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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair, Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Pamela S. Baskervill; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. 

Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 

Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

November 2014 through December 2015 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

31:5 October 15, 2014 November 3, 2014 

31:6 October 29, 2014 November 17, 2014 

31:7 November 12, 2014 December 1, 2014 

31:8 November 25, 2014 (Tuesday) December 15, 2014 

31:9 December 10, 2014 December 29, 2014 

31:10 December 22, 2014 (Monday) January 12, 2015 

31:11 January 7, 2015 January 26, 2015 

31:12 January 21, 2015 February 9, 2015 

31:13 February 4, 2015 February 23, 2015 

31:14 February 18, 2015 March 9, 2015 

31:15 March 4, 2015 March 23, 2015 

31:16 March 18. 2015 April 6, 2015 

31:17 April 1, 2015 April 20, 2015 

31:18 April 15, 2015 May 4, 2015 

31:19 April 29, 2015 May 18, 2015 

31:20 May 13, 2015 June 1, 2015 

31:21 May 27, 2015 June 15, 2015 

31:22 June 10, 2015 June 29, 2015 

31:23 June 24, 2015 July 13, 2015 

31:24 July 8, 2015 July 27, 2015 

31:25 July 22, 2015 August 10, 2015 

31:26 August 5, 2015 August 24, 2015 

32:1 August 19, 2015 September 7, 2015 

32:2 September 2, 2015 September 21, 2015 

32:3 September 16, 2015 October 5, 2015 

32:4 September 30, 2015 October 19, 2015 

32:5 October 14, 2015 November 2, 2015 

32:6 October 28, 2015 November 16, 2015 

32:7 November 11, 2015 November 30, 2015 

32:8 November 24, 2015 (Tuesday) December 14, 2015 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-120, 

Waivered Services. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

create criteria and standards for establishing an exceptional 

reimbursement rate for certain individuals in the intellectual 

disability waiver who have exceptional care needs. The board 

is authorized to establish a higher reimbursement rate by Item 

301 III of Chapter 2 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly, Special 

Session I. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 17, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-3839; Filed October 15, 2014, 3:23 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-131. Regulations Establishing 

Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia 

(amending 8VAC20-131-5, 8VAC20-131-50, 8VAC20-131-

60, 8VAC20-131-110, 8VAC20-131-270, 8VAC20-131-280, 

8VAC20-131-360).  

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-253.13:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 3, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Melissa Luchau, Department of Education, 

James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2924, FAX (804) 

225-2524, or email melissa.luchau@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action makes permanent certain provisions 

of the emergency regulations adopted pursuant to Chapter 

454 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly. The amendments (i) add 

the career and technical education credential requirement 

for the Standard Diploma, (ii) add the virtual course 

requirement for the Standard Diploma and the Advanced 

Studies Diploma, (iii) eliminate the Standard Technical 

Diploma and the Advanced Technical Diploma, (iv) 

incorporate the Modified Standard Diploma into the 

Standard Diploma and establish credit accommodations 

for students with disabilities to earn a Standard Diploma, 

and (v) recommend the Advanced Studies Diploma for 

students pursuing baccalaureate study. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

Definitions and Purpose  

8VAC20-131-5. Definitions.  

The following words and terms apply only to these 

regulations and do not supersede those definitions used for 

federal reporting purposes or for the calculation of costs 

related to the Standards of Quality (§ 22.1-253.13:1 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia). When used in these regulations, these 

words shall have the following meanings, unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Accreditation" means a process used by the Virginia 

Department of Education (hereinafter "department") to 

evaluate the educational performance of public schools in 

accordance with these regulations.  

"Additional test" means a test, including substitute tests 

approved by the Board of Education that students may use in 

lieu of a Standards of Learning test to obtain verified credit.  

"Class period" means a segment of time in the school day 

that is approximately 1/6 of the instructional day.  

"Combined school" means a public school that contains any 

combination of or all of the grade levels from kindergarten 

through grade 12. This definition does not include those 

schools defined as elementary, middle, or secondary schools.  

"Credit accommodations" means adjustments to meet the 

standard and verified credit requirements for earning a 

Standard Diploma for students with disabilities.  

"Elementary school" means a public school with any grades 

kindergarten through five.  

"Eligible students" means the total number of students of 

school age enrolled in the school at a grade or course for 

which a Standards of Learning test is required unless 

excluded under the provisions of 8VAC20-131-30 F G and 

8VAC20-131-280 D relative to limited English proficient 

(LEP) students.  

"Enrollment" means the act of complying with state and 

local requirements relative to the registration or admission of 

a child for attendance in a school within a local school 

division. This term also means registration for courses within 

the student's home school or within related schools or 

programs.  

"First time" means the student has not been enrolled in the 

school at any time during the current school year (for 

purposes of 8VAC20-131-60 with reference to students who 

transfer in during the school year).  

"Four core areas" or "four core academic areas" means 

English, mathematics, science, and history and social science 

for purposes of testing for the Standards of Learning.  

"Graduate" means a student who has earned a Board of 

Education recognized diploma, which includes the Advanced 

Studies Diploma, Advanced Technical, the Standard 

Diploma, Standard Technical, Modified Standard, and the 

Special, and General Achievement diplomas Diploma.  

"Homebound instruction" means academic instruction 

provided to students who are confined at home or in a health 

care facility for periods that would prevent normal school 

attendance based upon certification of need by a licensed 

physician or a licensed clinical psychologist.  
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"Locally awarded verified credit" means a verified unit of 

credit awarded by a local school board in accordance with 

8VAC20-131-110.  

"Middle school" means a public school with any grades 6 

through 8.  

"Planning period" means one class period per day or the 

equivalent unencumbered of any teaching or supervisory 

duties.  

"Recess" means a segment of free time exclusive of time 

provided for meals during the standard school day in which 

students are given a break from instruction.  

"Reconstitution" means a process that may be used to 

initiate a range of accountability actions to improve pupil 

performance, curriculum, and instruction to address 

deficiencies that caused a school to be rated Accreditation 

Denied that may include, but not be limited to, restructuring a 

school's governance, instructional program, staff or student 

population.  

"School" means a publicly funded institution where students 

are enrolled for all or a majority of the instructional day and:  

1. Those students are reported in fall membership at the 

institution; and  

2. At a minimum, the institution meets the preaccreditation 

eligibility requirements of these regulations as adopted by 

the Board of Education.  

"Secondary school" means a public school with any grades 9 

through 12.  

"Standard school day" means a calendar day that averages at 

least five and one-half instructional hours for students in 

grades 1 through 12, excluding breaks for meals and recess, 

and a minimum of three instructional hours for students in 

kindergarten.  

"Standard school year" means a school year of at least 180 

teaching days or a total of at least 990 teaching hours per 

year.  

"Standard unit of credit" or "standard credit" means credit 

awarded for a course in which the student successfully 

completes 140 clock hours of instruction and the 

requirements of the course. Local school boards may develop 

alternatives to the requirement for 140 clock hours of 

instruction as provided for in 8VAC20-131-110.  

"Standards of Learning (SOL) tests" or "SOL tests" means 

those criterion referenced assessments approved by the Board 

of Education for use in the Virginia assessment program that 

measure attainment of knowledge and skills required by the 

Standards of Learning.  

"Student" means a person of school age as defined by 

§ 22.1-1 of the Code of Virginia, a child with disabilities as 

defined in § 22.1-213 of the Code of Virginia, and a person 

with limited English proficiency in accordance with § 22.1-5 

of the Code of Virginia.  

"Student periods" means the number of students a teacher 

instructs per class period multiplied by the number of class 

periods taught.  

"Verified unit of credit" or "verified credit" means credit 

awarded for a course in which a student earns a standard unit 

of credit and achieves a passing score on a corresponding 

end-of-course SOL test or an additional test approved by the 

Board of Education as part of the Virginia assessment 

program.  

"Virginia assessment program" means a system used to 

evaluate student achievement that includes Standards of 

Learning tests and additional tests that may be approved from 

time to time by the Board of Education.  

8VAC20-131-50. Requirements for graduation.  

A. The requirements for a student to earn a diploma and 

graduate from a Virginia high school shall be those in effect 

when that student enters the ninth grade for the first time. 

Students shall be awarded a diploma upon graduation from a 

Virginia high school.  

The Advanced Studies Diploma shall be the recommended 

diploma for students pursuing baccalaureate study. Both the 

Standard Diploma and the Advanced Studies Diploma shall 

prepare students for postsecondary education and the career 

readiness required by the Commonwealth's economy.  

When students below the ninth grade successfully complete 

courses offered for credit in grades 9 through 12, credit shall 

be counted toward meeting the standard units required for 

graduation provided the courses are equivalent in content and 

academic rigor as those courses offered at the secondary 

level. To earn a verified unit of credit for these courses, 

students must meet the requirements of 8VAC20-131-110.  

The following requirements shall be the only requirements 

for a diploma, unless a local school board has prescribed 

additional requirements that have been approved by the Board 

of Education. All additional requirements prescribed by local 

school boards that have been approved by the Board of 

Education remain in effect until such time as the local school 

board submits a request to the board to amend or discontinue 

them.  

B. Requirements for a Standard Diploma.  

1. Beginning with the ninth-grade class of 2011-2012 

2013-2014 and beyond, students shall earn the required 

standard and verified units of credit described in 

subdivision 2 of this subsection.  

2. Credits required for graduation with a Standard 

Diploma.  

Discipline 

Area 

Standard Units 

of Credit 

Required 

Verified 

Credits 

Required 

English 4 2 

Mathematics
1
 3 1 
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Laboratory 

Science
2,6

 
3 1 

History and 

Social 

Sciences
3,6

 

3 1 

Health and 

Physical 

Education 

2   

Foreign 

Language, 

Fine Arts or 

Career and 

Technical 

Education
7 

 

2    

Economics 

and Personal 

Finance 

1   

Electives
4
 4    

Student 

Selected Test
5
 

  1 

Career and 

Technical 

Education 

Credential
8
 

  

Total
9
 22 6 

1Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include at least 
two different course selections from among: Algebra I, Geometry, 

Algebra, Functions, and Data Analysis, Algebra II, or other 

mathematics courses above the level of Algebra II. The board shall 
approve courses to satisfy this requirement. 
2Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include course 

selections from at least two different science disciplines: earth 

sciences, biology, chemistry, or physics, or completion of the 

sequence of science courses required for the International 

Baccalaureate Diploma. The board shall approve courses to satisfy 
this requirement. 
3Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include U.S. and 

Virginia History, U.S. and Virginia Government, and one course in 
either world history or geography or both. The board shall approve 

courses to satisfy this requirement. 
4Courses to satisfy this requirement shall include at least two 
sequential electives as required by the Standards of Quality. 
5A student may utilize additional tests for earning verified credit in 

computer science, technology, career and technical education, 
economics or other areas as prescribed by the board in 8VAC20-131-

110. 
6Students who complete a career and technical education program 

sequence and pass an examination or occupational competency 

assessment in a career and technical education field that confers 

certification or an occupational competency credential from a 
recognized industry, or trade or professional association, or acquires 

a professional license in a career and technical education field from 

the Commonwealth of Virginia may substitute the certification, 
competency credential, or license for (i) the student-selected verified 

credit and (ii) either a science or history and social science verified 

credit when the certification, license, or credential confers more than 
one verified credit. The examination or occupational competency 

assessment must be approved by the Board of Education as an 

additional test to verify student achievement. 
7Pursuant to § 22.1-253.13:4 of the Code of Virginia, credits earned 

for this requirement shall include one credit in fine or performing 

arts or career and technical education. 
8Students shall earn a career and technical education credential 

approved by the Board of Education that could include, but not be 

limited to, the successful completion of an industry certification, a 
state licensure examination, a national occupational competency 

assessment, or the Virginia workplace readiness assessment. 
9Students shall successfully complete one virtual course, which may 
be a noncredit-bearing course or a required or elective credit-bearing 

course that is offered online. 

3. The Board of Education shall establish, through 

guidelines, credit accommodations to the standard and 

verified credit requirements for a Standard Diploma. Such 

credit accommodations for students with disabilities may 

include:  

a. Approval of alternative courses to meet the standard 

credit requirements; 

b. Modifications to the requirements for local school 

divisions to award locally awarded verified credits; 

c. Approval of additional tests to earn a verified credit; 

d. Adjusted cut scores required to earn verified credit; 

and 

e. Allowance of work-based learning experiences. 

The student's Individual Education Program (IEP) or 504 

Plan would specify any credit accommodations that would 

be applicable for the student. 

Students completing the requirements for the Standard 

Diploma may be eligible to receive an honor deemed 

appropriate by the local school board as described in 

subsection K H of this section.  

C. Requirements for a Standard Technical Diploma.  

1. Beginning with the ninth-grade class of 2012-2013 and 

beyond, students shall earn the required standard and 

verified units of credit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection.  

2. Credits required for graduation with a Standard 

Technical Diploma.  

Discipline 

Area 

Standard Units 

of Credit 

Required 

Verified 

Credits 

Required 

English 4 2 

Mathematics
1
 3 1 

Laboratory 

Science
2,5

 
3 1 
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History and 

Social 

Sciences
3,5

 

3 1 

Health and 

Physical 

Education 

2   

Fine Arts or 

Foreign 

Language  

1   

Economics 

and Personal 

Finance  

1    

Career and 

Technical 

Education
4
 

4   

Electives 1    

Student 

Selected
6
 

  1 

Total 22 6 

1Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include at least 
three different course selections from among: Algebra I, Geometry, 

Algebra Functions and Data Analysis, or Algebra II or other 

mathematics courses above the level of Algebra II. The board shall 
approve courses to satisfy this requirement. 
2Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include course 

selections from at least three different science disciplines from 
among: earth sciences, biology, chemistry, or physics, or completion 

of the sequence of science courses required for the International 

Baccalaureate Diploma. The board shall approve courses to satisfy 
this requirement. 
3Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include U.S. and 

Virginia History, U.S. and Virginia Government, and one course in 
either world history or geography or both. The board shall approve 

courses to satisfy this requirement. 
4Courses completed to satisfy this requirement must include a career 
concentration as approved by the board. If a career concentration 

includes a specific assessment approved by the board and the student 

is eligible to take the assessment, then the student must take this 
assessment.  
5Students who complete a career and technical education program 

sequence and pass an examination or occupational competency 
assessment in a career and technical education field that confers 

certification or an occupational competency credential from a 

recognized industry or trade or professional association or acquires a 
professional license in a career and technical education field from the 

Commonwealth of Virginia may substitute the certification 
competency credential or license for (i) the student selected verified 

credit and (ii) either a science or history and social science verified 

credit when the certification license or credential confers more than 

one verified credit. The examination or occupational competency 

assessment must be approved by the board as an additional test to 

verify student achievement.  
6A student may utilize additional tests for earning verified credit in 

computer science, technology, career and technical education, 

economics or other areas as prescribed by the board in 8VAC20-131-
110. 

Students completing the requirements for the Standard 

Technical Diploma may be eligible to receive an honor 

deemed appropriate by the local school board as described in 

subsection K of this section.  

D. C. Requirements for an Advanced Studies Diploma. Any 

student who meets the requirements for both the Advanced 

Studies and the Advanced Technical diploma may choose 

between these two diplomas.)  

1. Beginning with the ninth-grade class of 2011-2012 

2013-2014 and beyond, students shall earn the required 

standard and verified units of credit described in 

subdivision 2 of this subsection.  

2. Credits required for graduation with an Advanced 

Studies Diploma.  

Discipline 

Area 

Standard Units 

of Credit 

Required 

Verified 

Credits 

Required 

English 4 2 

Mathematics
1
 4 2 

Laboratory 

Science
2
 

4 2 

History and 

Social 

Sciences
3
 

4 2 

Foreign 

Language
4
 

3   

Health and 

Physical 

Education 

2   

Fine Arts or 

Career and 

Technical 

Education 

1   

Economics 

and Personal 

Finance 

1   

Electives 3   

Student 

Selected Test
5
 

  1 

Total
6
 26 9 

1Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include at least 

three different course selections from among: Algebra I, Geometry, 

Algebra II, or other mathematics courses above the level of Algebra 

II. The board shall approve courses to satisfy this requirement. 
2Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include course 

selections from at least three different science disciplines from 

among: earth sciences, biology, chemistry, or physics or completion 
of the sequence of science courses required for the International 

Baccalaureate Diploma. The board shall approve additional courses 
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to satisfy this requirement. 
3Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include U.S. and 

Virginia History, U.S. and Virginia Government, and two courses in 

either world history or geography or both. The board shall approve 
additional courses to satisfy this requirement. 
4Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include three 

years of one language or two years of two languages. 
5A student may utilize additional tests for earning verified credit in 

computer science, technology, career or technical education, 

economics or other areas as prescribed by the board in 8VAC20-131-
110. 
6Students shall successfully complete one virtual course, which may 

be a noncredit-bearing course, or may be a course required to earn 

this diploma that is offered online. 

Students completing the requirements for the Advanced 

Studies Diploma may be eligible to receive an honor deemed 

appropriate by the local school board as described in 

subsection K H of this section.  

E. Requirements for an Advanced Technical Diploma. Any 

student who meets the requirements for both the Advanced 

Studies and the Advanced Technical diploma may choose 

between these two diplomas.  

1. Beginning with the ninth-grade class of 2012-2013 and 

beyond, students shall earn the required standard and 

verified units of credit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection.  

2. Credits required for graduation with an Advanced 

Technical Diploma.  

Discipline 

Area 

Standard Units 

of Credit 

Required 

Verified 

Credits 

Required 

English 4 2 

Mathematics
1
 4 2 

Laboratory 

Science
2
 

4 2 

History and 

Social 

Sciences
3
 

4 2 

Foreign 

Language
4
 

3   

Health and 

Physical 

Education 

2   

Economics 

and Personal 

Finance  

1    

Fine Arts or 

Career and 

Technical 

Education  

1   

Career and 

Technical 

Education
5
 

3    

Student 

Selected Test
6
 

  1 

Total 26 9 

1Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include at least 

three different course selections from among: Algebra I, Geometry, 
Algebra II, or other mathematics courses above the level of Algebra 

II. The board shall approve courses to satisfy this requirement. 
2Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include course 
selections from at least three different science disciplines from 

among: earth sciences, biology, chemistry, or physics or completion 

of the sequence of science courses required for the International 
Baccalaureate Diploma. The board shall approve courses to satisfy 

this requirement. 
3Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include U.S. and 
Virginia History, U.S. and Virginia Government, and two courses in 

either world history or geography or both. The board shall approve 

courses to satisfy this requirement. 
4Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include three 

years of one language or two years of two languages. 
 5Courses completed to satisfy this requirement must include a career 
concentration as approved by the board. If a career concentration 

includes a specific assessment approved by the board, and the 

student is eligible to take the assessment, then the student must take 
this assessment.  
6A student may utilize additional tests for earning verified credit in 

computer science, technology, career or technical education, 
economics, or other areas as prescribed by the board in 8VAC20-

131-110. 

Students completing the requirements for the Advanced 

Technical Diploma may be eligible to receive an honor 

deemed appropriate by the local school board as described in 

subsection K of this section.  

F. Requirements for the Modified Standard Diploma.  

1. Every student shall be expected to pursue a Standard 

Diploma, Standard Technical Diploma, Advanced Studies 

Diploma, or Advanced Technical Diploma. The Modified 

Standard Diploma program is intended for certain students 

at the secondary level who have a disability and are 

unlikely to meet the credit requirements for a Standard 

Diploma. Eligibility and participation in the Modified 

Standard Diploma program shall be determined by the 

student's Individualized Education Program (IEP) team 

including the student, where appropriate, at any point after 

the student's eighth grade year.  

2. The school must secure the informed written consent of 

the parent/guardian and the student to choose this diploma 

program after review of the student's academic history and 

the full disclosure of the student's options.  

3. The student who has chosen to pursue a Modified 

Standard Diploma shall also be allowed to pursue the 

Standard Diploma, Standard Technical Diploma, 

Advanced Studies Diploma, or Advanced Technical 

Diploma at any time throughout that student's high school 
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career, and the student must not be excluded from courses 

and tests required to earn these diplomas.  

4. Students pursuing the Modified Standard Diploma shall 

pass literacy and numeracy competency assessments 

prescribed by the board.  

5. Credits required for graduation with a Modified 

Standard Diploma.  

Discipline Area 
Standard Units of 

Credit Required 

English 4 

Mathematics
1
 3 

Science
2
 2 

History and Social Sciences
3
 2 

Health and Physical Education 2 

Fine Arts or Career and 

Technical Education 
1 

Electives
4
 6 

Total 20 

1Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include content 

from among applications of algebra, geometry, personal finance, and 
probability and statistics in courses that have been approved by the 

board. 
2Courses completed shall include content from at least two of the 
following: applications of earth science, biology, chemistry, or 

physics in courses approved by the board. 
3Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include one unit 
of credit in U.S. and Virginia History and one unit of credit in U.S. 

and Virginia Government in courses approved by the board. 
4Courses to satisfy this requirement shall include at least two 
sequential electives in the same manner required for the Standard 

Diploma. 

6. The student must meet any additional criteria established 

by the Board of Education.  

G. D. In accordance with the requirements of the Standards 

of Quality, students with disabilities who complete the 

requirements of their Individualized Education Program (IEP) 

and do not meet the requirements for other diplomas shall be 

awarded Special Diplomas.  

H. E. In accordance with the requirements of the Standards 

of Quality, students who complete prescribed programs of 

studies defined by the local school board but do not qualify 

for a Standard Diploma, Standard Technical, an Advanced 

Studies Diploma, Advanced Technical, Modified Standard, or 

a Special, or General Achievement diplomas Diploma shall 

be awarded Certificates of Program Completion. The 

requirements for Certificates of Program Completion are 

developed by local school boards in accordance with the 

Standards of Quality. Students receiving a general 

achievement diploma shall comply with 8VAC20-680, 

Regulations Governing the General Achievement Diploma.  

I. F. In accordance with the provisions of the compulsory 

attendance law and 8VAC20-360, Regulations Governing 

General Educational Development Certificates, students who 

do not qualify for diplomas may earn a high school 

equivalency credential.  

J. G. At a student's request, the local school board shall 

communicate or otherwise make known to institutions of 

higher education, potential employers, or other applicable 

third parties, in a manner that the local school board deems 

appropriate, that a student has attained the state's academic 

expectations by earning a Virginia diploma and that the value 

of such a diploma is not affected in any way by the 

accreditation status of the student's school.  

K. H. Awards for exemplary student performance. Students 

who demonstrate academic excellence and/or outstanding 

achievement may be eligible for one or more of the following 

awards:  

1. Students who complete the requirements for an 

Advanced Studies Diploma or Advanced Technical 

Diploma with an average grade of "B" or better, and 

successfully complete college-level coursework that will 

earn the student at least nine transferable college credits in 

Advanced Placement (AP), International Baccalaureate 

(IB), Cambridge, or dual enrollment courses shall receive 

the Governor's Seal on the diploma.  

2. Students who complete the requirements for a Standard 

Diploma, Standard Technical Diploma, or an Advanced 

Studies Diploma or Advanced Technical Diploma with an 

average grade of "A" shall receive a Board of Education 

Seal on the diploma.  

3. The Board of Education's Career and Technical 

Education Seal will be awarded to students who earn a 

Standard Diploma, Standard Technical Diploma, or an 

Advanced Studies Diploma or Advanced Technical 

Diploma and complete a prescribed sequence of courses in 

a career and technical education concentration or 

specialization that they choose and maintain a "B" or better 

average in those courses; or (i) pass an examination or an 

occupational competency assessment in a career and 

technical education concentration or specialization that 

confers certification or occupational competency credential 

from a recognized industry, trade or professional 

association or (ii) acquire a professional license in that 

career and technical education field from the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. The Board of Education shall 

approve all professional licenses and examinations used to 

satisfy these requirements.  

4. The Board of Education's Seal of Advanced 

Mathematics and Technology will be awarded to students 

who earn either a Standard Diploma, Standard Technical 

Diploma, or an Advanced Studies Diploma or Advanced 

Technical Diploma and (i) satisfy all of the mathematics 

requirements for the Advanced Studies Diploma or 

Advanced Technical Diploma (four units of credit 
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including Algebra II; two verified units of credit) with a 

"B" average or better; and (ii) either (a) pass an 

examination in a career and technical education field that 

confers certification from a recognized industry, or trade or 

professional association; (b) acquire a professional license 

in a career and technical education field from the 

Commonwealth of Virginia; or (c) pass an examination 

approved by the board that confers college-level credit in a 

technology or computer science area. The Board of 

Education shall approve all professional licenses and 

examinations used to satisfy these requirements.  

