflecting projections of new policies;  

4. A statement that renewal premium rate schedules are not 

greater than new business premium rate schedules except 

for differences attributable to benefits, unless sufficient 

justification is provided to the commission; and  

5. Sufficient information for review and approval of the 

premium rate schedule increase by the commission.  

C. All premium rate schedule increases shall be determined 

in accordance with the following requirements:  

1. Exceptional increases shall provide that 70% of the 

present value of projected additional premiums from the 

exceptional increase will be returned to policyholders in 

benefits;  

2. Premium rate schedule increases shall be calculated such 

that the sum of the accumulated value of incurred claims, 

without the inclusion of active life reserves, and the present 

value of future projected incurred claims, without the 

inclusion of active life reserves, will not be less than the 

sum of the following:  

a. The accumulated value of the initial earned premium 

times 58%;  
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b. Eighty-five percent of the accumulated value of prior 

premium rate schedule increases on an earned basis;  

c. The present value of future projected initial earned 

premiums times 58%; and  

d. Eighty-five percent of the present value of future 

projected premiums not in subdivision 2 c of this 

subsection on an earned basis;  

3. In the event that a policy form has both exceptional and 

other increases, the values in subdivisions 2 b and d of this 

subsection will also include 70% for exceptional rate 

increase amounts; and  

4. All present and accumulated values used to determine 

rate increases shall use the maximum valuation interest rate 

for contract reserves as specified in § 38.2-3132 of the 

Code of Virginia 14VAC5-320. The actuary shall disclose 

as part of the actuarial memorandum the use of any 

appropriate averages.  

D. For each rate increase that is implemented, the insurer 

shall file for approval by the commission updated projections, 

as defined in subdivision B 3 a of this section, annually for 

the next three years and include a comparison of actual results 

to projected values. The commission may extend the period to 

greater than three years if actual results are not consistent 

with projected values from prior projections. For group 

insurance policies that meet the conditions in subsection K of 

this section, the projections required by subdivision B 3 a of 

this section shall be provided to the policyholder in lieu of 

filing with the commission.  

E. If any increased premium rate in the revised premium rate 

schedule is greater than 200% of the comparable rate in the 

initial premium schedule, the premiums exceeding 200% 

shall be clearly identified and lifetime projections, as defined 

in subdivision B 3 a of this section, shall be filed for approval 

by the commission every five years following the end of the 

required period in subsection D of this section. For group 

insurance policies that meet the conditions in subsection K of 

this section, the projections required by this subsection shall 

be provided to the policyholder in lieu of filing with the 

commission.  

F. 1. If the commission has determined that the actual 

experience following a rate increase does not adequately 

match the projected experience and that the current 

projections under moderately adverse conditions demonstrate 

that incurred claims will not exceed proportions of premiums 

specified in subsection C of this section, the commission may 

require the insurer to implement any of the following:  

a. Premium rate schedule adjustments; or  

b. Other measures to reduce the difference between the 

projected and actual experience.  

It is to be expected that the actual experience will not 

exactly match the insurer's projections. During the period 

that projections are monitored as described in subsections 

D and E of this section, the commission should determine 

that there is not an adequate match if the differences in 

earned premiums and incurred claims are not in the same 

direction (both actual values higher or lower than 

projections) or the difference as a percentage of the 

projected is not of the same order.  

2. In determining whether the actual experience adequately 

matches the projected experience, consideration should be 

given to subdivision B 3 e of this section, if applicable.  

G. If the majority of the policies or certificates to which the 

increase is applicable are eligible for the contingent benefit 

upon lapse, the insurer shall file:  

1. A plan, subject to commission approval, for improved 

administration or claims processing designed to eliminate 

the potential for further deterioration of the policy form 

requiring further premium rate schedule increases or to 

demonstrate that appropriate administration and claims 

processing have been implemented or are in effect; 

otherwise the commission may impose the condition in 

subsection H of this section; and  

2. The original anticipated lifetime loss ratio, and the 

premium rate schedule increase that would have been 

calculated according to subsection C of this section had the 

greater of the original anticipated lifetime loss ratio or 58% 

been used in the calculations described in subdivisions C 2 

a and c of this section.  

H. 1. For a rate increase filing that meets the following 

criteria, the commission shall review, for all policies included 

in the filing, the projected lapse rates and past lapse rates 

during the 12 months following each increase to determine if 

significant adverse lapsation has occurred or is anticipated:  

a. The rate increase is not the first rate increase requested 

for the specific policy form or forms;  

b. The rate increase is not an exceptional increase; and  

c. The majority of the policies or certificates to which the 

increase is applicable are eligible for the contingent 

benefit upon lapse.  

2. In the event significant adverse lapsation has occurred, 

is anticipated in the filing or is evidenced in the actual 

results as presented in the updated projections provided by 

the insurer following the requested rate increase, the 

commission may determine that a rate spiral exists. 

Following the determination that a rate spiral exists, the 

commission may require the insurer to offer, without 

underwriting, to all in force insureds subject to the rate 

increase the option to replace existing coverage with any 

other long-term care insurance product being offered by 

the insurer or its affiliates.  

a. The offer shall:  

(1) Be subject to the approval of the commission;  

(2) Be based on actuarially sound principles, but not be 

based on attained age; and  
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(3) Provide that maximum benefits under any new policy 

accepted by an insured shall be reduced by comparable 

benefits already paid under the existing policy.  

b. The insurer shall maintain the experience of all the 

replacement insureds separate from the experience of 

insureds originally issued the policy forms. In the event 

of a request for a rate increase on the policy form, the 

rate increase shall be limited to the lesser of:  

(1) The maximum rate increase determined based on the 

combined experience; or  

(2) The maximum rate increase determined based only on 

the experience of the insureds originally issued the form 

plus 10%.  

I. If the commission determines that the insurer has 

exhibited a persistent practice of filing inadequate initial 

premium rates for long-term care insurance, the commission 

may, in addition to the provisions of subsection H of this 

section, prohibit the insurer from either of the following:  

1. Filing and marketing comparable coverage for a period 

of up to five years; or  

2. Offering all other similar coverages and limiting 

marketing of new applications to the products subject to 

recent premium rate schedule increases.  

J. Subsections A through I of this section shall not apply to 

policies for which the long-term care benefits provided by the 

policy are incidental, as defined in 14VAC5-200-40, if the 

policy complies with all of the following provisions:  

1. The interest credited internally to determine cash value 

accumulations, including long-term care, if any, are 

guaranteed not to be less than the minimum guaranteed 

interest rate for cash value accumulations without long-

term care set forth in the policy;  

2. The portion of the policy that provides insurance 

benefits other than long-term care coverage meets the 

nonforfeiture requirements as applicable in any of the 

following:  

a. Sections 38.2-3200 through 38.2-3218 of the Code of 

Virginia, and  

b. Sections 38.2-3219 through 38.2-3229 of the Code of 

Virginia;  

3. The policy meets the disclosure requirements of §§ 38.2-

5207.1 and 38.2-5207.2 of the Code of Virginia;  

4. The portion of the policy that provides insurance 

benefits other than long-term care coverage meets the 

requirements as applicable in the following:  

a. Policy illustrations as required by 14VAC5-40 

14VAC5-41; and  

b. Disclosure requirements in 14VAC5-40 14VAC5-41;  

5. An actuarial memorandum is filed with the commission 

that includes:  

a. A description of the basis on which the long-term care 

rates were determined;  

b. A description of the basis for the reserves;  

c. A summary of the type of policy, benefits, 

renewability, general marketing method, and limits on 

ages of issuance;  

d. A description and a table of each actuarial assumption 

used. For expenses, an insurer shall include percent of 

premium dollars per policy and dollars per unit of 

benefits, if any;  

e. A description and a table of the anticipated policy 

reserves and additional reserves to be held in each future 

year for active lives;  

f. The estimated average annual premium per policy and 

the average issue age;  

g. A statement as to whether underwriting is performed at 

the time of application. The statement shall indicate 

whether underwriting is used and, if used, the statement 

shall include a description of the type or types of 

underwriting used, such as medical underwriting or 

functional assessment underwriting. Concerning a group 

policy, the statement shall indicate whether the enrollee 

or any dependent will be underwritten and when 

underwriting occurs; and  

h. A description of the effect of the long-term care policy 

provision on the required premiums, nonforfeiture values 

and reserves on the underlying insurance policy, both for 

active lives and those in long-term care claim status.  

K. Subsections F and H of this section shall not apply to 

group insurance policies as defined in subsections A and C of 

§ 38.2-3521.1 of the Code of Virginia where:  

1. The policies insure 250 or more persons and the 

policyholder has 5,000 or more eligible employees of a 

single employer; or  

2. The policyholder, and not the certificateholders, pays a 

material portion of the premium, which shall not be less 

than 20% of the total premium for the group in the 

calendar year prior to the year a rate increase is filed.  

14VAC5-310-10. Purpose.  

The purpose of this chapter (14VAC5-310) is to prescribe:  

1. Requirements for statements of actuarial opinion that are 

to be submitted in accordance with § 38.2-3127.1 38.2-

1367 of the Code of Virginia, and for memoranda in 

support thereof;  

2. Rules applicable to the appointment of an appointed 

actuary; and  

3. Guidance as to the meaning of "adequacy of reserves."  

14VAC5-310-20. Authority; effective date.  

This chapter (14VAC5-310) is adopted and promulgated by 

the commission pursuant to §§ 12.1-13, 38.2-223, and 38.2-

3127.1 38.2-1367 of the Code of Virginia. This chapter will 
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take effect for annual statements for the year-ending 

December 31, 1992. Except as otherwise specifically 

provided, revisions to this chapter shall be effective upon 

adoption by the commission and applicable as to annual 

statements and actuarial opinions, memoranda, and 

statements of reserves filed with the commission for periods 

ending on or after December 31 of the year in which the 

revision is adopted.  

14VAC5-310-30. Scope.  

A. This chapter (14VAC5-310) shall apply to all companies 

subject to the provisions of § 38.2-3127.1 38.2-1367 of the 

Code of Virginia, including fraternal benefit societies 

licensed under Chapter 41 (§ 38.2-4100 et seq.) of Title 38.2 

and all other companies licensed under Title 38.2 of the Code 

of Virginia to write and reinsure policies or agreements 

providing any form of life, life insurance, or annuity benefits 

as those terms are defined in §§ 38.2-102 through 38.2-107.1 

of the Code of Virginia and also to any life insurer authorized 

to write or reinsure accident and sickness insurance as defined 

in § 38.2-109 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. This chapter shall be applied in a manner that allows the 

appointed actuary to utilize professional judgment in 

performing the asset analysis and developing the actuarial 

opinion and supporting memoranda, consistent with relevant 

actuarial standards of practice unless the commission 

determines particular specifications are necessary for an 

acceptable opinion to be rendered relative to the adequacy of 

reserves and related items. Particular specifications, including 

specific methods of actuarial analysis and actuarial 

assumptions, may be promulgated by rule or order of the 

commission or by an administrative letter issued by the 

Commissioner of Insurance.  

C. This chapter, as reflected in rules adopted by the 

commission by order entered November 5, 1992, in Case No. 

INS920377, shall be applicable to all annual statements filed 

with the commission on or after December 15, 1992, and 

before December 31, 2003. On and after December 31, 2003, 

a statement of opinion on the adequacy of the reserves and 

related actuarial items based on an asset adequacy analysis in 

accordance with 14VAC5-310-80, and a memorandum in 

support thereof in accordance with 14VAC5-310-90, shall be 

required each year in accordance with rules as revised and 

adopted by order of the commission entered in Case No. INS-

2003-00165.  

14VAC5-310-40. Definitions.  

As used in this chapter unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise:  

"Actuarial opinion" means the opinion of an appointed 

actuary regarding the adequacy of reserves and related 

actuarial items based on an asset adequacy analysis in 

accordance with 14VAC5-310-80 and with applicable 

Actuarial Standards of Practice.  

"Actuarial Standards Board" means the board established by 

the American Academy of Actuaries to develop and 

promulgate standards of actuarial practice.  

"Annual statement" means that statement required by § 38.2-

1300 of the Code of Virginia to be filed by the company with 

the commission annually.  

"Appointed actuary" means any individual who is appointed 

or retained in accordance with the requirements set forth in 

14VAC5-310-50 C to provide the actuarial opinion and 

supporting memorandum as required by § 38.2-3127.1 38.2-

1367 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Asset adequacy analysis" means an analysis that meets the 

standards and other requirements referred to in 14VAC5-310-

50 D.  

"Commission" means the Virginia State Corporation 

Commission.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Insurance in 

Virginia unless specific reference is made to another state, in 

which case "commissioner" means the Insurance 

Commissioner, Director, Superintendent or other supervising 

regulatory official of a given state who is responsible for 

administering the insurance laws of that state.  

"Company" means a life insurer, company or fraternal 

benefit society subject to the provisions of this chapter.  

"NAIC" means the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners.  

"Qualified actuary" means any individual who meets the 

requirements set forth in 14VAC5-310-50 B.  

14VAC5-310-50. General requirements for actuarial 

opinions.  

A. The following requirements apply to all companies 

submitting a statement of actuarial opinion in compliance 

with § 38.2-3127.1 38.2-1367 of the Code of Virginia.  

1. There is to be included on or attached to page 1 of the 

annual statement for each year ending on or after 

December 31, 1992, the statement of an appointed actuary, 

entitled "Statement of Actuarial Opinion," setting forth an 

opinion relating to reserves and related actuarial items held 

in support of policies and contracts, in accordance with 

14VAC5-310-80.  

2. Upon written request by the company, the commission 

may grant an extension of the date for submission of the 

statement of actuarial opinion.  

B. A "qualified actuary" is an individual who:  

1. Is a member in good standing of the American Academy 

of Actuaries;  

2. Is qualified to sign statements of actuarial opinion for 

life and health insurance company annual statements in 

accordance with the American Academy of Actuaries 

qualification standards for actuaries signing such 

statements;  
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3. Is familiar with the valuation requirements applicable to 

life and health insurance companies;  

4. Has not been found by the commission (or if so found 

has subsequently been reinstated as a qualified actuary), 

following appropriate notice and hearing, to have:  

a. Violated any provision of, or any obligation imposed 

by Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia or other law in the 

course of his dealings as a qualified actuary;  

b. Been found guilty of fraudulent or dishonest practices;  

c. Demonstrated his incompetency, lack of cooperation, 

or untrustworthiness to act as a qualified actuary;  

d. Submitted to the commission during the past five 

years, pursuant to this chapter, an actuarial opinion or 

memorandum that the commission rejected because it did 

not meet the provisions of this chapter, including 

standards set by the Actuarial Standards Board; or  

e. Resigned or been removed as an actuary within the 

past five years as a result of acts or omissions indicated 

in any adverse report on examination or as a result of 

failure to adhere to generally acceptable actuarial 

standards; and  

5. Has not failed to notify the commission of any action 

taken by the commissioner of any other state similar to that 

under subdivision 4 of this subsection.  

C. An "appointed actuary" is a qualified actuary who is 

appointed or retained to prepare the statement of actuarial 

opinion required by this chapter, either directly by or by the 

authority of the board of directors through an executive 

officer of the company other than the qualified actuary. The 

company shall give the commission timely written notice of 

the name, title (and, in the case of a consulting actuary, the 

name of the firm) and manner of appointment or retention of 

each person appointed or retained by the company as an 

appointed actuary and shall state in such notice that the 

person meets the requirements set forth in 14VAC5-310-50 

B. Once notice is furnished, no further notice is required with 

respect to this person, provided that the company shall give 

the commission timely written notice in the event the actuary 

ceases to be appointed or retained as an appointed actuary or 

to meet the requirements set forth in 14VAC5-310-50 B. If 

any person appointed or retained as an appointed actuary 

replaces a previously appointed actuary, the notice shall so 

state and give the reasons for replacement.  

D. The asset adequacy analysis required by this chapter 

shall:  

1. Conform to the Actuarial Standards of Practice as 

promulgated from time to time by the Actuarial Standards 

Board and on any additional standards under this chapter, 

which standards are to form the basis of the statement of 

actuarial opinion in accordance with 5 this chapter; and  

2. Be based on methods of analysis as are deemed 

appropriate for such purposes by the Actuarial Standards 

Board.  

E. Liabilities shall be covered in conformity with the 

following:  

1. Under authority of § 38.2-3127.1 38.2-1367 of the Code 

of Virginia, the statement of actuarial opinion shall apply 

to all in-force business on the statement date, whether 

directly issued or assumed, regardless of when or where 

issued, (e.g., reserves reportable for 2002 in Exhibits 5, 

5A, 6, and 7 of the NAIC annual statement for life 

insurers; claim liabilities reported in Exhibit 8 (2002) in 

Part I of the life insurer's annual statement, and equivalent 

items in any separate account statement, or other annual 

financial statements filed pursuant to § 38.2-1300, 38.2-

1301 or 38.2-4126 of the Code of Virginia).  

2. If the appointed actuary determines as the result of asset 

adequacy analysis that a reserve should be held in addition 

to the aggregate reserve held by the company and 

calculated in accordance with methods set forth in § 38.2-

1311, 38.2-3923, 38.2-4010, 38.2-4011, or § 38.2-4125 of 

the Code of Virginia; Article 3 (§ 38.2-3136 et seq.) 10 

(§ 38.2-1365 et seq.) of Chapter 31 13 of Title 38.2 of the 

Code of Virginia; a rule or regulation of the commission 

applicable to the company; or any additional or further 

guidance provided by the NAIC Accounting Practices and 

Procedures Manual, whether in a Statement of Statutory 

Accounting Principle or in an actuarial guideline or other 

appendix, the company shall establish the additional 

reserve.  

3. Additional reserves established under subdivision 2 of 

this subsection and deemed not necessary in subsequent 

years may be released. Any amounts released shall be 

disclosed in the actuarial opinion for the applicable year. 

The release of such reserves would not be deemed an 

adoption of a lower standard of valuation.  

14VAC5-310-90. Description of actuarial memorandum 

issued for an asset adequacy analysis and regulatory asset 

adequacy issues summary.  

A. The following general provisions shall apply with respect 

to the preparation and submission of the asset adequacy 

memorandum required by § 38.2-3127.1 38.2-1367 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

1. In accordance with § 38.2-3127.1 38.2-1367 of the Code 

of Virginia, the appointed actuary shall prepare a 

memorandum to the company describing the analysis done 

in support of his opinion regarding the reserves. The 

memorandum shall be made available for examination by 

the commission upon its request but shall be returned to the 

company after such examination and shall not be 

considered a record of the Bureau of Insurance or subject 

to automatic filing with the commission.  

2. In preparing the memorandum, the appointed actuary 

may rely on, and include as a part of his memorandum, 

memoranda prepared and signed by other actuaries who are 

qualified within the meaning of 14VAC5-310-50 B, with 
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respect to the areas covered in such memoranda, and so 

state in their memoranda.  

3. If the commission requests a memorandum and no such 

memorandum exists or if the commission finds that the 

analysis described in the memorandum fails to meet the 

standards of the Actuarial Standards Board or the standards 

and requirements of this chapter, the commission may 

designate a qualified actuary to review the opinion and 

prepare such supporting memorandum as is required for 

review. The reasonable and necessary expense of the 

independent review shall be paid by the company but shall 

be directed and controlled by the commission.  

4. The reviewing actuary shall have the same status as an 

examiner for purposes of obtaining data from the company 

and the work papers and documentation of the reviewing 

actuary shall be retained by the commission; however, any 

information provided by the company to the reviewing 

actuary and included in the work papers shall be 

considered as material provided by the company to the 

commission and shall be kept confidential to the same 

extent as is prescribed by law with respect to other material 

provided by the company to the commission pursuant to 

the statute governing this chapter. The reviewing actuary 

shall not be an employee of a consulting firm involved 

with the preparation of any prior memorandum or opinion 

for the insurer pursuant to this chapter for any one of the 

current year or the preceding three years.  

5. In accordance with § 38.2-3127.1 38.2-1367 of the Code 

of Virginia, the appointed actuary shall prepare a 

regulatory asset adequacy issues summary, the contents of 

which are specified in subsection C of this section. The 

regulatory asset adequacy issues summary shall be 

submitted no later than March 15 of the year following the 

year for which a statement of actuarial opinion based on 

asset adequacy is required. The regulatory asset adequacy 

issues summary is to be kept confidential to the same 

extent and under the same conditions as the actuarial 

memorandum.  

B. A section of the memorandum shall document asset 

adequacy testing by demonstrating that the analysis has been 

done in accordance with the standards for asset adequacy 

referred to in 14VAC5-310-50 D and any additional standards 

under this chapter. It shall specify:  

1. For reserves:  

a. Product descriptions including market description, 

underwriting and other aspects of a risk profile, and the 

specific risks the appointed actuary deems significant;  

b. Source of liability in force;  

c. Reserve method and basis;  

d. Investment reserves;  

e. Reinsurance arrangements;  

f. Identification of any explicit or implied guarantees 

made by the general account in support of benefits 

provided through a separate account policy or contract 

and the methods used by the appointed actuary to provide 

for the guarantees in the asset adequacy analysis; and  

g. Documentation of assumptions to test reserves for (i) 

lapse rates, whether base or excess, (ii) interest crediting 

rate strategy, (iii) mortality, (iv) policyholder dividend 

strategy, (v) competitor or market interest rate, (vi) 

annuitization rates, (vii) commission and expenses, and 

(viii) morbidity.  

The documentation of the assumptions shall be such that 

an actuary reviewing the actuarial memorandum could 

form a conclusion as to the reasonableness of the 

assumption.  

2. For assets:  

a. Portfolio descriptions, including a risk profile 

disclosing the quality, distribution and types of assets;  

b. Investment and disinvestment assumptions;  

c. Source of asset data;  

d. Asset valuation bases; and  

e. Documentation of assumptions made for (i) default 

costs, (ii) bond call function, (iii) mortgage prepayment 

function, (iv) determining market value for assets sold 

due to disinvestment strategy, and (v) determining yield 

on assets acquired through the investment strategy.  

The documentation of the assumptions shall be such that 

an actuary reviewing the actuarial memorandum could 

form a conclusion as to the reasonableness of the 

assumption.  

3. For the analysis basis:  

a. Methodology;  

b. Rationale for inclusion or exclusion of different blocks 

of business and how pertinent risks were analyzed;  

c. Rationale for degree of rigor in analyzing different 

blocks of business, including the rationale for the level of 

"materiality" that was used in determining how 

rigorously to analyze different blocks of business;  

d. Criteria for determining asset adequacy, including in 

the criteria the precise basis for determining if assets are 

adequate to cover reserves under "moderately adverse 

conditions" or other conditions as specified in relevant 

actuarial standards of practice; and  

e. Whether the impact of federal income taxes was 

considered and the method of treating reinsurance in the 

asset adequacy analysis.  

4. Summary of material changes in methods, procedures, 

or assumptions from prior year's asset adequacy analysis;  

5. Summary of results; and  

6. Conclusion.  

C. The regulatory asset adequacy issues summary shall 

contain the name of the company for which the regulatory 

asset adequacy issues summary is being supplied and shall be 
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signed and dated by the appointed actuary rendering the 

actuarial opinion. The regulatory asset adequacy issues 

summary also shall include each of the following:  

1. Descriptions of the scenarios tested, including whether 

those scenarios are stochastic or deterministic, and the 

sensitivity testing done relative to those scenarios. If 

negative ending surplus results under certain tests in the 

aggregate, the actuary should describe those tests and the 

amount of additional reserve as of the valuation date 

which, if held, would eliminate the negative aggregate 

surplus values. Ending surplus values shall be determined 

by either extending the projection period until the in-force 

and associated assets and liabilities at the end of the 

projection period are immaterial or by adjusting the surplus 

amount at the end of the projection period by an amount 

that appropriately estimates the value that reasonably can 

be expected to arise from the assets and liabilities 

remaining in force;  

2. The extent to which the appointed actuary uses 

assumptions in the asset adequacy analysis that are 

materially different from the assumptions used in the 

previous asset adequacy analysis;  

3. The amount of reserves and the identity of the product 

lines that had been subjected to asset adequacy analysis in 

the prior opinion but were not subject to analysis for the 

current opinion;  

4. Comments on any interim results that may be of 

significant concern to the appointed actuary. For example, 

the impact of the insufficiency of assets to support the 

payment of benefits and expenses and the establishment of 

statutory reserves during one or more interim periods;  

5. The methods used by the actuary to recognize the impact 

of reinsurance on the company's cash flows, including both 

assets and liabilities, under each of the scenarios tested; 

and  

6. Whether the actuary has been satisfied that all options 

whether explicit or embedded, in any asset or liability, 

including but not limited to those affecting cash flows 

embedded in fixed income securities, and equity-like 

features in any investments have been appropriately 

considered in the asset adequacy analysis.  

D. The actuarial methods, considerations, and analyses shall 

conform to appropriate standards of practice and the 

memorandum shall include the following statement:  

"Actuarial methods, considerations and analyses used in 

the preparation of this memorandum conform to the 

appropriate Standards of Practice as promulgated by the 

Actuarial Standards Board, which standards form the basis 

for this memorandum."  

E. An appropriate allocation of assets in the amount of 

Interest Maintenance Reserve (IMR), whether positive or 

negative, shall be used in any asset adequacy analysis. 

Analysis of risks regarding asset default shall include an 

appropriate allocation of assets supporting the Asset 

Valuation Reserve (AVR); these AVR assets shall not be 

applied for any other risks with respect to reserve adequacy. 

Analysis of these and other risks shall include assets 

supporting other mandatory or voluntary reserves available to 

the extent not used for risk analysis and reserve support. The 

amount of the assets used for the AVR shall be disclosed in 

the Table of Reserves and Liabilities of the opinion and in the 

memorandum. The method used for selecting particular assets 

or allocated portions of assets shall be disclosed in the 

memorandum.  

14VAC5-319-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"1980 CSO valuation tables" means the Commissioners' 

1980 Standard Ordinary Mortality Table (1980 CSO Table) 

without 10-year selection factors, incorporated into the 1980 

amendments to the NAIC Standard Valuation Law, and 

variations of the 1980 CSO Table approved by the NAIC, 

such as the smoker and nonsmoker versions approved in 

December 1983.  

