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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair, Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Pamela S. Baskervill; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. 

Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 

Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011


PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 
This schedule is available on the Register's Internet home page (http://register.dls.virginia.gov). 

Volume 31, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 1, 2015 

1622 

PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

June 2015 through May 2016 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

31:20 May 13, 2015 June 1, 2015 

31:21 May 27, 2015 June 15, 2015 

31:22 June 10, 2015 June 29, 2015 

31:23 June 24, 2015 July 13, 2015 

31:24 July 8, 2015 July 27, 2015 

31:25 July 22, 2015 August 10, 2015 

31:26 August 5, 2015 August 24, 2015 

32:1 August 19, 2015 September 7, 2015 

32:2 September 2, 2015 September 21, 2015 

32:3 September 16, 2015 October 5, 2015 

32:4 September 30, 2015 October 19, 2015 

32:5 October 14, 2015 November 2, 2015 

32:6 October 28, 2015 November 16, 2015 

32:7 November 10, 2015 (Tuesday) November 30, 2015 

32:8 November 24, 2015 (Tuesday) December 14, 2015 

32:9 December 9, 2015 December 28, 2015 

32:10 December 21, 2015 (Monday) January 11, 2016 

32:11 January 6, 2016 January 25, 2016 

32:12 January 20, 2016 February 8, 2016 

32:13 February 3, 2016 February 22, 2016 

32:14 February 17, 2016 March 7, 2016 

32:15 March 2, 2016 March 21, 2016 

32:16 March 16, 2016 April 4, 2016 

32:17 March 30, 2016 April 18, 2016 

32:18 April 13, 2016 May 2, 2016 

32:19 April 27, 2016 May 16, 2016 

32:20 May 11, 2016 May 30, 2016 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKINGNOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends to 

consider amending 18VAC85-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

address the need for additional public protection in the 

administration of office-based anesthesia in response to a 

petition for rulemaking published in 31:6 VA.R. 343 

November 17, 2014. Specific amendments recommended by 

the petitioner will be considered, as well as comments 

received on the petition and on this Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2912.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2015. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 

(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-01; Filed May 11, 2015, 2:04 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends to 

consider adopting 18VAC85-170, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Genetic Counselors, in accordance with 

Chapters 10 and 266 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to (i) ensure minimal 

competency for practice and continued competency for 

renewal of licensure and (ii) establish standards of conduct 

for safe practice. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957.18 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2015. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4172; Filed May 11, 2015, 2:04 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy intends to 

consider amending 18VAC110-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to establish standards for collection sites similar to 

those required by the federal Drug Enforcement 

Administration in order for the board to inspect for and 

enforce standards for collection of controlled substances. If 

requirements for collection and destruction are not followed 

and there is risk of commingling with existing stocks, there 

may be opportunity for diversion of donated drugs or 

adulteration of controlled substances. Designation of 

authorized collection sites will facilitate the disposal of 

unused prescription drugs, which in turn reduces the supply 

of such drugs for abuse and diversion. However, the 

collection must be handled in a manner that protects the drugs 

until destruction in compliance with local, state, and federal 

laws. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4325; Filed May 11, 2015, 2:06 p.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Counseling intends to 

consider amending 18VAC115-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Professional Counseling. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to add a requirement for all counseling 

programs leading to a license as a professional counselor to 

be clinically focused and accredited by the Council for 

Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational 

Programs (CACREP) or an approved affiliate, such as the 

Council on Rehabilitation Education. This would be a 

phased-in requirement, allowing seven years from the 

effective date for students to complete their education in a 

non-CACREP program and for programs to achieve 

accreditation standards. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2015. 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol31/iss06/v31i06.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol31/iss06/v31i06.pdf
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Agency Contact: Catherine Chappell, Executive Director, 

Board of Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 

527-4435, or email catherine.chappell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-36; Filed May 11, 2015, 2:02 p.m.  

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Veterinary Medicine 

intends to consider amending 18VAC150-20, Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to eliminate a burdensome 

restriction on the preceptorships for veterinary students. 

Through preceptorships, veterinary students gain practical 

experience under the direct supervision of a licensed 

veterinarian. Currently, students are not allowed to engage in 

a preceptorship until their final year in veterinary college. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 

(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-14; Filed May 11, 2015, 2:08 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Veterinary Medicine 

intends to consider amending 18VAC150-20, Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to increase the number of 

continuing education hours required for renewal of a license 

as a veterinary technician from six to eight hours per year.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3805.2 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 

(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-18; Filed May 11, 2015, 2:08 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Veterinary Medicine 

intends to consider amending 18VAC150-20, Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to add a definition of 

"specialist" to 18VAC150-20-10 and to expand the elements 

of unprofessional conduct to include identifying oneself as a 

specialist without possessing the proper credentials. The goal 

is to prevent misrepresentation to the public in the use of the 

term "specialist" or "specialty" for an individual licensee or in 

the name of an establishment. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 

(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-16; Filed May 11, 2015, 2:08 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-50, 

4VAC15-20-65, 4VAC15-20-140).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-103 of the Code of Virginia 

(4VAC15-20-65). 

§ 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia (4VAC15-20-50, 

4VAC15-20-65, and 4VAC15-20-140). 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 2, 2015 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: May 22, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341 or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) remove "domestica" from 

the scientific name of domestic swine and change "free 

roaming" to "for which no claim of ownership can be 

made" for consistency with the definition of "feral swine" 

in 4VAC15-20-160; (ii) remove the red fox from the list of 

domestic animals effective January 1, 2016, and allow 

individuals who already own pet red foxes to keep them in 

captivity until the foxes die, provided the owners declare 

such possession to the department by January 1, 2016; (iii) 

replace the terms "bow and arrow" and "bow and arrow or 

crossbow" with "archery equipment" for all applicable 

licenses and permits; (iv) in the category of additional 

hunting privileges, create a separate license for bear 

hunting, with a fee of $25 for residents and $150 for 

nonresidents; (v) eliminate bear from the resident bear, 

deer, and turkey hunting license for licensees 16 years of 

age or older, from the resident junior bear, deer, and 

turkey hunting license for licensees younger than 16 years 

of age, and from the nonresident bear, deer, and turkey 

hunting licenses; and (vi) in the definition of "species," 

replace "district" with "distinct" to correct a typographical 

error. 

4VAC15-20-50. Definitions; "wild animal," "native 

animal," "naturalized animal," "nonnative (exotic) 

animal," and "domestic animal."  

A. In accordance with § 29.1-100 of the Code of Virginia, 

the following terms shall have the meanings ascribed to them 

by this section when used in regulations of the board:  

"Native animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals naturally occurring in Virginia, as included in the 

department's 2014 "List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of 

Virginia," with copies available in the Richmond and regional 

offices of the department.  

"Naturalized animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals not originally native to Virginia that have established 

wild, self-sustaining populations, as included in the 

department's 2014 "List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of 

Virginia," with copies available in the Richmond and regional 

offices of the department.  

"Nonnative (exotic) animal" means those species and 

subspecies of animals not naturally occurring in Virginia, 

excluding domestic and naturalized species.  

The following animals are defined as domestic animals:  

Domestic dog (Canis familiaris), including wolf hybrids.  

Domestic cat (Felis catus), including hybrids with wild 

felines.  

Domestic horse (Equus caballus), including hybrids with 

Equus asinus.  

Domestic ass, burro, and donkey (Equus asinus).  

Domestic cattle (Bos taurus and Bos indicus).  

Domestic sheep (Ovis aries) including hybrids with wild 

sheep.  

Domestic goat (Capra hircus).  

Domestic swine (Sus scrofa domestica) scrofa), including 

pot-bellied pig excluding any swine that are free-roaming 

or wild or for which no claim of ownership can be made.  

Llama (Lama glama).  

Alpaca (Lama pacos).  

Camels (Camelus bactrianus and Camelus dromedarius).  

Domesticated races of hamsters (Mesocricetus spp.).  



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 1, 2015 

1626 

Domesticated races of mink (Mustela vison) where adults 

are heavier than 1.15 kilograms or their coat color can be 

distinguished from wild mink.  

Domesticated races of red fox (Vulpes) where their coat 

color can be distinguished from wild red fox.  

Domesticated races of guinea pigs (Cavia porcellus).  

Domesticated races of gerbils (Meriones unguiculatus).  

Domesticated races of chinchillas (Chinchilla laniger).  

Domesticated races of rats (Rattus norvegicus and Rattus 

rattus).  

Domesticated races of mice (Mus musculus).  

Domesticated races of European rabbit (Oryctolagus 

cuniculus).  

Domesticated races of chickens (Gallus).  

Domesticated races of turkeys (Meleagris gallopavo).  

Domesticated races of ducks and geese distinguishable 

morphologically from wild birds.  

Feral pigeons (Columba domestica and Columba livia) and 

domesticated races of pigeons.  

Domesticated races of guinea fowl (Numida meleagris).  

Domesticated races of peafowl (Pavo cristatus). 

"Wild animal" means any member of the animal kingdom, 

except domestic animals, including without limitation any 

native, naturalized, or nonnative (exotic) mammal, fish, bird, 

amphibian, reptile, mollusk, crustacean, arthropod or other 

invertebrate, and includes any hybrid of them, except as 

otherwise specified in regulations of the board, or part, 

product, egg, or offspring of them, or the dead body or parts 

of them.  

B. Exception for red foxes. Domesticated red foxes (Vulpes 

vulpes) having coat colors distinguishable from wild red 

foxes and possessed in captivity on July 1, 2015, may be 

maintained in captivity until the animals' deaths, but they may 

not be bred or sold without a permit from the department. 

Persons possessing domesticated red foxes without a permit 

from the department must declare such possession in writing 

to the department by January 1, 2016. This written declaration 

must include the number of individual foxes in possession, 

date or dates acquired, and sex, estimated age, coloration, and 

a photograph of each fox. This written declaration shall serve 

as a permit for possession only, is not transferable, and must 

be renewed every five years. 

4VAC15-20-65. Hunting, trapping, and fishing license and 

permit fees. 

In accordance with the authority of the board under 

subdivision 16 of § 29.1-103 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following fees are established for hunting, trapping, and 

fishing licenses and permits: 

Virginia Resident Licenses to Hunt 

Type license Fee 

1-year Resident License to Hunt, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$22.00 

2-year Resident License to Hunt, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$43.00 

3-year Resident License to Hunt, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$64.00 

4-year Resident License to Hunt, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$85.00 

County or City Resident License to Hunt in 

County or City of Residence Only, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 

$15.00 

Resident Senior Citizen Annual License to 

Hunt, for licensees 65 years of age or older 
$8.00 

Resident Junior License to Hunt, for 

licensees 12 through 15 years of age, 

optional for licensees under 12 years of age 

$7.50 

Resident Youth Combination License to 

Hunt, and to hunt bear, deer, and turkey, to 

hunt with bow and arrow archery 

equipment during archery hunting season, 

and to hunt with muzzleloading guns 

during muzzleloading hunting season, for 

licensees under 16 years of age 

$15.00 

Resident Sportsman License to Hunt and 

Freshwater Fish, and to hunt bear, deer, and 

turkey, to hunt with bow and arrow or a 

crossbow archery equipment during 

archery hunting season, to hunt with 

muzzleloading guns during muzzleloading 

hunting season, to fish in designated 

stocked trout waters (also listed under 

Virginia Resident Licenses to Fish) 

$132.00 

Resident Junior Lifetime License to Hunt, 

for licensees under 12 years of age at the 

time of purchase 

$255.00 

Resident Lifetime License to Hunt, for 

licensees at the time of purchase:  

through 44 years of age $260.00 

45 through 50 years of age $210.00 

51 through 55 years of age $160.00 

56 through 60 years of age $110.00 

61 through 64 years of age $60.00 

65 years of age and over $20.00 
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Resident Hunting License for Partially 

Disabled Veterans  
$11.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident 

Special Lifetime License to Hunt 
$15.00 

Service-Connected Totally and 

Permanently Disabled Veteran Resident 

Lifetime License to Hunt or Freshwater 

Fish (also listed under Virginia Resident 

Licenses to Fish) 

no fee 

  

Virginia Resident Licenses for Additional Hunting 

Privileges 

Type license or permit Fee 

Resident Bear, Deer, and Turkey Hunting 

License, for licensees 16 years of age or 

older 

$22.00 

Resident Junior Bear, Deer, and Turkey 

Hunting License, for licensees under 16 

years of age 

$7.50 

Resident Archery License to Hunt with 

bow and arrow or crossbow archery 

equipment during archery hunting season 

$17.00 

Resident Bear Hunting License $25.00 

Resident Muzzleloading License to Hunt 

during muzzleloading hunting season 
$17.00 

Resident Bonus Deer Permit $17.00 

Resident Fox Hunting License to hunt 

foxes on horseback with hounds without 

firearms (not required of an individual 

holding a general License to Hunt) 

$22.00 

  

Virginia Nonresident Licenses to Hunt 

Type license Fee 

Nonresident License to Hunt, for licensees 

16 years of age or older 
$110.00 

Nonresident Three-Day Trip License to 

Hunt 
$59.00 

Nonresident Youth License to Hunt, for 

licensees:   

under 12 years of age $12.00 

12 through 15 years of age $15.00 

Nonresident Youth Combination License to 

Hunt, and to hunt bear, deer, and turkey, to 

hunt with bow and arrow archery 

equipment during archery hunting season, 

and to hunt with muzzleloading guns 

during muzzleloading hunting season, for 

licensees under 16 years of age 

$30.00 

Nonresident Annual Hunting License for 

Partially Disabled Veterans 
$55.00 

Nonresident Annual Hunting License for 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Veterans 
$27.50 

Nonresident Lifetime License to Hunt $555.00 

  

Virginia Nonresident Licenses for Additional Hunting 

Privileges 

Type license or permit Fee 

Nonresident Bear, Deer, and Turkey 

Hunting License, for licensees:  

 16 years of age or older $85.00 

12 through 15 years of age $15.00 

under 12 years of age $12.00 

Nonresident Bear Hunting License $150.00 

Nonresident Archery License to Hunt with 

bow and arrow or crossbow archery 

equipment during archery hunting season 

$30.00 

Nonresident Muzzleloading License to 

Hunt during muzzleloading hunting season 
$30.00 

Nonresident Shooting Preserve License to 

Hunt within the boundaries of a licensed 

shooting preserve 

$22.00 

Nonresident Bonus Deer Permit $30.00 

Nonresident Fox Hunting License to hunt 

foxes on horseback with hounds without 

firearms (not required of an individual 

holding a general License to Hunt) 

$110.00 

  

Miscellaneous Licenses or Permits to Hunt 

Type license or permit Fee 

Waterfowl Hunting Stationary Blind in 

Public Waters License  
$22.50 

Waterfowl Hunting Floating Blind in Public 

Waters License 
$40.00 
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Foxhound Training Preserve License $17.00 

Public Access Lands for Sportsmen Permit 

to Hunt, Trap, or Fish on Designated Lands 

(also listed under Miscellaneous Licenses or 

Permits to Fish) 

$17.00 

  

Virginia Resident and Nonresident Licenses to Trap 

Type license Fee 

1-year Resident License to Trap, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$45.00 

2-year Resident License to Trap, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$89.00 

3-year Resident License to Trap, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$133.00 

4-year Resident License to Trap, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$177.00 

County or City Resident License to Trap in 

County or City of Residence Only 
$20.00 

Resident Junior License to Trap, for 

licensees under 16 years of age 
$10.00 

Resident Senior Citizen License to Trap, 

for licensees 65 years of age or older 
$8.00 

Resident Senior Citizen Lifetime License 

to Trap, for licensees 65 years of age or 

older 

$20.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident 

Special Lifetime License to Trap 
$15.00 

Service-Connected Totally and 

Permanently Disabled Veteran Resident 

Lifetime License to Trap 

$15.00 

Nonresident License to Trap $205.00 

  

Virginia Resident Licenses to Fish 

Type license Fee 

1-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $22.00 

2-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $43.00 

3-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $64.00 

4-year Resident License to Freshwater Fish $85.00 

County or City Resident License to 

Freshwater Fish in County or City of 

Residence Only 

$15.00 

Resident License to Freshwater Fish, for 

licensees 65 years of age or older 
$8.00 

Resident License to Fish in Designated 

Stocked Trout Waters 
$22.00 

Resident License to Freshwater and 

Saltwater Fish 
$39.00 

Resident License to Freshwater Fish for 

Five Consecutive Days 
$13.00 

Resident License to Freshwater and 

Saltwater Fish for Five Consecutive Days 
$23.00 

Resident Sportsman License to Hunt and 

Freshwater Fish, and to hunt bear, deer, and 

turkey, to hunt with bow and arrow or 

crossbow archery equipment during 

archery hunting season, to hunt with 

muzzleloading guns during muzzleloading 

hunting season, to fish in designated 

stocked trout waters (also listed under 

Virginia Resident Licenses to Hunt) 

$132.00 

Resident Special Lifetime License to 

Freshwater Fish, for licensees at the time of 

purchase:  

through 44 years of age $260.00 

45 through 50 years of age $210.00 

51 through 55 years of age $160.00 

56 through 60 years of age $110.00 

61 through 64 years of age $60.00 

65 years of age and over $20.00 

Resident Special Lifetime License to Fish 

in Designated Stocked Trout Waters, for 

licensees at the time of purchase:  

through 44 years of age $260.00 

45 through 50 years of age $210.00 

51 through 55 years of age $160.00 

56 through 60 years of age $110.00 

61 through 64 years of age $60.00 

65 years of age and over $20.00 

Resident Fishing License for Partially 

Disabled Veterans 
$11.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident 

Special Lifetime License to Freshwater 

Fish 

$15.00 
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Service-Connected Totally and 

Permanently Disabled Veteran Resident 

Lifetime License to Hunt and Freshwater 

Fish (also listed under Virginia Resident 

Licenses to Hunt)  

no fee 

  

Virginia Nonresident Licenses to Fish 

Type license Fee 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish $46.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish in 

Designated Stocked Trout Waters 
$46.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater and 

Saltwater Fish 
$70.00 

Nonresident Fishing License for Partially 

Disabled Veterans 
$23.00 

Nonresident Annual Fishing License for 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Veterans 
$11.50 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish for 

One Day 
$7.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish for 

Five Consecutive Days 
$20.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater and 

Saltwater Fish for Five Consecutive Days 
$30.00 

Nonresident Special Lifetime License to 

Freshwater Fish 
$555.00 

Nonresident Special Lifetime License to in 

Fish in Designated Stocked Trout Waters 
$555.00 

  

Miscellaneous Licenses or Permits to Fish 

Type license or permit Fee 

Permit to Fish for One Day at Board-

Designated Stocked Trout Fishing Areas 

with Daily Use Fees 

$7.00 

Public Access Lands for Sportsmen Permit 

to Hunt, Trap, or Fish on Designated Lands 

(also listed under Miscellaneous Licenses or 

Permits to Hunt) 

$17.00 

Special Guest Fishing License $60.00 

4VAC15-20-140. Endangered species; definitions.  

For the purposes of §§ 29.1-564 through 29.1-570 of the 

Code of Virginia, 4VAC15-20-130, and this section:  

1. "Endangered species" means any species which is in 

danger of extinction throughout all or a significant portion 

of its range within the Commonwealth, other than a species 

of the class Insecta deemed to be a pest whose protection 

would present an overriding risk to the health or economic 

welfare of the Commonwealth.  

2. "Fish or wildlife" means any member of the animal 

kingdom, vertebrate or invertebrate, without limitation, and 

includes any part, products, egg, or the dead body or parts 

of it.  

3. "Harass," in the definition of "take," means an 

intentional or negligent act or omission which creates the 

likelihood of injury to wildlife by annoying it to such an 

extent as to significantly disrupt normal behavior patterns 

which include, but are not limited to, breeding, feeding or 

sheltering.  

4. "Harm," in the definition of "take," means an act which 

actually kills or injures wildlife. Such act may include 

significant habitat modifications or degradation where it 

actually kills or injures wildlife by significantly impairing 

essential behavioral patterns, including breeding, feeding 

or sheltering.  

5. "Person" means any individual, firm, corporation, 

association or partnership.  

6. "Species" includes any subspecies of fish or wildlife and 

any district distinct population segment of any species or 

vertebrate fish or wildlife which interbreed when mature.  

7. "Take" means to harass, harm, pursue, hunt, shoot, 

wound, kill, trap, capture, possess or collect, or to attempt 

to engage in any such conduct.  

8. "Threatened species" means any species which is likely 

to become an endangered species within the foreseeable 

future throughout all or a significant portion of its range 

within the Commonwealth.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4397; Filed May 12, 2015, 10:26 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-30. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., of 

Animals (amending 4VAC15-30-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 2, 2015 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: May 22, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 
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Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341 or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) allow anyone to legally trap 

feral hogs with written permission of the landowner, 

provided that any trapped hogs are not removed from the 

trap site alive and are killed immediately and (ii) require 

the reporting of any trapped or harvested feral hog to the 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries. 

4VAC15-30-40. Importation requirements, possession and 

sale of nonnative (exotic) animals.  

A. Permit required. A special permit is required and may be 

issued by the department, if consistent with the department's 

fish and wildlife management program, to import, possess, or 

sell those nonnative (exotic) animals listed below and in 

4VAC15-20-210 that the board finds and declares to be 

predatory or undesirable within the meaning and intent of 

§ 29.1-542 of the Code of Virginia, in that their introduction 

into the Commonwealth will be detrimental to the native fish 

and wildlife resources of Virginia:.  

AMPHIBIANS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Anura Bufonidae Rhinella marina Cane toad* 

Pipidae Hymenochirus spp. 

Pseudohymenochiris merlini 

African dwarf frog 

Xenopus spp. Tongueless or African clawed frog 

Caudata Ambystomatidae All species All mole salamanders 

BIRDS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Psittaciformes Psittacidae  Myiopsitta monachus Monk parakeet* 

Anseriformes Anatidae  Cygnus olor Mute swan 

FISH: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Cypriniformes  Catostomidae Catostomus microps Modoc sucker 

Catostomus santaanae Santa Ana sucker 

Catostomus warnerensis Warner sucker  

Ictiobus bubalus  Smallmouth* buffalo 

I. cyprinellus Bigmouth* buffalo 

I. niger  Black buffalo* 

Characidae Pygopristis spp. 

Pygocentrus spp. 

Rooseveltiella spp. 

Serrasalmo spp. 

Serrasalmus spp. 

Taddyella spp. 

Piranhas 

Cobitidae Misgurnus anguillicaudatus Oriental weatherfish 

Cyprinidae Aristichyhys nobilis Bighead carp* 

Chrosomus saylori Laurel dace 

Ctenopharyngodon idella Grass carp or white amur 
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Cyprinella caerulea Blue shiner 

Cyprinella formosa Beautiful shiner 

Cyprinella lutrensis  Red shiner 

Hypophthalmichthys molitrix Silver carp* 

Mylopharyngodom piceus Black carp* 

Notropis albizonatus Palezone shiner 

Notropis cahabae Cahaba shiner 

Notropis girardi Arkansas River shiner 

Notropis mekistocholas Cape Fear shiner 

Notropis simus pecosensis Pecos bluntnose shiner 

Notropis topeka (= tristis) Topeka shiner 

Phoxinus cumberlandensis Blackside dace 

Rhinichthys osculus lethoporus Independence Valley speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus 

nevadensis 

Ash Meadows speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus oligoporus Clover Valley speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus ssp. Foskett speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus thermalis Kendall Warm Springs dace 

Scardinius erythrophthalmus Rudd 

Tinca tinca Tench* 

Cyprinodontiformes Poeciliidae Gambusia gaigei Big Bend gambusia 

Gambusia georgei San Marcos gambusia 

Gambusia heterochir Clear Creek gambusia 

Gambusia nobilis Pecos gambusia 

Peociliopsis occidentalis Gila topminnow 

Gasterosteiformes Gasterosteidae Gasterosteus aculeatus 

williamsoni 

Unarmored threespine stickleback 

Gobiesociformes Gobiidae Proterorhinus marmoratus Tubenose goby 

Neogobius melanostomus Round goby 

Perciformes Channidae Channa spp. 

Parachanna spp. 

Snakeheads 

Cichlidae Tilapia spp. Tilapia 

Gymnocephalus cernuum Ruffe* 

Elassomatidae Elassoma alabamae Spring pygmy sunfish 

Percidae Crystallaria cincotta Diamond darter 
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Etheostoma chermocki Vermilion darter 

Etheostoma boschungi Slackwater darter 

Etheostoma chienense Relict darter 

Etheostoma etowahae Etowah darter 

Etheostoma fonticola Fountain darter 

Etheostoma moorei Yellowcheek darter 

Etheostoma nianguae Niangua darter 

Etheostoma nuchale Watercress darter 

Etheostoma okaloosae Okaloosa darter 

Etheostoma phytophilum Rush darter 

Etheostoma rubrum Bayou darter 

Etheostoma scotti Cherokee darter 

Etheostoma sp. Bluemask (= jewel) darter 

Etheostoma susanae Cumberland darter 

Etheostoma wapiti Boulder darter 

Percina antesella Amber darter 

Percina aurolineata Goldline darter 

Percina jenkinsi Conasauga logperch 

Percina pantherina Leopard darter 

Percina tanasi Snail darter 

Scorpaeniformes Cottidae Cottus sp. Grotto sculpin 

Cottus paulus (= pygmaeus) Pygmy sculpin 

Siluriformes Clariidae All species Air-breathing catfish 

Ictaluridae Noturus baileyi Smoky madtom 

Noturus crypticus Chucky madtom 

Noturus placidus Neosho madtom 

Noturus stanauli Pygmy madtom 

Noturus trautmani Scioto madtom 

Synbranchiformes Synbranchidae Monopterus albus Swamp eel 

MAMMALS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Artiodactyla Suidae  All Species Pigs or Hogs* 

Cervidae All Species Deer* 

Carnivora Canidae All Species Wild Dogs,* Wolves, Coyotes or Coyote 

hybrids, Jackals and Foxes 
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Ursidae All Species Bears* 

Procyonidae All Species Raccoons and* Relatives 

Mustelidae All Species Weasels, Badgers,* Skunks and Otters 

(except Mustela putorius furo) Ferret 

Viverridae All Species Civets, Genets,* Lingsangs, Mongooses, 

and Fossas 

Herpestidae All Species Mongooses* 

Hyaenidae All Species Hyenas and Aardwolves* 

Felidae All Species Cats* 

Chiroptera   All Species Bats* 

Lagomorpha Lepridae Brachylagus idahoensis Pygmy rabbit 

Lepus europeaeous European hare 

Oryctolagus cuniculus European rabbit 

Sylvilagus bachmani riparius Riparian brush rabbit 

Sylvilagus palustris hefneri Lower Keys marsh rabbit 

Rodentia   All species native to Africa All species native to Africa 

Dipodidae Zapus hudsonius preblei Preble's meadow jumping mouse 

Muridae Microtus californicus 

scirpensis 

Amargosa vole 

Microtus mexicanus 

hualpaiensis 

Hualapai Mexican vole 

Microtus pennsylvanicus 

dukecampbelli 

Florida salt marsh vole 

Neotoma floridana smalli Key Largo woodrat 

Neotoma fuscipes riparia Riparian (= San Joaquin Valley) woodrat 

Oryzomys palustris natator Rice rat 

Peromyscus gossypinus 

allapaticola 

Key Largo cotton mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus allophrys Choctawhatchee beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus 

ammobates 

Alabama beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus 

niveiventris  

Southeastern beach mouse  

Peromyscus polionotus 

peninsularis 

St. Andrew beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus phasma Anastasia Island beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus 

trissyllepsis 

Perdido Key beach mouse 
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Reithrodontomys raviventris Salt marsh harvest mouse 

Heteromyidae Dipodomys heermanni 

morroensis 

Morro Bay kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys ingens  Giant kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys merriami parvus San Bernadino Merriam's kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys nitratoides exilis Fresno kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys nitratoides 

nitratoides 

Tipton kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys stephensi 

(including D. cascus) 

Stephens' kangaroo rat 

Perognathus longimembris 

pacificus 

Pacific pocket mouse 

Sciuridae Cynomys spp. Prairie dogs 

Spermophilus brunneus 

brunneus 

Northern Idaho ground squirrel 

Tamiasciurus hudsonicus 

grahamensis 

Mount Graham red squirrel 

Soricomorpha Soricidae Sorex ornatus relictus Buena Vista Lake ornate shrew 

MOLLUSKS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Neotaenioglossa Hydrobiidae Potamopyrgus antipodarum New Zealand mudsnail 

Veneroida Dreissenidae Dreissena bugensis  Quagga mussel 

Dreissena polymorpha  Zebra mussel 

REPTILES: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Crocodilia Alligatoridae All species Alligators, caimans* 

Crocodylidae  All species Crocodiles*  

Gavialidae All species Gavials* 

Squamata Colubridae Boiga irregularis Brown tree snake* 

CRUSTACEANS: 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Decapoda Cambaridae Cambarus aculabrum Cave crayfish 

Cambarus zophonastes Cave crayfish 

Orconectes rusticus Rusty crayfish 

Orconectes shoupi Nashville crayfish 

Pacifastacus fortis Shasta crayfish 

Procambarus sp. Marbled crayfish 
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Parastacidae Cherax spp. Australian crayfish 

Varunidea Eriocheir sinensis Chinese mitten crab 

B. Temporary possession permit for certain animals. 

Notwithstanding the permitting requirements of subsection A 

of this section, a person, company or corporation possessing 

any nonnative (exotic) animal, designated with an asterisk (*) 

in subsection A of this section, prior to July 1, 1992, must 

declare such possession in writing to the department by 

January 1, 1993. This written declaration shall serve as a 

permit for possession only, is not transferable, and must be 

renewed every five years. This written declaration must 

include species name, common name, number of individuals, 

date or dates acquired, sex (if possible), estimated age, height 

or length, and other characteristics such as bands and band 

numbers, tattoos, registration numbers, coloration, and 

specific markings. Possession transfer will require a new 

permit according to the requirements of this subsection.  

C. Exception for certain monk parakeets. A permit is not 

required for monk parakeets (quakers) that have been captive 

bred and are closed-banded with a seamless band.  

D. Exception for parts or products. A permit is not required 

for parts or products of those nonnative (exotic) animals 

listed in subsection A of this section that may be used for 

personal use, in the manufacture of products, or used in 

scientific research, provided that such parts or products be 

packaged outside the Commonwealth by any person, 

company, or corporation duly licensed by the state in which 

the parts originate. Such packages may be transported into the 

Commonwealth, consistent with other state laws and 

regulations, so long as the original package remains 

unbroken, unopened and intact until its point of destination is 

reached. Documentation concerning the type and cost of the 

animal parts ordered, the purpose and date of the order, point 

and date of shipping, and date of receiving shall be kept by 

the person, business or institution ordering such nonnative 

(exotic) animal parts. Such documentation shall be open to 

inspection by a representative of the Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries.  

E. Exception for prairie dogs. The effective date of listing of 

prairie dogs under subsection A of this section shall be 

January 1, 1998. Prairie dogs possessed in captivity in 

Virginia on December 31, 1997, may be maintained in 

captivity until the animals' deaths, but they may not be sold 

on or after January 1, 1998, without a permit.  

F. Exception for snakehead fish. Anglers may legally 

harvest snakehead fish of the family Channidae, provided that 

they immediately kill such fish and that they notify the 

department, as soon as practicable, of such actions.  

G. Exception for feral hogs. All trapped and harvested hogs 

must be reported to the department upon vehicle transport or 

processing of the carcass without unnecessary delay. Anyone 

may legally trap feral hogs with written permission of the 

landowner, provided that any trapped hogs are not removed 

from the trap site alive and are killed immediately. 

G. H. All other nonnative (exotic) animals. All other 

nonnative (exotic) animals not listed in subsection A of this 

section may be possessed, purchased, and sold; provided, that 

such animals shall be subject to all applicable local, state, and 

federal laws and regulations, including those that apply to 

threatened/endangered species, and further provided, that 

such animals shall not be liberated within the 

Commonwealth.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4398; Filed May 12, 2015, 10:52 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-40. Game: In General 

(amending 4VAC15-40-20, 4VAC15-40-195, 4VAC15-40-

220, 4VAC15-40-280; adding 4VAC15-40-22; repealing 

4VAC15-40-21).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 2, 2015 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: May 22, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341 or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) define "bow and arrow," 

"crossbow," and "archery equipment," establish the 

minimum head width allowable to hunt bear, deer, elk, and 

turkeys, and incorporate the licensing of hunting with 

crossbows into overall archery hunting licensing; (ii) 

establish a special license to hunt bears for resident and 

nonresident hunters; (iii) require the daily checking of 

traps with certain exceptions; (iv) allow the use of remote 

trap checking systems in lieu of a physical trap check 

under specified conditions; (v) increase the maximum 

allowable snare height and require a relaxing lock, cable 

stop, and break-away device when the top of the snare loop 

is set above a certain height; (vi) establish that a hunting 

permit is needed on lands, public as well as private, that 

are managed by the Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries through a lease agreement or memorandum of 

agreement where the department issues an annual hunting 
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permit; and (vii) replace the term "stamp" with the more 

descriptive term "permit." 

4VAC15-40-20. Hunting with arrows to which any drug, 

chemical or toxic substance has been added or explosive-

head arrows prohibited Archery hunting requirements.  

A. "Bow and arrow" means a weapon made of a strip of 

flexible material, which, when bent by drawing a string or 

cable connecting the two ends, uses the energy stored in the 

flexible material to propel an arrow. 

B. "Crossbow" means a bow and arrow mounted 

horizontally on a stock having a trigger mechanism to release 

the string. 

C. "Archery equipment" means a bow and arrow or a 

crossbow. 

D. Arrows used for hunting bear, deer, elk, and turkey must 

have a minimum head width of 7/8 inch in a fixed or 

expanded position. 

E. Except as otherwise provided by law or regulation, it 

shall be unlawful to use arrows to which any drug, chemical 

or toxic substance has been added or arrows with explosive 

heads at any that time for the purpose of hunting wild birds or 

wild animals.  

4VAC15-40-21. Special crossbow license; hunting with 

crossbows. (Repealed.)  

There shall be a license to hunt with a crossbow during the 

special archery seasons that shall be in addition to the license 

required to hunt small game. The fee for the special crossbow 

license shall be as specified in 4VAC15-20-65.  

4VAC15-40-22. Special license for hunting bear. 

There shall be a special license to hunt bears that shall be in 

addition to the state resident license to hunt or state 

nonresident license to hunt. The fee for the special bear 

license shall be as specified in 4VAC15-20-65.  

4VAC15-40-195. Visiting traps, generally; visiting 

completely submerged, body-gripping traps; use of 

remote trap check systems. 

A. Except as provided in subsections B and C of this 

section, it shall be unlawful to fail to visit all traps once each 

day and remove all animals caught. 

B. Body-gripping traps that are completely submerged by 

water must be visited at least once every 72 hours. 

C. Remote trap checking systems may be used in lieu of a 

physical trap visit when such systems (i) have a control unit 

that reports trap status to a centralized application database at 

least once every 24 hours; (ii) have notification alarms that 

report trap closures and system health issues within one hour 

of detection via email and text-based messaging systems; and 

(iii) have on-demand control unit testing capabilities for 

determining trap status, signal strength, and battery condition 

via remote system check-in. If the control unit reports a trap 

closure, the user is required to physically visit the trap within 

24 hours of the time the trap was reported closed. If the 

control unit fails to report its current status within a 24-hour 

check-in period or reports a system health issue, the user is 

required to physically check the trap within 24 hours of the 

last time an open trap signal was received. 

4VAC15-40-220. Use of deadfalls prohibited; restricted 

use of snares.  

It shall be unlawful to trap, or attempt to trap, on land any 

wild bird or wild animal with any deadfall or snare; provided, 

that snares with loops no more than 12 inches in diameter and 

with the top bottom of the snare loop set not to exceed 12 

inches above ground level may be used with the written 

permission of the landowner. Snares with the top of the snare 

loop set higher than 12 inches above ground level must 

include a relaxing lock, a cable stop that prevents the snare 

loop from closing smaller than 2-1/2 inches in diameter, and a 

break-away device that has been tested to break or 

disassemble at no more than 285 pounds pull.  

4VAC15-40-280. Department-owned, controlled, or 

managed lands; annual stamp permit for hunting on 

private lands managed by the department.  

A. The open seasons for hunting and trapping, as well as 

hours, methods of taking, and bag limits for department-

owned or controlled department-controlled lands, or lands 

managed by the department under cooperative agreement, 

shall conform to the regulations of the board unless excepted 

by posted rules established by the director or his designee. 

Such posted rules shall be displayed at each recognized 

entrance to the land where the posted rules are in effect.  

B. Department-owned lands shall be open to the public for 

wildlife observation and for hunting, fishing, trapping, and 

boating (as prescribed by 4VAC15-320-100) under the 

regulations of the board. Other activities deemed appropriate 

by the director or his designee may be allowed by posted 

rules, by written authorization from the director or his 

designee, or by special permit.  

C. No person shall hunt on private lands managed by the 

department through a lease agreement or other similar 

memorandum of agreement where the department issues an 

annual hunting stamp permit without having purchased a 

valid annual hunting stamp permit. The annual hunting stamp 

permit shall be in addition to the required licenses to hunt, 

and the cost of such stamp permit shall be the same as the 

cost of the annual state resident hunting license in § 29.1-303 

of the Code of Virginia.  

D. Activities that are not generally or specifically authorized 

in accordance with subsections A through C of this section 

are prohibited and shall constitute a violation of this 

regulation.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4399; Filed May 13, 2015,  
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Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-50. Game: Bear (amending 

4VAC15-50-12, 4VAC15-50-70, 4VAC15-50-81, 4VAC15-

50-110, 4VAC15-50-120).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 2, 2015 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: May 22, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341 or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) move the youth and 

apprentice hunter bear hunting day from the last Saturday 

in September to the second Saturday in October and add 

the Sunday following it, making it a youth and apprentice 

hunter bear hunting weekend; (ii) for the Saturday of the 

youth and apprentice weekend, allow the use of hounds 

anywhere they are allowed during the open (firearms) 

season and in the proposed southwest training counties, 

and list the areas where hunting with bear hounds during 

this day is prohibited; (iii) replace the term "bow and 

arrow" with the term "archery" or "archery equipment"; 

(iv) move the requirements for minimum arrow head width 

and distance a bow must be capable of shooting to 

4VAC15-40-20; (v) remove the reference to season dates; 

(vi) provide exceptions for the use of firearms and bear 

hounds on the youth and apprentice bear hunting day; (vii) 

remove references to deer and turkey to accommodate the 

proposed establishment of a separate special license to 

hunt bears; (viii) clarify the areas dogs are not permitted 

during open (firearms) bear season; (ix) allow for a six-

week bear hound training season in 11 counties; and (x) 

add one week of bear hound training season at the end of 

September in four counties. 

4VAC15-50-12. Youth and apprentice hunter bear 

hunting day weekend. 

It shall be lawful for hunters 15 years of age and under and 

holders of a valid apprentice hunting license, when in 

compliance with all applicable laws and license requirements, 

to hunt bears on the last second Saturday in September 

October and the following calendar day when accompanied 

and directly supervised by an adult who has a valid Virginia 

hunting license on his person or is exempt from purchasing a 

hunting license. Adult hunters accompanying youth or 

apprentice bear hunters on this day weekend may not carry or 

discharge weapons. Bear bag limit, weight limits, and all 

other take restrictions specifically provided in the sections 

appearing in this chapter apply to this youth day weekend. 

Bear hunting with dogs is prohibited except any place where 

there is a bear hound training season currently in progress as 

defined in 4VAC15-50-120 (Bear hound training season) and 

tracking in the counties of Accomack, Campbell (west of 

Norfolk Southern Railroad), Fairfax, Loudoun, Northampton, 

Pittsylvania (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Roanoke 

(south of  Interstate 81), and in the city of Lynchburg; and on 

Amelia, Chester F. Phelps, G. Richard Thompson, and 

Pettigrew Wildlife Management Areas. Tracking dogs as 

defined described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia 

may be used. 

4VAC15-50-70. Bow and arrow Archery hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt bear during the special archery 

season with bow and arrow archery equipment from the first 

Saturday in October through the Friday prior to the third 

Monday in November, both dates inclusive. 

B. It shall be unlawful to carry firearms while hunting with 

bow and arrow archery equipment during the special archery 

seasons, except that hunters 15 years of age and under and 

apprentice hunters may be in possession of firearms while 

hunting on youth and apprentice hunter bear hunting weekend 

as authorized by 4VAC15-50-12 and except that a 

muzzleloading gun, as defined in 4VAC15-50-71, may be in 

the possession of a properly licensed muzzleloading gun 

hunter when and where the early special archery bear season 

overlaps the early special muzzleloading bear season. 

C. Arrows used for hunting big game must have a minimum 

width head of 7/8 of an inch and the bow used for such 

hunting must be capable of casting a broadhead arrow a 

minimum of 125 yards. 

D. C. It shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with 

bow and arrow from the second Saturday in October through 

the Saturday prior to the second Monday in November, both 

dates inclusive, except archery equipment during the special 

archery season, except that hounds may be used by hunters 

participating in the youth and apprentice hunter bear hunting 

weekend in areas as defined in 4VAC15-50-12, and that 

tracking dogs as defined described in § 29.1-516.1 of the 

Code of Virginia may be used. 

4VAC15-50-81. Validating tags and checking bear by 

licensee or permittee.  

A. Any person killing a bear shall, before removing the 

carcass from the place of kill, validate an appropriate tag on 

their special license for hunting bear, deer, and turkey or 

special permit by completely removing the designated notch 

area from the tag. Place of kill shall be defined as the location 

where the animal is first reduced to possession. It shall be 

unlawful for any person to validate (notch) a bear tag from 

any special license for hunting bear, deer, and turkey or 
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special permit prior to the killing of a bear. A bear tag that is 

mistakenly validated (notched) prior to the killing of a bear 

must be immediately voided by the licensee or permittee by 

writing, in ink, the word "VOID" on the line provided on the 

license tag.  

B. Upon killing a bear and validating (notching) a license 

tag or special permit, as provided above in subsection A of 

this section, the licensee shall, upon vehicle transport of the 

carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting hours, whichever 

occurs first, and without unnecessary delay, present the 

carcass and validated (notched) license tag or special permit 

to an authorized bear checking station or to an appropriate 

representative of the department in the county or adjoining 

county in which the bear was killed. Upon presentation of the 

carcass and validated (notched) license tag or special permit 

to the bear checking station, the licensee shall surrender or 

allow to be removed one premolar tooth from the carcass. At 

such time, the person checking the carcass will be given a 

game check card. The successful hunter shall then 

immediately record the game check card number, in ink, on 

the line provided adjacent to the license tag that was validated 

(notched) in the field. The game check card must be kept in 

possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If 

the carcass is left unattended, the game check card must be 

securely attached to the carcass.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

(sex) of any bear killed unless and until the license tag or 

special permit is validated (notched) and checked as required 

by this section. Successful bear hunters are allowed to 

dismember the carcass to pack it out from the place of kill, 

after an appropriate license tag has been validated (notched) 

as required above, as long as the sex of the animal remains 

identifiable and all the parts of the carcass are present when 

the bear is checked at an authorized bear checking station. 

Any bear found in the possession of any person without a 

validated (notched) license tag or documentation that the bear 

has been checked at an authorized bear checking station as 

required by this section shall be forfeited to the 

Commonwealth to be disposed of as provided by law.  

4VAC15-50-110. Use of dogs in hunting bear. 

A. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 

during the open season for hunting deer in the counties west 

of the Blue Ridge Mountains and in the counties of Amherst 

(west of Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its 

intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the town of Amherst 

continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), Bedford, and 

Nelson (west of Route 151); and within the boundaries of the 

national forests, except that tracking dogs as defined 

described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be 

used. 

B. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 

during the first 14 days of the open season for hunting deer in 

the counties of Greene and Madison, except that tracking 

dogs as defined described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

C. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 

during the open season prescribed in 4VAC15-50-11 in the 

counties of Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), 

Carroll (east of the New River), Fairfax, Floyd, Franklin, 

Grayson (east of the New River), Henry, Loudoun, 

Montgomery (south of Interstate 81), Patrick, Pittsylvania 

(west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Pulaski (south of 

Interstate 81), Roanoke (south of Interstate 81), Wythe 

(southeast of the New River or that part bounded by Route 21 

on the west, Interstate 81 on the north, the county line on the 

east, the New River on the southeast and Cripple Creek on the 

south); in the city of Lynchburg; and on Amelia, Chester F. 

Phelps, G. Richard Thompson, and Pettigrew wildlife 

management areas Wildlife Management Areas, except that 

tracking dogs as defined described in § 29.1-516.1 of the 

Code of Virginia may be used. 

4VAC15-50-120. Bear hound training season.  

A. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, from the second Saturday in August 

through the last Saturday in September, both dates inclusive, 

in all counties and cities or in the portions in which bear 

hunting is permitted except in the counties of Accomack, 

Amelia, Appomattox, Brunswick, Buckingham, Campbell, 

Caroline, Carroll, Charles City, Charlotte, Chesterfield, 

Clarke, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, 

Floyd, Fluvanna, Franklin, Frederick, Gloucester, Goochland, 

Grayson, Greensville, Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, Henry, Isle 

of Wight, James City, King and Queen, King George, King 

William, Lancaster, Loudoun, Louisa, Lunenburg, Mathews, 

Mecklenburg, Middlesex, Montgomery (south of Interstate 

81), New Kent, Northampton, Northumberland, Nottoway, 

Orange, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince Edward, 

Prince George, Prince William, Pulaski (south of Interstate 

81), Richmond, Roanoke (south of Interstate 81), Smyth 

(south of Interstate 81), Southampton, Spotsylvania, Stafford, 

Surry, Sussex, Washington (south of Interstate 81), 

Westmoreland, Wythe (south of Interstate 81), and York, and 

in the cities of Hampton, Newport News and Norfolk.  

B. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, from the Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 14 days following, both dates 

inclusive, in the counties of Amelia, Appomattox, 

Buckingham, Brunswick, Campbell (east of the Norfolk 

Southern Railroad), Charles City, Charlotte, Cumberland, 

Essex, Gloucester, Greensville, Halifax, Isle of Wight, James 

City, King and Queen, King George, King William, 

Lancaster, Lunenburg, Mathews, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, 

New Kent, Northumberland, Nottoway, Pittsylvania (east of 

the Norfolk Southern Railroad), Prince Edward, Prince 

George, Richmond, Southampton, Surry, Sussex, 

Westmoreland, and York. 
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C. It shall be lawful to chase black bears with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, in the counties of Brunswick, 

Greensville, Lunenburg, and Mecklenburg from the first 

Saturday in September through the third last Saturday in 

September, both dates inclusive. 

D. It shall be unlawful to have in possession a firearm, bow, 

crossbow or any weapon capable of taking a black bear while 

participating in the bear hound training season. The meaning 

of "possession" for the purpose of this section shall include, 

but not be limited to, having a firearm, bow, crossbow or any 

weapon capable of taking a black bear in or on one's person, 

vehicle, or conveyance.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4400; Filed May 13, 2015, 1:19 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-70. Game: Bobcat (amending 

4VAC15-70-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 2, 2015 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: May 22, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341 or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments remove the season bag limit of 

12 bobcats per year, taken by hunting and trapping 

combined. 

4VAC15-70-30. Bag limit.  

The bag limit for hunting bobcat shall be two per hunting 

party, taken between noon of one day and noon the following 

day. The season bag limit shall be 12 bobcats in the 

aggregate, taken by hunting and trapping combined.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4401; Filed May 13, 2015, 1:33 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending 

4VAC15-90-23 through 4VAC15-90-89, 4VAC15-90-91, 

4VAC15-90-231, 4VAC15-90-293).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 2, 2015 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: May 22, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341 or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) expand the youth and 

apprentice hunter deer hunting day by one day, making it a 

youth and apprentice hunter deer hunting weekend, and 

establish the weekend bag limit for it; (ii) replace the term 

"bow and arrow" with the term "archery" or "archery 

equipment" and move the requirements for minimum arrow 

head width and distance a bow must be capable of 

shooting from this regulation to 4VAC15-40; (iii) adjust 

the numbers of days that deer of either sex may be taken 

during the muzzleloading gun and the general firearms 

deer hunting seasons in various locations statewide; (iv) 

expand the area where elk are protected from harvest from 

the designated three-county elk restoration area to all 31 

counties west of the Blue Ridge Mountains; (v) in 

Rappahannock County prohibit the taking of a second or 

third antlered deer prior to taking at least one or two, 

respectively, antlerless deer; (vi) remove references to 

bear to accommodate the proposed creation of a special 

hunting license to hunt bears; (vii) remove language that 

could create a misimpression about whether cervids 

harvested from an area adjacent to a carcass-restriction 

zone may enter Virginia; and (viii) prohibit the possession 

and use of cervid excretions and bodily fluids for the 

purpose of taking, attempting to take, attracting, or 

scouting any wild animal. 

4VAC15-90-23. Youth and apprentice hunter deer 

hunting day weekend. 

It shall be lawful for deer hunters 15 years of age and under 

and holders of an apprentice hunting license, when in 

compliance with all applicable laws and license requirements, 

to hunt deer on the last Saturday in September and the 

following calendar day when accompanied and directly 

supervised by an adult who has a valid Virginia hunting 

license on his person or is exempt from purchasing a hunting 

license. Deer of either-sex may be taken on this special youth 

and apprentice deer hunting day weekend. Adult hunters 

accompanying youth or apprentice deer hunters on this day 

weekend may not carry or discharge weapons. Blaze orange 

is required for all persons hunting any species or any person 

accompanying a hunter on this day weekend unless otherwise 

exempted by state law. Deer hunting with dogs is prohibited, 

except that tracking dogs as defined described in § 29.1-516.1 
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of the Code of Virginia may be used. Youth and apprentice 

deer hunters are limited on this weekend to one deer per 

hunter. 

4VAC15-90-70. Bow and arrow Archery hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 

archery season with bow and arrow archery equipment from 

the first Saturday in October through the Friday prior to the 

third Monday in November, both dates inclusive. 

B. In addition to the season provided in subsection A of this 

section, it shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 

archery season with bow and arrow archery equipment from 

the Sunday following the close of the general firearms season 

on deer through the first Saturday in January, both dates 

inclusive, in all cities, towns, and counties west of the Blue 

Ridge Mountains (except Clarke County and on non-national 

forest lands in Frederick County) and in the counties 

(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection with 

U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing north 

on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), Bedford, Franklin, Henry, 

Nelson (west of Route 151), Patrick and on the Chester F. 

Phelps Wildlife Management Area and on national forest 

lands in Frederick County and from December 1 through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, in the cities of 

Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp Line), and 

Virginia Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

special archery seasons as provided in subsections A and B of 

this section (except on PALS (Public Access Lands) in 

Dickenson County where it shall be unlawful to take 

antlerless deer during the special archery seasons provided for 

in subsections A and B of this section). 

D. It shall be unlawful to carry firearms while hunting with 

bow and arrow archery equipment during the special archery 

seasons, except that a muzzleloading gun, as defined in 

4VAC15-90-80, may be in the possession of a properly 

licensed muzzleloading gun hunter when and where a special 

archery deer season overlaps a special muzzleloading deer 

season. 

E. Arrows used for hunting big game must have a minimum 

width head of 7/8 of an inch and the bow used for such 

hunting must be capable of casting a broadhead arrow a 

minimum of 125 yards. 

F. E. It shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with bow 

and arrow archery equipment during any special archery 

season, except that tracking dogs as defined described in 

§ 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be used. 

G. For the purpose of the application of subsections A 

through I to this section, the phrase "bow and arrow" includes 

crossbows. 

H. F. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the 

special urban archery season with bow and arrow archery 

equipment from the first Saturday in September through the 

Friday prior to the first Saturday in October, both dates 

inclusive, and from the Sunday following the first Saturday in 

January through the last Sunday in March, both dates 

inclusive, within the incorporated limits of any city or town in 

the Commonwealth (except on national forest and 

department-owned lands) and counties with a human 

population density of 300 persons per square mile or more 

(except on national forest and department-owned lands), 

provided that its governing body submits by certified letter to 

the department prior to April 1, its intent to participate in the 

special urban archery season. Any city, town, or county no 

longer participating in this season shall submit by certified 

letter to the department prior to April 1 notice of its intent not 

to participate in the special urban archery season. 

I. G. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the 

special antlerless archery season with a bow and arrow 

archery equipment from the Monday following the last 

Sunday in March through the last Sunday in April, both dates 

inclusive, in Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William 

counties (including the cities and towns within). 

4VAC15-90-80. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 

Saturday prior to the first Monday in November through the 

Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 

inclusive, in all cities, towns, and counties where deer hunting 

with a rifle or muzzleloading gun is permitted, except in the 

cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp 

Line), and Virginia Beach.  

B. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns starting 21 

consecutive days immediately prior to and on the first 

Saturday in January, in all cities, towns, and counties west of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains (except Clarke County and on non-

national forest lands in Frederick County), and east of the 

Blue Ridge Mountains in the counties (including the cities 

and towns within) of Amherst (west of Business U.S. 29 from 

the James River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of 

the Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 

River), Bedford, Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 

151), Patrick and on national forest lands in Frederick County 

and in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal 

Swamp Line), and Virginia Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 

special muzzleloading season east of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains unless otherwise noted below:  

- 1. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second 

Saturday only of the early special muzzleloading season on 

state forest lands, state park lands (except Occoneechee 

State Park), department-owned lands (except on Merrimac 

Farm Wildlife Management Area) and Philpott Reservoir. 

- 2. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the early special muzzleloading season on national 

forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson counties. 
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D. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 

only during the early special muzzleloading season west of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains unless otherwise noted below: 

- 1. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 

special muzzleloading season in Clarke and Floyd counties 

and on private lands in Carroll, Frederick, Grayson, 

Montgomery, Roanoke, Shenandoah, and Warren counties. 

2. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 

and the last five days of the early muzzleloading season on 

private lands in Botetourt County. 

- 3. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the early special muzzleloading season in 

Buchanan, Dickenson, Lee, Russell, Smyth, Tazewell, 

Washington, and Wise counties and on national forest 

lands in Alleghany, Botetourt, Bland, Craig, Frederick, 

Giles, Grayson, Montgomery, Page, Pulaski, Rockingham, 

Scott, Shenandoah, Warren, and on national forest and 

department-owned lands in Augusta, Bath, Botetourt, 

Carroll, Highland, and Roanoke, Rockbridge, Smyth, 

Washington, and Wythe counties and on Grayson 

Highlands State Park and on private lands west of Routes 

613 and 731 in Rockingham County. 

E. Deer of either sex may be taken during the last six days of 

the late special muzzleloading season unless otherwise listed 

below: 

- 1. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

entire late special muzzleloading season in the counties 

(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection 

with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing 

north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River, except on national forest 

lands), Bedford (except on national forest lands), Floyd, 

Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151, except on 

national forest lands), and Patrick and on private lands in 

Carroll, Grayson, Montgomery, Roanoke, Shenandoah, and 

Warren counties and in the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk 

(east of the Dismal Swamp Line), and Virginia Beach. 

- 2. Deer of either sex may be taken the last day only 

during the late special muzzleloading season in Alleghany, 

Bath, Dickenson (north of Route 83), Highland, Lee, 

Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, and Wise 

counties and on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, 

Botetourt, Frederick, Grayson, Nelson, Page, Rockingham, 

Scott, Shenandoah, and Warren counties, and on national 

forest and department-owned lands in Augusta and, 

Botetourt, Rockbridge, Smyth, and Washington counties 

and on private lands west of Routes 613 and 731 in 

Rockingham County and Grayson Highlands State Park. 

- 3. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the late special muzzleloading season in Buchanan 

and Dickenson (south of Route 83). 

F. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

special muzzleloading seasons within the incorporated limits 

of any city or town in the Commonwealth that allows deer 

hunting except in the counties of Buchanan, Dickenson, and 

Wise. 

G. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during any 

special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns, except 

that tracking dogs as defined described in § 29.1-516.1 of the 

Code of Virginia may be used. 

H. A muzzleloading gun, for the purpose of this section, 

means a single shot weapon, .45 caliber or larger, firing a 

single projectile or sabot (with a .38 caliber or larger 

projectile) of the same caliber loaded from the muzzle of the 

weapon and propelled by at least 50 grains of black powder 

(or black powder equivalent or smokeless powder). 

I. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession any 

firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting with a 

muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season.  

4VAC15-90-85. Elk hunting.  

A. Closed season. There shall be a continuous closed season 

for elk (Cervus elaphus) hunting in Buchanan, Dickenson, 

and Wise counties all counties west of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains.  

B. Open season. Except as otherwise provided by this 

chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt elk of either sex during (i) 

the general firearms deer seasons (as prescribed by 4VAC15-

90-10 and 4VAC15-90-23), (ii) the special archery seasons 

(as prescribed by 4VAC15-90-70), and (iii) the special 

muzzleloading seasons (as prescribed by 4VAC15-90-80) 

with bag limits as prescribed in 4VAC15-90-90. 

C. Validating tags and checking elk by licensee or permittee. 

Upon killing an elk, any licensed or permitted hunter shall 

validate a tag, bonus deer permit, or special permit and check 

the elk in accordance with 4VAC15-90-231. At the time of 

checking, the hunter must call the department upon receiving 

a check card or confirmation number to schedule an 

inspection of the carcass and the site of kill for the collection 

of biological samples for disease testing.  

D. Checking elk by persons exempt from license 

requirements or holding a license authorization number. Upon 

killing an elk, any person (i) exempt from license requirement 

as prescribed in § 29.1-301 of the Code of Virginia, (ii) 

issued a complimentary license as prescribed in § 29.1-339 of 

the Code of Virginia, (iii) holding a permanent license issued 

pursuant to § 29.1-301 E, or (iv) holding a Virginia license 

authorization number issued by a telephone or electronic 

media agent pursuant to § 29.1-327 B of the Code of Virginia 

shall check the elk in accordance with 4VAC15-90-241. At 

the time of checking, the hunter must call the department 

upon receiving a check card or confirmation number to 

schedule an inspection of the carcass and the site of kill for 

the collection of biological samples for disease testing. 
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4VAC15-90-89. Earn a buck (EAB). 

For the purposes of this section, the term "license year" 

defines the period between July 1 and June 30 of the 

following year. 

Arlington County (including the cities and towns within). 

During a license year, it shall be unlawful to take a second 

antlered deer in Arlington County prior to taking at least two 

antlerless deer in Arlington County, and it shall be unlawful 

to take a third antlered deer in Arlington County prior to 

taking at least three antlerless deer in Arlington County.  

Bedford County on private lands (including the cities and 

towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 

take a second antlered deer on private lands in Bedford 

County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private 

lands in Bedford County, and it shall be unlawful to take a 

third antlered deer on private lands in Bedford County prior 

to taking at least two antlerless deer on private lands in 

Bedford County. 

Clarke County on private lands (including the cities and 

towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 

take a second antlered deer on private lands in Clarke County 

prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private lands in 

Clarke County.  

Fairfax County (including the cities and towns within). 

During a license year, it shall be unlawful to take a second 

antlered deer in Fairfax County prior to taking at least two 

antlerless deer in Fairfax County, and it shall be unlawful to 

take a third antlered deer in Fairfax County prior to taking at 

least three antlerless deer in Fairfax County.  

Frederick County on private lands (including the cities and 

towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 

take a second antlered deer on private lands in Frederick 

County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private 

lands in Frederick County. 

Loudoun County (including the cities and towns within). 

During a license year, it shall be unlawful to take a second 

antlered deer in Loudoun County prior to taking at least two 

antlerless deer in Loudoun County, and it shall be unlawful to 

take a third antlered deer in Loudoun County prior to taking 

at least three antlerless deer in Loudoun County.  

Prince William County except on Department of Defense 

lands (including the cities and towns within). During a license 

year, it shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer in 

Prince William County (except on Department of Defense 

lands) prior to taking at least two antlerless deer in Prince 

William County (except on Department of Defense lands), 

and it shall be unlawful to take a third antlered deer in Prince 

William County (except on Department of Defense lands) 

prior to taking at least three antlerless deer in Prince William 

County (except on Department of Defense lands).  

Rappahannock County (including the cities and towns 

within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to take a 

second antlered deer in Rappahannock County prior to taking 

at least one antlerless deer in Rappahannock County, and it 

shall be unlawful to take a third antlered deer in 

Rappahannock County prior to taking at least two antlerless 

deer in Rappahannock County. 

Roanoke County on private lands (including the cities and 

towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 

take a second antlered deer on private lands in Roanoke 

County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private 

lands in Roanoke County. 

Warren County on private lands (including the cities and 

towns within). During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 

take a second antlered deer on private lands in Warren 

County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on private 

lands in Warren County.  

4VAC15-90-91. General firearms season either-sex deer 

hunting days. 

A. During the general firearms deer season, deer of either 

sex may be taken within:  

Accomack County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 27 days full season. 

Albemarle County: full season. 

Alleghany County: the second Saturday and the last day.  

-National forest lands: the last day.  

Amelia County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days. 

-Amelia WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days.  

Amherst County (east of Business U.S. 29 from the James 

River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the 

Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 

River): the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and the last 

27 days.  

Amherst County (west of Business U.S. 29 from the James 

River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the 

Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 

River): full season.  

-National forest lands: the last day.  

Appomattox County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 six days.  

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and 

third Saturdays.  

-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 days. 

Arlington County: full season.  

Augusta County: the second Saturday and the last six days.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

day.  

Bath County: the second Saturday and the last day.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

day.  
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Bedford County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the last day.  

Bland County: the second Saturday and the last two days 

day. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day.  

Botetourt County: full season.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

day.  

Brunswick County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 six days.  

Buchanan County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken.  

Buckingham County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 six days.  

-Horsepen Lake WMA: the second and third Saturdays 

and the last six days. 

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and 

third Saturdays.  

-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 days. 

Campbell County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 27 days.  

Caroline County: the second, and third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 13 days. 

-Mattaponi WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six days. 

Carroll County: full season.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 

Saturday and the last day.  

Charles City County: full season the second, third, and 

fourth Saturdays and the last 27 days.  

-Chickahominy WMA: the second Saturday after 

Thanksgiving antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. 

Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Charlotte County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 six days.  

Chesapeake (City of): full season the second and third 

Saturdays and the last 13 days. 

Chesterfield County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 days. 

Clarke County: full season.  

Craig County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day.  

Culpeper County: full season. 

-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday and the 

last day.  

Cumberland County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 days. 

-Cumberland State Forest: the second and third 

Saturdays. 

Dickenson County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken.  

Dinwiddie County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 six days.  

Essex County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and 

the last 27 days. 

Fairfax County: full season (restricted to certain parcels of 

land by special permit).  

Fauquier County: full season.  

-G. Richard Thompson WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last day.  

-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday and the 

last day.  

Floyd County: full season.  

Fluvanna County: second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days.  

Franklin County: full season.  

-Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

days.  

-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last six days.  

Frederick County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the last day.  

Giles County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day.  

Gloucester County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 27 days. 

Goochland County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 27 days.  

Grayson County: full season.  

-National forest lands and Grayson Highlands State Park: 

antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with 

antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Greene County: full season. 

Greensville County: full season.  

Halifax County: full season the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 days.  

Hanover County: full season. 

Henrico County: full season. 

Henry County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days. 
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-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 

Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

days.  

-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last six days.  

Highland County: the second Saturday and the last day.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

day.  

Isle of Wight County: full season.  

-Ragged Island WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 

be taken.  

James City County: full season. 

King and Queen County: the second, and third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 13 days. 

King George County: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 days full season. 

King William County: the second, and third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 13 days. 

Lancaster County: full season.  

Lee County: the second Saturday and the last two days.  

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 

be taken.  

Loudoun County: full season.  

Louisa County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays and 

the last 27 days.  

Lunenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 six days.  

Madison County: full season. 

-Rapidan WMA: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and the last 27 days. 

Mathews County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and last 27 days. 

Mecklenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 six days.  

-Dick Cross WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six days. 

Middlesex County: the second, third, and fourth Saturdays 

and last 27 days.  

Montgomery County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day.  

Nelson County (east of Route 151): the second, third, and 

fourth Saturdays and the last 27 days.  

-James River WMA: the second Saturday and the last six 

days.  

Nelson County (west of Route 151): full season.  

-National forest lands: the last day.  

New Kent County: full season the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 days. 

Northampton County: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 days full season. 

Northumberland County: full season. 

Nottoway County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 six days. 

Orange County: full season. 

Page County: the second Saturday and the last two days.  