5. The Board of Education's Seal for Excellence in Civics 

Education will be awarded to students who earn either a 

Modified Standard Diploma, Standard Diploma, Standard 

Technical Diploma, or an Advanced Studies Diploma, or 

Advanced Technical Diploma and (i) complete Virginia 

and United States History and Virginia and United States 

Government courses with a grade of "B" or higher; (ii) 

have good attendance and no disciplinary infractions as 

determined by local school board policies; and (iii) 

complete 50 hours of voluntary participation in community 

service or extracurricular activities. Activities that would 

satisfy the requirements of clause (iii) of this subdivision 

include: (a) volunteering for a charitable or religious 

organization that provides services to the poor, sick, or less 

fortunate; (b) participating in Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, or 

similar youth organizations; (c) participating in JROTC; 

(d) participating in political campaigns or government 

internships, or Boys State, Girls State, or Model General 

Assembly; or (e) participating in school-sponsored 

extracurricular activities that have a civics focus. Any 

student who enlists in the United States military prior to 

graduation will be deemed to have met this community 

service requirement.  

6. Students may receive other seals or awards for 

exceptional academic, career and technical, citizenship, or 

other exemplary performance in accordance with criteria 

defined by the local school board.  

L. I. Students completing graduation requirements in a 

summer school program shall be eligible for a diploma. The 

last school attended by the student during the regular session 

shall award the diploma unless otherwise agreed upon by the 

principals of the two schools.  

M. J. Students who complete Advanced Placement courses, 

college-level courses, or courses required for an International 

Baccalaureate Diploma shall be deemed to have completed 

the requirements for graduation under these standards 

provided they have earned the standard units of credit and 

earned verified units of credit in accordance with the 

requirements of for the Standard Diploma and the Advanced 

Studies Diploma, as specified in subsections B and C of this 

section.  

N. K. Students shall be counseled annually regarding the 

opportunities for using additional tests for earning verified 

credits as provided in accordance with the provisions of 

8VAC20-131-110, and the consequences of failing to fulfill 

the obligations to complete the requirements for verified units 

of credit.  

8VAC20-131-60. Transfer students.  

A. The provisions of this section pertain generally to 

students who transfer into Virginia high schools. Students 

transferring in grades K-8 from Virginia public schools or 

nonpublic schools accredited by one of the approved 

accrediting constituent members of the Virginia Council for 

Private Education shall be given recognition for all grade-

level work completed. The academic record of students 

transferring from all other schools shall be evaluated to 

determine appropriate grade placement in accordance with 

policies adopted by the local school board. The State Testing 

Identifier (STI) for students who transfer into a Virginia 

public school from another Virginia public school shall be 

retained by the receiving school.  

B. For the purposes of this section, the term "beginning" 

means within the first 20 hours of instruction per course. The 

term "during" means after the first 20 hours of instruction per 

course.  

C. Standard or verified units of credit earned by a student in 

a Virginia public school shall be transferable without 

limitation regardless of the accreditation status of the Virginia 

public school in which the credits were earned. Virginia 

public schools shall accept standard and verified units of 

credit from other Virginia public schools, Virginia's virtual 

learning program, Virtual Virginia, and state-operated 

programs. Standard units of credit also shall be accepted for 

courses satisfactorily completed in accredited colleges and 

universities when prior written approval of the principal has 

been granted or the student has been given credit by the 

previous school attended.  

D. A secondary school shall accept credits toward 

graduation received from Virginia nonpublic schools 

accredited by one of the approved accrediting constituent 

members of the Virginia Council for Private Education 

(VCPE). The Board of Education will maintain contact with 

the VCPE and may periodically review its accrediting 

procedures and policies as part of its policies under this 

section.  

Nothing in these standards shall prohibit a public school 

from accepting standard units of credit toward graduation 

awarded to students who transfer from all other schools when 

the courses for which the student receives credit generally 

match the description of or can be substituted for courses for 

which the receiving school gives standard credit, and the 

school from which the child transfers certifies that the courses 

for which credit is given meet the requirements of 8VAC20-

131-110 A.  

Students transferring into a Virginia public school shall be 

required to meet the requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-

131-50 to receive a Standard, Standard Technical, Diploma or 
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an Advanced Studies Diploma, Advanced Technical or 

Modified Standard Diploma, except as provided by 

subsection G of this section. To receive a Special Diploma or 

Certificate of Program Completion, a student must meet the 

requirements prescribed by the Standards of Quality.  

E. The academic record of a student transferring from other 

Virginia public schools shall be sent directly to the school 

receiving the student upon request of the receiving school in 

accordance with the provisions of the 8VAC20-150, 

Management of the Student's Scholastic Record in the Public 

Schools of Virginia. The State Testing Identifier (STI) for 

students who transfer into a Virginia public school from 

another Virginia public school shall be retained by the 

receiving school.  

F. The academic record of a student transferring into 

Virginia public schools from other than a Virginia public 

school shall be evaluated to determine the number of standard 

units of credit that have been earned, including credit from 

schools outside the United States, and the number of verified 

units of credit needed to graduate in accordance with 

subsection G of this section. Standard units of credit also 

shall be accepted for courses satisfactorily completed in 

accredited colleges and universities when the student has 

been given credit by the previous school attended.  

Students transferring above the tenth grade from schools or 

other education programs that do not require or give credit for 

health and physical education shall not be required to take 

these courses to meet graduation requirements.  

G. Students entering a Virginia public high school for the 

first time after the tenth grade shall earn as many credits as 

possible toward the graduation requirements prescribed in 

8VAC20-131-50. However, schools may substitute courses 

required in other states in the same content area if the student 

is unable to meet the specific content requirements of 

8VAC20-131-50 without taking a heavier than normal course 

load in any semester, by taking summer school, or by taking 

courses after the time when he otherwise would have 

graduated. In any event, no such student shall earn fewer than 

the following number of verified units, nor shall such students 

be required to take SOL tests or additional tests as defined in 

8VAC20-131-110 for verified units of credit in courses 

previously completed at another school or program of study, 

unless necessary to meet the requirements listed in 

subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection:  

1. For a Standard Diploma or Standard Technical Diploma:  

a. Students entering a Virginia high school for the first 

time during the ninth grade or at the beginning of the 

tenth grade shall earn credit as prescribed in 8VAC20-

131-50;  

b. Students entering a Virginia high school for the first 

time during the tenth grade or at the beginning of the 

eleventh grade shall earn a minimum of four verified 

units of credit: one each in English, mathematics, history, 

and science. Students who complete a career and 

technical education program sequence may substitute a 

certificate, occupational competency credential or license 

for either a science or history and social science verified 

credit pursuant to 8VAC20-131-50; and  

c. Students entering a Virginia high school for the first 

time during the eleventh grade or at the beginning of the 

twelfth grade shall earn a minimum of two verified units 

of credit: one in English and one of the student's own 

choosing.  

2. For an Advanced Studies Diploma or Advanced 

Technical Diploma:  

a. Students entering a Virginia high school for the first 

time during the ninth grade or at the beginning of the 

tenth grade shall earn credit as prescribed in 8VAC20-

131-50;  

b. Students entering a Virginia high school for the first 

time during the tenth grade or at the beginning of the 

eleventh grade shall earn a minimum of six verified units 

of credit: two in English and one each in mathematics, 

history, and science and one of the student's own 

choosing; and  

c. Students entering a Virginia high school for the first 

time during the eleventh grade or at the beginning of the 

twelfth grade shall earn a minimum of four verified units 

of credit: one in English and three of the student's own 

choosing.  

H. Students entering a Virginia high school for the first time 

after the first semester of their eleventh grade year must meet 

the requirements of subdivision G 1 c or G 2 c of this section. 

Students transferring after 20 instructional hours per course of 

their senior or twelfth grade year shall be given every 

opportunity to earn a Standard, Standard Technical, Diploma 

or an Advanced Studies Diploma, Advanced Technical, or 

Modified Standard Diploma. If it is not possible for the 

student to meet the requirements for a diploma, arrangements 

should be made for the student's previous school to award the 

diploma. If these arrangements cannot be made, a waiver of 

the verified unit of credit requirements may be available to 

the student. The Department of Education may grant such 

waivers upon request by the local school board in accordance 

with guidelines prescribed by the Board of Education.  

I. Any local school division receiving approval to increase 

its course credit requirements for a diploma may not deny 

either the Standard, Standard Technical, Diploma or the 

Advanced Studies Diploma, Advanced Technical, or 

Modified Standard Diploma to any transfer student who has 

otherwise met the requirements contained in these standards 

if the transfer student can only meet the division's additional 

requirements by taking a heavier than normal course load in 

any semester, by taking summer school, or by taking courses 

after the time when he otherwise would have graduated.  

J. The transcript of a student who graduates or transfers 

from a Virginia secondary school shall conform to the 
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requirements of 8VAC20-160, Regulations Governing 

Secondary School Transcripts.  

K. The accreditation status of a high school shall not be 

included on the student transcript provided to colleges, 

universities, or employers. The board expressly states that any 

student who has met the graduation requirements established 

in 8VAC20-131-50 and has received a Virginia diploma 

holds a diploma that should be recognized as equal to any 

other Virginia diploma of the same type, regardless of the 

accreditation status of the student's high school. It is the 

express policy of the board that no student shall be affected 

by the accreditation status of the student's school. The board 

shall take appropriate action, from time to time, to ensure that 

no student is affected by the accreditation status of the 

student's school.  

8VAC20-131-110. Standard and verified units of credit.  

A. The standard unit of credit for graduation shall be based 

on a minimum of 140 clock hours of instruction and 

successful completion of the requirements of the course. 

When credit is awarded in less than whole units, the 

increment awarded must be no greater than the fractional part 

of the 140 hours of instruction provided. If a school division 

elects to award credit on a basis other than the 140 clock 

hours of instruction required for a standard unit of credit 

defined in this subsection, the local school division shall 

develop a written policy approved by the superintendent and 

school board which that ensures:  

1. That the content of the course for which credit is 

awarded is comparable to 140 clock hours of instruction; 

and  

2. That upon completion, the student will have met the 

aims and objectives of the course.  

B. A verified unit of credit for graduation shall be based on 

a minimum of 140 clock hours of instruction, successful 

completion of the requirements of the course, and the 

achievement by the student of a passing score on the end-of-

course SOL test for that course or additional tests as 

described in this subsection. A student may also earn a 

verified unit of credit by the following methods:  

1. In accordance with the provisions of the Standards of 

Quality, students may earn a standard and verified unit of 

credit for any elective course in which the core academic 

SOL course content has been integrated and the student 

passes the related end-of-course SOL test. Such course and 

test combinations must be approved by the Board of 

Education.  

2. Upon the recommendation of the division superintendent 

and demonstration of mastery of course content and 

objectives, qualified students may receive a standard unit 

of credit and be permitted to sit for the relevant SOL test to 

earn a verified credit without having to meet the 140-

clock-hour requirement.  

3. Students who do not pass Standards of Learning tests in 

science or history and social science may receive locally 

awarded verified credits from the local school board in 

accordance with criteria established in guidelines adopted 

by the Board of Education.  

C. The Board of Education may from time to time approve 

additional tests for the purpose of awarding verified credit. 

Such additional tests, which enable students to earn verified 

units of credit, must, at a minimum, meet the following 

criteria:  

1. The test must be standardized and graded independently 

of the school or school division in which the test is given;  

2. The test must be knowledge based;  

3. The test must be administered on a multistate or 

international basis, or administered as part of another 

state's accountability assessment program; and  

4. To be counted in a specific academic area, the test must 

measure content that incorporates or exceeds the SOL 

content in the course for which verified credit is given.  

The Board of Education will set the score that must be 

achieved to earn a verified unit of credit on the additional 

test options.  

D. With such funds as are appropriated by the General 

Assembly, the Board of Education will provide opportunities 

for students who meet criteria adopted by the board to have 

an expedited retake of a SOL test to earn verified credit or to 

meet literacy and numeracy requirements for the Modified 

Standard Diploma.  

Part VII  

School and Community Communications  

8VAC20-131-270. School and community 

communications.  

A. Each school shall promote communication and foster 

mutual understanding with parents and the community. Each 

school shall:  

1. Involve parents, citizens, community agencies, and 

representatives from business and industry in developing, 

disseminating, and explaining the biennial school plan; on 

advisory committees; in curriculum studies; and in 

evaluating the educational program.  

2. Provide annually to the parents and the community the 

School Performance Report Card in a manner prescribed 

by the board. The information contained therein will be for 

the most recent three-year period. Such information shall 

include but not be limited to:  

a. Virginia assessment program results by percentage of 

participation and proficiency and disaggregated by 

student subgroups. 

b. The accreditation rating earned by the school.  

c. Attendance rates for students.  
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d. Information related to school safety to include, but not 

limited to, incidents of crime and violence.  

e. Information related to qualifications and educational 

attainment of the teaching staff.  

f. In addition, secondary schools' School Performance 

Report Cards shall include the following:  

(1) Advanced Placement (AP) information to include 

percentage of students who take AP courses and 

percentage of students who take AP tests;  

(2) International Baccalaureate (IB) and Cambridge 

course information to include percentage of students who 

are enrolled in IB or Cambridge programs and percentage 

of students who receive IB or Cambridge Diplomas;  

(3) College-level course information to include 

percentage of students who take college-level courses 

including dual enrollment courses;  

(4) Number and percentage of (i) graduates by diploma 

type as prescribed by the Board of Education, (ii) 

certificates awarded to the senior class including GED 

credentials, and (iii) students who do not complete high 

school;  

(5) As a separate category on the school report card, the 

number of students obtaining board-approved industry 

certifications, and passing state licensure examinations, 

national occupational competency assessments and 

Virginia workplace readiness skills assessments while 

still in high school and the number of career and 

technical education completers who graduated; and  

(6) Number and percentage of drop-outs. 

3. Cooperate with business and industry in formulating 

career and technical educational programs and conducting 

joint enterprises involving personnel, facilities, training 

programs, and other resources.  

4. Encourage and support the establishment and/or 

continuation of a parent-teacher association or other 

organization and work cooperatively with it.  

B. At the beginning of each school year, each school shall 

provide to its students' parents or guardians information on 

the availability of and source for receiving:  

1. The learning objectives developed in accordance with 

the provisions of 8VAC20-131-70 to be achieved at their 

child's grade level or, in high school, a copy of the syllabus 

for each of their child's courses, and a copy of the school 

division promotion, retention, and remediation policies;  

2. The Standards of Learning applicable to the child's 

grade or course requirements and the approximate date and 

potential impact of the child's next SOL testing; and  

3. An annual notice to students in all grade levels of all 

requirements for Standard, Standard Technical, Diploma 

and Advanced Studies, Advanced Technical and Modified 

Standard Diplomas Diploma, and the board's policies on 

promotion and retention as outlined in 8VAC20-131-30.  

The division superintendent shall report to the department 

compliance with this subsection through the preaccreditation 

eligibility procedures in 8VAC20-131-290.  

Part VIII  

School Accreditation  

8VAC20-131-280. Expectations for school accountability.  

A. Schools will be accredited annually based on compliance 

with preaccreditation eligibility requirements and 

achievement of the school accountability requirements of 

8VAC20-131-300 C.  

B. Each school shall be accredited based, primarily, on 

achievement of the criteria established in 8VAC20-131-30 

and in 8VAC20-131-50 as specified below:  

1. The percentage of students passing the Virginia 

assessment program tests in the four core academic areas 

administered in the school with the accreditation rating 

calculated on a trailing three-year average that includes the 

current year scores and the scores from the two most recent 

years in each applicable academic area, or on the current 

year's scores, whichever is higher.  

2. The percentage of students graduating from or 

completing high school based on a graduation and 

completion index prescribed by the Board of Education. 

The accreditation rating of any school with a twelfth grade 

shall be determined based on achievement of required SOL 

pass rates and percentage points on the board's graduation 

and completion index. School accreditation shall be 

determined by the school's current year index points or a 

trailing three-year average of index points that includes the 

current year and the two most recent years, whichever is 

higher. The Board of Education's graduation and 

completion index shall include weighted points for 

diploma graduates (100 points), GED recipients (75 

points), students not graduating but still in school (70 

points), and students earning certificates of program 

completion (25 points). The Board of Education's 

graduation and completion index shall account for all 

students in the graduating class's ninth-grade cohort, plus 

students transferring in, minus students transferring out and 

deceased students. Those students who are not included in 

one of the preceding categories will also be included in the 

index. 

3. The number of students who successfully complete a 

remediation recovery program.  

4. Schools, with grade configurations that do not house a 

grade or offer courses for which SOL tests or additional 

tests approved by the Board of Education as outlined in 

8VAC20-131-110 are administered, will be paired with 

another school in the division housing one or more of the 

grades in which SOL tests are administered. The pairing of 

such schools will be made upon the recommendation of the 

local superintendent. The schools should have a "feeder" 

relationship and the grades should be contiguous.  
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C. Subject to the provisions of 8VAC20-131-350, the 

governing school board of special purpose schools such as 

those provided for in § 22.1-26 of the Code of Virginia, 

Governor's schools, special education schools, alternative 

schools, or career and technical schools that serve as the 

student's school of principal enrollment may seek approval of 

an alternative accreditation plan from the Board of Education. 

Schools offering alternative education programs and schools 

with a graduation cohort of 50 or fewer students as defined by 

the graduation rate formula adopted by the board may request 

that the board approve an alternative accreditation plan to 

meet the graduation and completion index benchmark. 

Special purpose schools with alternative accreditation plans 

shall be evaluated on standards appropriate to the programs 

offered in the school and approved by the board prior to 

August 1 of the school year for which approval is requested. 

Any student graduating from a special purpose school with a 

Standard, Standard Technical, Diploma or an Advanced 

Studies, Advanced Technical, or Modified Standard Diploma 

must meet the requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-131-50.  

In addition, pursuant to § 22.1-253.13:3 of the Code of 

Virginia, any school board, on behalf of one or more of its 

schools, may request the Board of Education for approval of 

an Individual School Accreditation Plan for the evaluation of 

the performance of one or more of its schools as authorized 

for special purpose schools. 

D. When calculating the passing rates on Virginia 

assessment program tests for the purpose of school 

accreditation, the following tolerances for limited English 

proficient (LEP) and transfer students will apply:  

1. The scores of LEP students enrolled in Virginia public 

schools fewer than 11 semesters may be removed from the 

calculation used for the purpose of school accreditation 

required by 8VAC20-131-280 B and 8VAC20-131-300 C. 

Completion of a semester shall be based on school 

membership days. Membership days are defined as the 

days the student is officially enrolled in a Virginia public 

school, regardless of days absent or present. For a semester 

to count as a completed semester, a student must have been 

in membership for a majority of the membership days of 

the semester. These semesters need not be consecutive.  

2. In accordance with the provisions of 8VAC20-131-30, 

all students who transfer into Virginia public schools are 

expected to take and pass all applicable SOL tests in the 

content areas in which they receive instruction.  

3. All students who transfer within a school division shall 

have their scores counted in the calculation of the school's 

accreditation rating. Students who transfer into a Virginia 

school from home instruction, or from another Virginia 

school division, another state, or another country, in grades 

kindergarten through 8 shall be expected to take all 

applicable SOL tests or additional tests approved by the 

board as outlined in 8VAC20-131-110. If the transfer takes 

place after the 20th instructional day following the opening 

of school, the scores on these tests may be used in 

calculating school accreditation ratings.  

4. Students who transfer into a Virginia middle or high 

school from home instruction, or from another state or 

country, and enroll in a course for which there is an end-of-

course SOL test, shall be expected to take the test or 

additional tests for that course approved by the board as 

outlined in 8VAC20-131-110. If the transfer takes place 

after 20 instructional hours per course have elapsed 

following the opening of school or beginning of the 

semester, if applicable, the scores on those tests may be 

used in calculating school accreditation ratings in the year 

the transfer occurs.  

5. Students who enroll on the first day of school and 

subsequently transfer to a school outside of the division for 

a total amount of instructional time equal to or exceeding 

50% of a current school year or semester, whether the 

transfer was a singular or multiple occurrence, and return 

during the same school year shall be expected to take any 

applicable SOL test. The scores of those tests may be used 

in calculating the school accreditation rating in the year in 

which the transfers occur.  

E. The Board of Education may adopt special provisions 

related to the administration and use of any Virginia 

assessment program test in a content area. The Board of 

Education may adopt special provisions related to the 

administration and use of the graduation and completion 

index, as prescribed by the board. The Board of Education 

may also alter the inclusions and exclusions from the 

accreditation calculations by providing adequate notice to 

local school boards. The board may add new tests or 

discontinue the use of existing tests in the Virginia 

Assessment Program by providing adequate notice to local 

school boards. 

F. As a prerequisite to the awarding of an accreditation 

rating as defined in 8VAC20-131-300, each new or existing 

school shall document, in a manner prescribed by the board, 

the following: (i) the division's promotion/retention policies 

developed in accordance with the requirements of 8VAC20-

131-30, (ii) compliance with the requirements to offer courses 

that will allow students to complete the graduation 

requirements in 8VAC20-131-50, (iii) the ability to offer the 

instructional program prescribed in 8VAC20-131-70 through 

8VAC20-131-100, (iv) the leadership and staffing 

requirements of 8VAC20-131-210 through 8VAC20-131-

240, and (v) the facilities and safety provisions of 8VAC20-

131-260. The division superintendent shall report to the 

department compliance with this subsection through the 

preaccreditation eligibility procedures in 8VAC20-131-290.  

8VAC20-131-360. Effective date. 

A. The provisions in 8VAC20-131-30 B relating to double 

testing and the provisions in 8VAC20-131-60 C relating to 

Virtual Virginia shall become effective July 31, 2009. 
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B. Graduation requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-131-50 

B and D C for the Standard Diploma and the Advanced 

Studies Diploma shall become effective with the ninth-grade 

class of 2011-2012 2013-2014. 

C. Graduation requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-131-50 

C and E shall become effective with the ninth grade class of 

2012-2013. 

D. C. Schools with a graduating class shall meet prescribed 

thresholds on a graduation and completion rate index as 

prescribed in 8VAC20-131-280 and 8VAC20-131-300 for 

accreditation ratings earned in 2010-2011 and awarded in 

2011-2012. 

E. D. Accreditation ratings prescribed in 8VAC20-131-300 

C 1 a shall become effective with tests administered in 2010-

2011 and 2011-2012 for ratings awarded in 2011-2012 and 

2012-2013. 

F. E. Accreditation ratings prescribed in 8VAC20-121-300 

C 1 c shall become effective with tests administered in 2012-

2013 for ratings awarded in 2013-2014 and beyond. 

G. F. The Academic and Career Plan prescribed in 

8VAC20-131-140 shall become effective in 2013-2014. 

H. G. Unless otherwise specified, the remainder of these 

regulations shall be effective beginning with the 2011-2012 

academic year. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3304; Filed October 14, 2014, 11:17 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 

(amending 12VAC30-120-1000; adding 12VAC30-120-

1012, 12VAC30-120-1062, 12VAC30-120-1072, 12VAC30-

120-1082).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396. 

Effective Dates: November 1, 2014, through April 1, 2016. 

Agency Contact: Brian McCormick, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-8856, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

brian.mccormick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 

federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 

be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4 of the Code of Virginia. Item 301 III of Chapter 2 of 

the 2014 Acts of the Assembly, Special Session I, 

authorizes the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

to establish a 25% higher reimbursement rate, within the 

intellectual disability (ID) waiver program, for congregate 

residential services for individuals with complex medical 

or behavioral needs currently residing in an institution and 

unable to transition to integrated settings in the community 

due to the need for services that cannot be provided within 

the maximum allowable rate or for individuals whose 

needs present imminent risk of institutionalization, and 

enhanced waiver services are needed beyond those 

available with the maximum allowable rate. The 

amendments conform regulation to these requirements. 