"Basic reserves" means reserves calculated in accordance 

with § 38.2-3137 38.2-1372 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission 

when acting pursuant to or in accordance with Title 38.2 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

"Contract segmentation method" means the method of 

dividing the period from issue to mandatory expiration of a 

policy into successive segments, with the length of each 

segment being defined as the period from the end of the prior 

segment (from policy inception, for the first segment) to the 

end of the latest policy year as determined below. All 

calculations are made using the 1980 CSO valuation tables, as 

defined in this section, (or any other valuation mortality table 

adopted by the NAIC after January 1, 2000, and promulgated 

by regulation by the commission for this purpose) and, if 

elected, the optional minimum mortality standard for 

deficiency reserves stipulated in 14VAC5-319-40 B.  

The length of a particular contract segment shall be set equal 

to the minimum of the value t for which Gt is greater than Rt 

(if Gt never exceeds Rt, the segment length is deemed to be 

the number of years from the beginning of the segment to the 

mandatory expiration date of the policy), where Gt and Rt are 

defined as follows:  

  Gt = 
GPx+k+t 

GPx+k+t-1 

where:  

x = original issue age;  

k = the number of years from the date of issue to the 

beginning of the segment;  
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t = 1, 2,...; t is reset to 1 at the beginning of each segment; 

and  

GPx+k+t-1 = Guaranteed gross premium per $1,000 of face 

amount for year t of the segment, ignoring policy fees only 

if level for the premium paying period of the policy.  

  Rt = 
qx+k+t 

qx+k+t-1 

where:  

Rt may be increased or decreased by 1.0% in any policy 

year, at the company's option, but Rt shall not be less than 

one; and  

x, k and t are as defined above; and  

qx+k+t-1 = valuation mortality rate for deficiency reserves in 

policy year k+t but using the mortality of 14VAC5-319-40 

B 2 if 14VAC5-319-40 B 3 is elected for deficiency 

reserves. However, if GPx+k+t is greater than 0 and GPx+k+t-1 

is equal to 0, Gt shall be deemed to be 1,000. If GPx+k+t and 

GPx+k+t-1 are both equal to 0, Gt shall be deemed to be 0.  

"Deficiency reserves" means the excess, if greater than 0, of 

(i) minimum reserves calculated in accordance with § 38.2-

3141 38.2-1376 of the Code of Virginia over (ii) basic 

reserves.  

"Guaranteed gross premiums" means the premiums under a 

policy of life insurance that are guaranteed and determined at 

issue.  

"Maximum valuation interest rates" means the interest rates 

defined in § 38.2-3130 38.2-1371 of the Code of Virginia that 

are to be used in determining the minimum standard for the 

valuation of life insurance policies.  

"NAIC" means the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners.  

"Scheduled gross premium" means the smallest illustrated 

gross premium at issue for other than universal life insurance 

policies. For universal life insurance policies, scheduled gross 

premium means the smallest specified premium described in 

14VAC5-319-60 A 3 or, if none is so described, the minimum 

premium described in 14VAC5-319-60 A 4.  

"Segmented reserves" means reserves, calculated using 

segments produced by the contract segmentation method, 

equal to the present value of all future guaranteed benefits 

less the present value of all future net premiums to the 

mandatory expiration of a policy, where the net premiums 

within each segment are a uniform percentage of the 

respective guaranteed gross premiums within the segment. 

The uniform percentage for each segment is such that, at the 

beginning of the segment, the present value of the net 

premiums within the segment equals:  

1. The present value of the death benefits within the 

segment, plus  

2. The present value of any unusual guaranteed cash value 

(see 14VAC5-319-50 D) occurring at the end of the 

segment, less  

3. Any unusual guaranteed cash value occurring at the start 

of the segment, plus  

4. For the first segment only, the excess of subdivision 4 a 

over subdivision 4 b of this definition, as follows:  

a. A net level annual premium equal to the present value, 

at the date of issue, of the benefits provided for in the 

first segment after the first policy year, divided by the 

present value, at the date of issue, of an annuity of one 

per year payable on the first and each subsequent 

anniversary within the first segment on which a premium 

falls due. However, the net level annual premium shall 

not exceed the net level annual premium on the 19-year 

premium whole life plan of insurance of the same 

renewal year equivalent level amount at an age one year 

higher than the age at issue of the policy.  

b. A net one-year term premium for the benefits provided 

for in the first policy year.  

The length of each segment is determined by the "contract 

segmentation method," as defined in this section.  

The interest rates used in the present value calculations for 

any policy may not exceed the maximum valuation interest 

rate, determined with a guarantee duration equal to the sum of 

the lengths of all segments of the policy.  

For both basic reserves and deficiency reserves computed by 

the segmented method, present values shall include future 

benefits and net premiums in the current segment and in all 

subsequent segments.  

"Tabular cost of insurance" means the net single premium at 

the beginning of a policy year for one-year term insurance in 

the amount of the guaranteed death benefit in that policy year.  

"Ten-year select mortality factors" means the select factors 

adopted by the NAIC with the 1980 amendments to the NAIC 

Standard Valuation Law.  

"This regulation" means Chapter 319 of Title 14 of the 

Virginia Administrative Code (14VAC5-319-10 et seq.), 

which also shall be known as the commission's Rules 

Establishing Minimum Valuation and Reserve Standards for 

Life Insurance Policies.  

"Twenty-year select mortality factors" means the select 

factors adopted by the NAIC as part of the Valuation of Life 

Insurance Policies Model Regulation and shown in the tables 

in 14VAC5-319-70.  

"Unitary reserves" means the present value of all future 

guaranteed benefits less the present value of all future 

modified net premiums, where:  

1. Guaranteed benefits and modified net premiums are 

considered to the mandatory expiration of the policy; and  

2. Modified net premiums are a uniform percentage of the 

respective guaranteed gross premiums, where the uniform 
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percentage is such that, at issue, the present value of the 

net premiums equals the present value of all death benefits 

and pure endowments, plus the excess of subdivision 2 a 

over subdivision 2 b of this definition, as follows:  

a. A net level annual premium equal to the present value, 

at the date of issue, of the benefits provided for after the 

first policy year, divided by the present value, at the date 

of issue, of an annuity of one per year payable on the first 

and each subsequent anniversary of the policy on which a 

premium falls due. However, the net level annual 

premium shall not exceed the net level annual premium 

on the 19-year premium whole life plan of insurance of 

the same renewal year equivalent level amount at an age 

one year higher than the age at issue of the policy.  

b. A net one-year term premium for the benefits provided 

for in the first policy year.  

The interest rates used in the present value calculations 

for any policy may not exceed the maximum valuation 

interest rate, determined with a guarantee duration equal 

to the length from issue to the mandatory expiration of 

the policy.  

"Universal life insurance policy" means any individual life 

insurance policy under the provisions of which separately 

identified interest credits (other than in connection with 

dividend accumulations, premium deposit funds or other 

supplementary accounts) and mortality or expense charges are 

made to the policy.  

"YRT" means yearly renewable term.  

14VAC5-321-10. Authority.  

This chapter is promulgated by the commission, pursuant to 

§ 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia and in accordance with 

§§ 38.2-3130 38.2-1369, 38.2-3206 through 38.2-3209, and 

38.2-4120 of the Code of Virginia and 14VAC5-319-40, to 

approve, recognize, permit, and prescribe the use of the 2001 

Commissioners Standard Ordinary (CSO) Mortality Table by 

and for insurers transacting the business of insurance in this 

Commonwealth.  

14VAC5-321-30. 2001 CSO Mortality Table. 

A. At the election of the insurer for any one or more 

specified plans of insurance and subject to the conditions 

stated in this chapter, the 2001 CSO Mortality Table may be 

used as the minimum standard for policies issued on or after 

January 1, 2004, and before the date specified in subsection B 

of this section to which subdivision 1 of § 38.2-3130 38.2-

1369 and § 38.2-3209 of the Code of Virginia are applicable. 

If the insurer elects to use the 2001 CSO Mortality Table, it 

shall do so for both valuation and nonforfeiture purposes. 

B. Subject to the conditions stated in this chapter, the 2001 

CSO Mortality Table shall be used in determining minimum 

standards for policies issued on and after January 1, 2009, to 

which subdivision 1 of § 38.2-3130 38.2-1369 and § 38.2-

3209 of the Code of Virginia are applicable. 

C. A table from the 2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure 

Mortality Table used in place of a 2001 CSO Mortality Table, 

pursuant to the requirements of 14VAC5-322, will be treated 

as part of the 2001 CSO Mortality Table only for purposes of 

reserve valuation pursuant to the requirements of this chapter. 

14VAC5-321-40. Conditions.  

A. For policies issued on or after July 1, 2004, with each 

plan of insurance with separate rates for smokers and 

nonsmokers an insurer may use:  

1. Composite mortality tables to determine minimum 

reserve liabilities and minimum cash surrender values and 

amounts of paid-up nonforfeiture benefits;  

2. Smoker and nonsmoker mortality tables to determine the 

valuation net premiums and additional minimum reserves, 

if any, required by § 38.2-3141 38.2-1376 of the Code of 

Virginia and use composite mortality tables to determine 

the basic minimum reserves, minimum cash surrender 

values, and amounts of paid-up nonforfeiture benefits; or  

3. Smoker and nonsmoker mortality tables to determine 

minimum reserve liabilities and minimum cash surrender 

values and amounts of paid-up nonforfeiture benefits.  

B. For policies issued on or after July 1, 2004, with plans of 

insurance without separate rates for smokers and nonsmokers 

the composite mortality tables shall be used.  

C. For the purpose of determining minimum reserve 

liabilities and minimum cash surrender values and amounts of 

paid-up nonforfeiture benefits, the 2001 CSO Mortality Table 

may, at the option of the insurer for each such plan of 

insurance, be used in its ultimate or select and ultimate form, 

subject to the restrictions of 14VAC5-321-50 and 14VAC5-

319 relative to use of the select and ultimate form.  

D. When the 2001 CSO Mortality Table is the minimum 

reserve standard for any plan for an insurer, any actuarial 

opinion in the annual statement filed with the commission 

shall be based on an asset adequacy analysis that meets the 

standards and satisfies requirements for an asset adequacy 

analysis performed pursuant to subdivision A 2 of § 38.2-

3127.1 B 38.2-1367 of the Code of Virginia and rules 

governing actuarial opinions and memoranda at 14VAC5-

310.  

14VAC5-322-10. Authority.  

This chapter is promulgated by the commission, pursuant to 

§ 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia and in accordance with 

§ 38.2-3130 38.2-1369 of the Code of Virginia and 14VAC5-

319-40, to approve, recognize, permit, and prescribe the use 

of the 2001 Commissioners Standard Ordinary (CSO) 

Preferred Class Structure Mortality Table by and for insurers 

transacting the business of insurance in this Commonwealth.  

14VAC5-323-10. Authority. 

This chapter is promulgated by the commission, pursuant to 

§ 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia and in accordance with 

§§ 38.2-3130 38.2-1369, 38.2-3206 through 38.2-3209, and 
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38.2-4120 of the Code of Virginia and 14VAC5-319-40, to 

approve, recognize, permit, and prescribe the use of the 1980 

Commissioners Standard Ordinary (CSO) Life Valuation 

Mortality Table for use in determining the minimum standard 

of valuation of reserves and the minimum standard 

nonforfeiture values for insurers offering preneed insurance in 

this Commonwealth. 

14VAC5-323-40. Minimum valuation interest rate 

standards. 

A. The interest rates used in determining the minimum 

standard for valuation of preneed insurance shall be the 

calendar year statutory valuation interest rates as defined in 

§§ 38.2-3133 through 38.2-3136 § 38.2-1371 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

B. The interest rates used in determining the minimum 

standard for nonforfeiture values for preneed insurance shall 

be the calendar year statutory nonforfeiture interest rates as 

defined in § 38.2-3209 of the Code of Virginia. 

14VAC5-323-50. Minimum valuation method standards. 

A. The method used in determining the standard for the 

minimum valuation of reserves of preneed insurance shall be 

the method defined in §§ 38.2-3129 38.2-1368 and 38.2-3130 

38.2-1369 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The method used in determining the standard for the 

minimum nonforfeiture values for preneed insurance shall be 

the method defined in § 38.2-3209 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4085; Filed September 16, 2014, 2:10 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-211. Rules Governing Health 

Maintenance Organizations (amending 14VAC5-211-20, 

14VAC5-211-70, 14VAC5-211-80, 14VAC5-211-90, 

14VAC5-211-130, 14VAC5-211-160, 14VAC5-211-170, 

14VAC5-211-180, 14VAC5-211-190, 14VAC5-211-210, 

14VAC5-211-220, 14VAC5-211-230, 14VAC5-211-240; 

adding 14VAC5-211-165; repealing 14VAC5-211-60, 

14VAC5-211-100, 14VAC5-211-110, 14VAC5-211-120, 

14VAC5-211-200, 14VAC5-211-260).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Robert Grissom, Chief Insurance Market 

Examiner, Life and Health Division, Bureau of Insurance, 

State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, 

VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9152, FAX (804) 371-9944, 

or email bob.grissom@scc.virginia.gov 

Summary:  

The amendments remove conversion requirements, modify 

point-of-service benefits, and establish "reasonable 

assurance" criteria to conform to new provisions of the 

Code of Virginia enacted by the 2014 General Assembly. 

In addition, the amendments incorporate various new state 

statutory requirements, including those that appear in 

§§ 38.2-3444, 38.2-3451, and 38.2-3452 of the Code of 

Virginia and safeguard against potential conflicts between 

the rules and the provisions of the Affordable Care Act. 

Changes since publication of the proposed rule include (i) 

revising the definitions section by adding a reference to the 

definition of "excepted benefits" that appears in § 38.2-

3431 of the Code of Virginia and revising the definition of 

"out-of-pocket maximum"; (iii) clarifying the continuation 

of coverage provisions in subdivisions A 1, 2, and 3 and 

subsection C of 14VAC5-211-70; (iii) in 14VAC5-211-90, 

clarifying that a grandfathered plan that excludes a 

deductible from the out-of-pocket maximum may continue 

to do so as long as the plan remains grandfathered in; (iv) 

adding the words "enrollment and" prior to "eligibility 

requirements" in subdivision B 14 of 14VAC5-211-210; 

and (v) minor wording changes to clarify several other 

sections. 

AT RICHMOND, SEPTEMBER 9, 2014 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2014-00118 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 

Amending the Rules Governing  

Health Maintenance Organizations 

ORDER ADOPTING RULES 

By Order to Take Notice ("Order") entered June 4, 2014, all 

interested persons were ordered to take notice that subsequent 

to August 1, 2014, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") would consider the entry of an order to adopt 

amendments to the Rules Governing Health Maintenance 

Organizations at Chapter 211 of Title 14 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code ("Rules"), which amend the Rules at 

14 VAC 5-211-20, 14 VAC 5-211-70 through 14 VAC 5-

211-90, 14 VAC 5-211-130, 14 VAC 5-211-160 through 

14 VAC 5-211-190, 14 VAC 5-211-210 through 14 VAC 5-

211-240; add new Rules at 14 VAC 5-211-165; and repeal the 

Rules at 14 VAC 5-211-60, 14 VAC 5-211-100 through 

14 VAC 5-211-120, 14 VAC 5-211-200, and 14 VAC 5-211-

260. These amendments were proposed by the Bureau of 

Insurance ("Bureau"). 

The amendments to the Rules were proposed to conform the 

Rules to new provisions of the Code of Virginia ("Code") 

passed by the 2014 General Assembly that remove 

conversion requirements, modify point-of-service benefits, 

and establish "reasonable assurance" criteria. In addition, the 

amendments to the Rules incorporate various new state 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 6, 2014 

151 

statutory requirements, including those that appear in §§ 38.2-

3444, 38.2-3451, and 38.2-3452 of the Code, and safeguard 

against potential conflicts between the Rules and the 

provisions of the federal Affordable Care Act (P.L. 111-148, 

as amended). 

The Order required that on or before August 1, 2014, any 

person requesting a hearing on the amendments to the Rules 

shall have filed such request for hearing with the Clerk of the 

Commission ("Clerk"). No request for a hearing was filed 

with the Clerk. 

The Order also required all interested persons to file their 

comments in support of or in opposition to the amendments to 

the Rules on or before August 1, 2014. The Bureau received 

one comment, which was timely filed with the Clerk, from 

Kaiser Foundation Health Plan of Mid-Atlantic States, Inc. 

The Bureau provided a response to these comments, which it 

filed with the Clerk on August 18, 2014 ("Response"). 

As a result of the comments received, the Bureau 

recommended in its Response that the Rules be further 

revised to include: (i) the addition of a reference to the 

definition of "excepted benefits" that appears in § 38.2-3431 

of the Code into the definition of "individual health insurance 

coverage" in 14 VAC 5-211-20; (ii) the revision of the 

definition of "out-of-pocket maximum" in 14 VAC 5-211-20; 

(iii) the revision of subdivisions A 1, 2, and 3 and subsection 

C of 14 VAC 5-211-70 to clarify the continuation of coverage 

provisions; (iv) the addition of subsection C to 14 VAC 5-

211-90 to clarify that a grandfathered plan that excludes a 

deductible from the out-of-pocket maximum may continue to 

do so as long as the plan remains grandfathered; (v) the 

revision of subdivision B 14 of 14 VAC 5-211-210 to add in 

the words "enrollment and" prior to "eligibility 

requirements"; and (vi) additional minor wording revisions 

for clarification in several other sections. 

The Bureau has submitted the Rules, as amended, to the 

Commission, and the Bureau recommends that the Rules be 

adopted as revised. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered this matter, 

the filed comments, the Bureau's Response to the comments, 

and the Bureau's recommendation to further amend and revise 

the Rules, is of the opinion that the Rules should be adopted 

as amended and revised. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The amendments and revisions to the Rules Governing 

Health Maintenance Organizations at Chapter 211 of Title 14 

of the Virginia Administrative Code, which amend the Rules 

at 14 VAC 5-211-20, 14 VAC 5-211-70 through 14 VAC 5-

211-90, 14 VAC 5-211-130, 14 VAC 5-211-160 through 

14 VAC 5-211-190, 14 VAC 5-211-210 through 14 VAC 5-

211-240; add new Rules at 14 VAC 5-211-165; and repeal the 

Rules at 14 VAC 5-211-60, 14 VAC 5-211-100 through 

14 VAC 5-211-120, 14 VAC 5-211-200, and 14 VAC 5-211-

260, and are attached hereto and made a part hereof, are 

hereby ADOPTED to be effective January 1, 2015. 

(2) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of 

the adopted Rules, shall be sent by the Clerk to the Bureau in 

care of Deputy Commissioner Althelia P. Battle, who 

forthwith shall give further notice of the adopted Rules by 

mailing a copy of this Order, together with a clean copy of the 

adopted Rules, to all health maintenance organizations 

licensed by the Commission, and to all interested persons.  

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 

adopted Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached adopted 

Rules on the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

(5) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk an affidavit of 

compliance with the notice requirements of Ordering 

Paragraph (2) above. 

14VAC5-211-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"ACA" means the Patient Protection and Affordable Care 

Act (P.L. 111-148), as amended by the Health Care and 

Education Reconciliation Act of 2010 (P.L. 111-152) and any 

federal regulations issued pursuant thereto. 

"Allowable charge" means the amount from which the 

health maintenance organization's payment to a provider for 

any covered item or service is determined before taking into 

account the enrollee's cost sharing. 

"Basic health care services" means in-area and out-of-area 

emergency services, inpatient hospital and physician care, 

outpatient medical services, laboratory and radiologic 

services, and preventive health services as further described 

in 14VAC5-211-160 and mental health and substance use 

disorder services, or all essential health benefits required 

under § 38.2-3451 of the Code of Virginia. "Basic health care 

services" also means limited treatment of mental illness and 

substance abuse in accordance with the minimum standards 

as may be prescribed by the commission, which shall not 

exceed the level of services mandated for insurance carriers 

pursuant to Chapter 34 (§ 38.2-3400 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. In the case of a health maintenance 

organization that has contracted with this Commonwealth to 

furnish basic health care services to recipients of medical 

assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security Act 

(42 USC § 1396 et seq.) pursuant to § 38.2-4320 of the Code 

of Virginia, the basic health care services to be provided by 

the health maintenance organization to program recipients 

may differ from the basic health care services required by this 

chapter to the extent necessary to meet the benefit standards 
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prescribed by the state plan for medical assistance services 

authorized pursuant to § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Coinsurance" means a copayment, expressed as a 

percentage of the allowable charge for a specific health care 

service.  

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission.  

"Conversion contract" means an individual contract that the 

health maintenance organization issues after a conversion 

option has been exercised.  

"Copayment" means an amount an enrollee is required to 

pay in order to receive a specific health care service. 

"Cost sharing" means any coinsurance, copayment, or 

deductible. 

"Deductible" means an a dollar amount an enrollee is 

required to pay out of pocket before the health care plan 

begins to pay pays the costs associated with certain health 

care services. 

"Dependent" means the spouse, child, or other class of 

persons of a subscriber or eligible employee, subject to the 

applicable terms of the policy, contract, or plan.  

"Emergency services" shall have the same meaning as 

§ 38.2-3438 of the Code of Virginia and means those health 

care services that are rendered by affiliated or nonaffiliated 

providers after the sudden onset of a medical condition that 

manifests itself by symptoms of sufficient severity, including 

severe pain, that the absence of immediate medical attention 

could reasonably be expected by a prudent layperson who 

possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine to 

result in (i) serious jeopardy to the mental or physical health 

of the individual, (ii) danger of serious impairment of the 

individual's bodily functions, (iii) serious dysfunction of any 

of the individual's bodily organs, or (iv) in the case of a 

pregnant woman, serious jeopardy to the health of the fetus. 

Emergency services provided within the plan's service area 

shall include covered health care services from nonaffiliated 

providers only when delay in receiving care from a provider 

affiliated with the health maintenance organization could 

reasonably be expected to cause the enrollee's condition to 

worsen if left unattended.  

"Enrollee" or "member" means an individual who is enrolled 

in a health care plan a policyholder, subscriber, participant, 

member, or other individual covered by a health benefit plan. 

"Essential health benefits" includes the following general 

categories and items and services covered within the 

categories in accordance with regulations issued pursuant to 

the ACA: (i) ambulatory patient services; (ii) emergency 

services; (iii) hospitalization; (iv) laboratory services; (v) 

maternity and newborn care; (vi) mental health and substance 

use disorder services; (vii) pediatric services, including oral 

and vision care; (viii) prescription drugs; (ix) preventive and 

wellness services and chronic disease management; and (x) 

rehabilitative and habilitative services and devices.  

"Evidence of coverage" means a certificate, individual or 

group agreement or contract, or identification card issued in 

conjunction with the certificate, agreement or contract, issued 

to a subscriber setting out the coverage and other rights to 

which an enrollee is entitled.  

"Excess insurance" or "stop loss insurance" means insurance 

issued to a health maintenance organization by an insurer 

licensed in this Commonwealth, on a form approved by the 

commission, or a risk assumption transaction acceptable to 

the commission, providing indemnity or reimbursement 

against the cost of health care services provided by the health 

maintenance organization. 

"Exchange certified stand-alone dental plan" means a 

limited dental care services plan that has been approved to 

meet the criteria for certification pursuant to the ACA. 

"Grandfathered plan" means coverage provided by a health 

carrier to (i) a small employer on March 23, 2010; (ii) an 

individual who was enrolled on March 23, 2010, including 

any extension of coverage to an individual who becomes a 

dependent of a grandfathered enrollee after March 23, 2010; 

or (iii) an employee who enrolls in the employer's 

grandfathered plan after March 23, 2010, for as long as such 

plan maintains that status in accordance with the ACA.  

"Group contract" means a contract for health care services 

issued by a health maintenance organization, which by its 

terms limits the eligibility of subscribers and enrollees to a 

specified group. 

"Group health plan" means an employee welfare benefit 

plan as defined in § 3(1) of the Employee Retirement Income 

Security Act of 1974 (ERISA) (29 USC § 1002(1)) to the 

extent that the plan provides medical care within the meaning 

of § 733(a) of ERISA (29 USC § 1191b(a)) to employees, 

including both current and former employees, or their 

dependents as defined under the terms of the plan directly or 

through insurance, reimbursement, or otherwise. 

"Health benefit plan" or "health care plan" means an 

arrangement in which a person undertakes to provide, arrange 

for, pay for, or reimburse a part of the cost of health care 

services. A significant part of the arrangement shall consist of 

arranging for or providing health care services, including 

emergency services and services rendered by nonparticipating 

referral providers, as distinguished from mere indemnification 

against the cost of the services, on a prepaid basis. For 

purposes of this chapter, a significant part shall mean at least 

90% of total costs of health care services.  

"Health care professional" means a physician or other health 

care practitioner licensed, accredited, or certified to perform 

specified health care services consistent with state law. 

"Health care services" means the furnishing of services to an 

individual for the purpose of preventing, alleviating, curing, 

or healing human illness, injury or physical disability. 

"Health insurance exchange" means a health benefit 

exchange established or operated in the Commonwealth 
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pursuant to § 1311(b) of the ACA, including the Federally 

Facilitated Marketplace established pursuant to § 1321 of the 

ACA. 

"Health maintenance organization" means a person who 

undertakes to provide or arrange for one or more health care 

plans. A health maintenance organization is deemed to be 

offering one or more managed care health insurance plans and 

is subject to Chapter 58 (§ 38.2-5800 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Individual health insurance coverage" means health 

insurance coverage offered to individuals in the individual 

market, but does not include [ coverage defined as ] excepted 

benefits [ as defined in § 38.2-3431 of the Code of Virginia ]. 

Individual health insurance coverage does not include short-

term limited duration coverage. 

"Individual market" means the market for health insurance 

coverage offered to individuals other than in connection with 

a group health plan. 

"Large employer" means, in connection with a group health 

plan or health insurance coverage with respect to a calendar 

year and a plan year, an employer who employed an average 

of at least 51 employees on business days during the 

preceding calendar year and who employs at least one 

employee on the first day of the plan year. Effective January 

1, 2016, "large employer" means, in connection with a group 

health plan or health insurance coverage with respect to a 

calendar year and a plan year, an employer who employed an 

average of at least 101 employees on business days during the 

preceding calendar year and who employs at least one 

employee on the first day of the plan year. 