-National forest lands: the last day.  

Patrick County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days. 

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 

Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

days.  

Pittsylvania County: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 days.  

-White Oak Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last day.  

Powhatan County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 days. 

-Powhatan WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six 13 days. 

Prince Edward County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 six days.  

-Briery Creek WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six days. 

-Featherfin WMA: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 days. 

-Prince Edward State Forest: the second and third 

Saturdays.  

Prince George County: full season. 

Prince William County: full season.  

Pulaski County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day.  

Rappahannock County: full season. 

Richmond County: full season. 

Roanoke County: full season.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 

Saturday and the last day.  

Rockbridge County: the second Saturday and the last two 

days.  

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last 

day.  

Rockingham County: the second Saturday and the last six 

days.  
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-National forest lands and private lands west of Routes 

613 and 731: the last day.  

Russell County: the second Saturday and the last two days.  

-Clinch Mountain WMA, Hidden Valley WMA, and the 

Channels State Forest: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 

be taken. 

Scott County: the second Saturday and the last six days.  

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may 

be taken.  

Shenandoah County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the last day.  

Smyth County: the second Saturday and the last six days.  

-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, and 

Hungry Mother State Park: antlered bucks only—no 

either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline 

may be taken. 

Southampton County: full season.  

Spotsylvania County: the second, third, and fourth 

Saturdays and the last 27 days. 

Stafford County: full season.  

Suffolk (City of) (east of the Dismal Swamp Line): full 

season the second and third Saturdays and the last 13 days. 

Suffolk (west of the Dismal Swamp Line): full season. 

Surry County: full season.  

-Carlisle Tract of the Hog Island WMA: antlered bucks 

only—no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers above 

the hairline may be taken.  

Sussex County: full season.  

Tazewell County: the second Saturday and the last two 

days.  

-National forest lands and Clinch Mountain WMA: 

antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with 

antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Virginia Beach (City of): full season the second and third 

Saturdays and the last 13 days.  

Warren County: full season.  

-National forest lands: the last day.  

Washington County: the second Saturday and the last six 

days.  

-National forest lands, Clinch Mountain WMA, Hidden 

Valley WMA, and the Channels State Forest: antlered 

bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with antlers 

above the hairline may be taken. 

Westmoreland County: full season. 

Wise County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. 

Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken.  

Wythe County: full season. 

-National forest lands and Big Survey WMA: the second 

Saturday and the last day.  

York County: full season.  

B. Except as provided in the subsection A of this section, 

deer of either sex may be taken full season during the general 

firearms deer season within the incorporated limits of any city 

or town, state park, national wildlife refuge, or military 

installation that allows deer hunting.  

4VAC15-90-231. Validating tags and checking deer by 

licensee or permittee.  

A. Any person killing a deer shall, before removing the 

carcass from the place of kill, validate an appropriate tag on 

his special license for hunting bear, deer, and turkey, bonus 

deer permit, or special permit by completely removing the 

designated notch area from the tag. Place of kill shall be 

defined as the location where the animal is first reduced to 

possession. It shall be unlawful for any person to validate 

(notch) a deer tag from any special license for hunting bear, 

deer, and turkey, bonus deer permit, or special permit prior to 

the killing of a deer. A deer tag that is mistakenly validated 

(notched) prior to the killing of a deer must be immediately 

voided by the licensee or permittee by writing, in ink, the 

word "VOID" on the line provided on the license tag.  

B. Upon killing a deer and validating (notching) a license 

tag, bonus deer permit or special permit, as provided above in 

subsection A of this section, the licensee or permittee shall, 

upon vehicle transport of the carcass or at the conclusion of 

legal hunting hours, whichever occurs first, and without 

unnecessary delay, present the carcass and validated 

(notched) license tag, bonus deer permit or special permit to 

an authorized checking station or to an appropriate 

representative of the department in the county or adjoining 

county in which the deer was killed or report the kill through 

the department's automated harvest reporting system. All deer 

killed after the first Saturday in January (as prescribed in 

4VAC15-90-22 4VAC15-90-10 and 4VAC15-90-70) must be 

checked by telephone or Internet. At such time, the person 

checking or reporting the carcass will be given a game check 

card furnished by the department or a confirmation number 

from the automated reporting system. The successful hunter 

shall then immediately record the game check card number or 

confirmation number, in ink, on the line provided on the tag 

that was validated (notched) in the field. If checked at a big 

game check station, the game check card must be kept in 

possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If 

the carcass is left unattended, the game check card must be 

securely attached to the carcass. If the kill is reported using 

the automated harvest reporting system, no check card is 

required as long as the hunter who killed the animal is in 

possession of the carcass. If the automated harvest reported 

carcass is left unattended or transferred to the possession of 

another individual, written documentation including the 

successful hunter's full name, the date the animal was killed, 

and the confirmation number must be created and kept in 
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possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If 

the carcass is left unattended, this written documentation 

must be securely attached to the carcass. Processed carcass 

parts of a deer killed legally in Virginia may be transported; 

however, upon request of any authorized law enforcement 

officer, sufficient verbal or written information necessary to 

properly establish legal possession must be furnished 

immediately. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

of the sex of any deer killed unless and until the license tag, 

bonus deer permit or special permit is validated (notched) and 

checked as required by this section. Successful deer hunters 

are allowed to dismember the carcass to pack it out from the 

place of kill, after an appropriate license tag has been 

validated (notched) as required above in subsection A of this 

section, as long as they do not destroy the identity of the sex 

and all the parts of the carcass are present when the deer is 

checked at a big game check station or reported through the 

automated harvest reporting system. Any deer found in the 

possession of any person without a validated (notched) 

license tag or documentation that the deer has been checked 

(via a big game check station or the automated harvest 

reporting system) as required by this section shall be forfeited 

to the Commonwealth to be disposed of as provided by law. 

D. Upon killing a deer within an area designated by the 

department for deer disease management and on days 

designated by the department, the licensee or permittee shall 

present the carcass, on the day of kill, at a location designated 

by the department for the purposes of disease surveillance or 

biological monitoring. 

4VAC15-90-293. Chronic Wasting Disease deer carcass 

movement restrictions Unauthorized cervid parts, 

excretions, and carcass importation, movement, 

possession, and use.  

A. For the purposes of this section and in 4VAC15-40-285 

and 4VAC15-90-294: 

"Cervid" means any member of the deer family Cervidae, 

including but not limited to white-tailed deer, fallow deer, 

sika deer, elk, and reindeer. 

B. No person shall import or possess any carcass or part of a 

carcass of any member of the family Cervidae (deer) 

originating from an enclosure intended to confine deer or elk 

or from any area designated by the department as a carcass-

restriction zone in or adjacent to a state or Canadian province 

in which Chronic Wasting Disease has been found in free-

ranging or captive deer, except that the following carcass 

parts may be imported and possessed:  

1. Boned-out meat that is cut and wrapped;  

2. Quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the 

spinal column or skull attached;  

3. Hides or capes with no skull attached;  

4. Clean (no meat or tissue attached) skulls or skull plates 

with or without antlers attached;  

5. Antlers (with no meat or tissue attached);  

6. Upper canine teeth (buglers, whistlers, or ivories); and  

7. Finished taxidermy products.  

A legible label shall be affixed to packages or containers 

containing the allowed carcass parts bearing the following 

information: the species of animal, the state or province from 

where the animal originated, and the name and address of the 

person who killed or owned the animal.  

C. Any person who imports into Virginia any deer carcass or 

parts described in subsection A of this section and is notified 

that the animal has tested positive for Chronic Wasting 

Disease must report the test results to the department within 

72 hours of receiving the notification. In order to facilitate the 

proper disposal of any infected material, the department may 

take into possession any imported carcass or carcass part of 

an animal if the animal has tested positive for Chronic 

Wasting Disease.  

D. No person shall transport any carcass or part of a carcass 

of any cervid out of any area designated by the department as 

a disease containment area, except that the carcass parts 

enumerated in subsection B of this section may be 

transported, and carcasses or parts may be transported directly 

to locations designated by the department, provided that such 

carcasses or parts are transported without unnecessary delay 

and secured within a vehicle or vehicles during transit. 

Provisions of this section shall not apply to employees of the 

department or another government agency working in an 

official disease investigation capacity. 

E. No person shall for the purposes of taking or attempting 

to take, attracting, or scouting any wild animal in Virginia 

possess or use any substance or material that contains or 

purports to contain any excretion collected from a cervid, 

including feces, urine, blood, gland oil, or other bodily fluid. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4402; Filed May 13, 2015, 5:58 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-105. Game: Fisher (adding 

4VAC15-105-10).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 2, 2015 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: May 22, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 
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Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341 or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed chapter establishes a continuous closed 

hunting and trapping season for fishers. 

CHAPTER 105 

GAME: FISHER 

4VAC15-105-10. Closed season; generally. 

There shall be a continuous closed season for hunting and 

trapping fishers.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4403; Filed May 13, 2015, 3:23 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-240. Game: Turkey 

(amending 4VAC15-240-40, 4VAC15-240-51, 4VAC15-

240-60, 4VAC15-240-81).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 2, 2015 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: May 22, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341 or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) provide for the issuance of 

permits to nongovernment organizations that aid 

sportsmen with impaired mobility to hold events on seven 

specified days of the spring hunting season in which such 

sportsmen may hunt from one-half hour before sunrise to 

sunset; (ii) expand the youth and apprentice hunter turkey 

hunting day in the spring season to a Saturday and 

Sunday, making it a youth and apprentice hunter turkey 

hunting weekend, with a bag limit of one turkey per youth 

or apprentice hunter for the weekend; (iii) replace the term 

"bow and arrow" with the term "archery" or "archery 

equipment," (iv) move the requirements for minimum 

arrow head width and distance a bow must be capable of 

shooting to 4VAC15-40; and (v) remove references to bear 

to accommodate the proposed establishment of a special 

hunting license to hunt bears. 

4VAC15-240-40. Open season; spring season for bearded 

turkeys. 

A. Except as otherwise provided in this section, it shall be 

lawful to hunt bearded turkeys from the second Saturday in 

April and for 35 days following, both dates inclusive, from 

1/2 hour before sunrise to 12:00 noon prevailing time during 

the first 23 days and from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset 

during the last 13 days of the spring season. 

B. Turkey hunters 15 years of age and younger and holders 

of an apprentice hunting license may hunt on the first 

Saturday in April and the following calendar day from 1/2 

hour before sunrise to sunset, when in compliance with 

applicable license requirements and when accompanied and 

directly supervised by an adult who has a valid Virginia 

hunting license on his person or an adult who is exempt from 

purchasing a hunting license. Adult hunters accompanying 

youth hunters or apprentice license holders on this day these 

days may assist with calling but they shall not carry or 

discharge weapons. Youth and apprentice turkey hunters are 

limited on this weekend to one turkey per hunter. 

C. Upon receipt of an application from an officer or other 

designated official representative of any nonprofit 

organization that has support for sportsmen with impaired 

mobility as one of its mission statements, the director may 

issue a permit to an officer or representative of the 

organization that allows sportsmen with impaired mobility to 

hunt bearded wild turkeys from one-half hour before sunrise 

to sunset from the 10th through 16th days of the spring 

season. Such authorization shall be valid only when hunting 

during an authorized event. All participants shall be in 

compliance with all requirements of law and regulation that 

apply during the spring season, and bearded turkeys killed 

during these events shall count toward daily and annual bag 

limits. 

C. D. Bearded turkeys may be hunted by calling. 

D. E. It shall be unlawful to use dogs or organized drives for 

the purpose of hunting. 

E. F. It shall be unlawful to use or have in possession any 

shot larger than number 2 fine shot when hunting turkeys 

with a shotgun. 

4VAC15-240-51. Youth and apprentice hunter fall turkey 

hunting day weekend. 

In counties, cities, and areas with a fall turkey season, 

hunters 15 years of age and under and holders of an 

apprentice hunting license may hunt turkey on the third 

Saturday in October and the following calendar day when in 

compliance with applicable license requirements and when 

accompanied and directly supervised by an adult who has a 

valid Virginia hunting license on his person or is exempt from 

purchasing a hunting license. Adult hunters accompanying 

youth hunters or apprentice license holders on this day these 

days may assist with calling turkey but they shall not carry or 

discharge weapons. Youth and apprentice turkey hunters are 

limited on this weekend to one turkey per hunter. 

4VAC15-240-60. Bow and arrow Archery hunting.  

A. Season. It shall be lawful to hunt turkey with bow and 

arrow archery equipment in those counties and areas open to 
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fall turkey hunting from the first Saturday in October through 

the Saturday prior to the second Monday in November, both 

dates inclusive.  

B. Bag limit. The daily and seasonal bag limit for hunting 

turkey with bow and arrow archery equipment shall be the 

same as permitted during the general turkey season in those 

counties and areas open to fall turkey hunting, and any turkey 

taken shall apply toward the total season bag limit.  

C. Carrying firearms prohibited. It shall be unlawful to carry 

firearms while hunting with bow and arrow archery 

equipment during the special archery season.  

D. Requirements for bow and arrow. Arrows used for 

hunting turkey must have a minimum width head of 7/8 of an 

inch, and the bow used for such hunting must be capable of 

casting a broadhead arrow a minimum of 125 yards.  

E. D. Use of dogs prohibited during bow archery season. It 

shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with bow and 

arrow archery equipment from the first Saturday in October 

through the Saturday prior to the second Monday in 

November, both dates inclusive.  

4VAC15-240-81. Validating tags and checking turkey by 

licensee. 

A. Any person killing a turkey shall, before removing the 

carcass from the place of kill, validate an appropriate tag on 

his special license for hunting bear, deer, and turkey by 

completely removing the designated notch area from the tag. 

Place of kill shall be defined as the location where the animal 

is first reduced to possession. It shall be unlawful for any 

person to validate (notch) a turkey tag from any special 

license for hunting bear, deer, and turkey prior to the killing 

of a turkey. A turkey tag that is mistakenly validated 

(notched) prior to the killing of a turkey must be immediately 

voided by the licensee by writing, in ink, the word "VOID" 

on the line provided on the tag. 

B. Upon killing a turkey and validating (notching) a license 

tag, as provided above, the licensee shall, upon vehicle 

transport of the carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting 

hours, whichever occurs first, and without unnecessary delay, 

present the carcass and validated (notched) license tag to an 

authorized checking station or to an appropriate 

representative of the department in the county or adjoining 

county in which the turkey was killed or report his kill 

through the department's automated harvest reporting system. 

Turkeys killed during the January season (as prescribed in 

4VAC15-240-10) and the spring turkey seasons (as 

prescribed in 4VAC15-240-40 and 4VAC15-240-60) must be 

reported through the department's automated harvest 

reporting system. The person reporting the carcass will be 

given a game check card furnished by the department or a 

confirmation number from the automated harvest reporting 

system. The successful hunter shall then immediately record 

the game check card number or confirmation number, in ink, 

on the line provided on the license tag that was validated 

(notched) in the field. If checked at a big game check station, 

the game check card must be kept in possession with the 

carcass until the carcass is processed. If the carcass is left 

unattended, the game check card must be securely attached to 

the carcass. If reported using the automated harvest reporting 

system, no check card is required as long as the hunter who 

killed the turkey is in possession of the carcass. If the 

automated harvest reported carcass is left unattended or 

transferred to the possession of another individual, written 

documentation including the successful hunter's full name, 

the date the turkey was killed, and the confirmation number 

must be created and kept in possession with the carcass until 

the carcass is processed. If the carcass is left unattended, this 

written documentation must be securely attached to the 

carcass. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

of the sex of any turkey killed unless and until the license tag 

is validated (notched) and reported to an authorized checking 

station or to an appropriate representative of the department 

in the county or adjoining county in which the turkey was 

killed or by using the automated harvest reporting system as 

required by this section. Any turkey found in the possession 

of any person without a validated (notched) license tag or 

documentation that the turkey has been reported to an 

authorized checking station or to an appropriate 

representative of the department in the county or adjoining 

counties in which the turkey was killed or by using the 

automated harvest reporting system as required by this 

section shall be forfeited to the Commonwealth to be 

disposed of as provided by law. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4404; Filed May 13, 2015, 7:03 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-260. Game: Waterfowl and 

Waterfowl Blinds (amending 4VAC15-260-10).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 2, 2015 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: May 22, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341 or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments require each side of a 

stationary waterfowl blind located in the public waters to 

be marked with 100 square inches of white, reflective 
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material, at least three feet above the high water mark. 

However, this requirement is not in effect when the blind 

actually is being used for hunting. 

4VAC15-260-10. "Floating blind" and "stationary blind" 

defined; reflector requirement for stationary blinds in 

public waters.  

"Floating blind" means a floating device, whether in motion 

or anchored, that can be occupied by and conceal one or more 

hunters, uses a means of concealment other than the device's 

paint or coloration, and is used in the public waters for the 

purpose of hunting and shooting waterfowl.  

"Stationary blind" means a structure erected at a fixed 

location either on the shores of the public waters or in the 

public waters for the purpose of hunting and shooting 

waterfowl. A stationary blind shall be (i) of such size and 

strength that it can be occupied by and conceal one or more 

hunters or (ii) large enough to accommodate and conceal a 

boat or skiff from which one or more hunters intend to hunt 

or shoot waterfowl. 

Stationary blinds located in the public waters must be 

marked on each side with at least 100 square inches of clearly 

visible, white-colored reflective material attached at least 

three feet above the high water mark. The requirement for 

reflective material on stationary blinds is not in effect while 

the stationary blind is actually being used for hunting.  

All such devices and structures shall come within the 

provisions of the laws for hunting waterfowl, which require 

that blinds be licensed.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4405; Filed May 13, 2015, 7:28 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-275. Game: Hunter 

Education (adding 4VAC15-275-10 through 4VAC15-275-

110).  

Statutory Authority: § 29.1-103 of the Code of Virginia 

(4VAC15-275-100). 

§ 29.1-300.2 and 29.1-501 of the Code of Virginia (4VAC15-

275-10 through 4VAC15-275-110). 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 2, 2015 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: May 22, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341 or email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulation establishes the standards and 

practices for the Virginia Hunter Education program. 

CHAPTER 275 

GAME: HUNTER EDUCATION 

4VAC15-275-10. Application. 

This chapter applies to any person who has never obtained a 

license to hunt in any state or country or any person who is 

under the age of 16 years, unless such a person presents to the 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries or one of its 

authorized license vendors a certificate of completion in 

hunter education issued or authorized by the director or his 

representative under the hunter education program or proof 

that he holds the equivalent certificate obtained from an 

authorized agency or association of another state or country.  

4VAC15-275-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

requires a different meaning: 

"Accompanied and directly supervised" means, in the case 

of an apprentice hunter, that a licensed person over 18 years 

of age maintains a close visual and verbal contact with, 

provides adequate direction to, and can immediately assume 

control of the firearm from the apprentice hunter. In the case 

of a hunter age 12 years or under, the term means that the 

licensed adult is within sight of the person under the age of 12 

years. 

"Adult" means the parent or legal guardian of the person 

under age 12 years, or such person over the age of 18 years 

designated by the parent or legal guardian. 

"Approved course provider" is any individual, business, or 

organization that makes available to the hunting public a 

hunter education course that is approved by the International 

Hunter Education Association – United States (IHEA-USA) 

and is accepted by the department.  An approved course 

provider shall have executed and have on file a valid 

cooperative agreement with the department. The department 

will make information regarding such approved courses and 

providers readily available for public access. 

"Board" means the Board of Game and Inland Fisheries. 

"Department" means the Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries. 

"Hunter education course" means a course offered in the 

classroom, through the Internet, or through an electronic 

format that provides course content and test questions that at 

a minimum meet the International Hunter Education 

Association-USA Education Standards, May 2, 2014, set 

forth by the International Hunter Education Association-USA 

(IHEA-USA) and are accepted by the department. A hunter 

education course shall include no less than 50 test questions, 

which shall include at least eight test questions specific to 

Virginia hunting laws. 
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"IHEA-USA" means the International Hunter Education 

Association-USA. 

"Virginia Hunter Education Card" means a card authorized 

for issuance by the department to a person who has met the 

minimum standard of hunter education course competency. 

This card may be issued as an original or a replacement 

hunter education course card. 

4VAC15-275-30. Provisions for compliance and minimum 

standards for hunter education course competency. 

A. A person shall be considered in compliance with the 

requirements for hunter education if he meets one or more of 

the following provisions pursuant to § 29.1-300.2 of the Code 

of Virginia: 

1. Completes and passes a hunter education course that is 

accepted by the department including a fully online course;  

2. Is 16 years of age or older and has previously held a 

license to hunt in any state or country; 

3. Is under the age of 12 years and is accompanied and 

directly supervised by an adult who holds a valid Virginia 

hunting license; or 

4. Holds a Virginia apprentice hunting license and is 

accompanied and directly supervised by a licensed adult 

hunter. 

B. The minimum standards for hunter education course 

competency required by the department are: 

1. Successful completion of a classroom-based hunter 

education course or through another format as determined 

by the department with a passing score of at least 80% on a 

written test administered closed book at the conclusion of 

the course by the designated course instructor or other 

designated course assistant as determined appropriate by 

the department; and 

2. Successful completion of an Internet hunter education 

course that is approved by the department with a passing 

score of at least 90% on an open-book test administered 

during the online course. 

4VAC15-275-40. Hunter education course provider 

requirements. 

A. To be an approved course provider, any individual, 

business, or organization that instructs or provides a hunter 

education course shall execute and have on file a cooperative 

agreement with the department. It shall be the responsibility 

of the state hunter education program manager or his designee 

to develop and execute such agreements. A list of approved 

course providers and hunter education courses shall be kept 

by the department and made available to the public. Such list 

does not constitute any endorsement of any course or course 

provider by the department or the board. 

B. As of January 1, 2016, hunter education courses offered 

through the Internet and accepted by the department shall: 

1. Meet the International Hunter Education Association-

USA Education Standards, May 2, 2014, set by the IHEA-

USA for course content; and 

2. Be provided only by an approved course provider that 

has executed a valid cooperative agreement with the 

department. Such agreements may be amended at any time 

by the department and may be canceled with 30 days 

notice upon failure of the course provider to comply with 

the terms and conditions of the agreement or its 

amendments. 

C. Any material or product to be used by an approved course 

provider that makes reference to the department must be 

approved by the department through the hunter education 

program manager or his designee before being published or 

distributed to the public. 

D. Any fees charged by a course provider are set by the 

course provider, but must be clearly communicated to the 

student prior to the student taking the course. There will be no 

fees for Virginia hunter education courses provided by the 

department.  

4VAC15-275-50. Hunter education course availability. 

A. The department shall provide classroom-based hunter 

education courses across the Commonwealth on a schedule 

determined by the department.  

B. The department shall coordinate with approved course 

providers of Internet-based courses so that courses developed 

and offered in accordance with this chapter are available. 

4VAC15-275-60. Hunter education course certificates. 

A. Upon successful completion of an online hunter 

education course, the approved course provider shall provide 

the student with a course certificate or wallet-size card. At a 

minimum, such certificate or card shall include the student's 

name and date of birth, the issuance date, the name of the 

course, and an indication of acceptance by the department. On 

a schedule and in a manner mutually agreed to through a 

cooperative agreement, each approved online course provider 

shall provide to the department a copy of the record of those 

students issued a course certificate or wallet-size card. Upon 

request by the student and subject to verification of successful 

course completion, it shall be the responsibility of each 

approved online course provider to issue a duplicate 

certificate or card.  

B. Upon successful completion of the Virginia hunter 

education classroom-based course, the department shall issue 

a completion certificate or card, which shall include the 

person's name, date of birth, and the issuance date. Upon 

request by the person to whom the certificate or card was 

originally issued and subject to verification of successful 

completion, the department shall issue a duplicate certificate 

or card in accordance with its policy. 

4VAC15-275-70. Recordkeeping and student records. 

A. The department shall maintain a database of all students 

successfully completing the department's classroom-based or 
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online hunter education course. Such database shall include, 

but not be limited to, student name, address, date of birth, 

course or other compliance format approved by the 

department, and the specific name of the course.  

B. Each approved course provider for hunter education 

courses offered over the Internet or through an electronic 

format shall maintain a database of all students successfully 

completing such course. The database shall include, but not 

be limited to, student name, address, date of birth, course 

completion date, and the specific name of the course. On a 

schedule and in a manner mutually agreed to through a 

cooperative agreement, each approved course provider shall 

provide to the department a copy of the record of those 

students who successfully complete its course. Such record 

shall include the database information referenced in this 

section. It shall be the responsibility of each approved course 

provider to ensure that reasonable measures, such as the 

Payment Card Industry (PCI) data security measures, are 

taken to protect any acquired student data. Further, such data 

shall not be sold or otherwise used in any way except for the 

student's own completion of a hunter education course and 

issuance of course completion documents. 

4VAC15-275-80. Instructor certification. 

A. The department may designate as a hunter instructor any 

person found by it to be competent to give instruction in the 

courses required.  

B. Volunteer instructors are designated to work on a 

voluntary basis and at the pleasure of the Department of 

Game and Inland Fisheries. 

C. To be certified as a hunter education course instructor for 

the department's hunter education program, a person shall (i) 

have successfully completed a hunter education course and 

(ii) be certified as an instructor by the department or by a 

certification program accepted by the department. 

D. Applicants for certified instructor shall submit an 

application to the department on a form and in a manner 

determined by the hunter education program manager. At a 

minimum, the application shall include: 

1. The applicant's name; 

2. The applicant's street address; 

3. The applicant's telephone number; 

4. The applicant's email address, if any; 

5. Information describing the applicant's experience and 

training in hunter and hunting and proof of completion of a 

hunter education course that is accepted by the department; 

and  

6. Any other information deemed necessary after review of 

the initial application. 

E. Applicants may be required to submit written consent for 

a criminal history background check in a manner determined 

by the department or an interview in a manner determined by 

the department and in accordance with state policy. 

4VAC15-275-90. Virginia Hunter Education Card. 

A. The department may issue an optional long-lasting and 

durable Virginia Hunter Education Card to persons who can 

show that they have met the minimum standard of hunter 

education course competency pursuant to § 29.1-300.2 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

B. Upon receipt by the applicant, the optional Virginia Hunter 

Education Card will serve in lieu of any other certificates or 

cards that have been issued to the bearer as a result of meeting 

the minimum standards for hunter education course competency. 

As such, the Virginia Hunter Education Card will not be 

transferable or revocable and will have no expiration date. 

C. A person may apply for a replacement Virginia Hunter 

Education Card. A replacement card may be issued if (i) the 

original card is lost, stolen, or destroyed; (ii) misinformation is 

printed on the card; or (iii) if the bearer has legally changed his 

name. Supporting documentation may be required. 

4VAC15-275-100. Fees. 

A. Pursuant to § 29.1-300.3 of the Code of Virginia, no fee 

shall be charged for the instructor's service.  

B. Fees charged by an approved online course provider for 

hunter education courses other than the department's course 

are set by the course provider, but must be clearly 

communicated to the student prior to the student taking the 

course. 

C. The fee for issuance of an optional Virginia Hunter 

Education Card, which will serve in lieu of a previously 

obtained hunter education course certificate or card, or a 

replacement Virginia Hunter Education Card shall be $10.  

4VAC15-275-110. Penalties for violation. 

Unless otherwise specified, any person who violates any of 

the provisions of this chapter shall be guilty of a Class 3 

misdemeanor.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (4VAC15-275) 

Volunteer Application (rev. 3/15) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(4VAC15-275) 

International Hunter Education Association-USA Education 

Standards, Recommendations Submitted by the Standards and 

Evaluation Committee, May 2, 2014, International Hunter 

Education Association-USA, http://ihea-usa.org  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4406; Filed May 13, 2015, 10:09 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0b2c1004406~1&typ=40&actno=004406&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=56f45004406~2&typ=40&actno=004406&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=56f45004406~2&typ=40&actno=004406&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=56f45004406~2&typ=40&actno=004406&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=56f45004406~2&typ=40&actno=004406&mime=application/pdf
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-30. Virginia Lead-Based 

Paint Activities Regulations (amending 18VAC15-30-52, 

18VAC15-30-164, 18VAC15-30-166, 18VAC15-30-790, 

18VAC15-30-810).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) clarify training requirements upon 

entry and renewal of an individual or training provider 

license, (ii) remove the requirement that the lead license 

expiration date corresponds with the lead training 

expiration date, and (iii) change the time frame that 

accredited lead training providers must certify continued 

compliance to 24 months. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC15-30-52. Qualifications for licensure - individuals.  

A. General. Applicants shall meet all applicable entry 

requirements at the time application is made.  

B. Name. The applicant shall disclose his full legal name.  

C. Age. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.  

D. Address. The applicant shall disclose a physical address. 

A post office box is only acceptable when a physical address 

is also provided.  

E. Training. The applicant shall provide documentation of 

having satisfactorily completed the board-approved initial 

training program and all subsequent board-approved refresher 

training programs as specified in subsection F of this section. 

Board-approved initial training programs shall be valid for 36 

months after the last day of the month wherein completed. 

Board-approved refresher training programs shall be 

satisfactorily completed no later than 36 months after the last 

day of the month wherein the board-approved initial training 

program was completed and once each 36 months thereafter.  

E. F. Specific entry requirements.  

1. Worker. Each applicant for a lead abatement worker 

licensure license shall provide evidence of successful 

completion of a board-approved initial lead abatement 

worker course training in accordance with subsection E of 

this section.  

2. Project designer.  

a. Each applicant for a lead project designer licensure 

license shall provide evidence of successful completion 

of a board-approved initial lead project designer course 

and successful completion of a board-approved initial 

lead abatement supervisor course and one of the 

following: training and board-approved lead abatement 

supervisor training in accordance with subsection E of 

this section.  

b. Each applicant for a lead project designer license shall 

also provide evidence of successful completion of one of 

the following:  

a. (1) A bachelor's degree in engineering, architecture, or 

a related profession, and one year experience in building 

construction and design or a related field; or  

b. (2) Four years of experience in building construction 

and design or a related field.  

3. Supervisor.  

a. Each applicant for a lead abatement supervisor 

licensure license shall provide evidence of:  

(1) Successful completion of a board-approved initial 

lead abatement supervisor course training in accordance 

with subsection E of this section; and  

(2) One year experience as a licensed lead abatement 

worker or two years experience in a related field (e.g., 

lead, asbestos or environmental remediation) or in the 

building trades.  

b. Each applicant shall pass a board-approved licensing 

examination for supervisors within 36 months after 

completion of the board-approved lead abatement 

supervisor initial training course or the board-approved 

lead supervisor refresher course. Applicants who fail the 

examination three times must provide to the board 

evidence, after the date of their third examination failure, 

of having retaken and satisfactorily completed the initial 

training requirements and make new application to the 

board. The applicant is then eligible to sit for the 

examination an additional three times.  

c. A licensed lead abatement supervisor may perform the 

duties of a licensed lead abatement worker.  

4. Inspector.  

a. Each applicant for a lead inspector licensure license 

shall provide evidence of successful completion of a 

board-approved initial lead inspector course training in 

accordance with subsection E of this section. 

b. Each applicant shall pass a board-approved licensing 

examination for lead inspector within 36 months after 

completion of the board-approved lead inspector initial 

training course or the board-approved lead inspector 

refresher course. Applicants who fail the examination 
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three times must provide to the board evidence, after the 

date of their third examination failure, of having retaken 

and satisfactorily completed the initial training 

requirements and make new application to the board. The 

applicant is then eligible to sit for the examination an 

additional three times.  

5. Risk assessor.  

a. Each applicant for a lead risk assessor licensure license 

shall provide evidence of successful completion of a 

board-approved initial lead risk assessor training course 

and successful completion of a board-approved initial 

lead inspector training course that was at least three days 

in length and one of the following: in accordance with 

subsection E of this section.  

b. Each applicant for a lead risk assessor license shall 

also provide evidence of successful completion of one of 

the following: 

(1) Certification or licensure as an industrial hygienist, a 

professional engineer, a registered architect or licensure 

in a related engineering/health/environmental field;  

(2) A bachelor's degree and one year of experience in a 

related field (e.g., lead, asbestos, environmental 

remediation work, or construction);  

(3) An associate's degree and two years experience in a 

related field (e.g., lead, asbestos, environmental 

remediation work, or construction); or  

(4) A high school diploma or its equivalent, and at least 

three years experience in a related field (e.g., lead, 

asbestos, environmental remediation work, or 

construction).  

b. c. Each applicant shall pass a board-approved licensure 

examination for risk assessor within 36 months after 

completion of the board-approved lead risk assessor 

initial training course or the board-approved lead risk 

assessor refresher course. Applicants who fail the 

examination three times must provide to the board 

evidence, after the date of their third examination failure, 

of having retaken and satisfactorily completed the initial 

training requirements and make new application to the 

board. The applicant is then eligible to sit for the 

examination an additional three times.  

F. G. Training verification. Training requirements shall be 

verified by submittal to the board of the training certificate 

issued by the accredited lead training provider for that course.  

G. H. Education verification. Education requirements shall 

be verified by submittal to the board on the Education 

Verification Form sent directly from the school.  

H. I. Experience verification. Experience requirements shall 

be verified by resumes, letters of reference, or documentation 

of work experience.  

I. J. Conviction or guilt. The applicant shall disclose the 

following information:  

1. A conviction in any jurisdiction of any felony.  

2. A conviction in any jurisdiction of any misdemeanor.  

3. Any disciplinary action taken in another jurisdiction in 

connection with the applicant's environmental remediation 

practice including, but not limited to, monetary penalties, 

fines, suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action.  

4. Any current or previously held environmental 

remediation certifications, accreditations or licenses issued 

by Virginia or any other jurisdiction.  

Subject to the provisions of § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia, the board may deny any application for licensure or 

accreditation as a lead training provider when any of the 

parties listed in this subsection have been convicted of any 

offense listed in this subsection or has been the subject of any 

disciplinary action listed in subdivision 3 of this subsection. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for the purposes of this subsection. A certified copy of a final 

order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency 

with the lawful authority to issue such order shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction or 

discipline.  

J. K. Standards of conduct and practice. Applicants shall be 

in compliance with the standards of conduct and practice set 

forth in Part VIII (18VAC15-30-510 et seq.) of this chapter at 

the time of application to the board, while the application is 

under review by the board, and at all times when the license is 

in effect.  

K. L. Standing. The applicant shall be in good standing in 

every jurisdiction where licensed and the applicant shall not 

have had a license that was suspended, revoked or 

surrendered in connection with any disciplinary action in any 

jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure in Virginia. The 

board, at its discretion, may deny licensure or approval to any 

applicant based on disciplinary action by any jurisdiction.  

Part V  

Renewal  

18VAC15-30-164. Renewal required.  

A. Interim licenses shall expire six months from the last day 

of the month during which the individual completed the 

board-approved initial or refresher accredited lead training 

program required by 18VAC15-30-52 regardless of the date 

on which the board received the application for initial 

licensure or the date the board issued the license.  

B. Interim licenses shall not be renewed or extended.  

C. Individual licenses shall expire 12 months from the last 

day of the month wherein the individual completed the initial 

training program or refresher training program required by 

18VAC15-30-52 regardless of the date on which the board 

received the application for individual licensure or the date 

the board issued the license. In no case shall an individual 

license expire later than the last day of the month which is 36 
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months after the date the individual completed the initial 

training program or most recent refresher training program.  

D. Contractor licenses shall expire 12 months from the last 

day of the month wherein issued.  

E. Accredited lead training programs approval shall expire 

24 months from the last day of the month in which the board 

granted approval.  

18VAC15-30-166. Qualifications for renewal.  

A. Individuals.  

1. Licensees desiring to maintain an individual license 

shall satisfactorily complete the required board-approved 

refresher training program established by this chapter and 

assure that the board receives documentation of 

satisfactory completion no later than the last day of the 

month that is 36 months after the date of completion of the 

initial training program or refresher training program and 

not less often than once each course within 36 months after 

the date that the initial or most recent refresher training 

course was completed and at least once every 36 months 

thereafter. In the case of a proficiency-based course 

completion, refresher training is required every 60 months 

instead of 36 months. 

2. Licensees are responsible for ensuring that the board 

receives proof of completion of the required board-

approved training. Prior to the expiration date shown on 

the individual's current license, the individual desiring to 

renew that license shall provide evidence of meeting the 

board-approved refresher training requirement for license 

renewal. 

3. Refresher training shall be specific to the discipline of 

the license being renewed. 

2. 4. The board shall renew an individual license for an 

additional 12 months upon receipt of a renewal application 

and fee in compliance with 18VAC15-30-163 and 

18VAC15-30-165, provided that the licensee has complied 

with subdivision subdivisions 1 through 3 of this 

subsection. In no case shall an individual license expire 

later than the last day of the month that is 36 months, or in 

the case of proficiency-based course 60 months, after the 

initial training program or most recent refresher training 

program was completed.  

B. Contractors. The board shall renew a contractor license 

for an additional 12 months upon receipt of a renewal 

application and the renewal fee in compliance with 

18VAC15-30-163 and 18VAC15-30-165. Return of the 

renewal application and renewal fee to the board shall 

constitute a certification that the licensee is in full compliance 

with the board's regulations.  

C. Accredited training programs.  

1. Accredited lead training providers desiring to maintain 

approval of their accredited lead training program shall 

cause the board to receive the following no later than 48 24 

months after the date of initial approval and not less often 

than once each 48 24 months thereafter:  

a. The training provider's name, address, and telephone 

number.  

b. A statement signed by the training program manager 

that certifies that:  

(1) The course materials for each course meet the 

requirements of Part VII (18VAC15-30-440 et seq.) of 

this chapter.  

(2) The training manager and principal instructors meet 

the qualifications listed in 18VAC15-30-340.  

(3) The training program manager complies at all times 

with all requirements of this chapter.  

(4) The quality control program meets the requirements 

noted in 18VAC15-30-410.  

(5) The recordkeeping requirements of this chapter will 

be followed.  

2. Return of the renewal application and renewal fee to the 

board shall constitute a certification that the accredited lead 

training provider is in full compliance with the board's 

regulations.  

3. An audit by a board representative may be performed to 

verify the certified statements and the contents of the 

application before relicensure is granted.  

4. Accredited lead training programs determined by the 

board to have met the renewal requirements shall be issued 

an approval for an additional 24 months.  

18VAC15-30-790. Professional responsibility.  

A. The licensee or accredited lead training provider shall, 

upon request or demand, produce to the board, or any of its 

representatives, any plan, document, book, record or copy 

thereof in his possession concerning a transaction covered by 

this chapter, and shall cooperate in the investigation of a 

complaint filed with the board against a licensee or accredited 

lead training provider.  

B. A licensee shall not use the design, plans, or work of 

another licensee with the same type of license without the 

original's knowledge and consent, and after consent, a 

thorough review to the extent that full responsibility shall be 

assumed by the user.  

C. Accredited lead training providers shall admit board 

representatives for the purpose of conducting an on-site audit, 

or any other purpose necessary to evaluate compliance with 

this chapter and other applicable laws and regulations.  

D. Each licensee shall keep his board-approved training and 

license current. 

18VAC15-30-810. Grounds for denial of application, 

denial of renewal, or discipline.  

A. The board shall have the authority to fine any licensee or 

accredited lead training provider, training manager or 

principal instructor, and to deny renewal, to suspend, to 
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revoke or to deny application for any license or approval as 

an accredited lead training program, accredited lead training 

provider, training manager or principal instructor provided for 

under Chapter 5 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia for:  

1. Violating or inducing another person to violate any of 

the provisions of Chapter 1, 2, 3, or 5 of Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, or any of the provisions of this chapter.  

2. Obtaining a license, approval as an accredited lead 

training program, approval as an accredited lead training 

provider or approval as a training manager or principal 

instructor through fraudulent means.  

3. Altering, falsifying or issuing a fraudulent Virginia lead 

license or a training certificate issued by an accredited lead 

training provider.  

4. Violating any provision of any federal or state regulation 

pertinent to lead-based paint activities.  

5. Having been found guilty by the board, another 

regulatory authority, or by a court, of any 

misrepresentation in the course of performing his operating 

duties.  

6. Subject to the provisions of § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia, having been convicted or found guilty, regardless 

of adjudication in any jurisdiction of the United States, of 

any felony or of any misdemeanor involving lying, 

cheating, or stealing, or of any violation while engaged in 

environmental remediation activity that resulted in the 

significant harm or the imminent and substantial threat of 

significant harm to human health or the environment, there 

being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal 

having elapsed. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 

considered a conviction for the purposes of this chapter. A 

certified copy of the final order, decree or case decision by 

a court or regulatory agency with lawful authority to issue 

such order, decree or case decision shall be admissible as 

prima facie evidence of such conviction or discipline.  

7. Failing to notify the board in writing within 30 days of 

pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 

found guilty of any felony or of any misdemeanor 

involving lying, cheating, or stealing or of any violation 

while engaged in environmental remediation activity that 

resulted in the significant harm or the imminent threat of 

significant harm to human health or the environment.  

8. Negligence, or a continued pattern of incompetence, in 

the practice of the discipline in which a lead license is held.  

9. Failing or neglecting to send any information or 

documentation that was requested by the board or its 

representatives.  

10. Refusing to allow state or federal representatives 

access to any area of an abatement site for the purpose of 

lawful compliance inspections.  

11. Any unlawful act or violation of any provision of 

Chapter 5 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or of the 

regulations of the board by any lead abatement supervisor 

or lead abatement worker may be cause for disciplinary 

action against the lead abatement contractor for whom he 

works if it appears to the satisfaction of the board that the 

lead abatement contractor knew or should have known of 

the unlawful act or violation.  

12. Failing to notify the board in writing within 30 days 

after any change in address or name.  

13. Acting as or being an ostensible licensee for 

undisclosed persons who do or will control or direct, 

directly or indirectly, the operations of the licensee's 

business.  

14. Failing to keep board-approved training and license 

current. 

B. Any individual or firm whose license, approval as an 

accredited lead training program, approval as an accredited 

lead training provider or approval as a training manager or 

principal instructor is revoked under this section shall not be 

eligible to reapply for a period of one year from the effective 

date of the final order of revocation. The individual or firm 

shall meet all education, experience, and training 

requirements, complete the application, and submit the 

required fee for consideration as a new applicant.  

C. The board shall conduct disciplinary procedures in 

accordance with §§ 2.2-4019 and 2.2-4021 of the 

Administrative Process Act.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2634; Filed May 6, 2015, 9:23 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-30. Virginia Lead-Based 

Paint Activities Regulations (amending 18VAC15-30-162, 

18VAC15-30-163).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments increase application and renewal fees 

paid by licensees, certificate holders, and registrants 

subject to the authority of the Board for Asbestos, Lead, 

and Home Inspectors. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  
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18VAC15-30-162. Application fees.  

Application fees are as follows:  

Fee Type Fee Amount When Due 

Application for worker, 

supervisor, inspector, risk 

assessor or project 

designer license 

$25 $80 
With 

application 

Application for a lead 

contractor license 
$40 $110 

With 

application 

Application for accredited 

lead training program 

approval 

$400 $500 

per day of 

training 

With 

application 

Application for accredited 

lead refresher training 

program approval except 

for project designer 

refresher 

$400 $500 
With 

application 

Application for accredited 

lead project designer 

refresher training program 

approval 

$200 $250 
With 

application 

18VAC15-30-163. Renewal and late renewal fees.  

Renewal and late renewal fees are as follows:  

Fee Type 
Fee 

Amount 
When Due 

Renewal for worker, 

supervisor, inspector, 

risk assessor or project 

designer license 

$25 $45 
With renewal 

application 

Renewal for lead 

[ contractor's 

contractor ] license 

$40 $70 
With renewal 

application 

Renewal for accredited 

asbestos training 

program approval 

$100 $125 
With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for worker, 

supervisor, inspector, 

risk assessor or project 

designer license 

(includes a $25 $35 late 

renewal fee in addition 

to the regular $25 $45 

renewal fee) 

$50 $80 
With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for lead 

[ contractor's 

contractor ] license 

(includes a $25 $35 late 

renewal fee in addition 

to the regular $40 $70 

renewal fee) 

$65 $105 
With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for 

accredited lead training 

program approval 

(includes a $25 $35 late 

renewal fee in addition 

to the regular $100 $125 

renewal fee) 

$125 $160 
With renewal 

application 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

[ FORMS (18VAC15-30)  

Lead Contractor License Application, 33LCON (rev. 10/03).  

Lead License Application Requirements, 33LINS (rev. 

10/03).  

Lead License Application, 33LLIC (rev. 10/03).  

Experience Verification Form, 33LEXP (rev. 12/04).  

Education Verification Form, 33LED (rev. 10/03).  

Lead Training Course Application Requirements, 

33LCRSRQ (rev. 10/03).  

Lead Training Course Application, 33LCRS (rev. 10/03). 

Lead Training Notification, 33LTN (rev. 12/06).  

Lead Training Program Participant List, 33LPL (rev. 12/06).  

Inspector/Risk Assessor/Project Designer/Contractor 

Disclosure Form, 33LDIS (eff. 1/04).  

Virginia Lead Consumer Information and Disclosure Sheet, 

33LCIS (eff. 1/04).  

Lead Abatement Worker License Application, A506-

3351LIC-v3 (eff. 8/15) 

Lead Abatement Supervisor License Application, A506-

3353LIC-v4 (eff. 8/15) 

Lead Abatement Inspector License Application, A506-

3355LIC-v3 (eff. 8/15) 

Lead Abatement Risk Assessor License Application, A506-

3356LIC-v5 (eff. 8/15) 

Lead Abatement Project Designer License Application, 

A506-3357LIC-v3 (eff. 8/15) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f1e18003181~1&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f1e18003181~1&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1fdfb003181~3&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1fdfb003181~3&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49272003181~4&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49272003181~4&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b6cd8003181~6&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b6cd8003181~6&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5257c003181~5&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5257c003181~5&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
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Lead Abatement Contractor License Application, A506-

3358LIC-v3 (eff. 8/15) 

Contractor – Asbestos & Lead License Renewal Form, 

A506-33CONREN-v3 (eff. 8/15) 

Individual – Lead License Renewal Form, A506-33LREN-

v2 (eff. 8/15) 

Lead - Education Verification Application, A506-33LED-v2 

(eff. 8/13) 

Lead - Experience Verification Application, A506-33LEXP-

v2 (eff. 8/13) 

Lead Training Course Application, 3331LCRS-v4 (eff. 8/15) 

Inspector/Risk Assessor/Project Designer/Contractor 

Disclosure Form, A506-33LDIS-v2 (eff. 8/13) 

Virginia Lead Licensing Consumer Information Sheet, 

A506-33LCIS-v2 (eff. 8/13) ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3181; Filed May 6, 2015, 9:22 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-30. Virginia Lead-Based 

Paint Activities Regulations (amending 18VAC15-30-163).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2015. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 A 5 of the Code of Virginia states 

that the board has the power and duty "To promulgate 

regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) necessary to assure continued 

competency, to prevent deceptive or misleading practices by 

practitioners and to effectively administer the regulatory 

system administered by the regulatory board." 

Section 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

authority for the board to promulgate regulations for the 

licensure of lead professionals and firms, approval of 

accredited lead training programs, and approval of criteria for 

accredited lead training programs. The content of the 

regulations is pursuant to the board's discretion, but shall not 

be in conflict with the purposes of the statutory authority. 

Purpose: An error was discovered in the renewal fee section 

of the Virginia Lead-Based Paint Activities Regulations 

(18VAC15-30) that inadvertently referred to the accredited 

"asbestos" training program approval instead of the accredited 

"lead" training program approval. The amendment corrects 

the error to avoid any possible confusion by lead training 

providers attempting to renew an accredited lead training 

program approval, which is in the best interest of the public 

health, safety, and welfare. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track 

rulemaking process is being used to implement this 

amendment as soon as possible to avoid any possible 

confusion by lead training providers attempting to renew an 

accredited lead training program approval. This action is 

noncontroversial because no current procedures or processes 

will change. Lead training providers are currently renewing 

their approved lead training programs. 

Substance: The proposed amendment to 18VAC15-30-163 

corrects the terminology for the renewal of an accredited lead 

training program approval. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public, businesses, and 

the Commonwealth for implementing this change is to avoid 

any possible confusion by lead training providers attempting 

to renew an accredited lead training program approval. No 

disadvantages to either the public or the Commonwealth have 

been identified. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors (Board) 

proposes to correct a language error in this regulation.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulation 

incorrectly lists renewal for accredited lead training program 

approval as renewal for accredited asbestos training program 

approval. The Board proposes to correct this mistake by 

replacing the word asbestos with the word lead. According to 

the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

lead training providers have been renewing their approved 

lead training programs. Nevertheless, the proposed language 

correction is potentially beneficial in that it will reduce the 

possibility of confusion among readers of the regulation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

concerns the 72 accredited lead training programs and the 14 

related training providers in the Commonwealth. All 14 

training providers are small businesses.
1
 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

will not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment is unlikely to significantly affect the use 

and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendment is unlikely to significantly affect small 

businesses. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cb141003181~2&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cb141003181~2&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8694e003181~7&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8694e003181~7&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eda08003181~8&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eda08003181~8&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cee4d003181~9&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cee4d003181~9&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fd423003181~10&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fd423003181~10&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0734003181~11&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2e27c003181~12&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2e27c003181~12&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e05e3003181~13&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e05e3003181~13&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
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Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendment will not adversely 

affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment is 

unlikely to significantly affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 17 (2014). 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 

proposed amendments. Further the report should include but 

not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulatory action would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulatory action will have 

an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation.  

_______________________________________________ 
1 Data source: Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis completed 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendment corrects terminology for the renewal of an 

accredited lead training program approval by changing the 

word "asbestos" to "lead." 

18VAC15-30-163. Renewal and late renewal fees.  

Renewal and late renewal fees are as follows:  

Fee Type 
Fee 

Amount 
When Due 

Renewal for worker, 

supervisor, inspector, 

risk assessor or project 

designer license 

$25 
With renewal 

application 

Renewal for lead 

contractor's license 
$40 

With renewal 

application 

Renewal for accredited 

asbestos lead training 

program approval 

$100 
With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for 

worker, supervisor, 

inspector, risk assessor 

or project designer 

license (includes a $25 

late renewal fee in 

addition to the regular 

$25 renewal fee) 

$50 
With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for lead 

contractor's license 

(includes a $25 late 

renewal fee in addition 

to the regular $40 

renewal fee) 

$65 
With renewal 

application 

Late renewal for 

accredited lead training 

program approval 

(includes a $25 late 

renewal fee in addition 

to the regular $100 

renewal fee) 

$125 
With renewal 

application 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4133; Filed May 5, 2015, 4:58 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-40. Virginia Certified Home 

Inspectors Regulations (amending 18VAC15-40-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Trisha L. Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 
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telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (804) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments remove the requirement that training 

courses to meet the certified home inspector entry 

requirements be taken in a classroom setting. These 

amendments allow for distance learning options, including 

online courses, but limit the number of hours so that no 

more than half of the required instruction course hours 

may be taken through distance and online education 

technology.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC15-40-30. Qualifications for certification. 

Every applicant for an individual home inspector certificate 

shall have the following qualifications:  

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.  

2. The applicant shall meet the following educational and 

experience requirements:  

a. High school diploma or equivalent; and  

b. One of the following:  

(1) Completed 35 contact hours of classroom instruction 

[ courses, of which no more than half of the required 

hours may be completed using distance or online 

education technology, ] and have completed a minimum 

of 100 home inspections;  

(2) Completed 35 contact hours of classroom instruction 

[ courses, of which no more than half of the required 

hours may be completed using distance or online 

education technology, ] and have completed a minimum 

of 50 certified home inspections in compliance with this 

chapter under the direct supervision of a certified home 

inspector, who shall certify the applicant's completion of 

each inspection and shall be responsible for each 

inspection; 

(3) Completed 70 contact hours of classroom instruction 

[ courses, of which no more than half of the required 

hours may be completed using distance or online 

education technology, ] and have completed a minimum 

of 50 home inspections; or 

(4) Completed 70 contact hours of classroom instruction 

[ courses, of which no more than half of the required 

hours may be completed using distance or online 

education technology, ] and have completed a minimum 

of 25 certified home inspections in compliance with this 

chapter under the direct supervision of a certified home 

inspector, who shall certify the applicant's completion of 

each inspection and shall be responsible for each 

inspection. 

Instruction courses shall cover the content areas of the 

board-approved examinations.  

An applicant who cannot fulfill the classroom instruction 

[ course ] requirement as outlined in this subsection may 

provide documentation of a minimum of 10 years of 

experience as a home inspector with a minimum of 250 

home inspections completed in substantial compliance with 

this chapter to satisfy this requirement. The documentation 

is subject to board review and approval.  

3. The applicant shall have passed a written competency 

examination approved by the board.  

4. The board may accept proof of membership in good 

standing, in a national or state professional home 

inspectors association approved by the board, as 

satisfaction of subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this section, 

provided that the requirements for the applicant's class of 

membership in such association are equal to or exceed the 

requirements established by the board for all applicants.  

5. The applicant shall have a good reputation for honesty, 

truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be competent to transact 

the business of a home inspector in such a manner as to 

safeguard the interests of the public.  

6. The applicant shall disclose whether a certificate or 

license as a home inspector from any jurisdiction where 

certified or licensed has ever been suspended, revoked or 

surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action or 

which has been the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction 

prior to applying for certification in Virginia. The board 

may deny certification to any applicant so disciplined after 

examining the totality of the circumstances.  

7. The applicant shall disclose any conviction or finding of 

guilt, regardless of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the 

United States of any misdemeanor involving violence, 

repeat offenses, multiple offenses, or crimes that 

endangered public health or safety, or of any felony, there 

being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal 

having elapsed. Subject to the provisions of § 54.1-204 of 

the Code of Virginia, the board shall have the authority to 

determine, based upon all the information available, 

including the applicant's record of prior convictions, if the 

applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage in the profession of 

residential home inspections. The board will decide each 

case by taking into account the totality of the 

circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 

considered a conviction for purposes of this subdivision. A 

certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a 

court with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree 

or case decision shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such conviction or guilt.  

8. Procedures and appropriate conduct established by either 

the board or any testing service administering an 

examination approved by the board or both shall be 

followed by the applicant. Such procedures shall include 

any written instructions communicated prior to the 
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examination date and any instructions communicated at the 

site, either written or oral, on the date of the examination. 

Failure to comply with all procedures established by the 

board or the testing service with regard to conduct at the 

examination shall be grounds for denial of the application.  

9. Applicants shall show evidence of having obtained 

general liability insurance with minimum limits of 

$250,000.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-2848; Filed May 5, 2015, 3:03 p.m.  

Final Regulation  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-40. Virginia Certified Home 

Inspectors Regulations (amending 18VAC15-40-50, 

18VAC15-40-52).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Trisha L. Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (804) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments increase fees for obtaining and 

maintaining certification as a home inspector. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC15-40-50. Application fees. 

The application fee for an initial home inspector certification 

shall be $25 $80. 

18VAC15-40-52. Renewal and reinstatement fees. 

Renewal and reinstatement fees are as follows: 

Fee type Fee amount When due 

Renewal 
 

$25 $45   
With renewal 
application 

Late renewal 

 

+

 
=

  

$25 $45 

$25 $35 
$50 $80 

(renewal) 

(late fee) 
total fee 

With renewal 

application 

Reinstatement 

 

+
  

=

  

$75 $80 
$25 $45 

$100 $125 

(reinstatement) 
(renewal) 

total fee 

With 
reinstatement 

application 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

[ FORMS (18VAC15-40)  

Home Inspector Association Membership Form, 3380 AMF 

(rev. 1/11) 

Home Inspector Certificate Application Instructions, 3380 

INS (rev 1/11) 

Home Inspector Certificate Application, 3380 CERT (rev. 

1/11) 

Home Inspector Experience Verification Form, 3380 EXP 

(rev. 1/11).  

Home Inspector Association Membership Form, A506-

3380AMF-v3 (eff. 8/13) 

Home Inspector Certification Application Instructions, 

A506-3380INS-v2 (eff. 8/15) 

Home Inspector Certification Application, A506-

3380CERT-v3 (eff. 8/15) 

Home Inspector Experience Verification Form, A506-

3380EXP-v3 (eff. 8/13) ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3182; Filed May 5, 2015, 3:04 p.m.  

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC48-20. Condominium 

Regulations (repealing 18VAC48-20-10 through 

18VAC48-20-800). 

18VAC48-30. Condominium Regulations (adding 

18VAC48-30-10 through 18VAC48-30-690).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Common Interest Community Board, Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

8510, FAX (866) 490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The action repeals the existing chapter (18VAC48-20) and 

replaces it with a new chapter (18VAC48-30) to reflect 

statutory changes and current procedures. The new 

chapter (i) establishes the requirements and application 

procedures for registration of a condominium; (ii) 

establishes requirements for public offering statements; 

(iii) addresses conversion condominiums; (iv) establishes 

post-registration provisions, including procedures for the 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f46ac002848~1&typ=40&actno=002848&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f46ac002848~1&typ=40&actno=002848&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fba58002848~2&typ=40&actno=002848&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fba58002848~2&typ=40&actno=002848&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8537b002848~3&typ=40&actno=002848&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8537b002848~3&typ=40&actno=002848&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3886c002848~4&typ=40&actno=002848&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3886c002848~4&typ=40&actno=002848&mime=application/pdf
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termination of condominium registrations both 

administratively and by the declarant; and (v) outlines the 

board's authority and standards of conduct. The new 

chapter does not include provisions pertaining to time-

share condominiums and horizontal property regimes.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 30 

CONDOMINIUM REGULATIONS 

Part [ 1 I ]  

General 

18VAC48-30-10. Purpose. 

This chapter governs the exercise of powers granted to and 

the performance of duties imposed upon the Common Interest 

Community Board by the Condominium Act (§ 55-79.39 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia) as the act pertains to the 

registration of condominiums.  

18VAC48-30-20. Definitions. 

A. Section 54.1-2345 of the Code of Virginia provides 

definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 

chapter: 

"Association" 

"Board" 

B. Section 55-79.41 of the Code of Virginia provides 

definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 

chapter: 

"Common elements" "Identifying number" 

"Common expenses" "Land" 

"Condominium" "Leasehold condominium" 

"Condominium instruments" "Limited common element" 

"Condominium unit" "Nonbinding reservation 

agreement" 

"Conversion condominium" "Offer" 

"Convertible land" "Person" 

"Convertible space" "Purchaser" 

"Declarant" "Special declarant rights" 

"Dispose" or "disposition" "Unit" 

"Executive organ" "Unit owner" 

"Expandable condominium"  

C. The following words, terms, and phrases [ , ] when used 

in this chapter [ , ] shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

"Annual report" means a completed, board-prescribed form 

and required documentation submitted in compliance with 

§ 55-79.93 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Application" means a completed, board-prescribed form 

submitted with the appropriate fee and other required 

documentation in compliance with § 55-79.89 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Class of physical assets" means two or more physical assets 

that are substantially alike in function, manufacture, date of 

construction or installation, and history of use and 

maintenance.  

"Condominium Act" means Chapter 4.2 (§ 55-79.39 et seq.) 

of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation. 

"Expected useful life" means the estimated number of years 

from the date on which such estimate is made until the date 

when, because of the effects of time, weather, stress, or wear, 

a physical asset will become incapable of performing its 

intended function and will have to be replaced.  

"Firm" means a sole proprietorship, association, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of business organization 

recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Full and fair disclosure" means the degree of disclosure 

necessary to ensure reasonably complete and materially 

accurate representation of the condominium in order to 

protect the interests of purchasers. 

"Limited common expense" means any common expense 

against one or more, but less than all, of the units. 

"Major utility installation" means a utility installation or 

portion thereof that is a common element or serves more than 

one unit.  

"Material change" means a change in any information or 

document disclosed in the application for registration, 

including the public offering statement or an attachment 

thereto, that renders inaccurate, incomplete, or misleading 

any information or document in such a way as to affect 

substantially a purchaser's rights or obligations or the nature 

of a unit or appurtenant limited common element or the 

amenities of the project available for the purchaser's use as 

described in the public offering statement. 

"Offering" means the continuing act of the declarant in 

making condominium units owned by the declarant within a 

particular condominium available for acquisition by 

purchasers or, where appropriate, to the aggregate of the 

condominium units thus made available. 

"Offering literature" means any written promise, assertion, 

representation, or statement of fact or opinion made in 

connection with a condominium marketing activity mailed or 

delivered directly to a specific prospective purchaser, except 

that information printed in a publication shall not be deemed 
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offering literature solely by virtue of the fact that the 

publication is mailed or delivered directly to a prospective 

purchaser.  

"Personal communication" means a communication directed 

to a particular prospective purchaser that has not been and is 

not intended to be directed to any other prospective 

purchaser. 

"Physical asset" means either a structural component or a 

major utility installation.  

"Present condition" means condition as of the date of the 

inspection by means of which condition is determined.  

"Registration file" means the application for registration, 

supporting materials, annual reports, and amendments that 

constitute all information submitted and reviewed pertaining 

to a particular condominium registration. A document that 

has not been accepted for filing by the board is not part of the 

registration file. 

"Regular common expense" means a common expense 

apportioned among and assessed to all of the condominium 

units pursuant to subsection D of § 55-79.83 of the Code of 

Virginia or similar law or condominium instrument provision. 

"Replacement cost" means the expenditure that would be 

necessary to replace a physical asset with an identical or 

substantially equivalent physical asset as of the date on which 

replacement cost is determined and includes all costs of (i) 

removing the physical asset to be replaced, (ii) obtaining its 

replacement, and (iii) erecting or installing the replacement.  

"Structural component" means a component constituting any 

portion of the structure of a unit or common element.  

"Structural defect" shall have the meaning given in 

subsection B of § 55-79.79 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Substituted public offering statement" means a document 

originally prepared in compliance with the laws of another 

jurisdiction and modified in accordance with the provisions of 

this chapter to fulfill the disclosure requirements established 

for public offering statements by subsection A of § 55-79.90 

of the Code of Virginia and, if applicable, subsection A of § 

55-79.94 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-30-30. Explanation of terms. 

Each reference in this chapter to a "declarant," "purchaser," 

and "unit owner" or to the plural of those terms shall be 

deemed to refer, as appropriate, to the masculine and the 

feminine, to the singular and the plural, and to natural persons 

and organizations. The term "declarant" shall refer to any 

successors to the persons referred to in § 55-79.41 of the 

Code of Virginia who come to stand in the same relation to 

the condominium as their predecessors in that they assumed 

rights reserved for the benefit of a declarant that (i) offers to 

dispose of his interest in a condominium unit not previously 

disposed of, (ii) reserves or succeeds to any special declarant 

right, or (iii) applies for registration of the condominium.  

18VAC48-30-40. Condominiums located outside of 

Virginia. 

A. In any case involving a condominium located outside of 

Virginia in which the laws or practices of the jurisdiction in 

which such condominium is located prevent compliance with 

a provision of this chapter, the board shall prescribe, by order, 

a substitute provision to be applicable in such case that is as 

nearly equivalent to the original provision as is reasonable 

under the circumstances.  

B. The words "declaration," "bylaws," "plats," and "plans," 

when used in this chapter with reference to a condominium 

located outside of Virginia, shall refer to documents, portions 

of documents, or combinations thereof, by whatever name 

denominated, that have a content and function identical or 

substantially equivalent to the content and function of their 

Virginia counterparts.  

C. The words "recording" or "recordation," when used with 

reference to condominium instruments of a condominium 

located outside of Virginia, shall refer to a procedure that, in 

the jurisdiction in which such condominium is located, causes 

the condominium instruments to become legally effective.  

D. This chapter shall apply to a contract for the disposition 

of a condominium unit located outside of Virginia only to the 

extent permissible under the provisions of subsection B of 

§ 55-79.40 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC48-30-50. Exemptions from registration. 

A. The exemption from registration of condominiums in 

which all units are restricted to nonresidential use provided in 

subsection B of § 55-79.87 of the Code of Virginia shall not 

be deemed to apply to any condominium as to which there is 

a substantial possibility that a unit therein other than a unit 

owned by the declarant or the unit owners' association will be 

used as permanent or temporary living quarters or as a site 

upon which vehicular or other portable living quarters will be 

placed and occupied. Residential use for the purposes of this 

chapter includes transient occupancy.  

B. Nothing in this chapter shall apply in the case of a 

condominium exempted from registration by § 55-79.87 of 

the Code of Virginia or condominiums located outside of 

Virginia as provided in subsection B of § 55-79.40 of the 

Code of Virginia for which no contracts are to be signed in 

Virginia.  

18VAC48-30-60. Preregistration offers prohibited. 