Part X 

Intellectual Disability Waiver 

Article 1 

Definitions and General Requirements 

12VAC30-120-1000. Definitions. 

"AAIDD" means the American Association on Intellectual 

and Developmental Disabilities. 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 

tasks, e.g., bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and 

eating/feeding. An individual's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is a part of determining 

appropriate level of care and service needs. 

"Agency-directed model" means a model of service delivery 

where an agency is responsible for providing direct support 

staff, for maintaining individuals' records, and for scheduling 

the dates and times of the direct support staff's presence in the 

individuals' homes. 

"ADA" means the American with Disabilities Act pursuant 

to 42 USC § 12101 et seq. 

"Appeal" means the process used to challenge actions 

regarding services, benefits, and reimbursement provided by 

Medicaid pursuant to 12VAC30-110 and 12VAC30-20-500 

through 12VAC30-20-560.  

"Applicant" means a person (or his representative acting on 

his behalf) who has applied for or is in the process of 

applying for and is awaiting a determination of eligibility for 

admission to a home and community-based waiver or is on 

the waiver waiting list waiting for a slot to become available. 

"Assistive technology" or "AT" means specialized medical 

equipment and supplies, including those devices, controls, or 

appliances specified in the Individual Support Plan but not 

available under the State Plan for Medical Assistance, which 

enable individuals to increase their abilities to perform ADLs, 

or to perceive, control, or communicate with the environment 

in which they live, or that are necessary to the proper 

functioning of the specialized equipment.  

"Barrier crime" means those crimes listed in §§ 32.1-162.9:1 

and 63.2-1719 of the Code of Virginia.  
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"Behavioral health authority" or "BHA" means the local 

agency, established by a city or county under § 37.2-100 of 

the Code of Virginia that plans, provides, and evaluates 

mental health, intellectual disability (ID), and substance abuse 

services in the locality that it serves. 

"Behavioral specialist" means a person who possesses any 

of the following credentials: (i) endorsement by the 

Partnership for People with Disabilities at Virginia 

Commonwealth University as a positive behavioral supports 

facilitator; (ii) board-certification as a behavior analyst 

(BCBA) or board-certification as an associate behavior 

analyst (BCABA); or (iii) licensure by the Commonwealth as 

either a psychologist, a licensed professional counselor 

(LPC), a licensed clinical social worker (LCSW), or a 

psychiatric clinical nurse specialist. 

"CMS" means the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services, which is the unit of the federal Department of 

Health and Human Services that administers the Medicare 

and Medicaid programs. 

"Case management" means the assessing and planning of 

services; linking the individual to services and supports 

identified in the Individual Support Plan; assisting the 

individual directly for the purpose of locating, developing, or 

obtaining needed services and resources; coordinating 

services and service planning with other agencies and 

providers involved with the individual; enhancing community 

integration; making collateral contacts to promote the 

implementation of the Individual Support Plan and 

community integration; monitoring to assess ongoing 

progress and ensuring services are delivered; and education 

and counseling that guides the individual and develops a 

supportive relationship that promotes the Individual Support 

Plan. 

"Case manager" means the person who provides case 

management services on behalf of the community services 

board or behavioral health authority, as either an employee or 

a contractor, possessing a combination of (ID) work 

experience and relevant education that indicates that the 

individual possesses the knowledge, skills, and abilities as 

established by DMAS in 12VAC30-50-450. 

"Community services board" or "CSB" means the local 

agency, established by a city or county or combination of 

counties or cities under Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) of Title 

37.2 of the Code of Virginia, that plans, provides, and 

evaluates mental health, ID, and substance abuse services in 

the jurisdiction or jurisdictions it serves. 

"Companion" means a person who provides companion 

services for compensation by DMAS. 

"Companion services" means nonmedical care, support, and 

socialization provided to an adult (ages 18 years and over). 

The provision of companion services does not entail routine 

hands-on care. It is provided in accordance with a therapeutic 

outcome in the Individual Support Plan and is not purely 

diversional in nature. 

"Complex behavioral needs" means conditions requiring 

exceptional supports in order to respond to the individual's 

significant safety risk to self or others and documented by the 

Supports Intensity Scale (SIS) Virginia Supplemental Risk 

Assessment form (2010) as described in 12VAC30-120-1012. 

"Complex medical needs" means conditions requiring 

exceptional supports in order to respond to the individual's 

significant health or medical needs requiring frequent hands-

on care and medical oversight and documented by the 

Supports Intensity Scale (SIS) Virginia Supplemental Risk 

Assessment form (2010) as described in 12VAC30-120-1012. 

"Comprehensive assessment" means the gathering of 

relevant social, psychological, medical, and level of care 

information by the case manager and is used as a basis for the 

development of the Individual Support Plan. 

"Congregate residential support" or "CRS" means those 

supports in which the residential support services provider 

renders primary care (room, board, general supervision) and 

residential support services to the individual in the form of 

continuous (up to 24 hours per day) services performed by 

paid staff who shall be physically present in the home. These 

supports may be provided individually or simultaneously to 

more than one individual living in that home, depending on 

the required support. These supports are typically provided to 

an individual living (i) in a group home, (ii) in the home of 

the ID Waiver services provider (such as adult foster care or 

sponsored residential), or (iii) in an apartment or other home 

setting.  

"Consumer-directed model" means a model of service 

delivery for which the individual or the individual's employer 

of record, as appropriate, is responsible for hiring, training, 

supervising, and firing of the person or persons who render 

the direct support or services reimbursed by DMAS. 

"Crisis stabilization" means direct intervention to 

individuals with ID who are experiencing serious psychiatric 

or behavioral challenges that jeopardize their current 

community living situation, by providing temporary intensive 

services and supports that avert emergency psychiatric 

hospitalization or institutional placement or prevent other out-

of-home placement. This service shall be designed to stabilize 

the individual and strengthen the current living situation so 

the individual can be supported in the community during and 

beyond the crisis period. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services.  

"DBHDS staff" means persons employed by or contracted 

with DBHDS. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services. 

"DMAS staff" means persons employed by or contracted 

with DMAS. 

"DRS" means the Department of Rehabilitative Services. 
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"Day support" means services that promote skill building 

and provide supports (assistance) and safety supports for the 

acquisition, retention, or improvement of self-help, 

socialization, and adaptive skills, which typically take place 

outside the home in which the individual resides. Day support 

services shall focus on enabling the individual to attain or 

maintain his highest potential level of functioning. 

"Developmental risk" means the presence before, during, or 

after an individual's birth, of conditions typically identified as 

related to the occurrence of a developmental disability and for 

which no specific developmental disability is identifiable 

through existing diagnostic and evaluative criteria. 

"Direct marketing" means either (i) conducting directly or 

indirectly door-to-door, telephonic, or other "cold call" 

marketing of services at residences and provider sites; (ii) 

mailing directly; (iii) paying "finders' fees"; (iv) offering 

financial incentives, rewards, gifts, or special opportunities to 

eligible individuals and the individual's family/caregivers, as 

appropriate, as inducements to use the providers' services; (v) 

continuous, periodic marketing activities to the same 

prospective individual and the individual's family/caregiver, 

as appropriate - for example, monthly, quarterly, or annual 

giveaways as inducements to use the providers' services; or 

(vi) engaging in marketing activities that offer potential 

customers rebates or discounts in conjunction with the use of 

the providers' services or other benefits as a means of 

influencing the individual's and the individual's 

family/caregivers, as appropriate, use of the providers' 

services. 

"Employer of record" or "EOR" means the person who 

performs the functions of the employer in the consumer 

directed model. The EOR may be the individual enrolled in 

the waiver, or a family member, caregiver or another person, 

as appropriate, when the individual is unable to perform the 

employer functions. 

"Enroll" means that the individual has been determined by 

the case manager to meet the level of functioning 

requirements for the ID Waiver and DBHDS has verified the 

availability of an ID Waiver slot for that individual. Financial 

eligibility determinations and enrollment in Medicaid are set 

out in 12VAC30-120-1010.  

"Entrepreneurial model" means a small business employing 

a shift of eight or fewer individuals who have disabilities and 

usually involves interactions with the public and coworkers 

who do not have disabilities. 

"Environmental modifications" or "EM" means physical 

adaptations to a primary place of residence, primary vehicle, 

or work site (when the work site modification exceeds 

reasonable accommodation requirements of the Americans 

with Disabilities Act) that are necessary to ensure the 

individual's health and safety or enable functioning with 

greater independence when the adaptation is not being used to 

bring a substandard dwelling up to minimum habitation 

standards. Such EM shall be of direct medical or remedial 

benefit to the individual. 

"EPSDT" means the Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis 

and Treatment program administered by DMAS for children 

under the age of 21 according to federal guidelines (that 

prescribe preventive and treatment services for Medicaid 

eligible children) as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"Exceptional reimbursement rate" or "exceptional rate" 

means a rate of reimbursement for congregate residential 

supports paid to providers who qualify to receive the 

exceptional rate set out in 12VAC30-120-1062. 

"Exceptional supports" or "exceptional support services" 

means a qualifying level of supports, as more fully described 

in 12VAC30-120-1012, that are medically necessary for 

individuals with complex medical or behavioral needs, or 

both, to safely reside in a community setting. The need for 

exceptional supports is demonstrated when the funding 

required to meet the individual's needs has been expended on 

a consistent basis by providers in the past 90 days for medical 

or behavioral supports, or both, over and above the current 

maximum allowable CRS rate in order to support the 

individual in a manner that assures his health and safety. 

"Exceptional Supports and Reimbursement Rate Review 

Committee" or "review committee" means DBHDS staff, 

including a trained SIS® specialist approved by DBHDS, a 

behavior specialist, a registered nurse, and a masters level 

social worker, and other staff as may be otherwise constituted 

by DBHDS, who will evaluate and make a determination 

about applications for the congregate residential support 

services and CRS exceptional reimbursement rate for 

compliance with regulatory requirements.  

"Fiscal employer/agent" means a state agency or other entity 

as determined by DMAS to meet the requirements of 42 CFR 

441.484 and the Virginia Public Procurement Act (Chapter 43 

(§ 2.2-4300 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia). 

"Freedom of choice" means the right afforded an individual 

who is determined to require a level of care specified in a 

waiver to choose (i) either institutional or home and 

community-based services provided there are available CMS-

allocated and state-funded slots; (ii) providers of services; and 

(iii) waiver services as may be limited by medical necessity. 

"Health planning region" or "HPR" means the federally 

designated geographical area within which health care needs 

assessment and planning takes place, and within which health 

care resource development is reviewed. 

"Health, safety, and welfare standard" means that an 

individual's right to receive a waiver service is dependent on a 

finding that the individual needs the service, based on 

appropriate assessment criteria and a written individual plan 

for supports, and that services can be safely provided in the 

community. 

"Home and community-based waiver services" or "waiver 

services" means the range of community services approved 
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by the CMS, pursuant to § 1915(c) of the Social Security Act, 

to be offered to persons as an alternative to 

institutionalization. 

"IDOLS" means Intellectual Disability Online System.  

"In-home residential support services" means support 

provided in a private residence by a DBHDS-licensed 

residential provider to an individual enrolled in the waiver to 

include: (i) skill building and supports and safety supports to 

enable individuals to maintain or improve their health; (ii) 

developing skills in daily living; (iii) safely using community 

resources; (iv) being included in the life of the community 

and home; (v) developing relationships; and (vi) participating 

as citizens of the community. In-home residential support 

services shall not replace the primary care provided to the 

individual by his family and caregiver but shall be 

supplemental to it.  

"Incremental step down provisions" means procedures 

normally found in plans for supports in which an individual's 

supports are gradually altered or reduced based upon progress 

towards meeting the goals of the individual's behavior plan. 

"Individual" means the person receiving the services or 

evaluations established in these regulations. 

"Individual Support Plan" or "ISP" means a comprehensive 

plan that sets out the supports and actions to be taken during 

the year by each service provider, as detailed in the provider's 

Plan for Supports, to achieve desired outcomes. The 

Individual Support Plan shall be developed by the individual 

enrolled in the waiver, the individual's family/caregiver, as 

appropriate, other service providers such as the case manager, 

and other interested parties chosen by the individual, and 

shall contain essential information, what is important to the 

individual on a day-to-day basis and in the future, and what is 

important for the individual to be healthy and safe as reflected 

in the Plan for Supports. The Individual Support Plan is 

known as the Consumer Service Plan in the Day Support 

Waiver. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

tasks such as meal preparation, shopping, housekeeping, 

laundry, and money management. 

"Intellectual disability" or "ID" means a disability as defined 

by the American Association on Intellectual and 

Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD) in the Intellectual 

Disability: Definition, Classification, and Systems of 

Supports (11th edition, 2010).  

"ICF/ID" "ICF/IID" means a facility or distinct part of a 

facility certified by the Virginia Department of Health as 

meeting the federal certification regulations for an 

Intermediate Care Facility for the Intellectually Disabled 

individuals with intellectual disability and persons with 

related conditions and that addresses the total needs of the 

residents, which include physical, intellectual, social, 

emotional, and habilitation providing active treatment as 

defined in 42 CFR 435.1010 and 42 CFR 483.440. 

"Licensed practical nurse" or "LPN" means a person who is 

licensed or holds multi-state licensure privilege pursuant to 

Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia to practice practical nursing as defined. 

"Medicaid Long-Term Care Communication Form" or 

"DMAS-225" means the form used by the case manager to 

report information about changes in an individual's situation. 

"Medically necessary" means an item or service provided 

for the diagnosis or treatment of an individual's condition 

consistent with community standards of medical practice as 

determined by DMAS and in accordance with Medicaid 

policy. 

"Parent" or "parents" means a person or persons who is or 

are biologically or naturally related, a foster parent, or an 

adoptive parent to the individual enrolled in the waiver.  

"Participating provider" means an entity that meets the 

standards and requirements set forth by DMAS and has a 

current, signed provider participation agreement with DMAS.  

"Pend" means delaying the consideration of an individual's 

request for services until all required information is received 

by DBHDS. 

"Person-centered planning" means a fundamental process 

that focuses on the needs and preferences of the individual to 

create an Individual Support Plan that shall contain essential 

information, a personal profile, and desired outcomes of the 

individual to be accomplished through waiver services and 

included in the providers' Plans for Supports.  

"Personal assistance services" means assistance with ADLs, 

IADLs, access to the community, self-administration of 

medication or other medical needs, and the monitoring of 

health status and physical condition. 

"Personal assistant" means a person who provides personal 

assistance services. 

"Personal emergency response system" or "PERS" means an 

electronic device and monitoring service that enable certain 

individuals at high risk of institutionalization to secure help in 

an emergency. PERS services shall be limited to those 

individuals who live alone or are alone for significant parts of 

the day and who have no regular caregiver for extended 

periods of time and who would otherwise require extensive 

routine supervision.  

"Personal profile" means a point-in-time synopsis of what an 

individual enrolled in the waiver wants to maintain, change, 

or improve in his life and shall be completed by the 

individual and another person, such as his case manager or 

family/caregiver, chosen by the individual to help him plan 

before the annual planning meeting where it is discussed and 

finalized. 

"Plan for Supports" means each service provider's plan for 

supporting the individual enrolled in the waiver in achieving 

his desired outcomes and facilitating the individual's health 

and safety. The Plan for Supports is one component of the 

Individual Support Plan. The Plan for Supports is referred to 
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as an Individual Service Plan in the Day Support and 

Individual and Family with Developmental Disability 

Services (IFDDS) Waivers. 

"Prevocational services" means services aimed at preparing 

an individual enrolled in the waiver for paid or unpaid 

employment. The services do not include activities that are 

specifically job-task oriented but focus on concepts such as 

accepting supervision, attendance at work, task completion, 

problem solving, and safety. Compensation for the individual, 

if provided, shall be less than 50% of the minimum wage. 

"Primary caregiver" means the primary person who 

consistently assumes the role of providing direct care and 

support of the individual enrolled in the waiver to live 

successfully in the community without compensation for 

providing such care. 

"Qualified mental retardation professional" or "QMRP" for 

the purposes of the ID Waiver means the same as defined at 

12VAC35-105-20. 

"Qualifying individual" means an individual who has 

received a service authorization from DMAS or its service 

authorization contractor to receive exceptional supports.  

"Registered nurse" or "RN" means a person who is licensed 

or holds multi-state licensure privilege pursuant to Chapter 30 

(§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia to 

practice professional nursing. 

"Residential support services" means support provided in the 

individual's home by a DBHDS-licensed residential provider 

or a VDSS-approved provider of adult foster care services. 

This service is one in which skill-building, supports, and 

safety supports are routinely provided to enable individuals to 

maintain or improve their health, to develop skills in daily 

living and safely use community resources, to be included in 

the community and home, to develop relationships, and to 

participate as citizens in the community. 

"Respite services" means services provided to individuals 

who are unable to care for themselves, furnished on a short-

term basis because of the absence or need for relief of those 

unpaid persons normally providing the care. 

"Risk assessment" means an assessment that is completed by 

the case manager to determine areas of high risk of danger to 

the individual or others based on the individual's serious 

medical or behavioral factors. The required risk assessment 

for the ID Waiver shall be found in the state-designated 

assessment form which may be supplemented with other 

information. The risk assessment shall be used to plan risk 

mitigating supports for the individual in the Individual 

Support Plan.  

"Safety supports" means specialized assistance that is 

required to assure the health and welfare of an individual. 

"Service authorization" means the process of approving by 

either DMAS or its designated service authorization 

contractor, for the purpose of DMAS' reimbursement, the 

service for the individual before it is rendered.  

"Service authorization for exceptional supports" means the 

process of approving an individual, by either DMAS or its 

designated service authorization contractor, for the purpose of 

receiving exceptional supports.  Service authorization shall be 

obtained before exceptional supports to the individual are 

rendered. 

"Services facilitation" means a service that assists the 

individual or the individual's family/caregiver, or EOR, as 

appropriate, in arranging for, directing, and managing 

services provided through the consumer-directed model of 

service delivery.  

"Services facilitator" means the DMAS-enrolled provider 

who is responsible for supporting the individual or the 

individual's family/caregiver, or EOR, as appropriate, by 

collaborating with the case manager to ensure the 

development and monitoring of the CD Services Plan for 

Supports, providing employee management training, and 

completing ongoing review activities as required by DMAS 

for consumer-directed companion, personal assistance, and 

respite services. 

"Significant change" means, but shall not be limited to, a 

change in an individual's condition that is expected to last 

longer than 30 calendar days but shall not include short-term 

changes that resolve with or without intervention, a short-

term acute illness or episodic event, or a well-established, 

predictive, cyclical pattern of clinical signs and symptoms 

associated with a previously diagnosed condition where an 

appropriate course of treatment is in progress. 

"Skilled nursing services" means both skilled and hands-on 

care, as rendered by either a licensed RN or LPN, of either a 

supportive or health-related nature and may include, but shall 

not be limited to, all skilled nursing care as ordered by the 

attending physician and documented on the Plan for Supports, 

assistance with ADLs, administration of medications or other 

medical needs, and monitoring of the health status and 

physical condition of the individual enrolled in the waiver.  

"Slot" means an opening or vacancy in waiver services for 

an individual. 

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "Plan" means the 

Commonwealth's legal document approved by CMS 

identifying the covered groups, covered services and their 

limitations, and provider reimbursement methodologies as 

provided for under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

"Supports" means paid and nonpaid assistance that promotes 

the accomplishment of an individual's desired outcomes. 

There shall be three types of supports: (i) routine supports 

that assist the individual in daily activities; (ii) skill building 

supports that help the individual gain new abilities; and (iii) 

safety supports that are required to assure the individual's 

health and safety. 

"Supported employment" means paid supports provided in 

work settings in which persons without disabilities are 

typically employed. Paid supports include skill-building 
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supports related to paid employment, ongoing or intermittent 

routine supports, and safety supports to enable an individual 

with ID to maintain paid employment.  

"Support plan" means the report of recommendations 

resulting from a therapeutic consultation.  

"Supports Intensity Scale
®
" or "SIS

®
" means a tool, 

developed by the American Association on Intellectual and 

Developmental Disabilities that measures the intensity of an 

individual's support needs for the purpose of assessment, 

planning, and aligning resources to enhance personal 

independence and productivity.  

"Therapeutic consultation" means covered services designed 

to assist the individual and the individual's family/caregiver, 

as appropriate, with assessments, plan design, and teaching 

for the purpose of assisting the individual enrolled in the 

waiver.  

"Transition services" means set-up expenses as defined in 

12VAC30-120-2010. 

"VDSS" means the Virginia Department of Social Services. 

12VAC30-120-1012. Individuals enrolled in the ID waiver 

who are receiving congregate residential support services 

and require exceptional levels of supports. 

A. Exceptional supports shall be available for individuals 

who: 

1. Are currently enrolled or are qualified to enroll in the ID 

waiver,  

2. Are currently receiving or qualify to receive congregate 

residential support, and 

3. Have complex medical or behavioral needs, or both, and 

who require additional staffing support or professional 

services enhancements (i.e., the involvement of medical or 

behavioral professionals).  

B. In addition to the requirements in subsection A of this 

section, in order for an individual to qualify for the receipt of 

exceptional supports, the individuals shall either: 

1. Currently reside in an institution, such as a training 

center or a nursing facility, and be unable to transition to 

integrated community settings because they cannot access 

sufficient community waiver supports due to their complex 

medical or behavioral needs, or both. In addition to 

meeting the requirements of this section, in order to qualify 

for exceptional support, case managers for an individual 

who is currently residing in a training center or nursing 

facility shall document in their service authorization 

request to DMAS or its service authorization contractor 

that, based on supports required by the individual in the 

last 90 days while he resided in a training center or nursing 

facility, the individual is unable to transition to the 

community. This inability to transition shall be due to the 

anticipated need for services that cannot be provided 

within the maximum allowable CRS rate upon discharge 

into the community, or 

2. Currently reside in the community and their medical or 

behavioral needs, or both, present an imminent risk of 

institutionalization and an exceptional level of congregate 

residential supports is required to maintain these 

individuals in the community. In addition to meeting the 

requirements in subsection C of this section, in order to 

qualify for exceptional supports, individuals currently 

residing in the community shall provide, as a part of the 

service authorization request, documented evidence for the 

90 days immediately prior to the exceptional supports 

request that one or more of the following has occurred: 

a. Funding has been expended on a consistent basis by 

providers in the past 90 days for medical or behavioral 

supports, or both, over and above the current maximum 

allowable CRS rate in order to assure the health and 

safety of the individual;  

b. The residential services plan for supports has been 

approved and authorized by DMAS or its service 

authorization contractor for the maximum number of 

hours of support, as in 24 hours per day seven days a 

week, yet the individual still remains at imminent risk of 

institutionalization; 

c. The staff to individual ratio has increased in order to 

properly support the individual (e.g., the individual 

requires a 2:1 staff to individual ratio for some or all of 

the time); or 

d. Available alternative community options have been 

explored and utilized but the individual still remains at 

imminent risk of institutionalization.  

C. In addition to the requirements in subsections A and B of 

this section, in order to qualify for exceptional supports 

individuals shall have the following numbered assessment 

values on the most recently completed Supports Intensity 

Scale
®
 (SIS) Virginia Supplemental Risk Assessment form 

(2010): 

1. The individual requires frequent hands-on staff 

involvement to address critical health and medical needs 

(#1a), and the individual has medical care plans in place 

that are documented in the ISP process (#1c); 

2. The individual has been found guilty of a crime or 

crimes related to severe community safety risk to others 

through the criminal justice system (#2a) (e.g., convicted 

of actual or attempted assault or injury to others, property 

destruction due to fire setting or arson, or sexual 

aggression) and the individual's severe community safety 

risk to others requires a specially controlled home 

environment, direct supervision at home or direct 

supervision in the community, or both, (#2b) and the 

individual has documented restrictions in place related to 

these risks through a legal requirement or order (#2c); 

3. The individual has not been found guilty of a crime 

related to a severe community safety risk to others (such as 

actual or attempted assault or injury to others, property 
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destruction due to fire setting or arson, or sexual 

aggression) but displays the same severe community safety 

risk as a person found guilty through the criminal justice 

system (#3a) and the individual's severe community safety 

risk to others requires a specially controlled home 

environment, direct supervision at home or direct 

supervision in the community, or both (#3b) and the 

individual has documented restrictions in place related to 

these risks within the ISP process (#3c); or 

4. The individual engages in self-directed destructiveness 

related to self-injury, pica (eating non-food substances), or 

suicide attempts, or all of these, with the intent to harm self 

(#4a), the individual's severe risk of injury to self currently 

requires direct supervision during all waking hours (#4b), 

and the individual has prevention and intervention plans in 

place that are documented within the ISP process (#4c); 

and  

5. The individual demonstrates a score of 2 (extensive 

support needed) on any two items in the AAIDD Supports 

Intensity Scale
®
 (version 2010) in either: 

a. Section #3a Exceptional Medical and Behavioral 

Support Needs: Medical Supports Needed except for 

item 11 (seizure management) or item 15 (therapy 

services) or 

b. Section #3b Exceptional Medical and Behavioral 

Support Needs: Behavioral Supports Needed except for 

item 12 (maintenance of mental health treatments). 