"Large group market" means the health insurance market 

under which individuals obtain health insurance coverage 

(directly or through any arrangement) on behalf of themselves 

(and their dependents) through a group health plan 

maintained by a large employer. 

"Limited health care services" means dental care services, or 

vision care services, mental health services, substance abuse 

services, pharmaceutical services, and other services as may 

be determined by the commission to be limited health care 

services. Limited health care services shall not include 

hospital, medical, surgical or emergency services unless the 

services are provided incidental to the limited health care 

services set forth in the preceding sentence.  

"Medical necessity" or "medically necessary" means 

appropriate and necessary health care services that are 

rendered for a condition which, according to generally 

accepted principles of good medical practice, requires the 

diagnosis or direct care and treatment of an illness, injury, or 

pregnancy-related condition, and are not provided only as a 

convenience.  

"NAIC" means the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners.  

"Net worth" or "capital and surplus" means the excess of 

total admitted assets over the total liabilities of the health 

maintenance organization, provided that surplus notes shall 

be reported and accounted for in accordance with § 38.2-4300 

of the Code of Virginia.  

"Nonparticipating referral provider" means a provider who 

is not a participating provider but with whom a health 

maintenance organization has arranged, through referral by its 

participating providers, to provide health care services to 

enrollees. Payment or reimbursement by a health maintenance 

organization for health care services provided by 

nonparticipating referral providers may exceed 5.0% of total 

costs of health care services, only to the extent that any 

excess payment or reimbursement over 5.0% shall be 

combined with the costs for services that represent mere 

indemnification, with the combined amount subject to the 

combination of limitations set forth in this definition and in 

this section's definition of health care plan.  

"Out-of-area services" means the health care services that 

the health maintenance organization covers may cover when 

its members enrollees are outside the geographical limits of 

the health maintenance organization's service area.  

"Out-of-pocket maximum" means the maximum dollar 

amount that an enrollee is required to pay during a plan or 

policy year before the health benefit plan [ begins to pay 

pays ] 100% of [ the allowable charges for ] covered basic 

health care services [ for the balance of the plan or policy 

year ]. This amount shall include deductibles, coinsurance or 

copayments, and any other expenditure required of an 

enrollee for any covered medical expense. This limit may or 

may not include premiums, balance billed amounts for out-of-

network services, or payments for services that are not basic 

health care services. 

"Participating provider" or "affiliated provider" means a 

provider who has agreed to provide health care services to 

enrollees and to hold those enrollees harmless from payment 

with an expectation of receiving payment, other than 

copayments or deductibles, directly or indirectly from the 

health maintenance organization. 

"Point-of-service benefit" means a health maintenance 

organization's delivery system or covered benefits, or the 

delivery system or covered benefits of another carrier under 

contract or arrangement with the health maintenance 

organization, that permit an enrollee to receive covered items 

and services outside of the provider panel of the health 

maintenance organization under the terms and conditions of 

the group contract holder's group health benefit plan with the 

health maintenance organization or with another carrier 

arranged by or under contract with the health maintenance 

organization and that otherwise complies with § 38.2-3407.12 

of the Code of Virginia.  

"Preexisting condition exclusion" means a limitation or 

exclusion of benefits, including a denial of coverage, based 

on the fact that the condition was present before the effective 
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date of coverage, or if the coverage is denied, the date of 

denial, whether or not any medical advice, diagnosis, care, or 

treatment was recommended or received before the effective 

date of coverage. "Preexisting condition exclusion" also 

includes a condition identified as a result of a pre-enrollment 

questionnaire or physical examination given to an individual, 

or review of medical records relating to the pre-enrollment 

period. 

"Premium" means all moneys paid by an employer, eligible 

employee, or covered person as a condition of coverage from 

a health carrier, including fees and other contributions 

associated with the health benefit plan. 

"Primary care health care professional" means a health care 

professional who provides initial and primary care to 

enrollees; who supervises, coordinates, and maintains 

continuity of patient care; and who may initiate referrals for 

specialist care, if referrals are a requirement of the enrollee's 

health care coverage. 

"Provider" or "health care provider" means a physician, 

hospital, or other person that is licensed or otherwise 

authorized to furnish health care services.  

"Rescission" means a cancellation or discontinuance of 

coverage under a health care plan that has a retroactive effect. 

"Rescission" does not include: (i) a cancellation or 

discontinuance of coverage under a health care plan if the 

cancellation or discontinuance of coverage has only a 

prospective effect, or the cancellation or discontinuance of 

coverage is effective retroactively to the extent it is 

attributable to a failure to timely pay required premiums or 

contributions towards the cost of coverage; or (ii) a 

cancellation or discontinuance of coverage when the health 

care plan covers active employees and, if applicable, 

dependents and those covered under continuation coverage 

provisions, if the employee pays no premiums for coverage 

after termination of employment and the cancellation or 

discontinuance of coverage is effective retroactively back to 

the date of termination of employment due to a delay in 

administrative recordkeeping. 

"Service area" means a clearly defined geographic area in 

which the health maintenance organization has directly or 

indirectly arranged for the provision of health care services to 

be generally available and readily accessible to enrollees. 

"Small employer" means in connection with a group health 

plan or health insurance coverage with respect to a calendar 

year and a plan year, an employer who employed an average 

of at least one but not more than 50 employees on business 

days during the preceding calendar year and who employs at 

least one employee on the first day of the plan year. Effective 

January 1, 2016, "small employer" means in connection with 

a group health plan or health insurance coverage with respect 

to a calendar year and a plan year, an employer who 

employed an average of at least one but not more than 100 

employees on business days during the preceding calendar 

year and who employs at least one employee on the first day 

of the plan year. 

"Small group market" means the health insurance market 

under which individuals obtain health insurance coverage 

(directly or through any arrangement) on behalf of themselves 

(and their dependents) through a group health plan 

maintained by a small employer.  

"Specialist" means a licensed health care provider to whom 

an enrollee may be referred by his primary care health care 

professional and who is certified or eligible for certification 

by the appropriate specialty board, where applicable, to 

provide health care services in a specialized area of health 

care.  

"Subscriber" means a contract holder, an individual enrollee, 

or the enrollee in an enrolled family or enrollee who is 

responsible for payment to the health maintenance 

organization or on whose behalf the payment is made.  

"Supplemental health care services" means health care 

services that may be offered by a health maintenance 

organization in addition to the required basic health care 

services.  

"Surplus notes" means those instruments that meet the 

requirements of 14VAC5-211-40.  

Part III  

Contract Requirements  

14VAC5-211-60. Filing requirements. (Repealed.)  

A. A contract, evidence of coverage, or amendment shall not 

be delivered or issued for delivery in this Commonwealth 

until a copy of the form or amendment has been filed with 

and approved by the commission pursuant to § 38.2-4306 of 

the Code of Virginia. The contract, evidence of coverage, or 

amendment shall be identified by a form number in the lower 

left-hand corner of the first page. If the commission does not 

disapprove a form within 30 days of its filing, it shall be 

deemed approved unless the filer is notified in writing that 

this period is extended by the commission for an additional 

30 days.  

B. A schedule of charges or amendment shall not be put into 

effect in conjunction with a health care plan until a copy of 

the schedule or amendment has been filed with the 

commission pursuant to § 38.2-4306 of the Code of Virginia.  

14VAC5-211-70. Conversion Continuation of coverage. 

A. A health care plan shall offer to its group contract 

holders, for an An enrollee whose eligibility for coverage 

terminates under the group contract, the options to convert to 

an individual policy or continue coverage as set forth in this 

section. The group contract holder shall select one of the 

following options: 1. Conversion of coverage within 31 days 

after issuance of the written notice required in subsection C of 

this section, but in no event beyond the 60-day period 

following the date of termination of the enrollee's coverage 

under the group contract, to an individual contract that 

provides benefits which, at a minimum, meet the 
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requirements of basic or limited health care services as 

applicable, in accordance with this chapter. Coverage shall 

not be refused on the basis that the enrollee no longer resides 

or is employed in the health maintenance organization's 

service area. The conversion contract shall cover the enrollee 

covered under the group contract as of the date of termination 

of the enrollee's coverage under the group contract. Coverage 

shall be provided without additional evidence of insurability, 

and no preexisting condition limitations or exclusions may be 

imposed other than those remaining unexpired under the 

contract from which conversion is exercised. A probationary 

or waiting period set forth in the conversion contract shall be 

deemed to commence on the effective date of coverage under 

the original contract. 2. Continuation of shall have the 

opportunity to continue coverage under the existing group 

contract for a period of at least 12 months immediately 

following the date of termination of the enrollee's eligibility 

for coverage under the group contract. Continuation coverage 

shall not be applicable if the group contract holder is required 

by federal law to provide for continuation of coverage under 

its group health plan pursuant to the Consolidated Omnibus 

Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA) (P.L. 99-272). 

Coverage shall be provided without additional evidence of 

insurability subject to the following requirements: 

a. 1. The application and payment for the [ extended 

continued ] coverage is made to the group contract holder 

within 31 days after issuance of the written notice required 

in subsection C of this section, but in no event beyond the 

60-day period following the date of the termination of the 

person's eligibility; 

b. 2. Each premium for the [ extended continued ] coverage 

is timely paid to the group contract holder on a monthly 

basis during the 12-month period; and 

c. 3. The premium for continuing the group coverage shall 

be at the health care plan's current rate applicable to 

[ similarly situated individuals under ] the group contract 

plus any applicable administrative fee not to exceed 2.0% 

of the current rate. 

B. A conversion contract or continuation of coverage shall 

not be required to be made available when:  

1. The enrollee is covered by or is eligible for benefits 

under Title XVIII of the Social Security Act (42 USC 

§ 1395 et seq.) known as Medicare;  

2. The enrollee is covered by or is eligible for substantially 

the same level of hospital, medical, and surgical benefits 

under state or federal law;  

3. 2. The enrollee is covered by substantially the same 

level of benefits under any policy, contract, or plan for 

individuals in a group;  

4. 3. The enrollee has not been continuously covered 

during the three-month period immediately preceding the 

enrollee's termination of coverage;  

5. 4. The enrollee was terminated by the health care plan 

for any of the reasons stated in 14VAC5-211-230 A 1, 2, 

or 5 2, or coverage was rescinded; or  

6. 5. The enrollee was terminated from a plan administered 

by the Department of Medical Assistance Services that 

provided benefits pursuant to Title XIX or XXI of the 

Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396 et seq. or § 1397aa et 

seq.).  

C. The group contract holder shall provide each enrollee or 

other person covered under the group contract written notice 

of the availability of the option chosen and the procedures 

and timeframes for obtaining continuation or conversion of 

[ coverage under ] the group contract. The notice shall be 

provided within 14 days of the group contract holder's 

knowledge of the enrollee's or other covered person's loss of 

eligibility under the group contract. 

14VAC5-211-80. Coordination of benefits.  

A. A health care plan may include in its group or individual 

contract a provision that the value of any benefit or service 

provided by the health maintenance organization may be 

coordinated with other health insurance or health care 

benefits or services that are provided by other individual or 

group policies, group contracts, or group health care plans, 

including coverage provided under governmental programs, 

so that no more than 100% of the eligible incurred expenses 

is paid.  

B. A health care plan shall not be relieved of its duty to 

provide a covered health care service to an enrollee because 

the enrollee is entitled to coverage under other policies, 

contracts, or health care plans. In the event that benefits are 

provided by a health care plan and another policy, contract, or 

health care plan, the determination of the order of benefits 

shall in no way restrict or impede the rendering of services 

required to be provided by the health care plan. The health 

maintenance organization shall be required to provide or 

arrange for the service first and then, at its option, seek 

coordination of benefits with any other health insurance or 

health care benefits or services that are provided by other 

group policies, group contracts, or group plans. Until a 

coordination of benefits determination is made, the enrollee 

shall not be held liable for the cost of covered services 

provided.  

14VAC5-211-90. Copayments Cost sharing. 

A. Except for preventive services required by § 38.2-3442 of 

the Code of Virginia, a health maintenance organization may 

require a copayment of enrollees as a condition for the receipt 

of a specific health care service. A copayment shall be shown 

in the evidence of coverage as either a specified dollar 

amount or as coinsurance. 

B. If the health maintenance organization has an established 

copayment maximum out-of-pocket maximum for cost 

sharing, it shall keep accurate records of each enrollee's 

copayment expenses cost sharing and notify the enrollee 
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when his copayment out-of-pocket maximum is reached. The 

notification shall be given no later than 30 days after the 

health maintenance organization has processed sufficient 

claims to determine that the copayment out-of-pocket 

maximum is reached. The health maintenance organization 

shall not charge additional copayments cost sharing for the 

remainder of the contract or calendar year, as appropriate. 

The health maintenance organization shall also promptly 

refund to the enrollee all copayments cost sharing payments 

charged after the copayment out-of-pocket maximum is 

reached. Any maximum copayment out-of-pocket amount 

shall be shown in the evidence of coverage as a specified 

dollar amount, and the evidence of coverage shall clearly 

state the health maintenance organization's procedure for 

meeting the requirements of this subsection. 

C. [ A grandfathered plan that excludes a deductible from 

the out-of-pocket maximum may continue to do so as long as 

the plan remains grandfathered.  

D. ] The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to any 

Family Access to Medical Insurance Security (FAMIS) Plan 

(i) authorized by the United States Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services pursuant to Title XXI of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1397aa et seq.) and the state plan 

established pursuant to Chapter 13 (§ 32.1-351 et seq.) of 

Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia and (ii) underwritten by a 

health maintenance organization. 

14VAC5-211-100. Deductibles. (Repealed.) 

Except for preventive services required by § 38.2-3442 of 

the Code of Virginia, a health maintenance organization may 

require an enrollee to pay an annual deductible in accordance 

with § 38.2-4303 A 8 of the Code of Virginia. 

14VAC5-211-110. Description of providers. (Repealed.)  

A list of the names and locations of all participating 

providers shall be provided in accordance with § 38.2-

3407.10 G of the Code of Virginia.  

14VAC5-211-120. Description of service area. (Repealed.)  

A description of the service area in which the health 

maintenance organization shall provide health care services 

shall be provided to subscribers by the health maintenance 

organization at the time of enrollment or at the time the 

contract or evidence of coverage is issued and shall be made 

available upon request or at least annually.  

14VAC5-211-130. Extension of benefits for total disability.  

A. A group contract issued by a health maintenance 

organization in the large group market shall contain a 

reasonable extension of benefits upon discontinuance of the 

group contract with respect to members enrollees who 

become totally disabled while enrolled under the contract and 

who continue to be totally disabled at the date of 

discontinuance of the contract.  

B. Upon payment of premium, coverage shall remain in full 

force and effect for a reasonable period of time not less than 

180 days, or until the member enrollee is no longer totally 

disabled, or a succeeding carrier elects to provide replacement 

coverage to that member enrollee without limitation as to the 

disabling condition.  

C. Upon termination of the extension of benefits, the 

enrollee shall have the right to convert or continue coverage 

as provided for in 14VAC5-211-70.  

D. C. The provisions of this section shall not apply to 

contracts entered into by any health maintenance organization 

that has contracted with the Virginia Department of Medical 

Assistance Services to provide health care services to 

recipients of medical assistance services pursuant to Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act, as amended, or to individuals 

covered by the Family Access to Medical Insurance Security 

Insurance (FAMIS) plan developed pursuant to Title XXI of 

the Social Security Act, as amended.  

Part IV  

Services  

14VAC5-211-160. Basic health care services. 

A. A health maintenance organization that offers coverage 

in the large group market shall provide, or arrange for the 

provision of, as a minimum, basic health care services. These 

services shall include the following:  

1. Inpatient hospital and physician services. Medically 

necessary hospital and physician services affording 

inpatient treatment to enrollees in a licensed hospital for a 

minimum of 90 days per contract or calendar year. 

Hospital services include room and board; general nursing 

care; special diets when medically necessary; use of 

operating room and related facilities; use of intensive care 

unit and services; x-ray, laboratory, and other diagnostic 

tests; drugs, medications, biologicals, anesthesia, and 

oxygen services; special duty nursing when medically 

necessary; short-term physical therapy, radiation therapy, 

and inhalation therapy; administration of whole blood and 

blood plasma; and short-term rehabilitation services. 

Physician services include medically necessary health care 

services performed, prescribed, or supervised by 

physicians within a hospital for registered bed patients. 

2. Outpatient medical services. Medically necessary health 

care services performed, prescribed or supervised by 

physicians for enrollees, which may be provided in a 

nonhospital based health care facility, at a hospital, in a 

physician's office, or in the enrollee's home, and shall 

include consultation and referral services. Outpatient 

medical services shall also include diagnostic services, 

treatment services, short-term physical therapy and 

rehabilitation services the provision of which the health 

maintenance organization determines can be expected to 

result in the significant improvement of a member's an 

enrollee's condition within a period of 90 days, laboratory 

services, x-ray services, and outpatient surgery. 

3. Diagnostic laboratory and diagnostic and therapeutic 

radiologic services. 
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4. Preventive health services. Services provided with the 

goal of early detection and minimization of the ill effects 

and causes of disease or disability, including well-child 

care from birth, eye and ear examinations for children age 

17 and under to determine the need for vision and hearing 

correction, periodic health evaluations, and immunizations 

shall be provided in accordance with the provisions of 

§ 38.2-3442 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. In-area and out-of-area emergency services, including 

medically necessary ambulance services, available on an 

inpatient or an outpatient basis 24 hours per day, seven 

days per week. 

6. Mental health and substance use disorder services as 

follows: 

a. Medically necessary services for the treatment of 

biologically based mental illnesses as defined in § 38.2-

3412.1:01 of the Code of Virginia; and 

b. Except for a group contract issued to a large employer 

as defined in § 38.2-3431 of the Code of Virginia, 

services for the treatment of all other mental health and 

substance use disorders shall at a minimum include:  

(1) Inpatient services or partial hospitalization for an 

adult for a minimum period of 20 days per enrollee per 

contract year;  

(2) Inpatient services or partial hospitalization for a child 

or adolescent for a minimum period of 25 days per 

enrollee per contract year; and 

(3) Twenty outpatient visits per enrollee per contract 

year. A medication management visit shall be covered in 

the same manner as a medication management visit for 

the treatment of a physical illness and shall not be 

counted as an outpatient treatment visit in the calculation 

of the benefit set forth in this subdivision.  

The limits of the benefits set forth in this subdivision shall 

not be more restrictive than for any other illness, however, 

the coinsurance applicable to any outpatient visit beyond 

the first five visits covered per contract year shall not 

exceed 50%. If all covered expenses for outpatient services 

apply toward any deductible required by a policy or 

contract, the visit shall not count toward the outpatient visit 

benefit maximum set forth in the policy or contract. 

Definitions set forth in § 38.2-3412.1 of the Code of 

Virginia shall be applicable to terms used in this 

subsection.  

Group contracts issued to a large employer as defined in 

§ 38.2-3431 of the Code of Virginia shall provide mental 

health and substance use disorder benefits shall be 

provided on parity with the medical and surgical benefits 

contained in the plan in accordance with the Mental Health 

Parity and Addiction Equity Act of 2008 (P.L. 110-343). 

7. Medically necessary dental services as a result of 

accidental injury, regardless of the date of such injury. 

Contracts may require that treatment be sought within 60 

days of the accident for injuries occurring on or after the 

effective date of coverage. 

B. A health maintenance organization that offers coverage in 

the individual or small group market shall provide, or arrange 

for the provision of, as a minimum, the essential health 

benefits required under § 38.2-3451 of the Code of Virginia.  

14VAC5-211-165. Point-of-service benefits. 

A. A health maintenance organization shall offer point-of-

service benefits to its enrollees in the large group market in 

accordance with the provisions of § 38.2-3407.12 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

B. If point-of-service benefits are chosen, a description of 

the procedure for obtaining point-of-service benefits and 

notification requirements before obtaining these benefits shall 

be included in the evidence of coverage as well as a 

description of the restrictions or limitations on such benefits.  

14VAC5-211-170. Supplemental health care services.  

In addition to the basic health care services required to be 

provided in 14VAC5-211-160, a health maintenance 

organization may offer to its enrollees any supplemental 

health care services it chooses to provide, as allowed by 

applicable law. These services may be limited as to time and 

cost and are not subject to copayment and deductible 

limitations [ or may ] not be subject to cost sharing 

limitations or out-of-pocket or deductible maximums that are 

applicable to basic health care services.  

14VAC5-211-180. Out-of-area services.  

In addition to out-of-area emergency services required to be 

provided as basic health care services, a health maintenance 

organization may offer to its enrollees indemnity benefits 

covering out-of-area services to its enrollees. A description of 

the procedure for obtaining out-of-area services and 

notification requirements before obtaining these services shall 

be included in the evidence of coverage as well as a 

description of restrictions or limitations on out-of-area 

services. Except for out-of-area emergency services, a health 

care plan that requires the enrollee to contact the health 

maintenance organization before obtaining out-of-area 

services shall provide for telephone consultation on a 24-hour 

per day, seven-day per week basis. 

14VAC5-211-190. Limited health care services.  

A. A health maintenance organization offering only may 

offer limited health care services shall provide, or arrange for 

the provision of, at least one of the following services: in 

either dental care or vision care services. 

1. Dental care services;  

2. Vision care services;  

3. Mental health services;  

4. Substance abuse services;  

5. Pharmaceutical services;  

6. Other services as may be determined by the commission.  
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B. A health maintenance organization shall be reasonably 

assured that the enrollee has obtained pediatric oral essential 

health benefits from an exchange-certified stand-alone dental 

plan for coverage purchased in the individual or small group 

markets outside the health insurance exchange. A health 

maintenance organization shall be deemed to have obtained 

reasonable assurance that such pediatric oral health benefits 

are provided to the enrollee if: 

1. At least one qualified dental plan, as defined in § 38.2-

3455 of the Code of Virginia, (i) offers the minimum 

essential pediatric oral health benefits that are required 

under the ACA and (ii) is available for purchase by a 

subscriber or enrollee; and 

2. The health maintenance organization prominently 

discloses, in a form approved by the commission, at the 

time that it offers the health benefit plan that the plan does 

not provide ACA-required minimum essential pediatric 

oral health benefits.  

14VAC5-211-200. Essential and standard benefit plans. 

(Repealed.)  

Health maintenance organizations offering the essential or 

standard health benefit plans shall offer the benefits specified 

in 14VAC5-234-50 and 14VAC5-234-60 for these plans.  

Part V  

Disclosure and Prohibitions  

14VAC5-211-210. Disclosure Evidence of coverage 

requirements.  

A. A subscriber An enrollee shall be entitled to receive an 

evidence of coverage under a health care plan provided by a 

health maintenance organization established or operating in 

this Commonwealth, including any amendments to it. The 

evidence of coverage excluding the identification card shall 

be delivered or issued for delivery within a reasonable period 

of time after enrollment, but not more than 60 days from the 

later of the effective date of coverage or the date on which the 

health maintenance organization is notified of enrollment. 

The An identification card shall be delivered or issued for 

delivery within 15 days from the later of the effective date of 

coverage or the date on which the health maintenance 

organization is notified of enrollment.  

B. An evidence of coverage delivered or issued for delivery 

shall contain the following:  

1. The name, address, and telephone number of the health 

maintenance organization;  

2. The health care services and other benefits to which the 

enrollee is entitled under the health care plan;  

3. Exclusions or limitations on the services, kind of 

services, benefits, or kind of benefits to be provided, 

including any deductible or copayment cost sharing 

features;  

4. Where and in what manner information is available as to 

how services may be obtained;  

5. The effective date and the term of coverage;  

6. The total amount of payment for health care services and 

any indemnity or service benefits that the enrollee is 

obligated to pay with respect to individual contracts, or an 

indication whether the plan is contributory or 

noncontributory for group certificates;  

7. A description of the health maintenance organization's 

method of resolving enrollee complaints, including a 

description of any arbitration procedure if complaints may 

be resolved through a specified arbitration agreement;  

8. A list of providers and a description of the service area 

that shall be provided with the evidence of coverage if the 

information is not given at the time of enrollment;  

9. The right of an enrollee to convert to an individual 

contract issued by the health maintenance organization or 

to continue group coverage, as applicable, including the 

terms and conditions under which coverage may be 

converted or continued;  

10. The terms and conditions under which coverage may 

be terminated or rescinded;  

11. Coordination of benefits provisions, if applicable;  

12. Assignment of benefits restrictions in the contract;  

13. The health maintenance organization's procedure for 

filing claims, including any requirements for notifying the 

health maintenance organization of a claim and 

requirements for filing proof of loss;  

14. The health maintenance organization's [ enrollment 

and ] eligibility requirements, including the conditions 

under which dependents may be added and the any limiting 

age for dependents and subscribers covered under an 

individual or group contract;  

15. An incontestability clause that states that all statements 

made by a subscriber shall be considered representations 

and not warranties and that no statement shall be the basis 

for terminating coverage or denying a claim after the 

contract has been in force for two years from its effective 

date, unless the contract can be rescinded under § 38.2-

3441 of the Code of Virginia;  

16. 15. A provision that the contract or evidence of 

coverage and any amendments to it constitutes the entire 

contractual agreement between the parties involved and 

that no portion of the charter, bylaws, or other document of 

the health maintenance organization shall constitute part of 

the contract unless it is set forth in full in the contract;  

17. 16. Except for an evidence of coverage that does not 

provide for the periodic payment of premium or for the 

payment of any premium, a provision that the contract 

holder is entitled to a grace period of not less than 31 days 

for the payment of any premium due except the first 

premium. The provision shall also state that during the 

grace period the coverage shall continue in force unless the 

contract holder has given the health maintenance 
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organization written notice of discontinuance in 

accordance with the terms of the contract and in advance of 

the date of discontinuance. The contract may provide that 

the contract holder shall be liable to the health maintenance 

organization for the payment of a pro rata premium for the 

time the contract was in force during the grace period; and 

18. 17. Terms and conditions related to the designation of a 

primary care health care professional. 