No condominium marketing activity shall be deemed an 

offer unless, by its express terms, it induces, solicits, or 

encourages a prospective purchaser to execute a contract of 

sale of the condominium unit or lease of a leasehold 

condominium unit or perform some other act that would 

create or purport to create a legal or equitable interest in the 

condominium unit other than a security interest in or a 

nonbinding reservation of the condominium unit.  
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Part II 

Marketing 

18VAC48-30-70. Condominium marketing activities. 

Condominium marketing activities shall include every 

contact for the purpose of promoting disposition of a 

condominium unit. Such contacts may be personal, by 

telephone, by mail, [ by electronic means including, but not 

limited to, social media, ] or by advertisement. A promise, 

assertion, representation, or statement of fact or opinion made 

in connection with a condominium marketing activity may be 

oral, written, or graphic.  

18VAC48-30-80. Offering literature. 

A. Offering literature mailed or delivered prior to the 

registration of the condominium that is the subject of the 

offering literature shall bear a conspicuous legend containing 

the substance of the following language:  

"The condominium has not been registered by the 

Common Interest Community Board. A condominium unit 

may be reserved on a nonbinding reservation agreement, 

but no contract of sale or lease may be entered into prior to 

registration."  

B. Offering literature or marketing activities violative of the 

Virginia Fair Housing Law (§ 36-96.1 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) and subsection C of § 55-79.52 of the Code of 

Virginia is prohibited.  

C. Offering literature shall indicate that the property being 

offered is under the condominium form of ownership. The 

requirement of this subsection is satisfied by including the 

full name of the condominium in all offering literature.  

Part III 

Application for Registration 

18VAC48-30-90. Application procedures. 

A declarant seeking registration of a condominium pursuant 

to Chapter 4.2 (§ 55-79.39 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of 

Virginia shall submit an application on the appropriate form 

provided by the board, along with the appropriate fee 

specified in 18VAC48-30-100.  

By submitting the application to the board, the declarant 

certifies that the declarant has read and understands the 

applicable statutes and the board's regulations. 

The receipt of an application and the deposit of fees by the 

board do not indicate approval or acceptance of the 

application by the board. 

The board may make further inquiries and investigations to 

confirm or amplify information supplied. All applications 

shall be completed in accordance with the instructions 

contained in this section and on the application. Applications 

will not be considered complete until all required documents 

are received by the board. 

Applications that are not approved within 12 months after 

receipt of the application in the board's office will be purged 

and a new application and fee must be submitted in order to 

be reconsidered for registration.  

18VAC48-30-100. Fee requirements. 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 

date on which the fee is received by the board or its agent will 

determine whether the fee is timely. Checks or money orders 

shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia. 

1. Each application for registration of a condominium shall 

be accompanied by a fee in an amount equal to $35 per 

unit, except that the fee shall not be less than $1,750 or 

more than $3,500. 

2. Each phase filing application shall be accompanied by a 

fee in an amount equal to $35 per unit, except that the fee 

for each phase filing shall not be less than $875 or more 

than $3,500. 

18VAC48-30-110. Review of application for registration. 

A. Upon receipt of an application for registration, the board 

shall issue the notice of filing required by subsection A of 

§ 55-79.92 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. Upon the review of the application for registration, if the 

requirements of §§ 55-79.89 and 55-79.91 of the Code of 

Virginia have not been met, the board shall notify the 

applicant as required by subsection C of § 55-79.92 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

C. A request for an extension of the 60-day application 

review period described in § 55-79.92 of the Code of Virginia 

shall be in writing and shall be delivered to the board prior to 

the expiration of the period being extended. The request shall 

be for an extension of definite duration. The board may grant 

in writing a request for an extension of the application review 

period, and it may limit the extension to a period not longer 

than is reasonably necessary to permit correction of the 

application. An additional extension of the application review 

period may be obtained, subject to the conditions applicable 

to the initial request. A request for an extension of the 

application review period shall be deemed a consent to delay 

within the meaning of subsection A of § 55-79.92 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

D. If the requirements for registration are not met within the 

application review period or a valid extension thereof, the 

board shall, upon the expiration of such period, enter an order 

rejecting the registration as required by subsection C of § 55-

79.92 of the Code of Virginia.  

E. An applicant may submit a written request for an 

informal conference in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the 

Code of Virginia at any time between receipt of a notification 

pursuant to subsection B of this section and the effective date 

of the order of rejection entered pursuant to subsection D of 

this section. A request for such proceeding shall be deemed a 

consent to delay within the meaning of subsection A of § 55-

79.92 of the Code of Virginia.  

F. The board shall receive and act upon corrections to the 

application for registration at any time prior to the effective 
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date of an order rejecting the registration. If the board 

determines after review of the corrections that the 

requirements for registration have not been met, the board 

may proceed with an informal conference in accordance with 

§ 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia to allow reconsideration 

of whether the requirements for registration are met. If the 

board does not opt to proceed with an informal conference, 

the applicant may submit a written request for an informal 

conference in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 

Virginia to reconsider whether the requirements for 

registration are met. If the board does not proceed with an 

informal conference and no request for an informal 

conference is received from the applicant, an amended order 

of rejection stating the factual basis for the rejection shall be 

issued. A new 20-day period for the order of rejection to 

become effective shall commence. 

G. At such time as the board affirmatively determines that 

the requirements of §§ 55-79.89 and 55-79.91 of the Code of 

Virginia have been met, the board shall enter an order 

registering the condominium and shall designate the form, 

content, and effective date of the public offering statement, 

substituted public offering statement, or prospectus to be 

used.  

18VAC48-30-120. Prerequisites for registration. 

The following provisions are prerequisites for registration 

and are supplementary to the provisions of § 55-79.91 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

A. The declarant shall own or have the right to acquire an 

estate in the land constituting or to constitute the 

condominium that is of at least as great a degree and duration 

as the estate to be conveyed in the condominium units. 

B. The condominium instruments must be adequate to bring 

a condominium into existence upon recordation except that 

the certification requirements of § 55-79.58 of the Code of 

Virginia need not be complied with as a prerequisite for 

registration. This subsection does not apply to condominium 

instruments that may be recorded after the condominium has 

been created.  

C. The declarant shall have filed with the board reasonable 

evidence of its financial ability to complete all proposed 

improvements on the condominium. Such evidence may 

include (i) financial statements and a signed affidavit attesting 

that the declarant has sufficient funds to complete all 

proposed improvements on the condominium and that the 

funds will be used for completion of the proposed 

improvements or (ii) proof of a commitment of an 

institutional lender to advance construction funds to the 

declarant and, to the extent that any such commitments will 

not furnish all the necessary funds, other evidence, 

satisfactory to the board, of the availability to the declarant of 

necessary funds. A lender's commitment may be subject to 

such conditions, including registration of the condominium 

units and presale requirements, as are normal for loans of the 

type and as to which nothing appears to indicate that the 

conditions will not be complied with or fulfilled.  

1. In the case of a condominium located in Virginia, 

"proposed improvements" are improvements that are not 

yet begun or not yet complete and that the declarant is 

affirmatively and unconditionally obligated to complete 

under §§ 55-79.58 and 55-79.67 (a1) of the Code of 

Virginia and applicable provisions of the condominium 

instruments or that the declarant would be so obligated to 

complete if plats and plans filed with the board in 

accordance with 18VAC48-30-140 A were recorded.  

2. In the case of a condominium located outside of 

Virginia, "proposed improvements" are improvements that 

are not yet begun or not yet complete and that the declarant 

represents, without condition or limitation, will be built or 

placed in the condominium.  

D. The current and planned condominium marketing 

activities of the declarant shall comply with § 18.2-216 of the 

Code of Virginia, 18VAC48-30-80, and 18VAC48-30-660.  

E. The declarant shall have filed with the board (i) a 

proposed public offering statement that complies with this 

chapter and subsection A of § 55-79.90 of the Code of 

Virginia and, if applicable, subsection A of § 55-79.94 of the 

Code of Virginia; (ii) a substituted public offering statement 

that complies with this chapter; or (iii) a prospectus that 

complies with this chapter.  

F. Declarants may be organized as individuals or firms. 

Firms shall be organized as business entities under the laws of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia or otherwise authorized to 

transact business in Virginia. Firms shall register any trade or 

fictitious names with the State Corporation Commission or 

the clerk of court in the jurisdiction where the business is to 

be conducted in accordance with §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 

of the Code of Virginia before submitting an application to 

the board.  

18VAC48-30-130. Minimum requirements for 

registration. 

Applications for registration shall include the following: 

1. The documents and information contained in § 55-79.89 

of the Code of Virginia.  

2. The application fee specified in 18VAC48-30-100. 

3. The following documents shall be included as exhibits. 

All exhibits shall be labeled as indicated and submitted in 

hardcopy form and electronically in a format acceptable to 

the board. 

a. Exhibit A: A copy of the certificate of incorporation or 

certificate of authority to transact business in Virginia 

issued by the Virginia State Corporation Commission or 

other entity formation documents. 

b. Exhibit B: A copy of the title opinion, title policy, or a 

statement of the condition of the title to the condominium 

project including encumbrances as of a specified date 
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within 30 days of the date of application by a title 

company or licensed attorney who is not a salaried 

employee, officer, or director of the declarant or owner, 

in accordance with subdivision A 5 of § 55-79.89 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

c. Exhibit C: A copy of the instruments that will be 

delivered to a purchaser to evidence the purchaser's 

interest in the unit and of the contracts and other 

agreements that a purchaser will be required to agree to 

or sign. 

d. Exhibit D: A narrative description of the promotional 

plan for the disposition of the condominium units.  

e. Exhibit E: A copy of documentation demonstrating the 

declarant's financial ability to complete the project in 

accordance with [ 18VAC48-30-140 18VAC48-30-120 ]. 

f. Exhibit F: A copy of the proposed public offering 

statement that complies with subsection A of § 55-79.90 

and subsection A of § 55-79.94 of the Code of Virginia, 

as applicable, and this chapter. A substitute public 

offering statement or a prospectus pursuant to 18VAC48-

30-370 and 18VAC48-30-380 respectively may be 

submitted for a condominium formed in another 

jurisdiction. 

g. Exhibit G: Copies of bonds required by §§ 55-79.58:1, 

55.79.84:1, and 55-79.95 of the Code of Virginia, as 

applicable. 

h. Exhibit H: A list with the name of every officer of the 

declarant who is directly responsible for the project or 

person occupying a similar status within, or performing 

similar functions for, the declarant. The list must include 

each individual's address, principal occupation for the 

past five years, and extent and nature of the individual's 

interest in the condominium as of a specified date within 

30 days of the filing of the application. 

i. Exhibit I: Plats and plans of the condominium that (i) 

comply with the provisions of § 55-79.58 of the Code of 

Virginia and 18VAC48-30-140 other than the 

certification requirements and (ii) show all units and 

buildings containing units to be built anywhere within the 

submitted land other than within the boundaries of any 

convertible lands. Hardcopy submittals of plats and plans 

must be no larger than 11 inches by 17 inches. 

j. Exhibit J: Conversion condominiums must attach (i) a 

copy of the general notice provided to tenants of the 

condominium at the time of application pursuant to 

subsection B of § 55-79.94 of the Code of Virginia, (ii) a 

copy of the formal notice to be sent at the time of 

registration to the tenants, if any, of the building or 

buildings, and (iii) the certified statement required in 

accordance with subsection C of § 55-79.94 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

18VAC48-30-140. Requirements for plats and plans. 

A. Except as provided in subsection C of this section, all 

plats and plans submitted with the application for registration 

shall comply with § 55-79.58 of the Code of Virginia but the 

certification need not be signed until recordation. The plats 

and plans filed with the application for registration shall be 

the same as the plats and plans the declarant intends to record. 

A material change to the plats and plans shall be submitted to 

the board in accordance with Part VI (18VAC48-30-460 et 

seq.) of this chapter. Once recorded, copies of plats and plans 

as recorded shall be filed with the board in accordance with 

Part VI of this chapter.  

B. In the case of units that are substantially identical, the 

requirement to show the location and dimensions (within 

normal construction tolerances) of the boundaries of each unit 

pursuant to subsection B of § 55-79.58 of the Code of 

Virginia may be deemed satisfied by depiction of the location 

and dimensions of the vertical boundaries and horizontal 

boundaries, if any, of one such unit. The identifying numbers 

of all units represented by such depiction shall be indicated. 

Each structure within which any such units are located shall 

be depicted so as to indicate the exact location of each such 

unit within the structure.  

C. In the case of a condominium located outside Virginia, 

certain materials may be filed with the application for 

registration in lieu of plats and plans complying with the 

provisions of § 55-79.58 of the Code of Virginia. Such 

materials shall contain, as a minimum, (i) a plat of survey 

depicting all existing improvements, and all improvements 

that the declarant represents, without condition or limitation, 

will be built or placed in the condominium; and (ii) legally 

sufficient descriptions of each unit. Any improvements whose 

completion is subject to conditions or limitations shall be 

appropriately labeled to indicate that such improvements may 

not be completed. Unit descriptions may be written or 

graphic, shall demarcate each unit vertically and, if 

appropriate, horizontally, and shall indicate each unit's 

location relative to established points or datum.  

D. The plats and plans must bear the form of the 

certification statement required by subsections A and B § 55-

79.58 of the Code of Virginia. However, as stated in 

subsection A of this section, the statement need not be 

executed prior to recordation. The certification statement may 

appear in a separate document that is recorded, or to be 

recorded. 

18VAC48-30-150. Application for registration of 

expandable condominium. 

The declarant may include in the application for registration 

all units for which development rights have been reserved.  
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Part IV 

Public Offering Statement 

18VAC48-30-160. Public offering statement requirements, 

generally. 

In addition to the provisions of § 55-79.90 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following will be considered, as applicable, 

during review of the public offering statement. 

1. The public offering statement shall provide full and fair 

disclosure in accordance with 18VAC48-30-170. 

2. The public offering statement shall pertain to a single 

offering and to the entire condominium in which the 

condominium units being offered are located. 

3. The public offering statement shall be clear, organized, 

and legible.  

4. Except for brief excerpts, the public offering statement 

may refer to, but should not incorporate verbatim, portions 

of the condominium instruments, the Condominium Act, or 

this chapter. This does not preclude compliance with 

18VAC48-30-180. 

18VAC48-30-170. Full and fair disclosure. 

A. The provisions of § 55-79.90 and subsection A of § 55-

79.94 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter shall be strictly 

construed to promote full and fair disclosure in the public 

offering statement. In addition, the following will be 

considered, as applicable, during review to assure full and fair 

disclosure: 

1. The information shall be presented in a manner that is 

clear and understandable to a reasonably informed 

consumer, while maintaining consistency with the 

requirements of this chapter and the Condominium Act. 

2. In addition to specific information required by this 

chapter and the Condominium Act, the public offering 

statement shall disclose any other information necessary 

for full and fair disclosure. 

3. No information shall be incorporated by reference to an 

outside source that is not reasonably available to a 

prospective purchaser.  

4. If required information is not known or not reasonably 

available, such fact shall be stated and explained in the 

public offering statement. 

B. The board has the sole discretion to require additional 

information or amendment of existing information as it finds 

necessary to ensure full and fair disclosure. 

18VAC48-30-180. Contents of public offering statement. 

A. A cover, if used, must be blank or bear identification 

information only.  

B. The first page of the public offering statement shall be 

substantially as follows: 

PURCHASER SHOULD READ THIS DOCUMENT 

FOR THE PURCHASER'S PROTECTION 

PUBLIC OFFERING STATEMENT 

NAME OF 

CONDOMINIUM:  
  

LOCATION OF 

CONDOMINIUM:  
  

NAME OF 

DECLARANT:  
  

ADDRESS OF 

DECLARANT:  
  

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 

PUBLIC OFFERING 

STATEMENT:  

  

REVISED:    

THE PURCHASER SHOULD READ THIS 

DOCUMENT FOR THE PURCHASER'S OWN 

PROTECTION. Living in a common interest community 

carries with it certain rights, responsibilities, and benefits, 

including certain financial obligations, rights, and 

restrictions concerning the use and maintenance of units 

and common elements, and [ decisionmaking decision-

making ] authority vested in the unit owners' association. 

The purchaser will be bound by the provisions of the 

condominium instruments and should review the Public 

Offering Statement, the condominium instruments, and 

other exhibits carefully prior to purchase.  

This Public Offering Statement presents information 

regarding condominium units being offered for sale by the 

declarant. Virginia law requires that a Public Offering 

Statement be given to every Purchaser in order to provide full 

and fair disclosure of the significant features of the 

condominium units being offered. The Public Offering 

Statement is not intended, however, to be all-inclusive. The 

Purchaser should consult other sources for details not covered 

by the Public Offering Statement. 

The Public Offering Statement summarizes information and 

documents furnished by the declarant to the Virginia 

Common Interest Community Board. The Board has carefully 

reviewed the Public Offering Statement to ensure that it 

contains required disclosures, but the Board does not 

guarantee the accuracy or completeness of the Public 

Offering Statement. In the event of any inconsistency 

between the Public Offering Statement and the material it is 

intended to summarize, the latter will control. 

Under Virginia law a purchaser of a condominium unit is 

afforded a [ 10-day 5-day ] period during which the purchaser 

may cancel the purchase contract of sale and obtain a full 

refund of any sums deposited in connection with the purchase 

contract. The [ 10-day 5-day ] period begins on the purchase 
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contract date or the date of delivery of a Public Offering 

Statement, whichever is later. The purchaser may, if 

practicable, inspect the condominium unit and the common 

elements and obtain professional advice. If the purchaser 

elects to cancel, the purchaser must deliver notice of 

cancellation to the declarant pursuant to § 55-79.88 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Allegations of violation of any law or regulation contained 

in the Condominium Act or the Condominium Regulations 

should be reported to the Virginia Common Interest 

Community Board, Perimeter Center, Suite 400, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Richmond, Virginia 23233. 

C. A summary of important considerations shall 

immediately follow the first page for the purpose of 

reinforcing the disclosure of significant information. The 

summary shall be titled as such and shall be introduced by the 

following statement:  

"Following are important matters to be considered in 

acquiring a condominium unit. They are highlights only. 

The Public Offering Statement should be examined in its 

entirety to obtain detailed information."  

Appropriate modifications shall be made to reflect facts and 

circumstances that may vary. The summary shall consist of, 

but not be limited to, the following, as applicable: 

1. A statement on the governance of the condominium 

wherein unit owners are allocated votes for certain 

decisions of the association. In addition, the statement shall 

include that all unit owners will be bound by the decisions 

made by the association, even if the individual unit owner 

disagrees. 

2. A statement concerning the decision-making authority of 

the executive organ of the unit owners' association. 

3. A statement regarding the payment of expenses of the 

association on the basis of a periodic budget, to include a 

disclosure of any provision for reserves, including a 

statement if there are no reserves.  

4. A statement detailing the requirement for each unit 

owner to pay a periodic assessment and the inability to 

reduce the amount of an assessment by refraining from the 

use of the common elements. 

5. A statement of the unit owner's responsibility to pay 

additional assessments, if any. 

6. A statement regarding the consequences for failure to 

pay an assessment when due. The statement shall include 

reference to the enforcement mechanisms available to the 

association, including obtaining a lien against the 

condominium unit, pursuing civil action against the unit 

owner, and certain other penalties.  

7. A statement that the declarant must pay assessments on 

unsold condominium units.  

8. A statement indicating whether the declarant, its 

predecessors, or principal officer have undergone a 

debtor's relief proceeding.  

9. A statement that the declarant will retain control of the 

unit owners' association for an initial period.  

10. A statement indicating whether a managing agent will 

perform the routine operations of the unit owners' 

association. The statement shall include whether the 

managing agent is related to the declarant, director, or 

officer of the unit owners' association.  

11. A statement indicating whether the declarant may lease 

unsold condominium units and a statement indicating 

whether the right of a unit owner to lease that owner's unit 

to another is subject to restrictions.  

12. A statement indicating whether the declarant may 

expand or contract the condominium or convert convertible 

land or space without the consent of any unit owner.  

13. A statement indicating whether the right of the unit 

owner to resell the owner's condominium unit is subject to 

restrictions.  

14. A statement indicating whether the units are restricted 

to residential use and whether the units may be utilized for 

commercial, retail, or professional use. The statement shall 

provide detail if units have different voting rights. Further, 

the statement shall also detail whether the allocation of 

rights and responsibilities among commercial, retail, 

professional, or residential use units are the same. 

15. A statement indicating whether approval of the 

declarant or unit owners' association is necessary in order 

for a unit owner to alter the structure of the unit or modify 

the exterior of the unit.  

16. A statement regarding the obligation of the unit 

owners' association to obtain certain insurance benefiting 

the unit owner, along with the necessity for a unit owner to 

obtain other insurance.  

17. A statement regarding the unit owner's obligation to 

pay real estate taxes.  

18. A statement regarding any limits the declarant asserts 

on the association or the unit owner's right to bring legal 

action against the declarant. Nothing in this statement shall 

be deemed to authorize such limits where those limits are 

otherwise prohibited by law. 

19. A statement that the association or unit owners are 

members of another association or obligated to perform 

duties or pay fees or charges to that association or entity. 

20. A statement indicating whether the condominium is 

subject to development as a time-share.  

21. A statement affirming that marketing and sale of 

condominium units will be conducted in accordance with 

the Virginia Fair Housing Law (§ 36-96.1 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia) and the Condominium Act (Chapter 4.2 

(§ 55-79.39 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia).  
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D. The content after the summary of important 

considerations shall include the narrative sections in 

18VAC48-30-190 through 18VAC48-30-360. Supplementary 

sections may be included as necessary.  

E. Clear and legible copies of the following documents shall 

be attached as exhibits to the public offering statement:  

1.The declaration;  

2. The bylaws;  

3. The projected budget;  

4. Rules and regulations of the unit owners' association, if 

available;  

5. Master association documents, if applicable; 

6. Any management contract, along with the license 

number of the common interest community manager, if 

applicable;  

7. Depiction of unit layouts; 

8. Any lease of recreational areas; 

9. Any contract or agreement affecting the use, 

maintenance, or access of all or any portion of the 

condominium, the nature, duration, or expense of which 

has a material impact on the operation and administration 

of the condominium;  

10. Warranty information, if applicable; and 

11. Other documents obligating the association or unit 

owner to perform duties or obligations or pay charges or 

fees. 

F. Other information and documentation may be included as 

necessary to ensure full and fair disclosure. The board may 

also require additional information as necessary to ensure full 

and fair disclosure. 

18VAC48-30-190. Narrative sections; condominium 

concept. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "The Condominium Concept." The section shall 

consist of a brief discussion of the condominium form of 

ownership. The section shall discuss the distinction among 

units, common elements and limited common elements, if 

any, and shall explain ownership of an undivided interest in 

the common elements. Attention shall be directed to any 

features of ownership of the condominium units being offered 

that are different from typical condominium unit ownership. 

18VAC48-30-200. Narrative sections; creation of 

condominium. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Creation of the Condominium." The section shall 

briefly explain the manner in which the condominium was or 

will be created, the locality wherein the condominium 

instruments will be or have been recorded, and each of the 

condominium instruments, their functions, and the procedure 

for their amendment. The section shall indicate where each of 

the condominium instruments or copies thereof may be 

found. In the case of a condominium located in Virginia or in 

a jurisdiction having a law similar to § 55-79.96 of the Code 

of Virginia, the section shall indicate that the purchaser will 

receive copies of the recorded declaration and bylaws, 

including amendments, as appropriate, within the time 

provided in the applicable statute.  

18VAC48-30-210. Narrative sections; description of 

condominium. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Description of the Condominium." The 

description shall include statements of (i) the land area of the 

condominium to include either the square footage or the 

acreage, (ii) the number of units in the condominium, (iii) the 

number of units in the offering, (iv) the number of units in the 

condominium planned to be rented, and (v) the percentage of 

units the declarant intends to sell to persons who do not 

intend to occupy the units as their primary residence.  

B. If the condominium is contractable, expandable, or 

includes convertible land or space, the section shall contain a 

brief description of each such feature, including the land area 

to include either the square footage or acreage, and the 

maximum number of units or maximum number of units per 

acre that may be added, withdrawn, or converted, as 

applicable, together with a statement of the declarant's plans 

for the implementation of each such feature. In the case of a 

contractable or expandable condominium, the section shall 

contain the substance of the following statement:  

"At the declarant's option, the construction and 

development of the condominium may be abandoned or 

altered prior to completion, and land or buildings originally 

intended for condominium development may be put to 

other uses or sold."  

In the case of a condominium including convertible land, the 

section shall contain the substance of the following 

statements:  

"Until such time as the declarant converts the convertible 

land into units or limited common elements, the declarant 

is required by the Virginia Condominium Act to pay for 

the upkeep of the convertible land. Once the convertible 

land has been converted, maintenance and other financial 

responsibilities associated with the land so designated 

become the responsibility of the unit owners and, therefore, 

may be reflected in the periodic assessment for the 

condominium."  

If the common expense assessments are expected to increase 

should convertible land be converted, this section shall also 

disclose an estimate of the approximate percentage by which 

such assessments are expected to increase as a result of such 

conversion.  

C. The section shall state whether the units are restricted 

solely to residential use and shall identify where use and 

occupancy restrictions are found in the condominium 

instruments. If nonresidential use is permitted, the section 
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shall identify the types of units and proportion of each, if 

known or reasonably anticipated.  

D. The section shall state whether the project, as of the 

effective date of the public offering statement, is intended to 

comply with the underwriting guidelines of the secondary 

mortgage market agencies, including but not limited to the 

Federal National Mortgage Association, the Federal Home 

Loan Mortgage Corporation, and the Virginia Housing 

Development Authority.  

18VAC48-30-220. Narrative section; individual units. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Individual Units." The section shall contain a 

general description of the various types of units being offered 

to include the square footage, or number of bedrooms, or 

both, together with the dates on which substantial completion 

of unfinished units is anticipated. The section shall state any 

restrictions regarding changes unit owners may make to the 

structure or exterior of the units, regardless of whether the 

exterior is a portion of the common elements.  

18VAC48-30-230. Narrative sections; common elements. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Common Elements." The section shall contain a 

general description of the common elements.  

B. For any common elements that are not completed or not 

expected to be substantially complete when the units are 

complete, a statement of the anticipated completion dates of 

unfinished common elements shall be included.  

C. In the case of a [ condominum condominium ] located in 

Virginia, if common elements are not expected to be 

substantially complete when the units are completed, the 

section shall state the nature, source, and extent of the 

obligation to complete such common elements that the 

declarant has incurred or intends to incur upon recordation of 

the condominium instruments pursuant to §§ 55-79.58 A and 

55-79.67 (a1) of the Code of Virginia and applicable 

provisions of the condominium instruments. In addition the 

section shall state that pursuant to § 55-79.58:1 of the Code of 

Virginia, the declarant has filed with the board a bond to 

insure completion of improvements to the common elements 

that the declarant is obligated as stated in the declaration.  

D. In the case of a condominium located outside of Virginia, 

a description of the nature, source, and extent of the 

obligation to complete such common elements that the 

declarant has incurred or intends to incur under the law of the 

jurisdiction in which the condominium is located shall be 

included.  

E. The section shall describe any limited common elements 

that are assigned or that may be assigned and shall indicate 

the reservation of exclusive use. In the case of limited 

common elements that may be assigned, the section shall 

state the manner of such assignment or reassignment.  

F. The section shall indicate the availability of vehicular 

parking spaces including the number of spaces available per 

unit and restrictions on or charges for the use of spaces.  

18VAC48-30-240. Narrative sections; maintenance, 

repair, and replacement responsibilities. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Maintenance, Repair, and Replacement 

Responsibilities." The section shall describe the basic 

allocation of maintenance, repair, and replacement 

responsibilities between the unit owner and the association as 

well as any unusual items to be maintained by the unit owner. 

The section shall refer to the location of the maintenance, 

repair, and replacement responsibility requirements in the 

condominium instruments. 

18VAC48-30-250. Narrative sections; declarant. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "The Declarant." The section shall contain a brief 

history of the declarant with emphasis on its experience in 

condominium development.  

B. The following information shall be stated with regard to 

persons immediately responsible for the development of the 

condominium: (i) name, (ii) length of time associated with the 

declarant, (iii) role in the development of the condominium, 

and (iv) experience in real estate development. If different 

from the persons immediately responsible for the 

development of the condominium, the principal officers of the 

declarant shall also be identified.  

C. The section shall describe the type of legal entity of the 

declarant and explain if any other entities have any obligation 

to satisfy the financial obligations of the declarant.  

D. If the declarant or its parent or predecessor organization 

has, during the preceding 10 years, been adjudicated [ a as ] 

bankrupt or has undergone any proceeding for the relief of 

debtors, such fact or facts shall be stated. If any of the persons 

identified pursuant to subsection B of this section has, during 

the preceding three years, been adjudicated a bankrupt or 

undergone any proceeding for the relief of debtors, such fact 

or facts shall be stated.  

E. The section shall indicate any final action taken against 

the declarant, its principals, or the condominium by an 

administrative agency, civil court, or criminal court where the 

action reflected adversely upon the performance of the 

declarant as a developer of real estate projects. The section 

shall also indicate any current or past proceedings brought 

against the declarant by any condominium unit owners' 

association or by its executive organ or any managing agent 

on behalf of such association or that has been certified as a 

class action on behalf of some or all of the unit owners. For 

the purposes of the previous sentence with respect to past 

proceedings, if the ultimate disposition of those proceedings 

was one that reflected adversely upon the performance of the 

declarant, that disposition shall be disclosed. If the ultimate 

disposition was resolved favorably towards the declarant, its 
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principals, or the condominium, the final action does not need 

to be disclosed. The board has the sole discretion to require 

additional disclosure of any proceedings where it finds such 

disclosure necessary to assure full and fair disclosure.  

18VAC48-30-260. Narrative sections; terms of the 

offering. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Terms of the Offering." The section shall discuss 

the expenses to be borne by a purchaser in acquiring a 

condominium unit and present information regarding the 

settlement of purchase contracts as provided in subsections B 

through H of this section.  

B. The section shall indicate the offering prices for 

condominium units or a price range for condominium units, if 

either is established.  

C. The section shall set forth the significant terms of any 

financing offered by or through the declarant to purchasers. 

Such discussion shall include the substance of the following 

statement:  

"Financing is subject to additional terms and conditions 

stated in the loan commitment or instruments."  

D. The section shall discuss in detail any costs collected by 

or paid to the declarant, association, or master association that 

are not normal for residential real estate transactions 

including, without limitation, any contribution to the initial or 

working capital of the unit owners' association, including any 

master association, to be paid by a purchaser.  

E. The section shall discuss any penalties or forfeitures to be 

incurred by a purchaser upon default in performance of a 

purchase contract that are not normal for residential real 

estate transactions. Penalties or forfeitures to be discussed 

include, without limitation, the declarant's right to retain sums 

deposited in connection with a purchase contract in the event 

of a refusal by a lending institution to provide financing to a 

purchaser who has made proper application for same.  

F. The section shall discuss the right of the declarant to 

cancel a purchase contract upon failure of the declarant to 

obtain purchase contracts on a given number or percentage of 

condominium units being offered or upon failure of the 

declarant to meet other conditions precedent to obtaining 

necessary financing.  

G. The section shall discuss the process for cancellation of a 

purchase contract by a purchaser in accordance with 

subdivision 2 of § 55-79.88 of the Code of Virginia. The 

section shall include a statement as to whether deposits will 

be held in an escrow fund or if a bond or letter of credit will 

be filed with the board in lieu of escrowing deposits, all in 

accordance with § 55-79.95 of the Code of Virginia. 

H. The section shall set forth any restrictions in the purchase 

contract that limit the unit owner's right to bring legal action 

against the declarant or the association. The section shall set 

forth the paragraph or section and page number of the 

purchase contract where such provision is located. Nothing in 

this statement shall be deemed to authorize such limits where 

those limits are otherwise prohibited by law. 

18VAC48-30-270. Narrative sections; encumbrances. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Encumbrances" that shall include the significant 

terms of any encumbrances, easements, liens, and matters of 

title affecting the condominium other than those contained in 

the condominium instruments and disclosed elsewhere in the 

public offering statement, as provided in subsections B 

through J of this section.  

B. Except to the extent that such encumbrances are required 

to be satisfied or released by subsection A of § 55-79.46 of 

the Code of Virginia, or a similar law, the section shall 

describe every mortgage, deed of trust, other perfected lien, 

or choate mechanics or materialmen's lien affecting all or any 

portion of the condominium other than those placed on 

condominium units by their purchasers or owners. Such 

description shall (i) identify the lender secured or the 

lienholder, (ii) state the nature and original amount of the 

obligation secured, (iii) identify the party having primary 

responsibility for performance of the obligation secured, and 

(iv) indicate the practical effect upon unit owners of failure of 

the party to perform the obligation.  

C. Normal easements for utilities, municipal rights-of-way, 

and emergency access shall be described only as such, 

without reference to ownership, location, or other details.  

D. Easements reserved to the declarant to facilitate 

conversion, expansion, or sales shall be briefly described.  

E. Easements reserved to the declarant or to the unit owners' 

association or to either entity's representatives or agents for 

access to units shall be briefly described. In the event that 

access to a unit may be had without notice to the unit owner, 

such fact shall be stated.  

F. Easements across the condominium reserved to the 

owners or occupants of land located in the vicinity of the 

condominium, or across adjacent land benefitting the 

condominium including, without limitation, easements for the 

use of recreational areas shall be briefly described.  

G. Covenants, servitudes, or other devices that create an 

actual restriction on the right of any unit owner to use and 

enjoy the unit or any portion of the common elements other 

than limited common elements shall be briefly described. 

H. Any matter of title that is not otherwise required to be 

disclosed by the provisions of this section and that has or may 

have a substantial adverse impact upon unit owners' interests 

in the condominium shall be described. Under normal 

circumstances, normal and customary utility easements, 

easements for encroachments, and easements running in favor 

of unit owners for ingress and egress across the common 

elements shall be deemed not to have a substantial adverse 

impact upon unit owners' interest in the condominium.  
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I. The section need not include any information required to 

be disclosed by 18VAC48-30-210 C, 18VAC48-30-220, or 

18VAC48-30-280. 

J. In addition to the description of easements required in this 

section, pertinent easements that can be located shall be 

shown on the condominium plats and plans.  

18VAC48-30-280. Narrative sections; restrictions on 

transfer. 

The public offering statement shall include a section 

captioned "Restrictions on Transfer." The section shall 

describe and explain any rights of first refusal, preemptive 

rights, limitations on leasing, or other restraints on free 

alienability created by the condominium instruments or the 

rules and regulations of the unit owners' association that 

affect the unit owners' right to resell, lease, or otherwise 

transfer an interest in the condominium unit.  

18VAC48-30-290. Narrative sections; unit owners' 

association. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Unit Owners' Association." The section shall 

discuss the manner in which the condominium is governed 

and administered and shall include the information required 

by subsections B through K of this section.  

B. The section shall summarize the functions of the unit 

owners' association.  

C. The section shall describe the organizational structure of 

the unit owners' association. Such description shall indicate 

(i) the existence of or provision for an executive organ, 

officers, and managing agent, if any; (ii) the relationships 

between such persons or bodies; (iii) the manner of election 

or appointment of such persons or bodies; and (iv) the 

assignment or delegation of responsibility for the 

performance of the functions of the unit owners' association.  

D. The section shall describe the method of allocating votes 

among the unit owners.  

E. The section shall describe any retention by the declarant 

of control over the unit owners' association, including the 

time period of declarant control. The section shall state that 

the association shall register with the Common Interest 

Community Board upon transition of declarant control by 

filing the required annual report in accordance with § 55-

79.93:1 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. The managing agent, if any, shall be identified. If a 

managing agent is to be employed in the future, the criteria, if 

any, for selection of the managing agent shall be briefly 

stated. The section shall indicate any relationship between the 

managing agent and the declarant or a member of the 

executive organ or an officer of the unit owners' association. 

The duration of any management agreement shall be stated.  

G. Except to the extent otherwise disclosed in connection 

with discussion of a management agreement, the significant 

terms of any lease of recreational areas or similar contract or 

agreement affecting the use, maintenance, or access of all or 

any part of the condominium shall be stated. The section shall 

include a brief narrative statement of the effect of each such 

agreement upon a purchaser.  

H. Rules and regulations of the unit owners' association and 

the authority to promulgate rules and regulations shall be 

discussed. Particular provisions of the rules and regulations 

need not be discussed except as required by other provisions 

of this chapter. The purchaser's attention shall be directed to 

the copy of rules and regulations, if any, attached to the 

public offering statement.  

I. Any standing committees established or to be established 

to perform functions of the unit owners' association shall be 

discussed. Such committees include, without limitation, 

architectural control committees and committees having the 

authority to interpret condominium instruments, rules, and 

regulations or other operative provisions.  

J. Unless required to be disclosed by 18VAC48-30-270 E, 

any power of the declarant or of the unit owners' association 

or its representatives or agents to enter units shall be 

discussed. To the extent each is applicable, the following 

facts shall be stated (i) a unit may be entered without notice to 

the unit owner, (ii) the declarant or the unit owners' 

association or its representatives or agents are empowered to 

take actions or perform work in a unit without the consent of 

the unit owner, and (iii) the unit owner may be required to 

bear the costs of actions so taken or work so performed.  

K. The section shall state whether the condominium is part 

of a master or other association and briefly describe such 

relationship and the responsibilities of and obligations to the 

master association, including any charges for which the unit 

owner or the unit owners' association may be responsible. The 

disclosures required by this subsection may be contained in 

this narrative section or another narrative section. The section 

shall also describe any other obligation of the association or 

unit owners arising out of any agreements, easements, deed 

restrictions, or proffers, including the obligation to pay fees 

or other charges. 

18VAC48-30-300. Narrative sections; display of flag. 

The public offering statement shall include a section 

captioned "Display of Flag." This section shall describe any 

restrictions, limitations, or prohibitions on the right of a unit 

owner to display the flag of the United States in accordance 

with § 55-79.75:2 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-30-310. Narrative sections; surrounding area. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Surrounding Area." The section shall briefly 

describe the zoning of the immediate neighborhood of the 

condominium and the current uses.  

18VAC48-30-320. Narrative sections; financial matters. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Financial Matters." The section shall discuss the 

expenses incident to the ownership of a condominium unit, 
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excluding certain taxes, in the manner provided in subsections 

B through I of this section.  

B. The section shall distinguish, in general terms, the 

following categories of costs of operation, maintenance, 

repair, and replacement of various portions of the 

condominium: (i) common expenses apportioned among and 

assessed to all of the condominium units pursuant to 

subsection C of § 55-79.83 of the Code of Virginia or similar 

law or condominium instrument provision; (ii) common 

expenses, if any, apportioned among and assessed to less than 

all of the condominium units pursuant to subsections A and B 

of § 55-79.83 of the Code of Virginia or similar law or 

condominium instrument provisions; and (iii) costs borne 

directly by individual unit owners. The section need not 

discuss taxes assessed against individual condominium units 

and payable directly by the unit owners.  

C. A budget shall show projected common expenses for the 

first year of the condominium's operation or, if different, the 

latest year for which a budget is available. The projected 

budget shall be attached to the public offering statement as an 

exhibit and the section shall direct the purchaser's attention to 

such exhibit. The section shall describe the manner in which 

the projected budget is established. If the condominium is 

phased, the budget shall project future years until all phases 

are projected to be developed and all common elements that 

must be built have been completed. The budget shall include 

an initial working capital budget showing sources and uses of 

initial working capital and a reserve table showing amounts to 

be collected to fund those reserves. The budget shall show 

regular individual assessments by unit type. The budget shall 

note that the figures are not guaranteed and may vary.  

D. The section shall describe the manner in which regular 

common expenses are apportioned among and assessed to the 

condominium units. The section shall include the substance 

of the following statement, if applicable:  

"A unit owner cannot obtain a reduction of the regular 

common expenses assessed against the unit by refraining 

from use of any of the common elements."  

E. The section shall describe budget provisions for reserves 

for capital expenditures in accordance with § 55-79.83:1 of 

the Code of Virginia and for contingencies, if any. If there are 

no reserves, the section shall so state. 

F. The section shall describe provisions for additional 

assessments to be levied in accordance with subsection E of 

§ 55-79.83 of the Code of Virginia in the event that budgeted 

assessments provide insufficient funds for operation of the 

unit owners' association. The section shall also describe the 

provisions for an assessment against an individual unit owner. 

G. The section shall discuss any common expenses actually 

planned to be specially assessed pursuant to subsections A 

and B of § 55-79.83 of the Code of Virginia or similar law or 

condominium instrument provisions.  

H. The section shall indicate any fee, rent, or other charge to 

be payable by unit owners other than through common 

expense assessments to any party for use of the common 

elements or for use of recreational or parking facilities in the 

vicinity of the condominium. As an exception to the 

provisions of this subsection, the section need not discuss any 

fees provided for in subsection H of § 55-79.84 and § 55-

79.85 of the Code of Virginia, or similar laws or 

condominium instrument provisions or any costs for 

certificates for resale.  

I. The section shall discuss the effect of failure of a unit 

owner to pay the assessments levied against the condominium 

unit. Such discussion shall indicate provisions for charges or 

other remedies that may be imposed to be applied in the case 

of overdue assessments and for acceleration of unpaid 

assessments. The section shall indicate the existence of a lien 

for unpaid assessments and where applicable the bond or 

letter of credit conditioned on the payment of assessments 

filed with the board in accordance with § 55-79.84:1 of the 

Code of Virginia. The section shall include, to the extent 

applicable, the substance of the following statement:  

"The unit owners' association may obtain payment of 

overdue assessments by bringing legal action against the 

unit owner or by foreclosure of the lien resulting in a 

forced sale of the condominium unit." 

18VAC48-30-330. Narrative sections; insurance. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Insurance." The section shall describe generally 

the insurance on the condominium to be maintained by the 

unit owners' association. The section shall state, with respect 

to such insurance, each of the following circumstances, to the 

extent applicable: (i) property damage coverage will not 

insure personal property belonging to unit owners; (ii) 

property damage coverage will not insure improvements to a 

unit that increase its value beyond the limits of coverage 

provided in the unit owners' association's policy, and (iii) 

liability coverage will not insure against liability arising from 

an accident or injury occurring within a unit or as a result of 

the act or negligence of a unit owner. The section shall 

include a statement whether the unit owner is obligated to 

obtain coverage for any or all of the coverages described. The 

section shall also include a statement that the unit owner 

should consult with an insurance professional to determine 

the appropriate coverage. 

B. The section shall indicate any conditions imposed by the 

condominium instruments or the rules and regulations to 

which insurance obtained directly by unit owners will be 

subject. Such indication may be made by reference to 

pertinent provisions of the condominium instruments or the 

rules and regulations.  

C. The section shall explain that the association is the only 

party that can make a claim under the master policy and is the 

sole decision-maker as to whether to make a claim, including 
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a statement as to the circumstances under which a unit owner 

could be responsible for payment of the deductible. 

D. The section shall state that the unit owners' association is 

required to obtain and maintain a blanket fidelity bond or 

employee dishonesty insurance policy in accordance with 

subsection B of § 55-79.81 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-30-340. Narrative sections; taxes. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Taxes." The section shall describe all existing or 

[ proposed pending ] taxes to be levied against condominium 

units individually including, without limitation, real property 

taxes, sewer connection charges, and other special 

assessments.  

B. With respect to real property taxes, the section shall state 

the current tax rate or provide information for obtaining the 

current tax rate. The section shall also state a procedure or 

formula by means of which the taxes may be estimated.  

C. With respect to other taxes, the section shall describe 

each tax in sufficient detail as to indicate the time at which 

the tax will be levied and the actual or estimated amount to be 

levied, or a procedure or formula by means of which the taxes 

may be estimated. 

18VAC48-30-350. Narrative sections; governmental 

reviews. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Governmental Reviews." The section shall discuss 

governmental reviews applicable to the condominium 

property and the status of any governmental approvals 

required for the development of the condominium. In 

addition, the section shall discuss approval of the zoning 

application and site plan and issuance of building permits by 

appropriate governmental authorities. The section shall state 

the current zoning classification for the condominium 

property. The section shall also include a statement regarding 

any zoning, subdivision, or land use obligations or proffers 

that would be imposed on the unit owner or the association, 

but need not disclose any zoning, subdivision, or land use 

obligations or proffers that do not impose any obligation on 

the association. 

18VAC48-30-360. Narrative sections; warranties. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Warranties." The section shall describe any 

warranties provided by or through the declarant on the units 

or the common elements and a summary of the process for 

commencement of an action for breach of warranty in 

accordance with subsection C of § 55-79.79 of the Code of 

Virginia. The section shall describe the structural defect 

warranty required by and described in subsection B of § 55-

79.79 of the Code of Virginia. The section shall also include 

the substance of the following statement: 

"Nothing contained in the warranty provided by the 

declarant shall limit the protection afforded by the statutory 

warranty."  

18VAC48-30-370. Documents from other jurisdictions. 

A. A substituted public offering statement shall only be 

permitted for a condominium located outside of Virginia.  

B. The substituted public offering statement shall be 

prepared by deleting from the original disclosure document 

(i) references to any governmental agency of another 

jurisdiction to which application has been made or will be 

made for registration or related action; (ii) references to the 

action of such governmental agency relative to the 

condominium; (iii) statements of the legal effect in another 

jurisdiction of delivery, failure to deliver, acknowledgement 

of receipt, or related events involving the disclosure 

document; (iv) the effective date or dates in another 

jurisdiction of the disclosure document; and (v) all other 

information that is untrue, inaccurate, or misleading with 

respect to marketing, offers, or disposition of condominium 

units in Virginia.  

C. The substituted public offering statement shall 

incorporate all information not otherwise included that is 

necessary to effect fully and accurately the disclosures 

required by subsection A of § 55-79.90 of the Code of 

Virginia and, if applicable, subsection A of § 55-79.94 of the 

Code of Virginia. The substituted disclosure document shall 

clearly explain any nomenclature that is different from the 

definitions provided in § 55-79.41 of the Code of Virginia.  

D. The substituted public offering statement shall include as 

the first item of the summary of important considerations a 

statement that includes the following information: (i) the 

designation by which the original disclosure document is 

identified in the original jurisdiction, (ii) the governmental 

agency of such other jurisdiction where the original 

disclosure document is or will be filed, and (iii) the 

jurisdiction of such filing. 

E. The provisions of subdivision 2 of § 55-79.88, § 55-

79.90, and subsection A of § 55-79.94 of the Code of Virginia 

and 18VAC48-30-160, 18VAC48-30-170, and 18VAC48-30-

180 shall apply to substituted public offering statements in 

the same manner and to the same extent that they apply to 

public offering statements. 

18VAC48-30-380. Condominium securities. 

A prospectus filed in compliance with the securities laws of 

a state or federal agency used in lieu of a public offering 

statement shall contain or have attached thereto copies of 

documents, other than the projected budget required to be 

attached to a public offering statement by subsection E of 

18VAC48-30-180. Such prospectus shall be deemed to satisfy 

all of the disclosure requirements of subsections C and D of 

18VAC48-30-180 and 18VAC48-30-190 through 18VAC48-

30-360. In the case of a conversion condominium, the 

prospectus shall have attached thereto, in suitable form, the 

information required by 18VAC48-30-420, subsections C and 

D of 18VAC48-30-430, and 18VAC48-30-440 to be 

disclosed in public offering statements for conversion 

condominiums. The provisions of subdivision 2 of § 55-79.88 
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of the Code of Virginia shall apply to the delivery of the 

prospectus in the same manner and to the same extent that 

they apply to the delivery of a public offering statement.  

18VAC48-30-390. Board oversight of public offering 

statement. 

The board at any time may require a declarant to alter or 

amend the public offering statement to assure full and fair 

disclosure to prospective purchasers and to ensure compliance 

with the Condominium Act and this chapter.  

In accordance with subsection B of § 55-79.90 of the Code 

of Virginia, the board does not approve or recommend the 

condominium or disposition thereof. The board's issuance of 

an effective date for a public offering statement shall not be 

construed to (i) constitute approval of the condominium, (ii) 

represent that the board asserts that either all facts or material 

changes or both concerning the condominium have been fully 

or adequately disclosed, or (iii) indicate that the board has 

made judgment on the value or merits of the condominium. 

Part V 

Conversion Condominiums 

18VAC48-30-400. Public offering statement for 

conversion condominium; general instructions. 

The public offering statement for a conversion 

condominium shall conform in all respects to the 

requirements of 18VAC48-30-160 through 18VAC48-30-

380. In addition, the public offering statement for a 

conversion condominium shall (i) contain special disclosures 

in the narrative sections captioned "Description of the 

Condominium," "Terms of the Offering," and "Financial 

Matters"; and (ii) incorporate narrative sections captioned 

"Present Condition of the Condominium" and "Replacement 

Requirements." Provisions for such additional disclosure are 

set forth in 18VAC48-30-410 through 18VAC48-30-440. 

18VAC48-30-410. Description of conversion 

condominium. 

In addition to the information required by 18VAC48-30-

210, the section captioned "Description of the Condominium" 

shall indicate that the condominium is a conversion 

condominium. The term conversion condominium shall be 

defined and the particular circumstances that bring the 

condominium within the definition shall be stated. The nature 

and inception date of prior occupancy of the property being 

converted shall be stated.  

18VAC48-30-420. Financial matters, conversion 

condominium. 

A. The provisions for capital reserves described in the 

section captioned "Financial Matters" shall conform with 

18VAC48-30-320 and shall be supplemented by the 

information set forth in subsections B and C of this section.  

B. The section shall state the aggregate replacement cost of 

all physical assets whose replacement costs will constitute 

regular common expenses and whose expected useful lives 

are 10 years or less. For the purposes of this subsection, an 

expected useful life that is stated as being within a range of 

years pursuant to subsection E of 18VAC48-30-440 shall be 

deemed to be 10 years or less, if the lower limit of such range 

is 10 years or less. The total common expense assessments 

per unit that would be necessary in order to accumulate an 

amount of capital reserves equal to such aggregate 

replacement cost shall be stated.  

C. The section shall state the amount of capital reserves that 

will be accumulated by the unit owners' association during 

the period of declarant control together with any provisions of 

the condominium instruments specifying the rate at which 

reserves are to be accumulated thereafter. If any part of the 

capital reserves will or may be obtained other than through 

regular common expense and limited common expense 

assessments, such fact shall be stated.  

D. The actual expenditures made over a three-year period on 

operation, maintenance, repair, or other upkeep of the 

property prior to its conversion to condominium shall be set 

forth in tabular form as an exhibit immediately preceding or 

following the budget attached to the public offering statement 

pursuant to subsection C of 18VAC48-30-320, and shall be 

presented in a manner that is not misleading. Distinction shall 

be made between expenditures that would have constituted 

regular common expenses and limited common expenses, and 

expenditures that would have been borne by unit owners 

individually if the property had been converted to a 

condominium prior to the commencement of the three-year 

period. To the extent that it is impossible or impracticable to 

so distinguish the expenditures it shall be assumed that they 

would have constituted regular common expenses or limited 

common expenses.  

Both types of expenditures shall be cumulatively broken 

down on a per unit basis in the same proportion that common 

expenses are or will actually be assessed against the 

condominium units. The three-year period to which this 

subsection refers shall be the most recent three-year period 

prior to application for registration during which the property 

was occupied and for which expenditure information is 

available. The expenditure information shall indicate the 

years for which expenditures are stated. If any portion of the 

property being converted to condominium was not occupied 

for the full three-year period, expenditure information shall be 

set forth only for the entire time period that portion of the 

property was occupied. The "Financial Matters" section shall 

direct the purchaser's attention to the expenditure information. 

18VAC48-30-430. Present condition of conversion 

condominium. 

A. The section captioned "Present Condition of the 

Condominium" shall contain a statement of the approximate 

dates of original construction or installation of all physical 

assets in the condominium. A single construction or 

installation date may be stated for all of the physical assets (i) 

in the condominium, (ii) within a distinctly identifiable 

portion of the condominium, or (iii) within a distinctly 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 1, 2015 

1675 

identifiable category of physical assets. A statement made 

pursuant to the preceding sentence shall include a separate 

reference to the construction or installation date of any 

physical asset within a stated group of physical assets that 

was constructed or installed significantly earlier than the 

construction or installation date indicated for the group 

generally. No statement shall be made that a physical asset or 

portion thereof has been repaired, altered, improved, or 

replaced subsequent to its construction or installation unless 

the approximate date, nature, and extent of such repair, 

alteration, improvement, or replacement is also stated. 

B. Subject to the exceptions provided in subsections D, E, 

and F of this section, the section captioned "Present Condition 

of the Condominium" shall contain a description of the 

present condition of all physical assets within the 

condominium. The description of present condition shall 

disclose all structural defects and incapacities of major utility 

installations to perform their intended functions as would be 

observable, detectable, or deducible by means of standard 

inspection and investigative techniques employed by 

architects or professional engineers, as the case may be.  

C. The section shall indicate the dates of inspection by 

means of which the described present condition was 

determined; provided, however, that such inspections shall 

have been conducted not more than one year prior to the date 

of filing the application for registration. The section shall 

identify the party or parties by whom present condition was 

ascertained and shall indicate the relationship of such party or 

parties to the declarant.  

D. A single statement of the present condition of a class of 

physical assets shall suffice to disclose the present condition 

of each physical asset within the class; provided, however, 

that, unless subsection F of this section applies, such 

statement shall include a separate reference to the present 

condition of any physical asset within the class that is 

significantly different from the present condition indicated for 

the class generally.  

E. The description of present condition may include a 

statement that all structural components in the condominium 

or in a distinctly identifiable portion thereof are in sound 

condition except those for which structural defects are noted.  

F. In a case in which there are numerous physical assets 

within a class of physical assets and inspection of each such 

physical asset is impracticable, the description of present 

condition of all the physical assets within the class may be 

based upon an inspection of a number of them selected at 

random, provided that the number selected is large enough to 

yield a reasonably reliable sample and that the total number 

of physical assets within the class and the number selected are 

disclosed. 

G. The section shall include statements disclosing any 

environmental issues pertaining to the building and the 

surrounding area, to include but not be limited to: 

1. The presence of any asbestos-containing material 

following an inspection of each building completed prior to 

July 1, 1978, as well as whether any response actions have 

been or will need to be taken as required by § 55-79.94 A 5 

of the Code of Virginia;  

2. Any known information on lead-based paint and lead-

based paint hazards in each building constructed prior to 

1978 pursuant to the Residential Lead-Based Paint Hazard 

Reduction Act of 1992 - Title X [ (42 USC § 4851 et 

seq.) ]; and 

3. Any obligations related to the declarant's participation in 

voluntary or nonvoluntary remediation activities. 

18VAC48-30-440. Replacement requirements in 

conversion condominium. 

A. Subject to the exceptions provided in subsections B and 

H of this section, the section captioned "Replacement 

Requirements" shall state the expected useful lives of all 

physical assets in the condominium. The section shall state 

that expected useful lives run from the date of the inspection 

by means of which the expected useful lives were determined. 

Such inspection date shall be stated.  

B. A single statement of the expected useful life of a class of 

physical assets shall suffice to disclose the expected useful 

life of each physical asset within the class; provided, 

however, that such statement shall include a separate 

reference to the expected useful life of any physical asset 

within such class that is significantly shorter than the 

expected useful life indicated for the class generally.  

C. An expected useful life may be qualified. A qualified 

expected useful life is an expected useful life expressly 

conditioned upon a given use or level of maintenance or other 

factor affecting longevity. No use, level of maintenance, or 

other factor affecting longevity shall be stated as a 

qualification unless such use, level of maintenance, or factor 

affecting longevity is normal or reasonably anticipated for the 

physical asset involved. If appropriate, an expected useful life 

may be stated as being indefinite, subject to the stated 

qualification that the physical asset involved must be properly 

used and maintained. An expected useful life may be stated as 

being within a range of years, provided that the range is not 

so broad as to render the statement meaningless. In no event 

shall the number of years constituting the lower limit of such 

range be less than two-thirds of the number of years 

constituting the upper limit.  

D. Subject to the exceptions provided in subsections E and 

H of this section, the section captioned "Replacement 

Requirements" shall state the replacement costs of all 

physical assets in the condominium including those whose 

expected useful lives are stated as being indefinite.  

E. A statement of the replacement cost of a representative 

member of a class of physical assets shall suffice to disclose 

the replacement cost of each physical asset within the class; 

provided, however, that such statement shall include a 
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separate reference to the replacement cost of any physical 

asset within the class that is significantly greater than the 

replacement cost indicated for the representative member of 

the class.  

F. Distinction shall be made between replacement costs that 

will be common expenses and replacement costs that will be 

borne by unit owners individually. The latter type of 

replacement costs shall be broken down on a per unit basis. 

The purchaser's attention shall be directed to the "Financial 

Matters" section for an indication of the amount of the former 

type of replacement costs.  

G. In any case in which the replacement cost of a physical 

asset may vary depending upon the circumstances 

surrounding its replacement, the stated replacement cost shall 

reflect the circumstances under which replacement will most 

probably be undertaken.  

H. A single expected useful life and an aggregate 

replacement cost may be stated for all of the structural 

components of a building or structure that have both (i) the 

same expected useful lives and (ii) replacement costs that will 

constitute regular common expenses. A statement made 

pursuant to the preceding sentence shall be accompanied by 

statements of the expected useful lives and replacement costs, 

stated on a per unit basis, of all of the structural components 

of the building or structure whose expected useful lives differ 

from the general expected useful life or whose replacement 

costs will be borne by unit owners individually. 

18VAC48-30-450. Notice to tenants. 

No notice to terminate tenancy of a unit provided for by 

subsection B of § 55-79.94 of the Code of Virginia shall be 

given prior to the registration of the condominium including 

such unit as to which the tenancy is to be terminated.  

Part VI 

Post-Registration Provisions 

18VAC48-30-460. Minimum post-registration reporting 

requirements. 

A. Subsequent to the issuance of a registration for a 

condominium by the board, the declarant of a condominium 

shall: 

1. File an annual report in accordance with § 55-79.93 of 

the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

2. File a copy of the formal notice to the tenants of a 

conversion condominium upon delivery or no later than 15 

days after delivery to such tenants in accordance with 

subsection B of § 55-79.94. 

3. Upon the occurrence of a material or nonmaterial 

change, file an amended public offering statement or 

substituted public offering statement in accordance with 

the provisions of 18VAC48-30-480 or 18VAC48-30-490, 

as applicable.  

4. Notify the board of a change in the bond or letter of 

credit, as applicable, required by §§ 55-79.58:1, 55-

79.84:1, and 55-79.95 of the Code of Virginia.  

5. File a complete application for registration of 

unregistered additional units upon the expansion of the 

condominium or the formation of units out of additional 

land. Notwithstanding the preceding, nonresidential units 

created out of convertible space need not be registered. 

Documents on file with the board and not changed with the 

creation of additional units need not be refiled provided 

that the application indicates that such documents are 

unchanged. 

6. Notify the board of transition of control of the unit 

owners' association. 

7. Notify the board upon the transfer of special declarant 

rights to a successor declarant. 

8. Submit appropriate documentation to the board once the 

registration is eligible for termination. 

9. Submit to the board any other document or information 

that may include information or documents that have been 

amended or may not have existed previously that affects 

the accuracy, completeness, or representation of any 

information or document filed with the application for 

registration. 

10. Submit to the board any document or information to 

make the registration file accurate and complete. 

B. Notwithstanding the requirements of subsection A of this 

section, the board at any time may require a declarant to 

provide information or documents, or amendments thereof, to 

assure full and fair disclosure to prospective purchasers and to 

ensure compliance with the Condominium Act and this 

chapter. 

18VAC48-30-470. Amendment of public offering 

statement. 

Any amendment of the public offering statement or 

substituted public offering statement shall comply with this 

chapter.  

18VAC48-30-480. Nonmaterial changes to the public 

offering statement. 

A. Changes to the public offering statement that are not 

material shall be filed with the board but shall not be deemed 

an amendment of the public offering statement for the 

purposes of this chapter and shall not give rise to a renewed 

right of [ recission rescission ] in any purchase. Nonmaterial 

changes to the public offering statement include, but may not 

be limited to, the following: 

1. Correction of spelling, grammar, omission, or other 

similar errors not affecting the substance of the public 

offering statement; 

2. Changes in presentation or format; 

3. Substitution of an executed, filed, or recorded copy of a 

document for the otherwise substantially identical 
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unexecuted, unfiled, or unrecorded copy of the document 

that was previously submitted; 

4. Inclusion of updated information such as identification 

or description of the current officers and directors of the 

declarant; 

5. Disclosure of completion of improvements for 

improvements that were previously proposed or not 

complete; 

6. Changes in real estate tax assessment or rate or 

modifications related to those changes; 

7. Changes in utility charges or rates or modifications 

related to those changes; 

8. Adoption of a new budget that does not result in a 

significant change in the common expense assessment or 

significantly impact the rights or obligations of the 

prospective purchasers; 

9. Modifications related to changes in insurance company 

or financial institution, policy, or amount for bonds or 

letters of credit required pursuant to §§ 55-79.58:1, 55-

79.84:1, and 55-79.95 of the Code of Virginia;  

10. Changes in management agent or common interest 

community manager; and 

11. Any change that is the result of orderly development of 

the condominium in accordance with the condominium 

instruments as described in the public offering statement. 

B. Nonmaterial changes to the public offering statement 

shall be submitted with the effective date of the changes 

detailed. All changes shall be clearly represented in the 

documentation presented. The additions and deletions of text 

in the public offering statement and exhibits shall be 

identified by underlining and striking through text to be 

added and deleted, and any documents being added to or 

deleted from the contents of the public offering statement 

shall be clearly and accurately reflected in the table of 

contents utilizing underlines and [ strikethroughs strike-

throughs ] for additions and deletions. In addition to the 

copies showing edits to the text, a clean copy of all new and 

amended documents shall be provided. In addition, the 

declarant shall include a statement with the submission of the 

declarant's plans, if any, to deliver the public offering 

statement to purchasers pursuant to subdivision 2 of § 55-

79.88 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. The board has the sole discretion for determining whether 

a change is nonmaterial. The declarant will be notified in 

writing within 15 days of receipt by the board if the submitted 

changes are determined to be material. Should a change be 

submitted as nonmaterial but determined to be a material 

change during review, the requirements contained in 

18VAC48-30-470 and 18VAC48-30-490 shall be applicable. 

18VAC48-30-490. Filing of amended public offering 

statement. 

A. The declarant shall promptly file with the board for 

review a copy of the amended public offering statement or 

substituted public offering statement together with a copy of a 

summary of proposed amendments that shall be distributed to 

purchasers during the board review period. The summary of 

proposed amendments shall enumerate the amendments to the 

public offering statement submitted for board review and 

include a statement that the amendments to the public 

offering statement have been filed with the board but have not 

yet been accepted. The form of the submission is at the 

discretion of the declarant provided, however, that (i) all 

amendments are clearly represented in the documentation 

presented, (ii) the additions and deletions of text in the public 

offering statement and exhibits shall be identified by 

underlining and striking through text to be added and deleted, 

and (iii) any documents being added to or deleted from the 

contents of the public offering statement shall be clearly and 

accurately reflected in the table of contents utilizing 

underlines and strike-throughs for additions and deletions. In 

addition to the copies showing edits to the text, a clean copy 

of all new and amended documents shall be provided.  

B. The amended public offering statement submitted to the 

board for review shall include the effective date of the 

amendments. 

C. The board shall issue a notice of filing within five 

business days following receipt of the amended public 

offering statement.  

D. Within 30 days of the issuance of the notice of filing 

required by subsection C of this section, the board shall 

review the amended public offering statement and supporting 

materials to determine whether the amendment complies with 

this chapter. If the board's review determines that the 

amended public offering statement complies with this 

chapter, it shall notify the declarant in writing and confirm the 

new effective date of the public offering statement.  

E. If the board's review determines that the amended public 

offering statement does not comply with this chapter, it shall 

immediately notify the declarant in writing that the review 

has determined the amended public offering statement is not 

in compliance and shall specify the particulars of such 

noncompliance. The declarant shall then have 20 days in 

which to correct the particulars of noncompliance identified 

by the board. The declarant may, prior to the completion of 

the 20-day correction period, request an extension in writing 

of the 20-day correction period. Upon expiration of the 20-

day correction period, if requested corrections have not been 

made or a request for extension properly received, the board 

may issue a temporary cease and desist order in accordance 

with § 55-79.100 (b) of the Code of Virginia to require the 

cessation of sales until such time as affirmative action as 

directed by the board is taken. Use of the noncompliant public 

offering statement may result in further action by the board 
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pursuant to §§ 55-79.100, 55-79.101, and 55-79.103 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

F. Notwithstanding an extension of the 30-day period for 

review agreed to in writing by the board and declarant, if the 

board does not perform the required review of the public 

offering statement in accordance with subsection D of this 

section, the amendment shall be deemed to comply with 

18VAC48-30-160 through 18VAC48-30-380, and the new 

effective date shall be the effective date of the amendment 

provided pursuant to subsection B of this section.  