D. The entire SIS
®
 submitted as documentation in support of 

the individual's service authorization request for exceptional 

supports shall have been completed no more than six months 

prior to submission of the exceptional rate service 

authorization request. 

E. The individual's case manager shall submit a service 

authorization request for exceptional supports to DMAS or its 

service authorization contractor, who shall make the final 

determination as to whether the individual qualifies for 

exceptional supports. If the service authorization request fails 

to demonstrate that the individual's support needs meet the 

criteria described in this section, service authorization shall be 

denied. Individuals may appeal the denial of a service 

authorization request for exceptional supports in accordance 

with the DMAS client appeal regulations, 12VAC30-110-10 

through 12VAC30-110-370. 

12VAC30-120-1062. Exceptional rate congregate 

residential supports provider requirements. 

In addition to the general provider requirements set out in 

12VAC30-120-1040, in order to qualify for exceptional rate 

reimbursement providers shall meet the requirements of this 

section. 

A. Providers shall receive the exceptional rate only for 

exceptional supports provided to qualifying individuals. 

Providers shall not contest the determination that a given 

individual is not eligible for exceptional support services.  

B. Providers requesting approval to provide and receive 

reimbursement for exceptional supports shall have a DBHDS 

license in good standing per 12VAC35-105. Neither 

provisional nor conditional licenses shall qualify a provider 

for the receipt of the exceptional rate. Providers shall 

demonstrate in writing on the exceptional rate application that 

they can meet the support needs of a specified qualifying 

individual through qualified staff trained to provide the 

extensive supports required by the qualified individual's 

exceptional support needs. Providers may qualify for 

exceptional rate reimbursement only when the CRS provider's 

staff (either employed or contracted) directly performs the 

support activity or activities required by a qualifying 

individual.  

C. Providers shall work with local case managers in order to 

file their application for exceptional rate reimbursement. 

Provider requests for the exceptional rate shall be set out on 

the DBHDS-designated exceptional rate application and shall 

be directed to the CSB case manager for the qualifying 

individual requesting services from the provider. The 

qualifying individual's case manager shall consult with the 

DBHDS staff if the individual is currently residing in a 

training center. Case managers shall work directly with those 

qualifying individuals who are residing in the community. 

The case manager shall refer the provider's exceptional rate 

application to the DBHDS review committee, which shall 

make a determination on the application within 10 business 

days.  

1. The review committee shall deny an exceptional rate 

application if it determines either: 

a. That a provider has not demonstrated that it can safely 

meet the exceptional support needs of the qualifying 

individual,  

b. That the provider's active protocols for the delivery of 

exceptional supports to the qualifying individual are not 

sufficient,  

c. That the provider fails to meet the requirements of this 

section, or 

d. That the application otherwise fails to support the 

payment of the exceptional rate. 

2. If the review committee denies an exceptional rate 

application, it shall notify the provider in writing of such 

denial and the reason or reasons for the denial.  

D. Providers requesting the exceptional reimbursement rate 

shall describe the exceptional supports they have the capacity 

to provide to a qualifying individual on the exceptional rate 

application. Providers shall ensure that their exceptional 

reimbursement rate application has been approved by 

DBHDS prior to submitting any claims for this exceptional 

rate. Payment at the exceptional reimbursement rate shall be 

made to the CRS provider effective the date of DBHDS 

approval of the provider's exceptional rate application and 

upon completion of the service authorization process for the 
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individual, whichever comes later. Providers may appeal the 

denial of a request for the exceptional rate in accordance with 

the DMAS provider appeal regulations, 12VAC30-20-500 

through 12VAC30-20-560. 

E. Requirements for providers currently providing 

exceptional supports to qualifying individuals. 

1. Providers, who have been approved to receive the 

exceptional rate and are currently supporting qualifying 

individuals, shall document in each of the qualifying 

individuals' plans for supports how that provider will 

respond to the individuals' specific exceptional needs. 

Providers shall update the plans for supports as necessary 

to reflect the current status of these individuals. Providers 

shall address each of the individuals' complex medical and 

behavioral support needs through specific and documented 

protocols that may include, for example, (i) employing 

additional staff to support the individual, or (ii) securing 

additional professional support enhancements, or both, 

beyond those planned supports reimbursed through the 

maximum allowable CRS rate. Providers shall document in 

a qualifying individual's record that the costs of such 

additional supports exceeds those covered by the standard 

CRS rate. 

2. CRS providers delivering exceptional rate supports for 

qualifying individuals due to their medical support needs 

shall employ or contract with a registered nurse (RN) for 

the delivery of exceptional supports. The RN shall be 

licensed in the Commonwealth or hold multi-state 

licensure privilege pursuant to § 54.1-3000 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia and shall have a minimum of two years 

of related clinical experience. This related clinical 

experience may include work in an acute care hospital, 

public health clinic, home health agency, rehabilitation 

hospital, nursing facility, or an ICF/IID. The RN shall 

administer or delegate in accordance with 18VAC90-20-

430 through 18VAC90-20-460 the required complex 

medical supports.  

a. All staff who will be supporting a qualifying individual 

shall receive individual-specific training regarding the 

individual's medical condition or conditions, medications 

(including training about side effects), risk factors, safety 

practices, procedures that staff are permitted to perform 

under nurse delegation, and any other training the RN 

deems necessary to enable the individual to be safely 

supported in the community. The provider shall arrange 

for the training to be provided by qualified professionals 

and document the training in the provider's record. 

b. The RN shall also monitor the staff including, but not 

limited to, observing staff performing the needed 

complex medical supports. 

3. Providers providing exceptional supports for qualifying 

individuals due to their behavior support needs shall 

consult with a qualified behavioral specialist. This 

qualified behavior specialist shall develop a behavior plan 

based upon the qualifying individual's needs and train the 

provider's staff in its implementation consistent with the 

requirements defined in 12VAC30-120-1060. Both the 

behavior plan and staff receipt of training shall be 

documented in the provider's record. 

4. Providers who will be supporting a qualifying individual 

with complex behavioral issues shall have training policies 

and procedures in place and demonstrate that staff has 

received appropriate training including, but not limited to, 

positive support strategies, in order to support an 

individual with mental illness, or behavioral challenges, or 

both.  

a. All staff who will be supporting qualifying individuals 

shall be identified on the exceptional rate application 

with a written description of the staff's abilities to meet 

the needs of qualifying individuals and the training 

received related to such needs. 

b. Providers shall ensure that the physical environment of 

the home is appropriate to accommodate the needs of 

qualifying individuals with respect to the behavioral and 

medical challenges typical to this population.  

5. Providers shall have on file crisis stabilization plans for 

all qualifying individuals with complex behavioral needs. 

These plans shall provide direct interventions that avert 

emergency psychiatric hospitalizations or institutional 

placement and include appropriate admission to crisis 

response services that are provided in the Commonwealth. 

These plans shall be approved by DBHDS and reviewed by 

the review committee as set out in 12VAC30-120-1062.  

6. The provider's and the case manager's records shall also 

contain the following for each qualifying individual to 

whom they are providing services:  

a. The active protocol, for qualifying individuals 

currently enrolled in the ID waiver, that demonstrates 

extensive supports are being delivered in the areas of 

extensive support needs in the SIS
®
. For those qualifying 

individuals who are new to the waiver, a protocol shall 

be developed; 

b. An ISP, developed by the qualifying individual's 

support team, that demonstrates the needed supports and 

contains support activities to address these; and 

c. Evidence of the provider's ability to meet the 

qualifying individual's exceptional support needs, for all 

that apply: documentation of staff training, employment 

of or contract with an RN, involvement of a behavior or 

psychological consultant, or crisis team involvement, and 

other additional requirements as set forth in 12VAC30-

120-1062. 

12VAC30-120-1072. Exceptional CRS rate 

reimbursement for certain congregate residential support 

services. 

A. CRS providers that obtain authorization to receive the 

exceptional reimbursement rate for qualifying individuals 
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shall receive the rate only for services provided in accordance 

with a qualifying individual's Plan for Supports. 

B. At any time that there is a significant change in the 

qualifying individual's medical or behavioral support needs, 

the provider shall notify the qualifying individual's case 

manager and document such changes in the qualifying 

individual's Plan for Supports. Upon receiving provider 

notification, the case manager shall confer with DBHDS 

about these changes to determine what modifications are 

indicated in the Plan for Supports, including whether or not 

the individual continues to qualify for receipt of the 

exceptional supports. 

C. This exceptional rate shall be established in the DMAS 

fee schedule as posted on 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/pr-ffs_new.aspx. 

D. As of the effective date of this emergency regulation, this 

exceptional CRS rate reimbursement is 25% higher than the 

standard CRS rate. 

12VAC30-120-1082. Exceptional rate utilization review. 

A. In addition to the utilization review and level of care 

review requirements in 12VAC30-120-1080, the case 

manager shall conduct face-to-face monthly contacts with the 

qualifying individual. 

B. The case manager shall provide to DBHDS updated 

versions of the required documentation consistent with the 

requirements of 12VAC30-120-1012 at least every three 

years or whenever there is a significant change in the 

qualifying individual's needs or status. The provider shall be 

responsible for transmitting this information to the case 

manager. 

1. This updated version shall include: 

a. A review of the qualifying individual's response to the 

provision of exceptional supports developed with the 

qualifying individual and the CRS provider.  

b. A description of the incremental step-down provisions 

included in the qualifying individual's Plan for Supports. 

2. The DBHDS review committee shall make a 

determination about the provider's continued eligibility for 

exceptional rate reimbursement for a given qualifying 

individual. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-3839; Filed October 15, 2014, 3:23 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

 

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

VIRGINIA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Housing 

Development Authority is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC10-190. Rules and Regulations 

for Qualified Mortgage Credit Certificate Programs 

(adding 13VAC10-190-10 through 13VAC10-190-200).  

Statutory Authority: § 36-55.30:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: November 17, 2014 - 10 a.m. - 

Virginia Housing Development Authority, 601 South 

Belvidere Street, Richmond, VA 23220 

Public Comment Deadline: November 17, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Paul M. Brennan, General Counsel, Virginia 

Housing Development Authority, 601 South Belvidere Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 343-5798, or email 

paul.brennan@vhda.com. 

Summary:  

The proposed regulations will govern how the Virginia 

Housing Development Authority awards and distributes 

mortgage credit certificates in accordance with all 

applicable laws and regulations for each mortgage credit 

certificate program it chooses to create pursuant to § 25 of 

the Internal Revenue Code (Title 26 of the United States 

Code). 

CHAPTER 190 

RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR QUALIFIED 

MORTAGE CREDIT CERTIFICATE PROGRAMS 

13VAC10-190-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Applicant" means the individual applying for a mortgage 

credit certificate. 

"Authority" means the Virginia Housing Development 

Authority, a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia constituting a public instrumentality. 

"Certificate credit rate" has the meaning set forth in IRC 

§ 25. 

"Certified indebtedness" has the meaning set forth in IRC 

§ 25. It is the indebtedness or portion thereof that the 

applicant will incur to acquire his principal residence and 

that, in the determination of the authority, meets the 

requirements of IRC § 25 and will be used in calculating the 

amount of the potential tax credit under the mortgage credit 

certificate. 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/pr-ffs_new.aspx
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"Commitment" means the obligation of the authority to 

provide a mortgage credit certificate to an eligible applicant 

pursuant to an approved application. 

"Commitment term" means the period of time during which 

the applicant must close on his loan to be entitled to a 

mortgage credit certificate pursuant to his commitment. 

"Executive director" means the executive director of the 

authority or any other officer or employee of the authority 

who is authorized to act on behalf of the director or the 

authority pursuant to a resolution of the board of the 

authority. 

"Internal Revenue Code" or "IRC" means Title 26 of the 

United States Code, as the same may be amended from time 

to time. 

"Loan" means any extension of credit that finances the 

purchase of and will be secured by a principal residence. 

"Mortgage credit certificate" or "MCC" means a certificate 

issued by the authority pursuant to IRC § 25. 

"Participating lender" means any person or organization that 

is legally authorized to engage in the business of making 

loans for the purchase of principal residences and meets the 

qualifications in this chapter  to participate in the programs. 

"Principal residence" means a dwelling that will be occupied 

as the primary residence of the purchaser, that will not be 

property held in a trade or business or as investment property, 

that is not a recreational or second home, and no part of 

which will be used for any business purposes for which 

expenses may be deducted for federal income tax purposes. 

"Program" means a qualified mortgage credit certificate 

program as defined in IRC § 25, in particular IRC 

§ 25(c)(2)(A). 

"Private activity bonds" has the meaning set forth in IRC 

§ 141. 

13VAC10-190-20. Description of the program. 

The authority may establish one or more programs pursuant 

to IRC § 25. Each program will be established by the 

authority when the executive director elects not to issue an 

amount of private activity bonds that the authority could have 

issued from its allocation of private activity bonds pursuant to 

IRC § 146 and to utilize that allocation to issue MCCs. Each 

instance of the executive director making that determination 

will result in a separate program. 

13VAC10-190-30. Purpose, applicability, and scope of 

regulations. 

A. All programs described in 13VAC10-190-20 and all of 

the MCCs issued by the authority pursuant to such programs 

are subject to this chapter. 

B. This chapter is intended to provide a general description 

of the authority's requirements and processing and is not 

intended to include all actions involved or required in the 

processing and administration of MCCs. This chapter is 

subject to amendment by the authority at any time and may be 

supplemented by policies, rules, and regulations adopted by 

the authority from time to time with respect to all of the 

programs. 

C. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in this chapter, 

the executive director is authorized with respect to any MCC 

program to waive or modify any provision of this chapter 

where deemed appropriate by him for good cause, to the 

extent not inconsistent with the IRC.  

D. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in this chapter, 

MCCs can only be issued when and to the extent permitted by 

the IRC and the applicable federal laws, rules, and regulations 

governing the issuance of MCCs. 

E. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in this chapter, 

the federal laws, rules, and regulations governing the MCCs 

shall control over any inconsistent provision in this chapter, 

and individuals to whom MCCs have been issued shall be 

entitled to the privileges and benefits thereof only to the 

extent permitted by the IRC. 

F. Wherever appropriate in this chapter, the singular shall 

include the plural; the plural shall include the singular; and 

the masculine shall include the feminine. 

13VAC10-190-40. Eligible persons. 

The authority may issue an MCC to an individual only if he 

would be eligible to be a borrower of a tax exempt bond 

financed loan pursuant to 13VAC10-40-30, 13VAC10-40-40, 

13VAC10-40-50, 13VAC10-40-70, 13VAC10-40-90, and 

13VAC10-40-100. 

13VAC10-190-50. Eligible properties. 

The authority may issue an MCC to an individual only if his 

application for the MCC is based upon his purchasing a 

principal residence that would be eligible for a tax exempt 

bond financed loan pursuant to 13VAC10-40-40 through 

13VAC10-40-80. 

13VAC10-190-60. Eligible lenders. 

The authority may issue an MCC to an individual only if his 

application for the MCC is based upon his obtaining a loan 

from a participating lender. 

13VAC10-190-70. Eligible loans. 

The authority may issue an MCC to an individual only if his 

application for the MCC is based upon a loan that: 

1. Is not funded in whole or in part from the proceeds of a 

qualified mortgage bond or a qualified veteran's mortgage 

bond as defined in IRC § 143, 

2. Is incurred by the applicant to acquire his principal 

residence, 

3. Is not being assumed from another borrower, and 

4. Is not a refinancing of other indebtedness of the 

applicant, except in the case of construction period loans, 

bridge loans, or similar temporary financing that has a term 

of 24 months or less. 
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13VAC10-190-80. Determination of the amount of each 

program. 

The executive director shall determine the amount, if any, of 

private activity bonds that the authority will elect not to issue 

and the amount, if any, of each program (program amount) as 

determined pursuant to the applicable portions of 26 CFR 

1.25-4T, 26 CFR 1.25-5T, and 26 CFR 1.25-7T, subject to 

revocation, in whole or in part, by the executive director 

pursuant to 26 CFR 1.25-4T(c)(3). Nothing contained in this 

chapter shall be construed to require the commitment for or 

issuance of any MCC or to entitle any applicant to an MCC if 

no program amount is available for such MCC. 

13VAC10-190-90. Portions of each program amount to be 

set aside. 

For each program, the executive director may set aside a 

portion of the program amount, in an amount determined by 

the executive director to be appropriate, that will not be used 

to issue MCCs until such time and in such amount as may be 

determined by the executive director to be appropriate to 

comply with the requirements of IRC § 25 and the related 

U.S. Department of the Treasury regulations. 

13VAC10-190-100. Determination of certificate credit 

rate. 

For each program, the executive director shall establish the 

certificate credit rate in accordance with the limits set by IRC 

§ 25(d), subject to change from time to time as he shall deem 

necessary or appropriate to accomplish the purpose of the 

program. The certificate credit rate shall be specified on each 

MCC issued under the program. 

13VAC10-190-110. Certification of lenders. 

A. For each program, the executive director shall establish 

criteria for lenders to be approved by the authority as 

participating lenders, which criteria may include one or more 

of the following: (i) completion of required training; (ii) 

agreement to follow the authority's policies and procedures 

relating to the issuance of MCCs; (iii) agreement to be subject 

to penalties, including disqualification as participating 

lenders, or liabilities for violating the authority's policies and 

procedures; and (iv) payment of participation fees. The 

executive director may specify the circumstances under which 

the satisfaction of such criteria shall remain valid for 

subsequent programs.  

B. In addition to the criteria in subsection A of this section, 

no lender may process applications for MCCs that is not (i) 

permitted by law to loan money for the acquisition of 

principal residences in Virginia, (ii) the lender that actually 

makes the loan for which the MCC is requested, and (iii) in 

good standing with all applicable licensing and regulatory 

authorities with jurisdiction over such lender.  

C. Each participating lender shall execute such agreements 

and documents as the authority may require to participate in 

the programs and, in the event of any breach by such 

participating lender of any of the terms of any such agreement 

or document, the participating lender may be terminated by 

the authority from participation in the programs. 

13VAC10-190-120. Fees. 

For each program, the executive director shall establish (i) 

the fees charged lenders to participate in such program and 

(ii) the fees charged each applicant for the processing of the 

application and the issuance of the applicant's MCC. The 

executive director may establish lower fees for participating 

lenders that are approved by the authority as loan originators 

under 13VAC10-40 and for MCC applicants whose loans will 

be purchased by the authority. 

13VAC10-190-130. Terms of each program. 

For each program, the executive director may establish a 

deadline for the receipt of applications for MCCs for any 

purpose determined by the executive director to be necessary 

or appropriate for the administration of the program, 

including so the authority can safeguard against issuing any 

MCCs after the expiration of its authority to do so pursuant to 

IRC § 25(e)(3)(B). 

13VAC10-190-140. Priority of applications. 

Subject to (i) the set asides described in 13VAC10-190-90 

and 13VAC10-190-150 and (ii) the deadline for receipt of 

applications described in 13VAC10-190-130, the authority 

shall process applications in the order the authority receives 

them. 

13VAC10-190-150. Targeted areas. 

For each program, the authority may set aside 20% of the 

program amount for use in targeted areas, as specified by IRC 

§ 25 and the related U.S. Department of the Treasury 

regulations for a period of one year from the date on which 

the MCCs under that program are first made available. In 

addition, the authority may take all other necessary steps to 

comply with the targeted area requirements imposed by IRC § 

25 and the related U.S. Department of the Treasury 

regulations. 

13VAC10-190-160. Discretion to allocate. 

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in this chapter, in 

administering each program, the executive director may make 

allocations and may impose limitations or restrictions on the 

allocation of MCCs in order to insure a broad geographic 

dispersal of MCCs throughout the Commonwealth of 

Virginia or to facilitate collaboration with other governmental 

entities of the Commonwealth of Virginia to increase the 

affordability of homeownership in Virginia. 

13VAC10-190-170. MCCs not transferable. 

No person to whom the authority issues an MCC may 

transfer his MCC to any other person. 

13VAC10-190-180. Applications for MCCs. 

1. Participating lenders shall forward to the authority, in 

the manner and procedure required by the authority, 

applications from borrowers applying for MCCs. 
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2. Except for borrowers whose loans are originated directly 

by the authority, the authority shall not accept applications 

directly from borrowers. 

3. Applications for MCCs must include such forms, 

documents, information, and fees as the executive director 

may require. Such requirements may change for each 

program and may include documentation necessary for the 

authority to comply with reporting requirements imposed 

by the IRC, in addition to documentation necessary to 

determine the applicant's eligibility for an MCC. The 

authority may also require additional documentation and 

information regarding applicants that the executive director 

determines to be appropriate for measuring the 

performance of the program. 

4. The authority shall review each application and, if the 

authority determines that the application complies with 

these rules and regulations and applicable federal laws, 

rules, and regulations, then the authority shall issue a 

commitment to the applicant, either directly or through the 

participating lender, with respect to such MCC. 

5. The maximum principal amount, amortization period, 

and interest rate on the applicant's loan and such other 

terms, conditions, and requirements as the executive 

director deems necessary or appropriate shall be set forth 

in each commitment. Each commitment term shall be for a 

term of 60 days, except that the term may be extended for 

good cause in the sole discretion of the authority. 

6. Based upon the application, this chapter, and all 

applicable federal laws, rules, and regulations, the 

authority shall determine whether an MCC shall be issued 

and shall determine the certificate credit rate and the 

certified indebtedness amount applicable to the MCC.  

13VAC10-190-190. Issuance of an MCC. 

The closing of the loan shall be consummated in accordance 

with the terms of the commitment. Upon receipt of such 

forms, documents, information, and fees as the executive 

director may require upon closing, the authority shall issue an 

MCC to the applicant. The MCC shall specify the certificate 

credit rate and the certified indebtedness amount and shall 

otherwise satisfy the requirements of 26 CFR 1.25-6T. 

13VAC10-190-200. Compliance investigations. 

After each MCC is issued, the authority shall have the right, 

but not the obligation, to investigate the facts and 

circumstances relating to any application and the issuance and 

use of the related MCC and, if there are proper grounds, to 

revoke the MCC and take other appropriate legal action. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4170; Filed October 9, 2014, 10:41 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-200. Rules Governing Long-

Term Care Insurance (amending 14VAC5-200-30, 

14VAC5-200-40, 14VAC5-200-70, 14VAC5-200-75, 

14VAC5-200-77, 14VAC5-200-100, 14VAC5-200-120, 

14VAC5-200-150, 14VAC5-200-153, 14VAC5-200-183, 

14VAC5-200-185; adding 14VAC5-200-125, 14VAC5-200-

154, 14VAC5-200-195; repealing 14VAC5-200-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13, 38.2-223, and 38.2-5202 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 1, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Robert Grissom, Chief Insurance Market 

Examiner, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-9152, FAX (804) 371-9944, or email 

bob.grissom@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments are submitted to address 

concerns regarding recent substantial premium rate 

increases implemented by insurers writing long-term care 

insurance in Virginia. The amendments, in part, 

incorporate recent revisions to the National Association of 

Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Model Regulation, as 

well as the provisions of the NAIC Model Bulletin of 

Alternative Filing Requirements for Long-Term Care 

Premium Rate Increases, which applies to rate increases 

for pre-rate stability policies as well as post-rate stability 

policies that are currently in effect. The amendments 

include, among other things: (i) increased disclosure 

requirements regarding premium rate practices; (ii) an 

extension of the current 60-day rate increase notification 

to 75 days; (iii) a requirement that insurers file with the 

Bureau of Insurance the notice they will use to notify 

policyholders of rate increases; (iv) a requirement that 

premiums contain a composite margin for moderately 

adverse experience of no less than 10% of lifetime claims 

for initial filings; (v) requirements regarding annual rate 

certifications; (vi) the implementation of new standards for 

pre-rate stability policies; (vii) the establishment of 

standards for the allowance of a single rate increase or 
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scheduled rate increases; (viii) the requirement that a 

contingent benefit upon lapse (CBL) be offered for pre-rate 

stability policies; (ix) an allowance for lower rate 

increases than necessary under rate stabilization if 

disclosed and determined to be in best interest of 

policyholders; (x) a requirement that a rate increase that 

triggers a CBL be capped at 100% and 0% for policies in 

force over 20 years; and (xi) language regarding the 

commission's right to require a hearing on rate increases. 