C. A copy of the evidence of coverage shall be delivered to 

each enrollee and may be delivered electronically in 

accordance with the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act 

(§ 59.1-479 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

14VAC5-211-220. Exclusions for preexisting Preexisting 

conditions and waiting periods.  

In addition to the limitations on preexisting conditions 

exclusions set forth in §§ 38.2-3432.3, 38.2-3444, and 38.2-

3514.1 of the Code of Virginia, a health maintenance 

organization shall not exclude or limit health care services for 

a preexisting condition when the enrollee transfers coverage 

from one health care plan to another during open enrollment 

or when the enrollee converts coverage under his conversion 

option, except to the extent that a preexisting condition 

limitation or exclusion remains unexpired under the original 

contract. Any required probationary or A. In accordance with 

§ 38.2-3444 of the Code of Virginia, a health maintenance 

organization shall not limit or exclude coverage for an 

enrollee by imposing a preexisting condition exclusion. This 

section shall apply to any health maintenance organization 

providing a health benefit plan in the individual or group 

markets, including a grandfathered group health plan, but not 

including a grandfathered plan for individual health insurance 

coverage.  

B. A waiting period not to exceed 90 days may be allowed 

for a group health plan or excepted benefits policies [ or 

contracts ] that do not provide for essential health benefits. 

Any waiting period is deemed to commence on the effective 

date for individual coverage, and on the enrollment date of 

the contract for group coverage or the effective date of the 

policy, as applicable.  

14VAC5-211-230. Reasons for termination or rescission.  

A. A health maintenance organization shall not terminate an 

enrollee's coverage for services provided under a health 

maintenance organization contract except for one or more of 

the following reasons:  

1. Failure to pay the amounts due under the contract, 

including failure to pay a premium required by the contract 

as shown in the contract or evidence of coverage;  

2. Material violation of the terms of the contract The 

policyholder [ or contract holder ] has performed an act or 

practice that constitutes fraud or made an intentional 

misrepresentation of material fact in connection with the 

coverage;  

3. Failure to meet the eligibility requirements under a 

group contract, provided that a conversion or continuation 

option is offered The group contract holder has failed to 

comply with a material plan provision relating to employer 

contribution or group participation rules; or 

4. Termination Discontinuance of the group contract under 

which the enrollee was covered; or. 

5. Other good cause as agreed upon in the contract between 

the health care plan and the group or the subscriber. 

Coverage shall not be terminated on the basis of the status 

of the enrollee's health or because the enrollee has 

exercised his rights under the plan's complaint or appeals 

system by registering a complaint against the health 

maintenance organization. Failure of the enrollee and the 

primary care health care professional to establish a 

satisfactory relationship shall not be deemed good cause 

unless the health maintenance organization has in good 

faith made an effort to provide the opportunity for the 

enrollee to establish a satisfactory patient-physician 

relationship, including assigning the enrollee to other 

primary care health care professionals from among the 

organization's participating providers.  

B. A health maintenance organization shall not terminate 

coverage for services provided under a [ policy or ] contract 

without giving the subscriber written notice of termination, 

effective at least 31 days from the date of mailing or, if not 

mailed, from the date of delivery, except that:  

1. For termination due to nonpayment of premium, the 

grace period as required in 14VAC5-211-210 B 17 16 shall 

apply;  

2. For termination due to nonpayment of premium by an 

employer, the notice provisions required in § 38.2-3542 C 

of the Code of Virginia shall apply; or 

3. For termination due to activities that endanger the safety 

and welfare of the health maintenance organization or its 

employees or providers, immediate notice of termination 

may be given; or  

4. 3. For termination due to change of eligibility status, 

immediate notice of termination may be given.  

C. A health maintenance organization shall not rescind 

coverage for services provided under a contract unless the 

enrollee or a person seeking coverage on behalf of an enrollee 

performs an act, practice, or omission that constitutes fraud, 

or the person makes an intentional misrepresentation of 

material fact, as prohibited by the terms of the plan. Notice of 

any rescission shall comply with the requirements of § 38.2-

3441 of the Code of Virginia. Upon rescission, a health 

maintenance organization shall promptly refund all premiums 

less any claims paid. 

14VAC5-211-240. Unfair discrimination.  

A. A health maintenance organization shall not unfairly 

discriminate against an enrollee on the basis of the age, sex, 

health status, race, color, creed, national origin, ancestry, 
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religion, marital status, or lawful occupation of the enrollee, 

or because of the frequency of utilization of services by the 

enrollee. However, nothing shall prohibit a health 

maintenance organization from setting rates or establishing a 

schedule of charges in accordance with relevant actuarial 

data.  

B. A health maintenance organization shall not unreasonably 

discriminate against physicians as a class or any class of 

providers listed in § 38.2-4221 of the Code of Virginia when 

contracting for specialty or referral practitioners, provided the 

plan covers services that the class of providers are licensed to 

render. Nothing in this section shall prevent a health 

maintenance organization from selecting, in the judgment of 

the health maintenance organization, the number of providers 

necessary to render the services offered by the health 

maintenance organization, or from limiting certain specialty 

services to particular types of practitioners, provided these 

services are within the scope of their license.  

14VAC5-211-260. Penalties. (Repealed.)  

Any violation of this chapter shall be punished pursuant to 

§ 38.2-218 of the Code of Virginia and any other applicable 

law of this Commonwealth.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3888; Filed September 10, 2014, 12:07 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 17. LIBRARIES AND CULTURAL 
RESOURCES 

LIBRARY BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 17VAC15-60. Standards for Plats 

(repealing 17VAC15-60-10 through 17VAC15-60-70). 

17VAC15-61. Standards for Permanent Instruments 

Recorded by Hard Copy (adding 17VAC15-61-10 through 

17VAC15-61-60). 

17VAC15-70. Standards for Recorded Instruments 

(repealing 17VAC15-70-10 through 17VAC15-70-70). 

17VAC15-80. Standards for Paper for Permanent Circuit 

Court Records (repealing 17VAC15-80-10 through 

17VAC15-80-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 42.1-8 and 42.1-82 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 5, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Glenn Smith, Records and Information 

Management Analyst, Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-3604, or 

email glenn.smith@lva.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Pursuant to § 42.1-82 of the Code of Virginia the 

Library Board has the power and duty to issue regulations 

designed to facilitate the creation, preservation, storage, 

filing, reformatting, management, and destruction of public 

records by all agencies. The Virginia Public Records Act 

(§ 42.1-76 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) defines an agency 

as: "all boards, commissions, departments, divisions, 

institutions, authorities, or parts thereof, of the 

Commonwealth or its political subdivisions and includes the 

offices of constitutional officers." 

Purpose: This proposed regulation provides a standard to 

which each circuit court clerk, or his designee, can compare 

the medium, inscription, and format of paper instruments 

presented for recording and filing when such instruments will 

become permanent records. Without regulation of this subject 

matter, instruments submitted to record may be of such 

quality that reformatting them to the copy of record, via 

electronic image or microfilm, for the purpose of producing 

copies indefinitely, can be significantly hindered. Records 

with an inferior ability to be read or copied leave the rights of 

citizens and property holders in jeopardy. The new regulation 

is streamlined from the three regulations, which will be 

repealed in this action, and can be consistently applied by all 

clerks; it will provide the means by which all who submit and 

all who examine instruments for recordation can understand 

and apply the requirements accurately and uniformly. 

Substance: The proposed amendments repeal 17VAC15-60 

(Standards for Plats), 17VAC-70 (Standards for Recorded 

Instruments), and 17VAC-80 (Paper Used in Permanent 

Court Records) and promulgate 17VAC15-61 (Standards for 

Permanent Instruments Recorded by Hard Copy), omitting 

obsolete sections and combining requirements for medium, 

inscription, and format quality for plats, written instruments, 

and other drawings submitted to circuit courts for permanent 

retention into a simpler and better organized regulation. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the circuit court clerks is a 

clearer, more effectively applied standard that they will be 

able to present to record submitters when the instrument 

submitted does not meet the standards. The proposed 

regulation is intended to be more easily understood and used 

by the parties submitting instruments for recordation. This 

provides an overall advantage to the public in that all 

instruments submitted for permanent recordation that meet 

the standards in the proposed regulation will be legible and 

reproducible whenever the record is accessed or duplicated. 

There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth as a result of this regulatory action. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Library of Virginia proposes to 1) remove the current 

exemption allowing plats prepared prior to 1986 to be 

recorded as a reference in land records if they meet certain 

criteria even though they are not original or a first generation 
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copy, and 2) reorganize the existing standards in the 

regulations. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  One of the proposed changes 

will remove the current exemption allowing plats prepared 

prior to 1986 that are not original or a first generation copy to 

be recorded as a reference in circuit court land records even if 

they meet certain criteria. This change applies only to the 

plats that have not been already recorded. For example, if an 

individual finds a plat prepared prior to 1986 that has not 

been recorded, and the plat does not meet the standards in the 

proposed regulation, then he or she will not be able to record 

it. Individuals who wish to record such plats may have to 

incur costs to resurvey the subject property. However, the 

Library of Virginia estimates that the number of plats that 

may be required to be resurveyed is very small. On the other 

hand, this change is expected to ensure the quality of plats 

that can be recorded meets minimum standards which in turn 

would help improve the accuracy of land records. 

All of the remaining changes reorganize the existing 

standards and are expected to improve the clarity of the 

existing requirements. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The entities that may be 

affected are 120 circuit court clerks, property owners, land 

surveyors, title companies, and real estate attorneys. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The regulations apply to all 

localities in the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 

use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 

businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate.  

General: The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has 

analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order Number 14 (2010). Section 2.2-4007.04 

requires that such economic impact analyses determine the 

public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments.  Further the report should include but not be 

limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules (JCAR) is notified at the time the proposed regulation 

is submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments combine the standards for 

paper, inscription, and format for plats, written 

instruments, and other drawings submitted for permanent 

retention by circuit courts currently spread over three 

regulations (17VAC15-60, 17VAC15-70, and 17VAC15-

80) into a single regulation (17VAC15-61) to simplify and 

better organize the requirements and to omit obsolete 

sections. 

CHAPTER 61 

STANDARDS FOR PERMANENT INSTRUMENTS 

RECORDED BY HARD COPY 

17VAC15-61-10. Statement of applicability; definitions. 

These standards shall apply to all written instruments, plats, 

and other drawings submitted, recorded, or filed for 

permanent retention in the circuit courts of the 

Commonwealth.  
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The following words and terms, when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Written instrument" means a writing required by law to be 

recorded and retained permanently in the clerk's office of the 

circuit courts of the Commonwealth, excluding wills as set 

forth in 17VAC15-61-60. 

"Plat" means a drawing that shows one or more geometric 

relationships expressed by a bearing and a distance. 

"Other drawing" means any drawing that does not show a 

geometric relationship expressed by a bearing and a distance.  

17VAC15-61-20. Permanent recording and filing medium. 

A. Written instruments.  

1. Documents submitted, recorded, or filed on paper shall 

be on paper that is: 

a. Acid free,  

b. Uniformly white,  

c. Opaque,  

d. Smooth in finish,  

e. Unglazed, and 

f. Free of visible watermarks and background logos. 

2. Paper size shall be: 

a. No smaller than 8-1/2 x 11 inches, and  

b. No larger than 8-1/2 x 14 inches.  

3. Required minimum paper weight is 20 pounds.  

4. Negative (white on black background) copies and 

carbon copies are not acceptable.  

B. Plats and other drawings.  

1. Plats and other drawings shall be inscribed on either 

translucent or opaque paper, polyester, or linen. 

2. The background quality for opaque paper shall be: 

a. Uniformly white,  

b. Smooth in finish,  

c. Unglazed, and 

d. Free of visible watermarks or background logos. 

3. The size for plats and other drawings shall be: 

a. No smaller than 8-1/2 x 11 inches, and 

b. No larger than 18 x 24 inches. 

4. Only the original or first generation unreduced black-

line or blue-line copy of the original plat or other drawing 

that meets the standards provided in this section, 

17VAC15-61-30 B, and 17VAC15-61-40 B and has the 

original wet or electronically printed stamp and the original 

signature of the preparer shall be accepted for recordation.  

17VAC15-61-30. Inscription quality. 

A. Written instruments.  

1. All inscriptions shall be:  

a. Black; 

b. Solid, where "solid" means the lines forming each 

letter do not have blank or light spots; 

c. Dense, where "dense" means each letter or line is dark; 

d. Uniform, where "uniform" means the entire letter or 

line is the same darkness; 

e. Sharp, where "sharp" means the demarcation between 

each letter or line and the background is abrupt; and 

f. Unglazed, where "unglazed" means inscriptions are 

nonreflective. 

2. All signatures shall be original and in dark blue or black 

ink. 

3. Printing size shall be the equivalent of nine-point or 

larger. 

4. Typing shall be elite (12 characters per inch) or pica (10 

characters per inch) or larger. 

5. The font shall be the equivalent of a normal Arial or 

Courier. 

B. Plats and other drawings.  

1. Inscriptions shall be in ink or electrostatic process that 

produces a permanent image. 

2. Color of original inscription shall be black or dark blue.  

3. All inscriptions shall be: 

a. Solid, where "solid" means the lines forming each 

letter do not have blank or light spots; 

b. Dense, where "dense" means each letter or line is dark; 

c. Uniform, where "uniform" means the entire letter or 

line is the same darkness; 

d. Sharp, where "sharp" means the demarcation between 

each letter or line and the background is abrupt; and 

e. Unglazed, where "unglazed" means inscriptions are 

nonreflective. 

4. Lettering shall be no smaller than .09 inch (2.29 

millimeters). 

5. All signatures shall be: 

a. Original, and  

b. In dark blue or black ink. 

6. No ghost lines shall be used. 

7. All shading and screening shall be eliminated over 

written data. 

17VAC15-61-40. Format. 

A. Written instruments.  

1. The top margin shall be no smaller than 1-1/4 inch. 

2. The bottom, left, and right margins shall be no smaller 

than 3/4 inch.  

3. All instruments shall be single sided. 

B. Plats and other drawings.  
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1. Margins shall be no smaller than 1/4 inch on all edges.  

2. All plats shall be single sided. 

3. All pages of a multi-sheet plat shall be the same size. 

17VAC15-61-50. Clerk's recording inscription. 

Recordation inscriptions shall be by the circuit court clerk's 

printed certificate, stamping, typing, or handwriting and shall 

conform to the standards provided in 17VAC15-61-20, 

17VAC15-61-30, and 17VAC15-61-40 that are applicable to 

the submitted instrument. 

17VAC15-61-60. Exclusions. 

The standards provided in 17VAC15-61-20, 17VAC15-61-

30, and 17VAC15-61-40 do not apply to wills. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3761; Filed September 17, 2014, 11:39 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language 

Pathology (adding 18VAC30-20-141).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 14, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Conference Center, 2nd Floor, Training Room 2, 

Richmond, Virginia 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: December 5, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, 

telephone (804) 367-4630, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations Governing the Practice of Audiology and 

Speech-Language Pathology (18VAC30-20) are promulgated 

under the general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of 

Virginia. Subdivision 6 of § 54.1-2400 provides the Board of 

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology the authority to 

promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

In addition, the board has general authority to promulgate 

regulations specifying additional training as necessary 

pursuant to § 54.1-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed regulatory action is to 

establish rules for the training, supervision, and practice of 

speech-language pathologists (SLPs) in the performance of 

fiber-optic endoscopic evaluation of swallowing (FEES). This 

regulation is needed because the board's policy statement 

(guidance document) states that an SLP who performs FEES 

must be "specially trained" and work under the supervision of 

a physician provided protocols are in place for emergency 

response. 

While the board's guidance document is helpful to the 

practitioner community, it is not enforceable and does not set 

forth regulations delineating the meaning of "specially 

trained." Therefore, SLPs do not have a clear standard for 

their training and practice, and the board would have 

difficulty sanctioning an SLP for inadequate training and 

supervision. There is concern that patient safety and 

appropriate treatment could be compromised if SLPs perform 

FEES improperly and without necessary physician 

supervision and guidance. Proposed regulations will establish 

specific regulations to address those concerns.  

Substance: Proposed regulations set forth the requirements 

for educational qualifications, supervised experience, and 

certification for performance of an endoscopic evaluation of 

swallowing by speech-language pathologists. Additional 

requirements for endoscopic evaluation include referral from 

a qualified physician, performance in a health care facility 

with protocols for emergency medical backup, and reports to 

the referring physician. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is access to 

qualified health care practitioners to perform an evaluative 

procedure for patients with the protection of appropriate 

training, supervision, and protocols for emergencies. Patients 

who have difficulty with transportation or positioning issues 

may be evaluated in a setting where there is a physician 

readily available. There are no disadvantages because the 

requirements are consistent with requirements in other states 

and with professional standards for FEES. There are no 

advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (the 

Board) proposes to require 1) that speech language 

pathologists complete 12 hours of education on endoscopic 

procedures if they are interested in performing such 

procedures, 2) that speech language pathologists performing 

endoscopic procedures maintain a current certification in 

basic life support, and 3) that successful performance of at 

least 25 flexible endoscopic procedures under supervision to 

be permitted to perform such procedures without supervision. 

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 

compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs. 

Detailed analysis of the benefits and costs can be found in the 

next section. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board proposes a few new 

regulatory requirements and numerous clarifying changes for 

speech language pathologists. The Board also proposes a 

grandfathering provision for persons who are currently 
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practicing to continue their practice without meeting new 

requirements. So, the new requirements will apply to speech 

language pathologists who wish to perform endoscopic 

procedures after the effective date of these proposed changes. 

One of the proposed changes will require that speech 

language pathologists complete 12 hours of education on 

endoscopic procedures if they are interested in performing 

such procedures. According to Department of Health 

Professions (DHP) endoscopic courses appear to cost 

approximately $75 for 2-3 hours and $380 for 10 hours. The 

proposed endoscopic courses can be counted toward existing 

continuing education requirements. Thus, this proposed 

change may or may not add to the compliance costs of speech 

language pathologists depending on whether they use the 

proposed new education on endoscopic procedures in 

fulfillment of their continuing education requirements. 

Similarly, this change will add to the demand for endoscopic 

courses offered by approved providers. Whether or not this 

demand will add to the provider revenues will depend on 

whether the speech language pathologists will take these 

courses in addition to their regular continuing education 

courses or in lieu of the continuing education courses they are 

currently taking. 

Another proposed change will require that speech language 

pathologists performing endoscopic procedures maintain a 

current certification in basic life support. According to DHP, 

while this is a new requirement for the speech language 

pathologists, most of them already maintain this certification 

because it is commonly required by health care institutions 

where speech language pathologists work. However, if a 

speech language pathologist is currently not required to 

maintain certification in basic life support by his or her 

employer, this proposed requirement is expected to create 

additional compliance costs. Initial certification or renewal, 

which generally last two years, is expected to cost 

approximately $40 - $60 in tuition, approximately 2 – 4 hours 

to complete the curriculum, travel time and travel expenses, 

and classroom supplies. Similarly, providers of basic life 

support training would see an increase in demand for their 

services proportional to the number of speech language 

pathologists who will have to maintain current certification 

due to this proposed change. 

Another proposed change will require successful performance 

of at least 25 flexible endoscopic procedures under 

supervision to be permitted to perform such procedures 

without supervision. According to DHP, while this is a new 

requirement, a hospital would typically require 25 or more 

procedures to be performed under supervision before it would 

credential a speech language pathologist to do endoscopic 

procedures. If all of the speech language pathologists 

complete at least 25 procedures under supervision, the 

proposed changes would not add to the compliance costs. 

However, if a speech language pathologist is currently 

required by his or her employer to complete less than 25 

procedures, this proposed change represents additional costs 

that may be associated with performing additional procedures 

under supervision. 

The main benefit of the proposed continuing education, 

maintaining certification in basic life support, and performing 

a specific number of endoscopic procedures is to make sure 

that practitioners who are allowed to assist in evaluation of 

swallowing disorders are qualified and trained to deal with 

unexpected situations. 

Remaining proposed changes include clarifications of current 

processes, policies, or statutory requirements. Since all of 

these requirements are currently enforced in practice, no 

significant economic effect is expected other than improving 

the clarity of the requirements processes, policies, or statutory 

requirements enforced under these regulations. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are approximately 

3,737 licensed speech language pathologists in Virginia. 

However, the number of speech language pathologists who 

may be interested in endoscopic procedures is expected to be 

small. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 

apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. If the speech language 

pathologists interested in endoscopic procedures are already 

meeting the proposed requirements on continuing education, 

maintaining certification in basic life support, and performing 

a specific number of endoscopic procedures, no significant 

effect on employment would be expected. If the proposed 

changes force them to take additional continuing education 

courses, obtain certification in basic life support, and perform 

additional number of endoscopic procedures, an increase in 

their compliance costs would be expected. If the increase in 

compliance costs is significant, a decrease in speech language 

pathologists' demand for labor may occur. On the other hand, 

an increase in demand for labor to provide additional 

continuing education, to obtain certification in basic life 

support, and to perform additional number of endoscopic 

procedures may also occur. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Similarly, if 

the speech language pathologists are already meeting the 

proposed standards in the absence of regulations no effect on 

the asset value of their practices would be expected. 

Otherwise, an increase in the compliance costs would 

decrease the asset value of their practices. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. According to 

DHP, speech language pathologists typically work in large 

school or hospital systems or as a part of a physician practice. 

However, for those speech language pathologist practices that 

may be considered as small business, the proposed changes 

would introduce costs and other effects unless they already 

meet the proposed standards. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There is no known alternative method that 
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minimizes the adverse impact while accomplishing the same 

goals. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.4 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology concurs with 

the economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning 

and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulation sets forth (i) the educational 

qualifications, the supervised experience, and the 

certification necessary for a speech-language pathologist 

to perform an endoscopic evaluation of swallowing and (ii) 

requirements for endoscopic evaluation that include 

referral from a qualified physician, performance in a 

health care facility with protocols for emergency medical 

backup, and reports to the referring physician. 

18VAC30-20-141. Performance of flexible endoscopic 

evaluation of swallowing. 

A. For the purposes of this section, an endoscopic procedure 

shall mean a flexible endoscopic evaluation of swallowing 

limited to the use of flexible endoscopes to observe, collect 

data, and measure the parameters of swallowing for the 

purposes of functional assessment and therapy planning.  

B. A speech-language pathologist who performs an 

endoscopic procedure shall meet the following qualifications: 

1. Completion of a course or courses or an educational 

program offered by a provider approved in 18VAC30-20-

300 that includes at least 12 hours on endoscopic 

procedures; 

2. Successful performance of at least 25 flexible 

endoscopic procedures under the immediate and direct 

supervision of a board-certified otolaryngologist or another 

speech-language pathologist who has successfully 

performed at least 50 flexible endoscopic procedures 

beyond the 25 required for initial qualification and has 

been approved in writing by a board-certified 

otolaryngologist to provide that supervision; and 

3. Current certification in basic life support. 

C. The speech-language pathologist who qualifies to 

perform an endoscopic procedure pursuant to subsection B of 

this section shall maintain documentation of course 

completion and written verification from the supervising 

otolaryngologist or speech-language pathologist of successful 

completion of flexible endoscopic procedures. 

D. An endoscopic procedure shall only be performed by a 

speech-language pathologist on referral from an 

otolaryngologist or other qualified physician. 

E. A speech-language pathologist shall only perform an 

endoscopic procedure in a facility that has protocols in place 

for emergency medical backup. A flexible endoscopic 

evaluation of swallowing shall only be performed by a 

speech-language pathologist in either: 

1. A licensed hospital or nursing home under the general 

supervision of a physician who is readily available in the 

event of an emergency, including physical presence in the 

facility or available by telephone; or  

2. A physician's office at which the physician is on 

premises and available to provide onsite supervision. 

F. The speech-language pathologist shall promptly report 

any observed abnormality or adverse reaction to the referring 

physician, an appropriate medical specialist, or both. The 

speech-language pathologist shall provide a report of an 

endoscopic procedure to the referring physician in a timely 

manner and, if requested, shall ensure access to a visual 

recording for viewing.  

G. A speech-language pathologist is not authorized to 

possess or administer prescription drugs except as provided in 

§ 54.1-3408 B of the Code of Virginia. 

H. A speech-language pathologist who has been performing 

flexible endoscopic evaluations of swallowing prior to (insert 

effective date of regulation) may continue to perform such 

evaluations provided he has written verification from a board-

certified otolaryngologist that he has the appropriate training, 

knowledge, and skills to safely perform such evaluations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2689; Filed September 8, 2014, 1:51 p.m.  
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BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-260).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment requires language to be added to all 

written contracts for residential contracting services, 

beginning July 1, 2015, that (i) notifies consumers of the 

existence of the Virginia Contractor Transaction Recovery 

Fund and (ii) includes information on how to contact the 

Board for Contractors for claim information.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC50-22-260. Filing of charges; prohibited acts.  

A. All complaints against contractors may be filed with the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation at 

any time during business hours, pursuant to § 54.1-1114 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

B. The following are prohibited acts:  

1. Failure in any material way to comply with provisions of 

Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or the 

regulations of the board.  

2. Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete 

information to the board in obtaining, renewing, 

reinstating, or maintaining a license.  

3. Failure of the responsible management, designated 

employee, or qualified individual to report to the board, in 

writing, the suspension or revocation of a contractor 

license by another state or conviction in a court of 

competent jurisdiction of a building code violation.  

4. Publishing or causing to be published any advertisement 

relating to contracting which contains an assertion, 

representation, or statement of fact that is false, deceptive, 

or misleading.  

5. Negligence and/or incompetence in the practice of 

contracting.  

6. Misconduct in the practice of contracting.  

7. A finding of improper or dishonest conduct in the 

practice of contracting by a court of competent jurisdiction 

or by the board.  

8. Failure of all those who engage in residential 

contracting, excluding subcontractors to the contracting 

parties and those who engage in routine maintenance or 

service contracts, to make use of a legible written contract 

clearly specifying the terms and conditions of the work to 

be performed. For the purposes of this chapter, residential 

contracting means construction, removal, repair, or 

improvements to single-family or multiple-family 

residential buildings, including accessory-use structures as 

defined in § 54.1-1100 of the Code of Virginia. Prior to 

commencement of work or acceptance of payments, the 

contract shall be signed by both the consumer and the 

licensee or his agent.  