G. In each case in which an amended document is filed 

pursuant to this section and the manner of its amendment is 

not apparent on the face of the document, the declarant shall 

provide an indication of the manner and extent of 

amendment.  

18VAC48-30-500. Current public offering statement. 

A. Upon issuance of an effective date by the board, any 

purchasers who received a public offering statement and 

summary of proposed amendments during the board review 

period pursuant to subsection A of 18VAC48-30-490 shall be 

provided with the public offering statement as accepted by the 

board. A public offering statement remains current until such 

time as the occurrence of a material change requires 

amendment of the public offering statement pursuant to this 

chapter and a new effective date is issued by the board. 

B. Upon issuance of an effective date by the board, a public 

offering statement remains current until such time as a new 

effective date is established pursuant to this chapter.  

C. Notwithstanding the board's authority to issue a cease and 

desist order pursuant to § 55-79.100 of the Code of Virginia, 

the filing of an amended public offering statement shall not 

require the declarant to cease sales provided that the declarant 

provides to purchasers the summary of proposed amendments 

pursuant to subsection A of 18VAC48-30-490 pending the 

issuance of a new effective date by the board. 

18VAC48-30-510. Public offering statement not current; 

notification of purchasers. 

A. A purchaser who has been delivered a public offering 

statement that is not current due to a material change and was 

not provided with the summary of proposed amendments 

containing the proposed changes to the amended public 

offering statement pursuant to subsection A of 18VAC48-30-

490 pending the issuance of a new effective date by the board 

shall be notified of such fact by the declarant.  

B. A purchaser who has been delivered a public offering 

statement and summary of proposed amendments pursuant to 

subsection A of 18VAC48-30-490, but the amended public 

offering statement is determined to be noncompliant in 

accordance with subsection E of 18VAC48-30-490 shall be 

notified of such fact by the declarant. 

1. The notification shall indicate that any contract for 

disposition of a condominium unit may be cancelled by the 

purchaser pursuant to subdivision 2 of § 55-79.88 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

2. The declarant shall file a copy of the notification with 

the board and provide proof that such notification has been 

delivered to all purchasers under contract.  

18VAC48-30-520. Provisions applicable to substituted 

public offering statement and prospectus. 

A. The provisions of 18VAC48-30-470 through 18VAC48-

30-510 shall apply to a substituted public offering statement 

in the same manner and to the same extent that they apply to 

public offering statements.  

B. The provisions of 18VAC48-30-470 through 18VAC48-

30-510 shall apply to a prospectus only to the extent that 

amendment of the information or documents attached to the 

prospectus pursuant to 18VAC48-30-380 is required or 

permitted. The body of the prospectus shall be amended only 

as provided in applicable securities law. The declarant shall 

immediately file with the board any amendments to the body 

of the prospectus and, upon receipt thereof, the board shall 

notify the declarant in writing and confirm the new effective 

date for use of the prospectus. A prospectus is current so long 

as it is effective under applicable securities law and the 

information and attached documents are current under the 

provisions of 18VAC48-30-490. The declarant shall 

immediately notify the board if the prospectus ceases being 

effective. If no prospectus is effective and the declarant 

proposes to continue offering condominium units, the 

declarant shall file a public offering statement with the board 

pursuant to 18VAC48-30-490.  

C. The provisions of 18VAC48-30-510 shall apply to a 

prospectus in the same manner and to the same extent that 

they apply to a public offering statement. 

D. In an annual report involving a prospectus, the declarant 

shall comply with all of the provisions of 18VAC48-30-540 

applicable to public offering statements and, in addition, shall 

certify that an effective prospectus is available for delivery to 

purchasers and shall indicate the declarant's plans or 

expectations regarding the continuing effectiveness of the 

prospectus. 

18VAC48-30-530. Filing of phase amendment application. 

A. A phase amendment application shall be filed when 

adding land to or converting land in the condominium, 

provided that no such application need be filed for units 

previously registered. Such phase amendment application 

shall be accompanied by the fee provided for in 18VAC48-

30-100 and shall be subject to all of the provisions of 

18VAC48-30-90 through 18VAC48-30-150. Documents on 

file with the board that have not changed in connection with 

the additional units need not be refiled, provided that the 

phase amendment application indicates that such documents 

are unchanged.  
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B. The application shall include a new or amended bond or 

letter of credit required pursuant to § 55-79.84:1 of the Code 

of Virginia for the additional units. 

C. The board shall review the phase amendment application 

and supporting materials to determine whether the 

amendment complies with this chapter. If the board's review 

determines the phase amendment application complies with 

this chapter, it shall issue an amended order of registration for 

the condominium and shall provide that any previous orders 

and designations of the form, content, and effective date of 

the public offering statement, substituted public offering 

statement, or prospectus to be used are superseded. If the 

board's review determines that the phase amendment 

application is not complete, the board shall correspond with 

the declarant to specify the particulars that must be completed 

to obtain compliance with this chapter.  

18VAC48-30-540. Annual report by declarant. 

A. A declarant shall file an annual report [ on a form 

provided by the board ] to update the material contained in 

the registration file at least 30 days prior to the anniversary 

date of the order registering the condominium. Prior to filing 

the annual report required by § 55-79.93 of the Code of 

Virginia, the declarant shall review the public offering 

statement then being delivered to purchasers. If such public 

offering statement is current, the declarant shall so certify in 

the annual report. If such public offering statement is not 

current, the declarant shall amend the public offering 

statement, and the annual report shall, in that event, include a 

filing in accordance with 18VAC48-30-490. 

B. The annual report shall contain, but may not be limited 

to, the following: 

1. Current contact information for the declarant; 

2. Current contact information for the declarant's attorney, 

if applicable;  

3. Date of the public offering statement currently being 

delivered to purchasers; 

4. Date the condominium instruments were recorded and 

locality wherein recorded; 

5. Number of phases registered with the board, if 

applicable; 

6. Number of phases recorded, if applicable; 

7. Number of units recorded; 

8. Number of units conveyed; 

9. Status of completion of all common elements within the 

condominium; 

10. Status of declarant control;  

11. Whether the declarant is current in the payment of 

assessments; and 

12. Current evidence from the surety or financial 

institution of any bond or letters of credit, or submittal of 

replacement bonds or letters of credit, required pursuant to 

§§ 55-79.58:1, 55-79.84:1, and 55-79.95 of the Code of 

Virginia. Such verification shall provide the following: 

a. Principal of bond or letter of credit; 

b. Beneficiary of bond or letter of credit; 

c. Name of the surety or financial institution that issued 

the bond or letter of credit; 

d. Bond or letter of credit number as assigned by the 

issuer; 

e. The dollar amount; and 

f. The expiration date or, if self-renewing, the date by 

which the bond or letter of credit shall be renewed. 

18VAC48-30-550. Board review of annual report. 

A. During review of the annual report, the board may make 

inquiries or request additional documentation to amplify or 

clarify the information provided. 

B. If the board does not accept the annual report and the 

annual report filing is not completed within 60 days of a 

request by the board for additional information, the board 

may take further action pursuant to § 55-79.100, 55-79.101, 

or 55-79.103 of the Code of Virginia for failing to file an 

annual report as required by § 55-79.93 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

C. If the board does not perform the required review of the 

annual report within 30 days of receipt by the board, the 

annual report shall be deemed to comply with § 55-79.93 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-30-560. Transition of control of unit owners' 

association. 

Upon transition of control of the association to the unit 

owners following the period of declarant control, the 

declarant shall, in addition to the requirements contained in 

subsection G of § 55-79.74 of the Code of Virginia, notify the 

board in writing of the date of such transition and provide the 

name and contact information for members of the board of 

directors of the unit owners' association or the association's 

common interest community manager. 

18VAC48-30-570. Return of assessment bond or letter of 

credit to declarant. 

A. The declarant of a condominium required to post a bond 

or letter of credit pursuant to § 55-79.84:1 of the Code of 

Virginia shall maintain such bond or letter of credit for all 

units registered with the board until the declarant owns less 

than 10% of the units in the condominium and is current in 

the payment of assessments. For condominiums containing 

less than 10 units, the bond or letter of credit shall be 

maintained until the declarant owns only one unit. 

B. The declarant shall submit a written request to the board 

for the return of the bond or letter of credit. The written 

request shall attest that the declarant (i) owns less than 10% 

of the units or for condominiums containing less than 10 

units, that the declarant owns only one unit and (ii) is current 
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in the payment of assessments. The written request shall 

provide contact information for the unit owners' association. 

C. Upon receipt of the written request from the declarant, 

the board shall send a request to the unit owners' association 

to confirm the information supplied by the declarant. The 

person certifying the information on behalf of the unit 

owners' association must not be affiliated with the declarant. 

The managing agent may confirm the information supplied by 

the declarant. 

D. The board shall return the bond or letter of credit to the 

declarant if (i) the unit owners' association confirms that the 

declarant is current in the payment of assessments and owns 

less than 10% of the units in the condominium or (ii) no 

response is received from the unit owners' association within 

90 days. The 90-day time frame in clause (ii) of this 

subsection may be extended at the discretion of the board. 

E. If the unit owners' association attests the declarant is not 

current in the payment of assessments, the board shall retain 

the bond or letter of credit until evidence is received 

satisfactory to the board that the declarant is current in the 

payment of assessments. 

F. The board may ask for additional information from the 

unit owners' association or the declarant as needed to confirm 

compliance with § 55-79.84:1 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-30-580. Return of completion bond or letter of 

credit to declarant. 

A bond on file with the board pursuant to § 55-79.58:1 of 

the Code of Virginia may be returned to the declarant upon 

written request. Such request shall include a copy of the 

recorded plat or plan showing completion or documentation 

acceptable to the board that the improvements to the common 

elements for which the bond was submitted is completed to 

the extent of the declarant's obligation. 

18VAC48-30-590. Return of bond or letter of credit upon 

termination of registration. 

Upon issuance of an order of termination of the 

condominium registration pursuant to 18VAC48-30-610 and 

if the bond or letter of credit on file with the board has not 

been returned to the declarant or the declarant's agent 

previously, it will be considered for return in accordance with 

18VAC48-30-570 or 18VAC48-30-580. 

18VAC48-30-600. Maintenance of bond or letter of credit. 

A. The declarant shall report the extension, cancellation, 

amendment, expiration, termination, or any other change of 

any bond or letter of credit submitted in accordance with 

§§ 55-79.58:1, 55-79.84:1, and 55-79.95 of the Code of 

Virginia within five days of the change. 

B. The board at any time may request verification from the 

declarant of the status of a bond or letter of credit on file with 

the board. Such verification shall comply with the provisions 

of subdivision B 12 of 18VAC48-30-540. 

C. Failure to report a change in the bond or letter of credit in 

accordance with this section shall result in further action by 

the board pursuant to Chapter 4.2 (§ 55-79.39 et seq.) of Title 

55 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-30-610. Termination of condominium 

registration. 

A. The condominium registration shall be terminated upon 

receipt of documentation of one of the following: 

1. In accordance with § 55-79.93 of the Code of Virginia, 

an annual report filed pursuant to 18VAC48-30-540 

indicates that all units in the condominium have been 

disposed of and all periods for conversion or expansion 

have expired. 

2. Written notification is received from the declarant 

attesting that all units have been disposed of and that all 

periods for conversion or expansion have expired and all 

common elements have been completed. 

3. Written notification is received from the declarant 

requesting termination pursuant to § 55-79.72:1 of the 

Code of Virginia. Should the declarant later choose to offer 

condominium units in a condominium for which the 

registration has been terminated in accordance with this 

subsection, prior to offering a condominium unit, the 

declarant must submit a new application for registration of 

the condominium, meet all requirements in effect at the 

time of application, and be issued an order of registration 

for the condominium by the board. 

B. Upon receipt and review of documentation pursuant to 

subsection A of this section, the board shall issue an order of 

termination for the condominium registration. The board may 

request additional information as necessary during the review 

of the submitted documentation to ensure that the 

condominium registration is eligible for termination.  

C. The board shall send a copy of the order of termination 

for the condominium registration to the association. 

18VAC48-30-620. Administrative termination of 

condominium registration. 

In accordance with subsection B of § 55-79.93:2 of the Code 

of Virginia, the board may administratively terminate the 

registration of a condominium. Prior to the administrative 

termination of the registration, the board shall send written 

notice of its intent to terminate the registration to all known 

parties associated with the condominium, including, but not 

limited to, the registered agent, officer or officers of the unit 

owners' association, declarant's and association's attorneys, 

and principal or principals of the declarant. Such written 

notice shall be given to the parties by mail or otherwise if 

acknowledged by them in writing. 

The board shall issue an order of termination for the 

condominium registration if (i) a response is not received 

within 30 days after sending the written notice or (ii) the 

response received does not indicate termination of the 

registration is inappropriate in accordance with Chapter 4.2 
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(§ 55-79.39 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia and 

this chapter. 

Nothing contained in this section shall prevent the board 

from taking further action as allowed by law including 

issuance of a temporary cease and desist order, issuance of a 

cease and desist order, revocation of registration, and 

bringing action in the appropriate circuit court to enjoin the 

acts or practices and to enforce compliance. 

18VAC48-30-630. Notification of successor declarant and 

transfer of special declarant rights. 

A. In the event the special declarant rights of a 

condominium are transferred to a successor in accordance 

with § 55-79.74:3 of the Code of Virginia, the successor 

declarant shall notify the board within 30 days. Before units 

may be offered for sale, the successor declarant shall submit 

the following to the board: 

1. Completed application for the successor declarant; 

2. Copy of the recorded document evidencing the transfer; 

3. Copies of all condominium instruments that were 

amended to reflect the successor or transfer of special 

declarant rights; 

4. A public offering statement amended in accordance with 

this chapter;  

5. All bonds or letters of credit required pursuant to §§ 55-

79.58:1, 55-79.84:1, and 55-79.95 of the Code of Virginia; 

and 

6. Other documents that may be required to ensure 

compliance with Chapter 4.2 (§ 55-79.39 et seq.) of Title 

55 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

B. Documents on file with the board that have not changed 

in connection with the transfer need not be refiled, provided 

that the application for successor declarant indicates that such 

documents are unchanged. 

18VAC48-30-640. Reporting of other changes to the 

condominium project. 

Any other change made or known by the declarant that may 

affect the accuracy or completeness of the condominium 

registration file shall be promptly reported to the board. Such 

change may include but is not limited to the name of the 

declarant, name of the condominium project, or any other 

changes in information submitted in accordance with § 55-

79.89 of the Code of Virginia. The board may request 

additional information as necessary to ensure compliance 

with Chapter 4.2 (§ 55-79.39 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code 

of Virginia and this chapter. 

Part VII  

Board Authority and Standards of Conduct 

18VAC48-30-650. Grounds for disciplinary action. 

The board may revoke a registration [ upon a finding ] 

that [ the registration ] is not in compliance with, or [ of a 

person who has been found to have the declarant has ] 

violated, any provision of the regulations of the board or 

Chapter 4.2 (§ 55-79.39 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of 

Virginia. Additional action may include issuance of a 

temporary cease and desist order, issuance of a cease and 

desist order, revocation of registration, and bringing action in 

the appropriate circuit court to enjoin the acts or practices and 

to enforce compliance.  

18VAC48-30-660. Registration of condominium required. 

No declarant or individual or entity acting on behalf of the 

declarant shall offer a condominium unit prior to the 

registration of the condominium including such unit. 

18VAC48-30-670. Condominium advertising standards. 

A. No promise, assertion, representation, or statement of fact 

or opinion in connection with a condominium marketing 

activity shall be made that is false, inaccurate, or misleading 

by reason of inclusion of an untrue statement of a material 

fact or omission of a statement of a material fact relative to 

the actual or intended characteristics, circumstances, or 

features of the condominium or a condominium unit.  

B. No promise, assertion, representation, or statement of fact 

or opinion made in connection with a condominium 

marketing activity shall indicate that an improvement will be 

built or placed on the condominium unless the improvement 

is a proposed improvement within the meaning of subsection 

C of 18VAC48-30-120.  

C. No promise, assertion, representation, or statement of fact 

or opinion made in connection with a condominium 

marketing activity and relating to a condominium unit not 

registered shall, by its express terms, induce, solicit, or 

encourage a prospective purchaser to leave Virginia for the 

purpose of executing a contract for sale or lease of the 

condominium unit or performing some other act that would 

create or purport to create a legal or equitable interest in the 

condominium unit other than a security interest in or a 

nonbinding reservation of the condominium unit.  

18VAC48-30-680. Response to inquiry and provision of 

records. 

A. The declarant must respond within 15 days to a request 

by the board or any of its agents regarding any complaint 

filed with the department. The board may extend such time 

frame upon a showing of extenuating circumstances 

prohibiting delivery within such 15-day period. 

B. Unless otherwise specified by the board, the declarant 

shall produce to the board or any of its agents within 15 days 

of the request any document, book, or record concerning any 

transaction in which the declarant was involved, or for which 

the declarant is required to maintain records for inspection 

and copying by the board or its agents. The board may extend 

such time frame upon a showing of extenuating 

circumstances prohibiting delivery within such 15-day period. 

C. A declarant shall not provide a false, misleading, or 

incomplete response to the board or any of its agents seeking 

information in the investigation of a complaint filed with the 

board. 
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D. With the exception of the requirements of subsections A 

and B of this section, a declarant must respond to an inquiry 

by the board or its agent within 21 days. 

18VAC48-30-690. Prohibited acts. 

The following acts are prohibited and any violation may 

result in action by the board, including but not limited to 

issuance of a temporary cease and desist order in accordance 

with § 55-79.100 (b) of the Code of Virginia: 

1. Violating, inducing another to violate, or cooperating 

with others in violating any of the provisions of any of the 

regulations of the board, Chapter 23.3 (§ 54.1-2345 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or Chapter 4.1 (§ 55-

79.1 et seq.) or Chapter 4.2 (§ 55-79.39 et seq.) of Title 55 

of the Code of Virginia.  

2. Obtaining or attempting to obtain a registration by false 

or fraudulent representation, or maintaining a registration 

by false or fraudulent representation. 

3. Failing to comply with 18VAC48-30-80 in offering 

literature. 

4. Failing to alter or amend the public offering statement as 

directed in accordance with 18VAC48-30-390 or 

18VAC48-30-490. 

5. Providing information to purchasers in a manner that 

willfully and intentionally fails to promote full and fair 

disclosure. 

6. Failing to provide information or documents, or 

amendments thereof, in accordance with subsection B of 

18VAC48-30-460. 

7. Failing to comply with the post-registration 

requirements of [ 18VAC48-30-460, ] 18VAC48-30-470, 

18VAC48-30-480, 18VAC48-30-490, [ 18VAC48-30-500, 

18VAC48-30-510, ] 18VAC48-30-520, 18VAC48-30-530, 

and 18VAC48-30-540. 

8. Failing to give notice to a purchaser in accordance with 

[ 18VAC48-30-560 18VAC48-30-510 ]. 

9. Failing to give notice to the board of transition of control 

of unit owners' association in accordance with 18VAC48-

30-560. 

10. Failing to transition control of the unit owners' 

association in accordance with § 55-79.74 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

11. Failing to turn over books and records in accordance 

with subsection H of § 55-79.74 of the Code of Virginia. 

12. Providing false information or misrepresenting an 

affiliation with an association in seeking return of a bond 

or letter of credit in accordance with 18VAC48-30-570 or 

18VAC48-30-580. 

13. Filing false or misleading information in the course of 

terminating a registration in accordance with 18VAC48-

30-610 or 18VAC48-30-620. 

14. Failing to comply with 18VAC48-30-630 and 

18VAC48-30-640. 

15. Failing to comply with the advertising standards 

contained in 18VAC48-30-670. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC48-30) 

[ Condominium Registration Application, A492-0517REG-

v1 (eff. 9/13)  

Declarant Annual Report - Condominium, A492-

0517ANRPT-v1 (eff. 9/13)  

Condominium Registration Application, A492-0517REG-v2 

(rev. 8/15) 

Declarant Annual Report - Condominium, A492-

0517ANRPT-v2 (rev 1/14) 

Condominium Bond/Letter of Credit Verification Form, 

A492-0517BNDLOC-v1, (rev. 9/13) 

Exhibit H - Bond to Insure Payment of Assessments, A492-

0517BOND-v2 (rev. 11/14/13) 

Condominium Registration Application - Exhibit H, Sample 

Form, A492-0517LOC-v2 ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2805; Filed May 5, 2015, 9:00 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC48-40. Time-Share 

Regulations (repealing 18VAC48-40-10 through 

18VAC48-40-110). 

18VAC48-45. Time-Share Regulations (adding 18VAC48-

45-10 through 18VAC48-45-770).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2349 Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 11, 2015 - 11 a.m. - Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland 

Drive Suite 200, Training Room 2, Richmond, Virginia 

23233 

Public Comment Deadline: July 31, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Common Interest Community Board, Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

8510, FAX (866) 490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 55-396 A of the Code of Virginia states that 

the Common Interest Community Board may adopt, amend, 

and repeal rules and regulations and issue orders consistent 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7cd1f002805~6&typ=40&actno=002805&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7cd1f002805~6&typ=40&actno=002805&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f98c2002805~3&typ=40&actno=002805&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f98c2002805~3&typ=40&actno=002805&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b179a002805~4&typ=40&actno=002805&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b179a002805~4&typ=40&actno=002805&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=77b64002805~5&typ=40&actno=002805&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=77b64002805~5&typ=40&actno=002805&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5af8a002805~5&typ=40&actno=002805&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5af8a002805~5&typ=40&actno=002805&mime=application/pdf
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with and in furtherance of the objectives of Chapter 21 (§ 55-

360 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia.  

Purpose: Minor changes have been made to the Virginia Real 

Estate Time-Share Act (§ 55-360 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) by the General Assembly nearly every year since 

the last extensive review of the regulations. In addition, 

substantive changes were made to the Time-Share Act by the 

General Assembly in 2012. The board conducted a general 

review of the regulations to ensure that the regulations 

complement the Time-Share Act, provide minimal burdens on 

regulants while still protecting the public, and reflect current 

procedures and policies of the Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation, all to better protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of citizens of the Commonwealth. 

Proposed amendments to implement Chapter 751 of the 2012 

Acts of Assembly establish requirements and procedures for 

the registration of time-share resellers pursuant to § 55-394.3 

of the Code of Virginia. 

The regulation was developed by a committee of board 

members, consumer representatives, and members of the 

public with expertise in various areas related to time-share 

projects, including a time-share association member, time-

share developer attorney, time-share developers, consumers, 

an attorney representing national time-share developers and 

an owners association, and a representative from the 

exchange program segment of the time-share industry. The 

committee members ensured that the regulations complement 

the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act (§ 55-360 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia), provide minimal burdens on regulants 

while still protecting the public, and reflect current 

procedures and policies of the Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation. 

Substance: Proposed amendments clarify the regulations, 

ensure consistency with current practices and legal 

requirements, and ensure full and accurate disclosure to 

potential and actual purchasers of time-share interests and 

units. As a result of this thorough review, sections 

specifically pertaining to time-share project registration, 

alternative purchase registration, exchange program 

registration, and time-share reseller registration are added, as 

well as a new section outlining the board's authority and 

stating standards of conduct.  

Issues: The primary advantage of these proposed regulations 

to the public is that the amendments clarify the regulations, 

ensure consistency with current practices and legal 

requirements, and ensure full and accurate disclosure to 

potential and actual purchasers of time-share interests and 

units. 

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth is that the 

revisions to the regulations reflect the importance that 

Virginia places on ensuring that potential and actual 

purchasers of time-share interests and units have been 

provided with full and accurate disclosure of their most 

significant purchase. No disadvantages to the Commonwealth 

could be identified. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As 

part of a required periodic review, the Common Interest 

Community Board (Board) proposes to repeal its time-share 

regulations (18VAC48-40) and replace them with a new 

chapter of regulations (18VAC48-45) that are, with a few 

exceptions, substantively the same but that include many 

clarifying changes.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for most 

proposed regulatory changes. There is insufficient 

information to ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs 

for two proposed regulatory changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Prompted by both periodic 

review requirements in the Administrative Process Act (APA) 

and legislative changes made by the General Assembly to the 

Time-Share Act in 2012, the Board now proposes to repeal 

current time-share regulations and promulgate replacement 

regulations. These replacement regulations contain numerous 

changes that clarify current Board authority to, for instance, 

discipline regulated entities. Most differences between current 

and proposed regulations fall under this category. No affected 

entity is likely to incur additional costs on account of these 

changes but will very likely benefit from regulations that 

provide greater specificity for the rules that must be followed. 

The Board also proposes two new substantive requirements in 

these proposed regulations. Pursuant to a 2012 legislative 

change, the Board proposes to require entities that resell time-

shares for time-share owners more than 12 times a year to 

register with the Board. Resellers affected by this change will 

pay an initial registration fee of $250 and a yearly renewal fee 

of $250. Resellers who fail to renew within 30 days of their 

renewal date, but who do renew within six months of their 

renewal date will have to pay an additional $100 

reinstatement fee in addition to the $250 renewal fee. As set 

out in the 2012 legislation, these regulations will contain a list 

of exemptions to this requirement. Entities that resell fewer 

than 12 time-share properties per year, entities that acquire 

more than 12 time-shares in a year but resell them to a single 

purchaser in a single transaction, entities that are already 

registered to sell time-shares, entities that provide closing 

services in connection with the transfer of resold time-shares, 

and entities that strictly provide advertising services are 

exempt from resellers registration requirements.  

Board staff reports that it is likely most entities that resell 

time-shares in the Commonwealth will be exempt from 

reseller registration. Nonetheless, until this provision is 

implemented and any positive effects accrued can be 

categorized and weighed against the implicit and explicit 

costs for resellers who will newly have to register, there will 

be insufficient information to judge whether benefits will 

outweigh costs. 
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The Board also proposes to add registration requirements for 

alternative purchases offered by time-share sellers. Such 

registration has been required in § 55-362 of the Code of 

Virginia since 1994 but this requirement has not been 

reflected in time-share regulations. The Board now proposes 

to correct this oversight. Entities that offer alternative 

purchases (furniture, home accessories, reduced cost 

vacations at other time-shares other than the one being 

viewed, etc.) that cost more that $100 will have to register 

with the Board. The registration fee for alternative purchases 

is $100 and that fee covers all alternative purchases offered 

by a seller. Sellers will also have to compile an alternative 

purchase annual report that includes all required disclosure 

information and will also have to pay an annual fee of $100 to 

the Board for reviewing that annual report. Affected entities 

will incur the explicit costs that include the required fee as 

well as bookkeeping/copying/mailing costs for compiling 

required information, both initially and for annual reports, 

and will also incur implicit costs for time spent on registration 

activities. There is insufficient information to ascertain 

whether the benefits of requiring this registration will 

outweigh the costs.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) reports 

that there are 100 time-share projects and 20 exchange 

programs registered with the Board. DPOR further reports 

that the Board anticipates registering approximately 100 

alternative purchases and 75 time-share resellers. All Board 

registrants will be affected by these proposed regulations.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 

likely have little impact on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Reseller 

fees may result in a very small marginal decrease in the value 

of properties being resold. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Affected small 

businesses will incur additional costs for both fees owed to 

the Board and for additional bookkeeping/copying/mailing 

costs to comply with new, or newly enforced, registration 

requirements in these proposed regulations. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There are likely no regulatory alternatives 

that would both enforce legislative mandates and lower costs 

for regulated entities.  

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(2010). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic 

impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the 

regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and 

types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the 

projected number of persons and employment positions to be 

affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 

to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact 

on the use and value of private property. Further, if the 

proposed regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, 

§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of 

small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 

reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 

including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 

small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 

or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation. The analysis presented above represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis completed 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

As a result of periodic review and legislative changes, this 

regulatory action proposes to repeal current regulations 

and promulgate replacement regulations. The proposed 

replacement regulations (i) address the board's authority, 

including the discipline of regulated entities; (ii) add 

provisions pertaining to time-share project registration, 

alternative purchase registration, exchange program 

registration, and time-share reseller registration; (iii) 

establish standards of conduct; (iv) require entities that 

resell time-shares for the time-share owners more than 12 

times a year to register with the board and pay registration 

and renewal fees; (v) require the registration of alternative 

purchases (e.g., furniture, home accessories, reduced cost 

vacations at time-shares other than the one being viewed) 

that cost more than $100 and payment of registration fees 

for such purchases, and provide a list of exemptions from 

the registration requirement.  

CHAPTER 45 

TIME-SHARE REGULATIONS 

Part 1 

General 

18VAC48-45-10. Purpose. 

This chapter governs the exercise of powers granted to and 

the performance of duties imposed upon the Common Interest 

Community Board by the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share 

Act (§ 55-360 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) as the act 

pertains to the registration of time-share programs, time-share 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 1, 2015 

1685 

projects, alternative purchases, exchange companies, and 

time-share resellers. 

18VAC48-45-20. Definitions. 

A. Section 55-362 of the Code of Virginia provides 

definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 

chapter: 

"Affiliate" 

"Alternative purchase" 

"Association" 

"Board" 

"Board of directors" 

"Common elements" 

"Contact information" 

"Contract" or "purchase 

contract" 

"Conversion time-share 

project" 

"Default" 

"Developer" 

"Developer control period" 

"Development right" 

"Dispose" or "disposition" 

"Exchange company" 

"Exchange program" 

"Guest" 

"Incidental benefit" 

"Lead dealer" 

"Managing agent" 

"Managing entity" 

"Material change" 

"Offering" or "offer"  

"Person" 

"Project" 

"Public offering statement" 

"Purchaser" 

"Resale purchase contract" 

"Resale time-share" 

"Resale service" 

"Resale transfer contract" 

"Reseller" 

"Reverter deed" 

"Situs" 

"Time-share" 

"Time-share estate" 

"Time-share expense" 

"Time-share instrument" 

"Time-share owner" or 

"owner" 

"Time-share program" or 

"program" 

"Time-share project" 

"Time-share unit" or "unit" 

"Time-share use" 

"Transfer" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Alternative disclosure statement" means a disclosure 

statement for an out-of-state time-share program or time-

share project that is properly registered in the situs. 

"Annual report" means a completed, board-prescribed form 

and required documentation submitted in compliance with 

§ 55-394.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Application" means a completed, board-prescribed form 

submitted with the appropriate fee and other required 

documentation in compliance with the Virginia Real Estate 

Time-Share Act and this chapter. 

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation. 

"Electronic" means relating to technology having electrical, 

digital, magnetic, wireless, optical, electromagnetic, or 

similar capabilities.  

"Firm" means a sole proprietorship, association, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of business organization 

recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Full and accurate disclosure" means the degree of 

disclosure necessary to ensure reasonably complete and 

materially accurate representation of the time-share in order 

to protect the interests of purchasers.  

"Registration file" means the application for registration, 

supporting materials, annual reports, and amendments that 

constitute all information submitted and reviewed pertaining 

to a particular time-share program, time-share project, 

alternative purchase, exchange company, or time-share 

reseller registration. A document that has not been accepted 

for filing by the board is not part of the registration file. 

"Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act" means Chapter 21 

(§ 55-360 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-45-30. Explanation of terms. 

Each reference in this chapter to a "developer," "purchaser," 

and "time-share owner" or to the plural of those terms shall be 

deemed to refer, as appropriate, to the masculine and the 

feminine, to the singular and the plural, and to natural persons 

and organizations. The term "developer" shall refer to any 

successors to the persons referred to in § 55-362 of the Code 

of Virginia who come to stand in the same relation to the 

time-share as their predecessors in that they assumed rights 

reserved for the benefit of a developer that (i) offers to 

dispose of its interest in a time-share not previously disposed 

of or (ii) applies for registration of the time-share program.  

18VAC48-45-40. Time-share projects located outside of 

Virginia. 

A. In any case involving a time-share project located outside 

of Virginia in which the laws or practices of the jurisdiction 

in which such time-share project is located prevent 

compliance with a provision of this chapter, the board shall 

prescribe by order a substitute provision to be applicable in 

such case that is as nearly equivalent to the original provision 

as is reasonable under the circumstances.  

B. The words "time-share instrument" and "public offering 

statement," when used in this chapter with reference to a 

time-share located outside of Virginia, mean documents, 

portions of documents, or combinations thereof, by whatever 

name denominated, that have a content and function identical 

or substantially equivalent to the content and function of their 

Virginia counterparts.  

C. The word "recording" or "recordation" when used with 

reference to time-share instruments of a time-share located 

outside of Virginia means a procedure that, in the jurisdiction 

in which such time-share is located, causes the time-share 

instruments to become legally effective.  
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D. This chapter shall apply to a contract for the disposition 

of a time-share located outside of Virginia only to the extent 

permissible under the provisions of subsection C of § 55-

361.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

E. The time-share shall be properly registered in the state or 

other jurisdiction where the project is located. 

Part II 

General Application Requirements 

18VAC48-45-50. Application procedures. 

A developer seeking registration of a time-share project or 

an alternative purchase, an exchange company seeking 

registration of an exchange program, or a reseller seeking 

registration in order to offer or provide resale services, all in 

accordance with the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act, 

shall submit an application on the appropriate form provided 

by the board, along with the appropriate fee specified in 

18VAC48-45-70.  

By submitting the application to the board, the applicant 

certifies that the applicant has read and understands the 

applicable statutes and this chapter. 

The receipt of an application and the deposit of fees by the 

board do not indicate approval or acceptance of the 

application by the board. 

The board may make further inquiries and investigations to 

confirm or amplify information supplied. All applications 

shall be completed in accordance with the instructions 

contained herein and on the application. Applications will not 

be considered complete until all required documents are 

received by the board. 

Applications that are not complete within 12 months after 

receipt of the application in the board's office will be purged, 

and a new application and fee must be submitted in order to 

be reconsidered for registration. 

18VAC48-45-60. Review of application for registration, 

generally. 

A. Upon the review of the application for registration, if the 

requirements of this chapter have not been met, the board 

shall notify the applicant.  

B. The board may refuse initial registration due to an 

applicant's failure to comply with entry requirements or for 

any of the reasons for which the board may discipline a 

regulant. 

C. At such time as the board affirmatively determines that 

the requirements of this chapter have been met, the board 

shall issue the applicable registration. 

D. Notwithstanding the provisions of 18VAC48-45-130 for 

a time-share project registration, applicants who do not meet 

the requirements of this chapter may be approved following 

consideration by the board in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

18VAC48-45-70. Fees. 

A. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 

date on which the fee is received by the board or its agent will 

determine whether the fee is timely. Checks or money orders 

shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia. 

B. Fees are as follows: 

Time-share project registration application $1,500 

Time-share project phase filing $250 

Time-share project registration annual 

report 

$500 

Alternative purchase registration 

application 

$100 

Alternative purchase registration annual 

report 

$100 

Exchange program registration application $1,000 

Exchange program registration annual 

report 

$250 

Time-share reseller registration application $250 

Time-share reseller registration renewal $250 

Time-share reseller registration 

reinstatement (includes a $100 

reinstatement fee in addition to the $250 

renewal fee)  

$350 

Part III 

Marketing and Advertising 

18VAC48-45-80. Time-share marketing activities. 

A. Time-share marketing activities shall include every 

contact by or on behalf of the developer for the purpose of 

promoting disposition of a time-share or alternative purchase. 

Such contacts may be personal, by telephone, by mail, by 

electronic means including social media, or by advertisement. 

A promise, assertion, representation, or statement of fact or 

opinion made in connection with a time-share marketing 

activity may be oral, written, electronic, or graphic.  

B. No time-share marketing activity shall be deemed an 

offer unless, by its express terms, it induces, solicits, or 

encourages a prospective purchaser to (i) execute a contract 

of sale of the time-share or alternative purchase or (ii) 

perform some other act that would create or purport to create 

a legal or equitable interest in the time-share until the board 

has issued an order of registration. 

18VAC48-45-90. Offering of gifts or prizes. 

A. Any offering that includes a gift or prize shall include the 

disclosures contained in § 55-374.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Such disclosures shall be made with the same prominence as 

the offer. 
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B. The board may at any time require a developer to alter or 

amend any offering that includes a gift or prize in order to 

ensure compliance with this section. 

Part IV 

Application for Time-Share Project Registration 

18VAC48-45-100. Registration of time-share project and 

program. 

In accordance with § 55-390 of the Code of Virginia, a 

developer offering or disposing of an interest in a time-share 

program must register the time-share project and its program 

with the board. For the purposes of this chapter as it relates to 

registration, the registration of a time-share project shall 

include the simultaneous registration of the time-share 

program. 

18VAC48-45-110. Prerequisites for registration of a time-

share project. 

The following provisions are prerequisites for registration 

and are supplementary to the provisions of § 55-391.1 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

1. The developer shall own or have the right to acquire an 

estate in the land constituting or to constitute the time-

share project that is of at least as great a degree and 

duration as the estate to be conveyed in the time-shares. 

2. The time-share instrument must be adequate to bring a 

time-share project into existence upon recordation. This 

subdivision does not apply to a time-share instrument that 

may be recorded after the time-share project has been 

created.  

3. The time-share instrument must include a statement 

detailing that the developer reserves or does not reserve the 

right to add or delete any alternative purchase. 

4. The current and planned time-share advertising activities 

of the developer shall comply with § 18.2-216 of the Code 

of Virginia and this chapter.  

5. If the developer is a firm, it shall be organized as a 

business entity under the laws of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia or otherwise authorized to transact business in 

Virginia. Firms shall register any trade or fictitious names 

with the State Corporation Commission or the clerk of 

court in the jurisdiction where the business is to be 

conducted in accordance with §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 

of the Code of Virginia before submitting an application to 

the board.  

18VAC48-45-120. Review of application for registration 

of a time-share project. 

A. Upon receipt of an application for registration of a time-

share project, the board shall issue the notice of filing 

required by subsection A of § 55-393.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

B. Upon the review of the application for registration, if the 

requirements of § 55-391.1 of the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter have not been met, the board shall notify the applicant 

as required by subsection C of § 55-393.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

C. If the requirements for registration are not met within the 

application review period or a valid extension thereof, the 

board shall, upon the expiration of such period, enter an order 

rejecting the registration as required by subsection C of § 55-

393.1 of the Code of Virginia. The order rejecting the 

registration shall become effective 20 days after issuance. 

D. An applicant may submit a written request for an 

informal conference in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the 

Code of Virginia at any time between receipt of a notification 

pursuant to subsection B of this section and the effective date 

of the order of rejection entered pursuant to subsection C of 

this section. A request for such proceeding shall be deemed a 

consent to delay within the meaning of subsection A of § 55-

393.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

E. The board shall receive and act upon corrections to the 

application for registration at any time prior to the effective 

date of an order rejecting the registration. If the board 

determines after review of the corrections that the 

requirements for registration have not been met, the board 

may proceed with an informal conference in accordance with 

§ 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia in order to allow 

reconsideration of whether the requirements for registration 

are met. If the board does not opt to proceed with an informal 

conference, the applicant may submit a written request for an 

informal conference in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the 

Code of Virginia in order to reconsider whether the 

requirements for registration are met. If the board does not 

proceed with an informal conference and no request for an 

informal conference is received from the applicant, an 

amended order of rejection stating the factual basis for the 

rejection shall be issued. A new 20-day period for the order of 

rejection to become effective shall commence. 

F. At such time as the board affirmatively determines that 

the requirements of § 55-391.1 of the Code of Virginia have 

been met, the board shall enter an order registering the time-

share and shall designate the form, content, and effective date 

of the public offering statement. 

18VAC48-45-130. Minimum application requirements for 

registration of a time-share project. 

A. The documents and information contained in §§ 55-367, 

55-368, 55-369, 55-371, 55-374, and 55-391.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, as applicable, shall be included in the application for 

registration of a time-share project.  

B. The application for registration of a time-share project 

shall include the fee specified in 18VAC48-45-70. 

C. The following documents shall be included in the 

application for registration of a time-share project as exhibits. 

All exhibits shall be labeled as indicated and submitted in a 

format acceptable to the board.  

1. Exhibit A: A copy of the certificate of incorporation or 

certificate of authority to transact business in Virginia 
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issued by the Virginia State Corporation Commission, or 

any other entity formation documents, together with any 

trade or fictitious name certificate. 

2. Exhibit B: A certificate of recordation or other 

acceptable documents from the city or county where the 

time-share is located. 

3. Exhibit C: A copy of the title opinion, the title policy, or 

a statement of the condition of the title to the time-share 

project including encumbrances as of a specified date 

within 30 days of the date of application by a title company 

or licensed attorney who is not a salaried employee, 

officer, or director of the developer or owner, in 

accordance with subdivision A 5 of § 55-391.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. If the developer is not the record owner of the 

land, a copy of any contract the developer has executed to 

purchase the land, any option the developer holds for the 

purchase of the land, or any lease under which the 

developer holds the land.  

4. Exhibit D: Proof that the applicant or developer owns or 

has the right to acquire an estate in the land constituting or 

to constitute the time-share project, which is of at least as 

great a degree and duration as the estate to be conveyed in 

the time-share. 

5. Exhibit E: A statement of the zoning, subdivision, or 

land use obligations or proffers and other governmental 

regulations affecting the use of the time-share, including 

the site plans and building permits and their status, any 

existing tax, and existing or proposed special taxes or 

assessments that affect the time-share. 

6. Exhibit F: A copy of the time-share instrument, 

including all applicable amendments and exhibits, that will 

be delivered to a purchaser to evidence the purchaser's 

interest in the time-share and of the contracts and other 

agreements that a purchaser will be required to agree to or 

sign. 

7. Exhibit G: A narrative description of the promotional 

plan for the disposition of the time-shares.  

8. Exhibit H: A copy of the proposed public offering 

statement that complies with § 55-374 of the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter. Pursuant to subsection G of § 55-

374, a similar disclosure statement required by other situs 

laws governing time-sharing may be submitted for a time-

share located outside of the Commonwealth. 

9. Exhibit I: A copy of the buyer's acknowledgment. 

Pursuant to § 55-376.5 of the Code of Virginia, the 

purchaser shall be given this document prior to signing a 

purchase contract, and the document shall contain the 

information required by subsection B of § 55-376.5. 

10. Exhibit J: Copies of bonds or letters of credit issued by 

a financial institution, if any, required by subsection C of 

§ 55-375 and subsection B of § 55-386 of the Code of 

Virginia, as applicable. 

11. Exhibit K: A copy of any management agreements, 

employment contracts or other contracts or agreements 

affecting the use, maintenance, management, or access of 

all or any part of the time-share project. 

12. Exhibit L: A list with the names of every officer of the 

developer or persons occupying a similar status within or 

performing similar functions for the developer. The list 

must include each individual's address valid for receipt of 

service, principal occupation for the past five years, and 

title. 

13. Exhibit M: A statement whether any of the individuals 

or entities named in Exhibit L are or have been involved as 

defendants in any indictment, conviction, judgment, 

decree, or order of any court or administrative agency 

against the developer or managing entity for violation of a 

federal, state, local, or foreign country law or regulation in 

connection with activities relating to time-share sales, land 

sales, land investments, security sales, construction or sale 

of homes or improvements, or any similar or related 

activity. 

14. Exhibit N: A statement whether, during the preceding 

five years, any of the individuals or entities named in 

Exhibit L have been adjudicated bankrupt or have 

undergone any proceeding for the relief of debtors. 

15. Exhibit O: If the developer has reserved the right to add 

to or delete from the time-share program any incidental 

benefit or alternative purchase, a description of the 

incidental benefit or alternative purchase shall be provided 

pursuant to subdivision A 13 of § 55-391.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

16. Exhibit P: Conversion time-share projects must attach a 

copy of the notice required by subsection D of § 55-374 of 

the Code of Virginia and a certified statement that such 

notice shall be mailed or delivered to each of the tenants in 

the building or buildings for which the registration is 

sought at the time of the registration of the conversion 

project. 

Part V 

Public Offering Statement 

18VAC48-45-140. Public offering statement requirements, 

generally. 

In addition to the provisions of § 55-374 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following will be considered, as applicable, 

during review of the public offering statement: 

1. The public offering statement shall provide full and 

accurate disclosure in accordance with 18VAC48-45-150. 

2. The public offering statement shall pertain to the time-

share project in which the time-shares being offered are 

located. 

3. The public offering statement shall be clear, organized, 

and legible. 
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4. Except for brief excerpts, the public offering statement 

may refer to, but should not incorporate verbatim, portions 

of the time-share instruments, the Virginia Real Estate 

Time-Share Act, or this chapter. This does not preclude 

compliance with 18VAC48-45-170. 

18VAC48-45-150. Full and accurate disclosure. 

A. The provisions of § 55-374 of the Code of Virginia and 

this chapter shall be strictly construed to promote full and 

accurate disclosure in the public offering statement. In 

addition, the following will be considered, as applicable, 

during review to assure full and accurate disclosure: 

1. The information shall be presented in a manner that is 

clear and understandable to a reasonably informed 

consumer, while maintaining consistency with the 

requirements of this chapter and the Virginia Real Estate 

Time-Share Act. 

2. No information shall be incorporated by reference to an 

outside source that is not reasonably available to a 

prospective purchaser. 

3. If required information is not known or not reasonably 

available, such fact shall be stated and explained in the 

public offering statement. 

B. The board has the sole discretion to require additional 

information or amendment of existing information as it finds 

necessary to ensure full and accurate disclosure. 

18VAC48-45-160. Contents of public offering statement. 

A. A cover, if used, must be blank or bear identification 

information only.  

B. The developer may include as part of the public offering 

statement a receipt page printed in such a way that the 

developer may obtain verification that a prospective 

purchaser has received the public offering statement. The 

receipt page shall include the effective date of the public 

offering statement as well as a place for the date of delivery 

and signature lines for the prospective purchaser. The 

authorized receipt page in proper form, duly executed, shall 

be evidence that the public offering statement was delivered. 

C. The first page of the public offering statement shall be 

substantially as follows. 

PURCHASER SHOULD READ THIS DOCUMENT 

FOR THE PURCHASER'S PROTECTION 

PUBLIC OFFERING STATEMENT 

NAME OF TIME-

SHARE PROJECT:   

LOCATION OF 

TIME-SHARE 

PROJECT:   

NAME OF 

DEVELOPER:   

ADDRESS OF 

DEVELOPER:   

EFFECTIVE DATE 

OF PUBLIC 

OFFERING 

STATEMENT:   

REVISED:   

THE PURCHASER OF A TIME-SHARE MAY 

CANCEL THE CONTRACT UNTIL MIDNIGHT OF 

THE SEVENTH CALENDAR DAY FOLLOWING THE 

EXECUTION OF SUCH CONTRACT. THE 

PURCHASER SHOULD READ THIS DOCUMENT 

FOR THE PURCHASER'S OWN PROTECTION.  

Purchasing a time-share carries with it certain rights, 

responsibilities, and benefits, including certain financial 

obligations, rights, and restrictions concerning the use 

and maintenance of units and common elements. The 

purchaser will be bound by the provisions of the time-

share instruments and should review the Public Offering 

Statement, the time-share instruments, and other exhibits 

carefully prior to purchase.  

This Public Offering Statement presents information 

regarding time-share(s) being offered for sale by the 

developer. The Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act (§ 55-

360 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) requires that a Public 

Offering Statement be given to every Purchaser in order to 

provide full and accurate disclosure of the characteristics of 

and material circumstances affecting the time-share project 

and the characteristics of the time-share(s) being offered. The 

Public Offering Statement is not intended, however, to be all-

inclusive. The Purchaser should consult other sources for 

details not covered by the Public Offering Statement. 

The Public Offering Statement summarizes information and 

documents furnished by the developer to the Virginia 

Common Interest Community Board. The Board has carefully 

reviewed the Public Offering Statement but does not 

guarantee the accuracy or completeness of the Public 

Offering Statement. In the event of any inconsistency 

between the Public Offering Statement and the material it is 

intended to summarize, the material shall control. 

If the Purchaser elects to cancel the contract within the 

seven-day cancellation period, all payments made in 

connection with the purchase contract shall be refunded to the 

Purchaser within 45 days. If the Purchaser elects to cancel the 

contract, the Purchaser shall do so either by (i) hand-

delivering the notice to the developer at its principal office or 

at the project or (ii) mailing the notice by certified United 

States mail, return receipt requested, to the developer or its 

agent designated in the contract. 

Allegations of violation of any law or regulation contained 

in the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act or the Time-Share 

Regulations (18VAC48-45) should be reported to the 
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Common Interest Community Board, Perimeter Center, Suite 

400, 9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond, Virginia 23233. 

D. A summary of important considerations shall 

immediately follow the first page for the purpose of 

reinforcing the disclosure of significant information. The 

summary shall be titled as such and shall be introduced by the 

following statement: "The following are important matters to 

be considered in acquiring a time-share. They are highlights 

only. The Public Offering Statement should be examined in 

its entirety to obtain detailed information." Appropriate 

modifications shall be made to reflect facts and circumstances 

that may vary. The summary shall consist of, but not be 

limited to, the following, as applicable: 

1. A brief description of the time-share project and the 

time-share program. 

2. A statement regarding all incidental benefits or 

alternative purchases that may be offered by the developer. 

3. A brief description of all amenities located within or 

outside of the time-share project available to purchasers. 

4. A statement describing any exchange program that may 

be offered to the purchaser. 

5. A statement regarding the payment of principal and 

interest due under any deferred purchase agreement for the 

purchase of the time-share, maintenance fees or 

assessments, special assessments, user fees, insurance 

premiums, and real estate taxes. A time-share owner 

cannot reduce the amount of any owner obligation for any 

reason, including the refraining from using the time-share, 

a developer amenity, or any common element. 

6. A statement regarding the consequences for failure to 

pay maintenance fees or any special assessment when due. 

The statement may reference the enforcement mechanisms 

available to the developer, and if applicable the time-share 

association, by describing (i) any declaration of an owner 

being an "Owner Not in Good Standing"; (ii) any civil 

action taken for the collection of a debt; (iii), pursuing 

foreclosure or obtaining a lien against the time-share unit; 

and (iv) denial of access to the time-share project and 

participation in the time-share program. 

7. A statement indicating whether the developer or 

managing agent has indictments, convictions, judgments, 

decrees, or order of any court or administrative agency for 

matters related to fraud or consumer protection violations 

that may be required to be disclosed by subdivisions A 1 c 

and A 1 d of § 55-374 of the Code of Virginia. 

8. A statement indicating the period of time the developer 

will retain control of the association for time-share estate 

projects.  

9. A statement disclosing any management agreement with 

a managing agent to perform certain duties for the time-

share project. 

10. A statement indicating whether the developer may 

expand the time-share project.  

11. A statement indicating whether the right of the time-

share owner to resell or transfer the time-share is subject to 

restrictions.  

12. A statement indicating the time-share units are 

restricted to lodging only. 

13. A statement indicating that the time-share owner may 

not alter the interior or exterior of the time-share unit.  

14. A statement regarding the obligation of the developer 

or association to obtain certain insurance benefiting the 

time-share owner. 

15. A statement regarding a time-share estate and time-

share owner's obligation to pay real estate taxes.  

16. A statement regarding whether or not the developer 

reserves the right to add or delete any alternative purchase. 

E. The content after the summary of important 

considerations shall include the narrative sections in 

18VAC48-45-170 through 18VAC48-45-310. Supplementary 

sections may be included as necessary.  

F. Clear and legible copies of the following documents shall 

be attached as exhibits to the public offering statement:  

1. Project time-share instrument; 

2. Association articles of incorporation; 

3. Bylaws; 

4. Association annual report or projected budget for time-

share estate programs;  

5. Rules and regulations of the time-share owners' 

association, if available;  

6. Any management contract, if applicable;  

7. Exchange company disclosure document and narrative 

statement required pursuant to subsection B of § 55-374 of 

the Code of Virginia, if applicable; and 

8. Other documents obligating the association or time-

share owner to perform duties or obligations or pay 

charges or fees, if applicable. 

G. The developer may include the public offering statement 

required for any alternative purchase pursuant to subsection H 

of § 55-374 of the Code of Virginia as offered by the 

developer in conjunction with the time-share being registered. 

H. Other information and documentation may be included as 

necessary to ensure full and accurate disclosure. The board 

may also require additional information as necessary to 

ensure full and accurate disclosure. 

18VAC48-45-170. Narrative sections; time-share concept. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "The Time-Share Concept." The section shall 

consist of a brief discussion of the form of time-share 

ownership being offered. 
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18VAC48-45-180. Narrative sections; creation of time-

share project. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Creation of the Time-Share Project." The section 

shall briefly explain the manner in which the time-share 

project was or will be created, the locality wherein the time-

share instrument will be or has been recorded, and the 

procedure for its amendment.  

18VAC48-45-190. Narrative sections; description of time-

share project. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Description of the Time-Share Project." The 

section shall provide a general description of the time-share 

project registered with the board and the units and common 

elements promised available to purchasers. This section shall 

also provide the developer's estimated schedule of 

commencement and completion of all promised and 

incomplete units and common elements.  

B. The section shall state whether the developer has reserved 

the right to add and delete from the time-share program a 

time-share project or any incidental benefit or alternative 

purchase.  

C. The section shall refer the purchaser to the reverter deed 

for an explanation if the developer utilized the possibility of a 

reverter. 

D. The section shall indicate all provisions that have been 

made for public utilities in the time-share project, including 

but not limited to water, electricity, telephone, and sewerage 

facilities.  

18VAC48-45-200. Narrative sections; individual time-

shares. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Individual Time-Shares." The section shall 

indicate (i) the form of time-share ownership being offered; 

(ii) the types, duration, and number of units and time-shares 

in the project registered with the board; (iii) identification of 

units that are subject to the time-share program; and (iv) the 

estimated number of units that may become subject to the 

time-share program. 

B. This section shall explain the extent to which financial 

arrangements, if any, have been provided for completion of 

any incomplete but promised time-share unit or common 

element being offered for sale. The section shall contain a 

statement of the developer's obligation to complete any 

promised time-share unit or common element being offered 

for sale comprising the time-share project that have not begun 

or begun but not yet completed. 

C. The section shall explain the extent to which a time-share 

unit may become subject to a tax or other lien arising out of 

claims against other owners of the same unit. 

18VAC48-45-210. Narrative sections; developer. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "The Developer." The section shall disclose the 

following information concerning the developer: 

1. The name and principal address of the developer. 

2. The name, principal occupation, and address of every 

director, partner, limited liability company manager, or 

trustee of the developer. 

3. The name and address of each person owning or 

controlling an interest of at least 20% in the time-share 

project. 

4. The particulars of any indictment, conviction, judgment, 

decree, or order of any court or administrative agency 

against the developer or managing entity for violation of a 

federal, state, local, or foreign country law or regulation in 

connection with activities relating to time-share sales, land 

sales, land investments, security sales, construction or sale 

of homes or improvements, or any similar or related 

activity. 

5. The nature of each unsatisfied judgment, if any, against 

the developer or the managing entity; the status of each 

pending suit involving the sale or management of real 

estate to which the developer, the managing entity, or any 

general partner, executive officer, director, limited liability 

company manager, or majority stockholder thereof, is a 

defending party; and the status of each pending suit, if any, 

of significance to any time-share project registered with the 

board. 

6. The name and address of the developer's agent for 

service of any notice permitted by this chapter. 

7. The section shall describe the type of legal entity of the 

developer and explain if other entities have any obligation 

to satisfy the financial obligations of the developer. 

8. For a time-share use program, a statement as to whether 

a developer's net worth is more than or less than $250,000. 

If the developer's net worth is less than $250,000, a current 

audited balance sheet shall be provided with the public 

offering statement. If the developer's net worth exceeds 

$250,000, a statement by the developer that its equity in 

the time-share program exceeds $250,000. 

18VAC48-45-220. Narrative sections; terms of offering. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Terms of the Offering." The section shall discuss 

the expenses to be borne by a purchaser in acquiring a time-

share and present information regarding the settlement of 

purchase contracts as provided in subsections B through H of 

this section.  

B. The section shall indicate any initial or special fees due 

from the purchaser at settlement including a description of the 

purpose of such fees. 
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C. The section shall set forth a general description of any 

financing offered by or available through the developer to 

purchasers. 

D. The section shall describe (i) services that the developer 

provides or expense it pays and that it expects may become at 

any subsequent time a time-share expense of the owners and 

(ii) the projected time-share expense liability attributable to 

each of those services or expenses for each time-share.  

E. The section shall discuss all penalties or forfeitures to be 

incurred by a purchaser upon default in performance of a 

purchase contract. 

F. The section shall discuss the process for cancellation of a 

purchase contract by a purchaser in accordance with § 55-376 

of the Code of Virginia. The section shall include a statement 

that the purchaser has a nonwaivable right of cancellation and 

refer such purchaser to that portion of the contract in which 

the right of cancellation may be found. 

G. The section shall describe the terms of the deposit escrow 

requirements, including a statement that deposits may be 

removed from escrow at the termination of the cancellation 

period. 

H. The section shall set forth all restrictions in the purchase 

contract that limit the time-share owner's right to bring legal 

action against the developer or the association. The section 

shall set forth the paragraph or section and page number of 

the purchase contract where such provision is located. 

Nothing in this statement shall be deemed to authorize such 

limits where those limits are otherwise prohibited by law. 

18VAC48-45-230. Narrative sections; encumbrances. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Encumbrances" that shall describe all liens, 

defects, or encumbrances affecting the time-share project and 

in particular the time-share offered to the purchaser. 

18VAC48-45-240. Narrative sections; exchange program. 

If any prospective purchaser is offered the opportunity to 

subscribe to or participate in any exchange program, the 

public offering statement shall contain a section captioned 

"Exchange Program" that shall include the following:  

1. A statement of whether membership or participation in 

the program is voluntary or mandatory; and 

2. A statement that the purchaser's contract with the 

exchange company is a contract separate and distinct from 

the purchaser's contract with the developer and whether 

there is a fee associated with membership or participation 

in the exchange program.  

18VAC48-45-250. Narrative sections; financial matters. 

A. The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Financial Matters." The section shall discuss the 

expenses incident to the ownership of a time-share.  

B. The section shall distinguish, in general terms, the 

following categories of costs of operation, maintenance, 

repair, and replacement of various portions of the time-share 

as follows: (i) time-share expenses; (ii) time-share estate 

occupancy expenses as defined in § 55-369 of the Code of 

Virginia; and (iii) all other costs that may be borne directly by 

individual time-share owners.  

C. A budget shall show projected common expenses in each 

of the categories in subsection B of this section for the first 

year of the time-share's operation or, if different, the latest 

year for which a budget is available. The projected budget 

shall be attached to the public offering statement as an exhibit 

and the section shall direct the purchaser's attention to such 

exhibit. The section shall describe the manner in which the 

projected budget is established. If the time-share is phased, 

the budget shall project future years until all phases are 

projected to be developed and all common elements that must 

be built have been completed. The budget shall include an 

initial working capital budget showing sources and uses of 

initial working capital and a reserve table showing amounts to 

be collected to fund those reserves. The budget shall show 

regular individual assessments by unit type. The budget shall 

note that the figures are not guaranteed and may vary.  

D. The section shall describe the manner in which (i) time-

share expenses; (ii) time-share estate occupancy expenses as 

defined in § 55-369 of the Code of Virginia; and (iii) all other 

costs that may be borne directly by individual time-share 

owners are apportioned among and assessed to the time-share 

units. The section shall include the substance of the following 

statement, if applicable: "A time-share owner cannot obtain a 

reduction of the (i) time-share expenses; (ii) time-share estate 

occupancy expenses as defined in § 55-369 of the Code of 

Virginia; and (iii) any other costs that may be borne directly 

by individual time-share owners assessed against the unit by 

refraining from use of any of the common elements."  

E. The section shall describe budget provisions for reserves 

for capital expenditures, if any. If there are no reserves, the 

section shall so state. 

F. The section shall discuss any (i) time-share expenses; (ii) 

time-share estate occupancy expenses as defined in § 55-369 

of the Code of Virginia; and (iii) all other costs that may be 

borne directly by individual time-share owners, actually 

planned to be specially assessed.  

G. The section shall indicate any fee, rental, or other charge 

to be payable by unit owners other than through assessments 

and maintenance fees to any party for use of the common 

elements or for use of recreational or parking facilities in the 

vicinity of the time-share project.  

H. The section shall discuss the effect of failure of a time-

share owner to pay the assessments and maintenance fees 

levied against the time-share unit. Such discussion shall 

indicate provisions for charges or other remedies that may be 

imposed to be applied in the case of unpaid and past due 

assessments and for acceleration of unpaid assessments.  
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18VAC48-45-260. Narrative sections; restrictions on 

transfer. 

The public offering statement shall include a section 

captioned "Restrictions on Transfer." The section shall 

describe and explain limitations on leasing or other restraints 

on free alienability created by the time-share instruments or 

the rules and regulations of the time-share owners' association 

that affect the time-share owners' right to resell, lease or 

otherwise transfer an interest in the time-share. 

18VAC48-45-270. Narrative sections; time-share owners' 

association. 

A. For time-share estate projects the public offering 

statement shall contain a section captioned "Time-Share 

Owners' Association." The section shall discuss the 

arrangements for the management and operation of the time-

share estate program and for the maintenance, repair, and 

furnishing of units and shall include the information required 

by subdivisions 1 through 15 of this subsection. The section 

shall describe or discuss the following: 

1. The creation of the association. 

2. The payment of costs and expenses of operating the 

time-share estate program and owning and maintaining the 

time-share units. 

3. Employment and termination of employment of the 

managing agent for the time-share estate project. 

4. Termination of leases and contracts for goods and 

services for the time-share estate project that were entered 

into during the developer control period. 

5. Preparation and dissemination of the annual report 

required by § 55-370.1 of the Code of Virginia to the time-

share estate owners. 

6. Adoption of standards and rules of conduct for the use, 

enjoyment, and occupancy of units by the time-share estate 

owners. 

7. Collection of regular assessments, fees or dues, and 

special assessments from time-share estate owners to 

defray all time-share expenses. 

8. Comprehensive general liability insurance for death, 

bodily injury, and property damage arising out of, or in 

connection with, the use and enjoyment of the time-share 

project by time-share estate owners, their guests and other 

users. The cost for such insurance shall be a time-share 

expense. 

9. Methods for providing compensation or alternate use 

periods or monetary compensation to a time-share estate 

owner if his contracted-for unit cannot be made available 

for the period to which the owner is entitled by schedule or 

by confirmed reservation. 

10. Procedures for imposing a monetary penalty or 

suspension of a time-share estate owner's rights and 

privileges in the time-share estate program or time-share 

project for failure to comply with provisions of the time-

share instrument or the rules and regulations of the 

association with respect to the use and enjoyment of the 

units and the time-share project. Under these procedures a 

time-share estate owner must be given reasonable notice 

and reasonable opportunity to be heard and explain the 

charges against him in person or in writing to the board of 

directors of the association before a decision to impose 

discipline is rendered. 

11. Employment of attorneys, accountants, and other 

professional persons as necessary to assist in the 

management of the time-share estate program and the time-

share project. 

12. Developer control period, during which time period the 

developer, or a managing agent selected by the developer, 

shall manage and control the time-share estate project and 

the common elements and units, including decisions about 

the financial operation of the association. 

13. The managing agent, if any, shall be identified, and the 

section shall indicate any relationship between the 

managing agent and the developer. The duration of any 

management agreement shall be stated.  

14. Except to the extent otherwise disclosed in connection 

with discussion of a management agreement, the 

significant terms of any lease of recreational areas or 

similar contract or agreement affecting the use, 

maintenance or access of all or any part of the time-share 

project shall be stated. The section shall include a brief 

narrative statement of the effect of each such agreement 

upon a purchaser.  

15. Rules and regulations of the time-share estate 

association shall be discussed. The purchaser's attention 

shall be directed to the copy of rules and regulations, if 

any, attached to the public offering statement.  

B. For time-share use projects, if an association is formed 

for management and operation of the time-share use program 

and for the maintenance, repair, and furnishing of time-share 

use units comprising the time-share, the public offering 

statement shall contain a section captioned "Time-Share 

Owners' Association." This section shall contain the 

information required by subdivisions A 1 through 15 of this 

section as applicable to the association for the time-share use 

project. 

18VAC48-45-280. Narrative sections; managing entity. 