These amendments are in accordance with the Bureau’s 

Response to Comments previously filed in this case.  

AT RICHMOND, OCTOBER 14, 2014 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2013-00238 

Ex Parte: In the matter of revising the 

Rules Governing Long-term Care Insurance 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 

enforcement and administration of all laws within its 

jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code provides that the 

Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 

appropriate for the administration and enforcement of Title 

38.2 of the Code. In addition, § 38.2-5202 of the Code 

provides specific authority for the promulgation of 

regulations pertaining to long-term care insurance. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 

pursuant to § 38.2-223 of the Code are set forth in Title 14 of 

the Virginia Administrative Code. A copy may also be found 

at the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/laws.aspx. 

On November 26, 2012, the Commission entered an Order 

in which it noted an increase in the number and frequency of 

long-term care insurance premium rate increase requests. The 

Commission directed the Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") to 

prepare a report that studies premium rate increases 

associated with long-term care policies.
1
 On October 4, 2013, 

the Bureau filed the requested report ("Report"). 

Subsequently, the Commission found that it was appropriate 

to undertake a review of the Report and Chapter 200 of Title 

14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, entitled Rules 

Governing Long-term Care Insurance, 14VAC5-200-10 

et seq. ("Rules").
2
 The Commission issued two separate 

Orders
3
 to allow interested persons and insurers writing long-

term care insurance in Virginia, as well as members of the 

general public and certain specific individuals, respectively, 

to comment on the Bureau's Report and propose amendments 

to the Rules. As a result of those comments, the Bureau filed 

a Response ("Response") on May 1, 2014, that included a 

number of specific recommendations for amendments to the 

Rules. Concurrently, the Commission scheduled a hearing to 

receive comments on the Bureau's Response.
4
 The hearing 

was held on June 19, 2014, at which time public oral 

comments were received.
5
 

Based on the Bureau's Report, written and oral comments, 

and the Bureau's Response, the Bureau has submitted to the 

Commission proposed amendments to the Rules, which 

amend the Rules at 14VAC5-200-30, 14VAC5-200-40, 

14VAC5-200-70, 14VAC5-200-75, 14VAC 5-200-77, 

14VAC5-200-100, 14VAC5-200-120, 14VAC5-200-150, 

14VAC5-200-153, 14VAC5-200-183, and 14VAC5-200-185; 

repeal the Rules at 14VAC5-200-20; and add new Rules at 

14VAC5-200-125, 14VAC5-200-154, and 14VAC5-200-195.  

The Bureau submits these proposed amendments to Chapter 

200 to address concerns regarding the recent substantial 

premium rate increases implemented by insurers writing long-

term care insurance in Virginia. These amendments, in part, 

incorporate into Chapter 200 recent revisions to the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners' ("NAIC") Model 

Regulation, as well as the provisions of the NAIC's Model 

Bulletin of Alternative Filing Requirements for Long-term 

Care Premium Rate Increases, which applies to rate increases 

for pre-rate stability policies (those issued prior to October 1, 

2003) as well as post-rate stability policies (those issued on or 

after October 1, 2003) that are currently in effect. These 

amendments conform to the Bureau's recommendations 

contained in its Response filed in this case.   

NOW THE COMMISSION is of the opinion that the 

proposed amendments submitted by the Bureau to amend the 

Rules at 14VAC5-200-30, 14VAC5-200-40, 14VAC5-200-

70, 14VAC5-200-75, 14VAC5-200-77, 14VAC5-200-100, 

14VAC5-200-120, 14VAC5-200-150, 14VAC5-200-153, 

14VAC5-200-183, and 14VAC5-200-185; repeal the Rules at 

14VAC5-200-20; and add new Rules at 14VAC5-200-125, 

14VAC5-200-154, and 14VAC5-200-195, should be 

considered for adoption.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposal to amend the Rules at 14VAC5-200-30, 

14VAC5-200-40, 14VAC5-200-70, 14VAC5-200-75, 

14VAC5-200-77, 14VAC5-200-100, 14VAC5-200-120, 

14VAC5-200-150, 14VAC5-200-153, 14VAC5-200-183, 

and 14VAC5-200-185; repeal the Rules at 14VAC5-200-

20; and add new Rules at 14VAC5-200-125, 14VAC5-

200-154, and 14VAC5-200-195, is attached hereto and 

made a part hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in 

support of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to 

consider the amendments to Chapter 200 of Title 14, shall 

file such comments or hearing request on or before 

December 1, 2014, with Joel H. Peck, Clerk, State 

Corporation Commission, c/o Document Control Center, 

P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218. Interested 

persons desiring to submit comments electronically may do 

so by following the instructions at the Commission's 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/laws.aspx
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website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. All comments 

shall refer to Case No. INS-2013-00238. 

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the proposal to 

amend Chapter 200 of Title 14 is received on or before 

December 1, 2014, the Commission, upon consideration of 

any comments submitted in support of or in opposition to 

the proposal, may amend the Rules. 

(4) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of 

the proposal to amend the Rules, shall be sent by the Clerk 

of the Commission to the Bureau in care of Deputy 

Commissioner Althelia P. Battle, who forthwith shall give 

further notice of the proposal to amend the Rules by 

mailing a copy of this Order, together with the proposal, to 

all insurers licensed by the Commission to sell long-term 

care insurance in Virginia, and to all interested persons. 

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with 

the proposal to amend the Rules, to be forwarded to the 

Virginia Registrar of Regulations for appropriate 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations.  

(6) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached proposed 

amendments to the Rules on the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(7) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 

an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 

Ordering Paragraph (4) above. 

(8) This matter is continued. 

________________________________________________ 
1 Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel., State Corporation Commision, Ex 

Parte: In the matter of investigating long-term care insurance premium rates, 

Case No. INS-2012-00282, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 121130186, Order Directing 
Report (Nov. 26, 2012). 
2 The Rules can be found at: 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter200. 
3 Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel., State Corporation Commission, Ex 

Parte: In the matter of revising the Rules Governing Long-term Care 

Insurance, Case No. INS-2013-00238, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 131130115, Order 
Initiating Proceeding (Nov. 25, 2013); and Commonwealth of Virginia, ex 

rel., State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: In the matter of revising the 

Rules Governing Long-term Care Insurance, Case No. INS-2013-00238, 
Doc. Con. Cen. No. 140120003, Amending Order (Jan. 13, 2014). 
4 Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel., State Corporation Commission, Ex 

Parte: In the matter of revising the Rules Governing Long-term Care 
Insurance, Case No. INS-2013-00238, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 140510027, Order 

Scheduling Hearing (May 1, 2014). 
5 A transcript of the hearing can be found at: 
http://docket.scc.virginia.gov/vaprod/main.asp by using the "Search Cases" 

feature and searching for Case No. INS-2013-00238. 

14VAC5-200-20. Contracts effective prior to April 1, 

2003. (Repealed.)  

Except as otherwise specifically provided, each long-term 

care insurance policy delivered or issued for delivery in this 

Commonwealth prior to April 1, 2003, shall be subject to this 

chapter as it existed at the time the policy was delivered or 

issued for delivery.  

14VAC5-200-30. Applicability and scope.  

Except as otherwise specifically provided, this chapter 

applies to all long-term care Insurance insurance policies 

delivered or, issued for delivery, or renewed in this 

Commonwealth, on or after September 1, 2007 (insert 

effective date of regulation), by insurers, fraternal benefit 

societies, health services plans, health maintenance 

organizations, cooperative nonprofit life benefit companies or 

mutual assessment life, accident and sickness insurers or any 

other similar organization.  

14VAC5-200-40. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Applicant" means in the case of an individual long-term 

care insurance policy, the person who seeks to contract for 

such benefits, or in the case of a group long-term care 

insurance policy, the proposed certificateholder.  

"Certificate" means any certificate or evidence of coverage 

issued under a group long-term care insurance policy, which 

policy has been delivered or issued for delivery in this 

Commonwealth.  

"Commission" means the Virginia State Corporation 

Commission.  

"Exceptional increase" means only those increases filed by 

an insurer and identified as exceptional for which the 

commission determines the need for the premium rate 

increase is justified (i) due to changes in laws or regulations 

applicable to long-term care coverage in this Commonwealth, 

or (ii) due to increased and unexpected utilization that affects 

the majority of insurers of similar products. Except as 

provided in 14VAC5-200-153, exceptional increases are 

subject to the same requirements as other premium rate 

schedule increases. The commission, in determining that the 

necessary basis for an exceptional increase exists, shall also 

determine any potential offsets to higher claims costs.  

"Expected loss ratio" means the ratio of the present value of 

future benefits to the present value of future premiums over 

the entire period of the contract.  

"Group long-term care insurance" means a long-term care 

insurance policy which complies with § 38.2-3521.1 or 

§ 38.2-3522.1 of the Code of Virginia delivered or issued for 

delivery in this Commonwealth.  

"Incidental," as used in 14VAC5-200-153 J, means that the 

value of the long-term care benefits provided is less than 10% 

of the total value of the benefits provided over the life of the 

policy. These values shall be measured as of the date of issue.  

"Insurer" means any insurance company, health services 

plan, fraternal benefit society, health maintenance 

organization, cooperative nonprofit life benefit company, or 

mutual assessment life, accident and sickness insurer or any 

other similar organization.  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter200
http://docket.scc.virginia.gov/vaprod/main.asp
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"Long-term care insurance" means any insurance policy or 

rider primarily advertised, marketed, offered or designed to 

provide coverage for not less than 12 consecutive months for 

each covered person on an expense incurred, indemnity, 

prepaid, or other basis, for one or more necessary or 

medically necessary diagnostic, preventive, therapeutic, 

rehabilitative, maintenance, personal care, mental health or 

substance abuse services, provided in a setting other than an 

acute care unit of a hospital. Such term includes group and 

individual annuities and life insurance policies or riders 

which provide directly or which supplement long-term care 

insurance issued by insurers. Such term also includes a policy 

or rider which provides for payment of benefits based upon 

cognitive impairment or the loss of functional capacity. Long-

term care insurance shall not include any insurance policy 

which is offered primarily to provide basic Medicare 

supplement coverage, basic hospital expense coverage, basic 

medical-surgical expense coverage, hospital confinement 

indemnity coverage, major medical expense coverage, 

disability income or related asset-protection coverage, 

accident only coverage, specified disease or specified 

accident coverage, or limited benefit health coverage. With 

regard to life insurance, this term does not include life 

insurance policies which accelerate the death benefit 

specifically for one or more of the qualifying events of 

terminal illness, medical conditions requiring extraordinary 

medical intervention, or permanent institutional confinement, 

and which provide the option of a lump-sum payment for 

those benefits and in which neither the benefits nor the 

eligibility for the benefits is conditioned upon the receipt of 

long-term care. Notwithstanding any other provision 

contained herein, any product advertised, marketed or offered 

as long-term care insurance shall be subject to the provisions 

of this chapter. Health maintenance organizations, 

cooperative nonprofit life benefit companies and mutual 

assessment life, accident and sickness insurers shall apply to 

the commission for approval to provide long-term care 

insurance prior to issuing this type of coverage.  

"Policy" means any individual or group policy of insurance, 

contract, subscriber agreement, certificate, rider or 

endorsement delivered or issued for delivery in this 

Commonwealth by an insurer.  

"Qualified actuary" means a member in good standing of the 

American Academy of Actuaries.  

"Qualified long-term care insurance contract" or "federally 

tax-qualified long-term care insurance contract" means:  

1. An individual or group insurance contract that meets the 

requirements of § 7702B(b) of the Internal Revenue Code 

of 1986 (26 USC § 7702B(b)), as follows:  

a. The only insurance protection provided under the 

contract is coverage of qualified long-term care services. 

A contract shall not fail to satisfy the requirements of this 

subdivision by reason of payments being made on a per 

diem or other periodic basis without regard to the 

expenses incurred during the period to which the 

payments relate;  

b. The contract does not pay or reimburse expenses 

incurred for services or items to the extent that the 

expenses are reimbursable under Title XVIII of the 

Social Security Act (42 USC § 1395 et seq.), or would be 

so reimbursable but for the application of a deductible or 

coinsurance amount. The requirements of this 

subdivision do not apply to expenses that are 

reimbursable under Title XVIII of the Social Security 

Act only as a secondary payor. A contract shall not fail to 

satisfy the requirements of the subdivision by reason of 

payments being made on a per diem or other periodic 

basis without regard to the expenses incurred during the 

period to which the payments relate;  

c. The contract is guaranteed renewable within the 

meaning of § 7702B(b)(1)(C) of the Internal Revenue 

Code of 1986;  

d. The contract does not provide for a cash surrender 

value or other money that can be paid, assigned, pledged 

as collateral for a loan, or borrowed except as provided in 

subdivision 1 e of this definition.  

e. All refunds of premiums and all policyholder 

dividends or similar amounts under the contract are to be 

applied as a reduction in future premiums or to increase 

future benefits, except that a refund on the event of death 

of the insured or a complete surrender or cancellation of 

the contract cannot exceed the aggregate premiums paid 

under the contract; and  

f. The contract meets the consumer protection provisions 

set forth in § 7702B(g) of the Internal Revenue Code of 

1986 and this chapter; or  

2. The portion of a life insurance contract that provides 

long-term care insurance coverage by rider or as part of the 

contract that satisfies the requirements of § 7702B(b) and 

(e) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986.  

"Similar policy forms" means all of the long-term care 

insurance policies and certificates issued by an insurer in the 

same long-term care benefit classification as the policy form 

being considered. Certificates of groups as set forth in 

subsections A and C of § 38.2-3521.1 of the Code of Virginia 

are not considered similar to certificates or policies otherwise 

issued as long-term care insurance, but are similar to other 

comparable certificates with the same long-term care benefit 

classifications. For purposes of determining similar policy 

forms, long-term care benefit classifications are defined as 

follows: institutional long-term care benefits only, 

noninstitutional long-term care benefits only, or 

comprehensive long-term care benefits.  

14VAC5-200-70. Required disclosure provisions.  

A. Renewability. Individual long-term care insurance 

policies shall contain a renewability provision.  
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1. The provision shall be appropriately captioned, shall 

appear on the first page of the policy, and shall clearly state 

that the coverage is guaranteed renewable or 

noncancellable. This subsection shall not apply to policies 

that do not contain a renewability provision and under 

which the right to renew is reserved solely to the 

policyholder.  

2. A long-term care insurance policy or certificate, other 

than one where the insurer does not have the right to 

change the premium, shall include a clear and prominent 

statement in bold type and all capital letters that the 

premium rates may change be increased.  

B. Riders and endorsements. Except for riders or 

endorsements by which the insurer effectuates a request made 

in writing by the insured under an individual long-term care 

insurance policy, all riders or endorsements added to an 

individual long-term care insurance policy after date of issue 

or at reinstatement or renewal which reduce or eliminate 

benefits or coverage in the policy shall require signed 

acceptance by the individual insured. After the date of policy 

issue, any rider or endorsement which increases benefits or 

coverage with a concomitant increase in premium during the 

policy term must be agreed to in writing signed by the 

insured, except if the increased benefits or coverage are 

required by law. Where a separate additional premium is 

charged for benefits provided in connection with riders or 

endorsements, such premium charge shall be set forth in the 

policy, rider or endorsement.  

C. Payment of benefits. A long-term care insurance policy 

which provides for the payment of benefits based on 

standards described as "usual and customary," "reasonable 

and customary" or words of similar import shall include a 

definition of such terms and an explanation of such terms in 

its accompanying outline of coverage.  

D. Limitations. If a long-term care insurance policy or 

certificate contains any limitations with respect to preexisting 

conditions, such limitations shall appear as a separate 

paragraph of the policy or certificate and shall be labeled as 

"Preexisting Condition Limitations."  

E. Other limitations or conditions on eligibility for benefits. 

A long-term care insurance policy or certificate containing 

post-confinement, post-acute care or recuperative benefits, or 

any limitations or conditions for eligibility other than those 

prohibited in § 38.2-5205 A of the Code of Virginia shall set 

forth a description of such limitations or conditions, including 

any required number of days of confinement prior to receipt 

of benefits, in a separate paragraph of the policy or certificate 

and shall label such paragraph "Limitations or Conditions on 

Eligibility for Benefits."  

F. Disclosure of tax consequences. With regard to life 

insurance policies which provide an accelerated benefit for 

long-term care, a disclosure statement is required at the time 

of application for the policy or rider and at the time the 

accelerated benefit payment request is submitted that receipt 

of these accelerated benefits may be taxable, and that 

assistance should be sought from a personal tax advisor. The 

disclosure statement shall be prominently displayed on the 

first page of the policy or rider and any other related 

documents.  

G. Benefit triggers. Activities of daily living and cognitive 

impairment shall be used to measure an insured's need for 

long-term care and shall be described in the policy or 

certificate in a separate paragraph and shall be labeled 

"Eligibility for the Payment of Benefits." Any additional 

benefit triggers shall also be explained in this section. If these 

triggers differ for different benefits, explanation of the trigger 

shall accompany each benefit description. If an attending 

physician or other specified person must certify a certain level 

of functional dependency in order to be eligible for benefits, 

this too shall be specified.  

H. A qualified long-term care insurance contract shall 

include a disclosure statement in the policy and in the outline 

of coverage as contained in 14VAC5-200-200 that the policy 

is a qualified long-term care insurance contract under 

§ 7702B(b) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986.  

I. A nonqualified long-term care insurance contract shall 

include a disclosure statement in the policy and in the outline 

of coverage as contained in 14VAC5-200-200 that the policy 

is not intended to be a qualified long-term care insurance 

contract.  

14VAC5-200-75. Required disclosure of rating practices 

to consumer.  

A. Other than policies for which no applicable premium rate 

or rate schedule increases can be made, insurers shall provide 

all of the information listed in this subsection to the applicant 

at the time of application or enrollment, unless the method of 

application does not allow for delivery at that time. In such a 

case, an insurer shall provide all of the information listed in 

this section to the applicant no later than at the time of 

delivery of the policy or certificate.  

1. A statement that the policy may be subject to rate 

increases in the future;  

2. An explanation of potential future premium rate 

revisions, and the policyholder's or certificateholder's 

option in the event of a premium rate revision;  

3. The premium rate or rate schedules applicable to the 

applicant that will be in effect until a request is made for an 

increase;  

4. A general explanation for applying premium rate or rate 

schedule adjustments that shall include:  

a. A description of when premium rate or rate schedule 

adjustments will be effective (e.g., next anniversary date, 

next billing date, etc.); and  

b. The right to a revised premium rate or rate schedule as 

provided in subdivision 2 of this subsection if the 

premium rate or rate schedule is changed;  
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5. a. Information regarding each premium rate increase on 

this policy form or similar policy forms over the past 10 

years for this Commonwealth or any other state that, at a 

minimum, identifies:  

(1) The policy forms for which premium rates have been 

increased;  

(2) The calendar years when the form was available for 

purchase; and  

(3) The amount or percentage of each increase. The 

percentage may be expressed as a percentage of the 

premium rate prior to the increase, and may also be 

expressed as minimum and maximum percentages if the 

rate increase is variable by rating characteristics.  

b. The insurer may, in a fair manner, provide additional 

explanatory information related to the rate increases.  

c. An insurer shall have the right to exclude from the 

disclosure premium rate increases that only apply to 

blocks of business acquired from other nonaffiliated 

insurers or the long-term care policies acquired from 

other nonaffiliated insurers when those increases 

occurred prior to the acquisition.  

d. If an acquiring insurer files for a rate increase on a 

long-term care policy form or a block of policy forms 

acquired from nonaffiliated insurers 24 months or more 

following the acquisition of the policy form or the block 

of policies, the acquiring insurer may exclude that rate 

increase from the disclosure. However, the nonaffiliated 

selling company shall include the disclosure of that rate 

increase in accordance with subdivision 5 a of this 

subsection.  

e. If the acquiring insurer in subdivision 5 d of this 

subsection files for a subsequent rate increase, even 

within the 24-month period, on the same policy form 

acquired from nonaffiliated insurers or block of policy 

forms acquired from nonaffiliated insurers referenced in 

subdivision 5 d of this subsection, the acquiring insurer 

shall make all disclosures required by subdivision 5 of 

this subsection, including disclosure of the earlier rate 

increase referenced in subdivision 5 d of this subsection.  

B. An applicant shall sign an acknowledgement at the time 

of application, unless the method of application does not 

allow for signature at that time, that the insurer made the 

disclosure required under subdivisions A 1 and 5 of this 

section. If due to the method of application the applicant 

cannot sign an acknowledgement at the time of application, 

the applicant shall sign no later than at the time of delivery of 

the policy or certificate. The insurer shall maintain copies of 

the signed acknowledgement for the duration of the policy or 

certificate. 

C. An insurer shall use Forms B and F to comply with the 

requirements of subsections A and B of this section.  

D. An insurer shall provide notice of an upcoming premium 

rate schedule increase to all policyholders or 

certificateholders, if applicable, at least 60 75 days prior to 

the implementation of the premium rate schedule increase by 

the insurer. Such notice shall be filed with the commission at 

the time the premium rate increase is filed. The notice shall 

include at least the following information required by:  

1. All applicable information identified in subsection A of 

this section when the rate increase is implemented.; 

2. A clear explanation of any and all options available to 

the policyholder as alternatives to paying the increased 

premium amount, including: 

a. An offer to reduce policy benefits provided by the 

current coverage consistent with the requirements of 

14VAC5-200-183; 

b. A disclosure stating that all options available to the 

policyholder may not be of equal value; and 

c. In the case of a partnership policy, a disclosure that 

some benefit reduction options may result in a loss in 

partnership status that may reduce policyholder 

protections; 

3. A clear identification of the driving factors of the 

premium rate increase; and 

4. A statement substantially similar to the following: 

The rate increase request was reviewed by the commission 

and was found to be compliant with applicable Virginia 

laws and regulations addressing long-term care insurance. 

All premium rate filings are available for public inspection 

and may be accessed online through the Virginia Bureau of 

Insurance's webpage at www.scc.virginia.gov/BOI. 

14VAC5-200-77. Initial filing requirements.  

A. This section shall apply to any long-term care policy 

form filed with the commission on or after (insert effective 

date of regulation). 

B. An insurer shall provide the information listed in this 

section to the commission and receive approval of the form 

prior to making a long-term care insurance form available for 

sale.  

1. A copy of the disclosure documents required in 

14VAC5-200-75; and  

2. An actuarial certification consisting of at least the 

following:  

a. A statement that the initial premium rate schedule is 

sufficient to cover anticipated costs under moderately 

adverse experience and that the premium rate schedule is 

reasonably expected to be sustainable over the life of the 

form with no future premium increases anticipated;  

b. An explanation for supporting subdivision 2 a of this 

subsection, including (i) a description of the margin for 

moderately adverse experience that is included in the 

premium rates and (ii) a description of the testing of 

pricing assumptions that was done to support the 

conclusion that the filed premium rates are sustainable 

over the life of the form;  
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c. A statement that the policy design and coverage 

provided have been reviewed and taken into 

consideration;  

d. A statement that the underwriting and claims 

adjudication processes have been reviewed and taken 

into consideration;  

e. A complete description of the basis for contract 

reserves that are anticipated to be held under the form, to 

include:  

(1) Sufficient detail or sample calculations provided so as 

to have a complete depiction of the reserve amounts to be 

held;  

(2) A statement that the assumptions used for reserves 

contain reasonable margins for adverse experience;  

(3) A statement that the net valuation premium for 

renewal years does not increase (except for attained-age 

rating); and  

(4) A statement that the difference, in aggregate, between 

the gross premium and the net valuation premium for 

renewal years is sufficient to cover expected renewal 

expenses; or if such a statement cannot be made, a 

complete description of the situations where this does not 

occur. When the difference between the gross premium 

and the renewal net valuation premiums is not sufficient 

to cover expected renewal expenses, the description 

provided should demonstrate the type and level of change 

in the reserve assumptions that would be necessary for 

the difference to be sufficient.  