9. Failure of those engaged in residential contracting as 

defined in this chapter to comply with the terms of a 

written contract which contains the following minimum 

requirements:  

a. When work is to begin and the estimated completion 

date;  

b. A statement of the total cost of the contract and the 

amounts and schedule for progress payments including a 

specific statement on the amount of the down payment;  

c. A listing of specified materials and work to be 

performed, which is specifically requested by the 

consumer;  

d. A "plain-language" exculpatory clause concerning 

events beyond the control of the contractor and a 

statement explaining that delays caused by such events 

do not constitute abandonment and are not included in 

calculating time frames for payment or performance;  

e. A statement of assurance that the contractor will 

comply with all local requirements for building permits, 

inspections, and zoning;  

f. Disclosure of the cancellation rights of the parties;  

g. For contracts resulting from a door-to-door 

solicitation, a signed acknowledgment by the consumer 

that he has been provided with and read the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation statement of 

protection available to him through the Board for 

Contractors;  

h. Contractor's name, address, license number, class of 

license, and classifications or specialty services; and  

i. Statement A statement providing that any modification 

to the contract, which changes the cost, materials, work 

to be performed, or estimated completion date, must be 

in writing and signed by all parties.; and 

j. [ A Effective with all new contracts entered into after 

July 1, 2015, a ] statement notifying consumers of the 

existence of the Virginia Contractor Transaction 

Recovery Fund that includes information on how to 

contact the board for claim information. 
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10. Failure to make prompt delivery to the consumer 

before commencement of work of a fully executed copy of 

the contract as described in subdivisions 8 and 9 of this 

subsection for construction or contracting work.  

11. Failure of the contractor to maintain for a period of five 

years from the date of contract a complete and legible copy 

of all documents relating to that contract, including, but not 

limited to, the contract and any addenda or change orders.  

12. Refusing or failing, upon request, to produce to the 

board, or any of its agents, any document, book, record, or 

copy of it in the licensee's possession concerning a 

transaction covered by this chapter or for which the 

licensee is required to maintain records.  

13. Failing to respond to an agent of the board or providing 

false, misleading or incomplete information to an 

investigator seeking information in the investigation of a 

complaint filed with the board against the contractor. 

Failing or refusing to claim certified mail sent to the 

licensee's address of record shall constitute a violation of 

this regulation. 

14. Abandonment defined as the unjustified cessation of 

work under the contract for a period of 30 days or more.  

15. The intentional and unjustified failure to complete 

work contracted for and/or to comply with the terms in the 

contract.  

16. The retention or misapplication of funds paid, for 

which work is either not performed or performed only in 

part.  

17. Making any misrepresentation or making a false 

promise that might influence, persuade, or induce.  

18. Assisting another to violate any provision of Chapter 

1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or this chapter; or 

combining or conspiring with or acting as agent, partner, or 

associate for another.  

19. Allowing a firm's license to be used by another.  

20. Acting as or being an ostensible licensee for 

undisclosed persons who do or will control or direct, 

directly or indirectly, the operations of the licensee's 

business.  

21. Action by the firm, responsible management as defined 

in this chapter, designated employee or qualified individual 

to offer, give, or promise anything of value or benefit to 

any federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of 

influencing that employee to circumvent, in the 

performance of his duties, any federal, state, or local law, 

regulation, or ordinance governing the construction 

industry.  

22. Where the firm, responsible management as defined in 

this chapter, designated employee or qualified individual 

has been convicted or found guilty, after initial licensure, 

regardless of adjudication, in any jurisdiction, of any 

felony or of any misdemeanor, there being no appeal 

pending therefrom or the time of appeal having elapsed. 

Any plea of guilty or nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. The record 

of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as 

prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt.  

23. Failure to inform the board in writing, within 30 days, 

that the firm, a member of responsible management as 

defined in this chapter, its designated employee, or its 

qualified individual has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere 

or was convicted and found guilty of any felony or of a 

Class 1 misdemeanor or any misdemeanor conviction for 

activities carried out while engaged in the practice of 

contracting.  

24. Having been disciplined by any county, city, town, or 

any state or federal governing body including action by the 

Virginia Department of Health, which action shall be 

reviewed by the board before it takes any disciplinary 

action of its own.  

25. Failure to abate a violation of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code, as amended.  

26. Failure of a contractor to comply with the notification 

requirements of the Virginia Underground Utility 

Prevention Act, Chapter 10.3 (§ 56-265.14 et seq.) of Title 

56 of the Code of Virginia (Miss Utility).  

27. Practicing in a classification, specialty service, or class 

of license for which the contractor is not licensed.  

28. Failure to satisfy any judgments.  

29. Contracting with an unlicensed or improperly licensed 

contractor or subcontractor in the delivery of contracting 

services.  

30. Failure to honor the terms and conditions of a warranty.  

31. Failure to obtain written change orders, which are 

signed by both the consumer and the licensee or his agent, 

to an already existing contract.  

32. Failure to ensure that supervision, as defined in this 

chapter, is provided to all helpers and laborers assisting 

licensed tradesman.  

33. Failure to obtain a building permit or applicable 

inspection, where required. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3390; Filed September 11, 2014, 1:15 p.m.  

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-20. Regulations of the Board 

of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (amending 

18VAC65-20-436).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2803 of the Code 

of Virginia. 
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Public Hearing Information: 

October 7, 2014 - 10 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor, Suite 201, Board Room #2, Henrico, Virginia 

23233 

Public Comment Deadline: December 5, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Lisa Russell Hahn, Executive Director, 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 

(804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 527-4637, or email 

lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 

the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards 

including the responsibility of the Board of Funeral Directors 

and Embalmers to promulgate regulations, administer a 

registration and renewal program, and discipline regulated 

professionals. 

Chapter 377 of the 2010 Acts of the Assembly amended 

§ 54.1-2818.1 of the Code of Virginia and provided the 

specific mandate to adopt regulations for identification of 

human remains as a prerequisite for cremation. 

Purpose: The intent of the regulatory action is compliance 

with the second enactment of Chapter 377 of the 2010 Acts of 

the Assembly. While the statute is fairly explicit about the 

prerequisites for cremation, the regulation further amplifies 

how visual identification can be done – through viewing the 

remains or a photograph or by use of unique identifiers and 

markings. If positive identification must be used, the 

regulations specify who may be consulted for that purpose.  

In order to ensure that authorization for cremation can be 

obtained in accordance with § 54.1-2818.1 in a timely 

manner, the proposed regulation expands on the statutory 

mandate for visual identification or, if that is not feasible, 

positive identification. Visual identification may be 

accomplished by viewing unique identifiers or markings 

(tattoos, birth marks, etc.). If positive identification must be 

used, a crematory may consult with law enforcement for 

fingerprints, DNA, etc., with the local medical examiner, or 

with medical personnel at a hospital or other facility. The 

proposed amendments clarify the statute for better 

implementation, and families or designated persons are able 

to achieve closure in a more humanely and timely manner. 

Proper identification of human remains prior to cremation is 

essential to the health, safety, and welfare of the public 

because it is necessary to ensure that misidentified or 

unidentified persons are not cremated. Cremation eliminates 

the possibility that a lost loved one could later be identified or 

that the remains may provide evidence in a criminal 

investigation. 

Substance: Section 54.1-2818.1 of the Code of Virginia 

requires "visual identification" of the deceased before 

cremation; proposed regulations clarify that visual 

identification may be made by viewing unique identifiers or 

markings on the remains. Further, the Code of Virginia 

allows the use of positive identification if visual identification 

is not possible. Proposed regulations clarify that a crematory 

may use positive identification of the deceased in consultation 

with law enforcement, a medical examiner, or medical 

personnel. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is further 

clarification of the statutory requirements for identification of 

a body prior to cremation. The proposed amendments allow 

the statute to be more clearly implemented, and families or 

designated persons are able to achieve closure in a more 

humanely and timely manner. There are no disadvantages. 

While there are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency, 

greater clarity of law and regulation can resolve questions and 

issues that are sometimes fielded by board staff. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. To 

comply with the second enactment of Chapter 377 of the 

2010 Acts of the Assembly, the Board of Funeral Directors 

and Embalmers (Board) proposes to amend its regulations by 

1) adding references to the specific Code of Virginia section 

that sets legislative rules for identification of decedents before 

they are cremated, 2) adding language that specifies 

decedents may be identified by viewing unique identifiers or 

markings on the decedent and 3) clarifying that crematories 

must consult with law enforcement, a medical examiner or 

medical personnel before identifying a body when visual 

identification is not possible. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 

proposed regulatory changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations note that 

crematories must take certain actions in accordance with the 

Code of Virginia. The Board now proposes to add the specific 

Code references (§ 54.1-2818.1, § 54.1-2825 and § 54.1-

2984) to which regulated entities can refer in the Code. The 

Board also proposes to specify that decedents may be 

identified by unique identifiers or markings and that 

crematories must identify decedents for whom visual 

identification is not possible in consultation with law 

enforcement, a medical examiner or medical personnel. 

Adding Code references and clarifying that positive 

identification (with fingerprints, DNA, dental records, etc.) 

must be made in consultation with official entities who would 

ascertain who the decedent is will benefit readers of these 

regulations and owners of crematories by making the 

regulations more understandable. No entity is likely to incur 

costs on account of these changes.  

Adding language to these regulations that allows visual 

identification of a decedent's unique identifiers or markers 

(scars, birth marks, tattoos, etc.) will benefit family members 

or friends who have to identify their deceased loved ones. 

These individuals will have the option of only viewing the 

identifying markers on the deceased, or even pictures of the 
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identifying markers, which may make identification a less 

traumatic experience. Again, no entity is likely to incur costs 

on account of this change.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of Health 

Professions reports that there are 97 crematories registered in 

the Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to have any effect on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any additional expense on account of these 

regulatory changes. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any 

additional expense on account of these regulatory changes. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Funeral Directors and Embalmers concurs with the 

economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning and 

Budget.  

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) specify that decedents may 

be identified by viewing unique identifiers or markings on 

the decedents and (ii) clarify that crematories must consult 

with law enforcement, a medical examiner, or medical 

personnel before identifying a body when visual 

identification is not possible. 

18VAC65-20-436. Standards for registered crematories or 

funeral establishments relating to cremation. 

A. Authorization to cremate.  

1. A crematory shall require a cremation authorization 

form executed in person or electronically in a manner that 

provides a copy of an original signature in accordance with 

§ 54.1-2818.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. The cremation authorization form shall include an 

attestation of visual identification of the deceased from a 

viewing of the remains or a photograph signed by the 

person making the identification. Visual identification may 

be made by viewing unique identifiers or markings on the 

remains. The identification attestation shall either be given 

on the cremation authorization form or on an identification 

form attached to the cremation authorization form.  

3. In the event visual identification is not feasible, a 

crematory may use other positive identification of the 

deceased in consultation with law enforcement, a medical 

examiner, or medical personnel as a prerequisite for 

cremation pursuant to § 54.1-2818.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

B. Standards for cremation. The following standards shall be 

required for every crematory: 

1. Every crematory shall provide evidence at the time of an 

inspection of a permit to operate issued by the Department 

of Environmental Quality (DEQ). 

2. A crematory shall not knowingly cremate a body with a 

pacemaker, defibrillator or other potentially hazardous 

implant in place. 

3. A crematory shall not cremate the human remains of 

more than one person simultaneously in the same retort, 

unless the crematory has received specific written 

authorization to do so from the person signing the 

cremation authorization form.  

4. A crematory shall not cremate nonhuman remains in a 

retort permitted by DEQ for cremation of human remains.  

5. Whenever a crematory is unable to cremate the remains 

within 24 hours upon taking custody thereof, the crematory 

shall maintain the remains in refrigeration at approximately 

40° Fahrenheit or less, unless the remains have been 

embalmed. 
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C. Handling of human remains. 

1. Human remains shall be transported to a crematory in a 

cremation container and shall not be removed from the 

container unless the crematory has been provided with 

written instructions to the contrary by the person who 

signed the authorization form. A cremation container shall 

substantially meet all the following standards: 

a. Be composed of readily combustible materials suitable 

for cremation; 

b. Be able to be closed in order to provide complete 

covering for the human remains; 

c. Be resistant to leakage or spillage; and 

d. Be rigid enough for handling with ease. 

2. No crematory shall require that human remains be 

placed in a casket before cremation nor shall it require that 

the cremains be placed in a cremation urn, cremation vault 

or receptacle designed to permanently encase the cremains 

after cremation. Cremated remains shall be placed in a 

plastic bag inside a rigid container provided by the 

crematory or by the next-of-kin for return to the funeral 

establishment or to the next-of-kin. If cremated remains are 

placed in a biodegradable container, a biodegradable bag 

shall be used. If placed in a container designed for 

scattering, the cremated remains may be placed directly 

into the container if the next-of-kin so authorized in 

writing.  

3. The identification of the decedent shall be physically 

attached to the remains and appropriate identification 

placed on the exterior of the cremation container. The 

crematory operator shall verify the identification on the 

remains with the identification attached to the cremation 

container and with the identification attached to the 

cremation authorization. The crematory operator shall also 

verify the identification of the cremains and place evidence 

of such verification in the cremation record. 

D. Recordkeeping. A crematory shall maintain the records 

of cremation for a period of three years from the date of the 

cremation that indicate the name of the decedent, the date and 

time of the receipt of the body, and the date and time of the 

cremation and shall include: 

1. The cremation authorization form signed by the person 

authorized by law to dispose of the remains and the form 

on which the next-of-kin or the person authorized by 

§ 54.1-2818.1 of the Code of Virginia to make the 

identification has made a visual identification of the 

deceased or evidence of positive identification if visual 

identification is not feasible; 

2. The permission form from the medical examiner; 

3. The DEQ permit number of the retort used for the 

cremation and the name of the retort operator; and 

4. The form verifying the release of the cremains, 

including date and time of release, the name of the person 

and the entity to whom the cremains were released and the 

name of the decedent.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2543; Filed September 8, 2014, 1:53 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC76-40. Regulations Governing 

Emergency Contact Information (amending 18VAC76-40-

10).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2506.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: November 5, 2014. 

Effective Date: November 20, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-

4688, FAX (804) 527-4475, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The statutory authority for promulgation of 18VAC76-

40-10 by the Director of the Department of Health 

Professions is found in § 54.1-2506.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

which requires the director to adopt regulations "...that 

identify those licensed, certified or registered persons to 

which the requirement to report shall apply and the 

procedures for reporting." The authority for the initial 

promulgation of regulation is mandatory; the authority for 

amending the regulation to add another profession is 

discretionary. 

Purpose: As the emergency contact information (ECI) is 

being increasingly used by the Department of Health to 

disseminate public health information as well as to issue 

notices of a public health emergency, it is important to reach 

those health care professionals who have responsibility for 

the health and safety of a vulnerable population in assisted 

living facilities and nursing homes. Having those practitioners 

in the ECI system will help ensure that information is 

reaching the administrators of those facilities. Dental 

hygienists are often the practitioners who have primary 

responsibility for the maintenance of dental health; having 

them appropriately informed about public health information 

or a public health emergency will benefit the health and 

safety of the general public. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: This regulatory 

action is taken at the request of the one of regulated 

professions who will be affected by it. In addition, the need to 

implement the emergency contact system to inform health 

care professionals about a public health emergency could 

definitely affect the populations at assisted living facilities or 

nursing homes, so those administrators will benefit from a 

notification from the Department of Health as soon as 

possible. Therefore, the director believes the action should 

have no objection. 
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Substance: The amendments add dental hygienists, assisted 

living facility administrators, and nursing home 

administrators to the listing of professions who are required 

to report emergency contact information in 18VAC76-40-10. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the addition of 

groups of health care professionals available for contact and 

assistance in case of a public health emergency or disaster. 

There are no disadvantages. The Department of Health and 

the Department of Emergency Management would have 

access to additional health care workers in case of a public 

health emergency and would have a direct link to assisted 

living facilities and nursing homes to disseminate information 

about an outbreak of a communicable disease. There are no 

disadvantages. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 

result of a periodic review, the Department of Health 

Professions (DHP) proposes to add nursing home 

administrators, assisted living facility administrators and 

dental hygienists to the list of licensees that must provide 

emergency contact information so that they can be contacted 

for the purposes of disseminating information in the case of a 

public health emergency. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 

proposed regulatory changes.  

Estimated Economic Impact. DHP maintains a list of contact 

information for licensed health care professionals who are 

required to provide such information so that they can be 

contacted in the instance of a public health emergency in the 

Commonwealth. DHP staff reports that the required 

information is collected at the same time, and on the same 

form, as license renewal information. DHP proposes to add 

three new groups of licensees to this list: nursing home 

administrators, assisted living facility administrators and 

dental hygienists.  Dental hygienists may be the main point of 

contact for patients seeking dental care so having them be 

contacted in the case of a public health emergency will allow 

greater dissemination of that information to those patients. 

Likewise, having information on hand to more easily contact 

nursing home and assisted living facility administrators will 

better allow them to protect and treat the vulnerable, older 

populations that they serve. Licensees affected by these 

regulatory changes are unlikely to incur additional costs 

because they only have to provide their contact information 

on a form they already fill out and because there is no adverse 

consequences for failing or forgetting to report. Populations 

served by these licensees, as well as anyone those populations 

might secondarily inform, will benefit from these licensees 

being able to disseminate public health emergency 

information.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. DHP reports that there are 

737 nursing home administrators, 592 assisted living facility 

administrators and 4,879 dental hygienists in the 

Commonwealth who will be affected by these regulations.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 

likely have little impact on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 

of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No affected small 

business is likely to incur costs on account of these proposed 

regulations. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No affected small business is likely to incur 

costs on account of these proposed regulations. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Health Professions concurs with the economic 

impact analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 
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Summary: 

The amendments add dental hygienists, assisted living 

facility administrators, and nursing home administrators to 

the listing of health care practitioners from whom 

emergency contact information is obtained for the purpose 

of disseminating information in case of a public health 

emergency. 

18VAC76-40-10. Requirement to report.  

In accordance with provisions of § 54.1-2506.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, the following persons or entities who hold a 

license, certificate, registration or permit issued by a board 

within the Department of Health Professions and whose 

address of record is in Virginia, a contiguous state, or the 

District of Columbia shall report emergency contact 

information as required by this chapter:  

1. Assisted living facility administrators; 

2. Athletic trainers;  

2. 3. Certified massage therapists;  

3. 4. Clinical psychologists;  

4. 5. Clinical social workers;  

5. 6. Dentists; 

7. Dental hygienists;  

6. 8. Funeral service licensees, embalmers and funeral 

directors;  

7. 9. Licensed acupuncturists;  

8. 10. Licensed practical nurses;  

9. 11. Licensed professional counselors;  

10. 12. Medical equipment suppliers;  

13. Nursing home administrators; 

11. 14. Pharmacists;  

12. 15. Pharmacy technicians;  

13. 16. Physical therapists;  

14. 17. Physician assistants;  

15. 18. Radiologic technologists;  

16. 19. Registered nurses;  

17. 20. Respiratory care practitioners;  

18. 21. Surface transportation and removal service 

registrants;  

19. 22. Veterinarians; and  

20. 23. Wholesaler distributors of pharmaceuticals.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-3606; Filed September 8, 2014, 1:55 p.m.  

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC95-30. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Assisted Living Facility Administrators 

(amending 18VAC95-30-60, 18VAC95-30-70, 18VAC95-

30-180, 18VAC95-30-200; repealing 18VAC95-30-95).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 5, 2015. 

Effective Date: November 20, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Lisa Russell Hahn, Executive Director, 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 

(804) 367-4595, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

ltc@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations Governing the Practice of Assisted Living 

Facility Administrators (18VAC95-30) are promulgated by 

the Board of Long-Term Care Administrators under the 

general authority of Chapter 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia, which establishes the general 

powers and duties of health regulatory boards including the 

responsibility to promulgate regulations in accordance with 

the Administrative Process Act that are reasonable and 

necessary for the administration of a regulatory program.  

This action is in response to a periodic review of regulations. 

Purpose: The overall purpose of the amended regulation is 

clarification and ease of compliance with requirements for 

licensure and maintenance of licensure. Regulations 

governing assisted living facility administrators are essential 

to oversee the competency and practices of those in charge of 

facilities serving the most vulnerable citizens. An amendment 

to the renewal section is intended to specify that practice on 

an expired license may be grounds for disciplinary action, 

which would further protect the health, welfare, and safety of 

these citizens. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track 

rulemaking process is being used because the changes are 

mostly technical and clarifying. There should be no 

controversy from these periodic review recommendations. 

Substance: Amendments will clarify that practice on an 

expired license may be grounds for disciplinary action and 

that a preceptor must be registered by a similar licensing 

board. A requirement that a trainee whose program is 

interrupted or terminated notify the board within 10 days is 

less restrictive than the current requirement of five days. 

There are no substantive changes to existing regulations. 

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

public. The amendments are clarifying for persons in training 

or who are currently licensed as assisted living facility 

administrators. There are no advantages or disadvantages to 

the Commonwealth.  

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators (Board) proposes 

to: 1) allow trainees additional time to inform the Board if 

their training program is interrupted, 2) amend language for 

clarity, and 3) repeal obsolete language. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In order to become licensed as 

an assisted living facility administrator, the applicant must 

receive training under the supervision of a preceptor. Under 

the current regulations, if the training program is interrupted 

because the registered preceptor is unable to serve, the trainee 

must notify the Board within five working days. The Board 

proposes to extend the notification deadline to ten working 

days from the current five. This will be beneficial for busy 

trainees who may find the current deadline difficult to meet. 

The Board believes notification within ten days will not be 

problematic. Thus, the proposed change should produce a 

small net benefit. 

Improved clarity in the regulations should also produce a 

small benefit in that it may reduce the time spent by parties 

interested in understanding the rules and requirements of the 

regulations. Repealing obsolete language may reduce time 

spent on reading irrelevant language. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulations 

potentially affect assisted living administrators-in-training. 

Currently there are 85 assisted living administrators-in-

training in the Commonwealth.
1
 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect total employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 

use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to significantly affect small 

businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 

would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 

the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include 

(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

________________________________________ 
1 Source for number: Department of Health Professions website 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Long-Term Care Administrators concurs with the 

economic impact analysis of the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments are recommended as a result of a 

periodic review of 18VAC95-30 (Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Assisted Living Facility Administrators) 

and are clarifying in nature or intended to make the 

requirements somewhat less restrictive. Amendments (i) 

clarify that practice on an expired license may be grounds 

for disciplinary action, (ii) clarify that a preceptor must be 

registered by Virginia or a "similar" licensing board in 

another jurisdiction, and (iii) make the notification 

requirement less restrictive for a trainee whose program is 

interrupted or terminated. 

Part II  

Renewals and Reinstatements  

18VAC95-30-60. Renewal requirements. 

A. A person who desires to renew his license or preceptor 

registration for the next year shall, not later than the 

expiration date of March 31 of each year, submit a completed 

renewal form and fee.  

B. The renewal form and fee shall be received no later than 

the expiration date. Postmarks shall not be considered.  

C. An assisted living facility administrator license or 

preceptor registration not renewed by the expiration date shall 

be invalid, and continued practice may constitute grounds for 

disciplinary action. 

18VAC95-30-70. Continuing education requirements. 

A. In order to renew an assisted living administrator license, 

an applicant shall attest on his renewal application to 
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completion of 20 hours of approved continuing education for 

each renewal year.  

1. Up to 10 of the 20 hours may be obtained through 

Internet or self-study courses and up to 10 continuing 

education hours in excess of the number required may be 

transferred or credited to the next renewal year.  

2. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 

education requirements and considered in compliance on 

for the first renewal date following initial licensure in 

Virginia.  

B. In order for continuing education to be approved by the 

board, it shall be related to the domains of practice for 

residential care/assisted living and approved or offered by 

NAB, an accredited educational institution, or a governmental 

agency.  

C. Documentation of continuing education.  

1. The licensee shall retain in his personal files for a period 

of three renewal years complete documentation of 

continuing education including evidence of attendance or 

participation as provided by the approved sponsor for each 

course taken.  

2. Evidence of attendance shall be an original document 

provided by the approved sponsor and shall include:  

a. Date or dates the course was taken;  

b. Hours of attendance or participation;  

c. Participant's name; and  

d. Signature of an authorized representative of the 

approved sponsor.  

3. If contacted for an audit, the licensee shall forward to 

the board by the date requested a signed affidavit of 

completion on forms provided by the board and evidence 

of attendance or participation as provided by the approved 

sponsor.  

D. The board may grant an extension of up to one year or an 

exemption for all or part of the continuing education 

requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the 

administrator, such as a certified illness, a temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters.  

18VAC95-30-95. Licensure of current administrators. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Until January 2, 2009, any person who has served in one 

of the following positions for the period of one of the four 

years immediately preceding application for licensure may be 

licensed by the board: 

1. A full-time administrator of record in accordance with 

requirements of 22VAC40-72-200, or an assistant 

administrator in an assisted living facility, as documented 

on an application for licensure; or 

2. A full-time regional administrator with onsite 

supervisory responsibilities for one or more assisted living 

facilities with at least two years of previous experience as 

the administrator of an assisted living facility as 

documented on an application for licensure. 

B. Persons who are applying for licensure based on 

experience as an administrator as specified in subsection A of 

this section shall document a passing grade on the national 

credentialing examination for administrators of assisted living 

facilities approved by the board. 

18VAC95-30-180. Preceptors. 

A. Training in an ALF AIT program shall be under the 

supervision of a preceptor who is registered or recognized by 

Virginia or a similar licensing board in another jurisdiction.  

B. To be registered by the board as a preceptor, a person 

shall:  

1. Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia assisted living 

facility administrator or nursing home administrator 

license;  

2. Be employed full-time as an administrator in a training 

facility or facilities for a minimum of one of the past four 

years immediately prior to registration or be a regional 

administrator with on-site supervisory responsibilities for a 

training facility or facilities; and  

3. Submit an application and fee as prescribed in 

18VAC95-30-40. The board may waive such application 

and fee for a person who is already approved as a preceptor 

for nursing home licensure. 