The public offering statement shall include a section 

captioned "Managing Entity." This section shall provide the 

name and address of the managing entity for the project. The 

section shall also provide a description of the facilities, if any, 

provided by the developer to the association in a time-share 

estate project for the management of the project.  
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18VAC48-45-290. Narrative sections; conversion time-

share projects. 

A. The public offering statement of a conversion time-share 

project shall contain a section captioned "Conversion Time-

Share Projects." The section shall include the following:  

1. A specific statement of the amount of any initial or 

special fee, if any, due from the purchaser of a time-share 

on or before settlement of the purchase contract and the 

basis of such fee occasioned by the fact that the project is a 

conversion time-share project.  

2. Information on the actual expenditures, if available, 

made on all repairs, maintenance, operation, or upkeep of 

the building or buildings within the last three years. This 

information shall be set forth in a tabular manner within 

the proposed budget of the project. If such building or 

buildings have not been occupied for a period of three 

years then the information shall be set forth for the period 

during which such building or buildings were occupied. 

3. A description of any provisions made in the budget for 

reserves for capital expenditures and an explanation of the 

basis for such reserves occasioned by the fact that the 

project is a conversion time-share project, or, if no 

provision is made for such reserves, a statement to that 

effect. 

4. A statement of the present condition of all structural 

components and major utility installations in the building, 

which statement shall include the approximate dates of 

construction, installations, and major repairs as well as the 

expected useful life of each such item, together with the 

estimated cost, in current dollars, of replacing each such 

component.  

B. In lieu of a narrative section pursuant to this section, the 

requirements of this section may be satisfied in the form of an 

exhibit to the public offering statement. 

18VAC48-45-300. Narrative sections; insurance. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section 

captioned "Insurance."  The section shall describe generally 

the insurance coverage provided by the developer or the 

association for the benefit of time-share owners not otherwise 

described in the public offering statement. The section shall 

state, with respect to such insurance, each of the following 

circumstances, to the extent applicable: (i) property damage 

coverage will not insure personal property belonging to unit 

owner; and (ii) liability coverage will not insure against 

liability arising from an accident or injury occurring within a 

unit or as a result of the act or negligence of a time-share 

owner. The section shall include a statement whether the 

time-share owner is obligated to obtain coverage for any or 

all of the coverages described. The section shall include a 

statement indicating that the time-share owner should consult 

with an insurance professional to determine appropriate 

coverage. 

18VAC48-45-310. Narrative sections; alternative 

purchase. 

The public offering statement shall contain a section entitled 

"Alternative Purchases." The section shall state whether or 

not the developer has reserved the right to add to or delete 

from the time-share program any incidental benefit or 

alternative purchase. The section shall state that such 

alternative purchase has been or will be registered with the 

board. If the developer chooses to include the public offering 

statement for the alternative purchase, the section shall 

reference the appropriate exhibit wherein the alternative 

purchase public offering statement may be located. 

18VAC48-45-320. Documents from other jurisdictions. 

A. A substituted public offering statement shall only be 

permitted for a time-share program for which some portion of 

the time-share project associated with the program is located 

outside of Virginia.  

B. The substituted public offering statement shall be 

prepared by deleting from the original disclosure document 

the following: (i) references to any governmental agency of 

another jurisdiction to which application has been made or 

will be made for registration or related action; (ii) references 

to the action of such governmental agency relative to the 

time-share project and its time-share program; (iii) statements 

of the legal effect in another jurisdiction of delivery, failure to 

deliver, acknowledgment of receipt or related events 

involving the disclosure document; (iv) the effective date or 

dates in another jurisdiction of the disclosure document; and 

(v) all other information that is untrue, inaccurate, or 

misleading with respect to marketing, offers, or disposition of 

time-shares in Virginia.  

C. The substituted public offering statement shall 

incorporate all information not otherwise included that is 

necessary to effect fully and accurately the disclosures 

required by § 55-374 of the Code of Virginia. The substituted 

disclosure document shall clearly explain any nomenclature 

that is different from the definitions provided in § 55-362 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

D. The substituted public offering statement shall include as 

the first item of the summary of important considerations a 

statement that includes the following information: (i) the 

designation by which the original disclosure document is 

identified in the original jurisdiction; (ii) the governmental 

agency of such other jurisdiction where the original 

disclosure document is or will be filed; and (iii) the 

jurisdiction of such filing. 

E. The provisions of §§ 55-374 and  55-376 of the Code of 

Virginia and 18VAC48-45-150, 18VAC48-45-160, and 

18VAC48-45-170 shall apply to substituted public offering 

statements in the same manner and to the same extent that 

they apply to public offering statements. 

F. In the case of a time-share project located outside of the 

Commonwealth, pursuant to subsection G of § 55-374 of the 
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Code of Virginia, disclosure statements required by other 

situs laws governing time-sharing that are equivalent to the 

requirements of this chapter may be accepted as alternative 

disclosure statements. 

Part VI 

Time-Share Project Post-Registration Provisions 

18VAC48-45-330. Minimum post-registration reporting 

requirements for a time-share project. 

A. Subsequent to the issuance of a registration for a time-

share by the board, the developer of a time-share shall do the 

following: 

1. File an annual report in accordance with § 55-394.1 of 

the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

2. Upon the occurrence of a material change, file an 

amended public offering statement in accordance with the 

provisions of subsection E of § 55-374 and subsection C of 

§ 55-394.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. These 

amendments shall be filed with the board within 20 

business days after the occurrence of the material change. 

3. Upon the occurrence of any material change in the 

information contained in the registration file, the developer 

shall immediately report such material changes to the 

board in accordance with the provisions of subsection B of 

§ 55-391.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

4. Notify the board of a change in the bond or letter of 

credit, as applicable, required by subsection C of § 55-375 

and subsection B of § 55-386 of the Code of Virginia.  

5. File a completed application for registration of an 

unregistered phase or phases upon the expansion of the 

time-share, along with the appropriate fee specified in 

18VAC48-45-70. 

6. Notify the board of transition of control from the 

developer to the time-share estate owners' association 

(time-share estate projects only). 

7. Submit appropriate documentation to the board once the 

registration is eligible for termination. 

8. Submit to the board any other document or information, 

which may include information or documents that have 

been amended or may not have existed previously, that 

affects the accuracy, completeness, or representation of 

any information or document filed with the application for 

registration. 

9. Submit to the board any document or information to 

make the registration file accurate and complete. 

B. Notwithstanding the requirements of subsection A of this 

section, the board at any time may require a developer to 

provide information or documents, or amendments thereof, in 

order to assure full and accurate disclosure to prospective 

purchasers and to ensure compliance with the Virginia Real 

Estate Time-Share Act and this chapter. 

18VAC48-45-340. Amendment of public offering 

statement. 

Any amendment of the public offering statement or 

substituted public offering statement shall comply with this 

chapter.  

18VAC48-45-350. Nonmaterial changes to the public 

offering statement. 

Changes to the public offering statement that are not 

material are not required to be filed with the board, shall not 

be deemed an amendment of the public offering statement for 

the purposes of this chapter, and shall not give rise to a 

renewed right of rescission in any purchase. Nonmaterial 

changes to the public offering statement include, but may not 

be limited to, the following: 

1. Correction of spelling, grammar, omission, or other 

similar errors not affecting the substance of the public 

offering statement; 

2. Changes in presentation or format; 

3. Substitution of an executed, filed, or recorded copy of a 

document for the otherwise substantially identical 

unexecuted, unfiled, or unrecorded copy of the document 

that was previously submitted; 

4. Inclusion of updated information such as identification 

or description of the current officers and directors of the 

developer; 

5. Disclosure of completion of improvements for 

improvements that were previously proposed or not 

complete; 

6. Changes in real estate tax assessment or rate or 

modifications related to those changes; 

7. Changes in utility charges or rates or modifications 

related to those changes; 

8. Addition or deletion of incidental benefits or alternative 

purchases provided the developer reserved in the time-

share instrument the right to add or delete incidental 

benefits or alternative purchases. 

9. Adoption of a new budget that does not result in a 

significant change in fees or assessments or significantly 

impact the rights or obligations of the prospective 

purchasers; 

10. Modifications related to changes in insurance company 

or financial institution, policy, or amount for bonds or 

letters of credit required pursuant to §§ 55-375 and 55-386 

of the Code of Virginia;  

11. Changes in personnel of the managing agent; and 

12. Any change that is the result of orderly development of 

the time-share in accordance with the time-share 

instruments as described in the public offering statement. 
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18VAC48-45-360. Filing of amended public offering 

statement. 

A. The developer shall promptly file with the board for 

review a copy of the amended public offering statement 

together with a copy of a summary of proposed amendments 

that shall be distributed to purchasers during the board review 

period. The summary of proposed amendments shall 

enumerate the amendments to the public offering statement 

submitted for board review and include a statement that the 

amendments to the public offering statement have been filed 

with the board but have not yet been accepted. The form of 

the submission is at the discretion of the developer provided 

that (i) all amendments are clearly represented in the 

documentation presented; (ii) the additions and deletions of 

text in the public offering statement and exhibits shall be 

identified by underlining and striking through text to be 

added and deleted; and (iii) documents being added to or 

deleted from the contents of the public offering statement 

shall be clearly and accurately reflected in the table of 

contents utilizing underlines and strikethroughs for additions 

and deletions. In addition to the copies showing edits to the 

text, a clean copy of all new and amended documents shall be 

provided.  

B. The amended public offering statement submitted to the 

board for review shall include the effective date of the 

amendments. 

C. Within 30 days of receipt of the amended public offering 

statement, the board shall review the amended public offering 

statement and supporting materials to determine whether the 

amendment complies with this chapter. If the board's review 

determines that the amended public offering statement 

complies with this chapter, it shall notify the developer in 

writing and confirm the new effective date of the public 

offering statement.  

D. If the board's review determines that the amended public 

offering statement does not comply with this chapter, it shall 

immediately notify the developer in writing that the review 

has determined the amended public offering statement is not 

in compliance and shall specify the particulars of such 

noncompliance. The developer shall then have 20 days in 

which to correct the particulars of noncompliance identified 

by the board. The developer may, prior to the completion of 

the 20-day correction period, request an extension in writing 

of the 20-day correction period. Upon expiration of the 20-

day correction period, if requested corrections have not been 

made or a request for extension properly received, the board 

may issue a temporary cease and desist order in accordance 

with subdivision D 2 of § 55-396 of the Code of Virginia to 

require the cessation of sales until such time as affirmative 

action as directed by the board is taken. Use of the 

noncompliant public offering statement may result in further 

action by the board pursuant to §§ 55-396, 55-399.1, and 55-

400 of the Code of Virginia.  

E. Notwithstanding an extension of the 30-day period for 

review agreed to in writing by the board and developer, if the 

board does not perform the required review of the public 

offering statement in accordance with subsection C of this 

section, the amendment shall be deemed to comply with 

18VAC48-45-150 through 18VAC48-45-310, and the new 

effective date shall be the effective date of the amendment 

provided pursuant to subsection B of this section.  

F. In each case in which an amended document is filed 

pursuant to this section and the manner of its amendment is 

not apparent on the face of the document, the developer shall 

provide an indication of the manner and extent of 

amendment.  

18VAC48-45-370. Current public offering statement. 

A. Upon issuance of an effective date by the board, all 

purchasers who received a public offering statement and 

summary of proposed amendments during the board review 

period pursuant to subsection A of 18VAC48-45-360 shall be 

provided with the public offering statement as accepted by the 

board. A public offering statement remains current until such 

time as the occurrence of a material change requires 

amendment of the public offering statement pursuant to this 

chapter and a new effective date is issued by the board. 

B. Upon issuance of an effective date by the board, a public 

offering statement remains current until such time as a new 

effective date is established pursuant to this chapter.  

C. Notwithstanding the board's authority to issue a cease and 

desist order pursuant to § 55-396 of the Code of Virginia, the 

filing of an amended public offering statement shall not 

require the developer to cease sales provided that the 

developer provides to purchasers the summary of proposed 

amendments pursuant to subsection A of 18VAC48-45-360 

pending the issuance of a new effective date by the board. 

18VAC48-45-380. Public offering statement not current; 

notification of purchasers. 

A. A purchaser who has been delivered a public offering 

statement that is not current due to a material change and was 

not provided with the summary of proposed amendments 

containing the proposed changes to the amended public 

offering statement pursuant to subsection A of 18VAC48-45-

360 pending the issuance of a new effective date by the board 

shall be notified of such fact by the developer. 

B. A purchaser who has been delivered a public offering 

statement and summary of proposed amendments pursuant to 

subsection A of 18VAC48-45-360, but the amended public 

offering statement is determined to be noncompliant in 

accordance with subsection D of 18VAC48-45-360 shall be 

notified of such fact by the developer. 

1. The notification shall indicate that any contract for 

disposition of a time-share may be canceled by the 

purchaser pursuant to subsection C of § 55-376 of the Code 

of Virginia.  
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2. The developer shall file a copy of the notification with 

the board and provide proof that such notification has been 

delivered to all purchasers under contract.  

18VAC48-45-390. Filing of phase amendment application. 

A. A phase amendment application for a time-share project 

shall be filed when adding a phase or phases to the time-share 

project. Such phase amendment application shall be 

accompanied by the fee provided for in 18VAC48-45-70 and 

shall be subject to all of the provisions of 18VAC48-45-50 

and 18VAC48-45-110 through 18VAC48-45-130. 

Documents on file with the board that have not changed in 

connection with the additional phase or phases need not be 

refiled, provided that the phase amendment application 

indicates that such documents are unchanged. 

B. The application shall include a bond or letter of credit 

required pursuant to subsection B of § 55-386 of the Code of 

Virginia if any of the time-share units and common elements 

contained in the submitted additional phase or phases have 

not been completed. 

C. The board shall review the phase amendment application 

and supporting materials to determine whether the 

amendment complies with this chapter. If the board's review 

determines the phase amendment application complies with 

this chapter, it shall issue an amended order of registration for 

the time-share project and shall provide that previous orders 

and designations of the form, content, and effective date of 

the public offering statement are superseded. If the board's 

review determines that the phase amendment application is 

not complete, the board shall correspond with the developer 

to specify the particulars that must be completed to obtain 

compliance with this chapter.  

18VAC48-45-400. Annual report for a time-share project 

registration required by developer. 

A. A developer shall file an annual report for a time-share 

project registration on a form provided by the board to update 

the material contained in the registration file by June 30 of 

each year the registration is effective and shall be 

accompanied by the fee specified in 18VAC48-45-70. Prior to 

filing the annual report required by § 55-394.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, the developer shall review the public offering 

statement then being delivered to purchasers. If such public 

offering statement is current, the developer shall so certify in 

the annual report. If such public offering statement is not 

current, the developer shall amend the public offering 

statement and the annual report shall, in that event, include a 

filing in accordance with 18VAC48-45-360. 

B. The annual report shall contain, but may not be limited 

to, the following: 

1. Current contact information for the developer; 

2. Information concerning the current status of the time-

share project; 

3. Information concerning the current status of the time-

share program, including (i) the type of time-shares being 

offered and sold; (ii) the total number of time-share 

interests available in the program; (iii) the total number of 

time-share interests sold; and (iv) information regarding 

any incomplete units and common elements; 

4. If the project is a time-share estate project and the 

developer control period has not yet expired, a copy of the 

annual report that was prepared and distributed by the 

developer to the time-share owners required by § 55-370.1 

of the Code of Virginia must accompany the annual report; 

5. Date of the public offering statement currently being 

delivered to purchasers; and 

6. Current evidence from the surety or financial institution 

of bonds or letters of credit, or submittal of replacement 

bonds or letters of credit, required pursuant to subsection C 

of § 55-375 and subsection B of § 55-386 of the Code of 

Virginia. Such verification shall provide the following: 

a. Principal of bond or letter of credit; 

b. Beneficiary of bond or letter of credit; 

c. Name of the surety or financial institution that issued 

the bond or letter of credit; 

d. Bond or letter of credit number as assigned by the 

issuer; 

e. The dollar amount; and 

f. The expiration date or, if self-renewing, the date by 

which the bond or letter of credit shall be renewed. 

18VAC48-45-410. Board review of annual report for a 

time-share project registration. 

A. During review of the annual report, the board may make 

inquiries or request additional documentation to amplify or 

clarify the information provided. 

B. If the board does not accept the annual report and the 

annual report filing is not completed within 60 days of a 

request by the board for additional information, the board 

may take further action pursuant to §§ 55-396, 55-399.1, and 

55-400 of the Code of Virginia for failing to file an annual 

report as required by § 55-394.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. If the board does not perform the required review of the 

annual report within 30 days of receipt by the board, the 

annual report shall be deemed to comply with § 55-394.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-45-420. Return of bond or letter of credit to 

ensure completion of promised units and common 

elements to developer. 

A bond or letter of credit on file with the board pursuant to 

subsection B of § 55-386 of the Code of Virginia may be 

returned to the developer upon written request. Such request 

shall include a statement from the developer that indicates the 

units and common elements for which the bond or letter of 

credit was submitted have been completed. If the submitted 

statement is not sufficient to confirm completion, the board 

may request additional documentation. 
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18VAC48-45-430. Return of bond or letter of credit upon 

termination of time-share project registration. 

Upon issuance of an order of termination of the time-share 

project registration pursuant to 18VAC48-45-450, the bond or 

letter of credit on file with the board for the purpose of 

protecting all deposits escrowed pursuant to subsection C of § 

55-375 will be returned to the developer. 

18VAC48-45-440. Maintenance of bond or letter of credit. 

A. The developer shall report the extension, cancellation, 

amendment, expiration, termination, or any other change of 

any bond or letter of credit submitted in accordance with 

subsection C of § 55-375 and subsection B of § 55-386 of the 

Code of Virginia within five days of the change. 

B. The board at any time may request verification from the 

developer of the status of a bond or letter of credit on file with 

the board. Such verification shall comply with the provisions 

of subdivision B 6 of 18VAC48-45-400. 

C. Failure to report a change in the bond or letter of credit in 

accordance with this section shall result in further action by 

the board pursuant to the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share 

Act. 

18VAC48-45-450. Termination of time-share project 

registration. 

A. The time-share project registration shall be terminated 

upon receipt of documentation of one of the following: 

1. In accordance with subsection A of § 55-394.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, an annual report for a time-share estate 

program filed pursuant to § 55-394.1 of the Code of 

Virginia indicates that the developer has transferred title to 

the time-share owners' association and that no further 

development rights exist. 

2. In accordance with subsection B of § 55-394.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, written notification is received from the 

developer attesting that no further development of the 

project is anticipated and that the developer has ceased 

sales of time-shares at the project. 

B. Upon receipt and review of documentation pursuant to 

subsection A of this section, the board shall issue an order of 

termination for the time-share registration. The board may 

request additional information as necessary during the review 

of the submitted documentation to ensure that the time-share 

registration is eligible for termination.  

18VAC48-45-460. Administrative termination of time-

share project registration. 

A. In accordance with subsection C of § 55-394.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, the board may administratively terminate 

the registration of a time-share project. Prior to the 

administrative termination of the registration, the board shall 

send written notice of its intent to terminate the registration to 

all known parties associated with the time-share project, 

including, but not limited to, the registered agent, developer's 

attorney, and principals of the developer. Such written notice 

shall be given to the parties by mail or otherwise if 

acknowledged by them in writing. 

B. The board shall issue an order of termination for the time-

share registration if (i) a response is not received within 30 

days after sending the written notice, or (ii) the response 

received does not indicate termination of the registration is 

inappropriate in accordance with the Virginia Real Estate 

Time-Share Act and this chapter. 

C. Nothing contained in this section shall prevent the board 

from taking further action as allowed by law including 

issuance of a temporary cease and desist order, issuance of a 

cease and desist order, revocation of registration, and 

bringing action in the appropriate circuit court to enjoin the 

acts or practices and to enforce compliance. 

18VAC48-45-470. Reporting of other changes to the time-

share project. 

Any other change made or known by the developer that may 

affect the accuracy or completeness of the time-share 

registration file shall be reported promptly to the board. Such 

change may include but is not limited to the name of the 

developer, name of the time-share project, or any other 

changes in information submitted in accordance with § 55-

391.1 of the Code of Virginia. The board may request 

additional information as necessary to ensure compliance 

with the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act and this 

chapter. 

Part VII 

Alternative Purchase Registration 

18VAC48-45-480. Registration of alternative purchase 

required. 

As required by § 55-362 of the Code of Virginia, a time-

share developer shall register as an alternative purchase 

anything valued in excess of $100 that is offered to a potential 

purchaser during the developer’s sales presentation and 

purchased by such potential purchaser for more than $100, 

even though the purchaser did not purchase a time-share. An 

alternative purchase is not a time-share. 

18VAC48-45-490. Minimum requirements for registration 

of an alternative purchase. 

An application for registration of an alternative purchase 

shall include the following: 

1. An application submitted in accordance with 18VAC48-

45-50. 

2. Current contact information for the developer. 

3. The name of the time-share project or projects affiliated 

with the registered alternative purchase. 

4. Public offering statement, or public offering statements, 

if applicable, submitted in accordance with 18VAC48-45-

500. This may be accomplished through a single public 

offering statement that includes all types of alternative 

purchases offered by the developer, or a separate public 
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offering statement for each type of alternative purchase 

offered by the developer. 

5. The escrow bond or letter of credit submitted in 

compliance with subsection C of § 55-375 of the Code of 

Virginia, if applicable. 

18VAC48-45-500. Public offering statement for an 

alternative purchase. 

The developer shall file with the board a public offering 

statement that will be distributed to each prospective 

purchaser about the alternative purchase. The public offering 

statement shall fully and accurately disclose the material 

characteristics of such alternative purchase as required by 

subsection H of § 55-374 of the Code of Virginia. The 

material characteristics of such alternative purchase may vary 

based on time of year and availability of offerings and may 

include, but are not limited to, vacation packages, meals, 

ancillary benefits or options, excursions, and retail products. 

The public offering statement for an alternative purchase 

need not contain any information about the time-share 

project, time-share program, or the time-shares offered by the 

developer initially offered to such purchaser by the developer. 

The public offering statement for an alternative purchase is 

not required to have exhibits.  

18VAC48-45-510. Review of application for registration 

of an alternative purchase. 

At such time as the board affirmatively determines that the 

requirements of this chapter have been met, the board shall 

register the alternative purchase and shall designate the form, 

content, and effective date of the public offering statement to 

be used. The registration period of the alternative purchase 

shall expire the last day of the month one year from the date 

of issuance. 

18VAC48-45-520. Minimum alternative purchase post-

registration reporting requirements. 

A. Subsequent to the issuance of a registration for an 

alternative purchase by the board, the developer offering the 

alternative purchase shall do the following: 

1. File the annual report required pursuant to 18VAC48-

45-540. 

2. Upon the occurrence of a material change to the public 

offering statement, the developer of a registered alternative 

purchase shall file an amended public offering statement. 

These amendments shall be filed with the board within 20 

business days after the occurrence of the material change. 

3. Upon the occurrence of any material change in the 

information contained in the registration file, the developer 

of a registered alternative purchase shall immediately 

report such material changes to the board. 

4. Submit appropriate documentation to the board once the 

registration is eligible for termination. 

5. Submit to the board any other document or information, 

which may include information or documents that have 

been amended or may not have existed previously, that 

affects the accuracy, completeness, or representation of 

any information or document filed with the application for 

registration. 

6. Submit to the board any document or information to 

make the registration file accurate and complete and to 

ensure compliance with the Virginia Real Estate Time-

Share Act and this chapter. 

7. Submit to the board the escrow bond or letter of credit 

for any deposits for the alternative purchase that are held in 

escrow pursuant to § 55-375 of the Code of Virginia. If the 

bond or letter of credit for protecting all alternative 

purchase deposits escrowed is the same as the bond or 

letter of credit for the time-share project registration, the 

applicant shall so state. 

B. Notwithstanding the requirements of subsection A of this 

section, the board at any time may require the developer of a 

registered alternative purchase to provide information or 

documents, or amendments thereof, in order to assure full and 

accurate disclosure to prospective purchasers and to ensure 

compliance with the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act and 

this chapter. 

18VAC48-45-530. Filing of amended public offering 

statement for alternative purchase. 

A. The developer shall promptly file with the board for 

review a copy of the amended public offering statement. The 

form of the submission is at the discretion of the developer, 

provided that (i) all amendments are clearly represented in the 

documentation presented; (ii) the additions and deletions of 

text in the public offering statement and exhibits shall be 

identified by underlining and striking through text to be 

added and deleted; and (iii) documents being added to or 

deleted from the contents of the public offering statement 

shall be clearly and accurately reflected in the table of 

contents utilizing underlines and strike-throughs for additions 

and deletions. In addition to the copies showing edits to the 

text, a clean copy of all new and amended documents shall be 

provided.  

B. The amended public offering statement submitted to the 

board for review shall include the effective date of the 

amendments. 

C. Within 30 days of receipt, the board shall review the 

amended public offering statement and supporting materials 

to determine whether the amendment complies with this 

chapter. If the board's review determines that the amended 

public offering statement complies with this chapter, it shall 

notify the developer in writing and confirm the new effective 

date of the public offering statement.  

D. If the board's review determines that the amended public 

offering statement does not comply with this chapter, the 

board shall immediately notify the developer in writing that 

the review has determined the amended public offering 

statement is not in compliance and shall specify the 
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particulars of such noncompliance. The developer shall then 

have 20 days in which to correct the particulars of 

noncompliance identified by the board. The developer may, 

prior to the completion of the 20-day correction period, 

request an extension in writing of the 20-day correction 

period. Upon expiration of the 20-day correction period, if 

requested corrections have not been made or a request for 

extension properly received, the board may issue a temporary 

cease and desist order in accordance with subsection B of § 

55-396 of the Code of Virginia to require the cessation of 

sales until such time as affirmative action as directed by the 

board is taken. Use of the noncompliant public offering 

statement may result in further action by the board pursuant 

to §§ 55-396, 55-399.1, and 55-400 of the Code of Virginia.  

E. Notwithstanding an extension of the 30-day period for 

review agreed to in writing by the board and developer, if the 

board does not perform the required review of the public 

offering statement in accordance with subsection C of this 

section, the amendment shall be deemed to comply with 

18VAC48-45-490, and the new effective date shall be the 

effective date of the amendment provided pursuant to 

subsection B of this section.  

F. In each case in which an amended document is filed 

pursuant to this section and the manner of its amendment is 

not apparent on the face of the document, the developer shall 

provide an indication of the manner and extent of 

amendment. 

18VAC48-45-540. Annual report required for alternative 

purchase registration. 

A. Prior to the expiration of the registration, the developer 

shall file an annual report in a form approved by the board for 

the registered alternative purchase affiliated with such time-

share project registration. Such alternative purchase annual 

report shall be accompanied by the fee specified in 

18VAC48-45-70.  

B. The annual report shall contain, but may not be limited 

to, the following: 

1. Current contact information for the developer. 

2. The name of the time-share project or projects affiliated 

with the registered alternative purchase. 

3. Information concerning the current status of the 

alternative purchase. 

4. Current evidence from the surety or financial institution 

of any bonds or letters of credit, or submittal of 

replacement bonds or letters of credit, required pursuant to 

subsection C of § 55-375 of the Code of Virginia. Such 

verification shall provide the following: 

a. Principal of bond or letter of credit; 

b. Beneficiary of bond or letter of credit; 

c. Name of the surety or financial institution that issued 

the bond or letter of credit; 

d. Bond or letter of credit number as assigned by the 

issuer; 

e. The dollar amount; and 

f. The expiration date or, if self-renewing, the date by 

which the bond or letter of credit shall be renewed. 

5. The date of the public offering statement currently being 

delivered to purchasers. 

18VAC48-45-550. Board review of annual report for an 

alternative purchase registration. 

A. During review of the annual report, the board may make 

inquiries or request additional documentation to amplify or 

clarify the information provided. 

B. If the board does not accept the annual report and the 

annual report filing is not completed within 60 days of a 

request by the board for additional information, the board 

may take further action pursuant to §§ 55-396 and 55-399.1 

of the Code of Virginia. 

C. If the board does not perform the required review of the 

annual report within 30 days of receipt by the board, the 

annual report shall be accepted and the alternative purchase 

registration shall be continued to run concurrent with the 

time-share project registration with which it is affiliated. 

D. Once the annual report has been accepted by the board, 

the registration shall be extended for an additional one-year 

period from the date of expiration of the registration. If the 

developer fails to complete the annual report filing within one 

year after the date of expiration, the registration shall not be 

extended and the developer must apply as a new applicant. 

18VAC48-45-560. Termination of registration for an 

alternative purchase. 

A. The alternative purchase registration shall be terminated 

upon receipt of written notification from the developer 

attesting that the developer has ceased sales and requests 

termination of the alternative purchase. Should the developer 

later choose to offer alternative purchases for which the 

registration has been terminated in accordance with this 

subsection, prior to offering an alternative purchase, the 

developer must submit a new application for registration of 

the alternative purchase, meet all requirements in effect at the 

time of application, and obtain an alternative purchase 

registration from the board. 

B. Upon receipt and review of the notification pursuant to 

subsection A of this section, the board shall terminate the 

alternative purchase registration. The board may request 

additional information as necessary during the review of the 

submitted notification to ensure that the alternative purchase 

registration is eligible for termination.  

C. If all affiliated time-share project registrations are 

terminated pursuant to 18VAC48-45-450 or 18VAC48-45-

460, such terminations shall result in the automatic 

termination of the affiliated alternative purchase registration. 
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D. An alternative purchase registration shall be 

automatically terminated for failure to file an acceptable 

annual report within one year after the expiration of the 

registration. 

18VAC48-45-570. Reporting of other changes to the 

alternative purchase. 

Any other change made or known by the developer that may 

affect the accuracy or completeness of the alternative 

purchase registration file shall be promptly reported to the 

board. The board may request additional information as 

necessary to ensure compliance with the Virginia Real Estate 

Time-Share Act and this chapter. 

Part VIII 

Exchange Program Registration 

18VAC48-45-580. Registration of exchange program 

required. 

As required by § 55-374.2 of the Code of Virginia, an 

exchange company that offers an exchange program in the 

Commonwealth shall register the exchange program with the 

board. 

18VAC48-45-590. Minimum requirements for registration 

of an exchange program. 

An application for registration of an exchange program shall 

include the following: 

1. An application submitted in accordance with 18VAC48-

45-50; 

2. Current contact information for the exchange company; 

3. A disclosure document that complies with § 55-374.2 of 

the Code of Virginia; and 

4. A report independently audited by a certified public 

accountant or accounting firm in accordance with the 

standards of the Accounting Standards Board of the 

American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. The 

report shall provide the following for the preceding 

calendar year: 

a. The number of owners enrolled in the exchange 

program. Such numbers shall disclose the relationship 

between the exchange company and owners as being 

either fee paying or gratuitous in nature; 

b. The number of time-share properties, accommodations 

or facilities eligible to participate in the exchange 

program; 

c. The percentage of confirmed exchanges, which shall 

be the number of exchanges confirmed by the exchange 

company divided by the number of exchanges properly 

applied for, together with a complete and accurate 

statement of the criteria used to determine whether an 

exchange request was properly applied for; 

d. The number of time-shares for which the exchange 

company has an outstanding obligation to provide an 

exchange to an owner who relinquished a time-share 

during the year in exchange for a time-share in any future 

year; and 

e. The number of exchanges confirmed by the exchange 

company during the year. 

18VAC48-45-600. Minimum exchange program post-

registration reporting requirements. 

A. Subsequent to the issuance of a registration for an 

exchange program by the board, the exchange company shall: 

1. File an annual report in accordance with subsection E of 

§ 55-374.2 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

2. Upon the occurrence of a material change to the 

disclosure document, the exchange company shall file an 

amended disclosure document in accordance with the 

provisions of § 55-374.2 of the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter. These amendments shall be filed with the board 

within 20 business days after the occurrence of the material 

change. 

3. Upon the occurrence of any material change in the 

information contained in the registration file, the exchange 

company shall immediately report such material changes to 

the board. 

4. Submit appropriate documentation to the board once the 

registration is eligible for termination. 

5. Submit to the board any other document or information, 

which may include information or documents that have 

been amended or may not have existed previously, that 

affects the accuracy, completeness, or representation of 

any information or document filed with the application for 

registration. 

6. Submit to the board any document or information to 

make the registration file accurate and complete to ensure 

compliance with the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act 

and this chapter. 

B. Notwithstanding the requirements of subsection A of this 

section, the board at any time may require an exchange 

company to provide information or documents, or 

amendments thereof, in order to assure full and accurate 

disclosure to prospective purchasers and to ensure compliance 

with the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act and this 

chapter. 

18VAC48-45-610. Annual report required for an 

exchange program registration. 

A. An exchange company shall file an annual report to 

update the material contained in the exchange program 

registration file by July 1 of each year the registration is 

effective and shall be accompanied by the fee specified in 

18VAC48-45-70. 

B. The annual report shall contain, but may not be limited 

to, the following: 

1. Current contact information for the exchange company; 

2. Information concerning the current status of the 

exchange program; 
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3. A report that contains the information in subdivision 4 

of 18VAC48-45-590 and submitted in compliance with 

subdivision A 17 of § 55-374.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-45-620. Board review of annual report for 

exchange program registration. 

A. During review of the annual report, the board may make 

inquiries or request additional documentation to amplify or 

clarify the information provided. 

B. If the board does not accept the annual report and the 

annual report filing is not completed within 60 days of a 

request by the board for additional information, the board 

may take further action pursuant to §§ 55-396, 55-399.1, and 

55-400 of the Code of Virginia for failing to file an annual 

report as required by subsection E of § 55-374.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

C. If the board does not perform the required review of the 

annual report within 30 days of receipt by the board, the 

annual report shall be deemed to comply with subsection E of 

§ 55-374.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-45-630. Termination of an exchange program 

registration. 

A. The exchange program registration shall be terminated 

upon receipt of written notification from the exchange 

company indicating that the exchange program is no longer 

being offered in the Commonwealth. Should the exchange 

company later choose to offer the exchange program for 

which the registration has been terminated in accordance with 

this subsection, prior to offering the exchange program, the 

exchange company must submit a new application for 

registration of the exchange program, meet all requirements 

in effect at the time of application, and be issued an order of 

registration for the exchange program by the board. 

B. Upon receipt and review of the notification pursuant to 

subsection A of this section, the board shall issue an order of 

termination for the exchange program registration. The board 

may request additional information as necessary during the 

review of the submitted notification to ensure that the 

exchange program registration is eligible for termination.  

18VAC48-45-640. Reporting of other changes to an 

exchange program. 

Any other change made or known by the exchange company 

that may affect the accuracy or completeness of the exchange 

program registration file shall be promptly reported to the 

board. The board may request additional information as 

necessary to ensure compliance with the Virginia Real Estate 

Time-Share Act and this chapter. 

Part IX 

Time-Share Reseller Registration 

18VAC48-45-650. Registration of time-share reseller 

required. 

In accordance with § 55-394.3 of the Code of Virginia, a 

reseller shall not offer or provide any resale service without 

holding a current time-share reseller registration issued by the 

board.  

18VAC48-45-660. Exemptions from time-share reseller 

registration. 

Time-share reseller registration shall not apply to the 

following: 

1. A person that solely or with affiliates engages in a resale 

service with respect to an aggregate of no more than 12 

resale time-shares per calendar year;  

2. A person that owns or acquires more than 12 resale 

time-shares and subsequently transfers all such resale time-

shares to a single purchaser in a single transaction;  

3. The owner, owner's agents, and employees of a regularly 

published newspaper, magazine, or other periodical 

publication of general circulation; broadcast station; 

website; or billboard, to the extent their activities are 

limited to solicitation and publication of advertisements 

and the transmission of responses to the persons who place 

the advertisements. Any person that would otherwise be 

exempt from this chapter pursuant to this section shall not 

be exempt if the person (i) solicits the placement of the 

advertisement by representing that the advertisement will 

generate cash, a certain price, or a similar type of 

representation for the time-share owner's resale time-share, 

(ii) makes a recommendation as to the sales price for which 

to advertise the resale time-share, (iii) makes 

representations to the person placing the advertisement 

regarding the success rate for selling resale time-shares 

advertised with such person, or (iv) makes 

misrepresentations as described in this chapter;  

4. Sale by a developer or a party acting on its behalf of a 

resale time-share under a current registration of the time-

share program in which the resale time-share is included;  

5. Sale by an association, managing entity, or a party 

acting on its behalf of a resale time-share owned by the 

association provided the sale is in compliance with 

subsection C of § 55-380.1; or  

6. Attorneys, title agents, title companies, or escrow 

companies providing closing services in connection with 

the transfer of a resale time-share.  

18VAC48-45-670. Requirements for registration as a 

time-share reseller. 

A. Individuals or firms that provide any time-share resale 

services shall submit an application on a form prescribed by 

the board and shall meet the requirements of this section, 

including: 

1. The information contained in § 55-394.3 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

2. The application fee specified in 18VAC48-45-70. 

3. All contact information applicable to the time-share 

reseller and the lead dealer. 
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B. Any individual or firm offering resale services as defined 

in § 55-362 of the Code of Virginia shall be registered with 

the board. All names under which the time-share reseller 

conducts business shall be disclosed on the application. The 

name under which the firm conducts business and holds itself 

out to the public (i.e., the trade or fictitious name) shall also 

be disclosed on the application. Firms shall be organized as 

business entities under the laws of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia or otherwise authorized to transact business in 

Virginia. Firms shall register any trade or fictitious names 

with the State Corporation Commission or the clerk of court 

in the jurisdiction where the business is to be conducted in 

accordance with §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of the Code of 

Virginia before submitting an application to the board. 

C. The applicant for a time-share reseller registration shall 

disclose the firm's mailing address and the firm's physical 

address. A post office box is only acceptable as a mailing 

address when a physical address is also provided. 

D. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant for a time-share reseller registration shall 

disclose the following information about the firm, the lead 

dealer, and any of the principals of the firm, if applicable: 

1. All felony convictions. 

2. All misdemeanor convictions in any jurisdiction that 

occurred within three years before the date of application. 

3. Any plea of nolo contendere or finding of guilt 

regardless of adjudication or deferred adjudication shall be 

considered a conviction for the purposes of this section. 

The record of conviction certified or authenticated in such 

form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws of the 

jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such guilt. 

E. The applicant shall obtain and maintain a bond or letter of 

credit pursuant to § 55-375 of the Code of Virginia, for the 

purpose of protecting deposits and refundable moneys 

received by a time-share reseller from clients in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia in connection with the purchase, 

acquisition, or sale of a time-share. 

F. The applicant for time-share reseller registration shall be 

in compliance with the standards of conduct set forth in 

Part X (18VAC48-45-720 et seq.) of this chapter at the time 

of application, while the application is under review by the 

board, and at all times when the registration is in effect. 

G. The applicant for time-share reseller registration, the lead 

dealer, and all principals of the firm shall be in good standing 

in Virginia and in every jurisdiction and with every board or 

administrative body where licensed, certified, or registered, 

and the board, in its discretion, may deny registration to, any 

applicant who has been subject to, or whose lead dealer or 

principals have been subject to, any form of adverse 

disciplinary action, including but not limited to, reprimand, 

revocation, suspension or denial, imposition of a monetary 

penalty, required to complete remedial education, or any 

other corrective action, in any jurisdiction or by any board or 

administrative body or surrendered a license, certificate, or 

registration in connection with any disciplinary action in any 

jurisdiction prior to obtaining registration in Virginia. 

H. The applicant for time-share reseller registration shall 

provide all relevant information about the firm, the lead 

dealer, and of the principals of the firm for the seven years 

prior to application on outstanding judgments, past-due tax 

assessments, defaults on bonds, or pending or past 

bankruptcies and specifically shall provide all relevant 

financial information related to providing resale services as 

defined in § 55-362 of the Code of Virginia.  

I. The application for time-share reseller registration shall 

include the exhibits required pursuant to 18VAC48-45-680. 

18VAC48-45-680. Exhibits required for registration as a 

time-share reseller. 

A. The following documents shall be included as exhibits to 

the application for registration. All exhibits shall be labeled as 

indicated and submitted in a format acceptable to the board. 

1. Exhibit A: A copy of the certificate of incorporation or 

certificate of authority to transact business in Virginia 

issued by the Virginia State Corporation Commission, or 

any other entity formation documents, together with any 

trade or fictitious name certificate. 

2. Exhibit B: A copy of the resale purchase contract. 

3. Exhibit C: A copy of the resale transfer contract. 

4. Exhibit D: A copy of disclosures required by § 55-380.1 

of the Code of Virginia. 

5. Exhibit E: A narrative description of the marketing or 

advertising plan. 

6. Exhibit F: A bond or letter of credit in accordance with 

subsection E of 18VAC48-45-670. 

B. The board has the sole discretion to require additional 

information or amendment of existing information as the 

board finds necessary to ensure full and accurate disclosure 

and compliance with the provisions of § 55-380.1 of the Code 

of Virginia and to ensure compliance with the provisions of 

§ 55-394.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC48-45-690. Renewal and reinstatement of a time-

share reseller registration. 

A. A time-share reseller registration issued under this 

chapter shall expire one year from the last day of the month in 

which it was issued. The fee specified in 18VAC48-45-70 

shall be required for renewal.  

B. Prior to the expiration date shown on the registration, a 

registration shall be renewed upon payment of the fees 

specified in 18VAC48-45-70 and submittal of proof of a 

current bond or letter of credit required in accordance with 

subsection E of 18VAC48-45-670. 

C. The board will send a renewal notice to the regulant at 

the last known address of record. Failure to receive this notice 

shall not relieve the regulant of the obligation to renew. If the 
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regulant fails to receive the renewal notice, a copy of the 

registration may be submitted with the required fees as an 

application for renewal. By submitting a renewal fee, the 

regulant is certifying continued compliance with this chapter, 

as applicable, and certifying that all documents required for 

registration pursuant to 18VAC48-45-680 on file with the 

board reflect the most current version used by the reseller. 

D. If the requirements for renewal of a registration as 

specified in this chapter are not completed more than 30 days 

and within six months after the registration expiration date, 

the reinstatement fee specified in 18VAC48-50-70 shall be 

required.  

E. A registration may be reinstated for up to six months 

following the expiration date. After six months, the 

registration may not be reinstated under any circumstances 

and the firm or individual must meet all current entry 

requirements and apply as a new applicant. 

F. The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of 

registration for the same reasons as it may refuse initial 

registration or discipline a registrant. 

G. The date the renewal application and fee are received in 

the office of the board shall determine whether a registration 

shall be renewed without reinstatement, or shall be subject to 

reinstatement application procedures. 

H. A registration that is reinstated shall be regarded as 

having been continuously registered without interruption. 

Therefore, the registration holder shall remain under the 

disciplinary authority of the board during the entire period 

and shall be accountable for its activities during the period. 

Nothing in this chapter shall divest the board of its authority 

to discipline a registration holder for a violation of the law or 

regulation during the period of time for which the regulant 

was registered. 

I. Applicants for renewal shall continue to meet all of the 

qualifications for registration set forth in 18VAC48-45-680. 

18VAC48-45-700. Maintenance of time-share reseller 

registration. 

Any material changes made or known by the time-share 

reseller that may affect the accuracy or completeness of the 

time-share reseller registration file shall be promptly reported 

to the board. The board may request additional information as 

necessary to ensure compliance with the Virginia Real Estate 

Time-Share Act and this chapter. 

18VAC48-45-710. Recordkeeping for a time-share reseller 

registration. 

A time-share reseller registered by the board shall comply 

with the recordkeeping provisions of § 55-394.4 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Part X 

Board Authority and Standards of Conduct 

18VAC48-45-720. Grounds for disciplinary action. 

The board may revoke a registration that is not in 

compliance with any provision of the regulations of the board 

or the Virginia Real Estate Time-Share Act. Additional action 

may include issuance of a temporary cease and desist order, 

issuance of a cease and desist order, and bringing action in 

the appropriate circuit court to enjoin the acts or practices and 

to enforce compliance. 

18VAC48-45-730. Registration required. 

A. No developer or agent of a developer shall offer a time-

share prior to the registration of the time-share program and 

time-share project. 

B. No developer or agent of a developer shall offer an 

alternative purchase prior to the registration of the alternative 

purchase by the developer. 

C. No exchange company or agent of an exchange company 

shall offer an exchange program prior to the registration of 

the exchange program by the exchange company. 

D.  No time-share reseller or agent of a time-share reseller 

shall offer any resale services prior to the registration of the 

time-share reseller. 

18VAC48-45-740. Time-share advertising standards. 

A. No promise, assertion, representation, or statement of fact 

or opinion in connection with a time-share marketing activity 

shall be made that is false, inaccurate or misleading by reason 

of inclusion of an untrue statement of a material fact or 

omission of a statement of a material fact relative to the actual 

or intended characteristics, circumstances, or features of a 

time-share program or a time-share project.  

B. No promise, assertion, representation, or statement of fact 

or opinion made in connection with a time-share marketing 

activity shall indicate that a unit or common element will be 

built or placed on the time-share unless proposed within the 

meaning of subsection A of 18VAC48-45-200.  

C. No promise, assertion, representation, or statement of fact 

or opinion made in connection with a time-share marketing 

activity and relating to a time-share project not registered 

shall, by its express terms, induce, solicit, or encourage a 

contract for sale or performing some other act that would 

create or purport to create a legal or equitable interest in the 

time-share, other than a security interest in or a nonbinding 

reservation of the time-share, when to do so would 

circumvent the provisions of the Virginia Real Estate Time-

Share Act. 

18VAC48-45-750. Board oversight of public offering 

statement and exchange program disclosure document. 

A. The board at any time may require a developer to alter or 

amend the public offering statement for a time-share or an 

alternative purchase or an exchange program disclosure 

document to assure full and accurate disclosure to prospective 
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purchasers and to ensure compliance with the Virginia Real 

Estate Time-Share Act and this chapter.  

B. The board does not approve or recommend the time-

share, alternative purchase, or exchange program, or 

disposition thereof. The board's issuance of an effective date 

for a public offering statement or acceptance of an exchange 

program disclosure document shall not be construed to (i) 

constitute approval of the time-share, alternative purchase, or 

exchange program; (ii) represent that the board asserts that 

either all facts or material changes or both concerning the 

time-share, alternative purchase, or exchange program have 

been fully and accurately disclosed; or (iii) indicate that the 

board has made judgment on the value or merits of the time-

share, alternative purchase, or exchange program. 

18VAC48-45-760. Response to inquiry and provision of 

records. 

A. The developer, exchange company, or reseller must 

respond within 15 days to a request by the board or any of its 

agents regarding any complaint filed with the department. 

The board may extend such time frame upon a showing of 

extenuating circumstances prohibiting delivery within such 

15-day period. 

B. Unless otherwise specified by the board, the developer, 

exchange company, or reseller shall produce to the board or 

any of its agents within 15 days of the request any document, 

book, or record concerning any transaction in which the 

developer, exchange company, or reseller was involved, or 

for which the developer, exchange company, or reseller is 

required to maintain records, for inspection and copying by 

the board or its agents. The board may extend such time 

frame upon a showing of extenuating circumstances 

prohibiting delivery within such 15-day period. 

C. A developer, exchange company, or reseller shall not 

provide a false, misleading, or incomplete response to the 

board or any agent of the board seeking information in the 

investigation of a complaint filed with the board. 

D. With the exception of the requirements of subsections A 

and B of this section, a developer, exchange company, or 

reseller must respond to an inquiry by the board or its agent 

within 21 days. 

18VAC48-45-770. Prohibited acts. 

The following acts are prohibited and any violation may 

result in action by the board, including but not limited to 

issuance of a temporary cease and desist order in accordance 

with subdivision D 2 of § 55-396 of the Code of Virginia: 

1. Violating, inducing another to violate, or cooperating 

with others in violating any of the provisions of any 

regulation of the board or the Virginia Real Estate Time-

Share Act or engaging in any act enumerated in §§ 54.1-

102 and 54.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Obtaining or attempting to obtain a registration by false 

or fraudulent representation, or maintaining, renewing, or 

reinstating a registration by false or fraudulent 

representation. 

3. Failing to alter or amend the public offering statement or 

disclosure document as required in accordance with the 

provisions of this chapter. 

4. Providing information to purchasers in a manner that 

willfully and intentionally fails to promote full and 

accurate disclosure. 

5. Making any misrepresentation or making a false promise 

that might influence, persuade, or induce. 

6. Failing to provide information or documents, or 

amendments thereof, in accordance with this chapter. 

7. Failing to comply with the post-registration 

requirements of this chapter. 

8. Filing false or misleading information in the course of 

terminating a registration in accordance with 18VAC48-

45-460, 18VAC48-45-540, or 18VAC48-45-610. 

9. Failing to comply with the advertising standards 

contained in Part III (18VAC48-45-50 et seq.) of this 

chapter.  

10. Failing to notify the board of the cancellation, 

amendment, expiration, termination, or any other change 

that affects the validity of a bond or letter of credit required 

pursuant to subsection E of 18VAC48-45-670. 

11. Allowing a registration issued by the board to be used 

by another. 

12. A regulant having been convicted, found guilty, or 

disciplined in any jurisdiction of any offense or violation 

enumerated in 18VAC48-45-130, 18VAC48-45-210, and 

18VAC48-45-670. 

13. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days 

that the regulant was convicted, found guilty, or disciplined 

in any jurisdiction of any offense or violation enumerated 

in 18VAC48-45-670. 

14. Failing to report a change as required by 18VAC48-45-

470. 

15. Failing to satisfy any judgments or restitution orders 

entered by a court or arbiter of competent jurisdiction. 

16. Misrepresenting or misusing the intended purpose of a 

power of attorney or similar document to the detriment of 

any grantor of such power of attorney.  

17. Engaging in dishonest of fraudulent conduct in 

providing resale services, including but not limited to the 

following: 

a. The intentional and unjustified failure to comply with 

the terms of the resale purchase contract or resale transfer 

contract. 

b. Engaging in dishonest or fraudulent conduct in 

providing resale services. 

c. Failing to comply with the recordkeeping requirements 

of § 55-394.4 of the Code of Virginia.  
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d. Failing to disclose information in writing concerning 

the marketing, sale, or transfer of resale time-shares 

required by this chapter prior to accepting any 

consideration or with the expectation of receiving 

consideration from any time-share owner, seller, or 

buyer. 

e. Making false or misleading statements concerning 

offers to buy or rent; the value, pricing, timing, or 

availability of resale time-shares; or numbers of sellers, 

renters, or buyers when engaged in time-share resale 

activities.  

f. Misrepresenting the likelihood of selling a resale time-

share interest.  

g. Misrepresenting the method by or source from which 

the reseller or lead dealer obtained the contact 

information of any time-share owner.  

h. Misrepresenting price or value increases or decreases, 

assessments, special assessments, maintenance fees, or 

taxes or guaranteeing sales or rentals in order to obtain 

money or property.  

i. Making false or misleading statements concerning the 

identity of the reseller or any of its affiliates or the time-

share resale entity's or any of its affiliate's experience, 

performance, guarantees, services, fees, or commissions, 

availability of refunds, length of time in business, or 

endorsements by or affiliations with developers, 

management companies, or any other third party.  

j. Misrepresenting whether or not the reseller or its 

affiliates, employees, or agents hold, in any state or 

jurisdiction, a current real estate sales or broker's license 

or other government-required license.  

k. Misrepresenting how funds will be utilized in any 

time-share resale activity conducted by the reseller.  

l. Misrepresenting that the reseller or its affiliates, 

employees, or agents have specialized education, 

professional affiliations, expertise, licenses, 

certifications, or other specialized knowledge or 

qualifications.  

m. Making false or misleading statements concerning the 

conditions under which a time-share owner, seller, or 

buyer may exchange or occupy the resale time-share 

interest.  

n. Representing that any gift, prize, membership, or other 

benefit or service will be provided to any time-share 

owner, seller, or buyer without providing such gift, prize, 

membership, or other benefit or service in the manner 

represented.  

o. Misrepresenting the nature of any resale time-share 

interest or the related time-share plan.  

p. Misrepresenting the amount of the proceeds, or failing 

to pay the proceeds, of any rental or sale of a resale time-

share interest as offered by a potential renter or buyer to 

the time-share owner who made such resale time-share 

interest available for rental or sale through the reseller.  

q. Failing to transfer any resale time-share interests as 

represented and required by this chapter or to provide 

written evidence to the time-share owner of the recording 

or transfer of such time-share owner's resale time-share 

interest as required by this chapter.  

r. Failing to pay any annual assessments, special 

assessments, personal property or real estate taxes, or 

other fees relating to an owner's resale time-share interest 

as represented or required by this chapter.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC48-45) 

Time-Share Amendment Application, A492-0515AMEND-

v1 (eff. 9/13) 

Time-Share Annual Report, A492-0515ANRPT-v2 (eff. 

5/14) 

Time-Share Building Status Form, A492-0515BLDST-v1 

(eff. 9/13) 

Time-Share Bond/Letter of Credit Verificaiton Form, A492-

0515BOND-v1 (eff. 9/13) 

Time-Share Registration Application, A492-0515REG-v1 

(eff. 9/13) 

Time-Share Exchange Company Annual Report, A492-

0516ANRPT-v1 (eff. 9/13) 

Time-Share Exchange Company Registration Application, 

A492-0516REG-v1 (eff. 9/13) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3613; Filed May 6, 2015, 11:06 a.m.  

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Contractors is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards 

served by the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that 

are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and 

applicants. The Board for Contractors will receive, consider, 

and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 

with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-140, 18VAC50-22-

170).  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=15e4a003613~1&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=15e4a003613~1&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9044c003613~2&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9044c003613~2&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4109c003613~3&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4109c003613~3&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a6fbb003613~4&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a6fbb003613~4&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b36b1003613~5&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b36b1003613~5&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a8db003613~6&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a8db003613~6&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7333e003613~7&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7333e003613~7&typ=40&actno=003613&mime=application/pdf
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Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments reduce renewal and reinstatement fees 

received on or before August 31, 2017, for contractor 

licenses. 

18VAC50-22-140. Renewal fees. 

Each check or money order should be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable. 

In the event that a check, money draft, or similar instrument 

for payment of a fee required by statute or regulation is not 

honored by the bank or financial institution named, the 

applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees sufficient 

to cover the original fee, plus an additional processing charge 

set by the department:  

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C Renewal 

renewal 

with renewal 

application 
$195  

Class B Renewal 

renewal 

with renewal 

application 
$225  

Class A Renewal 

renewal 

with renewal 

application 
$240  

The date on which the renewal fee is received by the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or 

its agent shall determine whether the licensee is eligible for 

renewal or must apply for reinstatement.  

For renewal fees received on or before August 31, 2017, the 

fees shall be $100 for a Class C renewal, $125 for a Class B 

renewal, and $150 for a Class A renewal. 

18VAC50-22-170. Reinstatement fees.  

Each check or money order should be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft, or 

similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 

fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 

processing charge set by the department:  

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C 

Reinstatement 

reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$405*  

Class B 

Reinstatement 

reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$460*  

Class A 

Reinstatement 

reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$490*  

*Includes renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-22-140. 

The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or 

its agent shall determine whether the licensee is eligible for 

reinstatement or must apply for a new license and meet the 

entry requirements in place at the time of that application. In 

order to ensure that licensees are qualified to practice as 

contractors, no reinstatement will be permitted once one year 

from the expiration date of the license has passed.  

For reinstatement fees received on or before August 31, 

2017, the fees shall be $200 for Class C reinstatement, $250 

for Class B reinstatement, and $300 for Class A 

reinstatement. These fees include the renewal fee listed in 

18VAC50-22-140. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4368; Filed May 5, 2015, 8:26 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Contractors is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards 

served by the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that 

are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and 

applicants. The Board for Contractors will receive, consider, 

and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 

with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-30. Individual License and 

Certification Regulations (amending 18VAC50-30-120, 

18VAC50-30-130).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

The amendments reduce renewal and reinstatement fees 

received on or before August 31, 2017, for individual 

licenses and certifications. 

18VAC50-30-120. Renewal. 

A. Licenses and certification cards issued under this chapter 

shall expire two years from the last day of the month in which 

they were issued as indicated on the license or certification 

card. 

B. Effective with all licenses issued or renewed after 

December 31, 2007, as a condition of renewal or 

reinstatement and pursuant to § 54.1-1133 of the Code of 

Virginia, all individuals holding tradesman licenses with the 

trade designations of plumbing, electrical and heating 

ventilation and cooling shall be required to satisfactorily 

complete three hours of continuing education for each 

designation and individuals holding licenses as liquefied 

petroleum gas fitters and natural gas fitter providers, one hour 

of continuing education, relating to the applicable building 

code, from a provider approved by the board in accordance 

with the provisions of this chapter. An inactive tradesman is 

not required to meet the continuing education requirements as 

a condition of renewal. 

C. Certified elevator mechanics and certified accessibility 

mechanics, as a condition of renewal or reinstatement and 

pursuant to § 54.1-1143 of the Code of Virginia, shall be 

required to satisfactorily complete eight hours of continuing 

education relating to the provisions of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code pertaining to elevators, escalators, 

and related conveyances. This continuing education will be 

from a provider approved by the board in accordance with the 

provisions of this chapter.  

D. Certified water well systems providers, as a condition of 

renewal or reinstatement and pursuant to § 54.1-1129.1 B of 

the Code of Virginia, shall be required to satisfactorily 

complete eight hours of continuing education in the specialty 

of technical aspects of water well construction, applicable 

statutory and regulatory provisions, and business practices 

related to water well construction from a provider approved 

by the board in accordance with the provisions of this chapter. 

E. Renewal fees are as follows:  

Tradesman license $90  

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter license $90  

Natural gas fitter provider license $90  

Backflow prevention device worker 

certification 

$90  

Elevator mechanic certification $90 

Certified accessibility mechanic $90 

Water well systems provider certification $90 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. 

For renewal fees received on or before August 31, 2017, the 

fee shall be $60. 

F. The board will mail a renewal notice to the regulant 

outlining procedures for renewal. Failure to receive this 

notice, however, shall not relieve the regulant of the 

obligation to renew. If the regulant fails to receive the 

renewal notice, a photocopy of the tradesman license or 

backflow prevention device worker certification card may be 

submitted with the required fee as an application for renewal 

within 30 days of the expiration date. 

G. The date on which the renewal fee is received by the 

department or its agent will determine whether the regulant is 

eligible for renewal or required to apply for reinstatement. 

H. The board may deny renewal of a tradesman license or a 

backflow prevention device worker certification card for the 

same reasons as it may refuse initial issuance or to discipline 

a regulant. The regulant has a right to appeal any such action 

by the board under the Virginia Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

I. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 

provided by the department such as, but not limited to, 

renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 

exam administration. 

18VAC50-30-130. Reinstatement. 

A. Should the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation fail to receive the renewal application or fees 

within 30 days of the expiration date, the regulant will be 

required to apply for reinstatement of the license or 

certification card. 

B. Reinstatement fees are as follows: 

Tradesman license $140* 

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter license $140* 

Natural gas fitter provider license $140* 

Backflow prevention device worker 

certification 

$140* 

Elevator mechanic certification $140* 

Certified accessibility mechanic $140* 

Water well systems provider certification $140* 

*Includes renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-30-120. 

All fees required by the board are nonrefundable and shall 

not be prorated. 

For reinstatement fees received on or before August 31, 

2017, the fee shall be $100. This fee includes the renewal fee 

listed in 18VAC50-30-120. 

C. Applicants for reinstatement shall meet the requirements 

of 18VAC50-30-30. 
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D. The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by 

the department or its agent will determine whether the license 

or certification card is reinstated or a new application is 

required.  

E. In order to ensure that license or certification card holders 

are qualified to practice as tradesmen, liquefied petroleum gas 

fitters, natural gas fitter providers, backflow prevention 

device workers, elevator mechanics, or water well systems 

providers, no reinstatement will be permitted once one year 

from the expiration date has passed. After that date the 

applicant must apply for a new license or certification card 

and meet the then current entry requirements.  

F. Any tradesman, liquefied petroleum gas fitter, or natural 

gas fitter provider activity conducted subsequent to the 

expiration of the license may constitute unlicensed activity 

and may be subject to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. Further, any person who holds himself out 

as a certified backflow prevention device worker, as defined 

in § 54.1-1128 of the Code of Virginia, or as a certified 

elevator mechanic or certified accessibility mechanic, as 

defined in § 54.1-1140 of the Code of Virginia, or as a water 

well systems provider as defined in § 54.1-1129.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, without the appropriate certification, may be 

subject to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Any activity related to the operating integrity of an 

elevator, escalator, or related conveyance, conducted 

subsequent to the expiration of an elevator mechanic 

certification may constitute illegal activity and may be subject 

to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

G. The board may deny reinstatement of a license or 

certification card for the same reasons as it may refuse initial 

issuance or to discipline a regulant. The regulant has a right to 

appeal any such action by the board under the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

H. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 

provided by the department, such as, but not limited to, 

renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 

exam administration. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4369; Filed May 5, 2015, 8:27 a.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic (amending 18VAC85-20-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2015. 

Effective Date: July 16, 2015.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 

(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to provide 

appropriate access to treatment for persons suffering from 

obesity and its accompanying health risks. A physician 

assistant under the supervision of a physician or a nurse 

practitioner who has a collaborative arrangement with a 

patient care team physician should be able to perform the 

physical examination, order the tests, and follow a patient for 

whom weight loss drugs are being prescribed. Currently, 

regulations specify those functions may only be performed by 

the physician. The goal of the amended regulation is to clarify 

that the protocol or standard of care set forth in 18VAC85-20-

90 is essential for appropriate treatment with weight loss 

drugs, but that a nurse practitioner or physician assistant may 

be authorized by a practice agreement with a collaborating or 

supervising physician to treat such a patient. 18VAC85-20-90 

was originally adopted in response to serious complications 

from the overprescribing of weight loss drugs and the failure 

of some physician practices to properly screen and follow 

patients. While the Board of Medicine believes care of those 

patients, including prescribing, is within the scope of practice 

of nurse practitioners and physician assistants, the protocol or 

standard of care must be applied to their practice as well as 

the physicians with whom they have a practice agreement to 

protect the health and safety of patients.  

Rational for Using Fast-Track Process: Since this action does 

not expand the scope of practice of nurse practitioners or 

physician assistants, it will not be controversial. The 

amendment clarifies the standard of care for all types of 

practitioners who are treating and prescribing for weight loss.  

Substance: Subsection C is added to 18VAC85-20-90 to 

provide that, "If specifically authorized in his practice 

agreement with a supervising or collaborating physician, a 

physician assistant or nurse practitioner may perform the 

physical examination, review tests, and prescribe Schedules 

III through VI controlled substances for treatment of obesity, 

as specified in subsection B of this section."  

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is expanded 

access to weight loss treatment that includes prescribing of 

controlled substances by physician assistants and nurse 

practitioners. By tying such practice to the standard of care 

set forth in regulations for the physician with whom the 

physician assistant practices or with whom the nurse 

practitioner has a collaborative agreement, patients are 

protected against some of the potentially serious risks 

associated with such drugs. There are no disadvantages to the 

public. There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

agency or the Commonwealth.  
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Medicine (Board) proposes to specify that nurse 

practitioners (NPs) and physician assistants (PAs) are allowed 

to treat obesity, including prescribing appropriate Schedule 

III through VI drugs, so long as they are supervised by, or 

collaborating with, a physician and so long as such treatment 

is specifically authorized in the NP's or PA's practice 

agreement.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for this 

proposed regulatory change. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current Board regulation 

requires that individuals seeking treatment for obesity must 

see a physician even though treating patients with obesity and 

prescribing Schedule III and IV drugs for weight loss are 

within the scope of practice for NPs (and are with the 

competency of PAs). In order to allow both NPs and PAs to 

treat obesity, inclusive of prescribing drugs that they are 

competent to prescribe, the Board now proposes to amend 

this regulation to allow this. Under the proposed regulation, 

both PNs and PAs will be allowed to treat obesity, including 

prescribing appropriate Schedule III through VI drugs, so 

long as they are supervised by, or collaborating with, a 

physician and so long as such treatment is specifically 

authorized in the NP's or PA's practice agreement. 

This change will likely benefit PAs and NPs as it will allow 

them to treat all conditions that they are competent to treat. 

This change will also likely benefit physicians who employ 

PAs and NPs as it will allow them to delegate treatment of 

obesity patients so that they can better budget their time and 

help more patients. Obesity patients will benefit, also, 

because they are likely to find it easier to get appointments 

and treatment from an expanded pool of professionals who 

are authorized to treat them.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. Because the Board does not 

license physicians by specialty, Board staff does not have an 

estimate of how many individuals this regulatory change will 

affect. Generally, it will affect all PAs and NPs who work 

with doctors that offer obesity treatment. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action.  