(a) An aggregate distribution of anticipated issues may be 

used as long as the underlying gross premiums maintain 

a reasonably consistent relationship;  

(b) If the gross premiums for certain age groups appear to 

be inconsistent with this requirement, the commission 

may request a demonstration based on a standard age 

distribution; and 

e. A statement that the premiums contain at least the 

minimum margin for moderately adverse experience 

defined in subdivision 2 e (1) of this subsection or the 

specification of and justification for a lower margin 

required by subdivision 2 e (2) of this subsection. 

(1) A composite margin shall not be less than 10% of 

lifetime claims. 

(2) A composite margin that is less than 10% may be 

justified in uncommon circumstances. The proposed 

amount, full justification of the proposed amount, and 

methods to monitor developing experience that would be 

the basis for withdrawal of approval for such lower 

margins shall be submitted. 

(3) A composite margin lower than otherwise considered 

appropriate for the stand-alone long-term care policy 

may be justified for long-term care benefits provided 

through a life policy or an annuity contract. Such lower 

composite margin, if utilized, shall be justified by 

appropriate actuarial demonstration addressing margins 

and volatility when considering the entirety of the 

product. 

(4) A greater margin may be appropriate in 

circumstances where the company has less credible 

experience to support its assumptions used to determine 

the premium rates. 

f. (1) A statement that the premium rate schedule is not 

less than the premium rate schedule for existing similar 

policy forms also available from the insurer except for 

reasonable differences attributable to benefits; or  

(2) A comparison of the premium rate schedules for 

similar policy forms that are currently available from the 

insurer with an explanation of the differences. It is not 

expected that the insurer will need to provide a 

comparison of every age and set of benefits, period of 

payment or elimination period. A broad range of 

expected combinations is to be provided in a manner 

designed to provide a fair presentation for review by the 

commission. 

g. A statement that reserve requirements have been 

reviewed and considered. Support for this statement shall 

include: (i) sufficient detail or sample calculations 

provided so as to have a complete depiction of the 

reserve amounts to be held; and (ii) a statement that the 

difference between the gross premium and the net 

valuation premium for renewal years is sufficient to 

cover expected renewal expenses; or if such a statement 

cannot be made, a complete description of the situations 

where this does not occur. An aggregate distribution of 

anticipated issues may be used as long as the underlying 

gross premiums maintain a reasonably consistent 

relationship. 

3. An actuarial memorandum that includes prepared, dated, 

and signed by a qualified actuary shall be included and 

shall address and support each specific item required as 

part of the actuarial certification and provide at least the 

following information:  

a. A description of the basis on which the long-term care 

insurance premium rates were determined;  

b. A description of the basis for the reserves;  

c. A summary of the type of policy, benefits, 

renewability, general marketing method, and limits on 

ages of issuance;  

d. A description and a table of each actuarial assumption 

used. For expenses, an insurer must include percentage of 

premium dollars per policy and dollars per unit of 

benefits, if any;  

e. A description and a table of the anticipated policy 

reserves and additional reserves to be held in each future 

year for active lives;  
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f. The estimated average annual premium per policy and 

the average issue age; and  

g. A statement that includes a description of the types of 

underwriting used, such as medical underwriting or 

functional assessment underwriting. Concerning a group 

policy, the statement shall indicate whether the enrollee 

or any dependent will be underwritten and when 

underwriting occurs; 

h. An explanation of the review performed by the actuary 

prior to making the statements in subdivisions B 2 c and 

d of this section; 

i. A complete description of pricing assumptions; 

j. Sources and levels of margins incorporated into the 

gross premiums that are the basis for the statement in 

subdivision B 2 a of this section of the actuarial 

certification and an explanation of the analysis and 

testing performed in determining the sufficiency of the 

margins. Deviations in margins between ages, sexes, 

plans, or states shall be clearly described. Deviations in 

margins required to be described are other than those 

produced utilizing generally accepted actuarial methods 

for smoothing and interpolating gross premium scales; 

k. A demonstration that the gross premiums include the 

minimum composite margin specified in subdivision B 2 

e of this section; and 

l. The anticipated loss ratio and a description of how it 

was calculated. 

14VAC5-200-100. Requirement to offer inflation 

protection.  

A. No insurer may offer a long-term care insurance policy 

unless the insurer also offers to the policyholder in addition to 

any other inflation protection offers the option to purchase a 

policy that provides for benefit levels to increase with benefit 

maximums or reasonable durations which are meaningful to 

account for reasonably anticipated increases in the costs of 

long-term care services covered by the policy. Insurers must 

offer to each policyholder, at the time of purchase, the option 

to purchase a policy with an inflation protection feature no 

less favorable than one of the following:  

1. Increases benefit levels annually, in a manner so that the 

increases are compounded annually, at a rate not less than 

5.0%;  

2. Guarantees the insured individual the right to 

periodically increase benefit levels without providing 

evidence of insurability or health status; so long as the 

option for the previous period has not been declined. The 

amount of the additional benefit shall be no less than the 

difference between the existing policy benefit and that 

benefit compounded annually at a rate of at least 5.0% for 

the period beginning with the purchase of the existing 

benefit and extending until the year in which the offer is 

made; or  

3. Covers a specified percentage of actual or reasonable 

charges and does not include a maximum specified 

indemnity amount or limit.  

B. Where the policy is issued to a group, the required offer 

in subsection A above of this section shall be made to each 

proposed certificateholder; except if the policy is issued to a 

continuing care retirement community the offering shall be 

made to the group policyholder.  

C. The offer in Subsection above subsection A of this 

section shall not be required of life insurance policies or 

riders containing accelerated long-term care benefits.  

D. Insurers shall include the following information in or 

with the outline of coverage:  

1. A graphic comparison of the benefit levels of a policy 

that increases benefits over the policy period with a policy 

that does not increase benefits. The graphic comparison 

shall show benefit levels over at least a 20 year 20-year 

period.  

2. Any expected premium increases or additional 

premiums to pay for automatic or optional benefit 

increases. If premium increases or additional premiums 

will be based on the attained age of the applicant at the 

time of the increase, the insurer shall also disclose the 

magnitude of the potential premiums the applicant would 

need to pay at ages 75 and 85 for benefit increases. An 

insurer may use a reasonable hypothetical, or a graphic 

demonstration, for the purposes of this disclosure.  

14VAC5-200-120. Reporting requirements.  

A. Every insurer shall maintain records for each agent of 

that agent's amount of replacement sales as a percent of the 

agent's total annual sales and the amount of lapses of long-

term care insurance policies sold by the agent as a percent of 

the agent's total annual sales.  

B. Every insurer shall report annually by June 30 the 10% of 

its agents with the greatest percentages of lapses and 

replacements as measured by subsection A of this section 

(Form G).  

C. Reported replacement and lapse rates do not alone 

constitute a violation of the insurance laws or necessarily 

imply wrongdoing. The reports are for the purpose of 

reviewing more closely agent activities regarding the sale of 

long-term care insurance.  

D. Every insurer shall report annually by June 30 the 

number of lapsed policies as a percent of its total annual sales 

and as a percent of its total number of policies in force as of 

the end of the preceding calendar year (Form G).  

E. Every insurer shall report annually by June 30 the number 

of replacement policies sold as a percent of its total annual 

sales and as a percent of its total number of policies in force 

as of the preceding calendar year (Form G).  

F. Every insurer shall report annually by June 30, for 

qualified long-term care insurance contracts, the number of 
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claims denied for each class of business, expressed as a 

percentage of claims denied (Form E).  

G. For purposes of this section:  

1. Subject to subdivision 2 of this subsection, "claim" 

means a request for payment of benefits under an in-force 

policy regardless of whether the benefit claimed is covered 

under the policy or any terms or conditions of the policy 

have been met;  

2. "Denied" means the insurer refuses to pay a claim for 

any reason other than for claims not paid for failure to 

meet the waiting period or because of an applicable 

preexisting condition;  

3. "Policy" means only long-term care insurance; and  

4. "Report" means on a statewide basis.  

H. Reports required under this section shall be based on the 

previous calendar year data and filed with the commission.  

14VAC5-200-125. Annual rate reports. 

A. Every insurer shall report to the commission annually by 

June 30 premium rates for all long-term care insurance 

policies. The commission shall post this report to the Bureau 

of Insurance's webpage. The rate report shall include: 

1. For policies issued on or after October 1, 2003, an 

actuarial certification prepared, dated, and signed by a 

qualified actuary that provides at least the following 

information: 

a. A statement of the sufficiency of the current premium 

rate schedule including: 

(1) For policies currently marketed: 

(a) The premium rate schedule continues to be sufficient 

to cover anticipated costs under moderately adverse 

experience, consistent with the margins as defined in the 

original rate filing or any subsequent rate filing, and that 

the premium rate schedule is reasonably expected to be 

sustainable over the life of the form with no future 

premium increases anticipated; or 

(b) If the statement in subdivision 1 a (1) (a) of this 

subsection cannot be made, a statement that margins for 

moderately adverse experience, consistent with the 

margins as defined in the original rate filing or any 

subsequent rate filing, may no longer be sufficient. In 

this situation, the insurer shall submit to the commission 

within 60 days of the date of the actuarial certification a 

plan of action, including a timeframe, for the 

reestablishment of adequate margins for moderately 

adverse experience so that the ultimate premium rate 

schedule would be reasonably expected to be sustainable 

over the future life of the form with no future premium 

increases anticipated. Failure to submit a plan of action to 

the commission within 60 days or to comply with the 

timeframe stated in the plan of action constitutes grounds 

for withdrawal or modification of approval of the form 

for future sales. 

(2) For policies that are no longer marketed: 

(a) A statement that the premium rate schedule continues 

to be sufficient to cover anticipated costs under best 

estimate assumptions; or 

(b) A statement that the premium rate schedule may no 

longer be sufficient. The insurer shall submit to the 

commission within 60 days of the date of the actuarial 

certification a plan of action, including a timeframe for 

the reestablishment of adequate margins for moderately 

adverse experience. 

b. A description of the review performed that led to the 

statement. 

c. At least once every three years, an actuarial 

memorandum dated and signed by a qualified actuary 

that supports the actuarial certification and provides at 

least the following information: 

(1) A detailed explanation of the data sources and review 

performed by the actuary prior to making the statement 

in subdivision 1 a (1) of this subsection; 

(2) A complete description of experience assumptions 

and their relationship to the initial pricing assumptions; 

(3) A description of the credibility of the experience data; 

and 

(4) An explanation of the analysis and testing performed 

in determining the current presence of margins.  

2. For policies issued prior to October 1, 2003, the report 

shall include a statement signed by a qualified actuary that 

a complete analysis and review of the premium rates was 

conducted, a description of the analysis, the date on which 

the analysis was completed, and any rate action found to be 

necessary as a result of the analysis. 

B. Reports required in this section shall be based on the 

previous calendar year data and filed with the commission no 

later than June 30. The commission may request any 

additional information that will support the information 

required in this section. 

14VAC5-200-150. Loss ratio Premium rate increases for 

policies issued before October 1, 2003.  

A. This section shall apply applies to all any premium rate 

increase filed with the commission on or after (insert effective 

date of regulation) for any long-term care insurance policies 

or certificates except those covered under 14VAC5-200-77 

and 14VAC5-200-153 policy issued in this Commonwealth 

before October 1, 2003.  

B. Benefits under individual long-term care insurance 

policies shall be deemed reasonable in relation to premiums 

provided the expected loss ratio is at least 60% calculated in a 

manner which provides for adequate reserving of the long-

term care insurance risk the greater of 60% or the lifetime 

loss ratio used in the original pricing applied to the current 

rate schedule plus: (i) 80% applied to any premium rate 
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increase for individual policy forms or (ii) 75% applied to any 

premium rate increase on group policy forms.   

In evaluating the expected loss ratio, due consideration shall 

be given to all relevant factors, including:  

1. Statistical credibility of incurred claims experience and 

earned premiums;  

2. The period for which rates are computed to provide 

coverage;  

3. Experienced and projected trends;  

4. Concentration of experience within early policy 

duration;  

5. Expected claim fluctuation;  

6. Experience refunds, adjustments or dividends;  

7. Renewability features;  

8. All appropriate expense factors;  

9. Interest;  

10. Experimental nature of the coverage;  

11. Policy reserves;  

12. Mix of business by risk classification; and 

13. Product features such as long elimination periods, high 

deductibles and high maximum limits.  

Demonstrations of loss ratios shall be made in compliance 

with the Rules Governing the Filing of Rates for Individual 

and Certain Group Accident and Sickness Insurance Policy 

Forms, Chapter 130 (14VAC5-130) of this title.  

C. Any insurer may request a series of scheduled rate 

increases that are actuarially equivalent to a single amount 

requested over the lifetime of the policy. The entire series 

may be approved at one time as part of the current rate 

increase filing. 

D. As a condition of approval of a rate increase for a block 

of business for which the contingent benefit upon lapse is not 

otherwise required, a contingent benefit upon lapse provision 

will be required in accordance with 14VAC5-200-185 D. If 

the rate increase is approved in a series of scheduled rate 

increases and the sum of all scheduled rate increases will 

trigger the offering of a contingent benefit upon lapse, the 

insurer shall be required to include contingent benefit upon 

lapse at the time of each scheduled increase. 

E. All submissions shall include information required by 

14VAC5-200-75. 

F. Subsection B of this section shall not apply to life 

insurance policies that accelerate benefits for long-term care. 

A life insurance policy that funds long-term care benefits 

entirely by accelerating the death benefit is considered to 

provide reasonable benefits in relation to premiums paid, if 

the policy complies with all of the following provisions:  

1. The interest credited internally to determine cash value 

accumulations, including long-term care, if any, are 

guaranteed not to be less than the minimum guaranteed 

interest rate for cash value accumulations without long-

term care set forth in the policy;  

2. The portion of the policy that provides life insurance 

benefits meets the nonforfeiture requirements of Chapter 

32 (§ 38.2-3200 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of the Code of 

Virginia;  

3. If an application for a long-term care insurance contract 

or certificate is approved, the issuer shall deliver the 

contract or certificate of insurance to the applicant no later 

than 30 days after the date of approval;  

4. At the time of policy delivery, a policy summary shall 

be delivered for an individual life insurance policy that 

provides long-term care benefits within the policy or by 

rider. In the case of direct response solicitations, the 

insurer shall deliver the policy summary upon the 

applicant's request, but regardless of request shall make 

delivery no later than at the time of policy delivery. In 

addition to complying with all applicable requirements, the 

summary shall also include:  

a. An explanation of how the long-term care benefit 

interacts with other components of the policy, including 

deductions from death benefits;  

b. An illustration of the amount of benefits, the length of 

benefit, and the guaranteed lifetime benefits, if any, for 

each covered person;  

c. Any exclusions, reductions and limitations on benefits 

of long-term care;  

d. A statement that any long-term care inflation 

protection option required by 14VAC5-200-100 is not 

available under this policy;  

e. If applicable to the policy type, the summary shall also 

include:  

(1) A disclosure of the effects of exercising other rights 

under the policy;  

(2) A disclosure of guarantees related to long-term care 

costs of insurance charges; and  

(3) Current and projected maximum lifetime benefits; 

and  

f. The provisions of the policy summary listed above may 

be incorporated into a basic illustration or into the life 

insurance policy summary;  

5. Any time a long-term care benefit, funded through a life 

insurance vehicle by the acceleration of the death benefit, 

is in benefit payment status, a monthly report shall be 

provided to the policyholder. The report shall include:  

a. Any long-term care benefits paid out during the month;  

b. An explanation of any changes in the policy, (e.g., 

death benefits or cash values,) due to long-term care 

benefits being paid out; and  

c. The amount of long-term care benefits existing or 

remaining;  



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 5 Virginia Register of Regulations November 3, 2014 

324 

6. Any policy illustration that meets the applicable 

requirements of 14VAC5-40 14VAC5-41; and  

7. An actuarial memorandum is filed with the Bureau of 

Insurance that includes:  

a. A description of the basis on which the long-term care 

rates were determined;  

b. A description of the basis for the reserves;  

c. A summary of the type of policy, benefits, 

renewability, general marketing method, and limits on 

ages of issuance;  

d. A description and a table of each actuarial assumption 

used. For expenses, an insurer must include percentage of 

premium dollars per policy and dollars per unit of 

benefits, if any;  

e. A description and a table of the anticipated policy 

reserves and additional reserves to be held in each future 

year for active lives;  

f. The estimated average annual premium per policy and 

the average issue age;  

g. A statement as to whether underwriting is performed at 

the time of application. The statement shall indicate 

whether underwriting is used and, if used, the statement 

shall include a description of the type or types of 

underwriting used, such as medical underwriting or 

functional assessment underwriting. Concerning a group 

policy, the statement shall indicate whether the enrollee 

or any dependent will be underwritten and when 

underwriting occurs; and  

h. A description of the effect of the long-term care policy 

provision on the required premiums, nonforfeiture values 

and reserves on the underlying life insurance policy, both 

for active lives and those in long-term care claim status.  

14VAC5-200-153. Premium rate schedule increases for 

policies issued on or after October 1, 2003, but prior to 

(insert effective date of regulation).  

A. This section applies to any premium rate increase filed 

with the commission on or after (insert effective date of 

regulation) for any long-term care insurance policy or 

certificate issued in this Commonwealth on or after October 

1, 2003, but prior to (insert effective date of regulation).  

B. An insurer shall request the commission's approval of a 

pending premium rate schedule increase, including an 

exceptional increase, prior to the notice to the policyholders 

and shall include:  

1. Information required by 14VAC5-200-75;  

2. Certification by a qualified actuary that:  

a. If the requested premium rate schedule increase is 

implemented and the underlying assumptions, which 

reflect moderately adverse conditions, are realized, no 

further premium rate schedule increases are anticipated; 

and 

b. The premium rate filing is in compliance with the 

provisions of this section;  

3. An actuarial memorandum justifying the rate schedule 

change request that includes:  

a. Lifetime projections of earned premiums and incurred 

claims based on the filed premium rate schedule increase; 

and the method and assumptions used in determining the 

projected values, including reflection of any assumptions 

that deviate from those used for pricing other forms 

currently available for sale;  

(1) Annual values for the five years preceding and the 

three years following the valuation date shall be provided 

separately;  

(2) The projections shall include the development of the 

lifetime loss ratio, unless the rate increase is an 

exceptional increase;  

(3) The projections shall demonstrate compliance with 

subsection C of this section; and  

(4) For exceptional increases,  

(a) The projected experience should be limited to the 

increases in claims expenses attributable to the approved 

reasons for the exceptional increase; and  

(b) In the event the commission determines as provided 

in the definition of exceptional increase in 14VAC5-200-

40 that offsets may exist, the insurer shall use appropriate 

net projected experience;  

b. Disclosure of how reserves have been incorporated in 

this rate increase whenever the rate increase will trigger 

contingent benefit upon lapse;  

c. Disclosure of the analysis performed to determine why 

a rate adjustment is necessary, which pricing assumptions 

were not realized and why, and what other actions taken 

by the company have been relied on by the actuary;  

d. A statement that policy design, underwriting, and 

claims adjudication practices have been taken into 

consideration; and  

e. In the event that it is necessary to maintain consistent 

premium rates for new policies and policies receiving a 

rate increase, the insurer will need to file composite rates 

reflecting projections of new policies; and 

f. A demonstration that actual and projected costs exceed 

costs anticipated at the time of initial pricing under 

moderately adverse experience and that the composite 

margin is projected to be exhausted; 

4. A statement that renewal premium rate schedules are not 

greater than new business premium rate schedules except 

for differences attributable to benefits, unless sufficient 

justification is provided to the commission; and  

5. Sufficient information for review and approval of the 

premium rate schedule increase by the commission. 
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An insurer may request a series of scheduled rate increases 

that are actuarially equivalent to a single amount requested 

over the lifetime of the policy. The entire series may be 

approved at one time as part of the current rate increase filing. 

The insurer shall be required to include contingent benefit 

upon lapse at the time of each scheduled increase. 

The insurer may request a premium rate schedule increase 

less than what is required under this section and the 

commission may approve such premium rate schedule 

increase, without submission of the certification in 

subdivision 2 a of this subsection, if the actuarial 

memorandum discloses the premium rate schedule increase 

necessary to make such certification required, the premium 

rate schedule increase filing satisfies all other requirements of 

this section, and is, in the opinion of the commission, in the 

best interest of policyholders. 

C. All premium rate schedule increases shall be determined 

in accordance with the following requirements:  

1. Exceptional increases shall provide that 70% of the 

present value of projected additional premiums from the 

exceptional increase will be returned to policyholders in 

benefits;  

2. Premium rate schedule increases shall be calculated such 

that the sum of the accumulated value of incurred claims, 

without the inclusion of active life reserves, and the present 

value of future projected incurred claims, without the 

inclusion of active life reserves, will not be less than the 

sum of the following:  

a. The accumulated value of the initial earned premium 

times 58%;  

b. Eighty-five percent 85% of the accumulated value of 

prior premium rate schedule increases on an earned basis;  

c. The present value of future projected initial earned 

premiums times 58%; and  

d. Eighty-five percent 85% of the present value of future 

projected premiums not in subdivision 2 c of this 

subsection on an earned basis;  

3. In the event that a policy form has both exceptional and 

other increases, the values in subdivisions 2 b and d of this 

subsection will also include 70% for exceptional rate 

increase amounts; and  

4. All present and accumulated values used to determine 

rate increases shall use the greater of the maximum 

valuation interest rate for contract reserves as specified in 

§ 38.2-3132 of the Code of Virginia or interest at a rate 

consistent with that assumed in the original determination 

of premiums. The actuary shall disclose as part of the 

actuarial memorandum the use of any appropriate 

averages.  

D. For each rate increase that is implemented, the insurer 

shall file for approval by the commission updated projections, 

as defined in subdivision B 3 a of this section, annually for 

the next three years and include a comparison of actual results 

to projected values. The commission may extend the period to 

greater than three years if actual results are not consistent 

with projected values from prior projections. For group 

insurance policies that meet the conditions in subsection K of 

this section, the projections required by subdivision B 3 a of 

this section shall be provided to the policyholder in lieu of 

filing with the commission.  

E. If any increased premium rate in the revised premium rate 

schedule is greater than 200% of the comparable rate in the 

initial premium schedule, the premiums exceeding 200% 

shall be clearly identified and lifetime projections, as defined 

in subdivision B 3 a of this section, shall be filed for approval 

by the commission every five years following the end of the 

required period in subsection D of this section. For group 

insurance policies that meet the conditions in subsection K of 

this section, the projections required by this subsection shall 

be provided to the policyholder in lieu of filing with the 

commission.  

F. 1. If the commission has determined that the actual 

experience following a rate increase does not adequately 

match the projected experience and that the current 

projections under moderately adverse conditions demonstrate 

that incurred claims will not exceed proportions of premiums 

specified in subsection C of this section, the commission may 

require the insurer to implement any of the following:  

a. Premium rate schedule adjustments; or  

b. Other measures to reduce the difference between the 

projected and actual experience.  

It is to be expected that the actual experience will not 

exactly match the insurer's projections. During the period 

that projections are monitored as described in subsections 

D and E of this section, the commission should determine 

that there is not an adequate match if the differences in 

earned premiums and incurred claims are not in the same 

direction (both actual values higher or lower than 

projections) or the difference as a percentage of the 

projected is not of the same order.  

2. In determining whether the actual experience adequately 

matches the projected experience, consideration should be 

given to subdivision B 3 e of this section, if applicable.  