C. A preceptor shall:  

1. Provide direct instruction, planning, and evaluation;  

2. Be routinely present with the trainee in the training 

facility; and  

3. Continually evaluate the development and experience of 

the trainee to determine specific areas needed for 

concentration.  

D. A preceptor may supervise no more than two trainees at 

any one time.  

18VAC95-30-200. Interruption or termination of 

program. 

A. If the program is interrupted because the registered 

preceptor is unable to serve, the trainee shall notify the board 

within five 10 working days and shall obtain a new preceptor 

who is registered with the board within 60 days.  

1. Credit for training shall resume when a new preceptor is 

obtained and approved by the board.  

2. If an alternate training plan is developed, it shall be 

submitted to the board for approval before the trainee 

resumes training.  

B. If the training program is terminated prior to completion, 

the trainee and the preceptor shall each submit a written 

explanation of the causes of program termination to the board 

within five working days. The preceptor shall also submit all 
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required monthly progress reports completed prior to 

termination.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-3608; Filed September 8, 2014, 11:27 a.m.  

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Real Estate Appraiser Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-20. Real Estate Appraiser 

Board Rules and Regulations (amending 18VAC130-20-

30, 18VAC130-20-60, 18VAC130-20-110, 18VAC130-20-

220, 18VAC130-20-230).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2013 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 

527-4298, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action amends the board's regulations to comply with 

Title XI of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery and 

Enforcement Act of 1989 (FIRREA), which was amended 

by the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer 

Protection Act (Pub. L. No. 111-203) on July 21, 2010. 

Pursuant to this amendment, § 1116 of FIRREA (12 USC 

§ 3345) requires trainee appraisers and supervisory 

appraisers to meet or exceed the minimum qualification 

requirements of the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) 

of The Appraisal Foundation. 

The amendments (i) require licensed residential real estate 

appraiser license applicants to have an associate's degree 

or complete 30 semester credit hours of accredited college-

level education; (ii) require certified residential real estate 

appraiser and certified general real estate appraiser 

license applicants to have a bachelor's degree or higher; 

(iii) eliminate the requirement that appraiser trainee 

license applicants pass the licensed residential real estate 

appraiser license examination; (iv) require new trainee 

license applicants and their supervising appraisers to 

complete an AQB-approved course specifically oriented to 

the requirements and responsibilities of supervising 

appraisers and appraiser trainees; (v) require new 

supervising appraisers to be state-certified for at least 

three years and not have been subject to any disciplinary 

action within the past three years that affects the 

supervising appraisers' legal eligibility to engage in 

appraisal practice; (vi) clarify the details that must be 

included in the trainee's experience log; (vii) clarify that, 

aside from completing the 7-Hour Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) Update Course, 

licensees cannot receive credit for completing the same 

continuing education course twice within one two-year 

licensure term; (viii) add topics to the list of continuing 

education courses and clarify who may teach the 7-Hour 

USPAP Update Course; and (ix) provide that licensees can 

only complete up to one-half of the continuing education 

requirement by teaching appraisal courses.  

18VAC130-20-30. General qualifications for licensure.  

Every applicant to the Real Estate Appraiser Board for a 

certified general, certified residential, or licensed residential 

real estate appraiser license shall meet the following 

qualifications:  

1. The applicant shall be of good moral character, honest, 

truthful, and competent to transact the business of a 

licensed real estate appraiser in such a manner as to 

safeguard the interests of the public.  

2. The applicant shall meet the current educational and 

experience requirements and submit a license application 

to the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation or its agent prior to the time the applicant is 

approved to take the licensing examination. Applications 

received by the department or its agent must be complete 

within 12 months of the date of the receipt of the license 

application and fee by the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation or its agent.  

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement verifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia real estate appraiser license law 

and the regulations of the Real Estate Appraiser Board.  

4. The applicant shall be in good standing as a real estate 

appraiser in every jurisdiction where licensed or certified; 

the applicant may not have had a license or certification 

which that was suspended, revoked or surrendered in 

connection with a disciplinary action or which that has 

been the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to 

applying for licensure in Virginia.  

5. The applicant may not have been convicted, found 

guilty, or pled guilty, regardless of adjudication, in any 

jurisdiction of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or 

of any felony. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 

considered a conviction for purposes of this subdivision. A 

certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision, by 

a court with the lawful authority to issue such order, 

decree, or case decision shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such conviction.  

6. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.  
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7. The applicant shall have successfully completed 150 

hours for the licensed residential classification, 200 hours 

for the certified residential classification, and 300 hours for 

the certified general classification, of approved real estate 

appraisal courses, including the 15-hour 15-Hour National 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 

course, from accredited colleges, universities, junior and 

community colleges; adult distributive or marketing 

education programs; local, state or federal government 

agencies, boards or commissions; proprietary schools; or 

real estate appraisal or real estate related organizations. 

The required core curriculum for the certified general or 

certified residential real estate appraiser is an associate a 

bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or 

university. In lieu of the required degree, 21 semester 

credit hours covering the following subject matter courses: 

English Composition; Principles of Economics (Micro or 

Macro); Finance; Algebra, Geometry or higher 

mathematics; Statistics; Introduction to Computers -- Word 

Processing/Spreadsheets; and Business or Real Estate Law. 

The required core curriculum for the certified general 

licensed residential real estate appraiser is a bachelor's an 

associate's degree or higher from an accredited college, 

junior college, community college, or university. In lieu of 

the required degree, the licensed residential real estate 

appraiser applicant must complete 30 semester credit hours 

covering the following subject matter courses: English 

Composition; Micro Economics; Macro Economics; 

Finance; Algebra, Geometry or higher mathematics; 

Statistics; Introduction to Computers -- Word 

Processing/Spreadsheets; Business or Real Estate Law; and 

two elective courses in accounting; geography; ag-

economics; business management; or real estate of college-

level education from an accredited college, junior college, 

community college, or university. The classroom hours 

required for the licensed residential real estate appraiser 

may include the classroom hours required for the appraiser 

trainee. The classroom hours required for the certified 

residential real estate appraiser may include the classroom 

hours required for the appraiser trainee or the licensed real 

estate appraiser. The classroom hours required for the 

certified general real estate appraiser may include the 

classroom hours required for the appraiser trainee, the 

licensed residential real estate appraiser, or the certified 

residential real estate appraiser.  

All applicants for licensure as a certified general real estate 

appraiser must complete an advanced level appraisal 

course of at least 30 classroom hours in the appraisal of 

nonresidential properties.  

8. The applicant shall, as part of the application for 

licensure, verify his experience in the field of real estate 

appraisal. All applicants must submit, upon application, 

sample appraisal reports as specified by the board. In 

addition, all experience must be supported by adequate 

written reports or file memoranda, which shall be made 

available to the board upon request.  

a. Applicants for a licensed residential real estate 

appraiser license shall have a minimum of 2,000 hours 

appraisal experience, in no fewer than 12 months. Hours 

may be treated as cumulative in order to achieve the 

necessary 2,000 hours of appraisal experience.  

b. Applicants for a certified residential real estate 

appraiser license shall have a minimum of 2,500 hours of 

appraisal experience obtained during no fewer than 24 

months. Hours may be treated as cumulative in order to 

achieve the necessary 2,500 hours of appraisal 

experience.  

c. Applicants for a certified general real estate appraiser 

license shall have a minimum of 3,000 hours of appraisal 

experience obtained during no fewer than 30 months. 

Hours may be treated as cumulative in order to achieve 

the necessary 3,000 hours of appraisal experience. At 

least 50% of the appraisal experience required (1,500 

hours) must be in nonresidential appraisal assignments 

and include assignments which that demonstrate the use 

and understanding of the income approach. An applicant 

whose nonresidential appraisal experience is 

predominately in such properties which that do not 

require the use of the income approach may satisfy this 

requirement by performing two or more appraisals on 

properties in association with a certified general 

appraiser which that include the use of the income 

approach.  

9. Within 12 months after being approved by the board to 

take the examination, the applicant shall have registered 

for and passed a written examination developed or 

endorsed by the Appraiser Qualifications Board and 

provided by the board or by a testing service acting on 

behalf of the board. Successful completion of the 

examination is valid for a period of 24 months. 

10. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the 

requirements set forth in subdivisions 4 and 5 of this 

section may be approved for licensure following 

consideration of their application by the board.  

18VAC130-20-60. Qualifications for licensure as an 

appraiser trainee.  

An applicant for licensure as an appraiser trainee shall meet 

the following educational, experience, and examination 

requirements in addition to those set forth in subdivisions 1 

through 5 6 and 9 10 of 18VAC130-20-30.  

1. Within 12 months after being approved by the board to 

take the examination, the applicant shall have registered 

for and passed a written examination provided by the board 

or by a testing service acting on behalf of the board. 

Successful completion of the examination is valid for a 

period of 24 months. 
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2. 1. Within the five-year period immediately preceding 

application for licensure, the applicant shall have 

successfully completed 75 hours of approved real estate 

appraisal courses from accredited colleges, universities, 

junior and community colleges; adult distributive or 

marketing education programs; local, state or federal 

government agencies, boards or commissions; proprietary 

schools; or real estate appraisal or real estate related 

organizations. The classroom hours shall include the 15-

hour 15-Hour National Uniform Standards of Professional 

Appraisal Practice course.  

2. Complete an Appraiser Qualifications Board approved 

course specifically oriented to the requirements and 

responsibilities of supervising appraisers and appraiser 

trainees.  

3. There is no experience requirement for the appraiser 

trainee classification.  

4. Responsibilities of supervising appraisers are described 

in this subdivision.  

a. The appraiser trainee shall be subject to direct 

supervision by a supervising appraiser who shall be 

completed an Appraiser Qualifications Board approved 

course specifically oriented to the requirements and 

responsibilities of supervising appraisers and appraiser 

trainees, has been state certified for at least three years, is 

in good standing, and has not been subject to any 

disciplinary action within the last two three years that 

affects the supervising appraiser's legal eligibility to 

engage in appraisal practice.  

b. The supervising appraiser shall be responsible for the 

training and direct supervision of the appraiser trainee 

by:  

(1) Accepting responsibility for the appraisal report by 

signing and certifying the report is in compliance with 

the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 

Practice;  

(2) Reviewing the appraiser trainee appraisal report(s); 

and  

(3) Personally inspecting each appraised property with 

the appraiser trainee until the supervising appraiser 

determines the appraiser trainee is competent in 

accordance with the Competency Provision of the 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice for 

the property type.  

c. The appraiser trainee is permitted to have more than 

one supervising appraiser, but a supervising appraiser 

may not supervise more than three trainees, at one time, 

unless a state program in the licensing jurisdiction 

provides for progress monitoring, supervising certified 

appraiser qualifications, and supervision and oversight 

requirements for supervising appraisers.  

d. An appraisal experience log shall be maintained jointly 

by the supervising appraiser and the appraiser trainee. It 

is the responsibility of both the supervising appraiser and 

the appraiser trainee to ensure the appraisal experience 

log is accurate, current, and complies with the board's 

requirements. At a minimum, the appraisal log 

requirements are (i) type of property, (ii) date of report, 

(iii) address of appraised property, (iv) description of 

work performed by the appraiser trainee and scope of the 

review and supervision of the supervising appraiser, (v) 

number of actual work hours by the appraiser trainee on 

the assignment, and (vi) the signature and state 

certification number of the supervising appraiser. 

Separate appraisal logs shall be maintained for each 

supervising appraiser, if applicable. 

18VAC130-20-110. Qualifications for renewal.  

A. As a condition of renewal, and under § 54.1-2014 of the 

Code of Virginia, all active certified general real estate 

appraisers, certified residential real estate appraisers, and 

licensed residential real estate appraisers, resident or 

nonresident, shall be required to complete continuing 

education courses satisfactorily within each licensing term as 

follows:  

1. All real estate appraisers must satisfactorily complete 

continuing education courses or seminars offered by 

accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 

colleges; adult distributive or marketing education 

programs; local, state or federal government agencies, 

boards or commissions; proprietary schools; or real estate 

appraisal or real estate related organizations of not less 

than 28 classroom hours during each licensing term.  

2. All real estate appraisers may also satisfy up to one half 

of an individual's continuing education requirements by 

participation other than as a student in educational 

processes and programs approved by the board to be 

substantially equivalent for continuing education purposes, 

including but not limited to teaching, program 

development, or authorship of textbooks.  

3. Seven of the classroom hours completed to satisfy the 

continuing education requirements shall be the National 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 

update course or its equivalent.  

4. Aside from complying with the requirement to complete 

the 7-Hour National USPAP Update Course, or its 

equivalent, appraisers may not receive credit for 

completion of the same continuing education course within 

a licensing term. 

B. As a condition of renewal, all licensed real estate 

appraiser trainees shall meet the continuing education 

requirements set forth in subsection A of this section.  

C. All applicants for renewal of a license shall meet the 

standards for entry as set forth in subdivisions 1, 3, and 4 of 

18VAC130-20-30.  

D. Applicants for the renewal of a registration shall meet the 

requirement for registration as set forth in 18VAC130-20-20.  
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E. Applicants for the renewal of a certificate as an instructor 

shall meet the standards for entry as set forth in 18VAC130-

20-80.  

F. Licensees applying to activate an inactive license must 

complete all required continuing education hours that would 

have been required if the licensee was active prior to 

application to activate the license.  

18VAC130-20-220. Standards for the approval of 

appraisal educational offerings for continuing education 

credit.  

A. Content.  

1. The content of courses, seminars, workshops or 

conferences which that may be accepted for continuing 

education credit includes, but is not limited to those topics 

listed in 18VAC130-20-210 A 2 and below.  

Ad valorem taxation  

Arbitration, dispute resolution  

Courses related to the practice of real estate appraisal or 

consulting 

Development cost estimating  

Ethics and standards of professional practice, Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice  

Fair housing  

Land use planning, zoning  

Management, leasing, timesharing  

Property development, partial interests  

Real estate financing and investment  

Real estate law, easements, and legal interests  

Real estate litigation, damages, condemnation  

Real estate appraisal related computer applications  

Real estate securities and syndication  

Developing opinions of real property value in appraisals 

that also include personal property or business value 

Seller concessions and impact on value 

Energy efficient items and "green building" appraisals 

2. Courses, seminars, workshops or conferences submitted 

for continuing education credit must indicate that the 

licensee participated in an educational program that 

maintained and increased his knowledge, skill and 

competency in real estate appraisal.  

3. Credit toward the classroom hour requirement to satisfy 

the continuing education requirements shall be granted 

only where the length of the educational offering is at least 

two hours and the licensee participated in the full length of 

the program.  

B. Instruction. Although continuing education offerings are 

not required to be taught by board certified instructors, 

effective January 1, 2003, the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice course must be taught by an 

instructor certified by the Appraiser Qualifications Board 

certified instructor who is also a state certified appraiser.  

18VAC130-20-230. Procedures for awarding prelicense 

and continuing education credits.  

A. Course credits shall be awarded only once for courses 

having substantially equivalent content.  

B. Proof of completion of such course, seminar, workshop 

or conference may be in the form of a transcript, certificate, 

letter of completion or in any such written form as may be 

required by the board. All courses, seminars and workshops 

submitted for prelicensure and continuing education credit 

must indicate the number of classroom hours.  

C. Information which that may be requested by the board in 

order to further evaluate course content includes, but is not 

limited to, course descriptions, syllabi, or textbook references.  

D. All transcripts, certificates, letters of completion or 

similar documents submitted to verify completion of 

seminars, workshops or conferences for continuing education 

credit must indicate successful completion of the course, 

seminar, workshop or conference. Applicants must furnish 

written proof of having received a passing grade in all 

prelicense education courses submitted.  

E. All courses, seminars, workshops, or conferences, 

submitted for satisfaction of continuing education 

requirements must be satisfactory to the board.  

F. Prelicense courses. A distance education course may be 

acceptable to meet the classroom hour requirement or its 

equivalent provided that the course is approved by the board, 

the learner successfully completes a written examination 

proctored by an official approved by the presenting entity, 

college, or university, the course meets the requirements for 

qualifying education established by the Appraiser 

Qualifications Board, the course is equivalent to the 

minimum of 15 classroom hours and meets one of the 

following conditions:  

1. The course is presented by an accredited (Commission 

on Colleges or a regional accreditation association) college 

or university that offers distance education programs in 

other disciplines; or  

2. The course has received approval of the International 

Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC) for the 

course design and delivery mechanism and either the 

approval of the Appraisal Qualifications Board through its 

course approval program or the approval of the board for 

the content of the course.  

G. Continuing education. Distance education courses may 

be acceptable to meet the continuing education requirement 

provided that the course is approved by the board, is a 

minimum of two classroom hours, meets the requirements for 
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continuing education established by the Appraiser 

Qualifications Board and meets one of the following 

conditions:  

1. The course is presented to an organized group in an 

instructional setting with a person qualified and available 

to answer questions, provide information, and monitor 

student attendance;  

2. The course has been presented by an accredited 

(Commission on Colleges or regional accreditation 

association) college or university that offers distance 

education programs in other disciplines and the student 

successfully completes a written examination proctored by 

an official approved by the presenting college or university 

or by the sponsoring organization consistent with the 

requirements of the course accreditation; or if a written 

examination is not required for accreditation, the student 

successfully completes the course mechanisms required for 

accreditation that demonstrate mastery and fluency (said 

mechanisms must be present in a course without an exam 

in order to be acceptable); or  

3. The course has received approval of the International 

Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC) IDECC 

for the course design and delivery mechanism and either 

the approval of the Appraiser Qualifications Board through 

its course approval program or the approval of the board 

for the content of the course and the student successfully 

completes a written examination proctored by an official 

approved by the presenting college or university or by the 

sponsoring organization consistent with the requirements 

of the course accreditation; or if a written examination is 

not required for accreditation, the student successfully 

completes the course mechanisms required for 

accreditation that demonstrate mastery and fluency (said 

mechanisms must be present in a course without an exam 

in order to be acceptable).  

H. A teacher of appraisal courses may receive education 

credit for the classroom hour or hours taught. These credits 

shall be awarded only once for courses having substantially 

equivalent content. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC130-20) 

Real Estate Appraiser Board License Application, 40LIC 

(rev. 12/12). 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Experience Log, 40EXP (rev. 

7/10). 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Experience Verification Form, 

40EXPVER (rev. 4/09). 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Experience Requirements, 

40EXPREQ (rev. 4/10). 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Appraiser Trainee License 

Application, 40TRLIC (rev. 12/12). 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Trainee Supervisor Verification 

Form, 40TRSUP (rev. 4/09). 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Business Registration 

Application, 40BUS (rev. 12/09). 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Pre-License Course 

Application, 40CRS (rev. 4/09). 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Instructor Certificate 

Application, 40INSTR (rev. 5/09). 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Pre-License Renewal Course 

Application, 40RENCRS (rev. 2/09). 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Activate Application, 40ACT 

(rev. 4/09). 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Temporary Appraiser License 

Application, 40TLIC (rev. 6/10). 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Appraiser License Application, 

A461-4001LIC-v2 (rev. 1/15) 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Experience Log, A461-40EXP-

v1 (rev. 7/13) 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Appraiser Trainee License 

Application, A461-4004TRLIC-v2 (rev. 1/15) 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Trainee Supervisor Verification 

Form, A461-40TRSUP-v2 (rev. 1/15) 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Business Registration 

Application, A461-4008BUS-v1 (rev. 7/13) 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Pre-License Education Course 

Application, A461-4006RENCRS-v1 (rev. 7/13) 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Instructor Certification 

Application, A461-4002INSTR-v1 (rev. 7/13) 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Pre-License Education Course 

Renewal Application, A461-4006RENCRS-v1 (rev. 7/13) 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Activate License Application, 

A461-4001AT-v1 (rev. 7/13) 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Temporary Appraiser License 

Application, A461-4005TLIC-v1 (rev. 7/13) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4118; Filed September 12, 2014, 4:07 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=26c14004118~1&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=26c14004118~1&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=03dcd004118~4&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=03dcd004118~4&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1b65d004118~3&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1b65d004118~3&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5a3dc004118~2&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5a3dc004118~2&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=336c9004118~5&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=336c9004118~5&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c4e17004118~6&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c4e17004118~6&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=349fe004118~7&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=349fe004118~7&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d505f004118~8&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d505f004118~8&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7bbad004118~9&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7bbad004118~9&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4e7fd004118~10&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4e7fd004118~10&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
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TITLE 21. SECURITIES AND RETAIL 
FRANCHISING 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 21VAC5-20. Broker-Dealers, Broker-

Dealer Agents and Agents of the Issuer (amending 

21VAC5-20-280, 21VAC5-20-285).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 13.1-523 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 5, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Hazel Stewart, Section Chief, Securities 

Division, State Corporation Commission, Tyler Building, 9th 

Floor, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 

371-9685, FAX (804) 371-9911, or email 

hazel.stewart@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The proposed amendments make several changes to 

21VAC5-20-280 that previously were adopted in 2013. 

Overall, the revisions change 21VAC5-20-280 to more 

closely match the language of the rule prior to the 

amendments in 2013. The amendments (i) remove several 

provisions of 21VAC5-20-280 A governing the conduct of 

broker-dealers and broker-dealer agents and create a new 

subsection that is similar to the former 21VAC5-20-280 E 

that was removed in 2013, (ii) reintroduce language to 

specify that certain provisions apply only in connection 

with the solicitation of a purchase or sale of over-the-

counter unlisted non-NASDAQ equity securities, and (iii) 

include typographical and stylistic changes and 

corresponding revisions to 21VAC5-20-285. 

AT RICHMOND, SEPTEMBER 12, 2014 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. SEC-2014-00041 

Ex Parte:  In the matter of  

Adopting a Revision to the Rules 

Governing the Virginia Securities Act 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 

enforcement and administration of all laws within its 

jurisdiction. Section 13.1-523 of the Virginia Securities Act 

("Act"), § 13.1-501 et seq. of the Code, provides that the 

Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 

appropriate for the administration and enforcement of the Act. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission pursuant 

to the Act are set forth in Title 21 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code. A copy also may be found at the 

Commission's website, www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

On June 3, 2013, the Commission adopted numerous changes 

to its Rules governing broker-dealers, broker-dealer agents 

and agents of the issuer, 21 VAC 5-20-10 et seq. ("Rules").
1
 

These changes included substantial revisions to numerous 

chapters of Title 21 of the Virginia Administrative Code 

entitled "Securities Act Rules," including Chapter 20 

concerning broker-dealers. As part of these revisions, changes 

were made to Rule 21 VAC 5-20-280, titled "Prohibited 

Business Conduct," which governs broker-dealer and agent 

business conduct. 

Significant changes to Rule 280 that were adopted in 2013 

included the following: 

• Repealing Rule 280 E;  

• Combining into one subdivision (Rule 280 A (15)) 

examples of known broker-dealer manipulative, 

deceptive, or fraudulent practices, including several 

provisions from former Rule 280 E; and 

• Adding new regulations under Rule 280 A, including 

subdivisions A (32) through A (39), governing broker-

dealer business conduct and that included revised 

provisions previously found in former Rule 280 E (6). 

The changes also revised the language of some of the 

provisions formerly appearing in Rule 280 E. For example, 

the changes to Rule 280 A (32) through (39) omitted 

prefatory language of former Rule 280 (E) (6) that stated:  

Although nothing in this subsection precludes application 

of the general antifraud provisions against anyone for 

practices similar in nature to the practices discussed below, 

the following subdivisions a through f specifically apply 

only in connection with the solicitation of a purchase or 

sale of OTC (over the counter) unlisted non-NASDAQ 

equity securities. 

Following adoption of the revisions in 2013, the Division of 

Securities and Retail Franchising ("Division") was alerted to 

a potential federal preemption problem regarding Rule 

21 VAC 5-20-280 A (32). Rule 280 A (32) states as follows: 

No broker-dealer who is registered or required to be 

registered shall . . . [f]ail to advise the customer, both at the 

time of solicitation and on the confirmation, of any and all 

compensation related to a specific securities transaction to 

be paid to the agent including commissions, sales charges, 

or concessions; . . . . 
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This rule – which was a revised provision of former Rule 280 

E (6) (a) – requires disclosures concerning compensation both 

at the time of solicitation and on the confirmation of sale for 

the transaction. The concern raised with the Division was that 

Rule 280 A (32) creates a writing and record requirement at 

the point of confirmation of sale that may be in conflict with 

or may exceed requirements under federal securities law and 

the Securities and Exchange Commission's ("SEC") rules. 

The concern also noted that the preemption issue was 

exacerbated because Rule 280 A (32) omitted the prefatory 

language under former Rule 280 E (6) that had limited 

application of this rule to certain transactions. 

No comments were filed addressing this rule or the possible 

preemption issue following the Commission's issuance of the 

notice order proposing the amendment to Rule 21 VAC 5-20-

280 A. After consulting with Division's counsel, however, it 

was concluded that Rule 21 VAC 5-20-280 A (32) may be 

preempted under the applicable provisions of the National 

Securities Markets Improvements Act ("NSMIA"), 15 U.S.C. 

§ 78o (i)(1). 

On December 16, 2013, the Division issued a policy 

statement addressing enforcement of Rule 21 VAC 5-20-280 

A (32). The policy statement stated that, until such time as the 

Commission amended the rule, the Division would not audit 

for compliance or pursue enforcement against any registered 

broker-dealer agent for failing to comply with the written 

disclosure requirements of the rule. The policy statement 

further advised that registered broker-dealers and their agents 

may operate as they had prior to the adoption of Rule 

21 VAC 5-20-280 A (32) with respect to compensation 

disclosures on sales confirmation related to specific securities 

transactions consistent with SEC rules. 

The Division, however, noted that broker-dealer and broker-

dealer agents were not relieved of their obligations under 

§ 13.1-502 of the Act to make adequate material disclosures 

relating to agent compensation in a securities transaction at 

the point of sale. The Division also noted that the policy 

statement should not be construed as precluding the Division 

from investigating or pursuing enforcement against any 

broker-dealer or broker-dealer agent for failing to make 

adequate material disclosures relating to agent compensation 

at the point of sale. 