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulation 

will increase the number of individuals who are authorized to 

treat obesity and so will increase employment geared toward 

this treatment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. If this 

proposed regulation increases the number of patients that can 

be seen for obesity treatment, the value of supervising 

physician's practices may increase. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of the proposed 

regulation. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of the proposed regulation. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This proposed regulation is 

unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 17 (2014). 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 

proposed amendments. Further the report should include but 

not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget for amendments to 18VAC85-20 

relating to prescribing for weight loss by nurse practitioners 

and physician assistants. 
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Summary: 

The proposed amendment specifies that nurse practitioners 

and physician assistants are allowed to perform the 

physical examinations, review tests, and prescribe 

appropriate Schedules III through VI drugs in the 

treatment of obesity, so long as they are supervised by or 

collaborating with a physician and such treatment is 

specifically authorized in the nurse practitioner's or 

physician assistant's practice agreement. 

18VAC85-20-90. Pharmacotherapy for weight loss.  

A. A practitioner shall not prescribe amphetamine, Schedule 

II, for the purpose of weight reduction or control.  

B. A practitioner shall not prescribe controlled substances, 

Schedules III through VI, for the purpose of weight reduction 

or control in the treatment of obesity, unless the following 

conditions are met:  

1. An appropriate history and physical examination, are 

performed and recorded at the time of initiation of 

pharmacotherapy for obesity by the prescribing physician, 

and the physician reviews the results of laboratory work, as 

indicated, including testing for thyroid function;  

2. If the drug to be prescribed could adversely affect 

cardiac function, the physician shall review the results of 

an electrocardiogram performed and interpreted within 90 

days of initial prescribing for treatment of obesity;  

3. A diet and exercise program for weight loss is 

prescribed and recorded;  

4. The patient is seen within the first 30 days following 

initiation of pharmacotherapy for weight loss by the 

prescribing physician or a licensed practitioner with 

prescriptive authority working under the supervision of the 

prescribing physician, at which time a recording shall be 

made of blood pressure, pulse, and any other tests as may 

be necessary for monitoring potential adverse effects of 

drug therapy;  

5. The treating physician shall direct the follow-up care, 

including the intervals for patient visits and the 

continuation of or any subsequent changes in 

pharmacotherapy. Continuation of prescribing for 

treatment of obesity shall occur only if the patient has 

continued progress toward achieving or maintaining a 

target weight; and has no significant adverse effects from 

the prescribed program.  

C. If specifically authorized in his practice agreement with a 

supervising or collaborating physician, a physician assistant 

or nurse practitioner may perform the physical examination, 

review tests, and prescribe Schedules III through VI 

controlled substances for treatment of obesity, as specified in 

subsection B of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-20; Filed May 11, 2015, 3:43 p.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-20-221).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2015. 

Effective Date: July 16, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 

the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards, 

which includes promulgation of regulations in accordance 

with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia) that are reasonable and necessary to 

administer effectively the regulatory system. 

Purpose: In April 2014, a petition for rulemaking was 

received requesting that the Board of Nursing consider 

amending 18VAC90-20-221 B, which lists 12 organizations 

or entities that may recognize or approve continuing 

competency hours. Encouraging nurses who work for a 

government agency to take advantage of learning 

opportunities that relate to the practice of nursing within the 

context of their work at the agency may improve their 

effectiveness in protecting the health and safety of citizens of 

the Commonwealth.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The action is in 

response to a petition for rulemaking; there were no 

comments on the petition. The rulemaking is less restrictive 

and noncontroversial and should be promulgated using the 

fast-track rulemaking process. 

Substance: The amendment to 18VAC90-20-221 B adds "a 

state or federal government agency" to the list of entities and 

organizations that may recognize or approve courses, 

seminars, conferences, or workshops relating to nursing 

practice for continuing education credits. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the amendment is more 

options and opportunities for nurses to obtain the hours of 

continuing competency activities necessary for renewal. 

There are no disadvantages to the public. There are no 

advantages or disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Nursing (Board) proposes to add "a state or federal 

government agency" to the list of entities and organizations 

that may recognize or approve courses, seminars, conferences 

or workshops relating to nursing practice for continuing 

education credits.  
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Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In order to renew an active 

nursing license, a licensee must complete at least one of the 

following learning activities or courses: 

1. Current specialty certification by a national certifying 

organization, as defined in 18VAC90-20-10; 

2. Completion of a minimum of three credit hours of 

post-licensure academic education relevant to nursing 

practice, offered by a regionally accredited college or 

university; 

3. A board-approved refresher course in nursing; 

4. Completion of nursing-related, evidence-based 

practice project or research study; 

5. Completion of publication as the author or co-author 

during a renewal cycle; 

6. Teaching or developing a nursing-related course 

resulting in no less than three semester hours of college 

credit, a 15-week course, or specialty certification; 

7. Teaching or developing nursing-related continuing 

education courses for up to 30 contact hours; 

8. Fifteen contact hours of workshops, seminars, 

conferences, or courses relevant to the practice of nursing 

and 640 hours of active practice as a nurse; or 

9. Thirty contact hours of workshops, seminars, 

conferences, or courses relevant to the practice of nursing. 

Under the current regulations, to meet requirements of 

subdivision 8 or 9 above, workshops, seminars, conferences, 

or courses shall be offered by a provider recognized or 

approved by one of the following: 

1. American Nurses Credentialing Center 

(ANCC)/American Nurses Association (ANA); 

2. National Council of State Boards of Nursing 

(NCSBN); 

3. Area Health Education Centers (AHEC) in any state in 

which the AHEC is a member of the National AHEC 

Organization; 

4. Any state nurses association; 

5. National League for Nursing (NLN); 

6. National Association for Practical Nurse Education 

and Service (NAPNES); 

7. National Federation of Licensed Practical Nurses 

(NFLPN); 

8. A licensed health care facility, agency, or hospital; 

9. A health care provider association; 

10. Regionally or nationally accredited colleges or 

universities; 

11. The American Heart Association, the American 

Health and Safety Institute, or the American Red Cross 

for courses in advanced resuscitation; or 

12. Virginia Board of Nursing or any state board of 

nursing. 

The Board proposes to add "a state or federal government 

agency" to this list of entities and organizations that may 

recognize or approve courses, seminars, conferences or 

workshops relating to nursing practice for continuing 

education credits. Of those licensed nurses who are employed 

by government, many are associated with hospitals or 

academic institutions that are already listed as approved 

providers/endorsers of continuing education. Thus the 

proposed amendment will not likely have a large impact, but 

will be positive in that it may provide licensed nurses some 

additional qualified options for continuing education. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Healthcare Workforce 

Data Center at the Virginia Department of Health Professions 

reports that the number of registered nurses who listed a 

government entity as their primary employer in 2013 was: 

7656 in state/local government; 1527 in the U.S. military; 

1339 in the Veterans Administration; and 571 in other U.S. 

government agencies. The training at the places of 

employment for most of these nurses likely already qualifies 

for continuing education; there may be some though that do 

not currently qualify and would thus be affected by the 

proposed amendment. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

is unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal to add "a state or federal government agency" to the 

list of entities and organizations that may recognize or 

approve courses, seminars, conferences or workshops relating 

to nursing practice for continuing education credits may 

newly allow a small number of courses, seminars, 

conferences or workshops offered by private entities to 

qualify for nursing continuing education credit. The impact 

will not likely be large. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendment is unlikely to significantly affect costs for small 

businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendment is unlikely to 

produce a significant adverse impact for small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect real estate development 

costs. 

Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 17 (2014). 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 
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proposed amendments. Further the report should include but 

not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulatory action would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected, 

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and 

• the impact on the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulatory action will have 

an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type of 

professional skills necessary for preparing required reports 

and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and 

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation. 

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency Response to the Department of Planning and 

Budget's economic impact analysis: The board concurs with 

the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendment adds "state or federal government 

agencies" to the list of entities and organizations that may 

recognize or approve courses, seminars, conferences, or 

workshops relating to nursing practice for continuing 

education credits. 

18VAC90-20-221. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of an active license. 

A. In order to renew an active nursing license, a licensee 

shall complete at least one of the following learning activities 

or courses: 

1. Current specialty certification by a national certifying 

organization, as defined in 18VAC90-20-10; 

2. Completion of a minimum of three credit hours of post-

licensure academic education relevant to nursing practice, 

offered by a regionally accredited college or university; 

3. A board-approved refresher course in nursing; 

4. Completion of nursing-related, evidence-based practice 

project or research study; 

5. Completion of publication as the author or co-author 

during a renewal cycle; 

6. Teaching or developing a nursing-related course 

resulting in no less than three semester hours of college 

credit, a 15-week course, or specialty certification; 

7. Teaching or developing nursing-related continuing 

education courses for up to 30 contact hours; 

8. Fifteen contact hours of workshops, seminars, 

conferences, or courses relevant to the practice of nursing 

and 640 hours of active practice as a nurse; or 

9. Thirty contact hours of workshops, seminars, 

conferences, or courses relevant to the practice of nursing. 

B. To meet requirements of subdivision A 8 or A 9 of this 

section, workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses shall be 

offered by a provider recognized or approved by one of the 

following: 

1. American Nurses Credentialing Center 

(ANCC)/American Nurses Association (ANA); 

2. National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN);  

3. Area Health Education Centers (AHEC) in any state in 

which the AHEC is a member of the National AHEC 

Organization; 

4. Any state nurses association; 

5. National League for Nursing (NLN);  

6. National Association for Practical Nurse Education and 

Service (NAPNES); 

7. National Federation of Licensed Practical Nurses 

(NFLPN);  

8. A licensed health care facility, agency, or hospital;  

9. A health care provider association; 

10. Regionally or nationally accredited colleges or 

universities; 

11. A state or federal government agency; 

12. The American Heart Association, the American Health 

and Safety Institute, or the American Red Cross for courses 

in advanced resuscitation; or 

12. 13. Virginia Board of Nursing or any state board of 

nursing. 

C. Dual licensed persons. 

1. Those persons dually licensed by this board as a 

registered nurse and a licensed practical nurse shall only 

meet one of the continued competency requirements as set 

forth in subsection A of this section. 
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2. Registered nurses who also hold an active license as a 

nurse practitioner shall only meet the requirements of 

18VAC90-30-105 and, for those with prescriptive 

authority, 18VAC90-40-55. 

D. A licensee is exempt from the continued competency 

requirement for the first renewal following initial licensure by 

examination or endorsement. 

E. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing competency 

requirements upon written request from the licensee 60 days 

prior to the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the 

licensee of the continuing competency requirement. 

F. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing competency requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters. 

G. Continued competency activities or courses required by 

board order in a disciplinary proceeding shall not be counted 

as meeting the requirements for licensure renewal. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-28; Filed May 11, 2015, 3:42 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-20-225, 

18VAC90-20-230).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2015. 

Effective Date: July 16, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia states that 

the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards 

includes establishing the qualifications for registration, 

certification, licensure, or the issuance of a multistate 

licensure privilege, that are necessary to ensure competence 

and integrity and engage in the regulated profession; 

promulgating regulations that are reasonable and necessary to 

administer effectively the regulatory system; and issuing 

inactive licenses or certificates and promulgating regulations 

to carry out such purpose. The regulations include, but are not 

limited to, the qualifications, renewal fees, and conditions for 

reactivation of licenses or certificates. 

Purpose: In 2010, the board issued a Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action (NOIRA) to initiate rulemaking to address 

continuing competency for nurses who renew their active 

licenses biennially. When final regulations were promulgated, 

the board realized that the requirements for continuing 

education hours for persons who had allowed their nursing 

licenses to lapse or had taken inactive status were less than 

those for a nurse who was renewing an active license. Since 

the sections on inactive licensure and reinstatement had not 

been identified in the NOIRA or in the proposed regulations, 

the board decided to address them in a later action. The final 

regulations for continuing competency for renewal of 

licensure became effective August 1, 2013. On August 9, 

2013, a petition for rulemaking was received requesting that 

the board consider amending the sections on reactivation and 

reinstatement because requirements in those sections should 

not be weaker than those for renewal of an active license. 

Currently, if a license has been inactive or lapsed for more 

than two years, the nurse can reactivate or reinstate by 

evidence of completion of 15 hours of continuing education 

in nursing approved by a regionally accredited educational 

institution or professional nursing organization or by passage 

of National Council Licensing Examination during the period 

in which the license lapsed. Conversely, a nurse with an 

active license but less than 640 hours of active practice must 

have 30 hours of continuing education for a biennial renewal. 

The board concurred with the petitioner and voted to initiate 

rulemaking because current regulations may not adequately 

ensure the current competency of an applicant seeking 

reactivation or reinstatement if he has not been actively 

practicing outside of Virginia. To protect the health and 

safety of patients, the board must require some evidence that 

the nurse is competent to resume active practice.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: Comments received 

on the petition for rulemaking and the Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action were supportive of the amendments the 

board has proposed. Therefore, the board is confident that the 

rulemaking is noncontroversial and should be promulgated as 

a fast-track regulatory action. 

Substance: For consistency with the current requirements for 

renewal of an active license, the amendments require a nurse 

seeking reactivation or reinstatement to provide evidence of 

completion at least one of the learning activities or courses 

specified in 18VAC90-20-221 during the two years 

immediately preceding application for reactivation. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the amendment is better 

assurance that nurses returning to active practice have 

minimal competency to provide services to patients in 

Virginia. There are no disadvantages to the public. There are 

no advantages or disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Nursing (the Board) proposes to establish 

requirements for evidence of continuing competency for 

inactive or lapsed nursing licenses that are consistent with 

those for renewal of an active license.  

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs.  
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Estimated Economic Impact. In 2013, new requirements for 

continuing competency for nurses who renew their active 

licenses biennially became effective. However, the 2013 

regulatory language inadvertently did not apply to licenses 

that are inactive and lapsed. Thus, since then the requirements 

for continuing education hours for persons who had allowed 

their nursing license to lapse or had taken inactive status have 

been less than those for nurses who were renewing an active 

license. The Board now proposes to establish requirements 

for evidence of continuing competency for inactive or lapsed 

nursing licenses that are consistent with those for renewal of 

an active license.  

Currently, 15 hours of continuing education is required for 

reactivation of an inactive or lapsed license. The proposed 

change will allow many different kinds of educational 

experiences to count toward fulfilling continuing competency 

requirement. Amongst the learning activities that will count 

are: 

• Having a current specialty certification from a Board 

recognized national certification organization, 

• Completing a three credit hour college course that is 

relevant to the practice of nursing, 

• Completing a Board certified refresher course in nursing, 

• Completing a nursing-related, evidence-based practice 

project or research study, 

• Authoring or co-authoring an article that is published 

during a renewal cycle, 

• Teaching a three credit hour college course that is 

relevant to the practice of nursing, 

• Teaching nursing-related continuing education courses 

for up to 30 contact hours, 

• Working at least 640 hours as a nurse during the renewal 

cycle and completing 15 contact hours of workshops, 

seminars, conferences or courses relevant to the practice of 

nursing, or 

• Completing 30 contact hours of workshops, seminars, 

conferences or courses relevant to the practice of nursing. 

The main cost of the proposed change is the difference in the 

cost of completing one of the nine options above and the cost 

of currently required 15 hours of continuing education. 

According to the Board, there are a myriad of resources and 

providers available for meeting continuing competency 

requirements at a very reasonable cost. For example, the 

National Council of State Boards of Nursing offers courses 

online, such as a course on Medication Errors; Detention and 

Prevention at a cost of $30 for 6.9 contact hours. The Board 

staff also reports that entities such as hospitals are required to 

offer continuing education opportunities to their nursing staff 

as a part of hospital licensure requirements and that various 

nurses associations offer online educational opportunities that 

would meet the requirements of these regulations at a cost of 

approximately $5 to $6 per hour. Some individuals who teach 

nursing related college or continuing education courses can 

meet their continuing competency requirements with 

activities for which they actually earn money. In addition to 

the explicit costs of the educational opportunity chosen, 

affected individuals will also incur implicit opportunity costs 

for time spent meeting the proposed requirements. On the 

other hand, the proposed changes will afford the opportunity 

to demonstrate continuing competency through many 

additional options. These additional options will provide 

more flexibility to the nurses to fulfill the regulatory 

requirements and may provide some cost savings. Also, to the 

extent that the required continuing education improves the 

quality of nursing in the Commonwealth, both nurses and 

their patients will benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. In fiscal year 2013, there 

were 438 registered nurse reinstatements, 22 registered nurse 

reactivations, and 12 licensed practical nurse reinstatements. 

However, if a nurse has actively practiced in another state and 

is returning to Virginia to reinstate his license, he may not be 

required to acquire the additional 15 hours. Thus, the Board 

staff does not know how many of reinstatements or 

reactivations would meet the proposed requirements by 

having active practice in another state. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed requirements 

for continuing education for inactive or lapsed licenses will 

likely marginally increase the cost of licensure. This may 

marginally decrease the number of individuals who choose to 

work in professional fields that are regulated by the Board. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 

value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses 

that employ nursing staff may see their costs slightly increase 

if they have to raise nurses' salaries to offset some or all of 

the costs of newly required continuing education for 

reactivated or lapsed licenses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. There are likely no alternate methods to 

implement the proposed regulatory changes that would both 

achieve the Board's goals and be less costly. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 14 (2010). 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 

proposed amendments. Further the report should include but 

not be limited to: 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 1, 2015 

1716 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected, 

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and 

• the impact on the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type of 

professional skills necessary for preparing required reports 

and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and 

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation. 

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency Response to the Department of Planning and 

Budget's economic impact analysis: The Board of Nursing 

concurs with the analysis of the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments require a nurse seeking reactivation or 

reinstatement of a license to complete at least one of the 

learning activities or courses specified in 18VAC90-20-221 

during the two years immediately preceding application 

for reactivation or reinstatement. 

18VAC90-20-225. Inactive licensure. 

A. A registered nurse or licensed practical nurse who holds a 

current, unrestricted license in Virginia may, upon a request 

on the renewal application and submission of the required fee, 

be issued an inactive license. The holder of an inactive license 

shall not be entitled to practice nursing in Virginia or practice 

on a multistate licensure privilege but may use the title 

"registered nurse" or "licensed practical nurse." 

B. Reactivation of an inactive license. 

1. A nurse whose license is inactive may reactivate within 

one renewal period by payment of the difference between 

the inactive renewal and the active renewal fee. 

2. A nurse whose license has been inactive for more than 

one renewal period may reactivate by: 

a. Submitting an application; 

b. Paying the difference between the inactive renewal 

and the active renewal fee; and 

c. Providing evidence of completion of 15 hours of 

continuing education in nursing approved by a regionally 

accredited educational institution or professional nursing 

organization or of passage of the National Council 

Licensing Examination at least one of the learning 

activities or courses specified in 18VAC90-20-221 

during the period in which the license has been inactive 

the two years immediately preceding application for 

reactivation. 

3. The board may waive all or part of the continuing 

education requirement for a nurse who holds a current, 

unrestricted license in another state and who has engaged 

in active practice during the period the Virginia license 

was inactive. 

4. The board may request additional evidence that the 

nurse is prepared to resume practice in a competent 

manner. 

5. The board reserves the right to deny a request for 

reactivation to any licensee who has been determined to 

have committed an act in violation of § 54.1-3007 of the 

Code of Virginia or any provision of this chapter. 

18VAC90-20-230. Reinstatement of lapsed licenses or 

license suspended or revoked. 

A. A nurse whose license has lapsed may be reinstated 

within one renewal period by payment of the current renewal 

fee and the late renewal fee. 

B. A nurse whose license has lapsed for more than one 

renewal period shall: 

1. File a reinstatement application and pay the 

reinstatement fee; and 

2. Provide evidence of completing 15 hours of continuing 

education in nursing approved by a regionally accredited 

educational institution or professional nursing organization 

or of passage of National Council Licensing Examination 

at least one of the learning activities or courses specified in 

18VAC90-20-221 during the period in which the license 

has been lapsed the two years immediately preceding 

application for reinstatement. 

C. The board may waive all or part of the continuing 

education requirement for a nurse who holds a current, 

unrestricted license in another state and who has engaged in 

active practice during the period the Virginia license was 

lapsed. 
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D. A nurse whose license has been suspended or revoked by 

the board may apply for reinstatement by filing a 

reinstatement application, fulfilling requirements for 

continuing competency as required in subsection B of this 

section, and paying the fee for reinstatement after suspension 

or revocation. A nurse whose license has been revoked may 

not apply for reinstatement sooner than three years from entry 

of the order of revocation. 

E. The board may request additional evidence that the nurse 

is prepared to resume practice in a competent manner. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-01; Filed May 11, 2015, 3:44 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-30. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Nurse Practitioners (amending 

18VAC90-30-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2015. 

Effective Date: July 16, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Sutie 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 provides the Board of Nursing and 

the Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate regulations 

to administer the regulatory system, and § 54.1-2957 provides 

that the boards shall jointly prescribe the regulations 

governing the licensure of nurse practitioners and patient care 

teams. 

Purpose: The listing of the American Association of Critical-

Care Nurses Certification Corporation (AACN) is justified 

because AACN is recognized as a national certifying body 

that offers professional certification by examination. Its 

certification is already acceptable to the boards in assuring the 

minimal competency of a nurse practitioner applicant, and 

therefore, the amendment is consistent with the boards' 

mission of protecting the health and safety of patients in the 

Commonwealth. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track 

rulemaking action is appropriate because the boards have 

already accepted AACN as a "national certifying body" under 

subsection B of 18VAC90-30-90, which authorizes the 

boards to accept professional certification from other national 

certifying bodies that meet certain criteria. The amendment to 

have AACN specifically included in the listing in subsection 

A is a formality. 

Substance: The amendment adds AACN to the list of the 

bodies that offer professional certification by examination as 

a qualification for licensure as a nurse practitioner. 

Issues: There are no specific advantages to the public. While 

AACN certification is already acceptable for licensure, the 

amendment will be clarifying to potential applicants who may 

look at the listing in the regulation for information about 

approved certifying bodies. There are no disadvantages to the 

public. The only advantage to the agency is clarity for those 

seeking information about acceptable certifying bodies. There 

are no disadvantages to the agency or Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. In 

response to a 2014 petition for rulemaking, the Boards of 

Nursing and Medicine (Boards) propose to add the American 

Association of Critical-Care Nurses Certification Corporation 

(AACN) to the list of approved entities offering professional 

certification for nurse practitioners. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Boards have already 

accepted AACN as a professional certifying body under 

subsection B of 18VAC90-30-90, which authorizes the 

Boards to accept professional certification from other national 

certifying bodies that meet certain criteria. The proposed 

amendment to the regulation will thus have no impact beyond 

improving clarity for nurse practitioners and other members 

of the public. Since there is no cost associated with adding 

AACN to the list and it provides some modest benefit, it 

produces a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

pertains to the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses 

Certification Corporation and potentially individuals seeking 

nurse practitioner professional certification. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

is unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment is unlikely to significantly affect the use 

and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendment is unlikely to significantly affect costs for small 

businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendment is unlikely to 

produce a significant adverse impact for small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment is 

unlikely to significantly affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 17 (2014). 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 
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analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 

proposed amendments. Further the report should include but 

not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulatory action would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulatory action will have 

an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation.  

Agency Response to the Department of Planning and 

Budget's economic impact analysis: The Boards of Nursing 

and Medicine concur with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendment adds the American Association of Critical-

Care Nurses Certification Corporation to the list of bodies 

offering professional certification acceptable for licensure 

as a nurse practitioner. 

18VAC90-30-90. Certifying agencies.  

A. The boards shall accept the professional certification by 

examination of the following:  

1. American College of Nurse Midwives Certification 

Council;  

2. American Nurses' Credentialing Center;  

3. Council on Certification of Nurse Anesthetists;  

4. Pediatric Nursing Certification Board;  

5. National Certification Corporation for the Obstetric, 

Gynecologic and Neonatal Nursing Specialties; and  

6. American Academy of Nurse Practitioners; and 

7. American Association of Critical-Care Nurses 

Certification Corporation.  

B. The boards may accept professional certification from 

other certifying agencies on recommendation of the 

Committee of the Joint Boards of Nursing and Medicine 

provided the agency meets the definition of a national 

certifying body set forth in 18VAC90-30-10 and that the 

professional certification is awarded on the basis of:  

1. Completion of an approved educational program as 

defined in 18VAC90-30-10; and  

2. Achievement of a passing score on an examination.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-35; Filed May 11, 2015, 3:46 p.m.  

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC95-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing Home Administrators (amending 

18VAC95-20-230). 

18VAC95-30. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Assisted Living Facility Administrators (amending 

18VAC95-30-130).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2015. 

Effective Date: July 16, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Lisa Russell Hahn, Executive Director, 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 

(804) 367-4595, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

ltc@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: 18VAC95-20 and 18VAC95-30 are promulgated by 

the Board of Long-Term Care Administrators under the 

general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, 

which includes the responsibility to promulgate regulations 

that are reasonable and necessary for the administration of a 

regulatory program. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is protection 

of the health and safety of the elderly and often vulnerable 

population of residents and patients in assisted living facilities 

and nursing homes. Applicants are usually honest in their 

responses to questions about the status of licensure in other 

states and malpractice history. A report from the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services Data Bank 

ensures that Virginia will not license a person who has had 

disciplinary action based on unprofessional conduct or a 
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criminal conviction that would provide grounds for denial of 

licensure and avoids exposing Virginians to practice by a 

person who could present a risk to the public. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The fast-track 

rulemaking process is being used because the amendment is 

essential for public protection and therefore will not be 

controversial. 

Substance: The amendments require applicants for licensure 

to provide a current report from the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services Data Bank. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is greater assurance that 

persons licensed as assisted living administrators and nursing 

home administrators have no history of convictions of 

unprofessional conduct that could present a risk of harm. 

There are no disadvantages to the public. The advantage to 

the board is the availability of a third-party confirmation of 

the possible disciplinary history of applicants. There are no 

disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators (Board) proposes 

to require applicants for licensure to provide a current report 

from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 

National Practitioners Data Bank (NPDB).  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for this 

proposed regulatory change. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulation requires 

applicants for licensure to attest on their applications that they 

have not been subject to any disciplinary actions while 

licensed in another state and also requires that they disclose 

any history of malpractice claims. The Board now proposes to 

also require applicants to provide a current report from the 

NPDB along with their applications. This report will allow 

Board staff to verify that the applicants have not been subject 

to any disciplinary action based on unprofessional conduct 

and that they do not have any criminal convictions that would 

be grounds to deny licensure. 

Board staff reports that applicants will pay for the NPDB 

report, which currently costs $8, but also report that the cost 

of this report will be reduced to $5 on October 1, 2014. Since 

it is highly unlikely that this regulatory change will be 

effective before that date, applicants are likely to only incur 

costs equal to the $5 report fee plus any nominal mailing 

costs if they mail their application materials to the Board 

(rather than submitting them online). These costs are likely 

outweighed by the benefits that will accrue to residents of 

long-term care facilities who will be better protected from 

being subject to the care of licensed long-term care 

administrators who would have been disqualified from 

licensure if the Board had full information on them.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. All applicants for licensure 

as long-term care administrators will likely be affected by this 

regulatory change. Board staff reports that they received 430 

applications for licensure in the year period ending on June 

30, 2014. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action.  

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulation is 

unlikely to affect employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

proposed regulation is unlikely to affect the use or value of 

private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

is likely to incur any costs on account of the proposed 

regulation. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business is likely to incur any costs 

on account of the proposed regulation. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This proposed regulation is 

unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 17 (2014). 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 

proposed amendments. Further the report should include but 

not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  
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Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Long-Term Care Administrators concurs with the analysis 

of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments require applicants for licensure to 

provide a current report from the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services National Practitioner Data 

Bank. 

18VAC95-20-230. Application package. 

A. An application for licensure shall be submitted after the 

applicant completes the qualifications for licensure. 

B. An individual seeking licensure as a nursing home 

administrator or registration as a preceptor shall submit: 

1. A completed application as provided by the board; 

2. Additional documentation as may be required by the 

board to determine eligibility of the applicant;  

3. The applicable fee; and 

4. An attestation that he has read and understands and will 

remain current with the applicable Virginia laws and 

regulations relating to the administration of nursing homes; 

and 

5. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). 

C. With the exception of school transcripts, examination 

scores, the NPDB report, and verifications from other state 

boards, all parts of the application package shall be submitted 

at the same time. An incomplete package shall be retained by 

the board for one year, after which time the application shall 

be destroyed and a new application and fee shall be required.  

18VAC95-30-130. Application package. 

A. An application for licensure shall be submitted after the 

applicant completes the qualifications for licensure.  

B. An individual seeking licensure as an assisted living 

facility administrator or registration as a preceptor shall 

submit:  

1. A completed application as provided by the board;  

2. Additional documentation as may be required by the 

board to determine eligibility of the applicant;  

3. The applicable fee; and 

4. An attestation that he has read and understands and will 

remain current with the applicable Virginia laws and the 

regulations relating to assisted living facilities; and 

5. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). 

C. With the exception of school transcripts, examination 

scores, the NPDB report, and verifications from other state 

boards, all parts of the application package shall be submitted 

at the same time. An incomplete package shall be retained by 

the board for one year, after which time the application shall 

be destroyed and a new application and fee shall be required. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4080; Filed May 11, 2015, 3:43 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-20, 

18VAC110-20-190).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2015. 

Effective Date: July 16, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 

the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards, 

including the responsibility to promulgate regulations that are 

reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the 

regulatory system and establish renewal schedules. 

The specific authority to control prescription drugs in the 

Commonwealth is found in Chapters 33 (§ 54.1-3300 et seq.) 

and 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory action to amend 

18VAC110-20-20 is to facilitate the work of the board in 

renewing the permits of nonresident pharmacies. A 

prerequisite for renewing a nonresident pharmacy is 

submission of a copy of a current inspection report from the 

state in which the pharmacy is located or from a duly 

authorized agency. Therefore, the renewal process for 

nonresident pharmacies is a labor-intensive, hands-on task. 

By tying the renewal to the date of initial registration rather 

than a set date on the calendar, the task can be spread 

throughout the year and handled more expeditiously by staff 

of the board. If there are any issues with the inspection report, 

staff will have more time to work with the nonresident 

pharmacies to resolve and meet the statutory requirements. 

Therefore, the change will facilitate renewals and avoid 

possible delays that could impact pharmacies that dispense 

prescriptions to patients in Virginia. 
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The purpose of the regulatory action in 18VAC110-20-190 is 

to protect the security of the drugs in the prescription 

department. If a pharmacist, pharmacy technician, or 

pharmacy intern has had his license or registration suspended 

or revoked, he represents a risk to the dispensing work of the 

prescription department. There is opportunity for diversion or 

adulteration that could threaten the health and safety of a 

community. Therefore, the amendment would prohibit the 

pharmacist-in-charge (PIC) or pharmacist on duty from 

permitting such a person to have access to the prescription 

department or controlled substances. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The amendments are 

very straightforward and proposed to address specific 

problems recently encountered by the board. The board does 

not expect the rulemaking to be controversial so it adopted 

the proposed changes by a fast-track rulemaking action. 

Substance: An amendment to 18VAC110-20-20 on fees will 

change the renewal date for nonresident pharmacy from "no 

later than April 30" to no later than "the date of initial 

registration." 

An amendment to 18VAC110-20-190 on prescription 

departments will add a rule that a PIC or pharmacist on duty 

shall not permit access to the prescription department or 

controlled substances by a pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or 

pharmacy technician whose license or registration is currently 

suspended or revoked. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is facilitation of 

renewal of nonresident pharmacy permits to avoid disruptions 

in dispensing of prescriptions for patients in Virginia. There 

is an advantage to the public if persons whose license or 

registration has been suspended or revoked are prohibited 

from access to controlled substances and the prescription 

department to avoid a risk of diversion or adulteration of 

drugs. There are no disadvantages to the public. 

The advantage to the agency is the ability to space out 

renewal of nonresident pharmacy permits, which are time-

consuming and labor-intensive. There are no disadvantages to 

the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to: 1) change the annual 

permit renewal date for nonresident pharmacies from April 

30th of each year to the date of the initial registration, and 2) 

clarify that pharmacists-in-charge and pharmacists on duty 

are prohibited from allowing access to the prescription 

department by a pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or pharmacy 

technician whose license or registration is currently 

suspended or revoked.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. A prerequisite for renewing a 

nonresident pharmacy permit is submission of a copy of a 

current inspection report from the state in which the 

pharmacy is located or from a duly authorized agency. 

Reviewing these out-of-state inspection reports is time 

consuming for Board staff. Under the current April 30th due 

date requirement, the Board labor for this task is concentrated 

around this one time a year. By tying the renewal to the 

anniversary date of initial registration rather than one date for 

all nonresident pharmacies, the task can be spread throughout 

the year and handled more expeditiously by Board staff. If 

there are any issues with the inspection report, staff will have 

more time to work with the nonresident pharmacies to resolve 

and meet the statutory requirements. Therefore, the change 

will facilitate renewals and avoid possible delays which could 

impact pharmacies that dispense prescriptions to patients in 

Virginia. 

According to the Department of Health Professions, once this 

proposed amendment is promulgated, the next permit renewal 

due date will be the anniversary of initial registration after the 

next April 30th. This will benefit nonresident pharmacies by 

giving them a fraction of a second year for their one-year 

permit fee during this time of transition. For example, if a 

nonresident pharmacy permit currently is due to be renewed 

on April 30, 2015, but its date of initial registration was 

January 30th, the next renewal for that pharmacy would be 

January 30, 2016. The pharmacy would therefore have an 

additional nine months on its permit.  

If we assume that the initial registration dates for the 

nonresident pharmacies are approximately randomly 

distributed throughout the year, then on average nonresident 

pharmacies will receive an extra six months of permit time 

without paying extra. The annual renewal fee for nonresident 

pharmacies is $270. So the value of six months extra time 

will be half of that, i.e. $135. So the proposed change of 

annual permit renewal date for nonresident pharmacies will 

on average produce a one-time benefit worth approximately 

$135 for each nonresident pharmacy.  

In April of 2014, the Board revoked the license of a 

pharmacist who was found to be in violation of numerous 

laws and regulations. Subsequently he was continued to be 

allowed in the prescription department, which the Board 

believes created a potential danger to public health and safety. 

Specifying in these regulations that pharmacists, pharmacy 

interns, and pharmacy technicians whose license or 

registration has been suspended or revoked are prohibited 

from accessing the prescription department may reduce the 

likelihood that pharmacists-in-charge and pharmacists on 

duty allow such access. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

particularly affect the 505 nonresident pharmacies permitted 

to do business in the Commonwealth.
1
  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal to change the annual permit renewal date for 

nonresident pharmacies from April 30th of each year to the 

date of the initial registration will on average save each 

nonresident pharmacy $135. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposal to 

change the annual permit renewal date for nonresident 

pharmacies from April 30th of each year to the date of the 

initial registration will on average save each small 

nonresident pharmacy $135. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments will not 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 17 (2014). 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 

proposed amendments. Further the report should include but 

not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulatory action would apply, 

• he identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulatory action will have 

an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation.  

_______________________________ 
1 Data source: Department of Health Professions 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) prohibit a pharmacist-in-charge or a 

pharmacist on duty from allowing access to the 

prescription department or controlled substances by a 

pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or pharmacy technician 

whose license or registration is currently suspended or 

revoked and (ii) change the renewal schedule for a 

nonresident pharmacy permit to annually at the date of 

initial registration. 

18VAC110-20-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, any fees for taking required 

examinations shall be paid directly to the examination service 

as specified by the board. 

C. Initial application fees.  

1. Pharmacist license $180 

2. Pharmacy intern registration $15 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $25 

4. Pharmacy permit $270 

5. Permitted physician licensed to 

dispense drugs 

$270 

6. Medical equipment supplier permit $180 

7. Humane society permit $20 

8. Nonresident pharmacy $270 

9. Controlled substances registrations  $90 

10. Innovative program approval. 

If the board determines that a technical 

consultant is required in order to make a 

decision on approval, any consultant 

fee, not to exceed the actual cost, shall 

also be paid by the applicant in addition 

to the application fee. 

$250 

11. Approval of a pharmacy technician 

training program 

$150 

12. Approval of a continuing education 

program 

$100 
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13. Approval of a repackaging training 

program 

$50 

D. Annual renewal fees.  

1. Pharmacist active license – due no 

later than December 31 

$90 

2. Pharmacist inactive license – due no 

later than December 31 

$45 

3. Pharmacy technician registration – 

due no later than December 31 

$25 

4. Pharmacy permit – due no later than 

April 30 

$270 

5. Physician permit to practice 

pharmacy – due no later than February 

28 

$270 

6. Medical equipment supplier permit – 

due no later than February 28 

$180 

7. Humane society permit – due no later 

than February 28 

$20 

8. Nonresident pharmacy – due no later 

than April 30 the date of initial 

registration 

$270 

9. Controlled substances registrations – 

due no later than February 28 

$90 

10. Innovative program continued 

approval based on board order not to 

exceed $200 per approval period. 

  

11. Approval of a pharmacy technician 

training program 

$75 every 

two years 

12. Approval of a repackaging training 

program 

$30 every 

two years 

E. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition 

to the current renewal fee to renew an expired license within 

one year of the expiration date or within two years in the case 

of a pharmacy technician training program. In addition, 

engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 

registration after the expiration date of such license, permit, 

or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 

board.  

1. Pharmacist license $30 

2. Pharmacist inactive license $15 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $10 

4. Pharmacy permit $90 

5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy $90 

6. Medical equipment supplier permit $60 

7. Humane society permit $5 

8. Nonresident pharmacy $90 

9. Controlled substances registrations $30 

10. Approval of a pharmacy technician 

training program 

$15 

11. Approval of a repackaging training 

program 

$10 

F. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 

renew a license, permit, or registration more than one year 

after the expiration date, or more than two years after the 

expiration date in the case of a pharmacy technician training 

program, shall submit an application for reinstatement with 

any required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the 

board and, except for reinstatement following license 

revocation or suspension, may be granted by the executive 

director of the board upon completion of an application and 

payment of any required fees.  

1. Pharmacist license $210 

2. Pharmacist license after revocation or 

suspension 

$500 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $35 

4. Pharmacy technician registration after 

revocation or suspension 

$125 

5. Facilities or entities that cease operation 

and wish to resume shall not be eligible 

for reinstatement but shall apply for a new 

permit or registration. Facilities or entities 

that failed to renew and continued to 

operate for more than one renewal cycle 

shall pay the current and all back renewal 

fees for the years in which they were 

operating plus the following reinstatement 

fees: 

  

a. Pharmacy permit $240 

b. Physician permit to practice pharmacy $240 

c. Medical equipment supplier permit $210 

d. Humane society permit $30 

e. Nonresident pharmacy $115 

f. Controlled substances registration $180 

g. Approval of a pharmacy technician 

training program 

$75 

h. Approval of a repackaging training 

program 

$50 
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G. Application for change or inspection fees for facilities or 

other entities.  

1. Change of pharmacist-in-charge $50 

2. Change of ownership for any facility $50 

3. Inspection for remodeling or change of 

location for any facility 

$150 

4. Reinspection of any facility $150 

5. Board-required inspection for a robotic 

pharmacy system 

$150 

6. Board-required inspection of an 

innovative program location 

$150 

7. Change of pharmacist responsible for an 

approved innovative program 

$25 

H. Miscellaneous fees.  

1. Duplicate wall certificate $25 

2. Returned check $35 

18VAC110-20-190. Prescription department enclosures; 

access to prescription department.  

A. The prescription department of each pharmacy shall be 

provided with enclosures subject to the following conditions: 

1. The enclosure shall be constructed in such a manner that 

it protects the prescription drugs from unauthorized entry 

and from pilferage at all times whether or not a pharmacist 

is on duty.  

2. The enclosure shall be locked and alarmed at all times 

when a pharmacist is not on duty. 

3. The enclosure shall be capable of being locked in a 

secure manner at any time the pharmacist on duty is not 

present in the prescription department. 

B. The keys or other means of entry into a locked 

prescription department and the alarm access code shall be 

restricted to pharmacists practicing at the pharmacy and 

authorized by the PIC with the following exceptions: 

1. The PIC or a pharmacist on duty, for emergency access, 

may place a key or other means of unlocking the 

prescription department and the alarm access code in a 

sealed envelope or other container with the pharmacist's 

signature across the seal in a safe or vault or other secured 

place within the pharmacy. This means of emergency 

access shall only be used to allow entrance to the 

prescription department by other pharmacists, or by a 

pharmacy technician in accordance with subsection D of 

this section. In lieu of the pharmacist's signature across a 

seal, the executive director for the board may approve 

other methods of securing the emergency access to the 

prescription department.  

2. Pharmacy interns, pharmacy technicians, and other 

persons authorized by the PIC or pharmacist on duty may 

possess a key or other means of entry into a locked 

prescription department only when a pharmacist is on duty. 

Such key or other means of entry shall not allow entry 

when a pharmacist is not on duty.  

C. The prescription department is restricted to pharmacists 

who are practicing at the pharmacy. Pharmacy interns, 

pharmacy technicians, and other persons designated by the 

pharmacist on duty may be allowed access by the pharmacist 

but only when the pharmacist is on duty. Each pharmacist 

while on duty shall be responsible for the security of the 

pharmacy, including provisions for effective control against 

theft or diversion of prescription drugs and devices. 

D. A PIC or pharmacist on duty shall not permit access to 

the prescription department or controlled substances by a 

pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or pharmacy technician whose 

license or registration is currently suspended or revoked. 

D. E. Upon a request by a patient to obtain an already-

dispensed prescription, a pharmacy technician may enter the 

pharmacy for the sole purpose of retrieving filled 

prescriptions that have already been reviewed and certified 

for accuracy by a pharmacist and deemed ready for delivery 

to the patient if:  

1. There is an unforeseen, unplanned absence of a 

pharmacist scheduled to work during regular prescription 

department hours;  

2. Alternate pharmacist coverage cannot immediately be 

obtained;  

3. The technician is accompanied by a member of the 

pharmacy's management or administration; and  

4. All requirements of subsection E F of this section are 

met.  

E. F. Requirements for entry into the prescription 

department in the absence of a pharmacist.  

1. The requirements for prescriptions awaiting delivery in 

subsection A of 18VAC110-20-200 are followed.  

2. Prior to entry into the prescription department, the 

pharmacy technician shall obtain verbal permission from 

the PIC or another pharmacist regularly employed by that 

pharmacy to obtain and use the emergency key or other 

access and alarm access code and enter the pharmacy.  

3. A record shall be made by the pharmacy technician of 

the entry to include the date and time of entry; the name 

and signature of the pharmacy technician; the name, title, 

and signature of the person accompanying the pharmacy 

technician; the pharmacist's name granting permission to 

enter and telephone number where the pharmacist was 

reached; the name of the patient initially requesting needed 

medication and the nature of the emergency; a listing of all 

prescriptions retrieved during that entry; and the time of 

exit and re-securing of the prescription department.  

4. The pharmacy technician shall reseal the key and alarm 

access code after the pharmacy is re-secured, and the PIC 
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shall have the alarm access code changed within 48 hours 

of such an entry and shall document that this has been 

accomplished on the record of entry.  

5. All records related to entry by a pharmacy technician 

shall be maintained for a period of one year on premises.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4074; Filed May 11, 2015, 3:39 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-10, 

18VAC110-20-500).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2015. 

Effective Date: July 16, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 

the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards, 

including promulgation of regulations that are reasonable and 

necessary to administer effectively the regulatory system.  

The specific authority to control prescription drugs in the 

Commonwealth is found in Chapters 33 (§ 54.1-3300 et seq.) 

and 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory action is to facilitate 

the work of emergency medical services (EMS) providers 

while protecting the integrity and security of drugs 

administered to patients. Amended regulations will expedite 

the process of dispensing and exchanging drug kits essential 

to the work of EMS providers, which will result in less 

disruption for health care providers at the hospital who are 

focused on patient care and less down time at the hospital for 

EMS providers who need to be available to answer 

emergency calls in the community. 

While the board has worked on expediting and facilitating the 

drug kit process, it has also focused on more specificity about 

records and security. All schedules of drugs are available to 

EMS providers in accordance with the protocol of their 

medical directors. Hence, there is opportunity for diversion or 

adulteration that could threaten the health and safety of a 

community. Regulations relating to drugs dispensed to an 

EMS agency are promulgated by the board, rather than by the 

Department of Health, which oversees EMS agencies. 

Therefore, it is important for the board to adopt rules that are 

consistent and clear for the wide variety of EMS providers 

across the state. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The amendments 

have been developed in consultation with EMS providers and 

hospital pharmacists who are involved with EMS agencies. 

Drafts were circulated and discussed over a series of 

meetings, so the board believes consensus has been achieved 

and the proposed rules will not be controversial. Therefore, 

the board has adopted the proposed changes by a fast-track 

rulemaking action. 

Substance: The amendments to 18VAC110-20-500 regarding 

drugs carried by emergency medical service agencies: 

1. Clarify that the kits carried by EMS agencies usually 

include "devices" in addition to "drugs." 

2. Specify how a kit is to be sealed by the hospital 

pharmacy to ensure detection if the seal is broken. Many 

kits now utilize a mechanism for sealing that can only be 

resealed or relocked by the pharmacy once the kit is 

opened. 

3. Clarify that the written protocol for administration of 

drugs or devices, which has been signed by the medication 

director for EMS, has to be maintained by the pharmacy 

participating in a kit exchange. 

4. Allow the reconciliation of the record of drugs 

administered with the contents of an opened kit to be 

performed by a pharmacy technician or nurse in lieu of the 

pharmacist. 

5. Clarify what records have to be maintained for one year, 

and specify the content of the record for filling and 

verifying the kit and for exchange of the kit. 

6. Set out the requirement for destruction of partially used 

drugs and for which two persons are allowed to witness the 

destruction. 

7. Add "irrigation solutions" to intravenous solutions as 

controlled substances that may be stored separately from 

the kit. 

8. Clarify that any drug or device that shows evidence of 

tampering or damage must be removed from the kit and 

replaced. 

9. Allow the hospital pharmacy to authorize the exchange 

of the kit in the emergency department of the hospital. If 

the kit contains Schedules II-V drugs, the exchange has to 

be handled by a licensed nurse, prescriber, or pharmacist. 

10. Allow a one-to-one exchange of Schedule VI drugs or 

devices provided the agency or the jurisdiction has 

obtained a controlled substance registration to authorize 

possession of the drugs not dispensed by a pharmacy. 

Schedule II-V drugs must be kept separate and sealed and 

are not eligible for a one-to-one exchange. This new 

provision was made in response to requests from EMS 

agencies that are allowed by board interpretation to 

perform a one-to-one exchange of Schedule VI drugs or 

devices.  

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the focus on 

patient care in hospitals and the availability of emergency 

services by removing any unnecessary barriers and expediting 
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the dispensing and exchanging of drug kits for EMS agencies. 

There are no disadvantages.  

While there are no direct advantages or disadvantages to the 

agency or the Commonwealth, more specific rules for drug 

kits will facilitate compliance and consistency, which is 

advantageous to the Department of Health and the board in 

their oversight responsibilities. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to update its regulations 

to reflect some of the current procedures followed in practice. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board proposes to update 

its regulations to reflect some of the current procedures 

followed in practice. The proposed changes include 1) 

allowing Emergency Medical Services (EMS) providers to 

exchange Schedule VI drugs or devices one-for-one from the 

drug stock in the emergency department or from an 

automated drug dispensing device rather than replacing the 

entire kit from the pharmacy, and 2) providing more 

specificity about the records for the kit containing drugs and 

about which practitioners may reconcile contents of the kit or 

witness destruction of drugs. 

According to the Department of Health Professions, all of the 

proposed changes are already followed in practice. Thus, no 

significant economic effect is expected other than the benefits 

garnered from improving the clarity of the regulation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

primarily apply to EMS agencies and hospital pharmacies. In 

May of 2014, there were 673 licensed EMS agencies in 

Virginia. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The regulations apply 

throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No significant impact on 

employment is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 

significant impact on the use and value of private property is 

expected. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments are not anticipated to have costs and other 

affects on businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendments are not 

anticipated to have costs and other affects on small 

businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No significant impact on real 

estate development costs is expected. 

Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 17 (2014). 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 

proposed amendments. Further the report should include but 

not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, the projected number 

of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and 

• the impact on the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and 

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation. 

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) authorize a one-to-one exchange of 

Schedule VI drugs or devices to permit emergency services 

providers to replace those drugs or devices directly from 

drug stock in the emergency department or from an 

automated drug dispensing device; (ii) specify the content 

of the records for the kit containing drugs and devices; (iii) 

specify which practitioners may reconcile contents of the 

kit to the administration record or may witness destruction 

of drugs; and (iv) authorize the pharmacist-in-charge of a 

hospital pharmacy to allow the exchange of the kit in the 

emergency department. 
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Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC110-20-10. Definitions.  

In addition to words and terms defined in §§ 54.1-3300 and 

54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia, the following words and 

terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"ACPE" means the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy 

Education.  

"Acquisition" of an existing entity permitted, registered or 

licensed by the board means (i) the purchase or transfer of all 

or substantially all of the assets of the entity or of any 

corporation that owns or controls the entity; (ii) the creation 

of a partnership by a sole proprietor or change in partnership 

composition; (iii) the acquiring of 50% or more of the 

outstanding shares of voting stock of a corporation owning 

the entity or of the parent corporation of a wholly owned 

subsidiary owning the entity, except that this shall not apply 

to any corporation the voting stock of which is actively traded 

on any securities exchange or in any over-the-counter market; 

or (iv) the merger of a corporation owning the entity, or of the 

parent corporation of a wholly owned subsidiary owning the 

entity, with another business or corporation.  

"Actively reports" means reporting all dispensing errors and 

analyses of such errors to a patient safety organization as 

soon as practical or at least within 30 days of identifying the 

error.  

"Alternate delivery site" means a location authorized in 

18VAC110-20-275 to receive dispensed prescriptions on 

behalf of and for further delivery or administration to a 

patient. 

"Analysis" means a review of the findings collected and 

documented on each dispensing error, assessment of the cause 

and any factors contributing to the dispensing error, and any 

recommendation for remedial action to improve pharmacy 

systems and workflow processes to prevent or reduce future 

errors. 

"Beyond-use date" means the date beyond which the 

integrity of a compounded, repackaged, or dispensed drug can 

no longer be assured and as such is deemed to be adulterated 

or misbranded as defined in §§ 54.1-3461 and 54.1-3462 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Pharmacy.  

"CE" means continuing education as required for renewal of 

licensure by the Board of Pharmacy.  

"CEU" means a continuing education unit awarded for credit 

as the equivalent of 10 contact hours.  

"Chart order" means a lawful order for a drug or device 

entered on the chart or in a medical record of a patient by a 

prescriber or his designated agent. 

"Compliance packaging" means packaging for dispensed 

drugs which that is comprised of a series of containers for 

solid oral dosage forms and which is designed to assist the 

user in administering or self-administering the drugs in 

accordance with directions for use.  

"Contact hour" means the amount of credit awarded for 60 

minutes of participation in and successful completion of a 

continuing education program.  

"Correctional facility" means any prison, penitentiary, penal 

facility, jail, detention unit, or other facility in which persons 

are incarcerated by government officials. 

"DEA" means the United States Drug Enforcement 

Administration.  

"Dispensing error" means one or more of the following 

discovered after the final verification by the pharmacist, 

regardless of whether the patient received the drug:  

1. Variation from the prescriber's prescription drug order, 

including but not limited to: 

a. Incorrect drug; 

b. Incorrect drug strength; 

c. Incorrect dosage form; 

d. Incorrect patient; or 

e. Inadequate or incorrect packaging, labeling, or 

directions. 

2. Failure to exercise professional judgment in identifying 

and managing: 

a. Known therapeutic duplication; 

b. Known drug-disease contraindications; 

c. Known drug-drug interactions; 

d. Incorrect drug dosage or duration of drug treatment; 

e. Known drug-allergy interactions; 

f. A clinically significant, avoidable delay in therapy; or 

g. Any other significant, actual, or potential problem with a 

patient's drug therapy. 

3. Delivery of a drug to the incorrect patient.  

4. Variation in bulk repackaging or filling of automated 

devices, including but not limited to: 

a. Incorrect drug;  

b. Incorrect drug strength; 

c. Incorrect dosage form; or 

d. Inadequate or incorrect packaging or labeling. 

"Drug donation site" means a permitted pharmacy that 

specifically registers with the board for the purpose of 

receiving or redispensing eligible donated prescription drugs 

pursuant to § 54.1-3411.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Electronic prescription" means a written prescription that is 

generated on an electronic application in accordance with 21 

CFR Part 1300 and is transmitted to a pharmacy as an 

electronic data file.  

"EMS" means emergency medical services. 
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"Expiration date" means that date placed on a drug package 

by the manufacturer or repacker beyond which the product 

may not be dispensed or used.  

"Facsimile (FAX) prescription" means a written prescription 

or order which is transmitted by an electronic device over 

telephone lines which sends the exact image to the receiver 

(pharmacy) in a hard copy form.  

"FDA" means the United States Food and Drug 

Administration.  

"Floor stock" means a supply of drugs that have been 

distributed for the purpose of general administration by a 

prescriber or other authorized person pursuant to a valid order 

of a prescriber.  

"Foreign school of pharmacy" means a school outside the 

United States and its territories offering a course of study in 

basic sciences, pharmacology, and pharmacy of at least four 

years in duration resulting in a degree that qualifies a person 

to practice pharmacy in that country. 

"Forgery" means a prescription that was falsely created, 

falsely signed, or altered. 

"FPGEC certificate" means the certificate given by the 

Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Committee of NABP that 

certifies that the holder of such certificate has passed the 

Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Examination and a credential 

review of foreign training to establish educational 

equivalency to board approved schools of pharmacy, and has 

passed approved examinations establishing proficiency in 

English.  

"Generic drug name" means the nonproprietary name listed 

in the United States Pharmacopeia-National Formulary (USP-

NF) or in the USAN United States Adopted Names (USAN) 

and the USP Dictionary of Drug Names.  

"Hospital" or "nursing home" means those facilities as 

defined in Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia or as defined in 

regulations by the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Inactive license" means a license which that is registered 

with the Commonwealth but does not entitle the licensee to 

practice, the holder of which is not required to submit 

documentation of CE necessary to hold an active license.  

"Long-term care facility" means a nursing home, retirement 

care, mental care, or other facility or institution which that 

provides extended health care to resident patients.  

"NABP" means the National Association of Boards of 

Pharmacy. 

"Nuclear pharmacy" means a pharmacy providing 

radiopharmaceutical services.  

"On duty" means that a pharmacist is on the premises at the 

address of the permitted pharmacy and is available as needed.  

"On-hold prescription" means a valid prescription that is 

received and maintained at the pharmacy for initial 

dispensing on a future date. 

"Patient safety organization" means an organization that has 

as its primary mission continuous quality improvement under 

the Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Act of 2005 

(Pub. L. 109-41) and is credentialed by the Agency for 

Healthcare Research and Quality. 

"Permitted physician" means a physician who is licensed 

pursuant to § 54.1-3304 of the Code of Virginia to dispense 

drugs to persons to whom or for whom pharmacy services are 

not reasonably available.  

"Perpetual inventory" means an ongoing system for 

recording quantities of drugs received, dispensed, or 

otherwise distributed by a pharmacy. 

"Personal supervision" means the pharmacist must be 

physically present and render direct, personal control over the 

entire service being rendered or act being performed. Neither 

prior nor future instructions shall be sufficient nor, shall 

supervision rendered by telephone, written instructions, or by 

any mechanical or electronic methods be sufficient.  

"Pharmacy closing" means that the permitted pharmacy 

ceases pharmacy services or fails to provide for continuity of 

pharmacy services or lawful access to patient prescription 

records or other required patient records for the purpose of 

continued pharmacy services to patients.  

"Pharmacy technician trainee" means a person who is 

currently enrolled in an approved pharmacy technician 

training program and is performing duties restricted to 

pharmacy technicians for the purpose of obtaining practical 

experience in accordance with § 54.1-3321 D of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"PIC" means the pharmacist-in-charge of a permitted 

pharmacy.  

"Practice location" means any location in which a prescriber 

evaluates or treats a patient.  

"Prescription department" means any contiguous or 

noncontiguous areas used for the compounding, dispensing 

and storage of all Schedule II through VI drugs and devices 

and any Schedule I investigational drugs.  

"PTCB" means the Pharmacy Technician Certification 

Board, co-founded by the American Pharmaceutical 

Association and the American Society of Health System 

Pharmacists, as the national organization for voluntary 

examination and certification of pharmacy technicians.  

"Quality assurance plan" means a plan approved by the 

board for ongoing monitoring, measuring, evaluating, and, if 

necessary, improving the performance of a pharmacy function 

or system.  

"Radiopharmaceutical" means any drug that exhibits 

spontaneous disintegration of unstable nuclei with the 

emission of nuclear particles or photons and includes any 

nonradioactive reagent kit or radionuclide generator that is 

intended to be used in the preparation of any such substance, 

but does not include drugs such as carbon-containing 

compounds or potassium-containing salts that include trace 
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quantities of naturally occurring radionuclides. The term also 

includes any biological product that is labeled with a 

radionuclide or intended solely to be labeled with a 

radionuclide.  

"Repackaged drug" means any drug removed from the 

manufacturer's original package and placed in different 

packaging.  

"Robotic pharmacy system" means a mechanical system 

controlled by a computer that performs operations or 

activities relative to the storage, packaging, labeling, 

dispensing, or distribution of medications, and collects, 

controls, and maintains all transaction information.  

"Safety closure container" means a container which that 

meets the requirements of the federal Poison Prevention 

Packaging Act of 1970 (15 USC §§ 1471-1476), that is, in 

testing such containers, that 85% of a test group of 200 

children of ages 41-52 months are unable to open the 

container in a five-minute period and that 80% fail in another 

five minutes after a demonstration of how to open it and that 

90% of a test group of 100 adults must be able to open and 

close the container.  

"Satellite pharmacy" means a pharmacy which that is 

noncontiguous to the centrally permitted pharmacy of a 

hospital but at the location designated on the pharmacy 

permit.  

"Special packaging" means packaging that is designed or 

constructed to be significantly difficult for children under 

younger than five years of age to open to obtain a toxic or 

harmful amount of the drug contained therein within a 

reasonable time and not difficult for normal adults to use 

properly, but does not mean packaging which that all such 

children cannot open or obtain a toxic or harmful amount 

within a reasonable time.  

"Special use permit" means a permit issued to conduct a 

pharmacy of a special scope of service that varies in any way 

from the provisions of any board regulation.  

"Storage temperature" means those specific directions stated 

in some monographs with respect to the temperatures at 

which pharmaceutical articles shall be stored, where it is 

considered that storage at a lower or higher temperature may 

produce undesirable results. The conditions are defined by the 

following terms:  

1. "Cold" means any temperature not exceeding 8°C 

(46°F). A refrigerator is a cold place in which temperature 

is maintained thermostatically between 2° and 8°C (36° 

and 46°F). A freezer is a cold place in which the 

temperature is maintained thermostatically between -20° 

and -10°C (-4° and 14°F).  

2. "Room temperature" means the temperature prevailing 

in a working area.  

3. "Controlled room temperature" means a temperature 

maintained thermostatically that encompasses the usual 

and customary working environment of 20° to 25°C (68° 

to 77°F); that results in a mean kinetic temperature 

calculated to be not more than 25°C; and that allows for 

excursions between 15° and 30°C (59° and 86°F) that are 

experienced in pharmacies, hospitals, and warehouses.  

4. "Warm" means any temperature between 30° and 40°C 

(86° and 104°F).  

5. "Excessive heat" means any temperature above 40°C 

(104°F).  

6. "Protection from freezing" means where, in addition to 

the risk of breakage of the container, freezing subjects a 

product to loss of strength or potency, or to the destructive 

alteration of its characteristics, the container label bears an 

appropriate instruction to protect the product from 

freezing.  

7. "Cool" means any temperature between 8° and 15°C 

(46° and 59°F).  

"Terminally ill" means a patient with a terminal condition as 

defined in § 54.1-2982 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Unit dose container" means a container that is a single-unit 

container, as defined in United States Pharmacopeia-National 

Formulary, for articles intended for administration by other 

than the parenteral route as a single dose, direct from the 

container.  

"Unit dose package" means a container that contains a 

particular dose ordered for a patient.  

"Unit dose system" means a system in which multiple drugs 

in unit dose packaging are dispensed in a single container, 

such as a medication drawer or bin, labeled only with patient 

name and location. Directions for administration are not 

provided by the pharmacy on the drug packaging or container 

but are obtained by the person administering directly from a 

prescriber's order or medication administration record.  

"USP-NF" means the United States Pharmacopeia-National 

Formulary.  

"Well-closed container" means a container that protects the 

contents from extraneous solids and from loss of the drug 

under the ordinary or customary conditions of handling, 

shipment, storage, and distribution.  

18VAC110-20-500. Licensed emergency medical services 

(EMS) agencies program.  

A. The pharmacy may prepare a drug kit for a licensed 

emergency medical services EMS agency provided:  

1. The PIC of the hospital pharmacy shall be responsible 

for all prescription drugs and Schedule VI controlled 

devices contained in this drug kit. A pharmacist shall check 

each drug kit after filling the kit, and initial the filling 

record certifying the accuracy and integrity of the contents 

of the kit.  

2. The drug kit is sealed, secured, and stored in such a 

manner that it will deter theft or loss of drugs and devices 

and aid in detection of such theft or loss.  
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a. The hospital pharmacy shall have a method of sealing 

the kits such that once the seal is broken, it cannot be 

reasonably resealed without the breach being detected. 

b. If a seal is used, it shall have a unique numeric or 

alphanumeric identifier to preclude replication or 

resealing. The pharmacy shall maintain a record of the 

seal identifiers when placed on a kit and maintain the 

record for a period of one year. 

c. In lieu of a seal, a kit with a built-in mechanism 

preventing resealing or relocking once opened except by 

the provider pharmacy may be used. 

3. Drugs and devices may be administered by an 

emergency medical technician EMS provider upon an oral 

or written order or standing protocol of an authorized 

medical practitioner in accordance with § 54.1-3408 of the 

Code of Virginia. Oral orders shall be reduced to writing 

by the technician EMS provider and shall be signed by a 

medical practitioner. Written standing protocols shall be 

signed by the operational medical director for the 

emergency medical services EMS agency. A current copy 

of the signed standing protocol shall be maintained by the 

pharmacy participating in the kit exchange. The emergency 

medical technician EMS provider shall make a record of 

all drugs and devices administered to a patient.  

4. When the drug kit has been opened, the kit shall be 

returned to the pharmacy and exchanged for an unopened 

kit. The record of the drugs administered shall accompany 

the opened kit when exchanged. An accurate record shall 

be maintained by the pharmacy on the exchange of the 

drug kit for a period of one year. A pharmacist, pharmacy 

technician, or nurse shall reconcile the Schedule II, III, IV, 

or V drugs in the kit at the time the opened kit is returned. 

A record of the reconciliation, to include any noted 

discrepancies, shall be maintained by the pharmacy for a 

period of two years from the time of exchange. The theft or 

any other unusual loss of any Schedule II, III, IV, or V 

controlled substance shall be reported in accordance with 

§ 54.1-3404 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. Accurate records of the following shall be maintained by 

the pharmacy on the exchange of the drug kit for a period 

of one year:  

a. The record of filling and verifying the kit to include 

the drug contents of the kit, the initials of the pharmacist 

verifying the contents, the date of verification, a record 

of an identifier if a seal is used, and the assigned 

expiration date for the kit, which shall be no later than 

the expiration date associated with the first drug or 

device scheduled to expire. 

b. The record of the exchange of the kit to include the 

date of exchange and the name of EMS agency and EMS 

provider receiving the kit.  

6. Destruction of partially used Schedules II, III, IV, and V 

drugs shall be accomplished by two persons, one of whom 

shall be the EMS provider and the other shall be a 

pharmacist, nurse, prescriber, pharmacy technician, or a 

second EMS provider. Documentation shall be maintained 

in the pharmacy for a period of two years from the date of 

destruction. 

5. 7. The record of the drugs and devices administered 

shall be maintained as a part of the pharmacy records 

pursuant to state and federal regulations for a period of not 

less than two years.  

6. 8. Intravenous and irrigation solutions provided by a 

hospital pharmacy to an emergency medical services 

agency may be stored separately outside the drug kit. 