G. If the majority of the policies or certificates to which the 

increase is applicable are eligible for the contingent benefit 

upon lapse, the insurer shall file:  

1. A plan, subject to commission approval, for improved 

administration or claims processing designed to eliminate 

the potential for further deterioration of the policy form 

requiring further premium rate schedule increases or to 

demonstrate that appropriate administration and claims 

processing have been implemented or are in effect; 

otherwise the commission may impose the condition in 

subsection H of this section; and  

2. The original anticipated lifetime loss ratio, and the 

premium rate schedule increase that would have been 
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calculated according to subsection C of this section had the 

greater of the original anticipated lifetime loss ratio or 58% 

been used in the calculations described in subdivisions C 2 

a and c of this section.  

H. 1. For a rate increase filing that meets the following 

criteria, the commission shall review, for all policies included 

in the filing, the projected lapse rates and past lapse rates 

during the 12 months following each increase to determine if 

significant adverse lapsation has occurred or is anticipated:  

a. The rate increase is not the first rate increase requested 

for the specific policy form or forms;  

b. The rate increase is not an exceptional increase; and  

c. The majority of the policies or certificates to which the 

increase is applicable are eligible for the contingent 

benefit upon lapse.  

2. In the event significant adverse lapsation has occurred, 

is anticipated in the filing or is evidenced in the actual 

results as presented in the updated projections provided by 

the insurer following the requested rate increase, the 

commission may determine that a rate spiral exists. 

Following the determination that a rate spiral exists, the 

commission may require the insurer to offer, without 

underwriting, to all in-force insureds subject to the rate 

increase the option to replace existing coverage with any 

other long-term care insurance product being offered by 

the insurer or its affiliates.  

a. The offer shall:  

(1) Be subject to the approval of the commission;  

(2) Be based on actuarially sound principles, but not be 

based on attained age; and  

(3) Provide that maximum benefits under any new policy 

accepted by an insured shall be reduced by comparable 

benefits already paid under the existing policy.  

b. The insurer shall maintain the experience of all the 

replacement insureds separate from the experience of 

insureds originally issued the policy forms. In the event 

of a request for a rate increase on the policy form, the 

rate increase shall be limited to the lesser of:  

(1) The maximum rate increase determined based on the 

combined experience; or  

(2) The maximum rate increase determined based only on 

the experience of the insureds originally issued the form 

plus 10%.  

I. If the commission determines that the insurer has 

exhibited a persistent practice of filing inadequate initial 

premium rates for long-term care insurance, the commission 

may, in addition to the provisions of subsection H of this 

section, prohibit the insurer from either of the following:  

1. Filing and marketing comparable coverage for a period 

of up to five years; or  

2. Offering all other similar coverages and limiting 

marketing of new applications to the products subject to 

recent premium rate schedule increases.  

J. Subsections A through I of this section shall not apply to 

policies for which the long-term care benefits provided by the 

policy are incidental, as defined in 14VAC5-200-40, if the 

policy complies with all of the following provisions:  

1. The interest credited internally to determine cash value 

accumulations, including long-term care, if any, are 

guaranteed not to be less than the minimum guaranteed 

interest rate for cash value accumulations without long-

term care set forth in the policy;  

2. The portion of the policy that provides insurance 

benefits other than long-term care coverage meets the 

nonforfeiture requirements as applicable in any of the 

following:  

a. Sections 38.2-3200 through 38.2-3218 of the Code of 

Virginia, and; or 

b. Sections 38.2-3219 through 38.2-3229 of the Code of 

Virginia;  

3. The policy meets the disclosure requirements of §§ 38.2-

5207.1 and 38.2-5207.2 of the Code of Virginia;  

4. The portion of the policy that provides insurance 

benefits other than long-term care coverage meets the 

requirements as applicable in the following:  

a. Policy illustrations as required by 14VAC5-40; 

14VAC5-20 and  

b. Disclosure requirements in 14VAC5-40 14VAC5-41;  

5. An actuarial memorandum is filed with the commission 

that includes:  

a. A description of the basis on which the long-term care 

rates were determined;  

b. A description of the basis for the reserves;  

c. A summary of the type of policy, benefits, 

renewability, general marketing method, and limits on 

ages of issuance;  

d. A description and a table of each actuarial assumption 

used. For expenses, an insurer shall include percent of 

premium dollars per policy and dollars per unit of 

benefits, if any;  

e. A description and a table of the anticipated policy 

reserves and additional reserves to be held in each future 

year for active lives;  

f. The estimated average annual premium per policy and 

the average issue age;  

g. A statement as to whether underwriting is performed at 

the time of application. The statement shall indicate 

whether underwriting is used and, if used, the statement 

shall include a description of the type or types of 

underwriting used, such as medical underwriting or 

functional assessment underwriting. Concerning a group 
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policy, the statement shall indicate whether the enrollee 

or any dependent will be underwritten and when 

underwriting occurs; and  

h. A description of the effect of the long-term care policy 

provision on the required premiums, nonforfeiture values 

and reserves on the underlying insurance policy, both for 

active lives and those in long-term care claim status.  

K. Subsections F and H of this section shall not apply to 

group insurance policies as defined in subsections A and C of 

§ 38.2-3521.1 of the Code of Virginia where:  

1. The policies insure 250 or more persons and the 

policyholder has 5,000 or more eligible employees of a 

single employer; or  

2. The policyholder, and not the certificateholders, pays a 

material portion of the premium, which shall not be less 

than 20% of the total premium for the group in the 

calendar year prior to the year a rate increase is filed.  

14VAC5-200-154. Premium rate increases for policies 

issued after (insert effective date of regulation). 

A.  An insurer shall request the commission's approval of a 

pending premium rate schedule increase, including an 

exceptional increase, prior to the notice to the policyholders 

and shall include: 

1. Information required by 14VAC5-200-75; 

2. Certification by a qualified actuary that: 

a. If the requested premium rate schedule increase is 

implemented and the underlying assumptions, which 

reflect moderately adverse conditions, are realized, no 

further premium rate schedule increases are anticipated; 

and 

b. The premium rate filing is in compliance with the 

provisions of this section; 

3. An actuarial memorandum justifying the rate schedule 

change request that includes: 

a. Lifetime projections of earned premiums and incurred 

claims based on the filed premium rate schedule increase 

and the method and assumptions used in determining the 

projected values, including reflection of any assumptions 

that deviate from those used for pricing other forms 

currently available for sale; 

(1) Annual values for the five years preceding and the 

three years following the valuation date shall be provided 

separately; 

(2) The projections shall include the development of the 

lifetime loss ratio, unless the rate increase is an 

exceptional increase; 

(3) The projections shall demonstrate compliance with 

subsection B of this section; and  

(4) For exceptional increases: 

(a) The projected experience should be limited to the 

increases in claims expenses attributable to the approved 

reasons for the exceptional increase; and 

(b) In the event the commission determines as provided 

in the definition of exceptional increase in 14VAC5-200-

40 that offsets may exist, the insurer shall use appropriate 

net projected experience; 

b. Disclosure of how reserves have been incorporated in 

this rate increase whenever the rate increase will trigger 

contingent benefit upon lapse; 

c. Disclosure of the analysis performed to determine why 

a rate adjustment is necessary, which pricing assumptions 

were not realized and why, and what other actions taken 

by the company have been relied on by the actuary; 

d. A statement that policy design, underwriting, and 

claims adjudication practices have been taken into 

consideration; 

e. In the event that it is necessary to maintain consistent 

premium rates for new policies and policies receiving a 

rate increase, the insurer will need to file composite rates 

reflecting projections of new policies; and 

f. A demonstration that actual and projected costs exceed 

costs anticipated at the time of initial pricing under 

moderately adverse experience and that the composite 

margin is projected to be exhausted; 

4. A statement that renewal premium rate schedules are not 

greater than new business premium rate schedules except 

for differences attributable to benefits, unless sufficient 

justification is provided to the commission; and 

5. Sufficient information for review and approval of the 

premium rate schedule increase by the commission. 

An insurer may request a series of scheduled rate increases 

that are actuarially equivalent to a single amount requested 

over the lifetime of the policy. The entire series may be 

approved at one time as part of the current rate increase filing. 

The insurer shall be required to include contingent benefit 

upon lapse at the time of each scheduled increase. 

The insurer may request a premium rate schedule increase 

less than what is required under this section and the 

commission may approve such premium rate schedule 

increase, without submission of the certification in 

subdivision 2 a of this subsection, if the actuarial 

memorandum discloses the premium rate schedule increase 

necessary to make such certification required, the premium 

rate schedule increase filing satisfies all other requirements of 

this section, and is, in the opinion of the commission, in the 

best interest of policyholders. 

B. All premium rate schedule increases shall be determined 

in accordance with the following requirements:  

1. Exceptional increases shall provide that 70% of the 

present value of projected additional premiums from the 
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exceptional increase will be returned to policyholders in 

benefits;  

2. Premium rate schedule increases shall be calculated such 

that the sum of the lesser of (i) the accumulated value of 

actual incurred claims, without the inclusion of active life 

reserves, or (ii) the accumulated value of historic expected 

claims without the inclusion of active life reserves, plus the 

present value of the future expected incurred claims, 

projected without the inclusion of actual life reserves, will 

not be less than the sum of the following:  

a. The accumulated value of the initial earned premium 

times the greater of (i) 58% and (ii) the lifetime loss ratio 

consistent with the original filing including margins for 

moderately adverse experience;  

b. 85% of the accumulated value of prior premium rate 

schedule increases on an earned basis;  

c. The present value of future projected initial earned 

premiums times the greater of (i) 58% and (ii) the 

lifetime loss ratio consistent with the original filing 

including margins for moderately adverse experience; 

and 

d. 85% of the present value of future projected premiums 

not in subdivision 2 c of this subsection on an earned 

basis.  

3. Expected claims shall be calculated based on the original 

filing assumptions assumed until new assumptions are filed 

as part of a rate increase. New assumptions shall be used 

for all periods beyond each requested effective date of a 

rate increase. Expected claims are calculated for each 

calendar year based on the in-force policies at the 

beginning of the calendar year. Expected claims shall 

include margins for moderately adverse experience; either 

amounts included in the claims that were used to determine 

the lifetime loss ratio consistent with the original filing or 

as modified in any rate increase filing; 

4. In the event that a policy form has both exceptional and 

other increases, the values in subdivisions 2 b and d of this 

subsection will also include 70% for exceptional rate 

increase amounts; and 

5. All present and accumulated values used to determine 

rate increases, including the lifetime loss ratio consistent 

with the original filing reflecting margins for moderately 

adverse experience, shall use the greater of the maximum 

valuation interest rate for contract reserves as specified in 

14VAC5-320 or interest at a rate consistent with that 

assumed in the original determination of premiums. The 

actuary shall disclose as part of the actuarial memorandum 

the use of any appropriate averages. 

C. For each rate increase that is implemented, the insurer 

shall file for approval by the commission updated projections, 

as defined in subdivision A 3 a of this section, annually for 

the next three years and include a comparison of actual results 

to projected values. The commission may extend the period to 

greater than three years if actual results are not consistent 

with projected values from prior projections. For group 

insurance policies that meet the conditions in subsection J of 

this section, the projections required by subdivision A 3 a of 

this section shall be provided to the policyholder in lieu of 

filing with the commission.  

D. If any increased premium rate in the revised premium 

rate schedule is greater than 200% of the comparable rate in 

the initial premium schedule, the premiums exceeding 200% 

shall be clearly identified and lifetime projections, as defined 

in subdivision A 3 a of this section, shall be filed for approval 

by the commission every five years following the end of the 

required period in subsection C of this section. For group 

insurance policies that meet the conditions in subsection J of 

this section, the projections required by this subsection shall 

be provided to the policyholder in lieu of filing with the 

commission.  

E. 1. If the commission has determined that the actual 

experience following a rate increase does not adequately 

match the projected experience and that the current 

projections under moderately adverse conditions demonstrate 

that incurred claims will not exceed proportions of premiums 

specified in subsection B of this section, the commission may 

require the insurer to implement any of the following:  

a. Premium rate schedule adjustments; or  

b. Other measures to reduce the difference between the 

projected and actual experience.  

It is to be expected that the actual experience will not 

exactly match the insurer's projections. During the period 

that projections are monitored as described in subsections 

C and D of this section, the commission may determine 

that there is not an adequate match if the differences in 

earned premiums and incurred claims are not in the same 

direction (both actual values higher or lower than 

projections) or the difference as a percentage of the 

projected is not of the same order.  

2. In determining whether the actual experience adequately 

matches the projected experience, consideration should be 

given to subdivision A 3 e of this section, if applicable.  

F. If the majority of the policies or certificates to which the 

increase is applicable are eligible for the contingent benefit 

upon lapse, the insurer shall file a plan, subject to commission 

approval, for improved administration or claims processing 

designed to eliminate the potential for further deterioration of 

the policy form requiring further premium rate schedule 

increases, or both, or to demonstrate that appropriate 

administration and claims processing have been implemented 

or are in effect; otherwise the commission may impose the 

condition in subsection G of this section. 

G. 1. For a rate increase filing that meets the following 

criteria, the commission shall review, for all policies included 

in the filing, the projected lapse rates and past lapse rates 
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during the 12 months following each increase to determine if 

significant adverse lapsation has occurred or is anticipated:  

a. The rate increase is not the first rate increase requested 

for the specific policy form or forms;  

b. The rate increase is not an exceptional increase; and  

c. The majority of the policies or certificates to which the 

increase is applicable are eligible for the contingent 

benefit upon lapse.  

2. In the event significant adverse lapsation has occurred, 

is anticipated in the filing, or is evidenced in the actual 

results as presented in the updated projections provided by 

the insurer following the requested rate increase, the 

commission may determine that a rate spiral exists. 

Following the determination that a rate spiral exists, the 

commission may require the insurer to offer, without 

underwriting, to all in-force insureds subject to the rate 

increase the option to replace existing coverage with any 

other long-term care insurance product being offered by 

the insurer or its affiliates.  

a. The offer shall:  

(1) Be subject to the approval of the commission;  

(2) Be based on actuarially sound principles, but not be 

based on attained age; and  

(3) Provide that maximum benefits under any new policy 

accepted by an insured shall be reduced by comparable 

benefits already paid under the existing policy.  

b. The insurer shall maintain the experience of all the 

replacement insureds separate from the experience of 

insureds originally issued the policy forms. In the event 

of a request for a rate increase on the policy form, the 

rate increase shall be limited to the lesser of:  

(1) The maximum rate increase determined based on the 

combined experience; or  

(2) The maximum rate increase determined based only on 

the experience of the insureds originally issued the form 

plus 10%.  

H. If the commission determines that the insurer has 

exhibited a persistent practice of filing inadequate initial 

premium rates for long-term care insurance, the commission 

may, in addition to the provisions of subsection G of this 

section, prohibit the insurer from either of the following:  

1. Filing and marketing comparable coverage for a period 

of up to five years; or  

2. Offering all other similar coverages and limiting 

marketing of new applications to the products subject to 

recent premium rate schedule increases.  

I. Subsections A through H  of this section shall not apply to 

policies for which the long-term care benefits provided by the 

policy are incidental, as defined in 14VAC5-200-40, if the 

policy complies with all of the following provisions:  

1. The interest credited internally to determine cash value 

accumulations, including long-term care, if any, are 

guaranteed not to be less than the minimum guaranteed 

interest rate for cash value accumulations without long-

term care set forth in the policy;  

2. The portion of the policy that provides insurance 

benefits other than long-term care coverage meets the 

nonforfeiture requirements as applicable in any of the 

following:  

a. Sections 38.2-3200 through 38.2-3218 of the Code of 

Virginia; or  

b. Sections 38.2-3219 through 38.2-3229 of the Code of 

Virginia;  

3. The policy meets the disclosure requirements of §§ 38.2-

5207.1 and 38.2-5207.2 of the Code of Virginia;  

4. The portion of the policy that provides insurance 

benefits other than long-term care coverage meets the 

requirements as applicable in 14VAC5-20 and 14VAC5-

41;  

5. An actuarial memorandum is filed with the commission 

that includes:  

a. A description of the basis on which the long-term care 

rates were determined;  

b. A description of the basis for the reserves;  

c. A summary of the type of policy, benefits, 

renewability, general marketing method, and limits on 

ages of issuance;  

d. A description and a table of each actuarial assumption 

used. For expenses, an insurer shall include percent of 

premium dollars per policy and dollars per unit of 

benefits, if any;  

e. A description and a table of the anticipated policy 

reserves and additional reserves to be held in each future 

year for active lives;  

f. The estimated average annual premium per policy and 

the average issue age;  

g. A statement as to whether underwriting is performed at 

the time of application. The statement shall indicate 

whether underwriting is used and, if used, the statement 

shall include a description of the type or types of 

underwriting used, such as medical underwriting or 

functional assessment underwriting. Concerning a group 

policy, the statement shall indicate whether the enrollee 

or any dependent will be underwritten and when 

underwriting occurs; and  

h. A description of the effect of the long-term care policy 

provision on the required premiums, nonforfeiture values 

and reserves on the underlying insurance policy, both for 

active lives and those in long-term care claim status.  

J. Subsections E and G of this section shall not apply to 

group insurance policies as defined in subsections A and C of 

§ 38.2-3521.1 of the Code of Virginia where:  



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 5 Virginia Register of Regulations November 3, 2014 

330 

1. The policies insure 250 or more persons and the 

policyholder has 5,000 or more eligible employees of a 

single employer; or  

2. The policyholder, and not the certificateholders, pays a 

material portion of the premium, which shall not be less 

than 20% of the total premium for the group in the 

calendar year prior to the year a rate increase is filed. 

14VAC5-200-183. Right to reduce coverage and lower 

premiums.  

A. 1. Every long-term care insurance policy and certificate 

shall include a provision that allows the policyholder or 

certificateholder to reduce coverage and lower the policy or 

certificate premium in at least one of the following ways:  

a. Reducing the maximum benefit; or  

b. Reducing the daily, weekly or monthly benefit 

amount.  

2. The insurer may also offer other reduction options that 

are consistent with the policy or certificate design or the 

carrier's administrative processes.  

3. In the event the reduction in coverage involves the 

reduction or elimination of the inflation protection 

provision, the insurer shall allow the policyholder to 

continue the benefit amount in effect at the time of the 

reduction. 

B. The provision shall include a description of the ways in 

which coverage may be reduced and the process for 

requesting and implementing a reduction in coverage.  

C. The age to determine the premium for the reduced 

coverage shall be based on the age used to determine the 

premiums for the coverage currently in force The premium 

for the reduced coverage shall be: 

1. Based on the same age and underwriting class used to 

determine the premium for the coverage currently in force; 

and 

2. Consistent with the approved rate table. 

D. The insurer may limit any reduction in coverage to plans 

or options available for that policy form and to those for 

which benefits will be available after consideration of claims 

paid or payable.  

E. If a policy or certificate is about to lapse, the insurer shall 

provide a written reminder to the policyholder or 

certificateholder of his right to reduce coverage and 

premiums in the notice required by 14VAC5-200-65 A 3.  

F. This section does not apply to life insurance policies or 

riders containing accelerated long-term care benefits.  

14VAC5-200-185. Nonforfeiture benefit requirement. 

A. This section does not apply to life insurance policies or 

riders containing accelerated long-term care benefits. 

B. To comply with the requirement to offer a nonforfeiture 

benefit pursuant to the provisions of § 38.2-5210 of the Code 

of Virginia: 

1. A policy or certificate offered with nonforfeiture 

benefits shall have coverage elements, eligibility, benefit 

triggers and benefit length that are the same as coverage to 

be issued without nonforfeiture benefits. The nonforfeiture 

benefit included in the offer shall be the benefit described 

in subsection E of this section; and  

2. The offer shall be in writing if the nonforfeiture benefit 

is not otherwise described in the Outline of Coverage or 

other materials given to the prospective policyholder. 

When a group long-term care insurance policy is issued, 

the offer required in § 38.2-5210 of the Code of Virginia 

shall be made to the group policyholder. However, if the 

policy is issued as group long-term care insurance as 

defined in § 38.2-3522.1 of the Code of Virginia other than 

to a continuing care retirement community or other similar 

entity, the offer shall be made to each proposed 

certificateholder. 

C. If the offer required to be made under § 38.2-5210 of the 

Code of Virginia is rejected, the insurer shall provide the 

contingent benefit upon lapse described in this section. Even 

if this offer is accepted for a policy with a fixed or limited 

premium paying period, the contingent benefit upon lapse in 

subdivision D 4 of this section shall still apply. 

D. 1. After rejection of the offer required under § 38.2-5210 

of the Code of Virginia, for individual and group policies 

without nonforfeiture benefits, the insurer shall provide a 

contingent benefit upon lapse. 

2. In the event a group policyholder elects to make the 

nonforfeiture benefit an option to the certificateholder, a 

certificate shall provide either the nonforfeiture benefit or 

the contingent benefit upon lapse. 

3. A contingent benefit on upon lapse shall be triggered 

every time an insurer increases the premium rates to a level 

which results in a cumulative increase of the annual 

premium equal to or exceeding the percentage of the 

insured's initial annual premium set forth below based on 

the insured's issue age, and the policy or certificate lapses 

within 120 days of the due date of the premium so 

increased. Unless otherwise required, policyholders shall 

be notified at least 60 75 days prior to the due date of the 

premium reflecting the rate increase. 

Triggers for a Substantial Premium Increase  

Issue Age 
Percent Increase  

Over Initial Premium 

29 54 and under 200% 100% 

30-34 190% 

35-39 170% 

40-44 150% 

45-49 130% 

50-54 110% 

55-59 90% 

60 70% 

61 66% 
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62 62% 

63 58% 

64 54% 

65 50% 

66 48% 

67 46% 

68 44% 

69 42% 

70 40% 

71 38% 

72 36% 

73 34% 

74 32% 

75 30% 

76 28% 

77 26% 

78 24% 

79 22% 

80 20% 

81 19% 

82 18% 

83 17% 

84 16% 

85 15% 

86 14% 

87 13% 

88 12% 

89 11% 

90 and over 10% 

4. A contingent benefit on lapse shall also be triggered for 

policies with a fixed or limited premium paying period 

every time an insurer increases the premium rates to a level 

that results in a cumulative increase of the annual premium 

equal to or exceeding the percentage of the insured's initial 

annual premium set forth below based on the insured's 

issue age, the policy or certificate lapses within 120 days 

of the due date of the premium so increased, and the ratio 

in subdivision 6 b of this subsection is 40% or more. 

Unless otherwise required, policyholders shall be notified 

at least 60 75 days prior to the due date of the premium 

reflecting the rate increase. 

Triggers for a Substantial Premium Increase  

Issue Age 
Percent Increase  

Over Initial Premium 

Under 65 50% 

65-80 30% 

Over 80 10% 

This provision shall be in addition to the contingent benefit 

provided by subdivision 3 of this subsection, and where 

both are triggered, the benefit provided shall be at the 

option of the insured. 

5. On or before the effective date of a substantial premium 

increase as defined in subdivision 3 of this subsection, the 

insurer shall: 

a. Offer to reduce policy benefits provided by the current 

coverage without the requirement of additional 

underwriting consistent with 14VAC5-200-183 so that 

required premium payments are not increased; 

b. Offer to convert the coverage to a paid-up status with a 

shortened benefit period in accordance with the terms of 

subsection E of this section. This option may be elected 

at any time during the 120-day period referenced in 

subdivision 3 of this subsection; and 

c. Notify the policyholder or certificateholder that a 

default or lapse at any time during the 120-day period 

referenced in subdivision 3 of this subsection shall be 

deemed to be the election of the offer to convert in 

subdivision 5 b of this subsection unless the automatic 

option in subdivision 6 c of this subsection applies. 

6. On or before the effective date of a substantial premium 

increase as defined in subdivision 4 of this subsection, the 

insurer shall: 

a. Offer to reduce policy benefits provided by the current 

coverage without the requirement of additional 

underwriting consistent with the requirements of 

14VAC5-200-183 so that required premium payments 

are not increased; 

b. Offer to convert the coverage to a paid-up status where 

the amount payable for each benefit is 90% of the 

amount payable in effect immediately prior to lapse times 

the ratio of the number of completed months of paid 

premiums divided by the number of months in the 

premium paying period. This option may be elected at 

any time during the 120-day period referenced in 

subdivision 4 of this subsection; and  

c. Notify the policyholder or certificateholder that a 

default or lapse at any time during the 120-day period 

referenced in subdivision 4 of this subsection shall be 

deemed to be the election of the offer to convert in 

subdivision 6 b of this subsection if the ratio is 40% or 

more. 