In conjunction with issuance of the policy statement in 

December 2013, the Division formed a working group with 

representatives of certain registered broker-dealers, the 

Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association, and 

the Financial Services Institute to work through NSMIA 

issues concerning Rule 21 VAC 5-20-280 A (32) as well as 

other similar issues raised by the revisions to Rule 280 

adopted in 2013. 

As a result of ongoing discussion within this working group, 

the Division identified several concerns regarding certain 

provisions of Rule 280 A, including Rule 280 A (32). These 

concerns included: 

• Potential preemption issues and the expansion of the 

scope of Rule 280 A (32) through (39) following the 

omission of the prefatory language of former  

Rule 280 E;  

• Compliance issues raised by the industry to satisfy Rule 

280 A (32); 

• Revised language of certain provisions in Rule 280 A 

that differed from the language of similar provisions in 

former Rule 280 E; and 

• The lack of uniformity and consistency between Rule 

280 and other, similar provisions adopted by the SEC and 

various states.  

The Division proposes to amend Rule 21 VAC 5-20-280 to 

address these concerns. The proposed changes include:  

(a) removing certain provisions of Rule 280 A, including 

parts of Rule 280 A (15) and Rule 280 A (32) through 

(39), that were formerly part of Rule 280 E;  

(b) placing the removed provisions from Rule 280 A into 

a new proposed Rule 280 D;  

(c) adding the prefatory language under former Rule 280 

E (6) to specify that the subject provisions apply only in 

connection with the solicitation of a purchase or sale of 

OTC (over the counter) unlisted non-NASDAQ equity 

securities;  

(d) Revising the language of certain provisions under 

current Rule 280 A (15) (D) (and which the Division 

proposes moving to Rule 280 D) to more closely match 

the language of similar provisions under former Rule 280 

E; and  

(e) Making certain typographical and stylistic revisions. 

The Division also proposes to make conforming amendments 

to Rule 21 VAC 5-20-280 B (6) and Rule 21 VAC 5-20-285 

B that include references to provisions in Rule 280 A for 

which amendments are proposed. 

Through these proposed amendments, the Division intends to 

avoid the possible preemption issues raised regarding the 

current rule. Additionally and in the interest of uniformity, 

the proposed change will harmonize the current rule with 

other similar rules adopted in other states. Finally, the SEC 

and the North American Securities Administrators 

Association ("NASAA") are examining the adequacy of 

disclosure of certain fees charged by broker-dealers related to 

certain securities transactions by their customers. Rather than 

abide by the current rule that ultimately may conflict with 

proposals by the SEC and NASAA, the Division recommends 

amending Rule 21 VAC 5-20-280 to make it consistent with 

the SEC's regulations and NASAA's model rules in this area 

pending any future change. 

Accordingly, the Division has submitted to the Commission 

proposed revisions to Rule 21 VAC 5-20-280 and Rule 

21 VAC 5-20-285 of the Virginia Administrative Code. 
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The Division has recommended to the Commission that the 

proposed revisions should be considered for adoption. The 

Division also has recommended to the Commission that a 

hearing should be held only if requested by those interested 

parties who specifically indicate that a hearing is necessary 

and the reasons therefore. 

A copy of the proposed revisions may be requested by 

interested parties from the Division by telephone, mail, or e-

mail request and also can be found at the Division's website: 

www.scc.virginia.gov/srf. Any comments to the proposed 

rules and requests for hearing with the reasons stated 

therefore must be received by November 5, 2014. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed revisions are appended hereto and 

made a part of the record herein. 

(2) Comments or requests for hearing on the proposed 

revisions must be submitted in writing to Joel H. Peck, 

Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 

Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 

23218, on or before November 5, 2014. Requests for 

hearing shall state why a hearing is necessary and why 

the issues cannot be adequately addressed in written 

comments. All correspondence shall contain reference to 

Case No. SEC-2014-00041. Interested persons desiring 

to submit comments electronically may do so by 

following the instructions available at the Commission's 

website http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) The proposed revisions shall be posted on the 

Commission's website at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case and on the Division's 

website at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/srf.  Interested 

persons also may request a copy of the proposed 

revisions from the Division by telephone, mail, or e-mail. 

AN ATTESTED COPY HEREOF, together with a copy of 

the proposed revisions, shall be sent to the Registrar of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent to the Director of 

the Division of Securities and Retail Franchising, who shall 

forthwith provide notice of this Order via U.S. mail or e-mail 

to any interested persons as he may designate. 

__________________ 
1 Ex Parte: In the Matter of Adopting a Revision to the Rules Governing the 

Virginia Securities Act, Case No.     SEC-2012-00038, 2013 S.C.C. Ann. 

Rept 473, Order Adopting Amended Rules, (May 13, 2013). 

21VAC5-20-280. Prohibited business conduct. 

A. Every broker-dealer is required to observe high standards 

of commercial honor and just and equitable principles of trade 

in the conduct of its business. The acts and practices 

described below are considered contrary to such standards 

and may constitute grounds for denial, suspension, or 

revocation of registration or such other action authorized by 

the Act. No broker-dealer who is registered or required to be 

registered shall: 

1. Engage in a pattern of unreasonable and unjustifiable 

delays in the delivery of securities purchased by any of its 

customers or in the payment upon request of free credit 

balances reflecting completed transactions of any of its 

customers, or take any action that directly or indirectly 

interferes with a customer's ability to transfer his account; 

provided that the account is not subject to any lien for 

moneys owed by the customer or other bona fide claim, 

including, but not limited to, seeking a judicial order or 

decree that would bar or restrict the submission, delivery or 

acceptance of a written request from a customer to transfer 

his account; 

2. Induce trading in a customer's account which is 

excessive in size or frequency in view of the financial 

resources and character of the account; 

3. Recommend to a customer the purchase, sale or 

exchange of any security without reasonable grounds to 

believe that the recommendation is suitable for the 

customer. The reasonable basis to recommend any such 

transaction to a customer shall be based upon the risks 

associated with a particular security, and the information 

obtained through the diligence and inquiry of the broker-

dealer to ascertain the customer's investment profile. A 

customer's investment profile includes, but is not limited 

to, the customer's investment objectives, financial 

situation, risk tolerance and needs, tax status, age, other 

investments, investment experience, investment time 

horizon, liquidity needs, and any other relevant 

information known by the broker-dealer or of which the 

broker-dealer is otherwise made aware in connection with 

such recommendation; 

4. Execute a transaction on behalf of a customer without 

authority to do so or, when securities are held in a 

customer's account, fail to execute a sell transaction 

involving those securities as instructed by a customer, 

without reasonable cause; 

5. Exercise any discretionary power in effecting a 

transaction for a customer's account without first obtaining 

written discretionary authority from the customer, unless 

the discretionary power relates solely to the time or price 

for the execution of orders; 

6. Execute any transaction in a margin account without 

securing from the customer a properly executed written 

margin agreement promptly after the initial transaction in 

the account, or fail, prior to or at the opening of a margin 

account, to disclose to a noninstitutional customer the 

operation of a margin account and the risks associated with 

trading on margin at least as comprehensively as required 

by FINRA Rule 2264; 

7. Fail to segregate customers' free securities or securities 

held in safekeeping; 

8. Hypothecate a customer's securities without having a 

lien thereon unless the broker-dealer secures from the 

customer a properly executed written consent promptly 
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after the initial transaction, except as permitted by Rules of 

the SEC; 

9. Enter into a transaction with or for a customer at a price 

not reasonably related to the current market price of a 

security or receiving an unreasonable commission or 

profit; 

10. Fail to furnish to a customer purchasing securities in an 

offering, no later than the date of confirmation of the 

transaction, either a final prospectus or a preliminary 

prospectus and an additional document, which together 

include all information set forth in the final prospectus, by 

the following means: (i) hard copy prospectus delivery or 

(ii) electronic prospectus delivery. 

When a broker-dealer delivers a prospectus electronically, 

it must first allow its clients to affirmatively opt-in to the 

program. The acknowledgement acknowledgment of the 

opt-in may be by any written or electronic means, but the 

broker-dealer is required to acknowledge the opt-in.  For 

any client that chooses not to opt-in to electronic delivery, 

the broker-dealer shall continue to deliver to the client a 

hard copy of the prospectus; 

11. Introduce customer transactions on a "fully disclosed" 

basis to another broker-dealer that is not exempt under 

§ 13.1-514 B 6 of the Act; 

12. a. Charge unreasonable and inequitable fees for 

services performed, including miscellaneous services such 

as collection of moneys due for principal, dividends or 

interest, exchange or transfer of securities, appraisals, 

safekeeping, or custody of securities and other services 

related to its securities business; 

b. Charge a fee based on the activity, value or contents 

(or lack thereof) of a customer account unless written 

disclosure pertaining to the fee, which shall include 

information about the amount of the fee, how imposition 

of the fee can be avoided and any consequence of late 

payment or nonpayment of the fee, was provided no later 

than the date the account was established or, with respect 

to an existing account, at least 60 days prior to the 

effective date of the fee; 

13. Offer to buy from or sell to any person any security at a 

stated price unless the broker-dealer is prepared to 

purchase or sell at the price and under such conditions as 

are stated at the time of the offer to buy or sell; 

14. Represent that a security is being offered to a customer 

"at a market" or a price relevant to the market price unless 

the broker-dealer knows or has reasonable grounds to 

believe that a market for the security exists other than that 

made, created or controlled by the broker-dealer, or by any 

person for whom he is acting or with whom he is 

associated in the distribution, or any person controlled by, 

controlling or under common control with the broker-

dealer; 

15. Offer Effect any transaction in, or induce the purchase 

or sale of, or effect any transaction in, any security by 

means of any manipulative, deceptive or fraudulent device, 

practice, plan, program, design or contrivance, which may 

include but not be limited to: 

a. Effecting any transaction in a security which involves 

no change in the beneficial ownership thereof; 

b. Entering an order or orders for the purchase or sale of 

any security with the knowledge that an order or orders 

of substantially the same size, at substantially the same 

time and substantially the same price, for the sale of any 

security, has been or will be entered by or for the same or 

different parties for the purpose of creating a false or 

misleading appearance of active trading in the security or 

a false or misleading appearance with respect to the 

market for the security; however, nothing in this 

subdivision shall prohibit a broker-dealer from entering 

bona fide agency cross transactions for its customers; or 

c. Effecting, alone or with one or more other persons, a 

series of transactions in any security creating actual or 

apparent active trading in the security or raising or 

depressing the price of the security, for the purpose of 

inducing the purchase or sale of the security by others; 

d. Entering into a transaction with a customer in any 

security at an unreasonable price or at a price not 

reasonably related to the current market price of the 

security or receiving an unreasonable commission or 

profit; 

e. Contradicting or negating the importance of any 

information contained in a prospectus or other offering 

materials that would deceive or mislead or using any 

advertising or sales presentation in a deceptive or 

misleading manner; 

f. Leading a customer to believe that the broker-dealer or 

agent is in possession of material, nonpublic information 

that would affect the value of the security; 

g. Engaging in a pattern or practice of making 

contradictory recommendations to different investors of 

similar investment objective for some to sell and others 

to purchase the same security, at or about the same time, 

when not justified by the particular circumstances of each 

investor; 

h. Failing to make a bona fide public offering of all the 

securities allotted to a broker-dealer for distribution by, 

among other things, (i) transferring securities to a 

customer, another broker-dealer or a fictitious account 

with the understanding that those securities will be 

returned to the broker-dealer or its nominees or (ii) 

parking or withholding securities; 

i. Effecting any transaction in or inducing the purchase or 

sale of any security by means of any manipulative, 

deceptive, or other fraudulent device or contrivance 
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including but not limited to the use of boiler room tactics 

or use of fictitious or nominee accounts; 

j. Failing to comply with any prospectus delivery 

requirements promulgated under federal law or the Act; 

k. Failing to promptly provide the most current 

prospectus or the most recently filed periodic report filed 

under § 13 of the Securities Exchange Act when 

requested to do so by a customer; 

l. Marking any order tickets or confirmations as 

unsolicited when in fact the transaction was solicited; or 

m. Failing to comply with the following provisions in 

connection with the solicitation of a purchase or sale of a 

designated security: 

(1) Failing to disclose to the customer the bid and ask 

price at which the broker-dealer effects transactions with 

individual, retail customers of the designated security as 

well as its spread in both percentage and dollar amounts 

at the time of solicitation and on the trade confirmation 

documents; or 

(2) Failing to include with the confirmation, the notice 

disclosure contained under 21VAC5-20-285, except the 

following shall be exempt from this requirement: 

(a) Transactions in which the price of the designated 

security is $5.00 or more, exclusive of costs or charges; 

however, if the designated security is a unit composed of 

one or more securities, the unit price divided by the 

number of components of the unit other than warrants, 

options, rights, or similar securities must be $5.00 or 

more, and any component of the unit that is a warrant, 

option, right, or similar securities, or a convertible 

security must have an exercise price or conversion price 

of $5.00 or more; 

(b) Transactions that are not recommended by the broker-

dealer or agent; 

(c) Transactions by a broker-dealer: (i) whose 

commissions, commission equivalents, and mark-ups 

from transactions in designated securities during each of 

the preceding three months, and during 11 or more of the 

preceding 12 months, did not exceed 5.0% of its total 

commissions, commission-equivalents, and mark-ups 

from transactions in securities during those months; and 

(ii) who has not executed principal transactions in 

connection with the solicitation to purchase the 

designated security that is the subject of the transaction 

in the preceding 12 months; and 

(d) Any transaction or transactions that, upon prior 

written request or upon its own motion, the commission 

conditionally or unconditionally exempts as not 

encompassed within the purposes of this section; 

(3) For purposes of this section, the term "designated 

security" means any equity security other than a security: 

(a) Registered, or approved for registration upon notice 

of issuance, on a national securities exchange and makes 

transaction reports available pursuant to 17 CFR 11Aa3-

1 under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934; 

(b) Authorized, or approved for authorization upon notice 

of issuance, for quotation in the NASDAQ system; 

(c) Issued by an investment company registered under the 

Investment Company Act of 1940; 

(d) That is a put option or call option issued by The 

Options Clearing Corporation; or 

(e) Whose issuer has net tangible assets in excess of 

$4,000,000 as demonstrated by financial statements dated 

within no less than 15 months that the broker-dealer has 

reviewed and has a reasonable basis to believe are true 

and complete in relation to the date of the transaction 

with the person; and 

(i) In the event the issuer is other than a foreign private 

issuer, are the most recent financial statements for the 

issuer that have been audited and reported on by an 

independent public accountant in accordance with the 

provisions of 17 CFR 210.2-02 under the Securities 

Exchange Act of 1934; or 

(ii) In the event the issuer is a foreign private issuer, are 

the most recent financial statements for the issuer that 

have been filed with the SEC; furnished to the SEC 

pursuant to 17 CFR 240.12g3-2(b) under the Securities 

Exchange Act of 1934; or prepared in accordance with 

generally accepted accounting principles in the country 

of incorporation, audited in compliance with the 

requirements of that jurisdiction, and reported on by an 

accountant duly registered and in good standing in 

accordance with the regulations of that jurisdiction. 

16. Guarantee a customer against loss in any securities 

account of the customer carried by the broker-dealer or in 

any securities transaction effected by the broker-dealer 

with or for the customer; 

17. Publish or circulate, or cause to be published or 

circulated, any notice, circular, advertisement, newspaper 

article, investment service, or communication of any kind 

which purports to report any transaction as a purchase or 

sale of any security unless the broker-dealer believes that 

the transaction was a bona fide purchase or sale of the 

security; or which purports to quote the bid price or asked 

price for any security, unless the broker-dealer believes 

that the quotation represents a bona fide bid for, or offer of, 

the security; 

18. Use any advertising or sales presentation in such a 

fashion as to be deceptive or misleading. An example of 

such practice would be a distribution of any nonfactual 

data, material or presentation based on conjecture, 

unfounded or unrealistic claims or assertions in any 

brochure, flyer, or display by words, pictures, graphs or 

otherwise designed to supplement, detract from, supersede 
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or defeat the purpose or effect of any prospectus or 

disclosure; 

19. Fail to make reasonably available upon request to any 

person expressing an interest in a solicited transaction in a 

security, not listed on a registered securities exchange or 

quoted on an automated quotation system operated by a 

national securities association approved by regulation of 

the commission, a balance sheet of the issuer as of a date 

within 18 months of the offer or sale of the issuer's 

securities and a profit and loss statement for either the 

fiscal year preceding that date or the most recent year of 

operations, the names of the issuer's proprietor, partners or 

officers, the nature of the enterprises of the issuer and any 

available information reasonably necessary for evaluating 

the desirability or lack of desirability of investing in the 

securities of an issuer. All transactions in securities 

described in this subdivision shall comply with the 

provisions of § 13.1-507 of the Act; 

20. Fail to disclose that the broker-dealer is controlled by, 

controlling, affiliated with or under common control with 

the issuer of any security before entering into any contract 

with or for a customer for the purchase or sale of the 

security, the existence of control to the customer, and if 

disclosure is not made in writing, it shall be supplemented 

by the giving or sending of written disclosure at or before 

the completion of the transaction; 

21. Fail to make a bona fide public offering of all of the 

securities allotted to a broker-dealer for distribution, 

whether acquired as an underwriter, a selling group 

member, or from a member participating in the distribution 

as an underwriter or selling group member; 

22. Fail or refuse to furnish a customer, upon reasonable 

request, information to which the customer is entitled, or to 

respond to a formal written request or complaint;  

23. Fail to clearly and separately disclose to its customer, 

prior to any security transaction, providing investment 

advice for compensation or any materially related 

transaction that the customer's funds or securities will be in 

the custody of an investment advisor or contracted 

custodian, in a manner that does not provide Securities 

Investor Protection Corporation protection, or equivalent 

third-party coverage over the customer's assets; 

24. Market broker-dealer services that are associated with 

financial institutions in a manner that is misleading or 

confusing to customers as to the nature of securities 

products or risks;  

25. In transactions subject to breakpoints, fail to: 

a. Utilize advantageous breakpoints without reasonable 

basis for their exclusion; 

b. Determine information that should be recorded on the 

books and records of a member or its clearing firm, 

which is necessary to determine the availability and 

appropriateness of breakpoint opportunities; or 

c. Inquire whether the customer has positions or 

transactions away from the member that should be 

considered in connection with the pending transaction, 

and apprise the customer of the breakpoint opportunities;  

26. Use a certification or professional designation in 

connection with the offer, sale, or purchase of securities, 

that indicates or implies that the user has special 

certification or training in advising or servicing senior 

citizens or retirees in such a way as to mislead any person. 

a. The use of such certification or professional 

designation includes, but is not limited to, the following: 

(1) Use of a certification or designation by a person who 

has not actually earned or is otherwise ineligible to use 

such certification or designation; 

(2) Use of a nonexistent or self-conferred certification or 

professional designation; 

(3) Use of a certification or professional designation that 

indicates or implies a level of occupational qualifications 

obtained through education, training, or experience that 

the person using the certification or professional 

designation does not have; or 

(4) Use of a certification or professional designation that 

was obtained from a designating or certifying 

organization that: 

(a) Is primarily engaged in the business of instruction in 

sales and/or or marketing; 

(b) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 

assuring the competency of its designees or certificants; 

(c) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 

monitoring and disciplining its designees or certificants 

for improper or unethical conduct; or 

(d) Does not have reasonable continuing education 

requirements for its designees or certificants in order to 

maintain the designation or certificate. 

b. There is a rebuttable presumption that a designating or 

certifying organization is not disqualified solely for 

purposes of subdivision 26 a (4) of this subsection, when 

the organization has been accredited by:  

(1) The American National Standards Institute; 

(2) The Institute for Credentialing Excellence (formerly 

the National Commission for Certifying Agencies); or 

(3) An organization that is on the United States 

Department of Education's list entitled "Accrediting 

Agencies Recognized for Title IV Purposes" and the 

designation or credential issued therefrom does not 

primarily apply to sales and/or or marketing. 

c. In determining whether a combination of words (or an 

acronym standing for a combination of words) 

constitutes a certification or professional designation 

indicating or implying that a person has special 

certification or training in advising or servicing senior 

citizens or retirees, factors to be considered shall include:  
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(1) Use of one or more words such as "senior," 

"retirement," "elder," or like words, combined with one 

or more words such as "certified," "chartered," "adviser," 

"specialist," "consultant," "planner," or like words, in the 

name of the certification or professional designation; and  

(2) The manner in which those words are combined.  

d. For purposes of this section, a certification or 

professional designation does not include a job title 

within an organization that is licensed or registered by a 

state or federal financial services regulatory agency when 

that job title:  

(1) Indicates seniority within the organization; or  

(2) Specifies an individual's area of specialization within 

the organization.  

For purposes of this subdivision d, "financial services 

regulatory agency" includes, but is not limited to, an 

agency that regulates broker-dealers, investment 

advisers, or investment companies as defined under § 3 

(a)(1) of the Investment Company Act of 1940 (15 USC 

§ 80a-3(a)(1)). 

e. Nothing in this regulation shall limit the commission's 

authority to enforce existing provisions of law; 

27. Represent that securities will be listed or that 

application for listing will be made on a securities 

exchange or the NASDAQ system or other quotation 

system without reasonable basis in fact for the 

representation; 

28. Falsify or alter so as to make false or misleading any 

record or document or any information provided to the 

commission; 

29. Negotiate, facilitate, or otherwise execute a transaction 

on behalf of an investor involving securities issued by a 

third party pursuant to a claim for exemption under 

subsection B of § 13.1-514 of the Act unless the broker-

dealer intends to report the securities owned and the value 

of such securities on at least a quarterly basis to the 

investor; 

30. Offer or sell securities pursuant to a claim for 

exemption under subsection B of § 13.1-514 of the Act 

without having first verified the information relating to the 

securities offered or sold, which shall include, but not be 

limited to, ascertaining the risks associated with investing 

in the respective security; 

31. Allow any person to represent or utilize its name as a 

trading platform without conspicuously disclosing the 

name of the registered broker-dealer in effecting or 

attempting to effect purchases and sales of securities; 

32. Fail to advise the customer, both at the time of 

solicitation and on the confirmation, of any and all 

compensation related to a specific securities transaction to 

be paid to the agent including commissions, sales charges, 

or concessions; 

33. Fail to disclose, both at the time of solicitation and on 

the confirmation in connection with a principal transaction, 

a short inventory position in the firm's account of more 

than 3.0% of the issued and outstanding shares of that class 

of securities of the issuer;  

34. Conduct sales contests in a particular security without 

regard to an investor's suitability; 

35. Fail or refuse to promptly execute sell orders in 

connection with a principal transaction after a solicited 

purchase by a customer; 

36. Solicit a secondary market transaction when there has 

not been a bona fide distribution in the primary market; 

37. Compensate an agent in different amounts for effecting 

sales and purchases in the same security; 

38. Fail to provide each customer with a statement of 

account with respect to all securities in the account, 

containing a value for each such security based on the 

closing market bid on a date certain for any month in 

which activity has occurred in a customer's account, but in 

no event less than three months; 

39. Fail to comply with any applicable provision of the 

FINRA Rules or any applicable fair practice or ethical 

standard promulgated by the SEC or by a self-regulatory 

organization approved by the SEC; or 

40. 32. Engage in any conduct that constitutes a dishonest 

or unethical practice including, but not limited to, forgery, 

embezzlement, nondisclosure, incomplete disclosure or 

material omissions or untrue statements of material facts, 

manipulative or deceptive practices, or fraudulent course of 

business. 

B. Every agent is required to observe high standards of 

commercial honor and just and equitable principles of trade in 

the conduct of his business. The acts and practices described 

below are considered contrary to such standards and may 

constitute grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of 

registration or such other action authorized by the Act. No 

agent who is registered or required to be registered shall: 

1. Engage in the practice of lending or borrowing money or 

securities from a customer, or acting as a custodian for 

money, securities or an executed stock power of a 

customer; 

2. Effect any securities transaction not recorded on the 

regular books or records of the broker-dealer which the 

agent represents, unless the transaction is authorized in 

writing by the broker-dealer prior to execution of the 

transaction; 

3. Establish or maintain an account containing fictitious 

information in order to execute a transaction which would 

otherwise be unlawful or prohibited; 

4. Share directly or indirectly in profits or losses in the 

account of any customer without the written authorization 
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of the customer and the broker-dealer which the agent 

represents; 

5. Divide or otherwise split the agent's commissions, 

profits or other compensation from the purchase or sale of 

securities in this state with any person not also registered 

as an agent for the same broker-dealer, or for a broker-

dealer under direct or indirect common control; 

6. Engage in conduct specified in subdivision A 2, 3, 4, 5, 

6, 10, 15, 16, 17, 18, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 31, or 32, 34, 

35, 36, 39, or 40 of this section; 

7. Fail to comply with the continuing education 

requirements under 21VAC5-20-150 C; or 

8. Hold oneself out as representing any person other than 

the broker-dealer with whom the agent is registered and, in 

the case of an agent whose normal place of business is not 

on the premises of the broker-dealer, failing to 

conspicuously disclose the name of the broker-dealer for 

whom the agent is registered when representing the dealer 

in effecting or attempting to effect the purchases or sales of 

securities. 

C. No person shall publish, give publicity to, or circulate 

any notice, circular, advertisement, newspaper article, letter, 

investment service or communication which, though not 

purporting to offer a security for sale, describes the security, 

for a consideration received or to be received, directly or 

indirectly, from an issuer, underwriter, or dealer, without 

fully disclosing the receipt, whether past or prospective, of 

such consideration and the amount thereof. 

D. The purpose of this subsection is to identify practices in 

the securities business that are generally associated with 

schemes to manipulate and to identify prohibited business 

conduct of broker-dealers or sales agents who are registered 

or required to be registered. 

1. Entering into a transaction with a customer in any 

security at an unreasonable price or at a price not 

reasonably related to the current market price of the 

security or receiving an unreasonable commission or profit. 

2. Contradicting or negating the importance of any 

information contained in a prospectus or other offering 

materials with intent to deceive or mislead or using any 

advertising or sales presentation in a deceptive or 

misleading manner. 