9. Any drug or device showing evidence of damage or 

tampering shall be immediately removed from the kit and 

replaced. 

10. In lieu of exchange by the hospital pharmacy, the PIC 

of the hospital pharmacy may authorize the exchange of 

the kit by the emergency department. Exchange of the kit 

in the emergency department shall only be performed by a 

pharmacist, nurse, or prescriber if the kit contents include 

Schedule II, III, IV, or V drugs.  

B. A licensed EMS agency may obtain a controlled 

substances registration pursuant to § 54.1-3423 D of the Code 

of Virginia for the purpose of performing a one-to-one 

exchange of Schedule VI drugs or devices.  

1. The controlled substances registration may be issued to a 

single agency or to multiple agencies within a single 

jurisdiction. 

2. The controlled substances registration issued solely for 

this intended purpose does not authorize the storage of 

drugs within the agency facility. 

3. Pursuant to § 54.1-3434.02 of the Code of Virginia, the 

EMS provider may directly obtain Schedule VI drugs and 

devices from an automated drug dispensing device. 

4. If such drugs or devices are obtained from a nurse, 

pharmacist, or prescriber, it shall be in accordance with the 

procedures established by the pharmacist-in-charge, which 

shall include a requirement to record the date of exchange, 

name of licensed person providing drug or device, name of 

the EMS agency and provider receiving the drug or device, 

and assigned expiration date. Such record shall be 

maintained by the pharmacy for one year from the date of 

exchange. 

5. If an EMS agency is performing a one-to-one exchange 

of Schedule VI drugs or devices, Schedule II, III, IV, or V 

drugs shall remain in a separate, sealed container and shall 

only be exchanged in accordance with provisions of 

subsection A of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-3870; Filed May 11, 2015, 3:38 p.m.  
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Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-590).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2015. 

Effective Date: July 16, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. The specific authority to 

control prescription drugs is found in Chapters 33 (§ 54.1-

3300 et seq.) and 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

Purpose: The goal of the amended regulation is a less 

burdensome requirement for drugs in correctional facilities 

that will facilitate more efficient medical care for the patients 

who are inmates in those facilities. In modifying 18VAC110-

20-590, the board adopted a requirement for floor stock of 

controlled substances that have little or no potential for abuse 

or diversion. Therefore, the proposed change will 

accommodate better patient care without jeopardizing public 

health and safety. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The board has opted 

to use the fast-track rulemaking process because the amended 

regulation (i) is less restrictive, (ii) was supported 

unanimously and without discussion by board members, and 

(iii) will not be controversial. 

Substance: The substantive change to existing regulation is an 

allowance for a correctional facility to be able to maintain a 

stock of intravenous fluids, irrigation fluids, sterile water, and 

sterile saline to be accessed only by those persons licensed to 

administer drugs and administered only by such persons 

pursuant to a valid prescription or lawful order of a 

prescriber. Such stock must be limited to a listing to be 

determined by the provider pharmacist in consultation with 

the medical and nursing staff of the institution. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the regulatory action is cost 

and time savings to correctional facilities and provider 

pharmacies as they strive to meet the medical needs of 

inmates in the system. The purpose for the requirement can be 

accomplished with a less burdensome and costly regulation 

that ensures public protection. There are no disadvantages to 

the public. There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to allow correctional 

facilities to maintain a stock of intravenous fluids, irrigation 

fluids, sterile water, and sterile saline to be accessed and 

administered by authorized persons. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board proposes to allow 

correctional facilities to maintain a stock of intravenous 

fluids, irrigation fluids, sterile water, and sterile saline to be 

accessed and administered by authorized persons. Currently, 

correctional facilities can maintain these drugs only in a stat-

drug box. 

This change is in response to a request from the Department 

of Corrections (DOC). According to DOC staff, the fiscal 

benefit of being able to stock these drugs is not significant. 

However, the Board expects more efficient medical care of 

the patients who are inmates in those facilities. In addition, 

the Board believes these substances have little or no potential 

for abuse or diversion. Therefore, the proposed change is 

expected to accommodate better patient care without 

jeopardizing public health and safety. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed change will 

primarily affect correctional facilities with clinics in Virginia. 

According to DOC, approximately 50 prisons, correctional 

units, and community correctional centers may be affected. In 

addition, there are 64 local jails, 4 juvenile correctional 

centers, and 24 juvenile detention homes that may be 

affected. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The regulation applies 

throughout the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed change is 

unlikely to affect employment. 

Effects  on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed change is unlikely to affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

change is unlikely to affect small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed change is unlikely to 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed change is 

unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 14 (2010). 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 
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proposed amendments. Further the report should include but 

not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, the projected number 

of persons and employment positions to be affected, 

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and 

• the impact on the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation,  

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and 

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation. 

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget on proposed amended regulations for 

18VAC110-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Pharmacy. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments allow a correctional facility to 

maintain a stock of intravenous fluids, irrigation fluids, 

sterile water, and sterile saline to be accessed only by 

those persons licensed to administer drugs and to be 

administered only by such persons pursuant to a valid 

prescription or lawful order of a prescriber. The floor 

stock must be limited to a listing to be determined by the 

provider pharmacist in consultation with the medical and 

nursing staff of the institution. 

18VAC110-20-590. Drugs in correctional facilities.  

A. All prescription drugs at any correctional facility shall be 

obtained only on an individual prescription basis from a 

pharmacy and subject to the following conditions:  

1. Notwithstanding the allowances in subsections B, C, and 

D of this section, prescription drugs shall be obtained only 

on an individual prescription basis. 

2. All prepared drugs shall be maintained in a suitable 

locked storage area with only the person responsible for 

administering the drugs having access.  

2. 3. Complete and accurate records shall be maintained of 

all drugs received, administered and discontinued. The 

administration record shall show the:  

a. Patient name;  

b. Drug name and strength;  

c. Number of dosage units received;  

d. Prescriber's name; and  

e. Date, time and signature of the person administering 

the individual dose of drug.  

3. 4. All unused or discontinued drugs shall be sealed and 

the amount in the container at the time of the sealing shall 

be recorded on the drug administration record. Such drugs 

shall be returned to the provider pharmacy or to a 

secondary pharmacy along with the drug administration 

record, a copy of the drug administration record, or other 

form showing substantially the same information, within 

30 days of discontinuance. 

a. The provider or secondary pharmacy shall conduct 

random audits of returned drug administration records for 

accountability.  

b. The drug administration records shall be filed in 

chronological order by the provider or secondary 

pharmacy and maintained for a period of one year or, at 

the option of the facility, the records may be returned by 

the pharmacy to the facility.  

c. Drugs may be returned to pharmacy stock in 

compliance with the provisions of 18VAC110-20-400.  

d. Other drugs shall be disposed of or destroyed by the 

provider pharmacy in accordance with local, state, and 

federal regulations.  

4. 5. Alternatively, drugs for destruction may be forwarded 

by a pharmacist directly from the correctional facility to a 

returns company after performing the audit required by 

subdivision 3 4 a of this subsection and ensuring the proper 

maintenance of the administration records.  

B. Emergency and stat-drug box. An emergency box and a 

stat-drug box may be prepared for a correctional facility 

served by the pharmacy pursuant to 18VAC110-20-540 and 

18VAC110-20-550 provided that the facility employs one or 

more full-time physicians, registered nurses, licensed 

practical nurses, or physician assistants.  

C. Prescription A correctional facility may maintain a stock 

of intravenous fluids, irrigation fluids, sterile water, and 

sterile saline to be accessed only by those persons licensed to 

administer drugs and shall be administered only by such 

persons pursuant to a valid prescription or lawful order of a 
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prescriber. Such stock shall be limited to a listing to be 

determined by the provider pharmacist in consultation with 

the medical and nursing staff of the institution. 

D. Except for drugs in an emergency box, stat-drug box, or a 

stock of intravenous fluids, irrigation fluids, sterile water, and 

sterile saline, prescription drugs, including but not limited to 

vaccines, may be floor-stocked only at a medical clinic or 

surgery center that is part of a correctional facility and that is 

staffed by one or more prescribers during the hours of 

operation, provided the clinic first obtains a controlled 

substances registration and complies with the requirements of 

18VAC110-20-690, 18VAC110-20-700, 18VAC110-20-710, 

and 18VAC110-20-720. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4005; Filed May 11, 2015, 3:40 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC110-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 

18VAC110-20-20). 

18VAC110-50. Regulations Governing Wholesale 

Distributors, Manufacturers, and Warehousers 

(amending 18VAC110-50-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 16, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments impose an administrative fee of $10 for 

providing duplicate licenses, including permits and 

registrations, and a fee of $25 for verification of licensure, 

including permits and registrations. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC110-20-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, any fees for taking required 

examinations shall be paid directly to the examination service 

as specified by the board. 

C. Initial application fees.  

1. Pharmacist license $180 

2. Pharmacy intern registration $15 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $25 

4. Pharmacy permit $270 

5. Permitted physician licensed to 

dispense drugs 

$270 

6. Medical equipment supplier permit $180 

7. Humane society permit $20 

8. Nonresident pharmacy $270 

9. Controlled substances registrations  $90 

10. Innovative program approval. 

If the board determines that a technical 

consultant is required in order to make a 

decision on approval, any consultant fee, 

not to exceed the actual cost, shall also 

be paid by the applicant in addition to the 

application fee. 

$250 

11. Approval of a pharmacy technician 

training program 

$150 

12. Approval of a continuing education 

program 

$100 

13. Approval of a repackaging training 

program 

$50 

D. Annual renewal fees.  

1. Pharmacist active license – due no 

later than December 31 

$90 

2. Pharmacist inactive license – due no 

later than December 31 

$45 

3. Pharmacy technician registration – due 

no later than December 31 

$25 

4. Pharmacy permit – due no later than 

April 30 

$270 

5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy 

– due no later than February 28 

$270 

6. Medical equipment supplier permit – 

due no later than February 28 

$180 

7. Humane society permit – due no later 

than February 28 

$20 

8. Nonresident pharmacy – due no later 

than April 30 

$270 

9. Controlled substances registrations – 

due no later than February 28 

$90 

10. Innovative program continued 

approval based on board order not to 

exceed $200 per approval period. 

  

11. Approval of a pharmacy technician 

training program 

$75 every 

two years 

12. Approval of a repackaging training 

program 

$30 every 

two years 
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E. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition 

to the current renewal fee to renew an expired license within 

one year of the expiration date or within two years in the case 

of a pharmacy technician training program. In addition, 

engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 

registration after the expiration date of such license, permit, 

or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 

board.  

1. Pharmacist license $30 

2. Pharmacist inactive license $15 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $10 

4. Pharmacy permit $90 

5. Physician permit to practice pharmacy $90 

6. Medical equipment supplier permit $60 

7. Humane society permit $5 

8. Nonresident pharmacy $90 

9. Controlled substances registrations $30 

10. Approval of a pharmacy technician 

training program 

$15 

11. Approval of a repackaging training 

program 

$10 

F. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 

renew a license, permit, or registration more than one year 

after the expiration date, or more than two years after the 

expiration date in the case of a pharmacy technician training 

program, shall submit an application for reinstatement with 

any required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the 

board and, except for reinstatement following license 

revocation or suspension, may be granted by the executive 

director of the board upon completion of an application and 

payment of any required fees.  

1. Pharmacist license $210 

2. Pharmacist license after revocation or 

suspension 

$500 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $35 

4. Pharmacy technician registration after 

revocation or suspension 

$125 

5. Facilities or entities that cease 

operation and wish to resume shall not 
be eligible for reinstatement but shall 

apply for a new permit or registration. 

Facilities or entities that failed to renew 

and continued to operate for more than one 

renewal cycle shall pay the current and 

all back renewal fees for the years in 

which they were operating plus the 

following reinstatement fees: 

  

a. Pharmacy permit $240 

b. Physician permit to practice 

pharmacy 

$240 

c. Medical equipment supplier permit $210 

d. Humane society permit $30 

e. Nonresident pharmacy $115 

f. Controlled substances registration $180 

g. Approval of a pharmacy technician 

training program 

$75 

h. Approval of a repackaging training 

program 

$50 

G. Application for change or inspection fees for facilities or 

other entities.  

1. Change of pharmacist-in-charge $50 

2. Change of ownership for any facility $50 

3. Inspection for remodeling or change 

of location for any facility 

$150 

4. Reinspection of any facility $150 

5. Board-required inspection for a 

robotic pharmacy system 

$150 

6. Board-required inspection of an 

innovative program location 

$150 

7. Change of pharmacist responsible for 

an approved innovative program 

$25 

H. Miscellaneous fees.  

1. Duplicate wall certificate $25 

2. Returned check $35 

3. Duplicate license or registration $10 

4. Verification of licensure or registration $25 

18VAC110-50-20. Fees.  

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable.  

B. Initial application fees.  

1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $270 

2. Restricted manufacturer permit $180 

3. Wholesale distributor license $270 

4. Warehouser permit $270 

5. Nonresident wholesale distributor $270 

6. Controlled substances registration $90 
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C. Annual renewal fees shall be due on February 28 of each 

year.  

1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $270 

2. Restricted manufacturer permit $180 

3. Wholesale distributor license $270 

4. Warehouser permit $270 

5. Nonresident wholesale distributor $270 

6. Controlled substances registration $90 

D. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in 

addition to the current renewal fee to renew an expired 

license within one year of the expiration date. In addition, 

engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 

registration after the expiration date of such license, permit, 

or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 

board.  

1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $90 

2. Restricted manufacturer permit $60 

3. Wholesale distributor license $90 

4. Warehouser permit $90 

5. Nonresident wholesale distributor $90 

6. Controlled substances registration $30 

E. Reinstatement fees.  

1. Any entity attempting to renew a license, permit, or 

registration more than one year after the expiration date 

shall submit an application for reinstatement with any 

required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the 

board and, except for reinstatement following license 

revocation or suspension, may be granted by the executive 

director of the board upon completion of an application 

and payment of any required fees.  

2. Engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 

registration after the expiration date of such license, 

permit, or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary 

action by the board. Facilities or entities that cease 

operation and wish to resume shall not be eligible for 

reinstatement, but shall apply for a new permit or 

registration.  

3. Facilities or entities that failed to renew and continued to 

operate for more than one renewal cycle shall pay the 

current and all back renewal fees for the years in which 

they were operating plus the following reinstatement fees:  

a. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $240 

b. Restricted manufacturer permit $210 

c. Wholesale distributor license $240 

d. Warehouser permit $240 

e. Nonresident wholesale distributor $240 

f. Controlled substances registration $180 

F. Application for change or inspection fees.  

1. Reinspection fee $150 

2. Inspection fee for change of location, 

structural changes, or security system 

changes 

$150 

3. Change of ownership fee $50 

4. Change of responsible party $50 

G. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

H. For the annual renewal due on February 28, 2010, the 

following fees shall be imposed for a license or permit:  

1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $210 

2. Restricted manufacturer permit $140 

3. Wholesale distributor license $210 

4. Warehouser permit $210 

5. Nonresident wholesale distributor $210 

H. The fee for verification of license or permit shall be $25. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2783; Filed May 11, 2015, 2:07 p.m.  

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Psychology (amending 18VAC125-20-42, 

18VAC125-20-121).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3605 of the Code 

of Virginia (18VAC125-20-42). 

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3606.1 of the Code of Virginia 

(18VAC125-20-121). 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 1, 2015. 

Effective Date: July 16, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Acting Executive Director, 

Board of Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 

327-4435, or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 

the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards 

including the responsibility to promulgate regulations that are 

reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the 

regulatory system. 

Statutory provisions requiring licensure and continuing 

education for renewal of licensure in psychology are found in 

§§ 54.1-3606 and 54.1-3606.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
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Purpose: The purpose of the amendments is to clarify the 

intent of a requirement of 1.5 hours in ethics for continuing 

education and to accept the Certificate of Professional 

Qualification in Psychology (CPQ) credential as evidence of 

qualification for licensure by endorsement. The CPQ is a 

credential issued by the Association of State and Provincial 

Psychology Boards, which ensures that a licensee has met 

educational, examination, and experience requirements for 

licensure so states can readily license applicants who are 

minimally competent to provide safe and effective services. 

Clarification of the requirement for continuing education in 

ethics will assist licensees in remaining current with laws and 

regulations, including the standards of practice. Adherence to 

the standards of practice in the profession assures that a 

licensee will not face disciplinary action and protects the 

health, safety, and welfare of his clients. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The board has 

received several requests to explain the ethics requirement in 

continuing education, so the amendment will be acceptable to 

those seeking clarification. Additionally, the acceptance of 

CPQ for licensure by endorsement has been board policy for 

a number of years, so the addition in regulation is recognition 

of current practice. Therefore, the board does not expect any 

of the changes to be controversial or consequential. 

Substance: The amendments (i) specify that the board may 

accept the CPQ as evidence of education, examination, and 

supervised training for licensure by endorsement; (ii) clarify 

the intent of the requirement of 1.5 hours per year in ethics to 

include courses in laws and regulations governing the 

profession and in the standards of practice set out in 

regulation; and (iii) allow two hours of continuing education 

for membership on a state licensing board in psychology. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the amendments for the 

public is clarification of current rules and practices. There are 

no disadvantages to the public. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Psychology (Board) proposes to amend its 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Psychology to 1) allow 

a Certificate of Professional Qualification in Psychology as 

evidence of education, examination and supervised training 

for licensure by endorsement, 2) clarify that continuing 

education requirements in ethics, laws and standards of 

practice refer to standards of practice in regulation and 3) 

allow two hours of continuing education for membership on a 

state Board of Psychology.  

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 

proposed regulatory changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations have a list 

of further documentation, one of which must be provided to 

the Board when applying for licensure by endorsement. 

Applicants may currently provide: 1) a current listing in the 

National Register of Health Service Psychologists, 2) current 

diplomate status in good standing with the American Board 

of Professional Psychology in a category comparable to the 

one in which licensure is being sought, 3) documentation of 

10 years of active licensure comparable to the one in which 

licensure is being sought or 4) documentation of less than 10 

years of active licensure with further documentation of 

education, experience and examination completion that is 

substantially equivalent to Virginia's and verification of 

active practice in 24 of the 60 months immediately preceding 

application. The Board proposes to add a Certificate of 

Professional Qualification in Psychology (CPQ) to the list of 

further documentation. This change may make it somewhat 

easier for individuals who already have qualifications gained 

in another state to be licensed as Psychologists in Virginia. 

Since applicants will still have all options currently available 

for further documentation, no one is likely to be made worse 

off on account of this change. 

Current regulations require that Board licensees complete 14 

hours of continuing education each year; a minimum of 1.5 of 

these hours have to be for courses that cover "ethics, 

standards of practice or laws governing the profession of 

psychology." Some licensees, however, have been confused 

about what standards of practice this requirement refers to. 

The Board now proposes to clarify that the standards of 

practice that are included in this requirement are in the Board 

regulation specifically in 18VAC125-20-150. No entity is 

likely to incur costs on account of this change. To the extent 

that it makes the regulation less confusing, affected licensees 

will benefit. 

In addition to clarifying ethics and law requirements for 

continuing education, the Board newly proposes to allow 

Board members to use the work that they do for the Board as 

two of their 14 hours of yearly continuing education credit. 

This change will make it slightly easier for the seven 

members of the Board to meet their continuing education 

requirements. No entity is likely to incur costs on account of 

this change. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that the 

Board currently licenses 35 applied psychologists, 2,853 

clinical psychologists and 93 school psychologists. All of 

these entities, as well as any individuals who apply for 

licensure by endorsement in the future, will be affected by 

these regulatory changes.  

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action.  

Projected Impact on Employment. Allowing one more 

category of further documentation for individuals seeking 

licensure by endorsement may make it slightly easier to be 

licensed by endorsement. This may slightly increase the 

number of psychologists practicing in the Commonwealth. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. By making 

it slightly easier to be licensed by endorsement, the time and 

cost to become licensed in Virginia may decrease for some 

individuals. This may allow them to start seeing patients 

sooner and increase the total lifetime revenue that can be 

obtained under their license; thus making the license more 

valuable. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small 

businesses will incur costs on account of this regulatory 

action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small businesses will incur costs on 

account of this regulatory action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 14 (2010). 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 

proposed amendments. Further the report should include but 

not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Psychology concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) specify that an applicant for licensure 

by endorsement may submit a Certificate of Professional 

Qualification in Psychology issued by the Association of 

State and Provincial Psychology Boards as evidence of 

education, examination, and supervised training; (ii) 

clarify that the requirement of 1.5 hours per year in ethics 

includes courses in laws and regulations governing the 

profession and courses in the standards of practice set out 

in 18VAC125-20-150; and (iii) authorize the Board of 

Psychology to approve up to two hours of continuing 

education for membership on a state licensing board in 

psychology. 

18VAC125-20-42. Prerequisites for licensure by 

endorsement.  

Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall submit:  

1. A completed application;  

2. The application processing fee prescribed by the board;  

3. An attestation of having read and agreed to comply with 

the current Standards of Practice and laws governing the 

practice of psychology in Virginia;  

4. Verification of all other health and mental health 

professional licenses or certificates ever held in any 

jurisdiction. In order to qualify for endorsement, the 

applicant shall not have surrendered a license or certificate 

while under investigation and shall have no unresolved 

action against a license or certificate;  

5. A current report from the National Practitioner Data 

Bank; and 

6. Further documentation of one of the following:  

a. A current listing in the National Register of Health 

Service Psychologists;  

b. Current diplomate status in good standing with the 

American Board of Professional Psychology in a 

category comparable to the one in which licensure is 

sought;  

c. A Certificate of Professional Qualification in 

Psychology (CPQ) issued by the Association of State and 

Provincial Psychology Boards;  

d. Ten years of active licensure in a category comparable 

to the one in which licensure is sought, with an 

appropriate degree as required in this chapter 

documented by an official transcript; or  
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d. e. If less than 10 years of active licensure, 

documentation of current psychologist licensure in good 

standing obtained by standards substantially equivalent to 

the education, experience and examination requirements 

set forth in this chapter for the category in which 

licensure is sought as verified by a certified copy of the 

original application submitted directly from the out-of-

state licensing agency or a copy of the regulations in 

effect at the time of initial licensure and the following:  

(1) Documentation of post-licensure active practice for at 

least 24 of the last 60 months immediately preceding 

licensure application;  

(2) Verification of a passing score on the Examination 

for Professional Practice of Psychology as established in 

Virginia for the year of that administration; and 

(3) Official transcripts documenting the graduate work 

completed and the degree awarded in the category in 

which licensure is sought.  

18VAC125-20-121. Continuing education course 

requirements for renewal of an active license. 

A. Licensees shall be required to have completed a 

minimum of 14 hours of board-approved continuing 

education courses each year for annual licensure renewal. A 

minimum of 1.5 of these hours shall be in courses that 

emphasize the ethics, standards of practice or laws, and 

regulations governing the profession of psychology, including 

the standards of practice set out in 18VAC125-20-150.  

B. For the purpose of this section, "course" means an 

organized program of study, classroom experience or similar 

educational experience that is directly related to the practice 

of psychology and is provided by a board-approved provider 

that meets the criteria specified in 18VAC125-20-122.  

1. At least six of the required hours shall be earned in face-

to-face or real-time interactive educational experiences. 

Real-time interactive shall include a course in which the 

learner has the opportunity to interact with the presenter 

and participants during the time of the presentation. 

2. The board may approve up to four hours per renewal 

cycle for specific educational experiences to include: 

a. Preparation for and presentation of a continuing 

education program, seminar, workshop or course offered 

by an approved provider and directly related to the 

practice of psychology. Hours may only be credited one 

time, regardless of the number of times the presentation 

is given, and may not be credited toward the face-to-face 

requirement. 

b. Publication of an article or book in a recognized 

publication directly related to the practice of psychology. 

Hours may only be credited one time, regardless of the 

number of times the writing is published, and may not be 

credited toward the face-to-face requirement. 

3. The board may approve up to two hours per renewal 

cycle for membership on a state licensing board in 

psychology.  

C. Courses must be directly related to the scope of practice 

in the category of licensure held. Continuing education 

courses for clinical psychologists shall emphasize, but not be 

limited to, the diagnosis, treatment and care of patients with 

moderate and severe mental disorders. 

D. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing education requirement. 

E. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements for one renewal cycle due 

to circumstances determined by the board to be beyond the 

control of the licensee. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-3966; Filed May 11, 2015, 3:37 p.m.  

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-20. Real Estate Appraiser 

Board Rules and Regulations (amending 18VAC130-20-

90, 18VAC130-20-130, 18VAC130-20-240).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2013 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 

527-4298, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments increase fees for (i) obtaining and 

maintaining licensure, registration, or certification as a 

real estate appraiser, appraiser trainee, appraisal 

business, and appraisal instructor and (ii) approval of a 

real estate appraisal course.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC130-20-90. Application and registration fees. 

There will be no pro rata refund of these fees to licensees 

who resign or upgrade to a higher license or to licensees 

whose licenses are revoked or surrendered for other causes. 

All application fees for licenses and registrations are 

nonrefundable.  
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1. Application fees for registrations, certificates and 

licenses are as follows:  

Registration of business 

entity 

$100 $160 

Certified General Real 

Estate Appraiser 

$150 [ $281 $290 ]  

Temporary Certified General 

Real Estate Appraiser 

$45 $75 

Certified Residential Real 

Estate Appraiser 

$150 [ $281 $290 ]  

Temporary Certified 

Residential Real Estate 

Appraiser 

$45 $75 

Licensed Residential Real 

Estate Appraiser 

$150 [ $281 $290 ]  

Temporary Licensed 

Residential Real Estate 

Appraiser 

$45 $75 

Appraiser Trainee $105 [ $146 $155 ]  

Upgrade of license $65 $130 

Instructor Certification $135 $150 

Application fees for a certified general real estate 

appraiser, a certified residential real estate appraiser, a 

licensed residential real estate appraiser and an appraiser 

trainee include a $30 fee for a copy of the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice. This fee is 

subject to the fee charged by the Appraisal Foundation and 

may be adjusted and charged to the applicant in accordance 

with the fee charged by the Appraisal Foundation.  

2. Examination fees. The fee for examination or 

reexamination is subject to contracted charges to the 

department by an outside vendor. These contracts are 

competitively negotiated and bargained for in compliance 

with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted and 

charged to the candidate in accordance with this contract.  

3. An $80 National Registry fee assessment for all 

permanent license applicants is to be assessed of each 

applicant in accordance with § 1109 of the Financial 

Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 

1989 (12 USC §§ 3331-3351). This fee may be adjusted 

and charged to the applicant in accordance with the Act. If 

the applicant fails to qualify for licensure, then this 

assessment fee will be refunded.  

18VAC130-20-130. Fees for renewal and reinstatement. 

A. All fees are nonrefundable.  

B. National Registry fee assessment. In accordance with the 

requirements of § 1109 of the Financial Institutions Reform, 

Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989, $80 of the biennial 

renewal or reinstatement fee assessed for all certified general 

real estate appraisers, certified residential and licensed 

residential real estate appraisers shall be submitted to the 

Appraisal Subcommittee. The registry fee may be adjusted in 

accordance with the Act and charged to the licensee.  

Renewal and reinstatement fees for a certified general real 

estate appraiser, a certified residential real estate appraiser, a 

licensed residential real estate appraiser and an appraiser 

trainee include a $30 fee for a copy of the Uniform Standards 

of Professional Appraisal Practice. This fee is subject to the 

fee charged by the Appraisal Foundation and may be adjusted 

and charged to the applicant in accordance with the fee 

charged by the Appraisal Foundation.  

C. Renewal fees are as follows:  

Certified general real estate 

appraiser 

$150 [  $196 $205 ]  

Certified residential real estate 

appraiser 

$150 [  $196 $205 ] 

Licensed residential real estate 

appraiser 

$150 [  $196 $205 ] 

Appraiser trainee $70 [ $116 $125 ]  

Registered business entity $60 $120 

Certified instructor $125 $150 

D. Reinstatement fees are as follows:  

Certified general real estate 

appraiser 

$210 [ $376 $385 ]  

Certified residential real estate 

appraiser 

$210 [ $376 $385 ]  

Licensed residential real estate 

appraiser 

$210 [ $376 $385 ]  

Appraiser trainee $130 [ $241 $250 ]  

Registered business entity $100 $280 

Certified instructor $230 $300 

18VAC130-20-240. Course approval fees.  

Course Approval Fee $135 $150 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
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[ FORMS (18VAC130-20) 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Appraiser License Application, 

A461-4001LIC-v2 (rev. 1/15)  

Real Estate Appraiser Board Experience Log, A461-40EXP-

v1 (rev. 7/13) 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Appraiser Trainee License 

Application, A461-4004TRLIC-v2 (rev. 1/15) 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Trainee Supervisor Verification 

Form, A461-40TRSUP-v2 (rev. 1/15)Real Estate Appraiser 

Board Business Registration Application, A461-4008BUS-v1 

(rev. 7/13)  

Real Estate Appraiser Board Pre-License Education Course 

Application, A461-4006RENCRS-v1 (rev. 7/13)  

Real Estate Appraiser Board Instructor Certification 

Application, A461-4002INSTR-v1 (rev. 7/13)  

Real Estate Appraiser Board Pre-License Education Course 

Renewal Application, A461-4006RENCRS-v1 (rev. 7/13)  

Real Estate Appraiser Board Activate License Application, 

A461-4001AT-v1 (rev. 7/13) 

Real Estate Appraiser Board Temporary Appraiser License 

Application, A461-4005TLIC-v1 (rev. 7/13)  

Appraiser License Application, A461-4001LIC-v4 (rev. 

8/15) 

Experience Log, A461-40EXP-v1 (rev. 7/13) 

Appraiser Trainee License Application, A461-4004TRLIC-

v4 (rev. 8/15) 

Trainee Supervisor Verification Form, A461-40TRSUP-v2 

(rev. 1/15) 

Business Registration Application, A461-4008BUS-v2 (rev. 

8/15) 

Pre-License Education Course Application, A461-

4006CRS-v2 (rev. 8/15) 

Pre-License Education Course Renewal Application, A461-

4006RENCRS-v2 (rev. 8/15) 

Instructor Certification Application, A461-4002INSTR-v2 

(rev. 8/15) 

Activate License Application, A461-4001AT-v1 (rev. 7/13) 

Temporary Appraiser License Application, A461-

4005TLIC-v2 (rev. 8/15) ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3187; Filed May 5, 2015, 2:36 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

EDITOR'S NOTE: 18VAC130-20-60 is removed from this 

final action because the proposed change to that section was 

resolved by another regulatory action that was published in 

31:3 VA.R. 176-177 October 6, 2014, and effective January 

1, 2015.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-20. Real Estate Appraiser 

Board Rules and Regulations (amending 18VAC130-20-

10, 18VAC130-20-20, 18VAC130-20-30, 18VAC130-20-

120, 18VAC130-20-160, 18VAC130-20-180, 18VAC130-

20-190).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2013 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 

527-4298, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments make clarifying changes, ensure 

consistency with state and federal law, and ensure 

compliance with current industry standards by (i) 

clarifying the assessment value limitations for each 

category of certification or licensure, (ii) requiring real 

estate appraisal business entities register with the board 

and designate a board contact person, (iii) requiring an 

applicant be at least 18 years of age, (iv) allowing a 

licensing hearing to be held before the board, (v) 

specifying that experience in real estate appraisal cited 

when applying for licensure must be accrued within five 

years of licensure application and include use of the 

income approach, (vi) adding a list of prohibited acts for 

certified real estate appraiser instructors, (vii) extending 

the license reinstatement period to one year after the 

license expiration date, and (viii) updating citations. In 

addition, the amendments require appraisers to meet the 

requirements of the 2014-2015 edition of the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

General  

18VAC130-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter, 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 

by the context, shall have the following meanings:  

"Accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 

colleges" means those accredited institutions of higher 

learning approved by the Virginia Council of Higher 

Education or listed in the Transfer Credit Practices of 

Designated Educational Institutions, published by the 

American Association of Collegiate Registrars and 

Admissions Officers or a recognized international equivalent.  

"Adult distributive or marketing education programs" means 

those programs offered at schools approved by the Virginia 

Department of Education or any other local, state, or federal 

government agency, board or commission to teach adult 

education or marketing courses.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=80aeb003187~1&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=80aeb003187~1&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=03dcd004118~4&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6b170003187~2&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6b170003187~2&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5a3dc004118~2&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5a3dc004118~2&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=30b42003187~3&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=30b42003187~3&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=261eb003187~4&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=261eb003187~4&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3fd75003187~6&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3fd75003187~6&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2f090003187~5&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2f090003187~5&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7bbad004118~9&typ=40&actno=004118&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=58160003187~7&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=58160003187~7&typ=40&actno=003187&mime=application/pdf
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"Analysis" means a study of real estate or real property other 

than the estimation of value.  

"Appraisal Foundation" means the foundation incorporated 

as an Illinois Not for Profit Corporation on November 30, 

1987, to establish and improve uniform appraisal standards 

by defining, issuing and promoting such standards.  

"Appraisal subcommittee" means the designees of the heads 

of the federal financial institutions regulatory agencies 

established by the Federal Financial Institutions Examination 

Council Act of 1978 (12 USC § 3301 et seq.), as amended.  

"Appraiser" means one who is expected to perform 

valuation services competently and in a manner that is 

independent, impartial and objective.  

"Appraiser classification" means any category of appraiser 

which the board creates by designating criteria for 

qualification for such category and by designating the scope 

of practice permitted for such category.  

"Appraiser Qualifications Board" means the board created 

by the Appraisal Foundation to establish appropriate criteria 

for the certification and recertification of qualified appraisers 

by defining, issuing and promoting such qualification criteria; 

to disseminate such qualification criteria to states, 

governmental entities and others; and to develop or assist in 

the development of appropriate examinations for qualified 

appraisers.  

"Appraiser trainee" means an individual who is licensed as 

an appraiser trainee to appraise those properties which the 

supervising appraiser is permitted to appraise.  

"Business entity" means any corporation, partnership, 

association or other business entity under which appraisal 

services are performed.  

"Certified general real estate appraiser" means an individual 

who meets the requirements for licensure that relate to the 

appraisal of all types of real estate and real property and is 

licensed as a certified general real estate appraiser.  

"Certified instructor" means an individual holding an 

instructor certificate issued by the Real Estate Appraiser 

Board to act as an instructor.  

"Certified residential real estate appraiser" means an 

individual who meets the requirements for licensure for the 

appraisal of or the review appraisal of any residential real 

estate or real property of one to four residential units 

regardless of transaction value or complexity. Certified 

residential real estate appraisers may also appraise or provide 

a review appraisal of nonresidential properties with a 

transaction value or market value as defined by the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice up to $250,000, 

whichever is the lesser.  

"Classroom hour" means 50 minutes out of each 60-minute 

segment. The prescribed number of classroom hours includes 

time devoted to tests which are considered to be part of the 

course.  

"Distance education" means an educational process based on 

the geographical separation of provider and student (i.e., CD-

ROM, on-line learning, correspondence courses, etc.).  

"Experience" as used in this chapter includes but is not 

limited to experience gained in the performance of traditional 

appraisal assignments, or in the performance of the following: 

fee and staff appraisals, ad valorem tax appraisal, review 

appraisal, appraisal analysis, real estate consulting, highest 

and best use analysis, and feasibility analysis/study.  

For the purpose of this chapter, experience has been divided 

into four major categories: (i) fee and staff appraisal, (ii) ad 

valorem tax appraisal, (iii) review appraisal, and (iv) real 

estate consulting.  

1. "Fee/staff appraiser experience" means experience 

acquired as either a sole appraiser, as a cosigner, or 

through disclosure of assistance in the certification in 

accordance with the Uniform Standards of Professional 

Appraisal Practice.  

Sole appraiser experience is experience obtained by an 

individual who makes personal inspections of real estate, 

assembles and analyzes the relevant facts, and by the use 

of reason and the exercise of judgment, forms objective 

opinions and prepares reports as to the market value or 

other properly defined value of identified interests in said 

real estate.  

Cosigner appraiser experience is experience obtained by an 

individual who signs an appraisal report prepared by 

another, thereby accepting full responsibility for the 

content and conclusions of the appraisal.  

To qualify for fee/staff appraiser experience, an individual 

must have prepared written appraisal reports after January 

30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at 

the time of the reports' preparation, including Standards 1 

and 2.  

2. "Ad valorem tax appraisal experience" means 

experience obtained by an individual who assembles and 

analyzes the relevant facts, and who correctly employs 

those recognized methods and techniques that are 

necessary to produce and communicate credible appraisals 

within the context of the real property tax laws. Ad 

valorem tax appraisal experience may be obtained either 

through individual property appraisals or through mass 

appraisals as long as applicants under this category of 

experience can demonstrate that they are using techniques 

to value real property similar to those being used by 

fee/staff appraisers and that they are effectively utilizing 

the appraisal process.  

To qualify for ad valorem tax appraisal experience for 

individual property appraisals, an individual must have 

prepared written appraisal reports after January 30, 1989, 

that comply with the Uniform Standards of Professional 
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Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at the time of the 

reports' preparation.  

To qualify for ad valorem tax appraisal experience for 

mass appraisals, an individual must have prepared mass 

appraisals or have documented mass appraisal reports after 

January 30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards 

of Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at 

the time of the reports' preparation, including Standard 6.  

In addition to the preceding, to qualify for ad valorem tax 

appraisal experience, the applicant's experience log must 

be attested to by the applicant's supervisor.  

3. "Reviewer experience" means experience obtained by an 

individual who examines the reports of appraisers to 

determine whether their conclusions are consistent with the 

data reported and other generally known information. An 

individual acting in the capacity of a reviewer does not 

necessarily make personal inspection of real estate, but 

does review and analyze relevant facts assembled by 

fee/staff appraisers, and by the use of reason and exercise 

of judgment, forms objective conclusions as to the validity 

of fee/staff appraisers' opinions. Reviewer experience shall 

not constitute more than 1,000 hours of total experience 

claimed and at least 50% of the review experience claimed 

must be in field review wherein the individual has 

personally inspected the real property which is the subject 

of the review.  

To qualify for reviewer experience, an individual must 

have prepared written reports after January 30, 1989, 

recommending the acceptance, revision, or rejection of the 

fee/staff appraiser's opinions that comply with the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition 

in effect at the time of the reports' preparation, including 

Standard 3.  

Signing as "Review Appraiser" on an appraisal report 

prepared by another will not qualify an individual for 

experience in the reviewer category. Experience gained in 

this capacity will be considered under the cosigner 

subcategory of fee/staff appraiser experience.  

4. "Real estate consulting experience" means experience 

obtained by an individual who assembles and analyzes the 

relevant facts and by the use of reason and the exercise of 

judgment, forms objective opinions concerning matters 

other than value estimates relating to real property. Real 

estate consulting experience includes, but is not necessarily 

limited to, the following:  

Absorption Study  

Ad Valorem Tax Study  

Annexation Study  

Assemblage Study  

Assessment Study  

Condominium Conversion Study  

Cost-Benefit Study  

Cross Impact Study  

Depreciation/Cost Study  

Distressed Property Study  

Economic Base Analysis  

Economic Impact Study  

Economic Structure Analysis  

Eminent Domain Study  

Feasibility Study  

Highest and Best Use Study  

Impact Zone Study  

Investment Analysis Study  

Investment Strategy Study  

Land Development Study  

Land Suitability Study  

Land Use Study  

Location Analysis Study  

Market Analysis Study  

Market Strategy Study  

Market Turning Point Analysis  

Marketability Study  

Portfolio Study  

Rehabilitation Study  

Remodeling Study  

Rental Market Study  

Right of Way Study  

Site Analysis Study  

Utilization Study  

Urban Renewal Study  

Zoning Study  

To qualify for real estate consulting experience, an 

individual must have prepared written reports after January 

30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at 

the time of the reports' preparation, including Standards 4 

and 5. Real estate consulting shall not constitute more than 

500 hours of experience for any type of appraisal license.  

"Inactive license" means a license that has been renewed 

without meeting the continuing education requirements 

specified in this chapter. Inactive licenses do not meet the 

requirements set forth in § 54.1-2011 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Licensed residential real estate appraiser" means an 

individual who meets the requirements for licensure for the 

appraisal of or the review appraisal of any noncomplex, 

residential real estate or real property of one to four 

residential units, including federally related transactions, 

where the transaction value or market value as defined by the 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice is less 

than $1 million. Licensed residential real estate appraisers 

may also appraise or provide a review appraisal of 

noncomplex, nonresidential properties with a transaction 

value or market value as defined by the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice up to $250,000, whichever is 

the lesser.  

"Licensee" means any individual holding an active license 

issued by the Real Estate Appraiser Board to act as a certified 

general real estate appraiser, certified residential real estate 



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 1, 2015 

1743 

appraiser, licensed residential real estate appraiser, or 

appraiser trainee as defined, respectively, in § 54.1-2009 of 

the Code of Virginia and in this chapter.  

"Local, state or federal government agency, board or 

commission" means an entity established by any local, federal 

or state government to protect or promote the health, safety 

and welfare of its citizens.  

"Proprietary school" means a privately owned school 

offering appraisal or appraisal related courses approved by 

the board.  

"Provider" means accredited colleges, universities, junior 

and community colleges; adult distributive or marketing 

education programs; local, state or federal government 

agencies, boards or commissions; proprietary schools; or real 

estate appraisal or real estate related organizations.  

"Real estate appraisal activity" means the act or process of 

valuation of real property or preparing an appraisal report.  

"Real estate appraisal" or "real estate related organization" 

means any appraisal or real estate related organization 

formulated on a national level, where its membership extends 

to more than one state or territory of the United States.  

"Reciprocity agreement" means a conditional agreement 

between two or more states that will recognize one another's 

regulations and laws for equal privileges for mutual benefit.  

"Registrant" means any corporation, partnership, association 

or other business entity which provides appraisal services and 

which is registered with the Real Estate Appraiser Board in 

accordance with § 54.1-2011 E of the Code of Virginia.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license or registration 

restored to effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 

or registration for another period of time.  

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, but not a 

corporation, partnership or association, who is trading under 

his own name, or under an assumed or fictitious name 

pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

"Substantially equivalent" is any educational course or 

seminar, experience, or examination taken in this or another 

jurisdiction which is equivalent in classroom hours, course 

content and subject, and degree of difficulty, respectively, to 

those requirements outlined in this chapter and Chapter 20.1 

(§ 54.1-2009 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia for 

licensure and renewal.  

"Supervising appraiser" means any individual holding a 

license issued by the Real Estate Appraiser Board to act as a 

certified general real estate appraiser or certified residential 

real estate appraiser who supervises any unlicensed person 

acting as a real estate appraiser or an appraiser trainee as 

specified in this chapter.  

"Transaction value" means the monetary amount of a 

transaction which may require the services of a certified or 

licensed appraiser for completion. The transaction value is not 

always equal to the market value of the real property interest 

involved. For loans or other extensions of credit, the 

transaction value equals the amount of the loan or other 

extensions of credit. For sales, leases, purchases and 

investments in or exchanges of real property, the transaction 

value is the market value of the real property interest 

involved. For the pooling of loans or interests in real property 

for resale or purchase, the transaction value is the amount of 

the loan or the market value of real property calculated with 

respect to each such loan or interest in real property.  

"Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice" 

means the 2014-2015 edition of those standards promulgated 

by the Appraisal Standards Board of the Appraisal 

Foundation for use by all appraisers in the preparation of 

appraisal reports.  

"Valuation" means an estimate or opinion of the value of 

real property.  

"Valuation assignment" means an engagement for which an 

appraiser is employed or retained to give an analysis, opinion 

or conclusion that results in an estimate or opinion of the 

value of an identified parcel of real property as of a specified 

date.  

"Waiver" means the voluntary, intentional relinquishment of 

a known right.  

Part II  

Entry  

18VAC130-20-20. Requirement for registration.  

A All business entity seeking to provide entities, both 

domestic (in-state) and foreign (out-of-state), providing 

appraisal services shall register with the board by completing 

an application furnished by the board describing the location, 

nature, and operation of its practice their practices, and the 

name and address of the registered agent, an associate, or a 

partner of the business entity. Along with a completed 

application form, domestic corporations and limited liability 

companies shall provide a copy of the Certificate of 

Incorporation certificate as issued by the State Corporation 

Commission,; foreign (out-of-state) corporations and limited 

liability companies shall provide a copy of the Certificate of 

Authority certificate from the State Corporation 

Commission,; partnerships shall provide a copy of the 

certified Partnership Certificate,; and other business entities 

trading under a fictitious name shall provide a copy of the 

certificate filed with the clerk of the court where business is 

to be conducted. Every business entity providing appraisal 

services shall provide the name and license number of a board 

licensee who shall serve as the contact person for the board. 

18VAC130-20-30. General qualifications for licensure.  

Every applicant to the Real Estate Appraiser Board for a 

certified general, certified residential, or licensed residential 

real estate appraiser license shall meet the following 

qualifications:  
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1. The applicant shall be of good moral character, honest, 

truthful, and competent to transact the business of a 

licensed real estate appraiser in such a manner as to 

safeguard the interests of the public.  

2. The applicant shall meet the current educational and 

experience requirements and submit a license application 

to the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation or its agent prior to the time the applicant is 

approved to take the licensing examination. Applications 

received by the department or its agent must be complete 

within 12 months of the date of the receipt of the license 

application and fee by the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation or its agent.  

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement verifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia real estate appraiser license law 

and the regulations of the Real Estate Appraiser Board.  

4. The applicant shall be in good standing as a real estate 

appraiser in every jurisdiction where licensed or certified; 

the applicant may not have had a license or certification 

that was suspended, revoked or surrendered in connection 

with a disciplinary action or that has been the subject of 

discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure 

in Virginia. 

5. The applicant may not have been convicted, found guilty 

or pled guilty, regardless of adjudication, in any 

jurisdiction of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or 

of any felony. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 

considered a conviction for purposes of this subdivision. A 

certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision, by 

a court with the lawful authority to issue such order, 

decree, or case decision shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such conviction.  

6. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.  

7. The applicant shall have successfully completed 150 

hours for the licensed residential classification, 200 hours 

for the certified residential classification, and 300 hours for 

the certified general classification of approved real estate 

appraisal courses, including the 15-Hour National Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice course, from 

accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 

colleges; adult distributive or marketing education 

programs; local, state or federal government agencies, 

boards or commissions; proprietary schools; or real estate 

appraisal or real estate related organizations. The required 

core curriculum for the certified general or certified 

residential real estate appraiser is a bachelor's degree or 

higher from an accredited college or university. The 

required core curriculum for the licensed residential real 

estate appraiser is an associate's degree or higher from an 

accredited college, junior college, community college, or 

university. In lieu of the required degree, the licensed 

residential real estate appraiser applicant must complete 30 

semester hours of college-level education from an 

accredited college, junior college, community college, or 

university. The classroom hours required for the licensed 

residential real estate appraiser may include the classroom 

hours required for the appraiser trainee. The classroom 

hours required for the certified residential real estate 

appraiser may include the classroom hours required for the 

appraiser trainee or the licensed real estate appraiser. The 

classroom hours required for the certified general real 

estate appraiser may include the classroom hours required 

for the appraiser trainee, the licensed residential real estate 

appraiser, or the certified residential real estate appraiser.  

All applicants for licensure as a certified general real estate 

appraiser must complete an advanced level appraisal 

course of at least 30 classroom hours in the appraisal of 

nonresidential properties.  

8. The applicant shall, as part of the application for 

licensure, verify his experience in the field of real estate 

appraisal. All applicants must submit, upon application, 

sample appraisal reports as specified by the board. In 

addition, all experience must be acquired within the five-

year period immediately preceding the date application is 

made and be supported by adequate written reports or file 

memoranda [ , which that ] shall be made available to the 

board upon request.  

a. Applicants for a licensed residential real estate 

appraiser license shall have a minimum of 2,000 hours 

appraisal experience, in no fewer than 12 months. Hours 

may be treated as cumulative in order to achieve the 

necessary 2,000 hours of appraisal experience.  

b. Applicants for a certified residential real estate 

appraiser license shall have a minimum of 2,500 hours of 

appraisal experience obtained during no fewer than 24 

months. Hours may be treated as cumulative in order to 

achieve the necessary 2,500 hours of appraisal 

experience.  

c. Applicants for a certified general real estate appraiser 

license shall have a minimum of 3,000 hours of appraisal 

experience obtained during no fewer than 30 months. 

Hours may be treated as cumulative in order to achieve 

the necessary 3,000 hours of appraisal experience. At 

least 50% of the appraisal experience required (1,500 

hours) must be in nonresidential appraisal assignments 

and include assignments that demonstrate the use and 

understanding of the income approach. An applicant 

whose nonresidential appraisal experience is 

predominately in such properties that do not require the 

use of the income approach may satisfy this requirement 

by performing two or more appraisals on properties in 

association with a certified general appraiser that include 

the use of the income approach. The applicant must have 

substantially contributed to the development of the 

income approach in such reports and shall provide 

evidence or verification of such contribution.  
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9. Within 12 months after being approved by the board to 

take the examination, the applicant shall have registered 

for and passed a written examination developed or 

endorsed by the Appraiser Qualifications Board and 

provided by the board or by a testing service acting on 

behalf of the board. Successful completion of the 

examination is valid for a period of 24 months. 

10. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the 

requirements set forth in subdivisions 4 and 5 of this 

section may be approved for licensure following 

consideration of their application by the board.  

 [ 18VAC130-20-120. Procedures for renewal.  

A. The board will mail a renewal application form to the 

licensee and certificate holder at the last known home address 

and to the registered firm or at the last known business 

address. This form shall outline the procedures for renewal. 

Failure to receive the renewal application form shall not 

relieve the licensee, certificate holder or the registrant of the 

obligation to renew.  

B. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license or 

registration, each licensee, certificate holder or registrant 

desiring to renew the license or registration shall return to the 

board the completed renewal application form and the 

appropriate renewal and registry fees as outlined in 

18VAC130-20-130.  

C. The date on which the renewal application form and the 

appropriate fees are received by the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation or its agent will 

determine whether the licensee, certificate holder or registrant 

is eligible for renewal. If either the renewal application form 

or renewal fee, including the registry fee, is not received by 

the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

or its agent within 30 days of the expiration date, the licensee, 

certificate holder or registrant must reinstate his license by 

meeting all requirements listed in 18VAC130-20-110 and pay 

a reinstatement fee as specified in 18VAC130-20-130. Three 

months One year after the expiration date on the license, 

certificate or registration, reinstatement is no longer possible. 

To resume practice, the former licensee, certificate holder, or 

registrant shall reapply for licensure as a new applicant, 

meeting current education, examination and experience 

requirements. ]  

Part IV  

Standards  

18VAC130-20-160. Grounds for disciplinary action.  

The board has the power to fine any licensee, registrant or 

certificate holder, to place any licensee, registrant or 

certificate holder on probation, and to suspend or revoke any 

license, registration or certification issued under the 

provisions of Chapter 20.1 of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia and the regulations of the board, in accordance with 

§§ 54.1-201(7), 54.1-202 and the provisions of the 

Administrative Process Act, Chapter 1.1:1 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq.) of Title 9 2.2 of the Code of Virginia, when any 

licensee, registrant or certificate holder has been found to 

have violated or cooperated with others in violating any 

provision of Chapter 20.1 of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, any relevant provision of the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice as developed by the Appraisal 

Standards Board of the Appraisal Foundation, or any 

regulation of the board. An appraiser trainee shall be subject 

to disciplinary action for his actions even if acting under the 

supervision of a supervising appraiser.  

18VAC130-20-180. Standards of professional practice. 

A. The provisions of subsections C through J L of this 

section shall not apply to local, state and federal employees 

performing in their official capacity.  

B. Maintenance of licenses. The board shall not be 

responsible for the failure of a licensee, registrant, or 

certificate holder to receive notices, communications and 

correspondence.  

1. Change of address.  

a. All licensed real estate appraisers, appraiser trainees, 

and certified instructors shall at all times keep the board 

informed in writing of their current home address and 

shall report any change of address to the board within 30 

days of such change.  

b. Registered real estate appraisal business entities shall 

at all times keep the board informed in writing of their 

current business address and shall report any change of 

address to the board within 30 days of such change.  

2. Change of name.  

a. All real estate appraisers, appraiser trainees, and 

certified instructors shall promptly notify the board in 

writing and provide appropriate written legal verification 

of any change of name.  

b. Registered real estate appraisal business entities shall 

promptly notify the board of any change of name or 

change of business structure in writing. In addition to 

written notification, corporations shall provide a copy of 

the Certificate of Amendment from the State Corporation 

Commission, partnerships shall provide a copy of a 

certified Partnership Certificate, and other business 

entities trading under a fictitious name shall provide a 

copy of the certificate filed with the clerk of the court 

where business is to be conducted.  

3. Upon the change of name or address of the registered 

agent, associate, or partner, or sole proprietor designated 

by a real estate appraisal business entity, the business 

entity shall notify the board in writing of the change within 

30 days of such event.  

4. No license, certification or registration issued by the 

board shall be assigned or otherwise transferred.  
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5. All licensees, certificate holders and registrants shall 

operate under the name in which the license or registration 

is issued.  

6. All certificates of licensure, registration or certification 

in any form are the property of the Real Estate Appraiser 

Board. Upon death of a licensee, dissolution or restructure 

of a registered business entity, or change of a licensee's, 

registrant's, or certificate holder's name or address, such 

licenses, registrations, or certificates must be returned with 

proper instructions and supplemental material to the board 

within 30 days of such event.  

7. All appraiser licenses issued by the board shall be 

visibly displayed.  

C. Use of signature and electronic transmission of report.  

1. The signing of an appraisal report or the transmittal of a 

report electronically shall indicate that the licensee has 

exercised complete direction and control over the 

appraisal. Therefore, no licensee shall sign or 

electronically transmit an appraisal which has been 

prepared by an unlicensed person unless such work was 

performed under the direction and supervision of the 

licensee in accordance with § 54.1-2011 C of the Code of 

Virginia.  

2. All original appraisal reports shall be signed by the 

licensed appraiser. For narrative and letter appraisals, the 

signature and final value conclusion shall appear on the 

letter of transmittal and certification page. For form 

appraisals, the signature shall appear on the page 

designated for the appraiser's signature and final estimate 

of value. All temporary licensed real estate appraisers shall 

sign and affix their temporary license to the appraisal 

report or letter for which they obtained the license to 

authenticate such report or letter. Appraisal reports may be 

transmitted electronically. Reports prepared without the 

use of a seal shall contain the license number of the 

appraiser.  

a. An appraiser may provide market analysis studies or 

consulting reports, which do not constitute appraisals of 

market value, provided such reports, studies, or 

evaluations shall contain a conspicuous statement that 

such reports, studies, or valuations evaluations are not an 

appraisal as defined in § 54.1-2009 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

b. Application of the seal and signature or electronic 

transmission of the report indicates acceptance of 

responsibility for work shown thereon.  

c. The seal shall conform in detail and size to the design 

illustrated below:  

 

*The number on the seal shall be the 10-digit number or 

the last 6 digits, or the last significant digits on the 

license issued by the board.  

D. Development of appraisal. In developing a real property 

appraisal, all licensees shall comply with the provisions of the 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 

(USPAP) [ as defined in this chapter or ] in the [ prior ] 

edition in effect at the time of the reports' preparation. If the 

required definition of value uses the word "market," licensees 

must use the definition of market value set forth in USPAP 

"DEFINITIONS."  

E. Appraisal report requirements. In reporting a real 

property appraisal, a licensee shall meet the requirements of 

the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice [ as 

defined in this chapter or ] in the [ prior ] edition in effect at 

the time of the reports' preparation.  

F. Reviewing an appraisal. In performing a review appraisal, 

a licensee shall comply with the requirements of the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice [ as defined in 

this chapter or ] in the [ prior ] edition in effect at the time of 

the reports' preparation. The reviewer's signature and seal 

shall appear on the certification page of the report.  

G. Mass appraisals. In developing and reporting a mass 

appraisal for ad valorem tax purposes, a licensee shall comply 

with the requirements of the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice [ as defined in this chapter 

or ] in the [ prior ] edition in effect at the time of the reports' 

preparation.  

H. Recordkeeping requirements.  

1. A licensee shall abide by the Record Keeping Rule as 

stated in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 

Practice [ as defined in this chapter or ] in the [ prior ] 

edition in effect at the time of the reports' preparation. 

2. A licensee or registrant of the Real Estate Appraiser 

Board shall, upon request or demand, promptly produce to 

the board or any of its agents within 10 working days of 

the request, any document, book, record, work file or 

electronic record in a licensee's possession concerning any 

appraisal which the licensee performed, or for which the 

licensee is required to maintain records for inspection by 

the board or its agents. The board or any of its agents may 
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extend such time frame upon a showing of extenuating 

circumstances prohibiting delivery within such 10-day 

period.  

2. 3. Upon the completion of an assignment, a licensee or 

registrant shall return to the rightful owner, upon demand, 

any document or instrument which the licensee possesses.  

3. 4. The appraiser trainee shall be entitled to obtain copies 

of appraisal reports he prepared. The supervising appraiser 

shall keep copies of appraisal reports for a period of at 

least five years or at least two years after final disposition 

of any judicial proceedings in which testimony was given, 

whichever period expires last.  

I. Disclosure requirements. A licensee appraising property in 

which he, any member of his family, his firm, any member of 

his firm, or any entity in which he has an ownership interest, 

has any interest shall disclose, in writing, to any client such 

interest in the property and his status as a real estate appraiser 

licensed in the Commonwealth of Virginia. As used in the 

context of this chapter, "any interest" includes but is not 

limited to an ownership interest in the property to be 

appraised or in an adjacent property or involvement in the 

transaction, such as deciding whether to extend credit to be 

secured by such property.  

J. Competency. A licensee shall abide by the Competency 

Rule as stated in the Uniform Standards of Professional 

Appraisal Practice [ as defined in this chapter or ] in the 

[ prior ] edition in effect at the time of the reports' 

preparation.  

K. Scope of work. A licensee shall abide by the Scope of 

Work Rule as stated in the Uniform Standards of Professional 

Appraisal Practice [ as defined in this chapter or ] in the 

[ prior ] edition in effect at the time of the reports' 

preparation. 

L. Jurisdictional exception. A licensee shall abide by the 

Jurisdictional Exception Rule as stated in the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice [ as defined in 

this chapter or ] in the [ prior ] edition in effect at the time of 

the reports' preparation. 

K. Unworthiness M. Prohibited acts. 

1. A licensee shall act as a certified general real estate 

appraiser, certified residential real estate appraiser or 

licensed residential real estate appraiser in such a manner 

as to safeguard the interests of the public, and shall not 

engage in improper, fraudulent, or dishonest conduct.  

2. A licensee may not have been convicted, found guilty or 

pled guilty, regardless of adjudication, in any jurisdiction 

of the United States of a misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude or of any felony there being no appeal pending 

therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. Any plea 

of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 

purposes of this subdivision. A certified copy of a final 

order, decree, or case decision by a court with the lawful 

authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision shall 

be admissible as prima facie evidence of such guilt.  

3. A licensee shall inform the board in writing within 30 

days of pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being 

convicted or found guilty, regardless of adjudication, of 

any felony or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude.  

4. A licensee may not have had a license or certification as 

a real estate appraiser which was suspended, revoked, or 

surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action or 

which has been the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction.  

5. A licensee shall inform the board in writing within 30 

days of the suspension, revocation or surrender of an 

appraiser license or certification in connection with a 

disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction, and a licensee 

shall inform the board in writing within 30 days of any 

appraiser license or certification which has been the subject 

of discipline in any jurisdiction.  

6. A licensee shall perform all appraisals in accordance 

with Virginia Fair Housing Law, § 36-96.1 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia.  

7. A licensee shall respond to an inquiry by the board or its 

agents, other than requested under 18VAC130-20-180 

subdivision H 1 2 of this section, within 21 days.  

8. A licensee shall not provide false, misleading or 

incomplete information in the investigation of a complaint 

filed with the board.  

18VAC130-20-190. Standards of conduct for certified 

appraiser education instructors.  

A. Instructors shall develop a record for each student which 

shall include the student's name and address, the course name, 

the course hours and dates given, and the date the course was 

passed. This record shall be retained by the course provider.  

B. The instructor shall not solicit information from any 

person for the purpose of discovering past licensing 

examination questions or questions which may be used in 

future licensing examinations.  

C. The instructor shall not distribute to any person copies of 

license examination questions, or otherwise communicate to 

any person license examination questions, without receiving 

the prior written approval of the copyright owner to distribute 

or communicate those questions.  

D. The instructor shall not, through an agent or otherwise, 

advertise its services in a fraudulent, deceptive or 

misrepresentative manner.  

E. Instructors shall not take any appraiser licensing 

examination for any purpose other than to obtain a license as 

a real estate appraiser.  

F. Prohibited acts. 

1. The instructor shall act as a certified general real estate 

appraiser, certified residential real estate appraiser, or 

licensed residential real estate appraiser in such a manner 
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as to safeguard the interests of the public and shall not 

engage in improper, fraudulent, or dishonest conduct. 

2. The instructor may not have been convicted, found 

guilty, or pled guilty, regardless of adjudication, in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of a misdemeanor 

involving moral turpitude or of any felony there being no 

appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having 

elapsed. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. A certified 

copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a court 

with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or 

case decision shall be admissible as prima facie evidence 

of such guilt. 

3. The instructor shall inform the board in writing within 

30 days of pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being 

convicted or found guilty, regardless of adjudication, of 

any felony or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude. 

4. The instructor may not have had a license or 

certification as a real estate appraiser that has been (i) 

suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection with a 

disciplinary action or (ii) the subject of discipline in any 

jurisdiction. 

5. The instructor shall inform the board in writing within 

30 days of the suspension, revocation, or surrender of an 

appraiser license or certification in connection with a 

disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction, and a licensee 

shall inform the board in writing within 30 days of any 

appraiser license or certification that has been the subject 

of discipline in any jurisdiction.  

6. The instructor, who is also a licensed appraiser, shall 

perform all appraisals in accordance with Virginia Fair 

Housing Law (§ 36-96.1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

7. The instructor shall respond to an inquiry by the board 

or its agents within 21 days. 

8. The instructor shall not provide false, misleading, or 

incomplete information in the investigation of a complaint 

filed with the board. 

[ DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(18VAC130-20)  

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice, 2008-

2009 Edition, Appraisal Standards Board, Appraisal 

Foundation 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice, 2014-

2015 Edition, Appraisal Standards Board, Appraisal 

Foundation ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3192; Filed May 5, 2015, 3:54 p.m.  

 

BOARD FOR WASTE MANAGEMENT FACILITY 
OPERATORS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC155-20. Waste Management 

Facility Operators Regulations (amending 18VAC155-20-

10, 18VAC155-20-40, 18VAC155-20-110 through 

18VAC155-20-140, 18VAC155-20-160, 18VAC155-20-220, 

18VAC155-20-230, 18VAC155-20-280; adding 

18VAC155-20-235, 18VAC155-20-285; repealing 

18VAC155-20-20, 18VAC155-20-30, 18VAC155-20-100, 

18VAC155-20-150, 18VAC155-20-175).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2211 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 11, 2015 - 10 a.m. - Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, 2nd Floor, Training Room 2, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: July 31, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Waste Management Facility Operators, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8511, 

FAX (866) 430-1033, or email wastemgt@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2211 A of the Code of Virginia states 

that, "The Board shall promulgate regulations and standards 

for the training and licensing of waste management facility 

operators." 

Purpose: In the course of performing a general review of the 

regulations, the board found several sections that were 

unnecessary, confusing, or overly burdensome. Additionally, 

the formatting of some of the sections of the regulation was 

inconsistent, often making it difficult to find initial license 

eligibility criteria information, education requirements for 

renewal of existing licenses, and identification of conduct 

elements that, if not followed, could result in disciplinary 

action. It is imperative that a regulatory board effectively 

communicate its requirements and expectations in a manner 

that is consistent, is easy to understand, and allows 

requirements to be easily located. Clear, concise, less 

burdensome, and easy to follow regulations result in a more 

informed base of licensed individuals and directly affects the 

health, safety, and welfare of citizens. 

Substance: Proposed amendments:  

1. Clarify definitions, remove unnecessary language, and add 

language to definitions to read more clearly (18VAC155-20-

10). 

2. Repeal 18VAC155-20-20 and 18VAC155-20-100 because 

the requirements are addressed in statute. 

3. Relocate provisions of 18VAC155-20-30 to 18VAC155-

20-120. 