7. In the event the policy was issued at least 20 years prior 

to the effective date of the premium rate increase, a value 

of 0% shall be used in place of all values in the tables in 

subdivision 3 or 4 of this subsection. 

E. Benefits continued as nonforfeiture benefits, including 

contingent benefits upon lapse in accordance with subdivision 

D 3 but not subdivision D 4 of this section, are described in 

this subsection: 

1. For purposes of this subsection, attained age rating is 

defined as a schedule of premiums starting from the issue 

date which increases age at least 1.0% per year prior to age 

50, and at least 3.0% per year beyond at age 50 and 

beyond. 
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2. For purposes of this subsection, the nonforfeiture benefit 

shall be of a shortened benefit period providing paid-up 

long-term care insurance coverage after lapse. The same 

benefits (amounts and frequency in effect at the time of 

lapse but not increased thereafter) will be payable for a 

qualifying claim, but the lifetime maximum dollars or days 

of benefits shall be determined as specified in subdivision 

3 of this subsection. 

3. The standard nonforfeiture credit will be equal to 100% 

of the sum of all premiums paid, including the premiums 

paid prior to any changes in benefits. The insurer may offer 

additional shortened benefit period options as long as the 

benefits for each duration equal or exceed the standard 

nonforfeiture credit for that duration. However, the 

minimum nonforfeiture credit shall not be less than 30 

times the daily nursing home benefit at the time of lapse. In 

either event, the calculation of the nonforfeiture credit is 

subject to the limitation of subsection F of this section. 

4. a. The nonforfeiture benefit shall begin not later than the 

end of the third year following the policy or certificate 

issue date. The contingent benefit upon lapse shall be 

effective during the first three years as well as thereafter. 

b. Notwithstanding subdivision 4 a of this subsection, 

except that for a policy or certificate with a contingent 

benefit upon lapse or a policy or certificate with attained 

age rating, the nonforfeiture benefit shall begin on the 

earlier of: (i) the end of the tenth year following the 

policy or certificate issue date; or (ii) the end of the 

second year following the date the policy or certificate is 

no longer subject to attained age rating. 

5. Nonforfeiture credits may be used for all care and 

services qualifying for benefits under the terms of the 

policy or certificate, up to the limits specified in the policy 

or certificate. 

F. All benefits paid by the insurer while the policy or 

certificate is in premium paying status and in the paid up 

paid-up status will not exceed the maximum benefits which 

would be payable if the policy or certificate had remained in 

premium paying status. 

G. There shall be no difference in the minimum 

nonforfeiture benefits as required under this section for group 

and individual policies. 

H. Premiums charged for a policy or certificate containing 

nonforfeiture benefits or a contingent benefit on lapse shall be 

subject to the loss ratio requirements of 14VAC5-200-150 or, 

14VAC5-200-153, or 14VAC5-200-154, whichever is 

applicable, treating the policy as a whole. 

I. To determine whether contingent nonforfeiture upon lapse 

provisions are triggered under subdivision D 3 or D 4 of this 

section, a replacing insurer that purchased or otherwise 

assumed a block or blocks of long-term care insurance 

policies from another insurer shall calculate the percentage 

increase based on the initial annual premium paid by the 

insured when the policy was first purchased from the original 

insurer. 

J. A nonforfeiture benefit for qualified long-term care 

insurance contracts that are level premium contracts shall be 

offered that meets the following requirements: 

1. The nonforfeiture provision shall be appropriately 

captioned; 

2. The nonforfeiture provision shall provide a benefit 

available in the event of a default in the payment of any 

premiums and shall state that the amount of the benefit 

may be adjusted subsequent to being initially granted only 

as necessary to reflect changes in claims, persistency and 

interest as reflected in changes in rates for premium paying 

contracts approved by the commission for the same 

contract form; and 

3. The nonforfeiture provision shall provide at least one of 

the following: 

a. Reduced paid-up insurance; 

b. Extended term insurance; 

c. Shortened benefit period; or 

d. Other similar offerings approved by the commission. 

14VAC5-200-195. Rate increase hearings. 

The commission may, at its sole discretion and as a 

condition of approval, conduct a public hearing or order an 

insurer to present information concerning its premium rate 

increase submission before the commission if it determines 

that a hearing or presentation is in the public interest.  One 

consideration for a hearing may be the percentage or level of 

premium rate increase requested. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4149; Filed October 14, 2014, 11:20 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-21. Medication 

Administration Training and Immunization Protocol 

(amending 18VAC90-21-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 3, 2014. 

Effective Date: December 18, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
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Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 

the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards 

including the responsibility to promulgate regulations. 

The second enactment clause of Chapter 183 of the 2013 Acts 

of the Assembly mandates that the Board of Nursing 

promulgate regulations to implement the provisions of 

Chapter 183 relating to medication administration training for 

the administration of epinephrine and glucagon. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amendments is to include 

training in the signs of hypoglycemia and the administration 

of glucagon to the module on training in the administration of 

insulin. The 32-hour training program set out in 18VAC30-

21-30 is used for training unlicensed persons to administer 

medications in certain facilities as prescribed in § 54.1-3408 

L of the Code of Virginia. If a person is authorized to assist 

with the administration of insulin, he should also be trained in 

the administration of a rescue dose of glucagon. Since 

Chapter 183 provides that employees of or persons providing 

services pursuant to a contract with a provider licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS) may administer insulin, glucagon, and 

epinephrine pursuant to a written order issued by a prescriber 

in certain circumstances, training in administration of those 

drugs is essential to protect public health and safety for 

persons receiving services in a DBHDS facility. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The amendments are 

mandated by and necessary to implement the statute. The 

amendments are not controversial, and the curriculum already 

exists for such training. 

Substance: This action will amend the 32-hour medication 

administration program to add "signs of severe hypoglycemia 

and administration of glucagon" to the insulin module. It will 

also add a provision to the curriculum for the purpose of 

"Facilitating client self-administration or assisting with the 

administration of auto-injectable epinephrine pursuant to an 

order issued by the prescriber for a specific client in a facility 

licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services under provisions of subsection D of 

§ 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia." 

Issues: The primary advantage is to those persons who are 

receiving services in a DBHDS licensed facility and who may 

have diabetes or severe allergies. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the general public. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the Department 

of Health Professions, but there are advantages to DBHDS, 

which will be able to train and utilize unlicensed persons to 

administer insulin, glucagon, and auto-injectable epinephrine. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 183 of the 2013 Acts of the Assembly, 

the Board of Nursing (Board) proposes to add training in 

epinephrine and glucagon administration to the curriculum for 

the classroom instruction provided to certain individuals 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to Chapter 183 of the 

2013 Acts of the Assembly, the proposed regulations add 

training in epinephrine and glucagon administration to the 

curriculum for the classroom instruction established by the 

Board for the employees of or persons providing services 

based on a written contract with a provider licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS). 

The Board does not plan to increase the length of the required 

classroom instruction and does not anticipate any reduction in 

the quantity and quality of other topics that need to be 

covered by the training. Thus, no significant economic costs 

are expected from the proposed expansion of the training 

curriculum. However, the proposed new training is expected 

to improve chances of survival if and when epinephrine or 

glucagon has to be administered to a patient in an emergency. 

DBHDS estimates that there are less than 200 occasions 

where epinephrine or glucagon would need to be 

administered per year. If the nearby unlicensed individuals 

providing care to a patient are not trained in epinephrine and 

glucagon administration, a patient has no choice but to wait 

for a qualified care provider such as an emergency medical 

services provider to arrive. According to the Department of 

Health Professions, the time lost for waiting for such a person 

could make the difference between life and death. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. According to DBHDS, 

there are about 11,000 staff in group homes and 2,000 staff in 

sponsored residential facilities that will be affected by the 

proposed training requirement. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulations 

apply throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No significant impact on 

employment is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 

significant impact on the use and value of private property is 

expected. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No costs or other 

effects on small businesses are expected. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed regulations do not pose an 

adverse impact on small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
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analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Nursing concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget on the proposed amendments to 

18VAC90-21, Medication Administration Training and 

Immunization Protocol. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 183 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly, the 

proposed amendments provide for the medication 

administration training curriculum to include training in 

(i) the signs of hypoglycemia and administration of 

glucagon and (ii) epinephrine and glucagon 

administration for the classroom instruction established by 

the Board of Nursing for the employees of the Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

(DBHDS) or persons providing services based on a written 

contract with a provider licensed by DBHDS.  

18VAC90-21-30. Content of medication administration 

training. 

The curriculum shall include a minimum of 32 hours of 

classroom instruction and practice in the following:  

1. Preparing for safe administration of medications to 

clients in specific settings by:  

a. Demonstrating an understanding of the client's rights 

regarding medications, treatment decisions, and 

confidentiality.  

b. Recognizing emergencies and other health-threatening 

conditions and responding accordingly.  

c. Identifying medication terminology and abbreviations.  

2. Maintaining aseptic conditions by:  

a. Implementing universal precautions.  

b. Insuring cleanliness and disinfection.  

c. Disposing of infectious or hazardous waste.  

3. Facilitating client self-administration or assisting with 

medication administration by:  

a. Reviewing administration records and prescriber's 

orders.  

b. Facilitating client's awareness of the purpose and 

effects of medication.  

c. Assisting the client to interpret prescription labels.  

d. Observing the five rights of medication administration 

and security requirements appropriate to the setting.  

e. Following proper procedure for preparing medications.  

f. Measuring and recording vital signs to assist the client 

in making medication administration decisions.  

g. Assisting the client to administer oral medications.  

h. Assisting the client with administration of prepared 

instillations and treatments of:  

(1) Eye drops and ointments.  

(2) Ear drops.  

(3) Nasal drops and sprays.  

(4) Topical preparations.  

(5) Compresses and dressings.  

(6) Vaginal and rectal products.  

(7) Soaks and sitz baths.  

(8) Inhalation therapy.  

(9) Oral hygiene products.  

i. Reporting and recording the client's refusal to take 

medication.  

j. Documenting medication administration.  

k. Documenting and reporting medication errors.  

l. Maintaining client records according to facility policy.  

m. Sharing information with other staff orally and by 

using documents.  

n. Storing and securing medications.  

o. Maintaining an inventory of medications.  

p. Disposing of medications.  

4. Facilitating client self-administration or assisting with 

the administration of insulin. Instruction and practice in the 

administration of insulin shall be included only in those 

settings where required by client needs and shall include:  

a. Cause and treatment of diabetes.  

b. The side effects of insulin.  

c. Preparation and administration of insulin. 

d. Signs of severe hypoglycemia and administration of 

glucagon.  

5. Facilitating client self-administration or assisting with 

the administration of auto-injectable epinephrine pursuant 
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to an order issued by the prescriber for a specific client in a 

facility licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services under the provisions of 

subsection D of § 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-3819; Filed October 2, 2014, 3:23 p.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 30 (2014) 

Marriage Equality in the Commonwealth of Virginia 

Importance of the Issue 

The highest priority of state government should be to 

guarantee every person's right to live, learn, work, and do 

business, regardless of their race, gender, creed or sexual 

orientation. This principle guided my first act as Governor 

when I signed Executive Order #1 banning discrimination in 

the state workplace based on sexual orientation or gender 

identity. This principle also guided the Virginia leaders, 

advocates and allies who fought for marriage equality and 

won when the Supreme Court declined to review the Fourth 

Circuit Court of Appeals' ruling in Bostic v. Schaefer. Same-

sex marriage is now legal in Virginia. This is a historic and 

long overdue moment for our Commonwealth and our 

country. 

The decision has opened new doors to my administration's 

guiding principle of equality. An open and welcoming 

environment is imperative to grow as a Commonwealth, and 

to build a new Virginia economy that will attract vital 

businesses, innovative entrepreneurs, and thriving families. 

On issues ranging from recognizing same-sex marriages to 

extending health care benefits to same-sex spouses of state 

employees, state government is already well-prepared to 

implement this landmark decision. My administration will act 

quickly to continue to bring all of our policies and practices 

into compliance so that we can give married same-sex 

couples the full array of benefits they deserve. 

Pursuant to the authority vested in me as the Chief Executive 

Officer of the Commonwealth, and pursuant to Article V of 

the Constitution and the laws of Virginia, I hereby order, 

effective immediately, that all entities in the executive 

branch, including agencies, authorities, commissions, 

departments, and all institutions of higher education further 

evaluate all policies and take all necessary and appropriate 

legal measures to comply with this decision. 

In addition, the Director of the Department of Human 

Resource Management shall notify all state agencies that 

employees whose same-sex marriage is recognized as legal in 

the Commonwealth, and who are eligible, may enroll their 

spouse and eligible dependents in the health benefits program 

for state employees within sixty (60) days of marriage. 

A full and complete report of all appropriate measures will be 

reviewed by the Counselor to the Governor and presented to 

the Governor on or before November 15, 2014. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order  

This Executive Order shall become effective upon its signing, 

and shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 

rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 7th day of October, 2014. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 31 (2014) 

Conserving Energy and Reducing Consumption in 
the Commonwealth of Virginia 

Importance of the Issue 

The cleanest and cheapest energy is energy that is not 

consumed. Strong energy efficiency measures in government, 

businesses, and residences can reduce energy consumption, 

costs, and bills, diminish the need to build new generation 

infrastructure, and increase Virginians' quality of life through 

lower carbon emissions polluting the atmosphere. Increased 

energy efficiency measures will serve as a stimulus to the 

growing energy efficiency industry in Virginia, helping create 

new jobs and diversifying our economy. The Commonwealth 

of Virginia will demonstrate the extraordinary potential and 

invaluable business advantages achieved with energy 

efficiency. 

As a prudent steward of taxpayer dollars, Virginia is 

dedicated to finding creative solutions with increasingly 

limited resources. Pursuing sensible energy efficiency in state 

government will increase the productivity of the energy used, 

reduce consumption, save money, and lessen any negative 

environmental impact. The Commonwealth is seeking to 

reduce electricity consumption in state facilities by 15% by 

2017, using 2009-2010 as a baseline. 

While the Commonwealth embraces the challenge of 

reducing energy consumption, localities, businesses, and 

individual consumers are encouraged to use energy 

efficiently, and utilize available tools to conserve energy.  

Energy Efficiency Initiatives 

By the power vested in me by Article V of the Constitution of 

Virginia, and § 2.2-103 of the Code of Virginia, and subject 

always to my continuing and ultimate authority and 

responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby direct all 

executive branch agencies, authorities, departments, and all 

institutions of higher education, to every extent practicable, to 

operate in accordance with the following guidelines: 

• All state agencies should proactively pursue energy 

efficiency measures, especially Energy Performance 

Contracting (EPC), to reduce energy consumption. EPC is 

a budget neutral, cost-effective tool that permits state 

agencies and publicly-owned facilities to reduce their 

deferred maintenance backlogs without adding any 

financial burden to the taxpayer. In addition, EPC is an 

effective mechanism to finance capital improvements using 

leveraged energy savings to reduce both energy costs and 



Governor 

Volume 31, Issue 5 Virginia Register of Regulations November 3, 2014 

337 

consumption. For agencies that have already employed 

EPC, overall energy consumption should be re-evaluated to 

identify areas for further efficiency improvements. 

• Agencies should utilize the current process, at no cost to 

the agency, which provides for a general audit to assess 

whether EPC is appropriate for the agency. This portion of 

the process is managed by the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy (DMME), and all agencies should 

work with DMME to have a general audit conducted with 

the goal of implementing an EPC by 2016. 

I have appointed the Advisor for Infrastructure and 

Development as the Commonwealth's Chief Energy 

Efficiency Officer (CEEO) to oversee planning, 

implementation, and measurement of energy efficiency 

throughout state government, as follows: 

• Organize a meeting with all agencies tasked with 

overseeing EPC in state government and state-certified 

Energy Service Companies (ESCOs) to establish a fully 

transparent, streamlined, and standardized process that 

agencies will use to implement EPC. This will include the 

development of an "EPC Roadmap" that will lay out each 

step of the EPC process, and ensure accountability among 

agencies and the ESCOs at each stage of project 

development and implementation. 

• Coordinate with SCHEV to identify the deferred 

maintenance needs at each higher education institution and 

the opportunities to leverage energy savings to fund 

building infrastructure upgrades. 

• Work with the Department of General Services (DGS) 

and DMME to identify and prioritize state facilities that 

offer opportunities for significant cost and consumption 

reduction.  

• Work with DMME to establish a comprehensive system 

to measure, verify, and track energy consumption in state 

facilities.  

• Re-commission electrical equipment and systems in 

publicly-owned facilities, when needed. 

• Ensure that DMME reviews all annual project 

performance reports submitted by ESCOs to the agencies. 

• Work with subject matter experts to identify best 

practices to incentivize individuals and agencies regarding 

energy efficiency measures. Those who show leadership in 

energy efficiency, regardless of agency and project size, 

will be recognized.  

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon signing and 

shall remain in force and effect from its signing unless 

amended or rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 16th day of October, 2014. 

/s/ Terence R. McAuliffe 

Governor 

 



GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

Volume 31, Issue 5 Virginia Register of Regulations November 3, 2014 

338 

GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Notice of Intent for Small Solar Energy Project - 
Eastern Shore Solar LLC 

On October 14, 2014, Eastern Shore Solar LLC (Eastern 

Shore Solar) submitted a notice of intent (NOI) to the 

Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) for a small 

solar energy project. In accordance with 9VAC15-60-30 A 1 

of the Small Renewable Energy Projects (Solar) Permit by 

Rule regulation, a NOI is to be submitted to DEQ and is to be 

published in the Virginia Register as notification that Eastern 

Shore Solar intends to submit the necessary documentation 

for a permit by rule for a small renewable solar energy project 

pursuant to 9VAC15-60. 

Proposed Project: Eastern Shore Solar is proposing a small 

solar energy project consisting of four subprojects. Each 

subproject will have a maximum capacity of 20 megawatts 

alternating current (AC), for a total combined maximum 

capacity of 80 megawatts (MW) AC. The combined 80 MW 

of subprojects will be sited across roughly 1,000 acres and 

across multiple parcels. 

The four subprojects will utilize traditional photovoltaic solar 

modules and rotate throughout the day to track the sun. The 

four subprojects may ultimately be broken out, such that 

separate permits may be requested from DEQ pursuant to this 

notice. 

Proposed Site Location: Northern Accomack County, west of 

Route 13 around the Oak Hall Electrical Substation in the 

general vicinity of Withams and Miona, Virginia. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov, 

telephone (804) 698-4579, or FAX (804) 698-4019. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Matchpoint 
Associates, L.C. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Matchpoint 

Associates, L.C. for alleged violations at the Matchpoint 

Apartments at 5846-B Westower Drive, Richmond, VA. The 

enforcement action requires corrective action and payment of 

a civil charge. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at http://www.deq.virginia.gov. Frank 

Lupini will accept comments by email at 

frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 527-5106, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 

VA 23060, from November 3, 2014, through December 4, 

2014. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Plains Marketing, L.P. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Plains 

Marketing, L.P. for alleged violations of the State Water 

Control Law in Yorktown, Virginia. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov. Mr. Robin Schuhmann will 

accept comments by email at 

robin.schuhmann@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, 

or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from November 3, 2014, through 

December 3, 2014. 

Proposed Consent Order for Silver 
Communications, Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Silver 

Communications, Inc. for alleged violations at the Silver 

Communications Printing Facility located in Loudoun 

County, Virginia. The action seeks to resolve the 

unauthorized discharge of oil to state waters. The consent 

order describes a settlement to resolve these violations. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at http://www.deq.virginia.gov. Daniel Burstein will 

accept comments by email at 

daniel.burstein@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (703) 583-3821, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, from November 4, 2013, through December 4, 

2014. 

Virginia Clean Water Revolving Loan Fund - FY2015 
Priority List 

Introduction: Section 606(c) of the Water Quality Act of 1987 

requires the Commonwealth to develop an annual plan that 

identifies the intended uses of its Clean Water Revolving 

Loan Fund and to prepare a list of projects targeted for 

financial assistance with those funds. Following public 

comment and final board action, the list of targeted projects 

for financial assistance becomes the Commonwealth's yearly 

Clean Water Revolving Loan Fund Project Priority List. 

Funds Available: The federal appropriation for the nation's 

Clean Water State Revolving Funds for FY 2015 has not been 

approved yet but Virginia's share is expected to be in the 

range of $20 million. State matching appropriations, along 

with the accumulation of moneys through loan repayments 

and prepayments, interest earnings, and de-allocations from 

leverage accounts should make an additional $70 million 

available for funding new projects. These funds, in 

accumulation, will result in at least $90 million becoming 

available during the 2015 funding cycle. 

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:robin.schuhmann@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:daniel.burstein@deq.virginia.gov
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FY 2015 Program Development: On May 30, 2014, the staff 

solicited applications from the Commonwealth's localities and 

wastewater authorities as well as potential land conservation 

applicants and Brownfield remediation clientele. July 18, 

2014, was established as the deadline for receiving 

applications. Based on this solicitation, Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) received 15 wastewater 

improvement applications requesting $60,901,278; eight 

applications for land conservation projects (totaling 

$21,869,300); and one stormwater management application 

for an additional $1,195,000, bringing the total amount 

requested to $83,965,578. 

All 15 wastewater applications were evaluated in accordance 

with the program's funding distribution criteria. In keeping 

with the program objectives and funding prioritization 

criteria, the staff reviewed project type and impact on state 

waters, the locality's compliance history and fiscal stress, and 

the project's readiness-to-proceed. The eight land 

conservation applications were reviewed using the board's 

land conservation loan funding prioritization criteria and the 

staff also received input from the Department of Conservation 

and Recreation in accordance with the board's guidelines and 

state law. The one stormwater application was reviewed in 

accordance with the board's priority ranking criteria for 

stormwater projects. The list of applications is shown below 

by project type in priority funding order based on the board's 

prioritization criteria. All applications are considered to be of 

good quality and should provide significant water quality and 

environmental improvement. 

Based on these considerations, on September 29, 2014, the 

board approved the staff recommendation to authorize 

funding for $83,965,578 for all 24 projects as shown below. 

Public Participation: The board is presenting its draft list of 

targeted FY 2015 loan recipients for public review and 

comment. A public meeting will be held at 2 p.m. on 

Wednesday, November 12, 2014, in the Department of 

Environmental Quality's 2nd Floor Conference Room, 629 

East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219. The public review 

and comment period will end immediately following the 

public meeting. Comments or questions should be directed to 

the following contact: Walter Gills, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Clean Water Financing and 

Assistance Program, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4133, or email 

walter.gills@deq.virginia.gov. Written comments should 

include the name, address, and telephone number of the 

presenter. 

Project Priority List: 

Applicant Requested  

Amount 

City of Norfolk $6,000,000 

City of Waynesboro $1,723,401 

Rivanna WSA $3,418,174 

Buchanan County PSA $16,204,121 

Town of Surry $2,020,400 

Middle Peninsula PDC $200,000 

Alleghany County $1,612,720 

Town of Broadway $6,565,000 

Town of Rural Retreat $862,550 

Washington County SA $1,171,550 

Harrisonburg/Rockingham RSA $8,995,500 

Alleghany County $1,000,000 

Town of Honaker $396,171 

Tazewell County PSA $10,586,691 

Alleghany County $145,000 

City of Norfolk $1,195,000 

Virginia Conservation Legacy Fund $5,160,000 

Virginia Conservation Legacy Fund $5,169,000 

Virginia Conservation Legacy Fund $5,215,000 

Virginia Conservation Legacy Fund $3,103,000 

Virginia Conservation Legacy Fund $597,000 

Virginia Conservation Legacy Fund $2,073,000 

Town of Marion $127,300 

Virginia Conservation Legacy Fund $425,000 

  $83,965,578 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

mailto:walter.gills@deq.virginia.gov
varegs@dls.virginia.gov
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar


General Notices/Errata 

Volume 31, Issue 5 Virginia Register of Regulations November 3, 2014 

340 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 
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