3. In connection with the offer, sale, or purchase of a 

security, falsely leading a customer to believe that the 

broker-dealer or agent is in possession of material, 

nonpublic information that would affect the value of the 

security. 

4. In connection with the solicitation of a sale or purchase 

of a security, engaging in a pattern or practice of making 

contradictory recommendations to different investors of 

similar investment objective for some to sell and others to 

purchase the same security, at or about the same time, 

when not justified by the particular circumstances of each 

investor. 

5. Failing to make a bona fide public offering of all the 

securities allotted to a broker-dealer for distribution by, 

among other things, (i) transferring securities to a 

customer, another broker-dealer, or a fictitious account 

with the understanding that those securities will be 

returned to the broker-dealer or its nominees or (ii) parking 

or withholding securities. 

6. Although nothing in this subsection precludes 

application of the general antifraud provisions against 

anyone for practices similar in nature to the practices 

discussed below, the following subdivisions a through f 

specifically apply only in connection with the solicitation 

of a purchase or sale of over the counter (OTC) unlisted 

non-NASDAQ equity securities: 

a. Failing to advise the customer, both at the time of 

solicitation and on the confirmation, of any and all 

compensation related to a specific securities transaction 

to be paid to the agent including commissions, sales 

charges, or concessions. 

b. In connection with a principal transaction, failing to 

disclose, both at the time of solicitation and on the 

confirmation, a short inventory position in the firm's 

account of more than 3.0% of the issued and outstanding 

shares of that class of securities of the issuer; however, 

subdivision 6 of this subsection shall apply only if the 

firm is a market maker at the time of the solicitation. 

c. Conducting sales contests in a particular security. 

d. After a solicited purchase by a customer, failing or 

refusing, in connection with a principal transaction, to 

promptly execute sell orders. 

e. Soliciting a secondary market transaction when there 

has not been a bona fide distribution in the primary 

market. 

f. Engaging in a pattern of compensating an agent in 

different amounts for effecting sales and purchases in the 

same security. 

7. Effecting any transaction in, or inducing the purchase or 

sale of, any security by means of any manipulative, 

deceptive, or other fraudulent device or contrivance 

including but not limited to the use of boiler room tactics 

or use of fictitious or nominee accounts. 

8. Failing to comply with any prospectus delivery 

requirements promulgated under federal law or the Act. 

9. In connection with the solicitation of a sale or purchase 

of an OTC unlisted non-NASDAQ security, failing to 

promptly provide the most current prospectus or the most 

recently filed periodic report filed under § 13 of the 

Securities Exchange Act when requested to do so by a 

customer. 
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10. Marking any order tickets or confirmations as 

unsolicited when in fact the transaction was solicited. 

11. For any month in which activity has occurred in a 

customer's account, but in no event less than every three 

months, failing to provide each customer with a statement 

of account with respect to all OTC non-NASDAQ equity 

securities in the account, containing a value for each such 

security based on the closing market bid on a date certain; 

however, this subdivision shall apply only if the firm has 

been a market maker in the security at any time during the 

month in which the monthly or quarterly statement is 

issued. 

12. Failing to comply with any applicable provision of the 

FINRA Rules or any applicable fair practice or ethical 

standard promulgated by the SEC or by a self-regulatory 

organization approved by the SEC. 

13. In connection with the solicitation of a purchase or sale 

of a designated security: 

a. Failing to disclose to the customer the bid and ask 

price, at which the broker-dealer effects transactions with 

individual, retail customers, of the designated security as 

well as its spread in both percentage and dollar amounts 

at the time of solicitation and on the trade confirmation 

documents; or 

b. Failing to include with the confirmation, the notice 

disclosure contained under 21VAC5-20-285, except the 

following shall be exempt from this requirement: 

(1) Transactions in which the price of the designated 

security is $5.00 or more, exclusive of costs or charges; 

however, if the designated security is a unit composed of 

one or more securities, the unit price divided by the 

number of components of the unit other than warrants, 

options, rights, or similar securities must be $5.00 or 

more, and any component of the unit that is a warrant, 

option, right, or similar securities, or a convertible 

security must have an exercise price or conversion price 

of $5.00 or more. 

(2) Transactions that are not recommended by the broker-

dealer or agent. 

(3) Transactions by a broker-dealer: (i) whose 

commissions, commission equivalents, and mark-ups 

from transactions in designated securities during each of 

the preceding three months, and during 11 or more of the 

preceding 12 months, did not exceed 5.0% of its total 

commissions, commission-equivalents, and mark-ups 

from transactions in securities during those months; and 

(ii) who has not executed principal transactions in 

connection with the solicitation to purchase the 

designated security that is the subject of the transaction 

in the preceding 12 months. 

(4) Any transaction or transactions that, upon prior 

written request or upon its own motion, the commission 

conditionally or unconditionally exempts as not 

encompassed within the purposes of this section. 

c. For purposes of this section, the term "designated 

security" means any equity security other than a security: 

(1) Registered, or approved for registration upon notice 

of issuance, on a national securities exchange and makes 

transaction reports available pursuant to 17 CFR 11Aa3-

1 under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934; 

(2) Authorized, or approved for authorization upon notice 

of issuance, for quotation in the NASDAQ system; 

(3) Issued by an investment company registered under 

the Investment Company Act of 1940; 

(4) That is a put option or call option issued by The 

Options Clearing Corporation; or 

(5) Whose issuer has net tangible assets in excess of $4 

million as demonstrated by financial statements dated 

within no less than 15 months that the broker-dealer has 

reviewed and has a reasonable basis to believe are true 

and complete in relation to the date of the transaction 

with the person, and 

(a) In the event the issuer is other than a foreign private 

issuer, are the most recent financial statements for the 

issuer that have been audited and reported on by an 

independent public accountant in accordance with the 

provisions of 17 CFR 210.2-02 under the Securities 

Exchange Act of 1934; or 

(b) In the event the issuer is a foreign private issuer, are 

the most recent financial statements for the issuer that 

have been filed with the SEC; furnished to the SEC 

pursuant to 17 CFR 240.12g3-2(b) under the Securities 

Exchange Act of 1934; or prepared in accordance with 

generally accepted accounting principles in the country 

of incorporation, audited in compliance with the 

requirements of that jurisdiction, and reported on by an 

accountant duly registered and in good standing in 

accordance with the regulations of that jurisdiction. 

21VAC5-20-285. Customer notice for designated 

securities. 

A. Broker-dealers that solicit the purchase and sale of 

designated securities shall provide the following notice to 

customers: 

IMPORTANT CUSTOMER NOTICE-READ 

CAREFULLY 

You have just entered into a solicited transaction involving 

a security which may not trade on an active national 

market. The following should help you understand this 

transaction and be better able to follow and protect your 

investment. 

Q. What is meant by the BID and ASK price and the 

spread? 

A. The BID is the price at which you could sell your 

securities at this time. The ASK is the price at which you 
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bought. Both are noted on your confirmation. The 

difference between these prices is the "spread," which is 

also noted on the confirmation, in both a dollar amount and 

a percentage relative to the ASK price. 

Q. How can I follow the price of my security? 

A. For the most part, you are dependent on broker-dealers 

that trade in your security for all price information. You 

may be able to find a quote in the newspaper, but you 

should keep in mind that the quote you see will be for 

dealer-to-dealer transactions (essentially wholesale prices 

and will not necessarily be the prices at which you could 

buy or sell). 

Q. How does the spread relate to my investments? 

A. The spread represents the profit made by your broker-

dealer and is the amount by which your investment must 

increase (the BID must rise) for you to break even. 

Generally, a greater spread indicates a higher risk. 

Q. How do I compute the spread? 

A. If you bought 100 shares at an ASK price of $1.00, you 

would pay $100 (100 shares X $1.00 = $100). If the BID 

price at the time you purchased your stock was $.50, you 

could sell the stock back to the broker-dealer for $50 (100 

shares X $.50 = $50). In this example, if you sold at the 

BID price, you would suffer a loss of 50%. 

Q. Can I sell at any time? 

A. Maybe. Some securities are not easy to sell because 

there are few buyers, or because there are no broker-

dealers who buy or sell them on a regular basis. 

Q. Why did I receive this notice? 

A. The laws of some states require your broker-dealer or 

sales agent to disclose the BID and ASK price on your 

confirmation and include this notice in some instances. If 

the BID and ASK were not explained to you at the time 

you discussed this investment with your broker, you may 

have further rights and remedies under both state and 

federal law. 

Q. Where do I go if I have a problem? 

A. If you cannot work the problem out with your broker-

dealer, you may contact the Virginia State Corporation 

Commission or the securities commissioner in the state in 

which you reside, the United States Securities and 

Exchange Commission, or FINRA. 

B. For the purpose of this section, the term "designated 

security" shall be defined as in subdivision A 15 m 3 under 

21VAC5-20-280 D 13 c. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4148; Filed September 15, 2014, 2:57 p.m.  



GOVERNOR 

Volume 31, Issue 3 Virginia Register of Regulations October 6, 2014 

190 

GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 27 (2014) 

Facilitating Employee Workplace Giving and 
Volunteerism 

Importance of the Issue 

The Commonwealth of Virginia has a dedicated interest in 

assisting its employees with charitable giving through the 

provision of an annual single state employee campaign, the 

Commonwealth of Virginia Campaign (CVC). This vital 

campaign offers an opportunity for employees to maximize 

contributions to a wide range of organizations, while 

minimizing the disruption to the workplace. Employees of the 

Commonwealth have demonstrated that they share civic 

responsibility and generosity with other members of their 

communities, the Commonwealth, and the United States by 

contributing more than $3.6 million for the 2013 campaign 

and over $41 million since 1998. 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under 

Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and under the laws 

of the Commonwealth, including but not limited to Section 

2.2-103A and 2.2-104 of the Code of Virginia and subject to 

my continuing and ultimate authority and responsibility to act 

in such matters, I hereby authorize the continuation of an 

annual Commonwealth of Virginia Campaign. 

The Commonwealth of Virginia Campaign will provide a 

responsive and convenient system to facilitate charitable 

giving. The goals of this campaign will be to: 

1. Provide assistance to non-profit organizations in serving 

the needs of the community; 

2. Facilitate an efficient and cost-effective vehicle by which 

state employees can voluntarily contribute to charity; 

3. Recognize the generosity of the state workforce; 

4. Ensure fiscal accountability; 

5. Consolidate all fundraising solicitations into one 

campaign, and prohibit interruptions in the state workplace 

from outside fundraising; 

6. Encourage employees to volunteer their time and share 

their talents in their schools and communities. 

The Commonwealth of Virginia Campaign will be conducted 

annually in all state agencies through the participation and 

leadership of two groups of state employees. 

1. The CVC Advisory Council (CVCAC): the state 

employee committee that oversees, articulates, and reviews 

the general campaign's goals and procedures. This 

committee, whose members serve three-year terms, 

includes one representative from each cabinet secretariat, 

the legislative branch, the judicial branch, seven regional 

representatives, and three state employees chosen at-large. 

2. Agency Coordinators: appointed by their agency head 

and tasked with organizing the campaign within the 

workplace. 

The Director of Human Resources Management shall serve as 

the chairperson of the Advisory Council and will lead the 

development and implementation of operating procedures for 

the program's organization and administration. These 

procedures shall be in concert with the goals of the program 

as set forth in this Executive Order. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order replaces Executive Order Number 26 

(2010), issued by Governor Robert F. McDonnell. This 

Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and shall 

remain in full force and effect until rescinded by further 

executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 11th day of September 2014. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Development of Implementation Plans - Hampton 
Roads Planning District Commission 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), the 

Hampton Roads Planning District Commission, the City of 

Hampton, York County, the City of Newport News, and the 

City of Poquoson invite citizens to a public meeting to 

discuss the development of implementation plans (IPs) to 

address fecal bacteria impairments to shellfishing and 

recreation in the Back and Poquoson River watersheds. Total 

maximum daily load (TMDL) studies for the impairments 

were approved by EPA in 2014 and are available on DEQ's 

website at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/ 

WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopmen

t/ApprovedTMDLReports.aspx. 

The implementation plans will identify ways to meet the 

pollutant reductions outlined in the TMDL studies.  

The first public meeting to begin development of the TMDL 

implementation plans for the Back and Poquoson River 

watersheds will be held Wednesday, October 22, 2014, 

5:30 p.m., Sandy Bottom Nature Park, 1255 Big Bethel Road, 

Hampton, VA 23666. 

The purpose of the meeting is to discuss the proposed 

reductions in bacteria needed in the affected watersheds and 

to solicit public participation for the IP development. The IPs 

will include the corrective actions needed to reduce bacteria 

and the associated costs, benefits, and environmental impacts. 

The IPs will also provide measurable goals and a timeline of 

expected achievement of water quality objectives. A fact 

sheet on the development of the IPs is available upon request. 

How to comment: The public comment period on 

development of the IPs will end on November 21, 2014. Oral 

comments will be accepted and addressed at the public 

meeting. Additional questions or information requests should 

be addressed to Dana Gonzalez. Written comments and 

inquiries should include the name, address, and telephone 

number of the person submitting the comments and should be 

sent to Dana Gonzalez at DEQ or Jill Sunderland at HRPDC: 

Dana Gonzalez 

TMDL NPS Coordinator 

Department of Environmental 

Quality 

Tidewater Regional Office 

5636 Southern Boulevard 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462 

Telephone (757) 518-2137 

FAX (757) 518-2009 

dana.gonzalez@deq.virginia.

gov 

Jill Sunderland 

Water Resources Planner 

Hampton Roads Planning 

District Commission 

723 Woodlake Dr.  

Chesapeake, VA 23320 

Telephone (757) 420-8300 

FAX (757) 523-4881 

jsunderland@hrpdcva.gov 

 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 

filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on September 

4, 2014. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 

900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of 

the Registrar of Regulations, 201 North 9th Street, 2nd Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia. 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Six (14) 

Virginia Lottery's "Cash & Gas" Promotion Final Rules for 

Operation (effective October 14, 2014) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Seven (14) 

Virginia Lottery's "The Big $20 Haul" Promotion Final Rules 

for Operation (effective October 14, 2014) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Ten (14) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1519 "Casino Cash" Final 

Rules for Game Operation (effective September 2, 2014) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty (14) 

This order rescinds Director's Order Number Eighty-Five 

(14): "$1,000,000 Money Ball Retailer Incentive" Final 

Requirements for Program Operation (effective September 2, 

2014) 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services is conducting a periodic review and small 

business impact review of Part III, HIV Premium Assistance 

Program (12VAC30-100-250 through 12VAC30-100-360) of 

12VAC30-100 (State Programs). 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins October 6, 2014, and ends 

October 27, 2014. 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTMDLReports.aspx
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Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Victoria Simmons, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

Policy Division, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6043, FAX (804) 

786-1680, or email victoria.simmons@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for the Town of 
Kilmarnock 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Greensville 

County for alleged violations at the Kilmarnock Wastewater 

Treatment Plant at 817 Waverly Avenue, Kilmarnock, VA. 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to the Town of Kilmarnock to address 

noncompliance with State Water Control Law. A description 

of the proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov. Frank Lupini will accept 

comments by email at frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at 

(804) 527-5106, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 

Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, from October 6, 2014, 

through November 6, 2014. 

Proposed Consent Order for King George County 
Service Authority 

Enforcement actions have been proposed for the King George 

County Service Authority for violations of State Water 

Control Law and regulations in King George County. The 

State Water Control Board proposes to issue consent orders to 

resolve violations at the Dahlgren District Wastewater 

Treatment Plant, the Purkins Corner Wastewater Treatment 

Plant, and the Oakland Park Wastewater Treatment Plant. 

Descriptions of the proposed actions are available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at http://www.deq.virginia.gov. Sarah Baker will 

accept comments by email at sarah.baker@deq.virginia.gov, 

FAX at (703) 583-3821, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from October 7, 2014, 

through November 6, 2014. 

Water Quality Management Planning Regulation 

Notice of action: The State Water Control Board is 

considering the amendment of the regulation on water quality 

management planning in accordance with the Public 

Participation Procedures for Water Quality Management 

Planning. A regulation is a general rule governing people's 

rights or conduct that is upheld by a state agency. 

Purpose of notice: The board is seeking comments through 

the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) on the 

proposed amendment. The purpose of the amendment to the 

Water Quality Management Planning Regulation (9VAC25-

720) is to adopt 36 total maximum daily load (TMDL) 

wasteload allocations (WLAs).  

Public comment period: October 6, 2014, through November 

6, 2014. 

Description of proposed action: DEQ staff will propose 

amendments of the Water Quality Management Planning 

Regulation for the James River Basin (9VAC25-720-60 A), 

Roanoke River Basin (9VAC25-720-80 A), Chowan River – 

Dismal Swamp Basin (9VAC25-720-100), Chesapeake Bay-

Small Coastal-Eastern Shore Basin (9VAC25-720-110 A), 

and York River Basin (9VAC25-720-120 A). Statutory 

authority for promulgating these amendments can be found in 

subdivision 10 of § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Staff intends to recommend the following: (i) that the board 

approve the TMDL reports as the plan for the pollutant 

reductions necessary for attainment of water quality goals in 

the impaired segments; (ii) that the board authorize inclusion 

of the TMDL reports in the appropriate Water Quality 

Management Plan; and (iii) that the board adopt 36 TMDL 

wasteload allocations as part of the Water Quality 

Management Planning Regulation in accordance with § 2.2-

4006 A 4 c and B of the Code of Virginia. 

The TMDL reports were developed in accordance with 

federal regulations (40 CFR 130.7) and are exempt from the 

provisions of Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act. The reports were subject to the 

TMDL public participation process contained in DEQ's 

Public Participation Procedures for Water Quality 

Management Planning. The public comment process provides 

the affected stakeholders an opportunity for public appeal of 

the TMDL. 

As of July 1, 2014, TMDL WLAs can receive State Water 

Control Board approval prior to EPA approval due to 

amendments outlined in § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the Code of 

Virginia. With the exception of the Back Bay, North Landing 

River, and Pocaty River watersheds TMDL, which was 

approved by EPA on June 26, 2014, the other six TMDL 

reports in this public notice have been reviewed by EPA for 

required TMDL elements, however, remain in draft form 

awaiting State Water Control Board approval. The EPA 

approved report can be found at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:victoria.simmons@dmas.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
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http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTM

DLReports.aspx and the draft reports can be found at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLR

eports.aspx. 

Affected waterbodies and localities: 

James River Basin (9VAC25-720-60 A):  

1. "Benthic Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) 

Development for the North Creek Watershed" 

• The North Creek TMDL, located in Fluvanna 

County, proposes sediment reductions for the 

watershed and provides a sediment wasteload 

allocation of 7.29 tons/yr. 

• The North Creek TMDL, located in Fluvanna 

County, proposes total phosphorus reductions for the 

watershed and provides a total phosphorus wasteload 

allocation of 187.3 lbs/yr. 

Roanoke River Basin (9VAC25-720-80 A): 

2. "TMDLs for Benthic Impairments in Little Otter River 

(Sediment and Total Phosphorus), Johns Creek, Wells 

Creek, and Buffalo Creek (Sediment)" 

• The Little Otter River, Johns Creek, Wells Creek, 

and Buffalo Creek Watersheds TMDL, located in the 

Town of Bedford and Bedford and Campbell Counties, 

proposes sediment reductions for the Lower Buffalo 

Creek, Upper Buffalo Creek, Lower Little Otter River, 

Upper Little Otter River, Johns Creek, and Wells 

Creek Watersheds and provides sediment wasteload 

allocations of 13.99 tons/yr, 25.51 tons/yr, 172.81 

tons/yr, 24 tons/yr, 32.86 tons/yr, and 1.49 tons/yr. 

• The Little Otter River, Johns Creek, Wells Creek, 

and Buffalo Creek Watersheds TMDL, located in the 

Town of Bedford and Bedford and Campbell Counties, 

proposes total phosphorus reductions for the Lower 

Little Otter River Watershed and provides a total 

phosphorus wasteload allocation of 2209.2 lbs/yr. 

3. "Bacteria TMDL Development for Hyco River, Aarons 

Creek, Little Buffalo Creek, and Beech Creek Located in 

Halifax and Mecklenburg Counties, Virginia" 

• The Hyco River, Aarons Creek, Little Buffalo Creek, 

and Beech Creek Watersheds TMDL, located in 

Halifax and Mecklenburg Counties, proposes bacteria 

reductions for the Hyco River, Aarons Creek, Beech 

Creek, and Little Buffalo Creek Watersheds and 

provides E. coli wasteload allocations of 2.72E+12 

cfu/yr, 3.54E+11 cfu/yr, 5.06E+10 cfu/yr, and 

1.02E+11 cfu/yr.  

4. "Sediment TMDL Development for the Coleman Creek 

Watershed Located in Halifax County, Virginia" 

• The Coleman Creek Watershed TMDL, located in 

Halifax County, proposes sediment reductions for the 

Coleman Creek Watershed and provides a sediment 

wasteload allocation of 22.3 tons/yr. 

Chowan River – Dismal Swamp Basin (9VAC25-720-100): 

5. "Total Maximum Daily Load Development for the Back 

Bay, North Landing River, and Pocaty River Watersheds"  

• The Back Bay, North Landing River, and Pocaty 

River Watersheds TMDL, located in the Cities of 

Chesapeake and Virginia Beach, proposes phosphorus 

reductions for Pocaty River and Ashville Bridge Creek 

Watersheds and provides phosphorus wasteload 

allocations of 129.39 kg/yr and 34.46 kg/yr.  

• The Back Bay, North Landing River, and Pocaty 

River Watersheds TMDL, located in the Cities of 

Chesapeake and Virginia Beach, proposes E. coli 

reductions for North Landing River and Pocaty River 

Watersheds and provides E. coli wasteload allocations 

of 6.25E+12 cfu/yr and 2.58E+12 cfu/yr. 

• The Back Bay, North Landing River, and Pocaty 

River Watersheds TMDL, located in the Cities of 

Chesapeake and Virginia Beach, proposes Enterococci 

reductions for Beggars Bridge Creek, Ashville Bridge 

Creek and Muddy Creek, and upper and lower Hell 

Point Creek Watersheds and provides Enterococci 

wasteload allocations of 6.79E+11 cfu/yr, 7.95E+11 

cfu/yr, and 2.04E+12 cfu/yr. 

Chesapeake Bay-Small Coastal-Eastern Shore Basin 

(9VAC25-720-110 A): 

6. "Bacteria TMDL Development in Red Bank Creek and 

Machipongo River, Virginia" 

• The Red Bank Creek and Machipongo River 

Watersheds TMDL, located in Accomack and 

Northampton Counties, proposes E. coli reductions for 

the Red Bank Creek (riverine) Watershed and provides 

an E. coli wasteload allocation of 1.08E+8 cfu/yr. 

• The Red Bank Creek and Machipongo River 

Watersheds TMDL, located in Accomack and 

Northampton Counties, proposes Enterococci 

reductions for the Red Bank Creek (estuarine) and 

Machipongo River (estuarine) and provides 

Enterococci wasteload allocations of 3.93E+6 cfu/yr 

and 9.03E+6 cfu/yr. 

• The Red Bank Creek and Machipongo River 

Watersheds TMDL, located in Accomack and 

Northampton Counties, proposes fecal coliform 

reductions for the Red Bank Creek (shellfish) and 

Machipongo River (shellfish) and provides fecal 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTMDLReports.aspx
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coliform wasteload allocations of 5.10E+11 counts/yr 

and 2.04E+12 counts/yr. 

York River Basin (9VAC25-720-120 A): 

7. "E. coli TMDL Development for The Pamunkey River 

and Tributaries, VA" 

• The Pamunkey River Watershed TMDL, located in 

Hanover, Louisa, King William, Caroline, 

Spotsylvania, and New Kent Counties, proposes 

bacteria reductions for the Northeast Creek, Upper 

Little River, Upper Pamunkey River/North Anna 

River, Middle Pamunkey River, Lower Pamunkey 

River, South Anna River (VAN-F01R-01), South Anna 

River (VAN-F02R-01), Taylors Creek (VAN-F03R-

01), South Anna River (VAP-F04R-02), and South 

Anna River (VAP-F04R-01) Watersheds and provides 

E. coli wasteload allocations of 2.34E+12 cfu/yr, 

5.61E+12 cfu/yr, 3.25E+13 cfu/yr, 2.36E+13 cfu/yr, 

5.38E+13 cfu/yr, 4.92E+12 cfu/yr, 7.50E+12 cfu/yr, 

3.66E+10 cfu/yr, 6.02E+12 cfu/yr, and 7.74E+12 

cfu/yr. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. All written comments must include the 

full name, address, and telephone number of the person 

commenting and be received by DEQ by 5 p.m. on the last 

day of the comment period.  

How a decision is made: After comments have been 

considered, the board will make the final decision. Citizens 

who submit statements during the comment period may 

address the board members during the board meeting at which 

a final decision is made on the proposal.  

To review documents: The TMDL reports are available on the 

DEQ website at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInfor

mationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/ApprovedTMDLRe

ports.aspx for the EPA approved report, 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInfor

mationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.

aspx for the draft reports, and by contacting the DEQ 

representative listed below for any report. The electronic copies 

are in PDF format and may be read online or downloaded. 

Contact for public comments, document requests, and 

additional information: Liz McKercher, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4291, FAX (804) 698-4032, or 

email elizabeth.mckercher@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-151. General Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 

for Discharges of Storm Water Associated with Industrial 

Activity. 

Publication: 30:11 VA.R. 1467-1550 January 27, 2014. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1473, column 1, 9VAC25-151-50, Table 50-2, SIC 

Code 2421 row, Activity Represented column, should read: 

"General Sawmills and Planning Planing Mills."  

Page 1485, column 2, 9VAC25-151-70 Part I, Table 70-3, 

Monitoring Frequency column, both rows, should read: 

"1/year 1/6 months" 

Page 1500, column 2, 9VAC25-151-80, B 2 c (7), line two, 

should read: "under Part III B 4 3 c have occurred;" 

Page 1504, column 2, 9VAC25-151-80 D 2 a (5), end of 

line three and beginning of line four should read: "or a 

VPDES permit" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3382; Filed September 15, 2014, 1:50 p.m.
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