4. Remove the fee for training course approvals (18VAC155-

20-40). 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ffb3a003192~1&typ=40&actno=003192&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ffb3a003192~1&typ=40&actno=003192&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ffb3a003192~1&typ=40&actno=003192&mime=application/pdf
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5. Remove subsections A, C, D, E, and F and subdivisions B 

2, B 3, B 4, B 6, B 7, B 8, and B 9 of 18VAC155-20-120 to 

consolidate the section and make the language clearer. 

6. Remove subsection B of 18VAC155-20-130 because it is 

unnecessary. 

7. Remove subdivisions A 2, A, A 4, A 5, B 2, and B3 of 

18VAC155-20-140 and language is amended to clarify 

examination requirements. 

8. Repeal 18VAC155-20-150 to allow the board more 

flexibility when approving agreements. 

9. Repeal 18VAC155-20-160 E. 

10. Relocate provisions of 18VAC155-20-175 to 18VAC155-

20-220. 

11. Clarify training requirements in 18VAC155-20-220. 

12. Make the language in 18VAC 55-20-230 and 18VAC155-

20-280 read more clearly. 

13. Add 18VAC155-20-235 and 18VAC155-20-285 to add 

new guidelines on education providers and to clarify 

prohibited acts. 

Issues: The proposed amendments are implemented as a 

result of a line-by-line review of the current regulations that 

identified those that are unnecessary and overly burdensome. 

An advantage to the public is the simplification of eligibility 

requirements. Additionally, the format of the regulations is 

simplified to eliminate difficulties for licensees and the public 

to locate provisions necessary for public protection. There are 

no disadvantages to the public. In amending the regulations, 

the Board for Waste Management Facility Operators is 

continuing to provide necessary public protection tasked to 

them through existing statutes. The advantage to the agency is 

that staff will be able to more easily explain the regulations to 

licensees and the public. There are no disadvantages to the 

agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Waste Management Facility Operators (Board) 

proposes to amend its regulations to: 1) simplify regulatory 

language and eliminate language that is duplicative of the 

Code of Virginia or Board agreements, 2) explicitly state that 

applicants for licensure must follow the rules of facilities 

where they take their licensure exams, 3) eliminate the 

application fee for training course approval, 4) eliminate the 

requirement that applicants for licensure who have failed the 

written examination twice recomplete all initial training and 

5) eliminate the requirement that applicants for initial 

licensure must have successfully completed either high school 

or a college degree program or have received a generalized 

equivalency diploma (GED). 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely exceed costs for all 

proposed regulatory changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulations contain text 

that is duplicative of the Code of Virginia or that may be 

duplicative of, or conflict with, other Board material such as 

license reciprocity agreements signed with other states. The 

Board proposes to eliminate regulatory text that falls into 

these categories. Affected entities are unlikely to incur costs 

on account of clarifying changes such as these. These changes 

are likely to benefit regulated entities as they will likely 

eliminate confusion that may arise when regulatory text 

conflicts with other pertinent documents. 

Current regulations are silent on acceptable behavior for 

licensee applicants at independent testing facilities. Board 

staff reports, however, that testing facilities have had issues 

with individuals attempting to cheat and individuals who have 

threatened test proctors. To address concerns for such 

behavior, the Board proposes to add regulatory language that 

reminds potential licensees that they must follow the rules of 

the testing facility as a condition of licensure. No applicant 

for licensure is likely to incur costs on account of this change 

as they have to follow the rules of the testing facility they use 

anyway or risk not successfully completing their exam. Some 

applicants may benefit, however, from the additional 

reminder that bad behavior at a testing facility may adversely 

impact their chances to gain licensure. 

Currently, potential training course providers must pay a 

$125 application fee and present their curricula to the Board 

for approval. The Board now proposes to eliminate the $125 

application fee as unnecessary. Board staff reports that only 

very rarely does the Board get such an application but any 

entities that do want to newly provide Board-approved 

training in the future will benefit from the elimination of this 

fee. 

Current regulations require that individuals who are applying 

for initial licensure "provide proof of high school or college 

graduation, or of having a General Equivalency Diploma 

(GED)" and also require that individuals who have twice 

taken, but failed to pass, the licensure examination to retake 

their basic training course (Board staff reports that this 

training takes eight hours and costs approximately $1,350). 

The Board proposes to eliminate both of these requirements 

as they are likely unnecessary since the licensure examination 

indicates who has the knowledge to be licensed regardless of 

degrees or diplomas held and irrespective of how individuals 

choose to remediate in the face of a failed examination.  

No entity is likely to incur costs on account of these changes. 

Elimination of the diploma/degree requirement is likely to 

slightly increase the pool of individuals who are likely to be 

able to achieve licensure but is unlikely to increase the 

number of entities working as waste management facility 

operators since licensed individuals are in every case 

employed by localities or private owners of waste 

management facilities. Entities who wish to become licensed 

will benefit from elimination of both of these requirements as 
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both represent an unnecessarily burdensome barrier to 

completing licensure requirements.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) reports 

that the Board currently licenses approximately 675 waste 

management facility operators. All of these individuals, as 

well as others who might someday seek to be licensed, will be 

affected by these proposed regulations.   

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 

particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action.  

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action is 

unlikely to affect employment in the Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 

proposed regulations are unlikely to significantly affect the 

use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No small business 

in the Commonwealth is likely to incur costs on account of 

this regulatory action. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No small business in the Commonwealth is 

likely to incur costs on account of this regulatory action. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action is 

unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 17 (2014). 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 

proposed amendments.  Further the report should include but 

not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The board 

concurs with the analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) eliminate language that is 

duplicative of the Code of Virginia or board agreements, 

clarify existing sections, and consolidate duplicative 

sections; (ii) require that applicants for licensure follow 

the rules of facilities where they take their licensure 

exams; and (iii) simplify eligibility requirements by 

eliminating the application fee for training course 

approval, the requirement that applicants for licensure 

who have failed the written examination twice recomplete 

all initial training, and the requirement that applicants for 

initial licensure have successfully completed high school 

or a college degree program or have received a 

generalized equivalency diploma. 

Part I  

General  

18VAC155-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

*"Board" means the Board for Waste Management Facility 

Operators.  

"Board-approved training course" means a course that has 

been approved by the board to provide appropriate training to 

an applicant in accordance with this chapter.  

"Class I license" means the authorization from the board to 

act as a waste management facility operator of a transfer 

station, a material recovery facility receiving mixed waste, an 

experimental facility, or a composting facility receiving yard 

waste.  

"Class II license" means the authorization from the board to 

act as a waste management facility operator of a facility that 

composts municipal solid waste, a sanitary landfill, an 

industrial landfill, a construction landfill or a debris landfill.  

"Class III license" means the authorization from the board to 

act as a waste management facility operator of an infectious 

waste incinerator or autoclave.  
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"Class IV license" means the authorization from the board to 

act as a waste management facility operator of a municipal 

waste combustor.  

"Closed facility" means a solid waste management facility 

that has been properly secured in accordance with an 

approved facility closure plan.  

"Closure" means an act of securing a solid waste 

management facility pursuant to the requirements established 

by the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality or 

appropriate regulatory authority.  

"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of participation in a group 

program or 60 minutes of completion time for a project.  

"Continuing professional education/training (CPE/T)" 

means an integral part of the lifelong learning process that 

enables a licensed solid waste management facility operator 

to maintain and increase the competence required to assure 

the public's protection, which shall be pursued through an 

organized program or project in compliance with this chapter.  

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation.  

"Full-time employment" means 1,760 hours per year or 220 

work days per year.  

"In charge" means the designation of any person by the 

owner to have duty and authority to operate or modify the 

operation of a waste management facility.  

"License" means an authorization issued by the board to an 

individual to practice as a waste management facility operator 

who meets the provisions of this chapter.  

"Municipal solid waste (MSW)" means that waste that is 

defined as "municipal solid waste" in 9VAC20-80-10.  

"Municipal waste combustor" means a mass burn or a refuse 

derived fuel incinerator or facility designed or modified for 

the purpose of noninfectious solid waste combustion.  

"Operation" means any waste management facility that is 

under construction, treating, processing, storing or disposing 

of solid waste, or in the act of securing a facility for closure.  

"Organized program" means a formal learning process 

designed to permit a participant to learn a given subject or 

subjects through interaction with an instructor in a formal 

course, seminar or conference.  

"Owner" means the person who owns a solid waste 

management facility or part of a solid waste management 

facility.  

*"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, governmental body, municipal corporation or any 

other legal entity.  

"Project" means a learning process designed to permit a 

participant to perform work assigned by the owner, operator 

or manager of a waste management facility under the 

supervision of a knowledgeable person that results in a 

specific, predetermined end result and that increases the 

participant's competence to practice as a waste management 

facility operator.  

"Site" means within the vicinity of all land and structures, 

other appurtenances, and improvements thereon used for 

treating, storing, and disposing of solid waste. This term 

includes adjacent land within the property boundary used for 

the utility systems such as repair, storage, shipping or 

processing areas, or other areas incident to the management 

of solid waste.  

"Solid waste" means any of those materials defined as 

nonhazardous solid waste in regulations promulgated by the 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality.  

"Storage" means housing a solid waste as consistent with the 

regulations of the Virginia Waste Management Board.  

"Substantial change" means a deviation from a specific 

course that decreases the approved time of the course by more 

than 30 minutes or modifies the topics of the approved course 

to below the target levels of knowledge, as stated in the 

course application.  

*"Waste management facility" means a site used for planned 

treatment, storage, or disposal of nonhazardous solid waste.  

*"Waste management facility operator" means any person, 

including an owner, who is in charge of the actual, on-site 

operation of a waste management facility during any period 

of operation.  

*As defined by Chapter 22.1 (§ 54.1-2209 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC155-20-20. License required. (Repealed.) 

For the purposes of this chapter, the individual acting as a 

waste management facility operator is an individual employed 

or contracted by the facility owner whose responsibilities 

include supervision of on-site activities and who, on and after 

January 1, 1993, has been licensed by the Board for Waste 

Management Facility Operators or is under the direct 

supervision of a waste management facility operator licensed 

by the Board for Waste Management Facility Operators.  

18VAC155-20-30. Disclosure. (Repealed.) 

A. Any individual seeking licensure shall disclose on the 

application any other operator or related license issued by any 

other state(s).  

B. Any individual seeking licensure shall disclose on the 

application any felony convictions or any final order actions 

issued by an administrative body or court regarding 

environmental violations or crimes resulting in the significant 

harm or the imminent and substantial threat of significant 

harm to human health or the environment.  

C. Each licensee shall notify the board in writing within 30 

days of any felony convictions or final order actions issued by 

an administrative body or court regarding environmental 

violations or crimes resulting in the significant harm or the 

imminent and substantial threat of significant harm to human 

health or the environment.  
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18VAC155-20-40. Fees.  

A. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.  

B. An application shall not be deemed complete and shall 

not be processed without the required fee.  

1. The application fee for licensure shall be $75.  

2. The fee for renewal of licensure shall be $50.  

3. The fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $75.  

4. The fee for reinstatement of licensure shall be $125.  

5. The examination fee is charged to the applicant by an 

outside vendor competitively negotiated and contracted for 

in compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act 

(§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be 

adjusted and charged to the applicant in accordance with 

this contract.  

6. The application fee for training course approval shall be 

$125.  

C. All checks shall be made payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia.  

D. Receipt and deposit of fees submitted with applications 

do not indicate licensure.  

Part II  

Licensure  

18VAC155-20-100. Licensure required. (Repealed.) 

Licensure is required for all individuals acting as waste 

management facility operators after June 30, 1995.  

18VAC155-20-110. License classification.  

A. The applicant shall apply for at least one classification of 

license as outlined below:  

1. An individual operating a facility that is defined by the 

Department of Environmental Quality as a transfer station, 

a material recovery facility receiving mixed waste, an 

experimental facility, or a composting facility receiving 

yard waste shall hold a Class I license. An individual who 

has obtained a Class II, III or IV license may also operate a 

facility listed under Class I, if the individual has completed 

the board-approved basic training course.  

2. An individual operating a facility that composts 

municipal solid waste, or is defined by the Department of 

Environmental Quality as a sanitary, industrial, 

construction or debris landfill, shall hold a Class II license.  

3. An individual operating a facility defined by the 

Department of Environmental Quality as an infectious 

waste incinerator or an autoclave shall hold a Class III 

license.  

4. An individual operating a facility defined by the 

Department of Environmental Quality as a municipal waste 

combustor shall hold a Class IV license.  

B. A licensee may not operate a facility outside of his 

classification other than that defined by subdivision A 1 of 

this section.  

C. An individual operating a solid waste management 

facility that has been issued a permit by the Department of 

Environmental Quality but for which the board has not 

established training and licensure requirements shall hold a 

Class I license until the board establishes the training and 

licensing requirements by regulation.  

18VAC155-20-120. Qualifications for licensure.  

A. The board shall issue a license only after an individual 

has met, through a completed application and addendum, all 

training, testing, and experience requirements for at least one 

specific class as set forth in this chapter.  

B. The applicant shall meet the following requirements for 

licensure for all classes of licenses:  

A. Every applicant to the Board for Waste Management 

Facility Operators for licensure shall meet the requirements 

and have the qualifications provided in this subsection. 

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years of age.  

2. The applicant shall provide proof of high school or 

college graduation, or of having a General Equivalency 

Diploma (GED).  

3. An applicant who cannot fulfill the requirement outlined 

in subdivision 2 of this subsection shall document at least 

five years of verified experience with a waste management 

facility during the preceding seven years, with at least three 

years of experience in at least one of the following 

activities:  

a. Supervision;  

b. Research;  

c. Construction;  

d. Project development;  

e. Site development;  

f. Compliance and enforcement of a permit or 

regulations;  

g. Operation; or  

h. Review of materials for permitting purposes.  

4. Except for applicants that qualify pursuant to 

subdivision 3 of this subsection, each applicant shall 

document one year of verified operational experience with 

a waste management facility.  

5. All applicants shall successfully complete the basic 

training course as defined in 18VAC155-20-220 B.  

6. An applicant may use employment responsibilities in 

lieu of facility specific training as defined in subsections D 

through F of this section provided that:  

a. The applicant has been a full-time employee at a waste 

facility specific to the desired license classification for at 

least three of the past seven years.  

b. The employment responsibilities include at least one 

of those activities enumerated in subdivision 3 of this 

subsection.  
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7. Experience requirements claimed on the application for 

licensure shall be verified by the individual's supervisor(s) 

or personnel officer. Individuals who are under contract 

with a facility owner may obtain a letter from the facility 

owner to verify experience.  

8. Education requirements claimed on the application for 

licensure shall be verified by the attendee's educational 

institution or authorizing jurisdiction on the provided form 

or in the form of an official transcript or letter. Diplomas 

will not be accepted for verification of degree or 

graduation.  

9. The applicant holding a valid license from another state 

or jurisdiction may qualify by reciprocity under the 

provisions of 18VAC155-20-150.  

C. The specific requirements for Class I licensure are as 

follows:  

1. Complete a board-approved basic training course; and  

2. Pass the board-approved examination for Class I.  

D. The specific requirements for Class II licensure are as 

follows:  

1. Complete a board-approved basic training course and an 

approved training course specific to Class II facilities; and  

2. Pass the board-approved examination for Class II.  

E. The specific requirements for Class III licensure are as 

follows:  

1. Complete a board-approved basic training course and an 

approved training course specific to Class III facilities and 

pass the board-approved examination for Class III; or  

2. Complete the training and examination requirement of a 

federal or state agency under the federal Clean Air Act, as 

amended, as of the date applicable to an interpretation of a 

regulation or adjudication of a case decision and complete 

the board-approved basic training course within one year 

after licensure.  

F. The specific requirements for Class IV licensure are as 

follows:  

1. Complete a board-approved basic training course and an 

approved training course specific to Class IV facilities and 

pass the board-approved examination for Class IV; or  

2. Complete the training and examination requirement of a 

federal or state agency under the federal Clean Air Act, as 

amended, as of the date applicable to an interpretation of a 

regulation or adjudication of a case decision and complete 

the board-approved basic training course within one year 

after licensure.  

2. Unless otherwise exempt, the applicant shall have 

successfully completed a basic training course approved by 

the board. Additonally, an applicant for a Class II, III, or 

IV license shall complete a training course approved by the 

board specific to the license for which he applies. 

3. Unless exempt, the applicant shall have passed the 

applicable examination provided by the board or by a 

testing organization acting on behalf of the board. 

4. Each applicant shall document a minimum of one year 

of verified operational experience with a waste 

management facility of the same class for which he 

applies. Experience claimed on the application for 

licensure shall be verified by the individual's supervisor or 

personnel officer. Individuals who are under contract with 

a facility owner may obtain a letter from the facility owner 

to verify experience. 

5. Applicants certified or licensed as a waste management 

facility operator by governing bodies outside of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia shall be considered to be in 

compliance with this chapter if the board or its designee 

has determined the certifying system to be substantially 

equivalent to the Virginia system. 

6. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose a conviction, in any 

jurisdiction, of any misdemeanor or felony. Any plea of 

nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 

purpose of this subdivision. The record of conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, at 

its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

7. The applicant shall report suspensions, revocations, or 

surrendering of a certificate or license in connection with a 

disciplinary action or that have been the subject of 

discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure 

in Virginia. The board, at its discretion, may deny licensure 

to any applicant based on prior suspensions, revocations, or 

surrender of certifications or licenses based on disciplinary 

action by any jurisdiction. 

B. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 

with respect to the qualifications of the applicant. 

18VAC155-20-130. Application procedures.  

A. Application shall be made on forms supplied by the 

department, and application forms shall be completed in 

accordance with the instructions on the forms. Failure to 

provide a complete application and all applicable addenda 

may result in a denial of approval. The failure to provide 

complete information may be interpreted as misrepresentation 

and may result in disciplinary action as defined by 

18VAC155-20-280.  

B. Those already licensed who desire to add another 

classification or classifications to their license shall apply 

under the provisions of 18VAC155-20-110.  

18VAC155-20-140. Examinations.  

A. Initial examination.  

1. An individual may not take the board-approved 

examination until all training requirements have been 
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completed and are verified to the board unless qualifying 

under 18VAC155-20-120 B 6.  

2. All applicants approved for the examination by the 

board will be notified in writing with a request for the 

examination fee defined in 18VAC155-20-40 B 5. The 

applicant will be scheduled for the next available 

examination upon receipt of the examination fee.  

3. The examination fee will be required at least 30 days 

before the scheduled date of the examination.  

4. All applicants shall achieve a passing score on the 

examination as determined by the board.  

5. An individual unable to take an examination at the time 

scheduled shall notify the board prior to the date of the 

examination; such an individual shall be rescheduled for 

the next examination. Failure to notify the board may 

require the submittal of a new examination fee.  

B. Reexamination.  

1. An individual may retake the board-approved 

examination as many times as necessary to pass except 

those who have been waived from training requirements.  

2. If the applicant has been waived from training under 

18VAC155-20-120 B 6 and fails, the applicant may retake 

the examination once. After failing twice, the applicant 

shall complete the required training before retaking the 

examination.  

3. Reexamination shall require the submission of the 

reexamination fee as defined in 18VAC155-20-40 B 5.  

A. Applicants will be approved to sit for the examination for 

licensure once all education and experience requirements 

have been satisfied and documentation pertaining to all other 

qualifications have been received by the board. 

B. An applicant must follow all rules established by the 

board or by the testing service acting on behalf of the board 

with regard to the conduct at the examination site. Such rules 

shall include any written instructions communicated prior to 

the examination date and any oral or written instructions 

given at the site on the date of the exam. 

18VAC155-20-150. Reciprocity. (Repealed.) 

A. Any individual holding a valid license in another state 

may apply for licensure based on reciprocity.  

B. The board will certify an individual who submits a 

completed application and the initial application fee and is in 

compliance with 18VAC155-20-280.  

C. All applicants licensed through reciprocity shall complete 

the basic training course within one year after being licensed 

in Virginia.  

D. If the licensee fails to complete the basic course and fails 

to properly notify the board of such failure within one year 

after licensure, the board may begin disciplinary action to 

suspend or revoke the license.  

Part III  

Renewal of License  

18VAC155-20-160. Procedures for renewal.  

A. Licenses issued under this chapter shall expire two years 

from the last day of the month in which they were issued as 

indicated on the license. biennially. Licensees shall be 

notified by mail of the fee and the procedures for license 

renewal. Each licensee desiring to renew his license shall 

ensure that the department receives the renewal notice; 

evidence of completion of continuing professional 

education/training; a statement that the license renewal 

applicant is in compliance with all facility specific operator 

training and examination requirements of federal and Virginia 

law and regulations, and of the facility operating permit(s); 

and the appropriate fee before the license expires. 

B. Licenses shall be renewed for a period of 24 months from 

the date of the expiring license. The board will mail a renewal 

notice to the licensee at the address on file with the board 

outlining the fee and procedures for license renewal. Failure 

to receive written notice from the department does not relieve 

the licensee from the requirement to renew his license. If the 

license holder fails to receive the renewal notice, a copy of 

the license may be submitted with evidence of completion of 

the continuing education requirements and the appropriate 

fee. 

C. Failure to receive written notice from the department 

does not relieve the regulant from the requirement to renew 

his license. If the license holder fails to receive the renewal 

notice, a copy of the license may be submitted with evidence 

of completion of the continuing education/training and the 

appropriate fee.  

D. C. The date the required fee is received by the 

department or its agent will be used to determine whether a 

penalty fee or the requirement for reinstatement of a license is 

applicable.  

E. Revoked or suspended licenses are not renewable until 

reinstated by the board.  

D. As a condition of renewal or reinstatement all individuals 

holding a license shall be required to satisfactorily complete 

eight hours of continuing education from a provider approved 

by the board in accordance with the provisions of this chapter.  

18VAC155-20-175. Continuing professional 

education/training. (Repealed.) 

A. Each applicant for license renewal shall provide evidence 

of the completion of at least eight contact hours of continuing 

professional education/training, as defined in 18VAC155-20-

10 and in accordance with this section, except that no 

continuing professional education/training shall be required 

for the first renewal after the issuance of the initial license to 

an individual.  

B. All CPE/T contact hours must be specific to the operation 

of a waste management facility.  
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C. Renewal applicants shall submit one or both of the 

following to document completion of the hours of CPE/T 

required by subsection A of this section:  

1. For an organized program, a document with:  

a. The name, address and telephone number of the 

sponsor;  

b. The date(s) the applicant participated in the organized 

program;  

c. A copy of the syllabus or other descriptive material of 

the information presented during the organized program; 

and  

d. Verification of the number of contact hours completed 

that were specific to the operation of a waste 

management facility.  

2. For a project, a document with:  

a. The name and address of the waste management 

facility where the project was conducted;  

b. The name of the owner, operator or manager of the 

facility who assigned the project;  

c. The name, address and telephone number of the 

knowledgeable person assigned to supervise the license 

renewal applicant during the project;  

d. A brief description of how the project's specific 

predetermined end result increased the license renewal 

applicant's competence; and  

e. A statement of the number of contact hours required 

for the license renewal applicant to satisfactorily 

complete the project, which is signed by the owner, 

operator or manager of the facility where the project was 

conducted or by the knowledgeable person supervising 

the project.  

D. The board shall advise the license renewal applicant of 

the approval of his CPE/T by issuing the renewed license 

provided all of the other renewal requirements of this chapter 

have been met. The board shall advise the license renewal 

applicant in writing of the deficiencies it finds in the CPE/T 

submitted and shall allow a reasonable amount of time for the 

renewal applicant to correct the deficiencies and respond.  

E. Each licensee shall maintain evidence of the satisfactory 

completion of CPE/T for a period of three years. Such 

documentation shall be in the form required by subsection C 

of this section and shall be provided to the board or its duly 

authorized agents upon request.  

F. CPE/T contact hours taken after the expiration of the 

individual's license to meet the CPE/T requirement of the 

prior license term shall not be reported for any future renewal.  

Part IV  

Training Requirements  

18VAC155-20-220. Training course curriculum. 

Education courses. 

A. The board shall approve only training courses that 

document that their instruction meets the minimum 

curriculum standards contained in this section. All training 

and continuing education courses must be completed through 

accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 

colleges, Virginia Apprenticeship Council programs, 

proprietary schools approved by the Virginia Department of 

Education, or other programs approved by the board.  

B. A board-approved basic training course shall at a 

minimum include the following topics as they relate to 

nonhazardous solid waste management facilities:  

1. Definitions.  

2. Authority for regulations.  

3. Purpose of regulations.  

4. Administration of regulations.  

5. Applicability of regulations.  

6. Prohibitions.  

7. Open dumps.  

8. Unpermitted facilities.  

9. Enforcement and appeal.  

10. Penalties and enforcement.  

11. Public participation.  

12. Relationship with other regulations promulgated by the 

Virginia Waste Management Board, the State Water 

Control Board, and the Virginia State Air Pollution Control 

Board.  

13. Identification of solid waste.  

a. Purpose and scope.  

b. Definitions of solid waste.  

c. Special wastes.  

d. Exclusions.  

e. Conditional exemptions.  

14. Identification of unauthorized waste.  

15. Overview of open dumps and unpermitted facilities.  

16. Permitting of solid waste management facilities.  

17. Review of Department of Environmental Quality 

Inspection Form.  

18. Overview of permitted solid waste management 

facilities.  

a. Transfer stations.  

b. Material recovery facilities.  

c. Experimental facilities.  

d. Sanitary landfills.  



Regulations 

Volume 31, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations June 1, 2015 

1756 

e. Infectious waste incinerators.  

f. Mass burn facilities.  

g. Refuse derived fuel facilities.  

h. Yard waste composting facilities.  

i. Autoclaves.  

19. Overview of general OSHA requirements.  

20. Neighbor relations.  

21. Recordkeeping and financial assurance.  

C. A board-approved training course specific to Class II 

facilities shall include at a minimum the following topics:  

1. Definitions.  

2. Special wastes.  

a. General.  

b. Asbestos wastes.  

c. Wastes containing polychlorinated biphenyls.  

d. Liquids.  

e. Tires.  

f. Drums.  

g. White goods.  

h. Soil contaminated with petroleum products.  

i. Lead acid batteries.  

j. Other prohibited wastes.  

k. Hazardous wastes.  

l. Screening for prohibited wastes.  

m. Handling procedures for special or hazardous wastes.  

n. Recordkeeping and notification requirements.  

3. Sanitary landfills.  

a. Design/construction.  

b. Operation.  

c. Groundwater monitoring.  

d. Control of decomposition gases and landfill gas 

recovery systems.  

e. Leachate control system and monitoring.  

f. Leachate control system appurtenances.  

g. Large landfill air operating permits.  

4. Construction/demolition debris standards.  

5. Industrial waste disposal standards.  

6. Other solid waste management facility standards.  

a. Compost facilities.  

b.. Surface impoundments and lagoons.  

c. Waste piles.  

d. Miscellaneous units.  

7. Permitting of solid waste management facilities.  

a. Solid waste.  

b. Virginia Pollution Discharge Elimination System 

(VPDES) permits and related water and wastewater 

permits.  

c. Air.  

8. Financial assurance documentation.  

a. Closure regulations.  

b. Post-closure regulations.  

c. Corrective action.  

9. Rulemaking petitions and procedures.  

D. A board-approved training course specific to Class III 

facilities shall include at a minimum the following topics:  

1. Identification and listing of infectious waste.  

a. General.  

b. Exemption to regulations.  

c. Exclusions.  

d. Characteristics of infectious waste.  

e. Controlled infectious waste.  

2. General requirements.  

a. Permits and permits by rule.  

b. Packaging and labeling requirements.  

c. Management of spills.  

d. Methods of treatment and disposal.  

e. Approved test method.  

f. Recordkeeping requirements.  

3. Requirements for storage facilities.  

a. Sanitation.  

b. Access.  

c. Temperature control and storage period.  

d. Drainage and ventilation.  

4. Requirements for transportation.  

a. Sanitation.  

b. Access.  

c. Temperature and storage period.  

d. Drainage.  

e. Packaging, labeling and placards.  

f. Management of spills.  

g. Loading and unloading.  

h. Registration of transportation.  

5. Requirements for incineration.  

a. Performance standards.  

b. Analysis and management of ash residue.  

c. Unloading operation.  

d. Facility air operating permits.  

e. Compliance with other regulatory requirements.  
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6. Requirements for steam sterilization.  

a. Performance standards.  

b. Compliance with other regulatory requirements.  

7. Medical waste combustor regulations.  

8. Financial assurance documentation.  

a. Closure regulations.  

b. Corrective action.  

E. A board-approved training course specific to Class IV 

facilities shall include at a minimum the following topics:  

1. Solid Waste Management Regulations.  

a. Siting.  

b. Design and construction.  

c. Operation.  

d. Waste characteristics.  

2. Emissions formation and control.  

a. Type of emissions.  

b. Environmental effect.  

c. Control techniques.  

3. Emissions monitoring.  

a. Parameters monitored.  

b. Types of monitors.  

c. Data acquisition.  

d. Monitor calibration, certification and testing.  

4. Combustion and gas reactions.  

a. Combustion components.  

b. Optimizing solid waste combustion.  

c. Gas reactions related to combustor construction 

materials.  

5. Solid waste materials handling.  

a. Front end processing equipment.  

b. Combustion enhancement.  

c. Back end processing.  

d. Recycling benefits.  

6. Waste combustion residue handling and disposal.  

a. Types of residue.  

b. Characteristics.  

c. Regulations.  

d. Monitoring.  

e. Handling and transportation.  

f. Disposal.  

g. Alternative uses.  

7. Safety.  

a. Employer/employee obligations.  

b. OSHA.  

c. Hazard communication.  

d. Equipment tagout.  

e. Respiratory protection.  

8. Recordkeeping.  

a. Engineering log keeping.  

b. Maintenance.  

c. Solid waste.  

9. Virginia pressure vessel regulation.  

10. Air pollution control regulations for waste combustors.  

11. Facility air operating permits.  

12. Plant operations.  

a. Thermal fluids theory.  

b. Boiler plant operations.  

13. Financial assurance documentation.  

a. Closure regulations.  

b. Corrective action.  

B. All continuing education courses must be specific to the 

operation of the class of waste management facility for which 

the course is being offered and must be approved by the 

board. 

C. Each provider of a training or continuing education 

course shall submit an application for approval on a form 

provided by the board. The application shall include, but is 

not limited to: 

1. The name of the provider; 

2. Provider contact person, address, and telephone number; 

3. Course contact hours; 

4. Schedule of courses, if established, including dates, 

times, and locations; 

5. Course syllabus; 

6. Instructor information, including name, license number 

if applicable, education and training background, and a list 

of other appropriate trade designations or training 

certifications. 

18VAC155-20-230. Approval of training course. Training 

records. 

A. Each applicant for training course approval shall meet the 

requirements established by this chapter before being granted 

approval by the board. Those desiring approval of a training 

course shall apply on a form provided by the department. The 

form shall be completed in accordance with the instructions 

supplied, and shall be accompanied by three copies of the 

materials which document that the training course meets the 

requirements of this chapter and by the fee required by 

18VAC155-20-40 B 6. Receipt and deposit of the required 

fee does not indicate board approval.  

B. Training courses shall be approved by the board prior to 

the training activity in accordance with the following:  

1. Training providers.  
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a. Organizations. The board may approve training 

courses offered by a sponsor who is an identifiable 

organization which can demonstrate the capability to 

teach environmental or engineering material. The 

organization shall have a mission statement outlining its 

functions, structure, process and philosophy, and a staff 

of one or more persons that has the authority to 

administer and coordinate the training program.  

b. Schools. The board may approve training courses 

offered by an accredited academic institution which can 

demonstrate the capability to teach environmental or 

engineering material.  

c. Businesses. The board may approve training courses 

offered by a business entity which can demonstrate the 

capability to teach environmental or engineering 

material.  

2. Instructors. The training course provider shall ensure 

training is only conducted by personnel who have 

demonstrated competence in the subject being taught, an 

understanding of the learning objective, a knowledge of the 

teaching process to be used, and a proven ability to 

communicate.  

3. Objectives. The training course provider shall ensure 

that the course has a series of stated objectives that are 

consistent with the type of facility, operator job 

requirements, and state and federal regulation. The training 

course shall be consistent with training criteria outlined in 

18VAC155-20-220.  

4. The board shall only approve courses which provide the 

participants a complete tour of a facility appropriate to the 

course emphasizing operator responsibilities. The basic 

training course is exempt from this requirement.  

5. Course completion requirements. For successful 

completion of a training program, participants must attend 

90% or more of the class contact time and the tour of the 

facility.  

6. The training provider shall provide an effective means 

for evaluation of the quality of the course and the 

instructor(s).  

7. The training provider shall ensure the number of 

participants and physical facilities are appropriate for the 

course content and teaching method specified by the 

developer of the course.  

8. The training provider shall ensure all course materials 

are technically accurate, current and sufficient to meet the 

program's learning objectives.  

C. Training records.  

1. An approved training provider shall retain records for all 

participants for a period of 10 years and shall maintain a 

written policy on the retention and release of records.  

2. All records pertaining to the approved training and 

participants shall be made available to the board 

immediately upon request.  

D. The board shall consider the following information 

before deciding to approve or disapprove an application for 

training provider approval:  

1. Course information.  

a. Course title.  

b. Planned audience.  

c. Name of sponsor.  

d. Name, address and telephone number of contact 

person.  

e. Scheduled presentation dates.  

f. Detailed course schedule on an hour-by-hour basis.  

g. List of planned breaks.  

h. Scheduled presentation locations.  

i. Scheduled tour locations.  

j. Instructor(s) resume.  

2. Training materials.  

a. Course objectives. A listing of the course objectives 

stated in terms of the skills and knowledge the participant 

will be able to demonstrate as a result of the training.  

b. Course outline. A detailed outline showing the planned 

activities that will occur during the training program, 

including major topics, planned presentation sequence, 

tour activities, audio-visual presentations and other major 

activities.  

c. Course reference materials. A list of name, publisher, 

and publication date of commercially available 

publications; for material developed specifically for the 

course, a copy of the reference material.  

d. Audio-visual support materials. A list of any 

commercially available audio-visual support material that 

will be used in the course; a brief description of any 

audio-visual material generated by the sponsor or 

instructor.  

e. Handouts. Identification of all commercially available 

handout material including regulations; copies of other 

handouts generated by the sponsor or instructor.  

E. The board shall approve all substantial changes to the 

course before the changes may be implemented.  

F. The board reserves the right to withdraw approval if the 

board determines the course is not adequately teaching 

participants, or the sponsor or an instructor violates this 

chapter.  

An approved training provider shall retain records for all 

participants for a period of 10 years and shall maintain a 

written policy on the retention and release of records.  All 

records pertaining to the approved training and participants 
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shall be made available to the board immediately upon 

request. 

18VAC155-20-235. Denial or withdrawal of approval. 

The board may deny or withdraw the approval of any 

training or continuing education course for the following 

reasons: 

1. Courses being offered no longer meet the standards 

established by the board; 

2. The course provider, through an agent or otherwise, 

advertises its services in a fraudulent or deceptive way; 

3. The course provider, instructor, or designee of the 

provider falsifies any information relating to the 

application for approval, course information, or student 

records or fails to produce records required by the Board 

for Waste Management Facility Operators. 

4. The course provider fails to maintain student course 

completion records for a minimum of 10 years. 

Part V  

Disciplinary Action  

18VAC155-20-280. Grounds for denial of application, 

denial of renewal, or discipline.  

A. The board shall have the authority to (i) deny an 

application for and to deny renewal of a license or training 

course approval, and to (ii) revoke or suspend the license or 

training course approval as well as to, and (iii) discipline a 

licensee or an approved training provider for the following 

reasons: who is found to be in violation of the statutes or 

regulations governing the practice of licensed waste 

management facility operators. 

1. Violating or inducing another to violate any provisions 

of Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.), 3 

(§ 54.1-300 et seq.) or 22.1 (§ 54.1-2209 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or any provision of this 

chapter.  

2. Obtaining or renewing a license or training course 

approval through fraudulent means or misrepresentation.  

3. Having been found guilty by the board, an 

administrative body or by a court of any material 

misrepresentation in the course of performing his operating 

duties.  

4. Subject to the provisions of § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia, having been convicted or found guilty, regardless 

of jurisdiction, of any felony, or of any violation that 

resulted in the significant harm or the imminent and 

substantial threat of significant harm to human health or 

the environment, there being no appeal pending therefrom 

or the time of appeal having elapsed. Any plea of nolo 

contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 

purposes of this chapter. A certified copy of the final order, 

decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency 

with lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case 

decision shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of 

such conviction.  

5. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 

pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 

found guilty of any felony, or of any violation that resulted 

in the significant harm or the imminent and substantial 

threat of significant harm to human health or the 

environment.  

6. Gross negligence, or a continued pattern of 

incompetence, in the practice as a waste management 

facility operator.  

7. Violating the permit conditions for the facility, or 

violating any federal, state or local laws or regulations 

which that resulted in the significant harm or the imminent 

and substantial threat of significant harm to human health 

or the environment.  

B. Any individual whose license is revoked under this 

section shall not be eligible to apply for licensure for a period 

of one year from the effective date of the final order of 

revocation. After the one-year period, the individual shall 

meet all education, examination, experience and training 

requirements, complete the application and submit the 

required fee for consideration as a new applicant.  

C. The board shall conduct disciplinary procedures in 

accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

18VAC155-20-285. Prohibited acts. 

Any of the following are cause for disciplinary action: 

1. Violating or inducing another to violate any provisions 

of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.), 3 

(§ 54.1-300 et seq.) or 22.1 (§ 54.1-2209 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or any provision of this 

chapter. 

2. Obtaining or renewing a license through fraudulent 

means or misrepresentation. 

3. Having been found guilty by the board, an 

administrative body, or by a court of any material 

misrepresentation in the course of performing his operating 

duties. 

4. Subject to the provisions of § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia, having been convicted or found guilty, regardless 

of jurisdiction, of any felony or any violation that resulted 

in the significant harm or the imminent and substantial 

threat of significant harm to human health or the 

environment, there being no appeal pending therefrom, or 

the time of appeal having elapsed. Any plea of nolo 

contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 

purposes of this chapter. A certified copy of the final order, 

decree, or case decision by a court or regulatory agency 

with lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case 

decision shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of 

such conviction. 
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5. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 

pleading guilty to, pleading nolo contendere to, being 

convicted of, or being found guilty of (i) any felony or (ii) 

any violation that resulted in the significant harm or the 

imminent and substantial threat of significant harm to 

human health or the environment. 

6. Gross negligence, or a continued pattern of 

incompetence, in the practice of a waste management 

facility operator. 

7. Violating the permit conditions for the facility, or 

violating federal, state, or local laws or regulations, which 

resulted in the significant harm or the imminent and 

substantial threat of significant harm to human health or 

the environment. 

8. Failure to comply with all rules established by the board 

and the testing organization with regard to conduct at the 

examination. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC155-20)  

License Application, 46LICPKG (rev. 5/05)  

Experience Verification Form, 46EXP (rev. 5/00) 

Education Verification Form, 46ED (rev. 5/00) 

Application for Training Course Approval, 46CRS (rev. 

5/00)  

License Application, A438-4605LIC-v8 (rev. 8/15) 

Training Course Approval Application, A438-46CRS-v4 

(rev. 8/15) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3737; Filed May 5, 2015, 9:47 a.m.  

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC160-20. Board for Waterworks 

and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage 

System Professionals Regulations (amending 18VAC160-

20-97).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2301 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, Board 

for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 

Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX 

(866) 350-5354, or email waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment eliminates the need for an applicant for a 

conventional onsite sewage system installer license, who is 

applying for waiver of the examination, to provide 

documentation of experience attained working with 

professionals from a specific list. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC160-20-97. Qualifications for licensure - onsite 

sewage system installers. 

A. Each applicant shall make application in accordance with 

18VAC160-20-76 and shall meet the specific entry 

requirements provided for in this section for the license 

desired. 

B. Each applicant holding a valid interim onsite sewage 

system installer license shall submit documentation of 

compliance with the continuing professional education 

requirements of this chapter at the time of application. 

C. Specific entry requirements. 

1. Conventional onsite sewage system installer. Each 

individual applying for an initial conventional onsite 

sewage system installer license shall pass a board-

approved examination and shall meet one of the following 

requirements: 

a. Have two years of full-time experience installing 

alternative or conventional onsite sewage systems during 

the last four years under the direct supervision of a 

properly licensed contractor holding a sewage disposal 

system (SDS) specialty issued by the Virginia Board for 

Contractors; or 

b. Have two years of full-time experience installing 

alternative or conventional onsite sewage systems during 

the last four years as a properly licensed contractor 

holding a sewage disposal system (SDS) specialty issued 

by the Virginia Board for Contractors; or 

c. Have documentation certifying that the applicant is 

competent to install conventional onsite sewage systems. 

Certification must be provided by any combination of 

three of the following individuals:  

(1) VDH Authorized Onsite Soil Evaluators (AOSE) for 

work performed prior to July 1, 2009;  

(2) Licensed interim onsite soil evaluators; 

(3) Licensed conventional or alternative onsite soil 

evaluators;  

(4) Licensed conventional or alternative onsite sewage 

system installers; or 

(5) Virginia licensed professional engineers. 

2. Conventional onsite sewage system installer. The 

examination requirement provided for in subdivision 1 of 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1a6e0003737~1&typ=40&actno=003737&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a99d003737~2&typ=40&actno=003737&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6a99d003737~2&typ=40&actno=003737&mime=application/pdf
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this subsection shall not apply to applicants seeking initial 

licensure as a conventional onsite sewage system installer 

provided that:  

a. The applicant is able to satisfactorily demonstrate that 

he has been actively engaged in performing the duties of 

a conventional onsite sewage system installer, as defined 

in this chapter, for at least eight years within the 12-year 

period immediately preceding the date of application. 

Documentation of being actively engaged in performing 

the duties of a conventional onsite sewage system 

installer, as defined in this chapter, for at least eight years 

within the 12-year period immediately preceding the date 

of application shall be provided by one or more of the 

following: 

(1) VDH Authorized Onsite Soil Evaluator (AOSE) for 

work performed prior to July 1, 2009;  

(2) Licensed interim onsite soil evaluator; 

(3) Licensed conventional or alternative onsite soil 

evaluator;  

(4) Licensed conventional or alternative onsite sewage 

system installer; or 

(5) Virginia licensed professional engineer; and  

b. The department receives a completed application no 

later than June 30, 2016. An individual who fails to have 

his application in the department's possession by June 30, 

2016, shall be required to pass the board-approved 

examination provided for in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection. 

3. Alternative onsite sewage system installer. Each 

individual applying for an initial alternative onsite sewage 

system installer license shall pass a board-approved 

examination and shall meet one of the following 

requirements: 

a. Provide contractor completion statements and 

associated operation permits issued by the VDH for work 

performed after June 30, 2009. The statements and 

permits must verify that the applicant had successfully 

installed 36 onsite sewage systems during the preceding 

three years, six of which must be alternative systems. All 

contractor completion statements and associated VDH 

operation permits shall be certified by either a licensed 

alternative onsite soil evaluator, a licensed conventional 

or alternative onsite sewage system installer, or a 

Virginia licensed professional engineer; 

b. Provide contractor completion statements and 

associated operation permits issued by the VDH for work 

performed on or before June 30, 2009. The statements 

and permits must verify that the applicant successfully 

installed 12 alternative onsite sewage systems during the 

past three years. All contractor completion statements 

and associated VDH operation permits shall be certified 

by either an authorized onsite soil evaluator or a Virginia 

licensed professional engineer; 

c. Have two years of full-time experience installing 

sewage systems as a properly licensed contractor holding 

a sewage disposal system (SDS) specialty issued by the 

Virginia Board for Contractors and provide certification 

by at least three interim or alternative onsite soil 

evaluator licensees, Virginia-licensed professional 

engineers, or any combination thereof, that the applicant 

is competent to install alternative onsite sewage systems;  

d. Have two years of full-time experience installing 

sewage systems under the direct supervision a properly 

licensed contractor holding a sewage disposal system 

(SDS) specialty issued by the Virginia Board for 

Contractors and provide certification by at least three 

interim or alternative onsite soil evaluator licensees, 

Virginia-licensed professional engineers, or any 

combination thereof, that the applicant is competent to 

install alternative onsite sewage systems; or  

e. Have two years of full-time experience as a licensed or 

interim licensed conventional onsite sewage system 

installer and provide certification by at least three interim 

or alternative onsite soil evaluator licensees, Virginia-

licensed professional engineers, or any combination 

thereof, that the applicant is competent to install 

alternative onsite sewage systems. 

If the applicant is not listed on the completion statement but 

did perform the installation, then the individual named on the 

contractor's completion statement and associated operation 

permit issued by the VDH may certify the applicant's work 

performed on an alternative onsite sewage system that was 

installed prior to June 30, 2009, provided that the application 

is received by the department no later than June 30, 2010. 

D. Education and training substitution. Each individual 

applying for a conventional or an alternative onsite sewage 

system installer license may receive credit for up to half of 

the experience required by this section for: 

1. Satisfactory completion of postsecondary courses in 

wastewater, biology, chemistry, geology, hydraulics, 

hydrogeology, or soil science at the rate of one month per 

semester hour or two-thirds of a month per quarter hour; or 

2. Satisfactory completion of board-approved onsite 

sewage system installer training courses at the rate of one 

month for each training credit earned. Up to one training 

credit is awarded for each 10 hours of classroom contact 

time or for each 20 hours of laboratory exercise and field 

trip contact time. No credit towards training credits is 

granted for breaks, meals, receptions, and time other than 

classroom, laboratory and field trip contact time. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
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Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

[ FORMS (18VAC160-20) 

Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Certificate of 

Completion, 19CPE (rev. 5/09) 

Application for Training Course Approval, 19CRS (rev. 

5/09) 

Experience Verification Form, 19EXP (eff. 7/09) 

Experience Verification Application – Onsite Sewage 

System Applicants Only, A436-19EXP (rev. 10/12) 

Education & Training Substitution Form, 19ET_SUB (eff. 

7/09) 

Licensure Fee Notice, 19FEE (eff. 7/09) 

Interim Onsite Soil Evaluator - VDH Employees Only 

License Application, 1930LIC (eff. 7/09) 

Interim Onsite Sewage System Installer License 

Application, 1931_32LIC (eff. 7/09) 

Interim Onsite Sewage System Operator License 

Application, 1933_34LIC (eff. 7/09) 

Onsite Soil Evaluator Exam & License Application, 

1940_41EXLIC (eff. 7/09) 

Onsite Sewage System Installer Exam & License 

Application, A465-1944EXLIC (rev. 12/12) 

Onsite Sewage System Operator Exam & License 

Application, 1942_43EXLIC (eff. 7/09) 

Suspension of Examination – Conventional Onsite Sewage 

System Installer License Application, 1944WAIV (eff. 07/12) 

Suspension of Examination – Conventional Onsite Sewage 

System Installer License Application, A436-1944WAIV-v4 

(eff. 8/15) 

Onsite Sewage System Operator - Exam & License 

Application, A465-1942EXLIC-v3, (eff. 7/13) ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3570; Filed May 11, 2015, 3:32 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC160-20. Board for Waterworks 

and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage 

System Professionals Regulations (amending 18VAC160-

20-102).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 11, 2015 - 10:30 a.m. - Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation, Perimeter Center, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 200, Board Room 2, Richmond, 

Virginia 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: July 31, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, Board 

for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 

Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX 

(866) 350-5354, or email waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia (Callahan 

Act) requires regulatory boards to periodically review and 

adjust fees, subdivision 4 of § 54.1-201 of the Code of 

Virginia provides the authority to regulatory boards to levy 

and collect fees, subdivision 3 of § 54.1-304 of the Code of 

Virginia describes the authority of the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) to collect 

and account for fees, and § 54.1-308 requires costs to be paid 

by regulatory boards. All of these provisions of the Code of 

Virginia are mandatory. 

Purpose: The intent of the proposed amendments is to 

increase licensing fees for regulants of the board. The board 

must establish fees adequate to support the costs of board 

operations and a proportionate share of DPOR's operations. 

By the close of the next biennium, fees will not provide 

adequate revenue for those costs. 

DPOR receives no general fund money but, instead, is funded 

almost entirely from revenue collected for license and 

certificate application fees, renewal fees, examination fees, 

and other licensing fees. DPOR is self-supporting and must 

collect adequate revenue to support its mandated and 

approved activities and operations. Fees must be established 

at amounts that will provide that revenue. Fee revenue 

collected on behalf of the various boards funds DPOR's 

authorized special revenue appropriation. 

The board has no other source of revenue from which to fund 

its operations. 

Substance: The proposed amendment to 18VAC160-20-102 

increases the license renewal fee from $80 to $100, is based 

on projected revenues and expenses, and meets the 

requirements of the applicable statutes while being the least 

burdensome to the regulant population. 

Issues: The primary issue for the proposed fee increase is 

DPOR's statutory requirement to comply with the Callahan 

Act. 

Further issues to be addressed as regulations are developed 

include: 

The Callahan Act required DPOR to review each board's 

expenditures at the close of each biennium and to adjust fees 

if necessary. The board is expected to incur a deficit of 

$36,121 by the end of the 2016-2018 biennium and a 

Callahan Act percentage of (-5.2%). 

The regulatory review process generally takes a minimum of 

18 months, so it is essential to consider fee increases now to 

avoid a greater deficit than currently projected. In order to 

address the deficit as currently projected, new fees will need 

to become effective by late in fiscal year 2016, otherwise the 

board's deficit will increase to the point that new fees would 

be inadequate to provide sufficient revenue for upcoming 

operating cycles, which could result in the board having to 

consider additional fee increases in the near future. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3de3a003424~1&typ=40&actno=003424&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3de3a003424~1&typ=40&actno=003424&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=58076003424~2&typ=40&actno=003424&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=58076003424~2&typ=40&actno=003424&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a0110003570~2&typ=40&actno=003570&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a0110003570~2&typ=40&actno=003570&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a0110003570~2&typ=40&actno=003570&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=378ad003656~1&typ=40&actno=003656&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=378ad003656~1&typ=40&actno=003656&mime=application/pdf
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The advantage of these changes is that the regulatory program 

will be able to continue to function in order to protect the 

public. The disadvantage is that these changes will increase 

the cost of the license to the regulated population; however, 

the impact of the proposed amendment on the income of the 

regulated population should not be of a great significance 

compared to their level of income. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and 

Onsite Sewage Systems Professionals (Board) proposes to 

increase their license renewal fee.  

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient information to 

ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs for this 

regulatory program.  

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, individuals who are 

licensed by the Board pay an initial licensure fee of $100 and 

a license renewal fee of $80. These fees were last increased 

12 years ago. The Board now proposes to increase the license 

renewal fee from $80 to $100. This fee increase will allow the 

Board to avoid a future funding deficit (the Board estimates 

that by 2016 expenditures will outstrip revenues).  

Individuals who renew their licenses after this regulatory 

change is fully promulgated will incur an additional biennial 

cost of $20. There is insufficient information to ascertain 

whether the benefits that may accrue to the public on account 

of the Board being able to maintain these programs in their 

current state will outweigh the costs incurred by regulated 

entities. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that this 

proposed regulation will affect any individuals working as 

licensed waterworks operators, licensed wastewater works 

operators and licensed onsite sewage systems professionals 

who renew Board issued licenses. Board staff further reports 

that 2,215 renewals were processed last year. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No localities will be 

particularly affected by these proposed regulatory changes. 

Projected Impact on Employment. This regulatory action will 

likely have little impact on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

regulatory action will likely have no effect on the use or value 

of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. No affected small 

business is likely to incur costs on account of these proposed 

regulations unless they choose to pay renewal fees for their 

employees. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. No affected small business is likely to incur 

costs on account of these proposed regulations unless they 

choose to pay renewal fees for their employees. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This regulatory action will 

likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate. General: The Department of Planning and 

Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Code of Virginia and Executive Order Number 17 (2014). 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 

proposed amendments. Further the report should include but 

not be limited to: 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to 

whom the proposed regulation would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 

implement or comply with the regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

Small Businesses: If the proposed regulation will have an 

adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the proposed regulation,  

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the proposed regulation, including the type 

of professional skills necessary for preparing required 

reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

proposed regulation.  

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on 

small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative 

Rules is notified at the time the proposed regulation is 

submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations for 

publication. This analysis shall represent DPB's best estimate 

for the purposes of public review and comment on the 

proposed regulation. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The board 

concurs with the analysis completed by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment increases the license renewal fee 

for regulants of the Board for Waterworks and Wastewater 

Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System Professionals. 
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18VAC160-20-102. Fees. 

A. All fees shall be nonrefundable.  

B. The date of receipt of the fee by the board or its agent is 

the date that shall be used to determine whether the fee is 

timely received.  

C. The following fees shall apply:  

1. The license application fee shall be $100.  

2. The license renewal fee shall be $80 $100.  

3. The license renewal late penalty fee shall be $25, in 

addition to the license renewal fee.  

4. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

charges to the department by an outside vendor based on a 

contract entered into in compliance with the Virginia 

Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). Fees may be adjusted and charged to the 

candidate in accordance with this contract.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3972; Filed May 6, 2015, 11:38 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The agency is claiming an 

exemption from the Administrative Process Act because the 

authorizing statute, § 25.1-417.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

expired on July 1, 2009, pursuant to clause 5 of Chapter 895 

of the 2007 Acts of Assembly.  

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-45. Appraisal Fee 

Regulations (repealing 24VAC30-45-10, 24VAC30-45-20, 

24VAC30-45-30).  

Statutory Authority: Chapter 895 of the 2007 Acts of 

Assembly. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2015.  

Agency Contact: Michael McCall, Chief Appraiser, Right of 

Way and Utilities Division, Department of Transportation, 

VDOT Annex, 1401 East Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3029, FAX (804) 786-1706, 

or email michael.mccall@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulation was promulgated by the Virginia 

Department of Transportation (VDOT) in response to 

Chapter 895 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly to address 

partial reimbursements of costs to a landowner who 

obtains a written appraisal report in cases where the 

landowner and VDOT cannot reach an agreement as to the 

price of property needed for public purposes pursuant to 

§ 25.1-417.1 of the Code of Virginia. In addition to the 

schedule of allowable fees, it describes the requirements 

landowners must follow to receive payments, how 

payments will be made, as well as VDOT's role in 

explaining the entitlement. 

This regulation is being repealed because the authorizing 

legislation expired on July 1, 2009.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-3490; Filed May 5, 2015, 9:26 a.m.  
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

DEPARTMENT OF RAIL AND PUBLIC 
TRANSPORTATION 

The list of guidance documents submitted by the Virginia 

Department of Rail and Public Transportation (DRPT) is 

subdivided by the work unit that issued or has custody of the 

document. 

Transit and Congestion Management 

Copies of the following documents may be viewed during 

regular work days from 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. in the office of 

Lynne McCarthy, Public Relations and Marketing 

Coordinator, Virginia Department of Rail and Public 

Transportation, 600 East Main Street, Suite 2102, Richmond, 

VA 23219. Copies may be obtained for a fee (varies 

depending on document) by contacting Lynne McCarthy at 

the same address, telephone (804) 786-4443 or FAX (804) 

225-3664, or for free online at 

https://olga.drpt.virginia.gov/news.aspx. 

Questions regarding interpretation or implementation of these 

documents may be directed to Lynne McCarthy at the same 

address and phone number. 

Guidance Documents: 

DRPT Public Transportation and Transportation Demand 

Management Grant Program Application Guidance - includes 

guidance on applying for funds from the following state and 

federal programs: 

State Aid Grant Programs  

Operating Assistance 

Capital Assistance 

Demonstration Assistance 

Technical Assistance 

Public Transportation Intern Program 

TDM/Commuter Assistance 

Transportation Efficiency Improvement Fund (TEIF) 

Projects 

Senior Transportation Program 

Federal Aid Grant Programs  

FTA Section 5303 - Metropolitan Planning 

FTA Section 5304 - Statewide Planning 

FTA Section 5307 - Small Urban Areas Program 

FTA Section 5310 - Transportation for Elderly Persons and 

Persons with Disabilities 

FTA Section 5311 - Rural Areas 

FTA Section 5316 - Jobs Access and Reverse Commute 

Program (JARC) 

FTA Section 5317 - New Freedom Program 

Rail Transportation 

Copies of the following documents may be viewed during 

regular work days from 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. in the office of 

Linda Balderson, Rail Project Manager, Virginia Department 

of Rail and Public Transportation, 600 East Main Street, Suite 

2102, Richmond, VA 23219. Copies may be obtained for a 

fee (varies depending on document) by contacting Linda 

Balderson, at the same address, telephone (804) 786-3427 or 

FAX (804) 255-3752, or for free online at 

https://olga.drpt.virginia.gov/news.aspx. 

Questions regarding interpretation or implementation of these 

documents may be directed to Linda Balderson at the same 

address and phone number. 

Guidance Documents: 

Railroad Industrial Access Program Application Procedures 

Rail Preservation Program Application Procedures 

Rail Enhancement Fund Application Procedures 

Intercity Passenger Rail Operating and Capital (IPROC) Fund 

Application Procedures 

https://olga.drpt.virginia.gov/news.aspx
https://olga.drpt.virginia.gov/Documents/forms/Program_Application_Guidance.pdf
https://olga.drpt.virginia.gov/Documents/forms/Program_Application_Guidance.pdf
https://olga.drpt.virginia.gov/news.aspx
https://olga.drpt.virginia.gov/documents/forms/REF%20FY2014%20App%20Procedures%20Document%20010913.pdf
https://olga.drpt.virginia.gov/documents/forms/IPROC%20Application%20Procedures.pdf
https://olga.drpt.virginia.gov/documents/forms/IPROC%20Application%20Procedures.pdf
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Stakeholder Meetings 

The Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services invites participation in Stakeholder Meetings as part 

of a review of Virginia's Employment Support Services 

Programs. Stakeholder input will be used to make 

recommendations on options that would advance the 

Commonwealth's progress toward facilitating the inclusion of 

people with the most significant disabilities in the workplace 

through community-based and integrated employment 

opportunities. This review was requested by the Virginia 

General Assembly during the 2015 session. 

Fairfax: Wednesday, June 10, 2015, 9:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m., 

Location to be determined 

Please RSVP to Megan Grey at 

megan.grey@dars.virginia.gov. 

Please contact Megan Grey at telephone (804) 662-7081 or at 

the email address above with questions. 

Contact Information: Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Ph.D., CRC, 

Policy Analyst, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 

23229, telephone (804) 662-7612, FAX (804) 662-7663, 

TDD (800) 464-9950, or email 

vanessa.rakestraw@dars.virginia.gov. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 

May 1, 2015 

Administrative Letter 2015-09 

To: All Companies Licensed, Approved, Registered or 

Accredited under Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia, and All 

Interested Parties 

Re: The Withdrawal of Administrative Letters 1981-11, 

1983-6, 1985-13, 1985-15, 1986-20, 1987-15, 1988-9, 1988-

14, 1990-13, 1992-8, 1992-14, 1992-15, 1992-16, 1992-17, 

1992-24, 1993-16, 1997-1, 1997-13, 1998-4, 1998-6, 1998-7 

and 1999-9 

The Bureau of Insurance issues administrative letters to 

provide direction, instructions, interpretations and/or general 

information addressing various insurance issues. The purpose 

of this Administrative Letter is to inform all companies and 

interested parties of the withdrawal of Administrative Letters 

1981-11, 1983-6, 1985-13, 1985-15, 1986-20, 1987-15, 1988-

9, 1988-14, 1990-13, 1992-8, 1992-14, 1992-15, 1992-16, 

1992-17, 1992-24, 1993-16, 1997-1, 1997-13, 1998-4, 1998-

6, 1998-7 and 1999-9.  These letters have been determined to 

be obsolete, because the issues they addressed are either no 

longer present or have been addressed elsewhere. 

Questions regarding this letter may be directed to Raquel C. 

Pino, Principal Insurance Analyst/Research Section, Financial 

Regulation Division/Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-9499, or email 

raquel.pino@scc.virginia.gov.  

/s/ Jacqueline C. Cunningham 

Commissioner of Insurance 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Total Maximum Daily Load of Moores Creek, Lodge 
Creek, Meadow Creek, and Schenks Branch 

Public meeting: A meeting will be held Tuesday, June 16, 

2015, at 6:30 p.m. at the Albemarle County Office Building, 

401 McIntire Road, Charlottesville, VA 22902. This meeting 

will be open to the public and all are welcome. In the case of 

inclement weather, the meeting will take place on Tuesday, 

June 23, 2015, at the same time and place. Please contact 

Tara Sieber at (540) 574-7870 with any questions. 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ), its contractors, Virginia Tech's Biological Systems 

Engineering Department, and the Technical Advisory 

Committee comprised of local landowners and interested 

parties, will present the results of a water quality study known 

as a total maximum daily load (TMDL) for Moores Creek, 

Lodge Creek, Meadow Creek, and Schenks Branch. This is an 

opportunity for local residents to learn more about the water 

quality study and find out how they can help. A public 

comment period will follow the meeting (June 16, 2015, 

through July 17, 2015). 

Meeting description: A public meeting will be held to 

introduce to the local community the water quality 

improvement process in Virginia, known as the TMDL 

process, review the work of the Technical Advisory 

Committee, solicit the input of the community, and review 

the next steps. Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and 

§ 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to 

develop TMDLs for pollutants responsible for each impaired 

water contained in Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List 

and Report. 

Description of study: Several streams in the Rivanna River 

watershed do not meet Virginia's water quality standards and 

have been placed on the 2006, 2008, and 2010 § 303(d) 

TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired. Moores Creek, 

Lodge Creek, Meadow Creek, and Schenks Branch do not 

host a healthy and diverse population of aquatic life, and 

subsequently were listed as impaired for the "General Benthic 

(Aquatic life)" water quality standard. This water quality 

study reviewed all data collected and determined the cause of 

the benthic impairment to be excess sediment and hydrologic 

modification. A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a 

water body can contain and still meet water quality standards. 
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To restore water quality, sediment levels need to be reduced 

to the TMDL amount. Virginia agencies worked with local 

community partners to identify sources of excess sediment 

and recommend reductions. The stream segments included in 

this TMDL study are as follows: 

Stream County Length 

(miles) 

Impairment 

Moores 

Creek 

Charlottesville/ 

Albemarle 
6.37 mi 

Aquatic Life 

(benthics) 

Lodge 

Creek 

Charlottesville 
1.57 mi 

Meadow 

Creek 

Charlottesville/ 

Albemarle 
4.0 mi 

Schenks 

Branch 

Charlottesville 
1.13 mi 

How to comment: The public comment period for these 

public meetings will end on July 17, 2015. Written comments 

should include the name, address, and telephone number of 

the person submitting the comments and should be sent to 

Tara Sieber, Department of Environmental Quality, Valley 

Regional Office, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, 

telephone (540) 574-7870, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 

tara.sieber@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the State Council of Higher 

Education for Virginia is conducting a periodic review and 

small business impact review of 8VAC40-20, Regulations for 

the Senior Citizen Higher Education Program. The review of 

this regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive 

Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins June 1, 2015, and ends June 22, 

2015. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Melissa Wyatt, Senior Associate for 

Financial Aid, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 225-4113, FAX (804) 225-2604, or email 

melissacollumwyatt@schev.edu. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Barksdale Oils, 
Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Barksdale Oils, 

Inc., for a discharge of petroleum products from a tanker 

truck on Interstate 95 near exit 58 in Chesterfield County, 

Virginia, on July 24, 2014. The State Water Control Board 

proposes to issue a consent special order to Barksdale Oils, 

Inc., to address noncompliance with State Water Control law. 

A description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Frank Lupini will accept 

comments by hand delivery, email at 

frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 527-5106, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 

VA 23060, from June 1, 2015, through July 2, 2015. 

Proposed Enforcement Action: Snyder & Schneider 
Property Development, LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Snyder & 

Schneider Property Development, LLC, for violations in 

Louisa County, Virginia at the Cutalong Development. The 

order resolves violations of State Water Control law. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Sarah Baker will accept 

comments by email at sarah.baker@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at 

(703) 583-3821, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from June 2, 2015, 

through July 2, 2015. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

mailto:tara.sieber@deq.virginia.gov
varegs@dls.virginia.gov
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Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC40-131. Virginia Student 

Financial Assistance Program Regulations. 

Publication: 31:18 VA.R. 1462-1468 May 4, 2015. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1462, 8VAC40-131-10, definition of "cost of 

attendance," line 2, after "books," delete "and"  

Page 1464, 8VAC40-131-50 A 1 g, line 1, after "schedule" 

delete "or new award schedules" 
VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4266; Filed May 11, 2015, 3:36 p.m.  
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